(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Dansville; historical, biographical, descriptive"

S^ansvillc 



1789 lUMllgVlLie ^90: 




iMtclk 




mUu 



EDITOR'S PREFACE, 




THE STORY OF DAxMSVILLE, past and present, pro- 
fusely illustrated, is told in the many pages that follow. 
How well it is told is for the public to judge. How much 
of time and toil and conscientious care has been put into 
it, the public may never appreciate. So far as the past 
of Dansville is concerned, the work undertaken a quarter 
of a century or more ago would have been infinitely easier 
of accomplishment. The absence of contemporaneous in- 
formation at this time is absolute. During the vital 
period mentioned the successors of the first pioneers have 
been gathered to their fathers. The lips that repeated their vivid 
recollections have been stilled. In large measure their written records 
have been scattered or destroyed. In the material secured through 
the kind assistance of citizens there was the ever present puzzle of 
leciding what was correct and desirable as well as legitimate matter 
or the History, and which were negligible facts. The decisions have 
leen made without prejudice or partiality, and the work has been 
conscientiously completed. In the doing of it the History has grown 
.0 nearly double the volume at first contemplated and promised, and 
:he orderly arrangement of chapters and subjects has been interfered 
vvith by the fact that the printing proceeded simultaneously with re- 
search and writing. Its more than five hundred pages and more than 
three hundred and fifty illustrations, in handsome typographical dress, 
tell for themselves of the faithfulness of editor, compiler, publishers 
and printer. 

In my researches for reminiscences of the earliest white pioneers, 
the haunting thought was ever with me that I ought to say a word in 
behalf of the earlier settlers of this region, the red men whom the 
pale faces dispossessed, whose noble history no dusky pen has ever 
traced, whose name and fame have ever been at the mercy of their 
conquerors. I gratefully recalled the thoughtful declaration of George 
William Curtis that "New York is a palimpsest. Its great empire of 
today is written over the great empire of the five Indian nations. * * 
Like the heroes before Agamemnon, the Indians had no poet to sing 
their story. But it lives in fragmentary legend." In fragmentary 
legend only it lives in the beautiful hill-encircled valley in which 
Dansville has grown from a wilderness into a high state of civilization. 
All this valley is an integral part of the grand Empire state itself, 
than which the history of no state is more inspiring, said Curtis, 
through which the power of the Indian confederacy swept as resist- 
lessly as the rivers themselves, until it was supreme from Canada to 



2 PREFACE 

the Carolinas, from the ocean to the Mississippi. This valley and 
Dansville are indissolubly joined in history as in tradition, to a race 

"Of men 
Whose deeds have linUed with every glen 
And every hill and every stream 
The romance of some warrior's dream." 

The imperial tradition of the Iroquois fills the place with romantic 
interest before our annals begin. 

And is the history of the white man here, which I have essayed to 
portray, less noble than that of the "Romans of the West?" It may 
not clearly appear upon the face of the History herein written, but for 
those who read between the lines there will be resurrected from its 
pages many noble men and women who wrested homes from a wilder- 
ness of savage beasts and more savage men, often at the peril and cost 
of their own lives, that others might live and prosper. There will be 
recalled lives illustrating" and illuminating the highest practice of the 
principles of Christian civilization, under whose influence the Dans- 
ville of the white man is as far beyond the village of the Ganosgagos 
as civilization is in advance of barbarism and Christianity above 
paganism. 

I cannot deny and I would not conceal the fact that Dansville has 
had its seamy side throughout its more than a century of life." In the 
quest for historical material there have been unearthed many trage- 
dies and sorrows under the shadowy power of wrong, and many mis- 
fortunes; but I confidently affirm that from the gusty days of the 
early canal period, when a grasping commercial spirit seemed to pre- 
dominate and recklessness kept pace with it, until the steadier pe- 
riod of the present when our churches and our schools are better than 
our warehouses, the advance has been upward and onward to ever 
higher levels of thought and action. From our humble homes have 
gone out into the great world men and women who have become 
famous in the ministry, in school, in literature, in art and science, 
in law and in business, and never before as today has there been such 
opportunity in Dansville for the higher education of its young men 
and women. 

That this History of Dansville, modestly submitted, may convince 
its citizens that there is much reason for pride in the past and pres- 
ent of this village, and the brightest of hopes for the future, in the 
steady growth toward the solidarity which promises complete unity 
of interests and ambitions, is the fondest hope of one ivho has grown 
to love and to believe in Dansville more and more during all the years 
of half a century. 

THE EDITOR. 



CONTENTS 

PART I. 

DANSVILLE OF THE P.-^ST—By ^. O Biiitncll. 

CHAPTER I.— EARLY CONDITIONS 

Geological Speculations — First Views — -Indian Burying Ground — The Ganos- 
gago Indians — Relics of an Indian Fort — Mary Jeniison and Queen 
Esther — Red Jacket and Cornplanter — The Sullivan Expedition — Tragic 
Fate oi Boyd's Party — Erection of Monument in 1901 — Land Titles — • 

Pages 17-27. 

CHAPTER II.— FIRST SETTLERS 

First Families Came in June, 1795 — James McCurdy's Reminiscences — The 
First Marriage — Daniel P. Faulkner's Enterprise — William Ferine — 
Col. Nathaniel Rochester — Dr. James Faulkner's Reminiscences — Indian 
Festivities — Local Diseases — Sandy Hill — The Brails, Lemens and 
Stones Pages 28-39. 

CHAPTER III.— LATER EARLY DAYS 

In 1812 — Transferred from Steuben to Livingston County in 1821 — Water Power 

Attraction — The Canal Period — Factories and Mills — Business in 1830 — ■ 

First Schools — Noted Visitors — JIartin VanBuren and Prince John — ■ 

War and Politics — Efforts for County Seat Pages 40-45. 

CHAPTER IV.— THIRD QUARTER OF CENTURY 

From Canal to Railroad — Wayland, the Nearest Station — Dansville Seminary 

— Protection Against Fire — Business Men of 1850 — The Civil War and 

Dansvilie's Prompt Response — Later War Meetings and Bounties Paid — ■ 

The Draft — The Hyland House and Maxwell Block Pages 46-52. 

CHAPTER v.— THE LAST QUARTER OF THE CENTURY 
The Bank Failures — Followed by Improved Conditions — Dansvilie's Celebra- 
tion of the Nation's Centennial — A Circulating Library — Floods and 
Storms — Winged Ants — From District School to Union School and a Fine 
New Building — The Village Improvement Society and Its Important 
Work Pages 53-65. 

CHAPTER VI.— CANALS AND RAILROADS 
Sub-Branch of the Canal — Exciting Conflict Between Village and State Em- 
ployees — Dansvilie's Prosperous Period — Railroads Turn the Tide — Rail- 
road Project in 1832 — A Wait of Forty Years — Dansvilie's First Railroad 
in 1872 — The Second in 1882 Pages 66-71 

CHAPTER VII.— NOTABLE MEN OF EARLY TIMES 
Moses VanCampen — Red Jacket — Charles Williamson — Nathaniel Rochester — 
Pages 72-79. 

CHAPTER VIII.— RECOLLECTIONS OF LIVING OLD CITIZENS 

Elihu Stanley, Ninety-Three Years Old — Mrs. Catherine Harrison, Ninety — 
Mrs. Jane Shafer, Eighty-Nine — David McNair, Eighty-Three — Dr. A. 
L. Gilbert. Seventy-Eight — B. S. Stone, Seventy-Seven — Mrs. Kather- 
ine Rochester Shepard — Mrs. Timothy B. Grant — Mrs. Anna Clark 
Adams Pages 80-88. 



4 COXTEXrS 

CHAPTER IX.— SOME EXCITING AND INTERESTING EVENTS 

Bursting of Water From East Hill — The Devil's Hole — Eclipse of the Sun — 
Dansville Volunteers Descend upon Canada — Rain and Cloudburst in 
1813 — Wierd Stories of 1842 — The Wood Poisoning — Shooting of John 
Haas — Remains of a Mastodon Found — Three Most Destructive Fires — 

Other Fires — Burning of "Our Home" Pages 89-96. 

CHAPTER X.— CERTAIN INSTITUTIONS 

The Jackson Sanatorium — Coterie — The Library — First Red Cross Society — 
Canaseraga Light Infantr\- — The Normal Instructor — The Dansville Cem- 
etery Association Pages 97-101. 

CHAPTER XI.— SOME NAMES AND EVENTS 

Village Postmasters — Presidents — Clerks — Supervisors — Churches Organized 
— Early Merchants — Old Residents in 1875 — Reunion Veteran Canaseragas 
— Old Fashioned Base Ball Game — Handsome Men of 1877 — A Few 

"Firsts" Pages 102-106. 

CH.\PTER XII.— 'iiNCIENT DOCUMENTS 

A Presbyterian Petition of 1809 — Navigation of Canaseraga River, 1811 — 
Church Subscriptions, 1811 — Dansville Polemic Society, 1811 — District 
Tax Roll, 1830 — Dansville Academy Examinations, 1837 — Moses Van- 
Campen Circular, 1844 — School Exercises, 1854 — School Program, 1859 — 
Pages 107-115. 

CHAPTER XIII.— THE DOTY ROMANCE 
TOLD BY DR. A. L. GILBERT 

Lockwood L. Doty as a Boy in Dansville — Arrested for Robbing the jMail — 
Taken to Rochester on Packet Boat — Exciting Experience — Innocence 

Established — Triumphant Return — Subsequent Life Pages 117 120. 

CHAPTER XIV.— SOME DETACHED FACTS 

The Iroquois League — A Fenian Meeting — Canal Celebration — Bishop Mc- 
Quaid's First Visit — Reception to Clara Barton — Board of Trade — Se- 
vere Frost — A Hurricane — Twenty-Fifth Anniversarj- of Union Hose 
Company — Dansville Library — Coterie — McKinley Memorial Meeting, 
etc Pages 121-129. 

CHAPTER XV.— LATER CONTRIBUTIONS 

A Few Wood Notes, by Theodore M. Schlick — East Hill — Bradner's Woods — 

The Isolated Chestnut Tree — Native Birds — Killing of the Last Wild 

Deer in Dansville, by Charles C. Sedgwick — Early Recollections, by 

Mrs. L. Aldrich Collins Pages 130-134. 

CHAPTER XVI.— THE WATER WORKS 
BY E. A. SPRAGUE, SUPT. 

Hard Fights — First Board of Water Commissioners — Detailed Reports — First 
Tap by Blum Shoe Co Pages 135-144. 

CHAPTER XVII.— OTHER DETACHED FACTS 
Dansville Union — Soldiers' Monument Dedication — Tender of Co. L. to 
State — Local Shinplasters — Dr. Jackson's Memorial — Dansville Spirit- 
ualists — In 1846 — Hilarious Annexation Dinner — Chair Factory — Loan 
Association — I. O. G. T. — First Driven Well Pages 145-150. 

CHAPTER XVIII.— A SUMMING UP 

Head of the Genesee Valley — Geology — The Hill and Valley — Fertility of 

the Soil — Glens — Our Home on the Hillside — Coterie — The Library 

— Musical and Dramatic — Outdoor Recreations — Public Spirit — • 

Pages 151-155. 



BIOGRAPHIES 



Andrews. Dr. B. P 217 

Austin. Harriet N 210 

Baker. James H 200 

Beecher, Walter Julius 238 

Bragdon, Geo. C 231 

Bunnell, A. O 12 

Burgess, Joseph W 198 

Cogswell, The Family 165 

Crisfield, Dr. James E 232 

DeLong, H. W 191 

Denton, Chas. W 230 

Driesbach, Dr. F. R 212 

Dyer, The Family 225 

Foss, Bertrand G 211 

Fowler, Miller H 221 

Geiger, Peter 215 

Gorham, Newton B 246 

Gregory, Walter E 223 

Hubbard, Henry E 196 

Hyland, The Family 160 

Jacksnn. James Caleb 176 

Jackson, Lucretia Edgerton 207 

Jackson, Giles Elderken 205 

Jackson James H 159 

Jackson, Katherine J 208 

Jackson, James Arthur 206 

Johnson Emerson 204 

Kramer, William 169 

Worey, Jonathan B 189 

Noyes, Daniel W 183 

Noyes, Frederick W 184 

Oberdorf, Bernard H 202 

Oberdorf, W. S 242 

Owen, F. A 235 

Ferine, The Family 167 

Pratt, Robert 246 

Readshaw, B. F 229 

Rowe, Charles H 218 

Shepard, Charles 172 

Shepard, Charles E. & Thos. R. . . 176 

Spinning, Wm. T 185 

Stanley, Elihu L 165 

Snyder, Chas. F 244 

VanValkenburg, A. L 197 

Veith, Chas. C 228 

Williams, J. C 203 

Wooodruff, Oscar 193 

ALLUSIONS 

Austin, Dr. Harriet N 249 

Babcock, John F 257 

Bagley, Benedict 268 

Belts, John 262 

Bissell, Chas. J 255 

Bradner, Lester 255 



Brown, Rev. John J 262 

Brown, Merritt H 257 

Brown, Robert C 253 

Bunnell, Dennis 258 

Clark, George W 266 

Colvin, Mrs. Mary Noyes 264 

Cook, Benjamin C 257 

Day, Russell 261 

Davis, Martin L 260 

Decker, "Huge" Fred 254 

Doty. Lock wood L 267 

Daugherty. E. C 256 

Edwards, Alexander 259 

Endress, Hon. Isaac L 251 

Faulkner, Dr. James 250 

Faulkner. Robert S 261 

Faulkner, Hon. Samuel D 251 

George. Moses S 256 

Goundry, John 261 

Grant, Col. Timothy B 255 

Hicks, Russell F 255 

Harwood, Benjamin F 255 

Hedges, Job E 253 

Hubbard, Solomon 263 

Jackson, Dr. James C 249 

Johnson, Emerson 250 

Jones, Shepard 266 

King, James 262 

Knappenburg, Joseph 266 

Kiehle, Prof. David L 261 

Lei ter, Joseph 266 

Maxwell. (J. B 268 

McCartney, Judge David 260 

McCartney, Matthew 268 

McNair, David D 258 

McWhorter, John 259 

Murdock, James S 263 

Palmes, Edward S 260 

Patterson, Rowley 258 

Proctor, L. B 260 

Rau, Erhard 264 

Sedgwick, Henry C 260 

Seyfforth, Gustav 266 

Smith, Joseph W 262 

Smith, Col. S. W 265 

Stevens, Archelaus 252 

Sweet, George 261 

Sweet, Sidney 251 

VanDerlip, Judge John A 252 

Whitenian. Reuben 254 

Wilkinson, John 265 

Wilson, Samuel 265 

Woodruff, B. W 258 

Dansville Physicians 269 



COXTEXTS 



PART II. 
DANVILLE OF THE PTiESEXT—':Bv Can fiihi tors 

DESCRIPTIVE— BY J. W. BURGESS 
Attractions — Facilities — Resources — Advantages — Scenery — Streams — Glens 
— Hunting — Fishing — Synopsis of Principal Industries Pages 5-26 

AS A HEALTH RESORT— BY JAMES H. JACKSON 
Health Movement Begun — Splendid Conditions Today — Analysis of All Heal- 
ing Spring — Pure Water in Abundance — Remarkable Soil — Health 
Laden Atmosphere — 700 Foot Elevation Above Sea Level — Splendid Lo- 
cation in Valley with Protecting Hills Pages 27-31 

ORGANIZATIONS— BY MEMBERS 
(For Index see Village Directory.) 
Churches, by the Pastors — Fire Department, by J. L. Wellington — Societies: 
Fraternal. Temperance, Literary, Patriotic, Musical, Recreation, Unions 
Pages 35-95. 

BUSINESS 
Leading Industries — Professional, Mercantile and Manufacturing Establish- 
ments — Historical and Descriptive — Illustrated Pa^es 97-228 

NEWSPAPERS OF THE PAST— BY OSCAR WOODRUFF 
A complete record of the pioneer local Press and its Influence. .Pages 184-188. 

INDUSTRIES— FROM CONTRIBUTED INFORMATION 
Early JIanufactories — Paper Making — Grapes and Wine — Nurseries 
Pages 213-227 

VILLAGE DIRECTORY 
Business Guide and Historical Census Pages 231-272 



/^rs/xEss 



Advertiser, The Dansville 191 

American Correspondence Normal 209 

Artman, C. A 168 

Baker, J. H 141 

Bastian, E. N 142 

Blum, Daniel 178 

Blum Shoe Co 132 

Breeze, Dansville 193 

Burkhart & Griswold 138 

Byer, Peter W 202 

Citizens Bank, The, of Dansville. 134 

Cogswell, Wm 166 

Cutler, Dr. G. H 162 

Dansville Book Store 148 

Dansville Gas & Electric Co 181 

Dansville Hospital 117 

Dansville & Mt. Morris R. R. . . . 129 

Edwards, Kern & Miller 180 



Engert &• Folts 176 

E.xpress, The Dansville 189 

Fedder, Henry 159 

Fenstermacher Bros 149 

Foote, Edward J 161 

Fowler, G. G 163 

Hall Manufacturing Co 153 

Harter. A. L 177 

Hotel Livingston 179 

Hubbard. H. E 201 

Hyland House 210 

Instructor Publishing Co 195 

Jackson Sanatorium 98 

Jenks, A. H. & Son 164 

Johantgen Bros 155 

Klink, J. F 165 

Kramer, John G 175 

Kramer & Son, William 137 



/^rsLmss 



Kramer & Sturm 157 

Kiihn, Dr. Frederick W 159 

LaBoyteaux, Dr. A. & Son 160 

Lackawanna R. R 121 

McPhee, Dr. J. F 150 

Merchants & Farmers National 

Bank 172 

Oberdorf & Edwards 205 

Our Home Granula Co Ill 

Peck, The Geo. W. Co 145 

Plimpton, A. H 156 

Rail, David E 169 



Readsliaw's Forest Mills 113 

Schwingel, John A l.SS 

Spinning, W. A. Co 170 

Stone, B. S. & Son 212 

VanValkenburg Music House. . . . 125 

Veith, C. C 208 

Veith, Wm 152 

A. S. Welch 151 

Werdein, A. J 206 

Williams & Co 143 

Wilson & Altmeyer 126 

Worden Bros. Monument Mfg. Co. 203 



For index to illustrations see page 265. 




qJvj^JM,j^j<k.j^qM^ 



A. O. Bunnell 

No newspaper man in the state of New York, and probably none 
in the United States, is more widely known and more generally loved 
than A. O. Bunnell, the editor of the Dansville, N. Y., Advertiser. 
For over half a century (1852-1902) the smell of printer's ink has been 
upon his garments. Born in Lima, Livingston county, N. Y. , March 
10, 1836, he moved to Dansville at the age of fourteen, and at si.xteen 
became a printer's apprentice. In 1860, he founded the Dansville 
Advertiser, and has ever since remained its editor and publisher. The 
paper typifies the man. It is a beautifully printed paper — clean and 
wholesome in its contents, elevated in its moral tone, and powerful in 
its widely exerted influence. But this is not surprising, for Mr. Bun- 
nell inherited the best of American tendencies. He was the third of 




RESIDENCE, A. O. BUNNELL 



five children of Dennis Bunnell, four of whom are living — Miss D. B. 
Bunnell, a resident of Dansville; Mrs. Mary Bunnell Willard of Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., and Major Mark J. Bunnell of Washington, D. C, consti- 
tuting the other surviving members of the family. 

Dennis Bunnell was the youngest of the seven sons of Jehiel Bunnell 
of Cheshire, C'onn., a revolutionary soldier and a member of an old 



10 A. O. BrXXELL 

and leading family. Jehiel Bunnell's wife was one of the Hotchkiss 
family, prominent in the early history of Connecticut. A. O. Bunnell's 
mother was Mary Baker, daughter of James Baker, a sturdy pioneer 
woodsman and hunter, whose wife, Mary Parker, was the elder sister 
of three celebrated pioneer Methodist circuit preachers of western 
New York — the Rev. Messrs. Robert, Samuel and John Parker. All 
these ancestors are dead, Dennis Bunnell entering into his rest in 1885 
and Mary Baker Bunnell in 1881. 

Mr. Bunnell has never sought public preferment. The love of his 
profession has kept him loyal to it. In the congenial atmosphere of 
the printing office, as boy and man, he has taken his greatest delight 
and realized his highest ambitions. Modest and retiring by nature, 
he has still, by the force of his character, become a leader in his pro- 
fession. For thirty-four years he has been secretary and treasurer of 
the New York Press Association, and much of the success of this influ- 
ential association — probably the most progressive and vigorous of its 
kind in the country — is concededly due to his ability, energy and in- 
dustry. In grateful recognition of this fact, on the twenty-fifth anni- 
versary of his connection with the organization, his associates pre- 
sented to him a superb, solid silver tea set, costing over five hundred 
dollars. He became a member of the New York Press association, on 
its reorganization, after the war, in 1865, and three years later was 
chosen its secretary, continuing in that office ever since. 

On the organization of the Republican Editorial association of the 
state of New York, January 10, 1894, in which Mr. Bunnell was deeply 
interested, his associates unanimously chose him as secretary and 
treasurer of that body. In July, 1894, the National Editorial associ- 
ation, at its annual meeting at Asbury Park, elected Mr. Bunnell as 
president of that great body of editors, in which office he served until 
January 24, 1896. On that date, the members of the association, after 
the convention proceedings held in St. Augustine, Fla., presented to 
their retiring president, a handsome cane and a set of souvenir gold 
and silver orange knives and spoons. In accepting this handsome 
gift, Mr. Bunnell captivated his hearers by his most feeling and felici- 
tous words. He said: 

"Dear Brother Herbert, Dear friends all: By this act of yours, you 
have touched my heart more deeply than I can find words to tell. I 
feel like one awakened from a deep slumber. The vagaries of sleep, 
the wonderful fantasies of dreams seem not more unreal than that the 
poor boy who entered a country printing office a few years ago should 
be so honored by the chosen representatives of twenty thousand news- 
paper men of this great nation. You have touched with romance the 
plain life of a country editor. I love my profession, I love my brother 
editors, and I love the editors' wives, and I shall love them all more 
and more because of this occasion. Under the magic spell of memory 
the walls of my humble home will often expand to an infinite distance 
to include you all and become articulate with your kind words of love 
and esteem. That this gift includes my true and honorable wife, dear 
to me as are the ruddy drops that visit this glad heart, makes the gift 
doubly dear. Forgive me that my heart is too full to say more. " 

No member of the National association is more beloved than Mr. 
Bunnell and no president of that body ever presided with more dignity 



A. 0. BUNNELL 11 



and satisfaction than lie. As special representative of the Pan Ameri- 
can Exposition company, Past President Bunnell's effort at New Or- 
leans in 1900 secured the ccjnvention of the National association for 
Buffalo in 1901. When the National Republican Editorial association 
was organized at Philadelphia, June 18, 1900, largely through the ef- 
forts of Mr. Bunnell and some of his associates in the New York Re- 
publican association, Mr. Bunnell was chosen secretary and treasurer, 
a place which he still holds. He has also been president of the Living- 
ston County Press association ; was one of the organizers, in 1877, of 
the Livingston County Historical society, of which he has been presi- 
dent and is now one of the coimcilmen; was active in the organization 
of The Coterie, the oldest literary society of Dansville in existence, 
and, in fact, has been foremost in every movement for the develop- 
ment of the literary tastes of the community. He has been trustee 
of the Dansville seminary, is deeply interested in its High school; is 
one of the directors of the Dansville & Mt. Morris railroad, and for a 
long period has been a trustee of the Greenmount cemetery. His con- 
nection with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows has been most 
honorable and distinguished, and, in 1884, he was selected to the ex- 
alted position of Grand ^Master of the New York state organization, 
filling this place, as he has filled every other which has come to him, 
with singular fidelity. 

On April 9, 1863, Mr. Bunnell was married to Anna M. Carpenter, 
in Lyons, N. Y. Of their children, one daughter and two sons, only 
the daughter, ]\Irs. Albert Hartman of Dansville, survives. The death 
of Mark H. Bunnell, the only surviving son, at the age of nineteen 
years, was a loss which every one who knew this brilliant young man 
most deeply mourned. As a lad, Mark H. Bunnell was precociously 
bright, loving books and study and revealing many of the admirable 
traits and literary inclinations of his father. He was a careful reader 
of all the best books of his time and a student of politics and history. 
He loved music and art, his tastes were refined and he sought the best 
and most helpful associations. It is not surprising that his parents 
looked forward with eager hope to a brilliant future for their son, 
and when on the threshold of his young manhood, he was stricken by 
illness, which, after a period of eight months, terminated fatally on 
the 10th of November, 1893, the profoundest sympathies of the entire 
community were tendered to his bereaved parents. This was a sad 
and fearful blow, inflicted by the mysterious hand of Providence, but 
it was borne with splendid patience and Christian fortitude by the 
bereaved ones. 

The life of Mr. Bunnell has not been crowded with events of extra- 
ordinary interest. His story has been the tale of an even-minded, 
kind-hearted, generous, helpful man, who has found his greatest satis- 
faction in holding up the hands of the weak and strengthening the 
purposes of the strong. Beautiful in his home life, successful in his 
professional career, honored as few men have been by his newspaper 
associates, and profoundly respected in his own community, he lives 
to realize the fact that man's success in life is best measured by the 
sweet and lasting contentment which a record of good deeds must 
always bring. — John A. Slcicker, Editor Leslie's Weekly, New York 
City. 



PART I 



Dansville of tHe Past 



BY A. O. BUNNELL 



CHAPTER I 



Carly Conditions 



Geological Speculations — First Views — Indian Burying (Iround — The Gan- 
osgago Indians — Relics of an Indian Fort — Mary Jeniison and Queen 
Esther — Red Jacket and Cornplanter — The Sullivan Expedition — Tragic 
Fate of Boyd's Party — Erection of a Monument in 1")01 — Land Titles. 



D 




A NSVI L/L/£ is situated at the extreme 
sciutheni end of the great basin of the Genesee Val- 
ley, which in prehistoric times, according to some 
of the geologists, was a lake extending SO miles 
northward to Irondequoit bay. But our former local 
geologist, the Rev. H. H. Thomas, discredits the 
theory that the valley was a pre-glacial lake, and 
gives reasons for believing that in the ice period, 
when the country was covered with masses of ice 
from 3,000 to 5,000 feet thick, moving in southerly 
courses, two glaciers met here and the contact 
caused a counter-moveinent which plowed out the 
valley. There is no law against accepting either 
theory. Dansville is not a theory, but a fact. On 
the most picturesque spot of the most beautiful and 
fertile valley of the Empire State, rich in Indian 
tradition and history, is now the village of nearly 4,000 people, with 
fine buildings, prosperous institutions, educational and religious priv- 
ileges, thrift and social refinement, which is rightly called the gem of 
the valley, and has grown up from a small hamlet within the tnemories 
of some who are now living. 

When the first settlers caine over the hill from the southeast, along 
Indian trails, near the close of the Eighteenth Century, they looked 
northward down the valley and across to the eastern and southern hills 
upon a vast forest of giant pines towering above hemlock, maple, elm, 
ash, walnut, and other kinds of trees, dense with varied foliage, and 
spotted in a few places with thick groups of small yellow pines, 
notably along the lower end of our present Main street on the north, 
and the Sandy Hill plateau on the south. Two large creeks and some 
smaller ones united to fonn the principal tributary of the Genesee, which 
wound twenty miles ribbon-like between the high banks and hills that 
bounded the table lands on either side to its confluence with the river. 
The streams swarmed with speckled trout which eagerly bit the baited 
hook, and with little effort could be caught in sufficient numbers to 



17 



18 



DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 



supply every meal of the pioneers with their dainty meat. Westward 
on the lower flats was an extensive marsh where muskrats, bullfrogs, 
and watersnakes enjoyed immunity from their later enemy, the white 
man. Rattlesnakes were so numerous on the wild site of future 
Dansville that some of the settlers often killed half a dozen or more 
in a day, and whippoorwills, aerial companions of the rattlers wher- 
ever they crawl, according to Indian ornithology, sang staccato cho- 
ruses in all directions when day darkened into evening. There were 
deer enough to give exciting sport to the huntsman, and venison 
steak was more frequent than beef steak on the tables of the pioneers 




A PIONEER SCENE 



during the first few years after their arri\-al. Black bears showed 
themselves occasionally, panthers sometimes screamed, and the howls 
of gray wolves were often heard at night. Tall weird-looking Indians, 
straight as their arrows, would suddenly ap].)ear between the trees, 
gaze curiously, perhaps approach with friendly signs, perhaps offer 
venison and fish, then turn and vanish as suddenly as they came. In 
June and July the ground in the more open places was red with wikl 
strawberries, and along the feet and sides of the hills various nuts fell 
in profusion after the first frosts. The borders of the creeks were 
lined with rushes in many places, and these provided nourishing and 
well-relished food for the cattle and horses in winter as well as 
summer. 

Where the German Lutheran church now stands was the center of 
an Indian burying ground of about three acres, thick with graves, 
and among them one of a great chief, who, tradition said, was killed 
in battle on the eastern hill's table lands, whose memory was honored 
by a large monument of loose stones over his remains in the valley, 
and whose bones when disturbed by well-diggers about 1858, showed 



EARLY COX niT IONS 19 

liini to be over seven feet tall. The battle of the hill was between the 
(Tanosgati'o anti Kanisteo tribes, and took place long before the Revo- 
lutionary war. The Ganosgagos had a village adjacent to the burying 
ground which was no longer occupied by them when the first settlers 
came, but fifteen or twenty dilapidated huts were still standing. 
There is a tradition that this village was here as long ago as 1687. 
The site of Dansville had ceased to be the home of the Ganosgagos 
some years before, but they and other Senecas sometimes camped 
here, favorite camping grounds being where Little Mill creek de- 
bouches into the valley and near the Sturgeon place beside Canas- 
eraga creek. The Ganosgagos were a tribe of the Senecas, the most 
intelligent and powerful of the Six Nations which formed the great 
Iroquois League, called the Romans of the Western Continent, and 
]3ossessing some of the most striking characteristics of those ancient 
conquerors. 

A series of earthworks or rude fortified towns at one time extended 
from the St. Lawrence river to Lake Erie, and remains of Indian 
forts of great antiquity were quite often found in the Genesee valley. 
Doty's History of Livingston says: On the farm of Andrew McCurdy, 




half a mile west of the village of Dansville, across the Canaseraga 
creek and a few rods south of the Ossian road, is another work of this 
character. Its site, a bluff at the foot of which runs the Canaseraga, 
overlooks the fertile valley to the eastward and is commanded by no 
neighboring height. To the north of the inclosure a rapid stream 
takes its way through a gorge about fifty feet in depth, which, after 
running parallel to the creek for a short distance, bends abruptly to 
the right, as in the engraving, and enters the Canaseraga. Near the 
confluence of these streams the enclosure was situated. The sharp 
acclivities which form the banks, protected it on the north, east and 
west, while on the south side it was guarded by an earth wall and 
ditch (from two and a half to three feet deep), that were still quite 
distinct as late as the year lS5*t, when the field was plowed for the 
first time. Under a large oak stump, presenting 214 annual growths. 



20 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

as counted by Professor Brown, which stood in the bottom of the 
ditch near the northeast corner, were found parts of three or four 
dark earthen jars, which, on analysis, yielded animal oil, indicating; 
their original use to have been that of cooking- vessels. Ashes and 
burnt bones of men and animals indiscriminately mixed, and in one 
place, human skeletons entire or nearly so, an earthen pipe, a stone 
pestle and a deer's horn curiously carved, were found within the in- 
closure. This fort is supposed to have been one of the many scatter- 
ing forts built by the Senecas after they had been driven from their 
original village Genundewah, near the village of Naples, by a great 
serpent. 

Although the Senecas had been mostly driven or scared away from 
the valley and eastward lake region by General Sullivan's army in 
1779, some of them came back the next year, and afterward remained 
on reservations assigned them by a government commission at the 
close of the Revolution in 1784. Sullivan's terrorizing and devastat- 
ing expedition had changed their former implacable hostility to the 
friendship of fear, and this, by frequent intercourse with the whites, 
had gradually softened into kindly feelings, so that they were helpful 
rather than troublesome to our first settlers, who were often supplied 
by them with needed food and work. The titles to their Livingston 
county reservations were extinguished by the treaty of 1825, but they 
did not all remove from them until about 1830, and up to that time 
their dusky faces and aboriginal ways were familiar to the pioneers 
of Dansvilie. 

A remarkable and celebrated chai'acter among the Senecas was 
Mary Jemison, "the old white woman," who was captured from the 
whites when a young child, became attached to her Indian captors, 
identified herself with them, and in 175') made the first settlement in the 
Genesee country, and resided in the valley seventy-two years. The 
story of her life as related by herself and her benign influence upon 
the Senecas are familiar history. Another equally remarkable but 
contrasting character was Catharine Montour, the strange and cruel 
"Queen Esther," who distinguished herself in the horrible massacre 
at Wyoming, which, with other similar massacres, led to the Sullivan 
expedition. She was a half-breed, supposed to be the daughter of 
Frontenac, who exercised a dominating influence over the Indians 
and was the most controlling spirit in the Wyoming butchery, where 
she made herself chief executioner, and murdered the prisoners one 
after another with maul and tomahawk while chanting a song. She 
lived near Seneca lake in Catharinetown, which was destroyed in the 
Sullivan expedition. Two other very distinguished Senecas were 
Red Jacket and Cornplanter, the former reputed to be the most 
eloquent of all Indian orators, and the latter also a fine orator and 
great warrior. They were rivals at the treaty of Big Tree (Geneseo) 
in 1797, when the Senecas were induced to sign away the titles to 
their lands. Afterward Red Jacket came to the budding Dansvilie, 
when the Senecas were camping here, and delivered some impassioned 
speeches on the street, partly in English and partly in the Seneca 
language, the mixture in tongues being caused by a too free indul- 
gence in "fire water." The few white people who heard him were 
often spell-bound by his astonishing eloquence. 







RED JACKET 
Seneca Chief and Orator 



22 DAXSr/IJ./i OF THE PAST 

The expedition of General Sullivan and the Big Tree treaty hastened 
the civilized development of the Genesee country, including Dans- 
ville, causing settlers to flock in and improvements to multiply. 
General Sullivan started from Wyoming July 31, 1779, and was joined 
by General Clinton at Tioga Point, when the combined forces num- 
bered about 5.000 men. Their course from the southern tier was 
between Cayuga and Seneca lakes to their outlets, and thence west- 
ward past the lower ends of the series of lakes between the Seneca 
and the Genesee valley, the soldiers dealing destruction to Indian 
villages and crops as they marched. They reached Conesus, near the 
head of Conesus lake, on September 12, and there btn"ned an Indian 
village of eighteen houses. 

It was while at this point that (leneral Sullivan on Sunday evening, 
September 12, ordered Lieutenant Thomas Boyd of the rifle corps to 
take a few men and reconnoitre toward the principal Seneca village 
on the Genesee. The party consisting of twenty-si.x men, guided by 
Hannyerry, a loyal Indian, and accompanied by Timothy Murphy, a 
famous Indian fighter, started at once climbing the stee].) Groveland 
hill, and when the night was far advanced reached the little village of 
Canaseraga near the Colonel Abell residence. Here four Indians 
were surprised, one of them killed and one wounded. The wounded 
Indian and his two companions escaped to alarm the enemy, and a 
return was at once commenced by Boyd's party. When descending 
the hill at the base of which lay Sullivan's army, the party was sur- 
prised and surrounded by a large force of Indians and British. They 
valiantly tried three times in vain to break through the fatal lines, 
inflicting severe loss upon the enemy. Seventeen of their number 
were killed, including Hannyerry the guide, when the lines were 
broken and Murphy and four others escaped, while Lieutenant Boyd 
and vSergeant Michael Parker were taken prisoners and conveyed to 
the great Seneca Castle near Cuylerville, where their bodies were 
foiuid September 14, horribly mutilated b\' the tortures to which they 
had been subjected. They were buried with the honors of war near 
the spot. In August, 1841, their remains were exhumed and, with 
those of their seventeen companions who were killed in Groveland, 
were re-interred in Mt. Hope Cemetery, Rochester, with impressive 
military and civic ceremonies at Geneseo and Rochester, Hon. Wil- 
liam H. Seward delivering an address in Rochester. It was left for 
the Livingston County Historical society, through its special com- 
mittee, Hon. William P. Letchworth, Hon. Lockwood R. Doty, Wil- 
liam A. Brodie, and Chauncey K. vSanders, sixty years later, to take 
measures which resulted in the erection of a monument to mark the 
tragic scene of this one of the earliest and bravest struggles for Amer- 
ican freedom. The monument was put in place November 16, 1901, 
and appropriate ceremonies will probabl}' be observed this year under 
the auspices of the Historical wSt)ciety. The monument of marble 
consists of three pieces, the base which is three feet square, the die 
which is two feet square and four feet high, and the shaft which is 
seventeen inches .square at the base and tapers gently to the top. 
The shaft is nine feet, six inches long, making the monument four- 
teen feet high. 




ANDREW JOHN 
Representative Seneca Indian of Today 



24 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

The inscriptions on the die are as follows: 
On the east front. 

Erected by the Livingston County Historical Society. 
Scene of the massacre, after a desperate and heroic 
struggle, of Lieutenant Thomas Boyd's scout- 
ing party of General Sullivan' s army by 
an ambuscade of British and Indians 
under Butler and Brant. 
September 13, 1779. 

On the north front. 

Sacred to the memory of Lieutenant Thomas Boyd, and 
Sergeant Michael Parker, icho were captured 
and aftcrii'ard tortured and killed. 
Ajar their bones may lie. 
But here their patriot blood 
Baptized the land for aye 
And widened Freedom' s flood. 

On the south front. 

Sacred to the memory of Hannyerry, a loyal Oneida chief. 

.Sergeant Nicholas Hungerman. 

Pri'i'ates fohn Conrey, William Faughey. William 

Haivey, James McElrov, fohn Miller, Benjamin 

Curtin, John J'utnam, and scTcn others, names 

unknown, who fell and 'were buried here. 

The army entered the valley not far from the confluence of the Gene- 
see river and Canaseraga creek, and proceeded up the river, laying 
waste the other Seneca villages and all the cornfields and orchards. 
Drynondahgoeeh or Beardstown was the largest village destroyed. 
Here lived the noted chief Little Beard, and from here Brant and the 
Butlers went forth to the massacre of Wyoming. It occupied a part 
of the site of Cuylerville. During the march of Sullivan's army they 
burnt forty Indian towns, destroyed 160, UOO bushels of corn in fields 
and granaries, cut down many hundreds of fruit trees, desolated the 
gardens, and in this tragic way "opened to commerce and civilization 
a territory e.xceeding one-third of the state." Many of the Senecas 
fled to Fort Niagara, and a large number of them died there of starv- 
ation and cold during the very rigorous winter that followed. Many 
more migrated to the West, but there are now 1,225 Senecas on the 
Cattaraugus reserve in Western New York, holding 21,680 acres of 
land, with T. F. Jamerson as president of the Nation. General Sulli- 
van received the thanks of Congress, but the animus and doings of the 
expedition have been severely criticised by humanitarians and others. 
Whether or not the extreme measures adopted were justifiable, there 
is no doubt that they were of swift progressive value to this valley, and 
that but for them the settlement of Dansville would have been delayed 
many years. It is probable, also, that the disciplinary march greatly 
expedited the opening of the western territories. At that time there 
Were two Indian trails from Rochester to Dansville, one on each side 
of the Genesee and Canaseraga creek, and three trails southward. 




T. F. JAMERSON 
President Seneca Nation 



26 DJ.yS I -//././■: OF THE PAST 

Sdinething should be said in tiiis connection about land titles soon 
after the Revolutionary war. Conflicting questions of boundary 
between New York and Massachusetts were settled in 1786 by a com- 
promise, whereby Massachusetts relinquished her claims derived from 
a charter granted by the English government in 1609, to lands in 
this state, and New York ceded to her the pre-emption right to all 
lands west of a line running due north from the eighty-second mile 
stone on the north boundary of Pennsylvania, excepting a narrow 
belt along the Niagara river. This pre-emption line began at the 
southeast corner of Steuben county, and extended to Sodus bay. The 
pre-emption lands, six million acres, were ceded by Massachusetts to 
Phelps and Gorham soon after the treaty with New York, for about 
$150,000, the purchasers to extinguish the Indian title. Oliver 
Phelps then succeeded in making a contract with the Senecas whereby 
he obtained full title to 2,600,000 acres of the pre-emption lands, the 
consideration being a first payment of $5,000, and $500 annually 
thereafter without time limit. The west line extended from the 
boundary of Pennsylvania at a point eighty-two miles west from its 
northeast corner to the confluence of the Genesee river and Canaseraga 
creek, thence along the Genesee river to Canawaugus, thence west 
twelve miles, and thence northerly twelve miles from the Genesee to 
Lake Ontario. The rest of the six-million-acre tract went back to 
Massachusetts because the Indian title to it was not extinguished. 
In 1790 Phelps and Gorham sold their purchase to Robert Morris, and 
he in turn sold the most of it the next year to an English comjiany 
headed by Sir William Pulteney, and it became known as the Pulteney 
estate. This company afterward deeded the tract to Captain Charles 
Williamson, who had become naturalized in 1792, and he held the 
estate in trust for the company until the laws permitted aliens to 
hold real estate. The Pulteney estate as purchased of Robert Morris 
in 1791 contained 1,267,569 acres, and the price paid was 75,000 
pounds sterling. It embraced the present counties of Ontario, Yates, 
and Steuben, and large portions of Livingston, Monroe, Schuyler, 
Alleganv and Chemung. 




ROBERT MORRIS 
Purchaser of Seneca Lands 



CHAPTER II 
First Settlers 

First Families Came in June 1795 — James McCurdy's Reminiscences — The 
First Marriage — Daniel P. Faulkner's Enterprise — William Ferine — 
Col. Nathaniel Rochester — Dr. James Faulkner's Reminisences — Indian 
Festivities — Local Diseases — Sand)- Hill — The Brails, Lemens and 
Stones. 




THERE is a little confu.sion of .statements about some (if the 
first settlers of Dansville, but evidence is conclusive that 
the first family to establish themselves on the present 
site of Dansville village consisted of Mr. and Mrs. Cor- 
nelius McCoy, their stepsons, David and James McCurdy, 
and their stepdaufjhter, Mary McCurdy. This was in 
June, 17')5. The boys were then, respectively, sixteen 
and thirteen years old, and Mar}* w'as a young lady. 

It is also evident that William McCartney and Andrew 
Smith were then settled in Sparta, about three miles dis- 
tant, having come there in 1702. 
The McCoys were natives of the north of Ireland and the McCurdys 
were Scotch. They emigrated to America in 1788, and went first to 
Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, where they resided until they 
moved to Dansville, journeying through an almost unbroken wilder- 
ness by way of Painted Post, Bath and the Springwater valley. At first 
they occupied a surveyor's hut where the Conrad Welch house is on the 
corner of Ossian and Spruce streets, but in the fall Jlr. McCoy and 
the boys cut logs for a cabin eighteen by fourteen feet, and Indians 
came from Geneseo, Mt. Morris (then Allen's Hill), Painted Post, 
and Bath to help them put it up. The cabin was roofed with bass- 
wood bark. It stood near the spot of the David McNair house where 
there was a fine spring of water. The nearest family on the south 
was Judge Hulbert's at Arkport, 11 miles distant, and Mrs. McCoy 
and Mrs. Hulbert occasionally walked through the woods to visit 
each other, returning home the same day. In a paper of remi- 
niscences written by James McCurdy, now in possession of his grand- 
son, James M. Edwards, he states that he was born in Ireland in 
1782, that his father died when he was eighteen months old, that his 
mother afterward married Mr. McCoy, and that she died at the age 
of ninety-two. The paper says: 

"The country had a wild but attractive appearance. It was very 
productive for the various kinds of grain and vegetables now grown 
among us. We sold the most of our grain and stock for some years 
to the new settlers, but occasionally would go elsewhere for a market. 
The second year after we came we went to Bath with a load of oats, 
and were obliged to sell them to Dugald Cameron for 37'^ cents a 
bushel and take pay in goods. Bath was then considered one of the 
best markets in this section of the state. Grain was brought there 
from Geneva and shipped down the Cohocton, Chemung, and Susque- 



28 







•Jul 't\^X'. 

!•- ! <' ''I 




3 

o 
E 






•^ to 



00 C 

c .2 

is n 
— u 

3 O 

cQ J 

c j: 
o — 

■^ ^ 

ii 

c ^ 
ca <u 

c CO 
a> . 

to 

.- o 

c 

V 



cQ 



* 


* 


* 


not 
* 


been 
* 


for 
* 



30 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

hanna rivers in arks. We were obliged to go to the Onondaga salt 
works with teams for salt, where it usuall}- cost two dollars per barrel 
and was often sold here for ten dollars a barrel. * • 

We could hardly have lived here the first year had it 
the Indians, who were exceedingly friendly. * 

"The year after we came Amariah Hammond, Dr. James Faulkner, 
Samuel Faulkner, Captain Daniel P. Faulkner, and William Porter 
settled near us. Thomas Alacklen was our first school teacher. * * 
There were very few sheep in this section, so that it was hard work 
to procure wool for stockings. A Mr. Duncan had a few which he 
brought from Pennsylvania. I tried to buy one, and he finally told 
me that if I would reap, bind, and shock two acres of barley, I might 
have one a year old, which I did in two days. Since that time I have 
always kept sheep, some years to the number of 3,000. * * For a 
number of years it was a great tax upon us to attend courts, as the 
country was so thinly settled that we were called upon at least three 
times a year to serve as jurors, and go twenty-eight miles. About 
twelve years after we came a man named Benjamin Kenyon moved 
into our village. He was a desperate character. We nicknamed him 
Captain Pogue, and from this came the name of Pogue's Hole, ap- 
plied to the narrow valley where he lived." 

Mr. McCoy died in 1809. David McCurdy finally moved west, and 
James succeeded to the homestead farm of 300 acres in the south- 
western part of the village. His wife's maiden name was Sarah 
Gray, whose father was one of the pioneers of Allegany county. Both 
lived on the old farm until they died. The nearest grist mill in the 
fir.st two years was at Conesus lake outlet, twenty miles away, and 
the new settlers were often without flour and meal. Indians brought 
to the McCoys plenty of venison, and received in payment for a 
quarter of deer, two pumpkins, or six turnips, or two quarts of corn ; 
this currency system having been arranged by Mrs. McCoy. 

McCartney and Smith, the first settlers of Sparta, before men- 
tioned, emigrated together from Scotland in 1791, the former to be 
clerk for Captain Charles Williamson as agent for the Pulteney estate. 
They went first to Philadelphia, and early the next winter to Bath, 
which was then the home of Captain Williamson, and after a few 
months more came to Sparta, arriving there in the summer of 1792. 
They occupied a log cabin which had been built by Captain William- 
son on the west bank of Canaseraga creek three miles north of Dans- 
ville village, on what is now known as the McNair farm, and kept 
bachelor's hall there for two years. Then Smith went to Bath and 
McCartney moved up the creek to the locality of Cumminsville, where 
he had purchased 209 acres on the fiats and built a log house. Three 
years later he escorted to this rustic home his beautiful bride — Mary 
McCurdy of the McCoy household. They were married July 14, 
1796, by the Rev. Samuel J. Mills of Groveland, and this was the first 
marriage within the present town of North Dansville. They became 
the parents of thirteen children, eleven of whom lived to maturity. 
Mr. McCartney was one of the founders and first elders of the Pres- 
byterian church of Sparta, was supervisor of the town for twenty- 
seven vears, and served one term as Member of Assembly. He died 
in lS3i, and his wife in 1S64. 




■■S^;-. 



>• 

o 
o 
u 

°^ 

u c 
S ° 

o 

en . 

< 



o 




o 



Q 

D 
O 



< c 

-3 0) 



O 



32 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Amariah Hammond, one of the settlers who came in 17'J(), built 
the second log house of the village that year, and moved his wife and 
child from Bath into it. He belled his horse in order to find him 
when he strayed into the forest, and sharpened his ploughshare when 
dull, on a large stone. If he had his horse shod he must go to Bath, 
thirty-five miles distant, as the nearest blacksmith shop was there. 
When the time for cutting his first hay crop approached he went to Tioga 
Point for scythes, two of which, with expenses, cost him eleven dollars. 
His brother Lazarus came soon afterward, and settled in a loghouse 
near him. 

Captain Williamson was the founder of the ancient village of Wil- 
liamsburg, now utterly vanished, at the intersection of Canaseraga 
creek with the Genesee river, this spot being selected because the 
creek was then navigable with flat boats or arks to Dansville, twenty 
miles distant. This was in 1792, and a colony was brought there in 
that year. It was the first white man's village in the county, and 
there the first school in the county was taught by Samuel Murphy; 
the first tavern was kept by William Lemen;the first store was opened 
by Alexander iMcDonald, and the first evangelical preacher was 
Rev. Samuel J. Wilkinson. 

vStatements have been published that in 1793 Captain Williamson 
built a grist mill and saw mill at the upper end of present Dansville, 
but this does not harmonize with other statements, and his mills 
there could not have been built before 1796 or 1797. The grist mill 
was burned before it was entirely finished and was rebuilt in 1806. 
He and his agents sold from the Pultene)' estate a large portion of the 
present town of Dansville for $1.50 an acre on a credit of six years. 
In 1793 he started the first regular horse race of the county at Wil- 
liamsburg. The advertising bill was headed "Williamsburg Fair 
and Genesee Races," and the bill .stated that there would be "an an- 
nual fair for the purchase of cattle, horses, and sheep." The next 
year fourteen horses were entered for a fifty-pound purse. Captain 
Williamson's advertisements and personal invitations brought to the 
valley gentlemen from Virginia, Pennsylvania and other states, some 
of them with their slaves, and a number of them remained and 
became settlers. His principal object was to sell them lands of his 
vast holdings, and his plan was successful. In addition to Williams- 
burg he established the first settlements at Bath and Great Sodus. 
A biographical sketch of him is given in another chapter. 

Daniel P. Faulkner purchased 6,000 acres of land immediately after 
he came here from Danville, Pa., and induced about fifteen families 
to move here and settle. He brought to Dansville the first stock of 
goods, which were drawn on a sleigh from Albany. In 1796, the year 
of his arrival, he laid out the village and it was named after him. 
He was enterprising and popular, and spent his money too freely. 
His military tastes led him to organize ancl captain a showy military 
company of thirty men called Grenadiers. He failed in 1798, and 
went back to his old home in Pennsylvania but returned in 1802 and 
died here. His brother Samuel bought several village lots and put 
up the first frame dwelling — a two-story house near the site of the 
Livingston hotel. He commenced keeping a tavern in 1797, this 
being the second Dansville tavern, John Vandeventer having pre- 



F/RS T SE T TL F.RS 



33 



ceded him a few munths in the business in a small plank house. The 
other brother. James, who came in 1813, was a graduate of Rush col- 
lege, and the pioneer physician of the village. 



\ 








AN EARLY GRIST MILL ON UPPER MAIN STREtT 



Christopher Vandeventer was another settler who came in 1796. 
He was from New Jersey, and settled on the Charles Shepard house 
site. He was the pioneer tanner, and three sons came here with him 
who were tanners, although John, the oldest, kept the tirst tavern for 
a short time. The father died of fever in 1798. Nathaniel and Wil- 
liam Porter of the group of 1796 settlers were from New Jersey. 
Nathaniel died the next year, which was the first death in town. 
Thomas Macklen, the first school teacher, was a Scotchman and 
probably came to Dansville in 1797. He taught ten or twelve scholars 
in 1798 in the pioneer schoolhouse, which stood about a mile north of 
the centre of the village. Dodsworth's spelling book was then used. 
He married into the McCurdy family, and taught school here many 
years. He died in 1822. 

William Ferine came from Washington county to the ancient vil- 
lage of Williamsburg in 1797, but moved up the valley to Dansville 
two years later and settled at the head of Ferine street, which took 
his name. He bought large tracts of land on the east side of Main 
street, of which there were several hundred acres of hill land, includ- 
ing the site and grounds of the present Sanatorium. He had been in 
the army of the Revolution five years, and was a captain of cavalry 
under General Francis Marion. He died in 1847, aged ninety-three. 
The late Feter Ferine was his son, and Dr. Francis Marion Ferine 
and Thomas L. Ferine are his grandsons. 



DAXSVfl.LE OF THE PAST 




Colonel Nathaniel Rochester, 
from whom the city of Rochester 
is named, visited this locality in 
ISUO, and came to reside here in 
ISlU, having first purchased a 
large tract of land embracing the 
most of the water power of the 
village. He bought the mills 
which had been erected for the 
Pulteney estate, and built the 
pioneer paper mill of Western 
New York. He was an officer of 
the Revolution and a friend of 
Washington. In 1814 he disposed 
of his property here, a part to 
Rev. Christopher Endress and 
the rest to Jacob Opp, both of 
Easton, Pa. Rev. Mr. Endress 
went back to Easton to take 
charge of his former German 
Lutheran church. His two sons. 
Judge Isaac L. and Doctor Sam- 
uel L. Endress, afterward became 
residents of Dansville. ^Ir, ( )pp 
built a grist mill, clover mill and 
tannery on his property near the 
upper Readshaw mill. Near them 
were the mills erected by Cap- 
tain Williamson. Later, William 
Porter, one of the settlers of 
17'Ki, and his brother David erected a saw mill, grist mill and paper 
mill by the side of Canaseraga creek, on the other side of the vallev. 
A grist mill built by David Sholl in 1800 was burned in 18(17. 

In some reminiscences of William Scott of Scottsburg, deceased, he 
stated that in 1812 Jared Irwin and John Metcalf were the only Dans- 
ville merchants, and brought their goods from Philadelphia overland 
to the Susquehanna, and thence by boat to Newtown (Elmira). Mr. 
Scott came here from Sparta that year to be a clerk for Mr. Irwin. 
James McCurdy also clerked for Mr. Irwin about that time. In 1S13 
John Shepard came from Connecticut, and became a merchant. At 
that time trade was nearly all a barter business. Wheat was then sent 
to ^Montreal. 

Peter vShoIl came from Pennsylvania in 1808. There were then 
about a score of houses, but neither church nor school building within 
the village limits. Mr. vSholl soon became owner of a grist mill and 
traded a good deal with the Indians. In the log school house a mile 
north of the village there was preaching some of the time on Sundav 
and singing school once a week. 

Some of the settlers not yet mentioned who came before 1800, were 
Frederick Barnhart, Jacob Martz, George vShirey, Jacob Welch, James 
Logan, William Pheni.x, John Phenix and Jared Irwin. 



^^ /^3/^72~,. 



COL. NATHANIEL ROCHESTER. 



36 



DAXS]-fLLE OF THE PAST 




SOLOMON FENSTERMACHtR 
DAUGHTER. OF DAVID SHOLL 



The brothers Solomon and Isaac 
Fenstermacher came in 1805 and for 
some time built most of the frame 
houses, which included the only three 
story building in the county at that 
date. It was nicknamed "Solomon's 
Temple." Among others who are 
named as having settled here very 
near the beginning of the Nineteenth 
Century, were Thomas McWhorter, 
James Harrison, Samuel Shannim, 
Jonathan Rowley, John Haas, Daniel 
Hamsher, Oliver Warren and Samuel 
Dorr. James Scott, who came from 
Pennsylvania and settled in Sparta 
with his family in 1806, remembered 
that David Sholl then owned the Wil- 
liamson mill at Dansville, and named 
among other residents. Peter LaFlesh, 
Matthew Patterson, Peter and Jacob 
Welch. Jonathan Stout, J(;)hn Metcalf, 
( )wen Wilkinson, David, James, and 
Matthew Porter. 

When the McNinches settled in 
Conesus in 1804 they did their trad- 
ing in Dansville, and the merchants would sell them only a 
quarter of a pound of tea and two pounds of coffee at a time, and they 
paid three or four shillings a pound for the coffee and from six to 
twelve shillings for the tea, while they could not get sugar and 
molasses at any price. 

Some reminiscences by Dr. James Faulkner are in place here. On 
January 31, 1873, there was a pioneer gathering at his house in cele- 
bration of his eighty-third birthday, the following being present: 
Andrew Arnold 91, Harry Hyde 88, Robert McBride 87, Moses B. 
Oilman 86, Erhardt Rail 85', Daniel Porter 84, Nathan Lockling 83, 
James Faulkner S3, John Reese 83, William Scott 82, William Perine 
80, Obed Aldrich 79, Moses George 78, E. B. Brace 78, Luther Peck 
73, John Goundry 71. 

In the remarks made by Dr. Faulkner at that time, he said there 
were but fifteen or sixteen families when he came here in 1797 and 
only one frame house on Main street, which was not enclosed, the 
other houses, except a plank store, being of logs. A man named 
Macklen kept a school in the winter of 1798 and had ten or twelve 
scholars, and Gaylord taught ten or twelve scholars in 1799. Dr. 
Faulkner's father built a frame house in the summer of 1797, and in 
the fall used it for a tavern. When he came, his uncle, James F'aulk- 
ner, lived in a shanty that he had built by the paper mill. He was a 
member of the legislature in 1802 and 1803, and was appointed first 
judge of Steuben county in 18(i4. Amariah Hammond came in 1796 
and his brother Lazarus about 1800. He sold the land that he then 
bought to John Hartman. John Hartman was the eldest of thirteen 
children of Harmon Hartman who settled near the location of the 



FIRS T SE r TIERS 37 

present village of Dansville in 1807. John followed farming and kept 
a tavern in the house built by his father which is now occupied by 
Orville T. Hartman, the great grandson of Harmon. A picture of 
house and sign are given. John and his wife Mary died within two 
days of each other, February 17 and 19, 1845, of malignant erysipelas 
which carried off so many early settlers as elsewhere noted. Of John's 
family of nine children three survive, George of Dansville, Endressof 
West Virginia and Samuel Frederick of Buffalo. The John Hartman 
estate when divided among the children in 1848 contained 579 acres. 




JOHN HARTMAN INN AND SIGN. 



The Indians that lived on the Genesee river reservation gener- 
ally came up here to the hunting grounds in October. Their 
favorite camping place was under the bank in the creek gulch 
by the California House. They built their houses by divisions or 
families, and went together in small tribes, and the children followed 
the mothers. They had their celebrations about the first of Feb- 
ruary, and one of them lasted five or six days. They made a sacri- 
fice of five or six white dogs, tying them by their necks to a pole. 
Dr. Faulkner said that up to twenty years of age he beat the swiftest 
Indian runners they could bring, but was finally beaten by one who 
came from Buffalo. There was no such thing as money here for many 
years, and the merchants sold the most of their goods for furs. In 
1805, when Dr. Faulkner's father died, there were more Indians than 
white people in town. 



38 DAXSl'ILLE OF THE PAST 

In those years, when the Indians camped here, and Red Jacket 
made occasional speeches on the street, they danced, wrestled, ran 
races, and sometimes indulged in pagan orgies around their camp 
fires. The wrestlers sometimes contended to determine who should 
have a coveted squaw, and there was such a contest fince on Ossian 
street between two of the strongest braves for the possession of a 
young squaw of extraordinary beauty who sat near and watched 
them. The struggle was a long one in which there were several 
throws, and was equivalent to a fight to the finish. At its close the 
defeated Indian pushed his conqueror toward the squaw and said, 
"Take her," when the other silently .stalked away with the dusky 
beauty, who seemed perfectly content. In cold weather Indians 
would sometimes ask the white settlers for a night's lodging, and 
Mrs. McCoy has given sleeping accommodations to as many as a 
dozen of them at once. They would stretch themselves out close 
together on the floor, and make no sound until morning. 

In 1805 the influx of settlers all along the valley was so great that 
provisions became very scarce, and many were charitably supplied 
by the former settlers. Up to this time agues and bilious complaints 
were very common, but afterward rapidly lessened. The "Genesee 
fever," of a low typhoid type, also prevailed, and was sometimes fatal. 
From December 1, to the middle of March, 1812, a malignant form 
of typhoid pneumonia spread through the valley and Western New 
York. It originated in the British army in Canada, and was brought 
over by soldiers. Dr. Lyman N. Cook of Dansville said that it was 
fatal as often as once in three cases, and patients sometimes died in 
three or four hours after they were attacked. 

The Sandy Hill settlement, partly in this town, has been so closely 
identified with the village that it should not be entirely omitted in an 
account of the early times. 

John Brail, born in 1771, came to Dansville in 1813, moved to 
Sandy Hill two years later, and made.the first clearing in that locality. 
He was called "Grandpap. " and was a teller of large, incredible 
stories. He manufactured much charcoal. Several other settlers 
quickly followed him, and in December, 1813, they held their first 
school meeting at the house of Rufus Stone, with William S. Lemen 
as moderator. The result was a finished plank schoolhouse by the 
next January, with a huge fireplace at one end and on each side a 
twelve-paned window of seven by nine glass. E. W. Brockway was 
immediately installed as teacher at $13.50 a month. Not until 1824 
was a box stove substituted for the fireplace. This schoolhouse was 
the educational, religious and social center of the Sandy Hill people 
until 1845, when a new one was built. In 1820 ninety pupils were 
taught there. 

Rufus Stone came with his family from Onondaga county in 1816, 
after prospecting the previous year. He took up a tract of land near 
.Stone's Falls, which takes its name from him, and was the first one 
to use its water power. He built a saw mill there in 1816, which 
was in operation till 1840. In 1825 he built a mill for the manufac 
ture of flaxseed oil. He died in 1842, and his son Benjamin succeeded 
to his business, and built a new saw mill and new oil mill. Broton 
S. Stone, still living, established a wagon manufactory in 1848, and 



/■YA'.S"/" S/iTTLERS 



39 



was one of the founders of the Dansville Grange No. 178 in 1874, 
which put up a hall costing $2,000, and is one of the best organiza- 
tions of its kind in the state. William S. Letnen moved from Ossian 
to Sandy Hill in 1816, and his son James B. was the first child born 
in tliat settlement. Chauncey Day built a saw mill there in 1817, and 
in 1S21 Mr. Dorr had a woollen mill in operation. In 183*J-40 L. Mel- 
\in, \V. H. Reynolds and Jonathan^Proctor as partners had ajioe factory 




STONE'S FALLS. 



constructed there, with the best possible machinery for making and 
grinding superior steel hoes. Their business prospered from the start, 
and they made large preparations for extending it, but a fire destroyed 
shops and machinery in September, 1841, and although the shops were 
rebuilt, the attending expense and a series of misfortunes defeated 
their plans and hopes. 



CHAPTER III 



Later Early Days 




In 1X12 — Transferred from Steuben to Livingston County — Water Power At- 
traction — The Canal Period — Factories and Mills — Business in 1830 — 
First Schools — Noted Visitors — Martin VanBuren and Prince John — 
War and Politics — Efforts for County Seat. 

THE following- extract from the New York Gazeteer of 1813 
is interesting: 

"Tlie village of Dansville is pleasantly situated on a 
branch of the Canaseraga creek, near the northwest 
corner of the town, thirty-five miles northwest of Bath. 
Here is a post-olifice, a number of mills, and a handsome 
street of one and one-half miles in length, occupied by 
farm houses, etc. The valley embracing this settlement 
contains 3,000 acres of choice lands, and the soil is warm 
and productive. There is a road from Bath to Dansville 
Village that leads diagonally across the centre of this town 
from southeast to northwest, and another between Dansville Village 
and Ontario county leads across the northern part. The population 
is 666, and there are about 100 taxable inhabitants." 

This quotation refers to the year 1812, or the seventeenth year after 
the first settler arrived. 

Livingston county was formed from portions of Ontario and Gen- 
esee counties in 1821. In 1822 the northwest quarter of townships, 
number six in seventh range, then in Dansville, Steuben comity, was 
annexed to Sparta. This included "Dansville Village" which was 
the post ofHce name previous to about 1832, when the name was 
changed to Dansville. The town of North Dansville was formed 
from Sparta in 1846, and another section of Sparta was added in 1849, 
but it is now the smallest township in the state except one. 

The most of the first settlers were from Pennsylvania and New 
England, and a number of them were born across the ocean. These 
for several years were nearly all of Scotch, English, and North-of- 
Ireland Irish descent. Then the German immigrants began to come 
direct from their native land, and took up lands along and beyond 
Sandy Hill, and not long afterward German families began to find 
homes in the village. There was hardly one among those first set- 
tlers of mixed nationalities who did not belong' to the industrious and 
thrifty type of citizens, which is always a fortunate thing in starting 
a town. Soon the population of Dansville was increasing faster than 
that of any other village of the county, and although behind Geneseo 
and Moscow in obtaining a village charter, was considerably more 
populous than either of them when they were incorporated. There 
were several reasons for this. While the farm lands were as rich as 
those of any other section of the county — a county that produced 
about one-fifteenth of the wheat of the coimtry for several years, and 



40 



LA TER EARL Y DA YS 



41 




ANCIENT MAP SHOWING TMt HUbinON OF THE GENESEO COUNTRY 
COMPREHENDING THE COUNTIES OF ONTARIO AND STEUBEN AS LAID OFF IN TOWNSHIPS OF 
SIX MILES SQUARE EACH. 

Rkfebexces: A, Painted Post ; B, liath ; C, DansviUe: I). Williamshurgli ; E, Geneseo ; P, Hartford ; 
G Athens; H, Canatidarque. the coiintv town mow Caiiandaiguai ; I.Geneva: K,Lyon.s: L, Sodus : M. Cale- 
donia, a Scotch settlement ; X. Ganson's Tavern ; O, Station on the Big Plains ; P. Hope Town ; Q, Frederick's 
Inn ; X, Town and Mills at the falls of the Geneseo River (now Rochester, i 



ranked as the second county in sheep husbandry in 1855 and 1875 — it 
also had the best water power of the county on three or four streams, 
leading to the quick establishment here of various manufactories and 
the employment in them of many workmen, and when the Dansville 
branch of the Gene.see Valley Canal was completed a vast lumber and 
farming region on the south became tributary to the village as the 
most available shipping point. The growth was most rapid during 
the canal period, from 1843 to 1853. In 1824 A. Bradley & Sons had 
commenced paper making on the site of the former WoodrufT Paper 
Company's mill at the upper end of Main street, and in 1844, with 
two paper mills and a book-bindery, they had built up a hamlet 
around them of eighteen dwellings. Other mills, some of which are 
mentioned in Chapter II, also employed many men, and a consider- 
able number found work on the neighboring farms. As early as 1833 
there were fifty-five saw mills within the circuit of a few miles of 
Dansville, and in 1844 the manufacture of lumber had increased enor- 
mously, and a number of steam mills had been started. The annual 
business of the two Bradley paper mills then amounted to $100,000, and 
that of the three Faulkner, Porter, and Bradner mills to $1(K),0()() 
more — $200,(100 in all. They paid in wages to about 200 employes 
$110,000. The business of other factories and mills was $80,000. In 











(iipsiiiAiyY 




^^■TjanmiDEE : j-t-^-5i«^?v^^^H 


PACKlT'BOAT 

844, ARRaNGEMEKTS, 1844, 

X i'xrU'ifioul lriius,ttO(IIKsTEft «i|il ttAVStlUt 

I);iiIk ii- Itilloivs:" •' -^ . 

I^a*c*R:>rli<j"fr for U:.ii^ulU^.' ^' \ ^1 ; l^a»<> IVniin ill. fur HocWn- < .'-A.,H. 

I'fl.i^i 5f.i(tvtill«-. du* -11 '■ W'-'W ." ".xKilli-. " d" t»l " 
JD A>™ UndiiK.' 'il" ^ IJl'M ■*> K.y-or.U|c, Jo . T, ■■ ' 
H, ■ S.«*fi>„ri-. At' l; ■■ •!» SLA. r SiMtnicn;. i ■• ", 

't« Vorl,; . J.i -■ -' I .1..- ■•M...iiii JlortU. *< • ,9 ■• 
Jo IMj-inlfi. 1' 1 ! .iVIooiltc. .Ip ■ W >• 
do Cu»U^r\ilt.. iMfcfd.fieiitiCoJaiidinglO; ■•' ' 
do JWi|mH»..-- V.iiHr d., 11-.-, 
;.In ■. Slt,l.,rSnikm. ,i .. 1 " Spci,orii.n. d6 It! - 
dii ■K(.ir.r.>ill»' .1' ■ 1. - •'■• ..Vo i'.»i»liiis,.li . lail'.M., 

. d- , • «■- xi.ilfc.,- -.1. ■ ■: do ic. .iiif. -do ^ a ■• ■ 

»^*(ij^.it DBiiMir.-at . N V nodiur^ttt Ko<lie.Urui. " .'. - 

fti time r»r (hr Haclol IJ»iiN r»i*yri(n>f »v Baffulo ur 

ti,. ( .-.. i.r rlio M-.im l{,. '«>n;l.akV i»..i™(... 'J 1..- 11. n. ar.- t.....i.ht.| ... ■.- . ' 

^ LIGHT FREIGHT CARRIED. 

tor ^ussiiiic itffh iiltbc I'alkil Koat OHico. Rdchixlit ; 
A. sriLWEi.i.", Ml. niutriii.i. \i:;ii.\<>v, iii.dMii|. 

r , , ,4 . ■*■ tjr'tfce" "uptiiiu on -JioanL ■ . .^ ^ 




PACKET BOAT TIME TABLE 






SCENE ON CANAL AT CUMMINSVILLE 



LA TER EARLY DA YS 



43 



1833 the paper mills emplo\-ed only eighty-four persons. The clover 
mill that year prepared 1,50U bushels of clover seed for the market. 

Packet boats for passengers were run with great regularity as the 
best means of transportation and were largely patronized. Copy of 
an old time table indicates landings and connections, also speed. 

vSome of the shipments by canal in 1844 were as follows: Boards 
and shingles, 5,633,460 feet, valued at $44,979; shingles, 6,Sin,3U8 
feet, valued at $13,620; timber, 41,124 feet, valued at $2,467; .staves, 
586,899, valued at $6,869; potash, 819 barrels, valued at $16,380; 
butter and lard, 55,875 pounds, valued at $4,470; cheese, 125,080 
pounds, valued at $6, 254; wool, 95, 673 pounds, valued at $28,702; flour, 
5,103 barrels, valued at $20,412; paper and sundries, 323,141 pounds, 
valued at $64,625. Total value of these and other products shipped 
about $250,000. The canal tolls of this second year of the canal 
amounted to $8,383, being an increase over the previous year of 
$2,156. The amount of property brought to the village greatly ex- 
ceeded the amount shijjped. In 1850 the number of tons shipped was 
34,193, valued at $665,469, and the tolls amounted to $28,400. The 
value of articles received was $1,287,1()6. 



' i":-:'^!Sgj?^ 5 ^^r 




^iS^^^^^fe?^^^^^ 



^4iMii' 




if^a J^nj';! 






'^n->*^! 



* )• , 



-"s^-' 



2W -- ■ \'^{^i^:;t^:2^kp- 



■ AW tliW" \ 



MAIN STREE;T, east side, DANSVILLE. 

FKOM PEN SKtTCM BV M. t. SEDGWICK 



1 .Toshiui Shi'parfl Store 

■J <;ec). HvliiTMrs Hat Shop i 

;i IlDlnifs" MiiniessShop Culled the Three Sistfrs 

4 Hasl»T-sT:iili>rShop t 

'» 11. I)uv, otlice aiui Residence 

li W. F. Clark Sture 

7 Bahcofk l>nigStort- 

K Wilson Tcasdale, Watch Shop and Teiiemeiil Honse 

9 Mrs. Itowlcy. Residence 



10 S. W. Smith Residence 

1 1 Smith and Melvin Store 

12 Arcliway Leading; U\ Potashery 

13 s. Hnnt. Groceiy and Harness Shop 

14 S. Hunt Re-iidence 

If) o. 1), Stacy. Tavern and Residence 

It; .1. ('. Sfds:wick. Tailor Shop and Residence 

17 .I.e. Sedgwick, Tenant House 

\s I)a\is ( )iPhard 



44 



DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 



Dansville had about eighty structures in 1830, inchiding three 
stores, four taverns, two potasheries, paper mills, grist mills, etc. 
In 1844 the buildings had increased to 45U, with twenty-eight retail 
stores, twenty shops, three taverns, one book bindery, two printing 
offices, one bank, and fifteen offices for the professions. The cost of 
the whole was variously estimated to be from $250,000 to $300,000. 

In 1830 the Dansville fences were nearly all rail fences, and the 
only residents on South street were James Faulkner and W. Dorry, 
on Ferine street William Ferine, and on Ossian street Conrad Welch. 

The old academy building, 



mmm tiT ^m:s^x<iT:j^Wi>:^ 



so long used for a district 
school, was built in 1836, and 
there the older boys and girls 
of those days received instruc- 
tion in advanced studies, in its 
first years from Prof. J. Lyman 
Crocker as principal. Prof. Ful- 
ler as assistant, and Miss Niles 
as preceptress. Their more el- 
ementary education was ob- 
tained at the little school-house 
close by, which was built be- 
fore the academv, and about 
1821. In 1882 the late Henry 
C. Sedgwick, of numerous rem- 
iniscences, remembered as sur- 
viving early pupils William 
TklcCurdy, John McCurdy, J. J. 
Welch, Hugh McCartney, Al- 
onzo Bradner, G. R. Smith, 
H. A. Sprague, Calvin Fens- 
termacher, B. W. Woodruff, 
H. B. Opp, Mrs. Alex. Ed- 
wards, and ]Mrs. Matthew Mc- 
Xair. It was the time, Mr. 
Sedgwick said, of Daboll's 
arithmetic, Brown's grammar, 
Webster's spelling book, and 
the English reader. The little schoolhouse was moved about half a 
mile from its former position, and is now a dwelling almost opposite 
the barn of Brightside on AVilliams street, and the academy building 
was moved across the square and became William H. Dick's shoe 
factory. 

O. D. Stacy's tavern, which began to receive comers to Dansville 
in 1822, had the distinction of entertaining in 1832 two among the 
most remarkable men which New York state has produced. They 
were Martin VanBuren, then ex-governor and afterward vice-presi- 
dent and president of the United States, and his son John, known as 
"Prince John" because he danced with Queen Victoria more than 
once, and is reputed to have nearly won her heart — a man of infinite 
humor and a delightful and persuasive orator. Martin VanBuren had 
been employed by Amariah Hammond as agent, to look after the legal 



I'lllDAV EM'.M.Nf; :>IM!< II lllili. 

(■„„,„„ firi,,^ ill 11 nrll,,!:. 



V, A I) r'K.s' coiflp irrgTT T n \ s: . 



tJ.MM.llM.*.J:h«tlW 

^ i)ECLA3IATIo:S. 

r - CMiicIrr t( DiMwtaito flLF.Rijndr Di^>>Uc 

I . ..|<nhl(>lhc Prni'MM ..,;.. 1 »>ikhe. lann.llc 

- ii'XifK'm •qw«cb«<LM>lCLitbvD B. YL Kniib, 

I,,,. arJVi.Rit A.Vaullion, " 

CO.-\TUOVKRSY. 

• 'ti™!,- I. i/s/ir, AflLf "' 

.,, >,.\.\^. ... \rat,i(»a YMtt, Ii, .w, V«BE. Ijinnt. 

' . ■ ' ' ■■-.-Oni.ul A VurlinHi, S^^u 

Ainciicn, A. IJrailinji-, Dniisvillc. j 

V 'Cciiiciininl Address, • • H. S|n-n2;uc, Daiiavillt! 
■ RHOUERIC DUCK A?tD FITZ JAMES. 



Oh Fluiiticiicr, 



K. PnviK*!- Btiriis. 



us.. 31.t3ZJ3T?Z?.. 



DANSVILLE ACADEMY PROGRAM OF 1837 



LA TER EARL Y DA) 'S 45 

interests of certain settlers who had purchased lands of the Pulteney 
estate, the titles to which had been imperiled by a decision in the 
Court of Errors, and was appealed from and carried up to the Court 
of Chancery. He had managed their case with great ability and tact, 
and won, and the settlers were thereafter his grateful admirers. Land- 
lord Stacy, whose tavern received the two great men, established the 
first stage line between Dansville and Hornellsville. Rowle\ 's tavern 
was famous for good cookery in the early days, and the landlord once 
entertained the famous Indian chiefs, Red Jacket and Tall Chief. 
Another old and popular tavern was kept by Lester Kingsbury and 
G. C. Taylor. This was on the site of the Hyland house, and Row- 
ley's and Stacy's taverns were farther up Main street. 

Those and later years were the years of general trainings, with tall 
hats, cockades, white breeches and silver lace, and for marching music 
the screams of fifes and din of drums. Gen. J. Albert Granger of 
Canandaigua was the first reviewing officer, serving many years in that 
capacity. He was succeeded by William S. Fullerton of Sparta. The 
thorough drill master was Captain Isaac W. Drake, and his successor 
was Captain James H. Parker. When the Patriot war began in Can- 
ada, some of the militiamen's bosoms swelled large with the spirit of 
'76, and they talked of going over to fight for the cause of the rebels, 
but the uprising was quickly put down and their belligerency oozed 
away with the lost cause. 

Party spirit ran high during the Tippecanoe campaign of 1840. Two 
log cabins were erected here by the Whigs, and guards placed in them 
to defend their ash flag poles against Democratic axes. Discussion 
wa.xed hot on the street corners and in the stores and taverns, occa- 
sionally ending in blows and bloody noses. 

Twice there have been prospects that Dansville would become the 
capital of a new county. In 1830 a movement was started in Alle- 
gany county to erect a new county out of portions of Allegany, Gene- 
see, and "so much of Livingston county as would lie south of a con- 
tinuation of the north line of the town of vSparta to the Genesee river. " 
The plan was popular in Allegany county, and pushed with persistent 
determination, and as Dansville had been selected as the future shire 
village, she was entirely willing that the movement should be a suc- 
cess. The most bitter opposition came from Mt. Moi"ris, which was 
somewhat inclined to be jealous of faster-growing Dansville, and 
meetings were held there to denounce and resolve against the proposed 
carving process for a new county. The opposition prevailed, and no 
similar effort was made until 1853, when it was proposed to form a 
new county from Livingston, Steuben and Allegany, with Dansville 
as the county seat. The part to be subtracted from Livingston con- 
sisted of the towns of Springwater, Sparta, Dansville, West Sparta, 
Nunda and Portage. Again there was opposition, and again Dans- 
ville was agreeable. But the legislature could not be induced to pass 
the necessary bill, and Dansville remains without county buildings 
and the mild excitements of court and supervisors' proceedings. 




CHAPTER IV 
TKird Quarter of Century 

Fi-oin Canal to Railroad — Waj-land the Nearest Station — Dansville Seminary 
— Protection Against Fire — Business Men of 1850 — The Civil War and 
Dansville's Prompt Response — Later War Meetings and Bounties Paid 
— The Draft — The Hyland House and Maxwell Block. 

THE most prosperous period for Dansville was the canal 
period, that is, the ten years between 1842 and 1852, or 
the year of the completion of the Dansville branch of the 
Genesee Valley canal and that of the completion of the 
Erie railroad to Dunkirk. In another chapter some ac- 
count is given of the business boom during that decade. 
The new railroad facilities afforded by the Erie imme- 
diately turned the shipment of the lumber and other pro- 
ducts of Allegany and Steuben counties from Dansville to 
the Erie stations on the south, and the rapid growth of 
Dansville was at an end. Between 1845 and 185U its pop- 
ulation had increased from 2213 to 4090, or nearly 100 per cent in five 
years. The hotels and stores had been, and for three years more con- 
tinued to be, so busy that they could hardly take care of all their 
customers. Rents increased and hotises could not be built fast enough 
for the incoming families. The surrounding farmers sold their pro- 
duce readily at satisfactory prices, and sowed and planted more land 
from year to year. The people went to and fro with smiling faces in 
the fond belief that the prosperity would continue, not giving much 
thought to the diverting power of railroads. Their eyes were opened 
quickly, and their castles in the air vanished. And then they began 
to yearn for a railroad of their own, and renewed the agitation for one 
of twenty years before. Meetings were held, convincing .speeches 
made, and confidence expressed, but no railroad was completed to our 
corporation lines until December, 1871. 

In April, 1852, the Buffalo, Corning, and New York railroad, now 
a branch of the Erie, was opened from Corning as far as Wayland, 
and from that time until the opening of the Dansville and Mt. ilorris 
railroad Wayland was the nearest railroad station to Dansville, and 
all our railroad business was to and from that point. Dansville's 
canal business was very large, but soon began to diminish on account 
of the extension of the main branch of the Erie, and after the railroad 
connection of Wayland with Rochester and Buffalo, the traffic between 
Dansville and Wayland with teams was heavy for nearly twenty 
years, and the stage lines did a thriving business. George Hyland and 
John Hess started a movement for a plank road, and it was built and 
leased for thirty years, and paid eight per cent on the stock. 

It was in 1850, during the prosperous decade, that the Young Men's 
Christian Association of Dansville was formed, the objects of which 
were stated to be "a reading room and library, public debate, ad- 
dresses by members and lectures by distinguished men from abroad." 
The president was Charles Shepard, the vice-presidents were S. vSweet, 

46 



THIRD QUARTER OF CENTURY 



47 



A. J. Abbott and C. R. Kern, the secretary D. W. Noyes, the treas- 
urer John Hartman, and the librarian H. B. Whiton. No records 
have been found to indicate that the association realized its ambitious 
hopes or continued long in existence. 

The disastrous effects of the great fires of 1854 and 1S5'» made more 
serious the setback of transportation diversions, and it took a long 
time to fill with other buildings the spaces made vacant by them. 

The old academy on the square had become a district school hou.se 
when, in 1858, under the auspices of the Methodist Genesee Confer- 
ence, a seminary school was started in town, and a movement made 
to build the brick seminary .structure on the hillside, which was so 
far completed as to be occupied in January, 1860. The first annual 
catalogue, published the j^revious year, shows an attendance of ninety- 
eight male and 113 female pupils. The faculty were: Principal, Rev. 




PEN SKETCH OF DANSVILLE SEMINARY IN I860 



Schuyler Seager, D. D., who was professor of moral philosphy and 
belles lettres; Professor of Mathematics, Charles C. Wheeler, A. B. ; 
Professor of Natural Science, Rev. John J. Brown; Preceptresses, 
Mrs. Marietta A. Wheeler, and Miss Helen M. Budlong; teacher of 
instrumental music. Miss ililancie Leach; teacher of drawing and 
painting, Miss Emma C. Hubbard, The officers of the board of 
trustees were: President, Rev. A. C. George; secretary, Hon. I. L. 
Endress; treasurer, B. L. Hovey, M. D. Later principals of the 
seminary were Rev. John J. Brown, Joseph Jones, Rev. Mr. Crumb, 
Henry R. Sanford, Albert Lewis, J. E. Foley, W. H. Truesdale 
Samuel H. Goodyear, J. B. Hubbell, and Mrs. Susan George Jones. 



48 



DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 



Many of the present citizens of Dansville, and many mure who have 
died or gone elsewhere, received their higher education in that brick 
building of picturesque background and extended outlook, and there 
not a few of them distinguished themselves at examinations and an- 
niversary exercises. In the long delay to secure a good Union school 
for the village it was of incalculable value to the larger boys and girls 
as a source of instruction and a nursery of laudable ambitions. 

Although in 1846 the village trustees voted to raise $800 by tax to 
purchase a fire engine, hose, hooks, and ladders, dig cisterns and 
reservoirs and provide pumps, when the great fire of 1854 came and 
the two great fires of 1859, it was the lack of means for coping with 
them which made them so disastrous. 

Engine Company No. 1, was organized in 1846, and in 1857, three 
years after the fire of 1854, Phoenix Fire Company No. 1 was organ- 
ized. The next company was Canaseraga Engine Company organ- 
ized in 18t3, and the next Genesee Fire Company No. 3, organized 
in 1864. The great fires and an occasional small one finally aroused 




LAYING PlPtS FOR DANSVILLE'S FIRST WATER WORKS 

the business men of the village to a sense of their danger from lack 
of water, suitable fire apparatus and an efficient fire department. 
The first need was water, and to obtain this, agitation began in 1872 
and was continued in varying keys — there being strong opposition — 
until on July 22, 1873, the tax-payers, by a vote of 156 for, to 112 
against, voted that water works for fire purposes should be built. 
These consisted of banded wood pipes down Main street, from Little 
Mill creek near the California house, with branches on side streets, 
east and west. The fall was sufficient to produce powerful streams 
over any building within hose reach of a hydrant, and the spirit of or- 
ganization for an efficient fire department became active. 

Dansville's water works were completed, after a long and hard 
fight, in November, 1873. A large faction under the lead of influ- 



THIRD QUARTER OF CENTURY 4') 

ential men had opposed them and put every possible obstruction in 
the way of their construction. J. C. Whitehead was then president 
of the village, and perhaps the chief credit for the authority and 
means which brought them to a successful completion should be ac- 
corded to him, because of the firmness and persistence which he exer- 
cised in his official position. The first public test was made on 
November 20, 1873, at the corners of Main and Ossian streets, when 
streams were sent a horizontal distance of 156 feet. At last, after 
three-quarters of a century, Dansville had the water and power in pipes 
along its streets with which fire could be successfully fought, and 
the fear of such calamities as the conflagrations of 1854 and 1859 was 
at an end. This feeling of serenity was increased when in the follow- 
ing June Union Hose company, with its membership of prominent 
and athletic young men, was organized provided with cart and plenty 
of good hose, and officered as follows: Foreman, Col. George Hyland; 
assistant foreman, Maj. J. J. Bailey, president, George A. Sweet; 
vice president, Thomas E. Gallagher; secretary, LeGrand vSnyder, 
treasurer, Frank Dyer. 

A list of some of the leading business men of Dansville in 1850 has 
been obtained from advertisements in copies of the Dansville Herald 
of that year. They are: Hubbard & Bulkley, Fraser & Abbott, Har- 
wood & Wilkinson, lawyers; G. P. Reynale & Co., hardware; Farley 
& Bristol, dentists; Orville Tousey, justice of the peace; John Betts, 
boots and shoes; C. D. Henning & Co., hats and caps: E. Niles, 
drugs; E. S. Palmes, tailor and ready made clothing; J. V. & M. 
Taft, grocers; R. S. Faulkner, dry goods and groceries; S. Brockway, 
ready made clothing; D. J. Wood, boots and shoes; Sprague, Losey 
& Co., booksellers and stationers; F. Altmeyer & Co., looking glasses, 
picture frames and mouldings; H. S. & J. Lord, dry goods and gro- 
ceries; T. S. Ripley, M. D., physician and surgeon; F. & M. Gilman, 
stoves, grindstones, and pumps; Barna J. Chapin, crockery and in- 
surance; Foote & Ma.xwell, forwarding; E. C. Daugherty &• Co., 
publishers of the Herald, book and job printing; C. G. Wetmore & 
Co., drugs; J. Brittan & Co., general store ; George Brown, groceries; 
Richard Young, sash, blinds and doors; C. E. Clark, harness work; 
A. & J. Outterson, paper mill; Sweet & Co., manufacturers; Wm. 
Welch, John C. Williams, and William Foote & Co., canal freights. 

Passing into the decade of the sixties, the exciting political cam- 
paign which elected Abraham Lincoln President, and the ominous 
war cloud which arose immediately afterward are recalled. The peo- 
ple of Dansville bestirred themselves, and their patriotism burned 
with an increasing heat. A great war meeting was held April 21), 
1861, at which stirring speeches were made, $1,972 was subscribed 
to assist needy families of men who might volunteer, and the follow- 
ing committee was selected to distribute all such moneys: Charles 
Shepard, James Faulkner, Sidney Sweet, J. C. Jackson, L L. Endress, 
A. Lozier and A. Bradner. Carl Stephan issued a call for volunteers, 
and within three days had the names of sixty-three men on his roll. 
These officers were chosen : Captain, Carl Stephan ; first lieutenant, 
George Hyland, Jr.; ensign, Ralph T. Wood; sergeants, Henry R. 
Curtis, George W. Hasler, Mark J. Bunnell, Duane D. Stillwell; 
corporals, George B. Dippy, George M. Morris, William H. Drehmer, 



50 



DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 



A. J. Hartman. In another list the names of E. G. Richardson and 
George M. Morrison appear as corporals. This first company went to 
Ehnira May 3, and became Company B, of the 13th regiment. In the 
fall of 1861 Ralph T. Wood recruited a second company here which be- 
came Company G, of the 13th. In November Job C. Hedges and Albert 




DANSVlLLt SOLDIERS' MONUMENT 



.S. Lema, both of Dansville, commenced recruiting another company 
for the saine regiment, and eighty men were enrolled by December 2(), 
some of them in Rochester, and started for the seat of war January f), 
1862. This made three Dansville companies in the 13th, and added 
to these was the Dansville band, which joined it in Elmira May 2U, 
1861. The 13th was the first after the 6th Massachusetts to pass 
through Baltimore, and participated in the following battles: Cub 



THIRD 1 \l A' '/7: A' O/- CIlXTl li Y 51 

Run. Bull Run, Yorktown, Flanover Court House, Mechanicsvilk-, 
Gaines Mill, Malvern Hill, Manassas, Stephentown, Antietam and 
Fredericksburgh. July 2 President Lincoln issued a call for 300,- 
000 more men, and another August 4 for a like number of militia 
for nine months. A war meeting was held in Dansville July 30 at 
which several men enlisted, and another followed August 2, when 
there were several more enlistments and $587 was subscribed to pay 
bounties to the volunteers. When the third meeting was held, August 
5, the subscriptions amounted to $1030.50, and twenty more volun- 
teers were enrolled, all (jf whom received offered bounties from citi- 
zens present. The recruiting oificer was Andrew J. Leach, and his 
company left for the military camp at Portage August 18. Adjutant 
Job C. Hedges of the 13th regiment came from the front August 14 
to recruit a company, and to help him a meeting was held August 1'). 
Lester B. Faulkner and E. H. Pratt went to work with Adjutant 
Hedges, and under the stimulus of bounties the company was filled in 
eight days, and August 30 was mustered in as Company B, of the 
136th regiment. James Wood, Jr., of Geneseo was colonel of this regi- 
ment and Lester B. Faulkner lieutenant colonel, and the officers of 
Company B, were: Captain, E. H. Pratt; first lieutenant, John J. 
Bailey; second lieutenant, Nicholas V. Mundy. The men enlisted 
by Capt. Leach became Company K, of the 130th regiment, and the 
officers were: Captain, Andrew J. Leach; first lieutenant, James O. 
Slayton; second lieutenant, Edmund Hartman. Of course there were 
many changes in and promotions in and from all the Dansville com- 
panies as the war went on. In November, 1863, Mark J. Bunnell 
was appointed recruiting officer at Dansville, but later being made a 
captain in the the Invalid Corps, S. G. Dorr, Jr., took his place. In 
early February the Dansville cjuota was filled, and a town bounty of 
$30(3 paid to each of twenty-seven men. At a special town meeting 
held Sept. 15, 1864, it was decided to raise by ta.x a bounty of $600 
for each volunteer, or substitute, or the family of a drafted man, up to 
the number required to fill the town's quota under the last call for 500,- 
000 men. Another town meeting Sept. 23 resolved to add $200 to 
the $(>00 bounty. Other public meetings were held and within three 
weeks the town's quota was full. On March 7, 1865, a meeting was 
held at which it was voted to raise $3,400 to pay bounties, and there 
were a few volunteers, but the ordered draft came off just before Lee's 
surrender, and forty-eight names were drawn. North Dansville's 
quota under the draft oi 1862 was 116, and 122 volunteers reported. 
The number drafted from North Dansville in July, 1863, was 110 and 
the number exempted ninety-four, but many of the exempts paid 
the commutation of $300 each. Under the call of October, 1863, 
North Dansville's substitutes were three and commutations eleven. 

The well-drilled and much-admired Canaseragas had mostly gone to 
the war when in April, 1862, the Washington Zouaves were organized 
as a local company with the following officers and privates: Captain, 
Charles Reeve; lieutenant, Henry Faulkner ; ensign, Theo. Chapin; 
1st sergeant, Wm. Bulkley; 2d sergeant, James Williams; privates, 
James Edwards, Wm. Knowlton, Charles Niles, Henry Porter, Ed- 
ward Readshaw, Edward Sweet, Eugene Sprague, Percy Jones, 
James Lindsay, Edward Niles, Jr., Wm. Readshaw, Charles Shepard, 



52 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Wm. Spinning, Rockwell Lozier, John Wilkinson. How lonjj this 
promising' military organization continued is not on record. When 
the war closed the military spirit which it had e.xcited perceptibly 
diminished in a short time. The returned soldiers devoted themselves 
to the arts of peace. Money was plenty and prices high, new indus- 
tries were started and neglected old ones revived; every able-bodied 
man could get work at good wages, and from 18()5 to Black Friday the 
country prospered as it never had before. 




HYLAND HOUSE 



On April 23, 1.S74, the new Ilyland house was opened, and the 
finest hotel in this and several neighboring counties began to receive 
the traveling public. The opening was celebrated with a splendid 
banquet, music and addresses, and invited guests were present from 
New York, Syracuse, Rochester and several country towns. The first 
landlord was Charles P. Howe, and the present popular landlord is 
John King. The Hyland house and the Maxwell block were the most 
important building improvements on Main street near the close of 
the third quarter century, and are still the largest business buildings 
in Dansville. Without the water works they would have been haz- 
ardous financial experiments, but with them they have proved to be 
profitable investments. 




CHAPTER V 
TKe Last Quarter of tHe Century 

The Bank Failures — Followed by Improved Conditions — Dansville's Cele- 
bration of the Nation's Centennial — A Circulating Library — Floods and 
Storms — Winged Ants — From District Schools to Union School and a 
Fine New Kuilding — The Village Improvement Society and Its Im- 
pcirtant Work. 

THE last twenty-five years of tlie l')th century was one of 
disturbing lessons which have, on the whole, been bene- 
ficial to Dansville, and healthy progress in these latest 
years is increasingly apparent. With two very depressing 
bank failures which depleted many incomes and exhausted 
the savings of a considerable number of depositors, there 
was an exhibition of grit and elasticity that were inspirit- 
ing. In the last of those failures the most of the money 
which had been raised for a Union school building was 
simk, but more was forthcoming and the construction was 
not delayed. Two other banks, on solid financial founda- 
tions, with managers in whom the people have confidence, have taken 
the place of the defunct ones; the Union school, with a course which 
prepares pupils for college, is one of the best; electric lights have 
come in; new water works providing a supply of excellent water for 
domestic as well as fire purposes, and with sufficient fall to throw 
streams over the hillside Sanatorium, are a source of many satisfac- 
tions; Main street has been macadamized; cement sidewalks and 
brick crosswalks have been substituted for the old board and 
broken stone walks; the parks have been improved, and the old eye- 
sores on the Central park removed ; two new brick churches, five or 
six fine business buildings, and many handsome dwellings have been 
erected; one of the most flourishing ptdilishing houses outside the 
large cities has been established; a new trunk line railroad ribbons 
the hillside and affords first-class transportation facilities east and 
west; a trolley road (or two) to Rochester in the near future seems 
to be a foregone conclusion; our nursery business has developed into 
a great industry, making the town one of the principal centers of the 
country for nursery stock; tradesmen are prosperous and social and 
moral conditions have improved. It is noticeable, also, that the 
scenic, social, and other attractions of Dansville are making it more 
and more a simimer resort of people from a distance. 

One of the first great events of the last quarter-century was the 
celebration throughout the country of the nation's centennial on July 
4, 1876. Dansville participated with enthusiasm. There was a great 
parade, and the Dansville, Mt. Morris and Avon fire departments 
were a part of it. Dr. James H. Jackson was grand marshal. Judge 
John A. Vanderlip was president of the day, and Hon. Jerry Maguire 
was the orator. 



S3 



LAST OL'AKTEK OJ- CEXTrRY 



55 



The circulating library of the private Library Association had been 
distributing good books to many patrons for nearly a year, when in 
April, 1875, a public spelling match in which many prominent citi- 
zens participated, considerably increased its funds. The library grew 
steadily, and its value as an educator became apparent in the avidity 
with whi(-h its books were drawn and read by all classes. 




DANSVILLK LIBRARY INTERIOR 



In the first years of the quarter century there were some note- 
worthy storms and floods, but only one that did much damage. 
There had been a flood in April, 1873, which carried away the Read- 
shaw, Angell and Hyland dams, and did much damage on Stony 
Brook and down the valley. t)n March 14, 1877, there was a similar 
but less damaging flood. Some of the back streets became creeks, 
and eighty rods of railroad track two miles from the village were washed 
away. August 12, 1877, a hail storm about a mile wide started in 
Nunda and crossed Ossian to South Dansville. Trees and corn were 
stripped of their leaves, gardens were ruined, and some sowed crops 
were nearly destroyed. On some farms the hail stones lay four inches 
deep, and some of them were as large as hens' eggs. A hurricane 
was in the storm and tore up several trees. The estimated damage 
was $20,000. Twelve days later a tornado visited Dansville which 
broke down trees, twisted off branches, toppled over chimneys and 
sent boards and sticks flying through the air. Other surprising 
natural phenomena were visitations of winged ants in 1878 and 1879, 
both years on August 28. There had been a like visitation in vSep- 
temlier, 1874, which was the first appearance of the insects. They flew 



LASl^ OCARTUR OF CnXri'RV 



57 



rapidly in long clouds that darkened the sky, a few hundred feet above 
the buildings, and millions of them settled down into the streets so 
thickly that it was difficult to keep them out of mouths and eyes, and 
the doors and windows of stores and dwellings throughout the village 
were quickly closed against them. 

But all these troublesome phenomena were of little account com- 
pared with the crushing failures of the two banks in 1884 and 1887. 
The personal negligence and wickedness which brought about these 
disasters need not be discussed in this history, and perhaps should not 
be for the sake of relatives and friends. Anyone who desires the 
stories in detail can go to the files of the local newspapers. The 
financial or business prominence of the men who controlled the Bank 
of Dansville inspired confidence, and although at the time of its fail- 
ure it had been" a private bank for eleven years the depositors were 
numerous and thiAleposits large, (^n application of John A. \'anderlip, 
Reuben Whiteman was appointed receiver for the bank May If), 1884, 




GROUP OF CITIZENS 



and when he filed his report, November 20, it appeared that the liabil- 
ities in certificates of deposit, outstanding drafts and individual de- 
posits amounted to $199,833.44, the depositors being largely women 
and farmers. The cash balances had not been posted since 1879. 
The assets were of no value, and the depositors got nothing back. 
There was much litigation, a part of it being a libel suit against the 
Advertiser, and another part the conviction for grand larceny and 
sentence to state prison for five years of the banker who claimed that 
he had been libeled. One day a hundred creditors held an indigna- 
tion meeting, raised money to prosecute the bank officers, and re- 
solved to boycott every man attempting to screen them. This Bank 
of Dansville was the first bank of the village. It was incorporated 
February 16, 1839, and capitalized at $50,U0(). Its first officers 
were: President, James Faulkner; vice president, Justus Hall; cash- 
ier, A. A. Bennett; teller, David D. McNair. 



58 DAXSl'fLLn OF THE PAST 

In 1887 Dansville received another severe blow in the failure of the 
First National Bank, made doubly severe by coming so soon after the 
other failure. On April 25 f)f that year its doors were closed, and 
creditors clamored in vain for their money. The deposits were then 
about $200, (JUO, and the largest depositor was the board of education 
which had deposited $22,000 of school money. Several other deposi- 
tors were credited with amounts of from $5,000 to $7,200, and those 
whose deposits were from $1,000 to $3,000 were numerous. "Never 
before were deposits so large by our best business men," said the 
Advertiser. The night after the closing of the bank the account 
books were taken away and hidden or destroyed. The index to the 
big ledger was found eight miles distant by the roadside in the town 
of Ossian. Charles L. Bingham of Mt. Morris was appointed re- 
ceiver, and his report filed in Washington about the middle of 
October showed the liabilities due depositors to be $191,227.70; due 
banks, $4,397.02; due in notes, $1(),600; making a total of $211,624.- 
72; and the total assets to be $13,981.45. The story of the trials and 
convictions that followed, with the connecting incidents, would make 
a long and dramatic chapter which may be omitted. In the final 
settlement with creditors they received about twenty-two per cent. 
After the first bank failure some of the citizens hoarded their money 
and others opened bank accounts in New York and Rochester. 
Hence deposits in the First National, though large, were much less 
than they otherwise would have been. 

But Dansville was not without a bank very long. On September 7, 
1887, a movement was started for a new bank, with capital stock of 
$50,000 and shares $100 each. James W. Wadsworth immediately 
subscribed for 250 shares, Frank Fielder for fifty shares, and nearly 
all the stock was taken within a week. The bank was named the 
Citizens Bank of Dansville, and on September 22 it was decided to 
open it October 1, and the following officers were elected: President, 
George A. Sweet; vice president, James W. Wadsworth; cashier, 
Frank Fielder. The board of directors were James W. Wadsworth, 
Elias H. Geiger, George A. Sweet, Fred W. Noyes, John J. Bailey, 
John M. ]\Iagee, Frank Fielder, James H. Jackson, James Krein. 

On December 9, 1890, a charter was granted authorizing the Mer- 
chants & Farmers National Bank of Dansville to transact business 
under the national banking act, and business was commenced Decem- 
ber 20, with a capital stock of $5(.>,000 and an issue of $12,500 
currency. The first officers were: President, William T. Spinning; 
vice-president, C. D. Beebe ; cashier, D. O. Batterson ; board of 
directors, William T. Spinning, C. D. Beebe, William Kramer, E. M. 
Parmelee, James Krein, A. J. Whiteman, Isaac Hampton, George W. 
Peck, Thorn Carpenter. 

The most important of all local public movements during the 
quarter-century was that for a luiion of districts and a union school 
with High school department. It was started in 1S81, and the union 
was so far effected that in the fall of 1882 the combined schools opened 
in the old academy building on the square and Number two's brick 
building, with a total registration of 273 pupils. But obstructions 
came. A basis of union had been agreed upon between districts 
numbers one and two, whereby district number one was to raise 



LAST CARTER OF CTXT['RV 



59 



$.1,000 by tax as an offset to the greater value of number two's school 
building. It was afterwards found that such a tax would be illegal, 
but on August 3, 1883, a union school meeting had been held, a reso- 
kition consolidating the two districts adopted, and a board of educa- 
tion elected consisting of Frank Fielder, W. J. LaRue, James Voor- 
hees, James H. Jackson, William Kramer, Emil C. Klauck, G. Bas- 
tian, William Bradley, and James JM. Edwards, of which board G. 
Hastian was made president. During the year 1883 twenty meetings 
of the board were held. A suit was brought against them by the 
trustee and others of district number two to enjoin them from col- 
lecting taxes as representatives of the united districts, on the ground 
that there had been a breach of contract on the part of district num- 
ber one in not raising the $3,000 on which the union of the two dis- 
tricts was based. The temporary injunction was finally vacated by 







GROUP OF FIRST PUPILS OF DANSViLLE UNION SCHOOL 

Judge Rumsey, and the board could act with more confidence. The 
seminary building on the hillside was leased in the fall of 1883, and 
the Union school opened there in December with F. J. Diamond as 
principal, seven teachers and 287 pvipils. The whole. number of pupils 
enrolled during the year was 462. Here the school was conducted 
afterward until a new building was completed. On December 2, 1884, 
a meeting of citizens voted almost unanimously to build a new school 
house on the west side of the public square. In June, 1887, the con- 
tract for its construction was given to George W. Phelps of Mount 
]\Iorris at a cost of §21,827.21, and the contract for heating arrange- 
ments and dr\- closets was given to Smead & Northcott of Elmira, for 
$2,350. Then came the bank failure whereby the village lost the 
most of the money that had been raised, and more must be obtained. 
Fifteen men including the board of education signed a note for $4,500 
in advance of the annual meeting, which sanctioned what they had 
done. 

Work on the building commenced on Friday (a bright, not a Black 
Friday) June 3, 1887. The corner stone was laid Saturday, August 
13. The exercises were of a simple character. President Edwards 



LAST QUARTER OF C EXT TRY 61 

made a few introductory remarks, Rev. George K. Ward offered 
prayer, the stone was placed in position over a despository of records 
and other papers, A. O. Bunnell made a brief reminiscent and con- 
gratulatory address, and Rev. Mr. Ward pronounced a benediction. 
The building was completed with little delay, and was dedicated Feb- 
ruary 7, 1SS8, when James M. Edwards as president of the board pre- 
sided and made an introductory address, A. O. Bunnell gave a com- 
prehensive history of the enterprise, and Hon. A. S. Draper, State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, delivered an ah)lc address in 
which he paid high compliment to citizens and building. Other ad- 
dresses were made by Dr. Milne of the Geneseo Normal school and 
Dr. James C. Jackson. Thus the era of free school for Dansville in 
a modern school building of the best type, with abundant room, was 
auspiciously begun. 

The board of education during the critical building period were J. 
M. Edwards, president; F. Fiekler, F. M. Ferine, J. J. Bailey, H. F. 
Dyer, F. W. Noyes, Albert Sweet, William Kramer, W. H. Dick. 
The entire cost of the Union school building and site was $2(>,5U0. 
Special credit should be given here to the pioneer president of the 
board. Dr. G. Bastian, who stood like a rock against which the waves 
of passion and prejudice and antiquated custom dashed in vain until 
the storm had largely spent itself. Allusion should also be made to 
the great meetings held in the roller skating rink to decide on the 
question of repairing the old seminary building or erecting a new 
modern building on a central site, when on meeting nights every 
street seemed filled with a tide of human beings converging at the 
corner of E.xchange and Elizabeth streets there to do battle for their 
rights after the fashion of the early town meetings of New England 
which laid the foundations of civil liberty in this country. In all 
these meetings there was a large proportion of women to whose ar- 
duous labors and intelligent influence must be given a great share of 
the credit for the improved school conditions then and there materi- 
ally advanced. 

The present board of education are: Frank Fielder, jjresident; 
William Kramer, F. M. Ferine, H. F. Dyer, J. M. Edwards, F. W. 
Noyes, C. W. Woolever, Edward Bacon, J. B. Morey, Jr. 

The teachers are: Edward J. Bonner, principal; Barbara A. Mac- 
Leod, preceptress; Louise K. Smith, 1st assistant; Mary C. Cromer, 
2d assistant; Leone Stocking, 3d assistant; Carrie Emerson, 7th 
grade; Agnes H. Brogan, 6th grade; May R. Parker, 5th grade; 
Genevieve Withington, 4th grade; M. Onnalee Frazer, 3d grade; 
Rhea Mc Elwaine, 2d grade; Maud E. Warren, 1st grade; Grace 
Brown, primary. 

Presidents of board of education: Dr. G. Bastian from October 2(), 
1882, to Aug. 31, 1885; James M. Edwards from August 31, 1885, to 
September 7, 1886; Frank Fielder from September 7, 1886, to Sep- 
tember 6, 1887; James M. Edwards from September (>, 1887, to Sep- 
tember, 1892; Frank Fielder since September 1892. 

Principals of Union school: F. J. Diamond from December 3, 
1883—1892; W. G. Carmer, 1892—1899; Edward J. Bonner from 
September, 1899. 



LAST OrARTER OF CEXTl'RY 



63 



Preceptresses: Ada R. Briggsfrom December 3, IS''^^, to June, 1SS4; 
Jennie McLaughlin, 1884—1885; Helen Boothby, 1885—1886; Anna 
McBride, 1886—1889; Minnie Lefebvre, 1889—1891; Anna McBride, 
1891—1892; Mary E. Lyman, 1892—1893; Elizabeth Goode, 1893— 
1899; Alice M. Hutchings, 1899—1900; Barbara A. MacLeod from 
1900. 

The Dansville Village Improvement society was partly organized 
at a meeting of citizens on February 7, 1888, by the adoption of a 
constitution and by-laws, and at another meeting February 16, the 
organization was completed by the election of officers, trustees and 
a general committee. The officers were: President, B. P. Andrews; 
vice-presidents, Mrs. Kate J. Jackson, Miss A. P. Adams, George A. 
Sweet, Rev. J. H. Day, F. W. Noyes; secretary, (Jscar Woodruff; 
treasurer, W. H. Dick. The society under the energetic and efficient 
lead of President Andrews, worked hard and enthusiastically for two 
years. During 1888 Washington park and the northern portion of 
Central park received the most attention. The trees in Washington 
].)ark had been set out the previous year by John McCurdy and Gor- 
don Wilson, assisted by Hon. J. B. Morey. During 1889 the old 
burying ground and Fulton square were looked after. Efforts were 




FANCY SKETCH OF PROMINENT CITIZENS 



made to stimulate [iride among citizens in caring for private property, 
and the society influenced the trustees to pass an tirdinance requiring 
wider and better sidewalks. Much time and carefully planned efforts 
were found necessary to bring about the desired changes, and in all 
their work the society had the sympathetic co-operation of the village 
trustees — E. H. Readshaw, C. Dick, N. Johantgen, Owen (lallagher 
and B. P. Andrews. Among those especially active in aiding the 
officers were Drs. James H. and Kate J. Jackson, T. E. Gallagher, 
E. H. Readshaw, and John M. McNair. Central park, seven acres, 
(formerly Church square) had been deeded to the village by Nathan- 
iel Rochester "for public purposes," and been occupied by a variety 
of things called public. Some received deeds and some squatted. 



64 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Besides the four churches there were south of the English Lutheran 
church, a building for the Hook and Ladder compan\-'s truck, one for 
the Protectives and their apparatus, and one for voting purposes, also 
an old square stone building used as a lock-up. Near St. Patrick's 
church was the ancient academy and back of this the still older dis- 
trict school building. The village trustees purchased the Burns car- 
riage factory, formerl)- the old ^lethodist church, and refitted it for 
the use of the firemen and general purposes of a public building, and 
in the rear built a steel lock-up. The old graveyard was cleared and 
cleaned, and many of the buried bones removed and reburied in 
Greenmount cemetery. This job and the beautifying of the plot were 
the most expensive things done and to aid in accomplishing them the 
village contributed $100 in labor and Dr. J. H. Jackson gave $50. 
Fulton square, long used as a pasture and circus ground, was put in 
order, beautified, and named Elm park, the residents of the vicinity 
contributing considerably to this end. George A. Sweet contributed 
the elms, which are now large trees, and this park is now one of the 
prettiest points in the village. Arrangements were made whereby 
individuals could have trees, shrubs, etc., planted at a very small cost. 
The changes in the parks, on the streets and in private yards, the 
removal of front and boundary fences, brought about by the action 
and influence of the society during two years have added much ti> the 
attractions of Dansville. 

Nor have the moral and religious conditions been neglected during 
the quarter century. Besides the two new churches before mentioned, 
the others have been improved and beautified; several new religious 
and reform societies have been organized, with an active membership, 
and accomplished a good deal, while the old societies have increased 
their efficiency ; denominational strifes and jealousies, including the 
former religious contentions between Protestants and Catholics, have 
diminished and almost disappeared ; among the evangelical churches 
union meetings and union revival efforts have not been unfrequent; 
and an era of good feeling, with community of interest, in marked 
contrast with the old-time dogmatic frictions, which it is refreshing 
to contemplate, has slowly evolved. 

The competitions and methods of local politics have also greatly 
improved. Time was when party and factional bitterness was in- 
tense, and caucus, convention and election trickery and bribery were 
more common than fairness and honesty. More stringent state laws 
in part, but quite as much a better public sentiment, with the retire- 
ment or death of old local bosses and their lieutenants, have made 
the primary and nominating meetings and campaign work compara- 
tively decent. 

In short, this community at the close of the last quarter century 
takes a much more charitable and rational view of human life and 
human differences than it took in the previous quarter century, and 
speech and practice have improved correspondingly. 



CHAPTRR VT 
Canal and R.ailroads 

Siib-Bi-ancli of tliu Ciiiial — Exciliiig Conflict Between Villagers and State Em- 
ployees — Dansville's Prosperous Period — Railroads Turn the Tide — Rail- 
road Project in 1832 — A Wait of Forty Years — Dansville's First Railroad 
in 1872 — The Second in 1882. 

ABr)UT the time the work on the Dansville branch (.)f tlie 
Valley canal commenced "red dog" banks were started, 
shinplasters were issued, and for a time prices were so 
inflated that pork sold for $26 a barrel, flour for $10 to 
$15 a barrel, and wheat for $2.50 a bushel. The German 
emigrants along Sandy Hill had built themselves small 
log cabins, and found work at digging, quarrying and 
dressing stone for the canal, the locks and bridges. Many 
built shanties along the line. Much of the stone was quar- 
ried from the old quarry in the ravine betweeri Woodville 
and Cumminsville. Amariah Faulkner, sixteen years old, 
a son of Dr. James Faulkner, was instantly killed by a stone from one 
of the blasts in this quarry. Hundreds of refugees came from Canada 
just after the Patriot war and found work on the canal. This was a 
state enterprise under a democratic administration till 1838. when 
after Seward was elected governor he stopped the work for a time, 
and then the plan of the locks was changed from cut stone to com- 
posite of stone, plank and timbers. The Dansville branch beginning 
at the Shaker settlement, with eight locks, was completed in 1842 at a 





LUI\II0N OF CANAL FIGHT OF 1844 



66 



CA.XAL .l.\7) R.U /.ROADS 



67 



cost of $375,555. Tlu- Daiisvillt- rnd was at Faulkner's dam, halt" a 
mile from Main street, and such an ending created much ill feelinjr 
among business citizens, who soon afterward raised $6,000 b)' sub- 
scription to build a sub-branch between the main branch and Spruce 
street, and connecting with the former several rods south of the Faulk- 
ner basin. It was completed in 1844, and when the time came to 
make the final cut through the bank into the main branch, three state 
scows with gangs of men were there to prevent it. A crowd of citi- 
zens, led by George Hyland and Merritt H. Brown, had gone down 
with pickaxes and spades, and were ready for them. George Hyland 
made a speech urging the men not to hesitate in cutting through the 
berm bank, or in violent resistance if the men of the scows interfered. 
They did interfere, and there was a short but hot fight, Mr. Hyland 
giving his attention to the captain of the scows, whom he seized and 
subdued. The scow gangs fled, the cut was made, and the water 
soon rushed into the sub-branch, and it was ready for boats. After- 
ward about thirty leading citizens were indicted for illegally tapping 
the state's canal and for resisting the state authorities, but their cases 
were never tried and the sub-branch and basin became the village 
center of the canal business. In 1842 when the main branch was com- 
pleted to Dansville there was an enthusiastic celebration with crowds 
of people, many flags, and a parade by Vicker's Artillery and Washing- 
ton Engine companies. The state scow came from beyond Rochester, 
with a large delegation, firing a salute from a cannon at every village. 
vS. W. Smith was president of the day, and replied to a congratu- 
latory speech by M. H. Mills of Mount Morris. 

The most prosperous period of Dansville was the ten years between 
the opening of the canal and the extension of ..the Erie railroad to 
Dunkirk, when there was an immediate change, nearly all transporta- 
tion this way from the counties south being diverted to the new rail- 
road. For several months before the opening of our canal there was 
extraordinary activity in the lumber regions south of us, in cutting 




tAl^Lh. HorLL AND JtKKt^KSON STKEET 



68 



DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 



and sawing logs preparatory to early shipment over the approaching 
water-way, and as soon as it was ready for navigation the lumber 
teams began to pour into Dansville from that region, extending as far 
south as Coudersport, Pa., seventy-five miles distant. Often in the 
winter time from 20U to 300 loaded sleighs a day, sometimes as many 
as twenty in a string, came in over the southern roads, and the loaded 
wagons in the warmer season were numerous. They brought lumber 
and potash, butter and cheese, and from Perkinsville way came many 
enormous spars for masts, each drawn by several teams. All this 
made the mercantile trade very lively and gave the hotels a bonanza. 
There were four or five hotels on Jefferson street, which was a hive of 
activity. Many canal boats were built yearly, mostly by Benjamin 
and Jacob Burling, in yards between Ossian street and Faulkner's 
basin. Lumber piles nearly as high as the Maxwell block extended 
along the canal bank from the Spruce street basin to the junction and 
from the junction to Faulkner's basin. But as soon as the Erie rail- 
road was completed to Dunkirk, in May, 1851, the tide turned, and 
activity gave place to dullness. The Dansville bocmi and the high 
hopes to which it gave birth were over, and there was a great calm. 
From that time until the canal was closed bv the state in 187S the 




PRESENT VIEW AT UPPER CANAL BASIN 



business on the canal was comparatively small, and in the later years, 
after the Dansville and Mount Morris railroad went into operation, 
very small. The railroad line from Dansville to Rochester was then 
doing the most of the carrying trade of the valley. 

The canal,tolls received in Dansville for a series of years, beginning 
with the first after the completion of the Dansville branch, were as 
follows: 



CANAL AND RAILROADS 



69 



1842. 
1843. 
1844. 
1845. 
1846. 
1847. 
1848. 



.$ 6,21.i.47 1849 $26,741.72 

. 8.378,96 1850 28,930.50 

. 16.435.27 1851 16,721.47 

. 18,715.14 1852 11.378.92 

. 21,169.47 1853 10,383.26 

. 26,459.43 1854 6,627.28 

. 25,494.73 1855 6,662.49 



In 1<S5(> the toU.s amounted to only $1,560.6'), and the highest year 
afterward was 1858, when they were |;4,527.74. After 1860 the annual 
tolls never reached $2,000. Mark J. Bunnell in 1873 was the last 
canal collector in Dansville with office in the basement of Bunnell 
block. After 1873 and until the closing of the canal the tolls were 
collected at Mt. Morris. 

In 1832 a railroad was projected from Rochester to Dansville, and 
the Rochester & Dansville Railroad Co. was incorporated by the 
legislature. Several meetings had been held in Dansville, Geneseo 
and Rochester to push the project to success, and when the news of 
incorporation v.'as received at Dansville an enthusiastic celebration 
was made brilliant with bonfires, rockets and fire-balls. Surveys were 
commenced, and stock books were opened along the line, but subscrip- 
tions came slow, were insufficient, and no railroad could be built. Judge 
Carroll and James Faulkner were prominent in this movement. It 
was not until forty years later that Dansville people saw the locomo- 
tive enter their town. 

A railroad was completed from Avon to Mount Morris in 1859, con- 
necting with the Erie road to Rochester at Avon. It was leased to 
the Erie company in 1872. The Dansville and Genesee Valley Railroad 
company was organized in 1864, with a capital of $150,000, to con- 
struct a railroad from Dansville to Mount Morris. The first seven 




DANSVILLE STATION 



70 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

miles were not constructed until 1871, and the remaining S]/i miles 
were finished in 1872. By an arrangement with the directors the 
road passed under the management of the Erie company, which 
agreed to extend it to Burns, but did not. They ran it until Oct. 22, 
1892, when they abandoned it, and it passed into the possession of a 
new local company. There have been complications and pro- 
longed controversies regarding the relations of the Erie company to 
this railroad, the most of which it would be extremely difficult to sift, 
and as unprofitable as difficult. Dansville,and especially Dansville nur- 
serymen, with their quantities of bulky nursery stock for shipment in 
spring and fall, suffered great inconvenience and considerable loss by 
the Erie abandonment. It is operated now as a separate road (the 
Dansville and Mount Morris railroad) under the direction of A. S. 
Murray, Jr., receiver, with R. H. England as general manager, and 
G. E. Dunklee, general superintendent. Many changes have been 
made in the rolling stock and extensive improvements are contem- 
plated this year in the roadbed and bridges which promise much 
added transportation accomodation. The station is conveniently 
located near the abandoned basin of the sub-branch canal already re- 
ferred to. 

The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad, commcjnly 
called the Lackawanna, who.se course is along picturesque P3ast hill 
high up, was so far completed in its westward construction in 1882, 
that it ran trains to Mt. Morris, and the next year it commenced 
running to Buffalo. The road is under able management, its local 
representatives are efficient, it is accomodating to the people a!i)ng its 
route, and both its freight and passenger traffic is enormous, an aver- 
age of about eighty trains passing Dansville daily. It is unfortunate 
for Dansville business men that its station is over a mile from Main 
street, and can only be reached from the village by ascending a steep 
hill. A trolley line is expected to soon largely remedy this difficulty. 
Dansville is on the main line, 334 rniles from New York, 7'> miles 
from Buffalo. 



CHAPTER /■// 




Notable Men of tHe Early Times 

Moses VanCampen — Red Jacket — Charles Williamson — Natlianiel Rochester. 

Moses Van Campen 

MAJOR Moses \'anCampen was born in New Jersey in 1757 
and (lied in Almond, N. Y., in 1849, aged ninety-two years. 
He lived in Dansville on Ossian street from 1831 to 1848 
— about eight years — and often came here before his re- 
moval. He was one of the most adventurous, daring and 
efficient spirits in General Sullivan's expedition of 1779 to 
this valley. The interesting memoir of his life and times 
by his grandson. Rev. J. Niles Hubbard, was completed 
here in 1841, and the author afterwards resided here as 
pastor four years — 1856 to 1860. Therefore there are sev- 
eral links connecting the famous scout and fighter with 
Dansville history. His strenuous life was one of adventures stranger 
than fiction, and his general charaoter was not less admirable than his 
dauntless courage. He acquired muscle by hard labor on his father's 
farm in boyhood, skill with the rifle and quick observation by much 
hunting in the deep woods, and knowledge of elementary text books 
and surveying in a neighboring school before he was sixteen years 
old. Then, in 1773, his father moved with his family to the Wyom- 
ing Valley, Northumberland county. Pa. When he was seventeen, 
and the notes of preparation for the fight against Great Britain were 
sounding, he adopted the cause of the revolutionists with enthu- 
siasm, and was made captain of a coinpany organized for military 
drill and practice with the rifle. Soon afterward he became one of a 
regiment raised in Northumberland county for the Continental army, 
and was appointed ensign. In 1777, at the age of twenty, he fairly 
entered upon his career as a soldier. The war had begun, the militia 
was brought into active service, and he became orderly sergeant in a 
regiment commanded by Colonel John Kelley. The vSix Nations had 
decided in council t(3 become allies of the British, and begun their 
cunning hostilities against the settlers. Van Campen was placed at 
the head of a company to make forays against them, and within a few 
months conducted three or four short expeditions in such a way as to 
win commendation and admiration. He became a careful and keenly 
observant student of the character and methods of the Indians, and 
was one of the first to anticipate their intentions and movements. In 
times of extreme doubt or danger he was always ready to imperil his 
life in enterprises of disccjvery and possible or probable struggle. Not 
once was he known to flinch or draw back in his whole remarkable 
military career as a soldier. He connected himself with (General Sul- 
livan's army in the expedition to this valley, was made quarter- 
master, and for two or three months before it started was occupied in 
collecting military stores. He had the care of all the supplies for the 
fleet of twenty boats with 2,000 horses which was propelled from 



72 



74 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Wyoming to Tioga Point up the Susquehanna by means of poles. 
While the army was at Tioga waiting for General Clinton, General 
Sullivan sent him out in command of a small company to am- 
bush some Indian warriors, and probably he would have succeeded if his 
sentinel had not fallen asleep. Often he acted as scout alone, and 
would steal close to the camps of the Indians, watch and count them, 
and discover if possible their designs. General Sullivan quickly dis- 
covered his mettle and skill, and told him to select and command 
twenty-six soldiers as the advance guard of the army. At Hog Back 
hill they had a musketry and hand-to-hand fight with a body of 
Indians in which ^^an Campen's clothes were pierced by three bullets. 
Near Baldwin's creek he tricked a big Indian fighter and sharpshooter 
who was trying to put bullet holes through several of Sullivan's men, 
and shot him. In these and other exploits on the long march to and 
up our valley he acted voluntarily, because, being quartermaster, 
they were not required of him, his duties being confined to the pro- 
curement and care of supplies. But he always preferred the perils 
and fatigues of scouting and strife with the savage enemy to the 
ennui of inactivity. He returned home from the Sullivan e.xpedition 
dangerously sick with a fever. His father's house had been burnt by 
the Indians, and he was taken to a fort at Fishing Creek, to which 
his father had moved. 

In 1783, a party of ten Indians killed and scalped his father and 
young brother by his side, thrust a spear through his vest and shirt, 
making a slight flesh wound, and made him prisoner with two other 
men and two small boys. They were marched away to probable tor- 
ture and death, but Van Campen effected their escape in one of the 
most daring and skillful performances of his life. Watchful of every 
opportunity, he got hnld of a knife which an Indian had dropped, and 
in the night cut his own bonds and those of the other prisoners, when he 
and one of them (the third man proved to be a coward) attacked their 
captors with hatchets and made quick work with them. Nine of the 
ten were killed, Van Campen killing five and wounding in the neck 
the one who escaped. About this time he received a commission as 
ensign in the Continental service, and had other perilous experiences 
with the Indians before joining an e.xpedition up the west branch of 
the Susquehanna, in the course of which he was again taken i)risoner. 
This time he failed to escape. He was taken to the head waters of 
the Genesee river, thence to this valley, and thence across to Fort 
Niagara. At Caneadea he was compelled to run the gauntlet, and an- 
ticipated some such agonizing tortures as Boyd and Parker had ex- 
perienced after they were captured near Cuylerville. This would 
have been his fate if the Indians had known that he was their dreaded 
foe, Van Campen, but they did not identify him. They handed him 
over to Colonel Butler of the British army, and learning who he was 
soon afterward offered the colonel fourteen other prisoners in ex- 
change for him. Butler offered him a commission in the British 
army, and threatened to give him up to barbarian cruelties if he did 
not accept. He scorned both the offer and threat, and Butler finally 
relented and placed him in confinement. From this he was not re- 
leased until after the treaty of 1784, when General Washington ap- 
pointed him interpreter for the vSix Nations, the duties of which he 



XO TA BIJi MUX OF THE KA RL \ ' TIMES 75 

discharged until within a few years (if his death. His military title 
of major came from a militia commission given him in Northumber- 
land county after the war. He moved from there to Allegany county, 
N. Y., in 179(>, and practiced surveying, in which he was an expert 
and did excellent work. In 1810 and later he was appointed by the 
state as surveyor or commissioner to lay out several important roads, 
the first being from Canandaigua to the mouth of the Olean river by 
wa\' of Conesus. While living in Angelica he filled several offices, 
among them those of judge of the court of common pleas and county 
treasurer, holding the latter office from 1814 to 1826. He was eighty- 
four years old when, in 1841, while residing in Dansville, he was se- 
lected for president of the day at the imposing ceremonies at Cuyler- 
ville connected with the removal of the remains of Lieutenant Boyd 
and his companion, Parker, to Rochester, and although feeble, was 
present and made a brief address. He was introduced by Mr. Treat, 
who said: "Listen to his words and call to mind his own matchless 
heroism and virtues — those of one worthy of this high duty — the 
brave soldier and patriot, surrendering to the soldiers of another age 
the precious remains of his own patriotic and lion-hearted comrades, that 
they may receive at the hands of a grateful posterity the honors which 
are ever the just due of heroism and virtue." 

Just before his death in Almond, October 15, 1849, he expressed a 
wish that Rev. Thomas Aitken of Sparta might preach his funeral 
sermon, and he was sent for. Although the weather was rainy the 
admiring people who listened to Mr. Aitken's able discourse and fine 
eulogy filled the Presbyterian church. 

Red Jacket 

Because Red Jacket, though a full-l)liKided Indian, was one of the 
most eloquent orators that America, the country of great orators, has 
produced, and because he spent much time and delivered some of his 
finest speeches in this valley, and because he came to Dansville sev- 
eral times in the early part of the century and delivered informal 
orations on the street to wondering groups, a history of Dansville 
would not be quite complete without a brief sketch of his life. 

Red Jacket's Indian name was Sagoyewatha or He-keeps-them- 
awake. He was born at Canoga on the west bank of Cayuga lake. 
Before he reached manhood he remembered almost everything he saw 
and heard, and was noted for his swift tirelessness as a runner. His 
earl\' military career was not important, for he did not believe in war, 
nor like military affairs, nor care for military fame. The Indian 
warriors. Brant and Cornplanter, called him a coward in the days of 
the Revolution, when the part he took was mostly that of bearing dis- 
patches as a runner tor the British (jfficers. Cornplanter became very 
angry with him because he would not help him make a stand against 
General Sullivan's army at Canandaigua beach, but ran away with 
other Indians, and he exclaimed: "I leave that man — he is a coward." 
But in the war of 1812 Red Jacket proved his bravery in battle after 
being overruled by his tribe in his opposition to their taking part in 
it. Being in principle opposed to all war, and shrewdly observant of 
the chances that either side might be the victor, he wished his nation 
to remain neutral in both of our struggles against Great Britain. 



76 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Red Jacket was a philosopher, a profound thinker and a sagacious 
politician as well as a great orator, and with citizenship and a good 
education might have become a leading statesman. At the time of 
the treaty of 1784, at Fort Stanwix he made an opposing speech which 
was called "a masterpiece of oratory" and astonished La Fayette, but 
Cornplanter prevailed and the treaty was signed. Immediately after- 
ward Red Jacket's influence increased among his people, and Corn- 
planter tried to counteract it, but in a test council at Buffalo Creek 
the former defended himself with such eloquence and ability in a 
speech three hours long that he secured a majority in his favor. At 
the time of the Big Tree council in 1797, he made a most eloquent 
speech against signing the treaty, but was again defeated by influ- 
ences which have become familiar history. Both at Fort Stanwix 
and Big Tree his view was right from the standpoint of justice to 
the Indian, although it meant obstruction to the white man's 
progress. 

Red Jacket was opposed to the missionaries and their teachings, 
and when questioned about them said: "These men know we do not 
understand their religion. We cannot read their book — they tell us 
different stories about what it contains, and we believe they make 
the book talk to suit themselves. If we had no money, no land and 
no country to be cheated out of, these black-coats would not trouble 
themselves about our good hereafter. The Great Spirit will not pun- 
ish us for what we do not know. He will do justice to his red 
children. " 

Red Jacket wished to preserve the independence of his people, and 
his clear-visioned, prophetic mind penetrated far into the fuure and 
saw their increasing afflictions and decreasing power before the ad- 
vance of the white man. His disappointments in connection with his 
patriotic efforts for their good grieved him and inclined him to the 
potations which produced the hope or forgetfulness of inebriety. He 
talked about them in his speeches on Dansville streets, and lamented 
more and more the flight and condition of his once prosperous and 
powerful nation. The decay and sorrows of the Senecas seemed to be 
always in his mind. Intellectually he was the foremost man of the 
Six Nations. 

Red Jacket died January 20, 183U, at the Seneca village near 
Buft'alo, from an attack of cholera morbus. "I am about to leave 
you," he said, "and when I am gone and my warnings are no longer 
heard or regarded, the craft and avarice of the white man will pre- 
vail. * * * Think not I mourn for myself. I go to join the spirits 
of my fathers, where age cannot come; but my heart fails when I 
think of my people who are so soon to be scattered and forgotten." 

The striking portrait of Red Jacket in this history (see page 21) 
suggests the superior qualities of his mind. Colonel Stone said of 
him: "When fired with indignation, or burning for revenge, the ex- 
pression of his eye was terrible, and when he chose to display his pow- 
ers of irony, which were rarely excelled, the aspect of his keen sar- 
castic glance was irresistible." 



.yO TA BL E MEX OE THE EA RL 1 ' TIMES 77 



Charles Williamson 

Captain Charles Williamson more than any one else gave the first 
and strongest impulse to the early settlement and progress of the 
Genesee valley, Dansville included. He was an educated man, with 
foresight, enterprise, remarl^able business ability, and indomitalile 
energv. He loved horses and cattle, jokes and stories, was hopeful 
and cheerful, and in his many dealings with the early settlers kind 
and liberal. It was fortunate for this region that a man so broad- 
minded and capable, with so pleasing a personality, was its leading 
pioneer, backed by the financial power to carry forward his projects. 
He was a Scotchman, and came to America during the Revolution 
as a prisoner of war. He had been given a captain's commission in 
the British service, and sailed with his regiment for this country to 
fight our forefathers, the rebels. But he did not fight them, for his 
vessel was captured by a French privateer, and all its soldiers of the 
king were brought to Boston and held captive until the close of the 
war. 

In 1791 Captain Williamson was appointed agent for an English 
company of distinguished men headed by Sir William Pulteney to look 
after the interests of what was known as the Pultney estate in Amer- 
ica. He came to this end of the valley, and after a critical survey of 
the lands and possibilities hereabouts, decided that his first enterprise 
should be the opening of a road through the dense woods from the 
junction of Canaseraga creek with the Genesee to Ross Farm (Wil- 
liamsport). Pa. It was a very difficult and expensive undertaking for 
those days, but was successfully accomplished. This road was the 
first one opened from the south, and became invaluable to the early 
settlers, and provided a comparatively easy means of ingress for many 
who were seeking new homes in this attractive wilderness. When it 
was completed Capt. Williamson proceeded in other energetic ways to 
help develop and populate the valley. He started its first village and 
brought in its first colony. The village was the now extinct and 
almost forgotten Wiiliamsburgh at this end of his long road where the 
streams meet. Canaseraga creek was then navigable to Dansville 
with a species of plank boats called arks, each of which, it is recorded, 
would carry 300 barrels of flour, and considerable lumber and produce 
besides. Something has been said about Wiiliamsburgh in a previous 
chapter. It was near there that Captain Williamson's annual fairs and 
horseraces were held, which influenced the \'irginians and Pennsylva- 
nians to come with their horses, and some of them with slaves, over the 
Williamson road, and were the means of bringing with them and after 
them many a permanent settler. 

Captain Williamson began to give attention to Dansville soon after 
the first settlers arrived, and as early as 1792 established William Mc- 
Cartney close by as one of his land agents. He built some mills here, 
and Pulteney tract lands in and around Dansville were sold to many 
comers. For ten years — from 1791 to 1801 — his energies were mostly 
directed towards the development of this end of the valley. In 1796 
his Wiiliamsburgh had three frame buildings and twelve log houses, 
besides Williamson's two hundred feet barn for horses, in which relig- 
ious services were sometimes held. In that vear he was nominated 



NO TA RLE MEN OF THE EA RL \ ' TIMES 79 

for the assembly in the district embracing Ontario and Steuben coun- 
ties, (Livingston had not then been formed,) and elected by a vote of 
six hundred and thirty eight to eleven for his opponent. This shows 
the esteem in which he was held by the voters. In Albany he con- 
tinued to work for the interests of the valley. He secured legislation 
which benefited it, and made his colleagues acquainted with its ad- 
vantages. The grateful memories of what he was and what he did 
should not be allowed to fade into forgetfulness. 

Nathaniel Rochester 

Another distinguished man who gave an early impulse to Dansville 
growth was Nathaniel Rochester (for portrait see page 78) from whom 
the city of Rochester takes its name. He was born in Virginia in 
1752, resided in Hillsborough, Orange county, N. C, during the 
Revolutionary war, was a member of the first provincial convention 
of North Carolina, became a major of militia in 1775 and a lieutenant 
colonel in 1776, and in the latter year was elected a member of the 
convention which adopted the first constitution of the state. He held 
several other offices in North Carolina, among them those of deputy 
commissary general for the Continental army with the rank of colonel, 
member of assembly, and clerk of Orange county. At the close of the 
war he moved to Hagerstown, Md. , and there established a mercantile 
and manufacturing business. There he held the offices of state legis- 
lator, postmaster, county court judge, and sheriff. He was the first 
president of the Hagerstown bank, and in 1808 he was a presidental 
elector. He moved from Maryland to Dansville to reside in 1810, 
having the vear before purchased a tract of land here. His interests 
in Dansville comprised seven hundred acres of land, a grist mill, a 
saw mill, and the first paper mill in Western New York. He sold all 
these in 1814 for $24,000 and in 1815 moved to East Bloomfield, On- 
tario county. In 1816 he was again chosen a presidential elector, and 
in 1818 moved to Rochester, where he had acquired large land in- 
terests while in Dansville. It was chiefly through his instrumentality 
that Monroe county was partitioned from adjoining counties, and he 
was its first county clerk. In 1822 he was elc ted assemblyman, and 
in 1824 became president of the Bank of Rochester. He died in 1831, 
after an active, useful and honored life. Dansville in less degree 
shares with RoL'hester the benefits of his enterprise and practical wis- 
dom. William Scott said that Colonel Rochester was "a fine type of 
the true southern a;entleman." 



CHAPr/iK rin 
Recollections of Living Old Citizens 

Elihu L. Stanley Ninety-three Years Old — Mrs. Catherine Harrison Ninety — 
Jlis. Jane Shafer Eighty-nine — David McNair Eighty-three — Dr. A. L. 
(lilhert Seventy-eight — B. S. Stone Seventy-seven — Mrs. Katherine 
Roeliester Shepard — Mrs. Timothy B. Grant — Mrs. Anna Clark Adams. 




Elihu L. Stanley was ninety-three 
years of age November 11, 1901, and 
is the oldest living citizen of Dans- 
ville. Dr. James Faulkner, who 
died in 1884, aged ninety-four years 
and eight months, and Mrs. Sidney 
Stacy, who died in 1885, aged ninety- 
seven, were probably the longest 
lived of any deceased citizens. But 
Mr. Stanley, still in fair health and 
looking like a man of seventy, gives 
promise of becoming a centenarian. 
He came to Mt. Morris in 1811, and 
from Mt. Morris here in 1830 as a 
ELIHU L. STANLEY. clcrk iu Luther Melvin's general 

store, remained about nine months, went away, returned the next 
year, and has resided here the most of the time since. In 1832 he 
clerked for Dr. F. W. Clark, who was in both the mercantile and lum- 
bering business. At that time the dry goods stores sold also groceries 
and drugs and otiier articles now sold in other kinds of trade. Later 
Mr. Stanley opened a store of his own where the postoffice now stands. 
He continued in the business only a few years. In 1845 and 1846 
he cleared $8,000 in the Woodville mill, and in 1847, bought twelve 
acres of land for $5,000 includmg shop, dam and water privilege, on 
which he built within nine months the stone mill now owned by Frank 
G. Hall, at a cost of $10,000. Mr. Stanley married Miss Brace, who 
taught a school for young children on the present site of the Bunnell 
block. His clear memory recalls the most of the farm owners and 
residents along Main street in or about 1830. Among the fortner 
were John Hartman, Amariah Hammond, William Ferine, Joshua 
Shepard, Russell Day, Dr. F. W. Clark, Col. Sainuel W. Smith, Mr. 
Gansvoort, Leonard Kuhn, Jacob Opp, Mr. McCartney, Jacob Welch, 
Jonathan Barnhart, Conrad Welch, Henry Welch, Solomon Fenster- 
macher, Abram Dippy, Samuel Shannon, Luther Melvin, Isaac Fen- 
stermacher, John Wilkinson, William Pickell. Some of the farms lay 
on both sides of Main street, and on the east side extended back to 
East hill. Dr. James Faulkner lived on South street, and his tract 
included the most of the present village on the west side of Main from 
Ossian street up. Thomas McWhorter had a large farm west of the 
Welch farms, and a grist mill on Canaseraga creek. Other residents 



80 



RECOLLECTIOXS OF LIllNG OLD CITIZEXS 



81 



along Main street were Captain Rowley, Dr. F. W. Clark. Philip and 
Jonathan Kershner, David McCartney, Horatio Taggart, Eugene 
Day, and Joseph vSedgwick. There were only six brick buildings in 
town — Mr. Opp's, Mr. McCurdy's, Captain Rowley's, Colonel Smith's, 
Mr. Barnharfs, and Mr. McCartney's. Solomon Fenstermacher's 
house was the three-story building known as Solomon's temple. The 
only streets running back to East hill were Ferine and Chestnut 
streets. On the west the only streets were Ossian, South and Gibson. 



J0^ 



Mrs. Jane Shafer, the date of 
whose eighty-ninth birthday is 
February 9, 19(12, was born with 
a twin sister in a log house in 
vSparta at the foot of Culbertson's 
glen, and resided in the town un- 
til she was forty years old, then 
went away, returned, and is now 
living on Seward street with her 
grand-niece, Mrs. George Sturm. 
,She retains her health and facul- 
ties as few women of her age do, 
and has clear memories of her 
childhood days. She says the 
district school then was so 
crowded that the teacher could 
not give much individual at- 
tention to pupils. There seemed 
Id be more children than there 
are now. They had fun out of 
doors sliding down the steep 
liillside on sticks of wood; hand- 
sleds came later. It was danger- 
ous but exciting, and great risks 
were run for the sake of the sport. Mrs. Shafer remembers the 
Indians of her childhood. They came along frequently, and once a 
big chief came and talked with her father. She was not so 
obedient that she did not run away from home sometimes, and 
once when she had gone out into the woods she was paralyzed with 
fear at seeing a number of Indians coming in single file, all young but 
an old squaw who was leader. They went by stoically with eyes look- 
ing straight ahead, and scarcely glanced at her. She could not move 
or speak until they were out of sight, and then ran home in a frenzy 
of terror. She remembers when the North Presbyterian church of 
Sparta was built, and that she helped make the cushions for the fiews. 
She thinks it was the first church built between Cayuga and the 
Niagara river. She also recalls that after the division of the Pres- 
byterian church into old school and new school, an old school Presytery 
was formed by three clergymen in the North Sparta church. The 




MRS. JANE SHAFER 



82 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

Dansville Presbyterians often came to North Sparta to meeting before 
they built a church for themselves. Mrs. Shafer remembers well the 
Rev. Littlejohn, and his queer methods as a preacher and revivalist, 
and says the people afterward wondered that he could influence them 
as he did with his talking gifts and aggressive eccentricities. They 
afterward discovered that he was immoral. Mrs. Shafer remembers 
that there was one Indian girl called "Laughing Molly," who made a 
great fuss over her and her twin sister. Finally she didn't come any 
more, and they were told that the envious Indians had burned her as 
a witch. They said she bewitched the white people to give her pres- 
ents. Mrs. Shafer's father had a grist mill on the glen stream, and 
one day a cloud-burst flooded the glen so as to carry away his mill, 
cover much of the flats below with drift-wood and stones, and change 
the lower course of the stream. He rebuilt his mill, and later Mr. 
Culbertson built a fulling mill on the stream. Mrs. Shafer knew Wil- 
liam Scott who worked with ]\Iillard Fillmore, afterward President, in 
a woolen mill near Woodville. Mr. Hungerford was the man for whom 
they worked, and he was so mean to them that they did not stay with 
him long. 



David McNair was born in 1818, and his eighty-three years have 
not weakened his faculties or dimmed his memory. His farm of 30(1 
acres is a short distance from Dansville, and he has watched its 
growth and changes from youth until now. He has successfully en- 
gaged in sheep husbandry, grain raising and dairying, and his dairy 
now supplies many Dansville families with milk. His father, vSamuel 
McNair, moved from the Lehigh fork of the Delaware river in 18()4, 
after making three or four trips here on horseback in previous years. 
He married Margaret Mann of ^Montgomery county. Pa., the next 
year. They had seven sons and two daughters, of whom David was 
the youngest and is the only survivor. He remembers his father told 
him that he helped organize the South Sparta Presbyterian church, 
that there was a division of opinion among the organizers as to the 
location of the building, and that this was finally decided by lot. The 
building was erected in 1819, and the present building is that re- 
modeled. Rev. Mr. Gray was the first preacher, an itinerant who 
afterwards settled near the church and preached there many years. 
Mr. McNair remembers that he once rebuked some boys, who were en- 
joying the playfulness of .some dogs near the church, for laughing on 
Sunday. Another illustration of the religious rigidity of his boyhood 
days was the rebuke of his uncle John to a man who was driving an ox 
team home from the mill on Sunday, because he could not get his 
grain ground in time to get away on Saturday evening. "You are 
wickedly breaking the Sabbath day," said the uncle, and insisted upon 
the wickedness after the man had explained. Finally the latter got 
angry, and drove uncle John away with his gad. The eccentric re- 
vivalist, Littlejohn, held successful meetings in and around Dansville 
about 1840, and Mr. McNair remembers that he once pointed his 
finger at a lively girl in the gallery and said; "You are going to hell. " 



RECOLLECTIONS OF LIVIXG OLD CITLZEXS 83 

^Irs. Catherine Harrison, 
daughter of Jacob Hartman, 
one of the earliest settlers, was 
ninety years old October 24, 
I'M II, and is still vigorous 
enough to walk a mile easily, 
while her sight, hearing and 
memory are good. Since her 
marriage at the age of twenty 
she has lived in the house 
where she now is, near the 
Bradner place on lower Main 
street. She was born in a log 
house across the street. She 
has distinct recollections of her 
early girlhood, and the things 
she then saw. The Indians 
were numerous, and used to 
come in groups, and in sum- 
mer sleep on the stoop of her 
father's house, and in winter 
around the kitchen fire. When 
they came in summer they 
were often given milk, bread 
and pork, of which they were 
very fond, and when the hunt- 
ing season came would bring 
quarters or halves of venison, 
and soemtimes a whole car- 
cass, as return gifts. Mrs. 
Harrison remembers a big wheat field of William Perine's and much 
forest on the east side of Main street, and on the west side, back of 
her father's house, a wide meadow and some thick pine woods, and 
south, nearly to Liberty street, her father's long orchard of apple, 
peach, and cherry trees. Among the pines were a great many rabbits. 
Rail fences were on each side of ilain street. There were no churches, 
and the occasional preaching was in a school house on the lot just 
south of the Livingston hotel. Her father gave the lot on which the 
German Lutheran church is built. Her mother put her dough to 
rise in bread baskets made of twists of rye straw sewed together. The 
fire places and ovens were constructed of stones, as there were no brick 
t(j be had. They had to go to Big Tree (Geneseo) or Bath for groceries. 

J0^ 




MRS. CATHERINE HARRISON 



B. S. Stone of Stone's Falls now in his seventy-seventh year gives 
us the following reminiscences, aided by memoranda which he had 
written in the early days: March 30, 1839, he went to a militia elec- 
tion of otificers at Driesbach's. William S. Fullerton was chosen 
colonel, John Magee lieutenant colonel and John A. Ferine major. 
April 29 he was elected captain of the Dansville company, Daniel 
Marts lieutenant and Alonzo Truesdale ensign. This company elec- 
tion was set aside on the ground of informality, and another election 



84 



DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 



was held June 1, when !Mr. Stone was re-elected. He says: "It cost 
me $3.50 to treat the crowd." August 25 he went to Richmond to 
general training. September 2 and 10 he went to Dansville and cap- 
tained the company. November 14, 1842, he went to Dansville, and 
while at the canal, the second floor of the storehouse close by broke 
from its weight of corn and flour which rushed down upon I. Z. Reed 
and Joseph Amos. Mr. Reed was badly injured and Mr. Amos was 
dead when his body was tmcovered. Proctor's edge tool shop was 
built at Stone's Falls in 1839. S. G. Dorr's grist mill at Rogersville 
was burnt in 1838, probably by an incendiary. Old Mr. Dorr died 
suddenly while sawing wood in May 1843, aged eighty-eight. 

While in Michigan in December, 1838, Mr. Stone saw a fight between 
the Patriots and Royalists at Sandwich, across the river from Detroit. 
The barracks and a steamboat at the wharf were burned. January 14, 
1840, Mr. Stone, R. Brail, J. P. Faulkner, S. G. Dorr, and J. B. 
Lemen went together to the "plaster bed" at Caledonia, twenty 
miles distant, for plaster, and each brought back a ton. January 19, 
Rev. 'W.x. Littlejohn was holding protracted meetings at South 
Dansville. 

J0^ 



.^^' 



.\ 



Dr. Augustus L. Gilbert of 
North Cohocton is in his seventy- 
eighth year. He came to Dans- 
ville from Cohocton with his father 
in 1841, and the family lived here 
until 1846, when they returned to 
North Cohocton. The doctor's 
recollections of that period are in- 
teresting. His father was a gen- 
eral merchant, and occupied the 
Joshua Shepard store. Other 
merchants whom he remembers 
were S. L. Barrett & Bros., Rob- 
ert S. Faulkner, dry goods; Goun- 
dr\- & Kern, Lester Bradner. Mat- 
thew and David McCartney, Fred 
Kuhn, J. W. Brown and Mr. Hub- 
bai'd, general stores; Merritt 
Brown & Son, hardware; Edward 
Niles, drugs. George Hyland was 
manufacturing hats and fur goods, 
and was the leading buyer of skins. George C. Taylor kept the 
American hotel, corner of Main and Ossian. The hotel where the 
Livingston now is was built about 1840 or 1841, and was kept by a 
Mr. Jennings. Soon there was a great temperance movement and 
Landlord Jennings professed to be converted, and announced that he 
would henceforth keep a temperance house. After his liquors disap- 
peared a great out-door banquet was prepared by the ladies in an 
orchard and was attended by over 400 people. The proceeds were 
large and were handed to Mr. Jennings as a reward for the temperance 




DR. AUGUSTUS L. GILBERT 



RECOL LliC TIOXS C '/•" L // 7X(; ( U, D L 7 T I ZENS 85 

stand he had taken. But he soon backslid, and sold liquor again. 
Dr. (lilbert recollects distinctly the local canal trouble and the busi- 
ness boom that followed. The story of these is partly told in chapter 
VI. The doctor saw the crowd of men go to the west end of the sub- 
branch with pick-axes, shovels, etc., to make the illegal opening 
which should let the water in, and saw them come back in the even- 
ing, after they had finished the job, singing uproariously a song with 
chorus which had been composed for the occasion. Then all the 
cliurch bells were rung, and there was a hilarious time. The lumber 
and timber that came in for shipment were astonishing. There were 
5U0 acres of splendid pines between here and Wayland, and the most 
of them were cut into spars sixty or more feet long, and floated down 
the canal to Rochester in rafts. Other spars were lifted in the woods 
and fastened so that two men with a cross-cut saw — one above and 
one below — could saw them into four-inch planks, which were mostly 
used in building canal bridges. John Goundry and C. R. Kern, or 
the firm of Goundry & Kern, had a large lumber yard near the pres- 
ent Shepard block which was covered with very high piles of lumber, 
and along the canal were similar yards. Clear pine lumlier then sold 
for four dollars a thousand, and shingles for one dollar to $1.25 a 
thousand. Dr. Gilbert heard the revivalist Littlejohn at Union 
Corners and in Dansville at the Presbyterian church on the square. 
At the Corners he came into the church one evening when some ladies 
were praying in low tones, and said: "A few more prayers like these 
would freeze hell over." At first Littlejohn was successful in getting 
converts here, but charges of immorality were made against him by 
two women, and he had to leave. He went to Allegany county, but 
his reputation followed him, and he was finally tried in the courts and 
found guilty. A powerful but sucessful revivalist named Adams held 
meetings in the ;\iethodist church here, in Cohocton and other places. 
He would take off his coat and preach in his shirt sleeves, and would 
try to make all declare by standing up, whether they were for God or 
the devil. This was about 1849. The political Tippecanoe campaign 
of 1840 between Harrison and Van Buren was exciting beyond any- 
thing before or since. There was a big log cabin erected near the 
present site of William Kramer's store. Many coon skins were nailed 
on the outside, and there was a barrel of hard cider at the door from 
which all could help themselves. A mass meeting out of doors drew 
an immense crowd, many coming from distant towns. There were 
long wagons with open floors on which ladies sat dressed in white, and 
on the longest one, from another town, was a log cabin. The meet- 
ing was eloquently addressed by Hugh vS. Legar of South Carolina. 
Another exciting and showy campaign was that of 1844 between Clay 
and Polk. The doctor recalls Major Van Campen, who used to come 
and sit in his father's store and relate his experiences as a soldier and 
scout. They were thrilling and he was an excellent and charming 
old man. General training, with Chester Bradley as colonel, was a 
great occasion, and after the parade and drill the colonel would escort 
parties to and through the great paper mill of the Bradleys near the 
California house. Bradley & Sons made foolscap paper mostly, and 
ruled it with strings. They also made two or three grades of coarse 
paper. All the paper was then made by hand. 



86 



DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 



Dr. Gilbert came back to Dansville in 1852, after his graduation as 
a physician, and practiced two years; and again in 1874, and prac- 
ticed four years. The rest of his practice except a year in Michigan 
and a year in Bufifalo has been in and around Cohocton. 



je^ 




]\lrs. Anna Clark Adams furnishes 
some interesting recollections, partly 
from the lips of her father, Dr. W. F. 
Clark, who came to Dansville with his 
wife and one child in 1814 and com- 
menced the practice ol medicine. He 
found here one other physician. Dr. 
James Faulkner, and possibly a Dr. 
Sholl, who lived and died here in the 
early days. After a few years Dr. 
Clark stopped his professional work 
on account of his health. There was 
a great lumber trade here, and he 
opened a lumber yard with his brother, 
Calvin E. Clark, and they started 
a general store. He also put an ash- 
ery in operation, which was man- 
aged by Jacob Welch. On land 
bought of Colonel Rochester he built 
his first Dansville home and a store. 
After a few years he built a new and 
larger store where the Dyer block 
DR. WILLIS F. CLAP.K now stauds. Many years later Dr. 

Clark built the brick bU^ck now owned by the Dyer Brothers. 
Elizabeth street was so named because there was a daughter with that 
name in every house on the street, si.x in all. Dr. Clark was influ- 
ential in getting Dansville and adjacent territory set off into Living- 
ston county, and when the news of the consummation of this scheme 
was received, Dansville celebrated with bonfires and house illumina- 
tions, and Dr. Clark was taken from his house and carried down the 
street on the shoulders of citizens. Mrs. Adams thinks the Methodist 
society was the first church society organized in Dansville, and next 
came the Presbyterian. Rev. Silas Pratt was either the first or second 
minister in charge of the Presbyterian church. Meetings were held 
in what was then "the new school house." During Mr. Pratt's pas- 
torate Mrs. Adams's mother, wife of Dr. Clark, started the first Sun- 
day school in the Presbyterian church, which was probably the first in 
the village. The sessions were held in her home, and she was the only 
teacher. The first teachers in the academy on the square were Mr. 
Crocker, Mr. Fullerton, Miss Niles, and Miss Peck. There were some 
exciting times in that academy. The first volume written in Dans- 
ville was the life of an old resident named Franklin, and was by Rev. 
John Hubbard, who afterwards wrote the life of Major VanCampen. 
Mrs. Katherine Rochester Shepard, widow of the late Charles 



RECOLLECrrOXS OF IJ\ 'fXG OLD CITIZENS 87 

Shepard, and granddaughter of Colonel Nathaniel Rochester, writes 
from vSeattle, Washington, a letter of interest from which some facts 
are selected. When Joshua Shepard came to Dansville he established 
a general store in partnership with Lester Bradner just south of the 
present Livingston hotel. In 1817 he married Miss Elizabeth Hurlbut 
of Arkport. About 1820 he purchased a farm in Sparta which is now 
known as the Galbraith farm. He lived there three years, and then 
returned to Dansville to occupy his new home, now known as the 
Shepard homestead. This was completed in 1824. Elizabeth Shepard 
held the twenty-four locust trees now encircling the residence while 
they were being planted. Sometime prior to this Mr. Shepard had 
bought what was known in the family as "the 38-acre farm," ex- 
tending from Main street to the present Lackawanna railroad, bounded 
on the north by Ferine street, then a mere lane, the southern boundary 
being just south of the present Shepard block. It was afterward cut 
into lots and most of it sold. One of the latest sales was the right of 
way to the Lackawanna railroad. Mrs. Shepard has a copy of the 
deed of gift by Joshua and Elizabeth Shepard in July, 1829, of the 
ground occupied by the First Presbyterian church just north of the 
Shepard block, and burned in the great fire of 1854. The husband 
died in 1829 and the wife in 1870. Charles Shepard donated a part 
of the land for the Dansville Seminary. "You probably know," Mrs. 
Shepard writes, "that the public square upon which several of the 
churches are built, was given to the village by my grandfather. Col. 
Nathaniel Rochester. I have a distinct recollection of the first church 
service I attended in Dansville, shortly after my marriage in 1846. It 
was held in the upper school district in the schoolhouse standing upon 
the square. St. Peter's parish had been already organized and the 
church was, I think, in the course of erection at this time. Rev. 
Mr. Buell was missionary in charge. On entering the school house 
we found the men sitting on one side of the building and the women 
upon the other. It made a great impression upon me as I had never 
before seen anything so primitive." (Mrs. Shepard died at Seattle 
May 20, 1902,' and her remains with those of her husband were 
brought t(i Dansville and buried in Greennuiunt cemetery May 27.) 

From data in the possession of Mrs. T. B. Grant and her recollec- 
tions, some facts of interest are gathered. Her mother was the adopted 
daughter of Jonathan Rowley, and her father was the son of Major 
Isaac vSmith. Mr. Rowley and his wife came to Dansville from 
Stephentown, N. Y. , on horseback in 1805, when he was thirty-two 
years old, bought a large tract of land, and immediately put up the 
first brick building of the village — a tavern almost at the corner of 
Main and Exchange streets. After conducting it a few years he 
leased it, and afterward made a business of buying and selling land 
until he died in 1833. Mary McCulloch, adopted by him and his wife 
when a child, and the mother of Mrs. T. B. Grant and Mrs. S. P. 
Williams, was his niece on her mother's side, and her father, Colonel 
George McCulloch, one of the first settlers of Painted Post. After 



88 n.l.\'S\-//.LE OF THE PAST 

i\Ir. Rowley left the brick tavern he luiilt and lived in until he died, 
the house occupied by Dr. Crisfield, but now with an added story and 
otherwise reconstructed. Col. Samuel W. Smith, father of ^Irs. Cirant 
and Mrs. Williams, came in 181'J to Dansville from Avon, where his 
father had built and kept the famous Forest Inn. He married Mary 
Rowley (McCulloch) the same year. He was a merchant here for 
thirty years, became owner of a good deal of land in the village, was 
elected member of assembly in 1832, and was a delegate to the first 
Republican state convention held in Syracuse. He was one of the 
founders of the Presbyterian church, and first loaned and then gave 
the church $2,000 for the erection of its first house of worship. He 
sold the brick tavern, which came into his possession through his 
marriage, to James McXair. 



CIIAI'TliR IX 
Some £xciting and Interesting Events 

Bursting of' Water from East Hill — The Devil's Hole — Eclipse of the Sun — 
Dansville Volunteers Descend upon Canada — Rain and Cloudburst of 1813 
— Wind Storm of 1842 — The Wood Poisoning — Shooting of John Haas — 
Remains of a Mastadon F<iund — Three Most Destructive Fires — Other 
Fires — Burning of "Our Home." 

In 179f) the settlers heard a sound like a short clap of thunder or 
the discharge of a great cannon, followed by the rushing noise of 
water. Then they discovered that a new stream was pouring from 
the eastern hillside, and on further inspection that it had burst 
through the rocks with such force as to throw out stones weighing 
from 200 to 300 pounds, and cast an oak tree 2'l' feet in diameter 
down the hill butt foremost, and split the hill from north to south. 
Thus was born the "All Healing Spring" of the Sanatorium, and 
the stream which pours from it, which has diminished with the lapse 
of time. In 1841 it turned the water-vvheels of a tannery. But for it 
Our Home on the Hillside and the Sanatorium would never have been 
erected. 

The fissure where the seam was widest, nearly directly above the 
present flowing spring, was long known as the Devil's Hole. A con- 
tributor to the Dansville Advertiser of Sept. 30, 1875, says that about 
forty-two years before there were strange lights seen flitting hither 
and thither around the Devil's Hole on dark nights. The people 
were quite excited, in fact .scared, and some of them really thought 
the devil and his imps were taking an airing and having a jolly time. 
The question of an exploration of the hole was agitated, but it was 
sometime before men having sufificient nerve volunteered. Finally, 
Cyrus B. Cook, Dr. L. N. Cook's oldest son, decided to do it. 
On the day appointed, Mr. Cook, Dr. Cook, Esquire Russell Day, 
"Adrian" and a few others went up the hill equipped for the work. 
Cyrus put on overalls and a jacket with tight sleeves and tied a hand- 
kerchief about his head. Two stout straps were buckled over each 
shoulder and around his body and to this was attached a long stout 
rope. He then took a lighted candle and started. Dr. Cook had hold 
of the rope close to the entrance, Russell Day next and then the rest 
of the company. The descent was gradual. He walked erect with a 
foot on either side of the chasrn until he came to a place so small 
that he would have to lay down and worm himself through. He 
prudently decided to return. A measurement of the rope showed 
that he had gone just forty-four feet. Stones dropped in the chasm 
splashed in water some distance below. Some cattle having fallen 
into the hole it was finally filled up. That there was a large body of 
water in the hillside was thought to be sufficiently proven. After the 
exploration it was found that there was nothing supernatural or in- 
fernal about the strange lights, that some mischievous young men had 
evolved the "mystery" with fireballs. 

<?9 



90 DA XS 1 7L L E OF THE PA S T 

The first settlers witnessed a total eclipse of the sun on June 16, 
1806, through a perfectly clear atmosphere. As the moon gradually 
obscured the sun the bright day darkened until at 11:15 o'clock, the 
first moment of totality, it was a deep twilight. The total obscuration 
lasted three minutes. The birds stopped singing, the hens went to 
roost, bats flew fiom their holes, and business was suspended. The 
mercury dropped several degrees, and dew fell. The rare spectacle 
terrified the Indians, who ran to and fro, exclaiming and grunting. 
They were the more astounded because some of them had been told by 
their white neighbors the almanac time when the sun would grow 
black, and some had made bets that it would not. 

In 1812, after war was declared between Great Britain and the 
United States, Gen. Smyth planned a descent upon Canada, and 
issued a flaming proclamation from Buffalo calling for volunteers. In 
response to this call a company of about thirty was raised in this vil- 
lage, captained by William B. Rochester, and Sparta and Groveland 
furnished another company, captained by James Rosebrugh. The 
two companies went on foot to Buffalo, were mustered in as infantry, 
marched to Black Rock and were sent on board boats, an advance 
force having already been sent across the river. A tew hours after- 
ward, while yet on the boats they were informed that the expedition 
was abandoned, and soon were ordered back to their homes. Gen. 
Porter published Gen. Smyth as a coward for his braggart and futile 
performance, the soldiers were indignant, and the government quick- 
ly relieved him of his command. Later he spent a niglit at Stout's 
tavern in Dansville, where he was treated by the citizens with silent 
contempt. 

In June, 1813, there was a rain of four days, ending in a cloud 
burst on June 19, which swept away William D. McNair's stone 
grist mill on Stony brook. Col. Rochester's saw mill dam on Mill 
brook, and Benjamin's Hungerford's carding mill on Duncan creek in 
West Sparta. The flood carried mill stones several rods and buried 
them so deep in sand and gravel that they were not discovered for 
many years. It is believed to have been the most remarkable rain 
storm ever known in the county. 

In August, 1842, an ominous roar was heard, and soon afterward a 
storm from the southwest struck the village. The thunder was almost 
continuous, and the wind of such force that it tore shingles from the 
roofs, leveled George Hyland's three-story hotel at the corner of Canal 
and South streets, Joseph Fenstermacher's two-story house, and 
moved several other buildings from their foundations. The air was 
filled with debris, and the people in the streets were obliged to run 
for shelter or catch hold of something to keep their footing. It was a 
fearful twenty minutes — for the storm was over in that time — and 
nothing of the kind approaching it in violence has since visited Dans- 
ville. 

The cholera visitation at vSandy Hill in 1834 caused widespread 
alarm and sympathy, and resulted in many deaths. It was graphical- 
ly described in a long communication by B. S. Stone of Stone's Falls, 
to the Advertiser of May 10, 1877. In August of that year John Brail 
and another man drove teams to Buffalo to bring to the Hill four 
families of German emigrants. Thej- had come from New York City 



SOME EXCITING A ND IX TIiKES TIXG E I 7-X7S 91 

by canal, and there was a fatal case of cholera on the boat. The 
clothing of the dead man was packed in an iron-bound chest to be 
cleansed when convenient. This box was brought with the sixteen or 
eighteen emigrants and their effects to Sandy Hill, and Mr. Brail 
established them in his old log house. Mrs. Brail kindly helped the 
new-comers in their washing, and it was afterward ascertained that 
the clothing washed included the cholera clothes of the chest. The 
same evening she was taken sick, and died the next day, Wednesday, 
Aug. 24. Dansville doctors pronounced the disease a severe case of 
cholera morbus. On Saturday the two daughters of Mr. and Mrs. 
Brail were taken sick. One of them died six hours afterward, but the 
other recovered. The doctors then knew that the disease was cholera, 
and vainly tried to stay the spread of the contagion. Several neigh- 
bors took their lives in their hands and buried the dead and ministered 
to the sick, and most of them contracted the disease in their humane 
and heroic efforts. Among these were Samuel Lemen, Zara Blake, 
Samuel G. Dorr, Michael Driesbach, Rufus Stone, Joseph Acomb, An- 
drew Brail and John Brail, Jr. j\Ir. BraiTs son George was the third 
victim, two days after the death of his sister. The old school house 
was turned into an undertaker's shop. A panic pervaded the settle- 
ment, and extended to other settlements. Within twelve days nearly 
two-thirds of the emigrants in the log house were dead, including a 
Mrs. Kerch and six of her children. The rest of the sick were moved 
on stretchers to shanties in the woods. The fatalities continued, and 
coffins were made in the evenings at Rufus Stone's house. September 
15 Mr. Acomb died, and one week afterward the last victim, Rebecca 
Decker, was buried. The number of deaths from the disease is not 
recorded. It was of such a malignant character that the sick suffered 
excruciating agonies, and permanently injured the health of the few 
who recovered from it. 

In May, 1855, David J. Wood, one of the leading merchants of 
Dansville, died suddenly while his wife and two children were absent. 
In two or three weeks these were all taken sick and ]\Irs. Wood died. 
It was found that Mr. Wood left no property, although he had said on 
his deathbed that he was worth several thousand dollars. The cir- 
cumstances were so peculiar that the bodies of the dead husband and 
wife were exhumed, and a chemical analysis showed traces of poison 
in their stomachs. The brother of Mr. Wood, Isaac L., was sus- 
pected, arrested, tried, found guilty and hung at Geneseo, July '), 
1858. The trial was long and sensational. 

On July 4, 1873, Dr. S. L. Ellis shot John W. Haas dead in a 
back room of LaRue's jewelry store in the Hyland block. The two 
men had had several altercations about a woman, and were having 
one when the fatal shot was fired. The deed was the talk of 
the town for many days. Dr. Ellis gave himself up, claiming that 
he had fired in self-defense when Haas raised a chair to brain him. 
The exciting trial commenced November 9, 1873, and continued sev- 
eral days, when Dr. Ellis was acquitted. 

In 1874 Edward Whiteman living two miles east of Dansville, while 
digging a ditch through a marshy place discovered some bones which 
proved to be the remains of a mastodon giganteus. Prof. Jerome 
Allen of Geneseo, Dr. F. M. Ferine and a representative of the Dans- 



92 



DAXSllLIJi OF THE PAST 



ville Advertiser went to the spot and made a careful examination of 
the bones, and subsequently other bones were exhumed under the 
direction of Dr. Ferine. From the section of tusk obtained, measur- 
ing over 9 feet in length iind 25 inches in circumference. Prof. Allen 
estimated that the tusk was 14 feet long. Two teeth were found 
weighing respectively 5 pounds 10 ounces and 5 pounds 3 ounces, 
which were each 7 inches long, more than 4 inches wide and 7^2 
inches from the top to the bottom of the roots. There was a piece of 
leg bone 35 inches long and 10 inches thick which weighed 28 pounds, 
and there was a piece of rib 38 inches long and 3'^ inches thick. The 
vertebra apart from its connections was 4)-2 inches thick. The enor- 
mous animal whose flesh once covered these bones was, according to 
Prof. Allen, the third one of its species whose remains had been ex- 
humed in this country. The bones were placed on exhibition in 
Dansville by Dr. Ferine and were more than a nine days' wonder. 




DANSVILLE'S OLD FIRE ENGINE 



Three of the most disastrous fires that ever afflicted Dansville took 
place in the SO's. The first, in 1854. The fire broke out at 2 
o'clock in the afternoon of Friday, March 31, in the gun shop of 
William Roberts on the second floor of the hardware store of M. Gil- 
man and brother, a two-story wooden building on the present site of 
Spinning & Uhl's dry good store. A high south wind prevailed and 
the fire swept northward with fearful rapidity until the entire business 
portion of the village on both sides of Main north of the point where 
the fire originated was burned. Goods deposited in the street or on 
the opposite side in the early stages of the fire, were burned before 
they could be removed, and the fire gained such force that when the 
Shepard block was reached the brick buildings fairly melted down. 
The Herald building owned by Orville Tousey which stood next south 
of the Oilman building was slightly damaged by the fire and J. G. 
Sprague's warehouse in rear of store was burned with house of H. 
Kershner. The principal suff:erers on the west side of Main street 
were: M. Oilman store and goods, William Roberts gun shop, Wil- 
liam Brown & Son bakery, Mrs Stacy milliner, American hotel block 
with G. Hyland's hat store, J. Lauterborn shoeshop, C. Meng hat 
store, O. T. Crane crockery store, C. Renner barber, D. Porter land- 
lord of hotel, W. C. Bryant dry goods, McCartney & Edwards dry 
goods, Bradner & Welch dry goods, Mrs. Brown grocery, M. Davis 
dwelling and store occupied by J. Gilliam whips, H. T. Stacy grocery, 
S. S. Stacy cigars, S. B. Johnson grocery, F. Collet cigars, D. Bunnell 
store, Mrs. Hendershott store, Joel Cranmer shop, C. Eaton saddlery, 



SOME RXCrriNG AXn IXTERESTIXr, EVExrs 



')3 



D. R. Smith grocery. A gap here prevented further progress of the 
fire northward, the Dansville house again escaping. On the east side 
of Main street, Russell Day's wooden block of three stores, one occu- 
pied by Bushnell & Marcell shoes, Harman Jones carriages, R. S. 
Faulkner dry goods, M. H. Brown empty wooden store, C. R. Kern 
office, C. W. Leonard e^- Co. cigars, C. Shepard's brick block of four 
stores, viz; Brown & Grant hardware, (t. G. ^Vood hardware, E. S. 
Palmes & Co. clothing, L. B. Proctor law office, Livingston lodge 
L O. (). F., Phoenix Masonic lodge. First Presbyterian church, M. 
Taft grocery. Barns belonging to J. Barnhart some distance north. 
On Ossian street, Samuel Wilson saddler, John F. Howarth building, 
James Faulkner building in which John McCurdy stored oats and 
barley. There was only one casualty that to a Mr. Kennedy who fell 
from a third story window of the American hotel and injured his 
back. There were several e.xciting escapes. Elihu Stanley remem- 
bers assisting John A. Vanderlip and family from rooms in the hotel 
and Martin Curtis from rooms on opposite side of the street. James 
Lindsay says he assisted in getting furniture out of the American 
hotel until he found out too late that his shop down Main street was 
burning. The entire loss was estimated at $100,000 on which there 
was an insurance of $50,000, $20,000 of which in mutual companies 
was not good. 




HOSE CART OF THE DAY 



It was April 5, 1859, at 5 in the evening, that a fire broke out in 
the National hotel, about where Mehlenbacher's bakery is, which 
destroyed many dwellings and business buildings before it was 
extinguished. A strong wind blowing southeast carried the fiames 
across to the east side of Main street and to Elizabeth and Chestnut 
streets, and were so fierce that the weak fire de])artment with poor 
apparatus made poor headway against them. The combined losses 
amounted to about $30,000, and the principal losers were F. Altmeyer 
& Co., Z. B. Grover, proprietors of National hotel and Cook's block, 
J. T. Beach, Lewis Klein, A. Dippy, Z. Dildine, Hugh McCurdy, 
James McCurdy, L. M. Stedman, George P. Reynale, J. W. Smith, E. 
Niles, A. J. Abbott, Horace Fenstermacher, John Betts, A. Lassell, 
L. N. Cook, Joseph Fenstermacher and Mr. Stillwell. There were 
also considerable losses by occupants of stores. Several persons saved 
themselves by jumping from the second story of the National hotel. 
Insurances small. 




/ ' 



^. 7'/) ' ^r-^;'" 



SOME EXCITING A ND IN TERES TING E VENTS 'J5 

Another fire in the afternoon of Nov. 8, 1859, caused losses of about 
$25,000, much of which would have been saved with good fire ap- 
paratus and sufficient water. It started in an old brick building near 
the Bank of Dansville, and was checked after burning some wooden 
buildings. Other wooden buildings were burned on the alley back. 
On the south around E.xchange street corner there was a mass of 
ruins. The principal losers were Adam Ehle, William JMaratt, F. J. 
Nelson, Hall & Ingersoll, R. Nichoson, James Krein, C. Dick & 
Bro. , Mr. vSteinhardt, Empire saloon, S. Jones, H. Henry, Z. B. 
Grover, I. L. Endress, Dr. Reynale, Miss Drake and M. R. Marcell. 
The heaviest losers were Mr. Endress and Mr. Grover, who lost about 
$(),Ofl() each. Insurances again small. 

There was another considerable fire March 1, 1877, on E.xchange 
street which burned Perry Blank's livery stable with 130 feet of 
sheds, Noble, Stout & Bradley's carriage manufactory and blacksmith 
shop, a part of Bradley & Pfuntner's marble works building, and part 
of Mrs. Margaret Toles's dwelling house. In preventing the spread of 
the flames the new water works and fire department were found most 
serviceable. The comment of the Advertiser on the water works, 
which it had fought for, four years before, was: "These works, cost- 
ing less than $25,000, unquestionably saved to the village fully $200,- 
OOO on Friday night. That is, in one night they paid for themselves 
eight times over." The losses amounted to nearly $15,000, and the 
insurance covered less than $2,000 of them. It was said at the time 
of the first fire of 1854 that a good engine and plenty of water would 
have prevented that great fire from spreading beyond the bakery at 
farthest and thus have saved $100,000. 

The third and last great Dansville fire was the burning of the main 
building of "Our Home on the Hillside" on the night of June 26, 
1882. It was caused by the overturning of a lamp in a patient's 
room, and spread so rapidly through the large wooden structure that 
all hope of saving it was quickly abandoned. The efficient fire de- 
partment and crowds of people hastened from the village to the hill- 
side. The first thought of the proprietors and managers of the 
"Home" was to save the 150 patients, and with splendid generalship, 
and the e.xertions of a small army of ready helpers, this was done. 
Not a life was lost nor a patient injured. Liberty hall and adjacent 
cottages were saved from the flames by the herculean efforts of the 
firemen, who managed with great difficulty to pull down the corridor 
between the beautiful hall and the burning building. Never was a 
large fire better managed or more vigorously fought. The losses 
amounted to $40,000, and were nearly covered by insurance. The 
fire was a blessing in disguise. On the same site the present palatial 
fire-proof building, with conveniences and comforts multiplied and 
the latest structural improvements incorporated, quickly went up, and 
the fame of its benefits and enjoyments has gone forth to the ends of 
the earth. 




CHAPTER X 
Certain Institutions 

The Jackson Sanatorium — C'.jterie — The Library — First Red Cross Society — 
Canaseraga Light Infantry — The Normal Instructor — The Dansville 
Cemetery Association. 

N other parts of this history will be found a detailed ac- 

I count of the inception and growth of the Jackson Sana- 
torium to its present commanding position among the 
health institutions of the world, and also a brief biographi- 
cal sketch of its founder, Dr. James C. Jackson, who 
labored with such intelligent skill in the application of his 
then novel therapeutics that its success was almost im- 
mediately assured and it became cjuickly famous. It has 
been an evolution from that time until now, its progressive 
methods having kept pace with the wonderftil march of 
events. Two statements should be added. For thirty-six 
years a health magazine entitled "Laws of Life" was 
edited and sent out by the managers of the institution, through which 
they made known their philosophy of life, health and disease to many 
thousands of stibscribers in all the states and other countries. Another 
distinction, shared by Dansville, was the invention by the founder of 
the twice-cooked food, Granula — the first, and many think the best 
of the health foods with which the county is now flooded. 

Coterie, the widely known literary society of Dansville, was 
planned by A. O. Bunnell and George C. Bragdon, and the first meet- 
ing was held Oct. 25, 1873, over twenty-eight and one-half years ago. 
The presidents and secretaries have always been elected annually for 
one year, and the meetings have been held weekly between early Sep- 
tember or October and June or July. The number of members has 
been limited to twenty or twenty-five, never more. At the first meet- 
ing A. O. Bunnell presided, a constitution was adopted, and the first 
officers were elected — George C. Bragdon for president and Mary F. 
Bunnell for secretary. Invitations were sent out to a few selected per- 
sons to be present at the next meeting, when the organization was 
perfected. The first year no one could be admitted except by a unani- 
mous vote, but afterward it required three negatives to reject a pro- 
posed member. A high standard of membership has always been 
maintained, the members with scarcely an exception during the twen- 
ty-eight years have been capable of good intellectual work and diligent 
to perform the tasks assigned them. Among them have been persons 
of national and state reputation, and others who were younger have 
since acquired distinction. For many years the president prefjared 
the programs, and at each meeting made announcements for the next, 
but in recent years a committee appointed by the president has pre- 
pared in detail and printed on leaflets in advance the program for the 
whole Coterie season. The scope of Coterie's work has been wide and 

97 



98 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

varied. Man)- departments of literature and knowledge have been in- 
vestigated through authors and critics — poetry, history, biography, 
fiction, science, philosophy, religion, the drama, etc. Shakespeare 
has justh^ received more attention than any other author. In 1899 
and 1900 the great religions of the world were taken up. The histor- 
ical field surveyed has been large, extending to various nations and 
provinces. The poets have been read and analyzed. Evolution has 
not been neglected. Considerable attention has been given to archae- 
ology, early languages, race problems and kindred subjects. Practi- 
cal questions relating to government, society and everyday life have 
had their turn, and sometimes much of the evening has been devoted 
to answering questions propounded at a previous meeting. There 
have been occasional recitations and dramatic presentations. Many 
original essays and some original poems have been read, stories have 
been told, appointed critics have critcised, music and games have en- 
livened feeling after graver work, wits have been sharpened by joke 
and repartee — all in orderly and creditable ways. One year a long 
novel was written, each chapter by a different member, and is care- 
fully preserved in manuscript in the archives of the society. The 5th, 
10th, 15th, 20th, and 25th anniversaries were celebrated by special 
exercises, banquets and unconstrained sociability, and were land- 
marks in Coterie history. Communications from ex-members who 
had gone to other parts of the country were an interesting feature 
occasionally. The original esprit dc corps was excellent and has been 
kept burning during the entire period of twenty-eight and one-half 
years. There has been very little friction, and what there was related 
to matters of minor importance. It would be difficult to find one of 
the hundreds of different members who does not look back on Coterie as 
a source of exceptional benefit and satisfaction. It was started before 
the Chautauqua circles, and has been superior to them in both the range 
and tjuality of its investigations. The Chautauqua circle is mostly 
confined to a round of elementary studies or outlines with reference 
to obtaining a diploma, and the stimulus is often more in the desire 
for the diploma than the subjects studied. Coterie has ignored diplo- 
mas, and reached out towards the ends of the earth and the sun, moon 
and stars to find what it could about the universe and the things 
thereof, material and immaterial. In Coterie enthusiasm has been 
continuous, partly because of the quality of the membership and part- 
ly because of inspiring methods and variety of studies. In the Chau- 
tauqua circles, which have been rapidl\- waning, there has been more 
of the perfunctoriness and plodding dullness which naturally accom- 
panies lesson-learning ajong dry outlines and much-beaten paths. 

The village library, the value of which has been noticed in another 
chapter, is the outgrowth of a movement started at a meeting of a 
few public spirited citizens Dec. 7, 1872, when it was resolved to form 
the Library Association of Dansville, and Frank Fielder was selected 
for president, Mrs. Katherine J. Jackson for first vice president, A. 
O. Bunnell for treasurer and Mary E. Noyes for secretary. A. O. 
Bunnell was appointed chairman of a committee on constitution and 
by-laws. It was afterward decided to incorporate the association and 
issue stock, and this was done Jan. 13, 1873, when D. W. Noyes be- 
came president, F. Fielder vice president, Seth N. Hedges secretary 



CER TA LV INS T/TimONS 



')') 



and James Krein treasurer. By diligent efforts the association was 
able to open the library July 18, 1874, with an accumulation of 1,2(M) 
purchased and 100 donated books. The opening was in the Maxwell 
block, and the event was celebrated by speeches, recitations and 
music. Frank Fielder stated that the sales of stock then amounted 
to 1|630, and §538 had been raised l)y entertainments. The first libra- 
rian was the accomplished Miss A. P. Adams, and there was an im- 
mediate and large demand for books. The library was annually in- 
creased by means of entertainments, stock sales and donations until 
189.>, when, in December, the property was transferred to the regents, 
and thus came under the supervision of the state, with the following 
trustees: Miss A. P. Adams, Mrs. W. B. Preston, Mrs. T. E. Gal- 
lagher, B. H. Oberdorf and Willis G. Carmer. Following are lists of 
the successive presidents, vice presidents and librarians: 

Presidents — Frank Fielder, Isaac H. Dix, A. O. Bunnell, George 

A. Sweet, James H. Jackson, Miss Ann P. Adams, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Sweet. 

Secretaries — Seth N. Hedges, Isaac H. Dix, A. P. Burkhart, F. 
Fielder, Mrs. Margaret H. Faulkner, Mrs. Theodosia D. Bailey, Dr. 

B. P. Andrews. 

Librarians — Miss A. P. Adams, Miss Mary F. Bunnell, Mrs. M. L. 
Brayton, Miss A. C. Bissell, Miss Elizabeth Hedges, Miss Susan M. 
Parker. 

The first local branch of the 
American National Society of 
the Red Cross was organized in 
Dansville in 1881, through the 
agency of Clara Barton, who was 
instrumental in its recognition 
by Congress and final incorpora- 
tion as a national institution. 
Miss Barton had at that time 
been a resident of Dansville 
several years, and apart from the 
fame of her philanthropic services 
in and at the close of the civil 
war, and the honors of royal 
recognition which she brought 
home with her from the Franco- 
Prussian war, she had convic- 
tions, knowledge and enthusiasm 
which were contagious. She was 
a valued member of Coterie, and 
CLARA BARTON, PRESIDENT RED CROSS socE^TY ^^^ influential Cotcricans secon- 
ded her desire for a local Red Cross society. Its organization 
was soon f(5llowed by that of a like society in Rochester, and others 
came later. The local societies have sent to the national society much 
money for splendid alleviating and life-saving work, which Miss Barton 
as the head, and her corps of lieutenants, have accomplished in times 
of disaster, and especially during the Spanish war. The international 
Red Cross was started at an international convention in Geneva, Switz- 
erland, in 1863, resulting in a treaty signed by twenty-five govern- 




100 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

ments. Our government was slow to recognize the value of the inter- 
national Red Cross, "which," said Miss Barton, "must by its very 
foundation stand in the foremost ranks of the great civilizers of 
mankind." It provides for the neutrality in war of every person and 
thing needed for the aid comfort and safe conduct of sick or wounded 
men, and the sign of the Red Cross is the passport. Under the wise 
suggestion of Miss Barton the scope of Red Cross work in this country 
has been extended to sufferers by great calamities, fires, floods, 
plagues, etc., in which it has been notably efficient. 

The militia company, Canaseraga Light Infantry, familiarly 
known as the Canaseragas, was organized in 1847 and disbanded four- 
teen years afterward, at the beginning of the civil war. It became 
one of the most famous companies of the state on account of the char- 
acter and standing of its members and the superiority of its drill. 
Col. Timothv B. Grant, whi) had been one of the Union Grays in Roch- 
ester, was its captain during the entire fourteen years of its e.\istence, 
except a very brief interval, and a more capable and thorough drill 
master than he was not to be found. He brought the Canaseragas to 
a skill and exactitude of maneuvre and movement that surprised look- 
ers-on, and infused them with a military spirit and community of 
feeling which held them together and made them cheerfully obedient. 
They were in demand at celebrations near and remote, and wherever 
they went excited admiration and cheers. They took the lead in 
social gatherings, and gave an annual ball Jan. 8, the anniversary 
of the Battle of New Orleans, which was the most important social 
event of each year. Not until war became inevitable was the com- 
pany broken up, and this was because the most of them enlisted, to 
help save the country. It furnished the Union army with a large 
number of brave officers, who distinguished themselves in drill and 
march and battle. 

The Normal Instructor Publishing Company of Dansville occupies 
two large brick buildings with floor space of 22,825 square feet in use. 
It represents an investment of $40,0(10, employs ninety people exclusive 
of 2,000 agents, and its pay roll exceeds $15,000 a year. Nine power 
presses do the printing for its publications. The Normal Instructor 
was started in 1891 in an attic in South Dansville a hamlet oi 200 
population, and up to April, 18M2, was printed in Dansville, seven 
miles distant, and the editions carted to vSouth Dansville, where they 
were mailed. Then the entire business was changed to Dansville. 
By November, 1892, 20,000 subscriptions had been received, and the 
rapid growth of the business required first a part and then the whole 
of the upper floor of the Fowler & Burgess building; next, in 1896, a 
three-story brick building 45 by 60 feet, erected by the proprietors; 
and now a second brick building of three stories 39 by 40 feet con- 
necting with the other. The business was incorported in 1899 with 
capital stock of $60,000. Last year the average circulation of the 
Normal Instructor was about 109,000 a month. Recently the Teach- 
ers' World, with good will and list of subscribers, has been added by 
purchase, and the magazine is called The Normal Instructor and 
Teachers' World, the circulation of which is 120,000. The World's 
Events is another magazine started by the company eighteen months 
ago, and the circulation has already reached 75,000. In addition to 



CER TA IN IXS Tl 71 ' 77 ONS 



101 



these periodicals an extensive book department in the new building- 
has been established to supply school libraries with books at low 
prices. The remarkable growth of the business from its insignificant 
beginning in 1891 is unequaled in the history of educational period- 
icals. Frederick A. Owen was the originator and is the controlling- 
spirit. 

The Dansville Cemetery Association was organized in 1847, and 
the first trustees were Lester Bradner, Chester Bradley, Harmon 
Jones, Isaac L. Endress, Lauren C. Woodruff and George G. Wnod. 
Twenty-six acres of land were purchased by the side of Little Mill 
creek at the end of the valley, a mile from the center of the village, 
and a constitution, by-laws and regulations were adopted. The name 
selected wasGreeiii-|-ii>iii-it Cemetery, and in its present state of improve- 







CREE.NMOUNT CEMETEKY CHAPEL 



ment there is no more attractive village burial place. The soil is a 
sandy loam, the surface rolling and studded with many pine and oak 
trees, and on the east is a clear rippling stream. There are several 
beautiful monuments, a vault and a chapel, and a suitable house and 
barn for the sexton. The cemetery is more than self-sustaining, and 
the drives, walks and lots are well cared for. At the last annual 
meeting in September the treasurer reported that there were $1,040 in 
the common fund and $2,350 in the trust fund. The present officers 
are: George A. Sweet, president: A. O. Bunnell, vice president ; 
Solon S. Dyer, secretary and treasurer. The first superintendent was 
Shepard Jones, the second Alexander Edwards, third and present one 
Gordon S. Wilson. The sexton is Philip H. Kinney. 




CHAPTER XI 
Some Names a.iid Events 

lage Postmasters — Presidents — Clerks — Supervisors — Churches Organized 
— Early Merchants — Old Residents in 1875 — Reunion Veteran Canasera- 
gas — Old-Fashioned Base Ball Game — -Handsome Men of 1877 — A Few 
••FirsLS." 

COMPLETE list of postmasters of Dansville: Jared Irwin, 
Jan. 1, 1807; William B. Rochester, Apr. 1, 1813; James 
"Faulkner, Jan. 1,1815 to 1841; Samuel Shannon, March 
2<», 1841; Merritt H. Brown. Aug. 22, 1845; Charles E. 
Lamport, May 9,1849; Charles Shepard, Nov. 18, 185U; 
Merritt H. Brown, May 4, 1853; John A. Vanderlip, Julv 
(), 1858; Olney B. Maxwell, Julv 16, 1861; George Hvland, 
July 12,1865; Edward H. Pratt, Oct. 5, 1866; Seth N. 
Hedges, Oct. 5, 1869; John Hyland, Dec. 10, 1873; Albert 
Sweet, Mav 28, 1886; Charles H. Rowe, May 7, 1890; 
Limes E. Crisfield, Aug. 29, 1894; Frank J. McNeil, vSept. 
17, 1898. 
Presidents of the village of Dansville: Chester Bradley, 1846; Sid- 
ney Sweet, 1847; Harman Jones, 1848; John Haas, 1849; Ebenezer 
B. Brace; M. H. Brown, 1851 and 1852; George Hyland, 1853; Har- 
man Jones, 1854; Abram Lozier, 1855 and 1856; John Hass, 1857 
Matthew McCartney, 1858; Charles R. Kern, 1859 and 1860; J. F 
Howarth, 1861; Frank Eshrich, 1862 and 1803; D. Cogswell, 1864 
Hugh McCartney, 1865; Charles R. Kern, 1866 and 1867; John N 
Lemen, 1868 and 1869; J. B. Morey, 1870; Hugh McCartney, 1871 
W. J. LaRue, 1872; Joseph C. Whitehead, 1873 to 1875; George A 
Sweet, 1876 and 1877; John Wilkinson, 1878; James Krein, L879 
James Faulkner, Jr., 1880 and 1881; E. H. Pratt, 1882; Frederick 
W. Noves, 1883; James E. Crisfield, 1884; William E. Leffingwell 
1885; E. H. Readshaw, 1886; F. M. Ferine, 1887; E. H. Readshaw 
1888; Matthew McCartney, 1889; George A. Sweet, 1890; James E 
Crisfield, 1891 and 1892; j. B. Morey, Jr., 1893; Charles A. Snyder 
1894; James H. Jackson, 1895; ChailesA. Snvder, 1896 to 1899; J 
B. Morey, Jr., 1899; Oscar Woodruff, 1900, 1901, 1902. 

Clerks of the village of Dansville: Barna J. Chapin, 1846 and 1847 
George H. Bidwell, 1848; Charles E. Lamport, 1849 and 1850; Osman 
T. Crane, 1851 to 1855; Timothy B. Grant, 1859; Andrew J. Leach, 
1860 to 1863; Charles B. Mitchell, 1863 to 1867: Oliver W. West, 
1867; Jesse B. Prussia, 1871 and 1872; William Kramer, 1873; Jesse 
B. Prussia, 1874 and 1875; LeGrand Snyder, 1876 and 1877; Patrick 
O'Hara. 1878; LeGrand Snyder, 1879 to 1882; James M. Edwards, 1882 
to 1884; Frederick T. Brettle, 1884 to 1886; Daniel Blum, 1886; Freder- 
ick T. Brettle, 1887; E. R. Woodruff, 1888 to 1896; B. G. Readshaw, 
1896; E. R. Woodruff, 1897 and 1898; Charles A. Brown, 1899; James 
A. Young, l<Mlii. I'Kil and 1902. 

102 



SOME NA J/ES A A'D E I 'EXES 103 

vSupervisors from North Dansville, formed from Sparta in 1846; 
Sidney Sweet, 1846 to 1850; John Goundry, 1850; Henry Hartman, 
1851 ;'e. B. Brace, 1852; Alonzo Bradner, 1853 and 1854; Matthew 
Porter, Jr., 1855 to 1859; Joseph W. Smith, 1859 to 1862; Samuel D. 
Faulkner, 1862 to 1865; Joseph W. Smith, 1865 to 1867; John A. 
VanDerlip, 1867 to 1871; James Faulkner, Jr., 1871 to 1876; George 
A. Sweet, 1876 to 1879; Lester B. Faulkner, 1879 and 1880; Albert 
Sweet, 1881 and 1882; James Faulkner, Jr., 1883 and 1884; William 
Kramer, 1885; James E. Crisfield, 1886 to 1890; O.scar Woodruff, 
1890 to 1896; J. J. Bailey, 1896 and 1897; B. G. Foss, 1898 to 1902. 

First Presbyterian society was formed in Dansville 1812, first rec- 
ords 1825, division 1840, reunion in 1861 ; Baptist church organized 
1850; Methodist church regularly organized, after occasional preach- 
ing services for several years, 1823; St. Peter's Episcopal, 1831; Ger- 
man Evangelical Lutheran, 1826; English Lutheran, 1826; St. Mary's 
Catholic, 1836; St. Patrick's Catholic, 1851. 

Some of the early merchants of Dansville with dates of commencing 
business: Daniel P. Faulkner, 1796; Jared Irwin, 1798; John Metcalf, 
1812 or earlier; Joshua Shepard, 1813; Samuel W. Smith, 1819; .Sam- 
uel Shannon, druggist, 1820; Merritt H. Brown, hardware, 1827; 
George Hyland, hatter, 1830; James and Daniel McCartney, 1836 — 
all general stores; Dr. L. N. Cook and Edward Niles, drugs and 
medicines, 1832. 

The residents of Dansville 80 years old and over living in 1875 
were: vSarah Stevens, 80; Obed Aldrich, 81; Peter Schubmehl, 85; 
Nathaniel W. Niles, S3; Martin Curtis, 80; Robert McBride, 89; 
Joan McBride, 85; John Tierney, 80; Susanna Gilder, 8) ; William 
Ferine, 83; Elizabeth Hamsher, 81; Frederic Fogle, 81 ; Joseph Kidd, 
85; Anna Hoggins, 83; James Faulkner, 85; A. R. Shepard, 86; 
Nelly Gilroy, 80; Daniel Dean, 93. 

The following former members of the Veteran Canaseragas on the 
evening of Jan. 8, 1876, had a reunion, drill, parade and supper with 
music, speeches by B. T. Squires, L. B. Proctor and D. W. Nuyes, 
and a poem by A. O. Bunnell: Capt. T. B. Grant, George Hyland, 
Jr., E. B. Gilman, B. T. Squires, A. L. Parker, J. B. Morey, James 
Faulkner, Jr., C. K. Saunders, L. B. Proctor, A. T. Wood, Carl Stephan, 
A. O. Bunnell, D. W. Noyes, G. Bastian, E. S. Palmes, W. H. Welch, 
M. J. Puffer, W. H. Drehmer, Mark J. Bunnell, H. F. Dyer, G. H. 
Rice, A. J. Hartman, Wm. Monroe, J. Shafer, J. J. Welch, Geo. M. 
Morrison, W. Zimmer, L. Perham, William Amos, H. W. Jones, Ed. 
Hartman, T. L. Ferine, William Drehmer, W. L. Miller. Also these 
members of the old band: Alexander Scott, M. T. Stout, Ed. Goodno, 
John Hood, L. Brown and J. M. Newton, reinforced by A. W. Fielder, 
Henry Preston, George Wheaton and John Palmer of Dansville, and 
Peter Sheridan of Rochester. 

The following venerable men played a game of old-fashioned base 
ball on the square, September 8, 1874: 

McCartney's side — Hugh McCartney, 61; Samuel Sturgeon, 65; E. 
Ogden, 66; James Kiehle, 63; Alex. Kinney, 64; E. S. Palmes, 63; 
Uriah Alverson, 65; John Littles, 68; B. W. Woodruff, 68; J. C. 
Vanduzee, 68; Lucius Bradley, 65; Simeon Pease, 61. 

Squires's Side — ^John Squires, 64; Peter Ferine, 75; D. Bunnell, 68; 



^ U I 



.«fea^ ^— 



l'^': 



^ 




— 


u 






; : 






QJ 




D 






-a 
o 
o 








•— 


r/j 


n 


T1 


m 


> 


a> 


•a 
c 


r3 

■— 

CQ 






^ 

<- 


> 


> 


:3 


c 



^M 



«i»'* 



fT- 


•— 




^ 


>. 


11 


s 


X 


aj 


'1^ 






















7; 


X 


t! 








r; 






X 


■f. 


lil 




^ 


tii 



", 




p: 


.„ 




-a 




x^ 


u 


r- 


X 




^ 


C3 

X 


sic 












^ 


6C 




T3 



gsi..:-^.. 



a 






en 4) 


OJ 3. 


?^ 




OJ :^ 


C 








'X "^ E 


p:; :t 


> 








c S K 


!; 3: 











~ CU 


^^ 


ciJ 


k^.ph a 


ft, 



SOME A' AMES AND EJ'EXTS 



105 



James Brewer, 70; Peter Wilklow, 63; Peter VanNuys, 66; Joseph 
Sanborn, 65; George Hess, 68; Wni. Ingraham, 68; David Shafer, 
62; John Ogden, 62. 

The score limit was 30, and Squire's side won by a score of 30 to 6, 
according to the notches mari<ed on a stick. The only survivor of 
the players is Hugh McCartney. 

The 27 Dansville men called handsome who were photographed to- 
gether by Betts Sep. 5, 1877, were: H. K. VanNuys, Isaac N. Van- 
Nuys, A. B. VanNuys, Henry J. Faulkner, H. W. DeLong, Frank 
Goheen, J. McC. Edwards, B. T. Squires, Solon Dyer, H. S. McCart- 
ney, George"Hyland, Jr., George C. Bragdon, John T. McCurdy, 




THE HANDSOME MEN OF 1877 

Charles H. Ruwe, Wm. A. Spinning, Charles J. Bissell, E. F. Ham- 
sher, Thomas E. Gallagher, B. H. Oberdorf, Albert Sweet, Oscar 
Woodruff, J. M. McNair, A. J. Shafer, Seth N. Hedges, F. W. Noyes, 
F. T. Brettle, James P. Williams. 



"A FEW FIRSTS. 

First settlers, Cornelius McCoy and wife, with stepchildren Mary, 
David and James McCurdy. 

First marriage, William McCartney to Mary McCurdy. 

First school teacher, Thomas Macklem. 

First resident minister, Rev. Mr. Pratt. 

First merchant, Daniel P. Faulkner. 

First millright, Philip Sholl. 

First physician, Dr. James Faulkner. 

First shoemaker, Gower Wilkinson. 

First blacksmith, James Porter. 

First resident surveyor, Alexander Rea. 

First tavern keeper, John \'andeventer. 

First justice of the peace. Dr. James Faulkner. 



106 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

First postmaster, Jared Irwin. 

First town clerk, Lazarus Hammond. 

First constable, Henry Cruger. 

First tailor, Joseph C. Sedgwick. 

First lawyers, James Smith and John Proudfit. 

First death, Nathaniel Porter. 

First mail stage line from Rochester to Dansville and Dansville to 
Bath and Olean, started in 1825. 

First log house, erected by Cornelius McCoy. 

First frame dwelling, erected by Samuel Faulkner. 

First brick dwelling, erected by Jonathan Rowley. 

First grist mill, erected by Capt. Charles Williamson. 

First military company, organized by Daniel P. Faulkner. 

First bank. Bank of Dansville. 

First town meeting held in 184h. 

First corporation meeting held in 1840. 

First telegraph line, completed from Rochester to Dansville in 1851. 

First paper mill in Western New York built in Dansville, by Col. 
Nathaniel Rochester. 

First debating society, organized 1811, and called the Dansville 
Polemic Society. 

First supervisor of town, Amariah Hammond. 

First newspaper, the Village Chronicle, started in April, 1830, by 
D. Mitchell. 

First corder and cloth dresser, Samuel Culbertson. 

First train over the Dansville and Mt. Morris railrf)ad, December 
12, 1871. 

First drug store, started in 1832 by Samuel Shannon. 

First cabinet maker, James McCurdy. 

First public religious services, held by Rev. Andrew Gray in 1798. 

First church (Presbyterian), formed in 1800. 

First saw mill was erected by David Sholl in 17')5, and the first 
grist mill in 1796, both for the Pulteney estate. 

First tanner, Israel Vandeventer. 




CHAPTER XII 
Ancient Documents 

A Presbyterian Petition 1809 — Navigation of Canaseraga River 1811 — Cliurcli 
Subscription 1811 — Dansville Polemic Society 1811 — District Tax Roll 
1830 — Dansville Academy Examinations 1837 — Moses VanCampen Cir- 
cular 1844 — School Exercises 1853 — School Program 1859. 

Jl Presbpterlan Petition. 

(C.intriliuted by U. R. JlcXair. ) 

E, the Subscribers, Elders and Trustees of the United Pres- 

Wbyterian Congregation lying in Ontario and Steuben Coun- 
ties and State of New York being authorized by our People, 
to do in their name, through you, sir, humbly petition the 
Reverend body over whom you preside to consider our 
situation and grant us relief. 

Having for years not been blessed with the light of a 
preached gospel; yet in the course of Providence this being 
removed we are left in a destitute condition — nor does this 
SI I much discourage us, but we are surrounded by sectarians 
who not withstanding their high pretences we esteem ene- 
mies Id truth, unceasing innoators laboring incessantly and ac- 
counting it their glory to break up regular congregations, of these we 
are afraid, lest by them our society which is now in a flourishing sit- 
uation should be rent to pieces, to prevent this and the many evils 
which arise to the souls of men by their being led astray in the paths 
of error, we beseech you sir to represent our situation to the general 
assembly when convened, and through you sir we intreat that rever- 
end body to grant us relief by ordering their missionaries, their can- 
didates and others under their direction to call upon us and to preach 
for us, that as soon as possible we may have an opportunity of estab- 
lishing the ordinances of the Gospel amongst us, that God of his In- 
finite mercy may incline your hearts to answer our request and that 
he may send us a spiritual laborer who may be a blessed means in his 
hand to bring many of us to the Lord Jesus Christ is the earnest 
prayer of your humble petitioners. Given under our hands in session 
convened this 20th day of May, in the year of f)ur Lord, 1809. Wil- 
liam McCartney, Samuel Boxer, elders; David McNair, James Stur- 
geon, Timothy Kenady, David Crooks, Jared Irwin, John McNair, 
sen'r. , trustees. 

Early Church Subscription in Dansville. 

(Contributed by Mrs. Ellen JlcCartney Peltier.) 

Whereas it pleaseth God to make the preached Gospel the CJrand 
mean of Salvation to fallen sinners. Impressed with a setise of this 
and in order to support the same amonght us in the United Presby- 



107 





Dols. in 


Cts. 


Wheat 


5(1 


3 


50 


3 


50 


O 




O 




1 




1 




1 




1 



108 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

terian Congregation lying in Steuben and (Jntario Counties and State 
of New York, we, the subscribers, do bind ourselves to pay or cause 
to be paid to the board of trustees or corporation of the aforesaid con- 
gregation or their successors in office, either in cash or merchantable 
wheat the sums opposite to our respective names for the support of 
the Rev'd. Ezekiel Glasgow, ^Minister of the Gospel this we agree 
and obligate ourselves to pay yearly for one-half of his time from he 
commences his services as witness our hands this 21st day of October. 
In the Year of our Lord, 1811. 

Dnls, 

Win. McCartney 1 

David McNair 1 

James Stiirgenn 1 

Wm. B. Rocliester 

Wm. Scott 

Geo. H. Irvine 

W. P. Reynolds 

Phineas Squires 

Joseph Blount 2 

Stephen Haij^ht 1 

Saml. Ciilberlson 1 SO 2 

James D. McCurdy 2 

R. W. Porter 2 

Jai'ed Irwin 3 

William Peiine 3 

-^ 

Navigation of Canaseraga. 

At the annual meeting of the Livingston County Historical Society 
of 1900, A. O. Bunnell presented to the society in behalf of Clarence 
I. McNair of Cloquet, Minn., a paper endorsed "Subscription for 
Opening Canaseraga, " which came to the owner through his father, 
the late D. D. McNair, and explains itself. It is reproduced as 
written: 

We, the Subscribers Inhabitants of the Counties of Ontario, Steuben, 
Genesee and Allegany from a deep conviction of the importance to 
these Counties of having the navigation of the Canaseraga river 
opened and improved, to the end that an outlet for the produce of the 
country may be thereby made, do severally promise and engage to 
pay to Nathaniel Rochester, David McNair, and Joseph Richardson a 
committee appointed for that purpose, the sums, or to deliver to them 
the wheat, beef, or pork, or to furnish the labor by us respectively 
subscribed; the saicl monies, wheat, beef, or pork, or labor to be laid 
out applied and disposed of under the direction and superintendence 
of the said committee in opening and improving the said navigation. 

vSeptember 1811. 

William McNair six bushels of marchalle wheat. 

James Wallace three bushels of marchenable wheat. 

Henry Long three days work. 



AXCIEXT DOCr.lfENTS lu'* 

John Metcalfe ten dollars in goods out of my store. 
John Hartman ten gallons of whiskey. 

M. A. Trou]) in cash $15(.) for the Pultney estate and for Troupton 
$50. 

N. Rochester, $30. 

Carroll & Kitzhugh by N. Rochester their attorney produce $50. 

Jared Irwin fifteen dollars payable in goods out of his store. 

Mathew and D. Porter ten bushels of wheat. 

James D. McCurdy five dollars in labour. 

William and John Rochester $10 in whiskey or store goods. 

<^ 

Dansville Polemic Society. 

The first debating society of Dansville, as recorded in the secretary's 
book, now the property of Hon. J. B. Morey, was called the "Dansville 
Polemic Society," and was started Dec. 14, 1811. The preliminary 
meeting was held at the inn of Jonathan Stout. Amariah Hammond 
was chairman, and William B. Rochester, William Anient and 
Jonathan H. Scott were appointed a committee to draft "a consti- 
tution or system of laws. " Their report was adopted the next week, 
with some modifications. The preamble stated that the subscribers 
were "actuated by a laudable desire to promote social harmony and 
intellectual improvement," and to this end agreed to "discuss at 
stated times subjects either moral, philosophical, historical or politi- 
cal." The president was to choose from the questions presented the 
one for debate at the ne.xt meeting, and class the members on both 
sides as equally as he could, but no religious subject was to be intro- 
duced, and no spirituous liquors were to be admitted into the society. 
The first officers were Amariah Hammond, president; John JVIetcalf, 
vice-president: Jonathan H. Scott, secretary; Matthew Patterson, 
treasurer. The other members were William B. Rochester, Thomas 
McWhorter, John C. Rochester, J. A. Blount, Joseph Mctcalf, Chris- 
topher Doty, George M. Irvine, William Ament, Joseph Thompson, 
James W. Stout, William W. McNair, Peter Laflesh, Andrew Cook, 
Frederick Barnhart, Stephen Haight, Jonathan Rowley, Philip Scholl, 
Jedediala Hubbill, vSamuel Culbertson, Gideon Cook, Richard Swan, 
Joseph Thomson. The meetings were held in the school house, then 
located adjacent to the present Livingston hotel. Some of the ques- 
tions discussed were the.se; 

Is African slavery an evil to community? 

Are theatrical exhibitions productive of more good than evil ? 

Does nature produce a greater artist than practice ? 

Is a married life preferable to a single life ? 

Would not the cultivation of cattle and sheep in the western district 
of the state of New York, for exportation, be more profitable t(.) its 
inhabitants than the raising of grain? 

Another question debated was so delicate that it is omitted, and 
indicates that ladies were not admitted to the meetings. The names 
of the members given are nearly all of men who were prominent among 
the early settlers, and the records of their society are suggestive of 
thought and characteristics of the early years of the 19th century. 



110 



DAXSIVLLE OF THE PAST 



District Tax Roll I830 

Livingston County, ss. : 

To the collector of School District number 18 — in the town of Sparta 
in the county aforesaid greeting: In the name of the people of the 
state of York, you are hereby commanded and required to col- 
lect from each of the Inhabitants of said District in the annexed Tax 
list named the sum of money set opposit his name in said list. And 
within thirty Days after receiving the warrant to pay the amount 
thereof collected (you retaining your fees for collection) into the 
hand of the Trustees of said District or some or one of them and take 
his or their Receipts therefor. And if any of the said Inhabitants shall 
refuse or neglect to pay said sum after lawful dun — and therefore 
you are hereby further commanded to levy the same by distress and 
sale of the goods and chattels of said Delinquent together with the 
costs and charges of such Distress and sale according to Law. Given 
under our hand and seals this 3()th day of October, 1830. 

RussEL Day, 
Benjamin Picket, 
Lester Kingsbury, 

Trustees. 



John HartniLin , . . . 
Amr. Hammontl . . 
Jacob Harlman , . . 
Henry Harrison . . . 
Danl. Cruger . . . . 
Jonth. Slough. . . . 
Mary Culbertson.. 
Benj. Picket. . . . 
James Smith .... 

John Haas 

H. G. Taggart. . . 
Susan A. Jlenl. . . 
S. L. Endress. . . . 
Aron Brown .... 
Jonth. Barnhart . . 
Elish. Shepard . . . 
Wm. H. Reynale. 
John M. Briant . . . 

O. G. Parkill 

A. Bradner 

M. Brown & Son . 
Wast. Taggart . . 
John Kershner . . . 
L. Kingsbury . . . . 



aluatioii 


Tax 




Vuliialioii 


Ta.x 


82,784 


S4.18 


Phillip Kershner .... 


.500 


.75 


6, 3.=;o 


9, 52 


Arnold B. Brown 


75 


.11 


2,100 


3.15 


W. F. Clark 


2, 000 


3, 00 


.SO 


.08 

.75 




500 
1,636 




500 


S. W. Smith 


2,45 


175 


.26 


J. Hall &Co 


1,1.50 


1.72 


75 


.11 
.23 
.26 


L. Melvin 


1,150 

1,100 

1,50 


1.72 


150 


E. B. Brace 


1.65 


175 


F. J. Toles 


,23 


225 


.34 


Conrad Welch 


800 


1.20 


325 


.49 


lacob Welch 


160 


.24 


150 


22 


E. Holbrook 


150 


.23 


300 


.45 

.68 

4.87 


Wm. Haas 


100 

200 

3, 250 


.15 


4.50 


John Rees 


.30 


3, 250 


Thoms. McWhurter. . 


4.88 


3,060 


5.94 
1,08 


Wm. Prine 


1,326 
200 


1.99 


720 


R. & P. Prine 


.30 


250 


.37 


Russell Day 


600 


.90 


400 


.60 


S. Shannon & Co ... . 


150 


.23 


800 


1.20 


A. Bradner & Co . . . . 


450 


.68 


750 


1.12 


A. Slyter 


300 


.45 


100 


.15 


James Harrison 


200 


.30 


700 


1,05 


lames Tisdale 


75 


.11 


900 


1.45 


.Saml. Wilson 


240 


.36 


al vahiat 


on, s4 


2,101. Tax, 863,25. 







'CrinTribtiK-fl by Mrs. Heli'ii Shannon Kenn^'tt. 



ORDER OF EXAMINATION AT THE 

DANSVILLE ACADEMY. 

Gentlemen's Depart ni e n t . 

COMMEXCINCt on MONDAY, MARCH C.th, 1837. 



— ^-*-<2K>-K>-<>- - 



The foll(i\vinj( Classes will be exam- 
ined on Monday. March 6th, eom- 
raencing precisely at 1 o'clock. P. M. 

1st (teography Class. 
vS. Picket, H. Rogers, 

C. Robinson, S. Smith, 

W. Eply, J. M'Ciirdy. 

F. Drake, H. Reynale, 

I. Welch, H. Sejwick, 

L. Lockling. 
1st Arithmetic Class. 



F. 
G. 



Kyser, 
Smith, 

H. Hartman, 

S. Ingols, 

C. 

D. 

J- 



R. 
A. 
G. 
D. 
W 
T. 
J- 



Fitch, 
Bradner, 
Reynale, 
Porter, 
Hartman, 
Bishop, 
Davis, 



McXair, 
Dimclebiiry, 
Dresser, 

J. Stout. 
2d Arithmktic Class. 
A. Faulkner, J. Hartman, 

N. Porter, H. Sprague, 

E. Hartman, J. Shannon, 

P. 'I'oles. W. Davis, 

W. Clark, G. Fisk. 

The following Classes will be ex- 
amined on Monday evening, commenc- 
ing at 7 o'clock. 

3d Gra.mmar Cl.\ss. 

C. McNair, P. Toles, 
J. Smith, F. Kyser, 

D. Davis, T. Bishop. 

2d Geography Class. 
W. Fitch, R. Fitch, 

E. Payne, M. Porter, 
A. Dorr, A. Faulkner, 
J. Shannon, J. Hartman. 
J. Stout, (i. Fisk, 

C. Newton. 
The following Classes will be ex- 
amined on Tuesday evening at seven 
o'clock. 

2d Algebra Class. 
W. Clark, W. Fitch, 

C. McNair, E. Lee. 

Geometry Class. 
J. McNair, J. Meyer. 

The following Classes will be ex- 
amined on AVednesday, commencing 
at 1 o'clock P. M. 



Ment.^l Arithmetic Class. 
S. Picket, H. Rogers, 

C. Robinson, A. Scott, 
S. Smith, W. Eply, 
J. McCurdy, F. Drake, 
H. Reynale, J. Welch, 

H. Sejwick. 
4th Arithmetic Class. 
H. Rogers, S. Picket, 

H. Sejwick, S. Smith, 

A. Parker, J. Hass, 

E. Thomas. 
Blake's Philosophy Class. 
A. Faulkner, P. Toles, 

E. Hartman, W. Davis, 

J. Shannon, F. Smith. 

1st Grammar Class. 
E. Lee, H. McCurdy, 

D. McNair, A. Bradner, 
J. McCurdy, E. Hartman, 
W. Davis, S. Brown, 
W. Clark. O. Frost. 

CoMSTocK's Philosophy' Cl.\ss. 
H. Sprague, H. Bean, J. Zehner. 

The following Classes will be ex- 
amined on Friday, commencing at 9 
o'clock A. M. 

2d Arithmetic Class. 

E. Payne, O. Frost, 
E. Lee, C. Newton. S. Brown, 

1st Algebra Class. 



J- 
J- 
A. 
G. 
H. 



Zehner, 
McCurdy, 
Bradner, 
Reynale, 
Bean, 



D. McNair, 

W. Day, 
G. Smith, 
J. Hammond, 
O. Frost, 
M. Porter. 



J. McNair, 

1st Latin Cl.\ss. 
G. Reynale, W. Fitch, 

(j. Smith, A. Bradner, 

W. Day, M. Porter 

A. Fullerton, J. Moyer. 

2d L.\TiN Class. 
J. McNair, W. Fitch 

N. Porter, J. McCurdy, 

H. Sprague. D. Young. 

Surveying Class. 
S. Ingols, L. Stutson, 

A. Dorr, J. Zehner, 

J. Hammond. 



112 



DAXSVILLE Of THE PAST 



[Dausville Academy Examinations.] 



LADIES' DEPARTMENT 

COMMENCING ON TUESDAY, March 8, 1S:}7. 



Exercises to commence March 8, 
9 o'clock, A. M. 

Class in Emerson's Arithmktic. 

Minerva E. Norton. 

Class in Geography. 

Caroline Smith. Minerva E. Norton, 

Cl.vls In Mental Arithmetic. 
L. Beckwith, S. Smith, 

H. Fensdermacher. M. A. Niles, 
A. B. Means, E. Hoveland. 

L. Cook. 

Cl.\ss in Olneys Geogr.\phy. 
L. Beckwith, S. Smith, 

H. Fensdermacher, M. A. Niles, 
A. B. Means, E. Hoveland 

E. Drake 

Second Class in Gr.\mmar. 

F. B, Faulkner, A. B. Means 
H. Fensdermacher, S. Hammond 
L. Cook, L. Rogers, 

L. Beckwith, M. Shannon, 

S. Pickett, E. Welch. 

E.xercises to commence March 8, 1 
o'clock, P. M. 

Cl.\ss in Maltebrcn's (Jeograi'iiv. 
S. Hammond, L. Rogers, 

F. B. Faulkner. 

Class in History United States. 
S. Hammond, M. Shannon, 

Second Class in Arith.metic. 
L. Rogers, M. Shannon, 

S. Hammond, I. Cook, 

F. B. Faulkner, E. Drake, 

M. Smith, E. Welch. 

E.xercises to commence March 9th, 
at 9 o'clock A. M. 

First Cl.\ss in Arithmetic. 
M. Enos, S. A. McCartney, 

S. Rogers, M. Gillespie, 



R. K. Bennett, S. M. Bouton, 

A. Everett, S. Conk, 

E. M. House, E. Smith, 
C. Dunkelbury. 

Class in Smelle's Philosophy. 
C. H. Bradner. M. Shepard. 

First Class in Grammar. 



S. M. Bouton, 

C. H. Bradner, 

M. Enos, 

S. Cook, 

C. Dunklebury, 

E. Smith, 

S. A. McCartney, 

M. E. Revnale. 



A. Everett, 
R. R. Bennett, 
E. Lockhart, 
S. Rogers, 
M. Southwick, 
M. Shepard, 
JI. Smith, 



Exercises to commence March 9th 
at 1 o'clock P. M. 

Class in Rhetoric. 
E. Lockhart, M. Southwick, 

S. M. Bouton. 

Class in Geometry. 
E. M. House, M. Southwick. 

Class in Comstock's Philosophy. 
S. A. McCartney, M. Gillespie 

M. E. Reynale, S. M. Boulen, 

S. C. Stevens, E. Smith, 

Exercises to commence March 9, at 
7 o'clock, P. M. 

Class in Chemistry*. 
M. Southwick, E. Lockhart, 

C. H. Bradner, M. Shepard. 

S. C. Stevens. 

Class in Geography- of the 
Heavens. 
M. Shepard, M. Southwick, 

C. H. Bradner, R. R. Bennett, 

M. Enos, E. M. House, 

E. Lockhart, S. C. Stevens, 



ANCIENT DOCUMENTS \U 

[Contributed by Miss Martha E. Lemeu.] 



MOSES VAN CAMPEN. 



Dansville, July 18. 1844. 
To the Editor of the "Uaiisville Republican." 

Sir, 

In justice to my own 
feelings. 1 must request yon. not to make use of my name as President of the 
"Young Hickory Association." in this village. In your paper of this date, I 
find an address purporting to have been made by myself, at the meeting of 
that Association, on Saturday last, at the Committee Room. I pronounce that 
statement false. Those words are not mine: and I must particularly notice 
the following expression in your statement as especially offensive to my feelings. 

"He," Major Van Campen, "said the enthusiasm and spirit which pre- 
vailed, reminded him of the days when the Democrats erected Liberty-poles, 
and were called Whi^s, and those who have now 'stolen the livery of Heaven 
to serve the Devil in,' were called Tories." 

I never used the language, and I disown the sentiment. I request you to 
retract the statement; and I insist that you shall not make use of my name in 
future in favor of any political party without my permission. 

I have hoped that the increasing infirmities of age might furnish an excuse 
for my withdrawing myself from the political contest which divide my friends 
and fellow citizens, and for my being satisfied with a silent vote for the man 
and measures, whose success will in my opinion best secure the good of the 
country. But I will not permit my love of quiet to be abused in this man- 
ner. — My character is more precious to me than my repose. I desire to leave 
the world with my good wishes to all — at peace with all parties — and that I 
hope 1 may still do, when under these peculiar circumstances I feel compelled 
to clear my character from the imputation you have thrown upon it by stat- 
ing my views upon the great questions to be decided at our next election. 

I am opposed to the immediate Annexation of Texas. I would consider it 
as a violation of our Treaty with Mexico, and a Declaration of War against 
that Government. 

I am in favor of the present Tariff; and opposed to its repeal or reduction. 

In conclusion I implore my fellow citizens of all parties to leave me in 
the peace and quiet that best suit my years, and which I supposed I had fairly 
purchased by my humble and faithful services to the cause of Liberty in many 
bloody scenes of suffering and danger throughout the whole Revolutionary 
War. If by that Free offering of the best strength and blood of my best days, 
I have not earned riches or fame from my countryman, surely I have at least 
deserved, that, at Four Score Years .\nd seven, my infirmities should not 
be thus abused nor my gray hairs dishonored by being thus falsely represented 
to the world as uttering against those whom I love and hcmor, the language 
of vulgar profanity, and wanton insult. 

MOSES VAN CAMPEN. 



114 DAXSriLLE OF THE PAST 

SCHOOL EXERCISES. 

DeclamatioiLS and Compositions. 

TUESDAY JJVEyiya, Koveinher .iOfh. IS.Vi. 



PRAYER RESV. O. R. HOWARD. 

ivrxTSic. 

1. ORATION — Extract, Fkancis Lindslet. 

2. " '' Grandison Tousey. 

3. " " A. Hammond Hicks. 

4. " " Granuer Ehgleston. 

5. " " Wm. J. Sharp. 

TklTTSIC 

(). ORATION — Lawrence, Dork Failkxer. 

7. '' Extract, JrnsoN Mkrkitt. 

8. " Anonymous Matthew P. McCartney. 

9. " Lacey, John Hasler. 

10. " Halleek, Geo. G. Wood, Jr. 

ivrxjsic. 

11. ORATION— Phillip?, Ai.o.Nzo T. Welch. 

12. " Henry, John W. Perine. 

13. " Milford Bard Joseph M Bristol. 

14. DIALOGUE— Lochiel's Warning, R T. Wool), } 

Byron T. SyriRKS. ( 

15. DIALOGUE — Brutus and Cassiu?, Chas. A. Thompson, / 

Jonathan B. Mokey. \ 
m;tjsic. 
K;. ( jHATION — Anonymous, Geo. Stilwell. 

17. COMPOSITION— Memory, Sarah Tousey. 

18. " Contentment, Jane Taft. 

19. " Nature, Mary Welch. 

20. •' Firmness Gertrude J. Barkett. 

•n. C< iLL( K^UY— Fashion, Abby Clark, / 

Makoaret Baldwin \ 

22. READING— Concert Exercise, Class. 

IVITTSIC. 

23. OKATK )N— Verplanck Frederick Hartman. 

24. " Everett. Henry O. Griffith. 

25. " Sorague Chas. A. Tho.mpson. 

26. " Jladisoc, Jonathan B. Morey. 

27. DIALOGUE— The Docror in spite of himself: 

Creg-ory Iiavitt Keihle. | James, ,Tohii Hasler. 

Sir Jasper, George S. Jones. | Harry Joseph M. Bristol. 

Leander R. T. Wood. ] Davy AlonzoT. Welch. 

:iMTJSIC. 

28. ORATION— (Original,) Patriotism, Geo. S. Jones. 

29. " " America, R. T. Wood. 

30. " " The Scholar's Hope, David Keihle. 

nVtXJSIC. BKNEEICTION. 

DaniiviUe, November Wth, 1853. 

R. F. HICKS, Teacher. 



Herald Power Press, Dansville. 



ANCIENT DOCUMENTS 115 

DISTRICT NO. 2. 

CLOSING EXEIiCISES AT CANASEBAGA HALL, 

Wednemlay Evening, Sept. 14, lSo9. 

J. B. jrOREY, Teacher. 




PRAYER. 

3. EXORDIUM, Elmer Hamsher. 

4. DISCIPLINE, Jefferson Grover. 

a. Great Results from Ltttle Causes. Calvia Dunham. 
(! THE AMERICAN FLAG, Juo. T. McCurdy. 

7. CATILINE S REPLY, Theodore W. Chapin. 

8. PRIDE, (Original) Miss Harriet White. 

SELECT READING Class B. 



MUSIC 



11. LOVE OF COUNTRY James Harrison. 

12. No ExcbJjLENCE without Lauor, Henry Porter. 

l;5. HOME, (Original) Miss Frances Smith. 

14 THE NOBILITY OP LABOR, George Bulkley. 

15. N< )RTHERN LABORERS, George ShuU. 

Hi. THE RAIN DROP. (Original) Miss Lotta Rose. 

SELECT READING, Class A. 



MUSIC 



111 AMERICAN HIST( )RY Herbert Tolfree. 

20 KNOWLEDGE IS POWER James Wilson. 

21 LIFE, (Original) Miss Amelia Hennesy. 

22 TH K PRESEN T AGE, Henry Fenstermacher. 

2:! PRINTING, Eduiond J. Burke. 

24 ANGEL GUIDES, (Original. ) Miss Harriet Porter. 



PEDANTRY 

DK^IT Edwin P. Sweet | Ses^uipedalia, W. I. Bulkley. 

DRONE, George Bulkley. | TRILL, Herbert Tolfree. 

MUSIC 

27. LIBERTY AND UNION, Joseph Your.g 

28. THE VALUE OF REPUTATION Amos Keihle, 

2'.i FAREWELL, (Oritiinal) Miss Libbie Owen. 

30. VINDICATION FROM TREASON, William F. Bulkley. 

31. THE CLOSIN(i YEAR Edwin F. Sweet. 

BENEDICTION 



CHAPTER XIII 
THe Doty Romance 

TOLD HV DR. A. L. (ilLHERT 

I^cickwciod L. Doty as a Boy in Dansville — Arrested for Robbing the Mail — 
Taken to Rochester on Packet Boat — Exciting Kxperience — Innocence 
Established — Triuniiihant Return — SLdiscqtient Life. 




IN the autumn of 1841, nr the spring of 1842, there came 
with evident haste into my father's store a young boy who 
asked rapidly in a soft voice for a burlap needle, paid for 
it, and departed as hastily as he came. "Who is that?" 
(.|uickly followed his going. No one could give answer, but 
the slight form, open, smiling face, black eyes and hair, 
eager manner and sudden departure, had in a moment 
aroused a desire to know who he was, and where he be- 
longed. (Jn seeing him enter the grocery store of C. Hub- 
bard some one remarked, "That must be a Doty boy from 
Groveland. I understood Hubbard was to have such a 
boy." He soon returned for another needle, and while getting it, I 
learned they were packing dried apples and sewing up the sacks; this 
was all in a flash, and he was gone. Thus did Lockwood Lyon Doty 
introduce himself to Dansville. Not long after this, the store where 
he was first employed was sold out, and young Dotv entered the store 
of a Mr. Barrett, remaining perhaps a year; then was in the store of 
Robert S. Faulkner, possibly another year. Then he was employed 
by Merritt Brown as deputy postmaster, in a building just south of 
the old Joshua Shepard store, then belonging to Charles Shepard, and 
occupied by my father, it being the first store south of the old Pres- 
byterian church on the east side of lower Main street. The postoffice 
building was moved into the space between the Shepard store and the 
store of Goimdry & Kern. The front was used for the postoffice, and 
the rear by Dr. B. L. Hovey, as a medical office. 

"Lock" Doty, as he was universally called, had nearly the entire 
charge of the office, as Mr. Brown was well advanced in years and 
somewhat infirm. The front of the second story of the vShepard store 
was occupied by William McVicker as a harness shop, a stairway 
leading up to it on the south outside. 

One afternoon in the summer of 1844 or 1845 McVicker came into 
the store with ten dollars in change and wanted a ten-dollar bill for it, 
which I gave him at the desk. He placed the bill in the letter, folded 
it after the style of those days, got a wafer of me, sealed it, directed 
it, placed it in his hat, and went up into his shop. On the Friday 
following some one entered the store, much excited, and said, "The 
United vStates marshal has arrested Lock Doty and is taking him off 
to Rochester on the packet which has just gone. The marshal would 
not let him go to the house to change his clothes, but searched him, 
and then hurried him ofif. All that he would say was that he was 
charged with robbing the mail. " We were all astonished and father 



117 



lis DANS]'/LLE OF THE PAST 

was greatly moved. Handing me some mone}-, he said, "Hurry up, 
overtake the packet. Here, Esquire Hubbard, you go with him, and 
see that Doty has a fair show." Just then Abel Edwards of West 
Sparta was driving by with a lumber wagon, father ran out and called 
him, and in two minutes he was driving furiously down Franklin 
street to overtake the packet. This he accomplished at the last lock, 
before reaching Cumminsville. Esquire Hubbard and I sprang on 
board as the boat was sinking in the lock, and the race was won. 
The marshal had his prisoner in the forward end of the cabin, and 
would not allow any one to approach, or speak to him. Benjamin 
Bradley, one of the firm of A. Bradley & Sons, paper manufacturers, 
and Merritt H. Brown, hardware merchant, and son of the postmaster, 
were on board. After some consultation Esquire Hubbard went to 
the marshal, claimed that he was Doty's attorney and counsel, and 
demanded opportunity to communicate with his client. The marshal 
asked Doty if he wished Hubbard for his counsel, and he answered 
that he did. Then Hubbard was allowed to converse with his client. 
Doty said, he remembered ^IcVicker handed him a letter to mail, 
thought it was in the morning while he was sweeping out the office; 
that he prepared a waybill for the letter, put them in a wrapper, 
marked it Rochester, and threw it on the large table where other pre- 
pared letters and papers were ready for the mailbag. When the call 
came for the mail he hurried them all into the bag, locked it, and 
passed it out. After it had gone, on moving a large sheet of paper, 
he discovered this letter left over. Throwing it had caused it to slide 
under the paper, and so escaped observation. He opened the wrapper, 
took out the waybill, stuck it in his vest pocket and prepared a new- 
one, dating it for the next mail. This was all he knew about it, only 
that when the marshal searched him, he found the discarded waybill 
in his pocket. 

We reached Rochester early in the evening, and on being asked 
what disposition he would make of his prisoner for the night, the 
marshal said he would have to lodge him in the jail. To this Bradley, 
Brown and Hubbard strongly objected; said they were satisfied Doty 
was guilty of no crime, claimed that his character was above suspicion, 
that nothing had been proved against him ; said they would guarantee 
his safe keeping at the Eagle hotel, and have him before the court in 
the morning. Finally the marshal yielded and delivered him to their 
keeping, which, in fact, was no keeping at all, for they allowed him 
to go where, and do what he pleased. Neither he nor I went to bed 
that night. We talked it over and over, discussed, hoped, feared, and 
hoped again. We went out into the street, walked back and forth in 
front of the hotel, then in again, to repeat the whole dismal recital, 
and wonder for the hundredth time, what could have become of that 
money. 

Daylight came at last, and we started out for a long walk down 
State street. I proposed that we call on Orlando Hastings, one of 
Rochester's most distinguished lawyers, with whom I was slightly 
acquainted. We rang the door bell, and a young lady, presumably 
his daughter, came to the door, and said Mr. Hastings was not up. 
vShe invited us in and went to inform him of our desire to see him. 
He soon came out dressed in a morning wrapper, greeted us kindly. 



THIl no TV ROMAXCE 110 

and sat clown to hear what we had to say. Our story was soon told, 
and he proceeded to cross question us, to all of which we replied as 
best we could, and begged him to assist Esquire Hubbard at the ex- 
amination. This he said he could not do, but he could send to a 
lawyer who could do for us better than he could. He soon handed 
Doty a note to a lawyer in the Arcade. I think his name was Garlock. 
The note was nearly in these words, "I send you a young man charged 
with robbing the mail. He is entirely innocent, and you must clear 
him." We went to the Arcade office, found our man, and presented 
the note. He looked us over, asked many questions, then said, "All 
right, I will be there at nine o'clock." Then we returned to the hotel 
where Doty found his keepers beginning to wonder at his absence but 
in no way alarmed. 

The appointed hour found us at the justice's court with Doty and 
his lawyers, the marshal and his counsel. The first testimony settled 
the fact that the letter came without the money, that it had been 
opened and resealed. Then the waybills found in the prisoner's pocket 
was produced, and date noted. Then the waybill of the ne.xt day 
dated accordingly, with Doty's acknowledgment that both waybills 
were prepared for the same letter. Then Mr. McVicker was sworn, 
and narrated what occurred in the store, the bringing of the change 
to me, getting the ten dollar bill, placing it in the letter in my pres- 
ence, getting from me a wafer, sealing it then and there. He then 
stated that he took the letter directly from the desk into the postoffice 
and handed it into Doty's hand. While McVicker was being cross- 
questioned the case for Doty looked hopeless, and I was almost in 
despair. An Irish woman just behind me, speaking to another woman, 
said, "Do you see that boy; look at his face; he never stole a cint in 
his life, the lamb!" At that moment the justice, or one of the lawyers 
said, "And you say you took the letter containing the money directly 
from the desk in the store, into the postoffice, next door, and placed it 
in the hand of this young man?" The witness answered, "Yes, sir." 
I had heard him make a statement to that effect before and it awoke 
no memory, but now I started forward and told Esquire Hubbard that 
McVicker was mistaken; that he did not take the letter into the post- 
office, and while Hubbard was telling Garlock, the justice was saying, 
"Mr. Doty, I am sorry, but I do not see how I can do otherwise than 
hold you." While he was yet speaking, Garlock interrupted him 
with a statement of what I had said. Immediately the justice called 
Benjamin Bradley, and I returned to my seat. After a short conver- 
sation with Bradley the justice said, "Let the young man come for- 
ward." I went and was sworn. Then the justice asked me, "Did 
you hear McVicker's testimony?" "Yes sir." "As far as you know, 
was it correct ?" "Mostly, but not all." "State what you know." 
"He put the letter in his hat, put his hat on his head, and went up 
into his harness shop. He did not go into the postoffice. Soon after 
going into his shop, he called to a man who was hitching his horse in 
the shade across the street something about a harness, and a moment 
later he came down the stairs, bareheaded, carrying a single harness, 
or part of a harness, and was across the street, perhaps half an hour, 
talking with the man, and changing the harness. While he was there 
with the man, a boy who was working for him, and learning the trade, 



f, 
120 DA XS I IL LE OF THE PA .V T 

came down from the shop and asked me for a wafer, which I gave him, 
and he returned into the shop." In answer to some questionings by 
the lawyers, I stated that the boy had a reputation for stealing. 

McVicker was then recalled and asked, "Did you hear that 
young man's testimony?" "Yes sir." "Did he tell the truth?" 
"I think he did." "Did you take that letter from the 
store directly to the postolifice?" "I think not; I think I was 
mistaken." "When did you mail that letter?" "I think it 
was the next morning; I think Doty was sweeping out the 
office." "Where was that letter kept from the time you sealed it in 
the store until you handed it to Doty at the postoffice, the ne.xt day?" 
"In my hat." "Where was your hat while you were across the way?" 
"In the shop. " "Was it where the boy could have access to it ?" 
"Yes sir." "Where was your hat during the night?" "On a stand, 
in the hall of my house." "Did the boy have access to that hall?" 
"Yes, he passed through it going to his room." "Did you know that 
boy had a reputation for stealing?" "Yes." "Had you known of 
his stealing?" "Yes." "Did you examine that letter in the morn- 
ing?" "No, I took it from my hat and handed it to Doty?" "Did 
you know whether the money was in it wdieii you handed it to Doty?" 
"No, I supposed it was." The justice then declared the charge not 
sustained. "The case is dismissed. '\\x. Doty, I am happy to say 
you are free. ' ' 

During the next five minutes the court room was a scene of con- 
fusion, and congratulations were showered upon Doty from all sides. 
We soon settled with Esquire Garlock, paid our hotel bills, and made 
our way to the packet, en route for Dansville, where we arrived the 
next morning which was Sunday. We found a large gathering of 
friends anxious to learn the fate of Doty. We did not have to declare 
it, they read it in our faces, and when Lockwood sprang from the deck 
onto the dock, a happy, free man, there was a rush to grasp his hand, 
and express joy at his coming home without the shadow of a doubt of 
his entire innocence. Mr. Brown, the postmaster, made him a present 
of fifty dollars. The subsequent career of this estimable and brilliant 
young man is probably as well known to others as to me. His whole 
life honored Dansville. 



CHArriiR XIV 
Some DetacKed Facts 

The Iroquois League of the Five Nations, whose most powerful 
nation, the Senecas, inchided tlie Indians of the Genesee Valley, was 
formed in 1450, and the Tuscaroras were admitted in 1713, making 
the Six Nations. 

The French under the INIarquis De Nonville invaded the Genesee 
Valley in 1687, and were valiantly resisted by the Senecas. 

When Gen. Sullivan's army came tobacco had lon,g been grown in 
the valley and was considered of a superior quality. 

In 183f) there were five tanneries and three carding and cloth-dress- 
ing factories in Dansville, with a population of only 1,000, and in 1850 
there were about KIO saw mills within two miles of Dansville. 

The Woodruff Paper Company was incorporated in 1866 with a cap- 
ital of $40,000, and began operations in 1868. It was the first mill to 
manufacture straw pulp in the United States and consvuned annually 
1,200 tons of straw. 

Bradley & Co. erected a paper mill in 1825 on the site of the Wood- 
ruff' mill which was burned four times within 20 vears, and again in 
1854. 

"The castle" was a log house built by surveyors, and occupied suc- 
cessively by the earliest settlers when they first came. 

Dansville celebrated Lee's surrender April 10. 1S65, with a parade, 
cannon-firing, addresses and a huge bonfire. 

A Fenian meeting was held April 26, 1866, which was presided over 
by Hon. S. D. Faulkner and addressed by John C. O'Brien, head 
centre of the Fenian brotherhood of the state, and $200 was raised at 
the meeting to help the Fenian cause. 

In 1845 A. R. Knox of Dansville jniblished a 224-page volume of 
American anecdotes of adventures from eminent authors, compiled 
by (ieorge W. Stevens, who was also the printer. 

Dr. F. M. Ferine has a pocket memorandum book belonging to his 
grandfather, William Ferine, with accounts dating back to 1780. The 
book is leather bound and has a brass clasp. 

John T. McCurd}- has a pair of iron-bowed spectacles, presented to 
his great, great, great grandfather by Rev. Ozias Els of Barhamstead, 
Ct., who was one of the first ministers in Connecticut and said by 
him to have come over in the Mayflower. 

ilr. McCurdy also has his grandfather James McCurdy's "Practice," 
a manuscript book of examples in arithmetic illustrating questions 
and answers written on the old-fashioned, handmade foolscap unruled. 
The examples are worked out in pounds, shillings and pence. The 
writing is very plain and the ink retains a good black. 

121 




CHARLES ROTHE HOUSE 




ARTMAN GRIST MILL 



SO^fH DETACHED EACTS 123 

On Friday, the l.^th of May, 18o(), the jieople of Dansville and vi- 
cinity celebrated the Dansville branch (canal). The day ojjened with 
firini;' of cannon. A deputation came over from Nunda, 40 in a car- 
riage (splendid car) shaped like a canal boat, drawn by seven horses. 
Music, toasts and a public dinner. — Livinsjston Rey;ister, Mav 17, 
1836. 

May 7, 1834. — Only eight and one-half days from New York by 
packet, fine and superfine brand-cloths. 

The Dansville Model Water Ciu'e opened for the reception of |)atients 
June 1, 1854, Wm. Stephens, Mrs. J. P. Stephens physicians. 

The volunteers of the 130th regiment, recruited in Dansville and 
vicinity, went to the rendezvous at Portage on a canal boat. 

July 14, 1868, the mercury in Dansville thermometers went uj) at 
noon to 102 degrees in the shade. 

In the Grant and Seymour campaign of 180S there was a joint pub- 
lic discussion of issues in the Democratic wigwam between S. D. 
Faulkner and D. W. Noyes. 

The Dansville Sportsmen's Association was organized May 7, 1875, 
with Henry J. Faulkner as president, John Hvland vice president and 
F. J. Robbins secretary and treasurer. 

Bishop McQuaid's first visit to Dansville was May 8, 1868, and his 
coming was signalized by a long procession of Catholic societies, car- 
riages with delegates, cavalry, band, etc. 

The first reunion after the war of the old 13th regiment took place 
in Dansville Sept. 30, 1869, when there was a parade and drill, speeches, 
a presentation, a collation and a ball. The Rochester battalion was 
present. 

The first regular firemen's review of the new Dansville fire depart- 
ment took place Oct. 10, 1877. In line following the band were Union 
Hose, 25 members; Fearless Hook and Ladder, 23 members; Protect- 
ives, 25 members. 

The brick Methodist church on Chestnut avenue was dedicated by 
Bishop Peck Nov. 8, 1877. 

The Dansville Grange at Stone's Falls had a great fair and auction 
sale Dec. 26, 1877, to aid in raising money for building a Grange hall. 

The Livingston County Historical society was organized in 1876. 

Dansville was slightly shaken by an earthquake at 11 a. m., Oct. 
20, 1870, the vibrations continuing half a minute. The gas pendants 
swung, walls were slightly cracked, and some dishes were broken. 

The Sullivan campaign centennial was celebrated at Geneseo vSept. 
16, 1879. 

Dansville is the only place in Livingston county mentioned in the 
Century Dictionary ot Names. 

The golden wedding of Dr. and Mrs. James C. Jackson was cele- 
brated Sept. 10, 1880. 

April 25 and 26, 1881, St. Peter's church celebrated its semi-centennial. 
June 29, 1881, the Genesee valley canal property was sold by state 
officials at Mt. Morris. 




H. M. BOUGHTON HOUSE 




WILLIAM H. HARTMAN R t S I D f. \ C E 



SOME DETACHED FACTS 125 

Clara Barton lectured on the Red Cross August 7 and 22, 18S1, and 
a branch society was organized here on the latter date — the first in the 
country. 

In January, 1882, Dr. James C. Jackson retired from active labor 
as chief physician of Our Home on the Hillside. 

A charter amendment extended the boundaries of the village in 1SS2. 

February 3, 1882, was the slipperiest day ever known in Dansville. 
The streets were all floored with smoothest ice, and scores of pedes- 
trians fell. 

The new Sanatorium was dedicated on the twenty-fifth anniversary 
of the institution — Oct. 1,1883. 

Reception to Clara Barton at Presbyterian chapel, February 24, 
1886, in view of her approaching removal to Washington. A. < ). Bun- 
nell presided and Miss Barton told the story of her life. 

A board of trade was organized Feb. 7, 1889, with A. O. Bunnell 
as president; B. G. Foss, H. W. DeLong and H. F. Dyer as vice 
presidents; C. W. Woolever as treasurer, and B. H. Oberdorf as sec- 
retary. 

The seventieth anniversary of American Odd Fellowship was cele- 
brated by Canaseraga Lodge April 26, 1889, and attended by large 
delegations from Bath, Mt. Morris, Wayland and Geneseo. 

The first graduating class of the Union school in 1890 numbered 
eight — Max Sweet, Jessie M. Osborn, Emma L. Tenney, Carrie E. 
vStone, Lillie S. Brayton, Ed. T. Fairchild, Vira Karcher and Helen 
M. Edwards. 

The Sanatorium's monthly magazine, the Laws of Life, completed 
its thirty-sixth year in December, 1893, and was discontinued. In 
its most pros])erous days it had a far-reaching circulation of over 1(1,- 
OUO. 

As early as 1839 a small furnace and machine shop were erected 
where the George Sweet Manufacturin,g company shops are now. 

The Erie Railway Co. discontinued its service on the Dansville 
branch to Mt. Morris Oct. 22, 1891, and the Dansville & Mt. Morris 
Railroad Co. resumed authority over it, and commenced running 
trains December 7, the service ha\-ing been interrupted two weeks. 

The twenty-fifth anniversary of the (iranil Army of the Republic 
was celebrated in Dansville April (>, 1891. 

There was a severe frost in the valley on the night of May 17, 1891, 
which did great damage to growing things. Plums, cherries and 
peaches were nearly all nipped to death, and grapes were greatly dam- 
aged. Early strawberries, corn, potatoes, peas, etc., were badly hurt. 
vSo was young nursery stock. 

Geneseo celebrated her centennial Sept. 11, 1890. 

The new Presbyterian church was dedicated March 15, 1892. Rev. 
H. C. Rig.gs of Rochester, was the preacher. There were seventeen 
visiting ministers. The cost of the church was a little over $13,5(10. 

Dansville Advertiser l)uilding caught fire Dec. 22, 1892, and was 
badlv burned. 





KNOWLTON PAPER MILL 



SOME DETACHED FACTS 127 

The National Nurseryman for April, 1893, stated that Dansville 
was one of the greatest nursery centers of the world and that the 
whole number of growers was 55; and the whole number of acres in 
nursery stock wasl, 200; that most of the Dansville stock comprised 
staple fruits. 

The twentieth anniversary of Coterie was celebrated Oct. 31, 1893, 
at the residence of J. M. Edwards. 

The Livingston Circulating Library became the Dansville Public 
Library in January, 1894, by the action of the regents. 

The number of volumes in the Dansville Public Library is about 
4,400 and the circulation in the last library year was about 2,750. 

June 8, 18')4, Ambrose S. Murray, Jr.. by appointment of Judge 
Wallace, took possession of the Dansville & Mt. Morris railroad as re- 
ceiver. 

Dansville Grange celebrated its twenty-fifth birthday, April 14, 1895. 

The Dansville Gas and Electric Light Co. was organized Dec. 14, 
1895, bv the election of directors and officers as follows: J. B. Morey, 
George" A. Sweet, Charles H. Rowe, William Kramer, B. \l. Ober- 
dorf. President, J. B. Morey; vice president, William Kramer; sec- 
retary and treasurer, Charles H. Rowe. 

July 22, 1896, the taxpayers of Dansville decided to have new water 
works, for domestic as well as fire purposes, by a vote of 268 to 43. 

The George Sweet Manufacturing Co's buildings were burned June 
1, 1897, the loss being about $40,000 and the insurance $10,000. 

Sept. 19, 1899, the board of trustees ordered condemnation proceed- 
ings for the purpose of tapping mill creek for additional water supply, 
in case a settlement could not be made with the owners of water rights. 

Oct. 4, 1899, the board of trustees granted a thirty-year franchise 
to the Dansville Gas and Electric Co. 

Main street was macadamized from Pcrine street to the Altmeyer 
building in 1899 and 1900. 

The golden jubilee of St. Patrick's church was observed with solemn 
ceremonies, July 15, 1900, and there was a sermon by Bishop McQuaid. 

Jan. 23, 1898, Rev. George K. Ward, who had been pastor of the 
Presbyterian church twenty-five years, tendered his resignation at the 
close of his mornmg sermon. 

The Citizens Band of Dansville was organized Nov. 17, 1896. 

A hurricane swept across Dansville, June 11, 1898, which did a 
good deal of damage, felling large trees, tearing down wires and signs, 
partially unroofing several buildings, and injuring young nursery 
stock considerably. 

Sept. 1, 1899, the free delivery of mail matter was commenced in 
Dansville. 

Dansville public library was moved from the Maxwell block into 
more spacious rooms in the Dver block about the middle of April, 
1899. 

The twenty-fifth anniversary of Union Hose company was cel- 
ebrated bv the formal opening of the new Union Club rooms June 19, 
1899. 








:^:^ •/: 



J >. - . •■w'-- o-~- . 



■•-~^^aii^>- 



HUBBARD'S fALLS 



SOME DETACHED FACTS 129 

The twenty-fifth anniversary of the Dansville library was celebrated 
June 18, 189'). A. O. Bunnell presided and made an introductory 
historical address, a paper was read by Mrs. Elizabeth E. Sweet, and 
remarks were made by W. R. Eastman, state inspector of libraries. 
There was also fine vocal and instrumental music. 

The fortieth anniversary of the Dansville Sanatorium was cel- 
ebrated Oct. 1, 1898. 

The twenty-fifth anniversary of Coterie was celebrated in the Pres- 
byterian chapel Oct. 25, 1898, with history, poem, songs, the reading 
of several papers and a banquet. The chapel was beautifully dec- 
orated with a profusion of autumn leaves, flowers and gadding vines. 

The Lackawanaa station buildings on East hill were burned Dec. 13, 
1898. Loss about $7,000. 

Sep. 19, 1901, there was a great gathering in the opera house in 
memory of assassinated President McKinley, with tributes by A. O. 
Bunnell, chairman. Dr. James H. Jackson, James H. Baker, Rev. 
Father Krischel, F. W. Noyes and Prof. E. J. Bonner. 

The McNair house seen at the right of the cut on page 29, the 
Rothe house on page 122 and the Boughton and Hartman houses on 
page 124 were the first brick houses erected in Dansville, and among 
the first in all this section of C(juntry. 

The street fair in Dansville illustrated on page 128 was held Octo- 
ber 2-7, 1899. 

The Artman grist mill (see page 128) located at the entrance, or 
rather e.xit, of Poag's Hole, is one of the oldest mills of the vicinity. 



CHAPTER XV 
I^ater Contributions 



A FEAV WOOD NOTES £/ By Theodore M. Schlick 

East Hill in all its primitive grandeur must have presented a mag- 
nificent spectacle to the early pioneer. The writer's recollection dates 
back but thirty years and in that time considerable change has taken 
place in its general aspect. When the Lackawanna railroad was put 
through in the early SOs it left a wound on the hill's broad face that 
seemed doubtful if it would ever heal. But, left alone, nature soon 
asserts herself and many of these unsightly cuts are now being grad- 
ually covered with vines and shrubbery. The old crumbling retain- 
ing wall above the dugway is still an eyesore, but even that will in 
time be partially hidden by the forest growth springing up around it. 
Pieces of woods that were cut off fifteen years ago are again being 
reclaimed by nature. South of the old Stadler vineyard, above the 
Lackawanna railroad, was once a flourishing vineyard, but abandoned 
by its owner it soon lapsed into a wild state and is today a dense mass 
of almost impenetrable thickets, the haunt of the ruffed grouse and 
other wood folk. Traces of the grape vines still remain, bearing an 
annual crop of half wild fruit. The old Stadler vineyard itself, now 
owned by the Lackawanna R. R. Co., has not been worked in a 
number of years. As a rule vineyards have taken the place of the 
cleared forest, compensating to a great extent for the original state. 
Thus, harrassed by the a.xe for nearly half a century and for nearly 
twenty years by annual fires caused by sparks from passing locomo- 
tives, the face of the old hill still presents an unusually wild appear- 
ance. Northeast from the village there is still a goodly forest growth 
and the same southeastward. The fringe of pines on the summit of 
the hill a trifle southeast of the village has been thinned out consider- 
ably during the past few years, much to the consternation of a great 
colony of crows, who since time immemorial have used these pines 
as a roost. A few stragglers still survive but the main body seem to 
have gone elsewhere. It was an interesting sight ten or more years 
ago to witness these sable hosts leave their roost at dawn for the 
western hills, and then see them come streaming back in long pro- 
cessions at nightfall. There was usually a noisy powwow and much 
circling about before peace finally settled on the roost. 

The passing years have dealt gently with the Bradner or Barnhart 
woods southeast of the village. It is remarkable and commendable 
on the part of the owners that such a charming piece of woodland, 
situated almost at our very doors, should have escaped the woodman's 
axe. Indeed, but little change has taken place in its general features 
since the writer first rambled amid its devious byways in the summer 
of 1S71. A row of noble oaks, that stretched out like an arm on the 

130 



LA TER COXTR/IUn'/ONS IT^l 

northwest corner, was cut oft" many years ago to be afterwards con- 
verted into barrels. This was the only part that was entirely cleared 
within the writer's recollection. Since then many goodly trees, 
picked out here and there, have been sacrificed, but only as they were 
needed. Today the rambler in their midst cannot fail to perceive 
what noble specimens of forest trees still exist here — oak, hard and 
soft maples, hickory, beech, tulip, elm, ash, etc. There are also some 
good-sized white pines here and there. The last of the great pines 
that were at one time plentiful in this vicinity, met its downfall in the 
autumn of 1890. It was an immense tree. The bole was over four 
feet m diameter at its base, but its lordly top had long been broken 
off. It was a fragment of the primeval woods, "full of wind voices 
and memories of a lost race of men and a vanishing race of birds and 
mammals." In the northeast corner is a spring, rendering the ground 
swaley for some distance, and which was formerl)' covered with thick- 
ets of alder, elder, hornbeam and other gnjwth. In times past wood- 
cock haunted this cover and on one occasion the writer scared a 
wood duck from its depths. To find a ruft'ed grouse here is a rarity, 
but the writer records with utmost satisfaction that under the group 
of fine pines, which terminates the west portion of the woods he once 
found the nest, containing eleven eggs, of one of these noble game 
birds, and several times thereafter scared the wild hen from her nest 
by venturing too close. It seemed good that one of the most cherished 
boyhood haunts contained such a treasure. Of squirrels, the little 
red rover survives in undiminished numbers — its larger brethren, the 
black and gray, having disappeared. An occasional hare is found here 
also. 

The isolated chestnut tree, once so abundant in this vicinity, is 
almost a memory. It is said that Chestnut street itself derived its 
name from several rows of great chestnut trees that once flourished on 
the farm of S. W. Smith, which included the entire north side of the 
street from the Grant residence east. This was in the early 40's. 
The writer distinctly remembers that a large tree once stood in the 
southeast corner of the Mullein lot on Leonard street. The old chest- 
nut trees on the Bradner farm, southeast of the village, were cut 
down long ago, and among others the writer can mention several on 
the Rothe farm, and half a dozen or more on the Martin King place, 
once a part of the Conrad Welch estate. Then there were other isolated 
specimens on the Sahrle and Vogel farms, which belong now to memory 
alone. Almost the last of its kind in the immediate vicinity of Dans- 
ville is the old tree in the northwest corner of the Stadler vineyard, 
east of Brewery street. Good walnut trees are also becoming exceed- 
ingly scarce. Scattered through that tract of land, now known as 
Park Avenue, were formerly a dozen or more large trees. It is only 
within a comparatively short time that the last one was cut down. 

^^ ^ 

Many species of birds prefer to be near the habitations of man 
rather than in the woods and fields, and in this respect Dansville is 
well favored. And certain it is that the prevalence of shade and fruit 



132 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

trees gives the village an unusual sylvan appearance. The birds can- 
not help but look at it as an ideal place. Baltimore orioles, yellow 
warblers and cedar birds have been unusually abundant this season 
(1902), and the bluebirds appeared among us in almost old-time num- 
bers. Blackbirds, particularly the great purple grackles, are fairly 
represented, but the main body prefer the flats, a few miles below the 
village, where they assemble in immense flocks. The writer recollects 
that a number of these birds have rendezvoused in the spruce tree in 
front of the Pearson residence on Elizabeth street since he was a small 
boy. How quickly one notices the visits of a strange flock of birds 
in one's locality ! When those large yellow birds, the evening gros- 
beaks (natives of the northwest, seldom venturing east of the Ohio 
river) appeared among us in December, 1889, how eagerly we sought 
to make their acquaintance and learn their identity. It was hojied 
that such distinguished bird visitors would remain with us jierma- 
nently, but with the advent of the following spring they disappeared. 
The horned lark is usually a common visitor in our wintry fields, but 
on one occasion when a large flock settled down on Main street in the 
heart of the business center, there was much comment and speculation 
as to their identity, one sportsman in particular even venturing the 
assertion that it must be a species of upland plover. Such wood 
species like the black-billed cuckoo, catbird, indigo finch, redstart, 
vireo and highhole are occasionally found within the confines of the 
village. The presence of a rufi"ed grouse in one's garden is merely an 
accident, of course, but the writer knows of two such instances, one in 
particular where the bird was found in a neighbor's apple tree bud- 
ding. And it might have been an accident also that prompted a 
white-headed eagle to come sailing up the valley a certain day in July, 
1899, flying very low and passing directly above Elizabeth street, bound 
in a southern direction. The bluejay, once so abundant, has become 
almost a rare bird in the woods in the immediate vicinity of Dans- 
ville. A few stragglers are occasionally met with in the old Dorr 
woods, south of the reservoir. Of late years the Carolina turtle dove, 
a lover of fields and roadsides, has also become a rarity. Among the 
rarer birds that inhabit our woodlands one can easily single out that 
semi-tropical beauty, the scarlet tanager. In twelve years the writer 
has come across but a single specimen, and only recently he was grati- 
fied to note the appearance of a rose-breasted grosbeak in a cherished 
boyhood haunt, and this after a twenty years' lookout for the birds. 
A few bobolinks still visit our meadows season after season, where the 
meadow lark keeps him company. That great woodland artist, the 
wood thrush, is a great haunter of the woods round about the Schub- 
mehl quarry on East Hill. It is indeed a rare privilege to take up 
one's stand at nightfall in this locality and listen to the glorious chorus 
from dozens of these golden-throated birds. The towhee bunting, a 
large, beautifully-marked bird of the ground, is also found here. 



L. I TEK C 'OX TRIP, I ' 1 IONS 1 33 

KILLING OF THE LAST WILD DEER IN DANSVILLE 
By Charles C. Sedgivick 

Along in the roaring forties, about 1847, a farmer from Oak Hill 
came into George Hj-land's store leading a hound pup by a string. 
The dog was pure white, with long yellow ears, and so poor that he 
staggered. The farmer told Mr. Hyland some hunter had lost a "purp, " 
anyway, he had found him beside the road in a fence corner about a 
week previous, where he lay shivering, although not a cold spring 
morning, and so sore from running he could not get up; he had car- 
ried him home, fed him all he had to spare, and he wanted some one 
else to feed him awhile; Mr. Hyland could advertise him. being a fur 
dealer. Mr. Hyland kept him a week, then offered him to me, say- 
ing they were about out of food at his house, and he wanted to save a 
little for his two boys. 

I kept the dog until fall, and the first time we went out he caught 
a fox and killed it. R. Wheaton said I did not need a gun, the dog 
could catch any fox in the county. The next week we turned out 
from Hall & Ingersoll's shop about twenty guns and three dogs. Shot 
two foxes and my dog caught another one. We then decided to have 
a grand hunt in two weeks. A fine morning saw us stepping out 
for the hills. Charles Goodno was to release the dogs after we had 
gone into the woods fifteen minutes. Meanwhile Lance Hall and mv- 
self had come to the upper end of a field west of Mr. Lemen's house. 

We stopped at a low fence that separated us from the forest to look 
at some beautiful young pines at the foot of a massive tree blown over 
in some forest gale, and I said, "What a beautiful spot for a deer to 
lie down in, nothing could find him." Hall said. "There has not 
been a deer in this county in fifteen years." Just then my dog came 
running up very fast, cleared the fence, gave a great yell, with a 
triumphal note in it, and sprang into the thicket just as a deer 
bounded out, not over sixteen feet off, the dog quickly following 
jumping at his throat, — his deer, the deer he had wearily trailed from 
Pennsylvania in the early spring, both now in full strength, they went 
by us like a flash of light down to the wood below, and the trial of 
speed was on to the death. Just then a bullet sung over our heads. 
Lance Hall turned to me and asked, "Did you ever see two such 
fools? A deer running eighty rods in sight and not a shot fired! 
Why, I could have thrown my gun and knocked him down." Run- 
ning down the field we came to Mr. Watson, who said he was so sur- 
prised he fired in the opposite direction the deer was going, and 
asked us to shoot him. We were joined by the rest of the party and 
soon came down to the Kanouse tavern. Paul Kanouse and James 
McCurdy told us a deer had passed with a white hound jumping at 
his throat. Following the do.gs we came to some men standing about 
a deep hole in Canaseraga Creek. Dr. Faulkner was trying to keep the 
deer from pounding the dog under the water. Charles Goodno took 
Mr. Wheaton's rifle and shot the deer. 

Dr. Faulkner said the deer and the dog jumped into the water, 
close to him, the deer trying to drown the dog by jumping on him 
with his sharp hoofs. The Doctor stuck his pitchfork into the animal, 
when both came out of the water, ran up by the paper mill, down by 



i:.4 DANSriLLE OF THE PAST 

Fisk's planing mill, part way over the canal bridge, jumped into the 
canal, swam a few rods, then ran across lots to the water, where we 
found him. The following spring Dr. Faulkner accompanied by Dr. 
Reynale, made me an early call. Faulkner's man had shot and 
shivered my dog's shoulder blades while it was playing around his 
sheep in the early morning. Other dogs were biting and killing the 
sheep. Faulkner said he would give $25 to save him, but upon ex- 
amination bv Dr. Revnale he was doomed and I had him i<illed. 



EARLY RECOLLECTIONS ^ By Mrs. L. JUdrich Collins 

Benjamin Aldrich, though a Uuaker, was a soldier in the American 
Revolutionary army from the time of the battle of Bunker Hill to 
the close of the war. He came to this valley in 18U5. Obed Aldrich, 
his son, who was my father, then a lad of eleven years, accompanied 
him. They came from the village of Auburn, looking for land. 
There were many Indians here at that time. When they saw my 
grandfather's Quaker costume they gathered about him with delight 
and invited him to their homes. They called upon ^lary Jemison 
whose history they were familiar with. She treated the young boy 
to bread and milk. Mrs. Jemison had her milk in nice brown earthen 
pans, set upon wooden stools, standing in water in a nice cool spring 
house. While in Dansville they stopped with Col. Hammond who 
was residing at that time in a log house located in the lower part of 
town. My grandfather and his son admired the beautiful valley with 
its numerous flowing streams and fine forests, but concluded there 
were too many huge pine stumps to be disposed of ere a farm could 
be made available. He finally located on a place known as Aldrich 
Hill, near Palmyra. 

Obed Aldrich, though so young, was so deeply impressed by the 
scenic beauty of this place, that it was ever after his standard of com- 
parison for the scenery of all places he chanced to visit. None was 
ever found in every way so beautiful to him as that at the head of 
the Genesee Valley. Though still a boy he served in the army with 
an older brother during the war of 1812 as fifer and drummer boy. 
In 1850 he returned to the place he had so much admired, when a 
child and purchased the mill at the foot of Ossian street, known as 
the Aldrich mill. His home was 74 Main street, where he died in 
1876. 

I heard Mrs. Angell say that when a girl her father, Mr. Kuhn, was 
living where Conrad Welch used to live. They had a milk house in the 
back yard. One morning she went there for milk for breakfast and 
found the Canaseraga had risen so high, the milk house was flooded 
with water and all the milk spoiled. They had to go without cream 
or milk for their coffee. She stated that the Canaseraga was a much 
larger stream at that time than it is now. 



CHArriiR .wi 



TKe Water ^VorKs 




By E. Jt. Sprague, Superintendent 

HE DANSVILLE WATER WORKS, comprising 

over fifteen miles of cast iron mains from four to 

twelve inches in size, 112 fire hydrants and 145 gates 

and valves forming" a network of pipe line that takes 

in the whole village, is an industry of which every 

citizen should feel proud. Not only because this 

system is owned by the village, but also from the 

fact that it is one, not only of the best in the State 

but one of the best in the whole country, for several 

,, reasons; namely, it is a gravity system, pure and 

^^^^- simple. No expensive pumping station to be main- 

^^B^ - tained to keep it going; the quality of water, con- 

^^^HjhH||b sidered from both of its sources of supply; the sev- 

i^^^^^^^^H eral analyses of which show that no purer or better 

water flows; its effectiveness in cases of fire; the 

little trouble and expense it has been so far for leaks and breaks in its 

mains, as compared with reports of systems in other villages; and the 

source of revenue it will eventually be to the taxpayers — these are 

interesting and pleasing facts to contemplate. 

The completion of the extension line up Little ^lill Creek in the fall 
of 1900 perfected the system, as it practically gave two separate sources 
of supply that can be used in connection with each other, or each one 
separate, and with the exception of a short line of main pipe on upper 
Main street (through which section of pipe both lines are obliged to 
flow) the sources of supply are independent, one from the other. In case 
of a break in the main, unless it be in this particular part ot the line, 
the water supply would not have to be shut ofl: and but little incon- 
venience would be caused consumers in order to make repairs. This 
advantage in cases of fire is of vast importance compared to other 
places having only a single source to depend on, which if cut oft", 
would place the inhabitants in a bad way in case of fire. 

When the question of water works first came up to be seriously con- 
sidered much feeling was wrought up and some hard fights resulted 
from the differences of opinion as to the proper plan to be adopted, 
both as to the source of supply and location of reservoir, if such action 
were required. The plan as adopted and the system as it now is with 
the addition of the Little Mill creek supply in case of need, although 
ct)sting possibly more than to have taken the creek plan alone at the 
start warrants the additional cost and justifies the wisdom of those 
who fought for it. 

At a meeting of the Board of Trustees on June 17, 1896, the trus- 
tees resolved themselves into a Board of Water Commissioners, in 
accordance with the provisions of chapter 181 of the Laws of 1875, 
entitled an act to authorize the villages of the state New York to 
furnish pure and wholesome water to its inhabitants. 



135 



136 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

The board as organized comprised Charles A. vSn3aier, president; 
Frank J. Blum, secretary; William Cogswell, treasurer; Edward 
Bacon and John F. Michel. On August 2(), 1896, the resolution was 
passed by the said board for the first issue of water bonds. This issue 
was for the sum of $60,000, each bond of the face value of $1,000 bear- 
ing Ayi per cent interest, such interest payable semi-annually, the 
principal payable in $3,000 payments, the first series to become due 
five years from date of issue, which was September 1, 1896. The en- 
tire issue was sold through the City Bank of Buffalo at 3 per cent 
premium, so that at time of delivery the premium and accrued interest 
brought $61,903.56. 

It being found that the estimate of Engineer Witmar of $h0,000 to 
cover cost of tlie plant was not going to be sufficient, the board on 
January 4, 1897. made an additional issue of bonds in the sum of $15,- 
000 of the same form and size as the first issue, except that the first 
bond was numbered 61 and did not mature until September 1, 1921, 
or until the original issue was all paid up. These bonds were also 
sold through the City Bank of Buffalo, and being long-term bonds 
brought 7 per cent premium which with accrued interest netted a 
total of $16,306.87; the entire total from the sale of both issues of 
bonds being $78,210.43. 

On the 4th day of September, 1896, the contract for the building of 
the water works system was awarded to W. B. Wilson of Buffalo, for 
the sum of $53,000 including pipe. J. F. Witmar being engineer in 
charge; H. K. Bishop, also of Buffalo, assistant engineer. The spec- 
ifications in contract as awarded called for 1,288 tons of cut iron pipe, 
112 eddy fire hydrants, 141 gate valves and boxes, masonry reservoir 
of 4,000,000 gallons capacity, receiving basin, settling tank, etc. The 
pipe consisted of 

9,576 feet cast iron size 12 in. 

828 " " " " 10 " 

2,100 " " " " 8 " 

48,'684 " " " " 6 '• 

12,756 " " " " 4 " 

73,944 feet cast iron size. Total about 14 miles. 

The reservoir as originally intended, and as the specifications called 
for at the time the contract was let, was to be a rectangular basin 
with concrete bottom and masonry sides, of approximately the follow- 
ing dimensions: Length, 300 feet; width, 150 feet; depth, 8 feet; ca- 
pacity, 4,000,000 gallons; located on what was then the John Campbell 
farm at an elevation of over 200 feet above the village. The plan as 
to pipe hydrants and gates was practically carried out, but the loca- 
tion of reservoir was changed as well as the dimensions of the same, 
it being moved to the south and put partly on the lands of Martin 
King, so that the reservoir when completed measured 225 feet long, 
200 feet wide, 8 feet in depth for 25 feet from wall all around. The 
center or inner basin being about 13 feet deep and the estimated ca- 
pacity of the reservoir complete being 3,158,868 gallons. 

The supply of water to maintain this reservoir is furnished from 
springs flowing from the hills above the principal one, so considered, 



138 DANS] 'ILL E OF THE PAST 

is the Zigenfuss spring which at the time of the building of the reser- 
voir was owned or controlled by Dr. Jackson of the Sanatorium and 
was valued by him at $2,000. There are a number of other springs 
that contribute to make up the supply and which at the start flowed 
in their natural channels, but which have since been piped both by 
iron and vitrified pipe through sections that were thought might pol- 
lute the water, until now there is about 3,000 feet of pipe line above 
the reservoir. This supply of pure spring water flows into a small 
receiving basin, from there through a brick trough into the settling 
tank 10 feet in diameter by 12 feet in depth, thence through a 12-inch 
cast iron pipe into the reservoir at the northeast corner, the overflow 
being opposite at the northwest corner. Work was commenced on 
the pipe line shortly after the contract was awarded September 4, 
1896, and the svstem was accepted from the contractor by the board 
May 3, 1897. 

May 1, 1897, the Board of Water Commissioners according to the 
law then in force made a report to the Board of Supervisors of Living- 
ston county, which report was published in all three of the village 
papers, showing the expenditures of said board up to that time in the 
construction of the system to be as follows: 

To credit of board from sale of bonds, $78,210.43 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

For iron pipe 21,692.86 

For laying pipe 14,026.08 

For hydrants, valves and boxes 4,118.08 

Building reservoir receiving basin, etc., 26,262.79 

For engineering 3,300.00 

For legal expenses 554.25 

For miscellaneous expenses 623.18 

For tapping machine and fixtures 84.50 

For water meters 3'i4.05 

Interest on bonds Sept. 1, 1896 to March 1, 1897. . 1,687.50 

Total $72,698.29 

On deposit in banks 5,512.14 

$78,210.43 
E. B. Cridler was appointed the first superintendent of the Board of 
Water Commissioners November 9, 1896. The original board con- 
tinued to act until March, 1898, when Frank J. Blum was retired and 
C. W. Denton took his place as secretary of the board. The report 
as published March 1, 1898, by E. B. Cridler, superintendent, showed 
all receipts and disbur.sements from May 1, 1897, both in the construc- 
tion account and in the maintenance fund to be as follows: 

CONSTRUCTION .\CCOUNT. 

Balance to credit of Board May 1, 1897 $5,212.14 

Jan. 20, 1898, Rec'd from village treasurer to re- 
place money taken from construction account 
to pay interest on bonds March 1, 1897 1,687.50 

$7,199.64 



THE WATER WORKS 139 



niSBUKSEMKNTS. 

Land and land damages ')72.86 

Iron pipe and specials 1,909.28 

Completion of reservoir and pipe laying 1,350.25 

Engineering 119.05 

Legal expenses 387.33 

Labor at springs and making loads at reservoir. . . 410.90 

Printing annual report 60.00 

Miscellaneous and other e.xpense 452.10 

$5,661.77 
Balance on deposit in M. and T. Nat. Bank 1,537.87 

Total i|7, 199.64 

MAINTENANCE FUND. 

From water rents $2,588.71 

From village treasurer 1,687.50 

From tapping fees 940.06 

From other sources 415.88 



Total fund $5,632.15 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

For interest on bonds vSept. 1, 18<)7 $1,687.50 

For tapping mains 1,017.91 

For superintendent's salary ten months . 5oo,oo 

For metres 368.50 

For iron pipe and specials 69.28' 

Miscellaneous 137. 53 

Total $3,780.72 

On deposit at M. and T. Nat. Bank 1,851.43 

Total $5,632.15 

The board of the year 1848 consisted of C. A. Snyder, president; 
C. W. Denton, secretary; H. J. Miller, treasurer; Edward Bacon and 
John F. Michael members; E. B. Cridler, superintendent for one year. 
The finishing up of the original system was practically done during 
the term of this board. Their report published March 1, 1899, follows: 

CONSTRUCTION ACCOUNT. 

Balance on deposit March 1, 1898 $1,537,87 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

C. H. Rowe, receiver Dansville Loan Asso. for right 

of way and land on Campbell farm 1,350.00 

B. G. Foss, legal services and disbursements 163.95 

John Dick, filling holes 7.50 

Total $1,521.45 

On deposit in bank 16. 42 

$1,537.87 



140 DAXSVILLE OF THE PAST 

MAINTENANCE FUND 

Balance on deposit March 1, 1898 1,851.43 

Water rents 3,364.39 

Tapping fees 328.27 

Village treasurer 1,500.00 

Other sources 3. 50 

Total $7,047.59 

DISmn^SEMENTS. 

For interest on bonds 3,375.00 

For Supt's salary (,(10.00 

For tapping fees 31().49 

For metres 264. 15 

For annual report and examining books 60.00 

For extending and repairing pipe line 77.23 

For miscellaneous expenses 203.42 

Total Disbursements 4,896.29 

Bal. on deposit M. &• F. Nat. Bank 2,151.30 

$7,047.59 

At the Charter Election in the spring of 1899, the personnel of the 
Board changed, C. W. Denton being the only old member retained. 
The new board consisted of J. B. Morey, Jr. , president; C. W. Den- 
ton, secretary; H. J. Miller, treasurer; Fred R. Driesbach and 
David E. Rau members. E. B. Cridler was retired as superintendent, 
and M. J. McNeil appointed for one year. During the administra- 
tion of this Board the fact became apparent that owing to continued 
dry seasons the water supply was not sufificient to meet all demands 
for water, and still keep the reservoir full and overflowing, and 
measure were begun which in the following year matured into the 
extension of the pipe line to a new source of supply from Little Mill 
creek. This board continued in power until the charter election in 
the spring of 1900, when the board again became Democratic. The 
report of the retiring board published March 1, 1900 is as follows: 

JIAINTENANCE FUND. 

March 1, 1899. 

On Deposit in Merchants & Farmers' Bank $2,151.30 

Bal. in construction acct. transferred If:. 42 

From water rents 3,863.13 

From village treasurer 1,200.00 

From tapping fees 407.84 

From other sources 15.79 



Total Receipts $7,654.48 



THE WATER WORKS 141 

niSBURSEMENTS. 

For interest on bonds $3,375.00 

For Supt. salary 400.00 

For tapping fees 431 . 00 

For land of Edward Zeigenfuss 300.00 

For E. B. Cridler salary Feb. 18'J9 50.00 

For meters and meter repairs 134.10 

Labor and material for repairs at springs, reservoir and . . . 

its connections 452.78 

For other expenses 355.4'^ 

$5,498.37 

Total disbursements $5,498.37 

Cash in Citizens bank 2,156.11 



$7,654.48 



The Board of Water Commissioners for the year 1900, were or- 
ganized Feb. 19, and its members were: Oscar Woodruff, president; J. 

E. Crisfield, secretary; Herman Hoffman, treasurer; Fred R. Driesbach, 
David E. Rau; E. A. Sprague, superintendent. On April 25 the 
board took up the question of the extension of the water system, and 

F. W. Dalrymple then city engineer of Hornellsville, was employed 
as engineer in charge. On May 23 the contract for labor and ma- 
terial was awarded to F. G. Kerivan & Co., of Frankfort, N. Y., for 
the sum of $5,462, their bid being the lowest of six submitted. On 
June 13 the question of the issue of bonds for payment of this ex- 
tension line was acted upon and decided that the issue of $9,000 be 
made as follows: Each bond to have the face value of $500, bearing 
zy-i per cent interest, payable semi-annually. The first bond to be- 
come due five years from date of issue, one bond becoming due each 
succeeding 3'ear until ihe entire issue was paid up. These bonds were 
sold to George C. White of New York, and brought a premium 
of 194.14. Making a total of the board in this fund of $9,194.14. 
The contract as per specification, called for the furnishing and laying of 
3, SOU feet of ten-inch cast iron pipe (105 tons) from the end of the 
pipe line system in front of the old California House on upper Main 
street up the gorge of Little Mill creek, 3,500 feet; and there to con- 
nect with a concrete dam; (this elevation was considered by the 
engineer of sufficient height above the reservoir to force the flow of 
water from said dam back into the resevoir,) also to furnish and lay 
1,000 feet (20 tons) of four-inch cast pipe and 1,000 feet of vitrified 
pipe on the original line of supply from the springs above the reservoir; 
also to construct on the north end of dam in the Mill creek gorge, a 
brick house into which the water from said dam should flow before 
entering the pipe. In this house are constructed two concrete tanks. 
The water flowing into the first or upper tank over a two-foot weir 
into second or lower tank. This first weir measures the entire amount of 
water flowing in. The pipe line feeds from the lower tank on the 
side of the second or lower tank into an overflow containing another 



142 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

two-foot weir, so that all is required to know how much water the 
pipe is drawing from the stream is to take the readings of the two 
weirs and subtract. The work was begun the first of Jul}' and on 
Aug. 2, the board formally accepted the same as satisfactorily com- 
pleted. The test of two lines used in connection with each other 
more than met the expectations of the board. 

The annual report of this board of March 1, I'Xil, was as follows: 

EXTENSION FUND. 

From sale of bonds $9,194.14 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

F. G. Kerivan & Co. contractors $5,()'»().l') 

F. W. Dairy mple engineer 3.3f).0f) 

Valentine Fogel right of way 150.00 

Commissioners in Angell suit 769.71 

Expert engineers " " 276.00 

Searchers and abstract " " 95.75 

Attorney fees " " 200.00 

Witness' fees " " 191.84 

< )ther expenses 163.64 

Total $7,879.19 

Deposited to credit of board M & F bank 1,314.95 

$9,194.14 

MA1NTEN.\NCE FUND. 

Rec'd from board W. C. 1899 $2,156.11 

Rec'd from water rents 4,525.()(» 

Rec'd from village treasurer 500.00 

Rec'd from tapping fees 370.73 

Rec'd from other sources 24.62 

Total receipts $7,577.06 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

For interest on bonds $3,375.00 

For interest on extension on bonds 157.50 

For Supt. salary 400.00 

For tapping mains 368.60 

For moving hydrants on Main street 45.90 

For supplies 57.75 

For printing 48.59 

For examination of books for 1900 30.00 

For meters and meter repairs 121.45 

For cleaning and repairing reservoir receving 

basin settling tank and its surroundings 71.85 

F''or office rent 50.00 

For treasurer's bond and other expenses 25.54 

Total $4,752.18 

For cash deposit in M & F bank 2,824.88 

$7,577.06 



THE WA TER WORKS 143 

The charter election of February, 1901, resulted in election of the fol- 
lowinj;- Board: Oscar Woodruff, president; James E. Crisfield, Herman 
Huffman, Henry Fedder and George P. Wheaton, members. J. E. 
Cristield was elected secretary and Herman Hoffman treasurer. E. 
A. Sprague was re-appointed superintendent. Nothing of any 
importance occurred to the system during the year. The supply 
of water in the springs kept up during the summer months so 
well that water was only let into the line from Little Mill creek once 
during that time and then only for a period of ten hours. In the fall 
during the cleaning and repairing of the reservoir and its surround- 
ings water was used from the creek for a short time and then shut off 
for the winter. The report as published March 4, 1902, is as follows: 

RECEIPTS. 

M-MNTENANCE FUND. 

March 1, 1901, Balance on deposit in M. and F. Bank . 2,824.88 

Rec'd from water rents 4,977.50 

" ■' tapping fees 2i)4.S6 

" " fines and old accounts 11.00 

" " metre repairs 16.65 

" " village treasurer 500.00 

Total $8,534.59 

RECEIPT EXTENSION FUND. 

March 1, I'Kil, Balance on deposit in M. and F. Bank $1,314.95 

MAINTENANCE FUND. ~' 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

Interest on regular bonds 3,375.00 

" " extension bonds 315.00 

Supt's salary 500.00 

Tapping mains 214.74 

Supplies 74.82 

Printing 44.50 

Examination of books 15.00 

Metres and metre repairs 90.74 

Repair work on streets, reservoir and its surroundings 92.32 

Office rent '. . 50.00 

Treasurer bond 15.50 

Office supplies 25. ()0 

Engineering work 30.00 

Attorney fees and expenses in Nancy E. Angell water 

suit 581.43 

C. P. Willey water rights and damages 185.00 

Rebates ■; 13.60 



Total $5,623.25 

March 4, 1902, Balance on deposit in M. and F. Bank 2,911.35 

$8,534.59 



144 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

EXTENSION FUND. 

DISBURSEMENTS. 

B. G. Foss, attorney for board 5u.(»0 

Altmeyer estate water rights and damages 75. OU 

Stephen Rauber " " " 75.00 

Repair work on lines 33.25 

Nancy E. Angell award 1,000.00 

Total $1,233.25 

March 4, l'i02, Balance on deposit in M. and F. Bank 81.70 

$1,314.95 

The charter election of February, 1902, retained Oscar Woodruff as 
president; J. E. Crisfield and Herman Hoffman the retiring members; 
so the Board remains the same now as last year with the same officers 
in power. James E. Crisfield and Herman Hoft'man were elected for 
two years. The term of President Woodruff", Henry Fedder and 
George P. Wheaton members, e.xpire March 1, 1903. 

The first tap for the use of water w-as made for the Blum Shoe Co., 
November 17, 1896, The total number of taps at the present time 
is 570. About 490 of these being in use. The service is classed as 
metrs, domestic and lawn. The mininum rate for metre service is ^i 
tap $12.00, ?/( tap $18.00, one inch tap $$25.00, domestic or lawn, 
(separate) $5.00 each, in connection $8.00 for both. Closets, bath tubs, 
wash bowls and all e.xtra service in proportion. 

Attention is called to the difference in the sums voted by the tax- 
payers as the reports show, for the maintenance of the system since 
1896 and the present time. And it is only from the fact that we have 
outstanding claims for water rights and damages that have not been 
satisfied, that they are called on to vote any appropriation for the 
maintenance of the system outside of the payment of the bonds them- 
selves. And this is only a question of a short time as the excess 
revenue, if such revenue is kept as it should be, will go a long ways 
toward providing for that, and the inhabitants in the near future will 
wonder how any village could exist without owning its own system of 
water works. 



CHAPTER XVII 
OtHer DetacHed Facts 




OUR last week's dispatch from Jericlio states that the water 
in the Dead Sea is salty. — Dansville Union of May 12, 1877, 
published by Hedges & Johnson, the present Judge Job E. 
Hedges of New York city, the senior partner. "Coming 
events (and men) cast their shadows before." 

The Dansville soldiers' monument, illustrated on page 50, 
was dedicated September 12. 1900. Officers of the day: 
Oscar Woodruff, president; Birdsall Kennedy, chief mar- 
shal. A number of prominent men from other parts of the 
state were present as invited guests. The oration was by 
Gen. A. D. Shaw of Watertown, commander-in-chief of the 
G. A. R.^of the United States, and there were addresses b)' President 
Woodruff, Col. N. P. Pond of Rochester, Judge Job E. Hedges of 
New York, Dr. J. H. Jackson, Commander J. H. Baker and Col. Wil- 
liam Kramer. G. F. Spencer had charge of the music, which included 
Ki])ling's "Recessional," sung by M. Roy Faville, and the singing of 
"The Star Spangled Banner" and "America" by the school children. 
In the fine parade were the well -drilled school children and represen- 
tatives of five G. A. R. posts. 

The school exhibition of Dansville academy, March 10, 1837 (see 
program, page 44), was held in the Presbyterian church on Main street 
which was burned in the fire of 1854. The house was so crowded that 
something gave way with a great crash in the cellar and there came 
near being a fatal jam, so excited were the people. Happily, some 
level-headed men kept the audience seated while an investigation was 
being made. The crash was caused by the cracking of a big stone in 
the foundation. This did not endanger the building, and the exer- 
cises went on without further interruption. 

R. F. Hicks had a select school in the vSmith block before he taught 
in the brick schoolhouse — 30 pupils, 18 boys and 12 girls, for which he 
received a salary of $1,000. 

i\Iiss Jennie DeWolfe of Bath, in the fifties, taught a select school 
of young ladies on the second floor of the block now occupied b\- Jo- 
hantgen Brothers. 

On the 16th of April, 1861, these members of Co. L,5'Jth militia, ten- 
dered that company to the commander-in-chief of the state for imme- 
diate service, and in case this tender was not accepted, they individu- 
ally tendered their services as volunteers under provision of the three 
million act, viz: Carl Stephan, Geo. Hasler, Geo. Hyland, Jr., Ralph 
T. Wood, H. R. Curtis, M. J. Bunnell, D. D. Stilwell, G. P. Ehle, A. 
]. Hartman, A. Kenney, DeForest P. Lozier, M. Harlo Fitch, G. B. 
"Stanley, Miles O. Wright, Wm. H. Drehmer, Ezra Marion. The ser- 
vices of the company could not be accepted, and these men volunteered 
and became a part of Co. B 13th N. Y. volunteers. It will be noticed 
that the paper is dated on the very day the act was passed authoriz- 



145 



146 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

ing the employing' and equipping of a volunteer militia and to provide 
for the public defence. The original local document is in possession 
of Maj. Mark J. Bunnell. This Co. L. was popularly known as the 
Old Canaseragas. 

In lSf)2, when silver had almost entirely disappeared, our banker, 
and many of our merchants issued "shinplasters" or paper currency 
in denominations of 5c to 50c, agreeing to pay the bearer of same in 
current bank notes in sums of one dollar or upwards. Many of these 
.shinplasters were printed at the ofHce of the Dansville Advertisers 
They circulated quite freely and were a great convenience. With the 
resumption of specie circulation these shinplasters disappeared. 

There was a memorial service to Dr. James Caleb Jackson, founder 
of the Jackson Sanatorium, October 1, 1895, the 37th anniversary of 
founder's day. A. O. Bunnell presided and there were addresses by 
Rev. John F. Clymer, D. D., Dr. F. M. Ferine, Oscar Woodruff, Rev. 
Georg"e K. Ward, F. W. Noyes, Rev. R. M. Stratton, D. D., and Mrs. 
Margaret Bottome; singing by Mrs. Alice Everitt Sprague and G. F. 
Spencer. 

In 1803, Peter Ferine, having received the heart rending news of 
his nephew being drowned near Buffalo in Lake Erie, set out on a 
journey to recover his body, armed with a document testifying to 
his character as a "wholesome citizen." This was signed by Isaac 
Van Deventer, Amh. Hammond, Es., Rich'd Porter, James Porter, 
Frederick Covert, Thomas Macklem, Geo. W. Taylor and Ram'l Mc- 
Crea. Dr. F. M. Ferine has the original document. 

"The undersigned, feeling the necessity of a religious organization 
free from the trammels of sect or dogma, while we seek after all 
truths in science, philosophy and religion, etc.," filed in office of the 
county clerk of Livingston county on Dec. 16, 1868, articles of associ- 
ation of the first Dansville society of Spiritualists, viz. : John Littles, 
A. E. Tilden, J. O. Kelly, Deborah Kelly, E. S. Littles, A. L. Bailey, 
Anna Bailey, Lucy Ramsden, Jane B. Godfrey, Mary A. Noble, A. 
W. Rowland, Sarah Howland. Annual meeting 1st Tuesday of Octo- 
ber each year. 

April 16, 184<), Lockwood L. Doty wrote to Dr. A. L. Gilbert from 
the Dansville postoffice that he had just finished a letter to the post- 
office department that they had moved the postoffice into Ossian street, 
first door below Kingsley's grocery and second door below George 
Wood's tin shop. Cady & Payne occupied the sides fitted with shelves 
as a grocery. Young Doty said he might stay with Mr. Brown until 
May 1, and H. C. Sedgwick was to enter the service as his successor. 
Charles Shepard had commenced on the walls of his block, R. S. 
Faulkner had raised the frame for his store, George Hyland had com- 
menced his cellar in front of the American hotel (the hotel stood back 
some distance from the street), Jonathan L. Sleeper had purchased the 
George Wood shop. At the town election the whigs elected only one 
officer, H. Howe as constable. Sidney Sweet was elected supervisor 
of North Dansville, Roswell Wilco-x (whig) of West Sparta, Morgan 
Hammond of Sparta. N. Dansville license, West Sparta no license. 

A number of enthusiastic young men and women of Dansville and 
vicinity started in 1841 for the far west to work as missionaries among 
the Indians, stirred thereto by the representations of a Rev. Mr. 



OTHER DETACHED FACTS 147 

Hunter. They stopped at the Quincy (111.) Institute for further 
instructions in the mission. They found everything so different from 
what had been represented that most if not all of them returned. 

At a Bachelors' ball at the American hotel, Dansville, Tuesday 
evening, Feb. 20, 1849, the managers were John A. VanDerlip, A. H. 
Bradner, Isaac L. Endress, Matthew McCartney, J. W. Brown, Ale.x. 
Thompson, S. S. Hammond, Geo. P. Reynale, Endress Hartman, D. 
C. Bryant, Luther Grant, John McCurdy ; the room managers were 
Wm. Hollister, C. W. Eastwood, Wm. G. Thomson, Barna J. Chapin ; 
music by Adams's band. 

H. A. Sprague and J. VanCampen vStout carried chain for Major 
VanCampen to survey the original village lines of Dansville. Mr. 
Sprague was working for M. H. Brown who sent him out two days as 
his contnbution toward the expense of the survey. 

May 11, 1835, a subscription paper was circulated for the construc- 
tion of a school building, afterwards known as the Dansville academy. 
Samuel Wilson and D. D. McNair were the last survivors of the forty- 
three signers, and they are dead. 

No less than twenty-five transfers of the Dansville paper mill prop- 
erty took place between Dec. 13, 1819, when it was bought at auction 
by James McNair, and Nov. 13, 19(10, when it was bought at auction 
by James jNIcNairn, the present owner, a somewhat singular coinci- 
dence in names and dates. Among the other owners were the Brad- 
leys and Sills, L. C. Woodruff, the Union and Advertiser Company of 
Rochester and Reuben Whiteman. It is now utilized for the manu- 
facture of tissue paper of a high grade. 

A notable loan art exhibition was held in Dansville in February, 
1879. More than seven hundred articles were catalogued. 

The ''old boys" of Dansville made frequent exhibitions of humor in 
various ways. On Oct. 17, 1878, a formal petition was presented to 
Matthew McCartney praying him to at once don his "all powerful 
linen breeches in order that the parched up earth, low streams, dug 
wells and cisterns may be replenished with a bountiful supply of water. " 
This was signed by the leading professional and business men of Main 
street. It was a current belief that it always rained when Mr. Mc- 
Cartney wore linen breeches. Endorsement on the petition: "Rain 
commenced falling same night." 

Sir John Lowther Johnstone of Wester-Hall, in the county of Dum- 
fries, in that part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ire- 
land, which is called Scotland, by his substitute Samuel vS. Haight, 
appears as first part in a contract with William Ferine of Dansville as 
the second part, in a land contract, dated Jan. 8, 1811. 

Dr. F. M. Ferine has a receipt for money received of his father 
William Ferine, signed by Nancy Faulkner, widow of Capt. Danl. 
Faulkner, June 8, 1804. 

At the time of the annexation of the present town of North Dans- 
ville to vSparta, Livingston county, in 1822, a dinner was given at the 
Rowley tavern to celebrate the event. So many toasts were drunk 
that some of the younger of the men became hilarious and insisted 
that all the bottles in the bar should be emptied and broken. Samuel 
Shannon, C. E. Clark, Dr. W. F. Clark and William H. Pickell were 
among those who thought it time to go home, and one after another 



148 DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

they quietly left. They were not missed until Pickell started, when 
some gave chase, but secured none of them. Deacon John McNair 
got on his horse to start for home, when others mounted one after 
another behind him and pushed him over his horse's head. There 
were many other amusing incidents of the night. 

In 1827 or 1828 Samuel Shannon had a store on the southeast corner 
of his lot where the W. T. Spinning house now stands, where he sold 
drugs and medicines. The intervening space between his house and 
store was occupied by Samuel Wilson's saddle and harness shop. 

There was a spirited debate in the state assembly March 22, 1845, 
in committee of the whole, on the bill to authorize Charles Shepard 
and others to connect a slip and basin with the side cut to the Genesee 
Valley canal at Dansville. The forcible and illegal cutting of the 
canal berm bank figured largely in the discussion. 

The postoffice was moved into the Maxwell block Feb. 2, 18')2. 

The Dansville Nursery Association was organized in February, 1892. 

The heaviest fogs in a generation shrouded this end of the Genesee 
Valley from Feb. 20 to 22, 1892. The hills on neither side of the valley 
could not be seen from Main street. 

The Frontier hotel on Jefferson street was burned May 5, 1 892. 

A Kneipp cure was opened by Father Rauber in the old seminary 
building on the hillside in the summer of 1892. 

The State Council of Empire Knights of Relief held its annual 
meeting in Dansville Dec. 4 and 5, 1894. 

The Dansville Farmers' club was organized ^larch 10, 1895. Pres- 
ident, George C. Stone; vice presidents, S. W. Tenney, A. J. Slaight, 
David Haynes, Zebulon Gibbs, Mrs. S. W. Tenney, Mrs. Lorenzo 
Hulbert, Mrs. George C. Stone; secretary, William W. Bean; treas- 
urer, E. L. McNair. 

The village trustees granted a franchise to the American Telegraph 
and Telephone Co. May 20, 1 895. 

The Cornell E.xperiment station made three different fertilizer ex- 
periments at Dansville in 1895 — two on nursery stock and one on beans. 

The annual state convention of the Equitable Aid Union was held 
in Dansville June 25 and 26, 1895. 

The county convention of the Political Equality club was held at 
the Jackson Sanatorium Feb. 4, 1897. 

Sept. 28, 1891, a large meeting was held, under the auspices of the 
Dansville board of trade, to consider a proposition for the removal of 
the Shults & Ruck Chair Co. plant from Avoca to Dansville. A. O. 
Bunnell presided, and remarks were made by him. Dr. J. E. Crisfield, 
D. O. Batterson, A. J. Whiteman, George J. Shidts, George A. Sweet, 
Dr. James H. Jackson, Rev. George K. Ward, William Kramer, W. 
T. Spinning and Dr. G. Bastian. A committee was appointed to 
solicit subscriptions. The first annual meeting of stockholders was 
held June 26, 1892, and directors elected as follows: A. O. Bunnell, 
George A. Sweet, William Kramer, Henry M. Altmeyer. A. O. Bun- 
nell was made president, G. A. Sweet vice president, H. M. Altmeyer 
secretary, and George J. Shults treasurer. William Kramer, G. A. 
Sweet and A. O. Bunnell were chosen financial committee. The pri- 
mary object of the enterprise was to increase the manufactures of the 
village, and provide employment for many more men, rather than to 



O THER DE TA CHED FA CTS 149 

make money. The Woodruff paper mill property was bought for $10,- 
01)0, and business commenced there then, with George J. Shults as 
superintendent. The first annual report was to the effect that the 
business was in a healthy condition, and a profit of over 8 per cent had 
been realized. About this time over 100 men were employed. The 
ne.\t year, 1892, was one of trying disappointments, and the directors 
advanced their personal credit while the stockholders voted to increase 
the capital stock from $57,000 to $()5,000. In 1893, a year of a grow- 
ing financial depression throughout the country, orders were few, col- 
lections slow, the factory could not be run more than half the time, 
and in December Charles H. Rowe was appointed receiver for the 
company. He sold the entire property, March 2, 1894, to F. W. Noyes 
as agent, for $14,501), the purchasers assuming the large indebtedness 
of the corporation. A new company was then organized, called the 
Shults Chair Co., capitalized at $40,000, which did business under the 
adverse conditions of a financial panic, debts and small sales at small 
profits, until losses compelled suspension in February, 1899. The 
property was finally sold at auction to John Hyland, he assuming 
mortgage and judgments, which made the whole purchase price about 
$f),000. 

The Dansville Savings and Loan Association was organized in 1888, 
and held its first annual meeting March 14, 1889. After a period of 
prosperity trouble came, and a receiver, Charles H. Rowe, was ap- 
pointed in February, 1897. In May, 1897, 25 per cent was divided 
among stockholders, the same again in September, and again a little 
later, making 75 per cent in all. A further dividend is expected. 

Many slaves were owned in New York in the early years of the cen- 
tury, and it is an interesting local fact that while Nathaniel Rochester 
lived in Dansville he freed a negro slave, Benjamin, about 16 years 
old, and another named Casandra, about 14 years old. The document 
of manumission is dated Jan. 29, 1811. 

Prof. J. Lyman Crocker, the first principal of Dansville academy in 
183f>, taught but one year here for a salary of $900. The second year 
he wanted his salary raised to $1,000, which the trustees declined to 
do. In this they made a mistake for he was greatly superior to his 
immediate successor as a teacher. Prof. Baldwin taught in the acad- 
emy in 1841-42. Prof. Crocker died in Genesee county Feb. 11, 1899. 

The first lodge of the Independent Order of Good Templars in 
Dansville was organized Oct. 1, 1858, and named Industry lodge No. 
211. The charter members were H. H. Farley, P. B. Bristol, E. E. 
Payne, G. C. Hayward, James H. Hoes, L. A. Eggleston, O. T. 
Crane, J. G. Sprague, Alvah Congdon, Sidney Sweet, D. Ingersoll, 
G. W. Shepherd, and the following ladies: Mrs. H. H. Farley, P. B. 
Bristol, E. E. Payne, J. L. Boon, G. W. Shepherd, James H. Hoes, 
Charles R. Kern, E. C. Daugherty, J. B. Gilman, D. L. Roe, James 
Brown, S. M. Webb. After a few years this lodge went down. In 
1868 Sparkling Water lodge No. 506 was organized and under the con- 
tagious enthusiasm and liberal contributions of Dr. James C. Jackson, 
grew to a membership of 730 with an average attendance of 400. Its 
meetings were held on the third floor of what is now Bunnell block, 
with ante-roomsonthesecond floor, and there was talk of cuttingthrough 
the north brick wall to add Canaseraga hall to the main room to ac- 



ISO DANSVILLE OF THE PAST 

commodate the membership, then the largest in the United States. 
But the time came (Nov. 13, 1871) when this lodge, following the ex- 
ample of its predecessor, surrendered its charter. But much good, 
still apparent, was accomplished in the brief but brilliant life of the 
lodge. Subsequent efforts to sustain the order of Good Templars in 
Dansville had little encouragement. 

The first driven well in Dansville, and perhaps in the world, was 
made by a son of Harley Lord, a merchant who occupied the corner 
store in the Dyer block. The well, made some time before 1852, con- 
sisted of an old boat pump sunk in a crowbar hole in the cellar of the 
store. Nelson W. Green, an insurance agent in Dansville, caught on 
to the idea from this well, secured a patent for driven wells, and en- 
deavored, with partial success to collect royalties from every one who 
infringed on his patent. 



CHAPTER XVIII 



A tSumTnin^ Up 




Head of the Genesee Valley — Geology — The Hills and Valley — Fertility of 
the Soil — Glens — Our Home on the Hillside — Coterie — The Library — 
Musical and Dramatic — Outdoor Recreations — Public Spirit. 

THE area of Livingston county is 380,665 acres, and that of 
the town of North Dansville 5,560 acres. The Genesee 
valley beginning at Dansville, 685 feet above the sea and 
400 feet above Lake Ontario, is about fifty miles long and 
from one and one-half to four miles wide. The Genesee 
river, beginning in Potter county, Pa., flows 145 miles to 
Lake Ontario, 125 miles of which is in this state. Canas- 
eraga creek, its largest tributary, rises in Nunda, runs 
through a section of Steuben county, and returns to this 
county across the south line of North Dansville. It re- 
ceives the waters of united Mill and Little Mill creeks and 
of Stony brook within the limits of the town, and after 
flowing thirty miles from its source enters the Genesee near the north- 
east corner of the town of Mt. Morris. 

The lowest rock of Livingston county is the water line of the Onon- 
daga salt group. Above this in succession are the Onondaga and 
corniferous limestones, the Marcellus shale, the Hamilton group, 
Genesee slate and Portage group, the latter occupying the high lands 
in the south part of the county. The town of North Dansville is 
underlaid by the Portage sandstone group. The soil is mostly al- 
luvion and superior timber bottoin lands of clay, gravel and muck. 
The fiats are unsurpassed for the production of grains, vegetables and 
fruits, and vineyards on the hillsides produce abundantly succulent 
grapes of the finest flavor. The flats are so well adapted to the grow- 
ing of nursery stock that the extensive nurseries cultivated there have 
become famous in many states, and there is only one other locality in 
New York where tree-planting is so extensive. 

The eastern hills rise steeply 800 feet, pleasing promontories are 
formed by the centering streams on the south, and on the west the 
land slopes into broad billowy hills. Froin the high points along the 
eastern steeps may be seen one of the most lovely landscapes in the 
world, which has been looked upon with exclamations of delight by 
appreciative tourists who have traveled far and seen much. In late 
autumn the hillsides, with their varieties of foliage, looked at from 
the valley, present marvels of many-hued colors, the equal of which 
may not easily be found elsewhere. Short distances from the village 
are Stony brook and Culbertson glens, silently inviting the people 
to their rocky solitudes and rushing waterfalls, and along their pre- 
cipitous banks may be found an uncounted variety of shrubs, plants 
and flowers, among and above which the birds love to flit and sing. 

Passing from the physical characteristics of Dansville, let us notice 
others less palpable, but more important. The situation, surround- 



151 




VIEW IN GREtNMOUNT CEMKTARY 













.>ji.Mk 


^''■^'Wir '^^w^^' 


n^ 


Mm. 


a^ 


P" 


'■■^^■:&:." '-v; 


' w 


K,i 




if"- 




■ 1' 


i: 


-^ 


flifl^/.. fl[ 


m. 






:--^P:'' 






1 




^ 


• '^■-v^t'' 




" 


~k^!>i=£tTWji^ti 











DRIVE NEAR SANATOKIUM 



.-; S[\]L]I/NC UP 153 

ings, associated traditions and mental and moral influences have been 
such as to produce a somewhat exceptional village community. One 
institution which has been largely instrumental in making it so is the 
great Jackson Sanatorium, formerly known as "Our Home on the 
Hillside." Starting nearly half a century ago under the manage- 
ment of a strong original man — who even then perceived and applied 
the best therapeutics of today, and soon gave it fame by means of his 
eloquent tongue, ready pen, and successful treatment of the sick — -it 
has made steady progress from then till now. Dansville people have 
received two important kinds of benefit in large measure from this 
institution: One is, the more hopeful and reasonable ideas regarding 
human life imbibed from its constant droppings in their midst, in 
speech, magazine, newspaper and pamphlet, with the good results of 
treatment as object lessons; and the other is, the intellectual and 
social gain derived from some of the wisest and brightest minds 
whom it has attracted as patients, companions and guests. The im- 
pressions thus made upon the community may not be distinctly trace- 
able in direct channels, but observing citizens can hardly fail to per- 
ceive that they have been pervading and valuable. 

Another potent influence has come from the admirable literary 
circle known as the Coterie, which was organized in the fall of 1873 
and has been kept vigorous ever since. Started some years before the 
Chautauqua circles began or the "Chautauqua idea" had been evolved 
in the mind of Dr. Vincent, it was conceived and has been carried 
forward on a broader and more liberal plan than the Chautauquan, 
and has enlarged the views of its members to an incalculable extent. 
A general survey of the subjects it has considered and the variety of 
good work it has done would astonish any appreciative mind unac- 
quainted with its history. The benefits thus obtained by the mem- 
bers have been more or less reflected upon the village as a whole, and 
helped to educate young and old without as well as within the little 
society. It is doubtful if there is in the state, outside of the colleges 
and the largest cities, a literary society of its age which has accom- 
plished so much in proportion to membership. And its good reputa- 
tion has extended so far that several circles in other comiuunities 
have been modeled after it. 

Similar have been the effects of the successful movement by a few 
earnest men and women for a circulating library, from which books 
began to be distributed about the time that Coterie was born, and 
which was kept up and annually enlarged by the efforts of its private 
Library association until it was transferred to the supervision of the 
state and began to receive the state moneys, thereby becoming the 
large nucleus for the larger free district library. It has supplied the 
citizens with useful and entertaining reading, which they would not 
otherwise have had, for nearly thirty years, and is now one of the 
very best of village libraries both in the quality and number of its 
books! 

Dansville is quite noted in Western New York for its social amen- 
ities and functions and its dramatic entertainments by amateur home 
talent. Much inspiration productive of the latter has been derived 
from the Sanatorium, where Mr. Spencer for a score of years has been 
resourceful in preparing or arranging for weekly theatrical and musi- 




IN STONY BROOK GLEN 



A SUMMING IT 155 

cal entertainments, in the Sanatorium parlors and liall, which have 
been surprisingly varied and excellent. Down town the Union Hose 
company takes precedence in the quality and elaborate character of 
its annual representations, which are eagerly looked forward to by al- 
most the entire population, and compare favorably with the best class 
of vaudeville shows of the cities. 

That Dansville believes in play spells and recreation appears not 
only in its frequent social gatherings and local entertainments, but 
the interest of its people in out-door sports, their frequent celebra- 
tions, excursions and picnics, and the numerous cottages they have 
built'for summer occupation on Hemlock and Conesus lakes. 

That they have superior recuperative power in times of depression 
is evident in their quick financial recovery from the two very disas- 
trous bank failures in 1884 and 1887. If they have sometimes seemed 
lacking in public spirit, it has been attributable more to the confus- 
ing effects of party strife or the opposing influences of wealthy fam- 
ilies than an untoward natural disposition. The fine and expensive 
school building— costing $26,500, and because of loss of deposits in a 
bank failure, twice paid for— some of its churches, its three parks, its 
macadamized streets, its first-class water works and fire department, 
its beautiful and well-kept Greenmount cemetery, are evidences that 
it is easy for them to rise above petty pocket considerations and 
spend their money for the public good when their eyes are opened to 
public needs But the most of them are conservative, as the eight 
orthodox churches, the absence of isms, the annual democratic major- 
ities since very long ago, and the not remote old school house on the 
square with old methods of instruction, go to show. And it required 
a village improvement society, with energetic Dr. B. P. Andrews at 
the head after years of agitation and Dennis Bunnell's more practical 
and persistent efforts had partly cleared their vision, to arouse them 
to a keen sense of the need for park improvements, but they saw at 
last and then acted. This conservatism is better than being ' blown 
about by every wind of doctrine," but it must be confessed that it is 
too slow It is believed, however, that they are more and more get- 
ting out of their old ruts, through the influences of the hillside insti- 
tution, the newspapers, the Coterie, and more than all, the now ex- 
cellent High school and the two parochial schools. There is no eye- 
opener equal to good schools and universal education therein of rich 
and poor alike. 



Biog'rapHies 



m 




JAMES H. JACKSON 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



James H. Jackson 

James Hathaway Jackson, the subject of this sketch, has been for 
forty-four years a citizen of Dansville, and intimately connected with 
the Jackson Sanatorium, in its foundation, growth and development. His 
great-o'reat-great grandfather was Lieutenant John Jackson, an inn 
keeper of Cambridge, Mass., who inherited the Brattle street lands of 
his uncle Richard Jackson, and who was active in Cambridge affairs 
from lft()(l to 16'M)^ and a member of Major Appleton's company in the 
Narragansett war. His great-great grandfather was Deacon John 
Jackson, born in Weston, Mass. ; and who was one of the first settlers 
of Tyrringham, Mass. His great grandfather was Col. Giles Jackson 
of Monterey, Mass., who was major of the first Berkshire regiment of 
the Massachusetts militia, and served in the Revolutionary war, being 
a member of the staff of General Horatio Gates at the battle of Sara- 
toga, and had the honor of engrossing the terms of capitulation which 
General Burgoyne signed upon his surrender to General Gates. His 
grandfather was James Jackson, physician, surgeon and farmer of 
Manlius, Onondaga county, New York. He was post surgeon at Sack- 
ett Harbor in the war of 1812. His father was Dr. James Caleb Jack- 
son, a sketch of whom will be found in this history. On his mother's 
side he was a descendant of Elder William Brewster and Gov. William 
Bradford of the Pilgrim Fathers, his mother being the daughter of 
Judge Elias Brewster of Mexico, N. Y. 

Born and reared until the age of seven years in the town of Peterboro, 
Madison county, N. Y., he then with his father went to Glen Haven, 
Cayuga county, where he lived until 1858, being 17 yearsof age the fall he 
came to Dansville. He attended school in the old brick schoolhouse 
under Prof. Seager, and afterwards finished his education at the Dans- 
ville seminary under the same teacher. He graduated from East- 
man's Commercial college in the spring of 1861, and became the 
cashier and bookkeeper of his father's institution in the month of May 
of that year, and the next year became superintendent and general 
business manager, which office he held without interruption or any 
interregnum until 1883, when for three years the management passed 
into the hands of W^illiam E. Leffingwell, under the new organization 
of the Sanatorium. In 1864 he married Katherine Johnson, daughter 
of Hon. Emerson Johnson of Sturbridge, Mass., who afterwards came 
to live with his son-in-law. On the death of his brother Giles E. Jack- 
son he became a partner in 1864 in the institution, whose business he 
continued to manage. In 1873 he began his medical studies, graduat- 
ing in the spring of 1876 from the Bellevue Hospital Medical college 
of New York city, and at once entered upon a professional career as 

150 



160 BIOGRAPHICAL 

his father's first assistant on the medical staff of the institution. His 
father's declining health gave him a leading position on the staff from 
1882 onward. In the year 1888 he bought out his partners, the broth- 
ers Leflingwell, and became sole owner of the great institution. He, 
however, at once associated with himself in the ownership and man- 
agement of the institution Dr. Walter E. Gregory and his wife, Mrs. 
Helen Davis Gregory. On May 4, 1868, James Arthur Jackson was 
born, the ovXy son of Dr. James H. and Katherine Jackson, who early 
became associated with his father in the business of the institution, 
and was admitted to ownership and to the directorate of it in 1900. 

Dr. Jackson is also interested in the business and social life and en- 
terprise of the town, and is an active participant in all movements for 
its progress and development. He was admitted a member of Phoenix 
Lodge No. 115 F. and A. M. July 16, 1867, and in 1879 became Worship- 
ful Master for a term of years. He is also a member of Dansville Roval 
Arch Chapter No. 91. He served his time as a member of the Board 
of Education when the new High school was first started, and was a 
member of the Board of Trustees of the Dansville Cemetery Associa- 
tion and was the first Republican village president elected in the his- 
tory of the town after a pleasant rivalry with his lifelong friend, George 
A. Sweet, being elected only by a narrow majority of a vote or two. 

His residence on the corner of Health and William streets, known 
as '"Brightside," was occupied by him and other members of his fam- 
ily from the year 1870 to 1901, at which time he moved with his fam- 
ily into the handsome structure known as "Alta Vista," built on the 
grounds formerly owned by Mr. and Mrs. Paul Bouyon just south of 
the Sanatorium. 

Dr. Jackson is a member of the Sons of the American Revolution, 
the Society of Colonial Wars and the Society of Mayflower Descend- 
ants. 

^ ^^ 

THe Hyland Family 

The Hylands of Dansville were a remarkable family, now extinct. 
The three men — father and two sons — were striking individualities, 
with powerful wills, great persistence, and keen perceptions, who 
generally succeeded in what they undertook, and whose straight- 
forward honesty was proverbial. While the}- were generous to a 
fault in the direction of their likes, they could dislike as strongly, 
and never shrank from a contest because of the strength and numbers 
of their adversaries. Those who knew them as they were — not always 
as they seemed — liked them best or admired them most. 

George Hyland, Sr., was born in Ireland June 21, 1803, and came 
with his father's family to America when he was fourteen years old. 
They located in Toronto Canada, where the father died two years after- 
ward. Then the young George began the struggle of life with the 
determination which never failed him. He did farm work, attending 
school at intervals and then, from 1820 to 1824, worked at and thor- 
oughly learned the hatter's and furrier's trade in Toronto. In 1824 
he went to Prescott, from Prescott to Ogdensburg, N. Y., and from 



162 BIOGRAPHICAL 

Ogdensburg to Bethel, N. Y. In Bethel he attended school nearly a 
year working between school hours to pay his way. In May, 1829, he 
came to Dansville, and it became his future home. He opened a store 
for the sale of dry-goods, hats, caps, and furs, and this was the begin- 
ning of his successful business career, which continued without failure 
during the rest of his life. He was first a Whig in politics, but iden- 
tified himself with the Republican party soon after its organization, 
and in 1860 was elected Member of Assembl)^ after nearly a imani- 
mous nomination in the Republican County Convention. In 1865 he 
was appointed postmaster, but his free and open criticisms of Presi- 
dent Johnson's administration policy led to his dismissal. He was 
never an office seeker and never a political trimmer, but always zeal- 
ous for his party because he believed in it. He could make a good 
political speech when an occasion seemed to require one from him and 
it was sure to be brief, pointed and forcible like his private conversa- 
tion, but he did not care for such opportunities. 

George Hyland was rigid in his business methods and he never de- 
viated a hair's breadth from strict honesty, never took advantage of 
anyone in any transaction. He was much more generous than his 
neighbors supposed him to be. To needy creditors he was lenient and 
kind, and he distributed many private charities which were never men- 
tioned by himself and if the}' became known it was through the recip- 
ients or their friends. j\Iany recipients never knew from where their 
relief came. He was one of Dansville's most public spirited citizens, 
and did what he well could to build up the village, make it prosperous 
and give it a good reputation abroad. The sub-branch of the Genesee 
Valley Canal near the center of the village, which was invaluable dur- 
ing the booming decade that followed, would never have been con- 
structed but for his energetic efforts and unyielding will. In 1873 he 
erected the four-story Hyland Block with its fine stores and largest 
and best hotel in Livingston County. But to enumerate all that he 
did for Dansville and its citizens in practical, judicious and wholly 
unostentatious ways would fill a book. In a local, political or personal 
fight he was always aggressive and determined, and generally won. 

In 1833 George Hyland married the widow of Jacob Sholl who died 
about 1828. She was a daughter of Major Thomas Lemen. By Jacob 
Sholl she had a son, William H. Sholl, and a daughter Catharine 
Lemen vSholl. Both moved to Cleveland, Ohio. Catherine married 
Col. E. A. Scovill of Cleveland in Dansville in 1845, and their son 
E.T. Scovill, is now a resident of Dansville. Mrs. Hyland was a woman 
of lovely character, almost worshipped by her husband and children, 
and their domestic life was a very happy cine. 

George Hyland, Jr., was born December 27, 1834, and died June 12, 
1896. With some of the strong traits of his father he possessed others 
which brought him into wider contact with the world and the refine- 
ments of polite society. He early acquired much legal and general 
business knowledge. His military career in the Civil War was bril- 
liant. He was commissioned as first lieutenant of Co. B. 13th N. Y. 
Infantry in April 1861, and was in the active and dangerous service 
of that fighting regiment for two years. He was soon promoted to 
Captain and then to Major, and last was breveted Colonel for his gal- 
lantry in battle. Before his enlistment he had been one of Col. T. B. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 103 

Grant's crack militia company, the Canaseragas, and therein had ac- 
quired a l<nowledge of drill and discipline which greatly increased his 
efficiency in the Union Army. Jlark J. Bunnell who served by his 
side, relates an incident which illustrates his impetuous bravery. 
Once when leading his company in a charge, Col. Hyland rushed so 
far ahead that he was surrounded by rebels. He refused to surrender 
and after emptying his revolver, nearly every shot of which was fatal, 
threw it at his opponents, wrenched a musket from one of them and 
using it as a club, continued fighting until he fell unconscious from 
wounds, and in this condition was found by his men when they came 
up. He was not seriously injured, and in a few days was again ready 
for active service. In another engagement he was seriously wounded 
in the side and head from the bursting of a shell. He never recovered 
fully from the nervous shock caused by these injuries. The effect of 
the blow on the head was more apparent in after years, occasionally 
inducing great worry and excitement over matters that at other times 
he would have regarded as trivial. He was unusually courteous and 
genial, and his popularity in the best circles of Rochester, while he 
lived there, is still spoken of among his former acquaintances. 

Col. Hyland was elected vSheriiT of Livingston County in 1867, and 
filled the office with conspicuous ability for three years. He was also 
Republican State Committeeman for this Congressional District and 
in 1869 and 1875 was a member of the Governor's staf? as inspector of 
the National Guard. For a time after the war he was engaged in 
business in Rochester, and there became a member of the famous vol- 
unteer fire company, the Alert Hose. In this he acquired experience 
and knowledge as a fireman, which made him the most valuable aid 
in the organization of the new Dansville Fire Department in 1874. 
He was the first foreman of the Union Hose Company and the first 
chief engineer of the Dansville Fire Department. He more than 
anyone else was instrumental in bringing the department to its pres- 
ent unquestioned efficiency. Later, Col. Hyland gave close attention 
to his father's business, and during his later years was engaged in the 
lumber business in Wisconsin and Minnesota. He never married. 

John Hyland, the second and youngest son of George Hyland, was 
born January 27, 1837, and died February 15, 1900. Like his brother 
he remained a bachelor. The most of his life was spent in Dansville, 
but in 1857 he went to California and was gone about three years. 
Then he engaged in placer mining on the Feather River at Marysville 
and for sometime was employed by the Wells Fargo Express Com- 
pany to convey packages and letters through the Indian country on 
horseback, an extremely dangerous undertaking, but it appealed to 
his love of risk and adventure, and he successfully accomplished the 
work, continuing it until the Indian troubles were over. When Gen. 
Lander made his famous reconnoissance for a military road across the 
mountains from California to Nevada, Mr. Hyland enlisted with him 
as a scout. He participated in the numerous fights with the Indians, 
who opposed the expedition, and did such valuable scouting service 
as to enlist warm commendations from his gallant commander. He 
returned to Dansville when the Civil War began, and Gen. Lander 
offered him a commission if he would join his troops in the field; but 
Mr. Hyland decided that his place was at home with his father and 



164 BIOGRAPHICAL 

mother while his brother was fighting at the front. Two or three 
times during the war, however, at the solicitation of Gen. Lander he 
made hazardous trips through the rebel lines, the exact nature of 
which he did not disclose. He rendered other useful service in en- 
listing recruits under a commission from Gov. Morgan, and after the 
second battle of Bull Run went to Virginia with A. O. Bunnell to find 
and relieve some of the wounded and sick soldiers. 

For many years after the war John Hyland was the most influential 
factor in Livingston county politics as a republican leader and coun- 
selor and his advice and assistance were often sought by prominent 
republicans of other counties. He was postmaster three successive 
terms during the administrations of Presidents Grant, Hayes and 
Arthur, and might have had other important offices if he had desired 
them. After his father's death he relaxed his grasp upon politics, 
and devoted himself to business. He delighted in fishing and hunting 
and was a member of the Winons Point Shooting Club near Sandusky, 
Ohio, and of the Adirondack Club on Fish Creek, a famous trout 
stream in the wilds of Oneida and Oswego counties, where he would 
go for a few weeks each year with his Cleveland and Pulaski friends. 
Once a party of them were held up by a highwayman on the stage 
road, when Mr. Hyland instantly leaped from the wagon upon him, 
and bore down and took his revolver from him. This is but one of 
numerous episodes in his life which showed his quick presence of 
mind and entire fearlessness, and his strength and agility were equal 
to his courage. When there were rows and other disturbances in 
Dansville he was the man to cow the bullies and fighters and restore 
peace. 

John Hyland was "a plain, blunt man," but thoroughly humane 
and was always a kind and helpful friend of the poor and distressed. 
He visited many sick people, carried or sent to them needy comforts 
and often sat by their bedsides and cared for them. Like his father 
he was lenient to honest debtors and has released not a few of them 
from burdensome obligations. Like his father, also, he was quiet and 
private in his generosities which were frequent and diversified. 
Before Thanksgiving and Christmas days he would give orders to 
dealers to send supplies in accordance with lists furnished, to 
the most needy families of the village, charging each tradesman to 
say nothing about the source from which they came. Withal John 
Hyland was an appreciative reader of the English classics, and loved 
Shakespeare especially, from whose plays he could quote many pas- 
sages. 

Such was John Hyland — a man without pretense or hypocrisy, brave, 
loyal and generous. If he harbored unjust dislikes to political or per- 
sonal foes, so keen were his perceptions, so logical his conclusions that 
they were very few. It is doubtfxil if anyone has died in Dansville 
within the last quarter century who was more respected and beloved. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 165 

£liHu L. Stanley 

Elihu Lewis Stanley, Dansville's oldest citizen, died August 22, 
1902. Mr. Stanley was born in Goshen, Conn., Nov. 11, 1808, one 
of ten children, of whom Mrs. James Orton of Geneseo is the only sur- 
vivor. In ISll the Stanley family came to Mount Morris, then Allen's 
Hill. In 1830 Mr. Stanley came to Dansville and served as clerk in 
Luther Melvin's general store for nine months. He then went away 
to return the following year to make Dansville his home. In 1832 he 
was clerk for W. F. Clark in the mercantile and lumbering business. 
Later he conducted a store of his own for a few years on the present 
site of the postoffice. In 1845-6 he cleared $8,000 in the Woodville 
mill, and in 1847 bought twelve acres of land for $5,000, including 
shop, dam and water privilege, on which he built the stone grist mill, 
now owned by Frank G. Hall, at a cost of $10,000. Mr. Stanley mar- 
ried Miss Mercy Brace in West Hartford, Conn., who died about 
twenty years ago. Their only child, George B. Stanley, was killed at 
the second battle of Bull Run. Mr. vStanley was an extensive dealer 
in grain and mill products for himself and for Rochester millers. 
During the past twenty years he has been retired from active life and 
for twelve years had lived with Miss Ada Smith, daughter of his sister, 
Mrs. George R. Smith. ^Ir. Stanley was a member of the Presbyter- 
ian church from the building of the first church in Dansville. He re- 
tained his interest in church and society to the last, and was quite 
active physically and mentally until last December, since which time 
he has been largely confined to the house. 

The introductory sketch to chapter viii. entitled "Recollections of 
Living Old Citizens," and containing a half-tone engraving of Mr. 
Stanley, is reminiscent of him, having been written at his dictation 
only a few months ago. 

THe Cogswell Family 

William Cogswell, the manager of an extensive lumber yard at the 
foot of West Avenue, Dansville, N. Y. , is held in high repute through- 
out this portion of Livingston County as a man of fair business deal- 
ings and upright personal character. He was born in Dansville, Octo- 
ber 3, 1850, and is the offspring of an old Connecticut family, his father 
and paternal grandfather, both of whom were baptized Daniel Cogs- 
well, being natives of that State. The senior Daniel remained there 
until of middle age, when he removed to Schuyler County, New 
York, where he bought and improved a small farm, on which he 
passed the remainder of his life. He was twice married, the 
father of William being a child of his second union. Daniel 
Cogswell, Jr. was reared to manhood in Schuyler County, re- 
ceived a good common-school education, and was thoroughly initiated 
into the mysteries of agriculture on the paternal homestead. Some 
time during the forties he came to this county and located in Dans- 
ville, where for many years he kept a grocery store. In 1855 he 
began dealing in lumber, selling to the wholesale trade in Rochester. 
Four years later, having already secured a good start, he established 



^ 




DAMLL CUtjb\VLLL. JR. 



BIO GRA PHICA L 167 

the business now carried on by his son William, continuing it until 
the time of his decease, in February 1876, at the age of fifty-seven 
years. While in Schuyler County he wooed and won the afifections of 
Miss Hettie Owen: and their happy union was gladdened by the birth 
of three children — iMary E., Elura, and the afore mentioned William, 
Mary, now deceased, was the wife of Jacob J. Gilder; and Elura 
married Henry C. Fenstermacher. The mother is still living, and the 
son makes his home with her, devoting himself to her comfort and hap- 
piness. Daniel Cogswell, Jr., was quite prominent in this section of 
the county, actively interested in its political and religious welfare, 
and was for many years an ordained minister of the Advent church, 
preaching in Dansville and the surrounding towns. He held many 
high public offices, serving several years as Justice of the Peace, be- 
sides which he was village Trustee, Assessor, and Highway Commis- 
sioner, receiving the nomination of both political parties, although he 
was a staunch Democrat. 

Since the death of his father, William Cogswell has carried on the 
lumber business, greatly increasing its extent. He has also succeeded 
in a large measure to the position formerly occupied by his father in 
the management of local and county matters, having served continu- 
ously the past twelve years as the village Assessor and town Assessor. 
For many years he was a member of the Protective Fire Company of 
this town, but is now exempt from active duty, although an honorary 
member of the company. In politics he has followed the teachings of 
his youthful days, and is an ardent supporter of the Democratic ticket. 
Socially j\Ir. Cogswell is a member of the iMaccabees and also of the 
local order of Red Men. 

TKe Ferine Family 

Capt. William Ferine was a soldier of the Revolution, serving five 
years under Gen. Francis Marion, and receiving an honorable dis- 
charge at the end of the war. He came to this state from Cambridge, 
Mass. There were but four families in Dansville when he arrived 
here in 1779 from Williamsburg, N. Y. He took up the tract of land 
along Main street known as the Ferine Tract, extending north to the 
Hammond farm and south to the present Liberty street. He subse- 
quently sold all his land south of Ferine street, and retained the rest 
until he died. This extended from Main street to the foot of East hill. 
He built a log house, afterwards a frame house a little east of Health 
street and in front of the present Sanatorium, and still later the home- 
stead at the end of Ferine street. He raised a family of four boys and 
six girls, all of whom are dead while only four of his grandchildren are 
living. He was born in 1756 and died in 1849. He was both amiable 
and brave, as became a captain of the Revolutionary army, and the 
Indians of the early days feared and respected him. 

His son, Feter Ferine, was born in Dansville Aug. 7, 1779, soon 
after the coming of his father. When he had grown to manhood he 
bought a farm on East hill, and after his father's death became pos- 
sessor of a portion of his land including the old homestead and the 









^.4- 






f - 






>_^^>y 






II^^^^P^^V 






^^^^Bw^^ N 






^^^^^^^^^^^^■> ^^H^^n r ■ iK 






^^H^_. . ^HB£^ \ 






FRANCIS M. PERINE 



JUOGRAPHICAL 169 

famous All Healing- Spring. He always followed the farmer's occupa- 
tion. He was one of the charter members of the Presbyterian church, 
and retained his connection with it during life, or half a century. He 
was one of the first to identify himself with the Washingtonian tem- 
perance movement, and was in the habit of giving free and courageous 
expression to both his religious and temperance convictions. He was 
thoroughly conscientious and faithful to duty as he understood it in 
all the relations of his quiet life with church and people. He died 
March 9, 1883, aged 83/i years. His surviving children are Dr. 
F. M. Ferine of Dansville, and Thomas L. Ferine of Ohio. 

Dr. Francis Marion Ferine, oldest son of Peter Ferine, named for 
his grandfather's favorite general, was born in Dansville, March 27, 
1831. He studied medicine with Dr. Endress, and graduated from 
the Buffalo Medical College in March, 1855. He has practiced medi- 
cine almost half a century — five or six years in Byersville, and the rest 
of the period in Dansville — with skill, prudence and success. For 
twenty-one years he held the office of coroner. He is a Mason, and was 
a high priest of the order five years. He has been a prominent and 
useful member of the Livingston County Historical Society from the 
time of its organization. He was president of the society in 1886 and 
is now and has been for years president of its board of councilmen. 
Among the local positions which he has held is that of president of the 
village, and member of the board of education of Dansville High School. 
In politics he is a republican, in religion a Presbyterian, and his pres- 
ent good health and undimmed faculties indicate that he will live to 
serve his church and country many years longer with accustomed 
enthusiasm and public spirit. 

^* ^ 

WillisiTn Kramer 

William Kramer, a veteran of the Civil War, merchant tailor and 
dealer in ready made clothing and gentlemen's furnishings in Dans- 
ville, was born in Gettersbach, province Hessen Darmstadt, Germany, 
July 31, 1842. Bernhardt Kramer, father of William, received his 
ecUication in the schools of Germany, and learned the trade of a cooper, 
which he followed in his native country until 1847, when he came to 
America, bringing his eldest son Adam with him. He settled for a 
time in Dansville, and worked at his trade in the shop of his brother 
John on Ferine street. In 1849 he and his son Adam went to New 
Orleans. While there his sight became impaired and he decided to 
return to his family in Germany for treatment. He eventually re- 
covered his sight, and in 1856 came with his wife and children to 
Dansville where he followed his trade to the time of his death, which 
occurred in April, 1872, at the age of seventy-two. 

The maiden name of the wife of Bernhardt Kramer was Eva Eliz- 
abeth Freidel. She was a native of Germany and she and her husband 
had five children as follows; Adam, who left his father at New 
Orleans and went to California, and there died in 1858; Catherine, 
who married Louis Hess of Ottawa, 111. ; Fred, George, and William 
the subject <.)f this sketch. The mother died at Dansville at the age 




WILLIAM KRAMER 



r.IOCRAPHICAL 



171 



of seventy-three. Both she ami her husband were members of the 
German Lutheran church. 

William Kramer came to Dansville at the age of fourteen. In 1857 
he entered the employ of James Krein, a grocer, as clerk, remaining 
three years, and then filled a like position in the employ of Milton J. 
Puffer, the clothier. Messrs. Kellogg & Nares purchased the stock of 
Mr. Puffer in 1861 and Mr. Kramer remained with them until August, 

1862. His patriotism and love for his adopted country made him 
enlist as private in Company K, One Hundred and Thirtieth Regi- 
ment of New York Infantry, serving as such until the summer of 

1863, when the regiment through the influence[of its Colonel, Alfred 
Gibbs, were mounted and united with the cavalry forces of the 
Potomac, and thereafter known as the First New York Dragoons. 




RESIDENCE. WILLIAM KRAMLR 



Mr. Kramer was promoted to corporal in 1862, to sergeant in 1863 
and to sergeant-major in 1865. He was wounded on the 10th of May 

1864, at Beaver Dam Station, Va., by a minie ball, which necessitated 
his confinement in a hospital for six weeks. 

After his discharge from the service at Cloud's Mills, Va., in July, 

1865, the war being ended, he returned to Dansville and accepted a 
position as clerk in the clothing store of Fritz Durr, with whom he 
remained until the year 1872. Mr. Kramer next formed a co-partner- 
ship with his brother Fred, and established a clothing business in the 
Krein Block, under the firm name of Kramer Brothers, said firm re- 
maining in business until 1886. William Kramer then purchased his 
brother's interest, and continued the business until 1893, when he 



172 BIOGRAPHICAL 

admitted his son Fred as a partner, the firm being now William 
Kramer & Son. They carry a full line of ready-made clothing and 
gentlemen's furnishings. A custom tailoring departnient under the 
management of his son Carl, is a great addition to the business. 

!Mr. Kramer married Margaret Huber, a native of Dansville, whose 
father was a farmer and came to western New York many years ago 
from Germany. Mrs. Kramer is the mother of six children ; namely, 
Mary E., who married Edward C. Schwingel, a manufacturer of the 
Red Star Boiler Compound, Buffalo, N. Y. , who have two children 
named ^Margaret and Mildred; Fred L., Carl B., William and Florine. 
William died at the age of eighteen, and a twin sister at the age of 
three months. The children were educated at the public schools of 
Dansville. Fred attended also the Normal school at Geneseo, and 
both he and Carl B. attended the business college in Rochester. 

Mr. Kramer is a member of Phoenix Lodge, No. 115, F. & A. 
M., and of Royal Arch Chapter, No. 94, Canaseraga Lodge, No. 123, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, has been Commander of Seth N. 
Hedges Post, Grand Army of the Republic, and officer of the day. 
He has been a member of the Board of Education for several years, 
and president of the Merchants and Farmers National Bank; he has 
served the public in various stations, from corporation clerk to super- 
visor. Having been identified with many matters of interest to the 
general community, besides being closely attentive to his own private 
affairs, he has faithfully discharged the duties of the different positions 
of public trust which have fallen to him, with credit both to himself 
and to his constituents. 

CKarles SHepard. 

Charles Shepard, leading a quiet, unobstrusive life and not widely 
known beyond western New York, was yet an interesting and instruct- 
ive character. He was born in Dansville on March 15, 1818; he 
died in Seattle, Washington, on September 7, 1899. All his life 
Dansville was his home, except a few years in his boyhood, when his 
widowed mother moved to Canandaigua, then the nearest seat of 
anything higher than a common school, to educate her children, and 
the last year of his life which he with his wife and daughter spent 
in Seattle where his sons reside. Mr. Shepard's ancestry was of 
Puritan New England stock on both sides. Ralph Shepard, his 
earliest ancestor in this country, migrated from London to Massa- 
chusetts Bay in 1635. When western New York was a wilderness, 
Joshua Shepard settled in the frontier hamlet of Dansville, and a little 
later in 1817 married Elizabeth Hurlbut. Her forbears had long 
lived in and near Saybrook, Connecticut. Her father was a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, and some of his relatives were victims of the 
"Wyoming Massacre. " Charles was the eldest child of this pioneer 
couple. He received an academic education, and read law in the 
office of the late Judge Isaac L. Endress of Dansville, where he is said 
to have become remarkably proficient as a legal draughtsman, but he 
never practiced law. The management of the family's and his own 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



173 



property, the duties of local agent for several of the older and leading 
fire insurance companies for many years — extending to forty- five 
years for the Aetna and nearly as long for the Home Insurance Com- 
pany of New York — and the discharge of public trusts or commissions 
of a non-political nature on a number of occasions, filled a large part 
of his active life. In his earlier manhood, although never holding 
important public office, he took an active part in politics, being a most 
ardent supporter of Henry Clay, and enjoying that great statesman's 
personal acquaintance. Among his reminiscences of those times was 

an account he used to give of 
hearing short speeches by Web- 
ster, Clay and Calhoun in the 
United States Senate, all on the 
same day — March 8, 1850, the day 
after Webster's famous speech 
which so alienated his Northern 
anti-slavery adherents. Mr. Shep- 
ard was one of the earliest, warm- 
est and most energetic advocates 
of a railroad to Dansville, and was 
the president of the Erie & (iene- 
see Valley Railroad Company from 
its organization and for many 
years. Its line from Dansville to 
Geneseo was built not under con- 
tract but by the company under 
his personal oversight, within the 
estimates, and at a remarkably 
low cost, even for a level line, of 
$3,000 a mile for the roadbed. 
When the movement for a Sem- 
inary at Dansville took shape he 
was the building committee and 
erected a substantial and worthy building at low cost. In these and in 
minor instances, whenever he was called on to aid or promote public 
interests, by purse or personal service, he illustrated the idea that not 
only political office but the time and means of the citizen constitute 
a public trust to be used in due measure for the public good. 

In 1846 ^Ir. Shepard married Katherine Rochester Colman, a grand- 
daughter of Col. Nathaniel Rochester, the founder of the beautiful 
city of that name, who had also at an earlier date been a resident of 
Dansville contemporary with Joshua Shepard. Mrs. Shepard died at 
Seattle jNIay 20, 1902, and her remains with those of her husband were 
buried in Dansville May 27. Col. Rochester built the original mill on 
the site of Readshaw's mill and an old stone structure now standing 
opposite it on the east side of Main street, Dansville, is a part of his 
house. It is probably the oldest building here; and Mr. Shepard's 
home at the corner of Main and Ferine streets, built by his father in 
1823 is. except one or two, the oldest complete and inhabited house in 
the village. 

The keynote of Charles Shepard's character, both morally and men- 
tally, was truth. By this is not meant simply the trait of verbal truth- 




CHARLES SHEPARD 



174 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



fulness — the virtue of not lying, valuable though that is — but the 
subtler and deeper quality of innate fidelity to realities. He was the 
soul of honor, and would not countenance the shadow of a subterfuge 
or of a divided interest whereout he or anyone could draw a private 
benefit in any of the public enterprises or constructions he was con- 
cerned in. In the same way he was exact and just almost to a fault 
in dealing with employes or tradesmen. He abhorred shams and pre- 
tences in all things and persons. That was what made him so excel- 
lent a builder, for he would not stand any of the hollow frauds, the fair 
deceitful shows that hide faulty and dangerous constructions of a cer- 
tain kind of buildings. And in this way his work as a builder was 
typical of himself. His acts, opinions and words might be right or 
wrong, but they were the same inside as out — they showed for what 
thev were and thev were what thev showed. 




IHt bHtfARU nOMt^ltAD 



Without the Puritan's narrow religiosity, he had inherited his strict 
morality and somewhat of his intolerance of other standards or no 
standards. He had nothing of the easy acquiescence, the more cos- 
mopolitan temper which, while living by a correct enough rule itself, 
is not greatly concerned at the moral laxity of others. And one saw 
something of the stern old Roman in him too, when in vehement out- 
bursts he would pour out his hot indignation on the frauds and wrongs 
from which individuals or the community or nation suffered. His 
hatred of sham went so far as to make him suspicious or cynical to- 
wards acts or courses which proper enough within due limits might de- 
generate into self-seeking humbug. But this was only the defect of 
his quality; and something must be forgiven to one of a generation 
to which Carlyle had preached a holy war against the Devil of Cant 
and Sham. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 175 

The mental equivalent of moral veracity is accuracy, and Charles 
Shepard had a most accurate mind. Nature endowed him with a re- 
markalile memory — quick, tenacious, ready. In a school contest he 
once learned in one day the Latin text of one entire book — about 800 
lines — of Virgil by heart. His mother was almost as remarkable. It 
was very interesting to hear this bright old lady recite to her grand- 
children long passages from the English "classics" — theclassics which 
nobody now reads. She was brought up in a frontier forest, where 
Indian trails were the roads; but she fed on Pope, Dryden, vScott, 
Cowper, Milton, Shakespeare, the vSpectator, the Bible — the best prose 
antl best poetry ever written in the English tongue. So her son came 
naturally by his memory. But such powers, however striking as 
proofs of the stretch of the human mind, are of little worth to the pos- 
sessor or to others unless put to good use. A vast warehouse may be 
filled with rubbish as well as with costly silks. 

Mr. Shepard had, however, not only a capacious but a well-stored 
mind. Like his mother he had drunk of all the "Wells of English 
undefiled." He retained through his life a cultivated love for the an- 
cient classics and the literature sprung from them. He was, too, 
very fond of the modern romantic literature in fiction and poetry. 

A constant and omnivorous reader, except in the fields of science 
and art, he became literally a "walking encyclopaedia;" and so well 
assimilated had been his reading that he could turn at will to the 
page in his memory where any desired facts were inscribed. His 
knowledge of local history — -dates, places, events and persons — was so 
full and precise that he was the unappealable resort on mooted points. 
Never travelling abroad, he had yet roamed over the world in his 
library and was fond of books of travel. His mind being of the mathe- 
matical type, he had a very wide and exact acquaintance with geog- 
raphy, in names, distances, area, population, and even famous build- 
ings in the old world. Reading seemed to have depicted mental 
maps or pictures of such spots, so that he was often asked if he had 
not been in Europe. In the practical branches of knowledge pertain- 
ing to finance, transportation and manufactures, and notably in their 
statistics, he was well versed; and his sound judgment, as correct in 
the mart as in the library, made his advice valuable and much sought 
after. 

An e.xactness in his own mental processes which became impatient 
with others' vagueness and mistakes and merciless in probing the 
weak spots of an opponent's logic, was saved from declining into 
pedantry by the salt of humor. Mr. Shepard had a ready wit, a 
keen sense of the comic side of life, and an enormous fund of "good 
stories" and of the humorous in literature — especially of odd epitaphs 
and quaint tales picked up in the by-paths of reading; and being a 
good raconteur his conversation was very entertaining. He was ever 
ready, without conceit or efifort at display, to bring forth from his 
treasury things both "new and old," both "grave and gay," for 
recreation, counsel or instruction, in scjcial converse or deep debate. 
Such a man, while leavini^ nothing of permanent record, has yet not 
lived in vain, because his noble integrity, his broad and sound scholar- 
ship have improved and enlightened his community and left the wt)rld 
better than he found it. 



176 BIOGRAPHICAL 

Cbarles E. and TKomas R. SHepard 

Charles E. Shepard, oldest son of Charles Shepard, was born in 
Dansville March 14, 1848, and was educated at Dansville, Canandaigiia 
and Yale, graduating from this university in 1870. He then studied 
law, and after admission to the bar practiced at Fond du Lac, Wis., 
from 1872 to 1883; at Milwaukee, Wis., from 1883 to 1891, and then 
moved to Seattle, Wash., M-here he still resides and has become a 
prominent and influential citizen. In the Democratic district of 
Fond du Lac, Mr. Shepard was elected as a Republican to the lower 
house of the Wisconsin legislature, and served during the term of 1881- 
83. In Seattle he has been Library Commissioner of the city several 
years, and is now in his second term. In 1883 he compiled with his 
brother, Thomas R. Shepard, "Shepard's Wisconsin Digest." He 
inherited the literary tastes of his father, which, however, reach out 
into the wider range and variety of literature to which a thorough 
university training is the natural introduction. One of his published 
addresses is on Chief Justice John Marshall, which was delivered before 
the faculty and students of the L^niversity of Washington Feb. 4, 1901, 
and is an admirable appreciation of that great jurist. Another able 
paper on "Limitations of Municipal Indebtedness" was read by him 
at the annual meeting of the AVashington State Bar association July 
10, 1900. No intelligent man can peruse these publications without 
recognizing the intellectual strength and discrimination of their author. 
Withal he is a very busy lawyer, and one whose counsel in difficult 
questions and cases is always worth seeking. He married Alice M. 
Galloway of Fond du Lac, Wis., in 1881. 

His brother, Thomas R. Shepard, was born in Dansville July 31, 
1852, and has practiced law since 1874. He is now a member of the 
firm of Burke, Shepard & McGilvra, a leading law firm of Seattle, and 
has won distinction as a trial lawyer and advocate. He married Car- 
oline E. McCartney of Dansville in 1879, and she died in 1893. He 
has recently married again. 

James Caleb Jackson 

James Caleb Jackson was born at ilanlius, Onondaga county. 
New York, March 28, 1811. He came from patriotic New England 
lineage. On both sides he was descended from Revolutionary soldiers. 
His grandfather was Col. Giles Jackson who was chief of staff under 
Gen. Gates at the Battle of Saratoga and who had the honor of writing 
out and engrossing the articles of capitulation of Gen. Burgoyne and 
his army. 

The mother of Dr. Jackson was ]\Iary Ann Elderkin, descended 
from Col. Jedediah Elderkin of Windham, Conn., a man of more than 
local renown for his patriotism and military services in the war for 
American Independence. His name is celebrated in the ballad of "The 
Flight of the Frogs," familiar to all students of Connecticut historj'. 

Dr. Jackson was the son of Dr. James Jackson, a successful practi- 
tioner of medicine and surgery in Manlius and the surrounding coun- 
try. He served also as post surgeon and physician at Sacket Har- 




JAMES CALEB JACKSON 



178 BIOGRAPHICAL 

bor in the war of 1812. It was the desire of Dr. Jackson's father that 
he should become a physician, but his mother's hope and prayer was 
that he might go as a missionary to the heathen. Frequently, when 
alluding to his mother's prayers for him, he maintained that they were 
answered, although not in the sense she anticipated. He was a stu- 
dious lad and at the age of twelve years was well advanced in Latin 
and Greek. His school education was completed at the Polytechnic 
Institute at Troy, N. Y. 

At the age of nineteen he married Lucretia Edgerton Brewster, a 
lineal descendant of Elder William Brewster, one of the leaders of the 
colonists who came over to this country in the Mayflower. She was 
a woman of rare Christian character and in every way worthy of her 
noble ancestry. The first years of their married life were spent on a 
farm in Mexico, New York. But the health of the young farmer 
proved unequal to the demands made upon it. His attention was nat- 
urally called to the field of medicine by the necessities of his own case, 
and thus early he began to read and study medical works at home. 

He was a public spirited man and took part in all the local afl:airs of 
the community. In this way was cultivated a natural gift for public 
speaking. While yet in his teens he espoused the temperance cause 
and frequently spoke at the temperance meetings held in his county 
and vicinity. The anti-slavery question which had begun to agitate 
the country interested him greatly and he became a prominent speaker 
in that cause. He was thus brought in contact with Gerrit Smith, 
through whose influence he entered the lecture field as agent of the 
New York State Anti-Slavery Society. During the ten following years 
he successfully held the positions of agent of the New York State Anti- 
vSlavery Society, agent of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society, 
corresponding secretary of the American Anti-Slavery Society, editor 
of the Madison Co. Abolitionist, and finally editor and proprietor of 
the Albany Patriot. In 1S46 his health failing, he sold his paper and 
returned to his home in Peterboro, N. Y., where he had settled in 
order to be near his friend, Gerrit Smith. 

His continued ill health induced him, all other treatment failing, to 
place himself under the care of Dr. Silas O. Gleason at his institution 
(water cure) at Cuba, N. Y., in the fall of 1846. The improvement 
in his own health, and the enthusiasm for the water cure treatment as 
taught by Priessnitz, the great German medical reformer, led him to 
form a partnership with Dr. Gleason and open a water cure at Glen 
Haven, as he called his settlement, situated at the head of Skaneateles 
lake in Cayuga county, N. Y. At the end of three years Dr. Jackson 
purchased Dr. Gleason's interest and became the proprietor and phy- 
sician of the institution. He took his medical degree from the Medi- 
cal College in Syracuse, N. Y. , and began the career in which he be- 
came so renowned and successful. In 1858 he removed to Dansville, 
N. Y., and on the beautiful wooded "Hillside" looking westward over 
the picturesque valley and the distant hills encircling it, he founded 
The Jackson Sanatorium (giving it at that time the name of ''Our 
Home on the Hillside") where his field of work was widely extended. 
The public opening of the Hillside Home took place on October 1, 
1858, and since that time the first of October has been celebrated as 
"Founder's Day." Dr. Jackson was always an enthusiastic promoter 






'"**<... 



180 BIO GRA PHICA L 

of these anniversary celebrations, and many old-time members of the 
Hillside family will never forget some of these festive occasions at 
which he was the central figure. 

The founding and developing of this institution culminated Dr. Jack- 
son's public work. His remarkable powers of mind and spirit were 
devoted to the work thus inaugurated and were freely spent in the cause 
of health reform, which to him had become a sacred cause. As phy- 
sician, as lecturer, as editor of his health journal, "The Laws of Life," 
he vigorously prosecuted his mission and eloquently preached the gos- 
pel of health. In his methods of treatment he was opposed to the 
prevalent use of drugs. He sought by initiating normal habits of life 
and conformity to the laws of health to remove the causes of sickness. 
He placed great value upon mental and moral influences in the culti- 
vation of courage, hope, cheerfulness, in strengthening the will and 
banishing doubt and despondency, as well as upon prudence in eating, 
drinking and dressing and in the observance of all physiological laws. 
He fully believed in the power of the mental and spiritual forces to 
restore and preserve health, and made these forces constantly available 
in his professional work. The term "psycho hygiene" which he early 
applied to his methods of treatment, fitly expresses the idea he so suc- 
cessfully worked out in his practice. 

In 1879 Dr. Jackson's failing health obliged him to resign the re- 
sponsible management of the Sanatorium to his son, Dr. James H. 
Jackson, although he continued to hold quite active relationship to it 
until 1883, often counseling with the physicians and lecturing in the 
chapel of the Sanatorium. From 1886 to 1895 Dr. Jackson lived in 
North Adams, Massachusetts, with certain members of his family. 
Here he was free from care and intrusion. He wrote for the Laws of 
Life and Journal of Health, and kept up a voluminous correspondence 
with old friends, patients and professional and public men. He was 
interested in all the great political questions and other movements in 
the world of thought and trade. He was a delegate to the first State 
convention of the Republican party and a stalwart member of it till 
the day of his death. He frequently made visits to his old home in 
Dansville, renewing the scenes of his busy and successful life and cul- 
tivating his oldtime friendships. On one of these visits he was taken 
ill, and after a three weeks' illness died on July 11, 1895, in his eighty- 
fifth year. 

This remarkable man will be long remembered for the force of his 
character, his far seeing qualities and generous dealings as a business 
man, his deep religious convictions and enthusiasm, his oratorical 
ability of the first order, his devotion to the principles of living which 
he cherished; his love for and loyalty to Dansville as a place of resi- 
dence, and as a natural sanitarium, as well as for the wide publicity 
his reputation and institution gave the town. 



m 






'v' 



A 





















■.y^:^ :^m 




DANIEL WEBSTER NOYES 



BIO GRA I 'HICA L 183 

Daniel "W. Noyes 

Daniel Webster Noyes, whose name was associated with the practice 
of law in Livingston county for many years, came of good New Eng- 
land stock. He was born in Winchendon, Massachusetts, on the 30th 
day of September, 1824. His father was Samuel Noyes, an architect 
by profession, and a lineal descendant of Nicholas Noyes, who came 
from Choulderton in Wiltshire in the brig Elizabeth in 1634, and his 
family was originally of Norman descent. The mother of Daniel W. 
Noyes was Elizabeth Wales of Roxbury, Massachusetts, a daughter of 
Captain Jacob Wales, a staunch patriot who served in the revolution- 
ary war on Washington's staff. Soon after the birth of Daniel W. , 
their youngest child, Samuel Noyes and his wife removed to Edin- 
burg, Saratoga county, New York, where the boy was brought up on 
a farm. 

As a youth he went first to Galway academy and then to the Am- 
sterdam academy, and in these two schools he received his fitting for 
Union college, which was then, with Doctor Nott at its head, in its 
prime. From this institution he graduated with honor in the year 
1847, and afterward pursued his legal studies in the law offices of Judge 
Belding at Amsterdam and Nicholas Hill at Albany, being admitted 
to the bar in 1849. In the same year he married Miss Frances C. 
Baldwin, then of Owasco, New York, and shortly thereafter located in 
Dansville, Livingston county, as a partner of Benjamin C. Cook. 
This association lasted but a short time, and during the next dozen 
years he was successively in partnership with Joseph W. Smith and 
Judge Solomon Hubbard. The old firm of Hubbard & Noyes contin- 
ued until about the time of Mr. Hubbard's election as county judge 
of Livingston county which caused his removal tothevillage of Geneseo. 

Shortly after the close of the war Mr. Noyes formed a copartner- 
ship with Major »Seth N. Hedges, which existed almost continuously 
down to the year 1878, when Mr. Noyes was appointed county judge 
of Livingston county by Governor Robinson, to fill the vacancy in 
that ofilice caused by the death of Judge Samuel D. Faulkner. During 
his copartnership with Major Hedges, in 1875, he was elected district at- 
torney of his county, running upon the Democratic ticket and overcom- 
ing the usually large Republican majority. His conduct of that office 
won for him many friends in the county and materially increased his 
already wide reputation as a trial lawyer. 

After his retirement from the office of county judge on the 1st day 
of January, 1879, he associated his son, Fred W. Noyes, as a partner 
with himself under the firm name of Noyes & Noyes. This firm con- 
tinued to exist until the death of the father in 1888. 

In his practice of the law Mr. Noyes had charge of many important 
and complicated cases, both in his own county and the surrounding 
counties, and his fame as a trial lawyer and a faithful, industrious 
student of the law was far more than a local one. He held no official 
positions which were not in line with his own professional work, and 
his time and energies were always devoted to his chosen profession, in 
which his tireless industry was .such as to impress one with the idea 
that his great ambition was to be a good lawyer and a safe counselor. 



184 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Frederick W. Noyes 




Frederick W. Noj'es is the only 
son of Daniel W. Noyes. He 
was born in Dansville in 1852, 
and his home has always been 
here. He was educated in the 
Dansville seminary, the River- 
view Military academy at Pough- 
keepsie and Cornell university, 
where he belonged to the class of 
"lU^ and received the degree of 
Ph. D. He was one of the six 
members of his class elected a 
Phi Beta Kappa by the faculty, 
and before this one of the six se- 
lected to compete for the Wood- 
ford prize oration. His college 
secret society was the Psi Upsi- 
lon, into which he was initiated 
at Union college, and he was one 
of the founders of the Cornell 
chapter, now very strong. After 
leaving college he studied law in 
the ofifice of Noyes & Hedges, 
and was admitted to the bar at 
Rochester in October, 1878. On 
the first of January, 1879, he be- 
came a law partner of his father, and since his father's death in 1888 
has continued the practice alone. Governor Flower appointed him 
district attorney for Livingston county in 1894 to fill the vacancy 
caused by the death of Lubert O. Reed. He ran on the Democratic 
ticket the next fall for the same office, and was defeated by William 
Carter, and in 1896 was the Democratic candidate for county judge 
and defeated by Judge Coyne, Republican, both of which results he 
expected in so strong a Republican county. He has been a member 
of the Dansville board of education for about fifteen years. He 
is a director of the Citizens bank and president of the George Sweet 
Manufacturing company, and is also one of the trustees of the Pres- 
byterian church. Mr. Noyes is and has been absorbed in the labors 
of an extensive and lucrative law practice, and in this is the worthy 
successor of his very able father. He is a ready, forceful and eloquent 
public speaker. He has a liking for and appreciation of the best Eng- 
lish literature, and has also been a careful student of German litera- 
ture, regarding which his critical knowledge is uncommon for a busy 
American lawyer, as shown in a lecture on the subject which he has 
once or twice delivered. And is it not true that a lawyer is likely to 
be more successful in his practice if he buoys up his mind occasionally 
by excursions into the rich field of letters? 

In the year 1881 Mr. Noyes was married at Dansville, N. Y., to 
Miss Emma Catherine Hartman, a daughter of the late William Hart- 



FB.EDER1CK W. NOYES 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



185 



man of this place. Mrs. Noyes graduated at Vassar college with the 
class of 1880 and at the time of her marriage was a teacher of vocal 
music at Vassar. Mr. and Mrs. Noyes have three children, Nicholas 
Hartman Noyes, who graduated at Lawrenceville, N. J., Preparatory 



■vf^l^ 


*?^^'%^-^. I 


''^^%A:-"^3 




' /^SKKBL 


■ --..;,•• *.'^sr ■•' 


U.v :*.,.'i^^ 


.. 


BIH^^^I^Bu:^ - ^ ' '^•^fflflgSKHS^^^^H 


^JEi^^S^ 'j^^^wKSV 


^':;^'-v^;'^^c 


^SBI^^i^i^^^^^F 


wm^^^tgmk 


'^^^^- 


HH^^^^^aj^l^l^ 






^^^/T^i 


ffTl 


flP 


''- '"'Q'''9l9^^^'^'^^^w^ 


^^^^ _ 


1^^ 




H^Ji 


I^W .<;. 


-^''' '-l'^- 


m Li. 


■'W^ 


i \ 2'\^r.^ .; -!- 


H ^ ■nTi 


' -3y 


1 U ^^^ 


^^UJl -,— - 


...-=5==—' 


==«f*^ 


^' 









RES[DENCE. F. W. NOYES 



School in June, 1902, and enters Cornell university this fall, Frederick 
Jansen Noyes and Katherine Frances Noyes, both of whom are at 
present students at Dansville High school. 



William T. Spinning 

AVilliam T. Spinning was one of the leading merchants and sterling 
characters of Dansville. He was born on a farm near Auburn, N. Y., 
September 20, 1820, and moved from there to West Sparta in 1847. 
He opened a general country store in Kysorville, and after doing busi- 
ness in that hamlet a few years, came to Dansville, where he engaged 
first in the dry goods and then in the grocery trade. Reverses came, 
and for some time he was employed in the stores of the Dyer Brothers 
and Fielder & Olney, but commenced business for himself again in 
1876, with his son, William A. Spinning, and Nicholas Uhl as part- 
ners, the firm name being vSpinning, Uhl & Co. It prospered from 
the beginning, and the business grew continually. Every citizen 
knew that any business of which W. T. Spinning was the head would 
be honestly and ably conducted, without any tricks of trade or false 
representations, and with an intelligent and thorough attention to 
every essential detail. The firm knew what and how to buy and how 
to sell as few country merchants know, and their daily throngs of 
customers indicated that the people believed it. When William T. 

















WrLLIAM T. SPINNING 





BIOGRAPHICAL 



187 



Spinning died there were not many village stores which co^ld show 
so laioe and desirable a variety of goods, or books which would de- 
monstrate so large and profitable a trade. So keen was his sense of 
honesty and so exact his business methods that he never used for per 
sonal purposes so much as one of the firm's postage stamps without 
placing its equivalent in the drawer. ^ .- .1 ;,-, 

P When the Merchants and Farmers National ''''"L^, 7^^, f '^"li, 
1893 Mr. Spinning was elected its president, and filled the position 
until his deith-another proof of the confidence which he inspire I 

He ioined the Presbyterian church early in life, and remained a 
faitnful, consistent and useful, although never a demonstrative mem- 
ber. He applied his religious principles to all his P^^^.^^'^^^' ^"^1 "° 
one thought of accusinghim of the religious hypocrisy which scoffers oc- 




W. T. SPINNING. RESIDLNCE 

casionally insinuate or charge against not a few church members. 
For manv years he was one of the elders of the Presbyterian church, 
anJ regular in attending its services. He was never obtrusive in his 
opinions and seldom gave advice until it was asked for, but when he 
expressed his views they were worth considering. Retiring, serious 
and earnest though he was, he had a genial nature, a fine sense of hu- 
mor, and heartilv enjoyed a good joke. ,raU-.. 
Mr Spinning was married in Sparta 54 years ago, to Sarah W alker, 
who is still living. He died August 26, 1899, and it he had lived six 
da vs longer would have been 80 years old. The very large attendance 
at his funeral of sorrowing citizens showed how generally his depar- 
ture was mourned. They included the Odd Fellows in a body o Can- 
aseraga Lodge, of which he had been a member since 1849, and in 
which he always manifested a lively interest. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



189 



JonatKan B. Morey 

Hon. Jonathan B. J\Iortv was born in Dansville, Livingston county, 
N. Y., November 26, 1836. His grandfather, Harcourt Morey, was 
a native and farmer of Dutchess county, whence he went to Schoharie 
county and from there to Dansville, bringing with him a wife and 
three children, and was one of the pioneer farmers of this section. 
Purciiasing a large tract of timbered land, he cleared and cultivated 
it, and in the course of time erected a house and barn. His final place 
of residence was Erie county, Pennsylvania. There on the State line 
he kept an inn, which was the station for the negroes from the South 
who were fleeing to Canada. Mr. Morey was a Whig, and in sympathy 
with the Abolitionists. 




RESIDENCE. J. B. MORtY 



Milton Morey, son of Harcourt and father of Jonathan, was inured 
to the toils of a farmer's life from his early boyhood, when he assisted 
in the heavy task of clearing away the dense and almost impenetrable 
forest growth. But his father, realizing the advantage of every man's 
haying a special line of work upon which to rely for a livelihood, ap- 
prenticed the boy to a tanner, that he might become one of the hide 
and leather guild. Young Milton Morey applied himself diligently to 
the various branches of the trade, in due time becoming both skillful 
and expeditious, and finally purchased the tannery which occupied 
the space on the corner of Main and Milton streets in Dansville, the 
last named street being so called in honor of him. He remained in 
the business a number of years, was prominent in local public affairs, 
being one of the incorporators of the village, and was held in high es- 
teem throughout the county. In 185S, after selling his tannery, Mr. 
Morey migrated to southern Minnesota, where he bought a large tract 
of timbered land twenty miles from human habitation, and for thir- 
teen years engaged in the lumber trade. He next went to Yankton, 
and, investing in land, cleared a good farm. He died in 1886, aged 
seventy-six years. 



190 BIOGRAPHICAL 

Milton Morey's first wife was Eva Banihart of Daiisville, who was 
of German parentage and was of a family of three children. She 
was a member of the Methodist church, and died in 1837, leaving one 
child, Jonathan B. Morey, the subject of the present sketch. Her 
father, Frederick Barnhart, came from Germany. He was a well-read 
man and earned his living as a shoemaker. By his second wife, Eliza 
Ribbey, Mr. Morey had four children — Priscilla, Perrilla, Permilla 
and Daniel. Mrs. Eliza Ribbey ^lorey and the children Priscilla and 
Daniel are dead. 

After the death of his mother, little Jonathan, then an infant of 
ten months, was taken to live with his uncle, Jonathan Barnhart, with 
whom he remained until 1860. The best educational advantages that 
the vicinity afforded were given the boy, who was sent to the district 
school of the neighborhood and afterward to the Normal school in 
Albany in 1858. He began teaching when he was seventeen, and 
taught in the same district school four terms, proving both his com- 
petency and popularity, and after leaving Albany taught in Dansville 
for two years. At this time his uncle died, and the farm to which he 
fell heir now claimed his attention. In 1871 he formed a partnership 
with his brother-in-law, Mr. George A. Sweet, in the nursery business. 
Ten years later Mr. Morey sold out his interest to Mr. Sweet, and 
then was established the nursery firm of J. B. Morey & Son, who are 
among the largest dealers in trees in this part of the State, and have 
one of the finest places on Main street, the father owning also another 
farm in this locality. Mr. J. B. Morey's influence is felt in many di- 
rections, and he has been connected with both local and national poli- 
tics. He was the chief mover in creating Washington park — the firm 
of Sweet & Morey furnishing all the trees — while he, personally, paid 
for and superintended the grading and planting. He was also active 
in the work of raising money for the soldiers' monument and provid- 
ed for its location, inscriptions and the arrangement of its surround- 
ings. The first railroad and the first system of water works were 
urged to completion by him. In his political career Mr. Morey 
has displayed rare tact and keen perception, and is known far and near 
as one of the strongest Republicans in this section. He was elected 
to the Assembly of 1864 and re-elected in 1865, when there were two 
districts, and again in 1872 and 1876. He has been president of the 
village and has three times been elected trustee. He was sent as a 
national delegate to the convention that nominated General Grant for 
president the second term. 

In 1861 Mr. Morey was united in marriage to Miss Laura Sweet, a 
daughter of Mr. Sidney Sweet. Mrs. Morey is a native of ilichigan, 
but came with her father to Livingston county in 1841. They settled 
in Sparta where her father bought a saw mill. He was afterwards in- 
terested in the foundry works of Livingston, which he continued until 
he opened an exchange office known as "Sweet's." This he conducted 
for some time, and then founded the National Bank of Dansville. Mr. 
Sweet left New York State during the latter part of his life, and be- 
came a resident of Vineland, N. J. After three trips to Europe, he 
returned to Dansville and died at the home of his daughter. Mrs. 
!Morey was one of four children and has two brothers, George A. and 
Edwin T., now living. Four children have been born to Mr. and !Mrs. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



l')l 



Morey. The eldest son, Edwin S. Morey, was a graduate of Hamil- 
ton college, and was admitted to the bar at Buffalo. After beginning 
to practice in Dansville he went to Grand Rapids, Mich., where he 
entered the law office of an uncle, and in a short time was made attor- 
ney for the Michigan Trust Company. From the brilliant career which 
seemed to lie before him he was suddenly cut off, dying of typhoid 
fever at 31 years of age. Fanny, their only daughter, is the wife of 
H. S. Chase of Huntsville, Ala. ; Jonathan B. Jr. , a graduate of the 
Normal college at Rochester, and Sidney S., are with their father in 
the nursery business. 

H. W. DeLongf 



Though a native of Mon- 
roe county, having been 
born at Honeoye Falls June 
23, 1851, Mr. Herman 
Wells DeLong removed 
with his parents to this 
village at so early an age 
that he is generally con- 
ceded to be a native of 
Dansville. 

His father, George Wells 
DeLong, was born at Rich- 
mond, Ontario county, N. 
v., July 15, 1818, and 
there spent the first six- 
teen years of his life. In 
1834 he removed to Hon- 
eoye Falls and in 1841 
married Phebe Ann Os- 
trander, a native of that 
village, who still retains 
much of her youthful vigor 
and comeliness at the age 
of eighty-four, having cel- 
ebrated that anniversary of 
her birth on the 10th of last October. For over forty years after his 
arrival in Dansville in 1855, Mr. George W. DeLong was actively en- 
gaged in the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds. He was suc- 
ceeded by the Hall Manufacturing Company, the present owners of 
this early established and extensive business. Mr. and Mrs. DeLong 
celebrated the sixtieth anniversary of their marriage during 1901. 

Amid the refined surroundings of his home, this most worthy citi- 
zen is enjoying the quiet and peace to which in his later years every 
man is entitled who finishes a long, active career of usefulness and 
profit. Especially is a competence well merited when it is bestowed 
on one whose life has been a continued round of persistent efforts 
along lines of honest endeavor. 




H. W. DELONG 



192 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Herman W. DeLong, possessed of many admirable traits of mind 
and character inherited from a long line of worthy ancestors, early ap- 
preciated the necessity of a liberal education to future success. He 
followed up the early advantage of five years in the Dansvilie semin- 
ary, then in the hands of most competent instructors, by spending 
the years 1868 end 1869 at the Canandaigua academy, a most excel- 
lent institution of learning. He varied his school work by acquiring 
practical business ideas under the competent tutelage of A. M. Ander- 
son and Ferine Bros., proprietors of two representative drug estab- 
lishments. At the comparatively youthful age of nineteen he became 
associated with F. J. Nelson in the drug business, this partnership 
being in force until 1874, when Mr. DeLong sold his interest to Mr. 
Nelson who is still conducting the establishment. His natural love of 




RESIDENCE. H. W. DELONG 



literature and general artistic tastes induced him to embark in the 
book and stationery business on September 10, 1875. Unrivalled in a 
prosperous field, the substantial size and scope of his business is the 
best evidence of his sagacity and acuteness as a man of business and 
his power to win and hold the confidence of the public. 

June 24. 1902, "Wx. DeLong assumed the editorship of the Dansvilie 
Breeze, on the retirement from the business of J. W. Burgess. 

He was married September 10, 1872, to Olive Ellen Thurber, a res- 
ident of Springville, Erie county, N. Y. Both of the two children, 
Isabel and Herman W. , reside at home. On the personal side it may 
be said of ^Ir. DeLong, he is widely respected for his upright charac- 
ter, genial temperament and engaging social qualities. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 193 



Oscar Woodruff 

Oscar Woodrutf, editor and proprietor of the Dansville Express, a 
paper devoted to the interests of the Democratic party and the people, 
is prominent in the social, literar}-, political and religious life of Liv- 
ingston coimty, of which he is a native, having been born in Geneseo, 
September 17, 1839. He comes of New England antecedents. His 
paternal grandfather, Oliver Woodruff, an honored pioneer settler of 
this county, was born in Litchfield, Conn., in 1775, and when nineteen 
years old, entered Yale College; but a week after he enlisted in the 
Continental army. Having served si.\ months, he re-enlisted, and 
assisted in building Fort Lee on the Hudson River, which was cap- 
tured by the British a month after it was finished. He and others 
were taken prisoners, confined in New Bridewell, New York, and kept 
there all winter with but little food, without fire, and every window 
in the building broken. An exchange of prisoners took place in the 
spring; and. when released, thirty-three out of the thirty-five men in 
Mr. Woodruff's company died in one night from overeating. 

Oliver Woodruff" was among the original settlers of the town of 
Livonia, having emigrated to that town from Connecticut nearly a 
century ago, bringing with him his wife and seven children. He pur- 
chased a tract of heavil}- timbered land, which during the busy years 
that succeeded he converted into a fine and productive farm, where he 
lived until his death, at the venerable age of ninety-one years and 
eight months, December 24, 1845. Of his seven children that grew to 
adult life, nearly all attained advanced age. Sidney who married 
Oliver D. Stacy, lived to be ninety-seven years old, and retained her 
faculties to the last. Hardy lived to the age of eighty-eight years. 
Bushrod Washington, the father of Oscar, attained the age of eighty- 
seven years. Ann Sedgwick lived to the age of eighty-seven. Olive 
and Birdsey lived to the age of three score and ten years. vSteptoe 
passed away when but sixty years old. Of this family, whose lon- 
gevity is noticeable, all of the sons were named after military officers. 
The mother died while yet in the prime of life, at fifty years of age. 

Bushrod W. Woodruff was born in Livonia, May 26, 1806; and un- 
til fourteen years old he assisted in clearing and improving the home 
farm. Going to Geneseo, he entered the office of one of the first 
papers published in this county, and learned the printer's trade, re- 
maining there .seven years. Beginning his career as a journeyman 
printer, he worked at his trade and as a publisher in Geneseo and ad- 
jacent towns, continuing at his occupation until 1860, when he retired 
from active pursuits. He departed this life at Dansville in 1893, aged 
eighty-seven years. He had great force of character, was of a deeply 
religious nature, and was a conscientious member of the Presbyterian 
church. Mrs. Woodruff's maiden name was Sally A. Rose; and she 
was born in the town of Bath, of which her father James Rose, was an 
early settler. She reared ten of the thirteen children born to her and 
her husband; and of these five are now living, Oscar being the eldest. 
She was a sincere Christian and an esteemed member of the Presby- 
terian church. She died August 27, 1899, at the age of eighty-five 
vears. 




OSCAB. WOODRUFF 



' ' Jr;'l -I'jfl rioiflv/ 'in 
iliil J fi-jyjih(j -jflj lo 
^' ' ,;2fiivil wofi ')-u; ■>. 
l''jrii'j:jjH3 nr. brir, ri 
Ji: .('t'xr ,TC i;ii..fi 



BIOGRAPHICAL 195 

Oscar Woodruff received a little education in the public schools of 
this county, and at the age of seventeen years entered the oiilice of the 
newspaper he now owns, which was then known as the Dansville 
Herald. He became thoroughly proficient in the business of the 
office, following the printer's trade until 1S()1, when his patriotic spirit 
was aroused by the call of the President for volunteers in defense of 
the Union. He enlisted in the Tenth New York Cavalry, which was 
connected with Gregg's Cavalry Division, and, having served for three 
years, re-enlisted and served until the close of the war, when he re- 
ceived his honorable discharge at Syracuse. He actively participated 
in many of the battles of the war, and was three times promoted — first 
to the rank of second lieutenant, then to first lieutenant, and after- 
ward to the brevet rank of captain. Returning to civil life, Mr. 
Woodruff once more became a citizen of Dansville, where he has since 
passed the most of his time, although from 1873 until 1875 he was 
paymaster's clerk in the United States Navy. Having a decided in- 
clination toward journalism, for which he was well fitted, Mr. Wood- 
ruff bought the Dansville Express in 1877, and has since then devoted 
himself to its management It is a bright, newsy and original sheet, 
and has a large circulation that is by no means confined to party 
lines. This paper was formerly called the Dansville Herald, and was 
started in 1850 by E. C. Daugherty and J. C. vSprague under the firm 
name of E. C. Daugherty & Co., and was published in the interests of 
the Whig party. About January 1, 1857, it passed into the hands of 
the Know-Nothing party, and was under the management of E. G. 
Richardson & Co. for three months. In April, 1857, H. C. Page 
assumed control of the paper; and at the end of that year it was pur- 
chased by George A. Sanders, and changed to an advocate of Republi- 
canism. On August 1, 1865, it was sold to Frank J. Robbins and L. 
D. F. Poore, who on August 9, changed its name to the Dansville 
E.xpress, and enlarged it from a six to a seven-column paper. In 
October 1S70, F. J. Robbins became the sole proprietor, and further 
enlarged it to an eight-column paper, which he conducted in the interest 
of Horace Greeley until the close of that famous campaign, when he 
continued it as a IDemocratic journal. On June 1, 1877, the paper 
was bought by Oscar Woodruff and A. H. Knapp; and they conducted 
it in partnership until Mr. Woodruff purchased the interest of Mr. 
Knapp in 1882, since which period he has managed it himself, greatly 
increasing its circulation, and bringing it up to its present high rank 
among the leading newspapers of the county. 

Mr. Woodruff has been twice married. In 1869 he was united in 
wedlock to Marv Betts, daughter of John Betts, a pioneer settler of 
Dansville. Mrs. Mary Woodruff died in 1870; and in 1892 Mr. Wood- 
ruff' married Miss Nettie Carney, daughter of William G. Carney, of 
Sparta. Mr. Woodruff" has thoroughly identified himself with the best 
interests of the town and county wherein he resides, served as super- 
visor from 189(1 to 1895, having been chairman of the board one 
year. He was elected president of the village of Dansville in 1900 and 
was re-elected in 1901 and 1902. Politically, he is a strong advocate 
of the Democratic principles. Socially, he is a prominent member of 
Canaseraga Lodge, No. 123, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
has held every office in the lodge. He is also a member of Phoenix 



196 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Lodge, No. 115, F. & A. M., and a charter member and one of the 
organizers of the Seth N. Hedges Post, G. A. R. . of which he was 
commander for two years, and adjutant for seven years. 

Henry E. Hubbard 

Henry Eugene Hubbard, 
the well known manufac- 
turer of pumps and well 
curbs, has been a resident 
of Dansville for over forty 
years, having come to this 
village with his parents in 
ISOl from Norwich, Che- 
nango county, N. Y. He 
is the eldest of three chil- 
dren of Henry and Lucretia 
(Gates) Hubbard and was 
born at Newport, N. H., 
November 4, 1852. He is 
descended from English 
stock which took root in the 
colonies in the early days, 
and who brought from their 
native land a name and fame 
which antedated the year 
1000 to which the present 
family can trace their gene- 
ology. 
HENP.Y E. HUBBARD fjis carly education was 

acquired in the village schools and the Dansville Seminary. 
Having thus acquired a liberal education to fit him for an active busi- 
ness career, in 1876 he succeeded his father in the manufacture of 
pumps and well curbs, in which business he is still engaged with 
every prospect of continued success. 

On April 14, 1875 he married Ida D. Squires, daughter of Bryon T. 
Squires who for many years was one of Dansville's first and most 
respected citizens and lawyers and who held public office for sixteen 
years. Mr. Hubbard's present family consists of one son and one 
daughter; Katharine Eggleston and William Arthur. Katherine is 
a graduate of the Geneseo Normal and is now the able instructor of 
the Teachers training class at Haverling High School, Bath, N. Y. 
William resides with his parents and is fast becoming proficient as a 
practical jeweler, which trade he has followed for some years. 

Under Mr. Hubbard's watchful care and wise and prudent manage- 
ment, his business has rapidly extended until the territory embraced 
covers this and many adjoining States. 

He is an adherent to the Episcopal form of worship and is strongly 
Republican in his political beliefs. Personally he is a man of genial 
temperment and attractive social qualities, which are in no small way 
accountable for his influence at home and abroad. 




BIOGRAPHICAL 

197 
Alfred L. VanValKenbvirg 

Alfred L. ^'an Valkenburg, proprietor of one the largest musical 
establishments in western New York, now located at Dansville, 
N. Y., was born April 25, 1861 in the town of Wayland. Attending 
the district school at Groveland and later the (jeneseo Normal 
School, Mr. VanValkenburg laid the foundation for a successful 
business career b\' acquiring a thorough and liberal education. 
Inheriting from his father, William H. Van\'alkenburg, a desire 
for commercial pursuits and from his mother Rodina (Rau) Van 
Valkenburg, a taste for the cultivation of the mind, Alfred L. has 
happily combined these two heritaQ'es so that the most benefit might 
ultimately accrue therefrom. His first commercial venture was made 




ALKENBURG 



at Cuylerville, N. Y., where he conducted a general mercantile busi- 
ness until 1889, when he became the representative of the Singer Sew- 
ing Machine Co. In the latter capacity he was located at Cleveland, 
Ohio. Since 1895, he has been identified with his present business in 
Dansville, N. Y., which has steadih- increased under his wise and 
judicious management. Mr. Van\'alkenburg was married in 1883 to 
Miss Cora S. Johnston of Geneseo N. Y., daughter of the late Law- 
rence Johnston of Webster, N. Y. One boy and one girl. Earl W. 
and Mazie R., complete the immediate family. Mr. VanValkenburg 
served as postmaster at Cuylerville, N. Y., under the last Harrison 
administration. Aside from business, he has been identified with an 
unusual number of interests both social and artistic; he is the present 
prophet of the local order of Red Men and prominently identified with 
the Maccabees, the Sons of Veterans, the Odd Fellows, and Hay- 
makers, and the Protective Fire Company No. 1 of this village. In 
the prime of life, Mr. VanValkenbvirg can look forward to many years 
of continued prosperity, sweetened by the respect of his associates in 
business and social circles. 



198 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



JosepH W. Bxirgess 

Joseph William Burgess, as editor of the Dansville Breeze since 
its establishment nearly twenty years ago, has undoubtedly become 
as well and favorably known to most of the people of Livingston and 
Steuben counties as any other resident of Dansville. Shaping his 
early career with a shoemaker's hammer, creditable work as a me- 
chanic won him many friends and liberal patronage. His tastes, 
however, had always been of a literary character which he afterwards 
made manifest on his entrance into journalism. His early acquired 
ability to strike the nail on the head enabled him by judicious 
management and an unimpeachable desire for the truth, to make an 
immediate success of his first venture in newspaper work. His 




JOSEPH W. BURGESS 



parents, Joseph and Ann (Brettle) Burgess, are both natives of 
England, the former's birth occurring at Nottingham, July 31, 1824, 
and the latter's at Carlton, July 30, 1823. Strong-minded, warm- 
hearted people, they brought with them to this country a conscien- 
tious desire to succeed and the noble manner in which they made this 
possible, has ennobled the name of American citizenship. The 
mother died January 1, 1890. The daughters, Anna and Elizabeth, 
reside with their father at the homestead on Elizabeth street. 

Joseph W., was born January 1, 1851, at Dansville, N. Y., and with 
the exception of three years spent in a jMichigan lumber yard, 1876 
to 1879, and the Pennsylvania oil fields, he has been a continuous 
resident of this village. He was educated in the district schools and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



199 



Dansville Seniinar_v, interspersing his scholastic training with a 
liberal sprinkling of hard work at the bench with his father and as 
clerk in the postoffice. From 1880 to 1883, he was assistant editor 
of the Dansville Advertiser. During the latter year, he launched 
with the able assistance of Miller H. Fowler, a dollar a year, non- 
partisan, weekly newspaper, the Dansville Breeze, which has won 
cumulative favor by never deviating from its original firm policy. 

On August 21, 1873, Mr. Burgess was married to Miss Rhoda A. 
Shafer who was spared to him for only two years, she died Septem- 
ber 20, 1875. May 1, 1889, he married Miss Helen F. Sutton of 
Hornellsville, N. Y., who is the mother of three boys and two girls: 
J. Edwin, Alice A., Carl S., Robert W. and Helen L. Mr. Burgess 
has always been identified with the Methodist church, having been 
elected to the office of superintendent of the Sunday school, con- 
tinuously fcr twenty years. He has also taken an active part in pro- 
moting the efficiency of the fire department, assuming the responsi- 
bility of a number of offices in the Protectives Company, of which he 
is a charter member, and serving as chief of the department for three 




RESIDENCE, J. W. BURGESS 



years. He is a ready public speaker, and a most agreeable and cul- 
tured gentleman who has a host of friends and sincere admirers both 
in his private life and among the constituency of his newspaper. 
Dansville takes pride in his citizenship. 

June 1, 1902, jNIr. Burgess sold his interest in the Breeze to his 
partner Miller H. Fowler and accepted a position as advertising 
representative of the Instructor Publishing Company, a responsible 
position to which he is peculiarly well adapted. 



200 



BIOGRAPHICAL 




James H. BaKer 

In twenty years, Mr. 
James H. IBaker has so 
-i.,.-.<riy identified himself 
\\ ith Bansville and her 
best interests that all 
who know him and love 
this village regret that 
he has not always been 
among them. 

A native of West 
Bloomfield, Ontario 
county, he was born Sep- 
tember 18, 1841, where 
the first two score years 
of his life were spent. 
He followed up his early 
training in the public 
schools by completing 
courses at the Genesee 
Wesleyan and Fairfield 
Seminaries. For seven- 
teen years, he success- 
fully conducted a gen- 
eral store at West Bloom- 
field, relinquishing his 
interests in that place to move to Dansville where he has since resided. 
For four years, he gave his time and energy to the building up of 
a substantial grocery business, afterwards embarking in the nursery 
business, in which he was engaged for six years. During the last ten 
years, he has turned his attention to insurance and real estate, and the 
efficient inanner in which he handles all transactions entrusted to his 
judicious care, has encouraged confidence and substantial patronage. 
Mr. Baker was married October, 1862, to Miss (jrace Wright, a resi- 
dent of Worcester, Otsego county, and a lineal descendant of the fam- 
ous Pease family. One son, Fred W., is the only child and now resides 
in Takoma, Wash., where he is engaged in business. Ella May, the 
only daughter died July 28, 1897 at the age of si.xteen years. She 
was born in West Bloomfield, January 4, 1881, and came with her 
parents to this village in the spring of 1882. She grew up in Dans- 
ville and all the way from girlhood to j^oung womanhood grew into 
the hearts of the many and was most of all the life and pride of her 
home. Bright and ambitious she advanced rapidly in her studies and 
was equally active in church and social life. 

His father William Baker was born at East Haddam, Conn, in 
1800, and his mother Elvira (Parker) Baker in 1801 at East Bloomfield. 
The former died in 1883 and the latter in 1881. The close of the Civil 
War found Mr. Baker entering upon a vigorous manhood with personal 
plans well matured and organised for victory. As soon as it became 
clear to him that a war was inevitable, Mr. Baker abandoned his pri- 
vate interests and gave himself up unreservedly to the cause of his 



JAMtS H. BAKEPi 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



201 



country. As an orderly sergeant of Company K of the 15th New 
York Engineers, he saw much active service and received his honor- 
able discharge July, ]865. Having served his country in the trying- 
time of war, Mr. Baker has continued his interest in her welfare and 
has always taken great interest in public affairs both local and Na- 
tional. He is strong and influential advocate of republican principles. 
He also favors the Presbyterian creed as a form of divine worship. 

His interests are not confined entirely to affairs immediately per- 
taining to his business, but he takes great pleasure in promoting effi- 
cient work among the Masons and Odd Fellows, who rejoice in his 
association. For twenty years he has been a member of Seth N. 
Hedges Post, G. A. R., and has served the organization two terms as 
commander. 




RESIDENCE, J. H. BAKER 



202 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Bernard H. Oberdorf 




Bernard H. Oberdorf was 
born near Dansville, February 
3, 1855, and his home has been 
here since he was six years old. 
His progressive business and 
social success is known to 
ahnost every citizen. He has 
made his way by well-directed 
industry, coupled with intelli- 
:.;ence, persistence and popular 
personal qualities — in part a 
t;oodly inheritance from 
worthy ancestors. His father, 
a respected veteran of the 
civil war and professional 
musician, was for many years 
one of the musical leaders of 
Dansville, and since 1882 has 
taken an active part in musical 
matters in Rochester, where 
he was an incorporator of the 
S4th Regiment Band, and 
became the president both of 
BERNARD H. OBERDORF that orgauization and the 

Rochester Musical Protective Association. The mother was a 
daughter of Bernard Hamsher, one of the sturdy pioneers of Sparta. 
He entered the office of the Danbville Advertiser as an apprentice at 
the age of thirteen, and remained there thirteen years, rising to the 
position of foreman while yet almost a boy, and finally to that of edi- 
torial assistant. After his health became impaired he started as a 
local insurance agent, but soon accepted the place of clerk for the 
contractors of the D. L. & W. railroad — who were then constructing 
the through line to Buft'alo — and looked after their office business for 
several months. He then became identified with some of the insur- 
ance companies before mentioned which he now represents. In 1886 
he married Miss Helen G. Grant, daughter of Colonel T. B. Grant, 
whose long mercantile career and leadership in local military affairs 
are an important part of local history. 

Mr. Oberdorf is a member and Past Master of Phoenix Lodge No. 
115 F. & A. M., and a member and Past Grand of Canaseraga Lodge 
No. 123 L O. of O. F. For eleven years he was an active member of 
L^nion Hose Company, which he has served both as secretary anci 
president, and of which he is now an exempt, honorary and club 
member. He has been a trustee of the village, and officially identi- 
fied with important organizations for the benefit of the village, such 
as the Board of Education, and the Dansville Library Association, 
not to mention other responsibilities which have been thrust upon 
him from time to time. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



203 



Experience and study in connection with some of the best insurance 
companies and ablest insurance managers in the world, have made Mr. 
Oberdorf complete master of the local details and requirements of the 
business, and he can be depended upon for correct information and 
prompt, faithful service pertaining thereto. 

JoHii C. Williams 

One of the oldest and best known citizens of Dansville, John C. Wil- 
liams, died Monday, May 24, 1897, from the effects of a paralytic 
stroke. Mr. Williams had been in feeble health for some years, but 
was able to attend to his milling business, his last visit to the mill 
being but two days previous to his death. Mr. Williams was born at 




J. C. WILLIAMS 



Phelps, Ontario county, June 6, 1820, the son of Horace D. Williams 
and grandson of Major Chester Williams of revolutionary fame. His 
mother was Mary Bardwell, of the family of Sir William de Bardwell 
of Bardwell, Suffolk county, England. Mr. Williams came to Dans- 
ville from Rochester, N. Y., in 1843, having spent most of his youth- 
ful days in that city. After coming to Dansville, he engaged in the 



204 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



milling business, to which he added later the nursery business. In 
1847, he married Miss Fanny Bradner Faulkner, daughter of the late 
Dr. James Faulkner. Of nine children, six survive; Mrs. H. P. Mills, 
Katherine B. and Minerva F. Williams of Dansville, Edward H. of 
Wentworth, Mo., Mrs. Pell W. Foster and Mrs. Chas. Q. Freeman of 
New York city, also two sisters and one brother; Mrs. A. J. Bailey, 
recently deceased, and Miss Louise J. Williams and Horace D. Wil- 
liams of Leslie, Michigan. Mr. Williams was a man of fine business 
cjualifications, of cjuiet demeanor and habits and a citizen highly 
esteemed. He was a charter member of Canaseraga Lodge, L O. O. 
F., of this village, which was organized in 1844. For many years, one 
of the leading men ot this village, Mr. Williams enriched the prestige 
of a family name already replete in praiseworthy reminiscenses that 
have lived through many centuries. 

Emerson JoHnson 



Hon. Emerson Johnson of The 
Jackson Sanatorium, was born 
August 11, 1812, in the town of 
Sturbridge, Massachusetts. His 
grandfather, James Johnson, 
held the original grant of the 
homestead farm, and was among 
the earliest volunteers in the 
Revolutionary war. His father, 
James, Jr., inherited the family 
estate and served two terms in 
the State legislature. H i s 
mother died in his boyhood. 

Mr. Johnson finished his 
school education at Wilbraham 
Academy, Conn., one of the 
oldest educational institutions 
in the country. In 1838 he 
married Miss Hannah Arnold 
and settled in the old homestead. 
One son and two daughters were 
born of this marriage. The son 
Arthur fell in the battle of Spottsylvania Court House, and the Grand 
Army Post of Sturbridge bears his name. Mrs. Hannah Johnson died 
in 1844, and Mr. Johnson married for his second wife, Miss Fanny L. 
Brown, a graduate of Mt. Holyoke Seminary, who with one daughter 
survives him. 

In 1851, and again in ISbl, Wx. Johnson was elected to the House 
of Representatives of Massachusetts, and in 1865 was chosen to the 
State Senate. His influence won the vote which turned to Charles 
Sumner, gave him one majority and elected him to the United States 
Senate, a service which Senator Sumner afterward gratefully acknowl- 
edged. 



€l^t» 




.^k"^ 


i 



HON. EMERSON JOHNSON 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



205 



In 1866 Mr. Johnson removed from Massachusetts to Dansville, 
where he and his wife became members of the family at Brightside, 
the residence of his son-in-law. Dr. James H. Jackson. Here he be- 
came actively identified with The Jackson Sanatorium as superintend- 
ent of its grounds and buildings. With money, talent and labor he 
materially promoted the growth and success of this great health 
institution. 

It was in his religious and diimestic life that "Father Johnson" was 
at his best. A man of strong religious convictions he struggled bravely 
against the stern New England theology under which he was reared. 
He lived to see the greatest preachers of the age standing on the ad- 
vanced ground of liberal thought that he had reached in early man- 
hood ; and he rejoiced to know that a broader humanit}^ had been 
coupled with practical Christianity. He was a faithful attendant 
upon Christian worship, rarely missing the daily chapel services from 
year to year. He enjoyed his home, his family and his friends with 
all the zest of a lover to the last conscious moment, until his great 
heart ceased to beat forever. After a six weeks' illness he died at the 
Brightside home, May 2, 1896, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. 

^^ ^ 

Giles ElderKin Jackson 



(riles Elderkin Jackson was 
born in the village of Peterboro, 
Madison county. N. Y. , on June 
20, 1836, the eldest son of Dr. 
James C. Jackson. He moved 
with the Jackson family to Glen 
Haven, Cayuga Co., N. Y. at the 
age of thirteen years, and had his 
academic education in Homer, 
Cortland county, N. Y., at an 
academy in those days famous 
for the educational opportunities 
which it offered, presided over as 
it was by President Woolworth, 
one of the early Regents of the 
State. After gaining his educa- 
tion he broke down while account- 
ant for the firm of Miller, Orton 
& Mulligan, a publishing house 
at Auburn, N. Y., bled at the 
lungs, and was sent to Nebraska 
for his health in 1857, where he 
took up and entered land seven 
miles back of Omaha and Flor- 
ence, Neb. At that time Omaha had only a few hundred inhabitants. 
In the fall of 1858 he came back to Glen Haven very much improved 
in health, and participated in the emigration of the Jackson family 




GILES ELDERKIN JACKSON 



206 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



to Dansville and became the active business head of the new partner- 
ship of F. Wilson Hurd & Company, and continued so to be until his 
health again failed. In 1861 he was superseded by his brother Dr. 
James H. Jackson in the active care and oversight of the business of 
the Institution. He lived to the age of twenty-nint, dving on the 
29th of June, 1864. 

He will be remembered by the citizens of Dansville who are famil- 
iar with the early history of the Institution, as a man of rare promise, 
with literary gifts, and a spiritual culture not often attained at so 
early an age. He originated the idea and made the plan for the 
building which is now known as the Chapel of the Jackson Sanator- 
ium, in those days called Liberty Hall. This building erected in 
1862-63 is today a monument to his forethought in providing a hall, 
from the platform of which his father might promulgate to the thou- 
sands who came to his Institution the philosophy and practices imder- 
lying it, which were so wonderful in their beneficent etfects in recon- 
structing the health and spiritual life of his patients. 

James ArtHur Jackson 



James Arthur Jackson, M. D., 
only son of Dr. James H. Jackson 
and Katherine Johnson, was born 
at Dansville, May 4, 1868. He 
has always lived in Dansville, re- 
ceiving his education at the 
Academy, and the preparatory 
schools of Cornell University, and 
a thorough business education at 
the Rochester Business Univer- 
sity. He began early in his life 
to associate himself with his 
father in the management of the 
business of The Jackson Sana- 
torium ; in fact he became asso- 
ciate business manager of the 
same before he had secured his 
medical education, and kept sharp 
watch of its affairs during the 
period of his passage through the 
University of Buffalo, from which 
he graduated as physician in 
1895, only a few days after the 
death of his grandfather, who, had 

he lived a few days longer, would have been able to say that his son 

and grandson had been practicing physicians during his own lifetime 

in the institution which he had founded. 

In 1891 he married Ethelwyn McMuUen, daughter of George W. 

McMullen of Picton, Ont., Canada, and to them a son James Arthur 

Jackson, Jr. was born April 15, 1898. 




JAMES ARTHUR JACKSON 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



207 



Dr. Jackson became a stockhijlder and trustee, and secretary of the 
present corporation known as The Jackson Sanatorium in 1900, and is 
at the present time in the flush of his early manhood, not only the 
business manager of the institution but a busy practicing physician on 
its medical staff. 

Dr. Jackson has been associated with the citizens of the town in its 
various business enterprises, having been for some years, as he is now, 
director in the Citizens Bank of Dansville. He inherits very much of 
his grandfather Jackson's capacity for organization, is an admirable 
business organizer, and has the facility in the use of language which 
distinguished his grandfather and made him a superior platform 
speaker. 

Ivucretia £dgerton Jackson 



Lucretia Edgerton Jackson was 
born in the town of Mexico, Os- 
wego Co., N. Y., Feb. 2f), 1810, 
being the daughter of Judge Elias 
Brewster, an earl}' resident of the 
town, and a man of force and 
[irominence in the communit)". 
She was a direct descendent of 
Elder William Brewster, some- 
limes called the Chief of the Pil- 
grims, and used to pride herself 
on her good Puritan blood which 
showed itself in her a worthy de- 
scendant of the Elder, in her 
wonderfully developed character, 
noted for its quietness, steadfast- 
ness, her sunny disposition and 
Christian graces. In 1830 she 
married James C. Jackson at that 
time a resident of Manlius, On- 
ondaga Co., N. Y., and was a 
helpmeet indeed to him in all his 
work in the early temperance and 
anti-slavery days, sheltering at 
her house in Peterboro, N. Y., ofttimes when her husband was away 
on his lecturing trips, negroes who were enroute by the underground 
railway from the South to Canada in the years from 1830 to 1845. 
When Dr. Jackson became interested in health reform in 1847, mak- 
ing his first venture in this direction as practicing physician in the 
control of the Glen Haven Water Cure at the head of Skaneateles 
Lake, Cayuga Co., N. Y., she was foremost in all the affairs of a 
competent and busy housewife. Coming to Dansville with him in 
18S8, she was for some eight or ten years active in the management of 
the culinary and housekeeping departments of Our Home on the Hill- 




LUCRETIA EDGERTON JACKSON 



208 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



side, but eventually yielded this position to her daughter-in-law, Kath- 
erine J. Jackson. From this time until the day of her death in Feb. 
1890, at which time she only lacked a few days of being 80 years old, 
she lived in comparative retirement, for some years at Dr. Jackson's 
Lake home at Alaple Beach, Conesus lake, and the rest of the time at 
the family residence known as Brightside. 

She was most lovingly esteemed by hundreds of people young and 
old, patients and helpers, who received from her every kind attention 
and help which could be rendered during all the days of her associa- 
tion with the business interests of the Institution. She had a passion 
for helping the young to live more nobly and truly if possible than 
they were doing, and was a real mother in Israel to many a poor fellow 
seeking to recover his health, and to learn the way in life which had 
been lost through misadventure, so that she was always known as 
"Mother Jackson. " She will be remembered by those of her age 
and time in Dansville as interested in all charitable undertakings, 
and a faithful friend and helper. 



Ratlig^Tine J. Jackson 

Katharine J. Jackson, M. D., was 
born in the town of vSturbridge, 
Massachusetts, April 7, 1841, her 
father being Hon. Emerson John- 
son, a sketch of whom is given in 
this work. Her great-grandfather 
was one of the earliest settlers in 
that town. He was a member of 
the Massachusetts Militia, joining 
the Revolutionary Army the day 
after the battle of Lexington. Her 
iTiOther wa.s Hannah Arnold, also 
of the same town. 

Mrs. Jackson's education was 
completed at Hartford, Conn. At 
the close of her school life she 
studied stenography, and becom- 
ing expert, applied for a position 
as stenographer to Dr. James C. 
Jackson, at Our Home on the 
Hillside. ^Irs. Jackson's step-mother (Fanny B. Johnson) had been a 
patient of Dr. Jackson's when he was practicing at Glen Haven, Cay- 
uga county, N. Y., and thus the two families knew something of each 
other. Her application was accepted, and she came in January 1862. 
and acted as stenographer to Dr. Jackson, with short interregnum, 
until September 13. 1864 when she married Dr. James H. Jackson, 
who was then business manager of Our Home. She filled until 1873 
the position of overseeing matron of the institution, going at this time 
with her husband to pursue a medical course with him. vShe was an 




KATHAMNE J, JACKSON 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



209 



attendant upon the college of the New York Infirmary for women pre- 
sided over by Dr. Emily Blackwell, one of the earliest Medical Col- 
leges for women in this country, and one of the best. For four years 
she pursued her studies in medicine, graduating as valedictorian of 
her class, and returned to enter upon her medical profession as lady 
physician in the institution, in the spring of 1877. Her identification 
with the institution as co-worker with the proprietors and members of 
the faculty has been without break up to the present time, although 
latterl}' her duties have l)een those of Emeritus physician rather than 
of one in active medical practice, but socialh' she has been and is still 
largely identified with the work and interests of the institution. 

It is but just to say that the welfare of the institution, its popular- 
ity with its guests, and the good health of hundreds of women have 
been due to the conscientious, devoted and tactful work of this lady. 
All who know her recognize her as one of the leading factors in the 
growth, development, and present success of The Jackson Sanatorium. 

Her professional work has not allowed her to enter into the public 
or social life of the town' very much in all these years, but her public 
spirit and generosity are well known. She has lived to see her son 
James Arthur Jackson filling his place as business manager of the 
institution, and as a busy practicing physician on its staff, successful 
and honored in his career. 




ALTA VISTA, RESIDENCE, DR., JAMK' 



210 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



Harriet N. Austin 




Harriet X. Austin, M. D., 
was born in Connecticut Aug. 
31, 1826. She came to Mora- 
via, Cayuga Co., N. Y. , with 
lier family, and after finishing 
her education in the schools of 
the village graduated in medi- 
cine at the college presided 
civer by Dr. R. T. Trail, in 
New York city. This was the 
liist so-called Hydropathic col- 
lege grounding its students in 
all the ordinary branches of 
medical practice except those 
I if drug giving, teaching a new 
system of therapeutics modified 
somewhat, but practically the 
same as that introduced by 
Priesnitz, the Bavarian peasant, 
the so-called discoverer of the 
water cure or hydropathic treat- 
ment of disease. 

vSoon after her graduation she 
sought admission to the medi- 
cal staff of the Glen Haven 
water cure, at that time presi- 
ded over by Dr. James C. Jack- 
son, who was afterwards the 
founder of The Jackson Sana- 
torium in Dansville, becoming an active practitioner in that institu- 
tion about the year 1852. Her talent and most excellent work, and 
her superior character led to her being adopted into the Jackson fam- 
ily, thus becoming a permanent member thereof, so that when Dr. 
Jackson and his family came to Dansville to open the Institution, at 
that time known as Our Home on the Hillside, she came also, and 
became a partner in the first business enterprise (see history of Insti- 
tution in this volume) and continued to be identified with the same 
actively and in a business and professional way until the reorganiza- 
tion of the Institution after the fire in 1882, at which time she sold 
her interest to Dr. James H. Jackson, though she continued to write 
for the "Laws of Life and Journal of Health," a magazine of which 
she had been editor for many years, and through which, by her 
writings, she had large influence on the public in the direction of 
medical reform, and particularly along the line of reformation in 
dress for women. She was one of the members of Dr. Jackson's fam- 
ily, who in association with many of the guests and helpers of the 
Hillside, wore the so-called "American costume" for many years, 
both at home and abroad, and was known as one of the leading dress- 
reformers of the country, traveling and speaking in favor of the 



HARRIET N. AUSl IN 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



211 



American costume as a dress for women, mucli more healthful, and in 
every way better fitted for them for many reasons, than the long 
skirts and tight waists prescribed by fashion. Her picture at the 
head of this sketch represents her in her costume, and will doubtless 
in the minds of many old residents of the town call up associations of 
the early days of the Institution, and incidents in the history of the 
village. 

Miss Austin died at the residence of Dr. Jackson in North Adams, 
Mass., in May, 1891, and was buried in the Jackson lot in Greenmount 
cemetery. 



Bertrand G. Foss 

Bertrand (t. Foss, attorney at Dansville, was born at Le Roy, Pa., 
vSeptember I't, 1861, being son of the late Andrew D. Foss, who re- 
moved to that place from New Hampshire at an early age, with his 

parents. Andrew D. Foss, dur- 
ing the time he resided at Le 
Roy, took an active part in the 
politics of Bradford county, 
holding the offices of justice of 
the peace, county commis- 
sioner, and door-keeper at the 
House of Representatives at 
Harrisburg. In 1868 he re- 
moved to Canton, Pa., where 
he lived in retirement until his 
decease, which occurred in Jan- 
uary, 1893, at the age of seventy- 
four. The maiden name of his 
wife, the mother of the subject 
of this sketch, was Sarah vS. 
Parkhurst, of Le Roy. Mrs. 
Foss, now aged seventy-three, 
is still living at Canton, Pa. 

Bertrand G. Foss, who is an 
only son, attended the graded 
school at Canton, and graduated 
therefrom in 1877, delivering 
the valedictory address of his 
class. He was afterward em- 
ployed as teacher in the same 
school. In 1882 he came to 
Dansville as the agent for the Ithaca Piano & Organ Company. In 
1883 he commenced the study of law in the office of Faulkner & Bis- 
sell, and was admitted to the bar at Rochester in March, 1886. In 
1889 Mr. Foss entered into a co-partnership with Charles J. Bissel, 
Esq., for the practice of Law under the firm name of Bissell & Foss. 
This association was terminated in 1891 by the removal of Mr. Bissell 
to Rochester, since which time Mr. Foss has continued the practice of 
law in the same office where he began his clerkship. 




BERTRAND 



212 BIOGRAPHICAL 

ls\r. Foss, as a firm believer in the principles of the democratic 
party, has taken an active interest in the politics of Dansville and 
Livingston county. From the year 1885 to 1898 he was justice of 
the peace of the town of No. Dansville. In the last mentioned year 
he was elected supervisor and held the office continuously since that 
time. He has also held the office of Police Justice and for many years 
has been attorney for the Village of Dansville. In 1889 he was the 
candidate of his party for district attorney of Livingston county, 
and was defeated by a small majority in a county strongly Republican. 
He has represented his party upon the county committee for many 
years and has been chairman of the committee since 1895, and was a 
delegate from Livingston county to the Democratic State Convention 
in 1895. Mr. Foss and his wife, whose maiden name was Hattie J. 
Bradley, and to whom he was united in marriage at Dansville in 1886, 
are attendants upon the Episcopal form of worship. Mr. Foss, besides 
enjoying professional distinction, is closely identified with various 
benevolent and social fraternities of Dansville, being a member of 
Phoenix Lodge, No. 113, F. & A. _M., Canaseraga Lodge, No. 123, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Dansville Camp, No. 64, K. O. 
T. M., and Protectives No. 1, Fire Company. 



^ ^ 



F. R.. DriesbacK 

Dr. Fred Robert Driesbach, who has been actively engaged in the 
practice of medicine in the village of Dansville since 1889, was born at 
South Dansville, May 31, 1865. His success in his chosen field of en- 
deavor is the natural sequence of favoring influences in a strong line 
of ancestry, of exceptional educational opportunities and of persistent 
personal effort throughout his career. He is the son of Henry Dries- 
bach, a man of unimpeachable character and an admired and respected 
resident of Steuben county. His mother, Eunice (Faulkner) Dries- 
bach, was a great grand-daughter of Daniel Faulkner, in honor of 
whom this village and township were named respectively Dansville 
and North Dansville, and a direct descendant also of Captain Perine, 
one of the first settlers of this village. 

Dr. Driesbach acquired his early education at the public schools and 
Dansville Seminary, leaving home at the age of sixteen to take a four- 
year course at the Geneseo Normal, from which institution he grad- 
uated in 1886. The following three years he spent in the Medical 
Department of Columbia Universitv, New York City, receiving the 
degree of M. D. in June 1889. Frorn 1889 to 1893 he practiced in 
common with Dr. James Crisfield, and since the latter date has con- 
ducted singly an extensive practice in medicine and surgery, with 
offices and consultation rooms at his residence, 100 Main Street. 
Since 1890 he has been local manager and a director of the Dansville 
Medical and Surgical Institute, the large and beautifully equipped 
hospital which occupies the former site of the Dansville Seminary. 




UR. F. P.. DRItSBACH 



214 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



He was married in May 1890 to Lora E. Bastian, daughter of Gott- 
lob Bastian, who is one of Dansville's most substantial and progressive 
citizens. 

Dr. Driesbach's profession occupies his attention chiefly, though he 
is not unmindful of social and other obligations, and his private fife is 
what might be e.\pected from a man of his ability and consequent 
prominence. 




RESIDENCE, DR. DREESBACH 



A Presbyterian by faith and always a Republican in politics, he also 
takes an active interest in the local order of Red Men and the Union 
Hose Club. From 1898 to 1900 he served as trustee of the village. 
Since the beginning of McKinley's first term as chief executive he has 
been president of the Board of Surgeons on pension examinations, who 
have their headquarters at Mt. Morris, N. Y. His membership with 
this board dates from the last term of President Harrison. He is 
now coroner of Livingston county. Dr. Driesbach's surpassing 
power as a physician is due to a combination of qualities, any one of 
which would secure a fair measure of success and all together explain 
his remarkably successful career. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



215 



Peter Geiger. 




of the many hundreds 
who have formed his ac- 
quaintance in a social, or 
business way, it would be 
difficult to find one who 
has anything -but praise 
for the late Peter Geiger, 
whose untimely death was 
the cause of universal 
grief. His genial dis- 
position and sympathetic 
nature have given him a 
strong hold on a wide 
circle of friends. 

Mr. Geiger was born at 
Uhrweiler, St. Wendel, 
Germany, Dec. 31, 1852. 
He was the son of Johann 
and Katrina (Ostchen) 
(ieiger; his father being 
a native of Uhrweiler, St. 
Wendel, and his mother 
of Krugelburn, Germany. 
Sept. 8, 1874, he bade 
a last farewell to his old 
homestead and came to 
America. Nearly a year was spent in Rochester, N. Y., where he 
learned the butchers' trade. Removing to this village, July 23, 1872, 
he entered the employ of Frank Gunther. On Nov. 21, 1884, he es- 
tablished a market at No. 142 Main Street, where he remained until 
April 1, 189U, when he moved into his newly-built market, at No. 132 
Main Street, which is still being conducted by his estate, and is pop- 
ularly known as the Geiger Market. 

He was married to Miss Lucy Heiman, a native of Sheldon, Wy- 
oming county, on April 27, 1875. Six sons and three daughters were 
born to them of which all except two sons are living, they having 
died in infancy. Clara, the eldest daughter, was married Sept. 26, 
1900, to Edward D. Snyder, the progressive proprietor and owner of 
the Snyder Fountain Roller Mills, located at Williamsville, N. Y. 
One daughter, Levancha Lucy, has blessed this union. Herman F., 
the eldest son, is the capable manager of the market. Bertha, Otto, 
Mary, Frederic, and Aibinus are the remaining members of this 
family and all reside at home. Mr. Geiger received the injury which 
terminated in his death, July 31, 1901. Everything possible was 
done to save his life but the end came suddenly on the eve of Aug. 9. 
Successful as a man of business, and surrounded by many comforts 
and a devoted family, Mr. Geiger looked forward to many happy 
years. Though many will continue to mourn because of his sudden 
departure from this earth, his good works and noble example will 
continue to live in the hearts of his many friends. 



PETER. GEIGER. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



217 



Benjzktnin P. Andrews 

Benjamin P. Andrews is a man who delights to devote his talent 
and energy to the advancement of the town in which he lives. The 
village of Dansville has no more public spirited citizen than he. In 
fact he is one of the men who have made the village what it is today, 
having been instrumental in forming the \'illage Improvement society 
and in developing Central and Elm parks. All other movements for 
the civic or physical betterment of Dansville receive his earnest assist- 
ance. A highly educated gentleman himself, he has taken especial 
interest in the work of public education and has given much time to 
the organizing and building up of the splendid [)ublic librar)' of this 
village. 




RESIDENCE, DR. B. P. ANDREWS 



Dr. Andrews came to Dansville in 1877 at the age of twenty-one 
years, having graduated from the New York Homeopathic Medical 
college and received his medical degree and license to practice the 
same year. He is a native of Preston, Chenango county, N. Y., his 
birth occurring August 19, 1856. His parents. Nelson and Elizabeth 
(Williams) Andrews, descended from old colonial stock which became 
identified with America in its time of greatest dependence. Two of 
his great-grandfathers fought during the Revolution. It was in the 
public schools and Oxford Academy that he received his early educa- 
tion and was awarded his academic diploma in 1874. 



218 BIOGRAPHICAL 

After three years' successful practice in Dansville Doctor Andrews 
returned to Oxford, N. Y., and married Miss Jane M. Davidson who 
became a most welcome addition to the social life of the village. The 
only child, Edith Elizabeth, has recently graduated from Rcxhester 
High school and is now entering upon a college career at Mt. Holyoke. 
The handsome residence here illustrated was built in 1889. 

Doctor Andrews takes a deep interest in his profession, giving 
nearly all of his time and talent to promoting the speedy recovery of 
the many who seek relief through the agencies at his command. He 
is an active member of both county and State medical societies. 

CHarles H. Ro^ve 

Charles H. Rowe, one of the leading lawyers of Dansville, X. Y., 
and district attorney of Livingston county for the past six years, is a 
grandson of Erhard Rowe, one of the early settlers of this part of the 
vState, who reared a family of sixteen children, and died in the town 
of Sparta ac the advanced age of ninety-seven. Mr. Rowe's father, 
George Rowe, died in Dansville in 1895, age seventy-nine; and his 
mother, Sarah Rowe, is still living here at the age of eighty-three. 

Mr. Rowe was born on a farm in the town of Springwater, but moved 
to Dansville when he was thirteen years old. After completing the 
course and graduating from the Dansville Seminary, he took a year's 
collegiate course at Cook Academy in 1876. At this time Mr. Rowe, 
however, abandoned the idea of a college course, and immediately 
commenced the reading of law, at first with Judge John A. VanDerlip, 
and later with Noyes & Hedges. He was admitted to the bar Janu- 
ary 17, 1879, and at once began practice in Dansville, which he has 
continued to the present time. For the past six years Mr. Rowe has 
been much occupied with his duties as district attorney of Living- 
ston county, a position to which he was elected in the fall of 1896 by 
the Republicans of the district. It is a gratifying evidence of his 
po[.)ularity in the county, and of his recognized fitness for the oiifice, 
that he received at that time a larger number of votes than the candi- 
date for any other oiifice, either national, state or county. During his 
incumbency of that office he has conducted successfully iiiany of the 
most important criminal cases in the history of the county. In addi- 
tion to fulfilling the duties of this office, Mr. Rowe has been busily 
engaged during the last three years as acting surrogate of Livingston 
county, many very important will and other contests having been tried 
before him in that capacity; and in this office he has given that same 
general satisfaction as has characterized his conduct in the office of 
prosecuting attorney. At the time of entering upon his duties as 
county official he was already well known in public life in Dansville, 
where he had filled several important offices. In May, 1890, he was 
appointed by President Harrison postmaster of the village, and served 
until Jidy 31, 1894, during that time creating many reforms in the 
service, and establishing the postoffice, which is one of Dansville's 
prides, in its present location. He had been three times elected as 
justice of the peace and once trustee of the village on an appreciable 




CHAKLES H. ROWE 



220 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



minority ticket, and in 1S95 acted as corporation counsel of Dansville. 
Since his election as district attorney he has displayed the same zeal, 
abilit)- and faithfulness in managing the legal affairs of the county 
that he has always shown in guarding the interests of his clients. 

Mr. Rowe has been an active member of the Protective Fire com- 
pany of Dansville ever since its organization, and has filled success- 
fully all the diflferent offices of that company, as well as in the local fire 
department. He is an Odd Fellow, Red Alan, Elk, Maccabee, as well 




RESIDENCE, CHARLES H. ROWE 



as a member of the State Bar Association and the Rc:)chester Whist 
club, and attends St. Peter's church, Dansville, of which he is a mem- 
ber of the vestry. His political success as a Republican in a Demo- 
cratic town is only one evidence of his popularity, due to his agreeable 
personal qualities and general high standing in the community. Mr. 
Rowe is now serving his second term as district attorney of the county, 
having been renominated for that office in 189":) by a convention of his 
party, and without a dissenting vote of any of its delegates. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



221 



Miller H. Fowler 

Miller H. Fowler, pulilisher and proprietor of the Dansville Breeze, 
has been a resident of this \nllage for over a quarter of a cen- 
tury. He was born in Springwater, N. Y., September 29, 1862, re- 
moving with his parents at the age of four years to Wayland, N. Y., 
where he remained until 1874. Lima, N. Y. next claimed him as a 
resident, and in 187(>, Dansville became his home. 




MILl.tR H. FOWLtR 



His father Thomas M. Fowler, was a man possessed of many ad- 
mirable traits of mind and character, a successful politician and pro- 
gressive merchant. For two terms, 1872 to 1874, he represented 
Steuben county in the State Legislature. During his residence in 
Dansville, which continued to the time of his death, he was engaged in 
the dry goods business. The mother, whose maiden name was Harriet 
G. Everett, still resides here with her son, G. G. Fowler. 

Starting in life with priceless qualities of mind and character in- 
herited from a long line of worthy ancestors, Mr. Fowler followed up 
this advantage by securing a good business education. In addition to 
the public school he attended the Dansville and Genesee Wesleyan 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



seminaries. At the comparative!}' youthful age of thirteen years, he 
became interested in the art of printing, and a few years later opened 
a job printing office in Dansville. During the year 1883 he estab- 
lished, with Joseph W. Burgess as partner, the Dansville Breeze, 
which has fast developed into one of the best country weeklies in New 
York State, from both typographical and literary standpoints. 




RESIDENCE. M. H. FOWLER 



Mr. Fowler was married in 1885 to ]\Iinnie A. Lemen, daughter of 
Archibald Lemen, who was one of Dansville's oldest and most re- 
spected citizens. He died in 1899. Mr. Fowler is an exceedingly 
busy man, devoting himself heart and soul to the interest of his pa- 
trons and the constituency of his newspaper, preferring this method 
of confining his energies, to seeking prominence in social or political 
organizations. 

A son, Harold G., a student of the High school and dealer in foreign 
and Am.erican stamps, is the only child. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



223 



Walter E.. Gregory 




WALTER E. GREGORY 



Walter Eugene Gregory, M. 
D., one of the managing physi- 
cians of the Jackson Sanatorium 
of Dansville, N. Y., was born in 
Reedsburg, Wis., on vSept. 18, 
1857. Dr. Gregory's father, was 
a native of Ashtabula, Ohio, in 
which town Ezra Gregory, his 
grandfather, was also born. At 
the age of thirty-five Ezra moved 
to Wisconsin, where he lived un- 
til his death. He reared a family 
of seven children, two of whom 
followed the medical profession, 
and one was killed at Chalk Bluf?, 
Mo., during the Rebellion. 

Walter E. Gregory attended in 
his childhood the graded schools 
in Missouri, and on returning to 
Wisconsin, at the age of sixteen, 
continued his studies in the dis- 
trict school where he prepared for 
the high school course, which 
was completed in his twenty-first 
year. Failing in health in 1882 he came to The Jackson Sana- 
torium where twenty-five years before, his uncle, Levi Cottington, 
had been restored to health. Putting himself under the care of Dr. 
James H. Jackson, he faithfully followed the directions laid down for 
him, and in six months was able to engage in some light employment, 
from that time making himself useful wherever he was needed 
until after the fire of 1882, when he became superintendent in the 
business office. In 1886 he entered the Medical Department of the 
University of Buffalo, graduating in 1889 on the honor roll. In 
April, 1889, he married Miss Helen C. Davis, of St. Andrews, 
Quebec, Canada, and at once became a member of the staff of 
physicians at The Jackson Sanatorium. Dr. Gregory comes of a fam- 
ily of physicians, two of his father's brothers, and one of his mother's 
being well known physicians in the West. The same year Dr. and 
Mrs. Gregory became stockholders and directors in what was then 
known as Our Home Hygienic Institute, and they have since been ac- 
tive coadjutors of Dr. Jackson. Mrs. Gregory, as Miss Helen C. 
Davis, came to the Sanatorium in the autumn of '81, and in the spring 
of '82 became cashier, a position she held until appointed treasurer 
which office she now holds. Mrs. Gregory has for several years suc- 
cessfully conducted classes in the Delsarte system of physical culture. 
Cherry Knoll situated a little to the south and east of the Sanatorium 
is the home of Dr. Gregory. Beatrice H. Gregory is the other mem- 
ber of the family, the little girl making her own history _ in study in 
the High school in music, work and play. 



lUOGRAPHICAL 225 

The Dyer Family 

The Dyer family is of old English stock. William and Mary Dyer 
came to America in 1620 and settled in Rhode Island. A few years 
after reaching their new home, William Dyer together with Roger 
Williams and sixteen others, formed a company, which was incor- 
porated, and purchased the state of Rhode Island. Mary, daughter of 
William Dyer, who was accused of witchcraft after she had become a 
Quaker, was hanged on Boston Common in the year 1660. Later 
some of the family moved to Vermont and among them were Elisha 
and Solon_Dyer who settled near Rutland. Solon Dyer had a family 
of twelve children; Elisha, the eldest, died in New Orleans during 
the cholera epidemic in 1832. Horatio, the second son, 
was born in Rutland, Vermont, in 1805. He received a 
good business education in his youth and at the age of nineteen went 
to Warsaw, N. Y. , and took charge of the store of Augustus Frank, 
who had large dealings with the Indians, and was afterwards asso- 
ciated with Mr. Ayrault of Castile, both well known business men. 
In 1828, Mr. Dyer removed to Springwater, N. Y., and formed a co- 
partnership under the firm name of Dyer & Wells, doing a general 
mercantile business. After four years Mr. Dyer became sole pro- 
prietor and conducted the largest mercantile business in that part of 
the county. He was also interested in agriculture and purchased 
farming lands which were an additional source of profit. In 1830 Mr. 
Dyer was married to Electa Ann vSouthworth, daughter of Alva South- 
worth a prominent lawyer of Ontario county. Four children were 
born to them; Mary Lois, Solon Southworth, Horatio Franklin and 
Caroline Electa. In 1864 Mr. Dyer moved to Dansville and the fol- 
lowing year occurred the death of Mrs. Dyer. 

Having retired from active business, he still retained a keen interest 
in everything pertaining to it. In 1868 he purchased what is now 
known as the Dyer block. His mind was stored with information 
drawn from careful reading and he was especially interested in 
American history and the march of political events. His truthfulness 
and integrity were beyond question and his genial presence was every- 
where welcome. He found his chief pleasure in the tender devotion 
and companionship of his family where he was the trusted and be- 
loved counselor and guide. His death occurred November 26, 1880. 

Solon Southworth Dyer was born in Springwater, N. Y. , August, 
30, 1835. He was educated at Temple Hill Academy, Geneseo. For 
some years he had charge of his father's extensive agricultural inter- 
ests and in 1864 became a member of the firm of Dyer, Austin & Co., 
dry goods merchants of Dansville. After four years of successful 
business he retired from that firm and formed a co-partnership with 
his brother Horatio F., under the firm name of Dyer Brothers. They 
opened a store in the block recently purchased, for the sale of dry- 
goods and carpets. The business has continued uninterruptedly ever 
since, enjoying the confidence and patronage of the people. 

Horatio Franklin Dyer was born in Springwater, N. Y. , May 4, 
1838. He attended Lima Seminary, was graduated from the Albany 
Law School and admitted to practice in the State courts in 1862. 
The following year he was admitted to practice in the Lhiited States 



228 BIOGRAPHICAL 

courts and was engaged in the office of Hon. Sherman S. Rogers of 
Buffalo. In 1868 he became one of the firm of Dyer Brothers, and in 
conducting the business his law e.xperience has been of great value. 
In 1872 he was married to Julia Elizabeth Denio, daughter of Israel 
Denio of Rome, N. Y., and niece of Hon. Hiram Denio, chief justice 
of the court of appeals of New York. Three children have been born 
to them; Grace Denio, Robert Franklin and Annie Louise. Mr. 
Dyer is a member of the board of trustees of the Presbyterian church 
of Dansville, and has served several terms as president of the board. 
He was one of the building committee who had charge of the con- 
struction of the present edifice. He is also a member of the board of 
education and a director of the Citizens Bank. 

The Dyer Brothers have contributed liberally of their resources 
towards promoting and advancing the general welfare of the town 
and occupy a foremost position of trust and honor both as merchants 
and as citizens. 



^^ ^ 



CKarles C. VeitK 

Charles C. Veith, a well known pharmacist and one of Dansville's 
most respected citizens, has been prominently identified with the drug 
business in this part of Livingston county for over sixteen years. He 
was born at Dansville, N. Y., where he has always lived and where his 
many and versatile talents render him deservedly popular among all 
classes. His birth occurred May 10, 1865. His father, J. William 
Veith, was born at Baden. Landshausen, Germany, May 21 , 1839, and 
came to this country in 1855. His mother, Mary ^I. (Haben) Veith, 
was born at Dansville, N. Y., July 24, 1841. Both parents are still 
living. Charles C. received his early education at St. Mary's paroch- 
ial school and the Dansville Seminary. September 23, 1886, he en- 
tered into copartnership with F. D. Horton, and October 2, 1888, be- 
came sole proprietor of the same drug establishment. Mr. ^'eith was 
married in 1889 to Miss Mary vS. Kramer, daughter of John J. Kramer, 
a highly esteemed resident of Dansville, N. Y. She died ]\Iarch 6, 
1902. after a short illness. Her bright, winning character and ever 
cheerful disposition attracted to her many friends, while her whole 
hearted devotion to the members of her family enhanced the charm of 
her personality. The three daughters and one son are named respect- 
ively: Virginia M., Katherine M., A. Doratha, and C. Benjamin. 

Mr. Veith has always been highly regarded by his fellow citizens, 
as a progressive business man and for his many engaging personal 
qualities which have won him many friends and admirers. He has 
been town auditor since 1899. His political sentiments are democrat- 
ic. He is an honorary member of the Protectives No. 1 fire company 
and is also identified with the local orders of Red Men and Macca- 
bees. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



229 



Benjamin Firney ReadsKavi^ 

For more than three score 
years, the Readshavv family has 
been identified with the best in- 
terests of Dansville and repre- 
sentatives by this name have 
made it synonymous with every- 
thing that signifies good citizen- 
ship. Benjamin Firney Read- 
shaw, who came to Dansville in 
1840, was born at Athy, County 
of Kildare, Ireland, February 
26, 1813 and emigrated to this 
country with his parents at the 
age of twelve years. For a little 
while his home was at Wadding- 
ton, St. Lawrence county, 
whence he removed to Roches- 
ter, N. Y., where at the compar- 
atively youthful age of eighteen 
he took complete charge of Har- 
\ey Ely's large mill at the east 
i-nd of the aqueduct. Returning 
to Rochester in 1843, he only 
staid a few years when Dans- 
\ ille again claimed him as a 
citizen, and the remainder of 
his useful life was spent among 
her boundaries. As the oldest son in a large family, he was 
compelled at an early age to contribute to the support of his 
parents and growing brothers and sisters. He made the most of 
his scant advantages to secure an education, however, and became 
a good penman and accountant and well informed on all topics 
of interest which agitated the minds of the people of his day. 
Like his father, grandfather and great-grandfather, he became an 
adept at the milling business, and was looked up to and consulted as 
an authority on all subjects relating to the old style of milling. He 
was one of the old school and a perfect master of the art as it was 
then understood. He had retired from active duty as a miller when 
the new style or "roller process" superseded the old method of stone 
grinding. An exceptional and important, as well as most memorable, 
epoch in his career was the manufacture of cereal products for table 
use, and he is generally conceded to have been the pioneer in this in- 
dustry now being prosecuted on such a mammoth scale in all parts of 
the civilized world. He was married February 4, 1844, at Rochester, 
N. Y., to Phoebe Grant Hills of Oneida, Madison Co., N. Y., who was 
the mother of three sons and three daughters and who died Decem- 
ber 5, 1894. The following children and grandchildren are now living 
in Dansville: Edmund H. Readshaw, Mrs. Harriet R. Browne, Ben- 
jamin G. Readshaw, Alice F. Readshaw, M. Pierre Browne, Anita F. 
Browne. Mr. Readshaw was a strong Presbyterian by faith and en- 




BENJAMIN FIP.NEY READSHAW 



230 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



deavored to live strictly according to the divine law. His political 
sentiments caused him to become strongly affiliated with the re- 
publican party. A courageous, zealous, and straightforward man of 
business, a generous and warmhearted friend and parent, he closed 
a long and useful career, having completed the allotted three score 
and ten, but the influence of his strong personality will continue to 
be exerted on the present and many succeeding generations. 

CKarles W. Denton 

Charles W. Denton was born 
in the town of Ossian, in 1858. 
Mr. Denton's father, Jonas Den- 
ton, was born also in Ossian, of 
parents who were among the 
very first settlers of that town. 
His mother whose maiden 
name was JMary R. Wood, 
was born in Dansville. His 
father being a farmer, Mr. 
Denton remained at home, 
working on the farm summers 
and attending district school 
winters until the age eighteen, 
when he began attending the 
Dansville Seminary. Attending 
school during the fall term and 
teaching the following winter, 
Mr. Denton thus spent three 
years. After leaving school he 
took up farming, continued to 
teach winters until fifteen terms 
had been completed. In 1892 
Mr. Denton moved from Ossian 
to Dansville and opened a meat 
market. Having conducted the 
market for three years, he sold it and entered the Williams & Go's 
large Flouring Mills, at the foot of South street, of which for the past 
five years he has been superintendent. Mr. Denton was married in 
1883 to Jane Elizabeth Bonner of Ossian. Two children were born to 
them, Benjamin and Minnie, who reside with their parents. Mr. 
Denton, a member of the Presbyterian church of Dansville, has been an 
elder for the past two years. Politically a democrat, he has served as 
town clerk, highway commissioner and supervisor, receiving at his 
second election as commissioner, the highest majority ever given in 
Ossian. He was the first democratic supervisor of the town, after a 
long period of republican control. During his residence in Dans- 
ville, Mr. Denton has served two years on the board of village trus- 
tees and was recently appointed town collector to succeed James Mur- 
dock deceased. Fraternally, Mr. Denton is a mason ; having joined 
that organization at the age of twenty-one. 




CHARLES W. DF.NTON 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



231 



George C. Brag^don 




Mr. I^ragdon's residence in 
Dansville for about four years 
and the stimulus his presence 
and work lent to the literary 
atmosphere of the village, en- 
title him to cordial and com- 
mendatory record in this his- 
t<iry, on which he has done 
much excellent writing, here- 
by gratefully acknowledged. 
Mr. Bragdon was an editor- 
ial writer on the Dansville 
Advertiser from April, 1873, 
until the fall of 1874, for two 
and a half years from Janu- 
ary, 1877, and for short pe- 
riods in 1880 and 1899. In 
his earliest years here Mr. 
Bragdon was the originator 
of and the strongest force in 
the Coterie, the mc>st success- 
ful of local literary societies 
from the organization of the 
Dansville Polemic Society in 
1811 to the present time. 
Mr. Bragdon was born on 
a farm in Oswego county, April 29, 1832, was educated in Falley Sem- 
inary and Union College (class of '56), and after leaving college, taught 
school for some years. In 1860 he was married in Oberlin, Ohio, to 
Miss Katherine E. Shipherd, a woman of fine literary ability, the 
daughter of a Congregational clergyman. A daughter and son blessed 
this union. The son, Claude Fayette Bragdon, has won fame as an 
architect and writer on architecture. In March, 1861, Mr. Bragdon 
commenced work in his chosen profession as editor of the Watertown 
Daily News. He was subsequently city editor of the Utica Morning 
Herald, editor and proprietor of the Adams Journal, the Ithacan, the 
Ithaca Journal the Watertown Post and the associate editor and pro- 
prietor of the Financier, the last named paper being published in New 
York city. All through life he has contributed to magazines and other 
periodicals, prose and poetry of great literary excellence, and has 
written some stories. Mr. Bragdon delivered the annual poem before 
the New York Press Association in 1872 at Watertown on the notable 
occasion of the visit of the Southern editors. In 1869 he wrote a com- 
prehensive description of the more picturesque features of the fifteen 
or twenty glens of the region around Ithaca, entitled Glens of Ithaca 
and Vicinity, which was published in the Ithacan and afterward, in 
part, in a guide book. He also wrote descriptive pamphlets of the 
Thousand Islands of the St. Lawrence and rare sketches of various 
other parts of the Empire State. His numerous poems have been writ- 



GEORGE C. BB.AGDON 



232 BIOGRA PHICA L 

ten in the intervals of a busy life. Some of them have been published in 
book form, some have been widely copied by the press, and a few of 
them may be found in recent anthologies. Mr. Bragdon has been a 
resident of Rochester for the past eighteen years. His latest work 
there has been as editor and writer of the historical compend of the 
Notable Men of Rochester and A'icinity, published this year. Mr. 
Bragdon has read widely and is conversant with the best literature. 
He has also enjoyed the personal acquaintance and friendship of many 
of the distinguished litterateurs of his da3^ His writings and his 
rare conversational powers reveal this intimacy, and his appreciation 
of and sympathy with the best and broadest minds of the past and 
present. 

James £^. Crisfield 

James E. Crisfield, M. D., of Dansville, a leading physician of Liv- 
ingston county, N. Y., was born at Lodi, Seneca county, N. Y., 
August 6, 1851, son of John Crisfield, a native of Queen Anne's 
county, Maryland. John Crisfield was born March 4, 1805, and he 
and his brother Edward were quite young when after the death of 
their father, who was an extensive slave owner, their widow^ed mother 
liberated the slaves, came north, and settled on a farm in Seneca 
county. 

John Crisfield married Lnvina Wamsley, who was born in Seneca 
county, where her father, William A., was a pioneer and farmer, and 
remained a resident there until his decease. She was one of a large 
family, and she and her husband reared five children; Gilbert, Philip, 
Louisa, Henrietta and James E. Dr. Crisfield's parents possessed 
many rare qualities, being high-minded and conscientious people, 
whose active lives were productive of much good. They were both 
members of the ^Methodist church, of which Mr. Crisfield was a trus- 
tee for many years. He was seventy-six at the time of his death, and 
his wife reached the same age. 

The boyhood of James E. Crisfield was passed upon his father's 
farm, during which time he attended the district schools. At the age 
of fourteen he went to Lima and attended the Genesee Wesleyan 
Seminary, where he prepared for college, which he entered later, 
remaining through his junior year. The college being then removed 
to Syracuse, he began the study of medicine with Dr. John W. Gray, 
of Avon, N. Y., later entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons 
in New York city, and was graduated from this famous medical 
school in 1873. He began the practice of his profession the same 
year at York, but, after remaining there three months, came directly 
from that place to Dansville, where he has attained a large and 
lucrative practice. He, is next to the oldest practitioner in Livingston 
county, Dr. Perine, a sketch of whose career appears elsewhere, be- 
ing the senior. 

Dr. Crisfield is a member of the New York State Medical Society, the 
Medical Society of Western New York and of the Livingston County 
Medical Society, of which he has been president. He takes an active 



234 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



interest in fraternal matters being prominently identified with the 
Elks, Odd Fellows, Masons, Royal Arch Chapter, and Commanderv 
at Hornellsville. He is also vice president of the recently organized 
Mill Creek and Electric Light and Power Co., and is one of the in- 
corporators of the Brae Burn (Solf Club. He manifests a lively in- 
terest in political matters, being a strong Democrat, having been a 
member of the county committee many years, and having served as 
a delegate to the State Convention, and is now a Democratic State 
committeeman. He has served several terms as a trustee of the 
village, president of the board, and four years as supervisor of the 
town. He was presidential elector from the district in 1892, and re- 
ceived the appointment of postmaster of Dansville for four years, 
having assumed his duties October 1, 1894. 

Dr. Crisfield married Miss Elizabeth Gray, and they have two chil- 
dren; Abbie and Louise. Dr. and Mrs. Crisfield are members of the 
Presbyterian church. Having always faithfully discharged his ardu- 
ous duties, both professional and public. Dr. Crisfield enjoys a well- 
earned reputation as an experienced and skillful physician, while his 
kindness and never failing courtesy have contributed to win for him 
the esteem and good will of his fellow townspeople. The accompany- 
ing portrait of James E. Crisfield, M. D., will be recognized and 
appreciated by many warm friends. 




RESIDENCE. DH. JAMES E. CRISFIELD 



BIOGRAPHICAL 235 



F. A. Owen 

Frederick Augustus Owen was born at South Dansville, N. Y. , 
March 22, 1867, being the oldest boy in a family of seven children. 
His father was Stephen H. Owen who was of Welsh descent and a 
man of inventive turn of mind. His mother was Mary (Root) Owen, 
now Mrs. Charles P. Graves of this place, who is of English extrac- 
tion and a woman of strong energy and persistent character. The 
subject of this sketch is therefore possessed by inheritance of those 
qualities of character which enable him not only to devise, but to 
execute plans, which combined faculty so few men possess. 

At the age of ten years the death of his father and the humble cir- 
cumstances of the family compelled him to leave home and make his own 
way in the world. He at once engaged to a farmer for seven months 
at five dollars a month, and during this time of service, the distance 
being so great, he did not visit his home; but on the expiration of his 
time, he returned home and laid thirty-five dollars in crisp, new bills 
in his mother's lap. Mr. Owen told the writer several years ago that 
this was one of the happiest moments of his life. He immediately 
left home again and the time up to the spring of 1889 was spent in 
working on a farm summers and attending or teaching school winters. 
His education was obtained in the district schools, the Rogersville 
Union Seminary, the Hornellsville Academy, and the Lima Seminary. 
From none of these institutions was he graduated, his rather desultory 
course of study being confined to those subjects of a general and prac- 
tical nature. 

In the spring of 1889, Mr. Owen engaged the old Seminary build- 
ing at Rogersville and for two years conducted a private school. This 
famous old school, which at one time was classed among the best in 
the State, had, by the introduction of the union and Normal school 
systems, gradually lost its importance, and at this time no school had 
been held there for a number of years. In a very short time, how- 
ever, Mr. Owen succeeded in bringing it up to a point of efficiency 
where it was accorded all the privileges of the Regents. Several young 
men and women were fitted for teaching under his tuition. It was 
while organizing this private school that he conceived the idea of teach- 
ing by correspondence. This method of instruction in late years has 
become a very important factor in the American system of education, 
and has lately been introduced in England and on the Continent. Al- 
though Mr. Owen's system was antedated by the University E.xten- 
sion and the Chautauqua method, it was the first to correct and crit- 
icise the individual work of the student, and therefore entitles him to 
the distinction of being the pioneer in correspondence instruction. It 
was also from a certain few books of the old Seminary library that 
he obtained the theories which have influenced his career and inspired 
him to his life's work. 

Mr. Owen was married on November 28, 1889, to Nettie V. Master- 
man of South Dansville, from which marriage two children, Helen 
and Mary, were born. This marriage, on account of the extreme in- 
i:ompatibility of the two temperaments, proved to be an unfortunate 
one, and after a few years of unhappy domestic life, by mutual agree- 
ment a legal separation was efliected, Mrs. Owen and the two children 



^^fels. 







/^ iyi, (^A^cj^-iL^^^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



237 



moving to Rochester which city has since been her home. As a re- 
sult of this domestic difficulty and of overwork, Mr. Owen's health 
completely failed, and in the fall of 1898 he relinquished all busi- 
ness care and responsibility for a period of two years. In April, 
1900, his health having been regained, he again assumed the manage- 
ment of the Instructor Publishing Company, which enterprise was in- 
stituted by him at South Dansville, N. Y., in 1889, and which through 
his efforts has grown to its present proportions, without the aid of 
capital and in the face of the strongest competition. A more extend- 
ed sketch of this enterprise will be found elsewhere in this book. On 
September 27, 1900, he was married to Miss Grace Fenstermacher, 
w-ho is descended from one of Dansville's oldest and most respected 
families, and their domestic life though simple is a most happy one. 

As a business man, Mr. Owen possesses a strong power for organiz- 
ing and getting results from his employes. In fact he attributes his 




RESIDENCE, F. A. OWEN 



success largely to his discrimination in choosing his assistants and 
inspiring them with his ideas and purposes. The high character of 
the Instructor Publishing Company's employes as a whole is generally 
commented upon, and the relations existing among them, as well as 
those between employer and employe, are decidedly agreeable. 

Besides being the president and general manager of the Instructor 
Publishing Company, Mr. Owen is a director and officer in the 
Worden Brothers Monument Mfg. Co., and took an active part in the 
recent incorporation of that company. His latest enterprise was the 
organizing of the Mill Creek Electric Light and Power Company, a 
corporation composed of a number of Dansville's most substantial citi- 
zens for the purpose of exploiting the water power of Mill Creek for 
electric lighting and power purposes. This stream at Dansville's 



238 BIOGRAPHICAL 

very door has a fall of five hundred feet over a course of three miles 
and IS capable of producing about nine hundred horsepower It was 
Mr Owen s idea to pipe the stream from its source to the foot of the 
hiJl and convert its tremendous force into electric power For this 
purpose the company was formed and contracts have alreadv been com- 
pleted with the village for lighting the streets and with most of the 
leading industries who wish to use the cheaper power. It is hoped that 
the cheap power which this scheme makes possible will induce manv 
incipient manufacturing enterprises to locate here where perhaps all 
the power needed by each for years to come can be secured over a 
single wire. 

The utilization of this splendid water power has been the subiect 
of serious thought on Mr. Owen's part for a number of vears and 
when Its feasibility had once been pointed out it was so apparent that 
It was a cause of wonder that it had not been discovered before. The 
plant in all probability will be in running order by Auoust 1 190". 
I he discovery and turning to account of this impoilant natural 
power which had been going to waste for so manv vears is onlv 
another proof of Mr. Owen's ability to see an opporlunitv and turn it 
to some useful end.— C7c'«//-//;///(y//?j' y. L. Wellington. ' 

"Walter Julius BeecKer 

In 1806 Par.son Beecher, a young man of the town of Salem (now 
Waugatuck), Connecticut, joined the ranks of the many from that sec- 
tion looking for homes in "the West," and came to New York state 
the Catskill and Ithaca Turnpike was then being laid out and 
he followed the proposed line of that road as far as Chenango county, 
there he purchased two hundred acres of land, lying high on the hills 
between the Chenango and vSu.squehanna rivers, in the present town 
ot Coventry, and near where a neighbor from Connecticut had already 
located. He returned home and in januarv, 1808, married Maro-aret 
Porter. This Parson Beecher was descended from the first of that name 
and family in America, who came with the Puritan colonv which found- 
ed JSew Haven in lf,38. His wife, also, was from one of t'he old families 
ot the young commonwealth. Her father was Truman Porter, record- 
ed as a major in the Revolutionarv war and later a member of the 
Connecticut Assembly. The eldest son of this union and father 
ot the subject of this sketch, was Julius Porter Beecher, born October 
-4, 1808. In the spring of 1809, with his young wife and child 
Parson Beecher removed to his new home. He had previously in 
ISO/, made another trip there, cleared land, planted crops and built 
a house. This house was the only frame structure for many miles 
along the Catskill turnpike, which soon became an important artery 
ot travel, and was for a long time used for church, town meetings and 
other gatherings. In this house Walter J. Beecher was born Septem- 
ber 10. 18^5. His mother was Sarah Ann Stewart, born in Greenwich 
Washington county, N. Y., of the Scotch-Irish people numerously 
settled there. Julius Beecher, in addition to farming— he having 
taken the old home on the death of his father was a drover— and coun- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 239 

try merchant. As drover he made trips into Ohio, gathering up large 
herds of cattle and taking them through on foot to the New York 
market. This route led through the southern tier of counties of 
western New York. He thus became acquainted with that section, 
and being attracted by the apparent advantages offered by Wellsville, 
in Allegany county, as a business point under the impetus given it by 
the completion of the Erie railroad, he removed to ll &t vill: gtinl8S9, 
engaging in lumbering, milling and trade. He died there in 1887, 
and his wife in 1891. 

In that village the subject of this sketch passed his youth and school 
days, taking advantage of the educational facilities offered there. The 
course of study was not so advanced but that he was able to finish the 
school in the summer of 1870, before he was fifteen years old, hav- 
ing added somewhat to the branches taught by attending classes with 
an outside tutor. Later in that same year Mr. Beecher went to Lin- 
coln, Nebraska, not to seek his fortune, but for the purpose of attending 
school. An older brother had a short time before located in that new 
city where the State L^niversity was situated though not yet in 
operation. It opened its doors in the fall of 1871, and Mr. 
Beecher was a student during the first year of its existence. 
Circumstances compelled him to give up school just as he was 
about to commence the second year, and though this was 
thought to be only temporary, it proved to be his last experience 
in the schoolroom. He then spent several months as clerk in a dry 
goods store in Lincoln, and returned to his home in Wellsville in 1873. 
In accordance with his plans he entered the office of the Wellsville 
"Times" to learn the printing trade, and enjoyed all the varied experi- 
ences that go with the position of "printer's devil." In 1874 the 
"Times" was consolidated with the "Allegany County Reporter," 
with a stock company formed for its publication and in which Mr. 
Beecher was advanced to an official position, gaining business experi- 
ence and throwing on him considerable responsibility. The business 
was purchased by Enos W. Barnes in 1875. Mr. Beecher remained 
with the "Reporter" until 1883, performing the varied duties which 
belong to the foreman, office manager and assistant editor of a busy 
village paper. The "Daily Reporter" was established in 1881 and 
added to these duties measurably. 

In January, 1883, Mr. Beecher, in company with the late William 
J. Glenn, then a printer in the "Reporter" office, purchased the 
"Patriot" at Cuba, N. Y., forming the firm of Beecher & Glenn. Mr. 
Beecher was editor of the "Patriot" for four years. During that pe- 
riod the paper increased largely in circulation and influence and took 
a first place among the newspapers of the county. Always a Republi- 
can and interested in public affairs, Mr. Beecher found congenial work 
in the advocacy of Republican principles and the support of Republi- 
can policies and candidates. In 1887 he sold his interest in the 
"Patriot." It was with no intention of quitting newspaper work 
that this move was made, but to take advantage of opportunities 
which seemed to be opening in a somewhat broader field. These failed 
to materialize and Mr. Beecher, having spent fourteen years in a print- 
ing office, was willing to take up less exacting work. For three years 
he was interested in life insurance, traveling over a portion of western 




WALTER J. BEECHER 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



241 



New York, having, with a partner, the general agency of the 
Equitable Life at Elmira. Desiring to re-locate at his old home in 
Wellsville, where his mother still lived, he entered in 1890 the employ 
of the Empire Novelty Company, manufacturers of advertising 
novelties, installing and conducting their extensive printing plant. 
In 1892 he came to Dansville to attend to the advertising of the E. 
M. Parmelee Medical Co., at that time manufacturers of proprietary 
articles, and was connected with that and its successor, the Parmelee 
Drug Company, imtil its business was moved from Dansville in July, 
1897. In the meantime the "Normal Instructor" was growing into 
vigorous proportions and was about to move into its new building 
and install a printing plant. Mr. Beecher entered the employ of the 

Teachers Improvement 
Company, its then pub- 
lishers, in November, 
189(). In November, 
1898, he purchased an 
interest in the Company 
and on the incorpora- 
tion of the Instructor 
Publishing Company in 
August, 1899, became 
its treasurer. He is at 
present vice president 
of the company and 
editor of its publica- 
tions. He is also one 
of the incorporators and 
directors of the newly 
organized Mill Creek 
Electric Light and 
Power Co. 

Mr. Beecher m.nrried 
in September, 1898, 
Elizabeth C. Hoyt of 
West Pittston, Pa., and 
they have one child, 
Robert Hoyt Beecher. 
Their home is corner of 
Seward and Cottage 
streets. Mr. Beecher is a Presbyterian in his church relations, a 
Republican in politics, a member of the Masonic fraternity, of the 
Union Hose Club, of the Maccabees, and a trustee of the Dansville 
Public Library. 




RESIDENCE. WALTER J. BEECHER 



242 BIOGRAPHICAL 

Winfield Scott Oberdorf 




WINFIELD SCOTT OBERDORF 



Win field Scott Oberdorf was born 
ill tills village on January 12, 1861. 
lie is a son of JMr. and ^Irs. Peter 
Ji>lin Oberdorf. His early life was 
s|icnt alternately between the farm of 
his grandfather and the village of 
Dansville. At fourteen he entered 
the office of the Dansville Advertiser 
to learn the printer's trade, where he 
remained three and one-half years. 
In the latter part of his apprentice- 
ship he prepared for entrance to the 
Geneseo vState Normal School, the 
money he had saved contributing 
toward his school expenses. Although 
during the four years from 1878 to 
1882 he was absent from school 
twenty weeks or more for the purpose 
of teaching, besides being engaged, 
during vacations, teaching or work- 
ing to pay expenses, he completed 
the four years' classical course with 
his class in the spring of 1882, and 
within a year after being graduated, 
repaid the money that he had been obliged to borrow. 

Before his senior year at school had closed, he being then twenty- 
one years of age, he was offered the editorship of the Livingston 
Republican, a paper published at the county seat, and having at that 
time the largest circulation in the county. This was accepted, and 
his editorial work began soon after the commencement exercises 
in June. In a little less than two years a copartnership interest in 
the Dansville Advertiser was tendered to him by A. O. Bunnell, in 
whose employ he had learned his trade. Accordingly, on March 1, 
1884, Dansville again became his home. Becoming identified with 
various local organizations, he progressed from secretary of Union 
Hose Company, one of the best associations of the kind in the State, 
to foreman, and to Chief Engineer of the whole fire department; from 
scene supporter in the C)dd Fellows to Past Grand, and through vari- 
ous positions of other societies. He is a member of Phoenix Lodge, 
F. & A. M., and a Presbyterian. In June, 18'Jl he attended for the 
first time a State encampment of the Sons of Veterans. That same 
summer he went to Minneapolis as one of five delegates representing 
this State at the National encampment ; and next June at the State 
encampment in Amsterdam he was elected without opposition to the 
highest place in the gift of that body, Commander of all the camps in 
the State. This year the order had a most successful career, the 
membership in the State reaching a point never before and never 
since attained. The gold cross of the order was conferred upon him 
for meritorious service by the next National encampment. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



243 




RESIDENCE OF W. S. OBERDORF, CORNER SEWARD AND CLINTON STREETS 



Mr. Oberdorf was a journalist of the progressive school, productive 
of ideas, which he turned to the very best account — a live editor of a 
live newspaper. He has fine oratorical talent, and has made a wide 
reputation as both a political and after-dinner speaker. A Republi- 
can in politics, and always active in promoting the interests of that 
party, he first appeared as a campaign speaker in 1888, when he went on 
the stump for Benjamin Harrison. In 1893 he was Memorial Day 
orator at Utica, having that year received no less than fifteen in- 
vitations to deliver memorial addresses. Thoroughly in earnest in 
whatever he says, brimming with ideas and talking for a purpose, he 
impresses himself upon others by the irresistible logic of fact and 
argument rather than by the use of honeyed words or florid rhetorical 
phrases. He never tries in speech simply to amuse or entertain, but 
to interest, edify and inspire. 

In the spring of 1896 his health failed, compelling absolute absten- 
tion from business. In September, 1897, his health still impaired, he 
decided to sever all business cares, selling his interest in the Dansville 
Advertiser to his partner. Recovering, he was married September 
27, 1899, to Miss Katherine Angell Hall eldest daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. F. G. Hall of Dansville, and on the death of John Hyland, 
February following, he was employed by E. T. Scovill, residuary 
legatee under the will of Mr. Hyland, as his agent for the estate, 
which position he now holds. 

As a business man Mr. Oberdorf aims to be exact, thorough and 
progressive. He is never content with things as they are, but insists 
upon a steady advance along the whole line. He possesses excellent 



244 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



executive ability, and is conscientious in the discharge of the duties 
of any position which he has gained or accepted, whether the work be 
gratuitous or remunerative. 

A man of positive convictions and irrepressible industry, and a 
staunch friend of all who struggle to rise, he has not only fairly won 
his way to his present position of wide influence and great responsi- 
bility, but his interest and his example have proved a help and an in- 
spiration to many young men with whom he has come in contact. 

£^ £^ 

CKarles Frederick Snyder 




Charles Frederick Snyder, princi- 
pal and proprietor of the American 
Correspondence Normal and a high- 
ly esteemed resident of Dansville, 
was born in the town of Spring- 
water, X. Y., July 7. 1867. He is 
the son of Jacob and Julia (Bevins) 
^^^^ Snyder who recently celebrated the 
j|i|^^ .jfl^^^B sixtieth anniversary of their mar- 

«^H|^ ' ^^^^^H '''^S^- ^^'^- Snyder is the youngest 

^^^^ ^^^^^^ of a family of nine boys and one 

girl. Seven of the sons are still 
living. He spent the early years of 
his life on the farm where his par- 
ents still reside and in the hardy 
environment of an agricultural 
community acquired a spirit of in- 
dependence which has enabled him 
to attain unaided in a compara- 
tively few years, an important 
position in the business world. 
After he had become possessed of a 
district school education, he spent 
several terms at the Geneseo Nor- 
mal, alternating his years devoted to study by teaching school. In 
all he spent over five years in this occupation, as principal of the 
school at Springwater and at South Dansville. While teaching at 
the latter place in 1891, he became interested in the Correspondence 
school then being conducted in that village, and the following year 
purchased the business and moved its headquarters to Dansville 
where he has since been located. The history of this school is a 
most interesting one and will be found elsewhere in this work. On 
January 8, 1896, he was married at vSouth Dansville to Miss Ede 
Marv Kuder of that town. Four children have blessed this union; 
Wilson F., J. Eloise, Edith M., and Theodore R. 

Mr. .Snyder is an active and prominent member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Dansville and is now serving his third term 
as its financial secretary and as chairman of the board of trustees. 
In these official capacities he has displayed rare acumen in the 



CHARLES FREDERICK SNYDER 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



245 



discharge of the many duties which have devolved upon him, and 
has aided greatly in making possible the splendid and flourishing con- 
dition which that church now enjoys. In politics he is a republican. 
Mr. Snyder is a man of culture and refinement whose long associa- 
tion with his school has brought him in touch with thousands of in- 
telligent and earnest workers, and in aiding them, he has strength- 
ened his own purpose in life. A man of genial temperament, progres- 
sive ideas and upright character, he has advanced his own interests 
along lines of usefulness and profit by which the community as a 
whole has been benefitted. 




RESIDENCE, CHARLES F. SNYDER 



246 



BIOGRAPHICAL 
Newton Burtron GorHam 




NE-Wfu\ liUKIKUN bUKllAM 



Newton B. Gorham, attor- 
ney and counselor at law in 
this village, is a son of Rev. 
Jason B. Gorham who was 
for some years pastor of the 
Methodist church at Byers- 
ville, this county. The father, 
for a good many years re- 
sided at Geneseo, N. Y., and 
is now a resident of The 
Dalles, Oregon. Mr. Gorham 
was educated at the district 
and Normal schools of Gen- 
eseo and lived there most of 
his life before coming to 
Dansville in 1898. He is a 
graduate of the Georgetown 
University School of Law, 
Washington, D. C, and has 
been practicing law for si.x 
vears. 




BiograpKical Allusions 



BiograpHical Allusions 



Dr. James C. Jackson 




Dr. James C. Jackson is referred to in 
other parts of this history, as the wise 
founder of the Jackson Sanatorium. He 
was born in Onondaga county m 1811, 
r'K.' and died in 1895. He was one of the 

^,'. orisjinal anti-slavery orators, in 1842 cor- 

■--^ responding secretary of the American 

Anti-Slavery Society, and for a time 
edited the Madison County Abolitionist, 
which advocated emancipation of the 
^ slaves. He came to Dansville in 1858, 
.1, I and something of what he accomplished 
' here is elsewhere stated. His observation 
^ was keen, his mind original, with re- 
markably clear intuitions, which guided 
him more than precedents. His resources of knowledge and thought 
seemed exhaustless, and his published writings and public addresses 
would, if collected, fill many large volumes. He was a magnetic 
and convincing speaker, and a most genial and friendly companion. 
Modern Dansville is more indebted to him than to any other man. 
He died July 11, 1895, in his 85th year, and his funeral was held from 
Brightside July 13. His son. Dr. James H. Jackson, now the head of 
the Sanatorium, received his father's mantle of power and popularity, 
and is as progressive in his day as his father was in his. He speaks to 
his frequent audiences at the Sanatorium and in the village with 
somewhat less fluency than his gifted father, but has been a close 
student of books and men, thinks for himself, discriminates keenly 
between the false and true, theory and fact, and his addresses are re- 
plete with suggestive wisdom which is often so condensed as to seem 
like strings of aphorisms. 
_^ Dr. Harriet M. Austin 

Dr. Harriet N. Austin was born in Connecticut in 1825, and died 
in North Adams, Mass., April 27, 1891. She moved to Moravia, this 
state with her parents when but two years old, and there grew to 
womanhood. She studied medicine, began practice in 1852 in the 
Glen Haven water cure, under Dr. James C. Jackson and was his 
associate physician for thirty years at Glen Haven and Dansville insti- 
tutions. When Our Home on the Hillside was opened in 1858 she be- 
came a partner in the business, and remained such until the institution 
was burned in 1882, when she retired from professional practice, and 
afterward made her home at North Adams, Mass. Dr. Austin was 
very popular wnth both patients and citizens on account of her lovely, 
even-tempered character, varied knowledge and unfailing tact. For 
many years she was one of the editors of the Laws of Life, the valu- 
able health magazine of Our Home. 



249 



250 



BIOGRA PHICA L ALL USIONS 



Emerson Johnson 

A well remembered and highly esteemed citizen of Dansville was 
Emerson Johnson, who was prominently identified with the business 
management of Our Home on the Hillside and the Sanatorium from 
1866 until the year of his death, 1896. He was born in Sturbridge, 
Mass. Aug. 11, 1812. He was elected to the house of the jMassachu- 
setts legislature in 1861, and to the senate in 1865. His one vote 
first sent to the U. S. Senate Charles Sumner, he being elected by a 
majority of only one. He married ^liss Hannah Arnold in 1838, who 
died in 1844. A surviving daughter is Dr. Kate J. Jackson, wife of 
Dr. James H. Jackson of the Sanatorium. Air. Johnson married 
for his second wife Miss Fanny L. Brown, a woman of fine literary 
ability who survives him with one daughter, Mrs. William K. 
Smalley. Mr. Johnson was a very intelligent man, of sound judgment 
and kindly nature. Both he and Mrs. Johnson were for some years 
valued members of Coterie, aiding in the best work of its earlier 
days by their regular attendance and thorough preparation in sub- 
jects assigned to them, and show'ng in what they did and said care- 
ful and thoughtful readings of the best authors. Air. Johnson died 
Alay 2, 1896^ 

Dr. James Faulkner 



One of Dansville's strongest 
characters was Dr. James 
Faulkner, who was born in 
AVashington county in 17'*0 and 
died in 1884 aged nearly ninety- 
five years. He came to Dans- 
ville with his father and mother, 
Air. and Mrs. Samuel Faulkner, 
in the last decade of the 18th 
century. He studied medicine 
and surgery, practiced awhile 
here, and then engaged in 
other business. He purchased a 
paper mill and a large tract of 
land about 1815, and these 
were the foundation of the 
large fortune which he left to 
his children. His business 
energy and sagacity were mani- 
fested in many ways, and his 
will power was extraordinary, 
like George Hyland's, with 
whom he often came in conflict 
in local and political matters. 
He was elected supervisor in 
1815, member of assembly in 
1824, and state senator in 1842. Because of this last office he re- 
signed the position of judge of the court of common pleas, to which 
he had been appointed by Governor Marcy in 1835. In the war of 1812 




BIOGRAPHICAL ALLUSIONS 251 

he was on the staff of Gen. McClure, and went with him to the north- 
ern frontier. He was the selected president of the First National Bank 
of Dansville when it started in 1864, and retained the position until 
he died. He was as skillful in politics and legislation as in business, 
and his mastery ot men was remarkable. For a long time after he 
passed his ninetieth year he walked the streets with erect car- 
riage and elastic step. Of seven children but one survives, James 
Faulkner of Dansville. who took his seat as member of the state 
assembly Jan. 4, 1875, just fifty years to a day after his father had 
taken his seat in the same body, and drew the same seat, number 'J'*, 
coincidences worthy of record. 

Hon. Samuel D. Faulkner 

Hon. vSamuel D. Faulkner, son of Dr. James Faulkner, died 
August •*, 1878, aged nearly forty-three years. He was a graduate of 
Yale College. After his admission to the bar in 18b0 he practiced 
law for awhile in partnership with Solomon Hubbard. He was 
elected supervisor in 1863 and 1864, member of assembly in 1S(>5, 
county judge and surrogate in 1871 and 1877, each time on the 
democratic ticket. His logical mind was furnished with a wide 
range of information, and he was a thorough lawyer, a good speaker, 
and an able, impartial judge. He was dignified yet urbane, and 
always an interesting conversationalist. 

Sidney Sweet 

Sidney Sweet was born in Connecticut in 1800. He came to Liv- 
ingston county in 1841, and for some time conducted a machine shop 
at Cumminsville. In 184';* he and Endress Faulkner established a 
private bank at Dansville with the firm name of Sidney Sweet & Co. 
After Endress Faulkner died Dr. James Faulkner became a partner, 
and later Barna S. Chapin. Mr. Sweet retired from active lausiness 
about the time the Civil war closed, and spent much of the rest of his 
life in travel, making several trips to Europe and also visiting Eg)pt, 
Asia and the Sandwich Islands. He was supervisor of the town four 
years and state senator in 1856-7. He was a well-read man of rare 
intelligence and admirable domestic and social qualities, and his busi- 
ness ability was shown by his success. He died August 31, 1887, 
aged seventy-eight. 

Hon. Isaac L. Endress 

Hon. Isaac L. Endress died January 22, 187<), in the sixtieth year 
of his age. His father was a Lutheran clergyman of Lancaster, Pa., 
and sent his son to Dickinson college. Pa., where he was educated. 
He commenced the practice of law in Rochester and in 1832 moved 
from that city to Dansville, where he practiced, a part of the time as 
partner of John A. VanDerlip. until his death. He was appointed one 
of the judges of this county in 184U by Governor Seward, and the ap- 
pointment was confirmed by the senate. He was a republican presi- 
dential elector in 1856, a member of the State Constitutional con- 
vention later, and in 1868 was a delegate to the national republican 
convention. He was also several times a member of Republican state 
committee. In both public and private life he was faithful to his 
convictions, kind, courteous and honorable. He was one of the lead- 
ing citizens of Dansville for over thirty years. 



252 



BIOGRA PHICA L A L L US IONS 



Judge John Ji. VanDerlip 

Judge John A. A'anDerlip, who died April 14, 1894, aged seventy- 
six, was a graduate of Union college, class of 1838, and studied law 
in Troy. He came to Dansville in 1842, and practiced law here until 
his death, a part of the time with Isaac L. Endress, for eighteen 
years with Joseph W. Smith, two years with his son now of Minne- 
apolis, and several years without a partner. He was postmaster 
from 1858 to 1861. He was a prominent Mason and a charter mem- 
ber of Canaseraga lodge I. O. O. F. . instituted in 1844. He was 
prominent in the organization of St. Peter's Episcopal church, and a 
regular attendant at its services. Probably Dansville never had an 
abler or more conscientious lawyer than Judge VanDerlip. To com- 
prehensive knowledge of the law were added clear convictions of right 
and wrong, the solid judgment of a liberal and judicial mind, with 
quick discernment of the false in sophistries and subtleties, and 
ability in argument or brief to state his case in the most convincing 
language. Other characteristics were quiet, unaffected manners, and 
courtesy to all in both social and professional life. In 1853 he mar- 
ried ]\Iiss Anna Day, who survives him. 

Jlrchelaus Stevens 



Archelaus Stevens became 
a resident of Ithaca N. 
Y., in 1821. wheie he 
engaged in farming and 
teaching for a few years, and 
afterwards was partner in a 
paper mill firm. In 1834 he 
assisted Lyman Cobb in in- 
troducing his scho(.)l books — 
the Speller, Expositor and 
Primer — in the vicinitv of 
New York City. In 1836 he 
moved to Dansville and 
opened a printing office and 
book bindery, and com- 
menced publishing for Mr. 
Cobb the books which he 
had been introducing. He 
erected a three-story brick 
building in 1839 and the 
Second Presbyterian society 
held their services in its 
second story for three years, 
and in 1846 he built another three-story brick building. In 1842 he 
and his eldest son, G. W. Stevens, published the Dansville Whig. 
The paper finally passed into the latter's possession and the name was 
changed to Western New Yorker, and was edited by Rev. John N. 
Hubbard, author of the Life of Major VanCampen. In 1850 the 
father moved to New York city, and lived there eleven years, return- 
ing in 1861 to Dansville, where he died in 1876. He was the publisher 




/uo(;ka phica l a li. l s/oxs 253 

in Dansville of various other books besides the Cobb school books, 
including the Life of VanCampen, copies of the original edition of 
which are now rare and valuable. It was bound in his bindery in 
tree calf. It appears that he was an uncommonly enterprising 
publisher and citizen, and esteemed for his Christian virtues as 
well as business ability. 

Job C. Hedges 

Almost at the beginning of a brilliant professional career, Job C. 
Hedges, stirred by patriotic enthusiasm, helped recruit the famous 
fighting 13th regiment of the Civil war, and went with it to the front. 
He became its adjutant, and was never remiss in military duty while 
connected with it. When this two years regiment was discharged he 
aided Col. E. G. Marshall in recruiting the 14th Heavy Artillery, 
and after having participated in seven hard-fought battles was in- 
stantly killed June 17, 1864, while gallantly leading his men before 
Petersburg. He was several times commended by his superior officers 
for his ability and courage, and died gloriously. Dansville citizens 
were proud of him, and paid unusual tributes to his memory. Major 
Hedges was born in New York June 12, 1835. After completing his 
education at Princeton college, he studied law in Rochester, was 
admitted to the bar in 1858, practiced in Rochester and New York 
for a time, and then, at the solicitation of friends, moved to Dansville. 
Here he found the promise of great success in his profession, Init the 
war came and his country was dearer to him than professional suc- 
cess. Several times he prophetically said that he did not expect to 
survive the struggle. Hon. job E. Hedges of New York is his only 
child, and worthy of his parentage. He graduated at Princeton col- 
lege and the Columbia law school, and soon commenced the practice 
of law in New York. He has been prominent in State and municipal 
politics, was Mayor Strong's private secretary, and by him was ap- 
pointed municipal judge. This important and lucrative office he re- 
signed long before the close of his term, because he preferred legal 
practice. He is now special attorney-general for the state in New York. 
Seth N. Hedges, a brother of Major Hedges, died Aug. 27, 1881, aged 
forty-two. He was born in Dansville and his home was always here, 
He served in the 13th infantry and 14th heavy artillery during the 
civil war, afterward studied law, and engaged in practice, at first with 
D. W. Noyes, and then by himself. He was an able and successful 
lawyer and a popular citizen. President Grant appointed him post- 
master in 186'J, and he held the ofifice four years. Another brother 
is Paul I. Hedges, who went west long ago, and is now a leading 
lawyer in Whitehall, Mich. 

Robert C. Brown 

A unique, interesting and distinguished character is tiiat '.>f Robert 
C. Brown. Although he was born in Cohocton, Steuben county, in 
1842, he is proudly claimed as a Dansville product, for he came here 
before he was two years old and got his start here as follows: First 
money earned driving cows, ringing auction bells, selling papers and 
driving on the canal. After a short season with the Shakers he re- 
turned home and in a Dansville printing office under the tender care 



254 BIGORAPHICAL ALLl'SIOXS 

of H. L. Rann, "Capt. Digby" and A. (J. Bunnell ripened so rapidly 
that he graduated at eleven years of age by disappearing in the boot 
of a stage to Wayland when sent after a pitcher of water. Thus he 
swung out into the great world beyond the rim of hills which enclose 
this valley and began life anew, reappearing first in a lumber camp in 
Wisconsin wilds, where he was caught and caged in school for a short 
time, only to escape with some Indian mail carriers, and finally enlist- 
ing in the U. S. regular armv in 1861, and after two years gallant 
service returning to Dansville to bring that pitcher of water. Then 
"Bob" drifted into New York city where he has literally grown up with 
the big city, honored and beloved — prospering physically, financially 
and socially, as such an original, enterprising, great-hearted, honor- 
able man deserves to prosper. His family consists of a wife and two 
daughters. 

lieuben Whiteman 

Very plain and simple in his manner and speech and life was Reu- 
ben Whiteman, grandson of Jacob Whiteman, a native of Prussia who 
came to America at the age of four years, and was a stout American 
soldier throughout the revolutionary war. Reuben Whiteman came 
from Wayland to Dansville in 1851 and died in 1888 a prominent 
citizen and a wealthy man. He acquired much real estate in this 
vicinity and took advantage of lumbering and canal forwarding, but 
in later years acquired the bulk of his property in timber lands of the 
great West. In keeping track of the details of his large business he 
relied less on account books than on his remarkable memorv. Of his 
family, his wife and two children, ^Irs. Clara J. Gibbs and Alonzo J. 
Whiteman survive. 

"Huge" Fred Decker 

"Huge" Fred Decker known as the "Ossian Baby." was born in Os- 
sian, lived a few years in Dansville, and was often seen here from child- 
hood, until his death. He was the most picturesque figure ever seen 
on our streets. He died about fifteen years ago aged about fifty. In 
his prime he was seven feet two and one-half inches tall, with broad 
shoulders and large muscular limbs. He had the strength of four or five 
average men, partly acquired in logging and saw-mill tending, which 
were the principal occupations of his life. Many stories are told about 
his Samsonian strength. One of them is, that he separated two bullies 
who were fighting, and held them by the shoulders at arms' length 
kicking in the air. If a loaded wagon got stuck in the mud he would 
easily lift it out. He would lift the ends of large logs while men at 
the other ends worked with levers. He once jumped twelve feet on a 
level to win a bet. He was invited to try a lifting machine war- 
ranted by its owner against any man's muscle and his lift ruined it. 
He once had a hand grip here with the Arabian giant, several inches 
taller than himself, and made him cry quits. Barnum got wind of 
him, and secured him for his New York museum at a large salary: 
but after a few months he got tired of being stared at and felt of, 
and bolted for home. When he left the cars at Dansville, adorned 
with uniform and brass buttons, a long procession of boys and girls 
followed him through the streets. Afterward he went with a travel- 



BIOGRAPHICAL ALLUSIONS 255 

ing show two or three years, but he preferred the saw mill and log 
lifting. He was a grave, kindly nv.ui, slow to anger, but a terror 
when thoroughly aroused. 

Lester Bradner 

Lester Bradner died at the residence of his .son-in-law Lauren C. 
Woodruff, in the city of Buffalo. Aug. 18, 1872, in his eighty-second 
year. Horn in Oneida county, as a citizen of Dansville he bore a 
conspicuous part in the settlement and business of the Genesee valley 
for more than half a century, his extensive and successful mercantile 
operations covering the counties of Livingston, Allegany and Wy- 
oming. In 1842 he was elected president of the bank of Dansville, 
wiiich position he held till his death. 

Charles J. Bissell 

Charles J. Bissell, now quite near the head of the Rochester bar, 
where he located as a lawyer in 1889, practiced eighteen years in 
Dansville, and won laurels in this county early in his professional 
career, which began in 1871. He has conducted many important liti- 
gations, and done much business for wealthy corporations, in which 
he has been exceptionally skillful and successful. In Rochester he is 
regarded by the bar as one of the best of trial lawyers, both in the 
examination of witnesses and in addresses to juries. He has delivered 
various talks and lectures in Rochester in response to flattering in- 
vitations, and because of his fluency and ready wit, has several times 
been selected for toast-master at public banquets. 

Benjamin F. Harwood 

Benjamin F. Harwood was born in Steuben county in 181'), studied 
law, was admitted to the bar in 1839, and located in Dansville the 
same year. Here he mixed a good deal of politics with his law prac- 
tice, and his ability in both was apparent, but the former interfered 
somewhat with the latter. In 1848 he was chosen a presidential 
elector, and in 1855 was elected clerk of the Court of Appeals, but 
died the next year while in office. 

Russell F. Hicks 

Russell F. Hicks died at his residence near vSyracuse August 23, 
1869, in his sixtieth year. He had been a resident of Dansville, 
where he was a teacher many years. He was elected clerk of the 
Court of Appeals on the Republican ticket in 1856, to fill the place 
made vacant by the death of Benjamin F. Harwood. He was a fine 
scholar, an eloquent speaker and a courteous gentleman. In Albany 
he became a center of political influence, and his rooms were often 
thronged with the politicians of his party. He was known best in 
Dansville as an admirable teacher of select and district schools. 

Col. Timothy B. Grant 

Col. Timothy B. Grant came to Dansville from Rochester in 1846 
and became a partner of Merritt H. Brown in the hardware business. 
The partnership was dissolved in 1870, and Col. Grant continued the 
business till 1887, when he sold out. He was town clerk twentv vears 



256 BIOGRAPHICAL ALLVSIOXS 

and for a time was secretary and treasurer for the George Sweet 
Manufacturing Co. He was a member of the famous inilitary com- 
pany known as Union Grays while in Rochester, and in Dansville was 
captain and drill-master of the Canaseragas, as elsewhere stated in 
detail. His uniformly cheerful, and almost exuberant nature was 
inspiring. He was a special favorite, and seemed to have no enemies. 
He was born on the banks of the Hudson Aug. 2, 1819, and died here 
Oct. 15, 1899. 

Moses S. George 

Moses S. George, who was a veteran of the war of 1812, and long a 
resident of Dansville, died at Bluff Point, Keuka Lake, Sept. 8, 1881, 
aged eighty-six. He carried an Indian bullet in his thigh over three- 
score years, and when it came to the surface cut it out himself. He 
was a zealous and prominent member of the Methodist church, . and 
the father of the distinguished Methodist clergyman, Rev. Dr. A. C. 
George, and the well-known educator, Mrs. Susan George Jones. 
Dr. George, who died in 1885 at Englewood, 111., was the president 
of the first board of trustees of the Dansville Seminary, when in 1858 
the successful movement was started to build the brick seminary 
building on the hillside. He was one of the ablest preachers in the 
Methodist church, and there was a prospect at one time that he would 
be chosen bishop. He was also a fine, strong writer, and contributed 
many articles to the papers and magazines. Mrs. S. M. Clapp, his 
sister, was a talented and successful teacher. Mrs. Jones, a half sister, 
was preceptress of the Dansville seminary several years, and became a 
very useful and popular teacher. Her lovely character, charming 
personality, and rare conversational gifts attached hosts of friends to 
her wherever she lived. In her later years she filled important po- 
sitions as preceptress at Hackettsiown, N. J., Baltimore, Md., and 
Auburndale, JNIass. She died in Rochester daring her vacation time, 
.September 15, 1898, aged about sixty years, being then preceptress of 
the celebrated Lasell seminary for ladies at Auburndale, under C. C 
Bragdon, its owner and principal, who said of her that she was the 
noblest woman and best manager of young women that he ever knew. 
Her only son Lewis Bunnell Jones, is the eft'ective advertising man- 
ager of the Eastman Kodak works of Rochester. 

E. C. Daugherty 

E. C. Daugherty is remembered and honored in Dansville for his 
consistent Christian character and uncommon ability as a printer and 
editor. He learned his trade in Buffalo, and graduated as one of the 
swiftest and most skillful printers in that city. He came to Dansville, 
and started the Dansville Herald in May, 1850, and published it four 
years, winning general confidence and esteem. Then he went to 
Rockford, 111., where he started the Rockford Register in February, 
1854. By hard and conscientious labor he gradually raised the paper 
to wide-spread influence and financial success, but in doing so sapped 
the fountains of life. He went to Jacksonville, Fla., to improve his 
health, and died there February 19, 1868, aged forty-five. 



BIOGRAPHICAL AIJ.USIONS 257 

Merritt H. Brotvn 

jNIerritt H. Brown was born in Vermont in 1806 and died in Dans- 
ville in 1S()4. He came here with his parents in 1818, and after he 
grew to manhood was a leading hardware merchant and manufacturer 
for over thirty-five years. He was one of the potent characters of 
Dansville — self-reliant, strong-willed, public-spirited, kindly, gener- 
ous, with attractive social qualities. He was one of the leaders of 
the crowd that opened the berm bank which separated the sub-branch 
from the Genesee valley canal, elsewhere described, and participated 
vigorously and effectively in the fight of that local episode. The fol- 
lowing data regarding him are furnished by R. W. French of Chicago 
who obtained them from Dr. Hovey of Rochester. He engaged in 
the hardware trade here in 1834. T. B. Grant became his partner in 
1846. He and George Sweet united in starting the business of G. 
Sweet & Co., at Cumminsville in 1854. Was appointed postmaster 
by President Pierce. The firm of M. H. Brown & Son was formed in 
1859, and the firm of Brown & Grant was re-established in 1860, M. 
H. Brown retiring in favor of T. B. Grant. Engaged in the grocery 
trade with B. W. French in 1863. Mr. Brown's daughter Martha be- 
came the wife of B. W. French, above mentioned, who was for several 
years one of the best business men of Dansville, and has been so fre- 
quent a visitor here since that he has not become a stranger. Long 
ago he moved from Dansville to Chicago, where he became one of the 
prominent insurance men of the city and of the great West. His re- 
gard for his old home and old friends is kept fresh in his big heart 
and his genial nature and broad intelligence are such that they are 
always glad to have him come and sorry to see him go. He has an 
ideal family of one daughter and four sons. (Mr. French died in Chi- 
cago, August 23, 1902.) 

John F. Babcock 

John F. Babcock died at Asbury Park, N. J., May 2, 1902, aged 
seventy-seven. He learned the printing trade with A. Stevens in 
Dansville, and went from here to New York in 1844. There he was 
foreman and private secretary for Morris & Willis, publishers of the 
Home Journal. He moved to New Jersey in 1852, and was connected 
with the New Brunswick Fredonian for many years, the most of the 
time as part owner and editor. Among the responsible positions 
which he afterward held were those of secretary of the New Jersey 
senate and one of the commission to revise the state constitution. 
He was one of the founders of the New Jersey Editorial association 
and its secretary for twenty-one years. He was influential as a re- 
publican in New Jersey politics, and also as a member of various so- 
cieties. He always retained his love for Dansville. 

Jilexander Edwards 

Alexander Edwards, who died Octob,er 16, 1900, aged seventy-eight, 
was a descendant of the great divine, Jonathan Edwards. He was 
born in Bath, came to Dansville in 1844, and was in the dry goods 
business with Matthew McCartney until the great fire of 1854. After- 
ward he held a number of local official positions, and in his later years 



258 



BIO GRA PHICA L ALLL 'SIONS 




was superintendent and treasurer of the Dansville Cemetery asso- 
ciation. He was married to Miss Elizabeth McCurdy in 1849, and 
they celebrated their golden wedding in 1899. He was a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and worthily filled his place in religious and 
secular life. He was the father of James M. Edwards, cashier of the 
Merchants and Farmers bank, and Mrs. Elizabeth E. Sweet. 

B. W. Woodruff 

B. W. Woodruff, father of Oscar Wood- 
ruff of the Dansville Express, died Sept. 
30, 1S93, in his eighty-eighth year. He 
was born in Livonia, and commenced 
learning the printer's trade in Geneseo 
in 1821. In 1834 he was publisher of 
the Livingston Journal of Geneseo. He 
came to Dansville to reside in 1850. 
His golden wedding was celebrated in 
1884. A genial companion and a good 
man. 

Rowley Patterson 

Rowley Patterson, known as '"the 
astronomer of Poag's Hole," died 
January 20, 1893, at an advanced age. 
He watched the night skies through a 
$500 telescope, and constructed some 
B. w. WOODRUFF curious theories about man and his re- 

lation to the planets and moons, whicn he claimed were based on Bible 
teachings. He was entirely sincere, and some of his theories were 
remarkable, to say the least. 

David D. Mc^air 

David D. McNair, who died January S, 1892, aged seventy-eight, 
was born in Sparta, and came to Dansville as early as 1836. Later 
he was connected with the Bank of Dansville, and for a long period 
previous to the failure of the Woodruff Paper Co., was its treasurer 
and business manager. He was also loan agent for the Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., of New York. He was considered one of our ablest 
business men, and his transactions gave him a wide acquaintance. 
He was one of the leading members of the Presbyterian church. His 
son Clarence I. McNair is a prominent paper maker at Cloquet, 
Minn. 

Dennis Bunnell 

Dennis Bunnell, father of A. O., and Major Mark J. Bunnell, died 
July 2, 1885, in his seventy-ninth year. He was respected by his 
acquaintances for his unassuming sincerity and earnest convictions, 
and beloved by his family for his aft"ectionate and loyal domestic 
nature. He was an ardent whig and then republican and through the 
papers kept in close touch with political events. It was largely owing 
to his persistent efforts that the excrescences on the public square were 
removed, and it became a source of pride instead of shame to the 
village. 



BIOGRA PHICA L ALLl 'S/ONS 



259 



Benjamin C. Cook 

Benjamin C. Cook was born in 
Herkimer county in 1799, was edu- 
cated at Fairfield seminary, and 
studied law in the office of Judge 
Crippen of Cooperstown. He was 
admitted to the bar in 1823, and 
practiced in Cohocton until 1829, 
when he changed his residence to 
Dansville, where he resided until 
about 1854, and then with his family 
went to Marshall, Mich. He was a 
well-read and careful lawyer, very 
industrious, and attended faithfully 
to all interests entrusted to him. 
His professional work in Marshall 
was cut short by paralysis of the 
brain, and returning to Steuben 
county he died there in 1856. He has 
been characterized as "a man of 
orderly habits, sound morals and 
strict integrity." His two brothers, 
Paul C, and Constant Cook were 
prominent in the business and politics of Steuben county many years. 




1^, 


■ W —^ 


1 


f -.A 


«. -Mma 


■ iifiii!^! 


m 


ijl^^H 



THE COOK RESIDENCE 



John MclVhorter 

John McWhorter lived in Dansville from 1804 until his death, 
March 1, 1880. He was a steady, practical man well liked by his 
acquaintances, and an interesting talker about the early times. He 
was four years old when his father, the first agent of Sir William 
Pultney, moved here from Bath. 



2f)0 



BIOGRA PHICA L A LL US IONS 




HENRY C. SEDGWICK 



Henry C. Sedgwick 

Henry vSedgwick, who wrote 
many interesting communications 
of local historical reminiscences 
for the Advertiser, and who once 
published a historical- pamphlet 
about Dansville, died March 31, 
1892, a;^ed sixty-six. He was 
clerk in the Dansville post office 
or deputy postmaster nearly all 
theyearsfrom 1846 until hisdeath. 
He was a quiet, kindly, happy 
man, who loved his fellowmen and 
the fields and woods and glens. 

Judge David McCartney 

Judge David McCartney died 
at his home in Sterling, III., 
March 18, 1887, aged seventy- 
nine years. He was born on the 
old i\IcCartney place north of the 
village, and about half a century 
ago was one of the successful 
merchants of Dansville. He went to Sterling about thirty-five years 
before his death, became an honored member of the Illinois bar, and 
was three times elected county judge. He was a brother of James, 
Hugh and Matthew McCartney and father of Mrs. A. L. Parker now 
residing in Dansville. 

L. B. Proctor 

L. B. Proctor, for thirty years a Dansville lawyer, died in Albany 
April 1, 1900, aged seventy-seven years. He was author of the Bench 
and Bar of New York, Lives of the Chancellors of the State, Life and 
Times of Thomas Addis Emmett, and many biographical sketches. 
F"or thirteen years he served as secretary of the State Bar association. 
He was a graceful writer, and skillful in the choice of words from his 
abundant vocabulary. 

Martin L. Davis 

Martin L. Davis, an eccentric but intelligent resident of Dansville 
for a long period, died September 4, 1899, aged seventy-six. He was 
a man of many original schemes, and one of them was for congress to 
make an appropriation for drilling test holes all over the country to 
ascertain its mineral wealth. He was one of eight sons of Abner 
Davis, only one of whom survives, Lewis L. Davis of New 
York city. 

Edward S. Palmes 

Edward S. Palmes died in St. Paul February 2(>. 1891, aged seventy- 
nine. The most of his life was spent in Dansville, where he was a 
merchant tailor and an influential elder of the Presbyterian church. 
Humorous remarks flowed spontaneously from his lips. 



BIOGRA PHICA L A L L [ 'S/OXS 



2(,1 




GEOKGE SWEET 



George Sweet 

George Sweet died June 19, 1894, 
in his seventy-sixth year. He was 
a skilled practical mechanic and in- 
ventor, and for many years was the 
head of the George Sweet Manu- 
facturing Co. He invented the 
first horse-power corn sheller in 
()nondaga county, when very 
young, and in Dansville invented 
valuable agricultural machinery and 
appliances. His integrity, intelli- 
gence and sound judgment were 
recognized by all his neighbors. 

Prof. David L. Kiehle 

Prof. David L. Kiehle and Rev. 
Amos A. Kiehle, D. D., natives of 
Dansville, went west many years 
ago. and have distinguished themselves, one as an educator and the 
other as a clergyman. David L. was state superintendent of public 
instruction in Minnesota for twelve years, and resigned to accept a 
position in the State university at Minneapolis, where he has now 
been professor of pedagogy fourteen years. Dr. A. A. is one of the 
leading Presbyterian divines of Wisconsin, and has been pastor of 
Calvary church, Milwaukee, twenty-one years. Both brothers are 
graduates of Hamilton college, New York. 

lipbert S. Faulkner 

Robert S. Faulkner came to Dansville from Steuben county, and 
became a merchant. He was a Presbyterian and a careful student of 
the Bible. His Bible readings led him to draw a plan of Solomon's 
temple, which was lithographed and had a large sale. He also pre- 
pared an elaborate address on the three Jewish temples, and delivered 
it to interested audiences in various places. He married Miss Eliza- 
beth L. Todd, and they celebrated their golden wedding in 1882. Air. 
Faulkner died October 7, 1886, aged seventy-seven. 

John Goundry 

John Goundry moved to Dansville from Sparta about 1840, and be- 
came a merchant in partnership with Charles R. Kern. Seven years 
later he purchased the McCartney farm north of the village, and re- 
sided there about thirty years, or until his death, Oct. 18, 1889. Be- 
fore coming to Dansville he dealt in lumber, and afterward quite ex- 
tensively in real estate. He was uniformly successful in business 
enterprises, and left a large property. 

I^ussell Day 

Russell Day, father of Mrs. John A. VanDerlip, died in 1864 in his 
seventy-third year. His residence on the site of the present Maxwell 
block is remembered by the older citizens. He was a shrewd man full 
of humor, and was prominent in Dansville's early life. 



262 



nrOGRA PHICA L A LL US IONS 
James Ki^ng 




James King, the oldest 
man in this region and for 
over half a century a well 
known and prosperous resi- 
dent of Poag's Hole valley, 
was born in Mayo, Ireland, 
in 1810. After living some 
time m England, he emi- 
grated to America and set- 
tled near Dansville in 1852. 
A daughter and son are 
still living: Mrs. Fred 
Freyner, and Charles King 
of Buffalo. Mr. King is an 
active old gentleman and 
quite as ready to play a 
joke on other people as 
they are on him. 

l^ev. John J. Brown 

Rev. John J. Brown, LL. D., who was a teacher in Dansville 
Seminary on the hillside in its early years, and highly esteemed as 
citizen and educator, became a valued professor of sciences in Syracuse 
university for many years from the date of its opening. There he 
was greatly beloved by both students and professors. He was a 
learned scientist, a clear reasoner, a useful instructor and an interest- 
ing lecturer, unmarred by egotism or pretension. He was recognized 
as a much greater man than he estimated himself to be. His wife 
was a daughter of Rev. John Wiley of Springwater. 

John Belts 

John Betts came to Dansville from Buffalo in 1830, and was in the 
boot, shoe and tanning business here until a few years before his death, 
June 7, 1887, at the age of eighty-seven. He was a member of the 
Buffalo Historical society, and his retentive memory made his remin- 
iscences very interesting. He was on the first steamer that plied on 
Lake Erie when it was launched in 1817. As militiaman he assisted 
in driving the English from Grand Island in 1819, in obedience to a 
proclamation of (Governor Clinton. 

Joseph W. Smith 

Joseph W. Smith, long associated with Judge Vanderlip as law 
partner, came to Dansville from Bath in 1842, and died here in 1876, 
aged fifty-five. He married a daughter of Dr. William H. Reynale. 
He was a very capable trial lawyer, and a popular citizen. 



BIOGRAPHICAL ALLUSIONS 



263 



Solomon Hubbard 

Solomon Hubbard was born in Schoharie county in 1817, lived in 
Mayville, Chautauqua county, from the age of two to seventeen, and 
then went to Buffalo to seek his fortune. There he learned the 
printer's trade, saved some money, went to Lima to school, and 
graduated from the Genesee Wesleyan seminary in 1839. He then 
studied law in Buffalo, was admitted to the bar in 1844, came to 
Dansville, and practiced law here with conspicuous success for twenty 
years. In 18(>3 he was elected county judge on the republican ticket, 
and the next year moved to Geneseo, which became his permanent 
home. I-[e was an early advocate of temperance, an abolitionist be- 
fore he was a republican, and became one of the most prominent 
Methodists of the county. In rugged honesty and native talent, Mr. 
Hubbard was of the Lincoln type. He was public spirited and 
greatly interested in education. He helped to establish both the Dans- 
ville seminary and the Geneseo Normal school. He built up a large 
legal practice in Geneseo, and served a second term as county judge. 
His wife was a daughter of Rev. Robert Parker, a famous pioneer 
Methodist preacher of Western New York. Judge Hubbard died June 
25, l')02. 

James S. Murdock 



James S. Murdock was born 
November 28, 1817, and died 
May If), 1902. There has been 
no more familiar figure on 
Dansville streets than he was 
for nearly a quarter of a cen- 
tury. He did hard work as a 
stage driver and drayman in 
his earlier manhood, and ex- 
hibited such qualities that his 
fellow citizens finally in 1858 
began to elect him to office, 
and kept it up for forty-four 
years, during which period he 
was constable and collector 
continuously. He was so 
faithful, courageous and cor- 
rect in the performance of his 
official duties, and the voters 
knew him so well, that no one 
could defeat him at the polls. 
He has also held the positions 
of deputy sheriff and chief of 
police. He was the oldest 
living member of Canaseraga lodge I. O. O. F., when he died, and 
had held the office of Noble Grand three terms and that of Deputy 
Grand Master for Livingston county two years. He was also a 
Mason, and had been Master of Phoenix lodge and High Priest of the 
Royal Arch. The esteem in which he was held was deserved. 




264 



BIOGRA PHICA L A LL USIONS 



Mrs. Mary ^oyes Colvin 

Mrs. Mary Noyes Colvin, oldest daughter of Daniel W. Noyes, is a 
woman of rare gifts and accomplishments. She was educated at Mt. 
Holyoke Female college, Mass., and became an educator, commencing 
in Milwaukee Female seminary, next going to Worcester, Mass., and 
then to the State Normal school of Geneseo, where she was precep- 
tress. Resolving to obtain a broader culture, she went to the Zurich 
university, Switzerland, and there graduated with the degree of Ph. 
D., siiiiniia cum landa — the highest degree of the kind that had ever 
been conferred by that university. Then she spent two years in the 
Paris library, translating the Provencal French for the Old English 
Text Society, which published her translations in book form. A 
committee went across the water and induced her to leave Europe and 
take charge of the Bryn Mawr school in Baltimore, where she re- 
mained four or five years. Being offered the chair of Philology, with 
special reference to the Romance languages, in the Cleveland, O., 
Woman's college, she spent a year in Spain and Italy preparing for 
the position. She held it three or four years, when she and Mrs. 
Delafield bought the famous Hersey school in Boston, Mass., which 
they still own and conduct. Mrs. Colvin's varied literary attain- 
ments include a thorough knowledge of five or six languages. 

Erhard Rau 



One of the largest landholders 
in the county for over a half 
century and a man who reared 
to manhood and womanhood a 
family of sixteen children was 
lirhard Rau. He died Decem- 
ber 6, 1885 at the age of ninety- 
seven years. He was born in 
Northampton county, Pa., Sept. 
.>, 1788, and came v.-ith his wife 
and ten children to reside in 
Dansville in 1822. For two years 
he ran a tavern in the village 
and then moved to Sparta where 
he lived until his death. At one 
time he possessed over 1,500 
acres of land which was later di- 
vided among his sons and daugh- 
ters. 

Fifteen of the children married 
and have descendants living. One 
child when a boy of fifteen years, 
was killed by the falling of a tree. 
Mrs. Sally Ann Traxler and Mrs. Mary vStong of vSparta and Mrs. 
Susan Johns of Dansville are the daughters who still survive, and 
Hiram of Springwater, Owen of Wayland, and David E. of Dansville, 
are the sons who are still living. John, another son, recently deceased. 




BIOGRA PHICA L ALU 'SIGNS 



265 



was a resident of South Dansville. The descendants of Erhard Rau 
are estimated to be over 3U0 strong. 

Daddy Rau, as he was familiarly called, is remembered as a man 
possessed of many admirable traits of character and was one of the 
liardy pioneers of Dansville. 




FOURTEEN OF ERHARD RAU'S CHILDREN 

Samuel Wilson 

Samuel Wilson was born in 1801 in Pennsylvania, and learned both 
bJacksmithing and the saddler's trade in that state. He came to 
Dansville in 1826, and opened a saddler and harness shop. He mar- 
ried in 1829, and the same year put up a frame building where the 
Hedges block now is. Mr. Wilson was one of the earliest members of 
our ( )dd I'ellows lodge, and an influential Methodist, his home being 
usually the hospitable stopping place of presiding elders and other 
clergymen from abroad. He was one of the California "forty 
niners," but lived in Dansville the most of the time till 1856, when 
he went to Buffalo, where he died in 1893 widely esteemed and be- 
loved. The surviving members of the family are two daughters. 
Misses Cordelia M., and Mary M. Wilson of Batavia. 

Col. S. W. Smith 

Col. S. W. Smith, w'ho came to Dansville in 1818 at the age of 
twenty, died August 23, 1S69. He had been a prominent merchant 
and was elected member of assembly in 1832. 

John Wilkinson 

John Wilkinson died April 20, 1884, aged seventy-six. He was a 
good lawyer and for a long time justice of the peace, and possessed 
sterling qualities for which he was universally esteemed. 



266 



BIOGRA PHICA L ALL US IONS 




JOSEPH LtlTER 



Joseph Letter 

Joseph Leiter, noted for his 
eccentricities and ready wit — the 
oddest man in Dansville — died 
June 30, 1898. He was born in 
Hagerstown, Md., Dec. 12, 1797, 
and was therefore over one hun- 
dred years old. 

George IV. Clark 

George W. Clark resided a long 
time in Dansville. He had been 
famous as an abolitionist singer, 
musical composer and speaker, 
and also as a temperance singer 
and lecturer. He published three 
(ir four books of songs. He 
died in Battle Creek, Mich., Jan- 
uary 14, 1899, aged seventy- 
eight. 



Gusfav Seyfforth 

Gustav Seyfforth, a distinguished scholar and Egyptologist, lived 
in Dansville a number of years during the seventies and early eighties, 
and established a school where he gave instruction on Main street in 
the building now occupied by S. C. Allen. He had been a universitv 
professor in Leipsic, and was succeeded there by George Ebers, the 
Egyptologist and novelist. He went to New York from Dansville, 
and died there in 1886, aged eighty-nine. In a masterh- article by 
Ebers, published in the Journal of the German Oriental society in 
1887, he finds Prof. Seyfforth entitled to the honor of being the first 
discoverer of the polyphone hieroglyphics, and of a very important 
constituent of the hieroglyphic system, namely, the syllable signs. 
Prof. Sevfforth also did important work on the so-called king papvrus 
of Turin. 

Joseph I^nappenberg 

Joseph Knappenberg was two years old when he came to Dansville 
vvitli his parents in 181)9 from Catawissa, Pa. They found seven log 
houses here, one of which they rented for a home, and locjked out up- 
on a wilderness on every side. They journeyed here in two covered 
wagons, and it took them two weeks. They drove two cows and four 
pigs, strained the milk night and morning into the churn, made the 
motion of the wagon do the churning, and fed the buttermilk to the 
pigs. Mr. Knappenberg died Feb. 20, 1885. 

Shepard Jones 

Shepard Jones died Dec. 1, 1882, in his seventy-first year. He was 
in the cabinet trade here for many years, and built a brick block on 
Upper Main street. He was for many years superintendent of Green- 
mount cemetery. 



JUOGKA PHICAL ALLUSIONS 



267 



Lockwood L. Doty 



Lockwood L. Doty was 
born in Groveland March 
15, 1827. He came to 
Dansville when about 14 
years old and found em- 
ployment in stores and the 
postoffice for six or seven 
years. Soon after leav- 
ing Dansville he was a 
law student in the office of 
Mr. John Young of Gene- 
seo; was appointed canal 
appraiser by Gov. Young; 
served as deputy state 
treasurer under Treasurer 
Albert Hunt and Treas- 
urer Spaulding; secretary 
and treasurer of the La 
Crosse & Milwaukee rail- 
road company ; chief clerk 
in the executive depart- 
ment under Gov. E. D. 
Morgan ; private secretary 
of Gov. Morgan in his 
second term which in- 
cluded the exciting period 
of the call to arms in 1861 ; 
private secretary under 
Gov. Seymour; chief of 
the bureau of military records; deputy collector of customs in New 
York city; private secretary of U. S. Senator Morgan; assessor 
of internal revenue in New York city; editor and proprietor of 
the Livingston Republican ; pension agent of New York city, 
where he literally died at his post Jan. 18, 1873. The world of valu- 
able work conscientiously, tirelessly performed by Col. Doty in these 
various positions is immeasurable, almost astounding, and through it 
all he bore his labors so cheerfully, so uprightly that he won the praise 
of all parties, with a spotless integrity unquestioned. In the midst of 
his most arduous work Col. Doty wrote a large portion of his admir- 
able History of Livingston County, to which he gave the best ener- 
gies of a trained mind and conscientious devotion to the highest inter- 
ests of his native county. This work, most painstaking and exhaust- 
ive, was continued until the pencil dropped from fingers palsied by 
death. As Christian, patriot, husband, father, brother, his forty-six 
years of noble, useful life made the world better and happier. He 
died in Jersey City Jan. 18, 1873, of pulmonary disease, aggravated 
undoubtedly, by too close and constant devotion to his work. Mr. 
Doty left five children, viz: Alvah H., Lockwood R., Martha A., 
Mary Louise and Edwin M. Edwin died about ten years ago. Alvah 
is now C(jmpleting his second term as health officer of the port of New 




LOCKWOOD L. DOTY 



268 BIOGRAPHICAL ALLVSIOXS 

York, in which he has greatly distinguished himself and made notable 
scientific advances in the performance of the duties of the office. Hon. 
Lockwood R. Doty, a leading lawyer at Genesee in Livingston county, 
was an active member of the last constitutional convention. Martha 
is the wife of E. Fred Youngs, surrogate clerk of Livingston county, 
and Louise, the wife of Eugene W. Scheffer, secretary of the New 
York city board of health. vSons and daughters in their work and life 
are honoring the memory of their distinguished father. 

Matthew McCartney 

Matthew McCartney was born in a part of Sparta which now be- 
longs to North Dansville Oct. 18, 1815, and died in Dansville Jan. 
17, 1900. His father was William McCartney, a man of fine English 
ancestry, who came here with Col. Williamson, and was the first man 
married in Dansville. The most of Matthew McCartney's active life 
was spent in mercantile trade in this village, where he was always re- 
spected and popular, and one of the influential citizens in village af- 
fairs and movements for the public good. He was a reading man, a 
thinker, and always more of a leader than follower. He was positive 
but genial in the expression of his views, which were often novel and 
interesting. In manner and spirit he was a gentleman of the old 
school, and his infinite humor, untainted by bitterness, made him a 
delightful companion. He served as village trustee many terms, 
sometimes as president of the village, and was a trustee of the Dansville 
seminary from the time it was founded in 1857. His religious views 
were liberal, but he attended and supported the Presbyterian church, 
and was baptized into its faith a short time before his death. He 
endured his sufferings patiently, even cheerfully, during his long last 
illness. He is survived by his wife and only daughter Mrs. Ellen i\I. 
Peltier. 

Olney B. Maxwell 

Olney B. Ma.xwell was prominently identified with the business in- 
terests of Dansville for over thirty years, and built its largest and best 
business block in 1873. He was public spirited and generous, with 
attractive social qualities, and his friends were so numerous that they 
could not easily be counted. He died July 18, 1875. Mrs. George A. 
Sweet of Dansville and Mrs. }Ienry C. Taft of Oakland, Cal., are his 
daughters. 

Benedict Bagley 

Benedict Bagley died Nov, 4, 187S, aged seventy-five. He practiced 
law in Nunda, N. Y. , and Covington, Ky. In 1860 he came to Dans- 
ville, where he was manager of the Woodruff paper mills until his 
death, and as such demonstrated his business abilitv. 



BIOGRAPHICAL ALLUSIONS 269 

Dansuille Physicians 

A Dansville physician has kindly furnished brief sketches of the 
most of the former and present physicians of the village. We con- 
dense: Dr. Jonathan Sill was the ne.xt Dansville physician after Dr. 
James Faulkner, but remained only about a year, moving to Geneseo, 
where he died in 1807. The third was Dr. Sholl, who came in 1808 
and practiced here until the year of his death, 1821. Dr. Willis F. 
Clark came from Utica in 1813, made his permanent residence here, 
and died October 5, 1858. Dr. Josiah Clark practiced here several 
years from about 1820 and then moved to Livonia. Dr. L. N. Cook 
first practiced in Livonia and Richmond Hill, and moved to Dansville 
in 1818, where he practiced till 1824, when he went to Ohio. He re- 
turned in 1831, and remained until his death in 1868. Dr. William 
H. Reynale, who died August 7, 1870, in his seventy-seventh year, 
was born in New Jersey, and came to Dansville the first time in 1814. 
He graduated from the Medical university of Pennsylvania, and prac- 
ticed awhile in Eaton, Pa., and next in Hartland, Niagara county. 
From Hartland he came to Dansville to remain permanently, and was 
called its leading physician. Dr. Samuel L. Endress came to Dans- 
ville from Pennsylvania in 1828, and was for some time associated 
with Dr. Reynale, to whom he was hardly second in skill or reputation. 
Both were not less esteemed as citizens than as physicians. Dr. 
Endress died Feb. 24, 1871, aged nearly 67. Dr. George W. Shepherd 
was a resident of Dansville over half a century, and commenced prac- 
tice here as a physician in 1846. He obtained the most of his medical 
education in Charleston, S. C. He w^as an elder of the Presbyterian 
church and superintendent of its Sunday school many years. He was 
born in Albany and died in Dansville in 1897, aged eighty-one. 
Edward S. Shepherd, his youngest son, is a prominent business man 
in Chicago. Dr. Edw. W. Patchin practiced in Sparta four years, 
then a year in Livonia, and came to Dansville in 1843, where he prac- 
ticed imtil 1869, and died October 20 of that year. He was a success- 
ful physician and safe counselor. Dr. B. L. Hovey practiced in 
Dansville from 1842 till the beginning of the Civil war. He was 
then appointed surgeon of the 136th regiment, and remained in the 
army until the close of the war, when he moved to Rochester, where 
he now resides. Dr. Zara H. Blake, born in Livonia, commenced the 
study of medicine in Dansville with Dr. Endress in 1840, and gradu- 
ated from the Buffalo Medical university in 1847. He began and con- 
tinued his practice in Dansville until the Civil war, when he was ap- 
pointed examining surgeon on the provost marshal's staff of this dis- 
trict, afterward resuming practice here, where he was one of the 
leading physicians and accumulated wealth. He died in 1888. Dr. 
George M. Blake, his son, graduated from the medical department of 
Ann Arbor university, but, after practicing a few years studied law, 
and went to Rockford, 111., where he has achieved distinction in his 
second profession. Miss Josephine Blake, his daughter, also graduated 
in medicine from Ann Arbor university, and practiced a short time. 
Dr. Davis of the Thompsonian school, came in 1846, and had an ex- 
tended practice. His nephew, Dr. George Davis, succeeded him, and 
the' nephew's successor was Dr. Ripley. Dr. Asahel Yale and Dr. 
Alonzo Cressy were practitioners here in 1829, and probably later. 



270 BIOGRAPHICAL AILl'SIOXS 

Dr. \'elder, a native of Austria, who studied medicine in the best 
schools of Vienna, came to Dansville about 1850, and moved in 1807 
to Elmira, where he died. Dr. J. M. Blakesley located in Dansville 
in 1859, and practiced here about eight years. He was succeeded by 
Dr. Isaac Dix. Both belonged to the Homeopathic school. Dr. Dix 
was succeeded by Dr. B. P. Andrews, who has had a large and grow- 
ing practice from that time to the present. Dr. Charles W. Brown 
graduated from the Hahnemann Medical school of Chicago in 1873, 
came to Dansville in 1877, and practiced here a few years. Dr. S. L. 
Ellis came to Dansville from Lima about 1871, and after building up 
a fine practice brought his medical career to an end in 1873 by shoot- 
ing John Haas. Dr. (). S. Pratt came from Byersville about 1868, 
and after practicing here a few years moved to Canaseraga, where 
he now is. Dr. Charles T. Dildine studied with Dr. Reynale, gradu- 
ated from the Buffalo university, practiced here a short time, and 
moved, first to Almond, and then Lincoln, Neb., where he was very 
successful. An accident caused a cancer in his stomach, of which he 
died. Dr. George Yochum, a native of Dansville, studied medicine 
with Dr. W. B. Preston and in 1881 after graduating from the Cin- 
cinnati Eclectic college, began practicing in this village. He died 
Sept. 11, 1885, in his twenty-eighth year. He is remembered as a 
young man of unusual ability. Dr. Anthony Schunhart came to 
Dansville in 1888 and practiced medicine here for about three years. 
He died Sept. 6, 18'J1, twenty-eight years of age. Dr. A. L. Daiuon, 
a native of Canaseraga, N. Y. , was born June 22, 1862, and died Oc- 
tober 18, 1895. He was a graduate of the medical department of the 
L^niversity of Buffalo and came here to practice medicine in 1892, re- 
maining here about two years. Dr. O. M. Blood, a graduate of the 
University of Chicago, practiced in Dansville during 1890 and 1891 
and is now established in the West. Dr. Francis M. Perine is the old- 
est living practicing physician in Dansville, and has had a successful 
and honorable professional career of over forty-seven years. He first 
located himself in Byersville, and established himself in Dansville in 
1861, where he has practiced ever since. The other resident practi- 
ticjners today are Drs. Jas. E. Crisfield, C. \'. Patchin, B. P. An- 
drews, F. R. Driesbach, W. B. Preston and Dr. Ella F. Preston, all of 
whom have practiced here many years, and are physicians of skill and 
repute. Few, if any villages in the state, are favored with members 
of this important profession in whom the sick and friends of the 
sick can so confidently trust to prescribe for diseases or perform 
delicate and difficult operations in surgery. 



PART II 



Dansville of To-Day 



BY J. AV. BURGESS 



IS an undeniable fact that any one who has ever 
lived in Dansville for any length of time, or who 
has had occasion to visit the town long enough to 
become acquainted with place and people, always 
likes to come back again. There seems to be a 
sociability and cordiality about the place that makes 
one feel at home if one is at all disposed to be 
friendly. 

]\Iany forces combine to produce this gracious 
impression upon the dwellers within our borders. 
The salubrity of climate; the magnificent scenery; 
the enchanting walks, the bewitching drives, the 
imposing hills, the fertile valleys, the romantic 
glens and the delightful streams, all combine to cap- 
tivate and make a lover of anyone who is not absolutely sordid. Go 
where you will the natural beauty of the place is apparent. 

The kodak fiend is in his element, for let him point in any direc- 
tion he will he cannot fail to find a pretty picture. This is no fancy 
sketch, but a wretched attempt to place in cold and prosy type a 
few of the manv charming and interesting features of a most beau- 
tiful village. 





WINTER SCENE STONY BROOK GLEN 



6 DESCRf/'T/rE SECT/OX 

There is every indication that at some time in the remote past the 
valley, m which Dansville is located, was filled with water, and formed 
another of the cham of lakes, great and small, that adorn the western 
and central portions of the Empire State, ■ and bv some sudden up- 
heaval, which tore away the retaining hills at the northern boundary 
or by the more deliberate though equally effective process of gradual 
disintegration, the waters were released from their boundaries and 
nature adorned with verdure the valley that had for ages been hidden 
trom view by the sparkling waters of a lake. This lake was supplied 
by the streams that flow through deep gorges, several of which enter 
the valley at the southern boundarv of Dansville. 




WHITEMAN'S FALLS LITTLE MILL CREEK 

There are Little .Mill Creek, Big Mill Creek, Stony Brook and Can- 
aseraga Creek, the latter flowing in through Poagshofe valley and skirt- 
A^f u u ^'''■'"^" '''"■ "'^''^'' 'he western boundary of the town 

All the other streams find their way into Canaseraga Creek, through 
which channel they are borne to the Genesee River to finally mingle 
with the waters of Lake Ontario. ' 

These streams are the natural homes of speckled tn,ut and for 
three-quarters of a century after the first settler came here their 
waters teemed with this prince of piscatorial delicacies 

During the last quarter of a century the streams have undero-one 
a change. The onward march of civilization; the woodman's lixe 



nAXSr/LL/z OF TO-DAY 7 

and the gradual clearing up of the forests, have let the sunlight into 
tliL- ravines that were formerly almost impenetrable; the springs and 
swamps that furnished a never-failing supply of water have one by 
one dried up, until the streams that once flowed with undiminished 
volume the year rouiui are now spasmodic and uncertain. 



ss:s»" 








'-er^-'^-^J^- '^-^ 



FIRST FALLS IN STONY BROOK GLEN (touB.Ttsi or breeziJ 



These swamps and springs formerly furnished a perfect natural breed- 
ing place for trout, that easily kept the streams stocked, no matter 
how great the drain upon their numbers. With this supply cut off 
by the disappearance of these breeding beds, it is easy to see how 
the stock of trout was gradually depleted until, but for the annual 
re-stocking of the waters with trout fry from the state hatcheries, 
through the enterprise of the Dansville Gun Club, there would not be 
a single specimen left in any of the streams. 








(ALLS NLAR DANSVTL[.L UN SUGAR CKF.LK 



DESCRIPTIVE SECTION 



As it is, many fine catches are made every season, and those who 
know the haunts of the wily trout can, when the conditions are fav- 
orable, enjoy an excellent day's sport and return home with a 
filled creel. 



wel 




STONY BKOOK GLEN 

^ Perhaps the most widely famous of these gorges is Stony Brook 
Glen. It is truly one of Nature's masterpieces, and a person mu.st 
be fastidious indeed who cannot find .somethina; about it to admire. 
There are gigantic precipices, rocky defiles, beautiful cascades, shady 
pools and shooting rapids. Unlike most of the famous gorges of the 
country it broadens out, so that there is plenty of sunlight on cool 
days and an abundance of shade on hot ones. It is in great demand 
for picnics and excursions and is also a favorite resort for fa 
parties. Substantial bridges span the 
streams at intervals and safe stairways 
enable the excursionist to scale the var- 
ious falls in safety. Rustic tables, sur- 
rounded by seats, located at intervals 
through the Glen, provide a convenient 
means for spreading the picnic supplies, 
and a large pavilion' near the entrance 
furnishes a fine 
hearted and 
light-footed vis- 
itors to indulge 
their terpsicho- 
rean tendencies. 
At the upper 
end of the Glen 
the Pitts burg 

STONY BROOK GLEN VIEW (courtesy or luckawanna railroad) 




10 



nESCR/r/Il 7i SECTIOX 



and Shawmut railroad crosses the gorge on a bridge that is 243 feet 
from the stream below. Hundreds of pictures are extant setting 
forth the beauties of this romantic spot, and people who have trav- 
elled al! over the world aver that it compares favorably with the best 
that nature has to offer in this or other lands. 

The entrance to Stony Brocjk Glen is about two and one-half 

miles south of the village of Dans- 
ville, along one of the many charm- 
ing drives that abound in the vicin- 
ity. It is private property and a 
small admission fee is charged at the 
entrance, where a family resides. 

Near the lower entrance to the 
lilen is a gas vein, where from time 
immemorial gas has bubbled up 
through the water. Many years ago 
a cone was placed over it and it was 
11 inducted to the house through a 
pipe and used for illuminating pur- 
poses. Some twenty years ago a 
well was drilled near this point, in 
hopes of finding oil, but having 
reached a depth of 1800 feet the 
drilling was abandoned with noth- 
ing but a small flow of gas tt) show 
for the eft'ort. The general belief 
was that had the well been shot a 
considerable inci'ease of gas might 
have been obtained, but it was never 
md the derrick stood until a few years ago, when it was taken 
Later on, a stock company was organized, 
of which J. W. Burgess was president ; B. 
^ treasurer. With the money thus 

down at the upper end of Main 




BRIDGE CROSSING STONY BROOK GLEN 
(courtesy or LACKAWANNA RAII.ROAU.) 



done 

down to prevent accident, 
among the business men 
G. Foss, secretary, and D. Foley 
subscribed another well was put 
street. David Lamb had the ccju- 
tract. At about five hundred feet a 
small vein of gas was struck, and at 
twenty-one hundred feet a bed of 
solid rock salt was struck, which 
was over sixty feet in thickness. 
There the tools were lost in the well, 
and as all were satisfied that no oil 
was in sight they were left there and 
the well was abandoned. However, 
the general belief is that gas in pay- 
ing quantities does exist below this 
village, or near by, and that some 
day it will be found and utilized. 

The gorge through which Little 
Mill Creek finds its way to the vil- 
lage is not so easily accessible its entire length as is Stony Brook 
Glen. The stream is the most pure and undefiled of any of the 




WHERE OIL WAS SOUGHT 
(courtesy or dansville breeze.! 




LITTLE MILL CKLEK VIKW 




LITTLE MILL CREEK FALLS 



12 



DESCK/J'7f\ -f: SECT f OX 



streams, as its entire length of four miles is throiioh farmino- lands 
and deep ravines. It is fed entirely by springs and "its bed is all rock. 
It IS the nearest to the village of any of the streams, and is so con- 
veniently located that it has been tapped, and now provides the village 
an unlimited reserve supply of pure water for all purposes with a 
capacity that would easily supply the needs of a place ten times as large 




LITTLE MILL CREEK 

Big .Mill Creek is another of the streams that once helped furnish 
water to fill the lake that covered this vallev, in the dim and remote 
past It IS a considerable stream, flowing into this town from the 
southeast, and just after it reaches the town it enters a pretty little 
glen at what has been known for three-fourths of a century as Stone's 
Kills. It IS a charming spot and well worth anvbodv's while tovi^t 
i he manufacturing interests carried on here bv B. S' Stone are the 
subject of a .special sketch and illustrations in another portion of this 
book. Here is also located Grange Hall, the headquarters of Dansville 
Arrange, which has been a prosperous society for many years 

Poagshole IS another of the gorges that lead into 'this vallev hut 
although the entrance to it might bear out this characterization the 
place Itself will be more correctlv de.scribed if we refer to it as a"vil 
kv, famous for the granduer of its hills and the beautv of its scenery 
It IS a chanmng spot, and the tourist can never claim 'to have .seen all 
ot Dansville until he has driven along the quiet country road that 
threads Its way through Poagshole valley. Mile after mile the trav- 
eler follows the Canaseraga Creek, now close beside it, now crossin<r 
It over a bridge; now close to a rustic fence covered with woodbine^ 
clematis or bittersweet, now alongside a field of waving grain or 
tasseledcorn; now stopping for a drink at a substantial farm house 
or perchance to purchase a supply of the delicious grapes that here 



n,i.\si7/j./: OF vv-n.i )' 



1^ 



and there adorn the hillsides. Sheltered as it is by high hdls on every 
side it is always warmer in winter by several degrees than the 
eountry round, and vegetation of all kinds finds every mdueement 
to grow. 




FRISIAN'S DAM AND ENTRANCE TO POAGSHOLE 



Poagshole is a paradise for hunters of small game, and to this day, 
when 1;ven the stripling boys handle death-dealing firearms, there is 

no locality in the vicinity 
( >f Dansvilie where the sports- 
man is so likely to bag par- 
tridge, or woodcock or squir- 
rel as along the swales and 
in the woods of this .same 
Poagshole valley. Of course 
the deer, for which this 
place was once famous, have 
disappeared decades since, 
though there are persons 
still living who can easily 
remember when their grace- 
ful and agile forms bounded 
over the hills, or they nip- 
ped the tender shoots from 
the shrubs that adorned this 
beautiful valley, or fled in 
terror from the stealthy foe 
that threatened their lives. But they have long since lapsed into a 
pleasant memory, never to return, and that too will soon be nothing 
but .a tradition,, as are the wild turkeys that once roosted in the tree 




BLUFF POINT NEAR DANSVlLLE 

(COUB-TESY LACKAWANNA RAtLROAD.) 



14 



DRsciuin-n ■/■: shct/ox 



^^!^;:^.^-.:^:i.:z^r:.:ix^t::^:^z 




POAbillUH, NAKKOWS 



™ ••''\"'^'"l"''^ ^™'" ^'^'^ Dansville end of P<,agshole is the "Nar 




WINTER. SCENE POAGSHOLE 

the shaley rock during- the ages jiast, to rearh 
bottom ^' ' 



its present bed rock 



S:L.^;ss^£™=';^i-si5^"^=«s^s 



ming appearance, especially 



l)A\S\-/LLJi OF TO-DAY 



15 



when tinted with tlK- October glory. A tradition still clings to this 
locality of a deer, when being closely pressed by the remorseless 
hunter, having leaped over the precipice to the rocky bed below. And 
it is no tradition, but a fact well remembered by many, including the 
writer, of a once prominent business man of the village, who having 
reached the latter end of a dissipated and ill-spent life, chose this spot 
as the stage upon which to enact the last scene in the drama of his 
life, by deliberately jumping from the crest of the precipice and dash- 
ing' his life out upon the ice that covered the stream at its base. At 
a comparatively recent date a man, working upon the summit, backed 
his team of horses over the embankment, making another historical 
fact for people to marvel over while driving through the narrows. 

And here too is the famous swimming hole, known for half a cen- 
tury past as "The Rocks." It is located close to the main road, 
though years ago when the valley was sparsely settled, that fact 
made little difference. But of later years, since the children and 
grandchildren of the settlers have come to inhabit the valley, the 
'bathers can no more indulge with the freedom and neglige which once 
characterized their movements, and the time has come when evcn^the 
ubiquitous small boy cannot perform his hourly ablutions at "The 
Rocks" without clothing himself in a modern bathing suit, or bring- 
ing down upon his juvenile head the left-handed benisons of the 
inhabitants. 

Thus does the onward march of civilization affect even the young- 
est of us, and this great country grow s less and less a land of liberty 
as the years roll by, and there is 
every prospect that if things go on 
as they are doing, in a few more 
decades the youth of America will 
have been so far curtailed in his 
God-given right to go in swimming 
that he will not dare indulge in a 
bath anywhere but in a tub in the 
privacy of the bath-room at his own 
father's domicile, and that to nine- 
tenths of them will mean no bath at 
all. The sign of the two fingers will 
have lost its meaning and the diso- 
bedience of the urchin will never 
more be betrayed by the bedraggled scalp-locks 

nether garment. - , i n 

There have been numerous attempts on the part ot the dwellers m 
this valley to change its name for one that would be more euphonious 
and pretentious, but each attempt has been met with discouraging 
failure The most pronounced and persistent effort in this direction 
was made a few years ago, when some of the inhabitants decided 
with a desperate earnestness that the valley should be once more re- 
christened. It mattered not what the new name should be, only so it 
was not Poagshole. Pleasant Valley had been tried and found want- 
ing as had other names equally pretty and appropriate, but somehow 
thev had soon worn threadbare and at last disappeared entirely under 
the'magic power of the original cognomen. After much deliberation 




WAY UP IN ['UAC.SHOl \ 
(courtesy or lackawanna b.ailp.oau 



or 



the reversed 



u, 



nESCR/PT/] ■/•: SECT/OX 







A FAMOUS TROUT STREAM 



the valley, it was re-christened "Canaserao-a \M1pv •■ t-i 

tor success were deeolv lairl Ti, ^''"'*^^™sf ^ alle\ . The plans 




« IILKh II lb ALWAYS [OO 



DANSVn.LE OF TO-DA Y 



17 



after-to-be name of the valley. Everybody, from near and far, was 
given to understand that the homely old title, so suggestive of the 
venerable Mr. Poag, was consigned to oblivion forever, beyond the 
possibility of a resurrection in this world or in the world to come. 
The newspapers were given to understand that a lapse into the old 
condition of things would be regarded as a mortal offense, which 
would demand an immediate retraction and apology. 




BRADNER'S FALLS 

Fur a time matters went smoothly and people really seemed to make 
a commendable effort to be proper and accommodatin;;', and if, in a 
moment of abstraction the old name escaped their lips, a correction 
immediately followed and the new name was substituted. If an 
editor or a correspondent happened to make a break and use the ob- 
solete and objectionable name instead of the modern and revised and 
up-to-date one, he was reminded of his indiscretion in no gentle terms 
and warned to be more careful in the future. 

The world in general must be credited with having made a good, 
honest endeavor to adapt itself to the new order of things and con- 
form rigidly to the revised code. But never was the old adage con- 
cerning "old dogs" and "new tricks" more forcibly illustrated than 
in this instance. The more people thought ujjon the matter the more 
the new name seemed to be an unwelcome innovation. To the citi- 
zens of Dansville it seemed like parting not only with the name, but 
also with all right, title and interest in the beautiful and romantic 
suburb, for the new name clearly separated it from the old associa- 
tions at this end, and annexed it to the village of Canaseraga, located 
at the other end of the valley. It did not take Dansville long to 
decide that come what would she would never submit to such unjust 
usurpation without a struggle. It, however, required no effort on 



18 



DESCRIPri] 7: SECTIOX 



the part of our people to return to the ,,ld order .,f things f,,,- thev 
simply relaxed their vigilance and things returned naturallv The 
name by whieh the valley had been designated f<:,r a century after 
having been for a season crushed to earth, began, like Truth to rise 

fhlv "', '''l Z^^ "T"" T"" ^^'"^''"'^ ''''^^' "P'^" ^^""■''' 3"d in aA incred- 
bl> short time found itself again in universal use, and now the old 

homely, time-honored, fire-tested name is so firmlv entrenched in the 
earts of the people at large that not even an act of legislature could 

peimanently change or even cripple it. 




f.KADNER CREEK VIEW 

All honor to Mr. Poag, who squatted the claim, and to all the noble 
band o pioneers who follr.wed him. They have wrested frmi! the 
javvs of a rocky wilderness one of the prettiest vallevs in the State 
and spread out green meadows and fields of waving grain and 
erected substantial farmhouses and turned loose the grazing cattle 
upon a thousand hi Is. where once the frightened scream If the 
panther and the weird hoot of the owl gave answer to the war vvhoon 
of the untutored savage as it echoed through the primeval forest 

Just how Poagshok; received its name nobodv at the present time 
seems to know. We have repeatedly questioned the "oldest Inhab 
tants but always meet with the same response, that it gloried in 
that name when they hnst knew it. There are several tradidons 
rela ing to this feature of the valley, and the one that seems o £ 
most leasonable and the one most generally accepted as a fact is that 

itlJZfJ^" ""^'"'' Tl'7' ^'■- P°^^- "«'it f- having bu-Lc 

-uu P°^"°^^ '" a P>t' ^^hich later on was looted by an unprincipled 

neighbor, who was subsequently arrested, and a lawsuit ensued This 

inence\r'p "'''"' '?l'^"'''"'"'y/'^'>'^' '' ^™"^ht into such prom"- 
inence Mr. Poag and his potato hole, or "Poag's hole" as it was re- 



DAXSVILLE OF TO-DAY 



19 



ferred to in the lawsuit, that the name stuciv fast and was g-radaull)' 
shortened into a single word, by which it is known to this day and 
will doubtless continue to be known so lonij; as grass grows and 
water runs. 




THE WILLOWS ON CANASER.AGA CREEK 



If one tires of "gorge"ous scenery and hilltop views, and longs for 
something more tropical, he has but to drive down the valley, below 
the village, and his longing can be fully satisfied. 




V 1 h \S MN L\NA^KKAUA tRtLK 



20 



DESCRIPTH-E SECTIOX 



The waters from these several streams have blended witli th.ise of 
the Canaseraga before they pass beyond the corporate limits of the 
II age, so that the Canaseraga becomes quite a pretentious and re- 
sistless torrent ^\ hen ,t reaches the fiats below the villao-g it 
becomes for miles and miles a lazy, sluggish stream, wandering about 
in a seemingly aimless manner from side to side of the valley curv- 
ing at times for a distance of half a mile, only to turn and curve back 
again withm a few rods of the starting point. Much valuable land is 

hht^ f \? r'"'"; ^^''i* ^""'^ "^^ '^P^^d^y reclaimed and made 
tillable if the channel of the stream were straightened. Several 
attempts have been made by those interested to induce the legislature 
to have the work done at the expense of the State, but thus far these 
ettorts have been unsuccessful, for various reasons. 




I'AilORAL ilL.Nj, "UN IMK H.AIi" 

The rich alluvial soil furnishes a natural home for shrubs, climbinc^ 
vmes and flowering plants, and here they grow in tropical luxuriance" 
chmbing up the trees that border and, in many cases, completely span- 
ning the stream; their graceful tendrils hang in festoons from the 
branches and are reflected in the lazy waters beneath in a manner 
strongly suggestive of the tropics. A drive of a few miles down one 
side of the valley and then across and back on the other side, will give 
the lover of nature something to ponder over for vears to come There 
is no finer farming land anywhere on earth than 'is found on the "flats" 
below this village. Midway between the hills, through the center of 
the valley lies the roadbed of the Dansville and Mt.^IMorris railroad 
which connects with the Erie at Mount Morris fourteen miles below' 
A large amount of business is done over this road, especially in the 
hue ot freight. This, with the D. L. & W. railroad, furnishes ample 
shipping facilities, and there is every reason to believe that within a 



DAXSl'flJJi OF TO-DAV 21 

year or two an electric railway, and perhaps two, already surveyed by 
the Rochester & Southern Traction Company, and the Rochester, 
Corning and Elmira Electric Company, will go through the village, 
connecting it with Rochester at one end and Elmira at the other. 

Ai)pr()ach Dansville from any direction and the first feature that 
strikes the eye is the glorious old "East Hill. "' So thoroughly is it 
identified with the village itself that they are and always will be 
inse[)arable. The eastern boundary of the town extends beyond its 
summit, and the corporation line is half way up the hill. If this 
eminence were located in some sections of the country it would be 
referred to as a mountain, but in this region of hills the pioneers were 
content to name it "East Hill" and their descendants have never 
sought to be more ambitious in that res])ert than were their ancestors, 
hence it is still referred to as a hill. 

East Hill rises abruptly to the height of a thousand feet, and its 
summit is one mile from the Main street of the village. At its base 
the village has gradually crept up the incline, until a considerable 
I)ortion of it is now above the level of the valley. The pure air, 
magnificent view and the scarcity of desirable building sites in the 
center of the village, have all tended to attract people to this locality. 
Added to this the fact that the Jackson Sanatorium, one of the largest 
health resorts in the world, was born and has always lived and thrived 
a third of the way up the hillside, and that the D. L. & W. railroad 
traverses the hill midway between the base and summit, it is no 
wonder that the tide of emigration has moved eastward and covered 
the base of the hill with residences for a considerable distance. 

No longer than two score years ago this hill above the village was a 
mass of forest, broken only by a road that wound its circuitous way 
to the summit where could be seen the white house of Isaac Deiter, 
on what was known as Sky Farm. The trees have gradually disap- 
peared before the woodman's axe until but few remain. In their 
place is acre after acre of vineyard, and a few years more will find the 
hillside completely covered with grapes, for which the location and 
soil are admirably adapted. 

In the early 80's the hill received a wound which left a scar entirely 
across its fair face, for the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Rail- 
road secured the right of way and blasted its road bed about half way 
up the hill, or 450 feet above the base. Now the locomotives puff 
where the squirrels used to bark, and the sparks from passing loco- 
motives have set fire to the undergrowth so many times that even the 
partridge and rabbits, that were once so plentiful, can no more find 
cover in which to hide and propagate. The view from the summit of 
East Hill is one never to be forgotten. As far as the eye can reach 
in almost every direction there opens up a panorama that cannot be 
excelled, go where you will. 

The distant hills, checkered with fields and woods and dotted with 
farmhouses; the pretty village nestled at your feet, with the streets 
laid out in squares and bordered with shade trees; the church spires 
pointing to better and higher things; the smoke ascending from the 
tall chimneys of numerous manufactories; the handsome residences 
and well-kept lawns and gardens, and the substantial brick blocks that 
adorn both sides of the ample business portion all combine to make 



DANSVILLE OF TO-DAY 23 

a picture that one never tires of gazing; at, and the person who has 
never taken an early morning; walk up the winding road to the sum- 
mit of East Hill, resting now and then to drink in the scenery as it 
unfolds to the eye, and watched the first rays of the sun as they tint 
the distant hill tops and gradually creep down until the whole valley 
sparkles in its new found light, has missed an experience that is well 
worth going miles to see. Especially is this true when the trees are 
in bloom, for every dooryard and garden in the village looks like a 
bouquet; and in the autumn, when Nature has tinted the forests in 
their rich and variegated hues, and every shrub and shade tree in 
every street of the village is ablaze with October glory, the view 
presented is one never to be forgotten. 

The beauty of Dansville, as it lies nestled among the hills, forms one 
of tlie most attractive bits of scenery for which the Lackawanna rail- 
road is famous. The story is told that when the road was being 
built the engineer of the construction train, as he came nearer, day 
by day, to the valley, became more and more curious to know what 
sort of a "jumping-off" place it was just beyond where he could see. 
Gradually the track was lengthened and he came nearer and nearer, 
until one bright morning his locomotive rounded the corner of East 
Hill and this scene of wondrous beauty burst upon his vision. His 
astonishment and delight are experienced by every passenger who 
rides over the road, especially for the first time, and the seats on that 
side of the train are sure to be chosen first, as one never tires of gaz- 
ing at the moving panorama that seems to unfold, mile after mile, as 
the train moves on its way down the hill. 

In order to make the ascent of the hill it was necessary to establish 
an unusually heavy grade for several miles west of Dansville, and 
nearly the same distance east. This necessitates the constant use of 
pushers on all heavily laden trains, and almost any hour of the day or 
night may be seen from the village these ponderous locomotives, two, 
or sometimes three, on a long freight train, puffing slowly up the in- 
cline, or like a farmer after his day's work is complete, they return 
leisurely back to the foot of the hill, only to give a lift to the ne.xt 
train that may need their assistance. In violent contrast to these slow 
moving machines, are the locomotives that go screaming and scooting 
back and forth, day and night, over the road, drawing some of the 
fastest trains in the world, and delivering to its destination in a 
marvelously short time tons of express matter and United States 
mail, or a still more precious cargo of human freight. 

Protected as it is upon three sides by high hills, this spur of the 
Genesee Valley in which Dansville is located is naturally warmer than 
the surrounding territory, and, as a result, vegetation here is usually 
from two to three weeks in advance of that in all the country around. 
Market gardeners, truck raisers, and grape men find in this fact a 
wonderful advantage, in that they can raise their products enough in 
advance of their neighbors to afford them a ready market in the sur- 
rounding towns. It is not at all unusual to see the grass green in the 
spring, down in the valley, while the winter's snow still whitens the 
hill tops that bound the town, and on the other hand the hill dwellers 
have good sleighing for weeks together, at times, when the roads are 




sj «- --^.aii,: 



M:^€-li 



't--:^!^i 






'-^tet^Sm^J^ 




1 


O 


*^iJ-' 


z 
o 




Z. 




u 




Isi 




tn 




:£ 




ct: 




h- 


J- 


z 








(- 




< 








c: 




c£ 








z 


vS 






< 




s 




eC 




LJ 




H. 






>M. 


D 



DAXSVILLE OF TO-DAY 25 

bare in the village. Rut if they cannot have both, our people prefer 
the early vegetables to the protracted sleighing. 

Dansville may justly boast of her nursery interests, which give em- 
ployment to a large number of men and boys and which bring thou- 
sands of dollars annually into the coffers of the town, through the nat- 
ural channels of trade. The climate and soil seem to be especially 
adapted to the producing of nursery trees in perfection, and their 
fame has gone out over all the land. This feature of Dansville forms 
the subject of a more extended write-up in another part of this book. 

Few towns of its size have so many first-class, up-to-date business 
houses as has Dansville. Her Main street extends the entire length 
of the town and the business portion has been macadamized in the 
latest ajiproved manner, with a uniform curb the entire length of 
both sides. Most of the sidewalks through Main street are of 
cement, and those which are not will be in a very short time. The 
same is true of the walks throughout the village, and thousands of 
feet of cement walks are being laid each year. An ordinance stipu- 
lates that they must conform to a uniform grade and be four feet wide. 

The buildings on Main street are for the most part, of brick, two 
and three stories in height, and present a well-kept and thrifty ap- 
pearance. The merchants take pride in keeping their respective 
places of business tidy, and there is always enough competition to 
stimulate each one to tlo his best. A goodly proportion of the 
patronage enjoyed Ijy Dansville merchants comes from the farmers 
who live adjacent to the town. As there is no other village within 
several miles there is a large territory of excellent farming land on 
all sides, which is, as a rule, owned by the men who work it and who 
are f<ir the most part frugal and industrious people, whose trade is 
well worth looking after. In order fully to appreciate the number 
of farmers who make Dansville their trading place one must be here 
on almost any Saturday, or holiday, and see the crowded condition of 
the street. 

There are a number of establishments in town which give employ- 
ment to men and women, and boys and girls, who receive their pay 
weekly and this in turn is spent at the stores, making a steady source 
of trade for the merchants. Each of these enterprises form the sub- 
ject of a special sketch elsewhere in this book. 

The village people have drifted into a habit of deferring much of 
their trade until Saturday night, and as a result Main street on any 
pleasant Saturday night is literally crowded with people, mostly 
dressed in their best and all with cash in their pockets, or bundles 
under their arms, and the merchants have long since come to look 
forward to the "Saturday night trade" as something that can be de- 
pended upon, and it often swells to satisfactory proportions the trans- 
actions of a week that would otherwise be a failure. Even in the 
face of the numerous financial disasters which have befallen Dansville 
in recent years, very few failures have ever been recorded among her 
business men, and this fact proves better than any other evidence 
that her business interests are on a sound financial footing and her 
merchants are content to do a safe business rather than jeopardize 
their financial security by liranching out upon a larger and more 
problematical scale. 



DRSCKfrni -R SECTION 



Briefly Summarized Dansville Has: 

Two Paper Mills 
Three Foundries 
Three Planing Mills 

Four Cereal Food Manufactories 
Two Cereal Drink Manufactories 
Three Flouring Mills 
Two Shoe Factories 

Three Weekly Newspapers 
Two Monthly Magazines 
Granite Works 

Electrotype Foundry 

Pump and Poke Factory 

Gas and Electric Light Plant 
Wagon Manufactory 
Eight Churches 

Three District Schools 

Fine Macadamized Main Street 
Splendid System of Water Works 
Backed by Solid IMasonrv Reservoir 
Of Over 3,00(),U0() gallons Capacity 
Two good Banks 
Hospital 
Sanatorium 

Correspondence School 
School of Business 
Brewery 

Extensive Nursery Interests. 



Dansville as a HealtK R.esort 

By James H. JacKson, M. D. 




THE first intimation that the natural advantages of Dans- 
ville as a health resort were recognized and were to be 
utilized, occurred in the year 1852. The building origin- 
ally known as the Water Cure was begun in that year and 
though not finished entirely until seven years afterwards, 
was occupied as a Water Cure ofl: and on for several years. 
Mr. Nathaniel Bingham and Mr. Lyman Granger were 
the builders and owners. Mr. Bingham transferred his 
interest to Abraham Pennell of Richmond, Ontario Co., 
N. Y., in the year 1854 and very soon afterwards Mr. 
Granger sold his interest to Mr. Pennell. In 1854 Mr. 
Stevens, ^Mr. Pennell's son-in-law, opened a Water Cure in this build- 
ing on the east hillside above Dansville and conducted it for about a 
year, not succeeding to his anticipations. Then there was an interim 
of a year and in 1856 a Dr. Blackall of New York conducted the insti- 
tution for a portion of the year, and not succeeding, the building lay 
idle until October 1, 185S, when it passed into the management of 




Dr. James Caleb Jackson. Thus began the health movement as re- 
lated to Dansville. All through the eastern and middle states were 
springing up large and small concerns under the name of Water 
Cures. As water was the agent of therapeutic value it naturally fol- 
lowed that these institutions were related to some valuable spring of 
water, either medicinal because of its mineralization, or beneficial 
because of its exceeding purity and freedom from organic mineral 
matter. The spring at Dansville, which was the leading factor in 
this first step toward realizing the possibilities of the town as a Sana- 
torium was first known as the All Healing Spring. It burst out of 
the side of the eastern mountain one night in the year 1776, carrying 



27 



DANSVILLP. AS A HEALTH RESORT 2') 

away earth, rocks, and trees and since then has steadily flowed, a 
blessing to mankind. The qualities of this spring water are shown 
by the following analysis by W. A. Noyes of the Rose Polytechnic 
Institute, Terrc Haute, Ind: 

Analyses of A.11 Healing Spring. 

firains atnl II. S. rinllon. 

Silica 0.303 

Alumina 0.023 

Iron Bicarbonate 0.018 

Calcium Sulphate 0.198 

Calcium Bicarbonate 3 704 

Magnesium Bicarbonate 1.137 

Sodium Chloride 0.292 

Sodium Nitrate 0.332 

Potassium Nitrate 0.152 

Total 6.159 

Its special value therapeutically is due to its alkaline-calcic com- 
position and is particularly adapted to the relief and cure of diseases 
of the kidney and bladder and also to the carrying away as a solvent 
all waste material of the tissues of the liody, because of its comparative 
softness and freedom from mineralization, especially the objectionable 
salts of lime. The water of other springs in and about Dansville is 
noted for its purity and abundance and even the wells in the old days 
contained water that was exceptionally good. Now the town is sup- 
plied with an admirable water system, giving the best and purest 
spring water to its inhabitants. 

Eminent medical scientists, however, have found a number of other 
conditions favorable to Dansville as a health resort, in addition to its 
water supply. The town of Dansville is a natural sanitarium, posses- 
sing the following advantages and attractions: 

(a) The very best of water in (juality and abundant supply. 

(b) The soil and sub-soil admits of thorough, even rapid, absorp- 
tion of moisture that might otherwise be in excess. There are no 
boggy or swr.mpy places within the confines of or adjacent to the 
town, or in such proximity as to cause dangerous conditions arising 
from exhalations. Fogs are almost unknown ; cases of malarial pois- 
oning are almost unknown. There are no objectionable crops raised, 
the refuse of which being plowed under ground produce exhalations. 

(c) The atmospheric conditions are entirely healthful, by reason of 
the Comparative dryness of the climate. Hygrometric observations 
for a series of years show the conditions at Dansville are such as to 
cause it to rank in the class of second best according to the United 
vStates surveys. Of course it cannot be expected that this region can 
compete in atmospheric dryness with the high altitudes of the West 
and Southwest near the Alkali Desert region. Consumption originat- 
ing here is a rare disease, so is bronchitis and throat difficulty. 
Dansville is situated on an isothermal line, which accounts for the 
fact that it is cooler in summer and warmer in winter than adjacent 
sections of country, cool nights being the rule in hot weather. These 
facts are marked when comparisons are made with temperatures of 



30 



DESCRIPrrVE SECTION 



surrounding country and are due to the peculiar formation of moun- 
tain and valley. Dansville is sheltered so that east and west winds 
do not reach it, except on rare occasions for a few hours, and the 
south winds are broken by the southern hills closing the valley in 
which Dansville lies, being a mile distant from the town. There is 
probably not quite as much simshine (many sunny days) as in regions 




more remote froin the lakes, but there can be little to find fault with 
in this direction. Insect pests, particularly mosquitos are very few. 
(d) Dansville lies about seven hundred feet above sea level and is 
situated in a valley tributary to the famous Genesee Valley, entering 
the latter at Mount Morris, fourteen miles to the northwest. This is 
a region of great scenic beauty; ranges of hills, reaching from twelve 



Ihl XS I ILL li A S A HEA L TH RES OR T 31 

to fifteen hundred feet above sea level, surrounding charming valleys; 
woodland and highly cultivated farms, interspersed with orchards, 
water-falls in lovely gorges, lakes and far distant views, make up its 
scenic attractions. 

The drives are unusually delightful and the walks on a whole very 
good. The village of Dansville has a population of about thirty-five 
hundred, is charmingly located and has fine streets, dwellings, 
schools, churches, and opera house, fine golf links and tennis courts, 
while The Jackson Sanatorium is a special inducement to health 
seekers. Railroad, telephone and telegraphic connections are the 
best; it is only eight hours ride from New York City and twenty-four 
hours from Chicago by through trains. 

In the past forty years many thousands of persons have sought and 
found in Dansville health, rest and recreation, and these remember 
their experiences as pleasant and beneficial. 



II 



Or^anizatioiis 




CHURCHES 




THe German £vang(elical 

LutKeran CKxircK 

From a transcript of the German writing contained on the first 
and second pages of the documentary record placed in the corner stone 
of the church in 18()2, we find that no pastor of this particular faith 
visited Dansville until 1809. The church historian states that among 
the early settlers came many Germans from Pennsylvania, New Jersey 
and Maryland, most of whom were of the Evangelist Lutheran and 
reformed congregations. 




GERMAN LUTHERAN CHURCH 



The first pastor Rev. Mr. Markel, was called here from Pennsyl- 
vania, preaching every four weeks in both German and English in the 
school house. Being forced by old age to retire from the ministry in 
1815, Mr. Markel was not succeeded by a regular pastor until 1823, 
when the services of Rev. Mr. Wilbur were secured for about a year 
and a half. 



35 



36 ORGAXIZAriOXS 

In September 1S25, Rev. Mr. Marten from Sunbury, Conn., took 
it upon himself after havin<j; at this time become the regular pastor of 
these people, to combine their interests so that a church edifice might 
be built to answer for both congregations. The enterprise was finally 
agreed upon and under the name of St. Jacob the house was to be 
dedicated. The trustees under which the church was built were, on 
the Lutheran side: Jacob Opp, John Hartman, and Abraham Zerfass, 
and on the reformed side: Daniel Hamsher and Phillip Kershner. 

The building committee was composed of Abraham Zerfass, John 
Hass, John Hartman, Jacob Welch, Sr. , and Adam Hamsher. The 
church officers on the Lutheran side were: Elder, Jacob Opp; 
Deacons, Abraham Zerfass, and John Hass ; and on the Reformed 
side were : Elders, Daniel Hamsher, Solomon Fenstermacher; and 
Deacons, George Knaus, and Christian Fritch. Daniel G. Allmend- 
inger was the clerk whose signature was attached to the document 
from which the above information was compiled. 

Just when the church was first organized has never been recorded, 
but it was among the earliest in the village and the first to erect a 
house of worship, the corner stone of which was laid on the 4th day 
of July, 1826, the date made famous in history by the almost simul- 
taneous deaths of ex-Presidents of the United States, John Quincy 
Adams and Thomas Jefferson. The ceremonies attending the laying 
of the corner stone were participated in by the Masonic fraternity of 
the village and surrounding towns, a Military Company and a large 
concourse of people. Abraham Vrooman was the master builder who 
constructed this substantial edifice. 

In November of the same year, the church was dedicated under the 
pastorate of Joseph iNIartin, who, after serving this church faithfully 
for many years, accepted a call from Harrisburg, Pa., where he died. 

The Rev. Mr. Wells and Rev. Mr. Earnhardt served the parish for 
the next two or three years, the church having no settled pastor. 

Rev. David Lester was the next minister in charge of the church, of 
which any record has been kept, and he was followed by Rev. Messrs. 
Strover, Selmser, Miller, Sternberg, Lautz. Klein, Strobel, Borchard, 
RumpfT, Boyer and Young, until 1874 when Rev. Paul L. Menzel 
commenced his labors as pastor continuing in this capacity until 
1887, removing that year to Richmond, Va., where he now resides. 
Rev. Richard Krause, now of Perkinsville, N. Y., was the minister 
from 1887 to 1897. Rev. Then. Whittlinger, located at present in 
Tonawanda, N. Y. , from 1897 to 1900 and the present pastor. Rev. 
John J. Lehmann was appointed to the charge July 1. 1900. 

During the ministration of Rev. Wm. T. Strobel, who was pastor 
from March 12, 1859 to May 18, 1863, the church edifice passed into 
the hands of the present congregati(jn, the right to transfer same, 
having been given by decree of the County Court. Sept. 16, 1861. 
Dec. 2, 1861, a deed of the church property was given by John Shutt. 
George Zerfass. Benjamin Kidd. James Kiehle and R. Steffy, a 
majority of the trustees of the two congregations aforementioned, to 
William Schwendler, John C. Engert, and Jacob Schwingle, trustees 
of this church, for the almost nominal sum of $800. 

A few years after the dedication of the church, a fine pipe-organ 
was placed in it. As it was the first of its kind ever brought to 



CHURCHES 



37 



Dansville, it was an object of curiosity and admiration. There was 
then no regular organist in the village, and an accomplished per- 
former named Snyder, residing at Avon, was hired to talce charge of 
it on the Sabbath. He traveled from his place of residence to Dans- 
ville every week for a long time. When Mr. Selmser resigned his 
pastorate, he purchased the organ, which had become an object of 
contention in the troubles which beset the church, and removed it to 
Lockport. 

In 1S7(), the church underwent extensive repairs. It was re-dedi- 
cated August 6, 1876, service being conducted in both German and 
English, the former by the pastor. Rev. Paul L. INIenzel, and the lat- 
ter by the Rev. P. A.Strobel. 

The church severed its connection with the United (lerman Evan- 
gelical Synod of North America in the year I'JUO and now stands 
independent. 

The new church book has been introduced and the list of contribut- 
ing members greatly increased. The ladies society is rapidly gaining 

in membership which now num- 
l)ers thirty-eight with the follow- 
ing officers: President, Mrs. Con- 
rad Kramer: \'ice-President, Miss 
Rose Schwendler ; Secretary, Mrs. 
P. J. Hoffman: Treasurer, Mrs. 
Eliza Eversold. The following 
officers now have charge of the 
executive affairs of the church: 
President, John J. Lehmann; Sec- 
retary, E. C. Schwingle; Treas- 
urer, Wm. Kramer; Collector, 
Frank Mehlenbacher; Trustees, 
Fritz Kramer, Wm. Schwendler, 
lohn Schwingle, Ernest Weber, 
"Robert Laven, Phillip (ierling. 
Rev. John J. Lehman 
Born at Buffalo, N.Y. Early 
education received at St. John's 
Orphan Home at Buffalo. Finish- 
ed courses at Wagner's Memorial 
College, Rochester, N. Y., and Mt. Airy Theological Seminary of 
Philadelphia, Pa. Passed the examination of the Evangelical Lutheran 
Ministerium of New York State. Appointed to charge in Dansville 
July 1, 1900, while yet a student. 

During the short time Mr. Lehmann has been in charge of this 
congregation, much good has been accomplished and the church 
strengthened. 



ft 




REV. JOHN J. LLHMAN 



38 



ORGAXIZATIOXS 



TKe MetKodist Episcopal CHtircH 

Unfortunately the early records of this church have not been pre- 
served, but from reliable sources the most important things connected 
with it have been secured. 

It is probable that the Methodists first settled in Dansville, not 
later than 1811. The first preaching by one of their ministers was 
done by Robert Parker at intervals during the years 1812, '13, and 
'14. It is probable that others continued these occasional ministries 
until the year 1819 when the Annual Conference formed the Dansville 
Circuit. This circuit had twenty-four preaching places and extended 




MtTHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 



from East Sparta to five miles below Bath. The first preachers ap- 
pointed were Micah Seager as Senior Traveling Preacher, with 
Chester V. Adgate as the Junior. They were required to preach 
twice each Sunday, and every night in the week. Mr. Adgate con- 
tinued on the circuit two years and was followed in 1821 by James 
Gilmore and later by Andrew Prindle. The first Quarterly Meeting 
is said to have been held in 1823. 

At the Conference of 1828, Robert Parker was appointed to this cir- 
cuit and began at once to secure funds with which to erect a church. 



CHC'RCFfKS 39 

About $8(10 was subscribed, and the work of building was com- 
menced. The church was erected on the Public Square a short dis- 
tance south of the present location of the Presbyterian church. It 
was dedicated in 1829 by Wilber Hoag, at that time pastor at Perry 
and LeRoy. The church remained on this site until the present 
structure was erected on Chestnut street. The society was incor- 
porated about this time. 

In 1831, William D. Buck and Thomas Carlton were appointed to 
the Circuit. At this time the circuit embraced the following towns: 
\-iz., Dansville, Sparta, Groveland, Springwater, Conesus and some 
parts of Naples and Livonia. There were fifteen preaching places. 

A full list of preachers since 1849 is as follows: 1849-1850, John T. 
Raines; 1851, David Ferris; 1852, James Tuttle; 1853, C. S. Baker; 
1854-1855, K. P. Jervis; 1856, John Mandeville; 1857-1858, J. J. 
Brown; 1859, William Holt; 1860, Chas S. Fox; 1861-1862, Isaac 
Gibbard; 1863, C. M. Gardner; 1864, J. S. Bell; 1865, E. Wood 
1866-1867, R. D. Hunger; 1868-1870, H. Van Benschoten ; 1871-1872 
D. Leisenring; 1873, J- Landreth; 1874, T. ]. O. Wooden; 1875-1877 
Geo. \N. Coe; 1878-1879, J. T. Gracey ; 188(i, James Hill; 1881-1882 
T. H. Youngman, 1883-1885; Wm. C. Wilbor, 1886-1890; Geo. W 
Peck; 1891, ]. T. Canfield ; 1892-1896, A. O. Sykes; 1897-1900, F. J 
Chase; I'lOl, Irving B. Bristol. 

During the pastorate of Geo. W. Coe, in 187<) the splendid brick 
church on Chestnut Avenue was erected at a cost of $18,000, of which 
amount $8,000 was unprovided. The debt had been decreased until 
in 1884 it amounted to $5,500. W. C. Wilbor was pastor at this time 
and instituted a vigorous canvass for funds to pay off the incumb- 
rances. A debt-paying Jubilee was held December 31. 1884, when 
the mortgages were burned in public. The parsonage now owned 
by the church, situated on the same street as the church, was purchased 
during the present pastorate at a cost of two thousand dollars. 

During the pastorate of F. J. Chase, the church interior was 
thoroughly renovated. Some partitions were changed and all the 
walls handsomely decorated. New carpets and a new piano were 
purchased. Recently a steam heating apparatus has been placed in 
the church which, with the other improvements, makes this one of 
the best equipped plants for modern church work, in a village the size 
of Dansville, that can be found in this section. The tall spire can be 
seen for several miles. The ground floor is devoted to the Prayer 
Meetings, Sunday School, Societies, etc. Besides the lecture room, 
there are kitchen, dining room, class rooms and pastor's office. The 
audience room is on the second floor and has a seating capacity of 
six himdred. 

The present membership is about 250. There are 221 scholars en- 
rolled in the Sunday School. The Epworth League has a member- 
ship of sixty-five, and the Jimior League seventy-four. 

The Board of Trustees is composed of the following: C. F. Snyder, 
G. S. Wilson, M. T. Walker, P. W. Byer, D. E. Rau, J. W. Burgess, 
A. L. Harter, C. A. Artman, and C. M. Kiehle. 

The following compose the Stewards: G. S. Wilson, F. L. Ripley, 
J. L. Wellington, C. F. Snyder, A. E. Thurston, J. W. Burgess, C. 
A. Artman, C. M. Kiehle, E. B. Cridler, D. E. Rau, Robert Gamble, 



40 



ORGAXIZA r/OXS 



P. W. Kershner, and H. K. Thompson. C. F. Snyder is Financial 
Secretary. 

The following are presidents of the various societies: R. L. 
Gamble, Brotherhood of St. Paul; Bertha O. Hancock, Epworth 
League; Mrs. Thos. Manion, Junior League; Miss Jennie Illick, 
Ladies' Aid Socety; Miss Sarah Van Allen, Women's Foreign Alis- 
sionary Society ; Mrs. Wm. J. Brown, Women's Home Missionary 
Society. 

John L. Wellington is Superintendent of the Sunday School, and 
Miss Alice Brettle is Superintend- 
ent of the Primary Department. 
Fred L. Ripley and James H. 
Edwards are Class Leaders. Irv- 
ing B. Bristol is Preacher-in-Charge 
and A. L. McNair is Local 
Preacher. 

Mr. Bristol assumed his pres- 
ent duties in October, I'JOl, his 
predecessor, Rev. F. J. Chase, re- 
moving to Lancaster, N. Y. 
The efficient manner in which Mr. 
Bristol has commenced his pas- 
torate bespeaks continued prosper- 
ity for the church, 

Rev. Irving B. Bristol 

Born at i^erkshire, X. V., August 
•10, 1866. Moved to Castle Creek, 
and from thence to Binghamton, 
and educated in the schools of the 
latter city. From 1883 to 1889 he 
engaged in Y. M. C. A. work at 

Binghamton, Albany, Olean, and Tonawanda. Began work in the minis- 
try in 1889, at West Webster, N. Y. Other charges are as follows: 
Conesus, Springwater, Canadice, Wayland, Rochester, and Dansville. 
His family consists of a wife and three children. 

Revivals have characterized each appointment and each church has 
increased under his ministry. 




REV. IRVING B. BRISTOL 



^* ^ 



THe Presbyterian CHtxrcH 

The Presbyterian Church of Dansville was organized March 25, 
1825, by the Presbytery of Bath. The charter members were eleven 
in number, and Rev. Robert Hubbard was stated supply until 1834. 

In June 1826, the church was transferred from the Presbytery of 
Bath to the Presbytery of Ontario, the society worshipped in an old 
school house on the west side of Main street, south of the Dansville 
House, now Hotel Livingston. Sometime after, the Presbyterians 
moved into a new schoolhouse where the Episcopal church now 
stands. 



i 



C//['RCHES 



41 



111 1831 a church was built on the site where the post-office is located, 
at the cost of $3,500. Rev. Elam H. Weller succeeded Mr. Hubbard 
and was ordained and installed pastor in September, 1834. Early in 
1840 an important division took place, and a new church was estab- 
lished. There were fifty-si.x members who remained at the old church, 
and si.\ty-six formed the new one and worshipped in an upper room 
in the Stevens Block and was called "The Brick Church." 

In 1842, at the cost of $4,(100, a new edifice was erected and occu- 
pied until a reunion of the two societies was effected, in January, 1861. 
This organization is now correctly known as "The Presbyterian Free 




PRL^hl I LKIAN ^ tUiKt M 



Church and Society of Dansville." From that time until Rev. vSam- 
uel Jessup became pastor, the church was supplied by the following 
ministers: Rev. J. N. Hubbard, si.x months; Rev. D. N. Merrit, 
pastor from 1842 to 1844; Rev. Joel Wakeman was next supply for 
only a few months; Rev. W. F. Curry pastor until March, 1849; Rev. 
C. L. Hecjuembough pastor from 1849 to 1853; Rev. J. N. Hubbard 
again supplied and labored for four years; Rev. S. M. Campbell was 
next supply for one brief year; when Rev. Dr. Seager, principal of 
the Dansville vSeminary, supplied the pulpit until the winter of 1859. 



42 ORGAXIZATION^ 

Rev. Mr. Ford followed for a short period, when the Rev. Samuel 
Jessup. now the honored pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Oneida, 
N. Y., was installed pastor in 1861, and a ministry of seventeen years 
of harmony and effective work followed. In 1864 the chapel was built, 
and the church edifice was enlarged in 1867, at cost of $3,000. After 
Mr. Jessup's resignation the pulpit was supplied by Rev. Geo. K. 
Ward, Rev. Dr. John Jones, and Rev. John H. Brodt. Rev. Charles 
Ray was also an acceptable supply. 

The first Sabbath of May 1873, Rev. Geo. K. Ward entered upon his 
pastorate, which continued for twenty-five years. Mr. Ward was or- 
dained and installed June 4 of that year. 

In 1876 the church was repaired at a cost of $2,000, and in 1878 the 
chapel was enlarged and connected with the main church building at 
the cost of another $2,000. 

In the dozen years that now followed, there sprang up a strong desire 
for a more modern edifice; the old building was demanding a new ; 
the people felt the need of something more convenient. Councils were 
held, the commitees were appointed, and in many ways the matter 
was agitated. At last the time came for the last service in the old 
church — Sabbath evening, April 9, 1891, the farewell meeting was 
held. It was a service to which all of the churches of the town were 
invited, at which Mr. A. O. Bunnell presided. The historical sketch 
was read by elder D. D. McNair, and the different organizations of 
the church were represented and gave reports. 

Several pastors of the other churches made remarks together with 
an address by the pastor of the church, who fittingly brought the im- 
pressive service to a close. While the new church was being erected, 
the congregation worshiped in the hall now known as Dyers' Hall. 
Upon the 13th of June of the same year, there gathered a large 
assembly upon the Park to lay the corner stone of the new church, 
and upon the 15th of March, 18'J2, the dedicatory services were held 
in the new and beautiful edifice. The Rev. H. C. Riggs, D. D., of 
Rochester, delivered an eloquent sermon, and the pastor Rev. Geo. K. 
Ward read a special dedicatory service. Dr. F. M. Ferine in an ap- 
propriate address handed over the keys of the new building to the 
Board of Trustees on behalf of the building committee, and Mr. F. H. 
Dyer responded as president of the Board. 

The interior of the church is arranged in ampitheatre form with a 
seating capacity of 600. The wood work is finished in natural oak, 
and the blending of colors in the entire auditorium is most pleasing. 

The memorial windows in memory of members of the church who 
had joined the Church above, and those windows put in by the mis- 
sionary societies, make up a beautiful effect. 

The entire expense of rebuilding and refurnishing the church 
amounted to about $18,000. After a pastorate of twenty-five years. 
Rev. Geo. K. Ward offered his resignation and preached his farewell 
sermon the last Sabbath of May 1898. 

The first Sabbath of March, 1899, the present pastor of the church. 
Rev. Charles M. Herrick, met his people for the first time, and was 
installed formally the 28th of April, 1899. During the ne,ict two years 
a debt hanging over the chruch was removed and many repairs and 
improvements made. 



CHURCHES 



43 



The efficient board of elders and trustees serve the church well, 
and the several departments of the church are all flourishin<r. 

The Pastor's Aid Society is a most helpful means in enabling the 
church to do its largest work, and the missionary societies are doing 
a noble work in both home and foreign fields. These together with 
the Sabbath School, Young People's Society of Christian Endeavor, 
and the Young People's Missionary Society, go to make up an ag- 
gressive church. In the direct church benevolences, there are eight 
Boards that are contributed to; also the American Bible and Tract 
Societies. The church at the present time has a membership of 
nearly 400, making it one of the strongest churches in Rochester 
Presbytery. 

The present elders are Geo. W. DeLong, James McCurdy, Frank 
Fielder, Oscar Woodruff, Charles Nichols, Robert Ross, C. W. Denton. 
The present board of trustees consists of James M. Edwards, Pres- 
ident; H. W. DeLong, Clerk; J. J. Bailey, Dr. F. M. Perine, F. W. 
Noyes, H. F. Dyer. 

Bayard Knapp is Superintendent of the Sunday vSchool, and Mrs. C. 
F. McNair holds that office inthe Primary Department. The President 
of the Pastor's Aid Society, is Mrs. Helen Noyes Baker ; Woman's For- 

eign Missionary Society, is Mrs. W. 

J. Beecher; Ward Home Missionary 
Society, is Mrs. H. F. Fairchild; Y. 
P. S. C. E. is Miss Bessie Knapp; 
and of the Young People's Mission- 
ary Society, Miss Abby (iray. 

The choir consists of Miss Celestia 
Schubmehl, organist; Mr. Willard 
Morris, leader and violinist, together 
with a chorus of mixed voices. 

During the present pastorate 
$1,500 has a been raised for old debts 
and repairs, one hundred and twenty 
have been added to the church mem- 
bership; and a "Committee of One 
Hundred" has been organized for 
personal work in the spiritual life. 
Rev. Charles Mynderse Herrick 
Born in Seneca Falls, N. Y., 1866. 
Educated in Syracuse city schools 
and University. A member of Syra- 
cuse University, class of 18')2, and of the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. 
Graduated from Auburn Theological Seminary in 1894. First charge 
at Hobart, N. Y. Installed at Dansville April 28, 1899. Family 
consists of a wife and two children. Mr. Herrick is a man of force and 
ability, whose earnestness of purpose and talented efforts in minister- 
ing to a large congregation, have cemented the interests of this church 
and advanced its general prosperity. The whole village has felt the 
impress of his spiritual influence. 




REV. CHAS. M. HERRICK 



44 



ORGANIZATIONS 



St. Peter's CHurcH, Protestant Bpiscopal 

The parish of St. Peter's Church, Dansville, was (irganized Ajiril 13, 
1831. At the meeting of organizing, the Rev. William W. Bostwick, 
"missionary of Bath, Steuben Co., and parts adjacent," presided, 
and the following gentlemen were elected wardens and vestrymen: 
— Wardens, William Welch, Amos Bradley; ^'estrymen, Justus Hall, 
James Smith, Sedley Sill, Benj. C. Cook, Alonzo Bradner, George 
Hyland, David Mitchell, Horatio C. Taggart. 




ST. PETER'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH 



It was, however, several years before a resident clergyman was 
secured, and divine service regularly celebrated every Sunday For 
some twelve \^ears the parish was either associated with St. Paul's 
Church, Angelica, the rector of which was at that time the Rev. 
Lewis Thibon, or left with only occasional missionary services. But 
in 1842, several active young churchmen having removed to the grow- 
ing village, vigorous measures were adopted to place the parish on a 
more permanent basis. At a special parish meeting held on the 14th 
of November, in that year, the following officers were elected to serve 
until the ensuing Easter: Wardens, Benjamin Bradley, William 
Welch; Vestrymen, John C. Williams, Ralph T. Wood, Edward 
O'Brien, Isaac L. Endress, John A. \'anDerIip, Lauren C. Woodruff, 
Peter S. Lema, Geo. G. Wood, Lauren C. Woodruff was elected 
treasurer, and John A. Vanderlip clerk of the Vestry, an office con- 
tinuously held by him from that date till the time of his death. 

In April of the following year, the Rev. Nathaniel F. Bruce, M. D., 
who had of late officiated occasionally in the parish, in connection 
with St. Paul's, Angelica, was elected rector and removed to Dans- 
ville. Measures for the erection of a new church edifice were about 



CHURCHES 45 

this time adopted, and with L. C. Woodruff, Benj. Bradley, and Isaac 
L. Endress, for a building- committee, the work was vigorously 
prosecuted. 

In the autumn of lS4(i, the jiresenl neat church edifice of wood was 
completed, at a cost of some $3, ()()(», and on the 25th of May, 1S47, 
was consecrated by Bishop DeLancey. 

Down to 1846 the congregation had worshipped in "The School 
House on the Square," a building now venerable for use and years, 
that once stood on the north west corner of the public park, but was 
moved to its present site, to give place to St. Peter's church. 

On the 1st of July, 1846, about the time the new church was com- 
pleted, the Rev. Mr. Bruce resigned the care and was succeeded by 
the Rev. Payton Gallagher. In the summer of 1848, Mr. Gallagher, 
in consequence of failing health, was granted a leave of absence by the 
vestry and the Rev. T. F. Wardwell engaged as a supj)ly. The 
following December Mr. Wardwell accepted an election to the care of 
Grace Church, Lyons, and the services of the Rev. O. Y . Starkey were 
temporarily secured. In the spring of 1849 the Rev. Mr. Gallagher's 
resignation was accepted, and in July following, the Rev. O. R. 
Howard was elected rector. The rectorate of Rev. Dr. Howard con- 
tinued until 1857, and covers the era of greatest prosperity both of the 
parish and the village. 

Since the resignation of Dr. Howard and his removal to Bath, the 
following clergymen have successively had ministerial charge of the 
parish: The Rev. Thomas G. Meachem, the Rev. V. Spalding, 
the Rev. J. C. L. Jones, the Rev. Robert C. Wall, the Rev. L. D. 
Ferguson, the Rev. L. H. Strieker, the Rev. Joseph Hunter and the 
Rev. James B. Murray, D. D. 

In spite of the successive, and sometimes not desirable changes, the 
parish has grown from both numerical and financial weakness, to its 
present condition of comparative .'Strength, inckiding as it does some 
si.xty families and about one hundred communicants. 

The Rev. Abner Piatt Brush began his rectorate in 1878 and con- 
tinued until the spring of 1883, when he removed to St. Thomas 
Parish at Bath, N. Y., where he resided until his death which oc- 
curred the 8th of October, 188'J. 

Rev. Joseph H. Young entered upon the discharge oi his duties as 
the successor of Rev. Brush about the 25th of March 1883, and was 
rector until Sunday, June 22, 1884, when he left his charge, giving the 
vestry only a few hours notice of the contemplated change. From 
this time until June 1887, the parish remained without a settled 
rector. 

During the summer of 1884 Rev. Hale Townsend, a patient at the 
Sanatorium, ministered to the congregation and remained in the 
capacity until June 188f), when, his health being restored, he removed 
to California, leaving the church without debt. 

In May 1887 the Rev. Wm. Page Case, then rector at Scranton, 
Pa., who had formerly sojourned at the vSanatorium, an.xious for his 
wife's restoration to health, accepted a call to Dansville and remained 
until September, 1888. 

From this time until June 15, 18'M), the parish was without a 
rector, Rev. R. M. Sherman next filling this office. During the 



46 



ORGAXIZATIOXS 



time intervening between the two last rectorships, the Rev. E. A. 
Martin, a postulant for orders in the Episcopal Church, ministered oc- 
casionally to the people of this church. 

The Rev. R. M. Sherman, Jr., closed his rectorship on Monday, 
Nov. 28, 1892, and was not succeeded until April 17, 1894, when the 
Rev. James P. Foster began his rectorship, closing the same in May, 
1895. The following month Rev. Ale.xander N. Bostwick received 
his appointment and remained until January, 1897. Rev. Henry M. 
Kirkby was minister in charge until October, 1899. 

Rev. John Leach Porter became rector of this parish Feb. 24, 19U0, 
and remained until the spring of 1902, being succeeded bv the present 
rector. Rev. Stephen Howard Ailing who was called to this charge 
May 25, 1902. 

The present official board con- 
sists of: wardens, F. J. Nelson, 
(clerk) and James Lindsay; ves- 
trymen; C. A. Snyder (clerk) F. 
M. Hartman, Oardner Sutfin, 
James Kennedy, C. H. Rowe, J. 
B. Morey, Sr. , and James Mc- 
C'ur(l\-. 
/JcD. Stephen Howard Jtlling 
Born in New York City January 
11, 1870, removed to London, 
P2ngland in 1872, and in 1877 to 
the' Isle of Wight. Student at 
the Lvcee, St. Omer, France, 
during' 1879 and 188(1. In 1881 
removed to Rochester, N. Y., 
and during the year 1882 to Suf- 
field. Conn., graduating from the 
Connecticut Literary Institution 
at that place in 1887. Received 
degree of A. M. at Hartford 
Trinity College in 1892, and in 
RLv. STEVEN HOWARD ALLiNG i,s95 was graduatcd from the 

Berkeley Trinity College. Ordained deacon the same year and took 
charge of Missions near St. Johnsburg, Vt. Appointed rector at 
Lyndonville in 1896, and erected new church edifice. His ne.xt 
charge was at East Berlin, Conn., where he was appointed in 1901. 
May 25, 1902, he accepted a call to Dansville, and as rector of St. 
Peter's parish is making manifest his ability and earnestness in his 
chosen work. His family consists of a wife and one child. 




C/ICKCfHiS 



47 



St. Paul's £.nglisK LutHeran CKurcH 

About 1835, the records tell us, the (Termans of the joint church 
preferring preaching- in their native tongue, a separation was efifected, 
resulting in the formation of St. Paul's English Lutheran Church. 

Rev. L. Sternberg was the first pastor to have charge of this con- 
gregation and served them faithfully from December 1839 to 1845, 
being succeeded on June 30 of that year by Rev. John Selmser. 
This energetic pastor, through the determination of the congregation, 
built the present church edifice on the public square. The dedication 
ceremonies taking place on December 25, 1847. It is a frame build- 
ing si.Kt)' by fortv and capable of seating about 4i)0 people. 




ST. PAUL'S ENGLISH LUTHERAN CHURCH 



Prominent among the first members and officers of that time were, 
John Haas, vSr., John Haas, Jr., William Weldy, John Hartman, Peter 
Acherer, B. Pickett, John Littles, D. Ingersoll, vS. Jones, Wm. Haas, 
Elias Geiger, L L. Endress, Edmund Opp, Dr. S. L. Endress and 
others. The first oiificers after the building of the church were Daniel 
Ingersoll, Trustee; John Kohler, Elder; George C. Drehener, deacon; 
Sheperd Jones, clerk; and John Hass, treasurer. 

Rev. J. Selmser was pastor from 1845 to 1854, being succeeded by 
Rev. F. W. Brauns who remained only one year. Rev. C. H. Hersch 
followed the Rev. Brauns and was pastor two years. 

Rev. L. L. Bonnell came Sept. 1, 1858 and died during May 1859, 
while visiting the Rev. P. A. Strobel at Lockport. 



48 ORGANIZA T/O.YS 

Rev. Dr. Svvope then took charofe and remained for four years, or 
until 1863. The Rev. M. J. Stover then served a second time, for one 
year, in 18f«4. Rev. A. Waldron \vas his successor and resigning on 
account of failing health, died at Rreakabeen, N. Y., Jan. 28, 1874. 

Rev. J. Selmser now returned for a second year, taking his de- 
parture in 1873. He lived but two years thereafter, passing away 
July 5, 1875 at Richmondville where he began and ended in the ser- 
vice of God. Rev. E. H. Martin labored in Dansville as the next 
pastor of this church for one year and nine months, when he resigned 
and moved West. Rev. P. A. Strobel became pastor October 1875, 
and died in Dansville Nov. 2*), 1882, aged seventy years. 

During the pastorate of Rev. Strobel, August 2, 1880, the church 
was struck by lighting and a serious conflagration was prevented by the 
prompt work of the local fire department. The Rev. Wm. R. 
McCutcheon was called to this charge Oct. 15, 1882. 

In the summer of 1884 a new roof was placed on the chruch and 
the interior decorated. During October, 1886, the Hartwick Synod 
held its fifty-sixth annual convention in this church. January, 1887, 
the Sunday school workers were organized. The common service 
authorized by the General Synod was introduced November 28, 1888. 

The memorial window to Reuben Whiteman was dedicated the 
Sundaj' before Christmas, 1888. The Woman's Home and Foreign 
Missionary Society and the Ladies' Aid Society were both organized 
at the home of Mrs. Jacob Schwingle, the former in January, 1883, 
and the latter in March, 1890. 

On June 1, 18'JO, the resignation of Rev. W. R. McCutcheon took 
effect and Rev. W. M. Benson was called soon after, beginning his 
labors September 1, 18')0. He was installed October 2, 1890, by Rev. 
M. J. Strobel. who had been pastor at the joint church fifty-six years 
before. 

In the month of February a Society of King's Daughter's was 
formed by the pastor's wife, Mrs. W. M. Benson. Wednesday even- 
ing, April 27, 1892 the Y. P. S. C. E. was organized and L. K. Mann 
appointed to conduct the first prayer meeting. 

A committee under the leadership of Rev. Benson raised $3,000 
with which the church was remodeled and beautified. One thousand 
dollars was also provided with which the beautiful pipe organ was 
purchased. This together with the furnace was procured largely 
through the earnest work of the Ladies' Aid Society. A most re- 
markable feature in the history of this church is that it has never 
been in debt beyond its ability to immediately provide. 

Rev. Charles G. Bikle was installed in June 3, 1900, Revs. H. J. Wat- 
kins of Lockport, N. Y., and N. E. Yeiser of India officiating. 
During his pastorate of less than two years nearl)' fifty members have 
been added and other marked evidence of the church's progress 
manifested. 

The 71st annual convention of the Hartwick Synod of New York, 
was held in St. Paul's Church, Sept. 25 to 29, 1901. 

The following constitutes the official board of the church: Elders, 
J. E. Croll and M. M. Michael; Deacons, G. E. Deiter, A. W. Hawk, 
R. Vaihinger; Trustees, L. Schwingle, F. W. Miller, D. Sterner, G. 
J. Engert, S. Sterner; Secretary and Treasurer, B. A. Zerfass. 



crrrRCHEs 



49 



During the year 1901, by the will of Mrs. Ehas Geiger, a fai h u 
communicant of St. Paul's, the church became the holder of a trust 
fund of $3,000, and the Woman's Missionary Society, by the same will 
became the donors ..f $500 to the Board of Foreign Missions of the 

"t^:-2:n;;l^during Rev. Bi.le's pastorate have been^ the , pur- 
chase of silver individual communion service, silvei offering p ates 
an upright piano, and the remodeling ot the tr.,nt interior of the 

"''Th^church au.xiliaries and the head officer of each are as follows: 
-Home and Foreign Missionary Society, Mrs. J. t. Croll, Pies 
Cl^islian Endeavor l^ociety, R. C. Vaihinger. P-s. ; Sunday School 
(ku-field Ran. Supt. ; Ladies' Aid Society, Mrs. A\m. Haitman, Pres. , 
Loval Hearts Circle -f King's Daughters, Lillu' Weidman, Pies.; 
(iitis' Friendly Society, Mrs. Lester Schwingle, Ires. 

Rev W M Benson, after serving continuously foi ten \ ears, 
thmigh m'the prime of life, was obliged by f^^'''"^' h«' ^h to retir^^^ 
from the ministrv. In addition to the many improvementb to chuich 
and property Mr. Benson compiled a most complete history of this 
churd wh ch'has enabled the present historian to present this sketch 
with grit confidence as to the truthfulness of all statements made 

herein. 

Mr. Benson with his wife and 

two children still reside in Dans- 

ville and their many friends look 

forward with pleasure to his soon 

being able to continue his life work, 

to which he has proven himself so 

well adapted. 

Hev. Charles George Bikle 
Born in Smithsburg, Md., and 

reared in Hagerstown, Md., where 

he attended the High School. Pre- 
pared at Gettysburg for Pennsyl- 
vania College, where he received 
the degree of A. B., in 1892. In 
1895, from the same college, the de- 
gree of A. M. was conferred upon 
him, at which time he graduated 
from Gettysburg Theological Semi- 
nary. 

First charge at Spruce Run Luth- 
eran Church, Glen Gardner, N. J. 
Began ministry in Dansville in April 1900 ,,.„,„Hv. 

The Rev Mr Bikle, in a little more than two years, has stiongi) 
endeared himself to his congregation, and being a man of ^^"7 re- 
sources and strong convictions, has become a most valuable citizen. 




REV. C. G. BICKLE 



50 



ORGAN rz, I 770 XS 



St. Mary's CatKolic CHurcH 

German Catholics tuund their way to Dansville as early as the be- 
ginning of the present century, and it has been asserted that a Catho- 
lic was among the very first settlers. Later, a few Irish Catholics 
came in with the needy surplus population which Europe poured into 
this country, but Catholicity did not have a visible existence here for 
more than a generation after the town was first settled. 




ST. MARY'S GERMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH 



In 1S36, the Catholic families residing in this neighborhood were 
visited by Rev. Father P. Prost, a redemptorist missionary from 
Rochester, and a German by birth, who was afterwards sent as a mis- 
sionary to Ireland. He gathered the few Catholics then located here 
in divine worship, and administered the holy sacraments of the 
church. He was followed in 1837, by Father Schackert. Two years 
later, in 1S39, Rev. Father Sanderl began to come here semi-annually. 
He was succeeded by, Rev. Benedict Bayer. These labors were con- 
tinued until 1844, when the Catholics purchased the schoolhouse in 
the west part of the village and converted it into a house of worship. 
From that period they were visited more regularly than hitherto, by 
Father Bernick. 

The church occupied the schoolhouse as a place of worship but a 
short time, for in 1845 the the corner-stone of the present church was 
laid by Father Benedict Bayer. When the congregation commenced 
to worship in the new church, the old schoolhouse was converted into 
a parochial school and used as such until the present fine school build- 
ing was erected in 1870. 



t 



CJICKCJIES 



51 



Father Rernick was succeeded by Fathers P. Hobzer, P. Tappert, 
Alexander Cyait Koviz, A. Jenkins and Andrew M. Schweiger, re- 
denijjtorist fathers, the latter of whom was the first resident pastor, 
in 1S4'J. Rev. Aloysius Somoggi, D. D., succeeded Father Schweiger 
in the pastorate as early as 1851, and continued until May, 1852. In 
1852, Father John M. Steger was the pastor. Father Somoggi again 
served them until January, 1854. He then, made a journey to Htm- 
gary, whence he came, and was absent eight months, dvuing which 
time Father John M. Steger officiated. On his return, Father 
.Somoggi again ministered to them for four months, till January, 1855. 
Rev. N. Arnold, D. D., succeeded Somoggi and remained five 
months. After that there was no priest until October, 1855, when 
Father Steger again became the pastor, continuing as late as March, 
1857. Revs. John N. Koenig and Peter Seibold both officiated in 1857, 
Seibold continuing till 1859, when Rev. J. Rosswig became the pastor. 
He was succeeded in 1860 by Rev. F. R. Marshall; in 18()1, by Rev. 
Christopher Wagner; and in 1862, by Rev. Sergius de vStchoulepnikoff, 
a Russian priest, who finding the church too small to accomodate the 
parishioners, had an addition built to it. He also purchased the high 
altar and bell during his short pastorate of twenty months. In 18(>4, 




ST. MARY'S SCHOOL 



s^ 



ORGAX/ZA T/OXS 



Rev. Joseph Albinjrer came here and continued his ministratinns un- 
til 1875, when Rev. Henry Egler assumed the jiastorate. He was 
succeeded July 13, 1879, by Rev. Frederick R. Rauber. 

During the pastorate of Father Egler, in 1876, the present parochial 
school connected with this church was erected. It was formally 
opened and dedicated on the 5th and Oth of June, 1876. The paro- 
chial school, which is attended by about 150 pupils, is taught by the 
Sisters of St. Joseph, of Rochester, four in number. The church 
edifice is a wooden building, located on Franklin Street, in the west 
part of the village. The present number of members is about 800. 
The church property is valued at $15,000. Father Rauber built the 
present convent for the Sisters in 188') at a cost exceeding $2,500. 
During his pastorate he did much to improve the financial" and 
spiritual condition of the parish. 

Rev. Joseph H. Straten succeeded Father Raulier on May 13, 1894. 
He improved the church property by installing a hot water system in 
the church and parochial residence. 

Rev. M. Krischel the present pastor came to Dansville Tulv 3 
1899. ■ ^ ' 

During the summer of 1900 the schoolhouse was enlarged, placing 
all the class rooms on the first fioor, thus providing a large hall to be 
used for all purposes. The present attendance at the school is 135 
children. The Church auxiliaries are, The Christian Mothers of 

which Mrs. N. J. Huver is presi- 
dent, and St. Agnes Society pre- 
sided over by Miss Adelaide 
Kramer. The trustees are, Fred 
J. Michael and F. M. Schlick. 
Anthony Kramer is Cullectiir. 
Rev. Michael Krischel 
Born Grosslittgen, Germany. 
Studied at St. Mary's School, 
Buffalo, Canisius College and 
Niagara University. Ordained 
to the priesthood May 27, 1890. 
In charge of Missions at Lancas- 
ter, N. Y., Bo.ston, N. Y., Cohoc- 
ton, N. Y., and Dansville since 
July, 3, 1897. 

Naturally possessed of the firm- 
ness of purpose and breadth of in- 
tellect which are characteristic of 
so many of his native country- 
men. Father Krischel has added 
to these inherited advantages, a kindlv, unassuming manner as well 
as a pleasing address and made himself beloved by all who have come 
within the s[)here of his influence. 




REV. M. KRISCHEL 



CHURCHES 



53 



St. Patrick's CatKolic CHvircH 

The history of this, so says our informant, dates from twenty 
years after the settlement of the town of Dansville. The first priests 
who visited this locality ministered alike to the German and Irish 
Catholics. The first Irish priest who found his way hither, of whom 
there is any record, was Rev. Bernard O'Reilly, Init when he came, 
how freciuently he visited Dansville, and how long he continued to do 
so, is a matter of uncertainty. From the time of Father O'Reilly, 
priests visited Dansville at regular intervals, and the number of 
Catholics increased to such a degree that larger accomodations were 
needed, and under Father O'Connor, the successor of Father O'Reilly, 
the people assembled at the town hall to assist at mass. 




ST. PATRICK'S IRISH CATHOLIC CHURCH 



In 1847 the western portion of this State was formed into a diocese 
by the late lamented pontiff, Pius the Ninth. Buffalo was made the 
episcopal seat and Rt. Rev. John Timon was the first bishop. With- 
in a couple of decades of years dating from the first appearance of 
permanent Catholicity in Dansville, the number of Catholics had in- 
creased to such an extent as to warrant Bishop Timon in sending 
them a priest to reside among them. All the historical records 
agree as to the name of the first resident pastor, but none gives the 
date of his arrival. His name was Rev. Edward O'Flaherty, and it 
was under his administration that the foundation of St. Patrick's 
church was laid, at the head of the public square, where the church 



54 



ORGANIZATIOXS 



now stands, at the corner of Liberty and Church streets. Some tra- 
ditions which seem sufficiently reliable mention the names of Father 
McEvoy and Father Carroll, who paid occasional visits fronj Roches- 
ter to the Catholics in Dansville, but beyond the fact of their visiting 
as missionaries little seems to be known. Before the erection of any 
church in Dansville, the town hall — the property of Charles Shepard 
■ — was used as the place of divine worship. Father O'Flaherty min- 
istered to the wants of the German, as well as the Irish Nationality, and 
according to one account, in the year 184'J, according to another, in 
the year 1850, laid the foundation of St. Patrick's church. The 
church structure, which was completed in 1851, at a cost of $1,51)0, 
was about half its present size. Father O'Flaherty was succeeded 
immediately by Rev. Charles Tierney, and one account gives him 
the credit of having completed the church, the foundation merely 
being laid hv Rev. Father O'Flaherty. 




ST. PATRICK'S PAROCHIAL SCHOOL AND CONVENT 



We find Father Tierney recording a baptism in the church register 
as late as May 1852, and Rev. John Donnelly recording his advent 
in June of the same year. Father Donnelly remained but a short 
time, for we find him succeeded by Rev. Joseph McKenna on the 1st 
of May, 1853. Father McKenna's stay was of even shorter duration 
than that of Father Donnelly, for his autograph does not appear in 
the church registries later than August of the same year (1853). He 
was succeeded by Rev. Aloysius Somoggi, who, it would appear, took 
charge of both Catholic churches, St. Mary's and St. Patrick's, dur- 
ing his stay. His signature appears upon the records for the first 
time on October 5, 1853, and the last baptism recorded by him was 
administered in December of the same year. From that time until 



CHURCHES 55 

October, 1855, we find the names of Rev. Terence Kernan, Rev. Dan- 
iel Dolan and Rev. Michael Casey, in the order given. 

In the month of October, 1855, Rev. Michael Stager took charge of 
St. Patrick's congregation as well as St. Mary's. His latest signature 
is that of December 2, 18()0. Rev, M. Steger was succeeded im- 
mediately by Rev. J. A. Marshall, who remained only a few months, 
and was in turn succeeded by Rev. Chrysostom Wagner in June, 1861. 
His stay seems to cover the time from June, 18(il, to April, or Ma}*, 
1862, when Rev. Sergius de Stchloupnekoif, a Russian by birth and a 
Catholic by conversion, assumed the pastoral charge. There were 
few among the many priests who remained in Dansville for any length 
of time who made such a lasting impression on St. Patrick's congre- 
gation as S. de Stchloupnekoff, and many a heartfelt and warm trib- 
ute is today paid to his zeal and energy. His name disappears from 
the records after January, 1864, when Rev. Joseph Albinger assumed 
the pastorate. Father Albinger took charge of both congregations 
from his arrival until the 5th of July, 1871. 

Father Biggins labored among the Irish Catholics of Dansville six- 
years, and was transferred to the Catholic church at Clvde, in August 
1877. 

The same year marked the commencement of the eventful pastorate 
of the Rev. S. Fitz Simons who labored among the Irish Catholics of 
Dansville for six years. During this pastorate the church was 
enlarged, improved and ornamented, a new steeple being added 
and a grand pipe-organ installed. The most important enterprise, 
however, was the building of the parochial school, the corner stone of 
which was laid June 4, 1882, and opened with a large attendance on 
September 10, 1883. 

Father Fitz Simons remained only six months later, being trans- 
ferred to Lima, March 7, 1884, and succeeded in Dansville, immedi- 
ately, by Rev. James H. Day, whose pastorate was the largest in the 
history of the church. He commenced March 22, 1884 and ended his 
labors here May 1, 1893, and in these nine years liquidated $3,000 in- 
debtedness, purchased and paid for present convent, and improved, re- 
paired and embellished other church property. A man of force and 
ability his successful work is being continued in the neighboring vil- 
lage of Mt. Morris. 

Rev. James T. Dougherty was the next pastor, and after eight 
years' faithful service was transferred to Avon and subsequently to 
Canandaigua. Here he assumed charge of the important mission 
made vacant by the death of Rev. Dennis English. During Father 
Dougherty's memorable pastorate, $1,000 indebtedness was liquidated, 
$5,0011 improvements made, the convent rebuilt and a cemetery pur- 
chased. In 18'H a church was built at Groveland and the mission left 
free from debt. An enthusiastic temperance worker, a skillful finan- 
cier and a literary genius, Father Dougherty is gratefull)' remembered 
by a majority of Dansvillians of every class and creed. 

The present pastor. Rev. Wm. T. Dunn, was appointed to this parish 
Sept. 14, 1901. Father Dunn is a man of unusual earnestness of pur- 
pose and an indefatigable worker for the good of all. With three Isrii- 
liant predecessors, his arrival in Dansville has added a fourth name to 
the list of which St. Patrick's is justly proud. 



56 



ORGANIZATIONS 



The corner stone of St. Patrick's Parochial School was laid in 1882. 
In September, 1883, three Sisters of St. Joseph were sent from Roch- 
ester to open the school and organize the classes. The school consists 
of a substantial two-story brick edifice well arranged and equipped 
and in charge of most competent instructors. The present Superior 
is Sister Teresa, assisted by Sisters Euphemia, Antonette and Patnis. 
Many of the leading men and women of Dansville cherish fond recol- 
lections of the pleasant and profitable days spent in St. Patrick's. 

The parish now has 600 communi- 
cants at Dansville and lOU at Grove- 
land and the following auxiliaries: 
The parochial school; the Missions; 
the Sunday School and Choir. The 
Rosary and Altar Society, with forty 
members is presided over by Mrs. 
D. E. Driscoll. Miss Margaret 
Maloney is president of the Children 
of Mary Society, consisting of 
fifty-eight members . James Kelley 
is president of the Holy Name 
Society and Edward Brogan holds 
the same office for the Cadets of the 
Sacred Heart. 

Free from debt and possessed of 
every convenience, this church is 
now enjoying al)un(]ant prosperity. 
Rev. WiLliam T. Dunn 

Born at Elmira, Feb. 23, 1861. 
Educated in the primary schools, 
Elmira Free Academy and Niagara University, graduating from the 
last institution May 26, 1888. Served as assistant pastor at vSalaman- 
ca for about a year and in charge of parish at Horseheads twelve 
years. Succeeded Rev. James T. Uoughertv in Dansville SejJt. 14, 
1901. 




REV. WILLIAM T. DUNN 



^' ^ 



TKe Baptist CKurcH 



The Dansville Baptist Church was organized Oct. 23, 185(), at the 
house of Barnett Brayton. The Rev. B. R. Swick, of Bath, was 
chairman of the meeting held for that purpose, and M. R. Marcell, 
secretary. The constituent members were: Aaron W. Beach and 
Mary Ann his wife, Barnett Brayton and Olive his wife, Martin R. 
Marcell and Emily his wife, Nancy Filer, Ann Brayton, Maria Bates, 
Joseph Palmer, Elijah Hill and Judith his wife, Paulinus Cook and 
Abigail his wife. They were recognized by a council convened in the 
Lutheran church in Dansville, November 6, 1850, and composed of 
delegates from the churches in Mt. Morris, Bath, Wayne, Almond, 
South Dansville, Avoca and Burns. Barnett Brayton and Aaron 
Beach were chosen deacons, November 8, 1850. 



CHURCHES 



57 



At a meeting held in Dansville Academy, their usual place of wor- 
ship, December 10, 1.S5U, the following trustees were elected : Paul- 
inus Cook, George Hovey, Barnett Brayton, Martin R. Marcell, 
Lemuel J. Swift, and Charles L. Truman. 

January 12, 1851, it was resolved to call Howell Smith, of Penn 
Yan, to the pastorate, at a salary of $500. The call was accepted, 
and Mr. Smith commenced his labors the first Sunday in March fol- 
lowing. Jtme 24, 1851, the church united with the Livingston Bap- 
tist Association. The church edifice was built in 1852. 

Mr. Smith closed his labors, as pastor March, 1855. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. O. L Sprague, who comenced his labors May 5, 1855, 
and closed them April 1, 1858. Edwin S. Walker of Rochester The- 
ological Seminary, entered upon his labors as supply in April, 1858, 




BAPTIST CHURCH 



18f)4 to June 24. 1805; Elder M. Barker from June (>, 18fc6, to ; 

Rev. E. L. Crane, from December, 1870 to September 24, 1871 ; 
Rev. R. J. Reynolds, from September 3, 1873, to September 4, 1874; 
and July 8, 1858 was called to the pastorate. He commenced his 
labors as such August 1, 1858, and was ordained September 16, 1858. 
He closed his labors in the spring of 1860, and was followed in No- 
vember of that year by Rev. J. Wilson, who remained only about two 
months. Rev. L W. Emory of Canaseraga, supplied the pulpit from 
the spring of 1861, and April 4, 1861 was given a call to the pastor- 
ate for one year from April 1, 1861. He was dismissed April 4, 1863. 
His successors have been: Rev. George W. Baptis from September 3, 



58 



ORGANIZATIONS 



Rev. O. B. Read, from October 10, 1875, to July 1877. Rev. L. Q. 
Galpin Jan. 9, 1878 to 1882, who started extensive repairs upon the 
house of worship and succeeded only in partially finishing same at the 
close of his pastorate in 1882. He was succeeded by Rev. A. J. 
Brown whose pastorate extended from May 1, 1883 to Feb. 1, 1885, 
and who completely raised the indebtedness consisting of $1,450. 
Rev. J. M. Bates then followed continuing from April 1, 1885 to April 1, 
18')0, during which time the repairs which were begun by Rev. L. U. 
Galpin were completed through the generosity of John J. Jones, Esq., 
of New York. Rev. H. II. Thomas began his labors as pastor July 
1, 1890, and in 1892 a fine parsonage was erected adjoining the 
church property on Chestnut Avenue, at a cost of $2,600. His relation 
as pastor terminated Feb. 1, 1890, and William K. Towner of Hornells- 
ville, a singing evangelist, came as a supply, June 1, 1895, and accepted 
the pastorate Sept. 1 of the same year. Mr. Towner was ordained 
in this church Feb. 4, 1897, and was married May 5, 1897 to Miss 
Florence Hotchkiss, at Locke, N. Y. , and continued his labors as 
pastor until Nov. 13. 1898. Rev. J. C. Tibbets of Roche.ster Thef)- 
logical Seminary supplied the pulpit from Dec. 11, 1898 to Feb. 22, 
1899. H. A. Waite was pastor from May 24, 1899 to Sept. 1, 1900. 
William A. McKinney, of Philadelphia, a student at the Rochester 
Theological Seminary, supplied the pulpit from May 12, 1901, to Nov. 
1, 1901. Rev. Wm. H. Brown, of Moravia, is the present pastor, 
having begun Nov. 10, 1901. 

The present membership of the church is ninety-two. C. ^I. 
Kinne, E. A. Hall, Geo. E. Dunklee, William Brown, C. W. Hoffman, 
and J. C. Van Scoter constitute the board of trustees. The deacons 

are Charles M. Kiime, George E. 
Dunklee and C. W. Hoffman. Mr. 
Hoffman is also superintendent of 
the Sundav School and president 
of Y. P. S.' C. E. 

/Jew. William H. Brown 

Born at Mciravia, N. Y. Early 

education rec^eived in village 

schools. Preparatory course taken 

^■— 1^^^^^^ at Moravia High School for Col- 

^^^k "II^^^^H S''^^ University from which he 

^^^^PR^'\j . -^^^^H .Q;raduated in 1896. Completed 

"^^^^Sv^^ '^^^^^^1 course at Hamilton Theological 

Seminary in 1899. Ordained to 
the Ministry Sept. 27, 1899 at Bap- 
tist church, Walesville, N. Y., 
which constituted his first charge. 
^Married to Katherine j\l. Brownell 
of Clarks Mills, at the same church 
Jan. 24, 1900. One daughter, 
Frances, completes the family. 
Pastor at First Baptist Church at Dansville, since Nov. 10, 1901. 
Leaving a more prosperous charge to accept his present call, Mr. 
Brown has ah-eady manifested his earnestness of purpose in the work 
of God. 




REV. WILLIAM H. BROWN 



TKe Fire Department 

BY J. L. ^VE,LLINGTON 



T 




IE history of the Dansville Fire Department dates 
from the year 1836, nine years prior to the adoption 
of the first village charter. On March 26 of that 
year a fire company was formed, taking the name 
Washington Fire Company No. 1. At that time 
Dansville was included in the town limits of Sparta 
and the commission of the company was signed tiy 
the Supervisor and Justices of the Peace of that 
township. The persons a]ipointed as members 
were: William H. Pickell, captain; Austin Gard- 
ner, 1st assistant; Samuel Wilson, 2d assistant; 
Benjamin Bradley, clerk; George Hyland, treasurer; 
John Betts, Luther Melvin, David D. McNair. 
Lucius H. Brown, Isaac H. Overton, Jeremiah 
Allee, David Holmes, Frederick M. Kuhn, Philip 
Hasler, John Weldy, Nicholas Slick. Volney G. 
Weston, Edward Niles, Milton Morey, and Eli B. 
Irvin. This company was known as the "Coffee- 
mill" company, from the resemblance of their engine to that article 
of household utility. Water was fed into the engine by buckets and 
was forced through the hose by turning large cranks at the sides, each 
crank accomodating six or eight men. Something of the appearance 
of this pioneer company on parade can be gained from a resolution 
adopted by them on July 2, 1838, when it was resolved to "celebrate 
the Fourth of July in Firemen's order; that the company wear black 
hats with a blue ribbon one-half inch wide as a band, tied in a double- 
bow knot, and to wear white round-abouts and dark pantaloons." 
There is nothing on record to indicate the extent of fire duty per- 
formed by this company, except the records of their monthly "exer- 
cise," which consisted in from one to two hours of running and of 
throwing streams. The last meeting and exercise of the original 
"Coffee-mill" company, of which there is any record, was held Sep- 
tember 7, 1840. 

The first village charter, adopted May 7, 1845, provided for the 
appointment of one or more fire companies of twenty members each, 
and one Hook and Ladder company of fifteen members. One mem- 
ber of each company was designated as foreman thereof. The 
amended charter of May 9, 1846, limited the number of fire companies 
to one for each fire engine procured by the village. At the first cor- 
poration meeting (June 16, 1846), it was resolved "to raise by tax eight 
hundred dollars to purchase a fire engine, the necessary hose and 
other apparatus therefor, hooks and ladders and other necessary 
apparatus for a Hook and Ladder company, to erect or hire a suitable 
place to keep such engine or apparatus, and to pay the expense of pro- 
curing the same and other needful and proper expenses." 



59 



60 



ORGANIZATIONS 



The first company under the charter was Engine Company No. 1, 
organized August 5, 1846, with the following members: William C. 
Bryant, B. J. Chapin, C. R. Kern, William G. Thompson, Samuel M. 
Welch, J. L. Boone, C. W. Dibble, George G. Wood, Matthew Mc- 
Cartney, John Nares, C. E. Lambert, and H. Howe. Other members 
of this company were the late James Murdock, who held the position 
of foreman three years, Samuel P. Williams and Henry and Calvin 
Fenstermacher, now living. 

On vSeptember 9, 1846, the Board of Trustees approved the ofificers 
and by-laws of the Phoenix Engine Company No. 1. The members of 
this company were: O. B. Maxwell, R. Wilfiams, William H. South- 
wick, William Hollister, James H. Parker, J. D. Pike, Charles Rum- 
ley, E. Miles, M. Halsted, L. H. Colbourn, Elias Geiger, G. H. Rice, 
John U. Wallis, Charles E). Heening, James M. Smith, J. V. Taft, J. 
H. Freeland, and Charles McElvanev. 




RECEPTION P.OOM UNION HOSE CLUB 



Engine Company No. 2 was formed December 11, 1849 with the 
following members: Julius A. Reynolds, J. H. Conrity, T. B. Good- 
rich, L. W. Reynolds, William Brown, Jr., G. F. Shannon, J. G. 
Shepard, Nicholas Schu, H. Brewer, Charles Heidacker, S. L. Barrett, 
J. W. Merriman, B. Lewis Brittan, Jonathan Doty, N. Bavenger, D. 
Shafer, H. O. Reynale, A. N. Barto, Charles Barto, Carl Stephan, 
and Joseph Hallaner. 

April 28, 1857, H. C. Payne and twenty others were organized as 
Phoenix Fire Company No. 1. June 21, 1858, De Forest Lozier and 
eighteen others were constituted Hope Fire Company No. 2. DeForest 
Lozier was appointed foreman. 

The year 1863 marks the birth of two of the most efficient fire com- 
panies ever organized in Dansville; the Canaseraga Fire Company 



Fire department 



61 



No. 1, organized May 2, and the Phoenix Fire Company No. 2, or- 
ganized May 2(1. Tiie former consisted of thirty-two charter mem- 
bers, all Germans. The officers were; Nicholas Schu, foreman; 
Conrad Dick, 1st assistant : Wendel Schubmehl, 2d assistant; James 
Krein, president; Peter Schlick, vice-president; Adam Gillium, 
secretary; John Blum, treasurer; James Caton, steward. This com- 
pany, during its ten years of existence, took part in many parades 
both at home and abroad, and held many balls, devoting, in many 
cases, the proceeds to charitable purposes. Their public enterprise 
led them to subscribe one hundred and twenty-five dollars a year for 
the organizing and sustaining of the old Canaseraga Cornet Band 
under the leadership of Prof. Michael Sexton. 

The Phoenix Company, whose members were described as an ener- 
getic, enterprising and muscular set of boys, was officered as follows: 
James Faulkner, foreman; Henry R. Curtis, 1st assistant; William 




UNION HOSE COMPANY AND CITIZENS BAND ON PARADE 



McCuUum, 2d assistant; G. C. DaboUe, president; John Hyland, 
vice-president; A. (). Bunnell, secretary; Gordon Wilson, treasurer; 
Fred Ripley, steward. 

These companies took charge of the two new engines which hail 
recently been purchased by the village. The engines, which were of 
the old side-brake pattern, arrived in Dansville May 19, 18f)3. On 
June 2, an appropriation of eleven hundred dollars was voted for the 
benefit of the Fire Department, and during the progress of the elec- 
tion a trial of the engines took place between the new companies, with 
honors slightly in favor of the Canaseragas. 

On May 22, two hose companies were organized, taking the names 
Canaseraga Hose No. 2 and Genesee Hose No. 3. The companies 



(>2 



ORGAXrZATIONS 



were attached tn the Canaseraga and Phoenix companies, respectively. 
The members were boys under twenty-one and their duties consisted 
chiefly in carting and caring for the hose. 

Both the Canaseraga and the Phoenix company disbanded in 1872. 
The former disbanded and reorganized on May 2, 187(1, but on the 
13th of May, two years later, the engine was formally turned over to 
the village trustees and the company property sold. From the dis- 
bandment of these companies up to 1874, Dansville was practically 
without organized fire protection, fire duty being performed by the 
citizens in general without reference to organization. 

In June 1874 a meeting was called at the Hyland House at which 
preliminary arrangements were made for organizing a hose company. 
On the 17th of the month, at an adjourned meeting, the organization 
was completed and adopted the name Union Hose Company No. 1. 




BILLIARD ROOM UNION HOSE CLUB 



Twenty-four enrolled as charter members as follows: George Hyland, 
Jr., foreman; John J. Bailey, assistant foreman; George A. Sweet, 
president; Thos. E. Gallagher, vice-president; Legrand Snyder, sec- 
retary; H. Frank Dyer, treasurer; Seth N. Hedges, Randolph D. 
LaRue, Thomas J. Burby, Thomas O'Meara, Charles Sutfin, Gates 
L. Austin, Herman W. DeLong, Solon S. Dyer, Judd C. Whitehead, 
James M. Edwards, Samuel Sturgeon, Jr., Frank H. Toles, Frederick 
W. Noyes, Jesse B. Prussia, William A. Spinning, George B. Thomp- 
son, William Welch, and Elmer F. Hamsher. 

The present memberhip consists of twenty-eight active members 
and seventy-seven club room members. The following are the present 
officers: J. B. Morey, president; C. J. LaBoyteaux, vice-president; 



FIRE DRPA R TMENT 



C..^ 



James F. Kramer, secretary: R. W. Adams, treasurer; George 
O'Meara, Karl Kramer, D. C. Bryant, F. E. Kenney, L. H. Heckman, 
G. H. Cutler, trustees; G. A. Sutfin, foreman; George O'Meara, 1st 
assistant: L. J. Schwingel, 2d assistant. Meetings are held at their 
rooms in the Ossian Street Fire Building, the first ^londay in each 
month. This company is regarded as one of the best disciplined of 
volunteer fire companies. It supports an elegant suite of rooms in the 
Maxwell Block, and the social and club features are made prominent. 
The company's annual ball is regarded as the chief social event of the 
year, and its bi-annual minstrel show bespeaks credit to the talent and 
enterprise of the company. 




lilt I'ROTECTIVES ON PARADE 



The Protectives No. 1, was organized January 24, 1876 with 
twenty-live charter members, and two days later was admitted to the 
ilepurtnieni. The charter members were: James Porter, foreman; 
t'hark'S V. Patchin, 1st assistant; C. A. Snyder, 2d assistant; H. K. 
\'anNuys, ])rosident; W. H. Dick, vice-president; Edward Moody, 
secretarv; |. F. Hr\-ant, treasurer and steward; George M. Blake, 
Kred T.'Brettle, Edwin R. Woodruff, Charles H. Rowe, F. William 
Krein, Joseph W. Burgess, Lansing B. Grant, Lawrence (i. Tildt-n, 
Al. A. Oaks, Frank E. Kenney, Frank L. Miller, Henry F. Beyer, 
Alva W. Pease, Alonzo B. Lindsay, C. Britt Casterline, William C. 
Croll, William J. Lee. 

From its inception this comi)anv has been an active and potent 
factor in the department. Its outfit consists of the latest improved 
extinguishers, ropes, stakes, buckets, rubber blankets and all that go 
to make up an efficient fire-fighting equipment. The company sup- 
ports a large and nicely furnished suite of rooms in the Kramer Block, 




it E < 



a. o 



FIRE DEPA R TMENT 



65 



over the ^Merchants and Farmers Bank. The present officers are: 
H. A. .Schwingle, foreman; (iuy Hungerford, 1st assistant; B. F. 
Lander, 2d assistant; \V. J. Maloney, president; J. L.Wellington, 
vice-president; A. E. Thurston, secretary; H. j\I. Altmeyer, treas- 
urer; Joseph Kimmel, S. E. Allen, E. H. Maloney, B. F. Lander, 
H. C. Folts, trustees; A. E. Thurston, N. W. Uhl, H. C. Folts, club 
room committee. Meetings of the company are held the first Wed- 
nesday in each month at the Exchange vStreet Fire Building. The 
present membership numbers thirty-five. This company was incor- 
porated ^fay 3. 1S7(>. 




The Fearless Hook and Ladder Company No. 1 was admitted to 
the department at the same time as the Protectives. There were 
twenty-eight charter members as follows: D. K.. Price, foreman; 
Martin LaForce, 1st assistant; Conrad Kramer, 2d assistant; James 
Hoover, president; J. Kramer, Jr., vice-president; F. Schubmehl, 
secretary; Baldis Foote, treasurer; Adolph Huber, steward; Peter 
LaForce, H. vSteinhardt, F. S. Schubmehl, M. C. Hirsch, Fred 
Freidel, E. C. Klauck, Albert Saurbier, Jacob Sturm, G. Fesley, 
Peter Geiger, Conrad Yocum, S. Schwan, A. Lauterborn, Wm. 
Thomas, Jr., F. Gregorious, Jacob Foot, T. Eschrich, J. Hubertus, 
B. Shafer, and Peter J. Deitsch. The company now has thirty-three 
active members, including the following ot^cers: Matt Cook, presi- 
dent; Frank Zatfke, vice-president; F. E. vSprague, secretary; H. 
Zafifke, treasurer; William Freas, foreman; Peter Michael, 1st assist- 
ant; Lew Wilbur, 2d assistant; Isaac Rauber, color bearer; John 
Gerger, William Olmstead, John Rectenwald, Ernest Freiberg, John 
Fidler, trustees. Meetings are held the first Tuesday of each month, 
at their rooms in the Exchange Street Fire Building. 

The "Hooks," as they are familiarly known, are a muscular set of 
men and the individual pride taken by the members in the company's 
enterprises, necessarily sets a high standard of efficiency. For a num- 
ber of years the company has held membership in the New York State 
Volunteer Firemen's Association, its delegates always taking an active 
part in the councils of that organization. The company was incor- 
porated March 28, 1877. 



66 



ORGANIZA TfONS 



The last company to enter the department was Jacksc.m Hose No. 
2, which was organized October 27, 18'*0, with a charter membership 
of fourteen as follows: J.J. Peck foreman ; Jacol) Huver, 1st assist 
ant; William Doty, 2d assistant; William Huver, jjrcsident: 1', | 
Hoffman, vice-president; J. J. Rohner, secretary; Ocorijc li,:,chricii, 
treasurer; vSamuel Townsend, Joseph Losey, Chester Bailor, Michael 
Hubertus, Harry Howe, William Ash, and Clarence Sarrjenl. The 
present officers are : Bert Holbrook, president ; I. L. Opp, vice-presi- 
dent; Edward J. Zaflfke, secretary; John Kress, treasurer; Gus Dick, 
foreman; Frank vS. Fox, 1st assistant ; Wm. Howe, 2d assistant; James 
A.Alverson, Wm. Short, Wm. Zaffke, N. Price, vSamuel Peterson, trus- 
tees. Meetings are held the first Monday in each month at the Ex- 
change Street Fire Building. The present membership is thirty. 




JACKSON HOSE TRUCK 



There was considerable discussion at the time Jackson Hose com- 
pany was organized as to the need of a fourth company and an effort 
was made on the part of some of the taxpayers to prevent the new 
company from being admitted to the department. But upon the 
written guarantee of the company to supply themselves with 1,000 
feet of hose before the first day of January 1893, the question was 
submitted to a vote of the taxpayers and the company was admitted 
by a majority of twenty-five. The company is well organized and 
equipped. It supports a hose team of twelve men which has taken 
part in various contests, always with credit to themselves and to the 
department. At Geneseo, August 17, 1890, the team made the 
record of laying 300 yards of hose, made the couplings, and had the 
stream on in 59| seconds. Their record for 20()-yard hub-and-hub 
race is 23- j seconds. 

These four companies constitute the present Fire Department. 
When on duty all officers and members of the various companies, as 
well as all police officers and citizens, are subject to the orders of the 
Chief Engineer, who is chosen annually by the Department, subject, 
however, to the approval of the village Board of Trustees. 

In 1892 there was a severe controversy over the election of Chief 
Engineer, and as a comproniise a system of rotation was adopted by 



II 



FIRE DliPARTMRNT 67 

means of which the office rotated annually from one company to an- 
other in reoular sucession. The system was never satisfactory, and 
at the regular annual meeting held February 18, 1<X)2, Charles A. 
Brown, in behalf of Union Hose company, presented a resolution pro- 
viding for its abolishment. At an adjourned meeting, one week later, 
the resolution was passed, and Patrick J. Melody of the Hook and 
Ladder com]iany was elected Chief. 

The persons holding the office of Chief Engineer since the inception 
of the present dejiartment are : George Hvland, 187()-1S79; James 
Faulkner, 188()-1SS4; C. V. Patchin, 1885; George Hyland, 18S(,-1887; 
Henrv Fedder, 1888; J. W. Burgess, 1889-1890; W. S. Oberdorf, 
1891;" I. W. Burgess, 1892; F. L. Kramer, 1893; B. G. Readshaw, 
1894; John H. Huver, 1895; Jacob Huver, 1896; George R. Brown, 
1897; George W. Whitney, 1898; John Rectenwald, 1899; P. J. Cole- 
man, 1900; N. W. Uhl, 1901; Patrick J. Melody, 1902. 

For nearly thirty years the only water supply for fire purposes were 
public wells sunk at various places throughout the village, and from 
private cisterns when accessible. Various eiTorts were made from 
time to time to secure an appropriation for effectually su]3plying the 
village with water, but the question was not satisfactorily disposed of 
until August 20, 1873, when the electors resolved to issue bonds in the 
sum of twenty-five thousand dollars for the construction of water 
works. A dam was constructed in Mill Creek above the California 
House, at a height of 182 feet above the lower end of Main street. A 
gravity system was thus established which continued to serve until 
the fall of 1895, when the present system was established, since which 
time the village has been amply supplied with all water needed for fire 
purposes. The 235-foot fall affords sufficient pressure to throw a 
stream with ease high over the tallest block in the village, and the 
112 hydrants are so distributed as to afford protection to every part of 
the village even to the farthest outskirt. 

No account of the Dansville Fire Department would be complete 
without some reference to Livingston \'olunteer Firemen's Asso- 
ciation, in which organization and maintenance the Dansville com- 
panies have taken an active part. On August 8 and 9, 1894, and 
again on August 15 and 16, 1900, the Dansville companies, in con- 
junction with the citizens, entertained the various companies of Liv- 
ingston county, numbering in all about a thousand firemen. 

The department appurtenances consist of about 3,000 feet of hose, 
four hose wagons, a hook and ladder truck, a Protective cart, to- 
gether with the numerous paraphernalia, the value of which amounts 
to nearly ten thousand dollars. This equipment, backed by the 
energy and earnestness of over one hundred capable and intelligent 
young men, places the Dansville Fire Department in the forefront of 
volunteer fire organizations. 



i\ 



Fraternal Societies 




officers : 
John M. 
tary; M 



Jl. O. H. 

First Division No. 3 of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians was organized December 3, 1893, by the 
County President, John A. Coultry of Mt. Morris. The 
purpose of the order being to promote friendship, unity 
and Christian charity among the members by raising or 
supporting a fund of money for maintaining the aged, 
sick, blind, and infirm members, and for the advance- 
ment of the principles of Irish Nationality. Twenty- 
one charter members were listed with the following 
A. J. Murphy, president; John W. O'Connor, vice-president; 
Burke, recording secretary; Wm. Dowling, financial secre- 
J. Welch, treasurer. The last three county presidents have 
all been from Dansville, John M. Burke, P. F. Morgan and John W. 
O'Connor, having in turn acceptably filled the office. Meetings are 
held in the first and third Tuesdays of each month in A. O. H. hall, 
third floor of Shepard block. The present number of members is 
fifty-one, with the following officers: M. J. Driscoll, president; John 
W. Finn, vice-president; John M. Burke, recording secretary ; M. J. 
O'Hara, financial secretary; W. H. Rowan, treasurer. 

Mr. John M. Burke, who furnished the above information, has been 
county president for one term and is now completing his third term 
as recording secretary of the local division, the splendid condition of 
which is a matter of more than local pride. 

C. R. SrB.Ji. 

St. Patrick's Council No. !(>, of the Catholic Relief and Beneficiary 
Association, which is everything that its name implies, was organized 
during 1892 by L. A. Schwan. From the first seventeen members the 
following officers were chosen : L. A. Schwan, president ; Mat Cook, . 
1st vice-president ; N. J. Gerber, 2d vice-president; Fred Schwan, 
financial secretary; Phillip E. Blum, treasurer; Frank J. Johantgen, 
recording secretary; Frank Gerber, marshal; Charles Fox, guard; 
Daniel Blum, Jacob Vogt, William Rowan, trustees. 

There are sixty members at present and a substantial reserve fund 
in the treasury. The present officers are: Rev. M. Krischel, spiritual 
advisor; Jacob J. Vogt, district deputy organizer; N. J. Gerber, 
president; G. H. Fries, 1st vice-president ; Jacob J. Simon, 2d vice- 
president; J. J. Vogt, financial secretary ; G. W. Shafer, recording 
secretary; C. C. Fox, guard; N. F. Smith, chancellor; H. Zaffke, 
John P. Mahoney, William Rauber, Joseph B. Myers, Jacob J. Vogt, 
trustees. Meetings are held every other Wednesday evening in their 
Council Hall in the Howarth Block. 

i\Ir. Jacob J. Vogt, who furnished the above information, has been 
trustee, president, financial secretary, district deputy organizer, and 
delegate, filling all these important offices most acceptably. 



69 



70 



ORGANIZA TIONS 




A. O. U. W. 

Dansville Lodge No. 101, Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, a fraternal society, was organized 
in Dansville by Grand Special Deputy, William 
MacWorters, August 10, 1900. There were eighteen 
charter members from whom were elected the follow- 
ing officers: Chas. Schafer, past master workman; 
Wm. A. Rowan, master workman; Alton E. Ran- 
dall, foreman; Edward P. Maloney, overseer; S. E. 
Wright, recorder; F. W. Schwingle, financier; Ira M. Bates, receiver; 
L. A. Pfuntner, inside watchman ; Fred Dantz, outside watchman; 
John Schuster, guide. 

The membership at present numbers sixty with the following 
officers; Alton E. Randall, pastmaster workman; Edward Peck, 
master workman ; John W. Shafer, foreman; Robert Sinclair, over- 
seer; Charles H. Peck, recorder; William A. Rowan, financier; Wil- 
liam Foote, receiver; L. A. Pfuntner, inside watchman; Fred Dantz, 
outside watchman; George B. Foote, guide. \V'illiam A. Rowan is 
representative to Grand Lodge, and Alton E. Randall, alternate. 
Meetings are held the first and third Thursdavs of each month in A. 
O. H. hall. 

Alton E. Randall, the author of this sketch, has been foreman and 
master workman each one term, and is at present past master work- 
man of local lodge. 

C. M. B. Jl. 

Branch No. 73 of the Catholic Mutual Benefit Asso- 
ciation, a fraternal organization, was instituted in Dans- 
ville on the 22d day of September, 1884. From among 
the twelve charter members, the following officers were 
chosen: Louis A. Schwan, president; Thomas Earls, 
1st vice-president; Daniel Burns, 2d vice-president; 
Patrick O'Hara, recording secretary; Frank En^el, Jr., assistant re- 
cording secretary; William F. Veith, financial secretary; Daniel 
Blum, treasurer; Nicholas Hubertus, marshal; Michael Hirsch, 
guard; Joseph Cogan, Jr. , Nicholas Grimm, George Albert, L. A. 
Schwan. Thomas Earls, trustees. 

The presidents in rotation since the branch was organized are: Louis 
Schwan, Joseph Cogan, Daniel Blum, George Albert, Emil Klauck, 
Edward Bacon, Dennis Foley, Thomas Earls, Jacob Smith, James 
Kelly, Daniel Driscoll, Joseph Pfuntner, Patrick Reilly, Joseph Ott. 
There are seventy present members in good standing with the 
following list of officers; Joseph Ott, president; Joseph Stiegler, 1st 
vice-president; Patrick Reilly 2d vice-president ; James Kelly, secre- 
tary; William Kelly, assistant secretary; Albin Altmej^er, financial 
secretary; Wendell Pfuntner, treasurer; Robert Goodwin, marshal; 
Max Beck, guard; D. Foley, Thomas Maloney, Edward Bacon, James 
Welch, Jacob Smith, trustees. Meetings are held every Thursday 
evening at eight p. m., in the C. M. B. A. rooms located on third 
floor of Citizens Bank Building. 

Mr. James Kelly, who supplied the above information, a member 
since 1888, has been twice president and is now recording secretary. 




PRA TERNAL SOCIETIES 



71 




F. Sr -A. M. 

Phoenix Lodge No. 115, F. &A. M., 
was instituted April 15, 1846, and char- 
tered August 18, 1846. The charter 
nfficerswere: Merritt Brown, master; John 
Culbertson, S. W. ; Javan Bradley, J. W. 
There are now in good standing 125 mem- 
bers with the following officers: F. P. 
Magee, W. M. ; C. J. LaBoyteaux, S. W. ; 
|. E. McCurdy, ]. W. ; R. W. Adams, Sr. 
b. ; J. G. Kram"er, Jr. D. ; G. S. Wilson, 
treasurer; B. G. Readshaw, secretary; Oscar Woodruff, chaplain; S. 
L. Keyes, tiler; George DeL. Bailey, S. M. C. ; N. B. Gorham, J. M. 
C. ; George L. Krein, marshal; F. M. Ferine, Oscar Woodruff, C. 
W. Woolever, trustees. The lodge meetings are held on the first and 
third Tuesdaj^s of each month in their handsomely equipped quarters 
in the Maxwell Block, four rooms of which are used exclusively by 
this society. The succession of worthy master since organization, 
excepting the first five years, the records for which have been lost, are 
as follows: '51, O. T. Crane; '52, O. Tousey ; '53, J. A. Vanderlip; 
'54, E. W. Patchin; '55, A. J. Peck; '56, Z. H. Blake; '57, H. Jones; 
'58, William A. Roberts; '59, Henry Hartman; '60-'63, Stephen 
Brayton; '64-'65, Henry Hartman; '66-'67, J. A. Vanderlip; '68-'70, 
Abram Lozier; '71-72, N. Schu; '73, W. J. LaRue; '74-'75, Henry 
Flartman ; '76, James S. Murdock; '77, B. T. Squires; '78, Elmer F. 
Hamsher; '79, James H. Jackson; '80-81, John C. Wheaton ; '82, 
George C. Stone; '83-84, A. H. Lemen; '85, C. V. Patchin; 
James Lindsay; '87-89, A. P. Burkhart; '90, (). R. Stone; '91- 
A. P. Burkhart; '93-'94, George L. Krein; '95, A. P. Burkhart; 



'97, George L. Krein; 
'01, F. P. Magee. 

Mr. B. G. Readshaw, 
this sketch, has been a 
January, '00. 



'86, 

-'92, 

'96- 

'98-99, C. W. Woolever; '00, B. H. Oberdorf; 

who supplied the information contained in 
member since '99, serving as secretary since 



E. K O. R. 

A fraternal insurance society, Sherman Council No. 24, Empire 
Knights of Relief, was organized February, 1891, and changed to 
Burkhart Council No. 24, April 4, 1892, and transferred to Safety 
Fund Insurance Society, August, 1900. There were twenty charter 
members with officers as follows: Dr. A. P. Burkhart, commander; 
William Kramer, past commander; O. R. Stone, vice-commander; 
William H. Clavei, assistant commander; Joseph G. Munding, secre- 
tary; John J. Sterner, receiver and treasurer; Rev. R. M. Sherman, 
chapkiin; Henry Schwingle, orator; George R. Brown, guide; 
Phillip E. Blum, guard; D. O. Batterson, William 
vSchwingle, trustees; Dr. F. R. Driesbach, medical 
present membership is ten. 

George R. Brown, who furnished this infcirmation, has been guide, 
vice-commander, orator, commander, and since 1897 receiver and 
treasurer. 



Kramer, Henry 
examiner. The 



ORGAXIZA TIOXS 




~'>-y*' -Mirj.jet^^,. 



I. O. R. M. 

Kan-a-skra-ga Tribe No. 372 Improved 
Order of Red Men, a fraternal insurance 
society, was instituted in Dansville by 
District Deputy Great Sachem W. H. 
Brace, December 2, 1897, assisted by de- 
gree team from Onalee Tribe, Avon, N. Y. 
Sixty charter members organized with the follow- 
ing officers: Dr. J. E. Crisfield, sachem; A. H. 
Plimpton, senior sagamore; George R. Brown, 
junior sagamore; Daniel Fenstermacher, prophet; 
Dr. J. F. McPhee, chief of records; E. J. Foote, 
keeper of wampum; George J. Lindsay, collector of 
wampum; E. R. WoodrufT, H. M. Altmeyer, J. F. 
Hubertus, trustees. Since organization the follow- 
ing, sachems have held office: J. E. Crisfield to 
July, 1898; C. V. Patchin to July, 1899; William 
Cogswell to July, I'UK); George L. Krein to January, 1901; William 
Schwingel to July, 1901; A. L. VanValkenburg. Those who have 
acted in the capacity of C. of R. are: W. J. Fedder to July, 1900; E. 
R. Woodruff to July, 1901; William Schwingel. The title of senior 
sagamore has been conferred upon the following: A. H. Plimpton to 
January, 1898; C. V. Patchin to July, 1898; P. W. Kershner to July, 
1899; A. L. VanValkenburg to January, 1900; George L. Krein to 
July, 1900; William Schwingel to January, 1901; A. L. VanValken- 
burg to July, 1901; Charles Ginock. 

The Tribe is in a very flourishing condition having a present mem- 
bership of nearly one hundred members and nearly $1,000 in the wam- 
pum belt. The members have lately organized a Haymakers' associ- 
ation of thirty members, and a Continental Red Men's League of 
thirty-six members. The deaths since organization have been two 
members and the wife of another member. 

The present officers are as follows: A. L. VanValkenburg, sachem; 
Charles Ginock, senior sagamore; N. F. Smith, junior sagamore; 
William Cogswell, prophet; William Schwingel, chief of records; 
Albin A. Altmeyer, collector of wampum; Alton E. Randall, trustee; 
William Cogswell and C. V. Patchin, keepers of the faith. Officers 
appointed: Matt Cook, guard of the wigwam; E. A. VanScoter, 
guard of the forest; John Fidler, N. Hubertus, H. McWhorter, A. E. 
Thurston, warriors; Roy Kingsley, A. E. Randall, Joseph Steigler, 
James Wood, braves; H. McWhorter, George Hubertus, A. E. 
Thurston, finance committee. Meetings are held at Red Men's Hall, 
vShepard Block, every Monday evening from October 1st to April 1st, 
and on the first and third Mondays in each month from April to 
October. 

The author of the above sketch is Dr. Charles V. Patchin, who has 
filled the stumps of senior sagamore and sachem, at present and 
for three consecutive years, has been district deputy great sachem for 
the reservation of Livingston county. 




FK. I T/iRXA L SOCIE TIES 73 

L. C. B. Jt. 

St. ElizabcLli Branch No. 78, Ladies Catholic Be- 
nevolent Association, was organized July 20, 1891 in 
the C. M. B. A. rooms by Mrs. K. J. Dowling, Su- 
preme Deputy, assisted by Miss S. Ouinn, for the pur- 
pose of fraternal insurance. There were sixteen char- 
ter members with the following officers: Rev. J. H. 
Day, spiritual advisor; Minnie O'Donnell, president; 
^Irs. ^Margaret Donnelly, 1st vice-president; Mrs. Margaret Schub- 
mehl, 2d vice-president; Mrs. A. Schoonhart, recorder; Miss Eliza- 
beth Werdein, assistant recorder; Mrs. A. Driscoll, financial secre- 
tary: Miss Katherine Hubertus, treasurer; Mrs. Kate Krein, mar- 
shal; Miss Anna Burke, guard; Mrs. Mary Alberts, Mrs. Mary 
Maloney, Mrs. Elizabeth Byron, Mrs. Minnie Pfuntner, Mrs. Mar- 
garet Morgan, trustees; Mrs. Rosa Klauck, Mrs. Kate Krein, Miss 
Anna Burke, auditors. 

The present membership is eighty-three, with the following officers: 
Rev. W. T. Dunn, spiritual advisor; Mrs. Margaret Buxton, presi- 
dent; Mrs. Margaret Ott, 1st vice-president; Miss Margaret Deren- 
bacher, 2d vice-president; Mrs. Rosa H. Klauck, recording secretary; 
Miss Susan We3aiand, assistant recording secretary ; Mrs. Kate 
Krein, financial secretary; Miss Margaret Maloney, treasurer; Mrs. 
Anna Driscoll, Miss Anna Denzer, Miss Nora Heiman, trustees; Miss 
Lena Gross, marshal; Mrs. Madeline Stefffer, guard; Mrs. Rosa H. 
Klauck, Mrs. Anna Driscoll, Mrs. Katherine Finn, board of appeals. 
Meetings are held alternate Tuesday evenings at C. M. B. A. rooms. 
Mrs. Anna Driscoll, the author of this sketch, is a charter member 
and has served as president, recorder, financial secretary and trustee 
of the local society. 

L. O. T. M. 

Dansville Hive No. 172 of the Ladies of the Maccabees, was in- 
stituted June 21, 1894, by Deputy Commander Ada L. Johnson. The 
L. O. T. M. is a fraternal life benefit association for women and an 
auxiliary of the K. O. T. M. There were twenty-seven charter mem- 
bers with the following officers: Fannie J. Welch, past commander; 
Mary A. Wheaton, commander; Lena C. Sprague, lieutenant com- 
mander; Eleanor McNeil, record keeper; Carrie M. O'Brien, finance 
keeper; Amelia C. Sutfin, chaplain; Barbara Eschrich, sergeant; 
Cora M. Lindsay, mistress at arms; Mary L. Sauerbier, sentinel; 
Barbara Folts, picket. 

At present there are over 120 members and the following is the list 
of officers: Mary A. Wheaton, past commander; Cora M. Lindsay, 
commander; Mary E. Thrall, lieutenant commander; Lena C. 
Sprague, record keeper; Rose M. Rowan, finance keeper; Kate Nor- 
ton, chaplain; Mary Murphy, sergeant; Kate Smith, mistress at 
arms; Theresa Hemmer, sentinel; Mary L. Sauerbier, picket. Meet- 
ings are held the second and fourth Wednesdav evenings in each 
month in K. O. T. M. hall. 

Mrs. Lena C. Sprague, who has been a member since the organiza- 
tion of the local society and has been lieutenant commander two 
years and record keeper five years, is entitled to credit for the above 
information. 



74 



ORGAXIZA TIOXS 




K O. T. M. 

.DansviUe Tent No 04, a local branch of the 
Knights of the Maccabees of the World, 
which is a fraternal life insurance society, 
was organized by Deputy Charles Melville, 
February 22, 1888, with twenty-four charter 
members. At the first meeting the follow- 
ing officers were elected; Frank Mehlen- 
bacher, past commander; J. B. Morey, com- 
mander; Charles V. Patchin, lieutenant 
commander; Henry M. Altmeyer, R. K. ; 
William Cogswell, F. K. ; H. Fenstermacher, 
prelate; Michael Rowan, sergeant; Charles 
V. Patchin, physician; Thomas Bowman, Mas. at A.; Herbert J. Mil- 
ler, 1st M. G. ;'j. H. Galbraith, 2d .M. G. ; N. Denzer, sentinel; Albert 
Sauerbier, picket. 

Since organization the following commanders have been installed: 
Jonathan B. Morey, 1888-89; Charles V. Patchin, 1889-90; Herbert 
J. Miller, 1890-94; William Cogswell, 1894-96; Peter W. Kershner, 
1896-01; Adam Gessner, 1901-02; E. J. Rowan, 1902. The record 
keepers for the same period have been Henrv M. Altmeyer, 1889-90; 
Jacob Folts, 1890-93; James M. Kennedv,' 1893-94; John W. Perrv, 
1894-95; Adam Freidel, 1895-96; Edward J. Rowan, 1896-1902, 
Robert Gamble, 1902. 

The present membership of the tent is 135 and officers are as fol- 
lows: Adam Gessner, past commander; E. J. Rowan, commander; 
Jacob Young, lieutenant commander; Robert Gamble, R. K. ; P. W. 
Kershner, F. K. ; C. H. Knowlton, chaplain; J. E. Crisfield, F. R. 
Driesbach, physicians; F. J. Gerber, sergeant; James Wood, Mas. at 
A. ; William Howe, 1st M. G. ; Albert Holbrook, 2d M. G. ; John Gary, 
sentinel; George Fedder, picket. Tent reviews are held the second 
and fourth Tuesday evenings of each month at eight o'clock in their 
large and handsomely furnished lodge room in the Dyer Block. 

Edward Rowan, the author of this sketch, was admitted into the 
society April 9, 1895; elected record keeper of the tent June 9, 1896, 
and has been unanimously re-elected each ensuing year until 1902, 
when the office of commander was extended him. 

P. of H. 

Dansville Grange No. 178 Patrons of Husbandry, a farmers' social 
and co-operative fraternity, was organized April 14, 1874, in the 
wagon shop of B. S. Stone at Stone's Falls, by L. A. Palmer, a gen- 
eral deputy from Honeoye Falls, appointed by the State Grange. 
There were twenty-five charter members whose names follow, includ- 
ing those holding the first offices: B. F. Kershner, worthy master; B. 
S. Stone, overseer; H. A. Kershner, lecturer; R. K. Stone, steward; 
G. C. Stone, assistant steward; J. F. McCartney, chaplain; Fred 
Driesbach, treasurer; Henry Driesbach, gate keeper; Mrs. Fred 
Driesbach, ceres; j\lrs. B. F. Kershner, pomona; iVIrs. G. C. Stone, 
flora; Miss Emma J. Lemen, lady assistant steward. The remaining 
charter members were: J. B. Lemen, J. H. McCartney, William 
Hartman, Henry Hartman, William Hall," U. R. Stone, Mrs. J. F. 



FRATERXAL SOCIETIES 



75 



McCartne)', Mrs. G. C. vStone, Mrs. Henry Driesbach, Mrs. William 
Hall, Mrs. J. B. Lemen, Mrs. R. K. vStone, Mrs. B. S. Stone. The 
executive committee was composed of B. S. Stone, Fred Driesbach 
and J. B. Lemen. R. K. Stone was secretary from the time of or- 
ganization, e.xcepting one term, until his death December 15, 1898, 
and since that time Lena G. Stone has acceptably filled this office. 

Thirty of the most progressive farmers and their wives constitute 
its present membership with the following officers: A. W. Hawk, 
worthy master; Charles ^IcCurdy, overseer; Sadie Hawk, lecturer; 
Henry Driesbach, steward; O. H. Lemen, assistant steward; B. S. 









#' 


' v|l il' ■ ' '' 


^Ml>^ 




^eJ-''^-=S*^l Vi'"'''''/ 1 P T iji 






M^'^^ 


H 




^ ■ ^ 


" 



DANSVILLE GRANGE HALL 



Stone, chaplain; Louis C. Gottschall, treasurer; Lena G. Stone, sec- 
retary; Samuel Alexander, gate keeper; Miss Rose Gottschall, 
pomona; Mrs. Henry Driesbach, flora; Mrs. U. A. Losey, ceres; 
Miss Mabel McCurdy, lady assistant steward; B. S. Stone, Henry 
Driesbach, A. W. Hawk, executive committee. Mr. Stone has 
served as chairman of this committee since the time of organization. 
Before moving into the present well equipped quarters, the Grange 
occupied rooms in B. S. Stone's wagon shop through the courtesy of 
its proprietor. On Nov. 14, 1878, the Hall was formally dedicated, 
appropriate services being conducted by the Worthy Master of the 
State Grange William G. Wayne, and Secretary A. W. Armstrong, 
the members afterwards being addressed by Dr. James C. Jackson, of 
the Sanatorium. The twenty-fifth anniversary was observed April 
14, 1899, the Grange being favored by a most inspiring address from 
the late Dr. S. G. Dorr, then postmaster at Buff^alo, N. Y., and the 
first member to join the Grange after organization. 



76 ORGAXIZATIOXS 

Sept. 23, 1874, was held the first Grange picnic, being attended at 
Stone's Falls by over 2,U00 people. Hon. T. A. Thompson of Minne- 
sota, Lecturer of the National Grange, was the tjrator of the oc- 
casion. Oct. 21, 18^)2, Columbus Day was patriotically celebrated. 
Jan. 25, 1879, the Hall was crowded to hear the late Hon. Sidney 
Sweet talk of his travels in Egypt and the valley <if the Nile. 

The Grange has always been glad to furnish its Hall for religious 
purposes as well as social gatherings, and great indeed has been the 
moral enlightenment and healthful enjoyment for those participating 
in these ever memorable events. Ideally located on the summit of a 
gradual elevation, surrounded by beautiful shade trees and well kept 
grounds. Grange Hall stands the most imposing piece of architecture 
for many miles, bespeaking its noble purpose and the progressive- 
ness of its members. Regular meetings are held at the Grange Hall the 
second and last Friday evenings in each month. The Grange is in- 
corporated, owning the Hall and three-fourths of an acre of land on 
which is also located good sheds for horses. The Hall is well fur- 
nished and well insured. 

For all the valuable information contained in this sketch, we are 
indebted to Mr. B. S. Stone, whose generous bequests and zealous 
services have aided largely in making Dansville Grange the pride of 
the community and a credit to the county and State. 

N. P. L. 

The Dansville Legion No. 293 of the National Pnjtective Legion, 
was organized August 22, 1899 with eighteen charter members. The 
purpose of the organization is manifested in a co-operative system of 
fraternal and beneficent insurance. The first officers were: James H. 
Lindsay, past president; Amariah Dieter, president; Mrs. Jennie M. 
Ingraham, vice president; E. C. Hulbert, secretary; Leonard K. 
Welch, treasurer; Gordon Wilson, chaplain ; J. W. Deagan, conduc- 
tor; John White, inner door keeper : John B. Kruchton, outside door 
keeper; Victor R. Hungerford, James H. Lindsay, Alba C. Palmer, 
trustees. The present membership is seventy with following officers 
in charge: Mrs. May Griswold, past president ; A. C. Palmer, presi- 
dent; W. G. Hungerford, vice president ; E. C. Hulbert, secretary 
and treasurer: Mrs. John White, chaplain; Samuel J. White, conduc- 
tor; John White, inner door keeper; Lewis W. Griswold, outer door 
keeper; Charles Kinne, W. G. Hungerford, John White, trustees. 
Meetings are held the second and last Tuesdavs in each month at 
A. O. H. hall. 

Mr. E. C. Hulbert, the author of this sketch, has been secretary 
since organization and a National Delegate at recent convention. 

P. H. C. No. 539. 

Protective Home Circle No. 339, was organized March 14, 1898, 
with the following officers who still preside: W. L. Pfuntner, presi- 
dent; Robert C. Vaihinger, treasurer; Mrs. J. C. VanScoter, ac- 
countant; James F. Dieter, secretary; Miss Anna Denzer, chaplain. 

The purposes of the organization are fraternal and beneficent. 



1 



FRATERXAL SOCIETIES 



77 




M. W. of A. 

Dansville Camp No. 9421 of the "Modern Woodmen of 
America," a fraternal society, was organized March 17, 1">01. 
Twelve members were chartered with the following officers: 
William Welch, venerable counsel; John C. Finn, worthy ad- 
viser; George J. Hubertus, clerk; Wesley Thrall, banker; 
Michael Burke, escort; Joseph Kimmel, watchman. 
The present membership is fifteen and the officers for the 
ensuing term are: W. J. Welch, venerable counsel; John C. 
Finn, worthy adviser; Wesley Thrall, excellent banker; Pat- 
rick Daley, escort; George J. Hubertus, clerk; Joseph Kim- 
mel, watchman; Urban Hubertus, sentry; Dr. C. V. Patchin, physi- 
cian; Thomas Ireland, Peter Byer, and J. Earl McCurdy, managers. 
Meetings are held the first and third Thursdav in each month at Camp 
Hall. 

Mr. George Hubertus, who kindly furnished the above facts, has 
been clerk since organization. 

R. A. C. 

Dansville Royal Arch Chapter No. 91 was chartered Feb- 
ruary 2, 1825. The charter officers were: Merritt Brown, 
high priest; Warren Patchin, king; Paul C. Cook, scribe. 
The Chapter was organized March 31, 1824, under a dispen- 
sation granted February 21, 1824 by the G. R. A. Chapter. 
The officers elected in addition to the three above named 
were: Timothy Atwood, R. A. C. ; Moses Conn, C. of H. ; Wm. Mc- 
Pherson, P. S. ; James Conn, M. of 3d. V. ; Anson Delamater, M. of 
2nd V. ; N. Boyden, M. of 1st "\'. ; Thomas M. Bowen, secretary ; 
Samuel ■ Stillwell, treasurer; Henry Burley, guard. The members 
present at that meeting in addition to those named were Andrew 
Prindle and Jacob Thorn. The Chapter meets in the Maxwell Block 
the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. 

Following is the list of present officers: Samuel F. Consalus, E. H. 
P.; F. M. Ferine, K. ; B. H. Oberdorf, S. ; J. T. McCurdy, treasurer; 
Woolever, secretary; George L. Krein, C. of H. ; James Lind- 
S. ; Silas L. Keyes, R. A. C. ; Charles J. LaBoyteaux, M. of 
Frederick E. Worden, M. of 2d V. ; George W. Cross, M. of 
; S. L. Keyes, tyler. 

ROYAL TEMPLARS. 

Charles Mills, the Grand Councellor of the Royal Templars, a fra- 
ternal insurance society, of New York State, assisted by Deputy 
Grand Councellor, C. D. Foose, James H. Ward, and Warren Preston, 
organized a council of Royal Templars, Friday evening, December 
2U, 1901, in A. O. H. hall,' with thirty-six charter members. The 
following officers were elected and installed : Eugene Hulbert, vS. C. ; 
Mrs. Ida T. Hoffman, V. C. ; Charles M. Kinne, P. C. ; Rev. W. H. 
Brown, chaplain; Frank Campbell, recording secretary; Mrs. Emma 
L. VanScoter, financial secretary; ^Irs. Jeannette Lindsay, treasurer; 
Nathaniel Price, herald ; Mrs. Mary Kershner, deputy herald ; Henry 
O. Ash, guard; Mrs. Sarah J. Bower, sentinel. At present writing 
seventy-three members have been enrolled. Regular meetings are 
held second and last Thursdays in each month, at A. O. H. hall. 



c. 


W. 


say 


, P 


3d 


V. 


1st 


V. 



78 



ORGANIZA TfONS 




I. O. O. F. 

Canaseraga Lodge No. 123 I. O. O. F. 
This Lodge was instituted Nov. 15, 1844, bv 
District Deputy Grand Master Scott Lord of 
(ieneseo. The charter members were John 
A. VanDerlip, William Hollister, John B. 
Smith, JohnC. Williams, William G. Thomp- 
son and Peter S. Lema. The first initiates 
were Bleecker L. Hovey and Benjamin Brad- 
ley, on the night of institution. Dr. Hovey, 
now in Rochester, is the only living first 
memlier. John A. VanDerlip was the first 
Xdble Grand. The membership of the 
Lodge during the nearly three score years of 
its existence has included the leading profes- 
sional and business men of Dansville and vicinity who have been lead- 
ers in all local enterprises for the betterment of Dansville socially, 
intellectually and financially. Two of its members have filled state 
grand offices, A. O. Bunnell by election. Grand Master in 1884-5; 
William Kramer, by appointment by Grand Master Bunnell, Grand 
Marshal for the same term. In 1850 there were eight lodges of the 
order in Livingston district, but for a long period subsequent to that 
year Canaseraga lodge was the only survivor. There are now five 
other lodges in this district, one each at Avon, Mount Morris. Gene- 
seo, Springwater, and Hemlock. The Lodge has held notable cele- 
brations of the anniversary of the order and of the Lodge, the fiftieth 
anniversary of the Lodge, Nov. 15, 1894, being specially signalized 
by the presence of Grand Sire Stebbins. The high value of the order 
to individual and community life has been practically exemplified in 
Dansville. Canaseraga Lodge has fine rooms in Maxwell block. 
Meets every F'riday night. 



ST. BOJ^IFACIUS SOCIETY 

In the little old parochial school building which stood in the rear of 
St. Mary's church, on March 30, 1852, was organized the Dansville 
branch of St. Bonifacius Society, which celebrated its golden jubilee on 
Monday evening, June 2, 1902. Rev. Father Alois Somoggi, long 
since gone to his reward, then priest of the parish, was the organizer. 
Of twenty-six charter members only five survive — Fritz Durr, John 
Schwan, Anthony Schwan, Nicholas Schubmehl and Stephen Rauber. 
Peter Schlick, also a charter member, who expected to join in the 
anniversary festivities, died on Wednesday of the previous week. 
The present membership is seventy-seven, officered as follows: Frank 
M. Schlick, president; Nicholas Uhl, vice-president; Joseph Steigler, 
secretary; Henry Zaffke, treasurer; Nicholas Johantgen and Casper 
Thilges, color-bearers; Baldis Vogt and Wendel Zimmer, marshals; 
Frank M. Schlick, Henry Zaffke, Joseph Steigler, John Blum and 
Henry Hubertus, trustees; Jacob H. Smith, Jacob Huver and Peter 
Schlick, finance committee. There have been thirty-nine deaths in 
the society and $19,000 paid out in benefits since organization. The 
annual sick benefits average about $550. During the past year about 



80 ORGAN IZ A TIONS 

$1,000 has been paid in death claims and $500 in sick benefits, and 
there is about $5,000 in the treasury, showing good financial con- 
dition. Its membership includes some of our oldest and best business 
men, and our enterprising young men. In 1856 this society joined 
the D. R. K. Central Verein (German Roman Catholic Central Soci- 
ety) of the United States and was incorporated under the laws of this 
state in 1884. In May, 1896, it joined the Staats Verband upon the 
organization of that society. The society has been an honor to the 
village and a great help to its members and their families in time of 
sorrow and need. To the young men also it has been a guide and 
help. In these and many other ways it has been a valuable auxiliary 
to church and society. 

The seventh annual convention of the Staats Verband, a federation 
of the German Catholic church societies of the state of New York, 
held in Dansville on Sunday and Monday, June 1 and 2, was suc- 
cessful and profitable from every point of view. The convention was 
held here upon the invitation of St. Bonifacius vSociety of St. Mary's 
church of Dansville as an act of fraternity and also to emphasize the 
golden jubilee of St. Bonifacius. Nothing was left undone that was 
desirable for the reception and entertainment of the distinguished 
delegates who came from every part of the state. 

The principal Inisiness houses of Main street were handsomely dec- 
orated with red, white and blue, to which the Roman Catholics added 
yellow, the papal color. 

On Monday, June 2, at 1 o'clock there was a grand parade led by 
Marshal Baldis Vogt and Assistant Marshals Anton Marx and Fred 
Hemmer, mounted, the societies and bands in the following order: 
Bath Soldiers Home Band, Delegates to the Staats Verband, St. 
Wendelinus Society of Perkinsville, N. Y., Martial Band, C. R. B. 
A., Dansville, C. M. B. A., Dansville, St. Bonifacius Society. The 
men were nicely uniformed and presented a fine appearance. At the 
business meeting held after the parade the following officers were 
elected: Joseph Mielich, New York, president; Frank M. Schlick, 
Dansville, 1st vice president; Gebhart Sauter, Syracuse, 2d vice 
president; John Hoffmayer, Buffalo, 3d vice president; Valentine J. 
Riedman, Brooklyn, corresponding and financial secretary; Carl May- 
er, Jr., New York, recording secretary ; Virgil Joseph Essel, Utica, 
treasurer; Louis J. KaufTman and John B. Seiz, of New York city, 
consultors. President Mielich, who had served so well, was re-elected, 
and our own townsman, Mr. Schlick, was elected first vice president 
unanimously. 

The gratifying success of the jubilee celebration was largely due to 
the able efforts of a large corps of well known business men who are 
members of this progressive society and who were officered for the 
occasion as follows: Hochw. Michael Krischel, ehren praesident; 
ehren vice praesident, Hochw. Aloysius Huber; Frank M. Schlick, 
praesident; Nicolaus Uhl, erster vice praesident; John Blum, zweiter 
vice praesident; Nicolaus Schubmehl, dritter vice praesident; Henry 
Zaffke, secretaer; John Hubertus, schatzmeister. 

Mr. Joseph Steigler, who has been a member of the society for nine 
years and who is now acting as secretary, kindly furnished most of 
the information for this sketch. 



Miscellaneous Societies 




TEMPERANCE 

W. C. T. U. 

A branch of the Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union, a national temperance society, was organized 
in Dansville in August 1881, by Miss Frances E. 
Willard, president of the National Union. There 
were thirty charter members and the following served as the first 
officers: Miss A. P. Adams, president; vice-presidents from all the 
churches; Mrs. Jane White, recording secretary; Miss M. F. Bunnell, 
corresponding secretar)- ; Mrs. D. W. Noyes, treasurer. The present 
officers are as follows: Mrs. Lillian F. Lewis, president; Mrs. A. 
E. Thurston, corresponding secretary ; Miss Bessie Knapp, record- 
ing secretary ; Mrs. E. G. Tiffany, treasurer. Meetings are held 
the first Tuesday in each month at the homes of the members. 

Mrs. E. G. Tiffany, who furnished the above information, is a char- 
ter meml)er and has been activeh* engaged in the work for twenty 
years. 



LITERARY 

YOUJ^G MEM'S LITERARY CLUB 

Thursday, March U, 1902, thirteen young men met at the office 
of Dr. F. W. Kuhn to perfect arrangements for the organization of a 
literary club, the leading feature of which was to be weekly debates 
on topics of current interest. The names of twenty members were 
enrolled the following Monday, and the membership limited to that 
number. 

The names of officers and other members were as folk)ws: James 
Brogan, president, F. W. Kuhn, vice-president; Carl Ross, secretary 
and treasurer; J. L. Wellington, critic; Charles R. Fedder and Ray 
vSandford, executive committee; Alexander Kennev, Frank Zafifke, 
W. A. Hubbard, F. H. Young, W. J. Maloney, F'. L Quick, James 
D. Kennedy, Fred E. Clark, Herman W. DeLong, Jr., J. T. Knap- 
penberg, Edward Alexander, Thomas Alexander, Joseph Thompson, 
H. A. Schwingle, Edward Murphy. 

In addition to the debate, a short talk is givon at each meeting by 
a member, who is assigned a subject closely associated with his every- 
day business. 

Considerable enthusiasm has marked the commencement of this 
society's work and im]")ortant results are anticipated. 

Meetings are held each Monday evening in the C. M. B. A. rooms. 



82 



84 ORGAXfZA TIOXS 

D. H. S. LITEllARY CLUB 

The Dansville High School Literary Club was organized Thursday, 
November 22, I'JOO, with twenty-five charter members. Prof. E. J. 
Bonner was made temporary chairman and Carleton Reynell and 
Martin King were appointed tellers pro tem. The first officers of the 
society were as follows James M. Brogan, president; Fred E. Clark, 
vice-president; Nicholas H. Noyes, secretary; Joseph T. Knappen- 
berg, treasurer; George C. Kingsley, teller. The present official staff 
elected January 28, 1902, consists of Bayard H. Knapp, president; 
Carl Hoffman, vice-president; Carleton Reynell, secretary; Dorr 
Price, treasurer; Charles W. Knappenberg, teller. Meetings are held 
at the Dansville High School every Tuesday evening at 7 :30 P. M., 
during the school year. The attention of the members is given almost 
entirely to debating, and much talent is-being displayed in their in- 
teresting sessions. 

JlLPHJl LITER JUiX SOCIETY 

The Alpha I^iterary Society was organized at the Dansville High 
School, November 26, 1900. Twenty young ladies, all students of 
the High School, were enrolled as members with the following as 
officers: Katherine Smalley, president; Mabel Tenney, vice-presi- 
dent; Charlotte Fairchild, secretary: Anita Woodruff, treasurer; 
Vera Burkhart, teller. The present officers are Ruth Brettle, presi- 
dent; Katherine Noyes, vice-president; Sara vSmalley, secretary; 
Jennie Bastian, treasurer; Bessie Woolever, teller. Meetings are 
held at the High School every Thursday evening during the school 
year. 

The above information was furnished by Miss Jennie Bastian, who 
is a charter member and the present secretary. 

READING CIRCLE 

Tuesday, February 18, 1902, a reading circle was organized at the 
home of Mrs. William Benson. Meetings are held each Tuesday at 
the homes of members. The membership, limited to ten, consists of 
the following: Mrs. William Benson, Mrs. B. P. Andrews, Mrs. W. J. 
Beecher, Mrs. E. H. Readshaw, Miss Mary Shepard, Miss Josephine 
Blake, Miss vSusie Parker, Mrs. Charles M. Herrick, Miss Aline 
Blackman, Mrs. W. B. Preston. 

COTERIE 

The literary circle known as the Coterie was organized in the fall 
of 1873, being planned b)' A. O. Bunnell and G. C. Bragdon, and the 
first meeting held Oct. 25, 1873. The first officers were George C. 
Bragdon, president, and Mary F. Bunnell, secretary. The member- 
ship is now limited to twenty. The following ofificers have been 
elected for the ensuing year: Mrs. E. E. Sweet, president; W. J. 
Beecher, vice-president; Miss Josephine Blake, secretary. 

A more extended sketch of this organization will be found under 
chajiter entitled "Certain Institutions." 



MISCELLANEOCS SOC/ET/ES 



85 



PATRIOTIC 



G. Ji. R. 

Among the many rural Posts of the Grand Army 
of the Republic in this Slate, there are but few which 
equal Seth N. Hedges Post, No. 216, of Dansville, 
not alone in members but in its efficiency as an 
agent for good in the community, and few Posts have 
received more favors from the National and State 
Department Commanders in the past. Its organiza- 
tion dates from the 16th of May, 1881, when a few 
veteran soldiers met at the office of Major Seth N. 
Hedges, then a practicing lawyer in Dansville. At 
tliat meeting there were present the following veteran 
soldiers: Seth N. Hedges, Mark J. Bunnell, J. J. 
Bailey, Oscar Woodruff, William Kramer, Charles 
Sutfin, Samuel Allen, Jacob J. Gilder, Edward Kelly 
and Conrad Kramer. After the usual preliminaries 
a Post of the Grand Army was organized, and it received the name of 
Barton Post, No. 216, in honor of a deceased relative of Clara Barton 
who won fame as a nurse during the war and afterwards as the first 
president of the Red Cross Society of the world. She was then living 
in Dansville and took an active interest in affairs with which the vet- 
erans were connected. The officers elected at the first meeting were 
as follows: Seth N. Hedges, commander; Jacob J. Gilder, senior 
vice commander; Edward Kelly, junior vice commander; Oscar 
Woodruff", surgeon; J. J. Bailey, quartermaster; Mark J. Bunnell, 











GROUP OF G. A. R. VETERANS TAKEN SOON AFTER THE ORGANIZATION OF THIS POST 



chaplain; William Kramer, officer of the day; Conrad Kramer, officer 
of the guard; Horace Wing, sergeant major; Samuel Allen, quarter- 
master sergeant. The officers and comrades were immediately mus- 
tered and installed by Comrade L. W. Defreest of Naples, assisted by 
a staff sent to Dansville for that purpose by the Department Com- 
mander. Charles Sutfin was appointed adjutant by Commander 
Hedges. Immediately upon being organized Commander Hedges 



86 



ORGANIZA TIONS 



instituted vigorous measures for recruiting members, and in a short 
time they began to come in rapidly. At the fourth meeting of the 
Post the names of M. B. Hotaling, Horace M. Herrick, Dennis Rowan 
and M. A. vStearns were proposed for membership and accepted. The 
first three are still active members of the Post. At nearly every sub- 
sequent meeting the names of veteran soldiers were presented for 
membershi]3, and in an incredibly short space of time the membership 
had reached one hundred. 

On the 27th of August, 1881, Commander Hedges died after an 
illness of several weeks. His loss was sorely felt by the members of 
the Post, for in every matter relating to the good of the order his 
counsel and advice were sought and accepted, and his death left for a 
time a void that was not easily filled. At the next regular meeting 
Senior Vice Commander Jacob J. Gilder was elected Commander to 
fill the vacancy, and he served until the meeting in January following. 




SETH N. HEDGES POST G. A. R. ON PARADE 



On the 27th day of August, 18S2, a suggestion was made that the 
name of the Post be changed from Barton Post to Seth N. Hedges 
Post, and a committee was appointed to confer with Clara Barton and 
secure her approval of the change. This she readily gave and the 
Post at once assumed the name of the first commander. 

Since the organization of the Post the following persons have held 
the office of Commander: Seth N. Hedges, Mav 16, ISSl, to August 
27, 1881; Jacob J. Gilder, Sept. 0, ISSl, to Jan". 3, 1882; Charles Sut- 
fin, 1882, 1884, 1891, 1892, Jan. 1(1, 1893 to April 16, 1893; M. A. 
Stearns, Jan. 9, 1883 to ]\Ia"v 8, 1883; A. W. Fielder, May 8, 1883 to 
Jan. 1, 1884; William Kramer, 1885, 1886, 1887, 1896; Oscar Wood- 
ruff, 1888, 1889; H. A. Fairchikl, 1890; J. H. Baker, June 13, 1893, 
1894, 1900; M. J. Bunnell, 1895; Samuel Allen, 1897, 1898; M. E. 
Hillman, 1899. 



MISCELLANEOUS SOCIETIES 87 

The following' comrades have held the office of Senior Vice Com- 
mander: J. J. Gilder, 1881; Horace Wing, 1882, 1887, 1889, 1890, 
1891, 1892, 1893, 1896, 1898, 1899; A. W. Fielder, 1S83; George C. 
Stone, 1884; J. H. Baker, 1885; R. Cranmer, 1886; H. A. Fairchild, 
1888; C. P. Squires, 1894, 1895; M. E. Hillman, 1897; A. M. Plimp- 
ton, 1900. 

The present officers of the Post are: Oscar Woodruff, commander; 
A. M. Plimpton, senior vice commander; Charles INIcLaughlin, jun- 
ior vice commander; J. J. Bailey, quartermaster; H. A. Fairchild, 
adjutant; Geo. C. Stone, surgeon; J. H. Baker, chaplain; Wm. Kra- 
mer, officer of the day; Wm. Kidd, officer of the guard; Samuel 
Allen, quartermaster sergeant ; Conrad Kramer sergeant major. 

The death of Commander Sutfin in 1893 was another serious loss to 
the Post. He was ever zealous in good work and his interest in the 
Post was manifested on every possible occasion. 

The meetings of the Post are held on the second Tuesday evening 
of each month in the Odd Fellows' hall in the Maxwell Block. It has 
borne upon its rolls the names of 210 veterans and its present member- 
ship is 126. The most harmonious relations have always existed 
among the members, political or sectarian discussions have never 
been allowed, and its standing in the community as well as in Grand 
Army circles in the State speak well for its officers and members. 
It has a small amount of money in its treasury and during the more 
than twenty years of its existence it has expended approximately 
$5,000 for the relief of indigent soldiers and sailors, their widows and 
orphans. 

The author of this interesting history of the "boys in blue," is Mr. 
Oscar Woodruff", who has served three terms as commander of the Post 
and eleven terms as Adjutant. 

SOMS OF VETER^MS 

^^__^__^^_^ Thirteen young men patriotically inclined, met in 
[IJIIIMAiJ-.^^tiaiml the editorial rooms of the Dansville Express, Monday, 
June 1, 1885 and organized a branch of the Sons of 
Veterans. The following officers were mustered in 
the ensuing Thursday: Wiley Newton, commander; 
Frank Scheely, senior vice commander; Frank J. Al- 
verson, junior vice commander; Lester Brown, quarter 
master; Michael Rowan, surgeon; L. E. Tiffany, 
chaplain; George Bunnell, officer of the day; Chauncey 
Slayton, officer of the guard; Frank Brown, adjutant; 
A. L. Harter, inside sentinel; Hub McWhorter, Geo. 
R. Brown, A. L. Harter, council of administration. 

The Mark J. Bunnel Post, No. 36, Sons of Veterans, 
was changed to conform with the camp system, with 
impressive ceremony, December 18, 1890, when the 
following officers were installed: W. S. Oberdorf, 
commander; Edward T. Fairchild, senior vice commander; Geo. R. 
Brown, junior vice commander; N. W. Uhl, quartermaster; A. L. 
Van Valkenburg, officer of the day ; Hugh Campbell, officer of the 
guard; M. C. Harter, surgeon; H. McWhorter, chaplain. 




88 



ORGAXIZA TIOXS 



W. S. Oberdorf was elected Division Commander for the State of 
New York, June 1892, serving until June 18'J3. 

The present officers are as follows: H. McWhorter, captain; W. S. 
Oberdorf, 1st lieutenant; J. W. Ullyette, 2d lieutenant ; C. M. Kinne, 
chaplain; George R. Brown, 1st sergeant; N. W. Uhl, quartermaster 
sergeant; A. L. VanValkenburg, officer of the day; C. B. Kramer, 
corporal; R. J. Cranmer, camp guard; A. L. VanValkenburg, C. M. 
Kinne, P. M. Fairchild, camp council. 

Meetings are held the second Tuesday in each month at \'illage 
Hall. 

N. W. Uhl, who supplied the aljove information, has been a member 
fourteen years, and during that time has held the following offices: 1st 
lieutenant, 2d lieutenant, 1st sergeant, quartermaster sergeant and 
delegate, attending si.\ State Encampments. 

MUSICAL 




p. J. OBERDORF 



EJHILY BAMDS 

Mr. P. J. Oberdorf, for many years promin- 
ently identified with various musical or- 
ganizations in Dansville and who has fol- 
lowed music as a profession at Rochester, N. 
Y., since leaving this village, has kindly fur- 
nished the following sketch of the bands 
which existed here during the early days: 

"The first musical organization that I re- 
member, was the Canaseraga Cornet Band, 
organized in the early forties with Jack 
Brown as leader, assisted by M. T. Stout 
and John Brown, all of whom were consid- 
ered excellent musicians at that time. The 
personnel of the band, as I remember it, was Jack Brown, Charles 
Goodno, Edward Goodno, Joseph Welch, John Sheppard, John Brown, 
John Hood, Lansing Hall, Edward Tiffany, Dick Buck, M. T. Stout, 
Charles Dibble, Lucius Brown, fames Newton, Emerson Rogers. 
The band had a reputation throughout this part of the State that was 
second to none. They were attached to the Canaseraga Light In- 
fantry and escorted this organization wherever they went. About 
1857 or 1858, they engaged as leader, Alexander Scott, the founder of 
Scott's band of Rochester, who was at that time leader of the Great 
Western Band of Chicago. With Captain Scott as leader they were 
kept busy filling important engagements in many parts of this State 
and Canada. In 1861, when the 13th N. Y. Infantry was raised to 
go to the front, the band in part enlisted with the regiment. Those 
enlisting were: Alexander Scott, Edward Tiffany, Edward Goodno, 
James Scott, Theodore Wood, Robert Weisman, P. J. Oberdorf, Dick 
Buck, Charles Dibble, Dwight Hess, Lucius Brown, James Newton. 
The band was sworn into the service of the L^nited States for three 
months, at the expiration of which time they rettirned home never 



M/SCJiLLAXJiOUS SOC/ETJES 89 

again X.o be toyethcr as a band of the original members. John Brown, 
M. T. Stout, Charles and Edward tioodno, Lucius Brown, Lansing 
Hall, Joseph Welch, John Hood, John Sheppard, and Alexander 
Scott are known to be dead. 

A band of si.xteen players called the Dansville Cornet band was or- 
ganized in January, 18()7, but only living a short time. 

In May, 1869, A. W. Fielder, by the addition of new material to the 
few remaining members of the old Canaseraga Cornet band, succeeded 
in bringing forth an organization of musicians which won great favor 
at home and abroad. The personnel of this band was as follows: A. 
W. Fielder, A. J. Brown, Charles Goodno, C. C. Sedgwick, Henry 
Preston, George Croll, William Dick, Archie Lemen, Frank Bartz, 
Albert Gilman, G. Hood, Morgan Price, F. Fenstermacher, M. T. 
Stout, George Wheaton, Edward Tiffany, William Miller, Lucius 
Brown, John Reese, William Cogswell. During the time that Fielder's 
band was m existence, there was an effort made to reorganize the old 
Canaseraga Cornet Band and M. C. Sexton, an eminent musician from 
Bath, N. Y., was engaged as leader but the results were not what 
were anticipated. 

The next band to be organized in Dansville was under the direction 
of P. J. Oberdorf and commenced its wtirk in 1875. The members 
were Fred McArthur, Frank Adams, Nicholas Hubertus, Joseph 
Yochum, Clifford Artman, Daniel Burns, Joseph W. Burgess, George 
Wheaton, John Palmer, P. J. Oberdorf, M. T. Stout, Herman 
Wheaton, Charles Welch, William Prussia. This band arrived at 
quite a degree of proficiency and during the presidential campaign 
preceding the election of Rutherford B. Hayes, were kept especially 
busy, their services being in demand by the Republican, Democrat, 
and Greenback parties. At a band contest at Geneseo the first prize 
was awarded this band. They were also the first to introduce the 
weekly open air concerts which have since proved such an enjoyable 
feature of the summer season in Dansville. This brings us to the 
year 1884 since which time the writer has not been identified with the 
musical interests of Dansville." 

Nicholas Hubertus started a band in 1882 which played inter- 
mittently for about fourteen years. Among the members during the 
first few years were the following: Samuel Consalus, George Til- 
lotson, Nicholas Hubertus, Eugene Walters, Daniel Burns, Jacob 
Smith, John Sparks, Fay Rose, Jacob Huver, George Wheaton, 
Joseph Stiegler, Michael Carmody, M. T. Stout, Frank Mehlenbacher, 
John Yochum, Leo Hubertus, D. Swift, Albert Sweet, P. J. Coleman, 
David Sweet. For a year or two the reorganized Fielder band and 
the Hubertus band played in opposition to each other. 

The Breeze Piccolo Band, organized in 1886, by Joseph W. 
Burgess who became both instructor and sponsor, consisted of sixteen 
juveniles ranging in age from ten to fourteen years. Drums and pic- 
colos with an occasional triangle were the only instruments. During 
the three years before this band outgrew itself by losing its juvenile 
character, the following members participated: H. B. Hall, William 
Boyd, Harry Slate, Carl Stephan, Claud Stephan, Henry Toles, Henry 
Hubertus, James Bailey, Henry \"eith, Charles Gilder, George Lind- 
say, Robert Dyer, Dwight Bailey, William Miller, Samuel Allen, 




90 ORGANTZA TIONS 

Irving Hall. The uniqueness and excellence of this aggregation of 
musically-inclined youths, won great favor at home and considerable 
renown throughout all of New York state. Many flattering requests 
for their services were tendered them but the extreme youth of the 
musicians prevented their filling any but nearby engagements. 

THE CITIZENS BJIJ^B 

The Citizens band of Dansville was or- 
ganized November 17, 1896, with twenty- 
four charter members as follows: Edwin 
S. Whitehead, Pearl H. Cole, E. G. Weid- 
man, Fred E. Redmond, Charles Gilder, J. 
I>. Wellington, George Whitehead, H. C. 
Folts, H. B. Hall, J. A. Bailey, Will H. 
Fedder, Carl B. Kramer, C. M. Pierce, S. 
E. Wright, W. A. Smelcer, J. M. Snyder, 
Charles E. Merrill, George L. Hammond, 
Herbert A. Schwingle, W. S. Boyd, Daniel 
Fenstermacher, James F. Dieter, Irving 
Hall, and Sireno F. Adams. J. L. Wel- 
lington, H. B. Hall and Sireno Adams, 
were elected president, vice-president, and 
secretary and treasurer, respectively. J. A. Hill was instructor for 
two years and Leo Hubertus was instructor for the succeeding winter. 
Five hundred dollars was raised almost immediately among the citi- 
zens toward procuring the necessary equipment. Instruments were 
purchased of A. L. VanValkenburg and uniforms of Wm. Kramer & 
Son. The first public appearance was on May 30, 1897, when the band 
accompanied the G. A. R. veterans to Greenmount Cemetery. The 
first out of town engagement was to accompany the Rescue Hook & 
Ladder Co. of Bath to Hammondsport, N. Y. The band has since 
filled many important engagements at Buffalo, Rochester, Lima, 
LeRoy, Batavia and other places, creditably conducting themselves 
on each occasion. A local talent circus was held on the public square 
in June, 1897, to replenish the treasury of the organization, and 
proved unusually successful. Mr. George Whitehead, now with 
Dozenbach's Band of Rochester, was leader during the seasons 
of 1899 and 1900, and the band rapidly improved under his efficient 
leadership. Mr. Alonzo Jenks took charge of the band in May, 1901, 
and by painstaking effort and natural leader.ship has brought the or- 
ganization to a degree of perfection that has created much favorable 
comment at home and abroad. Mr. Jenks has had a wide experience 
in various bands and orchestras in Western New York also in New 
York City orchestras. He is a pupil of LaFrone Merriman, Mus. 
Dr. of Hornellsville, and of Herr Werner, a noted fiutist of New 
York. As a soloist on the flute and piccolo, Mr. Jenks's name on any 
program is a guarantee of pleasing entertainment. 

During the past season the following members have participated; 
Edwin S. Whitehead, Willard Morris, Charles Maybee, Pearl H. Cole, 
Fred E. Redmond, H. C. Folts, J. J. Rouse, Robert Foster, H. B. 
Hall, Niles Patterson, George Kramer, Charles Simons, Joe Werdein, 
Herman DeLong, Jr., George Whitehead, Willis Ellsworth, Daniel 
Fenstermacher, J. F. Dieter, Samuel Allen, Jr.. and F. E. Sprague. 



M ISC ELLA NEO US SOCIE TIES 



91 



BJiMSVILLE OIICHESTR^ 

In answer to the popular demand, an orchestra was organized dur- 
hig the fall of 1901, for the purpose of supplying music at receptions 
and at the theatre. So gratifying were the results of this combination 
of excellent talent that neighboring cities and villages sought the 
services of this orchestra, and engagements were repeatedly filled at 
Hornellsville, Geneseo, Mt. Morris, Canaseraga, Nunda, Craig Colony, 
Wayland, and the Jackson Sanatorium. The players and their instru- 
ments were as follows: Alonzo Jenks, (leader), flute; Willard Morris, 
violin; George Kramer, piano; Edwin Whitehead, cornet; Charles 
Maybe, clarinet; Carl Merriman, cello and drums. 

RECREATION 

D. H. S. BJISE BALL CLUB 

The Dansville Higii Schcjol Base Ball Team for the year 1901 was 
under the management of James M. Brogan, captained by Alexander 
L. Kenney, with Fred E. Clark as substitute. The team won nine 
otit of eleven games played during the season; many of the victories 
being gained against great odds, which reflects most favorably on the 




D. H. S. BASEBALL TEAM OF 1901 



skill of the players. The members of the team were as follows: 
Charles H. Nichols, catcher; Bernard McNeil, pitcher and third base; 
Fred E. Clark, first ba.se; John Berman, second base; Alexander Ken- 
ney, third base and pitcher; James D. Kennedy, short stop; Irving- 
Marble, right field ; Frank Zaffke, center field; Nicholas Noyes, left 
field: Ralph Hyde, substitute. 




D. H, S. FOOTBALL TLAM OF 1900 




D. H. S. FOOTBALL TEAM OF 1809 



J//.SY liLLA XEO US SOL //: TIES 



D. H. S. FOOT BALL CLUBS 



The High School of Dansville during the years '98- '99 and 1900, 
was the proud possessor of a most efficient team of foot ball players, 
meeting on the gridiron many strong opponents who almost invari- 
ably succumbed to the superior ability of the D. H. S. F. B. C. Dur- 
ing the year 1898, out of seven games played, only two were lost. The 
team of '99 scored 144 points, including twenty-six touchdowns, to 
their opponents twenty-five points. Only two out of the seven games 
played during 1900 were lost by the home team — a remarkable record 
considering the previous records of their opponents. 
The line up for the three years was as follows: 

98 99 1 900 

Centre F. Grant F. Grant F. Clark 

Left Guard C. Ross C. Ross C. Ross 

Right Guard F. Snyder F. Snyder J. Sanford 

Left Tackle J. Kennedv J. Kennedv R. Hyde 

Right Tackle O. Smalley O. Smalley O. Smalley 

Left End N. Noyes.' N. Noves N. Noyes 

Whitehead E. Whitehead. .E. Whitehead 

Bastian F. Bastian J. Kennedy 

Alexander T. Alexander. . .T. Alexander 

Kenney A. Kenney A^ Kenney 



Right End E. 

Quarter Back F. 

Left Half Back. . . .T. 
Right Half Back. .A. 



Full Back F. Zaffke. F. Zaffke F. Zaffke 

Substitute J. Noyes C. Nichols 

Substitute F. Lemen L Marble 

Captain F. Grant F. Grant F. Zaffke 

Manager F. B. Snyder H. W. DeLong, Jr. 



GUJ^ CLUB 

The Dansville Gun Club was organized January 12, 1898, at the of- 
fice of P. Hoffman with twenty-five charter members. The first of- 
ficers were: James Bryant, president; Herbert Miller, vice president; 




,=&iS<- 



DANSVILLE GUN CLUB SHOOTING GROUNDS 

P. H. Willey, secretary and treasurer; N. Tompkins, captain; J. C. 
Folts, J. A. Bailey, Daniel Fenstermacher, directors. The present of- 



94 



ORGANIZA TIONS 



ficers are: H. J. Miller, president; F. D. Knowlton, vice president ; 
Norman Tompkins, secretary; C. J. LaBoyteaux, treasurer; H. D. 
Rail, captain; Joseph Ott, J. C. Folts, Charles Eschrich, trustees. 

Meetings are held every month. Practice shoots are enjoyed at 
regular intervals while friendly contests with other clubs are of fre- 
quent occurrence and always add credit to the skill of members of the 
D. G. C. Near the Dansville Paper Mill the club has a fine gallery 
and equipment for wing shooting. The club anticipates stocking 
the covers in this vicinity with imported quail. 

One of the several predecessors of the present Gun Club and proba- 
bly the most important of the many of years past, was the "Dansville 
Sportsmen's Association," organized May 7, 1875. There were fifteen 
charter members with the following officers: Henry J. Faulkner, 
president; John Hyland, vice president; F. J. Robbins, secretary and 
treasurer. The association has a recorded existence of only six years, 
the name of B. H. Oberdorf, secretary, being attached to the last in- 
sertion in the record book. 

BRME BUliN GOLF CLUB 

The "Brae Burn Links" were established in the Spring of 1900 by 
the Jackson Sanatorium in its corporate capacity. This beautiful 
golfing ground is located in the southwestern part of the village, near 
the Dansville paper-mill. Exceptionally well adapted for the purpose, 
with its many natural hazards, good shade and fine club-house, these 
links are sure to please the most enthusiastic devotee of the sport. 



1 _ 






1^\ 


Wf^^M^ 


■ •'^ - 


■ 



BRAE BURN LINKS GOLF CLUB HOUSE 



Tournaments are held at regular intervals and have brought forth a 
number of fine scores, which have fully demonstrated the expertness 
of local players. Dr. John W. Craig of the Sanatorium medical staff 
won the first cup, which was offered by guests Mr. and Mrs. E. B. 
Talcott. At a meeting of the golf enthusiasts, held Monday evening 



M ISC ELLA NEO US SOCIE TIES 95 

March 7, 1902, it was decided to organize and incorporate the Brae 
Burn Golf Club of Dansville, N. Y. The following were named as in- 
corporators: Dr. James H. Jackson, Dr. Walter E. Gregory, Dr. J. 
Arthur Jackson, Dr. James E. Crisfield, Bernard H. Oberdorf, Charles 
H. Rowe, Jansen Noyes. Charles H. Rowe was given the authority 
to take necessary steps for incorporating the organization under the 
laws of the State of New York. 

We are indebted to Dr. Walter E. Gregory for the information 
herein contained. 

^^ 

UNIONS 

G. C. N. U. 

Dansville Branch of Granite Cutters' National Union was organized 
vSeptember 1, 1899. The purpose of the Union is to advance the inter- 
ests of the members by fraternal, social, and beneficial methods, and 
by encouraging greater skill in their particular craft. The first offi- 
cers were: Patrick Daly, president; George Morgan, vice president; 
Albert Marx, secretary; George Burrell, shop steward. There are 
thirty members at present and a large fund in the treasury. 

The present officers are: George Burrell, president; Patrick Daly, 
vice president; Charles Baird, secretary; Ernest Freiberg, treasurer; 
Charles Kilburn, shop steward. 

Meetings are held the third Thursdays in each month at K. O. T. 
M. hall. 

Charles Baird, who is the authority for the above statements, has 
been a member of the National Union for eleven years, and has served 
many different branches as secretary. 

C. M. N. U. NO. 119. 

Branch No. 119, of the Cigar Makers' National Union, was organ- 
ized at Cohocton, N. Y. in 1881, and transferred to Dansville in lS8f). 
The following named members and officers constitute this Branch: 
Matt Cook, president; J. A. Wirth, secretary and treasurer ; Matt 
Cook, Frank Schwan, Charles Simons, John Pruner, J. N. vStadler, 
J. J. Yochum and William F. Vieth, finance committee. 

J. A. Wirth, who sujpplied the above information, has been a mem- 
ber seven years and secretar}' since 189'). 

D. 6rM. B. <Sr P. U. NO. 70. 

Dansville and Mt. Morris, Bricklayers and Plasterers Union No. 70, 
was organized at Mt. Morris, N. Y. in 1890. Patrick Morgan of 
Dansville, N. Y., acted as president the first nine years. There are 
twenty-three active members at present, with following officers: 
George Hulbert, president; James Gerry, corresponding secretary and 
treasurer, both of Mt. Morris, N. Y. The Dansville members are 
John Middleton, James Welch and Peter Sauerbier. 

John Middleton, who supplied the above information, has been a 
member since its organization. 



I Local Industries 1 




TKe Jackson Sanatorium 

W~~ ^^BBH This Institution has been for forty-four years 

I ■ -iUWBBDEBttlHll one of the leading features in the life, both busi- 
ness and social, of Dansville. Space does not per- 
mit giving in extended form a history of the 
growth, development and work of this establish- 
ment, hence rather a sketchy, or outline, state- 
ment of the facts will be attempted. 

The history of the Institution dates from the 
year 1852, when Nathaniel Bingham, who was 
more or less oi an invalid and who became interested in the growing 
Water Cure practice, but lately introduced from Germany, thought it 
would be a good idea to have a little Water Cure at Dansville. These 
Institutions were starting up all through the country and were very 
successful in the cure of chronic diseases and were attracting a great 
deal of attention, and as they were Waaler Cures they were founded in 
proximity to some noted spring. The spring on the east hillside, 
now known as the All-Healing Spring, which burst out one night, 
years ago, carrying away rocks and trees and earth, and which has 
been running ever since, was thought to possess curative qualities of 
value, which was true. 

Mr. Bingham associated with himself Mr. Lyman Granger, and the 
Institution was completed in its first form and ready for occupancy in 
1853. Meantime ^Ir. Bingham's health continued to fail; Mr. Gran- 
ger thought he would withdraw also from the enterprise so they both 
sold their interests to Abraham Pennell, at that time a resident of 
Richmond, Ontario Co., who had a son-in-law (Dr. Stevens) who was 
anxious to establish in the Water Cure practice. Dr. vStevens opened 
the Institution but carried it on for only a short time. The building 
was closed then for a year when a Dr. Blackall, a physician of New 
York City, assumed charge and carried the Cure on for some time. 
Not succeeding to his desire, he forsook the enterprise and nothing- 
more was done until the year 1858 when Dr. James Caleb Jackson, 
who had been physician in a similar Institution in Cilen Haven, Cay- 
uga county, N. Y., and who had been induced by Mr. Pennell to visit 
Dansville and look over the property in the hope that he might, by 
reason of his extensive acquaintance with water cure people, find some 
one to purchase the same, was so attracted by the character of the 
spring and the wonderful beauty of the situation and the possibilities 
for the future, that he entered into an arrangement to lease the prop- 
erty for three years, with the privilege of buying at a stipulated sum 
within that period. 

On the 1st day of October, 1858, Dr. Jackson and his party of help- 
ers, arrived in Dansville and was landed by Captain Henry, who then 



99 



102 LTS/X/iSS 

was the proprietor of the stage line between Wayland and Dansville, 
at the head of William street, just at the foot of the hill beneath the 
Institution, there being no road to the same. 

Dr. Jackson was not a man of capital, but a man of ideas and great 
force of character, and had a large clientage, by reason of his great 
success as a water cure physician during the time he had practiced at 
Glen Haven. His eldest son, Giles E. Jackson, his adopted daughter. 
Dr. Harriet N. Austin, and a good friend, F. Wilson Hurd, who 
afterwards became a physician, were the original proprietors. As a 
matter of interest, the capital with which the Institution was started 
was $751.) the partners being equally interested. From this small 
beginning the Institution has grown to its present proportions. The 
first business organization, established in October, 1848, was known 
as F. Wilson Hurd & Co. (iiles E. Jackson, the eldest son of Dr. 
James Caleb Jackson, was the business manager. The immediate 
members of Dr. Jackson's family were, his wife, Lucretia E. Jackson, 
Giles E. his eldest, and James H. his youngest son. 

The Institution grew and thrived greatly, so that by the time the 
winter set in Dr. Jackson had fifty patients under his care, and Dans- 
ville was gratified at the success of its Water Cure. Every year saw 
large additions and betterments in every way, made to the Institution. 
Liberty Hall was built in 18()4, being planned and its construction 
supervised by Giles E. Jackson. It was built by Alonzo Phillipi, a 
builder of Dansville, as the contractor. The original plot of laniWiii)- 
on which the building was erected or connected with the same, was 
bought of Peter Ferine and consisted of thirteen acres. Nearly all the 
land which is connected with the Institution was bought from time to 
time of Peter Ferine. 

The death of (xiles E. Jackson of consumption, a disease which he 
had been fighting for nine years, in June 1864, compelled a dissolution 
of the partnership, and his mother, Lucretia E. Jackson, and his 
younger brother, James H. Jackson, inherited his share, and a new 
co-partnership was made under the firm name of Austin, Hurd & Co., 
Dr. Austin owning one-third,. Dr. Hurd one-third and Mrs. Lucretia 
E. and James H. Jackson, owning one-sixth each. The Institution 
grew and flourished in every way and came to be a power in the town 
and county and country. Dr. Hurd sold his interest in 1868 to the 
other partners and the new partnership was entitled Austin, Jackson 
& Co. Under this title the business was carried on until 1872, when 
a stock company was organized with a capital of $100, ()0t), of which 
only eight hundred shares were issued. ^leantime something like ten 
or twelve cottages had been built around the Institution and it had 
grown to proportions enabling it to accomodate three hundred people' 
and had a national reputation, indeed even at the breaking out of the 
war, there was represented in it by guests every state and territory of 
the L'J^nion at that time, and in acldition Canada and the West Indies. 

In 1870 the building on the corner of William and Health streets, 
originally built by Mr. Henry Brewster and Captain Henry, and used 
as a hotel and boarding house in connection with Our Home on the 
Hillside — which was the title of the Water Cure — was bought by Aus- 
tin, Jackson & Co. and was occupied from that time until January of 
1901 by the members of the Jackson family. 















DR. JAMES H. JACKSON 









LOCAL /X/y['STRLES 105 

At the death of Giles \i. Jackson, James H. Jaekson became the 
business manager of tiie Institution. He married in lSf)4 Miss Kath- 
arine Johnson, a daughter of Ilnn. Emerson Johnson, at that time 
living in Sturbridge, JIass. Jlr. [ohnson came to live with his son- 
in-law in lSf)6 and was an important factor in the business aftairs of 
the Institution from that time until the date of his death, ]\Iay 2, 
1896. He was a man of sterling character and of large ability and 
was known all through the country as a very important factor in the 
business success of the Institution. 

On the evening of June 26, 1882 at the high water mark of its suc- 
cess, from a business point of view, and of its reputation as a health 
resort, the main liuilding of the Institution burned. There was no 
loss of life but great loss of property on the part of the stockholders 
and by the guests. The cottages were left. Liberty Hall was left. 
Dr. James Caleb Jackson at that time had practically retired from 
personal management of the Institution. He was at that time seven- 
ty-one years of age, and in his usual mental vigor but feeble in bodily- 
health, and he had not been for some four or five years very active in 
the management of the Institution. James H. Jackson and his wife, 
Kate J. Jackson, had grailuated as physicians in 187() anil 1877 and had 
been practically at the head of the Institution: Dr. James H. Jackson 
continued always to be the business manager (jf it. After the fire, 
however, a new business combination was made as follows. It was 
decided to go on with the work on the Hillside, and it was thought 
that an opportunity e.xisted for one of the finest public health institu- 
tions in the w(M-ld, and Dr. James H. Jackson and Dr. Kate J. Jack- 
son, his wife, with their usual courage, accepted the situation and 
made a new combination. Dr. Jackson bought in the outside stock 
until he became the owner of the whole eight hundred shares. He 
then disposed of thirty shares of the same to his three cousins. Dr. E. 
D. Leffingwell, Dr. Albert Leffingwell and William E. Leffingwell, 
these gentlemen being sons of Dr. James Caleb Jack.son's only sister, 
Jane E. Lefifingwell. They were all well educated and talented men 
and it was thought that this combination would prove a very strong 
one, as indeed it did. These gentlemen furnished $20,000 worth of 
added capital, making the sum total of the issued shares $100,000. 
$100,01)0 of cash was borrowed on first mortgage and Dr. James H. 
Jackson, putting all the property left after the iire and the insurance 
money and much of his private means into the enterprise, made it 
possible to build the magnificent, fire-proof main building, which has 
stood since it was completed October 1, 1883, as a monument to the 
enterprise and dauntless energy of its projectors and to the ideas and 
methods promulgated by the Institution as well as the value of Dans- 
ville as a Health Resort. 

The new building was built by Frederich & Son of Rochester, con- 
tractors. The foundations were laid to grade b\' the Sanatorium or- 
ganization. It must be understood that at this time the name of the 
Institution was changed from Our Home on the Hillside to "The San- 
atorium." Dr. James H. Jackson being the first one in this country to 
use the word "Sanatorium" as applied to a health institution; a word 
which has since been recognized as the proper one, rather than the 
word "Sanitarium," which means a healthful locality or tract of 
country. 



LOCAL LNDUSTRLES 10') 

The first brick of the new builtling was laid on the southwest corner 
of the stone foundation on the first of October, 1882, and the building 
was occupied, dinner and baths furnished to the guests, on the first 
day of October, 1883. 

This building was the first fire-proof structure ever built in the 
United States, outside of a city, for purposes of a Health Institution, 
or, it is thought, for any purpose, unless perhaps a county clerk's of- 
fice or some business man's vault or hall of records. The architects 
of this Institution were Messrs. Warner & Brockett, who designed the 
Powers Block and Powers Hotel in Rochester. 

In the new combination Dr. William E. Lefifingwell was business 
manager, Dr. James H. Jackson, Dr. Kate J. Jackson, Dr. Elisha D. 
Leffingweil and" Dr. Albert Leffingwell were managing physicians. 

The main building of the Institution, when the steam heating and 
plumbing were completed, had cost $180,000, so that by the date the 
Institution went into operation, it, with its furnishings, made a 
pretty heavy financial investment; indeed there was a debt upon it of 
$200,000. This amount, with the insurance money and the capital 
put in it by the Leffingwells, represented the practical cost of the In- 
stitution when it was ready to do business in October of 1883. 

In lS8f> Mr. William E. Leffingwell sold his interest to his brothers; 
in 1887 Dr. E. D. Leffingwell sold his interest to Dr. Albert Leffing- 
well, and in 1888 Dr. Albert Leffingwell sold his interest to Dr. James H. 
Jackson who associated with himself as trustees and managers. Dr. 
Walter E. Gregory, and Mrs. Helen D. Gregory, his wife. Dr. 
Gregory had been for years a superintendent in the Institution and 
had graduated in medicine. Mrs. Gregory had been cashier of the 
Institution from 1882, and Dr. James H. Jackson associated them in 
the enterprise when the Leffingwells sold their interest. 

On May 4, 1868, there was born to Dr. James H. Jackson and Kate 
J. Jackson a son, who was named James Arthur Jackson, after his 
father and his mother's brother. This lad grew and prospered and 
was early introduced into the business and learned it thoroughly 
from its least to its greatest interests and departments. He grad- 
uated in medicine in 1895 and became a physician and business 
manager in association with his father and Dr. and Mrs. Gregory in 
that year, his father retiring practically from the details of the busi- 
ness management. 

In the year 1890, the old stock company, known as Our Home 
Hygienic Institute of Dansville, New York, was sold to a new cor- 
poration known as The Jackson Sanatorium, and Dr. James Arthur 
Jackson became an owner, Mrs. Gregory retiring from ownership, 
but retaining her office as cashier and treasurer. 

Dr. James Caleb Jackson lived to be within his 85th year, dying on 
the 11th day of June, 1895. He lived to see the Institution which he 
organized, so to speak out of nothing, beginning in the smallest way, 
take its place in the front rank of the Health Institutions of the coun- 
try, with a world-wide reputation. He lived to see the ideas, to 
represent and io promulgate which the Institution was established, ac- 
cepted and cherished and adopted by thousands of people in whose 
families his name is a household word. 



L OCA L IND I 'S TRIES 



111 



Our Home Granula. Co. 

Granula was perfected slowly by one of the most discerning and pro- 
gressive men of his time in matters pertaining to the preservation of 
health and cure of disease. The experiments were begun at (ilen 
Haven by Dr. James C. Jacks<jn before he came to Dansville and founded 
the great health institution on the hillside, nearly forty years ago. Here 
they were continued, and here he found the unequalled white winter 
wheat of the (iencsee Valley essential to the[perfection of the food, and 
here, after a few years, when his patients and guests and the ten thousand 
copies of his health magazine had created a far-reaching demand, he 
introduced the necessary machinery for its rapid manufacture. 




OUK HOME GRANL'LA COMPANY BUILDING 

The production and sale of Granula soon became an important in- 
dustry at Our Home on the Hillside, surpassing the most sanguine 
expectations of its distinguished inventor. It had become almost un- 
wieldly, in connection with the care of multiplying patients, at the 
time of the fire of 1882 which destroyed the old wood building, and 
therefore when the new fire-proof building was going up the exclusive 
right to manufacture the food was sold to Our Home Granula Com- 
pany, which with better facilities in a new brick building has de- 
veloped the business until its market extends to all the states and 
nearly every civilized nation. 



112 7WS/NESS 

Perhaps there is no other product that more successfully advertises 
itself. Rarely does a family begin using it without making it a per- 
manent household food and recommending it to neighbors and distant 
friends. 

Granula was the pioneer health food, and according to uncounted 
testimonials is the best — the most delicious, nutritious and easily 
digested. 

Dr. James H. Jackson, the head of the new Sanatorium, who has 
been familiar with Gkaxcla from the beginning, and is one of high- 
est authorities regarding foods, has said that there is no other food in 
the world which so fully meets all the requirements of rightly pro- 
portioned nutritious constituents, good digestion, quick assimilation 
and agreeable taste as Granula, the second cooking of its manufacture 
being equivalent to a partial digestion before it enters the stomach. 

No other health food is so suitable for nursing mothers and young 
children, as well as the average man, and no other produces such 
tonic and curative effects upon the sick, the feeble, and the aged. 
Nor is there any other which, kept in a dry place, will retain its 
original wholesomeness so long. 

The virtues of Granula have made it so popular that various im- 
itations of its name and properties have been attempted, but every 
one of them is inferior, both in taste and quality, and should be dis- 
carded wherever Granula can be obtained, which may always be 
distinguished in the package by its trade mark. 

Granula remains and will remain the superior food, and it is one of 
the distinctions of Dansville that it was perfected here and continues 
to be made here. 

SOMO 

A few years ago Our Home (iranula Company, taking into account 
the excessive use of tea and coffee and their damaging effects upon 
many constitutions, decided to prepare a substitute for those exciting- 
beverages which should correspond in value as a drink to their 
Granula as a food. To this end they procured some of the best 
American grains, and caused a series of comparative scientific exper- 
iments to be made with them. The final result was satisfactory. By 
using exact proportions of certain grains in combination they ob- 
tained a substance imm which could be made an inexpensive warm 
drink as gratifying as coffee, closel}' resembling it in taste, and free 
from any of its injurious properties. It is a tonic, stimulating and 
invigorating, and as a table drink at meals supplies a long-felt want. 

SoMO is the appropriate name for this new and satisfying drink. 
There was a quick demand for it from the families who used Granula, 
and its popularity has steadily widened and strengthened without the 
aid of sensational advertising. 

"Eat Gran'ula, Drink Somo," is the mcjtto on the trade mark 
design of the manufacturers, and it is worth rem'embering and testing. 

Ask your grocer for Granula to eat and Somo to drink, and if he 
does not keep them write to the makers. 

Our Home Granula Co., 

Dansville, M. Y. 



LOCAL LXnCSTRIES 113 

R.eadsl\a>v's Forest Mills 

Readshaw's Forest Mills produce the best food substances in the 
world. It is in the brains and blood of the Readshaws to take the lead 
and keep it as progressive millers; for they are descended from a long 
line of skilled ancestors who were at the head of their craft on the 
Green Isle across the ocean, procured royal leases of lands, water 
rights and mills, and supplied both nobility and peasantry with the 
powdery constituents for their most wholesome food — the choicest 
grindings in the United Kingdom. 

Successive generations of Readshaws kept the business continuous 
in the family line, and valuable secrets of manufacture and selection 
were handed down from father to son. 

At last a Readshaw miller emigrated to America, and thus it came 
about that Benjamin F. Readshaw at the age of eighteen step])ed into 
Harvey Ely's popular flouring mill in Rochester as its head miller, 
and retained the position as long as he pleased. Every best process 
then known for making grain into flour and meal was as familiar to 
him as his ABC. After a time the beauty and promise of Dansville 
up the valley attracted him. He came here in 1840 and in partner- 
ship with John C. Williams leased the Opp mill at the upper end of 
the village, and there ground grists that pleased their many custom- 
ers for three years. Benjamin F. Readshaw and J. C. Williams were 
the first millers in Dansville to grind flour for shipment to the outside 
trade. At the expiration of their lease Mr. Readshaw returned to 
Rochester, married there and remained until 1846, when he returned 
to Dansville and purchased the Opp Mill that he leased before, and 
became a permanent, useful and popular citizen of the thriving village. 
In December of that year another miller was born in the Readshaw 
home. This was E. H. Readshaw, now very much in evidence in 
Dansville and elsewhere as a maker of the best flours and meals from 
the best grains. The father made his mill famous as the the pioneer 
manufacturer of the genuine Graham flour, and his imitators in this 
direction have never been able to reach his standard of quality. In 
his mill, known then as the Opp Mill or the Farmers' Mill, he was 
quick to start new processes and bring out new products; and he 
adopted the name of Forest ilills as a trade mark to distinguish his 
products from those of other mills which might try to imitate them. 
Other grindings came from his mill from time to time, some of which 
are now included in the list of choice specialties advertised by his son 
and successor. 

Dr. James C. Jackson appeared in Dansville in 1858 and started his 
great health institution on the hillside. His eyes were open to per- 
ceive the things around him which were most needed, and after test- 
ing Mr. Readshaw's products he e.xclaimed ''Eureka!" 

It was the combined skill of these two men, each remarkable in his 
own line of investigation, that made the tables of "Our Home on the 
Hillside" famous so early for their new and delicious grain foods, 
which went a long way towards ridding the incoming patients of their 
ailments and morbid feelings — Mr. Readshaw furnishing the essential 
constituents and Dr. Jackson's helpers under his directions, trans- 
forming them into palatable dishes easy to digest and assimilate, and 




-^ - 



•_ 


^ 


^_ 
















G 


• " 






"o 






X 


Ul 






■*-• 


OJ 



116 BrS/NESS 

potent to purify the blood, clarify the brain, and tone up the whole 
body. From the first year of the original "Home" to this year of the 
imposing Jackson Sanatorium, which evolved from it as naturally as 
the flower evolves from the bud, the grindings for that splendid insti- 
tution have been obtained from the Forest Mills of the Dansville 
Readshaws. 

When E. H. Readshaw took his lamented father's place, processes 
were further improved and other specialties invented. The business 
became too large to manage in the original mill, and in 1889 was 
moved into the "Stone Mill" which after a few years was also found 
to be too small, and left behind for better and more spacious quarters 
in 1896. 

E. H. Readshaw then purchased the three-story brick school build- 
ing 45 by 60 feet, with high basement, on Ossian street, that he might 
have room enough to carry out his ideas of better appliances and re- 
sults. He furnished it with every convenience for perfect manufac- 
ture and quick shipment with a minimum of labor, erected a separate 
building for a fifty horsepower engine, and as soon as possible estab- 
lished himself in the midst of these greatly improved conditions. The 
three-story building has the best obtainable stones, rollers, lifts, puri- 
fiers and other mechanical requirements for the production of the un- 
equaled Readshaw specialties. The complicated machinery runs as 
smoothly as clock work and produces food substances from the various 
grains, with every foreign substance eliminated, which are a joy to 
every household where they are used. 

The standard grain is the Genesee Valley white winter wheat, pre-em- 
inent among the grains of the whole world in the quality and proportions 
of its concentrated food values. It is richer in phosphates, nitrates, 
gluten and other nutritious and health-giving elements than any other 
kind of grain not only, but any other wheat, not excepting the famous 
wheats of the prairied West. The Sanatorium scientists have experi- 
mented enough with different grains to endorse this statement with- 
out hesitation. 

No wonder, therefore, that E. H. Readshaw and his son, Benjamin (t. 
Readshaw, now associated with him, have a demand for their ground 
and packed specialties from all over the United vStates and Canada, 
and also from the West Indies and the countries across the seas. Their 
Forest Mills are cosmopolitan mills because they are located where 
the best grains are grown, and these are reduced by the most approved 
processes under the supervision of men with inventive minds, who be- 
lieve in practical progress all the while. 

Here is a list of specialties produced at Readshaw's Forest Mills: 
Graham Flour (pure wheat meal), Entire Wheat Flour, Complete 
Flour, Grana (granulated wheat). Dyspeptic Flour (light gluten), Di- 
abetic Flour (dark gluten). Broken Wheat, Rye Meal, Rye Flour, 
Buckwheat Flour. Also Winter Wheat Patents, Winter Wheat 
Straights, All Full Roller Flours. 

The quality of every product is guaranteed, and Mr. Readshaw will 
furnish price lists and descriptive booklet containing testimonials and 
valuable recipes to anyone asking for them, 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 117 

Dansville Hospital 

The Dansville Hospital is an institution combining all the advan- 
tages of a Public Hospital and Private Sanitarium, where both medi- 
cal and surgical cases are treated. It is located in Dansville, Living- 
ston County, New York, at the southern end of the famed Genesee 
Valley, the garden of Western New York. The Hospital is a three- 
story brick building with a frontage of one hundred feet and a depth 
of sixty feet. It stands near the foot of the slope of East hill facing 
west, commanding a fine view of village and valley. The building is 
in the midst of a park of five acres with avenues of handsome maples 
and other shade trees. The climate of the valley is mild and invig- 
orating, and the entire region is noted for its healthfulness. 

The interior of the building is handsomely finished and furnished. 
The ceilings are high and the rooms are well lighted and thoroughly 
ventilated. There are pleasant prospects from every window. A 
wide sweep of country including the mountain ranges, can be taken 
in from the observatory on the roof. 

On the first floor there is a spacious entrance hall, with a reception 
room at one side in front and office on the other side; in the rear a 
pharmacy and a men's bath room. At the south end of the transverse 
hall is a commodious dining room and serving room, at the north end 
a large ward capable of accommodating twenty-five persons. 

The second floor contains a fine operating room with all the appli- 
ances of modern surgery, medical and surgical rooms, wards and pri- 
vate rooms for women, and a women's bath room. 

On the third floor are private rooms and rooms en suite for patients 
and their friends. 

In addition to the well equipped operating room and the latest im- 
proved instruments, there is a hot air apparatus very useful in the 
treatment of certain diseases in which the waste products of the sys- 
tem can be eliminated by the skin. There is also a twelve plate 
Morton-Wimshurst-Holtz Static machine, and an X-Ray outfit in use 
both as a means of diagncjsis and for the treatment of cancer, lupus, 
tubercular glands, etc. Many victims of cancer who suffer and 
languish in their own homes, a source of great care and solicitude on 
the part of their friends who are helpless to give them relief, are skill- 
fully treated here by the X-Rays and made comfortable without pain. 
The disease by this'treatment can be arrested and occasionally cured. 
A separate ward is given to such cases. 

Special attention is given to the treatment of nervous diseases, par- 
ticularly neurasthenia and locomotor ata.xia. Massage and hydro- 
therapy are used in suitable cases. 

In the quiet and homelike atmosphere of the Hospital and with ex- 
perienced nurses, maternity cases can often be more safely and suc- 
cessfully treated than in the homes of the patients. 

In addition to the large and competent local staff, and regularly 
graduated nurses, some of the best consulting physicians and surgeons 
of Rochester and Buffalo and other cities promptly respond to call. 
A peculiar and specially noteworthy advantage of the Dansville 
Hospital is, that patients can have their own family physicians and 
surgeons attend them and all the appliances of surgery and medicine 



LOCAf. fXnCSTRrES 119 

ami nursing are at their service. Provision may also be made tVir 
friends of patients who wish to accompany them. 

In addition to the advantages of recuperative conditions inside the 
walls of the Hospital, the outside surroundings are most attractive 
and health-giving to the convalescing patient according to his 
strength. The park in which the building is located invites him to 
try the outdoor air, and if he can ride there are numerous charming 
drives near, by the smooth country roads, through winding ways be- 
tween high walls of rock fringed with shrubbery, and into glens, or 
along mountain roads overlooking fascinating panoramas of valley 
fields of nursery trees and grain and corn and grass; farther away 
beautiful Conesus lake dotted with boats and surrounded by beautiful 
cottages. A more delightful region for short drives or extended ex- 
cursions can hardly be imagined. All Nature seems here to join with 
the Hospital in promoting the restoration to complete health of the 
sick and worn-out, or the victims of accident. World-wide travelers 
have enthusiastically declared that they have never seen in all their 
wanderings so beautiful a valley as the one in which nestles the vil- 
lage of Dansville. The village has many handsome private and pub- 
lic buildings and parks, churches and sch(jols. 

^luch quiet, effective work has already been done and is now doing 
at the Dansville Hospital, which gives cordial invitation to pliysicians 
and patients everywhere to test its merits. 

Terms are $10 to $25 a week, which include room and board, sur- 
gical and medical treatment and supplies and nursing — according to 
room and condition. This is less than it often costs to be cared for 
at home, and insures skillful treatment and care at all hours of the day 
and night. A church or society can provide for a bed for a member 
at a most reasonable price. 

Consulting physicians and surgeons are Dr. John Parmenter, 399 
Franklin street,' Buffalo, N. Y. :"Dr. M. A. Crockett, 452 Franklin 
street, Buffalo. N. Y. ; Dr. William B. Jones, 215 Lake avenue, Roch- 
ester, N. Y. ; Dr. George H. Ahlers, Pittsburg, Pa. ; Dr. Wm. C. 
Phelps, 146 Allen street, Buffalo. N. Y. ; Dr. Edward Clark, S()(, Elli- 
ci;)tt square, Buffalo, N. Y. ; Dr. Al. Benedict, 174 Franklin street, 
Buffalo, N. Y. ; Dr. F. B. Willard, 334 Potomac avenue, Buffalo, N. 
Y, ; Dr. E. Wood Ruggles, 204 Alexander street, Rochester, N. Y. ; 
Dr. Henry Koch, 19 Cumberland street, Rochester, N. Y. 

Local consulting physicians and surgeons, Dansville, N. Y., are Dr. 
B. P. Andrews, 109 Main street; Dr. James E. Crisfield, 138 Main 
street; Dr. Frederick R. Driesbach, 100 Main street; Dr. Francis M. 
Perine, 218 Main street: Dr. Charles Y. Patchin, 06 Elizabeth street; 
Dr. \N. B. Preston, 48 Elizalieth street; Dr. Ella F. Preston, 48 Eliz- 
abeth street. Robert Sinclair, superintendent. The matron and 
nurses are regular graduates. 

Tile builtlinj; occupied as a hospital was built in 1860 under the auspices of 
the Methodist (ienesee conference for educational purposes under the name of 
Dansville Seminary, and as such became widely and favorably known. It was 
also used as the starting place for the Dansville Union school from 1883 until 
the completion of the new Union school building in 1888. The building with 
its fine grounds was purchased about eleven years ago by Dr. George H. 
Ahlers of Pittsburg, Pa., and opened as a hospital in January, 1900. 



LOCAL ixnrsrRiiis 



121 




LACKAWANNA STATION 



THe L/acKawanna R.ailroad 

Four hundred feet above the level of the valley and only midway 
up the side of a precipitous hill, the Lackawanna winds its way for 
many miles east and west of Dansville station. The wonderful feat 
of engineering construction which placed this territory on the main 
line of this road, not only opened up a country rich in natural re- 
sources but one resplendent in magnificent scenery. Looking from 
the car window out over Dansville, one can scarcely resist an exclama- 
tion of delight. From hill to hill the village stretches directly away 
for two miles; the surrounding hills converging at the southwest 
form a precipitous ravine, and diverging at the northwest, the valley 
becomes a fertile plain, a spur of the famous Genesee. Watered by 
many streams with numerous tributaries the surrounding country 
glories in lu.xuriant vegetation, cultivated so well that the casual ob- 
server gazes apparently u[)on a landscape garden of marvelous pro- 
])ortions. 

The historical relations of the Lackawanna and L)ansville are given 
in the general history under the chapter on Canals and Railroads. 
The purpose of the sketch is to give further evidence by fact and 
figures of the value of their association and thereby to acquaint the 
uninitiated with the importance of local transportation facilities. 

For twenty years the company has been represented in Dansville, 
by Charles A. Snyder, whose careful regard for the interests of his 



122 



/.TS/X/^SS 



employers and his courteous treatment of all patrons of the road, have 
been important factors in maintaining the amicable relations that 
have always existed between this corporation and the inhabitants of 
this and adjoining communities. The passenger depot is a two-story 
structure of commodious size, containing every modern convenience. 
All the buildings composing this station were entirely destroyed by 
fire in 1898 and were replaced by the handsome ones here illustrated 
in 18')9. During the past year (I'tOl) tickets were sold at the local office 




CULBERTSON'S GLEN BRIDGE 



amounting in round numbers to $26,893.38. Three thousand tons of 
freight were billed and 18, (KK) tons received. These figures show a 
large gain over corresponding ones of any previous year and best 
illustrate the growing popularity of the Lackawanna, and its effect on 
the community. Two miles to the east there is under way one of the 
most daring feats of engineering construction ever attempted. Here 
a deep and wide ravine is spanned by a mammoth steel structure 
which, proving inadequate to support the largest engines, is being 
rapidly replaced by a bridge of earth to contain (i(l(l,(M)U tons of soil 
and rock, covering a culvert 34().\16 feet in size, and the bridge itself 
over 530 feet from end to end. This will be accomplished at a cost of 
half a million dollars, but will be an improvement that will last for- 
ever. Four miles to the west a similiar undertaking is being accom- 
plished so that the heavy grade extending sixteen miles, from Grove- 



I. OCA I. IXD I 'S TRIES 



123 



land to Piirtway, may have the advantage of the most powerful mo- 
tive power, and thereby overcome to a material degree, the imped- 
iment to traffic, caused by the gradual elevation of the road bed for 
so long a distance. 

Mr. T. W. Lee, General Passenger Agent of the Lackawanna for 
Western Xew York, is an occasional visitor to Dansville. whose com- 




X 




CHARLES A. SNYDER 



ing is lo(.)ked forward to with pleasure by his many friends in this 
locality. A just arbiter of grievances and an able executive, few who 
come under the sphere of his influence can fail to be impressed with 
the justice of his decisions and the value of his methods. Mr. Burch 
has for ten years been in charge of the receipts and prompt shi])ment 
of all freight and baggage at this station. Mr. Cross since 1SS2 has 
been the intermediary for the cash of the public and the comj^any's 
guarantees for transportationn, and the efficient telegrapher as well. 
The history of the Lackawanna as exemplified in Dansville is 
paralleled in hundreds of other places, causing the whole story to read 
like a romance but one, however, that has a substantial culmination. 



J 




LOCAL /XDlSTRfES 125 

Vai\ Valkeiibtirgf's Music House 

"Music is the art of the prophets, the only art that can cahn the 
agitation of the soul ; it is one of the most delightful presents God 
has given us." To the untutored ear the harmonious blending of 
pleasing soimds is an indescribable delight; to the cultured performer 
it becomes a source of e\-erlasting pleasure and comfort. A taste for 
music, inherent in many, is, in the majority of cases, acquired under 
judicious instruction. Never, however, is adaptability for the art 
manifested without the aid of a good instrument, which is an inspira- 
tion in itself. The prospective purchaser is seldom a capable judge of 
quality or tone and for this reason should intrust the fulfillment of 
his desires to a specialist. Dansville is called a musical village, for 
few communities of its size are favored with so much local talent or so 
many professional artists. This undoubtedly is in a measure responsi- 
ble for the centering here of the large trade now controlled by the A. 
L. Van ^'alkenburg musical establishment, the traffic of which extends 
all over western New York and northern Pennsylvania and is rapidly 
increasing, as it continues to draw heavily on the trade that formerly 
went to the large cities. 

Mr. Van Valkenburg has been a resident of this village since 1890, 
having purchased in 1S')5 the business established by Hoecker & Co., 
during the year 1887 in the Hoecker block on Exchange street. The 
present business is located at 148 Main Street, where the whole of a 
large three-story block is occupied by the business. A large stock of 
the leading makes of pianos, organs and string instruments, as well as 
other musical merchandise, is carried, so that oi'ders are promptly 
filled. Edison's Phonographs and supplies are made a specialty, and 
being so well known need no recommendation. Sheet music in end- 
less variety is always on hand or is secured in forty-eight hours after 
order is received. The success which Mr. Van Valkenburg has at- 
tained in his line of business has been due to the adaptability he has 
shown for his particular vocation and the push and enterprise exhib- 
ited by continually extending the field of his operations until it 
now covers a radius of hundreds of miles. Pleasing in manner and ex- 
tremely obliging and courteous to all, Mr. Van Valkenburg has a host 
of friends both in and out of his business relations, who are proud of 
his unusual success and are equally sure of the continued prosperity 
of his business. Mr. A. E. Thurston, who has been associated with 
Mr. Van Valkenburg as representative for a number of years, has a 
wide reputation as a salesman who sells. Miss Mazie Van Valken- 
burg, a pianist of unusual ability, is the obliging demonstrator of new 
music, making a visit to this establishment a pleasure not soon to be 
forgotten. 



120 



BC:S/N£SS 




"Wilson <5l Altxneyer 

Man by nature is a social creature and as such he craves the comforts 
of a home, which be it ever so humble there is no place like unto it. 
Our forefathers in the days when hardships were accepted as an indis- 
pensable part of existence, resorted to their own mechanical skill to hew 
from the rough the few necessaries that constituted their modest 
household equipment. As prosperity grew upon them, their tastes 
advanced accordingly and one by one pieces of home-made furniture 
were replaced by the constructions of skilled artisans. Before the age 
of modern machinery, laborious indeed was the task of building a 
single article and necessarily high was the price set upon it. In those 
days a few pieces represented a competence and a house full a small 
fortune. How different, how superior are the existing circumstances 
when illumined by contrast with the old. The great mechanisms of 
iron and steel, moving with more than life-like accuracy, carve the 
ugly timbers into beauteous shapes or intricate designs, which, when 
combined, become available for utility and adornment. The consumer 
shares best in these improvements, for he receives today his household 
furnishinurs for but a small advance on the value of materials used in 



LOCAL INDUS TRIES 



i: 



construction. Few people would dare trust their own judgment in 
selecting' furniture which perhaps appears to be one thing but may t)c 
another. It is therefore essential to the welfare of every community 
that some one versed in the art of cabinet making and upholstering 
should be available to guide one aright and make selections of more 
than temporary value. These public benefactors are generally called 
furniture dealers, while undertaking seems to have become of late 
years an allied branch, as exemplified in the firm of Wilson & Altmeycr. 



Ifc^ 




VIEW IN OFFICE 



Tills co-partnershi]) was established in July, IS^T), by F. G. Wilson 
and H. M. Altmeyer, both men of many years' experience in their es- 
pecial vocations. Today they stand without a competitor in one of 
the choicest districts in western New York. Opposition they have 
had, but none that could live because it was not needed by the jniblic. 
The building now occupied by them for office and salesrooms is a 
brick structure with a large annex, having a total floor space of nearly 
15,<M)() square feet. Besides this there are large storage warerooms 



128 



BUS/XIiSS 



to accommodate surplus stock. Their large and well-lighted sales- 
rooms are always crowded with the latest styles of furniture in various 
styles and designs and all artistic. All goods are personally selected 
from the leading markets at the most opportune times by members of 
the firm. A separate department is in charge of competent workmen 
for repairing, mattress-making and upholstering. The undertaking 
branch is conducted personally by Messrs. Wilson and Altmeyer, both 
licensed embalmers. Its accompanying paraphernalia is equal tn any 
in the country : handsomely furnished undertaking rooms with pri- 
vate morgue; ambulance .service; two modern funeral cars; white 
child's hearse; Idwering device, and all other necessary equipments fnr 
assisting the bereaved in the last tokens of respect that are paid the 
departed. 

Messrs. Wilson and Altmeyer in their natures constitute that rare 
combination of dignified reserve and gentlemanly cordialitv. Pos- 
sessed of like energy and unity of purpo.se, they have already achieved 
material success and the future means its continuance. 




SECTIONAL VILW IN ONE SALESROOM 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



129 




DAN5VILLE AN 



Dansville cfl Mt. Morris Railroad 

Till- building- of a railroaii from Dansville to 
Mt. Morris was a project long agitated before 
it was finally accomplished. Probably no other 
event has contributed more to the progress of 
the village than the all important occasion on 
which Dansville was put in direct connection 
with one of the greatest of this country's mam- 
moth railroad systems, the popular Erie. 

The Dansville and Mount Morris railroad is 
now an independent line. Mr. A. S. Murray of 
New York city is receiver; Mr. Robert H. Eng- 
land of Rochester, N. Y., is general manager. 
The following officers and employes are located in Dansville: George 

E. Dunklee superintendent and freight and passenger agent; 

F. S. Willour, station agent; James Dieter, ticket agent; 
Miss Angie Allen, bookkeeper; W. G. Passage, conductor; 
Eugene Crosston, freight conductor; John Albert, freight engineer; 
Henry Albert, passenger engineer ; Fred Shedona and Robert Goodwm, 
section bosses. An historical sketch of the building of Dansville's first 
railroad will be found under the chapter on Canals and Railroads, the 
present sketch being intended to convey a better realization of the im- 
portance of this railroad in promoting the welfare of our village. The 





S&VT,(v«>-A-i--k-<^^22^ 



LOCAL IXDrSTKf/iS 



131 



fifteen miles of track connecting Dansville and Mt. ^Morris passes 
throLigli what is locally called "the flats," which are really a spur 
of the Genesee valley. The most important intermediate stations are 
West Sparta, which is rapidly developing the cultivation of nursery 
stock; Meyers, with its large store and bolt mills; (Sroveland, the lo- 
cation of The National Coo]ierage Co. Mills; Sonyea (Crr.ig Colony), 
with its White City — New York State Institution for the Care of 
Epileptics. 

The station and yards are at the foot of Milton street, in the very 
heart of the village. The well appointed freight and passenger depots 
are combined in one substantial structure, which contains also the of- 
fices of the superintendent. The equipment of the road consists of 
through car service with the Erie railroad between Rochester, Buffalo 
and Dansville. One of the most important factors of the road is the 
facilities and advantages which it offers to the local nurserymen for 
the prompt shipment of stock and the importing of supplies. Passing 
for its entire length through the very center of one the finest nursery- 
belts in the state, the railroad is approached at regular intervals by 
the loading stations of the leading nurserymen. 

Mr. Robert H. England, general manager of this railroad since 1898, 
was formerly a resident of this village, but for some time has been an 
honored citizen of Rochester, N. Y. He still continues to im[)ress his 

personality upon all the operations of 
the company and with his customary 
thf)roughness and directness is steadily 
adding to and improving the equipment 
of the road and increasing its subsetjuent 
patronage. 

Mr. G. E. Dunklee, the present gen- 
j eral superintendent, has acceptably 
■^ filled this important post since 1900. 
Thoughtful of the wishes of all patrons 
of the road and careful in the conduct 
of local management and the selection 
of his assistants, Mr. Dunklee has 
made his influence felt by a substantial 
increase to both the passenger and 
freight traffic. 




GEORGt E. DUNKLEE 



132 



BrS/.VESS 




Blutn tSKoe Company- 
Fifteen years ago a small shoe factory was started in the 
vShepard block by John Blum. Only a few were employed, 
and while a wood stove furnished the necessary heat, the 
hands of the employes did all the work. From this 
small beginning, in spite of strong competitors, the busi- 
ness forged rapidly ahead until today the superior excel- 
lence of the goods and the enterprise of the promoters 
established a large and lucrative trade in the best markets 
the United States and Canada. In 1895, the quarters 
proving inadequate to meet the demands of the rapidly increasing 
business, a change was made to the present location on the corner of 
Milton and Spruce streets where they now occupy the handsome three- 
story brick building erected by Stephen C. Allen in 1.S73. Today the 
company does all its work by machines of the latest patterns, running 
at a high rate of speed, and every new mechanical device which will 



have firmly 
throughout 







improve quality, style or workmanship, is introduced as soon as it is 
placed on the market. About Idtt skilled workmen are constantly em- 
ployed and though each shoe passes through some fifty diiferent hands, 
4UU pairs of various kinds of men's, ladies' and children's felt shoes and 
slippers are manufactured daily. The Blum Shoe Co. was incorpor- 
ated in 1898 for iji25,UU0, and in 1900 the capital stock was increased 
to $50,000, members of the Blum family controling all the shares. 
John Blum is president, Frank J. Blum superintendent and manager, 
and Philip E. Blum secretary and treasurer; each one being peculiarly 
adapted to his position, making a combination of great strength and 
reliability. One of the most important industries in Dansville as 
well as the county, the Blum Shoe Company needs no further com- 
mendation. 



LOCAL L. 




YDUSTRLES 133 

The adjoining' illustration shows 
one of the many different kinds of 
shoes built for warmth and comfort 
by the Blum Shoe Company, under 
patents which cover their special 
construction. The demands of 
this rapidly growing business are 
already taxing the present quarters 
and the near future is sure to wit- 
ness a substantial extension to 
their present commodious prem- 
ises. 

The growing popularity of these 
products, manifested by the in- 
creased size of successive orders 
and the considerable demand from 
unsolicited quarters, best illustrates 
the confidence which the Blum 
trade mark inspires in both the 
trade and buying public. 




134 



BUSINESS 



TKe Citizens Bank of Dansville 

The Citizens Bank at Dansville, one of the strongest financial in- 
stitutions in western New York, during its fifteen years of substantial 
support since organization, has established a precedent in the rapid 
growth of local banks. It was called into life in the time of Dans- 
ville's greatest financial distress and not only succeeded in ameliorat- 
ing the conditions which characterized its inception, but contributed 




CITIZENS BANK BUILDING 



to and encouraged the subsequent prosperity of the village and made 
possible the splendid, general, financial outlook of today, unparalleled 
by any period in the history of the village. 

Twenty-three public spirited business men met at the office of 
Noyes & Noyes, Sept. 22, 1887, and consummated their plans for the 
organization of this bank. On the 24th, the certificate of as- 
sociation was recorded with the county clerk, the twenty-six share- 
holders representing a paid up capital stock of $50,000. The direc- 
tors elected the 28th day of the same month, were: Frank Fielder, 
James H. Jackson, John J. Bailey, James Krein, James W. Wadsworth, 



LOCAL fX DCS TRIES 



135 



George A. Sweet, Elias H. Geiger, John H. Magee, Fred W. Noyes. 
Officers elected : George A. Sweet, president ; James W. Wadsworth, 
vice president; F. Fielder, cashier. F. W. Noyes was appointed 
attorney for the bank July 31, 1888, having served as such officer from 
date of organization. F. P. Magee was elected book-keeper September 
38, 1887, and on January 15, 1889, elected teller and head bookkeeper, 
and on January 31, 1898, was duly elected assistant cashier. Charles 
A. Brown began his term of service as assistant l)ookkeeper in Feb- 
ruary 1888 and as head bu(jkkeeper January 31, 1898. A. H. Welch 




F. FIELDER 



entered upon his duties as clerk in October 1894 and resigned October 
1, 1901, Mr. Frank Lemen being chosen to fill the vacancy. January 
12. 1891, Mr. H. F. Dyer was elected a director to fill the vacancy 
caused by the decease of James Krein. January 9, 1893, James 
Arthur Jackson was elected a director in place of his father James H. 
Jackson, resigned. January 13, 1896, John T. McCurdy was elected a 
director in place of Mr. Elias H. Geiger who died January 27. 1895. 
No other changes have been made in the board of directors. The 
board of directors now stands as follows: J. W. Wadsworth, James 
Arthur Jack.son, John J. Bailey, John H. Magee, George A. vSweet, 
Fred W. Noyes, H. F. Dyer, J. T. McCurdy, Frank Fielder. 

Amount of taxes paid by this bank during the period beginning 
December 1889, is as follows: Town, county and state, $3,374.24; 
village, $3,7(11.62; school, $3,422.62; special war tax, $510; total 
$11,008.71. This does not include tax for the year 1901 which under 



136 BrS/XESS 

provisions of new law will be payable to the county treasurer in De- 
cember, 19U1. The taxes on bank stock prior to December, 1899 were 
paid by individual holders of stock. 

The bank building occupied by this bank was purchased in Feb- 
ruary, 1891, and in the summer of same year, considerable improve- 
ments were made to the same, including the introduction of a system 
of heating for the entire premises by hot water. 

On January 19, 1899, the board of directors instructed its duly ap- 
pointed committee to purchase a new safe of the best and most ap- 
proved modern construction and to make contracts for extensive im- 
provements in the banking offices, which would require temporary re- 
moval to another building. By courtesy of Mr. John Hyland a re- 
moval was effected in March, 1899, to his stone building on Ossian 
street adjoining the bank property, until such improvements could be 
completed as per specifications prepared by Messrs. Bragdon & Hil- 
man of Rochester, N. Y. The cashier in the meantime contracted 
for the delivery of a Corliss safe of ample capacity weighing seven 
and one-half tons with all modern equipment to secure safety of de- 
posits against all species of invasion or accident through fire. On the 
4th day of July, 1899, the reconstructed bank building was completed 
and reoccupied and the next day was opened for business to the pub- 
lic. The Citizens Bank of Dansville is now in possession of one of 
the most modern, convenient and substantial banking suites of offices 
that can be found in any country town in the state. 

The report, condensed, to the superintendent of banks for the state 
of New York, of the condition of the Citizen's Bank of Dansxille at 
the close of business June 10, 1902, is as follows: 

RESOURCES 

Loans and Discounts $165,097.87 

Bonds and Securities 13,7.S4.S8 

Due from Banks 78 ,356. 58 

Real Estate 7 ,51)0. 00 

Furniture and Fi.xtures 4,000.00 

Cash 11,072.92 

$279,781.95 

LI.\BILITIES. 

Capital Stock S 50,000.00 

Surplus and Profits 22,197.27 

Deposits 207, 584. 68 



$279, 781. 95 



The splendid showing of the bank as manifested in the above tabu- 
lated report, demonstrates the efficiency of its management, which 
has justly encouraged the confidence and substantial support that it 
now enjoys. The conservative yet sound, and when essential, liberal 
business judgment of the cashier, Mr. Frank Fielder, combined with 
his attractive personality causes all relations with the institution to 
abound with pleasure as well as profit. 



LOCAL IXDUSTRIES 



XTi 



William Kramer <5l Sow 

"Justice to All" is a motto the strict application of which to an ex- 
tensive business, soon becomes a strong test of the personalities of the 
men behind the enterprise. 

It is now thirty years since it became a synonym and thus perman- 
ently identified with the name of Kramer & Bro., now Kramer & 
Son, and during all these years a predominating influence for fair 
dealing has upheld this early adopted resolution, and a business of un- 
usual size and importance has proved its efficacy. 

Established in 1872 by Messrs. William and Fritz Kramer, this bus- 
iness was continued from 1886 to 1893 by William Kramer singly, who 
at the former date purchased his brother's interest and during the 
latter year admitted his son Fred as a partner under the firm name of 
William Kramer & Son. 




KRAMER BLOCK 



In IS'IO, Mr. Kramer built the substantial and handsome structure 
on the corner of Main and Exchange Streets known as the Kramer 
Block, which is a most complete and modern equipped place of busi- 
ness. Large show windows, e.Ktensive floor space, up-to-date fixtures 
and steam heat being among its advantages. 

JUST in all their transactions. JUST in quality, quantity com- 
pleteness and price of ready-to-wear clothing, gents' furnishings, hats, 
caps, neckwear and underwear. "Justice" is also assured in the 
custom tailoring department in charge of Karl B. Kramer, a practical 
and fashionable cutter and fitter. 

When justice is meted out in all business relations and pleasantness 
prevails between patron and salesman, prosperity is assured. 




138 BUSnVESS 

BurkHart <fl Griswold 

The dental office, located in the 
Shepard block and now in charge of 
Dr. Elmer R. Griswold of the firm of 
Burkhart & Griswold, has for many 
years been a well known landmark for 
Dansville and vicinity. Its history 
antedates the commencement of the 
present century by over sixty years and during the long period of its 
existence, it has been in charge of professional men of exceptional abil- 
ity. Probably more young men have gone forth from this office to 
win success in their chosen profession than from any other similarly 
situated establishment in Western New York. Dr. H. H. Farley es- 
tablished this practice in Dansville in 1838 and it has been carried on 
uninterruptedly down to the present day. Only one dental college 
was then in existence, being located at Baltimore, Md. Dr. Porter 
B. Bristol, a man of marked ability, became associated with Dr. Far- 
ley in the early 40's. Both of these men were many years ahead of 
their time in dental research and manipulative skill, their reputation 
extending for many miles in every direction. In 1855 owing to fail- 
ing health. Dr. Farley retired. 

Dr. Bristol during 1858 engaged Dr. Alanson Quigley as assistant 
and in 1860 placed him in charge of a branch office in the Betts block. 
In 1862 Dr. G. C. Daboll became a partner with Dr. Bristol, having 
entered the office two years prior to that time. In 1864 Dr. Bristol 
disposed of his interest in this office to Dr. Ouigley and until 1867 the 
firm name was Ouigley & Daboll. Dr. Daboll disposed of his share 
in the business at the latter date to his partner, removing to Buffalo, 
and entering into partnership with Dr. Snow, who at that time was 
the best dentist in that city. In 1889 Dr. Daboll left Buffalo to locate 
in Paris, France, and during his remarkably successful career abroad 
has been an honor to his profession and a patriotic demonstrator of 
the high standard of American dentistry. 

Dr. A. P. Burkhart in 1873 was engaged by Dr. Ouigley as as- 
sistant, becoming proprietor of the office in 1875. Dr. Ouigley moved 
to Auburn, N. Y. , this same year and succeeded Dr. Bristol, who for- 
merly resided in Dansville. Dr. Bristol died suddenly in 1875. Dr. 
Farley after leaving this village entered into practice in Union Springs, 
N. Y., and some years ago lost his life in a railroad accident. Dr. 
Quigley, while engaged in active practice in Dansville for a period of 
seventeen years, by his uniform kindness, sterling integrity and den- 
tal skill, secured and held the confidence of all who came under his 
influence, and after an absence of over twenty-six years is still held in 
high esteem by many of the older villagers. Dr. Quigley at a ripe 
old age is still practicing at Auburn, N. Y., having recently admitted 
into partnership his grandson, Dr. George A. Burkhart, a graduate of 
the University of Buffalo. 

Dr. A. P. Burkhart continued in active practice in Dansville 
until 1897. His professional skill, business ability and beneficent 
spirit having won for him one of the finest country practices 
in the Empire state. The success of his operations soon attracted 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



139 



the managers of the Jackson Sanatorium, who entrusted to him 
all patients in need of dental services. Dr. Burkhart has been 
an active member for many years of both State and District Dental 
societies. His name frequently appears as essayist on dental topics 
and as a contributor to the leading dental journals. He was several 
times elected president of the District society and also served as re- 
cording secretary. Though a busy man in his practice, he was always 
prominently identified with any movement toward the betterment of 
the pul)lic welfare of Dansville. An efficient agitator on the public 
school (|uestion, he assisted in the early struggles of Dansville's edu- 
cational institutions and was unanimously elected the first treasurer 
of the school board after its organization. He was also secretary of 




the public lilirary for some time. In Odd Fellowship, Masonry and 
leading fraternal insurace societies he was an important factor and 
energetic worker. In many of these organizations he occupied posi- 
tions of importance and honor. 

We find that Dr. Burkhart had as students while in Dansville: 
E. C. Clapp of Dansville, now practicing successfully at Livonia, 
N. Y. ; Frank Adams of Prattsburg, N. Y., now a leading dentist 
in the state of Washington; Charles J. Fraley, who is now proprietor 

Geneseo, N. Y. ; and his brother, H. 

Ohio, who left Dansville to enter the 
from which he graduated with the 

Burkhart has won renown in his pro- 
fession throughout both state and nation, having served three terms 
as president of the New York State Dental Society and one year as 
president of the National Dental Society, the latter office being con- 



of a lucrative practice in 
J. Burkhart of Cleveland, 
Baltimore Dental College, 
highest honors. Dr. H. J. 



140 



nrsLYEss 



ferred upon him at Omaha in 1898. He is also one of the State Board 
of Dental Examiners and the proprietor of a substantial practice at 
Batavia, N. Y., of which city he is now mayor. 

In August, 1897, Dr. A. P. Burkhart sold his practice to Dr. F.G. Be- 
dell and removed to Buffalo, N. Y., where he is now established. Dr. Be- 
dell after enjoying a successful year's practice in Dansville found his 
health failing rapidly and was obliged to relinquish all professional cares ; 
so that in the fall of 1898 Dr. Burkhart, being again possessed of the office, 
placed it in chargeof an assistant. For a long time he made bi-monthly 
visits to look after former patients, keeping his residence in Dansville 
to which village he still swears allegiance. In May, 1899, Dr. Charles 
J. Fraley was admitted into partnership by Dr. Burkhart and contin- 
ued in Dansville until January 1, I'X'il, when he removed to Geneseo, 
N. Y. , where he is now practicing. 




Dr. Elmer R. Griswold, who acquired an interest in the office January 
1, 1901, took an active part in the Spanish-American war, serving as 
corporal in the 202d N. Y. V. T., and with his regiment saw considerable 
service in Cuba. At the time of his enlistment in the army he was 
actively engaged as an assistant with Dr. H. J. Burkhart at Batavia. 
After receiving an honorable discharge at the close of the war, he be- 
came assistant to Dr. A. P. Burkhart of Buffalo, his present partner. 
Dr. Griswold possesses the esteem of his partner, who, recognizing in 
him abilities far above the ordinary practitioner, placed the office 
which for the greater part of a century has borne an uninterrupted 
reputation for the best in dentistry, unreservedly in his charge. 
Though a resident of Dansville for less than two years. Dr. Griswold 
has won many friends and patients who are confident that the rejnita- 
tion left by his predecessors will be ably maintained both ethically 
and professionally. 



L OCA L IX D I \S TRIES 



141 



J. H. Baker 





■ ■ 1- ', W.«- 




1 




* 




fl 








1 


'i 


rtr^"\ 




1 



As the. memory of what we are and 
do will live in the future, we should 
make wise provision, that comforts 
and pleasures may be assured those 
to whom our lives have been devoted, 
when our terrestrial existence has 
ceased. In times of plenty all may 
prepare for the unproductive seasons 
in life which are pretty sure to come, 
by laying aside part of their surplus. 
This should be done with persist- 
ence and regularity. That it may 
be done, and be secure against all un- 
forseen possibilities, a grand system 
of protection has been instituted 
that enables us to live in peaceful 
JAMES H. BAKtR coH tcmplatiou of the years to come. 

Insurance is a power which permits every man to secure his possessions, 
and make the most of his opportunities. Without it enterprise and all 
business would be hazardous, progress would be impossible, and life 
itself would be a failure. It is the clearing house of the world's in- 
dustries. The study of insurance has become a science of 
marvelous and unlimited power and perhaps no one is better 
able to acquaint the layman with its technology than James 
H. Baker, who fur nine years has been writing fire, life, 
accident and health insurance in the Maxwell block. Established 
at the present location May 1, 1893, each year has seen an appreciable 
gain in the aoKJunt of insurance written. $288,000 of insurance was 
written the first year, and $549,490 during the last fiscal year. A 
general office, real estate, loan and pension business is also conducted. 
The companies now represented by Mr. Baker are; Glens Falls Fire 
Insurance Company, Fire Association, Hartford Fire, New York Under- 
writers' Agency, Reading Fire, Philadelphia Underwriters, Norwich 
Union, Commercial Union, Lloyd's Plate Glass, Provident Life and 
Trust Company, Aetna Life, Accident and Health Insurance Company. 
A personal sketch of Mr. Baker will be found among the biographies 
of Dansville's leading citizens. 



142 



BCrS/XESS 



E,. N. Bastian 

One of the oldest and largest 
drug houses in Western New York 
and the one carrying the most 
complete stock in Livingston 
County, is presided over by E. N. 
Bastian at 186 Main street. Es- 
tablished in 1834 by Edward 
Niles, the business was successful- 
ly conducted by him until his 
death in 1865 when he was suc- 
ceeded by his son C. E. Niles. In 
1870 Gottlieb Bastian purchased 
the good will and stock of the 
firm and by making extensive 
improvements and consistent ad- 
ditions, the business was soon 
brought to the high standard 
which has distinguished it ever 
since. The year 1854 witnessed 
a great fire in Dansville, several 
business blocks being entirely 
wiped out and among others who 
lost heavily was Edward Niles who saw his store completely destroyed. 
Nothing daunted, however, he located in the S. W. Smith block until 
the vShepard block was rebuilt when he moved back to his original 
location. While the business was originally started in the Cook Block, 




E. N. BASTIAN 




INTERIOR VIEW OF BASTIAN'S DRUG HOUSE 



LOCAL [NDrSTK/ES 143 

upper Main street, it remained there but a short time, so that lower 
Main street for three score of years has claimed the honor of its as- 
sociation. Almost as far back as the memory of the oldest inhabitant, 
this widely known drug house has stood buffeted by village booms 
and depressions, passing through wars and financial panics; yet ap- 
parently undisturbed, it has continued steadily to advance. Each 
new proprietor has striven to uphold the excellent reputation left him 
by his predecessor, and in no instance has this been more successfully 
accomplished than by the present owner, Mr. E. N. Bastian, who suc- 
ceeded his father Gottlieb Bastian in I'JOU. Thoroughly equipped by 
practical experience through many years of previous association with 
same business, Mr. Bastian has more than maintained the enviable 
standing of the establishment, which extends not only throughout 
Livingston but many adjoining counties. Nearly ail of the U. S. 
Pharmaceutical requirements are kept constantly in stock as well as 
an extensive line of drugs, chemicals, paints, oils, varnishes, patent 
medicines, toilet accessories and the well-known preparations, G. 
Bastian's Favorite Remedies. 

Comprehending readily, the requirements of an extensive business, 
Mr. Bastian has foreseen the needs and desires of the people and by 
an unswerving devotion to their best interests, has justly earned the 
wide reputation his establishment enjoys and the confidence which 
his name inspires. 



Williskins <fl Co. 

In the southwest part of the village at an advantageous site on Mill 
Creek where abundance of natural water power is available from a 
twenty-nine-foot fall, was founded in 183(1, the large grain and mill- 
ing establishment which has ever since identified tiiis location. Dr. 
James Faulkner was the founder of this early establishment and Elihu 
Stanley, w-ho still resides in Dansville at a ripe old age, was its first 
operator. In 1840 John C. Williams became proprietor and later 
took into partnership his son James, the business being conducted for 
many years under the firm of J. C. Williams &- Son. The present 
firm name of Williams &• Co., has been in force since 1887 when the 
old mill which had become a land mark of this village was destroyed 
by fire. The large structure which now stands on this historic spot 
was built the same year and contains every facility for the successful 
conduct of the large business that has always identified this establish- 
ment. For many years, flour was shipped to New York and other 
cities by the canal which ran back of the old mill. In those pioneer 
days, an extensive malting business was conducted, and a large plas- 
ter-mill was operated. When the canal was the principal means of 
transportation, that part of the village was where all important bus- 
iness centered, and during those exciting times, James Murdock, one 
of the village pioneers, lately deceased, was a valued employe. One 
of the first and most important of Dansville's early establishments, 



144 



BUSINESS 



this business has continued steadily to improve under efficient 
management and has proved an important factor in the commercial 
growth and subsequent prosperity of the village. Under the careful 
guidance of its present superintendent, its solidity and steady growth 
are being ably maintained. 

Charles W. Denton became manager and superintendent, ]\Iay 10, 
1897, after the death of J. C. Williams, a sketch of whose life will 
be found among the biographies. Mr. Denton had then been identified 
with the institution for only two years but during that time had 
made his services important to the success of the business. Like his 
predecessors in authority, ilr. Denton possesses the confidence of the 
farmers and of the trade, while the products of the mill are constantly 
increasing in favor both at home and abroad. The mill is operated 
by Roller process for flour and buckwheat, and stones for graham and 
feed. Seventy-five barrels a day is the capacity of the mill. "Wheat- 
tan-do-Cereal," entire-wheat flour and gluten-flour are some of the 
specialties manufactured. William Fontaine is head miller, William 
McCormick assistant miller and Fred Price distributing agent. 




LOCA L IXD I 'S TRIES 



145 



THe George >V. Peek Co. 

To see a man enter upon a business career in a modest way and day 
by day imbued with the spirit of his enterprise, overcome all obstacles, 
outdistance competitors and in a few years establish himself at the 
head of his class, becomes truly an inspiration. jMr. George W. Peck, 
though not a native or even resident of Dansville, has so thoroughly 
impressed his individuality upon the community that in spirit if not 
in person his association with the best interests of this village has be- 
come of permanent importance and increasing value. Commencing 
on a small scale at Savona, N. Y. , Mr. Peck started out in 1875 to 
solve the problem of successfully conducting a hardware store. 




INTERIOR GEO. W. PECK CO. STORE 



Though the sales during the first year amounted to over $4,UUU, 
and steadily increased each succeeding year, the promoter of the enter- 
prise soon found his business overreaching his ability to take care of 
it with a single establishment, and found it advisable in 1881 to open 
a branch at Prattsburg, N. Y. His well deserved reputation preced- 
ing him into new communities, has caused the rapid installation of 
new branches at advantageous locations, to be fraught with no ele- 
ment of uncertainty as to ultimate prosperity. In 1883 his sign was 
hung in Pultney, N. Y., in 1886 at Cohocton. In 1888 a fine open- 
ing was taken advantage of by this firm at Bath, N. Y., followed in 
1893 by the sending of a representative to the neighboring village of 
Bradford. The ne.xt extension was made in the city of Hornellsville 
in 1889 and in 190(1 the G. W. P's began to appear in and about Dans- 
ville, acquainting all who read that goods are sold to the consumer 
at dealers' prices. The Altmeyer block from March 1, 1900 to Janu- 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 147 

ar)' 1, 1902, became tlie repository of the George W. Peck Co. for 
harness, wagons and implements while the local headquarters were 
at the large store in the Bastian block, formerly occupied by Schwingel 
&■ Carney, successors to E. C. vSchwingel who was preceded by F. C. 
Walker. Opening at the latter location May 1, 1901, a thriving busi- 
ness was enjoyed until July 27 of the same year when the first fire in 
the history of the Peck Company and one of the severest ever experi- 
enced in Dansville, devastated the entire block. Before the ruins 
were cold large placards announced a fire sale, at which what little re- 
mained of a $13,000 stock was disposed of for a song. Insurance was 
carried that scarcely covered half the value of the stock, so that the 
loss including that forfeited by the inability to take care of the regu- 
lar trade exceeded $7,000. A temporary location in the Hedges block 
preceded their entrance into the new Scovill block, the greater 
part of which was then being fitted up for their occupancy. The il- 
lustration can give but a partial idea of the beauty of design and 
tempting arrangement of the enormous stock of goods displayed to 
advantage in this most modern equipped and commodious emporium. 
Row upon row and tier after tier of shelves and drawers stretch from 
floor to ceiling and from end to end, full of everything that is needed 
in the hardware line. The 2,500 feet of floor space in the store alone, 
gives ample room for the display of stoves and smaller implements in 
various grades and styles, while the large pressed steel-covered repos- 
itory, two stories high and having nearly 8,000 square feet of floor 
space gives a storage capacity that permits of a large assortment of 
carriages, implements, wagons and general hardware being carried. 

The Dansville branch is managed by George J. Dodson. John F. 
Hubertus, an efficient salesman, takes care of the hardware depart- 
ment. The plumbers and tinsmiths, who are skilled craftsmen, are 
under the supervision of John Berman. The George W. Peck Com- 
pany is incorporated under the laws of the state of New York with a 
capital stock of $100,000. with the following officers: George W. Peck, 
president, Bath, N. Y. ; Fred Plaisted, vice president, Penn Yan, N. 
Y. ; Ira C. Pratt, secretary, Prattsburg, N. Y. ; Frank B. Peck, 
treasurer, Cohocton, N. Y., . A large wholesale and retail business is 
conducted with the aid of seven stores in different localities, a large 
harness factory at Bath, also a New York office. With these advan- 
tages, cempetition is minimized and the public purse is benefited 
thereby. A new store has just been opened at Penn Yan, N. Y., in- 
suring the C(.)mpanv that their record of $220,675.80 in sales during 
1901 will be eclipsed in 1902 to the handsome sum of over $300,000.00. 
A record like the above is its own criterion of continued prosperity. 

George J. Dodson, who has lately become a stockholder in the 
George W. Peck Company, assumed control of the Dansville branch 
January 1, 1902. With an enviable record of sixteen years' continuous 
success in the same line of business at Watkins, Ithaca, Niagara Falls 
and Geneva, Mr. Dodson is well prepared for his present important 
post. His modern ideas and aggressive business methods combined 
with a confidence-winning friendliness, have already enthused new 
life into the establishment and assure a future of well merited pros- 
perity. 



148 



BrSLV£SS 



TKe Dansville BooK Store 

The second tenant of the Maxwell block and the first in his present 
location, Mr. II. W. DeLong, on vSepteinber 10, 1875, established the 
Dansville Book vStore which for more than a cjuarter of a century, has 
been to this community the basis of all necessary supplies for the 
cultivation of the mind, the recording of business and the perfection 
of the artistic temperament. In spite of the fears of old citizens who 
considered this venture extremely hazardous, Mr. DeLong by his per- 
sistence and close attention to detail, rapidly increased the size and 




SECTIONAL VIEW H. W. DtLONG'S BOOKSTOKE 



scope of his business, until for a radius of many miles, his school and 
other supplies have become recognized as standard in all .school dis- 
tricts. Books of all kinds at all prices, rapidly change on the well- 
filled shelves; for new ones as fast as published, supplant the pur- 
chased copies. Stationery and fancy goods, school and otifice supplies 
are here in abundant profusion and varied assortment, and sporting 
goods to delight the younger generation. In 1SS5 ^Ir. DeLong be- 
came the local manager of the Bell Telephone Company and on the 
completion of the Lackawanna Railroad his place of business became 



LOCAL LVDCSLAVLS 14') 

the ddU'ii-tiiwn office uf this line, and at the same time an at^'ency for 
the United States Express Co., all of which except the Telephone re- 
main at the same location, 1()4 Main St. :\Ir. Thomas Alexander and 
Miss Louise Fisk are the present assistants at tiie down-town store, 
and Miss Kittie Swartz is in charge of Mr. DeLong's vSanatorium 
branch which has been in successful operation at that institution for 
nearl\- ten years. ^Ir. Herman DeLong Jr., is the present local 
manager of the Bell Telephone Co. The success of this establishment, 
is not a chance occurrence, but the result of many years of persistent 
effort to win the confidence of the public and warrant their patronage 
by assuring their satisfaction. Its steady development and present 
substantial size, demonstrate the wisdom of this policy. 



FenstermacKer BrotHers 

In a little old tavern in Pennsylvania was recently celebrated the 
centennial anniversary of the discovery of the famous coal regions of 
that State. A handful of "blackdirt," thrown carelessly into a blaz- 
ing fire-place a hundred years ago, suddenly burst into a flame that 
ever since has warmed and lighted the greater part of the civilized 
world, and kept in motion the wheels of industry. Fenstermacher 
Brothers who have, since 1895, been well known dealers in this com- 
modity, during the past year disposed of 1, ()()() tons against v^.^ll tons 
in their first year, this remarkable increase being due to carefulness in 
the conduct of the business and the general satisfaction of all patrons. 
The present proprietors, Clarence W. , and Frank Fenstermacher, suc- 
ceeded in 1895, F. H. McCartney, who established himself in the 
business in 1893. The coal sheds, office and scales are opposite the 
D. & M. R. R. Depot on Milton St., a most convenient and easily 
accessible location. The substantial showing of this business and the 
progressiveness of the proprietors assure its continued success. 



ISO 



BC'SLVESS 



Dr. J. F. McPHee 



A native of Arnprior, 
Canada, Dr. McPhee ac- 
quired his early education 
in the public and high 
schools of that place. After 
successfully completing 
courses at Prof. Cronley's 
Business College, and Up- 
per Canada College, both of 
Toronto, he entered the 
dental office of his uncle 
Dr. D. :\IcPhee. After a 
year's practical experience 
under efficient demonstra- 
tions, he entered the Phila- 
delphia Dental College, be- 
ing the youngest student at 
that time in the institution. On ilay 23, 1893, he became associated 
with Dr. L. T. Sheffield who enjoyed the enviable reputation of be- 
ing the best crown and bridge specialist in New York City, if not in 
the country. iVfter a year with Dr. Sheffield, being ambitious to 
perfect himself in his chosen profession, he returned to Canada and 
securing an outfit of dental instruments, discarded by his uncle, sup- 
plemented by a few of his own, some of which will be cherished as 
Souvenirs of a hard earned education, he set out to practice intermit- 




RECEPTION P.OOM. DR. MtPHEE 




OPLRATING ROOM. DR. McPHEE 



LOCAL /XnrSTRIES 151 

tcntly in over a hundred towns and hamlets unsupplied with dentists. 
Remaining from a week to two weeks in each town along the line of 
the Canadian Pacific Railroad, he found abundant opportunity for 
using his professional skill among people of all classes and nation- 
alities. Perhaps the most interesting of his patients in the varied 
phases of their peculiar natures, were the half-breed Indians of the 
Northwest Reservation who readily exchanged valuable furs for a 
glittering array of gold in their front teeth. The Doctor enjoyed what 
few white faces have seen; i. e., the mystic religious ceremony in- 
dulged in by the Indians of that region, called "Chasing the Devil." 
In 1896 he entered the University of Buffalo, Dental Department, and 
was graduated with the degree of D. D. vS. in 1897. After a few 
months at Youngsville, Pa., where he opened an office, he removed 
to Dansville establishing his present practice with offices in the 
Kramer Block, Oct. 23, 1897. The Doctor, in the few years he 
lias resided in this village, has made many friends, and a lucrative 
[iractice has necessarily resulted from the success of his first opera- 
tions. A member of the seventh district Dental Society of the State 
of New York, the Barratonian Society of the University of Buffalo, 
and the Alumni Association of the same institution, the doctor oc- 
cupies a prominent position among the men of his profession. Dr. 
!McPhee is also the proud possessor of naturalization papers which en- 
title him to citizenship in the United States. 

"With the assistance of the best mechanical aids, his acquired skill 
and inherent adaptability. Dr. McPhee is well prepared to perform 
any and all operations requiring the services of a D. D. S. His suc- 
cess is well deserved and its continuance well assured. 

A. 5. WelcH 

On the grocery trade the whole civilized race depends for daily sup- 
])lies, and as one of the best known and most reliable houses engaged 
in this line here, we mention that of Mr. A. S. Welch. It is located 
at 125 Main Street, and the stock embraces a full line of the purest 
and best the market affords in staple and fancy groceries, canned 
goods, coffees, provisions and vegetables. The store room is well ar- 
ranged, and every convenience is at hand for the accommodation of 
patrons, while straightforward business methods have drawn to this 
house a large and lucrative trade. Mr. Welch is a good judge of the 
values of merchandise, and is always at the store to attend to the 
wants of patrons, and in the years that he has been in business as 
above, he has met with most gratifying success. 



152 



B['S/NESS 



William VeitH 

The molding of the weed into the shapely form of a cigar, the 
aroma of which is the surcease of many a supposed ill, is an art that 
needs no eulogy. Those who become skilled in this craft are public 
benefactors. 

William Veith, a native born German, learned his trade in Baden, 
Germany. Coming to this country in 1855, he first located in Corn- 
ing, N. Y., removing to Dansville in 1860. For a year his place of 
business was that now occupied by W. H. Rowan and from '(>! to '63 
at the present location of John Foley. Since the latter date, his bus- 
iness has been a permanent fixture at 2U9 Main street. During these 
forty years of uninterrupted prosperity the business has steadily in- 




INTERIOR VJEW, WILLIAM VEITH'S CIG.AR STORE 



increased in size and importance. A large wholesale and retail trade 
is now carried on, a large assortment of choice tobaccos and smokers' 
supplies being included with his own creations. The most noted of 
the many brands of cigars manufactured at this establishment are the: 
Resolution, Irene, Charles Ideals, Humps, Deweys, Infants, Meteors, 
Invincibles and C. R. & B. A's. The cigar makers now employed 
are Joseph A. Wirth, William F. Veith and Charles Simons, who are 
all skilled craftsmen. 

Mr. Veith owns the business block in which his store is located and 
in many other ways is giving evidence of the competence that has 
justly come to him through his perseverance and strict integrity in 
all business relations. 



LOCA L IND i '.V TRIES 



153 



TKe Hall Manufacturing Company 

On upper Main street near the corporation limit is located the fac- 
tory of the Hall Manufacturing Co., established in 1893 by H. B. 
Hall. Mr. William C. Squires, an architect, builder and contractor 
of several years' successful experience, became associated with Mr. 
Hall as a partner in 1<)0(). This manufacturing establishment was 
built up about the old Klauck tannery, which made use of the natural 
water power from a twelve-foot fall in Mill Creek as early as 1865. This 
progressive firm deals in all kinds of sash, doors, blinds, moldings, 
etc., and makes a specialty of plate-racks and jardiniere stands, as 







■ -ff-*'-^ 



FACTORY, HALL MANUFACTURING CO. 



well as flooring and ceiling; estimates, on application, being furnished 
on all kinds of wood-work. The machinery and other appliances used 
are of the latest patterns and most approved makes, permitting of all 
work turned out being first class in every particular. The handsome 
Scoville Block, illustrated in another part of this work, was built by 
the Hall ilanufacturing Co., and constitutes one of the most substan- 
tial and modern equipped business blocks to be found in any village. 
Both Mr. Hall and Mr. Squires, as progressive business men with 
uj)-to-date ideas and aggressive methods, are rapidly increasing their 
trade both in volume and extent of territory covered. 



LOCAL L\DCSTK/ES 



155 



JoKantgen BrotHers 

In the spring of 1856, under the firm name of Foster & Puffer, the 
business now being conducted by Johantgen Bros., was established. 
Beginning as clerk, Sept. 1, 1859, Nicholas Johantgen, in 1873, be- 
came the partner of J. F. Brayton who had succeeded the original 
firm during 1861. In 1877 Mr. Johantgen purchased his partner's 
interest and jjecame sole jjroprietor of the establishment, remaining 
as such until 1898 when he was succeeded by his sons, Charles G., 
Frank H., Fred W., and Nicholas, Jr., who are the present owners. 
A large wholesale and retail business is conducted both local and 
general in its extent, increasing in volume each succeeding year. 
The stock of ready-to-wear clothing and gents' furnishings is most 




INTERIOR VIEW. JOHANTGEN BROS. 



complete. With the latest styles, the finest fabrics, the best of make, 
the most courteous salesmen, few customers turn away with wants 
unfilled. A large branch store is conducted at Perry, N. Y., and is in 
charge of Charles G. , and Fred W. Johantgen. The firm is also 
manufacturers of superior grades of workingmen's apparel. Under the 
efificient tutelage of Nicholas Sr. , Johantgen Bros., have become care- 
ful buyers and ready salesmen, encouraging confidence and winning 
friendship. 

The interesting record of their establishment is one of which they 
may justly be proud and that it will be maintained without blemish, 
none who have closely investigated, will gainsay. 



15f> 



B['SLV£SS 



A. H. Plimpton 

In the old structure that formerly occupied the lot where the hand- 
some Rouse Block now stands, Mr. A. H. Plimpton on April 1. 18').^, 
became identified with the business interests of Dansville. Coming 
from the neighboring city of Hornellsville, well equipped to satisfy a 
critical public, Mr. Plimpton in a short time became firmly estab- 
lished in a rapidly growing jewelry business. In 1894 a change of 
location was made to lf)5 !Main Street where the stock was partially 
destroyed by fire necessitating a temporary removal to 132 Main 
street. The present location in the Rouse Block at 151 ]\Iain street 




INTERIOR VIEW. A. H. PLIMPTON'S JEWELRY STORE 



was taken April 1, l")Ul. A full line of everything likely to please the 
fastidious tastes of all who take delight in the purchase of gold, silver 
and precious stones, is artistically displayed in a large well lighted 
and handsomely furnished store. Mr. Plimpton has made a specialty 
for a number of years of expert diamond setting, watch repairing and 
the improving of weak vision by the fitting of glasses. Mr. William 
Hubbard, his present assistant, has exhibited unusual adaptability for 
his chosen craft. 

Mr. Plimpton possesses many admirable qualities as a business man 
and citizen. His success is of his own making. 



LOCAL L\'/)[SLR/JiS 



157 



Kramer <fl Sturm 

The handling' of groceries and cognate goods is one of the most 
important branches of trade carried on in an}- village. Conspicuous 
among the many establishments of this kind in Dansville and one 
that is steadih' growing in popularity, is the one mentioned above. 
No better evidence of the result of capital being combined with ef- 
ficient management can be found in Dansville than in the business 
conducted by Kramer & Sturm at 143 Main street. 

This firm has earned an enviable reputation for the choiceness of 
their eatables, the standard quality of their other provisions, and the 




VIEW, IN KRAMER 6 STURM'S GROCERY 



superior grade of china, crockery, glassware and cut .glass, complete 
lines of which are always carried in stock. 

Established on the 28th day of March, 188'), by John G. Kramer 
and G. M. vSturm, this copartnership continued in force until Janu- 
ary 28, 1895, when the hrm changed without changing the name. 
Mr. John G. Kramer embarking in the dry goods business, was 
succeeded by his brother James F. Kramer who has readily main- 
tained the excellent reputation left him bj' his predecessor. 

Both Mr. Kramer and Mr. vSturm are popular young business men, 
and assisted by their efficient clerk, Mr. Geo. leaven, are enjoying a 
rapidly increasing business. 



158 



/.'csLyr^ss 



JoKn A. kScHwing'el 

The vast improvements that have distinguished the manufacture 
of fine foot'.vear in recent years are evidence of the better taste and cul- 
tivation of the people, for certainl)- no other article forms a more com- 
ponent part of the attire of any well dressed man or woman. I. A. 
Schwingel's emporium at 141 Main street takes a high place in the 
commerce of this vicinity and commands a large and lucrative pat- 
ronage. The stock comprises a full line of ladies' and gentlemen's 
and children's foot coverings and all goods are sold at prices that can- 
not readily be duplicated. The large store, centrally located, displays 




INTERIOR VIEW. SCHWINGEL'S SHOE STORE 



to advantage in its tastefully arranged interior a large and_J^varied 
stock. Mr. Schwingel believes that a pleased customer is his best 
advertisement and he puts forth every effort towards furthering this 
end, and the continual return of nearh^ all customers proves the effi- 
cacy of this policy. 

Mr. Schwingel succeeded to the business on March 6, 1897. After 
he had acquired possession he made many changes and improvements 
both in the stock and equipment of his commodious quarters. Miss 
Lotta Dick has been his saleswoman and valued assistant for a number 
of years. Mr. Nicholas Fo.x, a practical and skilled shoemaker, does 
the custom work and repairing. Intensely earnest in business, Mr. 
Schwingel is shaping a career of usefulness and profit. 



/.OCA/. /XD('ST/^//iS 



159 



Dr. Frederick W. KuHn 

New theories are constantly beinsi; 
advanced in all branches of science 
and particularly is this noticeable in 
the theory and practice of applied den- 
tistry. It takes young men with mod- 
ern ideas and plenty of enterprise to 
keep in touch with these developments 
and thereby serve the public more ben- 
eficially. Dr. Frederick W. Kuhn is a 
jjraduate of the University of Buffalo, 
Dental Department, having finished 
his course with the class of 1901. The 
I lid saying that a man of attainments 
is less appreciated at home than abroad 
has in this case proved to be a fallacy, 
for Doctor Kuhn who has been a life- 
long resident of Dansville, returned to 
this village after completing his course 
and is fast establishing a substantial 
practice. 

Pleasantly located in his well equij)- 
ped offices at 141 Main street. Dr. Kuhn with his social popularity, 
his adaptability for his chosen profession, and the scrupulous care and 
conscientious treatment which he bestows upon his patients, is making 
future success a certainty. 




DR. FREDERICK W. KUHN 



Henry Fedder 

Among the many excellent stores in Dansville, there is profxibly 
not one which has received a more enduring hold on the public favor 
than the well known establishment of Henry Fedder. In no other 
branch of commercial life has progress been more rapid than in the 
equipment and conduct of variety stores. During the twenty years 
or more of this establishment's history, no lack of enthusiasm or ideas 
has prevented the owner from keeping pace in progress and expan- 
sion with the flight of time and the growth of the village, until now 
his business is one of the most extensive and profitable to be found 
anywhere outside of the large cities. 

So varied is the assortment of practically everything that can be de- 
sired by the thrifty housekeeper, business man, and juvenile, that only 
a few of the most important lines can here be mentioned for lack of 
space: Jewelry, crockery, hosiery, underwear, tinware, fancy house- 
hold articles, and many things besides suitable for all seasons and all 
occasions. For a large nuinber of years Mr. Fedder has made a 
specialty of framing pictures, carrying constantly over three hundred 



160 7WSLV£SS 

styles of moldings together with the latest mats. A large room is de- 
voted exclusively to this work and every appliance that can assist in 
making the work better is at hand. A fine line of candies is carried 
at prices that are sure to attract. Miss Agnes Wirth has been with 
Mr. Fedder as a saleswoman since the establishment of his business. 
Mr. William Fedder, son of the proprietor, an active and enterprising 
business man, now has charge of the retail department. The business 
was establishetl in ISSl at its present location at 189 Main street. 



Dr. A. LaBoyteatix (Si Son 

Dr. A. LaBoyteaux, the senior member of the firm named above, 
has been identified with various dental practices throughout western 
New York for over fifty years, and during all these years has managed 
to keep in touch with the new developments in his profession, so that 
his services have always been eminently satisfactory and in goDd 
demand. Doctor LaBoyteau.x commenced the study of dentistry when 
twenty years of age, spending a year at Corning and afterwards com- 
pleting his studies in Seneca county. He began the practice of his 
profession at Romulus, N. Y. , remaining there until 1862, when he 
removed to Rushville, N. Y., where a large practice was established. 

Coming to Dansville, he opened his present office in the month of 
April, 1874, and his extensive practice testifies to the satisfaction of 
his Work. The doctor's long and wide experience in dentistry entitles 
him to the high place which he holds among the leading dentists of 
western New York. While a resident of Seneca county he was several 
times awarded the first premium for exhibits of dental work. His 
mechanical and artistic ability is plainly apparent in all of his work. 
In the medical world Doctor LaBoyteaux has won distinction, having 
been very successful in the removal of tumors. 

Dr. A. LaBoyteaux since 1878 has associated with him his son, Dr. 
Charles J. LaBoyteau.x, of the dental department at the University of 
Buffalo, and for some years a successful practitioner at Buffalo, N. Y. 
The best of the old school and the best ideas and latest developments 
in modern instruction and practice are happily combined in this firm 
and man)- patients know and appreciate their value. 

Messrs. LaBoyteaux have earned their success by a straightforward 
business policy and fully deserve the social and business distinction 
which they now enjoy. 



LOCAL LNDl'STR/ES 



\(A 



E. J. Foote 



Not so many years ago a common 
chair, a couple of razors, a pair of 
shears and a comb, perhaps supjile- 
mented by an unskilled manipulator, 
would start a barber shop. Today 
we see these establishments equijjpcd 
in more palatial style than many 
professional offices, and in charge of 
skilled artisans. In no other ton- 
sorial parlor in Dansville is the evi- 
dence of progressiveness made more 
manifest than in that of Edward J. 
Foote, who for fourteen years has 
successfully followed this professicjn, 
having since 1892, been sole propri- 
etor of the handsomely equipjied 
parlors at 148 Main street. 

With three of the latest and best 
tlesigned chairs, water heated by 
gas, antiseptic lotions, and the in- 
troduction of race massage as well 
as singeing of hair and curing of scalp diseases, Mr. F"oote has kept 
pace with the best of his city contemporaries. Popular both inside 
and outside of business, Mr. Foote is steadily increasing his patronage. 
He is ably assisted by Mr. Frank J. Vogt and Mr. William O'Brien, 
both of whom are tonsorial artists of unusual skill and abilitv. 





TONSOMAL PARLORS. E. J. FOOTE 



162 



^r.sv.v^.s'.v 



Dr. G. H. Cutler 

Perhaps the most acute of all physical suffering arises from badly 
treated or neglected teeth, predisposing the system to a complication 
of ailments which sooner or later become a source of great tribulation. 
Nature treats no two exactly alike. Some are favored with a mouth 
full of pearls, while others must resort to artificial means for the sake 
of appearance as well as health. At this critical time, the dentist 
who is consulted should be unquesticmalily a skilled and reliable 
practitioner. 

Dr. G. H. Cutler, who is now enjoying a flourishing dental jjractice 
in this village, is a native of Monroe county and received his 
early education at Honeoye Falls. Graduating from the local high 
school in 1886, he soon after entered the Dental Department of the 




B.ECLPTION KOOM, DR. CUTLER 

Pennsylvania College at Philadelphia, finishing his course with the 
class of 1888. In all, three years were spent bv Doctor Cutler under 
the eflficient demonstration of his preceptor, Dr. |. L. Weller of 
Rochester. Establishing a practice at Victor, X. Y., in 1889, 
he remained there until the fall of 1897, when he removed to 
Dansville and secured the handsome and conveniently located suite of 
ofihces in the Breeze Block, where he is still practicing. The theory 
and practice of dental surgery have been fully mastered by Doctor 
Cutler, making his operations invariably successful. Every mechanical 
appliance that can possibly be of assistance in lessening pain and 
increasing durability of workmanship, is in his possession. 

Resolute in business, conscientious in practice and an appreciated 
and appreciative friend, Doctor Cutler well deserves his success. 



LOCAL rXDVSTRIES 



163 




VJILRAIlXu Ki^uM, UK. LLtLtR 



^ ^ 



G. G. Fowler 



For over twenty-five years, the name of Fowler has been identified 
with the dry goods business in Dansville, and during- all that time its 
representatives have stood high in the estimation of the public, enjoy- 
ing a lilieral share of the local ]jatronage, encouraged by the use of a 
conservative and straightforward business policy. At 171 Main street 
is located the store of G. G. Fowler which was established at the pres- 
ent location of C. C. Veith, druggist, in 1880, by the Hon. Thomas 
M. Fowler, father of the present owner. A large stock of dry goods, 
notions and ladies' furnishings are kept in stock which find ready pur- 
chasers among those who appreciate style, quality and consistent 
prices. Mr. Fowler is a man of pleasing address, public spirited and 
charitably disposed. Possessed of an inherited taste for literary pur- 
suits he gives much of his time to the cultivation of this temperament. 

His saleswomen are Misses Goodwin and Prentiss. 



164 



BCS/XESS 



A. H. Jenks cfl Son 

Undoubtedly, the jeweler by the requisite delicacy and skill of his 
manipulations with intricate mechanisms and precious metals, ranks 
first among all craftsmen. 

The name of A. H. Jenks has been associated with "good watch 
work" for nearly thirty years, while his connection with the jewelry 
business for an equal period has made him an adept in the choice of 
precious stones and valuable constructions of gold and silver. Alonzo 
Jenks became the junior member of this firm January 1, 191)2, after 
serving a long apprenticeship under the efficient demonstrations of 
his father, having heretofore been associated with many of the best 
jewelers in Steuben countv; his artistic creations in engraving have 




A. H. JENKS fi SON'S JEWELRY STORE 

alread\' won for him an enviable reputation. "Mr. A. H. Jenks was 
formerly located at Cohocton and Hornellsville. Removing from the 
latter place to Dansvrlle in May, 1901, he established himself at 14(1 
ilain street, the location previously occupied by C. F. Bates. The 
present central location in the ^la.xwell block at 162 Main street, being 
the one formerly occupied by P. W. Byer, is proving most advanta- 
geous to this enterprising firm for the display of their large assort- 
ment of merchandise and the successful conduct of their rapidly 
increasing business. 

Youth and energy, age and e.xperience, are here happily combined 
and bespeak continued prosperity for this establishment. 



LOCA L IX D I '.S' TRIES 



165 



J. F. Hlink 

In the past few years, greater improvements have been made anc] 
more artistic and lasting work has been rendered possible, by the rapid 
and almost marvelous developments in photography, than has been 
characteristic of scarcely anv other business. Every modern idea, 
every new appliance, and the continued perfection of a well-adapted 
hand and mind, have caused the artistic creations which have eman- 
ated from the studio of J. F. Klink, to increase steadily in popularity. 
Mr. Klink has been firmlv estalilished in this line of business since 1888, 
and for a number of years his work has been considered equal to any- 
thing of its kind procurable in the largest cities. A master hand at 




KLINK BLOCK 



posing his subjects, as well as in the retouching and finishing of pictures 
in a manner that is most distinguished, he turns out no work but 
that of which he may feel justly proud. Mr. Klink has had many 
competitors at various times but for some years has been sole repre- 
sentative of this branch of business in Dansville. So well and gra- 
ciously has he fulfilled the desires of the public, that competition has 
been only of assistance to him in showing more clearly the high 
standard of his artistic creations. Guests at the Jackson Sanatorium 
have always been liberal patrons of Mr. Klink, and duplicate orders 



1(.6 BrSLVESS 

after they have left Dansville have demonstrated their satisfaction 
with his work. 

Although devoted to his art, Mr, Klink has found time to build up 
a substantial business in the manufacturing line under the style of the 
Hygienic Cereal Co., whose "Hyco" (hygienic coffee) and superior 
grades of teas, coffes, spices, baking powder, chocolates, cocoa, etc., 
have become recognized and used in many States, east, west, north 
and south. Though still a young man, Mr. Klink by strict attention 
to business and a thorough knowledge of its every detail, has realized 
sufficient from his personal endeavors to make him one of the most 
substantial of Dansville's citizens. His straightforward business pol- 
icy has won him many friends and has inspired the full confidence of 
the people, and their liberal patronage has naturally resulted therefrom. 

Though business occupies most of his time, Mr. Klink still finds 
time to be popular socially, being identified with many prominent or- 
ganizations. As the possessor of the first automobile in the village, 
Mr. Klink has demonstrated that he puts the same modern ideas into 
his methods of recreation as those which characterize his business. 
We might say of Mr. Klink, he has achieved an enviable success, but 
he deserves it. 

The majority of the illustrations in this work were produced from 
photographs taken by Mr. Klink. 

'William Cog^swell 

The extensive lumber business which has been carried on by 
William Cogswell for a quarter of a century, was established by his 
father in 1858, and therefore ranks among the oldest of Dansville's 
important establishments. His office and yards are located at the 
foot of West Avenue, and being large in area and well adapted for 
their needs, his premises have long been the center of a large and 
rapidly increasing trade. He has every facility for keeping his stock 
dry and in the best {Possible condition, and is prepared to offer the 
most liberal inducements to customers, as he buys all of his goods in 
large quantities, for cash, at times when the markets are most advan- 
tageous. Mr. Cogswell carries a full line of paints, oils, shingles, lath, 
plasters, roofing and other builder's supplies, in addition to a large 
stock of rough and dressed lumber. Conscientious in all his dealings 
and possessed of a thorough knowledge of his business, Mr. Cogswell 
has earned the liberal patronage now extended his establishment 
and its assured continuance. 



168 



BCS/NESS 



C. A. Artman 



A little over a 
mile southwest of 
the village, near 
the entrance to 
the famous Poags 
Hole valley, is 
located the large 
planing mill and 
sash and blind 
factory of C. A. 
Artman. The 
main building of 
the factory con- 
sists of a hand- 
some and sub- 
stantial structure 
.SU X 84 feet in 
size, with boiler 
annex 3(i x 22 
feet. It was 
built in 18'J7 and fitted up with a most complete installment of 
the latest and most approved machinery, making the plant one of 
the most extensive in the county. The business was originally 
established by its present owner in the Artman grist mill, one of the 
land marks of this section. Natural water power obtained at the 
grist mill is transmitted to the planing mill by an overhead cable and 
is supplemented by steam power. Five men are employed constantly 
and the superior grade of work is evidenced in the handsome exter- 
iors and interiors of many of the village's most beautiful structures. 
Every order, whether for a single board or a whole house, receives 
the same considerate attention, which is a guarantee that continued 
prosperity is sure to follow the well directed efforts of Mr. Artman. 




RESIDENCE. C. 




FACTORY, C. A. ARTMAN 



LOCAL LX DCS TRIES 
David £,. Rati 



169 



In the past twenty years the features which have characterized the 
business interests of Dansville, have changed to a material degree. 
Establishments have started up and lived but a short time, while 
others have closed their doors only when their owners have ended their 
earthly career and passed to a more peaceful existence. Those busi- 
nesses which can survive during a score or more years of close business 
competition and still serve the people faithfully, are most worthy of 
commendation. 




DAVID E. RAU 



The coal business established by David E. Rau in 1881, has always 
enjoyed an extensive patronage in bituminous and anthracite coal 
which have given satisfaction as the best that the market afforded. 
For the past twelve years he has occupied his present commodious 
quarters at 30 Ossian street, where both sheds and office are located. 
Mr. Rau has many friends both inside and outside of his business who 
hope for the continuance of his business activity and prosperity, though 
for two score years he has already served the public faithfully in his 
present and other business capacities. As a descendant of one of the 
oldest and best known families in Livingston coimty, Mr. Rau has 
fuUv upheld the reputation for good business judgment with which the 
name has always been associated. 



170 /;rs/xEss 

NV. A. Spinriixig; Co. 

The almost phenomenal success of some establishments is for a time 
a cause of wonderment, or until someone stops to investigate and 
discovers that the promoters know their business. This is particu- 
larly true of the firm of W. A. Spinning Co., successors to Spinning, 
Uhl & Co., the well known dry goods merchants who have conducted 
since 1876 one of the most complete retail establishments in western 
New York. The premises at 173 Main street are large in area to 
accomodate the immense business which is thoroughly organized into 
departments. The store is centrally located and well adapted for the 
needs of such an extensive business. In the various departments can 
be found such a large assortment of goods that space will not permit 
of a detailed description. vSuffice to say, that the stock consists of 
everything in the line of dry goods, notions, ladies' cloaks and suits, 
carpets, matting, and the like, and is as large as any in this part oi 
the State. The territory covered embraces nearly all of Livingston 
county and a goodly part of Steuben and other adjoining counties, 
while their place of business is a scene of continual activity. 

Mr. William A. Spinning, who is the principal member of this firm, 
is an upright and enterprising business man, who can see the trend of 
public sentiment in business, and who spares himself no sacrifice 
to keep up with all reasonable demands made upon him. Mr. 
Spinning has devoted his time and energy for nearly thirty years 
to studying the needs and desires of the people and has acquired an 
exceptionally thorough knowledge of the essential elements which 
constitute successful merchandising. He is a man of pleasing address 
and impressive demeanor and posesses all the requirements of worthy 
citizenship. ^Ir. Krein who recently became associated with this 
business, has been interested in the dry goods trade since boyhood. He 
has broadened his experience by several years' association with large 
metropolitan establishments. The other salesmen are Messrs. Frank 
P. Rauber, Harvey A. Fairchild and George Uhl. Mr. Nicholas Uhl, 
who has been forced by failing health to resign all active business 
duties and cares, has already devoted the best years of his life in 
serving the public both conscientously and faithfully and ranks among 
the most honored of Dansville's citizens. 

Substantially founded, well conducted and always successful, this 
business has acquired a lasting hold on public favor and stands pre- 
eminent among all establishments of its kind. 




'■ fffJIIJJI J JJJJIJIJfX XV -"^ 




I SP!NN!NG. UHL m CO. ij 




STORE OF W. A. SPINNING CO. 



172 



I^r:iLY£SS 



TKe MercHants and Farmers 
National Bank 



The desire among citizens 
for additional banking facil- 
ities and a national bank in 
Dansville, under safe, con- 
servative management, led 
to the establishment of the 
Merchants and Farmers Na- 
tional Bank in the Kramer 
lilock, upper Main street. 

The charter was obtained 
and organization was com- 
pleted so that the hank 
(ipened for business in 
Decemlier, I'lOO, and the ex- 
tent and character of its 
patronage quickly demon- 
strated that the new finan- 
cial enterprise was not a 
mistake. The first officers 
were: President, William T. 
Spinning; Vice President, 
C. D. Beebe; Cashier, D. O. 
Batterson. C. D. Beebe 
held the office of vice president but a short time, and William Kramer 
was chosen to succeed him. 

There was no danger, with the strong men back of it, that anv 
early mistakes, or vicissitudes resulting from financial panics— and 
the most disastrous panic which the country had known soon came— 
would endanger the stability of the Merchants and Farmers National 
Bank, or imperil the holdings of depositors; for those men stood ready 
with ample means to make any possible losses good. They did not 
intend that any person, rich or poor, who entrusts his or her interests 
to the care of the bank should suffer any loss at any time in conse- 
quence of such confidence. 

In 1896 Mr. Batterson resigned, and James M. Edwards was elected 
to succeed him as cashier. The selection expressed the wishes not 
only of the directors, but stockholders and depositors. Mr. Edwards 
had been one of the leading hardware merchants of Dansville for 




WILLIAM A. SPINNING 



LOCAL L\'niSLR/ES 



173 



many years, and thereby became well acc[uainted with the characters 
and financial conditions of citizens in village and country. He had also 
demonstrated that he was a clear-headed, keen-sighted, well-balanced 
business man, and governed by the requisite moral principles tf) make 
his abilities available for the best results in the financial responsibili- 
ties assumed. 

Three years later, August 2S, ISV'J, William T. Spinning, who had 
been the president of the bank for nine years, died universally regret- 
ted. His name had been a tower of strength, for his business success 
and business judgment were in keeping with his unsullied reputation 
and character. 

After Mr. Spinning's death William 
Kramer was elected president in his 
place, and William A. Spinning vice 
president to succeed Mr. Kramer. 
No selections could have been more 
generally satisfactory. Mr. Kramer 
has been a resident of Dansville from 
his youth, and built up by his 
thorough and straight-forward meth- 
ods the largest clothing business, 
])rol)ably, in any of the villages of 
western New York. No one under- 
stood or understands the people of 
this region, with their advantages, 
disadvantages and needs, better than 
William Kramer, and his knowledge 
of business details corresponds. The 
new vice president, son of the de- 
ceased president, had helped to estab- 
lish their great mercantile house, and 
now is its responsible head. Histrain- 
ing, experience and natural ability abundantly qualified him to become 
the second officer of the bank. The list of present managers complete 
is as follows: 

Directors — William Kramer, W. A. Spinning, J. C. Folts, J. G. 
Kramer, C. A. Ross, E. O. Hoffman, J. M. Edwards. 

Officers — President, William Kramer; vice president, William A. 
Spinning; cashier, J. M. Edwards. 

Under this management there has been a steady increase of financial 
strength. All the members have been successful and reputable busi- 
ness men of Dansville so long, and are so well and widely known, that 




JAMES M. LDWARDS 



174 



B['SLV£SS 



no one of them needs a recommendation. When the people trust 
their property to these men they know the kind of attention that it 
will receive, and that it will not be either the ignorant, careless or 
dishonest kind, and that their deposits will not be dissipated by plaus- 
ible speculation. 




INTERIOR VIEW M. cS F. BANK 

The following statement of the present condition of the Merchants 
and Farmers National Bank speaks for itself: 

RESOURCKS. 

Loans and Discounts $lu5,248 5U 

U. S. Bonds 12,500 00 

Securities 1.75(1 (•(• 

Furniture and Fixtures. l.oiKi (id 

Cash and due from Banks 44,5.^ii 4"t 

165,028 99 

LIAHII.ITIKS. 

Capital vStock $ 5(»,(iiiii di) 

Surplus and Profits 9,272 68 

Circulation 12,500 00 

Deposits 93,256 31 

165,028 99 



LOCAL LN DCS TRIES 



lis 



JoHn G. Kramer 

One must need admit that not only ha\-c the town's natural resour- 
ces been factors in its progress, but that the indefatigable energy and 
absolute confidence of its representative merchants have formed a 
solid basis for its steady growth. The establishment herewith de- 
scribed is a bright example of this truism. 

The dry goods business now conducted by John G. Kramer, was 
established by Mr. Kramer with James E. Krein as partner, April 7, 
1894. In twelve days less than two years, on March 26, 18't6, John G. 
Kramer purchased his partner's interest and has since conducted the 
business in his own name. Fully equijiped to meet every demand 




DRY GOODS STOKE. JOHN KRAMER 



from a particular public, a business has been built up in a few years 
that ordinarily would have taken a lifetime to accomplish. Possessed 
of a genial temperament both in and out of business, Mr. Kramer 
makes customers and friends easily and invariably keeps them. The 
steady growth of the business has emphasized the fact of his enthu- 
siasm and ability in commercial pursuits. A complete line of dry goods 
notions, and ladies' suits and jackets are always kept in stock and 
rapidly disappear through the obliging efforts of the efficient salesmen. 
The prospects for the continued success of this establishment are 
most propitious. 



176 



BCS/XESS 



Eiig'ert (Q. Folts 

On the corner of Main and Chestnut streets, incommodious quarters 
well adapted for their business, are located Messrs. Geo. J. Engert 
and H. C. Folts, who constitute the present firm of Engert & Folts. 
Originally occupying a small Iniikiing on Chestnut street, erected 
for their business in the fall of 1896, they soon outgrew these prem- 
ises and moved to their present location in the Altmeyer block in Feb- 
ruary, 1898. They now occupy three floors. This progressive firm 
do all kinds of machine work, rebuild old machines and make new 
ones, repair and construct bicycles, repair guns, do saw tiling and 




STORE AND SllUI'b, tNOl.Rt b lULlS 



key fitting, install power jjlants, do all kinds of plumlnng, steam fit- 
ting, and in fact almost ever\'thing that requires the services of a first 
class mechanic. They carry a large stock of plumbing tools and sun- 
dries and are prepared to take contracts that include the entire equip- 
ment as well as expert work. The power plant, complete, was installed 
in the Instructor Publishing Company's new building by this firm, 
they also have charge of the gas and steam fitting. Messrs. Engert 
and Folts possess business shrewdness and are careful and alert to 
every detail in the manageinent of their establishment. They have 
achieved an enviable success and they deserve it. 



LOCAL IXDVSTRIFS 



177 



A. L-. Harter 

The closest approach to the department store possessed by villages, 
as a rule, is the variety store. Dansville, however, has been more 
favored in the past few years than most communities of its size, by 
having- in its midst the large establishment presided over by A. L. 
Harter, generally designated "Harter's Bazaar." 

With no previous experience and a capital of only $317, Mr. Harter 
courageously launched his enterprise on May 8, 1888, and so success- 
ful was the venture, that $2,089.25 was the amount of the first year's 
sales. From that time one department after another has been added 
until the first cjuarters were outgrown, and two large stores, located 
at 170 and 172 Main street, are now needed to display the full lines of 
goods while large storehouses in the rear furnish room for an ample 
reserve. The ratio of 1 to 5 represents the comparative relaticMi of 
the first vear's business to that for l')ol. 




n 
ll.lSOi 



^i^iiM 



HARTER'S BAZAAR 



The ditferent departments, each distinct in itself, are as follows: 
Tobacco, candy, sporting goods, gents' furnishings, fruits and nuts, 
crockery and glassware, jewelry, bicycles, phonographs and grapho- 
phones, stationery and books, notions, fancy goods, toys and games, 
dolls. Three assistants, J. W. Harter, Mrs. B. M. Harter and N. O. 
Smith are continually busy taking care of the fast growing trade. 

The agency of the Singer Sewing Machine Company is located at 
this establishment. Mr. N. O. Smith is the local representative. 

Mr. Harter is an active church worker as well as a thorough busi- 
ness man and manages to harmoniously combine the two. The justice 
of his transactions makes this apparent and precludes the possibility 
of failure. 



178 



BCSLVESS 



Daniel Blutn 

There are no articles of wearing apparel of more importance than 
boots and shoes. An establishment devoted to this line of commerce 
and one which has gained wide spread popularity, is that of Daniel 
Blum. This house was originally established in 1859 by John Blum, 
was afterwards conducted by Daniel and Philip E. Blum under the 
firm name of Blum Brothers, and since 1898 has been owned and man- 
aged by its present proprietor. Mr. Blum has had over thirty years' 
experience in the shoe line and in consequence of the high character of 
the goods handled and scjuare dealings with patrons, his establishment 
has won an enviable position among the leading houses of this village. 
The push and enterprise which characterized the early growth of this 




THE BLUM SHOE STORE 



establishment, have been ably maintained by its present owner who by 
consistent changes and additions has infused new life into the business. 
The store at 175 Main street now possesses one of the finest plate glass 
fronts in town, while the well arranged interior shows tastefulness in 
construction of furnishings and forethought and knowledge in the fine 
selection of the many lines and varied styles of boots, shoes, slippers, 
rubbers, etc., which crowd the shelves. Style, quality and superior 
workmanship characterize this large stock of everything that is new 
for men, boys, ladies and children. Goods are sold at prices that are 
consistent with their real values. 

Aside from business, Mr. Blum finds time to be public spirited, 
having held the office of village treasurer for several years past and 
being the present incumbent of this office. 



LOCAL LNDUS TRIES 



179 



Hotel Livingston 

The Hotel Livingston, originally known as the Dansville House, 
and quite recently as the Clinton House, was built by Joseph Fenster- 
macher — the front part about 1840 and the rear portion some years 
earlier. Wendell Engel became owner and proprietor in 18()S and 
conducted the business successfully for a considerable period. Its his- 
tory has been varied and interesting and is correlative with that of 
the village. No proprietor during the three score years of its his- 
tory has contributed more to the progress and popularity of the es- 
tablishment than the one who now controls it. 

Mark S. Morehouse assumed charge of this hostelry, May 1, 1899, 
removing to this village from Rochester, N. Y. His association with 
the hotel business covers a period of over thirty years. During the 




HOTEL LIVINGSTON 

most of this time he was connected with the National hotel of Ogdens- 
burg, N. Y. , first as bell boy and later as proprietor. Under his well 
directed efforts the Livingston has taken on new growth, its interior 
and exterior have been beautified and embellished, steam heat, elec- 
tric lights and bath rooms now being numbered among the conven- 
iences, while an unrivaled cuisine and pleasant sleeping apartments 
add greatly to the attractiveness of the place. Mr. Morehouse is a 
man of conservative judgment and good business ability, and his long 
service as a successful landlord has made him acquainted with the 
needs and desires of guests and is a double assurance that they will 
always be well taken care of. 

The substantial and commodious three-story building here illustrat- 
ed, is located on the southwest corner of Main and Milton streets and 
is distant only a few rods from the Dansville and Mt. Morris railroad 
station. Thirty-five nicely appointed sleeping rooms are available, 
while other accommodations for fully a hundred guests may be pro- 
cured on short notice. The rates are $1.50 per day. 



180 



Birs/NESS 



Edwards, Rem (SL Miller 

For more than fiftv years a hardware store has identified the nortli- 
east corner of Main and Ossian streets. The business was established 
in 1846 by M. H. Brown and T. B. Grant and was conducted by them 
until the death of Mr. Brown which occurred during the year 1864. 
Mr. Grant cniitinued the business singly imtil 1887, when James M. 

Edwards acquired pos- 
session. In January of 
1896, George Kern and 
John T. McCurdy as- 
sumed interests as part- 
ners, Mr. McCurdy being 
succeeded in 1900 by 
Herbert Miller, so that 
the present tirm consists 
of James M. P^dwards, 
George Kern and Herbert 
Miller. ^Ir. Kern, who 
is in direct charge of the 
business, has been con- 
nected with this estab- 
lishment since his arri- 
val in Dansville some 
fifteen years ago. He 
entered upon his duties 
as clerk in 1887, and in 
nine years had made 
himself such an impor- 
tant factor to the greater 
success of the establish- 
ment, that he was extentled at the end of that time, the partner- 
ship interest he now controls. The energetic and straightforward 
manner in w-hich he accomplishes a great amount of work is suggestive 
of the early acquired spirit of self reliance and progressiveness which 
are manifested in all his dealings with the public. 

The finely appointed store is stocked with most complete lines of 
shelf hardware, stoves, implements, plumbing supplies and fittings. 
Skilled artisans are employed in all the mechanical departments. In 
the rear of the store are located the offices of the Wells Fargo E.xpress 
Company and the Sweet Manufacturing Company. With a reputation 
for fair dealing that covers more than a half century of Dansville his- 
tory, this institution well deserves its liberal patronage, and its eiifi- 
cient management is a guarantee of continued prosperity. 




EXTEMOR VIEW OF THE CORNER HARDWARE STORE 



LOCAL LXD I S TRIES 



181 



Dansville Gas and £lectric Co. 

As early as 1856 the project of lighting the village of Dansville with 
gas, was discussed and on the 3d of April of that year, certain privi- 
leges were conferred upon Sabbatons & Co., of Albany, N. Y., which 
were afterwards revoked. These same privileges were later extended 
to George Gratton of Syracuse, who as manager of the Dansville Gas 
Light Co., which was organized in New York city, May 18, 1861, 
erected the first gas works. About the time the works were com- 
pleted, Mr. Shaner, who was president of the corporation, failed and 
no election of directors being held for several years, Nicholas Schu 
continued the manufacture of gas. The 
village trustees in 1861 accepted a proposition 
from George Gratton to furnish gas for street 
lighting at $3.50 per thousand feet. The 
affairs of the company having become dis- 
arranged, the stock was bought up by Sidney 
Sweet and Judge James Faulkner. In 1877 
J. M. Lowe leased the works and soon after- 
wards associated with him William Hum- 
phrey who subsequently acquired Lowe's 
interest in the lease. 

(las was first made from coal, ne.\t from 
naptha vapor, then from gasoline, subse- 
quently from oil, thereafter from coal and 
now by the water process. 





i»^ 



f 



I: f ^ 11' * » ^% 



EXTERIORVIEW ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT 



The first electric system was installed by A. J. Whiteman in the 
rear of the Whiteman Block during the year 1888, under the title of 
the North Dansville, Livingston Co., Electric Light Co., which was 
consolidated with the Gas Company in December, 1895, and the com- 
bination was afterwards known as the Dansville Gas & Electric Light 
Co. The plant and franchise of the Dansville Gas & Electric Light 
Company were formally transferred, April 30, 1900, to the Dansville 



182 



BrSLVESS 



Gas & Electric Company, and the following officers were elected: 
President, E. Floyd Kizer, Towanda, Pa. ; vice president, J. Arthur 
Jackson, Dansville, N. Y. ; secretary, E. L. Smith, Towanda, Pa. ; 
treasurer, vS. N. Blake, Elmira. George A. Sweet, J. M. Edwards 
and B. H. Oberdorf with the officers named above, comprise the board 
of directors. W. P. Finn is superintendent of the entire plant; W. 
S. S. Blundin represents the company in Dansville as collector. The 
plant of the Dansville Gas and Electric Company is most complete in 
its every detail. Centrally located on Ossian street but a few minutes 
walk from ]\Iain, the premises covering two and a half acres, represent 
a considerable amount of capital well invested. The substantial brick 
buildings are sightly additions to the structural beauty of the village, 
while their practically new equipment of latest and most approved 
machinery renders the facilities for the manufacture of gas and elec- 
tricity unsurpassed. 

The building containing the new United Gas Improvement Com- 
pany's gas machine, and the furnace is 46x38 feet with an average 
height of twenty feet. In the rear is the large gasometer with a 
capacity of 10,000 cubic feet. The new gasometer to be erected this 




INTERIOR VIEW ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT 

year will be capable of holding 40,000 cubic feet of gas, to be filtered 
into it from the smaller tank. Underground are oil tanks with a total 
capacity of 5,000 gallons. Power is generated from one 75 h. p. and 
one 125 h. p. engine and two 200 h. p. boilers. 

The electric light power station consists of a large separate brick 
structure 46.\3()x25 feet with eighty-foot stack and fifty-inch flue. 
Coal sheds with a capacity of lOO tons are adjacent on their own 
switch connecting with the D. & M. R. R. Two incandescent and 
one arc light dynamo of the standard Westinghouse design, furnish 



LOCAL LND US TRIES 



183 



the current for over 2,500 incandescent lights for private and business 
tise as well as thirty-six public lighting and forty-four street arc lights. 
Over 100,000 watts of electricity are generated daily and about 15,- 
000 cubic feet of gas consumed in the same length of time by three 
hundred gas and electric light consumers. 

W. P. Finn, the present superintendent of this extensive establish- 
ment, has been identified with his present line of work since the erection 
of the first electric light plant in Dansville. The Dansville Advertiser 
under date of May 25, 1899, says of Mr. Finn: "He has been connected 
with the works since they first started and by hard study has become 
a good practical electrician which added to his watchful industry, 
makes him the right man in the right place." Mr. Finn is certainly 
deserving of much credit for the efficient manner in which the 
mechanical work of this institution is conducted. 

Mr. W. S. S. Blundin became associated with this company March 
1, 1901, as collector and electrician. Mr. Blundin is a graduated 
machinist and a former student of the Case School of Applied Science 
of Cleveland, Ohio. Possessed of admirable qualifications both as an 
accountant and mechanic, Mr. Blundin takes a deep interest in his 
work and possesses the esteem and confidence of all patrons of this 
company. 




EXTERIOR VIEW GAS HOUSE 



NEWSPAPERS OF THE PAST 

BY OSCAR. >VOODRUFF 



That the present generation knows nothing what- 
ever of the earlier newspapers of Dansville is to be 
regretted, but it is due solel)^ to the fact that only 
an occasional copy of a few of the papers have been 
preserved. Had the work of writing the history of 
these early journals been done half a century ago the 
task would have been an easy one, and the gener- 
ation of today would have had reason to thank the 
writers for this particular portion of our village his- 
tory. Fifty years ago the material for making this history could 
easily have been obtained, either from the files of the newspapers, or 
from copies that had been preserved in garrets and closets, or the 
facts could have been secured by interviewing a few of the older and 
more intelligent readers. 

By a careful perusal of the few newspapers of the past that have 
come into the hands of the writer, it is evident that the publishers 
and editors were nearly all men of scholarly attainments and mechan- 
ical ability, and in every way masters of the art of making and edit- 
ing a newspaper. In those early days the most important element in 
the construction of the paper was the foreign news, and the paper 
that had the largest list of city exchanges generally made up the most 
interesting matter. The next in importance were the political arti- 
cles, and no issue seemed to be complete without one or more of these 
editorials couched in courteous but emphatic phraseology. The local 
news was something unknown and if by chance mention was made of 
some local affair it was generally in connection with politics. The 
papers, however, were well filled with advertising matter, and more 
real information of a local nature can be obtained from this source 
than in any other way. But in all departments of the work there 
was easily seen to be an apparent design to make the paper just as 
good as it possibly could be, and to give the readers the best of the 
editor's talents. It was extreme mental exertion that gave the early 
newspapers of Dansville the position in the front rank of country 
journalism they no doubt held, and it is the same mental exertion, 
coupled with advanced thought and improvements in machinery, that 
has raised the newspapers of Dansville today to the level they occupy 
and makes them the peers of the country newspapers of America. 

184 



LOCAL LNnUSTRLES 



185 



The Village Chronicle 

The first newspaper published in 
Dansville was The Village Chroni- 
cle. It was started April 19, 1830, 
by David Mitchell and Benjamin C. 
Dennison, and the late B. W. Wood- 
ruff was one of the compositors who 
assisted in making the first issue. 

The paper was a six-column quar- 
to and it was printed on a Ram- 
mage press, a crude piece of ma- 
chinery made of wood, but on which 
very good work was done when a 
skillful printer pulled the lever. 
Mr. Dennison retired some time 
during the first year of the paper's 
e.xistence, and presumably the same 
year, Mr. Mitchell, who was then 
the sole publisher, changed the 
name to The Dans nlle Chronicle, 
adding the sub-head, "And Steu- 
ben and Allegany Intelligencer." 
When the anti-Masonic crusade be- 
gan in this state in 1832 Mr. Mit- 
chell converted the paper into an 
anti-Masonic advocate and strongly 
supported the political candidates 
of the anti-Masonic party, viz: 
William Wirt for president, Amos 
Ellmaker for vice-president, Fran- 
cis Granger of Canandaigua for 
governor, and Samuel W. Smith 
(father of Mrs. Caroline Grant now living in Dansville) and George 
W. Patterson of Leicester for members of assembly. It has been 
intimated that Mr. Mitchell afterwards changed the name of the 
paper to The Village Record but there is no record of that fact in 
existence. It is certain, however, that the paper had a brief career. 
Mr. iMitchell moved from Dansville to Rochester and engaged in the 
manufacture of perfumery, and died there. 

The Dansville Times was published in 1835 by D. C. Mitchell but 
nothing further is known of the paper, nor is it known whether the 
publisher was the D. Mitchell who conducted the anti-Masonic jour- 
nal or another person. 

The Western J^ew Yorker 

In 1841 The Western New Yorker was established by A. Stevens & 
vSon. The publication was continued for a short time when for some 
reason the name was changed to The Dansville Whig, and Geo. W. 
Stevens, son of A. Stevens, became its publisher. Some time later 
the paper was purchased by Charles W. Dibble (this was in 1846) who 
conducted it less than a year, for in 1847 the name of Geo. W. Stevens 
appears as its editor and publisher. Stevens continued in charge of 




DAVID MITCHELL. FOUNDER. OF FIRST 
LOCAL NEWSPAPER 



l86 BrS/XESS 

the paper until 1848 with much success and in that year he changed 
the name to The Dansville Courier. The paper was then enlarged 
and greatly improved in appearance by new type, a large and attract- 
ive head, and by being worked on an iron Washington hand press, 
which presses were then coming into general use. In 1849 the paper 
was sold to Henry D. Smead, who changed its name to the Dansville 
Democrat and continued its publication in the third story of the 
Hedges block on ilain street for four or five years. It was then dis- 
continued and the material was sold to George A. Sanders who moved 
it to Geneseo. Mr. Smead came from a family of printers, his father 
being the founder of The Steuben Farmers' Advocate at Bath. Mr. 
Smead moved to the West in 1854 and died there. 

The Chimes 

In August, 1853, Orton H. Hess started "The Chimes" as a monthly, 
but it lived only a short time. It was an eight-page paper, devoted 
to "fact, fun and fancy," and it was a bright, witty paper and 
much superior to most journals of its class of that day. One of its 
chief contributors was Leonard H. Grover, now of New York, who 
has for more than forty years been connected with the theatres of 
the metropolis. Mr. Hess later on graduated in medicine and died 
in the West several years ago. 

The Truth Teller 

The Truth-Teller was started in ^lay, lS4-f, by Rasselas Fairchild 
and continued for sixteen weeks, or until September 5, when the 
editor in a lengthy and sarcastic editorial announced its suspension, 
"for a time at least," because of "poor patronage and want of 
friends." It was a small paper, neatly printed, but for some reason 
it was not appreciated. Mr. Fairchdd left Dansville afterwards and 
was a compositor in the office of the New Orleans Picayune, where he 
was found dead one morning near his case. 

The Laws of Life 

The Laws of Life, originally called "The Letter Box" was a month- 
ly health journal started at Glen Haven, N. Y. , in 1857, and brought 
here in 1858 by Dr. James C. Jackson when he took possession of 
The Dansville Water Cure, later known as Our Home on the Hillside, 
but now known the world over as The Jackson Sanatorium. A circu- 
lation of 10,000 copies per issue was attained before the publication 
was discontinued in 1893. Dr. Harriet N. Austin was associate edi- 
tor and editor for a considerable period preceding the year 1880. 

The Daily Ifegister 

The Daily Register was started June 20, 1859 by W. J. LaRue 
publisher and edited by H. C. Page. It was a four-page paper with 
four columns to the page, and as it received Associated Press Dis- 
patches over the Genesee Valley Telegraph line its news was always 
the latest. When the Register suspended on August 8, after a fairly 
successful career of about two months, it was followed by the Valley 
City Register, a weekly, published and edited by Jlr. LaRue and "Sir. 
Page, which was discontinued at the end of that year. 



LOCAL LNDUSriUES 187 

The Daily Herald 

The Daily Herald was started Jan. 2, 1870 by Geo. A. Sanders, and 
so far as is known it existed but three months, it having been demon- 
strated that a local daily could not thrive long in Dansville. For 
about two months of the time A. O. Bunnell was associated with Mr. 
Sanders as its local editor. 

The Dansuille Chronicle 

The Dansville Chronicle was established in 1848 by E. G. Richard- 
son & Co., George H. Bidwell of Bath being the partner. On the 
15th of Februai-y, 1850, Mr. Bidwell sold his interest to Charles C. 
Sedgwick (who is yet living in Dansville) who was at once installed 
into the editorial chair, and he continued in this position for seven 
months when he sold out to Mr. Richardson. The next year the 
paper was discontinued and Mr. Richardson took a "case" in the of- • 
fice of the Dansville Herald where he remained as a compositor until 
the Civil war broke out in 1861, and he then enlisted in Co. B, 13th 
New York A'olunteers, and was supposed to have been killed at the 
battle of Fredericksburg in Virginia in 18b2, as he was severe- 
ly wounded and was never heard from. 

The Fountain 

The Fountain was a small temperance monthly started in 1849 
by I. R. Trembly, who continued to publish it for two years. It 
was made up mostly of selected stories and miscellaneous reading. 

The Livingston Sentinel 

In October, 1857, H. C. Page, who had had charge of the Dansville 
Herald for a few months, started the Livingston Sentinel, the office 
being located on the second floor of the Dyer block. W. J. LaRue 
was its publisher and Mr. Page its editor. It was discontinued in the 
spring of 1860 and Mr. Page and Mr. LaRue went to New York where 
they started the New York Sentinel, a daily and weekly newspaper 
which supported Stephen A. Douglas for the presidency and for a 
year or two afterwards it was an ardent war democratic journal. Mr. 
LaRue was the publisher and Mr. Page attended to the editorial work. 
When the paper suspended ]Mr. LaRue came back to Dansville where 
he is yet living and Mr. Page founded the Herald at Bayonne, N. J., 
which he is still conducting. 

The Dansville I(epublican 

The Dansville Republican was established in January, 1842, by 
David Fairchild. The paper was a small sheet but it ardently sup- 
ported Polk and Dallas, the democratic candidates for president and 
vice-president in 1844, at which time it was published and edited by 
F. Orville Fairchild. In December, 1844, its publishers were F. O. 
and R. Fairchild, evidently sons of the founder, for in 1S45 it was 
published by D. Fairchild &- Sons, and the paper had been enlarged 
and very much improved typographically. At this time, too, local 
affairs began to receive attention and as the Village of Dansville 
was incorporated in that year and much space was given to the fact, 
the paper was much more interesting than it had been. 



188 BUSINESS 

The Invincible 

The Invincible was started as a Greenback paper in November, 
1878, by David Healy, who had come from Canada a short time be- 
fore. It was printed at the office of the Dansville Express, but it was 
short lived, suspending in May, 1879. Mr. Healy, who was a promis- 
ing young man, went to Brooklyn soon after and studied law and took 
an active interest in politics. 

The Young Enterprise and the Dansville Union 

The Young Enterprise was a four-page weekly newspaper, published 
for four months during the summer of 1877 by JNliller H. Fowler and 
John Faulkner. It was a bright little paper containing local news 
items and advertising and ran in strong competition with the Dans- 
ville Union, another juvenile production, published at the same time 
by Job E. Hedges and John L. Johnson. Editor Hedges once remarked 
in a news item : 'Our correspondent from Syria informs us that the 
water in the Dead Sea is salty.' Editor Faulkner was once led to 
announce that "the Union must and shall be disturbed." A few copies 
of these papers are still preserved and from both typographical and 
literary standpoints are very creditable, and bespeak the early tendency 
towards journalism manifested by boys of whom Dansville now is 
justly [iroud. 

Good Times 

Good Times was an eight-page storv paper, published from Decem- 
ber, 1887 to September, 1888, by E. M. Parmelee with H. W. DeLong 
as editor. The mechanical work was done at the Breeze office. As 
many as 20,000 copies per month were circulated. The paper was 
afterwards consolidated with the Young Folks Circle, published at 
Springfield, Ohio. 

Cycling Young America 

This magazine was published by W. H. Dick and printed at the 
Breeze office, attaining at one time a circulation of 5,000 copies a 
month. It was started in January, 1893, and in October of the same 
year was disposed of to the publishers of the official organ at the tri- 
county-league of bicyclists at Nunda, N. Y. 

The D. H. S. Mirror 

The Dansville High School Mirror was instituted by James Brogan 
and Fred Clark in February, 1900, and run successively by them until 
June, 1901. From September, 1901 to June, 1902, it was published 
by Roy Welch and Edward Brogan. Five hundred copies of each 
issue have been printed at the Breeze office. The numbers for April, 
May and June, 1902, were combined in a year book, which was deemed 
so creditable by the board of education that several hundred extra 
copies were issued in place of the usual annual catalogue. The style 
and general construction of this journal combined with its able man- 
agement reflects credit on the school as well as those in direct charge 
of its publication. It is well deserving of liberal support. 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



180 



THE DANSVILLE E XPRESS. 




Playeil 

Dm. 

luntfliUciiuct MUUM. Ilinb UD IHOItl ^""4? 






Kidnev Pills 






W: 



The Dansville Express (formerly 
the Dansville Herald) was started 
in 18S0 by E. C. Daugherty 6t 
Co., James G. Sprague being the 
silent partner, but he never as- 
sumed any part in the manage- 
ment of the paper, as he was at 
the time conducting a book and 
news business in the store now oc- 
cupied by G. G. Fowler. The of- 
fice was located in the third story 
of the same block. It was started 
as a whig paper, and as Mr. 
Daugherty, having learned the 
printer's trade in Buffalo, was a 
first-class printer and a man of ex- 
cellent character, he succeeded 
in making the Herald a model 
paper, having but few equals 
among the rural weeklies of the 
State. He continued to publish 
the Herald until the fall of 1854 
E. c. DAUGHEB.TY when it was sold to H. L. and L. 

H. Rann, who also came to Dansville from Buffalo. Mr. Daugherty 
moved to Rockford, Ills., and started the Rockford Register, and 
built up a prosperous business. He died of consumption while in 
Florida in 1863, lamented by those who knew him best. In a 
year or two L. H. Rann retired and in January, 1857, H. L. Rann 
sold the paper and moved to Pontiac, Michigan. At that time the 
Know-Nothing party cut quite a figure in politics and it was a syndi- 
cate composed of members of that party who purchased the paper 
from Mr. Rann. The members of this svndicate were Nelson W. 
Green, A. J. Abbott, Dr. B. L. Hovey, C. R. Kern, Orville Tousey 
and others. The manager of the business affairs was E. G. Richard- 
son and the political editor was Mr. Green. When Mr. Green left 




190 



/WSLVESS 



Dansville he went to Cortland county and in January, 1862, he was 
instrumental in organizing the Seventy-.Sixth Regiment of New 
York A'olunteers and he was elected colonel. He served eight months, 
and having engaged in a broil with a brother officer whom he shot, he 
was discharged from the service. He died in Cortland county a few 
years ago. In April, 1857, H. C. Page took charge of the paper and 
conducted it until October of the same year when it was sold to 
George A. Sanders who converted it into a Republican journal. Dur- 
ing his ownership the form of the paper was changed to an octavo, 
and a power press supplanted the old hand press on which it had been 
printed. In August, 1865, Mr. Sanders sold the paper to Frank J. 
Robbins and L. D. F. Poore, two enterprising young printers, who at 
once changed the name to The Dansville Express and changed its 

form to a seven-column quarto. In 
October, 1870, Mr. Poore retired, 
and going to Yankton, vSouth Da- 
kota, he became prominent in poli- 
tics and Odd Fellowship and held a 
number of positions under the gen- 
eral government. He died ten years 
ago. Mr. Robbins enlarged the 
paper to eight columns, and during 
the Horace Greeley presidential 
campaign he supported that gentle- 
man, and at the close of the cam- 
paign he continued it as a Demo- 
cratic paper. On the 27th of May, 
1877, The Express passed into the 
hands of Oscar Woodruff and A. H. 
Knapp, and this partnership con- 
tinued until February, 1882, when 
Mr. Knapp retired and Mr. Wood- 
ruff has from that date to the pres- 
ent been the sole owner of the paper. 
During the nearly a quarter of a cen- 
tury tliat it has been under the con- 
trol of the present owner it has ad- 
hered strongly to the principles of 
the Democratic party, and through 
good report and ill it has supported 
the candidates of that party for 
office in the nation. State, county 
and town, and at the same time it 
has been a firm believer in Dansville's possibilities, and the varied in- 
terests of the village have been given the most hearty support. Gener- 
ally speaking it has been more of a local paper than a political journal, 
and its publisher has labored assiduously to maintain the reputation 
the Express has long enjoyed of being ably and conscientiously con- 
ducted as a dispenser of local news and a staunch Democratic journal. 
The job department of the Express is one of the best in the county, 
being fitted with a large cylinder press, two small presses, and other 
needed machinery for turning out a superior quality of work. 







EXPRESS BLOCK 



LOCAL L\'D US TRIES 



l')l 



aijfgansbillcpbcrfer. 



vol. XUIL 



DAKt^VILLK. LIVINOSTUN COUNTY, N. V.. TirWRSRW. AUGUST V. IBM. 



lliubillE ^MrVIistt 


A MAN LOST t 


(i.<;-iB.*Hfi™<iia,. 


, _, ^ — 


Hs^j^^rira^ 


_ 


^-__T= 


=fi5=i?sr= 


-~^—-'-^~ 


A C PALMKHIS 


Wash Goods 




"".:=:r-HB 




— .'.™"-.^" 


=gpg^g 




-~fe^ 


,^ns;pi-oia.vy\sc- 


Si:;=.'iji:r=u,-'" 




■"ii;" 










iSvf-^=^-- 




^:.'xi_™^ 


«i.«>»»»a«. 




■ 


-".j.i;'.;^=^ 


Hr-^v^^-— 





The present owner, editor and publisher of the Dansville Advertiser, 
A. O. Bunnell, started the paper in a very modest way August 2, 
1860, as a small advertising sheet, not anticipating that it would de- 
velop into the much larger weekly of wide and weighty influence 
which it not long afterwards became and has continued to be. Be- 
cause he intended it as an advertising medium chiefly he named it the 
Advertiser, and when its advertising became secondary to its news, 
editorials and miscellany, he conservatively refrained from changing 
the original name. He has told a little story about his sensitive 
timidity on issuing the first number. So nervous was he that when 
he left the office he hurried through a back street, and reached home 
in a roundabout way with a sigh of relief from having escaped a gaunt- 
let of the possible comments of Main street. Gradually he grew out 
of these flutterings, and thought better of himself and his printed 
child. 

Nearly two-thirds of the time of the Advertiser's existence Mr. 
Bunnell has been alone in its ownership and management. About 
fifteen and a half years in all he had partners. Prof. Joseph Jones, of 
blessed memory, was associated with him as partner from July 1, 
1866, to July 1, 1868, having stepped from the principalship of the 
Dansville Seminary into the newspaper harness. After sixteen years 
more of exacting labor with undivided responsibility, Mr. Bunnell 
received another partner, W. S. Oberdorf, whom he had educated to 
be a printer, who had afterward graduated from the Geneseo State 
Normal school with high honors, and then for two years done editorial 
work on the Geneseo Republican. The new partner confined himself 
mostly to the business end of the office, and proved an efficient and 
enterprising helper. His health failing, so that he had to withdraw 
entirely from office duties or other labor for many months, the part- 
nership was finally dissolved. It began March 1, 1884, and ended 
October 1, 1897. 

In 1871 Mr. Bunnell bought the present Bunnell block in the center 
of the business section of Main street, a three-story brick building 
with two stores on the ground floor. The entire second floor is used 
for the editorial, composing, press and engine rooms; the third floor 
for packing and storage. The Advertiser office has long been re- 
garded by visiting printers and journalists as one of the best equipped 
and most attractive of country offices. The room occupied by editor, 



192 



BrS/XESS 



stenographer and book-keeper, has an inviting and almost ornate in- 
terior, inckiding walls with suggestive pictures, three oak folding 
desks, a large safe, cabinet file, copying press, book cases and case for 
the bound volumes of the Advertiser. All rooms are steam heated. 

Mr. Bunnell, although a Republican from the formation of the 
party, did not intend to publish a political newspaper. But the Ad- 
vertiser was started on the very eve of the great Civil war, when the 
stirrings of the coming strife were in every man's heart, when the 




I - 1 1 II r 



M u y 



i I n n 

□ ^ 



Mm 




inherited blood of revolutionary ancestors tingled in every patriot's 
fingers, and the editor could not resist the imperious impulse to 
ardently advocate the political principles of the administration upon 
which had fallen the supreme duty of preserving the Union. So it 
naturally came about that from the first year the Advertiser has been 
a strong Republican newspaper. The Advertiser has also strenuously 
supported all local movements which to the editorial mind promised to 
be of public benefit. Among these have been the agitations which 
resulted in the raising of companies for the Civil war, and in the town's 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



193 



first railroad, the first waterworks for extinguishing fires and the 
second for domestic as well as fire purposes, the beautiful Greenmount 
cemetery, the Union school, the circulating library, the improvement 
of parks and streets and the establishment of new manufactories. Of 
the Jackson vSanatorium on the hillside, wliich has been of great bene- 
fit to the village as well as its thousands of patients, the Advertiser 
has always been an ardent advocate, and for years the office published 
its famous health magazine, the Laws of Life, which reached a cir- 
culation of 10,000 copies. The literary quality of the Advertiser's 
original articles and selected miscellany has always been of a high 
order of merit, and the general motive of the paper has been educative 
and enlightening, taking broad and liberal views especially of church 
and temperance work. The columns of the Advertiser have been 
notably rich in local history and biography, as acknowledged by coimty 
historians years ago and this year by the writer of the History of 
Dansville. 



Dansville Breeze. 



VOLUME XIX 


DATiSVILLE. LIUINGSTON COUMTV 


N *. TUCaOAV lEPTEMBEB . .^ 




uxsviLie .uui^ 


'——r— -. . 


1, ,|-.-_ ^.■; _- :.-_-.^-.| —I ,. 




J^3^ 


still They Go ! 


WiW&k '■ 


tart^SMdpi^'-V:^^"^ -■-!jr;?^-n'*-;x;: 




^''iHrHi.'-.ZT: 




r '~t 


Hood 1 Sarsaparilla 


^3r35ri'~-i- 


DoQ'iBreanoQrBaci 


»,O...O^f,0«..*ll» 


S^^r.-^TX—.Ts 


Ii";'.tJUl-" 


:.—: 


Business Cards. 


L~~Z-'Z'J.r^- r''"- -- .„, -, 


L . .'i:=.'^ 



The Dansville Breeze was established in 1883 by M. H. Fowler and 
J. W. Burgess. Mr. Burgess had been employed as associate editor 
of the Dansville Advertiser for three years, and Mr. Fowler had been 
conducting a job office for some time. They joined their forces and 
the Breeze was established. As there was already a Republican paper 
and a Democratic paper in the village, Messrs. Fowler & Burgess con- 
cluded that there was room for a strictly non-political paper here, 
hence it was established upon that basis, and as both the other papers 
were issued on Thursday they chose Tuesday for their publication day. 
In the opinions of many the success of the venture was problematical, 
as it was considered doubtful whether Dansville furnished a field 
sufficiently large to assure the success of three papers. However the 
venture was made, and the Breeze has been a success. With the first 
number of the Breeze, Mr. Burgess started a column of original 
humorous writings under the heading of "Old Zimmerhackle's Ob- 
servations," and this department soon came to be a prominent feature 
of the paper, having been widely quoted by other papers throughout 
the country. The Breeze has adhered strictly to the original idea of 
being absolutely non-political. Its proprietors have pronounced views 
on political matters, but they have never been allowed to crop out in 



194 



BrSLV£SS 



the columns of their paper. Believing that corporation matter should 
be lifted clear out of politics, the Breeze has reserved the right at all 
times to have its say in the affairs of the village, endeavoring to 
champion the cause it considered best for the general good, and to 
elevate the moral tone of the community. The Breeze has for several 
years been fitting up its job department with special reference to the 
turning out of book and pamphlet work, and has as a result succeeded 
in bringing in a large amount of work from outside, thus turning into 
Dansville's coffers a considerable sum of money that formerh- went 
into other channels. 

In 1893, being unable to secure an office suited to their needs, 
^Messrs. Fowler & Burgess erected the brick block on the corner of 




3REEZE BLOCK 



Main street and Chestnut avenue, in which the office is now situated. 
In 1900 Mr. Fowler purchased Mr. Burgess' interest in the real estate, 
and on the first of June, 1902, he purchased Mr. Burgess' interest in 
the Breeze and since that time he has been the sole owner of the 
paper. 

Mr. Herman W. DeLong, the present editor of the Breeze, is best 
known in connection with his bookstore, which he has conducted suc- 
cessfully for more than a score of years. His ability and natural 
talent in literary pursuits have been manifested for many years by con- 
tributions to leading magazines, notably The Forest and Stream. Mr. 
DeLong is ably maintaining the high standard of excellence which the 
Breeze has always enjoyed as a clean, newsy and well edited sheet. 



/. O CA L IND I 'S TRIES 



195 



Vmi 



NORMAL INSTRUCTOR 




1^ 



AND 



^ TEACHERS WORLD ^ ) 




OANSVILLC. 



SCPTCMBCA.- I 90 J 



THE npcninc bell of ihc new school year 
givps a varied tone indifferent leachers 
To some ii is a knell, sadly summoning 
to laborious duties and hated routine, 
while to others ii is a peal o( welcome to pleas- 
ant occupation and beloved assonaiions. As- 
suming the same tr.-iinmg and equipmeni, 
■which are likely to gel Ihe best results out of 
thesihoot' It IS unnecessary to ask ivtoch 
teacher the pupils will enjoy the most ' 



•WE POINT WITH PFUDt~ 
The above phrase is generally assumed to 
be the peculiar property of the polTiical orator, 
and it is trequentty overworked by that per- 
sonage during a campaign where party rec- 
ords or party candidates are heing eulogized 
We are constrained, however, to take the 
phrase out ol its ordinary environntcni and 
put It ai work in a different field, as being a 
peculiarly apt tcxi tor our present discourse 
"We poini wiih pride — then — to the pres- 
ent issue of NoHM^i. Instructor anoTeacH' 



But we also "point with pride" to the mag- 
nificent number of subscribers possessed by 
this jnumal. Before the present combinatiun 
waseffecied, the Normal Instructor wuh 
Its list of one hundred thousand, probably h^d 
twice as many subscribers as any other edu- 
cational paper. The Teachers World, with- 
out doubi. came next on the list in this re 
gard The combination of two such lists 
K'vcsa circulation so far and away beyond 
any other of its class as to make comparisons 
UMtrsv To be more exact In dcalinj; 



TKe Instructor PtablisKing' Co. 

The Instructor Publishint;- Company is the outgrowth of the Empire 
State Teachers' Class which was established by F. A. Owen at South 
Dansville, N. Y., in 188'>. In the autumn of that year Mr. Owen, 
who had then barely passed his majority, engaged the old Rogersville 
Union Seminary building for the purpose of conducting a private 
school. In canvassing the community for students he was confronted 
with the fact that many who desired to attend school could not do so 
for want of time. The thought of sending lessons to these would-be 
students through the mail was conceived and gradually enlarged upon 
until finally a comprehensive system of teaching by correspondence 
on a large scale was evolved. Although the fact is not generally 
known, it is true that this was the first institution in America to 
teach by correspondence — a method of instruction which has taken on 
such extensive proportions during the last four or five years and 
which has been so generally endorsed by college officials and 
instructors. 

After two years of association with the teachers of the country in 
the correspondence work, Mr. Owen conceived the idea of a magazine 
devoted to the interests of the school-teaching profession. Although 
having not a dollar of capital nor a particle of journalistic experience, 
he boldly advanced into the already crowded field of educational jour- 
nalism, and this' in the face of the discouraging advice of consulted 
friends and publishers. The title chosen for the journal was Nor- 
mal Instructor, the first issue of which — November, 1891, 20,000 
copies — resulted in only five hundred paid subscriptions at thirty 
cents each, and barely paid half the cost of publication. But with 
that aggressiveness which has ever characterized the management of 
the enterprise Mr. CJwen pushed steadily forward, with varying 
success, until today Normal Instructor is read by a quarter of a 
million teachers in every part of the world. 

The first quarters of the business was the attic of a small country 
grocery store at South Dansville, a village of less than one hundred 
inhabitants. This attic, which was shared with the thousand and one 



LOCAL INDUSTRLES 



197 



1. _llWW..ilj/' ^ ^^^H^R 


1. 

f 

- < 


1 'i^^^l 




-^^ 


T! "^^^ ■■'->^i 




M 



MAIN OFFICE 



articles that go to make up the stock of a country grocery, served as 
an office for about six months. During this time the type for the 
magazine was set by the printing establishment of Fowler & Burgess, 
Dansville, N. Y. , forwarded to Rochester where these first issues were 
jirinted and bound, then shipped to Dansville and carted to South 
Dansville where the editions were mailed. The papers were then 
brought by stage back over the same route and passed through the 
Dansville postoffice. 

Realizing the importance of better mailing and publishing facilities, 
Mr. Owen, in April, 1892, moved to Dansville and engaged a single 
room over the present store of Kramer & Sturm. This room contin- 
ued to serve as 
oiBce, m a i 1 i ng- 
room and store- 
room until De- 
c e m b e r , 1893, 
when Fowler & 
B u r g e s s — who 
still continued to 
do the printing 
under contract — 
to meet the re- 
quirements of the 
constantly grow- 
ing subscription 
list, were com- 
pelled to enlarge 
their equipment. 
To provide room 
for t h i s they 
erected a fine two 
story brick build- 
ing, with a suite 
of office rooms on 
the second floor 
for the especial 

BUILDING IN WHICH THE INSTRUCTOR. ORIGINATED. NOW A BARN. USe of the Nomial 




l')8 



BUSINESS 



Instructor force which then numbered less than ten persons. During 
the next three years it was necessary gradually to increase the office 
room until at length the whole second floor was utilized. It was now 
(winter of '95-'96) apparent that the development of the business 
would require vastly more space than was available here, and a new 
three-story brick structure was erected directly across the street, 
which it appeared would answer for all time. The business was moved 
into this latter building in December, 1896, and in less than one 
year from that time it was necessary to double the space by an 
addition in the real. With this added facility more room was not 
required until the fall of 19U1, when about 10,0(10 square feet of floor 
space was provided in the form of a new three-story brick building 
adjoining the original one. 

In November, 1895, C. F. Snyder, who had previously purchased 
the above mentioned correspondence school, became associated with 
Mr. Owen in the concern, and these two gentlemen with W. J. 
Beecher, who also became connected with the business in 1897, con- 
tinued to conduct the publishing business and the correspondence 
school under the name of Teachers Improvement Company. In 
August, 1899, the concern was made a stock company, being incor- 
porated under the laws of the State of New York, with a capitalization 
of $60,000. F. A. Owen, C. F. Snyder, W. J. Beecher and F. C. 
Owen were the stockholders. The last named remained with the 
company as advertising manager until August, 1901, when his shares 
were purchased by Messrs. F. A. Owen and W. J. Beecher. In June, 
1900, Mr. Snyder sold his stock in the corporation to the other share- 
holders and again purchased the correspondence school which has since 
been conducted as an independent concern. The capitalization of the 
coinpanv was increased to $300,000 in July, 1902, and D. C. Kreidler, 
L. M. Paine, C. T. Lemen, R. C. Perkins and J. L. Wellington, all 
employes of the company, became associated as stockholders, and with 
Messrs. Owen and Beecher were elected- directors. The present 
officers are: F. A. Owen, president; W. J. Beecher, vice president; 
D. C. Kreidler, secretary; R. C. Perkins, treasurer. 

During these yearsof progressthe circulation of Normal Instructor has 
steadily advanced, increasing gradually to 100,000, which number was 
reached in December, 1897. In May, 1902, the Teachers World, a leading 
monthly educational journal in its thirteenth volume, was purchased 
and combined with Normal Instructor. This consolidation gave the 




POOK DEPARTMENT 



LOCAL LND US TRIES 



199 




COMPOSING B.OOM 



magazine a circulation of 130,000 — three times that of any of its con- 
temporaries — and reinforced by the added professional merit which 
the new magazine furnished the Normal Instructor was placed beyond 
question in the front rank of educational journalism. The World's 
Events, an illustrated monthly magazine of current news, established 
by the company in November, 1900, has already attained a circula- 
tion of 75,000, and according to the present ratio of increase will have 
obtained more than a quarter of a million subscribers before it has 
reached its fifth volume. In producing World's Events, the pub- 
lishers have achieved a success never before attained by a current 
topics journal; namely, the covering of the world's news for the entire 
month up to the date of issue, in exactly the same manner as is 
done by daily papers. This could not be accomplished, except by 
the application of the most modern journalistic methods and the use 

of the latest improved facil- 
ities. 

The mechanical equip- 
ment of the institution con- 
sists of about ten tons of 
type, a type-setting machine 
with a capacity of seven 
men, a complete electro- 
typing outfit, a Dexter fold- 
ing machine equipped with 
an automatic feeder, with 
a capacity of 30,000 a day, 
a binder with a daily capac- 
ity of sixteen thousand, a 
trimmer, two mailing ma- 
chines, five job presses, and 
five large cylinder presses 
each equipped with a Dexter 
automatic feeder. The pro- 
duct of these presses, which 
are operated day and night, 
at the present time is a little 
less than two million impres- 
sions a month, and, if the 
writer may be permitted to 
make a few local compari- 




PRESS ROOM, SECTIONAL VIEW 



200 



BUSLVESS 



sons he would say that these impressions represent an output of maga- 
zines which if placed end to end would extend the entire length of the 
Genesee Valley from Dansville to Rochester. If this monthly issue 
were stacked one upon another, they would form a column over two 
thousand feet in height, or considerably more than twice the height 
of East Hill. If each impression of these presses represent a sheet of 
paper 42'i' inches by 27 inches — which is the size used — the sheets 
passing over the presses in one month reduced to a single ribbon one 
inch wide, would reach once and a half times around the world. 
Estimating that each magazine issued from these presses every month 
were read by five persons — which is a fair estimate — such readers 
would constitute a city with a population equal to three-fourths that 
of Greater New York, or would populize New England with the excep- 
tion of Massachusetts. If these readers were formed in a straight line, 
standing shoulder to shoulder, the line would extend a distance of five 
hundred miles, being longer by ninety miles than the Lackawanna 
railroad from New York to Buffalo. The amount of postage paid by 
the company last year on all classes of mail matter was twelve thousand 
dollars, and it is due to the large volume of mail dispatched and re- 
ceived by this company that the Dansville postofifice has attained 
its present rank and the people of the village given the benefit of free 
delivery. The company daily receives and dispatches an average of 
about two thousand letters and about two tons of second class matter. 

At the present time,' more 
room and greater facilities 
being required by the grow- 
ing demands of the business, 
the company is arranging 
for the erection of a large 
plant, double the capacity of 
the present one, and the es- 
tablishment of a job printing 
department on a large scale. 
When these plans are con- 
summated, which in all prob- 
ability will be within the 
coming year, it is expected 
the company will give em- 
ployment to about twice its 
present force or two hundred 
people, whose combined 
wages will amount to at least $50,000 a year. 

F. A. Owen, the originator and controlling spirit of the enter- 
prise, has the general management of the business, and W. J. Beecher 
is the literary and managing editor of both journals. D. C. Kreidler 
is advertising manager, L. M. Paine manager of the subscription 
department, and Charles Lemen superintendent of the printing 
department. — Contributed by J. L. Wellington. 




electrotyp;ng department. 



LOCAL LXD US TRIES 



304 



H. E. Hubbard 

Undoubtedly the most important of all local industries are those 
which create a demand for home products, employ home labor and 
find market abroad for their manufactured output. When the income 
that supports an enterprise is derived from outside sources, one can 
readily see that the wealth of the village is increased in much larger 
proportion than is possible where a business is only local in its extent. 
One of the men of Dansville who have already made manifest the 
truth of these statements is Henry E. Hubbard. 

About two miles south of Dansville village on Big Mill creek is lo- 
cated the factory of H. E. Hubbard, whose horse pokes, well curbs, 
chain pumps, buckets and tubing are used e.xtensively throughout this 
State and many adjoining ones. The business was established in 1861 
by H. O. Hubbard, father of the present proprietor. Until 1870 the 



^, 



s. 



in f (■ 






,^ *<5::^ 



FACTORY OF H. E. HUBBARD 



manufacturing of these goods was carried on at the establishment now 
presided over by Fisk Bros. In the spring of 1880 Mr. H. E. Hub- 
bard, having succeeded his father in the business, erected the present 
factory, choosing for his location the former site of a pioneer's saw 
mill. At this point there is a natural fall of eighteen feet on the creek 
bed which, besides furnishing abundant power, forms one of the most 
beautiful of the many scenic pictures about Dansville. Mr. Hub- 
bard's business has continued steadily to increase in volume until it 
now ranks among the most important of the home industries. 

Five thousand horse pokes, 3,000 chain pumps, 1,000 well buckets, 
500 curbs, 80,000 feet of tubing and 125.000 feet of finished lumber 
constitute an average yearly output. 



202 



BUSINESS 



Peter "W. Byer 

One of the oldest established shoe houses in western New York and 
one of the largest and best equipped to be found outside of the very 
large cities is the elegantly appointed emporium now being success- 
fully conducted by Peter W. Byer, who has had over fifteen years' ex- 
perience in this line of commerce. This business was originally es- 
tablished in 1850 by Henry Byer, father of the present proprietor and 
owner, the first location being in the Cook block. Mr. Henry Byer 
is a native born German and like the majority of his race who have 
favored this vicinity, has been an energetic worker and successful 
merchant as well as a skilled craftsman. In 1891 Messrs. P. W. Bver 




BYER'S SHOE STOB.E 



and E. M. Parmelee came into possession of the business and continued 
as partners until 1896 when Mr. P. W. Byer became sole proprietor 
of the establishment. During the forty years of the first owner's 
control, numerous locations at advantageous points were secured. 
Fire in 1864 destroyed the building, including all the contents, located 
near the present Breeze block, which constituted the headquarters of 
the business at that time. Mr. Byer afterwards built the block now 
occupied by C. Kramer on Exchange street and was located there for 
a number of years. Two years in the present Randall block, three 
years in the Hyland House block, two years at the present location of 
Daniel Blum brings us to the year 1882, which marked the entrance 
into the Maxwell block, from ivhich the business has but recently been 
removed. 



LOCAL LND US TRIES 2o3 

Half of the ground floor of the new Scoville block was fitted up 
especially for Mr. P. W. Byer, being constructed under his personal 
supervision according to the most modern plans of the finest retail 
shoe houses in the country. The arrangement of the interior is most 
artistic and well adapted to display to advantage the mammoth stock 
of foot coverings which include only the leading makes and latest 
styles. The stamped steel ceiling is twelve feet high, the shelves 
reaching from floor to ceiling and from end to end of the seventy-foot 
store. A very fine basement furnishes ample storage room for reserve 
stock and rubber goods. All fixtures and shelving are of light oak 
and all interior decorations are made to correspond, giving to the 
whole an appearance of elegance and beauty hard to describe. The 
large plate glass display window on one side is backed by one of the 
largest plate mirrors ever made for this purpose, reaching from floor 
to ceiling. 

Mr. Byer has for many years been called a thorough shoe man, be- 
cause of his broad conception of the needs of his business and the 
capable manner in which he has always conducted it. By the interest 
and personal attention that he takes in all patrons and gives to their 
needs he encourages custom, and when once received it is generally 
for all time. As a'side line, Mr. Byer in 1895 began the sale of stand- 
ard makes of bicycles, and being an enthusiastic wheelman himself, 
he soon commanded a large trade which has lasted to the present time. 
In six seasons nearly eight hundred mounts were disposed of by him 
and all have given entire satisfaction. It might be said of Mr. Byer, 
that he is one of those practical, sagacious, enterprising business men 
who constitute a very welcome and important factor in the material 
welfare and progress of a favored community. 



"Worden BrotKers Montiment Mfg^. Co. 

It is nearly twenty years since the name Worden became associated 
with the construction of monuments, and from a small beginning when 
most of the work was done by the proprietors of that name, there has 
developed one of the most extensive institutions of its kind in New 
York State. Fifty skilled workmen are now employed and the finished 
products ranging from the cheapest marker to the most expensive 
statue are seen in nearly every county in the State. 

The business was originally established in 1885 by C. A. Worden & 
Son and continued as such until 1891, when the sons C. A. and F. E. 
Worden formed the co-partnership known as Worden Bros. The sons 
having learned the trade of their father, becoming skilled in the use 
of mallet and chisel, were enabled to turn out satisfactory work with 
increasing rapidity. The addition from time to time of an extra 
workman gradually increased their working force and consequent out- 
put. The business originally confined to Livingston county was soon 
extended to adjoining counties, and for a considerable period the 
satisfaction which their work has produced, enabled them to 



204 Bi'S/NESS 

avail themselves of the services of a salesman. Early in the nineties, 
greater expansion having been decided upon, travelling salesmen were 
employed and the business took on new growth and development. 
Branch depots were established at Buffalo and Rochester and com- 
petent agents placed in charge of them. The first location of the 
home factory on E.xchange street was found inadequate to meet the 
needs of this rapidly growing business, and the present fine premises 
on Franklin street, near the tracks on the D. & M. R. R. , and only a 
few rods from the station, were secured and the present plant and 
office building erected. The two score of skilled granite cutters (all 
union men), by the aid of pneumatic tools, with which the plant is 
equipped throughout, execute with exactness and rapidity the finest 
carving and art work. The beautiful soldiers' monument pictured on 
another page of this history was erected under contract by this firm, 
and besides being an object of great local pride is a pleasing example 
of their finished products. While possessing large interests in Barry, 
(Vt.,) quarries, they do not confine themselves to the use of this one 
kind of stone, but supply any kind of granite or marble that may be 
desired. 

April 1, 19U2, the Worden Brothers Monument Mfg. Co., was in- 
corporated with a paid up capital of $50,U00 and the following 
officers elected; C. A. Worden, president; F. A. Owen, vice 
president; F. E. Worden, treasurer; W. 'SI. Gilboy, secretary. 
This unusually strong combination places this institution on a 
most substantial basis and promises to still further augment 
its power and usefulness. Something of its importance to 
the community may be gained from the fact that over $25,000 in 
salaries is distributed to their employes each year and most of this 
large sum is spent with the home merchants. Practically all the 
money received for finished products comes from outside and the em- 
ployed workmen are attracted here from other places, making most de- 
sirable citizens, from which it can be readily seen that Worden 
Brothers Monument Mfg. Co., has not only added to the financial 
strength of the village, but has made a substantial increase to its 
population. The output for 1902 will double that of any previous 
year and is a truly marvellous record in view of the considerable size 
of their previous business. Messrs. Worden Brothers are men of 
mature judgment and long experience in their branch of commerce 
and manufacture. Possessed of self-reliant and aggressive spirits, 
they have forged steadily ahead and will continue to progress until 
they stand at the head of their class of manufacturers. They have 
grown up in Dansville and as citizens have taken that interest in 
public affairs which is manifested by men of business activity who 
never shirk a civic duty or responsibility when occasion demands 
their services or when their assistance can be made of benefit to the 
public at large. As manufacturers they have done much to spread 
abroad the fame of Dansville as an industrial center of the first class. 



LOCAL LYD US TRIES 205 



Oberdorf CSi Edwards 

Charles Shepard, deceased, wrote fire insurance in Dansville for half 
a centiir\- — much longer than any other man or firm. He retired from 
the business in 1893, and sold his agency interests to Oberdorf & Ed- 
wards (B. H. Oberdorf and James M. Edwards) who have since carried 
it on with the enterprise, skill and industry characteristic of the men. 

They were already experienced in the business, having commenced 
twelve years before, when Mr. Oberdorf, who had long been connected 
with the Dansville Advertiser, was obliged to engage in something 
less confining on account of impaired health. 

Mr. vShepard had been commissioned agent for the Aetna of Hart- 
ford in 1848, the Home of New York in 1853 and the Hartford Fire 
in 1856. With these great companies added to their others, Oberdorf 
& Edwards subsequently became the leading agents in Dansville in 
the amount and variety of their insurance, and are now the oldest — 
James Krein and Charles Sutfin, who were in the business in the later 
period of Mr. Shepard's time, having both died. 

The exceptionally strong companies they represent, including the 
oldest and largest American companies, are the Aetna of Hartford, 
Caledonian of England, Connecticut Fire of Hartford, Continental of 
New York, Hartford Fire, Home of New York, Pennsylvania Fire of 
Philadelphia, Queen of America, Williamsburg City Fire of New 
York, Fidelity and Casualty Company of New York, and New York 
Life. 

These eleven first class companies enable them to furnish all kinds 
of policies with the assurance that every honest loss will be met; and, 
in fact, from the beginning until now all losses covered by their pol- 
icies have been fairly adjusted and promptly paid, not one patron hav- 
ing suffered by the injustice, failure or retirement of any of their 
companies. This is partly due, of course, to the integrit)- and effici- 
ency of the local agents, and the people have learned that they can 
insure through them with entire confidence. 

Few of our citizens realize how large are the aggregate amounts 
that have been paid to policy holders in Dansville by the various com- 
panies. The Aetna has paid over $24,000, the Hartford over $14,U00, 
and the Home about the same, to say nothing of the rest of the com- 
panies represented here by Oberdorf & Edwards and other agents. 
The security thus afforded against fires, accidents and calamities by 
the payment of small premiums annually should not be underestimated. 

In addition to their insurance, Oberdorf & Edwards conduct a gen- 
eral real estate business and make loans, and anyone desiring such in- 



206 Bi'S/JV£SS 

vestments or accommodations will be benefited by consulting with 
them. 

The prospect of considerable advances in the values of real estate 
has not been so bright as now in many years, and this reliable firm 
can point out desirable properties at reasonable prices. 

It should be said that the active manager of the firm's business has 
been and is Mr. Oberdorf, ;\Ir. Edwards having had enough to do in 
other directions, and being now the cashier of the Merchants and 
Farmers National bank. 

^^ ^ 

A. J. Werdeim 

The manufacture of cement walks, while comparatively a new in- 
dustry in Dansville, during the past few years has been prosecuted 
with so much skill and enterprise, that these substantial and sightly 
pavements have become of almost universal use. Strong as iron, 
though not as hard as flagstone, they are more pleasing to the eye, 
more comfortable to the feet of the pedestrian, and resist fully as well 
the atmospheric forces, making them by far the finest pavements that 
can be constructed. 

The man who has had almost a monopoly of this branch of industry 
in Dansville is A. J. Werdein, who in eight years has laid over eleven 
miles of walk in Dansville and over a mile in Wayland. Three- 
quarters of this work has been accomplished in the last three years 
and is a natural sequence of the eminent satisfaction manifested by 
his first patrons. His work having stood the test of time and re- 
mained as new, no better recommendation could be given. For the 
year 1902, the record of 65,000 square feet surpasses all previous ones 
for the same length of time. Mr. Werdein has also constructed over 
1,700 feet of curbing for the village and is a general contractor for 
street and gutter work. The Wayland Portland cement, the best in 
the world, is used in preference to all others. Fifteen skilled work- 
men are employed by him. Being a skilled mason as well as manu- 
facturer of cement walks, he is enabled to almost invariably secure 
the choicest contracts for brick and stone construction as evidenced 
in the new buildings of the Instructor Publishing Company, the 
Blum Shoe Company and the new Scoville Block. Mr. Werdein while 
strongly aggressive in his business methods, is also most conscientious 
in all of his business dealings and will not accept a contract where he 
cannot give his personal attention to its every detail. He has met 
with unusual success and he well deserves it. 



1 



208 



BUSINESS 



C. C. VeitK 

The drug house of C. C. Veith was established in the ilaxwell 
block during the year 1874 by James Hodgmire, at the location now 
occupied by the postoffice. Mr. C. C. Veith became associated 
with Mr. Horton, who succeeded Mr. Hodgmire on September 
23, 188C), and on October 2, 1888 became sole proprietor and owner. 
On April 1, 1891 a change was made to the Krein block where the 
business has since been located, at 135 Main street. A general retail 
business is conducted in drugs, patent medicines, wall paper, paints 
and oils, glass, mouldings, liquors, cigars and toilet articles.- A 




C. C. VEITH'S PHARMACY 



handsome soda fountain attracts many patrons who consider the con- 
coctions Mr. Veith dispenses, especially delicious. An agency for 
Huyler's bon-bons is also here located. 

This store has become popular under its efficient management and 
is one of the most prosperous and enterprising places of business in 
the village. Mr. F. L. Uhl and Henry W. Veith assist Mr. C. C. 
Veith, all being licensed pharmacists. The business has been built 
up and the trade extended in a matter most gratifying to its many 
friends and patrons. Mr. Veith is an active, progressive and honor- 
able business man and fully understands the many requirements neces 
sary to successfully conduct his establishment. 



fl 



LOCAL LND US TRIES 



209 



TKe American Correspondence Normal 




C. F. SNYDER 



Twenty years ago if some lore- 
sighted individual had suggested a 
system of correspondence instruction 
such as now exists in this country, 
the plans would have been scoffed 
at and his ideas deemed most im- 
practicable. It is certainly a most 
wonderful accomplishment — the edu- 
cating of far removed scholars who 
are thrown entirely on their own re- 
sources in following the instructions 
sent them by mail. A grand suc- 
i-ess it has proved, nevertheless, and 
today millions of students are per- 
fecting themselves in all branches 
of mechanical and scientific research 
and investigation, who otherwise would have been grubbing away 
in humdrum occupations with small chance of advancement. 

The pioneer correspondence school of America is the American 
Correspondence Normal, established in the fall of 1889 as the Empire 
State Teachers' Class and conducted during the years 1890 to 1893 as 
the American Correspondence College. The originator and prime 
promoter of the enterprise was Mr. F. A. Owen, now president of the 
Instructor Publishing Company. 

In 1892, the school was purchased by Mr. C. F. Snyder and con- 
ducted by him singly until 1895 at which time he became associated 
with the publishers of the Normal Instructor magazine, the con- 
solidation being known as the Teachers Improvement Company. 
This corporation remained intact vmtil June 11, 1900, when ^Ir. 
Snyder withdrew, again purchased the correspondence school and has 
since conducted it as a distinct institution. 

During the first year of the Empire State Teachers Class, 
fifty scholars were enrolled at the small sum of one dollar each ; 
there are today, at the end of thirteen years, more than 30,000 names 
of students on the books of the American Correspondence Normal. 
The facts to be deduced from this comparison are sell evident. The 
most important feature of the school, as the name implies, is the 
training of teachers for higher grade certificates, thus enabling 
them to render more valuable service to their profession. The 
curriculum, however, has been extended so that it now embraces, 



210 JU'SIXESS 

aside from the ordinarj' courses of study pursued in graded and high 
schools, Penmanship, Bookkeeping, Commercial Arithmetic, Com- 
mercial Law, Correspondence and Shorthand, subjects especially 
adapted for those contemplating a business career. 

Mr. Snyder has spacious and well arranged quarters in the Breeze 
block, which are a scene of continual activity. He is an able and 
most successful educator himself and has drawn around him a 
corps of competent instructors and examiners. Thus far in his 
business career he has shown unusual adaptability for his chosen line 
of work, and the earnest and conscientious methods which he employs 
can not fail to insure a greater success for his institution of learning 
so strongly founded and so ably conducted. 



^ >i? 



TKe Hyland House 

The Hyland House occupies the site of the old American hotel, a 
wooden building, which was purchased by George Hyland, Sr., about 
1845 and burned in the spring of 1854. George Hyland, Sr. , owned 
the property till his death, when his son George succeeded to this 
business and ran the hotel during the intervals in which it was not 
rented, until the year 1896. He was proprietor at the time of his 
death which occurred that year. Mr. E. T. Scoville, the principal 
legatee of the Hyland estate, now controls this hostelry, while Mr. 
John King, since 18')8, has had possession, under lease, as landlord 
and proprietor. 

The success of any hotel depends on its reputation among the trav- 
eling public, and this is only gained through the ability of the man- 
agement to meet the demands of the guests in every detail. Such 
has been the good fortune of the Hyland House under the manage- 
ment of its present proprietor, and it stands today with as popular a 
reputation as any hostelry in Western New York. The building is a 
magnificent, four-story brick structure with an eighty-five foot front- 
age on Main street, extending along Ossian street for a distance 
of 120 feet. There are over 75 finely furnished and decorated sleeping 
apartments, many having private baths adjoining; a large and most 
attractive dining room, spacious parlors, reading room and office. 
Throughout the entire house every device that can possibly add 
to the comfort, convenience or safety of the guests is at hand, while 
courteous attendants are in charge of all the departments. It is lighted 



LOCAL LNDUSTRLES 



211 



by gas, heated by steam and is kept in a most orderly condition at all 
times. To all this, together with the justly renowned culinary de- 
partment, the popularity of the establishment may be accredited. Mr. 
King is a most able hotel man, having been previously located at Sal- 
amanca, N. Y., and having devoted more than a score of years to this 
line of work. By energetic and courteous methods he has made himself 
and "The Hyland" general favorites, not only with the traveling_pub- 




HYLAND HOUSE 



lie but with the people of Dansville, who gladly avail themselves of 
the exceptional service here in force which would be obtainalile in their 
own homes only at extreme cost. 

The recent improvements, which represent an outlay of many thou- 
sands of dollars, consist of the re-modeling, re-furnishing and re- 
embellishment of the entire premises. Large upper verandas on both 
Main and Ossian streets' sides are being erected, which will add 
greatly to the beauty of the structure. These and many other evi- 
dences of the present efficient management are cavising the Hyland 
House to surpass all previous records as a hotel of the first class. 



212 



LOCAL LND US TRIES 



B. S. Stone ^ Son. 

One of the must important oi early industries in and about this vil- 
lage was the manufacture of fine carriages and wagons for all pur- 
poses, and for over fifty years, Mr. B. S. Stone of vStone's Falls, has 
been one of the best known representatives of this class of business in 
the county. A man of excellent business tact and unusual ability, he 
has a'lways been active and enterprising and a leading spirit in every- 
thing that pertained to public welfare. The present business was es- 
tablished in 1848 by its present proprietor, who for two generations 
has made his name stand for the best that the market afforded. Besides 
the superior grades of farm and lumber wagons manufactured, Mr. 
Stone does an extensive business in repairing. The drop in the bed 
of the creek at Stone's Falls constitutes a fall of several feet and fur- 
nishes ample power for the machinery of the establishment besides 



^** **'*., 




B. S. STONE 6 SON'S WAGON SHOP 



making one of the prettiest scenic pictures to be found near Dansville. 
Mr. Stone compares the old time methods in wagon making with the 
old style Ben Franklin printing press, and the developments in both 
during the past fifty years have been truly marvelous. 

Mr. William P. Stone, son of the senior member of the firm, who 
was recently admitted as a partner in the business, has for many 
years been popular as a clever workman, an astute business man, a 
good financier and an agreeable companion. This progressive firm 
have won their enviable success by energy, persistence and persever- 
ance and are worthy in every way of the competence that has neces- 
sairly accrued to them. A personal sketch of Mr. B. S. Stone and 
family will be found among the biographies. 



LOCAL INDVSTRLES 



213 




SCHWAN PRUNES GB.OWN BY THOMAS MALONEY & SONS 



Dansville Nurseries. 



From a small beginning some fifty years ago the growing of fruit 
and ornamental trees has expanded into an industry of large propor- 
tions. Fifteen hundred acres are now set out to nurseries in and 
around the village and forty firms, employing during the busy season 
four or five hundred men and boys, are engaged in the business. As 
it requires from 15,000 to 17,000 seedlings to cover one acre of nur- 
sery, it can be readily seen, by a simple mathematical calculation, that 
nearly twenty-five million trees are now under cultivation, hereabouts. 
The soil, climate and atmospheric conditions are such in the valley 
and on the hillsides, that stock matures rapidly and produces strong, 
healthy trees, free from all vermin or insect pests as well as plant dis- 
ease or blight. The reputation attained and now awarded Dansville 
trees is equal to that possessed by those of any other locality in the 
United States. 

It is somewhat in doubt just who was really the first one in Dans- 
ville to set out a nursery, as quite a number engaged in the industry 
about the same time. D. M. Pierson, a well remembered citizen and 
life long resident of this village, is generally credited with having 
been the pioneer in the industry and as seen by the date on the ad- 
vertising circular reproduced on another page, he was actively en- 
gaged in the business as early as 1851. 

His nursery was located on the west side of Main street near Morse 
street and consisted of about twelve acres. Following this work suc- 
cessfully for about fifteen years, he then gave his attention to other 
lines of business. During the ten years immediately following Mr. 
Pierson's experiment, which proved a highly profitable venture, con- 
siderable interest was manifested in this new industry and before the 
Civil war such great progress had been made that Dansville established 
a reputation as a leading nursery center that bids fair to remain a 




II 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



215 



permanent feature. A comparison of the early conditions which char- 
acterized the nursery of a half century ago with the highly improved 
conditions of toda}', fully demonstrates that enterprise in this direc- 
tion has been more apparent during the last decade than has been no- 
ticeable of scarcely any other industry. 

Fifty years or more ago the would be planter or nurseryman grew 
his own seedlings from seeds and pits of small fruits gathered at the 
farm houses. The growing of seedlings soon became an industry in 
itself and reached at one time considerable proportions. Now, prac- 
tically all of the seedlings are imported from France where it has 
been demonstrated they can be grown more cheaply and where the 
soil and climate predispose the plant to early ripening without disease 
or pests. 

In the early days before and during the war, women and children 
were employed at wages ranging from 25 to 75 cents per day. Only 
able bodied men and boys are now employed at wages averaging $1.25 
per day. For tying the buds, strips of bark were formerly used which 
had been procured by soaking bass wood logs in neighboring streams 
for several weeks or until the bark was loosened and could be torn into 
tape like strips which were called strings. The "Raffia," which has 
superseded the bark is a sea grass imported from the Island of Mada- 
gascar. 

The ordinary farm spade was 
the first instrument used for dig- 
ging. This was followed after a 
great many years by the horse 
power digger which requires 
several teams of horses to furnish 
the power. It was the perfection 
of the Dansville steam tree dig- 
ger, however, which practically 
revolutionized this branch of the 
industry. The first one of these 
machines was invented by, con- 
structed for and patented in 1897 
by J. B. Morey Jr. and William 
H. Hartman. It is mounted on 
a four wheel truck and furnished 
with power from a stationary 
(ir traction engine. The machine 
consists principally of two im- 
mense drums on which rope 
cables are wound. Pulleys are 
stationed at the ends of the rows 
of trees so that the strain will 
be at right angles to the row of 
trees. A man on each side of 
the row guides the scoop like 
plow or digger which reaches 
down under the roots and raises 
them out of the soil cleanly and 
quickly. 




D. M, PIERSON, PIONEER NURSERYMAN 



21f) 



BUSINESS 



The moss for packing the trees, which is now obtained in car load 
lots from swamps along the line of the Rome, Watertown and Ogdens- 
burg railroad, was formerly obtained from marshes hereabouts. The 
lumber used for boxing the trees was formerly sawn from native tim- 
ber, but is now secured from the great western forests. 

The pioneer nurserymen sat up nights and whittled their labels, 
marking the varieties on them with a lead pencil. The handsome, pol- 
ished wood labels now used, can be purchased, printed, perforated 
and wired for from 5 to Ij/i cents per hundred according to size and 
quantity. The Automatic Tree Label Machine, the invention of 
a local, mechanical genius, Mr. Samuel Allen, has alone rendered 
these improved conditions possible. Here we have brought to our at- 
tention an intricate, mechanical device which is life-like in its 
operations and has a capacity equal to the manual labor of hundreds 
of men. These machines weigh about one ton each and are supported 
on a frame similar to an iron lathe. A hopper at one end holds a sup- 
ply of several hundred long, thin strips of wood, which are fed into 
the machine automatically, the first operation stamping and shaping 
them the desired size, the second one printing them, on both sides if 
desired, the next perforating and wiring them, when they are delivered 
into an automatic binder, which bunches them ready for shipment. 
A capacity of 300 per minute, 18,000 per hour, is claimed for the ma- 
chine. The machine requires no attention from the operator after 
once being adjusted and set in motion until it is necessary to refill the 
hopper or carry away the finished product 
son, Samuel Jr., are the manufacturers 
They are now located on Franklin street, 
the Franklin street foundry. 

From a few score of standard varieties, the number has steadily in- 
creased until it includes nearly all kinds and species of desirable fruit 
and ornamental trees that are native to this country and climate and 
many foreign ones which have been domesticated. The older resi- 
dents well remember the time when the hauling of trees to AVayland, 
then the nearest railroad station, was of such importance that it con- 



i\Ir. Samuel Allen and 
and control the patents, 
having recently purchased 




SPRING PLANTING OF STOCK 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



217 



stituted an industry of its own, but at great inconvenience and 
loss to the nurserymen. Most of the large nurseries are now either 
skirted or intersected by the Dansville and Mt. Morris or Lackawanna 
raih-oads and have loading stations of their own adjoining the tracks. 
The territory covered by local growers, while originally confined to 
a few nearby states, is now not even limited to this side of the sea, 
but is made to include Europe, South America and the West Indies. 
It is not an unusual occurrence for numerous car loads of ornamental 
trees to be shipped from here into Oregon, Colorado, California and 
Washington. 




. 1 i . .i.:,oo i UK rviNG 



When it is considered that only the most important of the improve- 
ments have been mentioned, and that there are hundreds of others in 
minor details, a truer realization may be grasped of what Dansville 
has done during fifty years in her leading industry. 

^' ^^• 

The Pioneers. 

It has been very difificult to secure accurate information regarding 
the pioneers who were engaged in the business before the war of 1861- 
1865, so that only those who attained some prominence will be men- 
tioned. 

O. B. Maxwell came to Dansville in 1843 and was the leading fac- 
tor in opening the canal a few years later. About 1850 he engaged 
in the nursery business and was the first man in this vicinity to con- 
duct the planting of stock and the growing of seedlings on a large 
scale. He continued his operations in this line until his death in 
1875, and during the quarter of a century that he was a nurseryman 
was the leading and most potent factor in the development and e.xpan- 



218 £[/S/N£SS 

sion of this industry. Three of his brothers, Thompson C, Henry E., 
and Joshua I. came here and learned the business, going to Geneva 
after two years residence in Dansville and establishing the far-famed 
Maxwell nurseries of that city which are now conducted under the 
firm name of T. C. Maxwell & Brothers. Mr. O. B. Maxwell set out 
to nurseries nearly all of the land that now is intersected by Seward 
and Chestnut streets, having his office and storehouse on what is now 
the corner of Seward and Clinton streets. He laid out Seward street 
later, gave the name which it bears, cut up the adjoining land into 
building lots and planted the magnificent shade trees now so much in 
evidence during the summer months. He planted the two hundred 
acres available of the Morey farm to nurseries and purchased the Wm. 
H. McCartney farm of 110 acres and the present Sweet farm of 40 
acres, using the land for the same purpose. 

Samuel and James Ramsden were identified with the business 
here as early as 1854 or 1855. James went west in 1858. Samuel 
was in partnership with J. C. Williams for a number of years. 

John iNIurphy who died in Rochester about two years ago was a 
heavy planter here from 1860 to 1875. 

vSamuel Ingersoll came to Dansville in 1822 and died ^larch 27, 
1861. He was one of the earliest growers and an extensive planter. 

H. Southwick and son, T. T. Southwick, who is now a resident of 
Rochester, cultivated about fifteen acres during the years 1860 to 1870. 

Dr. H. H. Farley and Dr. Porter B. Bristol, practicing dentists 
during the late fifties, made several successful plantings. Dr. Farley, 
after his removal to Union Springs, attained national prominence as 
an authority on the culture of small fruits. 

Mr. E. H. Pratt, now a resident of Fredonia, N. Y., ranked among 
the largest growers of the state for about a score of j-ears and com- 
menced his undertakings here about 1855; William Bristol was asso- 
ciated with him at the time of the breaking out of the Civil war. 
They both joined the army, Mr. Bristol being killed in active service. 
After Mr. Pratt had returned and again took up his business interests, 
he had as partners, Mr. Frederick Taylor, a native of Massachusetts, 
who died a few years later, and Mr. J. J. Bailey who withdrew to 
engage in the hardware business, which he has since conducted. 
Messrs. Maxwell and Pratt for a number of years had joint interests. 

J. C. Williams, a sketch of whose life will be found among the 
biographies, was engaged in the business for a score of years dating 
from 1858. 

Mr. William C. Bryant in 1860 laid the foundation of the large 
nursery business now conducted by his sons James and William. Mr. 
W. C. Bryant was for many years in partnership with Mr. J. C. 
Williams. 

Mr. S. P. Williams, whose death has occurred during the compila- 
tion of this sketch, commenced in 1855 his first operations as a nur- 
seryman, and the splendid business now conducted by his daughters 
under the name of The F. E. Williams Nursery Co., is strongly rep- 
resentative of the enterprise and ability of this worthy pioneer. 

In the early days the more gradual slopes of East Hill and land 
immediately adjoining were considered to be all that was desirable 
for tree growing. After this land had been temporarily exhausted 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



219 



(all nursery land must be given a rest after each three-year crop) 
experiments were made down the valley and on the hillsides to the 
west of Dansville, which have proven very successful. Every portion 
of available land in or near the village either has been, or is now being 
used for tree growing. Even fraction of acre building lots are covered 
with young trees, a very high annual rental being paid for the use of 
this land for three years. 

A large number of the most successful and largest planters today 
are men who a comparatively few years ago were working for other 
nurserymen. This was largely brought about by Western growers, 
who being an.xious to take advantage of the splendid reputation of the 
local stock and advantages of soil and climate, have shipped in mil- 
lions of stock and contracted with local nurserymen to mature them 
here. 

There are now between forty and fifty different firms or individuals 
who are raising nursery stock for the wholesale and retail trade. With 
the exception of a few concerns, the business is all wholesale, and 
principally the growing of fruit trees. Representatives of the leading 
jobbing houses come here every Spring and Fall and buy direct of the 
grower and they in turn supply the retailer. 

As our space is limited we can give but a brief mention of the 
present nursermen. 




TRIMMING STOCK IN WINTER 



220 BCrS/JVESS 



Present J\[urserymen. 

Mr. E. P. Clark, the oldest living local nurseryman, still cultivates 
about ten acres, mostly seedlings, in the growing of which he is also 
a pioneer. He began in 1856. 

Mr. Geo. A. Sweet first engaged in the nursery business in 1869 in 
partnership with J. B. Moray, Sr. The firm of Sweet & Morey was 
in force until 1885 at which time the partnership was dissolved; Mr. 
Morey the same year organizing the present firm of Morey & Son. 
the junior member of the firm being J. B. Morey Jr. Until 1889 Mr. 
Sweet conducted an exclusively wholesale business under his own name 
"Geo. A. Sweet." Mr. Geo. W. Whitney become associated with Mr. 
Sweet in June 1884 and in 1889 under the style of "Geo. W.Whitney & 
Co.," an extensive agency business was established requiring at various 
times the services of more than one hundred travelling representatives. 

In 1896 a retail department was inaugurated and through the med- 
ium of a handsome and comprehensive catalogue issued semi-annually 
trees are sold direct to the consumer. Business in this department is 
conducted under the name of the "Geo. A. Sweet Nursery Co.," of 
which Mr. Geo. A. .Sweet is president, Geo. W. Whitney vice presi- 
dent and general manager, and Maxwell Sweet secretary and treasurer. 
The Sweet nurseries cover over 150 acres and during the busy seasons 
upwards of fifty men and boys are employed whose wages will average 
$1.25 per day. All kinds of fruit trees are grown and many of the 
finest ornamental and shade trees as well. Mr. Geo. A. Sweet is 
president of the local Nurserymen's association, with which nearly all 
Dansville nurserymen are associated. It was formed some years ago 
for purposes of mutual protection and assistance by co-operating with 
each other in securing favorable terms and better service from rail- 
roads, etc. J. B. Morey Jr. is secretary of this association. 

Mr. Sweet has served two years as president of the National Nur- 
serymen's Association and is prominently identified with the two 
National Protective associations for Nurserymen. 

Mr. J. B. Morey, in 1885, retired from the firm of Sweet & Morey, 
and with his son John Jr. established the present firm of Morey & 
Son. This firm employs from 25 to 100 men during the year and have 
an annual payroll of over $10,OiiO. . 



The following list of nurserymen is arranged chronologically accord- 
ing to the dates the various nurseries were established; the present 
acreage of each is also given : 

1855— F. E. Williams Nursery Co 60 " 

1856— E. P. Clark 10 acres 

I860— Bryant "Bros 50 " 

1861— Geo. C. Stone 40 " 

1869— Geo. A. Sweet 15() " 

1870— Jacob Uhl & Son (Nicholas) ; 90 " 

1874— C. F. McNair 50 " 

1876— J. M. Kennedy 30 " 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 221 

1877 — Martin King 25 acres 

1882— Edward Bacon 30 " 

1884— Michael vSheerin 5 " 

1885— Morey & Son (J. B. and J. B., Jr.) 150 " 

1885- F. M. Hartman (>0 " 

1885— Kelley Bros. (James and William) 45 " 

1887— Thos. Maloney & vSons (Edward H. and William J.,).. 'tO " 

1887— Michael Burke 17 " 

1887 — Anthony Daugherty 5 

1888— James Dowds 18 " 

1889— Wm. H. Hartman f.O " 

1889— C. W. McNair 75 " 

18'50— McLane Bros. (Michael and Peter) 15 " 

1892— J. H. Sheerin 30 " 

1892— Albert Hartman 15 " 

1892— Orville Hartman 3 " 

1892— James O'Connor 3 " 

1894— John W. Finn 8 " 

1894— Hugh Nolan 2 " 

1895— Isaac Rogers 100 " 

1896— Anthony Gary 10 " 

1897— Fred Young 30 " 

1897— Lester Nolan 2 " 

1898- Patrick Reilley & Son 20 " 

1899— John Nagle 10 " . 

1900— Ulyette Bros 7 " 



The following not furnishing information we have estimated their 
acreage as follows: J. E. McLane 20 acres; Patrick O'Hara 10 acres; 
Edward Morrison 10 acres; W. B. Maloney 25 acres; John Daugherty 
15 acres. 

Of the above mentioned firms, The Geo. A. Sweet Nursery Co., 
Bryant Bros., J. H. Sheerin, Geo. C. Stone and Isaac Rogers conduct 
a retail as well as wholesale business and issue semi-annual catalogues. 

Mr. Rogers who is located near the Lackawanna depot issues a 
quarterly magazine called the Tree Breeder. He believes that a tree 
may be bred from fine parent stock as well as horses or cattle and by 
using scions from bearing trees of pronounced merit, he has propaga- 
ted trees of unusual excellence for size of fruit and delicacy of flesh 
and flavor. 



222 



BUSLVESS 



Grapes and Wine 

The late J. M. ^IcNair in a hip-hly interesting article in the Dans- 
ville Advertiser under date of January 15, 1891, reviewed the history 
of the grape and wine industry in Dansville, which with a few 
changes and additions is made to describe these industries as they 
exist at the present time. 

The first vineyard was set out by F. M. Ferine in 1860 as a test 
plantation. It embraced about eight acres and was on the hillside 
just above the Sanatorium and comprised the standard varieties 
Catawba, Isabella, Diana, Concord and Delaware. In the years fol- 
lowing the maturity of this vineyard Dr. Ferine regularly took first 
premiums on his Catawbas at the Hammondsport fairs. 






MlCHAtL'S WINE CELLAR 



The result of this test vineyard established the fact now conceded 
that there is no better soil and climate for successful grape culture to 
be found anywhere in the Eastern states than on the slopes of East 
Hill. A southwest exposure and almost complete exemption from frost 
insure, with other advanta«;es of soil and atmospheric conditions, large 
yields and superior size and delicacy of flavor. Grapes ripen here a 
week to ten days in advance of those in the Naples district which is 
noted for its early ripening. Dr. Ferine's experiment was soon fol- 
lowed by a vineyard of fifteen acres, set out by three Germans who 
came here from Hammondsport: John F. Michael, Jacob Smith and 
Andrew Freidel. This vineyard included substantially the same 
varieties and was located south of the Sanatorium grounds and is to- 
day in splendid bearing. The next vineyard was planted by Dr. 
Ferine on the John Dieter farm on East Hill. It covered five acres 
and is now owned by the Lackawanna Railroad Company having 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 223 

been purchased by them when its road was constructed along the 
hillside. About the same time Dr. Ferine set out another vineyard 
on the same farm, embracing about five acres which afterwards 
sold to Dr. D. W. Babcock and later reverted to Dr. F. M. Ferine. 
The next vineyard, one of ten acres, was planted by H. A. Brewster 
upon the Samuel Welch place just above the Dansville Brewery. 
This vineyard is now owned by the Brewster estate. 

vStill another vineyard was planted by Dr. Ferine in 1872 upon his 
own farm south of the Sanatorium grounds and covered at the time 
eight acres It is now a part of Dr. Ferine's large vineyard of fifteen 
acres. The ne.xt planting was around the southern point of the hill 
and embraced a tract of some twenty acres of all the leading varieties 
which are now flourishing vineyards. Charles Stadler, now deceased, 
soon after the Lackawanna was constructed, purchased and set out 
fifteen acres of the Welch farm to grapes, which tract is also now 
yielding abundant harvests of luscious fruit. 

Cyrus Clark set out about twelve acres to Niagaras in 1889 on the 
banks of the Canaseraga creek near "the narrows" south of the vil- 
lage. In 1889 and 1890 Dr. Ferine set out fifteen acres upon his 
East Hill farm as a second test vineyard to the principal new vari- 
eties, such as Focklington, Worden, Niagara, Empire State, Wyom- 
ing and Brighton. 

The present area under cultivation to grapes is a little over two 
hundred acres mostly on East Hill. The principal grapes growers 
with the acreage of their vineyards are: 

Dr. F. M. Ferine 20 

Birdsall Kennedy 20 

Charles Stadler estate 21 

Jacob Smith 15 

John Gering 12 

George Dieter 10 

Frederick Michael 10 

Andrew Freidel 8 

H. A. Brewster estate 10 

Cyrus Clark 18 

Kiehle estate 8 

M. C. Biek 5 

J. B. Morey 3 

Besides which there are a number of smaller vineyards covering one, 
two or three acres which are not enumerated. 

As near as can be estimated over 400 tons were grown and either 
shipped or pressed into wine the season of 1902. 

In this connection it is well to mention the production of wine 
which is carried on by half a dozen establishments and has already 
reached large proportions. 

Dr. Ferine manufactures from 3,000 to 4,000 gallons annually of 
Catawba, Diana, Fort, Claret and Sherry wines. The capacity of his 
cellars is about 9,000 gallons. 

The Charles Stadler estate makes about 5,000 gallons annually of 
Dry and Sweet Catawba, Port and Claret wines. Adam Stadler 
makes about 500 gallons, Jacob Smith 400 gallons, Andrew Freidel 
400 gallons, Fritz Michael about 2,000 gallons, and Cvrus Clark 
about 2000 gallons. 



224 BC'SLVESS 

Paper Making 

The manufacture of paper and paper stock was the most important 
industry in Dansvillefor nearly a centur_v, or until quite recent times. 
The pure water of the many streams flowing in and around the vil- 
lage, early invited this branch of manufacture. The pioneer paper 
mill in western Xew York was, as we have seen, built here in 180')-10, 
by Nathaniel Rochester and was located near the present site of the 
\Villiams & Co. grist mill. From this single enterprise the business 
increased, until in 1844 there were four large paper mills manufactur- 
ing over $100,000 worth of paper per annum. 

In 1820, Amos Bradley came here with his family from Hartford, 
Conn., and commenced the manufacture of writing and print paper 
on a large scale, renting for that purpose the "Old Faulkner paper- 
mill," which he occupied until 1825, when he formed a co-partnership 
with his two oldest sons, Javin and Chester, under the well-known 
name of A. Bradiey & vSons, and in the spring of that year erected a fine 
mill on the ground later occupied by the pulp-mill of the Woodruff 
Paper Co. In 1837, the company met their first great reverse by the 
destruction of their mill by fire. It was immediately rebuilt. Two 
years elapsed and then the fiery element again reduced their mill to 
ashes. They immediately erected what is known as the "lower paper 
mill." Scarcely was this mill got in operation, when they commenced 
rebuilding the one destroyed by fire, which was superior in size, 
machinery and facilities of all kinds to its predecessors and to the 
lower mill. In 1841, the upper mill was again destroyed by fire. 
Phoeni.x-like another soon raised from its ashes, to be in turn destroy- 
ed four years later by the same element; but again it was rebuilt. 

About this time the firm divided, Amos and his sons, Javin and 
Lucius who had also acquired an interest, remaining here, while 
Chester and Benjamin removed to Niagara Falls, and commenced the 
manufacture of paper there. For five years Lucius and Javin con- 
tinued the business, principally at the upper mill, which, in 1854, was 
again destroyed by fire and was never rebuilt by any of the Bradley 
family. 

In 1852, Chester and Benjamin separated, and the former returned 
to Dansville and erected the Livingston mill, which was in active op- 
eration, but under a dift'erent management until Nov. 1, 1866. 

The Woodruff" Paper Co., the successor of the Bradleys' manufactur- 
ing interests in Dansville, was incorporated Nov. 1st, 1866, with a 
capital of $40,000 by L. C. Woodruff", Alonzo Bradner, D. D. McNair 
and Thomas Brown, the latter of whom retired Dec. 7, 1869. his 
stock being purchased by the remaining partners. 

This company was organized for the manufacture of pulp from 
straw, by the process patented and owned by the Hydrostatic Paper 
Co., the Woodruff Paper Co. having the exclusive right for this vicin- 
ity. In 1866 the company purchased the upper mill property of the 
Bradleys, located on upper ilain street, near the junction of Big 
and Little Mill Creeks, which had been unoccupied since the fire of 
1854. The walls of 100 by 40 feet of the present mill were erected by 
the Bradlej's, and have withstood at least three fires. The building, 
which was then a mere shell, was fitted up and enlarged by an addition 



LOCAL INDUSTRIES 



225 



of 4() X 4(1 tVet, i)f lirick and stone, the character of the original build- 
ing, the whole being two stories high. The works were got in reatli- 
ness and operations were begun January 1, lSf)8. 

The works gave employment to about twenty persons, and consumed 
annually about 1,2<H) tons of straw — rye straw being" used almost ex- 
clusively — about 40 per cent of which is converted into pulp. About 
one-fourth of this product was manufactured into paper at the Livings- 
ton paper mill, which was also the property of this company, and the 
remainder was shipped to the New England states, Ohio, Pennsyl- 
vania and Delaware. Straw alone was used in its production. 

The manufacture of print and book papers from straw is of compara- 
tively recent origin, the use of that article having originally been con- 
fined to the manufacture of coarse wrapping paper. But the art of 
manipulating straw has been brought to such perfection that pulp is 
now produced perfectly white and with a texture almost as silken as 
bank note paper. This was the first straw pulp mill in the United 
States. For ten vears there was no competition in the country. 





■jy^^Q^^ 



THE KNOWLTON PAPER MILL 



The Livingston Paper Mill, which has been referred to as being the 
property of the Woodruff Paper Co., was built in 1852, by Chester, 
Javin, Lucius and Benjamin Bradley, brothers. It soon after passed 
into the hands of L. C. Woodruff, who sold it December 30, 1862, to 
Isaac Butts, Joseph Curtis and John E. Morey, publishers of the 
Rochester Union and Advertiser. October 3, 1872, Mr. Butts sold 
his interest to G. O. Cooper, Lorenzo Kelley and Wm. Purcell, and the 
name, which from 1862 was Curtis, Butts &- Co., was changed to 
Curtis, Morey & Co., and the business conducted under the name of 
the Daily Union & Advertiser Co., of Rochester. In February, 1874, 



226 Bi'S/XESS 

it was sold by these parties to the Woodruff Paper Co. The mill gave 
employment to about twenty-five persons, about one-fourth of whom 
were women, in the manufacture of about a ton of printing and book 
paper per day. 

By the failure of the Bradners and L.C.Woodruff work was suspended 
at the Woodruff Mills in 1886. These mills were afterward rebuilt and 
used for a chair factory which did not prove a success and at the pres- 
ent time they are unoccupied. The property was bought by the late 
John Hyland. 

In 1884 the old Livingston mills were burned and on the same site 
two years later the large Whiteman Paper Mills were erected by 
Reuben Whiteman at a cost of $135,000. During September, 1890, 
fire destroyed these new mills and again they were rebuilt a year later, 
by A. J. Whiteman. They were shut down in January 1892, a re- 
ceiver appointed and on March 10 of the same year were sold to 
M. R. Kennedy for one hundred dollars. The name was changed 
to the Dansville Pulp and Paper Co., and reorganized it ran for a 
short time, to again be sold at auction in 1900 to J. H. McNairn, a 
resident of Toronto, Canada. The mill now manufactures tissue 
paper exclusively and is in a flourishing condition. 

The Hollingsworth Paper Mill situated a half mile south of Dans- 
ville was built about 1870 by Captain Henry Henry. The building in 
the spring of 1880 was sold to Henry Hollingsworth who put in 
machinery for the manufacture of paper. A few years later it was de- 
stroyed by fire. 

The Eagle Paper Mills are the property of the estate of F. D. 
Knowlton and were built by Andrew Porter in 1824. They are 
located at the entrance to Poag's Hole ^'alley and are in charge of 
Frederick D. Knowlton, a son of their former owner. Their capacity 
is about a ton of paper per day. 

Most of the original machinery which has been in constant use for 
three-quarters of a century still renders satisfactory service in turning 
out fine grades of wrapping paper. Of the many paper mills which 
have existed in Dansville only two are left, the Dansville Paper Mill 
owned by J. H. McXairn and the Eagle Paper ^lills managed by 
F. D. Knowlton. 

Early Manufactories 

Briefly summarized, the important early manufactories not men- 
tioned elsewhere were: O. B. Johnson's Carding j\Iill built by Samuel 
and Jonathan Fiske in 1826 and destroyed by fire in 1868. The 
Dansville Woolen Mills were built on the same site a few months later 
and were operated until 1879. The Stone Mill (grist) built in 1844 
by Elihu Stanley is now owned by the Angell estate. The Dansville 
Pail Factory was established by E. Shelley in 1S40 and continued for 
many years by George Hyland. 

The Ossian Street Foundry was established in 1842 bv F. and M. 
Oilman and the business is still being conducted by the firm of Oilman 



LOCAL LYDrS TRIES 227 

& Lewis. The Steam Planing Mill owned by Fisk Bros, was built 
in 1861 by J. I. Fisk. A tannery was started in 1865 by Nicholas 
Klauck on upper Main street and now forms part of the plant of the 
Hall Mfg. Co. The Genesee Valley Wine Co. of which Dr. F. M. 
Ferine is the head, commenced the manufacture of wine in 1870. The 
E)ansville Plow Works were established in November 1878 by Moses 
Oilman and C. H. Sandford. The plant is now used by Samuel Allen 
for the manufacture of nursery labels. The manufacture of trunks 
carried on for some years by A. Lozier was commenced in 1874 by 
Carl Stephan & Co. 



1 



I 



Village Directory 



o 




LU 

OS 

UJ 

(t 

2 



> iAtt>A AV^ 



"^^ 



W'L i^or sr 





Business Directory 



City Government 

Oscar Woodruff, president; James A. Young, clerk; Daniel Blum, 
treasurer; Joseph Yochum, collector; B. G. Fobs, attorney. 

Board of Trustees — James E. Crisfield, Herman Hoffman, Henry 
Fedder, George P. Wheaton. 

Board of Cemetery Trustees — George A. Sweet, president; 
A. O. Bunnell, vice-president; Solon S. Dyer, secretary and treasurer; 
Gordon S. Wilson, superintendent; Philip H. Kinney, sexton. 

Board of Education — Frank Fielder, president ; William Kramer, 
F. M. Perine, H. F. Dyer, J. M. Edwards, F. W. Noyes, C. W. 
Woolever, Edward Bacon, J. B. ^lorey, Jr. ; E. J. Bonner, principal 
of high school. 

Board of He.^lth — F. M. Schlick, president; Jacob H. Smith, 
secretary and registrar vital statistics; Fritz Durr, C. V. Patchin, 
health physician. 

Board of Water CoiniissiONERS — Consists of Board of village 
trustees, Eugene A. vSprague, superintendent. 

Trustees Dansville Public Library — Mrs. Elizabeth E. Sweet, 
president; Mrs. Ella H. Preston, treasurer; W. J. Beecher. secretary; 
Miss Lillie M. Endress, Prof. E. J. Bonner. 

Oscar Woodruff, H. Hoffman, Robert Pratt, H. A. Burdick, Henry 
K. Wheaton, justices of the peace. 

Police Department — Oscar Woodruff, chief of police; M. J. 
Welch and Fred Michael, uniformed police; Robert Pratt, police 
justice; Henry K. Wheaton, assistant police justice; John Gunther, 
night watchman. 

Town Officers — B. G. Foss, supervisor; George L. Krein, clerk; 
Jacob Huver, highway commissioner; Joseph A. Wirth, overseer of 
the poor; Charles W. Denton, collector; W. J. Welch, truant officer. 

Assessors — William Cogswell, Nicholas Schubmehl, E. B. Cridler. 

Auditors — Samuel F. Consalus, George E. Kern, Charles C. 
Veith. 

Constables — William J. Welch, John Gunther, Harrv K. Welch, 
A. D. Steffy, Nicholas J." Gerber. 

Fire Department 

(.See Part 11, Paires 5'.i-67.) 

P. J. Melody, chief engineer ; P. J. Coleman, 1st assistant; J. J. 
Stein, 2d assistant; J. L. Wellington, president; F. E. Sprague, 
secretary ; Henry Zaffke, treasurer. 

Volunteer Companies — Union Hose Co., Protectives, Fearless 
Hook and Ladder Co., Jackson Hose Co. 

Fire Buildings — Village hall, Exchange street; L^nion Hose Build- 
ing, Ossian street. 

231 



232 BUSINESS DIRECTORY 

Schools 

(See i'art I, Pages 58-63.) 

High School, SL-hool street, opposite Central Park, E. J. Bonner, 
principal. 

St. Mary's Parochial School, Franklin street, opposite St. ^lar^-'s 
church. Sisters of St. Joseph, instructors. 

St. Patrick's Parochial School, Exchange street, adjoining Village 
hall. Sisters of St. Joseph, instructors. 

Postoffice 

Located in Ma.xwell block. Office hours 8 a. ni., to 8 p. ni. Sun- 
days, 9:30 to 10:30 a. m. Money Order department closes at 6 p. 
in. F. J. McNeil, postmaster; Katherine H. Rowan, assistant 
postmaster; W. J. Brown, mailing clerk ; W. E. Bacon, money order 
clerk; E. J. Murphy, stamp clerk; Karl Krein, window clerk. 

ViLL.AGE Carriers — William J. McNeil, E. C. Alexander, W. J. 
Maloney, William \'eith, substitute. 

Rural Delivery Carriers — Philip Schubmehl, Route No. 1; P. 
O'Hara, Route No. 2; D. G. Acomb, Route No. 3; George Morrison, 
Route No. 4; J. W. Finn, Route No. 5. 

Deliveries — 8 a. m., and 1 p. m., residence section. 7:30 p. m., 
business section extra. 

Collections — 7. a. m., 10:30 a. m., 3:30 p. m., residence section. 
9 p. m., business section extra. 

Arrivals — 6 a. m., east and west; 11:15 a. m., east and west; 
12 m., D. & M. R. R. ; 6:30 p. m., east; 7:28 p. m., east; 7:00 p. m., 
D. & M. R. R. 

Departures — 5:30 a. m., D. & M. R. R. ; 1(> a. m., east and 
west; 2:30 p. m., west; 3:30 p. m., D. & M. R. R. ; 5:20 p. m., 
west; 6:30 p. m., east; 10 p. m., east and west. 

Banks 

Citizens Bank, Citizens Bank building, northwest corner of Main 
and Ossian streets. See Part II, Pages' 134-136. 

Merchants and Farmers National Bank, Kramer block, northwest 
corner Main and Exchange streets. vSee Part II, Pages 172-174. 

Cemeteries 

Greenmount Cemetery. Cemetery street, outside southern cor- 
poration limits of the village. See Part I, Page 101. 
Holy Cross Cemetery, -Catholic, on Stone's Falls road. 

Churches 

(8ee Part II, Pages 35-5S.) 

Baptist, Rev. William H. Brown, pastor, southeast corner Elizabeth 
and Chestnut streets. 

English Lutheran, Rev. Charles G. Bikle, pastor, southwest corner 
Church Square and Exchange street. 

German Lutheran, Rev. John J. Lehman, pastor, lower Main street. 

Methodist Episcopal, Rev. Irving B. Bristol, pastor. Chestnut 
street, near Main. 



B US IX ESS DIREC TOR V 233 

Presbyterian, Rev. Charles M. Herrick, pastor, Central Park square. 

St. Mary's German Catholic, Rev. M. Krischel, pastor, Franklin 
street, near D. &. M. R. R. 

St. Patrick's Irish Catholic, Rev. William. T. Dunn, pastor, 
Central Park. 

St. Peter's Episcopal, Rev. vStephen Howard Ailing, pastor. Cen- 
tral Park, near Exchange. 

Hospital 

Dansville Hospital, Health street, near Sanatorium. See Part I, 
Pages 117-120. 

Incorporated Companies 

Blum Shoe Co., capital $50,000. President, John Blum; superin- 
tendent and manager, Frank J. Blum; secretarv and treasurer, Philip 

E. Blum. See Part H, Pages 132-133. 

Dansville Brewing Co., capital $10,000. President, Peter Laforce; 
secretary, C. R. Heiman; treasurer, Henry Zaffke. 

Dansville Gas and Electric Co., capital $80,000. President E. Floyd 
Kizer, Towanda, Pa., treasurer, E. L. Smith. See Part H, Pages 
181-183. 

George Sweet Manufacturing Co., capital, $3b,000. President, F. 
W. Noyes; vice president, James E. Crisfield; secretary and treasurer, 
R. W. Adams; superintendent, C. H. Nichols. 

Instructor Publishing Co., capital $300,000. President, F. A. 
Owen; vice president, W. J. Beecher; secretary, D. C. Kreidler; 
treasurer, R. C. Perkins. See Part II, Pages 195-201. 

Jackson Sanatorium, capital $100,000. President, James H. Jack- 
son; secretary, J. Arthur Jackson; treasurer, Mrs. Walter E. Gregory. 
See Part II, Pages 98-110. 

Mill Creek Electric Light & Power Co., capital $200,000. President, 

F. A. Owen; vice president, James E. Crisfield; secretary, D. C. 
Kreidler; treasurer, J. H. Baker. 

Peck, The George W. Peck Company, capital $100,000. President, 
George W. Peck, Bath, N. Y. ; vice president, Fred Plaisted, Penn 
Yan, N. Y. ; secretary, Ira C. Pratt, Prattsburg, N. Y. ; treasurer, 
Frank B. Peck, Cohocton, N. Y. ; manager of Dansville Branch, 
George J. Dodson. See Part II, Pages 144-147. 

Worden Bros., Monument Manufacturing Co,, capital $50,000. 
President, C. A. Worden; vice president, F. A. Owen; treasurer, F. 
E. Worden; secretary, W. M. Gilboy. See Part II, Pages 203-204. 

Library 

Dansville Public Library, second floor. Dyer block. Main street, 
librarian, ]Miss Susan Parker. Open Tuesdays and Thursdays 3 to 5 
p. m., Fridays and Saturdays 3 to 5 and 7 to 9 p. m. 

Newspapers and Magazines 

Dansville Advertiser, weekly, issued on Thursday, A. O. Bunnell, 
editor and proprietor, Bunnell block, Main street. Terms $1.50 per 
year. See Part II, Pages 191-193. 



234 BUS/XESS DIRECTORY 

Dansville Breeze, weekh-, issued on Tuesday, Miller H. Fowler, 
proprietor, H. W. DeLong, editor, Breeze block, Main street. Terms 
$1.00 per year. See Part II, Pages l'J3-194. 

Dansville Express, weekly, issued on Thursday, Oscar Woodruff, 
editor and proprietor, Hubertus block. Main street. See Part II, 
Pages 189-190. 

Normal Instructor and Teachers World, monthly magazine. In- 
structor Publishing Co., Main street. Terms $1.00 per year. See 
Part II, Pages 195-200. 

World's Events, monthly current topics magazine. Instructor Pub- 
lishing Co., Main street. Terms 50 cents per year. See Part II, 
Pages 195-2IH). 

Public Parks 

Central Park, bounded by Exchange and Church, Liberty and School 
streets. 

Elm Park, northeast corner Fulton and Pine streets. 

Washington Park, the square bounded by A'anCampen, William, 
Clinton and Clay streets. 

Miscellaneous Schools 

American Correspondence Normal, instruction by mail, C. F. 
Snyder, princioal and proprietor. Breeze block. Main street. See 
Part II, Pages*209-210. 

Caton's Business College, H. A. Harvey, principal. Dyer block, 
Main street. 

Railroad Lines 

Dansville and Mount ]\Iorris Railroad, H. McKinney agent, station 
foot of Milton street. See Part II, Pages 129-131. 

Lackawanna Railroad, C. A. Snyder agent, station one and one- 
half miles northeast from center of village. See Part II, Pages 121-123. 

Societies 

FRATERNAL. 

A. O. H. — First Division No. 3, of the Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians. See Part II, Page 69. 

A. O. U. W. — Dansville Lodge, No. 101, Ancient Order of United 
Workmen. See Part II, Page 70. 

C. M. B. A. — Branch No. 73 of the Catholic ^Mutual Benefit Asso- 
ciation. See Part II, Page 70. 

C. R. & B. A.— St Patrick's Council No. 16 of the Catholic Relief 
and Beneficiary Association. See Part II, Page 69. 

E. K. O. R. — Sherman Council No. 24, Empire Knights of Relief. 
See Part II, Page 71. 

F. & A. M. — Phoenix Lodge No. 115, Free and Accepted Masons. 
See Part II, Page 71. 

J. O. O. F. — Canaseraga Lodge No. 123, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. See Part II, Pages 78-79. 

I. O. R. M. — Kan-a-skra-ga Tribe No. 372, Improved Carder of 
Red Men. See Part II, Page 72. 

K. O. T. M. — Dansville Tent No. 64, Knights of the Maccabees of 
the World. See Part II, Page 74. 



J^rS/N£SS DIRECTORY 235 

L. C. B. A, — St. Elizabeth Branch No. 78, Ladies Catholic Benevo- 
lent Association. See Part II, Page 73. 

L. O. T. M. — Dansville Hive No. 172, Ladies of the Maccabees. 
See Part II, Page 73. 

M. W. OF A. — Dansville Camp No. 421, Modern Woodmen of 
America. See Part II, Page 77. 

N. P. L. — Dansville Legion No. 293, National Protective Legion. 
See Part II, Page 76. 

P. H. C— Protective Home Circle No. 339. See Part II, Page 76. 

P. OF H. — Dansville Grange No. 178, Patrons of Husbandry. See 
Part II, Pages 74-76. 

R. A. C— Dansville Royal Arch Chapter No. 91. See Part II, 
Page 77. 

R. T.— Dansville Council of Royal Templers. See Part II, Page 77. 

S. B. S. — Dansville Branch of the Saint Bonifacius Society. See 
Part II, Pages 78-81. 

LITERARY 

A. L. S. — Alpha Literary Society. See Part II, Page 84. 
Coterie.— See Part II, Page 84, Part I, Pages 97-99. 

D. H. S. L. C. — Dansville High School Literary club. See Part 
II, Page 84. 

R. C.— Reading Circle. See Part II. Page 84. 

Y. M. L. C. — Young Men's Literary Club. See Part II, Page 82. 

PjVTRIGTIC 

G. A. R.— Seth N. Hedges Post No. 216, Grand Army of the Re- 
public. See Part II, Pages 85-87. 

S. O. V. — Mark J. Bunnell Post No. 36, Sons of Veterans. See 
Part II, Page 87. 

MUSICAL 

Citizens Band. — See Part II, Pages 90-91. 
Dansville Orchestra. — See Part II, Page 91. 

RHCRE.VTION 

B. B. G. C— Brae Burn Golf Club. See Part II, Page 91. 

D. H. S. B. B. C— Dansville High School Base Ball Club. See 
Part II, Page 91. 

D. H. S. F. B. C— Dansville High School Foot Ball Club. See 
Part II, Page 93. 

D. G. C— Dansville Gun Club. See Part II, Page 93. 

UNIONS 

B. & P. U. — Dansville and Mount Morris Bricklayers and Plasterers 
Union. See Part II, Page 95. 

C. M. N. U. — Branch No. 119, Cigar Makers National Union. See 
Part II, Page 95. 

G. C. N. U. — Dansville Branch, Granite Cutters National Union. 
See Part II, Page 95. 

Telegraph Companies 

Western L^nion Telegraph Co. Office .second floor, new Scovill 
block, Mrs. Manley Walker, operator. 



236 BrsLV£SS DIKECTORV 

Telephone 

Bell Telephone Co., central office, second floor Citizens Bank build- 
ing, entrance on Ossian street. H. W. DeLong, Jr., local man- 
ager; Mrs. Maria Walters, Miss Rena Schwingel, Miss Ida Bacon, 
Walter Kennedy and Joseph Sandford, operators. All night service. 
Pay stations at DeLnng's bookstore and Hyland House. 

Sanatorium 

Jackson Sanatorium, Health street, near Lackawanna railroad. 
vSee Part H, Pages 98-110. 

Express Companies 

U. S. Ex. — United States Express Company, via Lackawanna rail- 
road. C. A. Snyder agent, Frank Camijbeil, messenger. Milage 
office at DeLong's book store. 

W. F. Ex. — Wells Fargo Express Company, via Erie and D. & M. 
railroad. H. McKinney agent, Edward Maloney messenger. Vil- 
lage office at Edwards, Kern & Miller's hardware. 

Opera House 

Heckman Opera House, corner of Exchange and Church streets. 
L. H. Heckman, manager. 

Public Buildings, Blocks, etc. 

Altmeyer Block, 104-106 Main 
Bastian Block, 139 Main 
Betts Block, 161-165 Main 

Belden & Co., Warehouse, 6 Spruce 
Boughton Block, 231 Main 
Breeze Block, 108-110 Main 
Biek Block, 114-116 Main 
Bunnell Block, 150-152 Main 

Citizens Bank Building, 193 Alain 
Davis Block, 8-10 Ossian 
Dyer Block, 154-158 Main 
Engel Blocks, 217-221 Main 

Farmers Home Hotel, 117 Main 
Fielder Block, 173-177 Main 
Folev, D., Block, 197-201 Main 
Folev, D., Block, 211-215 Main 
Ge'iger Block, 132-136 Main 
Granula Building, 198 Main 
Heiman Block, 126 Main 
Hedges Block, 155-159 Main 

Heckman Opera House, 9 Exchange 
Hoffman Block, 128 Main 
Hotel Livingston, 229 Main 
Hotel Murphy, 195 Main 
Hubertus Block, 169 Alain 

Pluver Bros., Block, 147-149 Main 

Huver, N. J., Block, 127 Alain 

Hylmun Block, 142 Alain 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY 237 

Hyland House Block, 185-191 Main 

Instructor Publishing Company Building, 111-113 Main 
Johantgen Bros., Block, 167 Main 
KHnk Block, 130 Main 

Krein Block, 135-137 Main 

Kramer, (C.,) Block, 10 Exchange 
Kramer, Fritz, Block, 141-145 Main 
Kramer, Wm., Block, 131-133 

Kramer, Wm., Block, 6-8 Exchange 
Laundry Building, 12 Ossian 

Laforce Hotel Block, 122-124 Main 
Martin Block, 203-207 Main 
Marx Block, 112 Main 

Mehlenbacher Block, 121 Main 
Maxwell Block, 160-168 Main 
Nichols Block, 144 Main 
Randall Block, 182 Main 
Redmond Block, 196 Main 
Rouse Block, 151-153 Main 
Schwingel Block, 178 Main 
Scovill Block, 179-181 Main 
Scovill Block, 125 Main 
Scovill Block, 4-6 Ossian 
Schubmehl Block, 123 Main 
Skating Rink, 32 Ossian 

Sheioard Block, 184-188 Main 
Sweet Block, 176 Main 
Smith Block, 140 Main 
Stevens Block, 146 Main 

Titsworth & Casterline Block, 10 Spruce 
Thomas Block, 174 Main 

Union }Iose Building, 24 Ossian 
VanValkenburg Block, 148 Main 
Veith, William, Block, 209 Main 
Village Hall, 14 Exchange 

Welch, M., & Son Block, 180 Main 
Whiteman Block, 171 Main 

Whiteman Block, 170-172 Main 

Wilson & Altmeyer Block, 21 Ossian 

Wilson & McCurdv Warehouse, 8 Spruce 
Zaffke, Henry, Block, 129 Main 



Explanations. 

In compiling and arranging tlie following historical census 
of Dansville village, which is practically complete up to the 
summer of 1902, we have deviated somewhat from the style 
of the ordinary directory by arranging the census in para- 
graphs or groups, each of which contains the names of all 
those of the same surname living in the same house. Mem- 
bers of families living out of town have in many instances 
been included in these groups. 

It is very apparent to us that some mistakes are sure to 
creep into such a comprehensive list of names, no matter how 
carefully it may be compiled; when it is considered, however, 
that in most cases, it will be because we have been misin- 
formed that such errata occur, we hope the reader will not 
too strongly criticise the best efforts of those who have had 
this work in charge. 



— ^^-v^ 

Historical Census I 



Acker, Frnnk, laborer, 238 Main. 
Aciimb, Dan, rural mail carrier. 85 Main, 

wife Lillie, children Nellie, Charles. 
Adalade, Mar\-, nurse, 17 South. 
Adams, Mrs. A. C, q4 Main. 
Adams, Mrs. Julia, ?6 Seward, children 

Sireno F., lawyer; Richard W., sec. 

Sweet Mfg. Co.; Mrs. Jennie Eagan, 

Rochester, N. Y. 
Albert, George, chief engineer, 46 Ferine, 

wife Mar>', children Agnes. Helena, 

May, George, Lucy, Simon electrician ; 

Julia, dressmaker; Katharine, milliner; 

Anna, dressmaker. 
Albert, John, 68 Franklin, engineer, wife 

Elizabeth, children John, Mar\-, Char- 
lie, Henrv, Mrs. Elizabeth J. Sexton, 

Lakeville; N. Y. 
Alden, Mrs. Margaret, 7 Jefferson, child 

Minerva. 
Alexander, Edward, emp. P. O. 191 

M.iin. 
Alexrmder, Thomas, clerk, 19 Elizabeth. 
Allen, Burton, milliner, 142 Main, v\ife 

Theo, child Lois. 
Allen, Comfort, aeronaut, wife Mary A, 

children Edgar, Edward, Ella, Martha, 

Rich.ird, James laborer; Mary. 
Allen, M.irtin, jeweler, 94 Ossian, wife 

Fannie. 
Allen, Samuel, mechanic, 30 Elizabeth, 

wife Agnes, children Edward, Jose- 
phine, Grace, Angle, stenographer; 

Frank, Pittsburg, Pa. 
Allen, Samuel Jr., machinist, 214 Main, 

wife Amy, children Ruth, Gretta, 

Marguerite, Carl. 
Allen, Stephen, retired farmer, 45 Main, 

wife Electa, children Lillian; Mrs. 

Gertrude Moose, East Hill: Bessie, 

te.acher. 
Allen, Stephen L., teamster, 2 Elm, wife 

Marv C., children Mary B., John J., 

Earl" J., Pearl M. 
Allen, Warren N., balloonist, 92 Ossian, 

w ife Nina D., children, Mildred, Elmont, 

Gladys. 
Ailing, Rev. S. H., Episcopal minister, 16 

Williams, wife Margaret N., children M. 

Dean. 
Alsdorf, Frank, 45 Health. 
Altme\'er, Albin A., plumber. 2 Chestnut, 

v\ife' Katharine, child Katharine A. 
Altme\er, Mrs. Frank, 2 Chestnut. 
Altme\er, Henry, undertaker, 20 Seward, 

wife Safronia,' children Bernard, Wilhel- 

mina. 



Altmeyer, Mrs. Mary, 8 Ferine, child 

Anna M., stenographer. 
AKersnn, Augustus, laborer, 4 Jefferson, 

wife Maria, child James, printer. 
Alverson, Frank J., lawyer, 78 Main, 

wife Minnie, child Donald. 
Ames, John, laborer, 45 Ferine, wife 

Lillie. 
Andrews, Dr. B. P., physician, 109 Main, 

wife Jennie, child Edith. 
Applin, Mrs. Mary, 85 Seward, children 

Mrs. Fred Holbrook, Maggie, Charles 

F., rural mail carrier. 
Applin, Minnie, domestic, 249 Main. 
Argus, Loretta, domestic, 40 Elizabeth. 
Artman, Milton E. 16 Seward. 
Atvxood, Clarence, engineer, 53 Ferine, 

wife Anna, children, Ella F., Lillian E., 

Hiley J. 
Auer, Mrs. John, 64 Liberty. 
Austin, Mar\', 15 Liberty, child Fred G., 

emp. Instructor. 
Austin, Philip, laborer, 3 Jefferson, v\ife 

Mar\- E. 
Averhill, William, painter, 21 Elizabeth 

wife Louisa. 
Avey, James, 9 Franklin, wife Mary, 

child Lester, laborer. 
Avory, George, farmer, loo Franklin, 

wife Josephine, child Mabel. 
Avory, Mrs. Rebecca, 35 Main. 

B 

Babcock, Mrs. Eva, 13 Health, children 
Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson, Carrie, Mrs. 
Eva Wilson, Pennsylvania ; Mrs. Mat- 
tie Rogers, Berlin, Maryland ; Daniel 
W., Berlin, Maryland. 

Bacon, Edv\ard, nurseryman, 44 Liberty, 
wife Theresa, children Bessie L. , 
Theresa M., Fannie C. Ida C Wil- 
liam E., clerk P. O.; Nellie L., teacher; 
Matie. 

Bagley, Mary, 23 Elizabeth. 

Bailey, George, hardware, 3 Seward, wife 
Sella. 

B.iiley, J. Jay. hardware merchant, 81 
Main, wife Theodosia, children John 
D., Lima, O., James A., lawyer. 

Baile\-, Louis, laborer, 8 Pine, wife M.ary. 

Baird, Charles B., granite cutter, 4 South, 
wife Alice. 

Baker, Mrs. Helen, 58 Elizabeth, child 
Webster N. 

Baker, James H., insurance agent, 257 
Main, wife Grace A, child Fred. 

Baker, Willis J., 12 Pine, miller, wife 
Emma. 



239 



240 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Balcom, Thomas, carpenter, 12 Wilmot, 

wife Lillie. child Arthur. 
Burns, Christobai, laborer, 68 Main, wife. 
Baldwin, Elmer, slKiem.iker, 6 West, wife 

Bessie. 
Bauer, Mary, 39 Main. 
Barber, John, liver\-man, Ossian. 
Barnes, Clair D., q Wilmot. 
Barnes, J.ick, painter, 31 Jefferson. 
Bastian, Edv\-ard N., druggist, 28 Liberty, 

wife Minerva, children, Carl, Jennie, 

Fred. 
Bastian, Gottlob, retired, 32 Liberty, 

wife Jennie, children Ottm.ar; Carl, 

Pasadena, Cal.; Mrs. K. P. Barnard, 

Pasadena, Cal.; Henry, New York 

City; Gottlob Jr., Jersey City, N. J. 
Bastian, Ottmar, retired, 32 Liberty. 
Batchelder, Edwin, 7 Washington, wife 

Mar>-. 
Bates, Aaron, dra\man, 21 Knox, wife 

Fannie, children Lizzie, Melva. 
Bates, Ira M., dravman, 22 Spruce, wife 

Agnes, children Agnes M., Ira, James, 

Edward. 
Bates, Mrs. Marv L., 16 Adams, child 

Frank, laborer. 
Bates, William C, 21 Kno.x. 

Baver, John A., farmer, 60 Gibson, sister 

Katharine. 
Beach, Martin, 19 Elizabeth. 
Beck, George W., nurser\man, 2 Adams, 

wife Elizabeth. 
Beck, Max, laborer, 8 Williams, wife 

Katharine, children Elizabeth L., emp.; 

Flora, nurse; Marv A., waitress; Anna 

M.. Buffalo. 
Beecher, Walter J., 38 Cottage, Instructor 

Pub. Co. wife Elizabeth, child R(]bert H. 
Bennett, Mrs. Charles, Paris, France. 

Home 74 Main. 
Benson, William, 62 Elizabeth, wife Mary 

C, prop. Coloni.al House, children 

Alice M., Mar>- M. 
Bermann, John', clerk. 18 Fulton, wife 

Marger\-, child John. 
Barnard, Thom.is. merchant, wife Lena, 

children Clarence, Lero\-. 
Biek, Michael C, barber," 114 Main, wife 

Katharine, children Katharine, Robert, 

Fred, clerk. 
Biek, Valentine, carpenter, 33 Main, wife 

Josephine, children Frances, Arthur. 
Bikle, Charles G., Lutheran minister, 11 

Chestnut, wife Catharine, daughter. 
Bills, Amelia, domestic, 13 West. 
Bingham, Miss M. J., 218 Main. 
Birdsell, Fred, barber, 132 M.iin, wife 

Libbie. 
Birrell, Alexander, stone cutter, 40 

Elizabeth. 
Birrell, George, granite cutter, 49 Eliza- 
beth, wite Harriet. 
Blake, Josephine D., 243 Main. 



Blum, Daniel, shoe dealer, 273 Main, wife 

Mary, children Walter, Ra\mond, 

Sena. 
Blum, Frank J., shoe manufacturer, 10 

Ferine, wife Marv, children Norbert, 

Paul, John. 
Blum, John, shoe manufacturer, 40 Frank- 
lin, child. Miss E. E. Blum, milliner; 

Mrs. K. B. Sauerbier; Anthony, Boston: 

Joseph, Erie, Pa. 
Blum, Joseph, emp. Blum Shoe Co. 7 

West, wife Mary. 
Blum, Philip E., 'shoe manufacturer, 46 

Franklin, wife Alice .M., children Helen 

M., James J. 

Blunden, William C, collector, Gas & 

Elec. Co. 41 Ossian, wife Charlotte. 
Bollinger, Mrs. Margaret, 15 Ferine. 
Bond, Frances, nurse, 257 Main. 
Booth, George, laborer, 12 Milton. 
Booth, James, laborer, 8 Battle, wife 
Clara, child Mrs. Alice Fogel, Spring- 
water Valley. 
Booth, William, laborer, 6 Mill, wife 
Florence, children Hattie, Clara, Benja- 
min. 
Boughton, Henry M., retired, wife Julia S. 
Bradley, Edward J., granite cutter, Liv- 
ingston. 
Bradner, Alonzo, 236 Main. 
Bradner, Mrs. A. H., 241 Main. 
Bradner, Lester B., retired. 267 Main, wife, 

child Lester, Jr.. New York Cit\'. 
Brettle, Alice, instructor, Amer." Corr. 

Normal, 20 Leonard. 
Brettle, Frederick, bookkeeper, 25 Jeffer- 
son, wife Lyda, children Katharine, 
Ruth. 
Briggs, Mar\-, domestic, 273 Main. 
Bristol, Irving B., pastor M. E. Church, 
84 Main, wife Etta, children Vivian, 
Grace, Everett. 
Broas, Sterling, 36 Ossian. 
Brogan, Mrs. M.iry B.. i Seward, children 
Grace, Edward E., Ellen M., te.acher; 
James M., law clerk. 
Brogan, Nell, teacher D. H. S., 12 Seward. 
Brookins, George, lumberman, 12 Van 
Campen, wife Fannie, children Kath- 
erine, Ellen. 
Brown, Mrs. Amelia, 25 Liberty, children 
Charies A., teller Citizens Bank, 
Sarah J. 
Brown, George E., painter. Main, wife 

Emma L., child Herbert W. 
Brown, George R.. printer, 41 Chestnut, 

wife Harriet, child Elsie. 
Brown, Grace, teacher D. H.S., 23 Liberty. 
Brown, William, harness maker, 9 Wash- 
ington, wife Julia. 
Brown, William H., Baptist minister, 28 
Chestnut, wife Katharine, child Francis. 
Brown, William, emp. Granula factor\-, 24 
Elizabeth, wife Mertie, child George. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



241 



Brown, William J., clerk P.O. 12 Ful- 
ton, wife Katharine S., child Pearl S. 

Brownson, John W., shoemaker, 28 
Franklin, wife Eliza. 

Br\ant. James, nurseryman, 24 West Ave, 
wife Mar\'. 

Br\ant. William, nurseryman, 34 Liberty, 
wife Flora, children Mary: Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Connors, Geneseo ; DeWitt, 
printer. 

Bunnell, A. O., editor and publisher, 98 
Main, wife Anna M. 

Bunnell, Miss D. B., 3 Church. 

Bunnell, Mark J., emp. Washington, D. 
C home 60 Elizabeth, wife Josephine. 

Bonner, Edward J., principal High School, 
56 Main, wife Nettie. 

Burch, Marcus, baggage master Lack.i- 
wanna, 53 Cottage, vvife Delta, child 
Lena. 

Burr, Mar\-, boards, 19 Clay. 

Burdick, Horace A., justice of peace, 44 
Ossian, wife Mary H., children Charles 
A., electrician; Irving E., New York 
City. 

Burgess, Joseph, retired, 18 Elizabeth, 
children Elizabeth; Robert Buffalo., 
Ann;i. 

Burgess, Joseph W., trvg. advertising 
agent, 32 Cottage, wife Helen P., chil- 
dren Helen L., Robert W., Karl S., Alice 
A., J. Edwin, Chester. 

Burke. Michael, nurseryman, si Franklin, 
wife Anna, children John, nurseryman; 
Michael nurser>'man; Mrs. AnnaPendar- 
gnist, St.imford, Conn. 

Burke. Minnie, Main. 

Burkhart,A. P., D. D.S. Buffalo, home 10 
Washington, wife Katharine, children 
Vera, student, Syracuse University, 
George. Auburn, N. Y. 

Bush. Eugene, laborer, Theodore, laborer, 
8 B;ittle. 

Butler, Jonas, 8 Pine. 

Buxton, Frederick A., private boarding 
house, loi Main, wife Margaret, child 
Guy, emp. Instructor. 

Byer, Henry, shoemaker, 70 Main, wife 
Margaret, children Hattie, Peter, boot& 
shoe merch;int ; Elizabeth. 

Byerley, Frank painter, 24 Clay, wife 
S.arah, children Mabel, Mary. 

B>ron, Isabel, boards, 125 Main. 

B>ron, Michael, farmer, 260 Main, wife 
Mary, children Clair, Marie, Helen. 



Callahan, James, stonecutter, 24 Clinton, 

wife Margaret, children Cornelius, Mar- 

g;iret, James, William. 
Cantleld. Mrs. Emma, 11 Pine, children 

Arthur laborer, Mrs. Minnie Pragle, 

E. Springwater. 
Campbell, Charles, emp. U. S. Express 

Co., 10 Clinton. 



Campbell, Fr.ink, agent U. S. Express, 
Co.. iQ Washington, wife Lenora, chil- 
dren Katharine, Esther. Helen. 

Campbell, John, foreman Advertiser, 10 
Clinton, wife Clara, children Reginald, 
H.irold. 

C.impbell, William, horse dealer, 7 Perine, 
wife Nellie W., grandchild Edith. 

Capel!, Mrs. Sarah, 11 South, child Henry 
L., El. Paso, Texas. 

Carey, Anthonv, nurservman, q6 Ossian, 
wife Bridget,'children 'Dewey, M.itilda, 
Marie, Helen, William, Edward, nursery- 
man. 

Caramella, James merchant. 27 Van 
Campen, wife Julia, children M;irgaret, 
Ida, Frank, Lizzie, Trac>'. Charles. 

Carmody, Michael J., nurser\nian. 22 
Jefferson, v\ife Anna, children Ella, 
Roy, Michael, emp. nursery, John, 
James. 

Carney, Frank, retired merchant, 79 
Main, wife Susan, children Walter, 
Victoria. 

Carney, Louis L., undertaker's assistant, 
8 Milton, wife Anna. 

Carpenter, Mrs. T., 3 South. 

Casterline, Charles B., grain dealer, i 
South, wife Josephine. 

Casterline, Charles G., retired, 41 Frank- 
lin, vvife Mary, children Helen A., 
printer; Fred J. Chicago, 111.; Arch F., 
Owego, N. Y.; Mrs. W. J. Lee, Ro- 
chester.; DeWitt C, Pasadena, Cal. 

Cavagnaro, Angelo, painter, 3 Pine, wife 
Mary, children George, Lena, Louise. 

Cheney, Dr. W. M. Towanda, Pa., 
home 241 Cottage, wife Elizabeth, chil- 
dren Ruth, Bessie; Gordon, Towan- 
da, Pa.; Ra\miind Towanda Pa. 

Chrvsler. Sarah, i Knox. 

Chirk, Dan. laborer, 20 Van Campen, 
wife Hannah, child Patsey, Watkins. 

Clark, Edward P., nurseryman, 18 Liberty, 
wife H.-irriet, children Fred student, 
Alice; Harry, Eauclaire, Mich.; Louise, 
teacher. 

Clavell, Mrs. Harriet. 182 Main, children 
Laverne, Ethel. 

Cogan, Miss Elizabeth, dressmaker. 44 
Liberty. 

Cogswell, Mrs. Hattie, 34 West A\e, 
child William, lumber dealer. 

Cocknift, Charles, civil engineer, 72 
Main, wife Amanda, children Ora, 
Edith. 

Cole, Mrs. Elizabeth, 17 Church, children 
Emma, domestic, Jennie domestic, .Wrs. 
John Shafer. Hornellsville N. Y., 
Sheldon, U. S. A. \-olunteer, Edwin, U. 
S. A. volunteer. 

Cole, James, insurance agent. 28 Leonard, 
wife Elizabeth, child Pearl H., Jackson, 
Mich. 



242 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Ciile. Reuben, farmer, 64 Franklin, wife 
Mary. 

Coleman, Patrick J., laborer, 6 Exchange, 
wife Katiiarine, children Gertrude, Vir- 
ginia, Robert, Edna. 

Colerick, Peter S., retired, 4 Morse, wife 
Helen S. 

Collins, Mrs. Lynett A., 74 Main. 

Collins, Mrs. Katharine, 07 Main. 

Comar, John, upholsterer, w ife Elizabeth. 

Comban, Emma, domestic, 36 Elizabeth. 

Comstock, Harriet, boards, 65 Main. 

Conable, Mrs. Eliza, boards, 16 Leonard. 

Conklin, Mrs. Angeline, 17 Gibson, chil- 
dren Maude dressmaker; Mrs. Mabel 
Pierce, Coxsackie, N. Y., Georgia, 
Newark, N. J., Mrs. Margaret Sweet, 
Newark, N. J., Grace dressmaker; 
Cora dressmaker. 

Conklin, Philip, painter, 12 Milton, wife 
Lulu, child Roscoe. 

Connors, Mrs. Mar\-, bd.irds, 33 Leonard. 

Conrad, Elizabeth, bo.irds, 8 Chestnut. 

Consalus, William, 1 Fulton, wife Maria, 
children Samuel, grocer, William E., 
Rochester, Adelina. 

Cook, Matt, cigar mf'r, 13 Clinton, wife 

Anna, children Frederick M., John, cigar 

maker; Mar\- M., dressmaker. 
Corliss, Fr.ank, painter, 40 Leonard, wife 

Clar.i, child Inez, emp. Instructor. 
Corliss, Mrs. Julia A., resides 74 Main. 
Crane, Mrs. Harry, boards, 257 Main. 
Covel, Albert, laborer. 12 Wilmot, wife 

Mary. 
Couchman, John, laborer. 44 Main, w ife 

Carrie dressmaker, children Mrs. 01i\'e 

McFadden, Petrolia, Ontario, Can., 

Mrs. Eva A. Treat, near Dansville. 
Cridler, Burt E., insurance agent, 112 

Ossian, wife Alice M. 
Cridler, John, farmer, 114 Ossian. 
Crisfield, Dr. J. E., physician, 138 Main, 

wife Elizabeth, children Louise, Abbie. 
Crokenbecker, Miss Sophia, domestic, 39 

Chestnut. 
Cromer, Mary C, teacher D. H. S., 

12 Seward. 
Cross, Geo., telegrapher, boards H\land 

House. 
Croll, Josiah, shoemaker, 20 Eliz.abeth, 

wife Sarah. 

Croston, Eugene, brakem.in, 9 Franklin, 
v\ife Grace, child Beatrice. 

Culberson, John A., farmer, 30 Ferine, 
wife Saloma, child Eleanora. 

Curry, Mrs. Margaret, 44 1-2 Main, chil- 
dren Margaret, Mar\'. 

Cutler, Mrs. Belle, boards, 4 Lincoln A\-e. 

Cutler, Dr. George H., dentist, 4 Leonard, 
wife Helen M., child Frances. 



2) 

Daboll, Mrs. G. C, Paris, France, home 
74 Main. 

Dagon, Harry, emp. Instructor, 9 South. 

Dailey, Patrick, granite cutter, 13 Ferine, 
wife Rose. 

Dantz, Fred, plumber, 38 William, wife 
M;u\', child Howard. 

Daubert, Joseph, granite cutter, 14 Clinton, 
wife Daisy, children DeWitt, Grace, 
Willard. 

Deegan, Hugh B., cashierSan., 18 Wash- 
ington, Jay, ass'tcashierSan., Blanche, 
teacher. 

Deiter, Geo., vinevardist, wife Sybilla. 

Deiter, James, ticket agent D & M R. R., 
4 Lincoln Ave, w ife Mamie. 

Deitz, Mrs. Anna, 17 Washington. 

DeLong, George, retired, 81 Main, wife 
Phoebe A. 

DeLong, Herman, stationer and editor, 17 
Seward, wife Olive, children Herman 
Jr., mgr.. Bell telephone, Isabel. 

Derenbacher, Mrs. Margaret, boards, 13 
Leonard. 

Denton, Chester, merchant, 19 Jefferson, 
wife Anna, children Nellie, Lena, Lloyd 
clerk. 

Denton, Charles W., manager Williams 
mill, 10 Elizabeth, v\ife Elizabeth, chil- 
dren Minnie, Benjamin. 

Denton, Joseph, teamster, 9 Park Ave, 
wife Sarah, children Katharine, Mrs. 
Carabell Emie. 

Denton, Ralph, student, 21 Chestnut. 

Denton, Zenas, farmer, 21 Chestnut, wife 
Sar.ah. 

Denzer, Jacob, shoemaker, 23 Jefferson, 
wife Mary, children John, Anna. 

Denzer, Mrs. Katharine, boards 26 Frank- 
lin. 

Derenbacher, Joseph, salesman, 16 Ful- 
ton, wife Lena. 

DeKroyft, Mrs. Helen A., 74 Main. 

Dick, Charlotte, clerk, Victoria L., fore- 
lady Dick's shoe factory, Georgiana, 
39 Main. 

Dick, Mrs. C, boards, 13 Washington. 

Dick, Augustus J., emp. Instructor, 39 
Washington, wife Lena, children Wal- 
ter, La\ancha. 

Dick, John W., dras'man, i Williams, 
wife Jennie, children Blanche, Ida. 

Dick, M.irguerite, boards. 19 Leonard. 

Dick. Mrs. Sarah, 19 Leonard, child John, 
painter. 

Dick, William H., shoe manufacturer, 71 
Main, wife Grata. 

Dildine, Mrs. Emelin^ 94 Fr.uiklm. 

Dillenbeck, Mrs. Elizabeth, 10 Le(jnard, 
children Henry, Ben, Neal, Fred, emp. 
Instructor, Laura, emp. Instructor. 

Dippy, George, B. farmer, 5 Church, v\-ife 
Sophia M 



HISTORICAL CEXSrS 



243 



Dodge, John, farmer, g2 Franklin, wife 
Mary B., children Cliarles, farmer, 
John W. Jr., farmer, Jennie, Mrs. Lena 
Holdford, Cl.irl< Lake, Michigan; Allie, 
domestic. 

Dodson, George J., hardware mercliant, 
<-)2 Main, wife Ella, children Allen, De- 
Witt. 

D<iLids, James, nurser\man, 40 Van- 
Campen, wife Anna. 

Douds, John, farmer, 28 South, wife 
Agnes, child George, Olean, N. Y. 

Dougherty, Anthony, nurseryman, 47 
Franklin, children Nellie, Cecelia, 
stenog., Katharine, pharm.icist, San; 
Abbie, milliner. Sadie, nurse; Mrs. 
Margaret Donnelly, Batavia, N.Y.; P.it- 
rick H., Groveland, N.Y.; Michael, Mil- 
ton, California. 

Dougherty, Michael, 4 VanC.impen, wife 
Katharine, children Katharine. James, 
nurseryman, Barbara, emp. San., John 
nurseryman. 

Doughert\-, Mrs. Rosina, boards 68 Frank- 
lin. 

Doyle, Mrs. Edith, 18 Washington. 

Dragel, Mrs. Julia A., 37 Seward, child 
Mary cook. 

Drew, Ella, emp. Blum's shoe factor\', 26 
Fr.inklin. 

Driesbach, Mrs. Esther, 19 West Ave. 

Drieshach, Dr. F. R., physici.in, 100 Main, 
wife Lnra. 

Driesbach, Joseph, 5 Sophia, wife Ida, 
children Blanche, Elias, George, Maude, 
domestic, Henry. 

Driscoll. D.aniel E., architect, 19 South, 
wife Anna, children Regenia, Margaret, 
Lawrence, William, Katharine. 

Driscoll, Mrs. Margaret, boards, 32 Chest- 
nut.' 

Driscoll, Michael J., foreman, 32 Chest- 
nut, wife Margaret. 

Dunn, Mar\-. domestic, tq Elizabeth. 

Dunn, Rev.' William T., Pastor St. Pat- 
rick's Church, 14 Church. 

Duntim, Levi G.. retired. Q Wilmot, 
wife Mary J., children Murray, Ernest, 
Coxsackie, N. Y; Mrs. May Smith, 
Nunda, N. Y; Mrs. Ida Teasdale, Mrs. 
Ella Barnes, dressmaker. 

Durr, Frederick, merchant tailoring. 12 
Ferine, wife Fannie H., children Mrs. 
Dr. Sophie Rauth, Brookhn, Charles 
F., mining expert Bucy.i\an, Georgia. 

Dyer, Horatio F., dry goods mcrch.int, 
87 Main, wife Julia, children Anna L., 
Robert, Buffalo; Grace. 

Dyer, Solon, dry goods merchant, 101 
Main. 



Eaton. Frances, 54 Elizabeth. 
E.iton. Mrs. Hortense W., 40 Elizabeth, 
children, Louise, Elizabeth, Lavanche. 



Ebersold, Mrs. Eliz.i. domestic, 243 Main. 

Edwards, Mrs. Elizabeth, 30 West Ave, 
child Mrs. Elizabeth E. Sweet. 

Edwards, J.ames, cashier M. & F. Bank, 
206 Main, wife Anna, children Katha- 
rine. Helen. 

Edwards, Mary, emp. at San., 37 Health. 

Ehle. Josephine, boards, 14 Leonard. 

Eisenliardt, Fred, butcher. 7 Park Ave, 
\\ ife Minnie, child Ra\mond. 

Ellis. Mrs. Lvdia, 26 Elizabeth, children 
C;n-rv F., Mary E., Elizabeth. 

Elliott. Elizabeth, domestic, 238 Main. 

Ellsworth. Willis J., emp. Hall Mfg. Co., 
65 Main, w ife Rosalia S. 

Elwell, Willis B., clerk. 8 Clinton, wife 
Charlotte, children, Oakley J., Laura A. 

Emerson, C;irrie teacher D. H. S. 12 
Seward. 

Embser, Peter, tailor, 16—18 Franklin, 
children Margaret, Wm., undertaker, 
Frank, U. S. A. volunteer. 

Emerson, Mrs. Josephine, boards, g Chest- 
nut. 

Emo. Elizabeth, resides 15 South. 

Emo, K.ath.arine, boards, 30 West Ave. 

Endress, Elizabeth, 206 Main. 

Engel. Mrs. Barbara. 21Q Main, proprietor 
Engel House, children Barbara, Rose. 

Engel. Frank, boards 43 Cott.ige. 

Engel, Joseph, 6o Franklin, wife Eliza- 
beth, children Michael farmer, Katha- 
rine domestic. 

Engel, Michael, boards, 236 Main. 

Engert, George, merchant & mechanic, 
40 Main, wife Flora, children Burdette, 
F.mnie. 

Engert. Mrs. John, boards 49 Main. 

Enright. James, retired, 41 Liberty. 

Ensign. Da\id. Laborer, 72 Franklin. 

Eschrich. Charles, restaurant, 159 Main, 
wife Ida, children Ross, Irving, Addie, 
Charles. 

Eschrich, Frank, restaurant, 25 Elizabeth, 
wife B.arbara, children Frank J., 
Edward J., student. 

Eschrich, Mrs. N.ancy. child William, 
clerk, 9 Pine. 

F 

Fairchild, Harvey, salesman, 24 Seward, 
wife Mary, children Charlotte, emp. In- 
structor, Georgiana; Edward, Mil- 
waukee; Perc\'. 

Faulkner, Mrs. Elizabeth, 22 Washington. 

F.aulkner, James, 204 Main, wife Mar- 
garet H., children S;miuel D., Cran- 
dull, Tenn: James Jr., CranJull, Tenn; 
John N., Missouri; Minerv.a. 

Fedder. Henry, merchant. 26 Seward, 
wife K.ithari'ne. children Sarah, Naomi, 
Dorotln-, Raymond. Margaret, George, 
Carl, insurance agent; Edward, L;ike 
View, Wyoming; Frank, Tonav\'.anda, 
Fedder, William, clerk, 12 Health, wife 
Margaret. 



244 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Fenstermacher, Calvin, carpenter, 95 
Main, child Mrs. Libbie Mason, Ro- 
chester. 

Fenstermacher, Cl.arence, coal dealer, 
boards gi Main. 

Fenstermacher, Dan, enip. Instructor, Q? 
Main, wife Nellie, cliild Marion. 

Fenstermacher, Frank, coal dealer, gi 
Main, wife Addie, children Effie, Mabel. 

Fenstermacher, Henr\-, laborer, 21 Church. 

Fenstermacher, Henry C, emp. Instructor, 
19 Liberty, u'ife Lora, child Edward, 
engineer. Instructor. 

Fidler, John, butcher, 72 Ossian, wife 
Emma. 

Fielder, Frank, banker, 107 Main, wife 
Adelaide, children Frank, New York 
City; Belle, Denver, Col; Mrs. Joseph- 
ine Edsall, Colorado Springs. 

Fifield, Mrs. E. P., boards 13 Church. 

Finn, Mrs. Bridget, 4 Adams, children 
Elizabeth, clerk, John rural mail carrier, 
Mrs. Matie Mahoney, Hornellsville, 
N. Y. 

Finn, James, grocer, 39 Elizabeth, wife 
Ada, child Louise. 

Finn, John, electrician, g Ferine, wife 
Mary, children Helen, Margaret, Wil- 
liam, Mary, Edward, Katharine. 

Finn, Mrs. Catherine, 13 Jefferson, child 
Mrs. Mary Whan, Detroit, Mich. 

Finn, Pius. Sup. Gas & Electric Co., 2 
Lincoln, wife Katharine, children Ber- 
nard, James, William, drug clerk. 

Fisk, Henry D., manufacturer, 26 West 
A\'e, wife Mary, child Louise clerk 

Fisk, Martin A., mruiufacturer, 36 West 
Ave, wife Christina, children Jessie C, 
George A., Helen C. 

Fogle, Mrs. Elizabeth, nurse, 37 Health. 

Foley, Dennis, grocer, 36 Ossian, wife 
Celia, child Clara. 

Folsmdee, Eiin, boards 24 Elizabeth. 

Folts, Herman C, merchant & mech.anic, 
Main, wife Janette, child Beulah. 

Folts, Jacob C, grocer, 99 Main, wife 
Barb.ara. 

Folts, Mrs. Katharine, 2 Seward, children 
LavinaC, Mabel M., Clara A., stenog- 
rapher. 

Foot, Joseph, nurseryman, 10 Jefferson, 
wife Katharine, children Elizabeth, 
Charlotte, emp. Blum's Shoe Co., Mrs. 
Delia Lamphier, Dubois Pa; William, 
emp. nursery. 

Foote, Edward, barber, 19 Clinton, wife 
Anna, children Eleanor, C. Edward. 

Foote, George, emp. Blum Shoe Co., 182 
Main, wife Grace. 

Ford, John, porter, San., 39 Health, wife 
Ellen, child John, emp. San. 

Forsythe, Andrew, laborer, Main, wife 
Anna, children Albert, John, James, 
emp. nursery. 



Forsythe, Marie, housekeeper, 27 Eliza- 
beth. 

Foss, Bertrand G., lawyer, 6 Chestnut, 
wife Harriet. 

Foster, George, paper maker, 48 Main, 
wife Sarah A., children Floyd, Robert, 
paper maker. Grant, Norwich, Conn; 
Mrs. Alice Titus, Wallkill, N. Y; George, 
Poughkeepsie, N. Y. 

Foster, John N., salesman, 50 Elizabeth, 
wife Mary A., children William H., 
Newark, N. J; Inez May, teacher. 

Foster, Mrs. J. S.,bo;irds 5 Knox, children 
Bethel, Earl. 

Foster, Mrs. Lucinda, boards 72 Ossi;m. 

Fountaine, William, miller, 12 Quay, wife 
Louise, child Edward. 

Foulds, Conrad, carpenter, 63 Ossian, 
wife Louise, children Edison, Elizabeth, 
Louis, laborer, Henry, hostler. 

Fowler, G. G., merchant, 58 Main, wife 
Ada. 

Fowler, Mrs. Harriet boards 58 Main. 

Fovxier, Miller H., publisher, 63 M.ain, 
wife Minnie A., child Harold. 

Fox, Charles C, laborer, 37 Chestnut, 
v\ife Margaret. 

Fox, Miss Effie D., 74 Main. 

Fox, Frank, butcher, 11 Jefferson, wife 
Matilda, child Joseph. 

Fox, John G., janitor, 45 Franklin, wife 
Josephine, children Arthur, Helena, 
George, Lima, Ohio, Albert, Lockport, 
N. Y; Mrs. Minnie Wagoner Olean, 
N. Y. 

Fox, Nicholas, shoemaker, i Jefferson, 
wife Katharine, children Raymond, 
Clara, Lena, Mary, Charles, Buffalo. 

Frazer, M. Onalee teacher D. H. S. i 
South. 

Freas, Josephine, domestic, 10 Spruce. 

Freas, William, clerk. 4 Bank, wife Stella, 
children Pearl, Nicholas, Barbara, Wil- 
liam, Margaret, Jennie, Jessie. 

Freed, Mrs. Molly, children Lulu, Belle, 
boards 20 Jefferson. 

Freiberg, Ernest, stone cutter, 22 Lincoln, 
wife Cora. 

Freidel, Andrew, vineyardist, 54 Chestnut, 
wife (-Jertrude, children George, New- 
York City; Mrs. Mary Mencer. Buffalo; 
Mrs. Katharine Gentz, Buffalo. 

Freidel, Mrs. Anna M., 4 West Ave. 

Freidel, Frederick, blacksmith, 20 West 
Ave, wife Margaret, child Rhea. 

Freidel, Mrs. Mar\-, 104 Ossian, children 
Charles F., Claude D. 

French, Laura, dressmaker, 12 South. 

French, Lilian, domestic 11 Ferine. 

Friedrich, Mrs. Rosa, 10 Adams, children 
Malina, Edward, Mrs Mary, Shirmer, 
Stone\ille, N. Y; John. 

Fries, George, laborer, 55 Franklin, wife 
Amelia, children Leo, Ernest, Jacob. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



245 



Fries, Jolin P., carpenter, 15 Leonard, 
wife Sarah J. 

Fries, William, farmer, 51 Jefferson, wife 
Lilian, child Henry. 

Fries, Nicholas, retired, 12 Lincoln. 

Friner, Katharine, dressmaker, Rose, re- 
side 21 Quay. 

Fronk, James, Laborer, 32 Mill. 

Fronk, John, l.iborer, 29 VanCampen, 
wife Jennie, children Helen, Buffalo; 
Wilher; Lilla. Rochester. 

Frost, Lena, boards 24 Leonard. 

Fulton, Ed. granite cutter, boards Liv- 
ingston. 



Gallagher, Owen, retired, 11 VanCampen, 
children Mary; Mrs. James Brogan. 
Portage; James, Auburn; Thomas E., 
Cincinnati. 

Gamble, D.ivid, blacksmith, 4 Pine, wife 
Rose, children Ira R., Carl D., Miss 
Nellie Brewer, Minnie; Dr. Wm. Gam- 
hie, Wayland; Mrs. Jennie Wilkins 
and Mrs. Marg.aret Gorh.am, Rochester, 
N. Y. 

G.amble, Robert S., blacksmith, 52 Eliza- 
beth, wife Nellie, child Ross. 

G.irdner, Edmund L., traveling salesman, 
40 William, wife Mary, child .Mabel, 
stenographer. 

Gardner, Edw.ard S., laborer, 7 Knox, 
children Ralph, Bert, Hattie. 

Gardner, Harvey H., farmer, q Knox, 
wife Maude A., child Corine. 

Gardner, Ira, boards, 35 William. 

Gary, John, cook San., 36 Mill, wife Car- 
rie, children, Robert O.. Katharine P., 
Margaret G., Willi.im H. 

Gary, Mrs. Julia E., dressmaker, 21 
Jefferson. 

Gawkin, John, emp. nursery, go Frank- 
lin, children Katharine, Lucile; Patrick, 
emp. nursery. 

Geary, Benj.amin, 7 Adams, children 
Benjamin, James. Ch.arlie. 

Geibig. Jacob, 66 Ossian, wife Eva B. 

Geiger, Mrs. Lucy. 136 Main, children 
Albimus, Frederick, M.ary,Otto, Bertha, 
Herman, meat dealer; Mrs. Clara Snv- 
der, Williamsville, N. Y. 

Gerber, Mrs. Barbara, 12 Jefferson. 

Gerber, Frank, carpenter, 5 Mill, wife 
Elizabeth, children Elizabeth, Tita, Her- 
man, Carl, Frank; Albin clerk; Joseph, 
fireman. 

Gerber, Nicholas, teamster, 79 Franklin, 
wife Mary, children Nicholas, Marie, 
Rose, Lena. 

Gerger, Mrs. Barbara, child Henry, board, 
II Spruce. 

Gerger, Jacob, laborer, 11 Spruce, wife 
Nellie. 

Gerling, Philip, tailor, 18 Lincoln, vx'ife 
Julia, children Alice, Walter, Philip. 



Gessner, Nicholas, farmer, 10 M.iin, wife 

Theres.a, child, George. 
Gibson, John, 14 Cottage, wife Mrs. J., 

children Frieda, Lena. 
Gilbert, Alonzo, boards, 23 VanCampen. 
Gilbert, Frank, peddler, 23 V.an C.ampen, 

wife Lilli.an, children Alton, Ahner, Jay, 

Leah, Lloyd. 
Gilder, Jacob, barber, Fulton. 
Gilder, William S., barber, 43 Ferine, 

w ife Ell.i. 
Gilm.in, Albert, machinist, 60 Ossian, 

wife Anna. 
Gilman, F.innie, boards 55 Main. 
GilroN', Mrs. Alice, 67 Elizabeth. 
Gilroy, Mrs. Jennie B. 67 Elizabeth, chil- 
dren D.iniel, Jennie, Thomas, J. C P.J. 
Gilroy, Mrs. Mary, 3 William, children 

Elizabeth, dressmaker, Agnes, dress- 
maker. 
Gilbov, Willi.am, 20 Exchange, children 

Mary, Delia; W. N., Rochester. 
Ginock, Charles, emp. San., 10 Clay, 

wife Eliz.ibeth, child Edward. 
Goho, Floyd, farmer, 2 Gibson, wife 

Elizabeth, children Margaret, Daniel, 

Frederick, Fnincais, George. 
Goodwin, Mrs. Jane, 12 William, children 

Willi.am, b.artender, Mrs. Susan McK.iy, 

Groveland; Mrs. JVl. Jones, Arnel, Alle- 
gany Co., N. Y. 
Goodwin, Robert, laborer, 21 Quay, wife 

Nora, children Isabel, Eleanor, Clarence, 

Arthur, Lilian. 
Goodwin, Thomas, laborer, 24 William, 

M.irgaret clerk. Bell; Mart emp. nursery, 

Katharine. 
Graves, Charles, emp. Instructor, 30 

Chestnut, wife Mary. 
Gregorious, Mrs. Mary, 14 Franklin, chil- 
dren, George E., Rochester; Frank, Ro- 
chester. 
Gray, Abbie, boards, 138 Main. 
Griftin.Mrs. Anna, 44 1-2 Cottage, children 

Celi.i, Marguerite, Maude. 
Grinell, Mrs. children Susan, K.itharine, 

boards, 101 Main. 
Griswold, Louis, painter, 39 Liberty, 

wife May. 
Gross, Mrs. Margaret, 2 Adams, child 

M.irg.iret. 
Gross. Mrs. Anna, child Luc>', bo.ards, 

j6 Franklin. 
Gross, George, boards, 52 Ferine. 
Guggel, Mary, 44 Ferine. 
Gunther, John, policem.m, 31 Ferine, 

children Elizabeth; Frank, Riichester; 

Margaret, matron, Mary, nurse, Ellen. 
Gunther, Joseph, butcher, 5 Milton, wife 

Barb.ar.a, children Laura, Josephine, 

emp. Blum's Shoe Co. 
Gunther, Peter, emp. nursery. 34 V.an 

C.ampen, wife Alice, children Ruth, 

Walter. 



246 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Griggs, Ella, boards, 245 Main. 
Griswold. Elmer R.. dentist, boards loi 

M.-iin. 
Goff, Leiinard, 220 Main, wife Helen M. 
Goldman, Moses, boards, 19 Liberty. 
Gormal, Samuel, engineer, 35 William, 

wife Mildred. 
Gr.iham, Elizabeth, 15 William. 
Graham, James, street commissioner, 42 

Ossian. 
Grange, William, teamster, 24 Gibson, 

wife Harriet, children Flovd: John, 

farmer, Wilson, HornellsviUe; N. Y. 
Grant, Mrs. Caroline A., 36 Elizabeth, 

grandchild L. Fred student. 
Grant, Luther, 222 Main, children Mary 
, L., Alice B.; Cli.arles H., farmer, Lester 

B., Chicago, 111; Henry E., Buffalo; Mrs. 

Fannie Gregory, Rochester. 
Gray, Mrs. Susan, E., 2 Morse. 

H 

H:ill, Hiland B., manufacturer, 241 Main, 
wife, Luc\', child Hiland B. Jr. 

H:ill, E. A., grocer, 53 Washington, wife 
Idella, child Wilm.it. 

Hall. Fr.incis G., 76 Main, wife Maria A., 
children Florence E., Edwin A., John 
R., Francis G., Jr., New York City. 

Hall, Mrs. Elizabeth, 8 Health, child 
Elizabeth V., stenographer. 

H;ill, Mrs. Jennie E., 14 Chestnut, chil- 
dren Julia, New York Cit>': Albertine, 
New York Cit\': Mrs. Helen Owens. 
New York City.' 

Hall, W. Irving, printer, 14 Chestnut, 
wife Marguerite, child Sidne>'. 

Hawlev, Mrs. Frances, 26 Health, child 
Olivia. 

Hampton, Is;uic F., wool bu\er, 14 West, 
wife Anna, children Marguerite, Fre- 
mont. J;me, K.itherine, Cora, Maude, 
Mrs. J. C. Gallagher, Jessie. 

Hancock, Mrs. Mary, 41 Elizabeth, child 
Bertha, clerk. 

H:inne, Mrs. Daniel, i Cemetery. 

Hanne, Mrs. Fred, 39 Ferine. 

Hard\-, Mrs. K:itharine, 27 Elizabeth. 

H:irrington, Mrs. K;itharine, boards 18 
Washingtiin. 

Harrison, Mrs. Katharine, 232 Main, chil- 
dren Mar\'; George F., Colorado Springs; 
James H., Color.ido Springs. ^ 

Harter, Alpha, merchant, 114 Ossian, wife 
Bertha, children Flossie, Floyd. 

Harter, Mrs. Betsey M., 57' Franklin, 
child William, clerk. 

Hartman, Albert, printer and nurseryman, 
98 .Main, wife Anna May. 

Hartman, Celia, nurse. 13 Ferine. 

H.irtman, Mrs. K.itharine, 53 Elizabeth, 
child Lydia M. 

Hartm;vn,' Geo., farmer, lower Main, wife 
Caroline, children Frank M. nurser\man, 
Mary B. 



Hartman, Orville, farmer, lower Main, 
wife Rosa, children Ralph, Joyce, 
Blanche. 

Hartman, Wm. H.. nurser\man, west of 
lower Main, wife Ella, child Herbert. 

Harv'e\', Jesse, teamster, 102 Ossian, 
children Edith, Ernest, Edwin. 

Hassler, Ann:i, 86 Main. 

Hathawa\', Eliza, domestic, 32 Cottage. 

Hawk, A;iron W., farmer, 41 M:iin, wife 
Juitv. children May, Sadie, Edward A., 
Wayland, N. Y. 

Haven, Ada S. , emp. Instructor, 7 Wash- 
ington. 

Hazard, Josiah, 18 West, wife Alize, 
child Elizabeth. 

Heckm:ui. Mrs. Anna, i Church, children 
Anna C, Louis H., m.anager Heckman 
Opera House. 

Heckman, Jacob, newsdealer, 11 West, 
wife Nellie, children M.artha, Fannie. 

Heiman, Conrad R., restaurant, 126 
Main, wife Katharine, children Harry, 
Michael, Mar>-, Josephine, Olive; Louise, 
Rochester. 

Heiman, John, laborer, 48 Fr;mklin, chil- 
dren Louise. Cimrad, Elizabeth, domes- 
tic; John, Sheldon, N. Y.; Mar\', Union 
City, Mich. 

Heiman, Joseph C engineer, si Chestnut 
children Henry, Agnes; Elizabeth, do- 
mestic; Leanora, domestic; Benjamin. 
Philadelphia. P.a.; Mrs. Julia Welter. 
So. D;msville, N. Y. 

Hemmer, John, carpenter, 20 Lincoln, 
w ife Theresa, children Theresa, Marie, 
Otto, Helena: Peter, clerk; Fred, clerk. 

Hemmer, NichoLis, carpenter, i P;irk,\\ife 
Elizabeth, children, Carl, John. 

Herrick, Rev. Charles A1., Presbyterian 
minister. 2 Eliz.ibeth, w ife Bessie; child- 
ren Warren C, Marguerite. 

Herrick. Horace M.. salesman, 51 Ossian. 
wife Katharine, children William, Frank, 
Mrs. Edith Gardner, Rochester; Louis, 
Johnstown, Pa. 

Hillman, Monroe, i Cemetery, wife, Eliz- 
abeth, child Guv H.. D. D.S.. Plaintield, 
N. J. ■ 

Hildorf, Mrs. Ann;i, 66 Libert>-. 

Hirsch, Miss Katharine dressmaker, 42 
Franklin. 

Hirsch, Michael, c;irpenter, 6 Fulton, wife 
Mary, children Harold, Frank, Evelyn, 
emp. Blum Shoe Co. 

Hirsch, Victor, laborer, 26 Williams. 

Hoeppner, Ludwig, merchant tailor, 51 Fer- 
ine, wife Mar>',child Clara, stenographer. 

Hoffman, Charles, paper m;iker, i West, 
wife Verbena. 

Hoffman. Herm.in, market, 40 Liberty, 
wife Agnes, children Helena, Edmund 
O., market. 

Hoffman, Peter J., tinsmith, 59 Main; 
wife Ida, children Raymond, Carl. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



247 



Hoffman, James, blacksmith, 224 M.ain, 
wife Jennie, cliildien May, Lydia ; Ab- 
ram, U. S. A. Volunteer. 

HolhrooU, Epliriani, drayman: 44J Main. 

Holbrook, James, drayman. 15 Pine, wife 
Julia, children Pearl; .Wartin, laborer; 
Isaac, laborer; Ephriam. Rochester, N. 
Y., Milton, laborer. Mrs. F.innie Mc- 
Dimald, Mrs. Mary Hamsher, Waviand, 
N. Y.. Clarence blacksmith. 

Hood, Mrs. Lucinda, 18 Clinton. 

Horr, Benjamin, gardener, g William, 
wife Elizabeth, child John, emp. Blum 
Shoe Co. 

Horr, Pliny, 72 Elizabeth, emp. Blum 
Shoe Co.', wife Mrs. Plin\-, child M.iur- 
ice. 

Howarth, John H., painter, 32 Jefferson, 
children Flovd, Charles, Alice, Sarah; 
John F., U. S. A. Vol. 

Howe, William S., fireman, i Elm, wife 
E\'a R., children Eva,S>'dney, Bessie E. 

Howe, William H., blacksmith, 4 Elm, 
children Charles, Arkport, N. Y.; Mrs. 
Nettie Town. 

Hower, Sarah, hoards 9 Elizabeth. 

Hulbert, Clyde, emp. Instructor, 16 
Washington, wife Mabel. 

Hubbard, Henry E., manufacturer. 57 
Main, wife Ida D., children William A., 
jeweler; Katharine E., teacher. 

Hubertus, Henry, clothier, 11 Seward, 
wife Elizabeth, children Otto, Clara, 
Frank, clothier; Amelia, Lena; Mrs. Eli- 
zabeth Stratton, Chicago, Mrs. Floratine 
McTighe, Binghamton ; Mrs. Anna 
Everman, Sparta, N. Y. 

Huber, Mrs. Helen, domestic, 50 Libert\-, 
child Max. 

Hubertus, Henry E., clothier, 19 Seward, 
wife Mae. 

Hubertus, Jacob, butcher, 58 Franklin, 
wife Mary, children George clerk; Er- 
bon, Buffalo; John, salesman, Kathar- 
ine, Mt. Morris. 

Hubertus, Michael J., clerk Li\ingston 
Hotel. 

Hubertus, Nicholas, shoemaker, 200 Main, 
child Leo, Newtown, L. I. 

Hubertus, Mrs. S., boards 17 William. 

Hughes, Thomas, laborer, Main, wife Luc\', 
children John W., Mary E., Frankie. 

Hulbert, Eugene, painter, 45 William, 
wife Marth.i, children Eugene, Lizzie. 

Humphreys, William P., machinist, 12 
Washington. 

Hungerfiird, Victor, night watchman San- 
atorium, 37 Morse, wife Mary E., chil- 
dren Jessie, Guy miller. 

Hunter, Mrs. Virginia, 204 Main, child J. 
Ward. 

Hunter, William, V. S., boards 219 Main. 

Hurd, Mrs. Ada, 8 Libert\', children Dana, 
Caroline, emp. Instructor; Walter, emp. 
Instructor. 



Huver, Byron, boards 3 Clay. 

Huver, Edward P., harnessmaker, 4 Eliz- 
abeth, wife Frances, child Nicholas M. 

Huver, Frank, shoemaker, 12 Franklin, 
wife Caroline, children, Frank, Margar- 
et, Herman, Joseph, Clara. Fred. 

Huver, George, laborer, 26 Perine, wife 
Emma, children Hazel, Carl. 

Huver, Jacob, laborer, 54 Cottage, wife 
Margaret, children Mrs. Mary Bricks, 
Perkinsville, N. Y., Mrs. Anna Rowan, 
North Bloomfield, N. Y. 

Huver, John, carpenter, 3 Clay, wife Eliz- 
abeth, children Josephine, John car- 
penter, William carpenter, Jacob car- 
penter. 

Huver, Mrs. Mar\', 13 Cla\', children 
Paul, Raymond; Lester, rest.iurant; 
Alonzo, restaurant; William; Mrs. Eliz- 
abeth Sauerbier, Livonia, N. Y. 

Hyde, Charles E., 20 Liberty, wife 
Jennie, children Darwin, R.ilph. 

H\-de, William, 237 Main, emp. Worden 
Bros., wife Cora, child Mabelle. 



Illick, Miss J. E., 52 Elizabeth. 

Ireland, James, granite cutter, boards Liv- 
ingston Hotel. 

Ireland, Thomas, granite cutter, boards 
Livingston Hotel. 

Isler, William, boards 59 Main. 



Jacobs, James E., teamster, 221 Main, 
wife Elizabeth, children Nina; Mrs. May 
B.iird, Springw.-iter, N. Y., Mrs. Lulu 
May, Scottsburg, N. Y. 

Jacobs, Mrs., 7 Adams, child, Abel. 

Jeffrey, Charles, wagon maker, 104 Os- 
sian, wife Esther. 

Jeffrey, John F., teamster, 67 Franklin, 
wife Sarah, child Charles H. 

Jenks, Albert H., jeweler, 53 Ossian, 
wife Lucia, children Lucia A., Fay A.; 
Alonzo D., jeweler. 

Johantgcn, Frank, clothier, 6 Clinton, 
w ife Anna, children James, Helen. 

Johantgen. Fred D., nurseryman, 59 Lib- 
erty, wife Susan, children Jerome C, 
Lizzie, Minnie. 

Johantgen, Joseph, laborer, 69 Liberty, 
wife Mar>', children Lizzie, George, 
Katharine, Minnie. 

Johantgen, Nicholas, clothier, 13 Seward, 
wife Louise, children Herbert, Leo, 
Henr\-, Flora; Louis, clerk; Eliz.ibeth, 
Nicholas, clothier; Fred, Perry, N. Y.; 
Charles, Perry, N.Y.; Mrs. Mary Rauber, 
Rochester. 

Johns, Mrs. Susan R., 50 Elizabeth. 

Johnson, Sylvester, boards 65 Main. 

Jordan, Anthony, nurser\'man, 33 Wil- 
liam, children Kate, Fanny. 



248 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



K 

Kearney, Mrs. Maria, bnards 85 Franklin. 

Keifer, Supliia. bnarJs 23 Elizabeth. 

Keihle, Albert B., fireman, 51 Ossian, 
wife Elmettie, children Ross, Delia, Har- 
riet. 

Keihle, Charles M., fanner, 49 Ossian. 

Keihle, Elias, farmer. Upper Main, wife 
Martha J.; children Mrs. Susan Sick 
Canaseraga, N. Y.; Rena, dressmaker; 
Mrs. Kittle Flory, Sparta. N. Y.; Jennie, 
dressmaker; Mrs. Lola Whiting, Can- 
aseraga. N. Y. 

Keihle, Hannah C, boards 49 Ossian. 

Kelle>-, Wm., nurseryman, 19 Clay; 
brother Edward, nursers'man. 

Kelly, James, nurserxman, 56 Elizabeth, 
wife Julia, children Clement, Clara. 
Richard. 

Kelley, John G., wagon maker, 7 Wash- 
ington, wife Frances C, child Gregory 
M.; wife Marv,. children, Helen H.'. 
Robert. 

Kellogg, Mrs. Marcia, boards 51 Main. 

Kenney, Eleanor, stenographer, 2 Seward. 

Kenne\-, Frank, 20 Fulton, wife Elizabeth, 
children Blanche, Florence. 

Kenne\', Mrs. George, 30 Van Campen, 
child Alexander, student. 

Kenne\', Margaret, nurse; Lucile, nurse, 
48 William. 

Kenne\-, Margaret, hoards 5 South. 

Kennedy, Birdsall, dairv, 97 Main, wife 
Julia, children Mrs. 'Ida Banker, W. 
Sparta, N. Y.; Charles, Island of Pine. 
West Indies. 

Kennedy, Fred, lab. nurseryman, i Adams, 
wife Elizabeth; children Agnes, Her- 
bert, Emil, Mary; Frederick, clerk; Ed- 
ward, printer; Nicholas, emp. Finn's. 

Kennedy, James M., nurser\'man, 210 
Main, wife Elizabeth; children James 
E., Helen E. 

Kennedy, Katherine, dressmaker, 30 Wil- 
liam. 

Kennedy, Mrs. Mary J, 46 William. 

Kennedy, Michael R., paper mfr.; wife 
Mrs. Michael, children Walter,telephone 
operator; James, civil engineer; Eleanor 
K., Rochester, N. Y.; Frank, Philadel- 
phia, Pa. 

Kennedy, Thomas, laborer, 15 VanCamp- 
en, wife Helen; children Helen, John. 

Kennedy, Mrs. Anna, 237 M;iin, child 
Mary. 

Kennedy, Anna, 30 Van Campen. 

Kennyham, Alice, boards 37 Health. 

Kern, George E., hardware merchant, 250 
Main. 

Kern, Augusta, boards 35 Ferine. 

Kershner, Charles, blacksmith, 49 Eliza- 
beth, wife Mary, child Emma, dress- 
maker. 



Kershner, Mrs. Christina, 4 Knox. 
Kershner. Mrs. Cora A., boards 4 Knox. 
Kershner, Frank, blacksmith, 233 Main, 

wife Maria. 
Kershner, George E., farmer, wife Rilla, 

children Warren; Mrs. Maude Wilcox, 

Ossian, N. Y., George, farmer. 
Kershner, Peter W., produce dealer, g 

Elizabeth, wife Mary, child Fannie, 

teacher. 
Keyes, Silas, wife Ella, board 212 Main. 
Kidd, Edwin H.. retired, 10 Seward, wife 

Mary E. 
Kidd, Herbert, carpenter, 17 Morse, wife 

Jennie, children Arthur, Dorothy, Carl. 
Kidd, William, carpenter. 228 Main, wife 

Mar\-, grandchild, Edith Hamilton. 
Kiehle, Milton E., clerk, 27 Liberty, wife 

Emma E., child Fred. 
Kieser, Mar\', emp. Shoe Factory, 49^ 

Main. 
Kilburn. Ch;irles, granite cutter, 226 M.iin, 

wife Lucy, children Dorothy, Capitola, 

Ransom, Ravmond. Marshall. 
Kilda\', Anna, 20 Franklin. 
Kimmel. Mrs. Henrietta S., 6 Seward, 

children J(jseph M.. Newark. N. J.; 

Mrs. E. H. Drew, Newark, N. J. 
King, Charles, clerk H\land House. 
King, John, proprietor Hyland House, 

wife Mary, children Geraldine, How.ird, 

Raymond. 
Kingsley, Newton L., laundrxman, 12 

Washington, wife Lizzie, child Verna B. 
Kingsley, George, student Hamilton Col- 
lege, 48 Ossian. 
Kinne, Charles M, 13 Church, insurance 

agent, wife Jennie, child Grace F. 
Kinney, Mrs. Caroline, 37 Main, child 

Lena R., New Haven, Conn. 
Kinney, Phillip, sexton cemetery, near 

cemetery, wife Ophelia, children Vern 

machinist; Lloyd, Earl, Florence, Ben; 

Reed, Buffalo. 
Kling, Albert, laborer, 6 Exchange, wife 

Mary, children Jennie, Mary. 
Klink. Mrs. Christina, 128 Main, children 

Robert, Joseph A., trawling salesman; 

Mrs. RiiseKn Stork, Erie, Pa.; John 

F., photographer; Katharine, Louise. 
Knapp, Adelbert, printer, 64 Ossian, v\'ife 

Lizzie; children Lester, Walter, Olive, 

Carlos, Helen; Ba>ard, printer; Bessie 

compositor. 
Knapp, Mrs. Sarah J., 49-> Main. 
Knapp, Liiuise, 45 Ossian. 
Knappenberg, Adam J., fumer, 3 South, 

wife Sarah; children Charles W., Jos- 
eph T., Buffalo; Loretta L., Buffalo; 

Mrs. Gr.ace J. Merrill, Geneseo, N. Y. 
Kn;ippenberg. Katherine, 11 Church. 
Knowlton, Clarence, salesman, 17 Pine, 

v\ife Mary, children Alice, Paul; Gu>-, 

engineer. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



249 



Kornbau, Augustus, masseur, 9 Clinton, 
wife Elizabeth, cliiidren Henry R., How- 
ard, Clarence. 

Kramer, Adam, cook, 11 Liberty, wife 
Louise. 

Kramer, Anthony, 17 William, harness 
maker, wife Elizabeth. 

Kramer, Conrad, lumber dealer, 10 Ex- 
change, wife Louise, cliiidren Laura, 
Charles, Rochester. 

Kramer, Mrs. Elizabeth, 4.8 Cottage, chil- 
dren Anthiun', Joseph, Anna, Louis, 
Adel.iide. 

Kramer. Frederick, painter, 35 Main, wife 
Hattie, children Evelyn, Molly, Edward. 

Kramer, Frederick L., clothier, 21 Sew- 
ard; wife Ernestine. 

Kramer, Fritz, 18 South, wife Christina, 
children Edward, clerk; James grocer; 
John, dry goods merchant; Anna. 

Kramer, Louis, shoemaker; 22 Ferine, wife 
Katharine; children George, musician, 
wife Marg.aret; Mrs. Anna Gerger, Sal- 
amanca, N. Y. 

Kramer, George, painter, 11 Clay, wife 
Eva, children Helen, Lilian; Frank, 
printer; George, Wayland; William, 
Texas. 

Kramer, John, boards 21 Elizabeth street. 

Kramer, William, clothier, 1 3 West, wife 
Margaret, children Florine; Carl, mer- 
chant tailor; Mrs. E. C. Schwingel, 
Buffalo. 

Kreidler, Deo C, adv. manager Instructor, 
38 Liberty, wife Sarah; child Chester. 

Kreiley, JohnS., retired, 14 Leonard; wife 
Laura. 

Krein, Mrs. Mary, 16 Clay, children 
George insurance; Elizabeth, Mary. 

Krein, J;unes, salesman, 2 Leonard, wife 
Mamie; child Erasta. 

Krein, Mrs. Katharine, 43 Cottage, chil- 
dren Rhea, milliner; Hilda; Carl, clerk 
P. O; Fred, prop, restaurant. 

Kress, John, shoemaker, 26 Jefferson, 
wife Anna, children Cletus, Henrietta, 
John. 

Krischel, Rev. Michael, German Catholic 
priest, 22 Franklin: Elizabeth, house- 
keeper. 

Kroock, Henry, shoemaker, 10 Battle, wife 
Susan. 

Kruchten, John, farmer, 42 Main, wife 
IV\ar\-; children Peter, Cenia. Anna; 
Margaiet, Rochester; Minnie, Roches- 
ter; Mrs. Katharine Woodruff, Roches- 
ter. 

Kruger, Alice, 73 Franklin. 

Kruzcke, laborer, nurseryman, 11 Pine, 
wife Margaret, child Anna. 

Kruzcke, Pauline, 35 Seward. 

Kruzcke, Valentine, laborer; 40 Sew.ard, 
wife Madalene; child Victor V. 

Kuder, Mrs. Katharine, boards 8 Chestnut. 



Kuhn, Augustus, laborer, 31 William, 

wife S. Angeline. 
Kuhn, George, farmer, 18 Sevward, wife 

Harriet, children Bertha; Mrs. Blanche 

Fairchild, Sparta, N. Y. 
Kuhn, Henry, janitor High School, 13 

South, v\ife Rose, children Frederick, 

dentist; Rosina, dressmaker. 
Kuhn, Mrs. Lilian, masseur, 16 Van 

Campen, children Lorena, La Verne. 



La Boyteaux, Dr. Auten, dentist, 47 Main, 

wife Sallie M. 
LaBo\teaux, Chas., D. D. S.. wife, Eliz- 
abeth. 
Lacher, Conrad, laborer, 71 Libert\-, wife 
Mar\-, domestic, children Albert; John, 
Elmira, N. Y., Mrs. Josephine Mosher, 
Elmira, N. Y. 
La Force, Peter, proprietor Arlington 
Hotel, 124 Main, wife Elizabeth, chil- 
dren Robert, Laura, Mabel. 
Lanphear, Charles A., 45 Health, wife 
Marg.-iret, children Mabelle, George, 
Samuel, Adah, Ida, stenographer. 
La Rue, Helen, domestic, 60 Elizabeth. 
La Rue, William J., jeweler, 38 Elizabeth, 
wife Harriet, children Bessie, Ward, 
Margaret, Florence, Helen; Harry, Roch- 
ester; William and Charles, Chicago. 
Lauterborn, Frank, carpenter, 35 Leonard, 

child Michael, laborer nurseryman. 
Lauterborn, John, carpenter, 38 Frank- 
lin, wife Elizabeth, children Mrs. Rosa, 
A. Retman, Corning, N. Y.; Katharine, 
Michael, Corning, N. Y.; John, Corn- 
ing, N. Y., Mrs. MarvDemuth, Corn- 
ing. N. Y.; Joseph, Hornellsville, N. Y.; 
Ch.arles, barber. 
Lauterborn, Mrs. Mary, boards 35 Leon- 
ard. 
Lauterborn, Michael, laborer, 63 Liberty, 
wife Rosa, children Anna, Elmira, N. 
Y.; Edward, Elmira, N. Y.; Alonzo, 
Elmira, N. Y. 
Lauterborn, Wendell, laborer, 48 Van 

Campen, wife Louise, child Elmer. 
La\en, Louisa, 4 Health, children Joseph; 

Frank laborer, Lena domestic. 
Lawton, Oliver, laborer, 7 Pine, wife 
Elizabeth, children Charles, Groveland, 
N. Y.; Byron P., Groveland, N. Y. 
Layer, Henry, masseur, 52 Ferine, wife 
Katharine, children Julius, Helena, 
Anna V., Katherine E., teacher; Eliza- 
beth. 
Leven, Robert, baker, 16 Health, wife 
Helen, children Helen, Arthur, Robert 
O., Charlotta. 
Lee, Mrs. Louise, 4 Barrett, children 
John; Walter, Moscow, N. Y.; Lillie, 
Arkport, N. Y.; Mary, Groveland, N. 
Y. 



250 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Lee, Elmer, traveling salesman, 7 Ex- 
change, wife Minnie, child Clarence. 

Lee, Miss M., boards 48 William. 

Lehman, Rew John J., Lutheran clerg\- 
man, 6 Bank, wife Elizabeth. 

Lemen, Charles, 16 Lincoln, foreman In- 
structor, wife May, children Tom, Erma, 
Archie, Clinton, Clifford. 

Lemen, Mrs. A. H., 63 Main, child Wil- 
liam, photographer Instructor. 

Leonard, Charles, retired, wife Mrs. 
Charles, board 14 Elizabeth. 

Leven, George, grocery clerk, 16 West, 
wife Flora, children Marie, Clara. 

Lewis, George, machinist, 60 Ossian. 

Lewis, Mrs. L. P., boards 94 Main. 

Lewis, Mrs. Mary A., i Brewery. 

Lindsay, Alonzo, miller, 26 Liberty, wife 
Cora, child John. 

Lindsay, Elizabeth, nurse, 64 Elizabeth. 

Lindsay, James, boards 26 Libert\-. 

Lindsay, Frank, blacksmith, 2, Spruce, wife 
Liddie, children Lizzie, Fred. 

Lindsay, James H., painter, 13 Elizabeth, 
wife Janctte, children Minnie composi- 
itor; George clerk. 

Lindsay, John, farmer, 24 Franklin, wife 
Blanche; children Lucene, Ethel. Edith. 

Lockwood, Mrs. M. E., boards 5 West. 

Loftus, Mrs. Mary, 6 West, children Ella, 
compositor; Anna, compositor; Mar- 
garet, compositor; John. 

Loughney, Mrs. Mary, 47 Franklin, child 
Louis. 

Luther, Edgar, laborer, 8 Washington, 
wife Louise, children Addle Ma\-, Albert 

w. 

Lyman, Margaret, boards 126 Main, sister 
Pearl. Rochester. 

Lyon, Stanley, shoemaker, 11 Washing- 
ton. 

Lyons, Katherine, 15 West. 

M 

Macnoe, Mrs. Julia, boards loi Main, 
child George. 

Mader, Ch.irles, carpenter, wife Mary, 
children Mary, Carl, 32 Elizabeth. 

Mader, John, traveling salesman, 12 Leon- 
ard, v\ife .Marguerite, children Helena, 
Edward, Elizabeth; George, Elmira, 
N. Y.; Frank. A\oca, N. Y.; John, Roch- 
ester, N. Y. 

Magee, Frank P., cashier Citizens Bank, 
80 Main, wife Lilian, children Henry B., 
Margaret. 

Mahan\-, John, painter, 37 William, wife 
Elizabeth, children Walter, Harr>', Fred, 
John, Gr.ace. 

Maloney, Edward P., W. F. express mes- 
senger, 26 Franklin, wife Margaret. 

Maloney, James, nurseryman, 55 Ferine, 
wife Ellen, children Edwin J., Kathar- 
ine, clerk, San.; Fred B., New York; 
Anna J., Buffalo. 



Maloney, Michael, laborer nurser\'man, 27 
William, wife Maria, children Josephine, 
John, James; George, printer; William 
laborer nurseryman, Sarah, Martin, la- 
borer nurseryman; Thomas, lab. nur- 
seryman. 

Maloney, Peter gardener, 55 Libert\', wife 
Margaret, children Beatrice, Eleanor. 

Maloney, Thomas, nurseryman, 20 Wil- 
liam, wife Mary, children Albert, Agnes, 
John; Eliz.ibeth, teacher; William mail 
carrier, Edward, nurseryman; Margaret, 
stenographer. 

Manion, Thomas, emp. Sanatorium, 14 
Washington, wife La\onia. 

Manion. Mrs. Viola, 214 Main, child Gen- 
evieve. 

Marble, William, farmer, 31 Jefferson, 
wife Clarissa; child, Irwin. 

Marshall, William, mason, 31 Leonard, 
wife Caroline, children Bessie, Mrs. 
Fred, laborer; James, 



ard man Livingston 



Dora McClane; 

laborer. 
Martin, Joseph, 

Hotel. 

Marx, Anthony, laborer, 100 Main. 
Marx, John, baker, boards 119 Main. 
Marx, John J., 10 Quay, v\ife Jennie, 

children Jennie. John. 
Marx, Peter, street musician, 14 Quay, 

wife Mar\-, children Anna, Gus, Lena, 

Peter; Mrs. Elizabeth Flvnn, Bruwns- 

\-ille, N. Y. 
Mason, Adelbert, laborer, 28 Maple street, 

wife Ella music teacher, child Paul E. 
Mason, Charles, laborer nurscr\man, 95 

Main. 
Masten, Mrs. Electa, 220 Main, children 

Orrin, restaurant, Addison G., Los An- 
geles, Cal. 
Mastin, Phineas, laborer, 21 Health, wife 

Matilda, children Flo\d, Rochester, 

N. Y., Mrs. May Rabing, Rochester, 

N. Y.; Mrs. Amand.a Herron, Painted 

Post, N. Y. 
Mathevxson, Mrs. Carrie, 10 Spruce, child 

Kate, dressmaker. 
May, Mrs. Mary, 20 Ferine, children 

Charles A., Syracuse, N. Y.; Mrs. 

Lilian Van Henckeroth, Fort Preble, 

Portland, Maine. 
Maybe, Charles, stenographer, 53 Ossian. 
Maynard, William, farmer, 34 Mill, wife 

Rose, children William, fireman; Sarah. 
McCarthy, Frank, painter, boards Liv- 
ingston Hotel. 
McCarthy, John, carpenter, 74 Ossian, 

children Josephine; William jeweler; 

Frank, Trum.ansburg, N. Y. 
McCartney, Mrs. Emma, dressmaker, 

42 Cottage, child Bert, Toronto, Can. 
McCartne>-, Hugh, Glen road. 
McCartney, M.itthew, laborer, 7 Exchange, 

v\ife Emma, child Frederick H. 
McCormick, Katharine, domestic, 82 Main. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



251 



McCormick, Mrs. Katharine, domestic. 17 

Clay. 
McCoulin. Miss, nurse, 37 Health. 
McCo\-ick, John, laborer, 5 Clay, wife 

Mary, children John, emp. Blum Slioe 

Co.;' Mar\-: Martin, Lestershire, N. Y ; 

K.atharine. 
McCovick, William, emp. Williams mill, 

22 Knox, wife Amelia, ciiildren William, 

Charles. 
McCurdx', Hush, farmer, 7 Gibson, v\ife 

Elizabeth, children Elizabeth; Charles, 

Milwaukee, Wis. 
McCurdx-, J. Earl, market, 4 Ferine, wife 

Ros.i, child Thelma. 
McCurJ\-. James M., retired, 35 Ferine, 

wife Carolina. 
McCurdy, John T., 263 Main, insurance 

adjuster, wife Hattie, child James R. 
McCurd\-, William, carpenter, 74 Elizabeth, 

vx'ife Nellie. children Marv, Grace, Helen, 

Herbert. 
McCurdy, Margaret, boards 17 Pine. 
McDi.irmid, Bertha, boards 31 Jefferson. 
.McDonald, Ellen, domestic, 17 Cla\-. 
McDonnell, Fatrick, laborer, 54 Gibson, 

wife Fannie, children James, Jennie. 
McElwaine, Rhea, teacher D. H. S., 16 

Leonard. 
McFetridge, Ellen, Margaret, i Leonard. 
McKelvey, Nancy, boards 86 Main. 
McLane, John, boards 20 Maple. 
McLane, Mrs. Mary, 33 Maple, children 

John, nurseryman; Peter, nurseryman; 

Michael, nurseryman; Anthony, nur- 
seryman; Alice dressmaker; Jennie. 
McLeoJ, Barbara, preceptress D. H. S., 

243 Main. 
Mac Michael, Fred, boards 6t Main. 
McNair, C. Fred, school commissioner 

and nurseryman, 75 Main, wife Helen. 
McNair, Hugh W., South, wife Ida J. 
McNair, Mrs. Margaret, South. 
McNair, Mrs. Mary, 247 Main. 
McNeese, Mrs. Mar\-, 48 Liberty. 
McNeil, Frank, postmaster, 83 Main, wife 

Maggie A., children John, James, Ann, 

Helen, Ruth, Frank, Marguerite. 
McNeil, Frank, liveryman, 259 M.iin, wife 

Caroline, child Viola. 
McNeil, Martin, nurseryman, 3 Knox, wife 

Ann. 
McNeil, Martin J., insurance agent, 29 

Ossian, children Dorothy, Harold, Be.a- 

trice. 
McNeil, William, mail carrier, 31 Liberty, 

wife Sarah. 
McPhee, Dr. J. F., dentist, 28 Cott.ige, 

wife Dema. 
McQuaid, Mrs. Anna, 32 VanCanipen. 
McTarnaghan, Mrs. Agnes, 15 Health. 
McTarnaghan, Robert, farmer, 24 Main, 

wife Minnie, child Ross. 
McVicker, Joseph, laborer, 21 Church. 



McWhorter.Scott, 43 Ossian, wife Louise, 

children Sophia; Thomas telegr.ipher. 
Mehlenbacher, Frank, proprietor Farmers 

Home, 117 Main, wife Elizabeth. 
Mehlenkicher, Conrad, baker, Tig Main, 

wife Louise, children Mrs. Augusta 

Tunnev, Penn Yan, N. Y.; Burt. 
Mehlenbacher, Frank E., merchant, 119 

Main. 
Melody, Patrick, nurseryman, wife Delia. 
Mertz,' Mrs. Louise, 26 Cottage, children 

Ctrl, Phillip, Walter, Robert, William. 
Meyers, John, mason, 27 Seward, wife 

Anna, children William, Anna, Frederick, 

George. 
Me\ers, Joseph B., 14 Park, wife Minnie, 

children Carl F., Trase I., George L., 

John J., Lulu M., Anna Bell, Marguer- 
ite. 
Michael, Andrew, 9 Brewery, wife Mary, 

children Catharine; Anthony, butcher; 

Conrad, Anna. 
Michael, Frederick, policeman, 10 Wil- 

mot, wife Rose. 
Michael, M. M., manager Sanitorium 

greenhouse, near Health, wife Flor.i. 
Michael, Peter, shoemaker, 67 Liberty, 

wife Katharine. 
Middleton, Alva G., mason, 21 Main. 
Middleton, John, mason, 4 Wilmot, 

wife Julia, children Mary, Carl, Julia; 

M;irk, Morgantown, W. Va.; Freder- 
ick, John, laborer nurseryman; Samuel, 

Morgantown, W. Va. 
Middleton, Samuel, mason, 39 Cottage, 

wife Clara, children Braxton G., 

Katharine C, Theodore F. 
Miller, Carrie M., dressmaker, 4 Quay. 
Miller, Mrs. Elizabeth, 97 Main. 
Miller, Eva, 4 Quay. 
Miller, Herbert J., tinsmith, 5 Adams, 

wife Mina, child Roy. 
Miller, Joseph, mason, 50 Chestnut, wife 

Martha. 
Miller, Mrs. Kate, 39 Main, child Mrs. 

Alt.i Gormal, Nunda, N. Y. 
Miller, Morgan L., farmer, 12 Seward, wife 

Frances; children Mrs. McCartney; Mrs. 

Herve\- Squires, Erie, Pa. 
Miller, Mrs. Sarah, boards 8 Clay. 
Miller, William G., boards 18 Clinton. 
Mills Mrs. H. P., boards 21 South, child 

Louise B. 
Mills, Robert H., tr:i\eling salesman, 52 

Liberty, wife, Jane R. , children Mrs. 

Anna May Grim, Rochester, N. Y.; 

Merritt B., Rochester, N. Y.; Frank R. 
Mills, Samuel, boards 100 Franklin. 
Moe, Mrs. Mary, 8 Milton. 
Moon, Mrs. Amelia, 12 Clinton, children 

Minnie, teacher; Walter violinist; Bertha, 

compositor, Mrs. Arthur Noxon, Ayoca, 

N. Y. 
Mooner, Mrs. Mary, laundress, 15 Health. 
Moose, Hann,ah, boards 18 Washington. 



252 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Moose, Orville, carpenter, i6 Quay, wife 
Mina, children Clarence, Alta. 

Morehouse, Mark S., proprietor Hotel Li\-- 
ingston, wife Helen, cliilJ Bertha. 

Morey, Jonathan B., nurseryman, 238 
Main, wife Laura, children Sydney 
nurseryman; Mrs. Fannie Chase. 

Morey, Jonathan B. Jr., nurseryman, 249 
Main, wife Clara,chilJren Ruth. Laura E. 

Morgan, Patrick, mason, 21 Clinton, wife 
Margaret, children Bernard, John, Burke, 
Anna. 

Morrison, Anna, 6 Eagle. 

Morrison, Edward, nurserxman, 6 Health, 
wife Ellen, children Elizaheth, Mamie; 
Edward, nurseryman. 

Morrison, Frank, painter, 13 Leonard, 
wife Margaret. 

Morrison, George, rural mail carrier; wife 
Marie, child Helen. 

Morrison, Joseph, lahorer, boards 6 Eagle. 

Morrison, Patrick, boards 6 Eagle. 

Muchler, Frank, laborer, 24 Main. 

Muldoon, Charles, 233 Main. 

Munger, Lucy E., boards 30 Elizabeth. 

Murdock, Mrs. Mary, 46 Cottage, child 
Rose. 

Murdock, Mrs. Marv A., 3 Fulton, child 
Mrs. Edith Hartm'an, Woodsville, N. Y. 

Murphy, Albert, barber, rooms 153 Main. 

Murph\', Mrs. Andrew, 13 William, child 
Mrs. Polly Barrett, Buffalo. 

Murpln-. Mrs. Helen, 27 Clinton, children 
Mrs. Katharine E. Erbeck, Mt. Morris, 
N. Y.; Mrs. Nellie Schermer, Mt. Mor- 
ris, N Y.; Mrs. Jennie Steinbrook, But- 
ler Co., Pa.; Edward, Depew, N. Y. 

Murphy, John, teamster, 30 Clay, wife 
Mary, children Grace; Albert, nurser\- 
man; Ma\-; Edward, clerk, P. O. 

Murphy. Mrs. Mary, domestic, 46 Chest- 
nut, child William, Washingttm, D. C. 

Murrax'. Mrs. Margaret, 23 Jefferson, 
child Vincent. 

Nagle, John, stone mason, 36 Van 'Cam- 
pen, wife Margaret, children James, 
printer; John, nurseryman; Ella. 

Nelson, F. J., druggist, 105 Main, wife. 
Mrs. M. L. 

Newton, James M., painter, 44 Chestnut, 
wife M.-iry M., children James C, paint- 
er; Lilian, emp. Instructor; Wiley R., 
Butler, Pa. 

Nice, Frank, carpenter, 12 Elizabeth, 
wife Engie, children Frances, Florine, 
Agnes, Marguerite, Lea. 

Nice, Joseph, carpenter, 9 Leonard, wife 
Gertrude. 

Nichols, Charles, sup't Sweet Mfg. Co., 
17 West, wife Elizabeth, children 
Charles, Frances. 

Nichols, Frank, harness maker, 29 Eliza- 
beth, wife Margaret, child Katharine. 



19 Jef- 

Mary, 
emp. 



Nichols, Stoddard, painter, 179 Main, wife 
Ella, child Mrs. Eva Lander, Way- 
land, N. Y. 

Nickerson, Mrs. Hannah, boards, 
ferson. 

Nolan, John, 57 Ferine, wife 
cliildren Thomas, Bertha 
San.; Edward, nurseryman; Josephine, 
nurse; Lester, nurseryman; Hugh, 
nurseryman; Minnie, matron San.; Mrs. 
Katharine O'Learx', Perry, N. Y.; John, 
Rochester, N. Y.; William, Rochester, 
N. Y. ■ 

Norton, John, laborer, 2 Barrett, wife 
Katherine. children Loretta, James, 
Helen, Willie. 

Norton, Thomas, kiborer, 2 Barrett, wife 
Sarah. 

Noyes, Frederick W., Lawyer, 51 Eliza- 
beth, wife Emm;i, children Kath;irine, 
Jansen, Nicholas. 

o 

Oakes, Mrs. Sarah C, 28 Health, child 
Elbert N., lawyer, Buffalo, N, Y. 

Oberdorf, Bernard H., insurance, 36 Eliza- 
beth, wife Helen. 

Oberdorf, Vk'infield Scott, cashier, E. T. 
Scovill, 5 Seward st, wife Katharine. 

O^Brien, Mrs. Carrie, 233 Main. 

O'Brien, Patrick, mason, 4 Eagle. 

O'Brien, William, barber, 43 Elizabeth, 
wife, Addie. 

O'Connor, James, nurseryman, 13 Van 
Campen, wife Ann, children Charles, 
clerk; Margaret; John, lawyer, Buffalo; 
Marie, nurse. 

O'Connor, P.atrick, bl.icksmith, 4 Clay 
children Mar\-; Eugene, blacksmith. 

O'Hara, Mrs. Marg:net, 14 Church. 

O'Hara, Martin, nurseryman, 34 Maple, 
wife Annie. 

O'Hara, Mrs. Lawrence, boards, 30 Van 
C;uTipen. 

O'Hara, Mrs. M;ir\', emp. San. 25 Wil- 
liam, children Louis, Huntsville, Al;i- 
b;mia ; James, Eauclaire, Mich.; John, 
California; Mary, Buffalo; Mrs. Kath- 
erine Fritz. N. Tonaw.md:i. 

O'Hara, Michael, laborer, 29 William, 
wife Julia, children James, Helen, 
Katharine. M;iry, William, Clara. 

O'Hara, Patrick, nurseryman, 30 Van 
Campen, children Elizabeth, New Hav- 
en, Conn.; Mary, Rochester, N. Y. 

Oliver, Mrs. E. Ann, 61 Main, children 
Mrs. Mary Culbertson, Sparta, N. Y., 
Clara. 

Olmstead, William E. , traveling salesman, 
27 Ferine, wife Anna E. 

O'Meara, George, grocer, 36 Ossian. 

Opp, Addie, emp. Instructor, 17 Libert\'. 

Opp, Mrs. Susan, 45 Cottage, children 
1. Louis, Jacob; Henrv K. .and William, 
Wellsville. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



253 



Ott. Joseph, restaurant, ii6 Main, wife 
iV\argaret, child Helen. 

Owen, Alta, emp. Instructor, 30 Chest- 
nut. 

Owen, Frederick A., president Instructor 
Pub. Co., 66 Main, wife Grace. 



Page, E. H. L., photographer. Sanatorium. 

Paine, Lurten M., circ. mgr. Instructor, 
22 West, wife Emma, clrild Blanclie. 

Palmer, Alba C blacksmith, 23 Spruce, 
wife Hattie, children, Walter, Olive. 

Palmer, Charles, painter; Jolin, painter; 
sister Rebecca, 5 Fulton. 

Palmer, Philip, laborer, 29 Liberty, wife 
Helena, children Augustus, nursery- 
man; Charles. 

P;irker, Augustus L., retired, 21 Liberty, 
wife Elizabeth, children Nellie, stenog- 
rapher; Frankie, Alice, Syracuse, N. Y.; 
Elizabeth, nurse; Mrs. Anna Lee, East 
Groveland. N. Y.; Susie, librarian. 

Parker, Emor\-, tra\eling salesman, 10 
Pine, wife Carrie, children Ra\', Bessie, 
Harry, Detroit, Mich. 

Parker, May R., teacher, D. H. S., 61 
Main. 

Parker, Theodore, hoards 14 Chestnut. 

Parsons, John T., boards loi Main. 

Parsons, Albert E., mason, 86 Franklin, 
wife Anna, children Olive M., Carrie 
E., Katie M. 

Partridge, Frank L., salesman, 3 Church, 
wife Elsie, children Louis, Marie. 

Passage, Willet, conductor D. & M. R. R., 
10 Milton, wife Katharine. 

Patchen, Dr. C. V., physician, 66 Eliza- 
beth. 

Patterson, John, stone mason, 20 Jeffer- 
son, wife Elizabeth, child Mrs. Susan 
Wagner, Reeds Corners, N. Y. 

P;itterson, Mrs. Mar>- O., 11 Clinton. 

Patterson, Niles, barber. 11 Clinton. 

Pierson, Nellie, 24 Elizabeth. 

Peck, Charles, laborer, 62 Ossian, wife 
Katharine, children Edward, Carl. 

Peck, Edward, fireman, 7 Leonard, wife 
Clara, child John J. 

Peck, Emily D., boards 218 Main. 

Peckins, Julia, domestic, 279 Main. 

Perliam, Leander, watch maker, 11 Jeffer- 
son. 

Ferine. Mrs. Elsie, 25 Clinton, children 
Fred; Charles, laborer, nurseryman; 
Margaret, Hornellsville, N. Y. 

Ferine, Dr. F. M., physician, 218 Main, 
wife Emily P. 

Ferine, John, laborer, nurseryman, wife 
Nellie; 19 Spruce. 

Perkins, RayC treasurer Instructor Pub- 
lishing Company, 58 Liberty, v\ife 
Grace, child, Paul. 

Perry, Louise, boards 51 Ferine. 

Perry, William, 11 Pine, wife Elizabeth. 



Perr\-, William H.,62 Main, wife Mary 

A.', children Katheryn L., ;issistant 

editor; John W., lawyer. 
Peterson, Mrs. Amelia, 6 Adams, children 

Henr\-, shoemaker; Samuel, nursery- 
man; James, Rochester, N. Y. 
Pettibone, Orren, bo;irds 60 Ossian. 
Pfuntner. Alfred, laborer, 34 Chestnut, 

wife Anna, children Raymond, Marie, 

Clara. 
Pfuntner, Henr>', laborer, 73 Liberty, wife 

Anna, child Rudolf. 
Pfuntner, Henry, farmer, 78 Libert\-, wife 

Barbara, child Lilian E. 
Pfuntner, Mrs. Margaret, 26 William. 
Pfuntner, Wendel, laborer, 50 Chestnut, 

w ife Minnie, children Mark, Rochester; 

Lawrence, plumber. 
Phillips, Mrs. Eliza A., 17 South, child 

Harry R., carpenter. 
Phillips, William, laborer, 22 Main, wife 

Epha. 
Phelps, Mrs., boards 19 Seward. 
Pierce, Raymond, boards 17 South, v\ife 

Estella. ' 
Pierpont, Mrs. Martha, 15 Washington, 

child Henry, Rochester. 
Plimptim, Albert M.. carriage maker, 8 

Clay, wife Delia, children Mrs. Frank 

Pratt, Hornellsville; Mrs. Cecil Mackey, 

St. Augustine, Fla. 
Plimpton, Arthur H., jeweler, 9 Church, 

wife Alice, child Florine. 
Porter, M.itthew, 10 South. 
Pratt, Robert, lawyer, 40 Main, wife 

Nellie, child Fr:mcis. 
Pratt, Miss S. F., hoards 48 William. 
Prentiss, Mrs. Ocie, 58 Main, child Grace. 
Preston, Dr. W. B., physician, 48 Eliza- 
beth, wife Ella, physician, child 

George R., student. 
Price, Clarence L., laborer, 68 Ossian, 

wife Edna. 
Price. Emor\- H., salesman, 20 Exchange, 

wife Anna, child Dora C. 
Price, William D., 68 Ossian, wife Kath- 

erine. children Bert D., Hunts, N. Y.; 

William E., Ossian, N. Y., Eugene D.. 

Hunts, N. Y.; Frank, farmer; Nathan- 
iel C, Clean, N. Y. 
Pruner, Jnhn, cigar maker, 13 Cl.iy, wife 

Margaret. 
Purd\-, Mrs. Matilda, boards 60 Ossi.in. 
Purdy. Warren, teamster, 39 William, 

wife S;u-ah, children, Georgie, Clara, 

Charlie. 

Q. 

Quick, Ernest E., printer, 20 Clinton. 
Quigley, Hannah, Health. 

R 

Rail. Henry D., carpenter, 15 Lincoln, 

wife Katherine. 
Rail, Rudolph, carpenter, 233 Main. 



254 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



Randall, Alton E., grocer, 20 Clinton, 
wife Janette, children Esther, Dana, 

Randall, Alonzo, merchant, 27 Jefferson, 
wife Rose, children Florence, Josephine. 

Randall, Edward, merchant, 28 Jefterson, 
wife Mary, children La Verne, Ra>', M\- 
ron, Mrs. Bird Chapman, Rochester, 
N. Y. 

Ran, Benjamin E., retired farmer, 216 
Main, wife Anna, child, Garfield. 

Rau, David E., coal dealer, 47 Ossian, 
wife Letitia, children Mrs. Ola A. Mer- 
rell; Bert A. Rowe, Hibhing, Minn.; 
Mrs. Ida May Zerfass, Sparta, N. Y. 

Rau, Mrs. Jane, boards, 216 Main. 

Rauher, Edward, carpenter, 10 Health, 
wife Lenora, child Harold. 

Rauber, Mrs. Elizabeth, 47 Chestnut, 
children Paul B., Alice, Regin.i, nurse; 
Isaac, Wilhemina, nurse; Lizzie. 

Rauber, Frank, farmer, 12 Gibson, wife 
Mary, children Herman, Lester, Fred, 
milkman. 

Rauber, Frank P., dry goods merchant, 
2 South, wife Mary. 

Rauber, Stephen, retired, 22 Liberty, wife 
Helena, children Elizabeth, Nicholas, 
Jacob, Wayland, N. Y.; John S. 

Rauber, John, laborer, 46 Main, wife 
Elizabeth, children Antoinette, Leo, Ida, 
dressmaker; Elizabeth; Nicholas, clerk; 
John, clerk; George, Rochester, N. Y. 

Rauber, William S., laborer, nurseryman. 
18 Clinton, wife Jessie. 

Rauber, William, laborer, 5 William, chil- 
dren Mav, Virginia, Albert, clerk; Joe, 
clerk; Margaret; Mrs. Clara McCarth\', 
Nunda, N. Y. 

Rauber, William, emp. Instructor, 32 
Elizabeth, w ife Effie. 

Readshaw, Benjamin G., merchant miller, 
281 Main, wife Leil. 

Readshaw, Edmund H., merchant miller, 
67 Main, wife Margaret. 

Reagan, Patrick, granite cutter, 85 Frank- 
lin, wife Alice, child Daniel J. 

Reap, Patrick, mason, 11 Williams, wife 
Julia, children F. J. Reap, Buffalo, N. Y., 
K.atherine, Mrs. Julia Powell, Rochester. 

Rector, Frank, moulder, 255 Main, wife 
Fannie, children Howard, Geneseo, N. 
Y.; Mrs. Frank Montgomery, Warsaw, 
N. Y. " " , 

Rectenwald, Jacob, boards, 8 Elizabeth. 

Rectenwald, John J., butcher, 34 Cot- 
tage, wife Anna, children Adeline, 
George. 

Redmond, Clarence, baker, iq6 M.iin, 
wife, Florence. 

Redmond, Samuel, 196 Main, wife Hulda, 
child Fred. 

Reese, John, carpenter, 14 Jefferson, 
children Elizabeth, dressmaker: Frank- 
lin, hostler; James, Scio, Allegany Co. 
N. Y. 



Reese, John M., harness maker, 52 Chest- 
nut, wife Ada, children Fred, Alice, 
Fannie, dressmaker. 

Reimer, Frank, granite cutter, 214 Main, 
wife Elizabeth, children Frank, Emma, 
Leonidas. 

ReilK', Patrick. nurser\man, 84 Ossian, 
wife Margaret, children John. Thom.is, 
Michael. Mary, dressmaker; William, 
nurseryman; Margaret; James, Craig 
Colony, N. Y. 

Remmel, Joseph, blacksmith, 44 Cottage, 
wife Mary, children Mrs. Marg;iret 
Schubmehk Rochester; Mrs. Mary 
Wingler. Rochester; M.artin V., Roch- 
ester; Fred F., Rochester. 

Reynell, C.arleton, 230 Main. 

Reuden, Lewis, pressman. Main, wife 
Libbie, child Charley. 

Rhineager, Richard, s6 Franklin, wife 
Elizabeth. 

Rice, Edith, boards, 123 Main. 

Rice, Frank G., tailor, 9 West, wife, 
Launi L., child Lulu A. 

Richardson, Miss Ann, boards, 20 Spruce. 

Ryan, Mrs. Rosa, waitress, 21 Van 
Campen, children John, emp. San.; 
Bessie, waitress. 

Riple\, Fred L., jeweler, 19 Elizabeth. 

Rivett, Alfred A., tinsmith, 28 Elizabeth, 
wife Margaret, children Francis C, 
Donald, Gertrude. 

Robbins, Grace W., M. Blanche, board, 
45 Ossian. 

Robinson, Mrs. Mary, milliner, 19 Spruce. 

Robinson, Frank, nurseryman, is Brew- 
ery, v\-ife Mary. 

Roberts, George, laborer, 10 Mill, wife 
Helen, children Clarence, Helen, George, 
Harry. 

Roberts, Miss Louisa, 50 Cottage. 

Robson, John F., R. R. Contractor, 64 
Main, wife Emma E., children Florence 
S., Emma E.; Charles K., emp. paper 
mill. 

Rohner, Nicholas, farmer, 13 Lincoln, wife 
Lena, children Celia, Ch;irles, painter; 
Lena, dressmaker; Katharine, dress- 
maker. 

Rolisiin, C. E., farmer, 12 South, wife 
Stella, children Mary O., Walter P. 

Root, Elisha, teamster, 40 Ossian, v\-ife 
Sanih J., child Homer, Boston. Mass. 

Root, Mrs. Mary, emp. San., 39 Health, 
child Anna, emp. San. 

Rose. Frank, laborer, 2 Morse, wife Alice, 
child Grant. 

Rose, Mrs. Mary, boards. 8 Washington. 

Ross, Mrs. Antionette, 38 Seward, children 
Margaret, Michael, Elizabeth, M.iry, 
George, Frank. 

Ross, Robert H., merchant, 16 Sew.ird, 
wife, Mary E., children Carl A., stud- 
ent; Edw.ird S. com. trav. 



HISTORICAL CEXSUS 



RooJenhush, Amos G.. commercial travel- 
er, 6 South, wife Addie E. 

Rouse, James, 15? Main, wife Elizabeth, 
milliner, children Gretchen, Marie. 

Rouse, Patrick, laborer, 53 Leonard. 

Rowan, Mrs. Bridget, 32 West, children 
Elizabeth emp. Instructor: Joseph, Wis- 
coy, N. Y.; Edward, bookkeeper; Rose, 
Mrs. John Shafer, Groveland; Mrs. 
Mary Alden, San Francisco, Gal. 

Rowan, Mar\' E., teacher, 15 Jefferson. 

Rowan, James A., emp. San., 13 Jefferson. 

Rov\an, Dennis, 24 Glinton, children, 
John, barber; Michael, Brooklyn. 

Row.in Michael, laborer, 50 Main, wife 
Ella, children Mabel; William, clerk. 

Rowan, Thomas, 44 Franklin, children 
Mrs. T. J. Gostello, Buffalo. N. Y.; 
Alice M., derm;itologist; Katharine H., 
ass't postmaster: Mrs. R. T. Grotty, 
Erie, Pa.; James W., Erie, Pa. 

Rowan, William H., barber, 89 Main, wife 
Mary, children Harr\', printer; K;itharine. 

Rowe, Gharles H.. lawyer, 9 Ghestnut, 
v\-ife Adina, child Marguerite. 

Rowe, Scott T.. teamster, 10 West, wife 
Lola, child Garl A. 

Rowe, Mrs. Sar;ih, 48 Ossian, children 
Delila; Frank, Bridgewater, N. Y. 

Rowe, Wilber J., bus driver, to West. 

Rowle>-, Augustus B., laborer, 24 Mill, 
wife Mary J., children Mrs. Garoline 
Fisher, Elmer, engineer; Mrs. Letra 
Bentley, Rochester, N. Y.; Herman H., 
Rochester, N. Y.: Mrs. Lillie Gurr\-, 
Burns, N. Y.; William A., Addison, 
N. Y. 

Rubenstein, E. J., merchant, 19 Lib- 
erty, wife Esther. 

Ruff, Martin, barber, 18 Ghestnut, wife 
Margaret, children Louise; Anna, Roch- 
ester, N. Y., Mary, t.ailoress. 

Runisey, John, laborer, 37 Health, wife 
Mrs. John. 



Sauerbier, Peter, mason 47 Cottage, wife, 
Elizabeth, children William, Louise, 
George, Garl, Katharine, Frederick, 
Peter, Minnie: Albert. U. S. Arm\-; Mrs. 
Elizabeth Brov\-n, Elmira, N. Y. 

Sandford, Gharles H., teamster, 39 Frank- 
lin, wife L;iura, children Arch, printer; 
Ray, printer. 

Sandford, Fr.ink S., engineer, 7 Seward, 
wife Elizabeth, children Helen L., 
Georgiana K., J. Joseph; Ruth L., 
teacher. 

Sanger, Emma, dressmaker; 6 Lincoln. 

Sanger, M:ibel,emp. Instructor, 6 Lincoln. 

Sanger, Laura, bookkeeper, 6 Lincoln. 

Sargeant, Mrs. Glara, 43 William, chil- 
dren 01i\'e, Stella, Cl.irence. 

Sautell, Benjamin, granite cutter, boards, 
Livingston. 



Sauerbier. Albert, teamster, 59 Franklin, 
wife Lilian, children Edith; Mrs. Anna 
Gongdon, Rochester, N. Y. 

Sawde\-, Floyd, laborer. Main, wife Jen- 
nie, children Ella: Roy G., laborer. 

Schledorn, Fred., Frank. Edw;ird, board 
90 Ossi;m. 

Schledorn, Nicholas, farmer, 90 Ossian, 
child M:u'g;iret. 

Schledorn, Nichol.as, Laborer, 18 Adams, 
wife Louise, children Irma, Veronica, 
Glar;i, Gustave, Frances, John, Mary. 

Scherer. George, forem;m pressm;m. Ins. 
Pub. Go., f8 William, wife Eliz:d>eth, 
child Beatrice. 

Scherer, Mrs. Mary, 18 William, children 
Helen: Frank, Rochester, N. Y. 

Schlick. Gharles P., grocer, 8 Eliz:ibeth, 
wife Elizabeth, child Ann:i M. 

Schlick, Frank M.. b:irber. 11 Ferine, wife 
Katharine, child Frank A., Printer. 

Schlick, Janette, 39 Gottage. 

Schlick, Frank E., K:Ltherine, 14 Ferine. 

Schlick, Lillian, compositor; Gelia, George 
pressfeeder, 5 Leonard. 

Schlick, Theodore, foreman Breeze, 3 
Leonard, wife Alice, child Frederick. 

Schmidt, Jacob M., laborer, 16 Morse, 
wife Kath.irine, children Laura E., 
stenographer; Edwrird, emp. D. & M. 
R. R., Anna, tailoress: Mar\', emp. 
San.; K.atharine, John, Sparta, N. Y. 

Schomaker, Henry, sup. of stave factory, 
13 Morse, wife Emma, children May, 
Joseph, Ethel, Harr\-, George. 

Schubmehl, Jacob, b;irber; Frank S. fire- 
man; Katharine, 8 Ferine. 

Schubmehl. Mrs. M:ir\', 58 Gottage, child- 
dren Martin J., U. S. army; Philip F., 
rural mail c:irrier; M Eva, nurse; Mary 
K.; Frank, Iowa F:ills, Iowa; Willi;uii 
J., Olyphant, Pa.; Ferdin;ind N., 
Rochester. 

Schubmehl, Nichokis, retired, 17 Glinton, 
children Lena, K:ith;irine, Joseph, Mrs. 
Margaret Ne:ilan, Paterson, N. J., 
Elizabeth, Yonkers, N. Y. 

Schubmehl. Wendell, carpenter, 35 Lib- 
erty, wife Elizabeth, children F:uinie: 
Gelesti.a, org:inist; M;irgaret, Rochester, 
N. Y.; Isabel, Rochester, N. Y.; Frank, 
Holderness, N. H.; George, travelling 
salesman; Elizabeth, Rochester, N. Y. 

Schleyer, Frank, laborer, nurseryman, 3 
Lincoln, wife Adelia, child Glara. 

Schuchart, Mrs. Mar\', 32 Franklin, chil- 
dren Fnmces; Bertha, tailoress; Emiel, 
Rochester. N. Y. 

Schudome, Fred, section boss, Main, wife 
Wilhelmine, children Marie H., Rosa, 
William, Anna. 

Schuster; Mrs. Barbara, boards 12 Leon- 
ard. 

Schuster, Frank, Laborer, 4 Health, wife 
Louisa, child Edith. 



256 



HISTORICAL CEXSrS 



Schuster, John, emp. Blum Shoe Co., 19 
Elizabeth. 

Schutz, Daniel, clerk, boards 119 Main. 

Schwan, Anthony, tailor, 28 Ferine, wife 
Mary, children Mrs. Lizzie Gross, Per- 
kinsville, N. Y.; Louis Schwan, Way- 
land. 

Schwan, Frank, cigar manufacturer, 56 
Cottage, wife Mary, child William. 

Schwan, Fred, tailor! 11 Park, wife K.ath- 
erine, children W.ilter, Frank. 

Schwan, John, tailor, 63 Ferine, child Ma- 
tilda. 

Schwan, Joseph, carpenter, 59 Ferine, 
wife Helen, children Agnes, Anna, Jo- 
seph, Florine, Clara, emp. Instructor. 

Schwan, Louis J., emp. Sanatroium, 48 
Ferine, children Margaret, Teckla, Carl, 
May. 

Schwendler, Elizabeth, milliner, 6 Elm. 

Schwendler, Rose, boards 6 Elm. 

Schwendler. William, grocer, 14 Fulton, 
wife Ida, children William, Emil\-. Carl, 
Leon. 

Schwingel, John, shoe merchant, 33 
Liberty, wife Mary. 

Schwingel, Lester J., 45 Elizabeth, wife 
Esther, child Jessie F. 

Schwingel, William, tinsmith, 9 Liberty, 
wife Minnie, child Myra E. 

Schwingle, Airs. Clara, 14 South, children 
Rena, telephone operator; Mrs. F. H. 
Brown, Newaygo, Mich. 

Schwingel, Frank, salesman, 63 Eliza- 
beth, wife Laura, child Phillip. 

Schwingle, Frederick, plumber, 59 Ossian, 
wife Albertina, children Oline R., Her- 
bert A., Maude A., Rochester; Mrs. 
Estella E. Truman, Sparta, N. Y. Mrs. 
Irene Simpson, Rochester, N. Y.; 
George W., clerk; Frederick W., clerk, 

Scott, George F., mechanic, wife Mary 
L., children Leonard D., mechanic, 
Mrs. Edith R. Bean. 

Scott, K.-itharine, boards 30 William. 

Scott, Mrs. Mary, boards 27 Ferine. 

Scovill, E. Tr.ic\-, lumber and land, wife, 
Florence S., children Justin, Edward. 

Sedgwick, Charles, musician,44 Elizabeth, 
wife S.arah, child Mrs. Ethel McNair, 
Sparta, N. Y. 

Seed, Mrs. Deborah W., boards 23 Spruce. 

Sellen, Mrs. Ellen E., 5 West. 

Se> ler, Elizabeth, 26 Chestnut, 

Seyler, P.iuline, Flora, 26 Chestnut. 

Se\mour, Mrs. Mary, 92 Main, child, 
Herman L. Tillotson. 

Shaffer, Mrs. Bridget, 30 Franklin, chil- 
dren Emma, te.acher; Ida, dressmaker, 

Shafer, George W., carpenter, wife Marie, 
children Elsie C, George T. 

Shafer, Mrs. Jane, boards I2 Leonard. 

Shafer, John W., shoemaker, 64 Liberty, 
wife Katharine, child Otto. 

Sharp, Miss L. P., boards 16 South. 



Shaw, Hiram F. .cabinet maker, 21 Gibson, 
wife Georgiana, child Hubert F, 

Sheerin, John H., nurseryman, 106 Os- 
sian, wife Mary, children Raymond, 
J. Conwa\-, Bernice, Andrew, Florence, 
Katharine, W. Harry, Thomas. 

Sheerin, Michael, nurseryman, 89 Frank- 
lin, child Mrs. RoseStratton, Rochester, 
N. Y. 

Shepard, Marjorie B., student, 19 Chest- 
nut. 

Shepherd, Mrs. Julia, 19 Chestnut, chil- 
dren Mar\- L.; Edward S., Chicago, III.; 
James, Indianapolis, Ind. 

Short, William, emp., Knowlton paper 
mill, 17 Jefferson. 

Shull, Mrs. Bertha, 14 Elizabeth, children 
Mrs. Alonzo Peck, Buffalo; Carl; Mrs. 
Harriet Humphrey, Seneca Falls, N. Y. 

Shull. Fr.ink. laborer, 17 VanCampen, 
wife Dell, cb.ildren Ray, Ruscoe, Clair, 
Dan, Mrs. Grace Swartz, child Susie. 

Shults, Louise, boards, 48 William. 

Shults, Mrs. .Mar\-, 17 Jefferson, child 
Anna. 

Shultz, Mrs. Adaline, 13 Cottage. 

Shutt, Aaron, carpenter, 216 Main. 

Simon, Charles, cigar maker, 4 Mill, wife 
Elizabeth, children Paul, Jacob, Lena, 
George, Lillie, Willie. 

Simon, Jacob, machinist, 88 Franklin, 
wife Angeline, children Abbe\', Julia; 
Louis, nurseryman; Elmer, nurseryman; 
Clara, Jessie; Fannie, emp. San. 

Sinclair, Robert, sup't Hospital, 17 Health, 
wife Susie, children Jennie, Winifred. 

Slate, John, 3 West, wife .Matilda, chil- 
dren Harry R., law student; Mrs. 
Georgie Eschrich. 

Slaxton, James O., 10 Chestnut, children 
Ruth; Arthur, New York City; Mabel, 
compositor; James, New York; Chaun- 
ce\-, Seabright, N. Y.; Fred, New York: 
Mis. Ch.irles Elliott. New York City. 

Smalle\-. Willi.am, 48 William, wife Lucy, 
children Merwin, Mary; Emerson E., 
Avc:ca. Sarah, K.atharine; Orton, On- 
tario, Canada. 

Smith, Ada H., 4 Seward. 

Smith, Adelbert, 52 Franklin, wife Har- 
riet, children Ra>'mond A,; Ralph H., 
emp. Blum Shoe Co.; Torrey I., clerk. 

Smith, Jacob, nurseryman, 61 Franklin, 
wife Katharine, children Harold, Her- 
man, Carl. 

Smith, James, shoe cutter; 8 South, wife 
Margaret. 

Smith, John M., artist, 37 Health, wife 
Mary. 

Smith, Katharine, domestic, 3 Ferine, 

Smith, Louise K., teacher, D. H. S., 54 
Eliz.ibeth. 

Smith, Nicholas B., fireman, 6 Park, wife 
Mary, children Arthur, Margaret, Wal- 
ter, Raymond. 



HISTORICAL CENSUS 



257 



Smith, MeKin M., 4 Fulton, wife Rlioda 
A., cliilJ Elizabeth M., stenog. 

Smitli, Nicholas, nurseryman, 3} Leonard, 
wife Sarali, child Norbert. 

Smith, Norman, salesman, 90 Main, wife 
Mar\', children Warren, Rose, emp. In- 
structor. 

Smith, Susie, domestic, 24 West. 

Snyder, Anna, domestic, 67 Main. 

Snyder, Cliarles A., agent Lackawanna, 
R. R., I Ferine, wife Helen L., children 
Freas B., Philadelphia, Pa., Lovina A., 
teacher. 

Snyder, Charles F., Prin., A. C. N., 8 
Chestnut, wife Ede, children Theodore 
Roosevelt, Edith, Eloise, Wilson. 

Snyder, Elizabeth, boards, 88 Main. 

Sn\der, Mrs. Helen, teacher, 41 Elizabeth, 
children Gene\ieve bookkeeper; Alberta 
music teacher. 

Sn\der, James M., instructor, A. C. N., 
30 Liberty, wife Mary, children James 
B., Hadley C , Waldo B. 

Snyder, John, carpenter, 26 VanCampen. 
wife May, children Rosa, Edith. 

Sorg, Mrs. Louise, 7 Clay, children 
Clarence, cigar maker; Rosa M., stenog- 
rapher; Edwin, Rochester, N. Y.; Irene. 

Sorg, William F, shoemaker,i4 Pine, wife 
Katharine M., children Gladys L., 
Harold J., Walter A. 

Spencer, Mrs. Harriet, 7 Gibson, child 
Hugh. 

Sprague, Frank, mason and bill poster, 
19 Church, wife Lena, children Hazel, 
Edna, Frank. 

Sprague, Harvey A., billiard room, 20 
Chestnut, children Emma, milliner; 
Eugene, supt, water works; Mrs. Nel- 
son Batterson, Binghamton. 

Spinning, Mrs. Sarah, 105 Main. 

Spinning, William A., merchant dry 
goods, 103 Main, wife Susie, children 
Marguerite, Wilhelmina. 

Squires, Byron, 18 Quay, wife Mar\-, 
child W. Chapin, Minneapolis, Minn. 

Squires, Charles P., carpenter, 66 Main, 
wife Harriet P., children Ross, Little 
Valley,. N Y.; Ray, Little Valley. N. Y.; 
Arch I., carpenter; Clara, compositor, 
Emma, dressmaker; Charles, Wayland. 

Squires, Elizabeth, 53 Main. 

Squires, Mrs. Luna, 57 Main. 

Squires, R.ilph, merchant, 50 Main, wife 
Emma, child Glad\s. 

Squires, Thomas, carpenter, 5 Knox, wife 
Emily, child Belle, emp. Instructor. 

Squires, William, mfg., 52 Main, wife 
Nina. 

St. Joseph, Sisters of, German Catholic, 
2Q Franklin, Dionysia, Frederica, Regis, 
Irene, Veronica. 

St. Joseph, Sisters of, Irish Catholic, Ex- 
change, Alpheus, Evaresta, Imelda, 
Patrice. 



Stadler, Adam, \ineyardist, 6 Liberty, 
wife Marguerite, child Christian, vine- 
yardist. 

Stadler, John N., cigar mf'r., 6 Eliza- 
beth; wife Katharine, child Esther, Vin- 
cent. 

Stadler, Mrs. Mary, 52 Leonard, children 
Charles, Louise. George, New York; 
Mrs. Julia Horeschler, Rochester, N. Y.; 
Henrw 

Steffey,' A. B., boards, 36 William. 

Steffey, Bert, gardener, 2 Eagle, wife, 
Jessie. 

Steffey, Byron, laborer, 36 William, wife 
Sarah, child Lottie. 

Steffey, Daniel, laborer, 47 Ferine, wife 
Anna, children Alonzo, laborer; George, 
Utica, N. Y. 

Steffey, Elizabeth, boards, 31 William. 

Steffey, Herman, laborer. 6 Barrett, wife 
Margaret, child Nellie. 

Steffey, James, teamster, 25 Main, wife 
Frances, children Robert, Frederick, 
Bertha; Cory, Ossian, N Y.; Lester, 
Ossian, N. Y. 

Steigler, Joseph, shoe merchant, 6 Jef- 
ferson, v\ife Katharine. 

Stein, Fred, butcher, 6 West, wife Kath- 
arine, children Hildegard, Margaret, 
Louis. 

Stein, George, mason, 45 Chestnut, wife 
K.itharine, children William, Helen, 
Gertrude, Joseph, Celia; George, Buf- 
falo. 

Stein, John J., ice dealer, wife Bertha, 
children Florence K., Jerome L., Carl 
G. 

Stein, Lawrence B., masseur, 143 Main, 
wife Hannah. 

Steinhardt. Frank. barber, 14 William, wife 
Helen, children Mrs. Anna Maloney, 
Rochester, N. Y.; Mrs. Elizabeth Towne, 
Corning,N. Y.; William F. 

Steinhardt, Louis, barber, 21 Leonard, 
sister Barbara. 

Stephan, Carl, retired, 9 Sew