(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Dear old Greene County; embracing facts and figures. Portraits and sketches of leading men who will live in her history, those at the front to-day and others who made good in the past"

^-^ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/dearoldgreenecouOOgall 






c^ 



X -<?- ^ 



DEAR OLD 
GREENE COUNTY 



KMltKAtlNti 



Facts and Figures, Portraits and Sl<etches, 
OF LEADING 

Men Who Will Live in Her HicStory 

Those at the Front To=Day 
And Others Who Made Good in the Past * 



Catskill,N.Y 
1915 



425509 A 

Asr(i:: L- :oX and 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



About a 3'ear ago the publisher of Dear Old Greene County 
commenced gathering data and facts for the work which is now 
upon tlip market for approval, and record, it has l)een a far 
greater jol) llian we anticipated, and we have met with difhcuhies 
all along the wav. A great mass of n.aterial has Ix-en at hand, 
and from it we have selected what appealed to us as valuable. We 
are under obligations to many persons for valuable facts and en- 
couragement. We trust that tlie work will receive kind words 
and that the outlay of time and money in the production of the 
book will be in a measure repaid by the liberal patronage of the 
citizens of (Jreene county, in whose in w'hose interest the work 
has l)een done. The l)ook certainly will form a tangil)le part of 
the records thai will he cherished and many valuable facts pre- 
served in it otherwise might have been lost. Much has been re- 
corded, but in our limited space many interesting matters have 
been of necessity reserved. To Court of Appeals Justice Emory 
A. Chase, Senator Bloodgood, Mrs. Wheeler Howard, Judge Tall- 
madge, Count3' Clerk George B. Van \'alkenbnrgh, the various 
members of the Greene county JJoard of Supervisors, and particu- 
larly to Elmer Krieger of Prattsville, Photographers Paul II. Mor- 
rison, Fred Clarke and Earle \'an Dyke, and to Frederick Nelson 
I)u Jjois, Rol)(M-t F. Story and others we have been greatly indebt- 
ed for facts and data. Puldisliers F. E. Craigie, Harry Hall, and 
M. Edward Silberstein, our contemporaries, have added liberally 
to the effort. We are incb'bted to them for many engravings from 
their offices, and Mr. Craigie in addition has compiled the lodge 
matter covering the Masonic order, as it appears in the several 
towns, a very considerable work. 

Once more our thank to all. 

Finally praise us if you can, and spare the colder criticism. 
We are most painfully aware of the shortcomings. 




Court of Appeals Justice Emory A. Ciiase 

Catskill, N. Y. 

See Sketch pages 141-5 




Josiah C. Tallmadge 

County Judge of Greene County 

See Sketch pages 299-300. 




H. Clay Ferris 
Ashland, N. Y 

Sketch page 284 




Elmer Krieger, chmii. 

Prattsville, N. Y. 
Sketch page 287 

Ril.cSiipci'visors 



Frank Nichols 

Athens, N. Y. 
Sketch page 289 




John E. Huyck 

Durham, N. Y. 
Sketch page 28^ 



Floyd vS. Jones 

Cairo, N. Y. 

Sketch page 286 




Dayton B. Smith 

Coxsackic, N. Y 
Sketch page 442 





WilhaiiiB, Tcnvnsend 
Clerk 
Coxsackie, N. Y, 



Bd.Siipervisoi's 



J. Henry Deane 
Calsk'ill, N. Y. 

Sketch page-3€S 




Lewis Hoose 

Greenville, N. Y. 
Sketch page 330 



Frederick Goslee 

Jewett, N. Y. 
Sketch page 31'J 



Oreerve County Board of 3upervi5ors 





Earle W. Jenkins Thomas Seifferth, jr. 

Halcott, N. Y. Hunter, N. Y. 

Sketch Page 287 Sk , ch pages 303-4 




Dale S. Balwin 

New Baltimore' 

Sketch page 283 * 



Dr. Sidney L. Ford 
Windham, N. Y. 
Sketch page 285 



Abram V. Roraback 
Lexington, N. Y. Sketch page 288 




lyouis DuBois and the Indians. See page 108. 




Frederick Xehon Uu Bois 

Catskill, X. Y. 

See Sketch on pages 10«-t^. 




(ireene County Jail. 



( 1 




Elmore Mackey, Catskill, sheriiF. 
Sketch page 290 



^ -7 




Col. Omar V. Sage, Catskill. 
See Sketch page 320 




Wm. Joesbury, 50 Years a Fireman . |j. Lewis Patric, loniRr AssLUiblyman, 












- -" - — ~ . 


-— «rr| 


^ 












<^ 










< 


jl' 








/^(fl 




6 " 












w :^ 












cr 












O 11 
























o 3 












9q 5 












3 E 












r/i - 












r- o 












ff> O 












^ X 












fii S 












C P3 












S^ 


« 
















■«^ 


*m 


STcr 




ft? 






^ ■-• Jr 




i-^ " 




1 






I Z..^' * 




• w 




». ■ '..■!■ 






^*iifci# 




13- 




^Jfc'im ^ 




.J 


^fpr 




(D 










►^ 


f: 




'1 







^ 



)0 






■ ;^^^^ f 


HIHI^HHBBBiHIII^9iHi^^^-2JiHM 



The Old Bronk Place, Coxsackie, 1663 

Oldest House in Greene Co. 

Loop Holed for Indian Fighting. 




The Rip Van Winkle House, Sleepy Hollow, 1839 
Now Tumbling Down. 



^ / 




Gen. W. S. C. Wiley, 
Catskill, Gov. Morton's 
Staff. 



Alex D. Wilbnr, 
Catskill, Pioneer 
Telegiapher. 



3tate Genius Figures 

July, 1915. 




TowiKs 1915 1910 

Ashla. d 658 640 

Athens 2724 2720 

Cairo 1966 1841 

Catskill *9023 9066 

Coxsaokie *2453 2620 

Durham *1360 1475 

Greenville ='=1550 1556 

Halcott 353 331 

Hunter 2944 2609 

Jewett *1014 1057 

Lexington * 926 1054 

New Baltimore *1840 1936 

Prattsville 887 781 

Windham *1390 1438 

30,087 30,214 



1910 
1956 
5296 
2494 
408 



Incorporated Villages. 
1915 

Athens *1923 

Catskill 5373 

Coxsackie *2309 

Hunter * 405 

Tannersville 758 660 

* Indicates a decrease. 

Eight show a decrease since the 
he l\ 10 census. The largest increase, 
was made in the town of Hunter. 
There a gain of 245 was made. 

The town of Catskill shows a de- 
crease of 43 and the village an in- 
crease of 77. 






^ ^'. 



■M , 



■'^4^^0^ 



View shortly after construction. Note few houses on Street. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Official IniM 

STATE 

Governor Charles S. Whitman, New York 

Lieutenant Governor Edward Schoenick, Syracuse 

Secretary of State Francis M. Hugo, Watertown 

Comptroller Eugene M. Travis, Brooklyn 

State Treasurer James L. Wells, New York 

Attorney General Egbert E. Woodbury, Jamestown 

State Engineer and Surveyor Frank M. Williams, Goshen 

Congressman Charles B. Ward, Liberty 

State Senator Charles Walton, Kingston 

COUNTY 
Member of Assembly George H. Chase, Jewett 

County Judge Josiah C. Tallmadge, Catskill 

Sheriff Elmore Mackey, Athens 

County Clerk George B. Van Valkenburgh, Lexington 

County Treasurer Judson A. Betts, Catskill 

District Attorney Howard C. Wilbur, Catskill 

Superintendent ot Poor Ira T. Tolley, Cairo 

Election Commissioners — Thomas J. O'Hara, Prattsville. Charles A. 

Nichols, Catskill 
Commissioners of Equalization— Eugene Wayne, Catskill. Burton 

G. Dewell, Windham. Frederick Holsapple, Copake Falls 
Coroners — William M. Rapp, Catskill. Claude D. Mulberry, Wind- 
ham. R. Y. Hubbard, Tannersville. I. E. Van Hoesen. Cox- 
sackie. 
Chairman Board of Supervisors Elmer Krieger, Prattsville 

Clerk Board Supervisors William B. Townsend.Coxsackie 

Sealer of Weights and Measures .A. E. Ballon, Catskill 

Loan Commissioner Robert F. Story, Catskill 

APPOINTIVE LIST 
Surrogate Clerk Ja.iies Reilly, Catskill 

Stenographer Pearl R. Simmons, Catskill 

Deputy County Clerk Jasper K . Hotaling, New Baltimore 

Copyist Ethel Hallock, Catskill 

Clerk Election Commissioners Ralph Fancher, Catskill 

Clerk County Treasurer Mary A. Cooney, Catskill 

Court of Appeals Justice Emory A, Chase, Catskill 

Stenographer and clerk, Georgania Jackson 
49 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Under SheriflF 

Deputies — 
Charles Hitchcock, Athens 
William Peck, Jewett 
Marcus Deane, Catskill 
Michael Lackey jr., Tannersville 



Seymour June, Athens 

Ed. Griflin, Lexington 
Martin Chamberlin, Prattsville 
M. Earl. South Cairo 

Levi P. Corwall, Coxsackie 



Daniel S. \'incent, New Baltimore 

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 

Elmer Krieger, Chairman 



Ashland — H. Clay Ferris 
Athens — P'rank Nichols 
Cairo — Floyd F. Jones 
Catskill — J. Henry Deane 
Coxsackie — Dayton B. Sniill 
Durham— John Huyck 
Greenville— Lewis Hoose 



Halcott— Earl W. Jenkins 
Hunter — Thomas Seifferth, jr. 
Jewett — Frederick Goslee 
Lexington — -Abram V. Rooraback 
New i^altimore — Dale S. Baldwin 
Prattsville— Elmer Krieger 
Windham — Sidney L. Ford 



Clerk, William B. Townsend, Coxsackie 

SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS 
1st District— Thomas C. Perry, Catskill 
2d District -Robert M. McNaught, Windham, 
3d — District — Walter J. Decker, Hunter. 

(See Complete list under Schools) 

COMMISSIONERS BURIAL OF DECEASED SOLDIERS 
1st District— J. Hubbard Wilcox Catskill. 
2d District — John B. Van Wie, Coxsackie. 
3d District— David Vining, Big Hollow. 
4tli District — Edward Cole, Lexington. 



To\«7n Officers 



1914-1913 



Supervi.sor 
Town Clerk 

Adee V. Ferris 

William Currie 



ASHLAND 



Justices of Peace 



H. Clay Ferris 
Arthur C. Lee 

Samuel C. Clark 
Levi Tompkins 



60 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Sanford H. Tompkins 

Chas. P. Tompkins 

Claude Sutton 

Truant Officer 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

James E. Moore 

Orin Q. Flint 
Egbert M. Hallenbeck 



Assessors 
Alvah Tut tie 

Constables 

ATHENS 
Justices of Peace 



Charles Gonnerman 



Lambert Cooke 

Town Superintendent 

Prank Griffin 
James Adee 

Frank Nichols 
Richard Gilbert 

B. Iv. Edwards 
John D. Rouse 

Collector 
Assessors 
Henry R. Van Woert Wicks B. Spoor 

Cortland Van Valkenburgh 

Town Superintendent 
Overseers of Poor 
Joseph Robbins Ellsworth Perry 

Town Auditors 

Daniel W. Saunders Fred Best 

Thomas W. Perry 

Constables 

Charles W. Hitchcock John H. Steele 

George G. Scott Charles Jones 

Josiah Hallenbeck 

CAIRO 

Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

Justices of the Peace 
Francis C. Burnham 
Charles A. Bassett 

Assessors 
Herbert H. Bogardus 

James B. Edgerly 
Superintendent of Highways 
Collector 
Overseer of Poor 

Constables 
Florin P, Haines 
R. Baker 



Floyd Jones 
Harry Chadderdon 

Ira Vail 
Lysander Lennon 

Thomas H. Morrison 

Warren Walters 

Irving Turner 

Silas Finch 

Benjamin B. Bennett 
John Wiltse 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



CATvSKILL 

J. Henry Deane 
Jolin McCiee, (Edward Hall, acting clerk) 

Justices of the Peace 
Roscoel). Miller IraB. Kerr 

Dr. James B. Rouse George W. Winans 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk- 



Superintendent of Highways 

William Joesbury 
Collector 
Joseph Obert 
Harry B. Morris 



Assessors 
Lorenzo Overbaugh 

Overseers of Poor 
Town Auditors 



John Fitzsimmons 
William Castle 

vSupervisor 
Town Clerk 



Nelson Mattice 
Constables 



COXSACKIE 



Justices of the Peace 



Ivhvin C. Hallenbeck 
William T. Haswell 

Assessors 
Albert Pierce 

John Scudder 
.Superintendent of Miu:luvays 

Overseers of Poor 
George Johnson 

Town Auditors 
George S. Scott 

Hdward Webb 
Constables 
Charles Van \'alkenbui -h 

DURHAM 

Justices of the Peace 



vSupervisor 
Town Clerk 

John S. Baldwin 
Warren Fine 

Minthorn Smith 



Assessors 
Romaine Spencer 



Frank D. Overbaugh 

Watson Vedder 

Joseph S. Millington 

Harris B. Edwards 

F~red Timmerman 

James Fitzsimmons 
Mina Easland 

Dayton B. Smith 
Armstrong J. Hotaling 

Harrie Mc Curtis 
N. A. Calkins 

Arthur King 

Ambrose Day 

John S. Steele 

Theodore Palmer 

Charles Sharp 

John Huyck 
F'red Reynolds 

Z. A. Pratt 
George Allen 

Zina Rockfellow 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Collector 

Superintendent of Highways 

Ovenseer of Poor 



Clarence O'Hara 

John Hull 

C. H. Richmond 



GREENVILLE 
Justices of the Peace 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

Ira Hunt 

Mitchell Sanford 

Assessors 
Francis O'Hara 

Madison Youmans 
Superintendent ot Highways 



Charles Horton 
Collector 

Supervisor 
Town Clerk 



Overseers of Poor 



HAlvCOTT 



Justices of the Peace 



W. K. Crosby 

E. C. Morse 
Superintendent of Highways 



John F. VanValkenburgh 

Collector 
Overseer of Poor 



Assessors 



Luther Earle 



HUNTER 



Justices of the Peace 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

George H. Falkner 

Renwick Dibble 
Superintendent of Highways 

Assessors 
George Byrne 

Addison Traphagen 

Collector 

Overseers of Poor 
Otto Gordon 

Constables 
G. S. Hallenbeck 

53 



Lewis Hoose 
Ford B. Roe 

Milton H. Beare 
Elmer Flansburgh 

Omer T. Losee 

Arthur Evans 

Jacob Cameron 
Irwin Cameron 

Earl W. Jenkins 
James Whitney 

Harry Bradley 
Arthur Wileman 

W. D. Griffin 

Jacob Blish 

Arthur Gordon 
Herbert Dunham 

Thomas Seifterth jr. 
Julius Dolan 

Richard Haines 

Menzo Sharpe 

Claude L. Wiltse 

Herbert O'Hara 

Charles Haines 

Andrew Hill 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



JEWETT 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

Emmons Pond 
Jacob Stotz 

Borland Peck 

John Gripman 
Superintendent of Highwa3-s 
Collector 



Justices of the Peace 



Assessors 



Overseers of the Poor 
LEXINGTON 

Justices of the Peace 

Christopher Reill}- 
Assessors 



Ered Goslee 
Raymond Towner 

George Lockwood 
G. H. Chase 

Charles Thompson 

Charles Longyear 
George Wilson jr 

David Barnum 



Abram Rooraback 
Robert S. Tuttle 

Elmer Dunham 
Ran^^om Hogaboom 



John Race 

Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

John Kelle\- 

George \Y . Haner 

Romaine Kirk 
Superintendent of Highways James G. VanValkenburgh 

Collector Robert Kirke 

Overseers of the Poor 
Frank Patterson Romaine Van Valkenburgh 

NEW BALTIMORE 
Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

Justices of the Peace 
W. C. Harden 

Wm. H. Hotaling 

Assessors 
Melvin P. Hotaling 

Jaurdinette Carr 
Superintendent of Highv.-a3'S 
Collector 



Dale S. Baldwin 
A. G. Nelson 

Hezekiah Austin 
Byron Mansfield 

Isaac Travis 



Barney P. Gardenier 
Wilbur S. Vosburgh 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 



PRATTSVILLE 



54 



Elmer Krieger 
George R. Laverack 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Justices of the Peace 
Pardy A. Peckham 

Shirlej' Canimer 
Superintendent of Highways 

Assessors 
Salem Beers 

Charles Shoemaker 
Collector 
Overseer of Poor 



WINDHAM 



Supervisor 
Town Clerk 

Demont L. Chase 



Justices of the Peace 

Oswell R. Coe 
Assessors 
Oscar Fuller 

Romaine A. Butts 
Superintendent of Highways 
Collector 

Overseers of Poor 
Thomas Cryne 

Constables 
William H. Moon 

Burton R. Robinson 



Newell S. Griffin 

Frank Tompkins 

Andrew Carman 

Arthur Doyle 
George Fowler 

Sidney L. Ford 
Arthur Roach 

A. Newton Chattield 

Newell A. Peck 

Omar Hitchcock 
Orwell Mc Lashan 

David Vining 
A . ^Nlelvin vStewart 




The Old Toll Gate at Woodstock Bridge. 
65 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUXTV 



The Patei\1 Lines 

Previous to the formation of Greene County this section 
was mostly held under large land grants or patents, and these sec- 
tions were increased by purchases from the Indian tribes. We 
have not room to refer to these in detail. 



Patent 


Date 


Territory 


\'on Bremen 


1653 


Catskill 


Love ridge 


1053 


Catskill 


Bronk's 


1(362 


Coxsackie 


Loonenburgh 


1665 


Athens 


Coeymans 


1673 


Part of Coxsackie 


Catskill 


1678 


Catskill 


Korlarskill 


1678 


Coxsackie & Athens 


Van Vechten 


1686 


Catskill & Athens 


Lockerman 


1686 


Catskill 


Coxsackie 


1687 


Coxsackie 


Hayes 


1687 


The Vly, Catskill 


Baker's 


1691 


Freehold 


Fullerton 


1692 


Catskill 


Hotaling 


1697 


Coxsackie 


Hallenbeck 


1717 


Greenville 


Kiskatomajie 


1718 


Catskill 


Livingston 


1719 


Catskill 


Beekman 


1719 


Catskill 


Batavia 


1736 


Windham 


Linzey 


1738 


Catskill 


Stighkoke 


1743 


Coxsackie 


Van Bergen 


1743 


Coxsackie 


Maitland 


1743 


Coxsackie 


Roseboom 


1751 


Athens & Coxsackie 


Hardenburgh 


1751 


*l-3 of County 


Prevost 


1764 


Greenville 


Maitland 


1765 


Durham 


Seaton 


1767 


Durham 


Baker's 


1769 


Catskill 


Bake Oven 


1771 


Catskill 


Stewart 


1771 
56 


Durham 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The first patent appears to have been Von Bremen's, in 1653. 

In addition to the patents there were hundreds of grants of 
lands, 

'^The Hai-denbnrgh patent was the greatest of all and em- 
lirnccd Hunter, Lexington, Jewett, Halcott and portions of Pratts- 
villcand Ashland. 140,000 acres. 

A large portion of the Hardenburgh Patent is still virgin 
forest and includes state lands. 

The district of Coxsackie of which Freehold was a part ex- 
tended from the Hudson River to Conesville in Schoharie county. 



Orgai\i2<ation of To^wixs 

The organization of the several towns in Greene county was 
as follows: 

Catskill, March 7, 1788, formed from Albany county. 

Coxsackie, March 7, 1788, formed from Albany county. 

Durham, (Freehold), March 8, 1790, from Coxsackie. 

Windham, March 23, 1798, from Ulster county. 

Cairo, (Canton), March 28, 1803, Catskill, Coxsackie, and 
Durham. 

Greenville, (Freehold), March 26, 1803, from Catskill and 

Durham. 

New Baltimore, March 15, 1811, from Coxsackie. 

Hunter, (Greenland), Jan. 27, 1813, from Windham. 

Lexington, (New Goshen), Jan. 27, 1813, from Windham. 

Athens, Feb. 25, 1815, from Catskill and Coxsackie. 

Prattsville, March 8, 1833, from Windham, 

Ashland, March 23, 1848, from Prattsville and Windham. 

Jewett, Nov. 16, 1849, from Hunter and Lexington. 

Halcott, Nov. 19, 1851, from Lexington. 

The Villages in 1839 

According to an old gazeteer in 1859, Ashland had 400 
population, 2 churches, and a collegiate institution, of Methodist 
denomination. 

Athens— Incorporated 1805, population 1747, 5 churches. 
57 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



('airo— Population 353, 4 churches, Presbyterian and Bap- 
tist, organized 17i)*.). 

Catskill — Population 2520, 5 churches, 3 newspapers, 2 
banks, and many mercantile and manufacturing concerns. Brick 
industry principal. 

Leeds — Population 450, 2 churches and mills. 

Palenville — 2 tanneries woolen factory and 18 buildings. 

Coxsackie— Population 1800 , 6 churches, academy, bank, 
newspaper, brick yards and ship building. 

Durham — 2 churches, 30 houses, and population not given. 

Oak Hill— Population 320 and 2 churches. 

Cornwallville— 15 houses. South Durham 10 houses, Center- 
ville a hamlet. 

Greenville— 3 churches, an academy and 35 houses. 

Freehold — Church and 24 houses. 

Norton Hill — 16 houses. 

East Greenville — 1 church and 10 houses. 

Halcott— West Lexington, only a post office. 

Hunter — Population 390, 2 churches and several factories. 

Tannersville— 3 churches, post office, and tanneries. Pop- 
ulation not stated. It is said that the first settlers had their prop- 
erty confiscated by Whigs, and that these persons or families were 
Samuel, Elisha and John Haines, who trailed from Kingston 
through Mink Hollow, in 1791. A man named Olmsted built the 
first grist mill, kept the first store and hotel according to this rec- 
ord and John Haines was the first birth in this section- 

Jewett — 2 churches and 14 houses. Formerly Lexington 
Heights. 

Jewett Center — Postoffice. 

East Jewett — Postoffice. 

Lexington— 2 churches and 27 buildings. 

Westkill— 1 church and 31 buildings. 

Bushnellville — Hamlet. 

New Baltimore — Population 709, Scutters, Willow and 
Little Island annexed from Kinderhook, 2 churches and ship yard. 

Med way— Post office. 

58 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Prattsville - Population 617, 3 churches and several factories. 

Red Falls— Population 231, cotton factory and paper mill. 

Windham— Population 350 and 3 churches. 

Hensonville— Population 134. 

Big Hollow — 2 churches and 12 houses. 

Union Society — Post office. 

There were 161 schools in the county, 11,869 pupils, and 
there were 15,591 males and 15,546 females, There were raised 
6000 horses, 12,000 oxen, 12,000 cows, 19,000 sheep, 14,000 
hogs, 79,000 bushels of winter wheat and over 400,000 bushels of 
spring wheat, 116,000 bushels of potatoes, over 1,0000,000 pounds 
of butter, 21,000 pounds of cheese and about 7000 yards of cloth 
woven . 

The Villager of 1913 

The following villages are located in the several towns; 

Ashland -Ashland and East Ashland. 

Athens-- Athens and Lime Street. 

Cairo— Cairo, South Cairo, Purling, Acra, Gayhead and 
Round Top. 

Catskill — Catskill, Leeds, Palenville, Lawrenceville, Alsen, 
Kiskatom and Cementon. 

Coxsackie — Coxsackie, West Coxsackie, Surprise, Urlton 
and Climax. 

Durham — Durham. East Durham, West Durham, South 
Durham, Cornwallville, Hervey Street Oak Hill and Sunside. 

Greenville— Greenville, East Greenville, West Greenville, 
Greenville Center, Norton Hill, Freehold and Place's Corners. 

Halcott — Halcott. 
Hunter— Hunter, Tannersville, Haines Falls, Edgewood, Piatt 
Clove, Lanesville, Onteora Park, Elka Park and Sunset Park. 

Jewett -Jewett Center, East Jewett and Jewett Heights. 

Lexington— Lexington, West Kill, Bushnellville and 
Spruceton. 

New Baltimore— New Baltimore, New Baltimore Stn., Re- 
sult, Stanton Hill and Medway. 

Prattsville-Prattsville and Red Falls. 

Windham -Windham, Hensonville, Big Hollow, Brooklyn, 
East Windham and Union Society. 



59 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 





rngMM^^au/^nrnM^^^mmrtl^;,^^ '^^' '"'31 




^^^1 






1 






^^<^ 




"^^ 


^Pl^PF^ 


|f|#^«-- 




(•^ J- ^ 


...«a^ 



Last Old Log House in Lexington. 



^opulatiorv of Gouixty 



Town 

Ashland 

Athens 

Cairo 

Catskill 

Coxsackie. . . . 

Durham 

Greenville. . . 

Halcott 

Hunter 

Jevvett 

Lexington . . . . 
New Baltimore, 

Prattsville 

Windham 

Total 



1810 


1820 


1830 


1840 


1850 


1865 


1875 


1900 










1290 


1080 


935 


692 




2030 


2425 


2593 


2986 


2978 


3467 


2891 


2035 


2353 


2912 


2812 


2831 


2341 


2318 


2176 


4245 


3510 


4861 


3458 


5454 


6G79 


7985 


8566 


4047 


2353 


3373 


3799 


3741 


3561 


3991 


4102 


1 2944 


2980 


3039 


2613 


2600 


2412 


2209 


1636 


i 2304 


2374 


2565 


226] 


2242 


2246 
436 


2031 
391 


1651 
350 




1025 


1960 


2433 


1849 


1641 


1564 


2788 










1452 


1110 


1114 


1028 




1798 


2548 


2902 


2263 


1520 


1314 


1153 




2036 


2370 


2347 


2381 


2629 


2664 


2283 








2069 


1989 


1484 


1121 


775! 


3961 


2536 


3472 


2670 


2048 


1591 


1488 


1387 1 


19536 


22995 


29525 


3x957 


33126 


31710 


32592 


31478 



1910 

640 

2720 

1841 

9066:- 

3620 

1475 

1556 

331 

2699 

1054 

1954 

1936 

781 

1438 

30214 



The population of Athens village 1956, Catskill 5296, Coxsackie 
2494, Tannersville 660, Hunter 480 last census. 

60 



/■ 



/'"" 



^*|::-,ai.i«l 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



; Court Ho. 



X Eh 



IT a. 



^ 2 



OJ^, 



ow 



^ n 

o 






BRIDGE ST. 










o^ : 

Q 

5 ■ 



CLARK ST. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 





The Old Court House, Now the Masonic Temple. 

The County ^uilding^. 

COURT HOUSE 

The old court house was erected in 1813, and stands today 
at the corner of Franklin and Bridge streets, Catskill, practically 
the same as when it was built. It was enlarged during the 80's 
and some alterations and improvements made in front of the 
building. At present it is owned and occupied by Catskill Lodge, 
F. & A. M., and a portion leased to the town of Catskill, for jus- 
tice and town board purposes. 

The new court house was erected in 1908-9, pursuant to a 
resolution of the Greene County Board of Supervisors, the aggre- 
gate cost bemg about $180,000. It is without doubt the finest 

03 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



county building in the state. It is built of Ohio sand stone and 
lireproof. The interior is finished with tirazza and inlaid floors, 
marble wainscoting, and hard natural woods. The Supreme court 
chambers, court room, supervisors' rooms, and County- Judge's 
chambers are furnished with antique oak furnishings, and the 
carpets in keeping with the other fittings. The county treasurer, 
sheriff and election commissioners have excellent chambers. The 
vaults for records are fireproof and very spacious. 

The building is located at the corner of Main and Bridge 
streets, and the surroundings are first class. On the lawn is a 
grand fountain, the gift to the county of the late Senator William 
P. Fiero, of Catskill, costing a large sum of money. The county 
jail costing about 810,000 is located in the rear of the court house, 
and the Carnegie library costing 830,000, is across the street, as 
also are the Presbyterian church and Masonic Temple. Grand 
buildings that replaced unsightly structures. In the vestibule of 
the court house is the following tablet which tells the story of the 
beautiful structure. 

Erected 1908-190!) 

Board of Supervisors - 



Chairman, Charles A. Post 
Franois L. Dodge 
Charles A. Post 
Charles P. Jones 
William S. Borthwick 
Lorenzo Van Valkenburgh 
George H. Chase 
Edgar Palmer 



Clerk, Geo. B. \'an V:ilkenl:)urgh 
Sidney L. Ford 
, Elmore Mackey 
William Townsend 
Edgar Roe 
Renwick Dibble 
^'an Resselaer Kirke 
Elmer Krieger 



Charles A. Post 
Renwick Dibble 

Emory A. Chase 
Josiah C. Tallmadge 
Frank H. Osborn 



Building Committee 

Elmer Krieger 
George H. Chase 

Advisory Committee 

William S. C. Wiley 

Clarence E. Bloodgood 

P. Gardner Coffin 
64 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Furniture Committee 
William B. Townsend Edgar Roe 

Frank L. Dodge Sidney L. Ford 

Van Rensselaer Kirke 

William S. Beardsley, architect. 
Peter Keeler Company, builders. 

The county barn cost about $5000. The barn and the re- 
taining walls and side walks of the court house were built by 
George W. Holdridge of Catskill. 

The Supervisors' committee of 1909 reported the account 
for new Court House and Jail and fixtures: 

Peter Keeler Building Company $140,068 

Fixed furniture 5,900 

Metal furniture, Art Metal Construction Co 9,645 

Furniture and furnishings,' Derby Desk Co 8,312 

Lighting fixtures, Black & Boyd 2,681 

$166,601 

Since that time many improvements have l^een made. 

Corner Stone Laying 

The laying of the corner stone of the new court house was 
made a great day in Catskill, and there were 400 masons present 
from all quarters of the county . The masons had charge of the 
exercises, and Hudson, Kingston, Albany, Prattsville, Windham, 
Coxsackie, Hunter, New Baltimore, Greenville, Oak Hill, Cairo, 
and other places were represented. Cairo alone turned out 40 
masons- Lafayette Commandry of Hudson paraded in uniform. 
District Attorney Howard C Wilbur was Grand Marshall, assist- 
ed by Geo. A. Dykeman and F. L. Vedder. Hudson and Catskill 
bands furnished the music, and the Board of Supervisors headed 
the parade. The address was by Grand Master Charles Smith. 
Village papers, historical paper by Justice Chase, coins and docu- 
ments were sealed in the corner stone. 

65 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The Old County Jail. 

JAIL 

The count}- jail was located on lands or site of the old acad- 
emy which was pv.ichased in 1801, and in 1803 work was com- 
menced on the hui'.ding, which was of brick and stone. This 

66 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



building was enlarged in 1802, and in the 80's. The old cells 
were on numerous occasions given another sheathing of heavy iron 
until at the time they were put in the hands of the junk man in 
1909 they had six coverings and the old iron alone brought Mrs. 
Beardsley $800. We present a view of the old structure, and also 
a view of the new Heidelburgh. From the research of Justice 
Chase we glean the following facts in regard to the jail and the 
court house, all of which are of great interest: 

First, that the lands were purchased in 1801, of Ira Day, 
Stephen Day, George Hale, John V. D. S. Scott and Thomas 
Hale, and a later purchase in the same year of Abram Salisbury, 
Wessell Salisbury, and William Elting, being the lot and build- 
ing whereon the academy was then standing. This academy be- 
came the court house. In 1812 it was decided to build a new 
court house, Ira Gay, Isaac DuBois, Orrin Day, Joseph Klein, 
Ezra Hawley and Lyman Hall gave bonds in the penal sum of 
$16,000 to procure a lot, and they secured the land on which the 
Masonic Temple is standing, and Orrin Day and Isaac DuBois 
were appointed a commission to erect a court house and a fire 
pioof vault. . There has been an idea that this building was des- 
troyed by fire, but Justice Chase says that he can find no authori- 
ty for this statement. 

The history of the jail shows that there were four executions 
taking place within its walls, the last one being that of Joe Waltz, 
the murderer of one Hoelcher, a scissors grinder; Warren Wood, 
John Kelley and Robert James being the others. These men were 
all hanged, and the old ropes are stored away in the attic of the 
court house. Balls and chains worn by them are in possession of 
Mrs. Charles Beardsley, who bought the old jail. 

RoI)ert James murdered Patrick Flynn, a drover at East 
Durham. Judge Edmunds presided at the trial, in ISIG. 

John Kelley murdered Lucretia Lewis at Prattsville, in 
1847. He was tried before Judge Willard. 

Warren Wood murdered Hiram Williams of Greenville, in 
1853, and he was tried before Judge Ira Harris. 

Lyman Tremaine, Rufus W. Watson, Mitchell Sanford and 
67 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Sidney Crowell were the district attorney's who prosecuted these 
cases- 
There have been a great many other important murder 
trials since that time, but all resulted in lesser degree convictions. 
The new jail is located on Bridge street and in the rear of 
the court house. It is a modern two story structure, of Ohio sand- 
stone, with the apartments of the sheriff and his family facing 
the street and the jail proper in the rear, the entrance to the jail 
being from the alley, and into the oft'ice of the sheriff. There are 
30 steel cages, or cells, two hospital rooms, a padded cell, in nil 8 
departments on 3 floors. All the conditions are modern, with 
bath, toilet, steam heat and electric light. The basement is sup- 
plied with bunks and is used for tramps. The present sheriff is 
Elmore Mackey of Athens, and Mrs. Mackey is matron. It is re- 
garded as one of the best and finest jails in the state. 
THE HEIDELBURGH 
No history of Greene county would be complete without a 
description of the Heidelburgh, one of the most charming homes 
or hostelries that is to be found in all Greene county, which Phoe- 
nix like has risen from the dust of the famous old Greene county 
jail. For while the original walls of 18 and 20 inches thickness 
of solid masonry remain, there has been added a sightly mansard 
roof and dormer windows, bringing into existence a large hall and 
11 commodious rooms, where once was only a boxed enclosure 
that led to the cupoloa. And it was underneath this cupoloa that 
Joseph Waltz, the scissors grinder murderer was executed. From 
the beautiful rooms of the third floor is the grandest view of the 
mountains to be found in Catskill, and more than 60 miles of the 
mountains are to be seen. On the second floor there remains the 
large hallway, and the extra wide doorways, but the cells that 
were devoted to prisoners, who had been guilty of lesser crimes, 
and to women if such there happened to be committed, have giv- 
en place to a grand suite of connecting rooms, and all of the rooms 
are large, and have 12 foot ceilings. The staircase and much of 
the finishirgs throughout the house are from lumber that was 
sawed out of the oak planks that for 112 years had formed part 
of the jail. These were sawed and fitted by Mr. Beardsley, who 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



is a skilled architect and builder. Perhaps the greatest change is 
on the first floor where the large hall still remains; and the front 
door is the same. The two steel plated cells, dark and repulsive, 
with their single window of about two feet square, studded with 
steel bars, have given place to a lovely dining room that is 20x50 
feet. At the spot where hung the massive bunch of keys to pad- 
locks that weighed about ten pounds now stands a handsome 
grandfather's clock. There are parlors, the bridal suite, kitchen 
with the old jail range still doing service, and a refrigerator room. 
Underneath is the laundry, heating apparatus, etc. The veranda 
has been extended and on the east side a handsome porch spans 
the drivew^ay, and lends a colonial air to the structure. The en- 
tire structure is furnished throughout in a simple but luxuriant 
manner. 

In it all there is never a dream of the scissors grinder or 
the pitiful creatures that were for 112 years incarcerated in the 
mouldy smelling and vermin infested dark and repulsive cells. 
Preserved in the attic are chains, foot clamps and iron 
balls that were attached to leg chains, branding irons that tradit- 
ion says were used on the very bad prisoners, padlocks, handcufis, 
with chains all for desperate characters 

When in 1909, Mrs. Beardsley bid in the T»roperty for 
$3000, Catskill people thought that she had the ghost of Banco 'on 
her hands, and even ^Nlr. Beardsley couldn't just understand how- 
she had come to get him that rummage sale stuff. Possibly he 
fumed a little and wondered how he was going to get rid of the 
double tier of steel cells, and how after all there could be anything 
worth saving in the structure. Leave that to the genius and ar- 
tistic Mrs. Beardsley and we have arrived at the solution of it all. 
She got the grandest view in all Catskill, and she got a home that 
would be a palace for the Caesars. Out of the luins of the cells, 
she chased $10 gold pieces, that had been hidden away in the 
crevices of years, and out of the 80 tons of the finest Norway iron 
she found other treasure, and no sooner had it gone out that she 
had purchased the jail than Troy, Poughkeepsie, Kingston and 
Utica iron dealers began to offer her 30, 35, 40 and finally 50 
cents per hundred pounds for the iron, and she closed with a 

(39 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




70 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Kingston dealer, who sent six men to cut off the bolts and get the 
iron in pieces so that it could be moved. $S00 for old iron and 
all she had to do was listen to the din and ci-ash of the getting it 
out. The old museum to which we refer, she has has not yet dis- 
posed of, though it is of considerable value. Besides she has the 
commitment papers of a hundred yec(rs. The old cells had no less 
than six coatings of iron on them. .Some of them bore the saw 
marks of John Kelley, the desperate criminal who escaped during 
the term of Sheriff Decker. 

In it all Mrs. Beardsley showed a pluck and determination that 
is remarkable. For two weeks she worked with bar and hammers 
to tear down a portion of that oid 20 inch wall on the second 
Moor in order to make a change that she wanted, and all the while 
Mr. Beardsley wondering at the increasing pile of brick in the 
rear of the jail did not know what she was up to. She pried them 
loose and let them down in a pail attached to a rope. When he 
found it out there were some men oxi the job very soon. 

It is a remarkable fact that within a stone's throw of the 
Heidelburgh there are six otner splendid dwellings which Mr. 
Beardsley has erected and which have successively been occupied 
by himself and his family. All built upon honor and splendid 
homes. There is the Edgar Root place, the Philip Van Orden 
mansion, the Abram Joseph house, Clarence Sage's house, the 
Newcorab cottage, and the INTichael Edwards place This is in 
addition to many handsome homes and structures that Mr. Beard- 
sley has built for others, during the long term of over 40 years as 
head architect for Edwin Lampman. 

ALMS HOUSE 
The Greene (Jounty Alms House is located at Cairo, nnd 
is a two story brick structure erected in 1SS3, uhich is credit to 
the county in every way. It accommodates about ninety persons. 
In addition to the main building which we show elsewhere, there 
is a two story frame building, which houses about 35 or 40 per- 
sons. In addition to the buildings referred to. there are barns, 
sheds, etc., and a farm of about 198 acres, of which 100 is under 
cultivation. The county house is heated by steam, has electric 

71 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



light, and all the conditions are excellent. Ira T. Tollej- is super- 
intendent and Mrs. Tollej' matron. The first structure cost about 
85000. The present structure could not be replaced for §30,000. 
The farm was originally 10 acres, and about §500 worth of produce 
was raised- Very largely the farm now supplies the needs of the 
inmates ir. the matter of produce. (See town of Cairo for further 
description of county house.) 

SPIRIT OF THE COURT HOUSE 

We are indebted to Justice Emory A. Chase for further 
facts in regard to the lands occupied now by the court house, jail, 
and county barn: 

The lot was a part of the Gysbert Uyt de Bogart lands, pur- 
chased from the Esopus Indians, in 1684, and at that time was a 
forest. In 1738 it was a part of the Lindsay Patent, and passed to 
George Clark, who owned pretty much all of Catskill. The county 
property comprised lots 12 and 13 owned by Egbert Bogardus and 
James Barker, also owner of a large patent. On the map of prop- 
erty destroyed it 1851, we show a number of buildings, of which 
one of the most important outside of the three churches burned 
was the old Greene County Hotel, formerly known as Donnelly's. 
This hotel is mentioned many times in the early reminiscence of 
Catskill. It was probably built close to the year 1800. 

Its a httle bit remarkable that this site should have been the 
scene of so many interesting bits of history. It had many fires, 
subsequent to the fire of 1851, which was the most disastrous in 
the history of Catskill. 

The fire of 1851 started on the west side of Main street and 
swept through to what is now Broad street. Only buckets of water 
were available and a north west wind carried the fire beyond con- 
trol. The court house, now the Masonic Temple had one side 
burned. The residence of Rufus King, still standing, was partially 
burned. The small office of Powers & Day did not burn, being 
fire proof. 

So much for the fires. 

The Rev. Anson DuBois stated that in 1784, according to 
the statement of his grandmother, the court house lot comprised 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



an orchard and that one day she was surprised to see a stranger 
enter the orchard, engage in prayer, at the foot of a tree. Then 
on rising take from his pocket a hymn book and begin to sing. 
Then he read a chapter, and delivered a sermon, being it appeared 
the first Methodist preacher to visit Greene county. He had a good 
congregation and at the close announced that in four weeks he 
would return and preach in the same nlace. 

The beautiful court house, and the grand memorial fountain 
nov,' mark the spot of this first gospel sermon. A curious and re- 
markable incident. Was it not the Spirit of the court house? 

Not for many years after the organization of the county was 
any provision made by the Board of Supervisors for a surrogate's 
office. John H. Cuyler, surrogate from March 29, 1800, to June 
18, 1808; Dorrance Kirkland, surrogate from June 18, 1808, to 
March 15, 1810; and again from February 5, 1811, to April 18, 
1838, maintained the surrogate's office at Coxsackie John Adams 
surrogate from March 15, 1810, to February 5, 1811, and Lyman 
Tremaine, surrogate from June 7, 1847, to January 1, 1852, main- 
tained the surrogate's office at Durham. The office was first opened 
in the court house by John Sanderson, surrogate, May 1, 1889. 




On the King's Road, Today as in 1800, 
73 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Hei\ry Hudson 

The discoverer of the state of 
New York, and the first white 
man to look upon the great 
river that bears his name, was 
horn in obscurity and his Hfe 
bark passed to the great be" 
yond forio\^ing a mutiny of 
the sailors on his ship who 
set him afloat with his son 
and seven sailors on the dark 
waters of the bay that also 
bears his name. Christopher 
Columbus sailed from Genoa, 
his native town, and discover- 
ed America. John and Sebas- 
tian Cabot set out, in 1497, 
from England, discovering 
Newfoundland in 1497, and 
then explored the Atlantic coast as far as Florida. Hudson also 
was an English navigator and was in the service of the Dutch, 
but no one knows the place of his birth. He sailed from Holland 
in the service of the Dutch East India Company in a small ship 
known as the Half Moon, leaving Amsterdam April 4th, 1()()9, and 
anchored off the Highlands in September of the same year. He 
passed a month in exploring the waters of the river and went as 
far as Albany. He was attacked by bands of Indians who came 
out in their canoes, but had no trouble in preventing their doing 
any damage. At Catskill, where anchorage appears to have been 
made, he was met by friendly Indians who brought corn and 
vegetables to him. Old writers tell us of an Indian tradition that 
refers to the coming of the Half Moon, which they regarded as 
the Manittou or Great Spirit, and that they regarded with awe 
and reverence the arrival of the great boat. Compared with the 
birch bark canoes of the natives the Half Moon was 75 feet in 
length and her sails appeared as the wings of a great white bird 

74: 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



which seemed to float without energy. The river they called the 
jNIahicannittuck. On a subsequent voyage his tragic death occurred. 
The murderers went unpunishpd, so far as law and justice were 
concerned . 




The Half Moon at Anchor Off Catskill Point 

Roberl Fultorv 

Inseparably^ connected witli 
the history of the Hudson 
should be woven the invention 
of the steamboat, which was 
distined to render the Hudson 
River the most important in 
the world. Robert Fulton was 
born in Little Brittain, Pa., 
in 1765, and his energies ap- 
pear to have been along the line of mechanics. 
As early as 1801 he invented a plunging boat 
which was calculated to do exactly what the 
to-day submarines have accomnlished in war- 
fare. He successfully demonstrated the possibility of blowing up 
a boat, but the British government discouraged the project. The 
first steamboat on the Hudson River was built by him and made 
he trip from New York to Albany in the spring of 1807. In 1814 

75 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



he invented another submarine, to carry 100 men and the govern- 
ment approved the plans. He died in 1815, however, before the 
boat had been completed, and nothing came of it. 



CLERMONT • t807 




Catskill and the Hudson River 

As Greene County has been indebted to her beautiful 
mountains for her fame, so has she from the beginning been 
indebted to the Hudson for her wonderful transportation facilities. 
Of this transportation the Hudson River Day Line has for over 
sixty years been a great factor, and the enterprise of this company 
and its extensive advertising of the Catskill district has had much 
to do with the growth and prosperity of Catskill and tlie entire 
county. 

In the earlier days such day boats as the "Armenia," 212 
feet long, the "Alida,'' 27G feet long and the "Francis Skiddy," 
322 feet long, made a history in passenger steamboat transporta- 
tion. Then the "Daniel Drew,'' the "Chauncey Vibbard'' and 
the "Mary Powell" made better history and became more famous, 
and these were followed in turn by the "Albany,"' Hendrick 
Hudson," Robert Fulton" and "Washington Irving" of the 
present time, which steamers make without doubt the greatest 
quartette of river carriers in the world. 



nuasoNl\ivEi 

^HOWINC ROUTE 



ALBANY' 

■160 MUes from K Y. 




Fort Log r 
Edgewater / 
Bhady Sido 
Bulla Vf 
Weehawken, 

NEW YORI 

Hoboken C 
Jersey CityJ 



I' The great silver 
highway that led cap- 
tive Hendrick Hudson 
and the million navi- 
gators of sloops, and 
schooners, brigs, and 
ships of the early 
times, may have lost 
some of the primeval 
forest whose reflections 
were shimmered in an 
ever spreading, ever 
opening picture of 
beauty, but the added 
charm of civilization 
remains, and in ever 
growing beauty and 
color has a greater 
charm as the years go 
on. We saw in the 
piigeant of the Hudson 
Fulton Celebration , 
the canoe of the Red 
Man, the hardy sailors 
in the Half Moon, the 
sprightlier navigators 
in the Clermont, and 
like Lilliputs they 
crept in the shadows 
of the great steamers 
and floating palaces of 
the Day Line, and the 
ancient Hendrick lost 
in the comparsion — 
though all his great- 
ness and glory remain. 
These old boats that 
took dnys to get up 
and down the river 
were classics of their 
time. 

But imagine Hen- 
drick Hudson, naviga- 
tor, on a velvet settee 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



on the Hendrick Hudson, of 1915, listening to the daily concert 
of the Metropolitan Orchestra, nndcr the direction of Martin \'an 
Praag. 

Imagine him, if you will, in the midst of such scenes as 
today press the entire shore of the Hudson. After having aero- 
planed to New York and then taken the boat at Debrosses street, 
passing the several towns and cities shown in map on the preced- 
ing page, dining sumptuously, and at :] p. m. stepping off the 
boat at Catskill Point, where the Indians in canoes once met hini. 
Hustling into a Mountain Railroad train or waiting auto, and in 
an hour's time standing at the summit of the distant blue line 
that threw its charm across the picture— the Catskill Mountains, 
sentinels of creation, and crowning glorv still of the great region 
discovered by himself, Sept. 2d, 160'.). 

In Eastman's History of New York, lS-2^), we tind that on 
one of the trips of Henry Hudson up the river, in which he spent 
ten weeks getting as far as wdiat probably was the mouth of the 
Catskill creek they were met by a party of Indians, and that after 
the usual exchange of corn and skins, Hudson left the Indians 
with axes, hoes and stockings. The following year when Hudson 
again sailed up the river they found the same Indians wearing 
the axes and hoes attached to their necks as ornaments, and the 
stockings being in use as pouches for tobacco. Hudson then put 
helves in the axes and showed them how to chop down trees. This 
was around 1610. 

From documentary works we have obtained a number of 
vie.vs that are appropriate in connection with the early history of 
the Hudson, and the subsequent development of steamboating. 
For the views of the Hudson River Day Line steamboats, and of 
some of the first boats, we are indebted to the management of this 
line. 

The Clermont was 133 feet long and 18 feet beam, 8 feet 
hold . Speed 4 miles an hour. Those who saw the replica of this 
old boat as she appeared with the Half Moon in the great celebra- 
tion at Catskill will remember with what slowness she tiaveled up 

78 



iDEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



the river, holding the great fleet to a speed of 4 miles as she for 
the first and last time traversed the Hudson under her own steam. 

The Clermont made two trips a week, and it took from 30 
to 30 hours to cover the distance. This was an improvement on 
the stage trip however, which took from three to four days, never 
less than 3 days. The stage fare was $10 to Albany, $21 to Buffalo. 
The steamboat fare to Albany was about S8. 

The following is a reproduction of the very t)rief announce- 
ment that appeared in the columns of the American Citizen on 
on Monday, Aug. 17, 1807 : 

Mr Fulton's ingenious steamboat, invented with a view to 
the navigation of the INIississippi river from New Orleans upwards, 
sails today from the North river near the state prison, to Albany. 
The velocity of the steamboat is calculated at 4 miles an hour; it 
is said that it will make a progress of two miles against the current 
of the Mississippi; and if so will certainly be a very valuable 
acquisition to the commerce of the western states. 

The fare from Albany to New York is now $\ .r^() by day 
line, and competition has brought the night trip to SI excursion. 

The Catskill Evening Line steamers for a number of sea- 
sons made round trips to New York the same day, leaving Cats- 
kill at A. M., and returning to Catskill at S P. M. And all for 
.*1.25 







The Mary Powell, an Early Giant of the Day Line, 




TKe G,rai\d rioating Palaces of To-Da> 

The Magnificent vSteel Steamer, Hendrick Hudson, of the iJdy Line, licensed to carry 
5500 passengers. Compare it with the Half Moon. 




The Robert 1-ulton, Another Giant Steamer of the Daj- Line. Compare this boat with 

the Clermont. 




-M OJ i< 



bD 








ij 


be 








o 










n 


TO 




a 


U 


^ 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The early Catskill steaml)oating shows Bogardus & Cooke, 
and probably inenibcrs of the Day family were in l)upine«« around 
1800. Following came Donnelly, Cook c^'Co., F. N. Wilson after 
whom Wilson Fire Company is named, and William Wilson form- 
ing the Companj'. Then came the freighting firm of Penfield, 
Day and Co., Sherwood Day, Orrin Day and .Samuel Penfield 
previous to LSI 2. Later the Penfield firm sold to Charles Beach, 
Isaac Pruyn and William Wilson, and about this time the steam- 
boats, Frank and Washington were put on the line. The Wave, 
the Star, the Pratt and the Rip \'an Winkle were tlie barges. The 
Frank was the first Catskill steamlwat, the date of wliich is not 
certain. C. L. Beach & Co. owned the I'tica, and afterwards the 
Thomas Powell and the Sunnyside, these boats were used by the 
government as transports during the 60's in the war period. Then 
came the firm of Cornell, Horton & Co., and Black & Donahue 
who changed the name of the company to The Catskill and New 
York Steamboat Co. They built the Catskill which was burned at 
Kingston. The Charlotte Vanderbilt another boat of the line w^as 
sunk bv Beldcn's steam yacht the Yosemite. 




■1 lit htalL-lv 



The stately Kaater-kill, and Onteora known as the River 
Queen and the commodious and Ix-autiful Clermont have l)rr.ught 
the line into favor and note. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



TheMcManus another well known boat of the company was 
burned as also was the Steamer Redfield, rated fine boats in their 
day. The Walter Brett went the route and was finally broken up 
by the wreckers. The Kaaterskill a grand boat with double decks 
of state rooiTis was a floating palace . After serving on the Catskill 
route she was taken to Albany and ran on the Capitol City Line 
until tlie fall of 1914 when she was taken to the wreckers at New 
London. 

Another of the earlier boats was the General Sedgwick and 
the Escort, both being used in war times as transports. 

While the company has been prosperous it has been unfort- 
unate in the loss of so many fine boats worth a large some of money 
and has suffered a number of fires at their storehouses, the last 
one of three wiping out the large and completely filled storehouse 
on the dock at Catskill. They had also yery severe fire losses at 
Hudson • 




Onteora/Queen of the River, Fastest of Them All. 
83 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 

Other boats raniiliar to C'at-killians arc tlie JCloise, former- 
ly on the line between e'atsUil! and Hudson, sold to New York 
parties and ran on the East river, and The Steamer Isabella still 
running on theCatskill Hudson route This boat has been remodel- 
ed a number of times and is in Hne shape. 

In r.»ll there was placed on the Catskill Evening line the 
freighter known as the Storm King, a commodious boat that is 
doing well. 

The boats running Ijetween Catskill and Albany, have been 
the City of Hudson, a splendid boat, with shapely lines and very 
fast. This boat took the place of the Peter G. Coffin, and was des- 
troyed by tire in the <SOs. Then came the General, and the Ursula 
will be remembered as a beautiful propeller, and very popular. 
This boat made her last trips in 1913, and in 1914 near the close 
of the season the Phillips came on the line. 




Jsabc-Ua, Rouiidino tie Hop-0-Xose. 
84 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Among the men who have been connected with the company 
and who have always worked hard for the success of Catskill and 
Greene county as well, were ('harles L. Rickerson, Edwin H. 
Snyder and George M. Snyder, the present head of the company 
being Charles M. Englis of Brooklyn. The Snyders and Mr.Jlick- 
erson passing away within the recollection of the writer. William 
J. Hughes has been treasurer of the company for a long term of 
years, and is regarded as one of the ablest men in his line in the 
state. As treasurer of Greene County for a number of years his 
work was of the highest character. 




Isabella, Leaving Creek Dock. 

We have not space to refer to the boats of many other lines. 
The Steamer Livingston has for many years been doing business 
between Saugerties and Athens, stopping at Catskill each way. 
Capt. Winans has been at the head of that enterprise. The New- 
burgh line boats, Martin and Tremper make regukir landings at 
Catskill, 

Among the old skippers who navigated tlie stormy waters 
of the deep sea were some of familiar name, though not of face. 
Capt. Van Loan, Barnet Du Bois, James Bogardus, Abram Post, 
Capt. Jacob Dunham, who had stories of adventure in the West 
Indies and capture by the pirates, for Catskill and Hudson were to 
be reckoned with, and Hudson in particular had her valiant tars 
chasing'great whales in quest of that essential and usefulcommod- 

85 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ity whalebone and whale oil. The steel trust has wiped out the 
whale bone trust, and the Standard oil magnates have put one 
over on the blubbering whale. Whale oil and tallow candles have 
had to passi'rom their positions, and it's just touch the button for 
light There was old Admiral Drake, Captain Britton and 
C'aptani Hyde, wlio passed their log book tales of far oft' lands and 
terrible adventures, until they were looked upon as most remark- 
able men. Thurlow Weed, one of the great newspaper men of the 
ftate, and founder of the Albany Journal is said to have worked 
as a cabin boy on aCatskill sloop that belonged to Capt. Brommj 
Funda. In those days the Hudson furnished great sturgeon, and 
the fishermen frequently made hauls of thousands of herring and 
shad. Even down to the early 70s, it was not uncommon for great 
quantities of spoiled fish to be carried on the land as fertilizer. 




The Wreck of the Swallow. 



Among the early steamboat disasters and the worst of them 
was the wreck of the Swallow which happened on the night of 
April 17th, 1845, while on her way from Albany to New York. 
Opposite the village of Athens the boat struck a rock, since re- 
moved by the government, and broke in two. Over 40 persons 
were drowned. 

86 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The Wreck of the Henry Claj-. 

On W^ednesday afternoon July 26, 18o2 the Henry Olay was 
destroyed bj^ lire near Yonkers, while making a regular trip. 
Nearly 100 persons are supposed to have perished. Some were 
burned and others drowned. 

We are able to show two fairly good representations of these 
early disasters. 

Last September a New York man with a 40 foot steamboat 
came into the Catskill creek and started to sail right on to Oak 
Hill. He was hailod at the bridge and replied that he had a map 
showing that he could go right on. He did, but just beyond the 
railroad bridge he went on the rocks. 

(Japt. Isaac VanLoan w^as owner of the sloop Delaware, which 
in 181S was one of the speed boats on the Hudson between Cats- 
kill and New York city. 

Of Captain Joseph Allen it is narrated that verging on <S0 
years of age, one day he had a heated argument with one Wm. 
PuUen, and Pullen was forcibly ejected from Aliens' premises. 
Allen explained that Pullen called him a d— old liar and he threw 
him of! the stoop. 

87 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The fiailroads, Early and Moderrv 




The New York Central's New High Speed 97 Ton Electric Engine. 

In 1825 Wood in his article on railroads says: 

"Nothing can do more harm to the adoption of railroads 
than the promulgation of such nonsense as that we shall see loco- 
motive engines traveling at the rate of 12 miles an hour.'' 

Mr. Wood should see the Chicago through trains pass Cats- 
kill on their 20 hour schedule at 60 miles and more an hour, or 
some likely aeroplane like Glen Curtis's going down the Hudson 
river at 100 miles an hour. 

So far as the early railroads were concerned, the Catskill 
and Ithaca road was simply projected. 

The Catskill and Canajoharie was built to Cooksburgh in 
1838. It was a failure, as the engine wouldn't work. The state 
pledged $200,000 toward the construction. The Catskill Bank 
bought it for 811,000 and sold to Hiram VanSteen burgh who took 
up the iron for junk and made some money out of it. 

Coxsackie and Schenectady — never built. 

Schenectady and Catskill— never built. 

The Saratoga and Hudson River Road was built and some 
of its grade may be seen today. It had a terminal at Athens and 
great promise. Daniel Drew the steamboat man sold it in 1867 to 
the Central and they abandoned it . 

The West Shore railroad opened for business in 1882. 

The Stony Clove road was opened in 1882. 

The Catskill Mountain Railroad also in 1882. 
88 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Kaaterskill Railroad in 1883. 

The Tannersville railroad in 1892. 

The Otis Elevated Railroad August 4th, 1892. 

The South C!airo and East Durham road — never built. 

Several trolley roads were pro.iected but never built, though 
work was started on one from Coxsackie to Greenville, and some 
work was done on the Catskill to Oneonta line. 

The Catskill street railroad was built in 1890 and finished 
to Leeds in 1892. At the present it is being operated by a receiver 
for the second time Among the men who have spent large sums 
to make the road a success are F. N. Da Bois, H C. Cowan, and 
William P. Fiero, former senator, now deceased. 




The First Railroad Traiti in Greene County. 
It may be interesting to note that the Catskill Cana.joharie 
railroad was along with a number of other roads an expensive 
proposition for the state. The state loaned $3,478,000 to the 
building of six railroads, and the Catskill road got $100,000. The 
roads were all failures and the state lost $1,000,000 in the enter- 
prises. The capital stock of the Catskill road was $1,000,000 and 
no one knows what it cost. The Albany- Schenectady road built 
about the same time, 17 miles, cost $1,711,412 and the Catskill 
road was built to Cooksburgh, 26 miles. It is a fact that the first 
300 miles of railroad cost over $15,000,000. And nobody ever said 
the stock was watered. Even the Erie railroad was unable to pay 
its interest and had to be advertised for sale. The Ithaca road 
brought $4500. The Catskill road, as we have stated, 111,000. 

89 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



We are indebted to Mrs. lienjaniin Wiltse for the illustra- 
tion of the locomotive and the coach passenger cars that ran on 
the Catskill-Canajoharie road in 1838. The train had a very busy 
time and every coach was loaded. This train passed the foundry 
of Benjamin Wiltse every day during the time the road was ir- 
operation, and ^Ir. Wiltse who is remembered by many persons 
in Catskill as one of the pioneers of early business enterprise of 
Catskill, was the inventor of an arrangement whereby sand was 
spilled on the track of the road ahead of the wheels of the coaches 
for the purpose of preventing their slipping. The locomotive 
burned w^ood and this was carried in a tender with a couple of 
barrels that supplied water,' and stops were made along the line to 
get water or wood when needed. The cars were modeled after 
the old stage coach of the wild west pattern, and the wheels were 
flanged to keep them from leaving the tracks. From 12 to 18 peo- 
ple could be accommodated in each coach. William Layman of 
Catskill one of the old time Methodists was the engineer of this 
road and Wm. Layman not only managed to get all the speed pos- 
sible out of the locomotive, but he was also the owner of one of 
the fast equines that have been known to have been the undoing 
of good Methodists . And he was not altogether adverse to per- 
permitting his horse to show heels even on the Sabbath, daring to 
indulge in a horse race on Main street. 

Early one Sunday morning he had the temerity to get the 
best of another nag that had been known to travel fast, and 
good Brother Humphrey, whom some will remember, promptly 
rose up, and admonished Layman on the error of his ways, and 
the sin of horse trotting. 

But this only served to stir up Brother Layman, and with 
the result that Biother Humphrey declared that he would have 
him churched, and made a complaint, which resulted in a trial 
before tliat august body of early ecclesiasts. Brother Layman 
won out. It was the vote of Benjamin Wiltse which turned the 
scale, and when he argued that he was a great lover of a horse, 
and that even a trustee of a church wasn't to blame if his horse 
chirked up a bit when some old plug tried to pass him, it was an 
argument that was irresistible. Alfred Foote is said to have been 

90 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



on the side on Mr. Wiltse. Mr. Wiltse was during most of his 
life a class leader and official of the church, and to his last day 
treasured the tickets of early members of his class. In no other 
way than by these tickets could members of the church get into 
the love feasts of the church. 




The Otis Elevating- Railroad. 

The Otis Elevating Railroad was considered one of the most 
remarkable pieces of engineering in the world at the time it was 
built. By means of a cable over one mile in length the cars are 
drawn to the summit of the mountain, an elevation of KiOO feet in 
ten minutes. The hoisting bemg by means of a great stationary 
engine at Otis Summit. The cars pass over a tramway with several 
very high trestles. There are stations at Otis Junction and also at 
Otis Summit. The cars are equipped with automatic clutches 
which operate in case of a break in the cable. Charles L. Ricker- 
son was the first superintendent of this road and also of the 

91 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Tannersville Railroad, opened the year following the completion 
of the Otis Ry. Allen Banks was the engineer, being succeeded 
by William Driscoll, who is the present engineer. This road cost 
about $275,000 and has been practically rebuilt. 

The Catskill Mountain Railroad was built to open up the 
Mountain section and operates to Palenville, Cairo, Leeds, South 
Cairo, Lawrenceville, and the Mountain House or Otis Summit, 
Haines Falls and Tannersville, in connection with the Otis and 
Tannersville Rys. John L. Driscoll was the first Superintendent 
for many years. Charles A. Beach followed, up to the time of his 
death, when Thomas E. Jones was elected to the vacancy. John 
T. Mann and the Beaches were the projectors of the road. 




View on Catskill Mountain Railroad, in Austin's, 
Nature's Greatest Glen. 

93 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The West Shore Railroad Company has valuable property 
at Catskill and spent a large amount two years ago in order to 
obviate the crossing the tracks to get to the depot. Probably more 
than $100,000. The new depot is a beautiful structure and cost 
about S25,000. This replaced the old depot that was destroyed by 
tire. In making these improvements the store house of Salisbury 
and Austin was torn down and moved to another location. Forty 
feet of embankment was cut away for a quarter of a mile and new 
tracks laid. The bridge at Catskill is 90 feet above tide water and 
1300 feet long, it was a marvel of engineering skill. It was re- 
built without the loss of a single trip liy any train. 




West Shore Depot, Catskill 

The first station and freiglit agent at Catskill was W. E. 
Toney. He was succeeded byO. A. Freer who after 16 years is 
still at the head of the freight department. 

The several passenger agents have been Robert Welsh, F.R. 
Gallagher, J.N. Bell, John Garrigan and E. E. Woodruff, who is 
still selling tickets, after 14 years of service. James Mc Nee has 
been in the baggage department over S years. The old depot was 
burned Dec. 6, 1909, and the new depot was opened June G, 
1912. After the fire in 2 days time a temporary depot was built. 

93 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Gourvly Hij^Kx^ays 

Tlic original road;- iirCJrocne county were simply trails over 
which Indian tribes traced their way. With Catskill, Athens and 
("oxsaekie as starting points the early settlers found their way into 
tlic interior and made settlements reaching as far as the Delaware 
and Susquehanna rivers. Later on came the wagon roads and 
turnpike roads and still later the state and county built roads. 
Even at the present time these roads are in process of perfection, 
as to methods and materials to mako them lasting. 

Great progress in the right direction is l)ping made by the 
highway department of the state, and a second installment of S50,' 
000,000 is being used, of which Greene countv, thanks to her 
efficient boards of supervisors, and other officials, is getting a very 
considerable portion. 




Old Toll Gate, Kntrance to Clove Road. 

With the active co-operation of Hon. .John B. Riley, State 
Superintendent of Prisons, the experiment is being tried of utiliz- 
ing convict labor in the building and maintenance of this and 
other county highwaj^s, and a convict camp has been established 

94 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY 



at Palenville. This road runs to the top of the Catskill mountains, 
is a verv heavy piece of construction, and ven- careful cost data 
is being kept to determine the value and feasibility of utilizing 
convict labor on our roads. It is believed that a large saving can 
be made to the State, particularly in the construction of some roads 
in the less thickly settled parts of the State, and that some of the 
roads can be completed which otherwise would be impossible unless 
a saving were made by the use of such labor. 

The first road was from Catskill to South Cairo, and since 
that time there has been constructed an extension of this road 
through South Cairo, Cairo, Acra, and to South Durham, this 
last being completed in 1914. The river road from Saugerties to 
Albany county extending through Alsen, Catskill, Athens, Cox- 
sackie and New Baltimore was completed in 1914. There is also 
a road from Coxsackie to Greenville, Windham to Prattsville, and 
the state is constructing a road from Palenville to Haines Falls, 
about 4 miles, usmg prison labor from Sing Sing prison and Dan- 
nemora prison. The prisoners are housed and taken care of at 
Palenville in structures built by the state. This road will be of an 
8 per cent grade, and will open the west end of the county to the 
Hudson river towns. Assembhmian J. Lewis Patrie introduced 
the bill for this road and secured the appropriation, in 1913, and 
in 1914 Assemblyman Geo. H. Chase secured the passage of the 
bill for the construction of the road under convict labor. George 
B \'an ^'alkenburgh. Clerk of Greene county, was the originator 
of the project. It is expected that the road will be completed in 
191.5 or 1916. 

•50 convicts are at work on this road and some of the grades 
are 175 feet above the gorge of the creek bed. The buildings oc- 
cupied by the convicts have been erected by the state and are 
located near the camp of District Attorney Howard C. Wilbur and 
we are able to show views of these through the courtesy of the 
State department. 

The need for this road may be seen when it is shown that 
during the year 1914 there were a dozen bad accidents in which 
heavy vehicles crashed into the gorges and passengers were injured. 
Wrecking crews were in constant demand all summer. In winter 

96 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



the old road is barely passable at the best, and part of the time 
not at all. 

In connection with roads it is appropriate to refer to some 
of the covered bridges. There is one of these at High Falls, and 
one at Cauterskill, which are at least 100 years old. There was 
one at Woodstock, (See picture on page 55) that was taken down a 
few years ago, and others have disappeared. In 1S02, a 55G foot 
bridge was constructed across the Catskill Creek at what is now 
Bridge street. When this was torn down in 1882, Hiram Van 
Steenburgh built a pontoon bridge of oil barrels which was used 
until the completion of the present bridge. Part of this bridge was 
carried out by high water in the fall of 1903 and two men were 
drowned. The body of Captain Michael Moran, and Wm. Dwyer 
who was on the bridge and jumped to his boat, was not recovered 
until the following spring. Patsy Williams, Jack McNary and 
Fred Bigelow were carried down with the bridge but managed to 
get ashore. 

The upper town bridge in Catskill was condemned in 1906 
and the beautiful concrete structure was erected in 1907. This was 
during the term of Supervisor Henry S. ^'anOrden. 

The old toll gates have been almost forgotten. They were 
scattered ail over the county, and were a considerable drain on the 
travelers. The toll ranging from 5 cents to 25, and the gates were 
pretty close together. The Susquehanna, Coxsackie, Albany and 
Greene, Little Delaware, Schoharie, Athens, Hunter, Cairo and 
East Kill, Catskill and Ulster, Blue Mountain, Cauterskill were 
the principal turnpike roads that were chartered by the state and 
most of these roads paid the stockholders. The supervisors pur- 
chased those that were not abandoned and they are now maintain- 
ed by the state and taxes raised in the several towns. In Greene 
county under the approprintion of two sums of $50,000,000 and 
under a special appropriation of 8190,000 many state roads are 
being constructed and maintained. 

History has honored and pictured the famous old stone 
arch bridge at Leeds, probably the oldest in the county. We do 
not know who built it or the date It was in the ITOO's. " 

97 



f)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



We are indebted to Clerk VanValkenburgh for the following 

figures of roads built and under process of construction in Greene 

county. 

Completed Roads 



Name of Road 


Miles 


Total Cost. 


Co.st Mile. 


Catskill-South Cairo 


5.6 


$58,721.30 


S10,486 


Greenville-Coxsackie No 2 


5.56 


67,298.02 


12,103 


Greenville-Coxsackie No. 1 


4.63 


57,436.19 


12,432 


Hunter- Windham No. 2 


3.39 


37,390.96 


13,980 


Lexington-Prattsville 


4.19 


55,847.00 


13,300 


South Cairo-Cairo 


3.15 


35,911.91 


11,401 


Cairo Hamlet 


0.46 


5,600.00 


12,180 


Saugerties-Catskill No. 3 


1.94 


31, 8*76. 07 


16,603 


Saugerties-Catskill No. 2 


3.87 


54,950.00 


14,190 


Hunter-Jewett Center 


6. 13 


102,88s. 30 


16,780 


Hunter-Windham 


6.27 


S3, 644. 15 


13,340 


Cairo- Windham No. 1 


3.39 


42,556.00 


12,550 


Catskill Village 


1.97 


15,555.00 


7,980 


Paving West Bridge Street 


0.23 


13,500 




Catskill-Athens 


5.97 


78,452.50 


13,140 


Athens-Coxsackie 


4.06 


46,000.00 


11,330 


Coxsackie Village 


2.21 


15.100.00 


6,830 


Coxsac'.de-Ravena No. 1 


4.62 


54,359.60 


11,760 


Coxsackie-Ravena No. 2 


2.7 


31,254.62 


11,570 


Palenville-Haines Falls 


4. 


190,000.00 





Ashland road under construction, also road between Athens, 
Prattsville and Grand Gorge. 

Greene County's share of second bond issue $565,000 
Two-iifths for State Highways 226,000 




Steamer Clermont of the Catskill Evening Line. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




100 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Threads of IKe History Fabric 

Tlie publishers of this work might well be accused of slight- 
ing the subject if they failed to mention as concisely as possible 
some of the well worn threads that have formed a part of history- 
fabric concerning the very remote period. Some of these have 
come to be regarded in the light of fable possibly, but they can be 
be had at your estimation of them. A gun, two shirts which ap- 
pear to have been a valuable commodity, an iron kettle and 
whiskey and rum -not so much rum, but just enough — appears to 
have formed the good and sufficient collateral for which a large 
part of the land adjoining the Hudson river was acquired. Men 
of today and some Indians would still be willing to take on some 
of the rum if not the second hand shirts, at times for something 
that is worth more. And Gysbert unt der Bogert, a forerunner 
of many well trained Bogarts and \'andebogarts is said to have 
made this first purchase. One of these men Jean unten Bogart is said 
to have been a minister. So it took the Dutch to beat the Indians, 
even as now the Dutch have faculty of getting in first. 

It was the Dutch settlers who left us the pleasentries of 
Bomptje Hook, Hans Vossen Kill, Embocght, which to say the 
least are far easier to handle than the many keeks that the Indians 
bequeathed to them and of which we still have some. There was 
the Wachachkeek, the Wichquanchtekak, the Patchquaik and the 
Assiskow^achkeek, and the Potikeek, and we are reminded that the 
latter is the source from which illustrious Catskillians will get the 
aqua that will quench thirst as well as the Dutch rum did. 

Bogart got rid of his lands in I70o to his son-in-law Helmer 
Janse and after that John Lindsey got them and they became the 
Lindsey patent. There were five houses in that patent. The inn 
of Peter Schutt, grandfather of L. P. Schutt, below Catskill, the 
house of P]gbert Bogardus, near what is now head of Main street, 
Catskill, a house near what is now the DuP)ois drug store, the 
residence of the historical Madam Dise, 170S, near the continuous 
kiln of the brick company. This brave old structure was very 
sightly and regarded as a mansion. Johannes Van Gorden had a 
101 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



house at Femnien Hook, now the headquarters of the brave fire 
ladJies of Bomptje Hook, now known as the Point. 



??jfes 


.'»S"?^->. 


idi 


1^ 


j^M 


feV"^ 


'^^^ 


iM-'fe^ 


s^mt 


W*' 'tf" 




• #1^ 



Joseph Reilly Custodian of Bomptje Hook, 



The Fitzsimmons, Gavigans, O'Briens, Delmores, Quinns, 
and others not so Dutch, have taken sway at the Point however, 
and the region along Water street lack in characters of great note. 
Joseph Reilly, the custodian of the fortunes of that section and 
greater Catskill being the most notable. 

Through the courtesy of Paul R. Morrison we are able to 
present a splendid half tone of the Old Stone Jug, so that we have 
views of the first five houses in Greene county. Madam Disc, the 
owner of this old land mark, passed away within its walls in 1768 
at the age of 78 years. She was regarded as a most remarkable 
woman, benevolent and verj' pious, though she was married to a 
man who was shiftless, and dissolute, being addicted to the use of 
strong drink. The old house was regarded with reverence by the 
earlier njitiyes, and when it was torn down it was supposed that 

102 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



all sorts of valuables would be found stored away in hidden places, 
but beyond a few coins nothing was discovered. The old crock- 
ery and old furnishings were scattered among relic hunters. ^ladam 
Dise was the daughter of one Gillett, a Hollander, and related to 
one of the early governors of the State of New York. We believe 
that she was also related to F. X. DuBois, tracing back on his 
mother's side of the family. 

The last resident of the place was Kitty Hopkins. 




The Van Vechten House, Catskill. 



On the X&n ^>chten patent, Indians, ^'an Schaacks, Van 
Vechtens, Van Bremens, Spiegels, and other Dutchmen tilled the 
soil, 

103 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Corkers Kill Patent had more Van Vechtens, Bronks, 
Salislmrys, and Van Bergens, whose generations remain There 
were some five houses on this patent of which one Iniilding ])e- 
longing to the Van Vechtens was a grist mill, the Rushmore mill. 

Another of the famous old houses of Greene county is loca- 
ted on Jefferson Heights, on what is known as the Prindle Place. 
The house is a combination of brick and stone, and was erected by 
the Rev. Schueman in 1768. The bricks in the structure were 
made by slaves employed on the place, and most of the bricks came 
from the pond which forms a part of the cemetery. The house 
still contains the old brick bake oven, and this has been in use by 
the Prindles since they have occupied the place, which has Ijeen 
in the possession of William Prindle since 1856. One of the rooms 
was known as the spinning room, and here the darkies made the 
cloth used in making sheets and clothing. For a time Addison 
P. Jones owned the property. It was occupied by Peter Carl for 
21 years, and William Salisbury lived there for 6 years. 




The Old Mill in the Glen. 

Going on towards Leeds at the foot of the Hill is the Abner 
Austin House, and this house was patterned after the Old Stone 
Jug. Old in appearance it was built in 1855. It was built on 
the property which comprised the mill in the glen. The old mill 
was erected in 1808 byAbner Austin, and was torn down in 1903, 
because it was a menace to those who visited it. The store house 
was tr^^nsformed by Carleton Austin into two fine little cottages. 
104 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




In the Clove, Line of State Kojj.i. 
105 



^ i S- ^. ^ i '^ ^ 

1 !" i i ^ I- - ^ 

'^ r' -.» ^ S^ b" ": - 

f» 2 o -z ^ — ~ 



._. ^ -^ =:" X :i 



I 3 o 

X 3 5 2 "^ ^- 



i. ? i"^ 



£ g,=g. ^ ;^ 1 






2. '< ^ :; < 

arg 3 - Q 

Ci- uq <-.- „ '^ 

cr p tJ 



p r^ 3 ^ = c :2: 



5 -T ^^ "O fc p 
w 2 -■!_-• 3' 



-*. z K — 



2, 


32_ 


o 


S^ 


■^ 


^ 


<; 


=■ 


"t; 


_. 


O 


p 


^. 




X 


'^ 


^ 


2 


\ 


~, 


^ 

? 


t^ 


H* 


o 


2^ 


■^^ 

O 


^ 


— 


O 




"Z, 


~ 


^ 


o 




- 






















,^ 


&- 


— 


2 


;:; 


^ 












































— • 


^i:" 


^ 


3" 


^.^ 


.-l> 


d 






ri 


^ 


^ 


'D 


O 




c 




— " 


w' 


S 


m 


■"S 


^ . 


era 



5^? r 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Dubois' and Overbaughs 

We have gone at length into tlie history of the Du Bois 
family, because their generations have been the men and women 
who have made up very largely the history not only of Catskill , 
but also Greene county, and the surrounding counties, and thus 
extending are practically all over the entire country. 



Louis DuBois born in 1626, at Wicres, France, a Hugenot 
refugee, landed at New Amsterdam in 1660, and there were then 
2(X) houses scattered over Manhattan island and in all 14(X) popu- 
lation. There was a fort and an old Dutch church, a wind mill 
and the virgin forests. Broadway was then Heere Straat, the Lord 
street. 

The town had an inn keeper, a captain of the militia, 
Martin Kregiere, and the Rev. ^Nlegapoliensis dispensed the gospel 
in Dutch. There were many other refugees. 

The DuBoises left NewAmsterdam (New York), found their 
way up the Hudson an a sloop, landing after many days in the 
"Esopus Country" sailing up the Rondout Creek. Others of the 
party went on to Saugerties. 

Louis Du Bois took up his home at Wiltwyck, now Kings- 
ton, or at Hurlej', and here his wife and three children were taken 
captives by the Indians, who destroyed Hurley, 1663. He helped 
to build the first church and the second and the third at Kingston. 

The Indians wiped out Wiltwyck, the dead laying as sheaves 
behind the mower, 12 women and 31 children were carried awaj'. 
The church was spared. 

AWappinger Indian who had been captured was impressed 
to guide a party of soldiers who went to the rescue of the captives. 
45 men, and Louis Du Bois was among the number. The party 
started July 4 and on September o came up with the Indians. 
There was a bloody fight and the prisoners were recovered. Mrs. 
Du Bois was tied to a tree and surrounded with faggots and was 
singing hymns as a prelude to being burned to death. It was his 
descendents who came to Catskill. A great family it appears to 
have been. 

lOS 



DEAR OLD GREiENEi COUNTY. 



The Rev. Anson Du Bois was a member of the old Leeds 
Dutch church and became a preacher of note, being located at 
Kingston as pastor in 1854, and was also ordained as a home mis- 
sionary by the Classis of Greene, subsequently he was located at 
Flu Hands, L. I. 

We are able to show a very good picture of him, as also of 
several other early members of the Du Bois family who have 
achieved distinction. 

Peter Du Bois was buried at Fishkill in 1837, and his 
generations are all over the country. 

Cornelius Du Boise of whom we are able to show a picture 
became very wealthy and devoted his life to the relief of suffering 
humanity. He was one of the founders of the Humane Society, 
New York in 1787, and was an official of the house of refuge, New 
York City Hospital, Mariners Society, Eye Infirmary, Pauperism 
Society and of the chamber of commerce and many banks. He 
died in 1846. 

Capt. Theodore Du Bois of whom we also present a portrait, 
was lieutenant commander of the Albatross v.'hich formed a part 
of Faragut's fleet and passed the batteries at Port Hudson. He 
was commander of the Suffolk which laid the cable to the West 
Indies. 

Of Benjamin Du Bois of Catskill we learn that he was not 
only the owner of all C^atskill, but that he was one of the original 
members of the Dutch Church in Catskill formed in 1732 and was 
a deacon, under pastor Geo. M. Weiss .Over the Dutch church at 
Caatsban, built in 1732, is carved the names of Benjamin, Solomon 
and Huybartus Du Bois. He was very religious. He was also a 
Colonel of state troops and served in the Champlain, ]\Iohawk Val- 
ley, Schoharie and other campaigns. The Indians one night de- 
termined to capture him but were deterred. He celebrated at his 
home the surrender of Lord Cornwallis. His son. Grant Du Bois 
was a missionary in the employ of the American Tract Society, 
1836-53. Cornelius, another son was a scout under Tim Murphy 
the Indian tighter. He built the old block house on the Shafer 
farm at Schoharie. 

109 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY 



Of Isaac Du Bois we are tnld that lie huilt the court house 
in lSl-_>. 

Ira DuHois in ls;;() founded the Catskill Messenger later 
changed to Catskill Examiner. 

Joel DuBois served in the revolution and lived at Kiskatoni. 
He was regarded as the strongest man in the section, and of enor- 
mous phj^sique. 




Du Bois House, Cauterskill. Torn Down 1911. 



The Lover idge Patent 1770 comprised five lots. 

Lot 1, commenced on the Catskill Creek opposite the old 
Stone Jug, and continued along the same to Caters-kill, 915 acres. 
On this section were the lands of Huybartus Du Bois, with the old 
stone house now occupied by Miss Josephine Hopkins, and Ben- 
jamin DuBois opposite and beyond the Salisbury mill. Here was 
another old stone house, erected 1730 by Benjamin DuBois, and 
torn down in 1911 (See picture) 

Lot 2, comprised 1575 acres. The line ran from the Platte- 
kill in the Vly to the Caters-kill. Isaac Du Bois owned the river 

110 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and creek front to the Dit^e place. Cornelius DuBois lands adjoin- 
ed. There were the lands of Jurian Overbaugh in the Fvyke of 
Smith and three lots of Overbaugh. 

Lot 3 adjoined lot 2 and ran from the Hudson river to the 
Caters-kill,1515 acres. On this were the Fieros, at Caters-kill, 
Trumpbours, Saxes, Spahns and Bergers. 

Lot 4, adjoined and ran from the Abeel place in Caters-kill 
to the end or point of the Vly on the Hudson river, containing 
1415 acres. Milligan occupied the Streeke, Van Orden Dumond 
and two families of Van Ordens occupied the balance of the land. 
Lot Number 5 adjoined and ran from the Quatawicknaack 
and Cautevskill to Maquas flook on the Hudson, V2{n acres. 
Dedrick, occupied a section on the Kings road; Martin, Person 
nnd Van \'echten occupied the Ijalance. 

The old deed was signed l\v 
eight Indians: Wannachatquatin, 
Manianuclinqun, Cunpaer 
Unsawannrck, Wanninniauwa , 
Taw>vequannis. Annoke 
Natckinioot. 
This Deed to Wm. Loveirdge 
l."()(), and rc^cnrded in the country 
of All)anv, and is from "Thomas 

We are indebted to l{()l)ert F. Story of Catskill for a picture 
of Madam Jane Disc, wife of Major John Disc of the English army 
who owned the old Stone Jug, one of the first five houses in 
Greene County. This picture was taken at the time Mrs. Dise was 
about 16 years of age. and hence is nearly 200 years old. The 
picture from which our copy is taken is an oil painting in splendid 
preservation as to color, canvass and frame, a full length portrait, 
two thirds life size. It was purchased by Mr. Story at the time the 
property was sold, and is one of the most valuable relics of the 
early colonial times. To Mr. Story we are also indebted for in- 
teresting facts in regard to the early residents of the Catskill sec- 
tion of the Loveridge Patent, as the descendents of these early 
families make up the generations of Catskill and Greene as well as 
other counties. 

Ill 




n ? 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



It is interesting to note in regard to the old deed 
that we referred to on page 111 that it was signed "Thomas 
Dongan, Capt General, Governor in Chief and Vice Admiral of 
the Province of New York under his Majesty, James the II. King 
of England, Ireland, Scotland and France, and Defender of the 
Faith. ^' 

A part of the cnnsideration was the payment of 200 merch- 
antable beavers. And thn^'are no more beavers in Greene county. 
Possiblv LoveridsTP K"t thi-m all. 




Capt. Theodore DuBois. 

In the inventory of the personal property of Benjamin Du 
Bois is listed "One negro girl and a pair of andirons o() pounds 
113 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and 10 shillings. Two negro boys at 50 and 30 pounds. A flax 
break, sinothing iron, slice, 1 schipple, landthorn, 2 trammels 
hatchet, chamber pot, a weaver's loom, spinning wheels and reels. 
All these articles practically unknown today. This list w^as made 
in 1797, 

Louis l)u Bois ftrst in America was born at Wicres, near 
Lille, France, 1()2B, came to America in 1B60, located at Kingston, 
was father of 10 children. Solomon came to Catskill in 17-")!). 

lienjamin Du Bois settled at Catskill 1727, and in 1762 
built the old house still standing near the town bridge. (See picture) 




The Benjainin Du Bois House. 

Of the second generation at Catskill, Sarah Du Bois 
married Pietrus Ovc-rbaugh. Children, Benjamin Overbaugh, and 
Catherine Overbaugh. 

Solomon DuBois lived in the old house at Caterskill (1730) 
and had two children. On the grave of his wife is the inscription 
"Anno 1778, Merte, 27, is mein vrowin Den Heerin outslappen'' 
Translation: ]\Larch 27, 1778. "Now is my wife sleeping in the 
Lord''. 

lU 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The will of Huybartus Du Bois in .1806 witnessed by Barent 
Du Bois, John Bogardus and Egbert Bogardus, Dorrance Kirkland 
being Surrogate, probated the will in 1809. 




Colonel Cornelius Du Bois. 

Isaac DuBois took possession of the Hopnose farm in 1762. 
Joel Du Bois served during the revolution in the regiment of his 
uncle, Cornelius, which was stationed in the Mohawk valley. The 
Du Bois cottage of that date is the old homestead now owned by 
F. N. Du Bois and has always been in the posession of the family. 
It has been remodeled and is a most beautiful structure. A celebra- 
tion of the surrender of Lord Cornwallis took place within the 
115 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



walls of the old mansion, ("ol. Anthony Van Bergen of Coxsackie, 
and Capt. Samuel Van Vechten served witli T.ieut. Col. Cornelius 
Du Bois. A Block House at Cobleskill \va> called Du Bois Fort 
after Cornelius. 

After the death of Isaac Du Bois his son John occupied and 
held the place for 45 j-ears, then JohnD. DuBois, and then Jacob 
\'an Orden 1859, then the Whittakers and then F. N. Du Bois. 




Rev. Benjamin Du Ik'i.s 

The children of Solomon Du Bois were Benjamin, Catelientie 
Sarah and Rachel, who never married and died at age 99 years. 

Catelientie married Edward Whittaker, and had 6 children, 
Solomon. Henry, William, Benjamin, ^largaret and Joel. 

116 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Sarah married Barent B. Salisbury. He was a prominent 
American officer of the Revolution, being in the battles of German- 
town and Monmouth. 

The children of Huybartus J)u Bois wereJ^hn, who married 
C'aty Dise, daughter of Madam Jane Dise. Treintje married Gosie 
Hermance 1st and had four children, Lana, John, Polly and 
Rachel. Polly married Ira Canfield. Rachel married Benjamin 
Sole. Treintje married Michael Phillips for her second husband. 

Treintje had for her third husband John Du Bois a cousin, 
and lived with him 23 years at the Point. 

Rachel Du Bois married Abram Hoffman and had (i children. 

Lana Du Bois married Abram Elmendorf, and had two 
children, Annatje and Huybartus. 

Lidia married John Sole. Issue Huyl)artus Sole. 

Geertrey Du Bois married but the record is missing. 

Catharinetje Du Bois married Peter Bogardus and had 
three children. Egbert, Catty and Sally. Egbert was most of his 
life collector of taxes in Catskill. 

Barent DuBois was a scout, under Generals, Sullivan,PIand 
and Lafayette. Served with^Lurphy the Indian fighter. 

Arraeynnje Du Bois married John Mallory. Abraham 
married Jennie Grant of Stamford. Annatje married Joel DuBois. 

Kana Du Bois married Al)ram Fonda, and had 4 children, 
of whom Lana married Gen. Wm. Salisbury. Of her children 
Cateline married Rachel Dewey. Rachel married T-ewis Bennan. 
Ebellena married Henry Du Bois. And Helen Salisbury married 
Elbert Reed. 

Achie Du Bois married Jacoltus Bogardus, and had four 
children, of whom Jannett married John M. Donnelly, a prom- 
inent Catskill merchant 1842, and Betsey married Dr. Jacob 
Greene. 

That record brings us to the Gth generation in America. In 
which the families named are: DuBois, Whittakers, 4 generations 
Peter Eckler, William, Margaret and Benjamin Eckler, the Elys, 
Fieros, Goodwins, Darts, Hallenbecks, Van Loans. 
U7 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Barent Du Bois was Indian agent for the government. 
Samuel Du Bois was siieriff of Greene county. 

Tlie generations of Abraham Du Bois were mostly in Dela- 
ware county. 

Col. John Du Bois married sisters, ("atty and Jeannette, 
daughters of Jane Dies. His children were .John 1). father of 
Frederick N. Du Bois, owner of the old homestead and who pre- 
sented Catskillwith the Y. M. C. A. building. Jeannette, James, 
Catherine, Ira, Joel, Isaac and Lanah. Jeannette married Cor- 
nelius Du Bois. Catherine married Oliver Ashley. Marcia Ashley 
married David Becker, and Libbie Becker married Johnathan 
Palen, who ran the tannery at Palenville around the 1830's. 

Ira DuBois founded the Catskill Messenger, now Examiner. 

Joel Du Bois married Sally Hunter. 

IsaaclDu Bois married Catherine Hunter. He was justice 
at Kiskatom over 20 years. 

Jeannette Hunter married Cornelius ^I A heel at Kiskatom, 
Frances Hunter married \Vm. Linzey. 

Generations of Peter Du Bois and Catherine Van Orden, 
Benjamin, John P., Robert, Eliza, James, Marv, Edwin, Rhoda 
and Cornelius Cornelius became captain of the ood Colored Inf. 
and served through the rebellion. He conducted the Pine Grove 
house, Palenville, up to the time of his death in 1913. 

Ellen Du Bois married Isaac North. Emma married the 
Rev. 0. Van Kuren, Joseph Allen married Julia Teator- Mary 
married Col. B. B. G. Stone the artist of Catskill. 

Grant Du Bois married Catherine Lamouree. Isaac mari-ied 
Cathrine Van Voris. 

The children of John D. Du Bois were Lewis, Philo, Ann 
Jeannette, William, James, Addison and Frederick Nelson. 

Ann married Peter AVhittaker, Mary married Henry ^'an 
Gorden . 

Johan Peter O verba ugh settled at KayKout in 1722, and 
died in 1732, being buried on the East side of the KayKout in the 
118 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



cemeteiy on the Everts place below Catskill. This is said to be the 
first and oldest tombstone so far as the records show. His sons 
were two, Johanis and Johan Jurry. Johanis had four children, 
Marytje who married Peter Snyder. Catherine who married God- 
frey Brandow, Amiatje who married Gystrect Osterhout, Elizabeth 
who married Johannas Dederick. 

Johan Jurry married Catherine Smith, and his son Johan 
jr. married Hannah Conyes, grandmother to^lrs. F. X. Du Bois, 
and also of Robert Story's mother. Their children were Frederick 
Jacob, William, Rebecca, (mother of Nelson DuBois) Hannah and 
Rachel. 

Frederick Overbaugh married first Catherine Mallory, 2d 
Hannah Overbaugh a cousin. Jane Overbaugh married Francis 
Story, whom many Catskillians remember and one of Catskill's 
foremost residents. Their children were Anna J., Robert F., John 
James, Frederick, Margaret, Martha, Francis, Bella and Jacob, 
all of whom are dead excepting Robert F. Story, many years loan 
commissioner, and Martha. 

The extent of these generations is quite remarkable. 

The Xsin Ordens and Overbaghs appear to have lived well 
and increased on the Loveridge lands from tbe Revolutionary 
period to the present time, and the Persons, and Posts have filled 
their generations and survive. Ignatius Van Orden served in Col. 
Van Bergen's regiment in the revolution. 

The first tax list showed that in 1786 there was collected 
61 pounds, $240 and that 16 persons paid all the tax. 

The Patron's store at Kiskatom is the oldest frame building 
standing and dates into the revolutionary period. Another frame 
building on the Godwin place near by was blown down a few 
years ago. 

The Catskill patent taking in Leeds and the Potic region 
had several nations of Indians . more Dutch of whom the Bronks, 
Van Bergens, Van Deusens, Salisburys,Vedders, Van Vechtens and 
Whitbeck were the chief residents. There were five nations of In- 
dians, Delawares, Mohicans, Penacooks, Nanticokes etc., and re- 
cently the moving picture people made in this section pictures 
covering Cooper's Last of The Mohicans. 

i;9 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




120 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Salisbury House built in 1705, is still standing, having 
l)een remodeled somewhat. It was famous for its age and also for 
the number of antiques of great value that its owners treasured. 
These were disposed of a few years ago and passed into the hands 
of speculators and treasure hunters, the descendants of the late 
Claudius VaiiDeusen getting some of them. Some of the furniture 
badly broken l)i-ought remarkable prices. This house, the old 
stone bridge and the stone church made history for the pretty 
hamlet of Leeds iVnd descendents of the Colonial families re- 
main This strip of land continued south as far as High Falls, 
and west to Xnljo Kilje near the Wolcott mills. 





The Falls at Woodstock. 



Other settlers who came here to escape the privations of 
of Palantinate were the Fieros, Webers, Newkirks and Sachs and 
Dominie Shuneman, whose grandchildren are said to state that 
his sermons were used by the negro servants to start fires in the 
kitchen of his tavern. He preached one Sunday in Old Catskill- 
And the next in Coxsackie. He carried a gun with him mos^' 
the time. His remains are in the burial ground in Jeft'erson, where 
he was laid to rest at the age of <S1 years, in 1794. 
121 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The next minister George Michael Weiss also preached in 
C'atskill and Coxsackie. His salarj^ included house, garden and 
tire wood. The old church at Leeds, still standing, was built during 
his pastorate in 179S. 

On the road from Leeds to Kaaterskill were three houses 
at this period, Jurry Planck, Garritt Van Bergen, and Gysbert 
Osterhoudt, and at Kaaterskill falls was a grist mill, and saw mill 
built in 1733, and near this mill was the old stone house built in 
1730 and torn down in 1911. 

The story of the capture of David and Anthony Abeel by 
the Indians lends some excitement to the chapter of 1780, as well 
as the plan that failed, to carrj' oft" Cornelius I)u Bois then living 
in the old stone house now occupied by Josephine Hopkins in 
WestCatskill. 

In all this early history we fail to tind the names or mention 
of physicians, and it may have been that there were none. It is 
certain that the men and their noble wives lived generally to the 
80's and 90's and that they were in their meager circumstances 
generous, industrious and hard working men, who had piety 
written on their faces and enacted in their living. They had few 
if any laws and needed none. Even the old intoxicants appear not 
to have aft'ected their even frame of mind. 

Within a stone's throw of the second Catskill Mountain 
railroad bridge is the Van Vechten house, 1690 and just across the 
railroad tracks on the summit of a knoll shaded by trees of per- 
haps a century's growth is the burial lot of the VanVechtens. The 
residence of which we are able to show a fine view, taken by the 
writer of this book, is in excellent repair and has not undergone 
much change. The old grave yard is practically as it appeared 
100 years ago. Many of the stones are broken oft' and the others 
are pointing in various angles. The stones have been gath- 
ered from the adjoining lots, and are without any inscription 
some of them, and others chiseled out by the Van Vechtens with- 
out doubt. The trees have grown since the last interment, and 
one stone is enclosed in the growth of a tree and cracked in two 

131 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



pieces. At the entrance of this plot is a painted slab announcing 
that: 




The Van Vechten Plot Today. 

Dircke Tunisse Van Vechten was born on the River Vecht, 
Holland. 

A slab that is 24 inches in heigth and 6 inches at the top in 
breadth and about !) at the bottom, an ordinary piece of blue stone, 
rough and ragged, announces: 

W. V. Orden, Dyed 28 Oct. 1777. 

There are 7 ordinary stones, small boulders that rise above 
the ground six or eight inches, other graves have no stones at all. 

The last burial in this plot appears to have been John Van 
Vechten, in 1879, at the age of 93 years. 

Others buried here whose graves are marked are Teunis Van 
\'echten and Judea, his wife, Jacob Van Vechten, Samuel Van 
131 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Vechten, ICleanor, Anna and Catherine \'an \'echten, Samuel 
Washington \'-,in \'eeht('n, William Schuneman \'an Vechten. 

On a slal) in the old house is inscriljed: 

"In Memoi'.v of the seven l)rothers, all horn in this house:'' 

William Washington Wan A'eehten horn Jan. 13 17U'.), died 
August 2.1, 1,S45. 

Tennis Samuel \'an Wchten !)orn Jan. 20, 17^4, died Jan. 
•2o, l.s.")0. 

Peter \'an \'echten, Ixjrn Feh. 1-"). 1794, died Aug. 2t),1854. 

Jacob Van Vechten, born July 31, 1788, died Sept. 14, 1871. 

John Van Vechten, born Nov. 24, 1785, died Feb. 3, 1879. 

Abraham \'an ^'echten, born Oct. 12, 1791, died Sept. 29, 
1885. 

Rev. Samuel ^'an \'echten, born Aug. 4, 1786, died Jan. 
18, 1875. Louisa Van Vechten, his wife born Aug. 30, 1803, 
died Jan. 18, 1875. 

Catherine Van \'echten, born June 9, 1802, died Dec. 14, 
1805. 

Near the old house is a heavy granite monument announc- 
ing the place where the Indians and others forded the creek. 

The old house is the property of a Mrs. Huntington and 
]\Irs. Knox of New York, and has many old treasures the curious 
are not allowed to see. 

VAX BERGEN HOUSE 

In the year of 1678 Marte Gerritse Van Bergen and Silvest- 
er Salisbury, commander of the fort came down from Albany to 
purchase lands of the Catskill Indians. 

A month later the l)argain was concluded at the "Stadt- 
Huis" at Albany in the "presence of magistrates and Indians, 
and the "deed for the five great plains, and woodland for four 
miles around" near what is now known as Leeds, was signed by 
Mahak Ninimaw and his chiefs, "the purchase price, 300 guilders 

132 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



in wampuin, several hundred ells of woolen cloth, ten hlanketf 
ten fusees, ten axes and ten pairs of stocking-!. 




Van Bergen House, Leed; 
IT. F. Vedder, Owr.er. 




Interior of the Van Bergen House Today 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTV. 



^'an Bergen in 1880 built a barn fift\' feet square and a 
small bouse of stone on the semi-circle of raised ground above the 
plain, the first buildings in "Old Katskill,'' excepting the log 
cabin of .Ian Bronok. In tliose days Leeds was Catskill. spelled 




Interior of Van Bergen House, Leeds. 

with a K, and Catskill, the "het-strand or landing.'' 

Yeoman from Kingston and Coxsackie assisted in raising 
the heavj^ oaken frame of the barn, the timbers of which are still 
doing dutj^ 

There is no record to fill a gap of 49 years, but in 1729 a 
(;0 foot brick building was added to the one of stone. The first 
dwelling afterward used as a kitchen and place for slaves, was 
long since torn down. The latter "bears on its eastern wall" the 
initials of the builder, M. G.V. B., and date of building July 4th, 
1729. Tradition saith the bricks were brought from Holland, some 
of which conform to the measurements of those made in that 
country. It was at the time of its building a story and a hal 
high, with long narrow casement windows, with leaden sashed 

124 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



panes, double doors, and a hipped red-tiled roof, the oaken floor 
timbers measuring eighteen inches square. 

The estate passed into the possession of Aaront Vedder of 
Schoharie, in 1774, and is still owned and occupied by his descend- 
ant, H. F. Yedder. U. .i^'WAciV W(W^- 




Parsonage of Rev. vSchuenian at Leeds 1786, 

We are informed by one of the old residents of the Palen- 
ville section that within her recollection she heard old residents 
tell of a very considerable sized village located in the Clove near 
the camp of District Attorney Howard C. Wilbur where 
some of the old foundations are still to be found. The houses were 
occupied by men who worked in the old Tannery of Jonathan 
Palen, 1826, which employed a considerable number of men. There 
was a store, blacksmith shop, and in all about twenty dwellings. 

One of the most interesting of the old frame buildings in 
Greene county is the old Britt, or Patron's Store, at Kiskatom. 
The building formerly was located near the bridge across the creek, 
but later on moved to the Corners. Just when it was erected no 

125 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTV. 



MAP OF LOVERIDGE PATENT 




J/? 



Showing location of residents and houses about 1777. Also 
section at Leeds, formerly Old Catskill. Present value over $2,500,- 
000 estimated. Most of the Du Bois family are buried on ground 
marked Du Bois plot. 

129 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



one knows, but it was not far from 1800. An older building of 
stone was located where ]\tr. Charles Story now lives, and this 
w.is built in the early 1700's. The store building was the outcome 
of a trade that was lirst started b\' a pedlar who traveled with a 

sled and later with a wagon. 




Group of Kiskatoin Grangers, 1904. 

John Bach Mc Master, an old writer covering the period of 
1800, following the war, says that "there was great complaint of 
demoralization of morals that resulted from the war. That levity, 
profaneness, idle amusements and Sabbath breaking increased 
with fearful rapidity. Before the war nobody swore, nobody used 
cards. Now every lad is proficient in swearing and knows much 
of cards. Then apprentices and young folks kept the Sabbath 
and until sundown never left the house but to go to meeting. Now 
they go out more on the Sabbath than any other day of the week. 
They say it is better than sitting in church for two hours and 
hearing about hell." 

Referring to religious custom of that period, "The minister 
would rise and read two lines of a psalm, the deacon would repeat 

130 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



them, the percenter would pitch a key and the congregation join 
in the hymn, very discordant. Tlie prayer and a two hour ser- 
mon followed. There were no stoves. The worshippers came from 
distances of many miles. 

The .Sabbath commenced Saturday at sundown. Sunday at 
sundown work was resumed There was a demand for a 86 hour 
Sunday but they did not get it. 

Peter Schutt at one time had an Inn on the Saugerties road 
near the old stone house. Mrs. Legendre, one of his descendants, 
who lives in Catskill, informs us that she has often heard her 
grandfather tell of Indians visiting at this old Inn. Whether it 
was before or later that Peter Schutt ran the West Catskill Hotel 
we are unable to discover. At any rate he purchased a great tract 
of land, which at that time included the Kaaterskill falls lands 
and built the falls shanty. 




Peter Schutt, 
Peter V. Overbaugh also a grandfather of Mrs. Legendre 
was the owner of 800 acres of land and sawmills that subseqeunt- 
ly passed to J. L. Schutt, father of Louis P. Schutt, who has been 
for years connected with boarding houses at Haines Falls, the 
Laurel House, Antlers, and other houses including the Inn, which 
he has been managing for the Twilight Park Company very suc- 
cessfully. 

131 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




K.\ ATERvSKILL FALLS. 



Greatest Mountain Cascade. 
Part of Great vSection Owned b}- Peter Schutt. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The ^rand Old Bronks 

Leonard Bronk, fifth in descent from Jonas lironck, was 
born in Bronk House (still standing and occupied) on Bronk Pat- 
ent, about two miles and a half west of Coxsackie village, May 
11th, 1751 or 1752. His first ancestor in this country was Jonas 
Bronck of Westchester County, a^f whom Bronck's Manor, 
Bronck's River and Bronck's Borough vere named, the ck's being 
changed to "x" on account of euphony. 




A Type of the Hallander. 

In 1639 Jonas Bronck, liberally educated and rich— with 
his friend Jochiem Pieterson Kuyter, a Danish officer — sailed in 
his own private armed vessel named the Fire of Troy, from Hoorn, 
Holland, taking their families, farmers, female servants and 
stock, for New Amsterdam, reaching that place in July, 168*.). 
The arrival of the ship was hailed by the colony "as a great pub- 
lic good." Where Jonas Bronck came from originally is yet a 
matter of dispute. 

He secured a "Grand Brief,'' a tract of land of 500 acres 
north of the Harlem River, and became the first white settler in 
that section. He was not content with the deed from the authori- 
X33 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ties of "New Amsterdam, but in addition made an honest purchase 
from the Indian Sachem, Tackamack, and his associates. 

The tract of land purchased i)y him was called by the 
Indians Ranachqua. It lay between the Harlem River and the 
river Abquahung, now known as the Bronx. Here Bronck made 
his improvements and began his life. 

Of his life here we have but few details. We know this, 
Kuyter came and settled near him and delighted in his friendship. 
And we know this also, that the Indians trusted him, when they 
were suspicious of and at actual war with the New Amsterdam au- 
thorities. 

Jonas Bronck died in 1648. He left a widow and one son, 
Pieter Jonassen Bronck. The widow married Arendt van Corlear, 
Sheriff of Rensselaerwick, and removed with him to Albany. 

It was this Peter Bronck, the only son of Jonas, who in 
16(32 purchased from the Indians a tract of land and secured for 
it from the Dutch authorities what is known as Bronck's Patent. 

On this patent by the terms of the grant, a house was 
built in 1663. Judge Leonard Bronk, said many years before he 
died that that part of the house was a good deal more than 200 
years old. He died in 1872. The brick house was built in 1738. 
The date is cut in the foundation on the north side of the house. 
The kitchen extension was rebuilt in 1792. 

The house, the mills and the land descended to his son 
Jan Bronck, and from the date of the original purchase the home- 
stead and many acres of the original grant have never been out of 
the hands of the lineal descendants- 

The immediate ancestor of Judge Leonard Bronk was John 
L. Bronk, who married Elsie van Buren. He inherited the old 
home and the traditions, and he wasw^orthy of both. He was the 
most influential man in his section in his time. In 1770 he was 
commissioned Captain of Militia by Lieut. Gov. Cadwallader Col- 
den. On Oct 20th, 1775, he was commissioned Major of the 11th 
Regt. N. Y. by the Provincial Congress. In 1778 he was com- 
missioned 2nd Major by Gov. Clinton. In 1778 he is still absorb- 

134 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ed in the struggle for independence. In this year he was appoint" 
ed 1st Lieut, by Governor Clinton. 

Among the papers of Judge Bronk in the possession of the 
family there are two letters from Valley Forge, dated in April. 
But in none of these letters is there any mention of the sutiering 
and hardship so vividly pictured in the histories of our Revolution, 
of the suffering of our soldiers in that camp during the winter of 
1778. 

During the year of 1787 he received from his correspond- 
ents letters of great public interest. The first is in reference to 
Gen'l Gates' defeat, and the second is in reference to Benedict 
Arnold. 

Headquarters Stone Aral)ia, Sppt. S, 17.S0. 
Dear Sir: 

The news from the Southward is very unfavorable indeed. 
Gen'l Gates I believe is certainly totally defeated. The Militia in 
in them parts betrayed the confidence he reposed in them and ran 
and by this means the chief of the Continental troops were either 
killed or taken. 

I believe it may noAV be depended on that the second divi- 
sion of the French fleet is on their way to the Contnient, as we 
have advice from them, the reason of their not coming before was 
because they have been blocked up. By what means they have 
got relieved I am not at present able to inform you. 

I am Dr Sir your sincere friend and very humble serv't 

T \'an Wagenen. 

The other letter is from his most intimate friend and con- 
stant correspondent, Leon. Gansevoort, Jr. It is as follows: 

Albany, Oct. (i, 17S(). 
Dear Sir: 

As I know that good news is always acceptable to a Person 
so warmly interested in the Country's welfare as yourself, I have 
now thought proper to sit down to give you a small Piece of News 
we yesterday received by one of Col. Van Schaick's Officers. 

Col. Malcolm with the three months men was going up to 
135 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



relieve the Garrison at Fort Schuyler and being with the main 
Bod3' of his troops on one side of the river he sent an OfHcer with 
a party of men on the other side who fell in with about sixty In- 
dians. They were fired upon by the Party who Killed two Indians. 
The rest ran oft" leavmg behind them thirty blankets with their 
Packs, Kettles and other articles. 

What think you of Arnold— what an infamous dirty villan" 
ous detestable Rascal he is — if ever there was one deserved hang- 
ing he does, and I sincerely hope he may yet get it. I think that in 
no one instance during this war has the Interposition of Divine 
Providence so remarkablj^ been manifested as in this, we were just 
upon the Precipice of Destruction and would have been inevitably 
gone had not a Kind Deity interposed and warded off the Blow. 
This must convince our Enemies, even the most hardened of them 
that our Cause is just and while engaged in it we will, we must, 
prosper. Conquered we never can be by Great Britian. 
Your friend, 

Leon Gansevoort, Jr. 

On Nov. 4th he receives a long and triumphant letter from 
his friend Leon Gansevoort, Jr., on the surrender. It begins: 

"Dear Friend, I Heartily congratulate j'ou on the great and 
glorious news of the surrender of Cornwallis, etc.'' 

Judge Bronk in 1782 and 1783 was Supervisor for Albany 
Count3\ In 1784 and 1785 he is Member of the Assembly and 
Supervisor of Albany County. In 1785 he is also appointed Com- 
missioner of Excise. In 1786 he is still in the position of Super- 
visor and in the Assembly. 

He was in the Assembly in 1781, 1783, 1784, 1785, 1786, 
1787, 1789, 1792 and 1795. In 1796 he was elected to the State 
Senate and was in thelSenate in 1796, 1797, 1798, 1799, 1800. In 
1801 he was again named for the Senate, and once more in 1803. 

When the agitation for a further division of Albany County 
was at its height Mr. Bronk was in the Senate, with an almost 
impossible task of pleasing his divided constituents. He was 

136 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



named for Senator in 1801 and again in 1803. And when the new 
County of Greene was a fact accomplished Leonard Bronk was 
selected l)y the Council of Appointment for the place of honor as 
First Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. He held this position 
from March 20th, 1800, until April 3d, 1810. 

He died April 22, 1828. 

See picture under surrogate court judges. 

His grave is just beyond the old house to the south and 
west on a little knoll at the bend in the creek. In the little in- 
closure is a plain slab with this inscription: "In memory of Leon- 
ard Bronk, who died April 22d, 1828, aged 70 yrs. I am the 
Resurrection and the Life." And beyond the inclosure, crowding 
all the rest of the knoll, are the graves of the faithful servants 
who trusted him while he was alive and wanted to be buried near 
him when they were dead. 




The Old Mill at Coxsackie, Oldest in County. 
137 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The GKase Family Pioneer.s 

It is interesting to note that among the 
pioneers of the western section of Greene 
county was Zephaniah Chase, great grand- 
father of Emorj^ A. Chase of Catskill, Associate 
Judge of the Court of Appeals. 

There are seven generations from Thomas 
Chase to Judge Emory A. Chase. Thomas 
Chase came from Hundrech Parish Chesham, 
Buckinghamshire, England in 1636, and settled 
at Hampton, New Hampshire. 
Isaac Chase, his son, was born at Hampton, N. H. in April 
1647, and died at Martha's Vineyard, May 19, 1727. 

Joseph Chase, his son, was born at Martha's Vineyard, 
Feb. 26, 1689, and died in May 1749. 

Abel Chase, his son, was born at Martha's Mneyard, Oct. 
9, 1719, and died at the home of his son Zephaniah, this county. 
Zephaniah Chase, his son, was born at Martha's Vineyard, 
March 14, 174S, and died at Jewett Center, May, 30, 1828. 

Benjamin Chase, his son, was born at Martha's Vineyard. 
Jan. 21, 1774, and died at Jewett Center Feb. 29, 1862. 

Albert Chase, his son, was born at Jewett Center, Jan. 4, 
1S19, and died at Hensonville, Oct. 18, 4902. 

Emory A. Chase, his son, was born at Hensonville, Aug. 31, 
1854. 

A relative of Zephaniah Chase owned considerable land at 
Binghamton and offered to give Zephaniah a farm if he would 
begin a settlement there. 

Zephaniah owned some real property at \'ineyard 
Haven, which he sold for S250, preparatory to seeking a home in 
the then western wilds. With the proceeds of his real property, 
he took his second wife. Love, and their son David, then a little 
more than a year old, and his sons by his first wife, Benjamin, 
aged thirteen, Joseph, aged eleven, and Thomas, aged nine, and 
started on his long journey. He reached Hudson, N. Y., proba- 
bly by means of a slow sailing sloop from Martha's Vineyard. 

138 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



From a document now in the possession of his descendants, it ap- 
pears that he was in Hudson, August 1, 1787. At Hudson, they 
learned that the difficult part of the journey lay before them; a 
journey through forests infested with wild animals and over a 
crude road througli the forest. Indians yet roamed the forest o^' 
eastern and southern New York. He purchased a yoke of oxen 
and a wagon and started on his journey to Binghamton, taking 
his wife and children and such tools and personal property as he 
had with him in the primitive conveyance. How he crossed the 
Hudson river is not known, but it was probably by boarding some 
sailing vessel and landing at Catskill. From Catskill to Bingham- 
ton, the road lay over the Catskill Mountains and the entire jour- 
ney was through an almost unbroken forest with only a few set- 
tlers' cabins along the way. They proceeded to the valley of the 
Batavia-kill, west of the eastern range of the Catskills and, while 
resting near a well known high rock standing within what is now 
the village of AVindham, at a cabin built against said rock in 
which lived an early settler, a man, who had come from Bing- 
hamton on foot, informed them, that owing to an unusual wind, 
many trees were blown across the road and that it would be im- 
possible to get through with a wagon. While waiting somewhat 
undetermined what to do, he met one Thomas Harriott, who offer- 
ed to sell him his farm situated on the Schoharie-kill, at a point 
ten miles up that stream from its junction with the Batavia-kill at 
a point ten miles below where they were, at what is now Pratts- 
ville. He concluded to buy this farm and agreed to give, on 
reaching the farm, the oxen, as part payment for the same. How 
he reached the farm is told hereinafter. The house, they found, 
was only two logs high covered with bark, but a block house was 
in course of erection and this Zephaniah and his sons finished be- 
fore the cold winter, and here, shortly afterwards, their son West 
was born the first Chase born in the Catskills. 

There was no saw mill within twenty miles of the farm at 
which logs could be sawed into material adapted for use in com- 
pleting the house, and fronr which to make furniture, so all such 
material were made by Zephaniah and his sons by hewing the logs 
139 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



into blocks or splitting them, and by shaving and planing them 
into boards by the use of axes and other tools brought from Mar- 
tha's Vineyard. Some of the furniture made by Zephaniah is now 
in the possession of his descendants. The deed from Thomas 
Harriott is dated Aug. 19, 1787. The family continued to live 
upon the farm and they cleared away the forests which covered the 
valley as well as the highlands and here all of the children of the 
second marriag^e except David were born. Zephaniah later built 
a more pretentious house which is still standing. The homestead 
farm in 1787 was in the town of Woodstock, Ulster county, X. Y., 
it was subsequently included in the new town of Windham and in 
Greene county. In subsequent divisions of the territory it became 
successively a part of the towns of Lexington and Jewett.It is now 
a part of the town of Jewett, Greene county, and the post-office is 
Jewett Center, X. Y. 

Zephaniah was a Baptist, but few of his descendants are of 
that faith, many being Methodists or Presbyterians. He was a 
soldier in the Revolutionary Army. He is buried in the family 
burial plot in the cemetery on the hill north of the house which 
he built, and which is known as the Chase cemetery. 

When Zephaniah and his family, on the westward journey, 
reached the point on the Batavia-kill mentioned, where the farm 
was purchased, Benjamin (then a lad of thirteen years) was sent 
with the oxen and goods down the Batavia-kill ten miles until he 
reached the Schoharie-kill and he was directed then to follow up 
that stream ten miles to the farm that was to be their future home. 
Zephaniah took his wife and the three youngest children, includ- 
ing David, the baby, and crossed the mountain range on foot, 
through what is now Jewett Heights, a route about half as long as 
the one taken by Benjamin with the oxen and wagon. Zephaniah 
was guided to his destination by marked trees described to him by 
the man from whose cabin they started. 

BEXJAMIX CHASE 

Benjamin's life was spent at the homestead farm and a 
140 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



farm near it which he purchased. He engaged in farming, lum- 
bering and tanning, and was also an officer of the local militia. He 
lived to be eighty-eight years old. 

ALBERT CHASE 

Albert, the father of Judge Chase, lived with his parents 
until the death of his mother, January 12, 1829, after which he 
went to live in the family of his uncle, Charles Chase, on a farm 
two miles below what is now the village of Hunter, where he at 
tended the district school, and when twenty years old returned to 
the town of Lexington and acquired the carpenter's trade, which 
he fcUowed for twentv-five years, becoming one of the largest con- 
trnctors in that part of the county. He married Sept. 1, 1S44, at 
tlie Methcdist church in East Jewett, Laura Orinda daughter of 
Abner and Betsey (Judson) Woodworth. After their marriage, 
they resided for about one year in the town of Lexington. Tlien 
they moved to Hensonville (1845), and he there carried on an 
extensive lumber and contracting business for many years. Sul)- 
sequently he purchased a large farm on tlie outskirts of tlie vill- 
age and, after erecting new buildings thereon, made it his home 
for the rjst of his life. He was a Republican in politics and held 
the office of Justice of tlie Peace and other offices in the town. He 
was an active supporter of the Methodist Church at Hensonville 
and for twentj'-six years the superintendent of its Sunday School. 

EMORY A. CHASE 

Emory A. Chase Associate Judge of the Courr of Appeals 
of the State of New York, was born at Hensonville, N. Y., Aug. 
31, 1854, and resides on Prospect avenue, Catskill, N. Y. 

Judge Chase was educated at the village school and at Fort 
Edward Collegiate Institute, after which he taught school for sev- 
eral years, in the meantime preparing for the legal profession On 
March 27, 1877, he entered the law offices of King & Hallock at 
Catskill, N. Y., was admitted to the bar, May 6, 1880. In that 
year Mr. King retired and a new legal firm was formed by Mr. 

141 



bfcAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Hallock and W. Irving Jennings under the name of Hallock ct 
Jennings. Mr. Chase was given an interest in the business, but 
his name could not appear as a member of the firm at that time 
as he had not been admitted as an attorney-at-la\v. The firm 
name was afterwards (in 1882) changed to Hallock, Jennings ct 
Chase. On September 22, 1890. Mr. Hallock retired, but the 
rirnied continued in the name of Jennings & Chase. They became 
well known as able, conscientious lawyers and had a very large 
and profitable clientage. ]Mr. Chase was successively admitted to 
the United States District and Circuit Courts and the I'nited 
States .Supreme Court. His practice frequently took him before 
the State and Federal Courts and he was every where recognized as 
a successful lawver and a man of the highest character 

In 1880, the year he was admitted to the bar, he was the 
candidate of his party for district attorney of Greene county, but 
althouhg he ran far ahead of his ticket, he was defeated by '2\\ 
votes. In 1882, he was elected a member of the Catskill Board of 
Education and served continuously in such Board until 1896, the 
last five years being its president. He also served one term as 
supervisor of the town of Catskill and for manj^ years was the vil- 
lage counsel. In 1896, Mr. Chase, who had now been in active 
political and professional life since 1880, was nominated by the 
Third Judicial District Republican Convention for a justice of the 
Supreme Court of New York. He was opposed b\' the Democratic 
candidate, Frank H. Osborn. At the election following, he re- 
ceived a majority of 12,6S0 votes and was the seconl Supreme 
Court Justice ever elected by the Republican party in that Judicial 
District. Before assuming the duties of his office, he retired from 
the law firm of Jennings & Chase, his place being taken by liis 
opponent for the judgeship, Frank H. Osborn. 

Judge Chase made his first appearance on the trial bench at 
the January trial term of 1897 at Schoharie, and at the close of 
his first trial term received an engrossed copy of complimentary 
resolutions adopted by the Schoharie County Bar. As he went 
from county to county as a trial justice he won the highest en- 
coniums from the lawyers and the press for his fair, impartial rul- 

143 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ings, his unfailing courtesy and rapid methods of disposing of 
business. January 8 , 1900 he was designated an associate justice 
of the appellate division of the Supreme Court, third department, 
by Governor Odell; December 31, 1905, he was designated, by 
Governor Higgins, as an associate judge of the Court of Appeals 
under the constitutional amendment of 1899. At the expiration 
in 1910, of his term of fourteen years. Judge Chase was unani- 
mously renominated by the Republican convention of the Third 
Judicial District held October 5, 1910. At the Democratic con- 
vention held a few days later, he was paid the high and unusual 
compliment of a unanimous nomination by his political oppon- 
ents, the nominating speech being made by the unsuccessful can- 
didate of fourteen years earlier, Frank H. Osborn. He said of 
Judge Chase in part: "He is a man of irreproachable character, 
an able lawyer and an ideal judge." 

During that part of his term in which he was engaged as a 
trial justice, he frequently by invitation presided over Courts in 
New York City and other parts of the state outside of his judicial 
district, and many noted cases were tried before him. While he 
has been a justice of the Appellate Division and a judge of the 
Court of Appeals, hundreds of opinions have been written by him 
which appear in law reports and make a part of the judicial his- 
tory of the State. The New York Bar Association, in endorsing 
his nomination, said: "his judicial career both in trial and appel- 
late courts, and especially as a member by designation of the 
Court of Appeals, is and has been distinguished for and character- 
ized by, such eminent judicial qualification and great legal learn- 
ing and ability, as to make it most fitting and desirable that his 
services be retained by the public. Therefore, the New York State 
Bar Association by its duly authorized committee, hereby urges 
the unanimous renomination and election of Mr. Justice Chase, 
irrespective of party, to the end that the judiciary may, as far as 
possible, be kept free from politics, that the public may retain the 
services of a tried, upright and most worthy judge and as we hope, 
if not expect, that if re-elected, he may continue to adorn the 
bench of the Court of Appeals as one of its appointed members." 

143 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



At the election on November 8, 1910, Judge Chase received 
the vote of the two great political parties, and was re-elected for 
another terra of fourteen years, and the first act of Governor Dix 
on taking office, January 1, 1911, was to re-designate Judge Chase, 
together with former Associate Judge, Frank H. Hiscock of Syra- 
cuse, N. Y., to the Court of Appeals, pursuant to said provision 
of the State Constitution. Judge Chase is now engaged in the per- 
formance of his duties as a judge of that court. 

In 1912 Judge Chase was nominated by the .Republican party 
for election to the Court of Appeals. His candidacy was endorsed 
by the State Bar Association and the Associated Bar of the City 
of New York. ^Vhile the Republican vote for governor was 444,- 
105, the vote for Judge Chase was 467,743 but he was defeated. 

He was the candidate of the Republican party for Judge of 
the Court of Appeals in the fall of 1914, and received nearly 2000 
pluralitj' in Greene county, most flattering indeed, but was de- 
feated by a few thousand votes. He will continue to serve the state 
by appointment, and is without doubt one of the ablest jurists in 
the country. 

He is a member and a trustee of Christ's Presliyterian 
Church of Catskill and a liberal supporter of all good causes in his 
home town. He is deeply interested in historical and genealogi- 
cal matters and has giyen much time to the preservation of his 
own family history. 

Judge Chase married at Prattsville, New York, June 30, 
1885, Mary E. Churchill, daughter of Addison J. and Elizabeth 
(Houghtaling) Churchill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Office of King & Hallock, where Judge Chase studied law. Torn 
down to make room for Catskill Saving Bank. 



t)EJAR OLD GREEINE COUNTY. 




aO\. ZaDOCK PRATT. 

Courtesy of vSupervisor Elmer Kreiger (1853). 

Hoi\. Z,adock ^ratl 

The one man who stands conspicuous in the early history 
of Greene county whose name not only is inscribed on the ever- 
lasting hills of his native town, but in the records that are familiar 
to all is Col. Zadock Pi'att of Prattsville, which town bears with 
honor his distinguished name. He was a great man in his 
native town, also foremost in the county and of national repute. 

He was a great man in every sense of the word. The tan- 
nery built by him and operated for over 20 j'ears was 550 feet long, 
45 feet wide and had over 800 vats for the tanning of leather, the 
greatest industry of the county. 

146 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



This was started in 1825, and he employed in all over 30,- 
000 men. He cleared 12 000 acres of land for the hemlock bark 
and lumber, tanned 2 million sides of leather. In l'S25 he l)uilt 
the first grist mill, later on a hat manufactor3^ 








ii 



;i{4*k* n^'lFt.s Jif 






Residence of Zadook Pratt (IHiSj. 

He was born at Stephentown, X. Y. in 1790, removed to 
Lexington in 1802, and in 1825 was Col. of the llGth New York 
Inf. and he commanded the escort of General Lafayette on the 
occasion of his visit to Catskill. He was congressman in 1836 and 
1842, and had the distinction of moving the survey of the Pacific 
railroad. 

He established a large number of tanneries, three of which 
were destroved by fire, one at West Kill and two at Windham. 

Although he was a trustee and vestryman of the Episcopal 
church at Prattsville he is said to have paid one third of the ex- 
pense of the Reformed and Methodist churches. In 1836 he was 
an elector and cast his vote for Van Buren and Johnston. He 
died at the age of 80 years and his achievements were the most 
coUosal possibly of any man who ever lived in this state. 

147 



DEAR OLb GREENEJ COtJNTY. 



Col. Pratt also owned and operated a tannery at Windham, 
another at Big Hollow, the Palen tannery, Samsonville tannery, 
Westkill tannery, and Aldenville tHnnerJ^ 

The Windham tannery was burned in 1<S44 and also 1853, 
the loss being $12,000 each time. The Westkill tannery was 
luirned in 1889 with a loss of 810,000. The.se were all insured. 

Col Pratt moved to Windham in 1802, since Lexington and 
now Jewett. He commenced business in Lexington in 1S12, and 
he made for the New York market 100,000 oars. 

In 1820 he was captain of the 5th N. Y. S. Inf and uni- 
formed 100 men at his own expense. He was a passenger on the 
Robert Fulton on her first trip. 

In 1824 he moved to Prattsville and built the tannery there 
and on completion of the dam Nov. 17 swam across it, though the 
water was forming ice. 

In the recollections of Col. Pratt, an old resident of Catskill 
informs us that he remembers on one occasion in the early 50's 
Col. Pratt drove to Catskill on a very hot Fourth of July, with a 
span of white horses, sleigh, with bells and robes, and drew up in 
front of what is now the Smith House. The sleigh shoes were worn 
nearly through, he jumped out slapping himself in imitation of 
cold, handed the hostler $5 and told him to blanket the team and 
feed them good. On another occasion at the Cairo fair he is said 
to have raised a ruction with the exhibits in the display hall, and 
then pulled out a big check book and paid for it all in a manner 
that was most acceptable. He was a great joker, and a man who 
held the highest esteem of all. Everybody in Greene county knew 
the Colonel and what? more they regarded him as the most wonder- 
ful man the county ever produced. 

The view of Prattsville taken about 1850 which is from an 
old picture furnished us by Supervisor Elmer Krieger of Pratts- 
ville, and which is found on another page in this book, shows the 
old tannery and also the famous white horse which was one of the 
span he drove to Catskill on a Fourth of July, which we have re- 
ferred to. 

The old grist mill and the church are to be seen in the 
picture also. 

148 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Visitors to Prattsville today are shoun with pride the rock 
carvings which he caused to be made in 1844. Carvings that have 
been photographed ten thousand times. They are on a ledge of 
rocks that tower 500 feet above the Schoharie creek. These carv- 
ings show busts of Zadock Pratt, and a view of the great tannery 
he built, with the announcement that he had tanned a milHon 
sides of sole leather in 20 years. There is a life size bust of his 
son, Col. George W. Pratt, and the inscription "Hon. Geo. W. 
Pratt Ph. D., Col. XX Regt. X. Y S.M. Ulster Co. Born April 18, 
1832, wounded Aug. 80, 18(J2 at battle of Manassas. Good, braye, 
honorable.'' A horse, coat of arms, an arm and hammer, and a 
mass of inscriptions. These are visible for a considerable distance. 
There is also a monument which contains the names of horses and 
dogs that belonged to him, with their ages. 

The descendants of Col. Pratt many of them are still found 
scattered throughout the mountain section, as well as throughout 
the country. 

The tanning business has entii-ely passed, as well as the 
asheries and distilleries. The town of Windham had many of 
these early distilleries. So later did Ashland and Durham, and 
the whiskey jug was a regular companion of the men in the fields 
and the preachers appear not to have been adverse at all to the 
little brown jug. 

One of the popular airs of the early day was ' 'Little Brown 
Jug How I Love Thee.'' And it was all too true that the little 
brown jug went under the arm, when the farmer went to work 
upon his land or crops. 

GKarle3 h- Beach 

One of the time honored landmarks of Greene county was 
Charles L. Beach, whose name is inseparably connected with many 
of the important enterprises of the county. He was born in what 
is now Lexington in 1808 in one of the old log houses that shelter- 
ed his grandfather and father who with about 40 families moved 
149 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



i^iiwiftiiif|[5[fff^ 




Catpkill Mountain House, 
from Goshen, Ct. in 1795 and spttled in Lexinpcton being the first 
settlers. 

[n 1813 he moved to Catskill with his father Erastus Beach 
and in 1823 commenced staging it to the Catskill ^tountain 
House, which 21 years later passed to him as owner. On the oc- 
casion of General Lafayette's visit to Catskill his father drove the 
carriage which contained the illustrious general. His stage lines 
covered a distance of about 1500 miles. They made trips between 
New York and Catskill on either side of the river and connected 
with a line also that reached over the mountains to Delhi and to 
Ithaca. We understand that the ferries at Catskill and also at 
Athens were driven by horsepower. Mr. Beach was prime mover 
in the Catskill Mountain railroad, m which he invested over 8100- 
000. His nephew Charles A. Beach was president of the road. 

The Catskill Mountain House is still in the possession of the 
Beach family, with George H. Beach conducting it. 

The Mountain House has been pictured by artists the world 
over and is one of the few pictures to be seen in the books of the 
early 20's. Judge Chase has among his collection pictures of the 
Mountain House, of North and South Lakes owned by the Mount- 
ain House and of Kaaterskill Falls which he is preserving because 
of their antiquity. The Mountain House for long years was visited 
by tourists from abroad, who regarded the view at that point as 
the greatest in the world. It had no rivals, and the great generals 
and statesmen considered that when they had been to the Mountain 
House there wasn't much else left worth the while. 

150 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Exit Tannery Ervter Cement 

Of the early industries of Greene county it appears the 
greatest was tanning. It was in every section and some of these 
were timed to talxe care of 40,000 hides a year Millions of cattle 
were slain for their hides, hundreds daily at the Point in Catskill 
alone. Great hemlock trees in dense forests made music for the 
woodmen's axe, and the hark peeler. Great droves of oxen haul- 
ed these logs and l)ark to the markets and saw mills. Some of the 
timber found its way into the charcoal pits, and some into the 
homes of the pioneers. Old taverns even in Catskill, drew patrons 
to their hostelries by the hanging out of Bulls Head signs. There 
were tanner's stores, tanner's and trader's supply houses and even 
banks. It was the tanning industry that famished the incentive 
to name Catskill's bank the Tanners Bank. 

Near the head of Main street in Catskill may still be seen 
the remains of tanning vats in what was the Jones and Bagley 
tannery 

The brick industry has remained, antl is on the up grade 
yet, but tanning, once the subject for poetry and song has passed. 
The cattle industry has passed. But other industries have come, 
and the capital that represents them runs into the millions. 

The last decade however has added what is destined to be- 
come the greatest of all industries, that of cement making. 

There are three great plants in ( 'atskill, each costing millions 
of dollars, and each capable of turning out thousands of barrels of 
the finest cement in the world. 

The Seaboard plant is still in process of completion, south 
of Catskill. and will likely get running this year. 

The Alsen plant at Alsen is a German concern and has been 
doing a great business. 

Reference will be found elsewhere to the allied industry of 
Ijrick making, of which the several river towns have many im- 
portant yards, and to the manufacture of vitrified paving brick at 
the great Catskill plant. 

151 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The above ilJustration is a view of the Plant of the ALPHA 
Portland Cement Company as it'appears with improvements com- 
pleted . 

This plant, located at Cementon, is one of the largest in- 
dustries tributary to the town of Catskill. The original plant 
was built by the Catskill Cement Company, which was in- 
corporated in August, 1899. The officers of this company at that 
time were '.P. Gardner Coffin, President, James W. Kittrell, Secre- 
tary and Treasurer, both of whom are residents of Catskill. 

These gentlemen operated this plant, gradually increasing 
its capacity from 350 barrels per day to something over 1000 barrels 
per day in 1909, at which time the control of the Gatskill Company 
was purchased by the Alpha Portland Cement Company of Easton, 
Pennsylvania. 

The Alpha Company immediately started in to extend the 
plant and since their control began in October, 1909, they have 
practically rebuilt the mill. They have also very greatly increas- 
ed its capacity, having spent, at this point in the last five years, 
over a million dollars. 

The capacity of the plant at the present time is about 4000 
barrels per day. It enjoys unusual shipping facilities, having 
private docks located directly on the Hudson River and also a 
private siding from the West Shore Railroad. 

153 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



An increasing quantity of the cement made in this mill is 
now being sold in South America the European War having cut 
oflf to a large extent the importation of Portland Cement from 
European countries and opened the way for a larger sale of Port- 
land Cement made in the United States. 

The product of this cement plant enjoys a distinctive place 
ill the engineering world because of the fact that the percentage of 
alumina is very much lower than that in most Portland Cements. 
A low-alumina cement is regarded as preferable for concrete work 
that is exposed to sea-water. Verv large quantities of cement 
from the ALPHA Catskill plant have been used in building docks 
and wharves for New York City and for U. S. Government con- 
structions along the coast. 

Some idea of the growth of the increase in the use of Port- 
land Cement may be gained from the fact that in 1900 only about 
eight and a half million barrels were manufactured in America, 
while the present yearly output is close to one hundred million 
barrels . 

Originally Portland Cement was used mainly in the con- 
struction of great engineering jobs, such as bridges, dams, etc. 
During recent years the use of cement in making home and farm 
improvements has developed into an enormous field for the 
cement companies. The use of Portland Cement in the building 
of concrete roads has opened another great field. 

The ALPHA Portland Cement Company follows an educa- 
tional policy in in its advertising and sends out free literature of 
various kinds to persons contemplating the use of cement in any 
way. The general offices of the Company are at Easton, Pa. The 
present officers are G. S. Brown, President, J. M. Lockhart, First 
Vice-president, F. G. McKelyy, Second Vice-president, F. M. 
Coogan, Secretary, and J. J. Matthes, Treasurer. N. D. Colburn, 
who is well known in this part of New York state, is the Superin- 
tendent of the Catskill ALPHA Plant. 



153 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Courts and Records— The ^ar. 

Greene county has always been wealthy in the array of 
k'gal talent that has come to the front to represent the several 
towns or fill the most important of the stations where much knowl- 
edge has been required. Some of these men have been legal giants 
to judge from their records. Men of the stamp of Judge A. Melvm 
Osborn, Judge Sanderson, Sidney Crowell, RufusH. King, Lyman 
Tremaine, Danforth K Olney, Lucius Robinson, Malbon Watson, 
John A. Griswold, Lewis Benton and others were very conspicuous 
during their life time. 

Of the old time lawyers we have mention of but two who 
held important State positions, and Lyman Tremaine, was one. 
He was born in the town of Durham and represented the 
county as speaker of the assembly at one time, and filled many 
important positions. He was one of the great lawyers of the state. 

John Adams and James Powers were among the early 
pleaders. Later on we note Rufus King, Peleg Mattoon, Mitchell 
Sandford, D. K. Olney at onetime was considered the head of the 
bar in Greenp county. Adams and Powers, and Olney and King, 
and then King and Hallock. This firm later changing to Hallock, 
Jennings and Chase, and upon the election of Mr. Chase to the 
Supreme Court, to Osborn and Bloodgood. Later Mr. Wilbur be- 
ing admitted to the firm. Mr. Osborn was conspicious in the trial 
of a number of very important cases, the Quinn murder trial being 
one of them. Mr. Wilbur became district attorne\^ and Mr. Chase 
has gone to the court of appeals bench. These men have all, been 
connected with the banks of Catskill. 

Hon. A. ^Nlelvin Osborn was another Greene county man 
who bore great distinction as a lawyer and who was soon elevated 
to the higher courts, where death claimed him in the prime of his 
work . 

D. K. Olney, James B. Olney, Hon. John Olney, Hon. John 
A. Griswold, Hon. John Sanderson, Manly B. ]Mattice, Sidney 
Crowell, Pierre S. Jennings, Addison C. Griswold were among the 
lawyers who gained distinction and political honors, all passed to 
their rewards. 

154 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Hon. Jas. B. Olney. 

Other talented lawyers of the county who have passed are 
William E. Leete, Sidney Crowell, Addison C. Griswold, Henry 
Mott, Sheldon Givens, Charles Givens, Charles F. Bouton, Herman 
Winans, Lemuel C. Bennett, Charles H. Porter, Ebenezer Haight, 
J. C. DeWitt, Augustus R. Macomber, Joseph Hallock, Arthur M. 
Murphy, Jacob I. Werner, Henry D. Shores, Charles G. Cottin, 
Augustus Sherman, Augustus Hill, A. Cowles, John B. Bronk, 
and Cicero C. Peck. 

Among those who have gone to other fields are L. B. Curuell, 
Spokane, Frank H. Burroughs, New York, Jesse W. Olney, San 
Francisco, Eugene Raymond, Brooklyn, Herbert Niklewic/, New 
York, Fred Werner, Conneticut. 

The most notable of the men who have been honored in 
recent years, is the Hon. Emory A. Chase who has for the past 17 
155 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



years been a judge of the supreme court, and for aconsiderable 
portion of the time justice of the highest branch of the court — the 
appelate division. 




Pierre S. Jennings, former Dist. Atty. 
Among the lawyers of the recent years perhaps the most 
successful has been Judge Tallmadge who for many years has 
been county judge and who handling thousands of cases that have 
come before him not only in the Greene county courts, but also in 
the courts of New York has never yet been reversed on a decision. 
Senator Bloodgood is another lawyer who has gained distinction in 
the courts and been honored with high official stations Attorney 
Judson A. Betts, also has been very successful and has held the 
office of county treasurer a number of times. At present he is 
associatcl with his son Lee F. Betts, who was sergeant at arms in 
the legislature under Gov. Sulzer. William W, Bennett is another 

156 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



rising young lawyer. He gained distinction by taking his command 
the 16th Sep. Co. to the front at the time of the Spanish American 
war. 

Attorney Frank H. Osborn is regarded as one of the 
greatest pleaders in the state, and invariably successful in im- 
portant cases. But for the fact that the district is heavily republi- 
can, he would years ago have found his way to the highest 
courts. 

Albert C. Bloodgood of the same firm is regarded as a law* 
yer of exceptional ability. 

Then there is O. T. Heath, who has served Catskill in many 
ways. H. Leroy Austin has risen to an important railroad lawyer 
with offices in Albanv, and he was a partner with former District 
Attorney Pierre S. Jennings, whose untimely death from consump- 
tion is still mourned. Another once brilliant lawyer was Egbert 
Palmer, who served as district attorney, and who in his last years 
gave way to the attack of disease. 

J . Lewis Patrie has risen to the legislature and had the best 
record perhaps of all men who have represented (ireene C'ounty. 
A natural born orator, and one whose opinion was foremost in the 
legislature for years. 

Attorney H. Leroy Austin of the younger men who have 
risen fast has served the county as district attorney, and be- 
coming a great corporation lawyer was last fall elected to serve as 
a member of the State constitutional revision committee. 

G. Howard Jones made a capable Distrist Attorney and has 
a fine practice. 

Clarence Howland also has a splendid record and is doing 
well. 

E. A. Gift'ord, of Athens, has risen to deputy attorney 
general. 

Nor should we fail to mention Charles A. Nichols, election 
commissioner and former member of assembly. Hon. Ira B. Kerr 
the silver tongued pleader, and the brilliant D. H. Daley and E. 
C. Hallenbeck of Coxsackie, of the older men. 

157 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



C4eorge L. Rifenburgh, of Oak Hill, has bad to extend his 
practice to Albanj'. 

Of the young lawyers who liave forged to the front and 
wlio are doing excellent, and very successful work, are Howard 
(". Wilbur, who has risen to district attorney, Seth T. Cole to 
state tax examiner, George W. Plusch to referee in bankruptcy 
cases, and James Reilly to an important position in the surrogate's 
office. 

Percy \V. Decker, John L. Fray, and J. Lewis Malcolm, of 
Calskill are doing well. 

William E. Thorpe has been corporation counsf^l for Cats- 
kill, and is regarded as a very brilliant lawyer. 

Curtiss and Warren of Coxsackie, ^lichael and Edward 
Lackey of Tannersville are rated very high. So also is Benjamin 
I. Tallmadge of Windham, brother of Judge Tallmadge. 

We understand that no Greene County women have ever 
been admitted to the bar. although there have been a number who 
are doubtless competent, Miss Jackson, Miss-O'Brien, Miss Sim- 
mons are stenographers of ability and Miss Simmons is doing 
court work right along. 

Greene county was represented in the several constitutional 
conventions that have been held. In 1801 Martin Schuneman 
and David Simmons were named. 

1.S21, Jehliel Tuttle and Alpheus Webster. 

1846, Robert Dorlon and James Powers. 

1867, ManleyB. Mattice and Ezekiel Moore. 

1873, Joseph B. Hall, editor Recorder. 

1894, Hon. John A. Griswold 

1915, H. Leroy Austin of Catskill. 

The first Court of Common Pleas was held in the academv 
at Catskill and at the residence of John R. \'andenl)urgh at Cox- 
sackie. 

The tirst county officers were: 

Leonard Bronk, judge 

James Bill, clerk 

George Hale, sheriff 

John H. Cuyler, surrogate 

JohnR. Vandenburgh and Thos. Croswell, coroners. 
158 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Anotlier View of the Court House. 

The Judges of the county have heen: 
Garrett x\beel 1810 F. James Fitch 

Moses I. Cantine ISIS John A. Grisvvold 

John V. S. Scott 1821 John Ohiey 

Dorrance Kirkland 1828 A. Melvin Osborn 

Perkins King 1838 Manley B. Mattice 

Lyman Tremaine 1817 John Sanderson 

Alex. H. Bailey 1851 Josiah C. Tallmadge 

Surrogates 
John H. Cuyler 18()0 Dorance Kirkland 

John Adams 1810 

Through the courtesy of Judge Chase we are al)le 
likenesses of most of the judges. A few are missing a 
for all time. 

It is interesting to note that the early sui-rogates 
their own books of record, and these subsequently we 

159 



1855 
1863 

1867 
1870 

1870-82 
1888 

1900-15 

1 SOS- 11 

to present 
nd will be 

purchased 
re sold to 



bESAk OLt) GREENE COUNTY. 



their successors. Dorrance Kirkland refused to purchase the un- 
used portion of Book A. of Wills, from John H. Cuyler who was 
removed from oflice, and Cuyler thereupon took his knife and cut 
out all the unused leaves. This certified statement may be seen 
in the hook today. 

Those who have held the office of district attorney in th 
county are: 

I 
Alex. Frasier 
Lewis Benton 
Lucius Robinson 
Lyman Tremaine 
DanforthK. Olney 
John A. Griswold 
A. Melvin Osborn 
Hidney Crowell 
Eugene Raymond 
Augustus Sherman 
Josiah C. Tallmadge 
Charles E. Nichols 
Pierre S. Jennings 
Orin Q. Flint 

Washington Hunt, born at Windham, Aug •'), l.Sll, was 
Member of Congress 1843-1849, State C'omptroller 1849, Governor 
IS.iO. 

Lyman Tremaine was born at I)urham and Attorney Gen- 
eral in LS46. Countv Judge 1847. Attorney General 18,57. 

Malbon Watson was justice of the supreme court 1848. 

Lucius Robinson, also born at Windham, Nov. 4, 1810 
was the only other man from Greene county who served the state 
as g'^vernor Mr. Robinson was District Attorney in 1837, Master 
of Chancery 1843, Assemblyman from Chemung county in 1859, 
Comptroller of State in 1861, 1863, 1875, and elected Governor 
Nov. 1876. 

160 



Date of Elect] 


ion Date 


of Election 


1819 


Erastus Barnes 


1821 


1824 


Malbon Watson 


1832-7 


1838 


Danforth K. Olney 


1840-5 


1846 


Rufus Watson 


1847 


18.-)0 


PelegC. Mattoon 


1853 


1856 


James B. Olnev 


1859-62 


1865 


William E. Leete 


1868 


1871 


Addison C. Griswold 


1874 


1877 


G. Howard Jones 


1880 


1883 


Frank H. Osborn 


1886 


ge 1889 


Edward A. Gift'ord 


1882-5 


; 1898 


Egbert Palmer 


1901 


1904 


H. L. Austin 


1 909 


1910 


Howard C. Wilbur 


1911 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



A very successful lawyer who has retired from active prac- 
tice is W. I. Jennings, who for a number of years has devoted his 
time entirely to the Catskill Savings Bank of which he is prisident. 

Dorville S. Coe is another Greene county boy who went out 
from Greene county and who is doing well in New York. 

The present members of the Greene county bar are: 
Catskill 
Jones, Ambrose 
Jones, G. Howard 
Kerr, Ira B. 
Malcolm, J. Lewis 
Nichols, Charles E. 
Osborn, Frank H. 



Austin, H. L. 
Bigley, Charles J. 
Bennett, WilHam W. 
Betts, Judson A. 
Betts, Lee F. 
Bloodgood, Albert C 
Bloodgood, Clarence K. 
Boyne, Harold J. 
Chase, Emory A. 
Cole, Seth T. 
Decker, Percy W. 
Fray, John L. 
Heath, Orliff T. 
Howland, Clarence 
Jennings, W. Irving 
Coxsackie 
Calkins, N. A. 
Curtis, H. McK. 
Daley, D. Henry 
Hallenbeck, Edwin C. 
Hiseerd, James W. 
Warren, Leonard A. 
Cairo 
Chadderdon, Miles A. 
Van Vechten, Francis H. 

Hunter 
Cartwright, C. M. 

Prattsville 
Daley, James B. 



Palmatier, Willliam 
Patrie, J. Lewis 
Philip, James P. 
Plusch, George W. 
Reilly, James H. 
Tallmadge, Josiah C 
Thorpe, William E. 
Van Gelder, James H. 
Wilbur, Howard C. 

Tannersville 
Dibble, Flavius 
Lackey, Edward W. 
Athens 
Flint, Orin Q. 
Gifford, Edward A. 
Porter, 0. Gates 

Durham 
Gardner, Harrison I. 
Taylor, Frank 

Oak Hill 
Rifenburgh, George L. 

Windham 
Tallmadge, Benjamin I. 
161 



Dear old greene couNtY. 




Senator AvTUiain P. Fiero. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Hon. William P. Fiero who was elected to the State 
senate from Greene county in the fall of 1910 was one of the grand 
old men whom the county loves to honor. For more than 33 years 
he was a leading lawyer in the Westchester courts and assistant 
district attorney in the federal courts, where he had universal 
success winning over 400 cases. He had a wonderful interest in 
the county of his birth, and on the court house lawn may be seen 
the grand fountain given by him to the county. He carried (Jreene 
County by 1124 votes. 




Charles G Coffin, Lawyer, Fireman, INIusician 
Mr. Pinkney says he well remembers the Hon. Malbon 
Watson, uf a very distinguished Catsldll family, who was very 
slow and dignified in manner, but who had a fund of humor on 
occasion. It was in a case in justice court, where his opponent had 
been speaking in a very loud voice and earnest manner as though 
the trivial case was of the utmost imporlanc3. Watson came to the 
close of his summing up and said, "And now, gentlemen of the 
jury I leave my case in your hands and give you a chance to listen 
to a blast from the fountain of minds." 

1C3 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




JUDGES OF GRERNU COUNTY COURTS FROM 1800 to 1915. 

Photographed and Reproduced by 
Conrtesj' of Judge Chase. 



Of Judge Bronk there is but one other 
picture in existence. 

Some of these pictures are from 
oil paintings, hence not very 
distinct. 
It was necessary to photograph them through glass, and three 
attempts were made to get them. 
164 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




^W^t 



til 






_Greene,County Judges from 1800 to 19L5. 



165 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Notable 'Womeiv 

Greene county has not produced many women who have 
achieved notoriety in the various fields of activity. The one who 
stands out pre-eminently however is MaggieVan Cott, who passed 
away in 1014 at her home in Catskill bordering on 90 years of age. 
She was the first woman who was ordained to the ministry of the 



#:i 




Mrs. Maggie Van Cott, Evangelist. 

Methodist church, and pretty much all of her life was devoted to 
revival work. She went from one end of the country to the other 
and her converts are said to have numbered over 100,000. Her 
commanding appearance, remarkable voice, and personal magnet- 
ism with an appeal that was irresistible made her a great power 
for good. So late as 1901 she held a great reviyal at Lebanon 
Springs and three brass bands turned out to assist in the Avork. 
There are few if any places in Greene county where she has not 
held successful revivals, and some of these places she visited during 
the last year or so of her life. Around 1900 she had a big tent 
and for several weeks held meetings on west Main street, Catskill. 

Mother Ann Lee, founder of the Shakers, a sect of the 
Quaker church, a denomination still having adherents in Greene 
county, was buried at Watervliet where her grave may still be 
pointed out. She made a great stir in her crusade in which she 

166 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



declared that Marriage was the root of human depravity, and 
forthwith she was sent to prison and then to the mad house. She 
secured her release however, and in 1776 was arrested on a charge 
of high treason, by the British and confined at Pokeepsie. Gov. 
George Clinton pardoned her and she went about establishing 
churches. Finally in 1784 she died at ^yatervliet. Churches in 
many sections included in Albany county, now Greene, were estab- 
lished by her. 

Squaw Owned Old Catskill— Chief of Tribe— From histori- 
cal matter furnished us by the Hon. Clarence E.Bloodgood, form- 
er senator from Greene county, we learn that "Director Brandt 
Van Slechtenhorst, for the Patroon (Van Rensselaer) bought of 
Pwasck, a squaw, chief of Catskill, and her son, Supahoop, a kil 
named Katskil, accounted to be 9 miles and that the consideration 
was seventeen and a half ells of duf!els, a coat of beaver and a 
knife. Aepkje, the interpreter, who l)rought about the sale got 
five and a half ells of duffels for his service. This was in 1649, 
and is a part of the Fort Orange records. 

Among the old residents of whom we find mention in other 
works Dame Van Schaack of the early Dutch of the Coxsackie dis- 
trict was a strenuous character who lived in the old Van Schaack 
homestead near the village. During the Revolutionary period this 
old house was bombarded by the British, and they ransacked it 
and carried off what they thought wa^ of value. Dame VanSchaack 
who appeared to have been verj^ brave, and relentless gathered up 
certain of the belongings that she had an attachment for and an- 
nounced that she wouldn't give them up, and she did not either 
for the leader relented and let her keep what she wanted. This 
old house is still standing and has many pieces of furniture of the 
colonial period. Wood is still burned in the old fire places. 

At the Greene county Alms House for the past few years 
Mrs. E.C. Judson, wife of Ned Buntline, the great American Scout 
and Sea Fighter, as well as one of America's greatest writers of 
fiction, has been making her home. Col. Judson who was in the 
employ of the government during the latter years of his life, crip- 

167 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



pled and scarred from the many battles in which he participated, 
lived at Stamford, Delaware countj', in a mansion that he built, 
and was supposed to be wealthy. .\s a writer of Indian and Scout 
or Sea Faring life he had no equal, and many of his stories were 
printed in the New York Weei^ly 

Madam Jumel also was one of the wives of Aaron Burr. 
She died at the age of 98 j^ears, and Mr. Burr was her third hus- 
band. The madam was the wife of Col. Croix of the British army 
in an elopement at 17, then she married Stephen Jumel, and spent 
a great part of his vast fortune. Burr was 78 years of age when 
she married him. They separated. The Jumel mansion is a 
historical museum in the city of New York. 

Madam Jumel in company with her husband frequently 
visited this section and was often a guest at the Prevost man- 
sion at Greenville. She was one of the most talked about women 
of her period, and many women attempted to follow the styles she 
set in dress. 

Those who have represented the county in charity work are: 

Mrs. Emory A. Chase, Mrs. Percival Goldin, Mrs. W. I. 
Jennings, Mrs. F. S. Decker, Mrs. F. H. Osborn, Mrs. Charles A. 
Elliott, Mrs. J. Lewis Patrie, Mrs. H. L. Boughton, Mrs. James 
P. Phihp, Mrs. Benjamin Wey, Mrs. Ella M. Grout, :Mrs. J. S. 
Henderson, Catskill; and Mrs. Sherwood H. Holcomb, Palenville. 

Mrs. Harriet Penfield, Mrs. George H. Penfield and Mrs. 
Isaac Pruyn are among the prominent workers deceased. 

Mrs- Cornelius Du Bois at Palenville was for many years at 
the head of the Women's Christian Temperance Union of Greene 
county, and Mrs. Harvey Brown and Mrs. G.X. Brandow of Cats- 
kill and Miss Brandow of Coxsackie have been conspicuous in this 
work. 

Mrs. Egbert Beardsley of Catskill has been doing Sunday 
School work and attained considerable distinction as a lecturer. 

Mrs. Benjamin Wey of Catskill has been among the^^leaders 
in school, missionary, church and library work in Greene comity. 
A grand woman in every way. 

16^ 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



In the Suffragist work Mrs. Joseph Malcolm, and Miss 
Gertrude B. Linnell have been very enthusiastic workers, and the 
movement has shown great progress. For a list of other workeis 
who have been connected with this movement see article on the 
Suffragist Movement. 




JNIis. Joseph iNIalcohu, Suffragist Leader. 



Among those who have taken the lead in the work of the 
Old Ladies Home, are Mrs. J. P. Phillip, Mrs. Emory A. Chase, 
Mrs. H. L. Boughton, Mrs. Jeremiah Day, Mrs. Orrin Day, Mrs. 
W. I. Jennings, Emily Becker, Margaret Bedell, Georgiana Jack- 
son and Miss Whitbeck. 

Mrs. 'Ira T.^Tolley matron of the county house has also 
been prominent in charity work. 

169 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Reference will be found elsewhere to the several clubs of 
the county which have been formed and presided over by women. 

l'robal)ly the oldest woman of whom we have any record in 
Greene county was Lavina Allerton, a former resident of Cairo, who 
was born in a log house near that place in 1809 and who died at 
Newark, X. Y., in 1914, being 105 years old. She survived her 
husband by 40 years. Her generations are scattered all over the 
county and state. 

Another old resident who died at Coxsackie last fall was 
Hannah Mackey. who had passed 90 years of age. 

Mrs. Maria Doane of Catskill was another aged resident of 
the county who lived to the century mark. 

Of the Darringer family Mrs. Dorothy Darringer of Catskill 
passed away at the age of 94 years. 

Laura G., wife of the late Judson A\'ilcox died at her home 
in Catskill, Jan. 1900, from the effects of her injury two months 
before, when she fell and fractured her hip. During most of the 
time she had been a great though patient sufferer. She retained 
her remarkable mental faculties up to the last, reading from the 
papers, signing checks, etc., writing her name in regular and 
plain manner . She was 95 years and 5 months and the physici 
ans declare that every organ of her body was was in a perfectly 
healthy condition and had not the accident occurred she might have 
lived to 100 years. She had been a member of St. Luke's church 
over 50 years and was always deeply interested in the welfare of 
that society. Truly she went down to the grave full of years and 
and good works. Mrs. Wilcox was born at Cortright, Delaware 
county, July 13th, 1804, and was united in marriage to Judson 
Wilcox Aug. 18, 1825, by the Rev. Elder Hobble at Cortright 
With her husband she came to Catskill in May, 1826, where she 
had since made her home and for more than 60 years had lived in 
the house where she died. Mr. Wilcox who was an authority on 
early history of Catskill was for more than 50 years in the grocery 
business on the corner opposite Geo. C. Fox's store. He died June 
7th, 1879. 

170 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The Oldest House on William Street, 1798. 

Occupied by the Wilcox family since 1826, and where in 1836, 
Howard Wilcox was born. Judson Wilcox died in this house, 1879, 
also his wife, Mrs. Wilcox in 1900 at the age of 95. 



Among the inscriptions gathered from the local cemeteries 
by the writer of this book, which among is a considerable number 
of others was that of Ruth Croswell relict of Dr. Thomas O'Hara 
Croswell, one of the publishers of the Catskill Packet, to which 
we have referred. She died Jan. 7th, 1862, at the age of 96 years 
and 10 months. She was born in New England, saw George "Wash- 
ington, and her husband honored by him with the appointment 
of postmaster. 



Miss Georgiana Jackson has taken great interest in the 
Humane Society of which she is a leader. 

171 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




ROWENA SCHOOL AT PALEXVILLE. 

The greatest monument ever erected to the memory of a 
woman in this state doubtless is the Rowena Memorial School 
building at Palenville which was dedicated in 1900 and cost ovei 
$50,000. The building is of picture or shell granite . from the 
quarries of George W.Holdridge of Catskill, who erected the build- 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ing. It is a beautiful structure and will stand for all time. It was 
the gift to Piilenvilleof L.W. Lawrence a NewYork man, who with 
his wife for many years spent their summers in that section. Mrs. 
Lawrence was greatly interested in the cause of education and the 
young, and as a beautiful and lasting tril^ute to her memory the 
sehnn] l)nil(linj2; wa~ (M-oftod. It was also partially endowed. 




The Story of Rip Van Winkle— A Heartless Woman. 
An Imperishable Romance in Fiction. 

Washington Irving gave to the Catskil] region, a romance 
that has come down as one of the great pieces of fiction of the 
age, and has added much to the allurements of the grand old 
Catskills Rip in his sleep of 20 years, and his pitiful return to 
the region of Sleepy Hollow, is not more pitiful than Gretchen, 
who was the personification of the Vixen in womankind. 

An artist of 20 years ago has pictured the story so complete 
that we reproduce it above. 

173 



Dear old greene county. 



'Women Arvd The Franchise 

Suffrage work was begun some forty years ago in Catskill, 
when a clul) was formed for the purpose of study, rather than 
of practical work. Speakers irere brought to Catskill at tlint time 
Dr. Anna Howard Shaw, and Miss Harriet May Mills. 

Four or five years ago Mrs. Joseph Malcolm was appointotl 
Leader for Greene County, l)y the national American Woman 
Suffrage Association, but no active work was done at that time. 

The next Suft'rage meeting in Greene county was held, I 
think, at the home of Miss Margaret Bedell, on William street, in 
the Spring of 1910 or 1911, at which Mrs. Raymond Brown and 
another out-of-town Suffragist spoke. 

In the Summer of 1911 Mrs. William Spencer ^Murray of 
Xew Haven, formerly Miss Ella Rush of Catskill, arranged and 
conducted a meeting at which she was the only speaker, at the.Y. 
M. C. A. hall. It was very well attended and the receipts were 
more thari satisfactory. 

In September Mrs. Florence Maule Cooley spoke at the 

home of Mrs. Linnell in Jefferson, to about thirty people. Inspir- 
ed by Mrs. Cooley 's able talk, an informal club was organized, 
which met once or twice at the Heidleberg Inn as guests of Mrs. 
Beardsley. In the absence of ^Irs. ^Malcolm ^Nlrs. Linnell presid- 
ed at these meetings. 

In October Mrs. ]Murray held another small meeting at her 
former home on William street, wdien she gave a very interesting 
account of Suffrage in England, and told some of her own exper- 
iences in London and elsewhere. 

Al)out the third of January "General'' Rosalie Jones and 
her little army of Suft'ragists marched through Catskill on their 
way to petition the legislature to pass the bill permitting women 
to watch at the polls during the election when their enfranchise- 
ment or non-enfranchisement should be decided. Mrs. Rose Liv- 
ing-ton, called the Angel of Chinatown, who is not regularly a 

174 



DfiAR OLD GREENE COtJNtV. 



Suffrage worker, but a rescuer of young girls from the dives of 
Chinatown, told her own tragic, and unfortunatelj^ not singular, 
story to a crowd in front of the Court House, and awakened many 
to ths necessity of Woman's place in the regulation of these things. 

On January 14, 1914, the newly formed club secured Dr. 
Anna Howard Shaw, president of the National American Woman 
Suffrage Association as a speaker and arranged a meeting for her 
at the V. M. C. A. Hall, which was well attended, and which 
more than cleared expenses. County Sealer Adin E. Ballou was 
chairman of this meeting, and the numbers of the Suffragists were 
greatly argumented afterward. 

About the first of March, the National American Woman 
Suffrage Association sent Mrs. Frances Maule Bjorkman to Catskill 
to organize a formal club, this consisted primarily of the appoint- 
ment of a chairman for each of the eleven districts into which, for 
the purpose of the campaign, New York State was divided. Mrs. 
Joseph Malcolm was appointed Leader for Greene county, and 
Mrs.Wardle, Miss S.Joseph, Mrs. E. Lasher, Mrs. John Salisbury, 
and Mrs. Linnell Captains. 

A club, to be called the Equal Franchise League of Catskill 
was formed, with a constitution drawn up and duly signed at a 
meeting at which Mrs. Stuart Bentz was elected President, Mrs. 
Wardle Vice-President, Miss P]mily F. Becker Treasurer, and Miss 
Antoinette Weed Secretary. 

At a subsequent meeting Miss Gertrude Linnell was elected 
President and Miss lone Schubert Treasurer. Regular monthly 
meetings have been held at the library on the last Friday of the 
montli since that time, for the discussion of plans, and the ar- 
rangement cf work. 

On May the second, which was kept as Suft'rage Day all 
through New York State, Catskill had an open air celebration at 
which the Rev. Mr. Hamm presided, and Miss Garrison and Mrs. 
Bjorkman spoke. A large collection was taken. 

175 



bEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



About this time Headquarters were established on 
INIain street, next door to the express office, where a large amount 
of literature was on sale, and a fine window display of posters and 
Current Suffrage News was shown. 

On June the 5th the Greene county .Suffrage Convention 
was held in the Y. M. C A. Hall, presided over by Mrs Carrie 
Chapman Catt, President of the International Woman Suffrage 
Alliance and Chairman of the ICmpire State Campaign Committee. 
At the evening meeting Mr. E. C. Hocmcr, County Suporintend- 
om of Schools was Chairman, and made a warm address, which 
was followed by a Suffrnge song rendered by the Eightli Grade 
Girls' Cliorus. Afterwards Miss Linnell read a description of 
some Suffrage lantern slides, and Mrs. Catt made the address of 
the evening. Mrs. Bjorkman followed Mrs. Catt with a short 
talk 

The following day, .June the (ith, the Eastern New York 
State Suffrage Parade was held at Albanj^ andCatskill sent a dele- 
gation, headed by ^Nfaster Nathan Bentz in a yellow and white 
Colonial costume, earring a banner with the inscription "Taxation 
Without Representation is Tyranny." 

A Suffrage Bridge and Tea Dan-ant for the bpnefit of the 
Equal Suffrage League was held at the Grant House on .July ol, at 
which about twenty dollars were cleared. 

A booth was secured at the Cairo Fair which was presided 
over by Mrs. Bjorkman, assisted by delegations from the Catskill 
and the Tannersville Suffrage clubs. A great number of people 
were reached in this way who had no idea of the meaning of the 
slogan, "Yotes for Women!" Mrs. Francis Thurber of New York 
spoke on the second day. 

A reception was held in honor of the Tannersville Equal 
Suffrage Club, on September 24, 1914, at the Heidelberg Inn, at 
which a large number of Suffragists turned out to welcome the 
ladies from Tannersville. 

About the first of October Miss Edna Post was appointed 
Press Chairman for Greene county to succeed Miss Linnell, who 
had previously resigned from that post. 
176 






Carrie Chapman Catt, Suffragist. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ANOTHER REPORT OF vSUFFRAGE. 

In addition to the foregoing matter on the Suffragist move- 
ment we have received from Mrs. Joseph AFalcolm a very interest- 
ing account, which we are giving in full. The Suffragist movement 
is showing great gains all over the country and it appears to be 
only a matter of a little time when the franchise will be extended 
to the women. 

The Catskill Recorder of P^bruary 2Hth, 18S4, contains the 
following, under the caption of i\[rs. Blake's lecture. The Mrs. 
Blake to whom the article refers probably was Lillie Devreux Blake 
and this as far as is known was the first work for Woman Suffrage 
in Greene county. 

"The world really does move and Woman Suft'rage, a sub- 
ject which but a few years ago was mentioned only to be ridiculed, 
is today exciting the interest and engaging the attention of men 
and women who can easily remember the time when they would 
have been ashamed to be detected countenancing the "woman's 
rights" movement in any manner. Evidence of the change the 
public mind has undergone and is undergoing is furnished in the 
manner and the character of the audience that met Mrs. Blake 
on Monday evening. Instead of the Corporal's Guard that form- 
erly constituted the listeners when the occasion was the hearing of 
the story of woman's wrongs and rights, was a houseful, for the 
most part people of intelligence and refinement, the seats of the 
court room were all occunied, men and women stood in the aisles 
during the entire lecture, and many persons were turned away. 

For an hour or two ^Irs. Blake addressed her audience con- 
versationally, speaking without notes and with no affectation of 
the rhetorical art of the stump speakers. She made a number of 
telling points in the course of her argument and the minds of the 
many present had presented to them, we trust convincingly, the 
harsh injustice and the outrageous wrongs which man since the 
creation has complacently regarded the natural lot and portion of 
women. 

178 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The women who are engaged in this agitation for the suff- 
rance do not desire to unsex themselves and their sisters. "We 
do'not wish to be men," said Mrs. Blake, "God forbid!" 

The leaders in this movement have been cruelly misrepre- 
sented and caricatured by would be wits: they are womanly 
women and thoroughly in earnest but not in the least ambitious 
to don the bifurcated garments of the sterner sex, or to assume 
any of the distinctive belonging or to ursurp any of the special 
rights pertaining to masculinity. They believe that the sphere of 
woman's usefulness and her opportunities for self support should 
be enlarged. They believe that this can best be effected through 
the ballot, arguing that if woman had a vote she would be politic- 
ally of much more consideration, and there is solid ground under 
the argument. 

Mrs. Blake held the closest attention of her large audience 
throughout — not a person, not even one of those standing in the 
aisles, leaving the room till the lecture was over." 

About ten years after ]\Irs Blake's address the New York 
State Woman Suffrage Association began an active campaign in 
preparation for the constitutional convention, earnestly working 
to have the word "male" dropped from the constitution. 

in March, 1894, there was held in the old opera house of 
Catskill, a convention in charge of Harriet May Mills, at which 
Susan B. Anthony and Dr. Anna Shaw spoke. At that time there 
was no suffrage organization in the county l)ut Greene county is 
reported as having sent a petition to the convention of 2,904 
names. Of these 2,0S5were the names of men and S19 the names 
of women. 

In the spring of 1S95, the Political Equality Club of Gats- 
kill was organized, auxiliary to the State Association and for a 
period of four years paid dues to it. In the autumn of that year 
representatives from other towns in the county joined the club, 
which was then called the Greene County Political Equality Club. 
Mrs. Benjamin Wey, Mrs. Lizzie Fitch, Miss Fannie Wilcox, Mrs. 
L. Beach, Mrs. Hazard, Mrs. Root, Miss Hattie Root, Miss E. G. 

179 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Root, Mrs. II. Brown, .Mrs. W. ]). Phillips, Mrs. F. C. Hall, 
Miss Georgiana Jackson, Mrs. Anna B. Hill, Mrs. Charles Beard- 
sley, ]\Irs. Robert Selrlen, Mrs. Richard ^'an Hoesen, Mrs. Joseph 
Malcolm of Catskill and JSIrs- Wakely of Greenville, Mrs. Rufus 
King of Cairo and Mrs. Mc Ray of Coxsackie formed the active 
membership. 

The semi-monthly meetings were usuallj^ held in the par- 
lors of the women belonging to the club or in the Presbyterian 
lecture room. Fiske's Civil Government was studied and discuss- 
ed and lectures by Miss Mills and other workers in the cause were 
of frequent occurrence. A petition was circulated about town and 
when a member of the club asked a well known citizen of Catskill 
to sign it, he exclaimed, "No indeed! I will not sign any such 
paper and in ten years time you women will be so ashamed of 
having put your names on it that you will want to hide your 
heads.'' 

Twenty years have passed by since then, and all of the 
members who are living are still keeping up the fight, and one at 
least of the members often proudly claims the lienor of being a 
pioneer in the cause. Afier being in existence four years and after 
the failure of the constitution convention to grant the request of 
the women of the state, the treasurer's report of the Equalitj^ 
Club pathetically states, 'There is no money m the treasury, so 
the club died December 31st, 1S<»8." 

Tntil the time drew near for another convention to amend 
the State Constitution, ver.y little interest was shown in Greene 
Co. An occasional talk by ^liss Mills, who has always expressed 
a most hearty interest in this, one of the first fields of her life 
work, was the extent of the work for suffrage. 

In the summer of 1912 the campaign work was begun by 
Mrs. Florence M. Cooley who talked to an interested gathering of 
representative women and a few men in Jefferson. Miss Rosalie 
Jones and Martha Klatschkeus, with others, on one of their auto- 
mobile tours through the state, stopped and held a large, out-door 
mass meeting before the new court house. On the following day 

180 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



they appointed a leader for suffrage work in the county and a 
committee for campaign work in the election districts in the town. 
The following winter Dr. Anna Shaw gave one of her inimitable 
lectures in the Y. M. C. A. building and the Brotherhood of the 
Reformed Church challenged any two suffragists to meet two of 
the "brothers'' in a debate on the subject. Mrs. Charles Wardle 
and Miss Gertrude Linnell bravely entered the contest. Although 
public speaking was an entirely new experience for them, the 
judges, Mrs. Jame- P.Philip, the Rev. INIr.Tetley and Mr. Hocmer 
— declared the women winners by several points. The success of 
the debate started a demand for a permanent league, and the 
Equal Suffrage League of Catskill was|organized. 

The summer of 11)14 was indeed a^^busy time for suft'ragists 
all through the state, and Catskill valiantly worked to do her part 
in spite of discouragements. ^Nluch literaturejwas distributed, 
through the mails, at meetings, left at public places, and handed 
out to passers-by on the street. 

A Sunday in May was named as a Woman's Sunday and 
every minister of the [gospel got a letter requesting him to urge 
women to work more earnestly for the betterment of women and 
children and especially wayward girls. In June a Greene County 
Suffrage Convention and school of methods was conducted by Mrs. 
Catt, chairman of the Empire State Campaign Committee. A 
very successful league was formed at Tannersville bj^ Mrs John 
Jay White, Mrs. Alexander and other cottagers at Onteora Park. 
They worked all through the mountain towns and had a booth at 
the Cairo Fair. Delegates from both leagues appeared before the 
Greene Co. Republican Convention at Tannersville, and Mrs. 
Raymond Brown, president of the State Woman Suff'rage Associ- 
ation addressed the convention. The Catskill league sent delegates 
to the State Democratic and Republican Committees at Saratoga 
Springs. During the boarding season headquarters were opened 
on Main Street of Catskill and in the afternoon talks would be 
given and tea would-be served. The Catskill Daily Mail, The 
Examiner, The Recorder and the Enterprise helped in every way. 

181 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Meetings were held in New Baltimore, Coxsackie, Leeds, 
West Catskill, Cairo and many other places. 

If the enfranchisement of the women of New York State is 
accomplished at the coming constitutional convention, or if there 
is another twenty years work ahead of us, we are ready for the 
future. We are better organized, have more money and more de- 
termination than ever before. Every year teaches women more 
politics, makes them better co-workers with men and women. 
There has never in the world's history been such a large, intelli- 
gent and enthusiastic body of citizens ready and eager to give of 
their time and their means for the betterment of their govern- 
ment. They are ready now for tlie vote. The cpponents of the 
cause are the politicians with big money and little work, the graft- 
ers who fear women's well known economical use of money, and 
the white slavers who wish to keep good women out of all pubHc 
places. ^I- 

A drand Charily 

In the northern end of the village of Catskill, at the corner 
of New and High streets stands the Home for Aged Women of 
Greene County. It is the house known to old residents as the 
Wellington House which later became the property of Hattie 
Cowles Cater from whom it was purchased on the 2d day of Nov. 
1908, by the corporation above named. 

The house is on high ground yet easy of access, and is well 
adapted to the purposes of the Home, and when the necessary 
alterations were made, and a new system of lighting and heating 
were installed it became a model dwelling for those whose active 
years are passed and who need and deserve care and attention in 
their declining years. 

Our county is small, and not wealthy. It was thought by 
many, therefore, that the dream of a Home to be supported by 
voluntary gifts was an idle dream indeed. Yet in the latter part 
of 1907 a small but earnest band of men and women saw the 
vision, and the way to its fulfillment, and on the 13th day of 

182 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Julj" 1908, a certificate of incorporation was granted to the" Home 
for Aged Women in Greene County." 

In order to secure funds for the maintenance of the Home 
a connnittee was sent to each of the fourteen towns in the count}' 
for the purpose of forming auxiliary boards, each to have its own 
officers, and each board to soHcit contributions of a small but 
stated sum of money from individuals in the respective towns, 
pledged for three consecutive years. This plan met with a most 
hearty response and the result enabled the incorporators to pro- 
ceed confidently with the work of establishing and furnishing the 
Home. Early in the year 11)00 it was opened, and was quickly 
filled with those who had long since applied for admission. From 
that time until the present moment the list of applicants has been 
far in excess of the number that can be cared for. There has been 
from the first, general recognition that the Home has attained a 
worthy success in its efforts to meet a real and urgent need. This 
success is due to the wise and careful inception of the undertaking 
to legal advice freely given — to busy men and women who have 
laid aside their pressing duties to aid those less fortunate, and to 
the generosity of doctors, merchants, tradesmen and farmers, 
none of whom has ever failed to respond to the call for help. A 
small but promising endowment fund has been started, and when 
that becomes large enough, the Home will be supported by its in- 
come. In the meantime it is largely dependent upon voluntary 
gifts. 

The managers and directors look forward hopefully to the 
time when on this foundation of the year 190(S a Home of greater 
capacity may be established. Perhaps the next History of Greene 
County will record the erection of a Home for Aged Couples. 

The Gatskill Monday Club 

One of the foremost social organizations of Catskill and of 
Greene county as well, so far as the women are concerned, is the 
Monday Club. 

This was organized in 1894 or 1895 and has represented the 
leading women of Catskill in social and literary effort. 

183 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



'I'he charter members were Mrs. Benjamin Wey, Mrs. 
Samuel Penfield, Miss Mary B. Penfield, Miss Sarah Beach, Miss 
Georgiana Jackson, ^Irs. Adelaide Elting Harris, Mrs. E.E. Elliott, 
Mrs. F. H. Osborn, Mrs. A. L. Fitch, Miss Emily Becker. Seven 
of these are still members, and to that number as the years have 
passed has been added a large number. During the winter season 
each year a literary program is taken up and the interesting and 
instructive papers that have been written would form a great vol- 
ume. Miss Mabel V. Root is president of the organization. The 
winter program comprised papers by Miss Root, Miss Gertrude 
Gardner, :\Irs.Solloway, Miss Mary Hale, Mrs. S. H. Root, Miss 
Elizabeth Chapman, Mrs. J. Lewis INIalcolm, Miss Louise Driscoll, 
Mrs. E. E. Elliott, Miss Edith Root, Mrs. J. A. Dykstra, Mrs. F. 
H. Osborn, Mrs. G. P. Grout, Mrs. Benjamin Wey, Miss Charlotte 
DuBois, Miss Elizabeth Fitch, Miss Emily Becker, Miss Georgiana 
Jackson, Mrs. Clarence Howland, Miss Anna B. Phelps, Miss 
Sarah Beach. ^ _, , ,, - „ 

Order 

Eastern 3tar 

There are a number of other organizations in the county in 
which the women are at the head. Thev are successful in their 
work and without doubt fill an important place in the welfare of 
the county. In the absence of detailed information we give the 
facts that are at hand. Probably the most flourishing is the Order 
of Eastern Star, an affiliation of the Masonic fraternity, with or- 
ganizations at Catskill, Cairo, Oak Hill and Windham. 

Catskill Chapter 293 was organized in August, 1903, with 21 
members, and at present has over 100. The charter officers were: 
Mrs. Fannie C. Mott, worthy matron, Geo. F. Mott, worthy pat- 
ron, Mrs. E. M. Post, assistant matron, Annie E. Banks, treasurer, 
Mrs.R. L. Horton, secretary, Gretta D.Thorpe, conductress, Vic- 
toria Hallenbeck, assistant conductress, William E. Thorpe, con- 
ductor, Miss Conklin, organist, Mrs. N. E. Hill, warden, Geo. X. 
184 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Hill, sentinel, Esther Hallenbeck, Adah, Sarah J. Hill, Rath, 
Elise Hansen, Martha, Mrs. M. E. Maguire, Electa. 

The present officers are: Mrs. Alice P. Magee, worthy 
matron, Lewis R. Magee, worthy patron. Miss Mabel G. Hill as- 
sociate matron, Mrs. MiddieD. Haines, treasurer, Mrs. Emma S. 
Barnard, secretary, Mrs. Jennie A. Whitcomb, conductress. Miss 
Martha J. Ernest, associate conductress, Mrs. Fannie C. Mott, 
trustee for 8 years. 

The New Year Club 

One of the new organizations of 1915 was the New Years 
Club of Catskill. One thing appears certain and that is whatever 
their aims may be they are always up to date: Mrs. Geo. Egnor, 
president, Mrs. C. W. Overbaugh, vice-president, INIrs. H. R. 
Hinman, secretary, Mrs. L. K. Austin, treasurer. 

^augKlers of Rebekah-413 I. O. O. F. 

The officers installed are as follows: P. N. G. Mrs. Rachel 
Smith, N.G. Mrs. Mabel Beare. V.G. Mrs. Helen Bates, Sec Mrs. 
Sarah Hill, Treas. Mrs, Mary Caniff, R. S. N.G. Miss Antionette 
Bloom, L.S.N.G. Mrs. Alice Egnor, R.S.V.G. Miss LenaConklin, 
L. S. V. G. Mrs. Ella VanDyke, Warden, Miss Josephine Castle, 
Conductress, Miss Eva Hardwick, Chaplin, Mrs. Winifred Travis, 
I. G. Mrs. Lena Delamater, 0. G. Mrs. Kate Lampman, R. A. G. 
Miss Mildred Myers, L. A. G. Mrs Jennie Hughes, Organist Miss 
Goldie Cuer, Degree Master, Mrs. Winifred Travis. 

Ladies of The Maccabes No 138 

The officers of the Ladies of the Maccabes are: — Com., Mrs. 
Luella Brandow; Lieut. Com., Nancy Youmans; Past Com., Mrs. 
Elizabeth E. Klepser; Chap., Mrs. Mary Hammer; Record Keeper 
Mrs. Mabel Hallenbeck; Lad v-at-Arms, Hattie Carpenter; Finance 
Auditor, Ruth Carpenter; Sergeant, Mrs. Catharine Gehbauer; 
Sentinel, Mrs. Alice Illgnor; Picket, Mrs. Chas. Cummings; Official 
Prompter, Mrs Katharine Cummings; Musician, Agnes Youmans; 
Capt. of Guard, May Smith; 1st Color Bearer, Olive Smith; 2d 
Color Bearer, Hazel Carpenter. 

185 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



L,adies Catholic ^ervevolenl A^ssocialion 

The Ladies Catiiolic Benevolent Association of St. Patrick's 
church is a fraternal organization similar to the Knights of Colum- 
bus, and has been doing a good work. It was organized in Catskill 
about 11)00, and has 50 members. The officers are: Mrs. P. D. 
Hitchcock. Pres., Mrs. Ellen Coonej', IstV.P.. Mrs. Joseph Hoj' 
2d V. P.. Mrs. Medard Pierre, P. Pres., Miss Marj^ 8hade, Treas. 
Miss Katharine O'Conner, Fin. Sec. Mrs. Mary Tynan, Rec, 
Miss Catharine Quinn, Ass't Rec, Mrs. Nora Hass, Guard, Mrs. 
Klizabeth GafYney, Marshal. 

Cairo has a chartered organization of Camp Fire Girls, 
starting ott" with eighteen members, and Mrs. Ira Tolley as Guard- 
ian. 

Royalty al Leeds 

Oneot the most sightly and imposing structures in the 
Catskill Mountains was completed last summer on the Potic Mount- 
ain near Leeds and overlooks the valley of the Catskill. It is the 
property of two London women. The building has the appearance 
of one of the old Rhine castles It was built under the direction of 
John Benn, a former member of Parliament of Greenwich, who has 
been conspicuous in the English navy, being a lieutenant com- 
mander. The Misses Benn are ladies of culture and their beauti" 
ful home is furnished with antiques representing the early English 
and continental orders. 

Catskill has two fountains erected Ijy women. The tirst one 
was the Frances Willard memorial fountain, erected by the W. C. 
T. U. of Catskill, in honor of the greatest of all temperance work, 
ers and orators. Miss Frances Willard, who was at the head of 
the Woman's Christian Temperance work in the United States, 
and who helped to organize the Union in Greene county. The 
date of the organization is uncertain, but it was about 1880. The 
fountain is located on Main street, near the postoflice, and gets a 
supply of the best and purest water from the spring on the H. L. 
Boughton place. 

186 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The second fountain is located near the head of Main street 
and was the gift of Mrs. H. L. Boughton who has always taken a 
great interest in Catskill. The water is from the spring on her 
place and a gift. 

Madam isTane Goelet Dise 




Madam Jane Dise, 
Courteousy of Robert Story. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Before we leave the subject it would seem that further re- 
ference should be made to Madam Jane Dise, wife of John Disc, a 
major in the English army. He is said to have been a deserter, 
and that he fled from New York and came to Catskill around 1762 
with his wife, and to have secreted himself in a secret chamber in 
the old house when the British made a search for him. He was 
said to be very intemperate. Jane Dise was the child of Jacob 
Goelet of Albany and later of New York. She died in ]March 1799 
and the grave once on the farm of Huybartus Du Bois at Cauters- 
killis now marked on the Du Bois plot, where F. N. Du Bois on 
the old farm has gathered together the Du Bois generations. A 
complete list of these generations will be found under the article 
in reference to F. N. DuBois. The old house in which she lived 
was known as Dise Folly, and later as the Old Stone Jug. It was 
built of sand stone imported by a sloop from the quarries at Nyack. 
The picture of Jane Dise which we show was taken when she was 
about 16 years of age. Though beautifully dressed for the period 
in which she lived she was bare footed. John Dise is said to have 
built one of the first saw mills and grist mills at Gil boa. The date 
and place of his burial is not known. 

John Dise to whom we have referred came to New York in 
1743. 

3ome Of The Old Dutch 

Johan Wilhelm Brandow to whom several hundred families 
in Greene county trace was a Palantine and came to this country 
in 1710, settling on the Loveridge Patent. He had four sons and 
two daughters, Nicholas, who lived at Cauterskill, Johannis who 
settled at Athens, Frederick who settled at West Camp, Godfrey 
who settled at Athens, Ann Elizabeth settled at West Camp and 
married Peter Schumecher, Anna married Hannes Schermerhorn. 

From the first generations of these children there were 51 
descendents. All having raised large families. Nicholas S, Anna 8, 
Frederick 8, Johannis 9, Godfrey 9, Elizabeth 9. 

Then we get the Overbaughs, Schumakers, Lohmans, Van- 
188 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



denburghs, Defours, Welshs, Grooms, Coyns, Aliens, Webbers, 
Ecklers, Lampmans, Bogardnses, Planks, Ostranders, Dedericks, 
Beckers, Hallenbecks, and a great many families of Brandows. 
Brandows in Catskill, Athens, Coxsackie, West Camp, Greenville, 
and all over the county. The great Brandow printing house in 
Albany is run hy descendents of the Greene county family, and 
Sheriff 1- ^^^ Brandow ti-aces to the same source. 




Ccl. B, B. G. Stone. 

Col. B. B. G. Stone, frequently pictured as Rip Van Winkle, 
was many years a land mark of the Catskill section, and was famous 
as an artist, and a man of great literary ability. He served in the 
Rebellion, and was connected with the Du Bois family. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Jan Wilhcltu Dt'd. rick was also a Palantine and caine i<^ 
this country from W'urtenburg in 171U. lie settled at West Camp 
and the Dedericks rival the Brandows for generations, and are 
still in Catskilland various sections of the county. Jan had three 
children, but his daughter Maria married Heinrich Graat and had 
10 children, his son married Eva Graat and had 9 children, Jurry 
William did not believe in unlucky numbers and had 13 children. 

There were two families of the original stock of the Halen- 
becks, Casper Jacobus, 1654, but where they came from we have 
not learned. They settled in the town of Athens and have a host 
of descendents. 

Abraham Person settled on the Loveridge Patent in 173o, 
and he had 11 children. Their generations remain and have great- 
ly increased. 

Sylvester Salisbury came from England in 1G64 Their 
generations remain. 




Reformed (Schuneuianj Church at Old Catskill (Leeds). 

Herman Schunemann, Captain of the Palantines, came to 

this country from Hamburg, Germany in 1708, and his children 

found their way to Catskill: Martin Schunmann, Catherina, Hen- 

drick, Wilhelmina and Johannes. Johannes became pastor of 

190 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



churches at Catskill and Coxsackie, and preached in them for over 
40 years. Elsewhere we present a picture of the old parsonage, at 
Leeds occupied by him. 



'^^^ 

Familiar Insignia of the Old Dutch. 

Martin Garretsen Van Bergen came from the New Nether- 
lands in 1640, and located at Rensselaerwyck. He was a great 
man and a member of the Government's Council. He was very 
wealthy and occupied a mansion on the west side of the Hudson. 
He had lands on the Catskill Patent, Coxsackie Patent and Cor- 
larskill Patent. He was shot and killed by the Indians in 1696, 
while occupying the Van Rensselaer place. He had 12 children, 
and the Van Bergens remain a great family. 

The Van Ordens came on the Loveridge patent in 1746, 
from Kingston. William Van Orden had 7 children. A great 
family and it would take many pages of this book to trace them. 
They are all about the county and state. 

Dirk Tunisse Van ^'echten was among the first settlers and 
he came to this country in 1686, settling at Green bush. He 
came from Norway or Holland and had 12 children, and they 
prospered in every way. 

All these early families appear to have raised families of 
stirring qualities as well as numbers. 

Abraham and Catharine Schuyler had 15 children. Samuel 
and Sara Overbaugh had 10. Nicholas and INIaria Spoor had 10. 
Isaac and Sarah Collier had 10. Martje Van Vechten had two 
husbands and had 11 children. And 8 to 10 appears to have been 
the average family. 

191 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Frederick Nelson DuBois 

The picture of the Du Bois Mansion and Portrait of Mr. Du 
]?ois will be found in the front of the book. 

Frederick Nelson Du Bois was born October (>, 1829, and 
was the son of John D. Du Bois to whom we have referred. He 
was born in Catskill, and learned the trade of a silver smith with 
his brother at Buffalo. In 1855 he moyed to Chicago, and in 1862 
was working in the gold mines of Colorado, having with him his 
wife and tv.'0 children. He was foreman, builder and conductor 
of several mines, but lost ever.vthing when the works were destroy- 
ed by fire. In 1871 he went into business in New York. 

Most wonderful has been the transformation during the past 
years on the property known as the Du Bois place owned by F. N. 
Du Bois well known to every resident of Catskill. The old home- 
stead which was one of the early landmarks, near the mouth of 
the Catskill creek, has been rebuilt and changed into a place of 
great beauty. On the flats where formerly the tides swept a marsh 
field, a great sweeping terrace keeps out the floods and encloses a 
sunken garden, with flower beds, tennis court, driveways, etc. The 
frontage is securely docked and has a fine boat house and an ice 
house, cold storage, and a very pretty cottage and barns. Under 
the trees in a quiet plot near the entrance to this place have been 
gathered by Mr. Du Bois in a well kept enclosure the generations 
of the Du Bois family. 

The farm has been trimmed and garnished with all the 
beauty of skilled landscape men, and seems like a great park with 
its roadways and drives set with shrubs, cairns, statues, etc. 

Topping the hillside at the East end of Grandview avenue 
is the sightly and beautiful mansion of Mr Du Bois which over- 
looks the Hudson for many miles, and which catches the eye of 
all who pass up and down the river. This was built in 1898 by 
Edwin Lampman. It is furnished in keeping with the exterior, 
and shows much that is valuable and beautiful. One of the choice 
gems of his library is the costly and voluminous family history 

192 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



which covers several hundred pages and contains much early and 
valuable history and records. 

Adjoining the mansion are the barns and farm buildings, 
bowling alleys, and the commodious homestead building occupied 
by Mr. T. .J. Reilly, a nephew, the head farmer and his family. 

The Du Bois place forms a part of the original patent to 
Mr. Loveridge, embracing about (iOOO acres. 

The Du Bois family has had a long and honorable record. 
See generations on another page. 

Tracing down to the present owner F. N. Du Bois who on 
Tuesday, October 6th, 1914 celebrated his 85th birthday, he has 
occupied the place for the past 23 years and has become an inte- 
gral part of Catskill history and society, and he has expended in 
improvements on the place probably $100,000. Clinging like an 
ivy vine to a sturdy oak, he has entwined his affections about the 
interests and life of Catskill. Whether it was a new and better 
water supply, village improvement, church extension and main- 
tenance, schools or charity he has steadfastly stood at the front 
unassuming and unostentatious but always liberal and generous 
to a fault. It was his love for the young men of Catskill and the 
upbuilding of the moral interests of the town that prompted him 
to turn over to Catskill $30,000 for a Y. M. C. A. building, which 
a credit to all, and a beautiful structure, complete and commod- 
ious adorns Main street. Nor has his giving since been other than 
bountiful for its maintenance. 

It was his careful planning and energy that saved to the 
business life of Catskill the street railroad, into which he put a 
large sum of money on several occasions. First several years ago, 
and then again in 1914 when it went into the receiver's hands. 
Under his plans maturing the creditors of the road will not lose a 
dollar. 

Mr. Du Bois has been for many years at the head of a suc- 
cessful plumbing supply business in New York. 
193 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



DU BOIS CEMETERY. 

Generations of the Dii Bois's, interred in the Du Bois plot on 
the Du Bois Homestead, gathered from many points by Frederick N. 
Du Bois, of Catskill. 

Joel Du Bois, born May 25, 1762, died April 29, 1844. (A Minute 
Man in the Revolution. 

Cornelia, wife of Hybarius Du Bois, died August 25, 1795. Aged 
sixty-eight years. 

Emily Ann, daughter of Isaac J. Du Bois, born January 10, 1817, 
died April 2, 1841. 

Annaetje, daughter of Col. Cornelius Du Bois and Catharine 
Vanderpoel, wife of Joel Du Bois, born Mar. 17, 1769, died May 11, 1846. 

Edward B. Manning, died February 22, 1861, aged two months 
and nine days. 

Joel Du Bois, born Nov. 6, 1803, died Nov. 3, 1890. 

Sally J. Hunter, wife of Joel Du Bois, born Jan. 12, 1810, died 
April 17, 1S5S. 

Marry Ann, daughter of Joel and Sally Jane Du Bois, born July 
22, 1845, died Nov. 7, 1848. 

Catherine Du Bois, wife of John Du Bois, died August 24, 1850, 
aged eight-five years. 

Gitty Du Bois, died October 16, 1814, aged fifty-two years. 

Caty Du Bois, died August 3, 1796, aged thirty-three years. 

John Du Bois, born March 25th, 1760, died July 30, 1841, aged 
eight-one years. 

Fennet Du Bois, died May 15, 1794, aged thirty-four years, four 
months and fourteen days. 

Isaac Du Bois, died October 8, 1795, aged sixty-four years, four 
months and eight days. 

Lanah Du Bois, died Feb. 25, 1795, aged sixty-four years, nine days. 

James Du Bois, born March 17, 1786, died January 4, 1871. 

Esther, child of Robert F. and Esther Story, died October 17, 1877, 
aged thee years and two months. 

Little Frank, aged one month and twenty-six days. 
194 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Esther Du Bois, wife of Robert F. Story, born August 28, 1833, 
died August 16, 1891. 

Elizabeth Abeel, wife of N. Hunter Du Bois, died September 17, 
1898, aged sixty-five years. 

N. Hunter Du Bois, died October 13, 1892, aged sixty-four years. 

(BIG TABLET.) 

Lewis Du Bois, born at Wigcres, near Lille, Prance, 1626. A 
Huguenot refuge to American. Settled at Esopus, now Kingston, 
N. Y., 1660. First Elder of French Reformed Church, New Paltz, 1663. 
Died at Kingston 1695. 

Solomon, fifth son of Lewis Du Bois, born at Kingston, N. Y., 1669. 
Purchased land of about 900 acres at Catskill 1720. Died at New 
Paltz 1757. 

Bejaiiain, second son of Solomon Du Bois, born at New Paltz, 1697. 
Settled upon his father's land at Catskill in 1728 and made additional 
purchase of over 500 acres. Died at Catskill 1767. 
This Tablet was placed in the cemetery by F. N. Du Bois in June, 1907. 

William, son of John D. and Rebecca Du Bois, died October 2, 
1834, aged eighteen years, three months and twenty-four days. 

John D. Du Bois, died June 3, 1845, aged sixty-one years, two 
months and thirteen days. 

Rebecca Overbaugh, wife of John D. Du Bois, died March 14, 

1869, aged eighty-two years. 

Jane Dise, wife of John Dise, died March 5, 1799, aged seventy- 
eight years. 

James Goelet, son of John Dies and Rebecca Du Bois, born July 
2, 1818, died February 25, 1898. 

Jane, wife of James G. Du Bois, died December 12, 1848, aged 
twenty-eight years. 

Lewis Du Bois, born July 15, 1809, died May 23, 1876. 

Elizabeth B., wife of Lewis Du Bois, born June 15, 1807, died 
May 5, 1864. 

Lewis, son of Lewis and Reuhamay Du Bois, born February 15, 

1870, died July 23, 1900. 

Peter Schutt, born April 24, 1789, died December 28, 1863. 
Rachael Rightmyer, wife of Peter Schutt, died August, 18, 1870, 
aged eighty-two years and seven months. 

The cemetery is forty-four feet by eighty feet. 
First interment was Mrs. Isaac Du Bois, 1793. 
195 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Gapt. isFacob "Dunham 

Among the remarkable characters who have resided in 
Greene county, perhaps no man ever had a more exciting life than 
Captain Jacob Dunham, and if we had the space to tell fully his 
experiences it would be very interesting matter. 

Captain Dunham was a sea going man and had experiences 
that read like creations of Mayne Reid. Living in the time when 
pirates sailed the seas and when the English war vessels were 
blockading the coasts of this country he encountered all the varied 
exeriences that have made the foundations of marine fiction. 
Captured by the English war vessels on two occasions, and cap- 
tured by pirates and by Indians, running the blockades success- 
fully, and making no less than nineteen sea voyages, he finally 
died a battered piece of humanity in his home town Catskill, hav- 
ing lost every penny of his fortune. 

He was a wonderful man and when near the close of his 
196 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



life an effort was made to have the government compensate him 
for the piratical robberies on the ocean that had taken his all, his 
character was vouched for in a certificate that was signed by 
Thomas O'Hara Croswell, postmaster of Catsi^ill, Hon. Malbon 
Watson, Hon- John Adams, Caleb Day, Orrin Day, Zadock Pratt, 
T. B. Cooke, Jacob Haight, Robert Dorlon, James Power and 
other great men of Greene county. 

Captain Dunham came to Catskill in 1785, with his father 
who was an officer in the American Navy during the Revolution- 
ary war, and who followed the sea all his life. 

In his book of voyages he says that at that time there were 
only seven houses in Catskill, and that his father purchased a half 
acre of ground where the Greene County Hotel now stands. This 
was on what is now the court house lot, as may be seen by refer- 
ence to the map of the burned district in 1851, found on page (il 
of this history. 

In 1793 he was an apprentice in the office of the Catskill 
Packet, published by Mackey and Thomas Croswell, printers. He 
then went to Charlestown, S. C, where he was employed in a 
printing office, returning to Catskill in ISOO. Then he went to 
boating on the Hudson, Then back to the printing business. 

He married Fannie Morgan of Catskill, ISOI, made sea voy- 
ages to Charleston, Savannah and to St. Croix. 

Then he was fourth owner of a packet sloop with T. B. and 
A. Cooke between Catskill and New York and he made money. 

In 1813 however he purchased the seagoing sloop. Rover, a 
condemned vessel in New York, which had broken timbers, no 
top mast and rotten planks covered with leather patches to keep 
out the sea water. 

Into that tub he put 500 barrels of Hour and 70 barrels of 
bread and ran the English blockade to Providence. He loaded with 
lumber and started to return. At Stonington he was taken by 
three war ships and after being allowed to go on shore and raise 
SlOO as ransom he was permitted to sail back to New York, the 
l<]nglish captain having taken pity on him. Not only that but he 
197 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



was given a passport for another trip. This stood him in good 
when a few weeks later the same man of war captured him again. 

Later on after having made a lot of money he sold the Rover 
for S450, the boat haying cost him 812-"). And the boat went to 
dieees at once. 

He then had a half interest in the ^loop New York with 
the Cookes of Catskiil, and took a cargo of potatoes, onions, salt, 
cheese, ropes, etc. from Catskiil to Norfolk, Va., and while he 
reached Norfolk all right after a rough experience, the boat was 
captured by a man of war, the Sophia '20 guns, and the Acton 16 
guns. The capture of Captain Turner of the American brig com- 
mander put them in good spirits and Capt. Dunham and his men 
were put ashore and returned to Catskiil. 



II ri :>/' / ii 




Capt. Dunham lined up before the Pirates, and infori.ued that 
he is to be shot. Picture by courtesy of Judge Chase 

Then he took charge of the Cyngus of New York and made 
a trip to Bermuda and Turks Island for salt. At Musquite Island 
they fell in with a privateer named Capt. Mitchell, and with him 
made an attack on Gov. Gonzales at St. Andrea's island. They 
captured the governor and Mitchell caused him to be hanged from 

198 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



a yard arm. Captain Mitchell at that time boasted that he had 
killed 100 Spaniards with his own hands, because of ill treatment 
they had given him. 

Dunham after having made a very successful trade at St. 
Andrea's was captured by the Indians and lost his ship. It wus a 
Ion? time before he found his way back to Jamaica. 

In February 1817 he took charge of the sloop Governor 
Tompkins and again sailed for Old Providence. This trip was a 
success. 

In 1821 he was again in partnership with Apollos Cooke of 
Catskill and sailed the Combine, was captured by Portugese pirates 
who robbed them of everything, beat them and finally set them 
adrift. 

The last voyage made by him was in 1S42 in the sloop First 
Counsel, but this boat sunk, while at anchor near Pokeepsie, and 
after being raised, the wreckers charge not being met the sloop 
was siezed and sold for less than the charge. 



Famous 'Wooden Brid^e^ 

The old bridge at Catskill was authorized to be built in 
1801, by an act of the legislature, and was 550 feet in length, and 
20 feet in width. It was a wooden structure, and a portion of the 
footpath was covered. The red store of Jacob Bogardus, now 
occupied by Grocer Fred A\'oo]hiser, was on one side, and the 
residence of Terrance Donnelly on the other. Dr. Porter, of the 
Presbyterian Church, officiated at the opening of the bridge. 
There was a draw on the side next to the Raynor elevator, which 
swung on a pivot, or hinge. Foot passangers were required to 
pay 3 cents, and teams from 25 to 31 cents. It was torn down in 

1881, and for a year the crossing was made on oil barrels, which 
formed a pontoon bridge. Hiram Van Steenburgh built this 
strange pontoon bridge. The new iron l)ridge was completed in 

1882, and cost $52,000. 

The upper iron bridge was built in ISliO, and cost $22,500. 
This bridge was finally condemned, and the structure dynamited 
to make room for the $40,000 concrete bridge. 

199 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Judge Chase has some of the old bridge tickets in his 
possession. One of these reads, "Catskill Bridge Company. This 
will pass two-horse wagon one way. l'') 




Charles A. Post. 

The Post Family 

While we are dealing with the early residents of the river 
section of Greene county, there are none that have figured more 
favorably, than the Posts. Just when they came to this country we 
cannot say, and all that we know is that Abram Post settled in the 
Embocght about 1800, and was the father of Abram Post who was 
born in Catskill in 1808. Abram Post, father of Charles A. Post 
occupied the farm in the Embocght and was a model farmer in 
every w^ay. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Post homestead is situated about 4 miles south of Cats- 
kill and had been in their possession over 100 years, when Charles 
A. Post consented to the taking over of the property for the great 
million dollar cement plant at Alsen.He moved to the old historical 
Storv farm which he purchased of Robert F. Story, and has lived 
there ever since. The old homestead farmhouse is occupied by 
the cement people. 

Steady going, honest and honorable in everyway Posts have 
forged to the front and written nobly on the historical fabric of 
the county. 

Ex-Sheriff Charles A. Post, many times supervisor of Cats- 
kill was born on the old farm in 1837. He was married April 7, 
1859 to Hannah Winans, who passed away Sept. 1'.), 11)14. Thev 
had 6 children, Mary M., who is dead, Edith P. who married 
Wm. G. Trumpbour, Annette, Charles E., Willis \V. and Abram, 
the last named being sheriff of Greene county and also under 
sheriff under Hardy Stewart, his father-in-law and also under his 
father. 

It is interesting to note that during the life of Abram Post 
father of Charles A. Post, on the night of October 17, 1873, at 
the old homestead occurred the great robbery that filled the news 
columns of the press of that period. It was one of the boldest 
robberies of the period. Mr. Post and his wife, and Edward Post 
and Sarah Post were at home, and they were the victims of the 
masked men, (> in number who bound them and proceeded to take 
whatever they could find of value. They got gold watches, spoons, 
$400 in bonds, a check of S1200 and 1400 in cash, and departed. 
Detectives trailed them for some time and finally after the gang 
had robbed a family named Ford in Connecticut, another named 
Sutton on Staten Island and Judge Emmett at White Plains, the 
gang was located in a house on Canal Street, New York City 
which they had made their rendezvous. They watched them by 
the aid of glasses for some time, and finally made a descent in 
in which the robbers were rounded up at the point of the revolver. 

201 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Thej^ were convicted and sentenced to long terms in prison. Most 
of the property taken from the Posts was recovei xl. 

Mr. Post is one of the iew men who has been said to have 
carried the vote of Greene county in his pocket- And all of this 
was because of his personal magnetism, generous and whole souled 
nature. If "Charlie Post'' —always unassuming and retiring, 
modest to a fault — could be prevailed upon to become a candidate 
for office his election was only a question of how big his friends 
would make the majority, and the fact that the town was political- 
ly against him made not the slightest difference. As supervisor 
of the town of Catskill he gained the distinction of being the friend 
of all and the town profited immensely by his being at the helm. 
He would have been continued as sheriff indefinite!: had the law 
permitted. In fact he could have had most any office within the 
gift of his party had he desired it. 

The Catskill Improvement Associaliorv 

The Catskill Association was formed in 1837 for the purpose 
of improving Catskill and "other purposes'' according to the an- 
nouncement of the organization. It had a capital stock of .S74(), 
000 and 874,600 was appropriated for improvements of land of 
the association and the officers were George S. Doughty president, 
Evan Griffeth treasurer, L. B. Woodruff counsellor, and Thomas 
Duguid secretary. 

The first object named and duly mapped was a railroad 
from Catskill to Canajoharie, work of which was under way. And 
the second object was a proposed canal to connect wij/li the Erie 
Canal at Canajoharie, and this is duly mapped in the /papers that 
have been loaned to us. It was stated in the plan that Catskill 
had 8000 inhabitants, 40 shops and stores, 20 sloops and other 
river craft, and unlimited docking facilities. It was also announc- 
ed "That a steamboat would be able to go to New York and back 
the same day.'' The canal would be 65 miles in length and the 
railroad 80 miles. A meeting at the court house in the interest 
of this project was held and a resolution passed in favor of this 
pro.iect, being signed by Thomas Cooke, John Adams, Orrin Day, 

202 



EEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Ezra Hawley, Jacob Haight, Peter Breasted, Hiram Comfort, 
Isaac Van Loan, P. T. Mesick, Amos Cornwall, John M. Donnelly, 
Francis Sayre, Malbon Watson, Caleb Da}'-, S. L. Penfield, Luke 
Kiersted, F. N. Wilson, Horace Willard, J. R. Greene, Joshua 
Atwater, John Thompson, Caleb Hopkins, Robert Dorland, Fred- 
erick Hill, Tuzar Buckley, S. Sherwood Day, Judson Wilcox, 
John R. Sylvester, Leonard Kingsley, Edmund Hatfield, John Van 
Vleck, Robert Harrison, Edgar Day, J. W. Baldwin, Geo. Har- 
denburgh, Wilkes Hyde, Henry Mc Kinstry, Francis Marvin, Ira 
Du Bois, Nathan Farrell, Peter Schaurman, George Marvin, Caleb 
Crosswel, John Abeel, T. C. Atwater, John Rowe, Stephen Bos- 
worth, Epbraim Beach. 

Oreene County's Gonslitutional ^evi^ioniist 




H. T^eroy Austin. 
There are few young men in the 



State of New York who 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



have risen to prominence and have a more brilliant career before 
them than H L. Austin, of Catskill, and there have been many 
men who have been eonspicious in every way. He is a favorite son 
of Greene county and it is with pleasure that we are able to in- 
clude him ill the list i:)f In-illiiint nii'U who have made the county 
what it is. 

Ixuvly past the 40 year line, he has become one of the 
greatest corporation attorneys in the state, representing the great 
New York Central Lines the past three or four years, and just at 
present is conspicuous as having been selected by a splendid ma- 
jority to represent the Empire state in the Constitutional Conven- 
tion. Broad minded, public spirited and capable beyond the 
average man, he is of all others the one to fill with credit the post 
of responsitjility. 

He served eight years as chief of the finance bureau, State 
Comptroller's oftice; District Attorney of Greene County, by ap- 
pointment of Governor Hughes; conducted investigations into 
municipal afiairs in Westchester and Broome counties by designa- 
tion of then Comptroller Martin H. Glvnn, and in Schenectady 
county by designation of Comptroller Williams. As a result of 
his investigations a judgment for over $60,000 was recovered 
for fees illegally taken from the County of Westchester ; in Broome 
county the Countv Treasurer and Clerk of Board of Supervisors 
convicted of misappropriation of county funds and over S25.000 
recovered by the count}"; in Schenectady county, members of the 
Board of Supervisors and others convicted and about $10,000 
recovered from a former sheriff. 

In 1910 Mr. Austin was designated by Governor Hughes to 
investigate the purchases of lands in the Adirondacks by the State, 
and unearthed great frauds, leading Governor Hughes to appoint 
him Forest, Fish and Game Commissioner of the State. 

It was during this sweeping reform that Mr. Austin brought 
about while he was at the head of the Forest, Fish and Game Com- 
mission that he had occasion to meet out a little justice in Greene 
county of the sort that has always stamped him as a great man. 

304 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Just about the time he went into office there wafl a poor lumber- 
man named Walter Dederick of Leeds, who had cleared a piece of 
land and because of sickness had not been able to take care of the 
tops. Some game warden got in line and a fine of $200 was levied 
upon Mr. Dederick, who had the double misfortune of having lost 
his leg in a lumber camp. It was a graye injustice, and the first 
thing that Mr. Austin did was to proclaim it as such, and then he 
went down into his pocketbook and paid that little fine. 

And there you have the calibre of the man who is going to 
go a good deal higher in the political field before he is through. 

He is at present associated with Messrs. Visschner & Walen 
of Albany, under the name of Visschner, Walen & Austin. 



Individual Money 

It may be interesting to know that there was a very great 
scarcity of money in Catskill and all through Greene county dur- 
ing the period of the Rebellion, and that while the country was 
overrun with coins of the size of pennies, that became known as 
tokens, individual firms had shin-plasters and many issued tickets 
that went as money. Judge Chase has in his collection of curios, 
167 varieties of these early tokens, and a collection of tickets that 
went as money. 

Some of these read: 



Due the Bearer ; Good for : 

2 CENTS : 2 CENTS ; 

At Wicks Market ; . At Meech & Bagleys Store : 



Good for 

2 CENTS ■ Good for 

At My office in Leeds ' 3 CENTS 

Or at the Fiero Stores : : ^t Juhus Sauls 



He also has a collection of script of the Old Greene County 
Bank, and the Catskill bank: in denominations from One Dollar 
and a Half to $100. 

205 



DteAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



He also has one of the tickets used at the time of the Walsh 
trial. This read: 

Supreme Court, Greene County, 

Admit Bearer 

Piatt Coonley, Sheriff of Greene County 



A Greal Irvventor From Pratlsville 

Wm. Bullock, we are informed was born at Greenville and 
subsequently removed to Prattsville where he worked in a printing 
office. He was a great genius and invented while at that place 
the first roatry perfecting printing press in the country, which 
printed from a roll and finished both sides at once. This was 
the greatest'invention in printing and many others have taken up 
the Bullock idea. In 1849 he is said to have removed from Pratts- 
ville to Catskill and to have been connected with a naper publish- 
ed at Prattsville and moved to Catskill. It is likely this paper 
was the American Eagle, though the historian has it that he pub- 
lished the Banner of Union in Catskill. The Eagle was changed to 
the Banner of Industry, also Democratic Herald b^'- Lyman 
Tremaine, and subsequently merged with the Recorder. In 1867 
Mr. Bullock was hurt while putting up one of his presses at 
Philadelphia, his death being the result. 

William Bullock married Emily Rundell, a Greenville 
woman, and he had two sons, one of whom, William, was at 
Prattsville last summer, on a visit to the Maces, who are related 
to him. The other son is Harry Bullock. After the death of 
William Bullock, Mrs. Bullock moved to Prattsville, and sub- 
sequently married Danforth Frair. Through Sidney Crowell, she 
was able to recover $5000, and Mr. Crowell got $500 for getting 
it. The facts in regard to the suit, we do not know. 

He was born in 1811 and died in 1867, and Mr. Crowell 
who recovered the money for the heirs was at that time practicing 
law at Prattsville. Mr. Bullock tried in vain to have the patent 
on his press renewed. At the time of the invention he was operat- 
ing a foundry at Ashland. 

206 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Firisl Gat^kill 3teamer 

Geo. Halcott of Catskill was engineer. 

A man of consideraljle note, the town of Halcott being 
named after him. 

The representation below of The Frank which we are in- 
formed was the first steamboat running from Catskill to New York 
and it was around 1837. The drawing is from a picture in the 
possession of Judge Chase and is prized by him, as there are few if 
any other pictures of the boat. This boat ran semi-weekly trips to 
New York. The first ferry was a scow propelled by oars, and then 
after many years that was succeeded by a horse power ferry, and 
then the A. F. Beach. 




^.A3A«6f' 



The Frank IBS'; 



Talk about Longfellow and Bryant and all the other great 
poets, in 1837 there was printed a big volume of poems entitled 
the "Farmers Muse" written by Benjamin Hine of Cairo. A well 
bound leather covered volume of 273 pages. And the book was a 
seller. Mr. Hine we find was a celebrated character in his native 
town, and familiarly known as Big Ben Hine, and also as Old Ben 
Hine. 

207 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Cholera in Galskill 

("atskill was visited by the cholera in 1832,1834, 1X49 
and again in 18S4, and the plague was laid to the conditions that 
were permitted to exist in the neighborhood of the Hoponose and 
along (Ireene street. There were several slaughter yards in that 
section, and the enormous catches of herring, which were stored 
there, were allowed to rot. and create a very filthy condition. 
Captain John H. Bagley, in his reminisence says that in 1854 
there were 300 cases of cholera in Catskill, and a very large pro- 
portion of that number died. There was no rain from May to 
September, and the cholera period extended over a part of May, 
June, July, August and September. 

A great many people left Catskill and went into the 
mountain section, and Wf^re safe. Ministers and doctors were 
among the number leaving the place, though Dr. George A. 
Howard, pastor of the Presbyterian Church, is said to have return- 
ed to Catskill to assist in the funeral work. Of the physicians 
who remained, Dr. Bell was stricken and died. He revived, how- 
ever, after he had been placed in a coffin, and climbed out and 
got a gun to shoot the persons who had laid him out, but soon 
passed away. Men were walking the street, and a few hours 
later were dead. One woman, Mrs. Philip Brown recovered after 
being in her coffin, and lived for years. Cholera, yellow fever 
and small pox, appear to have been disease of filth, and made 
terrible ravages. 

Harmony Lodge was organized in 1795, and Stephen and 
Ira Day were second and third on the record. There was another 
man named AVhittemore, and the early scribe thus writes his 
immortal epitaph, possibly epithet: 

"Mister Whittemore, Axed sixpence to bore a small gimlet 
hole thro a mop pole." 

This certainly was shocking. 



In 1718 an act was passed granting freeholders and inhabi- 
tants of the precincts of Catskill and Coxhackey in ye county of 
Albany the privilege of choosing yearly a supervisor. 

208 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



In Times of IKe Gal^kill ^Whig, 

From the Catskill Messenger, published by Ira Du Bois in 
1830, a copy of which was preserved by the late Judson Wilcox, 
we are able to secure a number of interesting matters. The paper 
was 4 pages of columns and the subscription price was $2 . 50 
per year. 

One of the most conspicuous matters advertised was Whea- 
ton's Itch Ointment, 25 cents "Cures in an Hour," The itch was 
called a loathsome disease. Also a cure for "Fever and Ague.'' 

Croswell and Brace, druggists, of whom we are able to pre- 
sent pictures, sold "Jaundice Bitters." "Davenport's Celebrated 
Eye Water," and "Bilious Pills." Henry Mc Kinstry sold "Hy- 
giean Medicine" which was guaranteed to cure Small Pox, Kings 
Evil, Apoplexy, Palsy, Consumption, and other ills including St. 
Vitus Dance. This medicine was alleged to have been recommend- 
ed by a lot of Royal Eminent Gentlemen. $2 per packet. 

The shipping was done by Pentield and Day who operated 
the sloops Buck Tail and Shakespeare. 

The steamers Champlain and North America between Al- 
bany and New York landed at Catskill running day trips and the 
Dewitt Clinton and the Ohio and Robert L. Stevens night line on 
same route did not stop at Catskill. 

T. C. Atwater sold saw mill cranks, iron and steel. 

Griggs and Bullock sold ploughs. 

J. W. Hunter sold crowbar drafts. 

S. Bosworth and J. Gebbard sold satin beaver hats. 

T. C. Atwater sold bark mills, 

H. Comfort sold prepared floor plank. 

Francis Say re offered $1000 for any stove that beat his in- 
vention. 

S. W. Bullock and Co. sold leather rollers. 

Riesdolph and Van Kuren took care of the horse shoeing. 

C. Trowbridge operated a soap and candle factory. 

Thomas Reed taught a select school on W^illiam street, dis- 
trict school building. 

209 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNtlf. 




Dr. Abel Brace. 



The block of stores occupied by William L. Du Bois, How- 
ard Smith, the Examiner and the old building on the Hasselman 
lot since remodeled, was built V)y Mackey Croswell, and the Oros- 
wellsand Dr, Brace had their otlices on Greene street. Here the 
first Catskill Packet was printed and this building was later moved 
to the corner where the express office now is where they opened 
a drug business. In 1>>22 they built the brick block, where they 
continued. Later Benjamin Wey and Wm. L. DuBois at the 
same stand, Mr. DuBois over 61 j^ears. 

210 



OHIO. 




The ^iteam Boat OHIO^ ha?iiis been 

iartere<l by the Whlg:;s of New York for the occasion, left thatcitj this 

IK morning at 7 o^ciocli for Albany. She will tire salutes at the difier- 
^ It Landin^f^ alon:^ tlie river, in honor of the C^LORIOUN VICTORY 

»tained by our Whig; friends in Ohio. She will pass our landing between 
. and a oVl<^?k this afternoon, at which time the Whigs of €«tskill are 
I -quested to assemble at the point, and give her a reception worthy of so 
I orious a result. By or<ler of the Committee. 

Catskill, October 30, 18.34. 



The Whig§ will also bear in mind the 

eeting at BEACEPS this evening. 

Photo Reprochiction Poster preserved by the late Judson Wileox 1834. 



bEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Mr. Sturtevant Imd a classical school. 
Henry ISIc Kinstry sold dry goods. 

T. C.Atwater sold Nott's Salamander Stoves and the Park- 
er's Prophesy Stoves. 

John Wolcott sold Hour at 80.50 per barrel. 
Henry Mc Kinstry sold groceries. 
Isaac Rice sold boots and shoes. 



NO MONOPOLY. 

NOTICE i» hereby pubilclj s^wen 

to fishermen, tbal (he undersigned have become acquainted , willi tbt \ 
existence of an odious mono(jolv in (lie ancient, respectable, and apos- 
lollc business of fishing. This monopoly is composed of a combiaattoo 
of a Trinity of two Deacons and one Hevil, and has for its o()jee.t the 
total forestalling of fishing on the Plaucltij. To obviate the disadvan* 
tages which the subscribers are subject by tliis precious /r/o of religioB 
and iniquity, they hereby give notice that they wish to hire .twenty 
fisherman for the ensuing season, who can bring testimonials that they 
will chew as much tobacco, drink as much liquor, o 'id whistle as good a 
tune as the devil himself, (wh« is a tValker about, seeking whom he 
may devour,) with the aid of his two arch-deacons. None other need 
apply, and those who come well recommended for the above precions 
qualifications, will be paid liberal wages. 

MORGAN STOCK! MG» *l CO. 
Catskill. Februarj 9. 1835. { 

■ , I 

Poster Preserved by Judson Wilcox. 

Of Reminiscervt Interest 

Solomon Chanler who conducted a hotel at Bridge street 
corner, Catskill, called the village tavern, is said by early writers 
to have had a club foot, hickory cane and voice like a Xumidian 
lion. He spent most of his time groaning sacred music. He was 
grandfather of Henry Baker, whom the writer remembers 30 years 
ago as conducting a printing office near the Saulpaugh. 

Ben Hallenbeck operated a scow ferry between the Point 
and the opposite side of the river, and it almost broke his heart 
when he had to give way to the horse propelled ferry. 

212 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



It is interesting to note that in 1807, Henry Ashley was a 
tanner, John Blanchard. Nathaniel Hinrnan, Lemuel Hall, Simon 
Sanford, David Thorpe and Shadrack White were cordwainers. 
Abijah Beach was a saddler, and so was John Bolen, Henry Home- 
diu was a wheelwright, Stephen Root was a tanner, Joshua Steb- 
bins was a nailor, James Cole a cabinet maker, Ephram Baker, 
Adonija Baker, John Hyde, and Jared Stocking blacksmiths, Peter 
Breasted a glazier, Caleb Croswell a gilder, Elisha Ferguson a 
cooper, David Horton a weaver, John Doane, who rounded the 
century and is remembered by some Catskillians was a ship joiner, 
Jehiel Preston made clocks, Mackey Croswell was a printer, John 
Lacy a ship builder, and also John Gager. There was quite a 
number of house joiners: Henry Selleck, Reuben Sanderson, Her- 
man Hinman, Nathaniel Eels, Benjamin Sole, ship carpenters, 
John Olcott made rope. Occupations that have passed, as well as 



Dr. Croswell used to boast that he had a white horse, a 
white cow and a white nigger, and the latter took care of the 
others and at odd times blacked the doctor's shoes, pumped the 
soda fountain and rolled the pills. He also was an expert at kill- 
ing and dressing hogs. 

Our reporter who spent many hours in the local cemeteries 
alleges that he was unable to start an argument. He listed 
the name of Hiland Hill who we tind was an old builder of sloops 
and had a ship yard on the Creek near the Point, possibly where 
Benter now is. Richard Hill who was a brother is said to have 
represented the United States as Consul at Valpariso. He sent a 
couple of natives to Catskill to be educated by Dr. Porter. Hiland 
Hill jr. is remembered by the writer, as cashier of the Catskill 
Bank. 

Charles Bliven one of the early residents of the West Side, 
Catskill, is said to have given the name Blivenville to that section 
which still remains . The Blivens were relatives of Mrs. R. D. 
Miller. 

213 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Among the names that are to be found on the old register 
of the Catskill INIountain House is that of Aaron Burr, a famed 
character of the Colonial period. ]Mr. Burr frequently made trips 
into this section and the Mountain House which was on a primi- 
tive road was reached by saddle parties, and these parties took 
several days or weeks to make trips farther into the country. Mr. 
Burr probably was on his way from a visit to the Prevosts at Green- 
ville as he resided at Albany, and later on was married to the 
Avidow Prevost. 




Catskill Mt. House in 1828. 



In the course of several interviews with ¥. X. Du Bois who 
lived in Catskill we have been able to get some very interesting 
matters of the early times that have never before found their way 
into print and which form a part of this book. One of the pleasant- 
ries of the early history which he tells is of Government Meat In- 
spector Williams who was stationed at Catskill Point during the 
days of the slaughter houses to which we have referred. Williams 
was great on his judgment of meat, and Williams was also very 
tender on venison and bear steaks. Peter Schutt, grandfather of 
Louis P. Schutt who kept the old hotel where Frank Pyan is 

214 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



located was a great hunter and a great practical joker. After one 
of his successful hunts he made Williams a present of a fine bear 
steak, and after Williams had exploited his bear steak to his 
hearts content, Schutt very sedately informed the inspector that it 
was a pig steak. Mr. Schutt afterwards purchased the property 
at Kaaterskill falls where the Laurel House is located, and this 
was run about 25 year ago by L. P. Schutt. 

Mr. DuBois tells of visiting the old paper mill in Austin's 
Glen with his father when a lad, and of the interest he took in 
watching the paper making. The old mill has been torn down. 

John Du Bois who at one time lived with his parents in the 
homestead house on the Du Bois place drove to New burgh with a 
load of straw, going and returning on the ice and he sold his load to 
Gen. George Washington for use in the Continental army. He was 
then a lad of about 17 years. Whether the money he received in 
payment for the straw was worth a Continental or not we know not. 
The expression came down and still is common. In those days 
there was a loom and spinning wheel in every house, and the 
lumber used was sawed out by hand. Many of the big cedars were 
worked up with the aid of a whip saw. 

Mr. DuBois says that around 1841 he attended a lecture by 
one of Catskill's teachers. Prof. R. L.Ross and that he demonstrat- 
ed the electric light. Nor has he forgotten the old ruler with 
which Mr Ross demonstrated that he was master of the school. 
He also remembers Dr. Porter very well, at the time when he liyed 
at the corner of Spring and William streets, being the last house 
in the direction of the river. 

George C . Fox until recently in business on the corner of 
Main and Factory streets recalls the visit of Jay Gould to Catskill 
in the early 30's, on which occasion Mr. Gould had with him a 
wheelbarrow which he was pushing through the street, and that 
barrow contained a surve3'or's outfit with which he was making the 
necessary surveys for maps of Greene, Schoharie, Delaware and 
other counties. A few of these maps are still in existence and 
they are worth their weight in gold. The maps showed views of 

215 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



villnge? and the location of residences scattered along the highways 
over which Mr Gould passed. And Mr. Gould failed not to col- 
lect tribute for the .jotting of the locations of farm houses on the 
map. The surveying of these maps led to the great railroad in- 
terests of ]Mr. Gould. 




William Smith, Uncle Sam. 

^ I L. S. and William Smith built a considerable part of Cats- 

kill, and they fill an important niche in the history of Catskill. 
Wm. Smith came to Catskill from South Westerlo around 1820 or 
possibly earlier and his last visit to Catskill was during Old Home 
Week 1908, when he was seen on the streets in his suit of stars 

216 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and stripes, recalling to Catskillians the fact that he was the orig- 
inal Uncle Sam. He was then bordering 90 years of age and 
sprightly as the average man at 60. In company with his brother 
they employed at times 100 masons and carpenters, and their work 
is still in as good shape as when first built. The mansion of Artist 
Church on Mt. Merino was built by them, and many other build- 
ings including the Catskill High school, the Fiero house on Wil- 
liam street, the Methodist church. Baptist church, in 1850. Among 
the tradesmen who learned their craft of this firm were the Wolfs, 
Rulands, Edwin Lampman, Geo. W. Holdridge, Adrian Mull, 
(lotleib Fromer, Charles Beardsley and Geo. H. Warner. 

We present a very fine portrait of William Smith. He died 
at Tuscon, Arizona, in 1910 at the age of 91 years. He was for- 
merly reputed to be wealthy, but at the time of his death he was 
in absolute poverty, and a subscription was raised to save his re- 
mams from a pauper's grave, 

In the barn of another hotel at Brosnaham's street, now 
Bronson street a man named Highdecker hanged himself, and the 
incident killed his business. 

The writer remembers that in 1882 there hung on the wall 
in the Catskill Recorder office a long strip of ironwood bark drawn 
into a slip knot, and dusty with age,^and near by it was the skin 
of a 6 foot rattle snake. With the bark slip knot an old settler 
had hanged himself, and he is led to believe it may have been 
Highdecker. Nelson Mundin a Catskill fish peddler of very un- 
certain age ranging the 90s possibly used to .come to the office of 
the Recorder and usually this slip knot was exhibited to him and 
he would turn and run away in great terror, ^fundin han an idea 
that if he went to bed he would die, and it was said that he slept 
in a chair, and it is certain that he died setting in a chair. We 
can still hear him calling "Fresh Prospect Park Shad." 

The slaughtering of cattle in a regularly conducted meat 
business commenced at Catskill Point around 1800, at which time 
cattle in large droves were sent across the country through Gilboa, 
Prattsville, Cooksburgh to Catskill, and while vast numbers were 

217 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



sent to New York to be slaughtered many were killed at the Point 
for packing purposes. Solomon ^\'oodruff and Francis X. Wilson 
were at the head of this industry. Everj'^ barrel of pork or beef 
to pass government inspection and was marked U.Sr Samuel 
Wilson was the inspector and originated the term known as rncle 
Sam. James Gleason was the boss and when pay day came he 
would climb up a ladder and announce to the men that they had 
that week spilled more blood than ever Napoleon did. F X.Wilson 
Fire Company was named in his honor. oOO cattle were killed a 
day. 

Orlando Bogardus later came into prominence as a dealer 
and always announced that the weight was plump scant when he 
made a sale. Later Captain Hiram Bogardus was in thd business 
and had associated with him Oliver Bourke. Mr. Bourke con- 
tinued the business for many j^ears and became Esquire Bourke, a 
man of sympathy and well and iionoral)ly known whose death 
occurred a few years ago . 

In addition to the slaugliter of cattle, tanning hides was one 
of the early and leading industries of Greene county and neighbor- 
ing counties in fact, an industry that has passed. Col. Zadock 
Pratt the George Washington of the county was one of the pion- 
eers in this industry and made a fortune in the business at Pratts- 
ville. Jay Gould was associated with him in Pennsylvania. Few 
Catskillians are aware that a large tannery was located at the 
head of Main street. This was owned and managed by Henry 
Ashley, Nicholas Swartwout and later Jones and Bagley, who had 
numerous business enterprises in Catskill, hotel, grocery, boarding 
house, etc. Another tannery was located on the Hans Vossenkill. 

From a description of town and county life in America in 
1<S00 we gather the information that Catskill in 1792 numbered 10 
dwellings, and there were in 1800, 156 houses, 2 ships, 1 schooner. 
■S sloops, each capable of transporting 100 tons, and all carrying 
produce to New York. On a single daj' in 1801 four thousand 
bushels of wheat were brought in Catskill and 800 loaded sleighs 
came in by the western road. At this time Catskill was something 
of importance as a center of trade from the western part of the 

218 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



county and adjoining counties and the point from which most of 
the shipping was done. 

During the 20"s Catskill had an artillery company that was 
commanded by the intrepid and crafty Jared Stocking, and Athens 
had another that was commanded by Capt. Sam. Hamilton. The 
war spirit was still thrilling their veins, and when the Athenians 
stole down and captured Catskill's brass G pounder there was some 
big tight on. Catskill wanted to celebrate. They did so, but Athens 
got the gun and hid it, and went to Mackey Croswell's tavern for 
ammunition, after wetting their flint locks in Croswell's good rum, 
they discovered that Stocking's men in their bare feet had got the 
L^ua. And they hid it so successfully in Isaac Du Bois loft that 
it never came i^aek. 

Wooley Scott lived near Diamond Hill which was remov- 
ed to make room for shale brick plant opposite the Hopenose, and 
he was one of the most eccentric characters of the earl.y period. 
Tradition says that he was never sober on a week day or drunk on 
Sundav. and that while he was taking in the yarns, reminiscence, 
and elixirs of the groggery, he was jibed by boys, like Catskill boys 
;>() years ago pestered the High Hill Hallen becks, three characters 
who came to Catskill with a few bean poles to sell generally, and 
getting loaded would start for home. Then a pack of Ijoys would 
follow them through the street and take their poles, pull them 
from the wagon and do all sorts of things to anger them . These 
men will be remembered by many. Wooley Scott was the victim 
of some very mean pranks. The boys not only stole his clams, 
dumped his sand, lured away his horse, but they set fire to his 
load of straw. AVooley claimed that he was a near relative of 
Sir Walter Scott, but he was a better judge of rum than poetry. 

In his rpminiscence of Catskill, Thurlow Weed tells of the 
murder of one John Williams, and that after the finding t f the 
body it was shown that he had been at the house of Nancy McFall. 
The angry populace gathered at the Mc Fall place and demolished 
it. Later the alleged murderer was apprehended, convicted, and 
hanged. x\n hour afterward a reprieve arrived. That was around 
1800. 

219 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Dr. Croswell, Rev. Dr. Porter and Maior Jacob Haight 
who served the County in the legislature are reckoned by Mr. Weed 
as the three great men of the early period. He also classed Judge 
Moses Cantine as a Christian gentleman and a lawyer, 1812. The 
Judge was state senator and being a Cat-kill printer succeeded 
Judge Buell as state printer. 

in LS88 there was located in the rear of the Methodist 
church at Catskill, a brick yard operated by Chauncey Hall, and 
there was another yard on Academy street operated by one Denell 
and from 1889 to the present time there has been a brick yard at 
the Hop-o-nose. The first was operated by Eber Scott and later by 
Cole followed by Thos. E. Ferrier and later Ferrier and Golden 
and now by Golden and Son. There was another brick yard where 
the Holdridge stone dock now is, operated first by four brothers, 
later by Hold brook, who was put out of business when the great 
bank in the rear of the yards slid down into the valley burying a 
big kiln of green brick. Joseph Hallock put up a stately brick 
house on the site of this yard. Samuel Du Bois, an early settler, 
had a yard near the present Glass works, and the brick from Cats- 
kill went into the Croton reservoir many of them. 

Another successful yard was that of Cooke and Hard wick, 
later the Walshs, and the Ferriers, and for many years the Wash- 
burns. 

A very interesting incident happened at Leeds in the days 
of the early history of the Dutch church which has withstood 
the storms of over a century. It appears from the narrative of 
Benjamin Wiltse an old resident of Catskill who used to tell about 
the incident, that the old bell that called to worship had a harsh 
discordant melody that jarred the nerves of the old ladies of the 
congregation and finally it was planned to have the bell retuned. 
Milton Fowks had an enviable reputation as a founder, and he 
could tune a bell to the',Queen's taste. So Milton was waited upon 
by a delegation and it was all arranged that the great discordant 
bell should be lowered from the steeple, and taken to a conven- 
ient spot near the bridge, where with water handy the tuning was 

to be done. Then a scafi'old was built and the bell suspended be- 

220 



DEAR OLD GREENE tiOUNt'i'. 



neath it, and with plenty of rails and branches of trees, a fire 
was started under the bell. About this time Old Bill Schuneman 
suggested that while the metal was getting warmed up they should 
all go up to the tavern and get a gin cocktail. This was done and 
in the ginning up the fire grew warmer and the bell was forgotten 
for a time. On their return to the creek the bell was found to 
have entirely melted. The discordant melody of the old bell dis- 
turbed the quiet of the Leeds Sundays nevermore. 

Spofford'S Gazetteer of 1813 says in referring to the business 
of that period, Catskill will probably become the third if not the 
second city on the Hudson in wealth, population and commercial 
importance- 

In 1812 a penalty of $10 was authorized as a punishment 
for any child, slave, apprentice or servant firing fire crackers or 
other fireworks in Catskill. 

Orrin Day grandfather of Orrin Day president of the Tan- 
ners National Bank of Catskill, is said to have been first chief of 
the Catskill fire department in 1824. The first mention of a fire 
organization was in 1806, and m 1807 Richard Hall and Orrin Day 
were at the head of a fire company, the first named being foreman. 
And in 1809 a bucket ordinnnce was passed. There was a fine of 
$3 for not complying with the bucket law and Orrin Day was 
authorized to prosecute any persons not complying with the law. 

In 1824 money was appropriated for the purchase of a hand 
engine, hose and a lot on which to build an engine house. In 1827 
Hook and Ladder Company No. 1 was formed. T. K. Cooke, 
Philander Selleck, Henry Hill, James Van Gorden, James Pink- 
ney, Judson Wilcox and James Breasted were members of this 
company. Later came Caleb and Orrin Day. 

One of the important early interests was the marble busi ■ 
ness and a pioneer in that line was Israel H. Baldwin in the early 
30's. He was the first. He drove to Catskill with a wagon load of 
marble and stopping in front of Lyon's Hotel the horse was stricken 
with blind staggers and fell on him. For 6 months he was laid 
up and in May, 1834, he commenced to make tombstones. Later 

221 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNtV. 

he took in a partner named Whitney, who robbed the firm and it 
took Mr. Baldwin 20 j'ears to recover from the financial blow. He 
was in business where the public library now stands, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son Charles who moved to Water street and later tf) 
Main street near the Commercial Hotel. He died in 189.S at the 
age of 85 years. He was one of the leading men in the First 
Baptist church and superintended the building of the presen 
church in 1871. He was also a member of the Board of Educa- 
tion for 20 years. 

Charles Baldwin conducted the business until his shop was 
torn down to make room for the village building. As a marble 
cutter he was an artist. 

George t^lliott had a marl)le business in Jefferson in ls<;:-). 
C. A. Xoble commenced operations in 1882. 

One of the oldest men of Catskill who but recently pnssed 
was Henry Lim brick, of Livingston street. From 1S8(; to 1864 
he was in the employ of Mr. Beach and in the 70s was in the 
harness business at the corner of Thomson and Main streets. 

The first bakery was started at Catskill by a man named 
Kendall, whose brother had the distinction of being postmaster 
General under Andrew Jackson. Amos Kendall was the most ef- 
ficient postmaster of his day. Baker Kendall did a living busi- 
ness, near the Saulpaugh. He was succeeded by Reuben Pennoy- 
er father of Capt. William A. Pennoyer, who later was in the 
jewelry business and who somewhat eccentric is well remembered 
by some Catskillians. Pennoyer had a motto on his wagon an- 
nouncing that "Our Country Wants Bread." This was around 
1X36. 

John Ashley came into competition with Pennoyer about 
this time. He was also a trustee. John Ashley a son succeeded 
him as dough man, and later his son Edward Ashley, who took 
up the practice of menicine and moved to Athens. John R. Hicks 
took up the business and was later on succeeded by Mc Laughlin 
and Carey. Other bakers were Henry Selleck, Selleck and Brown, 
Willis Selleck and during the 80s Edward Ashley who occupied 

323 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



the Bloom building on lower Main street and was burned out. 
And the interesting incident that is vouched for concerning 
one of the old residents of Leeds, who recently passed away is that 
on a certain occasion he called upon the young lady who after- 
wards became his wife, and was invited to tea. At the table he 
noticed that his hair had not been combed as he was seated op- 
posite the looking glass. This flustered him and he dropped Iiis 
fork. Reaching to pick it up he tipped a cup of tea down his 
back. Getting straightened around finally lie noticed a flap of the 
table cloth in his lap and thinking that it was a part of his shirt, 
pushed it back as he supposed, but made it fast by poking it into 
the top of his trousers. A little later when he got up he carried 
table cloth, dishes, etc., along with him and the dishes crashed at 
his feet, it was several weeks after that befcire he visited at \"— s 
again. 

Edwin Ashley, father of .Mrs. J. \\\ ]^)randow, was a great 
fireman and for years at the head of the C'atskill department. 

One of the early shoe dealers was S. B. Abreet, father of 
John I). Ahreet who continued the business. ^Tr. Abreet manufac- 
tured most of his goods at the start but later on came the store 
kind. The firm is now Ahreet tV'^ C'ussler. 

Joshua Kiero one the early dry goods dealers came to Cats- 
kill in l<s;>S and in 1840 started in business at the corner of Main 
and Thompson streets, and for 20 years he had stores in Leeds, 
Kingston and Auburn as well. He was elected to the legislature 
in 1854, and Senator Harris said he made the best presiding 
officer the senate ever had. The business was continued b^^ his 
daughter Miss M. Fiero and she sold out to Fred Conklin in U)lo. 

The old grocery store in WestCatskill is another landmark. 
It has been in the grocery line for over 100 years. The first record 
we have is of Samuel Du Bois. The record is broken but another 
early dealer was Charles Abeel. Sandy Phillips, H. W. Terwilliger, 
and F. D. Woolhiser are within the present scope. Earlier grocers 
were W. W. Van Loan, Caleb Spencer, Judson Wilcox, Wilson 
Paige. Philip Van Orden and J.J. Donnelly. 



©rccnc €o. 



• Parsonnge Reformed ^tch Church-^ 

iy»i Rev. Dr. .Murdoch's — insured for 86007 
; Lojs 81,200. 

EW'/r— — 1-^\ r\ I BapiisiCliurcIi— insured lor $2 500. 

/A II k^l /^\ ■ Dwelling of Dr. John Doane-insured. 

Z/ U J 'J 1 LTJ 3 I Duelling of Mrs. Charles Clarke— in- 
sured. 

Dwelling of the MSsses Sherman — in- 
jured for 81,000— loi3 $1,500. 

Drtellinj of Robert Dorlon — owned \^ 
Benjamin Richards, New-York, loss 82,- 
• j 000 — partially iiiiured. 

* Dwelling and Shop of Messrs. New- 
bury. Loss about SlOOd— no insurance. 
Dwelling and confectionery of William 
liarnett — owned by Edwin Croswell — 
partially injured. 

Telegraph Office of J. R. Sylvester- 
insured. 

Shoe Shop of John Rwse — 
•Mechanics' Hall, loijs about $800— 
insured for $400. 

Lavallc's Market, belonging to Ed- 
win Croswell, and several other building} 
About three o'clock, this morning, a 'occupied by. colored people, Eggnor's 
moat destructive fire swept through the l«en Pin Alleys, of which we ha\e no in- 
southern portion of our village. Com- formation. 

mencing in the stables of t!ie Greenel Church and School hou^e gf the color- 
Cuuiiiy !Iui<^, li c^t-i iJ c H to thv lT»cryi-Etf pTOple. 

establishment of Messrs. De;;ch, and to| Houses owned by Van Densen, in tb« 
the slaoies of the r'r;;nkliii House, and rear of the Dutch Cburch, occupie'd by 
Jed Mr. C.irgill, and Mr. Clark- insured. 

H. Brown, pn.prielor of the Hourly 




Destructive Fire ! ! ! 

TWO CHURCHES BURNED! 

Thirty Buildings Destroyed, 

LOSS $50,000! 



to tlie Hotel. From thence it 

to the Dutch Church and the buildings' 

in the rear. 

It then swept over to the west side of 
Main street, and the Baptist Church and 
several other buildings wert soon envel- 
oped in flames. 

The leaping waves of flame, as they 
twept up the tall spires of the Churches, 
with snaRe-like rapidity, conspired to ren- 
der the scene sublimely grand and mag- 
Dificent. 

The following property is destroyed : 

Beach's Livery SuWes, including 12 
horses. lOO.U bu>hel4.Lj3i3, carriages, and 
all the appurtenances, entirely destroyed. 
Lfc» »b ol 1(15,000 — insured lor about 
»3,&00 

Qttdae County Hotel, kept by Van 
Bergen. Insured for 82,000— lo* 83,- 
000. -2 horses perished. 

Franklin House, occupied by George 
Prime — and the buildiog adjoining, oc- 
cupied by a Bnsworth. Loss 8-5,000— 
ioaured U» 83,000. 

Reformed Dutch Church— insured for 
iH.OOO. Loaa $6,000, 



I St.iges, loses 4 horses, carriages, and 
considerable house furniture, loss $1000, 
no insurance. 

Independent of the losses sustaiii^d, 
the furniture is considerably injured "in 
every place. 

Mr. John R. S)lve?ler will occupy the 
building one door below Mr. Charlei 
Willard's, as a temporary Telegraph Of- 
fice, until ih« 1st of May. 

The above estimsles may not be cor- 
rect, as we have been obliged to collect 
k!:jm hastily. 'J'hey will not vary much, 
'lowever. 

Two Fire Companies from Hudson, 
'riindly volunteered their ssrvices. They 
have the thr-nks of the community for 
their assistance. 

It was supposed at one time, that all 
the buildings on the west side of Broad 
Street would be destroyed. 



1 the sisn uf the .'Vnvil,ao as<;onmeni olGrind 
-.ones, ai the lowest rales. F SAYRE. 

Cau-;,ill, Fcbruarv 10, 1549. ftOU 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Another very old stand is the Hill paint store. This was 
built in 1821 bj' Peter Breasted, He died in the 503 and was suc- 
ceeded by Eaton Dunham, and later by H. K. Hill who with his 
son-in-law, Wm. B. Donahue still continue. It was Mr. Dunham 
who stationed at his door the iron dog in 1849, which has been 
the object of curiosity ever since, and which as the result of Hal- 
loween pranks was finally chained fast to prevent the dog from 
migrating to other points. Steamboats and stage coaches were the 
subjects of their art. 

George C. Fox on the East side is one of the veteran 
grocers and has only lately retired in favor of his son Arthur P. 
Fox who is at the old stand. 

There have been more changes in the grocery business than 
any other business in Catskill. Conklin Brothers, F H. Russ, 
Vernon Ford, Geo. C. Cowles, W. E. Minkler, have passed with 
manv others but P. Y. R. Timmerman who succeeded Jones and 
Bagley still remains after 50 years at the upper Main street stand. 

Among the earliest grocery firms were Alfred Foote on up- 
per Main street, Foote and Grant, French and Elthridge, Wilcox 
and Givins, Meach and Beach, Cowles and Meach, Elias Pen- 
field, Meach and Edwards, 8haler and Fox. Mr. Shaler and 
Mr. Fox alone are living. 

More than 85 years ago John Lusk was in the hardware 
business on Main street. The firm of Mann and Cooke was form- 
ed about 1840 and John T. Mann, and Frederick and J. Atwater 
Cooke were the members of the firm. Frederick Cooke continued 
the business and was followed by John T. Mann, and later on by 
Day and Holt, and later the Day and Holt Co. Jeremiah Day, 
Samuel E. Holt, Philip Walsh, and P. Dewitt Hitchcock many 
years clerk of the village of Catskill, comprieing the firm. 

Another early hardware dealer was Francis Sayer and John 
T. Powers, later on Russ and Beach, and !^[attice and Wessell, and 
now the Catskill Hardware Company. 

225 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



M. H. Johnson, and the Brooks Brothers, Adams and 
Spencer. H. T. Jones and Son, Conklin and Lattimer are well re- 
membered in later 3'ears. 

There have been tailors and tailors, and the great Andrew 
Johnson was once a tailor. So was Seldon A. Givens one of the 
earl}' illustrious lawyers of Greene coonty, but he threw the sad 
iron away for the law book and he made his mark. Another carv- 
er of cloth in the early days of Catskill was A. N. Hinman, better 
known as Deacon Hinman. Later came Charles H. Pierson and 
William Hunter, estimable craftsmen, followed by F. S. Lynes 
whose long and helpful life was spent in making good clothes, and 
his son later in business with him, continued the work at his death 
several years ago. ^Ir. Lynes was also one of the pioneers of the 
First Baptist church. 

(3f the later clothing men there AvereF. A. Stahl, and James 
Wallace an eccentric character who had a penchant for running 
for nominations, which occasionally he landed. Clothier Abram 
Joseph has also been here for many years, succeeding Samuel 
Marks in the 80's. J. L. Goldberg built the foundations for a 
fortune in the little store at the end of the town bridge, now oc- 
cupied as a candy store by Mr. Cunningham. 

The first large boarding house in this section was the Pros- 
pect Park Hotel, situated at Catskill overlooking the Hudson. It 
was built in 1809, and the men who were its projectors were: 
Edwin Croswell, John Breasted, Marcus and George Beach, Robert 
Seaman and William Scutt all characters of note in early history 
of the county. The hotel was destroyed by fire in 1914. 

Among the hotel- of the earlier period that are not remem- 
bered by the present generation are the old Catskill House and the 
Franklin House, the former on the site of the present opera house 
owned by Terrence Donnelly, and the other where the Irving 
House stood and the Court house now is. These buildings were 
destroyed in the great fire of 1851, when the Baptist church, Re- 
formed church and many other buildings were destroyed. The 

326 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



West Catskill Hotel was built over 100 years ago by John Plank. 
He was succeeded by a man named Feeney, Peter Martin, John 
Bascom, Andrew Overbaugh, Rockerfeller, Ryan and Connerty 
and now Frank Ryan. 

The Windsor hotel was built in the 60s by Enos Gunn, and 
he was succeeded by William Hahn, and Albert Saulpaugh who 
built the present stately edifice, now conducted by his sons Albert 
Saulpaugh and Samuel Saulpaugh. 

The Irving house was built by the Persons and was destroy- 
ed to make room for the new Court house in 1908. 

The Commercial Hotel was built by Enos Gunn who sold 
to Philip Gay, who was succeeded by his sons, Ira and William 
Gay, who sold to William Bell who enlarged the property. The 
present proprietor is C. Clement. 

We do not know when the Smith House was built, but it is 
very old, and was enlarged and improved by Martini Smith, and 
later by his son William Smith a very popular hotel man, and is 
now conducted by his son Ed. Smith. John Smith another son is 
also in the hotel business conducting the Jefferson Hotel and the 
Irving Cafe. 

In the early oO's there was the Brossenham hotel near the 
West Shore Bridge on Upper ]Main street, conducted by Foote and 
Grant, two conspicuous men of their day. This was a drover's hotel. 
The building is still standing. 



Bull's Head Sign, by Artist Cole. 

Just beyond this was the Bull's Head, kept by Wm. Salis- 
bury. The sign was painted by Thomas Cole the great painter 
and poet, father of Theodore Cole of Catskill. 

227 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




The Old Arcade, Early Landmark in Catskill (1798.) 

The illustration above will l)e familiar to some of our read, 
ers. It was torn down in 1902 and gave place to the Young Mens 
Christian Association building, which certainly is a very great 
improvement. The Old Arcade as it was called, had four tene- 
ments on the second floor, and the street floor was used as a market 
and cigar store. Henry Fredenburgh the owner occupied it as a 
iish market, and 1 efore that time John Hulbert around the 80s. 
The building had never received a coat of paint and was in a 
weather beaten condition. It was built as near as we are able to 
find out around 1^12. Its appearance would indicate that it was 
among the first frame buildings in Catskill. 

August 15. 1901 F. N. Du Bois placed in the hands of W. 
I. Jennings a check for 825,000 which was given for the purpose 

228 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



of building a Young Mens Christian Association building. Shortly 
after the Fredenburgh Arcade was purchased and the grand build- 
ing that stands as a monument to Mi-. Du Bois, generosity and 
philanthropy was erected. 




3addle arvd 3ta^e GoacK 

The first pleasure party to Pine Orchard, the point where 
the Catskill Mountain House is located was made in 1823, and 
comprised a number of ladies and gentlemen of note on horse back, 
and they spent the night under some shelving rocks. At this time 
work had been commenced on the mountain house. Mr. Beach 
who afterwards became owner of the Mountain house, conducted 
the party over the bridle paths all the way to l^tica. It took three 
weeks. 

During 1831, the Mannings conducted a stage line from 
New York to Ithaca, and Catskill was the principal stop on the 
way. From Catskill there was a stage line that went as far as Delhi, 
and we believe that Charles L. Beach was connected with that 
line, and had later on in 1837 the contract for carrying the govern- 
ment mails, between New York City and Albany during the 
winter season when there was no steamboat travel. In this con- 
nection the reader will be interested in the old poster which we 
have reproduced and which refers to the establishment of the first 
stage line between Catskill and Albany. This poster was found 
among the curios preserved by Judge Chase, and the engraver has. 
given us a copy that is very excellent. This line was started in 
1833. Trips were made daily. Through horse relays we are 
told that the distance between New York and Albany was covered 
daily. 

339 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



There appears to be much uncertainty in regard to the 
location of the first school house in Catskill. One building it is 
certain was converted into the old countj^ jail. There was another 
school later on William street, near what is Mrs. Avery's place. 
There was still another on Thompson street, which in the oO's was 
occupied l)y the Methodists as a place of worship. There was also 
the academy on William street, now the Fiero residence. There 
was a colored school on Bridge street, which shows in the picture 
of Catskill in 1839, and still another on the West side which is 
now the hose house. It was in this building that F. X. Du Bois 
went to school in the 30's, and he tells of riding down hill on an 
old door and that the door was usuallj' loaded with pupils, who 
when the bottom was reached always got a spill. The academy 
was incorporated in 1804. This was a stock corporation and, there 




Broom Stick School, Now Hose House. 



were 520 shares of 4 pounds sterling each. James Du Bois, Cornel- 
ius Du Bois, Caty Du Bois, Sally Du Bois, Priscilly Adams and 
Sally Spicer and many otheis. Elisha Bishop was at the head of 
this school. This building was sold to the Fieros around 1870 
andraised up one story for a dwelling. 

230 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



A strange coincidence in the construction of the several 
school buildings in C-atskill in the past 50 years: Contractor Geo. 
W. Holdridge who is one of the oldest of the old time business 
men, Charles Beardsley for over 40 years with Lampman firm, 
and Architect George Warner were all employed by L. S. and 
William Smith who had the contract to build the brick school- 
building. They were apprentices at that time. On the next 
building which was the Grandview school, Mr. Holdridge had the 
contract, and Charles Beardsley was foreman for the Lampmans 
who did the carpenter work. When the Irving school building was 
erected, Mr. Holdridge had the contract for the mason, Charles 
Beardsley was employed as foreman by Wm. Lampman who had 
the carpenter work and George H. Warner was architect. 

Early Maiv\i£act\iring 

Among the early industries of Greene county which have 
passed there was a glue factory at Durham, a mill at Oak Hill for 
grinding land plaster, a printing press manufactory at Windham, 
byNewbury & Morse, and a number of paper mills, at Woodstock 
and Windham, a carpet bag and satchel factory at Windham, and 
at the same place a factory for making wooden combs and tin and 
wooden buttons, conducted by Hunt and Matthews. Hay rakes 
and chairs were made at Windham. Paper at Big Hollo iv. There 
was a distillery at Red Falls and another at Windham, and still 
another at Durham. There was a potash factory at Lexington, 
also a distillery. Oak Hill had two foundries making hardware 
supplies, and Palenville had a big wooden mill. Several old grist 
mills are still in operation. 

Near High Falls was located a powder mill owned by Mr. 
LaHin, and this latter developed into the great firm of Laflin and 
Rand as it now is. The powder mill employed a considerable 
number of men, and on a number of occasions it blew up. Once 
7 persons were killed and at another time three. The men made 
from $80 to $100 per month. 

This mill was at one time Latiin, Smith and Boice. This 
mill. blew up a number of times. The last time was in 1875, John 

^31 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Merritt being the only man killed. After this the mill was moved 
to New Jersey. 

Rufus T. Smith, one of the old residents of High Falls, in- 
forms us that one of the industries at High Falls(or Great Falls as 
the name is on one of the old maps drawn by George Smith, who 
removed to Ohio before Mr. Smith's recollection, has it) was the 
saw mill erected by the late Comfort K. Smith below the Falls, 
doing custom work and also for working up the timber on his own 
place. 

Christopher Teetsel of Quarryville was boss carpenter, John 
Shultis, Peter Van Hoesen, Alex. C. Whitney and R T. Smith 
did the carpenter work on this mill. Reuben Towner of Hunter, 
was the millright. He put in the saws and the Ferguson water 
wheel to run the sash or gatesaw. 

This mill was built in 1867-8. The mill was enlarged later 
and circular saws for slitting up slabs, and blocks for shingles 
added. Smith's Greene Mountain shingle machine was put in and 
considered a great invention. Reuben Towner installed this ma- 
chine and it was driven by a wooden center discharged water 
wheel. Two years later a turning lathe, planer and matcher for 
dressed lumber was added. 

Then the building was further enlarged, William Shoemaker 
of Vineland X. J. doing the stone work. After several years the 
old wooden water wheel was discarded, a Rich wheel being put in, 
and then later on an Alcott turbine, by R. T. Smith, son of C.K. 
Smith, assisted by Alex. Whitney and John B. Smith. He moyed 
to Brooklyn, but inherited the mill property and not wishing to 
operate it he sold to Levi Richtmyer of Kaatsban. Richtmyer sold 
to Dederick and Sterritt, and they disposed of the business to T. 
P. Cowhey of New York. 

The dam is gone and the mill a heap of ruins. 

Around 1818 Marvin and Co. built a large factory above 
the falls for the manufacture of chisels, augers, and other tools, 

?33 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and even at this date there may be found chisels marked Marvin 
& Co., Catskill. 

There was also an old factory standing above the Falls 
bridge, which during the 50's in the heavy fall of snow was crush- 
ed in and never repaired. 

Right at the edge of the falls was an old grist mill. This 
was in disuse as long ago as Mr. Smith can remember. 

A. short distance up the stream was another saw mill. 

The old grist mill Vv^as burned in the 60's and at that time 
was being used as a spoke and handle factory by Willis Davis. 

Mr. Smith says that he has heard his grandfather tell how 
they used to attend worship at the Caatsban church when they 
took their guns along and left them out side, while one person 
was left to watch. They had no stoves in the churches and the 
women carried foot stoves and warming pans. 

Zachariah Trumpbour who built the old stone house near 
Smith's Mills, 1708, was great grandfather of R.T. Smith of High 
Falls. 

The old barn east of the Kaatsban church, standing today 
was erected just after the close of the revolution, the lumber being 
gathered before the war was decided. The owner, a man named 
Celie, was a Tory and he did not dare to go ahead until he knew 
whether the Colonies or King George would win out. 

The covered bridge at Cauterskill, and the covered bridge 
at Great Falls, were built previous to the period of 1860. We 
have not been able to find any record, however. 

Several of the old wooden covered bridges were built in 
1857, after the great freshet which carried off the older structures. 

Project of a railroad from Catskill to Athens was boomed, 
and application made to the legislature to have same incorpor- 
ated. 

The Du Bois mill at Wolcotts was destroyed by a freshet in 
J809. 

333 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Values Irvcreasin^ 

From the assessment roll of the town of Catskill for 185U 
we discover that the entire town tax amounted to $7,076, and so 
far as we can discover there is not a single individual tax payer 
of that date down on the tax roll except Peter Timmerman S3. 55, 
and of the three incorporated companies, one the Catskill Bridge 
Companj' paid a tax on 85000 which amounted to $39.30. The 
rate was .0071 The Tanners National and Catskill National Banks 
were assessed at S93,700 and 8110,500 the tax being 8061 and 
$780. Senator Jones was assessed for $1300 at that time. Of the 
list of town ofUcers there is not a man living: 

This land today is valued at about 82,500,000 and the town 
taxes are 8100,000. The state, school, village and water tax 
amount to more than 8100,000 per year in addition. 

Rufus H. King was Supervisor, George Peck, town clerk, 
William Dodd, Lindsey Beach, Robert Dorlon and John Yan- 
Vechten were justices. 

Charles Austin, town superintendent. 

Peter Saxe, Peter Van Vechten and Joel Comfort, assessors. 

Phineas Chidester, commissioner of highways. 

Francis Dunham and John Wardle, overseers of the poor. 

Egbert Bogardus, collector. 

Samuel A. Baker, John France, Isaac Laraway and James 
Cash, constables. 

In 1807 there were 24 licenses issued to Catskill dealers to 
sell liquors, and the fee was 85. Among the dealers v.'ere Hiland 
Hill, Philo Day, Orrin Day, Thaddeus Luddington, and some to- 
day may remember Luddington 's Oyster Bay at the corner of 
Bridge and Main street, torn down with other buildings to make 
room for the court house and jail. 

Today there are in the liquor business in Catskill al^out 15 
persons. The license fee is 8200 for hotels and there are no saloons, 
these haying been voted out several years ago. Most of these are 
modern up to date hostelries, well conducted, and the traveler 
finds a pleasant host and good food. 

234 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Smith House, The Sanlpaugh, Clement's Commercial 
and Loiid's Hotel at the Point are the leaders. On the west side 
are Ryan's WestCatskill Hotel, Deidlings, Oberts, and Wadonolos. 

The tirst supervisor of Catskill was Hezekiah ^''an Orden, 
who represented the Imbcgt. Then followed Henry Oathout, 
Snnniel A'an Vechten, Garret Abeel, Martin Schuneman, Samuel 
Haight, JoJinathan Keyes, Thomas Hale, William Seaman, Aaron 
Hall, Jacob Haight, Robert Dorian, Ira Du Bois, Malbon Watson7 
Rufus H. King, Wilson Paige, Atwater Cook, Henry Johnson, 
Addison P. Jo.nes, Alexander Wiltse, JohnH. Bagley, Hiram Van 
Steenburgh, Sherwood Day, Samuel Dewey, Robert Austin, John 
A. Griswold, William Smith, John Breasted, William Donahue, 
H. C. Bulkley, James B. Olney, George S. Stevens, A. P- Jones, 
W. S. C. Wiley, P. G. Coffin, Charles A. Post, Henry Van Orden, 
and J. Henry Deane complete the list of Supervisors. 




Bounty on \^olves 

Je'i.^ett and Lexington appear to have l)een overrun with 
wolves, long since extinct, and there was a bounty of $40 on every 
wolf killed. Jacol) Van ^"aIkenburgh of Lexington had the fences 
near his place ornamented with hundreds of wolve's noses, to show 
that the bounty had been paid on them. There were also man3^ 
panthers and wild cats in that section. There were many great 
bears, and plenty of deer. There are still some bears, and a few 
mighty bear hunters. Barney Butts at East Windham was a great 
bear hunter and always had bears on exhibition. iVnother great 
hunter was a man named Holdridge at Lexington. Ernest ('had- 
derdon of Cairo captured 8 bears in February of 1915. The bounty 
is now on hedgehogs, and the bear has no terrors at all for the 
hunter. 

235 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Dejstructive Fires irv County 

Tlie old mill in Austin's Glen was built in isoo, burned in 
1807, rebuilt by the Austin famikin 1815. 

Great fire in Catskill 1851, loss over 850,000. 
The Samuel Harris woolen mill at Leeds was burned with 
three dwellings in 1862, the loss being $80,000. 

In 1883 Leeds had a most destructive tire, and 13 buildings 
were destroyed with a loss of 830,000, and several smaller tires 
since that time, the fire in 1914 being the most destructive. 

Bell's Facing Mill and ice house 1882, Foote and ("umraing 
Lumber yard. 





Summit Hill House, Catskill, 1908, loss $20,000, the barn 
l)urned in 1899. 

Block of buildings and storehouse at Athens in 1871. 

Knickerl)Ocker Ice house fire at New Baltimore, loss $25,000 
1900. 

Ship Yard fire A.J. \'anderpoel, at New Baltimore in 1894, 
damage $25,000. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Ice house and coal depot of Raymond Smith, Catskilll 
was burned 191B. 

The Little Falls House at South Cairo was destroyed in 1914 
the loss being $7,000. 

Among the very destructive tires that have visited the 
county we note: Haines Falls House, 1911, loss $75,000. 

Squirrel Inn at Haines Falls, 1910, loss $10,000. 

Prospect Park Hotel, Catskill, 1914, loss $50,000. 

Jenning's Hotel, Cairo, 1913, loss $15,000. 

The Hart House at the Point, 1908. 

West Shore Depot, Catskill, 1909. 

M. P. Mc Cabe's West Shore Hotel, ]!)09. 

Steamboat storehouse, Catskill, burned twice, 1899, 1912. 

Machine shop of the Catskill Mountain Ry. at Point. 

Twiliglit Inn at Haines Falls $4,500 damnge, 1914. 

Hotel of Matutinoich ;it Alsen. 

Ice house at Cementon. 

Coxsackie like Leeds has l)een tire swept. The most des- 
tructive were the West Shore freight house, Wm. Perry's hotel and 
barns, Jansen's dock property and coal sheds at the Lower Land- 
ing in 1913. 

J. H. Goodwin & Sons Coal j^ard West Coxsackie, 1914. 

Joseph Holdridge, an Ashland man, had a rather unusual 
experience. Over the door of his barn was a hornet's nest and 
these pests were in the habit of stinging liis horses and men. One 
day he thought it would be a brilliant idea to burn the nest out , 
and so he got a torch and set fire to it. Some of the hornets got 
away and some of them were burned to death, and the nest was as 
might have been expected destroyed, but so also was the barn. 
The surprising part of it all was that knowing the facts the insur ■ 
ance company paid him $250, the amount of their risk. 

237 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Horton Brother'^ barns, Smith Hay buildings, 1. W 
Brandow barn, J. Person's shop, S.Fontanella building, A. Van 
none's shop and M. E. Church sheds, loss §200,000, 1913. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Lennon's Mill at the Forge, Cairo, destroj'ed in 1911, loss 
§7000. 

Store of C. E. Whitcomb at Purling, 1918, loss S10,000. 

Shady Glen House, Durham, loss $20,000, 1900 and again 
in 1913. 

Twin Pine House in 1914. 

Athens has had a number of destructive fires, the White 
Elephant railroad property, 1874. 

Osborn House and other buildings, 1S78. 

Destructive fire of 1913. 

Apke's Hotel at Palenville, 1899. 

Examiner office fire, 1900. 

Store of Nicholas D'dnifro at Athens, destroyed by fire in 
1907. 

Residence of Peter Fitchett at Coxsackie destroyed by fire 
190S. 

Residence of George Cleveland, at Norton Hill, loss 61200, 
in 1903. 

Residence on Ingalls place at East Jewett, loss 83000, 1903. 

Apartment house of B. K. Van Valkenburgh, Catskill, loss 
$3000, 1903. 

Hotel of Henrv Smith, South Cairo, loss $4000, 1903. 

Jacob's Bottling Work, Cairo, loss $10,000, 1899. 

The fire at the Smith House, Catskill was one of the latest 
fires in Catskill doing any considerable amount of damage. Great 
work by the local fire department kept the building from being 
dest roved. 

The First Baptist Church, Catskill burned inl-STl. 

St. Luke's Church, Catskill was destroyed by fire in 1839. 

Simmons house in Jefferson, erected around 1800 was burn- 
ed in 1913. 

Boarding house A. Amman burned near Catskill, 1891, 
loss about $7000. 

The record of fires up to March 1, 1915. 'j 
239 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



W 




^^. 



The Boston .Store Fire, Post's Building and lliL.iLii - -ture. 
Also Smith's store and Daily Mail, the loss approximating 8100,000 
in 1913. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Catskill Ac 



1869. 



Addition Built, ISSi 



Gat^kill 3chool^ 

One of the earliest events in the history of the schools of 
Catskill village, is recorded in a subscription paper, dated August 
23, 1793 "for the purpose of raising the sura of four hundred 
pounds for the erection of an academy at Catskill Landing. It 
would appear that this sum was not sufficient for at a meeting 
May 10, 1795, it was resolved that 120 shares should be added to 
the number already subscribed for the purpose of erecting and 
maintaining an academy. The trustees at this time were: Stephen 
Day, George Hale and Caleb Street. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The first teacher of this school was Elisha Bishop, whose 
register contained the following names of pupils attending for the 
term beginning Augu-t 17. 1797, and ending March 17. 179s. 

Arastus Stephns James Bogardus _J 

George Brosnahan James Du Bois 

John Brosnaham Lina Bogardus 

John Rimph Wessel Van Orden 

Edward Hayns Henry Van Orden \ 

Jesse Pratt Jacob Stephens 

Betsy Stodard Henry Stephns 

Elisha Bishop Benjamin Van Orden 

Sally Bishop Harriette Day 

Polly Bishop Elizer Root *'_ 

Caty DuBois Betsy Drake 

Sally DuBois Anna Drake 

Cornelius DuBois Charles Cammel 

Peter Schoot Sally Cammel 

Jacob Schoot Joel Persons 

Ginna Van Gorden Precilla Addoms 

John DuBois Sally Spicer 

It is not known at what time other schools were established, 
however in 1803, there were three schools in the village. The 
village school was located a few yards southeasterly from the Old 
Court House. It is described as an unpainted, square building, 
with its windows placed directly opposite each other 

The teachers in the village school were, usually persons who 
were pursuing their theological studies under the direction of Dr. 
Porter. 

On March 12, lNt)4. the Catskill Academy was incorporated 
l)y the Board of Regents. 

It was about LSI 4 that another school, often referred to as 
the Academy, was located on the north side of Thomson Street. 
This edifice was built partly of wood and partly of brick, and en- 
joyed the distinction of having the only bell in town, except that 
on the Old Court House. It was this bell which was rung on 
Sundays to call the congregation of St. Luke's together. The beU 

242 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



on the Old Court House performed a similar service for those who 
were accustomed to worship at the Presbyterian Meeting House. 

Other schools contemporaneous of these times were the 
Catskill Lancasterian School Society, incorporated by the Legisla- 
ture of 1817; and the Catskill Female Seminary, incorporated in 
1820, The charter of the former was revoked by the Legislature 
of 1830. Of the latter it is claimed that it was never organized. 

After a time the Village School came to be looked upon as 
"too sectarian and the Academy as too promiscuous" and the con- 
servative part of the community resolved to establish another in- 
stitution. A building for this purpose was erected near Franklin 
Street. Of this school, the first teacher was Robert K, Moulton 
of whom it is said, "that aside from his penmanship he possessed 
very few qualifications as a teacher and that he did not long re- 
main." 

Mr. Moulton was succeeded by one Leguire, who is des- 
cribed as, "a half crazy individual, with a red wig. He too was a 
splendid penman, but instead of imparting a knowledge of the 
art to his pupils, he made use of his talent in that line by writing 
love letters to his female scholars." 

From the best authority it appears that District Number 

One was organized in March 1823 and that Joseph Simmons was 
the first teacher. His salary was $25.00 per month and thirty 
pupils were in attendance. 

The Union Free School was organized in 1856 and in 1861 
the school was advanced to the grade of Academy, of whom Prof. 
H. B. Howe was the first principal. 

The front part of the present high school building was built 
in 1869 by Amos Story and S. W. Smith at the cost of $25,000. 

In 1882 an appropriation of S6000 was voted for an addit- 
ion to the academy. The work was done by Mull and Fromer. It 
is in this addition that the eighth grades are now located. 

It was in 1893, at the suggestion of Prof. E. S. Harris, 
Principal of the Academy, that an enumeration of the inhabitants 

243 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



of the district was taken and it being ascertained that the district 
had the required population, the Oftice of Superintendent of 
Schools was created ami Prof. Harris Ijecame the first Superinten- 
dent of Schools. 

The next important step in the progress of the elementary 
schools was erection of the (xrandview School in l^^Ofi, at a cost of 
§20,000. This is a beautiful two story brick Iniilding of eight 
grade rooms. 



>/ • ■ \ 




The Grandview vSchool 



.^fc^t"' 


1 




^ 


■H^^^' 


^ 


■l^^**^'^^^ ---; 





The Irving School 



High .School 



By 1907 the village had grown to such an extent that the 
school facilities, for grade pupils, were inadequate. To meet the 
demands the Irving School was erected at a cost of $45,000. This 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



is one of the finest school buildings on the Hudson River. It has 
nine grade rooms and the offices of the Board of Education and 
Superintendent of Schools. The building is provided with a mod- 
ern heating plant and a mechanical sj^stem of ventilation. 

This school system provides for the kindergarten and eight 
grades below the high school. 

Each grade is in charge of a competent teacher. Special 
teachers give instruction in ]Music, Drawing and Domestic Sci- 
ence. 

The people of this district are much interested in the schools 
and give them generous and hearty support. 

The Catskill Schools are the best to be found along the 
Hudson river and furnish a complete education, taking up the 
college preparatory course, the academic and commercial courses 
of study— art, science, stenography, language, and music. 

There is also a Teachers' training class, with free tuition. 

The pupils also have the advantage of three special prizes, 
the Mary Howard, .T. P. Philip and H. L. Austin prizes for effic- 
iency. 

The death of Charles A. Nicoh, trustee, occurred after this 
article was ready for the press. 

The instructors are: Henry C. Thomas, Ella L. De La 
Mater, Henrietta Lewis, Marian E. Wheeler, Mildred F.Stone, 
Louise A. Hull, Myrtle E. Waugh, Kathrine G. Slattery, Edna 
C;iark, Mary L. Hale, H. May Ford, kindergarten. 

The instructors in the High School are Harriet D. .Jackson, 
principal; English; Mabel V. Root, Latin; Gertrude R. Gardner, 
History and Algebra; Gilberta Wallace, German and French; 
Ellen M. Dewey, Science; Evangeline Bartlett, Commercial Sub- 
jects; Mollie C. Gilbert, Mathematics; Frances M. Wood, Domes- 
tic Science; Jennie Robson, Training Class; Margaret E. Place, 
Music and Drawing. 

The instructors of the Grandview School: Elizabeth E. 
Burhans, principal; Alice Babcock, lldah Thompson, Ruth L 

245 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



The Board of Education: Frank C. Clarke, Howard C. 
Smith, Wendell S. Sherman, George W. Trwin, and Albert C. 
Bloodgood. 

School Officials: Frank C. Clarke, president; Wendell S. 
Sherman, clerk; John H. Story, treasurer; Frederick Becker, 
collector. 

Bostrom, Alice L. Adams, Bernice E. Hammond and Mary B. 
Story. 

Prof. E. C. Hocmer, Superintendent 

Through the courtesy of the Catskill Examiner we show a 
line drawing of the Catskill High School building as it appeared 
in 1869, and 1882 with the addition. Also on another page a 
picture of the old academy, located on William street. We are 
sure they will prove of interest. 



3ome Catskill Landmarks 

Captain John H. Bagley was one of Catskill's most honored 
citizens, who dropped dead at the corner of Bridge and Main 
streets, in October 1902 at the a§e of 70 years. He had been 
intimately connected with many of Catskill's enterprises and for a 
long term of years was in the grocery business with A. P. Jones, 
and also in a flouring mill known as the Catskill Steam Mill 
which later became a part of the woolen mill now occupied by the 
Union Mills Company. From 1860 to 1864 he was a member of 
the Board of Supervisors, and in 76-78 and 83-85 represented his 
district in Congress. In 1888 he was Member of Assembly. For 
years also village trustee, and for 35 years a director of the Catskill 
National Bank. President of the Catskill Building and Loan 
Association, vice-president of the Catskill Mt. By., a director of 
the Co-Operative and Mutual Fire Companies, a member of F. N. 
Wilson Fire Company, Catskill Lodge, and of Lafayette Com- 
mandry of Hudson. He was a vestryman of St. Luke's Episcopal 
church. 

Shortly after the death of Capt. Bagley came almost as 
suddenly that of Oliver Bourke, esq. who is inseparably connected 

246 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



with Catskill's history. He was born at Bellana County, Ireland 
in 1830. His mother and step-father moved to Quebec in 1836, 
and in 1840 came to Catskill, where his step-father, James Laville 
engaged in butchering, and that was continued by Mr. Bourke 
until the time of his death in November 1802. He served Catskill 
as trustee and also as police justice. 

Another octogenarian who was connected with Catskill 
business life was Noble P. Cowles, who came from the Puritan Stock 
of Southington, Ct., where he was born in 1818. And first at 
Windham he embarked in tailoring, and later at Catskill in the 
grocery business, the firm being Meech, Sage and Cowles. For 
years he was Loan Commissioner of the county being succeeded 
after his death Dec. 4, 1902 by Robert Story. 

Benjamin Wey is another of the grand men of Catskill who 
filled out a long and useful life, in Catskill, having touched the 
83d milestone when he passed suddenly while taking an afternoon 
ride in October 1910. He was connected with many Catskill 
enterprises, including the Banks, Mountain railroad, and up to 
1875 was in the drug business. For more than 20 years he was 
treasurer of Christ's Presbyterian church. 

Senator Addison P Jones who served Catskill in many 
official stations was for 87 years connected with the history of 
Catskill, and is best remembered as a partner with Captain Baglev 
in grocery and other enterprises, including a big tannery at the 
head of Main street, as supervisor, county superintendent of poor, 
senator, etc. He was conspicuous in the political field. He was 
connected with the local banks and prominent in church work. 
At the time of his death. May 5, 1910, he had retired to his farm, 
but was engaged in the manufacture of barrels. 

John Hard wick, an old time brick manufacturer with Robert 
Ferrier and J. Atwater Cooke, died in September, 1900. 

In October, 1900 the Rev. Wm.C. Oliver drove off the bank 
into the creek at Prattsville and his dead body was found undev 
wagon in the morning. 

H7 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Major William Plimley. 

Major William Plimley is another one of the historical 
characters of Greene county not to be lost sight of in making up 
the record of men whose memory its residents have been pleased 
to cherish. Major Plimley was a Cai skill boy who for many years 
made his way by setting type in the office of the Catskill Recorder. 
Responding to his country's call he went to the front and served 
with distinction being in many battles and rising to the rank of 
major. He was a close friend to Senator Piatt and many of the 
leading men who gained national repute, and was Department 
Chief of the Board of Elections of New York City. For 28 years 
Superintendant of the Money Order Department of New York 
City. He left Catskill in 1861 and went to the front as a volun- 
teer. He was the originator and for two years the president of 
the Greene County Society. He died in 1913, dropping dead at 
his post ofjabors. Mrs. Plimley who was also a Greene county 

248 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



naliva was born at Athens, and was one of the descendents of 
the honored Hallenbeck family. Her father held manj^ import- 
ant positions in town affairs. Mrs. Plimley for the past few 
months came to Catskill and made her home at the Heidelburgh, 
where she died on Sunday, March 7, 1915. 

It was during the pastorate of William J. Finneran, that 
St. Patrick's church gained great prominence in the community 
and he erected the beautiful church in 1886, and in 1890 opened 
the parochal school. His death followed after a most successful 
work, in April, 1901). At his funeral every business place in 
I'atskill closed and the most impressive service was attended by a 
great crowd, among the number being 50 priests from other 
places. 

Sidney Crowell was one of the well known lawyers of the 
county. He started out at Prattsville, and in 1871 being elected 
District Attorney, moved to Catskill. The famous Joe Walsh trial 
was during his term and he was assisted by John A. Griswold 
with whom afterwards he formed a law partnership. In later 
years he was associated with Hon. Ira B. Kerr. He died in March 
1900. 

Hon. James B. Olney, leading lawyer of Greene county, 
died at Catskill, Dec. 11, 1900. One of the organizers of the Rip 
Van Winkle Club. 

Pieter Timmerman, one of Catskill's oldest business men 
was born at Catskill, May 8, 1830, and for many years was 
employed in the store of Jones and Bagley. He went into busi- 
ness for himself in 1884, and in 1906 purchased the property on 
upper Main street where he moved his grocery and feed business. 
The business has mostly passed into the hands of his son, Clarence 
Timmerman. 

Hon. Geo. S. Stevens, former world's fair commissioner, 
engineer Mallory Line steamers, postmaster of Catskill under 
Cleveland, and editor of the Recorder, died Jan. 1901. 

249 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




^^illiaivv H. gtewarl 

One of the most prominent men of Greene county who 
passed away Aug. 11, 1015, was William H. Stewart, of Athens, 
known the county over as "Hardy" Stewart, former sheriff of 
Greene county, who by sterling character and ability forced his 
way from grocery clerk in the store of his uncle David Whiting, to 
the ownership of the largest hotel in Athens which for 38 years he 
conducted successfully, and being honored with trusteeship of the 
village of Athens, school trustee, and for 3 years sheriflP of Greene 
county getting a splendid majority. He was a prominent fireman 
of the village and one of the organizers of Morton Steamer Co. 

250 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Also honorary member of Macawomuc Engine Company and the 
Hook and Ladder Company. He was a member of the Exempt 
Firemen's Association, and prominent in the councils of the Elks, 
Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias. He was also an honorary 
member of the Citizens Hose Company of Catskill, and a member 
of the Kip Van Winkle Club. At the time when Mr. Stewart 
took possession of the hotel in Athens it was regarded as a difhcult 
place to manage. He at once asserted the genial power that follow- 
ed him through life, and the Stewart House took a position at the 
front. On the occasion of his death the order of Elks took charge 
of the last rites and the service was attended by hundreds from all 
quarters of the county. The floral display was noteworthy. Mr. 
Stewart was born at Triton in 1850, his parents being William 
Stewart and Margaret Hardwick Stewart. He was married to 
Elizabeth I. Hallenbeck of Guilderland. There were three children, 
one died in infancy, Wilford, at the age of ten years, and Harriet 
W. wife of Abram Post is living and Mr. Post has charge of the 
hotel business. Mr. Post was deputy sheriff under Mr. Stewart, 
and assisted him in many ways. The men who served as deputj' 
sheriffs were: A. Blenis, Greenville, Martin Chamberlain, Pratts- 
ville, S Coflin, Athens, Michael Lackey, Tannersyille, Bert Dewell 
Windham, S. Bareley, Jewett, D. S. Smith, New Baltimore, Ed. 
Griffin, Lexington, Seymour Taylor, Durham. 

Among the great artists that Greene county has turned out 
are Thomas Cole, Col, B. B. G. Stone, and Herbert Faulkner. 

H.K.Hill, another of Catskill's business men commenced 
business in 1872, and has since continued at the old stand on Main 
street. His father Oliver Hill came from Keene, N. H. in 1818 
and started a paint store in 1832 . 

GeorgeWilcox died at the Commercial Hotel, Catkill, IMarch 
4th, 1915, at the age of 84 years. He was a brother of Howard 
Wilcox who died a few days before and was for over 60 years in 
business in Catskill. 

Horace Van Aken, prominent Catskillian, killed by trolley 
gar near his shop, Feb. 1901. 

;^5i 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Mary Robinson Doty who died at Windham in December, 
1900, was a sister of Governor Lucius Robinson, and mother of 
TAiciusR. and William Doty of Catskill. 

11. 'I", .lones whose placi of Inisiness is opposite the Com- 
mercial Hotel has been in business in ("atskill since 1870, coming 
here some 13 years previous to that date, from Greenville, and 
engaging in the tinning l:)usiness at John T. ^hmn's store. At that 
time there was a great l)Oom in Catskill. He was formerly from 
New York. 

No history of New York state would be complete without 
reference to Isaac Jogues, 1()07-1646, a French Jesuit Missionary 
who labored in this section and who was a martyr to the cause he 
represented. He was captured bv the Indians and tortured, once 
being compelled to run the gauntlet, and in 1646 he and his com- 
panion were tomahawked by the Mohawk Indians, after Jogues 
had been tortured by having strips of Hesh cut from his arms and 
back. The Chapel at Auriesville erected in his memory is regard- 
ed most sacredly. Previous to this he had returned to Albany 
(Fort Orange) with a special commission from Pope Innocent XI. 

GKxirch Orf^aniz;atioi\iS 

The first church organized in Greene county was the Zion 
Lutheran Church at Athens, which had the distinction of being 
one of three churches between New York and Albany. This church 
organization shows a set of records from 1704, and the Rev. Justus 
Faulkner was pastor at that time and up to 1723, when he died. 

This church was located in "Loonenburgh" and entries 
concerning it were made in the New York Church book. 

The Rev. AMllhelm Christoph Berkenmeyer was the second 
settled pastor and became the "'settled minister of Albany and 
Loonenburgh" 1723, and in 1727 it was agreed that he should 
come twice a year to the Church at West Camp, then organized as 
the Church of the Palatines. 

The Rev. Berkenmeyer died in 1751, and was followed by 
the Rev. Knoll 1777, John Christian Leps 1783, Frederick Wal- 

252 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




German Lutheran Church, Athens, Oldest in County. 

burgh 1791, Frederick Ernst 1800, Frederick H. (,)nitman 1S()8, 
Philip F. Mayer 1813, Adulphus Rumph 1833, and he moved to 
the West Camp church. Tlionias Lape 1838, Lysander Curtis 1854, 
Matthew Waltermeyer 1848, Augustus Bridgraen 1S.")1, Isaac 
Kimbell 1853, Wilham H. Emerick 1855, a native of West ('amp, 
W. M. Scholll858, Henry Keller 1865, Wm. Hull 18(56, Philip 
Stroebel 1869, Wm. H. Emerick 1872, William Travers 1875, 
Philip Graib 1S83. The present pastor is the Rev. Jacob S. Paul. 

The old church seal shows a square edifice for the 
first building, and the present structure was a remodeling 
of the old one in 1856. The original communion set is in posses- 
sion of the church. The records show names of parents and bap- 
tisms from 1704, and these names run into the thousands. They 
show that the pious generations of the Hudson valley for a great 
many miles found their way to this church for membership and 
liaptism . 

We have Kocksshaky, Kostverlooren, Kinderhook, Klaver- 
ack, Tackanick, Klinkenberg, Tarboscb, Hunterstown, Newton 
Kiskatamesy, Flatke, Albany,DeGroet, Notten Hoek, Hoogelandt, 

253 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Oost Camp, as the places down to 1730, an assortment of places 
from which some of the present villages may be selected. 

Among the names recorded are some still familiar and 
others that are not familiar in Greene county. The generations 
of these people would he a sight that include people from all 
quarters of the globe. 




First Church ia New York (New Amsterdam) 1650. 

A man named W. D. Coons who has found his way from 
Greene countj' to Alta Loma, Texas, wrote us that the list of 
names we should get complete and that is the only sort of history 
that would be valuable. If we got them all he w^ould be willing 
to purchase a book. Our hands are up, Mr. Coons, hut pray 
don't shoot. We honor the ancient records but we have neither 
the space nor the disposition to print them all. 

Of the early names there are Alversons, Van Hoesens, 
Halenbecks, Colliers, Dekkers, Haas, Klaews, probably now Clow, 
Lagrangies, Faulkners, Overbags, Worms, Lassings, Vosbergs, 
Van Loons, Schmidts, Kuhns, Keiffers, Hoogabooms, Hannesses, 
Bronks, Van Schaacks, Brandows, Boughards, Von De Karres, 
Haydoons, Millers, Hardicks, Carters, Scherps, Lehmanns, 

254 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Jansens, Beckers, Wormers, Evertse, Minklers, Kloppers, Straubs, 
Silbernagles, Wodkoks, Brandaus, Schumackers, Valkenburger?, 
Deihls, Moons, Milius, Dingmans, Klauws, Kurtzs, Martins, 
Lampmans, Salsbnrgers, Bennets, Frees, Ostrandes, Rockfelders, 
Maccays, Braseys, Rosmans, Moors, Stopplebeans, Brandauws and 
Rauws, and so on indefinitely. We spell these names differently 
now. 

The New Baltimore Reformed church was organized in 1928. 
For other church organizations see towns. 




Reformed Church and Parsonage, Catskill. 

The Reformed Dutch GKurcK 

It was not until 1733 tliat the Reformed Dutch church 
was established in Greene county, and three churches were started 
at the same time, one at Coxsackie, Leeds, then old Catskill, and 
Claverack. Garret Van Bergen, and the Rev. George Weiss served 
all three of these churches. 

The church at Coxsackie was at the Upper Landing and 
was torn down in 1798, when Henry Van Bergen gave land for a 
new church and this structure was torn down in 1861, and the 

255 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



present structure erected. Dominie Schuneman to wiiom we have 
referred preached at Catskill, and Coxsackie 1752 to 1794. 

It was not until 1833 that regular preaching services in the 
new Reformed Church took place, and the Leeds church became 
known as the Reformed Protestant Church of Leeds and Kiskatom 
and the new church was known as the First Reformed Church of 
Catskill. Later in 1843 the Church at Kiskatom was organized 
separately. 

The Reformed cliurch at Athens started in 182H. 

The Coeymans Reformed church originally a part of Cox- 
sackie district was organized around 173(5. 

The Catskill Reformed Church has been a very prosperous 
organization, and has not only had a strong line of great preachers 
and broad minded men who have carried on the work very ably. 

The Rev. Peter Lebaugh was the third preacher on the 
Catskill charge 1798, Henry Ostrander 1810, Peter Wynkoop 1814. 
Isaac X. Wyckofn817-3fi. 

it should be borne in mind that the church at Catskill 
shares equally with the church at Leeds the honor of being 
descended from the old "Reformed Protestant Dutch Church in 
the Town of Catskill." 

Dominie Wyckoff continued to minister to the newly organ- 
ized church at Catskill until 1836, when he was succeeded by the 
Rev, James Romeyn, who continued pastor until 1841. For 
about a year, Mr. Romeyn was assisted by Rev. D. D. Demarest, 
father of two subsequent pastors. Rev. David Murdock next served 
the church from 1842 to 1851, his successor being Rev. Acmon P. 
Van Gieson, D. D., who was pastor from 1853 to 1855. Rev. 
Ransom Bethune Welsh, D. D., LL. D., who was minister from 
1856 to 1859, was followed by Rev. John A. Lansing, D. D., who 
served from 1860 to 1866. He was succeeded by Rev. Francis A. 
Horton, who remained from 1867 until 1873. Mr. Horton was 
followed by Rev. John B. Thompson, D D., who was pastor from 
1874 to 1884. Rev. Evert Van Slyke, D. D., was then pastor from 
1884 to 1896, he being succeeded by Rev. W. H. S. Demarest, D. 
D., in the following year. Rev. Alfred H. Demarest, D. D. succeed- 

256 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ed his brother in 1901, remaining until his death in 1904. He 
was followed by Rev. 1. H. Berg, and the present pastor is Rev. 
J. A. Dykstra. 

The first church was burned in the tire of 1851. The 
present structure is very commodious and the interior shows 
artistic decorations and beautiful memorial windows. The build- 
ing has been remodeled and the grounds beautified by a cut stone 
retaining wall, similar to that in front of the court house. The 
parsonage was visited f)y tire a number of years ago during the 
pastorate of Mr. Berg was remodeled and is a splendid imilding. 

.John A. Dykstra the present pastor came to Catskill from 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, and has done grand work here. On 
Sunday, March 7th, there were taken into he church 117 new 
members, the record of the church. A strong preacher and a 
whole souled pastor. He was married in 1910 to Miss Irene J. 
Staplecamp of Holland, Michigan, and she is of great help to him 
in his church work, being at the head of the Woman's -Society. 

The present organization includes: 

Elders: William \'an Orden, .John 1). Ahreet, Amadee 
Raynor, George C. Fox, W. 1. -lennings, and Gharles H. Van 
Orden. 

Deacons: C. Edsal Fiester, Henry R. Hinman, Frederick 
Fiero, Eugene Faulkner, Thomas .J. Reilly. 

Women's Missionary Society -- ^Nlrs. .J. P. Philip, president. 

Women's Improvement Society — Mrs. Frank H. Kortz. 
Women's Societv— Mrs. John A. Dykstra. 
Brotherhood— Charles Richtmyer . 
Sunday School- Rudolph W. Plusch, superintendent. 

Christian Endeavor: Junior Society — Mrs. Clarence J. 
Travis, Supt. Intermediate -Mrs. John A. Dykstra, superin- 
tendent. Senior —]\Iiss Martha Ernst, president. 

Organist -Miss Winifred Wardle 

Chorister —John J. Ahreet, since 1880, 35 years. 

257 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




St. Luke's Episcopal Church, CatskilL 

The Episcopal Church 

The Prote.-tant I'^piscopal church wa~ e.~tal)]ished along the 
Hudson river iu the early part of the last century, and it appear?; 
likely that the first church was established by the Rev. Ammi 
Rogers, in August ISOl, when that Reverend gentleman was mak- 
ing a trip from I'allston to Bradford, Ct., leaving the former place 
where he had been established to go to the latter, a new charge. 
Going down tlie river on a sloop the boat was becalmed at C'atskill 
and he improved tlie opportunity to start a church organization. 

The tirst church in what is Catskill was erected by the 
Episcopalians, as the Reformed church was at Old Catskill. The 
first building was erected in 1>104, and the second in 1841. This 
was following the fire of 1839. This church was built of brick, 
and was located on Church street where on June 6th, 1899 the last 
service was held, and the building placed on the market. It was 
in use for a short time as a dance hall, and a factorv, and now i- 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 

Post's garage. We present a picture of the old structure as it now 
appears, and of the beautiful picture granite structure erected by 
Contractor Geo. W. Holdridge, and dedicated June 6th, 1899. 




First EpivScopal Church, 1804. Now Post's Garage. 



This building cost S5-"),0()0, and is probably the finest 
church along the river. The stained glass windows are works of 
art and the interior is commodious and beautiful. The present 
pastor is the Rev. G. H. Grout, who succeeded the Rev. M. Miller 
who went into the Western Missionary field. Mr. Grout came to 
Catskill from Delhi, N. Y., and it is certain that a more popular 
rector never was in charge of the work, which is going forward in 
splendid shape. 

259 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The early supporters of the first church in 1804 were Ter- 
rence Donnelly, proprietor of one of the early hotels to • which we 
have referred, James I'inknov who wrote Sketches of Catskill, 
Mackey (!ros\vell, pui)r!slir (if the Catskill Packet. John Doane 
who lived to the century mark and a great man in Catskill, Barnet 
Du Bois, O'Hara Croswell, Peter Bogardus, Nathaniel Hinman, 
Stephen Calkins. Henry Selleck, Isaac \^an Loan and Thomas 
Wright. 

During the history of St. Luke's church there have been 13 
rectors: Ammi Rogers, John Reed, Joseph Prentis, Jo.'^eph F. 
Phillips, Louis L. Noble, Thomas Richey, E. Folsom Baker, 
William S. Chadwell, Rol)ert Weeks, WilHam H. Harison, Wm. 
L. Woodruff, Elmer P. Miller and G. H. Grout. 

The officials of St. Luke's church are: 

Wardens— Charles Trowbridge, Dr. Robert Selden; \\'alton 
\'an Loan, treasurer; Addison P. Jones, assistant treasurer; 
George Harding, financial secretary. 

Vestrymen — Edgar Washburn, Samuel C. Hopkins, Chas. 
Hopkins, J. ]\[. Knap, George Purdy, David M. Post, Thomas 
E. Jones. 

Women's Sewing Society—^! rs. Creo. H. Grout, president; 
Mrs. Geo. Harding, vice-president; Mrs. Addison P, Jones, secre- 
tary; Miss P]mily Marquit, treasurer. 

Women's Auxiliary -Miss Ruth Hall, president; Mrs. C. 
M. Crook, vice-president; Matilda -Jackson, secretary; ^Mrs. Chas. 
L. Willard, treasurer. 

Altar Societj' — Mrs. Joseph Spoor, president; Mrs. Dr. 
(xoodrich, secretary; Anna Gardner, treasurer. 

Men's Society- Dr. Robert Seldon, president; Fred E. 
Craigie, vice-president; Mortimer Du Bois, secretary and treasur- 
er; Thos. E. Jones, L. W. Richardson. Chas. J. Bagley, Arnold 
Grobe, advisory committee. 

Donald Craigie, chorister; Margaret Craigie, organist. 

Edgar W. Hall, commander of Boy Scouts. 

Sunday School— Dr. Walter Conklin. superintendent; Miss 
Gertrude Gardner, secretary. 

260 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The second Episcopal church in the county was organized 
at Athens in 1806, at Greenville in 1825, Cairo 18H2, Prattsville 
1S45, Windham 1850, and at Coxsackie in 1858. 

See towns for further reference. 




Methodist Episcopal Church, Catskill . 

The Methodist Episcopal Church 

The first Methodist Episcopal church in this section was 
erected at Coeymans, a stone structure in 1791, and it is likely 
that the other churches in this section trace directly to the church 
at that place, where the Rev John Crawford was stationed. 

Somewhere in the neighborhood of 1800 to 1806 there was 
261 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



formed at Cat?kill a church which had as its pastor Robert .S. 
Barrett who was not only a carder of wool and an expert at dying 
but appears to haye been a preacher when he was not otherwise 
employed. His first sermons were in the Episcopal church and 
later on at the court house. 

The first church of the society was on Thomson street near 
the Irving school, and the building which cost $100 was used 
during the week as an "academy" and on Sundaj's as a house of 
worship. This was around 1824. 

in December of l8o4, 8<i00 having been raised a building 
34x40 was erected on this Id! and the society commenced to 
flourish. 

In LS4(5 the preaching circuit was Catskill and Coxsackie, 
and each place raised the sum of Sl.3.5 for the pastor's salary. 

In 1852 High Hill, Leeds and Catskill were the preaching 
circuit, and in 1855 Sandy Plains came in. 

In 1864, High Hill was cut off the circuit, and the present 
church at the head of Main street was erected. Since that time 
the church has been enlarged, and the Sundaj^ School room and 
church parlors added. The grand Steere and Turner pipe organ 
being a great improvement, brought about by the Atheaneum, at 
the head of which was John A. Foote. 

The church has had a number of extensive revivals when 
large numbers were added to the membership, one under the 
pastorate of Alfred Coons, and another during the Chapman work 
here, but the greatest of all has been under the Rev. J. W. Tetley 
who added about 100 at a single service in 1913. 

The Rev. Charles A. Holla, and the Rev. R. E. Bell were 
great preachers. 

The line of pastors has been: J. Tackbury, D. Poor, 
EbenHubbell, Abraham Davis, Philip Hoyt, Samuel G. Steyens, 
James Burch, William Hale, and Mr. Hale made his home in 
Coxsackie, 1852, Thomas Lodge, J. W. Macomber, William 
Steyens, C ^l. Egglestone, O. P. Matthews and S, I. Ferguson 
down to 1864. 

Since that time they are Revs. Z. N. Lewis, J. Millard, J. 
262 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



K. Wardle, Edmund Lewis, Angelo Ostrander, David McCartney, 
Those living are Revs. George Clarl<, Tliomas Lamont, Alfred 
Coons, Charles A. Holla, Richard E. Bell, Edmund L. Hoffecker, 
Frank Beale, Robert Knapp, Clark Wright, H. Y. Murkland, and 
J. W. Tetley. 

Theothcers of the ^lethodist Episcopal Church are: 

J. Clark Salisbury, church treasurer. 

B. C. Sanford, treasurer. 

William H. Thorne, financial secretar^^ 

Trustees: Charles E. Bassett, John A. Foote, George W. 
Holdridge, J. Clark Salisbury, Orliff T. Heath, Richard Van 
Hoesen, Willis A Haines, J. T-ewis Patrie, C-yrus E. Bloodgood 
deceased . 

Stewards: Henry Van Bramer, Euberto Austin, B. C. 
Sanford, William H. Thorn, Elias Lasher, Herbert W. Terwilliger, 
Raymond E. Smith, Elmer P]. Whitcomb, H. G. Bates, Edwin C. 
Hocmer, N. L. King, Silas Embree, O. A. Freer, George F. Moon. 

Sunday School Superintendent, Addison C. Myers. 

President Epworth League, Ruth Marshall. 

President Ladies' Aid Society, Mrs Nelson Mattice. 

President Women's Foreign Missionary Society, ]\Irs. Van 
Gelder. 

President Women's Home Missionary Society, Mrs. Geo. 
W. Holdridge. 

Organist, Mrs. William Driscoll. 

Chorister, George Parks. 



The tirst Christian Church was organized at Coeymans in 
1(S12. From that center Jasper Hazen, the local preacher went 
out and organized churches at Freehold 1812, and later on at 
South Westerlo, Stephensville, Medway and Medusa. The church 
at Freehold is still regarded as the strongest of the number men- 
tioned, and all are flourishing. 

The Quaker church at Stanton Hill was built in 1.S83 by 
Jonathan Head of Oak Hill. 

The Friend's or Hicksite church near the same place was 
erected in 1840. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Christ's Presbyterian Church, Cat-kul, l^us. 

The Presbyterian GKurch 

It i< uncertain jutt wlien the tir^t Presbyterian church was 
organized in Greene county. There was an organization at Dur- 
ham in 1793 and at Greenville in 1789, and the Rev. Beriah 
Hotchkin the first American Missionary to cross the Hudson 
river from the New England settlements formed these societies. 
The Greenville Presbyterians met in a barn . 

The church at Catskill was incorporated in 1S03, and it 
may have been that the Rev. Beriah Hotchkin visited Catskill 
before the places mentioned first. The first organization at Cairo 
was in 1808. Ashland 1799, then Old Windham. 

It is certain that the Presbyterian churches of Greene 
264 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



county organized in the early 1800's are still energetic and thriving 
and a great power for good. 

A\'e have referred to the churches in a number of tliese 
towns elsewhere. The church at Catskill, has always been a lead- 
er ill rcliglmis work, and strong in the mission field and bible 
work. 

The first church was Imilt in ISQS, and in IS.");; the build- 
ing was remodeled as it now apijears. 

No other church in the state can boast of having had so 
few pn-tors. There have l)een Init live men, ti^wering giants in 
the religious work, who have remained long years in honored 
])rnsiH'rity and loved l)y all. The first was the Rev. David Porter, 
lS():;.]s;;i, Theodore :\r. Smith, 1.S81-39, Gideon N. Judd, 1S40- 
4'.), Dr. (b'D. A. Howard, IS.'jO-lsOO and pastor emeritus to 1S98, 
and l:i-liy the Uev. Christopher (i. Hazard, 1 Sl)l-l'.)l."). And 
under these men the church has prospered. Pastor Hazard has 
aDo heen at the head of the Greene County P)il)le SiH'iety. He is 
regarded as one of the finest pulpit orators that the church ever 
had . 

The first meetings were held in the court house, and the 
lirst church liad a double row of windows, as may Ije seen from 
the picture of Catskill taken in bSo'.), which we show elsewlure. 
The building adjoining the court house property. 

The great Chapman revival occurred during the pastorate 
of the Rev. George A. Howard in ISOO, and Dr. Howard had 
other prosperous revivals. 

Dr. Hazard has continued to build up the church, and the 
revival of U)15 added al)out 100 to the church. 

Following a fire wdiich broke out under the floor in 189^ 
and did much damage, very considerable improvements were made 
in the building, and the new organ, gift of Miss Helen Mackey 
was built into the structure. New stained glass windows were 
installed and the church wonderfully beautified. 

Among the men who have gone out from the church are 
the Rev. Charles 0. Day, of Andover College. .__The Rev. Charles 

265 




REV. GEORGE A. HOWARD. DD., I<LD. Deceased. 

50 Years Pastor of Christ's Church. 

Catskill. New York. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Hawle3', the Rev. Geo. L. Weed and Edgar T. Doane to the 
missionary field. 

The gifts of the Catskill churches to the mission field liave 
been noteworthy. 

The officials of this church are: 

Trustees — Orrin Day, J. Henry Deane, .John L. Driscoll, 
Josiiih ('. Tallmadge, Albert C. Bloodgood, Harmon P. Pettingill, 
ICmui'y A C'hase, J. W. Kittrell, George S. Lewis, the latter being 
treasurer. 

Elders Orrin Day, George S. Lewis, L. Carleton Austin, 
Charles A. Elliott, James D. Hopkins. 

Sunday School Superintendent, Herman C. Cowan. 

Christian Endeavor Society, Herbert Knapp, pres. 

Women's Home Missionary Society. Mrs. Harry Morris, 

Women's Foreign ^Missionary Society, Mrs. F. F. Hender- 
son, pres. 

Women's League, Mrs. E. I\L Sedgwick, pres. 

Chorister, Charles J, Bagley. 

Organist, Lisle Embree. 




Oloria Dei GKurch, Paleivville. 

Gloria Dei Protestant Episcopal church at Palenville was 
organized in 1878, and the artistic stone church was erected the 
following year, the ground being a gift as well as portions of the 
structure. The Rev. Robert Weeks of Catskill supplied the pulpit 
during the summer season. 

367 




[REV. WILLIAM J. FINXERAX, Deceased, 

Former Pastor and Builder of St. Patrick's Church, 

Founder and Builder of St. Patrick's Academy, 



t)EAR OLD GREJeKE COtJNTV. 



Catholic GKurch 

The tivf-i organization of the Roman Catholic church ap- 
pears to have been made by the Kev. Father Farrell in 1880, at 
Hunter, and it was not until ISo" that the first church was erec- 
ted. Among the pastors were Fathers Constantine, ('arroll, 
Myers, Grattan, KeiH^-, Murphy, Cannane, and Delehanty. 

The Roman Catholic church at Coxsackie was organized in 
l.s4.")and the first priest was the Rev. William Howard. 

The Roman Catholic church at Athens was organized in 
1S71. 

St. Patrick's church, Catskill, was organized in 1S.")4, and 
the church, a low wooden structure on William street was on the 
lot in the rear of the present church. During the pastorate of the 
Rev. William Finneran, the new church was built, and he was 
instrumental in bnildmg the church at Cairo, in 1S9."). 

History of this church and St. Patrick's School elsewhere 
in l)Ook. 

The church at Leeds was built during the pastorate of the 
Rev. Father Dri.scoll around 1870. 

The church at Cementon was built during the pastorate of 
tlie Rev. Father Fitzgerald. 



At one time there was a nourishing Reformed church at 
Oak Hill in the town of Durham. It was started previous to 1800, 
but about 1840 the building was torn down and the organization 
passed. The Rev. Pietrus Van Mierden, was pastor, going later 
on to the church at Catskill. 



The Baptist Church 

The Baptist church was first organized in Greene county in 
the town of Durham, at Hervey Street in 1788, and at Greenville 
Center in 1793. The preacher was Deacon Obed Hervey, who 
who was an ordained minister but devoted most of his time to 
agriculture. Gayhead, Westerlo, Acra and Greenville Center 
worshippers held their meetings in barns in the several sections. 
The last named built a church, the first erected in 1817. 

The New Baltimore church was organized in 1825. 

The Baptist church in Athens was organized in 1832. 
269 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




First Baptist Church, CatskiU. 

The First Baptist Church was organized in CatskiU in 1808, 
and services were held in the kitchen of one of the members, Ketui a 
Hill. Later on in the school house and court house. 

The first church was erected in 1823, and John J Ashley 
was at the head of the project, and he gave the ground upon 
which the present building stands. The first church proved too 
small and in January, 1840, a new church was dedicated. This 
building was in the great fire of 1851, and was destroyed. 

270 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The society' was not so easib^ disrupted and soon had another 
church, which also on the 8th of August 1871 was a victim of the 
flames. 

Still the ardent church enthusiasm prevailed and from the 
ashes came the stately and artistic ^building that is after a lapse 
of 41 years a grand building for any denomination to occupy. 
This building cost about S25,U00. The debt last remaining was 
wiped out under the pastorate of the Rev. R H. Rollin, John D. 
Rockerfeller contributing a considerable portion of that amount. 
It certainly through all its tribulations merged as the most pros- 
perous Baptist Church in Greene ('ounty. 

John J. Ashley was superintendent of the Sunday School 
for H4 years, and Frederick Lynes one of the early supporters of 
the church was superintendent about 25 years. 

The present head of the Sunday School is Robert Fenton, 
andC. K. Thompson is at the head of the Junior department. 
The Sunday School is in a very prosperous condition. 

The Revival of 11)15 brought a great number of acce.ssions 
to tlie church, and it also brought Pastor Hamm to the front as a 
strong pulpit orator and earnest worker. 

The church has had the following pastors: Truman Bee- 
man, Peter Thurston, John M. Peck, Reed Burrit, Richmond 
Taggert, Bartholomew Welch, Peter Simonson, John Dowling, 
Thomas Dowling, Henry Whitman, Samuel Wilson, Samuel B. 
Willis, George Webster, E. F. Piatt, J. M. Hope, A. J. Chaplin, 
George Webster, William C. McCarthy, A. C. Williams, P. Frank- 
lin Jones, Barney B. Gibbs, Horace J. Baldwin, James A. Fisher, 
Horace J. Baldwin, Robert H. Rollins, Robert W. Elder, George 
W. Rockwell, Charles J. Burton, and the present pastor, ^Maurice 
R. Hamm. 

To Mr. Hamm must be given the credit for the organizaton 
of the Boys' Brigade, which has a complete uniform, and 
under the command of Wm. Heath, is an inspiration to the 

271 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



older members of the church. The Ro?ter of the Brigade as shown 
in tlie cut which we print of the boy-, i- ;i- fonow-: 




Names of early members of Boys' Brigade. Front row- 
Left to right: Arthur (^uick, Cecil Daniels, Norman Finch, Ser- 
geant Warde Heath. Corporal Louis Plank. Floyd Hough. Cor- 
poral Albert Hock, Arthur Stewart. 

Center row— left to right: Frank Doebler, Frank Kniglit, 
Leroy Yager, Arthur June, Arthur Scott, William Brandow. 

Back row— left to right: Commandant and Chaplain Rev. 
Maurice R. Hamm, Earl Gardner, Bruce Brandow, P]mund Reed, 
Corporal Leroy TifiPany, First Lieutenant Lester Butler, Corporal 
Warde Stewart, Sergeant Charles Beach, Captain Wm. Heath. 

Officers of the First Baptist Church : 

Senior Deacons — E. D. Green. Edgar Selleck, George O. 
\'an Hoesen, Robert Fenton. 

Junior Deacon?~\Vard Mc Laughlin, William Heath. Al- 
fred Jewett. 

272 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Trustees— Robert Fenton, Clarence Travis, C. K. Thomson, 
Ward Mc Laughlin, E. D. Green, Amin Smith. 
Clarence F. Travis, treasurer. 
M. K. Brooks, clerk. 

Mrs. Maurice Hamm, benevolence treasurer. 
E. D. Greene, chairman Board of Deacons. 
Robert Fenton, chairman Board of trustees. 
Mrs. John P. Russ, President Ladies' Union. 
Mrs. Maurice R. Hamm, Leader Helping Hand Circle. 
Robert Fenton, Sunday School Superintendent. 
C. K. Thompson, Junior Superintendent. 
Miss Eva Smith, Primary Superintendent. 
Mrs. F. A. Jewett, Home Department Superintendent. 
Alfred Jewett, Secretary. 
Ward ^Ic Laughlin, Treasurer. 
William Heath, Capt. Boy's Brigade. 

Ofhcers of the Baptist Young People's Union of America — 
President, Alfred Jewett; Vice President, Miss Irma Brandow; 
Secretary, Floyd Hough; Treasurer, Fred Teator. 

C. K. Thompson was for 20 years secretary of the Sunday 
School . 

Mrs. Egbert Beardsley, as superintendent of the junior de- 
partment for many years, has attained distinction as a lecturer. 

Mrs. Rosa Person, as organist, has served the church for a 
long term of years. 

The church never was in a more prosperous condition and 
is a power for good in the community. 



Anverican Bible 3ociety 

The American Bible Society like the early evangelical 
church early appeared in the Greene counly field. It was not 
many years after Freeborn Garretson, and the early circuit riders 
began to make their regular appearance in this section that the 

273 



Dear old greene county. 



Bible Society made its appearance. Catskill, Cairo, Durham, 
Coxsackie and Windham were represented and the prime movers 
were the Rev. David Porter, the Rev. Peter Wynkoop, Orrin Day 
and others of Catskill. \\c\. l'>eriali Ilotchkin of Greenville, Ezra 
Post of Durham, Daniel Sayre of Cairo and Samuel Baldwin of 
Windham.,- That was in 181"). Rev. Beriah Hotchkin was made 
president, Elisha Wise secretary, and Orrin Day treasurer. S. 
Sherwood Day succeeded Orrin Day, and George H. Penlield 
followed him. The society flourished and raised about 81000 
yearly for their work which was the distribution of bibles free. It 
is still doing splendidly and under the direction of the Rev. C. G. 
Hazard, pastor of the Presbyterian church of Catskill. 

The Catskill Y. M. G. A. 

The Catskill Young Men's Christian Association was organ- 
ized in 1S90, following the Chapman revival, rooms being fitted 
over the store occupied by C. L. and B. K. Van \'alkenburgh, 
now owned by F. C. Mott. The first secretary was H. F, Stander- 
wick of New York. H. L. Boughton, W. 1. Jennings, Jeremiah 
Day, E. A. Chase and Orrin Day, being among the prominent 
backers. In 1902, the present building was erected on the lot of 
the Old Arcade at a cost of upwards of $40,000, of which about 
$30,000 was a gift of Frederick Nelson Du Bois, who has been its 
most prominent supporter. 

The general secretaries have been H. F. Standerwick, Geo. 
Geyser, F. H. Russ, Jacob H. Osterhoudt, A. H. Miller, Edward 
Tarring, Charles Cunningham, E. A. Ehrensburger, George Irwin 
and William Canivan. 

The present officers are Albert C. Bloodgood president, T. 
.1. Reilly secretary, P. Gardner Coffin treasurer. Directors: L. C. 
Austin, Geo. B. Austin, Herinan C. Cowan, Howard C. Smith, 
Willis A. Haines. Orliff Heath, Elias Lasher, James P. Philip, 
David M. Post, Egbert Beardsle3^ and Josiah C. Tallmadge. Trus- 
tees: Emory A. Chase, P. Gardner Coffin, Geo. W. Holdridge, 
Josiah C. Tallmadge and William E. Thorpe. 

274 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Arv Early 3cKool 

See picture on preceeding page. 

Henry J. Fox, owner of the Ashland Collegiate Institute, 
was a brother of George C. Fox of Catskill, and he was also one of 
the professors of the school. The building was completed in 1857, 
and was five and a half stories high, with a wing of 100 feet, the 
main part being over 200 feet. It was one of the most complete 
schools of the earlj^ period, and part of a chain of great academies, 
there being one at Stamford, one at Warnerville, Charlotteville, 
Jefferson, Walton and Frankhn. It had a great chapel, recitation 
rooms, library, laboratory, dining room and rooms for 400 pupils. 
It furnished a complete preparatory- college education. All of 
these schools have disappeared. The Ashland school was destroy- 
ed by fire in 1861, at the opening of the fall term, and was a 
complete loss 

Latin, Greek, French, Spanish, German and Italian were 
taught. Music, drawing, painting, surveying, astronomy, trigon- 
ometry as well as the EDglish branches were taught. The school 
was full at the time of the fire 

Among the graduates was James Harvey \a.n Gelder of 
Catskill and other prominent Greene county men. Mr. Van Gelder 
was awarded the gold medal, and graduated from Yale with the 
highest honors ever attained . 



Other Orders 

Among the early orders that have passed are the Sons of 
Temperance, Good Templers, Daughters of Temperance, which 
had organizations in most of the towns of the county. Lyman 
Tremaine, afterwards very prominent, was the great temperance 
orator. 

Great temperance revivals followed in many sections and 
pledge signing was quite as much pressed as church revival work . 
The Francis ^lurphy movement was most successful, and in later 

377 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



years his son Francis, and one Thomas Doutney stirred up the 
pledge signers in a great wave of enthusiasm. The latter in the 
80's was, as 1 rememher, the last. 




Interior of Catskill Public Librar}- 

Gatiskill Public Library 

The Catskill public library- was organized in lcS'.»o, when the 
library- of the Catskill Schools was taken over as a gift, other books 
being added througe the Board of Regents, and rooms opened on 
Main street. Following a movement started by Judge Chase, W. 
I. Jennings, Frank H. Osborn, and others Andrew Carnegie was 
induced to present Catskill with a library building, which was 
erected in 1902 at Franklin and Bridge streets. The gift followed 
the pledge of maintenance by the Board of Education of J^chool 
district number one. The building cost about 880,000 and ample 
quarters in every way. For some time the kindergarten was 
conducted in the basement. Several exhibitions of paintings have 
been made there. The number of volumes is about 10,000. The 
librarian from the start has been Miss Emily Becker assisted by 
Miss Delia Whitbeck. 

' The trustees are: W. 1. Jennings, Fannie B. NVey, Mrs. F. H. 
Osborn, Miss Anna B. Phelps, E. C. Hocmer, and J. W. Kitrell. 

378 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



3ome Notable Merv 




MICHAEL O'HARA 
With the building of improved highways for the state came 
the difficult job of selecting a head in each county to take charge 
of the work. Greene county was fortunate in having a born road 
man, and Michael 0' Hara, of the town of Hunter, was selected 
to fill the position. He is now in his second term and 7th year 
and has more than lived up to the reputation that nine years of 
road building in Hunter, the town of Good Roads, had given 
him. 

The 0' Haras haye been residents of Hunter over 60 years. 

Michael O'Hara is the son of John O'Hara, who came to 
this country from Ireland, as a bridge builder, and built the brid- 
ges on the Hudson River Railroad. He located first at White 
Plains, and in 1885 moved to the town of Hunter with his family. 

Michael O'Hara was born at White Plains in 1850, and 
was married to Ella T. Haskin, who died June, 1913. He was 
supervisor of the town of Hunter 6 years, and chairman of the 

279 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Board of Supervisors 2 years, and succeeded in greatly lowering 
the tax rate of his town. His son, Herbert O'Hara, former con- 
ductor on the Tannersville railroad, is postmaster at Haines Falls. 
John O'Hara and Mary O'Hara are living at Haines Falls. 

THE DAY FAMILY 

There have been few families more closely allied to 
the early and later interests of Catskill and Greene county than 
the Days. Stephen Day was born at Colchester, Ct., in 1746 and 
was the son of John Day. In ITi'l he moved with his family to 
Old Catskill and was engaged in milling at that place. He was 
one of the promoters and builders of the Susquehanna turnpike, 
which in its day was the greatest forward movement in the county. 
It therefore appears likely that he was connected with the build- 
ing of the famous stone arch bridge at Leeds. The old turnpike 
and its toll gates are a fragrant memory. 

His sons were Orrin, Philo and Russel Day. Orrin Day 
was a great financier, and was also connected with the freighting 
business. In 1831 he established the Tanners Bank, becoming 
first president of that institution. At his death in 1846, his son 
S. Sherwood Day, became president of the bank, and Orrin Day, 
his son succeeded in 1885 to the presidency, a position which he 
still holds. So that from 1831 to 1915, three generations of the 
Day family have been at the head of the bank. 

S. Sherwood Day was born in 1807 and died in 1885. 

Orrin Day, his son, was born in 1845. 

Orrin Day, grandfather of Orrin Day, was one of the foun- 
ders of the American Bible Society in 1815. 

JUDSOX A. BETTS 

Judson A. Betts was born April 8, 1852, at Gayhead, town 
of Cairo, N. Y., and liyed on the farm where he was born until 35 
3'ears of age. For seven terms he taught school in adjoining dis- 
tricts. At the age of 18 years he married Harriet E. Webber, 
who died in January, 1909. He has a family of four children. 
In the year 1890 he moved to Catskill and in 1902 was admitted 
to the bar as an attorney and counsellor at law, and is also ad- 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



niitted as attorney in the U. S. courts. He attained his education 
bv hard stud}' at the rural district school and spare moments at 
home. He served as Clerk of the Board of Supervisors for several 
terms. In 1895 he was the Democratic nominee for County 
Treasurer and was defeated; renominated and elected in 1S98; 
elected in 1901; defeated in 1904; and again elected in the fall of 
1907. During his service as County treasurer the office has been 
well kept and no discrepancies have been found in his accounts, 
liecently Mr. Betts' office was visited by the State examiners and 
his book reviewed. They 0. K. his books and compHmented his 
proficiency. Mr. Betts is prominent in his home village. He is 
a director of the Catskill National Bank, also a director of the 
Catskill Building and Loan Association; served seven years in the 
State Militia; is Past Chancellor of K. of P., and trustee in num- 
erous estates. Mr. Betts is a member of Christ's Presbyterian 
Church of Catskill, is strictly temperate, and does not use tobacco 
in any form. He is cordial and generous and never turns the 
hungry or needy from his door. 

His son, Lee F. Betts, is associated in the law business with 
him, and was Sergeant at Arms under Governor Sulzer. 

I. WHEELER BRANDOW 

Among the men who have been doing business in Catskill 
for over 40 years is Ex-Sheriff I. Wheeler Brandow, who has had 
many interesting experiences and knows what it is to climb to the 
front under difficulties. In 1865, his father, Henry Brandow, 
one of the old residents of Hensonville, moved to Catskill, work- 
ing for Mr. Dunham in the painting business. 

Charles and George Brandow took up the painting business 
also, J. ^^ Brandow took up painting and later photography 
which he is still following. Mott Brandow and I. ^V'heeler Bran- 
dow went into the trucking business. I. Wheeler Brandow was 
but 17 years of age at that time, and by steady thoroughgoing 
work he made a success of his business. In 1882, when the West 
Shore railroad was finished through Catskill, he entered into an 
arrangement to purchase the bus lines of Philip Gay, Landlord 

381 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Ellis and Enos (iunn, and heading off that niucli opposition, 
formed a partnership with (ieorge Bates, to operate a bus line to 
carry passenger> and was verj' successful until the trolle}^ line 
made its appearance. He was prominent as a political leader, and 
in 18iJ5 was elected Sheriff of (heene county, serving :> years, 
and under his administration the countv affairs were looked after 




I. Wheeler Brandow. 
in splendid shape. Subsequently he remodeled his Main street 
house, and embarked in the feed business, and associated with 
Messrs. Salisbury & Austin he is still in the same line. He is one 
of the men who has always helped to boom Catskill and who has 
ever lent a helping hand to those who needed help. He has rep- 
resented the village of Catskill as trustee and w^ater commissioner, 
and has always stood for the best interests of the town. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



DALE S BALDWIN 

Dale S Baldwin, Supervisor of the town of New Baltimore 
comes of an honored Colonial stock. He is one of the 3'oungest 
men ever sent to represent the town as its representative head and 
a man of many sterling qualities and possessing great business 
tact. He was nominated by the Democratic party and had the 
distinction of his nomination endorsed by the Republicans. 

He is a son of Wm. H. Baldwin and Lillie Summers Jones 
of Philadelphia. His father's people came from England in 1638 
and settled in Conneticut, his mother's people came from Wales 
in 172U and settled in Pennsylvania, thus his ancestors are those 
who followed the destiny of the nation from her birth. His great- 
great grandfather, Col. Jonathan Jones was Captain of the first 
Penn. Colonial Volunteers. 

Plis father entered the i>oat business in 1871 and purchased 
the shipyard from his uncles, J. R. ct H. S. Baldwin in 1879 and 
many of the tugs, barges etc. that are plying the Hudson today 
are gifts to the river from New Baltimore's sons. 

^Ir. Baldwin is in business with his father and also carries 
on the Circle Garage with his brother Harry J., at Albany. His 
other brother, Wm. H. Jr., is a Civil Engineer in the Govern- 
ment's employ at Albany. 

Mr. Baldwin is prominent in his home town in all social 
and church matters, he is Master of Social Friendship Lodge F. 
& A. M. and Superintendent of the Dutch Reformed Sunday 
School. He was born April 18th, 1888, and is a graduate of the 
Albany Academy. 

He was elected Supervisor in 1913 and his record in the 
Board is a good one. 



JOHN E. HUYCK j,^^} , ^, v/u ^ 
One of the youngest members of the Greene county Board of 
Supervisors is John Huyck who represents the town of Durham. 
He is also the youngest man who ever represented the town in 

383 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



such an important position . It was a long step from the venerable 
Almerin Moore who served the town for many years to the genial 
and stirring young horticulturist John E. Huyck, who had never 
taken any prominence in the politics of the town. Pressed to the 
front by his many friends however he entered what was regarded 
as a hopeless tight, and he not only emerged wdth a full sized 
victory, but he has taken hold of the affairs of Durham and has 
shown a business acumen that has been remarkable. He has more 
than made good, and is one of the most brilliant men who have 
reprerented the historical old town of Durham. It will not be a 
"long way to Tipperary'' for him this fall we .judge. 

Mr. Huyck was born at Oak Hill, Feb. :], 1877. His father 
was Aaron Huyck who was one of the early settlers at Dormansville. 
He was born at Dormansville 1851, and married ^Nliss Susan 
T raver. 

The subject of this sketch, John Huyck, was married to 
Lottie W. Wood at Rensselaerville, 1904, and moved to the town 
of Durham, locating near Eagle Bridge in 1908, where he has a 
large farm. He was for a number of years in the news business 
at Catskill, the firm being Howell and Huyck, and then John 
Huyck. 

H. CLAY FERRIS 

H. Clay Ferris, who represents the town of Ashland in the 
Greene county Board of Supervisors, comes of a long generation 
of the Ferris family who settled in that section of the county long 
before the town was named. He has well proven his worth to the 
town in its most exacting position of responsibility. He was elected 
Supervisor in 1911 and again in 1913, and is one of the most 
popular men that ever served on the Board. A jolly good fellow, 
whose nature is brim full of cheerfulness, a vocalist of ability he 
is always called upon to lead in that department when music is in 
order after the sessions of the Board. 

He was born at Ashland, August 81st, 1885, married Mina 
284 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



F. Martin, Feb. 3cl, 1909. He has one child, Marjorie R., born 
.June 20, 1911. 

He is a member of the Masonic Lodge. 

His father was Clinton D.Ferris and his mother, jNIaggie C. 
Stewart. His ancestors came to this country in the early daj^s. 
The first Ferris to come to this county was from Connecticut, 
four generations ago. His father was a son of Alden Ferris, a 
prosperous farmer of this town, and his mother was a daughter of 
Dennis M. Stewart, a farmer and business man of the town of 
Catskill. 

DR. SIDNEY L. FORD 

Dr. Sidney L. Ford, Supervisor of the town Windham has 
represented that town in the Greene County Board of Supervisors 
since 190r5, being honored with the office of chairman of the 
Board and also of the Board of Canvassers, and also Coroner of 
county during the years 1899 to 1905 and from 1911 to 1914. He 
was one of the men to whom Greene county is indebted for the 
beautiful court house and jail, and who has always stood at the 
front in the matter of road improvements for the countj^ and has 
shown a deep interest in the various matters of import that have 
come before the Board of Supervisors. 

He IS not a wire pulling politician, and neither egotistical 
nor selfish in his political, town, or personal affairs. He represents 
the best class of men and stands only for the best interests of 
Greene county. That's what has given him a firm hold on the 
town of Windham and the men of Greene county. As a success- 
ful physician he practices for humanity's sake, and as a business 
man he meets every obligation with cheerful readiness to perform 
well his part. We believe that he will reach the legislative halls. 

Dr. Ford was bornatJewett N.Y., Feb. 28, 1865. Graduat- 
ed at N. Y. University in 1891. He married Miss Grace Brill, 
of Oceanic, N.J., June 1st, 1893. He has one son, Newton B. Ford, 
born Oct. 17, 1899. 

285 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



He is a member of the M. E. Church, Mountain Lodge 
529, F.<Sz A.M., Greene County ^redical Society. Rondout Com- 
mandery, Kingston, N. ^'. 

His father and mother were Horace X. Ford and Matilda 
Haynes Ford. The Fords came from Connecticut some time in 
1700, and settled at Jevvett. 



FLOYD F. JONES 

Floyd F. Jones who represents the town of Cairo is another 
of the young men of Greene county who have come to the front 
and whose path is marked by the unerring evidence of a strong 
character and great business ability. He is the youngest man 
who ever represented his town in the responsible position of Sup- 
ervisor, and he has shown marked ability to do things for the 
people he represents. He has not only the highest esteem of his 
home people, but is regarded as a brilliant man by all who know 
him. He was elected to the Board of Supervisors in 1911 and 
re-elected in 1918, and Cairo will be -well pleased to have him at 
helm for many more years. 

In l<S95-8he represented Greene county as Deputy County 
Clerk under Henry B. Whitcomb, and his records during that 
term are specimens of the master penman's art. 

He is a member and Past Master of Kedemah Lodge ()9o, 
F. ct A. M. of Cairo. He is also a member of Greenville Chapter 
288, R. A. M. and a member and Past Chancellor of Yondebocker 
Lodge 289, K. of P. of Cairo N. Y. and attends the Methodist 
church at Round Top. 

He is the owner of a large farm and boarding house near 
the village of Purling. 

His father was Harrison Jones and his mother Eliza Fiero 
Jones. The Jones and Fieros were among the early settlers of 
Greene county and have been important factors in Imilding up 
and promoting the interests of the town of Cairo. 

286 



DEAfe OLD GREENE COUNtY. 



EARL W. JENKINS 

Earl W. Jenkins, Supervisor of the town of Halcott, is one 
of the young men of the Board of Supervisors, a thorough going 
business man in every way, and the town is fortunate in having 
such a capable man to look after its affairs. He is new to the 
political field, though he has served the town as collector. 

He was born on the 11th of November 1873, and was mar- 
ried to Nora Kelley in 1892. He has two children living, Miss 
Georgania and Ward B. His father Arthur B. Jenkins was a 
member of the Board of Supervisors before him, being in the 
Board of 1878. He was born in 1858 and married Esther M. Earle 
in 1870. Eli Jenkins, grandfather of P]arle W. Jenkins, was one 
of the early settlers of the town of Halcott, where he moved from 
Delaware countv in 1N48. He married Emily Judd in 1844. 

Supervisor Jenkins' farm comprises 400 acres of the best 
land in Halcott, and he has over 40 head of cattle. He is a very 
successful farmer. 



ELMER KREIGER 



Elmer Kreiger, chairman of the Greene county Board of 
Supervisors is to be reckoned among the most prominent men who 
have represented the Town of Prattsville in an official position. 
He has been in the board of supervisors since 1883 and was unan- 
imously elected to the position of chairman in 1900 and again in 
1915. He is not only a man of great executive ability, and 
indomnitable business push, but has always stood for the best 
interests of Prattsville, and no man in that section has been more 
highly regarded. He is not only thoroughgoing in matters of 
business, but no worthy cause ever appealed to him in vain. 

He was born at Ashland in 1861 and was married to Carrie 
Clark Bouton of Prattsville, N. Y. in 1904. His father was Ed- 
ward Kreiger of Prattsville and his mother was Mahalia Benjamin 
of Prattsville, N. Y. 

287, 



DiEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Kreigers were among the early settlers of Prattsville 
and the family originally came from Germany in 1847. 

Supervisor Kreiger has for a numl)er of j'ears been connect- 
ed witli the Prattsville Dairy Company, which has made almost as 
iiKiiiy tons of good butter as Col. Pratt tanned hifles in liis great 
tanneries at Prattsville. 

He is a member of the Masonic organization. 

ARRAM V. RORABACK 

Supervisor Abram \' Koraback of the town of Lexington 
comes of historical stock and is one of the honored residents of 
of that town who has made good. 

The first member of the Roraback family who settled in 
the town of Lexington was John G. who came from Schodack, 
Rensselaer Co. N. Y., in the year 1840, and bought from Abijah 
Hard the farm one mile east of Westkill village. His wife was 
Eunice (or in Dutch Yun) Van Buren, a cousin of Ex-President 
Martin Van Buren. Thus both came from good Kinderhook 
Dutch families and until 1829 Dutch was the language commonly 
spoken in the family. 

They were accompanied by their six children, Lida, George 
Benjamin, Barent, Ann and .John H. 

Frame houses were few and far between in the Westkill 
valley, but as John G. and his sons were skilled workmen for 
those days, a substantial frame house soon took the place of the 
one of logs. Death early claimed two children, two went back to 
Albanj^ and two, George and John H., lived always in their 
adopted town. George married Elizabeth Hoose, whose ancestors 
also came from Kinderhook. Their only son, Barent Van Buren 
Roraback, lived on the farm his father cleared 7o years ago, until 
1915. 

John H, Roraback married Llliza Allen, and until his death 
in 191-2 was one of the foremost business men in the town. He 
was proprietor of the Vly Mt. House on Beach Ridge, one of the 
most popular summer boarding houses in the Catskills. Their 

288 



DiBJAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



only child, Abram B. Roraback, is now the well known Supervisor 
of Greene Co. 

Mr. Roraback was born February 11, 1858, and was marri- 
ed Nov. 21, 1877 to Addie Thompson, daughter of John S. Thomp- 
son of Lexington. 



FRANK NICHOLS 



One of the most genial men that we have met is Supervisor 
Frank Nichols of Athens, who since 1912 has represented that 
town in the Board of Supervisors of Greene county. He has filled 
many positions of trust in village and town, and always with 
credit to himself and profit to the community. Whether in matters 
of finance, religion or social function he has always made good 
and it is a pleasure for his native folks to do him honor. 

The Nichols family came from England to this country and 
settled at Athens in 1800. 

Frank Nichols was the son of Samuel Nichols and his 
mother was S. Cornelia (^offin of Athens, N. Y. 

The members of the family were Edwin Nichols, .John 
Nichols, Frank Nichols and Minerva Whiting. 

Frank Nichols was born in 1858 and married Kittle Fowler. 
He is a member of the Episcopal church. Masonic and K. of P. 
lodges, Rescue Hook and Ladder Company. 

He was Postmaster six years, president and trustee for the 
village several years, and is nowPresident of D.R. Evart's Library 
Board . 

John Nichols, great grandfather of Frank Nichols was born 
at Waterbury, Conn, 1748, died at Athens, N. Y. 1815. Sylvester 
Nichols, his son, was born at Waterbury, Oct. 11, 1795. He also 
died at Athens 

In 1664, Sir Richard Nichols was sent by James 11 to 
America, and later became the first English Governor of the 
Cblony which was thereafter known as New York. We also find 
that one Francis Nichols in 1635 came to Stratford, Conn., from 
Lincolnshire, England. 

389 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ELMORE MACKEY 

Among the earlj' settlers of New York state were the Mackey 
t'amily, and their generations are scattered all over the county of 
Greene. A long and honored line, and the Mackey generations 
have spread from coa'Jt to coast. They have forged to the front in 
all the states of the I'nion, filling positions of trust in every field. 

The first of the Mackey family to settle in this section was 
early in 1700, probably at Coxsackie, and William Mackey, father 
of Sheriff' Elmore .Mackey, was born on the old Mackey farm at 
Athens in 1S20, and lived to be 80 years of age. His father was 
born in the town of Coxsaokie but we are unceitain as to the date. 

Sheriff Elmore Mackey wasb^rn at Athens, March 20, 1871 
and was three times elected to the office of Supervisor of the town 
of Athens, each time getting a solid vote. He more than made 
good in the Board being one of its voungest members, and when 
it was announced that he had l)een nominated for Sheriff of Greene 
county on the Democratic ticket, the Republicans were unable to 
find a candidate to run against him, and his only opposition was 
Edward Mink, who ran on the Bull Moose ticket. As Mr. Mink 
polled but a few liundrrd votes. Mr.Mackey's majority was around 
8000. 

Moving to (latskill and taking possession of the office of 
sheriff, v>'ith ^Irs Mackey to assist as matron, he has shown the 
full measure of usefullness and integrity, and tlie office has been 
ably taken care of. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mackey also allied themselves with the work 
of the Methodist clnireh and various reform movements in Catskill 
and have made a host of friends. 

He is district deputy of the Greene County Odd Fellows, 
member of the Knights of Pythias, was chief of the Athens Fire 
Department for three years, and a member of William*H. Morton 
Engine Company of Athens, and also a member of the historical 
Zion Lutheran church of Athens. 

•^90 




Oncol Calskill's Model Imiv House: 
Home of No. 1 Hose Compan)-. 
(Courtesy of Catskill Kxaminer) 




The Great Storm of Inn.^. 
(Courtesy of Catskill Recorder.) 

vSnow Piled in Main Street, Catskill 

In front of the Jennings & Chase buildins 

and Tanners Bank buildings 

now torn down. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




ROBERT M. MAC NAUGHT 

District Superintendent of Schools, Robert M. MacNaught, 
of Windham, N. Y., the subject of this sketch, was born in 
Delaware county, educated in the common schools, at Delaware 
Academy and at New York Tniversity. After finishing his work 
at New York University, he took up the study of law in the office 
of Judge John P. Grant, of Stamford, N. Y. 

Choosing, however, to follow the teaching profession, he 
was elected principal of the Jefferson Union school, at the time 
immediately following its organization into a Union school. Dur- 
ing his two years of service at Jefferson, he placed the school upon 

293 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



a Hnu fcnindatioii, incroascd the attendaiKte of non-resident pupils 
and established the first graduatiiif^ class in the history <»!' the 
school. 

Called to Windham in l.KH In the position of principal of 
the Windham I'nion school, and at the time immediately follow- 
ing a vote taken to change the district from a connnon to a I'nion 
system, and when the educational interests of the district were at 
their lowest ebb, he organized the school, prepared th^ courses of 
instruction, secured a large number of non-resident students, and, 
and in a short time passed it through all the various graduations 
to the highest recognized standard of the state— a four years' high 
school, maintaining each year a graduating class of young men and 
young women who invariably entered some higher institution of 
learning. 

After serving 11 years as principal of the Windham High 
school, Prof. MacNaught was elected District Superintendent of 
Schools for the second district of Greene county, having the dis- 
tinguished honor of being elected district superintendent of one 
of the districts of Schoharie county on the same day. 

Superintendent MacNaught is deeply interested in lodge 
work. He is a member of St. Andrew's lodge, F. and A. M., 
Hobart, N. Y., Past High Priest of Mountain Chapter, R. A. M. 
Windham, N. Y., a member of Rondout Commandery K. T. 
Kingston, N. Y., Cyprus Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
Albany, N. Y., honorary member of Working Lodge F. and A.M. 
Jefferson, N.Y., and Mountain Lodge F. and A.M., Windham, N. 
Y., past Patron of Mountain Chapter O. E. S., Windham, N. Y., 
past Noble Grand of Delaware Valley Lodge, 1. O. O. F., Bloom- 
ville, N.Y. 

As President of Windham \'illage Hose company and as 
Vice-President of the Greene county Firemen's Association, his 
interest in firemanic matters is shown, and, as a school man, 
public speaker, lecturer, the "maker of the Windham High 
school'' Superintendent ^Fac Naught is widely and favorably 
known. 

J^y4 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




William Kortz 



Frank Kortz 



KORTZvS' SINCE lislfi 

The furniture business was first conducted in C'atskill by 
James Kortz in 1816, in connection with undertaking, and hence 
for 99 years the Kortz family has been doing business in Catskill 
and it is not only the oldest place in that line in Greene county 
but the third established in the State of New York. 

•lames Kortz was one of four brothers who came to this 
country from Germany and they settled at Buffalo. Later on 
James Kortz came to Catskill and started the business referred to 
in 1816. He continued it up to the time of his death in 1860, 
when his wife, Deborah Kortz, took charge of affairs, up to 1868, 
when William Kortz son of James Kortz succeeded to the busi- 
ness. For over 56 years he has been at the old stand of the Chair 
(35 years a sign.) For the past 27 years, his son, Frank H. 
Kortz, has been associated with him, and he has had the manage- 
ment for 15 years. 

Recently they took a long lease of the property adjoining 
395 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



their store, and remodeled it in order to l)etter accommodate their 
growing undertaking business. They have a splendid store and 
equipment up to date, with a larger stock than any two stores in 
(Jreone countj'. 

William Kortz was married in 1^>72 to Ida ^?pencer, and 
they have had 4 children, Frank H., James of Milford, Mass., 
deputy postmaster of that place. Katherine and Ruth, now 
Mrs. H. D. Van Derlyn of Yonkers. 

For 4 years, William Kortz was coroner of (ireene county, 
being first appointed l)y (Jovernor Cornell, in issi. and elected in 
1SS3. 

Frank Kortz was married in ISHS to Maude Abeel Milling- 
ton of Catskill and has one child. He is a member of the Reform- 
ed church. 

Frank Kortz is a licensed embalmer and undertaker. 

The new undertaking rooms that are being finished will be 
very tine. 



DR. WILBUR F. LAMONT 

Dr. Wilbur F.Lamont, one of Catskill's greatest practicion- 
ers, was born at Richmondville, in 1863, and came to Catskill in 
1889. His great practice drove him to an untimely death as he 
died in the ho.spital at Albany in August, 1912, at the age of 49 
3'ears. On the occasion of his funeral, Catskill business was all 
stopped and thousands were unable to get into the church. The 
bearers were Drs. Robert Seldon, Stanlpy Vincent, Frederick Good- 
rich, C. E. Willard, George F. Branch and F. C. Clark. 

Dr. Lamont was married in 1890, to Miss Grace Johnson 
of Durham, N. Y., and she survives him, and one son Wilbur J. 
Lamont, W'ho is in the course of his college studies. 

William Lamont of Richmondville, Dr. Lanont's father, a 
former assemblyman of Schoharie county died in 1908. Stanley 
Lamont a brother of Dr. Lamont died suddenly at Newark N. J., 
where he was a professor in Newark Academy in 1914. 

296 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Ho-ward "Wilcox 

Howard Wilcox, one of Catskill's oldest business men who 
died suddenlj^ Feb. 11, 11)15, commenced working for Mr. Willard 
in 1858 in the jewelry store in the building in which he was doing 
business at the time of his death, over Bl years. He came into 
possession of the business at the time of the death of ^Ir. Willard 
in 1885, and starting without a dollar made a great success of it. 
He was born, March 13, 1835, in Catskill and was 79 years of age, 
and although he was apparently in excellent health and his death 
decidedly unthought of, it appears that he had never fully recover- 
ed from an injury that he received in which his shoulder was 
fractured. 

He was a member of St Luke's church Catskill, in which 
he always took a great interest, and for many years was connected 
with the choir, first as an alto and later as a tenor. The only 
social organization with which he was connected was Malaeska 
lodge, K. of P. In 1861 he joined F. N. Wilson Engine Company 
and always took much interest it fire matters. 

He was one of Catskill's most unassuming men, though lie was 
297 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



actively interested in every enterprise that meant the betterment of 
Catskill. Up to the last day of his life he was able to take charge 
of the most delicate piece of watch repairing or jewelry work, and 
was daily seen ot his repair counter. 

Hi^ fatliri was the late .ludson Wilcox, who caiuo to Cats- 
kill in lS2r), and who was born at Harpersfield, N. Y., December 
li"), IT'.M and who died at ("atskill, June 7, I87i^>- His mother 
Laura G. Wilcox was born at Cortright, July 18, 1^04, and they 
were married at that place August IS, lS2o, though Mr. Wilcox 
was then living in Catskill. She died in -Ian. 1!>00, at the age of 
95 years. 

Of the members of the family J. Hubbard Wilcox and Mrs. 
Wheeler Howard are living at Catskill. and Edgar Wilcox at Glen 
Cliff. 

Mrs. Howard Wilcox passed away about 40 years ago. 
Hiram Wilcox, their son, survives, and has been in the jewelry 
business with his father many years. 



WILLIS A. HAIXES 



The Haines family were among the early settlers in the 
town of Cairo, and they w'ere among the Palantines who came to 
this country from Holland. 

Trustee Willis A. Haines of Catskill, was born at Round 
Top in 1862. His father was Merrit J. Haines, and his mother 
Hannah C. Eraerick, whose antecedents were also Palantines and 
settled on the Loveridge in the section known as Great Embocght, 
now a part of the town of Catskill. 

He was married in 1886 to Middle D. Holcomb of Cairo, 
and their children are Pearl Haines, wife of Lester Minkler, Floyd 
Haines and Willis H. Haines Jr. 

Mr. Haines has completed 30 years business at the Church 
street stand, and has a splendid business. He was first in the 
shop with George Smith, and for 22 years with Theodore Smith 

398 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



later with Fred Bouck, and now has his son Floyd in partnership 
with him, since April 1918. 

He took over the wagon and sleigh business of Mr. Sage, 
and ice business of Mrs. John Avery, and is a large dealer in hay 
and straw, and takes care of all kinds of wood and iron work 

He has been president of the village of Catskill and is now 
a trustee, he is also a member and trustee of the Methodist church, 
a member of the Masons, Eastern Star and Rip Van Winkle Club, 
and a director of the Y. ^\. C. A. 



JOvSIAH C. TALLMADGE 
Josiah C. Tallmadge, county judge and surrogate of Greene 
county, was born at New Baltimore, July 15, 1853. He was the 
son of Thomas 1). Tallmadge and Helen (Raymond) Tallmadge. 
He studied law at Windham, with Eugene Raymond, and was 
admitted to bar in 1<S74. He practiced law at Coxsackie and 
Windham. In 1889 he was elected district attorney of Greene 
county, and in 1900, county .judge, being re-elected \n 1906 and 
1912, and he has the distinction of having served 14 years without 
having had a single case reversed. During that time he has been 
called to take charge of courts in Brooklyn, where hundreds of 
important cases came before him, in addition to the work of Greene 
county. 

He is vice president of the Greene County Bar Association, 
member of the State Bar Association, and for three years was 
president of the National Association of Probate Judges. He is a 
member of the Academy of Political Science, former president of 
the Rip Van Winkle Club, director of the Catskill National Bank, 
vice president of the Catskill Savings and T^oan Association, direc- 
tor of Mutual Co-Operative Fire Insurance Company and of the 
Commercial Mutual Fire Insurance Company. Served as president 
of the Catskill Board of Education, trustee of the Catskill Presby- 
terian Church, and Catskill Y. M. C. A., a member of Mountain 
Lodge 529, F. & A. M. and Catskill Chapter 525 R. A.M. 

He was married June 12, 1878 to Ella M. Stanley, daughter 
399 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



of Dr. Peter I. and Sarali E. Stanley of Windham. Their children 
are: Leone .S., now Mrs. L. T. Beach, and Kdna, wife of I)r. K. 
E. Hinman of Alhany. 

The Tallniadge family has been one of ncitc, X. 1'. Tall- 
niadge was state senator in ISoO, and James Tallnjadgc was electctl 
lieutenant governor in 1S24. 

The Tallmadge family came to this country from Enghunl. 
General Benjamin Tallmadge was sent here by the English govern- 
ment and his son William H. Tallmadge was a colonel. Tlie 
Tallmadges settled in Massachusetts, but the date has not l>een 
1) reserved. 

Thomas 1). Tallmadge, father of Judge Tallmadge wa- b .rn 
at Westerlo, X.Y. al)Out 18o4, and wa< married to Helen M. Bay- 
mond, who was born in ls:'y2. Thoiua- Talhuadgi' died atOneonta 
X.Y., in 1900. 

He had a family 'jf 11 children, and renin rkable indeed is 
the fact that all are living, the oldest being bo years of age. The 
family comprises: J. G. Raymond Tallmadge, JosiahC. Tallmadge 
Alice A., Helen E., toward C, Carolyn T., Matilda J., Thomas 
D., Benjamin I., Mae and R. Dewitt Tallmadge. 

The latter named was called after the fanous T. Dewitt 
Tallmadge, preacher of the Tallmadge generations. 

Thomas D, Tallmadge, who is with Underwood c^: Under- 
wood in Xew York, is the greatest Miniature artist in the country 
and takes the lead in color over all others. 

Benjamin I. Tallmadge is a prominent lawyer at Windham, 
Ed. Tallmadge was for over 30 years with John G. Myers at 
Albany, and Raymond Tallmadge for the same length of time 
with Van Sly ke and Horton at Albany. 

JOSEPH xMALCOL:^! 
Joseph Malcolm, a veteran of the Grand Army and at the 
head of the Malcolm Manuf'g Co, Catskill, passed away after a 
brief illness, aged 74 years, October 1912. He served in the 49th 
Mass. Vol. He was a director of the Catskill National Bank. He 
is survived by his wife and son J. Lewis Malcolm, an attorney of 
Catskill, who was married to Miss Jessie Chase, a daughter of 
Justice Emory A. Chase. 



bEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



GEORGE B. VAN VALKENBURGH 

The subject of this sketcli, Mr. George B. Van Valken- 
burgh, was l)ora in the village of Lexington, and is the son of 
James M. Van Valkenburgh, deceased, and Mary Alice O'Hara, 
at present residing in Catskill. He received his early education 
in the public schools in and about Lexington, and in 1S90 was 
graduated from Manhattan college, in New York city. After a 
service of some duration with the Hrni of Barber and Zeigler, har- 
l)or distributors for the Pennslyvania Coal Company, Mr. Van 
\'alkenburgh became secretary and treasurer of the Lexington Co- 
operative Creamery Association, in which capacity he retained his 
connection with the association until its sale to the Shefheld 
Farms, Slawson-Decker Company. 

Taking a deep interest in political life from the time he 
attained his majority, Mr. Van \'alkenburgh soon after that time 
became an active w^orker in the Democratic party, and in the^'ear 
1900 he was appointed clerk to the Board of Supervisors of Greene 
county, a position he held until 1910, when he was elected to the 
office of county clerk, defeating Edwin S. Anthony, of Coxsackie, 
who at that time was deputy county clerk under D. Geroe Greene, 
of Coxsackie, by a substantial majority. 

It was JNIr. Van \^alkenburgh's good fortune to enter upon 
the discharge of his othcial duties in the commodious and hand- 
somely furnished offices in the new county building, and it is 
not improper to say that the character of his services as county 
clerk have been in keeping with his surroundings indeed, under 
his administration many little improvements in equipment and 
system have been made possible. Mr. Van Valken burgh was re- 
elected county clerk in 1913, defeating Dayton B. Smith, of Cox- 
sackie. He is, and has been for a number of years, chairman of 
the Democratic County Committee, and is also a member of the 
Democratic State Committee. During the construction of the 
Ashokan reservoir by the Board of Water Supply of New York 

301 



bteAR OLD GREENE COUNTV. 



city, Mr. ^^^n N'alkentnirgh served as commissioner from Greene 
county. 

-Mr. \an \alkt'!il)urt?li has always taken an aliidint^ intiTCst 
in state roads, and it was largely due to his influence that the l)i!l 
making the construction of the Clove Mountain highway po^^iMc 
became a law. 

Fraternallv he is connected wiih King-ton L )dge, Nn. .").')(). 
J>enev()lent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Feeling that in the future his business interests woidd be 
identified to some extent with Catskill, he publicly announced 
his citizenship of that village by casting his vote at the Charter 
election held on Tuesday. March 80, liMo. 



MAJOR JAMKS MOXROK VAX VALKKXliCKOII ^ 

Majoi James Monroe \'an \'alkenburgh, an old and honor- 
ed resident of (ireene county, was born in 1S42, and livtd the 
greater part of his life in the village of Lexington. Major \':ui 
X'alkenburgh received his educatiod in the Hwxl)ury academy, and 
was still a youth when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted in the 
Eightieth New York N'olunteers as 2nd lieutenant of Company (!. 
and was l)adly wounded at the second l»attle of Hnlj Hnn, while 
carrying his superior officer Col. (ieorge W. Pratt, from thetield. 
For bravery upon the field of battle he was promoted to 1st. lieu- 
tenant on September 1 7 antl was honorably discharged fiom ^crxicc 
on January lo, I860, liis wounds having rendered it impossible 
for him to continue in the army. Returning to Lexington he built 
the Monroe House which he conducted for a number of years and 
for a number of years after the war he was also interested in 
mercantile persuits. During the years LS74 and 1875 Major \'an 
Valkenburgh represented Lexington town in the Board of Super- 
visors, and upon different occasions he served his town as its 
superintendent of highways. He was the son of Lucas Van Valk- 
enburgh and Amelia Peck. Major Van Valkenburgh passed to 
rest July 7, 1912. 

302 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



PRESIDENT GEO. C. FOX OPENS WEST SHORE ROAD 

When the West Shore raih-oad was opened in 1882, George 
C, Fox then president of the village received an invitation from 
the railroad company to be present, and with the other members 
of the Board of whom Theodore Cole and William Smith were 
members hired a drum corps, and trotted out a caimon and there 
was a big celebration. It was a great event for Catskill. 



THOMAS SEIFFERTH, JR. 

Thomas Seitt'erth Jr. of Hunter, who represents th;,t town 
in the Greene county Board of Supervisors, repiesents not only 
one of the most important and progressives sections of the connty, 
but he has shown that he possesses an executive ability that has 
rarely been seen in men who have for long years represented their 
town in political fields. He is energetic, thoroughgoing and has 
shown clearly that he is advancing the best interests of the town in 
everyway. He is popular in the board, and has been appointed 
on the best committees, and his work whether in dealing with the 
taxes, roads or other interests has been noteworthy and c )nimend- 
able. He is a young man and never dabbled in politics. The 
office of supervisor came to him unsought and there is every reason 
to show that the confidence placed in him by the citizens of Hun- 
ter was not misplaced. A splendid oflFicial, and he will be retained 
indefinitely in all probability. 

He was born June 28, 187S, at Platte Clove, town of Hun- 
ter, on the place where he now resides. His father, Thomas Seif- 
ferth, Sr., was born in Germany, 1882, and is still living with his 
son. His mother was born in Donegall Co.. Ireland, 1S8(), and 
died at Platte Clove, in 1909. 

Thomas Seift'erth, Jr. married D. Frances Farrell, April, 
1903, and they have no children. He served as tax collector of 
the town of Hunter four years before being elected as Supervisor. 
He is the youngest man who has ever represented the town of Hun- 

303 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ter in the Board of Supervisors. 

The Seifferths came to town of Hunter nearly •')() years 

ago, and at that time there were only three or four houses w^here 
the village of Tannersville now stands. 



DAYTON 15. SMITH ^ ^^t, ^o. 4^ 1- 

Tlu' Smiths were hefore the tiood and they have been after 
the flood, and as discoverers, pioneers, inventors, heroes and 
great men in all the walks and activities of life, the Smiths must 
have the award of priority. The mother of Columbus was a Smith, 
and Henry Hudson was indebted to the Smiths for his good ship 
Half Moon. There were Smiths in his hearty crew, and Smiths of 
the hardy sort that settled along the Hudson. Greene county has 
had thousands of them. 

The Coxsackie Smiths settled in that section around 17(i<» 
and they are right on the job yet in every way. 

Dayton B. Smith, who has represented the town of Coxsac- 
kie in the Greene County Board of Supervisors since 1910, has 
demonstrated that he is pastmaster in looking after the welfare of 
his town, and is likely to be kept right at the head of the column 
as long as he will consent to take what is a troublesome and 
thankless job generally. 

He has been in business in Coxsackie since U)01. He was 
born in Coxsackie on June 20th 1874, and was married to Frances 
Doherty on Oct. 24, 1900. The members of his family are Ellen 
Doherty Smith, and Frances Simmons Smith. His father was 
born at Potter's Hollow^ Albany county, and married Juliette 
Simmons. The members of his family were Grace and Dayton B. 
Smith. Mr. Smith has represented the village and town as town 
clerk and Supervisor. 

He is a member of the 2nd Pxefornied church, Ark Lodge 
No. 48, F. & A. M.; Eureka Lodge, No. PA, K. of P.; and of the 
Geo. H. Scott Hook and Ladder No. 1. 

304 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




WALTER J. DECKER 

The subject of this sketch, ^^'altel■ J. Decker, was born at 
Hillsdalp, N. Y., where he lived his boyhood days, and where he 
acquired the rudiments of a liberal education in the public schools. 
Of the first class organized under the rules and regulations of the 
State Normal College, he was not only a member, but bore the 
distinction of being the youngest. While in this instituion he 
applied himself with diligence, completed the course in the allot- 
ed time, graduated at the age of twenty and received a life license 
to teach in the public schools of the State of New York. 

His first experience in teaching was in the public schoo 1 a 
305 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Canaan, N. Y., where he taught one year; then succeeded to the 
principalship of the Murray Hill Schools in New Jersey. Here he 
taught tiie higher branches and supervised the work in the grades 
for a period of eleven yenrs; and it was avowed by the patrons and 
those in authority, that, under his management, the schools 
improved with each succeeding year. 

W'hil'' in New Jersey, he united with St. Luke's Episcopal 
church; became an active worker; served the Church in the 
capacity of junior warden and superintendent of the Sunday school 
for five years. In 1S96, he married Anna B. Kuehn, daughter of 
Henry C. Kuehn of Scotch Plains, X. J Their home is now bless- 
ed with the companionshij) of three children. 

in 1IKJ5, he resigned his position in New Jersey, and accept- 
ed the principalship of the Union School at Hunter, X. Y., in 
September of that year. By reason of observation, experience and 
years of study, he had acquired that degree of skill and efficiency 
which enabled him to discharge the duties of this position, not 
simply with entire satisfaction, lait with a marked degree of 
success. Within two years after he assumed the duties of principal 
this school became a midiUe high school; within three years, a 
senior high school ; and March 4th, 190!), it was advanced to a 
full high school, being approved in each instance by the State De- 
partment of Education for the attendance of non-resident academic 
pupils at the expense of the State. 

The ability to teach, organize and discipline implies common 
sense, good judgment and foresight. These attributes and qualities 
of Mr. Decker were fully recognized and appreciated by patrons of 
the school, the Board of Education and the representatives of the 
State Department of Education. 

The further pruf2;ress of his career, the writer here observes, 
was determined by the success, training and experience which he 
had gained by his j^ears of study and professional activity. In 1911 
the board of school directors of the third supervisory district of 
Greene county, comprising the towns of Ashland, Halcott, Hunter 
Jewett, Lexington and Prattsville, elected him district superin- 

30G 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



tendent of the schools, and he entered upon his duties January 1st 
1912. 

His preparation, experience and considerate judgment have 
enabled him to render efficient service. The communities have 
co-operated with him in bringing the schools to a high standard of 
excellence and more in accord with the ideas of present-day educa- 
tion. Thus the work of the schools has been brought into closer 
relation to the life of the people. While due emphasis has been 
placed on the fundamental interests, reading courses have been 
established for teachers and pupils. Domestic science and agricul- 
tural contests are conducted each year. Meetings for teachers and 
school officers are frequentl3' held for the discussion of methods of 
teaching and to establish greater efficency in school management. 

Mr. Decker is identified with the Masonic fraternity. He is 
Master of Mount Tabor Lodge, No. 807 F. t^^ A. M. and a member 
of Mountain Chapter, No. 250, R. A. M. 

In the activities of life he has shon'n himself, bv energy 
and stability of character, to be a man of cautious temper, unblem- 
ished integrity and exact sincerity. 

Men are worthy, because of their excellence of character. In 
enterprise, promotion comes to them because, of their training, 
abilitj' and character par-excellent 

JOHN D SMITH 
John D Smith died at his home in Catskill March, 2S, 
aged ()5 years. He was a son of Luke Smith, an early resident of 
("atskill, and was in partnership with him in the shoe business. 
He established the Catskill Daily Mail in 1878, and in 1899 was 
postmaster of Catskill. 

BYRON SUNDERLAND 
The Rev. Byron Sunderland died at the home of his son-in- 
law. Bank President Orrin Day, in July 1901. He was born at 
Shoreham, Vt. in 1819, and graduated from Middlebury College. 
He was pastor of churches in Syracuse, and Washington where he 
was for many years chaplain of the Senate. He was also associated 
with T. Dewitt Tallmadge in his work at Brooklyn tabernacle. 

307 




Fishing- for Carp in Catskill Creek 
In 1912, thousands of carp, weighing from 8 to 45, and even 
60 pounds, were taken by means of carp nets. The above scene is 
duplicated most any day, but the carp are smaller. 




The Italian Parade of 1914 
Officers Joseph Reilly and James Fitzsimmons leading the 



Pageant. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Notaries P\iblic For dreene Gounly 

Appointed 1U15. 

Ashland— Francis L. Dodge. 

Athens - Sarah M. Hyer, O. dates I'orler. 

Cairo— Richard A. Austin. 

Oatskill— William W. Bennett, Leo F. Betts, Beulah W. HIockI- 

good,'P. Gardner Coffin, Seth T. Cole, John L. Fray, Geo. 

8. Harding, Orliff T. Heath, Clarence Howland, James L. 

Malcolm, Charles E. Nichols, William Palmatier, Harvej^ 

S. Scutt. Wendells. Sherman, :\lyrtle K. Smith. 
Coxsackie -iarthe M. Carter, Wellman K. Church, Arthur J. 

Collier, Harrie McK Curtiss, Daniel H. Daley, Ernest 

Miller. 
East Jewett— Cyrus W. Xan X'alkenliurgh. 

Freehold K. D. 1 -Alton D. Gibson. 

Greenville— Orrin C. Stevens, K. Lyman Wood. 

(xreenville Center— Leander W. Hallock. 

Haines Falls— Joseph K. Burkle. Christopher A. Martni, Samuel 

E. Rusk. 
Hensonville— Theodore H. Merwin. 
Hunter— George F. Ferris. 
Leeds— Louis F. Teich. 1 

Lexington— Frank E. Beggs, George B. Yan A'alkenburgh. 
Med way — William N. Miller. 
New Baltimore— Melvin P. Hotaling. 
Oak Hill — Fred S. Anthony, Isaac U. Tripp. 
Prattsville — Elmer Krieger, George R. Laverick, Thomas J. 

O'Hara. 
Palenville — Adam A. Pelham. 
Tannersville— Edward W. Lackey, Cyrus Showers. 
Urlton - Augustus V. Simmons. 
West Coxsackie — William B. Townsend. 
Westkill- Sherwood Clawson, Robert S. Tuttle. 
Windham— Ellsworth E. Sharpe, Ernest E. Myer, Jr., Benjamin 

I. Tallraadge. 

310 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




EDWARD RKVXOLDS 



Greene Gounly Society 

The Greene County Society, which is made up of men who 
hailed from Greene county or who are still residents of Greene 
county was organized in 11)04, in New York city and every year 
since an annual gathering has been held in that city with a 
banquet, excepting in 1915. One of the principal men to promote 
this organization was Senator William P. Fiero, Charles L. 
Rickerson and Commodore ^'an Santvoord. At the head of the 
society is Edward Reynolds and roster of men all prominent in the 
business world: 

President" Edward Reynolds, 1st. Vice-Pres.— E. B. Van 
Deusen, 2d Vice-Pres.— J. PI. Thomas, od. Vice-Pres. — Dorville 
S. Coe, 4th Vice-Pres.— Chas. E. Russell, Secretary-Treasurer — 
C.^E. Rickerson, Registrar— Peter Fiero. 
DIRECTORS 
Edwin H Snyder, Dr. Geo. F. Madigan Fred B. Dalzell 

311 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



\\'in. .1. Minor 
(). L. ^'ounians 
K. H. Dunham 
Allen R. Hicks 
Peter Fiero 
Chas. E. Rusirell 
Raymond H. Fiero 



Dr. Wni. B. Snow 
Irving W. ^'an(Torden 
W. B. DeLamater 
Wm. H. McC'abe 

D. G. Cornin 

Peter S. Jennings 

L. W. Mower 



Hon. J F. Hylan 
Dr. W. B. Chase 
Andrew Colvin 
E. B. Van Deusen 
Henry W. Showers 
Dr. Wm. Stevens 
Edward T. Dal /.ell 



A^ssemblymerv of dreene Co\ii\ty from 1800 

The first assfcmlb3'men to represent Greene connty then newly 
formed in 1800 were Thomas E. Barber and Caleb Benton, William 
Beach and Philip Conine, jr. in 1802. 



1803 George Hale, 


1804 Stephen Simmons 


1805 Pat. Hamilton 


M Schuneman 


Stoddard Smith 


Daniel Saj-re 


1806 John Ely 


1807 J Thompson 


1808 C T Hotaling 


J Thompson 


Samuel Haight 


Perez Steel 


1809 James Gale 


1810 Ben Chapman 


1811 William Beach 


E Reed 


Ira Day 


Jonas Bronk 


1812 John Ely 


1813 John Adams 


1814 Willian Eraser 


Simon Saj-res 


Perez Steel 


A Van Dyke 


1815 James Gale 


1816 James Powers 


1817 Levi Callender 


:\lartin Van Bergen Jacob Roggen 


Justus vSquire 


1818 John I Bronk 


1819 James Foster 


1820 Piatt Adams 


Jairus Strong 


Isaac Van Loan 


Aaron Reed 


1821 James Powers 


1822 Reuben Hosford 


1823 Caleb Coffin 


Jacob Roggen 


William Seaman 


Edward Daley 


1824 Gilbert Bedell 


1825 Addison Porter 


1»26 Perkins King 


A Bushnell 


William Seaman 


William Tuttle 


1827 Elisha Bishop 


1828 Moses Austin 


1829 J Miller 


Wm Fankner 


Castle Seeley 


H Ouackenboss 


1830 Lewis Benton 


1831 E Hamilton 


1833 Henry Goslee 


John Brandow 


Dumah Tuttle 


W"m Pierson 


1834 B Bagley 


1835 D Ingersoll 


1836 S Tryon 


S Nichols 


A Van Bergen 


John Watson 


1837 Thos Cooke 


1838 Piatt Adams 


1839 Gilbert Bedell 


Peter Hubbell 


Thos Cooke 


S Nichols 


1840 Turhand Cooke 1841 Aaron BushneH 


1843 John Laraway 


D Ouackenboss 


Philip Teats 


A Van Slyke 


1844 Robert C Field 


lis45 D Hervey 


1846 N Lawrence 


h C Stimsou 


G W Sager 


P Van Bergen 



312 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



1847 Wm V Adams 1848 A Palmer 1849 A Bailey 

A Marks F A Fenii Albert Tuttle 

1850 Alonzo Greene 1851 J A Cooke 1853 N H Gray 

Theo Prevost Henry Kinsley T Bedell, Jr. 

1853 Darius Winans 1854 Joshua Fiero, Jr. 1855 INI L, Rickerson 

E P Buihnell G Robertson John C Palmer 

1856 Buel Mabin 1857 David Whiting 1859 Daniel Strong 

M B Mattice H Baldwin 

1860 A R Macomber 1861 Gilbert Bedell 1862 J Coles 
1863-4 Lorin Green 1865 Prentiss Hallenbeck 1866 E P Moore 
1867 Thos A Briggs 1868 James Loughren 1869 B Griffin 
1870 1 H Van Steenburgh, 1872 3 Augustus Hill, 1874 Horatio 
Lockwood, 1875 Benjamin F Barkley 1876 Burton G Morse, 1877 
Oscar T Humphrey, 1878 Cicero C Peck, 1879 George S. Stevens, 
1880 Albert Parker, 1881 Orlando L Newton, 1882 Samuel H 
Nichols, 1883 Frank S Decker, 1884 Bradley S McCabe, 1885-86 
Stephen T Hopkins, 1887 John H Bagley, 1888 Francis G Walters, 
1890-1 Omar V. Sage, 1892 Edward M Cole, 1893 Capt. James Stead, 
1894 Ira B Kerr, 1895 Daniel G Greene, 1896-7 Newton Sweet. 1898 
John J. Ellis, 1899 D Geroe Greene, 1900 Sylvester B. Sage, 1901-2 
William W Rider, 1903-4 Charles E Nichols, 1905-6 7-8 9 William C 
Brady, 1910-11-12-13 J L Patrie, 1914-5 George H Chase. 

These men from various sections of the county served their 
terms with signal ability, and some of them were returned term after 
term, W. C. Brad}'^ of Athens, and J. Lewis Patrie of Catskill having 
the longest terms. 

Jacob Haight of Catskill in 1834 was state treasurer, and in 

1861 Edward Hand of Catskill was banking superintendent. 

Notable Events and Men 

C'yrus W. Field, layer of the Atlantic Cable, was bom at 
Durham in 1782, and wag the son of Ambrose Field, a pioneer of 
that town. 

Lyman Tremaine, the great lawyer and .judge of Greene 
county, was bom at Oak Hill, in 1812. He was attomey general 
of the state in 1857; he was also a member of the legislature I860, 
and defended Edward S. Stokes, tried for, the murder ofJ^James 
Fisk. 

Uncle Barney Butts was the greatest bear hunter of Greene 
313 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



county. He was born near Windham in 1799, and his father and 
mother each lived to be 100 years of age. He died at the age of 
75 years in 1874, and had killed over 100 hears, getting as many 
as S in a single day. 

Anson I'. Wright, of Durham, livt'd tn \)v '.»5 years of age, 
and was a musician in the Revolution. He was born in 1792, and 
his wife was a daughter of Col. Bullock, an officer of the Revolu- 
tion, who diol ;it the age of 94 years. 

Col. Piatt Adam< wa s Ijorn at Durham in 17'.»-2, and he 
represented Creene county in the legislature 1S21-24, and in the 
senate in 1S48-49. He was also colonel of the 49th regiment, 
holding that position for 10 years. He was supervisor of Durham 
1820-2.S-34-38, and sheriff of Greene county 1828-30. 

Col. Ezra Post, of Durham, was colonel of the 49th regi- 
ment in the war of 1X12. His son William was also a colonel. 

Capt. Aaron Thorj.e built one of the lirst saw mills in the 
town of Durham in 1790, on Thorpe Creek. He served in the 
Revolution a r3'. 

Capt. Ashiel Jones, of Ilervey Street, was an officer in the 
Revolution, and settled in Durham, in 1788. 

Moses Austin, of Durham, was a judge of the court of 
Common Pleas He settled at Cornwallsvillein 180<), and was an 
assemblyman in 1829. 

Capt. Charles Johnson, of Durham, served in the Revolut- 
ion, and a relative of Mrs. W. F. Lamont, of Catskill. 

Thomas E. Barker, of ('ornwallsville, settled at that place 
in 1790. He was a member of the legislature 1898-99, 1800; 
supervisor of Durham 1822-24; also judge of court of Common 

Pleas. 

Caleb Benton was also from the town of Durham and was a 
judge of the court of Common Pleas. 

Capt. Hinman, of Durham, was in the French and Indian 
war, 1755, and was with General Braddoek at the time he was 
trapped by the Indians. 

814 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



'JMmothy Hunger, of Durham, also served in the French 
and Indian war, 1755. 




MACKEY CROSWELIv 

Publisher of the Uatskill Packet, 1792, now Catskill 
Recorder. He retired from printing to the more strenuous occu- 
pation of village tavern keeper. His brother, Dr. A. H. Croswell, 
took up the duties of postmaster, being appointed bv (leorge 
Washington. 

Mr. Croswell was in the drug business with Dr. Brace. 
315 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



THE GALLT FAMILY 

In the search of old books and documents that came into 
our possession while writing this history of Greene county we find 
mention made of William Gait great-great-grandfather of the 
writer, F. A. Gallt. Referring to the Linzey patent Fitch says in 
his history: "David Ramsey, James Campbell, WiUiam Gait and 
WilHam Dixon from Ireland settled on the patent in 1742 at tlie 
village of Cherry Valley.'' At that time there were but 8 people 
in the entire township, and owing to the fear of the Indians there 
but 60 in 1752. Among that number was the Rev. Samuel Dunlop 
who taught a classical school, said to b? the first one west of the 
Hudson river. Nov. 11, 1778 the Indians descended on the town 
and murdered the inhabitants, burning every building in the 
place. 16 continental officers and soldier were among the slain. 

William Gait was among the number slain, but his sons 
John Gait and Joseph Gait escaped. He was one of 6 brothers 
who came to this country from Ireland, having fled from France 
during the persecution of the Huegenots 

From the old family bible printed in 172s, which was in 
the possession of William Gait at the time of the massacre in 1778 
and in the handwriting of William Gait we find that William Gait, 
.son of William Gait was born in the Parish of Kilragh and county 
Enbron, in the Kingdom of Ireland. Came to America in Nov. 
1740. AVas married to Margaret Harper, daughter of John and 
Abigal Harper, at Cherry Valley, August, 1765, by the Reverend 
Mr. Dunlop. John Gallt, oldest son of William and Margaret 
Gait, was born at Cherry Valley, July 24, 1766. Was baptised by 
the Rev, Mr. Dunlop. John Gait escaped at the time of the 
massacre. Joseph Gait, born 1773, also escaped. 

The Gallts settled later at Cato, Cayuga Co., moving to 
Harpersfield. and then to Jefferson where in 186*.t Frank A. Gallt 
was born. 

The old bible lacking 13 years of being 200 is in his posses- 
sion as are also a number of books that were the property of the 
Rev. Mr. Dunlop. Two of these books were printed in 1793, and 

316 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



have written in them the names of William Gallt and Joseph Gallt, 
"his book''. They were called "Dessertations of the Prophesies" 
by Thomas Newton DD, 10th edition. Edinburgh, MDCCXIIl 
and dedicated to 'his Grace, the Lord Bishop of Canterbury." 
The books are Ijound in heavy leather and yellow with age. 

The Harper family were conspicious in the early colonial 
history of Schoharie county, INIrs. James Gallt being a Smith, and 
her mother a Haiper also tracing to Tim Murphy, the Indian 
fighter. 

The record also shows the births of William (iallt. May 1, 
17(;7, Minerva Gallt, James Gallt, Margaret and Matthew Gallt, 
all of whom wore l)aptised by the \lev. Mr. Dunlop at 'Gheryvaly.' 

Tlie name of ^^'illiam Gait is among those carved on tlie 
Tryon county njonument at Cherry ^^alley. Showing the names 
of the persons who were massacred by the Indians and Tories 
under Brandt. William Gait was knocked on the head with a 
gun, scalped and left for dead. He lived for a day or two. 

Frank A. Gallt, Publisher of the Catskill Enterprise, 
established October 1898. Born Jan. 1, 18.39, at Jeft'er.'^on, Scho. 
County, N. Y. Father and mother James and Hetty V. Gallt, of 
Harpersfield, Delaware county. Married Oct. 26, 1S82, to Carrie 

E. Pratt of Oak Hill, X. V. Learned the printing business a 
Jefferson Courier office, and was educated at Stamford academy. 
Studied art at Paterson, and came to Catskill in March 1X82. 
Employed on the Catskill Recorder, later with the Examiner. 

Served 5 years Company E., Honorary member of Citizens' 
Hose Company. Formerly secretary and treasurer of company, 
and member of the running team. Has five sons, William, Robert, 
Frank P]., Joseph, Raymond, and one daughter, Reba M., wife of 
marketman Fred E. Field. 

James Gallt, father of F. A. Gallt, was born and his early 
ife spent in a log house and the first pair of shoes that he had to 
wear was after he was big enough to make them himself. 

August 12, 1802, J. Gault received a patent and put in 
317 



bJJAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



circulation encased po^^tage stamp?; which were used all over the 
country as money. These consisted of a stamp with a layer of 
mica over the face framed in a round metal case. They were 1.2, 
:>. 5, 10, 12, 80 and 90 cents, And all of the.«e stamps enclosed 
are at a premium today of from 75 cents to S12. 

Sir John Gait was a member of the British Parliament. 

Dr. Robert Gall established the Fox Memorial Hospital at 
Oneonta. ("ol. Fox who married his daughter, being shot in the 
Rebellion. 



CLAUDE H HEATH 

Claude H. Heath, Worshipful Master of Catskill Lodge 468, 
F. li: A.M. year 1914. Was born at Cooksburgh, Albany, Co., on 
August 12th, 187H and came to Catskill April 1st, 1898. Married 
Jessie L. Moore of Mackey, Schoharie Co. on June 14th, 1899 
Have no children. 

Employed, as miller at the Rushmore mill, Catskill ALoun- 
tain Ry Co. and by the AtlanticCoast Line R. R. Co. as locomotive 
engineer and on Maj' 19th, 1911, was appointed Railroad Fire 
Inspector in the Catskill Forest Preserve, on June oth, 1912, was 
appointed Chief Inspector for the Conservation Commission, State 
of New York, which position he now holds. 

He is a member of the Reformed Dutch Church of Catskill, 
Catskill Lodge 468, F. e^' A. M., Catskill Chapter R. A. M. 28.5, 
Lafayette Commandery 7, Hudson, X. Y., Cyprus Temple A. A. 
O. N. of the Mystic Shrine of Albany, X. Y. Catskill Chapter O. 
E. S. 293, Catskill, X. Y. Catskill Masonic Club, (Past President) 
also a member of Citizens Hose Company Xo. o. of Catskill X. Y. 
Ex-Member of Co. E. X. G. X. Y. 

MAJOR AUCxUSTIXE PREVOvST 
Major .Augustine Prevost. owner of a patent of 70UO acres 
of land at Greenville, was born at Geneva, Switzerland, and serv- 
ed in the French and Indian wars, in the Royal American 
regiment, of which his father was colonel. He moved to Green- 
ville in 1794, and occupied the old house of which we show a picture 
elsewhere. He died at Greenville in 1821 . 

318 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



Promineivt Greene County Meiv 

FREDERICK GOSLEE ■ ^^^ f' '^ '*"*' 

Frederick Goslee, who represents the town of Jewett in the 
Greene County Board of Supervisors, is one of the leading men of 
that town, and having served several terms in the board naturally 
is regarded by his fellow townsmen as the right man in the right 
place. The town of Jewett has certainly been well looked after 
by him. 

The Goslees were among the early settlers of that town, 
coming to this country from Connecticut soon after the Revolution. 

Frederick M. Goslee was born at Jewett in 1866, and is the 
son of Milton Goslee. His mother was Esther L. Goslee. He was 
married to Frances E. Brainard in 1897 and has four children, 
Milton B., H. Reginald, F. Howard and Helen Esther. 

He is a member of the Presbyterian church at Jewett, and 
Mountain lodge, No. 529, Windham. 

Various members of the Goslee family have served the town 
and county in official stations. Munsion Buell, great great grand- 
father of Frederick Goslee, had the distinction of being county 
judge, and Henry Goslee, a great uncle, was also county judge. 
Henry Goslee, great greatgrandfather, was one of the early settlers 
of the town of Woodstock, later Windham and then Lexington, 
and finally now Jewett, being the different arrangements of the 
original territory of Woodstock, Ulster county. He bears the very 
considerable distinction of having been a soldier in the Revolution, 
and having been one of the guard over Major Andre, who was 
captured by the American forces with plans of West Point fortifi- 
cations in his possession, that had been given to him by Benedict 
Arnold for delivery to the British. He was shot in the leg in the 
fight at Stony Point, and for years carried the bullet. The 
doctors were unable to locate it, but one day he took his pocket 
knife and performed the operation for its removal himself. 

Other members of the Goslee family are scattered all through 
the towns of the county, and the state as well. 

Edgar B. Goslee, of Tannersville, an adjoining town, 
served in the Board of Supervisors for a number of years, being in 
the Board with Frederick Goslee. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



LEWIS HOOvSP: Y0'<'^- f-H-S^ 
The liooso family were among the early settlers of the town 
of Greenville, and tlic Iloof^es have always stood for progress and 
the welfare of the community in which they lived. Supervisor 
Lewis ] loose of Greenville is no exception to th(^ rule, (nassuming 
and retiring he never pressed himself into politics, and naturally 
enough it was with great reluctance that he yielded to the plead" 
ings of his party to represent the town in the Board of Supervisors, 
for his election was taken as a matter of course. His work in tl e 
Board was very gratifying to his friends and the town profited by 
his Avisdom. The affairs of the town at home were never better 
looked after than since they have Ijeen in his liands. 

Lewis Hoose was the son of Wm IT. Hoose and his mother 
was Miss Lucinda Webb, of Urlton, town of Coxsackie, and they 
had a family of two children. 

r>ewis Hoose was born on Feb. 5, 1858, and was married 
Marcli 1st, 1879 to Fannie J. Hotaling of Coeymans Hollow, 
Albany County. The members of his family are three sons, Eugene, 
Arthur and Charles. 

He attends the M. K. church at Greenville. Is Charter 
Member of Lyman Tremaine Lodge No. 2(3o I. (). (). F. Oaklllill, 
N. Y., also Charter Member Park Green Council Royal Arcanium 
No. 684 Greenville X. Y.. and member of Zeus Lodge No. 360 
Knights of Pythias, Greenville, X. Y. 

He served the town of Greenville as Highway Commissioner 
during the years of 1894-1895-1899-1903-1904-1905-1906. 



OMAR V. SAGE 

Omar Van Leuven Sage, Former Warden of Sing Sing 
Prison, was bornat Catskill, X.Y. December 17, 1834. He was for 
several years employed as a bookkeeper in New York City and 
later with his brothers conducted a general store at Prattsville, 
N. Y. 

320 



DEAR OLD GREE3NB COUNTY. 



From 1<SH5 to 1872 he was in the commission business^ in 
New York City. 

In 1.S80, he established the coal business at C'atskill, which 
he now conducts. 

He has served as Supervisor of Prattsville, as County Clerk 
of Greene County, and in 1889 and 1890 was a member of the 
State Assembly. From October, 1894 to May, 1.S99 he was Warden 
of Sing Sing Prison; and from October, 1899 to July, 1904, was 
Superintendent of tne House of Refuge on Randall's Island. In 
July I8()3he enlisted in Company A 86th. Regt., N. C. X. Y. : 
was made captain, August 22, of the same year; Ordinance (Officer 
Sth. Brigade, July S, 1S(;7: Assistant Adjutant General, 8th, 
Brigade, and Lieutenant Colonel, October 8, 1874; his commission 
expiring February 11, 187'); re-enlisted, 16th. Separate Company, 
October 8, 1S79; Ordinance Officer Fifth Brigade, and captain, 
January 81, 1883; and Major, Apr. 23, 1883. Major Sage is a Mason 
a director of the Catskill National Bank, and president of the Co- 
operative Fire Insurance Company and of the Commercial Mutual 
Fire Insurance Company. He married Julia F. Floughtaling, 
February 15, 18()8. 

Col. 0. V. Sage traces to David Sage, who was born in 
1639, in Wales and was one of the first settlers at Middletown, 
Ct., in 1652, where the stone marking his grave is still standing. 
From his generations come 90 per cent of the the Sages in the 
United States, a very large and honored family. 

Benjamin and Daniel Sage were with Arnold at (Quebec and 
also with General Gates at the time of Burgoyne's surrender. 
Among the 20 members of the Sage family in the Revolution Com- 
fort Sage was a colonel. 

David Sage was killed in the fighting at (Quebec. 

William Sage was killed in the fight at Bunker Hill. 

Moses Sage was killed in the fight at Lexington . 

Hosea Sage died at West Point. 
321 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



James Sage was with General George Washington at Mon- 
mouth, X. J. 

Captain Nathan Sago was a privateer and had the distin- 
guished honor of capturing an English transport loaded with 
ammunition at a time when the colonies were in great need of 
powder. Later he was a judge, and died in 1883, at Oswego, 
where he was collector of the port, 

Moses Sage was impressed into the British service, hut 
jumped overboard and escaped after swimming about three miles. 

Sparrow S. Sage, in 1812, found that during his absence 
from home his wife had been taken captive, and he trailed the 
party, having onlj^ an axe as defense. Coming up with the Indian 
who had the captives, he rushed at him with his axe, and the 
savage attempted to shoot but the flintlock missed fire, and Sage's 
axe did its deadly work. He returned home with the Indian's 
scalp, gun and tommyhawk, and his wife and another woman who 
had been captured. 

Miles Sage was captured l)y the British at Haddenfield, X. 
J., and after being bayoneted was left for dead. He recovered. 

The Hon. Russel Sage was a congressman many years, and 
a great railroad man. 

David Sage had two sons, David, born 1665 and John, born 
1668. John Sage had one son, born 1696 and his son, Benjamin, 
was born in 1703. Benjamin had o sons, Benjamin, Daniel, 
Harleigh, Selah and Jolin, and 4 daughters, Sarah, Chloie, Lucia 
and Elsie. 

Daniel Sage, his son, was born in 175(j, and he had 8 sons, 
of whom Jewett was born in 1793, and had 6 sons and 4 daugh- 
ters. He lived at Xew Berlin and was oth from David. 

Xelson Sage, son of Jewett, was born in 183(), and had 2 
sons and 2 daughters. 

Daniel Sage, was grandfather of Omar V_. Sage. He was 
322 



DEAR OLD GREENE COtTNl'Y, 



l)orn at Conesville, N. Y. in 17S5, and had 3 sons and 5 daugh- 
ters. 

His oldest son, Hart C. 8age, was father of Omar V. Sage. 
He had 3 sons, Omar C. 1S34, Omar V. 1834, and Sylvester B. 
1836. 

Omar V. Sage was 10th generation from David and has had 
3 children, Clarissa H., Elizabeth H., and Mary A. 

Sylvester B. Sage was for many years in business in Cats- 
kill in the INteech building, and his son, Clarence, is in the coal 
business with Omar V. Sage.' 

John Sage died at the age of 88 years and had 15 children, 
120 grand children, and 40 great grand children, according to the 
tablet in the old grave yard at Cromwell, Ct., 1752. 




Sali.sbur}' House, Leeds. 

The Salisbury Manor house is still standing practically the 
same as when it was built, on the heights west of Leeds. It was 
built in 1G30. 

323 




Rev. Geo. W. Thomp.sou, 
Publisher of Faith & Works. 



Johu jxciuy, 
Foraier Clerk of Catskill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



There have been some remarkable changes near the Hop-o- 
Nose. Here was located the famous old Stone Jug mansion with 
its colonial times histor3^ This mansion gave way to the continu- 
ous kiln of the shale brick plant. The headland opposite the point 
of rock was l^lasted out and carted awaj' and gave place to the 
big machinery building of the shale plant, which was commenced 
in 1882. On this headland in that year the Steamer Emaline of 
Pokeepsie, bearing a number of fire companies was sunk. The 
continuous kiln and the great stack that surmounts it were a grand 
piece of mason work built by Contractor George W. Holdridge. 
The big stack has been struck by lightning a number of times but 
stands erect and almost without a scar, except a few bricks at the 
summit. Mr. Holdridge also built the big stacks on the lower 
plant that now does the burning of the brick. 




I'., 



'( MSi|li%.'#!:f^ 



-^ Ir? ^' 










Little Falls House, South Cairo, Destroyed by Fire 191i. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



M. EDW. SILBERSTEIN. 

M. Edw. Silberstein, publisher and editor of the Catskill 
Daily Mail, was born in New York city 38 years ago. When yet a 
young man he became intensely interested in newspaper work, his 
initial appearance in that field being in 1895, when he became 
manager of the "Show,'' a little journal published by the Madison 
Square Company of New York city. Here his duties were to take 
care of the advertising, a responsibility he assumed with but scant 
experience, but with a determination to learn the business from 
the ground up. The j^ears 1898 and 1899 found him a little 
further advanced, his connection at that time being as one of the 
publishers of the Society Journal, of New York and the Far Rock- 
away Guide. A little later he joined the advertising staff of the 
New York American, representing that great Metropolitan daily 
as its solicitor for summer resort advertising in the Catskill moun- 
tains. In this capacity he remained 10 years, and while employ- 
ed on the American he became interested in street car advertising, 
and for some time controlled the advertising of the street railroad 
companies in Catskill, Kingston, Poughkeepsie, Peekskill, New 
Paltz, Highland, Hudson and Albany. He finally disposed of his 
interests to ^¥ard and Govv, of New York city and, in the year 
1906, purchased the Catskill Daily Mail. 

During his residence in Catskill, a period of about 15 years, 
Mr. Silberstein has proven that there is an exception to every rule, 
for he is one New Yorker who loves the open, and no inducement 
could lure him back to the city. All his interests, his business, 
residence and social affiliations are so closely allied to Catskill and 
Greene county, that in the fullness of time he will be written 
down, an old timer, almost a native. 



WILLIAM JOESBURY 
William Joesbury has been assessor of the village of Catskill 
for twenty-five years. In 1890 to 1894 he. was postmaster of Cats- 
kill under President Harrison. In 1865 he became a member of 
F. N. Wilson Fire company, leaving it in 1869 to organize Citi- 
zens' Hose company. He has been chief of the fire department, 
postmaster and clerk of the village of Catskill. 

337 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Militia 

We do not find much in regard to the early wars m far as 
Greene county is concerned. Representative men from the section 
came into prominence and among them were Col. Pratt, Major 
Prevost, General Haight, Colonel Dubois, and others and a good 
many men were in the ranks serving during the campaigns along 
the Mohawk river, upper Hudson River and in the Champlain 
section, Benjamin Tryon of C'oxsackie is said to have come to this 
country with Captain Kidd the great pirate, and served in the 
revolution. Capt. John Pratt, George Wright, James Utter and 
Augustus Pratt, of Durham were veterans of the revolution, and 
Captain Hinman and Timothy Munger also of Durham served in 
in the Indian wars. Capt. f:iectus Pratt also of Durham lost his 
arm at the battle of Gettysburgh. Reuben Stebbens of Greenville, 
Silas Rockwell of Durham, and Col. Ezra Post served in the war 
1812. Col. Ashiel Jones of Durham served in the Revolution. 

The old Indian trail ran from Catskill to Oak Hill, Preston 
Hollow and Middleburgh and on to the Mohawk valley. During 
the revolution the Mohawk Indians in this section became hostile 
and some of their prisoners, the A heels, Henry Plank of Oak Hill 
and a few others were taken over this route to Canada. The Abeels 
returned but Plank did not come back. A man named Howard 
was also carried to Canada. 

In the Hermance Librarj" at Coxsackie has been preserved 
a number of matters in regard to the revolutionary period that are 
most valuable. These show that as early as 1740 John L. Bronk 
was commissioned a captain in the 11th regiment of which Anthony 
Van Bergen of Coxsackie was Colonel. A remarkable number of 
men, population considered, saw service in the revolution from 
the district of Coxsackie, which was designated in 1772, and em- 
braced sections now Greenville, Durham, New Baltimore, Cairo, 
and from the names that appear it would seem that Catskill men 
must have been in the list. 

In Anthony Van'Bergen's regiment 1777, John L. Bronk, 
adjutant. W, J. Van Orden, quarter master. Joachim Tryon, 

328 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



lieutenant. Cornelius Conine, ensign. Derrick Leyerson, sergeant. 
.John Van Buskirk, lifer. John Whitbeck, capt. Wessell Salisbury 
lieut. Henry Van Bergen, ensign. John Van Vechten and John 
Du Bois lieutenants. John Wigram 2d lieut. 

In Captain Henry Xnn Bergen's company there were Peter 
Bronk, Richard Bronk, Matthias Bloom, Jacob Bogardus, Henry 
Bogardus, Manning Bogardus, John Baptiste, Ephraim Bronk, 
John G. Bronk, Philip Bronk. Peter A. Van Bergen, Godfrey 
Brandow, John Brandow, John Boom, 

Cornelius Conine, Peter Conine, Jeremian Conine, Peter 
Conyn, Hermanius CuyJer, Michael Colier, James Chichester, 
Daniel Clarke, Samuel Chichester, John Carle, Christopher Dise, 
John Dise. 

Samuel Folton, Leonard Fore, Caleb Foster. 

John Garrett, Samuel Garrett, Isaac Garrett. 

Thomas Houghtaling, Henry Houghtaling, Richard 
Hough taling. 

Peter Joans, Thomas Joans, John Jans. 

Stephen Lantman. 

James Magee, Samuel Mott. 

Joachem Van Pelt, Stephen Parmun, Jacob Parmun, 
Solomon Parmun. 

Edward Roberts. 

Cornelius Sluyter, Nathan Stanton, Ebenezer Stanton, 
Joseph Stanton, James Stanton. 

Lawrence Tead, Robert Trips, Wilson Ostrander. 

Richard Vandenburgh, Peter Van Pelt, Teunis Van Slyke, 
Peter Vandenburgh, Joechem Van Pelt, Baltus Van Slyke, Lucas 
Van Deusen, Teunis P. Van Slyke, Jacobus Van Slyke, Hendrick 
Van Slyke, Dirck Van Slyke, Tunis Vanderzee, Peter ^'an Slyke, 
Anthony Van Bergen, Peter A. Van Bergen, Robert Vandenburgh. 
Richard Vandenburgh, Martin Vandenburgh, Samuel Van Pelt. 

Nicholas VV^ells, William Wells, John Wagoner, Adam 
Wood, John Wigram, John Watson, Solomon Wiggs. 

In addition to the above list there were some nine months 
men listed for 1776. 

329 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Johannes Brandow, Godfrey Brandow, Casperus r)ronk, 
J'4)liraini 15ronk, Philip P. Bronk, Peter Bronk. 

•lereniiah Conine. 

Christopher Dise. 

Peter Shaddon, Richard Sh(M-nian, 

Stephen Lantnian. 

John \'andenburgh, Robert Vandenburgh, Richard Van- 
denburgh, NN'ilHani Vandenburgh, Peter Van 8]yke, Albert Van- 
derzee. 

A good many of these families are represented today at 
Coxsackie notably the Van Bergens, Bronks, and Van Slykes. 

The men who served in Capt. Samuel Van Vech ten's Com- 
pany formed in 1776 were: 

Samuel \'an Vechten, captain. John Hoodghkirk and John 
Boll, lieutenants. Daniel Everts, ensign. Ralph Cole, Charle 
Shaver, Isaac Overbaugh, Joseph Bettes and Teunis VanWagonen, 
seargents. Andrew Dunlap, Justus Valkner, Ambrose Tuttle, 
Gilbert Van Debogart and Stephen Mason, corporals. David 
Floyd, fifer. Elijah Manrole, drummer. 

The privates were: 

Moses Akine, Valentine Asken, Jacob Asten. 

John Barnett, Joseph Bettes, Atchison Bullock. 

Abraham, Gammer, Robert Cannada, William Canift", 
Joseph Conklin, Michael Coombs, Peter Coombs, Peter Crapo. 

William Evans, John P^merigh. 

•Jacob Farrington, William Flangler, Francis Flam in. 

William Grimsey, James Giers, John Gri/Teth. 

Matthew Halenbeck, Michael Harp, James Halstead. 

Nathaniel James. 

William King, 

Peter Laraway, Jacob Livingston, John Low. 

Isaac Marick, Stephen Mason, David Miller, John Mcllmol 
John Mizner. 

Peter Ostrander. 

Joseph Parker. 

Edward Ray, John Roberts. 
330 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Benjamin Samons, Solomon Scutt, Thomas Staats, Francis 
Smith. 

Cornehus Taylor, John Taylor, Ambrose Tuttle. 

Jacob Van Tesley, Christian Van \'orst, Gilbert Vandebo- 
gart. 

Jeremiah Wolfe. 

John Young. 

Of the above 17 deserted. They carried guns, pistols and 
tommyhawks. 

The first regiment that went out from this section in 1<S(U 
was under command of Col. George W. Pratt, and from that time 
to the end of the war there was a stream of volunteers from Greene 
county and Companies 1). K. and F. of the 120th New York were 
from here, the 5th heavy artillery had more of our men, and the 
draft of 1862 covered a list of over 1800 men. Many of these men 
were unfit for service and some found substitutes. Various bounties 
up to S750 were offered to volunteers. The report of the county 
treasurer in 1864 showed that $822,502 was raised on the County 
bonds to pay for volunteers. The total number of men furnished 
was 4190. Showing in a faint manner the awful drain of war 
upon this section. Many of these men never returned, and others 
came back crippled and maimed for life. A few still remain scat- 
tered over the county. 

During the Revolution, 17 regiments were raised in New 
York and in 1777 the Colonel of the 11th regiment was Colonel 
Anthony Van Bergen of Coxsackie, and the lieutenant Colonel 
Cornelius Du Bois, whose picture we have shown on another page 
in connection with the history of the Du Bois family. The cottage 
of Cornelius Du Bois is also shown on another page. Cornelius 
died in poverty. Though up to the last of his life he used to sit by 
the old fire place, with his pipe and tobacco and narrate his 
campaigns against the Indians in the ]Mohawk valley and along 
Lake Champlain. 

The last of the war bonds were paid in 1909. 
331 



I 







Armor}- ol Co. E., before recent Improvement 



Thehi^toiy of company E. which was organized in isso as 
the loth Separate Company, completes the miHtary record of Greene 
county. The first drill hall was over what is now Waggoner's store 
and the law offices in the Sage Building at the corner of Main and 
William streets, and Col. Omar V. Sage was the first commanding 
officer. The company had in its ranks such staunch men as Emory 
A. Chase, Clarence E. Bloodgood, Judson A. Betts, Arthur M. 
Murphy, George W. Holdridge, and others. 

The successive commanders of the company have been Col. 
(). ^' Sage, Arthur M. ]Murphy, William \V. Bennett, Lieut. 
Searles, H. W. Cowlbeck, Albert Saulpaugh, Percy W. Decker, 
Daniel J. Cassidy. 

332 




Company Iv. IV-rsonel of 1 US 



The present armory was huilt in 1SS4 at a cost of.s4().O0(), 
George A\'. J loldriflge (loins the work. It has since been greatly 
improved at an expense of many tliousands of dollars. It has a 
great drill shed, parlors, pool room, officers rooms, mess hall, 
kitchen, reading room and library, locker rooms rifle range, bowl- 
ing alleys, and is (quipped for active field service in time of 
need. 

The company forms a part of the regular militia, and is 
drilled annually in state camps by the officers of the regular 
army. 

The company was called out to ciuell riots at Lime street 
and in the great railroad strike at Buffalo. 

It has also a fine rifle range at Leeds. 

The roster of the company is (iO men, who serve without 
compensation, except that during attendance at state camp, the 
men get $10. The armory is under the personal care of Lieutenant 

327 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Charles A. Vrooman, armorer; Sergt. William Hock, assistant; 
and William E. Daniels, engineer. 

Jt has generally led in target practice and fine general 
attainment. 

The IBth separate company was represented by a full com- 
pany in the Spanish-American war, Captain \\'illiamW. Bennett 
commanding at that time. 

The men who formed Company K., Catskill, 20;)rd regi- 
ment, who served in the Spanish-American war were: 

Capt., William W. Bennett, Catskill; 1st Lieut., James G. 
Hanna, Glens Falls; 2nd Lieut., Walter I. Lyman, Watertown; 
1st Sergt., P^dwin W. Knoll; Quarter Master Sergt., Edward W. 
Mai lory. 

Sergeants: William Hock, ^lichael J. .Murphy, Robert W . 
Bowen, Albert Saulpaugh Jr. 

Corporals: John E. Bassett, Fred J. Dwyer, Leroy Palmer, 
Frank J. Brook, Albertus B. Gumming, John E. Crowley, Paul B. 
Mattice, Charles Beaucamp, George E. Hewitt. 

Musicians: Eugene A. Chilson, Ray Goodfellow. 

Artificer: George Osterhoudt; Wagoner: Lyman Huntley. 

Privates: Fred Bigelow, Joseph Bigelow, Melvin Baker, 
James Burns, William R. Burns, Roscoe Barber, Wallace J. Bell, 
Stephen Beesmer, Edward Coffee, John Clear}', Michael Connolly, 
Edward Callnan, Bernard Casey, Augustus Cargill, dec'd, Charles 
H. Carpenter, C. R. Diefendorf, Harry Distin, William E. Dwyer, 
dec'd, Joseph Ellis, John E. Flynn, James T. Fitzgerald, John B. 
Fitzgerald, Michael Fitzgerald, John B. Fritzen Jr.. William L. 
Foote, Wesley E. Garrison, dec'd, Albert E. Guthrie, dec'd, 
Christopher Granger, Dennis E. Hartnett, Robert H. Hathaway, 
Frank ^L Harvey, Charles El. Holbrook, George H. Hood, Frank 
D. Hughes, William Humphrey, J. Brien, George W. Ish, J. 
H. Judd, Jacob Johnston, Paul Kock, G, W. Long, Fred C. Legg, 
John W. Losty, H. M. McCarthy, John McCall. Peter Miller, 
John Maher, Arthur Myers, George Mason, Adam Rutz, Michael 
Madigan, dec'd, Arthur Palmer, Frank Rowan, Patrick Madigan, 
James Reardon, John McXary, dec'd, Neil Ross, John Mattice, 

334 



biJAil OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



James Sullivan, Geo. A. Morrison, James A. Sonn, dec'd, Thos. 
]\Iarshall, William Shear, Robert Newman, William Wood, Frank 
Norton, George C. Wood, Clyde Oringer, Michael T. Welsh, Geo. 
M. Phillips, Charles E. Wilbur, Thos. J. Phillips, dec'd, John C. 
Webster, dec'd. 

The company comprised 10(1 men. They went first to 
Camp Black, July 21, 189S; Camp Meade, Sept. 12, 1898; Camp 
Conewago, Oct. 1, 1898, where they were isolated on account of 
fever, and to Greenville, South Carolina, Noy. 1898. They were 
mustered out March 25, 1899. They had roses at Christmas 
time, and in February the flaps of their tents froze in zero 
weather, and stoves were installed in the tents. The men slept in 
all their clothing and overcoats, and even then they suffered very 
much from the cold. 

Charles A. Vrooman was promoted from 2nd Lieut, of K. 
to 1st Lieut. Company 8, at Greenville, S. C. 

Other Catskill men who saw service in the war were Edgar 
Johnston, who enlisted in C'o. A. Batallion U. S. Engineers, 
Regular Army, and was stationed at Manila in 1S98 and '99. 

Edgar K. Williams was with the 71st New York regiment 
and died in the service, his monument in the Catskill cemetery 
being the finest in the county. 

Paul Whitmarsh was also in the regular army. Also Arthur 
Freshwater. 

Those who served going to Honolulu were in Company 
M. Kingston. Charles M. Becker corporal, deceased. Leroy 
Overbaugh, Willis Overbaugh, Van NessPloss, Fred Lynes, Harry 
Hicks, Burton G. Nasholtz, deceased, Fred Brown, Alex King, 
Lee F. Betts, Harry Lydecker, Lewis Holdridge, Al^x Plusch, 
Clayton Bump deceased, John Hess, John Cook, Harry Fleming, 
Warren Miller, Oscar Dederick, who later served at Cebu, Fred 
Keiffer, Abram Brandow, James Barber formerly of Catskill, 
Albert Thompson, W. J. Potter. 

Chauncey Minkler and Oliver Minkler, of the 11th U. S. 
Vol. were in fights in the Philippines and Chauncey Minkler was 

335 



iDEJAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



t^liot through the arm by a iNIauser Ijullet. Marshall Smith and 
Harry Smith were at Porto Rico with the regular army. .John 
Ba.csclt, Frank Hannan and Wyekoff Smith were in the Philippines. 
Frank Norton was with Co. H. Slst Coast artillery, and so 
was Tod Shear. Harry Kirchner was at Porto Kico with the 11th 
r. S. 

The men who went to Honolulu were mustered in >hiy 1st. 
Left Fort Haaiiltnn .June 11, in camp at Presidio, Cul. Arrived in 
Honolulu. Aug 14 Made a trip to the famous volcano. Sailed for 
home Dec. S. Arrived in Kingston Dec. 27. 

Lieut. .Tomes G. Hanna, formerly of the Kith was shot in 
l(g, at .Marong, Philippines, Henry Millington was also shot in 
the leg at Bayan, Philippines, Frank Thorne Co. K. ITtli Inf- 
was in the tight at Jolo, in the Philippines. 

.1. H. Finley was with H. U. S. Cavalry. Bert Cnnklin 
I'.ith V . S. Inf. served at Cebu 

Charter Meml)Prs of lUth Separate Company: 
Fred W . Werner, Joseph F. Aldrich. Dwight Boughton, 
W. Myron Allerton, Spencer C. Phillips, Jesse T. Rundell, George 
R. Olney, Peter Welsh, A. K Hill, \Vm. H Owens, Frank P. 
Hicks, Wallace M. Hunter, William. P. Cowles, Peter J. Regan, 
Lucius R. Doty, John W. Shufelt, Egbert Palmer, Charles A. 
Spencer, Marcus K. Halcott, Frank E. Van Gorden, George D. 
Boughton, Wheeler Howard, Sylvester B. Sage, Chas. Flanigan, 
John H. Hulbert, James M. Beach, Herbert Xiklewicz, Edwin 
Ashley, Geo. F. Tolley, Joseph Obert, Minis Plank, Granville R. 
Per.son, Frederick Clark, Jacob W. Kelley, William Rider, Frank 
Lynes, Albert Saulpaugh, Wm. H. Minnick, John Wince, Sidney 
Austin, C. A. Laun, Philip Smith, Emory A. Chase, James 
Holdridge, James S. Smith, Eugene Wayne. George H. Brandow, 
Frank H. Burroughs, Wm. L. Mead, Gottleib Fromer, James H. 
Salisbury, Clarence Van Valkenburgh, R. A. Browere. Carlton E. 
Coffin, Clarence Bloodgood, G. Howard Jones, Henry T Jones, 
R. L. Rosselle, Wm. H. Adams, Frederick Seldon jr., Donald 
Brauleigh, Louis E. Deer, J. S. Bamforth, William P. Mc Claury, 
Louis W. Richardson, William E. Thorpe, Ira Gay. 

386 



DB3AR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Other members shortly after were: Albert Saulpaugh, 
Herman Behm, W. J. Soper, Harry C. Vedder, Thomas E. Jones, 
Wm. A. Pennoyer, J. Frank Boughton, Wm. H. Palmer, Wilson 
Thomas, Thomas Jackson jr., Albert R. Austin, George Fitchett, 
Charles E. Butler, Wm. H. Brundage, .John F. Callahan, .John J. 
Ladeau, Thomas Carney, George Egnor, William L. Gunther, 
Anthony Von Pieper, George A. Englert, Joseph Bell, Julius 
Kircher. 

The first captain was Col. Omar V. Sage, who was followed 
by Arthur M. Murphy, Harry M. C. Vedder, WiUiamW. Bennett 
Albert Saulpaugh, Percy W. Decker, and Daniel Cassidy now at 
the head of the command. H. W. Cowlbeck and F. R. Searles 
were in charge for a time, the former taking the company to New 
York where they participated in the Dewey parade. 

Dr. Wm- P. McClaury, E. E. Elliott and F. R. Searles 
served as assistant surgeons. 

The lieutenants of the Kith. Arthur Murphy, P]mory A. 
Chase, Irving Osborn, Augustus R. Hill, R. L. Rosselle, Bornt W. 
Stryker, Robert J. Beach. 

The present othcers of the company are: 

Capt. — Daniel J . ( 'assidy . 

1st Lieutenant— Lucius H. Doty. 

2d Lieutenant— William Heath. 

Sergeants -Wm. J. Scott, M.J. Carl, David E. Cole. 

(Quarter Master Sergeant -Wm. E. Daniels. 

Corporals— Percy H. Doty, W. W. Comfort, J. R. Cole. 

Roster of Men— Privates -J C. Brooks, H. W. Becker, 
Wm. E. Clark, Norman Cole. Wm. Delanoy jr., P. G. Doty, D. 
M. Downes, Louis C. Fiester, Omar Frayer, R. H. Freer, W. H. 
Graf, R. P. Hallenbeck, E. E. Hallenbeck, John Heath, H. E. 
Knapp, F. E. Knapp, M. H. McGovern, Raymond R. O'Brien, 
A. W. Phillips, Antoine Peterson, E. B. Robb, Ernest Saxe, A. A. 
Scott, A. P. Shield, H. R. Sigwarth, W. J. Shufelt, Ivan Slater, 
Clarence Smith, Wm. Teetsell, Alger Van Hoesen, O. I. Webber. 

337 



bfiJAft OLD GRBBJNB COtJNtt. 



Charles A . \'rooman has been armorer for marly years 
assisted by William F. Hock, who was sergeant of the company. 
William K. Daniels has been clerk. 

J. W. WATSON POST 514 G. A. R. 

John W. Watson Post No. 514, Department of New York 
G. A.R. was organized Sept. 23, 1884, at Number 5 engine house, 
Catskill, with a charter membership of 20, and Joseph F. Joesbury 
Commander- He died during his second term of office, January, 
28, 1880, and George W. Holdridge completed his term. John B. 
L. Oakley was commander for ;> years 1887-89, W. R. Vedder 
1890, Charles A. Vrooman l81»l-2, W. R. Vedder 1893, Theodore 
B. Beach 1894-r), William H. Adams 1897-8, Benjamin W. Grant 
1899, to 1910. He was succeeded by J. Hubbard Wilcox the 
present head of the organization. 

Shortly after organization Odd Fellow's hall was rented 
and is still used by the post as headquarters. 

Of the charter members Wm H. Adams and George W. 
Holdridge are living. 

The present officers of the Post are: 

John H. Wilcox —Post Commander. 

William C. Tice— S. \. Commander. 

Solomon J. Mott— J. ^^ Commander. 

A. S. Castle— Adjutant. 

Henry G. Myers— (Quartermaster. 

James B. Rouse -Surgeon. 

William H. Hull— Chaplain. 

William Caniflf- Officer of Day. 

George W. Holdridge -Patriotic Instructor. 

William J. Reed— Officer of Guard. 

Benjamin W. Grant — Quarter Master Sergeant. 

Wm. H. Adams - Sergeant Major. 

Trustees John N. King, David D. Ostrander, William 
CanitY. 

Relief Committee— William W. Hull, John N. King, Wm. 
H. Adams. 



bBiAit OLD GRjJBlNi) COtJ^tt. 



The muster roll shows the following members : 
Wm. H. Adams, James Akeley, John H. Brandow, Chas. 
C. Beauchamp. Wm. P. Bell, Theo. B. Beach, Nelson R. Benton, 
Geo. A. Bogardus, Andrew D. Berry, Geo. H. (bons, A. Sidney 
Castle, William Caniflf, Marion Couchman, Fred O. Friar, Benj. 
W. Grant, Calvin Goodwin, Geo. W. Holdridge. Joseph Hert, 
Wm. W. Hull, Albert Hansen, John N. King, Albert H. Kelsey, 
Wm. H. Lee, Joseph H. Lounsbury, Solomon J. Mott, Henry G. 
Myers, Edmond R. Martin, John Mc Cor mack, Maj. Geo. S. 
Nichols, Peter Overbaugh, David W . Ostrander, James B. Rouse, 
Mortimer Rockerfeller, Nicholas Russell, Nathaniel F. Roe, Albert 
E. Rider, Aaron V. S. Rouse, Peter H. Scribner, Geo. D. Spoor, 
Wm. S. Swart, Robert Snyder, James Stevens, Richard Sisco, 
Wm. C. Tice, A. Sidney Thomas, Charles Trowbridge, Wm. H. 
Teal, John W. Van Leuven, Chas. \'roman, Chas. Vedder, John 
John H. Wilcox, Geo. W. Winans, Wm.R. Weddel, John Young, 
('harles Wildey, Wm. Brandow, Aaron C. Betts, H. C. Becker, 
Enoch Walters. 

Those who have been mustered out by death are : 
Isaac Benton, Samuel Brandow, Geo. N. Brandow, Alfred 
R. Cole, Jacob Carl, Jeremian Connolly, Martin B. Cross, J. H. 
Carpenter, Harvey Delamater, Henry Darling, Lucas Decker, 
Chauncy Dickerson, Cornelius Du Bois, Geo. W. Edwards, M. A. 
J. Edwards, Thomas Edwards, Stephen Ennist, Joseph P]mbree, 
Edgar Elmendorf, Wm.H. Fuller, Columbus Frey, Michael Foley, 
Aug. Goeller, .himes Gardner, Jas. Hallenbeck, Albert Hadden, 
Wellington Howell, Asa Holmes, John M. Hannon, John Hood, 
Alexander Halicouse, Geo. Halicouse, Simon Hock, John Jones, 
Joseph Josebury, J. A. Kellerhouse, Wm. H. Losee, Wm.Laverty, 
John Long, James Lake, Geo. S. Ludington, Andrew Overbaugh, 
J. Malcolm, James B. Mitchell, Chester S. Morgan, David C. 
Mower, A. E. Miltimore, Harmon Melius, Patrick Madigan, Geo. 
Meeker, Chas. P. Myers, Geo. Markel, Wm. P. McLaury, J. H. 
McChesney, J. B. Oakley, Egbert Post, David S. Preston Wm. A. 
Pennoyer, Geo. Powell, Walter Parsells, Wm. J. Reed, Robert A. 
Scott, James W. Sonn, John Spahn, James H. Stewart, George 

339 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 

Saxe, John C. Shear, Wm. Selleck, J. C. Shiller, Abram Spoor, 
J. Frank Story, Chas. L. Santer, Wni. Sharpies, John Sherlock, 
Frnnk Swartwout, James Henry Snow, JohnSecord, John Snyder, 
.1 . K. Thompson, ('has. Thornton, Wm. Van Steenburgh, Isaac 
\'an Loan, M. S. \'an Loan, Wm. H. Whitcomb, John N.Wilson, 
W. L. M'oodruflf, Luther S. \\'right. Jonathan B. Webster, 
Stephen Webster, Alexander Young, Jacob L. Yates, Geo. Sears. 

There are now l)uried in the different cemeteries in Catskill 
of the Revolutionary, the Civil, and the Spanish- American wars, 
250 soldiers. At the entrance of the Catskill Cemetery there is a 
soldiers' monument and on this plot are buried 2(\ veterans. 

There were also connected with the Post a Woman's Relief 
Corps and an encampment of Sons of Veterans, but these organi- 
zations have disbanded. 

Watson Post is in good financial condition and has been 
the means of bringing assistance to many veterans and their needy 
families. 



HOLLISTER POvST, COXSACKIE 

Hollister Post No. 27, G. A. R. was organized and its first 
set of oflicers installed by Lew Benedict Post of AFoany. 

At the organization of this Post there were 70 members. 
Now there are only 16 survivors, and Col. Van ^^'ie has been com- 
mander continuously for 26 years. 

The present officers are: 

Commander — John B. Van Wie; senior vice commander — 
Dayid Hoffman; junior vice commander — George Jones ; chaplin — 
Isaac Xebhenburgh; surgeon — Jacob Wentworth; quartermaster — 
Chas. E. Van Valken burgh; officer of the day — Joel B. Cole; 
officer of the guard— John S. Hiseerd; adjutant— Newton J. Cal- 
kins; delegate to State encampment— Warren P. Smith; alter- 
nate — John S. Hiseerd. 

340 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



A. N. BALDWIN POST 263. HUNTER 
A. N. Baldwin Post 263, Hunter, X. Y. was organized in 
1882, by Major J. H. Everett of Pratt Post, Kingston. At one 
time there were about 60 members, but at the present time there 
are only about a dozen members. J. H. Wilcox who is inspecting 
officer found a bare organization on the occasion of his recent 
visit. 

The Army Post at Cairo passed out of existence a number 
of years ago. 



3chool Directors, Trustees arvd Teachers 
of County 

First District, Greene County 

Directors— Hon. Clarence E. Bloodgood, Cat^lvih, Chair- 
man; Claude Witing, Athens; David T.. Jerome, Andrew P. Freese, 
Cairo: Thomas C. Perry, dist. supt., Catskill; Dr. E.H. Van Den- 
burgh, Arthur Powell, Coxsackie; Dr. . I. B. Rouse, Leeds. 

Trustees of the town of Athens — Daniel W. Saunders, Orin 
(^ Flint, John J. O'Grady, Rueben B. Quick, O. D. Van Valken- 
burgh, Athens; Edward Gonnerman, Catskill; Ira B. Kerr, Cats- 
kill. 

Teachers— Charles D. Coutant, prin., Elizabeth Slattery, 
Isaljella Rainey, Marion Lewis, Ruth Harris, p]lla Gallup, C. 
Louise Miller, Fanny Leworthy, Mrs. Helena Wood, M. Blanche 
Wood, Emily Horn, Margaret Van Woert, Athens; Esther Rowe, 
Leeds; F. LenaMcCarthy, INIrs. Elsie Mauterstock, Catskill. 

Trustees of the town of Cairo— George W. Squires, A. H. 
Rocker, Cairo, Guy Meddaugh, Acra,. W. Benjamin Roe, Free- 
hold, Jos. Mo iMfeon, South Durham, J.W. Fiero, Round Top, 
Amos Rose, Clarence Arnold, Purling, John Rouse, Charles Bas- 
sett. South Cairo, Isaac Powell, Leeds. 

Teachers — Edward Richmond, Hope L. Farnham, Mary 
Halloran, Grace Timraerman, S. Edna Story, Melville Bulmer, 

341 



DEAR OLD QRBBNE COUNTY. 



Cairo, Willard C. Van Dyck, Ethel Chadderdon, Acra, Orloff 
Story, Josephine O'Hara, Freehold, Jane Miller, Round Top, 
Theodore Whitcomb, Purling, Mrs. l']lizabetli Jump, Mrs. Ahna 
Clay, Judge K. Haner, Leeds. 

Trustees of the town of Catskill— Dr. F. C. Clarive, pres., 
James .Sterritt, Percy Holmes, F. I). Overbagh, Edgar Saxe, S. C. 
Sutton, Charles Story, Luther Saxe, T. J. William, Ciarence Mar- 
tin, Catskill, B. David Guth, Alsen, John Hinman, Palenville, 
W. R. Vedder, Leeds, Scharken Stewart. South Cairo, Mrs. S. A. 
Craft, Cementon. 

Teachers — E. C. Hocmer, supt. , ^I. Alice Saxe, Mrs. Auuu 
MoUoy, Mrs. Harriet Ptlegl, M. Geneva Garling, Mrs. Hattie 
Maher, Carrie Bogardus, Mrs. Lottie Holmes, Beulah Timmer- 
man, Catskill, Herbert DeLong, Nellie Lawrence, Annabel Rose, 
Frances Timmerman, Palenville, Arthur Lewis, Julia Vedder, 
Pauline Davis, South Cairo, Edward Keeley, Saugerties, M.Agnes 
Ellinger, Mary O'Brien, Helen Buckman. Alsen. 

Trustees of the town of Coxsackie — L. A. Warren, A. A. 
Collier, B. G. Townsend, Wm. Youmans, Elmer Van Valken- 
burg, Coxsackie, W^m. K. Palmer, Charles Lampman, William 
Townley, Uriton, Charles Martin. Climax. 

Teachers — Henry R. Soper, principal. M. Sophia Fuller ^ 
Ella Morgan, Annie Craigie. Mae D. Link, Anna Spoor, Edith 
Van Denburgh, Eliza Green, Jennie Whitbeck, Amy Smith, Char- 
lotte Olmsted, Laura Bailey, Grace Van Schaack, Marian Mackey, 
Harriet Conklin, Coxsackie, Ethel Bobbins, Bessie Lezatte, I'rl- 
ton, Reginald Van Woert, Louis T,ounsbury, Athens, Matie Jones, 
W. Coxsackie, Grace Cheeseman, Mabel Youmans, Coxsackie, 
Mary O'Brien, Climax. 



Second District, Greene County 



Teachers — West Coxsackie — Mabel Vosburgh. 
New Baltimore Station— Sarah Bobbins, Marion Van Hoe- 
Grace Looney, Ada Powell. 

342 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Ravena — Maomi Vroman. 

New Baltimore — Edna Hotaling, Harry Ostrauder, Alida 
Mulder, Alice Sidlake. 

West C'oxsackie — Evelyn Austin. 

Triton — Gertrude Tryon. 

Windham — Alda Miller, Florence Marquit, Clarence Powell, 
Ada .Smalling, Beatrice Steele, Harriet McLean, Christine Wood, 
Kittie Doolittle, Blanche Miller. 

Hensonville— P]dith O'Conner, Abner Wood worth. 

Norton Hill— Ivan Clifford. 

Freehold— INIrs. Minnie Beers, Hazel Highney, Idson (iib- 
son, Katherine Beichman. 

Greenville -- Annie Coonley, C. L. Cook, Julia Rider, Mrs. 
A. D. Townsend, Charlotte Story, Julia Hallenljcck, Eva Hoose, 
Mrs. Edith Abrasis, Hattie Creen, Clara Minkley. 

Surprise— Jessie E. Boyd. 

Gayhead — Robert Webber, P]dith Losee. 

Cornwallville— Florence Beach, Mrs. iVnna Smith, Edna 
Brainerd. 

Durham— Maude Stryker, W. D. Hull. 

East Durham — Frank Paddock. 

Cooksburg — Mrs. Effie Bates. 

Oak Hill — Ermon Stewart. 

Sunside — Clara Paddock. 



Third District, Greene County. 

Directors Stewart Tuttle, Haines Falls; C. B. Bronson, 
Ashland. 

Trustees of the town of Ashland -Sternes Clark, John C. 
Campbell, Ashland, Lambert Cooke, Windham, Dwight Tuttle, 
Ashland, Lewis Case, Prattsville. 

Teachers — Raymond Moseman, John Hayes, Kathryn L 
Lynch, Etta Payne, Ashland, Warguerite Van Orden, Winham, 
Ida France, Prattsville. 

Trustees of the town of Halcott— John Ballard, Travis 
Faulkner, W. K, Crosby, Leo J. Deamer, Halcott Center. 

347 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Teacher? — Sadie Rose. Martha Whitney, Deborah Morse, 
Nathanial Bleekman, Halcott Center. 

Directors of the town of Hunter — K. \'. Ballo, Hunter; E. 
Darius Lindsley, Platte Clove. 

Trustees — F. B. Kerr, James Jackson, F. B. Wilcox, Ar- 
thur Higgins, Hunter. Harvey Lane. Lanesville, David Showers, 
J. Frank Lackey, Tannersville, Michael Shield, Elka Park, Uriah 
Haines, A. Holdridge, Haines Falls, Elmer Kerr, Edgewood, G. 
W. Byrnes. 

Teachers — Elizabeth Fountain, John Kay, H. Margery 
Felter, INIinnie Hunting, Louise Webster, Marion Orr, M. Emily 
Hayden, Hunter, Mrs. A. Crosby, Lanesville, C. L. Bailey, Anna 
Y. Dempsey, Frances A. Formans, Josephine Swift, Mrs. Jessie 
Showers, Annie Glennon, Tannersville, Herbert Dimond, Elka 
Park, Stewart Tuttle, Mary Dowd, Mrs. Anna Tuttle, Haines 
Falls, ^Slrs. M. E. Lester, Edgewood, E. Delmar Smith, Platte 
Clove. 

Trustees of the town of Jewett — Martin Garvey, Tanners- 
ville, E. A. Sweet, E. C. Miles, Frank Carr, Hunter, William 
Mead Jewett, R. L.'_Towner, Andrew Sweet, Jewett, George Bar- 
num, Frank Woodworth. East Jewett, 

Teachers— Raymond Cronk, Orpha Kelley, A. L. Coons, 
Edith Sweet, East Jewett, Helen Witte, Josephine Park, Renssel- 
aer Reynolds, Hunter, Nina Lee, Emory Dunham, Wilhelmina 
Olmsted, Jewett. 

School directors of the town of Lexington — Daniel Kirk, 
Westkill; Ransom Hogaboom, Lexington. 

Trustees — Arnold Van Valkenburgh, Spruceton. Harrison 
Ostrander, E. E. Sharpe, Romaine Van Valkenburgh, Westkill, 
Frank Beggs, Manley Howard, Arthur .Jenkins, Lexington, H.Du 
Souchet, Bushnellsville, W. Charles Maben, Leland Tompkins, 
G. D. Rappleyea, Prattsvillc George Ennist, Allaben. 

Teachers— Mrs. Edith Orlando, Leon Peters, Otis Hender- 
shot, Weskill, J. M. Osman, Lulu Patterson, Mary Merchant, E. 
D. Lewis, Lexington. Pearl Cole, Bushnellsville, Jva Rappleyea, 



344 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Mrs. H. K. Huggans, Prattsville, Kathleen Kelly, Allaben. 

Directors of the town of Prattsville— James Mc Williams, 
Perry Newcomb, Prattsville. 

Trustees — Andrew Carman, George Peckham, B. G. INIorss, 
J. H. Brandow, John Jenkins, S. R. Cammer, Prattsville. 

Teachers — Mrs. E. C. Hummell, Myrtle Myers, Mrs. Grace 
Huggans, Mrs. Flora Howard, Kittie Layman, Helen Johnson, 
Mary MucCoubrey, Prattsville. 



FRANK C. CLARKE 



Dr. Frank C. Clark, of Catskill, is a member of the Sons 
of the Revolution, a direct descendant of Colonel Randall Spencer, 
whose granddaughter was Dr. Clarke's paternal grandmother. 
Colonel Spencer was born at West Greenwich, Rhode Island, but, 
when a young man, removed with his family to^Berlin, Rensselaer 
county, where he resided until his death. He fought with distinc- 
tion with the American forces throughout the Revolution and was 
esteemed for his devotion to the cause of patriotism. Dr. Clarke 
who has been engaged in the drug businesslin Catskill for many 
years, is president of the Board of Education,'^_Catskill. 




An Early Ashland Saw Mill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Aishlarvd 




It was not until 1S48 that the 
boundaries were set for the town of 
Ashland and portions of Prattsville 
and Windham were taken to form 
the few thousand acres that com- 
prises the town. The principal vil- 
lage or hamlet is Ashland and the 
section is devoted chiefly to dairy- 
ing, some summer boarders being 
taken. The earliest settlers to whom 
reference is made by the old resi- 
dents comprise the Stimpsons, Mar- 
tins, Prouts, Ponds, Ferrises, Lees, 
Tuttles, Disbrows, Dodges, Hitch- 
cocks, Brandows, Smiths, Suttons, 
Boughtons, and while in years 
H. Clay Ferris later many of their representatives 

have drifted towards the eastern centers of population adjoining 
the river many of the'time honored names are conspicuous. Peo- 
ple of Ashland have always been remarkable for longevity, and 
the spirit of religion has always predominated in this section. 

In 1709 was built at Old Windham, now Ashland the 
Presbyterian church which is doubtless the oldest church on the 
mountains. The first pastor was Henry Stimson who preached 
for six months, alternating with an appointment at Jewett 
Heights. The church at Ashland has always been regarded as 
one of the strong organizations of the county. The society was 
incorporated in 1801. The record of pastors is incomplete. The 
present pastor is Samuel Warrender. 

The Episcopal church at Pleasant Valley appears to have 
been organized in the same year, 1799, the articles being tiled in 
Ulster County. The church building was erected in 1814. The 
first pastor however was the Rev. Philander Case, and the number 
of men who have served the church has been remarkably small, 

347 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Rev. Joseph Berry from 1803 to 1817, the Revs. Samuel Fuller 
and James Tompkins seived from that period to 1831, the Rev. 0. 
F. Holcomb to 1843, Rev. Thomas Judd to 18(i3. The present 
pastor isR. R. McDonald Bleeker. 

The early industry was the getting of hemlock Ijark for the 
many tanneries that flourished along the Batayiakill. Gideon 
Rrainard established a woolen mill, and a man named Bidwell 
had a carding and fulling works. There was a grist mill at North 
Settlement and a number of saw mills. Lyman Morse and Jarius 
Strong conducted tanneries. Cider mills also flourished. 

The first public tavern as they were known was built by 
Medad Hunt at Batavia, John Tuttle, Jacob Benham, and Jehliel 
Tuttle also had taverns of the early period. There are many of 
these old time taverns all in disuse the past 30 j^ears scattered 
along the roads that reached from the rural sections to Catskill. 
And these accommodated the drovers and freight wagons that 
found their way to the river markets. 

The town of Ashland has been on a steady decline in popu- 
lation since 1850, when it had 1290 inhabitants. In 1865 there 
were 1080, in 1875, 935, in 1880, 899, in 1900, 647, and since 
that time the population has lost about 40 persons. The entire 
county has shown a decrease of 4 per cent in population in the 
past ten years, and a loss from 1850 of about 3000. The popula- 
tion in 1850 was 33,126. It is now just under 30,000. 

The men who have served Ashland as supervisors are: 

John Ives, Daniel B. Strong, Joshua Draper, Sylvester B. 
Hitchcock, William S. Boughton, Lyman Robinson, Isaac Van 
Schaack, Wm. Mj-ers, Austin Smith, Peter Stanley, Nathaniel 0. 
Ormsbee, Albert Tuttle, Jonas Smith, Albert Steel, Egbert B. 
Dodge, 1868, Edgar Smith, Joseph Saxe, Archibald Tompkins, 
Hiram B. Clark, Wilbur F. Lee, now of Catskill, Giles Sutton, 
Darius B.Prout. Clinton D. Ferris 1885, '88, Wilbur F.Lee 86-87, 
Daniel W. Hyatt 89-90, Thomas W. Jeralds 91-92, Giles Sutton 
93, Frank Finch.94-95, Samuel A. Barlow 96-97-98, Herbert R. 

348 



DEAR OLt) GREENE COUNTY. 



Steele 99-1900, Levi Tompkins 01-02-08, Homer Tompkins 04-07, 
Francis L. Dodge OS-11, H. Clay Ferris 1912-15. 

A remarkable giant willow tree standing on the Prout farm 
is the production of a willow whip which was stuck into the ground 
in 1798. In 1913 a ton of cement was used in filling a cavity that 
had decayed into the tree. 

The Methodist church at Ashland was organized in 1841 
and meetings were held in the school house. A church was erect- 
ed in 1843. A. S. Lakin was the first pastor. The Rev H. L. 
Seaman is the present pastor, and he also supplies the pulpit of 
the church at North Settlement. 

The Catholic chuich which building is fast falling into 
decay has not been used for religious services in the past 20 years. 

One of the old landmarks that was formerly the Old 
Ashland House is owned by Christian and Lee and is used as a 
farm house. 

Many years ago one of the first seminaries in this section 
was located at Ashland in 1853, but was burned in 1861. 

There has been no big fires during tlie past 30 years. 

Among the industries of the town the principal one is the 
big creamery of the Shefiield-Slauson-Decker Co. and practically 
all of the milk in the town is taken to this creamery. 

Another industry is the saw mill and grist mill of D. 1). 
Tompkins. 

The business of the town is taken care of by F. L, Dodge, 
score and postoffice. 

A. B. Munson, hardware store, hotel. No license. 

S. L. Lee, general store. John .Jordon, blacksmith. 

There is a mail route from Ashland to Hunter. Free Rural 
route from Prattsville to Ashland. D. D. Tompkins carries the 
mail and ^>rnon Chatfield the free rural. 

349 



bBiAR OLD GREEJNES COtN'Tt. 



There are three cemeteries in the town, Pleasant ^'alle3' 
Sutton Hollow, and West Settlement. 

The oldest house in Ashland is that of Darius B. Prout. 

The farm occupied by Supervisor H. Clay Ferris has been 
occupied by five generations of Ferrises, and the first house was 
of logs, and constructed by the great grandfather of Mr. Ferris, 
and who was one of the pioneer? of the town. 



AtKervs 

Reaching Athens from Catskill 
over the state road the first place 
that comes into prominence is a 
large brick structure that was built 
l)y General Haight in 1812, and 
which is known as the (iantley 
House, being the property of Daniel 
\V. (xantley, another war veteran, 
who came up from New York and 
spent rtost of his life at Athens, 
passing to the other side in 1S81 at 
the age of 94 years. The marble 
steps, the old brass knocker on the 
front door, and the entire interior 
are exactly as Mr. Haight construc- 
ted them. The interior of the man- 
Frank Nichols sion has the exqusite charm of the 
most elaborate architecture and furnishings of the Colonial period. 
The place is owned by Thomas Van Loan, and occupied by Eugene 
Van Loan and family, and it was the courtesy of Mrs. Van Loan 
which gave the writer access to the building, and a description of 
it. The beauty of the interior is heightened by the display of 
105 paintings, the work of the world's great artists. The first parlor 
has its old time red velvet carpet, and the rear parlor or gallery 
floor a beautiful mosiac of inlaid work of highly polished vrood of 

350 




JDEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



different colors. The winding stair case at the end of the great 
hall is most impressive. The brick were brought from Holland. 




The General Haight Hou.se. 

Mrs. Haignt was Jane Van Loan, one of the well known 
family, so closely interwoven with all the history of Athens. For 
the Van Loans, the Nichols, Spoors, Hallenbecks, Van Woerts, 
have the honor place among the early comers to the county. 

Early as 1800 Athens village was simply a farm, owned by 
the Van Loons. The old stone house, of which we present a view 
was the first structure in 1726, and it is at the upper end of the 
town, and was in modest proportions to the Gantley house. The 
present occupants are Nelson Hotaling and Lester Kisselburgh. 

John Van Loan paid $3000 for the farm that is now the 
village of Athens. A burying ground being reserved from the 
land , 

Condrai Flack was buried in Episcopal ground May 4, 1789 
at the age of 76 years, lie operated a ferry across to Hudson. 

Teunis Van Vechten, Johannes Brandow and Joachim 
Jansen owned Lot one, of what was the town of ^Vthens. 

351 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Van Vechtens deed was dated October 15, 1757, and the 
lot extended from the Hudson River nearly to the Potic creek. 
The Van \'echtens appear to have gone south as far as far as 
the Catskill creek, where the Van Vechten house now stands. 

In 1780 there were about 20 families settled in the entire 
town. The Hallenbecks and Van Loons predominated and remain 
today. Also ("loughs, Brandows and Van Bergens. 

The town Esperanza was projected before Athens village, 
and a part of this land was Dooper Island upon which the steam- 
er Swallow was wrecked in April, 1845, 40 lives being lost. We 
present a picture of the wreck from an old print. Benjamin Hav- 
iland builtthe first house in Esperanza. .John G. Voogd started 
the brick industry, followed by Wm. P. Alcott. Joseph Colson 
had a hotel in Esperanza and Samuel Hamilton was a magistrate 
in 1811. Hedied in 1S51. 




The Old Brick Row, Athens. 

In 1801 John Spoor made a map of a portion of Athens 
which is in existence at Washington. Joseph Seeley built the first 
hotel in Athens and his son, Castle Seeley, was postmaster of 
Athens for 20 years. 

352 



DBAk OLb GREENE COUNTY. 



In 1802, and for 12 years, Russell Leffingwell carried on a 
distillery near the ship yard, and he also erected a dwelling about 
the time that the Haight house was erected. 

The first supervisor of the tovvn' was Isaac Northrup in 
1815, then came Henry Wells, William Tolley, Sylvester Nichols, 
Castle Seeley, Eli Pierce, John Clough, Benjamin Haviland, 
Casper Van Loan, Wm. Morton, Henry Van Loan, Alonzo Green, 
Isaac Whitbeck, Geo. S. Nichols, 1851, Isaac Whitbeck, David 
Whitein, John I. Hallenbeck, Isaac VanSchaack, Prentiss Hallen- 
beck, Wm. K. Reeves, Dr. John H. Wheeler, Joseph Robbins, 
Enos Edwards, John Eeardsley, John Pennington, Henry Straban 
1871-78, Harmon Van Woert 73-83, Clark Porter, William T. 
Nichols, Thomas H. Briggs, Harmon Van Woert, Jere Brooks, W. 
C. Brady, H. I. Van Loan, John K. Van Woert, W. C. Brady, 
Elmore Mackey now Sheriff, and Frank Nichols. 

The village officials are Frank S. Howland president 
Claude Whiting, Mark Brennan, James Lynch and Frank Beards- 
ley trustees. Henry R. Van Woert clerk, W. C. Brady treasurer, 
Nelson Clow collector. Assessors, the board of trustees. 

The first clerk of the village of Athens was Henry Wells. 

So far as the church organizatic>ns are concerned the first 
church was the Lutheran and that was organized in 1704 and was 
one of the few between New York and Albany, and the Rev. 
Justice Faulkner was the preacher. The particular spot being 
known as Loonenburgh, after the Van Loons undoubtedly. The 
church of the Palentines at West Camp was in this circuit. 

Albert, Matthias and Jan \'an Loon in 1721 gave deed to 
the church lands. The first church was erected in 1724. This 
building was square and had four roofs shaped to a V and with a 
spire steeple. This building gave place to the present structure. 
The Rev. Jacob S. Paul is the present pastor. 

The Trinity Episcopal church was organized in 180(), at 
Loonenburgh, and the building was erected in 1813. The Rev. 
Mr. Prentice was rector and General Samuel Haight was the 

353 



t)BAR OLD GREEJ^E COUNTY. 



principal contril^itor, s-iTo being for pew rent. Dominie Prentice 
was killed in 1837 when a stage tipped oyer at Coxsackie. From 
1833 to 1835 the Rev. John Griggs was rector. Rev. Howard 
Whitney is now rector. 

The Methodist church was organized about 1820. The 
Rev. ^^^ a. Greenleafls the present pastor. 

The Dutch Reformed Church was organized in 182(). The 
Rev. David Abeele was the first pastor and he went out as the 
first missionary to China. Other pastors were the Rev. C. Von 
Kleef, Joseph Wilson, Jefferson Wynkoop, Edwin Holmes, 
Joseph Wilson, Wm. A. Cornwell, J. R. Tallmadge, Rev. Mr. 
Betts, W. D. Buckalew, C. Spaulding, Allen D. Campbell, 
Herman Vanderwoert. The Rev. H. G. Hergie is the present 
pastor. 

The Baptist church was organized in 1832, and its full list 
of ministers has not been preserved. The pre-ent pa-tor is the 
Rev. Walter C. Bishop. 

The Roman Catholic church was organized in 1871. Rev. 
Father Gillin, present pastor. 

The old burying ground on the Northrup place contains the 
mortal remains of Jan VanLoon, Matthias Van Loon and many of 
the early settlers. 

The Athens Rural Cemetery is a part of that lot. and was 
incorporated in 1847. 

Mt. Hope Cemetery is also a part of the same lot on the 
Esperanza purchase. More of the Van Loons are buried here, 
and it is announced on one of the stones that Albertus Van Loon 
departed this life with a cancer. 

The Clark family, honored residents, trace back to Samuel 
Clark IGlo, William .Clark. 1712, Reuben Clark 1743, Nathan 
Clark 1787. He started a pottery at Athens in 1808. His partner 
Ethan Fox founded the Baptist Church at Athens. Edward Clark 

354 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



was born in 1811, and he became a part owner of the Singer Sew- 
ing machine company, the copartnership being I. N. Singer & Co. 
and to Mr. Clark goes the credit for organizing the Singer Sewing 
Machine Company with a capital of $500,000. Nathan Clark died 
in 1891. 

The brick industry of Athens is conducted by three pros, 
perous firms. William W. Rider whose plant has a capacity of 
100,000 brick per day, and who has had the plant since 1875, 

N. Gladfelter has a plant of 50,000 capacity. 

Joseph Moyonne has a patent dryer with a capacity of 
50,000. 

Wm. C. Brady and his father before him, an undertaking 
firm of long standing, have conducted the interment of more than 
3000 persons mostly in these cemeteries, and W C. Brady has 
buried more than the entire present population of Athens. He 
has a complete alphabetical record with dates and ages which is 
most remarkable. 

Morton Steamer Company, of Athens, has the following 
officers: President, Charles Hitchcock; vice president, Charles B. 
Miller; forman, Ray Weeks; 1st ass't, Alex. Fyfe; 2nd ass't, 
Leonard Ford; secretary and trustee, Theodore Gritman; treasur- 
er, James Holmes. 

The Ice industry is one of the most important. The big 
houses are: American Ice Company, Willis A. Winne, Hudson 
River Ice Company, J. Brooks Co. Theo Evory Ice Company, 
E. E. Briggs, F. R. Howland and Son, Dwyer Brothers and 
Rafferty, Arrow Ice Company, and Avery & Eichhorn. 

The Athens Textile Company employs a large number of 
persons. 

The H. F. Dernell Company manufactures ice tools, and 
Mr. Dernell invented the ice plow. 

Travis Brothers operate a foundry. 
C. F. & M. G.Webber also have a foundry. 
355 



grocer; 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



I lowland and Son, Marine railway. 

Richard Lanahan, ship yard and marine railway. 

Henry 1. Van Loan, wholesale fruits. 

T. A. Briggs and Son, barrefnifrs, and garage. 

.lohn Self, motor builder. 

\Vm. ('. Brady, undertaker. 

M. Harvey, newspaper. 

Estate W. H. Stewart, hotel, Ahrani Post. 

Alvin Brooks. Norman Cooper, and Franks. Ilowland are 

Henry i)u Ik^is. Henry Kdwards. druggists. 

F. W. Leek, dry goods. . 

Thomas Low, hotel. 

GifJord & Porter, law. < )rin (^ Flint, law. 

E. C ^'an Deusen, physician. 




Invert's Memorial Library, Athens. 
One of the splendid buildings that attracts attention in 
Atijen.s is the Evarts Library, of which we present a very good 
engraving. This building costing, a large sum of money, is com- 
plete in every way and endowed to the extent that it costs the 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



village not a penny in any way. It was the splendid gift of 
Daniel Evarts and wife of Norwich, Ct., both of whom are 
deceased, and were formerly residents of Athens. The fund is in 
bonds that produce every three years a surplus of about $500, and 
this amount is further invested by treasurer Wm. C. Brady as it 
comes in. The building was constructed by Keiliy & Acker, of 
Utica. The Librarian is Mrs. Mary B. VanLoan, and the trustees 
are Frank Nichols, Emory E. Briggs, W. C. Brady treas., Henry 
R.Van Woert, clerk. 

Previous to 18G2 the crossing of the river at Athens had 
been by means of primitive ferries the first of which were operated 
by large scows, and up to 18G2 the locomotion for the ferries was 
obtained by means of a horse power similar to that used on thresh- 
ing machines. The J. T. Waterman was built by W. A. Fletcher 
and the engine of that date is still in use on the J. T. Power 
which was built in 1872 and is the oldest ferry boat on the river. 
The Power in 1914 carried 2862 automobiles across the riyer. 
Frank Beardsley is captain, ^lartin Cooke, engineer, Herman 
Lanfare, pilot. 

One of the big fires was that of 1874 in which the White 
Elephant property was destroyed. 

Another big fire in 1870 wiped out a block of frame build- 
ings which may be seen in the cut presented elsewhere. 

Still another large fire occurred in 1913. 

The Osborn House which was one of the old time hotels 
was destroyed in the fire of 1878, and the Brooks opera house 
building was'erected on the site of that hotel. 

Among the prominent residents who have passed since 
1883: 

Wentworth Allen, ship builder 1884, 

Abram Bedell, 1890. 

Col. John Beardsley graduate of the .West Point . Military 
academy, a veteran of the Mexican and Seminole war, Col. 9th 

357 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Cavelry in the Civil war. "He 'was one of the West Shore Railroad 
Commissioners who apprised the lands during the construction of 
the road. He laid out Fort Worth. Died in IDOfi, aged 89 years. 

George C. Brady, father of Win. C. Brady. Died 18S0, aged 
89 years. 

('apt. .John Benjamin Briggs, oldest river pilot, and was on 
the old Vibl)ard. Died 1903, aged 78 years. 

Thomas Brasier, 1905. 

Caleb Coffin, glue manufacturer, president villnge. died 
1885, aged 60_years. 

Nathan Clark in pottery business, and early settler, part 
owner Singer Sewing machine business. Died 1S91, aged ~2 years. 
Two Nathan Clarks are still honored residents of Athens. 

Capt. Ira Cooper, died 1903, aged 80 years. He was a brick 
manufacturer and operated a fleet of sloops around 1S20. 

Enos R. Edwards, ship builder with his brother, and also 
supervisor and postmaster. Died 1898, aged 7(j years. 

Theodore Evory, built half the ice houses in Athens. Died 
190S, aged 62 years. 

Augustus Goeller.- justice and police justice 30 years. Died 
r.tl4, aged 73 years. 

Charles W. Howland, firm Howland and Son, hardware, 
groceries, lumber etc. Died 1905, aged 70 years. 

Woodbridge Little King, a prominent farmer, died 1905, 
aged 93 years. 

Richard G. Low brick manufacturer, old line Democrat, 
died 1896, aged 85 years. 

Peter Magee, ship builder, sheriff for 3 years, died 1899, 
aged 61 years. 

358 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Wm. Mackey, father of Sheriff Mackey, died 1903, aged 
(SO veari^. 

Samuel H. Nichols, justice of peace, village clerk, assessor, 
member of assembly, member of Governor's commission to con- 
demn W. S. Lands. Died 1011, aged St) years. 

Prosper Peloubst, pres. Mt.H)pe C^m^tery Assn., President 
of trustees, and Old Line Democrat, died 1884, aged 76 years. 

Joel W. Porter, brickniaker, died ISS',), aged (U years. 

Wm. S. Rainey, died 187(i, aged 75 years. 

Robert Titus, pres. of village, l^rick manufacturer, died 
1!)01 , aged 78 years. 

Lewis W^olf, l)uilde:', pres of village, trustee, director of 
Evening Line Steamers, also Hudson River Ice Co , died 1004, 
aged 75 years. 

The Athens Casualty Li-t of 1914: 

Charles Smith engineer Storm King crushed to death April 
13th. 

Martin McDonald, strangled in coal bin, August 14th. 

C'harles Destadio, a brick kiln caved in on him Aug. 19th. 

W. Ray Hallenbeck, shot to death by Worthy Tolley, Sept. 
15th. 

Louisa Kroll, killed in auto accident Oct 13th. and her 
husband died under operation Aug. 13th. 

In 1814 it was discovered that the middle ground between 
Athens and Hudson was very inconvenient to river travel and an 
act was passed by the legislature granting to Athens and Hudson 
the right to establish a lottery for the purpose of raising $10,000 
which was to be used in removing the middle. The middle ground 
is still there. 

Mrs. M. E. Harvey conducts the Athens News. 
359 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Cairo 

The town of Cairo was formed 
in ISOo, portions of Catskill, Cox- 
sackie and Freehold being taken, 
and it was called Canton up to 1808 
when the name was changed to 
Cairo. The town contains over 06,- 
000 acres of land and a considerable 
portion was held under the Salis- 
burj', Van Bergen and Barker pat- 
ents, the Barker patent being over 
GOOO acres of land. This extended 
from Woodstock to Durham, and 
;^[r. Barker figured yery largeh' in 
the early history of the town. He 
lived to be 93 years of age and his 
descendants the Taylors, Dedericks, 
Whites, Olmstead, Balisburys, as 
well as the Barkers are to be found 
throughout Greene county today. The Barker burial ground was 
located in a meadow on the ]McWilliam's farm north of Cairo. 




Flovd F. Jones 



James Barker, who is great, great grandfather of Mrs. Ira 
T. Tolley, matron of the almshouse, was given a grant of land 
under Governor Andros in 1680 of 6000 acres of land which now 
forms a large part of Cairo. There were other patents and sub- 
divisions of land but James Barker was the only one to settle on 
the grant. James Barker was a member of the English bar, and 
came to this country previous to the Revolution. He settled first 
at Catskill and later on went to Cairo. Abram and Francis Sal- 
isbury had lands to the east of the Barker patent. James Barker 
was a patroon, and a slave owner, and it was he who defended 
one of the Salisburys, who was accused of the murder of one of 
his slaves, and he secured an aquittal. Barker died at the age of 
93 years. There were 23 families that came to this country with 
Mr. Barker. Their names we are unable to state. 

360 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The old graveyards may have some of them in the follow- 
ing list: 

Samuel Earle died 1858, aged 100 years. 

Benjamin I'pham died 1790. 

John Balis died 1789. 

David Brewster, born 1758, aged So. 

Hannah Brewster, his wife, aged 96. 

Catherine Earle, born 1764, aged 92. 

John Pine, born 1773. 

in 1823 there was made up a list of the slaves in the town. 
There were 11 of them, all minors. 

The Strope family, who lived in the first log house, were 
murdered by Indians. Early industry comprised chiefly getting 
out hemlock bark for the tanneries. 

One of the most conspicuous of Cairo men was Judge Daniel 
Sayre, who was born at Southampton in 1765. He owned 1000 
acres on the Shinglekill and organized a church at Acra in 18(J4. 
He was a member of the Assembly in 1S04 and in 1806 judge of 
the Court of Common Pleas of Greene county. Four of his childien 
were burned to death in a fire that destroyed his home in 1808. 

One of the honored families of Cairo is the Schermerhorn. 
Frederick in 1780 was captured by the Indians after the massacre 
of other members of the family (Stropes) and carried into captiv- 
ity, was sold to the English and was forced to enlist. He served 
with 50 whites and 100 Indians and finally managed to escape, 
returning to Cairo. He liyed for a time on the Barringer place at 
Kiskatom and erected a log house near Round Top. He died in 
1846, aged 76. His son went into the cattle business and then 
into mercantile lines at Cairo. 

In 1832, Col. Ira Day and .John Palen had tanneries tnat 
turned out 18,000 sides of leather annually. The Forge, Wood- 
stock and Acra were the points of these industries. The grist mill, 
wood turning of mountain souvenirs and saw mill are about all 
that remain. Hon. Lyman Tremaine was the owner at one time 
of the mill at Woodstock. 

361 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Tlie Columbian, H. K. Lyon, prop., Cairo, and Falls in Vicinitj- 



Men living in Cairo today still ch^^rish the memory of the 
Hon. Augustus Hill, who was born in 1810 and died in 1899, an 
old line Democrat and a member of the legislature in 1871. His 
grandfather, Obadiah Hill, witnessed the execution of Major An- 
dre, the British spy, who had plans of the fortifications at West 
Point, given him by Benedict Arnold. 

Cairo has no regular fire company although it has an or- 
ganized effort of citizens that has as its headW. Burr Hall as chief, 
and Gaston AVynkoop and Druggist R. A. Austin are assistants. 
Fire protection is from water works and a hand engine of the old 
times, and good work is accomplished. 

The school system is excellent , and at the head is Edward 
E. Richmond, principal, Hope L.Fordham, preceptress, Mary D. 
Halloran, pre-academic, MaryC. Timmerman,4th and 5th grades, 

362 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and S. Edna Story, primary. Geo. W. Squires, Andrew P. 
Freese and N. M. Howard are trustees and R. A. Austin, treas- 
urer. 




Little Falls, South Cairo. 
The C-airo Electric Light company gets its power from the 
large dam at Woodstock, which furnishes power for Catskill, Tan- 
nersville, Palenville, Haines Falls and other places. 

The Greene County Agricultural Society which has been the 
great county fair of generations was organized in 1819, and John 
Bagley of Durham was its first president. Daniel Say re of Cats- 
kill was one of the first exhibitors of premium grade cattle. Th 

363 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



first preiniuin award was $149. The organization received from the 
state S2()0. 'I'lic organization has been uniformly prosperous and 
has a splendid ])lant accommodating aljout 10,000 persons, and 
the anmial fair is still a red letter event, with the horse trot a 
fi'alurc always. 

There is but one landmark of the period of 1S(;7 left in the 
Cairo bushiess world and that is O. Post who has been conducting 
a harness shop since that time and for 43 years in the building 
where he now is. The business of Cairo at that time comprised 
Ed. and Jason Stevens, general stores, Tremaine and Weeks, 
store, George Person, hotel, now Walter Brothers, Benjamin Wal- 
dron, hotel, David Grannis and Elijah Wells, wagon shops, Har- 
low Hine, painter, Henry Steele, shoemaker, Charles Nailor, 
blacksmith, Henry Hotchkin, undertaker. Dr. King, physician, 
Dr. Noble, phj'sician. OneHotaling ran a stage line of four horse 
coaches from Catskill to Cairo and there were two lines from Cairo 
west, one to ^^'indham and the other to Gilboa. Later on these 
lines were operated by Churchill. 

The Hon. Luke Roe was supervisor of Cairo 5 years, 1858- 
70 and 186()-67. Also Loan Commissioner of Count3^ 

Dr. Levi King was famed the county over for his medical 
skill. He had 9 children, and practiced in Cairo for 52 years. He 
celebrated his golden wedding in 1876. His father served in the 
Revolution. Dr. King was born in 1799 and was 78 years of age. 

Francis G. Walters, whose death occurred last fall, was 82 
years of age, and was for many years with his brother Ambrose 
Walters, owner of the hotel that bears their name. He was sher- 
iff of Greene county and also member of assembly. 

Samuel Earle built a log house in Cairo in 17*.»;). He lived 
to be 100 years of age and owner of 900 acres. 

Other of the old timers were John Howell, Haryey D.Peck, 
Orman Burhans and John Rouse. Born in the 170O's and round- 
ing out the century. 

The father of Thurlow ^Veed, later of Catskill, is said to 

have been one of the earlj^ settlers. 

364 







^ < 






■ • ri! 

0; +-> O 

.^ 8 ^ 

's '=^ H 

tA; O tfi 

O ^^ 

^^ ^ c 



•- 5 H 

ii ^ H 

t-i '-' 1-3 

'u '^ 'O 

••;: • c 

^ -^ . H 



OS s 
00 O! 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Greene county alms house is located at Cairo. It is in 
line with the other splendid buildings that stand as a credit to the 
county. The situation is not only charming, but everything that 
could lend a charm to the place and make it attractive for those 
whose last days are to be spent as the wards of the county, has 
been done by the men who have represented the county in the 
board of supervisors, and the very capable man who for the past 
seven years has had the management of the place. The beautiful 
grounds and entire premises are swept and garnished as for par- 
ade, and throughout the house everything is as snug and inviting 
as the best home to be found in the county. From the reports 
that are filed every year by the several committees, local, county, 
and state, there isn't an institution of the sort that makes a better 
show. Mr. Ira T. Tolley and his estimable wife, who is matron 
of the institution, deserve lasting praise for their care and pains- 
taking effort. The house usually has from 74 to 90 inmates, who 
are well housed, well fed, contented, and happy. Our view of the 
building shows the splendid shape it is in. And it is most re- 
markable that the care of these people, and of the dairy of 12 cat- 
tle and the tilling of 196 acres, should be taken care of by 4 per- 
sons outside of Mr. and Mrs. Tolley. One farmer, and one assis- 
tant, one cook and a woman to assist Mrs. Tolley, do it all. The 
annual report shows that the farm produce goes a long ways 
toward paying for the upkeep of it all. The house has electric 
lights, fire protection, fine water, sanitary plumbing, and com- 
modious and well kept outbuildings, and the evidence of great 
care is everywhere. Mr. Tolley was elected in 1906 and took the 
office in 1907. He was re-elected in 1909 by about 600 and in 
1912 by over 1200. Mrs. Tolley, in addition to the cares of the 
place, is very active in church work. She is organist for the Pres- 
byterian church, and a worker in the Sunday School, as well as 
the King's Daughters. Mr. Tolley is also a member of the Pres- 
byterian church and a contributor to every worthy object . Before 
he was chosen superintendent of the county house he was for 25 
years in charge of the business of the Catskill Mountain railroad 
at Cairo, and for 12 years a justice of the town. Religious services 
are held at the county house every two weeks by the Rev. Mr. 

366 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Edgeton, rector of the Episcopal Church. It may be interesting 
to note that James Earlier, who Was great great grandfather of 
Mrs. Tolley, held the original grant of land, some 6000 acres, ex- 
tending from Cairo to Durham. 




The Great vShinglekill Falls at Purling. 

There were several factories started at the forge, and at 
that place is standing at the present time a very old mill of which 
we have not the date. Several of these mills have been destroyed 
by fire. Frank S. Decker of Catskill formerly owned one of these 
mills. Capt. Byington had a wooden clock factory for making 
the Grandfather clocks. There was a factory that made spinning 
wheels and looms, a nail factory, and Lucius Byington had a saw 
mill that has been operated by many generations of Byingtons. It 
was built in 1808. Anson Wright had a furniture factory, Egbert 
Paddock made grain cradles, and Egglestone, Porter and Ackley 
made buckets, of which they made 5000 per year. Paul Raeder 
for 20 years had a scythe factory and a grist mill. 

367 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The iirst Methodist organization was at Sand\' Plains, in 
the house of Henry Weeks. The church at Cairo was organized 
in Cairo in 1814, and these two churches were supplied b}^ circuit 
riders who also preached at Leeds. Benjamin Hine deeded the lot 
on which the Cairo church was built in ISU), and this building, 
now occupied by the Schermerhorns as a feed store, is in good 
repair. The organizers of the church were Edward E. Stevens 
and Sally, his wife. The early records were lost. The present 
church has as its pastor the Rev. II. D. Chace, who also preaches 
at Round Top. 

The Sandy Plains church was erected 1887, and since 
rel)uilt. 

The Presbyterian cluirch was organized by the Rev. Beriah 
Hotchkin in 179'.), and had three members. The Rev. 
Richard Williams was the first pastor. The records were three 
times destroyed by fire. The Rev. A. P. Freese was for many 
years pastor of the church. The Rev. Mr. Steelman was the last 
pastor in 1914, but resigned. 

Calvary Episcopal Church was organized in lSo2. The 
Rev. Ephriam Punderson was the first Rector, and for several 
years the membership was 8 persons. The Hon. Henry ^Nleiggs 
and George Wicks were among the contributors in the 7()'s to 
wipe out the last of the church debt. The present rector is Octa ■ 
vius Edgelow. 

Kadema Lodge ()9o, F. and A M. was organized 1859, with 
William Freese as master. Has about 100 members, and has iust 
finished new lodge building known as Masonic Hall. y 

Knights of Pythias meets in Masonic Hall. Claude J.Goflf 
is chancellor commander. It has about 60 members. 

Odd Fellows. Meet at Wicke's Hall. 

Maccabees Lodge, reorganizing. 

Eastern Star. Mrs. Charles M. Smith, matron. Al)0ut 70 



members. 



George ^^'. Squires conducts the Cairo Plerald, 
'MS 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Galskill 

The town of Catskill was con- 
stituted in; 792, and was a part of 
the county of Ulster, according to 
an act of 1798. Upon the formation 
of Greene county in 1800, it was 
taken from Ulster with portions of 
Woodstock, and all that 7^ art of 
Catskill that lay west of the Moun- 
tain line was attached to Windham. 
Further territory was taken Irom 
Athens in 1815. Hezekiah Van 
Orden was the first supervisor and 
William Van Orden, Jr., clerk, in 
17.S!). There were about 80 persons 
who were on the rate list, of what 
was called, Great Imbocght. They 
included the Abeels, Van Ordens, 
Persons, Duraond, Overbaugh, Bur- 
ger, Sax, Trombour, Musier, Fiero, Dederick, Mower, Acker, Fox, 
Richtmyer, O'Brien, Hallembake, Brant, Sax, Britt, Strope, 
Duwit, INIoore, Spaan, Woolf, Schram, Hill and others, antece- 
dent of the present families. 

Many of these people were also slave owers. 

Reference to the schools, churches and taverns are found 
elsewhere in this record. Also reference to many of the early 
industries and persons. 

Catskill Village had 5 dwellings in 1787, but in 1792 it had 
increased to such importance that a newspaper was established by 
Mackey Croswell, called the Catskill Packet, a facsimile of which, 
through the courtesy of the Catskill Recorder, we have repro- 
duced. The growth was very rapid, and the village was soon 
the most important along the Hudson River, and around the year 
1800 there were 2000 inhabitants, and it was announced that 
Catskill was to become the third, if not the second city in the 

369 



J. Henry Deane 



UBSAR OLD GREENB3 COUNtt. 



state. In 1808 there were 12 wharves and a great trade had 
sprung up, which comprised freighting to New York and the ship- 
ping of goods to the interior of the state. 

Catskill village was incorporated in 1806, and Stephen Day 
was the first president. The trustees were Garret Abeel, James 
Pinkney, John Blanchard, Caleb Benton, Hiland Hill, Stephen 
Root, Isaac Nichols; Orrin Day and John Du Bois were assessors; 
Isaac Du Bois was treasurer, and James Benton, collector. 

A seal was adopted which resemiiled a potato hug with an 
X for a head. 

Corporation bills for money were adopted in 1815. 

Catskill was on the direct line to Ithaca, Delhi, and Bing- 
hamton. The building of the Schoharie and Susquehanna turn- 
pike which started from Catskill and extended to Wattle's Ferry 
on the Susquehanna river was one of the greatest events next to 
the building of the New York Central railroad and the Erie Canal, 
and for a great many years Catskill was the outlet of trade from 
the interior of the state. At the head of the turnpike project were 
Stephen Day, Pres.. Martin Schuneman, Benjamin Van Orden, 
George Hale and others. This road had a capital stock of $12,000 
and it was operated until 185(') when tlie line was operated only a- 
far as Durham. 

Many other turnpikes were built and operated, of which 
the Albany and Greene, Schoharie, Athens, Little Delawtvre, Blue 
Mountain, Cauteikill, Bristol now Maiden, had turnpike roads, 
and the Canton Bridge company had a toll bridge a toll bridge at 
Canton, 1805, near F. C. Plusch's. These turnpikes brought into 
existence many stage lines. Terrence Donnelly operated the first 
of these, under an act of the legislature, 1803. One of these lines 
was from Catskill to Unadilla, another to Ithaca, and all this help- 
to make Catskill the most important place on the Hudson. 

The Catskill Agricultural and Horticultural Association 
was formed in 18()5. Addison P. Jones, Isaac Pruyn, John H. 
Bagley, J B. Hall, John T. Mann, Theodore Cole, Jacob Meech 

370 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and Edgar Russell were the directors, 
the John B. Foote farm, in Jefferson, 
orchard. The last fair was in 1S73. 



The fair grounds were on 
The grounds are now an 



Catskill has four tine and well kept cemeteries: The vill- 
age cemetery on Thompson and Spring streets, Catskill Rural, St 
Patrick's and Jefferson cemetery. 




Village Building. 

The present members of the Board of Trustees of the Cats- 
kill village are: Clarence Travis, Pres., Willis A. Haines, Philip 
Walsh, Henry R. Hinman, Oscar A. Freer. Clerk, Louis B. Dec- 
ker; Collector, L. R. Magee; Assessor, William Joesbury; Cor- 
poration Counsel, Louis B. Malcolm. 

371 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The first organization of a fire department was in 1806 
when a hand engine was in use, and all owners of property were 
compelled to have at least two buckets for fire purposes. 

In 1825 Engine Company No. 2 and Engine Company No. 
3 were organized. Two new engines were purchased in 1853. 
Seven cisterns were built in 1836, and these were filled up a few 
years since. Ever Ready Company was organized in 1654, and 




\Viiso:i Fire Company, Old Home Week parade. 
F. N. ^^'ilson Company the same year. Protection Engine Com- 
pany, now Number One Hose and formerly Wiley Hose, was or- 
ganized in 1855. F. J. Silsby Company, now Osborn Hose, was 
organized in 1871. Citizens Hose Company was organized in 
1869. Citizens Hose Company and the Number 1 Hose Company 
own two of the finest parade carriages in the state. Citizens Hose 
Company was first to appear with a dazzling white dress uniform, 

Q72 




No. 1 Hose Company's Auto Truck. 

which has been widely copied. In fact the several companies of 
Catskill have a uniform that leads all other fire companies. Each 
company occupies a splendid house, and own much of their equip- 
ment. Number 1 Hose has an auto fire truck, which is of great 
service in getting the apparatus quickly to a fire. 

The Wilson Fire Company, Geo. Webster, forman, has in 
their possession one of the hand engines first used in this section. 
They got it in 1900 from Stephen Vining of Windham, and it was 
built in 1783, and is known as the Yankee, ^^'e show a picture 
of this curious little fire fighter, and it will be seen that it is still 
ready for business. 

Not least of the fire companies is the Bomptje Hook Com- 
pany Number 50, with a truck and hose house at the Point. John 
Fitzsimmons is president of this organization and the annual ban- 
quet is always an occasion of note. 



The chief engineer of the fire department is Henry Place. 
373 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Building ot No. 1 Hose Company. 

There is also a hose house on Broome street and a small 
house on Depot street equipped with cart and apparatus. In fire 
fighting Catskill leads the volunteer companies of the state. 

374 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The telegraph fire alarm sj^stem of boxes was installed in 
the 80's and the alarm is a bull whistle at the electric light station. 




Foreman Webster and the Old Hand Engine. 

The Catskili water works were commenced in December, 
1S83 and finished in April, 1884, a pumping system, which with 
the mains and hydrants cost about $160,000. There are over 13 
miles of mains, and about 130 hydrants. The water pressure is 
80 pounds, and affords a fire protection that is unsurpassed. The 
plant has a good revenue and the outstanding bonds amount to 
only $37,000. They are due in 1916. 

The members of the C'atskill water board are: M. Edward 
Silberstein, Eugene Wayne, P. Gardner Coffin, E. A. Bennett and 
and J. Clark Salisbury. In 1914 the board installed a hydro- 
chlorite system for the purification of the water, which has since 
tested 100 per cent pure. 

The superintendent is Egbert Beardsley, who succeeded 
William Comfort about ten years ago. Mrs. Beardsley is book- 
keeper; William Shufelt, chief engineer; John E. Norton, night 
engineer; Patrick Dwyer, night fireman. 

375 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Catskill village has two fountains supplied with water from 
the spring on the H. L. ]ioughton lot. verj^ excellent water for 
drinking purposes. 

The police system of Catskill has Koscoe iNIiller D. Miller 
as justice, Ira B. Gaj' as chief of police, Joseph Reilly patrolman, 
and in addition special officers are appointed for special seryice 
and important occasions. 

At the head of jNIain street is located Pruyn Park, the very 
generous gift of Bank President James P. Philip, and this has 
been very well equipped and is well patronized in the summer. 
The village fathers also arranged a miniature park at the head of 
William street. The children of the schools are equipped with 
an out door gymnasium, the gift of J. P. Philip. 

Catskill has a number of Insurance Companies. These are 
the Co-Operative, the Commercial Mutual, the Hon. 0. V. Sage 
being president, and Hon. C. E. Bloodgood, secretary. The Cats- 
kill Mutual has William J. Hughes, as president, and Geo. Hard- 
ing, secretary. These companies do a large business. 

The Mercantile Co-Operative has/ William W. Bennett at 
the head. 

The Catskill Pavings and Loan Association was organized 
in 1889 as a building and loan association. It has an investment 
of $174,282. At the head of the corporation is Percival Goldin, 
pres. ; Josiah C. Tallmadge, vice-pres. ; Thomas E. Jones, sec'y; 
P. Gardner Coffin, treasurer, and William W. Bennett, attorney. 

Among the Social Organizations of Catskill which have not 
already been mentioned are: 

The Rip Van Winkle Club, Catskill, was organized in 1886, 
the Hon. James B. Olney being president. The club has flourished 
ever since and now owns a fine property on lower IMain street. 
Willet C. Hunter is present. 

Hendrick Hudson Lodge, I. 0. of 0. F. was organized in 
376 



DfiAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



1840. The present officers are" N. G., Frank Packer; V. G., 
Isaac R. Fitchett; Fin. Sec'y, J- G. Miller; Rec. Sec'y, Robert E. 
Brant; Treas., Clarence Travis. 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 

Improved Order of Red Men, 

Knights of Pythias, 

Knights of Columbus, 

Protected Home Circle, 

Royal Arcanum, 

Ancient Order of United Workmen, 

Modern Workmen of America, 

Deutscher Understeutungs Verein, 

Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, 

Catskill Gun Club, 

Catskill Fish and Game Club. 

The prominent business houses and dealers are: 

Bottling Works — Bove & Coglianese. 

Bakers— V. DelaMorte, William Klepser, William Deitz, 
Waldorf. 

Banks— Catskill Sayings, Tanners National, Catskill Nat- 
ional. 

Barber Shops— F. A. Kline, William E, Brooks, Dominic 
Disantis, Con. Hammer, August Franz, Amin Smith, Alex Yan- 
noni. 

Blacksmiths — Willis A. Haines & Son, John Person, Theo. 
M. Smith, D. Delong, Harry Gehbauer. 

Books and Stationery — L. R. Magee, Van Gorden & Co. 

Brick Mfrs. — Tidewater Paving Co., Washburn & Co., Per- 
cival Goldin & Son. 

Butchers — C. C. Bloom, Chas. Ernest, Wni. Conine, Geo. 
Drumgold. 

Candies —Catskill Candy Co., A. Cunningham. 

Catskill Building & Loan Assn. 

Cider and Vinegar— Amos Post, Signer & Nicoll. 

Cigar Manufacturers— Frank Knolls, G. Knoll, W. R. Ma- 
guire, P. A. Obert, C. Schaller, Con. Hammer. 
. 3.77 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Carriage Repository — Willis Haines ct Son. 

Catskill Glass Works. 

Cement -Alpha Conjpan.v, Alsen Co., and Sterling Corpor- 



ation. 
Butler 



Clothiers— Abrani -Joseph, -J. L. (JolcUKTg, V. .\. Stall 



Coal Dealers— W'm. .1. Hughes, Wui. H. Henderson, Chas. 
E. Place, O. V. Sage, Kaj-niond Smith. 

Dentii^ts— W. A Conklin, G. A. Knglert. K. A.Bennett. 

Electrical Contractor - Fred B. Home. 

Electrical Supplies— Electric Light Co. 

Facing Mill -Bell's. 

Fish and Motorcycles— Field c<: Field. 

Flour and Feed- A. Raynor, Salisbury ct x\ustin. 

Foundry— Catskill Foundry & Machme Works. 

Florist — Henry Schmidt, Geo. Person, Henry Hansen. 

Furniture and Undertaking — William Kortz, Deane c'c 
Deane. 

Druggists -F. C. Clarke, L. B. Decker, E. M. Sedgwick, 
William L. Du Bois. 

Garage — Amos Post, Peerless, Vermilyea Brothers, Catskill 
Automobile Co., Easton Beahr. 

General Stores— The H. L. Boughton, L. R. & W.A. Doty, 
E. C. Church, Philip Richman, A. Richman, Fred Conklin, Geo. 
C. Church. 

Groceries— Britt Brothers, Fred Woolhizer, William Davis, 
Howard C. Smith, Charles Ernest, Schubert Brothers, Hallenbeck 
Brothers, Frederick Palmatier, P. V. R. Timmerman, Clarence 
Travis, Geo. Swartwout, B. Coglianese, J. Battagalino, Matthew 
Shield, Etta Webber, Claude Garling, Waggoner Brothers, James 
Reardon, Lewis Van Loan. 

Hardware — Day & Holt Co., Catskill Hardware Co., Frank 
]\Lartin, Beardsley & Son. 

Horses— Horton Brothers. 

Hair Dressing — E. Mink. 

Harness— William Earle, J. M. Rouse. 
378 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Plotels- Central, Columbia, Commercial, Exchange, Hotel 
Dicarlo, Golden Stairs, Lynes Hotel, Germania, Rudolph, Hoy's, 
Loud's, Smith House, Saulpaugh, West Catskill, \A>st Shore, 
Temperance Hotel, Irving Cafe. 

Ice Cream — Pruyn Brandow, J. ^^alente, Arthur P. Fox, 

D. ^himaris. 

Ice and Hay— Willis H.iines, Ray Smith. 

Junk and Second Hand Goods — C. W. Ray. 

Jewelers— J. A. Hill, Prentiss Hallenbeck. 

Knit Goods — Union Mills Company. 

Laundry -Catskill Hygiene. 

Liverymen — Bogardus & Son. 

Lumber— Catskill Supply, Crawford & Smith. 

Notions — Harry Smith, Wright's, Florence Joesbury. 

Marble Dealer-C. A. Noble. 

Masons and Builders — Geo. W. Holdridge. 

Music Store -H. N. Warden. 

Optician— Hiram Wilcox. 

Photographs— Clark's Kodak Store, Paul R. Morrison, ('. 

E. Van Gorden. 

Physicians -Geo. L. Branch, Frederick Goodrich, Wm. M. 
Rapp, L. B. Honeyford, Charles E.Williard, Robert Selden, Geo. 
Warren, Dr. DeSilva. 

Plumbers— Adams & Spencer, J. F. Barnard, Day i*v: Holt, 
Harry Boyne, Henry Hinman, H. T. Jones & Sons. 

Printing -Daily Mail, Catskill Examiner, Catskill Enter- 
prise, Catskill Recorder. 

Restaurants— Exchange, New York, Smith's. 

Real Estate -O. T. Heath, J. L. Patrie, Geo Harding 

Shoe Parlor— Harper Brothers. 

Shoe Manufacturers -Louis Di Caprio, Camile Yannoni, 
Tony Peppi. 

Shoes— Ahreet & Cussler, John J. Henderson, F.P. Smith, 
Welsh Est. 



Sporting Goods —Michael Cimorelli. 
379 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Transportation -Catskill & N. Y. Steamboat Co., Catskill 
Ferry, Catskill and Albany Line, Saugerties and Hudson Line, 
Catskill Mtn. Ry., West Shore Ry., N. Y. C. & H. R. Ry., Cats- 
kill Street Ry. 

Tailoring S. Fontanella, L Schmuckler. 

Tea and Coffee - Union Pacific Tea Co., Atlantic A: Pacific 
Co. 

Telegraph — Postal Cable, Western Union. 

Telephone— New York, Catskill ^Mountain. 

Theatres — Irving Theatre, Nelida Theatre. 

Union Mills Company. 

Veterinarian — Dr. Parker. 

Well Digger — Amos Post. 

Wholesale Grocers — Salisbury & Austin. 

Hudson Fxiltoiv Gelebratioix 

The greatest celebration ever held in Greene county was the 
Hudson-Fulton, Sept. 25 to October 9, 1909. The crowd was 
variously estimated at from 10,000 to 12,000. The expense was 
borne in part by the state and th€( balance between S3000 and 
$4000 by Catskill. The flotilla was met about two miles from 
Catskill, and escorted to the landing while the war vessels fired 
salutes, and the military bands and parade bands filled the air 
with their music. The fire alarm and all steam whistles were also 
tooted. This naval demonstration started in New Y^ork City, and 
wound up by visiting Newburgh, Pokeepsie, Kingston, Catskill, 
Hudson, Albany and Troy. Some of the great war vessels and 
some of the world's greatest floats failed to reach Catskill on ac- 
count of the depth of water being too shallow. 
Program for the Day: 

10:00 A. M. — Committee met and escorted the flotilla to 
Catskill. 

10:00 A. M. — Erection of flag pole and raising of flag at 
Greene County Home for Aged Women. Address by the Hon. 
Wm. P. Fiero. 

11:00 A. M. -Arrival off Catskill of the Half Moon, Cler- 
mont, naval squadron, merchant marine, excursion boats and 

380 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



pleasure craft. Reception of the Half Moon by Athabasca Tribe 
of Red Men in canoes, bearing gifts of corn, etc. 

9:30 to 11 A. M.— Concert by bands. 

11:00 A. M. - Reception of all naval visitors. 

12:00 noon— Address by Hon. Charles E. Hughes, Gover- 
nor of the State of New York. 

2:00 P. M.- Grand Parade. 

3:30 P. M.— Special excursion to Catskill Mts. under the 
auspices of the Holland Society. 

4:00 P. M. — Baseball, Catskill against Coxsackie, for cham- 
pionship of the Hudson Valley. Catskill 7, Coxsackie 4. 

4:00 to 5:00 P. M.-Bnnd concerts. 

4:30 P. M. -Reception to Governor Hughes. 

8:00 P. M. - Pyrotcchnical display. 

9:00 P. M.— Military sul)Scription ball at the Armory, un- 
der the auspices of Company E. 

The Parade 

First Division— Visiting Marine and Sailors. 

Second Division— Company K, N. G^ N. Y., Pokeepsie, 
Company M, N. G. N. Y., Kingston, Company E, N. G. N. Y., 
Catskill, Morris Guards of Atlantic City, N. J. 

Third Division— Geo. H. Scott Hook & Ladder Company, 
Coxsackie, D. M. Hamilton Steamer Company, Coxsackie, Cox- 
sackie Hose Company No. 3, D. W. Morgan Hose Company, Cox- 
sackie Osl)orn Hose Company, Catskill. 

Fourth Division— Hunter Hose Company, Jacob Fromer 
Hose Company, Tannersville, Junior Hose Company, Tanners- 
ville. Citizens Hook & Ladder Company, Tannersyille, Hose Com- 
pany No. 1, Catskill. 

Fifth Division — Cornell Hook & Ladder Company, New 
Baltimore, Lailin Hose Company, Saugerties, Windham Fire 
Company, F. N. Wilson Fire Company, Catskill. 

Sixth Division -Rescue Hook & Ladder Company, Athens, 
Morton Steamer Company, Athen=5, Makawomuc P^ngine Com- 
pany, Athens, Citizens Hose Company, Catskill. 

Seventh Division— G. A. R., Athabasca Tribe of Red 
Men, Carriages, Business Men's floats. 

381 



DiJAft OLD GREENE COUNft. 



Next to the great Hudson-Fulton celebration, the greatest 
celebration ever held in Greene county was that of Old Home 
Week, Oct. 4 to 7, 190SinCatskill.The ball was set rolling on Sun- 
day with services in the several churches and St. Patrick's church 
had a parade in memory of the Rev. William P. Finneran, unveil- 
ing his monument. Attorney William E.Thorpe made the address 
at the cemetery, several thousand persons leing present. The 
church parade was half a mile long. 

The Rev. C. G. Hazard, the Rev. R. E. Bell, the Rev. E. 
P. Miller, the Rev.. Mr. Rockwell, the Rev. Clark Wright tlie 
Rev. W. H. S. Demarest, were among the Sunday speakers. 

Monday was devoted to a business men's parade. 

There were in line: 

Ashland Band, 

Greene County Society, 

Watson Post, G.A.R., W. B. Grant, com., 

Hudson City Band, 

Athabasca Tribe of Red Men, wiih lloat, 

Catskill Council K. of Columbus, with iloats, 

Knights of Maccabees, with Hoats, 

Protected Home Circle, with iloat, 

Pruyn Drum Corps, 

Holy Name Society, 

Floats of all the leading business houses. 

Tuesday was devoted to School Parade and Carnival. 

Ccitskill Schools pupils dressed in white carrying Ihigs and 
banners, St. Patrick's school with two tloats, children carrying 
large flag. 

Wednesday — Military Day. 

10th Regt. Band, Albany, 

3d Battalion 10th Regt., 

Company E, Catskill, Capt. Saulpaugh, com., 

Company F, Hudson, 

Company K, Pokeepsie, 

Hudson Band, 

Jacob Fromer Hose Co, , Tannersville, 
388 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Hunter Hose Company, 

Pruyn Drum Corps, 

Hose Company 1 of Catskill, 

Veteran Firemen, 

Athens Band, 

Morton Steamer Co., Athens, 

Saugerties Band, 

Osborn Hose Co., Catskill, 

Co. F. Drum Corps, Hudson, 

Mackawomuck Engine Co., Athens, 

F. N. Wilson Fire Co., Catskill, 

Rogers Drum Corps, Hudson, 

Rescue Hook and Ladder Co., Athens, 

Cornell Hook and Ladder Co., New Baltimore, 

Gartland's Band of Albany, 

Citizens Hose Co., Catskill. 

At the armory, 2000 peonle listened to addresses by Pres. 
Charles A. Elliott, Ira B. Kerr, Wm. E. Thorpe, and others. 
The Trojan Quartette entertained. 

Exercises at the Nelida theatre comprised addresses- by 
Hon. William P. Fiero, Mr. Colvin and others. The list of home 
comers ran into the hundreds. All were handsomely entertained 
bv relatives or the committee. 




Laying Brick Pavement, West Bridge Street. 

384 




Pavilion of William Welker at Kiskatom. 




Boarding House of Frank Lasher at Kiskatom. 



H r 


^1 


J 




i 


^^.,v 




] 


1 




\M 


■ 




Her:iian'^C^ Coweii, Catskill, 
Supervisor elect. 



Cfjuntv Clerk elect. 



Cat.skill, 




John C. Welsh, Catskill, 
Town Clerk. 



Geo. W. Swartwout, Catskill, 
Town Clerk elect. 



Addervda 

The elections for November, 1915, resulted in the election 
of George H. Chase, Assemblyman, over John Sanford, Charles 
A. Post for Sheriff, over Frank D. Overbagh, both of Catskill, 
and of William E. Donahue for County Clerk, over Geo. B. Van 
Valkenburgh, both of Catskill. The P>oard of Supervisors was 
carried by the Republicans by 9 to 5. 

Ashland— H. Clay P>rris, R. 
Athens - Harold R. Evory, R. 
Cairo — Floyd F. Jones, R. 
Catskill— Herman C. Cowen, R. 
Coxsackie— Albert W. Pierce, D. 
Durham — William C. Latta, D. 
Greenville— Lewis Hoose, D. 
Halcott ' EliC. Morse, R. 
Hunter— Elmer E. Pelham, R. 
Jewett— George E. Lock wood, Jl. 
Lexington— George D. Rappleyea, R. 
New Baltimore — Dale S. Baldwin, D. 
Prattsville— Elmer Krieger, R. 
Windham — William J. Soper. 




Boarding House at Green Lake, and a party of guests troni house sport- 
ing in the lake. 





Near burial place of John Jacob Overbaugh,' whose grave, tl 
Catskill section, is the first marked stone on the Linzey Patent. 




Salisbury House, Catskill, a popular resort. 




Henrj- Place, Chief of 
Cat skill Fire Department. 



Dist. Atty. Howard C. Wilbur, Catskill. 




DflV 8t HOIiT GO. 

We have it, will get it, or it isn't made 

HARDWARE AND HOUSEFURNISHINGS 
TOOLS 

We sell all the nntcxl makes of guaranteed tools. 
Disston Saws — Maydole Hammers— Stanley Planes— Star- 
rett Machinist Tools - Kraeuter Pliers. 

FARM MACHINERY 

We are agents for The International line of Farm Impli- 
ments. 

PAINTS AND OILS 

We carry a full stock of Sherwin-Williams Paints— Oils of 
every description. 

RED CROSS STOVES AND RANGES 
We have sold "Red Cross" stoves and ranges for 35 years 

and can show a list of o50() satisfied local users. 

Woodenware — Crockery & Glassware —Tinware— Aluminum 

Ware — Enameled Ware. 

Plmnbing and Heating. 



^•••••••••••••••••"•••••••••t"t"»"f •••••••••••#•••••••••••••• 



>-^" !«;•• 



■•••••••*•■•■•*■••••••••••*•••••*•••••••••••#••••■••■••••••••■•• 




Scenes in Austin's Glen, Catski 










^^P-lm 



£2Li_i 




Scribner House, Palenville. Destroyed by fire, 11)04. 




Residence of A. Timmerman at Palenville, 




SMITH HOUSE 

Head of Main St. = Catskill, N. V 

— Oldest Stand in Greene Count3' — 
Enlarged by Martin F. Smith 18S0; Rebuilt by Wm, M. Smith; Im- 
proved and Cp-to-date under Edwin H. Smith, present proprietor. 
Modern in Every Way. 



TRAVELERS* HOME 

THE NEW SAULPAUGH 

ABSOLUTELY MODERN 




'via the PANAMA CANAL. ^^U 



New York to San Francisco: 1860 Five months. 1889 Twenty days. 
1915 Four days. Via Panama Canal 18 clays. Via telephone 1915, 1 second- 




Tl.c Unibu Mills, Catskill. 



t^ 




mm^j ^ 



Texido Honse, Catskill. Odd Architecture. 




Champion Wiley Hose Basket Ball team. 
Left to right. Top Row— Shutelt, Carney, R. Roe, 
Bottom Row — Place, P. Roe, Hines. 



l-g] s-« 



347=349 Main Street - CatsKill, N. Y. 



\l 



1831 1865 1915 



Capital jinn.coo oo 

Surplus aud Undivided Profits $18S, 000.(10 

Deposits $777,801.22 

vSeptember 22, 1915 



THE BnER8 MTIOML BAif 

OF CATSKILL. I 



i 
t 
j 

ft 

lg.»..»..»..»..»..»..»..»..»M»..»..»..»..»..»..»,.»..»,.,..,,.,.,,..t..,.gijjj.,„,„,„,,.,,.,„,,.,..,..,.,,„,,.,,.,..,..,..,„,..,,.,„,,.,„,„,,n 




Boardirg House of W. M. Saxe, Palenville, and Falls Opposite. 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



J. HENRY DEANE 

J. Henrj' Deane was born Nov. 22, 1<S55, at New Balti- 
more, at the place called Dearie's mills. His father, Francis W. 
Deane, was a miller at that time and continued at that profession 
in the town of Westerlo, Albany county, between Indian Fields 
and Dormansville, until 1866, when he gave up the mill and mov- 
ed to a farm at Greenville, which is still owned by J. Henry 
Deane. 

On Nov. 22, 1S76, J. Henry Deane married Mdvy C.Losee, 
daughter of Steplien A- Losee, and in the spring of 1879, moved 
to Austin, Illinois, where lie entered the employ of the Chicago and 
Northwestern Railroad, with office at Chicago. He remained 
with the company and on a visit to his old home he was induced 
by his father to" return to the farm, Avhich he did in 1884. He 
remained on the farm for 4 years, but prices for farm produce 
were so low (hay selling for from 88 to §10 per ton) he decided 
to give up farming which he did in 1888, and moved to Catskill, 
where he entered the employ of the Catskill Mountain Railroad 
Company. He remained with them for 2 years, when he gave up 
railroading and became a clerk in the furniture store of Post & 
Deane, after first going to New York City and taking a course in 
embalming, with Prof . A. Raymond, recognized as the best tea- 
cher of the art in this country. In 1892 he purchased the mterest 
of W. A. Post in the furniture and undertaking business, and the 
firm of Post & Deane was changed to Deane & Deane, Dr. J. A. 
Deane, an uncle, being the senior partner. In 1910 George A. 
Deane, his son, purchased the interest of Dr. J. A. Deane, and 
the father and son became partners. Their increasing business 
demanding more room in 1914 they moved to their new store No. 
439-441 Main street where they have one of the largest and finest 
furniture stores in the state. 

During nis residence in Catskill, J. Henry Deane has serv- 
ed as president of the Rip Van Winkle Club, president of the 
Board of trustees of the village of Catskill, coroner of Greene 
county for 4 years, and is now serving his third successive term as 
supervisor of the town. Mr. Deane is associated with the Masons, 
Rip Van Winkle Club, Red Men, Protected Home Circle, and is a 
trustee of the Presbyterian church. 

430 



Gatskili 3avii\gs Barvk 

CATSKILL, N. Y. 



This institution which is the only one of 
its kind in the county was incorporated by 
Chapter 96 of the Laws of the State of New 
_York, passed April 1, 1868. 

Its first Trustees were its incorporators, none of whom sur- 
vive, namely: 

S. Sherwood Day, John Breasted, Samuel Harris, RufusH. 
King, Jacob H. Meech, George Griffin, Elijah P. Bushnell, Fred- 
erick Cooke, John H. Bagley, Jr., Burton G, Morse, John A. 
Griswold, Luke Roe, Edwin N. Ilubbell, Sheldon A. Givens, 
Charles L. Beach, George Beach, George Robertson, Isaac Pruyn, 
John M. Donnelly, Francis N.Wilson, Nelson Fanning, Manly B. 
Mattice, Edgar Russell and Joseph Hallock. 

Its present Trustees are Orrin Day, Jeremiah Day, W. Ir- 
ving Jennings, Emory A. Chase, William Palmatier, Lucius R. 
Doty, Charles E. Bassett, George S. Lewis, William H. Van Or- 
den, Frank H. Osborn, Albert C. Bloodgood, William J. Hughes, 
Omar V. Sage, Addison P. Jones and James Lewis Malcolm. 

The following Trustees have served as President since the 
bank's organization in the order named: John Breasted, S. Sher- 
wood Day, Rufus H. King, Joseph Hallock, Manly B. iNlattice 
and W. Irving Jennings. 

The executive officers for many years have been and are : 
W. Irving Jennings President, Emory A.Chase 1st Vice President, 
Jeremiah Day 2nd Vice President and Secretary, and Orrin Day 
Treasurer. 

From its organization until June, 1909, the business of the 
bank was conducted in the banking room of the Tanners National 
Bankof Catskill, since which time it has occupied its new build- 
ing, shown on the head of this page. No. 843 Main Street. 

The bank's total resources January 1, 1915, based on in- 
vestment or amortized value of securities were $3,797,400.55, 
which are carefully invested as required by Law and subject to 
the supervision of the State Banking Department. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




GKORGE \V. HOLDRIDGE 

(leorge W. Holdridge was born in the town of ('fit:^ki]l, 
Greene count.v, October 20, 1847. His father was James Hold- 
ridge and his mother, Sarah Lane. James Holdridge was a son of 
Isaac Holdridge and Hannah Pettit. 

The Holdridge family was of English descent and moved 
from Connecticut to Lexington, Greene countj^ where they lived 
until 1814 when tliey moved to Catskill and purchased a tract of 
land situated at the foot of Round Top Mountain, part of which is 
now owned by the shale brick compan3^ 

The Pettit faniilv came from France and settled on Long 
Island. Later they moved to Hurley, Ulster county, and from 
there to Lexington. Hannah Pettit had two brothers, Amos and 
Hezekiah, who resided in the town of Lexington. Hezekiah was 
born in 1779 and died in 1852. For fifty years he was pastor of 
the Baptist church on Lexington flats, being widely known as 
Elder Pettit. He served without pay most of the time. 

433 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Andrew Lane, father of Mr. Holdridge's motlier came from 
England and settled in Dutche?s count}'. About 1800 they moyed 
to Ulster county. He served in the 2d regiment during the Rev- 
olutionary War. 

At the age of 18 George W. Holdridge came to Catskill and 
was apprenticed to A. & B. W'iltse in the foundry that is now the 
Catskill Machine Works, and was to receive $50 per year until he 
became 21. But after 8 months he received $4 and went to work 
for John Hardwick and Robert E. Ferrier, where he ran the en- 
gine for 3 years, doing his own firing, and shoveling daily 1(5 
loads of sand into the pit. He received $1 per day and board. At 
the close of thejbrick season he went to work for William H. 
Finch, to learn the mason's trade. 

In 1865 he listed in the U. S. navy, going first to the Ver- 
mont and later the Shenango. The boat was sent south and ar- 
rived at Charleston, Feb. 18, 1865, the morning following its evac- 
uation by the Rebels. The city had been set on fire, and he help- 
ed put it out. Later on they captured a Rebel boat, the Oliyia, 
laden with cotton, 

Sailing down the Black River they dispersed 300 Rebel 
Guerilla Cavalry and took a large quantity of provisions from 
them. Being transferred from the Shenango to the Kansas they 
were ordered to the West Indies, later to Brazil. and the Falkland 
Islands. They had many rough and exciting experiences, and 
plenty of hardship, and at one time for 15 days were on an allow- 
ance of a half pint of water per man. April 13, 1867, he was paid 
off and discharged from the navy. 

In 1868 he started to work for L. S. and William Smith at 
Catskill, and in 1870 formed a partnership with William Ruland 
as contractor and builder. In 1881 he went by himself and since 
that time has forged to the front as one of the best builders of 
l)rick and stonework in Greene county. Among the many splen- 
did structures that he has erected are the Catskill Armory, St. 
Luke's church, the Young Men's Christian Association building, 
the Carnegie Library, the Irying School building, the Grandview 
School building, St. Patrick's Academy, Parochial residence, num- 

433 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ber 1 and number 5 engine houses, and the Rowena Memorial 
School building at Palenyille, a picture of which is to be seen else- 
^Yhere in this Ijook, and many other structures. 

He was a member of the Catskill fire department from 1S71 
to 1888, and 2.years chief. He served the town of Catskill as col- 
lector 1872-3, trustee of the village 1894-96, being president of the 
Board in 1896. In 1897 he was honored by the county by elec- 
tion as sheriff, serving with distinction during 1898-1900, the jail 
being then as it was at the time Mrs. Beardsley purchased the 
property. (See account Heidelberg. ) 

Mr. Holdridge has always taken an active part in the 
upliuilding of Catskill, and has been a trustee of the Catskill Meth- 
odist church since 1892. 

He was married to Hannah M. Dederick Jan. 4, 1871, and 
had o children, Frank, who died at the age of 13 years, Harry, 
who was killed by the cars at Alsen, Jan. 16, 1910. Harry was 
married to Anna May Richardson, Sept. 6, 1905, and they had 
one son, George Frederick. There are now living Walter H., 
Florence and May Holdridge. Walter married Adaline Craigie of 
Catskill'and they reside in New York where he has a fine medical 
practice. They have one son, Walter Henry. Florence'married 
Frank H. Cooke. They are living in Catskill and have one child, 
Marie Holdridge. May is still living at the old home. 

On July 1, 1908, Mr. Holdridge married Marie Burger, 
who takes an active interest in church, Y. 'M. C. A. and fireman- 
ic work as well as her home on Division street. 

Mr. Holdridge has a large and well equipped . contracting 
supply plant on the West Side, and employs a large number of 
skilled mechanics who are generously paid and always'take great 
interest in his work. 

The residence of Mr. Holdridge _on Division street, adjoins 
his supply plant, and is a very handsome building, located on a 
well kept terrace and surrounded by a flower garden. 

434 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Temporary Depot at Catskill, built in two days after the 
destruction of the old depot at West Shore Station. View of first 
depot will be found elsewhere in book. 




All that remained of St. Anthony's School, formerly Pros- 
pect Park Hotel, Catskill, after the fire. Building is to be re- 
placed by the Francescan Society, in the near future as a monas- 
tery. 

435 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Free and Accepled Masons 

Tlie institution of Masonry early appealed to the prominent 
citizens of Catskill, and within ten years of the close of the Revo- 
lutionary war, when a time of settled peace had given opportun- 
ity to the people in the long harrassed Hudson river valley to turn 
their minds to other things than war, on the 11th of December, 
1792, to be exact, a petition bearing ten names asking for organi- 
zation of a Masonic lodge at Catskill was forwarded to the Grand 
Lodge. The petition was granted, and Harmony Lodge No. 31, 
F & A. M., was instituted by charter dated September 3, 1793, 
signed by Robert R. Livingston, Grand Master of the Grand 
Lodge of the State of New York. The charter members of the 
lodge were Jacob Bogardus, Stephen Day, Samuel Haight, Rufus 
Stanley, George Taylor, Dr. Thomas Thomson, Hezekiah Van 
Orden, and W. W, Wetmore, men whose names suryive as land- 

436 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



marks of an earlier time in Catskill history. Samuel Haigbt was 
the first master of the lodge, Stephen Day senior warden and Dr. 
Thomson junior warden. The lodge increased in membership up 
to the year ISOO, when it numbered 48, after which it declined 
and probably went out of existence in 1805. 

The second Masonic lodge organized here was Catskill 
Lodge No. 302, F. & A. M., by charter dated March 4, 1818, 
signed with the illustrious name of M. W. DeWitt Clinton, then 
Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of the State of New York. There 
were thirteen charter members, and the first officers were: Caleb 
Benton, W. M.; Cornelius DuBois, S. W.; Thomas Hale, J. W. 
This lodge occupied rooms which had been fitted up for the pur- 
pose l)y Francis Botslord, in the third story of the building now 
known as the Selleck building, at the corner of Main and Thom- 
son streets. These rooms were plainly but substantially furnish- 
ed and at that time were considered ideal lodge rooms. No. 302 
held together during the height of the anti-masonic wave that 
swept over tke country from 1827 to 1830, having an active mem- 
bership of 40 in June, 1829, but it declined after that date, be- 
coming extinct on the 4th of June, 1835. 

It was another generation that again revived Masonry in 
Catskill, a quarter of a century having elapsed before the institu- 
tion of another lodge here. This took place in 1859, when by 
dispensation granted February 10th, Catskill Lodge No. 468 was 
organized with the following charter members: John H. Bagley, 
jr., James Becker, Peter Baurhyte, Samuel DuBois, David S. 
Manchester, George L. France, Luke Kiersted, Rufus H. King, A. 
Melvin Osborne, T. C. Palmer and Isaac Pulver. The lodge first 
met in a hall in the Cook building at the ''corner of Main street 
and Bank Alley, now occupied by the Grand Army of the Kepub- 
lic, and here it was formally instituted June 27, 1859, with the 
following officers: John H. Bagle.y, jr., W.'_M.; T.C. Palmer, S. 
W.; James Becker, J. W. ; Samuel DuBois, secretary; Rufus H. 
King, treasurer; Isaac Pulver, S. D. ; A. M. Osborne, J. D.; D. 
Manchester, tyler. 

437 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



On the 1st of May, 1863, the lodge room was moved to 
Martin's hall in the building now occupied by Beardsley's hard- 
^vnre store. Some five years later Charles E. French erected a 
building further up Main street, nearly to the corner of Church 
street, and the lodge leased the third Hoor of this building from 
the 1st of January, 1869. Ten years later, on the 1st of May, 
1S70, another move was made, to the Oliver Buurke building, in 
the hall now used by the Knights of Columbus. The stay here 
was longer, but in 1894 another move was made to what is known 
as Cowles hall, which was in fact the old location in the French 
building, over the present location of the telephone exchange. 

But as the lodge grew in numbers and influence the ques- 
tion of owning a building was brought to the front, and a building 
fund was started and added to each year up to 1907, when it was 
used in the purchase of the Irving House property at the corner of 
Main and Clark streets. This property was, howeyer, soon after 
taken by the county as part of the location for the new court 
house, so the matter rested for another year. In 1909, on the 
advice of the trustees of the lodge, Ira B. Kerr, I. Wheeler Bran- 
dow and William H. Hallenbeck, and of the worshipful master, 
J. Henry Deane, the old court house property, at the corner of 
Franklin and Bridge streets, was purchased from the county. Ex- 
tensive alterations were made in the building to fit it for Masonic 
purposes, with the result that here is one of the finest lodge rooms 
along the Hudson river. The new rooms were first occupied at 
the communication of September 1st, 1910, and the building, now 
properly designated the Masonic Temple, was formally dedicated 
to the uses of Free and Accepted Masonry with impressive cere- 
monies on the 7th of February, 1912. Howard C. Wilbur, wor- 
shipful master, made the presentation, and the dedication ceremo- 
nies were conducted by M. W. Robert Judson Kenworthy, Grand 
Master of the Grand Lodge of the State of New York, and the 
following staff: John J. MacCoun senior grand warden, Christo- 
pher C. INIolienhouer junior grand warden, John H. Sanford De- 
puty Grand Master, William E. Stevens Grand Chaplain, H. 
Greeley Brown Grand Secretary, Mayhew W. Bronson Grand 
Treasurer, Jacol) C. Klinck Grand Marshal. There were more 

438 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



than 400 Master Masons present on this occasion, members of 
CatskJll lodge and visitors. 

Under the uspices of Catskill Lodge No. 468, F. & A. M., 
the corner stone of the new Greene Co. court house was laid with 
proper ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 12, 1908 (A. L. 5908), at 
1 : 15 P M., by the Grand Lodge of the Free and Accepted Masons 
of the State of New York. The acting officers of the Grand 
Lodge present were: R. W. Charles Smith Grand Master, R. W. 
Samuel Stern Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Ira B. Kerr Grand 
Senior Warden, R. W. Richard A. Austin Grand Junior Warden, 
R. W. Sanford W. Smith Grand Treasurer, R. W. Henry Hudson 
Grand Secretary, R.. W. William W. Chace Grand Marshal, Bro. 
Clark Wright D. D. Grand Chaplain, Bro. William J. Beardsley 
Grand Architect. Lafayettee Commandery No. 7, Knights Temp- 
lar, of Hudson, Edward W. Scovil, E. C, served as escort to the 
grand officers. There were in attendance representatives from the 
following Masonic lodges: Ark Lodge No. 48, Coxsackie; Oasis 
Lodge No 119, Prattsville; Cascade Lodge No. 427, Oak Hill; 
Catskill Lodge No. 468, Catskill; Mountain Lodge No. 529, 
Windham; James M. Austin Lodge No. 557, Greenville; Kede- 
mah Lodge No. 693, Cairo; Social Friendship Lodge No. 741, 
New Baltimore; Mount Tabor Lodge No. 807, Hunter. 

The successive worshipful masters of Catskill lodge have 
been: John H. Bagley, jr., Charles C. Givens, John H. Bagley 
[2d time], James E. Nearing, Jacob S, Philip, James E. Nearing 
[2d time], A. Melvin Osborne, John H. Bagley [3d time], James 
Becker, Charles H. Pierson, John F. Sylvester, George C. Fox, 
Charles H. Pierson [2d time], Stephen M. Bagley, William J. 
Hughes, Charles H. Pierson [3d time], Orrin G. Selden, Abram 
P. Kerley, Will R. Post, Charles H. Bennett, Robert Selden, 
William W. Bennett, George H. Warner, William R. Maguire, 
Henry T. Jones, Samuel B. Doty, Charles G. Coffin, Charles E. 
Carey, William R. Maguire [2d time], Ira B. Kerr, Frederick A. 
H. Dewald, J. Rodney Magee, W. Piatt Fisher, J. Henry Deane, 
George H. Terns, Howard C. Wilbur, Archie D. Clow. 

439 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Catskill Lodge i^^ in the loth Masonic district, of the State 
of New York, which comprise? Greene and Ulster counties. It 
has produced two grand lodge officers, R. W.John H. Bagley and 
R. W. Ira B. Kerr, both of whom held the position of District 
Deputy Grand Master. The lodge grows steadily in influence and 
membership, its active list in 1914 carrying 236 names. The 
lodge officers for 11)14 are as follows; Claude H. Heath, W. M.; 
John Henry Felter, S. W.; George A. Deane, J. W. ; R. D. Mil- 
ler, Secretary; James P. Philip, Treasurer; Frank L. Vedder, S. 
D.; Lewis R. Magee. J. D.; Earl C/ Sandt, S. M. C; George W. 
Parks, J. M. ('.; Jeremiah E. Crawford, Edward M. Sedgwick, 
Stewards; Rev. G. H.P. Grout, Rev. J. W. Tetley, Rev. Wallace 
J. Gardner, Jay D. Hopkins, Chaplains; J. Lewis Patrie, Mar- 
shal; Frederick Becker, Tyler. Regular Communications of Cats- 
kill Lodge are held every Wednesday evening at 7:30. Later — 
Officers for 1915, John Henry Felter, W. M.; Frank L. Vedder, 
S. W.; Lewis R. Magee, J. W.; Roscoe D. Miller, Secretary; J. 
P. PhiHp, Treasurer; EarlC. Sandt, S. D.; George W. Parks, S. 
D.; Seth T. Cole, S. M. C.; Euberto Austin, J. M. C; Frank S. 
Mackey, Elmer E. Whitcomb, Stewards; Rev. G. H. P. Grout, 
Rev. J. W. Tetley, Rey. Wallace J. Gardner, Jay D. Hopkins, 
Chaplains; J. Lewis Patrie, Marshal; Clarence A. Xoble, Tyler; 
William H. Hollenbeck, Ira B. Kerr, I.W. Brandow, Trustees. 

Catskill Masoaic'.Club was organized in 1912 to give mem- 
bers of the order greater advantages for social intercourse. All 
master masons are eligible to membership and can become mem- 
bers of the league of Mason Clubs on payment of a small fee . The 
club rooms are .located on^the ground floor of the Masonic Temple 
and are open every day and evening in the year. Its past presi- 
dents are James P. Philip, Jay D. Hopkins and Claude H. Heath. 
Present officers: Archie D. Clow, president; Clarence A. Xoble, 
J. Henry Felter, vice-president; Euberto Austin, treasurer; Earl 
C. Sandt, secretary; Frank L. Vedder, collector; George H. War- 
ner, George S. Lewis, Jay D. Hopkins, J. Henry Deane, Howard 
C. Wilbur, Howard C. Smith, Charles H. Arbogast, governors. 

We are indebted to F. E. Craigie, editor of the Examiner 

lor the history of the Masonic lodges of Greene county. 

4^0 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Cox^sackie 




Dayton B. Smith. 



The town of Coxsackie or dis- 
trict as it then was regarded was 
taken from Alhany county in ITss, 
and included New Baltimore, Free- 
liold, Athens, Cairo, Durham, 
Greenville, stretching as far as Gil- 
boa. It was made up of many ori- 
ginal grants of which Peter Bronk's 
in 1662, was the first. Naturally 
therefore C-oxsackie figures very 
largely in the colonial history. Ref- 
erence has been made elsewhere to 
these patents. 

The Bronks, Van Bergens, Van 
Slykes, Hallenbecks, Smiths, Van 
Loons, Houghtalings, Spoors, Van 
Schaacks, were among the first sett- 
lers, and Counsellor E. C. Hallen- 
beck, and the Rev. Lewis Lampman have among their possessions 
many of the original deeds and historical documents. 

The commodity of the early date appears to have b en 
wheat and ''schepels of good and merchantible wheat'' took the 
place of money. 

At the present time the town comprises 38,000 acres, and 
the value of the real property is over $2,000,000, and the taxes 
for 1914 were over $47,000. Coxsackie has no bonded indebtedness 
and is one of the most prosperous of the river towns. 

The first ferry was operated by Ephraim Bogardus and in 
1800 there is a record of a license to him to run a ferry. 

The Dutch Reformed church was organized at Coxsackie in 
1732, and a church was erected around 1738, and this building 
was pulled down in 1798 when Henry Van Bergen gave a lot for 
a new church on the opposite side of the road. This building 
stood until 1861, w^hen the present church was built. Michael 

442 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Weiss is given the honor of first minister. He was followed by 
Johannes Schunemann, who preached also at Catskill, 1752-1794. 
Later Coeymans was included in the circuit. 

The Second Reformed Church was organized in 1S33. 

The Methodist Episcopal church was organized in ISoO, 
and Coxsackie and Coeymans were the preaching places. 

The Protestant Episcopal church was organized in 1853. 

The Roman Catholic church was organized in 1845. 

The Coxsackie High school is a splendid institution with a 
large and commodious building, and a teaching corps that is sec- 
ond only to Catskill in point of numbers. The first schools were 
established in the town just prior to 1800, Anthony Rogers teach- 
ing the school at Coxsackie village. The Rev. Henry Ostrander is 
also said to have been a teacher in 1801 to 1810. 

The Coxsackie cemetery was incorporated in 1826, and 
contains the mortal remains of many of the early residents. The 
Riverside cemetery was not incorporated until 1873. 

Coxsackie village was incorporated in 1867. 

Coxsackie has a well equipped fire department with a grav- 
ity water system, the supply being taken from streams in the 
neighborhood. The village is lighted by electric lights. There 
are many fine stores and a number of manufacturing concerns. 

The first National Bank was organized in 1865. 

The hotels are the Park Hotel, Frank Vermilyea, proprie- 
tor, an old and well equipped stand at West Coxsackie, the Cob- 
blestone Inn, a very pretty hotel also at West Coxsackie, the Lar- 
abee House, the Eagle Hotel and the Cummings Hotel at the 
landing. 

William P. Franklin conducts the Coxsackie Union, which 
in 1867 he started as the Coxsackie News. It is still printed in 
the same building where it was started by Mr. Franklin. 

Coxsackie Lodge No. 50, F. & A. M. was organized at a 
meeting held at Foot's Inn in that village on the 24th of Decem- 
ber, 1796. The first officers were : Philip Conine, jr., W. M.; 
Isaac Rosa, S. W, ; Benjamin Moore, J. W.; John Barr, secre- 
443 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



tary; Jesse \Vood, treasurer. The other charter members were 
John Bostwick, Giles Gridley, John McJntyre, Solomon Palmer, 
Storm Rosa and Stephen Truesdell. This lodge continued until 
1S()4, when its charter was surrendered. 

Ark Lodge Xo. 271, F. c^' A. ]\r. was organized in 1^1(5, 
with Talmadge Fairchild, W.M.; Amariah Foster, S.W.; William 
Bliss, J. \V. Other oflticors and charter members not on record. 
It lasted for ten j-ears, going out nf e.xistence during the anti- 
mason wave that started in 1826. 

Ark Lodge No. 48, F. & A. M. was organized in ls4i; with 
the same worshipful master, Talmadge Fairchild, wlio started 
with tlie lodge of thirty years before. Succeeding him as \V. M. 
there have been Philip Conine jr., I-aac Rosa, Jesse Wood, Solo- 
mon Palmer, Adonijah ]Miner, \V. \'. B. Hermance, John IJedell, 
Gilbert Bedell jr,, Henry M. Beach, John B. Bronk, Alexander 
Reed, Albert Parker, Jacob Houghtaling, \\'illiam K. Reed, A. 
Webster~Van Slyke, Samuel C. Bennett, A. V. D. ("oilier. Henry 
J. Hahn, Henry Van Dyck, Rev. Eugene Hill, Schuyler (". 15is- 
hop, Geo. W. Barber, Oakley L. Fenton , William L Sax, R. H. 
Van Denburgh, Austin W. Barber, W. Ralph Church, Henry R 
Soper. 

Otlicers of li)14: W. Ralph Church W. M., Henry R. So- 
pherS.^W., Collins C. Whitrnore J. W.. W. R. Church Treas., 
(leo. W. Barber Sec, Leonard A. Warren S. D., Francis L. Wor- 
den J. 1)., Wm. H. Salisbury S. M. C, Chas. F. Colvin J.M. C., 
Jerome E. Browne, Tyler, Rev. Samuel T. Clifton, Chap. 

At Fort Orange, on tho 14th of January 16B2, Sisketas and 
and Sichemoes, two Indians sold to Pieter Bronck the first parcel 
of land in what is now Greene county, and which under Governor 
Knolls in 1667 became known as Bronck's patent. This tract of 
land was called by the Indians Kioxhacking, and this land after- 
wards passed to Jan Bronck and south of this patent was the 
Loonenburgh patent which extended to what is now the Catskill 
line, and on the north it extended into the Coeymans district. A 
part of the Loonenburgh patent became the property of Marte 
Garritse Van Bergen known as the fountain flats, 1861. The 
Korlarskill Patent was owned by Jan Bronck and Marte Gerritse 
443 



DB3AR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Van Bergen, and became in 1687 the Coxsackie Patent. The 
Bronk house, which is still standing and which is in the possession 
of the Rev. Lewis Lampman, was erected in 1736. Judge Leonard 
Bronk, who was born in 1752, was undoubtedly the foiemost man 
of his period. Not only was he appointed first Judge of the Court 
Common Pleas for Greene county, 1800, a position which be held 
for ten years, but he was the first lieutenant Governor of the State 
of New York, 1777, 1778, was major of infantry in 1793, lieuten- 
ant Col. in 1796. Previous to that time he had served 9 nine 
terms as member of assembly, and state senator, in 1796, 1797, 
1798, 1799, 1800, 1801, 1803. For many years he was justice of 
the peace of Albany county. He died in 1828 at the age of 76 
years. Many of the deeds covering the early lands are in possess- 
ion of Mr. Lampman, and still others of the Van Bergens are in 
the possession of Judge Hallenbeck and Lawrence Van Bergenof 
Coxsackie, son Henry Van Bergen. 

The Houghtaling patent was west of the Bronk patent and 
bears date of 1697, a grant to Matthias Houghtaling. 

One of the oldest industries in Coxsackie is the Marble and 
Granite works. Just when the works were started we do not know, 
but they were started by William E. Leigh at West Coxsackie, 
later Levi Bedell was connected with the enterprise. D. Meade 
and W. G. Fox succeeded them and conducted the business for 
about twelve years. Messrs. Titus and Shufelt have been at the 
helm for 22 years, and they have a model plant v>'ith electric 
equipment, 30 horse power, and a large number of men busy cut- 
ting fine monumental work. Their patronage extends over a large 
field. They have erected some of the finest stones in the county. 
A notable piece of artistic work is the sarcophagus that marks the 
last resting place of John N. Briggs at Coeymans. 

The Coxsackie Malleable and Grey Iron Company establish- 
ed a plant at Coxsackie in 1866, and these buildings were destroy- 
ed by fire in 1871, entailing a loss of $50,000. 

The A. B. Newbury Machine Works, originally established 
445 



bfeAR OLD GREENE COUNtY. 




The Last Old Toll Gate, at Climax, 
at A\'indham Center in 1851, were moved to Coxsackie in 18G6, 
manufacturing printing presses. This business was very prosper- 
ous for many years, and several offices in Greene county are using 
presses of the Newbury's. 

The Coxsackie Flour, Feed and Plaster Mill was established 
by E. D. Hallock. 

The Kennedy Valve Manufactory was one of Coxsackie's 
greatest industries, and employed a large number of men, but 
after a number of years they moved most of their machinerj^ out 
of town and the works have gone into a state of delapidation. 

The American \^alve Company established a few years later 
has a pay roll of $1,400 per week and employs from 60 to 120 
men, and is still doing a good business there. 0. L. Whitman is 
superintendent. They are building an addition of 50x40 to their 
plant. 

The ice industry was started at Coxsackie by Hiram Van 
Steenburgh of Catskill, in 1850. 

The canning industry was established in Coxsackie by E.H. 
Lounsberry in 1872. 

446 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Among the principal business men of Coxsackie are: E. S. 
Anthony ice dealer, Levi Bedell miller and shipper, Myer Bresky 
clothier, N. A. Calkins attorney, E. H. Merriam pres. Trolley 
Wheel company, D. H. Daley attorney, C. H. Delameter cooper, 
C, Dolan butcher, William P. Franklin publisher, E. W. Gardner 
optician, G. B. Gardner jeweler, John Goodwin lumber dealer, D. 
Geroe Greene ice dealer, Oscar J. Greene grocer, W. R. Church 
hardware, Frank Hadley grocer, E. C. Hallenbeck attorney, Wm. 
H. Hallenbeck builder, John Hoag barber, Frank C. Hoag nurs- 
eryman, George W. Hood grist mill operator, George Hubbard 
grocer and liveryman, Harry A Jordan druggist, George W. Lamb 
insurance, James H. Lampman undertaker, John Loutfian phys- 
ician, E. H. Miller Shirt and Collar Mfg., W. C. Brady & Son 
undertaker, Piatt Coonley pres. National Bank, J. G. Newbury 
iron works, Albert Parker cashier bank, Teunis Petchel merchant, 
William J. Perry hotelkeeper, E. B. Raum supt. Trolley Co., 
Mark C. Richtmyer and Nelson Richtmyer clothiers, Irving W. 
Saxe dentist, Paul Schaad propr. West Shore hotel, Frank R. 
Shufelt and Irving Titus marble dealers, F. H. Sutherland sec. 
Reed & Powell Co., Wm.B. Townsend clerk Board of Supervisors, 
Frank Tremmel hardware dealer, C. W. Van Alstyne pres. Union 
Wheel Co., R. H. Van Denburgh physician, I. E. Van Hoesen 
physician, Andrew Van Slyke physician, J. H. Whitbeck presi- 
dent Whitbeck Co., Curtiss and Warren attorneys, Frank Vermil- 
j'Ca propr. Park Hotel, W. C. Wilson dentist, Baglev Brothers 
grocers, Dayton B. Smith supervisor and newsdealer, S. B.Corey 
milk dealer, P. V. Washburn & Son coal and lumber. 

Haas Brothers garage, F. T. Bennett and C. Durand pho- 
tographers. Smith 5 and 10 cent store, I. Gardner moving pic- 
tures. 

The pastors of the several churches are: 
First Reformed, W. A. Dumont, 



Second Reformed, Samuel T. Clifton, 
Methodist, T. W. Mackey, 

Catholic, Father Gregan. 

447 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Hermance Memorial' Library was the gift of Miss 
Eleanor Hermance of Coxsackie in 190<S. It is fully endowed and 
the value of the property, furnishings'and books amounts to'about 
811,000. The income from the endowment was last yeas S3, 509. 
The building is open daily except Sundaj's, 10 to 12, 3 to 5, and 
7 to 1). The trustees are A. W. Van Slyke, pros., Arthur K.Pow- 
ell, treasurer, J. C. McClure and W. R. Church. 

George H. Scott Hook A: Ladder Company was the first fire 
organization, as the Hudson River Engine Company in 1860, with 
the Old Deluge hand engine. They still have in their hose house 
a hand engine of a later date. This company was disbanded in 
1880 having been robbed of its funds, and on Feb. 7, 1881 was 
reorganized as the Geo. H. Scott Hook & Ladder Company, with 
George H. Scott, Scotty as he has been familiarily known ever 
since, as president, and A. G. Case as vice president, J.E.Brown, 
jr. foremsn, R. C. Hallock first asst., Alfred Smith 2d asst., W. 
H. Salisbury, jr. secy., E. W. Stone treas. 

The present officers are E. W. Gardner pres., Charles Par- 
slow foreman, W. H. Parslow secy., Dr. \V. L Saxe treas. 

D. M. Halmilton Hose Company }so. 2 was organized Feb. 
18, 1871. George Carter is president and foreman. 

Number 3 Hose Company is located at West Coxsackie with 
Frank J. Collier as foreman and president and has a fine record 
for fire work. 

Number 4 Hose Company is located at the L'pper landing 
and David Wallace is foreman. 

The officers of the I. 0.0. F. of Coxsackie are: N. G.Hen- 
ry Seaney, \ . G. Haskel Jones, Rec. Secy Charles Parslow, Fin. 
Sce'y Jas. Whitaker, Treasurer Chas. Collins, Trustee W. H. Par- 
slow. 

The officers of the :\[odern Woodmen of .X'oxsackie are: 
Worthy Consul Wm. G. Rommel, Worthy Advisor Myron Case, 

44S 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The village officers are: \V. Ealph Church Pres., Fred P. 
Aley and Samuel T. Burroughs trustees, Wm.H Salisbury Treas., 
Abrani Spoor collector 

Banker Win. W. Doherty, Escort James F. Stacy, Clerk J. W. 
Tolley, ^lanngers S. T. Clifton, Cyrus Countryman and George 
Overl)nugh. 



Durham 

Dui'ham formed a part of Al- 
bany county, district of Coxsackie, 
and ret-nined the name of Coxsackie 
up to IT'.K), when a portion was 
taken off and the town ol Freehold 
formed. And this section known as 
Freehold took in Greenville, Cairo, 
Windham, Ashland and Prattsville, 
and all of the town of Conesville in 
Schoharie county, about 150,000 
acres. The balance of 31,000 acres 
was called Durham. 

^lany of the early settlers came 
from Durham, Conn., and that fact 
brought about the name of the town. 
Lucius De Witt is said to have been 
the first settler about 1770, and 
among those who followed were Hen- 
drick and John Plank, Augustine Shue, Frederick Gruyslaer, 
Johnathan Baldwin, Augustus Pratt, John Hull, Eliakim Strong, 
Timothy Munger, Jairus Chittenden, and others whose names are 
still in living generations. Oak Hill was originally Dewittsville. 
Most of these people found their settlement at New Durham, and 
made their way from Connecticut. After reaching Catskill by 
sloop, they took a pack on their backs and with axe, gun, and 
blankets went into forests on foot, all prior of 17<S4. 

ThelBaldwins trace their generations back to Flanders, in 
449 




John E. Huyck 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



.S()4, and allege that Baldwin IX was emperor of Constantinople 
in 1204, and that five successive Baldwins were kings at Jerusa- 
lem. Johnathan Baldwin who settled at Durham, died at the 
age of Ul. 8elah Strong, another of the early settlers, was a lieu- 
tenant in the French and Indian war. He occupied the place 
where Horace Strong died in 1915. 

Eliakim Strong was one of the organizers of the Presbyter- 
ian church at Durham, and died in 1800. 

John Bagley built a grist mill on Thorpe creek near East 
Durham. 

Capt. Eliakim Stannard was a soldier in the Revolution, 
and his son Silas was in the war of 1812, and Lyman Stannard 
was a supervisor of the town. 

The Wrights were among the early settlers .Deacon George 
Wright was in the Revolution. 

James Utter, another settler, was a Revolutionary soldier. 
Utters are still thriving. Addison Utter built a mill at East Dur- 
ham. 

Capt. Thorpe had a saw mill near the same place. 

The Pratt family, Johnathan and Abija, came from Say- 
brook, Conn., and Captain Pratt served in the Revolution. Abija 
Pratt was the father of Ezra Pratt, who lived on the old home- 
stead up to the time of his death in 1912, al the age of 82. He 
was father of Mrs. F. A. Gallt, wife of the publisher of this his- 
tory. 

Icabod Olmsted had only a gun and an axe when he went 
to Durham, and he cleared all the land on his farm, and died at 
the age of 95 years. 

George Fowler built a saw mill at Oak Hill, Dewittsville. 

Jesse Rose was by profession a grave digger, but the natives 
never died, and so he had nothing to do. 

The Cornwalls came from Connecticut in 1788, and Corn- 
450 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



wallsville was named in their honor. Capt. Daniel Cornwairserv- 
ed in the Revolution and died at the age of 90 years. Amos Corn- 
wall moved to Catskill. 

Dr. \ViHiani Cook was the firet physician and he served in 
the Revolution. 

West Durham was^settled l)y John Clover, William Rood, 
and Captain Daniel Shepherd. Clover was frozen to death while 
taking food to'.his family. 

Captain John Newell served in the Revolution, and among 
the early settlers at Durham. This family traces to 16;V2. 

Deacon Coe, Elihue Moss, Deacon Cleaveland, Deacon 
Chapman, William Ingraham, Thomas Adams, Col. Ezra Post, 
were early settlers. 

In 1800 James Thompson of Durham, Garret Abeel of 
Catskill, James Bronk of Coxsackie, and William Beach of Cats- 
kill met and organized the first Board of Supervisors, with Mr. 
Abeel, chairman. 

Jacob Roggen settled at Durham in 1806, was supervisor of 
Durham 1812-21, assemblyman 1816-22. 

Daniel Peck built the first tannery at Oak Hill. 

Of the early industries, Levi Tremaine built a tannery, 
Lucas Dewitt a grist, Joseph Wright a grist mill, Stephen Piatt a 
grist mill, Jared Smith a saw'raill, Asa ; Jones and John Jerome 
fulling-mills. Jermiah _Whiie, Daniel Peck, Judge Barker built 
tanneries. 

Around]l840_the Cheritree's established a plow factory at 
Oak Hill and later'a grist mill. This plant was destroyed by fire 
in 1865, and this business was continued up to about 1!)00, when 
it was discontinued. 

Calvin Adams had a factory in Oak Hill for the manufact- 
ure of corn shellers, cofTee mills and door trimmings. 

451 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Falls on ThorpeiCreek. 

In 1N07 the village of Durham was swept b}- the most dis- 
astrous fire in its history, a big cabinet making establishment and 
a number of dwelling houses being destroyed. 

The Presbyterian church 'at Durham^was destroyed by fire 
in 1894. 

The Reformed church was established in Durham in 1787, 
the church being located 'at Oak Hill. The building was finally 
torn down and the society discontinued. 

The Presbyterian church was organized at New Durham in 
1792, by the Rev. Beriah Hotchkin. The first church was built 
in 1796, and a new church in 1821. The present church was 
erected in 1895, following the fire in 1894. 

452 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Tlie Baptist church was organized in 1<S09. 

The Methodist cliurch was organized about 1800, at East 
Durham and hiter divided and a separate church was organized at 
Durham and C'ornswallville. 

St. Paul's Episcopal church was organized at Durham in 
1801). 

►Second Presbyterian church was organized at West Durham 
in ISI"). 

The Pi-esbyterian church at Centerville in 1834. 

Thci'e are traditions of the existence of a ^lasonic lodge at 
Durham ujany years ago, but we have found no record of it. The 
only one in the town now is Cascade Lodge No. 427, F. <t A. M., 
which was instituted March 16, 1857, with the following otlicers: 
D. B. Booth, W, M.; Luman RamsdellT S. W. ; John H.Baldwin, 
J. W.; A. H. Hayes, S. D.; Amos Sear, J. D.; Calvin Adams, 
treasurer; Manly B. Mattice, secretary; 0. T. Humphrey, S. M. 
C; H. J. Peck, J. xAI. C; Wellington Peck, orator; Elihu In- 
galls, tyler. This lodge owns the Masonic Hall in Oak Hill, 
where communications are held on the first and third Monday in 
each month. It has an active membership of 187. It has pro- 
duced one Grand Lodge officer, R. W. Emerson Ford, district 
deputy grand master for the 15th Masonic district in 1906. The 
present officers of the lodge are: Charles A. Shultes, W. M.; L. 
G. Chamberlain, S. W. ; Potter A. Scott, J. W. ; Leroy Brandow, 
S. D. ; C. Warwick Newell, J. D.; Ernest L. Ford, treasurer; 
Paige T. Hoagland, secretary; P]lmer Borthwick, S. M. C; Alfred 
Hulbert, J. M. C; Omar Hallock, Orville Hull, stewards; George 
F. White, marshal; Elisha N. Parks, chaplain; George Burhans, 
tyler. 

Tne town of Durham has never had many criminals. Pat- 
trick Flynn, in 1846, murdered James Roberts, a drover, for his 
money, and he was the first murderer executed in the county, 

453 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Greeiwille 



The town of Greenville was 
taken from Coxsackie and Freehold 
in 1803. The town of Freehold 
subsequently was changed to Dur- 
ham. Barent Petersen under a 
grant by Governor Lovelace and 
confirnied by (^ueen Anne, was 
owner of pretty much all of the 
town. Lieutenant Colonel Augus- 
tine Prevost had a grant of some 
7000 acres and the grant was ac- 
companied by a certificate from 
General Gage indicating the valua- 
ble services of Col, Prevost and his 
son. This patent was dated 1767, 
and another grant of lands extend- 
ed south of the Prevost grant to 
John French, Thomas Lynot, Mar- 
Van Bergen and others, that extended from the Coeymans patent 
Col. Prevost built on the road west of 
a very picturesque mansion of the early 
colonial period, of which we are able to give a fine view\ The 
writer has passed this old homestead a great many times and al- 
ways to admire its sturdy lines. And always with complimentary 
though of the very honorable family that occupied it. It is still 
one of the most picturesque houses in the town of Greenville, as 
well as the oldest. 




Lewis Hoose 



to Freehold or Durham, 
what is now Greenville, 



The earliest settlers were the Ramsdells, Rundells, Sherills, 
Waldrons, Shaws, Kings, Losees, Storys, Calhouns, Barkers, Bots- 
fords, Lampmans, and Bogarduses, names and generations still 
honored. So far as we know there are none of the Prevost fami- 
ly remaining except as they may be under another name. 

Major Prevost was born in 1744 and served in the English 
army with distinction in the French and Indian war. He first 

454 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



came to Catskill, then known as Katskill and in 1794 he moved 
to Greenville. He was a man of great energy and built a number 
of houses and several mills for sawing lumber and grinding grain, 
and was back of a number of business enterprises. The Presby- 
terian church, the first school in Greenville, which afterwards 
became the Academy, and a school near his residence in which he 
employed a teacher for the benefit of his own children, were 
among the tangible evidences of his beneficence. At one time he 
is said to have been in partnership with Alexander Hamilton, and 
Aaron Burr his legal adviser. The Major died in 1821. He had 
three sons, one of whom was lost on the Albion, and another dur- 
ing the peninsular war, leaving Theodore L , whom the writer of 
this book remembers, his sole heir and an occupant of the place. 
Theodore was living on the place when the writer was living at 
Greenville in 1880. 

Benjamin Specs, Edward Lake and Eleazer Knowles made 
their way from Connecticut on horseback in 1781. Knowles built 
a cabin on Budd hill, and Spees and Lake built north of Green- 
ville 

The first settler was Godfrey Brandow, a Du^efe^n from 
the Saugerties section, he having married one of (he Oyerbaughs 
of that section. He built a log house and was followed by Stephen 
Lampman, who became his neighbor. Brandow died in 1795 and 
his graye is unmarked. Peter Brandow, a son of Godfred Bran- 
dow, married Hannah Bogardus of Coxsackie and raised a family 
of 11 children, most of whom settled in that section and rounded 
out the century. Jacob Bogardus moved from Coxsackie to Green- 
ville in 1772, Nannmg Bogardus settled in Greenville in 1684, 
Simon Losee settled in Greenville in 1790, Obadiah King in 1791, 
The latter lived to be 80 years of age and in 1801 built a saw mill 
on the Potic Creek, near the place where water for the Catskill 
water supply was to be taken, Abel Wakely, Edward Wooster, 
and Reuben Rundell settled near the present village of Greenville, 
and Nathaniel Fancher at Greenville Center, members of the Nor- 
ton family at what was afterward called Norton Hill, and Thomas 
Place at Place's Corners. 

455 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




'i he 



jst House at Greenville, 1793. 



Reuben Rundell was another of tlie pioneers who came 
from Connectieut, and served as lieutenant in the Revolutionary 
war. He landed at Catskill and followed the early trail to Green- 
ville and built a log cabin on the Fra^k Deane farm. He was 
killed in 1850 while crossing the Hudson river at Athens, being 
hit by flying stone, dislodged by a blast on the New York Central 
railroad. 

Dr. Amos Botsford and John Ely were the first medical 
practitioners in the town, the former passing in 1864. Isaac Hal- 
lock and Edmund Blackmore had the first hotels in 1818 and 
1820. The latter hotel was located near Gayhead and Elder Stew- 
ard, one of the first pastors of the Baptist church, conducted a 
hotel, Jacob Flansburgh and Benton Hallock also had hotels in 
the town. 

The village of Greenville is the most populous of the sever- 
al villages and hamlets in the town. Ransom Hinman was the 
first merchant, around 1803. The Coonley hotel on the corner 
was built by Ezra Holley and Jotham Smith, and is quite old. The 
Bentley store was started in 1842 and operated by Mr. Bentley for 

456 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



many years, he being part of the time postmaster. There has 
been no manufacturing in Greenville village. It is one of the 
prettiest places in the county and has many handsome residence's. 

Greenville academy was incorporated in 1816, and the Rev. 
Beriah Hotchkin, Dr. x\mos Botswick and Col. Augustine Prevost, 
and a number of others were among the incorporators. Sylvester 
Eaton was the first principal, and James V. D. Ayers, another 
instructor of note, was later at the head of the C \tskill schools. 

The Rev. Beriah Hotchkin, mentioned above, was the pio- 
neer of the early church work, and he came from the settlements 
of New England and had the distinction of founding the hrst 
church west of the Hudson river north of Pennsylvania. His first 
sermon in Greenville was in Benjamin Spees barn, April 5, 17S9, 
and it is likely that he came at the invitation of Col Prevost. He 
was installed pastor in 1793. Later the buildmg was used as a 
tayern and anew house of worship erected in 1801. The Rev. 
Beriah Hotchkin was pastor of the church until 1824, He died 
at Platts burgh in 1829 at the age of 72 years. 

Reuben Rundell, to whom we have referred, organized the 
Episcopal church in 1825, the site being donated by Major Pre- 
vost. The present structure was built in 1857. We are unable 
to sa}^ who was tlie first rector. 

The Methodist church was organized in 1825 at West 
Greenville and the church cost about $1,500. Later it was moved 
to Greenville village and in 1856 rededicated. This building was 
destroyed by fire in 1873, and the pres nt handsome structure rose 
in 1874, having cost about S10,000. About this time the writer 
was located at Greenville, and has pleasant recollections of the 
then pastor Rev. J. H. Phillips, Bradley S. McCabe, late member 
of assembly, Pierce Stevens, Alfred Steadman, Arch Stone, Ham- 
ilton McCabe and Reuben Gedney, who have passed to the church 
celestial. The Rev. J. B. Stead is pastor. 

The Baptist church at Greenville Center was organized in 
1793 and its communicants were scattered from New Baltimore to 

457 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



South Westerlo. l^lder William Stewart was first pastor. He had 
a farm, and, aside from what he raised, received Specks of buck- 
wheat for his salary during one year. He died at the age of 00 
years. The church was built in 1817. Among its pastors was 
the Rev. Mr. Bronk, who became a great revivalist. Among those 
who have stood well in the history of the church, we remember 
David Losee, Sherman Sanford, William Stevens, George William- 
son and Russell Townsend. who have gone the way of the earthy. 

Another old church of somewhat scattered denomination is 
the Christian at Freehold. Organized in 1812 by the Rev. Jasper 
Hazen. It is a model church and has prospered in its century of 
activity. One of its pastors, the Rev. John Spoor, is said to have 
baptized 15,000 persons, and to have married 1000, and attended 
1500 funerals. He went to Freehold in 1819, and died in the 
harness in 1864. 

The Methodist church at Old Greenville was built in 1812, 
and one of the early pastors was John Bangs, rated as one of the 
great preachers of the denomination. 

The Norton Hill Methodist church was organized in 187o, 
and the Rev. John Wood was first pastor. The Rev. W. F. Al- 
brecht during his pastorate was also principal of the Greenville 
Academy. 

The Gayhead Baptist church was organized in 1853, and 
had as its first pastor the Rev. George Slater. Among the organ- 
ized were Cyrastus Betts and Maria Betts, and many others of the ^ 
same family name. 

One of Greenville's foremost citizens was Alexander N. 
Bentley. Born at Westerlo in 1814 and he took possession of the 
corner store in 1856, and for 30 years was village postmaster. His 
wife was a daughter of Josiah Rundell, a pioneer of the town. 

Another family intimately connected Avith the history of 
Greenville, the Stevens', and it was Reuben who first set foot in 
the town, after having turned his back on Catskill creek land at 
$2.50 per acre. He died in 1804 and his son, Reuben, was a sol- 
dier in the Revolution. His son, Orrin C. Stevens, had 9 chil- 
dren, and the oldest of the family, James Stevens, known as Cap- 

458 



bfeAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



tain Jim, served with distinction in the Civil war. He was super- 
visor of the town in 1874, and 1SS1-S2 clerk of the board of sup- 
ervisors. Samuel Stevens was killed at Petersburgh in 18(34. 

Ebenezer Jennings moved to Freehold in 1809 and built a 
grist mill. 

Henry Martin Snyder who settled near Freehold raised a 
family of 14 children, and ten of the boys served in the war of 
the Revolution. 

Abel Wakeley served in the Revolutionary war and was 
located at West Point at the time of Arnold's treason. 

The Rev. Jasper Hazen also organized the Christian church 
at Mf^lway, the first of that denomination in the state of New 
York. That was in 1807, but no building was erected until 1832. 
And the church of the same denomination at New Baltimore was 
organized by him. 

James M. Austin Lodge No. 557, F. & A. M. was organiz- 
ed with thirteen charter members in July, 1865, in the Bentley 
building, Greenville village. Its first ofhcers were: John W. Hoff- 
man, W. M,, Electus Ramsdell, S. W. ; Humphrey Wilber, J. 
W, ; E. Wackerhagen, secretary, David Turner, treasurer; James 
Stevens, S. D.; B. F. Hisert, J. D. ; Piatt Coonley, tyler. It has 
had a prosperous career, its membership being reported at 90 on 
December 31, 1914, and it owns Masonic Hall, where meetings 
are held on the 2d and 4th Monday of each month. Two grand 
lodge officers have gone out from this lodge: R. W. William A. 
Wasson, district deputy grand master in 1892 and 1894, and R. 
W. John H. Sanford, district deputy master in 1911 and 1912. 
The lodge officers for 1914 were: Peter R. Stevens, W.M.: Wm. 
P. Seabridge, S. W.; Chauncey Spalding, J. W.; William S.Van- 
derbilt, treasurer; George L. Cook, secretary; Eugene Sisson, S. 
D.; John W. Story, J. D.; James L. Wheeler, tyler. 

Successive W. M. have been: John W. Hoffman, John B. 
Teats, Darius Rundell, Albert Wilber, James Stevens, D.M. Woo- 
ster, Afred Stedman, W. A. Wasson, John Roe, Arthur Hartt, 
Chas P. McCabe, George E. Smith, Albert W. Baker, E. L.Wood, 
John H. Sanford, P^ugene Spalding, Jahleel L. Bogardus, John 
Lampman, Peter R. Stevens. 

459 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 




Halcoll 

Thi^ sturdy mountain town wa? 
originally a part of Woodstock, T'l- 



Earle W. Jenkin- 



ster county, and is the smallest in 
acreage of any town in the county, 
having 1L122 acres, and the total 
assessed value of its property is 
ahcut 8(55,000. 

In 1798 it was taken to form a 
part of the town of Windham, and 
in 1813 it was called New Goshen. 
This name gave w^ay to Lexington, 
and was so known up to 1853, when 
Halcott was set off by itself, and 
named after George W. Halcott, son 
of Thomas Halcott of that town. 

Emigrants from Connecticut 
were the first to make clearings for 
homes and farms in the forests of 
the section. The records are broken and scarce, and it was after 
1800 before there were any settlers. Nathan Stanton and James 
Simmons were among the number around 1805, and then followed 
John P. Van Valkenburgh and his brother, Peter Van Valken- 
burgh, Jehoiachim Van Valkenburgh, Jacob Miller, Peter Van- 
denburgh, Nathan Covel, Joseph Brooks, Aaron Garrison, and 
others whose names we have not been able to note. 

The long and honorable list of residents includes such 
names as among the later comers, John P. Van Valkenburgh, 
Buel Maben, John M. Todd, Benjamin Crosby, Isaac T.Moseman, 
William D. Ford, Rev. Daniel Van Valkenburgh, Nathaniel Ellis, 
Lawrence Brooks, Russell Peck, Silas Lake, Conger Avery. 

Conger Avery was the first supervisor of the town, also 
postmaster. 

Joseph B. Brooks in 1813 built the first frame house. 
The first school was in a log house, in 181G, and Sally 
Kline is said to have been the teacher. 

460 



bteAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The town of Halcott bonded in 1874 for .$10,000 for the 
purpose of assisting in the building of the Rondout and Oswego 
raih-oad, which was projected but never built. The bonds however 
were all paid, while the road was rold under mortgage. 

Outside of farming Ilalcott has had few industries. There 
have been seyeral saw mills, Fred Banker in 1824 erecting the 
tirst one. 




The ^lorse Stores at Red Falls. 

The first church organized in the town was in 1822, of 
liaptist denomination and Elder James Mead was the pastor up 
to 1856. The first meetings were held in private houses and it 
was not until 1847 that a church was erected. This church was 
abandoned later on and the meetings were held at the school 
house. 

The Methodist church was organized in 1821), with the 
Rev. John P. Van Valkenburgh as pastor, and it was not until 
1849 that a church was built, the meetings being held in private 
houses and barns. 

The principal village is Halcott Center. It is on the main 
road from West Kill to Griffin's Corners. 

461 



DBAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



The present supervisor of the town is Earle W. Jenkins, 
whose picture appears in connection with this article. 

\\'(' are indel)to(l to Mr. Jenkins for the picture of the 
beautiful grave yard at llalcott Center, which is one of the Ihiest 
in the county. 



{Je^rett 




The first settler of Jewett is 
said to have been William Gass, 
wlio located on the East Kill in 
17S3. Later came Zaphaniah Chase, 
Chester Hull the Andrews family, 
the Pecks, Johnstons. Henry Gos- 
leo, grandfather of Supervisor Fred 
Goslee, was one of the most 
prominent of the early residents, 
who represented the town officially 
a number of times. Laban Andrews 
built a grist mill in 1795, and also 
a saw mill. Zadock Pratt and his 
son, Zadock Pratt, were promoters 
of the first tannery. They also had 
a mill that was operated by horse 
power. The Andrew mills were 
wiped out by freshets. Ezra Pratt 
had a tannery which was destroyed by fire. 

Most of the early settlers came from Connecticut and were 
of Puritan stock. So far as we have been able to learn Jewett was 
the only portion of Greene county that ever was represented by a 
whipping post and stocks, a custom that was brought by the Con- 
gregationalists from Connecticut. The whipping post was located 
near the Presbyterian church. This institution of the old blue 
laws was used but once and then the whole apparatus was torn 
down and carried away by parties unknown. There were no 
clocks in that period, and the only method of getting the time was 

463 



Fred Goslee 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



by sun dials, and those who had no dials made noon marks. 

Jewett, like other towns of the county had the early acad- 
emy fever, and an academy was built in 181S, with Professor 
Douglass as instructor. This building, which was 2 stories, was 
used also as a meeting place by the Methodists. It was finally 
torn down and the lumber put into another academy. 




Old Stone House at Drummond Falls. 

The Presbyterian church was early in the held, but the first 
building about 1800 was not finished and the present structure 
was erected in 1848. The Rev. ^Ir. Stimpson was first pastor and 
he later on became a missionary. The present pastor is James 
Hewett. 

The Methodists built churches at Jewett Heights, at South 
Jewett and East Kill. We are unable to discover from the con- 
ference records that any of these churches have pastors at the 
present time. Local preachers have been in the habit of supply- 
ing them. 

The Buel brothers had a saw mill and grist mill in 1800, 

and later on they put in machinery for carding wool. Then they 

added a great smithy with a trip hammer that was operated by 

water power. 

463 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Abrara V Korahack 



I^exirvglon 

The town of Lexington was 
formed from Windham in 1813, 
and it was all of Great Lot 22 and 
part of 23. In 1777 it was owned 
by Robert Livingston, and he con- 
veyed a portion of it to .John Darl- 
ing and the latter sold it to theKipp 
family, who still reside on a portion 
of it 

Among the earliest residents of 
whom we have any mention are: 
•John Maben, Samuel Peck, Derrick 
Schermerhorn, the Showers, Sopers, 
Hesses, and Bronsons, prior to 1800. 
A little later came the Van Valken- 
burghs, Faulkners, Rowleys, Petits, 
Barbers, Chamberlains and others. 



John Maben settled in the town in 1777. 

David Foster is referred to as a hero of the Revolution. 

Another of the early settlers was Daniel Angle, and he 
came to this country with the Hessian troops and was among the 
number Ciiptured at the battle of Saratoga. He was in Burgoyne's 
army, but soon after capture re-enlisted in the Continental army, 
and later on he settled in Lexington. He died at the age of 107, 
and his grave is still pointed out on the Angle place. His son, 
Christopher Angle, saw service in 1812 at Plattsburgh. He was 
captain of the Lexington artillery company. 

Henry ("line was also a Hessian soldier, and re-enlisted in 
the Continental army, settling at Lexington after the war. 

Captain Aaron Bushnell, also a Revolutionary character 
I)uilt a tannery in 1>>'M). He employed 60 men. 

Later settlers in Lexington were .Tohn Roraback. A. H, 
Decker, James Deyo and .John Bonsteel. 

464 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Captain Monroe Van Valkenburgh, father of Count}' Clerk 
George B. Van Valkenburgh, was an early settler, and reference 
to hhn will be found elsewhere in this book. 

John Bray built the first tannery at Lexington in isi!), and 
he added a grist mill and a saw mill and did a great business. 

Bruce Smith built a grist mill and a distillery in lS2o. 

The first woolen mill was erected by Derrick Schermerhorn 
and Richard Peck established the first inn. 

Col. Zadock Pratt orgmized a military company at Lex- 
ington in LS20. This organization was continued up to the open- 
ing of the Civil War. It was then reorganized by James jNIunroe 
Van Valkenburgh, who v.-as commissioned captain Edwin Ford 
was 1st lieutenant. 

The company formed a part of the N(Jth regiment, It was 
disbanded in 1872. 

Eder Barnum is said to have been the first physician in the 
town. 

The first settler in the West Kill , section of the town was 
Jerome Van Valkenburgh, 1780. 

William Dryer built a woolen factory, which was operated 
up to 1869 when a freshet carried it awa\^ 

Hiram Wheeler and Jacob Van ^'alkenburgh built a grist 
mill in 1847 and this was operated for many years. 

Philo Bushnell also started a tannery, which was Imrned 
down later on, and rebuilt to the size of 300 feet. Iratus Bush- 
nell later owned this property and built another one at Bushnell- 
ville. 

The first supervisor of the town of Lexington was Henr^- 
Goslee, grandfather of the present supervisor of Jewett, Freder- 
ick M. Goslee. 

The Methodist church of \\'est Kill was organized in 18(36. 
465 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Westkill Baptist Church was established in 1S27, and 
here Elder Petit ofiiciated for 30 years. 

The old school Baptist church at Lexington was organized 
in 17*J0, and Thaddeus Bronson was the first pastor. Elder Hez- 
ekiah Petit was preaching in this church in 1801, and was for 50 
years and more pastor of this crngregation. The Petit family came 
from France, and Hannah Petit, a sister of Hezekiah Petit, mar- 
ried James Holdridge, father of George W. Holdridge of Catskill. 
Elder Petit preached most of the time without pay. 

The New School Baptist church at Lexington was organized 
in 1S70. Meetings were held in the arsenal of the town. 

The Methodist church was organized in 1845 and the pres- 
ent pastor is Paul Ford. 

The first school teacher was Sally Cline. The teachers at 
the present time may be found in the list of teachers of entire 
county elsewhere in this book. 




Thomas Seifferth, Jr 



Huivter 

The town of Hunter is par- 
of a grant of land by Queen 
Anne, to Johannes Harden- 
burgli and six others in 1708, 
and this patent contined 1,- 
500,000 acres and extended as 
far as Popaghtunk, Delaware 
county. Hunter comprised 5 
lots of the patent, over 47,000 
acres, assessed at a million 
and a quarter. It was formerly 
a part of Ulster county, it was 
taken from the town of Wind- 
ham in 1813, the section be- 
ing known as Greenland. The 
earliest settlers were the 
Haines family, Samuel, John, 
466 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and Elisha, who came from Connecticut. 

were few settlers prior to 1800. Among tlie first comers were the 
Greenes, Goodsells, Lanes, Dibbels, Merrits, Baldwins, Showers, 
and Roggens. Bears, wolves and panthers ranged the woods and 
bounties as high as $40 were paid for their capture. The first 
postoffice route was established by the Government in 1830, from 
Prattsville to Catskill, passing through Hunter and Lexington. 

In 1851 Hunter had 151 persons liable for military duty 
and several early residents were in the war of 1812, Aaron Had- 
den, William Greene and Asa Lord being among the number. 

Tanning and milling has given place to summer boarding, 
and the largest and finest houses in the county are to be found at 
Tannersville and Haines Falls. Tannersville is the ^lecca of the 
city people in the summer. 

The first supervisor of the town of Hunter was Daniel 
Bloomer, and the present supervisor is Thomas Seifferth, Jr. 

Hunter village was founded by Col. William Edwards, and 
was called Edwardsville. The Colonel was born at Elizabethtown, 
N. J. in 1770. In 1818 he came to Greene county and settled at 
Hunter, where he established the New York Tannery, a plant that 
had a capital of $60,000 and could tan 5000 hides a year. This 
tannery was destroyed by fire in 1830. Johnathan Palen of Cats- 
kill had another big tannery in the Clove and that place is said to 
have been the original Tannersville. 

Hunter has been proverbial for excellent roads and Michael 
O'Hara of Tannersville is at the head of the county road system. 

The town of Hunter industries have been lumbering, still 
going on, manufacture of chairs, and mountain souvenirs, C. 0. 
Bicklemann and Burt Howard having been very successful. Mr. 
Bicklemann was also the finest photographer in the country. 

One of the old landmarks still doing a fine business is the 
Roggen House, now Martin's hotel, C. A. Martin, proprietor, 
Tannersville has several of the largest stores in the county, and 

467 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



the largest garage, that of Robert Lackey on ^lain street. J. Frank 
Lackey has a large grocery business, John H. Gray garage and 
livery, 8chryver it "Webster livery, S. R. Hommell electrical store, 
Irving Goslee electrical store, Oscar Langer jewelery, O. H. Perry 
coal and lumber, Bert Baker plumbing, Mrs. A. Allen hardware. 
Lackey & Dibbel attorneys, F. R. Raensch notions, Owen Bowes 
plumbing, Haines Brothers meats, Fred Penrose cafe, ]\L Gold- 
stein eafe, Jacob Fromer real estate, Fred Oampbell blacksmith. 




Main Street Tannersville, 1905, now built up. 

The village officers of Tannersville are: President Robert 
Y. Hubbard, Trustee Louis P. Allen, Treasurer J. Frank Lackey, 
and Collector Clarence Fowler.'' 

At the annual communication of Mt. Tabor Star Chapter 
No 284, 0. E. S. the following officers were elected: Ella Joslyn, 
Worthy Matron; Peter Joslyn, Worthy Patron, Minnie L. Kerr, 
Associate Matron; Blanche Milier, Conductress; Annabelle Good- 
sell, Treasurer; Howard V. Vedder, Secretary; J. G. Edwards, 
Trustee. 

468 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Qisptl!*'! 



Hotel Martin, !"( inner' y Koggen Mt. Home. 

At the annual election of the Lockwood Lodge No. G53, I. 
0. 0. F., the following officers were elected: N. G.,[R. G. Win- 
ters; y. G., John J. Kay; Secretary, George E. iSweet; Treasurer, 
Albert B. Taylor; Trustee, Charles Quick. 

The following is the roster of officers of Hunter Fire Co. 
No. One: Pres. W. J. Decker, Vice-Pres. W. H. Ingalls, Rec. 
Sec. H. V. Vedder, Fin. Sec. Geo. P. Howard, Fornian A.B.Tay- 
lor, Asst. Foreman James Fromer. 

The officers of the year of Hook & Ladder Co. No. 1 are: 
Pres. CM. Cartwright, Vice-Pres. Charles Shuman, Rec. Sec. C. 
A. Mooney, Fin. Sec. Benj. Sturtz, Treas. P. H. Conerty, Fore- 
man V. S. Baldwin, Lst Asst. Forman Benj. Sturtz, 2d Asst. 
Foreman Harry Smith. 

In all Greene county there is no place that has built up 
more rapidly than Haines Falls, in the past twenty years. It isn't 
30 long either back^^to the period when there were most Haines in 

469 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



that section. There were seven Haines families who joined lands 
all in a row, and one of the early residents was Christian Charles 
W. Haines, who conducted the Haines Falls House for a long per- 
iod of years. He also owned the Falls that have ever since borne 
his name. He had the Falls fenced in and 30 years ago when the 
traveler wanted to see the mighty mountain cataract, he was con- 
ducted down a long stairway with many a caution about slipping, 
and then the water was turned on for the sum of 25 cents per 
visitor. This grand old man was regarded as one of the great 
men of his day. He died in 1908. The Haines Falls House was 
destroyed by a fire Nov. 17, 1911, that started in the kitchen. 
The loss was upwards of 875,000. The place has not been re- 
built. 

But we started to tell of the new buildings. 

First mention should no doubt be given to the Twilight, 
Santa Cruz and .Sunset Parks, where no less than 250 cottages 
have been erected, all commodious and artistic, and some of the 
houses worth many thousands of dollars. 

Twilight Inn, property of the Park Association, is the fin- 
est of the large mountain hotels. It cost more than $100,000. It 
has been in charge of L. P. Schutt the past two years. It was 
damaged by fire last summer at a loss of S4500. 

Sunset Inn is the most sightly, managed by Joseph Bryne, 
accommodates 100 guests and is modern in every way. 

The Squirrel Inn is another fine structure. 

Santa Cruz Inn is conducted by Mrs. French. 

The Ledge End Inn is conducted by the Misses Albertson. 

The park has a water system with 5 steel tanks, 50 feet in 
diameter and costing a large sum. They were built by E.A. Hues- 
ton. 

Among the proment men who own cottages in the park are 
E. E. Olcott of the Day Line, Gen, George F. Wingate, Bliss Car- 
man, A. F. Huested of Coatsville, Pa., a wealthy steel manufact- 
urer, Mrs. F.W. Picard, Prof. F. R, Hutton of Columbia College, 
Major \V. H. Wiley, Robert Fulton, a descendant of Robert Ful- 
ton, who built the firs t steamboat navigated on the Hudson river, 

470 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



John G. Underbill, Mrs. A. C. Benedict, Raymond Gorges, Dr. 
W. N. Hubbard, Charles P. Hathaway, Dr. Lester M. Hubby, E. 
R. Crowe and most of the other cottages are the property of the 
association and are rented during the season to persons from New 
York and other cities. 




Lox- Hurst, Haines Falls, C. A. Martin, propr. 

General Geo. Wingate, president of the Twilight Rest Com- 
pany, was the originator of the park company and built the Inn. 
His cottage is the finest in the park. 

There are two handsome churches in the park. The All 
Angels Episcopal and the Union Chapel. T'ndenominational, 

St. Mary's church is a fine edice with stained glass win- 
dows, has parsonage abjoining and also a commodious hall built 
last summer. 

The Methodist church has been rebuilt also. 

Miss A. Ely, who conducts the Vista, has a block of fine 
stores. 

Henry Smith and Company have an extensive livery busi- 
ness with fine buildings in the Park. They operate some 50 rigs 
in the summer, 2 autos and employ 18 men. 

471 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Among the other houses that have been erected, the Antlers 
is the largest and probably worth 8~5,0(J0. On this road leading 
to the Mountain House are at least 7o houses, mostly new and a 
number of buildings. 

K. E. Pelhani has made a remarkable change at the top of 
Clove notch, and has spent §25,000 on his big boarding house, 
with a garage 40.\20 feet. Fred Pleham. his son, has just com- 
pleted a handsome cottage overlooking the Clove. 

C.A. Martin has expended $30,000 on the Lox-Hurst, new 
cottage and enlargement o'i the house. Samuel E. Rusk has built 

the Claremont, a splendid summer house svorth 850,000. 

The Vista adjoins, and ]\Irs. Ely, the proprietor, has built 
a l)lock of stores. Rusk and Andrews have put up the largest 
tlieatre in the Catskills, known as the Wauwanda. Frank Smith 
has built a big store, and cottage. One of the improvements is 
the handsome depot of the U. & D. Ry. in the rear of the Lox- 
Hurst. The Renner Mountain Inn has been transfornjed like the 
palace of a dream and R. W. Renner. the proprietor, boasts a 
hostelry second to none in every way. 

The property of the Haines Falls Coal and Lumber Com- 
pany has all new buildings and is very valuable. This business 
was started by W. I. Hallenbeck, one of the grand men who has 
represented Greene county in many ways. The Fenmore owned 
by him is commodious and beautiful and he has completed a fine 
new cottage opposite. 

The Polischners conduct a big garage near the corners, J. 
B. Myers has a tine grocery and general store. 

S. E. Rusk has built anew postofiice building. The Falls 
has 700 population estimated, and during the summer about 6000. 
At that period, Postmaster Rusk informs us, that he handles 
10,000 pieces of mail daily. Mr. Rusk was the man who negotia- 
ted the postoffice for Haines Falls and Samuel P. Schutt was the 
first postmaster. The building was 8x14 feet. The successive 

473 



t>iJAR OLD GREiENfe COIJNTir. 



postmasters were S. E. Rusk, W. I. Hallenbeck, C. A. Martin, 
Albert Kerr, and from 1907 to 1014 S. E. Rusk, and now Her* 
bert O'Hara. S. E. Rusk, in 1<S92 wrote the first money order, 
and the M. O. business now amounts to $30,000 per year. ]\Ir. 
Rusk built the Lox-Hurst in 1894 and the Clareraont in 1905. 

It may be interesting to know that the tirst postmaster in 
Tannersville was Bird Gray and tliat tbe othce was located for 
years in the Layman house near the corners. This postoffice had 
a bar room, and a store and the principal articles of sale were 
powder and shot. At that time the postmasters had to send a way 
bill with the mail and thnt contained a list of the packages and 
letters as addressed. 

The early industry was mostly getting out hemlock bark 
for tbe great tannery that was located in the Clove and that was 
the original Tannersville. Just at the top of the mountain was an 
old house that was destro.yed by fire a numl)er of years ago, and it 
was one of the first houses in the section. 

We referred to Bird Gray as the first postmaster of Tanners- 
ville. Aaron Roggen succeeded him, then William Ellis, INIichael 
Lackey and Charles Voss, who has held the office for many years. 

The first deed of land in the Haines Falls section was to 
Aaron Haines and that was in 1847, up to that time the land had 
been leased or sold without deed. Charles W. Haines, a son of 
Aaron Haines built the Haines Falls House in 18G4 and it was 
burned Nov. 17, 1911. 

Prentiss Hallenbeck had a large boarding house near wherf^ 
the Antlers stands but that was burned and he lost everything. 

The Laurel House, on property formerly and originally 
Peter Schutt's, father of L. P. Schutt of the Twilight Inn, is 
owned by Jacob Fromer and is one of the early houses. A. C. Ing- 
lesse, has been making a success of the house. 

The Antlers is conducted by Simon Fried burgh. 
473 



DfcAR OLD GREENE COUNtt. 



Charles Layman lost his life in lighting a fire near the 
J.aurel House and on the spot a monument has been erected to 
his memory. 

It is narrated of Peter Schutt that he drove a deer off the 
Red Rocks into the Clove, a distance of 250 feet and that on an- 
other occasion he drove a deer into the stream and over the falls 
which later on that account became known as Fawn's Leap. 

We have a picture of the Old Tannery in the Clove from a 
(linuing by the late Col. B.B. G. Stone, a Catskill artist who died 
at his home in Catskill. He made hundreds of pencil drawings of 
the mountain section in the 60's and also in the 80's. The Col. 
who had a fine war record, wore a long flowing beard, and was 
many times penciled and photographed as Rip Van Winkle. 

Aaron Haines was the first settler and found his way from 
Connecticut fol[o\^ing the mountain house trail on hoiseback. 

Samuel E. Rusk, the present postmaster, has a wireless 
station, the only one in this section of the state, and takes mes- 
sages from all along the Atlantic coast He was a professor at th(^ 
old Clauverack college, a historical institution now torn down; 
conducted the Bordentown, N. J. School and has been al)le to 
demonstrate that pictures can be taken through solid substances 
and in the dark. 

Haines Falls has a public library in which much intei'est is 
taken. 

Mount Tabor Lodge No. 807, Free and Accepted Masons, 
was instituted at Hunter in September, 1892, under a charter 
granted June 8, 1893. Its charter members were Dwight L. Bur- 
gess, Louis Mansfield, Warren Todd, Charles Lake, Willis Bald- 
win, J. Leipold, Frank Conerty, A. Traphagen, E. Myers, W. H. 
Mansfield, C. Traphagen, Horace Biddel, George Haner, William 
Bolles, George Ploss, H. Leaycraft, Wm. Ellis. It has produced 
two grand lodge oflficers: Dayton Slater, assistant grand lecturer, 
1908-1909, and Peter Joslyn, assistant grand lecturer, 1914-1915. 
Regular communications are held Monday evenings in Slater 
Building, Hunter. The membership is 102. The officers for 1914 
were: Frederick B. Wilcox, W.M.; Frank Barkley, S. W. ; Geo. 
Miller, J. W. ; Dayton Slater, treasurer; Arthur Baldwin, secre- 

474 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



tary: John Kay, chaplain, Fred Campbell, S. D.; Fred Scher- 
merhorn, J. D.; Lewis Smith, S.M.C.; Ernest Graham, J.MC; 
James Fromei-, Wesley Gripman, stewards, Wallace Burroughs, 
marshall; Howard S^edder. tylpv. 




WILLIAM B. MARTIN 
William B. ]\[artin, proprietor of the well known Martin's 
Hotel at Tannersville, was born in Lexington in LS56. His father 
was Frederick Van Orden Martin, a wagon ironer, who learned 
his trade atCatskill, being bound out as an apprentice. He died 
Jan. 2, 1895 at the age of 84 years. His wife was Elizabeth Saxe, 
and she was born at Saxton, and died in 1892, at the age of 77 
years. 



DBAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



\\'illiam B. Martin was married to Louisa' Van Valken- 
Imrgh of Kodout in 1877, and she died March 22, 1907. They had 
six children, George W. Martin, horn in 1878, who was a graduate 
of Cornell law college, and who after practicing law for a time at 
Tannersville, was compelled on account of his health to go to Den- 
ver, Colorado, where he was quite successful, finally being com- 
pelled to returned to Tannersville with his family where he died 
in 1010. The other children were Robert Scott Martin and Cath- 
erine Maria Martin, now Mrs. Geo. Longyear of Red Hook, Fred- 
erick Van Orden ^Martin, ]Mary Louise Martin, and Elizabeth 
Martin. 

Mr. ^Martin's second wife was Laura Edna Bach of West 
Saugerties, whom he married Nov. 28, 1914, and with whom he 
is now living. 

^U\ Martin was for ten years operating a stage line l)etween 
Lexington and Shandaken and also between Lexington and Hun- 
ter. In 1884 he purchased a hotel at Lexington, and in 1901 be 
purchased the Roggen House at Tannersville where bp i- now lo- 
cated and has greatly improved it. ^^o that it is one of tbe finest 
hostelries on the mountains. This place one of tbe first inns in 
the town, was first conducted by Wm. Anthony, an anti renter, 
and then by Norman Gray about 60 years ago. His son, Bird 
Graj^ a Southern sympathizer in the war period, was locked up 
in Fort Lafayette, and later was killed in an accident in the Clove. 
1865. Samuel Mulford, former supervisor of Hunter, operated 
the hotel, also Frank B. Lament, ex-sheriff of Greene Co., who 
sold it to Aaron Roggen in 1867. He enlarged it and for oo 
years ran it as Roggen 's Mountain Home. He was a relative of 
Martin Van Buren, president of the United States, and ran a line 
of sloops from Albany to New York. He also dealt in whiskey, 
grain and flour and his old cash book and records are still in the 
possession of Mr. Martin, and they show consignments that would 
make the dealers of today sit up and take notice. For instance 
on April 24, 17, 1834, his sales were: whiskey S7114, April 10, 
200 bbls. of flour $1062, May 6th, rye $4270, flaxseed $166, whis- 
key $()33 for 42 barrels, S2188 for potash, barley $2090, rye 
$2255, 129 bbls. flour 8575, 10 tons peas $100. 

476 



t)EAR OLD GRBJEKE COtJNtt. 



JACOB FROMER 

Jacob Fromer, who has been one of the potent factors in the 
history and progress of the town of Hunter and Greene country, 
was born at Wittenburgh, Germany in 1848. He went to Hunter 
with his father, Daniel Fromer, in 1853. Few men have ever 
been more intimately connected with the welfare and interests 
of their own town than has Mr. Fromer. For he not only 
built a considerable portion of the town, cottages, stores, boarding 
houses, including such structures as the Laurel House of which he 
is still owner, but for 6 years he represented the town of Hunter 
in the Board of Supervisors, and succeeded in getting a largely 
reduced assessment for the town. He built no less than 10 iron 
bridges in the town, and was instrumental in bringing about the 
purchase of the toll roads and toll gates of the county. The 
Fromer store was the largest and best stocked store in the county, 
and his residence on Main street is the finest in Tannersville. He 
started the livery business now conducted by Schryver & Webster, 
organized the Tannersville Water Company, of which he is presi- 
dent, in 1901, and in 1902 organized Jacob Fromer Hose Com- 
pany. He presented the company with the lot for their building, 
and a contribution of $500 at their fairs is not unsual. He con- 
tributed largely to the building of the local churches, was owner 
of the Roggen House, gave the ground for the parsonage of the 
Methodist church. He contributed to the organization of the 
band at Tannersville, and has always been a liberal supporter of 
all local improvements. He is at present conducting a successful 
real estate and insurance business. He is a director of the Tan- 
nersville and Catskill railroad. 



C. A. MARTIN 

C. A. Martin of Haines Falls is one of the most successful 
boarding house keepers in the mountain section and his place is 
favorably known from one end of the country to the other. He 
purchased the Lox-Hurst in 1899, of Samuel E. Rusk, who built 

477 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




C. A. Martin 
Within easy walk of Mr. 
Martin's place are the fam- 
ous Kaaterskill Falls, and 
Haines Falls, two of the 
great cataracts of the moun- 
tain section, Fawn's Leap, 
Santa Cruz Falls, Profile 
Rock, Sunset Rock, a view 
of which is shown on this 
pnge, Twilight and Sunset 
Parks, Catskill Mt. House, 
Hotel Kaaterskill, and the 
wonderful North and South 
Lakes. Also the Otis Elev- 
ating Ry., which operates 
to the summit of the moun- 
tains. 



the hotel, and has since built the 
Claremont adjoining. Upon this 
property he has spent §25,000 in 
improyements, so that he has a 
summer hotel that is modern in 
ever y way and accommodates 
nvir 100 guests. His place is us- 
uaUy well filled. Mr. Martin was 
)orn at Hunter and has taken an 
active interest in the affairs of the 
town as an individual and as an 
office holder elected by the people. 

For 5 years he was postmaster at 
Haines Falls. 

The Lox-Hurst is located near 
the great Clove Slide. 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Frank Layman wasjburned to death near the Laufel House 
in 1900, while attempting to put out a fire that threatened to 
burn the hotel property, and a monument has been erected to 
his memory. 

The station of the Catskill Mt. Ry. was burned in 1915 and 
is now in process of being rebuilt. 

R. W. RENNER 

R. W. Renner, familiarly known throughout Greene county 
as"Wally Renner," proprietor of Renner 's Mountain Inn, located 
at the corners, Haines Falls, and formerly Hotel Hallenbeck, has 
been very largely influential in bringing this well known summer 
resort into prominence. He has made his hotel property very 
attractive, and has the reputation of catering to the tastes of the 
traveling public with a menu that is unexcelled. Travelers from 
every section aim to put up at Renner's. 

Some idea of the beauty of Mr. Renner's hostelry may be 
had from the view which we present on this page showing the 
hotel property and the bridge and mountain stream that courses 
near the hotel affording fine fishing. 





MQUDT gYWHN HOUgE 

Mrs. M. L. Tracey, Proprietre^is 
Haines Falls, N. Y. 



Tern-.s S<S to 815 per week. Transient Rates S2 per day. 
Accommodations for 40 guests. 

Electric Lights, Bath and Modern Conveniences. 
Central to all points of interest. 
Pure spring water. Ample shade. 




THE KENWOOD 

HAINES FALLS, N. Y. 

ELMER E. PELHAM, Propr. 
Open from June 1 to October 20. 

Delightfully Located at Elevation of 2,000 feet at the head of 
the famous Kaaterskill Clove. 

House Lighted by Gas. Up-to-date Sanitary Arrangements. 

In the midst of the most important points of interest in the 
Catskill ^Mountains. 

'Bus meets all trains. 

Liox-Hcirst and Cottage 

Haines Falls, N. Y. 

G. A. MARTIN, - Propr ielor 



On a Commanding Elevation at the head of Kaaterskill Clove 
Hot and cold water bath.s and modern conveniences. 
Central to all points. House bus meets all trains. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Ne-w Baltiivvore 




Dale S. Baldwin 



New Baltimore was originally 
a part of the district of Coxsackie, 
and it was not until 191 1 that it 
was set apart as a township. The 
original occupants of the town were 
Indians. The town comprises 24,- 
189 acres and the valuation is about 
an even million dollars. The rec- 
ords of the town previous to 1854 
have been lost. 

The first settlers were the Van 
Slykes, Van Dei zees, Hotalings, 
Garrets, Millers, Greenes, Powells, 
Wheelers, Smiths, Bedells, Searles, 
Hotalings, Vandepoels and Van Or- 
dens. Many of these were Quakers 
and they set up a standard of wor- 
ship that still remains, and the gen- 
srations of the early family are among the first citizens of New 
Baltimore. Most of these early families settled in the district in 
the period just preceding 1800, about 1790. The old Van Bergen 
mill of which we present a picture elsewhere was probablj^ the 
first grist mill in the county, and was erected by Peter Van Ber- 
gen, 1780. 

The writer landed at New Baltimore Station and in com- 
pany with mail being delivered by Uncle Sam, a big box of mill- 
inery and a very mysterious package w^eighing 100 pounds the 
contents of which were not indicated passed, slowly in the one 
horse rig to the heart of New Baltimore's great business center. 
We have to thank a number of people here for the information 
that we received. People of New Baltimore live long and well and 
die happy unless the records are misleading. From 1903 to 1914 
according to the records 55 persons died in that town, and 42 of 
the deaths were people over 80 years of age. 9 were over 90 and 

482 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



one person 105 years of age. That was Mary Van Derzee. She 
died in 1907, and was born in 1802, being without doubt the old- 
est person in the county. This entire hst of deaths will l)e found 
a little further on. We are indebted to Stephen A. Burlingham 
for much of the information we received. 

Charles Titus, a Hicksite and (h^i^kei" pi'e^^cher, built a mill 
near Medway in 1818 and many other mills followed for sawing 
lumber. Men named Dodge, Coney, Delamater and Van Bergen 
built mills. 

Formerly a large amount of shipping was done from New 
Baltimore village and it was not an unusual sight to see lines of 
teams and loads of straw reaching from the landing to the top of 
the hill and for half a mile. With the burning of the l)ig store 
house of Andrew Vanderpoel this business was lost. 




New Baltimore in 1915 from River 

In 1815 Paul Sherman started the building of boats for 
river traffic and that resulted in the great ship yard that has since 
been supplying substantial sailboats, tugboats, and larger steam- 
boats. Around 1850 John Burlingham, an uncle of the inform- 
ant, and William Wheat took the business and they built a num- 
ber of annex ferry boats that .were used in New York harbor, as 
well as the first double deck barges. Then Goldsmith and Teneyck 

483 



DEAR OLD QRBENB COUNTY. 



got the business and iho.y let it run down. Tiien J. R. and H. S. 
Baldwin purchased the business and commenced to make vessels 
that were staunch in every way. William H. Baldwin, the present 
proprietor went to work for them and grew up in the business. He 
purchased it in 1879 and has spent a fortune in adding every 
improvement known to the shop builder's art. Great waj'S, heavy 
hoisting and lifting apparatus, steaming apparatus, saw and tram- 
ways and material and tools of every sort, has made the yard per- 
fect. Forty three years this faithful builder of barges, steamboats 
and pleasure yachts has turned the lock of his office door. 

His son, Dale S. Baldwin, now supervisor of the town, is 
associated with him in the business. 

From the river New Baltimore well displays its well kept 
residences, its splendid brick school building, a hose hose that is 
a credit to the donor, Mr. Cornell, after whom the company is 
named, and to the village as well; a number of large hotels of 
which two are in operation, and three prosperous churches. 

The oldest of these churches is the Reformed. This organ- 
ization dates to 1823, but the name of the first pastor does not 
appear to be known. The Rev. Staats Van Santvoord held ser- 
vices at New Baltimore and Coeymans in 1833. The Rev. W. R. 
Torrens is the present pastor. 

The Baptist church was organized in 1868, by the Rev. 
Foster Hartwell and Rev. A. B. Palmatier. First worship was in 
the school house and in 1780 a church costing 84000 was built. 
The Rev. G. D. Merry is the present pastor. 

The Methodist church was built in 1856 and later on re- 
modeled at a cost of 88000, and among the contributers was the 
Rev. James A. H. Cornell, pastor of the Reformed church who 
later on built the fine hose house of Cornell fire company. The 
early records of the church were lost. In 18/6 John Crawford 
w'as pastor and the present minister is Rev. J. E. Parker. 

The Quakers as early as 1803 built a church at Stanton 
Hill and the Bedells and Halsteds were the chief backers of this 
organization. 

The Rev. Ebenezer Wicks started the Baptist church at 
Grape ville, and the Palmers of that section were among its many 
communicants. 

484 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Methodist Church at Medway was built in 1832. How- 
ever there were no early records kept. We are informed that the 
Smiths, Garrets, and Van Derzees were early and later supporters. 

The old Methodist church and school house annex have 
been altered and John Wagner owns and occupies the church prop- 
erty and Bertha Parsons the school house. 

New Baltimore has a number of prosperous social organi- 
zations : 

Social Friendship Masonic Lodge 741, was organized in 
1874. Barney Gardenier is at the head of this organization as 
worship master. 

The Odd Fellows organization has discontinued. 

The graded school to which we referred has at its head as 
principal H. B. Ostrander, Miss Alice Biglake, intermediate, Miss 
Alida Mulder primary. 

Cornell Hose Company occupies a fine large building on 
the site of its old house destroyed by fire. William Henry Bald- 
win is president of the organization, Richard Chapman foreman, 
William Mortimer secretary and William R. Gay, sec. 

The school trustees are Dr. G. Waller, Martinus Mulder, 
and Byron Mansfield. 

Dale S. Baldwin is supervisor of the town and L. G.Nelson 
clerk. 

Social Friendship Lodge No. 741 , Free and Accepted Mas- 
ons, New Baltimore, was constituted Julv 9, 1874, under a char- 
ter issued June 5 previous, with the following charter members: 
Robert H. Bronk, Isaac Burns, James H. Case, John Colvin, Ed- 
win S. Colburn, John A. Davis, Dewitt A. Fuller, Anthony H. 
Holmes, Benjamin Hotaling, John Hotaling, Jacob B Holmes, 
George H. Jackson, L. A. Marshall, James Miller, Stephen Mead, 
Horace Rennie, George Smith, Stephen Springstead. A.V.S. Van 
Derpoel, A. J. Van Derpoel, Ira Willson. Its past masters have 
been the following: Anthony Holmes, John Colvin, Augustus 
Sherman, Sam. Colvin, Jacob Carthart, Warren Wolf, L. Colvin, 
William Gay, William Fuller, Howard Lomax, Wessel Van Or- 
den, Byron Mansfield, Martienus Mulder, Jacob Van Fleet, Eu- 
gene Wolfe, Barney Gardenier. The present worshipful master is 
Dale S. Baldwin. The membership is 64, and regular commun- 
ications are held on the first and third Fridays of each month. 

485 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Elmer Krieger 



^raltsville 

Prattsville was named after Col. 
Zadock Pratt, and the territory, 
something over 1300 acres valued at 
8250,000 was taken from the town 
of Windham in 1S33, and it is one 
of the most picturesque in the 
county, vith a splendid stream, the 
Bataviakill splitting the town in 
half. Just below the beautiful vil- 
lage of Prattsville is located the 
great Devasego Falls, one of the 
most notable waterfalls in the coun- 
ty, and which has made the town 
famous as a boaiding section. 

Prattsville village will be seen 
from the picture taken in 1843 is 
located in a fertile valley with mod- 
el surroundings. The home of the 
greatest man that the country ever produced, and who gave to the 
county the great tanning industry, and whose lasting monuments 
are to be seen in the world— wide pictured rocks bearing the 
names of many of the Pratt family. [See sketch on page 146.] 
Like many of the other towns Prattsville had a greater population 
in 1800 than it has in 1915, and unless all sign fail the building 
of the great water plant which is to supply New York City will in 
the course of the next few years cause the inundation of a consid- 
erable portion of the town, and lose to it practically all of the 
population now remaining. Prattsville had 1115 residents in 
1800 and 713 according to the last census. 

Prattsville was settled by early comers from the Schoharie 
valley, and on the valley flats at Prattsville was fought an en- 
gagement of some importance between the settlers and the Tories 
and Indians, headed by a British ofhcer, named Captain Smith, 
who was shot and killed and whose remains buried near the creek 
were washed away in later years during a freshet. These early 
settlers came from Germany in 1710, and it took them two yea,rs. 

4i6 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



to reach the Hudson river, after a great many had died on the 
way. They proceeded up the Hudson to Albany and thence found 
their way by Indian trail to the valley of the Schoharie. 

The Laraways, Van Alstyns, Van Loans, Deckers, Shoe- 
makers, Derricks, Austins, Distins, Atwaters, Tompkins, Bran- 
dows, ]Mores and others were among the early comers, and these 
families many of them are still in that section. 

The first supervisor of the town was Hezekiah Dickerman 
in 1833, and the present supervisor, honored year after year, is 
Elmer Krieger. Zadock Pratt was supervisor in 1863, and Omar 
V. Sage, now of Catskill, was supervisor in 1861. 

Prattsville has produced many men who have stood well in 
the history of the county, and among them were Daniel C. Scud- 
der, F. James Fitch, Henry Chatfield, Burton G. Morss, Hiram 
Cronk, Hiram Boughton, and others whose names we may have 
omitted. 

Col. Pratt contributed very largely the money that was 
used to build the academy at Prattsville. 

The first school was in log house near the Pratt rocks. 

The Reformed Dutch was the first church, and that was 
organized in 1802, with the Rev. Lapaugh as preacher. The pres- 
ent church was erected in 1834. 

The Methodist church was organized in 1823 and the first 
church built in 1834, with Thomas S. Barrett as preacher. Dur- 
ham was in the preaching circuit. Col. Pratt gave most of the 
money to build these churches. 

The Protestant Episcopal church was organized in 1833, 
Prattsville, Windham and Hobart being the preaching circuit. 
Zadock Pratt was a warden of this church. 

This church cost about $2000 and Mary E. Pratt gave 
SoOO. The first president of Prattsville village was Dr. Thomas 
Fitch. The Prattsville bank was organized in 1843, with a capi- 
tal stock of $272,266. It went out of business in 1852. 

488 



DteAR OLD GREENE COtTNtlT. 



Prattsville was the home of the great tanneries and Zadock 
Pratt their promoter, the town being at that time Windham. 

The first tannery however and a grist mill and saw mill 
was operated at Devasego falls by Thomas Bell, who disappeared 
from Prattsville and was captured and hanged as a pirate. The 
mill property was destroyed by fire in 1825. 

The view which we present of Prattsville shows the great 
Pratt tannery which discontinued operations in 1845. 

Further reference to this industry will be found in the 
sketch of the life of Col. Pratt on pages 146-149. 

The first physician at Prattsville was Dr. Smith, 1790, 
followed in 1800 by Dr. Curtis, and in 1825 by Dr. Benham, the 
later being largely responsible for the arrest and conviction of 
John Kelly who murdered Lucretia Lewis at Prattsville, and who 
was hanged at Catskill in 1847. 

Burton G. Morse, next in line of Prattsville 's great men, 
was born at Windham in 1810. His grandfather Asa Morse had 
a family of 14 children, and the oldest son, Foster, was the father 
of Burton G. He had tanneries at Red Falls, Windhand, Ashland, 
Carbondale and a grist mill on White Brook, a foundry at Red 
Falls, and also a cotton factory. These buildings cost $20,000 
and the machinery $50,000. The dam which had a head of 32 
feet cost $6000. He had 11 grist mills, one at Hobart being twice 
burned, his plow factory was burned, and in the great freshet of 
1869 he lost all his milling property at Red Falls, Hobart, Gilboa, 
and Schenevus, valued at $100,000. Two tanneries, foundry and 
one grist mill were burned at a loss of $53,000. 

He was supervisor of Prattsville, 1869 to 1878 and assem- 
blyman 1876. 

Elmer Krieger stands third among the important men of 
Prattsville, and has represented that town in the board of super- 
visors since 1883. See sketch on page •-■^l 

489 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



Work is now proceeding at Prattsville on the great dam, 
which will be 150 feet high and wipe out 40 large farms in addi- 
tion to the entire village of Prattsville. The famous Pratt farm 
and its pictured rocks, the Platner farm, with its $20,000 barns, 
Sheriff Churchill's farm. Sheriff Conine's farm, Higgin's farm, 
the Hull farm, the Devasego Falls House and other big boarding 
houses, 3 schools, 2 creameries, 7 stores, 4 churches, 3 hotels, 3 
cemeteries, foundrj', and 100 residences will go to make room for 
the great reservoir. The mountain will be tunneled to get the 
water to the Ulster county water shed. The work is estimated to 
take 8 years. 

Aurora Lodge F. it A. M. was organized in 1827 with 
Thomas Benham, W.M.; Sidney Lovejoy, S. W.; C. K. Benham, 
J,W. But its existence was very brief, public feeling at that time 
being too anti-rnasonic, so that it did not outlast the year. 

Oasis Lodge No. 119, F. & A. JNI. was instituted June 5, 
1847, with Cornelius K. Benham, W. M.; Matthew C. Boughton, 
S. \V. ; Robert Scanling, J.'^W. There is no record of other officers 
or charter members. This lodge has prospered. It occupies its 
own building, where communications are held on the 2d and 4th 
Tuesday of each month. Its membership December 31, li»14, 
was 73. 

The officers for 1914 were: Austin Hummell, W, M.; Ed- 
win A. Alberti, S. W.; Willis Lutz, J.W.; Dwight Conine, treas- 
urer, Albert Newcomb, secretary; Orville Hummel, S.D.; Edwin 
Moore, J. D.; Claude White, chaplain; Fred. Will, S. M. C; 
Franklin Marquit, J. M.C. ; James C. MoWillinms; mar-ludl; De- 
witt Chase, tyler. 

Its succeeding worshipful masters liave hoen : C. K. Ben- 
ham, James Gregory, G. S. Cotton, E. P. More, A. P. Myers, 
Theodore Rudolph, Cornelius Platner, Wm. F. Fenn, Sidney Cro- 
well, James ^NlcWilliams, Albert Clark, Albert Newcomb, J. H. 
Chatfield, M. G. Marsh, A. S. Cammer, James Richtmyer, Dewitt 
Chase, Charles Rose, E. A. Alberti, Claud V- White, Gould Grif- 
ftn, Austin Hummel. 

490 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 




Wirvdham 

Windham was formerly a part 
of Woodstock, Ulster county, and 
is one of the most prosperous of the 
mountain towns. It has many 
splendid and well tilled farms, and 
a great many prosperous boarding 
houses. While there are few of the 
early industries that remain there 
are evidences of thrift everywhere. 
In manufacturing there is nothing 
left. Farming and the entainment 
of summer guests who desert the 
city for the pure air are the chief 
occupations. 

Windham has always stood at 
the front in furnishing strong men 
who have occupied high positions 
in state and county affairs. Wash- 
ington Hunt and Lucius Robinson of Windham were both gover- 
nor of the state. Rufus King and Zadock Pratt were members 
of congress, Lyons Tuttle, William Steele and Hon. C.E. Blood- 
good were state senators, and Edward M.Cole was member of 
assembly. 

A great many of the prominent men of Catskill, New York 
City and other places have gone out of Windham. Jcsiah Tall- 
madge to be county .iudge for along term of years, Cyrus E. Blood- 
good to be county clerk, and a great many lawyers, among whom 
are Frank H. Osboni, Judge Chase, Leonard B. Cornell and 
others. 

For many years Windham has been the temperance strong- 
hold of Greene county. Strange to say the early industries of 
Windham included a distillery operated by Bennett Osborn and 
another the property of William Tuttle, 1822 to 1830. Windham 
whiskey was regarded as better than the Blue Grass kind. The 
most important industry industry was tanning, and Zadock Pratt, 

491 



Dr. Sidney L. Ford 



DBAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Samuel Reynolds, Clark Twist, Friend Holcorab, Tertius Graham, 
Bennett Osborn, Abijah Stone, Col. George Robinson operated 
tanneries. 

-lared Matthews conducted a button factory. 

.Tared Matthews in 1822 manufactured shaving boxes and 
later a carding mill and saw mill. 

Hunt and Matthews operated a collar factory. 

Matthews and Hunt made harness to supply the New York 
city trade. William Tuttle ran an ashery and distillery. 

Morse and Newburj- manufactured printing presses. 

Bennett Osborn and Abijah Stone operated a grist mill. 

Bennett Osborn was the first postmaster at Windham, be- 
ing commissioned by Andrew Jackson. 

The first settlement was at Osbornville, now Windham, 
but the Osborns are still there in force, and George Osborn at 
Brook Lynne, better known now as Brooklyn, has one of the 
largest and most successful boarding house interests in the Cats- 
kills. 

Back in 1822 Asa Osborn represented the town as its sup- 
ervisor, and Merritt Osborn, 1847, Barnard Osborn 1864, M. C. 
Osborn 1879 and George Osborn 1905, represented the town in 
the Board of Supervisors. 

Noble P. Cowles, John Olney, Erastus Peck, Cyrus E. 
Bloodgood, are among the Windham men who have become not- 
able characters in the county's history. 

There was Captain Robinson who in 1812 volunteered and 
his personality was so great that he took his company almost to a 
with him. 

David Lamoreau settled at Windham in 1817, and raised a 
family of 11 children in a log house. 

Solomon Munson came to Windham in 1802, and he was 
killed building a frame building to take the place of a log house. 

Silas Lewis was the first of that family and he erected a 
grist mill. 

George Stimson settled in the Batavia valley in 1785. 
492 



CHAR OLD GREENte COtJNtY. 



Eleazer Miller, Elias Clark, and Cornelius Fuller were early 
settlers, and the latter kept an inn, 1812. He had 8 sons and 8 
daughters, all of whom lived to raise families. At Fuller's tav- 
ern religious services were held every Sunday, and there was 
a pulpit erected in one of the rooms for religious purposes. Mr. 
Fuller is said to have been very kind and benevolent. 

Lemuel Hitchcock settled near Big Hollow in 1785 and 
raised a family of 10 children, all in a little log house. 

Abel Holcom from Granby, Ct., located at Jewett, 1820 
and built a sawmill, a brick yard, a tannery and established a 
store. Col. Pratt started the tannery business. 

Eli Robinson, father of Governor Robinson built a log 
house around 1800. 

Sanford Hunt, father of Governor Hunt, manufactured 
potash . 

Ambrose Chapman, 1820, started a chair factory and made 
band hay rakes. 

Isaac Payne built a saw mill, ISIO, Lemuel Anson started 
a paper mill, 1850, Jared C-lark built a saw mill, Roswell Bump, 
1810 raised a family of 9 boys and 4 girls in a log liouse ot Wind- 
ham. Decon Elam Finch organized the West Durham Presby- 
terian church and brought up a family of 11 children. 

These sturdy pioneers of the stirring early town liyed long 
and were happy and full of religious zeal. They died at 80 and 
90 and raised families of from 8 to 14 persons. There were no 
child's welfare clubs, no eugenics, no great health boards and 
rules of hygiene, no fly swatters, and no tabooing of water cups, 
but they lived, all of them and the inference that health comes 
unsought under the proper surroundings may be had. Men work- 
ed, and women also. Their food was simple and their hardships 
many, and the secret of most of the healthy children is that there 
were no nursing bottles and the mother raised her offspring. 

Bennett Osborn had a grist mill at Windham in 1810, a 
493 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



tannery in 1S23. Henry Osborn later erected the building that 
became the ISIethodist church, and for a time ran a newspaper 
called the Centennial ISfw. Bennett Osborn was postmaster. 

The Big Hollow Prosl)yterian church was started in 1S22. 

The Windham Presbyterian church was established in 1834. 

The INIethodist Episcopal church was organized in 1S4;3. 

The Episcopal Mission in ISoO. 

The Free Methodist church at Big Hollow in 1871. 

The Hensonville Methodist church in 1874. 

The Windham Journal was started in 1857 by William R. 
Steele. Edward I\I. Cole, published the paper up to the time of 
his death in 1915. 

Windham was visited by a most destructive freshet in 
1870. 

Colonel George Robertson was one of the most prominent 
men that Windham has produced. He was born in 1805, and 
was one of a family of ten children. His father was also a Col- 
onel. He was born at Troy and moving to Windham opened a 
temperance hotel, the first in the country. Col. George Robertson 
operated a tannery, and a saw mill. When his tannery was burn- 
ed in 1853, in the space of six days he performed the greatest 
building feat that has been known. Timber was cut from the 
woods, and a building 40x210 and 3 stories in height, main part, 
with addition 21x120 feet, was erected and ready for use. There 
is nothing to equal this even today with greater facilities at hand. 

Free Masonry gained an early foothold in Windham, where 
Revival Lodge No. 117, F. & A. M. was instituted in 1804 by 
these eminent grand lodge officers present: R. W. Jacob Morton, 
G. M.; Martin Hoffman, D, G. M.; C. Colden, S. G. W.; Dan- 
iel D. Tompkins, grand secretary; Philip S. Van Rensselaer, J.G. 
W. The lodge was organized at the house of John Tuttle, at 
Batavia, and its first officers were: Samuel Gunn \V, M., Thos. 
Benham S. W^, George Robertson J. W. There were 87 members, 
all early settlers of Windham and vicinity. A prize possession of 
the lodge, still in the custody of Mountain Lodge, its successor, 

494 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



is a set of jewels, regarding which the record reads: 

"Memorandum under date of April 22d, 1805. Donation 
of the jewels by Constant A. Andrews to the lodge. But if it 
should so appear that this lodge, No. 117, should lose its charter 
or warrant, the said jewels, or the amount of them, which is 
twenty-two dollars, shall revert back to the said Andrews or his 
heirs or assignees." 

The charter of the lodge was surrendered, however, and on 
the 3d of February, 1807, Harmony Mark Master Lodge No. 31, 
F. & A. M. was organized with Constant A. Andrews W. M., 
George Stimson S. W., Thomas Benham J. W. This probably 
existed some years but finally went out of record. 

Mountain Lodge No. 529, F. & A. M. was organized in 
October, 1862, and its charter received June 8, 1863. Its first 
officers were: C. V. Barnett W. M., Milo Osborn S. W., A. New- 
bury J. W., B. B. Osborn secretary, .J. S. Miller treasurer. There 
were eight charter members. From this time regular communi- 
cations have been held, and the lodge has grown to a membership 
of 108, and it owns the building it occupies, known as Masonic 
Hall. The officers for 1914 were: Charles R. Jennings W. M., 
Cyrus R. Tibbals S. W., W. S. Cammer J. W., Irving Brockett 
treasurer, Arthur Roach secretary, HylieD. Ratcliff S. D., Harold 
Hitchcock J. D., Lewis Munson S. M. C, Rev. J, Markarian 
chaplain, George W. Osborn marshal, Wilber M. Sanford, Osweli 
R. Coe stewards, Sanford J. Osborn tyler, Levi W. Bloodgood, 
George R. Winchell, Irving Brockett, trustees. 



BENJAMIN I. TALIvMADGE 



Benj. I Tallmadge, born at New Baltimore, Greene county. 
New York, November 1st, 1869, the son of Thomas D. and Helen 
M. Tallmadge. Was educated in the common schools of New 
Baltimore and by private study at Albany, Oneonta and Wind- 
ham. Studied law in the office of his brother, Hon. Josiah C. 
Tallmadge, and was admitted to bar February, 1893, entered into 

495 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



a co-partnership with his brother at Windam under firm name of 
J. C. i\: B. 1. TaHmadge, which firm existed until the removal of 
Josiah C. Tallmadge to Catskill in 1897, and from that time lie 
has continued the practice of law alone at Windham. 




BENJAMIN I. TALLMADGE 
He was married on December 24th, 1895 to Kose B. Gra- 
ham, the daughter of Lucius S. Graham of Windham, and three 
children were born of this marriage: Dorothy M., born May 26th, 
1897, Helen R., born Nov. 27th, 1899 and :Marjorie G., born 
June 25th, 1906. His wife. Rose B. Tallmadge. died on the 9th 
day of November, 1913. 

496 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



He has been President of the Board of Education of Wind- 
ham High School and is now Secretary of that Board ; is Presi- 
dent of the Windham Elgin Creamery Cotnpany^of Windham, is 
Secretary and Treasurer of Windham Village Water Company, 
past Piesident of Windham Hose Company, Past Master of Moun- 
tain Lodge No. 529 F. & A. M., Past High Priest of Mountain 
Chapter No. 250, R. A. M; is a member of Rondout Commandery 
No. 52 and of Cypress temple A. A. 0. M. S. 




BURDETTE G. DEWELL 

Burdette G. Dewell, Chairman of the Board of Equaliza- 
tion Commissioners of Greene Qpunty, appointed December, 1014. 
A prominent resident of Windham and one of the Democratic 
leaders of that town. Born at Jewett, Greene County, New York, 
Sept. 2nd, 1874. 

Was at one time a member of the Board of Education of 
Windham High School, is a member of Mountain Lodge No. 529, 
F. & A. M., of Mountain Chapter No. 250 R. A. M., of Rondout 
Commandery No. 52, and of Cypress Temple A. A. 0. M. S. 

He is a member of the firm of Dewell & Moore, the propri- 
etors of the popular Windham Garage. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



31. ^atrick'5 GKurcK, Gatskill 

Something oyer thirty years ago the venerated Father O'- 
Driscoll laid down his burden as pastor of St. Patrick's Church, 
Catskill. He had labored zealously and well in guiding the little 
flock entrusted to him and never flinched before the obstacles that 
constantly crossed his path. 

These duties were taken up by the late lamented Rev Wm. 
Finneran who in frail body brought an amount of energy not of- 
ten found. At once he turned his attention to the general up- 
lifting of his people. With an undaunted purpose in njind, he 
showed them the necessity of raising to the living God, a temple 
more worthy of their Faith. Although there was only a small 
amount in the Church treasury, he laid the foundation of the new 
St. Patrick's Church and with unflagging efforts in every direction, 
succeeding in raising the present structure. 

Ever anxious about the lambs of the flock, he spared no 
pains in gathering the children for instruction in their holy re- 
ligion. And as religion and science go hand in hand, lie never 
ceased to advise the young to grasp every opportunity to increase 
their store of knowledge. In May 1S90, circumstances led him 
to consider seriously the idea of a parochial school. Hitherto he 
had put it aside as he dreaded ihe debt which such a step would 
entail. IJut once the necessity showed itself, no diflficulty was too 
great to be surmounted. It did indeed increase the church debt, 
but the school was built. In September 1890, it was opened for 
the children of the parish. With accustomed foresight the reverend 
Pastor provided for the various grades of pupils and within a year 
and a half had the school chartered by the University of the 
State of New York. 

To provide for the course of study, the good Father took 
upon himself the instruction in Latin, made proper provision for 
science equipment and with his own books, formed the nucleus of 
the library. The first pupil was graduated with a State regents 
diploma in 1894 and that requirement has continued the'stand- 
ard for graduation until the present^time. 
499 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



In 1896, the Church of the Sacred Heart was built in Cairo 
to accommodate the summer visitors and has been always well 
attended from Catskill. The addition of the village of Athens in 
1897 required an assistant priest and Rev. Wm. H. White ably 
aided in the work of the sacred ministry. 

The members of the congregation not being blessed with 
the goods of the earth in abundance, it was apparent that many 
sacrifices must have been entailed in supporting their pastor in 
his strenuous labors. 

Father Finneran succumbed to an attack of pneumonia in 
April, 1900, and faithful soldier of Christ as he was, he calmly 
laid aside all his work at the Master's call. His memory is held 
in reverence by all who knew him and all the people of the vill- 
age irrespective of religious opinions, mourned his loss. 

But the work went on and was ably taken up by the pre- 
sent Pastor, Rev. Wm. P. Fitzgerald. Gradually without noise or 
bustle he swiftly lifted each thread of the church concerns and has 
since carried them on unostentaciously but firmly. The accumu- 
lated floating debt was cleared away and not withstanding many 
dubious headshakings, the school expenses were promptly met and 
cleared. No less than his predecessor does he labor for results 
and a high standard. 

Contenting himself for several years with the poorest parish 
house in the diocese, in 1903 Father Fitzgerald built the fine rec- 
tory adjoining the Church. Feeling that the Church property was 
not complete without a convent, he was on the alert for a suitable 
site or building. Two years later, the Olney house was purchased 
and has since been the Sister's home. 

During the same time St. Patrick's Church has been fres- 
coed, three magnificent marble altars have been set in place, to- 
gether with various other decorations and appurtenances which go 
to complete a handsome church edifice. 

In 1907, the Papal Delegate, now Cardinal Falconio, paid 
a visit to the Church and school. The pupils, in simple regalia 

500 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



and bearing appropriate banners, formed in line, met His Excell- 
ency and escorted him to the Church where he held a reception 
for the people. In no unstinted terms, he praised the simple but 
beautiful reception and congratulated Father Fitzgerald on his 
care of the parish. 

At the opening of the famous "Old Home Week" of Cats- 
kill, the Father Fitzgerald had the beautiful monument to mem- 
ory of Father Finneran unveiled, forming a fitting prelude to the 
ensuing week of exercises commemorate of "other days.'' 

The out-missions have claimed much time and attention. 
Athens now glories in having one of the best appointed country 
churches in the state. It now stands central in the village and is 
the pride of the Catholics of Athens. 

The people of Cementon have also built a commodious base- 
ment of concrete which can be easily enlarged as soon as its needs 
make it evident. 

The last two years have witnessed a noticeable diminution 
of the church debt. The co-operation of Pastor and people have 
brought these material results, but the great bond is the spiritual 
one which unites them, heart and soul in endeavoring to further 
the interests of the Divine Master. A purpose tried in the furnace 
of opposition on one hand, and sacrifices on the other has been 
theirs and they will hold to it faithful and unwavering until call- 
ed to lay down their arms and receive their reward. 



The Galskill Natioixal ^arvk 

The Catskill National Bank is one of the oldest banks in 
the United States. Chartered in 1813 as the Catskill Bank, it 
entered the National Bank System under the National Bank Act, 
as The Catskill National Bank, and has steadily gained in strength 
and influence. Through all the years of its existence as a Bank 
it has proved a bulwark of security to its depositors, and to its 
stockholders it has paid generous dividends and profits. 

The Catskill National Bank has always been closely identi- 
501 



DEAR OLD GREBNE COUNTY. 



fied with the interests of the territory served by it, and it affords 
every facility and accommodation for the prompt and systematic 
conduct of business. This bank is a member of the new Federal 
Reserve System, and as correspondent, or depository there is no 
better, safer, more satisfactory ^bank in this section today than 
the Catskill National Bank. It is essentially a Commercial Bank 
— alive to the requirements and necessities of its customers and 
their business, and accustomed to give to the smallest detail that 
care and attention which should recommend it to the small as 
well as large depositor. 

Its present commodious and beautiful banking room was 
completed and occupied in 1911 following extensive alterations in 
the Bank Building, at which time new burglar and fire proof 
vaults and safe Deposit boxes were installed, and fully equipped 
with the most modern appliances for safety, which are claimed to 
be the most elaborate example of steel vault construction between 
Albany and New York — and are absolutely fire, burglar and mob 
proof. 

Its Presidents have been since entering the National Bank 
System, Rufus H. King 1S65-1S68, Addison P. Jones 1868-1871, 
Isaac Pruyn 1871-1903, James P. Phihp 1903 to date. 

The records show but three secretaries to the Board of Di- 
rectors viz John II . Bagley elected July 19, 1809, Thomas E. 
Ferrier elected Jan. 12, 1876, P. Gardner Coffin elected February 
16, 1903. 

The present Officers and Directors are James P.Philip Pres- 
ident, Judson A. Betts Vice Pres., P. Gardner Coffin Cashier, 
John H. Story Asst. Cash., Omar V.Sage, Robert F. Story, Josiah 
C Tallmadge, Percival Goldin, Samuel C. Hopkins, George W. 
Holdridge, Herman C. Cowen, Harmon P. Pettingill. 

The officers and directors of The Catskill National Bank 
have always been men of influence and standingjn their commun- 
ity, and in them the depositors of the bank have reposed confi- 
dence, and to them they have looked for advice and direction in 
^uaucial matters. 

503 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The prosperity of a bank is closely allied to the prosperity 
of the community it serves, and The Catskill National Bank which 
has served the community and its depositors so many years in 
loyalty and sinceritv has. in addition to its honorable record, the 
following guarantee fund to safeguard the funds of its depositors. 

Capital 8150,000.00 

Stockholders Liability 150,000.00 

Surplus and Protits 125,000.00 



Total 8425,000.00 



JAMES P. PHILIP 

James P. Philip was born in the Village of Catskill and is 
a son of the late Jacob S. Philip M. D., the well beloved Homeo- 
pathic physician of local fame. He was educated at the Catskill 
Academy and graduated from Rutgers College with honor in 1882 
as President of his class, receiving an appointment to Phi Beta 
Kappa for scholarship and in 1885 his Alma Mater conferred on 
him the degree of Master of Arts. 

He was admitted to the New York bar in 1886, having 
pursued his legal studies at the Albany Law School from which in- 
stitution he graduated as President of the class of 1886. 

Mr. Philip began the practice of law in New York City in 
connection with the Title Guarantee and Trust Company and 
subsequently moved to the then City of Brooklyn where he suc- 
cessfully continued the practice of law until his return to his na- 
tive town in 1903 when he assumed the Presidency of the Cats- 
kill National Bank, which position he now occupies. 

Mr. Philip has never sought political preferment, although 
active in his party afhliation, but has given of his time and means 
to advancing and developing the varied interests of his Town and 
County. At various times he has been a director or officer in The 
Catskill Building and Loan Association, Catskill Foundry and 
Machine Shop, Catskill Chamber of Commerce, The Hudson River 

504 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Ice Company, The Catskill Mountain Railway Company, Catskill 
Young Men's Christian Association, and the Catskill Nationa 
Bank. 




JAMEvS P. PHILIP 

Mr. Philip is a 32 degree Mason, a member of Catskill 
Lodge F. & A. M., No. 468, The Crescent Athletic Club of Brook- 
lyn, The Chi Psi Fraternity, Long Island Country Club, The Uni- 
versity Club of Brooklyn, The Universities Club of London, Eng- 
land, Catskill Rip Van Winkle Club, President of the Republican 
Club of Greene County, and Life Member of The National Geo- 
graphical Society of Washington, D. C. 

Mr. Philip married Sarah Louise Pruyn June 15th, 1898 
and resides at Catskill, N. Y. and both he and Mrs. Philip have 
travelled extensively. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



ISAAC PRUYN 

Isaac Pruyn was long identified with the business affairs of 
Catskill. Born in Kinderhook, Columbia County, November 25, 
18 IG, he graduated at the Kinderhook Academy and studied law 
in the oflice of Judge Julius Wilcoxson. After being admitted to 
the New York bar he went to New York City and practised law 
with Judge Moore, but loving nature and]the^Hudson River Valley 
with its scenic beauties of river and rcountains he soon after re- 
moved to Catskill and entered upon the practise of his profession 
with the late John Van Vleck, 

Mr. Pruyn took an early interest in the business affairs of 
Catskill. With the late C. L. Beach and George H. Penfield he 
engaged in the freighting busness which preceded the establish- 
ment of The Catskill Evening Line. He was one of the Directors 
of the Catskill Mountain Railway Co., and almost every business 
enterprise established in Catskill having any prospect of success 
was assured of his financial support. After the organization of 
The Catskill National Bank he became a stock holder and in 1872 
was elected President, an ofiice he continued to fill without inter- 
ruption until the summer of 1903 when his failing health caused 
him to resign. 

For the young men he always had a kindly feeling as was 
illustrated by his many donations to the Drum Corps named after 
him, the members of which were thereby enabled to realize their 
ambition. 

He died June 2, 1904 at the age of 87 years, survived 
by a daughter, Sarah Louise, wife of James P. Philip, President 
of The Catskill National Bank. 

Mr. Pruyn was married to Mary Wilcoxson, a niece of Ex- 
President Martin Van Buren and daughter of Judge Julius Wil- 
coxson by whom he had five children and after her death he mar- 
ried Sarah Ann \Vilcoxson, sister of his deceased wife. 

506 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



HERMAN C. COWAN 
Herman C. Cowan, of Catskill, was born at Emporia, Kan- 
sas. He organized the Catskill Cement Company, and built there 
an extensive plant at Cementon, which is now being operated as 
the Alpha Cement Co. He has been actively connected with many 
Catskill interests, being at the head of the Catskill Supply Com- 
pany, and the Catskill Hardware Company. He helped to reor- 
ganize the Catskill Street Railroad, being president of the Com- 
pany and also president of the Rip Van Winkle Club, and super- 
intendent of the Presbyterian Sunday School, since 1912. The 
Catskill Supply Company built the Catskill-Saugerties state road 
and the Cairo village state road. 



WILLIAMS C. WILEY 
William S. C. Wiley was born at Aberdeen, Scotland, 1854 
and came to this country in 18(31. In 1887 he took up his resi- 
dence in Catskill as the head of the Wiley Manufacturing Com- 
pany being also president of the Aiken Knitting Company of 
Philraont. He was very successful and was honored with many 
oflicial positions, serving as president of the village, supervisor of 
the town. He was presidential elector on the Harrison & Reed 
ticket and also on the McKinley and Roosevelt ticket. He was 
quarter master general on Gov. Levi P. Morton's staff. He was 
a member of the Hudson-Fulton Committee. Moving to Elmira 
in 1913 he became connected with a knitting company at that 
place. He has now returned to Catskill. 



SETH T. COLE 
Seth T. Cole was born in the village of Catskill on February 
12, 188G, and has resided there since birth. He was educated in 
the public schools of Catskill, graduating from the Catskill High 
School in the class of 1901. In 1907 he entered the Albany Law 
School and completed the course in that institution in 1908, being 
admitted to the practice of law in Novemeber, 1908. On August 1, 
1907, Mr. Cole was appointed to the position of stenographer in 
the State Tax Department at Albany and has advanced rapidly in 
the service of that Department, holding at the present time the 
important position of State Mortgage Tax Clerk. , 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



In firemanic circles he is widely known and has been high- 
ly honored. He is a member of Hose Company Number One of 
Catskill, was Secretary of the Greene County Firemen's Associa- 
tion for six years and President of the organization for two j^ears, 
ife now President of the Hudson Valley Volunteer Firemen's Asso- 
ciation and a member of the Law Committee of the Firemen's 
Association, State of New York. 




SETH T. COLE. 

Mr. Cole was general secretary of Catskill's Old Home Week 
Committee in 1908 and general secretary of the Greene County 
Hudson-Fulton Celebration in 1909. 

He is a member of Catskill Lodge, No. 468, F. & A. M., 
Catskill Chapter, No. 285, R. A. M., Lafayette Commandery, No. 
7, K. T., Cyprus Temple. A. A. 0. N. M. S., Hudson Lodge, No. 
787, B. P. 6. E., Catskill Tent. No. 869, K. 0. T. M., and is 
President of Catskill Circle, No. 311, P. H. C. 

In politics Mr. Cole is a Republican. 




Lieut. Col. Albert Saulpaugh N.G.N.Y, Capt. Percy W. Decker N.G.N. Y 




First Lieut. Lucius H. Doty N.G.N.Y. Capt. Daniel J. Cassidy N.G.N.Y. 
All of Catskill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



FRANK D. OVERBAUGH 

Frank D. Overbaugh of Catskill has come to be regarded as 
the man of Roads. As superintendent of the town of Catskill since 
1909 he has given the town a service that hitherto was not known, 
and in addition to building bridges, and roads that are practically 
of state road quality, he has saved the town many thousands of 
dollars in the purchase of materials and highway machinery. He 
has built for a nominal sum the big tool house at Cauterskill and 
there is not a shovel or hoe that is not accounted for. 

The Overbaugh family was one of the first in this section. 
Frank D. Overbaugh traces to John Peter Overbaugh, who settled 
on the Loveridge Patent below Catskill in the 1700's. He was 
born Oct. 25, 1853 on the old farm in the Embocght. His father 
was William Overbaugh, and mother, Ophelia Dewey. He was 
married to Alice J. Fiero, and they had two children, Florence, 
who married School Com. Wm N. Anderson, and Susie deceased, 
who was the wife of Geo. Legendre. He attends the Reformed 
Church. 

HORACE WILLARD 

Horace Willard came to Catskill from Lenox, Mass. and 
opened a Jewelry Store where the present Rectory of the Dutch 
Reformed Church now stands. He married Susan Sophia Kemper 
of Hudson and soon afterwards moved up Main Street to the site 
now owned and occupied by Dr. Honeyford, where he continued 
the jewelry business until he died. His son, Charles S. Willard, 
bought out the business and in 1851 moved it into a new store 
built by him on the adjoining lot. No. 380 Main street, where he 
conducted the business until he died. From that time on the busi- 
ness was carried on by Howard Wilcox until he died February 
1915, and in April 1915 was taken up by Prentis W. Hollenbeck, 
who is at present conducting it. 

CHARLES E. WILLARD, M. D. 
Charles E. Willard, M.D., son of Horace Willard to whom 
previous reference has been made, was born at Catskill, August 
14, 1846, and was graduated in 1868, from the college of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons of New York City. During most of the period 

510 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



since that time he has practiced medicine successfully in Catskill 
and had for many years been at the head of the Health Board of 
the town and at present is the state representative for this section. 
His first wife was Anna E. Willard and his second wife with 
whom he is living in the old homestead on Main street, Catskill, 
was Marcia C. Cole, to whom he was married in 1897. In 1874 
he was elected vestryman of St. Luke's Church, holding the posi- 
tion for many years. He is still an active member of that church. 

THOMAS C. PERRY 

This life sketch of Thomas C.Perry is here presented for 
those who are less familiar with the sterling qualities of his man- 
hood than his associates and friends of long and intimate ac- 
quaintance. 

He was born in the town of Olive, Ulster county, N. Y. in 
1867, where he acquired a thorough knowledge of the subjects 
taught in the public schools. 

Later his parents moved to the town of Marbletown. 
While living in this town he not only gained a practical knowledge 
of agriculture, but the necessity of individual responsibility 
strengthened the springs of his moral purpose. Consciously or 
unconsciously he had learned that socially and industrially the 
first duty of man consists in making the most of himself. With 
this thought supreme and a desire to fit himself for teaching, he 
entered Kingston Academy where he studied for his chosen pro- 
fession His preparation was further continued in Spencers 
Business College. 

Previous to this he had been granted a license to teach in 
the schools of New York, and his first school was near Stone 
Ridge. He taught other rural schools, and later accepted the 
principalship at Tillson. Here he taught the higlier branches and 
supervised the work in the grades, resigning at the end of the 
third year to become principal at Wallkill, where he remained 
four years and brought the school to a high state of efficiency. In 
fact, it ranked among the best in the county, and from this school 
Mr. Perry turned out some of the best prepared students for the 
higher branches of learning. He believed the business of teaching 

5H 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



to be a serious and important enterprise. Serious because of its 
'Responsibilities, opportunties and oblif?ations; itnportant Ijecause 
tbe demand of the day is for teachers disciplined and equippid to 
Viterpret the world uf trutli. 

In. 1 Nits Mr. I'crry \va< united in marriage with Mi-'s Tes- 
sa Decker, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jonas Decker, of Granite, 
N. Y. 

Mr. Perry cherishes a pardonable pride in being a descend- 
ant of the line which gave to our young nations Commodore Oliver 
Hazard Perry By the prowe.^s of this heroic naval oHicer the 
British were driven from Lake Erie in 1813 and forced to evacu- 
ate Detroit. Like his progenitor he believes in simplifying his 
work by avoiding waste of words, waste of material and waste of 
time. 

In 1905 Mr. Perry was elected by the people of third cora- 
mibsioner district of Ulster county to the office of school commis- 
sioner. He analyzed conditions, thought out a plan, studied di- 
rections, summoned his abilities, insight and courage. He gave 
hope to teachers, helped them across hard places, and he was hap- 
py in this loving service. He organized round table conferences 
and brought prominent educators to these conferences to impart 
pr( fessional impetus and enthusiasm. The teachers of his district 
fully appreciated his efforts. Thoughtful for the highest personal 
welfare not only of the teachers, but of the individual p.ipils in 
the schools under his care, he will long be remembered for his 
courtesy, his ability and his efficient service. 

In 1912 the board of school directors of the first supervis- 
ory district of Greene county, elected Mr. Perrv superintendent 
of the schools in the towns of Athens, Cairo, Catskill, Coxsackie 
to succeed Randall N. Saunders resigned. His actual experience, 
his thorough knowledge of rural school problems, his sincerity and 
tact are the attributes and qualities which enable him to super- 
vise the schools of this district with intelligence and in the spirit 
Of .the leader. 

Without domination, the true leader "gets things done" 
by his presence, by his attitude, and by his unassuming participa- 
tion. 

512 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



George H. Chase is a native 
of the mountain section of the 
county, born and reared on a 
farm in the town of Jewett, 
where the high altitudes and 
-urrounding mountain peaks 
breed not only pure air and 
good health but study charac- 
ters and lofty ideals as well, 
and he is thoroughly repre- 
sentative of that section, bav- 
in his veins the blood of the 
Chase, Baldwin and Pratt 
families, the pioneers of our 
mountain settlements and pro- 
genitors of a race that put 
Greene county on the map 
When a young man he pur- 
chased the mercantile business 
of the late Alfred Peck at Jew- 
ett Heights and for many con- 
ducted this in connection with 
George H. Chase his summer hotel business at 

that place, retiring from the 
mercantile business two years ago. In all of his business career 
he maintained a high standard for upright methods, and enjoyed 
the confidence and respect of all who had dealings with him. His 
location has been the center of life for the town and he the mov- 
ing spirit in most of its successful enterprises. He is a member 
of the Presbyterian church at Jewett Heights. 

As a man of such prominence in his section, Mr. Chase was 
naturally drafted into the official life of the town, and he success- 
fully served as town auditor, town clerk and justice of the peace, 
and for eight or ten terms was supervisor of the town, thus bring- 
ing him to Catskill as its representative in the county legislature, 
where he served with credit and distinction, thereby gaining a 

513 




DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 






large experience that enabled him to better serve his constituents 
in the state legislature at Albany, 

Mr. Chase, being a broad minded Republican, has always 
stood loyally by the principles of his party, with the spirit of 
which he was imbued in its earliest and best days, with a liberal 
interpretation of same, and has always manfully supported his 
position. 

He was nominated for the Assembly by the Republicans of 
Greene county in 1913 and was elected, receiving 3698 votes to 
3282 cast for J. Lewis Patrie, Democrat. 

He was re-nominated and re-elected in 1914, receiving 
3364 votes to 2683 cast for Dr. Sidney L. Ford, Democrat. 

Mr. Chase is a member of Mountain Lodge No. 529, F. & 
A. M. of Windham, N. Y. 





. ^». 


, .i^^ 


_^^ 


JKL 


^ 


I ti a 


" .-' . -^ 


^1 

] D 


3 U U.n 
G u 


III - 


-i.-, 


.. i£m4 


■fir 


T lis 


C. -- 


.^mm 


iSto^ 


m^ 1 "'— T 


-"T 


^^ 


^^^mm 


^^^KH^^.:-£iiJ3^ 


.^...... 


..^^ 


^^•aasjg^ia 


m^^m 


1 



Hop-0-Nose Mill, Catskill, N. Y. 
Operated by the Union Mills Company. 
514 



bBAR OLD GREBNB COUNTY. 



l^ist of C^reene Gouivty Poslivvasler^s-Apr. 1, 1913 

Acra Marion Chadderdon 

Alsen Margaret A. King 

Ashland Francis L. Dodge 

Athens Harold W. Every 

Big Hollow Romaine Low 

Brooksburg David Davis 

Bushnellsville Barnet Rider 

Cairo Claude J. Goflf 

Catskill Lucius R. Doty 

Cementon Chris Schlenker 

Climax Emma V. Jackson 

Coxsackie Francis Worden 

Durham A. Z. Smith 

East Durham Grace 0. Meloy 

East Jewett Margaret E. Woodworth 

East Windham W. J. Griffin 

Elka Park P. A. Carr 

Freehold W. I. Hunt 

Gayhead G. A. Story 

Greenville N. W. Avery 

Greenville Center C. W. Palmer 

Haines Falls Herbert O'Hara 

Halcott Center James M. Moseman 

Hensonville Geo. R. Winchell 

Hunter Albert Taylor 

Jewett Clifford H. Baldwin 

Lanesville Frank G. Crosby 

Leeds Frank L. Vedder 

Lexington. . . . Lucielle T. Chatfield 

New Baltimore Piatt S. Wheat 

New Baltimore Sta Martin M. Clow 

Norton Hill Peter R. Stevens 

Oak Hill Ernest E. Ford 

Palenville Chester J. Hinman 

• Piatt Clove Theodore Kessel 

515 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Prattsville James E. Mc Williams 

Purling Manly B. Conklin 

Round Top J. W. Fiero, Jr. 

South Cairo Ambrose Jones 

.South Durham W. G.Van Orden 

Sunside Burton A. Synder 

Tannersville Charles Voss 

Urlton M. W. King 

West Coxsackie C. A. Winans 

West Kill C. C. Jennings 

Windham Keeler M. Cole 




Treinaine Lond's Flying Fee Boat. 



Remarkable Ice Craft invention of Tremaine Loud, Catskill Point, 
equipped with 32 h, p. Chalmers engine, and propeller from Charles K. 
Hamilton's Aeroplane, that was used in his trip to Philadelphia from New 
York. Boat built in Cafe at Loud's Hotel. Speed of boat 80 miles per hour. 

516 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



JOSEPH A. HILL 
One of the progressive men of Catskill, whose energies and 
push have brought him to the front is Joseph A. Hill. He came 
to Catskill in May 1S94, and was employed in the jewelry busi- 
ness, later on branching out for himself in a small venture, which 
under wise direction has become one of the leading jewelry stores 
in this section. He was born at Cohoes, N. Y. in 1874, his father, 
Joseph Hill coming to America in 1861 from England. He is a 
member of the Odd Fellows, Athabasca Tribe of Red Men, and 
attends the Reformed church. He was married June 25, 1902 to 
Sarah W. Mitchell, and they have one child Geo. Odgen Hill. 
His present store is in the Van Gorden building. 



R. Y. HUBBARD, M. D. npo^i ^0, ^l^"i~ 
There are few men in Greene county who are better or 
more favorably known than R. Y. Hubbard of Tannersville, who 
is one of the young men who has pushed his way to the front 
within the past few years. He was born in Brooklyn, N. Y. on 
October 10, 1877, and graduated from the Stamford Seminary in 
1899, Cornell University in 1901, Long Island College Hospital in 
1907, Fitch Military Hospital in 1909, and commenced the prac- 
tice of medicine at Hunter village where he remained for 4 years. 
He then removed to Tannersville, in order to better accommodate 
his extensive and growing practice, which covers every section 
within range of Tannersville. He is a coroner of Greene county. 
President of Tannersville, health officer, president of the fire de- 
partment, and getting into the newspaper field is vice president of 
the Tannersville Record publishing company. He occupies a 
fine residence and has just completed an office adjoining the same. 
His wife was Elizabeth Hummell of Hunter to whom he was mar- 
ried in 1907. They have one daughter, Myrtle. 

Addenda 

Frederick Nelson DuBois died July 8, 1915. 

Ice House of Jeremiah Brooks at Athens burned Aug, 22, 
1915, loss S14,000. 

517 




M. E. Sillberstein, Pub. Daily Mail. Frank A. Gallt, Pub. Ruterpiise. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



The Ne\^tSpaper Field 

Greene county has always been well represented in the 
newspaper tield. The Catskill Recorder was first on the scene in 
1792. It was then 10x12 inches in size and was called the Cats- 
kill Packet. The Catskill Packet and Western Mail, and then it 
shone as the Western Constellation, and in 1804 assunned the 
name of Catskill Recorder. Since 18(32 it has been published by 
representatives of the Hall family following the death of Mr. Hall 
in 1874; George 8. Stevens, deceased, Frazer Hall, deceased, be- 
ing its editors, and since the death of Frazer C. Hall, Harry Hall 
has been at the head managing the paper for the estate. 

Some of the journalist efforts that have passed were: The 
American Eagle, 180S, The Catskill Emendator 1813, The Zectic, 
1814, The Greene and Delaware Washingtonian, 1816, Greene 
County Republican 1814-16, The Catskill Democrat, both papers 
being absorbed by The Recorder, Prattsville Adyocate, 1846, The 
Mountaineer, 1853, Prattsville, and The American Eagle, 1854, 
started at Prattsville, and owned by Lyman Tremaine and later 
by Henry Baker This sheet also went to The Recorder in 1860. 
George Mitchell printed the Catskill Journal for a time. Mr. 
Mitchell, who is now the oldest printer in the state setting type, 
is in the employ of The Recorder. 

The Catskill Examiner has had a splendid record. Started 
as the Catskill Messenger in 1830, by Ira DuBois, continued by 
Wm. Bryan andC.H. Cleveland, who were succeeded by Trow- 
bridge and Gunn. It was The Whig in 1849 and Marcus Trow- 
bridge in 1857 changed it to The Examiner. For a time after his 
death Mrs. Trowbridge was assisted by Eugene Wayne. She then 
associated Frederick E. Craigie with her in the business. While 
she lived the paper was Trowbridge & Craigie, and it then passed 
into the hands of Fred E. Craigie, who has continued the business 
to the present time, enlarging and improving the paper, putting 
in new machinery, etc. 

The Athens News was started by W. G. Harvey and follow 
ing his death Mrs. Harvey is still at the helm. 

519 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



John D. Smith started the Catskill Independent in ISTD, 
as a Greenback paper, changing later to the Daily Mail, Republi- 
can, and in 19 he sold out to M. E. Silberstein, who changed 
the political end to Democratic, and after equipping a new plant, 
his office was burned in 1913, and the office then moved to its 
present quarters on the corner of Main and Bridge streets. He 
has increased the circulation from 260 daily to over 2500 daily. 
Plant modern in every way. 

In 1898 The Catskill Enterprise was started by F. A. Gallt, 
the first paper being printed on a hand press which broke down 
before the first number was finished. The type was old and he 
had much trouble with it. It was 4 pages at first and later on 
modern equipment was put in and the paper enlarged to 8 pages. 
The publisher has been ably assisted by his sons, William, Robert, 
now machine man at the Mail office, Frank, Joseph and Ray- 
mond; also by his daughter, now Mrs. Fred Field. The Enter- 
prise has at the present time a model equipment in presses, fold- 
ing machine, electric power, etc. 

The Catskill Mountain Zephyr was published first by Geo. 
A. Dykeman as a summer paper. He sold out to M. E. Silber- 
stein, who for a time printed the Athens Review, for a couple of 
years. Then the Zephyr passed to W. N. Coriell, and for the 
past 6 years has been issued by F. A. Galll. 

The Kingston District News, started in 1898, had A. J. 
Walker, E. L. Hofl:'ecker, and F. L. Wilson as publishers. Its 
office of publication was Catskill. It was discontinued several 
years ago, after obtaining a circulation of 2500. 

In 1878 Myron Dings of Oak Hill started the Gilboa Moni- 
tor and after several years moved the paper to Gilboa, where he 
sold to A. J. Shaver and moved west. Paige T. Hoagland moved 
from Jefferson, where he sold the Jefferson Courier to W.S.Jones, 
now publisher of the Minneapolis Tribune, and started the Oak 
Hill Record in 1892. His son, Scott is now running the paper. 

The Mountain Gazette was published for a time at Wind- 
ham byG. W. Riggs, but the paper failing to receive political 

patronage failed. 

620 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Cairo Herald, published by Geo. W. Squires, established 
in 1890, newsy and well conducted. Power presses and good plant. 

Greenville Local, published by Peter Winne & Son, estab- 
lished 1876, by Peter Winne, who is still at the helm. 

Since 1861 Edward M. Cole has published the Windham 
Journal. He served the town of Windham in various ways politic- 
ally and represented the county in the assembly in 1892. His 
death occurred last winter. 

The Prattsville News, published by M. G. Marsh was start- 
ed in 1858. For 50 years Mr. Marsh has been at the head of the 
paper. He has associated with him M. G. Griffin. 

The Hunter Review was started in 1883 and is still pros- 
peious with A. L. Baldwin at the head, and is ably assisted by 
Mrs. Baldwin. 

The Tannersville Times was started A. G. Powell in 1901, 
but he discontinued the paper and after a year or so the business 
was commenced again by Mr.Disbrow, who has gone along nicely. 

Another paper of the county is The Coxsackie Union, pub- 
lisher, Wm. P. Franklin, established 1857. 

The Coxsackie News was published for a time and later on 
merged with the Coxsackie Union. 

The Evening News was published daily by George Harding, 
1898, in the building at the corner of Main and Bridge street. The 
News soon ceased to be issued. 

Another paper that was issued daily by George L. Gaynor 
and Rudolph W. Plusch was The Catskill Press. 

The latest bow in the newspaper field is the Tannersville 
Record, 8 pages, neatly printed on book paper, well edited and 
has every evidence of great success. It is published by the Record 
Corporation, with Burgess Howard as managing editor. 

M. G. Marsh of Prattsville and William P. Franklin of 
Coxsackie are two veteran publishers of the county, having been 
in the business for 60 years. 

521 




Chas. Ernst, Killed by Joseph Waltz, p j^ Overbagh, Sup't Highways. 





C.O.Bickelmann, Noted Photographer ,R; y^ Hubbard, Coroner Greene Co. 



Page Page 

Assemblyman Geo. H. Chase . . 513 Coxsackie 441 

Assemblymen of Greene County Cholera in Catskill 208 

from 1803 312 Court House 63-65 

Ashland 347 Court Buildings, removed 61 

Athens 350 Court Fire 1851 62 

Abram V. Roraback 288 County Jail 66 

Ashland Collegiate Institute ... 276 Day Line Palaces 80-81 

American Bible Society 273 Dale S. Baldwin 283 

Baldwin Post 341 Daughters of Rebecca 185 

Benjamin DuBois House 114 Dayton B. Smith 304 

B. I. Tallmadge 495 Destructive Fires 236-240 

Burdette G. Dewell 497 Dr. Abel Brace 210 

Capt. Jacob Dunham 196-198 Dr. F. C. Clarke 345 

C. A. Martin, see Hunter. Dr. Sidney L. Ford 285 

Charles E. Willard 510 Dr. Wilbur F. Lament 296 

Catskill Landmarks 246-252 DuBois House, Cauterskill 110 

Catskill Schools 240-246 DuBois Generations 117-118 

Cairo 360 Durham 449 

Capt. Percy W. Decker 509 Early Manufacturing 231 

Capt. Daniel J. Cassidy 509 Early Staging 229 

Catskill 369 Eastern Star 184 

Catskill 1839 3 Early Churches 275 

Catskill 1915 9 Elmer Krieger 287 

Catskill Bridge 97-98-100 Elmore Mackey 290 

Catskill Even. Line Steamers . 82-85 Floyd S. Jones 286 

Catskill Improvement Assn. . . 202 Emory A. Chase 4 - 141-145 

Catskill National Bank 501 p. H. Osborn, see courts. 

Catskill Monday Club 183 First Lieut. L. H. Doty 509 

Catskill Public Library 278 Frank D. Overbaugh 510 

Catskill Cavings Bank 431 Frank Nichols 289 

Catskill Y. M. C. A 274 Frederick E. Craigie 518 

Catskill Supply Co Advt. Sec. Frederick Nelson DuBois 

Cemetery at Halcott Center . . 345 11-12 - 108-112 - 215 

Census Figures of 1915 517 Frank H. Kortz 296 

Company E, Catskill 332-337 Frederick Goslee 319 

Chronology 530 565 Geo. B. Van Valkenburgh 301 

Church Organizations .... 252 - 272 George C. Fox 303 

First Church in New York . . 254 George W. Holdridge 432 

First Baptist, Catskill 270 Greene Co. Society 311 

German Lutheran, Athens . . . 253 Greenville 454 

Gloria Dei, Palenville 267 Greene Co. Whig 224 

Methodist, Catskill 261 Halcott 460 

Presbyterian, Catskill 264 Harry Hall 518 

Reformed. Catskill 255 Heidelberg 68-71 

St. Luke's, Catskill 258 Herman C. Cowan 507 

St. Patrick's, Catskill 269 History Fabric 101 

Claude Heath 318 h. Clay Ferris 284 

Clermont 76 h. Leroy Austin 203 

Colonel Cornelius DuBois 115 Home for Aged Women 182 

Col. Albert Saulpaugh 509 Hollister Post 340 

County Jail 13 Howard Wilcox 297 



Page Page 

Hudson Fulton Celebration ... 480 Robert M. MacNaught 293 

Hunter 466 Rev. Benjamin DuBois 116 

Isaac Pruyn 506 Rowena Scliool. Palenville . . 172 

Judson A. Betts 525 R. W. Renner 479 

Jacob Fromer, see Hunter. Salisbury House 121 - 323 

James P. Philip 504 Schuneman Parsonage, Leeds . 125 

Jewett 462 Steamboat Wrecks 86-87 

J. Henry Deane 369 Reformed Church, Leeds 190 

John DuBois 215 School Directors, etc 341 

Josiah C. Tallmadge ... 5 - 299-300 Senator William P. Fiero 162 

Judges of Greene County . 164-165 Seth T. Cole 507 

Judson A. Betts 280 Steamer Frank 207 

John E. Huyck 283 St. Patrick's Academy 498 

Joseph Malcolm 300 Supervisors 6-7-8 

Josiah C. Tallmadge 299 Supreme Court Terms . . Advt. Sec. 

J. W. Watson Post 338-340 The Brandows 188 

1. Wheeler^BraMo^-^ 281-282 The Chase Family 138-144 

Ladies of the Maccabees 185 The Bronks 133-137 

Ladies' Catholic Benevolent The Post Family 200 

Lewis Hoose 320 The Van Schaacks 167 

Loud's Hotel Advt. Sec. The Wilcoxs 170-171 

Lawyers of Greene Co., see Bar. The Day Family 280 

Lexington 464 The DuBoises and Overbaughs . 108 

Madam Jane Dise 187 The Gallt Family 316 

M. Edw. Silberstein 327 Thomas C. Perry 511 

New Baltimore 482 Thos. Seifferth 303 

Mrs. Joseph Malcolm 169 Times of Greene Co. Whig 209 

Major Jas. Monroe Van Valken- Town Officers 1914-15 50-55 

burgh 302 Teachers of County 341 

Map Loveridge Patent 129 The Military 328 

Masonic History, see towns. The Big Trout 106 

Michael O'Hara 279 Van Ordens and Overbaughs . . 119 

Newspapers of County 517 Villages 1859 57-58 

Notable Men 313-315 Villages 1915 59-60 

Notaries 1915 310 Van Bergen Mill 137 

New Year's Club 185 Van Vechtens 121 

Association 186 Van Bergen House 122-125 

Old Posters 211-212 Van Vechten House 103 

Omar V. Sage 320-323 Women and the Franchise 174 - 182 

Orrin Day 221 Walter J. Decker 305 

Official List of Officers 49-50 William J. Finneran 268 

Organization of Towns 57 Wiley Hose 291 

Patent Lines 56 William Kortz 295 

Population of County 60 Willis A. Haines 298 

Postmasters 1915 515 Wm. A. Bullock, great inventor 206 

Prattsville 486 William B. Martin, see Hunter. 

Railroads 88-93 William S. C. Wiley 507 

Patrons Hall, Kiskatom 130 William Smith 216 

Peter Schutt 131 William Joesbury 327 

Reminiscent 212 William H. Stewart 250-251 

Rev. Geo. A. Howard 265 Windham 491 

Road Building 107 Zadock Pratt 146-149 




Gbronological Eve]7ts 

1898 - 1913 

The Earlier Happenings aref Referred to through the Bool<. 



CHRONOLOGY 1898. 

Warden Sage, of Catskill, made great repairs to prison at Sing 
Sing. 

Luke Smitli, of Catskill, died at the age of 87 years. 

Theodore Roosevelt, hero of San Juan Hill, visits Catskill, the 
occasion being made a holiday. 

Alexander King returns from Honolulu. 

Harry Hicks, Albert Thompson and Harry Lydecker return from 
Honolulu. 

Charles W. Webster, of Cairo, in the fight of block house 14 at 
Manila, Philippines. 

Daniel Meech died of pneumonia at Catskill. 

William Henry Hotaling sentenced to five years for murder of 
Bobbie Walsh at Coxsackie. 

Lewis Hallenbeck, of Coxsackie, on navy furlough presents 
Enterprise with relics from the Spanish battleships, Viscya and 
Oquendo. 

CHRONOLOGY 1899. 

Luther Holdridge, of Lanesville, shot four bears and they brought 
him 135.00 each. 

A calf was born on Dv\right McQueen's farm at Hensonville having 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



eight legs. 

Big Masonic celebration at Coxsackie. 

J. H. Wliitbeck store at Coxsackie robbed of $750, safe blown. 

St. Patrick's fair netted $1210. 

Bicycle path built from Catskill to Palenville. Failure. 

203rd regiment mustered out of service. 

Jacobs' Bottling Works, Cairo, destroyed by fire. 

Catskill cat show nets Y. M. C. A. $70.00. 

Margaret Fletcher died at Catskill, aged 99 years. 

St. Luke's church, costing $35,000, G. W. Holdridge builder, 
dedicated June sixth. 

Sergt. Edgar Johnston, engineer, repaired bridge at Malolos, 
Philippines, while the Spanish bullets were flying all about him. 

Theodore Haines, of Catskill, died suddenly after being Injured. 

Col. Omar V. Sage, of Catskill, made warden of house of refuge, 
Randall's Island. 

Capt. Henry Xicholls, commander of the monotor Monadnock, 
U. S. X., Admiral Dewey's squadron, died at Manila. Born in Athens 
in 1845. ^Body shipped to United States. 

Tannersville railroad opened from Otis Junction. 

Smallpox in Athens brick yard. 

Geo. W. Holdridge brought the old St. Luke's church for $2700. 

Geo. W. Holdridge commenced work on Rowena school at 
Palenville, a $40,000 structure. 

Melvin Wynkoop drowned at Coxsackie. 

William Bigelow, Crawford Owens, William Henzel and Antonio 
de Batiste crushed to death in cave-in of brick kiln at Catskill. 

Jas. Busbee committed suicide at West Camp. 

Lewis Hadden, war veteran, died at Big Hollow, aged 65 years. 

Dominic Crommis drowned at New Baltimore. 

HoAvard Cohn killed by accidental discharge of gun while hunting 
at South Cairo. 

Sixteenth Separate Company participated in Dewey parade at 
New York, Lieut. Searles commanding. 37,000 men in line. All the 
war vessels in parade also. 

Walter Finch killed in electric light station at Catskill. 

Mrs. Judson Wilcox, aged 95 years, fell and fractured her hip. 
Accident resulted In her death. She was for over 50 years a member 
of St. Luke's church. 

Murder at Kiskatom — Elizabeth Baer, an old woman, cut the 
throat of Catherine Wolvin, a helpless invalid. She then took Paris- 
green. Dr. Lament saved her life. Tried and convicted of murder 
in the second degree. 

Socialists polled 300 votes for A. C. Fancher for supervisor of 
Catskill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Good Templar convention at Tannersville. 
Fire in Conklin store, Catskill. 

Store house of Catskill & New York Steamboat company destroy- 
ed by fire. 

Apkes hotel at Palenville burned. 

Summit Hill House barns burned. 

Democrats elect ten supervisors. S. B. Sage, assemblyman. 
Pierre S. Jennings contests the result. 

Wiley Hose Co. fair netted $1000. 

Hon. J. Leroy Jacobs, former assemblyman, dropped dead at 
Cairo, aged 55 years. 

M. L. Newcomb died at home of Dr. Lamont, Catskill. Former 
member of assembly and school commissioner, also supervisor from 
Windham. 

Catskill town audit .$5,862, budget $15,185. 

Mike Madigan crushed to death in Bridge street sewer, Catskill. 
The Rev. William S. Chamberlain, missionary to India, given purse 
of $100 by Reformed church, Catskill. 

Former Sheriff Peter Magee died at Athens. 

Marry Edith Ingersoll, of Catskill, burned to death at Doane 
home. 

Conradt Stevens died at Catskill. aged 83 years, former whaler. 

The single vote of the Spanish war veterans cost Greene 
county $1000. 

Albert Post, of Lanesville, celebrated his 55th anniversary by 
shooting his 55th bear. 

CHRONOLOGY 1900. 

Trolley promoted from Coxsackie to Greenville. 

Mother Van Cott held revival at Jefferson. 

Monument erected to memory of Edgar K. Williams. 

Dewitt Decker, of Prattsville hung himself. 

Case Hallenbeck of High Hill, aged 80 years, found dead in bed. 

O. T. Humphrey, former Catskillian and member of assembly 
from Greene county, died at Johnstown. 

State Comptroller in his annual report paid tribute to Warden 
Sage, of Randall's Island. Conditions best ever and a saving of 
$13,000 over his predecessor for a year's work. 

William T. Conine committed suicide while deranged at Catskill. 

Barnet Palmer, 83 years; Catherine Wolvin, 82 years: John Rider, 
77 years, and John Saxe, 72 years, died at Kiskatom. 

St. Mary's church fair at Coxsackie netted $5000. 

Sidney Crowell, of Catskill, former district attorney, died from 
stroke of paralysis. 

Catskill Examiner office and store of Peary and Lobdell damaged 
by Are. 



t)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Mrs. Harry Decker, ot Athens, inherits a fortune of $48,000. 

Solomon Cornwall, died March 22, at Coxsackie, aged 94 years. 

School moneys for town of Catskill were $3,165. 

George A. Dykeman put 10,000 trout in Palenville streams. 

Justice Emory A. Chase presided at Greene county term of 
Supreme court, April session. 

War veteran James Lane found dead in bed at Lawrenceville. 

Oscar Merwin, of Hunter, committed suicide, taking laudanum 
and whiskey. 

The Rev. William Fitzgerald appointed to St. Patrick's church 
at Catskill. 

Forty priests officiated in mass for the Rev. William J. Finnegan, 
deceased. 

John Bassett and Oscar Dederick of Catskill in the big fight at 
Cebu. 

Samuel Austin, of Leeds, fined $50 and sent to the penitentiary 
for six months for whipping his wife. 

Residence of Robert Seaman, Catskill, destroyed by fire. 

Great parade in Catskill Memorial Day, occasion of the unveiling 
of the Edgar William's monument. Company E, Catskill Band, Squad 
31st Regiment, G. A. R. Veterans, Po'keepsie Drum Corps, Citizens, 
Wileys, Wilsons, Osborns, Pruyn Drum Corps, three Athens compan- 
ies, clergymen and trustees in line. Address by Rev. R. E. Bell. 

L. T. Beach census enumerator for Catskill. 

James McLean died at Windham, aged 89 years. 

Survey made for trolley line from Catskill to Cairo. 

Justice Chase presided at the June term of Supreme Court. 

Frank Norton, Co. H, in fights against Philippinos. 

Maggie Van Cott conducted revival at Lebanon Springs. 

Samuel Mallory, of Catskill, died at the age of 88 years. 

Mrs. Robert McGiffert died in the arms of her husband while 
going from the boat to the hotel in Catskill. 

Douglass B. Thorpe, of Catskill, died at Manorkill, where he was 
visiting his brother. 

Greene County Firemen's convention held at Catskill Labor Day. 

$8000 pledged towards public library in Catskill. 

Work commenced on Catskill trolley. 

Contractor George W. Holdridge commenced work on Wiley 
Hose house. 

Frank Layman burned to death fighting fire at the Laurel House. 

J. F. Gaylord, Frazer C. Hall and Gen. Coster had their pockets 
picked at the Greene county fair. John Van Tassell had his leg 
broken in a horse race. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Office of J. A. Betts at Catskill damaged by fire. 

Sheriff Holdridge ran down three pickpockets who worked at 
Cairo fair. 

Rowena scliool at Palenville dedicated. 

Greene County Sunday School association met at Ashland. 

Frank Cherowsky and William Mattice killed at Smiths Landing 
while at work in an ice house. 

2000 people saw the laying of the corner stone of St. Mary's 
church at Coxsackie, a $25,000 structure. 

Catskill trolley commenced operation September 20th. 

General W. S. C. Wiley elected president of Republican club at 
Catskill. 

Supervisor P. Gardner Coffin sent $100 to Galveston sufferers. 

The Albany Burgesses Corps celebrated their 67th anniversary 
in Catskill. Company E paraded with them. 

William Jennings Bryan visited Catskill October 29th. 

J. C. Tallmadge elected county judge; General W. S. C. Wiley, 
senator; W. W. Rider, assemblyman; Cyrus Bloodgood, county clerk; 
Henry Van Bergen, sheriff. McKinley carried county for president. 

Large barn of Andrew Overbaugh, Catskill, destroyed by fire. 

Roof of shale brick building at Catskill collapsed and Erasmo 
Casseragolio was killed and others injured. 

Elmer Krieger elected chairman of Board of Supervisors. 

Company E paraded at Hudson. 

Thomas Daglish, of Catskill, died from an over dose of laudanum. 

Hon. James B. Olney died at Catskill, aged 67 years. 

Albert Saulpaugh, veteran 203d regt., elected captain of Co. E. 

CHRONOLOGY 1901. 

Hon. Geo. S. Stevens, assemblyman from Greene county, died at 
nis home in Catskill. 

Horace Van Akin killed by Catskill trolley. 

Hannah Lynan, aged 72 years, burned to death at her home in 
Catskill. 

John Robb, aged 85 years, died at his home in Kiskatom of 
pneumonia. 

Judge Marcus Beach, a former Catskillian, died at his home in 
Jersey City, aged 82 years. 

The Rev. Anna Shaw and Harriet May Mills lectured in Catskill. 

Chauncey Richards, of Athens, walked off the dock at Catskill 
and was drowned. 

James B. Person, of Catskill, found dead in bed. 

Diphtheria broke out in Catskill kindergarten, a number of deaths 
following. Frank H. Russ lost two children. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Co. E in camp at Lake Mohegan, Capt. Saulpaugh in charge. 

Artliur M. Terns, of Kiskatom, crushed to death in an accident 
on the Catskill Mountain railroad. 

Alvert Van Santvoord president of the Day Line and also inter- 
ested in the Catskill Mt. and Otis Rys., died on his yacht. 

Dominic Petrol, employed on the Webber bridge, Catskill town, 
drowned in the creek at that place. 

Estimated expenditures of Catskill schools, $21560. 

Myrtle Wood, of Oak Hill, struck by lightning and killed. 

Citizens Hose Co. purchase new mirror parade carriage. Finest 
in the country. 

F. N. DuBois presents Catskill with V. M. C. A. building. 

Clarence Garrison, of Catskill, killed by live wire, while working 
on the line near Broad street. 

Geo. W. Holdridge gets contract for public library. 

Three story boarding house of A. Amman destroyed by fire at 
Catskill. Mr. Amman and wife were at Valdez, Alaska. 

Big Firemen's fair at Catskill netted $1200. 

Ten Democratic and five Republican supervisors elected. Will- 
iam W. Rider, assemblyman; Judson A. Betts, county treasurer; 
Egbert Palmer, district attorney. Hotel license carried in Catskill 
by 42 votes. Hunter no license. Supervisors elected: Athens — W. C. 
Brady; Asland — Levi Thompkins; Cairo — -Solon W. Stevens; Cats- 
kill — Charles A. Post; Coxsackie— D. Geroe Greene; Durham — Almerin 
Moore; Greenville — Orrin Stevens; Halcott — Lemuel Kelly; Hunter — 
Michael O'Hara; Jewett — Franklin Woodruff; Lexington — Clarence 
Tompkins; New Baltimore — C. V. Elmendorf; Prattsville — Elmer 
Krieger; Windham — Osborn Cole. 

Vincenzo Fragola killed by the cars at the West Shore depot. 

Abigal Crosby, aged 88 years, died at Catskill. 

Chauncey Smith dropped dead on Main street, Catskill. 

Farmers Telephone Co. organized in Cairo. 
CHRONOLOGY 1902. 

The Mountain Gazette published at Windham suspended. 

Fred Miller found dead in the barn at the Mower House, Cairo. 

John Townsend, of Greenville Center, found at his home so badly 
frozen that he could not recover. 

In a Washington's birthday reception at the Presbyterian church 
Justice Chase represented Washington and Judge Tallmadge Philip 
Schuyler. Fifty other Colonial characters were represented by Cats- 
killians, Charles G. Coffin, Judson A. Betts, Clarence Sage, Lucius 
Doty, Charles A. Elliott and Percy W. Decker being among the number. 

Hon. John A. Griswold died at his home on William street, Cats- 
kil, aged 79 years. 

Justice Sewell presided at March term of Supreme Court. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



High water on March 1st did great damage in Catskill. 

A pine tree cut on the Pratt farm at Oak Hill, measured IS feet 
at the base, 65 feet to the first limb, 175 feet in height and rings 
indicated age of 235 years. 

Albert H. Ford kill at Athens by a falling derrick. 

Catskill public library opened. 

Thomas E. Ferrier died at Catskill, aged 81 years. Former sup- 
ervisor and county treasurer. 

Joseph Keeler died from chloroform accidentally spilled upon 
his bed during his sickness. He was an old resident of Catskill. 

Potter Palmer, uncle of Mrs. H. L. Boughton, of Catskill, died at 
Chicago, and remains were interred at Potters Hollow, his birthplace. 
He was born in 1826, conducted store at Durham, owned 95 houses in 
Chicago at time of great fire in 1870, all destroyed. He was worth 
$25,000,000. 

Bishop Burke confirmed class of 150 at St. Patrick's church at 
Catskill. 

40.000 people burned to death in volcano eruption at St. Pierre, 
Martinique, greatest disaster of modern times. 

(Catskill Shale Brick plant in hands of receiver. 

Geo. W. Holdridge given contract to build Catskill Y. M. C. A. 

Esquire Cowles died suddenly at Durham, aged about 76 years. 

Judge Sanderson died sitting in his chair, at the home of his 
daughter in Catskill. County judge in 1882 and in 1888, defeating M. 
B. Mattice each time. 

Firemen's convention in Catskill, June 17-18. Great days. 

William H. Tolley, of Athens, committed suicide by hanging. 

Sherwood Selleck dropped dead in the Nelida theatre while at- 
tending commencement exercises. 

Catskill firemen returned $500 to board of trustees. 

Sherman Sanford, of Greenville, cut his throat and was found dead. 

Barn of Charles Sherman at Leeds struck by lightning and 
destroyed. 

John Allen died at Acra, aged 83 years. 

John Eggelheimer drowned at Tannersville while fishing. 

One hundred people from Catskill made pilgrimage to Auriesville, 
the shrine of Father Jogues, the martyr of the Christian faith. 

Walter Fish killed by a fall from the West Shore bridge. 

Barn and stables of John Cunningham at Leeds destroyed by fire. 

Lee Betts, R. A. Obenaus, Van Person, Chief Henry R. Hinman 
and Mike Foley won prizes at State Firemen's convention at Hudson 
and Citizens Hose Co., of Catskill, a keg of beer. 

Steamer McManus, of Catskill Evening Line, destroyed by fire 
at her dock in New York. 

Tug boat Laurida burned at Athens. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Greene County Firemen's convenion held at New Baltimore on 
Labor Day. Frank Nichols, of Athens, elected president. 

Frazer C. Hall, editor of the Recoraer, died of brain hemmorhage. 

Teachers' Institute held at Cairo. 

Ice house of Nicholas Russell, Catskill, burned. 

Christ's church, Catskill, repaired, new windows put in and new 
pipe organ presented by Helen Mackey. 

Frank Cariglo was murdered by Peter Berzino at Coxsackie. 

William Graff, of Catskill, was drowned in the creek while at- 
tempting to pull up the boat anchor. 

Charles L. Beach died at his home in Catskill. He was born in 
a log house in Lexington in 1813. Autobiography on another page. 

Peter Conover, Robert Bonner's great horseman, committed sui- 
cide in Catskill by shooting himself. He trained Dexter. 

Albert Chase, of Hensonville, stricken with paralysis and died. 
Deceased was father of Judge Chase, of Catskill. He was 84 years 
of age. Other notice elsewhere. 

Bernard Smith held for attempt to murder Wm. Friend at Urlton. 

Marco Luckich ground to death in a conveyor at the Catskill 
Cement company's plant. 

Capt. J. H. Baley, of Catskill, dropped dead on the street. 
Notice elsewhere. 

Charles A. Nichols elected assemblyman, Orin Q. Flint, school 
commissioner; J. B. Longendyke, coroner. County Republican by 
about five hundred. 

Remains of Kitty McLaughlin, of Catskill, found in river at Hyde 
Park. Her father was killed in a quarry, brother shot at Huntsville. 

Wardwell Van Bergen shot to death at Catskill Point by a darkey 
named Long. 

Oliver Bourke, of Catskill, died suddenly. Notice elsewhere. 

Carl Becker, of Alsen, murdered at Saugerties. 

Justice Herrick presided at November term of Supreme Court. 

Charles A. Post elected chairman of Board of Supervisors. 

Last of county bonds, $150,000, paid. 

Dr. Levi King died at Cairo at the age of 90 years. 

Bernard Smith and Robert Burns escaped from Catskill jail. 

CHRONOLOGY 1903. 

George Harding, of Philadelphia, built Hotel Kaaterskill. Edward 
Lampman, of Catskill, contractor. 

Otis GrifRn, of Halcott, plowed up a gold watch. 

Charles G. Coffin, of Catskill, broke leg but continued to work. 

Hattie Borst, of Hunter, obtained a divorce. 

I. E. Baker, of Coxsackie, went into bankruptcy. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Rural delivery in Catskill May 1st. William O'Brien, Harry 
Lydecker, David Egnor, Tril Lynes and John Butler, carriers. 

Harry Lee coughed up a four-inch lizzard. 

Mrs. Charles Herdman, of Hunter, died under an operation. 

Philip Smith, of Catskill, veteran of the Franco-Prussian war, 
dropped dead. 

Great propeller launched from Baldwin's shipyard at New Balti- 
more. 

Peter Verzein shot and killed Frank Gargolio at Coxsackie. 

Robert Burns and John Smith escaped from Catskill jail. They 
hooked the keys from the wall by means of a long stick. Smith was 
recaptured. 

Andrew Johnson died at Coxsackie. 

Maggie Van Cott had 100 converts in a revival at Charlotteville. 

Trolley line projected from Catskill to Cairo and Middleburgh. 

James Hallenbeck shot a bear that crossed the Hopkins' place 
in Catskill. 

Methodist church at Centerville celebrated its 100th anniversary. 
Mrs. Van Cott assisted. 

First Baptist church at Catskill celebrated centennial. 

Herbert Day drowned at Coxsackie. 

Charles H. Cummings started paper at Palenville. 

Fred Trumpbour, of Palenville, built electric light plant at that 
place. 

William Steimitz fell oft" the high clift" at the Mountain House 
and escaped alive. 

George Williams, of East Durham, fell heir to $600. 

Jacob Fromer, of Tannersville presented the hose company with 
a lot for hose house. 

Old Maids' convention at Greenville netted $100. 

The Rev. C. G. Hazard, of Catskill, delegate to the General Assem- 
bly at Los Angeles, California. 

Catskill Foundry and Machine Works incorporated capitol $50,000. 

Robert Brink, an inmate of the Alms House, got $800 back 
pension. 

James Kiveland drowned at Catskill. 

Fifty Smiths from Greene county attended reunion of five hundred 
Smiths at Peapeck. 

Christ's Presbyterian church at Catskill celebrated centennial. 
The Rev. Chas. O. Day preached the sermon. 

Lionell R. Long tried for murder of Wardwell Van Bergen, shot at 
Catskill Point on steamboat. E. Palmer for people, G. H. Jones for 
defendant. Acquitted. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Samuel Austin, of Catskill, tound dead in creek by Nieland 
brothers, fishermen. 

William Johnston committed suicide. 

Boiler exploded at Holcomb's saw mill in I'alenville. Great 
wreck but not one killed. 

Catskill Y. M. C. A. dedicated on .\|)ril first. 

New windows presented to St. Luke's cliurch. 

Mrs. Van Cott conducted revival services at -•Xsliland and 
Westerlo. 

Jeremiah Vosburgli, of Goxsackie, found dead in bed, aged 87 
years. 

Ambrose Greene, of Urlton, aged 90 years, found dead in bed. 

Charles Garrighan, of Coxsackie, found dead in bed. 

Albany and Catskill Trolley Company organized. 

Charles E. Haines committed suicide at Cairo. 

John Richards committed suicide at Purling. 

Jacob Fromers' horse and wagon fell into the clove Canyon, six 
feet and escaped serious injury. 

William Ellis, war veteran, aged 87 years, found dead in bed at 
South Cairo. 

Kingston district conference of the Methodist church lield in 
Catskill. 

Catskill town bridge carried away. Michael Moran, captain of 
barge and William Dwyer drowned. Patsey Williams, Fred Bigelow 
and Jack McNary carried down with the structure, but escaped alive. 
The flood did great damage throughout the county. New span cost 
$10,000. Ben Plusch built temporary structure. 

Windham village six feet under water. 

Marshall Day, West Athens, dropped dead, aged 55 years. 

Benjamin Brenn, of Catskill, committed suicide in cistern. 

Thomas Hall drowned at Four Mile Point. 

James Little, of New Baltimore, sent to Dannemora for 20 years 
for rape. 

Fred Van Dyke unearthed skeleton of Indian on the Milton Palmer 
farm, near the Indian fording place. Skeleton was in sitting posture. 

P^rank Krom, of Purling shot when rabbit stepped on trigger of 
liis gun which he had laid on the ground. 

Hunters with blood hounds killed a bear at Hunter. 

Durham creamery burned. Loss $4000. 

George A. Van Valkenburgh died at Lexington, aged 65 years. 

John R. Hicks, of Catskill, found dead In bed, aged 79 years. 

Henry F. Olmstead died suddenly, aged 89 years. 

Caroline Palmer, died at Greenville from cancer, aged 62 years. 

P. Clinton Lewis, formerly of Catskill, died at Boston, under an 
operation. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Matthew Griffin died at Griffins Corners, aged 93 years. 

Joseph Keeler died at Catskill suddenly, aged 79 years. 

Sally Smith died at Catskill, aged 84 years. 

Mrs. R. H. Van Bergen died at Coxsackie, aged 86 years. 

Frederick Knowles died at Coxsackie, aged 91 years. 

Steven Ennist, war veteran, died at PalenvilUe, aged 79 years. 

Isaac Van Schaack died at Coxsackie, aged 84 years. 

Mrs. Mary Calhoun died at Greenville, aged 81 years. 

Daniel T. Lennon died at Palenville, aged 83 years. 

Sarah M. Fowler, aged 80 years, died at Clintondale, mother of 
Hon. Frank S. Decker, of Catskill. 

Mrs. A. N. Bentley, of Greenville, found dead in bed, aged 82 years. 

Oscar Edwards, of Catskill found dead in bed. 

Susan Nelson Fitchett, formerly of Catskill, died at Coxsackie, 
aged 92 years. 

George Roraback, of Westkill, died suddenly, aged 8.5 years. 

Joan Christopher Klepser, of Catskill, died at age of 81 years. 

Harvey Delamater, of Catskill, found dead in bed. 

Romantuds Lake, war veteran, died at Greenville. 

Lawrence Benton, war veteran, died at Durham. 

Remarkable death record — There were eighteen persons buried 
in Locust cemetery near Norton Hill during the past year. There 
was one over 100 years old at her death, three between 90 and 100, 
two between 80 and 90, four between 75 and 80, two between 60 and 
70, two between 50 and 60, one between 40 and 50, two between 30 
and 40, and one, the youngest, 23 years. 

CHRONOLOGY 1904. 

Boiler exploded in Hop o' Nose mill, several liurt. Percy Pindar, 
Charles Kiefer, Al Cole, George and Fred Pfiel and Harold Russ 
among the number. , 

Mrs. Ellen Post, of Catskill, left $1500 to Carnegie library, $1000 
to Y. M. C. A. and the income of $3000, $1000 to the First Baptist 
and $500 to the Reformed churches of Catskill. 

Mrs. Van Cott, aged 74 years, conducted two weeks' revival at 
Windham. 

Hudson River Ministerial Association met at Catskill. 

Capt. Charles Hallenbeck, pilot of the steamer Katterskill, drop- 
ped dead in New York. 

Mrs. Andrew Moore, aged 78 years, burned to death at Cornwall- 
ville. 

Justice Emory R. Chase entertained Greene County Bar Assn. 

Justice Howard presided at February term of Supreme Court. 

Rev. W. G. Price opened Business College at Freehold, also 
published Christian Echo. Failures. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Assemblyman Charles A. Nichols fathers new equalization board 
law lor Greene county. 

Justice Chase elected president Bar Association. 

Charles Sickles, aged 90 years, died at Athens. 

Robert Seaman, formerly of Catskill, died in New York at the 
age of 82. Inventor of the iron clad milk can and a millionaire. 

Happy Jack Kilroy fell from a piazza at Haines Falls and was 
killed. 

James H. Snyder died at Kiskatom at the age of 82. 

School money, town of Catskill, $3775. 

Lyman Chidester died at Leeds at the age of 78. 

Lake Kiskatom Water Works Company incorporated. 

Hezekiah Dederick, aged 89 years, died at Drummond Falls. 

Captain George Edwards died at his home in Athens, 69 years. 

Abram Harkness, a war veteran, who suffered the horrors of Libby 
prison, died at his home in Hunter. 

Mrs. H. M. Mace, principal of the Catskill High school, succumbed 
to typhoid fever. 

Dr. Nelson Fanning, of Catskill, fell down stairs and was killed. 

The steam yacht of Frank Leek was dynamited at Athens. 

Geo. L. Arbanasius, paymaster at the Alsen Cement works, died 
as the result of blood poisoning from colored stockings. 

Robert Conine, of Catskill. was killed by C. M. Ry. train at 
Catskill Point. 

Milton J. Snyder, of Catskill, shot himself in the Landa woods 
and was missing ten days when found. 

Hon. Isaac Pruyn, aged 88 years, died at his home in Catskill 
June 2d. President of Catskill National bank for thirty-three years. 
Practiced law with John Van Vleck. 

Engineer B. E. Conklin, of Catskill, of the fated steamer Slocum, 
stuck to his post while hundreds were burned to death. 

Cyrus C. Ballon, of Catskill, fell from a cherry tree and was killed. 

Conrad J. Droogan, a Catskill lawyer, found dead in bed at the 
Smith House. 

Addison S. Hayes, of Hensonville, a one-armed veteran, died sud- 
denly at that place. 

Estimate expense of Catskill schools, $23505. 

Frank Lampman drowned in the creek at Catskill. 

Barns on the Martin Van Sylke place at Coxsackie destroyed by 
fire. 

Charles Prediger, of Catskill, drowned in creek. 

Frank Deane died at Greenville, aged 79 years. Father of Super- 
visor J. Henry Deane, of Catskill. 

Alexander Pausley died at his home in Athens, aged 71 years. 

Hudson River Holiness school opened by the Rev. W. Albrecht 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNtY. 



at Catskill September 6th. Dismal failure. Bills still unpaid. For- 
mer principal of academy at Greenville. 

Harry Overbaugh, of Catskill, killed in a sewer cave-in at Saug- 
erties. 

Frank Smith, of Athens, drowned in the river at Hudson. 

Victor Brandeis committed suicide at the Salisbury Manor, Leeds, 
blowing his head off with a shot gun. 

James J. McDermott found dead in the woods near Green Lake. 

Company C encamped at Binghamton. 

Hudson River Baptist Association met at Catskill. 

Thomas Reilly, of Coxsackie, had the top of his head blown off 
by the accidental discharge of his gun while hunting rabbits. 

Daniel H. Link saved coupons from tobacco packages and got a 
$300 piano. 

William Walters and wife slashed to the point of death by Jack 
and Charles Deer, who also threw stones through the windows and 
shot-up the house 

George Proctor killed while operating a threshing machine near 
Catskill. One foot was cut off and he bled to death. 

Charles Truesdell, of Prattsville, was killed by a companion while 
shooting at a target. 

St. Patrick's academy at Catskill received gold medals from the 
St. Louis exposition for excellent work of pupils. 

Company E celebrates its 25th anniversary October 3rd. Ad- 
dresses were made by Col. Sage, A. M. Murphy, Senator Bloodgood, 
Justice Emory A. Chase, Alderman Thorpe, Postmaster Doty, Judge 
Tallmadge, Supervisor P. G. Coffin, County Treasurer J. A. Betts and 
Dr. Englert, former members, and by Contractor George W. Holdridge, 
who built the armory. 

Last great races at the Catskill driving park. 

Kingston district conference held at Coxsackie. 

Peter and Fred Cornell, of Catskill, shot 71 partridge and 33 
woodcock on a hunting trip. 

Carrie D. Hotchkiss, of Catskill captured a big owl measuring 
24 inches. 

Republicans swept Greene county. Roosevelt 700. William J. 
Hughes elected county treasurer. 

Justice Kellogg presided over November term of Supreme Court. 

The Rev. Alfred Demarest, former pastor of Catskill Reformed 
church, died suddenly while getting ready to go abroad. 

John Seers, of Leeds, sentenced to four years imprisonment for 
bigamy. 

John Ageo killed by the cars at Alsen. 

Lewis Wolf, steamboat man, died suddenly at Athens, aged 76 



£)EAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



years. Treasurer Evening Line, president of Hudson River Ice Co. 

County indebtedness reduced to $80,000. 

Micliael O'Hara cliairman of Board of Supervisors. Henry S. 
Van Orden supervisor from Catskill. 

Citizens Hose company's fair netted $1200. 

CHRONOLOGY 1905. 

Nile Linzey drowned in the Catsl^ill creek wiiile skating. 

Isaac Van Loan died suddenly at Athens from paralysis. 

Annual meeting of Bar Association at Catskill. Justice Emory 
A. Chase presided. 

William Brandow died at South Jewett, aged 80 years. 

Justice Howard presided at February term of Supreme Court. 

Richard Jones, 82 years, and wife, 78 years, aied at Greenville 
in same week. 

The Newkirk house at Sandy Plains destroyed by fire. 

H. Leroy Austin, of Catskill, appointed chief accountant in comp- 
troller's office at Albany. 

Art exhibition at Carnegie library at Catskill. 

Palenville and Kiskatom Telephone Company organized. 

Vernon E. Ford, of Catskill died following an accident at his saw 
mill in Catskill. His leg was amputated. 

"Alone in London" by Cairo amateurs, netted $250. 

St. Patrick's fair at Athens was a great success. 

Frances Wilcox, oldest teacher in the county, died at the age of 
76 years at Catskill. 

Jane Johnson, the last slave in Greene county, died at Catskill, 
having been a servant in the Mann family over 30 years. 

Three cases of spotted fever appeared at Palenville. All three 
died. 

Catskill fishermen captured many carp weighing from 24 to 44 
pounds in the creek. 

Charles A. Gumier committed suicide by jumping into the river 
at Catskill Point. 

School money for Greene county, $27,725. 

John H. Brink, of Haines Falls, killed by the cars at Alsen. 
Thomas F. Botsford, a prominent resident of Catskill, died suddenly. 

Frank Knoll elected president of the Deuter Untersteutungsverein 
of Catskill. 

Maggie Van Cott in great revival at Jefferson, Iowa. 

Woodbridge King, aged 92 years, died at his home in West Athens. 

Frank Schmidt, of Catskill, champion at gun practice on the 
battleship Illinois. 

District Attorney Pierre S. Jennings passed through successful 
appendicitis operation. 



DffiAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Albert Boshardt drowned at Smith's Landing. 

Charles Vedder, of Coxsackie, fell overboard and was drowned 
from the City of Hudson. 

Henry S. Mace died at Catskill at the age of 89 years. 

Four men terribly injured in a dynamite explosion at the Cats- 
kill Cement works. 

Charles Waterman died at Ashland at the age of 90 years. 

Enos V. Smith, of Coxsackie, found dead in his wagon. 

Joseph Hertack, of Windham, walked off the dock and was drowned 
at Catskill. Had been missing about ten days from home. 

S. B. Sage died at his home in Catskill, aged 68 years. Born in 
Prattsville 1836, educated there. Assemblyman from Greene county 
1897-8-9. Also under-sheriff in 1880. 

Judge Cochrane presided at June term of Supreme Court. 

Citizens Hose Co. of Catskill wore new white suits at Mt. Vernon 
and were headed by the Astor drum corps of New York, 35 pieces. 

Peter Dambrowski committed suicide at the hotel of A. Allulis 
in Catskill. 

Catskill public library reports 6261 volumes. 

New Methodist church at South Cairo dedicated. 

Charles B. Smith, of Coxsackie, jumped from his motor car and 
struck on his head killing him. 

Margaret Herrick, oldest women in Greene county, died at 
Catskill, aged 96 years. 

Estimated expenditures for Catskill Schools, $24,484. 

Company E qualified 25 men on the state rifle range. 

John Gill, aged 79 years, died at Athens. 

Greene county fiermen's convention held at Catskill Labor Day. 
Hensonville band, Hunter band, Hudson band, Catskill band, Pruyn 
Drum Corps, Hudson, Hunter and Catskill companies represented in 
parade. Jacob Fromer elected president of association. 

Isaac Spoor died at West Coxsackie, aged 84 years. 

Emerson Ford, of Durham, James Hughes, of Stuyvesant Falls, 
and Eugene Wayne, of Catskill, appointed Equalization Board for 
Greene County. 

FOUR DROWNED— Mary C. Bedell, Jennie L. Bedell, of New 
York, Sarah Brown, of Brooklyn, and Margaret McKay, of Coxsackie, 
drowned at Hudson when the Powers ran into the Young America, 
the boat being sunk. 

Henry Van Valkenburgli, of Coxsackie, was killed at that place 
by the cars. He was driving a manure spreader. 



DEAR OLD GREJENE COUNTY. 



Otis Stevens sliot Kdward Griffin at tlie Golden Stairs hotel at 
Catskill. 

Greene County Sunday School convention held at Cornwallville. 

The remains of William Wilkinson, of Catskill, were taken from 
the river at Maiden. Case a mystery. 

William Wood, of Coxsackie, committed suicide by drowning. 

Atlantic City Guards encamped in Catskill. 

The Presbytery of Columbia met at Tannersville. 

Henry Layman, of Catskill, caught a carp weighing 75 pounds. 

William Layman, of Catskill, fell from a ladder at Oak Hill while 
picking apples and was killed. 

Harry E. Norton killed by a Catskill trolley car. 

Daniel Glennon, of Catskill, died at the age of 93 years. 

Supervisors Board a tie, seven Democrats, seven Republicans. 
Wm. C. Brady elected to assembly. Leslie Tompkins and William 
N. Anderson elected school commissioners. 

Cairo Electric Light Company building $80,000 plant at Woodstock. 

Catskill Mountain and Mohawk Valley Railroad incorporated. 

Justice Hasbrouck presided at November term of Supreme Court. 

Michael O'Hara chairman of Board of Supervisors. George B. 
Van Valkenburgh clerk. 

Greene County equalization, $12,762,677. 

Morrison Brooks, of Athens, found dead in bed, aged 71 years. 

The Supervisors elected are — Ashland, Homer E. Tompkins, R; 
Athens, J. K. Van Woert, R; Cairo, Chas. Jones, D; Catskill, H. S. 
Van Orden, R; Coxsackie, W. T. Haswell, R; Durham, T. I. Smith, R; 
Greenville, Henry Botsford, R; Hunter, Renwick Dibble, D; Halcott, 
L. J. Deamer, D; Jewett, Geo. Chase, R; Lexington, Geo. Moore, D; 
New Baltimore, B. Van Slyke, R; Prattsville, E. Krieger, D; Wind- 
ham, S. L. Ford, D. 

William S. Berrs burned to death. 

Howard Boughton, one of Catskill's foremost citizens died as he 
was about to retire for the night. Born at Windham 1849, came to 
Catskill in 1865. Was in business w'ith L. R. Doty. Very successful 
business man. 

Waldo Schmidt found dead in the lots near Summit Hill House, 
Catskill. He had been hunting, and shot himself by accident. 

Capt. Geo. R. Renter, formerly of Catskill, died in New York. 
Julius Colwick, of Alsen, was buried in a bin of cement at that 
place and killed. 

George Trumpbour, aged 69 years, died at Palenville. 
Sally Davis, aged 92 years, died at Oak Hill. 
Ch 16 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



CHRONOLOGY 1906. 

William Ford, of Cairo, enlisted and went to Philippines. 

Nelson S. Bloom died from stroke of paralysis at Oak Hill. 

Oscar Greene dropped dead at Coxsackie. 

Hart House at Catskill Point destroyed by fire. 

Bolivar Newbury, one of the early manufacturers of power presses 
for printing, died at Coxsackie, at the age of 82 years. 

A crazy man called on the Rev. I. H. Hoag, at Leeds, and an- 
nounced that God had sent him to kill him. The pastor side stepped 
him, and the sheriff got the quarry. 

Ned Mirles, of Catskill, killed by the cars at Alsen. 

Justice Howard presided at February term of the Supreme Court. 

Greene County Bar Association met at the Palmer House, Catskill. 
Justice Chase presided. Arthur M. Murphy read paper on Judge Osborn. 

Dr. Henry L. Whitbeck, a former resident of Greenville, killed 
his wife, Emmaline Haight, of Freehold with a tack hammer and 
then blew the top of his own head off with a rifle. 

John Paige died at tlie home of his daughter in Coxsackie at the 
aged of 87 years. 

Abram Sickles, aged 65 years, tried to cross the river on the ice 
at Coxsackie and was drowned. 

Truman Gillett, a former Catskillian and private secretary of 
Thurlow Weed, died at his home in Chicago, aged 87 years 

David Davis, of Union Society, died at the age of 82 years. 

John Slattery, a prominent resident of Athens died at that place 
following a stroke of paralysis. 

George H. Vedder, of Leeds, a graduate of Harvard college pub- 
lishes magazine at La Hacienda. 

William Raney died at Coxsackie of pneumonia. 

The Rev. John W. Gorse, aged 80 years, died at Catskill. 
rev. Rev. C. G. Hazard, the Rev. E. P. Miller, The Rev. Wm. Fitz- 
gerald, the Rev. Robert Knapp, William Van Orden, F. S. Lynes, Orrin 
Day, James P. Philip, William Palmatier and P. Gardner Coffin com- 
mittee to raise funds for San Francisco earthquake sufferers. 

Arthur Coggswell, of Athens, killed by the cars. 

Antonio Gentillio killed by the cars at Coxsackie. 

Ransom Thorne, oldest resident oi Freehold, died from heart 
trouble. 

The Presbytery of Columbia met in Catskill. Large attendance. 

Norman Francis, of Oak Hill, found dead in his room. 

Walter Dederick, of Catskill, fell against buzz saw he was operat- 
ing in lumb camp at Leeds and had his leg cut off. He recovered. 

Charles Thatcher dropped dead on Mansion street at Coxsackie. 
17 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Mrs. Margaret Ensign, I'ormerly of Coxsackie, lost all her posses- 
sions in the San Francisco disaster. 

Elder E. P. Pratt, of Oak Hill, representative to General Assembly 
at Des Moines. 

Jacob Fromer, of Hunter, passed through serious operation at 
Albany iiospital. 

Amount sent from Catskill to San Franscio by committee, $2829; 
other sources, St. Patrick's church, 150 and Reformed church, $59. 

Albert Hoffman, of Coxsackie, committe d suicide by taking 
strychnine. 

Joseph Ostrander ,of Tannersville, committed suicide by taking 
arsenic. 

Charles Young drove to Oak Hill, tied his horse and then went 
into the barn and cut his throat with a jack knife. He died. 

The body of Joseph Pulaski, of Catskill, found in the river. 

Willis S. Post died at Palenville at the age of 71 years. 

Albert Chase, father of Justice Emory A Chase, died at Henson- 
ville, aged 84 years. 

William Garrison, aged 77 years, while lumting rats shot himself 
and died instantly. 

Buildings of J. G. Newbury at Coxsackie destroyed by fire. Loss 
$18,000.00. 

Justice Fitts presided at June term of the Supreme Court. 

Citizens Hose Company, of Catskill, paraded at Rensselaer. 

Ninety-first annual meeting of Greene County Bible Society at 
Catskill. 

Lucius E. Tuttle and Mrs. Tuttle were shot July 4th as the 
closing event of a celebration. The shot was fired by Italians on 
Water street, and they were never apprehended. Mr. Tuttle died 
instantly and Mrs. Tuttle finally recovered. The bullet passed through 
her body. 

Company E spent 10 days in camp at Fleischmans. 

The upper town bridge at Catskill blown up by dynamite. 

Hiram Bogardus, former school commissioner of county, died at 
Coxsackie, of gangrene. He was 74 years of age. 

Mrs. Edgar Poole found dead in her home on Broome street, at 
Coxsackie. 

Clayton Bump, a Catskill veteran of the Spanish war committed 
suicide at Albany, using gas and chloroform. 

Hendrick Hudson steamer, of the Day Line, made first trip on 
August 23rd. 

Commodore William B. Nelson died suddenly at Catskill. 

Great firemen's celebration at Hunter on Labor Day. 

Teachers' Institute held at Catskill. W. N. Anderson and Leslie 
Tompkins, commissioners. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



David Layman killed at Washburn brick yard at Catskill by a 
falling derrick. 

Jacob Fromer elected president Greene County Firemen's Assn. 

Barns of Omar Mackey at Oak Hill destroyed by fire. 

Kingston District Conference held in Catskill Methodist church. 

Greene County Sunday School Convention held at Palenville. 
Sixty-three schools in the county. 

Alvin Brewer found dead in bed at his home in Catskill. 

John Post, of Catskill, celebrated his 97th birthday. 

Ice house of New Jersey Company, at Smith's Landing destroyed 
by fire. 

George Burleigh, a Civil War veteran, died at Athens, at the age 
of 72 years. 

Steamers Adirondack and Saratoga in collision below Catskill. 
Two dead, many hurt. 

Kennedy Valve Works at Coxsackie, damaged to extent of .?9000 
by fire. 

Morris Guards encamped at Catskill. 

John W. Rusk, of Haines Falls, invents steam wagon, also process 
of printing 50 photographs a minute. 

Greene county gave Hughes for governor plurality of 500. W. C. 
Brady elected member of assembly; E. A. Gifford, district attorney; 
J. C. Tallmadge, county judge; Ira T. ToUey ,sup't of county house, 
and Hardy Stewart, sheriff. 

Henry S. Van Orden elected chairman and Geo. B. Van Valken- 
burgh clerk to Board of Supervisors. Board — Ashland, Homer Tomp- 
kins; Athens, J. K. Van Woert; Cairo, Charles P. Jones; Catskill, 
Henry S. Van Orden; Coxsackie, W. T. Haswell; Durham, T. I. Smith; 
Greenville, Henry Botsford; Hunter, Renwick Dibble; Halcott, L. J. 
Deamer; Jewett, Geo. H. Chase; Lexington, Geo. Moore; New Balti- 
more, Brand Van Slyke; Prattsville, Elmer Krieger, and Windham, 
Sidney L. Ford. 

Thomas Brown, aged 78 years, a war veteran, an old time whaler, 
died at Freehold. 

Work commenced on new concrete bridge at Catskill. 
Maggie Van Cott held revival meetings at Pittsfield and Baltimore. 
J. B. North, of Tannersville, a brakeman, was killed by a fall 
from his train. 

Company E entertained Board of Supervisors. 

Thomas Regan fell off a high bank at Alsen in the night and 
was killed. 

Greene county Board of Supervisors vote unanimously for state 
roads. 

CHRONOLOGY 1907. 
Edward Butler, of Coxsackie, was murdered on the road near Troy. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



J. T. Henderson died suddenly at the Smith House, Catskill. 

Jane Walsh found dead in bed at Woodstock. 

C'atskill Trolley Company went into hands of a receiver. 

Hiram Goff, of Catskill, committed suicide at his boarding place, 
taking carbolic acid. 

William H. Denton and Laura Denton, old people, burned to 
death in a fire that destroyed their residence near Cairo. 

James Van Tran, a civil war veteran, died at Prattsville, from 
gangrene in his foot. He lived four years after the disease set in and 
one by one he cut off his toes with a pocket knife. 

The Rev. C. G. Hazard, of Catskill, attended the Hague Tribunal. 

Frank Norton drowned in the creek at Catskill. 

Monroe Truesdell, of Lexmgton, youngest soldier in federal army, 
being fourteen when he enlisted. He was a member of Warrens and 
Sheridans staff. Wounded at Winchester. In lumber business at 
East Jewett. 

Eleanor C. Heermance endows Hermance Memorial Library at 
Coxsackie, leaving $60,000 for that purpose. 

William G. Plank, Grand Army veteran, of Cairo, passed away, 
aged 70 years. 

Chauncey Dixson, of Catskill, rounded out 100 years. War veter- 
an. Mrs. Dixson died at the age of 103. 

Kate Dunlap, of Windham, tried to deal in liquors at that place 
and it cost her $200 fine, ana not having the money she went to jail. 

Tenth annual convention of the American Zionists held at Tan- 
nersville. 

Ribbel Hess drowned in the river at Catskill. 

Robert Scott, of Catskill, a Grany Army veteran, died at Cairo 
at the age of 87 years. 

Jacob Makeley, a Cairo farmer, committed suicide by taking 
laudinum. 

Walter Mott, of Catskill, died of strangulated hernia at his home 
in that place, aged 76 years. 

The new concrete bridge at Catskill opened with a celebration 
and fireworks in the evening. 

Barn of Burton Van Derzee at Coxsackie destroyed by fire, the 
building being struck by lightning. 

Cooper shop of Howard Carey and dwelling of Edward Dixson at 
West Coxsackie burned. 

Store of Nicholas D. Onifrio at Athens destroyed by fire, 
success. 

Major Leroy Palmer, a Catskill boy, returned to the Philippines. 

The council tree of the Mohican Indians, located on the Casper 
Hallenbeck farm at Coxsat-kie, struck by lightningand destroyed. It 
was under this tree that the Indians met to sell land to Jan Bronk, 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Martee Genisee Van Bergen and Jan Jacobse Hallenbeck. 

William Curtis, of Kiskatom, died from gas poisoning while at 
work in a well at his place. 

Forty-ninth annual convention of the Greene County Sunday 
School Association held at Catskill. 

Store of C. I. Collier, at Coxsackie, partially destroyed by Are. 

The Rev. John B. Thompson, former pastor of the Catskill Re- 
formed church died at Trenton, aged 77 years. 

The Greene County Firemen's 19th annual convention was held 
at Coxsackie. 

Hanah Pierce died at Kiskatom at the age of 95 years. 

Ford H. Clegg, of Leeds, died as the result of injuries when he 
jumped out of a window at his home, during his sleep. 

Annual meeting of the Greene County Bible Society held at the 
Reformed church in Catskill. 

The first horseless wagon said to have been made by Peter Van 
Hoesen, of Leeds, who lost all his money trying to perfect the machine. 

Morris Guards encamped at Catskill. 

Thomas Whitlock, of Brooklyn, in his 92nd year visits Catskill. 
A friend of General Lafayette. Past master Odd Fellows over 53 years. 

Order of Forresters organized at Catskill. Angelo Sission first 
chief. 

Levi M. Francis, a veteran of the civil war, suicided at his home 
in Catskill, taking strychnine. 

St. Patrick's church at Athens dedicated. Bishop Burke officiated. 

Thomas Bell, of Catskill, died suddenly at the age of 81 years. 

Edward Smith dropped dead at his home in Athens. 

Mrs. Jennie 01m, of Catskill, gets verdict of $9000 for death of 
her husband who was killed by the cars near Hudson. 

Ten Democrats and four Republicans elected supervisors. The 
Board: Franklin Finch, Ashland: Elmore Mackey, Athens: Charles 
P. Jones, Cairo; Charles A. Post, Catskill; William B. Townsend, 
Coxsackie; W. S. Borthwick, Durham; N. Sanford, Greenville; Ren- 
wick Bibble, Hunter; L. Van Valkenburgh, Halcott; Geo. H. Chase, 
Jewett; V. R. Kirke, Lexington; Ezra H. Palmer, New Baltimore; 
Elmer Krieger, Prattsville; Dr. Sidney Ford, Windham. Judson A. 
Betts, County Treasurer. Pierre S. Jennings, District Attorney. Wm. 
C. Brady, Member of Assembly. Durham no license by six votes. 

James B. Mitchell, wat veteran and 13 months in Andersonville 
prison, fell down stairs and died a few hours later. 

Justice Fitts presided over Dcember term of Supreme Court. 

Maggie Myers, aged 60 years, indicted for keeping house of ill 
repute. Sixty days in prison. 

E. S Hay dropped dead in the office of the Catskill Recorder. 

bounty budget for the year $82,206. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Jeremiah Dean died at New Baltimore. He was 76 years of age. 
Was for three years on awhale vessel. In California during the gold 
excitement. He was an uncle of Supervisor J. H. Deane, of Catskill. 

CHRONOLOGY 1908. 

Aaron Wynkoop, of Cairo, drowned in the creek at South Cairo, 
attempting to cross the stream while intoxicated. 

The new school building on the West Side in Catskill completed 
by Contractor Geo. W. Holdridge, at a cost of about $30,000 

Rene Rowlinson, of Windham, burned to death at the Smith House 
in Catskill, his clothing catching fire in some unknown manner. 

Charles A. Post, of Catskill, elected chairman of Board of Super- 
visors; George B. Van Valkenburgh, clerk. 

The barn of Newton Spoor, at Coxsackie, valued at $3,000, de- 
stroyed by fire. 

Residence of Peter Fitchett, near Coxsackie, destroyed by fire. 

Supervisor Franklin Finch, one of the leading citizens of Ashland, 
passed away at his home after his return from a meeting of the 
Board of Supervisors. He was 63 years of age. 

Marry E. Garrison found dead in her home at Indian Ridge. 

Mrs. Catherine Goodwin, aged 82 years, died at Palenville. 

Philip Freese, died at Purling, at the age of 80 years. 

Tannersville and Cairo want county seat located at these places. 

Judge Clearwater presided at February term of Supreme Court. 

Wilbur Brown died at Catskill, aged 58 years. 

Tannersville offers to raise $100,000 to have county buildings 
located there. 

Trustee Charles A. Elliott offers site for court house in Catskill. 

Frederick S. Lynes, a prominent Catskillian died at the age 
of 84 years. Forty years sup't of First Baptist Sunday school. 

Greene county Board of Supervisors met at Catskill and decided 
to locate building there and to spend $150,000 for new court house. 
The vote to locate in Catskill was 11 to 3. It was also decided to 
locate the buildings on Bridge and Main streets, and Messrs. Post, 
Krieger, Dibble and Chase, of the Board of Supervisors were appointed 
a committee to secure plans, etc. 

Mass meeting of Citizens of Catskill held at court house in the 
matter of new buildings. New sites proposed. 

Estimated that site of lands will cost $47,000 on Bridge and 
Main streets. 

Emory A. Chase re-elected president of Bar Association. 

Burton Whitbeck shot and killed his wife, Maude B. Whitbeck 
in front of their home at West Coxsackie and then committed suicide 
in the barn of his uncle, John Curtin. 

The remains of Fred Brandt were taken from the Catskill creek 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



below the bridge. He had been missing for six weeks. 

Emanuel J. Hill, former resident of Catskill, and steamboat man, 
died in Brooklyn at the age of 84 years. 

Philip Spencer fell from the dock at the pumping station in Cats- 
kill and was drowned. 

Celebration of Old Home Week in Catskill, October 4-7. Great 
parades, carnival, fireworks, athletic sports on race track, and ball 
game following day. Hon. Wm. P. Fiero made the principal address. 
Catskill was thronged with guests all the week. 

Michael Doherty found dead in his home at Coxsackie. 

Governor Hughes given a rousing welcome in Catskill. 

The committee passed a resolution of thanks to Chairman J. P. 
Philip for his services and zeal which made Old Home Week a great 
success. 

William H. Taft, president, carried Greene county by 478; Hughes, 
governor, 263; Brady, assembly, 290; Tompkins, commissioner, 488; 
Longendyke, corner, 488. 

Justice Fitts presided at November term of Supreme Court. 

The Malcolm Mill went out of business at Catskill. 

District Attorney Pierre S. Jennings had 30 cases before grand 
jury. Jas. Cartan, of Catskill, held for attempt to poison his wife. 
Sentenced to 18 years imprisonment. 

Henry Limbrick, Catskill's oldest resident, died, aged 93 years. 

Elmer Overbaugh, of Palenville, went after pitch to make gum 
and did not return. His body was found in the creek. 

Set of resolution presented to Bank President J. P. Philip by Old 
Home Week committee. Addresses made by Rev. Clark Wright, Will- 
iam E. Thorpe, Village President Charles A. Elliott and Senator 
Bloodgood. 

Shops of the Catskill Mountain railroad at the Point destroyed 
by fire. 

Charles A. Elliott attends session of Hudson Fulton committee 
in New York. 

Michael O'Hara, of Tannersville, appointed county superintendent 
of highways. 

$150,000 appropriated for Fulton Celebration; $5,000 for Catskill. 

Bonded indebtedness of town of Catskill, $73,500, of which $42,- 
000 was for concrete bridge. 

Work commenced on steamer Robert Fulton. 

Company E entertained Board of Supervisors. 

Frank Packer, of Catskill, successfully treated for lock jaw, being 
first case on record. 

Catskill Civil Organization expended $1072 for the year. Omar 
V. Sage president. 

Mrs. Mary Griffin burned to death by the explosion of a lamp at 
Ashland. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



CHRONOLOGY 1909. 

Dominic Sabbatani drowned at Catskill Point New Years Day 
attempting to cross on the ice. 

Charles Paddock found dead in bed at liis home in Purling. He 
was 78 years of age. 

Bank President J. P. Philip and wife, of Catskill, leave on a three- 
niontlis' tour of Europe, January 31, 1909. 

J. P. Philip and wife sailed for Egypt. 

Sarah Timmerman died at Palenville at the age of 86 years. 

John Costigan, aged 77 years, dropped dead at the residence of 
Joseph Malcolm. 

John Huested died suddenly at Cairo, aged 77 years. 

Barn of Silas Finch at Cairo destroyed by fire. 

Mrs. Willis A. Haines elected Worthy Matron O. E. Stars. 

Harry Boyne, of Catskill, received 15,000 volts of electricity from 
Woodstock high tension wire, rendered unconscious but recovered. 

Charles R. Howard, a prominent resident of Tannersville died at 
that place. Eight hundred people attended his funeral. 

Justice Howard presided at the February term of the Supreme 
Court. Eugene Kurau, foreman of grand jury. 

Annual banquet of Bar Association held at Catskill. 

Catskill Gun Club held banquet at Smith House, Catskill. 

Catskill Masons held annual banquet at Y. M. C. A. hall. 

Rip Van Winkle Club held annual banquet at Smith House. 

Asbury Ringman, driver on the Oak Hill stage, was killed at 
Eagle Bridge in a runaway accident. Rig went off the bank into the 
creek. Mrs. Z. A. Pratt had hip broken. Three other people hurt. 

A number of liquor dealers fined $200 each for violation of the 
tax. law 

Annual banquet of Brotherhood of Reformed church at Catskill. 

Mass meeting held at Catskill on water question. Nothing 
settled. 

William Hamm killed by fall at the ice house of .Smith and 
Haines at Catskill. 

Maggie Van Cott, aged 89 years, closed successful revival at 
Claverack, Columbia county. 

George Doyle, a workman, was ground to death in a machine at 
the Catskill Cement works. 

Corporation counsel Arthur M. Murphy died suddenly from blood 
poisoning. A very successful lawyer and prominent member of St. 
Patrick's church at Catskill. 

Citizens Hose Company celebrated 40th anniversary. 

Catskill Millenial Dawnists decide that the world will come to 
an end in 1914. 

Justice Fitts presided at April term of Supreme Court 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Rip Van Winkle produced in tlie woods at Palenville. A great 

The grand jury had but three cases to consider. 

George W. Holdridge appointed receiver of the Catskill Trolley 
Company. 

Jacob Miller, of Hunter, committed suicide by taking Paris green. 

Lydia P. Millard, aged SO years, died at her home in Catskill. 

Mystic Five basketball team played 59 games, winning 33. 

The Arch Deaconry of Albany met at St. Luke's church, Catskill. 

Barns and residence of John Lind at Sandy Plains destroyed by 
fire. 

Famous stone house, erected in 1751, on Cauterskill road, torn 
down. 

Catskill Savings Bank's new home finished and opened for busi- 
ness. W. I. Jennings, president. 

Jacob June, war veteran, aged 70 years, died at Lime Street. 

Company E encamped at Fort Ticonderoga. 

Eddie Shepard thrown from a horse in the races at Cairo and 
injured so badly that he died. 

Sanford Overbaugh walked off the open end of the Catskill draw 
bridge, escaping with a broken aj-m. Town settled for $250.. 

G. W. Holdridge awarded contract to pave Main street at Cats- 
kill for sum of $10,769. 

Citizens Hose Company attended State Firemen's Convention at 
Po'keepsie and got a very raw deal. 

The Wiley mill at Catskill closed on account of hard times. 

Maria Clute died at Coxsackie at the age of 86 years. 

Wilbur Funk, conductor of the Catskill trolley, killed by a fall 
while boarding his car at Leeds. 

Richard Phelan, a Grand Army veteran, died suddenly at Leeds. 

Washington Kennedy, a former resident of Catskill, died at 
Kingston at the age of 84 years. 

Joseph Porter hanged himself in a shed at Athens. 

Democrats elect entire county ticket: J. Lewis Patrie, member of 
assembly; Abram Post, sheriff; George B. Van Valkenburgh, county 
clerk; Ira T. ToUey, superintendt. Democratic Supervisors: Elmore 
Mackey, Athens; Charles P. Jones, Cairo; J. Henry Deane, Catskill; 
Lorenzo Van Valkenburgh, Halcott; E. B. Goslee, Hunter; W. H. 
Woodworth, Jewett; Herbert Kipp, Lexington; H. J. Miller, New Balti- 
more; Elmer Krieger, Prattsville; S. L. Ford, Windham. Republican 
Supervisors: Frank Dodge, Ashland; Dayton B. Smith, Coxsackie; 
W. S. Borthwick, Durham, and Truman L. Ingalls, Greenville. 

Seven barns burned in town of Jewett, incendiary. Detectives 
employed to get evidence. Four men arrested. No one convicted. 

William McManus, of Drummond Falls house, Palenville, died 
at the age of 80 years. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Charles A. Post, chairinan Board of Supervisors, George B. Van 
Valkenburgh, clerk. 

Frank Sanger killed at Alsen cement works. 

West Shore station at Catskill destroyed by fire. 

Catskill Board of Trade organized December 7th. 

Catskill's league basketball team, with Matthews, Grobe, Deer, 
Hallenbeck and Boyne, defeated Newburgh, Paterson, Hudson, Yon- 
kers, Po'keepsie and Troy, winning their first six games. 

Mrs. Hannah Osborn, of Windham, fell down stairs while walking 
in her sleep. She was 88 years of age. The accident resulted in her 
death. She was the mother of Counselor Frank H. Osborn, of Catskill. 

CHRONOLOGY 1910. 

Board of Supervisors appropriated $35,000 for jail, court house 
and grounds. 

Ann Overbaugh, aged 91 years, died at her home in Catskill. 

Emauel and Carl Nufia burned to death in tool house of West 
Shore railroad at New Baitlmore. 

Atlas Cement Company's buildings at Hudson destroyed by fire. 
Loss $100,000. 

Catskill Trolley line sold to Wm. C. Wood for $33,000. 

Hotel of M. P. McCabe burned. Loss $9,000. 

Harry Holdridge, of Catskill, killed by hte cars at Alsen. 

Dr. Sidney L. Ford elected chairman of Board of Supervisors, 
William B. Townsend, clerk. 

J. Holmes King committed suicide at Palenville, taking chloroform. 

William H. Bogardus commenced action against Catskill village 
for $10,000. 

Miss May Hoy voted most popular young lady in Catskill. 

Charles Roorke, of Catskill, smothered in a bin at the Alsen 
cement works. 

Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Philip presented the Catskill Reformed church 
with $500. 

William Shryver, son of William Schryver, of Tannersville, killed 
by the cars at Saugerties. 

Hotel of Stephen Shufelt burned at Haines Falls. 

Hotel of Charles Speenburgh burned at Catskill. 

Harry Van Valkenburgh was killed by the cars at West Athens. 

Nellie and Lewis Desco, of Catskill, completely recoved from 
malformation after operation made possible by County Clerk Geo. B. 
Van Valkenburgh. Both would have been cripples for life. 

Daniel J. Barnaby, of Coxsackie, run down by automobile and 
killed in New York city. 

Stanley Luciskis murdered at Cementon by parties unknown. 

A million dollar improvement wiped out by fire at the Burden iron 
mines opposite Catskill. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



William Freese and Elias Lasher elected trustees of Catskill. 

Assemblyman J. Lewis Patrie gets teachers' pension bill passed. 

Dominic Leone, of Cairo, killed while attempting to get on train 
at Cairo. 

Barn of Sylvanus Story at Gayhead struck by lightning and 
destroyed. 

Hon. O. V. Sage elected president of Catskill Civic Society. 

Justice Le Boeuf presided at April term of Supreme court. 

Egbert Bogart, an old time resident of Palenville, died of cancer. 

Bank President J. P. Philip and wife visited the West Indies and 
the scene of the great disaster at Martinique. 

Citizens Hose Co. produced the Passing Show. Receipts $1200. 

Contractor Geo. W. Holdridge laid pavement in Main street. 

Moses Covel killed in runaway accident at Catskill. 

Mrs. Giles Sutton dropped dead at her home in Leeds. 

Chauncey Wolcott, of South Cairo, died following an operation. 

Senator Addison P. Jones died at his home in Catskill, aged 87 
year. He started business in Catskill in 1840. 

Fred Lewis, of Saugerties, Nettie Naylor, Mabel Van Valkenburgh 
and L. B. Decker, of Catskill, all badly injured in automobile accident. 
All recovered. 

John and Richard Doyle and Harry Abeel playing with matches 
in a barn at Saugerties set fire to the building and were burned to 
death. 

Steamer Po'keepsie burned to the water's edge at Highland. 
Loss $100,000. 

The Misses Bedell present Baptist church at Catskill with $1200. 

Stephen Edwards drowned in creek at Catskill while swimming. 

Seaboard Cement Company organized with capital of $7,000,000. 
Plant not finished and company failed. 

Harold McKenzie pitching for Catskill shut out Albany Troy, 
Hudson Fultons and Hudson Professions, two games 1-0 and 0-0, 
thirteen innings, and let Stottville down with one run, six successive 
games. 

Barn of Charles A. Vedder at Leeds destroyed by fire. Loss $3000. 

Joseph Steele fell overboard at Coxsackie with a bag of coal and 
was drowned. 

Residence of Norman Van Hoesen of Leeds destroyed by fire. He 
fell down stairs with a lighted lamp which exploded. 

Wiley Knitting Co. at Catskill, went into hands of a receiver. 

Residence of Hiram Wilcox on Allen street, Catskill, destroyed 
by fire. 

H. Leroy Austin, of Catskill, appointed game commissioner of 
state. He thereupon resigned the office of district attorney of Greene 
county. Grin Q. Flint appointed in his place. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Liquor tax money from Greene county, $24,847. 

Morgan Brookfield killed by troUev car near Spooky Hollow. 

William P. Fiero elected senator; Judson A. Betts, county treas- 
urer; J. Lewis Patrie, member of assembly; Howard C. Wilbur, district 
attorney, and Sidney L. Ford, coroner. 

Philip Van Orden found dead at his home in Catskill. 

Storehouse of Catskill Evening Line gutted by fire. 

Egbert Dodge, aged 8S years, died at Ashland. A pioneer of that 
town. 

CHRONOLOGY 1911. 

Emerson Ford, equalization commissioner of Greene county, died 
suddenly at his home in Oak Hill. 

Dr. J. B. Longendyke, coroner of Greene county, died in the 
hospital at Kingston. 

Charles G. Coffin, prominent citizen of Catskill passes away. 

The Rev. S. W. Roe died at Cairo, at the age of 84 years. 

Chauncey Dixson, died at Catskill at the age of 103 years. He 
was born at Greenville and was a veteran of the G. A. R. 

Barn of James Majilton at Catskill burned. 

Eugene Campbell frozen to death near Coxsackie. 

Catskill Poultry association organized. 

Vitaliano Trepas tried for murder of Joseph Genoveso at Alsen. 
Verdict was not guilty. 

Emory A. Chase re-elected president of Greene County Bar Assn. 

The parsonage of the Christian church wrecked by dynamite 
bomb. House completely wrecked but every member of the pastor's 
family escaped injury. 

Pierre S. Jennings, former district attorney, died at the age of 
37 years, death being due to consumption. 

Residence of Fenelon C. Kniffen at Catskill destroyed by fire. 

Bank President J. P. Philip and wife made trip to the Sandwich 
Islands, visiting the great volcano. 

William B. Mattice died suddenly at his home in Catskill. 

Robert T. Martin, of Ashland, committed suicide. He placed the 
muzzle of a shot gun in his mouth and fired. 

John Cornwall, a former Catskill shoe dealer, committed suicide 
by shooting himself. 

Fred P. Derne died suddenly at Athens. 

The Rev. Acton Civille, of Coeymans, knelt down to pray and 
committed suicide by shooting while in that position. 

Hanah B. Osborn, mother of Attorney Frank H. Osborn, of Cats- 
kill, died at his residence in Catskill, at the age of 89 years. 

William J. Reed drowned in the Catskill creek near the West 
Shore railroad bridge. 

John Hagewater was drowned at Athens. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



George Kelk, a New York policeman, was struck by lightning at 
South Cairo and killed. 

Walter S. McClelland, pastor of Trinity Episcopal church, drowned 
at Athens while canoeing. 

William M. Smith, of Catskill, passed away at the age of 54 years. 

Robert Cole, a vaudeville actor, committed suicide in the creek at 
Catskill. 

Lulu Hover, a Catskill girl, prevented the Kingston hospital from 
burning up, by closing the doors and getting to work with the hand 
grenades. 

Joseph Henske, Nona Meany and May Jarvis, city boarders, 
drowned at Green Lake, theb odies being recovered three days later. 

William Carter, of Catskill, committed suicide by drowning at 
Tupper Lake. 

Kissel Kar put on the route between Leeds and Cairo. 

Frederick W. Brink, a former Catskillian, drowned at New York. 

Greene County Firemen's Convention held at Catskill. 

Benjamin Myers, of Catskill, was killed by the cars near the 
West Shore bridge. 

Barns of John E. Overbaugh at Catskill destroyed by fire. 

The Rev. William S. Winans died at Catskill, aged 87 years. 

Gustav Schlenker, of Catskill, killed by a live wire near the 
Holdridge quarries. 

Maria S. Doane, of Catskill, died at the age of 98 years. 

Democrats carried Greene county for Patrie, assembly; Branch, 
coroner, and elected eight supervisors. 

John Van Wie, of Athens, killed by a trolley car in New York. 

Felix Moroffski fell down stairs at Coxsackie and broke his neck. 

Greene County Bar Association held banquet at the Saulpaugh. 

New York and Hudson Steamboat Co. property burned in a $200,- 
000 fire at Hudson. 

Mrs. Bert Howard died at Tannersville, following an accident in 
which her scalp was torn off. Seventy operations for engrafting skin 
failed to save her life. 

Last $10,000 of Greene county bonds paid off. 

CHRONOLOGY 1912. 

Mrs. Chauncey Goodwin died at Palenville at the age of 84 years. 

Hiram Case died at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Clarence E. 
Bloodgood, in Catskill, at the age of 92 years. He was the last of a 
family of fourteen children. 

Edward Broussau, a former resident of Smith's Landing, died at 
the age of 92 years. 

Residence of William L. DuBois in Catskill destroyed by fire. 
Supervisors for 1912-13: H. Clay Ferris, Ashland; Elmore Mackey, 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Athens; Floyd F. Jones, Cairo; J. Henry Deane, Catskill; Dayton B. 
Smith, Coxsackie; Almeron Moore, Durham; Truman I. Ingalls, Green- 
ville; Wallace K. Crosby, Halcott; Edgar B. Goslee, Hunter. Frederick 
M. Goslee, Jewett; John Kelly, Lexington; Henry J. Miller, New Balti- 
more; Elmer Kreiger, Prattsville; and Dr. Sidney L. Ford, Windham. 

Edward J. Ashley f,aith of Mrs. L Wheeler Brandow, of Catskill, 
died at the age of 75 years. Former resident of Catskill and chief of 
the fire department. 

Mrs. Ezra P. Pratt died suddenly at Oak Hill at the age of 79 years. 

William H. Hayes, a civil war veteran, died at Cairo, 68 years. 

Justice Samuel Edwards died at Hudson, aged 72 years. 

Mary Whiting, aformer resident of Athens, burned to death at 
Chicago. 

Eugene Van Loan, a prominent resident of Athens, died at the 
age of 69 years. 

Augustus Post died at his home in Catskill at the age of 81 years. 
Was formerly in the furniture business with Dr. J. A. Deane. 

Joe Zebratis drowned in the river at Coxsackie. 

B. F. Bogardus, a Coxsackie farmer, hanged himself. 

Frank Fruger, of Leeds, committed suicide with a shotgun. 

Michael Gavigan, of Catskill, suffocated to death in a hot house 
at Newburgh. 

Mrs. Sarah Abrams, of Coxsackie, aged 85 years, burned to death. 

Justice Rudd presided at April term of Supreme Court. 

Henry T. Hotaling died at Coxsackie at the age of 94 years. 

Dana Simpson, a Coxsackie farmer, committed suicide by hanging. 

William K. Thompson, a war veteran, died at his home in Cats- 
kill at the age of 83 years. 

Howard Sanderson, formerly of Athens, died at Milwaukee, at 
the age of 76 years. 

Boarding house of Joseph Carnack, Coxsackie, destroyed by fire. 
Loss $6,000. 

Mrs. William Jordan, of Prattsville, dropped dead. 

John Rogers, a Catskill farmer, dropped dead. 

Charles R. Polo drowned at Green lake. 

Farm house and barn of Dirk Schmidt at Palenville destroyed by 
fire. 

Body of Miss Dorcas Snodgrass found in DuBois creek at Catskill. 
Murder suspected and an investigation was made by District Attorney 
Howard C. Wilbur. 

Residence of Edward Win at Tannersville burned. 

Shady Glen House at Durham destroyed by fire. 85 guests nar- 
rowly escaped with their lives. 

William G. Alcott, employed on the steamer Ursula, fell over- 
board at Hudson and was drowned. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTt. 



Charles Faubel drowned while in swimming in Austin's Glen at 
Catskill. 

The Rev. Frazer Metzger, a former Catskill minister got big vote 
for governor of Vermont, making it necessary for the legislature to 
appoint a governor. 

John E. Newkirk dropped dead in Leeds. 
John Henderson, aged 75, died at Catskill. 
Arthur Reed committed suicide at Haines Falls. 
Dr. Geo. C. Gulick, former Catskillian, died in New York of cancer. 
Dr. DeSilva, of New York city, located in Catskill. 
Jeremiah M. Day dropped dead at Green's Lake. 
Remains of Robert DuBois found in Catskill creek. 
Remains of Ruth Hellmud found in river at Coxsackie, by Lewis 
Vogel, of Catskill. 

Lyman M. Donald, a prisoner in the jail at Schoharie, elopeki with 
the daughter of Sheriff Dutton, and was married to him by Rev. Kerr. 
Harriet T. Penfleld, prominent Catskillian, died after brief illness 
at her home in Catskill. 

Barn on the Nelson place at New Baltimore destroyed by fire. 
Ezra P. Pratt, of Oak Hill, dropped dead at Watertown, N. Y., 
where he had gone to attend a convention. He was SO years of age. 
For 50 years he was an elder of the Durham Presbyterian church. 
Senator William P. Fiero passed away at his home in New York. 
Democrats elect Josiah C. Tallmadge, judge; J. Lewis Patrie, 
assemblyman; Elmore Mackey, sheriff; Geo. B. Van Valkenburgh, 
county clerk; Ira T. Tolley, county sup't; Dr. Van Hoesen, coroner. 
Judge Tallmadge withwith oppositoin. Majorities 1,000 to 1,600. 

Catskill Cement Company's plant damaged to the extent of $20,000 
by fire. 

Justice Cochrane presided over November term of Supreme court. 
Wilson for president carried Greene county by 932 votes. Mackey 
for sheriff, 2960. 

Attorney F. H. Osborn won remarkable case in Supreme Court in 
which it was shown like an Argosy story that defendant had set fire 
to his boat for the purpose of getting insurance money. He was 
against Howard Chipp, of Albany, and what looked like' a hopeless 
case. He let the prosecution prove too much for their own welfare. 
Charles McMenamy, of Catskill, died of cancer. 
Charlotte Westland, of Tannersville, committed suicide by jump- 
ing from the Manhattan bridge in New York. 

Thomas J. O'Hara and Charles E. Nichols appointed elections 
commissioners for Greene county. 

Michael Taylor, a boiler maker burned so badly at Alsen that he 
died. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY, 



CHRONOLOGY 1913. 

Stores of Lysle Nelson and Stephen Hitchcock at NeKv Baltimore 
destroyed by fire. 

Adelbert E. Dunham, of Spruceton, cutting off the butt of a tree 
that had blown down was crushed to death underneath the stump 
when the main part had bejen cut off and the stump snapped back 
into the hole in the ground. 

Gilbert Greene, of Hunter, suffering from cancer, hid in a cave 
and then took carbolic acid, causing his death. 

Charles Smith, of Rouse & Smith, passed away after short illness 
at his home in Catskill. 

Charles A. Beach, president C. M. R. R., died suddenly of apoplexy. 

Stephen Vining, an eccentric Windham teamster, found dead by 
the highway. 

William H. Henderson, former trustee of Catskill, died of blood 
poisoning following an injury to his little finger. 

George H. Bump found dead in bed at his home in Catskill. 

Cassius Simpson, of South Cairo, killed by a fall from his wagon 
at Leeds. 

Ice house and coal sheds of Raymond Smith at Catskill destroyed 
by fire. Loss $15,000. 

Judge Chester presided at February term of Supreme Court. 

Barn and stables of William Perry at West Coxsackie destroyed 
by fire. 

J. A. Betts and W. W. Rider made trip to Panama. 

The two sons of Andrew Rosenburgh of Coxsackie, were drowned 
wliile out fishing on . Snday with their father. 

Athens Knitting Company goes bankrupt. 

Truman I. Smith committed suicide at his home in Catskill. 

John T. Heath passes away at his home in Catskill, aged 70 years. 

Zobles T. Cater, of Catskill, plunged into the Catskill creek and 
saved the life of little Jimmie Smith. 

John H. Cornell died at Catskill, aged 74 years. 

Gilbert Goes, aged 85 years, committed suicide at Hunter, taking 
laudanum. 

Assemblyman Patrie introduces bill to pave West Main street, 
Catskill, which passed and was signed by the governor. Paving laid 
by the Catskill Construction Company. 

Nathan Richards, of South Cairo, killed by the cars at Athens. 

Alexander Wilbur, prominent Catskillian, died suddenly at the 
age of 69 years. 

$10,000 fire on dock at Coxsackie. 

Frederick T. Beach died suddenly at his home in Catskill, 
32 



DteAR OLt> GRE3ENE COUNtY. 



Ashes of George Howland, of Athens, scattered at sea. He died 
at Geonoa.. Worth $1,000,000. 

Patsey Wiweke killed in accident at the Cementon crossing. 

Hudson Valley Firemen's Convention held at Catskill. There were 
in the parade 60 flre companies and brass bands. 

Famous old Simmons house in Jefferson destroyed by fire. 

Residence of Oscar Showers at Onteora Park destroyed by fire. 

Boarding house of F. W. Cole near Coxsackie destroyed by fire. 

Big fire on Main stre,et, Catskill, destroying Horton Brothers' sale 
stables. Person's shop, barns of Brandow, Horton, Yanonni, Hay and 
Linzey, Fontnella's house, Tynan's shop, M. E. church sheds, on July 
10th. On the Sunday morning following the Boston store was destroy- 
ed and the building of Amost Post in which was the Smith store and 
Daily Mail ofl^ce, and the Church store were gutted by fire;. On Mon- 
day the barn of George Bates on Water street was burned. Loss 
$200,000. 

Joseph Butler, of Athens, committed suicide by drowning. Remains 
recovered at Catskill. 

Residence of Perry Tompkins at Leeds destroyed by fire. 

Louis Baucusco murdered at Athens. Sheriff Mackey arrested 
the murderer, Joe Vots. 

John Seiers, a Catskill darkey, killed by the cars at the Athens 
crossing. 

Cornelius DuBois, war veteran, died at Palenville. 

Residence of Elmer Dederick at Athens destroyed by fire. 

West Shore freight house at Coxsackie, destroyed by fire. Loss 
$30,000. 

Herbert Lanfare drowned in the river at Athens. 

Greene County Sunday School convention held at Athens. 

E. S. Mulford found dead in bed at his home in Catskill. 

Gov William Sulzer impeached by vote of 51 to 1. 

Bank President James P. Philip presents Catskill with park at the 
head of Main street, which has been killed up by the village and 
called Pruyn Park. 

Casper Clough, aged 94 years, died at Coxsackie. 

Judson A. Betts elected county treasuer; Howard C. Wilbur, dis- 
trict attorney; George H. Chase, member of assembly. 

Supervisors elected — Jones, Cairo; Huyck, Durham; Smith, Cox- 
sackie; Ferris. Ashland, Republicans; Nichols, Athens; Deane. Cats- 
kill; Hoose, Greenville; Seifferth, Hunter; Baldwin, New Baltimore; 
Krieger, Prattsville, Roraback, Lexington; Goslee, Jewett, Ford, Wind- 
ham, Democrats. 

Justice Cochrane presided at November term of Supreme Court. 

John Rhume, a Coxsackie lad, out hunting skunks, killed when 
hlB companion accidentally dropped his gun which went off. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Lumber yard of J. H. Goodwin at Coxsackie destroyed by fire. 
LiOBB JIO.OOO. 

Jennings Hotel at Cairo destroyed by fire. Loss ?15,000. 
Nelson murder trial at Catskill resulted in verdict of guilty. 
Joseph Bosco tried for murder. Wm. E. Thorpe for defendant. 

CHRONOLOGY 1914. 

Henry Dixon killed at Coxsackie by collapse of shed. 

Residence of Mary Phelan, Phelan Hall and residence of Paul 
Lynan, at Leeds, burned. 

St. Anthony's School, Catskill, burned January 14th. 

Hamilton Smith, of Athens, died from exposure. 

Twin Pine House, Cairo, burned. Loss $10,000. 

James Ott, of Tannersville, blew his head off with gun. 

Charles J. Smith crushed to death on Storm King. 

H. Leroy Austin, of Catskill, gets verdict of $1,700,000 for New 
York City Railroad. 

Albert Van Hoesen, of Catskill, committed suicide. 

Several men killed in accident at logging camp at Haines Falls. 

Frank Freeman, of Coxsackie, drowned while in swimming. 

Former Sheriff Hardy Stewart died at Athens. 

Abram Lewis, of Catskill, killed by kick of his horse. 

Paul Deyo committed suicide at Hunter. 

Cyrus E. Bloodgood, former county clerk, died at Catskill Aug. 10. 

Floyd Overbaugh and Harry Rose killed in motorcycle accident 
at Alsen. 

Worthy ToUey, of Athens .shot and killed Leroy Hallenbeck. Tried 
ai'.d found guilty of murder in the first degree. Sentenced to be 
electrocuted. Sentence appealed. 

James Reardon killed in automobile accident at Windham. 

Mrs. Charles Crohl killed in automobile accident near Catskill. 

Tony Canape, a Catskill child, burned to death while playing with 
matches. 

George Mason dropped dead in Catskill. 

George Hawver, of Law^renceville, cut by buzz saw so badly that 
hr died a few days later. 

Smith House badly damaged by fire. 

CHRONOLOGY 1915 TO JULY FIRST. 

Great revival in Catskill. 

Howard Wilcox died suddenly of heart disease. 
Peter Welsh died suddenly at his home in Catskill. 
John D. Smith, former postmaster and founder of Daily Mail, died 
suddenly at his home in Catskill. 

Omar Hotaling, of New Baltimore, murdered at Highland. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



Catskill Mountain Ry. depot at Haines Falls destroyed by fire. 

Residence of T. J. Nolte at Cairo destroyed by fire. Loss $7000. 

John Black sentenced to Dannemora prison for the murder of 
Pardy Shoemaker at Lexington. 

Receivers appointed for Catskill Mt. Ry. 

Ruth Hammer and Ida Beach, of Catskill, murdered by Henry 
Long, of Albany, a gardner in the employ of Henry Hansen. He shot 
the girls while they were out gathering wild flowers and then com- 
mitted suicide. 

Residence of Nicholas Worrell, valued at .$50,000, burned at 
Onteora Park. 

Peter Saxe, a war veteran, hung himself in a barn near Cairo. 

Oscar Ford, of Tannersville, committeed suicide by shooting. 

Eagles Nest, summer residence of Frederick Buckinburger near 
Catskill, destroyed by fire. 

Nicholas Lauria, proprietor of Salisbury House, Catskill, died 
suddenly. 




Michael Ciniorelli's ]\Iotorcycle Ice Boat. 



The illustration above shows the novel and ingenious ice craft 
constructed bj^ Michael Cimorelli, the Catskill sporting goods dealer 
in his repairs department. Cralt made over 60 miles per hour. 



DEAR OLD GREENE COUNTY. 



FRATERNAL AND OTHER CRGANIZATIONS. 

Catskill Camp. Modern Woodmen of America. 

Catskill Chamber of Commerce; Hon. Frank S. Decker, president. 

Catskill Y. M. C. A. 

Catskill Fish and Game Club. 

Catskill Gun Club; Wm. Schubert, president. 

Catskill Hive, Lady Maccabees; Commander Mrs. Luella Brandow. 

Greene County Agricultural Society, of Cairo, organized 1819. 
Still prosperous. 

Greene County Bible Society; organied 1815 by Rev. David 
Porter of Catskill. Rev. C. G. Hazard, of Catskill, President. 

Greene County Sunday School Association; Rev. Maurice R. 
Hamm, Catskill, president. Organized 1883. 

Deutcher Untersteutungs Verein, Catskill. 

Greene County Medical Society organized early in 1806, and has 
been several times reorganized. It is still actively engaged in medical 
research and prosperous. Dr. Thomas O'Hara Croswell was the first 
president of the organization. The present officers are: Dr. Charles 
P. McCabe, of Greenville, president; Dr. Geo. L. Branch, of Catskill, 
vice-president; Dr. C. E. Willard, of Catskill, treasurer, and Dr. Robert 
Selden, of Catskill, secretary. 

Hendrick Hudson Lodge, I. O. O. F., was organized in 1846, at 
Catskill, and is still a very prosperous organization. 

Holy Name Society, St. Patrick's church, Catskill. 

Improved Order of Red Men, Athabasca Tribe, 2551, Catskill. 

L. C. B. A. of Catskill; President Mrs. P. Dewitt Hitchcock. 

Protected Home Circle, 311; President, Seth T. Cole, of Catskill. 

Knights of Columbus, Catskill. 

Laurel Lodge, A. O. U. W., Catskill. 

Ladies' Catholic Benevolent Association, St. Patrick's church. 

Malaeska Lodge, K. of P., was organized in 1873 and is still 
prosperous. 

Onteora Council Royal Arcanum; Regent Robert Stewart, Catskill. 
Prattsville Agricultural Society; organized 1882. 



h^ 


M 



Plant of the Alsen Cement Company. 
One of the largest cement plants in the country, Located at A.lsen, 
i n the town of Catskill. 



^ \ 







^llllli 




P. Tremaine Loud, Proprietor 
Catskill Landing CATSKILL, N. Y. 

EUROPEAN PLAN 



Our new "DAYLIGHT STORE," is the most modern, 
up-to-date Hardware Store along the Hudson River with Three 
Stories and Basement, designed and built for our business, with 
Special equipment throughout, we are prepared to give you the 
best possible service. 

We carry a very complete stock of SHELF and HEAVY 
HARDWARE, BUILDERS HARDWARE, FARM MACHINERY, 
HOUSE FURNISHING GOODS of all kinds, ROOFING, FARM 
and LAWN FENCING, TIN WARE, PLUMBING SUPPLIES, 
MECHANICS TOOLS, PAINT and VARNISH, WHITE LEAD, 
OIL, GLASS, etc. 

We are prepared to furnish estimates for WATER SUPPLY 
INSTALLATION, HEATING SYSTEMS, and SANITARY 
PLUMBING. 

CATSKILL HARDWARE COMPANY, INC. 

(the store that saves you money.) 

437 Main St. Catskill, N. Y. Telephone 24. 



We carry a very complete stock of all kinds of BUILDING 
MATERIAL, LUMBER, LATH, SHINGLES, BUILDERS 
HARDWARE, PAINTS, OIL and VARNISHES, PORTLAND 
CEMENT, LIME, PLASTERING MATERIALS, PLASTER 
BOARD, INTERIOR TRIM, SASH, DOORS, BLINDS, etc. 

We have the only PLANING MILL and DRY KILNS in 
CJreene County. Kihi Dried Finishing Luml)er on hand at all 
times. Fine Hardwood Floorings a Specialty. 

Estimates furnished for any kind of Contract Work at any 
point. 

CATSKILL SUPPLY COMPANY. 

62 Water St., Catskill, N. Y. Telephone 66. 



SUPREME COURT TERMS. 

GREENE COUNTY TRIAL, TERMS, 1915. 

Third Monday in February Chester 

Second Monday in April Hasbrouck 

Second Monday in November Cochrane 

SPECIAL TERMS. 

First Saturday every month except July and Aug., Kingston Hasbrouck 
Second Saturday every month except July and Aug., Albany . . Chester 
Third Saturday every month except July and Aug., Hudson . Cochrane 
Fourth Saturday every month except July and Aug., Albany .... Rudd 

Fourth Saturday of July, at Albany Hasbrouck 

Fifth Saturday of January ,at Albany Rudd 

Fifth Saturday of May. at Albany Cochrane 

Fifth Saturday of July, at Albany Hasbrouck 

Fifth Saturday of October, at Albany Chester 

Special terms are open for ex parte business at Judge's Chambers 
in Albany, Kingston and Hudson whenever a Justice is present. 

Special Terms will be held in connection with Trial Terms, subject 
to limitations of Rule 38, but said limitations do not apply to Trial 
Terms held in Rensselaer County. 

Equity causes may be noted for trial in the county of their venue 
at any Special Term held by a Justice resident in such county. 



APPELLATE DIVISION. 



First Tuesday of January, in its Court Rooms on the corner of State 

and Chapel streets, in the City of Albany. 
First Tuesday of March, in the said rooms in the City of Albany. 
First Tuesday of May, in its said rooms in the City of Albany. 

Second Tuesday of September, in Town Hall at Saratoga Springs. 
Second Tuesday of November, in its said rooms in City of Albany. 



COUNTY COURT TERMS. 

Second Monday of May and December, at 2 o'clock p. m., at the 
Court House in the Village of Catskill, N. Y. 

Second Tuesday of each month, except May, August and Decem- 
ber, at 10 o'clock a. m. at the Chambers of the County Judge, in the 
Court House in the Village of Catskill aforesaid. 

A Trial Jury will be summoned to attend the terms appointed to 
be held on the second Monday of May and the second Monday of 
December No Grand Jury will be drawn to attend any of the above 
appointed terms. 



TESTS EVERY HOUR 
KEEP:tePflA^STROHG 



'VJX The strength of Portland Cement 
JT^ depends upon the quality of the raw ^ 
material, the formula and the care 

used in the making. It must be mixed right, ground right, 
and burned right, and then properly aged before shipment. 
In the six great ALPHA plants, exactness is the first rule. 
Chemists test ALPHA every hour, day and night. They see that 
the mixtures are alike every time^ meeting the ALPHA formula 
founded on 23 years' experience. They reject instantly all defective 
material ; they guard the strength and fineness of the product, and 
insure uniformity of setting time. This unusual watchfulness makes 



ALPHA 



THE GUARANTEED 
PORTLAND 



CEMENT 



stronger, finer, and more uniform than cheaper 
Portland cements. With ALPHA, quality, 
not quantity, is the watchword. ALPHA 
is warranted to more than meet the United 
States Government's standard. 

Because every ounce is pure, live and 



active, the binding power of ALPHA is 
unusual ; it goes further than cheaper cements 
and hence it is more economical. 

You may be offe.ed substitutes, but insist 
on ALPHA and be sure. Portland is the 
kind; ALPHA the name to remember. 



112-Page Concrete Farm Book Sent FREE 

Tells how to make scores of farm improvements with ALPHA, the Guaranteed 
Cement. Reeular price 25 cents. Sent free if you mention this publication 
and tell us %vhat you plan to build. 

ALPHA PORTLAND CEMENT COMPANY gfriccl'Easton, Pa. 



SPECIFY ALPHA .ANPaei,S/^5<?£: 



jul