(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Danville, Montour County, Pennsylvania : a collection of historical and biographical sketches"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08181383 8 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/danvillemontourcOObrow 



THE NEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

*«T«ft, LENOX ANO 
tlLftCN POUNOAHONS. 



DANVILLE, 



MONTOUR COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA. 



A COLLECTION OF 



Historical and Biographical Sketches, 



D. H. B. BROWER, 

' Foamier of the MONTOUR AMERICAN and the 
DANVILLE RECORD. , 



HARRISBURG, PA. : 

I.ANE S. MART, I'RINTKK AM) I5INIJEK. 



FDBLICUBKARY 

ASTOfi.LCNOX/ND 

TJLOiN f COMOATIONS. 

B 1900. L 



TO 

MV WIFE AND CHILDREN, 

whose earnest affection 

through all the changing scenes of life 

has made the sunshine of home 

this volume is affectionately inscribed by 

The Author. 



Inti'odiLctioTL. 




N the list of secular studies history is among the most in- 
teresting and the most important. Indeed, there seems 
to be an almost universal desire to lift the misty veil of 
the past, and to note the changing scenes that mark the 
progress of Adam's family through all the centuries past and gone. 
Not alone to satisfy the cravings of a curiosity that is commendable, 
but because the richest lessons of wisdom are drawn from the expe- 
rience of the past. Still more interesting and important is the gen- 
eral, and, especially, the biographical history of our own locality. 
Here, with emotions of strange delight we trace the stern, heroic 
lives of the pioneers, and with ever-increasing interest watch the 
growing fields succeed the forest, pleasant homes supplant the rude 
log cabin, and the development of society as it joins the onward 
march to a higher civilization. On the other hand, there is a desire 
no less universal to be remembered by those who come after us. 
Thus prompted, men have sought out the most enduring material by 
which to transmit their names and achievements down the ages. 
They have reared monuments of granite, carved their deeds on the 
solid marble, and written their names on the everlasting rocks. But all 
those have yielded to the corroding power of Time, and their molder- 
ing remnants become the subjects of uncertain speculation to the 
anticjuarian. Written history is the great conservator of the past 
and the most enduring memorial for the ages to come. The won- 
drous tower on the plains of Shinar is leveled with the dust from 
which it rose, and the glory of Babylon is shrouded in darkness. 
The pomp and pride of Pharaoh, the armies of Amalek, the power 
of Moab, the Syrian, the Chaldean, with all the heroes and nations 
of antiquity, are known only through the written chronicles kept by 



INTRODUCTION. 



H 



the scribes of Israel— chronicles that point the student to the dim 
and broken fragments of crumbling monuments that strew the track 
of finished centuries. Written history will be faithful to its mission. 
It will " not perish from tlie earth." Its universality, its vast capa- 
bilities of reproduction and translation into all languages, insure its 
duration to the end of time. 

But apart from the history of the world, apart from the discovery 
and history of our own country, Danville has a history all its own — 
a history of deep and absorbing interest, not only to the descendants 
of the old pioneers, but to all who have found a home within its 
borders. Let it be understood, however, that I make no pretension 
to a consecutive history of Danville in these pages ; and as every 
author in his work presents some characteristic of himself, so let it 
be in this. Never having been trained to methodical action or the 
minutiae of business tactics, a mental metamorphosis will not be ex- 
pected. I have no ambition to tread the beaten path by tracing 
and connecting every link in order more exact than the real occur- 
rence. As Comstock says in his unique Tongue of Time, "We 
have heard a thousand times that the sun arose in glory and sat in 
gold." Now let us hear something else. There are a thousand 
books, with chapter, verse, section, and paragraph, stately and uni- 
form as the cogs of a wheel. Now let us have something else. But 
neither the local historian nor the oldest inhabitant can gather many 
reliable facts from the dim and misty past. As they grope amid the 
deepening shadows, they may find here and there an isolated fact ; 
but the opening pages of Danville are shrouded beneath a dusty veil 
that can never be lifted. Its general outline may be traced or 
imagined by those who are personally interested in certain geneal- 
ogies, or who have been schooled in the wild experience of frontier 
life, but the life record of those who first surveyed this scene is bur- 
ied forever ill the tomb of the past. What hopes and fears, what 
daring projects or great resolves, once animated the village fathers 
and mothers, we shall never know. They are gone to the realms 
where "the rude forefathers of the hamlet sleep." 

The main object in these pages is to note the history of Danville 
and mark its progress during the last quarter of a century, or during 
the twenty-five years it has been under my own personal observation. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Although without special order, these random sketches may be 
presented, yet they are all true to life. Not like the stately pile 
that science builds, but like the landscape view from a railroad car. 
I care not a straw for professional critics. The constitutional grum- 
bler is in the same category. No doubt some sap-heads will say they 
could have gotten up a better work, and who will perchance con- 
demn the entire volume, because there is no mention of them or 
theirs, or of some occurrence in which they or a relative was the 
lion of the occasion. All this must be expected, for a certain trib- 
ute must always be paid to the wiseacres of the day. No doubt 
some village Solomon will shake his head and say that he knew all 
that himself. "Everybody knows the business houses on Mill street, 
and where the court-house stands Why tell us what we know?"' 
Not so fast, sir ; I am not writing for the present only, but for the 
future. I am telling other generations away in the days to come, 
how and by whom Danville affairs were conducted before they were 
born. It is the duty of the historian to present the situation just as 
it is around him in his own day. So don't be selfish and scold be- 
cause some things are described that you know as well as the writer. 
Those very items may be of the deepest interest to your grand-chil- 
dren. I have availed myself of all the sources of information within 
my reach. I am, however, chiefly indebted to J. Frazer, Esq., of Cin- 
cinnati. His careful research has contributed much to this volume. 
Many thanks to him for his valuable aid in rescuing important facts 
from the shadows of forgetfulness. With this introduction, this 
book is placed before the public, with the earnest hope that it may 
meet a kindly reception, and, in some degree, serve the purpose of 
its creation. 

The Authok. 







^w 





Location. 




^ANVILLE is situated on the right bank of the North 
Branch of the Susquehanna river, and about eleven 
miles above its confluence with the West Branch at the 
town of Northumberland. It is surrounded by the 
most charming and picturesque scenery, and is nestled in a narrow 
valley, between Blue Hill and Montour Ridge. Tall hills, in their 
wild grandeur, and clad in their, native robes of emerald, rise on 
every side, and down the pleasant vale, beyond the river, the beau- 
tiful white cottages of South Danville and Riverside dot the land- 
scape. In the north-west, and close at hand, Bald-Top rears its 
barren crown above the stately furnaces at its base, whilst dense 
volumes of smoke and clouds of steam roll slowly up its rugged 
steep. A view from the sunmiit is one of the grandest imaginable, 
if you delight in wild and varied scenery — pine-clad hiils and broad 
majestic rivers. The whole town from that point, from Sidler's Hill 
to Sageburg, and from Swampoodle to Frogtown, like a vast pano- 
rama, is spread out before you. Drowsy Mnemoloton looms up be- 
yond the river, whilst almost beneath your feet railroad trains, like 
huge serpents with fiery breath, traverse the scene. The asylum, 
the opera house, the great iron works, almost a score of churches, 
and two thousand dwellings, are all before you. From below, Bald- 
Top seems like a frowning fortress on the line of Montour ridge, 
and, although its slopes are covered with spruce and pine, its crest 
is bald and bare, where scarce a shrub has grown within the memory 
of man. Half a mile below is the "dark ravine" and the precipice 
known as " lover's leap." It is true that almost every locality boasts 
a " lover's leap," but the title to this is derived from a veritable In- 
dian legend well known among the Delawares, and often rehearsed 
among the early settlers of Danville. It is said that the daughter 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



of an Indian chief, related to the renowned Tamenund, whose wig- 
wam stood in the village, on the banks of the " Crooked river," at 
the confluence of Mahoning, was given to a young brave of the war- 
like but waning Leni Lenape ; but the dusky maiden had chosen a 
lover of her own whom she loved with all the deep and deathless 
devotion of her passionate race. A sho'rt time previous to the pro- 
posed marriage with "Big Turtle," she met her Huron lover near 
the precipice, and as her tribe was on the war-path against the Hu- 
rons, she was discovered by a scout and confronted by her father. 
The old sachem, with a thunder-cloud on his brow^ demanded of 
his daughter the final renunciation of her chosen lover. True to 
the impulse of her woman's nature she refused, and with one pierc- 
ing cry sprang from the rock and sacrificed her life on the altar of 
a deathless passion. There, in that dusky glen, she sleeps a dream- 
less sleep in her virgin purity, where now the careless feet of another 
race and another generation tread upon her lowly mound, and where 
the merry voices of a strange people have long since broken the 
solitude of her lonely grave. The gladsome voices of the young and 
the gay now mingle with the music of the brooklet as it rushes to 
the river ; and as they spread their dainty fare on the mossy rocks, 
or dance upon the green, do the votaries of pleasure ever think of 
the dark-eyed maiden that quietly sleeps beneath their feet ? 

Altogether the scenery around the town of Danville is not sur- 
passed in this portion of the State, and in its wild romantic beauty 
can only find its rival among the Alleghenies. It is true, the rest- 
less enterprise of a growing population is here and there slowly 
working a change, but the silver sheen of the river will continue to 
sparkle in the morning sun, and there will stand forever Blue hill, 
around whose hazy brow, in misty veils, still hang the legends of 
Indian lore. 

LcLThd. Titles. 

The land embraced in the corporate limits of Danville was orig- 
inally within the boundary of Northumberland county, and its in- 
habitants were involved in all the horrors of border warfare with the 
French and their Indian allies, and afterwards with the English and 
the same bloody savages. The Shtiwanese, the Senecas, and the 
Delawares were in the neighborhood. The latter were the most 



LAND TITLES. 



numerous, and, for the most part, the least troublesome. The Iri- 
quois, who made frequent and murderous raids on the white settle- 
ments, often acted the part of incarnate devils. The Delawares had 
a village of considerable importance at the mouth of the Mahoning 
creek, just below the present town of Danville, and the boys of to- 
day still find a.rrow-heads and other warlike implements fashioned 
by the rude skill of "old Nakomis," or some other dusky arrow 
maker of the forest. The same spot is now frequently occupied by 
the semi-barbarous Zingari — the wandering gypsies — the decendants 
of Egypt. 

In 1772, Northumberland county was taken from Berks, Lancas- 
ter, Northampton, and Bedford. It then included Columbia county, 
of which Montour was a portion. Columbia county was taken from 
Norhumberland and organized as a new county on the i5ih of 
March, 1813, and Danville was made the county seat of Columbia 
county. But the county seat, by a j^opular vote, authorized by the 
Legislature, was moved to Bloomsburg in 1845. The people of 
Danville, and those of the lower end of the county, were not satis- 
fied, and demanded a division of the county. Accordingly, on the 
3d day of May, 1850, an act was passed by the Legislature erecting 
the county of Montour, and making Danville the county seat of the 
new county. The writer of this volume was then a member of the 
State Legislature, from Butler county, and cast his vote in that body 
in favor of the new county. 

The ground occupied by the town of Danville belonged to several 
tracts, and it is e.xceedingly difficult, if not impossible, to trace the 
various transfers previous to the purchase and settlement of Gen. 
William Montgomery. By the old parchment deeds and surveys, 
in the office of George W. West, Esq., present surveyor of Montour 
county, it appears that one of these tracts, containing one hundred 
and twenty acres, extending from Chestnut 10 Church street, and 
from the river to the base of Montour ridge on the north, was sur- 
veyed to George Jewel, on the 3d of April, 1769, and transferred to 
Turbet Francis on the i6th of December, in the same year, and on 
the 2d of May, 1782, sold to John Simpson, and by John Simpson 
and his wife, Ann Grimes, sold and conveyed to William Mont- 
gomery, foi ^600, on the 15th of April, 1783. The tract below 
Chestnut street, including the mouth of Mahoning creek, containing 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



one hundred and eighty acres, was known as a Proprietary Manor, 
and Avas patented to Rev. Richard Peters. Another account says 
that the Proprietor, John Penn, patented the same tract to John 
Lukens, the State Surveyor at the time. A. F. Russell, Esq., in his 
biography of General William Montgomery, says that William 
Montgomery purchased land here of J. Gumming^, and also that 
he bought a tract of one hundred and eighty acres of J. Simpson, 
on which the town of Danville was laid out, by a deed bearing date 
November 26, 1774. If the reader can get the precise facts, by 
studying the old records, he is wiser than the writer of this book. 
It is certain that the land occupied by the greater portion of Dan- 
ville was purchased by General William Montgomery, prior to 1776, 
the period of his location in this place. There may have -been con- 
flicting claims to the land, that were subsequently purchased by 
General Montgomery, and so to us confused the records. On the 
north of these tracts, the land belonged to John Montgomery ; on 
the north-east to Amos Wickersham, which afterwards became the 
property of the Frazers and the Yorks ; on the south-east, were the 
lands of the Sechlers, who were among the earliest settlers of this 
place. 

This was known for some time as " Montgomery's Landing," and 
also as " Mahoning Settlement," until the town was laid out by 
General Daniel Montgomery, son of William Montgomery, in the 
year 1792, or that part of the town lying between Mill and Church 
streets, and from the river to the canal, which ground he had pur- 
chased from his father. As Daniel Montgomery was then the most 
enterprising business man in the place, whose store and mill were 
the centers of attraction to all the country around it, and as he was 
very popular and highly respected, the people, by general consent, 
began to call it "Danville," out of compliment to Daniel Mont- 
gomery. In 1776, General William Montgomery built the log house 
that still adjoins the stone mansion he afterwards erected, and there 
his youngest son Alexander was born, in 1777, and died in the same 
room in 1848. The widow of Alexander resided there until her 
death, which occurred only a few years ago. 

At an early day Jacob Gearhart established a ferry across the 
river. The ferry-house stood above Ferry, at Pine street. John 
Sechler, father of Jacob Sechler recently deceased, laid out that 



GENERAL WILLIAM MONTGOMERY. tj 

part of the town above Cl)urch street. Between the Montgomerys 
and Sechlers, they made something of a muddle near where the 
planing-mill now stands in not properly joining the streets. 

General William Montgomery, after Daniel had laid out his land 
fn town lots, laid out that part lying below Mill street, down to 
Chestnut, donating at that time thirty-one lots for the endowment of 
an academy, stipulating that it should be under the control of the 
Presbyterian church, and that one of his descendants should always 
be on the board of trustees. 

Amos Wickersham donated to the Presbyterians the ground on 
which the Grove church is built, and also the adjoining burying 
ground. 

The court-house ground was donated by General William, and 
that on which the jail stands by General Daniel Montgomery. 

GeneTctl ^VillicLTrh J^ontg orrLevy . 

General William Montgomery was the most notable settler of this 
region. He came from Chester county, where he was born on the 
3d of August, 1736, and was a prominent actor in the Revolutionary 
war, and also in civil life before he came to this place. He first lo- 
cated in Northumberland, and moved to Danville in 1776. He im- 
mediately began to make improvements, but on account of the 
murderous raids of the Indians, be took his family to a place of safety 
until the campaign of General Sullivan gave security to the settlers. 
General Montgomery himself was inured to the hardships of war, 
having been schooled in the camp, the field, and the forest. During 
his lifetime, he was called by the people to a variety of responsible 
positions, both civil and military. He was a representative in Con- 
gress and president judge of the courts in Northumberland county. 
But chiefly does he claim the gratitude of posterity for his constant 
efforts for the material and moral welfare of Danville, for his devo- 
tion to the physical comfort and religious training of the growing 
community of which he was the founder. He occupied many posi- 
tions of public trust during his long and useful life, and always with 
honor to himself and to the advantage of the public. He died in 
1816. This note is brief, but his life-work will, in a measure, appear 
in these pages, as we trace the various movements and enterprises 
that gave birth, life, and cha»"acter to the town of Danville. 



^4 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



TJxe JixclicLTLs. 



We liave no special record of the terrible ordeal through which 
the early settlers of Danville had to pass. Enough to know that it 
was like the hard experience of others on the frontier. The danger 
from the merciless savage was constant, day and night. The farmer 
was suddenly struck down by the bullet of the stealthy foe ; the 
assemblies for worship or social enjoyment often terminated in a 
bloody tragedy ; "the darkness of midnight glittered with the blaze 
of their dwellings, and the war-whoop of the savage awoke the 
sleep of the cradle." The settlers of Danville were surrounded by 
the Six Nations, including the Tuscaroras that had been driven out 
of North Carolina. The Five Nations adopted the Tuscaroras into 
theif confederacy, by which they became the Six Nations. The re- 
nowned Shikelliray was, at that time, the grand chief of all the 
tribes. His lodge was at Shamokin. Tiie Delawares were spread 
from the Hudson to the Potomac, but were conquered by the Six 
Nations. The Shawanese came from Florida, and were allies of the 
Delawares. The most northern village of the Shawanese was at 

Chillesquaque. The Delawares were divided into three tribes the 

Turkeys, the Turtles, and the Wolfs or Munci. The latter tribe 
was the most fierce and warlike ; and the most gent/e, if that term 
may be applied to savages, were those whose emblem was the Tur- 
tle. The Delawares called themselves the Lent Lenape, or original 
people. The settlers called the Six Nations '• Mingoes," "Maquais." 
The French called them "Iroquois." 

The great Shikellimy was the grand ruler of the conquered Dela- 
wares and Shawanees, though he himself belonged to the Oneidas, 
of the Six Nations. But there was constant war among the savages ; 
treachery circumventing treachery ; torture and murder succeeding 
torture and murder. The condition of civilized society brought 
into contact with the bloody savages may well be imagined, and 
without any special record of their individual suffering, a glance at 
their surroundings will teach us to know how much we owe the set- 
tlers of Danville for the peaceful homes we now enjoy. Shikellimy 
was the father of Logan, whose celebrated speech you have doubt- 
less read in the school books of to-day. The speech in which he 
bids adieu to his home and turns towards the setting sun, and in 



THE POST-OFFICE. 15 



which he says that not a drop of his blood coursed in tlie veins of 
any relative. He was alone, and yet had always been a friend to 
the white man. This sad farewell to the scenes of his youth antl the 
graves of his fathers will ever remain on our records as the grandest 
model of Indian eloquence. Logan was a Mingo chief. His lodge 
was at the mouth of Chillesquaque ; afterward, he lived further up 
the valley. In 1774, the expedition of Lord Dunmore was the oc- 
casion of Logan's departure and of his celebrated farewell address. 
It is said that he was at the Indian town, at tlie mouth of the Ma- 
honing creek, now within the borough limits of Danville, about the 
year 1772. He is said to have been six feet high, well proportioned, 
and straight as an arrow — a perfect model of manhood. He went 
to Michigan in 1774, and was cruelly assassinated there. While 
sitting at a camp fire, with his blanket over his head, a hostile In- 
dian stole up behind him and tomahawked him, thus putting out the 
light of life from as much nobility as the Indian is capable of pos- 
sessing. 

TKe ^ost-OMce. 

The Danville post-office was established in 1806, General William 
Montgomery being the first postmaster at this place. • He and Daniel 
Montgomery served until 1813, when Rudolph Sechler was appointed, 
April 3 of that year, lie held the ofiice until James Longhead was 
appointed, on the 24th of November, 1820, David Petrikin suc- 
ceeded him, on the TSt of February, 1834. Next John Best was 
appointed on the 2Tst day of March, 1837, who served until the ap- 
pointment of Sharpless Taylor, on the 25th of March, 1841. He 
was followed by Alexander Best, who was appointed on the 9th of 
November, 1842. Gideon M. Shoop was appointed on the nth of 
April, 1849. During his term the new county of Montour was 
created. On the 26th of November, 1852, Thomas C. Ellis was 
appointed, and on the 21st of September, 1853, Thomas Chalfant 
received the appointment. During his term, in 1856, the Danville 
post-office became a Presidential appointment, and Mr. Chalfant 
was re-appointed by the President, on the 21st of February, 1856, 
and served until the 28th of May, 1861, when he was succeeded by 
Andrew F. Russel, who was re-appointed on the 14th of July, 1865, 
and'served until Ogden H. Ostrander was appointed, on the T6th of 



jb HISTOR Y OF DANVILL E. 

April, 1867. Charles W. Eckman was appointed on the 5th of April, 
1869, and re-appointed on the i8th of March, 1873, and again re- 
appointed on the 7th of April, 1877. Colonel Charles W. Eckman 
is the present incumbent. Under his administration there have been 
great improvements, both in the arrangements and appointments of 
the office and in its management, giving the highest degree of satis- 
faction to tlie department and to the public. In September, 1874, 
he moved the post-office to the opera-house, a central location, fit- 
ting it up with seven hundred Snd fifty-six Yale boxes. These boxes, 
with the handsome casing, give a stylish appearance to the office, 
where every desired convenience is afforded. There is not a country 
town in the State that can boast a better-conducted, better-arranged, 
or more elegant post-office than that of Danville. 

In every country town the post-office is a good place to study 
human nature See that individual who only gets one letter in six 
months, who always struggles to be first at the delivery. At last he 
gets a letter I See how he turns it over and over, looks at the ad- 
dress, examines the stamp, and seems astonished to find himself in 
possession of the prize. He looks up at the crowd with an air of 
importance, whilst the crowd is silently reading him. Next look at 
that spruce young clerk, who gets a dozen or more for his employer. 
How wise he looks, and seems to say to the crowd, *' Look at my 
correspondence." Then comes the indignant individual, who won- 
ders why he got none, and thinks there must be something wrong in 
the management of the mail. He calls on the postmaster to know 
why it didn't come. Now comes the bashful young man, who ex- 
pects a letter from his lady love. He looks as if the postmaster and 
everybody else knew the nature of the precious epistle, and slips 
away to enjoy it by himself. There comes a big man, carelessly 
treading on other folks' corns. He gets a dun from his wash- 
woman, and tries to pass it off for a draft on the bank. Do you see 
that booby on the side-walk, or, in cold weather, backed against the 
inside wall, just to see who comes and goes, or to glance at what 
others get. There comes Miss Sweet Sixteen. She expects a letter 
from "somebody," but, seeing the crowd, she retreats until the coast 
is clear. She does not choose to let all the world see her blushes as 
she receives the prize. But now make room for the man from the 
rural district, who inquires for the whole neighborhood. He at last 



GROVE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 17 

gives way to the confident chap, wlio gets mad when he fails to get 
a letter, because he is sure it was mailed. So if you want to take a 
good lesson on human nature, just go to the post-office at mail tim^ 
And don't forget to take a quiet smile at the fussy man, who rushes in, 
peeps into half the boxes, then peers down the schute where the drop 
letters go. What he sees there, has never been revealed. 

Gri^ove ^reshyteTtcLii. CJiultcK. 

The Grove Presbyterian, or, as it was originally called, Mahoning 
Presbyterian Church, is the oldest religious organization in Danville. 
While this place was still known as " Mahoning Settlement," Rev. 
John Bryson was the first Presbyterian minister. He preached at 
first in Gen. Montgomery's dwelling house, and when the congrega- 
tion became too large services were held in the barn. The first, or 
the old log. church was built 1 778 or 1 779. The logs for the church 
were nicely prepared. They were scored by George Maus and Isaac 
Boudman. They were hewn by Thomas Hughes. This church 
stood until 1826, when a plain brick church was built. This modest 
structure was the sacred temple in which the generation worshipped 
that is now passing away. Tnough services had been held with some 
degree of regularity as early as 1777 the congregation was not or- 
ganized until 1785. Unfortunately there exists at the present time 
no complete record of the church in those early days. Our sketch 
must, therefore, of necessity, be very brief in relation to a subject 
so full of interest to many who are now living here and elsewhere. 

Among those who contributed to the preaching of the Gospel in 
" Mahoning Settlement," previous to the organization of the church, 
were William Montgomery, Peter Blue, Gilbert Vorhes, David Good- 
man, John Emmitt, John Wilson, John Irwin, Peter Mellick, Robert 
Henry. Benjamin Fowler, John Ogden, Lemuel Wheeler, David 
Carr, John Clark, John Black, Daniel Kelly, Garret Van Camp, 
William Gray, Joseph Barry, Martin Todd, John Evart, Peter Rambo, 
Andrew Cochran, Charles McClahan, James Grimes, William Lemon, 
William Montgomery, Jr., Robert Giles, Joseph Rosenberry, and 
David Subingall. 

At a later period, namely, in 1793, the salary to be paid to the 
pastor by Mahoning church was fixed at seventy-five pounds per an- 
2 



i8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE, 

num, said pastor to divide his services between Mahoning and Derry 
congregations. The salary was guaranteed by Joseph Biggers, Hugh 
Caldwell, Thomas Gaskins, James Stephenson, William Donaldson, 
John Emmett, Sr., Robert Donaldson, John Donaldson, Joseph Wil- 
liams, John Woodside, George Caldwell, John Jones, William Colt, 
John Montgomery, Daniel Barton, Christian Campbell, Robert Wil- 
liams, Alex. McMunigal, William Montgomery, Jr., John Moore, 
Daniel Montgomery, Robert Montgomery, John Carr, James Loug- 
head, Robert Campbell, Thomas Best, James Consart, Gilbert Vor- 
hees, James Curry, Peter Blue, Andrew Cochran, M. Gulick, Richard 
Robinson, Jacob Gearhart, Jr., Frederick Blue, John Emmett, Jr., 
John Young, Elias Harrison, Isaac Woodruff, Stephen Hunt, Albert 
Ammerman, and Philip Young. This congregation, as stated, was 
organized in i 785. Gen. William Montgomery was chosen an elder 
at the same time, and continued an active and faithful officer until 
his death, which occurred in 181 6. 

The brick church built in 1826 was a neat and plain structure, 
presenting quite a picturesque appearance, embowered as it was in a 
grove of forest trees. The new church is a massive and handsome 
structure of artistic stone-work in the Gothic order of architecture, 
and was dedicated in 1875. It occupies the site of the old brick 
church on the Knoll, surrounded by the remaining forest trees and a 
grove of beautiful young maples that were planted to take the place of 
the ancient oaks that are rapidly passing away. The building of this 
magnificent temple was superintended by Mr. Joseph Diehl, a nias- 
ter mechanic and builder, whose handiwork is seen on many a pub- 
lic and private building in this region. As previously stated Rev. 
Bryson was the first pastor of Mahoning, now the Grove Presbyte- 
rian church, and with the aid of the old pioneers he laid the founda- 
tions deep and strong for a lasting church, a religious home to bless 
the passing generations for centuries to come. Rev. Patterson was 
a worthy successor. His ministration was long and abundantly 
blessed. Greatly beloved by his people, his name is still a house- 
hold word among their descendants. Rev. Dunlap succeeded him 
in the pastorate of Mahoning church, and he was followed by Rev. 
Halliday. 

Then came Rev. Doctor Yeomans, who, as a scholar, a preacher, 
and pastor, will be long and gratefully remembered. He died in 



GROVE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. ig 

this place, universally lamented, as every christian knew that a good 
man and a strong leader had been called away. During his pastor- 
ate, about 1849 or 1850, the question of a new church edifice was 
agitated. There was some division of sentiment in reference to its 
location. A portion favored the erection of the new church on the 
south side of the canal, and others adhered to the old site in the 
grove, now rendered doubly dear as the place where their fathers and 
mothers had worshipped. The former succeeded. A new church 
was built on Mahoning street, and Rev. Doctor Yeomans continued 
his ministry in the new church. The adherents to the Grove were 
without a regular pastor, as the organization, with the pastor, had 
gone with the new church. In 1855, however. Presbytery organ- 
ized a new congregation in the old church, and called it "Mahon- 
ing Presbyterian Church, North." But this title was considered too 
cumbrous, and through the efforts of Rev. C. J. Collins and others 
it was changed to the more convenient and more euphonious name 
of "The Grove Presbyterian Congregation." Rev. C. J. Collins 
was the first pastor. He remained some ten years and resigned to 
assume the duties of an educator in an institution of learning. Rev. 
Collins was somewhat austere, an excellent scholar, and an eloquent 
preacher, but not remarkable for his knowledge of human nature, 
and, consequently, less a pastor than a preacher. He had a deep 
bass voice — sanguine in temperament and full of patriotism, he 
preached some flaming war sermons, as well as many eloquent dis- 
courses on the christian warfare. He was succeeded by Rev. Doctor 
J. Gordon Carnachan, a graduate of Scotland's most celebrated uni- 
versity, and a profound scholar. For close logical reasoning and 
theological attainments, he has few equals in this country, and his 
impassioned perorations touched the finest chords of the human 
heart. Dr. Carnachan is not only an eloquent preacher but a man 
of commanding ability, unexcelled in this country as a Greek and 
Hebrew scholar, on whom the greatest university of Europe con- 
ferred its highest honor. He left this place to take charge of a con- 
gregation in Meadville, where he still remains. He was followed in 
the pastorate of the Grove church, by Rev. Reuben H. Van Pelt. 
Rev. Van Pelt was a good man, and an earnest preacher. If more 
limited in his mental power than his predecessor, he was more suc- 
cessful in his pastoral relations. Rev. W. A. McAtee was next called 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



to the charge of the Grove church. And whilst he engaged the 
affection and confidence of his people, as a faithful shepherd and a 
man of more than ordinary ability, there is some difficulty in cor- 
rectly analysing his mind. A shade of sadness at times seemed to 
fall on his most brilliant efforts, and a far-away expression succeeded 
the moments of rapture. But none doubted his goodness, none 
questioned his ability, nor did his people withhold their love and re- 
spect. After his resignation Rev. John B. Grier became the pastor 
of the Grove congregation. He is the youngest son of M. C. 
Grier, who was long an elder in that church, and lately deceased. 
The Grier family has given the church a number of eminent preach- 
ers, and Rev. John B. Grier bids fair to maintain the high degree 
of ability and usefulness to which they attained. His learning, 
his aptness to teach, and his vivid imagination, inspired by the 
spirit of religion, cannot fail to result in the accomplishment of 
his mission. With a critical, and yet a comprehensive mind, cul- 
tured with care ; a generous nature open to all; and, though young 
in years, yet strong in the spirit and power of the Gospel; who will 
say he is not destined to eminence in his high profession ? Among 
the families connected with the old church, and whose descendants 
still worship in the Grove, mention is made of the Montgomerys, 
Maus, Currys, Yorks, Diehls, Griers, McMahans, Magills, VValizes, 
Cathcarts, Boudmans, Moores, Gearharts^ and Russels. 

The Grove church contains the largest organ in Danville, costing 
some three thousand dollars. 

Jid^aJiOTutng 'Sir^re-shytertctrt CltziTclz 

This church was built in 1853, on Mahoning and Ferry streets, 
the congregation, as before stated, retaining the name and the or- 
ganization of the original church. The building is handsome and 
well-arranged. It is surmounted by a steeple containing a bell and 
a town clock. Some years ago a storm blew down the spire, which 
was never replaced. There is a fine memorial window in the rear 
of the pulpit. The designs in colors are elegant and appropriate, 
having been placed there by E. B. Reynolds, in memory of his 
mother, who had been a member of the congregation for many 
years. Rev. Doctor Yeomans, who was the pastor in the old church, 
continued his ministrations in the new for a number of years, and 



MAHO.Y/NG PRESBYTER/AN CHURCH. 



died greatly lamented by the community, as well as the members of 
his own religious household. Rev. Doctor Yeomans was a man of 
very superior powers of mind : in truth, he was a great as well as a 
good man. He may not have been fully appreciated at home, but 
he ranked with the most eminent divines of the Presbyterian Church 
in the United States. His reputation extended all over the country, 
and his great ability was not only acknowledged by making him 
Moderator of the General Assembly, but in according to him the 
deference that exalted merit demands on all occasions. 

Rev. Ijams succeeded to the pastorate of Mahoning Presbyterian 
church, after the death of Dr. Yeomans. He was something of a 
sensationalist ; eleoquent he was, and, withal, rather dramatic. Of 
course a sermon would be dull and lifeless without it ; yet it should 
not be all drama, nor yet the most prominent feature of a discourse. 
His imaginative powers were good, and as an orator he stood de- 
servedly high, but the people missed the solid, glowing torce of truth 
they were wont to hear from Dr. Yeomans. Rev. Ijams resigned, 
and Rev. A. B. Jack was called to the charge of Mahoning Presby- 
terian church. He was distinguished for originality, for a wide range 
of thought and power of language. His descriptive powers are some- 
thing remarkable, his oratory peculiar, startling, and effective. For 
sublimity of conception and beauty of expression, some of his dis- 
courses were unsurpassed. After officiating for several years, he re- 
signed to take charge of a congregation in Hazleton, where he still 
remains. Rev. F. R. Beeber succeeded him in this place, and if not 
as brilliant as his immediate predecessor, he is a solid thinker, a good 
speaker, and an excellent pastor. In his earnest life-work, Rev. 
Beeber endeared himself to the hearts of many ; his faithfulness as 
a minister, his ability as a teacher, and his fidelity as a friend, will 
not be forgotten. Rev. R. L. Stewart, the present pastor, has just 
entered upon his work in this place, and the indications point to the 
best results. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Cltri'hCLte. cLTLcL Loixgevity. 

In glancing at the climate of Danville and the longevity of its 
people, I again copy from the memoranda of Mr. J. Frazer. He 
says, the climate of Danville is exceedingly favorable to the health 
and longevity of its inhabitants. Epidemics seldom prevail. Its 
near proximity to 41° north latitude, approximates that of the in- 
salubrious cities of Pekin, Constantinople, Naples, and Barcelona. 
Yet the isothermal line shows that it corresponds with the more salu- 
brious regions of New Jersey, Long Island, England, Ireland, Bel- 
gium, Southern Germany, the Crimea, China, Japan, Washington 
Territory, Montana, Nebraska, most of which are several degrees 
north of its parallel of latitude, and showing a divergence between 
that and the isothermal line. 

The peculiar and admirable location of Danville is most favorable. 
The description of the mountain in a far remote geological period, 
caused by the bursting through its barriers by the pent-up waters of 
an ancient lake or primeval ocean on its northern side, or by some 
other stupendeous convulsion of nature, scooped out a gateway 
through Montour Ridge to effect an outlet for the Mahoning, and 
thus afford a most admirable site for the town. It reminds us of the 
Blue Ridge, cloven asunder to yield a passage for the Potomac be- 
low its confluence with the Shenandoah, at Harper's Ferry, which 
Jefferson so graphically described, and to see which, he asserted, was 
worth a voyage across the Atlantic. And thus Danville is in a favor- 
able situation to receive the sunshine of early spring, the balmy and 
invigorating breezes of summer, which reach it from the Susquehanna, 
and the prolonged and delightful autumn. Few places are so highly 
favored. The extreme old age of many of its people corroborates 
this, extending, as they do, much beyond the three score and ten 
years of the Psalmist. From memory we can recall the names of 
the following ancient residents of the place and vicinity who attained 
a great age : Robert Finny, ninty-five years ; Mrs. Jane Montgomery, 
ninty- three years; John Sechler, ninty-three years; Peter Baldy, 
ninty-two ; Sarah Lloyd, ninty-one ; Joseph Maus, Rudolph Sechler, 
William Philips, each ninety; Charles M. Frazer, eighty-nine; George 
A. Frick, eighty-six ; Michael Blue, eighty-four ; William Donald- 
son, the Revolutionary patriot, eighty-two ; Thomas Woodside, John 



PROM/NEXr AZ/iN. 23 



Deen, John Moore, each eighty ; and the following beyond the sev- 
enty years : Paul Adams, John Frazer, John Russel, John Reynolds, 
John Cooper, John Montgomery, John Yerrick, Daniel Frazer, 
Daniel Woodside, Dr. David Petrekin, William Whitaker, William 
Yorks, Samuel Yorks. To this list scores, now living or recently 
deceased, could be added. Among those still living, are the follow- 
ing octogenarians: Jacob Sechler, ninty years; Dr. William H. 
Magill, eighty-six ; Jutlge William Donalson, now of Pottsville, 
in his eighty-second year. Many others of a good old age could be 
enumerated who are " natives to the manor born," or who resided 
here for many years. Among these is Rev. Samuel Montgomery, 
now of Oberlin, Ohio, in his seventy-fifth year. 

The health of a people is a desideratum of the first importance. 
Without it, all the temporal blessings lose much of their value. 
This is painfully apparent in the South, and in some places in the 
great West. Surrounded by regions of exuberant fertility, yet so 
unhealthy that the valitudinary inhabitants would gladly exchange 
their luxurious homes for those of less productiveness, if they could 
thereby have their impaireil health restored. The people of Dan- 
ville should duly appreciate the great blessing they enjoy in having 
so favorable a climate. 

JProTTiiixerht JSIert. 

It is a source of deep regret that no reliable record can be ob- 
tained of such prominent men in the past history of Danville, as 
Reverend John B. Patterson, Doctor Alexander C. Donaldson, 
Rudolph Sechler, William G. Hurly, and many others. Moreover, 
what record we have of others is meager and unsatisfactory. From 
a few notes made by Mr. F., and what could be gathered from 
other sources, the following brief notes are presented : 

Alem Mark graduated at Princeton in 1807, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1809. He represented this district in Congress from 
1829 to 1 83 1, and spent his whole professional life in Danville. 

Samuel Kirkham, the grammarian, succeeded D. C. Barrett in 
the Danville school, about 1819 to 1821. He was a competent 
teacher, but not so successful as Mr. Barrett. His "Lectures on 
English Grammar" was one of the most popular school-books of 
the day, and almost as generally used as Webster's spelling-book. 



24 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

It went through one hundred and twenty-nine editions. His 
"Essay on Elocution" was a valuable treatise, but never attained 
a tithe of the popularity of his grammer. President Lincoln ob- 
tained his grammatical knowledge from the latter treatise, and there 
is yet in the hands of one of his admirers in Iowa, the identical 
volume in which the great emancipator studied. His signature is 
on a fly-leaf, with the homely caution, " Steal not this book, &rc." 

Ur. David Petkikin was a native of Bellefonte. He studied 
medicine and practiced his profession in Danville. He represented 
this district in Congress two terms, from 1837 to 1841, and died on 
the 3d of January, 1849. 

Daniel Frazer was born May 2, 1755, and married Sarah Wil- 
son in 1772. She died in 1775. He was again married. His 
second wife was Isabella Watson, whom he married on the 6th day 
of February, 1777. He died in Danville on the 26th of March, 
1828. His children were Charles, Emma, Margaret, James, Alex- 
ander, Sarah, Jane, William, Christiana M., Agnes, Daniel, and 
Thomas ; all of whom are dead, except Christiana, who married 
Enos Miller, who died in 1870. All deceased except Mrs. Miller. 
His descendants reside in Montour county, New York, and Michigan, 
gan. He came to this place about 1790, and purchased of John Frazer 
one hundred acres of land in the south-west part of his two hundred 
and eighty-four acre tract. On this land he resided thirty-eight 
years, until his death, in the seventy-third year of his age. He was 
an honest and industrious farmer, enjoying the respect and con- 
fidence of his fellow-citizens. For a long time he resided at the 
base of the hill, near the site of an old Indian trading post, and a 
very short distance north of the spring. In 1824, he built the 
substantial stone residence which is still standing. h\\ the southern 
portion of his farm is now within the corporate limits of Danville. 

Ellis Hughes came to this place from Catawissa, about 1820. 
He was a school teacher and surveyor. He was also appointed reg- 
ister and recorder by the Governor, and served with great satisfaction 
to the people. He taught school for some years in a school-house 
that stood near where the Record office now stands. He was a good 
teacher, and was universally respected by the community. He also 
took care to see that his children were all well educated. Ellis 
Hughes was a faithful member and an efficient officer in the Meth- 
odist church, and died in the faith of the christian, in the year 1850. 



.\rASTER G/BSON AND THE MAHONING SCHOOL. -'S 

Daniel Montgomery, a brother to Gen. William Montgomery, 
lived in the old frame house now occupied by Mr. Bentzbach, near 
the river. He kept a store, but was chietly known as a painter — in 
fact, an artist of no mean pretensions. He was the father of Judge 
Montgomery. 

William Hartman was one of the old-time citizens of Danville. 
He was a chairmaker, and resided on the premises now occupied by 
his son, Joseph Hartman, on Mill street. William Hartman came 
to Danville in 1814. He was a class-leader in the Methodist church, 
and was one of the six members formed into the first class in this 
place in 181 5. He was an honest, industrious citizen, and a true 
christian. He died in 1851. 

jVTaster G^zbsojz cuxci tire J\£aJx.orLtii-g Scltool. 

To rescue from oblivion the name and services of Master Gibson, 
a worthy school-master of the days of yore, is the object of the 
present chapter. 

The picturesque eminence, the site of the Grove church and school- 
house, and the cemetery, comprising in all two acres, was the dona- 
tion of Amos Wickersham to John Simpson and others, trustees for 
a church, school-house, and burial place, in 1776. In shape it was 
a parallelogram carved out of the hundred-acre tract, afterwards the 
farm of Daniel Frazer, which bounded it on three sides, the fourth 
being the farm of Gen. Montgomery, extending thence to the river. 

The three-fold but congruous purpose to which that beautiful and 
prominent eminence was appropriated — for a house of christian wor- 
ship ; for a God's acre, a place of sepulture, where the forefathers 
of the village sleep the sleep which knows no terrestrial awaken- 
ing ; and for a place of learning, where the children of the ad- 
venturous founders of the settlement would acquire the elements of 
an education to qualify them to become useful and respectable mem- 
bers of society. This union gave to this venerated spot a sacred 
character, which all future time cannot fail to cherish, respect, and 
honor. 

The old log school-house was built about 1785, probably two 
years anterior to the erection of the old Presbyterian church edifice, 
and was thirty yards east of it. It was a most unpretentious build- 
ing; the logs were not even "rough hewn." It was twenty feet 



2b HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

square, one story, and that of only sufficient height to allow the 
teacher to stand erect. An only door, fronting the church, afforded 
means of ingress and egress. The chimney was at the opposite end, 
and admitted fuel eight or ten feet long, whereby rousing fires were 
maintained on cold winter days. A window at either side, two or 
three times the width of its height, admitted light. There was a 
rude puncheon floor, and the seats were of the same material. 
Desks were made of a single board along the sides, so as to enable 
the student to face the window, and afforded facilities for writing to 
the more advanced students. 

This rude structure, and the church hard by, had a vigorous and 
flourishing grove of primitive forest trees around them, which were 
of much protection in shielding them from the summer's heat and 
winter's cold. Their luxuriant foliage was pleasing to the eye and 
gratifying to the taste of the admirer of natural scenery. It is to 
be regretted that the absence of groves immediately around such 
buildings should prevail to so large an extent in this enlightened age. 
The poet tells us "the groves were God's first temples," but we 
show very little appreciation of them. 

For a few years, this rustic school-house was occupied by school- 
masters and their little schools of twenty scholars. The teachers 
were without families, and, as the custom of that day was, boarded 
around with their employers in rotation, thus getting remuneration, 
in part, for the tuition. At that primitive day, this was a con- 
venient arrangement for both parties. Tradition fails to hand down 
to us t^ie names of these peripatetic pedagogues. During the most 
of the decade following, up to the close of the last century, Master 
Gibson, "the village master, taught his little school," but, unlike 
his predecessors, he had a family, and did not make his home with 
his patrons. Of this worthy, traditionary history affords us many 
interesting particulars ; quite as many as could be expected through 
so unreliable a medium, after the lapse of a century. He was 
probably a Scot, like his successor, but he may have been a coun- 
tryman of Goldsmith's, possibly the original from which the char- 
acter in his celebrated poem was drawn, 

«' While words of learned length and thundering sound 
Amazed the gazing rustics ranged around; 
And still they gazed, and still the wonder grew, 
That one small head could carry all he knew." 



MASTER G/BSON A.VD THE MAHONLWG SCHOOL. 27 

Many anecdotes verify this. At that period the opinion pre- 
vailed that a boy with a large head was a blockhead. One of the 
boys — no favorite with the master — had a capacious head, and nick- 
named " chuckle-head ;" to ridicule the boy's great caput, the master 
wrote in his coi)y-l)ook for him to copy, " Big head, little wit," 
which the boy copied, adding "Little head, less yet." Surprised at 
this retort, the master very discreetly passed by the offense in silence 
lest he should publish his own discomfiture. The copies for writing 
were all written by the master in a legible hand, and generally in 
rhyme. These are examples : 

l!y diligence and care, you may write fair. 

Many tiirds of many kinds, 
Many men of many minds. 

Command you may your mind from play. 

All work and no i>lay, makes Jack a tlull boy. 

The books used in his school, were the New England Primer, em- 
bellished with a quaint likeness of the Honorable John Hancock, 
Esq., President of the American Congress, and numerous wood-cuts 
of rude appearance; Dilworth's Spelling Book, Fenning's Spelling 
Book and New Guide to the English tongite, Dilworth's Arithmetic, 
a useful book entitled The Young Man's Companion, a kind of sequel 
to the others, well calculated to quahfy the older boys for business. 
Those more advanced read the Bible, Milton's Paradise Lost, Gold- 
smith's Histories abridged. In this brief course, many of 'the pupils 
were very thorough, and acquired a good practical education which 
would compare, not unfavorably, with that obtained in the common 
schools of to-day. Owing to the multiplicity of studies in the latter, 
many of the scholars attain only an imperfect and superficial knowl- 
edge of the course of study taught in them. 

During the time Mr. Gibson taught in this school he was quite 
successful, and the size of his school was much larger than of his 
predecessors. His pay was by voluntary subscription. For the 
smaller scholars, he received eleven shillings three peaice, for the 
larger ones, fifteen shillings, Pennsylvania currency, per cpiarter, of 
three months, equivalent to $1 50 and $?. 00 Federal money, as it 
was then termed. 



28 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

During his mastership, most of the leading citizens contributed to 
the support of the school. Legendary history has preserved the 
names of the following patrons of the school : Gen. William Mont- 
gomery, John Montgomery, John Sechler, John Frazer, Daniel Fra- 
zer, Thomas Osborne, William Sheriff, Thomas Stevenson, John 
Gulick, George McCulley, Edward Morrison, Murdo Morrison, John 
Simpson, Paul Adams, John Evans, Philip Maus, Joshua Halleck, 
John and James Emmitt, Alexander, Ewing, Dr. Forest, John Hill, 
and the Sanders, the Blues, the Moores, the Woodsides, the Cor- 
nelisons, the Colts. 

The pupils, as has been stated, attended school only about one 
fourth of the year, {<t\v of them for more than two or three winters ; 
at different periods they were John, Jacob, Samuel, and Harmon 
Sechler, Archibald, John, James, and Robert Woodside, Jacob, 
Isaac, James, Ann, and Mary Cornelison, Jesse Simpson. Mary, 
Margaret, and Charles M. Frazer, and their cousin Charles Frazer, 
Samuel and John Huntington, Isaac, Peter, Samuel, and John Blue, 
Asa, Samuel, and Charles Moore, Abie, Josiah, Griffith, and Wil- 
liam Phillips, Joseph and Jacob W. Maus, Charles Evans, John Mc- 
Coy, Jefferson and Robert Montgomery, from Tennessee. Except 
the Frazers's, Sechler's, and Montgomery's, the pupils were too re- 
mote from the school to go home for dinner, and were obliged to 
bring their dinners with them. There was but one intermission dur- 
ing the day, from twelve to one o'clock, but the students were per- 
mitted to withdraw one at a time. A triangular block about the size 
of a spelling book with the word in painted on one side, and out on 
the other, suspended to a nail on the back of the door ; the student 
going out turned the out to the school, and on his return the in, 
when another might enjoy the same privilege. 

The tuel for the school was supplied from the windfalls in the two- 
acre lot, and was chopped by the school boys. During the noon 
hour, they amused themselves by swings formed by bending down 
the small saplings, by quoits, shindy, ball, running, jumping, and 
\vrestling. Marbles and kites had not yet reached the rural settle- 
ment, and they were rare thirty years subsequently. 

If the temperature permitted sugar-making in February, many of 
the larger boys left the school to engage in it before the expiry of 
their three months' studv. The demand for labor at home often 



MASTER GJBSON AND THE MAHONLVG SCHOOL. 



shortened the term of study at school, and the want of the fifteen 
shilHngs for the payment of tuition not unfrequently forbade their 
attendance for the winter. 

Mr. Gibson was the last teacher in the old log school-house. 
General Montgomery having donated a lot in his plat of Danville, 
west of Mill street and north of Market street, in 1802, a new 
frame school-house was erected. Mr. Andrew Forsyth, eminent for 
his scholastic acquirements and his virtues, became principal of the 
school. He was succeeded by Mr. John Moore, who afterward be- 
came one of the principal merchants of the place. Mr. Thomas 
W. Bell, the skillful penman, was the next instructor; and he was 
succeeded by Colonel Don Carlos Barrett, the most popular and 
successful educator that ever presided over the school. He subse- 
quently became an eminent lawyer and statesman in Texas, and, 
with Austin and Huston, constituted the triumvirate, with dictatorial 
powers, during the Texan Revolution. After him came Samuel 
Kirkham, the distinguished and successful grammarian ; and after 
him, Ellis Hughes, a cultured and most competent teacher. Simul- 
taneously with these latter, were John Richards, Thomas Grier, and 
Stephen Halff. Soon after, the public schools superseded the private 
institutions, and their history can be traced up more satisfactorily 
than that of the latter, left almost wholly to tradition, not always 
reliable. 

Master Gibson taught seven or eight winters. He was a rigid 
disciplinarian, with European ideas of control of his school, and, 
without hesitancy, used the birch freely, in accordance with the 
precept of the wise king. Nevertheless, he was honored and re- 
vered by his pupils. He was a good and useful man in his day and 
generation. Little is now known of his family. The writer met 
his daughter in 1822, then the wife of a respectable farmer on the 
Chillisquaque. 

The last survivor of Master Gibson's pupils has recently passed 
away. The venerable Jacob Sechler, one of the first white children 
born in Danville, and a nonogenarian, died on Christmas day, 1880. 
A year or two since, Mr. George S, Walker, with courteous civility, 
submitted to him the data from which this notice was written, and 
he stated they were substantially correct, but, from impaired mem- 
ory, he could give no further facts whereby the account could be 
rendered more perfect. 



30 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



TiTLtoTL HclTL Hotel. 

Union Hall Hotel, near the court-house, was built by Philip Good- 
man, in 1818. He had previously kept the "old Pennsylvania 
House." His card in the town paper was inserted as follows : 



"NEW TAVERN 



PHILIP GOODMAN 

informs his friends and the public that he has commenced 
keeping tavern in his new brick house, sign of the 

GOLDEN GLOBE 
Mill street in the town of Danville, two doors south of 
the Court House, where by his attention and superior ac- 
commodation as to house room and stabling, he hopes to 
merit a share of the public patronage. 
Danville, July gth, 1S18." 



The house was kept by Mr. Goodman for several years ; but it 
seems that its building, together with a line of stages to Pottsville, 
swamped him, financially, and he moved to Owego, New York, where 
he died some years ago. Several persons kept the house from that 
time until 1836, when it was purchased by William Henrie. He 
made several improvements and also changed its name to " Union 
Hall Hotel," which was suggested by his son Arthur, a brave young 
soldier, who died soon after the war. Mr. Henrie successfully con- 
ducted Union Hall Hotel for thirty-five years. It enjoyed great 
popularity under his administration. Some years ago it was nearly 
destroyed by fire, after which it was re-constructed and enlarged. 
It was afterwards kept by Alem M. Sechler, and others. 

Fifty Y'ecLi^s A.go. 

The recollections of Mr. John Frazer, now of Cincinnati, are so 
interesting and so admirably detailed, that I copy them entire, ex- 
actly as written by himself, as I also copy many other sketches in 
relation to the olden time. In kindly replying to my request for 
sketches on various points, historical and biographical, he has given 
them, not only more correctly, but in better style than my own, that 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 31 



I felt bound, in justice to the reader, to insert them without the 
change of a syllable. 

Random Recollections of Danville as it was half a Century 

since. 

" This is my own, my native land." 

It is half a century this day since the writer bade a final adieu to 
Danville as a place of residence. He was then a youth, and regret- 
fully parted from kindred and friends, to whom he was attached by 
the closest ties of consanguinity and friendship. His reminiscences 
of that i^eriod are very distinct ; he proposes giving you a brief sum- 
mary of them. 

The population of the village was then seven hundred and forty; 
the buildings numbered eighty ; most of these were dwelling houses 
on Water, Market, and Mill streets. They were bounded by the 
river, Church street, Sechler's run, and Factory street ; these limits 
were very much less than the present area of the borough. They 
were chiefly frames, but many of the primitive log buildings yet re- 
mained. The brick buildings were the court-house, Goodman's 
tavern, Dr. Petrikin's and Mr. Frick's residences, and Mr. Baldy's 
store. Subsequently many brick structures were erected, all, or 
nearly all of which remain. 

The pursuits of the citizens were confined to the ordinary me- 
chanical trades, the professions, and for so small a population, a large 
amount of merchandising. There was scarcely a germ of the manu- 
facturing interest which has grown to be of such vast importance 
since that day. About 181 7, on Market street, near Pine, William 
Mann manufactured nails in a primitive way, by hand. The bars 
or hoops of nail iron were cut by a machine worked by a treadle 
with the foot, and by a second operation, the heads of the nails were 
formed by a blow or two with a hammer ; by unremitting industry, 
I suppose a workman could only produce as many nails in a month, 
as one can now, by the aid of machinery, in a single day. And this 
simple, modest manufacture was the precursor of the immense iron 
manufactures of the present time, which has earned for the place a 
high reputation excelled by few in that industrial pursuit, and it has 
been the cause of the rapid increase of the population of the place, 
so that it now more than equals all the residue of the county. 



32 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



The nucleus of the settlement, around which the accretion of 
population was subsequently gathered, was American, originating 
during the last two decades of the last century, by emigration from 
south-eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, Sunbury, and 
Northumberland. To these were added, from time to time, European 
emigrants— chiefly Germans, British, Irish, and Swiss, a few French 
and Dutch, possibly some Danes and Swedes. Of British emigrants 
up to that date, I do not recollect a single Welshman, although they 
soon after became a most important element of population em- 
ployed in the iron manufacture. These apparently discordant ele- 
ments soon yielded to the potent attraction of association, so that 
early in the present century, the homogenity of the young and 
vigorous community was assured. Seldom did any people enjoy a 
more happy harmony. This uniformity extended both to religion 
and politics. They derived their revealed theology from the Bible, 
as expounded by the followers of Calvin and Knox; their moral 
theology from the Presbyterian pulpit, the Westminster catechism, 
and, to no inconsiderable extent, from Milton's Paradise Lost, 
which was received as a commentary by some, as a supplement by 
others. With what awe they read, 

" Of Providence, foreknowledge, will, and fate ; 
Fixed fate, free will, foreknowledge absolute." 

Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress was also a work of great authority. 
The libraries were very limited ; neither Aristotle, nor Pliny, nor 
Buffon were in demand ; but .'Esop's Fables, Weem's Life of Wash- 
ington, Cook's Voyages, and Riley's Narrative were among the 
most popular books for miscellaneous reading. Shakspeare's Plays 
were placed on the index purgatorius by some, and few advocated 
their general use. The venerable Doctor Nott, who was president 
of Union College for the unprecedented term of sixty-two years, 
used to say to the students: " If you want to get a knowledge of 
the world and human nature, read the Bible ; but if you will read 
any other books, read Homer and Shakspeare. They come nearer 
Moses and Paul than any others I am acquainted with." Fox's 
Book of Martyrs was esteemed a much more suitable book for 
youdiful readers than the great English bard ; they were also allowed 
that most captivating of boys' books, Robinson Crusoe. 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 33 



All were not Calvinists ; yet, under the wise and judicious pas- 
torate of that good and faithful shepherd Reverend John B. Pat- 
terson — ever honored for his blameless life and unostentatious 
piet)' — they were kept within one fold and one baptism until the 
close of his long ministry. He was occasionally aided by pastors 
from neighboring towns. I can now recall the names of Reverend 
Messrs. Dunham, William Smith, Nicholas Patterson, Isaac Grier, 
John Bryson, and Hood. 

The Reverend William B. Montgomery and his wife, nee Jane 
Robinson, of the Presbyterian church, the devoted missionaries to 
the Osage Indians, had recently departed for Union Station, the 
scene of their labors, which then seemed to us tenfold more remote 
than Japan does now, and took a longer time in journeying thither. 
For more than thirty years they labored there, under great priva- 
tions, until they both fell victims to epidemic cholera. 

For a number of years, the followers of Wesley increased in num- 
ber, and through the zeal and labors of William Woods, William 
Hartman, William Whitaker, of the village ; Judge Jacob Gear- 
hart, of Rush township, and others, a church was established about 
1 815. It was supplied by itinerant preachers. Of these, I can now 
only recall the name of Reverend George Dawson. There was a 
local preacher, Simons by name, who occasionally exhorted and 
preached at his own house, on Market near Church street. I well 
remember the appearance of these devoted itinerant preachers in 
their journeys around the circuit, with their jaded horses, their 
portmanteau and umbrella tied on behind their saddle, and hat 
covered with oil cloth to protect it from the storms, and their ex- 
tremely plain garb, such as I saw Lorenzo Dow wear at a subsequent 
date. 

The Catholics, now so numerous, were scarcely known as sec- 
taries, Michael Rafferty and Francis Trainor being the only two I 
can recollect. The Reverend Mr. Kay. a Socinian or Unitarian, 
preached at times, but without making proselytes. The Reverend 
Mr. Shepherd, a Baptist of the Campbellite portion of that sect, 
preached occasionally. He was an eloquent and popular divine. 
There were a number of Lutherans, to whom Reverend Mr. Kesler, 
from the vicinity of Bloomsburg, preached at long intervals. The 
Episcopalians were not numerous, and it was suggested that they 
3 



34 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

and the Lutherans unite and form a union church ; but this was im- 
practicable, and the former erected, own, and occupy the church 
edifice on Market street, on ground included in what, at an early 
day, was called Rudy's woods. These sectaries were all destitute of 
church buildings, except the Grove church. This was the spacious 
log church, built more than forty years before the time of which I 
write, in the form of a T, and was amply large for the congregation. 

Besides the sects named I can recall none others of that date. 

The old log church had recently been demolished and F. Birken- 
bine was building a brick church edifice under a contract with 
James Donaldson, Robert Curry, Robert C. Grier, Herman Sechler, 
and John C. Boyd, the trustees, for the consideration of $1,775. 

The social relations of the community were eminently pacific and 
cordial, doubtless promoted by the matrimonial unions between 
members of the several very large families of some of the early 
emigrants. The Montgomerys, of whom there were two brothers, 
Daniel Montgomery the elder ; and his brother ; General William 
Montgomery, whose sons were General Daniel, Colonel John , and 
Alexander. The son of the senior Daniel Montgomery was Judge 
William Montgomery. The Woodside family was a large one, con- 
sisting of Thomas, Archibald, John, James, Daniel, William and 
Robert. Of the Moores ; Asa, John, Abner, Burrows, Samuel, 
Charles, Andrew Y., Edward S., and several daughters. Of the 
Mauses; George, Elizabeth, Philip, Susan, Samuel, Lewis, Charles, 
Joseph, and Jacob W. Of the Sechlers, I recollect Rudolph, 
George, John, Jacob, Samuel, and Harmon. At a later date came 
Mrs. Cornelison and her children, Joseph, William, Jacob, Isaac, 
Cornelius, James, Ann, and Mercy. Of the Whitakers, John, 
Thomas, WiUiamH., Irwin, Jane, Elizabeth, Polly, Nancy, Fanny, 
and Juliana ; William Wilson, the long time justice of the peace, 
with a large family of eleven children and their descendants, now 
numbering about one hundred. There were also the Clarks, Gear- 
harts, Gaskinses, Blues, Rishels, Phillipses, Diehls, Sanderses, Fousts, 
Frazers, Donaldsons, Willitses, and Brewers. 

Many of the pioneer customs still prevailed. Manufactures of 
the most pressing necessity were found in almost every household. 
The spinning-wheel for tow and flax ; the big wheel, as it was called, 
for woolen yarn. These were woven in the place, and made into 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 35 



clothing at home, and most of the villagers and their children were 
clad in these domestic suits. The tailor and shoemaker itinerated 
here and in the vicinity and were almost constantly employed. A 
dwelling without a detached bake-oven would have been deemed in- 
complete ; there were no bakers by profession, and of necessity each 
housewife was her own baker. The Franklin stove and the six- 
plate stove were still in use ; the ten-plate stoves had recently been 
introduced and were a great improvement on the former, as much 
so as the Palace Cook and Heater are upon the latter. Our stoves 
were then manufactured by Mr. Hauck, and bore the legend, "John 
Hauck, Catawissa Furnace j'^ and it was one of the mysteries that 
troubled the brains of the boys, how it ever got there in iron letters, 
as much as did the effect of the music of Orpheus, which " diew 
iron tears down Pluto's cheek." 

By industry and frugality the people lived in comparative com- 
fort, paid their preacher and school-master promptly, and their 
printer as soon as convenient, thereby preserving a good conscience 
and securing peace of mind. 

The school-master was abroad. Thomas Grier taught a classical 
school and prepared boys for college. Stephen Halff also taught 
a private school, and Reverend Mr. Painter was principal of the 
Danville Academy, then a new institution. The predecessors of 
these were Master Gibson who taught in the old log school-house 
near the first edifice of the Grove church ; Messrs. Andrew For- 
sythe, John Moore, Thomas W. Bell, Don Carlos Barret, an emi- 
nent teacher, John Richards, Samuel Kirkham, the distinguished 
grammarian, and Ellis Hughes, a most competent and successful 
educator, favorably remembered by many of his pupils still living. 
In all these schools the girls and boys recited in the same room, 
which I then thought contributed much to the decorum and good 
order of the schools, and think so still. 

The houses were then chiefly on Water, Mill, and Market streets, 
and with scarcely an exception had gardens attached to them, 
with a portion of each allotted to flowers. The damascene rose, 
guelder rose, flowering almond, peony, narcissus, lilac, lily, pink, 
and other familiar floral productions were wont to ornament it and 
make it " unprofitably gay." The boys, after school hours, often 
reluctantly, tried their 'prentice hands at horticulture, and the most 



j>6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

onerous part of their labor was the removal of the water-worn stone, 
rounded by attrition in by-gone antediluvian ages, in fluviatile or 
oceanic currents. They abounded on Market street lots and other 
elevated portions of the village. Doubtless by this time a suc- 
cession of youthful gardeners have removed them all and made 
horticultural pursuits less laborious. 

Amongst other amusements the boys enjoyed skating, sledding, 
sleighing, nutting, trapping, fishing, playing ball, bathing in the 
river and in the Mahoning; in the latter, west of Factory street, 
hard by a buttonwood or sycamore, was a famous bathing-place. 
Flying kite and playing marbles in the spring were not forgotten. 
All these afforded them the needed recreation from study and labor. 

But I must not omit the muster days of the military. The old 
Rifle Blues was one of the oldest, if not the oldest, volunteer mili- 
tary organization of the county. The Light Dragoons, Captain 
Clarke, were the admiration of all the boys of the place and their 
parades were gala days. The Columbia Guards was a fine company 
of infantry, numbering over sixty, commanded by Captain James 
Carson. The train band. Captain Yorks, was also one of the in- 
stitutions of that day. The regimental musters were generally held 
at Washingtonville, and drew together crowds of spectators to wit- 
ness their grand maneuvers, discuss politics and tavern dinners. 

The Watchman was then the only newspaper. George Sweeny, 
the veteran editor, was its proprietor. He had published the 
Columbian Gazette in 1813 ; which was succeeded by the Express, 
by Jonathan Lodge in 1815, and afterwards by Lodge & Caruthers. 
The Watchman was established in 1820. It was published on 
Market street, east of Ferry, and had a sign in front of the ofiice 
upon which was painted the head of Franklin with the legend from 
Milton, "Where liberty dwells, there is my country." There were 
then few painted signs in the place, and this one was very con- 
spicuous. Although the Watchman was not half the size of the 
American it was esteemed a grand journal and had great influence 
in the politics of the county. It was made up chiefly by copy from 
other papers and seldom contained editorial articles. Readers were 
not so exacting then as in these latter days. 

The politics of the village like those of the county were largely 
Democratic. What Democratic principles were I had no very 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 37 



definite idea, but had a vague impression that they were just the 
reverse of Federal principles, and I suppose that this negative 
definition quadrated with the ideas of the dominant party. State 
politics absorbed the attention of politicians and banished from 
their minds national politics to an extent that must have gladdened 
the hearts of those stolid politicians, the States' rights men. 1 re- 
member how a villager pertinaciously urged the nomination of 
General Jackson for Governor, and he honestly believed that the 
gubernatorial honor was the highest that coukl be conferred upon 
the old hero. 

The members of the bar were few in number. Ebenezer Green 
ough had recently removed to Sunbury. Judge Grier, from his 
profound legal attainments and fine scholarship, stood at the head 
of his profession. Alem Marr, the pioneer lawyer, was a good 
classical scholar and a graduate of Princeton. He represented the 
district in Congress in 1829. LeGrand Bancroft was district at- 
torney. The other members were George A. Frick, William G. 
Hurley, John Cooper, James Carson, and Robert McP. McDowell. 
A short time subsequently John G. Montgomery, Paul Leidy and 
Joshua W. Comly were added to the number. All of them are de- 
ceased, except the latter. 

The medical men were not numerous. The first in the place was 
Doctor Forrest, the grandfather of Mrs. Valentine Best. His suc- 
cessor, Doctor Barrett; his. Doctors Petrikin and Daniels. At the 
period of which I write there were also Doctors McDowell and 
Magill. The latter was then a young practitioner in the beginning 
of his long and successful career, and now remains, beyond the age 
of four-score years, the honored head of the profession which has 
increased fourfold since he became a member of it. And now Dan- 
ville began to rear medical men of her own. Herman Gearhart 
and Alexander C. Donaldson were initiated into the profession, 
under the tuition of Doctor Petrikin. At the same time Samuel 
Montgomery and Matthew Patterson were divinity students. John 
Martin was a law student in Mr. Marr's office, and subsequently 
practiced in Clearfield county. 

General Daniel Montgomery was the first merchant, but, having 
acquired a fortune, was now residing on his fine farm a mile or two 
above town. His cousin. Judge William Montgomery, an old citi- 



38 HISTOR Y OF DANVILLE. 

zen, was now the oldest merchant, with his store corner of Mill and 
Market streets and his residence on the opposite corner. He bore 
his full share in the burden of improving and bettering the condi- 
tion of his fellow-men ; was one of the pillars of the church and 
founder of the first Sunday school ; when many others, if not op- 
posed to it, aided it only in a prefunctory way, and he lived to see 
it permanently established. Peter Baldy, though still a young 
merchant, was engaged in an extensive business and dealt largely 
in grain. He commenced in the 'old log building which had been 
occupied by King & Hamilton ; from thence, he removed to his 
well-known store on Mill street where he continued his business 
for half a century, when he retired having accumulated a fortune. 
The other merchants were John Moore, John Russell, and William 
Colt, all old and esteemed citizens ; and William Bickley, Boyd & 
Montgomery, John C. & Michael C. Grier, and Michael Ephlin 
who had more recently engaged in business. Mr. Loughead had 
retired from business to devote his time to the post-office, and Jere- 
miah Evans had recently moved to Mercersburg. 

The old Cross-Keys tavern, kept by Mrs. Jemima Donaldson was 
the best in the county and it is doubtful whether it has been sur- 
passed to this day. The Union hotel, the first three-story brick 
building and the best one in the place was built and kept by Philip 
Goodman. John Irwin kept a tavern, corner of Market and Ferry 
streets. And the most ancient hostelry of them all, the Rising Sun, 
the old red house at the foot of Mill street with the walnut tree at 
the door, and its crowd of the devotees of Bacchus who made it 
resound with 

" Midnight shout and revelry, 
Tipsy dance and jollity." 

The Ferry tavern, by George Barnhart where I often hurried by, 
fearing the sound of the fiddle, judging that old Satan could not be 
far distant from the violin, thus condemning that first of musical in- 
struments, from its association with much that is vile. Then there 
was the Jackson tavern. Mill street near Mahoning, by William 
Clark, a soldier of the revolution, with the likeness of General 
Jackson painted on its sign, thus superseding that of Washington, 
as the latter in its day had replaced that of George III : tempori 
parendum. The taverns then had a monopoly of retailing intoxi- 



FIFTY YEARS A G O. 39 



eating liquors dealing them out by the gill ; and rye whisky was the 
chief licjuor used, and doubtless was less hurtful than the villainous 
compound now sold under that name. Some who then indulged in 
"potations pottle deep" nevertheless attained a great age: when 
one of them was warned against indulging too freely in it, as it was 
a slow poison, replied that he was aware of that for he had been 
using it sixty years and it must be very slow. The coffee-houses, 
now destitute of coffee, the saloons, groceries and other refined 
modern drinking places were then unknown. 

In addition to these taverns, Mrs. Spence kept a boarding-house, 
and had for her guests some of the most respectable people of the 
place. 

Amongst the active and industrious citizens were the blacksmiths. 
John Lunger was one of the earliest, and had a shop on Ferry street. 
John Deen's smithy was on Market near Ferry street, where by many 
and well-directed blows he hammered out a fortune. Joseph Cor- 
nelison's was on Mahoning near Mill street. 

George McCulley was one of the pioneer carpenters and removed 
to Ohio, near Wooster where some of his descendants still reside. 
Daniel Cameron, a worthy Scot and the great pedestrian who 
walked from Harrisburg to Danville in a day without deeming it any 
great exploit was a skilfull carpenter and builder. Adam Schuyler 
and George Lott were also engaged in that business. 

The chairmakers were William Hartman who was also a wheel- 
wright, and the brothers Kirk. William Mann was also engaged in 
that calling for a year or two. 

Shoemakers — William Woods, Gideon Mellon, Henry Sanders, 
Thomas Wiley. 

Tailors — William M. Wiley, who removed to Harrisburg, William 
Whitaker, Amos E. Kitchen. William Ingold was a vagrant work- 
man who plied his needle at the houses of his employers, and was 
noted for his quips and quirks and idle pranks whereby he amused 
and often astonished the boys of the village. 

Honest John Reynolds, from Reading, was the veteran hatter, 
who for long years supplied men and boys with hats. Martin 
McCoUister was a more recent and very skilfull workman. 

Thomas Blackwell carried on the fulling-mill and saw-mill near 
what is now the junction of Mill and Bloom streets. 



40 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The first brewer was Richard Matchin. The citizens of that day 
were not, as we now phrase it, educated up to a due appreciation of 
that beverage, consequently it proved less profitable than brewing 
lager, weiss, and buck beer at the present time. 

George Wilson was the first cabinet-maker, and some of his sub- 
stantial old-style furniture has survived to the present days. Bur- 
rows Moore was long engaged in the same business. 

The Scotch weavers had been famous in the early days of the set- 
tlement. Of those who were engaged in the business fifty years 
since I can now only recall the names of Christopher Smith and 
Peter Goodman. The latter was a most respectable and industrious 
German from the Fatherland. 

Coppersmiths and tinners — Alexander Wilson, James Wilson, 
John C. Theil. 

Watchmaker and jeweler, Samuel Maus. 

There were several saddlers — Alexander Best, Hugh Flack, Daniel 
Hoffman, and possibly others. 

Rifles were in demand, and had always been much used by the 
pioneers. These were supplied by Samuel Baum and George Miller ; 
the son of the latter succeeded him and still continues the business. 

Of public functionaries, we had but few, and their removals were 
few and far between. In the language of an eminent statesman it 
might then have been truly said: "Few die and none resign.' 
Judge Seth Chapman was long the presiding judge of our courts. 
He was a man of moderate legal attainments, yet he made a good 
presiding officer. He was assisted by his associates. Judges Mont- 
gomery and Rupert. George A. Frick was prothonotary, having 
been appointed to that office by Governor Snyder in 1813. 

William Wilson, Rudolph Sechler and Joseph Prutzman were the 
justices of the peace; Andrew McReynolds, sheriff; Daniel Cam- 
eron, constable. Mr. Sechler was also register and recorder. Jam.es 
Longhead, a dignified yet popular gentleman of English origin, was 
postmaster, and held the office for the long term of fourteen years, 
twice as long as any other, with one exception. The office was first 
established in 1 806, Judge Montgomery being the first one appointed, 
and held his commission from President Jefferson, and filled the office 
for seven years. This just and pious man discharged this trust, as he 
did all others, to the entire satisfaction of the Government and the 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 4' 



community. He was succeeded by that other faithful public servant, 
Rudolph Sechler, who held it for a like term of seven years, until 
Mr. Longhead's appointment. I never knew a more honest man 
than Mr. Sechler. With him it was innate. He could not be other- 
wise than honest. His countenance, his actions, his words, in short, 
everything about him proclaimed his sterling integrity ; and what 
gave a charm to it he was quite unconscious of his being more honest 
than other men. Of his large number of connections I never knew 
one whose integrity was called in question. It is highly gratifying 
to know that in the seventy years the office has been in existence, 
there has never been a defaulter to the National Government, and 
that all of the thirteen incumbents of the office have diligently and 
faithfully discharged the trust reposed in them. Had the same care 
and discrimination been exercised in making appointments elsewhere 
the nation would not have been disgraced by the peculations and 
plunderings of the people's money by unfaithful officers. 

One of the eccentric characters of the vicinity was Mr. Fin- 
ney, who died ten or twelve years subsequently to the period of 
which I write, almost a centennarian. He was a man of gallantry, 
a kind of Beau Nash of more than eighty, with a peculiar child-like 
tenor voice, who delighted to play the gallant with the young ladies 
of the village, and drive them around the place and vicinity in his 
old style chaise. Robin Finney, as he was always called, from his 
great age and attention to the fair sex was a great favorite vvith them, 
and was well-known to the people of that day. His chaise and one 
owned by General D. Montgomery and one by Judge Montgomery, 
were the only pleasure carriages of that kind in the county. The 
old time carriage of Philip Maus which attracted the attention and 
excited the wonder of the village urchins and the more modern car- 
riage of General Montgomery were the only pleasure carriages of 
that style. Traveling on horseback was then the proper thing for 
both sexes, old and young, gentle and simple, and its general disuse 
is to be regretted. But it was too slow a mode of locomotion for 
this fast age. 

Abe Brown was an African, or an American of African descent, 
and the only one in the place. He had been a mariner, and after 
he came here was a servant to Mr. Longhead. He emigrated to 
Mahoning county, Ohio, where by industry and frugality he ac- 



4^ HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

quired a competency and enjoys the respect of the community where 
he resides. Jack Harris was an octoroon, a fine looking lad, and 
so nearly white that he might pass for an Anglo-American. Though 
not darker than a brunette, the rude boys persisted in calling him 
Black Jack. These boys attended the schools, and were treated with 
more justice and consideration than fell to the lot of their race after 
the aictinn that black men had no rights which the whites were bound 
to respect. 

The members of Congress resident in Danville were as follows : 
General Daniel Montgomery, in 1810. This eminent citizen was 
one of the leading pioneers, and enjoyed the confidence and respect 
of the people. He was the Nestor of the community and resided 
in dignified retirement on his fine farm a mile or two up the river. 
Mr. Alem Marr who had from the organization of Columbia 
county been one of the leading lawyers, represented the district in 
1830. Doctor Petrikin, a man of great energy, with strong attach- 
ments and equally strong resentments, was a member from 1837 to 
1843. Although no great orator, he was a man of influence in the 
House. I met him at Washington during the exciting times in 
which he served and was impressed with his power as a politician. 
Mr. John G. Montgomery, an able lawyer and member elect to the 
Thirty-fifth Congress died in 1^57 before the time arrived to take 
his seat. Mr. Leidy, his successor, served in 1858-9. Doctor 
Strawbridge was the last resident who represented the district in 
Congress. 

The great flood of 181 7, usually called the August flood, sur- 
rounded the place so that, for the time, it became insular. The 
only approach was by boats. I saw the bridge over the brook on 
the road, then an extension of Church street, float away with a 
man on it who secured it before it reached the river. 

The inhabitants were supplied with flour from the mills of John 
and Alexander Montgomery and Joseph Maus all propelled by the 
water of the Mahoning. Farmers in the vicinity took their grain in 
sacks to the mills ; the miller ground it for a toll of one tenth. 
Except for the Baltimore, Philadelphia, or Reading markets, it was 
seldom put up in barrels. Steam power had not been introduced 
in the place or neighborhood, except at Boyd's mill which was then 
a new one on the left bank of the river above town. 



FIFTY YEARS AGO. 43 



Whiskey was the Archimidean lever that moved the world. Con- 
tracts could not be made or performed without its potent aid. The 
merchant kept it on his counter, for his customers would not pur- 
chase goods without it. It was indispensable at musters and elec- 
tions. The farmer's fields could not be cultivated without its use as 
a motor. Mr. Robinson, in the vicinity, offered the laborers who 
were employed in his harvest fields extra pay if they would dispense 
with it, but they refused. The temperance cause was advocated by 
its friends, but its opponents, numerous, defiant, and violent, deter- 
mined that their liberties should not be subverted by a few fanatics 
who were worse than the Federals. 

The Mormon delusion was in its incipiency. Joseph Smith, Sid- 
ney Rigdon, and Pearly B. Pratt were its chief apostles. Through 
their zeal it was introduced in Palmyra, Kirtland, Jackson county, 
Missouri, Nauvoo, and, finally, at Salt Lake City, at which latter 
place its most revolting feature of polygamy was introduced. The 
present revelator and prophet boasts that he has more control ovar 
his people than Moses had over the Israelites, yet he claims more 
credit for having produced ninety-three bushels of wheat from one 
acre than for any other of his deeds. 

Slavery was acquiesced in under its constitutional guaranty. It 
was to be let alone, but no more slavery. Slaves were to be given 
up, but the area of slavery was not to be extended. ^ 

The first half century of our Independence was at its close. On 
the 4th of July, its two powerful advocates, Adams and Jefferson 
closed their long and eventful lives just fifty years after they had 
signed our great Charter of Liberty. 

At that time, John Quincy Adams was President and J. Andrew 
Shulze, Governor. Stealing tlie public moneys was not then dis- 
guised under the mild terms of defaults and discrepancies. 

The half century just closed has been an eventful, almost a mar- 
velous one. In 1826, we had no railways, telegraphs, type-writers, 
gas, petroleum, no canals, iron furnaces, forges, rolling-mills ; no 
bridge over the river, no fire engines of any kind, nor many other 
indispensable improvements, deprived of which we would speedily 
retrogade to what we were at that period. The population has in- 
creased more than tenfold, and Danville has kept pace with the rest 
of the world, and shown an energy and perse verence worthy of 



44 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

her, notwithstanding the many depressions and conflicts incident to 
her position as a great manufacturing center. Her numerous sons, 
dispersed throughout the great West, and in otner portions of our 
vast Republic, now in exile from her borders, look with pride upon 
her onward course in material prosperity, and her commendable 
progress in religion, morals, and science, the social virtues and the 
amenities of life, which they trust may continue, and enable her, 
for all future time, to maintain her elevated position in the good old 
Commonwealth. 

Si2,sQzze7LCL7XTi.CL JTloocls. 

There was an old tradition, or rather a prophecy, among the In- 
dians that roamed about the Susquehanna, that great floods in this 
river occurred at regular intervals of fourteen years ; and this in 
some degree proved true in die days of our fathers. The first great 
flood of which we have any account was in 1744; the second in 
1758; the third in 1772, and that which is known as the great 
''pumpkin flood" was in 1786. There being just fourteen years 
between each of these floods. The "pumpkin flood" was in the 
month of October and was so designated on account of the immense 
number of pumpkins that floated down the stream from the fields 
above. It began to rain on the 5th of October, 1786, and rained 
incesfantly for several days. The water rose rapidly and swept 
all before it. Several persons were drowned near the place now 
called Rupert, and at Sunbury houses were overflowed and many 
people were lost. Northumberland was also flooded and much dam- 
age was done. This flood was long remembered and known among 
the old settlers as "the great pumpkin flood.". In the spring of 
1800, just fourteen years after the " pumpkin flood," another great 
freshet occurred. It rained three days and three nights, carrying 
off a deep snow and doing much damage. In 181 4 there was 
another destructive flood that caused much loss of life and property. 
Here the old Indian tradition that floods occurred every fourteen 
years failed ; for the next was in 181 7, after an interval of only three 
years. The next flood of note was in 1847. If there were any from 
181 7 to 1847 we have no record of them. Many of my readers 
will remember that of 1859 which also raised the water in the 
North Branch over eight feet above high water mark. Still more 



OLDEX HABITS AND CUSTOMS. 45 

vividly do they remember the extraordinary flood of March, 1865. 
The exciting scenes in Danville on the 17th and i8th days of that 
month will never be forgotten. The river began to rise on Fri- 
day,, and on Saturday the water rose to four feet above the highest 
flood on record. A great portion of Danville was overflowed and 
many families were compelled to leave their homes in haste. Women 
and children were taken from their houses in boats. The whole dis- 
trict from Sageburg to Mill street was covered with water reaching 
up Mulberry street and to the scales in front of the Montgomery 
building. The low lands along the Mahoning were also under water. 
On Mulberry as well as on Mill street boats and rafts were moving 
among the houses and gliding high over the gardens. The river 
bridge was much injured but withstood the onset. Many stables 
and other buildings floated about and found new and strange foun- 
dations as the water receded, without any regard to the side that 
was up or down. Only one man, Peter Greeti, was drowned at this 
place. He fell into the Mahoning from a small raft while attempt- 
ing to supply his family with coal. His body was recovered and 
properly cared for. Another great flood in the North Branch in 
1875 took the river bridge that had so long withstood the assaults 
of the angry torrent, but when the Catawissa bridge came down and 
struck it broadside it had to yield. It has since been rebuilt more 
substantially than before. We had very high water on the 12 th of 
February, i88r. 

Olclejh Hctbtts cLTid CuLstoirhs. 

The habits and customs of the last generation, it is true, may 
have been less refined in some respects, but they were more whole- 
some and more favorable to longevity. A thousand inventions of 
the present day, then unknown, invite to ease, indolence, and 
luxury ; but they are at the same time effeminating, and min- 
ister not only to new forms of bodily ailments but tend to shorten 
life. The physique, at least, of the last generation was superior to 
this, and as the full exercise of the mental powers depends on the 
proper development of the body, the palm of intellectual superiority 
and force of character may also be claimed. This is due to the 
habits and customs of the past and the changes that have been 
wrought in the last half century. 



4(> HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The boy who is reared in the lap of luxury grows up like a 
cryptogamous plant, and withers like Jonah's gouid in the strong 
light of the meridian sun. But he who from early youth is inured 
to toil, accustomed to simple diet, and taught by experience the 
lesson of self-reliance, will grow up strong and vigorous like the 
oak of the forest. Hence it is that not only the hardy athletes, 
but the solid thinkers and leading men of the times so often come 
up from the lower ranks of society and outstrip those who enjoyed 
every external advantage in the start. The habits and customs of 
the last generation were more favorable to the development of both 
mind and body. If not, why is it that the race of far-seeing and 
almost prophetic statesmen is passing away? Those now in the 
front ranks of political power are but pigmies in contrast with the 
leading spirits of the nation in the early history of the country. 
True, it is sometimes said they were only comparatively great, as 
others around them were small — ^just as the pedagogue is great in 
the midst of his pupils. But, "by their fruits ye shall know them." 
Their works and the fruit of their planting not only remain as 
memorials of wisdom and of human greatness, but the highest glory 
of the present statesman is to approach a? near as possible to the 
excellence of those who have gone before. 

But let us look at some of the customs and habits of the past, and 
whilst we may find much to amuse us, there is also much to chal- 
lenge our more serious attention. 

Pure air, exercise, and simple diet will produce a hardier people, 
stronger physically and intellectually, than impure air, close houses, 
feather-beds, indolence, and luxurious living. If the nourishment 
of the physical system consists of highly-seasoned dainties, and that 
of the mind, the no less poisonous aliment of the novel, both will 
become dyspeptic. 

Now let us go back for half a century and take a look at the old 
folks. What are our grandfathers and grandmothers doing ? See 
that rude pile of stones from which the smoke slowly arises. And 
what mea*is that " rap, rap, rap?" Sometimes it is muffled, and 
then again it rings out quick and sharp. The man is breaking flax, 
and in the early winter you hear the sound of the " brake " echoing 
all over the country. Near the barn, the women folks, with wooden 
paddles, are " swingling " and preparing it for the " heckle." Then, 



OLDEN HABITS AND CUSTOMS. 47 

in the long winter evenings they ply the spinning-wheel whose 
whirr is heard far in the night. See, that mischievous boy has got 
his fingers in the "flyers !" Ah ! that was the fate of many a 
youngster. The yarn thus spun was woven into cloth, and little 
else than " homespun " was worn in the family. The finer portions 
were bleached and made into underclothes and bedclothes, and the 
coarser into pantaloons, &c. There was too some taste about it. 
The thrifty liousewife with hickory bark dyed it yellow, and this, 
warp-woven with the natural woof, made what was called " sham- 
baree ;" or it was striped and barred with the same, Avhite and yellow. 

When the sheep were sheared, the wool was cleansed and ' • picked, ' ' 
made into rolls with a pair of hand-cards, spun on a big wheel, dyed, 
woven and made into winter garments, all within the family. Don't 
you remember the big wheel ? What a whirr the spinner would give 
it, and then step backwards to extend the thread as it took the twist, 
and forwards again as it wound on the spindle. Then she gave it 
another whirl that made it buzz and hum all over the house. A 
young lady who was a good spinner was respected accordingly in 
those days. Some went out to spin among the neighbors, and it was 
no uncommon thing to meet a woman on the road with a spinning- 
wheel on her shoulder, " going out to spin " by the day or by the 
dozen. Of course this passage from family to family was rather 
favorable to "gossip," and then we heard of "spinning yarns," 
but spinners generally married in due time. A few who did not 
were called "spinsters," and now all old maids are designated in 
the same way. 

When a young lady was married, no matter how humble the cir- 
cumstances of her parents might be, she always got an outfit of a 
bureau, a bed, a cow, and a spinning-wheel. If she had no parents 
to provide them, she went to work industriously until she earned 
them herself, or she was " bound to work " in a richer family until 
she was eighteen years old, and the bed, the cow, the bureau, and 
spinning-wheel were provided for in the indenture. In all cases the 
wedding was postponed until she had the outfit, as it was a lasting 
disgrace to marry without it. The more wealthy added a horse and 
a side-saddle, but the spinning-wheel was no less essential. We may 
hereafter take a look at a wedding in the olden time. At present 
we shall only glance at some items tending to establish the proposi- 
tion in hand. 



4S HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Again we listen to the regular sounds of a ceaseless hammering in 
yonder barn. Like the stroke of the flax-brake it is muffled at times, 
and again it rings out sharp and clear as it strikes the floor. They 
are threshing with the flail. These flails, were sometimes called 
'' poverty sticks," because the poorer day laborers went round among 
the farmers in the winter time and flailed out the grain for the tenth 
bushel. There were generally two in company, and the precision 
with which they kept stroke in striking the same spot and flinging 
the " suple " end of the flail round their heads would astonish you 
at this day. Each man could earn a bushel or more of wheat or rye 
in a day. Another mode of threshing grain then in vogue was to 
lay it on a floor and then drive a team of horses over it in a circle, 
until the grain was tramped out. Corn was threshed in the same 
way, for there were no machines to do the work. 

Wheat and rye were harvested with the sickle, and as many as 
fifty reapers could be seen together in, an oblique line gathering 
the golden grain. Good reapers were highly prized, and the best 
was generally made the leader for the day. It was considered mean 
for the owner to take the lead, as the number and the length of the 
rests under the trees, as well as the number of drinks, was regulated 
by the leader. Hence it was considered proper to have one who 
was disinterested. Of course, they looked for a full bottle of whisky 
and plenty of fresh water every " through," or oftener, if the field 
was long. These were usually supplied by little urchins, called 
"bottle boys." These "bottle boys," for small pay, were bound 
to have fresh water and the whisky at the proper time and place, as 
ordained by the leader. This was generally under the shade of a 
tree nearest the next resting place. Each reaper, in turn, seized the 
bottle by the neck and took a draught, as they said, "by the word 
of mouth," amid the songs and jokes of the gay reapers assembled 
for a brief respite under the wide -spreading walnut tree. At last 
the welcome sound of the dinner horn is heard, when a two hours' 
rest was taken. At four o'clock t-he lunch arrived and was often 
spread in the shade on the green sod, and never were the sub- 
stantial dishes of the good lady better appreciated nor were ever 
rosy-cheeked girls more heartily welcomed than those who brought 
them to the field. 

It may seem strange, but it is true, that there was but little 



CHRISTS EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 49 

drunkenness, notwithstanding the vvorkingmen drank from ten to 
twenty times a day, and the diseases that now choke the life out of 
habitual drinkers were unknown. The only solution is in the fact 
that the liquor was pure. Compounders of liquors had not been 
born, and it was free from the poisons now often decocted. This 
fact in addition to the constant exercise of drinkers in the open 
air, prevented injurious results. To drink was more common then 
than now. Scarcely a family was without at least a jug in the house, 
and many families bought it by the barrel. The boys could drink 
when they pleased, and whisky was always set out to visitors, and 
especially when the pastor called ; and the writer remembers well 
with what a bland smile some of these walked up to a decanter and 
seized it by the neck. It was then considered no less respectable to 
swallow spirits than it was to take a glass of water. It was cheap, 
too. Pure rye whisky was retailed at all the stores, at from eight to 
ten cents a quart. In public houses it was sold for three cents for 
half a gill. When a drink was called for at the bar the bar-tender 
always set out a half-gill stem glass and filled it himself. The cus- 
tomer himself never got hold of the bottle at all. But this was then 
regarded the same as it is for a saloon-keeper to measure out a glass 
of lager. Who knows but the world may continue to improve until, 
under its civilization, it will become the fashion to roll a keg ot 
beer to a customer, to take his fill, and call it a drink? 

All in all, as we rummage amid the memories of the olden time 
we find more to approve and less to condemn than we do when we 
look abroad on the boasted wisdom, light, and knowledge of the 
present day. 

CJtrist's JEptscopcLl ChuLTcTx. 
On the 28th day of October, 1828, the corner-stone of the 
Protestant Episcopal church was laid in Danville. Previous to that 
period a number of early settlers who had wandered beyond the 
reach of their respective congregations found themselves deprived 
of the privileges and ordinances in which they had been reared. 
Actuated by a common impulse they began to meet together for 
religious worship. Under these circumstances the prejudices of 
early life speedily gave way, and soon the flock was characterized by 
a oneness of heart and mind. For some time they had occasional 
4 



50 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

services in the court-house, under the ministration of Reverend 
James Depuy, of Bloomsburg, who also became their regular pastor 
for two or three years, after the church was built. The lot on 
which the church and parsonage are erected is situated in a central 
location, on Market street. The building originally cost about 
$6,000, the chief burden of which was borne by a i^^ff individuals. 
The following gentlemen composed the vestry at the period when 
the corner-stone was laid : Joseph Maus, John Reynolds, Jacob 
Swisher, Peter Baldy and Michael Sanders, George A. Frick and 
B. Appleman. But, strange as it may seem, there was not a single 
communicant of the Episcopal church among them. Peter Baldy 
and Michael Sanders were members of the Evangelical Lutheran 
church at that time. Mr. Sanders adhered to the Lutherans subse- 
quently, but Mr. Baldy became an Episcopalian. Some of the 
founders proposed to devote the new church building to the use of 
both the Lutherans and Episcopalians ; but they soon discovered 
its impracticability, and all finally agreed that the church should be 
devoted to the exclusive use of the Protestant Episcopal service. 
On the 25th day of October, 1829, just one year after the corner- 
stone was laid, the first communicants of the church, ten in num- 
ber, were confirmed by the Right Reverend Henry W. Onderdonk. 
Reverend James Depuy labored faithfully among them, and un- 
der his pastoral charge the foundations of a permanent congre- 
gation were laid. He is still remembered as a man of learning, of 
eminent piety, and deep devotion to the responsible duties of his 
position. He is described as rather tall and slender in personal ap- 
pearance, light complexion, amiable countenance, and a good 
speaker. He was very acceptable to his people. He was last heard 
of in Nebraska. Reverend Mr. Drake, of Bloomsburg, supplied 
the pulpit occasionally after the departure of Reverend Depuy. 
Reverend A. Landerback was the next rector. He remained for 
about five years. He at the same time had charge of the church 
at Sunbury. He is, also, affectionately remembered by the older 
members. He removed to Iowa. The next in order was Rev- 
erend R. M. Mitchison, who remained only about six months 
and was succeeded by Reverend Milton C. Lightner who assumed 
the charge in 1842. He officiated in Christ's church for about seven 
years with great acceptance. He removed to Manayunk, and Rev- 



INDIANTO IVN. 5/ 



erend Mr. Elsegood, formerly a minister in the Methodist denom- 
ination, took his place in Danville. At the end of two years Rev- 
erend Mr Elsegood removed to Easton and was succeeded here by 
Reverend Mr. Page of New York, who also remained two years. 
In February, 1855, Reverend Edwin N. Lightner, brother to Rev- 
erend Milton C. Lightner, succeeded to the charge of Christ's 
church, and continued its rector until May, 1S70, when the loss of 
health compelled him to resign the charge. Reverend Edwin N. 
Lightner occupied a high place in the affection and confidence of 
the community, as well as in the hearts of the people to whom he 
ministered for about fifteen years. He resides in Riverside. In 
September, 1870, Reverend J. Milton Peck was called to the rec- 
torship of Christ's church, in which he still continues. His minis- 
tration seems very acceptable to his people and the church is pros- 
pering under his care. 

In 1845, some improvements were made in the church buildings, 
and in 1856 the congregation spent nearly $3,000 in improving and 
beautifying both the interior and the exterior of the building. It 
now presents a very handsome appearance with its stylish archi- 
tecture, its brilliant stained glass and general ornamentation. It 
is surmounted by a double cross rising in solemn grandeur amidst 
a beautiful grove of forest trees, and an excellent bell calls the wor- 
shipers to the sanctuary. The interior is ornamented in appropriate 
style and is furnished with an excellent organ. A pleasant par- 
sonage adjoins the church. It is proper to say that Mr. Peter 
Baldy, Sr., one of the founders of the church, has been its main 
support for more than half a century up to the time of his death in 
1880, and left to the church $50,000 in his will. 

In the lower portion of Danville borough there is a lovely tract 
of level ground near the mouth of the Mahoning. This beautiful 
and picturesque locality with all its charms of scenery and with all 
its inspiring associations is still known by the unpoetic name of the 
" Creek's Mouth." Other localities with far less pretention to 
romance or historical importance rejoice in names that in some 
measure give expression to their beauty or recall the scenes that 
mark their history. But no, our people are a plain folk, and are' 



52 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

but little impressed with the spirit of romance. So we must accept 
the situation and continue to call it the " Creek's Mouth." There 
was an Indian village on this spot, and I give the savages some de- 
gree of credit for their taste in selecting this site for their village 
home. It was inhabited by a tribe of the Delawares, with a few of 
other names. The Delawares professed neutrality during the French 
war and continued their friendly relations, but like all others of 
their race they smarted under the impression that they were wronged 
out of their lands by the pale faces, and this made them sullen and 
treacherous. So we find the Delawares doing their terrible and 
bloody work at the massacre of Wyoming and in many of the mur- 
derous forays that mark with fiendish cruelty the annals of frontier 
life. 

The village at the mouth of the Mahoning was the home of the 
maiden, "nameless here forever more," that now sleeps in the dark 
ravine. Ah, yes, however rude the life, however wild and savage 
the surroundings, love will enter the heart, and nature will assert 
her claims in all conditions of human society. Here, too, within 
the limits of our town, for a season, tarried the renowned Tamenund, 
an old and venerated prophet of the Delawares, whose counsel was 
wisdom and whose judgment was law. He was more than one 
hundred years old at the time of the French war, and died among 
the remnant of his people in the State of New York. In this region 
we have one uncertain memorial of the great chief, and that is the 
name of a railroad station, (Tamanend,) on the Catawissa railroad. 
But Tammany hall, in the city of New York, which is named for 
the wise, old counselor, Tamanund, will long perpetuate his name 
if it does not always exemplify his wisdom. 

Rohevt C. G-rzeT. 

The venerable Justice Grier, late of the United States Supreme 
Court, died at his residence. No. 1428 Spruce street, Philadelphia, 
at the advanced age of seventy-six years, having been born in Cum- 
berland county. Pa., March 5, 1794. His fatiier was the Reverend 
Isaac Grier, who, shortly after the birth of his son Robert, removed 
to Lycoming county, where he taught school, preached to three 
separate congregations, and cultivated a farm. Young Grier was 
carefully educated by his father, and when old enough assisted him 



REVEREND WILLIAM B. MONTGOMERY. 53 

in the school and on the farm until at the age of seventeen he was 
sent to Dickinson College. Graduating in 181 2 with the highest 
honors he accepted the post of tutor for a year, at the end of 
which time he removed to Northumberland, where his father had 
establislied an academy that had gained a high character. Here 
Robert assisted his father, and on the death of the latter, in 1815, 
succeeded him as principal. He now, however, studied law and 
in 181 7 was admitted to the bar, and commenced practice at Blooms- 
burg, Columbia county. After remaining there a year he removed 
to Danville, soon obtaining a large and lucrative business. After a 
successful practice of about twenty years he was, in 1838, appointed 
by the Governor of the Commonwealth to the position of president 
judge of the district court of Allegheny county, and removed to 
Allegheny city where he lived until 1848. In that year he went to 
Philadelphia and continued a resident until his death. In i846 he 
was appointed by President Polk an associate justice of the United 
States Supreme Court, to succeed Justice Baldwin. As a circuit 
judge he also had charge of the circuit embracing Pennsylvania and 
New Jersey. In this capacity he presided at the celebrated trial of 
Castner Hanway, in Philadelphia, under the fugitive slave laws. 
During the war, although a life-long Democrat, he was a rigid, 
patriotic, and unfailing Union man, and loyally sustained the Gov- 
ernment. 

Judge Grier had resigned his position previous to his death, on 
account of failing health. He was one of our most eminent men. 
He was a brother to M. C. Grier, of Danville, who died a short 
time ago in this place. 

Jtevererid. WillLrLm J3. J^d^OTttgoTrLery. 

About 1 82 1, Mahoning, from having been on the frontier, and 
dependent, to some extent, for religious instruction on missionary 
labors, began to send missionaries abroad. Of these were Reverend 
William B. Montgomery, son of Colonel John Montgomery, one of 
the prominent pioneers of Mahoning, and Jane, his wife, daughter 
of Mr. Robinson, a devout and worthy pioneer of the same place. 
Mr. Montgomery was a lineal descendant of Captain Montgomery, 
born in 1666, and was an officer under William of Orange at the 
battle of Boync'Water, and for bravery in that memorable conflict 



54 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

was promoted to be a major in the British army. His son was 
Alexander Montgomery, born about 1700, and died in 1746. His 
son was Wilham Montgomery, born 1736, O. S., and was tlie lead- 
irfg pioneer of Danville, and died here in 18 16. His son was John 
Montgomery, born in 1765, and died here in 1834. His son, the 
missionary, was born here about the year 1788, and died in Indian 
Territory, in 1834. He was the eldest of the nine children of John 
Montgomery and Elizabeth, his wife, nee Bell. His brothers were 
James, Daniel, and John; his sisters, Jane, Margaret, Mary, Re- 
becca, and Elizabeth. 

William was a pious, studious youth, and his parents resolved to 
educate him for the ministry. His academic education was obtained 
at Nassau Hall, Princeton, where, it has been said, he was the class- 
mate of Alem Marr, who resided in Danville in 181 3, when Colum- 
bia county was organized, and was the first lawyer resident in the 
county. As theological seminaries were not then established in the 
country he studied divinity with that eminent divine Reverend 
John B. Patterson, who for nearly a third of a century was the 
pastor of the Grove Presbyterian church. His devotion to his re- 
ligious duties and ardent zeal made him desirous to engage in mis- 
sionary labors. Having been brought up on the border, where 
most of the pioneers had imbibed strong prejudices against the 
aborigines, with whom they had long feuds from the very beginning 
of the Mahoning settlement, and were generally more ready to in- 
jure or destroy them than to promote their temporal or spiritual 
welfare, he was not influenced by the popular prejudice against the 
savages, but, on the contrary, was elevated above it by his educa- 
tion and religion. He was accordingly appointed a missionary by 
the Union Foreign Missionary Society, to the Osages in the valley 
of the Arkansas. A few years later, this society was transferred to, 
or merged in, the great A. B. C. F. missions, without any material 
change in the relations of the missionaries. 

He was married to Miss Robinson in 1820. His wife was well 
educated and pious, possessed of every Christian grace, undaunted 
courage and unbounded zeal in the cause of missions, and was 
truly a help meet for him in the great work to which he had devoted 
his life. But their friends looked upon their acceptance of this ap- 
pointment as a great sacrifice on their part. Their mission was to 



REVEREND WILLIAM B. MONTGOMERY. 55 

the Osages at Union Station, on the margin of Neosho river, west 
of the Mississippi, twenty-six miles north of Fort Gibson, Indian 
Territory. It seemed at tliat day to be as remote from Danville 
as Tangariyika lake in equatorial Africa does now, and required 
doubly as long a time to journey to it. And yet, that station is 
now not very far from the geographical center of the nation. 
Amidst the benedictions and sorrowing farewells of their many 
friends who with reason feared they should behold their faces no 
more, these devoted and devout missionaries departed on their 
errand of Christian love and mercy early in the month of April, 
1 82 1. Samuel Robinson, Mrs. Montgomery's brother, accom- 
panied them. They, with a number of others, composing a con- 
siderable mission family, went via Pittsburgh, the Ohio, Mississippi, 
Missouri, and Osage rivers, enduring much exposure, suffering, and 
privation, and ended their toilsome journey of about four months 
August 2. Some idea of the hardships and exhaustion they endured 
may be ^earned from the fact that during their travels and within 
three months after their arrival the number of their family was 
diminished by the deaths of seven of them including Mrs. Mont- 
gomery and her infant child. Pious, noble, and heroic woman ! 
Her sacrifices in the cause of her Divirie Master, so far as visible to 
mortal ken, were unavailing for the promotion of the great cause to 
which she had dedicated her life and energies It was well. Her 
Father in heaven in kindness, mercy and love, removed her from 
the afflictions which are in the world to the Paradise of God. 

After this afflicting bereavement Mr. Montgomery commenced 
his labors, but owing to his ignorance of the barbarous language of 
the Osages he found it extremely difficult to address them, as he 
was obliged to do, through the medium of an interpreter. He at 
once resolved to master their uncouth language. But it was only 
after long, persistent and laborious efforts he succeeded so as to 
address them in their vernacular tongue. He reduced it to writing, 
and with the aid of Mr. Ret^ua, completed an elementary book, 
containing a translation of various portions of the Bible. This was 
the first book ever written in their language. After long delay it 
was ultimately published by the society in Boston. Thus following 
a similar course to that pursued by John Eliot, the apostle of the 
Indians, two centuries before. 



j6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The privations to which these devoted Christians were subjected 
was fatal to many of them, particularly to the female portion. 
About two years subsequenty to the decease of Mrs. Montgomery, 
her husband was again married, to Mary Weller, his second wife, who 
lived only a few brief years, leaving him again bereaved. Never- 
theless, he never faltered in his labors for the welfare of the Osages, 
though surrounded and almost overwhelmed with discouraging diffi- 
culties, which would have caused most persons to have despaired. 
His energies and life itself were consecrated to the cause, and his 
efforts ceased only with his life. 

About 1 83 1, he was married the third time to Harriet Woolley. 
The health of the missionary family began to be more promising, when 
that scourge of mankind, the Asiatic cholera, invaded this con- 
tinent. In two short years it reached Union Station, in all its 
appalling virulence. On the 14th of July, 1834, it broke out at 
Hope field Station, near Union. Mr. Montgomery, assisted by M. 
Beatt, with great care and solicitude nursed and cared for the 
sick Indians and assiduously ministered to their wants, but "the 
pestilence that walketh in darkness, and the destruction that wasteth 
at noonday," prostrated him on the 17th. His unremitting care 
for the poor Osages who were dying around him proved too much 
for his strength. In the midst of his. Christian efforts for their 
temporal and spiritual welfare, he was removed from the midst of 
his earthly labors. The swift-winged messenger of death came 
without warning, yet found him with his lamp trimmed and burn- 
ing. In twelve hours from the attack God took him to himself. 
Servant of God ! Well done ! His missionary brethren at Union 
hastened to him at Hopefield, but the vital spark had fled. From 
so pure and righteous a life as his the end could be none other than 
a triumphant one. Upon the first attack he exclaimed: "Can it 
be that in less than twenty-four hours I shall be walking in the 
streets of the New Jerusalem? I know in whom I have believed." 
And he peacefully passed away to the bosom of his Father and his 
God. He left messages of love to all his Christian brethren. He 
urged them not to abandon the Osages, and not to count any sacri- 
fices too great for their salvation. His wife bore her irreparable 
loss with great fortitude, and placed her trust in the Lord who 
doeth all things well. A few days subsequently she returned to 
Union Station. 



ORCHARDS. 57 



Beatt, the Frenchman, was the only assistant his wife had through 
his fatal illness. " Oh," said he, " I never saw a man die as happy 
as that man." 

His devoted wife was a few weeks later attacked by a bilious re- 
mittant fever, which on the 5th of September proved fatal. It was 
reported she also died of cholera, but she died of the fever, as here 
stated. 

Honor and praise to the memory of these devoted evangelists. 
Their labors and trials bring forcibly to mind those of the apostles, 
and especially those of St. Paul, who, leaving to others the conver- 
sion of the Judeans, labored long and successfully in Asia Minor, 
and ultimately extended his mission to the very pillars of Hercules 
in his efforts to supplant paganism by the light and power of the 
Gospel. So Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery, leaving their native homes 
and civilization behind them, and regardless of the perils which be- 
set them, without hesitancy braved them to end their days amongst 
fierce and savage men. Yielding to the convictions of duty they 
zealously labored in their Master's vineyard and sealed their devo- 
tion to His cause with their lives. And no Christian hero ever re- 
joiced more than they when called to depart to their homes in the 
heavens. " Let me die the death of the righteous, and let my last 
end be like his." 

Orc7iCLrds. 

After some interesting general remarks, Mr. Frazer observes in 
relation to the early orchards of this locality : 

About 1785, some of the pioneers in Mahoning, then almost co- 
extensive with the present county, planted small orchards. They 
were not deterred by the silly couplet, " He who plants pears, plants 
them for his heirs," for, with right-minded men, planting for heirs 
should be motive sufficient. Afterwards, during the last decade of 
the century, most of those who had large farms planted their 
orchards. By the year 181 2, these began to yield abundant crops, 
and the people within the boundaries of the present county were 
supplied with fruit, but much of it of a very ordinary quality ; the 
" crafte of graftynge, alterynge, and plantynge of fruites " not 
having arrived at the perfection it has since attained. 



SS HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

One of the first to plant an orchard was General William Mont- 
gomery. Possibly John Simpson, his predecessor in the ownership 
of the town tract, may have planted a few trees. This orchard was 
in the immediate vicinity of the old stone mansion-house, now north- 
east corner of Mill and Bloom streets, and extended to Ferry street 
or beyond it, and north beyond Centre street. It was composed 
chiefly of apple trees, with a few peach, pear, and cherry trees ; 
when in bloom it presented an attractive appearance. 

" And many a vernal blossom sprung, 
And nodded careless by." 

At the corner of the orchard, near Ferry street^ stood a cider-mill 
and press, all of the olden style. The mill was composed of a 
wooden wheel, six feet in diameter and a foot thick, with a shaft 
through the center, the wheel revolving in a circular trough or groove. 
In this groove the apples were placed, and by applying horse power 
to the shaft, passed the wheel over and crushed them to pomace ; 
this was then placed in a press of rude and simple construction, and 
the cider was expressed from it. This was the first mill of the kind 
I ever saw, and the first in the county, I believe. It continued in 
use until 1816 or later. 

From the cider, apple brandy was distilled, which was more prized 
by some than whisky. Cider-royal was made by adding a few gal- 
lons of whisky to a barrel of it. The London vintner, it is well 
known, fortifies his weak wines with brandy. The cider-royal was 
a favorite liquor with the young who had not yet been educated up to 
the full appreciation of whisky. Cider, with the addition of apples, 
was boiled down to apple-butter, an excellent article for the table, 
still in use. To make this, required constant boiling for about 
twenty-four hours. The services of a young lady and gentleman 
were usually called into requisition on such occasions, and they 
generally found stirring apple-butter to be no uncongenial employ- 
ment, for the process of butter making and courtship could, not un- 
frequently, go on simultaneously. 

Another early orchard was that of General Daniel Montgomery, 
on the eastern side of Mill street, partly on the ground now occupied 
by the Montour House. The trees bearing the choicest fruit were 
plainly designated by the number of clubs lodged on their branches 
by trespassers who took delight in stolen fruit. I have an indistinct 



ORCHARDS. 59 



recollection of a Fourth of July celebration, probably in 1814, in 
the orchard, and from this I have since had forcibly impressed on 
my mind the propriety of celebrating that day in a grove. I may 
here be pardoned for relating a trifling incident connected with that 
celebration. Provision had been made for a kind of pic-nic enter- 
tainment for the villagers and their families. Mr. Thomas W. Bell 
showed his gallantry by serving the ladies with refreshments ; coming 
to one of more greed than manners, who emptied the tray of cakes 
into her capacious pockets, " Well," said Dominie Pell, " some take 
one, some take two, but you leave none." 

Mr. Philip Maus had a large orchard on his farm, on the northern 
slope of an eminence between his homestead and the forks of the 
road to Mausdale. It contained good, but not the choicest fruit. 
It was one of the first planted in that vicinity. His son George 
devoted much attention to its care and culture, to 

" Teach the trees with nobler loads to bend ; " 

and by building fires at many places in the orchard at times of late 
frosts, supposed he several times saved the crop of fruit, or part of 
it from perishing with the cold. 

Beyond this orchard, on the Mooresburg road, were the small 
orchards of Justus Strawbridge, Lewis Maus, and Colin Cameron, 
of yoimg and vigorous trees, but probably now large and ancient. 

The next in date, probably 1791, was that of Mr. John Frazer, 
on the north side of the Bloomsburg road, and extending back be- 
yond Pleasant street, and between D and F streets. In this exten- 
sive orchard there was much choice fruit, all grafted, from the Bur- 
lington nurseries, then, or subsequently, famous under the manage- 
ment of William Coxe, the distinguished pomologist and author of 
" The Cultivation of Fruit Trees." It made a fine appearance, and 
was in full bearing in 181 5. Several trees near the house were al- 
most of forest size, and produced excellent crops. The Pennock 
was a large apple, with seven synonyms : the Newtown Pippin, a 
famous keeper ; the large and rich Vandervere, a native of Wilming- 
ton, with its eighteen aliases; the luscious Harvest apple, earliest of 
them all ; the Rambo, a native of Delaware, a favorite, which, 
around Trenton, was popularly styled the bread-and-cheese apple ; 
the Romanite, a small apple, but a great keeper, of a dark cranberry 



6o HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



color ; the golden-hued Porter apple ; the Maiden's Blush, a native 
of Jersey, the most beautiful of them all ; the Winesap, the Green- 
ing, the Russet, the large and luscious Spitzenberg, the Pearmain, 
the Doctor apple, which originated in Germantown, and doubtless 
others which have escaped my recollection. The Priestley apple 
had its origin in Northumberland, but was not very highly prized 
here. In this fine orchard, in autumn 

" The wide projected heaps 
Of apples, which the lusty-handed year 
Innumerous o'er the blushing orchard spread," 

cheered those who, in pioneer days, had long been deprived of this 
valuable fruit. On the eastern side of the orchard was a row of 
cherry trees, which bore profusely, and afforded a good supply of 
that fruit for the neighborhood. Near by there was also a number 
of peach trees, bearing fine crops of tiiat luscious fruit. 

The cider-mill and press were of the best construction, built by 
that skillful workman, Jacob W. Maus. The mill was composed of 
double cylinders ; the press was worked with a powerful screw, a 
foot in diameter. Eight or ten barrels of cider could be manufac- 
tured daily with them. I have seen none to excel them since. 

Mr. Daniel Frazer had an orchard just east of his stone mansion ; 
it was planted at a later period than the others \ the trees were young 
and thrifty, and bore good fruit, and were in good bearing in 1820. 

These were all Philadelphians, who had in that fine market ac- 
quired a just appreciation of good fruit, and made laudable efforts 
to procure it. Some of the trees were obtained in that city, some 
at Burlington, and some at Northumberland. In the latter place 
several English emigrants had introduced many choice varieties of 
fruits, and devoted much care to their successful cultivation. 

Mr. Paul Adams, a mile or two north-eastwardly from Danville, 
had a small but prolific orchard, chiefly of winter apples. I well 
remember at an early day seeing the trees bending under the burden 
of a luxuriant crop, and some of the boughs breaking oft", notwith- 
standing the props placed under them for their protection. Mr. 
Adams was an elder in the Presbyterian church, a just man of most 
venerable, and, I may with no impropriety say, apostolic appearance ; 
and this aspect was made the more impressive by his wearing a muslin 
cap of pure white on his venerable head, which was wholly destitute 

f hair. 



GEMERAL D AMI EL MONTGOMERY. 6f 



Three generations have enjoyed the fruits of these orchards, planted 
on the borders of civilization by the provident early settlers, but 
several of them are now occupied by the dwellings of the citizens 
within the corporate limits of the borough. 

In addition to these, John and Alexander Montgomery, the 
Sechlers, the Gaskinses, the Sanderses, the Diehls, the Rishels, the 
Fousts, and others, had orchards of which I knew so little, that I 
shall not attempt to describe them. 

The apple is said by Professor Salisbury to be highly nutritious, 
and he claims to have demonstrated that it is superior to the potato 
in the principles that go to increase the muscle and drain of man. 
Doctor Johnson highly esteemed it for culinary purposes. He said : 
" If possible, have a good orchard. I knew a clergyman of small 
income, who brought up a family very reputably, which he chiefly 
fed on apple dumplings." 

Before closing, I must mention the noted peach orchard of Mr. 
Michael Blue, two or three miles out on the hills. He was a Jersey- 
man, and theyaresaidnaturally to taketo watermelons and peaches. 
It was congruous, therefore, that he should have the best peach 
orchard in the settlement. It was an extensive one, of natural fruit, 
consequently of small size, but much of it good flavor, yet not such 
as would compete with the large and luscious fruit from Delaware 
and New Jersey, now offered by the fruiterers in the Baltimore, 
Philadelphia, and New York markets. 

GeTherctl DcLTvLel 2d^ontgomery. 

General Daniel Montgomery was born in Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania, and while yet a boy came to this place with his father. 
General William Montgomery. He was the most active and enter- 
prising member of the family. To him, mainly, we are indebted 
for the town itself and the current of trade that nourished its young 
life and growth amid the struggles of its early days. For him the 
town was properly named, "Danville." He opened the first store 
in the place, where the Montour House now stands, and he also 
engaged in many enterprises, both in and out of the town, but all 
tending to build up and to give substantial importance to the place. 
Like his father, he was elected to Congress, and held many public 
trusts that will appear in the progress of this volume. He died in 
Danville, in 1831. 



62 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

General Daniel Montgomery, from the universal testimony of his 
cotemporaries, was in all respects one of the best men that ever 
in his life work blessed the people of this place. He was not only 
active and enterprising, leading the way in every progressive im- 
provement, but he was at the same time just, considerate, and 
generous, kind, and charitable. Daniel Ramsey says, that in times 
of scarcity, often experienced in frontier settlements, General 
Daniel Montgomery would never refuse a poor man a sack of flour, 
but freely give it without payment ; but no man could buy grain or 
flour from him at any price, only for his own use. Speculators 
were not allowed tcmake " a corner" in those days. His death, in 
1 83 1, was felt as a severe blow to. the piogress of the town, and he 
was sincerely mourned by many who had shared his bounty, as well 
as by the people in general. His funeral was one of the largest ever 
witnessed in this place. It was not the " hollow circumstance of 
woe," but the stern reality. His memory is still gratefully cherished 
by those who knew the sterling character of his mind and the ever- 
lasting goodness of his heart. 

Items of 'Y^ore. 

The fort or block-house nearest to Danville was at Washington- 
ville. It was erected at quite an early day on ground now partly 
owned by Joseph Hartman. The fort stood a little up the creek 
from the spot where Snyder's mill now stands. Very recently, 
musket balls and other war-like relics have been found on or near 
the site of the old fort. 

Reverend Isaac Grier, father of Judge Grier and of M. C. Grier, 
late of Danville, deceased^ was an eminent scholar, who graduated 
at Dickinson College in 1788 and entered the ministry in 1791. 
He taught as principal of the academy in Northumberland for some 
years, and died in that place on the 23d of August, 181 4, in the 
fifty-first year of his age. He was not only a scholar, but a 
Christian in the full sense of the word. 

The first Bible society of Pennsylvania was organized at Milton, 
in 1816. Reverend J. B. Patterson, long the beloved pastor of the 
Presbyterian church in Danville, was the first president of the society. 

The old " Franklin Court " was located in the rear of the Mansion 
House, built by John Moore. It was a noted place of resort in the 



THE OLD BLOCK-HOUSE. 63 

olden time. There are some still living who can remember the 
gay and jolly times they had in old Franklin Court in the days of 
ai/ld lani^ syne. It has now disappeared, all but its cruml)ling foun- 
dation, and many of its old habitues like its ancient walls have gone 
into the shadows of the past. 

There was a celebration of the 4th of July in Danville, in 1807, 
at which Daniel Montgomery was president, James Laird vice presi- 
dent, and Andrew Russell secretary. On this occasion James Boyd 
offered a very curious toast. Political parties at that time were 
those who called themselves "Democratic Republicans," the Fed- 
eralists, and there was also an offshoot of the regular Democrats 
who opposed Simon Snyder and favored Spayd or some other 
Democrat for Governor. These were called " Quids." The toast 
referred to was as follows: " The Quids — a jackass a piece to them 
and a snail's horn for a spur, so that each mule may ride his own 
ass." 

TKe Old cL^loc'k.-IToiLse. 

The spirit ot improvement has rudely laid its relentless hands on 
the time-honored memorials of aiild lang syne. One by one the old, 
familiar objects that were wont to greet our eyes, are passing away. 
Among these cherished objects, is the old block-house. There in 
days gone by, the cheerful pop of ginger beer, enlivened the scene 
in the sultry summer time. Then how imposing the edifice stood 
when May became a squire and it became a temple of justice. The 
elements battered and the floods rolled into its cellar in vain. How 
the weather-beaten structure seemed to loom up among the loftier 
buildings reared around it, and how proudly it wore its chimney 
crown as the "Rangers" and the " Buglers " gathered beneath its 
ancient shingles when " court was called and the squire showed them 
that the " way of transgressors" is jailward. There too they con- 
centrated their forces in the long winter evenings to while away the 
passing hours, as he of the ermine regulated the fitful motion of some 
quaint or crazy, old clock ; or stewed the bivalves on that curious 
little stove. And when the trying time arrived to choose town 
officers, how they probed the character and weighed the chances of 
each sovereign whose name was presented for office. Finally when 
the ticket was agreed upon, then they passed the hat around for con - 



64 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

tributions to meet the expense of printing. On one occasion the 
hat had an unfortunate hole in the crown ; but tlie statesman was 
equal to the occasion. With solemn mien he held his open hand 
under the place where the hole was, and deftly caught the pennies 
as they sifted through. The next thing in order was to raise a unani- 
mous boom for the candidates chosen and as a rule they were suc- 
cessful. 

Venerable old building ! you came down to us from a former 
generation. Where now will the Rangers congregate ? I almost 
imagine I see them mournfully turning away, each with a chip as a 
memorial ; for lo ! the jack-screw was applied and the time of de- 
parture came. Farewell old block-house. The judge and the court 
may pass away, but a new legend shall be woven to charm a future 
coterie, when you have gone to kindling wood. In the palmy days 
of its glory the village statesmen assembled there and often displayed 
more solid sense than Congress or the cabinet. But it departed. It 
does not lie in ruins like Baalbec, Palmyra, or Pompeii ; but it went 
away bodily by force of jack-screws and rollers, and left not a chip be- 
hind. Even the kindly host, who once amid the cheerful voices and 
sage discussions of the aforesaid village statemen dealt out to them 
the steammg oysters and the popping, foaming small beer, he too with 
solemn mien took a bottle in one hand and a stew-pan in the other, 
and followed the venerable structure as it slowly rolled up Mulberry 
street. 

^OpU-lcttZOTh. 

The population of Danville, owing to its large manufactories, is 
somewhat fluctuating. Though of late years even the once floating 
element is becoming more permanent. The reason is found in the 
fact, that many of the workingmen have secured homes of their own, 
and have made this their settled residence. 

In 1840 the population of Danville was about 2,000. In 1850 it 
was 3,333, and in the census taken by the writer of this book, under 
the town authorities in 1855, the population was 5,422, of whom 
2,583 were females and 2,839 were males. In making this enumera- 
tion, I was assisted by Doctors Cromlish and Richter. In i860 the 
official report of Doctor Caldwell, enumerator under the authority 
of the United States, was 6,580. In 1870 L. O. VanAlen was ap- 



RANDOM ITEMS. 65 



pointed to take the census. He reported the population of Danville 
to be 8,129. In 1880 H. B. Strickland, P. C. Murray, John K. 
Geringer and Charles H. Gulick were the Government enumerators. 
They reported a population of 7,698. First ward, 2,029 ; Second 
ward, 1,392; Third ward, 2,276; Fourth ward, 2,001. 

Qi.cLTtd.orrL Tterrts. 

The steam mill on Church street was built by P. Baldy, senior, in 
1839. It is a solid, stone structure and is still in operation. Abram 
Sechler, the pioneer of band music, was for many years the engineer 
at the stone mill. It 's at present idle. 

The Cross-Keys was one of the early taverns in this place. It 
stood on the river bank, on the site now occupied by Robert Mc- 
Coy's residence. It was long kept by Mrs. Donaldson and was in 
its day the noted hostelrie of Danville. There the officers of the 
" Codorus," the pioneer steamer up the Susquehanna, were ban- 
quetted, on their ill-fated voyage ; and there on many a joyous oc- 
casion the villagers met in the olden time. 

The old charcoal furnace, and the first in this place, was built by 
B. Patterson in 1838. It stood near where the Catawissa railroad 
crosses the street, just beyond the Mahoning steam mill. When 
anthracite coal began to be used, the old furnace was abandoned 
and suffered to fall into ruin. The last vestige of the old stack has 
long since disappeared. 

Doctor Petrikin built a woolen factory near the present location 
of the co-operative rolling-mill, about 1830. After being in opera- 
tion for some time it stood idle for many years, as a habitation for 
" the owls and the bats." Some time between 1856 and i860 Dun- 
can C. Hartman converted it into a i)!aning-mill and did quite a 
lively business. It was afterwards used as a spike and bolt factory 
by the proprietors of the Rough and Ready ; but was swept away 
by fire in the winter of 187 1. 

There was a bank of discount and deposit opened in 1871 in the 
room now occupied by the "New York tea store," where Alex. 
M. Diehl presides, takes greenbacks and the "dollars of the dadclies," 
on deposit, and issues fine groceries, fruits and notions on which 
there is no discount. The bank, after some time, paid its depositors 
and discontinued the business. 

5 



66 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The Kevstone building, an elegant structure adjoining the 
Opera House, was built by Colonel A. H. Brown in 1874. It is 
now occupied by Sheldon & Co.'s dry goods store. Colonel Brown, 
as he is familiarly called, is one of those jovial, cheerful and gener- 
ous hearted men we meet only once in a while. He served in the 
One Hundred and Eighty-fourth regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, 
and was wounded in battle. He was a gallant soldier, a man among 
men. 

There was a grist and plaster-mill, known as the John Montgomery 
mill, that occupied the site of the stone mill that was burnt a few 
years ago. The stone mill was built in 1825 and there was a woolen 
factory and a carding machine at one end. This establishment did 
an extensive business in its day. Just back of Daniel Ramsey's 
residence there was a woolen factory built by General William 
Montgomery, who left it to Daniel and Alexander, his sous ; after- 
wards it was operated by Alexander alone, until 1839. The build- 
ing has now entirely disappeared ; but it was a great public benefit 
in early days. 

There was also a saw-mill a little further south, in the rear of C. 
Laubach's residence. This is also gone without leaving a vestige 
to mark the place where it stood. 

Some distance down the canal was General Daniel Montgomery's 
mill. The ruins are yet visible in the crumbling foundation of a 
building that was of so much benefit to the public, and the scene of 
so many acts of kindness to the destitute of that day. 

In 1 81 6 the ground occupied by the Montour House was an 
orchard, except the corner occupied by a small, two-story brick 
house, where Daniel Montgomery opened the first store in Danville. 
The ground from Mill street up the canal was a swamp extending up 
to General Daniel Montgomery's farm, which has since been known 
as the Pineo farm, and on which the asylum for the insane is now built. 
There in that extensive swamp the tall rushes grew and the bull-frogs 
held their evening concerts. 

A meadow, between the canal and Mulberry street, extended 
from Mill street up to the Pineo farm. It was partly overgrown 
with tall rushes and low shrubbery through which the creek mean- 
dered in the tortuous channel chosen by itself, and the green sward 
was on a level with its banks. Large and beautiful willows stood 
where now the cinder covers the ground and has almost buried rhe 



MONTGOMERY BUILDING. 6j 

Stream that struggles through its narrow bed far below the bald and 
barren surface of to-day. 

"Franklin Court " was an old-time cafe, that stood in the rear of 
the Mansion House, and was the theater of many diversified scenes 
in the drama of human life. The foundation walls can still be seen 
among the accumulating rubbish ; but it has almost passed out of 
the memory of man. 

John C. Boyd came to Danville about 1820. He was a descend- 
ant of a prominent and patriotic family of Chester county, Penn- 
sylvania. His remote ancestors were from Ireland. After he came 
to Danville he married a daughter of General Daniel Montgomery, 
and engaged in merchandising, in the room that had been occupied 
by his father-in-law. In 1824 he sold his stock of goods and located 
on a tract of land that had been given to Mrs. Boyd as a marriage 
portion, by General Montgomery, and since known as " Boyd's 
farm." It is some two miles up the river on the opposite shore. 
There he built a flouring-mill that is still in operation. He also 
enlarged the farm by purchase of adjoining lands, built the home- 
stead and greatly improved the property. The snow-white and 
cheerful homestead affords a pleasant and beautiful view, with its 
surroundings, from the heights round about Danville. Mr. Boyd 
also joined with much energy in the various enterprises and public 
improvements of the day. Affable in his manners, generous, firm 
and enterprising, he won the respect of his fellow-citizens and made 
for himself an honorable record, and his children may be proud to 
bear his name through the world. But death came in the midst of 
his usefulness and closed his career while it was yet high noon. He 
died on the i8th day of August, 1849, in the fifty-sixth year of his 
age. His sons inherit much of the sterling qualities of mind and 
heart that characterized their honored father, John C. Boyd. 

J^IoTLtg oirhe.ry QQjJLtZdtrig . 

Alexander Montgomery, who was born in the old mansion across 
the street from this building, and who died at the age of three score 
and ten, in the very chamber of his birth, was the founder of this 
edifice, as well as one of the early founders of Danville, and it still 
bears his name. The town received its name from his brother, 
General Daniel Montgomery, by whom its original foundation was 



68 HISTORY OF DANy/LLE. 

laid. Highly respected in their day, their memory is still grate- 
fully cherished by their descendants and those with whom they 
were associated in life. But to the building. The first wing, or 
that on Bloom street, was erected in 1841, by Alexander Mont- 
gomery, and the other portion of the structure was erected in 1845. 
On the 28th day of April, 1848, it was entirely destroyed by 
fire, involving a loss of some $15,000. It was occupied at the time 
of the fire by A. F. Russell's dry goods store ; M. C. Grier's drug 
store ; the office of the Danville Democrat, published by Charles 
Cook, Esquire ; Mrs. Lenhart's dwelling ; and J. G. Maxwell's dry 
goods store. Mr. Russel lost about $4,000. Mr. Grier's loss was 
near $3,000. Mrs. Lenhart's furniture and the office of the Demo- 
crat, with the building, were aU a total loss. During the same 
season Mr. Montgomery contracted with A. G. Voris for its re- 
building, but Mr. Montgomery died before its completion. The 
executors, Andrew F. Russell and Michael C. Grier, however, car- 
ried out the contracts, and the present Montgomery building was 
completed the same year. It is advantageously situated, at the cor- 
ner of Mill and Bloom streets, in the center of business operations, 
and is still one of the prominent objects of the town. It has a 
front of sixty feet on Mill street, extending fifty feet on Bloom 
street, and is three stories high. 

"" tTOTLTTLCiltSTrL. 

Generally speaking, journalism in Danville is not in the front 
line of local progress. There is an evident want of the compre- 
hensive power and consequent influence of the progressive news- 
paper. It should lead the way in giving tone and character to its 
locality presenting its advantages, inviting the investment of cap- 
ital, extending the labor market, and thus aid in building up the 
town and giving it character abroad. It should reflect in its columns 
the material progress, the intellectual, social, moral and religious tone 
of the community. 

The local journal should be on the front line of progress, and at 
the same time the steadfast conservator of established principles. 
It should not only disseminate the current news of the day ; but its 
manifest power should be devoted to the welfaie of the community. 
On a higher plane than a mere agent of neivs, it should defend the 



yOURNAL/SM. 6g 

right and oppose the wrong on all subjects involving human rights, 
moral ethics or social economy. An intelligent people at the 
present day will demand something more of a family visitor than a 
mere dispenser of news. Positive ideas are required, and always 
pointing in the right direction. The local journal should lead the 
way in every wholesome enterprise, presenting local advantages, in- 
viting the investment of capital, extending the labor market and 
thus aid in building up and giving tone and character to its locality. 
It should reflect in its columns the material progress, the intellectual, 
moral and social advancement of the community. 

When we survey the active and growing trade in our midst, with 
the noble work of our moral and religious institutions, anil then 
peruse our local journals, we pause and wonder what has become of 
the boasted power of the press. On the other hand there seems to 
be a misapprehension in relation to the claims and the importance 
of the newspaper. I know by experience that the local journalist 
has many difficulties to encounter, not the least of which is the want 
of appreciation, especially when he essays to lift the standard above 
the common level, and fails to charm the prurient desire for that 
which is akin to gossip. Too often, the journalist who panders to 
the depraved appetite of the unthinking will thrive and grow rich, 
where he who aims to elevate society would starve to death. Much 
of the character of the local journal depends on the community. 
If the public prefers to pay for trash, petty gossip or party twaddle, 
then is the community in a measure responsible for the trifling 
character that too often marks the public journal of the present day. 
The American under the control of its founder, established a repu- 
tation throughout the State, not because it carefully noted local oc- 
currences but because it was a reflex of its locality, presenting con- 
tinually the past, the present, and the future probabilities of Dan- 
ville. The business enterprises, its vast capabilities and its general 
sentiment were known and judged by the standard presented in its 
columns. But a local journal should be a reflex of public sentiment 
only when that sentiment is right, or negatively, in its efforts to cor- 
rect that which is erroneous. It should be progressive, leading pub- 
lic sentiment onward and upward, instructing the young and guid- 
ing their ambition in a proper direction. It should inform all who 
read its pages, not only on the current events of the day but on 



7o HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

all subjects that lie within the scope of newspaper discussion. It 
should lead the way in every material interest and in all that can 
minister to the public welfare. In a word, it should be a household 
companion, whose cheerful presence adds to the sunshine of life, 
whilst* it also educates, ministering to the pleasure and profit of all 
who peruse its columns. Such is a model newspaper. And now for 
a hasty sketch of the Danville newspapers during the last sixty-seven 
years. 

The history of the pioneer newspapers in Danville is very meager. 
No files were kept and their very names are almost forgotten. One 
copy of the Express, dated 1818 is all I could find. It is faded 
with time and contains little about the local situation at that day. 
The Columbia Gazette was published by George Sweeny .in 181 3 
and this was no doubt the first newspaper enterprise in Danville. 
In 1815 Jonathan Lodge established the Express. It was after- 
wards published by Lodge & Caruthers. Judge Cooper was also 
among the early editors of this place. The Watchman was estab- 
lished in 1820 by Mr. Sweeny, on the corner of Market and Ferry 
streets, now occupied by the residence of Doctor Simington. All 
these papers were mainly reprints of foreign and domestic news ; 
except when Judge Cooper and George Sweeny pointed their sharp 
goose quills at each other. This was the introduction of newspaper 
war in Danville ; and that spirit has marked the course of local 
journalism ever since. It is a war that is not over yet," though it 
shakes no " bloody shirt." 

" The- .DcLTZj^ille TTitelltg en,cer . '-' 

The Danville Intelligencer was founded by Valentine Best, in 
1828, as the organ of the Democratic party. Valentine Best was a 
man of strong will, ardent passions and in his dealings scrupulously 
honest. He stood deservedly high in the respect and confidence of 
the public generally, though his paper was intensely Democratic 
and one of the most bitter and unrelenting against a political op- 
ponent. The Intelligencer {xo\x\ its first issue in 1828, to the present 
time, has been the local organ of the Democratic party. In the 
days of Mr. Best it was arrayed against the Whigs, and many a 



THE DANVILLE INTELLIGEXCER. 71 



thrust he gave that grand old party. And when the Repubhcan 
party began to manifest its power, his warfare was directed against 
it with equal ardor and determined hostility. In 1850 Mr. Best was 
elected to the Senate of Pennsylvania. The contest however was 
less a political than a local one. Tlie issue was the question of 
creating Montour county. Accordingly he received the votes of 
those who favored the project and was opposed by those who ob- 
jected to the measure, without respect to party. In order to carry 
his bill through the Senate, which without his vote was a tie, po- 
litically he by his own vote and the sixteen Whig votes became 
Speaker of the Senate. He was much abused, but he bore it all 
])atiently, believing that the end justified the means. It was the 
Democratic party especially that denounced him for what was re- 
garded as a betrayal of the party, more especially as in the distri- 
bution of the offices in the Senate he by his vote gave one half to 
the Whigs. But he finally carried his darling project, and he re- 
turned home, believing that ihe sacrifice he had made of his party 
standing for the benefit of his immediate constituents would be 
properly estimated. He had almost made himself a political mar- 
tyr to accomplish the purpose for which he was elected. Bui he was 
mistaken. Gratitude is a quality little known in political parties. 
If a partisan loses caste, even in its own service, the pharisees of the 
organization curse him, simply because others do. Mr. Best had 
served his purpose. Bui the majority of his party ignored his claims 
when he sought a nomination for Congress in 1856. This is a bit- 
ter lesson that many earnest politicians have learned. After devot- 
ing his energies and the best years of his life to a party, he finds 
that political parties, like corporations, have no souls. After the 
death of Valentine Best, which occurred in 1858 the Intelligencer 
was published for some time by Oscar Kepler, in the interest of 
Mrs. Best. The establishment was then purchased by a number of 
leading Democrats, dividing the amount into shares, as it still re- 
mains. The first editor under the company proprietorship was J. 
S. Sanders. He took charge on the loth of September, 1858. Mr. 
Sanders kept up the paper to its old-time standard, and being a first- 
class printer he made many improvements in its mechanical depart- 
ment. In 1862 he left Danville and assumed control of a paper in 
Berwick. In the meantime, Thomas Chalfant had succeeded to the 



72 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

editorship of the Intelligencer, in which position he still continues. 
Mr. Chalfant moved the office from the basement of the Best resi- 
dence to the second story of Reed's building, by the canal, and 
afterwards to the room in Assembly building which was formerly 
occupied by the Montour American ; where it is now. 

The. JDcLTwtlle De-Trtocrctt. 

The Danville Democrat was established by Charles Cook, of whom 
a sketch will be found in this book. It was commenced in August, 
1840. He called it the Danville Democrat and Tarijf Advocate, 
though it always opposed the Democratic party. Mr. Cook con- 
tinued its publication until 1864, when he sold the office to Joel S. 
Baily as stated elsewhere. He also published a German paper dur- 
ing the campaign of 1844, which he called Der 2'ariff Advokat. 
In its editorial ability the Democrat was far above the average. 
While located in the Montgomery building, in 1845 the office was 
burned with that building. The old hand-press fell through the floor 
to the cellar but was rigged up and did good service for many years 
afterwards. During the latter years of its existence the Democrat 
was located on the second story of the building now occupied by 
W. C. Davis, on Mill street, in the First ward. 

Tlxe j\£ontoLur Ajne.TtccLrh. 

The Montour American was founded by the author of this volume. 
The first number was published on the nth day of December, 1855, 
in the Montgomery building. It was at a time when the Whig and 
Democratic parties each had a local organ — the one conducted by 
Charles Cook and the other by Valentine Best. The new paper, as 
might be inferred, had a hard struggle for existence in the beginning. 
But in the succeeding spring it joined in the support of Fremo it, 
and the paper steadily gained in patronage, and proved a success 
under the administration of its founder. Indeed, the American was 
a popular favorite, and in its palmy days had a wide circulation 
among all parties. In 1859 I sold the American to George B. 
Ayers, of Harrisburg. During his ephemeral editorship, he called 
it Montour Herald. After a few months he abandoned it and re- 
turned to Harrisburg, having lost the greater portion of its patron- 
age. In October of the same year I repurchased the material, and 



THE MEDIUM. 73 



resumed its publication. The old name was restored and its former 
patrons returned to its support. It was now located in the second 
story of Gross' building. The American was prosperous and now 
was firmly reestablished, enjoying its old-time popularity. But as 
there were now two Republican papers in Danville, it was deemed 
best by politicians, that they should be united, as there was naturally 
always some trouble about a division of the party patronage. Ac- 
cordingly in January, 1864, I sold the American to Joel S. Baily, 
of Chester county, Pennsylvania. Charles Cook also sold \.\\QDemo- 
crat to the same purchaser, who united the offices and located in 
the Assembly building. But in the Autumn of the same year, Mr. 
Baily, tired of the business, sold it, and I once more assumed its 
control, and once moce gathered its scattered patronage. After some 
time I moved the office into the Montgomery building, entrance on 
Bloom street. Here I greatly improved the material of the office 
and enlarged the paper, and here I brought the first power press, as 
I had previously brought the first jobbing press to Danville, and sub- 
sequently I also brought the first steam power to a newspaper office, 
as well as piloting the way in many other improvements. In 1871 
the office was sold to William H. Bradley and Lewis Gordon for 
.$5,000 cash. The American office having originally cost $600, it 
will be seen that ray efforts increased its value $4,400. Some few 
years later Mr. Gordon sold his interest to Joel Bradley, and subse- 
quently William H. Bradley sold his interest to Edward Baldy, who 
afterwards sold to his brother, and it is now published by Bradley 
& Baldy. on Mill street, having removed it from Moyer Dyon's 
building which had been expressly built for the office. There is no 
vanity or egotism in appending the fixct that the American to-day 
has lost popularity but is still supported as the local organ of the 
Republican party. 

T7ze J\£ecltujTt. 

After the sale of the Montcur American to Messrs. Bradley and 
Gordon, in 187 1 I established The Medium in a seconci story of 
Moyer Lyon's block. This was a semi-weekly and is known as the 
gem of all the Danville newspapers. Many of its files were bOund 
and are carefully preserved ; and although it was published less than 
a year, yet as much as twenty dollars has been refused for a bound 



74 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

copy of its file. To the Medium office I brouglit the second, as I 
had also brought the first, newspaper ])ower press to Danville. The 
printer boys in the Medium office, H. L. Gould, R. W. Eggert, N. 
C. Prentiss and Clarke Umstead, well remember that model press 
as the most complete and beautiful machine they ever saw in a 
country printing office. Richard W, Eggert had charge of the 
newspaper department, and took especial pride in making it a thing 
of beauty. In fact he is proud of it yet. In the spring of 1877, 
very unfortunately, I sold the Medium office to a company called the 
"Danville Publishing Company." This was done with a view to 
establish a large printing house in Danville. They changed the 
name to The Independent and moved the office to the basement of 
Thompson's hall. 

''The- ZncZeperhderht.'' 

The Danville Publishing Company was organized under a charter 
granted by the Legislature. Mr. William J. Reed was chosen presi- 
dent, Mr. William Keiner treasurer and D. H. B. Brower secretary. 
I was also employed as editor. The company then bought a new 
chromatic jobbing press on credit and also incurred a debt of several 
hundred dollars in New York. All this time not a cent of the stock 
was paid in, and in less than nine months the establishment was 
seized for the debts referred to ; it was sold by the sheriff and I 
never received a penny for the Medium office. My loss was over 
$2,000. The loss of the company wa^ nothing as they never paid 
anything. By some mystery to me unknown, the office fell into the 
hands of S. P. Kase. This loss to me, with the loss met in adjust- 
ing the complicated interests involved in the sale of the American, 
swept away the fruits of all my toil for many years and left me with- 
out means to pursue my favorite profession. 

The j\£entor. 

In the autumn of 1873 ^"^ ^'^^ material of The Independent was 
lying idle, 1 joined a party consisting of Richard W. Eggert, John 
Lesher, William H. McCarty and myself in publishing The Mento?'. 
A printing house was built in the rear of the Mansion House, now 
occupied by the National Record, and the printing material was 
leased from Simon P. Kase. But it was not a success, and it was 
abandoned the following year. 



SAGEBURG. 75 



The. DcLirville, ^.ecoTcL. 

In the spring of 1876 Mrs. A. P. Fowler purchased the printing 
mateiial of S. P. Kase and employed me to conduct an independent 
paper for "The Danville Printing Company, limited," to be styled 
The Danville Record. The first number was issued on the 1 6th day of 
March, 1876. It at once received a large circulation and was patron- 
ized verv liberally by the business men of Danville. And here it is 
proTDer for me to say, that of all the devoted friends I ever had, and 
I have had many, there is none more richly entitled to my grateful 
remembrance than Mr. A. P. Fowler, of Scranton. He is true as 
steel to every promise, generous and faithful, a friend in whom there 
is no guile. Ah ! would the world had more like him ! In my 
charge the Record flourished for two years when circumstances ren- 
dered it necessary that the material should be sold. I was not in 
condition to buy, and as the hard times gave little encouragement 
for business in this locality the office was transferred to the new 
owners in March, 1878. , 

T7he JS^citio7^a.l Jtecoi^cl. 

The N'ational Record is a continuance of the Danville Record, 
commencing in the spring of 1878, the material of the Danville 
Record \\ZM\\\^^ been purchased by James Foster, Harry Vincejit and 
Victor A. Lotier. After some time Foster and Vincent sold their 
interest to Vic-tor A. Lotier, by whom the paper is now published. It 
has been enlarged and is a vigorous Greenback organ. Among the 
people it is valued mainly for its local department which is under the 
charge of Richard W. Eggert, who is an excellent compositor as 
well as a lively localizer. The Record is now the largest paper in 
Danville and has a fair share of patronage. It is published every 
Saturday. 

• ScLgebiLrg. 

Sageburg, sometimes called East Danville, is perhaps the most 
enterprising as well as the most beautiful section of this borough, 
and mainly constitutes the Second ward. From the ward line on 
Market street, it extends for half a mile or more up the river and is 
covered with various iron manufactories on the left and dotted over 



7b HISTOR V OF DANVILLE. 

with handsome residences on the right, between Market street and 
the river bank. 

Sageburg did not however derive its name from the pecuHar wis- 
dom or sage appearance of its inhabitants, for they are as lively and 
pleasant and seem to be as " gay and happy" as any other com- 
munity. Indeed they appear to have more taste than common, if 
we may judge by the elegance of their dwellings, the neatness of 
their premises and the peculiar charm of their surroundings. The 
picturesque beauty of a vine-clad residence on the banks of the Sus- 
quehanna, almost in the shadow of Blue hill, that lifts its loity 
crest for hundreds of feet above the majestic stream, can only be 
painted by the pencil of the artist or the pen of the poet. 

Many vears ago, only a single log building occupied the territory 
now known as Sageburg. In this building an old man by the name 
of Sage followed the coopering business. Not very poetic indeed, 
but he was a quaint and curious specimen of the genus homo. Be- 
mg a bachelor and anxious no doubt, like all the race of man, to 
leave behind him some memorial more substantial than a flour bar- 
rel to perpetuate his name, and evidently anticipating a brighter 
future for the locality, he gave it the name of "Sageburg," by 
which it is known at the present time, though it then contained 
only the one building and that a cuoper-shop. But the prospective 
growth of Danville in the distant future no doubt was dimly ap- 
parent to the old pioneer. He has long since passed away. His 
shop is no more and the skillful workmanship of his hands is for- 
gotten. But his name still survives by courtesy, though it has no 
legal recognition. Other portions of the territory have since been 
known by different names, originating from different sources, such 
as Snydertown, Lundy's Lane, Amsterdam and Kulp's Eddy, but 
all are included in the general name of Sageburg. 

Sageburg has become one of the most stirring portions of Dan- 
ville. The price of property is advancing and in no part of the 
town can you find so many handsome dwellings, surrounded by 
shrubbery and all the adornments that make pleasant and happy 
homes. The business establishments that have sprung up on the line 
of the railroad, the prospective free bridge, the advantages and 
beauty of the location, and above all the enterprise of the inhab- 
itants, conspire to immortalize the name of the old cooper, whose 



ST. PAUL'S METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 77 

highest ambition was to make a good flour barrel and dub the old 
wooden shop with the name his father gave him. 

Sageburg, or East Danville, though partially cut off from direct 
trade with the surrounging country on either side of the river, has 
outgrown all other portions of the town. In all its improvements, 
thrift, enterprise and taste are happily blended. Its manufactories 
teem with the fruits of industry ; its elegant residences and cot- 
tages, where fruits, flowers and the clinging vines in their season 
lend a charm to the scene, make it the favorite ground for summer 
promenading. It is the care bestowed upon their adornments that 
give it a rural beauty, combined with the advantages afforded by a 
town. 

Among the public institutions of Sageburg, or East Danville, apart 
from the religious or educational, is the " Washington Fire Com- 
pany." They have a handsome building on Market street, and are 
always prompt at the tap of the bell as well as efficient in action. 
Their hall is furnished in excellent style and decorated with peculiar 
taste, rendering it one of the most pleasant places to spend a social 
hour or to meet for mental improvement. Among the oldest in the 
fire department is Ex-Chief William C. Walker, but still among the 
most active, always prompt on time and ready for duty. 

The general intelligence, public spirit and social order of Sage- 
burg, like its external beauty, thrift and enterprise, will compare 
favorably with any other locality of equal population. 

Perhaps the handsomest building in that quarter is the " Cottage 
drug store." This was built by D. C. Hartman about i860 and is 
now occupied by Doctor Jordan as a residence and also as an ex- 
cellent drug store. 

St. JPcLixVs Ji£eL7zo(list Eptscopctl C?uircl\. 

I have consulted the authentic records of the Methodist Episcopal 
church and also drawn largely on the memory of those who watched 
its progress with prayerful solicitude ; but I am chiefly indebted to 
Mr. Duncan (L Hartman for the names and dates in the earher days 
of the church. How vividly the subject recalls the scenes of my 
own childhood and all the " fond recollections that cluster around 
the memory of home." Well do I remember old " Father Gruber," 
and " Father Hunter" in the missionary days of Methodism, when 
the devoted preachers of the old school were the bold and fear- 



JS HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

less soldiers of the cross and heroes of God, who sacrificed homes 
of ease without regret, and braved a weary life of toil without com- 
plaint. They were men whose liv-es demonstrated the doctrine they 
preached, and whose death was the triumph of a living faith. The 
humble piety and simplicity of manners that marked the personal 
character of Methodists in the olden time, was also exhibited in their 
dwellings and in the unpretending ''house," where they gathered 
to worship. With one' accord they ignored the frivolities of society, 
enforced the doctrine of humility and labored earnestly for the 
world's redemption. The fervent zeal, impassioned eloquence, and 
earnest solicitude for the welfare of others, readily explains their 
wonderful success. 

The precise period when the first Methodist preacher arrived at 
this place, is not now known ; but they were the second rehgious body 
organized here. The first regular conference appointment for Dan- 
ville was in 1791. This place was then included in Northumberlan^d 
circuit, which extended from Northumberland up the North Branch 
of the Susquehanna to Wyoming Valley, and up the West Branch 
to Great Island. The distance traveled by the circuit rider in making 
his round was three hundred miles, which was accomplished in six 
weeks. When the nature of the country and the roads are con- 
sidered the hardships of the preachers of that day may be imagined, 
and it required something more than the pittance allowed them, to 
cheer them onward in their arduous labors. This territory for 
many years was supplied by only two or three ministers, and it in- 
cluded present circuits and stations of Williamsport, Newbury, 
Muncy, Milton circuit and station, Northumberland, Mifflinburg, 
Lewisburg, Catawissa, Bloomsburg, Berwick, Bloomingdale, Orange- 
ville, Sunbury and parts of Bellefonte district. Some thirty or forty 
Methodist preachers are now employed on the same territory. 

Previous to 1804 Danville and the circuit in which it was located 
belonged to the Philadelphia conference. In that year it was trans- 
ferred to the Baltimore conference. In 1807 it was returned to the 
Philadelphia conference. In 1810 it was included in the new Gen- 
nessee conference and in 1820 it was re-assigned to the Baltimore 
conference, of which it still continues to be an appointment. 

The following is a list of the preachers who successively, and we 
might add successfully, labored in Danville and vicinity by appoint- 
ment of conference : 



ST. PAUL'S METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 79 

1 791, Richard Parrott, Lewis Browning. 

1792, James Campbell, William Colbert. 

1793, James Campbell, James Paynter. 

1794, Robert Manly, John Broadhead. 

1795, James Ward, Stephen Timmons. 

1796, John Seward, Richard Sneath. 

1797, John Lackey, John Higby. 

1798, John Lackey, John Lead. 

1799, James Moore, Benjamin Bidlack, D. Stephens. 

1800, Ephraim Chambers, Edward Larkin, Asa Smith. 

1 80 1, Johnston Dunham, Gilbert C'arpenter. 
1803, Anning Owen, James Aikins. 

1803, Daniel Ryan, James Ridgeway. 

1804, Thomas Adams, Gideon Draper. 

1805, Christopher Frey, James Saunders. 

1806, Robert Burch, John Swartzwelder. 

1807, Nicholas Willis, Joel Smith. 

1808, Thomas Curren, John Rhodes. 

1809, Timothy i^ee, Loring Grant. 
i8ro, Abraham Dawson, Isaac Puffer. 

181 1, B. G, Paddock, H. Baker, R. Lanning. 

1 81 2, George Thomas, Ebenezer Doolittle. 

1813, Joseph Kincaid, Joseph ChamberJayne. 

1 81 4, John Haggard, A. Dawson 

1 81 5, Reynolds M. Everts, L B. Cook. 

1 816, John Thomas, Alpheus Davis. 

181 7, Benjamin Bidlack, Peter Baker. 

18 1 8, Gideon Lanning, Abraham Dawson. 

181 9, John Rhodes, Darius Williams. 

1820, John Rhodes, Israel B. Cook. 

182 1, Marmaduke Pearce, John Thomas. 

1822, John Thomas, Mordecai Barry. 

1823, Jacob B. Shephard, M. Barry. 

1824, Robert Cadden, F. McCartney. 

1825, Robert Cadden, Richard Bond. 

1826, John Thomas, George Hildt. 

1827, John Thomas, David Shaver. 

1828, Charles Kalbfus, William James. 



HISTORY OF DAMVILLE. 



T829, James W. Donahay, Josiah Forrest. 

1830, James W. Donahay, A. A. Eskridge. 

Berwick circuit was formed in I831 from that portion of North- 
umberland circuit, which made the labor of the preachers a little 
less. Danville was still included in the old circuit of Northumber- 
land and was supplied by the following preachers : 

1 83 1, David Shaw. 

1832, Marmaduke Pearce, James Forest. 

1833, Josiah Forrest, James Reed, Jr. 

1834, Henry Tarring, Oliver Ege. 

1835, Henry Tarring, John Guyer, R. Beers, Thomas Myers. 
Danville circuit was organized in 1836, and also embraced the 

territory of the present Montour, Bloomsburg, and part of Orange- 
ville circuits. The circuit of Danville has been supplied by the fol- 
lowing laborers : 

1836, Joseph S. Lee, R. W. H. Brent. 

1837, Samuel Ellis, Stephen Hildebrand. 

1838, Robert T. Nixon, WiUiam Hirst. 

1839, Robert T. Nixon, J. W. Houghewent. 

1840, George Bergstresser, Joseph A. Ross. 

1841, George Bergstresser, G. Guyer. 

1842, John Ball, James Guyer. 

1843, John Ball, S. G. Haie. 

1844, James Ewing, George A. Coffey. 

1845, James Ewing, B. F. Brooks. 

In the year 1846, Danville was erected into a station. Since that 
time the following conference appointments have been made for this 
place : 

1846, John Guyer. 

1847, Philip B. Reese. 

1849, Thomas Mitchell. 

1850, Joseph France. 
1853, James Brads. 

1855, Thomas M. Reese. 

1856, J. Wilson. 
1857-8, William Harden. 
1859-60, B. B. Hamlin. 
i86i_3, J. H. C. Dosh. 



ST. PAUL'S METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 8i 

1864-5, A. M. Barnitz. 

1866-7, J. McK. Reiley, D. D. 

1868-71, F. Hodgson, D. D. 

1872-3, S. Creighton. 

1S74-5, F. B. Riddle, A. M. 

1876-8, VV. A. Houck. 

1879-80, J. Max Lantz. 

This brings up the succession to the present date. The present 
pastor, J. Max Lantz, is an eloquent preacher highly esteemed by 
his people. 

Rev. Wilson was the most unpopular of any preacher stationed 
here during my time. 

Rev. William Harden was a noble worker in the cause, and has 
gone to his reward. 

Rev. Riddle was an enigma. He was a man you could readily 
imagine would come in with a rush, rattle about four hundred words 
in a minute, close up suddenly, pop out at the back door, jump over 
the fence and push for home three laps ahead of every body else. 
He was a good scholar and said some excellent things ; but before 
you could grip them, he would jam in something else and the result 
was a muddle. 

Rev. Barnitz was a solid thinker and a plain, earnest, effective 
preacher. He was highly esteemed. 

Rev. J. McKendree Reiley, D. D., was perhaps the most popular of 
all the Methodist preachers, stationed here in recent years. He was 
in high favor with the community and was the chosen orator on 
public occasions. 

Rev. Dr. Hodgson was a finished scholar and was in the front rank 
as a controversialist. He wrote several books of great merit. He 
also has finished his work and gone to his rest. 

Rev. Dosh was an earnest and pleasant speaker and served his 
mission well. 

Revs. Creighton, Reese, Hamlin and Brads, all made an honora- 
ble record here, and could not fail in accomplishing much good. 

Rev. Houck, now in Lock Haven, is a splendid logician, remark- 
able for the clearness and force of his conclusions. As a pastor he 
is equally felicitous, kind in his sympathies, but stern and exacting 
where christian duty is involved. 
6 



82 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Rev. Lantz the present pastor in charge, is regarded as one of the 
best speakers with which conference has favored Danville. He is 
highly esteemed by his people and cannot fail to make a good and 
lasting impression on his charge. 

In looking over the list of preachers away back to the beginning 
of the century, how many delightful associations and stirring scenes 
are called to mind, by the octogenarians, as they peruse the names 
of the laborers who have broken the bread of life to the people of 
Danville. The introduction of one and the solemn farewell of 
another — the glowing eloquence of the young — the powerful logic 
of the learned — the kind persuasion of the compassionate — the fer- 
vent appeals of the enthusiastic — and the solemn warning of the aged, 
are brought from the store-house of memory, as the thoughts go back 
to the time when their living voices were heard in our midst. Many 
of these marshals in the camp of God, after performing deeds of 
heroism more glorious than the taking of .a strong city, or conquer- 
ing a world, have long since fought their last battle and gone to their 
reward ; and other sentinels on the towers are on their last watch, 
and soon will lay their armor by, "having fought the good fight, 
kept the faith, and finished their course," one by one will follow the 
van guard to that bourne from whence no traveler returns, to join 
the faithful of all ages and wear the starry crown of everlasting life. 

The first class in Danville was formed in 1815, and was originally 
composed of George Lott and wife, Mrs. Donaldson, William Hart- 
man and wife, and Samuel Steele. 

Public service, as well as class and prayer meetings were alter- 
nately held at private dwellings for a number of years, afterwards in 
the school-house that formerly stood on Church street, where also 
the first sabbath-school was organized in 1831. Public worship, on 
particular occasions, was also frequently held in the court-house. 
There Bishop Asbury preached on his visit to Danville, as did also 
the eccentric Lorenzo Dow. A brick church was erected in 1839 
for the use of the Methodist congregation, after having liberally con- 
tributed to the building of other churches ; but in 184811 was found 
to be insufficient to accommodate the membership, so they set about 
building the present church edifice, having sold the former house. 

The present Methodist church building is on Mahoning street. 
The size is fifty by eighty feet and with its galleries will seat eight 



WAJ? /RECORD. 83 



or nine hundred. The basement is used for class-room, Sunday- 
school and similar purposes. The material is brick, surmounted by 
a modest cupola containing one of the finest toned bells in this re- 
gion of country. 

'WcLT' Record. 

Neither Danville nor Montour county need blush to read its mili- 
tary record. For a score of years previous to the close of the last 
century the territory now included in Montour county, was on the 
border, and from necessity nearly all the citizens were recjuired to 
bear arms in defense of their families and their homes. The peace 
with great Britain was no security against the stealthy and treacherous 
attacks of the savage foes of the whites. These border troubles 
kept alive the military spirit of the pioneers until the angry disputes 
with England about the impressment of our sailors brought us into 
conflict with that power a second time. Then followed the Black 
Hawk war, the Florida war, the Mexican war, and more recently 
the most deplorable of all, the civil war. In all these conflicts the 
people of Danville and of Montour county did not falter, they did 
their duty, they bore a fair and chivalrous part in them all. To de- 
velop the martial element and render it efficient, a number of mili- 
tary companies were organized at different periods. 

The Danville Milllia. — This is the first company of which we 
have any record, and what we have is unsatisfactory. We only 
know that at the close of the last war with England, it was flourish- 
ing and well organized. It then had on its rod one hundred mem- 
bers, rank and file ; and was commanded by Captain Samuel Yorks, 
who had seen active service as lieutenant in the "Danville Blues." 
Captain Yorks was the deati ideal of a military ofificer, tall, sym- 
metrical and with a commanding presence, Thomas W. Bell was 
one of the subordinate officers of the company. Others are for- 
gotten, two thirds of a century having almost obliterated the recol- 
lection of those early citizen-soldiers. 

The Danville Blues. — This was a rifle company commanded by 
Captain Isaac Blue. The names of its members can only be recalled 
in part. The imperfection of the roll is a source of regret, as it 
would be a great satisfaction to all, and especially to their descend- 
ants, to know the names of those who so freely responded to the 



84 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

call of their country. The reader will find some matters of interest 
in relation to this company under the title of "Going to Black 
Rock." The following is a portion of the roll that can be recalled : 
Isaac Blue, captain, Asa Moore, 

Isaiah Blue, Abner Moore, 

Herbert W. Best, John Ivlills, 

Daniel Cameron, John McCoy, 

Colin Cameron, David Petrikin, surgeon, 

Alexander Campbell, Sanders, 

John Dugan, Samuel Yorks, lieutenant, 

Edward Morison, Jacob Sechler. 

This company was in active service on the frontier in 1813, and 
was stationed at Black Rock, where it suffered severely from the 
malignant fever, then known as the Black Rock fever. Some of the 
members died of the fever notwithstanding the skillful efforts of 
Doctor Petrikin in their behalf. One of the victims of the epidemic 
was Alexander Campbell. 

THt Danville Light Horse — A company of Light Dragoons 
commanded by Captain Clarke of Derry. This company of cavalry 
was a great favorite of the people in its palmy days, especially was 
it in high favor with the juveniles. Many of the most enterprising 
young men of Danville, who were the cavaliers of that day, Avere 
members of the " Light Horse." Well armed and equipped, their 
spirited and showy horses, their fine military dress and thorough 
drill, led by their gallant captain, with Trumpeter Sanders in his 
gay, scarlet uniform in the van, sounding his clarion notes to the 
great delight of juvenility, they made the day of parade one of the 
great gala days, ranking with Christmas and the Fourth of July. 
And right fortunate were the boys who were permitted to go to Wash- 
ingtonville to witness the regimental parades in that ancient village. 
The organization of the " Light Horse " dated back to 1810, and 
although not mustered into service during the war that followed, they 
had promptly volunteered, and were highly indignant when the 
government refused to accept their services. The denunciations they 
heaped upon Simon the Tanner iox this refusal were neither few nor 
far between. They deemed him ignorant of his military duties, be- 
cause he failed to appreciate such a valip.nt company. 

A sham battle was fought about this time, perhaps in lieu of the 



IVAA' KECOKD. 85 



reality. During this contest the captain came off hors de combat, 
being seriously injured by the fall of his charger. No official report 
of the battle was ever made. But the members of this brilliant 
cavalry company have all passed away. Many of them attained a 
great age. The last survivor of the gallant chivalry who so gloriously 
rode their war horses through the streets of Danville has long since 
departed. He was almost ninety years of age, when he gave to Mr. 
T. F. the particulars I have noted of the Light Horse company of 
Danville. The following are all that can be gathered of their mus- 
ter roll : 

Charles Clark, captain, ■ Kipp, 

John Blue, King, 

Elisha Barton, William Kitchen, 

James Boyd, Daniel Montgomery, 

Lucas Brass, Lewis Maus, 

Isaac Bear, Joseph Maus, 

James Donaldson, Robert Moore, 

John Donaldson, Thomas Moorhead, 

William De Pew, Peter Pursel, 

Charles Evans, William Sheriff, 

Charles M. Frazer, James Stevenson, 

Charles Frazei, Henry Sanders, 

John Gulick, Daniel Woodside, 

John Gaskins, James Woodside, 

James Hamilton, Thomas Woodside. 

Columbia Guards. — This company was organized in 181 7, and 
was long the pride of the village. This company was originally and 
all through the long half century of its existence, composed of the 
very best soldier material of Danville and vicinity. It embraced 
many of the enterprising and patriotic young men of the community. 
The muster roll at the organization of the company or very soon 
thereafter, has been preserved, and is as follows : 

Anthony, John, Montgomery Daniel W., 

Barber, William, Montgomery, John, 

Baum, Samuel, Marshall, Henry, 

Barber, Daniel, Moore, John, 

Best, John, Moore, Charles, 

Boon, Anthony, Moore, Andrew Y., 



86 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Blackwell, Matthew, 
Clark, William, 
Clark, Thomas, 
Colt, Thomas, 
Colt, William, 
Colt, James, 
Cathcart, William, 
Cornelison, Isaac, 
Carson, James, captain, 
Donaldson, Alexander, 
Donaldson, William, 
DePew, William, 
Frick, Frederick, 

Fisher, , 

Grier, Thomas, 
Goodman, Charles, 
Hurley, William G., 
Hughes, Ellis, 
Hibler, Jacob, 
Huntington, Samuel, 
Irwin, Jared, 
Kent, Adolphus, 
Kitchen, Amos E., 
Lundy, John, 



Moore, Burrows, 
Moore, Samuel, 
Moohead, Thomas, 
McWilliams, Hugh, 
McCallister, Hector, 
Maus, William S., 
Mellon, Gideon, 
Patterson, Matthew, 
Potter, George, captain, 
Pervin, John, 
Sholes, Orrin, 
Sechler, Jacob, 

Savage, , 

Thiel, John M., 
Thiel, Casper, 
Underwood, Samuel, 
Woodside, David, 
Woodside, Robert,' 
Wieman, Jacob, 
Warner, Isaac, 
Wiley, Thomas, 
Wilson, James, 
Wilson, Charles, 
Young, John. 



Lyon, Asher, 

The Columbia Guards, together with the Northumberland Artil- 
lerists, Capt. Priestly, the Warrior Run Infantry and others, consti- 
tuted the Northumberland and Columbia battahon of volunteers, com- 
manded by Major R. Coleman Hall. In the summer of 1823 there 
was a battalion parade in Danville, on the then open ground be- 
tween Bloom and Center streets. Dr. W. H. Magill, then a young 
man was surgeon of the battalion. The parade is said to have 
been the grandest military display ever witnessed in Danville. 

The Columbia Guards were first commanded by Capt. Potter, and 
subsequently by Capts. Carson, Colt, Best, Wilson and Frick, until 
1846, stretching over a period of about thirty years. In that year the 
first call was made upon the citizen-soldiery since the organization 
of the company. Prompted by a patriotic desire to serve their 



WAN RECORD. 8j 



country in the Mexican war, tlieir services were offered and accepted, 
and the Cohimbia Guards, under the command of Capt. Wilson, 
numbering ninety-four, rank and file, were mustered into the ser- 
vice of the United States on the 28th day of December, 1846. We 
pause not now to recall the mingled emotions of patriotism and 
personal affection, of hope and fear, of joy and sorrow, that per- 
vaded this community when this gallant company took up its line 
of march from the peaceful parade to the stern duties of camp ; 
from the calm sunshine of home to the battle and the storm. But 
they lingered not. for the flag of their country was unfurled, their 
brethren were engaged in actual combat. Brown had fallen at 
Matamoras, like a hero in battle, and the banks of the Rio Grande 
had drank the blood of a Ringgold, and they hastened to the de- 
fense of the "starry banner," many, alas ! to return no more. 

The first engagement of the Guards was at the storming of Vera 
Cruz, and there, at the opening of their brilliant campaign, the 
lamented Capt. Wilson died on the loth of April, 1847. Capt. 
Wilson was a model officer. Though naturally kind, yet austere 
and punctilious on parade, and under his charge the Guards be- 
came thoroughly versed in military tactics, and perhaps the best 
disciplined company in the regiment to which they were attached. 
His remains were brought home and buried with due honors among 
his family and kindred. From Very Cruz, the company, under the 
command of Dr. C. H. Frick, proceeded in the victorious march 
of Gen. Scott towards the city of Mexico. In the battle of Cerro 
Gordo they took a prominent part, and lost one of their number, 
John Smith, who was killed by a musket ball in storming the 
heights. At the bloody battle of Chepultepec they lost two more 
of their comrades. William Dietrich and John Snyder fell on that 
memorable day, when 

"A thousand glorious actions that might claim 
Triumphant laurels and immortal fame, 
Confused in glorious actions lie, 
And troops of heroes undistinguished die." 

On approaching the capital of the enemy, the defense of San 
Angelos, with all the military stores — a post of distinguishing 
honor and vast responsibility, and of peculiar danger — was com- 
mitted to the Columbia Guards, and on the 13th day of September, 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



1847, they were among the first in Gen. Scott's triumphant march 
into the city of the Aztecs and the lialls of the Montezumas. 

After an absence of nearly two years, when Mexico was con- 
quered, 

" When wild war's deadly blast was blown, 
And gentle peace returning," 

they returned to Danville on the 28th day of July, 1849. ^"d is 
there one 

" Whose heart has ne'er within him burned. 
As home his footsteps he has turned 
From wandering on a foreign strand?" 

It is utterly impossible to describe the mingled emotions of joy 
and sadness awakened by the solemn march of the Guards into 
Danville. That day will never be forgotten, for the record is 
stamped in the hues of living reality. The whole community joined 
to welcome and honor the arrival of the Guards. But, alas ! their 
ranks were thinned ; over half their number answered to the " roll 
call " no more, and there were tears of thanksgiving and shouts of 
joy for those who came, and there were burning tears and silent 
anguish, the saddest syllables of nature's woe, for those who came 
not— for the husband and father whose place was vacant in the 
ranks. To the widow and the orphan all the "pomp and circum-* 
stances of glorious war," the waving banners, the nodding plumes 
and the martial music inspired no joyful emotion. To them it was 
but the echo of sorrow and the deep notes of a funeral march. 

A little time developed the fact that most of those who returned 
had contracted the diseases of an uncongenial climate, and one by 
one they have passed away. Jesse G. Clarke, Ad. Ray and their 
lamented commander, the noble-hearted Dr. Clarence H. Frick, fol- 
lowed on that returnless march, to the music of the tolling bells, 
beyond the reach of war's alarms. 

" An army now might thunder past, 
And they heed not its roar." 

A little remnant still survives, but they, too, are treading the down- 
hill of life, and they too, ere long will rally to the last " reveille," 
and form into line with the platoon already advanced beyond the 
river of death — but their names and their gallant deeds in the ser- 
vice of their country will be cherished while patriotism or gratitude 



Il.-IA' RECORD. 



continue to animate and ennoble the human heart. Honored by 
the especial confidence of their commander-in-chief, himself the 
greatest captain of the age, and complimented by Governor Geary, 
the hero of two wars, Danville may feel an honest pride in her pa- 
triotic company, the Columbia Guards. 

New members soon took the place of those who went to Mexico 
to find a lonely grave beneath its chaparal, and the company again 
assumed its old-time gaiety, under the command of Captain George 
W. Forrest. 

After Captain Forrest removed to Lewisburg, Oscar Ephlin was 
chosen captain. Under his command they entered the Union army, 
where the brave recruits who filled the places of the veterans, had a 
taste of actual service. After serving their time they were honora- 
bly discharged and disbanded as a company. The elder members 
in Mexico, and the younger in the war for the Union, have made 
for themselves a record that is alike honorable to themselves and to 
the borough of Danville. 

The flag of the old Guards, riddled and torn in the Mexican 
campaign, is still displayed on public occasions, and always calls 
forth the warmest feelings of patriotism and local pride, as its tat- 
tered fragments proclaim the heroism of the brave men who followed 
its beacon light through the battle and the storm. On one occasion 
it caught the eye and was instantly recognized by Governor Geary, 
while addressing a mass meeting ; and none will ever forget his 
glowing tribute to the '' old Guards," which the sight of their well- 
known flag inspired. 

The following is the roll as mustered into the United States ser- 
vice, for the Mexican war : 

Captain, 
John S. Wilson. 

Lieutenants. 
Clarence H. Frick, . . . First lieutenant. 
Edward E. La Clerc, . . Second lieutenant. 

William Brindle, . . ... Second lieutenant. 

Sergeants. 

George S. Kline, First sergeant. 

James D. Slater, Second sergeant. 



go 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Robert Clark, Third sergeant. 

Charles Evans, Fourth sergeant. 

Corporals. 

John Adams, First corporal. 

James Oliver, Second corporal. 

John Smith, Third corporal. 

Arthur Gearhart, fourth corporal. 

Music. 

Thomas Clark, ... Drummer. 

Jesse G. Clark, Fifer. 

Privates. 

Charles W. Adams, Jasper Musselman, 

Alvin M. Allen, Edward McGonnell, 

Jacob App, George Miller, 

George W. Armstrong, William Moser, 

Frederick Brandt, Archibald Mooney, 

Samuel Burns, Mahlon K. Manly, 

Elam B. Bonham, John G. Mallon, 

William Banghart, Alexander McDonald, 

John Birkenbine, Daniel Martial, 

Samuel D. Baker, Richard H. McKean, 

Francis Bower, Charles Moynthan, 

Francis R. Best, Robert McAlmont, 

William Brunner, Hugh McFadden, 

William H. Birchfield, James McClelland, 

Randolph Ball, Norman B. Mack, 

Peter Brobst, William McDonald, 

Abram B. Carley, Casper Oatenwelder, 

Michael Corrigan, Daniel Poor man, 

William Dieterech, Peter S. Reed, 

William Erie, Philip Rake, 

Daniel S. FoUmer, James A. Stewart, 

Charles W. Fortner, Peter M. Space, 

Robert H. Forster, Jonathan R. Sanders, 

Sewell Gibbs, Oliver C. Stevens, 

Edward Grove, Daniel Snyder, 



IVAJ? RECORD. gi 



George Garner, Edward Seler,- 

Thomas Graham, Peter Seigfried, 

Shepherd W. Girton, John C. Snyder, 

Samuel Huntingdon, John N. Scofield, 

Adam Heisler, William Swartz, 

Henry Herncastle, Joseph H. Stratton, 

Oliver Helme, William H. Swaney, 

William S. Kertz, John A. Sarvey, 

William King, Benjamin Tumbleton, 

Jerome Konkle, Adam Wray, 

Charles Lytle, William White, 

Ira Lownsberry, George Wagner, 

Robert Lyon, Jacob Willet, 

John A. Lowery, Jerome Walker, 

Benjamin Laform, George Wingar, 

Benjamin J. Martin, Peter W. Yarnell. 

The Columbia Guards, as an organization, are no more. But 
the history of their deeds will remain and will long be gratefully 
cherished by their fellow-citizens. Their names are recorded in the 
history of their country, and their fame is our own. 

In the war with Mexico, the Guards were company C, in the 
Second regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, commanded by Colonel, 
afterwards Governor John W. Geary. 

Montour Rifles This company was organized in Danville, on 

the 13th of July, 1855, under the command of Capt. J. J. Zuber. 
August Fogel was first lieutenant and M. Rosenstein was second 
lieutenant. In 1859 Capt. Z'jber was promoted to a majorship 
and some adverse influences caused the dissolution of the company. 
Most of its members entered the United States service; the greater 
portion enlisted in company E, Sixth regiment Reserves. The com- 
pany was commanded by M. K. Manly. John Horn was one of 
the lieutenants of company E. 

The First in War. — The first military company that left Dan- 
ville for the war, was recruited and commanded by Capt. William 
M. McClure. This company included one hundred of our boldest 
and bravest young men. I only regret that I can find no muster- 
roll of this gallant company. They enlisted for three months and 
honorably served their time. They were in the battle of Falling 



g2 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Waters and had one member killed, whose name was Amos Zuppinger, . 
the first soldier killed in battle ; his was the first blood shed for the 
Union in the civil war. Capt. McClure afterwards commanded 
company F, in the One Hundred and Twelfth artillery, and for 
brave conduct was subsequently promoted to the position of colonel 
of the regiment. 

The Baldy Guards. — This company was organized in Danville 
and mustered into the service of the United States on the 25th of 
September, 186 1, under the command of Capt. Joseph F. Ram- 
sey. The best elements of young and vigorous manhood in Dan- 
ville were embodied in this company, nor did it disappoint the 
ardent hopes of the friends it left behind. The company was named 
for P. Baldy, Sr., a millionaire and an old citizen of Danville. He 
recognized the honor by giving two dollars to each member on the 
eve of their departure. They were attached to the Ninety-third 
regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and were designated as com- 
pany H of that regiment. Their first battle was on the Peninsula, 
at Williamsburg, and they subsequently were in all the sieges and 
battles of the army of the Potomac, until the closing scene at Ap- 
pomatox. On the resignation of Capt. Ramsey in 1862, Charles 
W. Eckman became captain of the Baldy Guards, on the 21st of 
October in that year. The company, in passing through the ordeal 
of the war lost many of its members and when the work was done 
the remnant of the gallant company was honorably discharged and 
returned to the peaceful duties of private citizenship. The follow- 
ing is the roll of the Baldy Guards as the company was mustered 
into the service on the 25th of September, t86i : 

Captain. 
Joseph F. Ramsey. 

Lieutenants. 
Leffred H. Kase, ..... First lieutenant. 
Charles W. Eckman, Second lieutenant. 

Sergeants. 

M. B. Goodrich, First sergeant. 

A. B. Patton, Second sergeant. 

J. T. Howe, Third sergeant. 



IVAJ^ RECORD. 



93 



William Young, Fourth sergeant. 

Seth C. Freeze, Fifth sergeant. 

Corporals. 
Joseph Fenstermacher, . . . .First corporal. 

Jared Runyan, Second corporal. 

Joseph H. Johnston, Third corporal. 

Charles W. Weaver, .... Fourth corporal. 

Orville D. Harder, Fifth corporal. 

Oscar Sharpless, Sixth corporal. 

Frederick Laubach, Seventh corporal. 

Silas Hartman, Eighth corporal. 

Musicians. 

L. D. Houghavvout, Joseph L. Hale. 

Clerk. 

Shelden T. Gibbs. 

Quarter-master. 

James Auld. 

Tea-mster. 

John C. Snyder. 

Privates. 

John Ammerman, T. H. Mench, 

Joseph Bear, J. B. Mutchler, 

J. Byerly, J. Miller, 

H. C. Barnhart, J. C. Miller, 

L. S. Brocious, J. R. Mowrer, 

George Boyer, P. McClure, 

J. D. Cannady, T. Morrall, 

B. A. Cleaver, P. Miller, 

P. H. Eckman, P. P. Osmun, 

D. R. Eckman, R. Perrin, 

B. N. Gearhart, Eli Pennsyl, 

P. Everett, J. W. Philips, 

T. J. Foley, S. Quinn, 

W. Frymire, A. Reynolds, 

W. Flanigan, C. R. Rishel, 



94 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



H. F. Freese, 
Charles E. Foley, 
H. Fortmer, 
Clark Guinn, 
C. V. Gulick, 
A. Goss, 
William Henrie, 
J. Hower, 
J. Houser, 
J. B. Johnson, 
J. R. Johnson, 
R. Jenkins, 
J. Keim, 

Charles Kneibeller, 
G. D. Kreigh, 
William Kneer, 
Samuel Kurtz, 
J. Lawrence, 
John Levers, 
Hiram Lryland, 
H. H. Leisenring, 
J. B. Moore, 
William Miller, 
M. Murry, 



R. Ramsey, 
W. R. Rouch, 
Charles L. Sholes, 
Charles Stephens, 
E. Shissler, 
W. Slay, 
J. M. Shannon, 
William M. Snyder, 
Charles W. Sholes, 
H. F. Snyder, 
William Smith, 
W. Stephens, 
W. W. Sechler, 
J. H. Sperring, 
J. Stewart, 
Oscar Tittle, 
W. Turner, 
J. Wertz, 
G. S. Walker, 
A. B. Warntz, 
C. Woods, 
C. Wagner, 
L. Yoder, 
William Davis, 



On the promotion of Capt. Eckman, Joseph H. Johnson was 
made captain, and served in command of the Baldy Guards to the 
close of the war. 

Second Artillery.. — Company F, One Hundred and Twelfth 
regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, or Second Pennsylvania artil- 
lery, was organized in Danville, by Capt. William M. McClure. A 
large portion of its members were of Danville and vicinity. This 
regiment served with much distinction and did much hard service 
during the war. Among the Danville boys connected with this 
company were : 

Samuel Strawbridge, lieutenant, 

J. Moore Wilson, lieutenant, 

Edward Thatcher, corporal, 

Charles Mowrer, corporal. 



Elias Kulp, 
John McMullen,. 
Phillip Manning, 
Martin Mazael, 



IVAJ? RECORD. 



95 



Charles Mattees, 
John Marshall, 
Clarence Price, 
George Robison, 
I. S. Smith, 
Daniel Smith, 
James Weidel, 
Richard W. Eggert, 
A. J. Grantz. 



John Laciscus, corporal, 

D. H. McCarty, corporal, 

Jonathan Bare, corporal, 

Thomas Reichelderfer, bugler, 

Robert Curry, 

Peter Cooper, 

John Farrell, 

J. Hendrickson, 

William R. Johnson, 
Danville Fencibles. — This company was organized in Danville, 
in 1862, under command of Capt. Joseph E. Shreeve. This com- 
pany was in the bloody battle of Antietam and there it lost seven in 
killed, namely : J. M. Hassanplug, D. Van Ronk, Jacob Long, 
Daniel Klase, Samuel Hilner, Hiram Hummel and John Gibson. 
Eighteen were wounded. Among the latter were James Foster, 
John Leighow, George Lovett, Charles Flick and D. R. Shutt. 
The company roll as mustered into service was as follows, and it was 
attached to the One Hundred and Thirty-second regiment, Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers : 

Officers. 

Joseph E. Shreeve, Captain. 

George W. Vangilder, .... First lieutenant. 
Charles N. Norris, Second lieutenant. 



Privates. 



Henry B. Adams, 
Sylvester W. Arnwine, 
Conrad L. Aten, 
Arthur W. Beaver, 
J. J. Bookmiller, 
W. H. Carrell, 
Isaac D. Crewit, 
John M. Crist, 
S. E. Cooper, 
Franklin Divine, 
Samuel V. Dye, 
William Earp, junior, 
James S. Easton, 



Jacob Long, 
George Lovett, 
Samuel Lunger, 
Thomas Maxwell, 
Leonard Mayer, 
John McCoy, 
William C. McCormick, 
Jacob H. Miller, 
Levi Miller, 
Watkin Morgan, 
Cornelius C. Moyer, 
Jacob W. Moyer, 
James McKee, 



96 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Hiram S. Eggert, 
John Ephlin, 
Joseph Feidell, 
Charles W. Fitzsimmons, 
J. B. A. Foin, 
James Foster, 
Charles Flick, 
Patrick Fleming, 
Samuel Flickinger, 
George Francis, 
John Gibson, 
Thomas Goodall, 
A. Jerome Harder, 
John M. Hassenplug, 
G. K. Hassenplug, 
John Harig, 
Joseph Hale, 
Samuel Hilner, 
Alexander Huntingdon, 
Hiram Hummel, 
George Hunt, 
William Irvin, 
Thomas James, 
John R. Jenkins, 
James W. Jones, 
Evan Jordan, 
Michael Kessler, 
Wellington Klase, 
Michael Lanigan, 
William Lawrence, 
Conrad Lechthaler, 
John Leighow, 



William B. Neese, 
Joseph H. Nevius, 
James M. Philips, 
David H. Rank, 
Isaac Rantz, 
John P. Reaser, 
Simon Reedy, 
Jonathan Rice, 
William A. Ringler, 
Edward W. Roderick, 
August Schreiber, 
Aaron Sechler, 
Henry Schick, 
David Shutt, 
Edwin L. Smith, 
E. Dallas Smith, 
George Snyder, 
John Stine, 
Samuel Stall, 
William Stewart, 
William Sunday, 
Oliver W. Switzer, 
Daniel Vanronk, 
Archibald Vandling, 
John H. Wallace, 
Samuel M. Wate, 
Angus Wright, 
Matthew R. Wright, 
Andrew Waugh, 
James D. Wray, 
James Williams, 
John S. Ware, 



N. Ferree Lightner, 

After the battle of Antietam Capt. Shreeve was promoted to 
major of the One Hundred and Thirty-second regiment and Charles 
N. Norris was made captain of the company. The company was re- 
ceived with great honor on its return to Danville. 

Company E. — Company E, Sixth Pennsylvania Reserves, was 
organized in Danville under command of Capt. M. K. Manly, one 



OUR SOLDIERS. g? 



of the survivors of the Mexican campaign. Charles Richart and 
John Horn were the Heutenants. Charles Richart subsequently be- 
came captain of the company. This company passed through an 
ordeal of fire and shared alike the dangers and the glory of the 
Reserves. Among the privates in this company were William 
Keiner, who lost his leg ; Nicholas Freeze^ killed at Harrison's 
Landing ; Jacob Miller, lost a foot ; Ernest Aderhold, lost a leg. 
There are a few others whose names can be recalled, but no trace 
can be found of the roll among the survivors. These are William 
Bottles, Gotlieb Kerchner, Raub, Ord and Snyder. The most of 
this company was either killed or wounded. 

Ozzr Solcliers. 

The following are the soldiers who enlisted in the Federal army 
in the war for the Union, from 1861 to 1865. This list includes 
Montour county, but does not include the drafted men from either 
the town or the county. There may be errors in the list, but it is 
as correct as much patient labor could make it : 

Of the number here reported, fifty-two were in the regular army 
and four hundred and fifty-six in the volunteer service. 

Anthony Township. 

John Watts, artillery. 

Samuel Gray, artillery. 

James Koons, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Thomas Mohr, private. 

Jacob Binder, private. 

William R. Johnson, company F, One Hundred and Twelfth Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

Jacob Robinalt, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Robinalt, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Perry Watts, C, Ninety-sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Candy, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jacob Candy, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Adam Bidler, F, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
7 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Cooper Township. 

John Kime, company H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Daniel Kime, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Miller, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Michael Breckbill, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Sprout, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Isaac Wertman, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John McMuUin, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Simon Reedy, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

A. Crossley, F. One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Derry Township. 

Thomas H. Switzer, company A, One Hundred and Thirty-first 
Pennsylvania volunteers. 

O. B. Switzer, A, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

John Gibson, A, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Peter Cooper, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Sergeant Samuel E. Cooper, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second 
Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jeremiah Black, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

James T. Powers, G, Eighth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Newson L. Sagess, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Dugan, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frank G. Blee, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

W. W. Switzer, G, Fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

David Gibson, One Hundred and Sixteenth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Philip Springer, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

William C. McCay, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Fleckinger, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

Joel Metz, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 



OUR SOLDIERS. 99 



Corporal George Snyder, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

J. P. Bearer, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Danville, North Ward. 

Franklin Lewis, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel M. Wate, company A, One Hundred and Thirty-second 
Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Gomer Jones, K, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph R. Patton, band, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Charles M. Zuber, band, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

J. C. Millhouse, band, Fifty-first Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Fred Laubach, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Captain J. F. Ramsey, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Wenck, H, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Augustus Shriver, A, One Hundred^and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Nathaniel Everhart, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

xMartin Taylor, Twelfth United States. 

William H. Rouch, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Clarence Price, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Alfred B. Patton, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

George Francis, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Jared Runyan, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John L. Miller, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William M. Miller, Twelfth United States. 

Stephen Johnson, E, Fourth New York volunteers. 

William Turner, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Israel Wertz, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania \olunteers. 

William Horff, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Reuben Ramsey, H, Ninety-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Miller, E, Sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Bailor, Twelfth United States. 






HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Harman Bailor, Twelfth United States. 

Peter Bailor, Twelfth United States. 

Samuel S. Gulick, A, One hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Jacob Bookmiller, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 
Andrew Waugh, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
George Focht, E, Ninth Pennsylvania reserves. 
Captain M. K. Manly, E, Ninth Pennsylvania reserves. 
John Byerly, H, Ninety- third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Isaac Barto, F, Forty-eighth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
James R. Johnson, H, Ninety-thiad Pennsylvania volunteers. 
David H. McCarty, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
William H. Miller, E, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Levi M. Miller, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
S. E. Ridgvvay, F, Mathew's battery. 

Charles Kneibler, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
David R. Shutt, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Thomas James, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Francis Trees, Sixty ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
James Burns, Pennsylvania volunteers. 
John Nester, Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Patrick Tenenty, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Eckhart, band. One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 
J. B. A. Foin, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Nicholas Freeze, E, Sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Daniel Klase, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
James Moore, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Joseph Heffer, D, Seventeenth Pennsylvania volunteers. 



OUR SOLDIERS. 



William C. Heffler, E, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
William F. Deshay, Twelfth United States. 
John L. Deshay, Twelfth United States. 
John Wood, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Evan Jordan, Fifteenth United States. 
Elijah Fields, C, Twelfth United States. 
Robert Fields, C, Twelfth United States. 
Aaron Gibson, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
John F. Mullen, E, Twelfth United States. 
Richard Jenkins, A, Third Maryland volunteers. 
Josiah Robinson, G, Third Maryland volunteers. 
James Auld, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
William Davis, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Reese Davis, A, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
William Price, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Angus Wright, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Mathew R. Wright, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 
James Stewart, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Charles L. Sholes, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Thomas Goodall, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
William Davis, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
John Morris, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Peter Green, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
F. Finnegan, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Thomas McManus, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Patrick Hardy, United States regulars. 
William Finnegan, United States regulars. 
George Lovett, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Samuel Ricketts, G, Third Maryland volunteers. 
George Hacker, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



George Bingham, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Thomas W. Levers, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

William Ringham, Thirteenth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Adam Hernberger, A, One hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

John Levers, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Boyer, I, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jonathan Davis, I, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Bryant, I, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

jNIichael Hurley, 1, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Daniel Van Ronk, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

Seth C. Freeze, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Sheldon T. Gibbs, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Franklin Devine, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Robert Wood, F, Forty-eighth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Richard Hopkins, F, Forty-Eighth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Stine, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

John Sheldon, H, Sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frank Kneidt, F, Matthew's battery. 

Jacob Haag, F, Matthew's battery. 

James Henegan, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John McDonald, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Patrick Conners, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Williams, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Richard Grogan, K, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

William Paugh, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Michael Kessler, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Thomas Kennedy, D, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Kennedy, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Ephlin, Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Lafferty, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Burns, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 



OVR SOLDIERS. 103 



Patrick Burns, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Terrence O'Niel, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Smith, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Rogers, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Reed, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Moran, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Patrick Kelley, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Greeny, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James McCarty, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Hugh Biadly, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frank Burns, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Ellitt, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Coughlin, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Paugh, Fifth United States. 

Philip Renn, Twelfth United States. 

James Eastin, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Thomas Davis, H, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Evan Edwards, E, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Jordon, E, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

George Morris, E, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania. 

Patrick O'Connor, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Weidall, B, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Watkin Morejan, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Charles McMullen, C, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Isaac Kear, E, Fifth United States. 

Abram Price, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Isaac Rantz, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Peter Connell, E, One Hundred and First Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Mathias Veraskoski, Forty-sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Price, Sixty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Huntingdon, C, Fourteenth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Philip Efhnger, K, Fifty-second New York volunteers. 

Martin Mazella, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 



ro4 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Henry Agga. D, First Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jonathan Rice, A, One Hundred and Thirty -second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Conrad Lichthaler, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

Joseph Hale, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Philip McClure, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Francis Hafey, One Hundred and Ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William McClean, D, One Hundred and Ninth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Philip Evert, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

H. F. Freeze, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles V. Gulick. H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Mathias Fish, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Doyle, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Robert McCoy, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Arthur W. Beaver, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

Joseph Bryant, K, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Isaac D. Crewit, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Dennis Leary, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Owen Burns, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Smith, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Stephen Sullivan, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John McWilliams, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Marshall, E, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Martin Murray, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Quinn, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Richard Lanigan, A, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Quinn, A, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Thomas, E, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Richard Jenkins, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Foster, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pejmsylvania 
volunteers. 



OUR SOLDIERS. 105 



William Stewart, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Patrick Riddles, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Henry Bogart, E, Twelfth United States. 

William Markle, E, Twelfth Tnited States. 

John Mintzer, E, Twelfth United States. 

George Kear, E, Fifth United States. 

Isaac Melon, Twelfth United States. 

John Bubb, E, Twelfth United States. 

Michael O'Gorman, B, Fifth United States. 

Caleb Roberts, E, Twelfth United States, 

Lieutenant John Horn, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

William Keiner, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Joseph Walton, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

John McKone, G, Fifty-seventh New York volunteers. 

John Roberts, G, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Richard W. Eggert, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Adam J. Grantz, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Danville, South Ward. 

Captain Joseph E. Shreve, company A, One Hundred and Thirty- 
second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

George W. Hoffman, band. One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

R. S. Simington, surgeon, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Young, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William W. Sechler, H, Nniety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Johnson, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Mummey, D, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Oscar G. Mellin, band. Fourth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Charles Gross, band. One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Harman Leiby, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania reserves. 

William A, Mellin, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Joseph Hale, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania reserves. 

Charles Smith, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
reserves. 



io6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Archie Vandling, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia reserves. 

John McCoy, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
reserves. 

David Keffer, Thirteenth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Henry Adams, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
reserves. 

W. Forest, D, Seventh Pennsylvania reserves. 

Samuel Lunger, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
reserves. 

Thomas E. Frame, E, First Pennsylvania reserves. 

James Corcoran, D, Seventy-sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Arthur F. Henrie, band, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Thomas Adams, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Lieutenant Charles C. Norris, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second 
Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Lieutenant M.B. Goodrich, H. Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Andrew Derry, artillery, Ninety- third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Shepherd, H, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Nago, D, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Wallace, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

William Earp, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

William L. Snyder. , 

Conrad S. Aten, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Henry J. Aten, band, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

George Dean, band. Sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Wellington Klase, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

Daniel Klase, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

William Kelly. 

Jacob Moyer, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Samuel A. Mills, band. Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 



OUR SOLDIERS. 107 



William Mitting, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Morrall, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Sharps M. Snyder, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

James D. Ray, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Benjamin F. Hagenbach, band, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

David Ross, L, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Ware, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Joseph L. Frame, band, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Hiram Eggert. A, One Hundred and Thirty Second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Edward Milward, G, Seventy-seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

George C. Williams, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Henry Laland, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

D. A. Laland. 

Lieutenant William Roberts, G, One Hundred and Ninth Pennsyl- 
van'a volunteers. 

Lieutenant Abraham Lang, I, One Hundred and Ninth Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 

James Jones, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

William Williams, I, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Watts, I, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Fenstermacher, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frederick Brodt, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

J. Houpt, Forty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

E. D. Smith, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Corporal N. Ferree Lightner, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second 

Pennsylvania volunteers. 
S. P. Harder, F, Mathew's battery. 
O. D. Harder, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
John T. Howe, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Charles W. Sholes, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
George E. Hunt, A, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Charles Savage, Jr., F, Mathew's battery. 



io8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Joseph D. Miller, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Hibler, H, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John W. Hibler, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Edwin Lockart, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

George Yeomans, surgeon, Twenty-third Pennsylvania reserves. 

Herber Painter, I, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Gutlep Kercher, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

James Hilt, Pennsylvania volunteers. 

George Archer, E, Seventy-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Henry H. Leisenring, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Alexander Gulp, Artillery, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James G. Moore, D, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Lieutenant G. W. Vangilder, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second 
Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Stewart, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel Kerst, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Stephnagle, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Stephnagle, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

J. W. Flannagan, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Gross, E, First Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Marks Wise, I, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jacob Sperring, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Alfred Reynolds, H, Ninety third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Captain Alexander J. Frick, D, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Captain William M. McClure, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

Lieutenant S. D. Strawbridge, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Penn- 
"sylvania volunteers. 

Pursival Miller, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Maxwell, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylva- 
nia volunteers. 
Robert D. Magill, steward. 

John G. Moore, band. Fifth Pennsylvania reserves. 
Christopher Woods, band, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
Simon Derlacher, H, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
Joseph Rose, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
Abner H. Brown, band, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 



OUR SOLDIERS. log 



William Ackey, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
George Deen, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
M. B. Johnson, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 
George Hughes. 
Samuel May. 

Limestone Township. 

John T. Newcomer, company D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

F. J. Newcomer, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Martin Keifer, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Dinkle, C, Third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Fink. 

David Werlty, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Charles F. Bennett, United States regulars. 

Luke S. Brass, K, Ninty-fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles E. Wagner, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Hiram Wertman, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jacob Smith, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Keifer, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Kersteller. 

Daniel G. Dildine, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jacob O. Caldwell, K, Fifth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Conrad Springer, E, Six Pennsylvania reserves. 

Daniel F. Wagoner, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Samuel V. Dye, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Charles Balliet, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Daniel Rank, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Bryson, Captain, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

W. Caldwell, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jacob Balliet, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph D. Fulton, D. Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Carnthan, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

C. W. Fitszimmons, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

Liberty Township. 

Charles F. Bennett, company E, Twelfth regulars. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Reuben Bennett, E, Twelfth regulars. 

William C. Best, H, Fifty-third Pennsylvana volunteers. 

J. P. Bare, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Martin Bower, K, Fifty-first Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John McElrath, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Robert Curry, One Hundred and Thirty-second, Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

William Clark, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Jacob Hendrickson, One Hundred and Twenty-first Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Emanuel Kertz, 

Jacob Johnston, E, Sixth Pennsylyania volunteers. 

Jacob Long, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

John Marshal, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

James L. Miller, H, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

C. Marshal, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

R. F. Nesbit, H. Twelfth regulars. 

John Perry, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Richard Rozel, K, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Z. Robinalt, H, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Simon Springer, H, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

J . S. Smith, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Levi B. Schock, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Michael Thornton, H, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

, Mahoning Township. 

John Stineman, Fourth New York volunteers. 

Peter McAfee, company E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Joshua McAfee, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Flick, E, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 

volunteers. 
Charles Waters, I, Fifty-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Samuel Gray. F, Mathew's Battery. 



OUR SOLDIERS. 



John Watts, F, Mathew's Battery. 

Charles Rishel, H, Ninty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Christian Wager, E, Sixth Pensylvania reserves. 

Abram Voris, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

John Campbell, F, Mathew's Battery. 

Henry Bogar. 

William Turvey, E, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Daniel Turvey, E, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Henry Vincent, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Thomas Jones, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Michael Rouch, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Philip Cassiday, A. 

William Edmunds, A, Sixty ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Smith, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John R. Movverer, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Aaron Sechler, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

John Leighow, H, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Jacob Sanders, D, Sixty-first Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles Mowerer, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania vol- 
imteers. 

Henry S. Neuss, F, Mathew's Battery. 

George W. Mowerer, F, Mathew's Battery. 

Henry Wireman, F, Mathew's Battery. 

John H. Christian, F, Mathew's Battery. 

Charles Shipman, F, Mathew's Battery. 

J. W. Houser, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

[ohn Houser, H, Ninty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Robey, E. Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James M. Philips, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

H. Kostenhacker, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

David D. Moser, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Alfred Roberts, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas H. Sanders, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



William A. Fetter, D, Seventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 
G. W. Robinson, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 
John Bubb, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 
Benjamin Rudy, teamster. 

Mavberry Township. 

Joseph R. Mutchler, company H, Ninty-third Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Samuel Hilner, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

William Miller, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

P. P. Osburn, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Long, A, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Hanly, Forty-sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Simmeason, Forty-sixth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

M. Ely, One Hundred and Thirty-first Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Valley Township. 

Dennis Bright, Lieutenant. 

Joseph Rowes, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Hiram Humel, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Henry F. Snyder, H, Ninety-second Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Alpheus D. Ott, E, Sixth Pensylvania reserves. 

W. B. Neese, A, One Hundred and Thirty-Second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

William Sunday, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

Philip Evart, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Charles H. Rishel, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Stephen L. Rush, F, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Lieutenant J. Moore Wilson, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

P. Maning, Jr., F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Jonas Roup, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 



OUR SOLDIERS. I'S 



George S. Walker, H, Ninety-thirrl Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Edwin Thatcher, F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Daniel Miles, D, Sixty-ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Richard Riddle, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Joseph Fagles, A, One Hundied and Thirty-Second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

John Wood, D, Sixty-Ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

James Thomas, D, Sixty-Ninth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

C. West, F, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Boyer, F, Fifty-fourth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William M. Snyder, teamster. 

David Henrickson, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

Amos App'.eman, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Thomas Welliver, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Evan Jordan, E, Twelfth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Stephens, E, Fifty-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

West Hemlock Township. 

Joseph Weidel, company F, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

Oscar Tittle, H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Martin Tarner, G, Eleventh Michigan volunteers. 

George W. Crossly, H, One Hundred and Fifth Pennsylvania vol- 
unteers. 

Sylvester W. Arnwine, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

William H. Correll, A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

B. F. Heilman, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Thomas Welliver, E, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 



Enrolled. 


In Service. 


157 


13 


79 


10 


T41 


^9 


868 


197 


623 


127 


158 


26 


191 


25 


170 


45 


46 


9 


162 


29 


60 


8 


2,264 


508 



114 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Recapitulation. 

Townships. 

Anthony, 

Cooper, 

Derry, 

Danville, North ward, 

Danville, South ward, 

Limestone, 

Liberty, .... 

Mahoning, 

Mayberry, 

Valley, 

West Hemlock, 



Additions. 

Surgeon J. D. Strawbridge, Army of the Cumberland. 

William L. Jones, company H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

J. C. Sylvis, I, Twelfth Pennsylvania cavalry. 

Isaac Mellin, United States army. 

E. K. Hale, band, One Hundred and Twelfth Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Charles Ely, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Samuel Roberts, Third Maryland volunteers. 

J. S. Hale, H, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Captain G. W. Reay, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Ed. Watkins, Third Maryland volunteers. 

George Danks, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Moses Gibbons, Third Mai^^land volunteers. 

William Gibbons, Third Maryland volunteers. 

William Roberts, Third Maryland volunteers. 

Andrew H. Brown, Twelfth Pennsylvania cavalry. 

William O. Butler. 

L T. Patton, C, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Lieutenant David Ware. 

Charles Ware. 



THIR TEE NTH REGIMENT. 115 



William Ware. 

J. D. Ware, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania volun- 
teers. 

Benton B. Brown, C, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers. 

George Tillson, Two Hundred and Tenth Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frank Finegan. 

John McGuire. 

James M. Irland, E, Ninth Pennsylvania cavalry. 

Reese H. Flanegan, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania 
volunteers. 

Thomas McManus. 

Lieutenant M. Rosenstein, Sixth Pennsylvania reserves. 

Isaiah Devers, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Clave, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Patrick Rollan, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Peter Yerrick, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Ad. Ray, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Jonathan Waters, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Clark, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Matthias Murray, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Lee, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Moses Gibbons, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Edward Cuthbert, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Thomas Stoddart, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

John Robinson, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Frederick Harris, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

William Millner, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Isaac Devers, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

E. O. Ridgway, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania volunteers. 

Warren M. Ridgway, C, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Penn- 
sylvania volunteers. 

Amos Suppinger, H, Eleventh Pennsylvania reserves. 

[The last named was the first Danville soldier killed in the war.] 

TJvirteentJi. Regtmertt, FeixnsylvcLTvicL VoZ- 
ziTzteer ^Izlztict. 

Among the gallant soldiers who volunteered for the common de- 
fense, the Thirteenth regiment must not be forgotten. I belonged 



lib HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

to that regiment and I am proud of it. We had a fighting colonel, 
and "our captain was as brave a man as e'er commission bore." 
When a portion of the rebel army crossed Mason and Dixon's line, we 
joined our friends and neighbors to repel the invasion. The excite- 
ment was great on the occasion. The whole town of Danville was 
in commotion. All day on Sunday, squads were hurrying to and 
fro, the yeomanry were rallying on every side. The fife and drum 
broke strangely on the usual stillness of the Sabbath, and the na- 
tional flag proudly floated in the autumn breeze. Soon two com- 
panies were organized, one under Captain John A. Winner, and the 
other under Captain William Young. Both had seen active service, 
and the latter had been wounded in the side at one of the battles on 
the Penisula. On Monday, the i6th of September, 1862, while the 
battle of Antietam was raging near the border, we were crowded 
into freight cars, and, amid the wild huzzas of our neighbors and 
the hurried good bye of our families, we departed for the scene of 
deadly strife. At Georgetown we had a little unpleasantness with 
some lunatics full of benzine, and there the first blood was shed 
from the nasal organ of a home guard. At Harrisburg we camped 
on the capitol ground and slept quite cosily under the trees, be- 
tween the capitol building and the executive department. Some of 
the boys wandered through the city until the regulation hour had 
passed, but before daylight all were under the blankets. Being 
fully armed and equipped and with forty rounds, and rations for 
an indefinite time, we took the train on the Cumberland Valley 
railroad and sped toward "My Maryland." At Carlisle we halted 
about twenty minutes, and the good people there, in their gratitude 
towards us in so promptly coming to their defense, served us with 
a lunch, including hot coffee and various delicacies. It then oc- 
curred to some one that the ladies should be thanked for the kind- 
ness they manifested towards us. To this duty I was unanimously 
called, upon which William T. Ramsey and John H. Hunt placed 
a board across a mortar box some two feet high, and urged me on 
the frail platform. I began, "Ladies of Carlisle — " at that in- 
stant the board broke, and down I went into the mortar ! That 
ended the speech, and I hastily crawled out of the artistic mud and 
made for the cars. It was a short speech, but it was greeted with 
a perfect "storm" of applause, not so much on account of the senti- 



THIRTEENTH RECIMENT ifj 

ment expressed, but on account of the gestures — they were so 
natural, and that is one of the highest points in oratory. The 
speech was also remarkable for its brevity, and I have often thought 
it were well if a plank would break more frequently and cut off 
some other speeches as briefly. I am aware that there is a counter- 
feit version of this episode in circulation, but don't you believe a 
word of it. 

At daylight we reached Hagerstown, and it is worthy of note, 
that ours was the first regiment of minute men that reached the line 
of defense. The following is the roster of the gallant Thirteenth : 

Recimental Officers. 

Colonel — James Johnson. 
Lieutenant Colonel — J. F. Means. 
Major — S. H. Newman. 
Adjutant — J. W. Chamberlin. 
Sergeant Major — B. S. Powers. 
Quartermaster — J. W. McKelvy. 
Surgeon — Dr. Reiber. 
Assistant Surgeon — Dr. Vandersloot. 
Drum Major — B. W. Mussleman. 
Hospital Steward — Dr. I. Pursell. 
Ward Master — William W. Hays. 
Chaplain — Benjamin G. Welch. . 
Postmaster — Wilbur G. Brower. 
Colonel's Clerk — Alex. M. Russel. 

Muster Roll, Company A, 13TH Regiment P. V. M. 

Captain — John A. Winner. 

Lieutenants — First, W. A. M. Grier ; second, John C. Perrin. 

Sergeants — First, John G. Hammer ; second, Simon Lyon ; third, 
Elias Knerr ; fourth, T. C. Hullihen ; fifth, William R. Pursel. 

Corporals — First, Robert Adams, junior ; second, William T. 
Ramsey ; third, John W. Thatcher ; fourth, Benjamin K. Vastine ; 
fifth, George Irwin ; sixth, Samuel Earp ; seventh, John Werkheiser ; 
*eighth, Samuel Haman. 

Drunwier — John H. Hunt. 

Quartermaster Sergeant — Reuben Riehl. 



//<? 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Privates. 



John Adams, 
Charles S. Baker, 
Peter Baldy, junior, 
A. Russel Best, 
P. F. Bourgenot, 
D. H. B. Brower, 
Wilbur G. Brower, 
S. L. Buttervvick, 
William Bryant, 
Nelson Carr, 
Robert M. Cathcart, 
Charles W. Childs, 
W. H. Cool, 
William Cummings, 
Stephen Cuthbert, 
J. M. Criswell, 
William Deen, 
William Dent, 
Wesley Deshay, 
Joseph A. Doran, 
Christian Ernest, 
Edward Evans, 
Josiah Frantz, 
S. B. Flick, 
Evan Fisher, junior, 
Herbert Gaskins, 
A. Mont. Gearhart, 
Edmund Gearhart, 
W. H. Gearhart, 
Charles H. Gibbs, 
Frank Gibbs, 
Samuel F. Griffin, 
Isaac X. Grier, 
Michael Haupt, 
Lamar Hahn, 
D. C. Hartinan, 
William W. Hays, 



William H. Jenkins, 

J. Hervey Kase, 

Charles Kaufman, 

Alfred Kneass, 

Frederick Kreps, 

Henry Kocher, 

Charles Limberger, 

William C. Lyon, 

Saul Lyon, 

John V. Martin, 

Franklin Miller, 
William McLain. 
Moses Netter, 
George B. O'Connor, 
Samuel J, Pardoe, 
Theodore Palmer, 
Isaac Pursell, 
West Perry, 
A. D. Rockafeller, 
Alexander M. Russel, 
Warren Ridgway, 
J. C. Shaver, 
Cyrus F. Styers, 
Joseph Sechler, junior, 
Henry C. Snyder, 
S. Y. Thompson, 
Lewis Tittle, 
John L. Vastine, 
T. J, Vastine, 
S. C. Vansant, 
Josiah Wolf, 
Samuel Werkheiser, 
Reuben Werkheiser, 
Peter Werkheiser, 
Benjamin G. Welch. 
William Wands,, 
Robert Wilson, 



J 



THIRTEENTH REGIMENT. 



"9 



Hezekiah Holbert, Samuel Welliver, 

Richard Jenkins, Samuel Ware, junior. 

Muster Roll, Company K, Thirteenth Regiment P. V. M. 

Cnptain — William Young. 

Lientenants — First, Alfred Mellon ; second, Alfred B. Patton. 

Sergeants — First, M. B. Munson ; second, A. Jerome Harder ; 
third, George W. Ramsey ; fourth, Alexander Hoffner. 

Corporals — First, Alfred Yerrick ; second, Hugh P. Libhart ; 
third, Lewis Byerly ; fourth, William Miller. 

Quartermaster — Samuel Moore. 

Drummer — B. W. Mussleman. 

Fifer — John Geist. 

Privates. 



Oakly V. Ammerman, 
James M. Ammerman, 
Samuel Ammerman, 
John C. Alexander, 
James Best, 
W. H. Byerly, 
Sylvester Blocksage, 
John Bedow, 
Charles W. Boudine, 
Joseph H. Campbell, 
Martin Cornelison, 
John Deen, 
Joseph E. Dougherty, 
Leonard Dimmick, 
William D. Everhart, 
Cornelison C. Herr, 
Duncan W. Hefler, 
John Hale, 
Jeremiah S. Hall, 



William F. Horner, 

David James, 

John W. Kress, 

Samuel Kelley, 

George Lunger, 

William A. Leighow, 
Victor A. Lotier, 
David W. Moore, 
D. Clinton Millard, 
Franklin Myers, 
William P. Pursell, 
Irvin T. Patton, 
L. Rhodenheffer, 
William Riffles, 
F. W. Rockafeller, 
D. M. Springer, 
George S. Sanders, 
William Trease, 
George W. Watts. 



The regiment was composed of the above two companies from 
Montour county, two from Columbia, two from Luzerne, and four 
from Bradford county, and in the ranks were some of the most 
prominent professional and business men of the several counties. At 
Hagerstown we learned that during the battle of Antietam, that 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



closed about the time we arrived, seven of our friends of the One 
Hundred and Thirty-second regiment were killed. They were J. 
M. Hassenplug, D. Van Ronk, Jacob Long, Daniel Klase, Samuel 
Hilner, Hiram Hummel, and John Gibson. 

Eighteen were wounded, viz : Harry Adams, Jacob H. Miller, 
E. D. Smith, John Leighow, S. W. Arnwine, James Foster, William 
Ringler, George Lovett, John Morris, William B. Neese, D. R. 
Hendrickson, David R. Shutt, E. W. Roderick, Charles Flick, S. 
V. Dye, Archie Vandling, C. C. Moyer, and John S. Ware. 

From Hagerstown we were hurried towards the field of battle a 
few miles below, but the enemy "skedaddled" across the Potomac, 
no doubt because they heard we were coming. This is not intended 
as a joke, for the moral effect of the report that all Pennsylvania 
would be hurled upon them, struck terror to the hearts of the inva- 
ders and hastened their retreat. We were next encamped in the 
woods near one of the most magnificent springs of water we ever 
saw. Here we were startled by an alarm that four thousand cavalry 
were close at hand, and would in a few moments attack our lines. 
Every man was soon in his place in the ranks, except a few who 
started for Danville on " double quick," and never halted until they 
got home. From this place we returned to Hagerstown, and from 
thence, one hot Sunday, we marched through the sun and dense 
clouds of dust ten miles, to Greencastle, where we remained about a 
week. There the boys, between the routine duties of mounting 
guard and dre^s parade, did some foraging, and amused themselves 
in various ways. Some few, of course, did not join in mischievous 
pranks. John V. Martin was too conscientious even to steal a rail 
from the fence of a rebel to cook his dinner, but others less particu- 
lar not only took the fence, but scooped up the poultry to cook. 
One day nearly the whole battalion was firing at a squirrel that was 
promenading over the tall oak trees. But either the sharp shooters 
were not there or the rifles were defective, for the squirrel escaped, 
but it was a comfort to reflect that rebels are bigger than squirrels, 
and consequently not so hard to hit. 

Many episodes occurred that we promised not to mention. Of 
course these promises were made under some coercion, as the par- 
ties making the demand for silence always seemed to take a tighter 
grip of their fire-locks, and we noticed a peculiar expression in their 



THIRTEENTH REGIMENT. 



eyes. So we promised not to tell who got a new cap for nothing 
at Carlisle — to say nothing about Mose Netter's canteen that was so 
popular on account of its contents — about the soldier boy who bor- 
rowed the slippers of one who was sound asleep — about the military 
disadvantages of the doctor's army shoes — about the squad that 
stole the eggs from a setting hen. How '• Mont.," by pure strat- 
egy, outflanked the commissary department. How Charley Kauf- 
man mustered as a private soldier, without ever dreaming that one 
day he would be burgess of Danville. 

All these, and many other pranks unknown in time of peace and 
contrary to the rules of war, we promised to suppress. Finally, 
after a campaign of two weeks, we were mustered out and sent 
home, where we arrived without the loss of a single man ! We 
marched into Danville in open order as proudly as if we had taken 
Richmond, knowing that we had killed as many of the enemy as 
they had of us. 

But, seriously, many of our comrades in that wild and stirring 
crusade have since departed to the land of eternal rest. We recall 
them to-day as we glance over the roll, and we honor them, for we 
know that every man who rose from his shelter tent that dark night, 
in the woods of Maryland, and hastened to his place in the ranks at 
the whispered alarm of the coming foe, was ready to defend his 
country with his life. 

There were several other military companies organized in Dan- 
ville and had an ephemeral existence. There was the "Danville 
Troop," commanded by Captain "'H. P. Baldy. This company dis- 
banded about the beginning of the civil war, and many of its mem- 
bers enlisted in other organizations and gallantly fought through the 
war. 

After the war there was a company of " Fire Zouaves" organ- 
ized under Captain John A. Winner. But for some reason it soon 
dissolved, and now there are only those belonging to the National 
Guard. 

Company 'F, National Guard. — This company was organized 
in Danville in 1878, and was at first commanded by Captain P. E. 
Maus, and was mustered as Company F of the Twelfth regiment, 
National Guard of Pennsylvania. Captain Maus resigned in 1880, 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



and J. Sweisfort was elected and commissioned captain of the com- 
pany. 

John IV. Hibler recruited a company tliat was for a time en- 
camped on the capitol ground at Harrisburg. The company was 
afterwards sent to the South, where John W. Hibler died. 

Samuel Hibler, his brother, was also an officer in the Union 
army. These were the sons of Jacob Hibler, who resided on Mar- 
ket street. 

Joseph F. Ramsey was the first captain of the Baldy Guards, and 
with his company was mustered into the service of the United States 
on the 25th of September, 1861. He served in that capacity until 
the fall of 1862, when he resigned. He was wounded at the battle of 
Williamsburg ; and the siege in the Chickahominy swamp with the ter- 
rible fight of seven days, broke down his health and necessitated his 
resignation. After regaining his health he again joined the army 
and was made lieutenant colonel of the One Hundred and Eighty 
seventh regiment Pennsylvania volunteers. Since the war he has 
been connected with the oil trade. 

Ftrst SurtdicLy ScTiooZ. 

For the following sketch of the first Sunday School in Danville, 
and the brief but interesting biographical notes of its founders, lam 
indebted to John Frazer, Esq. , of Cincinnati. 

Robert Raikes is known as the originator of Sunday schools. He 
was an editor, and published the Gloucester Journal. At first he 
employed and paid teachers to gi^ie instruction to the children that 
had no other means of either religious or secular education. This 
was in 1781. Reverend Robert Stork soon joined him in the pious 
work, and success crowned their earnest efforts. In five years from 
the first Sunday school, organized under the superintendence of 
Robert Raikes, there were two hundred and fifty thousand Sunday 
school scholars receiving regular instruction in the various cities and 
towns of England. At first the instruction given was mainly in the or- 
dinary branches, and extended but little more to the moral or religious 
training of the children than the common schools of the present day. 

In Scotland, the first Sunday schools, mainly devoted to religious 
training, were first instituted. The Sunday schools in Scotland were 
more like those of the present day than were those of England, and 



FIRST SUNDAY SCHOOL. 123 



yet they were far behind the standard of excellence now attained. 
In 1786, Bishop Asbury, of the M. E. Church, established the first 
Sunday school in America. It was in Virginia, Shortly after that 
date the Society of Friends planted the Sunday school in Philadel- 
phia, and in 1791 Bishop White, of the Episcopal Church, was pres- 
ident of a Sunday school in that city. 

There is also another claimant for the first Sunday school in 
America. Dr. Hildreth says that a kind old lady at the Fort, now 
Marietta, Ohio, gathered the children of the garrison together on 
Sundays and gave them religious instruction on the general plan of 
the Sunday school. Parson Story gave her efficient aid in the pious 
work, and she continued the Sunday school after the good parson 
was called away. This was in 1792, and about one year after the 
establishment of the institution in Virginia by Bishop Asbury. 

In 1809, a Sunday school was organized in Pittsburgh, which was 
the first in this State outside of Philadelphia. In 1816, the New 
York Sunday School Union was established, and the American Sun- 
day School Union was organized in 1824, and now the Sunday 
school system became a power and found its way into every village 
and hamlet throughout the country. It has steadily grown in num- 
bers and in influence, and now the number of Sunday school libra- 
ries in the United States is nearly five thousand, and the regular 
scholarship is not less than three millions. 

The first Sunday school in Danville was established in 181 7, 
mainly through the efforts and influence of Judge William Mont- 
gomery, In July of that year he induced a few others to join him 
in the good work, among whom were Evans, Russel, Barret, and 
Daniels. About twenty boys were gathered together on Sunday, 
the 2nd day of August, 1817, and the first Sunday school of Dan- 
ville was opened. It was in a private room on Market street. 
Judge Montgomery and Jeremiah Evans were the superintendents. 
John Russel was treasurer, and Josiah McClure was secretary. But 
they had no books, no tickets, no maps, nor any of the thousand 
advantages enjoyed by the Sunday schools of the present day. Soon 
they procured red and blue tickets containing a text of scripture. 
For every six verses in the Bible or Testament repeated from mem- 
ory, the scholar received a blue ticket. A red ticket was worth six 
in blue, and were good for the purchase of books. This was the 



124 HISTOR Y OF DA Nl 'ILL E. 



pioneer school of all the flourishing Sunday schools now in this 
place. The constitution of the first Sunday school in Danville was 
written by Judge Montgomery, and was long in the possession of 
Honorable Paul Leidy, and a copy, with the signatures of the orig- 
inal signers, is now among the records of the Grove Church. The 
following is a correct copy of the document : 

Constitution of the Male Sunday School of Danville. 

Article i. The object of this society shall be to teach children 
to read and commit portions of scripture, catechism, hymns, &c., 
to memory. 

2. The society shaU consist of fourteen members. 

3. The officers shall consist of two superintendents, a treasurer, 
and secretary. 

4. It shall be the duty of the superintendents to attend every 
Sunday, or at least one of them, at the place of meeting, and re- 
main there until school is dismissed, also to preside at all meetings 
of the society, to keep order, take the vote on all questions of de- 
bate, appoint committees, sign all orders for the payment of 
moneys, &c. 

5. It shall be the duty of the secretary to keep all papers de- 
livered to him, to collect fines and keep correct minutes of the 
society ; also an account of the books distributed, and to whom. 

6. It shall be the duty of the treasurer to keep all moneys, to pay 
all orders when properly signed, and when required by the society, 
to give a statement of his accounts. 

7. An election of officers shall take place quarterly, on the first 
Mondays of August, November, February and May. 

8. Six members shall form a quorum to transact business. 

9. The members shall be divided into committees, two of whom 
shall attend every Sabbath at the appointed hours, and remain until 
school is dismissed, under a penalty of t>velve and a half cents for 
neglect, for the use of the school. 

10. The school shall be opened by reading a chapter, by singing 
a hymn, or by prayer. 

11. Each member shall have the names of his class enrolled, see 
that they attend punctually, perform all their duties with propriety, 
and reward them accordingly. 



FIRST SUNDA Y SCHOOL. 125 



12. Tickets shall be issued for the encouragement of the pupils. 

13. It shall be the duty of the teachers to report to the superin- 
tendents such children as shall merit rewards, and the superin- 
tendents to give such premiums to the children as in their opinion 
will incite them to further improvement. 

14. No member shall leave the school during the hours of 
tuition, without leave of absence from one of the superintendents. 

15. All unnecessary talking, as well as light, trifling behavior, 
shall be avoided by the teachers during school hours, and it shall 
be the duty of each teacher, as far as ability has been given, to be 
careful to instruct the scholars in the knowledge of Divine things. 

16. When a scholar has been absent from school two Sabbaths, 
he shall be visited by the teacher of the class to which he belongs, 
who is to report the cause of such absence to the superintendents. 
This rule should be strictly adhered to, as it may prevent the schol- 
ars from breaking the Sabbath. 

17. Alterations or amendments of the constitution cannot be 
made without the concurrence of three fourths of the members. 

18. The society, two thirds of all the members concurring, shall 
have power to raise money for the use of the school. 

19. It shall be the duty of each and every member to attend the 
quarterly meetnigs, and all other meetings that may be deemed 
necessary by the superintendents, under a penalty of twelve and a 
half cents each for neglect, for the use of the school. 

Ira Daniels, Jeremiah Evans, 

James Humphreys, William Woods, 

James Montgomery, Joseph Prutzman, 

WiLiJAM Wilson, D. C. Barrett, 

JosiAH McClure, W. Montgomery, 

John Irwin, John Russel. 

William Whitaker, Charles M. Frazer. 

Danville, June, 181 7. 

From this document, it appears that there were no female Sunday 
school scholars in that day, and consequently there was still much 
to learn and an open field for great improvements. 

This first Sunday school, in Danville, was organized as above sta- 
ted, on the 2d day of August, 181 7, in a private dwelling on Market 



i2(i HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Street, east of Pine. A brief, biographical note of each of the old 
founders of the first Sunday school in Danville is appended. 

Doctor Ira Daniels was a native of Connecticut. He and Doc- 
tor Petrikin were the village physicians of that day. They suc- 
ceeded Doctor Barrett, who was the successor of Doctor Forest, the 
first physician of the place. Doctor Daniels was editor of the Ex- 
press, the second newspaper of the county, which succeeded the 
Columbia Gazette, the first journal in this place, and which was pub- 
lished only a year or two. The Doctor rendered effective aid in 
drawing up the constitution and in obtaining the cooperation of 
others in establishing the school. He was a member of the commit- 
tee, of which Hon. William Montgomery was the chairman, and 
drew the last two articles of that instrument. 

Ja?nes Humphreys, a worthy citizen, who cheerfully joined in the 
good work of establishing the school. 

James Montgomery was a member of the large and influential fam- 
ily of that name, who did so much to establish and aid the village 
in its early days to obtain a position for usefulness and to give it a 
reputation for sound morality. His brother. Rev. John Mont- 
gomery, was a teacher in the school, and subsequently became su- 
perintendent, and continued in that capacity until he removed to 
western Illinois where he labored long and faithfully as pastor of a 
church. They and Rev. William B. Montgomery, were sons of 
Col. John Montgomery, one of the earliest pioneers who reclaimed 
Mahoning to civilization and religion. He (James) died in 1826, 
at the early age of thirty- five years. 

William Wilson^ the village justice, who most respectably filled 
that office for an age. After a long and useful course here, rearing 
a large family, and when well advanced in years, he removed to Il- 
linois, near the Mississippi river, where he died in 1848, at the good 
old age of eighty-three years. His decendants still reside in Knox, 
Rock Island, and Mercer counties, and in Chicago. 

Josiah McClure, one of the prominent and popular citizens at 
that period, held the office of register and recorder of Columbia 
county, being the first incumbent ; he was also the first secretary of 
the school, and faithfully discharged his official duties. 

John Invin was one of the early residents, and a hotel keeper, 
who united with the others in promoting the good work, and he lived 



FIRST SUNDA Y SCHOOL. 127 

to see the institution permanently established. He was one of the 
thirty- four subscribers to an agreement to contibute to the support 
of the preaching of the Gospel in 1785, before the erection of the 
old Grove church. 

William Whitaker was a Hibernian who emigrated from Europe 
to Philadelphia, and soon afterwards to Danville, whilst it was yet a 
small village. He was an assiduous promoter of the school. About 
this period the Methodist church was formed and he was one of its 
zealous members. The father of a large family, he lived to see 
them arrive at years of maturity. His daughter and grand children 
still reside in Danville. His son, Doctor William H. Whitaker, re- 
sided in New Orleans, and afterwards in Mobile, where he died in 
1870, leaving a large family who reside there and in the vicinity. 

Jeremiah Evans was a merchant then residing here, and who sub- 
sequently removed to Mercersburg. He was one of the most effi- 
cient members of the society, and one of the superintendents elected 
at the organization of the school in 1817. 

William Woods was well known as a leading Methodist, who 
aided in the organization of that sect when they possessed but slen- 
der means for such an enterprise ; he was one of the class leaders. 
His piety and energy commanded the confidence of his colaborers 
and coreligionists, as well as the respect of the entire community. 
Thus it will be seen that the school was established by pious and 
enterprising men, irrespective of religious creeds, though a majority 
of them were Presbyterians. Owing to the paucity of its friends at 
its inception it was found expedient for all to unite, who could assist 
in promoting its objects. Some of Mr. Woods' family still reside in 
Danville, actively engaged in business pursuits. 

Joseph Proiitzman was a prominent and popular citizen. He 
came to Danville after having been elected sheriff of the county to 
succeed Henry Alward, the first one, about a year anterior to the 
organization of the school. After the expiry of his sheriffalty he 
resumed his former profession, that of surveyor, for which his math- 
ematical attainments and skill well fitted him. Subsequently, and 
until his decease, he was a justice of the peace. 

Don Carlos Barrett was a native of Norwich, Vermont. His 
birth dated back to 1788. He was a most accomplished and suc- 
cessful teacher. His academy at Cincinnati in 1808, 1809, and 



128 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

i8io, was a grand success. His school in Danville at the time the 
Sunday school was formed was a most prosperous one, being patron- 
ized by the principal citizens of the place, and by those of the vicin- 
ity and neighboring villages. Whilst busily engaged in his school 
by day he studied law by night. Upon his admission to the bar 
he removed to North Carolina, and subsequently to Erie, from 
thence to Texas just prior to the revolution, and during that event- 
ful period, together with x^ustin and Houston, constituted the "Con- 
sultation," the triumvirate which exercised supreme control during 
that sanguinary conflict. After the new nation had secured its in- 
dependence he resumed his law practice and resided at Bastrop. 
Here, after a life of great activity and usefulness he died in 1838, at 
the age of fifty years. 

Hon. William Montgomery was born in Philadelphia in 1776, 
and was taken by his parents, when in his infancy, to Northumber- 
land, and from thence to Danville. From Danville the family had 
to flee several times from prowling parties of war-like savages. They 
sought refuge at Northumberland, or Fort Augusta. In early man- 
hood he was appointed one of the associate judges of Northumber- 
land county, for which position his intelligence and sterling integrity 
well fitted him. When the new county of Columbia was formed, 
he continued to hold his office in the new county to the close of his 
long and spotless life, in January, 1846. It may truly be said of 
him, "he felt that a christian is the highest style of man." The 
only surviving members of his family are Rev. Samuel Montgomery, 
residing at Oberlin, and his grand-children and great-grand-children 
in Pennsylvania, Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, and Nebraska. 

John Riissel, one of the pioneers, was a man much respected. He 
was a merchant, and one of the first in this place. Always ready to 
join in every enterprise for the moral as well as the material ad- 
vancement of the community he warmly advocated the establish- 
ment of the Sunday school, and was a co-laborer with Judge Mont- 
gomery in the organization of the first Sunday school in Danville. 
He was chosen treasurer, and ever manifested a deep interest in the 
success of the school. John Russel was a man of merit, modest, 
loving the quiet of his family and his home, but was called to public 
life in 1824, when he was appointed prothonotary of the county by 



THE OLD LOG HOUSE. 



i2g 



Governor John Andrew Shultz. He served six years with great 
credit to himself and satisfaction to the pubHc. 

Charles M. Frazer, the last survivor of the society, was born in 
Philadelphia, in February 1 788. In his infancy, during the sum- 
mer of that year, his parents brought him to Mahoning where his 
childhood, youth, and early manhood were passed, in the old home- 
stead farm, now in part included in the corporate limits of Dan- 
ville. He was educated in the old log school-house, which stood 
about thirty paces east of the first Grove church, under the tuition of 
Master Gibson and other teachers of the olden time, which was 
about the close of the last century. He cordially aided in founding 
the school and in its support, during his residence here. He resided 
for half a century in this vicinity with the exception of two years in 
California, in 1855-56. Having survived all the other members of 
the society many years, he died in Peoria, in October, 1876, in his 
eighty-ninth year. His children, grand-children, and great grand- 
children reside in Ohio, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, and Peru, South 
America. 

TTze Old Log Ifoizse. 

Green in the memory of many is the old log cabin where first 
they hailed the dawn of life, or which perchance is associated with 
well remembered scenes in the long past. Among pioneers the old 
log cabin is a sacred institution, one that never fails to call back the 
hallowed memories of childhood's home. Danville is not without 
these monuments of the past generation ; and these quaint old struct- 
ures, in the eyes of those who are now treading the do»vn hill of 
life, are no less sacred as cherished memorials of the past, than are 
the remembrances of those whose lives began in the grand old man- 
sion or the lordly palace. 

Among the ruins of the fire in Reed's block, was an old house. It 
had been disguised for years in a coat of weather-boards, and, by 
the rise of Mill street, it was left far below the pavement. It was 
lost to sight. Its original garb gave place to another, and that too 
was crumbling away with age. But the fire stripped off the shell, 
and brought out the old log house, only to disappear again, and 
this time, forever. The ancient beams that left the primitive forest 
a century ago were exposed in the glare of the flames in the rude 
9 



130 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

dressing of the pioneer, and the style of the olden time. There 
were the windows and doorways far below Mill street as it is now, 
but all right as it was then. This was one of the oldest buildings 
in Danville. It was cemented with mud between ihe logs and cov- 
ered with clap-boards in its early days. The chimney, we pre- 
sume, was on the outside, like the smoke stack of a furnace. But 
that old building is not without its legends of ghosts and its tales of 
horror, as well as more pleasant scenes connected with those who 
trod its threshold in aidd lang sy?ie. One frail mortal, tired of life, 
committed suicide within its walls, and there too, others first saw 
the light of day. How much of joy and of sorrow, in that old 
house, was felt by those who have long slept in the grave uncon- 
scious to pleasure and pain, as the old building itself. Years ago it 
was used as a school-house and the scenes enacted there "could a 
tale unfold" that would raise each individual hair, like the quills on 
the fretful porcupine. I only know that a friend of mine, then a 
school boy, was the subject of a terrible wallopping in that rude 
temple of literature. He has not forgotten it yet. As he watched 
the scene, that wallopping came back to his memory, bright as the 
flames that played around the old familiar logs, and the image of 
the stern old school master seemed to rise from the burning floor, 
and assume a grotesque form, as it vanished in the dense volumes of 
smoke that filled its chambers. The school master of that day was 
an autocrat, and played the tyrant in his little kingdom of the school- 
roomj and to-day the advancement in the science of teaching is no 
less remarkable than the improvement in architecture. 

Well, the old log house is gone. Another monument of the past 
has vanished in smoke. 

Old ScTlooI Dccys. 

The school houses in the olden time were rude and unpretending 
structures. Some had no glass in the windows — oiled paper answered 
the purpose. Great logs were piled in the wide hearths, for stoves 
were scarce. The seats and desks were in keeping with the struc- 
ture, so arranged that the larger scholars occupied positions behind 
long desks which ran with either side of the wall, and faced the 
" master," while the younger ones occupid the more uncomfortable 
benches immediately in front, where their feet scarcely ever touched 



OLD SCHOOL DAYS. ijr 



the floor. So much for the house, and now for the school. The 
" master " was estimated according to his sternness, and the scepter 
of his power was the symbol of brute force. They didn't think of 
teaching more than spelling, reading, and "cyphering." There 
were no free schools, but the poor could attend the school, and the 
county paid the teacher three cents a day for each scholar on the 
poor list. 

The " master's standing in the community was not alone meas- 
ured by the dexterity with which he could "point a quill," but the 
respect entertained for him was somewhat akin to that of the re- 
vered "circuit rider," who was generally consulted on such matteis 
as related to civil progress, local government, etc., and whose opin- 
ions thereon were highly esteemed and duly regarded. The " mas- 
ter " generally " boarded 'round " in turn among the parents of the 
scholars, and his " week at our house" was looked forward to with 
mingled feelings of pride and regret by the younger folks, but with 
satisfaction by the parents, especially the good housewife, as she 
would take an inventory of her crocks of preserved fruits, or re- 
arrange the "spare room " to give it an extra air of cozy comfort 
and welcome. 

Don't you remember the time when you were wont to be startled 
with the stern command of " mind your books?" How it made 
the little chaps jump and hold up their books before their faces, 
whilst they made furtive side glances towards the frowning tyrant 
who wielded the birch ! Don't you remember how the " big boys " 
would sometimes cram their caps in their pockets, and, meek as in- 
nocent lambs, say, " Master, please let me go out," and then ske- 
daddle? But one at a time was allowed to go out, and to keep 
things right a small paddle or shingle was hung near the door. On 
one side, in large black letters, was the word In, and on the other 
Out. This was to be turned on passing out and in. Sometimes a 
mischievous fellow would watch his chance, when one was out, and 
turn the " pass " to " in," and then ask to go out, because he wanted 
to join the one already out. The " master," peering over his specs, 
would examine the shingle, and satisfied that all were " in," would 
grant permission. How many of our readers remember the old 
" pass " that hung beside the door? They had no bells, but called 
the scholars by rapping smartly on the door-frame with a wooden 



132 HISTORY Ot DANVILLE. 

rule, accompanied with the word of command, "Books ! books !" 
when every urchin scampered for his seat, took up his book and pre- 
tended to study with wonderful earnestness, but all the time peep- 
ing around to see what was going on. Next, you would hear, 
" Master, Sam's a'pinchin' me !" or, " Joe's a' sxrougin' me !" The 
mischievous boy, by way of punishment, was compelled to pass 
across the room and take a seat with the girls — a doubtful kind of 
punishment. Some blushed like lobsters, and others seemed to 
enjoy it. 

There was one day in the year when the "master's" anger was 
braved, and that was in the time-honored custom of "barring out 
the master" on Christmas. On that great occasion, the plot being 
previously laid, the scholars assembled long before school time, and 
piled up the seats to barricade the door. All preparations made, 
they waited the coming of the "master." At last he came, and 
with threats alarmed the more timid, but the "big boys," no less 
determined, withstood the onset. An agreement to give free par- 
don and a general treat to the school was slipped out under the 
door, with the offer of opening the door if the "master" would 
sign and return the paper. Sometimes he returned it with his sig- 
nature at once, and other times he kept them imprisoned for the 
day and punished them besides. "Barring out the master" was a 
common custom all over the country, but it has long since been 
abandoned, though many who read these lines will remember the 
exciting scenes connected with this old time custom. 

In the winter time the "singing school" was also held in the 
school house. These, as well as the "spelling matches," were the 
great excitements of the season. For miles around the young folks 
joined in making the required number, at fifty cents each for the 
quarter. At the appointed time they assembled, bringing each a 
singing or "tune book," a tallow candle, and generally a sweet- 
heart. They were soon arranged on the rude seats, holding the 
stump of a tallow candle, wrapped in paper, in one hand, and the 
book in the other. Those who were tortunate enough to own a 
singing book were regarded with something like envy, yet they 
commanded a considerable amount of respect. The "singing 
master" was usually a tall Yankee, wearing a "churn on his head 
and a "swallow-tailed" coat on his back. His pantaloons were a 



OUR SCHOOL DAYS. /jj 



world to short, and his twang was of the nasal persuasion. They 
had no blackboard, but with a short stick the "master" sawed the 
air as he sang out /a, sol, la, me, sol. When he came to the end 
of the space, he made a sudden turn as the tails of his coat described 
a semi-circle. "Old Hundred" was then a favorite. When "sing- 
ing school" was out the grand occasion was manifest in the scram- 
ble for partners, and many a long walk home resulted in a match. 

Once on a very dark night, when singing school was out and 
some had gone quite a distance, an unpretending young man called 
out, "Hello ! Becka ! Becka !" as loud as he could bawl. "Hello! 
Jerry !" came back on the night breeze and resounded through 
the near woodland. It was Jerry's "lady love," who had gone 
some distance on the dark way homeward. "May I go home with 
ye, Becka?" was Jerry's next. Again she responded, "Oh, well, 
Jerry, I reckon !" He did go home with her, and in due course 
of time they were married and lived in a little frame house on the 
outskirts of town. He was a shoemaker, and fond of tobacco, and 
was in the habit of taking very large quids, about the size of a 
duck-egg, and when exhausted would dry them in a bag that hung 
in the chimney-corner. When perfectly dry, Becky would smoke 
them in her short clay pipe. One morning, as a neighbor called to 
have some cobbling done, he heard the following conversation : 
"Jerry, any more old chaws?" "Wall, I dunno, Becky, looky in 
th' ba i-g !" Thus, they lived long and happy together, and some 
of their descendants may perchance be living in Danville to-day. 

There were no church choirs then. All who could sing in the 
congregation joined in the hymn, two lines of which were "given 
out" at a time. And when melodeons were first introduced, they 
were refused admission into many of the churches. Choirs were 
another innovation that are no improvement, and the time may 
come again when true worshippers will return to the old-time con- 
gregational singing. 

Inctd-ents. 

In 1824, the " Codorus," a small steamboat of about one hundred 
tons, arrived at Danville, on an experimental trip up the Susque- 
hanna, and was received with great demonstrations of joy by the 
citizens. A public banquet was given to the officers of the boat, at 



134 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

the old Cross Keys tavern that stood on the river bank. The banquet 
was numerously attended, and high hopes were entertained of the 
speedy and successful navigation of the Susquehanna river by steam. 
But, alas, these bright visions were of short duration. The bo^t pro- 
ceeded on her voyage, and when near Berwick exploded her boiler, 
killing or fatally injuring a number of her crew. This terrible dis- 
aster dispelled all hope of successfully navigating the river by steam. 
More than half a century has passed away and no attempt has been 
made since the fatal voyage of the " Codorus," of York. 

James Hamilton the junior member of the firm of King & Hamil- 
ton, merchants, in 1813, was a suitor for the hand of Miss Lydia 
Evans, but his ardent love was not reciprocated. He was rejected 
by the fair Lydia. This rejection made him desperate, and he com- 
mitted suicide, by shooting himself with a pistol. This was the first 
suicide that occurred in the town of Danville, and it was long re- 
membered with horror. These sad occurances have not been fre- 
quent in this place. Perhaps young folks do not love as desperately 
as they did in the olden time, or the fair maidens of to-day are less 
cruel than they were in early times. We have no record of any sub 
sequent suicide in Danville, for a similar cause ; as those who are 
rejected, instead of blowing out their brains, gracefully retreat and 
then seek a more congenial spirit. 

In 1778, one evening at dusk. Gen. Daniel Montgomery noticed 
what seemed an empty canoe floating down the river. Taking a 
small boat he rowed out to inspect the strange craft. Approaching 
the canoe he saw an Indian lying in the bottom apparently armed 
with bow and arrows. On second thought he resolved to pull up 
to the canoe. On coming along side he found that the Indian was 
dead. A dead rooster was fixed to the bow of the canoe, a bow 
and arrows were in his hands and a card was on the Indian's breast, 
bearing the words, " Let the bearer go to his master King George 
or the devil." Montgomery drew the canoe ashore, where many 
citizens inspected its curious freight. It was then sent adrift and 
has never been heard of since. It proved to be the corpse of a noted 
chief among the Indians, named ' ' Anthony Turkey." He was killed 
on the Kingston Flats, while on a murderous invasion among the 
settlers in Wyoming valley, and his dead body was sent afloat in 
an old canoe, as it was found by Montgomery. 



IXCWENTS. ijs 



My grandfather and grandmother Goochiian were among the old 
residents of Danville. They are buried side by side in the old Luth- 
eran grave-yard. Grandfather Goodman was a coverlet weaver, and 
made bed coverings according to the fashion of that day. They 
were woven of l)right colors in fanciful patterns. Some were orna- 
mentetl with birds, flowers, stars, or trailing vines. An old record 
speaks of him as a " man of culture." He had a good library, 
chiefly German books, many of them in large quarto, Leipsic edi- 
tions. He devoted much time to study. Grandmother survived 
him a number of years, and was killed by being thrown from a wagon 
by a runaway horse. My uncle Philip Goodman's daughter, Eliza 
Ann, was married to Doctor Samuel G. Maus. He was a man of 
considerable prominence in his profession, and was for a number of 
years in partnership with Doctor Logan, father of Senator Logan of 
Illinois. Doctor Maus died at Pekin, Illinois, in February, 1872. 
This union between Doctor Maus and Ann Eliza Goodman, brings 
the writer of this volume into outside relationship with the Maus 
and the Frazer families. 

The first dancing school in Danville was opened by Philip Gra-' 
ham of Milton, in the Pennsylvania hotel then kept by Philip 
Goodman and now by J. V. Gillaspy. This dancing school was 
attended by the young folks of the town, and also by many from the 
surrounding country. Among the latter was Philip F. Maus, then 
quite a youth. His father, Joseph Maus, had been persuaded to 
send him in order that he might keep pace with the times. Mr. 
Philip F. Maus did not take kindly to the exercise and soon aban- 
doned it. He now laughs heartily at the idea of his scholarship, 
and does not regret that his tastes and habits, in early life, were of 
a more substantial character. 

Philip Goodman, uncle to the writer, for a long time kept the old 
" Pennsylvania," now the Revere House, near the bridge. He also 
kept a store in the same building, where he carried on an extensive 
trade with surrounding farmers, especially in exchanging goods for 
wheat. Mr. Maus, at the Mausdale mill, ground the wheat and 
sent the flour in barrels down the river on boats. Immense quanti- 
ties of flour by this mode of transportation, were sent to Philadel- 
phia and Baltimore. These boats had only to be guided on their 
downward voyage; but returning up stream was a tedious and la- 



/j6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

borious process. They were pushed up with long poles set on the 
bottom of the river, braced against the shoulder of the boatmen, 
when a tramp, from bow to stern, would send them up the length 
of the boat. And yet, in this tiresome way a crew often pushed a 
boat twenty miles a day. 

Crotng to BlcLc'k. ^.ock,. 

During the war of 1812, the company commanded by Captain 
Isaac Blue, (father of Samuel Blue, now a resident of Danville,) was 
under marching orders, and when on the eve of departure the com- 
pany was halted in front of the stone mansion to give a parting sa- 
lute to the veteran General William Montgomery. As the old Gen- 
eral came to the door the company " presented arms," whilst they 
listened to a brief address. General Montgomery told them to be 
good soldiers and at the same time take good care of themselves, 
"and be ever as now, ready to defend and support the Govern- 
ment." On the conclusion of his patriotic address the volunteer 
company fired a salute, wheeled and marched away with cheers for 
General Montgomery, the flag and the Union. On this occasion 
General Montgomery was dressed as usual, in Continental costume — 
knee breeches and silver buckles. But alas ; many of those brave 
and patriotic volunteers of Danville nev'er returned. They were 
not slain by the British or Indians ; but by a fatal malady known as 
Black Rock fever — a fever of a typhoid character, and by local cir- 
cumstances rendered peculiarly malignant. Samuel Yorks, Sr., was 
a lieutenant in this company and survived the campaign. It is not 
many years since the good old man calmly fell asleep, and now, af- 
ter the turmoils of a long and active life, he rests in an honored 
grave. 

Doctor Petrikin was also connected with this company. 

JEircLTLgeltcaZ LuLLTLevcirt Chzzrclr. 

The first Lutheran church in this region was in Mahoning town- 
ship as it is now. In that day it was called Ridgeville. Some time 
prior to 1800 a man named Shelhart visited this place, whether he 
was a regularly ordained minister or not, cannot now be told. The 
first record of a church organization, is dated 1803 and the first regu- 
lar pastor was Johann Paul Ferdinand Kramer. From 1805 to 180S 



EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 137 

there is no record, except that which was kept by M. C. F. S. Who 
he was or whether he was pastor, we are not informed. Then there 
is a blank until 1810, when Rev. J. F. Engel took charge and re- 
mained until April 1816. Hete again there is a blank until 1820. 
From this date until 1828 the congregation was ministered to by 
Rev. Peter Kesler. Rev. Peter Kesler seems to have been the only 
Lutheran preacher then in this region of the State, as he served all 
the congregations in this and adjoining counties. After Rev. KJesler 
left the field the Lutherans aided in building a church under the 
impression that they would have the privilege of worshipping in the 
church when completed. But they were disappointed. Rev. Jere- 
miah Shindel came from Bloomsburg about that time and preached 
regularly in the old court-house and organized a congregation of 
those who adhered to the Lutheran church. This was in 1830 after 
he had preached a year or two in the church, now the Episcopalian. 
The removal to the court-house was in consequence of some disa- 
greement in relation to the occupancy of the church. Rev. Shindel 
remained five or six years, then the congregation was left without a 
pastor for some time. During this period some became discouraged 
and united with other churches. After some time those who ad- 
hered were united with the Catawissa charge and had preaching once 
a month by Rev. William Eyer. This continued for a year and a 
half when a call was given to Rev. Meyer. He labored among the 
people with much acceptance ; but the congregation was neither 
large nor rich and Rev. Meyer resigned for want of adequate sup- 
port. They were then without a pastor until 1843 when Rev. Elias 
Swartz, sustained in part by the Home Missionary Society and under 
the guidance of the Great Head of the Church, ministered to this 
long neglected people. On his arrival he found only twenty mem- 
bers left. Some had been called to their last account ; others had 
become discouraged and found a home in other congregations, 
where they are now among the most exemplary and influential citi- 
zens of this place, exerting a salutary influence in the cause of the 
Redeemer ; but wholly estranged from the peculiar Church of their 
fathers, and while their former brethren bless them for what they are 
doing in behalf of the kingdom of Christ, yet many of them regret 
the necessity that drove them from their home into the bosom of 
strangers. Many of them sigh to think that so many of the sons 



ijS HISTOR Y OF DANVILLE. 

and daughters of the Church of the Reformation, and bearing the 
name of the great Reformer, were compelled for the want of the 
bread of life to abandon the household of their fathers. 

Danville had now become a considerable town, numbering be- 
tween two and three thousand inhabitants. The various denomi- 
nations who had been better supplied with pastors, had become 
firmly established ; when Rev. Swartz, with the little remnant of the 
former flock, (and these were mostly poor in this world's goods,) 
held a series of meetings which were abundantly blessed by the vis- 
itations of divine favor and the outporing of the spirit. As the re- 
sult of this meeting he received into the communion of the church 
by the rites of Baptism and Confirmation between forty and fifty 
members. After laboring' successfully for about a year they formed 
the design of building a suitable church edifice for their accommo- 
dation. A meeting was called and the following persons were duly 
appointed to superintend the erection of the House, viz : William 
G. Miller, Thomas Ellis, Samuel Gulick and William Sechler. The 
church was built and dedicated to the service of God, with the title 
of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Danville, Pennsylvania. 
This occurred during the first week of June, 1845. The officiating 
ministers present on the occasion were Revs. Elias Swartz, William 
Eyer and Jacob Smith. On the following March, Rev. Swartz 
having become somewhat discouraged on account of straitened cir- 
cumstances, a heavy church debt resting on the congregation, and the 
consequent meager support he received, he finally resigned his pas- 
toral relation and accepted the call of a Lutheran congregation in 
Maryland. The Danville congregation was then connected with 
the Milton charge, and served by Rev. Ruthrauff, once in two 
weeks for the space of nine months. At the end of that period, a 
call was given to Rev^ M. J. Alleman, who accepted the call and 
entered on his labors, and served the congregation with great ac- 
ceptance until 1848, when he resigned and went to Sunbury, and 
took charge of one of the churches in that place. The congrega- 
tion was then without a pastor for nearly two years, when Rev. P. 
Willard, agent of the Theological Seminary at Gettysburg, was 
called. He commenced his pastoral labors in this place in 1850. 
He found the members scattered and disheartened, some debt still 
remaining, and the trustees without a deed for the ground on which 



EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. ijg 

the church was built. But a new zeal seemed to be infused into 
the remnant of the flock. Past troubles were for a time forgotten, 
and they once more in the faith and work of the Gospel emulated the 
spirit of their fathers and came up rejoicing to "the help of the Lord 
against the mighty." The number of communicants in February, 
1850, had already reached to the number of 142. A series of meet- 
ings were held in February and March of this year, which resulted in 
the accession of about one hundred. In oneness of spirit and pur- 
pose the pastor and people harmoniously labored together. The 
church lot was enclosed, a legal deed obtained for the lot, and in 
every respect the church seemed to rise above all her difficulties. A 
lot was also purchased about this time for a cemetery, and in 1853 
a parsonage was purchased. Union and brotherly love prevailed, 
and walking in the light of life and the comforts of the Holy Ghost, 
many were added to the church and the work of the Lord pros- 
pered in their hands. 

In 1854 the church became too small to accommodate the con- 
gregation, and with this subject the elements of discord entered the 
membership, as the same question had opeiated in a thousand other 
instances. Seven sites for the new church were reported, and on 
the first vote a majority voted for the old location. The German 
portion of the congregation now refused to give their consent, and 
threatened the trustees with a prosecution if they persisted in build- 
ing an exclusive English Lutheran church. Another meeting was 
therefore called in January, 1855, to ascertain fully the sense of the 
congregation in regard to the project, as well as the locality. 
Seventy-three votes were cast for a site in the North ward and 
seventy for the old location in the South ward. Much dissatisfac- 
tion prevailed ; unkind feeling arose during the protracted contro- 
versy, some of which was even directed against the pastor. A di- 
vision of the congregation was then contemplated, and an amicable 
proposition was made to join in the erection of another church in 
the North ward and secure the services of a separate pastor, but was 
again withdrawn. A lot was, however, purchased in the North 
ward ; and the Church Council resolved to grant Rev. P. Willard 
permission to leave as soon as he could secure another place. This 
was, doubtless, the part of wisdom under the circumstances, as Rev. 
Willard had freely given expression to his views on the subjects of 



140 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

dispute, and of course rendered himself personsally obnoxious to a 
portion of the congregation. He soon received a call from Perry 
county, Pennsylvania, which he accepted, and preached his fare- 
well sermon on the nth of May, 1856, after serving this charge for 
more than six years. 

We had the pleasure of an acquaintance with Reverend Willard, 
and with many others regretted the separation, although it seemed 
necessary in order to restore harmony to the church. His is a man 
of considerable ability, possessing much energy of character, and 
had it not been for the unfortunate circumstances adverted to he 
would no doubt have realized the hopes and expectations of the peo- 
ple of God who rejoiced in the success that attended the first years 
of his ministry in this place. In July of the same year, the congre- 
gation extended a call to the Reverend M. J. Stover, of Waterloo, 
New York. He accepted and entered on his charge on the first of 
September, 1856, and was duly installed on the 21st of October, in 
the same year. The sermon was preached by Reverend George 
Parsons, President East Pennsylvania Synod. The charge to the 
pastor on his installation was delivered by Reverend E. A. Sharrats, 
of Bloomsburg, and the charge to the people by Reverend A. Fink, 
of Lewisburg. Reverend Stover entered upon the responsible duties 
of his high calling with an earnest desire to harmonize the discordant 
elements and establish his people in the unity of the spirit. His 
labors thus far had been crowned with success. He held a series 
of meetings during the winter which resulted in the upbuilding of 
the membership in the faith and hope of the Gospel, and bringing 
many new converts into the church. His ministration had calmed 
the troubled waters and restored the confidence and brotherly love 
that characterized the church through long years of toil and trouble. 

This is known as the Pine street Evangelical Lutheran Church. 
It is a large and handsome brick building, and a fine parsonage now 
adjoins jt. The congregation worshipping there is large. It occu- 
pies an influential position in the community, and as far as human 
judgment extends is "abounding in the work of the Lord." 

After Reverend Stover came Reverend E. Huber, but he re- 
mained only six months. He was followed by Reverend P. P. Lane 
who remained two years. During his pastorate the church was com- 
pleted and dedicated. The next pastor was Reverend E. A. Shar- 



TRINITY LUTHERAN CHURCH. 141 

ratts, who served 'the congregation two years and six months. Then 
came Reverend George M. Rhoads and labored with great accept- 
ance and marked success for four years. He was followed by Rev- 
erend U. Graves, who remained two years; and February, 1874, 
the present pastor, Reverend M. L. Shindel, was called and took 
charge of the congregation. Reverend Shindel is now in the seventh 
year of his pastorate, and every year the bonds of Christian confi- 
dence between the pastor and his people seem to grow stronger and 
stronger. His labors have been greatly blessed in building up the 
church in the faith and hope of the Gospel. 

Trirhity LxLtheTCLTL CTtvurclx. 

This handsome church, on the corner of Market and Church 
streets was built in 1861, though the congregation, which was a 
branch diverging from the old Lutheran congregation, was organ- 
ized in 1859. It is proper to say that increasing numbers and a di- 
vision on the locating of a new church were the chief causes of 
separation. The building is in the Norman Gothic style and is 
seventy-five by forty-five feet. It was originally surmounted by a 
neat and elegant spire, one hundred and twenty feet high ; but dur- 
ing a great storm that passed over Danville the spire was blown 
down and was never re-built. The basement contains a lecture 
room. Sabbath school room, and a study. The auditorium is a 
model of beauty harmonizing in all its parts. The ceiling is adorned 
with the richest fresco, and the pulpit and surroundings are oak. 
The windows are of stained glass, representing all the hues of the 
rainbow, filling the chamber with a soft and mellow light. There 
are some three hundred communicants and the Sunday school is at- 
tended by about two hundred scholars. The first pastor of this 
church was Rev. D. M. Henkel. He was succeeded by Rev. Corn- 
man. Rev. Anspach was the next pastor, and he was followed by 
Rev. M. C. Horine, the present pastor. Rev. Horine is devoting 
his life to usefulness in the cause of education, as well as the exer- 
cise of his ministerial duties. He is, the superintendent of common 
schools of Montour county, and never were the duties of the office 
more faithfully discharged than now. We have had A. B. Putnam, 
William Butler, a conscientious and an excellent man. Then we 



142 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



had Mr. Henry who died a few years ago ; but good as they were, 
they did not excel Rev. Horine, and this is the voice of the pubHc. 

St. J^oTtn's ZjixtlxeTCLTL CTliltcIz. 

The German speaking portion of the Lutheran church, organized 
a separate congregation, and were chartered as St. John's German 
EvalgeHcal Lutheran Church. They purchased the old church on 
Market street, built in 1843. This was in 1858. Rev. Eyer was 
called to the pastorate and served until his death in 1874. In 1875 
Rev. J. W. Early became the pastor in connection with Mahoning 
and Lazarus. Rev. Early has been much blessed in his labors and 
is still in this charge, and bids fair to minister to this people for many 
years to come. And although the congregation felt the depressing 
effects of the late hard times ; yet their church is without debt and 
improvements of the building are in contemplation. 

J'. B. J\£ooTe. 

J. B. Moore, a former resident of Danville, kept a drug store in 
the building now occupied by Mr. Askins. Mr. Moore also con- 
tributed to the improvement of the town by building several snug 
houses in the Second ward. He afterwards sold his drug store to 
Samuel Hays and removed to Philadelphia in 1861. Subsequently 
he purchased a lot on the corner of Thirteenth and Lombard streets 
in that city, where he erected a large and elegant building in which 
he keeps a first class retail drug store. I have heard some of our 
leading physicians say, that without exception, Mr. J. B. Moore is 
the most complete chemist and druggist that ever located in Dan- 
ville. The scientific papers he has contributed to the leading phar- 
maceutical journals of the United States have elicited the highest 
commendation of the profession, and his new discoveries in chemis- 
try and pharmacy have been as highly approved. The honorable 
position Mr. Moore has attained in his profession, reflects credit on 
Danville, that was long the place of his residence. With his pro- 
fessional attainments, his liberal spirit and generous nature, it needs 
only time and good health to secure a niche in the temple that never 
decays. 

DoctoT J'oseplt JPcurry. 

Doctor Joseph Parry came to Danville from Wales, his native 



THE ACADEMY. 143 



place, wlien he was but a child. When nine or ten years of age he 
began on light work about the Rough and Ready rolling-mill. He 
soon began to develop musical talents of the highest order,, and at 
the age of nineteen years he became a composer and competed suc- 
cessfully for the prizes offered by the Eisteddvotlan committee. Soon 
his remarkable talents attracted the attention of the lovers of music 
on both sides of the Atlantic, and he was generously aided in pro- 
curing a year's instruction in the Royal Academy of Music in Lon- 
don ; subsequently by his own efforts he was enabled to remain two 
years longer, and finally won the highest pri^e at the Academy. 
Cambridge conferred on him the degree of Bachelor ot Music, and 
subsequently Doctor of Music. He then returned to Danville and 
taught in an institute here, between 1871 and 1874. In 1874 he 
accepted the professorship of music in the university at Aberystuith, 
Wales. His compositions are now widely known, and in both hem- 
ispheres his reputation is established as one of the most eminent 
composers of the nineteenth century. Danville may well feel an 
honest pride in the world-wide reputation of Doctor Joseph Parry. 

TKe A^ccLciemy. 

The Danville Academy was established at an early day by Gen- 
eral William Montgomery. He granted a number of lots for that 
purpose, lying west of Mill street, between the river and Mahoning 
creek ; stipulating it should be under the control of the Presbyterian 
church, and that one of his decendants should always be on the 
board of trustees. The building is a neat, two-story brick on the 
corner of Market and Chestnut streets. It is surrounded by pleas- 
ant grounds and shaded by a number of large maple trees. During 
the long years since its institution, there have been a number of 
teachers engaged in dispensing its blessings to successive genera- 
tions. Those within my own recollection were Bradley, Weston, 
Wynn, Pratt and Kelso. Among these, J. M. Kelso, is no doubt the 
most thorough and successful educator. For some years he taught in 
the Danville Institute. This was founded by himself in the Mont- 
gomery building and of which he was principal. Some of our most 
intelligent and active men in the various professions and pursuits of 
life, were educated or prepared for college in the Danville Institute, 
under the tutilage of J. M. Kelso. In fact the college authorities 



144 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

declared that no young men came better prepared than those who 
had been under the training of Mr. Kelso. His method is thorougii 
and substantial. His present assistant is Miss Flora E. Dorey, also 
an excellent teacher. 

j^moTxg the JDecid.. 

John Yerrick, an uncle by marriage to the author of this book, 
was a quiet, inoffensive man, who strictly attended to the duties of 
his position in life. Kind hearted, honest and true, he lived a 
peaceful life, enjoying the good wishes of all around him. He was 
the ever-faithful sexton of the Protestant Episcopal church without 
intermission from the building of the church in 1828 until his 
death which occurred in 1862 in the seventy-ninth year of his age. 

William Kitchen, familiarly known as " Squire Kitchen," was one 
of the old residents of Danville, and for a number of years acted as 
a justice of the peace. He was also an auctioneer and many a curi- 
ous joke he cracked on such occasions. Many will remember his 
mock solemnity, when scolding his turbulent audience for permit- 
ting " their minds to run on worldly things, and forgetting the 
sale." At the merry makings of the young folks, the " Squire" and 
his violin were always in demand, and well they knew the squeak of 
his old brown fiddle. No wonder he became a popular favorite. 
His genial nature and goodness of heart were proverbial. He al- 
ways possessed a buoyant, playful disposition up to the very last. 
Many who read this note will pause and call to mind some droll 
remark of " old Squire Kitchen," whose heart was always kind, and 
whose jokes, though sharp, never injured any one. He died at an 
advanced age regretted by all who knew him. 

William Hancock came from England and was for a time em- 
ployed at the Montour iron works. In 1847 he joined with John 
Foley in establishing the Rough and Ready rolling-mill. He after- 
wards became sole proprietor of the works. Finally when it became 
the National iron works he was chosen president of the company. 
William Hancock was an upright, enterprising citizen, and added 
much to the business life and prosperity of the town. He built a 
splendid mansion on Market street and another in Riverside. He 
was always popular with the workingmen, honorable in all his busi- 



AMONG THE DEAD. 145 



ness transactions, and will long be kindly remembered by those who 
have shared his favors or enjoyed his friendship. 

John G. yI/(?«4'-^W(;;7 was a prominent lawyer of Danville. After 
serving with much credit in the State Legislature he was elected to 
Congress in 1856 ; but died before the commencement of his term. 
He fell a victim to the mysterious poisoning at the National hotel, 
in Washington city, in the month of March, 1857, during the in- 
auguration of James Buchanan. He returned home and after linger- 
ing a little while, died in the prime of life. He was born in Para- 
dise, then Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1805, and died 
on the 24th of April, 1857. 

Paid Leidy was one of the leading lawyers of Danville and held a 
high position in the resp3ct and confidence of the community. He 
represented this district in the Thirty-fifth Congress of the United 
States. He had also served as prosecuting attorney of Montour, 
held many positions of trust, and died respected by his fellow citizens. 

John Foley was William Hancock's partner in the Rough and 
Ready rolling-mill. He was ajso a local preacher in the Methodist 
church. He left the firm at one time and took a trip to Europe to 
revisit the scenes and friends of his youth. Previous to his depart- 
ure the workingmen presented him with a gold headed cane. The 
presentation address was made by the writer of this volume in the 
court-house. The ceremony was followed by a banquet at the 
Montour House. Mr. Foley returned to Danville and after some 
time he removed to Baltimore, where he died a few years ago. 

John T. Heath was a brass founder and plumber, and also kept a 
small grocery on the corner of Pine and Walnut streets. He was 
something of a curiosity, and was noted alike for his honesty and 
fair dealing and for the marvelous tough stories he could tell. He 
could tell a fish story with the most profound solemnity ; such as 
having seen a man at Philadelphia ride across the Delaware to Cam- 
den, on the back of a sturgeon. He could also tell snake stories 
with an air of seriousness that challenged the confidence of his way- 
side audience. And yet John T. Heath was a good man, did no 
harm to his neighbor and was highly res[)ected in his day and gen- 
eration. He left Danville years ago and has since died. 

John Patton was a wheelright and one of the early mechanics 
that gave character to Danville. By the kindness of his children, 
10 



i4(> HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



the later years of his life were spent in comfort and with little of 
worldly care. Many a pleasant hour I spent with him under the 
tall elms that stood on the banks of Mahoning ; and well I knew 
that I lost a friend when John Patton died. Indeed, if •' good" can 
be justly applied to mortal man — one who contributed a share to 
the business current and the moral sentiment of Danville, that man 
was John Patton. An earnest christian, an example of steadfast, 
practical piety, and yet always cheerful as a summer morning. He 
has gone to meet the reward of the christian soldier who has fought 
the good fight, kept the faith and finished his course. 

Mannassa Young was a prominent member of the African Metho- 
dist Episcopal church of Mount Zion, and was also superintendent 
of the Sabbath school. He was a portly man, weighing nearly four 
hundred pounds. For twenty years he served as watchman at the 
company store and was always faithful. He died in February, 
1870. His death was peaceful. He died as the Christian dies. 

William Thompson was a barber and a man of more than ordi- 
nary intelligence. He was well posted on public affairs, and al- 
though he did not live to see the day, he confidently predicted the 
freedom of his race in the near future. He died in the prime of life. 

Sydney S. Easton died in October 1862, in the fifty-eighth year of 
his age. He was a contractor in connection with the public works 
in various portions of the State, and for some time had been en- 
gaged at the Pennsylvania iron works. He built a fine residence 
on Market street, now occupied by William T. Ramsay, who mar- 
ried a daughter of Sydney S. Easton. He (Sydney S. Easton) was 
highly esteemed, kind in his disposition and charitable to all, he 
never turned away from the needy. He was a member of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal church, and in his life adorned the doctrines he 
professed. Rev. E. N. Lightner delivered a beautiful and appopri- 
ate address over his remains in the church. The Masonic fraternity 
escorted him to the grave. 

Isaac Gulick, an upright citizen, held a number of local positions 
of responsibility and died some twenty years ago. 

A. P. Alward, long a justice of the peace, died as old age was 
approaching. 

John Moore, one of the enterprising business men of Danville, 
died at a good old age. He built the Mansion House. 



AMONG THE DEAD. 147 

Jacob Corne/ison, proprietor of the '' White Swan," contracted 
disease in the army and died in 1865, comparatively young. 

Cornelius Garretson, a man of considerable prominence died at 
a good old age. He was at one time proprietor of the Montour 
House. 

John Harmon, was a quiet and industrious citizen, working as 
book-binder, barber, watchmaker and saloon keeper. He was in 
the forty-fourth year of his age and died on the 4th of June, 1870. 

Robert Winter, was among the honest, industrious and pious citi- 
zens of Danville. He was a baker and made good, honest loaves. 
He fell asleep some years ago. 

John Cooper. — Judge Cooper was a lawyer of more than ordinary 
ability, and was also considered good authority on literary subjects 
of a general character. Perhaps the deference paid by the public, 
the homage paid to his learning and ripened judgment, made him 
somewhat arrogant in the latter years of his life. He was very quick 
and restive on the slightest opposition ; and many anecdotes are 
told of his sudden ebullitions and emphatic expressions when pro- 
voked. He was much respected as the most learned though the 
most eccentric lawyer of Danville. He died on the 2 2d day of June, 
1863, in the seventy-ninth year of his age. He was the father-in- 
law of Hon. John G. Montgomery, the victim of the hotel poisoning 
at Washington. 

Peter Hughes \\2& a marble worker and was proprietor of the yard 
now owned by H. F. Hawke & Co. He was also honored by be- 
ing elected associate judge. He died about 1872. 

B. W. Mussebnan was a good citizen and served as drum major 
in the war for the Union. He died in 1875. 

Jacob Hibler was one of the substantial business men of Danville. 
He carried on the tanning business on Front street, and sold to 
Mr. Houpt. He died a number of years ago, much regretted. 

Thomas Jetnison was a contractor and aided in many public 
improvements. He had many warm friends. Died in 1863 or 
1864. 

Jacob Reed was a Danville merchant, somewhat peculiar ; but 
really a good man. He died a few years ago. 

Samue/ York^^Jr., was the first president of the First National 



r48 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Bank of Danville. He was always a man of high standing in the 
community and died much regretted a few years ago. 

James Cousart, long a confidential clerk at the Rough and Ready 
iron works, died a year or two ago, when scarcely past the meridian 
line. 

Da7iiel Reynolds, the Danville hatter and an honest man died 
some three years ago. 

James G. Maxwell^ a member of the Legislature in 1849, died 
some years ago, and his brother Thomas Maxwell died in 1875. 

llwnias Clark was a machinist, a quiet good man, familiarly 
called "'Uncle Tom." He died some years ago. 

A. J. Ammennaii was the merchant of East Danville. An ac- 
tive enterprising business man. He died in his prime. 

B. W. Waples was superintendent of the Grove's limestones quar- 
ries. He was a man of much executive power, strong in his friend- 
ships and generous to all. 

James Voris was one of the old substantial citizens and held a 
high place in the respect and confidence of the people. He died 
on the 24th of May, 1866, aged 78 years and 7 months. He sleeps 
in the Presbyterian grave-yard where a marble tombstone tells the 
brief and pointed history of man, namely that he was born; lived 
his day, died, has gone to his reward. 

Joseph D. Hahn was an active man and held a number of local 
ofifices. He died in middle life. 

William Buckley built and kept the "Hudson River House." He 
died in 1875. 

Charles C. Baldy built a fine, iron-front block on Mill street and 
kept a hardware store for a number of years. He died six or seven 
years ago. 

Isaac R. Freeze, a young merchant and a man of promise, died 
in 1870 just as he had crossed the threshold of manhood. 

£li Trego came from Chester county and was connected with the 
Montour iron works at their commencement. He was also a jus- 
tice of the peace, his office and residence adjoined the Montgomery 
building. He died on the 14th of February, 1856, and was buried 
with Masonic honors. His remains were first taken to the Episcopal 
church where Rev. E. N. Lightner, the rector delivered the most 
eloquent and impressive funeral discourse I ever heard. 



AMONG THE DEAD. i49 



Samuel Alexander was a worthy and respectable citizen. Long 
an earnest and devoted Christian in communion with the Methodist 
church, he saw his approaching end with cahiiness, and met the last 
great foe like a good soldier of the cross. He was also an ardent 
patriot during the war, and died triumphantly in the fifty-ninth year 
of his age. 

M. C. Grier was a brother of Judge Robert C. Grier, late of the 
Supreme Court of the United States. He was one of the substan- 
tial citizens of Danville, and occupied many positions of public 
trust. Long a ruling elder in the Presbyterian church, he adorned 
the position by the practice of every Christian virtue that lends no- 
bility to the office-bearer in the house of God. Generous to a fault; 
for like Goldsmith's "village preacher," his very " failings leaned 
to virtue's side." He was ever ready to deny himself in minister- 
ing to the happiness of others. Every good work for the general 
or the special benefit of his fellow men always found a warm and 
earnest friend in M. C. Grier. And many there are who will 
gratefully remember his kindly aid and cherish his memory with a 
devotion pure as earth affords and lasting as their lives. In a word, 
M. C. Grier was emphatically a good man, and if the world had 
more like him the sunshine of joy would dispel the darkness of sor- 
row from many a household. He has gone to his reward, leaving a 
record untarnished and a name that none need ever blush to own. 
He died December 25th, 1878. 

William Smith, familiarly known as "Billy Smith," for more 
than thirty years drove stage and omnibus in this place. He was 
one of the most careful and obliging men to be found in the coun- 
try, and was favorably known far and wide. His omnibus was al- 
ways on time and he always had a pleasant answer to a civil inquiry. 
He died a few years ago much lamented. 

/. P., M. J., and John J. Grove. _ the proprietors of the Columbia 
furnaces. Large-minded and energetic business men ; honest and reli- 
able they were highly respected, and all died in the prime of manhood. 

Major lliomas Brandon, one of the live men of Danvil'e, with 
a military turn of mind, died a few years ago. 

George A. Frick, prothonotary of the county, and first cashier 
of the I'ank of Danville; was a lawyer of ability, with a mind well 
stored with general knowledge. He died suddenly at a ripe old age. 



/JO HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Major J. V. L. De Witt, at one time proprietor of Chulasky 
furnace, died a few years ago. 

Major William G. Scott, of Northumberland county, settled in 
Danville, to spend the evening of his days, and died at a good old 
age. 

John Rhodes, came to Danville in 1824. He bought the " Penn- 
sylvania House " in 1829. It was originally called the "Farmers' 
Hotel," and for many years was the chosen hostelrie of the farmers 
and others while attending court or on other occasions. John 
Rhodes enjoyed the respect and confidence of a large circle of friends 
and patrons. He died in 1852 and the property still belongs to his 
heirs. Two of his sons are still in town, B. K. Rhodes a lawyer and 
J. Clark Rhodes a merchant whose store adjoins the hotel. 

Horace Curtis, a highly-respected teacher of the Second Ward 
grammar school. He died on April 21st, 1863, aged 52 years. 

There is no pretension to a complete list of the dead of twenty- 
five years, as that would itself fill a volume. The names of a few 
are added below : 

Dr. Isaac Hughes, Dr. E. H. Snyder, George Kipp, S. C. Van- 
sant, I. S. Thornton, J. M. Woods, Samuel Wolf, W. W. Hughes, 
William Morgan, William Earp, Samuel Ware, Willi.im Travel, Rev. 
J. B. Cook, Charles and Barney Dougherty, John Arms, Mark 
Myers, George and Lewis Kaufman, Frank Rouch, Samuel Roush, 
D. N. Kownover, George Basset, Charles H. Waters, Samuel Stroh, 
Henry Harris, Robert Winter. 

yVcLter TVbrTzs. 

The question of supplying Danville with water was long and earn- 
estly debated, and various plans or systems were proposed. Some 
favored a reservoir on York's Hill and forcing the water from the 
river by a powerful, stationary engine. Others favored a reservoir, 
but insisted on bringing the water from Roaring creek in pipes pass- 
ing under the river bed ; others again were inclined to a connection 
with the water works at the asylum. Some ten years ago, a com- 
pany was chartered, as the "Danville Water Company;" but it 
never got beyond a formal organization. In 1871 some pamphlets 
were sent to this place, explaining the character and success of the 



f 



WATER WORKS. 151 



" Holly system," recently introduced by the Holly firm at Lockport, 
New York. The town council took up the subject, and whilst all 
urged a water supply the council was about equally divided be- 
tween the Holly system and a reservoir. Finally a committee, con- 
sisting of George W. Reay, J. W. Sweisfort, William Buckley, and 
M. D. L. Sechler, was appointed to investigate the subject. 

In the later part of April, 1872, the committee went to Elmira, Buf- 
falo, Binghampion, Rochester, Auburn, and other cities where the 
various plans are in operation. It is worthy of note that a majority 
of the committee was opposed to the Holly system, but after a full in- 
vestigation they unanimously reported in favor of the Holly works. 
Previous to this an election was held at the court house to ascertain 
the popular sentiment. There was a large majority in favor of wa- 
ter, but owing to some informality the result was not satisfactory. 
After a warm contest the Holly system was adopted by the casting 
vote of Burgess, Oscar Ephlin, and a contract was accordingly made 
with the Holly Company at Lockport, New York, The final vote 
on adopting the Holly system was as follows : For the Holly works, 
George W. Reay, William Buckley, Jacob Schuster, George W. 
Miles, J. W. Sweisfort, M. D. L. Sechler, and Oscar Rphlin, Bur- - 
gess. Against the Holly works ; George Lovett, Samuel Lewis, 
James L. Riehl, Henry M. Schoch, and Hickman Frame. 

The water works are located on the river bank in the First ward. 
The engines and pumps are a model of beauty and of power. A 
filterer was constructed some distance out in the river, and the wa- 
ter from thence forced through metal pipes through every portion of 
the town, not only supplying the citizens but proving a great 
safety in case of fire. These works have a capacity of two millions 
of gallons in twenty-four hours, but can be procured of any desired 
capacity. In the works here, there are two engines of each one 
hundred and fifty horse-power, two powerful rotary pumps and a 
gang of twelve piston pumps. There are ten miles of pipe laid and 
there are about one hundred fire hydrants. The pipe was laid by 
S. Krebs & Co., under a contract for $87,500. The contract for 
the engines and pumps, with the Holly Manufacturing Company, 
at Lockport, New York, was for $36,000. In 1880 the council 
had a well sunk on the river bank, fifty feet in length, five feet wide, 
and ten feet deep. The works are now perfectly satisfactory ; the 



rs2 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

wretched filterer in the river having been a source of constant trou- 
ble. It is proper to say that the wells as now constructed, belong 
to the Holly system. The people of Danville, notwithstanding the 
consequent debt, fully appreciate the great value of the Holly sys- 
tem of water supply, and would on no consideration exchange their 
magnificent works for any mud-hole of a reservoir that ever sent its 
doubtful essence through a city, burdened, and yet deprived of pure, 
wholesome water. We now have an abundance, and the safety these 
works afford in case of fire as well as the economy in supporting a 
fire department is alone worth more to Danville than their cost. 
In point of convenience, purity, cleanliness, health, and safety from 
fire, the Holly system of water works, so far as our experience with 
the testimony of other cities extends is superior to all others. 

The water works are managed by a board of three commissioners, 
appointed by the town council. A superintendent, secretary, and 
other employees are appointed by the commissioners. 

The present board of water tommissioners consist of John H. 
Grove, James Cruikshanks, and Doctor R. S. Simington. 

Superintendent, James Foster. 

Clerk, Charles M. Zuber. 

JV[lLStc. 

Music has long been liberally patronized in Danville. I pass 
over the good old times of the village "singing school," and this 
is a necessity as but scanty record is left of those primary institu- 
tions ; when the "master" with his " pitch-forjc," nasal twang and 
swallow-tailed coat ruled the hour. Ah ! those were delightful days 
and more delightful nights, when the young folks met at stated 
periods in the quaint and rugged school-house of the village, each 
with the latest edition of fa-sol-la in one hand and a tallow-dip in 
the other, wrapped in a paper socket. Do ra me had not been in- 
vented, gas was unknown and coal oil slept in darkness far down in 
the earth. Yet the people were contented and happy with the 
square notes and the light the tallow afforded. It was in the days 
when caste, founded on wealth or accidental circumstances was un- 
known, and when these humble enjoyments yielded a rich harvest 
of "delight. How the grand notes of "Old Hundred," "Cov- 
entry" and "Coronation" awoke the slumbering echoes among 



MUSIC. 153 

the rough-hewn rafters ; and how the tender glances of rustic swain, 
or bkishing maiden, mingled in the fitful glare of the tallow-dip and 
perchance gave a richer zest to the heart-felt music. And what fun 
and frolic they had at " intermission/' and how the joyous hearts 
of earnest lovers bounded and fluttered when "singing school was 
out," and going home was in order? Many happy marriages that 
still bless their decendants, resulted from those happy reunions, and 
many scenes of wild romance, or rarest humor, enlivened the long 
remembered hours of joy, in those far off days. Though with 
many they may be almost forgotten in the rushing, jostling race for 
wealth and distinction, or only recalled at long intervals as memory 
for a moment sweeps away the dust of finished years Age or mis- 
fortune will bring back the past, that was forgotten in the sunshine 
of prosperity. 

Quaint and curious is the ancient legend, in relation to the origin 
of instrumental music : namely that Tubal Cain or some antedi- 
luvian caught the first idea from the vibration in the wind of a 
broken branch of the bamboo tree. Equally poetic and perhaps 
more truthful is the story of its origin in Danville. Do you remem- 
ber the ragged but happy descendant of Africa, so lustily blowing a 
horn on the old bridge, near where the iron footway now spans the 
canal, on Mill street ? He manifested a high conception of the sub- 
lime science and remarkable skill in execution. In the calm twilight 
of summer evenings many paused to listen to the stirring music of 
the enraptured amateur. Among them was Abraham Sechler. His 
quick ear caught the inspiring notes that soon developed a wondrous 
power in himself, urging him onward and upward in the scale of mu- 
sical excellence. The cultivation of that branch of music has ever 
been his delight and his success has been complete. From child- 
hood a lover of music and catching fresh inspiration from the thrill- 
ing notes of the wandering minstrel, as he poured the soul of song 
through the rude instrument of his choice, on the old bridge ; Abra- 
ham Sechler resolved to excel. Soon his four brothers joined him 
in an amateur band. For some time these five brothers practiced 
together and won a high reputation for proficiency in rendering 
music of a higher order than the good people of Danville were wont 
to hear. 

The first regular cornet band was organized early in 1838. It was 



154 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

called, " The Danville Independent Band." Abraham Sechler was 
chosen president and leader on the 25th of April, 1838. Jesse F. 
Sholes was made secretary and treasurer. He resigned on the 28th 
day of January, 1839. and Oscar Moore was chosen in his stead. 
At the organization the members were Abraham Sechler, Jesse F. 
Sholes, George S. Sanders, Oscar Moore, Jacob R. Sechler, Michael 
Rissel, George W. Hall, Joseph Hiles, Charles Sechler and Jesse 
Clark, The uniform was blue cloth. The coats were trimmed with 
yellow lace and brass buttons. The by-laws also required them to 
wear " stand-up collars." The constitution and by-laws adopted, 
were drawn up with much care and contain some excellent rules : 
among them is one imposing a fine of two dollars in case of intoxi- 
cation during the hours of duty. In searching the minutes I can 
find no instance of the fine being exacted, from which it is evident 
that this law never was violated. But then it was before the days of 
lager beer or poisoned whisky. For the old records, I am indebted 
to Mr. George S. Sanders who was one of the members of the pio- 
neer band and who is still among our prominent musicians. 

In the course of time the name of the band was changed to " The 
Danville Cornet Band." In 1855 Charles H. Stoes became its 
leader, and in 1857 through the aid of the citizens a complete set 
of new instruments were procured. They were of German silver 
and that presented to Charles H. Stoes of solid silver, and the band 
has since been known as " Stoes' Silver Cornet Band." The mem- 
bers were Charles H. Stoes, leader, Moyer Lyon, George S. Sanders, 
John F. Gulick, B. W. Musselman, A. F. Henrie, E. K. Hale, George 
W. Hoffman, Charles Sechler, Jacob Weitzel, Joseph R. Patton, O. 
G. Mellon, H. L. Shick, Joseph Clark and Hugh Pursel. 

For years this band was one of the most distinguished in the State, 
bearing away the honors on many public occasions in various portions 
of the country. The present members of this band, now "Stoes' 
Twelfth Regiment Band," are Charles H. Stoes, leader, William 
McCloud, Abraham Sechler, A. Flanagan, Benjamin A. Gaskins, 
George S. Sanders, William McCloud, Jr., J. T. Oberdorf, Charles 
Gross, James Irland, Clark Coder, George W. Hoffman, E. K. Hale, 
Joseph L. Frame, Peter Keller, Frank Lewis, John N. Hommer, 
Thomas Hall and H. L. Shick, drum major. In 1856 a new cornet 
band was organized in Danville, under the leadership and instruc- 



MUSIC. I55 

tion of Abraham Sechler. Its membership embraced a number who 
had been trained in the original band together with some new ma- 
terial. It met in the Assembly building and was known as " Sech- 
ler's Cornet Band,'' and it soon attained a high degree of proficien- 
cy. To this band, J. B. Cox, a photographer, presented a large 
portrait of each member, in a massive frame. I had the honor of 
participating in the imposmg ceremonies. For some time " Sech- 
ler's Cornet Band" bade fair to rival the old organization. But its 
members volunteered in the army of the United States and served 
through long years of war and after its dissolution, Mr. Sechler 
played with Stoes' band. In 1872 a number of musicians joined to- 
gether in the organization of a new band, which was known as the 
''Independent Band of Danville." Mr. Gibbons was chosen leader 
and Abraham Sechler instructor. Its place of meeting was in 
Frank's building by the canal. For some time it made extraordi- 
nary progress, but is now dissolved. Some of its members are play- 
ing in Stoes' band. St. Joseph's cornet band was organized some 
years ago, and also made rapid strides under the instruction of Abra- 
ham Sechler, but also disbanded and a portion are in the old and 
only cornet band now in Danville. 

While we acknowledge and admire the rare talents and wonderful 
execution of Charles H. Stoes, justice demands a recognition of 
Abraham Sechler, as the Nestor of musical science in Danville, the 
pioneer of the earliest organized effort in its cultivation, and as such 
he is worthy of a high place in the musical synagogue. He bore 
the burden and piloted the way, in the " day of small things." He 
bared his shoulders to unremitting toil in training the old band and 
preparing the way to the proud eminence it now occupies. He la- 
bored faithfully to sow the good seed, though others might reap the 
golden harvest in a wider field. In a word let us give to each and 
all, the honor that is due to all who have devoted their talents and 
their energies to the cultivation of music, and in giving to Danville 
the preeminenct so generally acknowledged by those best qualified 
to judge. 

'VocclZ artcL Jfistriunenta.1 MIjjlsLc. 

Vocal and instrumental music on the organ and piano have been 
very generally cultivated in Danville. A great number of profes- 



iS6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

sors and teachers liave sojourned here, during the last quarter of a 
century, under whose guidance the standard has been well advanced. 
Some of these are remembered and others are forgotten. It is a curious 
fact that so many traveling professors, tliough blessed with musical 
ability, are shallow minded in other respects, vain and foppish. 
But there are many noble exceptions. Mr. Bachman was a thorough 
teacher and possessed a mind well stored with general information. 
Many of the Danville ladies in middle life, who excel in music to- 
day, were started on the high road by the substantial and skillful 
training of Mr. Bachman. He has long since gone to his rest in 
the grave ; but the fruit of his work remains, and in musical num- 
bers his memory lives in the evening hymns of many a household 
band. There was also Mr. Hess, the two Walkers^ Baron Von 
Rachow and others who were proficients in music, but seemed to 
lack ballast in other departments of their mental organization. 
Among the lady teachers, Miss Damon has no rival. She was emi- 
nently successful and won a high reputation in this place. She, 
like a number of others, was a noble exception to the general criti- 
cism of our musical professors. William H. Bourne was a very 
successful teacher and a man of general information, but he aban- 
doned the profession for other pursuits. Professor Mason conducted 
an institute in Reynold's building for some time with good success. 
Harry Earp's Sextant Cornet Band was organized under the lead- 
ership of Harry Earp, some three years ago. The members at or- 
ganization were Harry Earp, leader; Bergan Gaskins, John F. 
Kime, Conrad Aten, William Earp, David Aten. This band is 
greatly admired for its high character and splendid execution. David 
Aten has since died and his place is vacant. 

The, JTlrst JBcltlTc. 

The 1 ianville bank was chartered by the State, in 1848. The 
first election was held on the 9th of November 1849, ^^ ^'"'^ Mon- 
tour House. The directors then elected were, Peter Baldy, Sr., 
Dr. William H. Magill, George A. Frick, William Jennison, Wil- 
liam Donaldson, Lewis Vastine and M. C. Grier, of Danville ; 
Thomas Hayes of Lewisburg ; Jacob Cooke of Muncy ; W. C. Law- 
son of Milton ; Jacob W. Smith of Selinsgrove; John Sharpless of 
Catawissa; and John Grotz, of Bloomsburg. On the 26th of No- 



EDITORIAL ASSOCIATION. 157 

vember 1849, the directors held a meeting at the Montour House 
and elected Peter Baldy, Sr., president, and on the i8th of Decem- 
ber following, George A. Frick was elected cashier. David Clark 
was elected clerk and B. P. Alward was appointed messenger and 
watchman. The salaries were for the president $300 ; the cashier 
$800; the clerk $500 and for the messenger $168. 

On the 13th of February, 1850, George A. Frick resigned his di- 
rectorship and J. P. Hackenburg was chosen in his stead. 

On the 19th of February, 1850, the bank was opened for business 
and the first deposit was made by David Clark. In February the 
capital stock paid in was $200,000. 

Peter Baldy, Sr., resigned the presidency of the bank on the 13th 
of October, 1856, and Edward H. Baldy was elected to that posi- 
tion. George A. Frick, the cashier, resigned that office on the 2 2d 
of April, 1862, and David Clark was elected cashier on the same 
day. A well-deserved vote of thanks was tendered to George A. 
Frick for his long and faithful services, and his salary was continued 
until the following July. 

According to previous notice a meeting of the stockholders was 
held on the i.tjth of April 1865, to decide upon becoming a National 
Bank, under the laws of the United States. The decision was unan- 
imous in favor of the proposed change. At the same meeting P. 
Baldy, E. H. Baldy, George A. Frick, William H. Magill, J. C. 
Rhodes, G. M. Shoop and John Sharpless were elected directors. 
Since that time the institution has continued to prosper, under its 
judicious management. The officers at present are, president, E. 
H. Baldy; cashier, David Clark; clerk, George M. Gearheart. It 
is now the Danville National Bank. 

EcLitoviaZ A.ssoctcLtiort. 

The first Editorial Association in the State was organized in Dan- 
ville in 1857, at least I have no knowledge of any prior organiza- 
tion. In the spring of 1857, through the paper I then published in 
this place I proposed a convention of Pennsylvania editors at Dan- 
ville for mutual benefit. The project was opposed on the part of 
some, on the ground that the diversity of local interests would pre- 
vent us from fixing a scale of prices or harmonizing on many sub- 
jects. Many, however, seconded this movement and agreed to corns 



ISS HISTORY OF DAM'ILLE. 

to Danville out of deference to the place where it originated. The 
4th of August, 1857, was fixed upon as the time and on that day 
the following editors met in the Montgomery building, where my 
office was then located, viz : J. Henry Puleston, Pittston Gazette ; 
W, P. Miner, Record of the Times, Wilkes-Barre ; E. H. Ranch, 
Mauch Chunk Gazette; E. A. ^^k.tx, Jersey Shore Republican; 
O. N. Worden, Lewisburg Chronical ; Thomas G. Price, Working 
Men's Advocate, Minersville ; R. W. Weaver, Star of the North, 
Bloomsburg ; Palemon John, Columbia County Republican, Blooms- 
burg; L. H. Davis, Montgomery Ledger, Pottstown ; James Jones, 
Jersey Shore Vidette ; H. B. Mosser, Sunbury American; John 
Youngman, Sunbury Gazette ; Levi L. Tate, Democrat, Bloomes- 
burg ; L. F. Irvin, Berwick Gazette; G. L. I. Painter, Muncy Lu- 
minary ; Jacob Frick, y1////^«/rt« y Richard Edwards, Western Star, 
Pottsville ; C. E. Chichester, Philadelphia Enquirer ; Valentine Best, 
Danville Intenigencer ; Charles Cook, Danville Democrat ; D. H. 
B. Brower, Montour American, Danville. 

On motion W. P. Miner was called to the chair, and L. H. Da- 
vis was chosen temporary secretary. 

The following were appointed a committee on organization : E. 
H. Ranch, Thomas G. Price, and D. H. B. Brower. 

R. W. Weaver, J. H. Puleston, Valentine Best, O. N. Worden, 
F. A. Baker, were appointed a committee on "business." 

The convention then adjourned until two o'clock, p. M. 

At the afternoon session the committee on organization reported 
as permanent officers : 

President — Levi L. Tate. 

Vice Presidents — V. Best, G. L. L Painter, O. N. Worden, L. 
H. Davis. 

Secretaries — J. H. Puleston, John Youngman.'' 

Regrets for unavoidable non-attendance were received from the 
Carbon Democrat, Wellsboro' Agitator, Lycoming Gazette, and 
Weekly Phoenix. 

The first movement was as follows : 

Resolved, That this association shall be known as the "Keystone 
Editorial Union," and shall meet annually, at such time and place 
as may be agreed upon. 



EDITORIAL ASSOCIATION. 159 

Resolved, That we earnestly recommend that from the first of 
January next, all subscriptions shall be required in advance. 

Various subjects of importance were discussed. The chair ap- 
pointed Rauch, Cook and Jones a committee on resolutions. 

At the evening session, the following resolutions were reported : 

First. That members of this association will have no dealings 
with any advertising agent who will not promptly settle his accovmt 
at the end of every quarter for all advertisements sent within that 
time ; and any advertising agent failing to do so, shall be published 
as being no longer our agent. 

Second. That we deem it impracticable for editors, in different 
localities distant, from each other to fix a uniform scale of prices, 
and that we therefore recommend that it be made a matter of local 
arrangement, and in no case deviating from the terms set forth in 
their respective journals. 

Third. That believing mutual confidence and cooperation neces- 
sary to secure any practical benefit to our profession, we pledge our- 
selves to use our best efforts, both individually and collectively, to 
cultivate that spirit. 

Fourth. That the publication of personalities reflecting upon the 
private character of a brother editor, or any other individual, is de- 
rogatory to the profession, and should not be countenanced. 

Fifth. That it is a violation of that courtesy which should ever 
characterize the editorial fraternity to employ apprentices who have 
not served out their full term with their employer, unless by mutual 
agreement, and we pledge ourselves to discourage it. 

Sixth. That we will not take apprentices hereafter for a shorter 
period than four years. 

Stventh. That we pledge ourselves to exclude all advertising of 
an indelicate nature. 

Eighth. That all general laws by the Legislature should, in the 
opinion of this association, be published and laid before the people 
as fully as possible, immediately after the close of the session during 
which they were enacted, and that 'the cheapest and only successful 
mode of accomplishing this would be by the passage of an act pro- 
viding for such publication in every newspaper of the State, at a 
cost of one half the regular advertising rates. 



ibo HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Ninth. That a copy of these resolutions be forwarded to every 
newspaper office in the interior of Pennsylvania. 

O. N. Worden delivered an amusing address on "The Oldest 
Printer on Record." 

Pottsville was selected as the place, and the first Tuesday in May, 
1858, for the next meeting. 

The venerable Col. Valentine Best, was unable to take an active 
part in the proceedings, but to manifest his interest in the move- 
ment, he hoisted the American flag at his office, and cordially invi- 
ted all the members of the association to call at his residence and 
partake of a collation prepared for the occasion. About eight 
o'clock in the evening the association enjoyed his hospitality, where 
Stoes' Silver Cornet Band gave them a grand serenade. 

During the ensuing winter the editors of Philadelphia organized 
an editorial association, and invited the "Keystone Editorial 
Union," instituted at Danville, to meet them in Philadelphia on the 
12th of April, 1858. The invitation was accepted, and there being 
an evident disposition on the part of the city editors, with the ex- 
ception of J. W. Forney, and a {<t\v others, to swallow the original 
association, there sprang up a lively discussion between Morton 
McMichael, William M. Allen, George Raymond, and R. Lyle 
White on the one side, and J. W. Forney, Dr. John, L. L. Tate, 
and D. H. B. Brower on the other. 

Finally D. H. B. Brower offered the following as a compromise : 
"That we are willing to go into a general State organization at 
once, if the association of city editors will agree to a formal union 
and a new, joint organization, each abandoning the old. 

On motion of J. W. Forney, this proposition was agreed to. 

The following officers were then elected for the State Editorial 
Association of Pennsylvania : 

President — Morton McMichael. 

Vice Presidents— Co\. Tate, J. J. Patterson, R. Lyle White, O. 
N. Worden, Edward Shull, P. R. Freas, H. S. Evans. 

Secretaries — L. H. Davis, G. Raymond, J. H, Puleston. 

Treasurer — L. A. Godey. 

Executive Committee — D. H. B. Brower, J. W. Forney, J. Heron 
Foster, J. M. Keuster. 

Corresponding Secretary — Charles J. Peterson. 



NOW AND THEN. i6i 



The association adjourned to meet at Harrisburg in 1859, but it 
soon became evident at Harrisburg that the purposes of the associa- 
tion were ignored, and that it was rapidly degenerating into a mere 
season of carousal. After one or two meetings at the capital, the 
leading journalists of the State withdrew, and so far as the original 
design was concerned, it was a failure. The organization was dis- 
solved. Mr. Godey the treasurer, still having some seventy dollars 
in his hands. 

After some years it was resurrected and still retains its organiza- 
tion, meeting annually for a pleasure trip, which seems to be the 
main object of its existence. 

JVow cLJid Then. 

On taking a survey of Danville, there is nothing more clearly ap- 
parent to the careful observer than the growing taste of our people, 
as well as their enterprise, manifested in the air of neatness that sur- 
rounds their dwellings and the improvements and adornments that 
beautify their homes, notwithstanding the grievous depression under 
which they are struggling. Nor is it limited alone to private resi- 
dences, but is seen in the places of public resort. Almost every 
house, in some portions of the town, can boast some new attraction, 
if nothing but a tree, a shrub or a flower. It seems as if the scales 
had fallen from our eyes, and our people, with a common impulse, 
a new-born zeal and a more refined taste, begin to see the beauty 
and the utility of pleasant surroundings. Under the influence of 
this spirit pervading the community old homes are putting on a 
new garb, and the new are reared with scrupulous care, not only as 
" a place to eat and sleep," but as a place to enjoy the sweetest hours 
of life — the pleasures of home. Volumes have been written on the 
duty of making home attractive, and a stroll, especially through East 
Danville or " York's Hill " will convince you that the lesson is car- 
ried out in practice, at least as far as the exterior is concerned. A 
glance at other portions of the town will also show a general pro- 
gress in the same direction, and teach us to anticipate the time wheni 
the rough places will be redeemed, and teem with the evidences of 
taste and culture, so pleasant to the eye, and when the very cinder- 
tips will bloom with the blossoms of the rose. The time is coming 
II 



i62 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

when fruitful gardens, trees and flowers will adorn every home, where, 
as yet, the bare and cinder-coated earth awaits their coming — when 
Bald-Top will no longer lift its barren heights to the sun, but when 
picturesque mansions will deck its crown, when fertile gardens, vines 
and vineyards will adorn its slopes, when shrubbery, roadways and 
all the improvements of cultivated taste and enterprise shall combine 
with its native grandeur to make it what it is destined to be. And, 
surely, Bald-Top has yielded enough of its solid treasures of ore to 
claim in return its general improvement. 

The time was when it was too common to rear a structure in haste, 
to board it up roughly, and guiltless of paint or ornament to make 
it a place to stay. Now, where those in similar circumstances build 
a home it is neat, modestly and tastefully adorned. It is next pro- 
vided with proper surroundings, and is made pleasant to the eye 
and cheering to the heart. And there is no doubt that children 
reared amid the charms of such a home, will unconsciously catch 
the spirit of the scenes around them, and grow up with a life-long 
impression of that gentle influence on their hearts and on their 
minds. 

We have said that this progressive spirit of improvement, with 
the growing taste of our people, is not limited to private residences 
alone. Our public buildings and places of popular resort of all 
kinds, bear the same impress, both as regards elegance and con- 
venience. 

Perhaps there is no more convincing or enduring evidence of the 
real character of a people, than that afforded by their public build- 
ings. By that standard, historians judge the nations and peoples that 
rose and fell in the long past. By that standard, character is given 
to the people of Thebes, Palmyra, to Pompeii and Herculaneum. 
Nor these alone, but many others known to have existed, and who 
left no architectural monuments to guide the antiquarian, are set 
down as having occupied the lowest grade of intelligence, or as 
being uncivilized. 

But let us come back to Danville. We have no apprehension that 
Bald-Top or Blue Hill will become volcanic and cover us up with 
ashes and lava, so that the curious delvers in after times, when they 
dig down to the cobble-stones on Mill street, or haply discover the 



BRICK MAKING. 163 



ornate and durable masonry of the court-house, the operadiouse, the 
asylum, or Groves' Mount Lebanon, will judge our progress as a 
people in the arts and sciences and define our exact position in 
the scale of civilization, by the style of chisseled granite ; nay more, 
fix our moral standard by the sculptured stones they may find among 
the ruins of our churches. We are not guarding against such a con- 
tingency, still it is no less desirable to leave these substantial me- 
morials to those who come after us. It is, therefore, pleasant to 
witness their creation — pleasant to remember, on this centennial 
year, that all the stately churches, public edifices and splendid man- 
sions that greet the eye were redeemed from the wild and barren 
waste that marked the landscape in the days of the pioneers. The 
lessons drawn from the beauties of art or nature are humanizing and 
eminently wholesome, as well as lasting. We do not mean to gaze 
for an hour with feelings of awe, on the wonders of the world, but 
daily intercourse with the one or the other. We mean the impres- 
sion made upon us by living in their midst and catching the sublime 
spirit of their harmony, until their teachings become a part of our 
very selves, interwoven with our own nature and lasting as our lives. 
The mighty cataract, the grandeur of the mountain among the 
clouds, the solid masonry of the Almighty or his Majesty mirrored 
in the ocean, may excite our wonder and awe. It may stir the 
emotions of our hearts to their very depths, under a sense of the 
grand and the sublime, but will have less bearing on our every day 
life, than the quiet beauties around us. These calm yet potent 
agencies daily inspire our lives by the lessons they daily repeat. 

(^rzck J[£akzrLg. 

The first brick made in Danville, were made by Mr. Burkenbine, 
near the ground on which the company store now stands. After 
him came Charles White, S. Gibbs, and John Turner, who each had 
their day in the manufacture, in- various localities within the town 
limits. Good clay is formed in all portions of the narrrow valley in 
which Danville is located. Nearly a score of years ago B. W. Wate 
bought out John Turner, and for many successive seasons manufac- 
tured brick on an extensive scale, turning out over seven hundred 
thousand in a single season, Mr. Wate is an energetic, upright busi- 
ness man, and bids fair to bake oceans of mud into first class brick, 



i(>4 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

as he is still in the prime of life. In the summer of 1880 he oper- 
ated at Milton, where the great fire created a pressing demand for 
brick. Some years ago Joseph Flanegan commenced the brick ma- 
ing in Danville, and continues to make and sell hundreds of thou- 
sands every season. His make always find a ready sale. He un- 
derstands the business well, and his reputation as a reliable business 
man extends far and wide. Reed, Diebert, and others also em- 
barked in the business, but, not being practical men they soon 
abandoned the field. Brick have sold from $4 50 to $8 00 per 
thousand in this market. 

Kiem has also been operating a yard for Wilson M. Gearhart. 

Hospital for tKe Iixsane cut Dctruvtlle. 

This great public institution is located on what had been known 
as the " Pinneo Farm," about one mile southeast of Danville. On 
the 13th of April, 1868, the Legislature passed an act for the estab- 
lishment of the hospital and appointed a locating commission, com- 
posed of J. A. Reed, Traill Green and John Curwen. After visit- 
ing various localities in the district, for which the proposed hospital 
was intended, it was finally decided that Danville was the most suit- 
able in all respects. The Pinneo farm of some two hundred and fifty 
acres was accordingly purchased, the citizens of Danville con- 
tributing a bonus of sixteen thousand dollars. On the 23d of April 
the commissioners had appointed John McArthur, Jr., architect, 
and soon after they chose Doctor S. S. Schultz superintendent, a 
a position he has filled ever since May, 1868 with great credit to 
himself and to the complete satisfaction of the public. The corner 
stone of the hospital was laid by Governor John W. Geary on the 
26th day of August, 1869. The building proper is eleven hundred 
and forty-three feet long. The center building is two hundred and 
two feet deep. They range from three to five stories in height. 
The wings contain three hundred and fifty rooms each. Altogether 
there are about eight hundred rooms. The chapel is a large 
and beautiful chamber and will seat six hundred. It is also the 
lecture-room and is furnished with a piano and an organ. The 
wing connections are enclosed with iron doors, and the building 
contains every department necessary to an institution where so 
many unfortunates find a home ; offices, bath-rooms, dining-rooms, 



HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE AT DANVILLE. 165 

i, 

laundries, kitchen, store-room and many others. Iron and slate 
are extensively used in the construction of the building, in order to 
strengthen it as well as to guard against the danger of fire. The 
stone in the exterior walls are from the well-known quarry on the 
premises. The door and window sills and lintels as also the car- 
riage porch are of the Goldsboro' brown stone from York county. 
The brick in the partition walls were furnished by numerous makers 
of the neighborhood and were laid by Ammerman and Books. The 
roof is of the best Peach Bottom slate, furnished by Parry, Gravel 
& Williams. The kitchen floors and other apartments are also laid 
with slate. The water tables and quoins are a beautiful white stone 
from Luzerne county and contrast pleasantly with the darker ma- 
terial of the main wall. It is not the design of this volume to enter 
into details beyond that which will give the reader a general idea 
of the complete and substantial character of the building, and its 
manifold appointments, necessary to serve the purpose for which it 
was erected. A visit to the institution alone can give a proper, in- 
telligent idea of its excellence. I can only hurriedly refer to its 
water and gas supply, its heating and ventilating apparatus, its 
sewerage and all similar improvements essential to the health and 
comfort of the inmates. Governed by a complete system of laws 
and regulations, this institution stands on the front line of modern 
improvements, dispensing in an eminent degree the blessings for 
which it was designed. In connection with the various appli- 
ances of convenience, comfort and economy the visitor will also 
note the beautiful buildings, fitted for their several purposes, that 
have sprung up around the main edifice, solid, artistic and present- 
ing a miniature city of surpassing beauty and taste. The order or 
style of architecture is the Romanescjue. I'he hospital was opened 
for the reception of patients by public announcement of Doctor 
Shultz, the superintendent, in October 1872. The first patient was 
admitted on the 6th day of November, following. From that 
period to the present time hundreds have been admitted and shared 
its benefits. Many have been discharged cured, many others have 
been improved and others still continue to receive its scientific and 
humane ministrations. Doctor S. S. Shultz, who has managed the 
institution since its organization in 1868, still remains in his respons- 
ible position. He has manifested not only the skill to treat sue- 



Jbb HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

cessfully all possible cases in the various forms of insanity arising 
from physical or mental causes ; but in addition to the qualities of 
the physician he has also manifested executive ability of the highest 
order in the management of the institution. The order and exact- 
ness required in each department and in the most minute details at- 
est his fitness no less than the higher qualities demanded by his po- 
sition. Governed by the lessons of experience and the nobility that 
religion lends to science, oui hospital must reach the highest degree 
of usefulness not only in its financial administration ; but in minis- 
tering to unfortunate humanity. Doctor Shultz is assisted by Doc- 
tors Seip and Hugh Meredith. The corps of aids, Mr. Eyer, the 
steward; the clerk, Mr. Orth ; the supervisors. Miss Dressier and 
Mr. Dillon; the engineer, Mr. Kearns ; the matron, Mrs. Eyer ; the 
farmer, Mr. Rote, and the gardener, Mr. Carey are all highly spoken 
of in their respective roles. 

SimorL ^. Incise. 

Simon P. Kase, one of the most remarkable men of the day, was 
born in Rush, on the opposite side of the river, on the 27th of Au- 
gust, 1 81 4. His father was long a justice of the peace. He was 
the owner of several good farms and was in comfortable circumstan- 
ces. He had the confidence of those around him and was consulted 
in relation to all public questions as well as in private affairs. He 
was an elder in the church at Rushtown for many years. His mother 
is said to have been a noble woman who endeared herself to all 
around her. His brothers and sisters were John, William, Eliza- 
beth, Katy, Charity, Sarah, Susan and Amy. Simon, the subject 
of this sketch was the youngest of the family. At twenty years of 
age he left his home to enter alone the battle of life. His first 
enterprise was building threshing machines, and he carried the first 
machine over the mountains to Lebanon county — the first that was 
carried on wheels. This first portable machine was hailed by the 
agricultural fraternity as a great improvement, and he was very suc- 
cessful. He had the agency of John C. Boyd to sell the patent in 
Schuylkill, Berks, Bucks, Montgomery and Lancaster counties. In 
six weeks he sold "rights" to the amount of $2,200. In 1835 '""^ 
established an agricultural and machine shop in Lebanon county 
and carried it on for two years when he sold it and returned home. 



S/MON P. KASE. 167 



In 1837 he built the second iron foundry in Danville. Here he 
manufactured threshing machines, stoves and .mill-gearing, boat- 
loads of which he sent to various parts of the State. In 1840 he 
married Elizabeth McReynolds, previous to which he had built the 
house on Market street now occupied by his daughter. In 1844 
Mr. Kase built the first mill for the manufacture of merchant iron, 
which he conducted for two years in connection with the foundry. 
In 1846 he completed his rolling-mill, which was an important event 
in the history of Danville. Mr. Kase also made the first " three 
high" train of rolls in this place. It worked to perfection and was 
a great feat, as he had never learned turning or pattern making. 
But the ad. valorem tariff, adopted by the casting vote of George 
M. Dallas, completely silenced forges, rolling-mills and manufacto- 
ries of all kinds. In 1848 he leased his mill to David P. Davis, who 
finally failed, and he had the mill on band again, while England 
was supplying the market of the United States with iron. In 1852 
he sold the rolling-mill and it was moved to Knoxville, Tennessee. 
From 1848 to 1855 he manufactured and sold what is known as 
Kase's celebrated force pump, supplying them in quantities to par- 
ties that purchased the patent- right. In this enterprise Mr. Kase 
realized a sufficiency to retire from business. And he did so, only 
loaning money to parties that could not be accommodated without 
paying more than legal interest. Mr. Kase retired with the inten- 
tion of now enjoying a life of ease, for which his means were am- 
ple ; but how oft our calculations fail and how little we know of the 
destiny the future has in store for us. In 1857 his brother William 
induced him to purchase his furnace at Roaring Creek. An in- 
ventory was made of stock amounting to $25,000. But it seems 
the stock was not there and S. P. Kase realized only $6,000 out of 
the whole concern. There were $19,000 gone at one swoop. Out 
of his real estate he saved only some farms he owned in Iowa. All 
the rest went for an unjust debt as he regards it to the present day. 
The money a considerable amount which he still had in hand and 
his Iowa lands he retained. He then saw the necessity for another 
struggle with fortune, and accordingly went to New York and hung 
out his "shingle" to sell railroad iron. Very soon the Flint and 
Parmaquett Railroad Company applied to him for iron for their 
road, from Flint to Parmaquett in Michigan. The rails were fur- 



i68 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

nished but the pay not being satisfactory Mr. Kase was finally 
solicited to take charge of the construction. It was at that time 
graded only from Flint to Saginaw. The length of the road is one 
hundred and eighty miles. Mr. Kase assumed the sole management 
and by the exchange of old for new bonds and in various movements 
requiring executive ability of the highest order, in two years he 
completed the enterprise. It was a grand success and its bonds 
sold at ninety-five per cent. 

In 1862, William G. Kase, a nephew, then president of the 
Reading and Columbia Railroad Company, together with the board 
of directors, sent for S. P. Kase and solicited him to take sole man- 
agement as financial agent to build their road, as all their efforts 
had completely failed. After surveying the route and ascertaining 
the want of means and the refusal of subscribers to pay their stock, 
on account of former mismanagement, Mr. Kase at once proceeded 
to Washington city, where he presented the matter to the Congres- 
sional Committee on Railroads, together with a bill appropriating 
$450,000 in United States bonds for an equal amount of the bonds 
of the Columbia and Reading railroad. Here he was met and op- 
posed by all the power of the Pennsylvania, and the Baltimore and 
Ohio railroads and every rival interest. For four weeks the contest 
was carried on. Mr. Kase made the fact of an inland route between 
New York and Washington his main point. Of this, the road he rep- 
resented was an important link, and as there was a possibility of 
England going with the South, the value of a route remote from 
the sea board was duly estimated and he gained the point. His 
next struggle was to complete the road, which he accomplished. 
But such is the perversity of human nature, that no sooner had Mr. 
Kase lifted them out of trouble and gave value to their late worth- 
less investment, than they deliberately set about robbing him of his 
promised reward by the most treacherous procedure. Mr. Kase 
concluded that it is only safe to confide in those who believe in per- 
sonal accountability for every act in life. 

In 1864 Mr. Kase started improvements in coal mining in McCau- 
ley mountain and established the Beaver Creek Coal Company ; but 
after the works were erected the Catawissa Railroad Company re- 
fused to furnish cars for its transportation. This induced him to 
build the Danville, Hazleton and Wilkes-Barre railroad. This 



S/MON P. K'AiSE. i6g 



road extends from Sunbury to Tomhicken and is fifty-four miles in 
lengtli. It not only opens the market to the coal ; but forms an 
important link in the direct line between the East and the West. 
The opposition Mr. Kase encountered from conflicting interests in 
the prosecution of this great enteri)rise was enough to discourage 
any man but himself. But he persevered and finally triumphed, 
completing and equipping the road ; and it was a proud day for 
him when the first train, laden with excursionists, passed over the 
road. His judgment was confirmed, his name was vindicated and 
his great ability was manifested in his wonderful success. Then he 
was honored and banqueted like a lord by those who never raised a 
finger to aid him when he struggled alone to secure this great im- 
provement. A brief sketch of this road will be found in another 
portion of this book. 

Mr. Kase is now engaged in building the Lehigh and Eastern rail- 
road, which is another connecting link in the direct route, passing 
through the coal fields of Pennsylvania. It connects with the Dan- 
ville, Hazleton and Wilkes-Barre road at Tomhicken and extends 
to Port Jarvis. Capitalists of the country and all public-spirited 
men are beginning to comprehend the vast importance of this direct 
route from Boston and New York to the great West. 

In closing a rapid sketch of the prominent features in the stirring 
life of Simon P. Kase, it is just and proper to say that in the great 
industrial enterprises and in the progressive improvements of this re- 
gion, no man of his age has made a more lasting impression, and 
that impress in all our future history will remain indelible forever. 
He is one of those rare specimens of the genus homo that are not 
met at the corner of every street. Once in a while they dash across 
the common track in their seemingly eccentric course, understood 
no more by the masses than the origin and mission of a comet. 
Such men as S. P. Kase do not travel in the beaten path ; but ever 
and anon strike out into new and startling projects that seem to the 
multitude visionary, impracticable and beyond the reach of human 
effort. But looking to the end from the beginning and discarding 
the word "fail" from their vocabulary, they hear but one word and 
that is " forward," and as such men feel the inspiration of genius or 
some unseen power impelling them onward in the accomplishment 
of great purposes opposition or even ridicule becomes new incen- 



170 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



tive to action, and with a tireless energy they persevere until the 
world is startled again by their complete success. Looking abroad 
as he crossed the threshold of manhood he saw with impatience the 
slow and sober pace of local and general affairs ; and instead of 
waiting for something to "turn up" he proceeded at once with a 
bold and fearless hand to turn something up. It must not be for- 
gotten however, that such men as he, absorbed in the prosecution 
of great enterprises and in the ceaseless whirl of important improve- 
ments or bold adventures often forget minor matters or lesser de- 
tails ; and this affords a pretext to embarrass their steps and retard 
their progress ; thus hindering instead of aiding in that which must 
result in a common benefit. Men like Mr. Kase always have been 
and always will become the common mark for the arrows of de- 
traction. It is the tribute that all who rise above the level must 
pay to the world, until we reach a higher plane of civilization. 
Their motives are misrepresented by those of conscious inferiority 
and the envious predict a failure at every step of their progress. 
Even final success is poisoned with a bitter ingredient, and the his- 
tory of inventors, reformers and public benefactors, who have de- 
voted their lives to the general good, is but the history of public 
ingratitude if not of actual persecution. But time brings all things 
even, and when the lapse of years has swept away the cobwebs of 
human prejudice, S. P. Kase will be honored for what he has done 
for Danville, and his name will be associated with the great public 
improvements in which he pioneered the way, long after he 

" Hails the dark omnibus, 
That brings no passenger back." 

Tliii Zsrcielites. 

The Jewish congregation in Danville was organized under a 
charter granted by the court of Montour county in 1854, with the 
name of Benai Zion. The charter members were A. Levi, Jacob 
Loeb, Lewis Lang, Moyer Lyon, Jacob Weil, Solomon Meyer, Ja- 
cob Mayer, Jacob Levi, Sandel Dreifuss, Feis Blum and Simon El- 
lenbogen. The constitution and by-laws constitute a well-written 
code of laws and regulations. The officers are a president, a treas- 
urer, a secretary and three trustees, all to be chosen annually by the 
congregation. The president, treasurer and secretary are ex officio 



THE ISRAELITES. rji 



an executive committee. No more than one thousand dollars is al- 
lowed to be raised by pew rent in any one year. The price of 
pews according to location was fixed at $15, $10, and $7 per an- 
num. Two dollars must be paid for the privilege of being married 
in the Synagogue. It must be remembered however that Israelites 
in Danville had a church organization long anterior to 1854, when 
they became a chartered body. They had built a frame school-house, 
which they continue to use for school purposes. It was built in 
1853. The new Synagogue was erected in 187 1. Rabbi Jastrow 
of Philadelphia conducted the dedicatory services of the new Syna- 
gogue. The procession was formed at the house of the president of 
the congregation, and proceeded in order bearing the appropriate 
symbols of the Jewish religion, according to the instructions given 
to the children of Israel. At the portico of the Synagogue, Miss 
Bertha Eger presented the keys to the president with a neat and 
pertinent address, to which the president made an apt reply, when 
he unlocked the door and the procession followed by the crowd en- 
tered the audience chamber and witnessed the ceremonies of the 
dedication. Rabbi Jastrow preached an eloquent sermon highly 
appropriate to the occasion. Rev. Nusbaum the teacher in charge 
closed with a brief address, and so ended the interesting ceremonies 
of the day. 

Going back to 1853 we find that the first rabbi or teacher in 
charge of this congregation was Rev. Friendlich. The next was 
Rev. Emanuel Oppenheim. He was a man of extensive learning, 
not only in the German and Hebrew, but also in the English. He 
was a good speaker and a writer of ability in the latter and frerjuently 
contributed to the current literature of the day. Rev. Oppenheim 
was highly respected by all classes of the community. He was affa- 
ble to all and remarkably warm in his friendships. He went to 
Pottsville from this place, where he died a few years ago, much re- 
gretted by a large circle of friends. He was followed by Rev. 
Hommer as teacher in the congregation of Danville. Rev. Heil- 
brenner was the next and he was succeeded by Rev. Brandise. Then 
came Rev. Simon Gerstman, who was a scholar and a gentleman, 
as well as a teacher. He was well versed in the English language 
and wrote on various subjects. A few lines, in verse, on the death 
of Louis Loeb, from his pen will be found in this book. After him 



172 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



came Rev. Nusbaum. He was a quiet man and mingled but little 
with the world, outside of his own people. He was followed by 
Rev. Friedenthal and he by Rev. Newmark who is the present 
teacher. 

Jacob Leob is president of the congregation and has been, with a 
brief exception, ever since the organization. H. L. Gross is secre- 
tary and Samuel Goldsmith treasurer. The trustees are Moses 
Bloch, Jacob Goldsmith and Jacob Moyer. There are over twenty 
families connected with the Jewish congregation Benai Zion. 

Y. j\£. a ^a. 

The Young Men's Christian Association was organized in Dan- 
ville, in the Mahoning Presbyterian church on the 21st of June 1872. 
The officers elected were : President, S. G. Butler ; vice president, 
John Sweisfort ; secretary, John R. Rote, and librarian, H. H. 
Yorgy. The managers first chosen were : James M. Coulter ; 
William McCormick, C. F. Lloyd, J. Sweisfort and C. P. Bradway. 
The society has been active in the work for which it was instituted, 
and a corresponding degree of success has marked its progress. 
The organization at present is as follows : President, James M. 
Coulter ; vice president, J. S. Huber ; secretary, George Swartz ; 
treasurer, George M. Gearhart ; general secretary, D. C. Hunt ; 
financial secretary, H. H. Yorgy. The association numbers eighty- 
one members, all active, earnest members of the several churches in 
Danville, united for greater efficiency in doing good. 

'WelsJh CoTxgregcttzoncLl CKtltcI'i. 

This congregation worships in a neat brick church, on Welsh 
Hill, just above the Catawissa railroad. It was built in 1853. 
Rev. J. B. Cook was the pastor for many years. He was a good 
man and a faithful minister, and died some years ago in the full as- 
surance of a blessed immortality. 

'WelsTx CcLlT^antsttc j>dethocZists. 

These followers of the celebrated Whitfield, are located near the 
Catawissa railroad in the Third ward. Their church is small ; but 
comfortable and was built in 1845. 

The Welsh Baptist church is located on Spruce street. It is a 



MICHAEL KESSLER. ijj 



frame structure and was built in 1870. An effort is now making to 
rebuild or repair the church. 

A. M. E. church, known as "Zion," on York's Hill, is the modest 
building where worship the Methodists of African decent. Rev. 
Palmer is the pastor at present. 

T7xe Reverse SouLse. 

This house formerly known as the " Pennsylvania House," is a 
large frame structure on the corner of Mill and Front streets, near 
the bridge and convenient to the court-house. John Gulick first 
opened it as a hotel in 1812, having bought the property from 
Daniel Montgomery. Philip Goodman kept the " Pennsylvania 
House " for sometime previous to 1818. In that year he completed 
the building of his new hotel, now the " Union Hall." In 1829 
John Gulick sold the property to John Rhodes. He greatly im- 
proved it. He died in 1852. It still belongs to his heirs. Va- 
rious parties kept the house previous to i860, among whom was 
George W. Freeze. In 1866 it was kept by Charles Savage ; in 1868 
by Mr. Lindner and in 1870 by Joseph M. Geringer. In March. 
187?, James V. Gillaspy took charge of the house and conducted 
it with marked success to the present time. In 1875 the house was 
thoroughly rejuvenated inside and outside. Rooms were differently 
and more conveniently arranged. It was newly plastered, painted, 
and papered and newly furnished in every department. In March, 
1880, the old name of " Pennsylvania House" was taken down by 
Mr. Gillaspy, and "Revere House" put in its place. It is now 
known far and wide as the "Revere House." Mr. Gillaspy has 
added much to the popularity of the house and has won by his urban- 
ity and pleasant accommodations a large share of public patronage. 
The inviting and home-like comforts afforded at the Revere, can 
not fail of appreciation by a discrininating public ; as well us its 
proximity to the court-house and the business center of the town. 

JdltcKcLeZ Messier. 

A record of the gallant soldiers of Danville would be incomplete^ 
without at least a brief mention of "Old Mike Kessler." In 1847 
he joined the "Irish Greens" at Pittsburg and under General 
Shields served through the Mexican campaign. He was in the bat- 



174 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

tie of Cero Gordo and also of Contreras, as well as in the forlorn 
hope at Molina Del Ray, and finally at the storming of the gates of 
Mexico city. With General Scott he entered the "Halls of the 
Montezumas," and there remained for nine months. In this war 
he lost one of his eyes, but none of his courage as a soldier, nor of 
his patriotism, always for his country without regard to what party 
for the time administered the government. Accordingly in the 
last war he enlisted in the "Guards" under Captain Ephlin, for 
nine mor.ths, and acted as color sergeant at the battle of Antietam. 
Here he was badly wounded and being unable to walk, and his 
regiment yielding for a time to a terrific charge, he was forced to 
retreat or yield the flag. With a heroism eclipsing the boasted 
chivalry of romance, he crawled back, wounded and bleeding with- 
out lowering the flag, still keeping it unfurled and defiant in the 
face of the coming foe. Though he should fall he was determined 
to keep the "stars and stripes" afloat, and he succeeded in saving 
both, as the Union forces rallied and charged in turn. In the fear- 
ful slaughter at Fredericksburg on the 13th of December, 1862, 
Kessler escaped unhurt amid the storms of leaden hail that beat upon 
the Union troops. At the battle of Cedar Creek they struck the 
old soldier again. This time a shell took off one of his legs, near 
the body. He also lost his remaining eye and became totally blind. 
And here in our midst, minus a leg and both his eyes, the old hero 
of two wars lived for a number of years ; kindly cared for by the 
Government and his friends it is true ; still I often thought what a 
priceless sacrifice that man made for our common country. Unable 
to walk and darkness unbroken around him ; surely he should be 
gratefully remembered among the fallen heroes of the Republic. I 
often turned aside to pass an hour with him, to hear him tell of 
sieges dire, and to see him "shoulder his crutch and show how 
fields were won." Long may his memory live in the grateful re- 
membrance of his countrymen, for whose ransom he paid a price 
more precious than gold and dearer far than the costliest treasures 
of earth. 

" Old Mike Kessler" never lost the enthusiasm of patriotism, nor 
his ardent devotion to the Republican party. It was his delight to 
be taken out to the public gatherings and to listen to the speeches 
that harmonized with the war sentiment. On such occasions there 



THE CONSUMPTIVES. 175 



were always good friends to bring ''Old Mike," and there was al- 
ways a seat of honor for him on the platform. Nor was he for- 
gotten on election days. There was always a committee and a car- 
riage to bring him to the polls, and it was always a sure Republican 
vote. He died a few years ago. 

TTte, CoTisTXTrtptives. 

Louis I.oeb, Josiah Wolf and Samuel Dreifuss. 

Josiah Wolf was the last survivor of the trio I was wont to see 
slowly moving about on their canes, and bearing their favorite air 
cushions under their arms. With a subdued feeling of sadness 1 
could almost daily note the waning powers of life. Samuel Dreifuss, 
Louis Loeb and Josiah Wolf, all in the prime of life and in the 
strength of manhood, bowed to the insidious destroyer — consump- 
tion. They were all of Jewish origin, and were knit together by the 
bonds of mutual friendship. Each sought renewed health in milder 
climes than ours. Samuel Dreifuss crossed the ocean, and breathed 
the balmy air under the sunny skies of Italy. Louis Loeb traversed 
the mountains of South America, and Josiah Wolf inhaled the sea 
breeze in Florida — the land of flowers. But all returned and met 
again, to die in the old home. 

I often noticed them seated together in the cool shade in the sum- 
mer time — often they were in earnest conversation among themselves. 
Perhaps they spoke of the iinknotvn to which they kneio they were 
so rapidly hastening. They had dismissed from their minds the stir- 
ring pursuits and the inspiring hopes that once absorbed their atten- 
tion. They saw the sands of life almost exhausted, and the shadow 
of the gnomon fall — near, ah ! how near the final hour. Perhaps 
they were interchanging thoughts in regard to the scenes that might 
lie beyond the dark curtain — the premonitory bell for tlie rising of 
which was already tinkling in their ears. Perhaps they spoke of the 
probabilities as to which of their number would first solve and realize 
the mysteries of eternity. One thing they knew, and that was that 
their separation here would be brief, and that soon, very soon they 
would strike hands on the other shore. Perhaps, too, they some- 
times spoke of this bright world, on whose changing scenes their 
eyes would soon be closed; for the sun of their lives and of their 



J7(> HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

earthly hopes had suddenly sank at high noon, and was already pass- 
ing through the golden gates of the west. They ktiew that they 
would all sleep under the snow-drifts before they saw the laughing 
flowers, or heard the gladsome notes of another spring-time. 

They were men of promise and of usefulness in their day and 
generation ; but they have passed away. Peace to their names ! 

Obituary. — Lines to the memory of Louis Loeb, son of Jacob Loeb, Esq., 
who departed this life on Tuesday, November 15th, 1870, aged 31 years and 6 
months. 

If ever departed worth did claim a tear, 

Reader, whoe'er thou art, bestow it here ; 

For not to relatives is grief confined ; 

All must lament the friend of human kind. 

If modest frankness — if unsullied truth. 

In childhood planted, and matured in youth — 

If tender charity, adorning age 

Deserve a record on memory's page. 

If rigid chastity — devoted love. 

Or calm submission to the God above 

Were faithful tokens of a heart sincere. 

Then oft will his image e.xtort a tear. 

Rest then, blest shaded accept the plaintive lay 

Which affection and friendship love to pay. 

For those who knew thee exult in conscious pride 

That thou hast lived respected, and regretted died. 

S. G 
Danville, Pa., Novanber 2jd, 1870. 

Col. A.. 'T. Fvick. 

Col. Frick entered the army for the Union, on the i8th of Sep- 
tember, 1 86 1, as captain of infantry in the Eighty-fourth regiment 
Pennsylvania volunteers attached to the Third army corps. Emulat- 
ing the noble example of his brother, Doctor Clarence H. Frick, 
who led the Columbia Guards through the storms of battle in the 
conquest of Mexico, Col. A. J. Frick led his gallant command in 
defense of our national heritage — the old flag, the constitution, and 
the un^on. Reserved as captain until October, 1862, participating 
in the battles of Winchester, Port Republic and second Bull Run. 
In 1863 he was lieutenant colonel, in the Forty-first regiment of 
Pennsylvania, during Gen. Lee's invasion of the north. Col. Frick 
made for himself an honorable record, as a soldier and as an ofiicer. 



WILLIAM KELNER. 777 



He is now deputy collector of internal revenue for the Twelfth dis- 
trict of Pennsylvania ; and who, in the distribution of public favors, 
so well deserve recognition as the soldiers of the Union. 

From the record, I extract the following items. The Eighty- 
fourth regiment in the battle of Winchester, lost in killed and wound- 
ed, one third of its men. Company D, commanded by Capt. A. J. 
Frick, lost, killed W. R. Fowler ; wounded H. Funk, J. M. Price, 
C. Mummy, T. C. Fowler, C. D. Burns, M. Filzhams, G. Holcomb, 
John Prosser, William Prosser, J. C. Teeter, and J. L. Wheeler. 
The report adds that Capt. Frick was highly spoken of for the gal- 
lantry he displayed under the terrible fire of the enemy. 

" Winchester" was inscribed on their banner. 

Colonel CJzctr'les JV. Eclx,TrLCLrL. 

Colonel Eckman enlisted as a private soldier, at Danville, in com- 
pany H, Ninety-third regiment, Pennsylvania volunteers, on the 
25th of September, 1861. The regiment soon marched to the front. 
Eckman was promoted to second lieutenant on the 24th of October 
in the same year and to first lieutenant on the 25th of July, 1862. 
On the 2ist of October in the same year he rose to the office of 
captain of his company. He was next promoted to major of the 
regiment, on the 27th of November, 1864, to lieutenant colonel on 
the same day, and finally to colonel of the Ninety-third regiment on 
the 25th of January, 1865. His service in the army extending from 
the 25th of September, 1861, to June 23, 1865, during which time 
he particiiiated in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac, and 
he was also with General Sheridan in Shenandoah Valley. He was 
a brave soldier, a popular officer, and on every field made an hon- 
orable record for himself. 

yVtIlicLTrt I^etrcer. 

William Keiner enlisted in the "Danville Rifles," Captain Manly. 
At Baltimore on his way to the front, he was accidentally shot in 
the leg by Mat. Johnson, a member of his own com.pany. The 
bone being shattered, amputation became a necessity, and for some 
time his life was despaired of. But a robust constitution and a strong 
will brought him through the dangerous ordeal. He was honorably 



178 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

discharged. This loss severe and life long, is the sacrifice he has 
made for his country. How many thousands who never paid half 
that price, plume themselves on supposed superior claims to our 
common inheritance. Indeed the war, apart from its direct results, 
has taught us some wholesome lessons. After his recovery and re- 
turn to Danville, Mr. Keiner engaged in merchandising. 

Greorge B, Brov^TX. 

George B. Brown is one of the most active business men of Dan- 
ville. He conducts the oldest (and always popular) book store and 
news depot, in this place. He is also a leading dentist and is well 
patronized in his profession. Mr. Brown has trodden some of the 
rugged steeps in life's uncertain way, and in his own experience has 
demonstrated a problem that thousands fail to solve. The man, 
who in order to show a clear record and to enjoy the luxury of a 
peaceful conscience, will honoi: claims for which he is no longer 
legally responsible, must surely be that rarity, seldom found except 
in books — an honest man. Too many, when the clouds have turned 
their "silver lining," forget or ignore that which has gone beyond 
the reach of law. Like Job, he came up from the wreck of fortune, 
to the enjoyment of renewed prosperity, all the brighter, because he 
met every obligation, dollar for dollar and dime for dime. I men- 
tion this, not in flattery ; but because it is an occurrence worthy of 
note on account of its rarity in this selfish, grasping world of ours. 

Mr. Brown has the honor of circulating the first daily newspaper 
in Danville. It was ihe Philadelphia Ledger. All the important 
dailies are now kept on his counter. He is also treasurer of the bor- 
ough and as such his name is inscribed on the water bonds ; and the 
school fund is also in his hands. He has been found faithful to 
every trust placed in his hands, and they have been many as well as 
important. At one time he held no less than ten agencies and 
treasuryships, and all came out correct to a dot. 

Fh^st JSTatioTxaZ JBctn 7c. 

The First National Bank was organized on the 25th of January, 
1864, in accordance with the provisions of the national banking law. 
At the first meeting of the stockholders the following board of di- 



THE OPERA HOUSE. rjg 



rectors was elected: Samuel Yorks, Jr., George F. Geisinger, C. 
Loubach, Charles Fenstermacher, William Yorks, Ferd Piper and 
G. H. Fowler. At a meeting of the board of directors, Samuel 
Yorks, Jr., was chosen president and W. A. M. Grier, cashier. The 
substantial character of the stockholders with the ability and known 
integrity of its officers, secured at its opening the full confidence of 
the public, which it has steadily maintained to the present time. Its 
career has been a prosperous one, and it affords one of the safest 
depositories in the country. On the resignation of W. A. M. Grier, 
A. P. Fowler was chosen cashier. In 1866 B. R. Gearhart was 
made teller of the bank, and on the resignation of A. P. Fowler, in 
1870, B. R. Gearhart was chosen cashier, and which position he 
still holds at the present time. S. A. Yorks was made teller some 
years ago, and still occupies that position. After the death of Sam- 
uel Yorks, Jr., in 1878, C. Laubach was elected to the presidency 
and continued for two years. The present organization of the 
First National Bank of Danville, is as follows: Thomas Beaver, 
president ; B. R. Gearhart, cashier ; S. A. Yorks, teller. The pres- 
ent board of directors are, C. Laubach, I. X. Grier, Dan Morgan, 
George F. Geisinger, B. R. Gearhart, R. M. Grove and F. C. Eyer. 
The bank is conveniently located in the Montgomery building at 
the corner of Bloom and Mill streets. 

The OpercL HouLse, 

Until recent years, Danville was but indifferently provided with 
public halls. Concert Hall on Ferry street, a dingy, old, tumble- 
down, frame structure, was long the place of public gatherings on 
extra occasions. There, within its somber walls were, sermons, lec- 
tures, shows, dances, concerts, fairs and public meeting of all sorts. 
It is now converted into private dwellings. 

Reynolds' Hall on Mill street was also used, but was too small for 
general purposes. It has now for a nuii.ber of years been occupied 
by McMahan & Irland's well-known and popular picture gallery. 
As an art gallery it is an excellent hall, and it is still in the full tide 
of successful operation. 

Lyons' Hall, is on the third story of his brick building on Mill 
street. It has at times been used on public occasions. 



i8o HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Moyer Lyons' Hall is in Excelsior block and is also used on some 
general occasions, but mainly as a club-room. So also is the hall in 
Kaufman's building on the corner of Mill and Center streets, and 
perhaps some others. 

Thompson' s Hall w^s built about 1859. It was then by far the 
largest hall in town and was much used for all the purposes to which 
public halls are usually devoted. It is still in use and is second only 
to the Opera House. 

The Opera House is one of the grandest public buildings in the 
interior of the State. The want of a suitable hall had been dis- 
cussed for some time and it took practical shape with William J. 
Reed, in 1871. He purchased the ground conditionally, on the 
corner of Mill and Mahoning streets, of Jacob Snyder. There was 
an understanding that Reed was to do the excavating and Snyder 
was to invest $6,000 in the building. Accordingly William J. Reed 
broke ground for the Opera House on the 4th of July, 1871. A 
company was then organized and a charter was procured from the 
court, for, as they styled it, "The City Hall Association." After 
some time it was agreed that the stock should be exchanged for cer- 
tain portions of the work. Reed having previously agreed to furnish 
the brick and had also contracted for the stone. C. S. Wetzel 
of Danville, was the architect and by his counsel and advice, the 
issue of stock for aid in building, was set aside after certain con- 
tracts in that direction had been made by Mr. Reed. Whereupon 
Mr. Reed, in March 1873, ^o^*^ '""'^ interest and retired. He was 
certainly the moving spirit in the enterprise. But for him the pro- 
ject would no doubt have failed at that time, and consequently we 
would be without our grand opera house. On the other hand Jacob 
Snyder would not have lost his fortune. Still it is an open question 
whether the sacrifice of Snyder or any one else was really necessary 
to secure an opera house. There is much in the management of 
great enterprises that make or mar the fortunes of men. The opera 
house building is 156 by 84 feet, and is located on the corner of 
Mill and Mahoning streets. The basement contains the heating and 
ventilating apparatus. The ground floor is occupied by the post- 
office, Kramer & Co's treble store fronting on both Mill and Ma- 
honing streets, Dennis Bright's hardware store, Ramsey Child's stove 
and tinware store, and M. T. McGuire's gas fitting and plumbing 



MONTOUR HOUSE. 181 

establishment. The theater is on the second floor approached by 
two stairways from Mill street. It is a magnificent chamber. Its 
appointments, adornments, seenery, and properties are all elegant, 
costly, and complete. The briliant chandelier sheds a beautiful 
light over the panjuet, the dress circle, and stage ; whilst the spark- 
ling ornaments lend a grandeur to the scene that excites both won- 
der and ailmiration. There are fourteen hundred reversible opera 
chairs upholstered in crimson plush. In one word there is not a 
theater in the State that excels the Danville opera house in elegance, 
comfort, or in acoustic qualities. There are also a number of 
rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors, accupieJ as lawyers 
offices, club-rooms, and lodge-rooms. 

It is somewhat strange to see a man like Jacob Snyder, a plain, 
honest farmer, risk all his fortune, the hard earning of a life time, 
in an enterprise like the building of such a magnificent opera-house, 
an enterprise so far in advance of the town, and where the large 
capital invested had to remain partially dead until the town grew up 
to it. It is nothing to see a speculator hazard the loss or gain of 
thousands, but for an honest, hard-working farmer like Jacob Sny- 
der to venture all in a project like this, is remarkable. But no doubt 
he got into it by degrees, and had at last no choice but to involve 
himself for its completion. Surely Danville owes a debt to Jacob 
Snyder for the splendid opera-house, that is the pride and boast of 
its citizens. Let him see that he has not sacrificed himself for the 
benefit of a thankless community. Don't leave it until he is dead 
either, and then pay the debt with a monument when the sense of 
earthly enjoyment has passed away forever. 

J^ontoixr Ilon.se. 

The Montour House is a large hotel, opposite the court-house. 
It was originally l)uilt by General Daniel Montgomery who kept a 
store in the corner room. An orchard extended from the building 
up to Ferry street. Boyd, Colton and Donaldson also kept store 
there. In 1834 it was first opened as a hotel by Samuel Brady, 
who gave it its name '-The Montour House." In 1846 G. M. 
Shoop purchased the properly, and subsequently the house was kept 
by \V. G. Gaskins Cornelius Garretson, Smith, Kramer, Kirk and 
Jones. About 1859 James L. Riehl, the present proprietor pur- 



i82 ' HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

chased the Montour House, and it has since been kept by him. The 
house has been remodeled and greatly improved and ranks with the 
best hotels of the country. It contains every modern convenience 
and is kept in the best possible manner. For its popularity the 
house is much indebted to Samuel Cressman, the gentlemanly clerk, 
whose attention and accommodating spirit have made hosts of 
friends for the Montour House. The proprietor, Mr. Riehl, ever 
watchful for the welfare of his guests superintends every department 
of the establishment, and insures to all, every comfort that could be 
desired. 

J^ctrket. 

Like all other small towns, Danville had been supplied with the 
produce called "marketing," by the farmers and others who came 
at irregular times and huckstered through the various streets and 
alleys of the town. This mode rendered the supply very uncertain 
and the prices were still more uncertain. Through the newspaper 
then under my control, I persistently urged the advantages of a 
regular market, under the regulations of the town authorities. The 
people began to think about it and finally the council took up the 
subject and passed an ordinance for the establishment of a regular 
market on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, closing at eleven 
o'clock A. M. each day. 

It is called ''curb-stone market." The wagons backing up to 
the pavement and each paying a dime for the privilege on each 
market day. This is collected by the street commissioner, who 
makes his returns to the council. 

On the 19th of April, 1872, an ordinance was passed, embody- 
ing general regulations for the market. 

The first section fixes the market days and that Mill street from 
Spruce to Mahoning should be used for the market. It forbids sales 
in gross during market hours, except grain and flour. 

The second section forbids the hawking or selling of produce on 
the streets, except fresh fish and oysters, at any other time or place 
than the time and street designated. 

The third section forbids under a penalty, the sale of any tainted 
or unwholesome article. 

The fourth section fixes the tax and orders that the market shall 



\ 



DANVILLE. 183 



be on the west side of the street from October to May ; and on the 
east side from May to October. The street is not to be blocked 
and free crossings shall be maintained and room for business men to 
load and unload goods. 

The fifth section defines the penalty for light weights or short 
measures. 

Under these rules and regulations the market has been success- 
fully conducted to the present time. The street commissioner, at 
present Mr. Faux, also acts as market inspector. 

The Danville market is well supplied by the farmers and pro- 
ducers of Montour and Northumberland counties. Among the 
regular attendants is Jesse Conway. His inviting assortment always 
attracts the crowd and he always sells out at an early hour. Howard 
James is emphatically the "butter man." He is always on hand 
with the choice, fresh roll butter of the country. C. S. Soper, he 
of the Washington hills, has converted a barren ridge into a pro- 
ductive garden teeming with the choicest fruits and vegetables in 
their season. He attends market just when it suits him ; but when 
he does come, he gets better prices and sells faster than anybody 
else. Charles Maus, always has a nice lot of fruits and vegetables 
and finds a ready sale. Mr. Hendricks and Mr. Kirkner are also 
regular attendants and supply a host of customers. There are 
many others worthy of mention, who keep the people of Danville 
supplied with the products of the farm, the garden and the dairy. 
The market rules are seldom violated, the dime is cheerfully paid 
and the market is a success. The great want now is a market house. 

DcLThville. 

Danville is laid out with as much regularity as the nature of the 
ground will admit. The streets run north and bouth, east and west, 
with very little variation. They are not as broad as they should be, 
especially the main avenues of trade. Mill street is laid solid with 
cobl)le stones or it is McAdamized. The best blocks of business 
houses are in Mill street in the Third ward, and the finest residences 
are on Market street, though some portions of Mahoning, Mulberry, 
and other streets are very pleasant. With the exception of Mill 
street there are well shaded pavements and the green foliage in the 
summer-time adds much to the beauty and the comfort of the place. 



HISTORY OF DAAV/LLE. 



The canal runs in a westerly course through the center of town and 
is spanned on the main streets with neat iron bridges. The public 
square is on Market street, between Ferry and Pine streets. The 
water and gas pipes are laid in nearly all the streets ; but the sewer- 
age is not complete, and owing to some disagreement with the gas 
company, there has been no light on the streets for several years. 
The town, however, has been well governed, and there is about as 
much safety as in any other place of equal size. Latterly there have 
been several alarms of fire, that have caused the authorities to dis- 
cuss the necessity of watchmen or a paid police force. 

There have been two additions to the town in late years, " Ma- 
gill's Addition" on the Bloom road and " Gulick's Addition," on 
the east. A large number of lots have been sold and improved in 
these additions. The future extension of the town, must of neces- 
be mainly eastward, as it is the only direction in which there is suita- 
ble room for any considerable extension. 

The Wtre JDejDctrtment. 

The volunteer fire department of Danville is noted for its activity 
and efficiency. The members are among the most intelligent and 
respectable citizens of the place. 

The Friendship is the oldest organization in the department, hav- 
ing been organized in 1841. It occupies a handsome engine house 
on Ferry street. Before the water works were built it was furnished 
with a steam fire engine. This is no longer necessary. Their regu- 
lar meetings are held on the last Saturday of each month. 

The Washington was formed in 1859. They also have a neat and 
pleasant house. It is located on Market street. Their regular meet- 
ings are on the first Saturday of each month. 

The Continental wSiS, also organized in 1859. Their comfortable 
house is on Mill street, and their meetings are held on the last Sat- 
urday of each month. 

The fire department is made up of volunteers, and is under the 
general control of the town council. The council districted the town 
and regulated the ringing of the bells by the following schedule : 

First district. — All of South ward west of Church street. 

Seeond district. — All of South ward east of Church street. 



AfY O WN RECOLLECTIONS. jSj 

Third district. — All of North wanl east of Pine street and Cata- 
wissa railroad. 

Fourth district. — All of North ward west of Pine street and Cata- 
wissa railroad. 

Fire alarm for each district witli be as follows : 

First. — Commencing with fire alarm and one tap for the First dis- 
trict. 

Fire alarm and two taps for the Second district. 

Fire alarm and three taps for the Third district. 

Fire alarm and four taps for the Fourth district. 

J\flj OvT^TZ ^ecoTlecttons, 

In the spring of 1857 there occurred what was known as " the big 
strike" at the Montour iron works, then under the management of 
J. P. Grove. Some six or seven hundred men in regular order, by 
day and by night for more than six weeks, were constantly marching 
through the town ; halting for speeches at the court-house, or on the 
grounds of the Grove church. They were orderly as a general thing, 
did no harm to any one, but marched along merrily singing songs 
composed for the occasion. The principal speaker was John Hanna. 
He was quite a ready talker with a large vein of humor that kept 
the boys wide awake and elicited much applause. True there was 
not much elegance in his utterances ; but there was " mother wit" 
and keen sarcasm that made him immensely popular and many 
others not connected with the strike, crowded round to hear John 
Hanna. Poor fellow, his popularity ruined him. He sank like 
many others under the influence of social habits and died almost 
forgotten. Andrew J. Thompson was also one of the most i)romi- 
nent leaders of the strike. He afterwards left this place, and has 
been dead a number of years. During the " big strike," the men 
and their fixmilies were sui)plied with provisions by the farmers of 
the surrounding country as well as by the citizens of Danville ; for 
in that strike, public sympathy was enlisted very warmly on the side 
of the working men. But it finally terminated, in some kind of a 
compromise and they returned to work. There have since been 
partial strikes on various grounds ; but none so general, or so well 
sustained by popular sentiment and " material aid." 



i8b HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

From the canal to Mulberry street, there was on each side of Mill 
street, a row of low, dingy, frame buildings. Some were reached 
by a plank gangway from the sidewalk, as the street was only par- 
tially filled up, and the sidewalk was only a narrow and rickety 
bridge resting on frail trestles, or scantling stuck in the mud on a 
level with the creek that passes under the street at Keiner's store. 
There were only three or four brick buildings in that part of the 
town, one of which stood on the present crossing of the railroad, in 
which Smith B. Thompson resided. But one by one and sometimes 
by the half dozen, the fire-fiend swept away the old, wooden build- 
ings, and the solid, elegant brick structures of to-day, took their 
places. The brick buildings of Mr. C. Laubach, Moyer Lyon and 
Jacob Reed, are all that remain, on either side of Mill street, from 
the canal to Mulberry. There was but one iron front in town, and 
that was the store of E. W. Conkling, adjoining the old bank build- 
ing. It was burned with the corner building. Mill and Market 
streets, and still lies in unsightly ruins in the main thoroughfare of 
the town. J. O. Richardson and C. C. Baldy, kept the only hai'd- 
ware stores in Danville. T. O. Van Allen had a large store of gen- 
eral merchandise on the corner above named, and Richard B. Hul- 
lihan, was for many }'^ars the genial and popular clerk. Isaiah S. 
Thornton kept a shoe store in the Montgomery building ; but 
Thomas Woods, opposite the opera-house, had and still keeps what 
is emphatically known as the "Oldest Shoe Store." M. C. Grier, 
J. B. Moore and Dr. William M. Bickley kept the drug stores. 
Among the merchants of twenty-five years ago, who are still m 
business, are C. Laubach, J. C. Rhodes, P. Baldy, Jr., W. H. Has- 
sanplug, Saul Lyon, Henry L. Gross, and E. Thompson. 

Among the physicians were Doctors Magill, Hughes, Simington, 
Strawbridge, Snitzler. The lawyers were E. H. Baldy, William C. 
Johnson, J. W. Comly, H. A. Childs, John G. Montgomery, B. 
K. Rhodes, Paul Leidy. Alexander Jourdan was judge and Daniel 
Frazer was sheriff. 

Shilo Gf-ej^mcLTh Jteform C7xizrc7x. 

The German Reform congregation was organized in 1858, under 
the pastoral charge of Rev. D. W. Wolf. Services had been held in 



• JOHN C. MILLHOUSE. i8j 

the court-house for soma time and the young congregation, com- 
posed of twenty members, was organized. In 1859 a new church 
was built on Bloom street, though it remained unfinished for some 
years and was not dedicated until December 20, 1862. Rev. D. 
W. Wolf resigned in 1861, and on the ist of May, 1862, Rev. J. 
W. Steinmetz assumed the pastoral charge of the congregation. The 
church is of brick, 60 by 40 feet, with a pleasant basement. The 
congregation now numbers more than two hundred. Rev. J. W. 
Steinmetz resigned the charged. The present pastor in Rev. Mr. 
Schaffer. 

J~o7x7Z C. AfillKojJLse. 

John C. Millhouse is a son of St. Crispin and a master of his craft. 
During the war he was with Gen. Burnside in his memorable expedi- 
tion to North Carolina. At Roanoke and Newburn, he manifested 
the sterling qualities that crowned the Ninth corps with the garlands 
of victory, and that finally saved our flag from dishonor, and our 
free institutions from the maelstrom of destruction. Mr. Millhouse 
was one of the most valued army correspondents of the American, 
then published by the writer of this volume. Many of the former 
readers of the American will remember, how, in those stormy days, we 
anxiously looked for his letters, as they always gave us a clear and in- 
telligent view of the situation. Returning home after the great work 
was done, he resumed his occupation. But fortune did not smile on 
him as he had reason to expect. Several times his shop with his 
tools and stock were mysteriously destroyed by fire ; once it was 
burglarized and the most valuable stock of leather was stolen. But 
each time with a firm will and patient industry he commenced anew. 
In 1876 the old shoe shoj) became a sort of head-cjuarters for the 
greenbackers. The working men being in enforced idleness, often 
met in the shoe shop to discuss the situation, to investigate the cause 
of business stagnation, and to seek a remedy. Ranged on rickety 
benches round the wall, through the stormy winter days and long 
winter nights, the interest never flagged in the great question that 
involved the well being of themselves and families, as well as the 
prosperity of the country at large. I ofcen spent a plesent hour in 
their midst and thus in jingling rhymes rehearsed the story of 



H/STORY OF DANVILLE. 



"The Old Shoe Shop." 

When down the stream of Time afar, 
Some lowly bard may catch the strain 

That lingers 'round the old Shoe Shop, 
And sing its glories once again. 

He strikes his harp to numbers low. 
Perchance on next Centennial year, 

Recalls the scenes of long ago, 

While thousands crowd around to hear. 

How village statesmen gathered there. 
In sober ranks around the wall. 

And oft display'd more solid sense 

Than those who spoke in Congress Hall. 

The chief was known for skillful work, 
And rain or shine, from early dawn, 

His gavel rung upon the stone — 

His work was good — his name was John. 

And as he drew the wax-end through, 
He drew conclusions bold and strong, 

From standard books and careful thought 
Showed where financial laws were wrong. 

With one accord the patriot band 

Indorsed his views and gave their own. 

Could they have made their country's laws, 
Financial storms had been unknown. 

But all are gone to meet no more ! 

The tide swept on, they could not stay ; 
The young have sought a western home. 

The old, perchance, have passed away. 

But by the streams or sounding shore. 
In distant lands or on the main. 

In day dreams oft these friends of yore 
Will gather 'round the stove again. 

Ah, no! they never can forget 

The scenes and friends to mem'ry dear. 
While life indures, for they shall grow 

More bright with each departing year. 

Like pilgrim shrine, this place is sought 
Since two-score-years had pass'd away, 

When, lo! there came a wondering bard — 
"Twas on a bright Autumnal day. 



I 



yOHN C. MILLHOUSE. iS) 

He cross'd the sheet and gainVl the lawn, 

Where once a gate swung to and fro ; 
He touched his harp and rais'd his voice. 

And mournful sang in numljcrs low. 

Not one is left with me to view 

This crumbling shop in ruins laid ; 
And save in dreams they ne'er shall know 

The fearful wreck that time has made. 

The window glass and sash are gone, 

Half open stands the crazy door ; 
The boards are warpVl — the frame is sprung, 

One corner sunk a foot or more. 

Along the roof and crumbling eves 

The wasp has built his house of clay, 
And through the gaps that time has made, 

The beetle wheels his droning way. 

Like Pisa's grand and wond'rous tow'r, 

The chimney seems about to fall ; 
Its base is gone — its ragged crown 

Leans out some feet beyond the wall. 

And tiiere, withim. tlie corners dim, 

Many a heedless victim dies, 
For there the spiders weave their webs. 

And set their traps to catch the flies. 

The mice are gambling on the floor 

And seeking for the paste-horn still, 
Wiiile undisturbed the cricket sings 

His plaintive song beneath the sill. 

And as the logs beneath tlie floor 

Yield to time and sure decay. 
The noisome snail, with horns erect. 

Slowly marks its devious way. 

Beneath the stones and in the mould, 

The centipedes by thousands roam : 
And in the corners, damp and dark, 

The squalid toad has made its home. 

Farewell, old shoe shop I You must go, 

As you, perchance, have gone before; 
In changing forms you come and go, 

But we, to life that dies no more ! 



I go HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Well, there may be some romance about a shoeshop on rare oc- 
casions; but as a general thing there is an everlasting sameness. 
The shoemaker's bench is the same old pattern it was an hundred 
years ago. You see a low seat, lined with leather conveniently dished, 
a drawer containing odds and ends, the bench checkered off with 
little compartments, containing pegs, bristles, tacks, a ball of wax 
and a piece of broken glass ; and what is strange you never see a 
new one. They are all old and dingy. 

JVI, S. ^iclgevi^cii/. 

M. S. Ridgeway came to Danville about 1 844 and has since been 
one of our most valuable and enterprising citizens, except a brief 
period when he was manager of a rolling-mill, in Youngstown. 
Ohio. Long years as manager of the large iron manufactory origi- 
nally known as the "Montour Works," tried him to the utmost and 
brought out those sterling qualities of character that mark the able 
executive, as well as the man. His daily intercourse with the thou- 
sands of employees who have been under his charge, is always dig- 
nified and courteous, and at the same time firm and exacting where 
duty to all is involved. Strangers or casual observers are apt to re- 
gard him as somewhat cold and austere. But this seeming may be 
the result of constant habit in controlling the varied and oft times 
turbulent elements, incident to a large corps of operatives, and in 
exacting from each the duties required. On other occasions the 
sunny side of his nature is manifested, and no man in the com- 
munity is more generous or liberal, social or benevolent. No work- 
ingman worthy of a favor ever appealed to him in vain, and many 
will long remember his substantial efforts in their behalf. The 
iron worker before his glowing furnace, will bless the man who in- 
troduced a shield, to defend him from the burning heat. Not only 
does the improved furnace door defend the worker ; but it is also 
of great pecuniary advantage to the manufacturer. He who con- 
tributes in any degree, to the benefit of mankind, is more worthy 
of note than he who conquers millions. 

Mr. Ridgeway enjoys, as he justly merits, a wide reputation as a 
successful manager of iron works, as well as a complete knowledge 
of iron in all its combinations, grades and forms. His son, E. O. 
Ridgeway, is making his mark in the same direction. 



THE COURT-HOUSE. igi 



J'ohn _P, LeiseTXTing . 

John P. Leisenring was a native of Northumberland county. He 
was born on the 23d of December, 1816, and died at his residence, 
on Mahoning street, Danville, on the 7th of September, 1870, con- 
sequently he was nearly fifty-four years of age. He came to Dan- 
ville about 1848 and established a picture gallery which soon won 
the popular favor. He was a strictly honest man and a model of 
industry. As an artist he was ambitious to keep pace with the rapid 
improvements in his profession ; and by his skill and fair dealing, 
he kept up a flourishing business in his photographic gallery for 
more than twenty years. During this time he acquired some prop- 
erty, and found himself in easy circumstances. He was a good citi- 
zen, attending to his own business, but was always ready and prompt 
to aid others, or to contribute to any good cause, civil or religious. 
In him the suffering and the needy always found a friend. To many 
other excellent traits of character may be justly added that of 
" peace- maker." During the latter part of his life, he thought and 
spoke much of the life which is to come — of that undiscov'^red coun- 
try that lies beyond the life that now is, and in his lingering illness 
of eight months duration, he bore his sufferings with the fortitude 
and the resignation of a Christian. He was a member of the First 
Baptist church in this place, but now we trust of the church above. 
In him I, with many others lost a true and steadfast friend ; but our 
loss for a season, is his gain for ever. 

His son, Henry H. Leisenring still continues tha business and 
enjoys an extensive patronage. His gallery is now in the Mont- 
gomery building. 

T7\e CoTLvt-HoTLse. 

The old court-house was built in . Joseph Maus was the con- 
tractor, and the cost was $3,980 80 — a little less than four thousand 
dollars. Included in the cost there were $64, for sixty-four gallons 
of whiskey consumed by the builders, and which is charged in the 
bill, at one dollar per gallon. The court-house occupied the site of 
the present structure, the ground having been donated for that pur- 
pose, by Gen. William Montgomery. The ground occupied by the 
jail was donated by Gen. Daniel Montgomery. Those who were em- 



ig2 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

ployed on the work of the old court-house, under the contractor 
Joseph Maus, were John Bryson, John Strieker, Edwin Stocking, 
Alexander Johnson, Benjamin Garretson, Neheniiah Hand, William 
Lunger, Peter Watts, Peter Snyder, Frederick Harbolt, James 
Thomas, William Doak, D. Henderson, B. Long and D. Heller. 

The new court-house was built in 1871. Mr. O'Malley was the 
contractor and architect. B. K. Vastine did the brick-work and H. 
F. Hawke & Co., furnished the massive cut-stone. It is a structure 
that reflects credit on the county and on all who were concerned in 
its erection. The county commissioners purchased the adjoining 
ground, on which the building occupied by the Friendship Fire Com- 
pany formerly stood ; and this addition with the building and sur- 
rounding improvements cost about $55,000. The commissioners 
exercised much care in the work, and with a due regard to public 
economy, they presented the county with a court-house in which 
every citizen can feel an honest pride. The first story is occupied 
by the offices of the commissioners, the prothonotary and clerk of 
the courts, the register and recorder, the grand jury and the sheriff. 
The second story reached by two broad stairways, is occupied by 
the court-room. It is furnished with all the modern appliances of 
comfort and convenience. 

For a number of years a park of deer have sported on the spacious 
grounds, the whole being inclosed by a tall iron fence. 

^cLvtcL J^. J^OT^ThOT^er. 

David N. Rownover was a native of New Jersey, but resided for 
some years in the northern part of this county. In 1839 he was 
appointed by the State authorities, superintendent of the North 
Branch canal, from Northumberland to Wilkes-Barre, an office which 
he held for thirty years. Soon after his appointment he moved to 
Danville and resided here until his death, which occurred in August, 
1870, when he had about reached the allotted three score and ten 
years. When the canal passed into the hands of the company, he 
was reappointed; and his efficiency, sterling integrity and fitness 
for the place, is best attested by his long retention in a position of 
so much importance, and one that many others sought so eagerly. 
His quick perception, good judgment and promptness in action on 
many occasions saved thousands of dollars both to the State and the 



PUBLIC SCHOOLS. jgj 



company ; whilst his intimate knowledge of human nature enabled 
him to secure the very best services from those under his control. 
David N. Kownover was universally respected as an honest, intel- 
ligent citizen, faithfully discharging his duties in all the relations of 
life. Such is the honorable record he has left behind him. I know 
only two of his sons, Harry and David F., and a daughter married 
to George S. Sanders. David spells the name with a C, and writes 
his name David F. Conover. He seems to have inherited much of 
the sterling qualities of his father. In 1862, while quite a young 
man, he became a clerk in a large jewelry house in Philadelphia, 
where, by his own merits, he gradually rose, until he became the 
head of the firm and the master of a fortune. 

^izblzc ScJzooZs. 

The public schools of Danville are conducted with much care, and 
a high standard of teachers is required by the board of directors. 
There are now twenty-eight schools in this place, attended by one 
thousand five hundred and fifty-four scholars. Seven hundred and 
ninety-six males and seven hundred and fifty-eight females. The 
present board of school directors, (three for each of the four wards,) 
is composed of William C. Johnson, J. C. Rhodes and Dr. J. D. 
Mansteller of the First ward ; George VV. Miles, Samuel Mills and 
E. J. Curtis, Second ward; E. Thompson, H. F. Hawke and E. C. 
Voris, Third ward; James Vandevender, F. C. Grau and J. R. 
Philips, Fourth ward. President of the board, J. D. Mansteller ; 
treasurer, E. Thompson ; secretary, E. J. Curtis. 

Rev. M. C. Horine is superintendent of public schools and is 
said to be one of the most efficient officers who has served the county 
in that capacity. 

The corps of teachers at present engaged in the schools of Dan- 
ville, is as follows : 

F. C. Derr, principal of high school. 
Miss Mame Hughes, assistant. 

S. M. Gibbs, Miss H. Alexander, 

R. P. Laird, Miss E. C. Wilson, 

Miss Maggie C. Madden, Miss M. Richardson, 

F. Ream, Miss A. Richardson, 

Miss S. Musselman, Miss L. M. Bloom, 

13 



194 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Miss M. O. Hughes, Miss Carrie Matcham, 

Miss A. McDermot, Miss A. M. Whitman, 

Mrs. R. B. Maxwell, Miss Lizzie Coxey, 

Miss Annie Hiatt, Miss Maggie Kramer, 

Miss Annie Yerrick, Miss Ruth Weaver, 

Miss A. Irvine, Miss M. Tillson, 

Miss A. Johnson, Miss Lizzie Antrim, 

Miss A. Jones, Miss Ida V. Grau. 

By the common testimony of the community, this corps of teach- 
ers have never been surpassed, in this place. 

JVTyster-y of tlte J^ftrte. 

In December, 1873, the dead body of Bernard Westdossal was 
accidentally discovered in an abandoned mine, between this place 
and Mausdale. The evidences of murder were plain and clear ; but 
no clue to the perpetrator could be found, until years later when a 
man formerly of this place, was convicted of murder in a western 
State, who confessed the murder of Westdossal for the sake of his gold 
watch. Bernard Westdossal had been a lieutenant in the Prussian 
army, and made some progress in studying for the priesthood ; but 
became reduced in circumstances, came to this country and was 
selling pictures at the time he was murdered. 

^eter QQctidy , St. 

Peter Baldy, senior, came from Northumberland to Danville in 
1 81 4. He was a blacksmith but soon engaged in merchandizing 
and dealing in grain. In 1839 he built the stone, steam mill on 
Church street. By care and industry, closely watching the corners 
and being fortunate in his speculations, he amassed a very large for- 
tune, and became one of the wealthiest men in this part of the State. 
He was the first president of the first bank established in Danville. 
He was always a substantial supporter of the Protestant Episcopal 
church to which he belonged from the time of its organization in 
this place, and left $50,000 to that church, in his will. During the 
war Mr. Baldy contributed liberally to the comfort of the volun- 
teers of this place; especially to the ''Baldy Guards," Captain 
Ramsey, and the " Fencibles," Captain Shreeve. Nearly twenty 
years ago, Mr. Baldy retired from active business and spent the 



EAGLE FOUNDRY. 195 



evening of life in the quiet of his home on Market street, where he 
died on the 24th day of November, 1880, at the ripe old age of 
ninety-two years and nine months, lacking a fevv days. 

Co-opercttive Tpotl and Steel TVorJ^s. 
The Co-operative Iron and Steel Works, are among the most en- 
terprising and successful business institutions of Danville. It is true 
that the principle upon which the works are based, have often failed 
in practice, but in every case the failure could be traced to misman- 
agement. There is perhaps only one way to conquor success, and 
that is in wisely marking out a line of conduct and then placing its 
execution in the hands of an able and discreet manager. The con- 
trolling power must ultimately terminate in a unit ; however the 
elements may be diversified, their combined power must culminate 
in a single point. Then success depends primarily on wise councils, 
and finally on the intelligent execution of those councils ; but there 
must be no subsequent interference ; only holding the manager re- 
sponsible for a judicious use of the power placed in his hands. The 
adverse of this rule has been the ruin of many co-operative institu- 
tions. The Co-operative Iron and Steel Works weie established in 
187 1. Some six acres of ground were purchased of Jacob Sechler, 
Sr., and the stockholders erected their mill on the most approved 
plan and with all the modern facilities for the manufacture of iron. 
The capacity is 15,000 tons per annum. Perry Deen was the first 
president and L. K. Rishel has been secretary, treasurer and general 
manager since the organization. Peter Baldy, Jr., is president at 
the present time. J. D. Williams is manager of the mill and Samuel 
Mills is roller. There is one thing of which the management of the 
Co-operative can justly boast, and that is, that through all the long 
years of business depression, their mill never stopped a single day 
for lack of orders ; but steadily moved on through the panic, until 
the present time when it is in full and successful operation. Ten 
years of experiment has proved the co-operative system a success. 
No better rails are made in the country and no rail mill gives more 
abundant promise of success in the future. 

Eagle FoixTLclry. 

The Eagle foundry was built on the site of an old iron manufac- 



ig6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

tory, on Ferry street, by Moore & Stewart, in 1837-38. In the 
latter year Samuel Huber became the chief moulder and he remained 
there some ten years. In February, 1839, the foundry was totally 
destroyed by fire. Some two or three years subsequently, the foun- 
dry having been re-built, it was operated by Stewart, Biddle & 
Lloyd. After the lapse of a few years they added a machine-shop 
and among other things they made a steam engine. Lloyd and 
Stewart now retired and the firm was Moore & Biddle, in a year or 
two it was reversed and made Biddle, Moore & Co. This was about 
1845 ^^^ ^^ ^^ continued until 1850, when it was William Biddle, 
agent, and so it has been conducted to the present time. Stoves of 
various patterns, plows, &c., are made at the old Eagle foundry. 

-M. B. GoodrtcJx. 

Maxwell B. Goodrich, for whom the Post of the Grand Army of 
the Republic in this place, is named, was one of the most gallant 
and generous hearted among the loyal soldiers, who with our brave 
and bold went out to battle. He was first lieutenant in company 
H, Ninety-third regiment, Pennsylvania volunteers, at the time he 
was mortally wounded in the Wilderness on the 5th of May, 1864; 
but he lingered until the 4th of June, when he died and was buried 
with the honors of war in Danville. "That was just like Max Good- 
rich," said the boys, when W. M. Snyder of company H was killed 
by a rebel sharpshooter at Williamsburg and Goodrich, who was 
then a sergeant, stepped out in front and shot the sharpshooter, thus 
speedily avenging the death of his comrade. And now, every year 
his well-known grave, in the old Grove church-yard, is strewn with 
the flowers of May, not only by his surving comrades ; but by the 
hands of ladies fair, who with a kind remembrance of the once noble- 
hearted Max Goodrich, deck with the garlands of honor, the mound 
where he sleeps. 

On the 2d of January, 1828, a company was chartered by the 
State to build a bridge across the Susquehanna, at the town of Dan- 
ville. The company was organized as follows : President, Daniel 
Montgomery ; treasurer, James Longhead ; secretary, John Cooper ; 
managers, John C. Boyd, William Colt, Peter Baldy, Sr., William 



DANVILLE BRIDGE. igj 



Boyd, Andrew McReynolds and Robert C. Grier. On the 3d of 
March in the same year a contract was made for the construction of 
the bridge, with John P. Schuyler and James Fletcher, who at once 
commenced the work, and in January, 1829, it was completed ; be- 
ing accepted by the company in February, as finished according to 
contract. The Governor was notified of the fact, as the State origi- 
nally held a small amount of stock in the bridge. Daniel Hoffman 
was elected the first toll collector, at the annual salary of sixty-five 
dollars. Previous to the 14th day of March, 1846, eleven dividends 
had been declared, on that day the bridge was swept away by a 
flood in the river. Daniel Blizard was carried down on a fragment 
of the bridge and was rescued with great difficulty near the old 
stone house. Subsequent to that date there was no dividend de- 
clared until 1863. After the loss of the bridge in the great freshet 
of March, 1846, a contract for its rebuilding was made with Chester 
Evans, and David N. Kownover ; but Evans disposed of his interest 
to Kownover and David N. Kownover alone carried on and finished 
the work. This second bridge stood the storms and floods until 1875 
when it too was swept away by the high water, on the 17th day of 
March in that year. The bridge was at once rebuilt in the ensuing 
season. H. F. Hawke &: Co. did the stone work and the super- 
structure was erected by the Smith Bridge Company, of Ohio. The 
toll collectors from the first opening of the bridge to the present 
time, were Daniel Hoffman, Rudolph Sechler, E. Mellon, Isaiah S. 
Thornton and Joseph Hunter. Mr. Joseph Hunter took charge in 
1 85 1 and with rare fidelity and very general satisfaction, has dis- 
charged the duties of the position for thirty years. 

I need not stop to say that this bridge is a great public benefit. 
Everybody knows it. I need not speak of its substantial character. 
Everybody feels it. 

The bridge is one fourth of a mile in length. It has a pleasant 
and covered footway on eacli side, entirely shut out from the road- 
way. 

The officers at present are: President, Thomas Beaver; treas- 
urer and secretary, E. H. Baldy, Esq.; managers, William H. Ma- 
gill, Alex. J. Frick, E. W. Conkling, John H. Grove, Amos Vas- 
tine, J. Hudson Kase ; toll collector, Joseph Hunter. 



ig8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

FlcLJviThg J\£ills. 

The first planing-mill in Danville, was Duncan C. Hartman's, in 
the brick building that was originally built for a woUen factory, by 
Doctor Petrikin. This was in 1839. It was burnt. About 1857 
Levi Berger built a large planing-mill, by the canal in the rear of 
Reed's brick building at the north-east corner of the canal bridge, 
on Mill street. Mr. Burger furnished his mill with the most ap- 
proved machinery and did a very large business until 1872, when 
this mill too, with all its valuable contents, was totally destroyed by 
fire. In 1869 Voris, Heigh & Gregg built a large planing-mill by 
the canal on Ferry street. 

J\£cLThij.fcLcto-rzes. 

Danville is a manufacturing center of great importance. Its abund- 
ant material and facilities for transportation to and from all points 
of the compass, are unsurpaseed. Iron ore, coal, and limesone in 
inexhaustable quantities are stored all around it, and we are blessed 
with all the advantages that could be desired, for the extensive manu- 
facture of iron in all its forms. Nature has been lavish with her 
gifts, and the enterprise of our people, has largely developed the 
abundant resources of this locality. The iron works established here 
with its army of operatives, have also opened a wide door for other 
manufactories, as well as a market for surrounding farmers and pro- 
ducers. The ground for a variety of manufactories that might be 
carried on here with large profits, is not yet occupied ; but the 
necessities of the future will inevitably plant them here. . Capital 
seeking remunerative investment will surely be attracted to this place 
when its advantages are fully understood. Not only nail, wire, axe, 
and other factories connected with the iron trade ; but such as are 
designed to supply the wants of the thousands who are workers 
in iron. These supplies could be manufactured here and furnished 
to the operatives at less cost than they now pay for the same articles. 
It is therefore tke interest of every working man to encourage the 
location of a*ll kinds of manufactories in this place. Especially 
would a cotton-mill or some establishment employing boys and girls, 
prove a great blessing to the " street children " and their parents, as 
well as to the community in general. Productive labor with a com- 



MONTOUR /RON AND STEEL WORKS. i99 

bination of interests alone can build up a town. Simply buying and 
selling does not add a penny to the value of an article, or to the 
wealth of the community. It is creating an article or increasing its 
value that makes your wealth, builds your cities, and moves the 
world. 

I say, therefore, with a full knowledge of the situation, and with 
full confidence, to my best friend : if you wish to invest capital in 
any department of industry, Danville is one of the most promising 
fields in the State. 

Ji£o7xLozzr Iron cltxcZ Steel JVorTzs. 

In the whole wide range of subjects connected with the past his- 
tory of Danville, this immense establishment is the most important 
in a business point of view, and is at the same time the most dif- 
ficult to trace through all its extensions and its changes of owners, 
operators and managers. To note its history in detail from 1838 
to the present time would be a history in itself, and would require a 
volume larger than this to give a full and complete idea of its origin 
and its progress through the sunshine and shadow of more than 
forty years. It is to be hoped that before the past is entirely buried 
in forgetfulness, and while there are still living witnesses of its be- 
ginning, rise and progress, some one possessing the ability will 
search the old records, tax the memory of its pioneers and give us 
a complete history of this great enterprise, with a note of each 
owner, operator and manager. In a work like this, a general sketch 
is all that can be expected, and this sketch is as nearly correct as 
the facts can be gathered at this day. The charcoal furnace. No. 
I, was built by B. Patterson in 1838. It stood beyond the Mahon- 
ing steam mill of to-day and near the railroad crossing. It has now 
entirely disappeared. About 1840, Chambers bui-lt the twin fur- 
naces, Nos. 2 and 3. These were among the very first in the coun- 
try, that made iron with anthracite coal. Benjamin Perry was the 
leading spirit in the production of anthracite iron. Furnace No. 4 
was not built until 1845. The Montour Iron Company owned the 
works and they were for some time represented by the firm of Mur- 
dock, Leavitt tSz: Co. This firm consisted of U. A. Murdock, 
Edward Leavitt, Jesse Oakley and David Wetmore. Henry Bre- 
voort was resident superintendent. The rolling-mill was built 



HISTOR\ OF DANVILLE. 



in 1844. (A. G. Voris was a general agent and builder, who was 
for many years connected with the works, as builder, purchasing 
material, selling iron and having the renting of the dwellings in 
charge.) T. O. Van Alen built the store-house, now known as the 
company store in 1844 and conducted the store and the flouring- 
mill until about 1850 when he sold to Conely, Grove & Co. He 
was also resident agent for a time. The rolling-mill was completed 
in 1845 ^"d here the first T rail was made. The U rail had been 
made before this date ; but to Danville belongs the honor of having 
on the 8th day of October, 1845, produced the first T rail that was 
ever made — a rail that now connects the Atlantic and Pacific oceans 
and checkers with iron roadways every civilized country in the 
world. In 1843 the furnaces were leased to Benjamin Perry, Alex- 
ander Garretson, Cornelius Garretson and William Jennison. Their 
contract was for two years. Harris was the manager at the rolling- 
mill in its first operation and was succeeded by M. S. Ridgeway, 
the manager at the present time. The foundry and machine shop 
was established by Heyward & Snyder in 1839, but they were pur- 
chased by the company in 1852. From 1847 to 1849 ^'"^^ rolling- 
mill was operated by Ridgeway, Allen, Heath and Stroh. The 
resident agent of the company at that time was Warren Murdock. 
He occupied the position until the advent of the Grove Bros., about 
1850 or 1 85 1. Peter and John Grove managed the works until 
1857. During their regime the new mill was built, adding much to 
its extent and capacity, which is now 45,000 tons of iron rails per 
annum. In 1857 the entire works passed into the hands of I. S. 
Waterman, Thomas Beaver, William Neal and Washington Lee, as 
trustees for the creditors of the Montour Iron Company. They 
operated the works as trustees until 1859 when the entire interest in 
the whole concern was purchased by Waterman & Bearer. They 
also purchased the real estate with all the franchises of the company 
and changed the name to the Pennylvania Iron Works. They oper- 
ated the works with great success and general satisfaction. In 1868 
Thomas Beaver, Dan Morgan, C. Mulligan, George F. Geisinger 
and Dan Edwards operated and shared the profits of the works. This 
combination was successful and continued until 1874. In 1876 
Thomas Beaver sold his interest to I. S. Waterman, retaining by 
purchase the mansion house on the hill, with twenty acres of ground. 



MONTOUR IRON AND STEEL WORKS. 



In 1880 I. S. Waterman sold the whole establishment to the Read- 
ing Railroad Company and the works have since been conducted 
in the interest of that corporation. As before remarked it is very 
difficult to get the changes exactly, as scarcely any two men agree 
on the exact date of occurrences that should be correctly stated in 
a work like this. The reader may rest assured however, that in the 
main our sketch is correct and reliable. 

It only remains to add a few notes which a sense of justice seems 
to demand. Of the proprietors who preceded Thomas Beaver, I 
know nothing personally; but of Mr. Beaver everybody in Danville 
can speak confidently, he having resided here for the last twenty- 
three years. Among the enterprising men of business, who have 
directed their energies to the development of our natural resources, 
and who have most notably contributed to the substantial interests 
of Danville, is Thomas Beaver. His life affords a noble example of 
human capabilities under the influence of our free American institu- 
tions, and the abundant material afforded to intelligent industry, 
without regard to accidental circumstances. In his early boyhood, 
Mr. Beaver worked on a farm at two dollars and fifty cents a month. 
He afterwards engaged in merchandising and visited Philadelphia to 
purchase his goods before he was eighteen years old. Through the 
energy and the executive ability that has characterized him through 
life, he succeeded until he became one of the prominent merchants 
of the city, and finally joint proprietor of one of the largest estab- 
lishments in the State ; employing more than a thousand men and 
producing more than one hundred tons of iron rails in a single day, 
in connection with a store in which he employed more than forty 
clerks and during his proprietorship sold goods to the amount of 
be4;ween eight and nine millions of dollars. No man could be bet- 
ter adapted to meet the requirements of his important and respons- 
ible position, requiring quick perception, comprehensive thought and 
at the same time a watchful care of the most minute details. Of 
course he amassed a fortune ; one half of all his profits, on a fair 
calculation, he donated to charitable, educational and religious pur- 
poses, and what is equally rare he knows how to enjoy the blessings 
of wealth not only in the personal comfort it affords ; but in adding 
to the happiness of others, in quiet acts of true benevolence, that 
always return to bless the giver. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



The name of the works has been changed to the " Montour Iron 
and Steel Works." The organization is as follows : President, W. 
E. C. Coxe of Reading, Pa. ; general manager, F. P. Howe, Dan- 
ville ; treasurer, S. W. IngersoU, of Philadelphia. Mr. Coxe is 
well known by our people he having formerly resided here, during 
his connection with the works, some sixteen years ago. He also 
took an active part in the local affairs of the town and acted as mar- 
shal on several public occasions. Mr. Howe is managing the works 
with general satisfaction and great success. The chief operators in 
the various departments are Dan Morgan superintendent of the blast 
furnaces. He has occupied that position for many years, and is 
more particularly noted in another portion of this book. M. S. 
Ridway, manage ; P. J. Adams has been in the machine shop about 
as long as any other ; and in an establishment like this, long years of 
employment is a test of industry and skill. George Lovett is the su- 
perintendent of labor, and time keeper, a position of responsibility 
requiring activity and constant watchfulness. William Cruikshank 
is the moulder, a position formerly occupied by the genial Henry 
Gearhart. Captain Gaskins occupies his old place at the weigh 
scales, Joseph Bryant at the stock scales. There are many others 
filling important positions that it would be a pleasure to name. A. 
W. McCoy is chief clerk in the office. C. M. Mock also holds a 
responsible clerkship in the principal office. Samuel S. Gulick keeps 
a record in a minor office near the machine shops. J. Boyd Gear- 
hart, M. C. Gearhart, John Walize and many engineers, heaters and 
workers whose names are unknown to the writer whose brain and 
muscle keep the works in motion, deserve at least a passing note. 
The extent of the Montour iron and steel works, can be imagined by 
the fact that in the rolling-mills, furnaces, mines and machine shops 
there are thirty-nine stationary steam-engines and four locomotives. 
The works are now (February, 1881,) running to their full capacity 
night and day. They are crowded with orders and all the army of 
iron-workers have constant employment. 

J. R. Philips looks after the heating, J. R. Lunger takes his place 
at night, and John Marks that of Ridgway. E. C. Voris is veteran 
among the patterns. E. O. Ridgway is roller and Hiram Antrim 
runs the flouring-mill. 



MARBLE AND STONE CUTTING. 20J 



M^CLT-'ble CLThd. Ston-e CixttiTxg. 

The marble and stone cutting business in Danville is carried on 
by H. F. Hawke & Co., and so well has this firm met the public 
demands that they have no opposition in their line of business and 
those who would venture on a rival establishment would find " Jor- 
dan a hard road to travel." Col. A. J. Frick is the partner of Mr. 
Hawke in the firm. Their marble-yard is at the old stand formerly 
occupied by Peter Hughes, deceased, and their stone-yard is at the 
intersection of Ferry street and the Lackawanna railroad. Mr. 
Hawke is a practical workman of long experience and is complete 
master of the business in all its details. His skill and taste in de- 
signing and in execution is known all over the country and large 
corps of marble and stone cutters are kept in constant employment. 
The artistic work of this establishment is seen in the Opera House 
in the Grove church and numerous buildings here and elsewhere, 
as well as in the cemeteries all around us. The works were estab- 
lished in 1869 and have proved a complete success and their work 
adorns many of the most celebrated buildings throughout the State. 

Stone cutting is not only a trade, a mechanic art but a science, 
just as much as many others that are dignified with the honor. Here 
comes a strolling adventurer, who proposes to walk a wire, to tame 
a horse, or to sell a nostrum. He comes as a "Professor," too. 
Professor about as much as the porter at a railroad depot, or the 
locomotive of a wheelbarrow. But if any man among the sons 01 
toil is entitled to the distinction, it is he, who master of his art, what- 
ever it may be, excels in producing the useful and the beautiful. 
And none has a stronger claim than the sculptor, or the ornamental 
worker in stone. No matter whether he hews, chisels and shapes the 
human form, the monuments of the dead, or ornaments to adorn the 
abodes of the living. The man who shapes the solid rock into forms 
of beauty and the various styles of architecture, is a professor, and 
should rank as such, for he is as far above the montebank who as- 
sumes the title, as the pyramids of Egypt are above the sands of the 
desert. I have been led to these remarks by the artistic skill dis- 
played by Mr. Hawke, contractor and proprietor of the Danville 
Stone Works. His work for the Asylum, the Grove church, and the 
new Opera House, are beautiful specimens of the sculptor's skill. 



204 HISTOR Y OF DANVILL E. 

Of course much is due to the designer, but equal credit belongs to 
the man who with chisel and mallet, clicking away from morning 
till night, gives form and beauty to the design. He brings out the 
conception from the rough stone, and presents in reality that which 
only lived in the brain of the architect. 

ColTXTTLbtCl FjxrTLCLces. 

The Grove Brothers were natives of Lebanon county, who by 
energy, perseverance and the intelligent use of small means and large 
brains, rose to the front rank among the iron manufacturers of the 
country. The bond of brotherhood between them was close and 
enduring as life. Unity of purpose and concert of action, no doubt 
contributed much to their success. In addition to this they studied 
the nature of iron and the most economical modes of its manufac- 
ture, as a science. In 1840 they bought a furnace that had been 
built by Mr. Patterson in 1839, and operated it very successfully. 
In i860 they added a very large furnace, with great improvements, 
giving them a capacity of 12,000 tons a year, of the first quality. 
These furnaces have near at hand, iron ore, coal, limestone and 
every facility for the extensive and economical production of pig 
iron. Three of the brothers have passed away and the second gen- 
eration is now, (profiting by the lessons and examples of those who 
went before) judiciously following in their footsteps. Two of the 
brothers remain (one is here) to temper the ardor and to direct the 
energies of the younger members of the firm. Some years ago, 
Grove Brothers built a magnificent mansion, to which reference is 
made in another portion of this book. The furnaces are on Mahon- 
ing street and connected with the railroads by proper sidings for the 
reception of stock and the shipment of iron. They have a very fine 
office near the furnaces. With Michael and John I was best ac- 
quainted. They were affable in their manners and social in their 
nature. John especially was a man of remarkable intelligence. 
Though he was not a pohtician in the ordinary acceptance of the 
word and took no public part in political contests beyond the exer- 
cise of the ballot ; yet he seemed to have the clearest and most com- 
prehensive views of the Government, its history, its foreign and do- 
mestic relations, its finances and the policy demanded by the duties 



EARLY SCHOOLS. 205 



of the hour. Many who read these lines will no doubt remember 
his lucid, off-hand expositions of public questions, and his sound 
judgment touching the probabilities of the future. 

EcLrly ScTiooLs, 

Of our early schools, Mr. Frazer says : The people of Danville 
have ever manifested a deep and abiding interest in the education of 
their children. Some time about 1790, whilst the village was yet 
unknown as a distinct organization, but included in the very com- 
prehensive and more widely known organization of Mahoning, a 
school-house was erected on the grounds of the Grove church, a few 
yards east of the old church edifice, where the children of the fore 
fathers of the border settlement received the rudiments of their edu- 
cation. The names of the teachers have all passed into oblivion, 
save that of Master Gibson, but neither the date of his service nor 
their duration can now be ascertained nearer than that it was during 
the last decade of the last century. Subsequently, when the popu- 
lation of Danville became sufficiently numerous to support a village 
school, the building at the Grove church was found to be too remote 
for them, and Gen. William Montgomery, with commendable lib- 
erality, donated a lot for school purposes, on his town plan, which 
seems to have been bounded by the great road leading from his 
house to the river, called Mill street, on the southeast, by the river 
on the southwest, by Factory street on the northwest, and the Ma- 
honing on the north, and being a part of his farm. 

His deed of dedication, dated Pebruary i, 1802, recites that "the 
said William Montgomery, for and in consideration of his desire to 
promote the good of the people of Danville and the points adjacent, 
hath granted, confirmed and quit-claimed unto a majority of the in- 
habitants of said village, that certain lot marked twenty-two on the 
plan annexed, called the plat of the west end of Danville, for the 
purpose of erecting thereon a school-house and academy for the in- 
struction of youth in reading English, writing, arithmetic, the math- 
ematics and music, and whatever other branches of literature may be 
thought conducive to the general interests of said town and vicinity." 

A frame school building, about tw«inty feet square and one-story 
high, was erected on this lot, by voluntary contributions, in 1804. 



20b HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The gable end fronted on the alley midway between Mill and Fac- 
tory streets, with a door and two windows ; and three windows on 
each side. The writing desks fronted the sides, so that the backs of 
the pupils who occupied them, were turned to the interior of the 
room. The smaller students were seated on benches in the middle of 
the room, running parallel with the writing desks. All the seats 
were common wooden benches, destitute of backs. The entire ar- 
rangement of the school-room was extremely inconvenient, and so 
continued many years. 

The school near the church having been discontinued, the first 
school in the new building was taught by the venerable Andrew 
Forsyth, who continued it for years, until advancing age admonished 
him to relinquish it, much to the regret of his patrons and pupils. 
Few, very few of his old pupils survive, but those few retain pleasing 
recollections of their worthy and revered teacher. 

Mr. Forsyth was succeeded in the school by John Moore. He 
was a competent and popular teacher, but was averse to occupying 
his time in so unprofitable and thankless a vocation, and soon aban- 
doned it for the more profitable one of merchandising, which he 
successfully pursued for many long years, and deceased in 1870, at 
the good old age of eighty, greatly regretted by his old pupils and 
the entire community. 

All these schools, until the present school system was adopted, 
were wholly supported by voluntary subscriptions made by the par- 
ents or guardians of the pupils and were renewable quarter yearly. 
They were essentially private institutions, and continued just so long 
as the teacher and his emyioyers mutually agreed, and no longer, 
yet they were not much more subject to change than are those under 
the present admirable system of the public schools. 

InsuLTCLThce, CorrvpcLTvies. 

There are two insurance companies located in Danville. First 
the Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Middle Pennsylva- 
nia. This company was organized on the 21st of June, 1859, ^-nd 
is conducted strictly on the mutual principle. It has paid out nearly 
three hundred thousand dollars for losses, and yet for more than 
twenty years it has made only five moderate assessments on the pre- 
mium notes of its members. William Follmer is president ; Samuel 



INSURANCE COMPANIES. 207 

Snyder vice president and P. Johnson secretary and treasurer. There 
is no doubt that the company, mainly owes its extraordinary success 
to the watchful care and the executive ability of Mr. Johnson. His 
long experience and efficiency as secretary and treasurer have steadily 
and surely led the way, through all the financial fluctuations of more 
than a score of years, to the prosperity that marked its progress up 
to the present time. On the first day of January, 1880, its financial 
condition was reported as follows : 

Amount of property insured, $10,659,974 00 

Amount of premium notes in force, 517,020 80 

Cash in treasurer's hands, ^209 51 

Net amount due from agents on premiums, . . . i,353 86 

Gross amount due on assessments including No. 5, 21 ,096 64 



$22 ,660 01 



Liabilities, $11,478 53 

Amount paid for losses during past year, • • . . 14,752 28 

The office is located over the book-store of E. W. Conkling & Co. 

The Danville Mutual Fire Insurance Company is located in the 
same place. The officers at this time are G. M. Shoop, president ; 
C. Laubach, vice president and treasurer, and W. H. Ammerman, 
secretary. 

The following was the condition of the company at the last re- 
port: 
Amount at risk January i, 1880, ^569,853 00 

Cash surplus January I, 1880, $13,903 93 

Premium notes in force, 34,676 63 

Available assets, $48,580 56 

Total amount of losses paid since organization, . . . $17,051 46 

The efficiency of secretary Ammerman is also worthy of the high- 
est commendation. 



zo8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

S. S. StrtcTtlctn-cl. 

One of the most substantial and successful teachers of music in this 
place, is Henry B. Strickland. Of modest pretentions and unob- 
trusive manners, yet most thorough in the rudiments as well as in 
the higher departments of musical science. In addition to these 
sterling qualities, he has the faculty of imparting instruction to the 
youngest student, as well as to the more advanced, in a clear and 
comprehensive manner, so as to make a lasting impression. As a com- 
poser he has taken an honorable place. Some of his published pro- 
ductions rank deservedly high among musicians of culture ; and all 
bear the stamp of a high order of talent. Mr. Strickland was a 
hard working miner in his earlier years ; but his natural genius, with 
a brief period in one of the noted musical institutions of the country 
have placed him in the front rank of instructors in the science. As 
a vocalist he has few equals in this locality, and he is equally at home 
on the piano or the organ. He has made his mark on the musical 
history of this place, a mark that will long remain to guide the 
lovers of " the concordance of sweet sounds," when the more flashy 
work of others is forgotten. He is now the organist of St. Joseph's 
Catholic church, and is also a dealer in music and musical instru- 
ments, on Mill street. 

Denrvis (^rtglxt. 

Another of our brave soldiers was Dennis Bright. Though retir- 
ing in his disposition he has nevertheless acted a prominent part in 
our local history. He is a native of this county and son of Peter 
Bright of Valley township, and originally from Reading. When 
the war broke out, Dennis was in the State of Indiana, where he en- 
listed in the Fifteenth regiment of Indiana volunteers. For merito- 
rious services he was soon promoted to a lieutenancy. At Cheat 
Mountain he was severely wounded and for a time disabled. When 
partially recovered he was detailed on recruiting service ; and was 
afterwards promoted to assistant adjutant general, with the rank of 
captain on the staff of Gen. Wagner. At the close of the war he 
returned to his old home and engaged in the business of oil refining 
in Danville. In the fall of 1871 he was elected to the State Legis- 
lature, in the district composed of Montour and Northumberland 



CATHOLIC CHURCH. 2oq 



counties. This was certainly a tribute to his personal worth, as the 
majority in the district is largely against the Republican party of 
which he was the nominee : and he was the first Republican member 
that ever appeared in the Legislature from Montour county. Unob- 
trusive in ills manners, he was not a noisy ; but a watchful, working 
member, exercising sound, practical judgment on all subjects and 
securing the legislation desired by his constituents. More than all, 
amid the bold corruption of the time, his honesty and fidelity to 
duty were never questioned, and no shadow of suspicion ever fell 
upon his name. 

In his political sentiments he has always been a Republican, though 
never of choice a politician. He is now engaged in the hardware 
trade, in the opera-house block, and is one of the substantial busi- 
ness men of Danville. 

CcitTiolzc C7zu-7^c7z. 

In view of the great number of members of the Catholic church, 
with their families, who came here as iron workers on the establish- 
ment of the Montour works, the authorities of the church located a 
mission in Danville about the year 1847. It was placed under the 
pastoral charge of Rev. J. P. Hannigan, who labored successfully 
in organizing a congregation. Soon after the arrival of Rev. Han- 
nigan, the frame church at the railroad on Center street was built. 
After some time the pastor was succeeded by Rev. Joseph O'Keefe, 
and he by Rev. Hugh Kenney. How long they respectively min- 
istered to their people in this place, I have not ascertained ; but 
when I arrived in Danville^ in 1855, R^v. Michael Sheridan, suc- 
cessor to Rev. H. Kenney was in charge of the congregation. Rev. 
Sheridan went to Ashland, where he officiated as pastor of the 
church in that place, until his death some time ago. On the de- 
parture of the Rev. Sheridan, Rev. Edward Murray took his place 
in Danville. He was a pleasant gentleman, affable in his manners 
and was much respected; Rev. Arthur McGinnis was next in order. 
The new brick church was built during his pastorate. He was a man 
of extensive culture, a pleasant companion and a faithful minister. 
He visited Europe in 1871 during his minstry in Danville and seemed 
much invigorated on his return; but subsequently died suddenly 
14 



HIS70RY OF DANVILLE. 



while reading in his library. His death produced a profound sen- 
sation, not only in this place, but in Catholic circles all over the 
country, as he occupied a high position in the confidence of the 
church and in the respect of the public. The funeral ceremonies, 
both here and also in Philadelphia where his remains were entombed, 
were of the most solemn and imposing character. 

The brick church on the corner of Ferry and Center streets was 
built on a lot which they purchased of Mr. Joseph Diehl. The 
ground was bought in September, 1857 ; but the church was not 
completed until 1869. The church building is sixty-one by one 
hundred and seventeen feet. It has a tower one hundred and five 
feet high, which is surmounted by a large, gilt cross. The style of 
architecture^^is called Romanesque. The auditorium will seat four- 
teen hundred, nor is it too large, as there are more than two thou- 
sand communicants, a larger membership than all other churches 
in Danville combined. The new church was dedicated on the 25th 
of July, 1869. Rev. O'Connor former bishop of Pittsburg and 
since a member of the Society of Jesus, preached the dedication 
sermon. In his exordium he paid a glowing tribute to the congre- 
gation for the taste and liberality displayed in the church edifice. 
His sermon was an able and interesting exposition of the appropriate 
text he had chosen. This was the first time I had witnessed the 
ceremony of dedicating a Catholic church, and by their courtesy oc- 
cupied a place where I had the best opportunity for seeing and 
hearing the interesting ceremony of the occasion. Quite a num- 
ber of the clergy were present clad in the rich vesture enjoined by 
the church. Rt. Rev. Bishop Shanahan of Harrisburg consecrated 
the church and the altar. High mass was celebrated by Rt. Rev. 
Bishop O'Hara of Scranton. Rev. Barry was master of ceremonies. 
There was something peculiarly impressive in the dignified bearing 
and kindly though penetrating eye of this young priest, and I regret 
to learn that he has since died. The church itself is an imposing 
structure and on that day was decorated with paintings and flowers in 
a chaste and beautiful manner. The image of the Saviour surmounted 
the altar and the lamb at the base, with all the adornments, could 
not fail to produce an effect, at once sublime and lasting. The music 
was grand. One female voice was surpassingly lovely. 

In July, 1873, Rev. Thomas McGovern assumed charge of the 



ODDITIES. 211 

church in Danville, and in which he remains. During his pastorate 
a magnificent organ was procured for the church. There was a 
grand musical concert and introductory ceremonies, under the di- 
rection of the pastor, as the deep tones of the organ for the first 
time, filled the church. The concert was a success financially as 
well as musically. Prof. M. J. Cross presided at the organ, at the 
opening; but Prof. H. B. Strickland has been and is still the regular 
organist. Through the efforts of Rev. McGovern a bell, weighing 
more than four thousand pounds was placed in the tower, on Satur- 
day, November 6, iS8o. It is one of the finest, if not the finest 
toned bell in this place. Rev. Thomas McGovern is not only a man 
of marked ability, l)ut possesses more energy and executive power 
than any of his predecessors. As a controvertialist he is a dangerous 
opponent, and seems to be armed at every point to battle for the 
church and to defend the faith he professes Yet he is liberal and 
generous, courteous and pleasant to all ; and holds an honorable 
place in the respect of the community at large. He is a fine speaker 
and on special occasions always attracts a crowd of those outside of 
his own church. The Sunday school is attended by more than four 
hundred scholars and is superintended by the pastor. 

Odclittes. 

" Old Gabe " was an African and wood sawyer. Why they called 
him " Gabe " is a mystery as his name was Jim Gray. He was a 
good type of his race, in its primitive state. He once inquired for 
a letter at the post office. "What name?" said the post master. 
" Why mine to be sure," said Gabe, " ef hits for me de name'll be 
on de upper side, an' ef hit ain't hit wont be dar." But long years 
have passed away since he meandered through the town with his 
saw-horse on his back, carefully watchmg the wood-piles in his way. 

There was another colored individual for a long time employed 
at the Montour House. His name was Clarke ; but they called him 
" Black Bill." At the time gents' shawls were first worn, one of 
the town editors bought one of a peculiar pattern. For a live joke 
some of the gents up town, bought one of the same pattern for Black 
Bill, and sent him on a pretended errand to the printing office. But 
the editor took the wind out of that sail, by wrapping his shawl 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



about him and walking up town by the side of Bill. The delight 
of Bill was to indulge in hifahden. Meeting another colored man 
named Green, on the canal bridge one cold morning Bill inquired, 
"How's your complexion dis mo'nin' ?" " Easy dar now," said 
Green, " go way wid your gramatics." Bill rose on his dignity and 
replied : " Don't you try to graduate your moral noxification 'bout 
me. How de diameter of cerebellum gatiate any how. Can't you 
expectorate when a gemman suhnoxicates ; tell me dat : you fisti- 
cated specimentor of noncomposity ?" Bill left for Scranton. He 
was a jovial happy mortal and was faithful to every trust, but never 
troubled himself about to-morrow. 

TTte, Eixterpi^tse JVor7i:s. 

The "Enterprise Foundry and Machine Works" are located on 
Ferry street, between the canal and Mulberry street. They were 
first erected in 1872 by James Cruikshank, J. W. Moyer, Robert 
Moore, and Thomas C. Curry, under the firm of " Cruikshank, 
Moyer & Co." The whole structure with all its valuable contents 
was totally destroyed by fire in the fall of 1873. But the parties, 
true to the name they had adopted, rebuilt on a larger scale, in the 
summer of 1874. The main building is 104 by 45, the boiler-house 
is 45 by 24 feet, attached to these is a large blacksmith shop and 
other necessary buildings. About two years ago Mr. Moore left 
the concern, and only Cruikshank, Moyer, and Curry are now in 
the firm ; but the title of the firm continues as formerly. " Cruik- 
shank, Moyer &: Co." The foundry is especially superintended by 
Mr. Moyer, a practical founder of large experience. Castings weigh- 
ing seven tons have been cast in the Enterprise foundry, and the 
capacity at a single casting is nine tons. In the extensive machine 
department, steam engines are made, also rolling-mill, blast furnace, 
saw and grist-mill machinery and railroad and bridge castings. 
These works have been carried on very successfully and their work 
is shipped to all points of the compass. The three partners are all 
practical men, the one a founder and the other two machinists and 
and each a master workman. This fact has no doubt secured the 
excellence and the consequent popularity of their work. The En- 
terprise Foundry and Machine Works, of this firm have added very 



NOTED MURDER TRIAL. 2i3 



materially to the current of business in this locality. It is kept in 
full operation and bids fair for a long and prosperous future. Where 
men of sterling integrity and practical skill, lead the way, success 
must follow. 

JVoted, 2ifizr(Zer Tibial. 

In May, 1857 Catharine Ann Clark, wife of William J. Clark, 
died after a painful and somewhat peculiar illness. Before she was 
buried suspicion arose that there was something wrong. This was 
strengthened by the fact that there was a reported intimacy between 
William J. Clark and Mary Twiggs. It was also known that David 
Twiggs, the husband of Mary, had died in the same mysterious man- 
ner, a tew weeks previous. Add to this the fact that Clark had pur- 
chased both arsenic and strychnine, at the drug store of Chalfant & 
Huges a short time before, and that the corpse indicated death by 
arsenic. All these circumstances pointed to Clark as the poisoner of 
his wife. Upon this he was arrested and lodged in jail. A coronor's 
jury made inquiry into the matter, the body of David Twiggs was 
exhumed, a portion of the stomach and contents of each of the dead, 
was secured for analysis. Doctor Simington had attended Mrs. 
Clark and also analyzed the contents of the stomach. At the trial 
in February, 1858, he testified to the finding of arsenic as did also 
Doctor Snitzler, Doctor Strawbridge, and Doctor Magill. After 
a trial fairly conducted by the counsel, the court and the jury, he 
was convicted of murder in the first degree, and sentenced on the 
19th day of February. He persisted in his innocence to the last 
and died with a solemn denial on his lips. Mary Twiggs was tried 
in May, 1858 and was condemned on the same general testimony. 
She was also hung, while she protested that she was innocent of the 
crime. The first execution in Montour county was William J. Clark 
and the second his accomplice, Mary Twiggs. Subsec^uently William 
McGinly killed Thomas Shevland with a knife. He was tried and 
convicted ; but he made his escape from prision and has never been 
heard of since. 



214 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Otxt ScJzooi JToixses. 

Danville is furnished with at least three of the most complete 
school buildings in the State. The people of this place have always 
felt a warm interest in the subject of popular education, and have 
employed every agency to advance and sustain our public schools. 
The care and taste exercised in the construction of our school build- 
ings, is in keeping with that which is exercised in selecting teachers 
and watching the education of the young. The school-building in 
the Third ward, is a fair sample of all, and a brief description of 
this imposing structure, will answer for those of the First and Fourth 
wards, only they are much larger. 

The size of the building is 

At either side a wide door opens into a central hall, from which 
two splendid stairways lead to the second story ; each floor being 
divided into two rooms, very large, high ceillings, well ventilated 
and heated by two large heaters located in the basement. The pri- 
mary department is in the west wing on the first floor. We have 
never seen, either in city or country, fixtures and furniture better 
adapted to the purpose. There are twenty-eight desks in each room, 
and fifty-six very neat little chairs, immovably fixed on iron pedes- 
tals, and suited to the size of the scholars. In the center of each 
desk, imbeded in the lid, is an inkstand that can only be moved 
with a key. The chairs and desks are all of maple wood, nicely 
varnished and polished, with metal supports firmly screwed to the 
floor. The four rooms are all furnished alike, only the desks and 
chairs in each room are suited to the size of the pupils. The wood 
work of the interior is neatly and handsomely painted and grained 
to match the funiture. This complete and artistic part of the work 
was executed by Mr. M. B. Alunson, and attests the skill with which 
he handles the brush. 

The brick work was done by Mr. C. Books, and is one of the most 
substantial and finished jobs of the kind that can be found in our 
place. Look at those neat, yet massive walls, and you will indorse 
our opinion. 

The construction of this grand edifice was in the hands of Mr. 
Robert McCoy, contractor and builder, of this place, and every part 
was designed by him and finished under his personal supervision. 



PETER YERRICK. 215 



This, as well as other structures erected by Mr. McCoy, places him 
among the first architects of this part of the State ; and while the 
children enjoy the benefits of pleasant, convenient, and healthy 
school-rooms, he may well feel an honest pride in the building itself, 
as the result of his skill and experience in the science of architecture. 

There are twenty-eight schools in the borough of Danville, with 
an average number of seventeen hundred scholars. 

F. C. Derr is principal of the high school and has been for a num- 
of years. There are twelve school directors in the town, three for 
each ward by special act of the Legislature. 

Rev. Horine is superintendant of schools for this county at the 
present time. The school term is ten months in each year. 

Among the soldiers who endured the hardships and encountered 
the dangers of the Mexican campaign, was Peter Yerrick, cousin to 
the writer. Although badly wounded at Molino del Rey, he escaped 
with his life. He first enlisted in the United States army in 1838, 
for five years, at the expiration of the term, he was honorably dis- 
charged. During his service he was chiefly employed on the west- 
ern frontier, guarding the lives and property of the pioneers, on 
that extensive border. His experience in those days was wild and 
romantic. In 1846, when war was declared against Mexico, the 
old spirit was revived, and Veteran Yerrick first intended to join the 
"Columbia Guards," especially as Captain Wilson was anxious to 
avail himself of his experience, in the position of orderly sergeant 
of the Guards. But some misunderstanding having arisen, he pre- 
ferred the sterner discipline of the regular army in which he again 
enlisted. He served under Colonel Mcintosh and went with Gen- 
eral Taylor as far as Saltillo, and then joined the army of General 
Scott, fighting his way to Mexico's capital. In all the battles that 
marked the course of General Scott's triumphant march to the city 
of the Aztecs, Yerrick bore a prominent part. As stated he was 
severely wounded at the storming of Molina del Rey, and when the 
city was taken, he was carried within the walls where he remained 
six months. He was then honorably discharged on account of 
wounds received in battle. He reached his home in Danville in 
May, 1848. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



In the late war he again followed the old flag. Among the ex- 
cellent traits of his character, is an unquestioning patriotism. He is 
for his country ever ready to defend its honor, without caring what 
political party may be in power. The stirring scenes of his active 
life, his thrilling adventures on the plains, the dangers of the siege 
and the battle, the memory of his comrades who fell by the way — 
all interwoven with the woof of his life, would fill a volume. He 
now resides somewhere in the west. May the evening of his days 
be peaceful and pleasant, as the sunshine, when storms are over and 
gone. 

^LgrzcultTLral Societtes. 

These institutions are now organized generally through the farm- 
ing districts of the country. Though it cannot be denied that where 
they have existed for some time, there is a noted decline in the in- 
terest formerly manifested in the annual exhibitions. The causes of 
the decline are readily ascertained. 

To realize the full benefit of these exhibitions, there should be 
some system or programme adopted for an interchange of ideas and 
experiences in the production of the articles presented. But little 
real information is gained by merely glancing at a fine animal, 
large vegetables, or any other product ; and just as little by reading 
the cards attached. Let it be arranged for every producer in his 
turn to tell his neighbors exacdy how it was done. Let them com- 
pare notes, and thus get at the true design of these exhibitions. If 
the object were simply a season of enjoyment, seeing your neigh- 
bors, looking at curiosities, and enjoying the races, then are these 
fairs generally conducted properly. But the true design is to bene- 
fit the fanner and the jnechanic, to improve the products of the soil 
and the workshop. For instance, here is a bag of superior wheat. 
Farmers admire it, and walk away knowing no more about it, except 
that it ' ' looked very nice." Why not have the farmer that produced 
it, at a stated time, take his station by the bag, and tell his neigh- 
bors where the seed was from, in what kind of soil it was raised, 
what are its peculiarities, when was it sown, how was the ground 
prepared, what fertilizer was used, how much to the acre, and how 
much did it yield? In a word, all his experience, including also 



AGRICULTURAL SOCIETIES. 217 

what would likely prove a failure in its cultivation, and so of other 
articles. If it is a general frolic, trials of speed and sight-seeing, it 
amounts to nothing. If it imparts solid and useful instruction, thus 
promoting the industrial interests of the country, it will be produc- 
tive of much good, and the true object of agricultural exhibitions 
will be attained. 

The first knowledge I have of any organization to promote the 
interests of agriculture in this section, was a public meeting called 
in the old court-house, on the i8th of February, 1856, to organize 
the Montour County Agricultural Society. The following officers 
were elected : Thomas R. Hull, presitlent ; vice presidents, Philip 
F. Maus, Valley; C. Garretson, Danville; Robert Patterson, Lib- 
erty ; P. Wagner, Limestone ; D. Wilson, Anthony ; E. Haas, Derry; 
J. Sheep, West Hemlock; G. Shick, Mayberry ; William McNinch, 
Cooper; Jacob Sechler, Sr., Mahoning. Secretary, James McCor- 
mick ; corresponding secretary, Dr. C. H. Frick ; librarian, B. K. 
Rhodes and treasurer, D. M. Boyd. The board of msnagers were 
John Best, George Smith, Jjimes G. McKee, James McMahan, Jr., 
A. B. Curamings, Jacob Sheep, A. F. Russel, Stephen Roberts, 
William Henry. William Yorks, Jacob Cornelison, Edward Morison, 
J. M. Best, Mayberry Gearhart, Joseph Levers, John Hibler, Sam- 
uel D. Alexander, Robert Blee, William Snyder. On motion the 
meeting adjourned to meet at the call of the managers. E. Wilson, 
secretary. 

The fair, in that year was held at the mouth of Mahoning creek, 
and there was a fine display of stock and vegetables as well as me- 
chanical and art productions. The annual fair was subsequently 
held at VVashingtonville. In the course of time, however some dif- 
ference arose between the town and a portion of the country. The 
result was a split and the organization of another society, known as 
the Northern Montour Agricultural Society. The headquarters of 
the latter is at Washingtonville, where the annual fairs are held. 
The Montour County Agricultural Society holds its meetings and 
fairs in Danville. This society purchased a piece of ground, from 
Waterman & Beaver, on the Mausdale road. It has been fenced 
and a good track has been made. The exhibitions are very credit- 
able ; but it cannot be denied, that the general interest in these in- 
stitutions has been on the decline for some years. 



2i8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

DcLTLvtlle JEToLzse. 

This is a large brick building on the corner of Market and Ferry 
streets. In 1848 it was first opened as a hotel by John Deen, Jr., 
and he kept it until 1861. Mr. Deen was quite a popularr " host," 
and built up an extensive patronage. George W. Freeze then left 
the "Pennsylvania" and took the Danville House, and in 1863 he 
was succeeded by Charles Savage. Then came Wolf & Wilhelm in 
1865. It was next kept for a brief period by John Whitman who 
was followed by Heim & Snyder. The next in order was Charles 
Wilhelm, then it was Wilhelm tv: Brother, the brother being Fred- 
erick Wilhelm, who was drowned accidently, with his little son, 
while washing a carriage in the river. Wilhelm & Brother also 
kept a livery stable in connection with the hotel. The house is now 
and has been unoccupied for some time. The cause is found in the 
fact that it is out of the direct current of trade and travel. The fre- 
quent changes of proprietors has also operated against it. It is a 
large and comfortable house, with every convenience that could be 
desired in a country town. 

2^tcTLCLel ScLTLcLe-rs. 

Michael Sanders was long and favorably known to the people of 
Danville, and held many positions of public trust, all of which he 
filled with honesty and fidelity. On the ist of November, 1872, he 
met a terrible death. On that fatal night his residence, in the Sec- 
ond Ward of Danville caught fire from a coal oil lamp, and was totally 
consumed. He was tax collector at that time, and ventured into the 
burning building to save the money and papers belonging to the public. 
The floor gave way, he went down in the crash and never returned 
alive. Over-powered by the flames he sacrificed his life in fidelity to 
a public trust. He was seventy-two years of age. Michael Sanders 
was a good man, a christian by practice as well a profession. 

Twertty-JiT^e JTectrs A. go. 

Twenty-five years ago, I pitched my tent in Danville. Some were 
stormy and some were wasted years. They are gone beyond the 
reach of human redemption. And yet this theater of many of my 
personal misfortunes, is still more like home to me than any other 



MT. LEBANON. 219 



spot in all the wide world. Here I have ever found friends, warm- 
hearted and true, whose hearts and whose hands were never closed 
against me. And if I have many sins to be forgiven during those 
long eventful years, I can only plead my ceaseless devotion to the 
welfare of Danville and the prosperity of its people. And now as I 
look back from this waymark, I gaze in wonder on the changes that 
have passed over it in the last quarter of a century. Great iron 
manufactories have grown greater, while others sprang up into ac- 
tive life. New industries in the various departments of trade, arose 
and joined the onward march of progress. New elements of ad- 
vancing civilization have come to improve society and to bless its 
people. Prominent men in the front ranks of business or profes- 
sional life, have fallen by the way, some in the prime of life and 
others like the leaves of autumn. What a mighty roll the dead of 
twenty-five years presents, as we recall the names of those we knew 
so full of life and hope, and who now so quietly sleep with the dead. 
Yonder stern and busy man, intent on gain, and on whom the marks 
of time are seen, was a careless, rollicking schoolboy, twenty-five 
years ago. That stately matron passing down Mill street, was then 
a joyous, merry school-girl, whose sunny smile and sparkling eyes 
marked life's golden period, when cares are unknown, when the 
the stern, cold realities of life, to her were but the roseate dream of 
a bright and cloudless future. Yes, change is written on all things 
around us, and on nothing more indellibly than on ourselves. 

Within the last twenty-five years gas was introduced, costly water 
works were built, railroads and iron works have been multiplied, 
the asylum, the opera-house, seven large churches, three model 
school-houses, a new court-house and many palatial residences have 
been erected. Danville, then but a country village, now presents 
the solid and elegant proportions of an inland city. 

Ji£t. LebcLJiOTL. 

Mt. Lebanon is the title I have given to the beautiful knoll and 
palatial residence built by the Grove Brothers a few years ago. Mt. 
Lebanon, where the tall cedars grow, no less luxuriantly than those 
that made the beams of the temple. Crowned with the magnificent 
mansion, and overlooking the town of Danville, it is one of the 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



most charming places ever read or dreamed of, in the annals of his- 
tory or romance. The enclosure surrounded by an impenetrable 
hedge, contains many broad acres, and is dotted all over with the 
rarest shrubbery, gardens and flowers, intersected with pleasant 
walks and carriage ways. The mansion occupying the summit of 
the knoll, commands a panoramic view of the river, the town and 
the hills that gird it roundabout. It is of massive though artistic' 
proportions, and is furnished with all the appliances that can min- 
ister to the comfort and enjoyment of its occupants. Its architec- 
tural beauty and picturesque location on the summit of Mt. Leb- 
anon, has attracted the admiring gaze of thousands as they have 
passed on the iron rail ; and we can almost imagine the tales and 
the poetry of future bards, who centuries hence, may delve amid its 
ruins, or with reverence view the stately pile, and out of the dim 
and misty past, weave in song the "legends of forgotten lore " of 
mouldering castles, and of those whose footfalls once echoed through 
its sounding corridors 'and lofty halls. But we do not intend to 
".steal their thunder," so we shall close by advising all who may 
visit Danville, especially in the summer time, to take a view of Mt. 
Lebanon ; and if they admire the beauty of art and nature in har- 
mony combined, they will share the pleasure we have enjoyed. 

TKe. Oil ^^ro^-?cs. 

The Danville Oil Refinery is located on the canal betweeen Church 
and Ferry streets in the Third ward. It was established -in 1865 by 
John G. Hiler and Charles L. Sholes. The capacity was about 
thirty barrels a week, but the works have since been much enlarged 
and improved. After conducting the oil refinery for about two 
years, they sold the establishment to WiUiam T. Ramsey and Charles 
W. Eckman. They sold to Dennis Bright and he to Messrs. Baily. 
Mr. Crane was also concerned in the works for some time. At 
present the firm is S. Baily & Co. The capaity of the Danville Oil 
Refinery is about three hundred barrels a month. Messrs. S. Baily 
& Co., are practical men and scrupulously guard the safety of con- 
sumers by carefully testing all their burning oils. These works have 
been a great convenience to the place, and aid very materially in 
swelling the growing volume of business in Danville. 



TEL E GRAPHLVG. 



Late in 1 880, the Danville Oil Works, were purchased by the Stand- 
ard Oil Company. 

SozztJh DciTzville 

South Danville, was laid out a few years ago, under the superin- 
tendence of William F. Gearhart, one of the owners of the ground. 
South Danville commences at the southern end of the river bridge 
and follows the continuation of Mill street, to the brow of the hill and 
down the river to the boundary of Riverside. For beauty and for 
value in a business point of view, South Danville is not excelled in 
any quarter, from the head-waters of the Susquehanna to the Chesa- 
peake bay. It occupies the plane of a gentle slope, from the south- 
ern eminence, down to the river bank, and is admirably adapted to 
fruit culture, as well as the whirl and stir of active business, thus com- 
bining every advantage that could be desired. The station, passen- 
ger and freight, of the Danville and Hazelton railroad are in South 
Danville. There is a fifty foot street on each side of the railroad, 
and the lots are laid out on each side, in regular order. Many pleas- 
ant homes adorned with beauty and taste, have been planted in South 
Danville. Its educational facilties and its local government are all 
that could be desired. A charming location like this, with its prox- 
imity to the town of Danville, invites the citizen of taste and culture, 
and "many of its pleasant sites are filling up as business places or su- 
burban homes. Mainly to the enterprise of William F. Gearhart, 
we owe the town of South Danville, and the success that marks its 
progress. 

Teleg rcLp lui rtg . 

The first telegraph office in Danville was opened in the spring of 
1850 by the " Susquehanna, North and West Branch Telegraph 
Company." The line commenced at Hazleton, where it connected 
with the Philadelphia and Wilkes-Barre line. The new line was run 
across the mountain to Berwick, then down the river to Espy, 
Bloomsburg and Danville. From this place it continued down to 
Northumberland and up the West Branch to Lock Haven and from 
there to Bellefonte, thus connecting us with all the world. The 
Danville office was in the second story of the Montgomery buikUng, 
over M. C. Grier's, now J. W. Philip's drug-store, and George B. 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Ayers was the first operator. The first regular message over the 
wire was in April, 1850; and it was a remarkable coincidence that 
two events of so much importance to Danville came in one flash of 
lightning. The one event was the fact of our telegraphic commu- 
nication, and the other was the news contained in the dispatch; 
namely that the Legislature had finally passed the bill creating Mon- 
tour county. The dispatch was from Valentine Best then in the 
Senate, to his brother Alexander, then postmaster at Danville. When 
the dispatch was handed to the postmaster, he read it carefully, then 
looked up with doubt and surprise, exclaiming, " Why that's not 
Valentine's writing," and handed it back to the messenger. 

Doctor Goel of Philadelphia, was the leading spirit in the estab- 
lishment of the telegraph in this place. M. C. Grier was also prom- 
inently connected with the enterprise. Some years later the office 
was in Grier's drug-store and R. M. Cathcart was the operator, later 
still, it was George M. Gearhart. The "Western Union" subse- 
quently established an office in Conkling's book-store. It was af- 
terwards in Allabach's jewelry store. The operator was latterly Wil- 
liam John Arms. The Reading Railroad Company also planted an 
office on Mill street, in the room occupied by George G. Reed's store, 
then the Reading express office in charge of C. N. Kight. The ope- 
rator was R. M. Pegg. These are now united in the express office 
in Torrence's building where Mr. Kight has the Reading express of- 
fice, and William J. Arms is the operator. The railroad companies 
also have each a telegraph office at their several depots. Mr. Van Bus- 
kirk is the operator at the Lackawanna, Mr. Faust at the Catawissa 
and he is also assisted by Mr. Matchin and Mr. Campbell. At the 
D. H. & W. station in South Danville, Mr. John K. Kinter is the 
operator. The American Union Company has just erected a new 
line and located an office in Reed's store. Miss E. Shaw is the ope- 
rator. 

JDctrLvzlle FousncLry. 

The Danville iron foundry was built by Daniel DeLong, in 1872. 
It is located in East Danville near the Lackawanna railroad. The 
building is 56 by 84 feet and is covered with a slate roof. Its ca- 
pacity is a casting of seven tons at one heat. It is solidly built and 



TRINITY M. E. CHURCH. 223 



with its blacksmith and pattern shops is one of the most complete 
iron establishments in Danville. 

Trtntty J^l. E. CnixrcK. 

This is one of the latest additions to the church edifices of Dan- 
ville. The necessity for its building grew out of the large and grow- 
ing congregation in St. Paul's, and an actual want of room. A 
sort of mission was first established north of the canal, which was 
the nucleus of the new congregation. The mission was placed in 
charge of Rev. McCord and soon preparations were made for the 
erection of a new church building. A lot was purchased of Michael 
Walize, on the corner of Ferry and Center streets, immediately op- 
poste the new Catholic church, and the building was commenced. 
M. S. Ridgway, Captain Lovett and others, not members of the 
church, took an active part and contributed liberally in rearing the 
church. Thomas Beaver was the largest contributor. His contri- 
bution was counted by thousands of dollars. As the financial 
troubles of the country came with the stoppage of the iron works 
and consequent M'ant of employment, the congregation was unable 
to meet the heavy debt ; which the continuance of good times would 
have enabled them to meet, and their beautiful house, costing nearly 
thirty thousand dollars was sold by the sheriff for an unpaid balance 
of eight thousand dollars. It was bought by Thomas Beaver at that 
figure. Afterwards Rev. I. H. Torrence, thought it to be his duty 
to bear a part of the burden, and purchased one half interest of Mr. 
Beaver. Next Mr. Thomas Beaver donated his half ($4,000) to the 
church ; but Rev. Torrence being unable to do so, held his ($4,000) 
against it ; freely offering the same at cost to the church. In the 
mean time the church was occupied as usual by the congregation. 
Subsequently to bring matters into definite shape the church was 
again sold and Rev. Torrence became the owner in fee simple. Rev. 
Torrence gives the congregation the use of the church and has offered 
to transfer it to the congregation on the payment of his net claim. 

It is a large brick edifice built in modern style. The inside ap- 
pointments are unexceptionable. The audience chamber, with its 
tasty arrangements and stained glass, produces a grand effect. 
There is nothing gaudy or showy, and yet its adornments are ad- 
mirable. The pulpit and surroundings are of walnut, finely finished. 



\ 



224 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The seats are of the same material and are arranged in a semi-circu- 
lar form, thus every auditor faces the pulpit. In addition to the 
auditorium there is also a spacious basement, well ordered and com- 
fortable. This is used for lectures, prayer meetings and Sabbath 
school. There is also a church parlor, well furnished and carpeted, 
designed for social meetings. It also has a kitchen attached, with 
cooking apparatus for the use of festivals and similar gatherings. 
In fact this beautiful structure contains every desirable accommoda- 
tion and modern convenience. We venture to say that there is not 
a church in Danville, so handsome or so well arranged for comfort 
and convenience as Trinity M. E. church. The property is valued 
at $30,000. 

Rev. McCord was the first pastor of Trinity church. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Van Fossen, who abandoned the ministry and 
studied law, afterwards removing to Colorado. Rev. J. P. Moore, 
was next appointed to Trinity church. Rev. Moore was an eloquent 
speaker, a true christian, a wise counselor and a steadfast friend. 
He was followed by Rev. Stephenson and he by Rev. Strawinski, the 
present pastor. 

CUy Hotel. 

The ground occupied by the City hotel was purchased by Joseph 
Cornelison about 1820, and in 1830 he erected the house he called 
the "White Swan." ]\Iany will remember the oval sign in front, 
with the picture of a bird that bore a strong resemblance to a goose. 
The name of the artist is lost and so is the swan on the oval sign. 
Here too the post-office was kept for a time. Joseph Cornelison 
conducted the White Swan hotel, until his death which occurred in 
1852. His son, Jacob Cornelison. then became proprietor of the 
White Swan and kept it until his death in 1865. It was afterwards 
kept by William Smith and others until 1870, when Adam Geringer 
purchased the property. In 1872 Mr. Geringer moved the White 
Swan building to the rear where it remains in modest, though not 
useless retirement. In that year Mr. Geringer erected the present 
hotel. The design was by C. S. Wetzel ; but many arrangements, 
additions and conveniences were by the proprietor himself. The 
building is of brick 41 feet on Mill street and 80 feet on Penn street. 



DOCTOR R. S. S/M/XCTON. 225 

It is tliree stories high above a spacious and well-ventilated base- 
ment, in which the bar and restaurant are kept. This department 
is superintended by John K. Geringer. The house contains a large 
number of sleeping chambers nicely furnished and well ventilated. 
The dining-room is eighty feet in length with every modern con- 
venience for a large number of guests. The office, sample-rooms, 
gents' parlor and other apartments are all arranged in the most con- 
venient order. The ladies' parlor is on the second floor front, with 
a neat and pleasant balcony extending over the main entrance. In 
a word, the City hotel, located in a central part of the town, near 
the opera-house and the principal business houses ; presents in all 
its departments, a convenient, cheerful and pleasant home to all its 
guests. John K. Geringer assisted by Charles S. Geringer usually 
presides at the office, and the proprietor personally supervises every 
depa-tment, looking after the comfort of every guest that comes 
under his roof. First-class accommodations, reasonable rates and 
careful attention, have given the City hotel a reputation second to 
none. The excellence of its cuisine and its inviting table are known 
and appreciated. In a word the City hotel, in its location, ap- 
pointments and its management is all that could be desired, and 
merits the extensive patronage it receives. 

^Doctor <n. S. StmiTigLoii. 

Doctor R. S. Simington came to Danville in 1854, a new fledged 
M. D., and has been remarkably successful in his profession. Some 
years ago he built a comfortable residence in a very pleasant loca- 
tion on the public square at the north-west corner of Market and 
Ferry streets, where he still resides. He was surgeon of the Ninety- 
third regiment Pennsylvania volunteers, during the war, and served 
with distinction. His skillful treatment and watchful care of the 
soldier boys, not only won their confidence, but their lasting friend- 
ship. Nor were his sterling qualities and professional services limited 
to his own regiment ; but othersalso were often heard to say, as they 
were carried to the rear when wounded, "Take me to that sandy 
whiskered doctor, of the Ninety-third." At the close of the war he 
returned to Danville and resumed his extensive practice, in which 
he is still engaged. 
15 



22b HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

In 1866 Doctor Simington was elected and served as burgess of 
Danville. He was afterwards elected associate judge in the court of 
Montour county by a very flattering vote, and after serving five 
years he was re-elected to the judgeship by a decided majority. He 
is yet in the prime of life and is making a life record alike useful and 
honorable. 

J^rorrLtnent Cttzzens. 

Under this head, reference is made to some of the prominent men 
of to-day. . But comparatively few could be mentioned in a work like 
this ; enough only to give distant readers, or the future inhabitants 
some idea of Danville, professionally or in a business point of view, 
as it is in the beginning of 1881. 

Doctor I Piirsel came from Northumberland county some years 
ago and has since practiced his profession with marked success. The 
judgement of the community assigns him a place in the front rank of 
an excellent corps of physicians. 

Doctor James D. Strawbridge, one of our most prominent phy- 
sicians was a surgeon in the United States army during the civil 
war and reached the highest point of honor in being made surgeon 
of a corps. He was captured by the confederates and for some 
time was a prisoner of war in the city of Richmond. A little epi- 
sode during his service in the army, was his contest with General 
McClernand, in which the haughty general came off second best. 
It occurred in this wise : Doctor Strawbridge in his solicitude for 
the sick and wounded on one occasion, chose a neighboring mansion 
as an hospital, which General McClernand also chose for his own head- 
quarters. The contest almost resulted in blows, so fierce and determ- 
ined were they for the possession of the mansion, the one in behalf of 
the sick and suffering soldiers and the other for his own selfish grati- 
fication. Enough that Doctor Strawbridge gained the point and ' ' held 
the fort," notwithstanding the bluster of the doughty general. 

After the war Doctor Strawbridge was elected and served in the 
Congress of the United States, and has since resumed his extensive 
practice, his main forte being surgery, in which he has won a high 
reputation and is frequently called to distant places to perform im- 
portant surgical operations. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS. ' 227 

Charles S. Wetzel is emphatically the architect in this region, and 
has designed many of the most elegant buildings in the central por- 
tion of the State. At home, the opera house, the Grove mansion, 
the palatial residences of the Baldy's on Market street, as well as 
many others attest his taste and skill. Mr. Wetzel came from Levv- 
isburg to Uanville some years ago. 

William J. Thomas is the leading painter and paper-hanger in 
Danville. Many public and private buildings both here and else- 
where attest his skill and taste in the decorative art. 

Emanuel Peters affords an example of what patient industry will 
do. Honest, persevering, faithful and industrious, he has worked 
his way steadily up to what is known as "comfortable circumstan- 
ces." I knew him when he carried his stock in trade on a push 
cart ; now he keeps an establishment on Mill street, drives a spank- 
ing team and don't call the King his cousin. 

Rev. Irvin H. Torrence resides on a farm on the opposite side of 
the river ; but is so closely identified with Danville folks and Dan- 
ville interests, that our local history would be incomplete without 
at least a brief mention. He v^, and has for a number of years been 
secretary of the Pennsylvania Bible Society, an appointment made 
by the several churches of the State and sanctioned by his own 
church ; a responsible position for which no man in the connection 
is more eminently qualified in all respects. He is progressive in his 
nature and somewhat aggressive in his life-work. He would just as 
soon preach on the canal bridge as in the Cathedral at Milan, pro- 
vided a Methodist preacher could be heard in that magnificent pile. 
Rev. Torrence is a ready speaker, lias a fine address, has traveled 
through Europe and is a good scholar in the science of human na- 
ture. 

G. M. Shoop, (senior of the firm of G. M. Shoop cSc Son,) one of 
the substantial men of Danville, is an extensive manufacturer and 
dealer in lumber, Pennsylvania and West Virginia oak, car lumber, 
walnut, hickory, ash, and poplar. Mr. Shoop is an enterprising 
business man, whose active aid is freely given in every good work. 
Though an earnest and influential politician he has never been an 
office-seeker, and with the exception of postmaster has held none, 
preferring the pursuits of private citizenship. 



228 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Benjamin G. IVelsh, is one of the live men ot Danville. Though 
at present residing in Riverside, his business movements have been 
mainly in Danville for a number of years. He has been promi- 
nently connected with the manufacture of iron, and is now agitating 
the project of a street railway. In past years he bore a full share in 
pushing forward the business interests of Danville ; but latterly he 
has directed his e/forts to the improvement of Riverside. He is a 
man of enterprise, who has done much for the moral as well as the 
material advancement of Riverside, and who will yet more substan- 
tially make his impression, on the future of Danville. He is -a local 
preacher in the Methodist connection, and is yet in the prime of life. 

R. H. Woo/ley is the most extensive dealer in coal, in this place. 
He is sales agent for Cunningham & Co.'s, Wilkes-Barre coal, and 
disposes of immense quantities of the "black diamonds," in supply 
ing a large and increasing demand. His office is on Mill street, op- 
posite the opera-house where the clerks, J. W. Sheriff and M. M. 
Rhodes are always busy receiving orders and keeping the records of 
the office. Sometime ago they had a square block of coal, origi- 
nally weighing several tons, in front of the office ; but one night a 
gang of drunken Goths or Vandals, imagining themselves to be " coal 
breakers" under a full head of steam ; tilted it over breaking it into 
all sizes from lump to lime-burners' coal. But the business goes on 
all the same. 

Doctor George J. Graiiel, a thorough scholar and a leading phy- 
sician of Danville, was born May 25, 1825, in Felda, Electorate of 
Fessia, now a province of Prussia. He passed through the common 
schools of his native place and entered the Gymnasium in 1836. 
Passed his abiturient in 1845 ; studied in the Universities of Stras- 
burg, Gottingen and Werzburg ; graduating in medicine at Gottin- 
gen in 1848. In 1853 he came to America; subsequently gradua- 
ting at the Medical College of New York. He then practiced med- 
icine two years in the city of New York, after which he practiced 
for seven years in Lehigh county. Pa,, and in 1862 came to Dan- 
ville, where his learning and high credentials at once gave him a 
leading position, which he continues to hold. 

Daniel Ramsey came to Danville in September, 1832, and took 
charge of the steam mill. This was a substantial mill built of stone 
in 1825, and was burnt some years ago. Mr. Ramsey was a prac- 



BAPTIST CHURCH. 229 



tical miller and conducted that establishment with universal satis- 
faction, until 1852. At the end of twenty years he embarked in 
merchandising in his own brick building where he now resides, 
pleasantly enjoying the evening of his days. 

Ned JBuniiine, the nom de plume of E. Z. Judson, who has gained 
some notoriety as a writer, lecturer and hunter in the wilds of 
America, spent his boyhood and school-going days in Danville. 

George F. Geisinger has been identified with the iron interest 
for a number of years, and continues to be one of the prominent 
and active lousiness men of Danville. 

Alfred Creveling is one of our most enterprising citizens. Build- 
ing iron works and operating them even in the season of depression, 
he persevered and now is at the head of the Glendower Iron Works. 
He came from Columbia county and this place is much indebted to 
him for his capital and his energy in building up the town, up to 
wards its business capabilities. 

T. O. Van Alen has long been identified with the business in- 
terests of Danville. With the first development of the iron manu- 
facture in this place, he was actively connected, and aided materially 
in its permanent and successful establishment. He is now conduct- 
ing a nail factory at Northumberland which he built some years ago. 
It is a notable fact that Mr. Van Alen kept the factory in operation 
through all the late money depression that silenced so many manu- 
factories in every department of industry. 

Bcipttst C7xLzrc7i. 

The Baptist church of Danville, was organized on the 13th of No- 
vember, 1842. The meetings were held in the court-house for about 
a year subsequent to the organization, during which period, a frame 
church was built on Pine street, not far from the river. It was dedi- 
cated on the 5th of January, 1844. In 1863 it was removed to give 
place to the new brick church, which is a large and elegant building. 
As near as can be ascertained the pastors in their regular order of 
service, were Reverends J. S. Miller, W. T. Bunker, John H. Wor- 
rall, A. D. Nichols, Ira Foster, O. L. Hall, A. B. Still, T Jones, 
G. W. Scott, I. C. Winn, John S. Miller, the second time, J. John 
Mostyn, J. E. Bradley, and now Rev. Mr. Sweet. 



k 



230 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Jacob Reed, during his life-time was the leading man in the Bap- 
tist church, financially and religiously. 

The. CoTixpcLTxy Store. 

This institution has long been known as " The Company Store," 
even through all the years when it was owned by Waterman & Bea- 
ver it was called " The Company Store," all the same. It is an im- 
mense concern. The building one hundred and seventy-five feet in 
depth, with ninety feet front and is full of goods from the cellar to 
the attic. The capital invested ranges from fifty to one hundred 
thousand dollars. It is now owned by the " Montour Iron and Steel 
Company," and is superintended by William K. HoUoway who has 
at present twenty-four clerks in the store. Under the former regime 
has had as many as forty clerks, all busy as bees in a clover field. 
The annual sales now amount to $250,000, under the proprietorship 
of Messrs. Waterman & Beaver the annual sales were as high as 
1^500,000. The immense sales and the manifold departments it in- 
cludes, require the most complete system and exact management for 
the successful go^^ernment of the establishment. I may remark here, 
that the large sales are not due to the men employed at the iron 
works, so far as their trade is controlled, either expressed or implied 
by their employers. They are perfectly free to deal wherever inter- 
est or inclination may lead them. But prices being as low as at any 
other store in town, giving the purchaser a much greater variety from 
which to make a selection, the result is, that the cash sales to those 
who have no connection with the iron works, are very large. The 
store opens at 7, a. m., and closes at 7, p. m. 

The merchant tailoring and clothing department is in charge of 
Thomas W. Scott, a "boss cutter," from John Wanamaker's estab- 
ishment in Philadelphia. The chief book-keeper is Jacob C. Miller : 
and Harry J. Crossly has charge of current accounts. Samuel H. 
Boyer is at the head of the dry goods department and Samuel Ross 
of the grocery ; Joel Hinckley of the hardware and Jasper B. Gear- 
hart of the provision department. John Ricketts is chief among the 
boots and shoes. 

. The efficiency of William K; HoUoway, the superintendent, his 
wonderful executive ability and his fidelity to a great trust, are best 



NATIONAL IRON FOUNDRY. sjr 

attested by his retention for twenty years, by all the parties who 
have owned the establishment during that period. He was only one 
year at the counter when he was promoted to time-keeper and super- 
intendent of accounts. Next he rose to cashier which he held for 
twelve years. For the last three years he has had charge of the store, 
as superintendent, which position he occupies at the present time. 

Joel Hinckley, always at his post, has had charge of his depart- 
ment for twenty-one years. This tells its own story. Samuel H. 
Boyer in charge of the dry-goods department, and Samuel Ross in 
the grocery division, have also occupied positions in the store for a 
number of years, and have made a good record in their respective 
roles. Webster Rhoads officiates in the notion department. Harry 
J. Crossly is a very popular clerk, although his position brings him 
in more direct contact with the employees. Jasper B. Gearhart deals 
mainly with the farmers and producers, and seems to enjoy their 
confidence while he guards the interest of the store with jealous 
care. Among the clerks are Charles E. Swartz, Lewis Rodenhafer, 
F. P. Murray, John Gibson and others, all of whom are experts or 
they would not be there. 

JSTcLttoTLCLl Iroru FovLrhdj^y . 

This foundry, near the Columbia furnaces, was originally built 
by Peter Baldy, Sr., about 1839, and was first operated by Belson, 
Williams & Gardley. For some cause they failed and it passed into 
the hands of O'Connor & Rice. They also failed and R. C. Russel 
took charge of the work. After a brief period of time he sold to 
Hancock & Carr, who soon transferred it to John Hibler. The 
several parties named conducted the establishment for twenty-five 
years. In 1854 Samuel Huber, who had acted as foreman in the 
Eagle foundry for a number of years, leased the National iron foun- 
dry and operated it until 1859, when it was totally destroyed by 
fire. In the spring of the same year he had taken Samuel Boudman 
into partnership, and who after the fire abandoned the enterprise. 
But Mr. S. Huber, with the energy and spirit that has always char- 
acterized him, bought the ground of Mr. Baldy, rebuilt the foundry 
more complete than it had been before and again embarked in the 
business, successfully conducting it alone, until the ist of April, 
1868, when his son, J. S. Huber, became a partner under the firm 



23^ HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

of S. Huber & Son. They carried on the business with entire sat- 
isfaction until the 19th of January, 1877, when C. C. Huber, 
another son, was taken into the firm, when it became S. Huber & 
Sons. Subsequently W. H. Huber, the third son, was also added 
to the firm, and so it remains to the present time. 

Some years ago Mr. S. Huber. tlie senior of the firm, turned his 
attention to the construction of an improved plow, in which he was 
completely successful. His invention was patented and the Huber 
plow, made at this foundry, is now a popular favorite over a wide 
region of country. Hundreds have gone far and near and still the 
demand is increasing. It is the province of the historian to note the 
facts and especially those that relate to the productive industry of 
the locality, without pausing to inquire into the relative merits of 
the invention. Stoves and a great variety of castings are also made 
at this foundry. 

Could I do so, without seeming flattery, or the danger of tran- 
scending my limits, I would like to add a commendatory word in 
relation to the members of this firm. As citizens, neighbors, friends 
and business men, they are always reliable. With S. Huber, the 
father, and J. S. Huber, the eldest son, I am best acquainted, and I 
take pleasure in bearing this testimony to them, as honest men and 
true Christians. They have each erected a handsome residence on 
Mulberry, one of the most beautiful streets of Danville. These 
homes are surrounded with all the charms that rural taste can add to 
the enjoyment of life. About three years ago, Mrs. J. S. Huber 
opened the "Shoe Bazar," on Mill street, especially for ladies, 
misses and children, which has become, and in fact it at once be- 
came, one of the prominent business establishments of Danville. 

RcLzZvocLds. 

Danville is well provided with railroads. There are no less than 
three running in every direction and connecting at all points with 
the great iron checker work reaching every nook and corner of the 
country. The first lailroad built through the town of Danville was 
the 

Catawissa, now a branch of the Reading railroad, and strange to 
say it was laid with rails manufactured in England. So much for 
low wages in England and low tariff in America. The location of 



RAILROADS. 233 



this road, to those who are acquainted with the topography of the 
country presents something of a curiosity. The natural course would 
seem to cross the river at Catawissa, then down the North Branch 
and pass through this place from a point near (lulick Grove, up 
Mahoning creek to Mansda'le. Wliy it was bent up to Rupert can 
only be accounted for on the supposition that it was to accommo- 
date the people of Bloomsburg. It is said that it was done mainly 
through the influence of Hon. Charles R. Buckalew. This location 
has placed the Danville depot on the hill above the town, though 
that (luarter has since been pretty well built up. In fact railroads 
should have their freight depots outside of town. The Catawissa 
railroad was put in operation in 1853, and it is a remarkable fact, 
that during the twenty-seven years it has been operated, doing a 
heavy freight and passenger business, carrying hundreds and thou- 
sands over its lofty bridges and through the wild mountani gorges O'l 
its tortuous track, not a single passenger has ever been killed on the 
Catawissa railroad. This speaks volumes in favor of its manage- 
ment ; and this high honor is shared alike by its superintendents, 
conductors, engineers, brakemen, telegraphers and all its employees. 
I was best acquainted with Superintendent Nichols. He was a man 
of much e.\ecutive ability and was a Imirably adapted to his respon- 
sible position. Mr. Ellis, the agent at this place is spoken of in the 
highest terms, for his fidelity, his urbanity and the watchful care he 
bestows on every department of his responsible duties. 

The telegraphic operator and others connected with the station, 
also share the public commendation. The depot building is a nuis- 
ance. 

The Lackawanna and Bloomsburg, or Del. L. a;' IV. — This rail- 
road extends from Northumberland to Scranton, a distance of eighty 
miles. The depot at Danville is an improvement on that of the 
Catawissa railroad at this place still it is considerably short of what 
it should be. The ladies' parlor especially, looks too much like a 
bar-room in a country tavern. I have seen the ladies' room, at towns 
much smaller than Danville, carpeted, furnished with mirrors and 
elegant sofas, that contrast strangely with the bare floor and wooden 
benches provided for the ladies at this place. But suppose we must 
wait our time. This defect however, is made up by the courteous 
treatment and ever watchful care of those in charge. A. Mont. 



\ 



234 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Gearhart, is tlie agent and dispatcher in charge of the station at 
Danville ; and if there is a more faithful officer or one more obliging 
to the public, I have not found him in my travels. His assistant, Mr. 
Van Buskirk is also worthy of the place. The same can be said of 
all the gentlemanly attaches of this station. There are four through 
passenger trains every day and a heavy freight is carried over this 
road, chiefly coal, iron rails, pig-iron and ore. In 1856 a strong 
effort was made by some of our citizens to have the link of this road 
between Rupert and Northumberland constructed ; but it was not 
built until a few years subsequent to that period. But if our people 
finally contributed as much to the desired extension, as they exacted 
for the right of way, is a question. The Lackawanna and Blooms- 
burg railroad, now the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western, was 
our second railroad, and marked an important era, in the history of 
our town. As it took its passengers on the first down train at Dan- 
ville, and approached Northumberland, the hind- wheels of the last 
stage-coach, disappeared as it slowly pulled in Kapp's yard there to 
rot in the sun and to bounce over the highway, nevermore. 

Danville, Hazleton or' Wilkes-barre Railroad. — This is the latest 
addition to the railroads of Danville. It is now operated by the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad Company and extends from Sunbury to Tom- 
hicken, a distance of fil'ty-four miles. This is one of the most im- 
portant railroads in tlie country, as it forms a link in a direct line from 
New York to the great West. Tne completion of the Lehigh and 
Eastern will complete the chain, from San Francisco to Boston. For 
the construction of this road we are indebted to S. P. Kase. Through 
his indomitable energy, and against all obstacles thrown in liis way 
that interest or malice could invent, he persevered and its completion 
is a proud triumph of his enterprising and daring spirit. 

The depot of this road is in South Danville. It is quite a respecta- 
ble building, and Mr. J. B. Kinter, the agent is a gentleman much 
respected, not only for his faithfulness to the interests intrusted to 
him but for his qualities as a man. His attention to the public his 
accommodating spirit and his known integrity have made him hosts 
of friends. 



GLENDOWER IRON WORKS. 235 

TDoctop 'WtlLicLrri IT. J\£cLgtii. 

• 
Dr. Will. H. Magill came to Danville in 181 7 and has, up to a 
recent period been the leading physician of this place, as well as in 
the surrounding country. He has now retired from the active duties 
of his profession. He married a daughter of Gen. Daniel Montgom- 
ery, and they both now enjoy a calm and serene old age in their 
pleasant home on Market street. They will be long and gratefully 
remembered not only on account of their devotion to religion ; but 
for their steadfast practice of its benign principles. Not only on 
account of professional skill, but for that unostentatious charity that 
makes it doubly blessed. Obedient to the prompting of humanity, 
they ever responded to the calls of want and distress, with a senti- 
ment of liberality, that includes all within its wide embrace. Many 
in this community will bless their names when they are gone — bless 
them for their active sympathy, and keep their memory fresh and 
green. Weak and sinful as human nature is, few are so depraved as 
to forget those who ministered to them in the hour of need. 

GrZeixcLowei^ Iron Worlzs. 

The ground occupied by the old Rough and Ready rolling-mill 
was originally intended for a nail factory. A building for that pur- 
pose had been partially erected and then abandoned. For years the 
roof on a frame-like stilts, without sidiiig, stood idle and useless. It 
seemed as if some genius had begun at the top to build downwards 
and had never reached the foundation. 

In 1847 William Hancock and John Foley changed it into a roll- 
ing-mill for the manufacture of merchant iron. The enterprise was 
rather unpromising until 1850 when they converted it into a rail 
mill. Then their prosperity began. After eight years of remark- 
able success, Mr. Foley retired and Mr. Hancock became sole pro- 
prietor. This was in 1858. Mr. Foley soon after left for Europe. 
Sometime during the war and after the return of Mr. Foley from 
Europe, he again became a partner with Mr. Hancock. In 1 866 Mr. 
Foley again sold his interest to Mr. Hancock and moved to Balti- 
more where he died some years ago. 

The first of the Danville Furnaces was built in 1870 by Hancock & 



23(> HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Creveling. The second and larger furnace was subsequently erected. 
These furnaces ware superintended by George W. Miles, a skillful 
and successful manager. The capacity of the Danville Furnaces is 
15,000 tons per annum. 

In 1867 the National Iron Company was formed, superseding the 
Rough and Ready. Of this company William Hancock was presi- 
dent at first and afterwards William Painter; P. C. Brink was vice- 
president and Benjamin G. Welch was secretary, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager. 

This organization continued until 1871, when the Danville Fur- 
naces were purchased. The new rolling-mill had been erected in 
1870. George W. Miles continued the superintendence of the fur- 
naces under the National Iron Company. John G. Hiler was man- 
ager at the new rolling-mill, and Joseph H. Springer at the old Rough 
and Ready rail-mill. In 1873 owing to large expenditures and heavy 
losses, the company was compelled to go into bankruptcy. After 
the works had lain idle some time they were purchased by the heirs 
of William Hancock, deceased, in 1874, under a mortgage sale ; upon 
which the Hancock Iron and Steel Company was organized. ] Joe- 
tor J. D. Gosh was chosen president and B. G. Welch, secretary, 
treasurer and general manager. This company existed only about 
six months, when the works were again idle until 1877, when they 
were leased by A. Creveling who operated them until June, 1879, 
when A. Creveling and George W. Miles purchased the works — the 
old Rough and Ready property, John Roach purchasing the part 
lying north of the canal. A. Creveling and George W. Miles then 
organized the Glendower Iron Works, with A. Creveling, president ; 
H. Levis, treasurer and George W. Miles, secretary and general 
manager. They have kept the works in successful operation to the 
present time. The capacity of the works is 20,000 tons. 

On the 10th of October, 1879, Creveling, Miles, and H. Levis 
bought Chulasky furnace three miles down the river, under the firm 
of Creveling, Miles, & Co., (limited.) They put Chulasky furnace 
in blast on the 6th of November, 1879, ^"^^ ^^ ^^'^ been in success- 
ful blast up to present time. Mr. Roach moved the new mill to 
Chester. 



LOCAL GOVERNMENT, 237 

JjOcclZ GrOvemrrLent. 

By an act of the State Legislature, Danville was organized as a 
borough on the seventh day of February, 1849. The act creating 
the cor])oration was signed by Governor Wm. F. Johnston. 

The first burgess was Dr. Wm. H. Magill. The first town council, 
composed of five members, was as follows: George S. vSanders, 
George Bassett, Valentine Best, Frank E. Rouch and E. H. Baldy. 
The first council meeting was held in the office of E. H. Baldy, Esq., 
and the first business transacted was the election of E. H. Baldy, 
Esq., as clerk of the council. Edward Young was chosen the first 
street commissioner at a salary of twenty dollars a year. Thomas 
Jameson was the first constable. The officers and members of the 
council were duly sworn by William Kitchen, Esq. On the 2 2d of 
May, in that year, the first dog tax was levied in the borough of Dan- 
ville. Some of the citizens could not see the justice of the act. and 
there were remonstrances and considerable complaint on the part of 
those who had several dogs on hand. In the same year, the bill of 
Edward Young, street commissioner, for laborers employed on the 
streets, amounted to $11,59 A'^]^, which was accepted and paid. 
The Friendship Fire Company represented to the council tliat the 
hose was old and rotten, and requested seven hundred feet of new 
hose, which was ordered. 

A contract was also made with James F. Deen for an engine cap- 
able of supplying the Friendship Hose Company. The price was to 
be $800. It was constructed and ordered to be given in charge of 
the company. At this period, the fire apparatus came under the 
general direction of the borough. 

On the 24th of December, 1849, the council passed a resolution 
making application to the State Legislature for the erection of a new 
county, to be called Montour, with the county seat at Danville. It 
was also resolved to furnish the new county with necessary build- 
ings. The new county was granted in 1851, and the borough of 
Danville well and truly redeemed every promise it made. 

Of the members and council during the first year of the borough, 
a note may be proper. The burgess. Dr. Wm. H. Magill, still re- 
sides here. 

Edward Young, the first street commissioner, is still a resident of 



238 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Danville. He has also been burgess and filled a variety of public 
offices with great satisfaction to the people. His popularity attests 
his worth as a man and as a citizen. Thomas Jameson, the first high 
constable, is dead. He was for years one of the most active and en- 
terprising citizens of Danville, and joined in many public improve- 
ments. He left a reputation for honesty, united with a large degree 
of liberality and goodness of heart. He had a keen appreciation of 
wit, and could enjoy or perpetrate a joke with equal pleasure. He 
was burgess in 1852. Wm. Kitchen, Esq., by whom these first offi- 
cers were sworn, is also dead. 

On the 29th of March, 1850, a new council was organized, though 
not all new members, several having been re-elected. Dr. Wm. H. 
Magill was re-chosen as burgess and Valentine Best as a member of 
the council. The new members were Dr. Isaac Hughes, George B. 
Brown, Thomas Woods and William Morgan. Valentine Best was 
chosen clerk, and M. C. Grier was elected treasurer. 

The meetings of the council at this time were held in the office of 
Valentine Best. Edward Young was the tax collector for 1850. 

On the 4th of April, 1851, the council met for organization. At 
the previous March election Thomas Chalfant had been chosen bur- 
gess, and the following were returned and took their seats as mem- 
bers of the council : James F. Deen, John Rockafeller, J. C. Rhodes 
and A. F. Russel. William Clark was appointed high constable, 
and B. W. Wapples, street commissioner. He built the first canal 
bridge on Ferry street. 

In the Spring of 1852, Thomas Jameson was elected burgess, with 
the following council: George S. Sanders, John Deen, Jr., G. W. 
Boyer, and George W. Bryan. The latter was chosen clerk. In 
this year Sydney S. Easton filled up Northumberland street, which 
was an improvement or no small magnitude. 

In 1853, Joseph D. Hahn was elected burgess. The council were 
Daniel Ramsey, P. Hofer, David Jones and James Gaskins. William 
G. Gaskins was chosen clerk. 

Robert Moore was chosen burgess in the spring of 1854. The 
council were John Deen, Jr., John Turner, William Hancock, James 
G. Maxwell and Robert McCoy. 

In 1855, William Henrie, of the Union Hall hotel, was elected 
burgess. The council were Smith B. Thompson, David Jones, Isaiah 



LOCAL GOVERNMENT. 239 



S. Thornton, Frank E. Rouch and Isaac Ammerman. In this year 
the borough limits were greatly enlarged and particularly defined, 
including, as it now does within its boundary, 996 acres. A census 
was also ordered by the council, under which the inhabitants were 
enumerated, and the same was reported at the close of the year. 
Population, 5,427. 

In 1856, David Clark was elected burgess. The council con- 
sisted of Jacob Sechler, John Best, John Arms, William Mowrer, and 
Paul Leidy, Esq. 

Jacob Seidel was chosen burgess in 1857, with the following coun- 
cil : Jacob Sechler, Charles Leighow, Joseph R. Philips, Samuel 
Hamor and John Patton. 

In 1858, Dr. Clarence H. Frick, was elected burgess. The coun- 
cil that year was composed of William Mowrer, David Jones, Gideon 
Boyer, George S. Sanders, and Frederick Lammers. 

Christian Laubach was chosen burgess in the spring of 1859, with 
the following council : D. N. Kownover, Joseph Diehl, B. K. Vas- 
tine, D. M. Boyd and William Cook. 

In i860, J. C. Rhodes was made burgess. The council were 
William Cook, W. G. Patton, B. K. Vastine, Emanuel Houpt and 
Michael C. Grier. 

E. C. Voris was burgess in 1861 ; the members of the council 
were Reuben Voris, David James, Joseph Flanegan, William Mor- 
gan and D. M. Boyd. 

In the year 1862, Isaac Rank was chosen burgess, with the follow- 
ing council : Jacob Aten, William Mowrer, Charles W. Childs, David 
Grove and James L. Riehl. 

B. K, Vastine was made burgess in the spring of 1863. Council 
— James L. Riehl, William Twist, William Lewis, John G. Hiler 
and John Rockafeller. 

In 1864, E. W. Conkling became burgess. Council — James L. 
Riehl, John G. Hiler, Joseph Diehl, C. Laubach and William Lewis. 

In 1865, John G. Thompson was chosen burgess, and the follow- 
ing were the council : Henry Harris, Dan Morgan, D. DeLong, 
William Henrie and Jacob Aten. 

Doctor R. S. Simington was elected burgess in 1866, and the coun- 
cil were Dan Morgan, Francis Naylor, D. DeLong, William Henrie 
and Charles H. Waters. 



240 HISTOHY OF DANVILLE. 

1111867, George Basse tt was made burgess. Previous to the elec- 
tion, the borough had been divided into four wards, the First, Sec- 
ond, Third and Fourth. Before that time there had been two wards 
— the South and the North — with five members of council, each 
elected for one year. The change provided for four wards and 
twelve councilmen, three from each ward to serve for the first year, 
one third of them to serve one year, one third two years and the other 
three years ; and also providing for the election of one councilman 
each year from each ward. Under the law, the following council 
was elected for 1867 : James Cornelison, John A. Winner, C. W. 
Childs, William Henrie, David Clark, James Kelly, Samuel Lewis, 
M. D. L. Sechler, Joseph Sechler, Thompson Foster, John G. 
Thompson and E. Thompson. 

In 1868, Robert McCoy was chosen burgess, and the following 
four new members of council elected to take the place of the four 
who had been elected for one year, viz : James L. Riehl, C. S. Books, 
Geo. W. Reay and David Grove. 

In 1869, A. J. Ammerman was elected burgess, and the new mem- 
bers of council were Wm. Henrie, J. S. Vastine, John R. Lunger 
and Franklin Boyer. 

D. S. Bloom was burgess in 1870 ; the new members of council — 
Wm. Buckley, Hickman Frame, M. D. L. Sechler and Samuel Lewis. 

Thomas Maxwell was elected burgess in 1871, with new council- 
men as follows : H. M. Schoch, G. W. Miles, George Lovett and 
Jacob Sweisfort. 

The burgess in 1872 was Oscar Ephlin, and the new members of 
council, elected or re-elected, Geo. W. Reay, Henry Vincent, Jacob 
Schuster and J. L. Riehl. 

Edward Young was chosen burgess in 1873 ! councilmen, new or 
re elected, Wm. Buckley, N. Hofer, Joseph W. Keely and Thomas 
Coxey. 

In 1874, J. R. Philips was elected burgess; new councilmen — 
Jas. Vandling, Jas. Auld, W. D. Williams and David Clark. 

Charles Kaufman was chosen burgess in 1875, and the new mem- 
bers of council were M. D. L. Sechler, Wm. T. Ramsey, J. R. Philips 
and J. W. Von Nieda. 

In 1876, the Centennial year, Henry M. Schoch was elected bur- 
gess; new councilmen — J. D. Williams, David RucKle, Wm. K. 



DANVILLE IRON WORKS. 241 

Holloway and Wm. R. Williams. Isaac Ammerman was elected at 
a special election to fill the vacancy occasioned by the resignation 
of James Auld, who had been chosen county commissioner. 

In 1877, Wm. C. Walker was chosen burgess. New councilmen — 
David Clark, C. A. Heath, A. B. Patton, and John A. Wands. 

James Foster was chosen burgess in 1878; new councilmen — J. 
W. Keely, Stephen Johnson, Jas. Welsh and Thompson Foster. 

1879, Jas. Foster, burgess; new councilmen — William Angle i 
year; P. Johnson 3 years, and S. Trumbower, Jacob Goldsmith, H. 
B. Strickland and Lewis Rodenhofer i year. 

1880, Joseph Hunter, burgess; new councilmen, Wm. Angle, 
Wm. Keiner, Hugh Pursel, Nicholas Hofer. 

1 88 1, Joseph Hunter re-elected burgess ; new councilmen — A. G. 
Voris, — P. Keefer, Henry L. Gross, Jas. Welsh. 

William G. Gaskins was clerk to the council for twenty years and 
was succeeded by Capt. George Lovett in 1874. In 1879 J. Sweis- 
fort was chosen clerk and he was succeeded by Charles M. Zuber, 
the present clerk. Among the street commissioners in the last de- 
cade were Emanuel Peters, Daniel McClow, William C. Walker, 
Oliver Lenhart and Mr. Faux. The street commissioner is also ex 
officio, collector of the market tax, and presumedly a sort of inspector 
of that institution. 

The council is generally selected very judiciously and consequently 
enjoys the public confidence, as the citizens feel assured that in view 
of a common interest that body will move cautiously and economise 
where that virtue can be exercised with mutual advantage. The 
council of 1880 is especially regarded as an able and judicious body. 

DcLTwtlle TroTh TVorJ^s. 

This was a rolling-mill built by William Faux some ten years ago, 
on Church street near the canal. Several other parties were at dif- 
ferent times concerned in its operation. In 1877 Mr. Faux moved 
all the machinery to Pueblo, Colorado, on twenty-eight railroad cars, 
where he operated it for a time and then moved it to Denver. This 
establishment was familiarly known as "Cock Robin." Being re- 
quested to write something for the Pueblo Chieftain, published in 
that place, I sent them the following: 
16 



242 HISTOR Y OF D ANVIL L E. 

A Twilight Reverie. 

We miss the Danville Rolling-Mill, 

We miss its cheerful glow 
Upon that arid plain where nought 

But iron seem'd to grow. 

We miss its bugle call, so shrill, 

It seem'd to shake the ground ; 
Old Montour and Mnemoloton 

Echoing back the sound. 

We miss its coips of workingmen 

Of muscle and of brain, 
Who wrought the rails from molten ore, 

Xor fear'd the fiery rain. 

'Mid all the storms of panic years 

It moved on brave and bold, 
While Faux so nobly cheer'd them on, 

And paid them all in gold. 

Silent, sad and desolate now 

The scene so bright and fair. 
Like ruins old, of castle gray. 

In silence mold'ring there. 

So pass away the things of Time — 

They pass beyond our ken. 
So pass away on noiseless wing 

The fleeting lives of men. 

Yes, time itself must yield at last. 

For years like men must die. 
And with the cent'ries grim and old 

In dust of ages lie. 

But we may hope those works again, 

Will rise in all their pride, 
And prosper more, in years to come, 

By fair Pueblo's side. 

DCLTLVille GrCLS COTTLpCLTcy. 

The Danville Gas Company was organized in 1858 under a charter 
granted by the Legislature of Pennsylvania. A contract was made 
with Dr. Danowsky of Allentown, for the erection of the works. In 
the autumn of that year gas was first introduced in Danville. The 



DAN MORGAN. 243 



works are located on East Market street. About seven miles of pipe 
are laid ; but owing to some misunderstanding, or on account of the 
price, gas has not been used by the borough for a number of years. 
The stock is nearly all owned by H. P. Baldy, who acts as president, 
secretary, treasurer, and board of directors. 

Coil rvtij Officers for 1 38 1 . 

The officers of Montour county at the present time are as follows : 

President Judge of the Court — Hon. William Elwell. 

Associate Judges — Hon. R. S. Simington and Hon. Thomas But- 
ler. 

Prothonotary and Clerk of the Court — W. M. Gearhart. 

Sheriff — Jacob Shelhart. 

District Attorney — L. K. Mowrer. 

Court Crier — Samuel Blue. 

Register and Recorder — William C. Johnston. 

County Treasurer — George VV. Peifer. 

County Surveyor — George W. West. 

Justices of the Peace — First ward, John W. Miles ; Second ward, 
j. F. Gulick ; Third ward, J. P. Bare; Fourth ward, J. R. Philips. 

Simon Krebs came to Danville from Tamaquasome years ago and 
engaged in the wholesale liquor trade. He has been one of the 
active, enterprising men of this locality. In 1872 he took the con- 
tract for laying ten miles of iron pipe for the new water works, for 
$87,500, which he completed according to contract. He afterwards 
became a partner in running the Danville Furnaces. Mr. Krebs also 
built a handsome residence on Mahoning street and has contributed 
a full share in building up the town and advancing its general wel- 
fare. 

^ari J\d.'orgiirt,. 

Dan Morgan came to Danville about 1851 and at once took a 
leading position among the iron manufacturers of this region ; that 
position he has maintained for thirty years. He has during all those 
years successfully managed the large blast furnaces of the Montour 
Works, and in addition, for a time ^Iso, superintended the Chulasky 



244 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

furnace, three miles down the river. From 1868 to 1874 be held 
an interest in the iron works as stated in the history of that concern. 
Mr. Morgan is a thorough master of the business, understanding the 
composition and the nature of iron in all its combinations ; thus 
qualifying him for its production. Mr. Morgan has taken rank 
among those on whom fortune has bestowed hei favors. Thought- 
ful, liberal and helpful, he both enjoys and dispenses the blessings 
of life. He built a pleasant and commodious residence on Bloom 
street, where he now resides. 

Capt. Samuel Hibler, one of those who from this place responded 
to the call for volunteers in the time of peril, nobly performed his 
duty as a loyal soldier of the Union. He was in the 7th Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry and operated mainly in Kentucky and other Southern 
States. His company presented him with a splendid sword as a 
token of regard ; and finally he was placed in command of his regi- 
ment and led the gallant Seventh in some of their bloodiest battles. 
His brother John recruited a company and was also a brave soldier 
fighting the battles of his country, and finally yielded up his life for 
the cause. There are some sad circumstances connected with his 
death. Enough that he died the death of a hero, amid the horrors 
of the rebel prison at Andersonville. 

CcLj)t. George Lovett. 

Among the bravest of the brave who joined the Union army in 
the civil war was Capt. George Lovett. An ardent patriot and with 
an intelligent appreciation of the great issue involved in the struggle, 
he was ever ready to hazard his life for the cause of right — to vmdi- 
cate the honor of the old flag and to save the heritage of the Ameri- 
can people. He first enlisted as a private soldier in the " Danville 
Fencibles," in 1862. This company was attached to the i32d regi- 
ment, P. V. At the battle of Antietam, Lovett was wounded by a 
minnie ball, but he kept his post while the blood streamed over his 
face, until the day was won. On the expiration of his term of en- 
listment, he re-enlisted in the 187th reginient and was promoted to 
the office of captain. In this regiment he led his company through 
all the battles of the Wilderness in Gen. Grant's memorable campaign 
of 1864. Capt Lovett was in the battles at Petersburg, Fort Hill 



JACOB SECHLER. 245 



and the Welden Railroad. At Fort Hill be was severely wounded in 
the left arm, by which he was disabled for a time, and from which he 
still suffers ; however he returned to his post where he remained vmtil 
the close of the war. He was also injured in the hands by the pre- 
mature discharge of a cannon in firing a salute on an occasion of 
public rejoicing. Capt. Lovett is now superintendent of labor at 
the Montour Iron and Steel Company's Works, and wherever his lot 
may be cast, his services in the time of trial will always entitle him 
to the consideration of the public. 

Danville contains the usual secret societies and benevolent institu- 
tions, the "Free Masons," "Odd Fellows," "Knights of Pythias," 
"Red Men," "Druids," "American Mechanics," "Sons of Amer- 
ica, " and ' ' Free Sons of Israel. ' ' There is also a post of the ' ' Grand 
Army of the Republic," designated "Goodrich Post, No. 22." It 
is named for Sergeant Goodrich, a brave soldier of Danville who was 
killed in the civil war. 

J'cLcoh Sechler. 

Jacob Sechler was the son of John Sechler, who bought the tract 
of land, south-east in the Montgomery purchase, and partly included 
in the borough of Danville. John Sechler was one of the early set- 
tlers of this place, and his son Jacob, the subject of this notice, was 
born here on the 9th of October, 1790. He served in the "Dan- 
ville Blues" in the last war with England, and was the last survivor 
of that patriotic company. But, whether in war or peace, Jacob 
Sechler made an honorable record in life. He was noted, through 
all his long and useful career, t'or all the sterling qualities that marked 
the noble band of pioneers, and through all the changing scenes of 
almost a century he maintained an honorable reputation down to 
the close of life. He left a number of sons, who are among the 
active and influential citizens of to-day; evidencing in their lives 
that they inherited the industry and the honesty that marked the old 
pioneer. Jacob Sechler di^d the calm and peaceful death of the 
christian, on the 26th day of December, 1880, aged ninety-two years 
and two months. 

" So dies a wave alonir the shore.'' 



^■/6 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

G-Teat ^Dcty. 

One of the great popular demonstrations in Danville, was the last 
rally of the Republicans on the eve of Lincoln's second election. It 
was on Saturday, the 5th of November, 1864. 

The procession was arranged and conducted by Chief Marshal — 
Lieut. Dennis Bright. Assistant Marshals — W. E. C. Coxe, William 
Aten, O. H. Ostrander, Lieut. E. W. Roderick, Dr. George Yeo- 
mans, Stephen A. Johnson, Maj. Charles Eckman, Lieut. M. Rosen- 
stein. 

The magnificence of the immense cavalcade, the numerous ban- 
ners, flags and tasteful decorations, with the martial strains of Stoes' 
silver cornet band and Sechler's brass band, gave the demonstration 
a brilliancy unsurpassed by any other, in the annals of Danville. 

The most gorgeous spectacle in the magnificent pageant was the 
triumphal car, containing a charming representative of the Goddess 
of Liberty, and a lady, in full costume, representing each State of 
the Union. The Goddess of Liberty was robed in the National col- 
ors. Her head was adorned with a brilliant tiara — she bore a staff 
surmounted with a liberty cap, and occupied an elevated position on 
the car. She acted her part with peculiar grace, eliciting the univer- 
sal admiration of the thousands that witnessed the inspiring scene. 

The ladies representing the States were tastefully adorned in red, 
white and blue — dresses white, sashes red and caps blue, ornamented 
with a star, and surmounted with a beautiful white plume, tipped with 
red. Each lady wore a badge across the breast, upon which was 
printed the respective State she represented. They each bore a small 
flag, and they were seated in a triumphal car, decorated with ever- 
greens in the most artistic manner, while the goddess occupied the 
center of the group, elevated on a pedestal. Messrs. Derr and Von 
Neida acted as ensigns. This was truly the chef d'' ceuore of the great 
occasion, and on their route elicited the heartiest cheers, waving of 
handkerchiefs, flags and every other token of delight. 

And while the storms of hail and driving snow deterred many from 
participating in the ceremonies of the day, it not only proved the 
patriotism, but gave a character of heroism to the ladies as they braved 
the storm and waved their starry flags amid the falling snow. 



GREAT DAY. 247 

\ 

The following is the list of ladies, with the State each represented : 

Goddess of Liberty : 
Miss Lou. Hill. 

Pennsylvania — MoUie Magill. 

New York — Emma Butler. 

Ohio — Malissa Brown. 

Indiana — Clara Rockafeller. 

Illinois — Ella Painter. 

Wisconsin — Lydia Housel. 

Iowa — Lillie Cook. 

Maine — Clara Beaver. 

New Hampshire — Clara Faux. 

Vermont — Kate Carey. 

Connecticut — Libbie Critz. 

Massachusetts — Mary Gulick. 

Texas — Mollie J. Waples. 

North Carolina — Emma A. Laubach. 

South Carolina — Libbie Rank. 

Georgia — Gussie Pratt. 

Louisiana — Fanny Bordner. 

Kentucky — Emma Woods. 

Tennessee — Ruth Basset. 

Maryland — Alice Rockafeller. 

Alabama — Martha B. Laubach. 

Missouri — M. W. Beaver. 

Virginia — Libbie Faux. 

California — Mary Gibbs. 

Mississippi — Malinda Cleaver. 

Florida — Laura Flanegan. i 

Rhode Island — Aggie Easton. 

Michigan — Abbie Bright. 

Oregon — Emma Sechler. 

Delaware — Ada Pratt. 

New Jersey — Ella Heath. 

West Virginia — Alice Wilson. 

Nevada — Mary Brobst. 

Minnesota — Annie M. Hefler. 



2^8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Arkansas — Harriet Garrett. 
Kansas — Mary Bealand. 

Territories. 

Nebraska — Hannah Eger. 
Colorado — Mary Lovett. 
Washington — Mary A. Thomas. 
Dacotah — Enintia A. Brower. 

Equestriennes. 

Another attractive feature in tlie procession was the ladies on horse- 
back. 

Miss Pitner was dressed in red, Miss Jennie Koons in white and 
Mrs. D. Gearhart in blue. 

Miss Mary Appleman, Miss Mary Pursel and Miss Lucy Everett- 
all skillful riders — occupied a prominent place in the cavalade. 

The procession was one of great length— composed of carriages 
and wagons, filled with voters as weil as ladies. The wagons were 
handsomely decorated with wreaths, flags and banners. 

The Speeches. 
When the procession arrived on the grounds, the meeting was or- 
ganized with the following officers : 

President : 
Thomas Beaver, Esq. 

Vice Presidents : 

William Hancock, Charles C. Baldy, 

Isaac Rank, Rev. John Cook, 

John Grove, Joseph Diehl, 

John Titley, W. H. Hassenplug, 

• G. M. Shoop, Dan Morgan, 

Rev. Mr. Barnitz, Samuel Ware, 

William Twist, Charles Hock, 

Dr. WiUiam H. Magill, Phihp Maus, 

George A. Frick, Cornelius Styer, 

Thompson Foster, And others. 



RANDOM NOTES. 249 



Secretaries : 

William Lewis, L. O. VanAlcn. 

The addresses delivered by Hon. William H. Armstrong and 
Clinton Lloyd, Esq., of Lycoming, were eloquent. 

Mr. Lloyd is one of the most effective speakers in the State. 

Mr. Armstrong is known as a man of marked ability, and his ad- 
dress was one of great power, and was delivered amid the plaudits 
of the vast assemblage. 

In the evening many buildings were illuminated and tastefully deco- 
rated. Fireworks added to the l^rilliancy of the scene and the enthu- 
siasm was unbounded. Thus ended one of the memorable days in 
the annals of Danville. The Democrats also had a brilliant demon- 
stration in that campaign ; but I can fmd no record of particulars, or 
I would take pleasure in transcribing them for this page. 

EiixcLnu,el JEvcvngel.iacLZ CJixzvcTl. 

Sometime after i860, a Rev. Mr. Stokes established a mission in 
Danville, in connection with the Evangelical church. He preached 
for some time in Thompson's Hall. He was succeeded by Rev. Davis 
in gathering a modest membership with a view to the organization 
of a congregation, and the erection of a church building. Accord- 
ingly a neat frame church was built on Front street, in 1869. Rev. 
Davis was succeeded by Rev. Detwiler and he by Rev. Buck. Rev. 
Raidebaugh next took charge of the congregation. After him came 
Rev. Orwig, then Rev. Raidebaugh the second time. He was fol- 
lowed by Rev. Hunter and he by Rev. Hornberger the present pastor. 

Rev. Raidebaugh with whom I am best acquainted, is an active 
worker, and in addition to his ministerial labors, published a small 
weekly paper called " The Temperance Star," which had a wide cir- 
culation. 

'RcLrhd.oTn JVotes. 

The Hospital for the Insane at Danville was partially consumed 
by fire on the night of March 5, 1881. Every effort was made to 
save the building and the hundreds of inmates. All the patients ' 
were saved and about one third of the building. Preparations are 
making for rebuilding ; in the mean time a portion of the patients 



250 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

remain in the uninjured part of the Hospital, and another portion fs 
in the Hospital at Warren. 

The lower portion or Western extension of Danville, is facetiously 
called " Swampoodle." Why it is thus designated is a mystery as 
the place is innocent of any swamp and is one of the most delight- 
ful locations in the town ; affording a charming view of the river, 
South Danville, Riverside, the railroads on either side of the Susque- 
hanna, the canal, Montour Ridge and the cultivated grounds between 
the river and Mahoning' creek. It is a pleasant place and should be 
known as West Danville or West End. 

Among the older inhabitants of this place was John Faust. He 
bought a tract of land on the Eastern border of Danville, being a 
part of Gen. Daniel Montgomery's tract, and a portion of which is 
included in the borough. Mr. Faust married a Miss Bickley of 
Reading, and first built a small house and a distillery. He after- 
warcis built the large brick house that stands near the upper end of 
Market street. He died at a good old age some years ago, and many 
of his descendants still remain in Danville. 

Dan Cameron, a somewhat eccentric, old time resident of Dan- 
ville, was a great pedestrian and if living now would doubtless strip 
the belt from some of the noted walkists of the present day. Dan 
Cameron walked from Harrisburg to Danville in a day and considered 
it a small achievement. 

Samuel Gulick owned a farm in the eastern part of Danville ; which 
had been a portion of the Daniel Montgomery tract and adjoining 
the farm of John Faust. A large part of this farm with a portion of 
the Faust farm, now constitutes what is known as " Gulick's addition 
to the borough of Danville." Two of his sons, John F. and Charles 
still reside on the place, Samuel having bought a farm adjoining Riv- 
erside, now resides over the river. Samuel Gulick, Sr., died a few 
years ago, leaving a handsome property, as well as the record of an 
honest life, as the heritage of his children. 

A beautiful memorial window, in memory of J. D. Gosh, M. D., 
deceased, has been placed in Trinity Lutheran church by his mother. 

Mr. Vanann is master mechanic antl general superintendent of 
the machine shops at the Montour Iron and Steel Works. Mr. 
Leighow is millwright and has been for years past. E. C. Yoris and 
P. J. Adams have been the longest continuous attachees of these 



PROGRESSING. 251 



works, extending over a periotl of nearly forty years. Frank Nay 
lor was long the roll-turner. He died in March, 18S1. He was an 
excellent mechanic and a good man in every sense of the word. E. 
O. Ridgway is boss roller. His experience here, in Ohio, Colorado 
and San Francisco has made him master of the iron business. James 
A. Gibson is also a roller worthy of note. J. R. Philips at the head 
of the heating department is the right man in the right place. He 
is also a justice of the peace and an active citizen. John R. Lun- 
ger takes his place at night and John Marks that of Ridgway. They 
both stand deservedly high. In a word these works, from Mr. 
Howe, the general manager, to the least in authority, are conducted 
by an excellent corps of superintendents, clerks and attachees. 

M. D. Lafayette Sechler, grandson of John Sechler, one of the 
old settlers of Danville, still resides in the old homestead within the 
borough limits. There he was born about the time of Gen. Lafay- 
ette's triumphal visit to America and for him he was named. There 
he has always lived and in our local affairs contributed a full share 
as an officer and as a citizen. 

They have torn down the Episcopal church built in 1828, prepara- 
tory to the erection of a more elegant structure. For this purpose 
P. Baldy, Sr., left in his last will the sum of fifty thousand dollars. 
The new church is designed to be a magnificent building. 

^rog Tess t ng , 

It is certainly very cheering to see our goodly town waking up 
and shaking off the dust of inaction and the rust of fogyism. It is 
seemingly just realizing the importance of its manifold local advant- 
ages. And though respectable fossils may be unwillingly disturbed ; 
yet the reward will come alike to all. On every hand, and in a mul- 
titude of enterprises, both old and new, we see the evidences of new 
life and spirit among our people. We see it in the growth of busi- 
ness establishments — in the enlargement of the old and the building 
of the new. There seems to be a wholesome energy and vigor among 
our people unknown before, save by a few. But if our town has 
not been quite as rapid in its advancement as some others, it has been 
more substantial. True its valuable resources were for years meas- 
urably unimproved, but it was for want of public spirit, and not for 
want of natural advantages. 



252 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

The day is dawning upon us, when our young men need not seek 
other localities to find the aids that Danville has failed to afford. 
We have, it is true, a number of young men of our place who are 
now out in the world, manfully fighting the battles of life, and who 
occupy an honorable position in communities they have chosen, but 
in order to move " upward and onward," we can not deny they were 
compelled to leave the old home. Heretofore, a young man reared 
in Danville, unless specially favored, was forced to join his fortune 
with those who were further advanced. Now, with a few of the older 
citizens they are manifesting themselves in our midst. They seem 
to see the superior advantages of building up and improving their own 
locality. Their influence is seen and felt in every public enterprise 
springing up around us, and in every movement that tends towards 
our local prosperity. We see it in our manufactories and increased 
facilities of transportation. We see it in our prosperous railroads — 
in the building up of Riverside and South Danville — in the Opera 
House, and in the elegant residences that begin to adorn our streets. 
We see it in our contemplated public improvements, and ni the m- 
dividual enterprise manifested on every hand. Danville is evidently 
waking up to her true interests and to her importance as one of the 
great business centers of the State. And who will say that the time 
may not come when our vast deposits of iron, coal and limestone, 
with the increasing energy of our people, will make Danville all it 
ought to be in view of its natural advantages. 

To the enterprising capitalist, the skilled mechanic and the man 
of enterprise in any department of labor adapted to our place, there 
is no better and no richer field than that which Danville affords at 
the present time. It presents superior advantages to the western 
towns of which we hear so much — towns that sometimes grow up as 
if by magic, and crumble away for want of a solid basis. Here we 
have the material and the means of transportation at hand to every 
market in the country ; and as our mineral resources are inexhaust- 
ible, our progress will be permanent and substantial. 

Tlxe jMaxLs JTcnrhili/. 

Philip Mau3 a native of Prussia, was born in 1731. He came to 
Philadelphia in 1741, when only ten years of age. In 1750 he left 
school and was apprenticed to a stocking weaver. In due course of 



CASTE. 253 

time he entered business on his own account and was married, when 
about twenty-five years of age to Frances Heap. Being prosperous 
in business he became wealthy; but expended nearly all his wealth 
in the cause of the country during the Revolutionary war. He had 
purchased some lands on the Mahoning creek adjoining Montgomery's 
purchase, and came to this place in 1772. Gen. William Montgomery, 
his brother Daniel and four others were then the only settlers in what 
is now Danville. After the Indian troubles, Mr. Maus and his fam- 
ily moved to Mahoning. He was one of Nature's noblemen, and 
when provision failed in the infant settlement, Philip Maus bought 
many barrels of flour and also 200 bushels of wheat, had it hauled 
to this place and distributed among the destitute. In 1800 he built 
the stone mill at Mausdale, which is now successfully managed by 
his great-grandson P. ¥.. Maus. After a long and useful life, Philip 
Maus, the old pioneer, died April 27, 1815. He was succeeded by 
his son Joseph who also died at a rips old age, a few years ago. 
Philip F. Maus his son, now resides in the old homestead, and is 
bordering on threescore and ten. Charles, Jackson and David Maus, 
a branch of the old stock, are now among the active and influential 
men of the county. I close this brief note with the remark that the 
Maus family has done much for this place and deserves honorable 
mention among the pioneers of the past and the worthy men of the 
present. 

Caste. 

GeneraHy speaking, the people of Danville in their social aspect 
are like those of other manufacturing towns of Pennsylvania. Like 
others, they manifest a variety of degrees in the scale. This is a 
necessary result of intellectual culture and of moral practice, and is 
right and proper. Social distinctions are an absolute condition of 
civilized society, advanced beyond its pioneer state. But, unfortu- 
nately, there is another rule of caste no less imperious that is creep- 
ing into the social fabric of Danville. This is a law founded on 
false and pernicious principles, naturally growing out of the weak- 
ness of human nature. Its influence is alike corrupting to all classes 
of society. It is the assumed superiority founded on wealth or its 
seemmg, or on the foolish pride of family. 'There are those whose 
ancestral blood has perhaps crept through intellectual imbeciles or 



254 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



moral delinquents ever since the flood, who arrogate to themselves 
an air of superiority and practice an exclusiveness, because they 
either acquired or inherited the title to a little more wealth than 
others who excel them in mental culture or in moral principles. 
And it is a remarkable fact, that in conceding this empty claim, the 
world pays but little regard to the means by which wealth is ac- 
quired. Some there are who obtained it through means that are 
universally condemned ; and yet the respect rendered to the posses- 
sion of wealth, and for its sake alone, is scarcely less general. How 
many there are, whose riches alone, give value to their opinions? 
How many can you call to mind whose names have only a mone^^ed 
value and whose counsels have a metallic ring ? How many whose 
judgment is valued according to the houses, lands and bank stock 
they call their own? How many who wield a controlling influence 
in the community, and whose wisdom would turn to foolishness in 
the crucible of poverty? Whilst there seems to be a natural inclina- 
tion to arrogance and presumption on the one hand, there is also 
unfortunately a natural tendency to play the sycophant on the other. 
Degenerated human nature, has never yet and never will abandon 
the worships of the Golden Calf, and by its practice, even in its 
most enlightened condition, still declares "These be thy gods, O 
Israel." 

Distinctions in society, springing from this source, cannot fail to 
corrupt its subjects, to contract the mind, and to dwarf the better 
feelings of the heart. It requires no stretch of thought or profound 
judgment to recognize at a glance, those who have become enervated, 
vain and corrupted through this source. On the other hand the worthy 
poor are discouraged and are liable to estimate themselves as far below 
their proper worth. The weaker, or the more careless, seeing society 
thus constituted, accept the situation as "the course of human 
events" and plunge still further down the scale. Who knows how 
many have yielded to temptations on the ruinous concession of their 
own inferiority, and thus missed the mark of excellence to which 
they might have attained ? Forgetting that "The rank is but the 
guinea's stamp, the man's the gold for all that." 



/RON ORES OF DANVILLE. 255 

TroTi Ores of TJcLJx^^llle- 

The following, in relation to the iron ores of Danville, is from 
Rogers' Geological Report, a work of the highest authority on the 
subject : 

From the Narrows to the gap of Mahoning creek at Danville, the 
length of outcrop of the two ores on the south side of the mountain 
does not exceed about half a mile. That of the hard ore is consid- 
erably the longest, and as the iron sandstone containing it outcrops 
much higher on the ri(dge than the other ore, the quantity of this 
exposed above the water-level exceeds that of the latter many times. 
In this part of the ridge, the average length of the slops or breast of 
the iron sandstone ore, above the water-level alone, is probably 
more than 200 yards; that of the fossiliferous ore is materially less, 
while, for reasons already shown, the depth of breast of the soft and 
partially decomposed ore may not average more than 30 or 40 yards. 
The position of the hard ore, in the vicinity of the gorge of the Ma- 
honing, is shown in our transverse section of the ridge at that place. 
By inspecting the vertical section which I have introduced of the 
iron sandstone formation, analyzed in detail, the reader will perceive 
that while the red sandstone members include two or three excess- 
ively ponderous layers, rich enough in iron to be applicable as iron 
ores, the thickest of these — the only bed, indeed, which is of suffi- 
cient magnitude to be wrought at the present day — accompanies the 
lower bed of sandstone, and has dimensions varying from 14 to 18 
inches. But there is another formation here developed, in which 
beds of iron ore are discoverable. This is the Surgent older or 
lower slate, this stratum possessing in Montour ridge a thickness of 
about 700 feet. Its ore has the form of a very ferruginous sand- 
stone in one or two thin and continuous layers, occupying a horizon, 
near the middle of the formation, between 350 and 400 feet below 
its superior limit. Scarcely any difference is perceptible either in 
aspect or composition between the ore now referred to and that of 
the iron sandstone. It is a sandstone with a large proportion of 
peroxide of iron diffused among the particles, and, like the other 
bed, includes numerous small flat fragments, or pebbles of greenish 
slate, which by their disintegration leave the surfaces of the blocks, 
wherever the weather has had access, pitted with little elongated 



2S(y HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

holes, forming one of the. most distinctive features of these two ores. 
This ore-bed of the lower slate outcrops near the summit of the ridge 
on the east side of the Mahoning Gap at Danville, arching the anti- 
clinal axis at an elevation of about 300 feet above the bed of this 
transverse valley. Traced east and west from the Notch, the over- 
lying slate saddles it, and conceals it from view wherever the mount- 
ain is low and narrow, but wherever the anticlinal rises — or where 
ever, in other words, the wave in the strata increases in breadth and 
height — the ore no longer closes over the axis, but forms two sepa- 
rate lines of outcrop, one on each gentle declivity between the sum- 
mit and the shoulder, formed by the outcrop of the iron sandstone. 
In the vicinity of Danville, the thickness of this layer of ore is not 
such as to make it of much importance, so long as the thicker and 
therefore cheaper beds furnish an ample supply. Judging from the 
fragments at the point of outcrop, I infer its size to be between 6 
and 8 inches. The facility and cost of mining it will of course de- 
pend upon several conditions connected with tjie dip and depth of 
covering, and will vary with each locality. 

Our section of the strata at the Mahoning Gap represents the en- 
tire mass of the mountain as consisting there of the two Surgent 
slates and their included iron sandstone, while the calcareous or ore 
shales, Avith their fossiliferous ore, rest low at the north and south 
base. The upper beds of the Levant white sandstone have not 
been lifted to the level of the bed of the Notch, though their depth 
beneath it cannot be considerable. This proves a sinking of the axis 
from opposite the Narrows to this point; but when the ridge is ex- 
amined still further east, it becomes apparent that between the Ma- 
honing and Hemlock the anticlinal rises and swells again, causing 
the hard ore of the slate to diverge into two outcrops, and the belts 
of the iron sandstone to recede. About half way between those two 
streams is probably the neighborhood in which the section of the 
mountain has its greatest expansion, and the two belts of the iron 
sandstone are furthest asunder. 

Let us now, before advancing any further east, attempt an esti- 
mate of the quantity of iron ore above the water level within a given 
length — say one mile of outcrop — in the vicinity of Danville. 

I shall reject from my present calculation both the ore of the older 
slate and the compact unchanged fossiliferous ore ; the former as 



JRON ORES OF DANVILLE. 2^j 

being too thin and deeply covered to be profitably mined, and the 
latter as too poor in iron, and too calcareous, to be, under existing 
circumstances, adapted to the smelting furnace. 

If we assume the soft fossiliferous ore of this neighborhood to have 
an average thickness of from i6 to i8 inches, which is probably not 
far from the truth, we may consider each sc^uare yard of its surface 
to represent about one ton of weight of ore. Let us now adopt the 
estimate I have already given of the depth to which the ore stratum 
has been converted into this soft ore, and accept 30 yards as the 
limit. F'.ach yard of length along the outcrop will then be equiva- 
lent to 30 tons of the ore, and one mile of outcrop should supply 
about 52,800 tons. This amount, it will be understood, is irrespec- 
tive of elevation above the water-level. Turning now to the hard 
or siliceous ore of the iron sandstone, we shall find one mile of the 
outcrop bed to offer a far more enormous quantity of available ore. 
It is obvious that the whole of the bed is convertible to use, since 
the composition of the ore is such as to make it fit for the furnace 
without it undergoing any solvent action, of which, indeed, it is 
scarcely susceptible. The only limit to the depth to which it may 
be profitably wrought, is the cost of mining it, and since this element 
is materially increased the moment we pass below the water-level of 
the locality, it will be expedient to restrict our present estimate to 
the tiuantity of the ore above this natural line. It has been stated 
that in the vicinity of the Mahoning Gap, the average length of slope 
or breast belonging to the iron sandstone is about 200 yards ; on the 
south side it is somewhat greater, while on the north side it is prob- 
ably as much less. This is equivalent to 200 tons of ore to each 
yard of the outcrop, the ore bed being from 14 to 16 inches thick. 
One mile of length of outcrop will therefore yield 352,000 tons of 
the ore above the water level. All that portion which is in this 
position is therefore nearly seven times as great as the similar part of 
the soft fossiliferous ore. The two ore beds together represent more 
than 400,000 tons in a single mile of outcrop; but as from the anti- 
clinal form of the mountain, there is a double line of outcrop for 
each kind of ore, it is clear that one mile of length of ridge must 
contain, upon the supposition of no deep ravines or notches inter- 
vening, the amazing quantity of 800,000 tons of ore. It is to be 
remarked that in the foregoing statement I exclude the considera- 
17 



2S8 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

tion of the ravines, which interrupt at frequent intervals the general 
line of the outcrop of the strata, and reduce materially the amount 
of ore above the water-level. 

An abatement of one eighth from the quantity as above computed, 
on the supposition of a perfectly continuous outcrop, will probably 
more than compensate for the amount thus lost. With this reduc- 
tion we shall still have, in one mile of the ridge, 700,000 tons of 
good ore. 

The ore estate attached to the Montour Iron Works of Danville, 
embraces, if I have been correctly informed, a total length of out- 
crop of the iron sandstone ore of 2,200 yards, equivalent alone to 
385,000 tons; the whole quantity of the soft fossiliferous ore I esti- 
mate at 45,000 tons; making the entire amount of ore available 
under existing circumstances 430,000 tons. Such is the apparently 
enormous extent of the mineral wealth of this favored locality. 

J^OTLSeTLSe. 

Those who have no taste for nonsense can skip this chapter. It is 
placed here because it is connected with the work, and will tend to 
show the difficulties encountered in gathering the material necessary 
for its completion. 

On visiting an octogenarian, he mistook me for a tax-collector or 
some other unwelcome person. He was very deaf, and on being 
requested to tax his memory in relation to his connection with a 
noted incident, he replied that he didn't owe any " tax." On ex- 
plaining to him that it was about the early settlement of Danville, 
he said he had no "settlement" to make and "wouldn't pay a 
cent." When told it was for a book, he said he never had any such 
book. "Go," said he, "I'm tired of people coming round with 
books and maps and all kinds of humbugs." Sadly I left no wiser 
and no better. Perhaps not quite as good. 

A pleasant old lady was visited next, when the following dialogue 
took place : 

You have lived here a good while ? 

" O, yes, longer as that." 

When did you come to Danville ? 

" It vas de time we moved here from Tulpehocken." 



OLD TOWNS. ^59 



You don't remember the exact period ? 

" O, yes, I mind it goot." 

Do you remember of anything important — anything that hap- 
pened about the time you came, by which we could fix the date ? 

" O yes, it most the time wlien our Johnny vas born." 

Ah, now we have it. How old is Johnny now? 

" He's no olt at all. He's deat." 

Could you tell me when he died ? 

" Yes, It vas about four o'clock in de afternoon." 

I don't mean the hour, I mean the year. 

" Vy it vas in de same year as he vas born." 

I left discouraged, as the old lady with a bland smile kindly said : 
" Come again ven you vant some more dings to set in your book." 

Old. ToiArrts. 

Of old Indian towns and scenery in this vicinity, Mr. Wolfinger 
says : 

Nishmekkachlo . — This town stood on the south side of Montour's 
ridge, and somewhere about midway between our present towns of 
Northumberland and Danville — exact spot unknown to the writer 
of this sketch. I am inclined to think it was the residence of Mana- 
wyhickon, a distinguished Delaware chief who ruled over the Indians 
of these parts before the great Shikeliamy and Sassoonan cliiefsmade 
their appearance at Shohomokin or Shaumoking the old Indian town 
on the present site of Sunbury, since our old writer informs us that 
Manawyhickon lived somewhere on the North Branch, not far from 
Shaumoking. 

Mahoning. — This town stood near the mouth of Mahoning creek, 
on its west side, a little below where the public bridge crosses the 
said creek, and about a mile below the present town of Danville, in 
Montour county. 

Montour ridge, a pretty high and beautifully formed elevation of 
earth, runs northeastward from a point near Northumberland, but 
leaves a nice valley of beautiful land between its base and the North 
Branch of the Susquehanna river. This valley, as we approach Dan- 
ville from Northumberland, gets narrower until it ends in what is 
called "The Narrows" — grounds just wide enough for the public 
road to pass conveniently along the foot of the ridge. It was at the 



26o HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

eastern end of these narrows where the Indian town of Mahoning 
stood. Montour ridge at this point presents to the eye of the be- 
holder a high, bold and imposing appearance, and becomes more 
and more so until just on the north side of Danville it terminates 
very suddenly, with a high, wall-like face, towards the east, and then 
sweeping sharply around it runs north for several miles with the 
same high wall-like face on the west side of the small and narrow, 
but beautiful valley of Mahoning and its creek of the same name. 
Every traveler who visits Danville looks with admiration upon this 
high, bluffy and picturesque termination of Montour ridge and is 
delighted with the rich and beautiful dark green foliage of its thickly 
grown evergreen, pine and spruce trees that crown its top and sides, 
(excepting a cleared or bare spot just north of Danville) and towards 
the close of every sunny day throw a dark, rich shade over the snug 
little valley at its base. Its scenery looks wild and romantic even 
in our day, but must have been far wilder and grander when the 
Indians roamed over the ridge in the pursuit of wild turkeys and deer 
or speared the fish that sported in the waters close by. 

Montour ridge at Danville looks as if Noah's deluge or some other 
great commotion of our earth's waters had burst a passage way 
through the ridge at this point, and so made this valley, for the ridge 
itself quickly reappears again with a sloping but nearly an equally 
elevated face on the east side of Danville, and then runs on the 
eastward to beyond the town of Bloomsburg, in Columbia county, 
where it gradually slopes down and disappears. Mahoning was there- 
fore, a choice spot for an Indian town and a town of more than com- 
mon note among the Indians. 

Toby Town — This town, so called after a large and powerful In- 
dian by the name of Toby, stood on "Toby Run,'' a little above 
the insane asylum, about two miles above Danville. But whether 
it stood on the banks of the Susquehanna river near the mouth of 
Toby run, or on top of the high ridge of earth there along the river, 
I am not able to say. I passed along there in my boyhood days on 
my road to and from Reading, and heard various stories about Toby 
and his town, but can give no satisfactory account of them. 

Classawango — This town stood still further up the river, but on 
the south side, and about half way between Danville and the town 
of Catawissa, but I cannot state where it stood. Who can ? 



DANVILLE INSTITUTE. z6i 

Riverside. 

This beautiful suburban town is one of tlie most delightful places 
in this section of the Slate. It was laid out some ten or twelve 
years ago, mainly on the farm of Mr. Gearhart and Faux's addition. 
The survey was made by O. H. Ojtrander. Lots were rapidly sold 
and many improvements were made. The neatness and taste of the 
dwellings and their surroundings add much to the pleasant appear- 
ance of the location. Already it has a borough organization, its 
churches, school-rooms and all the institutions of a full grown town. 
The charming location of Riverside combines the elements of beauty 
and convenience with a highly favorable place for business. It ad- 
joins South Danville, is convenient to the railroad depot on the D. 
W. & Hazelton railroad, and is surrounded by all that ministers to a 
pleasant home. With the broad Susquehanna river in front, the 
lively town of Danville on the opposite shore and the picturesque 
hills that mark the bold scenery around it. Riverside affords the 
most delightful place for a country residence. No doubt when our 
merchants and other active men of to-day, have made their fortunes 
and retired to enjoy the evening of life, you will find their elegant 
mansions in Riverside or South Danville. 

^CLTi^ville TnstitiLte. 

This was an institution of learning established and conducted by 
J. M. Kelso, A. M., present Principal of the Danville Academy. It 
was located in the Montgomery building, corner of Mill and Bloom 
streets. The " Institute" enjoyed a high reputation for the thorough 
and substantial character of its course of instruction, not only in its 
iuimediate locality; but among the best educators in the country. 
The young men instructed in the Danville Institute, were pronounced 
among the best prepared for a collegiate course of study. 

In June, i86o, occurred the most noted annuc)l examination, occu- 
pying three days. The hall was decorated with laurel and a profu- 
sion of beautiful flowers. A school examination ! what an important 
epoch in the happy period of girlhood or boyhood ! It constitutes 
a sunny waymark to which the weary traveler on the dusty road of 
life will often look back with a bounding heart. How often will 
each one in that happy throng turn back to drink again at the pure 



262 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



fountain of inspiration that gladdened the rosy hour of morning, 
and again to catch the thrill of the merry voices whose echoes will 
float on and on, until the shadows of evening come. Invested with 
peculiar interest were the passing scenes to those whose "school- 
going" days were over. To them it was an eventful period. And 
to them the fair young brow will never grow old, to memory dear, 
no darksome shadow will ever eclipse the light of that sparkling eye, 
nor cloud of sorrow shroud that joyous smile. In the memory of 
each the little scliool companion will linger forever in the form of a 
child. The following classes were under the special instruction of 
the Principal — John M. Kelso, A. M. : 

Natural Philosophy. 

I. 

Emma Woods, 

J. M. Jennison. 

Latin, Third. 

3- 

E. V. Lotier, 

B. F. Cox, 

C. W. Sholes. 

English Grammar, First. 

.S- 

J. M. Jennison, 
G. W. Mowrer, 
B. F. Cox, 
M. D. Brown, 
M. J. Baldy, ' 
C. Gardner. 
Algebra. 
7- 



E. M. Biddle, 
M. D. Brown, 



C. D. Biddle, 
G. W. Mowrer, 



E. M. Biddle, 
C. D. Biddle, 
J. H. Grove, 
J. B. Grier, 
P. H. Grove, 



E. M. Biddle, 
C. D. Biddle, 
G. W. Mowrer, 



A. M. Russell, 
M. Moynehan, 
F. D. Brown, 



M. D. Brown. 
Geography, First. 



A. M. Russell, 



C. D. Biddle, 



DANVILLE INSTITUTE. 



26j 



P. H. Grove, 
R. M. Grove, 
J. H. Grove, 
Augustus Taylor, 
James Frazier, 
Lafayette Unger, 
A. M. Diehl, 
Michael Moynehan, 
E. A. Laubach, 



P. H. Grove, 
J. H. Grove, 



M. J. Baldy, 
Peninah Bright, 
H. Yj. Sechlcr, 
E. J. Curry, 
Elizabeth Rishel, 
Stephen Ridgway, 
C. W. Sholes, 
Andrew Schroth, 
Saiah Ketcham, 



Latin, Seeond. 
17 



J. H. Kase, 
R. M. Grove, 



A. M. Diehl. 
Latin, First. 



J. B. Grier, 



J. M. Jennison. 



Geometry. 
13- 



E. M. Biddle, 








G. W. Mowrer, 




F. 


D. 


Brown. 




University 


' Arithmetic. 






] 


[4. 




J. M. Jennison, 








P. H. Grove, 


J. B. Grier, 








G. W. Mowrer, 


A. M. Russell, 








M. D. Brown, 


J. H. Kase, 








Emma Woods, 


C. D. Biddle, 








Sarah Ketcham, 




F. 


D. 


Brown. 






Reading 








1 


[9. 




A. M. Russell, 








James Frazier, 


C. D. Biddle, 








J. H. Grove, 


P. H. Grove, 








A. Taylor, 


R. M. Grove, 








A. M. Diehl, 



26^ 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



Henry Wirernan, 
E. Kaufman, 
E. A. Laubach, 
M. M. Grier, 
H. E. Sechler, 
C. Gardner, 
P. Bright, 
E. J. Curry, 



E. Rishel, 
E. V. Lotier, 
E. Woods, 
M. Henrie, 
S. Ridgway, 
C. W. Sholes, 
S. Ketcham, 
A. Scroth, 
C. L. Martin. 
Intellectual Arithmetic. 



C. D. Biddle, 
P. H. Grove, 
J. B. Grier, 
E. M. Biddle, 
G. W. Mowrer, 



A. M. Russel, 
L. Unger, 
E. A. Laubach, 
M. D. Brown, 
M. J. Baldy, 



E. Woods. 

The following classes were under the charge of Miss M. Hughes 

Geography, Second. 

2 



C. H. Brady, 
J. C. Grove, 

D. Levi, 
W. Thatcher, 

E. Kaufman, 
J. Seidel, 

D. Richards, 
J. Mowrer, 

K. Baldy, 
A. E. Beaver, 
K. Beaver, 

E. H. Baldy, 
A. Imogene Brower, 



C. B. Brady, 



W. Lyon, 
E. Lyon, 
J. Sechler, 
M. M. Grier, 
M. J. Waples, 
E. Harder, 
L. Wolf, 
E. V. Lotier. 
Geography, llilrd, 

E. Laubach, 
E. Williams, 
T. Blue, 
C. H. Stover, 
W. Roberts. 
Arithmetic. 
6. 

K. Baldy, 



DANVILLE INSTITUTE. 



C. Gardner, 




M. Henrie, 


J. C. Grove, 




M. J. Waples, 


J. Sechler. 




E. Harder, 


J. Seidel, 




J. Frazier, 


D. Levi, 




C. Savage, 


A. Schroth, 




L. Kirk, 


H. Wireman, 




C. L. Martin, 


A. Taylor. 




J. Mowrer. 




Second Reader. 




i6. 




W. Thatcher, 




K. Beaver, 


T. Blue, 




A. E. Beaver, 


C. Stover, 




E. Lyon, 


W. Roberts, 




W. Lyon, 


K. Baldy, 




A. L Brower, 




L. Williams. 




History 




J. B. Grier, 


4- 


E. M. Biddle, 


A. M. Russell, 




J. M. Jennings, 


M. J. Baldy, 




J. H. Kase, 




T... Unger. 




Third Reader. 


J. C. Grove, 


8. 


J. Seidel, 


E. H. Baldy, 




D. Richards, 


D. Levi, 




C. Savage, 


J. Sechler, 




L. Kirk, 


C. H. Brady, 




M. J. Waples, 


J. Mowrer, 




L. Wolf, 


P. Bright, 




E. Harder. 




Arithmetic. 


R. M, Grove, 


9- 


A. M. Diehl, 


S. Ridgway, 




C. W. Sholes, 



I 



26b 



HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 



E. Kauffman, 
M. M. Grier, 
E. Curry, 
P. Bright, 



M. J. Baldy, 
E. V. Lotier, 
E. Laubach, 
M. Moynerhan, 



J. Grove. 

Arithnetic. 



J. Grove, 
A. M. Diehl, 
J. H. Kase, 
R. M. Grove, 
H. Wireman, 
S. Ridgway, 
M. Moynehan, 



E. Kaufman, 
C. Sholes, 
J. Frazier, 
E. Curry, 
E. Rissel, 
P. Bright, 
E. V. Lotier, 
J. M. Jennison. 
English Grammar. 



A. M. Russel, C. Sholes, 

A. M. Diehl, E. A. Laubach, 

R. M, Grove, P. Bright, 

J. H. Kase, E. Curry, 

H. Wireman, E. Rishel, 

M. Moynehan, M. Henrie, 

E. Kaufman, S. J. Ketchum, 

S. Ridgway, E. Woods, 
L. Unger, 

First Reader. 
W. Russel, J. Mitchell. 

The classes were thoroughly examined in their several branches 
of study, and afforded a pleasing evidence of the systematic course, 
the order, the complete and rapid progress of the pupils which gave 
to the Danville Institute its high reputation. It is proper as well as 
just to the Principal to remark that the same advantages are now 
afforded at the Danville Academy. 



BUSINESS. 26 J 



JBjxsi 7i.es s. 

It is proper in a work likt^ this to take at least a hasty gkxnce at 
the business operations of Danville at the present time. A single 
glance will show the enterprising and progressive spirit of our peo- 
ple. All our great iron works, which are the mainspring of life and 
activity, are in full operation. Night and day the busy workers with 
ceaseless energy, are converting the ore into iron, and fashioning it 
into finished rails. But other branches of trade are no less essential 
to the growth and general prosperity of Danville. Professional men, 
merchants, traders, mechanics, artisans and laborers, all contribute 
to local as well as general prosperity and happiness. So we honor 
the patient worker in every department of industry, as each and all 
contribute a shaie in securing the blessings of life. Let us then take 
a cursory glance at our leading business establishments and in so do- 
ing, as near as possible, give expression to popular sentiment. 

There are twenty-two dry goods stores in Danville ; fifteen of 
groceries and fruits ; three hardware stores ; three gents' furnishing 
goods ; five millinery and trimming stores ; five clothing stores ; seven 
drug stores ; six cigar stores ; three jewelry stores ; two book stores ; 
four confectioneries, and fourteen miscellaneous. Among the busi- 
ness houses are the following : 

/. Doster dr Son are the leading dealers in furniture and are do- 
ing a very large business, in town and the surrounding country. 
Their cabinet warerooms are on Mill street. 

Wiliiam C. Davis conducts the most extensive confectionery 
and ice creamery in Danville or in this quarter of the State. The 
popularity of his ice cream extends to all the surrounding towns, and 
accordingly he ships large quantities, daily by railroad. His facili- 
ties for its manufacture are ample for the large demands at home and 
abroad. His assortment of confections and fruits of all kinds, with 
courteous attention, have made his rooms a popular resort, and him- 
self one of the live business men of Danville. 

Kramer er' Co. are doing a very extensive trade in their treble 
store, in the Opera House block. This is the largest store in town, 
that is conducted by individual enterprise. It contains a very large 
stock of dry goods and notions, embracing the latest styles and pat- 
terns of dress goods and fancy articles. The housekeeping grocery 
and provision departments are complete. They have an extensive 



z68 HISTORY OF DANV/LLE. 

country trade and consequently are always supplied with fresh pro- 
duce to supply the wants of the town. • Will G. Kramer is the gen- 
eral superintendent and knows how to popuralize a business estab- 
lishment. 

We have six excellent drug stores ; but this does not indicate an 
unhealthy town. But our druggists sell a great variety of useful 
and fancy articles. 

/. W. Philips is proprietor of the well known drug store, known 
as "Grier's old drug store," in the Montgomery Building. 

James C. Sechler's drug store, in Chalfant's building, merits 
special note in connection ml\v the general business of Danville. 
Mr. Sechler has had practical experience in his profession for four- 
teen years and for the last eight years has occupied his present loca- 
tion and met with deserved success. His drug store is well sup- 
plied. His attention is courteous, his carefulness proverbial, his 
medicines selected with judgment and he holds an honorable place 
among the enterprising business men of Danville. 

Dr. Jordan keeps the "Cottage drug store" on East Market 
street. 

Dr. S. Y. Thompson keeps a first class drug store in Ramsey's 

building. 

R. D. Magill, opposite the Opera House, keeps one of the lead- 
ing drug stores in this place. 

Mr. McKinn manages the Dr. Gosh or Centennial drug store 
opposite the old bank. 

Geo. IV. Fisher has a fine drug store in Kaufman's building, op- 
posite the Company store. 

H. M. ScHOCH has built up an extensive trade at his large and 
excellent dry goods and grocery store, on Mill street. His store is 
to-day among the very best in Danville. 

William H. Hassanplug came to Danville more than thirty years 
ago. He was a clerk for some years and afterwards had a store in 
Reynold's building. Subsequently he had charge of the dry goods 
department in the company store, where in purchasing and disposing 
of hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of goods he became thor- 
oughly acquainted with the trade, and his selections are therefore 
judiciously made. He now has a large double store in Sechler's 
building on Mill street, where he does a large business especially in 
dry goods, and boots and shoes. 



BUS/NESS. 269 



Mrs. J. S. Iluber's ''Boston Shoe Bazar," is the most elegant 
estabUshment of the kind in this quarter of the State. It is located 
in Loeb's block on Mill street. Mrs. Huber deals exclusively in 
ladies', misses and children's wear. She keeps a large stock in great 
variety embracing the latest styles and is exrensively patronized by 
the elite as well as others in town and in the surrounding country. 
This is our pioneer store in that department of trade. 

Gomer Thomas, is the most extensive dealer in music and musical 
instruments, not only in this place but in this section of the State. 
His place is on Mill street, sign of the Golden Base Viol. He sells 
pianos and organs at figu-res that insure the largest sales — a com- 
plete musical bazar embracing every variety of instruments, with all 
the popular sheet music as soon as published. His judgment can 
always be relied on, as he is himself a musician of some prominence, 
having devoted some attention to teaching and also made his mark 
as a composer. A number of his compositions have been published 
and rank deservedly high in the class to which they belong. He is 
still on the sunny side of life and by exercising his talents, could 
attain an honorable position among the composers of the day. 

Ramsey Childs is one of the successful business men of Danville. 
He started in modest style on a small scale ; now he has one of the 
largest stove, sheet-iron and tinware establishments in town. He is 
located in the Opera House block, where by industry and fair deal- 
ing he has built up an extensive trade. 

Will G. Brown, in the retail tobacco and segar trade, leads the 
way. His place is in Schuster's building opposite the City Hotel. 
He keeps all qualities, sorts and brands of the weed, maerschaums, 
pipes and holders, together with a variety of curiosities. In a word 
this is the most popular segar store in town and Will G. Brown is a 
popular, young business man, whose excellent qualities will never 
fail to gather around him, a host of friends. It is a pleasure to speak 
of those whose sterling principles are sure to redeem our prophesies 
of the future. 

A. M. Diehl's '• New York Tea Store" in Mr. Lyon's block on 
Mill street, is the most complete fine grocery and fruit store in Dan- 
ville. His catalogue embraces an extensive variety of home and 
tropical fruits, fancy confections, spices and the rarest brands of teas, 
coffees and sugars, giving his patrons, all the advantages enjoyed in 



270 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

the cities, in hundreds of articles that had never been kept in this 
place. He has built up an extensive trade, especially in the finer 
assortment of goods in his line. 

Seidel Brother is a firm eminently worthy of mention in these 
pages. They are in the line of dry goods and notions, on Mill street, 
near the Montgomery building. Their house is known as the " Bos- 
ton Store." They keep a good selection. The senior member of 
the firm is engaged in a wholesale house in the city and this gives 
them a peculiar advantage in selecting the right goods at the right 
time. They do a large business and add materially to the general 
trade of Danville. 

/. T. Patton agent, has built up an excellent trade in the dry 
goods, grocery and provision line, on Wolf's old corner. 

Sheldon &> Co., in the Brown building adjoining the Opera House, 
have one of the largest stores in Danville and they are doing a very 
heavy business in general merchandizing. Their extensive trade 
keeps a large force of clerks constantly employed. Their selections 
of dress goods, ladies' and gent's furnishing goods, notions and 
housekeeping goods are full and complete and Sheldon & Co., con- 
tribute materially to the tide that marks the progress of Danville. 

Jacob Loeb, an old and substantial resident of Danville, keeps a 
snug grocery and does a snug business in his own building on Mill 
street. 

c^rief JSTotes. 

In looking over the town of Danville to-day, we find quite a num- 
ber of live business men apart from those engaged in manufacturing. 
It would be pleasant to note many of the leading business men in the 
various pursuits that give life and form to the current of trade, and 
that mark the line of local progress, but space will not permit. 

James McCormick runs a line of omnibuses to meet the passenger 
trains on all the railroads passing this place. — Alfred B. Patton runs 
a local express. Both are great public conveniences. — Ehvood Gar- 
rett is and has been for eighteen years the ever reliable bill poster of 
Danville. — A. M. Diehl's New York Tea Store presents a new feat- 
ure in its splendid assortment of home and tropical fruits. — William 
G. Brown has a museum of rare curiosities in his segar store oppo- 
site the City Hotel William C. Walker has served as street com- 



CONCLUSION. 2^1 



missioner, chief of the fire department, burgess and councihiian. — 
George B. Brown has held ten offices and agencies all at the same 
time. — Mrs. S. J. Ruber's " Boston Shoe Bazar," exclusively devoted 
to ladies, misses and children, was another step towards the coming 
city. — Thomas Woods & Son have the oldest shoe store in town, 

opposite the opera-house There are seven first class drugstores in 

town, and yet it is a remarkably healthy place. — Mover Lyon is the 
oldest butcher in town. He has built two elegant blocks of brick 
buildings on Mill street. — J. Doster & Son lead in the furniture trade. 
— The leading sewing machine agency, is the Singer Manufacturing 
Company, Mr. McClosky agent. Mill street. — William C. Young in- 
surance agent, in the Montgomery building, and Harry Vincent op- 
posite the opera-house. 

COTLClTLStoiX, 

And now, more than a long century has passed away and after the 
fluctuating tide of a hundred years from the lone hut of the pioneer 
to the stately mansions and the great iron manufactories that con- 
trol the pulse of business life ; here we are to-day ; in the full tide of 
local prosperity ; possessing the elements of growth and prosperity, 
that cannot fail to stimulate our men of enterprise to develop more 
and more the innate wealth and power of this locality, until Dan- 
ville shall occupy the high place as a manufacturing and commercial 
center, attainable through the gifts of nature and the force of human 
intelligence. But to reach the goal desired, we must profit by the 
lessons of wisdom we read in the book of experience. True, there 
are causes of local depression that lie beyond our reach, but in others, 
both the "cause and the antidote" are indigenous. The philo- 
sophic fact must be recognized that whilst capital is the motive pow- 
er, labor produces all the wealth of the world. Both are essential 
to the prosperity of this or any other locality. Idle hands and idle 
capital are equally reprehensible. The man who becomes rich and 
hoards up his money with miserly greed, or fails to use it in giving 
employment, is an idler as low in the scale as the loafer, and as use- 
less as the tramp. Then let the men of wealth look into the face of 
their responsibilities. Let them remember that their hoarded thou- 
sands were drawn from the common current that keeps the arm oi 
labor in motion, and that buried wealth is robbery of the public. 



272 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

Let them throw it out into the current of trade ; build up new enter- 
prises of local industry, giving employment to the honest toiler, the 
mechanic and the artisan, who, in turn, will aid not only in build- 
ing up a city, but in giving a stronger and healthier tone to public 
sentiment. The man of wealth is but a steward of God in the world ; 
and if in a spirit of selfishness, like the rich fool of whom we read, 
he considers it his own, and hoards it up, or employs it in adding 
house to house ; buying when others are forced to sell, and selling 
when others are forced to buy, clutching the utmost penny until the 
palsy of death unlocks his iron fingers, he becomes a hindrance in 
the way of local prosperity, whatever his pretentions may be. 

Whatever of local advancement we enjoy we owe to the working 
men and the live men of business, who build and control our manu- 
facturies. They are workers who contribute to make labor and capi- 
tal productive. It is the arm of labor that forges out the real wealth 
of the country; but capital wisely employed, is no less essential. 
Hoarded wealth, like the dead sea, never turns a wheel nor drives a 
forge. The active stream must do the work. 

Then let the old man of to-day fall asleep in peace and with the 
light of hope in his farewell glance on the scenes of his earthly toil ; 
knowing that those who come after him will come up chastened from 
the season of depression and reap all the advantages God has given 
us in the hills and streams around us, where inexhaustible sources of 
wealth conspire to make this a teeming centre of trade, where the 
strong foundations of local prosperity may be securely laid. 

Let the active men of to-day, in a wider sphere and a more com- 
prehensive spirit, combined with the energy and courage of their 
fathers, grasp the advantages before them and much may yet be done 
before their sun of life shall set, to elevate this place up towards the 
fulness of its capabilities. 

Let the boys of to-day, with an eye to their future and fast ap- 
proaching responsibilities, arm themselves with all the nobler quali- 
ties of mind and heart, to fight and win the battles of life. Let them 
resolve now in the morning years of their lives, to take their places 
when the time shall come, in the ranks of progress to advance the 
standard their fathers reared, up to the snmrait of local prosperity, 
moral, mental and physical, in all thai tends to the growth, the 
honor and happiness of the future city of Danville. 



APPENDIX 



i8 



[The following articles, selected from the miscellaneous writings 
of the author, are appended at the request of friends who desire 
their preservation in a more durable form than the columns of a 
newspaper.] 



HOME. 




OW many volumes of touching pathos have been written 
in memory of ho7ne and its returnless joys. How the 
wierd spirit Hngers around its hallowed endearments, 
and how oft in the stillness of night it recalls the burn- 
ing hopes whose diamond flash illumined every rising wave in the 
dawn of life's bright morning ! How the stricken heart of the lone 
wanderer, far away from the unforgotten scenes of childhood, ever 
turns from the present to commune with the loved ones who gathered 
around the family hearth, or bowed before its consecrated altar ! 
Where are now the golden links of the household band — the joyous 
group whose echoing notes of glee still mingle with the voices of the 
night ? Some estranged and alone are struggling in the battle of 
life, and some have gone to the city of the dead. 

In dreams we read again the sweet memorials of the past — again 
the pilgrim beside the dusty road revisits the cot of his birth — again 
he treads his native hills, decked with a richer foliage and canopied 
with a brighter sky. Even the wayward man of sin and sorrow, 
though steeped in poverty and crime to the very lips, will sometimes 
pause in his mad career to revel again in the memory of the fadeless 
joys that cluster around the home of his childhood. Oh yes, and the 
crowning glory in that bright vision will be the image of his mother. 

The exile may love the country of his adoption, yet the fondest 
affections of his heart will cling forever to the land of his birth. No 
lapse of time, no change of circumstances, nor streams of joy, nor 
floods of sorrow can blot the primeval record, nor cool the patriotic 
fervor of his heart. Under all the varied scenes of life he presents 
the evidences of his origin, the characteristics and the love of his 
native land. 

Far away from the home of his boyhood, the aged pilgrim lies 
down to die, but in the farewell hour of his life, he turns to read 
again the gilded pages of youth and recalls once more the glowing 
scenes under the roof-tree or the village green. 

(275) 



276 HISTORY OF DANV/LLE. 

Who has not heard of the old Welshman who had wandered to 
the western wilds of America, and who for half a century had for- 
gotten the language of Wales ; but who in the final death struggle, 
as memory traveled back to his far off home and paused amid ^his 
native hills, the language of his childhood returned once more and 
in its pure accents the hallowed name of his mother was mingled 
with his dying prayer. The old man was a child again and of such 
is the kingdom of heaven. 

Home ! Oh is it not a potent word ? A word that thrills the bur- 
dened soul of the far voyager, even as his bark of life is moored in 
the port of death, — a word that ever wakes and tunes a chord of 
undying melody in the throbbing heart of Nature's child, through- 
out all her vast domains. 



JTecirt J\£er)%OTzes. 

There is enshrined in every human heart, the bright dream of 
youth, the golden hope of childhood. And there the memory of 
those first impressions, pure desires and cloudless joys will live for- 
ever. Sorrow and misfortune may fling their dark shadows around 
our pathway ; disappointment and anguish may chill the better feel- 
ing of our nature ; crime may weave its sombre folds around the 
heart; the wild storms of passion may sweep its chords; dishonor 
and shame may shroud its altar ; but all these can never blot from 
its tablets the record of childhood's hours — its first impressions, its 
budding affections, its dream-like joys. Nor can the pride and 
pomp of power, or wealth, or fame extinguish the light of its inner 
chambers. No, never. The felon doomed to die, turns back once 
more when the star of hope has set, to read the one bright page, in 
the light of life's young morning. The aged christian too, as the 
evening twilight gathers around him, and as he waits in patience and 
in hope for the Reaper — death ; still turns to catch the gleam of its 
far off rays, and in the light of a living faith he trusts in a renewal 
of youth, in a more enduring form beyond the grave. Oh yes, 
there is, in the depth of every human heart, one warm and sunny 
spot where nestle the images of early love and the sweet remem- 
brances of childhood's home. There they will remain even to the 
final hour with all the bright memories that cluster around that glad- 



WEALTH, ITS USE. 277 



some period — unchanged forever — the one pure and hallowed spot 
in life's uncertain way — the star of a darksome world — the earth 
type of joys to come. 

'WealtJh, its jzse. 

The highest degree of happiness wealth can bestow on its posses- 
sor is derived from the happiness conferred upon others. This is a 
proposition susceptible of proof, strong and clear as words of Holy 
Writ. The man who so administers his estate, and so conducts his 
stewardship as to do the most good to others, alone enjoys the means 
bestowed upon him. The man who hords up his gains, like a greedy 
dog that hides his bone, never enjoys a single moment of happiness, 
though he may count his wealth by thousands or millions of dollars. 
He never realizes a single feeling of contentment, which is better 
than gold. He gropes his way through the world like a miserable 
coward, suspicious of all around him, and almost afraid to sleep 
lest a sixpence might slip from his grasp or take wings and flyaway. 
He is opposed to all improvements that tend to the comfort or con- 
venience of those around him, for the enjoyment of the poor is a real 
annoyance to him. He frowns a cold and chilling frown on the 
children of want. The sob of anguish is music to him. The tears 
of sorrow and the cry of the hungry find no responsive chord in his 
callous heart. Dead to every ennobling sentiment of humanity, and 
wrapt in the mantle of supreme selfishness, he drags his soulless car- 
cass through the world, down to the grave, still grasping his gold 
and clutching for more, until the palsy of death unlocks his iron 
fingers. When he sees the sure approach of death, in his desper- 
ation he hides his treasures in the earth, or resolves to give his thou- 
sands to the church or some worthy cause, in the hope of appeasing 
the Almighty. And this is called "giving to the Lord," — given 
alas, because the poor mortal could hold it no longer. For him 
no tears are shed. No flowers strewn by the hands of those he blest 
deck the mound where he sleeps. The cold marble may mark the 
spot and remind the world that his death was the only blessing he 
ever conferred on the community in which he lived. 

See the wealthy miser in the marts of trade. Note his wary and 



278 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

suspicious eye. His character is stamped upon his brow. Mark the 
nervous twitching of his fingers. You can not mistake the miser. 
His features are almost as cold and unimpressible as the molten god 
he worships. See him again as he stealthily counts his gold. \Vith 
a grim delight he clutches the shining metal. Transformed to a 
demon he gloats over his hidden treasures and prostitutes all sem- 
blance of manhood to the senseless idol on whose polluted shrine 
he la>s the sacrifice of his soul, yielding all the hopes and the aspira- 
tions of an immortal life to the tyrant power of his unhallowed 
passion. Nay more, to swell the sum he would coin his heart and 
drop his blood for dimes. 

But there are rich men in our own community who have made a 
noble record for themselves — who have ever lent a willing heart and 
an open hand to every movement designed to advance the phys- 
ical, mental and moral welfare of the community : nay mure, who 
have ministered to the wants of the poor and gladdened the hearts of 
the needy — the poor, from die inner shrine of whose greatful hearts 
the incense of gratitude ascends to heaven to-day. Would you en- 
joy the benedictions of the Father above, send up the blessings 
of his children below ! 

TUcLt Old Q§ooJz—T7xe Bzble. 

" I also will show mine opinion." 

We are not a theologian, nor do we make any special pretension 
to a knowledge of metaphysical science, claiming only the philoso- 
phy of common sense as applied to manifest truth. We leave at 
present the wide realm of speculation and the fairy world of imagi- 
nation, as well as the various systems of religious faith based on hu- 
man creeds. But all this, with the errors of its adherents in works 
or in weakness of faith, does not affect the truth itself. Alike im- 
potent is the power of the learned skeptic who wields the pen of 
treason against the royal Truth in whose light he " lives and moves 
and has his being." Nay more, the power that nurtured him — that 
shields him and crowns his life with the blessings of civilization. 

What, then, is Truth? How shall we find it? What are our re- 
lations to the past, the present, and the future? How shall we best 
prepare to meet our responsibilities as reasonable beings? These 



THAT OLD BOOK— THE BIBLE. 2jg 

are questions a thousand fold more important to us than the rise and 
fall of all the creeds that human wisdom ever devised, or all the 
speculations that ever sprang from the brain of the metaphysician. 

We may have been taught in childhood that the Scriptures are of 
Divine origin. Not in a general sense like the works of creation, 
but the result of special revelation, given as a rule of life, directly 
from God to man. The child accepts this faith implicitly, not as a 
conclusion drawn from the merits of the Book or the facts in the 
case, but on the guarantee of its parents or religious teachers. The 
truth of the volume is accepted as a matter of history, its teachings 
as a rule of life and as a chart to guide the way to heaven. As the 
child grows up and comes in contact with the world, and finds that 
practically this rule is the exception, and as he meets the conflicting 
ideas of men and the various shades of religious faith — all profess- 
edly based on the Bible — as he meets the subtle insinuations of the 
skeptic or the bold assertions of the atheist, he begins to look for 
the foundations that support the faith of his childhood. On the as 
sumption that man is a reasonable being, he begins to reason : 
" Here am I, an atom in the wide universe. From whence am I, 
and where am I going? All around me such as I are sinking into 
the grave, beyond which is the land of the unknown. Reason tells 
me that I, too, must shortly go down to the city of the dead. And 
what then ? Will I lose my identity and mingle with the senseless 
clods ? Will the spirit that animates me go out forever in darkness, 
like the blaze of a rocket or the flash of a meteor? Can it be that 
this atom of matchless mechanism, with all its wonderful powers, 
was designed only for the brief space of human life? — that the 
powers of mind so vast in their range, with the principle of vitality, 
shall pass away with the breath of mortal life? No, it can not be. 
Nature recoils from the thought, and reason, in view of the known 
laws of being, declares it impossible. Then, if I am to live here- 
after, and if our brief existence here is but passing through the ves- 
tibule that leads to a life beyond, the Bible must be true. For 
reason, linking these teachings with that which is known of life and 
death, logically leads to the conclusion that this is not all of life. 
Reason travels with revelation to the confines of earth and sanctions 
its truths as far as the finite mind can go, and from known facts im- 
plies the truth of those that lie beyond." 



28o HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

But it must not be forgotten that with the faith, gratuitously ac- 
cepted in childhood, conscience was also educated and prepared to 
pilot the way when the hand of parental guidance was withdrawn, 
or when reason failed. And here is a jewel of untold wealth in- 
herited by the child of instruction — an inherent power to judge the 
true and the right from error and wrong. Not, indeed, an innate 
principle of competent judgment without religious culture or the 
knowledge of Divine law. as revealed in the Bible. Conscience is a 
faculty of the human mind, capable of development, and will prove 
quick and sure to. judge right and wrong only as it is rightly edu- 
cated. St. Paul persecuted the saints "in all good conscience," for 
so his conscience had been educated, but when enlightened he found 
that its judgment nad been erroneous. Its rightful culture is there- 
fore a great advantage to the child of religious training when called 
to meet the sharp corners of the world and to retain a foothold on 
the rock of Truth. 

It is true, the power of reason is limited ; it can no more deny than 
affirm that which is unknown, but it can infer much of the future from 
the known of the past. Reason can comprehend the principle of 
righteousness taught in the Bible — and in the Bible alone — and their 
redeeming influence in the world. Reason can comprehend its match- 
less system of morals, as the light and life of every age and the source 
of every law of justice, mercy and truth. Point out a spot on the 
map of the wide world where the teachings of the Bible are unknown, 
and reason will point out to you a place of intellectual and moral 
darkness, destitute of all the peaceful and ennobling qualities of 
mind and heart that render life and society desirable. This fact 
alone irresistibly leads to the conclusion that the Bible is true. 

There are men in our own community, too, who doubt or affect 
to doubt the truth of revelation. As the boy with his first cigar im- 
gines himself "a man," so do men appear, who are " wise above 
what is written." The geologist will point to a rock and make the 
truth of science a lie. The speculator will picture a dreamless sleep 
or a world of fancy, beautiful but delusive as the mirage of the desert. 
The philosopher will light a taper, and in its feeble shimmer deny 
the light of the noonday sun, and with finite reason attempt to 
measure the mysteries, the powers and the transcendant glories of 
the eternal world. But take away, if you please, all books, all 



NIGHT. • 281 

science, all philosophy — leave but the Bible — and by that unerring 
chart the Christian pilgrim will solve the problem of life. 

NigTtt. 

What a comprehensive theme is night ! Grand, peculiar and 
sublime are its inspirations ! Who can measure its influence on our 
physical, mental or moral nature? Who can fathom the wonders of 
sleep or solve the mystery of its dreams? There lies the body, un- 
conscious as its kindred clods of the field, and yet allied to a living 
soul — an immortal mind — that by the power of a strange enchant- 
ment, creates and peoples a world of its own — a mystic world of 
shadowy dreams that dissolve like the mists of the morning. 

" How beautiful is Death ! 
Death and his brother Sleep — 
One pale as yonder waning moon, 
With lips of lurid blue^ 
The other rosy as the morn, 
When throned on ocean's wave, 
She sheds her blushes o'er the world." 

And how the wierd voices of the night stir the deep waters of the ' 
soul as they float on the breeze Hke the far-off notes of dying melody. 
Ah ! yes ; the most wonderful achievements of science, the most 
brilliant gems of poetry, and the most profound teachings of the 
metaphysician and theologian, have been the result of thoughts in 
the night. When the curtain of darkness shuts the outer world from 
view, we turn within to explore the world of mind. Freed from the 
thousand distractions of the day, we seek a more intimate acquaint- 
ance with ourselves. The past, the present and the future are all 
before us. Memory brings her treasures up from the storehouse of 
the past and imagination essays to unfold the future. Though 
darkness surrounds us, yet all the world is before us, and from the 
shadows we may look up and count the jewels of the skies as they 
sparkle in the azure drapery of heaven— but vision finds a limit 
there. Imagination may travel on — pass the burning zone of far 
Saturn to the outer pathway of more distant Uranus — but imagin- 
ation, too, must pause on the threshhold of a universe unknown, the 
mighty space that science never trod. No peaceful vales nor misty 
mountains mark the far beyond. No voice or sound, even to fancy's 



282 ' HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

ear, ever broke the dead, eternal solitude that lies beyond the tele- 
scopic power of science. Faith alone can pierce the gloom and 
pass beyond the outer range where science halts and fancy dies. 
The faith of the Christian, guided by the chart of revelation, leaves 
planets, stars and worlds behind, as it sweeps across the mighty 
chasm up to the home of the immortals, where doubt never enters, 
where night never comes. Weary mortal, groping amid the deeper 
shadows of moral darkness, do )'ou long for the morning dawn ? 
Do you long to know what- undiscovered country lies in the far be- 
yond ? The geologist would point to a rock and make the truth of sci- 
ence a lie. The speculator would picture a dream, beautiful in fancy, 
but wild and baseless as the mirage of the desert. The philosopher 
would light a taper, and in its feeble shimmer, deny the light of the 
noonday sun, and with finite reason attempt to measure the mysteries, 
the powers and the transcendant glories of the eternal world. 

Take away, if you please, all books, all science, all philosophy ; 
leave but the Bible, and by that unerring chart, the Christian pil- 
grim will solve the problem of life — " the only star that rose upon 
the night of Time, by which man could navigate the sea of life and 
•gain the coast of bliss '' — the shores of a land, where day is eternal, 
and whose sunshine is the glory of the Lord. 

TJxe. Peroration. 

List ! oh, mortal, to the voices of the past ! Realize the living 
present ! Forget not the swift-coming future ! What a multitude 
of thoughts come crowding upon us, as we muse on the certainties 
gone, and glance at the probabilities — nay, the certainties before us ! 
Nor are they limited to our history as a nation, but we launch out on 
the wide ocean of time itself, invade the land of eternity, and strive 
to grasp the finished past and give shape to the dark, uncertain future. 
But, however far we may travel back over the ages, or forward on 
the pinions of imagination, philosophy or religion, ever and anon 
we come home to ourselves and pause to read our personal relations 
to the Past, the Present and the eternal years to come — to read the 
lessons before us, in the handwriting of the Almighty, through the 
innate power conferred when man became a living soul. Here we are 
to-day, a single generation', rushing on, close in the wake of thou- 



THE PERORATION. 2S3 



sands gone, and crowded by coming millions. One by one, the 
countless ages come and go, and one generation succeeds another, as 
they rapidly march across a narrow plain, and then pass away forever. 

To-day we are here — to-morrow a new generation will carelessly 
tread the earth above our heads nor care to know that the clods be- 
neath their feet once lived and exulted in the warm sunshine of life, 
and that they, too, in a little while must yield to another. 

An hundred years ! And every heart that beats with rapture to- 
day, rejoicing in the triumphs of a finished century, will be cold and 
still. Every voice that joins the million-toned shout of joy to hail 
our grand Centennial year, or swells the glad hallelujahs of praise 
to our Fathers' God for the blessings of an hundred years, will be 
hushed in the everlasting silence of the grave. Not one of all the 
millions who bring the tributes of affection, or the garlands of honor 
to the shrine of the dead to-day — not one of all the millions that 
eagerly press the gates to see the gathered wonders of the world, will 
see the dawn of another Centennial anniversary. Long ere then, 
all those busy managers and stately actors in the imposing ceremon- 
ies, — the speakers, the Emperors, the Presidents, the musicians, the 
singers, and the tired policemen — with all the thronging millions, 
will lie down and die. The high and the low, the rich and the poor — 
all will find a common abode, down in a lone, narrow house. The 
lordly millionaire, who rides in stately grandeur through the lovely 
avenues of the most magnificent park in the world, will lie down at 
last and sleep beside the poor, who can only catch a glance of its 
splendors through the open gates. Centuries may roll away. Other 
Centennials of '76 may come and go, but they shall heed no more 
the wild huzzas the waving banners of assembled nations, the thunders 
of artillery, nor the pomp and show of a world combined. 

A century hence, and all will have passed away forever ! The in- 
ventors will crumble to dust and mingle with the moldering work 
of their hands. The mighty achievments of " hand and brain " that 
mark the age will pale before the more stupendous triumphs of the 
era to come, and the dust of oblivion will settle forever on the pride 
of skill and the glory of man, nor leave a memorial of the great 
Centennial Exposition. 

We, too, shall mingle with the vast caravan marching down to 



284 HISTORY OF DANVILLE. 

the gates of Death, to join the generations gone before. The march 
goes silently on — not to the inspiring notes of the musicians before 
me, but to the noiseless beat of the pulse, silent as rose leaves fall from 
the stem, but the end is sure. The generations come and go, but 
they never return ! Our march will soon be over. Where, oh ! 
where shall our next encampment be ? 

StcLtesmert. 

Distance does not always lend enchantment to the view. In look- 
ing at the daily proceedings of Congress, and noting the chicanery 
of the cunning politician, we are forced to the conclusion that no 
distance, however remote, can ever magnify our present public men 
into the semblance of statesmen. Our own State, Pennsylvania, in 
days gone by, has contributed more than one star to the galaxy that 
will ever illume our national history. Who have we now to arouse 
the ambition of the American boy and to command the admiration 
of the world? We sometimes hope that Senator Cameron, or some 
other son of Pennsylvania, may yet rise above the level of mere party 
politics and on the higher plane of statesmanship stand beside the 
immortal founders of the State, with all of the past, who have given 
luster to the American name. 

We know there are seasons of depression in the elements of na- 
tional greatness, as well as in the financial world. Such is the his- 
tory of nations, and we are not an exception. England had her 
golden "age," when the powers of genius kindled a glory whose 
radiance will never die. Her philosophers, poets and statesmen are 
still the pride and boast of her sons and daughters, at home and 
abroad, as they exultingly point to the brilliant galaxy of immortal 
names that adorn her history — an age when the statesmen laid the 
massive foundations of her greatness, when philosophers reared the 
fair superstructure of her national institutions, around which her 
poets wove the garlands of unfading beauty. 

We too have had a "golden age." It dawned upon us in the 
gathering storm that preceded the revolution, and illuminated with 
a new-born glory our pathway through the Red sea and the wilder- 
ness, until we rose to the very pinnacle of national greatness. ' ' There 
were giants in those days." Not comparatively great, nor yet be- 



STATESMEN. 283 



cause they have passed beyond the reach of envy or green-eyed jeal- 
ousy, nor yet because we have been taught to worship at the shrines 
of the dead ; but they were great in their endowments, great in the 
work they accomplished, in the monuments they reared and in the 
priceless legacy they bequeathed to their countrymen and the world. 
" Distance" does not always lend enchantment to the view." The 
founders of our government and our early statesmen were no less 
great in their own day. They were no less revered by the wise and 
good of every civilized nation on the globe, when grappling with the 
mighty problems of popular government, no less than now, when 
they are embalmed in the grateful memory of their countrymen. 
Passing over the founders of the Republic, where are the peers of 
Clay, Webster, Calhoun, Cass, Benton and all the sons of Anak of 
less than half a century ago ? They were men of ideas. In their 
view, party was nothing, only the shallow device of demagogues. 
They were above the plane of party politics. They were in the higher 
region of substantial ideas, where reason prompted thought, and 
judgment, divorced from party bias, impelled to action. Sharp 
contests they had — but not on party differences, for that belongs to 
the pigmy tribe — but on constitutional questions as they rose m the 
progress of the grand political experiment. Even now, no living 
man can claim a higher honor than an approach to the character of 
these statesmen whose intellectual power, solid worth, sterling pa- 
triotism and practical wisdom mark the golden age of America. 



INDEX. 



Introduction, 5 

Location, 9 

General William Montgomery, . . 13 

The Indians, 14 

The Post Office, 15 

Grove Presbyterian Church, ... 17 

Mahoning Presbyterian Church, . 20 

Climate and Longevity, 22 

Prominent Men, 23 

Master Gibson and the Mahoning 

School, 25 

Fifty Years Ago, 30 

Union Hall Hotel, 30 

Susquehanna Floods, 44 

Old Habits and Customs, .... 45 

Christ Episcopal Church, .... 49 

Indiantown, 5' 

Robert C. Grier, 52 

Rev. W. B. Montgomery, .... 52 

Orchards, 57 

General Daniel Montgomery, . . 61 

Items of Yore, 62 

The Old Blockhouse, 63 

Population, 64 

Random Items, 65 

Montgomery Buildmg, 67 

Journalism, . . 68 

Newspapers, 70 

St. Paul's M. E. Church, .... 77 

War Record, 83 

First Sunday School, 122 

The Old Log House, 129 

Old School Days, 130 

Incidents, 133 

Going to Black Rock, 136 



Evangelical Lutheran Church, . 136 

J. B. Moore, 142 

Dr. Joseph Parry, 142 

The Academy, 143 

Among the Dead, 144 

Water Works, 1 50 

Music, 152 

The First Bank, 156 

Editorial Association, 158 

Now and Then, 161 

Brick Making, 163 

Llospital for the Insane, .... 164 

Simon P. Kase, 166 

The Israelites, 170 

Y. M. C. A., 172 

Revere House, 173 

Michael Kessler, 173 

The Consumptives, 175 

Col. A. J. Frick, 176 

Col. Charles W. Eckman, . . .177 

William Keiner, . : 177 

George B. Brown, 178 

First National Bank, 178 

The Opera House, 179 

Montour House, 181 

Market, 182 

Danville, 183 

Fire Department, 184 

Shilo German Reformed Church, . 185 

John C. Millhouse, 186 

M. S. Ridgway, 190 

The Court House, 191 

J. P. Leisenring, 191 

David N. Kownover, . . . 192 
Public School, 193 



288 



LVDEX. 



Mystery of the Mine, 194 

Peter Baldy, Sr., 194 

Co-operative Iron and Steel Works, 195 

Eagle Foundry, 195 

M. B. Goodrich, 196 

Danville Bridge, 196 

Planing Mills, 198 

Manufactories, 198 

Montour Iron and Steel Works, . 199 
Marble and Stone Cutting, , . . 203 

Columbia Furnaces, 204 

Early Schools, 205 

Insurance Companies, 206 

H. B. Strickland, ^208 

Dennis Bright, 208 

Catholic Church, 209 

Oddities, 211 

Enterprise Works, 212 

Noted Murder Trials, 213 

Our School Houses, 214 

Peter Yerrick, 215 

Agricultural Societies, 216 

Danville House, .... . . 218 

Michael Sanders, 218 

Tw^enty- five Years Ago, 218 

Mount Lebanon, 219 

The Oil Works, 220 

South Danville, 221 

Telegraphing, 221 

Danville Foundry, 222 

Trinity M. E. Church, 223 

City Hotel, 224 

Dr. R. S. Simington, 225 

Prominent Citizens, 226 



Baptist Church, 229 

The Company Store, 230 

National Iron Foundry, . . . .231 

Railroads, 232 

Dr. William H. Magill, ; ... 235 
Glendovvrer Iron Works, .... 235 

Local Government, 237 

Danville Iron Works, 241 

Danville Gas Company, .... 242 
County Officers for 188 1, . . . . 243 

Dan Morgan, 243 

Capt. George Lovett, 244 

Jacob Sechler, 245 

Great Day, 246 

Emanuel Evangelical Church, . 249 

Random Notes, 249 

Progressing, 251 

The Maus Family, 252 

Caste, 253 

Iron Ores of Danville, 255 

Nonsense, . . 258 

Old Towns, 259 

Riverside, 261 

Danville Institute, 262 

Business, 266 

Conclusion, 271 

Home, 276 

Heart Memories, 277 

Wealth, 278 

That Old Book— the Bible, ... 279 

Night, 281 

A Peroration, 282 

Statesmen, 284 



MAY 2 5 193S