(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of biography of New York, a life record of men and women whose sterling character and energy and industry have made them preëminent in their own and many other states"

974.7 '^• 

v.e" 

1233359 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 




1833 01105 6261 



Encyclopedia of Biography 



OF 



NEW YORK 



A Life Record of Men and Women Whose Sterling Character and Energy and 

Industry Have Made Them Preeminent in Their Own 

and Many Other States 



^ 



CHARLES ELLIOTT FTTCH. L. H. D. 

Lawyer, Journalist, Educator; Editor and Contributor to Many Newspapers 

and Magazines; ex-Regent New York University; Supervisor 

Federal Census (N. Y.) 1880; Secretary New 

York Constitutional Convention, 1894 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

INCORPORATED 

BOSTON NEW YORK CHICAGO 

1925 



ADVISORY 



§ ANDREW D. WHITE. LL. D., D. C. L... 

President Cornell University, 1867-85; United 
States Ambassador to Germany, 1897-1902; 
United States Minister to Russia, 1892-94: Re- 
gent Smithsonian; President American Histori- 
cal Association, 1884-85, etc., etc.; author many 
historical works. 



5 J. BLOAT FASSETT. LL. D., 



President. 1887-90-91 J; Chairman Republican 
National Convention, 18S8-92; Representative 
Congress, 1905-11; Proprietor Elmira "Daily 



Advertiser," 1879-96. 



SHERMAN WILLIAMS, Ph. D., 



Chief School Library Division, New York State 
Education Department; President New York 
State Historical Association; author many State 
historical works. 



EDWIN A. MERRITT, 

Quartermaster-General of New York, 1865-69; 
Delegate New York Constitutional Convention, 
1867; Collector Port of New York. 1867; United 
States Consul, London. 1881-85; President Board 
of Trustees St. Lawrence University; Trustee 
Potsdam State Normal School. 



CHARLES 



SYMONDS, 



ALBERT VANDER VEER, M. D., LL. D., 

Member of the Board of Regents of the Univer- 
sity of the State of New York, 1895 ; Vice 

Chancellor, 1915-21: Chancellor. 1921 ; Pro- 



Consulting Surgeon, Albany Hospital; St. Peter's 
Hospital, Albany, 1873-1903; President Ameri- 
can Surgical Association, 1906; President Ameri- 
can Medical Association, 1916: Author "Surgery 
and Military Surgery," Encyclopedia Americana. 
1920. and other contributions on medical and 
surgical subjects. 

DE ALVA S. ALEXANDER, LL. D., 

Buffalo; Editor "Daily Gazette," Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, 1871-74; Auditor United States Treas- 
ury, 1887; United States District Attorney, 
Northern District of New York. 1889-93; Repre- 
sentative in Congress, 1897-1911; author of 
"Political History of the State of New York," 
3 vols. 

CHARLES R. SKINNER. LL. D., 

Representative in Congress, 1881-85; State Su- 
perintendent of Public Instruction, 1895-1904; 
President National Educational Association, 
1897; Editor "Brightside." 



Member of New York Genealogical and Bio- 
graphical Society, Long Island Historical So- 
ciety, and New England Historic-Genealogical 



A. JUDD NORTHRUP, LL. D.. 

United States Commissioner; Judge Onondaga 
County, 1892-94; Commissioner to Revise the 
Statutes and Code of New York, 1895-1901; 
President Onondaga Historical Association; 
Author "The Judiciary of New York" in "Polit- 
ical History of New York from Cleveland to 
Hughes," 1911; author various literary and his- 
torical addresses. 

5 REV. WALTON WESLEY BATTERSHALL , D. D., 
Rector Emeritus St. Peter's Protestant Episco- 
pal Church of Albany, N. Y. 

i WILLIAM H. SAMSON. 

Managing Editor Rochester "Post-Express," 
1896-1911; President Rochester Historical So- 
ciety, 1904-06: Vice-President Anderson Art 
Galleries; Editor "Private Journal of Aaron 
Burr," etc.; author many historical monographs. 

5 HON. WILLIAM E. WERNER, 

Rochester; County Judge of Monroe County, 
1894; Justice Supreme Court of New York, 1895- 
1900; Associate Judge Court of Appeals of New 
York (terms) 1900-18. 

§ CHARLES ANDREWS. LL. D., 

Mayor of Syracuse, 1861-62-68; Delegate-at- 
Large New York Constitutional Convention, 
1867; Judge New York Court of Appeals, 1870- 
1897; Chief Judge, 1881-84, 1893-97. 

5 ELLIS H. ROBERTS, LL. D., 

Editor Utlca "Herald"; Representative in Con- 
gress; Treasurer United States; Author "The 
Planting and Growth of the Empire State. " 2 
vols., in "American Commonwealth" series; also 
various historical and financial addresses. 



WILLIAM H. MACE, Ph. D., 

Professor of History and Political Science, Syra- 
cuse University: University Extension Lecturer 
on American History; Member American His- 
torical Association; Author of "Heroic Leaders 
in American History"; etc., etc. 

§ CHARLES ELLIOTT FITCH, L. H. D.. 

Editor-in-Chief Syracuse "Daily Standard," 
1866-73; Rochester "Democrat and Chronicle." 
1873-90; State Lecturer New York Department 
of Education. 1895-1904: Chief of Division of 
School Libraries, 1906-12. 

HENRY W. HILL, LL. D., 

Assemblyman, State Senator, New York; Dele- 
gate Constitutional Convention of New York, 
1894; Chairman Champlain Commission; au- 
thor of many authoritative contributions on 
the canal history of the State. 

5 JAMES A. HOLDEN, B. A., 

State Historian; Member American Historical 
Association: Trustee New York State Historical 
Association: author of various monographs on 
historical subjects. 

DAVID JAYNE HILL, LL. D., 

Educator, Diplomat, Historian; ex-President 
University of Rochester; First Assistant Secre- 
tary of State, United States, 1898-1903; Ambas- 
sador to Germany, 1908-11; Delegate to The 
Hague Peace Conference, 1907; author of many 
works of Biography, History and Diplomacy. 

!i WII^LIAM S. PELLETREAU. A. M., 

Member of New York Historical Society and 
Suffolk County Historical Society; Author of 
"History of Long Island," "Old New York 
Houses." "Early Long Island Wills," etc. 



SDied Dnrinc: Publication 



1233359 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 





^."^u^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HUGHES. Charles Evans, 

Secretary of State. 

The American Secretary of State for 
Foreign Affairs, the Hon. Charles Evans 
Hughes, who is regarded by competent 
judges, irrespective of party or national- 
ity, not only as a great American but as 
one of the world's greatest statesmen, is 
a native of New York State, the son of a 
clergyman, and as far as origin goes em- 
bodies in his personality the best strains 
of American descent, being of mixed 
Welsh, Scotch-Irish and Dutch extrac- 
tion. 

He commenced his education in the 
public schools of New York City, and 
was fitted for college by his father. At 
the age of eleven he entered the Madison 
(now Colgate) University, transferring 
two years later to Brown University, 
from which he was graduated in 1881, 
receiving the Bachelor of Arts degree 
with honors — winning the prize in Eng- 
lish literature and that of general attain- 
ment during his course, and delivering the 
class oration; in 1884 he received from 
his alma mater the Master of Arts degree. 
During 1881-82 he taught Greek and 
mathematics in the Delaware Academy, 
at Delhi, New York, and in the latter 
years entered the Columbia Law School, 
also studying in the offices of the United 
States District Attorney in New York, 
and in those of Chamberlain, Carter & 
Hornblower. He received his diploma 
from the law school in 1884, and was ad- 
mitted at once to the bar. From 1884 
until 1887 he held a prize fellowship at 
Columbia University. 

On being admitted to the bar he be- 



came a clerk in the office of his former 
preceptors. Chamberlain, Carter & Horn- 
blower, remaining as such until 1888, 
when he became a member of the firm of 
Carter, Hughes, Cravath, afterwards. 
Carter, Hughes & Dwight. He served 
Cornell University as professor of law 
in 1891-93, and as special lecturer on gen- 
eral assignments and bankruptcy, 1893- 
1900. In 1905-06 he was counsel for the 
Armstrong Insurance Commission of the 
New York Legislature, and special assist- 
ant to the United States Attorney General 
in the coal investigations. 

The public career of the Secretary of 
State may be dated from 1905, when he 
received the Republican nomination for 
the mayoralty of New York City, but 
which he declined. In 1906 he was elected 
Governor of the State of New York, and 
was re-elected in 1908, resigning in Sep- 
tember, 1910, to take his seat as associate 
justice of the United States Supreme 
Court under appointment of President 
Taft. As Governor he steadfastly ad- 
hered to "the highest administrative 
standards" and effected many salutary 
changes in relation to railroads, street 
railways, gas and electrical companies. 
He made strenuous efforts to procure 
legislation providing for a system of 
direct nominations for elective offices, in 
which he was several times defeated. He 
succeeded, however, in securing the pas- 
sage of an act for the enforcement of the 
constitutional prohibition of race track 
gambling, but only after long delay and 
in the face of bitter opposition. In this 
last appeal to the Legislature, at the 
session in which the measure was passed, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he said: "The issue has been clearly- 
presented whether the interests of those 
who wish to maintain gambling privileges 
at race tracks shall be considered para- 
mount to the Constitution of the State. 
It is an issue which has been clearly de- 
fined and is fully appreciated by the 
people. It cannot be obscured by discus- 
sion of the propensities of human nature. 
Race track gambling exists, not because 
it is hidden or elusive but as an organized 
business shielded by legislative dis- 
crimination. The law which professes 
to prohibit it, in fact protects it." 

Early in his administration he under- 
stood certain reforms in the management 
and affairs of the Insurance Department, 
and in which he persisted until he left 
his high office. He brought about the 
creation of a State Commission to which 
was specially committed the construction 
and maintenance of public roads and 
which took this labor away from the 
State Engineer who was over-employed 
in the engineering operations on the great 
barge canal, and he subsequently secured 
the establishment of a Department of 
Highways. He also took a persistent and 
determined interest in the preservation 
of forest domain, which included a one 
thousand acre tract given by Hon. William 
P. Letchworth in Wyoming and Living- 
ston counties ; a twenty-five acre tract at 
Crown Point, containing the ruins of 
Fort Frederic and Fort Amherst, from 
Whiterbee, Sherman & Company; and a 
ten thousand acre tract in Orange and 
Rockland counties, given by Mary W. 
Harriman, in accordance with the wishes 
of her deceased husband, Edward H. 
Harriman. Until he left his chair. Gover- 
nor Hughes industriously and persistent- 
ly followed up a policy of improvement 
and retrenchment; also steadily insisting 
upon honesty and efficiency in all of the 



various departments of the State govern- 
ment. 

Early in 1916 it became evident that a 
very large element in the Republican 
Party looked upon him as its most desir- 
able candidate for the presidential nomi- 
ation. Seated, as he was, upon the bench 
of the Supreme Court of the United 
States, his position was most delicate. He 
maintained a dignified silence, and even 
the close friends who presented his name 
in the convention, could give no assurance 
that he would accept, and he only broke 
his silence when his nomination was 
actually made, when he at once forwarded 
to President Woodrow Wilson his resig- 
nation as an associate Justice of the 
Supreme Court, and which was instantly 
accepted. He received two hundred and 
fifty-four electoral votes for the Presi- 
dency, November 7, 1916, as against two 
hundred and seventy-seven for Woodrow 
Wilson, Democrat. 

From 1917 to 1921 he was a member of 
the law firm, Hughes, Rounds, Schurman 
& Dwight, New York City. Since March 
4, 1921, he was Secretary of State in the 
Cabinet of President Warren G. Harding. 
He acted as commissioner plenipotentiary 
for the United States in the International 
Conference on the Limitation of Arma- 
ments, which met at Washington, on 
November 12, 1921, and served as chair- 
man of the same. 

Hon. Charles E. Hughes is Secretary 
of State in the Cabinet of President Cal- 
vin E. Coolidge and enjoys an interna- 
tional prestige in all countries of the 
world such as only the greatest American 
statesman could lay claim to. He is not 
only one of the greatest moral assets in 
the public life of his country, but by mil- 
lions of people outside of America, especi- 
ally in Great Britain and her colonies, is 
regarded as a tower of strength and one 




P,.,L. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the greatest forces among contempo- 
rary leaders for sound, safe and steady 
progress in a world full of contention, 
strife, race and class hatred, and sub- 
verse, revolutionary and destructive tend- 
encies. He is a Fellow of Brown Uni- 
versity, and a trustee of the University 
of Chicago. From 1917 to 1918 he acted 
as chairman of the Draft Appeals Board 
of New York City; special assistant to 
the Attorney General in charge of air- 
craft inquiry, 1918; president of the New 
York State Bar Association, 1917 to 1918 ; 
the Legal Aid Society of New York, 1917 
to 1919; St. David's Society, New York, 

1917 to 1918; Italy American Society, 

1918 to 1919; New York County Lawyers' 
Association, 1919; Fellow of the Ameri- 
can Academy of Arts and Sciences, etc. 
His clubs are the University ; the Union 
League, of which he was president from 
1917 to 1919 ; Century ; Lawyer's ; Brown ; 
Delta Upsilon ; and Nassau Country. 



LOW, Seth, 

Former President of Columbia College, 
Practical Reformer. 

Seth Low, ninth president of Columbia 
College, and a former mayor of New York 
City, was born in Brooklyn, New York, 
January 18, 1850, son of Abiel Abbott and 
Ellen Almira (Dow) Low; the father was 
a prominent merchant in New York City. 

Seth Low attended the Brooklyn Poly- 
technic Institute, and in his sixteenth 
year entered Columbia College and was 
graduated four years later at the head of 
his class. During the last year in college 
he attended lectures in the Columbia 
Law School, but did not complete the 
course, leaving to become a clerk in his 
father's tea importing house. In 1875 he 
was admitted to partnership in the firm, 
and when his father retired in 1879, he 
was among the partners who succeeded 



to the business, which was finally liquid- 
ated in 1888. Meantime he had become 
a member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
in which he soon became useful, frequent- 
ly serving upon important committees, 
and at times delivering addresses which 
commanded attention. 

During this period, he had become in- 
terested in social and economic subjects. 
In 1876 he became a volunteer visitor to 
the poor, in a movement which reformed 
and subsequently abolished the out-door 
relief system in Kings County, and which 
two years later led to the establishment 
of the Bureau of Charities, of which he 
was the first president. In 1880 he was 
president of the Republican Campaign 
Club organized to promote the election of 
Garfield and Arthur, and the conspicuous 
success of that body in swelling the party 
vote brought its president into public 
view as a leader of men. As a result, in 
1881 he was elected mayor of Brooklyn 
on a reform ticket by a most decided 
majority ; and as the result of a highly 
successful administration, marked by 
various salutary reform measures, among 
which was that of competitive examina- 
tion for appointment to municipal posi- 
tions, he was re-elected in 1883, leaving 
the office in 1886 with a national reputa- 
tion as a practical reformer and exponent 
of honest municipal administration. 

After a visit to Europe, he again en- 
gaged in business, in which he continued 
until 1890, when he was called to the 
presidency of Columbia College (of which 
he had been a trustee), in succession to 
Dr. F. A. P. Barnard, and which position 
he occupied with distinguished useful- 
ness until 1901, when he left it to become 
mayor of the City of Greater New York. 
Immediately upon taking up his duties 
as president of Columbia College, he be- 
gan to infuse new life into that venerable 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



institution, and his entire management 
was marked by most wise judgment. In 
1890, his first year, the several instruc- 
tional departments, which had been 
maintained independently of each other, 
were organically united and brought 
under the control of a university council 
created for that specific purpose. In the 
following year the old historic College of 
Physicians and Surgeons was brought 
within the university corporation, and the 
School of Mines was broadened into the 
Schools of Applied Science. By the year 
1892 the university had been so expanded 
that the old buildings had become inade- 
quate, and a change of location was de- 
termined upon. A committee recom- 
mended the site of the old Bloomingdale 
Asylum for the Insane, on Morningside 
Park Heights, valued at more than $2,- 
000,000., which amount was paid by the 
year 1894 — a result in large measure due 
to the persistent interest of President 
Low — and $7,500,000 were expended in 
the erection of the new buildings. The 
efficiency of the university was further 
enhanced by the establishment of the 
Columbia Union Press, for the publica- 
tion of historic and scientific documents, 
after the manner of the Oxford Clarendon 
Press of England. President Low's bene- 
factions during this period were most 
princely. In 1894 he gave to the uni- 
versity the sum of $10,000 for the endow- 
ment of a classical chair in honor of his 
former teacher, Professor Henry Drisler. 
In 1895 he gave $1,000,000 for the erection 
of the new university library ; and in 
recognition of his munificence the trustees 
established twelve university scholar- 
ships for Brooklyn boys, and twelve in 
Barnard College for Brooklyn girls, be- 
sides establishing eight annual university 
scholarships. In 1896 President Low gave 
$10,000 to Barnard College, and $5,000 



to the New York Kindergarten Associa- 
tion. 

He was meantime busied with various 
benevolent and charitable labors. In 1893, 
during the cholera epidemic, he rendered 
useful service as chairman of a committee 
appointed by the New York Chamber of 
Commerce to aid the authorities in pre- 
cautionary measures, and the quarantine 
camp established at Sandy Hook by the 
National Government was named Camp 
Low in his honor. With his brother, 
Abbott Augustus Low, in 1894, he built 
and presented to the mission station of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church in Wu 
Chang, China, a completely equipped 
hospital for the use of the mission, and 
named in memory of their father. 

Mr. Low resigned the presidency of 
Columbia University in 1901, to enter 
upon the duties of mayor of the City of 
Greater New York, which position he 
held for two years, fully sustaining his 
reputation as an executive, governed by 
the highest possible standards. Since 
his retirement from that high office he 
has been busied with personal aflfairs, 
giving a large share of his attention to the 
benevolent and charitable causes which 
have always commanded his interest. As 
a master spirit in the field of social and 
economic science, he has frequently been 
an arbitrator of labor disputes. In 1900 
he succeeded Charles P. Daly, deceased, 
as president of the American Geographi- 
cal Society ; and has also served as presi- 
dent of the Archaeological Institution of 
America; as vice-president of the New 
York Academy of Sciences ; as president 
of the American Asiatic Society; and is 
president of the National Civic Federa- 
tion ; trustee of the Carnegie Institute, 
Washington City ; and is a member of the 
American Philosophical Society, the New 
York Academy of Political Science, and 




^-^t^jL^ ^Cau? ^C^-cT-^T^^-^^^^^' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the American Academy of Political and 
Social Science. He received the degree 
of Doctor of Laws from Amherst College 
in 1889; from the University of the State 
of New York, from Harvard University, 
from the University of Pennsylvania and 
from Trinity College in 1890; from 
Princeton University in 1896; from Yale 
University in 1901 ; and from the Uni- 
versity of Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1910. 

Mr. Low married, December 9, 1880, 
Annie Curtis, daughter of Benjamin R. 
Curtis, of Boston, Massachusetts. 



ROOSEVELT, Theodore, 

Twenty-sixth President of the United 
States. 

It is not an easy task to write truth- 
fully, intelligently and frankly of Theo- 
dore Roosevelt, there being much in his 
character and record difificult to analyze 
or explain. Then again it is hard to 
obtain a true perspective, the nearness of 
the events in which he figured so promi- 
nently not allowing partisanship to abate, 
and calm, cool judgment to reign. No 
man had warmer, truer friends nor more 
bitter, implacable enemies, his positive 
controversial nature both attracting and 
repelling. He was equally pronounced 
in his own likes and dislikes, rewarding 
and punishing without stint. His was 
the soul of controversy, yet men loved 
him who rarely agreed with him, and his 
most obvious faults seemed rather to in- 
crease his popularity with the masses. 
The inconsistencies and quarrels in which 
he was involved were largely temper- 
mental. He did not always reason closely 
but often jumped at conclusions and then 
entered the fray, never doubting the cor- 
rectness of the opinions thus hastily 
arrived at. This was also temperament, 
his being that type of mind which easily 
believes that which it wants to believe. 



He was a powerful advocate for any cause 
to which he lent his voice and influence, 
and his declared position on any public 
question, whether for or against, at once 
crystalized sentiment, and men were for 
or against that measure or course of 
action who hitherto had been apathetic. 
He was a born leader of men and led with 
a rough, unsparing hand. He spoke 
freely his own opinion, yet resented the 
freedom with which the newspapers of 
the country discussed his official doings, 
although no man in American public life 
ever owed so much to the publicity the 
newspapers gave him. His tastes were 
domestic, he thoroughly enjoyed life and 
wasted no time over trivial worries. He 
held the highest ideals of public and pri- 
vate honor, and a public career covering 
thirty-seven years left him without taint 
or stain of dishonor. His was a deeply 
sympathetic nature and he possessed a 
lively sense of humor. He was fond of 
athletics but never greatly excelled, 
boxing being his favorite sport, although 
in that he was greatly handicapped by 
being near sighted. His love for the open 
was a passion from boyhood and to that 
love his strong constitution was due. "As 
a boy in college he was a good student 
but he entered into and enjoyed every 
phase of college life and was popular with 
all. The natural sciences, history and 
political economy were the studies that 
interested him most; he had honorable 
mention in natural history, had a com- 
mencement part and was a member of Phi 
Beta Kappa. He was intense in every- 
thing he did, his occupation for the 
moment was to the exclusion of every- 
thing else. His power of concentration, 
a great gift, was one which contributed 
largely to his ability to accomplish so 
much in so many fields of activity." He 
performed a vast amount of literary labor 
between the years of 1882-1919, his first 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



book "The Naval War of 1812" appearing 
in the first named year. During his term 
as governor of New York he pubHshed 
"The Rough Riders," "The Strenuous 
Life," and the "Life of Oliver Cromwell." 
His versatility was amazing and his repu- 
tation might safely rest upon either his 
literary performance, his public career or 
his contributions to the cause of educa- 
tion through his exploring and hunting 
trips. 

From an old and important family of 
Holland sprang Claes Martinzen Van 
Roosevelt, who in 1654 came to New 
Amsterdam, the first of the name to set- 
tle in the New World. By wife Jannetje 
he had a son from whom descended Theo- 
dore Roosevelt, twenty-sixth president 
of the United States, whose sudden death, 
January 6, 1919, plunged a nation in 
grief. The family early obtained large 
real estate holdings in New York City, 
their lands lying between Pearl, Roose- 
velt and Catherine streets, extending from 
Chatham Street to the East River, the 
tract known originally as Rugers farm. 
Descendants of Claes and Jannetje Roose- 
velt, intermarried with the Schuyler, 
Bogaert, Provost, Van Schaick, DePey- 
ster, Latrobe, Barclay, Van Courtland, 
Lispenard and other equally well known 
Dutch and English families of New York, 
and through these marriages and the com- 
mercial achievement the Roosevelts came 
into great social and business prominence. 
In every generation they represented 
their localities in Colonial and State 
affairs, and Roosevelt is a name as well 
known in the United States as that of 
Washington. In Holland the family 
bore arms : 

Arms — Argent on a mount vert a rose bush with 
three roses proper. 

Crest — Three ostrich feathers per pale gules and 
argent. 

Mollo — Qui plantoTit curabit. 



From Claes Martinzen Van Roosevelt, 
the line of descent to Theodore Roosevelt 
is through the former's fourth child, 
Nicholas Roosevelt, an alderman of New 
York City 1698-1701, and his wife Heytje 
Jans ; their son, Johannes Roosevelt, 
assistant alderman of New York City 
1717-1727, alderman 1730-1733, and his 
wife Heltje Sjverts (also spelled Hyla 
Suerts) ; their son Jacobus Roosevelt and 
his second wife Elenora Thompson ; 
their son Jacobus (2) Roosevelt, who, as 
James L. Roosevelt, served as commis- 
sary during the War of the Revolution, 
and his wife, Mary Van Schaick ; their 
youngest son Cornelius Van Schaick 
Roosevelt, and his wife Margaret Barn- 
hill, a granddaughter of Thomas Potts of 
Pennsylvania, member of the Continental 
Congress; their son Theodore (i) Roose- 
velt and his wife Martha Bullock, of Ros- 
well, Georgia; their son, Theodore (2) 
Roosevelt, to whose memory this review 
is dedicated. 

Cornelius Van Schaick Roosevelt, 
grandfather of Theodore (2), inherited a 
large fortune from his father and grand- 
father, and to this he made substantial 
additions. For many years he was 
engaged in the importation of hardware 
and plate glass ; was one of the founders 
of the Chemical Bank of New York City, 
and one of New York's wealthiest men. 
He established a summer home at Oyster 
Bay, Long Island, called "Tranquility" 
and there his son Theodore (i) Roosevelt 
spent the summer months all through his 
life, the old home also being the home of 
Theodore (2) Roosevelt during his early 
childhood. 

Theodore (i) Roosevelt was born in 
New York City, September 29, 1831, and 
died there February 9, 1878. He became 
a member of the glass importing firm, 
Roosevelt & Company, No. 2 Maiden 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lane, there continuing in business until 
1876, when he established in the banking 
business with his son at No. 32 Pine 
Street, New York. He was a State com- 
missioner of public charities, vice-presi- 
dent of the Union League, and was 
appointed collector of the port of New 
York by President Hayes, but failed of 
confirmation, the senate objecting to him 
on account of his former affiliation with 
an importing business, which some be- 
lieved he retained an interest in. He was 
a most charitable man, abounding in good 
works, but particularly interested in the 
Orthopaedic Hospital in 59th Street, 
New York, the Newsboys' Lodging 
House and the Young Men's Christian 
Association. Theodore (i) Roosevelt 
married Martha Bullock, daughter of 
James and Martha (Oswald) Bullock of 
Roswell, Georgia, and granddaughter of 
Archibald Bullock, first Revolutionary 
governor of Georgia, and Mary de Vaux, 
of Huguenot blood, and a maternal grand- 
daughter of Edward Bellinger, one of the 
Carolina landgraves. Governor Archi- 
bald Bullock was a son of James Bullock, 
who came from Scotland about 1715, a 
blood relation of the Douglass Barton and 
other famed families. He settled in Geor- 
gia, was a member of the Provincial Con- 
gress and held many important positions 
of honor and trust. Martha (Bullock) 
Roosevelt died February 15, 1884, leaving 
four children : Anna, married Capt. W. S. 
Cowles of the United States Navy ; Theo- 
dore (2) of further mention ; Elliott ; 
Corinne, married Douglass (2) Robinson. 
The Roosevelt home was on West 57th 
Street, New York, the summer home 
"Tranquility," Oyster Bay, Long Island. 
Theodore (2) Roosevelt, eldest son of 
Theodore and Martha (Bullock) Roose- 
velt, was born in New York, October 
27, 1858, died suddenly at his home "Saga- 



more Hill," Oyster Bay, Long Island, 
January 6, 1919. His early life was largely 
spent amid the healthful surroundings of 
"Tranquility," once owned by his grand- 
father, and there from a weakly child he 
developed into a wiry, earnest, fearless 
lad, who rode, swam, climbed, rowed and 
jumped, toughening every limb and 
muscle and laying the foundation for the 
great strength which enabled him to lead 
the strenuous life for which destiny was 
preparing him. He was graduated A. B., 
Harvard, class of 1880, and shortly after- 
ward purchased 100 acres of mostly wood 
land at Oyster Bay, which he named 
"Sagamore Hill," a name which had 
then no special significance, but which 
later became the mecca to which all eyes 
turned and where the greatest men of his 
party met to counsel with their greatest 
leader. 

In 1882 Theodore Roosevelt made his 
first appearance in public life as a member 
of the New York Legislature, represent- 
ing the 2ist Assembly district of New 
York. His party was in the minority but 
he displayed strong qualities of leadership 
and was returned in 1883. During that 
session he espoused the cause of State 
civil service reform, and was again 
returned to the Legislature in 1884. As 
chairman of the committee on cities, he 
reported and urged to passage a bill abol- 
ishing fees in the office of the county 
clerk and register, curtailing abuses in 
the surrogate's and sheriff's offices, and 
secured the passage of a bill that deprived 
aldermen of the power to confirm appoint- 
ments to office, and centered in the mayor 
the responsibilities for the administration 
of municipal affairs. He was chairman 
of the New York delegation to the Na- 
tional Republican Convention of 1884, 
which nominated James G. Blaine for the 
presidency, and in 1886 was an independ- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ent candidate for mayor of New York 
City. He received the endorsement of 
the Republican party but was defeated by 
his Democratic opponent, Abram S. 
Hewitt. During the years 1884-86 he 
resided on a ranch in North Dakota, there 
gaining that intimate knowledge of West- 
ern life and ways which he gave to the 
world in "Hunting Trips of a Ranchman," 
which he published in 1885. In May, 
1889, he was appointed United States 
Civil Service Commissioner by President 
Harrison, and until May, 1895, he served 
as president of the board. In that office 
he was most useful, aiding greatly in 
establishing important changes in the 
manner of making appointments and bet- 
tering conditions in the public service. 
In May, 1895, he resigned from the board 
to accept appointment as president of the 
New York Police Board, an office he held 
until 1897. As police commissioner he 
enforced civil service rules in appoint- 
ments and promotions ; stood for a rigid 
enforcement of the excise laws and 
opposed all corrupting influences. In 1897 
he retired from the police board, having 
been appointed assistant secretary of the 
navy under President McKinley. This 
was his first appearance in national public 
life, and he at once made his presence 
felt. Trouble with Spain had long been 
brewing and as assistant secretary, Mr. 
Roosevelt advocated a campaign of pre- 
paredness which was carried out, but in a 
rather feeble manner. He encouraged the 
system of State naval reserve and "made 
many addresses in which he upheld the 
manful necessity of war to compel peace 
and secure justice." When war with 
Spain was inevitable he resigned his 
position as assistant secretary of the navy 
and asked for a commission to organize 
a regiment of cavalry of which his friend. 
Dr. Leonard Wood, (now Major-Gen- 



eral) then an assistant surgeon in the 
United States Army, ranking as captain, 
was to be commissioned colonel. The 
authorities sought to impress him with 
the idea that he would be of greater 
service to his country in connection with 
the naval department, but he replied in 
these words : "The navy department is 
in good order. I have done all I can here. 
There are other men who can carry it on 
as well as I ; but I should be false to my 
ideals, false to the views I have openly 
expressed, if I were to remain here while 
fighting is going on, after urging other 
men to risk their lives for their country." 
The regiment recruited among the ranch- 
men and cowboys of the West, and 
former friends of Mr. Roosevelt in col- 
lege, and in public life, was mustered into 
the United States service as the first 
United States regiment. Volunteer Caval- 
ry, Dr. Leonard Wood, colonel ; Theodore 
Roosevelt, lieutenant-colonel. This regi- 
ment, known as the "Rough Riders," 
particularly distinguished itself at Las 
Animas and San Juan Hill, in Cuba, dur- 
ing the short lived war with Spain, Col- 
onel Wood being made brigadier-general 
July 8, 1898, and major-general Decem- 
ber 7, 1898. Lieutenant-Colonel Roose- 
velt, for gallantry in action at the same 
battles, was promoted colonel in Sep- 
tember, 1898, a title which attached to 
him until the day of his death. A graphic 
account of the charge of the "Rough 
Riders" at San Juan Hill, and Colonel 
Roosevelt's part in the battles is found 
in his own work, "The Rough Riders," 
published in 1899, and in histories of the 
Spanish-American War. After the des- 
truction of the Spanish fleet by the 
American vessels under Admiral Samp- 
son, the city of Santiago, Cuba, surren- 
dered on July 17, and soon afterward the 
American forces were ordered home, their 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



departure being hastened by the famous 
"Round Robin," a circular letter signed 
by the officers serving under General 
Shafter. The justification for that letter 
was the fact that sickness prevaded the 
entire force, less than fifty per cent, being 
fit for work, and yellow fever prevailing, 
chiefly among the Cubans. The Wash- 
ington authorities seemed determined 
that the army should stay in Cuba, but 
the receipt of the "Round Robin" setting 
forth the true conditions of afifairs 
brought about an instant change, and 
within three days the army was ordered 
home. 

Colonel Roosevelt and his "Rough 
Riders" were encamped at Montauk 
Point, Long Island, and the following 
autumn, peace having been declared, he 
resigned his commission, bade his devoted 
regiment farewell and retired to his home, 
"Sagamore Hill," at Oyster Bay." 

With the year 1898 Colonel Roosevelt 
made his entry into political life as a 
recognized party leader, able to dictate 
his own terms, and while the party leader. 
Senator Piatt, was supreme. Colonel 
Roosevelt as the gubernatorial candidate 
accepted the nomination unpledged, save 
to work with all his heart for the cause 
of good government. In November, 1898, 
he was elected governor of New York 
State by a plurality of 18,079, and filled 
honorably and efficiently the high office to 
which he had been chosen. As governor, 
he encouraged wise legislation and car- 
ried through every reform measure to 
which he had pledged himself. He care- 
fully examined every bill laid before him, 
and signed none which were not able to 
undergo the closest scrutiny. His task 
was a most difficult one, for while reform 
was a good thing to administer to the 
opposite party, the State leaders brought 
great pressure to bear upon Governor 



Roosevelt to force him to exempt certain 
places and factions from the application 
of "reform" measures. But he remained 
firm and administered the governor's 
office as a sacred trust, although he risked 
his political future and did make power- 
ful enemies in his own party. His choice 
of public officials was excellent and it was 
his sincere wish that he be reelected in 
order that he might complete the work he 
had so well begun. 

In the year 1900 William McKinley 
was the choice of the Republican party 
to succeed himself in the presidency, the 
only contest being over the vice-presi- 
dency. Owing to his independence and 
vigorous enforcement of party pledges 
Governor Roosevelt had incurred the 
opposition of the State organization, and 
it was deemed necessary to get him out 
of the way and thus prevent his nomina- 
tion for a second term as governor. They 
forced the governors name on the con- 
vention against his very earnest protest, 
but when the name of Theodore Roose- 
velt was once before the convention he 
was nominated for vice-president of the 
United States amid scenes of wildest 
excitement and enthusiasm, something 
very unusual in connection with a vice- 
presidential nomination. Governor Roose- 
velt only accepted the honor after it was 
shown him that his popularity would save 
the electoral votes of half a dozen West- 
ern states, and insure a Republican major- 
ity in Congress. But once he had accepted 
he plunged into the contest with all his 
energy,- and all over the country his voice 
was heard addressing audiences from 
train platforms, in the open air and in 
public halls, or wherever he could find 
people gathered to hear him. He was 
warmly received almost everywhere and 
proved the greatest campaigner William 
J. Bryan had ever met. The result was a 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



great victory for sound money and the 
expansion policy of the first McKinley 
administration. On March 4, 1901, Colo- 
nel Roosevelt took the oath of office and 
was inaugurated vice-president of the 
United States. In his inaugural address 
he said with almost prophetic vision: 

We belong to a young nation already of giant 
strength, yet whose present strength is but a fore- 
cast of the power that is to come. We stand 
supreme in a continent, in a hemisphere. East and 
west we look across the two great oceans toward 
the larger world, life in which, whether we will or 
not, we must take an ever-increasing share and as, 
keen-eyed, we gaze into the coming years, duties 
new and old, rise thick and fast to confront us 
from within and without. There is every reason 
why we should face these duties with a sober 
appreciation alike of their importance and of their 
difficulty. But there is also every reason for 
facing them with high-hearted resolution and with 
eager and confident faith in our capacity to do 
them aright. 

On Friday, September 6, 1901, the 
astounding news was flashed to the world 
that William McKinley, president of the 
United States, had been shot by a fanatic, 
one Czolgosz, while visiting the Pan- 
American Exposition at Buffalo, New 
York. vice-President Roosevelt hastened 
to Buffalo and there was greatly delighted 
with the encouraging news that the 
wound was not necessarily fatal. He 
remained in Buffalo for a few days then 
upon being assured that the danger point 
seemed past went on a hunting trip to the 
Adirondacks. But soon afterward he was 
notified that a change for the worse had 
taken place and he quickly returned to 
Buffalo, but not reaching that city until 
some hours after the presidents death. 
Although at a cabinet meeting held dur- 
ing the forenoon it had been decided that 
Mr. Roosevelt should at once take the 
presidential oath, he positively refused to 
do so until he had paid his respects at 
William McKinley's bier as a private 



citizen, and offered his condolence to the 
members of the family as such. Refusing 
a police escort, he drove to the Milburn 
home paying his respects to the dead 
president, after which he took the oath of 
office and became the twenty-sixth presi- 
dent of the United States. 

With the rise of Theodore Roosevelt 
to the presidency a new political era was 
ushered in. He was of an entirely new 
type, having neither business or profes- 
ional experience, he did not know any- 
thing about the Civil War save the know- 
ledge gained from books and from family 
association North and South, his mother 
being of a family noted in the Confeder- 
acy. The people were ready to follow a 
new leadership and although they were 
far in advance of Congress, their endorse- 
ment of the president brought both legis- 
lative branches into line and the new 
order prospered. "President Roosevelt 
brought to his great task high ideals, 
prodigious industry, an active, educated 
mind, a good deal of political experience 
and an honest desire to do his best." 
Questions dealt with during his adminis- 
tration were : The trusts, the railroads, 
the labor problems, the coal strike of 
1902, some phases of the negro problem 
and foreign relations. The president 
regarded his intervention in the coal 
strike as his most important act in con- 
nection with the labor question. He 
recognized the necessity both of organ- 
ized capital and organized labor under 
proper supervision. 

The corporation has come to stay, just as the 
trade union has come to stay. Each can do and 
has done great good. Each should be favored as 
long as it does good, but each should be sharply 
checked where it acts against law and justice. 

The race question came into promin- 
ence, the discussion being prompted by 
the president's invitation to Booker T. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Washington to dine at the White House, 
and his appointment of Dr. Crum, a negro, 
as collector of the port of Charleston. On 
the other hand, in 1906, he ordered the 
discharge of three companies of colored 
soldiers from the United States army 
because of the shooting-up by some of 
them of Brownsville, Texas. The guilty 
men could not be individually determined 
— there was a "conspiracy of silence" 
among their comrades to protect them — 
and so the president discharged them 
all and said of his action, "If any organi- 
zation of troops, white or black, is guilty 
of similar conduct in the future, I shall 
follow precisely the same course." 

President Roosevelt defined the Monroe 
Doctrine as a "declaration that there must 
be no territorial aggrandizement by any 
non-American power at the expense of 
any American power on American soil." 
He advocated a big navy to enforce our 
position. He stood in favor of the acqui- 
sition of the Philippines and always 
asserted that we occupied the Islands for 
the good we could do there. His foreign 
policy was based upon the simple rule 
that we behave toward other nations as a 
strong and self-respecting man should 
behave toward the other men with whom 
he is brought in contact. Or, as he put it 
in another way, "Speak softly and carry a 
big stick." He always favored prepared- 
ness for war as the best means of secur- 
ing peace, regarding war as something to 
be avoided if possible, and honorable 
peace to be desired above all things. He 
was particularly interested in the navy 
and on one occasion sai<J : 

No fighting ship of the first class should ever be 
laid up save for necessary repairs ; and her crew 
should be kept constantly exercised on the high 
seas, so that she may stand at the highest point of 
perfection. 

It was with this end in view — to keep 
our fleet efficient— that it was sent to the 



Pacific and then around the world. The 
fleet reached Hampton Roads at the con- 
clusion of the 42,000 mile cruise on Febru- 
ary 21, 1909. On the occasion of their 
return Colonel Roosevelt, then an ex- 
president, delivered a speech in which he 
said in part : 

WTien I left the presidency there was not a cloud 
upon the horizon — and one of the reasons why 
there was not a cloud upon the horizon was that 
the American battle fleet had just returned from 
its sixteen months' trip around the world, a trip 
such as no other battle fleet of any power had ever 
taken, which it had not been supposed could be 
taken, and which exercised a greater influence for 
peace than all the peace congresses of the last fifty 
years — with Lowell I must emphatically believe 
that peace is not a gift that tarries long in the 
hands of cowards ; and the fool and the weakling 
are no improvement on the coward. 

In regard to the tarifif he was like most 
college graduates, favorable to "free 
trade." In his "Life of Benton" in 1886, 
he said : 

Free traders are apt to look at the tariff from a 
sentimental standpoint; but it is in reality a purely 
business matter and should be decided solely on 
grounds of expectancy. Political economists have 
pretty generally agreed that protection is vicious 
in theory and harmful in practice; but if the 
majority of the people in interest wish it, and it 
affects only themselves there is no earthly reason 
why they should not be allowed to try the experi- 
ment to their heart's content. 

While president, his position was that 
the question of lowering and raising the 
duties as proposed by the two parties did 
not aproach in importance the trust or 
labor problems so-called. He believed in 
a protective tariff administration under 
a tariff commission and felt that if he 
had opened up the tariff question no good 
would have followed, and that he would 
have played into the hands of those who 
wished the tariff thrown open to discus- 
sion merely to avoid action on matters 
which he regarded as of infinitely greater 
importance. 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Conservation of the Nation's natural 
resources was warmly championed by 
President Roosevelt from the time when, 
as governor of New York, the Adirondack 
forests were under consideration. When 
he became president, Frederick H. New- 
ell and Gifford Pinchot were asked to 
prepare memoranda for his use in writing 
his first message to the Fifty-Seventh 
Congress. In that message he advised 
extensions to the forest reserve and that 
their control be transferred to the Bureau 
of Forestry. He said: 

The water supply itself depends upon the forest. 
In the arid region it is water, not land, which 
measures production. The western half of the 
United States would sustain a population greater 
than that of our whole country to-day if the waters 
that now run to waste were saved and used for 
irrigation. The forest and water problems are per- 
haps the most vital internal questions of the United 
States. 

In March, 1907, he added 16,000,000 
acres to the forest reservation, just before 
signing an act forbidding such reserva- 
tion thereafter, except by Congress itself. 
In speaking of the attacks upon the For- 
est Service and of his act, he said : 

The opponents of the Forest Service turned 
handsprings in their wrath and dire were their 
threats against the Executive; but the threats 
could not be carried out and were really only a 
tribute to the efficiency of our action. 

During his seven and a half years of 
service as president he had in the main 
the support of the Republican House and 
Senate. The following were the prin- 
cipal acts passed : 

The Elkins Anti-Rebate law ; the crea- 
tion of a Department of Commerce and 
Labor ; the creation of a Bureau of Cor- 
porations ; the law authorizing the build- 
ing of the Panama Canal ; the Hepburn 
Bill, amending the Interstate Commerce 
Act ; the Pure Food and Meat Inspection 



laws ; the law creating the Bureau of 
Immigration ; the Employers' Liability 
and Safety Appliance laws ; the law lim- 
, iting the working hours of employees, 
making the government liable for injuries 
to its employees, and forbidding child 
labor in the District of Columbia ; acts 
reforming the consular service, and pro- 
hibiting corporations from contributing 
to campaign funds ; the Emergency Cur- 
rency Law which also provided for the 
appointment of a Monetary Commission. 

The passage of some of these bills was 
attended with considerable friction and 
towards the end of his second term rela- 
tions between the president and Congress 
became somewhat strained. The presi- 
dent was constantly pressing his elabor- 
ate program of legislation. Congress never 
being able to meet his expectations or 
the expectations of the people. Finally 
the legislative body came to feel that its 
efforts were not properly appreciated and 
that the Executive held a place in the 
confidence of the people that rightfully 
belonged to Congress; a condition not 
unknown in our present public life. 

The period covered by President Roose- 
velt's service had been one of industrial 
activity with few exceptions, a period of 
singularly honest and efficient adminis- 
tration of the government and one in 
which the conscience of the people had 
been wonderfully quickened and for this 
the president was largely responsible. 

His administration came to an end 
March 4, 1909, when his successor Wil- 
liam H. Taft was inaugurated. He drove 
to the Capitol with President Taft and 
immediately after the inaugural address 
drove directly to the railway station, a 
private citizen. 

It should be noted that President 
Roosevelt was elected to succeed him- 
self in the presidential office November 8, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1904, by the largest popular majority ever 
accorded a candidate, 2,542,062. 

Perhaps the most conspicuous act of 
his second administration was the offer 
to act as mediator between Russia and 
Japan in 1906, an offer which resulted in 
the ending of war between those coun- 
tries, a treaty of peace following. For 
this he was awarded the Nobel Peace 
prize ($40,000) which he used to endow 
the foundation for the Promotion of 
Industrial Peace. That money was never 
used, and in 1918 he applied to have it 
returned to him. Upon coming into pos- 
session of the money he devoted it to war 
relief work through the regular organi- 
zation. 

After a few days spent at Oyster Bay 
the ex-president on March 23, 1909, 
sailed for Africa in charge of a scientific 
expedition sent out by the Smithsonian 
Institute to collect birds, mammals, rep- 
tiles and plants, but especially specimens 
of big game for the National Museum at 
Washington. Speaking of that trip before 
starting, he said that "Nothing will be 
shot unless for food, or for preservation 
as a specimen or unless the animal is of 
a noxious kind. There will be no wanton 
destruction whatever." While in Africa 
he wrote: 

As a matter of fact every animal I have shot, 
except six or eight for food, has been carefully 
preserved for the National Museum. I can be con- 
demned only if the National Museum, the Ameri- 
can Museum of National History and all similar 
zoological collections are to be condemned. 

The achievements of this expedition 
are recorded in a most interesting book, 
"African Game Trails," written by Col. 
Roosevelt, who was accompanied on the 
trip by his son Kermit. The expedition 
ended on March 14, 1910, when it reached 
Khartoum and then began that extra- 
ordinary journey through Europe during 



which the ex-president delivered a series 
of addresses which attracted world-wide 
comment both favorable and unfavorable. 
These speeches are preserved in a volume 
entitled "European and African Ad- 
dresses." In the foreword in that book 
he says : 

My original intention had been to return to the 
United States direct from Africa, by the same 
route I took when going out. I altered this inten- 
tion because of receiving from the Chancellor of 
Oxford University, Lord Curzon, an invitation to 
deliver the Romanes Lecture at Oxford. The 
Romanes Foundation had always greatly interested 
me and I had been much struck by the general 
character of the annual addresses, so that I was 
glad to accept. Immediately afterwards I received 
and accepted invitations to speak at the Sorbonne 
in Paris and at the University of Berlin. In Berlin 
and at Oxford my addresses were of a scholastic 
character designed especially for the learned bodies 
which I was addressing and for men who shared 
their interest in scientific and historical matters. 
In Paris after consulting with the French Ambas- 
sador U. Jusserand, through whom the invitation 
was tendered, I decided to speak more generally 
as the citizen of one Republic addressing the citi- 
zens of another Republic. 

His journey through Europe had been 
a royal progress and he was received on 
every hand with great acclaim as the 
champion of the doctrine of equality, of 
opportunity for all men irrespective of 
race, creed or color. The single exception 
to this was in Rome, where the Pope 
coupled with his grant of an audience a 
condition with which Mr. Roosevelt 
would not comply. The ex-president met 
this issue squarely and in so doing took 
the risk of offending both the Catholics 
and Methodists of the United States. He 
had been advised and urged not to go to 
Rome and thus avoid trouble, but he said 
he would not invite trouble nor would he 
go a hand's breadth out of his way to 
avoid trouble when he knew that he was 
in the right. He reached New York June 
18, 1910, and received a royal welcome, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reaching, according to human standards, 
on that day, the zenith of his fame. 

President Roosevelt ardently cham- 
pioned the nomination of William H. 
Taft in 1908, and stood sponsor for him to 
the nation in these words: "There is no 
other man so well qualified for the office 
of president of the United States." The 
power of the administration was used in 
his favor and the South sent to the con- 
vention solid Taft delegations. Not only 
that, but every precaution was taken to 
prevent the stampeding of the convention 
to President Roosevelt, of which there 
was always danger. His trusted per- 
sonal friend, Henry Cabot Lodge, was 
chairman of the convention, who in his 
speech said : 

That man is no friend of Theodore Roosevelt 
and does not cherish his name and fame who, now, 
from any motive, seeks to urge him as a candidate 
for the great office which he has finally refused. 
The President has refused what his countrymen 
would have gladly given him. He says what he 
means and means what he says and his party and 
his country will respect his wishes, as they honor 
his high character and his great public services. 

Mr. Taft was nominated and elected, 
but sometime in some way, during his 
administration he and Colonel Roosevelt 
came to the parting of the ways, no sin- 
gle act so far as known being the cause of 
their estrangement. 

In October, 1910, Colonel Roosevelt 
was chairman of the New York Republi- 
can State Convention and in full control. 
He compassed the defeat of James S. 
Sherman, vice-president of the United 
States, and forced the nomination of 
Mr. Stimson as a Roosevelt candidate, 
John Alden Dix, the Democratic candi- 
date, being elected Governor by 100,000 
votes. There was great pressure brought 
to bear upon Colonel Roosevelt to become 
a candidate for the presidency for a third 
term in 191 2, and gradually he became 



convinced through interviews, the news- 
papers, letters and other communications 
that two-thirds of the rank and file of the 
Republican party wished him as their 
candidate ; and that unless he made the 
fight for the principles in which he be- 
lieved with all his heart and soul there 
would be no fight made for them. He was 
in that state of mind when on February 
10, 1912, at a meeting in Chicago, the Re- 
publican Governors of seven States, West 
Virginia, Nebraska, New Hampshire, 
Wyoming, Michigan, Kansas and Mis- 
souri, asked him in a formal letter to be- 
come a candidate for the presidency. He 
made the race, lost the Republican nomi- 
nation, then accepted that of the Pro- 
gressive party and made the election of 
1912, a triangular contest between Wil- 
liam H. Taft, the regular Republican 
nominee ; Theodore Roosevelt, the choice 
of the Progressive party, and Woodrow 
Wilson, the standard bearer of the De- 
mocracy, the last named being returned 
the victor over his two distinguished 
opponents. 

Mr. Roosevelt's political creed is con- 
tained in his Carnegie Hall address of 
March 20, 1912, in which he said toward 
the close : 

In order to succeed we need leaders of inspired 
idealism, leaders who are granted great visions, 
who dream greatly and strive to make their dreams 
come true ; who can kindle the people with the 
fire from their own burning souls. The leader for 
the time being whoever he may be is but an instru- 
ment to be used until broken and then to be cast 
aside; and if he worth his salt he will care no 
more when he is broken than a soldier cares when 
he is sent where his life is forfeit in order that the 
victory may be won. In the long fight for right- 
eousness the watchword for all of us is spend and 
be spent. It is of little matter whether any one 
man fails or succeeds; but the cause shall not fail 
for it is the cause of mankind. 

In that spirit he made the fight and 
became the leader of the Progressive 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



forces. Many of his friends would have 
preferred to have him preserve the fame 
that was his, undimmed by further politi- 
cal conflict, but he chose the other course 
and in the campaign inflicted and received 
many wounds, caused suffering and suf- 
fered much himself. His friend and biog- 
rapher, Charles G. Washburn, in his work, 
"Theodore Roosevelt," "The Logic of his 
Career," from which extracts have been 
made for this review, thus sums up Col- 
onel Roosevelt's action at that time : 

No one would feel more keenly than he the loss 
of the political sympathy and support of those of 
his old friends who did not follow him and this is 
to me convincing proof of his confidence in the 
righteousness of his cause. To many of them, to 
me, I am sure, parting company with him was 
deeply painful. I count it among the sorrows of 
my life. He was imbued with the spirit of the 
crusader; he believed he was leading a great 
cause, and that in doing so he was serving the best 
interests of his countrymen. A leader on the field 
of battle sees nothing but his good and in his 
progress tramples alike on friend and foe. Such 
was Roosevelt's relation to the conflict. This is 
the reply to the charge that he wantonly maimed 
and bruised many of his former associates who 

differed with him politically "Spend and be 

spent" was the motto emblazoned on his shield 
which was always found in the forefront of battle. 
Who will say that he should or could have fol- 
lowed any other course; or with one poor mortal 
vision, that in the end his countrymen may not 
profit by what his friends then regarded as his 
great sacrifice. The result of the balloting in 
1912 is interesting. Wilson, 6,293,019; Roosevelt, 
4,119,507; Taft, 3,484,956. 

In 1916 Colonel Roosevelt was again 
the nominee of the Progressive party, but 
finally declined the honor and supported 
the Republican nominee, Charles Evans 
Hughes, who was defeated by President 
Wilson. After the defeat of Judge 
Hughes, Colonel Roosevelt who had vig- 
orously advocated preparedness for war 
with Germany seemed to regain a portion 
of his popularity and prior to his death 
he was regarded by many as the logical 

N.T.— 8— 2 



nominee of the Republican party for the 
presidency in 1920, at all events he was 
sought in council by party leaders, and a 
partial reconciliation was brought about 
between him and his former close friend, 
ex-President Taft. Colonel Roosevelt 
offered his services to the government, 
and his right to be sent to France as an 
officer of high rank was strongly urged, 
through the press of the country. But his 
age was against him, and as a civilian he 
rendered valuable home service. He con- 
tinued a power in the party which both 
made and broke him until the hour of 
his death and Sagamore Hill was ever a 
news center. 

Colonel Roosevelt was long a contribu- 
tor to magazines and newspapers, and 
when about to retire from the presidency 
accepted a position on the editorial staff 
of the "Outlook," declining the presidency 
of a corporation offering him $100,000 
annual salary, to accept the "Outlook's" 
$12,000, so determined was he to make no 
commercial use of his name. He con- 
tinued his connection with the "Outlook" 
as special contributing editor until June, 
1914, and was also a writer on the staff 
of several newspapers, notably the "Kan- 
sas City Star." He was a member of the 
American Academy of Arts and Letters. 
His published works are : "History of the 
Naval War of 1812;" "Hunting trips of a 
Ranchman" ; "Life of Thomas Hart Ben- 
ton" ; "Life of Gouverneur Morris" ; 
"Ranch Life and Hunting Trails" ; "Win- 
ning of the West," 1889 ; "History of New 
York" ; "The Wilderness Hunter" ; 
"American Ideals and Other Essays"; 
"The Rough Riders"; "Life of Oliver 
Cromwell"; "The Strenuous Life"; 
"Works" (8 volumes) ; "Outdoor Pas- 
times of an American Hunter"; "Good 
Hunting" ; "True Americanism" ; "Afri- 
can and European Addresses"; "African 

17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Game Trails" ; "The New Nationalism" ; 
"Realizable Ideals" (The Earl Lectures) ; 
"Conservation of Womanhood and Child- 
hood" ; "History of Literature and Other 
Essays" ; "Theodore Roosevelt, an Auto- 
biography" ; "Life Histories of African 
Game Animals," (2 vols.) ; "Through the 
Brazilian Wilderness"; "America and 
the World War"; "A Booklover's Holi- 
days in the open" ; "Fear God and Take 
Your Own Part" ; "Foes of Our Own 
Household"; "National Strength and 
International Duty" (Stafiford Little Lec- 
tures) ; "Hero Tales from American 
History" (in Collaboration with Henry 
Cabot Lodge). 

In 1881, Colonel Roosevelt made his 
first trip to Europe and while in Switzer- 
land made the ascent of the Matterhorn 
and the Jungfrau. Another trip of espe- 
cial moment was as special ambassador of 
the United States at the funeral of King 
Edward of England, in 1910. 

In 1913 Colonel Roosevelt visited South 
America and delivered addresses before 
universities and learned societies. He 
headed an exploring party to Brazil in 
1914, there discovering and, between Feb- 
ruary 27 and April 26, 1914, exploring for 
a distance of about 600 miles a territory 
of the Maderia river, subsequently named 
in his honor, by the Brazilian govern- 
ment, "Reo Teodoro." This expedition 
added much to the knowledge of the 
geography, the flora and the fauna of the 
South American jungle. The same year 
(1914) he visited Spain and in June he 
lectured before the Royal Geographic 
Society, London, England. 

Colonel Roosevelt was often a storm 
center and two of his controversies which 
reached the courts are of interest. He 
was the plaintiff in a suit for libel against 
G. H. Newett, who had in a newspaper 
article during the presidential campaign 



of 1912, charged him with intoxication. 
The case came to trial but after submis- 
sion of the defendant's witnesses the 
charge was withdrawn in open court and 
judgment rendered the plaintii?, thus 
completely exonerating him from a charge 
which all knew was utterly without foun- 
dation. In 1914 Colonel Roosevelt was 
defendant in a suit brought by William 
Barnes, Jr., of Albany, New York, for 
alleged libelous utterances contained in a 
statement made on July 22, 1914, charg- 
ing among other things that the "rotten- 
ness" of the New York State government 
was due directly "to the dominance in 
politics of Charles F. Murphy, Tammany 
Hall leader and his sub bosses, aided and 
abetted by Mr. Barnes and the sub bosses 
of Mr. Barnes, and that there was an in- 
visible government of party bosses work- 
ing through an alliance between crooked 
business and crooked politics." A ver- 
dict was rendered at Syracuse, New York, 
May 22, 191 5, in favor of the defendant. 

Another incident of this wonderful life, 
more tragic yet with as happy an ending, 
was his attempted assassination in Mil- 
waukee in October, 1912, while delivering 
a speech. The shot was fired by John 
Schrank, who later was adjudged insane. 
The ball entered the Colonel's body in 
what was feared a fatal spot, but after an 
examination he returned to the stage and 
finished the delivery of his speech, 
although warned not to do so by the 
physicians and his friends. 

The degree of LL. D. was first con- 
ferred upon Colonel Roosevelt by Colum- 
bia University in 1899, followed by Hope 
College in 1901, Yale University, 1901, 
Harvard University, 1902, Northwestern 
University, 1903, Chicago University, 
1903, University of California, 1903, Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, 1905, Clark 
University, 1905, George Washington 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



University, 1910, Cambridge University, 
1910, Oxford University conferred D. C. 
L. in 1910, the University of Berlin, Ph. 
D., 1910. 

Colonel Roosevelt married, October 27, 
1880, Alice Hathaway Lee, who died 
February 14, 1884, daughter of George 
Cabot Lee, of Boston. He married in 
London, England, December 2, 1886, 
Edith Kermit Carow, daughter of Charles 
Carow, of New York. Children : Alice 
Lee, wife of Nicholas Longworth, Con- 
gressman ; Theodore (3), lieutenant- 
colonel in the United States army during 
the World War, wounded in battle ; 
Kermit, enlisted first in the British army, 
later commissioned in the United States 
army, served with the American Expe- 
ditionary Forces in France; Ethel, wife 
of Dr. Richard Derby, a member of the 
Medical Reserve Corps, American Expe- 
ditionary Forces; Archibald, decorated 
and promoted to a captaincy on the field 
of battle in France; Quintin, who sleeps 
in a soldier's grave in France, was an 
aviator holding the rank of lieutenant, 
killed in aerial conflict with German fliers. 

No one characteristic shone forth more 
prominently in Colonel Roosevelt's life 
than his great love of family and home. 
Hence it was most fitting that he should 
be laid to rest by those who knew and 
loved him and not with the pomp and 
circumstance of a military funeral which 
was offered. The funeral services were 
held in the little Episcopal Church at 
Oyster Bay, the only persons present, the 
family and perhaps 500 personal friends. 
The grave is on the hillside in the village 
cemetery overlooking Long Island Sound 
and near the home of his boyhood and 
later home "Sagamore Hill." President 
Wilson sent his respects in the following 
words : "The United States has lost one 
of its most distinguished and patriotic 



citizens who had endeared himself to the 
people by his strenuous devotion to their 
interests and to the public interests of his 
countrymen. . . . His private life was 
characterized by a simplicity, a virtue 
and an affection worthy of all admiration 
by the people of America. . . ." Similar 
messages came from all over the United 
States, from European, South American 
and other countries of the world. 

Sunday, February 9, 1919, was observed 
all over the United States as Roosevelt 
Memorial Day. Special services were 
also held in England and in France. At 
almost every church in the United States 
special services were held in which the 
memory of Colonel Roosevelt was hon- 
ored by addresses or remarks or some 
form of ritual. 

The most important observance was 
that in the chamber of the House of Rep- 
resentatives in the afternoon, attended by 
Senators, Congressmen, members of the 
Cabinet, the Diplomatic Corps, Justices 
of the Supreme Court, the Vice-President 
of the United States, the Speaker of the 
House and other distinguished persons. 
The memorial oration was delivered by 
Senator Lodge, who pronounced the 
eulogy from a full heart and from inti- 
mate knowledge. 

He said in the course of his address: 

No man ever had a more abundant sense of humor. 
Joyous, irrepressible humor — and it never deserted 
him. Even at the most serious and even perilous 
moments if there was a glean of humor anywhere, 
he saw it, and rejoiced and helped himself with it 
over the hard places. He loved fun, loved to joke 
and chaff, and what is more uncommon greatly 
enjoyed being chaffed himself. He never by any 
chance bored the American people. They might 
laugh at him or laugh with him, they might like 
what he said or they might dislike it, they might 
agree with him or disagree with him, but they were 
never wearied of him and he never failed to inter- 
est them. He was never heavy, laborious or dull. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



This is but the barest outline of the 
career of one of America's greatest public 
men. He was generous and brave, a lion 
in the face of danger, yet moved to pity 
at the sight of suffering, a man of action 
and wonderful performance in statesman- 
ship ; in letters, in exploration, and in his 
philosophy of life, he impressed the world 
with his opinions. To him, Stevenson's 
requiem and epitaph seems most appro- 
priate: 

Under the wide and starry sky 
Dig the grave and let me lie. 
Gladly did I live and gladly die, 
And I laid me down with a will. 

This be the verse you grave for me : 
Here he lies where he longed to be. 
Home is the sailor home from the sea. 
And the hunter home from the hill. 



PARKER, Alton Brooks, 

Jurist, Statesman. 

Hon. Alton Brooks Parker, who was 
the Democratic nominee for the presi- 
dency in 1904, was born May 14, 1852, at 
Cortlandt, New York, son of John Brooks 
and Harriet F. (Stratton) Parker. Both 
parents were persons of more than ordi- 
nary intelligence and gentility — qualities 
which were reflected in the son. The 
Parker family was prominent in Massa- 
chusetts, and John Parker, paternal 
great-grandfather of Alton Brooks Par- 
ker, served for three years in the Revolu- 
tionary Army. 

Alton Brooks Parker was educated in 
the public schools of his native town, the 
Cortlandt Academy, and the State Nor- 
mal School at the same place. He taught 
school for three years after concluding 
his studies, and then engaged in the study 
of law in the offices of Schoonmaker & 
Hardenbergh, both accomplished lawyers, 
and the first named soon afterward be- 
coming Attorney-General of the State. 
He subsequently took a course in the 



Albany Law School, from which he grad- 
uated, and he was admitted to the bar 
on attaining his majority. He then 
formed a law partnership with W. S. 
Kenyon, of Kingston, an association 
which was maintained until 1878. Mean- 
time he had already entered upon a pub- 
lic career. In 1877, at the age of twenty- 
five, he was elected surrogate of Ulster 
County, the youngest surrogate ever 
elected in the county, and his popularity 
is attested by the fact that all other can- 
didates on his ticket (the Democratic) 
were defeated by upwards of a thousand 
votes. In 1885 Governor David B. Hill 
appointed him a Justice of the State 
Supreme Court to fill a vacancy occa- 
sioned by the death of Judge Theodore 
R. Westbrook, and on the expiration of 
the term he was elected to the place for 
the full fourteen year term, no Republican 
candidate being nominated against him. 
Meantime he had declined other prefer- 
ments — his party nomination for Secre- 
tary of State, and for Lieutenant-Gover- 
nor, and later the proffer of the position 
of First Assistant Postmaster-General by 
President Cleveland. In 1885, at the 
earnest solicitation of many of the princi- 
pal men of his party, he accepted the 
chairmanship of the executive committee 
of the Democratic State Committee, and 
in this position exhibited masterly quali- 
ties of leadership in the campaign which 
resulted in the election of David B. Hill 
as governor in succession to Grover 
Cleveland. 

In 1889, under a division of the courts, 
Judge Parker was selected to serve upon 
the Court of Appeals in a special session 
— the youngest man to occupy that posi- 
tion. After the completion of this work, 
the judiciary of New York City requested 
Governor Flower to appoint Judge Parker 
to sit in the general term of the First 
20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Department. The Governor complied, 
and Judge Parker added to his celebrity 
as a jurist, and to such a degree that in 
1897 he was made the Democratic nomi- 
nee for Chief Judge of the Court of 
Appeals, and was elected by a majority 
of 60,889, over the distinguished Judge 
William J. Wallace (Republican), where- 
as in the election of the year before, the 
State had given William McKinley a 
majority of 268,469. This great tribute 
to his character and talents gave Judge 
Parker great prestige, and in 1902 he was 
urgently requested to accept the Demo- 
cratic nomination for governor, but he 
was averse from leaving the bench, and 
declined. However, he had become a 
character of national importance, and in 
1904 he was the logical candidate for the 
presidential nomination. In the conven- 
tion, no other name than his was seriously 
considered. But one ballot was taken, 
he receiving 689 out of the 869 ballots 
cast, and the nomination being made 
unanimous. He at once resigned from the 
bench, and retired to his home at Esopus, 
on the Hudson River, where during the 
campaign he received many delegations 
comprising the influential men of his 
party. His letter of acceptance was 
marked by modesty and dignity, as were 
his few public utterances during the 
Campaign. The election resulting in his 
defeat, he at once resumed his law practice 
in New York City, and in which he still 
continues. He has handled many impor- 
tant cases and represented many large in- 
terests. An incident of his practice was 
his appearance as counsel for the mana- 
gers of the impeachment trial of Governor 
Sulzer, in 1913. 

From the year of his political defeat, 
he has been one of the principal leaders 
of his party. In 1908 he was a delegate- 
at-large to the National Democratic Con- 



vention, and a member of its platform 
committee; in the convention of 1912 he 
was again a delegate-at-large, and tem- 
porary chairman ; and during the same 
years he occupied similar positions in the 
Democratic State Convention. He was 
president of the American Bar Associa- 
tion in 1906-07; of the New York County 
Lawyers' Association in 1900-11; of the 
New York State Bar Association in 1913 ; 
and first vice-president of the American 
Academy of Jurisprudence in 1914. 

Alton B. Parker married (i), October 
16, 1873, Mary L. Schoonmaker, daugh- 
ter of M. I. Schoonmaker, of Accord, 
New York. He married (2) Amelia Day 
Campbell. 



DEPEW, Chauncey Mitchell, 

'Well-Known Statesman. 

In the annals of Westchester County 
appear some of the most illustrious names 
in American history, and prominent 
among names such as Verplanck, Van 
Cortlandt and Pelham — members of 
which famed families were cradled in 
Westchester — and later those of Reid, 
Gould and Mills, stands the world-known, 
world-renowned name of Depew. Chaun- 
cey Mitchell Depew, famous scion of a 
famous house, is one of Westchester 
County's noblest and best-loved sons. In 
foreign lands his name is synonymous 
with America. In America his name is 
synonymous with oratory, philanthropy 
and statesmanship, and decidedly antony- 
mous to all characteristics not compatible 
with a spotless public and private life. 
Westchester County in particular, and 
America generally, can be both thankful 
and grateful for the son who brought 
honour and prestige to his birthplace and 
his country, and whose life has left such 
a distinct and lasting impress on the 
history of the United States. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Chauncey M. Depew is a descendant 
of a famous Huguenot family, the name in 
passing from France, through Holland 
and to America, having undergone vari- 
ous changes of spelling, among which the 
following are the more general: Original- 
ly Du Puy or De Puy, then Dupuis, 
Depui, De Pue, Depuy, De Pew, and final- 
ly Depew. History records that one of 
the earliest ancestors, Raphael Du Puy, 
served as an officer of the Holy Roman 
Empire under Conrad the Second, in 1030. 
From that time on, down through the 
centuries, the family has distinguished it- 
self in both State and church history. The 
Depews had their inception in America 
during the latter part of the seventeenth 
century, which advent was due to the re- 
ligious persecution accorded the Hugu- 
enots, of which religious faith the family 
was in sympathy. The progenitor of the 
American branch of the family was 
Francois Dupuis. 

(i) Francois Dupuis fled from France 
to Holland to escape arrest and possible 
execution from the hands of the anti- 
Huguenots, and later came to America, 
arriving some years prior to 1661, the 
exact date not being obtainable. Old 
records, however, prove him to have been 
an early resident of Boswyck (Bushwick), 
for his name appears on a petition asking 
for certain privileges for that town under 
date of March 14, 1661, and in the year 
1663, his name again appears on the 
muster rolls of a company of militia under 
command of Ryck Lykeker, which com- 
pany was probably organized to combat 
the depredations of the Indians. Francois 
Dupuis moved in succession from 
(Breuckelen) Brooklyn to Flatbush, from 
there to Haverstraw, and finally, in 1702, 
he crossed the Hudson River and settled 
in Westchester County on a tract of land 
purchased from the Indians. On a part 



of this land was the village of Peekskill 
founded in 1764, the remainder being held 
in fee by its proprietor, Francois Depew, 
and the last of his share was given in 
1896 by Chauncey M. Depew, to whom it 
had descended, to the village of Peekskill 
for a public park. On this land, which 
had been in the Depew family for two 
hundred and eleven years, there to-day 
stands a monument to Mr. Depew in the 
form of a statue of him in a speaking pose, 
a fitting tribute to a well-loved son. 
Francois Dupuis was married in Brook- 
lyn, on September 26, 1661, to Geertje 
Willems, daughter of Willem Jacobs Van 
Boerum, and of this marriage there were 
several children, some of whom settled 
and married throughout what is now the 
metropolitan section and Westchester 
County. The line continues through the 
eldest child, William, of whom further 
mention. 

(II) William Depew, probably the 
eldest son of Francois and Geertje (Wil- 
lems) Dupuis, was born at Bushwick, and 
was among the pioneer settlers in West- 
chester County. He married Lysbeth 
Weyt, of English parentage, this being 
the first marriage in the Manor of Cort- 
landt. Among their children was Fran- 
cois, grandson of the original Francois, 
of whom further. 

(HI) Francois (II) Depew, son of 
William and Lysbeth (Weyt) Depew, 
was born at or near Tarrytown, New 
York, in August, 1700, and was baptized 
in the old Dutch Church of Sleepy Hol- 
low, at Tarrytown, on August zo, 1700. 
His name is recorded as Frans De Pew, 
and later the name took its present form 
of Depew. Francois (II) Depew, married 
at Tarrytown, New York, on June 3, 1727, 
Maritje Van Thessel. Among their 
children was Hendrikus, through whom 
the line descends. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IV) Hendrikus (or Henry) Depew, 
son of Francois (II) and Maritje (Van 
Thessel) Depew, was baptized at Tarry- 
town, New York, on April 27, 1728. He 
married, but his wife's name is not re- 
corded. Upon the baptism of their son, 
Abraham, in the Dutch Church at Tarry- 
town. "Franz Pue and Wife" are named 
as sponsors for the child. Through this 
child, Abraham, descent is traced to 
Chauncey Mitchell Depew, the subject of 
this biographical record. 

(V) Abraham Depew, son of Hendri- 
kus (or Henry) Depew, was born at Cort- 
landt Manor and was baptized in the 
Dutch Church at Tarrytown, New York, 
on April 5, 1752. He enlisted Januaty 
2, 1777, and served throughout the Revo- 
lutionary War, being discharged with the 
rank of corporal in the year 1780. Abra- 
ham Depew married Catherine Kronkite, 
daughter of Captain James Kronkite. 
Among their children was Isaac, of whom 
further. 

(VI) Isaac Depew, son of Abraham 
and Catherine (Kronkite) Depew, was 
born at Peekskill, New York, about the 
year 181 1, and spent most of his life car- 
ing for the estate which his paternal an- 
cestors had purchased from the Indians. 
He was an influential citizen of Peekskill, 
and took great interest in the affairs of 
the town. He married Martha Mitchell, 
daughter of Chauncey Root Mitchell, a 
distinguished lawyer. Martha (Mitchell) 
Depew was a descendant of three old and 
honored families : the Mitchells ; the 
Johnstons; and the Shermans. Another 
of her ancestors was the Rev. Charles 
Chauncey, the first president of Harvard 
College. 

(VII) The Honorable Chauncey Mit- 
chell Depew, a member of the seventh 
generation of the Dupuis family in Ameri- 
ca, was born in Peekskill, Westchester 
County, New York, on April 23, 1834, son 



of Isaac and IMartha (Mitchell) Depew. 
He received his scholastic preparation for 
college at the Peekskill Academy, and in 
the year 1852, matriculated at Yale College 
in what was destined to be known in after 
years as the "Famous Class of '56." Two 
members of this class later became Jus- 
tices of the Supreme Court of the United 
States, namely, Henry Billings Brown 
and David J. Brewer; while others at- 
tained correspondingly high positions in 
the State or Nation. Mr. Depew was 
graduated from Yale with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts in the year 1856; in 
due course received his Master of Arts 
degree ; and in 1887, was given the honor- 
ary degree of Doctor of Laws. During 
the following years he was elected a 
member of the Yale Corporation, which 
position he held for a period of twelve 
years. 

Upon leaving college, he entered the 
political arena by actively supporting and 
advocating the cause of Fremont and 
Dayton, the first presidential and vice- 
presidential candidates of the newly 
formed Republican party, and to this end 
he made speeches throughout the country, 
deploring the slavery and polygamous 
conditions existing in the territories. In 
1858, he was elected a delegate to the 
Republican State Convention, and dur- 
ing the half-century that has elapsed since 
that time has been a delegate to every 
succeeding convention with the exception 
of two. He has also been a delegate to 
five separate Republican National Con- 
ventions, as well as to many other nati- 
onal conventions. In 1861, he was elected 
to the Legislature from the Third West- 
chester District ; was reelected in 1862, 
and became chairman of the Committee 
on Ways and Means, as well as leader of 
the House. He also acted for a great part 
of the time as speaker pro tern. 

In the year 1863, he headed the Re- 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



publican State ticket as candidate for 
Secretary of State, and was elected. In 
1866, President Johnson appointed Mr. 
Depew United States Minister to Japan, 
the confirmation by the Senate followed 
immediately, but for family reasons Mr. 
Depew declined this great honor. In 
1872, he was candidate for Lieutenant- 
Governor on the Liberal Republican 
ticket, but failed to be elected. In 1874, 
he was elected by the Legislature to the 
post of regent of the University of the 
State of New York, and held this highly 
responsible position for a period of thirty- 
four years. He was also one of the com- 
missioners appointed to build the capitol 
at Albany. Mr. Depew was candidate for 
senator on two occasions, and withdrew, 
once to secure the election of two other 
senators, and the other time for business 
reasons. 

In the year 1888, he was unanimously 
supported by the State of New York for 
the presidential nomination and received 
ninety-nine votes in the Republican 
National Convention. General Benjamin 
Harrison was nominated, and after his 
election offered to Mr. Depew every posi- 
tion in his cabinet except that of Secre- 
tary of State, which he had promised to 
Mr. Blaine, or if he preferred, any mission 
abroad that he might select, all of which 
he declined. In 1894, when Mr. Blaine 
resigned from his office of Secretary of 
State, the position was again tendered to 
Mr. Depew, but this he also declined. In 
1899, Mr. Depew was elected United 
States Senator for six years, and in the 
year 1905 was reelected. As a candidate 
for the United States Senatorship, Mr. 
Depew has received more ballots from 
the members of his party in the State 
Legislature than any other citizen in the 
United States, namely, sixty ballots, one 
each day for sixty days in 1881, and 



sixty-four during the forty-five days in 
the year 191 1. 

Mr. Depew is an orator of world-wide 
reputation, and has been the speaker on 
many occasions of national importance. 
He was the orator selected to give the 
oration at the Centennial Anniversary of 
the inauguration of the first President of 
the United States of the organization of 
the Legislature of the State of New York ; 
of the capture of Major Andre; of the 
dedication of the Bartholdi Statue of 
Liberty in the harbor of the city of New 
York ; at the opening of the World's Fair 
in Chicago, in honor of the four-hun- 
dredth anniversary of the discovery of 
America by Columbus ; and the opening 
of the great fairs at Omaha, Nebraska, 
and Charleston, South Carolina. He made 
the nominating speeches for Harrison in 
the national convention in 1892, and for 
Roosevelt in 1904. His last notable 
political speech was in advocacy of the re- 
election of President Taft in the year 
1912. Justin McCarthy in his "Remin- 
iscences" ranks Mr. Depew second only 
to Charles Dickens as an after-dinner 
speaker. It is safe to assume that no 
American in recent years has been the 
equal in forensic ability of Chauncey M. 
Depew. In him it was more than a gift — 
it was pure genius ; and genius is dealt 
out sparingly by the gods. In Mr. 
Depew's recent volume, "My Memories 
of Eighty Years" he recounts many of 
his stories and sayings which have re- 
ceived world-wide circulation and ac- 
claim. 

Mr. Depew's highest reputation through- 
out the country is as an orator and states- 
man, yet with all these activities his life 
has been crowded with professional and 
business affairs. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1858, and 1866 he became attorney 
for the New York & Harlem Railroad 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Company; in 1869, when the road was 
consolidated with the New York Central 
& Hudson River Railroad, with Com- 
modore Vanderbilt at its head, Mr. 
Depew was chosen attorney for the new 
corporation and elected a member of the 
board of directors. As the Vanderbilt 
railroad system expanded, Mr. Depew's 
interests and duties increased in a cor- 
responding degree, and in 1875 he was ap- 
pointed general counsel of the entire sys- 
tem, and elected a director of the roads 
of which it was composed. On the resig- 
nation of Mr. Vanderbilt from the presi- 
dency, Mr. Depew was made second vice- 
president, and in 1885, was advanced to 
the presidency of the New York Central 
and Hudson River Railroad. He held 
this office for thirteen years during which 
period he was president of six other rail- 
road companies in the system and was 
director in twenty-eight additional lines. 
On his resignation from the presidency 
in 1898, he was elected chairman of the 
board of directors of the New York 
Central & Hudson River Railroad, the 
Lake Shore and Michigan Southern 
Railroad, and the New York, Chicago and 
St. Louis Railroad, which position he held 
for more than a decade and a half. 

Mr. Depew was president of the St. 
Nicholas Society for two years and of the 
Empire State Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution for a number of 
years ; of the Yale Alumni Association of 
New York for ten years ; for seven years 
president of the Union League, a longer 
term than that held by any other, and on 
declining further election, he was made an 
honorary life member. He is a member 
of the New York Chamber of Commerce ; 
the society of Cincinnati ; a Master Mason 
of Kane Lodge of Peekskill, and holds 
the thirty-third degree in the Ancient and 
Accepted Scottish Rite, in the Valley of 



New York ; the Huguenot Society ; the 
Metropolitan Club ; the Century Club ; 
the Holland Society ; the New England 
Society ; the Colonial Wars Society ; the 
American Bar Association ; the New 
York Bar Association ; the Westchester 
County Bar Association ; the Republican 
Club ; the Lotos Club ; the Players' Club ; 
the Transportation Club ; the Lafayette 
Post ; the University Club ; the Phi Beta 
Kappa Club, and the Psi Upsilon Club. 
In Washington, District of Columbia, he 
is a member of the Metropolitan Club ; 
the Chevy-Chase Club ; the Alibi Club ; 
the Country Club, and the University 
Club ; he is also a director in many finan- 
cial, fiduciary and other corporations. He 
is a hereditary member of the Society of 
Cincinnati ; and the French Government 
has made him an officer of the Legion of 
Honor. 

Mr. Depew married (first) in 1871, 
Elise, daughter of William Hegeman, of 
New York. She died in 1892. They had 
one son, Chauncey M. Depew, Jr. He 
married (second) in 1901, May Palmer. 

Writing at the age of eighty-eight 
years, with his active life stored with rich 
memories, Mr. Depew says that he never 
keeps a diary, but depends entirely upon 
that memory, which unfolds before him 
like a film upon the screen, reenacting 
the episodes and thoughts of the past. 
He says: 

"Life has had for me immeasurable 
charms. I recognize that at all times 
there has been granted to me the loving 
care and guidance of God. My sorrows 
have been alleviated and lost their acute- 
ness from a firm belief in closer re-union 
in eternity. My misfortunes, disappoint- 
ments and losses have been met and over- 
come by abundant proof of my mother's 
faith and teaching that they were the dis- 
cipline of Providence for my own good, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and if met in that spirit and with redoubled 
effort to redeem the apparent tragedy 
they would prove to be blessings. Such 
has been the case." His thoughts fre- 
quently revert to his mother whom he 
held in highest esteem. He said in a con- 
versation to newspaper men when ques- 
tioned about his belief in communion be- 
tween this and the invisible world that 
whenever a crisis comes in his life, he 
feels that he can get advice and help from 
his mother by following naturally the line 
of thought that he knows she would fol- 
low — and so arrive at her conclusion. His 
mother died some thirty years ago. Re- 
calling his reading in his youth he says: 
"No pleasure derived in reading in after 
years gave me such delight as the 'Wa- 
verly Novels'," and speaking of his modes 
of action he says : "I rarely ever part with 
anything and I may say that principle 
has brought me so many losses and so 
many gains, that I am as yet . . . un- 
decided whether it is a good rule or not. 
... I have no regrets. I know my make 
up, with its love for the social side of life 
and its good things, and for good times 
with good fellows. I also know the neces- 
sity of activity and work. I am quite 
sure, that were this necessity removed 
and ambition smothered, I should long 
ago have been in my grave and lost many 
years of a life which has been full of hap- 
piness and satisfaction." These are but a 
few of the thoughts taken from the store- 
house of "My Memories of Eighty Years" 
and when recently, on his eighty-ninth 
birthday, on April 23, 1923, Chauncey M. 
Depew was interviewed by many news- 
paper men, he spoke of his career and 
touched upon many topics of the day. 
Summing it all up he said, that he had 
found the last decade the most exciting 
time of his life, because of his intense in- 
terest in the World War. He also spoke 



of the present prosperity of the United 
States, and said that he believed that it 
was here to stay. He expects to live to be 
100 years old, and believes that his last 
decade will be a very enjoyable, even if 
a more quiet one, than his earlier life. 
His name is one that shines upon the 
pages of the history of his State and 
country, for service rendered and for a 
life well-spent in the upholding of ideals 
that will ever make him loved and hon- 
ored. 



HILLIS, Newell Dwight, 

Clergyman, Antbor. 

The Rev. Newell Dwight Hillis was for 
twenty-five years a dynamic force in his 
Plymouth Church, and he made that 
church a dynamic force in Brooklyn life. 
He came to Plymouth Church from Chi- 
cago, an aggressive man under forty 
years of age. His physical, mental and 
spiritual vigor were hurled ardently into 
the task of building and broadening his 
church and its works. The Plymouth 
Institute, a fine civic project, "Brooklyn 
Beautiful," a library of his own creation 
of idealistic addresses, sermons, and 
books for the guidance of men and 
women, and a record of zealous service 
for his country during the World War; 
these are among the proofs of his success. 

Newell Dwight Hillis was born of 
Puritan stock in Magnolia, Iowa, Sep- 
tember 2, 1858. He received his educa- 
tion at Iowa College, Lake Forest Uni- 
versity, and McCormick Theological 
Seminary, with supplementary work at 
Northwestern University which brought 
him degrees as Master of Arts and as 
Doctor of Divinity. By way of the Pres- 
byterian ministry and Illinois pastorates, 
he reached Plymouth Church in Brooklyn 
in 1899. He resigned in 1924 because of 



26 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ill health. Certain monuments to his 
achievements remain. Plymouth Institu- 
tion was established in 1914 with the 
object of helping worthy young men and 
women increase their personal and eco- 
nomic value to society. Its handsome 
buildings house social, educational, and 
physical training departments. The 
Beecher arcade and historic room, con- 
taining momentoes of the great preacher, 
a park and a bronze statue of Henry W. 
Beecher, are part of the general scheme. 
As leader in the "Brooklyn Beautiful" 
movement, Dr. Hillis invited Mr. Burn- 
ham to Brooklyn and strove to arouse its 
civic conscience with his slogan, "All 
sections for each section, each section for 
all sections and all of the citizens for 
Brooklyn." In his historic old church 
were installed, thanks to his efforts, 
beautiful memorial windows, which bore 
out his belief in beauty as an aid to good- 
ness. His work with voice and pen dur- 
ing the World War was prodigious; he 
spoke in nearly two hundred cities, 
delivered more than four hundred addres- 
ses, wrote against German atrocities, 
Bolshevist machinations, and for patri- 
otism in fighting and buying liberty 
bonds on the side of this country and 
right in the World War. Of fine presence 
and magnetic personality, Dr. Hillis is 
also gracious, generous, learned, sincere, 
and, in the language of his old and inti- 
mate friend, Theodore Roosevelt, "the 
greatest forensic orator in America." 
Some of his books are : "Right Living 
as a Fine Art;" "Success through Self- 
Help;" "Great Books as Life Teachers;" 
"Influence of Christ in Modern Life." 
With these and his published sermons, 
as well as with his spoken words, he 
profoundly stirred the souls of the Ameri- 
can people. 

Dr. Hillis married, in Chicago, Illinois, 



April 14, 18S7, Annie Louise Patrick, 
daughter of R. M. Patrick, of Marengo, 
Illinois. Their children were: Richard 
Dwight, born in 188S ; Marjorie Louise, 
born in 1889; and Nathalie Louise, born 
in 1900. 



ODELL, Benjamin Barker, Jr., 

Congressman, Governor. 

One of New York's most distinguished 
sons is Benjamin Barker Odell, Jr., 
Governor of the State at forty-seven, 
notable conservationist of State funds. 
No administrator of New York's Govern- 
ment has better understood the wise and 
efficient paring down of State expenses, 
and none has accomplished it with more 
success and less friction. 

Benjamin Barker Odell, Jr., was born 
in Newburgh, New York, January 14, 
1854, son of the Hon. Benjamin Barker 
and Ophelia (Bookstaver) Odell. Gover- 
nor Odell's early education was acquired 
in the public schools of Newburgh, from 
which he went to Bethany College in 
West Virginia. His final college work 
was done at Columbia University from 
1873 to 1875, which institution bestowed 
on him the degree of LL. D. in 1903. 
For some years he was absorbed in finan- 
cial enterprises : banking, electric light- 
ing, and commercial organizations which 
materially added to the growth of New- 
burgh. He was president of the New- 
burgh Electric Company, director in the 
Central Hudson Steamboat Company of 
New York, and president of the New- 
burgh Chamber of Commerce. 

From his early voting years Governor 
Odell was keenly alive to the importance 
and interest of political affairs. For 
twelve years before 1896 he was a mem- 
ber of the Republican State Committee, 
and from 1898 to 1900 chairman of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Republican State Executive Committee. 
Although defeated in his first campaign, 
for State Senator, he was elected to the 
Fifty-fourth Congress as Republican 
Representative, was re-elected, serving 
from March 4, 1895, to March 3, 1899, 
and declined renomination for a third 
term. When elected as Governor in 1900, 
he announced in his inaugural address 
that economy and good judgment in the 
expenditure of the State funds should be 
the keynote of his administration. It was 
his purpose to lay the burden of taxa- 
tion on large corporations and to lessen 
that on property owners. He effected 
savings in many directions without im- 
pairing the efficiency of the Government ; 
the Attorney General took over the for- 
mer work of the "counsel to the Gover- 
nor ;" tax collection was reduced in cost 
by some $150,000 a year; the consoli- 
dation of various bureaus into the Depart- 
ment of Labor saved some $70,000 yearly ; 
reduction in membership of various 
boards and commissions, and consolida- 
tion of commissions efifected other large 
economies. Perhaps the most positive 
legislation for increasing revenue was the 
taxation of trust and insurance companies 
and of savings banks, so as to bring in 
additional revenue of three times the 
original amount of their combined taxa- 
tion. Liquor taxes were increased fifty 
per cent. A Fiscal Supervisor of State 
Charities was inaugurated into office, and 
good roads became a slogan in the depart- 
ment of the State Engineer. Governor 
Odell vetoed several far-reaching bills : 
one effecting the rights of the New York 
and New Jersey Bridge Company for the 
construction of elevated railroad struct- 
ures on West Street in New York City ; 
two relating to the Park Avenue tunnel 
in that city ; and one conferring unusual 
powers on a gas company. A strict 



partisan, he did all that he honorably 
could to further the interests of the 
Republican party. Declining renomina- 
tion in 1904, he returned to his large 
financial enterprises. He was a member 
of the National Guard for eight years, 
and has at various times held prominent 
positions in the Masonic and Odd Fellows 
fraternal orders. 

Governor Odell married (first), August 
20, 1877, Estelle Crist, of Newburgh, who 
died in 1888. He married (second) Mrs. 
Linda (Crist) Trophagen, sister of his 
first wife. 



BUTLER, Nicholas Murray, 
Edncator, Publicist. 

Scholars are popularly supposed to be 
hermit-like individuals, who are gener- 
ally so deeply immersed in studies that 
they have little time to engage or take 
interest in the practical side of existence. 
But a review of the life of Nicholas Mur- 
ray Butler, certainly one of the most 
scholarly of modern Americans, shows a 
very different picture than this popular 
conception, for few men in any calling 
have as wide and varied interests as has 
he. And in a life crowded with engross- 
ing activities he finds time to be an en- 
thusiastic golfer and follower of other 
out-door sports. 

Nicholas Murray Butler was born in 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, April 2, 1862, the 
son of Henry L. and Mary J. (Murray) 
Butler. His father was interested in edu- 
cational matters, and was president of the 
Board of Education of Elizabeth for 
many years. He attended school in Eliza- 
beth until he was sixteen, at which age 
he entered Columbia University, taking 
his A. B., 1882, M. A., 1883, and Ph. D., 
1884. He then went abroad and con- 
tinued his studies in the universities of 



28 




^. 



:^.Q 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Berlin and Paris. In Berlin he met and 
became a friend of professor Paulsen, the 
famous philosopher. Upon his return 
home in 1886 he became an instructor 
of philosophy at Columbia University, a 
position which he held for three years. 
In 1889 he became adjunct professor, and 
the following year a full professor of phi- 
losophy, ethics and psychology, and a 
lecturer on the history and institutes of 
education. He had already proven him- 
self a capable instructor, and in 1890 he 
was elected dean of the faculty of philoso- 
phy for five years and reelected at the 
expiration of this period. Meanwhile, 
in addition to his duties at Columbia, he 
found time to study the educational sys- 
tem of the State and City, and to compile 
statistics and official documents relating 
to same. He was also president of Bar- 
nard College, and was first president of 
the New York College for the Training 
of Teachers (now Teacher's College of 
Columbia), where in the Horace Mann 
School of Practice he had the opportunity 
to test his educational theories from 1886 
to 1891. 

Dr. Butler was a member of the State 
Board of Education, 1892-93, and in 1894 
he became university examiner in educa- 
tion for the State of New York. Since 
1902 he has been president of Columbia 
University, including the presidency of 
Barnard, Teachers' College, and the Col- 
lege of Pharmacy. He has also been one 
of the largest contributors to the litera- 
ture of his profession. He was the founder 
of the "Educational Review" in 1891, 
and his editorship of this publication has 
done much to promote education in 
America. The "Great Educators" of the 
"Teachers' Professional Library" was 
edited by him, as was also "Columbia 
University Contributions" to philosophy, 
psychology, and education. In 1899 he 



was the New Jersey commissioner to the 
Paris Exposition. He has taken a promi- 
nent part in politics, and his friends have 
several times urged that he be a candidate 
for the presidential nomination. He was 
a delegate to the Republican National 
conventions in 1884-1904-1912, and chair- 
man of the New York Republican Con- 
vention in 1912. He received the Repub- 
lican electoral vote for vice-president 
of the United States in 1913. 

In addition to his collegiate duties, 
Dr. Butler was chairman of the admin- 
istrative board of the International Con- 
gress of Arts and Sciences, St. Louis Ex- 
position, 1904; chairman of the Lake 
Mohonk conferences on International 
Arbitration, 1904; president of the Ameri- 
can branch of Conciliation Internationale; 
trustee of the Carnegie Foundation for 
the Advancement of Teaching; Carnegie 
Endowment for International Peace, 
New York Life Insurance Company, 
Cathedral of St. John the Divine, New 
York Philharmonic Society ; governor of 
the Society of the Lying-In-Hospital ; 
trustee of the Columbia University Press 
and the American Academy of Rome; 
chairman of the College Entrance Exami- 
nation Board ; Officer de Legion d'Hon- 
neur, 1906 (commander, 1912; Grand 
Officer, 1921) ; commander of Order of 
Red Eagle (with Star) of Prussia, 1910; 
Grand Cross of the Order of St. 
Sava (Greece) 1918; Grand Cordon 
of the Order of Leopold (Belgium) 
1921 ; also Grand Officer of the Royal 
Order of the Redeemer, First Class 
(Greece) 1918. He became president 
of the American Hellenic Society in 
1917, and a member of the Academy of 
Arts and Letters, Naples, Italy, 1921. He 
is also a member of the National Educa- 
tional Association (president, 1894) ; 
American Academy of Arts and Letters; 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Pilgrims ; the American Philosophi- 
cal Society; American Psychological 
Association ; New England Association ; 
American Historical Association (life) ; 
Germanistic Society ; American Scandi- 
navian Society ; University Settlement 
Society ; National Red Cross (life) ; 
National Commission of Education ; New 
York Chamber of Commerce ; and Ameri- 
can Society of International Law. His 
clubs are the Century, Church, Metropoli- 
tan, University, Barnard, Columbia Uni- 
versity, Authors', Garden City Golf, Ard- 
sley. Lotos, Round Table, St. Andrew's 
Golf, Apawamis Golf, Metropolitan 
(Washington), and Bohemian (San Fran- 
cisco). 

Dr. Butler takes a keen interest in 
politics, and is a brilliant speaker on 
topics of this nature as well as on edu- 
cational and scientific subjects. He is 
also a prolific writer, and among the 
many noteworthy products of his pen 
might be mentioned: "The Meaning of 
Education" ; "True and False Demo- 
cracy" ; "The American As He Is" ; 
"Philosophy" ; "Why Should We Change 
Our Form of Government" ; "The Inter- 
national Mind" ; "Education in the United 
States"; "Is America Worth Saving and 
Other Addresses"; "Scholarship and Ser- 
vice" ; etc. He received the degree of 
LL. D. from Syracuse University, 1898; 
Tulane, 1901 ; Johns Hopkins, Princeton, 
University of Pennsylvania, and Yale, 
1902; University of Chicago, 1903; St. 
Andrew's, and Manchester, 1905 ; Wil- 
liams, 1908; Harvard and Dartmouth, 
1909; University of Breslau, 1911 ; and 
D. Lit. from the University of Oxford, 
1905. 

Dr. Butler married (first), February 7, 
1887, Susanna Edwards Schuyler, daugh- 
ter of J. Rutsen Schuyler, of Bergen 
Point, New Jersey. One daughter was 



born to them. Mrs. Butler died January 
ID, 1903. He married (second), March 
5, 1907, Kate La Montagne. 



MORTON, Levi Parsons, 

statesman. Financier. 

Rarely in the history of the world has 
one man combined the qualities of a 
financier, a statesman, and a diplomat, all 
of the first magnitude. This powerful 
trinity is the distinction of Levi P. 
Morton. His knowledge of financial 
affairs, national and international, his 
wealth, his political insight and prestige, 
his all-conquering personality were all 
contributed to the service of his country. 
Levi P. Morton was born at Shoreham, 
Vermont, May 16, 1824, son of Rev. 
Daniel Oliver and Lucretia (Parsons) 
Morton. A paternal ancestor was that 
George Morton, of York, England, who 
was financial agent of the Mayflower 
Puritans in London, and who came over 
in the ship "Anne" which arrived at Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts, in 1623. George 
Morton established his family at Mid- 
dleboro, Plymouth County, Massachu- 
setts, where descendants still reside. His 
son, John Morton, was the first delegate 
to represent Middleboro in the General 
Court at Plymouth in 1670, which service 
he repeated in 1672. A maternal ancestor 
was Cornet Joseph Parsons, of the cav- 
alry troop and the bearer of the colors, 
who was the father of the first child born 
at Northampton, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Morton received a public school 
education, and graduated from Shoreham 
Academy. Dartmouth College conferred 
on him the degree of LL. D., July 14, 
1891, and Middleburg College, Vermont, 
added a similar honor in 1892. At fifteen 
he entered a country store at Enfield, 
Massachusetts, which he left in order to 



30 




^_^Z^lvn_7\ /^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



begin in mercantile business in Hanover, 
New Hampshire, in 1843. He next extend- 
ed his circle of activities to Boston, 
Massachusetts, beginning as a clerk with 
James M. Beebe & Company and becom- 
ing a partner, all in the space of four 
years. His next move was to New York, 
Mecca of the ambitious, where limitless 
opportunities opened up before this bril- 
liant young man. Continuing his mercan- 
tile business in Boston, he conducted one 
simultaneously in New York until he had 
a secure footing there. He then estab- 
lished the banking firm of L. P. Morton 
& Company, in 1863. Soon a foreign 
branch was added under the firm name of 
L. P. Morton, Burns & Company. In 
1869 there was an entire reorganization 
under the name of Morton, Bliss & 
Company, of New York, and Morton, 
Rose & Company, of London, with Sir 
John Rose, then finance minister of Can- 
ada, partner in the London firm. Since 
Mr. Morton had made a careful study of 
the financial transactions of the United 
States Government, his firm was one of 
the syndicates to assist in refunding the 
national debt, which made the resumption 
of specie payments possible at a fixed rate. 
The London firm was appointed financial 
agent of the United States Government 
in 1873 and continued to 1884, and again 
in 1889. With the dissolution of Morton, 
Bliss & Company, the Morton Trust 
Company, with offices at No. 140 Broad- 
way, was established in 1899. Other 
activities in the financial world through- 
out the later years of his life included 
directorate duties in the .Equitable Life 
Assurance Company, the Home Insur- 
ance Company, the National Bank of 
Commerce, the Guaranty Trust Company, 
the Industrial Trust Company of Provi- 
dence, and the Newport Trust Company. 



The Morton Trust Company was merged 
with the Guaranty Trust Company in 
1910. 

His first official representation of the 
United States was his appointment by the 
President as honorary commissioner to 
the Paris Exposition in 1878. His politi- 
cal career proper began with his election 
to Congress as a Republican from the 
Eleventh District of New York, previ- 
ously Democratic, by an overwhelming 
majority. He served from 1879 to 1883, 
on record as opposed to unlimited silver 
coinage, and a well-informed and keenly 
interested member of the Committee on 
Foreign Affairs of the 46th Congress. 
Offered a choice of a place in the Cabinet 
as Secretary of the Navy or the French 
mission, he chose the latter, and served 
as Minister to France from 1881 until 
1885, when he resigned his office under 
Grover Cleveland's administration of the 
Presidency. He secured the temporary 
revocation of a French prohibition of 
American pork products, and recogni- 
tion of American financial and commer- 
cial corporations in France. He drove 
the first rivet in the Bartholdi statue of 
"Liberty Enlightening the World," and 
on July 4, 1884, accepted on behalf of his 
government the completed statue. Though 
a candidate for the United States Senate, 
he failed to win this honor. In 1888 he 
was nominated for vice-president of the 
United States by a large majority and 
elected on the ticket with Benjamin Har- 
rison. From 1889 to 1893 he presided 
with dignity and fairness over the Senate 
and won high esteem. 

In November, 1894, the ability and ex- 
perience of Mr. Morton were given over 
to the service of New York State, when 
he became Governor by a preponderating 
number of votes. He put into force the 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAP^Y 

(/ 



new constitution, the fourth, and began 
a sixteen year period of Republican con- 
trol of New York. In his inaugural 
address, Governor Morton laid down his 
executive principle that the governor 
should never interfere with the work of 
the Legislature beyond the precise line 
which his constitutional duty and obli- 
gation warranted. He used the veto spar- 
ingly, but frequently influenced the with- 
drawel of obnoxious bills by anticipatory 
conferences with the authors. The work- 
ing out of the new constitutions with 
the new boards and commissions it en- 
tailed was an arduous task, for which a 
more suitable executive than Governor 
Morton would have been hard to find. 
During his term Greater New York grew 
out of the consolidation of New York 
City, Brooklyn, and Long Island City. 
More effective control of liquor traffic 
and a reorganization of the National 
Guard are minor achievements in a splen- 
did total. In this, as in all offices, Gover- 
nor Morton was distinguished for execu- 
tive ability, prudent administration, 
courtesy, modesty and graciousness. 

He was a generous and faithful member 
of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and 
a member of many associations and clubs. 
The Sons of the Revolution, the Society 
of Mayflower Descendants, the New 
England Society, the Metropolitan Club, 
the Union League Club, the Lawyers', 
Republican, and Downtown clubs, all 
claim.ed his membership. 

After some years of retirement on his 
estate, "Ellerslie," at Rhinecliff-on-the- 
Hudson, he died May i6, 1920. 

Levi P. Morton married (first) Lucy 
Kimball, who died in 1871. He married 
(second), February 12, 1873, Anna Liv- 
ingston Street, and they were the parents 
of five daughters : Edith Livingston, Lena, 
Helen, Alice, and Mary. 



PERKINS, Edward Ellsworth, 

liaxryer, Financier, Political I.eader. 

The professional career of Edward E. 
Perkins, of Poughkeepsie, New York, 
lawyer and financier, and one of the best 
known men of that section, began in the 
town of which he is yet a resident and of 
which at the age of twenty-one he was 
elected a justice of the peace. His advent 
into the business world followed closely 
upon his admission to the New York bar, 
and he has been identified with important 
corporate interests in New York and 
Texas. His prominence as a citizen has 
kept pace with his business and profes- 
sional success, and he has been a leader 
of the Democracy of Dutchess County 
with a record of nine years of unbroken 
success as chairman of the County Com- 
mittee. Now, just at the prime of his 
splendid powers, he reviews a career of 
successful law practice that still contin- 
ues, is the honored chief executive of the 
First National Bank of Poughkeepsie, 
and finds his voice yet potent in high 
Democratic councils. 

Edward Ellsworth Perkins was born in 
the town of Poughkeepsie, Dutchess 
County, New York, February 4, 1863, 
and there attended the district schools 
until completing the courses they offered. 
In 1878 he became a student at Pelham 
Institute in the City of Poughkeepsie, 
finishing a three-year course at that insti- 
tution. He then spent two years at home, 
on the old Spackenkill Farm, his birth- 
place, and in 1883 began the study of law 
under the preceptorship of O. D. M. 
Baker, of Poughkeepsie. In 1884 he was 
elected a justice of the peace, an office he 
held for three years. In 1886 he was ad- 
mitted to the New York bar at the 
December term of the Supreme Court 
held in Brooklyn, standing first in a class 
of seventy members. He at once began 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the practice of his profession in the office 
of his preceptor, Mr. Baker, of Pough- 
keepsie, there continuing until i8go, 
when he became identified with New 
York and Philadelphia capitalists in 
Texas investments and spent three years 
in that State, returning to Poughkeepsie 
in 1893 ^ntl resuming the practice of law, 
which he has continued to the present 
time. 

As early as 1887 Mr. Perkins became 
identified with Poughkeepsie business 
undertakings by aiding in the organiza- 
tion of the Poughkeepsie and South- 
Eastern Railroad Company extending 
from Poughkeepsie to Hopewell Junction, 
serving that company as its first secretary 
and treasurer. In 1890 he began his 
career in Texas in association with New 
York City and Philadelphia capitalists 
and located in Fort Worth, where they 
organized and built an extension of the 
Fort Worth & Rio Grande Railroad from 
Commache to Brownwood. On the com- 
pletion of that line Mr. Perkins became 
associated with T. L. Marselis, of Dal- 
las, Texas in extending and completing 
the Dallas & Oak Clifif Railroad, and 
later in the building of the Fort Worth 
& Dallas Railroad between Fort Worth 
and Dallas. While in Fort Worth he 
was elected president of the American 
Savings Bank and Trust Company ; also 
was appointed by The Travelers Insur- 
ance Company of Hartford as their finan- 
cial agent for the State of Texas in the 
department of mortgages, loans and in- 
vestments. In 1893 Mr. Perkins efifected 
the organization of the American National 
Bank of Fort Worth and was chosen 
director and first vice-president. The 
same year he returned to Poughkeepsie 
and resumed the practice of law, but he 
has also continued his financial connec- 
tions with the business interests of his 



community. In 1906 he was elected 
president of the Evening Enterprise 
Publishing Company, and in 1909 he was 
made chief executive of the First National 
Bank of Poughkeepsie. In 1918 he 
merged the interests of the two evening 
papers, — the "Evening Star" and the 
Enterprise Publishing Company, under 
the name of the Evening Star and Enter- 
prise Publishing Company, and was elec- 
ted president of the new organization. He 
aided in organizing the Hudson Gas & 
Electric Company ; the Upper Hudson 
Railway & Electric Company ; and the 
United Hudson Electric Company; in all 
of these holding directorships. He is also 
a director of The Shatz Hardware Manu- 
facturing Company. He is a life member 
of the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion ; and his clubs are the Amrita, Dut- 
chess, Dutchess Golf and Country, and 
the Poughkeepsie Automobile. 

A lifelong Democrat, Mr. Perkins has 
attained leadership in his city and county, 
succeeding the late Major J. W. Hinkley, 
of Poughkeepsie. For nine years Mr. 
Perkins was chairman of the Dutchess 
County Democratic Committee, and dur- 
ing that period was victorious in every 
election. In August, 1910, he was elected 
president of the Democratic County 
Chairmen's Association, of the State of 
New York, and in 1914 he was elected to 
the treasurership of the New York Demo- 
cratic State Committee. He is a wise 
political leader, his advice and counsel 
being sought and valued by party leaders. 
On July II, 1918, during the World War 
emergency, he was appointed by the 
governors of the Federal Reserve, county 
director in the certificate of indebtedness 
organization. He brought the bankers 
of his county together and successfully 
dealt with many problems arising in con- 
nection with the war finance committee. 



33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Perkins married, June 23, 1891, 
Mary D. Beard, daughter of Colonel O. 
T. and Elizabeth (Mosgrove) Beard, of 
Poughkeepsie. Mr. and Mrs. Perkins 
are the parents of four children: i. 
Olive Elizabeth, married, in January, 
1919, the Marquis Fanino de Amico, of 
Milan, Italy. 2. Jeane Maria, married, in 
June, 1922, Prince Fabrizio Colono, of 
Rome, Italy. 3. Argenta, married in 
August, 1920, Louis A. Penaherrera, 
secretary of the Equador Legation, 
Paris, France. 4. Edward Reginald, born 
in April, 1899, served with the American 
Expeditionary Forces in France with the 
rank of sergeant, during the war with 
Germany, and is now (1924) engaged in 
the lumber business in Genoa, Italy. 



BARNARD, Hon. Joseph Folger, 

Jnrist. 

Unreserved distinction accorded by his 
contemporaries placed a favorite son of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, Hon. Joseph 
Folger Barnard, on the pinnacle of fame 
as the greatest legal luminary of his time 
in the State of New York and the most 
prominent member of the Dutchess 
County bar, and who served for thirty- 
six years as a Justice of the New York 
State Supreme Court, the longest record 
for length of service in that high office in 
that State. This intellectual giant, whom 
nature had endowed with, and long prac- 
tice had perfected, a judicial tempera- 
ment, stamped upon the court annals of 
his day and generation the remarkable 
impress made by the rendering of more 
that 100,000 decisions, covering an ex- 
tremely wide range of cases, which to 
this day are quoted as authority more 
frequently by trial lawyers and judges 
than the utterances of any other Jurist 
in the State. Three New York governors 



delighted to honor this man by reappoint- 
ing him, under a special act of the Legis- 
lature, to serve on the Supreme Bench 
after retirement made compulsory by the 
age limit. Here was a justice who, 
according to many of his legal brethren, 
possessed all the attributes of a judicial 
mind, at the same time all the safeguards 
supposed to be thrown around the liti- 
gants in a case by a jury of their peers ; 
so that counsel, when appearing before 
him, often decided to dispense with a 
jury trial, preferring to repose their con- 
fidence in his arbitrament on questions of 
fact. After his retirement from the 
bench he was frequently called upon to 
act as referee, and to his death he retained 
unimpaired all his abilities and his mental 
faculties. He departed this life January 
6, 1904. 

The following tribute might well serve 
as the best epitaph that could be en- 
graved upon his tomb : 

In law always just and impartial, in social life 
a lover of domesticity, fond of anecdote and 
epigram, with a keen sense of wit and humor, no 
man ever questioned his strict integrity or his sin- 
cere desire in all his rulings and decisions to 
accomplish the ends of justice and equity, while 
adhering to the strict requirements of law. 

The Barnard family, of whom came 
Justice Barnard, had their origin in 
England. That the members were of 
high standing in the realm is shown by 
the fact that Burke's "Armory of Eng- 
land, Scotland and Ireland" has nineteen 
coats-of-arms registered for the Barnards. 
Nearly all of these were granted to Eng- 
lish branches of the family. Judge 
Barnard was a descendant of Thomas 
Barnard, who came from England, in 
1659, with the King's Patent, and settled 
in Nantucket. Of him came Captain 
Frederic Barnard, the master of a whal- 
ing vessel sailing out of Nantucket, who 



34 




Mc 



fVK^^ 



(^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married Margaret Allen. They were the 
parents of Judge Barnard, born at Pough- 
keepsie, New York, September i8, 1823. 
His father was well known to the older 
citizens of Poughkeepsie and often 
delighted them with the traditions of 
Nantucket and tales of the whaling trade. 
His home was on Cannon Street, where 
Judge Barnard first saw the light. 

Judge Barnard received a well rounded 
education. He attended the public 
schools of Poughkeepsie and the Dut- 
chess County Academy. He was gradu- 
ated from Yale College, class of 1841, 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. After a pri- 
vate course of study in law with Stephen 
Cleveland and Henry Swift, both of 
whom in their time were leaders in the 
profession, he was admitted to practice, 
1844, and for twenty eventful years he 
advised an ever increasing number of 
clients and tried numerous and important 
cases before the courts. January i, 1864, 
Judge Barnard took his seat as a Justice 
of the Supreme Court for the Second 
Judicial District of the State of New 
York, and continued in service there for 
eight years. He then was reelected for 
fourteen years ; and at the end of twenty- 
two years of continuous service, he again 
was reelected for a fourteen year term, 
both political parties uniting in bestowing 
this honor upon him. On December 31, 
1893, having reached the age limit, 
seventy years, he was retired from the 
bench and resumed the private practice 
of law. But it was for only a brief period 
that he was absent from the Supreme 
Bench, because Governor Morton prompt- 
ly took advantage of a constitutional 
provision permitting the appointment of 
a Justice of the Supreme Court, who had 
reached the age limit, to resume service 
for the remainder of the term for which 
he had been elected, and the Governor 



replaced Justice Barnard in his former 
position. Governors Black and Roose- 
velt did likewise in giving him reappoint- 
ments ; and he, therefore, was given the 
rare privilege of rounding full thirty-six 
years on the Supreme Court, which is the 
longest period for similar service to be 
recorded in New York State. Judge 
Barnard was the presiding Justice of the 
General Term in 1870 by special appoint- 
ment by the Governor. 

A historian of earlier years in Dutchess 
County had the following to say of the 
service of Judge Barnard to the bench and 
bar: 

The group of lawyers .... undoubtedly embraces 
the most brilliant and powerful advocates that 
have ever adorned the Dutchess County bar, the 
Barnard brothers (Joseph F., George G., Frederick 
and Robert) Homer A. Nelson, Charles Wheaton, 
Allard Anthony and William I. Thorn. Their 
names are all fresh in the memories of the present 
generation, and mouldy tradition does not have to 
be resorted to to pass judgment upon their abilities 
and achievements. The present bar hears with 
interest the many stories of their doings and pro- 
ceedings in their early days, when business was 
dull and clients were scarce, but the legal battles 
fought between these trained legal gladiators in 
later years are recalled with interest and e.xcite- 
ment by many of the present bar who remember 
well the magnificent contests of which they were 
spectators. It is hard to tell where the palm of 
supremacy should go. Each excelled the other in 
some quality, but each was a forceful, resourceful 
and eloquent trial lawyer. 

Judge Barnard was incomparably the greatest 
legal character that Dutchess County has ever 
produced. A fine scholar, a trained lawyer, an 
incorruptible and fearless man, he had all the tools 
necessary and proper for use in his life work, and 
he used them, if not to perfection, at least so as to 
earn and receive the respect and reverence not 
only of the bar but of the people of the entire 
judicial district. Austere in his appearance, quick 
and impetuous in his language, he had under his 
brusque demeanor the heart of a child. Impatient 
of the fetters of legal procedure, caring little or 
nothing for precedent, his whole aim was to do 
justice in each particular case. He was particu- 
larly helpful to young and inexperienced practi- 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tioners, and particularly to the young men whom 
he saw studying in the surrounding offices ; and 
it was a chilly day for the veteran when one of 
these verdant practitioners appeared in Judge 
Barnard's court against him. 

Judge Barnard was a Democrat in poli- 
tics. When the City Bank of Pough- 
keepsie was organized, i860, he was elec- 
ted as its first president. 

Judge Barnard married, January 7, 
1862, Emily B. Hasbrouck, daughter of 
Abraham B. and Julia F. (Ludlum) Has- 
brouck, of Kingston, New York. His 
father-in-law was for ten years president 
of Rutgers College, and was also repre- 
sentative in Congress from Ulster County, 
New York. Judge and Mrs. Barnard were 
the parents of Frederic Barnard, of 
whom further, and Mrs. James Lenox 
Banks, of New York City. 



BARNARD, Frederic, 

Attorney-at-Iia'nr. 

For the manifestation of his public 
spirit, as well as for the enviable reputa- 
tion borne by a distinguished family 
name, the city of Poughkeepsie has been 
honored by making its scenes the home 
and business circle of Frederic Barnard, 
lawyer, and son of Judge and Mrs. Joseph 
Folger Barnard, the father having been 
for three decades and a half a member of 
the Supreme Court of the State of New 
York. He has been practicing at the 
Dutchess County bar approaching thirty 
years. In 1923 he gave to the Rural 
Cemetery a work of art in the form of a 
sundial mounted on an expensive column 
at a cost of $5,000. 

Frederic Barnard was born in Pough- 
keepsie, December 7, 1864. He was edu- 
cated in the Bishop's private school of 
his home city, and at Yale University, 
class of 1885, degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
On the completion of his studies he read 



law in the office of Hackett & Williams, 
of Poughkeepsie. He prepared for the 
bar at the Law School of Columbia Uni- 
versity, class of 1886, and was admitted 
to the bar, in February, 1887, at Brooklyn, 
New York. He entered upon his practice 
at Poughkeepsie, and subsequently for 
one year, 1894, was associated with his 
father. When Judge Barnard resumed 
his judicial duties on the Supreme Bench, 
the son, Frederic Barnard, returned to 
practice alone, in which he still continues. 
Merited appreciation was given when 
Mr. Barnard, in the summer of 1923, pre- 
sented to the Rural Cemetery of Pough- 
keepsie the artistically designed and 
charmingly located sundial, which is suit- 
ably inscribed with legends that enhance 
the appropriateness of the gift of its 
public-spirited donor. A local newspaper, 
in according recognition of the giver and 
the gift, says : 

That the latter is destined, as it becomes gen- 
erally known, to be accorded distinguished place 
among the works of art in this section of the Hud- 
son Valley. 

Frederic Barnard, of Poughkeepsie, 
has placed, about three hundred feet west 
of the main entrance to the cemetery, at 
the point where all the driveways con- 
verge, a sundial which is unique and mag- 
nificent and which must be seen and stu- 
died to be appreciated. 

Mention of a sundial calls forth in most minds 
the thought of a low slender column, supporting 
a small dial-face, but Mr. Barnard's gift is quite 
the opposite in character. It is massive, substan- 
tial, dignified and, in its material aspect, carries 
the suggestion, not of the rapid and evanescent 
flight of time, but of eternal, unmoved and unchang- 
ing values in the universe. This impression is 
conveyed by the size and the proportions of the 
whole creation and by the material in which it has 
been wrought. Within a grassy circle four sets 
of approaching steps lead to a square platform of 
granite on which stands the carved pedestal weigh- 
ing three tons that bears the bronze dial. The 





fAu£th^^x:. J^-x:\Au<iAA 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



granite is exceptional in that the usual gray is shot 
through with reds and greens, and the stone will 
ultimately be softened by the weather into beauti- 
ful color-tones. It is known as Tiffany granite and 
is found only in a quarry at Cohasset, Massachu- 
setts, owned by the Tiffany Studios of New York 
City. Louis C. Tiffany has had general charge of 
the design for Mr. Barnard's gift, and Edwin 
Stanton George, manager of the Tiffany Studios, 
has given his special oversight to the execution of 
the plans. Alexander J. Cowe, superintendent of 
construction, has directed the work at the quarry 
and the assembling and erection of the parts at 
Poughkeepsie. 

Visitors to the cemetery may well be prepared 
to be surprised at the dimensions of this symbolic 
memorial, for the platform stands some eighteen 
inches high and is about ten feet square, while the 
pedestal is two feet six inches in height, with a 
diameter of three feet. It is necessary to approach 
closely to read the ornamental lettering, which, 
however, repays examination. On the bronze dial 
occur these words : 

This sundial was presented to the Poughkeepsie 

Rural Cemetery A. D. 1923, by Frederic Barnard. 

Fitae fugaces exhibet horas. 

The Latin quotation (which, freely translated, 
reads : It shows the fleeting hours of life) is one 
that Pierre Loti, French author, mentions in one 
of his books as appearing upon the face of a clock 
in a ward of the French Military Hospital at Saint 
Louis, Senegal, French Equatorial Africa. 

Encircling the granite column that supports the 
dial-plate are two bands, each of which is carved 
with the words of a quotation. The upper band is 
inscribed with a couplet from Austin Dobson, the 
English writer: 

Time goes, you say? Ah, no! 
Alas, time stays, we go. 

On the lower band is the exclamation : 

What shadows we are and what shadows we 
pursue. — (Taken from a speech delivered by 
Edmund Burke at Bristol, England, September 9, 

The trustees of the cemetery have made to Mr. 
Barnard suitable expression of their appreciation 
of the remarkable addition to the beauty of the 
cemetery — property which has been afforded by 
his generosity, and many residents of the city, 
possessed of taste and discrimination, will doubt- 
less follow their example as the gift becomes more 
and better known, 

Mr. Barnard is a director of the Far- 
mers' and Manufacturers' National Bank, 



trustee of the Poughkeepsie Savings 
Bank and the Rural Cemetery ; member of 
the American Museum of Natural His- 
tory, New York; American Geographical 
Society, New York ; National Geographi- 
cal Society, Washington, District of 
Columbia; Amrita Club, and Dutchess 
County Historical Society, Poughkeepsie. 
He is affiliated with the Protestant Epis- 
copal Church of the Holy Comforter at 
Poughkeepsie. In politics he is a Demo- 
crat. 



PECKHAM, Alva L., 

Physician, Snrgeon. 

Dr. Alva L. Peckham, one of Dutchess 
County's most prominent physicians and 
surgeons, comes from a long line of dis- 
tinguished ancestors, whose advent into 
the New World antedated 1640, and 
whose English history dates back to the 
twelfth century. The surname "Peck- 
ham" is classified as a local surname, 
being derived from the Parish of Peck- 
ham in County Kent, England. Thus 
Hugo who lived in Peckham became 
Hugo de Peckham. The heraldic device 
used by the descendants of the early 
English Peckham is as follows: 

Arms — Ermine, a chief quarterly gules and or. 

(i) Hugo de Peckham is the first of 
the name of whom we have definite in- 
formation. He resided in Tunbridge in 
1 199. 

(II) Sir John Peckham, Knight, son 
of the above, was one of the commission- 
ers for the Preambulation of North Frith, 
near Tunbridge. 

(III) William Peckham, Esquire, a 
descent of the above, died in 1491, leav- 
ing issue : James ; Thomas ; and Reginald. 

(IV) The line descends through either 
James, Thomas or Reginald, just which 
one is not known. 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(V) John Peckham, descended from 
one of the above. 

(VI) John Peckham, son of John Peck- 
ham. 

(VII) Edward Peckham, son of John 
Peckham, was Lord of the Manor of East 
Hampnett in Sussex, near Chichester. 
He married Grace Lamburne. 

(VIII) Henry Peckham, son of Ed- 
ward and Grace (Lamburne) Peckham, 
was likewise Lord of the Manor. He mar- 
ried Ehzabeth Badger, a daughter of 
Robert Badger. Issue: Henry, Lord of 
Manor in 1634; John, of whom forward; 
WilHam ; Thomas. 

(The Family In America). 

(I) John Peckham, second of the four 
sons of Plenry Peckham, Lord of the 
Manor of East Hampnett, and Elizabeth 
(Badger) Peckham, was a member of the 
ninth English generation in direct line 
and was destined to become the progeni- 
tor of the family in America. He was 
born and reared on the family estate of 
East Hampnett, in Sussex, near Chi- 
chester, England, and immigrated to 
America, in 1630. On March 2, 1638, he 
was admitted an inhabitant of the island 
of Aquidneck (Rhode Island), and was 
made a freeman of Newport on March 
16, 1641. In 1644 he was one of the 
founders of the First Baptist Church, and 
in 1648 was one of the ten male members 
in full communion. He resided in that 
part of Newport that was later set off 
as Middletown, where he was again made 
a freeman in 1655. John Peckham was 
married (first) to Mary Clarke, a sister 
of Rev. John Clarke, friend and helper of 
Roger Williams, and one of the most 
influential men of his day. John Peckham 
was married (second) to Eleanor, whose 
family name is unknown. Issue: Proba- 
bly all by first union : John ; William ; 
Stephen ; Thomas ; James ; Clement, of 



whom forward ; Sarah ; Rebecca ; Debo- 
rah ; Phoebe; Elizabeth; Susannah. 

(II) Clement Peckham, sixth of the 
twelve children of John and Mary 
(Clarke) Peckham, was born probably at 
Newport, Rhode Island, and died while 
yet a young man, leaving but one child. 
Little is known of him except that he 
bought land in Tiverton, Rhode Island, 
in 1706-8. Tradition says that his wife 
was a sister of Giles Lawton. Issue: 
Job, of whom forward. 

(III) Job Peckham, only child of Job 

and (Lawton) Peckham, was born 

in Newport, Rhode Island, about 1692, 
and died in Providence, Rhode Island, 
August 22, 1779. He owned large farms 
in Tiverton and Middletown,; Rhode 
Island, probably inherited from his 
father. Job Peckham married Mary 
Turner, a daughter of Lawrence and 
Mary Turner, of Newport, who bore him 
the following children: Silas, born in 
1 73 1, died in 1820; Giles, of whom for- 
ward; Enos; George; Sarah, married 
Henry Tew; Mary, married Joseph Ben- 
nett; Lydia, married Elisha Gibbs ; 
Nancy, married a Mr. Freeborn. 

(IV) Giles Peckham, second of the 
eight children of Job and Mary (Turner) 
Peckham, was probably born in Provi- 
dence, although no record of his birth and 
death has ever been found. He lived in 
Providence, Rhode Island, and Rehoboth, 
Massachusetts. He was married, on May 
20, 1753, to Mary Kingsley, a daughter of 
the Hon. Aaron and Patience (Cole) 
Kingsley. Issue : Jonathan, of whom for- 
ward ; Aaron, born in 1756; Patience; 
Mary ; Silas. 

(V) Jonathan Peckham, eldest of the 
five children of Giles and Mary (King- 
sley) Peckham, was born in Providence, 
Rhode Island, in the year 1754, and died 
at Ballston Spa, New York, February 3, 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1803. He resided at Bristol, Rhode 
Island ; Swansea, Massachusetts ; Schen- 
nectady, New York; and finally Ballston 
Spa, New York. He served in the Revo- 
lutionary War as a member of Captain 
Peck's company. Colonel Lippitt's regi- 
ment, in 1776; and in Captain Peleg 
Peck's company, Colonel Thomas Car- 
penter's regiment, until 1780. For his 
services in the War of the Revolution he 
was given a land grant at Ballston Spa, 
Saratoga County, New York. He was 
married (first), April 18, 1779, to Susan- 
nah West, daughter of Henry West ; and 
(second) to Innocent Wood. Issue by 
first union: Mary, born March 14, 1780; 
Nancy, born January 31, 1783; Caleb, 
born January 11, 1785. Children by 
second wife: Giles Henry, of whom for- 
ward ; Stephen, born in 1792 ; George ; 
Sarah R. ; Aaron ; Minerva ; Susan. 

(VI) Giles Henry Peckham, eldest of 
the seven children of Jonathan and Inno- 
cent (Wood) Peckham, was born in 1786, 
and died in Schenectady, New York, Sep- 
tember II, 1876. He resided in Ballston 
Spa and Schenectady, New York, and 
served with distinction in the War of 
1812. He married Abigail Gregory, who 
bore him the following children: Eliza, 
born in 1812; Alva Gregory, of whom for- 
ward ; Harriet; Anne, born July 20, 1820; 
Rinaldo Silas F., born in 1824. 

(VII) Alva Gregory Peckham, second 
of the five children of Giles Henry and 
Abigail (Gregory) Peckham, was born 
January i, 1815, and died in Schenectady, 
New York, August 14. 1876. During his 
life he was a farmer, merchant, and engi- 
neer. He was a Baptist, but late in life 
joined the Dutch Reformed Church. He 
married Mary Ann Stevens, daughter of 
Nicholas and Eleanor Stevens, who bore 
him the following children: William 
Davis, died young; William Henry, of 



whom forward; Robert B., died young; 
Isaac J., died young; Mary Eleanor, died 
young. 

(VIII) William Henry Peckham, sec- 
ond of the five children of Alva Gregory 
and Mary Ann (Stevens) Peckham, was 
born in Milltown, New York, April 25, 
1846. He was educated in the schools 
of Schenectady, following which he be- 
came bookkeeper and teller in 1877 of the 
Mohawk National Bank, continuing in 
this position for about fifteen years. In 
1891 he entered the lumber business firm 
of Van Vorst & Peckham, which later 
became Peckham, Wolf & Company. He 
retired from active business in 1911. He 
was a director for many years of the 
Mohawk National Bank; a member of 
the Schenectady School Board; and 
treasurer for many years of the Schenec- 
tady Volunteer Fire Department ; and a 
staunch Republican. He was married, in 
Albany, New York, July 21, 1870, to 
Emma Lawson, born October 12, 1848, a 
daughter of Henry and Eunice (Hogan) 
Lawson, and a granddaughter of Peter 
Hogan, a native of Ireland. To William 
Henry and Emma (Lawson) Peckham 
was born a son, Alva Lawrence, of whom 
forward. 

(IX) Alva Lawrence Peckham, M. D., 
son of William Henry and Emma (Law- 
son) Peckham, and a representative of the 
ninth generation of the Peckham family 
in America, is to-day (1924) one of the 
prominent physicians and surgeons in 
Dutchess County, New York State. He 
was born in Schenectady, New York, 
November 25, 1874. He received his 
early education in the public and high 
schools of his birthplace. He then matric- 
ulated at Union College, from which he 
was graduated in 1896 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Science and with special 
honors in biology. In 1899 he received 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the degree of Master of Arts from the 
same institution. Meanwhile he had 
matriculated at the Hahnemann Medical 
College of Philadelphia, and was gradu- 
ated from this famous institution with 
the class of 1899, receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. He then served for 
three months at the Philadelphia Lying- 
in Charity Hospital, from which he re- 
ceived his diploma and in 1895 he com- 
pleted a special course in Embryology at 
the Cold Spring Harbor Biology Labora- 
tory, Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island. 
In 1897 he served as the national chief 
executive officer of the Chi Psi Fraternity. 
He was also a member of the Alpha Zeta 
Fraternity in the Union Classical Insti- 
tute, Schenectady, New York, and served 
as editor-in-chief of the Centennial Garnet 
at Union College. He is a member of the 
University Club. 

In 1899, upon the completion of his 
medical studies, Dr. Peckham took up his 
residence at Poughkeepsie, New York, 
and began the practice of his chosen pro- 
fession, which he carried on with steadily 
growing success until 1918, at which time 
he became Pathologist to Vassar Broth- 
ers' Hospital, and spent two summers 
in study at Columbia University. In 
1923, after the remodeling of the hospital, 
Dr. Peckham was appointed Director of 
Laboratories of that institution and 
devoted his time to special work in bac- 
teriology, chemistry, and pathology. 
Physically ineligible for service in the 
Army Medical Corps, he served as one of 
the medical examiners for the local draft 
board during the American participation 
in the World War. 

Dr. Peckham is a Fellow of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association and the Ameri- 
can Society of Clinical Pathologists ; a 
member of the American Association for 
the Advancement of Science; the New 



York State Medical Society ; the Dutchess 
Putnam Medical Society, of which he was 
president in 1916; the Poughkeepsie 
Academy of Medicine, of which he was 
president in 1910. In 1906 he organized 
the first Medical Milk Commission under 
the authority of the County Medical 
Society and was its chairman for several 
years. He has also been a member and 
chairman of the Medical Library Com- 
mittee since its organization. Fraternally, 
he is a member and Past Master of Tri- 
une Lodge, No. 782, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; and a member of Poughkeepsie 
Chapter, No. 172, Royal Arch Masons. 
He is a member of the board of trustees 
of Vassar Brothers' Institute, and has 
served as president of that body for three 
terms. He is also a member of the 
Poughkeepsie Automobile Club, of which 
he was president of in 1909, 1910, and 
191 1 ; and a member of the Poughkeepsie 
Board of Health from 1918 to 1920. 
Politically, he gives his support to the 
Republican party. He holds membership 
in the Dutchess County Historical Soci- 
ety. His religious afifiliation is given to 
the First Congregational Church, of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, of which for 
several years he was a trustee. 

Dr. Alva Lawrence Peckham was mar- 
ried (first) in Schenectady, New York, 
June 15, 1899, to Mary Woolworth Hal- 
sey, a daughter of Professor Charles S. 
and Maria (Lippincott) Halsey. Pro- 
fessor Halsey was for many years Princi- 
pal of the Union Classical Institute of 
Schenectady, New York, and is well 
known as an educator. Mrs. Peckham 
died of pneumonia on December 19, 1909, 
and a memorial font was erected to her 
memory in the First Congregational 
Church at Poughkeepsie in which she 
was a most active worker. To Dr. Alva 
Lawrence and Mary Woolworth (Halsey) 




u 




&tp^>^i^c^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Peckham have been born two children, as 
follows: I. Elizabeth Halsey, born in 
the year 1903, educated in Poughkeepsie 
High School and Elmira College. 2. 
William Halsey, a student at Union Col- 
lege, representing the tenth generation 
of his paternal line in America, born April 
24, 1907, in Poughkeepsie, New York. 
On October 23, 1914, Dr. Peckham mar- 
ried (second) to Margaret (Chisholm) 
Wade, of Gouverneur, New York, a 
daughter of Thomas H. and Julia 
(Banell) Chisholm. 



REYNOLDS, WUliam Thatcher^^ 

Business Execntive. 

The late William Thatcher Reynolds, 
whose death in the year 1917 removed 
from Dutchess County, New York, one 
of the most prominent and widely known 
citizens of the Empire State, was a lineal 
descendant of an old Colonial Rhode 
Island family, whose ancestry traces 
back to Henry, King of France, 1030, 
and to Robert, Earl of Leicester, Eng- 
land, 1310, an authentic record of which 
is now in the possession of the family of 
the Hon. John Jonathan Reynolds, of 
North Kingston, Rhode Island. There 
were three early settlements of the Rey- 
nolds family in Rhode Island : Jonathan 
at Bristol ; John the carpenter at what 
is now Exeter; and James in what is now 
North Kingston. It is through James 
Reynolds that the line herein considered 
descends. 

(I) James Reynolds married Deborah, 
surname unknown, and had children : 
John, born October 12, 1648, was killed 
in the Great Swamp Fight, December 19, 
1675. 2. James, born October 28, 1650; 
married (first), February 20, 1685, Mary 

Green, and (second) . 3. Joseph, 

born November 27, 1652 ; married 



(second) Mary, surname unknown. 4. 
Henry, born January i, 1656; married 
Sarah Greene. 5. Deborah, born Febru- 
ary 12, 1658; married John Sweet. 6. 
Francis, of whom forward. 7. Mercy, 
born December 22, 1664; married Thomas 
Nichols. 8. Robert, born in 1666. 9. 
Benjamin, born in 1669. 10. Elizabeth, 
born in 1670. 

(II) Francis Reynolds, son of James and 
Deborah Reynolds, was born October 12, 
1662, and died April 14, 1722. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Greene, born October 
17, 1668, daughter of James Greene, and 
had four children: i. Francis, born in 
1689 ; married Mary Greene. 2. Peter, of 
whom forward. 3. James, born in 1693 ; 
married, December 7, 1717, Hannah 
Jenkins. 4. Jabez, born in 1695, died 
June 3, 1759. He married (second) 
Elizabeth Berry, and had four daughters: 
5. Elizabeth. 6. Mary. 7. Deborah. 8. 
Susannah. 

(III) Peter Reynolds, son of Francis 
and Elizabeth (Greene) Reynolds, was 
born in 1691, and died in 1761. His father 
gave him one-third of the farm on Grand 
Plain, Exeter, and on this he settled in 
1717. In 1744 he purchased the estate 
where Allen Reynolds now lives, at 
Davisville. Peter Reynolds now lives, at 
Davisville. Peter Reynolds and his wife 
Sarah had five children : i. John, of whom 
forward. 2. Joseph. 3. Francis. 4. Jon- 
athan, who married Mary Tanner. 5. 
Benjamin. 

(IV) John Reynolds, son of Peter and 
Sarah Reynolds, was born in North 
Kingstown, in 1718, died October 9, 1804. 
He married (first), July 15, 1744. Phebe 
Tillinghast, and had two children: i. 
Phebe, born January 2, 1747; married 
John Kenyon. 2. Weltham, born April 
20, 1749, died February 11, 1823. He 
married (second) Anne Utter, born 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



October 28, 1725, daughter of William 
Utter, and she died April 28, 1787. They 
had children : 3. Anne, born August 9, 
1751 ; married Giles OHn December 17, 
1769, and went to Vermont. 4. William, 
of whom forward. 5. Benjamin, born 
April 19, 1756, died February 19, 1820. 

(V) William Reynolds, son of John 
and Anne (Utter) Reynolds, was born 
July 19, 1753, and died October 4, 1841. 
He was a house builder and erected many 
of the houses now standing in Wickford. 
He was ensign of the First Company, 
train band, in June, 1775 ; and was a pri- 
vate in a Rhode Island Troop under 
Captain Clark and Colonel Brown, and 
received a pension from the United States 
for his services. (See Vol. XII, page 338, 
"Vital Statistics of Rhode Island.") 
Late in life he became almost blind, and 
his death was due to a fall down a flight 
of stairs. His first wife was his second 
cousin, Esther Reynolds, daughter of 
John Reynolds, son of James Reynolds. 
She was born August 11, 1755, and died 
September 7, 1822. Their children were: 
I. Jonathan, born March 31, 1774, died 
September 12, 1851. 2. Nicholas, born 
December 12, 1775, died January 19, 
1822. 3. James, of whom forward. 4. 
Silas, born October 17, 1782, died July 
22, 1814. 5. Zebulon U., born November 
15, 1786, died December 15, 1837. 6. 
Esther, born August 19, 1788, died 
December 31, 1850. 7. William Job, 
born March 12, 1791, died July 14, 1833. 
8. Samuel Watson, born April 13, 1795, 
died September 15, 1863. 9. Daniel, born 
March 13, 1797, died March 23, 1821. 
William Reynolds' second wife was Mary 
(Razee) Reynolds, a widow, who died 
March 4, 1847, aged ninety-two years. 

(VI) James Reynolds, third of the nine 
children of William and Esther (Rey- 
nolds) Reynolds, was born April 7, 1777, 



and died November 18, 1856. He left 
his birthplace. North Kingston, Rhode 
Island, in 1800, and removed to Pough- 
keepsie, Dutchess County, New York. 
Soon after his arrival in Poughkeepsie, 
he entered into partnership with Aaron 
Innis in the operation of a line of packet 
sloops, running from what was then 
known as the "Upper Landing" to New 
York City. In 181 1 two sloops, named 
the "Mary" and the "Driver" ran to New 
York on alternate weeks, carrying both 
freight and passengers. These sloops 
were replaced in 1816 by the "Huntress" 
and the "Counsellor," and somewhat 
later the barges "Clinton" and "Republic" 
were added to the little fleet. Reynolds & 
Innis, in the year 1818, gave notice 
through the columns of the "Pough- 
keepsie Journal" "to the Farmers and 
Merchants of Dutchess County that the 
subscribers have taken the mill lately 
occupied by Martin Hoffman & Company, 
to tender their services to the customers 
of that firm in the milling business." 
About the year 1820, James Reynolds 
added a general store, which, with the 
mill, became the natural outgrowth of 
the transportation business. This was 
the start of the present day well known 
firm of W. T. Reynolds & Company, 
which continues a business that has been 
in the family for more than a century. 
James Reynolds married Elizabeth 
Winans, and to them were born two sons : 
I. William W., of whom forward. 2. 
James, Jr. 

(VII) William W. Reynolds, the eld- 
est son of James and Elizabeth (Winans) 
Reynolds, was born May 21, 1807, and 
died April 27, 1873. William W. Rey- 
nolds, and his brother, James Reynolds, 
Jr., succeeded to their father's business 
about 1840, at which time the firm name 
became W. W. & J. Reynolds. Later, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



they developed the wholesale flour and 
grain branch of the business. In 1849 
they built a warehouse at the Upper 
Landing, and conducted the business 
there until 1871. In 1872, since railroads 
had almost superceded the slower boat- 
shipping facilities, they erected the present 
warehouse opposite the passenger station 
of the New York Central Railroad. At 
the death of James Reynolds, Jr., in 1865, 
the firm name became Reynolds & son, 
and in 1869, when John R., son of James, 
Jr., associated himself with the business, 
it became W. W. Reynolds & Company. 
In 1874, when George E. Cramer entered 
the firm, the name became Reynolds & 
Company ; and in 1889, upon the death of 
John R. Reynolds, the firm name was 
changed to Reynolds & Cramer. Finally, 
in 1899, when Mr. Cramer died, the firm 
name became William T. Reynolds & 
Company, its present form. 

William W. Reynolds married Amanda 
Thacher, a daughter of the Rev. William 
Thacher, who was descended from Hon. 
John Thacher, of Yarmouth, Massachu- 
setts. The latter served in King Philip's 
War in 1675, and was an influential mem- 
ber of the Governor's Council. To Wil- 
liam W. and Amanda (Thacher) Rey- 
nolds was born a son, William Thacher, 
of whom forward. 

(VIII) William Thacher Reynolds, a 
son of William W. and Amanda 
(Thacher) Reynolds, was born in Pough- 
keepsie, Dutchess County, New' York, 
December 20, 1838, and died January 28, 
191 7, during his seventy-ninth year. His 
education was received in the schools and 
academies of his birthplace, following 
which he at once engaged in the great 
commercial business founded by his 
grandfather, taking his place as a member 
of the firm in i860, and succeeding to the 
head of the firm upon the death of his 



father in 1873. Mr. Reynolds was the 
possessor of an unusual amount of execu- 
tive ability, and the present excellent 
status of this old established house is in 
great measure due to his foresight and 
unerring business judgment. He was 
prominent in the business life of the com- 
munity for more than half a century. He 
never took an active part in politics, but 
in all kinds of church and charitable work 
he was undeniably a leader. Mr. 
Reynolds was a director of the Fallkill 
National Bank, and a trustee of the 
Poughkeepsie Savings Bank, and for a 
period of forty-seven years served as 
president of the official board of the 
Washington Street Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which he was a regular attend- 
ant and a loyal and sincere supporter. 
Formerly, he had been a trustee of the 
Vassar Brothers' Hospital; the Vassar 
Brothers' Home for Aged Men ; the Old 
Ladies' Home ; and of the Poughkeepsie 
Rural Cemetery Association. 

William Thacher Reynolds was mar- 
ried in Clinton Corners, Dutchess County, 
New York, on July 6, 1864, to Louisa 
Smith, a daughter of Jacob and Esther 
(Doty) Smith, of Clinton Corners, New 
York. Louisa (Smith) Reynolds was born 
October i, 1843, and died January 28, 
1917, her death occuring within twenty- 
four hours of that of her husband, the 
burial being a double one. Mrs. Reynolds 
throughout her life had been prominent in 
church and charitable aflfairs in Pough- 
keepsie. Their married life was one 
closely approaching the ideal, and a little 
more than two years before their deaths, 
when both were in the best of health and 
enjoying the greatest happiness, their 
Golden Wedding was celebrated. Mr. 
and Mrs. Reynolds were the parents of 
two children : i. Harris S., of whom for- 
ward. 2. May L. 



4.1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IX) Harris S. Reynolds, only son of 
William Thacher and Louisa (Smith) 
Reynolds, and a direct representative of 
the ninth generation of his family in 
America, was born in Poughkeepsie, 
Dutchess County, New York, May 19, 
1865. His early education was received 
in the local public schools and in Pough- 
keepsie Academy, following which he 
matriculated at Yale University and was 
graduted with the class of 1887, receiv- 
ing the degree of Doctor of Philosophy. 
In September, 1887, he entered the busi- 
ness which had been so well and firmly 
established by his forefathers, and be- 
came associated with the branch known 
as the Reynolds Wholesale Grocery 
House. He began at the very foot of the 
ladder, and rose step by step until his 
admission into the firm of Reynolds & 
Cramer took place in 1900, during which 
year the firm name was changed to Wil- 
liam T. Reynolds & Company. In 191 7 
the company was incorporated and Harris 
S. Reynolds was made president, which 
position he now retains (1924). 

Mr. Reynolds is prominent in the com- 
mercial and financial circles of Pough- 
keepsie, and at the present time is carry- 
ing forward the great enterprise founded 
by his ancestors to an ever increasing 
success. He is a director of the Fallkill 
National Bank; a trustee of the Pough- 
keepsie Savings Bank; a trustee of the 
Poughkeepsie Rural Cemetery; director 
of the Central Hudson Gas & Electric 
Company; director of the United Hudson 
Electric Corporation and its subsidiaries ; 
and a member of the executive board of 
the New York State Grocers' Associa- 
tion. His clubs include, among others: 
the Yale Club, of New York City; St. 
Anthony Club, of New York City ; Amrita 
Club, former president of same ; Dutchess 
Golf & Country Club ; charter member. 



Poughkeepsie Tennis Club; and the 
Poughkeepsie Chamber of Commerce, of 
which he was a former director. Politi- 
cally, Mr. Reynolds is a member of the 
Republican party. His religious affilia- 
tion is given to Christ Episcopal Church. 
Harris S. Reynolds was married in 
New Hamburg, New York, October 12, 
1892, to Martha Millard, a daughter of 
William B. and Cordelia (Lawson) Mil- 
lard, of New Hamburg. Harris S. and 
Martha (Millard) Reynolds are the 
parents of three children: i. Martha 
May, graduated from Vassar College in 
1915, later taking her Master of Arts 
degree in Psychology, and the degree of 
Master of Arts from Columbia University. 
During the late World War she served in 
France for a period of eighteen months 
with the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. 2. Dorothy Millard, educated at 
Westover School, Middlebury, Connecti- 
cut. She married Robert Lansing Smith, 
and they have three children: Marion, 
Barbara, and Elsie Jane Smith. 3. Harry- 
ette Lawson, educated in Westover 
School, Middlebury, Connecticut, and 
served in France for one year with the 
Young Men's Christian Association dur- 
ing the World War. 



WEBB, John Griswold, 

Republican State Senator. 

State Senator, member of the New 
York Assembly for four years, president 
of an international publishing house, pres- 
ident of a corporation whose purpose it is 
to build and manage farms and country 
estates, owner and organizer of the 
famous Webb Farms, at Clinton Cor- 
ners. New York, war correspondent in 
Mexico for two years, with an enviable 
record of high patriotic service to the 
United States Government during the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



World War, John Griswold Webb, who 
has not as yet reached his thirty-fourth 
birthday, has crowded into his compara- 
tively young life more of diversified en- 
deavor and recognized usefulness to State 
and Nation than often is accomplished by 
men of his age and station. From school 
walls to legislative halls. Senator Webb's 
career has been to the oresent time one 
of ceaseless activity, in which worthy 
ambition has urged him on to make the 
most of every opportunity, to do the next 
thing in the very best possible way, and 
thus build upon a good foundation a 
superstructure of success in which his 
colleagues and fellow-citizens share with 
a degree of pride that is commendable. 

Senator Webb at his birth came into a 
long and honorable line of ancestors. He 
is a lineal descendant of the "first Webb," 
Richard Webb, of Dorsetshire, England, 
who emigrated to America and settled in 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1626, but 
four years after the Pilgrims landed at 
Plymouth. His great-grandfather, Sam- 
uel Blatchley Webb, was a brigadier- 
general in the Revolutionary War, and 
acted as aide-de-camp and private secre- 
tary to General George Washington. 
His great-grandfather, on his maternal 
side, Chester Griswold, was mayor of 
the city of Troy, New York, in 1820, and 
was a member of the New York State 
Legislature in 1823 ; his grandfather, John 
A. Griswold, also served the city of Troy 
as mayor, and for three terms was a 
member of Congress ; he was instrumental 
with the famous Ericsson in the building 
of the battleship "Monitor." Senator 
Webb's father, the late Henry Walter 
Webb, was vice-president of the New 
York Central Railroad, and with the sup- 
port and cooperation of the Vanderbilt 
family he had much to do with develop- 
ing the elements of progress of that great 
transportation system. 



John Griswold Webb was born on Au- 
gust 13, 1890, at Riverdale, New York, 
son of Henry Walter Webb, born May 6, 
1852. at Tarrj'town, New York, died June 
18, 1900, at Scarboro, New York, and 
Leila Howard (Griswold) Webb, daugh- 
ter of John A. Griswold, of Troy. The 
son, J. Griswold, was educated at the 
Browning School, New York City ; 
Groton School, Groton, Massachusetts, 
1903-09; Harvard College, 1909-13; grad- 
uated with the degree of A. B. ; and Cor- 
nell Agricultural College, 1913-14. His 
academical and technical education com- 
pleted, his first occupation in life was to 
acquire ownership and assume the man- 
agement of a 450 acre commercial, agri- 
cultural enterprise, known as Webb 
Farms, at Clinton Corners, New York. 
Into the development of this great farm 
project he brought all his youthful energy 
and the results of years of close study 
and the application of scientific methods. 
Two years previously, 1912-13, he had 
smelled powder and observed the clash of 
arms in the turbulent scenes of Mexico, 
where he acted as war correspondent of 
"The Boston Herald." Five years after 
launching his commercial farm enter- 
prise, he became president of Webb, Mar- 
low & Vought, Inc., a corporation formed 
for the purpose of building and managing 
farms and country estates. In the fol- 
lowing year, 1921, he was elected presi- 
dent of the American International Pub- 
lishers, Inc., a corporation publishing 
agricultural magazines, among which are 
well known periodicals such as "Field 
Illustrated" and "Field Annual Year 
Book," for the American trade, and "El 
Campo" and "O Campo," for the South 
American trade. 

Senator Webb's public service began 
in 1913, when he was elected justice of 
the peace, and he served in that office 
until 1917. He now was on the highway 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to hig-her honors in the preferment of his 
fellow-citizens, and he was elected to the 
Assembly of the State of New York dur- 
ing the years 1919, 1920, 1921 and 1922. 
In 1923 he was elevated by the voters to 
the Senate of the State of New York, 
which office he now holds. In 1923 he 
was honored with the election to chair- 
manship of the Republican County Com- 
mittee of Dutchess County. Senator 
Webb's record of patriotic activity dur- 
ing the World War covers the years 1917 
and the first half of 1918, when he acted as 
local chairman of Red Cross, Liberty 
Loan and War Savings Stamp campaign 
drives ; the year 1917 he was chairman 
of the committee on food production of 
the Home Defense Committee, and in No- 
vember, 1917, he was made a member of 
the executive committee of the Dutchess 
County Defense Council; in 1917 he was 
appointed Federal Fuel Administrator for 
Dutchess County. He filled all these po- 
sitions until August, 1918, when he en- 
listed as a private in the United States 
Army, and was sent to the Field Artil- 
lery Officers' Training Camp at Camp 
Zachary Taylor, Kentucky. He was hon- 
orably discharged from the service in 
March, 1919, having never been permitted 
to see active service overseas, since he 
was on duty at the training camp when 
the armistice was signed. 

Senator Webb is a member of Sheko- 
meko Lodge, No. 458, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Washington Hollow, New 
York ; Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 275, Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
the Society of Colonial Wars ; the Sons 
of the Revolution; and the Society of 
American Wars. He holds membership in 
the Harvard Club, New York City ; A. D. 
— D. K. E. and S. K. clubs of Harvard 
University ; Knickerbocker and Racquet 
and Tennis clubs of New York City ; Som- 



erset Club, of BcSston ; Fort Orange Club, 
Albany; Automobile Club of America; 
Amrita and Dutchess County Golf and 
Country clubs, of Poughkeepsie, New 
York. 

Senator Webb married. May 16, 1914, 
Anne Pendleton Rogers, daughter of 
Archibald and Anne (Coleman) Rogers, 
of Hyde Park, New York. They are the 
parents of two children : John Griswold, 
Jr., born December 3, 191 5, and Leila 
Griswold, born October 17, 1920. 

This review would be incomplete did 
it not embrace more extended mention of 
the worthy father of a worthy son. 
Henry Walter Webb, father of Senator 
Webb, formerly vice-president of the New 
York Central and Hudson River Railroad, 
died suddenly, June 18, 1900, at his home, 
"Beechwood," in Scarboro. He was a 
brother of Dr. W. Seward Webb, who 
married Lila Osgood Vanderbilt, a daugh- 
ter of William H. Vanderbilt. Follow- 
ing this alliance. Dr. Web!) gave up the 
practice of medicine and established the 
banking and brokerage house of W. S. 
Webb & Co. He induced his brother, 
Henry Walter Webb, to give up his prac- 
tice of law and to become associated 
with him in the business in which he had 
become engaged and which gave promise 
of great success. In 1886 Dr. Webb was 
elected president of the Wagner Palace 
Car Company, whose affairs were in very 
bad shape; and as a result Dr. Webb 
again called upon his brother to come to 
his assistance in establishing a new sys- 
tem of conducting the business. Mr. 
Webb became the first vice-president of 
the company, and here was where he 
made his beginning in the business of 
railroading, in which he was destined 
to exhibit remarkable aliility. He was 
quick to show his capacity as a railroad 
man, and this at once gained the recogni- 



.16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion of the Vanderbilts, who had become 
interested in his advancement. He was 
appointed assistant to President Chaun- 
cey M. Depew, and in March, 1890, he was 
elected by the directors to the office of 
third vice-president. Hardly had he en- 
tered upon his new work when the great 
railroad strike was declared and 5,000 
men stopped work at the order of the 
Council of the Knights of the Labor. 
Then was offered the great oppor- 
tunity for Mr. Webb to attain unusual 
distinction. President Depew was in 
Europe, Mr. Vanderbilt also was absent, 
and the two other vice-presidents were 
not connected with the operating de- 
partment. The task of combatting the 
strikers fell heavily upon Mr. Webb's 
shoulders. He met the problem brave- 
ly, with firmness and with that ce- 
lerity of decision which won the approval 
of the Vanderbilt family. The Vander- 
bilts placed the entire matter of the settle- 
ment of the strike in his hands, and 
eventually he came off victorious. 

The long strain incurred through that 
struggle, however, seriously impaired his 
health. He continued with his work and 
entered into the operation of the New 
York Central's passenger system in a 
manner which has had much to do with 
the adoption of the new system of operat- 
ing fast passenger trains on railroads 
throughout the country. Mr. Webb made 
practical the theory that time is money, 
and that the saving of time meant the 
increase of traffic. He inaugurated the 
fast train service and established the 
"Empire State Express." Many railroad 
men poked fun at him, but Mr. Webb had 
the Vanderbilts at his back; and to-day 
history of that advanced step in railroad- 
ing has more than justified Mr. Webb's 
departure from the old system of doing 
things. 



In 1896 ill health compelled Mr. Webb 
to retire to a country home, and from 
that point he directed the affairs of the 
passenger traffic of the road. His health 
eventually became completely broken, 
and he resigned his office. He had never 
been a well man since the great rail- 
road strike. 

Mr. Webb married, in 1884, Leila How- 
ard Griswold, daughter of John A. Gris- 
wold, of Troy, New York. His widow 
and two sons survived him. Mr. Webb 
was a member of the Board of Education 
under Mayor Grace. He was a director 
of the Lincoln National Bank, the Hudson 
River Bank, Commonwealth Insurance 
Company, Hamilton Bank Note Engrav- 
ing Company, International Pulp Com- 
pany, Kensico Cemetery Company, Lin- 
coln Safe Deposit Company, Love Elec- 
tric Traction Company, Mutual Life In- 
surance Company, National City Bank, 
New York Mutual Gas Light Company, 
New York Security and Trust Company, 
Terminal Warehouse Company, Wagner 
Palace Car Company, and of the different 
railroads owned or controlled by the New 
York Central Railroad Company. 



PILGRIM, Charles W., M. D., 
Leading Alienist. 

Not long after his graduation from 
Bellevue Hospital Medical College, Dr. 
Pilgrim began the study of mental science 
and its varied and obscure phenomena, 
with the result that for nearly forty years 
he was connected with the New York 
State Hospital system, and is to-day rec- 
ognized by his profession as one of Amer- 
ica's leading alienists. His profound 
study of mental diseases and his author- 
ship of treatises bearing on their treat- 
ment and cure have won for him the at- 
tention of the entire country. One phase 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of his research has developed a definite 
program of anticipating the maturity of 
insanity and by treating it in its incip- 
iency, arresting its development and sav- 
ing threatened victims from becoming 
mental wrecks. Several States followed 
the lead of New York State in this method 
of dealing with the dread disease and 
good results are reported. 

Throughout his long career as a physi- 
cian and psychiatrist in the State Hos- 
pital service, Dr. Pilgrim always sought 
to elevate the standard of medical and 
nursing care of the insane, and sys- 
tematically endeavored to promote scien- 
tific interest in psychiatry on the part of 
the State Hospital staff. As a member 
and chairman of the State Hospital Com- 
mission he consistently supported the Psy- 
chiatric Institute as a highly important 
work of the State Hospital system, and 
encouraged the younger physicians in the 
service to avail themselves of the oppor- 
tunities it offered for their improvement 
by attending the courses of instruction 
the institute provided. 

Dr. Pilgrim, furthermore, was a pioneer 
in the development of out-patients de- 
partments in connection with State hos- 
pitals ; was one of the earliest and strong- 
est advocates of the mental clinics and 
social service work of these departments, 
and was a potent factor in securing the 
adoption by the State Hospital Develop- 
ment Commission of a resolution declar- 
ing that social service workers should 
be provided in each hospital in the pro- 
portion of one for each hundred patients 
on parole. His contributions to the lit- 
erature of his profession are numerous 
and weighty, his topics always having 
a direct bearing upon his specialty. 

Dr. Pilgrim is a native son of the Em- 
pire State, and with the exception of the 
time spent in study abroad has always 



resided within the limits of his own State, 
giving to her people and her institutions 
of healing his great skill and power of 
mind. 

Dr. Charles W. Pilgrim was born in 
Monroe, Orange County, New York, 
March 27, 1855, son of Roe C. and Frances 
(Wilkes) Pilgrim. He was educated 
under private tutors, and in Monroe In- 
stitute, New York University, and Belle- 
vue Hospital Medical College, receiving 
from the last named institution the de- 
gree of M. D., class of 1881. After grad- 
uation from the medical college, he served 
as an interne of Bellevue Hospital for 
eighteen months, and then began his work 
in psychiatry at the State Asylum for In- 
sane Criminals at Auburn, New York, 
where he remained for one year. In 
1883 he was appointed an assistant physi- 
cian in the State Asylum, Utica, New 
York, and that connection he continued 
for seven years, attaining the rank of 
assistant superintendent. About one- 
half of each of the years, 1885-86 and 1889 
were spent by Dr. Pilgrim in the hospitals 
and clinics of Vienna, Munich and Ber- 
lin, leave of absence being granted him 
by the State Hospital. In February, 
1890, he was transferred from the assist- 
ant superintendency of State Hospital at 
Utica to the superintendency of State 
Hospital at Willard, New York, and 
there his great ability both as physician 
and organizer became more apparent, as 
demonstrated by noteworthy- improve- 
ments in the medical and administrative 
departments of the hospital. 

His constructive work at Willard State 
Hospital attracted the attention of the 
managers of the Hudson River State Hos- 
pital at Poughkeepsie, New York, and in 
May, 1893, 'is was appointed superinten- 
dent of that institution, there remaining 
until April, 1906, when Governor Higgins 



48 





1 


^^m 


/^^B 


^Rf 


^^,^^^^^^^^^1 



c^:^^ -^^^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



requested him to assume the duties of 
chairman of the State Hospital Commis- 
sion, with the understanding that he 
should return to the Hudson River State 
Hospital as its superintendent, if at the 
end of the year he desired to do so. Dr. 
Pilgrim found the duties of a commis- 
sioner less attractive than those of a 
hospital superintendent. He therefore 
resigned his office at the expiration of the 
year and returned to the State Hospital 
at Poughkeepsie, where he rendered 
highly efficient service until September, 
1916, when he was again called to Albany 
as chairman of the State Hospital Com- 
mission, by Governor Whitman, and he 
served in that capacity with conspicuous 
ability until December, 1921, when he re- 
signed in order to take control of the 
well known sanitarium of Dr. Carlos 
MacDonald, at Central Valley, New York. 
While Dr. Pilgrim has devoted himself 
entirely to his profession, his interests 
have demanded a certain association with 
the business life of the city of Pough- 
keepsie, and he has served the Pough- 
keepsie Trust Company as vice-president, 
and other corporations as a director. His 
great abilities and wide acquaintance have 
caused his being called as an expert in 
many medico-legal cases, and his connec- 
tion with the literature of his profession 
has covered the various phases of mental 
diseases. He was, until his resignation, 
a member of many years standing of the 
editorial staff of "The State Hospital 
Quarterly." He published many articles 
on psychiatry and kindred subjects, 
among which may be mentioned "A Case 
of Epileptic Insanity With Echo-Sign 
Well Marked," "A Case of Spontaneous 
Rupture of the Heart," "Pyromonia (so- 
called) With Report of Case," "A Visit 
to Gheel," "Mental Disturbances Follow- 
ing Puerpal Eclampsia," "A Study of Sui- 
cide," "Schools For the Insane," "Genius 



and Suicide," "Does the Loco Weed Pro- 
duce Insanity?" "Communicated Insan- 
ity," "Suicide and Insanity," "Care and 
Treatment of the Insane in the State of 
New York," "The Proper Size of Hos- 
pitals for the Insane," "The Study of a 
Year's Statistics," "Old Age and Its Psy- 
choses," "Meeting the Mentally Sick 
Half Way," etc. From 1882 until 1890 
he was associate editor of "The American 
Journal of Insanity," and an associate 
editor of "The Institutional Care of the 
Insane in the United States and Canada," 
recently published under the direction of 
Dr. Henry M. Hurd, of Johns Hopkins 
University, Baltimore, Maryland. He is 
a Fellow of the American Psychiatric As- 
sociation, of which he was president in 
191 1 ; a member of the Medical Society 
of Dutchess County, of which he was 
president in the same year; a member of 
the Society of the Alumni of Bellevue 
Hospital; a Fellow of the New York 
Academy of Medicine ; and president of 
the New York Psychiatrical Society. 

Dr. Pilgrim married, in 1889, Florence 
M. Middleton, who died December 15, 
1904. His daughter, Florence, is the wife 
of Dr. Theodore Neumann, who was 
prominently connected with the New 
York State Hospital service, but is now 
associated with Dr. Pilgrim in the man- 
agement of his sanitarium. Mrs. Neu- 
mann is a talented musician, whose artis- 
tic ability is widely recognized in the 
circles in which she moves. She is most 
gracious in her willingness to share her 
talents with others, and particularly if a 
function is to be given in aid of some 
worthy charity. 



TROY, Peter H., 

Investment Banker and Broker. 

Peter H. Troy, of Poughkeepsie and 
Barrytown, New York, investment banker 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and broker, is one of the best known men 
in the State of New York through his 
active work in many important organi- 
zations of a civic or business character. 
It is said of him that his true measure 
as a citizen does not consist so much in 
any calculation of his professional suc- 
cess as in his comradeship with men who 
have taken an abiding interest in human 
affairs, without money and without price. 

It has become the habit of such men 
to devote almost as much of their time 
and fully as much of their energy and abil- 
ity to the loyal service of their fellow- 
men as they devote to their own business 
interests. They are the Americans who 
are making American communities 
sparkle with vitality and progress. They 
are found in every city where clubs and 
committees are accomplishing things for 
the general good. Their name is legion, 
and they are the salt of the earth. 

Mr. Troy was born in Red Hook, 
Dutchess County, January 23, 1868, son 
of Peter and Bridget (Dee) Troy. As a 
boy Peter H. Troy studied telegraphy 
in his native village of Barrytown-on- 
Hudson, the opportunity to do so having 
come to him through the friendship of 
the station agent of the New York Cen- 
tral Railroad there, and in the meantime 
he continued his studies under the private 
tutelage of William Gaston Donaldson. 
So apt a pupil was he that when he had 
reached the age of fifteen (in 1883) he 
secured the consent of his father, Peter 
Troy, a contractor in Barrytown, to ac- 
cept an ofifer from the stock brokerage 
firm of Boody, McLellan & Company, of 
Manhattan, to become a clerk and wire 
operator in the Poughkeepsie branch 
ofifice of that house. The ambitious lad 
left the environment of his boyhood home 
and applied himself to the intricate details 
of investment and market finance while 



handling the messages which passed back 
and forth over the wire. Later he be- 
came ofiice manager for the firm of E. & 
C. Randolph, remaining with that house 
for fifteen years, and then being admitted 
to partnership in the firm of C. D. Hal- 
sey & Company, of New York City, the 
above firms all being members of the 
New York Stock Exchange. 

In 1918 Mr. Troy purchased a seat on 
the New York Stock Exchange, and the 
same year withdrew from C. D. Halsey & 
Company to engage privately as a banker 
and broker, dealing under his own name 
through his stock exchange membership 
in investment securities. He is also a 
director of The Poughkeepsie Trust Com- 
pany, and was one of the organizers and 
is a director of the Vassar Bank at Arling- 
ton, New York. A director of the United 
States Fire Insurance Company of New 
York City, director of The Poughkeepsie 
City and Wappinger Falls Electric Rail- 
road Company, and is president of the 
Red Hook Telephone Company, which he 
organized in 1895. Also a trustee of Put- 
nam Hall, Poughkeepsie, a preparatory 
school for girls, and a trustee of St. 
Francis Hospital. 

In politics Mr. Troy is a lifelong Dem- 
ocrat. He was a delegate to the Kansas 
City convention that nominated William 
J. Bryan for President of the United 
States, and a close personal friend of the 
late Governor David B. Hill. He has sat 
in many State, district and county con- 
ventions of his party, and his voice has 
long been a potent one in party councils. 
He is a recent president of the Dutchess 
County Society in the city of New York ; 
a former president of the New York State 
Motor Federation ; director of the Amer- 
ican Automobile Association ; and chair- 
man of the board of directors of the 
Poughkeepsie Automobile Club. Mr. 




^^^^-S^ C2.,^-z^(U^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Troy stands high among his con- 
temporaries of these organizations and 
of the business world, his career a striking 
illustration of what an ambitious, ener- 
getic boy can attain in business prom- 
inence without the adventitious aids of 
wealth, position and influence. He rose 
solely through his own efforts and may 
be justly termed self-made in the very 
best sense of the phrase. 

Peter H. Troy married. June 30, 1896, 
Matilda A. Bullock, daughter of Charles 
and Almira (Livingston) Bullock, her 
father for many years representative of 
the New York Central Railroad Company 
at Cold Springs, New York. Mr. and 
Mrs. Troy are the parents of four chil- 
dren : I. Almira Livingston, a graduate of 
Putnam Hall, Poughkeepsie, Dwight 
School, Englewood, New Jersey, and Vas- 
sar College, receiving her degree from the 
last named institution, class of 1920. 
She was married, June 28, 1924, to Cap- 
tain Walter W. Warner, United States 
Army, located at the United States Ar- 
senal, Augusta, Georgia. 2. Helen Tay- 
lor, a graduate of Putnam Hall, the Bald- 
win School, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, 
and Vassar College, class of 1922. 3. 
Frances Dee, a graduate of Putnam Hall 
and the Madeira School, Washington, 
District of Columbia. 4. Peter F., born 
April 26, 1907. 



CAMPBELL, Hon. George D., 

Contractor, Ex-Mayor of Poughkeepsie. 

To even a novice or a beginner in his- 
tory, heraldry, and genealogy, the sur- 
name "Campbell" cannot be disassociated 
from Scotland, the land of "hills and 
heather," for in Bonnie Scotland did the 
present great family of Campbell have its 
inception. The name now appears in 
great numbers in England and America, 



but Scotland still claims the four main 
branches of the family: The Campbells 
of Argyll, the Campbells of Breadalbane, 
the Campbells of Cawdor, and the Camp- 
bells of Loudoun. The Campbells of 
Argyll seem to be the oldest, and there- 
fore probably the parent branch, for in 
the year 1216 Gillespie Campbell is given 
in the Exchequer Rolls as holding the 
lands of Menstrie and Sauchie in Stirling. 
He was also a witness of the charter of 
the burgh of Newburgh in Fife, in 1266. 
From this Gillespie Campbell are de- 
scended, directly or indirectly, all the 
present-day bearers of the name. 

The badge of the Campbells of Argyll 
is as follows: Roid (Wild Myrtle), or 
Garbhag, an t-sleibhe (Fir Club Moss). 
The war cry is: "Cruachan" (a moun- 
tain near Loch Awe). The clan pipe 
music, which is deservedly world famous, 
is as follows : Salute — "Failte 'Mharcius" 
("The Marquis' Salute") ; March— "Bail'- 
lonaraora" ("The Campbells are com- 
ing") ; Lament — "Cumha 'Mharcius") 
("The Marquis' Lament"). 

The arms granted to the Duke of 
Argyll were : 

Arms — Quarterly, first and fourth, gyronny of 
eight or and sable (for Campbell), second and 
third, argent, a lymphad, her sails furled and oars 
in action, all sable, flag and pennants flying gules 
(for Lorn). 

Crest — A boar's head couped or. 

Motto — Vix ca nostra voce. 

The patronymic "Campbell" is derived 
from two old Gaelic words, and has refer- 
ence to a facial characteristic, or, in the 
opinion of some authorities, it denotes a 
facial deformity. The surname is com- 
pounded from cam, meaning "wry," and 
Beul, meaning "mouth," wry-mouth. Wry- 
mouth could have reference to a stern 
expression or firm, straight, unsmiling 
lips. W. & A. K. Johnston's "The Scot- 
tish Clans «& Their Tartans," however, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



claims that it is now generally admitted 
that the surname denotes a facial deform- 
ity, wry-mouth meaning twisted lips. The 
clan tartan of the Campbells of Argyll is 
one of the most beautiful, being of inter- 
secting squares of dark green, dull blue, 
and black, with alternating narrow stripes 
of yellow and white. Nothing need be 
said of the consummate bravery, the 
prominence, or the military exploits of 
the early Campbells, for these are synony- 
mous with the surname, and a recountal 
here would be but in the nature of repeti- 
tion. The American branch herein con- 
sidered begins with Daniel Campbell, of 
whom further. 

(I) Daniel Campbell was born in Nairn, 
Scotland, in the year 1810. He served in 
the British Army and was granted a tract 
of land in Newfoundland for his services. 
He was one of a large family which im- 
migrated to America in 1830. They set- 
tled in Newfoundland and later removed 
to Eastport, Maine. Daniel Campbell 
then moved to Ridges, New Brunswick, 
Canada, and still later returned to the 
States, settling finally in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where he learned the trade of 
tailor, which he followed for many years. 
He was married, in 1836, to Lucy Perry, a 
native of Sherbourne, Massachusetts, and 
a member of an old New England family. 
Daniel and Lucy (Perry) Campbell were 
the parents of six children, as follows: 
Donald, Lucy, Margaret, William, Henry 
A., of whom forward ; Frederick. 

(II) Henry A. Campbell, fifth of the 
six children of Daniel and Lucy (Perry) 
Campbell, was born in Westford, Massa- 
chusetts, in the year 1854. His early years 
were spent at Gardner, Massachusetts, 
where he received his education in the 
local public schools. His first business 
venture was in the logging and lumber 
industries, buying wooded districts, and 
then sawing, trucking, and selling the 



lumber. Later he conducted a wood- 
working factory at Everett, Massachu- 
setts, which business he eventually sold 
in order to enter the contracting and 
building field. He built many residences 
for speculation both in the North and 
South, and upon his return from the South 
he settled permanently in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where he now (1924) lives 
retired. Politically, Henry A. Campbell 
is a staunch Republican. Fraternally, he 
holds membership in the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. His religious affil- 
iation is given to the Baptist Church of 
Boston. 

Henry A. Campbell was married, in 
1875, to Lila O. Gifford, a daughter of 
George E. and Adeline (Harrington) Gif- 
ford, of North Grafton, Massachusetts. 
To Henry A. and Lila O. (Gififord) Camp- 
bell have been born seven children, as fol- 
lows: Maud, Walter, Gertrude, George 
D., of whom further; Adeline, Harold, 
Chester, now deceased. 

(Ill) The Hon. George D. Campbell, 
fourth of the seven children of Henry A. 
and Lila O. (Gifford) Campbell, and a 
representative of the third generation of 
the ancient Campbell Clan of Scotland in 
America, was born in Williamsville, town 
of Hubbardston, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 14, 1884, and at the age of one year 
removed with his parents to North Graf- 
ton, Massachusetts. Here he acquired his 
education in the local public and high 
schools, following which he worked for a 
short time in a country grocery store in 
North Grafton. He then learned the car- 
penter's trade, and somewhat later the 
mason's trade, and for a year, beginning 
in 191 1, he was engaged in general con- 
tracting and building in North Grafton. 

The year 1912 brought Mr. Campbell's 
advent into Poughkeepsie, New York, 
which city was destined to be the seat of 
his business and public activities for more 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



than a decade. Mr. Campbell, in the prac- 
tice of his chosen vocation, has achieved 
success. For a year following- his removal 
to Poughkeepsie he was in charge of the 
carpenter work in the course of construc- 
tion at Vassar College. In 1913 he formed 
a partnership with Walter Willis King- 
ston under the firm name of Kingston & 
Campbell, and during the succeeding six 
years the firm constructed many private 
residences, the Dutchess Manufacturing 
Building, the Smith Brothers' Factory, 
the Windsor Hotel, and the First National 
Bank Building. In 1919 the firm was dis- 
solved by mutual consent, and since that 
time Mr. Campbell has conducted the 
business alone. Among the many build- 
ings which he has erected are the Re- 
formed Church; the Arlington School; 
the new Merchants' National Bank Build- 
ing ; the new St. Francis Hospital, as well 
as additions to the original building; the 
Corrugated Rubber Building; and addi- 
tions to the Wallace Department Store. 
Mr. Campbell's building operations have 
been characterized in every instance by 
excellence of material and workmanship, 
and have brought him a high reputation 
as an efficient contractor and builder 
throughout Dutchess County in general 
and the city of Poughkeepsie in particular. 
For many years Mr. Campbell has been 
identified with the Republican party, and 
has held a prominent place in civic affairs. 
He served Poughkeepsie as alderman, 
representing the Seventh Ward for a 
period of two years, and for two years 
was president of the Board of Aldermen. 
In 1921 he was elected mayor of the city 
of Poughkeepsie, and in this highest civic 
office he ably discharged the duties de- 
volving upon his executive position in a 
manner that called forth the praise of the 
public and press. His achievements while 
in office were noteworthy and deserving 
of more than passing mention. It was 



once remarked that "an able public official 
is a priceless boon and heritage." Fol- 
lowing Mayor Campbell's incumbency 
the local press devoted columns of edi- 
torial comment on his regime, excerpts 
from the "Poughkeepsie Eagle-News," 
under date of December 31, 1923, being 
herewith granted inclusion : 

George D. Campbell will serve as mayor of 
Poughkeepsie for the last time to-day. To-morrow 
he will turn the duties of the office over to Mayor- 
elect Frank B. Lovelace, after two years' labor 
for the good of the city, marked by an enviable 
record of achievement. Coming to the City Hall 
as an alderman, raised from the ranks to the posi- 
tion of alderman-at-large and then the highest 
office in the power of the voters of the city to give, 
Mr. Campbell steadily maintained his principles of 
square dealing with friend and foe, above-board 
politics, business-like methods and progressiveness 
throughout his administration. 

Perhaps it was the fact that Mr. Campbell came 
from another city in another State that he could 
see Poughkeepsie and its need so clearly. There 
were enough natives with perspective, however, to 
second his ideas in ta.xpayers' election and help 
him toward the realization of a clean, well-paved 
and progressive city. 

The Campbell administration has brought fol- 
lowing improvements : 

Smooth, wide pavement, where before there 
was a succession of bumps and hollows, suggestive 
of Flanders, after the retreat of the armies of the 
Central Powers. 

An electrified water pumping station in place of 
an antiquated one. 

Water mains twice the diameter of the ancient 
mains they replaced and capable of supplying 
strong, inexhaustible streams to the firemen to 
save city property, instead of futile little spouts. 

An auxiliary reservoir to insure the new mains 
adequate supply. 

Pavements and adequate water supply were the 
crying needs of the city as Mr. Campbell saw it, 
but he saw other things, too. The need of taking 
care of ever-increasing traffic was great and he 
not only supervised the redrafting of the city traf- 
fic ordinance to aid the police in the performance 
of their duty, but he assisted them in their work 
by widening streets in connection with the paving 
program as much as possible. The widening and 
electric lighting of Cannon Street are character- 
istic of the mayor's progressive policies. That was 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the next logical step in making the street what it 
fast is becoming — a business street and a traffic 
thoroughfare. 

An appropriation to help obtain the intercollegi- 
ate regatta here was put on the polls for voters 
election day at his suggestion and was carried. 
The construction of new sewers wherever needed 
was urged by him. 

As ex-officio president of the Board of Health 
the mayor made the work of the board his hobby. 
All kinds of difiiculties were encountered by the 
board by circumstances beyond their control during 
his presidency, but all were met and overcome. 
Child clinics were established and what was the 
mayor's pet idea, the establishment of the office 
of the city physician, to supply free medical atten- 
tion to the poor, developed. 

Realizing that the pressure of his business would 
make it impossible for him to remain in politics 
after the conclusion of his term of office, he sought 
for some means to extend his own and the efforts 
of his predecessors into the future. As a means 
to this end he studied the subject of zoning and city 
planning and became convinced that it was a neces- 
sity. He was able to inspire others with this con- 
viction and with the help of those who had tried 
to bring zoning to this city in the past was able 
to get an appropriation in the city budget for the 
work, which already is being done. In city plan- 
ning he saw the reasonable development of the city 
along lines of efficiency and beauty. 

George D. Campbell to-day rounds out his term 
as mayor of Poughkeepsie and at midnight becomes 
again a private citizen. 

To permit him to retire without some public 
expression of the appreciation of his fellow-citizens 
for the extraordinarily high service which he has 
rendered them would be the part of an unbecoming 
lack of gratitude. For when Mayor Campbell 
gives up the reins to-night, he will leave behind 
him an administration that has been one of the 
most progressive and constructive in the city's 
history, an administration whose good works will 
continue to bear civic dividends for many years 
to come. 

Now that question has been answered in full, 
and the public realizes, now that Mr. Campbell is 
about to retire from office, what a striking success 
he made of it. He has been mayor in the two 
years that Poughkeepsie has done more than it 
did in any like period in the last decade to improve 
its equipment and physical well being as a city. 
Under his administration we have begun notably to 
make good the deficiencies which the war inevit- 
ably brought about; we have taken up the slack 



and made a fine start for the future. His admin- 
istration has seen the new Main Street pave- 
ment, planned for and hoped for these many years, 
become a reality. It has witnessed the installa- 
tion of the new water system, including the new 
mains which will give Poughkeepsie adequate fire 
protection and provide for the normal needs which 
its growth will bring with them. Under his admin- 
istration, too, the foundation has been laid for city 
planning and city zoning to make possible the 
assimilation of the increase in population which 
Poughkeepsie expects in a normal and well- 
regulated manner. In the schools something has 
been done to relieve overcrowding by adding to 
present buildings and by obtaining new sites for 
units which presently must be built. A start has 
been made toward the new Poughkeepsie highway 
bridge. Aside from such out of the ordinary 
achievements, there has been in addition, under 
Mayor Campbell, a high standard of efficiency for 
all of the city boards and commissions, a har- 
monious doing of business without much ostenta- 
tion, but with extremely beneficial results. 

In reviewing Mayor Campbell's administration, 
it is hard to resist the temptation to become per- 
sonal with him. What he has been able to do has 
been, of course, the result of what he is and what 
he believes. He has been a good public servant 
because he has taken the time and trouble to make 
a study of the city's needs in a level-headed, busi- 
ness like manner, and because he has attempted to 
meet those needs as well as possible with such 
resources as were available. He has wasted no 
time shooting at the moon, but on the other hand 
he has not been deterred from advocating courses 
of action which appeared to him desirable merely 
because they were difficult of accomplishment to 
himself or anyone else. He has shown initiative of 
a high type combined with good common sense. 

So as Mayor Campbell completes his term of 
office, "The Eagle-News" wishes to express to him 
the esteem in which it holds him as a man, a citi- 
zen, and a public official, and to give utterance, for 
the city, to the appreciation with which it regards 
his contributions to its welfare during his term of 
office. 

Fraternally Mr. Campbell is active in 
Masonic circles, being a member of Frank- 
lin Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Grafton, Massachusetts ; Poughkeepsie 
Council, Royal Arch Masons ; Poughkeep- 
sie Chapter, Royal and Select Masters ; 
and Poughkeepsie Commandery, Knights 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Templar. He is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of North 
Grafton, Massachusetts ; and of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
of Poug-hkeepsie. He also holds member- 
ship in the Amrita Club, the Dutchess 
Golf and Country Club, the Rotary Club, 
and the Poughkeepsie Chamber of Com- 
merce, being a director of the last-named 
organization. His religious affiliation is 
with the Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
Poughkeepsie, of which he has been a 
trustee for some time. 

Mr. Campbell was married at Putnam, 
Connecticut, April 24, 1912, to Mildred 
Windle, a daughter of John E. and Eliza- 
beth (Wilbur) Windle, residents of North 
Grafton, Massachusetts. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Campbell have been born three chil- 
dren, as follows : George Donald, Jr., 
born August 10, 1913; H. Wilbur, born 
September 7, 1915; M. Douglas, born 
April 7, 1921. The family residence is 
maintained at No. 60 Grand Avenue, 
Poughkeepsie, New York. 



HULL, Hon. J. Frank,//" 

Late Mayor and Prominent Industrial 
Head, Poughkeepsie, New York. 

To the wise and beneficent manage- 
ment of Hon. J. Frank Hull, late mayor 
of the city of Poughkeepsie, New York, 
is due the remarkable growth and world- 
wide reputation of the great industry of 
which he was the organizing head and the 
directing genius for nearly thirty years. 
With his passing he left to his home city 
and State a model of business established 
upon the principle of cooperative man- 
agership by employer and employees of 
the concern which they all alike had 
helped to build as a monument of suc- 
cess. This astute and far-seeing business 
man was the son of John F. Hull, cashier 
of the Fallkill National Bank, Poughkeep- 



sie, who was born in Standfordville, New 
York, November 20, 1816; married Chloe 
Winchell Hartwell ; he died October 20, 
1896, at Poughkeepsie. He was of Quaker 
ancestry. 

(I) The family in America was founded 
by Rev. Joseph Hull, born in Somerset- 
shire, England, in 1594, sailed March 20, 
1635, and landed at Boston, Massachu- 
setts, May 6, 1635. He died at Isle of 
Shoals, November 19, 1665. From him the 
line descends through his son, Tristam, 
of whom further. 

(II) Captain Tristam Hull, son of Rev. 
Joseph Hull, was born in 1624 in Eng- 
land, and came to America with his father. 
He died February 22, 1662. He married 
and was the father of John, of whom 
further. 

(III) John Hull, son of Captain Tris- 
tam Hull, was born March, 1654, died De- 
cember I, 1732. He married and was the 
father of John, of whom further. 

(IV) John Hull, son of John Hull, born 
December 4, 1694, died March 9, 1765. He 
married and was the father of Tedeman, 
of whom further. 

(V) Tedeman Hull, son of John Hull, 
was born February i. 1734. He married 
and was the father of Charles Wager, of 
whom further. 

(VI) Charles Wager Hull, son of Tede- 
man Hull, was born April 16, 1765, died 
August 28, 1858. He married and was 
the father of eleven children, among 
whom was John Franklin, of whom 
further. 

(VII) John Franklin Hull, son of 
Charles Wager Hull, was born at Stan- 
fordville, New York, November 20, 1816, 
died at Poughkeepsie, New York Octo- 
ber 20, 1896. He was privileged only to 
receive a common school education, and 
at the age of fourteen he came from Stan- 
fordville to Poughkeepsie and entered the 
employ of W. W. White as a clerk in his 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dry goods store, serving in association 
with Stephen Frost and a Mr. Appleton. 
From that position he was called to the 
Poughkeepsie Bank, and while serving 
that institution he was elected cashier of 
the Pine Plains Bank as successor to F. 
W. Davis, who had come to Poughkeep- 
sie to assume the office of cashier of the 
Farmers' and Manufacturers' Bank. For 
more than fifty years Mr. Hull was 
cashier of the Fallkill National Bank, re- 
tiring from that position four years before 
his death. Mr. Hull was prominent in the 
municipal affairs of Poughkeepsie, having 
served his city as alderman, police com- 
missioner, member of the Board of Edu- 
cation, and Dutchess County as its treas- 
urer during the trying times of the Civil 
War. The name of Mr. Hull will con- 
tinue to be associated with the progress 
and growth of the city of Poughkeepsie, 
and his valued services as a public- 
spirited citizen will long be remembered. 
In addition to his varied activities, he was 
a member of the Board of Trustees of the 
Old Ladies' Home and a director of the 
Fallkill National Bank. When Mr. Hull, 
who was of the Quaker persuasion, was a 
resident of Pine Plains, there was no 
meeting of the Society of Friends in that 
town, and he, therefore, attended the 
services at the Baptist Church, where he 
made the acquaintance of Chloe Winchell 
Hartwell, who became his wife. They 
were the parents of a daughter and two 
sons, namely: John Franklin (J. Frank), 
of whom further ; William Bird, born Jan- 
uary 26, 1852 ; Mary Shepard, born De- 
cember 28, 1856. 

(VIII) Hon. J. Frank Hull, former 
mayor of Poughkeepsie, son of John F. 
and Chloe Winchell (Hartwell) Hull, was 
born at Pine Plains, November 15, 1849, 
and died July 5, 1907. His education was 
received at the College Hill School and 
Riverview Military Academy. He entered 



upon his business career as a clerk in the 
Fallkill Bank, and on the death of Wil- 
liam Forby, in 1879, he purchased an in- 
terest in the firm of Lasher, Haight & 
Kelly, which had been established a few 
years before, the firm, on Mr. Hull's 
entrance, becoming Lasher & Hull. Mr. 
Hull later acquired Mr. Lasher's interest 
in the business and the firm name became 
Hull & Company, and in 1901 it was in- 
corporated under the name of Dutchess 
Manufacturing Company. The plant first 
was located on North Cherry Street, and 
in 1888 it was removed to Crannell 
Street. Through Mr. Hull's energy and 
business foresight, the establishment was 
developed to its present great size ; it 
now is known as the largest industry of 
its kind in the world. The "Dutchess 
Trousers" is a well-known product of the 
Hull concern and sold the country over. 

Mr. Hull not only attained success as 
a business man, but he also won the re- 
spect and the affection of his employees. 
Upon the business becoming incorpo- 
rated, nearly all the heads of departments 
became stockholders in the concern. He 
believed in cooperation on the part of the 
owner and the employees, and no serious 
labor trouble ever interrupted the opera- 
tion of the Hull plant. Mr. Hull made it 
his earnest endeavor to throw pleasant 
surroundings about those whose efficient 
labor was an important element in his 
success. During his presidency he devel- 
oped many industrial reforms then in 
their infancy, the nine-hour day and the 
conference idea standing out prominently. 
There were many outings and entertain- 
ments for the employees, which were due 
to his kindly forethought and cooperation 
on the part of Mrs. Hull. 

In 1896 Mr. Hull was the choice of the 
Republicans of Poughkeepsie for mayor 
of the city, and it is recorded that he gave 
the city an excellent administration. He 



56 





^. Cj^c^^o-^^^C^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a director of the Fallkill National 
Bank ; a charter member of the Amrita 
Club, and an active member of the Sec- 
ond Reformed Church. 

Mr. Hull married (first), March 7, 1877, 
Mrs. Lucinda Ruth (Sterling) Holley, 
daughter of George "W. Sterling, who died 
during the late eighties. They were the 
parents of three children : John Franklin, 
born July i, 1878, died August i, 1878; 
William Franklin, born August 30, 1881, 
died August 9, 1882; Ruth Chapin, born 
May 2, 1884. Mr. Hull married (second), 
December 31, 1894, Carrie L. Gibson, born 
at Marengo, New York, March 24, 1868, 
daughter of the late Rev. David Gibson. 
They were the parents of four children: 
Lucinda Gibson, born April 8, 1896, died 
June 3, 1896; John Franklin, born Octo- 
ber 16, 1898, educated at private schools 
in Poughkeepsie, and Columbia Univer- 
sity, New York City, is associated with 
the Dutchess Manufacturing Company; 
Stanley Gibson, born August 18, 1900, 
educated at private schools, connected 
with the Dutchess Manufacturing Com- 
pany; Charles Amory, born December 17, 
1901, educated at private schools and Wil- 
liams College, class of 1924. 

As a fitting completion of this memorial 
to J. Frank Hull, the following obituary 
notice from "The Poughkeepsie Daily 
Eagle" is given : 

The death of J. Frank Hull adds another link to 
the chain of losses of prominent citizens this city 
has sustained during the past few months. Mr. 
Hull was a citizen and manufacturer of the best 
type. The growth of his business was an increas- 
ing benefit to the city, and certainly no one could 
say of him that as he grew richer, anyone was 
made poorer. The principle of friendly coopera- 
tion with his employees, for which he stood, is a 
principal that has not been much favored by labor 
unions ; but it is the right principle and is sure 
to increase in favor when fairly tried. Fortu- 
nately Mr. Hull had so arranged his business that 
it can probably continue without serious interrup- 
tion, though sadly missing the inspiration of his 
presence and counsel. The sympathy of the whole 



city is with his family so suddenly bereaved just 
as they were planning a happy summer together. 
— "Poughkeepsie Daily Eagle," July 8, 1007. 



CLEVELAND, Joseph Manning, M. D., 

Public Benefactor. 

To stamp upon the history of one's time 
the impress of his life as a pioneer in any 
worthy movement is a matter of record 
justifiably to be envied by all those per- 
sons who have been so fortunate as to 
have fallen under the influence, either 
directly or remotely, of a life intensively 
lived for the betterment of his kind, men- 
tally, spiritually and physically. Such a 
benefactor of his fellowmen, particularly 
in the State of New York, was Dr. Joseph 
M. Cleveland, of happy memory, who de- 
voted more than a quarter of a century of 
a crowded life to the study and care of 
the insane and was among the very first 
inspirers of the movement for the treat- 
ment of this class of unfortunates as folks 
mentally ill, and to divorce from hospital 
walls the ancient and heathenish custom 
of harshly, often brutally, dealing with 
the patient as an offender against the laws 
of the State and society because of the 
superstition that they were possessed of 
devils. With the establishment of Dr. 
Cleveland's system of applying humane 
methods only in ministering to the care 
of the mentally ill, he became a nationally- 
known figure in the medical world. At 
Poughkeepsie, New York, where the 
major part of his highly useful life was 
lived, his name was made for himself and 
his fame attained as the medical superin- 
tendent of the Hudson River State Hos- 
pital. The superintendent, the hospital 
and the adoption of kindness into the rules 
governing a hospital for the insane soon 
became the cynosure of the medical fra- 
ternity in general and specialists on men- 
tal diseases in particular, the country 
over. The thing that had been done at 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Poughkeepsie under the Cleveland regime 
gradually in many similar institutions 
came to be recognized as the correct 
method of assisting the curable to regain 
their mental faculties, at the same time 
flashing to the confirmed human derelict 
the illuminating fact that a human being 
was at the helm of his broken life to guide 
it humanely while life held together the 
malformed functions of the patient. So 
long as the age endures, then, the name of 
Dr. Cleveland will continue to be asso- 
ciated with one of the most progressive 
revolutions in the modern world of new 
discoveries in science and other fields of 
human endeavor. Poughkeepsie's loss, 
though very great, was essentially that of 
the physical presence of one of its oldest 
and most efficient public servants. 

The old family of Cleveland, ancient 
and honorable, throughout the line made 
history of its lineal descendants, among 
whose number were clergymen, an army 
chaplain, Revolutionary soldier, physician 
and liberty-loving and liberty-seeking 
members. The family name Cleveland 
means "of Cleveland," a hamlet in the 
parish of Ormsby, County of York, Eng- 
land. Johannes de Clyveland is recorded 
in the poll-tax of Yorkshire, A. D. 1379, 
his name giving trace of its derivation, 
"Cliff-land." The Cleveland family coat- 
of-arms is of singularly interesting design 
as denoting the inherent strength and 
longevity of the Clevelands, and their 
lofty aim and pureness of purpose of life. 
The description follows : 

Arms — Per chevron sable and ermine, a chevron 
engrailed counterchanged. 

Crest — A demi-old man proper, habited azure, 
having on a cap gules turned up with a hair front, 
holding in the dexter hand a spear headed argent, 
on the top of which is fixed a line proper, passing 
behind him, and coiled up in the sinister hand. 

Motto — Pro Deo et patria. (For God and 
country.) 



(I) Moses Cleveland, the common an- 
cestor of all the Clevelands, or Cleave- 
lands. of New England origin, came when 
a youth from Ipswich, County Suffolk, 
England. According to tradition, he 
embarked from London, arriving in Mas- 
sachusetts, 1635, and settled at Woburn. 
He was born, probably at Ipswich, Eng- 
land, about 1625. He died at Woburn, 
January 9, 1701 or 1702. He married, 
September 26, 1648, Ann Winn, born in 
1626, died before May 6, 1682. They were 
the parents of seven sons and four daugh- 
ters. 

(II) Josiah Cleveland, son of Moses 
and Ann (Winn) Cleveland, was born in 
Woburn, Massachusetts, February 26, 
1666 or 1667, died in Canterbury, Connec- 
ticut, April 26, 1709. He followed his 
brother Samuel, in 1693, to Plainfield, 
now Canterbury, set off in October, 1703. 
He married, at Chelmsford, Massachu- 
setts, about 1689, Mary Bates, daughter 
of John and Mary Bates. They had eight 
sons and three daughters. 

(III) Josiah Cleveland, son of Josiah 
and Mary (Bates) Cleveland, was born 
in Chelmsford, Massachusetts, October 7, 
1690, and died in Canterbury, Connecti- 
cut, February 9 (N. S. 20), 1750. He 
married, at Canterbury, August 7, 1710, 
Abigail Paine, daughter of Elisha and 
Rebecca (Doane) Paine, of Eastham, 
Massachusetts (1686-1762) ; they had six 
sons and four daughters. 

(IV) John Cleveland, son of Josiah 
and Abigail (Paine) Cleveland, was born 
April 1 1- 1 2, 1722, in Canterbury, Connec- 
ticut, and died in Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
April 22, 1799. He was a distinguished 
clergyman, a public-spirited man, a force- 
ful writer and speaker. He entered Yale 
College, 1741, preached two years to a 
Separatist Society at Boston, but was or- 
dained minister of a new church at Che- 
bacco, Ipswich, Massachusetts. Fel^ruary 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



25, 1747; he witnessed a great revival 
among his people, 1763-64. He was in the 
French and Indian War, 1756-60. He 
married (first), at Ipswich, July 15, 1747, 
Mary Dodge (1723-68), only daughter of 
Parker and Mary (Choate) Dodge. He 
married (second), at Salem, Massachu- 
setts, September 28, 1769, Mrs. Mary 
(Neale) Foster, widow of Captain John 
Foster; there were four sons and five 
daughters, all by the first marriage. 

(V) Nehemiah Cleveland, son of Rev. 
John and Mary (Dodge) Cleveland, was 
born in Ipswich, August 26, 1760, and 
died in Topsfield, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 26, 1837. He served with the Con- 
tinental Army, 1775, with the regiment of 
which his father was chaplain; studied 
medicine. He married (first), in Ipswich, 
October 6, 1787, Lucy Manning, daugh- 
ter of John and Lucy (Bolles) Manning. 
He married (second), at Pomfret, Con- 
necticut, July I, 1792, Experience Lord, 
daughter of Dr. Elisha and Tamarson 
(Kimball) Lord ; there were no children 
of the first union, but there were nine by 
the second. 

(VI) Nehemiah Cleveland, son of Ne- 
hemiah and Experience (Lord) Cleveland, 
was born August 16, 1796, in Topsfield, 
Massachusetts, and died in Westport, 
Connecticut, April 17, 1877. He married 
(first), at Ipswich, September 8, 1823, 
Abby Pickard Manning. He married 
(second), in Brooklyn, New York, No- 
vember 25, 1842, Katherine Atherton 
Means ; there were seven children by the 
first marriage and one by the second. 

(VII) Dr. Joseph Manning Cleveland, 
son of Nehemiah and Abby Pickard (Man- 
ning) Cleveland, was born in Newbury, 
Massachusetts, July 22, 1824, died in 
Poughkeepsie, New York, January 21, 
1907. It was early determined in the 
minds of parents and son that Joseph 
Manning Cleveland should become a phy- 



sician. His training was therefore admin- 
istered with that objective in view. He 
attended Dummer Academy, South By- 
field, Massachusetts, and was graduated, 
1846, from New Jersey College, Princeton, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He 
soon settled in New York City, where he 
studied medicine, unders Drs. Manning 
and Smith, at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons ; graduated in the class of 
1850 with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. He began his professional career 
in the old New York Hospital on Broad- 
way, where he remained three years. 
Later he accompanied Dr. Agnew, of New 
York, one of the world's most famous 
physicians, to Great Cliff mine. Lake Su- 
perior, in the medical care of 1,200 miners. 
Dr. Cleveland first gained attention for 
his work among the insane at the Utica 
Hospital, Utica, New York, as assistant 
to Dr. Gray. His skill and progressive 
ideas in the line he had chosen to special- 
ize were brought to the attention of the 
New York State authorities, and he was 
commissioned to go to Poughkeepsie to 
superintend the establishment of the new 
State Hospital in that city and was a 
member of the committee that chose the 
site. He personally supervised the con- 
struction of the building and the installa- 
tion of the appointments. It was during 
his incumbency that Dr. Cleveland shat- 
tered the rule of force and substituted the 
rule of reason coupled with kindness in 
the treatment of insane patients. He was 
untiring in his efforts to smooth the lot of 
his unfortunate charges and remove, as 
far as in his power lay, the rasp from the 
knowledge of relatives that members of 
their families were removed from free 
spheres of society because of the sore 
affliction that had befallen them. To do 
these things, now the dearest to his great 
heart, he set himself assiduously to work. 
When kindness walked within the hospi- 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tal's walls, where bruitality formerly 
stalked, there came also a change in the 
character name of the institution. Dr. 
Cleveland was one of the first in the move- 
ment, which resulted successfully, in alter- 
ing the name of the hospital from "State 
Institution for the Care of the Insane" to 
"State Hospital for the Insane." As 
showing Dr. Cleveland's insistence upon 
the application of his new treatment of 
patients, the one ofifense against the rules 
of the hospital that he refused to overlook, 
in employee or staflf officers, or anybody 
serving under him, was that of unkind- 
ness to a patient. 

Dr. Cleveland retired from the State 
service in 1893, having served faithfully 
and well for more than twenty-five years. 
He was president and one of the original 
Board of Trustees of Vassar Brothers' 
Hospital, founded in 1882 at Poughkeep- 
sie. In honor of the memory of this man, 
one of the leading physicians of the world 
in his line, the trustees of the Hudson 
River State Hospital have voted to give 
Dr. Cleveland's name to the new nurses' 
and attendants' home, which is to become 
a part of the hospital plant. Dr. E. W. 
Merriman, the assistant superintendent, 
said: "Dr. Cleveland's administration 
compassed most of the building of the 
main hospital and much construction was 
done. Because of his long years of serv- 
ice and his contribution to the original 
planning of the hospital, it has been de- 
cided to name this home after him," who 
was the hospital's first superintendent, 
1871-95. In the latter year he was suc- 
ceeded by Dr. Charles W. Pilgrim as 
superintendent. The latter took over the 
management of a hospital, whose site had 
been purchased about 1866, and to which, 
in 1872, sixty patients were admitted. 
Most of the roadways were planned under 
Dr. Cleveland's administration and the 
general plan of the hospital was conceived 



and furthered under his direction. Dr. 
Cleveland served as president of the 
Board of Managers of Vassar Brothers' 
Hospital. He was a Democrat in politics. 
He was a member of Christ Episcopal 
, Church, Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Cleveland married, at Poughkeep- 
sie, October 17, 1877, Cornelia Frances 
Barculo, daughter of the Hon. Seward 
and Cornelia A. (Talman) Barculo, a 
sketch of whom follows. Three children 
were born to them ; Barculo, born August 
18, 1878, died March 5, 1880; Manning, a 
sketch of whom follows ; and Frederic 
Howland, a sketch of whom follows. Mrs. 
Cleveland, the mother, died in 1882, and 
in her memory were built the beautiful 
chapel and Sunday school of St. Paul's 
Church, Poughkeepsie. 



CLEVELAND, Manning, 

Realtor, Builder. 

Eighth in the line of descent from 
Moses Cleveland, the common ancestor of 
all the Clevelands, Manning Cleveland, of 
Poughkeepsie, the son of a great father 
and himself an integral factor in the life 
and growth of his city, has exhibited over 
a period of many years a rare talent for 
the construction of buildings of architec- 
tural worth for both residential, commer- 
cial and religious purposes. He has served 
the city, State and Nation in offices of 
trust and responsibility. He did not 
allow his business to interfere with devo- 
tion to his country, for when the Federal 
Government desired him for service as 
Deputy United States Marshal during the 
World War, he responded. In all his 
walks of life, varied as they are or have 
been, he has acquitted himself with dis- 
tinction and given valued service to what- 
ever duty came to his hand. 

He was born February 12, 1880, in 
Poughkeepsie, son of Dr. Joseph Manning 



60 




^a^m/^ 




/^ji-tmi-af Mt/i-rfCu/S^tiffy 





^ii^ 


^^^E * 




'4^B 




i' 


/ y 




^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Cornelia Frances (Barculo) Cleve- 
land, a sketch of whom precedes this. 
Manning Cleveland was educated at 
Riverview Academy, a military school, 
and entered the University of Wisconsin 
Law School. At the age of twenty-three 
he engaged in the real estate business, 
with its combining building. With two 
exceptions he built the entire block of 
buildings standing on the east side of 
Academy Street, Poughkeepsie. He has 
bought, sold and remodeled many of the 
finest buildings of the city. In 1910 he 
built the Flatiron Building, on Main and 
Church streets, that city, and at that time 
that section was virtually undeveloped. 
About the year 1910 he started a taxicab 
service, which he operated for a number 
of years. Mr. Cleveland is a strong Dem- 
ocrat and takes pride in his political affili- 
ation. He was president of the Pough- 
keepsie Board of Police Commissioners 
for three years, and has been a deputy 
sheriff of Dutchess County continuously 
since the days of Sheriff Bob Chanler. He 
was appointed Special Deputy United 
States Marshal during the administration 
of the late President Wilson, and occu- 
pied a special office in Poughkeepsie. 

Mr. Cleveland married, at Fishkill Land- 
ing, New York, October 3, 1903, Nora 
Orr, and seven children were born to 
them : Helen Cornelia, born July 4, 1907 ; 
Isabel May, born March 5, 1909; Man- 
ning, Jr., born March 20, 1910; Paul, born 
February 14, 191 1, died in infancy; Mar- 
ion, born May 6, 1912; Raymond, born 
August 2, 1913 ; and Shirley Barculo, born 
April 8, 1924. Mr. Cleveland's children 
are in the ninth generation of the Cleve- 
lands of America. 



CLEVELAND, Frederic Howland, 
Realtor, Agriculturist. 

Frederic Howland Cleveland, in the 
eighth generation from the progenitor of 



the Cleveland family in the United States, 
son of Dr. Joseph Manning and Cornelia 
Frances (Barculo) Cleveland, a sketch of 
whom precedes this, was born May 4, 
1881, in Poughkeepsie, New York. 

He was educated at Riverview Acad- 
emy and under a private tutor. On the 
completion of his studies he took up agri- 
culture and made a specialty of fruit 
growing. At the present writing he owns 
five fruit farms in Dutchess County on 
which are about 24,000 trees, apples, 
peaches and pears of about eighteen varie- 
ties. He is also one of the largest real 
estate owners in Poughkeepsie. He atone 
time owned a large farm for the breeding 
of Arabian horses, which were noted for 
their beauty. Mr. Cleveland was the 
owner of two sons of the Arabian horses 
presented to General Ulysses S. Grant by 
the Sultan of Turkey on General Grant's 
famous trip around the world. Mr. Cleve- 
land is a member of the New York State 
Horticultural Society, and St. Paul's 
Episcopal Church of Poughkeepsie. 



BARCULO, Seward, 

Jurist, Horticulturist. 

Although cut short in life while still in 
his prime. Judge Seward Barculo left an 
imperishable impression on both legal 
and social life, accomplishing much for his 
own fame and for the good of others. 

The family of Barculo is an ancient one 
from the Netherlands. On the River 
Ysel, there is a small town called Borculo ; 
it is near Zutphen, which a famous town 
in the Province of Gelderland, on the 
right bank of the Ysel, and at the influx 
of the Berkel River. Trade is brisk in 
this part of busy Holland, timber floats 
down the Ysel from the Black Forest. 
The soil is good for grain, and there are 
many industries. In the Middle Ages 
Zutphen was the seat of a line of counts 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who ruled this district. Many notable 
wars were fought in Gelderland, and the 
people of the province were all staunch 
upholders of what they deemed their 
rights 

The Barculo family were established in 
Gelderland from very ancient times. 
Their name is spelled in various ways on 
old records, the most common spelling 
being Borkelow or Brochelloo. William 
James Van Borkeloo came to America in 
the seventeenth century. He settled in 
Flatlands, Long Island, and died in 1683. 
He married twice, his second wife being 
Lysbeth janse, a widow. He had seven 
children probably all by his first wife, 
whose name is unknown. Among his 
children was Willem Willense, who lived 
at New Utrecht, Long Island. He took 
the oath of allegiance in 1687, and made 
his will on April 2, 1745. He married 
Marie Cortelyou and had a son Har- 
manus, who married Sarah Terhune. He 
made his will September 8, 1752, and had 
several children, among them being Har- 
manus Barculo, who married Elizabeth 
Duryea in 1765. They were the parents 
of the following children: Sarah, born 
1766, married Rev. Peter Stryker; Cath- 
erine, born 1768, died young; Catherine, 
born 1770, married John Van Dyck; Har- 
manus, born 1772, died young. Harmanus 
H, born 1773, married Maria Suydan; 
John, born 1778, married Catherine Lott; 
William, born in 1780; Elizabeth, born in 
1780; Nancy, born in 1786, married Cor- 
nelius Duryea; George, of whom further. 

George Barculo, son of Harmanus and 
Elizabeth (Duryea) Barculo, was born at 
New Utrecht, Long Island, in 1775. He 
was graduated from Columbia in 1795, 
and licensed to preach in 1798. He was 
made minister of Hopewell and New 
Hackensack, which position he held from 
1805 to 1810. He died in 1832 at Preak- 
ness, New Jersey. He married, Decem- 



ber 16, 1806, Hannah Seward, daughter of 
the Rev. William Seward, who was of 
English descent, the emigrant ancestor 
being William Seward, who was born in 
England in 1627, and came from Bristol 
to New England, settling first in New 
Haven, later in Guilford, Connecticut, but 
he spent the later part of his life at New 
Hackensack, Dutchess County, New 
York, where he lived in a house which is 
still standing. He was by trade a tan- 
ner, and he was commander of the train 
band, and a member of the General As- 
sembly. He died March 29, 1689. He 
married Grace Norton, of Guilford, and 
they were the parents of Captain John 
Seward, born February 14, 1653-54. Cap- 
tain Seward removed from Guilford to 
Durham, and died December 6, 1748. He 
married Abigail Bushnell, daughter of 
William Bushnell, of Saybrook, and they 
were the parents of Deacon William Sew- 
ard, born March 25, 1683-84. Deacon 
Seward spent some of his life in Killings- 
worth, and died May 31, 1764. He mar- 
ried, September 19, 1710, Damaris Pun- 
derson, daughter of John Punderson, Jr., 
of New Haven, Connecticut. They were 
the parents of the Rev. William Seward, 
born July 27, 1712. He took his Bachelor 
of Arts degree at Yale, and died Febru- 
ary 6, 1782. He married Concurrence 
Stevens, daughter of Jeremiah Stevens, 
and was the father of the Rev. William 
Seward, born Novembr 19, 1747, who, fol- 
lowing in his father's steps, went to Yale, 
and took his Bachelor of Arts degree in 
1769. He died in 1822. He married 
Thankful, surname unknown, and they 
were the parents of four children : Ann R., 
who married Jacobus I. Swartwout; Elec- 
tra, born in May, 1786, married James 
Dodge; Philander, born in June, 1791, 
married Susan Manfort; and Hannah, 
who married George Barculo. 

Judge Seward Barculo, the eminent 



62 




5 ^o^^-uj^A 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jurist and horticulturist of Dutchess 
County, was born at Hopewell, New 
York, September 22, 1808, and died 
in New York City, June 20, 1854, while 
on his return from a trip to Europe. 
He was a favorite of his uncle, Jacobus 
I. Swartwout, with whom he spent much 
of his time in boyhood, and who adopted 
him and provided for his education. As 
a boy he was remarkable for the active 
and mischievous turn of his mind, while 
he was at the same time truthful, gen- 
erous, fearless and firm. He began his 
academic course in 1826, at the academy 
in Fishkill Village, under the charge of 
the Rev. Cornelius Westbrook. He pre- 
pared for college at Cornwall, Connecti- 
cut, and entered the freshman class at 
Yale in September, 1828, remaining until 
August, 1830, when, owing to some diffi- 
culty with the faculty, he received an hon- 
orable discharge and entered Rutgers 
College, New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
from which he graduated. He then 
studied law with Stephen Cleveland, of 
Poughkeepsie, was admitted to the bar in 
the spring of 1834, and became a partner 
of Mr. Cleveland. The junior partner 
rapidly acquired confidence and began to 
try his skill, unaided by senior counsel, 
and as Mr. Cleveland was in New York 
much of the time he gradually assumed 
the business of the ofifice, with credit to 
himself and satisfaction to his clients. 
In April, 1845, on the unanimous recom- 
mendation of the Dutchess County bar. 
Governor Wright appointed him County 
Judge, in 1846 he was appointed Circuit 
Judge by Governor Wright, and in 1847 
he was elected one of the justices of the 
Supreme Court for the long term, the 
youngest man ever on this bench, but still 
looked back to and quoted as one of its 
greatest judicial minds. Judge Barculo 
had no negative characteristics ; none of 



the easy and facile utterances of non- 
committal expressions which marked the 
weak and mediocre man who aims at 
political "availability." He was an ex- 
tensive reader, possessed of fine literary 
taste, and took great interest in the pub- 
lic library of the city of Poughkeepsie. 
Horticulture was a favorite pursuit with 
him, and his variety of strawberries, 
peaches, pears and other fruits became 
quite celebrated in this section. To the 
culture of the grape he paid especial at- 
tention, and to the manufacture of wine, 
of which he left some fine varieties. Some 
valuable papers were written by him for 
the "Horticulturists" on the varieties and 
management of fruit. In 1846-50-54 he 
visited Europe. His death occurred June 
20, 1854, in New York City, and he was 
buried with the solemn ritual of the Epis- 
copal Church, of which he was a member. 

On May 12, 1834, Judge Barculo mar- 
ried Cornelia A. Talman, daughter of John 
H. and Sarah (Somerindyk) Talman, of 
New York City, their children were: i. 
Caroline T., who married Judge Charles 
W. Wheaton, of Poughkeepsie. 2. 
Marion. 3. Cornelia Frances, who mar- 
ried Dr. Joseph Manning Cleveland. 

It is one of the consolations of a good 
man that his memory shall not die, that 
the remembrance of his services and vir- 
tues shall be preserved as an inheritance 
to his children, and as an incentive to 
others who may be treading the arduous 
path of public life. The sentiment which 
seeks its gratification in the desire for 
honest fame while we live may legit- 
imately be extended to posthumous re- 
nown. It is a premonition and prophecy 
that we are not all mortal, but that some- 
thing survives and claims a consciousness 
of the character it leaves behind. Judge 
Barculo well merited the epitaph in- 
scribed on his monument: 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In Society an Ornament ; 

In the State, a Judge, fearless, dignified and 

incorruptible. 

In habit, simple and pure. 

He died young, but mature 

in usefulness and fame. 

Adorning Jurisprudence by the clearness of his 

decisions 

And illustrating religion by 

The strength of his Faith. 



WILBUR, Hon. Daniel W., 

Ex-Mayor of City of PougKkeepsie. 

Twice honored by his fellow-citizens 
with election to the office of mayor of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, highly es- 
teemed for his many notable public acts, 
his deeds of charity, and meriting the re- 
spect of the community for his integrity 
in business affairs and financial matters, 
Hon. Daniel W. Wilbur has gone in and 
out among his people for a quarter of a 
century, a recognized leader of men. He 
is a direct descendant of an ancient Eng- 
lish family granted by the Crown the 
right to bear arms. 

Arms — Sable, on a fesse between two boars pas- 
sant, a javeline point of the field. 

Crest — The upper part of a spear proper through 
a boar's head erased argent. 

Motto— Animo nan astutia. (By wisdom not 
by craft.) 

(I) From Doncaster, Suffolk County, 
England, there came to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, in December, 1633, one Samuel 
Wildbore, the founder of the Wilbur 
family in America, and the spelling of 
whose surname was changed by the fifth 
in the line of descent to its present form. 
From this progenitor sprang Ex-Mayor 
Wilbur, among whose ancestry were 
many worthy men of strongly indepen- 
dent religious views and the pioneer in- 
stinct, who made not a little of the history 
of their day and generation. Samuel 
Wildbore himself was a shining example 
of the desirable elements in this hardy 



race, for he was a close and cooperative 
friend of Roger Williams, of revered 
memory, and acting on his advice added 
another to the number of the American 
Colonies by joining in the purchase from 
the Narragansett Indians of the island of 
"Aquednek," now the Rhode Island of 
the New England States. Samuel Wild- 
bore was made a freeman of Boston, 
March 4, 1634. He was the owner of con- 
siderable property in Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts, and also possessed large realty 
holdings in Boston. It is inferred that he 
had two residences, spending part of the 
year in Boston and a part in Taunton. 
Samuel Wildbore was one of the party 
that was banished in November, 1637, 
from Massachusetts Bay Colony because 
they held religious views strongly at vari- 
ance with those held by the ruling major- 
ity. Then it was that adopting the hope- 
ful suggestion of that man of independent 
thought and action, possessing the spirit- 
ually impelling force of the true colonizer, 
Roger Williams, Samuel Wildbore and 
the others of his banished party fled to 
what is now Providence, Rhode Island, 
and there, under divine guidance, they 
negotiated with the Indians for the pur- 
chase of "Little Rhody" and set up within 
its confines a little realm of spiritual free- 
dom for God's freemen and his kin. This 
landmark in American history was made 
by Samuel Wildbore and those of like 
aims and purposes in 1638, in which year 
this forebear of the Wilburs moved his 
family to their new refuge. There came, 
evidently, a time when the rulers of the 
Massachusetts Bay Colony softened in 
their attitude toward these holders of new 
and strange religious views, for Samuel 
Wildbore returned to Boston, 1645, and 
it is supposed that he renewed business 
relations with its people. Then back to 
Taunton, his "other home," he later re- 

64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



turned, and there built the first iron fur- 
nace known to New England. Samuel 
Wildbore was an all-round man of affairs, 
whose deeds and services to his fellows 
seem to have been emulated by his de- 
scendants. He was clerk of the Town 
Board, 1638; constable, 1639; and ser- 
geant, 1644. Samuel Wildbore married 
Ann Bradford, daughter of Thomas Brad- 
ford. The line of descent is through their 
son, William, of whom further. 

(II) William Wildbore, son of Samuel 
and Ann (Bradford) Wildbore, of Little 
Compton, Rhode Island, was born in 1630, 
and died at Tiverton, Rhode Island, 1710. 
He married and was the father of Samuel, 
of whom further. 

(III) Samuel (name changed to Wil- 
bor), son of William Wildbore, was born 
in 1664, and died in 1749. His wife, Mary 
(Potter) Wilbor, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Elizabeth (Starks) Potter, bore him 
a son, Samuel, of whom further. 

(IV) Samuel Wilbor, son of Samuel 
and Mary (Potter) Wilbor, was born No- 
vember 7, 1692, and died April 28, 1752. 
His wife, Elizabeth (Carr) Wilbor, bore 
him a son, Esek, of whom further. 

(V) Esek (name changed to Wilbur), 
son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Carr) Wil- 
bor, was born December 22, 1728, and 
died in 1781. His wife, Rachel (Giflford) 
Wilbur, bore him a son, Jeptha, of whom 
further. 

(VI) Jeptha Wilbur, son of Esek and 
Rachel (Gifford) Wilbur, was born Janu- 
ary 18, 1759, and died in 1843. He was 
one of the "little" nine partners. He 
lived in the town of Milan, Dutchess 
County, New York. His wife, Elizabeth 
(Mosher) Wilbur, bore him a son, Sam- 
uel, of whom further. 

(VII) Samuel Wilbur, son of Jeptha 
and (Elizabeth (Mosher) Wilbur, was 
born on his father's farm, in the town of 



Milan, May 7, 1785. died November 6, 
1826. He was a farmer, and in early life 
settled on a farm in Pine Plains, Dutchess 
County, New York. His wife, Betsy 
(Hicks) Wilbur, bore him a son, Jeptha 
S., of whom further. 

(VIII) Jeptha S. Wilbur, the youngest 
son of Samuel and Betsy (Hicks) Wilbur, 
was born at Pine Plains, Dutchess County, 
Xew York, October 29, 1817, died at Pine 
Plains, New York, September 21, 1885. 
He followed farming until his death. He 
was a church member, a temperance man, 
a strong Abolitionist, a Whig, later a Re- 
publican, and a good citizen. He mar- 
ried Mary Jane Story, and their son, Dan- 
iel W., of whom further. 

(IX) Daniel W. Wilbur, son of Jeptha 
S. and Mary Jane (Story) Wilbur, was 
born at Pine Plains. Dutchess County, 
New York, in 1857. He attended the 
country schools and took a course in the 
De Garmo Institute at Rhinebeck, New 
York. On his return home he assisted his 
father in the cultivation of the farm. He 
remained on the farm until he was 
twenty-five years old, when he removed 
to Red Hook, where he engaged in the 
coal and lumber business in partnership 
with his father-in-law, H. H. Conklin, 
under the firm name of H. H. Conklin & 
Company. The partnership continued 
until the death of Mr. Conklin, August i, 
1883, when Mr. Wilbur succeeded to the 
business, which he managed with success 
for eighteen years. In 1901 he came to 
Poughkeepsie to live, and soon became 
one of the leaders in the business life of 
that city. While a resident of Red Hook, 
and prior to 1901, Mr. Wilbur bought of 
William H. Sheldon his coal business and 
of E. B. Taylor his lumber business, both 
of Poughkeepsie, and incorporated the 
Wilbur Company, of which Mr. Wilbur 
has been president since its organization. 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In 1909 he became the incorporator of the 
Hygeia Ice and Storage Company, which 
continued in business until 1919, when the 
concern dissolved. Mr. Wilbur was also 
one of the incorporators of the Kail Rock 
Chair Company, which has ceased to do 
business. 

Mr. Wilbur has always been a strong 
advocate of the principles of the Repub- 
lican party. His fellow-citizens honored 
him with the mayoralty nomination in 
1913, and he was elected. So able an ad- 
ministration did he give the city that he 
was renominated in 1914 and was re- 
turned to the executive office January i, 
1915. Mr. Wilbur continued to be much 
in the public eye and in demand for ser- 
vice. In 1917 Governor Whitman ap- 
pointed him a member of the local board, 
of which he served as chairman until the 
end of the World War. Mr. Wilbur was 
prominently identified with others in the 
promotion of the Poughkeepsie Highway 
Bridge bill, which passed the New York 
State Legislature in May, 1923. His civic 
pride has also found expression in the 
gift of the site on which the St. Francis 
Hospital stands. Mr. Wilbur was one of 
the incorporators of the village of Red 
Hook in 1895, and was a member of the 
original board of village trustees until 
his removal to Poughkeepsie. 

Mr. Wilbur's clubs are the Amrita and 
Elks, of Poughkeepsie. He has been a 
trustee of the Washington Street Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church for twenty years, 
and was a member of the General Confer- 
ence of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
held at Springfield, Massachusetts, 1924. 
He is essentially a home man, of domestic 
habits, devoted to the good of the com- 
munity, and deeply interested in the wel- 
fare of the city and its people. 

Mr. Wilbur married, November 17, 
1881, Mary G. Conklin, daughter of Henry 



H. and Ann Eliza (Gifford) Conklin, and 
is of an old Dutchess County family and 
Revolutionary stock. 



MOFFIT, Albert R., ^ 

Attending Surgeon Vaasar Brothers* 
Hospital, Fonghkeepsie. 

In a direct line from a sturdy Scotch 
forebear, who came to this country from 
Scotland during the French-English War 
to serve the Crown as a British soldier, 
and who afterward was one of the settlers 
of Central Illinois, comes Dr. Albert R. 
Moffit, attending surgeon at Vassar 
Brothers' Hospital, Poughkeepsie, New 
York, great-grandson of William Mof- 
fit, the Scottish progenitor of this branch 
of the American Moiifits. "Blood will 
tell," and so it was that when the Civil 
War broke out. Dr. Moffit's father en- 
tered the army for the preservation of the 
Union ; and Dr. Moffit himself has fought 
his way over numerous obstacles until he 
has reached a very high place in his pro- 
fession. The Moffits have been noted for 
centuries for their indomitable and ad- 
venturesome spirit, their pioneering in- 
stinct and their deeds of valor on the field 
of battle and in the realm of the profes- 
sions; therefore, it would have been 
wholly out of the Moffit order of things 
had the Moffit of this review been satis- 
fied to have unsuccessfully sought the 
royal road to learning. 

William Moffit, the British soldier who 
later became one of the pioneers of Cen- 
tral Illinois, married Mary Porter. They 
were the parents of a son, William Moffit, 
born in Illinois. He became a farmer on 
his section, joining the early settlers in 
opening up the country. He married 
Mary Carlton. They were the parents of 
Aaron Carlton Moffit, born in Illinois, in 
1840. He received a common school edu- 



66 




^^^rZ,r^jJjL 



^^. 



^t^i^'Z-^t^r^t-'t-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cation. At the outbreak of the Civil War 
Aaron C. Moffit enlisted at Jubilee, Illi- 
nois, in the 48th Regfiment, Illinois Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and became first ser- 
geant of Company K. The war ended, he 
settled in Princeville, Illinois, where he 
followed the trade of wagon maker and 
wheelwright, and later became a carpen- 
ter and builder, which trade he followed 
until he retired from active work. He 
died November 30, 1921. He married 
Mary Jane Rowcliffe, daughter of William 
and Mary (Ford) Rowcliffe, of County 
Devonshire, England, and of this union 
there were two children: Fred Howard, 
born in 1873, at Princeville, Illinois, grad- 
uated from Williams College, and a post- 
graduate of Columbia University, New 
York City; he is a government geologist 
at Washington, District of Columbia ; 
and Albert R., of whom further. 

Albert R. Mofifit was born at Prince- 
ville, October 11, 1876. He attended the 
common schools of Princeville, and 
Princeville Academy. He entered Wil- 
liams College with the class of 1898, and 
was graduated with the degree of A. B. 
He entered Columbia University College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, and was 
graduated with the class of 1904, degree 
of Medical Doctor. The three years fol- 
lowing his graduation he saw surgical ser- 
vice at St. Luke's Hospital, New York 
City. In 1907 he removed to Poughkeep- 
sie. New York, to become assistant sur- 
geon of Vassar Brothers' Hospital. In 
1909 Dr. Moffit was appointed attending 
surgeon of this hospital, a position which 
he still holds. His services are devoted 
exclusively to surgery, in which field he is 
widely acknowledged to be an expert. 
Dr. Moffit is a Fellow of the American 
Medical Association, Fellow of the Amer- 
ican College of Surgeons, member of the 
New York State Medical Society, Dutch- 



ess and Putnam Counties Medical So- 
ciety, Poughkeepsie Academy of Medi- 
cine, and Alumni Association of St. 
Luke's Hospital, New York City. He is 
a member of the Presbyterian Church of 
Princeville, Illinois. His clubs are: The 
Amrita and Dutchess Golf and Country, 
of Poughkeepsie, and Williams Club of 
New York City. 

Dr. Moffit married, November 18, 
1916, Ella Borland, daughter of John and 
Constance (Reeves) Borland, of New 
York City and New Hamburg, New York. 



SEAMAN, George, 

Coal Merchant, Financier. 

The late George Seaman, who for more 
than fifty years was a prominent, widely 
known, and respected citizen of Pough- 
keepsie, Dutchess County, New York, 
was descended from the Seaman family 
of Long Island, whose common ancestor. 
Captain John Seaman, was an influential 
colonist of the early days. Captain Sea- 
man was the father of eight sons and 
eight daughters, all of whom married and 
had numerous offspring. The direct line, 
therefore, is obscured by literally thou- 
sands of Seaman surnames, but as far as 
can be ascertained the line of descent is 
as follows: (i) Captain John Seaman; 
(2) Nathaniel Seaman; (3) Nathaniel 
Seaman; (4) Ambrose Seaman; and (5) 
Samuel Seaman, the latter of whom was 
the grandfather of George Seaman, of this 
record. 

(I) Samuel Seaman, probably the son 
of Ambrose Seaman, removed from Staten 
Island, New York, in 1833, and settled in 
Dutchess County, New York. His two 
brothers. Hicks and Stephen, accompa- 
nied him, but they later went on to Sara- 
toga County. Samuel Seaman located in 
Hyde Park, where he was soon engaged 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the manufacture of woolen cloth. An 
ancestor, Zebulun Seaman, was noted 
as being the manufacturer of the finest 
linen in America, which he made from 
flax grown upon his own property, and 
prepared by his wife, Phebe (Valentine) 
Seaman. A piece of this homespun linen 
is still in existence. Samuel Seaman mar- 
ried Sarah Billings, and they were the 
parents of six children, among whom 
was Nelson, of whom further. 

(II) Nelson Seaman, one of the six 
children of Samuel and Sarah (Billings) 
Seaman, was born in the year 1833, and 
died in Poughkeepsie, New York, Sep- 
tember 26, 1904. He followed the trade 
of carpenter and builder, and constructed 
many buildings throughout this section. 
He was a Republican in politics, and 
served Poughkeepsie as a member of the 
Board of Aldermen. Nelson Seaman was 
married to Elizabeth Millard, whose 
death occurred on January 29, 1888. They 
were the parents of George, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(III) George Seaman, son of Nelson 
and Elizabeth (Millard) Seaman, was 
born in Poughkeepsie, Dutchess County, 
New York, October 18, 1854. He was 
educated in the Quaker schools of his 
birthplace, following which he attended 
the Warring Military School. Upon the 
completion of his scholastic work, in 1872, 
he entered the employ of the firm of Col- 
lingwood, Millard & Company, coal and 
lumber dealers. In 1894 Mr. Seaman be- 
came a partner of the late George Colling- 
wood, under the firm name of Colling- 
wood & Seaman, they having purchased 
the coal business of George E. Dutcher, 
in the northeast section of the city. After 
the death of Mr. Collingwood the busi- 
ness was continued by Mr. Seaman under 
the original name of Collingwood & Sea- 
man, and at the present time (1924) is 



one of the oldest coal concerns in the city. 
For many years Mr. Seaman was a direc- 
tor of the Farmers' & Manufacturers' 
National Bank, and in the year 1912 was 
elected vice-president of the institution, 
which important office he held for many 
years. At a meeting of the board of 
directors of the bank, held on June 30, 
1924, following the death of Mr. Seaman, 
the following expression of regret and 
esteem was passed : 

Since the last meeting of this Board it has 
learned of the death of George Seaman, for many 
years one of its directors. 

Mr. Seaman, while in health, was diligent and 
faithful in the performance of his duties as a 
director and his cheerful and helpful disposition 
endeared him to all his fellow-directors. They all 
feel a personal loss in his death, and that the bank 
has lost a valuable and efficient officer. They wish 
to express to his widow, and the immediate mem- 
bers of his family the respect and affection in 
which they held their deceased associate, and their 
sympathy for them in their loss. 

Let this be inscribed in full upon the minutes of 
the Board, and a copy sent to Mrs. Seaman. 

Mr. Seaman was also prominent in 
club life, holding membership in the 
Amrita Club; the Dutchess Golf & 
Country Club ; the Poughkeepsie Rotary 
Club ; and at one time was actively con- 
nected with the Apokeepsing Boat Club. 
For years Mr. Seaman had been a loyal 
and sincere member of Trinity Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

George Seainan was married in Boston, 
Massachusetts, June 19, 1895, ^o Cora U. 
L. Knapp, a daughter of Jerome B. and 
Sarah (Sickles) Knapp, old residents of 
Ulster County, New York. Mrs. Cora 
U. L. (Knapp) Seaman, on the maternal 
side, comes from Revolutionary stock, 
and is a member of the local chapter of 
the Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion. 

The death of George Seainan occurred 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at his home in Poughkeepsie, New York, 
June i8, 1924. He is survived by his 
widow, Mrs. Cora U. L. (Knapp) Sea- 
man. In the death of George Seaman 
Poughkeepsie lost a sterling citizen. He 
was one of the most prominent business 
men of the city, and the head of a concern 
that has been foremost among local in- 
dustries for a long period of years. A 
quiet, thoughtful man he said or did no- 
thing for display or eclat. Always a gentle- 
man it was a pleasure to be associated with 
him socially and in business discussions. 
He was prominent in church and club 
circles, and possessed a host of friends 
who deeply regret his passing. His life 
was long and useful and he goes to his 
eternal repose with the honor and affec- 
tion of all who knew him. 



FISH, Hamilton, 

Congressman, 'World War Veteran. 

Three generations of this family have 
been headed by a Hamilton Fish, and 
within the recollection of the present 
generation have held either Cabinet, 
Senatorial or House seats. The elder 
Hamilton Fish was Lieutenant-Governor 
of New York State, Governor of New 
York State, United States Senator from 
New York State, elected to all as a Whig, 
and Secretary of State in the cabinet of 
President Grant, a Republican. His son, 
Hamilton (2) Fish, was elected a member 
of the Sixty-First Congress, and his son, 
Hamilton (3) Fish, was elected to fill a 
vacancy in the Sixty-Sixth Congress, and 
was reelected to the Sixth-Seventh, being 
the present sitting member from the 
Twenty-Sixth New York Congressional 
District comprising the counties of Dut- 
chess, Orange and Putnam. 

Hamilton (i) Fish was a son of Colo- 
nel Nicholas and Elizabeth (Stuyvesant) 



Fish, his mother a descendant of Peter 
Stuyvesant, the Dutch-Colonial Governor 
of New Amsterdam. The earliest Ameri- 
can ancestor of the family, Jonathan Fish, 
was born in England, in 1610. He early 
came to New England, settling in Lynn, 
Massachusetts, afterward removing to 
Sandwich, and thence to Newtown, Long 
Island. From Jonathan Fish the line of 
descent is through his son, Nathan Fish ; 
his son, Jonathan Fish ; his son, Samuel 
Fish; his son, Jonathan Fish; his son, 
Colonel Nicholas Fish ; his son, Hamilton 
Fish ; his son, Nathan Fish, who died in 
Newtown, Long Island, August i, 1734; 
his son, Jonathan Fish, of Newtown, a 
man of value to his town and church ; 
his son, Samuel Fish, a man of influence 
in Newtown, who was thrice married, and 
had fifteen children ; his son, Jonathan 
Fish, who dwelt in Newtown, but for 
some years was a merchant of New York 
City ; his son, Colonel Nicholas Fish, who 
was the father of Hamilton (i) Fish of 
this review. 

Colonel Nicholas Fish, only son of 
Jonathan and Elizabeth (Sackett) Fish, 
was born in New York City, August 28, 
1758, died in the city of his birth, at his 
home. No. 21 Stuyvesant Street, June 20, 
1833. He studied law, but on the out- 
break of war with the Mother Country 
he entered the Colonial service, receiving 
a lieutenancy in the First New York 
Regiment. On November 21, 1776, he 
was appointed by Congress, Major of the 
Second New York Regiment, of the Con- 
tinental Army, and at the close at that 
year, by resolution of Congress, was com- 
missioned Lieutenant-Colonel. He took 
part in the battle of Long Island, the bat- 
tle of Monmouth, and was with General 
Sullivan in his expedition against the 
Indians. He was engaged in the fighting 
which led to the surrender of General 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Burgoyne at Saratoga, and was with his 
lifelong friend, General Hamilton, in the 
final assault at Yorktown. He enjoyed 
the confidence of Washington and was by 
him appointed a division inspector in 
1778, under General Steuben. He con- 
tinued in the regular army for a few years 
after the close of the war, commanding a 
regiment of infantry at Fort Mcintosh, 
and at other points on the river. 

Colonel Fish was one of the original 
members of the Society of the Cincin- 
nati, assistant-treasurer of New York 
chapter at the organization and president 
thereof, 1 797-1804. He was the first adju- 
tant-General of the State of New York, 
1786-1793, and for several years was 
Supervisor of the Revenue, appointed by 
President Washington in 1794. He was 
an alderman of New York City, 1806-17, 
serving on the Committee of Defense 
during 1812-14. He was chairman of the 
board of trustees of Columbia College, 
1824-1832, and in 1831 was the last presi- 
dent of the Butchers' and Drovers' Bank. 
He was a devout churchman and served 
the Episcopal Church in many capacities. 
His epitaph in St. Mark's Church in the 
Bowerie records : 

He was the faithful soldier of Christ and of 
his country. 

Colonel Nicholas Fish married, April 
30, 1803, Elizabeth Stuyvesant, daughter 
of Petrus Stuyvesant, a great-grandson 
of the last Dutch Governor of New Am- 
sterdam (New York). 

Hamilton (i) Fish, son of Colonel 
Nicholas and Elizabeth (Stuyvesant) 
Fish, was born in New York City, August 
3, 1808, died at Glen-Clyflfe, near Garrison, 
New York, September 7, 1893. He com- 
pleted his classical education at Columbia 
College with the class of 1827, then 
studied law and was admitf^d to the New 



York bar in 1830. From the beginning 
of his law studies he took a deep interest 
in politics, espousing the Whig side. For 
several years he was a commissioner of 
deeds, and in 1834 was the Whig candi- 
date from his district for Assembly, but 
was defeated. In 1842 he was a candidate 
for Congress from the Sixth District of 
New York City, was elected, but in 1844 
was defeated for reelection. In 1846 he 
was the unsuccessful candidate for Lieu- 
tenant-Governor of New York, but the 
successful candidate Adderson Gardner 
was made a Judge of the Court of 
Appeals, Mr. Fish being elected to suc- 
ceed him in 1847. In 1848 he was elected 
Governor of New York, and in 185 1 he 
was chosen United States Senator to 
succeed Daniels Dickinson. In the 
Senate he opposed the repeal of the "Mis- 
souri Compromise," and from the forma- 
tion of the Republican party in 1856 he 
acted with that party. He retired from 
the Senate at the expiration of his term, 
March 4, 1857. 

Upon retiring from the Senate he re- 
sumed the practice of law in New York 
City, and in 1859-60 he toured Europe. 
On his return he warmly supported the 
candidacy of Abraham Lincoln, and in 
1861 he ardently espoused the Union 
cause. He served on numerous commit- 
tees, and served in January, 1862, under 
appointment of Secretary of War Stanton 
on a commission, "to relieve the neces- 
sities and provide for the comfort of 
Federal prisoners in Confederate prisons." 
The refusal of the Confederate Gover- 
nors to treat with this Commission save 
upon the principle of a general exchange 
of prisoners soon resulted in a satisfac- 
tory system of exchange. 

On March 11, 1869, Mr. Fish became a 
member of President Grant's Cabinet, 
succeeding Elihu B. Washburn, as Secre- 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tary of State. He held that portfolio 
through President Grant's second term, 
and in the Cabinet of President Hayes 
until March 12, 1877, then surrendered 
it to William M. Evarts, the choice of 
President Hayes. Mr. Fish was the 
father of the joint high commission to 
arrange the differences with Great Britain 
in 1871, served as a member thereof and 
was appointed plenipotentiary to sign the 
treaty settling the Alabama claims and 
Northwestern boundary question the 
same year. In November, 1873, he nego- 
tiated the settlement of the "Virginius" 
question with the Spanish minister at 
Washington. 

In matters educational and patriotic, 
Mr. Fish figured prominently. He was a 
trustee of his alma mater, Columbia Col- 
lege, from 1840 until 1893, and chairman 
of the board, 1859-93 ! president of the 
General Order of the Cincinnati, 1854- 
93 ; chairman of the Union Defense Com- 
mittee, 1861-65 ; president of the New 
York Historical Society, 1867-69 ; trustee 
of the Astor Library; and one of the 
original trustees of the Peabody Educa- 
tion Fund appointed by the founder. He 
received the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Laws from Columbia College in 1850, 
Union College in 1869, and from Harvard 
in 1871. 

Hamilton (i) Fish married, in 1836, 
Julia Kean, daughter of John Kean, long 
a leader of the Republican party in New 
York. Mrs. Fish died in 1887, leaving 
three sons and five daughters: Hamilton 
(2) of whom further; Nicholas; Stuy- 
vesant; Sarah Norris, married Sidney 
Webster; Elizabeth Stuyvesant, married 
G. d'Nauteville ; Julia Kean, married 
Colonel S. N. Benjamin; Susan Le Roy, 
married William E. Rogers ; Edith 
Livingston, married Oliver Northcole. 
The family home became Glen-Clyffe at 



Garrison, New York, and there Mr. Fish 
died, aged eighty-five. 

Hamilton (2) Fish, eldest son of 
Hamilton (i) and Julia (Kean) Fish, 
was born at Albany, New York, April 
17, 1849. He attended private schools in 
his own State and in Switzerland, Europe, 
later becoming a student at Columbia 
College, whence he was graduated, class 
of 1869. He chose to follow his father's 
profession, and after ample preparation 
was admitted to the New York bar in 
1873. He practiced his profession in New 
York City, but soon after his admission 
to the bar his father was appointed Secre- 
tary of State in President Grant's Cabinet 
and from 1869 until 1872 the young man 
acted in the capacity of private secretary 
to his father. He then returned to the 
practice of law in New York City, and for 
several terms represented a Putnam 
County district in the New York Legisla- 
ture, and during the session of 1895-96 
served as Speaker of the House 

He then again devoted himself to the 
practice of his profession until 1903, 
when he was appointed assistant trea- 
surer of the United States at New York 
by President Roosevelt, serving in office 
under one reappointment until October 
1908, when he resigned. He was elected 
as a Republican to the Sixty-first Con- 
gress, March 4, 1909-March 3, 191 1. 
After leaving Congress Mr. Fish estab- 
lished his residence at Garrison. During 
his legislative career Mr. Fish served as 
a member of important committees and 
upon the staff of Governor John A. Dix, 
as aide-de-camp. He was one of the 
recognized leaders of the Republican 
party in New York State, and in 1884 was 
a delegate to the National Convention at 
Philadelphia, which nominated James G. 
Blaine, of Maine, "The Plumed Knight," 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for president, he going down in defeat 
before Grover Cleveland, of New York. 

Hamilton (2) Fish married (first), in 
1880, Emily M. Mann, daughter of Fran- 
cis N. Mann, of Troy, New York, and 
they were the parents of five children. 
Mr. Fish married (second), in 1912, 
Florence Delaplaine Amsinck, widow of 
Gustav Amsinck. 

Hamilton (3) Fish, and son of Hamilton 
(2) Fish, was born at Garrison, fifty miles 
north of New York, in Putnam County, 
New York, December 7, 18S8. He was 
early prepared to enter college, and at the 
age of twenty was graduated cum laude 
from Harvard University. He was not 
only a student but an athlete, and gained 
the distinction of leading the Varsity foot- 
ball team as its captain. In the business 
world Mr. Fish is known as the capable 
vice-president of John C. Paige Company, 
general insurance. No. 115 Broadway, 
New York City, but is better known 
through his political prominence and his 
military record in the war with Germany. 
In 1914 he made his entrance into politi- 
cal life as a member of the New York 
State Assembly, a body in which he 
served three consecutive terms. He was 
then out of politics until after the war, 
when he was elected to fill a vacancy in 
the Sixty-sixth Congress of the United 
States, caused by the resignation of Ed- 
mund Piatt. He was the regular candi- 
date of the Republican party for the same 
seat and was elected by a large majority 
and is now serving in the Sixth-seventh 
Congress from the Twenty-sixth New 
York District composed of Dutchess, 
Orange and Putnam. 

When the Congress of the United 
States declared a state of war against 
Germany in the spring of 1917, Mr. Fish 
tendered his services and was commis- 
sioned Captain of Colored Infantry (15th 
Regiment, New York Volunteers) later 



known as the 369th Regiment of Infantry, 
United States Army, went overseas, and 
took an active part in the battle of Cham- 
pagne, July 15, and in the general offen- 
sive of September, 1918, following. 
Captain Fish was decorated with the 
Croix de Guerre for his conspicuous bra- 
very at the capture of the Village of 
Sechoult, and later was commissioned 
major of Infantry, Fourth Division Army 
of Occupation. He is a graduate of the 
Army General Staff College, American 
Expeditionary Forces, and when he re- 
turned to the United States was honor- 
ably discharged from the service. 

Congressman Fish married, September 
24, 1921, Grace Chapin, daughter of Alfred 
Chapin, a former Democratic mayor of 
Brooklyn, New York. 



TUTHILL, Robert K. 



/ 



Physician, Snrgeon. 

For more than sixty years Pough- 
keepsie, New York, relied upon the pro- 
fessional skill and ability of a Dr. Tuthill, 
beginning in 1847 when Dr. Samuel Tut- 
hill came to the city from Newburgh, 
New York, and quickly won his way to 
high standing as a physician and as a 
citizen. Then, in 1859, his son, Robert 
K. Tuthill, joined his father in practice, 
but only until 1861, when he responded to 
the President's call, and not until 1864 
were his services available to his home 
community. Then he again assumed the 
responsibilities of private practice and 
served Poughkeepsie with faithfulness 
and vigilance until his passing in 1909, 
having been in continuous practice from 
1859 until 1909, a full half-century, all 
passed in Poughkeepsie excepting his 
years of military service as surgeon. He 
was a physician of deep learning and yet 
all his life he was a student, always 



72 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seeking "more light" through study, re- 
search and observation. Nearly a decade 
and a half has elapsed since Dr. Tuthill 
wrote his last prescription and performed 
his last operation, but his memory is green 
in the city he loved and in which he left 
a host of friends who believed in him, 
trusted him and loved him. He was 
blessed with a keen sense of humor, and 
this with his wit greatly aided him. 

To have known him as a family physician is to 
have felt the influence of good cheer and constant 
hope in the sick room. His presence brought con- 
fidence and relief like a benediction to the suf- 
ferer. He was for almost a generation among the 
busiest of men to be found in the community. He 
numbered his patients among the rich and the poor, 
and he gave in fullest measure all his splendid 
gifts in every case with which he had anything 
to do. His skill was acknowledged wherever he 
was known and his pleasing personality endeared 
him to his patients and their friends. 

The name Tuthill is probably derived 
from tot-hill, or tut-hill, an artificial 
mound or tumulus, a number of these 
mounds being found in widely separated 
localities in England. Families living 
near them in ancient times probably re- 
ceived this designation as a surname. 
The largest of these tumuli, called tut- 
hill, in Thetford, Norfolk County, Eng- 
land, is described by Blomefield, the 
historian of Norfolk County; it was 
probably raised by the Danes in 871 A. 
D. to cover their slain after the battle 
with King Edward. 

The arms of the Tuthills of Norfolk, 
as given in the Visitation of Essex, in 
1634, are. 

Arnus — Or, on a chevron azure, three crescents 
argent. 

Crest — A leopard passant, sable, crowned or, on 
a mound vert. 

These arms, without the crest, are 
found in the church of Trowse-with- 
Newton, Norfolk, England, on the tomb 



of Elizabeth, wife of Sir Roger Dalyson, 
daughter of William Tuthill, of Newton, 
Gentleman, and granddaughter of John 
Tuthill, of Saxlingham. She died Sep- 
tember 27, 1585, in her nineteenth year. 

John Tuthill, of Saxlingham, father of 
Henry Tuthill, born in 1580, was, perhaps, 
brother of William Tuthill, named above. 

Henry Tuthill, of Tharston, Norfolk 
County, England, was born in 1580, as 
above stated, and is the ancestor of this 
branch of the Tuthill family in America. 
He died in 1619. He was the third son of 
John Tuthill, of Saxlingham, and married 
Alice (Gooch?). They had five children: 
John, born in 1607; William, born in 
1609; Henry, of whom further; Alice, 
baptized in 1614; Elizabeth, baptized in 
1616. 

Henry Tuthill, son of Henry and Alice 
(Gooch?) Tuthill, was born at Tharston, 
Norfolk County, England, in 1612, and 
baptized on the 28th of June of that year. 
He came to Hingham, Massachusetts, in 
1637, receiving a land grant there on July 
17. He married, in England, Bridget, 
surname unknown, who came with him 
to America. She survived him and mar- 
ried again after her first husband's death. 
Henry Tuthill and his wife settled in 
Hingham, Massachusetts. He was made 
a freeman in March, 1638, and constable 
in 1640. He sold his lot in Hingham, 
June 20, 1644, and doubtless came to 
Southold, where it is said he settled in 
the same year. It is also stated that both 
he and his wife died before 1650. Their 
children were: John, of whom further; 
Elizabeth, married William Johnson; 
Nathaniel, died at Southold in 1660; 
Daniel, died at Southold in 1658. 

John Tuthill, son of Henry and Bridget 
Tuthill, was born in 1635. He married, in 
1657, Deliverance King, and was an ex- 
tensive land owner. He was, with little 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



or no doubt, the link through whom the 
family under the present consideration 
was descended. John and Deliverance 
Tuthill had nine children, some of whom 
married on Long Island, and others re- 
moved to various localities. Their son, 
John Tuthill, who was born in 1658, mar- 
ried Mehitabel Wells, daughter of Wil- 
liam Wells. They were the parents of a 
number of children, among whom was 
Foregift Tuthill, born in 1698, and mar- 
ried, in 1727, Abigail Goldsmith. They 
settled in Orange County, New York. 
They had children, Abigail, Nathaniel, 
Joshua, and Freegift, the sons all being 
soldiers of the Revolutionary War. 
Among the children of their son Nathan- 
iel was a son, John Tuthill, who fought in 
the War of 1812, and removed from 
Blooming Grove to Chemung County in 
1819. Among his children was Hiram 
Tuthill, who was born in 1799, and who 
also had a son Hiram ; the name being 
that of an uncle of Dr. Robert K. Tuthill 
and of a brother of Dr. Samuel Tuthill, 
father of Dr. Robert K. Tuthill. 

Samuel Tuthill, M. D., father of Dr. 
Robert K. Tuthill, was born in Blooming 
Grove, Orange County, New York, April 
2, 181 1, and died in 1890, the youngest of 
the ten children of Samuel and Eunice 
(Youngs) Tuthill. His father was a 
farmer, and originally came from Long 
Island, and died when his son Samuel 
was twelve years of age. The son Samuel 
remained on the farm with his mother 
and elder brother Hiram until his eight- 
eenth year. He was educated in the dis- 
trict schools of that day, and was reared 
in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. In 1837 he began the study of 
medicine with Dr. Thomas Lapham, a 
well-known "Thompsonian" physician in 
Poughkeepsie, and entered upon his pro- 
fessional career in Kingston, New York, 



in 1840, and in 1848 he returned to Pough- 
keepsie and practiced the "Eclectic 
School of Medicine," to which he rose to 
high rank, having been honored and 
licensed as an M. D. by Syracuse Medical 
College and the Medical College of the 
City of New York. He was president of 
the District Eclectic Society and the New 
York Eclectic Society, also serving as 
as treasurer of the latter named society. 
Although he never was identified with the 
"old school" of medicine, he enjoyed the 
confidence and respect of its members. 
Dr. Tuthill was a man of remarkable 
physique, dignified and courteous in man- 
ner, and a general favorite with all on 
account of his kindness of heart and good 
sense. For years he was an alderman in 
the Poughkeepsie city government, and 
a member of the County Legislature as a 
supervisor, where he was locally famous 
as a ready, witty and direct speaker. For 
many years Dr. Tuthill and his family 
were members of the Cannon Street 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and Dr. 
Tuthill served as one of the district 
stewards and lay delegates to the New 
York Annual Conference. By common 
consent it was truly said of Dr. Tuthill 
that he was a representative man, in 
medicine, in politics and in the church. 

Dr. Tuthill married, in 1833, Sally 
Maria Kelly, a native of England. They 
were the parents of six children. Robert 
K., of whom further; James Youngs; 
Orpha Maria; Sarah Elizabeth; Marj' 
Ida, and a son who died in infancy. 

Dr. Robert K. Tuthill, son of Dr. 
Samuel and Sally Maria (Kelly) Tuthill, 
was born in Newburgh, New York, Janu- 
ary 18, 1835, and died in Poughkeepsie, 
New York, June 11, 1909. The first thir- 
teen years of his life were spent in New- 
burgh, but in 1848 Poughkeepsie became 
the family home.and there he completed 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



full courses of preparatory training before 
entering upon his life work, the practice 
of medicine and surgery. He was trained 
by his eminent father to succeed him, and 
after his training he entered New York 
Medical College, whence he was gradu- 
ated M. D., class of 1859. 

The year of graduation he began prac- 
tice at Poughkeepsie and continued until 
about the middle of April, 1861, when he 
volunteered his services to the Govern- 
ment and went to the front with the 
Twenty -first Regiment, New York Volun- 
teer Infantry, as assistant surgeon. He 
was later appointed assistant surgeon of 
the Eightieth Regiment, and in 1863 was 
promoted to the rank of surgeon and as- 
signed to the One Hundred and Forty 
Fifth Regular New York Infantry. In 
June, 1863, he was made surgeon of the 
First Brigade (six regiments). First 
Division, Twelfth Army Corps, and early 
in 1864 was appointed surgeon-in-chief of 
the First Division (fourteen regiments) 
of the Twelfth Army Corps. He was with 
the Army of the Potomac in all its princi- 
pal battles, and also did duty with the 
Army of the Cumberland. By his general 
professional ability and his strict obser- 
vance of sanitary regulations. Dr. Tuthill 
kept his regiment and brigade in such a 
healthy and physical condition of effici- 
ency that he received special commenda- 
tion from the War Department officials. 
His service continued throughout the 
war, when he returned to Poughkeepsie 
a veteran surgeon, then only about thirty 
years of age. 

From 1865 until his death in 1909 Dr. 
Tuthill was a notably successful practi- 
tioner of medicine and surgery in Pough- 
keepsie. In 1862 he had been in charge 
of the military hospital at Fredericks- 
burg, Virginia; from 1870 until its clos- 
ing in 1887 he was a member of the surgi- 
cal staff of St. Barnabas Hospital, Pough- 



keepsie, and from the opening of Vassar 
Brothers' Hospital in 1887 until 1909 he 
was a member of its surgical staff selected 
by its founder, Mathew Vassar. From 
1898 until his death he was a member of 
the consulting staff of the hospital. He 
visited many hospitals and attended many 
clinics in the European surgical and medi- 
cal centers of learning, London, Paris, 
Berlin, Vienna, always being anxious to 
keep in close touch with all advances in 
diagnosis, treatment, instrument and 
operation. He accepted only one office 
from his city, health officer, and that he 
filled for four terms. He was president 
of the Dutchess County Medical Society 
for two years, member of the New York 
Medical Society and of other societies 
of physicians and surgeons. He was a 
Companion of the New York Chapter, 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion of 
the United States ; a charter member of 
Hamilton Post, Grand Army of the Re- 
public ; and was affiliated with Lodge, 
Chapter and Commandery of the Masonic 
Order, and was one of the founders of the 
Amrita Club. He was a member of the 
Reformed Dutch Church of Poughkeepsie. 
Dr. Tuthill married, April 6, 1864, 
Cornelia de Irius Eckert, daughter of 
Eugene Erskine and Catherine C. de 
Irius Eckert, of Poughkeepsie, of Holland 
and French ancestry, respectively. Dr. 
and Mrs. Tuthill were the parents of four 
children: i. Edith Craig, died at the age 
of five years. 2. Grace Eckert, died at 
the age of three years. 3. Josephine 
Corlies, residing with her mother in 
Poughkeepsie. 4. Albert Sidney, died in 
infancy. 



CANNON, Pelton, 

Financier. 

The ancestors of the Cannon family, 
who originally spelled their name Canon, 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were among that great and worthy throng 
of thrifty French Protestants, who during 
the poHtical and religious disturbances of 
the seventeenth century fled from France 
to England and later to America. The 
Canon family settled on Staten Island, 
where the earliest of the name Andries 
(or Andrew) and his son Abraham signed 
their names Canon. The modern spell- 
ing. Cannon, was not adopted until the 
eighteenth century, and on Staten Island 
the name was usually accented on the last 
syllable. Andries or Andrew Canon was 
a resident of Staten Island as early as 
1680, and there he raised his family. 
Records indicate that he was born in 165 1, 
and his death occurred in March, 1710. 
He was twice married, first to Jane 
Pierce, who died before 1695, and second 
to Anna Papin, who was still alive in 1727. 
Among the children of the first marriage 
was John, of whom further. 

John Canon, son of Andries, or Andrew, 
and Jane (Pierce) Canon, was born in 
1677, died in 1746-48. He was "a boat- 
man," plying between Staten Island and 
New York in 1699. He purchased land 
in New York City in 1706 and 1718, and 
in 1728 was the owner of Cannon's wharf, 
which adjoined Schermerhorn's wharf, ex- 
tending toward, if not over, the present 
Fulton Market in New York. He mar- 
ried, in 1697, Maria Le Grand, daughter 
of Pierre and Jeanne (de Mendell) Le 
Grand. It is interesting to note that the 
first four of their children were baptized 
in the French Church in New York, and 
the remainder in the Dutch Church of the 
same city. Among their thirteen chil- 
dren was Peter, of whom further. 

Peter Cannon, son of John and Maria 
(Le Grand) Canon, was born in New 
York, March 11, 171 1. He was master of 
the sloop "Two Brothers," which ran be- 
tween New York and South Carolina. He 



married, in 1732, Willentje (or Wil- 
lemyntje) Schermerhorn, daughter of Ar- 
nout and Marytje (Beekman) Schermer- 
horn. and their first born was a son, born 
July 19, 1732, whom they called Arnout. 
Thus the name Arnout came into the fam- 
ily and was handed down to a later 
Arnout Cannon, born in 1805, grandfather 
of Pelton Cannon. He is thought to have 
been a grandson of the first Arnout Can- 
non, but the incomplete records of the 
time; do not fully establish the exact 
relationship. 

(I) Arnout Cannon, grandfather of Pel- 
ton Cannon, was born in New York City, 
July 13, 1805, and died in Poughkeepsie, 
New York, September 12, 1882. The 
name Arnout Cannon appears upon the 
New York directories as a carpenter at 
No. 41 Thompson Street, in 1829; is next 
found at No. 9 King Street (now Pine 
Street), in 1831 and 1832; at No. 215 
Laurens Street in 1833 ; at No. 139 Amity 
Street in 1834; and at "13th Street near 
Avenue 5th" in 1835. The 1836-37 direc- 
tory does not contain his name, as in 1836 
he removed to Poughkeepsie, New York, 
where he became a prominent builder and 
contractor. He held a leading place in 
many of the progressive movements of 
the day, and was a highly respected cit- 
izen. He married, in New York City, 
Naomi Chilson, born in Orange County, 
New York, June 11, 1812. and they were 
the parents of eight children : Hester, 
George W., Charles H., Arnout, Jr., of 
whom further; William H., Maria, Cor- 
nelius L., and Emma Kate. 

(II) Arnout Cannon, Jr., son of Arnout 
and Naomi (Chilson) Cannon, was born 
in Poughkeepsie, New York, August 3, 
1839, and died March 31, 1898. After at- 
tending the public schools of Pough- 
keepsie, he continued his studies in the 
Dutchess County Academy, and then at 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the age of fifteen years began to learn the 
building and contracting business with his 
father, with whom he remained for four 
years. He then removed to New York 
City, where for two years he studied ar- 
chitecture in the office of Frederick 
Diaper. In the spring of 1861 he re- 
turned to Poughkeepsie and established 
himself as an architect in an office on the 
corner of Main and Catherine streets. 
But Fort Sumpter had been fired upon and 
the country was disrupted by civil war. 
.^rnout Cannon was not one to remain at 
home while others gave their lives for 
the Union. In August, 1861, he enlisted 
in the 128th New York Volunteer In- 
fantry, and served in that regiment until 
after the siege of Port Hudson. He 
took part in the siege of Mobile, and was 
assigned to duty as an engineer, in which 
capacity he was engaged in building the 
dam on the Red River. In 1863 he was 
transferred to the command of some col- 
ored troops, who fought so nobly that he 
was successively promoted to the rank of 
second lieutenant, first lieutenant, cap- 
tain, and finally lieutenant-colonel of the 
97th United States Colored Infantry. He 
received his discharge in April, 1865, and 
on his return to Poughkeepsie resumed 
the work of architect. Energy, ability 
and fair dealing brought the just reward 
of healthy expansion of business oppor- 
tunity, and for twenty-eight years he con- 
tinued to manage his business alone. In 
1893, however, when business success and 
nearly three decades of continuous pro- 
fessional activity enabled him to look 
toward the time when he might hope for 
some years of leisure, he decided to ad- 
mit a partner, and chose Walter Schofield. 
In 1894 Percival Lloyd became a mem- 
ber of the firm, and the firm name became 
Cannon & Lloyd. In April of the follow- 
ing year, 1895, M""- Cannon retired from 



active participation in the business, hut 
retained his interest in the enterprise. 
He had long been known as one of the 
foremost of his profession in his section 
of the .State. Among the many important 
commissions which he executed with ex- 
ceptional ability may be mentioned the 
Vassar Brothers' Home for Aged men, 
Vassar Brothers' Institute, Vassar Broth- 
ers' Library, the Masonic Temple, and 
Nelson House Annex. These beautiful 
buildings stand as permanent visible me- 
morials to the artistic ability and profes- 
sional skill of Arnout Cannon. Another 
memorial, invisible, but rarely beautiful, 
remains in the hearts of those who knew 
and loved him, for Mr. Cannon was one 
of those who realized Oliver Wendell 
Holmes' closing lines in "The Chambered 
Nautilus" : 

Build thee more stately mansions. 

Oh my soul, 

As the swift seasons roll! 

Leave thy low-vaulted past. 

Let each new temple, nobler than the last. 

Shut thee from Heaven with a dome more vast, 

Till thou at length art free, 

Leaving thine out-grown shell 

By life's unresting sea. 

Mr. Cannon was a prominent member 
of the D. B. Sleight Post, Grand Army of 
the Republic, of Poughkeepsie ; of the 
Lo3^al Legion ; of Poughkeepsie Lodge, 
No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons; and 
of Fallkill Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

In February, 1862, Arnout Cannon, Jr., 
married (first) Ann E. Davis. She died, 
leaving three children : Ida Francis, How- 
ard A., and Grace A. He married (sec- 
ond), April 7, 1879, Emily J. Pelton, and 
they are the parents of one son, Pelton, 
of whom further. 

(Ill) Pelton Cannon, son of Arnout, 
Jr., and Emily J. (Pelton) Cannon, was 
born in Poughkeepsie, New York, May 28, 
1880. He received his academic educa- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion in Riverview Military Academy. 
Upon completing his course in that insti- 
tution he made special preparation for a 
business career by taking a course in 
Eastman's Business College, and then, 
on March 28, 1900, he began his long con- 
nection with the Merchants' National 
Bank of Poughkeepsie. Beginning as a 
junior clerk, when he was twenty years 
of age, by ability and strict attention to 
business, he steadily rose through various 
positions until July, 191 7, he was made as- 
sistant cashier. On July 2, 1918, he was 
elected a member of the board of direc- 
tors, and on July 9, of the same year the 
officers of the bank further expressed their 
confidence in his ability and integrity by 
choosing him to fill the responsible posi- 
tion of cashier of the bank. In January. 
1921, he was elected vice-president of the 
institution, and the last two positions, 
those of cashier and vice-president, he is 
at the present time (1924) ably filling. 

A list of Mr. Cannon's social affiliations 
is sufficient to indicate the extent and the 
strenuousness of his recreational activ- 
ities. He is a member of the Amrita 
Club ; of the Dutchess Golf and Country 
Club, of which he was formerly director 
and treasurer; the Poughkeepsie Tennis 
Club, of which he is a former director 
and treasurer ; a charter member of 
Poughkeepsie Rotary Club, of which 
he is now (1924) director and treasurer; 
and of Triune Lodge, No. 782, Free 
and Accepted Masons. He is also a 
member of the Young Men's Christian 
Association; and of Christ Episcopal 
Church. 



SPOOR, Lloyd E., 

Bnsiness Executive. 

Lloyd E. Spoor, president of the Spoor, 
Lasher Company, Inc., and prominent 
road builder of Poughkeepsie and Dut- 



chess County, comes of ancient Dutch 
ancestry. The word "spoor" is the Dutch 
for trail or track, and as a noun it is used 
to designate the traces left by an animal 
or man in the sand, mud or snow. As a 
surname it has always been popular in 
Holland, but when and how the common 
name became a patronymic is a matter 
of conjecture. In the original Dutch 
"spoor" is pronounced "spore," the Dutch 
double "o" being like our long sound of o, 
and it is quite likely that this pronuncia- 
tion accounts for the change in spelling 
of the surname from Spoor to Spore 
which occurs in several branches of the 
family. The family, as a rule, has usually 
followed agricultural pursuits, but in 
many instances of derivation from the 
vocation of their fathers, members of the 
family have achieved great success in 
legal, medical and theological circles, as 
well as in business and commercial life ; 
Lloyd E. Spoor's excellent record forming 
proof of the latter. 

(I) Jan Wybesse Spoor was the immi- 
grant ancestor of the American family. 
He was born in Harlingen, Freisland, and 
died probably in Linlithgo, New York. 
The exact date of his coming to America 
is not known, but in the year 1662 he is 
on record as the purchaser of a tract of 
land in Catskill under the name of Jan 
Wybesse Van Harlingen He next ap- 
pears as Jan Wybesse Spoor when he pur- 
chased land in the vicinity of Niskayuna, 
a settlement east of Schenectady, near 
what is now known as Lishaskill. In 
1697 he, his wife, and six children are 
listed in the census, and in 1714 it is likely 
that he made his home with his eldest 
son, Johannis, on the Livingston Manor. 
Jan Wybesse Spoor was married to Anna 
Maria Hanse, who bore him ten children, 
among them being Johannis, of whom 
forward. 

(II) Johannis Spoor, eldest of the ten 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



children of Jan Wybesse and Anna Maria 
(Hanse) Spoor, was born in Albany, New 
York, and was a wheelwright by occupa- 
tion. His name appears among the peti- 
tioners in a petition from the "Protestants 
of America to King William," dated 
December 30, 1701. On November 30, 
1715, he is mentioned as an ensign in the 
"Roll of the Independent Company of 
the Manor of Livingston." In 1731 he 
is listed as a captain. He purchased from 
the Indians for thirty pounds and a suit 
of clothes, six hundred acres of land on 
Egremont Plain, Berkshire County, Mas- 
sachusetts. In 1735 and 1736 he was con- 
stable of Albany, New York. He was 
married in Kingston, New York, April 
21, 1700, to Mary Singer, who bore him 
nine children, among whom was Johan- 
nis, of whom forward. 

(HI) Johannis Spoor, eldest of the nine 
children of Johannis and Mary (Singer) 
Spoor, was baptized in Kingston, New 
York, July 13, 1701, and died in Lunen- 
burgh. New York, February 15, 1761. 
At an early date he removed to Coxsackie, 
where he was one of the first settlers. On 
December 30, 1741, he purchased of the 
Van Loons a forty-five acre tract of wood- 
land in Coxsackie, where he built the 
stone house which is still standing. The 
neighborhood became known as Spoor- 
enberg, or Spoor's Hill. In his will he 
describes himself as a yeoman. Johannis 
Spoor was married to Eva Siberse, who 
bore him six children, the third being 
Johannes, of whom forward. 

(IV) Johannis Spoor, third of the six 
children of Johannis and Eva (Siberse) 
Spoor, was baptized in Coxsackie, New 
York, October 8, 1733. He served with 
distinction in the Revolutionary War. 

He married Catherina ( ) who bore 

him five children, the eldest being Abra- 
ham, of whom forward. 



(V) Abraham Spoor, eldest of the 
five children of Johannis and Catherina 
Spoor, was born July 28, 1759, baptized 
in Athens, New York, July 27, 1761, and 
died in Guilderland, New York, Decem- 
ber 17, 1829. He acquired lots 8-13 in- 
clusive in Roosevelt's Purchase, Oswego, 
New York, in 1826, and bought more land 
in 1827 in Scriba's Patent. He removed 
to Guilderland, where three of his sons 
were baptized. He served in the Revolu- 
tionary War as a private in the Eleventh 
Regiment, under the command of Colonel 
Anthony Van Bergen. He was married 
at Coxsackie, New York, March 26, 1782, 
to Maria Wells, who bore him eleven 
children, the fifth being Jacob, of whom 
forward. 

(VI) Jacob Spoor, fifth of the eleven 
children of Abraham and Maria (Wells) 
Spoor, was born in Guilderland, New 
York, November 29, 1790, and died there 
in January, 1882, having followed farming 
throughout his life at Guilderland, and 
Watervliet, New York He was married 
December 28, 1816, to Hannah Smith, a 
daughter of Jonas Smith, of Guilderland, 
New York. Of this union there were 
seven children, among them being John 
J., of whom forward. 

(VII) John J. Spoor, fifth of the seven 
children of Jacob and Hannah (Smith) 
Spoor, was born in Guilderland, New 
York, May 9, 1826. He was a successful 
farmer of his section, and a member of 
the Reformed Church. He was married, 
October 12, 1848, to Anna Eliza Hallen- 
beck, and they had issue: Jacob J., of 
whom forward ; Isaac H. ; Agnes A. ; John 
B. ; Agnes Augusta ; Anna M. ; Marga- 
retta. 

(VIII) Jacob J. Spoor, eldest of the 
seven children of John J. and Anna Eliza 
(Hallenbeck) Spoor, was born in Guilder- 
land Center, New York, August 12, 1849. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was educated in the local district 
schools and at Hartwick Seminary, 
Cooperstown, New York, following which 
he engaged in farming with his father on 
the old homestead, and followed this 
vocation during his active years He is 
vice-president of the Mutual Fire Insur- 
ance Company, Colonie, Albany County, 
New York, and a member of the Re- 
formed Church of Lishaskill He is a 
representative citizen and has ever been 
active in local aflfairs. He was married, 
June 17, 1874, to Alida M. Van Vranken, 
a daughter of Peter and Arietta (Lan- 
sing) Van Vranken, of Lishaskill, Albany 
County, New York. Three children were 
born of this union, as follows: i. Peter 
Van V'ranken, born June 24, 1875 ; now a 
prominent contractor, being superintend- 
ent of the Raymond Concrete Pile Com- 
pany of New York City. He married Let- 
tie Lasher, of Vischer Ferry, Saratoga 
County, New York, and they are the 
parents of four children : Lloyd E., de- 
ceased ; Everitt ; Anna ; Donald. 2. Lloyd 
E., of whom forward. 3. Arietta May, 
born September 9, 1888; married Percy 
W. Ward, of Schenectady, New York, 
and they have one daughter, Dorothy. 

(IX) Lloyd E. Spoor, second of the 
three children of Jacob J. and Alida ]\I. 
(Van Vranken) Spoor, and a representa- 
tive of the ninth generation in America of 
the ancient Dutch family of Spoor, was 
born in Lishaskill, Albany County, New 
York, October 15, 1878. His early educa- 
tion was received in the district schools of 
his native town, following which he at- 
tended the Schenectady Business College, 
of Schenectady ,New York. Upon the com- 
pletion of his scholastic work he returned 
to his father's farm and for three years 
was engaged in agricultural pursuits. In 
1904 he entered the emijloy of the Sche- 
nectady Contracting Com])any as time- 



keeper. His ability was such that he was 
advanced rapidly, and after occupying 
various positions of increasing impor- 
tance, he was made general superintend- 
ent of the firm in 1909. Mr. Spoor was 
closely identified with the success of the 
Schenectady Contracting Company for a 
period of fifteen years, his association 
terminating in the year 1919 when the 
firm of Spoor, Lasher Company, Inc., 
was formed with Mr. Spoor as president. 
The firm are general contractors, the 
scope of their activities extending from 
a transportation business to highway 
construction and street paving. The 
success and progress of the company has 
been startling from the very first, and at 
the present time (1924), it is one of the 
leading firms of its kind in this section 
of the State, having the largest and most 
complete equipment for handling concrete 
material between New York City and 
Albany. 

Mr. Spoor is correspondingly promi- 
nent in fraternal and club circles, being an 
active member of Poughkeepsie Lodge, 
No. 266, Free and accepted Masons ; 
Poughkeepsie Chapter, No. 172, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 
275, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks ; the Poughkeepsie Chamber of Com- 
merce ; the Amrita Club ; the Dutchess 
Golf and Country Club; Rotary Club; 
and the Poughkeepsie Automobile Club. 

Lloyd E. Spoor was married in Sche- 
nectady, New York, October 15, 1903, to 
Helen Bertha Hart, of Vischer Ferry, 
New York. 



GREENE, Frederick Howell, 

Nenrologist, Nenro-Patholog^st. 

Dr. Frederick Howell Greene, of Pough- 
keepsie, New York, is well and widely 
known not only in New York State but 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the adjoining states as well for his 
remarkable work as a neurologist and 
neuro-pathologist. As a prominent phy- 
sician who has made a life study and life 
practice of neurology, Dr. Greene is 
recognized as an authority on the diseases 
peculiar to the nervous system. 

Dr. Greene comes from old Colonial 
stock which was descended from ancient 
and noble English ancestry. The sur- 
name "Greene" appears as early as the 
year 1273, at which time Dconisia ate 
Grene and Warin de la Grene were listed 
in the Hundred Rolls. Later, in 1379, the 
Poll Tax of Yorkshire contained the 
names of Adam, Petrus, and Willelmus 
del Grene. The family was seated in 
Northamptonshire, and traced its descent 
from Alexander de Boketon, who was 
said to have been a great-grandson of one 
of the Norman nobles who came into 
England in 1066 during the Norman in- 
vasion, under William the Conqueror. 
King John granted to Alexander de 
Boketon the estate of Boketon or Bough- 
ton in the year 1202, and from him the 
line descends to Walter; to John; to 
Thomas ; to Thomas (2) ; to Chief Justice 
Henry de Grene, heir of Thomas (2) ; Sir 
Henry (2) ; Thomas (3) ; Greene, sur- 
name lost; John (2) ; Robert; John (3) ; 
Henry (4) ; Robert (2) ; and to John (4) 
Greene, who founded the American 
branch. The coat-of-arms of the old 
Northamptonshire family of Greene is as 
follows : 

Arms— Azme, three bucks trippant or. 
Crest — A buck's head or. 

The crescent near the top of the shield 
is used by all the American descendants 
as a mark of cadency, or descent from 
the second son. The name "Greene" 
originally was applied to people who lived 
near or at the village green or common. 

N.Y.— 8— 6 ' 



After fourteen generations of Greenes in 
England came John Greene, the fourth of 
that name, who was destined to become 
the progenitor of his family in the new 
World. 

(I) John (4) Greene, a member of the 
fifteenth generation of the Greenes of 
Northamptonshire, and a son of Robert 
Greene, was born in the year 1606. He 
lived near London, at Enfield in the sub- 
urbs, and emigrated from England early 
in 1635 on the ship "Matthew." He went 
first to St. Christopher, British West 
Indies, where he remained for two years, 
in 1637 he settled at Quidnesset (later 
named Wickford), Rhode Island, and 
lived in the family of Richard Smith, an 
Indian trader, at the blockhouse. He 
was married, about 1642, to a widow, Joan 
Beggarly, of Massachusetts. Issue, born 
at Wickford, Rhode Island: i. Edward, 
born about 1643. 2. John (5), of whom 
forward. 3. Daniel, died in 1730. 4. 
Henry, removed to New Jersey. 5. Wel- 
thiam. 6. Robert, born in 1653. 7. James, 
born in 1655, died in 1728. 8. Enfield. 9. 
Benjamin, married Humility Coggeshall. 

(II) John (5) Greene, second of the 
nine sons of John and Joan (Beggarly) 
Greene, was born about 1645, and died at 
Coventry, Rhode Island, October 6, 1729. 
He served as a lieutenant in King Philip's 
War, and removed to East Greenwich in 
1685, and from there to Coventry in 1690, 
where he built a house and saw mill at the 
foot of Harkney Hill. He was married 
in 1684, to Abigail Wardwell, of Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, who bore him the follow- 
ing eleven children: i. James, of whom 
forward. 2. John, born at East Green- 
wich, Rhode Island, April g, 1688. 3. 
Jane, born at Coventry, Rhode Island, 
January 30, 1691. 4. Uzal, born in 1694, 
died in 1797. 5. Ebenezer. 6. Robert, 
married, in 1730, to Mary Andrews. 7. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William. 8. Enfield. 9. Mary. 10. Han- 
nah, born 1706, married, in 1727, to John 
Andrews. 11. Andrew. 

(III) James Greene, eldest of the 
eleven children of John (5) and Abigail 
(Wardwell) Greene, was born at East 
Greenwich, Rhode Island, August 18, 
1685, and died in June, 1771, at Warwick, 
Rhode Island. He lived throughout his 
lifetime near Maroon Swamp, Warwick. 
He was married, December 18, 1717, to 
Rebecca Cahoon, daughter of Nathaniel 
Cahoon. Issue, all born in Warwick, 
Rhode Island: i. Nathaniel, born in 
1718; married Alice Low. 2. James, born 
in 1720; married Humility Greene. 3. 
Wardwell, born in 1723, married a cousin, 
Ann Greene. 4. Isaac, born in 1724; 
married Mary Weaver. 5. Patience, born 
in 1727; married Benjamin Andrews. 6. 
Charles, of whom forward. 7. Othniel, 
born in 1731. 

(IV) Charles Greene, sixth of the 
seven children of James and Rebecca 
(Cahoon) Greene, was born in Warwick, 
Rhode Island, July 28, 1729, and died 
about 1760. He lived at Coventry, Rhode 
Island, where he married Mary, surname 
unknown, who bore him four children, all 
at Coventry, as follows: i. Job, born in 
1751. 2. Philip. 3. Wardwell, of whom 
forward. 4. John. 

(V) Wardwell Greene, third of the 
four children of Charles and Mary Greene, 
was born in Coventry, Rhode Island, be- 
fore 1760, and died there about 1808. 
In Coventry he removed to West 
Greenwich in 1782. He married Mary 
Stevens, who bore him three children : 

1. Ruth, married, in 1807, Seth Martin. 

2. Orpha, married, in 1810, Obadiah 
Johnson. 3. Rathburn, of whom forward. 

(VI) Rathburn Greene, youngest of the 
three children of Wardwell and Mary 
(Stevens) Greene, was born in the year 



1787, and died in Otsego County, New 
York, where he had removed in 1820. He 
was married to Jane Millard, a daughter 
of Captain Samuel Millard. Rathburn 
and Jane (Millard) Greene were the 
parents of twelve children, the first five 
born in Coventry, Rhode Island, and the 
remainder in Otsego County, New York: 
I. Alamanzo Johnson (sometimes written 
Amaza), of whom forward. 2. Wardwell, 
born in 1812. 3. Samuel Nelson, born in 
1814. 4. Olive, born in 1815; married 
Charles Georgia. 5. Hannah, married 
Joseph Wilson. 6. John R., lived in North 
Dakota. 7. Orpha, married Benjamin 
Mackey. 8. George, removed to the West. 

9. Mary, married Chancellor Hough- 
taling, of Union, New York. 10. Dexter, 
died in the Civil War. 11. Albert, lived in 
Central New York State. 12. Eliza, mar- 
ried Belden Allen. 

(VII) Alamanzo, or Amaza, Johnson 
Greene, eldest of the twelve children of 
Rathburn and Jane (Millard) Greene, was 
born in Coventry, Rhode Island, April 

10, 1810, and died at Laurens, Otsego 
County, New York He removed with his 
parents to Otsego County, New York, 
where he became a well known citizen, 
respected farmer, and a devout Methodist. 
He was married to Villette Johnson, who 
bore him eleven children, the second, 
John W., of whom forward. 

(VIII) Dr. John W. Greene, second of 
the eleven children of Alamanzo Johnson 
and Villette (Johnson) Greene, was born 
at Laurens, Otsego County, New York, 
in the year 1836, and died at West Lau- 
rens, New York, in 1913. He was edu- 
cated in the country schools, and fol- 
lowing collegiate courses in Pennsylvania, 
he engaged in the jewelry business. At 
the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted 
in the Union Army at Rockport, New 
York, and served in the hospital corps 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until the cessation of hostilities. At the 
close of the war he resumed his jewelry 
business at Hamilton, Ontario, and some 
years later returned to West Laurens, 
Otsego County, New York, where he was 
similarly engaged. On account of ill- 
health he retired from the jewelry busi- 
ness, and took up the study of medicine 
at the Albany Medical College, from 
which he was graduated with the class 
of 1881. He then took a post-graduate 
course at the Bellevue Medical College, 
New York City, 1884-85, following which 
he returned to West Laurens, New York, 
where he was actively engaged in the 
practice of his profession until his death 
in 1913. He was a member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, and gave his re- 
ligious affiliation to the Baptist Church. 
He was married to Elizabeth Howell, a 
daughter of Jonah Howell, a farmer and 
extensive land owner of St George, 
Ontario. They were the parents of four 
children, as follows : i. Frederick Howell, 
of whom forward. 2. Mary, married to 
Joseph Clark. 3. Evelina, married Irving 
Fiske. 4. Olive, married Andrew Wig- 
ham. 

(IX) Dr. Frederick Howell Greene, 
eldest of the four children of Dr. John 
W. and Elizabeth (Howell) Greene, and 
a representative of the twenty-third gener- 
ation of the ancient and noble English 
family of Greene, was born at West 
Laurens, Otsego County, New York, 
June 15, 1872, and was destined to become 
one of the outstanding figures in the great 
medical fraternity. He received his early 
education in the country schools of his 
natal town, and the public schools of St. 
George, Ontario, following which he 
entered and was graduated from the Mor- 
ris High School, Morris, Otsego County, 
New York. At intervals during his scho- 
lastic work he taught school. In 1894 he 



engaged upon his medical studies at the 
Albany Medical College, as did his father 
before him, and was graduated from this 
time-honored institution with the class 
of 1897, receiving the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine — sixteen years after his father 
had been graduated from the same col- 
lege. 

Upon the completion of his medical 
studies. Dr. Greene returned to West 
Laurens, New York, and there engaged 
in the practice of his chosen profession in 
association with his father, and during the 
same year, 1897, he established a practice 
at New Paltz, Ulster County, New York, 
where he soon built up a large clientage, 
remaining here until 1906. During the 
latter year Dr. Greene removed to Pough- 
keepsie. New York, where he has success- 
fully continued in the practice of his pro- 
fession, specializing in nervous diseases, 
and by his great work in this phase of 
medicine becoming widely known as an 
expert neurologist He is a member of the 
Poughkeepsie Academy of Medicine, 
State ana County Medical societies and 
the American Medical Association. Politi- 
cally, he gives his support to the Repub- 
lican party. He is a member of Triune 
Lodge, No. 872, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Poughkeepsie, Dutchess County, 
Sportsman Association and Poughkeepsie 
Automobile Club. 

Dr. Frederick Howell Greene was mar- 
ried at West Camp, New York, June 29, 
1898, to Ethel Emerick, a daughter of 
Peter and Elizabeth (Bouck) Emerick, 
residents of West Camp, Ulster County, 
New York, and descendants of the early 
German settlers. Dr. Greene's few leisure 
hours are given over to his favorite recre- 
ation, fishing; and he and his wife are 
prominent in the social circles of their 
community. 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



MAPES, Stephen S., ^' 
Financier. 

Stephen S. Mapes, the well known 
banker of Beacon, formerly Fishkill-on- 
the-Hudson, lays claim to a surname that 
has been borne with honor by various 
members of the family through many 
generations. The name is thought to be 
of Welsh origin and is the Latinized form 
of Map, Mapp or Mapps. In the Domes- 
day Book of William the Conqueror 
allusion is made to an "irruption of the 
Welsh into Herefordshire previous to the 
Norman Conquest," and the name of 
Godric Mappsone (that is, Godric, son of 
Mapp), of Herefordshire appears under 
the heading, "Index of tennants in the 
time of William the Conqueror who hold 
their lands immediately from the King." 
This Godric, it is understood, took part 
in the Norman invasion and laying waste 
of Archenfield in 1055, and establishing 
himself in the conquered territory, built 
Goderich (or Goodrich) Castle, a noted 
seat in Herefordshire, which is still 
known by his name. In the twelfth cen- 
tury an archbishop of Oxford was Walter 
Mapes, who was born on the Welsh 
border, a man of great learning and versa- 
tility, an author as well as a scholar, who 
was in the confidence of the king and 
represented him in a council in France. 

In America the name has had its repre- 
sentatives in the literary and ministerial 
professions, among inventors and chem- 
ists, and those who have served with 
honor in the great wars of our country. 
The American descent is traced prin- 
cipally from John Mapes, of Feltham 
in Norfolk, England, who lived about two 
centuries after the time of Archbishop 
Mapes, of Oxford. About 1640 three 
brothers arrived in New England, one set- 
tling in New Hampshire and the others 



on Long Island. From one of the latter 
was descended Samuel Mapes who, some 
years prior to the Revolution, moved first 
to Monroe, Orange County, New York, 
and then to Howell's Depot, where he 
became the owner of a section of land. 

On the records of those assembled for 
the first town meeting of Monroe, in 1765, 
was Thomas Mapes, who was born in 
Orange County in 1728 He was one of 
the signers in 1775 of the Revolutionary 
pledge against British tyranny, as was 
also his son James, then but a youth of 
nineteen, who enlisted later under Cap- 
tain Thomas McKinstry in Colonel Wil- 
liam Malcolm's regiment of the Conti- 
nental Army. He took part in the storm- 
ing of Stony Point, was at Valley Forge 
and Monmouth, and in "several brilliant 
and successful movements led by Colonel 
Burr and Major Albert Pawling." 

The father of Stephen S. Mapes was 
Dr. Stephen Mapes, who was born in 
Monroe, September 19, 1826, and died at 
his home in Fishkill-on-the-Hudson, Octo- 
ber 21, 1896. After receiving such educa- 
tion as the country schools afforded, he 
went to Newburgh and found employ- 
ment in a general store. The profession 
of dentistry attracted him, and determin- 
ing to make that his life work, he obtained 
tools and books and set himself the task 
of accomplishing his desire by hard study 
in his garret room. His industry was in 
time rewarded by a most successful prac- 
tice. He also made himself familiar with 
the drug business, and spent some time 
in Newburgh in the drug store of Dr. 
Edmonston. Deciding to enter business 
for himself he established, in May, 1846, 
in Fishkill Landing as doctor, dentist and 
druggist, and soon attained a position of 
prominence. He became a leading drug- 
gist and continued the business for many 
years most successfully, retiring in 1893. 



84 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Mapes married Elizabeth Simonson, 
of Vernon, New Jersey, and to them three 
children were born : Leila, who married 
J. M. W. Scott, M. D., of Schenectady; 
Stephen S.. of whom further ; W. Irving, 
of Beacon. 

Stephen S. Mapes was born in Fishkill- 
on-the-Hudson (now Beacon), New York, 
March 8, 1868. He attended the public 
schools of the town, then continued his 
education at Riverview Military Acade- 
my, Poughkeepsie, and Wesleyan Acade- 
my, Wilbraham, Massachusetts. His 
business career was begun in his father's 
drug store, and he continued in business 
with his father until the latter's retire- 
ment in 1893. The manufacture of piano 
strings engaged him from 1899 for nearly 
a score of years, the business being in- 
corporated in 1912 under the firm name of 
The Mapes Piano String Company. In 
1917 he disposed of his interests to be- 
come president of the Blickensderfer 
Typewriter Company, of Stamford, Con- 
necticut, and occupied this position until 
1920, retiring at that time. He had been a 
director for many years of the old First 
National Bank of Fishkill, which, when 
the towns of Beacon and Fishkill were 
incorporated, became the Fishkill Nation- 
al Bank of Beacon, and Mr. Mapes was 
elected its president. He is also a direc- 
tor of the Poughkeepsie Trust Company 
and the American Thermos Bottle Com- 
pany, of New York City. 

Mr. Mapes married, December 26, 1907, 
Bertha P. Hoag, of Patterson, New York. 



OWSLEY, Henry F., " 

Eye, Ear, Nose, Throat Specialist. 

Specializing in his department of sur- 
gery — eye, ear, nose and throat — which 
he has developed to a high degree of pro- 
ficiency, through intensive study in pro- 



fessional schools of this country and 
abroad, as well as in actual practice for a 
quarter of a century, Dr. Henry F. 
Owsley has earned the right to be classed 
as a prominent physician and surgeon 
and recognized as a leader in his profes- 
sion among the medical fraternity of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, and the people 
of that city and elsewhere throughout 
that section of the State. In addition to 
his individual practice, he devotes not a 
little of his time and skill to the per- 
formance of his duties as a member of the 
medical staffs of two hospitals in Pough- 
keepsie 

Dr. Henry F. Owsley is a lineal de- 
scendant of William Mason Owsley, a 
country gentleman of England, who 
maintained an estate of many acres, which 
has been in the Owsley family for six 
centuries. His son, Charles F. Owsley, 
father of Dr. Owsley, was born on the 
Owsley estate, Leicestershire, December 
15, 1845, ^i^d married, in England, Mary 
Williams, who died in Youngstown, 
Ohio, March 4, 1910. They were the 
parents of five children. Mr. Owsley, 
while living in England, had learned the 
profession of architect, and on coming to 
the United States at the age of twenty- 
one, he settled in Youngstown, Ohio, 
where he successfully practiced his pro- 
fession. The influence of his work has 
gone through the State of Ohio, in which 
he was the originator of many notable ex- 
amples of architecture. He retired from 
the profession in 1912. 

Henry F. Owsley was born December 
21, 1870, in Girard, Ohio. His early edu- 
cation was acquired in the schools of his 
native town and at the Rayne School, 
Youngstown, Ohio. In 1S93 he went to 
New York City and entered the college 
of Physicians and Surgeons from which 
he was graduated, class of 1896, degree of 



8:; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Medical Doctor. He was appointed in- 
terne at Bellevue Hospital and served two 
years, 1897-99. In 1899 he began general 
practice in New York City and continued 
in it for six years. In 1905 he went to 
London, England, and entered the Royal 
Ophthalmic Hospital, where he took the 
special course of study and attended the 
clinics. He was graduated from the hos- 
pital in 1907. Returning to the United 
States, Dr. Owsley decided to take a 
much-needed rest, and he bought a 500 
acre farm at Stormville, Dutchess County, 
New York. On this farm he remained 
about three years. The property later 
was acquired by the State of New York 
and was named Camp Whitman. In 191 1 
Dr. Owsley located in Poughkeepsie and 
resumed the practice of his profession by 
specializing on the eye, ear, nose and 
throat. He built up a large practice and 
his services began to be in demand 
throughout that section of the State. His 
skill as a specialist attracted the attention 
of medical authorities over a wide range 
of activity, and he was appointed to the 
medical staffs of the Vassar Brothers' 
Hospital, Ophthalmic Department, and 
the Bowne Memorial Hospital of Pough- 
keepsie. 

Dr. Owsley is a member of the Ameri- 
can Medical Association; is an alumnus 
of Bellevue Hospital, New York City; 
member of New York Academy of Medi- 
cine, Dutchess and Putnam Counties 
Medical Society. He is a member of 
Triune Lodge, No. 782, Free and Accep- 
ted Masons, Poughkeepsie, and is afifili- 
ated with the Presbyterian Church. His 
club memberships are in the Anvita and 
Dutchess Golf and Country Clubs of 
Poughkeepsie and the New York Yacht 
Club of New York City. 

Dr. Owsley married, January 10, 1900, 
Gertrude Fowler, daughter of Dr. George 



B. and Anna (Prince) Fowler, of Irving- 
ton-on-the-Hudson, New York. Her 
father was health commissioner under 
Mayor Strong of New York City, a promi- 
nent member of the Union League Club 
of that city, and was twice elected presi- 
dent of the New York County Medical 
Society. Mrs. Owsley, on the maternal 
side (Prince) comes of an old and promi- 
nent family of Irvington-on-the-Hudson. 
Dr. and Mrs. Owsley are the parents of 
four children: i. Gertrude, educated at 
Gardner's School, New York, married 
Thomas Crowley, of Poughkeepsie. 2. 
Margaret, educated at Wellesley College. 
3. Natalie. 4. Harriet. 



EVERETT, Marvin N., 

Man of Varied Enterprises. 

The name Everett is derived, accord- 
ing to two noted authorities on English 
nomenclature, Bardsley and Harrison, from 
Old English, French, and Teutonic word 
forms, the former translating them as 
boar plus brave, the latter as boar plus 
counsel. The name was originally doubt- 
less a descriptive title designating its 
bearer as the possessor of staunch, aggres- 
sive courage or keen sagacity. The first 
form was Everard, the next change 
Evered, and then the final "d" was sharp- 
ened into "t" in Everett. A distinguished 
record in civil, military, and religious 
callings has been written in the family 
name in England, and its American his- 
tory dates from 1636, when Richard Ever- 
ett founded a numerous progeny in New 
England. The Everett family herein men- 
tioned, however, records its first annals in 
this country at a later period through 
John Everett, though its origin traces 
back to the same common ancestor in 
England. The family coat-of-arms is as 
follows: 




^wxtii 




3r ^, 




^i-W^ 0. S>-^^-^^r<jpr 




Sy^/yxadefA^ ma^^y)< Q^m-^-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Arms — Gules, a chevron paly of eight or and 
azure, between three mullets argent ; a bordure 
wavy of the second. 

Crest — A griffin's head sable erased gules charged 
with three barrulets, that in the middle argent, the 
other two or, over all a pallet wavy ermine. 

Motto — Festina lentc. 

(I) The first generation of this Hne of 
the Everett family of whom there is rec- 
ord extant was a Rev. Everett, a Presby- 
terian minister of England, who remained 
in that country all of his life. The name 
of John is a tradition in the family, and it 
is probable that this was the name he 
bore. He was the father of an only child, 
John Everett, the immigrant ancestor, 
who came to this country about 1770. 

(II) John Everett, founder of his line 
in America, was a young man of venture- 
some spirit and independent nature, and 
did not come kindly under the strong reli- 
gious discipline of his father, the Rev. 
Everett. Consequently, in early young 
manhood, he came to America with two 
other youths of his own age, arriving in 
New York about 1770. He followed the 
Hudson River northward, and settled in 
Saratoga County, New York, this being 
the first definite location of this branch of 
the Everett family in America. Accord- 
ing to family history, he was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, and fought in the Ameri- 
can army in battles and campaigns in the 
neighborhood of his home. Records show 
that John Everett is listed as a private in 
Colonel Malcom's regiment and in the 
Third Regiment of Orange County Mili- 
tia during the Revolutionary War. John 
Everett married, and had two sons: i. 
John, of whom further. 2. Daniel. 

(III) John Everett, son of John Ever- 
ett, the immigrant ancestor, was born 
about 1795, in Saratoga County, New 
York. He became a manufacturer of 
measures, and his products were periodi- 
cally shipped down the Hudson River to 
New York City, where they were sold in 



the open market. He was the owner of a 
substantial business, and acquired title to 
considerable land in Saratoga County ; 
two parcels were deeded to him in 1820 
and 1836. He remained in Saratoga 
County many years, then moved to Ful- 
ton County, New York, locating at Cran- 
berry Creek, where he died at the age of 
fifty-five years. 

Mr. Everett married, in Saratoga 
County, New York, about 1822-23, Eliza- 
beth Walker, daughter of John Walker, 
of New York. (See Walker VI.) Eliza- 
beth (Walker) Everett was a devout 
Christian, finding in religious work and 
belief the inspiration for a life, that, at 
its best, lacked many of the comforts and 
pleasures of the present day. To her fam- 
ily she was devotion itself, and to them 
she transmitted her many excellent quali- 
ties of mind and heart, a strong intellectu- 
ality, a love of literature and reverence for 
the word of God. She was an ideal home- 
maker, spun the family garments, and 
performed much of the work of the house 
herself, making it a place where her fam- 
ily, relatives, and their friends, loved to 
gather. She died in 1881, at Falconer, 
New York, where she had removed in 
later years with her children. John and 
Elizabeth (Walker) Everett were the par- 
ents of eight children, as follows : i. John, 
of whom further. 2. Marvin N., of whom 
further. 3. Benjamin, died at the age of 
seventeen years. 4. Nelson, died at the 
age of fifteen years. 5. Miranda, died at 
the age of eighteen years. 6. Washing- 
ton, married Mary Adams ; he was a 
farmer by occupation, and also was a 
Civil War veteran ; he died in 1875. 7. 
William, died at the age of twenty-one 
years. 8. Melvin, a carpenter by trade, 
and the only surviving member of the 
family ; he resides at Falconer, New York, 
and is unmarried. 

(IV) John Everett, son of John and 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Elizabeth (Walker) Everett, was born in 
Saratoga County, New York, February 
i8, 1825. He worked at home with his 
father, like his brother, Marvin N., and 
when a young man removed to Chautau- 
qua County, New York. He became a 
builder of flat boats, in association with 
his brother, Marvin N., on which they 
shipped various cargoes down the Alle- 
gheny River to the Ohio, thence to Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, where their pro- 
ducts were sold in the market. He pros- 
pered in this enterprise, and later became 
a manufacturer of sash and doors, and 
one of the most prominent citizens of Fal- 
coner, New York. 

Mr. Everett married Elizabeth Yaw, 
and to them were born the following chil- 
dren : I. Martha F., who became the wife 
of Jackson C. Meredith, a business man 
of Jamestown. 2. Walter R., of whom 
further. 3. John, Jr., married Jennie 
Young, by whom he had three children. 

(IV) Marvin N. Everett, son of John 
and Elizabeth (Walker) Everett, was 
born at Maxon Hill, Saratoga County, 
New York, March 24, 1828, and died in 
Jamestown, New York, February 4, 1909, 
aged eighty years, eleven months and 
twenty days, and was buried in Lake 
View Cemetery. His youth was passed 
in Saratoga County, in association with 
his father, who was a manufacturer of 
measures. In 1850, at the age of twenty- 
two years, the young man left home and 
made his way westward, finally locating 
at Worksburg, now Falconer, Chautau- 
qua County, New York. There, with his 
brother, John, he engaged in the building 
of flat boats, which they loaded with pro- 
duce and sent down the Allegheny River 
to Pittsburgh. In 1854 he sold his busi- 
ness interests at Falconer to his brother, 
and spent the following six years in the 
State of California, as a millwright in 
Sacramento, and later located in Trinity 



County, where he became a successful 
gold miner. In i860 he returned to Chau- 
tauqua County, New York, and bought a 
large farm in the town of Gerry, which he 
owned and conducted for five years. In 
1866 he married, and later went West on 
account of his wife's health, locating in 
Kansas. There Mr. Everett bought con- 
siderable land, and also engaged in the 
brokerage business in Minneapolis, Kan- 
sas. After spending two years in Kansas, 
he again returned to Chautauqua County, 
New York, locating in the town of Gerry. 

After the death of his wife he made his 
home in Falconer, where he married 
again, in 1875, and in 1881 built a fine resi- 
dence in Falconer, which he occupied 
until 1895, then moved to Jamestown. In 
1887 Mr. Everett drew plans and built the 
Hotel Everett on West First Street, 
Jamestown, at a cost of $50,000. This 
was a substantial building of brick and 
stone, five stories in height, well ap- 
pointed, and one of the leading hotels in 
its day. He continued owner of the hotel 
until 1892, when he sold it and retired 
from active business. 

Mr. Everett was very fond of mechani- 
cal work, a genius in many ways, fond of 
scientific studies, and a constant reader. 
He also at one time had quite an exten- 
sive apiary, and was deeply interested in 
bee culture, to which he devoted much 
time and study. Strictly temperate him- 
self, he strongly advocated the cause of 
temperance in the most pronounced way, 
and to his interest and generosity the 
building of the First Methodist Church of 
Falconer is due. The beautiful house on 
Main Street, Falconer, was sold by Mr. 
Everett in 1895, and a residence estab- 
lished at No. 105 West Second Street, 
Jamestown, where he resided until his 
death. He was a Republican in politics, 
and strictly adhered to the policies of his 
party. He was ever interested in the wcl- 




THE EVERETT HOTEL AT J AME S T O WN „ N . Y, 
BUILT BY MARVIN N. EVERETT IN IS87 










S5 

O > 
< 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fare of the community and gave much of 
his time and material assistance to pub- 
lic-spirited movements. 

Mr. Everett married (first), June 23, 
1866, Emily J. Perry, daughter of Ebene- 
zer and Susan (Coil) Perry. He married 
(second), March 3, 1875, Viola De Ette 
Oburg, born November 14, 1854, daugh- 
ter of Oscar and Bebe (Wellman) Oburg, 
of Ashville, Chautauqua County, New 
York. (See Oburg III.) Mrs. Everett 
survives her husband, a woman of 
forceful character, business ability, and 
womanly virtues. She was always a true 
partner and helpmate, and of real assist- 
ance to her husband in his business under- 
takings. When his health failed she 
assumed the management of the Hotel 
Everett and so continued until that prop- 
erty was sold. In 1908 she occupied the 
Marvin House of twenty-one rooms, and 
in 1909 she bought the property from the 
heirs of the Isabelle Marvin estate and 
has since operated it with success. She 
also built, adjoining the Marvin House, a 
three-story brick block, the first story 
now occupied by the American Railway 
Express Company and the Williamson 
Veneer Company. The upper stories con- 
stitute the Lawrence Hotel. In addition 
to these properties, Mrs. Everett is the 
owner of other valuable real estate in 
Jamestown, where she is known and rec- 
ognized as a woman of rare executive 
ability. She is of deeply charitable im- 
pulse and interested in all public move- 
ments for the good of her community. 
She has a host of friends and is highly 
esteemed. Mr. and Mrs. Everett were 
without children. 

(V) Walter R. Everitt, son of John 
and Elizabeth (Yaw) Everett (the for- 
mer speUing his name "Everitt" and the 
latter "Everett"), was born March 16, 
1855, in Falconer, Chautauqua County, 
New York. He was educated in the com- 



mon schools of Falconer, and in the 
Jamestown High School. At the age of 
twenty years he went to the State of Kan- 
sas, remaining for a year on account of 
poor health, then returned East, going to 
Bradford, Pennsylvania, where he en- 
gaged in the wagon manufacturing busi- 
ness with a Mr. Larson. In those days 
there were no pipe lines to convey the crude 
oil found in the oil fields about Bradford, 
and wagon-making was an allied indus- 
try, thus the wagons made by Mr. Everitt 
were used to transport oil to market. A 
few years were spent here and then he 
returned to his native town. Falconer, 
where he assumed the management of the 
affairs of his father's estate. In 1887 he 
built a large warehouse and grist mill in 
Falconer and took in as a partner Well- 
ington Warner. After Mr. Warner's 
death in 1899, Mr. Everitt sold the mill 
and retired from active business life. He 
lived retired in Falconer until the latter 
part of 1905, when he went to San Diego, 
California, to benefit his health, remain- 
ing a year and a half ; he then came East 
to look after some of his interests. He 
left Falconer a second time for California, 
and his health was seemingly improved 
by travel and change of climate ; in 1908 
he became connected with a biological 
station at La Jolla in a minor position. 
This station has since become the Scripps 
Institution for Biological Research of the 
University of California. Here Mr. Ever- 
itt acquired much knowledge, training, 
and experience in the study of biology, 
his studies at La Jolla being to collect and 
care for molluscs, fish and various other 
marine animals. In the course of time it 
was recommended by Dr. Ritter, who was 
director of the station, that Mr. Everitt 
be transferred to the University at Ber- 
keley. The recommendation was accepted 
by the faculty and subsequently he was 
with the department of zoology for sev- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eral years. During his residence in Cali- 
fornia he made a large personal collec- 
tion of things pertaining to biology and 
one of the finest assortments of sea shells 
known in this country. The shells are 
now being prepared and will be presented 
presently to the University of California 
as the Walter R. Everitt collection. In 
191 1 he returned a third time to Falconer 
and remained eight years, until Novem- 
ber 30, 1919, when most of his interests 
here were settled. He then decided to go 
to La Jolla, California, establish a home 
and there spend the remainder of his life 
His health was apparently good, having 
improved from its condition in earlier life, 
and his sudden death from heart trouble 
came as a great shock to his wife, rela- 
tives, and friends, September 30, 1920. He 
was laid at rest in Pine Hill Cemetery, 
Falconer, New York. 

Mr. Everitt was a man of retiring 
nature and did not indulge in fraternal 
or club life, being a great lover of the 
home. His recreation was one of study, 
being a constant reader. He did consid- 
erable research work during his leisure 
moments in the study and collection of 
marine life. He was a true student of 
nature, very fond of travel, and a keen 
observer. Another of his favorite pastimes 
was to care for his garden, in which he 
did much to develop horticulture and agri- 
culture. He was a strong advocate of 
outdoor life, as has been shown by his 
outdoor activities. In politics he was 
afifiliated with the Republican party, but 
independent and progressive with his 
vote, and in religion, while he was not a 
member of any church, his life was lived 
as that of a true Christian. 

Mr. Everitt married (first), in 1895, 
Catherine Cryan, of Dunkirk, New York ; 
she died in 1902. He married (second), 
in 1920, Mrs. Ada (Pew) Mayo, of 
Helena, Montana, daughter of George W. 



Pew. Mr. Pew was a graduate of Cornell 
University, and held life certificates as a 
teacher in the States of New York, Wis- 
consin, and Iowa. 

(The Walker Line). 

Anns — Gules, a fesse between a mullet in chief 
and a dove or, holding in the beak a sprig of 
laurel vert. 

Walker has a derivation extremely in- 
teresting, coming from the occupation 
generally known under the name "fuller." 
In some countries these workers were 
called walkers because they trod or 
stamped with their feet upon the cloth. 
Piers Plowman, A. D. 1362-1400 describes 
the process : 

Cloth that Cometh fro the wevyng, 
Is nought comely to wear 
Till it be fulled under foot. 

In the extraordinary ruins of Pompeii, 
there is a house that was once owned by 
fullers. One of the men of the family had 
the rooms decorated with mosaics, repre- 
senting scenes from the life of a fuller, 
and we can see that the process of fulling 
was the same then as in much later 
periods, Under the rule of ancient Rome 
and also in Greece, fullers held an impor- 
tant position, for their profession was con- 
sidered a highly skilled one and they were 
the caterers to the luxury of the age as 
goldsmiths were. 

Many men bearing the name Walker 
have been distinguished in the army and 
navy of Great Britain. Sir Charles P. B. 
Walker, who was born near Bristol, Octo- 
ber 7, 1817, served as aide-de-camp to 
Lord Lucan in the Crimean War ; he was 
promoted to the rank of major-general, 
December 29, 1873. Sir George Town- 
send Walker, who was born May 25, 1764, 
was a noted soldier, holding high rank in 
the army. 

Amasa Walker is noted in the United 
States as an economist, and his son Fran- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cis A. Walker, served as a brigadier- 
general in the Civil War, and was also 
prominent as a writer on educational and 
historical subjects. Many members of 
the Walker family have been United 
States Senators and Congressmen. 

(I) John Walker, who died at Marsh- 
field, Massachusetts, December ii, 1663, 
first settled in Marshfield, in 1643. He 
took the oath of fidelity in 1657. Tradi- 
tion says that he was a Quaker. He mar- 
ried, October 20, 1654, Lydia Reed, of 
Marshfield, Massachusetts. Her mother 
was Mrs. Margaret (Reed) Rowland. 
Issue : I. Lydia, born September 20, 1655. 

2. John, of whom further. 3. Martha. 4. 
Mary. 

(II) John W'alker, son of John and 
Lydia (Reed) Walker, was born in Marsh- 
field, Massachusetts, October 26, 1657, 
and died in the same town in 1747. His 
will was proved August 8, 1747. He was 
a member of the Society of Friends, and 
was a blacksmith by trade. He married 
Bethiah Norcut, and they had two chil- 
dren: I. Isaac, who died 1750. 2. John, 
of whom further. 

(HI) John Walker, son of John and 
Bethiah (Norcut) Walker, was born in 
Marshfield, Massachusetts, and died there 
some time before 1747. At one time he 
was living at Dartmouth, Massachusetts. 
He married, but his wife's name is not 
known. Issue: i. Mary, born November 
16, 1720. 2. Hannah, born January 7, 1722. 

3. John, of whom further. 4. Genevra, 
born June 12, 1729. 5. Keziah, born Sep- 
tember 16, 1730. 

(IV) John Walker, son of John Walker, 
was born in Dartmouth, Massachusetts, 
April 12, 1725, and died at Stillwater, 
Saratoga County, New York, July 4, 1804. 
He married Margaret Mosher, daughter 
of Joseph and Mehitable Mosher. Issue: 
I. Mehitable, born May 12, 1748, died in 
Peru. Clinton County, New York. 2. 



Walter, born December 10, 1749, died in 
Macedon, Wayne County, New York. 3. 
Sarah, born January 30, 1751, died 1843. 
She married David Shephard, one of 
the early settlers of Saratoga, Saratoga 
County, New York. 4. Nathaniel, born 
January 30, 1754, died in 1838 in Macedon, 
Wayne County, New York. 5. John, of 
whom further. 6. Isaac, born May 17, 
1759- 7- Mary, born May 11, 1768; mar- 
ried Nicholas Barker, of Saratoga. 

(V) John Walker, son of John and 
Margaret (Mosher) Walker, was born in 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, August 29, 
1757, and died in Stillwater, Saratoga 
County, New York, August 7, 1840. He 
lived in Saratoga, in Watertown, and in 
Stillwater. By trade he was a blacksmith, 
and was noted by his exemplary char- 
acter. He was a Quaker. 

In the vital statistics and various rec- 
ords we have had access to, we find that 
this John Walker was the only John 
Walker who lived in these various towns 
at his time. We cannot, however, find 
positive proof that he is the father of Eliz- 
abeth, of present interest, but we do find 
that he had three children, and others ; it 
is reasonable to suppose that he was the 
father of Elizabeth, since we know that 
her father was a John Walker, and that 
her father was a resident of Dartmouth, 
Stillwater, and Saratoga, and that he was 
born and died at about the same dates as 
recorded above. He married about 1777, 
Lydia Smith, who was born at Hilleston, 
Massachusetts, August 23, 1757, and died 
March 28, 1837. Issue: i. Robert, born 
October 19, 1778; he lived in Saratoga, 
New York, and married Patience Mosher. 
2. Joseph, born July 21, 1780, lived in Sar- 
atoga. He married Lydia Walker, daugh- 
ter of Archibald Walker, of Argyleshire, 
Scotland, and Saratoga, New York. 3. 
Lucy, born November 9, 1783; married 
John Wing, of Saratoga. 4. Lucina, mar- 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ried Hezekiah Tyrell. 5. John, who lived 
and died in Corning, New York. 6. Eliz- 
abeth, of whom further. 7. Kate, who 
married and lived in Cleveland. 

(VI) Elizabeth Walker, daughter of 
John Walker, was born in Saratoga, New 
York, December 13, 1800, and died in Fal- 
coner, New York, in 1881. She married 
about 1822-23, John Everett. (See Ever- 
ett III.) 

(The Oburg-Oberg Line). 

Arms — Or, two lozenges conjoined in fesse sable. 
Crest— Out of a tube or three peacock plumes 
proper, charged with two lozenges of the shield. 
Supporters — Two lions rampant reguardant or. 

The name Oburg is one of old origin in 
Sweden, and many people bearing it are 
of high station in life ; this is evidenced 
by the fact that several of Sweden's fore- 
most citizens bear this name. The life of 
Oscar Oburg, of which this narrative 
chiefly deals, is one which bears out the 
traditions of the Oburg family. 

(I) This line of the Oburg family of 
Sweden was founded in the United States 
by Peter Oburg, who was born near 
Stockholm, Sweden, and lived there until 
1849, when he and his family emigrated 
to America, arriving in New York City. 
From New York City he came to Chau- 
tauqua County, New York, by the way of 
Bufifalo and Dunkirk, thence to James- 
town, mostly by boat and stage coach. 

Mr. Oburg married, in his native land, 
Margaret, surname unknown, and to them 
were born five children before coming to 
this country. Issue: i. Caroline, mar- 
ried John Anderson, and they lived near 
Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, later at Red 
Wing, Minnesota, where they died. 2. 
Mary, died young, unmarried. 3. Pontius, 
married Mary ; they went to In- 
diana, where both died at an early age. 4. 
Oscar, of whom further. 5. Frank, mar- 
ried Eliza ; he went to Peoria, 

Illinois; during the Civil War he enlisted 



in the army, and served for four years, 
taking part in many important battles. 

(II) Oscar Oburg, son of Peter and 
Margaret Oburg, was born February 25, 
1833, near Stockholm, Sweden. At the 
age of sixteen he came to this country 
with his parents, and upon his arrival in 
Jamestown, New York, he found employ- 
ment at the old Shaw Hotel in this city, 
which was located at the corner of Main 
and West Third streets, the site now 
occupied by the Prendergast block. The 
Shaw Hotel was a regular stop for stage 
coaches, then practically the only means 
of travel, a change of horses being neces- 
sary at the hotel stables, and it was here 
that the young man secured his first em- 
ployment. Later, Oscar Oburg went to 
Ashville, Chautauqua County, New York, 
where for some time he was engaged in 
the tailoring business, having learned the 
trade in his native land. He remained in 
this business for some time, subsequently 
becoming interested in the shoe business, 
which he continued until after the Civil 
War, when he turned his attention to 
farming, following this calling until old 
age compelled his retirement. Mr. Oburg 
was a Republican in politics, and was 
active on the local town election boards ; 
a devoted member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of Ashville for more than 
sixty-six years. He was greatly inter- 
ested in church work, being at various 
times steward, trustee, class leader, super- 
intendent of the Sunday school, and filled 
various other offices. He was a man of 
high religious character, kindhearted. and 
beloved by all who knew him. From an 
humble immigrant boy he arose to a sta- 
tion of high respect and esteem in his 
community. 

Oscar Oburg married, in Ashville, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1852, Bebe Wellman, daughter 
of Barnabas and Pamela (Bullock) Well- 
man. (See Wellman Line.) Mrs. Bebe 



92 




(ODberg) 




(0^(3£ct CUU^^^ 




^^^lA ^^^ 




,.4w./;^/'.../. /^, 



T 




Ijr/h, '/^Zv./zV... ^t'Aay/'jrr 




(J<X^'f^^.::2^^.**€/^^/(r^^ /T^^c^:^^/^^^//^ 




J^va^-^ f..^r/r//?.r€J ^^YZ/Mf^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Wellman) Oburg, like her husband, was 
a devoted Christian affiliated with the 
Ashville Church from the age of fifteen 
years. Oscar Oburg- died at Ashville, 
April 9, 1919, aged eighty-six years. His 
wife died at Ashville, April i, 1918, aged 
eighty-three years. Mr. and Mrs. Oburg 
were the parents of six children, all born 
in Ashville, Chautauqua County, New 
York. They are: i. Elon Medford, born 
December 20, 1852; a farmer in Busti, 
Chautauqua County, New York ; married 
Mary Sherman. 2. Viola De Ette, of whom 
further. 3. Nina Melinda, born October 
26, 1856; resides at the family homestead 
at Ashville; unmarried. 4. Lelia Chris- 
tina, born March 20, 1859; married (first) 
John C. Walter, deceased; she married 
(second) Rollin Lee, a business man in 
Ashville. 5. Abbie Derutha, born Janu- 
ary J, 1861 ; became the wife of Charles 
Wellman, who is connected with a large 
industry in Jamestown, New York. 6. 
Victor Francis, born April 9, 1863, a rail- 
road man in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania ; 
married Irene Grunder. 

(Ill) Viola De Ette Oburg, daughter 
of Oscar and Bebe (Wellman) Oburg, 
married Marvin N. Everett. (See Ever- 
ett IV.) 

(The Wellman Line). 

Arms — Argent, on a bend gules between two 
apples vert, three mullets or. 

Crest — A demi-lion argent holding between his 
paws an apple as in the arms charged with a mul- 
let or. 

Motto — Dei providcntia jiivaf. 

Wellman as a family quite evidently 
took its name from the city of Wells in 
Somersetshire, England, which, in turn, 
obtained its name from a well called St. 
Andrew's Well, near the bishop's palace, 
and from the fact that the founder of the 
family had received from one of the 
bishops charge of St. Andrew's Well, and 
had been called at first John the Well- 
man, or William the Well-man, which 



later became John or William Wellman. 
The name has been variously spelled as 
Wellman, Wellmane, Wellmon, Welman, 
Welmon. Welmin, Wilman, Wilmon, 
Willman. Willmon, Willsman, Wellsman, 
and Weelman. In America the practice 
of spelling this name as Wellman began 
quite early and has increased in practice 
until it is nearly universally used by all 
of the family here. 

The genealogy and history of the Well- 
man family and its origin in the Old 
World has been searched with some suc- 
cess. Investigation in this country seems 
to show that the early immigrant Well- 
mans were only two in number, Thomas 
Wellman and William Wellman. How- 
ever, family recollection points to a third, 
in the person of Barnabas Wellman. The 
name Barnabas has been carried through 
several generations and it is thought that 
a Barnabas may have been one of the 
immigrants, and, if not, at least one of the 
sons of William Wellman. 

Thomas Wellman was in Lynn, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1640. He bought 
land, lived and died in Lynn End (now 
Lynnfield), Massachusetts. 

William Wellman was in Marshfield. 
Massachusetts, as early as 1642, but 
moved that year to Gloucester, Massachu- 
setts, and thence, in 1650, to New Lon- 
don, Connecticut, and a few years later 
to Killingworth, Connecticut, where he 
died. 

There is a line of seven generations 
bearing the name of Barnabas Wellman, 
the first of whom there is any information 
being a Captain Barnabas Wellman, a 
sea-faring man, who made voyages be- 
tween America and China. On one of 
these voyages he brought home a set of 
china dishes, a picture of his ship on each, 
and these were long preserved in the fam- 
ily ; another Barnabas Wellman, who 
represented the family in the American 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Revolution ; and last, a Barnabas Well- 
man, who was an early settler in Chau- 
tauqua County, New York. 

Barnabas Wellman, the Revolutionary 
soldier, was born August 15, 1756, in Kill- 
ingworth, Connecticut. According to rec- 
ords, he was a drum major in the War of 
of the Revolution. His brother and sis- 
ters were : Freelove, born May 22, 1753 ; 
Molly, born March 13, 1755; and Paul, 
born April 15, 1757. He married, and had 
the following children: i. James, born 
November 30, 1783. 2. Homer, born 
March 9, 1786. 3. Barnabas, of whom 
further. 4. Ford, bo'rn January 3, 1796. 5. 
Leander, born October 14, 1801. There 
were also two daughters, Millie and 
Hannah. 

Barnabas Wellman, son of Barnabas 
Wellman, the Revolutionary soldier, was 
evidently born at Killingworth, Connecti- 
cut, September 16, 1793. He is later 
recorded among the first settlers of Chau- 
tauqua County, New York, having located 
in the town of Ashville. He had a small 
farm there, but he was chiefly occupied 
as a stone mason, and it is said that he 
was a man of strong character, very reli- 
gious, and preached in the village church 
in the absence of the local minister. He 
was noted for his fine voice, which he 
used in connection with his church work 
and local entertainments. He was a kind- 
hearted man, reverenced by all, and known 
to the townsfolk as "Uncle Barney." 

Mr. Wellman married Pamela Bullock, 
born September 14, 1798, daughter of Jon- 
athan and Dorcas, usually called Tabitha, 
(Cody) Bullock, the granddaughter of 
Jonathan Bullock, of English descent. 
(See Bullock VI.) 

Barnabas and Pamela (Bullock) Well- 
man were the parents of nine children, all 
born in Ashville, Chautauqua County, 
New York: i. Henry, married Alvira 
Pierce, a farmer of Three Rivers, Michi- 



gan. 2. Malinda, died aged ten years. 3. 
Alfred, married Thedoca Covey ; he was 
6 farmer living near Three Rivers, Michi- 
gan. 4. Matilda, died at the age of thirty ; 
unmarried. 5. Barnabas, married Harriett 
Phelps; he was the owner of a lumber 
mill at Cherry Creek, Chautauqua County, 
New York. 6. Delila, married (first) 
Israel Millard, deceased ; she married 
(second) Seymour Millard, an oil man at 
Titusville, Pennsylvania, and a brother of 
her first husband. 7. Rachel, married 
Alpheus Alexander, a farmer in Har- 
mony, Chautauqua County, New York. 8. 
Bebe, of whom further. 9. Lucinda, mar- 
ried (first) A. Herrick, deceased ; she 
married (second) Nathaniel Smith, a 
farmer of Harmony, Chautauqua County, 
New York. 

The Wellmans are a well-known family 
in Chautauqua County, New York, num- 
bered among the first rank citizens. 
Among them are a number of notable pro- 
fessional and business men, and this name 
stands foremost in the community. 

Bebe Wellman, daughter of Barnabas 
and Pamela (Bullock) Wellman, married 
Oscar Oburg. (See Oburg II.) 

(The BuHock Line). 

Amis — Gules, a chevron ermine between three 
bulls' heads cabossed argent, armed or. 

Crest — Five Lochaber axes sable encircled by a 
ribbon or. 

Motto — Nil consciie sibi. (Conscious of no 
wrong.) 

From Berry's "Essex" the Bullock pedi- 
gree is traced in the following manner: 

Richard Bullock, temp. Henry III. 

Gilbert Bullock. 

Robert Bullock, temp. Edward I. 

Gilbert Bullock. 

Robert Bullock, died in 1405, was of 
County Berks. 

Thomas Bullock, married Alice Yead- 
ing. 



94 




lUellman 




bullock 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Robert Bullock, of County Berks, mar- 
ried Eleanor. 

Gilbert Bullock, married Margaret Nor- 
ris. 

Thomas Bullock, Esquire, of County 
Essex, in 1566; married Alice Kingsmill. 
Their children were Richard, Thomas, 
John, George, John, and William. 

(I) Richard Bullock was born in Essex 
County, England, in 1622, and died in 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, November 22, 
1667. He was in Rehoboth as early as 
1643 ^"^d left the town soon after 1644. 
The Colonial records show that he was 
made a freeman in May, 1646, but do not 
indicate his residence at that time. In 
1656 he removed to Newton, Long Island, 
but soon went back to Rehoboth and 
resided there until his death. He was one 
of the fifty-eight landed proprietors of 
Rehoboth. On June 22, 1658, "at a town- 
meeting lawfully warned, lots were drawn 
for the meadows that lie on the north 
side of the town, in order as followeth, 
according to person and estate." Richard 
Bullock drew No. 19, and he bought the 
governor's lot valued at two hundred 
pounds. His name appears on the records 
of the town in 1643, and he came there it 
is said with Roger Williams. The town 
records recite: "30th of the nth mo. 
(January), 1650, quoted to agree with 
Richard Bullock to perform the office of 
Town Clerk ; to give him 16 s. a year, and 
to be paid for births, burials and mar- 
riages besides." He married (first), at 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, August 4, 1647, 
Elizabeth Ingraham. She died January 
7, 1659-60. He married (second), Sep- 
tember 21, 1660, Elizabeth Billington. 
Children of first marriage : i. Samuel, of 
whom further. 2. Elizabeth, born Octo- 
ber 9, 1650. 3. Mary, born February 16, 
1652. 4. Mehitable, born April 4, 1655. 5. 
Abigail, born August 29, 1657. 6. Hope- 
still, born December 26, 1659. Children 



of second marriage : 7. Israel, born July 
15, 1661. 8. Mercy, born March 13, 1662. 
9. John, born March 19, 1664. 10. Rich- 
ard, born March 15, 1666-67. 

(II) Deacon Samuel Bullock, son of 
Richard and Elizabeth (Ingraham) Bul- 
lock, was born in Rehoboth, Massachu- 
setts, August 19, 1648, and died there 
March 10, 1717-18. He lived at Rehoboth, 
and in 1710 he was a member of a com- 
pany of Rehoboth militia. He married 
(first), November 12, 1673, Mary Thur- 
ber, who died in 1674. He married (sec- 
ond). May 26, 1675, Thankful Rouse. 
Child of first marriage: i. Mary, born 
October 5, 1674. Children of second mar- 
riage : 2. Ebenezer, born February 22, 
1676. 3. Thankful, born June 26, 1681. 4. 
Samuel, born November 7, 1683. 5. Israel, 
born April 9, 1687. 6. Daniel, born in 
1689. 7. Richard, born July i, 1692. 8. 
Seth, of whom further. 

(HI) Seth Bullock, son of Deacon 
Samuel and Thankful (Rouse) Bullock, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
September 26, 1693, and was living in 
1758. His residence was at Rehoboth. He 
married, about 1718, Experience, surname 
unknown. Children: i. Cordila, born 
November 3, 1719. 2. Hezekiah, born June 
13, 1722. 3. Benjamin, born June 26, 
1725. 4. Experience, born June 18, 1728. 
5. Hannah, born January 4, 1730. 6. Seth, 
born May 26, 1733, served in the French 
and Indian War (1758). 7. Jonathan, of 
whom further. 8. Shubael, born March 
31, 1738. 9. Rebeckah, born July 7, 1739. 
10. Ann, born November 23, 1741. 11. 
Barack, born December 9, 1744. 

(IV) Jonathan Bullock, son of Seth and 
Experience Bullock, was born in Reho- 
both, Massachusetts, February 17, 1736, 
and died of quinsy in the army during the 
French and Indian War. He married, in 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, December 9, 
1758, Bebe Bowen, who was born in Re- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



hoboth, Massachusetts, April 22, 1739, 
daughter of David and Hannah Bowen. 
They were the parents of Jonathan, of 
whom further. 

(V) Jonathan Bullock, son of Jonathan 
and Bebe (Bowen) Bullock, was born in 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, December 27, 
1759. and died in Panama, Chautauqua 
County, New York. His name is on the 
list of Captain Cole's Company during the 
Revolution for fifteen months' service. In 
1790 he was of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
and in 1797 removed to Ontario County, 
New York. He married, January 28, 1788, 
Tabitha Cody, daughter of Joseph and 
Mary (Whitney) Cody. (See Cody III.) 
Children: i. Jonathan, born November 
7, 1788, died in Panama, New York, in 
1885. 2. Bebe, born March 8, 1790, died 
in Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, in 1878. 3. 
William, born August 6, 1794, died in 
Busti, New York. 4. Pamela, of whom 
further. 5. Joseph, born April 18, 1803, 
died in Ontario County, New York, in 
young manhood. 6. Alfred, died young. 
7. Mary P., died young. 8. Shubael, died 
young. 

(VI) Pamela Bullock, daughter of Jon- 
athan and Tabitha (Cody) Bullock, was 
born September 14, 1798, died in Ashville, 
Chautauqua County, New York, in 1874. 
She married Barnabas Wellman. (See 
Wellman line.) 

(The Codey-Cody Line). 

Arms — Argent, three piles engrailed sable, on 
each a cross pattee fitchee or. 

The patronymic Mc Cody is a corrup- 
tion of the name Mac Odo, designating 
a family founded in Kilkenny, Ireland, 
early in the thirteenth century, by Mac 
Odo L'Ercedekne, a Norman. Sir Stephen 
L'Ercedekne married one of the daughters 
and co-heirs of Thomas Fitz-Anthony, 
thereby acquiring lands in Leinster. The 
land was the ancient Manor of Ogenti, 



which became the Manor of Thomaston 
and later by partition the Manors of Gre- 
nan and Dangin. Peter Mc O'dy L'Erce- 
dekne was the son of Thomas, son of Red- 
mond, son of John. This last John was 
a descendant of Sir Stephen L'Ercedekne. 
Peter Mc O'dy became Lord of the Manor 
of Bawnmore. He died without issue, but 
the heirs of his brothers came into the 
Manor. The contraction of the original 
form doubtless gave birth to the present 
forms of Codey and Cody. 

(I) Joseph Cody, who was born prob- 
ably in Ireland, died in Hopkinton, Mas- 
sachusetts, prior to 1782. In 1727 three 
men, William McNall, John Lawson, and 
James Shearer came from Ireland to 
America and began a settlement in Con- 
necticut which they called "Union." From 
time to time other families from their 
country joined them until in 1734 there 
were nineteen families. This was the only 
Irish settlement in Connecticut. Some 
time before 1732 came Isaac, Joseph 
and John Cody. Before long John and 
Isaac removed to Hopkinton, Massa- 
chusetts. Isaac married there, but re- 
turned to Union, Connecticut, where he 
died. John, too, removed from Hopkin- 
ton, but Joseph settled there in 1738 and 
spent his life there, dying some time 
before 1782. He married before 1720, 
Mary, surname unknown. Children: i. 
Joseph, of whom further. 2. Lucy, born 
about 1725 ; married John Nutt. 3. Mary, 
born about 1728; married Nathan Jef- 
fords. 4. Philip, born about 1730; mar- 
ried Abigail Emerson. 5. Jerusha, born 
about 1733; married John Death. 6. 
Jonathan, born 1735, died September 26, 
1807. 7. Isaac, born in 1739. 

(II) Joseph Cody, Jr., son of Joseph 
and Mary Cody, was born in 1720, and 
died in Hopkmton, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 26, 1818, aged ninety-eight years. He 
lived in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, served 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the French and Indian War (1754- 
1763), was in the expedition to Crown 
Point and in the expedition to Fort 
George, and served also in the Revolution 
for forty-three days. He married, in Hop- 
kinton, Massachusetts, November 3, 1748, 
Mary Whitney, who was born October 4, 
1731, and died December 5, 1816. Chil- 
dren: I. Mary, born July 26, 1749. 2. 
Sarah, born September 3, 1751. 3. Joseph, 
born December 3, 1753. 4. Sarah, born 
December 7, 1756; married William Fan- 
ning. 5. Hannah, born January 11, 1759. 
6. Tabitha, of whom further. 7. Esther, 
born October 15, 1766. 8. Elizabeth, born 
September 7, 1769. 9. John, born Decem- 
ber 2, 1774. 

(Ill) Tabitha Cody, daughter of Joseph 
and Mary (Whitney) Cody, was born 
in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, August 13, 
1763. She married, January 28, 1788, 
Jonathan Bullock. (See Bullock V.) 



ADRIANCE, John P., 

Manafactnrer. 

In the second half of the nineteenth 
century, when manufacturing assumed 
such new and large proportions in the 
United States, no one industry at Pough- 
keepsie. New York, did so much to create 
a good name at large for the city as did 
"The Buckeye," the plant of Adriance, 
Piatt & Company, where harvesting 
machinery was built. For stability, 
sound policies, broad and progressive 
administration, Adriance, Piatt & Com- 
pany had a wide reputation and one which 
honored not only the corporation itself, 
but gave prominence to the community 
in which it did its work. 

The roots of this great establishment 
are traceable to the business activities in 
Poughkeepsie of John Adriance, who, 
having owned an iron foundry, became in- 
terested in newly invented machines for 



mowing and began about 1850 to build 
a machine which he called "The Forbush." 

Meanwhile, John Adriance's son, John 
P. Adriance, had been engaged in busi- 
ness in New York, but he, like his father, 
saw the potential importance of machin- 
ery for harvesting and began to build 
mowers at Worcester, Massachusetts. In 
1859 John P. Adriance moved his business 
from Worcester to Poughkeepsie, New 
York, occupying at first as a factory the 
Red Mill at Mill and Smith streets, and 
then erecting a large new building on the 
shore of the Hudson, adjoining the New 
York Central & Hudson River Railroad. 
In this latter location his output grew to 
its great ultimate extent and value, and 
his standing in the world of industry 
became of the highest rank. 

(I) John P. Adriance and his father 
were members of a Dutch family estab- 
lished in America in the first years of the 
colonies. About 1646 Adrian Reyersz 
settled at Flatbush, Long Island. He is 
supposed to have been the son of Reyer 
Elberts, of Utrecht, and had a brother, 
Martin Reyersz, also of Long Island. 
The descendants of Martin Reyersz be- 
came known by the patronymic : Ryers- 
Reyerson, while members of Adrian 
Reyersz family have borne the surname 
Adrianse-Adriance. 

Adrian Reyersz married, in 1659, An- 
natie Schenck, daughter of Martin 
Schenck, lived a useful and respected life 
at Flatbush, and died in 1710. In the line 
which John P. Adriance, of Poughkeepsie 
descended from, Adrian Reyersz, of Flat- 
bush, the second and third generations 
were resident on Long Island, the fourth 
and Fifth at Hopewell, Dutchess County, 
New York, and the sixth (John P. Adri- 
ance's father) at Poughkeepsie. After 
Adrian Reyersz and Annatie Schenck, his 
wife, came: 



97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(II) Albert Adrianse, born 1663, mar- 
ried, 1689, Catalina, daughter of Rem and 
Jannetje (de Rapalie) Vanderbeck. 

(III) Rem Adrianse, born 1690, died 
1730; married Sarah Brinckerhoff, daugh- 
ter of Joris and Annetje (Bogart) 
Brinckerhoff. 

(IV) Abraham Adrianse, born 1720, on 
Long Island, died 1765, in Dutchess 
County, New York; married, 1751, Fem- 
metje Van Kleef. 

(V) Abraham Adriance, Jr., who 
changed the spelling of the name, was 
born (Post.) 1766, died 1825 ; married 
1788, Ann Storm, daughter of Goris and 
Maritje (Concklin) Storm. 

(VI) John Adriance, born 1795, died 
1873; married, 1817, Sarah Ely, daughter 
of Joseph and Elizabeth (Tarpenning) 
Harris. 

(VII) John P. Adriance, born March 4, 
1825, died June 18, 1891 ; married, in New 
York City, June 13, 1848, Mary Jane 
Ruthven, daughter of Isaac L. and Mari- 
on Erskine (Ruthven) Piatt. Their chil- 
dren were: i. Isaac Reynolds, a sketch 
of whom follows. 2. John Erskine, a 
sketch of whom follows. 3. James Ruth- 
ven, born June 8, 1856, died April 21, 
1879. 4. Marion Ruthven, born August 
18, 1858; married, January 12, 1887, Silas 
Wodell; died March 24, 1917. 5. Harris 
Ely, born February 18, 1861. 6. William 
Allen, born February 6, 1864. 7, Francis 
Henry, born December 16, 1866. 

John P. Adriance, after passing through 
the schools of Poughkeepsie, went to New 
York City in 1845 and entered the hard- 
ware business in the employ of Walsh & 
Mallory, a firm which shortly sent him to 
Manchester, New Hampshire, in charge 
of a branch store. Mr. Adriance soon 
succeeded to the store at Manchester, 
but, in 1852, returned to New York City 
where he formed a partnership with 



Samuel R. Piatt and Samuel W. Sears 
to deal in wholesale hardware. In 1854 
Sears, Adriance & Piatt bought the patent 
rights in the Manny mower for the New 
England States and began to manufacture 
mowers at Worcester, Massachusetts. 
Then, in 1857, John P. Adriance saw a 
mower, patented by Aultman & Miller, 
of Canton, Ohio, tried out at Syracuse, 
New York, in a competitive test of such 
machines, and was so impressed with its 
excellence that he acquired the patent 
rights, named the machine "The Buckeye" 
in honor of its original connection with 
Ohio, and began making mowers of this 
model at Worcester. In 1859 this busi- 
ness at Worcester was removed to Pough- 
keepsie, as stated above. Four years later 
(1863) the firm of Sears, Adriance & 
Piatt was dissolved, Mr. Sears retaining 
the hardware department and a new firm 
— Adriance, Piatt & Company — being or- 
ganized to build harvesting machinery, 
with Mr. Adriance as president, Samuel 
R. Piatt as vice-president and Isaac S. 
Piatt as treasurer. Mr. Adriance re- 
mained in active connection with Adri- 
ance, Piatt & Company until his death in 
1 891. 

No citizen of Poughkeepsie ever had a 
more respected place in the community 
than John P. Adriance. His ability to 
develop and maintain a large industrial 
establishment, which ability was based 
on good judgment and strength of moral 
principle, was supplanted by a quality of 
character and personality which endeared 
him to large numbers of people. Kind- 
ness was innate with him. The inner side 
of the story of business in the Pough- 
keepsie of his day would, if told in full, 
show many men carried by him through 
temporary financial stringencies ; while in 
private life he helped many families to 
carry on, and to charitable and philan- 




J . ' {jUAr^^-crCc^ JTcLr[.^y,,.c>.y,,^JZsO> 



/%r j^Ktgncm" jVji. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thropic work was a generous contributor. 
He was a member of the Dutch Reformed 
Church, and in politics was a Republican. 
The Adriance Memorial Library building 
in the city of Poughkeepsie was erected 
by his children in memory of him and of 
his wife. 

The Adriance family arms are regis- 
tered in Holland, whence the members 
who planted that stock in American life 
emigrated in the seventeenth century. 
In the "Ryerson Genealogy" and history 
of the Knickerbocker families of Ryerson, 
Ryerse Adriance and Martense, all de- 
scendants of Marten and Adriaen Ryerse 
(Reyerzen), of Amsterdam, Holland, the 
description of the family coat-of-arms is 
given as follows: 

Arms — Quarterly, one and four, sable a tree 
withered and eradicated argent ; two and three, 
argent; three halberds bendways, and in bend sin- 
ister, the middle one longer than the others, sable ; 
the blades vert; surtout argent; a martlet or. 

Crest — A swan rousant. 



ADRIANCE, Isaac Reynolds, 

Man of Varied Activltiea. 

I. Reynolds Adriance was born in Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, January 12, 
1851, the son of John P. and Mary Jane 
R. (Piatt) Adriance. His education was 
received at the F. B. Warring School at 
Poughkeepsie and at the Churchill School 
at Ossining, New York. It was not long 
after he left school that he became associ- 
ated with the firm of Adriance, Piatt & 
Company, manufacturers of harvesting 
machinery, of which his father was the 
president. The desire to master the de- 
tails of anything and everything worth 
while that came to his hand accounted in 
no little degree for his rapid and merited 
rise in the councils of the great family 
concern. He was advanced to treasurer 
of the company and occupied that office 



until Adriance, Piatt & Company was 
absorbed by the Moline Plow Company, 
of Moline, Illinois, January 18, 1913. 
Thereafter Mr. Adriance confined his 
attention to his personal and financial 
affairs, which were numerous enough to 
make large demands upon his time and 
energy. 

Mr. Adriance, when a youth of seven- 
teen, enlisted in Company A, 21st Regi- 
ment, New York State National Guard, 
and eight years later, or in 1875, through 
successive promotions, he was made 
captain of his company. His interest in 
military affairs remained one of his hob- 
bies all through life, and although he v/as 
on the retired list when the Federal Gov- 
ernment determined that this country 
should cast its lot on the side of the allies 
in the World War, Mr. Adriance quickly 
came forward and offered his services to 
the War Department. He was appointed 
mustering officer for Dutchess County, 
and in this capacity he mustered into the 
Federal service all the National Guard 
units of the district. Throughout the war 
Captain Adriance was a tireless worker 
and a generous contributor to the drives 
for funds for the Government and the 
welfare organizations. 

On the cultural side of Mr. Adriance's 
nature his commendable leaning toward 
literature had its most visible example 
in his rich collection of books, among 
which were many volumes privately 
printed for a limited number of sub- 
scribers. For virtually half a century Mr. 
Adriance made public exhibit of his book- 
lover's spirit by continuous association 
with library work, and on his death he 
was chairman of the board of trustees of 
the Adriance Memorial Library, a posi- 
tion he had held since the founding of 
that institution. Previous to the opening 
of the Adriance Library, which was given 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to the city of Poughkeepsie by the chil- 
dren of the late John P. Adriance, I. 
Reynolds Adriance was chairman of the 
library board of the Board of Education 
of that city, and in years of continuous 
service he was dean of city office holders. 
In October, 1898, the Adriance Library 
was opened to the public, and with this 
event, as well as with the conception of 
the initial plans, Mr. Adriance was inti- 
mately connected, having from the very 
first given of his best in an advisory 
capacity. 

In 1891 Mr. Adriance became actively 
associated with the Merchants' National 
Bank of Poughkeepsie as a director of 
that institution. Four years later he was 
elected vice-president and filled that posi- 
tion until 1897, when he was advanced 
to the presidency of the bank, which 
office he held until 191 1. From 191 1 to 
1916 he once more served as vice-presi- 
dent, and from 1916 to 1921 he served his 
second term as president. After that Mr. 
Adriance became chairman of the board 
of directors and continued as such until 
the time of his death. He was a director 
of the Williamsburg Fire Insurance 
Company and later of the United States 
Fire Insurance Company when the latter 
absorbed the former. He was a director 
of R. U. Delapenha & Company, a trustee 
of Vassar Brothers' Hospital, a trustee 
of the Holland Society of New York, 
and an officer in many charitable insti- 
tutions. He was a member of the Sons 
of the Revolution, the Army and Navy 
Club of New York City, the Dutchess 
Golf and Country Club, and the Amrita 
Club, of Poughkeepsie, of which latter 
organization he was president in 1890. 

Mr. Adriance married, April 27, 1876, 
Ada Ferris Campbell, daughter of Henry 
Livingston and Emmeline (Collins) 
Campbell, of Unionvale, Dutchess County, 



New York. The Campbell family have 
resided in Dutchess County since the 
Revolutionary War; Captain Archibald 
Campbell, of the Argyle clan, having 
come to this country as an officer in the 
British army. He married Jane Munroe, 
of Long Island, and was killed during the 
war at a skirmish near White Plains, 
New York, in 1776. His two sons were 
educated in England, but Archibald, Jr., 
returned to this country and made his 
home on his father's estate at Pawling, 
New York. He was well known through- 
out the country, giving his attention 
largely to the management of his proper- 
ty, but also being a very efficient magis- 
trate for one not professionally a lawyer. 
He was possessed of such extensive legal 
knowledge that he became County Judge. 
He married Elizabeth Livingston Mit- 
chell. His death occurred in 1847, leaving 
a widow and ten children. One of his 
sons, Duncan, married Amanda Ferris, 
and lived on the family estate at Pawling, 
where he upheld the traditions of his fore- 
bears. He died in 1892. His only son 
was Henry Livingston, who married 
Emmeline Cordelia Collins, and settled 
on the Collins estate in the town of 
Unionvale. Mr. Campbell engaged in 
farming, and became a well known and 
respected citizen of the community. He 
died in 1894, survived by his widow and 
three children ; Duncan ; Ada Ferris, who 
married I. Reynolds Adriance ; and Eliza- 
beth Borden, who married Albert Adri- 
ance Simpson, of Poughkeepsie. The 
Campbell family of which Mrs. Adriance 
is a member, is entitled to bear arms: 

Arms — Quarterly, ist and 4th, gyronny of 
eight or aiid sable, (for Campbell) 2nd and 3d 
argent, a lymphad, her sails furled and oars in 
action sable, flag and pennants flying gules ( for 
Lome). Behind the escutcheon are placed saltire- 
ways, a baton powdered with thistles, on the top 
thereof an imperial crown, and thereon the royal 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



crest of Scotland; and a sword proper, hilt and 
pommel or. Upon the escutcheon is placed the 
coronet of his rank. 

Crest — Upon a wreath of the colors, a boar's 
head erased or. 

Supporters — On either side of the escutcheon a 
lion guardant gules. 

Mottoes — Above the crest: Ne obliviscaris. 
(Means: Do not forget.) Below the arms : Vix 
ea nostra voco. (Means : I scarce call these deeds 
of our ancestors ours.) 

To Mr. and Mrs. Adriance were born 
two children: i. John P., born August 
2. 1891 ; educated at Hill School, Potts- 
town, Pennsylvania ; Yale University, 
class of 1913, degree of Ph. B. ; a director 
of the Merchants' National Bank, Pough- 
keepsie; a director of R. U. Delaphenha 
& Company ; member of the Yale Club of 
New York City, Dutchess Golf and 
Country Club, of which he is secretary 
and treasurer, and a member of the Am- 
rita Club. 2. Marion Campbell, educated 
at The Misses Masters School, Dobbs 
Ferry, New York ; married, June 8, 1918, 
Edgar Voorhees Anderson, and has two 
children, Edgar Adriance Anderson, born 
April 25, 1919, and Adriance Campbell 
Anderson. 

I. Reynolds Adriance relinquished his 
many sided service at his home in Pough- 
keepsie, April 16, 1923. Mourning for 
his loss extended far beyond the limits 
of the city of his residence. Organiza- 
tions with which he had been affiliated 
and the local press, in resolutions, edi- 
torials and news comment, paid sincere 
and cordial tribute to his memory. This 
memorial would be incomplete without 
the inclusion of these testimonials from 
the voice of the people. 

"The Poughkeepsie Eagle-News" said 
editorially : 

The death Monday morning of I. Reynolds Adri- 
ance brought to a close a career of very real use- 
fulness to the community in which he had lived. 
His was a life filled with a wide variety of inter- 



ests, business and civic, and while he had given up 
a good deal of business activity during the last 
few years, his loss will be keenly felt not only by 
his associates, but by the city at large. 

Mr. Adriance will be remembered for his serv- 
ices to the Merchants' National Bank and for his 
interest in the Adriance Memorial Library, the 
president of whose board he had been since its 
organization in the "90's." A great lover of books 
himself, he did his utmost through the library to 
make good reading available to the people of 
Poughkeepsie, a service which everyone who has 
been benefited by it should fully appreciate. And 
his work with the library will continue to bear 
fruit in the years to come. In a business way, Mr. 
Adriance was a conservative of the best type. 
Being conservative isn't always popular, but every 
city needs men of the type as a steadying influence, 
for they prevent many a mistake. 

Mr. Adriance was a gentleman of the old school. 
In a personal way he was extremely generous, and 
his quiet benefactions, though oftentimes unknown 
to the general public, were many and great. He 
was deeply interested in Poughkeepsie and Pough- 
keepsians, and his knowledge of family history in 
this city, coupled with an exceptionally retentive 
memory, made him a real authority on bygone 
days. Few Poughkeepsians have had so exhaus- 
tive and authoritative a fund of local information 
as he. 

The loss of Mr. Adriance will be keenly felt in 
this city in which he lived, and to which he con- 
tributed so much. 

An epitome of the life that Mr. Adri- 
ance lived among his fellows was elo- 
quently given in an editorial by "The 
Evening Star and Enterprise" of Pough- 
keepsie, April 17, 1923, the day following 
his death : 

The passing winter has exacted a severe toll 
from our membership. 

In no case has the grim reaper been more cruel 
than in removing from our community that most 
unassuming yet estimable member, I. Reynolds 
Adriance. 

His life among us was of the wholesome sort. 
A life of leisure did not appeal to him, though such 
a life was made possible by the accident of wealth. 
His money did not spoil him; on the contrary, it 
gave him the chance to cultivate the cultural side 
of life. He became a lover of books, of art and 
the sciences. Even in gratifying his tastes in that 
direction, our fellow-townsman was unselfish. He 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wished to share with his fellowmen his opportuni- 
ties for study and for cultivating acquaintance with 
authors of standard books. This explains his 
untiring devotion to the mission of the Adriance 
Memorial Library. In other fields of civic useful- 
ness he was also entitled to the credit which goes 
to the volunteer rather than to the drafted man. 
He became a military man because in that way he 
wished to serve his country. His Americanism 
was of the deep-seated variety, exemplified not in 
words of mouth but in years of devotion to the 
flag and its upholding. 

Others have spoken and written of his ability as 
a banker, as a manufacturer. 

We like to think of 'Ren' Adriance as a man 
who saw the finer things of life come within his 
grasp — and wish not only to enjoy them himself but 
to share them with others. No higher tribute 
could be paid to any citizen. 



ADRIANCE, John Erskine, ^ 

Business Man, Financier, 

John E. Adriance, second son of John 
P. and Mary Jane R. (Piatt) Adriance, 
was born in New York City, December 
23. 1853. He attended the Poughkeepsie 
Military Institute, Riverview Academy, 
Poughkeepsie, and the Churchill School 
at Ossining, and after a year spent in 
travel abroad, entered the counting room 
of Adriance, Piatt & Company. He rose 
to the presidency of the corporation and 
was actively identified with its affairs 
until in 1913, in the era of business con- 
solidations, the Buckeye plant was sold 
to the Moline Plow Company, of Moline, 
Illinois. 

John E. Adriance has maintained touch 
with the life of his own city in innumer- 
able ways and has promoted the interests 
of Poughkeepsie in a broad-minded spirit, 
giving largely of time, means and influ- 
ence. Since 1894 he has been a director 
of the Farmers' and Manufacturers' 
Bank, serving as vice-president 1912-1922, 
and again in 1924. He was elected a trus- 
tee of Vassar College in 1910, and was re- 
tained in that office eleven years, resign- 



ing in 1921 on account of ill health. On 
the death of his brother, I. Reynolds 
Adriance, 1923, he was elected to succeed 
him as president of the Adriance Memo- 
rial Library of Poughkeepsie. He is a 
trustee of the Poughkeepsie Savings 
Bank, elected September 24, 191 7; presi- 
dent of the Poughkeepsie Rural Cemetery 
Association, elected 1913, and a tnistee 
since 1900; trustee of the Poughkeepsie 
Young Men's Christian Association; one 
of five who organized the Dutchess Golf 
and Country Club, April, 1897, ^"d presi- 
dent for more than fifteen years ; member 
of Triune Lodge, No. 782, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; member of the Chapter 
Commandery and the Mystic Shrine ; 
member of the Holland Society of New 
York State. He is a communicant of 
Christ Episcopal Church, of Pough- 
keepsie. 

On April 27, 1882, Mr. Adriance mar- 
ried Mary Hasbrouck, daughter of Mat- 
thew and Jane Catherine (Hardenbergh) 
Hasbrouck, of Stone Ridge, Ulster 
County, New York. They are the parents 
of two children : Jean Hardenbergh, who 
died October 11, 1897; and Marguerite 
Piatt. 



P 

ANDREWS, Robert W., 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Dr. Robert W. Andrews, a prominent 
and widely known physician and surgeon 
of Dutchess County, New York, for more 
than two decades, and by reason of his 
expert professional services has contribu- 
ted to the physical well being of his com- 
munity, and thus to general advancement 
and progress, comes of old English stock. 

The surname "Andrews" is a baptismal 
name, meaning "son-of-Andrew," and 
became very popular throughout the 
British Isles during the thirteenth cen- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPH-^ 



tury. Since Andrew was the name of the 
patron saint and knightly champion of 
Scotland, as title of the primatial See, 
the surname became especially wide 
spread in Scotland. As an apostolic name 
it became popular at an early date all 
over Europe, as is evidenced by the vast 
numbers who bear that name to-day in 
America, descendants, for the most part, 
of English and Scotch Andrews. The 
name has undergone many changes, and 
has been written as Anderewe, Andreu, 
Andrea, Andre, Andrewes (still in ex- 
istence), and finally, Andrews. 

The following coat-of-arms is the 
heraldic device used by the American 
Andrews : 

Arms — Gules, a saltire or surmounted by another 
vert 

Crest — A blackamoor's head in profile couped at 
the shoulders and wreathed about the temples all 
proper. 

Motto — Virtute et fortuna. 

One branch of the family were residents 
of Yorkshire, England, as early as the 
year 1379, for in the Poll Tax of Yorks 
of that year a Willelmus Anderewe is 
mentioned, this man probably being the 
common ancestor of all the Yorkshire 
Andrews. The branch of the English 
family herein considered begins with 
Robert Andrews, of whom forward. 

(I) Robert Andrews, the progenitor of 
this branch of the family in America, was 
born September 6, 1823, in Mosely, near 
Leeds, Yorkshire, England, where he was 
reared and educated. He immigrated to 
the United States as a young man, land- 
ing at Boston, Massachusetts, but settling 
in Vermont, where he followed the trade 
of wool carder, which he had learned in 
his native country, plying his trade both 
at Northfield and Northfield Falls, Ver- 
mont. Fraternally, he was a Mason, 
having been raised to the degree of 



Master Mason before he emigrated from 
England. His religious affiliation was 
given to the Episcopal faith (Church of 
England). His death occurred at North- 
field Falls, Vermont, April 30, 1895. He 
took his wife Belinda Germaine, a native 
of Vermont, who bore him two children, 
as follows: Charles H., of whom for- 
ward ; and Ellen, who became the wife of 
Fred N. Cook, of Northfield, Vermont. 

(H) Charles H. Andrews, elder child 
and only son of Robert and Belinda (Ger- 
maine) Andrews, was born in Northfield, 
Vermont, in December, 1847, and is still 
living (1924). He was educated in the 
public schools of his natal town, following 
which he learned the trade of wool-carder 
under the expert tutelage of his father, 
and in this vocation he has been identi- 
fied all his life. He is also a musician of 
more than ordinary ability, and in addi- 
tion to serving as bandmaster of his 
native town, he has composed many band 
selections of note. Fraternally, Mr. 
Andrews is a member of Granite Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Barre, 
Vermont. In religion he adheres to the 
faith of his fathers. Charles H. Andrews 
was married at Rochdale, town of Pough- 
keepsie. New York, to Elenora F. Du 
Bois, a daughter of John M. and Mary 
Ann (Van Dyne) De Bois. Issue: 
Robert Wesley, of whom forward. 

(Ill) Robert Wesley Andrews, M. D., 
only son of Charles H. and Elenora F. 
(Du Bois) Andrews, was born in the 
town of Poughkeepsie, New York, Sep- 
tember 9, 1869. His early education was 
received in the public schools of his birth- 
place, and following his graduation from 
the Northfield High School in 1887, he 
entered the employ of A. M. Doty, a 
prominent druggist of Poughkeepsie. 
After becoming thoroughly familiar with 
the various phases of pharmaceutics — a 
103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



praiseworthy pre-medical course of action 
— he took up the study of medicine, 
during which time he learned the art, 
trade, and mystery of a hollow glassware 
blower at the Poughkeepsie Glass Works, 
and in 1895 entered the Albany Medical 
College, Albany, New York, from which 
institution he was graduated with the class 
of 1898, receiving the degree of Doctor 
of Medicine. He then took up his desi- 
dence in Brooklyn, New York, and shortly 
after was appointed acting assistant 
surgeon in the United States Army, being 
stationed first at Chickamauga Park, 
Georgia, and then transferred to the San 
Juan Hospital, at Porto Rico. In 1899 
Dr. Andrews returned to Poughkeepsie, 
and in August of that year he was ap- 
pointed first lieutenant and assistant 
surgeon. United States Volunteers, and 
assigned to the Forty-Sixth Infantry, 
which was ordered to the Philippine 
Islands. Dr. Andrews remained in the 
Philippines for a period of twenty months, 
and was an active participant in many of 
the numerous engagements. Among the 
recommendations in the Forty-Sixth In- 
fantry for medals of honor, brevet com- 
missions, and certificates of merit. Dr. 
Andrews was thus honored : "First 
Lieutenant and Assistant Surgeon Robert 
W. Andrews for Brevet rank of Captain ; 
for coolness and good judgment dis- 
played at Battle of Montalban, Philip- 
pine Islands, December 27, 1899." Cap- 
tain Andrews was mustered out of service 
on March 17, 1901, at Poughkeepsie, New 
York. 

In the same year, 1901, Dr. Andrews 
resumed the practice of his profession 
in Poughkeepsie, New York, where he 
has since remained, building up a large 
clientage and a reputation for ability, 
integrity and efficiency. To-day he is 
one of the foremost practitioners in the 
medical fraternity of Dutchess County. 



Politically, he is a staunch supporter 
of the Democratic party, and served his 
party ably as coroner of Dutchess County 
in 1906; and as bacteriologist for the 
Poughkeepsie Board of Health in 1909-10. 
Dr. Andrews is a member and past presi- 
dent of the Dutchess County Medical 
Society, having been the second youngest 
physician to occupy this important office 
in the century and a quarter of the soci- 
ety's existence. He is also a member of 
the American Medical Association, the 
New York State Medical Society, the 
Dutchess-Putnam Medical Society, a 
Fellow of the American College of Sur- 
geons, and the Poughkeepsie Academy of 
Medicine. He is attending physician at 
the Vassar Brothers' Hospital and the 
Bowne Memorial Hospital, and is con- 
sulting surgeon at the Hudson River 
State Hospital of Poughkeepsie. 

Fraternally, Dr. Andrews has been 
active in Masonic circles, as were also 
his forefathers, and is a member of 
Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 266, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Poughkeepsie Chapter, 
No. 172, Royal Arch Masons; King 
Solomon's Council, No. 31, Royal and 
Select Masters ; and Poughkeepsie Com- 
mandry, No. 43, Knights Templar. Dr. 
Andrews is also a Past Grand of the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
holds membership in the Amrita Club, 
and the Dutchess County Golf and 
Country Club. 

Dr. Robert Wesley Andrews was mar- 
ried at Poughkeepsie, New York, Sep- 
tember 27, 1898, to Minnie M. Marrill, a 
daughter of Dr. Joaquin and Amanda 
(Caire) Marrill, natives of Havana and 
Jersey City, New Jersey, respectively. 
Dr. Robert Wesley and Minnie M. (Mar- 
rill) Andrews are the parents of two chil- 
dren: I. Robert Carlisle, born September 
16, 1902, received his early education in 
the Poughkeepsie public schools, follow- 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing which he entered and was graduated 
from the Poughkeepsie High School, 
then followed a preparatory course, after 
which he matriculated at West Point 
United States Military Academy, being 
graduated from this famous institution 
with the class of 1924, and receiving a 
commission as second lieutenant in the 
United States Army. 2. Helen Germaine, 
born March 8, 1904, educated in the 
Poughkeepsie public and high schools, 
and at Vassar College. 



GUERNSEY, Stephen Gano, 

litLvryeT, Banker. 

The Poughkeepsie Bank was organized 
in 1830, and the same year the substantial 
bank building, with a portico of heavy 
plastered columns, was built and shel- 
tered the bank for three-quarters of a 
century, being torn down in 1906 to fur- 
nish a site for the building erected by 
the Poughkeepsie Trust Company, a 
corporation formed by the merger of the 
Poughkeepsie National Bank and the City 
Bank, the last named institution having 
been organized in i860. It was to the 
service of the Poughkeepsie National 
Bank that Stephen Gano Guernsey came, 
and to the presidency of which he was 
elected in 1892, and when that bank and 
the City National Bank merged into the 
Poughkeepsie Trust Company in 1901, 
he became president of that institution, a 
position he yet most ably fills. He is a 
lawyer by profession, and has not aban- 
doned his first love, but still continues 
the general practice of law. 

The Guernseys of Dutchess County, 
New York, trace descent from John 
Guernsey, who came to New England, 
and appeared in Milford, Connecticut, 
about 1634, and in that colony four gene- 
rations of the family lived, John Guern- 



sey, of the fourth generation, removing to 
Amenia, Dutchess County, New York. 
From John Guernsey, the American an- 
cestor, the line is traced through his son, 
Joseph Guernsey, born in 1639, and his 
wife, Hannah (Coley) Guernsey; their 
son, Joseph (2) Guernsey, a large land 
owner of Milford, and his wife, Hannah 
(Disbrow) Guernsey, daughter of General 
Disbrow, who died at Woodbury, Con- 
necticut, September 15, 1754; their son, 
John (2) Guernsey, born April 6, 1709, 
and his wife, Anna (Peck) Guernsey, 
daughter of Jeremiah Peck and grand- 
daughter of Rev. Jeremiah Peck, they re- 
moved to Litchfield, Connecticut, and 
thence to Amenia, Dutchess County, New 
York, where he died in 1783; their son, 
John (3) Guernsey, born October 28, 
1734, died in 1799, and his wife, Azubah 
(Buel) Guernsey, with whom he removed 
to Broome County, New York, there 
owning one thousand acres of farm and 
timber land, but he returned East, joined 
his family in Dutchess County, New 
York, and was buried near his father; 
their son, Ezekiel Guernsey, a physician, 
born in 1755, died at Stanford, Dutchess 
County, New York, in 1856, and his wife, 
Lavoisa (Bennett) Guernsey, daughter of 
Colonel Peter Bennett; their son, Stephen 
Gano Guernsey, born in Stanford, Dut- 
chess County, New York, September 8, 
1799, died there in 1875, and his wife, 
Eleanor (Rogers) Guernsey, daughter of 
Dayton Rogers, of Litchfield, Connecti- 
cut, and granddaughter of a Revolution- 
ary soldier; their son, Stephen Gano (2) 
Guernsey, of whom further. 

Stephen Gano (2) Guernsey, of the 
eighth American generation of the family 
founded in New England by John Guern- 
sey, son of Stephen Gano and Eleanor 
(Rogers) Guernsey, was born in the town 
of Stanford, Dutchess County, New York, 
105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April 22, 1848. Being the son of a farmer, 
he alternated school attendance with farm 
work until he had exhausted the advan- 
tages of the schools of his town. He then 
attended that famous northern New York 
school, Fort Edward Institute, and there 
completed his institutional education. He 
continued at the home farm, his father's 
assistant, until well over legal age, then 
in 1870 left the farm and settled in Pough- 
keepsie, New York, where his elder broth- 
er. Captain Daniel W. Guernsey, later 
County Judge (1884-96) was engaged in 
law practice. 

Stephen G. Guernsey, having deter- 
mined to embrace the profession of law, 
began his studies in 1870 in the office of 
Charles Wheaton, ex-County Judge, later 
passing under the preceptorship of his 
brother. Captain Daniel W. Guernsey, a 
veteran of the Civil War, born in 1834, 
died in 1902. In 1872, Stephen G. Guern- 
sey was admitted to the New York bar, 
and at once began practice in Pough- 
keepsie and there continues in general 
practice, his career closely paralleling 
that of another veteran of the Dutchess 
County bar, Frank B. Lown, a sketch of 
whom also appears in this work, they be- 
ginning the study of law at about the 
same time, Mr. Guernsey about one year 
the elder in age, Mr. Lown one year the 
elder in professional age, both having 
practiced in Poughkeepsie for more than 
half a century, both eminent in the law, 
and both presidents of strong financial 
institutions, and both yet "in the harness" 
as professional men and financiers. Mr. 
Guernsey, in 1874, was appointed deputy 
county clerk, an office he held until 1876, 
when he resigned to engage in private 
practice in the office of Jacob Jewett. 
Shortly afterward, Mr. Jewett died, Mr. 
Guernsey continuing in the same offices. 
In politics Mr. Guernsey is a Democrat, 



and from 1890 until 1894 he was a member 
of the Poughkeepsie Board of Education. 
During the administration of Governor 
Lucius Robinson he was appointed loan 
commissioner for New York State, and 
was reappointed by succeeding governors. 
In 1892, he was elected president of the 
Poughkeepsie National Bank, and in 1901 
president of the Poughkeepsie Trust 
Company, as heretofore outlined. His 
record as a financier has won him annual 
reelection to the presidency during the 
more than two decades that have passed 
and the steady growth of the company in 
business and in public confidence is the 
best comment that can be made upon his 
efficiency and ability. He is a trustee of 
Vassar Brothers' Hospital, one of the 
early members of the Amrita Club, mem- 
ber of the Bar Association and other 
clubs and societies, and a member of the 
Congregational Church. 

Stephen G. Guernsey married, April 18, 
1877, Marianna Hicks, of Poughkeepsie, 
New York, and they are the parents of 
four children: Raymond G., Homer W., 
Louis G., Emmeline. 



HARRINGTON, James Taylor, 

SnFKeon. 

When Dr. Harrington began his pro- 
fessional career he elected surgery as his 
special line of practice and so continues, 
having been since 1910 located in Pough- 
keepsie, New York, with the exception of 
about two years spent overseas with the 
American Expeditionary Forces and the 
Army of Occupation, serving as surgical 
director with the rank of major in the 
Medical Corps of the United States Army. 
He is locally prominent both in his pro- 
fession and as a citizen. 

(I) Dr. Harrington is a descendant of 
Robert Harrington, born in England in 
106 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1616, died in Waltham, Massachusetts, 
May 7, 1707, and was buried there. He 
went to Watertown, Massachusetts, and 
there married, October i, 1648, Susan 
George, born 1632, died July 6, 1694. 

(II) John Harrington, son of Robert 
and Susan (George) Harrington, was 
born August 24, 1651, and died July 17, 
1741, at Waltham, Massachusetts. His 
wife, Hannah (Winter) Harrington, 
whom he married November 16, 1681, 
died at Waltham, July 17, 1741, aged 
seventy-eight. 

(III) John Harrington, son of John 
and Hannah (Winter) Harrington, was 
born in October, 1684. His wife, Sarah 
(Barnard) Harrington, whom he married 
November 13, 1740, bore him a son John. 

(IV) John Harrington, son of John 
and Sarah (Barnard) Harrington, was 
born February 28, 1742, and died at West- 
bury, Massachusetts, January 23, 1829. 
His wife, Mary (Whitney) Harrington, 
whom he married December 20, 1766, bore 
him a son Thomas Wentworth. 

(V) Thomas Wentworth Harrington, 
son of John and Mary (Whitney) Har- 
rington, was born October i, 1774, and 
died about 1809. His wife, Rachel Eunice 
(Hyde) Harrington, died at Worcester, 
Massachusetts, about 1850. 

(VI) Stephen Harrington, son of 
Thomas W. and Rachel E. (Hyde) Har- 
rington, was born at Southboro, Massa- 
chusetts, December 14, 1806, and died 
April 13, 1886. His second wife, Sarah 
Bachelder (Holbrook) Harrington, whom 
he married at Grafton, Massachusetts, in 
May, 1842, died at Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, November 26, 1877. 

(VII) Lewis Wentworth Harrington, 
son of Stephen and Sarah B. (Holbrook) 
Harrington, was born in Millbury, Massa- 
chusetts, September 23, 1844. He was 
educated in the public schools of Wor- 



cester, Massachusetts, and in 1869 went 
to New York City and became connected 
with the Sargent Hardware Company, 
and later formed an association with 
Tobias New, the original constructor of 
water-proof cellars. Since 1870 he has 
been connected with the Tobias New 
Construction Company, and is now its 
president. Lewis W. Harrington mar- 
ried, April 21, 1874, Mary Young Taylor, 
born in New York City, December 19, 
1850, daughter of James and Olivia 
(Moody) Taylor, her parents both born in 
Scotland. 

(VIII) James Taylor Harrington, son 
of Lewis W. and Mary Y. (Taylor) Har- 
rington, was born in New York City, 
May 7, 1877. He there attended the pub- 
lic schools, and for two years was a stu- 
dent at the College of the City of New 
York. Later he spent two years at 
Phillips-Andover Academy, and in 1895 
he entered Harvard College, whence he 
was graduated Bachelor of Arts, class of 
"99". The following three years he spent 
in New York City engaged with a whole- 
sale woolen and silk house, but in the fall 
of 1902 he entered the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons, Columbia University, 
whence he was graduated Doctor of Medi- 
cine, class of June, 1906. 

The three years following graduation. 
Dr. Harrington spent as interne at Roose- 
velt and Sloan hospitals. New York City, 
then for one year was assistant surgeon 
to "Overlook Hospital," Summit, New 
Jersey. On May 15, 1910, he located in 
Poughkeepsie, New York, as superintend- 
ent and surgeon at Vassar Brothers 
Hospital. In 191 1 he resigned the super- 
intendency to devote his time entirely to 
his duties as attending surgeon, and so 
continued until August 16, 1917, when he 
was commissioned an officer of the medi- 
cal Corps of the United States Army, 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



serving overseas from April 8, 1918, until 
July 12, 1919, receiving honorable dis- 
charge with the rank of major, on August 

9, 1919- 

While abroad on military duty Dr. 
Harrington saw active service as a mem- 
ber of the surgical staff of Evacuation 
Hospital No. 6, American Expeditionary 
Forces, and as surgical director of Evacu- 
ation Hospital No. 27, with the Army of 
Occupation. He sailed for home, July 
14, 1919, receiving honorable discharge 
after his return to the United States. 

On his return to Poughkeepsie, Dr. 
Harringfton resumed his duties as attend- 
ing surgeon to Vassar Brothers Hospital, 
and has since devoted himself exclusively 
to surgical practice. He is a member of 
the Poughkeepsie Academy of Medicine, 
of which he was president in 1916 and 
1917. He is also a member of the Dutchess 
Putnam Medical Society, the American 
Medical Association, is a Fellow of 
the American College of Surgeons, mem- 
ber of the Harvard Club of New York, 
the Amrita Club, Dutchess Golf and 
Country Club, Rotary Club, University 
Club, Poughkeepsie Tennis Club, Triune 
Lodge, No. 782, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; director of Veterans Mountain 
Camp and of its medical board, member 
of the American Legion, the Military 
Order of the World War, Poughkeepsie 
Board of Health and its vice-president 
(1924). He heads the list of the nine 
Legionaires of the Dutchess County 
organization of the American Legion that 
have been appointed to the State Com- 
mittee of the Legion in New York State, 
he represented Lafayette Post on the 
Advisory Board of the Rehabilitation 
Committee. Major Harrington was a 
member of the National Rehabilitation 
Committee representing New York, New 
Jersey and Connecticut. In politics 



Major Harrington is a Republican. He 
is a member of the Reformed Church of 
Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Harrington married Lavina Cornell 
Vail, born at Verbank, Dutchess County, 
New York, March 24, 1888, whom he 
married at Poughkeepsie, New York, 
January 7, 1914. Their children : Jocelyn, 
born December 26, 1914, and Willard 
Vail, born September 21, 1918, both of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, the latter de- 
ceased. 

Mrs. James T. Harrington's father, 
Willard Cornell Vail, is a descendant of 
George Vail, who emigrated from Eng- 
land to Long Island, about 1680. His 
son, Moses Vail, died at Huntington, 
Long Island. He married Phoebe, sur- 
name unknown. Isaac Vail, the next in 
line, was born in 1741, died in 1801, at 
Verbank, Dutchess County, New York; 
he married Lavina Ketcham. Their son, 
Elias Vail, lived at Verbank, Town of 
Unionvale, in the old Vail homestead 
and died in 1857; he married Hannah 
Duncan. Their son, Elias D. Vail, of 
Verbank, born 1823, died 1908; he was a 
gentleman farmer; he married Lavina 
Cornell, they are the parents of Willard 
Cornell Vail, born in Verbank, Dutchess 
County, New York, May 17, 1856, died in 
Poughkeepsie, August 5, 1910; he was 
born in the old Vail homestead and was 
educated in the district schools of his 
native town, Oswego Institute, and 
Poughkeepsie Military Institute. For 
some time he served as clerk and book- 
keeper in the hardware store of Valentine 
& Coleman, of Poughkeepsie, later taking 
up the study of law in the office of Tris- 
tram Coffin. Two years later he entered 
the Albany, New York, Law School, and 
was graduated in the class of 1876. Re- 
turning to the old homestead he was en- 
gaged in farming until 1895, when he re- 
108 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



moved to Poughkeepsie, where he lived a 
retired life. Mr. Vail was a director for 
fifteen years of the Fallkill National Bank, 
member of the Amrita Club. Dutchess 
Golf and Country Club, and of the 
Masonic order. He married, January 14, 
1885, Gertrude B. Flagler, born January 
24, 1862, daughter of Philip D. Flagler, 
of "Overlook," town of Lagrange, Dutch- 
ess County, New York. They were the 
parents of two children : Lavina Cornell, 
who married Dr. Harrington ; and Elias 
C, born September 25, 1889, at Verbank, 
Dutchess County, New York ; educated 
at Riverview Military Academy, vice- 
president of the Pouvailsmith Manu- 
facturing Company, Poughkeepsie ; mar- 
ried, October 7, 1916, Alice Jaquith, of 
Omaha, Nebraska, and they were the 
parents of two children : Joan and Eleanor 
Vail. 



VAN KLEECK, Frank, ' 
Merchant. 

In the death of Frank Van Kleeck, in 
1917, the city of Poughkeepsie, New 
York, lost one of its most honorable 
merchants and citizens. A thoughtful, 
quiet man, he said or did nothing for dis- 
play, and was always tolerant of those 
who differed with him. Always a gentle- 
man, it was a pleasure to be associated 
with him socially or in business, and he 
left a good example of honorable and 
faithful living. Mr. Van Kleeck was 
noted in the business world principally 
for his succession in the family line in the 
manufacture of hats and furs, an industry 
established more than a century ago in 
Poughkeepsie and which holds an impor- 
tant place in the commercial life of that 
city. He preserved the rich traditions of 
the ancient family name, and sought to 
promote the success of the establishment 



through increased volume of trade and 
progressiveness of management. In these 
endeavors he was instrumental in having 
the business keep pace with the forward 
movement of the city of Poughkeepsie. 
Mr. Van Kleeck himself set a high mark 
for personal integrity in business affairs, 
which is one of the pleasant memories 
cherished by his family and associates. 

Frank Van Kleeck was a direct 
descendant of Baltus Barentsen Van 
Kleeck, the first of the family name to 
emigrate from Holland and transplant 
the roots of that robust stock to a farm- 
stead on the site of the present city of 
Poughkeepsie. In 1697, Baltus B. Van 
Kleeck bought a farm, and with character- 
istic energy began to do those things 
to which the succeeding generations of 
Van Kleeck's delighted to point. He was 
the first man to open a farm in that 
section, and he was the first man of any 
family in that region to build a stone 
house as the seat of his homestead. This 
famous Van Kleeck house for many years 
stood as a landmark on Mill Street, near 
Vassar Street, Poughkeepsie. From with- 
in its walls Baltus B. Van Kleeck went 
forth to become a member of the Colonial 
Assembly. He was successful in this ad- 
venture into politics, and was succeeded 
in office by his son Johannis. There were 
six children in the Van Kleeck family 
from which Frank Van Kleeck sprang. 
The line descends through Peter, Baltus, 
Peter B. and Teunis, the grandfather of 
Frank Van Kleeck. 

Teunis Van Kleeck was born June 14, 
1773, in Poughkeepsie, and having learned 
the hatter's trade, he established himself 
in that line of business in 1799. He mar- 
ried, January 15, 1792, Irene Bacon, and 
to them were born nine children, of whom 
the son next in line was Albert. 

Albert Van Kleeck was born in Pough- 



109 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



keepsie, December 27, 1807. He carried 
on his father's business until his own 
death, November 7, 1866. He attained 
prominence in that region in both busi- 
ness and politics. In 1857 he was elected 
treasurer of Dutchess County. He was 
appointed postmaster of Poughkeepsie by 
President Lincoln, and received a reap- 
pointment from President Johnson, but 
died before his term of office expired. In 
early manhood he was a Whig, but after- 
ward threw his influence to the new-born 
Republican party. He was succeeded in 
the hat manufacturing business by his 
son Edward, who died November 13, 
1890. His widow and Frank Van Kleeck 
managed the business until February, 
1894, when Frank Van Kleeck assumed 
the entire management. Albert Van 
Kleeck married, September 23, 1833, Eliza 
Green, a native of England. To them 
were born ten children. 

Frank Van Kleeck, of this memorial, 
was born in Poughkeepsie, June 25, 1857, 
the son of Albert and Eliza (Green) Van 
Kleeck. His death occurred on October 
14, 1917. He was educated in the schools 
of Poughkeepsie, and early in life became 
engaged in the manufacture of hats and 
furs, an industry that had been in the Van 
Kleeck family for more than one hundred 
years. The family traditions and inci- 
dents of local history were so indelibly 
stored in the mind of Frank Van Kleeck 
that for many years he was a delightful 
medium of this class of information to 
numerous people of the community. One 
of the relics most highly prized by him 
was a hat that had been made by his 
grandfather, Teunis Van Kleeck, for a 
soldier of the War of 1812. 

Mr. Van Kleeck for a number of years 
had been president of Vassar Brothers' 
Hospital, and was a trustee of that insti- 
tution for more than a quarter of a cen- 



tury. The board of trustees of the hos- 
pital adopted the following resolutions on 
the death of Mr. Van Kleeck : 

Whereas, Frank Van Kleeck, whose death 
occurred on October 14, 1917, was a trustee of 
Vassar Brothers' Hospital for twenty-six years 
and was president of the Board of Trustees for 
eleven years prior to March, 1913, it seems fitting 
that more than passing notice should be taken of 
his death. 

Resolved. That the Board of Trustees of Vassar 
Brothers' Hospital desires to place upon record its 
appreciation of his sterling qualities, his uniform 
courtesy and his conscientious performance of his 
official duties and its profound regret that a life 
so useful and a relationship so agreeable should be 
terminated ; further 

Resolved, That this resolution be recorded in 
the minutes of the board and a copy thereof sent 
to Mr. Van Kleeck's family. 

Benjamin M. Fowler, Secretary. 

Mr. Van Kleeck was a trustee for twen- 
ty-six years of the Vassar Brothers' Home 
for Aged Men. He was a member of the 
Adriance Memorial Library Board, hav- 
ing been appointed to the first board in 
1899. At a special meeting of the board 
of trustees of the City Library, October 
16, 1917, the following was unanimously 
adopted : 

The Board of Trustees of the City Library 
wishes to record its esteem for its late member, 
Mr. Frank Van Kleeck, and to express its sorrow 
and regret for his death. 

Mr. Van Kleeck was one of the original mem- 
bers of the library board and has continued in 
office since the board organized on May 4, 1900. 
He took a deep interest in the work of the library, 
and as chairman of the Book Committee did much 
by his advice and counsel to give the library its 
present high standing. 

The board feels that the city has lost a valuable 
official and a citizen; and the cordial relation 
existing among the members of the board makes 
his death the loss of a personal friend to the sur- 
viving members. 

Resolved, That the foregoing be entered in full 
upon the minutes and a copy sent to his family. 
I. Reynolds Adriance, President. 

John L. Sicklev, Secretary. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Van Kleeck published, in 1900, 
"The Van Kleeck Family," a little volume 
of great historical value. In his political 
affiliations he was a Republican. He was 
a member of the Holland Society of the 
State of New York ; a member for more 
than forty years and at one time president 
of the Amrita Club, a member of the 
Dutchess County Historical Society, the 
Phoenix Hose Company, Triune Lodge, 
No. 782, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
the Reformed Dutch Church. 

Mr. Van Kleeck married, September 
24, 1891, Sarah P. Sleight, daughter of 
Henry A. and Mary (Ward) Sleight, old 
and honored residents of Dutchess 
County and of Revolutionary stock. The 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Van 
Kleeck are: i. Mary Sleight, who mar- 
ried, December 29, 1920, Theodore Van 
Kleeck Swift, of Poughkeepsie. 2. Baltus 
Barentsen, born April 10, 1901, at Pough- 
keepsie; he was educated at Riverview 
Military Academy, the Choate School at 
Wallingford, Connecticut, and Williams 
College, and is a member of the Delta 
Kappa Epsilon fraternity and the Holland 
Society of the State of New York, and is 
associated in the management of the busi- 
ness established by his forefathers. 



RYON, Walter Gohring, 

Saperlntendent Hudson River State 
Hospital, Ponglikeepsie. 

Recognized throughout the State of 
New York as an authority on mental 
diseases, Dr. Walter G. Ryon, the super- 
intendent of the Hudson River State Hos- 
pital at Poughkeepsie, New York, brought 
to his present important position exper- 
ience and equipment acquired in four 
hospital tenures of office or periods of 
post-graduate study. At the institution 
of which he is the head his deep learning 
and the great fund of knowledge gained 



from close research in matters and cases 
of ills affecting the mind qualify him to 
serve with excellence of wisdom and ex- 
treme humaneness as the final arbiter in 
the numerous perplexing problems pre- 
sented in the care of nature's unfortu- 
nates. So highly esteemed is he as an ex- 
pert in his specialized department that 
Governor Alfred E. Smith has appointed 
him a member of a commission to deter- 
mine the mental condition of condemned 
prisoners. Dr. Ryon also ranks as a high 
authority on nervous diseases, and has 
contributed numerous articles for maga- 
zines and other periodicals on mental 
subjects. He has now been seven years 
superintendent of the Hudson River State 
Hospital, and is said by State Officials 
and the medical fraternity to have made 
an unqualified success of his administra- 
tion. 

(I) Dr. Ryon is a grandson of George 
P. Ryon, one of the early settlers of St. 
Lawrence County, New York, who was 
born in Hammond, New York, 1820, and 
died there in 1881. He was a master 
builder by occupation. He married Eliza- 
beth Lum, who came of an old Ogdens- 
burg, New York, family, and they were 
the parents of three sons : Charles, Frank, 
and George Ludlow, of whom further. 

(II) George Ludlow Ryon, son of 
George P. and Elizabeth (Lum) Ryon, 
was born in Rossie, St. Lawrence County, 
New York, February 6, 1850. He attend- 
ed the public schools of Ogdensburg, 
and at the age of fifteen years, while the 
Civil War was in progress, he entered the 
service as a drummer-boy. He later was 
made Quartermaster sergeant and as- 
signed to Department Headquarters at 
Atlanta, Georgia. Returning from the 
war, he became connected with the firm 
of Skillings, Whitney & Barnes, a lumber 
company of Ogdensburg, of which he 

II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



became treasurer, and remained with 
them in various capacities until he 
reached the age of fifty-five, when he re- 
tired from active work. Mr. Ryon is vice- 
president and director of the National 
Bank of Ogdensburg, and is interested in 
the Strong Lumber Company, the Mc- 
Laren Lumber Company and a number 
of other business enterprises. He is a 
member and a trustee of the Ogdensburg 
Presbyterian Church and is active in 
church aiifairs. Mr. Ryon married (first), 
in 1872, Grace Hill, who died in March, 
1874; they were the parents of one child, 
Walter Gohring, of whom further, whose 
grandparents, on his mother's side, were 
James and Jane (Kane) Hill, of Ham- 
mond, New York. Mr. Ryon married 
(second), in 1879, Emma Frances Davis, 
daughter of Hollis and Hannah (Haber) 
Davis, of Weston, Massachusetts. 

(Ill) Dr. Walter Gohring Ryon, son 
of George Ludlow and Grace (Hill) Ryon, 
was born in Ogdensburg, New York, 
March 23, 1874. He attended the public 
schools of his home city and Ogdens- 
burg Academy. He then took up the 
study of medicine at the College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons of Columbia Uni- 
versity, New York City, and was gradu- 
ated, class of 1896, degree of M. D. He 
entered the Manhattan State Hospital, 
Ward's Island, as interne, where he re- 
mained fourteen months. He next was 
appointed assistant physician at the State 
Hospital, Central Islip, Long Island, re- 
maining there six years. He then was 
assigned as assistant physician to the St. 
Lawrence State Hospital at Ogdensburg, 
in which position he continued eight 
years, of until he was promoted to first 
assistant physician to the Willard State 
Hospital, Willard, New York. He was 
in the latter position ten months, when 
he was given the appointment, January 
17, 1912, of medical inspector for the State 



Hospital Commission. This position he 
filled until April 19, 1917, when he was 
appointed superintendent of the Hudson 
River State Hospital at Poughkeepsie, of 
which ofifice he is the successful incum- 
bent. 

Dr. Ryon is a Fellow of the American 
Medical Association, member of the New 
York State Medical Society, American 
Psychiatric Association, New York Soci- 
ety for Clinical Psychiatry, Society of 
Medical Jurisprudence, Mental Hygiene 
Committee of the New York State Chari- 
ties Aid Association, Dutchess and Put- 
nam Counties Medical Society, Pough- 
keepsie Academy of Medicine, Dutchess 
County Historical Society, Nurses Advis- 
ory Council of the New York State 
Department of Education. His fraterni- 
ties are: Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 275, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 266, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Ogdensburg Chapter, 
No. 63, Royal Arch Masons and King 
Solomon Council, No. 31, Royal and 
Select Masters, Poughkeepsie. His 
clubs are the Amrita, Dutchess Golf and 
Country, Dutchess County Sportsman 
and Poughkeepsie Auto, all of Pough- 
keepsie. He is a member of Christ Epis- 
copal Church, Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Ryon married, October 2, 1902, 
Annie Isabel Hall, daughter of William 
C. and Anna (Cooper) Hall, of Ogdens- 
burg. Dr. and Mrs. Ryon are the parents 
of three sons: William Church Hall, 
born October 20, 1903 ; George Ludlow 
(2), born September 14, 1905; Walter 
Gohring, Jr. born May 16, 1908. 



KINGSTON, Walter W., 

Contractor, Bnilder. 

The line of the Kingston family herein 
considered has been identified with 
America for three generations, but for 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



many centuries prior to the founding of 
the family in the New World the patro- 
nymic "Kingston" was well and widely 
known throughout the British Isles. 
Walter W. Kingston is to-day a represent- 
ative of the third generation of his 
branch of the family in the United States, 
and as a successful contractor and builder 
and as a highly respected citizen his name 
is well known in Poughkeepsie and 
Dutchess County, New York State. 

The family originated in England, 
whence it eventually spread to Scotland 
and Ireland. The name is classified by 
the late etymologist, Charles Wareing 
Bardsley, as a local surname, taken from 
the name of the parish in which early 
members of the family lived. There are 
Kingston parishes in the counties of Cam- 
bridge, Devon, Somerset, Southampton, 
Sussex, Berks, Wilts, East Riding, and 
Yorks, and in the parishes did the name 
originate almost simultaneously when 
early in the eleventh century it became the 
custom to use surnames. Probably the 
most ancient of the twenty-two coats-of- 
arms which have been granted to various 
branches of the family is the one used by 
the parent branch during the reign of 
Richard II. 

Arms — Argent, a steel cap proper in the front 
thereof a feather gules. 

Unlike the vast majority of English, 
Irish, Scotch, and Welsh patronymics, 
Kingston has undergone very few ortho- 
graphic changes. Its earliest form was 
Kyngeston, as is evidenced by many old 
records, for instance, in the Hundred 
Rolls, 1273, Peter de Kyngeston is listed 
as a resident of London. In England 
proper and in Ireland did the family be- 
come especially numerous and ramified, 
and from Ireland sprang the progenitor 
of the family from which Walter W. 
Kingston is a lineal descendant. 

N.Y.— 8— 8 



(I) John Green Kingston, the immi- 
grant ancestor of Walter W. Kingston, 
was born August 17, 1814, in Bantry Bay, 
Ireland, and died in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, February 19, 1895. Upon com- 
ing to America he settled in St. John, 
New Brunswick, Canada. He was a ship- 
builder, and followed the vocation for 
many years in St. John. Subsequently he 
removed to Worcester, Massachusetts, 
where he lived a retired life until his 
death. He was married, in England, to 
Harriet Smith, born January 11, 1826, in 
Hull, Yorkshire, England ; she died in 
March, 1913; she bore her husband five 
sons and one daughter, George, of whom 
forward, being the youngest. 

(II) George Kingston, youngest of the 
six children of John Green and Harriet 
(Smith) Kingston, was born in St. John, 
New Brunswick, Canada, October 3, 1854. 
His education was received in the public 
schools of his birthplace, following which 
he became associated with his father in 
the latter's ship-building business. While 
still a young man he removed to and set- 
tled in Worcester, Massachusetts, and 
here with his four brothers he engaged in 
the contracting and building business. 
Later he took over the concern and con- 
ducted it alone, doing an extensive busi- 
ness in Worcester and its environs. To- 
day he is a well known and respected citi- 
zen, and identified with the fraternal life 
of his community through membership in 
the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. His religious affiliation is given 
to the Universalist Church. He was mar- 
ried in the year 1878 to Harriet Margaret 
Neve, born March 5, 1859, a native of 
London. To them were born four chil- 
dren : Laura ; Alma ; Walter W., of whom 
forward ; Alice. 

(III) Walter W. Kingston, only son 
"3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and third of the four children of George 
and Harriet Margaret (Neve) Kingston, 
was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
April i8, 1883. His early education was 
obtained in the local public schools and 
Worcester English High School. Upon 
the completion of his scholastic work he 
entered the employ of George H. Cutting 
& Company, of Worcester, as civil engi- 
neer and time keeper on their construc- 
tion work. After a period of six years in 
this capacity he became connected with 
the J. W. Bishop Company as superin- 
tendent of construction, which position 
he ably filled for eight years. In 191 1 he 
removed to Poughkeepsie, Dutchess 
County, New York, in order to become 
superintendent of construction of Jocelyn 
Hall and the Auditorium buildings at 
Vassar College. In 1913 the firm of King- 
ston & Campbell, contractors and build- 
ers, was formed, and during the follow- 
ing six years the firm constructed many 
private residences, in addition to the 
Dutchess Manufacturing Building, the 
Smith Brothers Factory, the Windsor 
Hotel, and the First National Bank 
Building. In 1919 the firm was dissolved 
by mutual consent and W. W. Kingston 
now conducts his business under the firm 
name of W. W. Kingston & Company, In- 
corporated, of which beholds the chief ex- 
ecutive position. Among the many im- 
portant contracting and building opera- 
tions undertaken by the firm was the re- 
modeling of the Lucky Piatt Department 
Store, the Viola Public School, the Hud- 
son River Foundry, the Delafield School, 
Marion's Garage, and many others. 

Mr. Kingston has been active in fra- 
ternal circles, as is evidenced by his many 
affiliations. He is Past Master of Pough- 
keepsie Lodge, No. 266, Free and accept- 
ed Masons; Past High Priest of Pough- 
keepsie Chapter, No. 172, Royal Arch 



Masons ; Past Master of King Solomon's 
Council, No. 31, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; Grand Representative of the Grand 
Council, State of New York ; and member 
of Poughkeepsie Commandery, No. 43, 
Knights Templar ; Tri-Po-Bed Grotto, 
Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm ; 
and the Masonic Club ; Poughkeepsie 
Lodge, No. 21, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; and Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 
275, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He also holds membership in the 
Amrita Club ; the Poughkeepsie Auto- 
mobile Club ; Poughkeepsie Kiwanis 
Club ; and is a member and former direc- 
tor of the Poughkeepsie Chamber of Com- 
merce. He was one of the six enterpris- 
ing citizens to take over the Poughkeepsie 
Driving Park in order to maintain it as 
such for the community. His religious 
affiliation is given to the Presbyterian 
Church. 

Walter W. Kingston was married in 
Baltimore, Maryland, July 30, 1907, to 
Marguerite Louise Pentz, a daughter of 
Thomas and Katherine C. (Mathews) 
Pentz, residents of Baltimore, Maryland. 
Walter W. and Marguerite Louise 
(Pentz) Kingston are the parents of two 
children: Mildred D., born July 5, 1908, 
and Elva M., born April 10, 1918. 



WEAVER, Fred Bain, 

Physician. 

Ability, thorough preparation, and close 
attention to the duties of his profession 
have enabled Dr. Fred Bain Weaver to 
attain high standing among his col- 
leagues and to fill with notable efficiency 
the responsible position of company sur- 
geon of the New York Central & Hudson 
River Railroad Company. 

Dr. Weaver is of English ancestry, 
bearing a name which was distinguished 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the "right little tight little island" more 
than three centuries ago. The name 
doubtless belongs to the class known as 
occupational in its earliest history, but 
the family in America is said to derive its 
name directly from the Manor of Weever, 
near Middlewick, Cheshire, England. 
After coming to America the form 
Weaver seemed to be preferred and it is 
in general use in this country at the pres- 
ent time. The family in England was 
and is armigerous, bearing arms as fol- 
lows : 

Arms — Barry of four, argent and sable ; on a 
chief of the last a garb or. 
Crest — A ram's head erased argent, armed or. 

In this country the Weaver family has 
attained distinction and honor, and has 
been represented in nearly every line of 
useful activity including agriculture, 
mechanical lines, and the professions. 
The Weaver family of Rhode Island, 
which ranks among the leading families 
of Colonial origin in the State, was 
founded in Newport, Rhode Island, about 
the year 1655, when Clement Weaver be- 
came a freeman in Newport. He pur- 
chased land there and settled about three 
miles from Newport, in which is now 
Middletown. He became prominent in 
the community and was elected deputy 
to the Rhode Island General Assembly. 
Representatives of the name were in New 
York State before the Revolution. 

(I) Peter A. Weaver, grandfather of 
Dr. Fred B. Weaver, was born in the 
town of Gallatin, Columbia County, New 
York, in 1815, and died there in 1859. He 
spent practically all of his life there. He 
was well known as a successful hotel 
proprietor and farmer, and was one of 
the highly esteemed citizens of the town. 
He married Emma Barnard, born in Gal- 
latin, in 181 1, died in 1884, and they were 
the parents of four daughters and one 



son, the son being Norman, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(II) Norman Weaver, son of Peter A. 
and Emma (Barnard) Weaver, was born 
in the town of Gallatin, Columbia County, 
New York, March 12, 1840, and died 
December 21, 192 1. After receiving a 
good practical education in the public 
schools of his native district, he became 
his father's associate in the hotel business 
and in his agricultural activities, and this 
connection was maintained to the time of 
the death of the father. Norman Weaver 
then purchased the homestead from the 
other heirs, but in 1874 he sold the home 
farm and purchased a larger one, known 
as the Lasher Farm, located near Gal- 
latin. This he successfully conducted to 
the time of his death. While winning 
success in his personal business affairs, he 
did not neglect his duties as a citizen, but 
served the community in which he lived 
in the same efficient manner in which he 
conducted his own business. He was 
prominent and highly esteemed through- 
out the county, and took an active part in 
local public affairs, serving for years as 
town clerk. For more than half a cen- 
tury he was a member of the Masonic 
order, being affiliated with Widows Sons 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Livingston, New York. 

Norman Weaver married, July 6, 1864, 
Christina Avery, daughter of Solomon 
and Sarah E. (Bain) Avery, of West 
Tagkkanic, Columbia County, New York. 
Mrs. Weaver is a descendant, in the 
eighth generation, of Captain James 
Avery, who was born in England, about 
1620, and married Joanna Greenslade, of 
Boston, Massachusetts; their son, Sam- 
uel Avery, 1664-1723, married Susannah 
Palnus, 1665-1747, who was a direct de- 
scendent of Egbert, first king of England, 
837, and of fourteen subsequent kings of 

15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England, and of Irish descent ; their son, 
Humphrey Avery, 1699-1788, married, 
1724, Jerusha Morgan ; their son, Solomon 
Avery, 1729-1798, married, 1753, Hannah 
Punderson ; their son, Henry Avery, 1767- 
1853, married Hannah Rockefeller (aunt 
of John D. Rockefeller's father) ; their 
son, Solomon Avery, 1812-1901, married 
Sarah C. Bain, and their daughter, Chris- 
tina Avery, married Norman Weaver. 
The Bain family, mentioned above, is of 
Scotch origin. Sarah C. Bain, v^^ho mar- 
ried Solomon Avery, was a daughter of 
Andrew and Christina (Millis) Bain, and 
a descendant of Hugh Bain, who came to 
this country from Scotland about 171 5. 
Norman and Christina (Avery) Weaver 
became the parents of two children: i. 
Henry Avery, born April 19, 1867, died 
November 6, 1893 ! married Kate Hins- 
dale, and has one child, Henry Avery 
Weaver, born April 3, 1894. 2. Dr. Fred 

B. Weaver, of whom further. 

(Ill) Dr. Fred Bain Weaver, son of 
Norman and Christina (Avery) Weaver, 
was born in Gallatinville, Columbia 
County, New York, April 12, 1875. He 
acquired his early and preparatory train- 
ing in the public schools, and in Seymour 
Smith Academy, Pine Plains, graduating 
from the latter in 1895. ^^ had already 
begun the study of medicine with Dr. H. 

C. Wilbur, of Pine Plains, as instructor, 
and in the fall of 1895 he matriculated in 
Albany Medical College, which is the 
medical department of Union University, 
and there he completed his course with 
graduation, April 19, 1898, at which time 
he received the degree of Medical Doctor. 
Meantime, in 1897, during the vacation 
period, he had served as interne in the 
New York Lying-In-Hospital, and after 
receiving his degree he enlarged his hos- 
pital experience by serving as house sur- 
geon in St. Peter's Hospital in Albany. 



When that period of hospital training 
was completed he began general practice 
in association with his former preceptor. 
Dr. Wilbur, of Pine Plains, with whom he 
remained until September, 1900, at which 
time he became an interne in the Mothers' 
and Babies' Hospital in New York City, 
remaining there until December i, of the 
same year. His already extended period 
of hospital experience was further en- 
larged by a month spent in the New York 
Polyclinic Hospital, and from January, 
1901, to June 12, 1901, he was a member 
of the surgical staff of Mt. Sinai Hospital, 
New York. He then located at Hyde 
Park-on-Hudson, and engaged in gen- 
eral practice. 

In February, 1903, Dr. Weaver was ap- 
pointed company surgeon at Hyde Park 
for the Central Hudson Railroad Compa- 
ny, and so well has he met the responsi- 
bilities of that important position that 
since that time he has been annually re- 
appointed. Dr. Weaver has continued to 
be a careful student during the entire 
period of his professional career. In 1922 
he took a health officer's course for in- 
fectious diseases and public health work 
under Dr. Charles C. Duryea, of the New 
York State Board of Health, and in 1923 
he took a post-graduate course in the 
School of Medical Inspection under Pro- 
fessor Haven Emerson, of Columbia Uni- 
versity. He is a member of the New 
York and New England Association of 
Railway Surgeons, Dutchess County 
Medical Society, Medical Society of the 
State of New York, Association of New 
York Central Lines Surgeons, Albany 
Medical College Alumni Association, 
New York City Alumni Association of 
Albany Medical College, Volunteer 
Medical Service Corporation, authorized 
by the Council of National Defense, 
November 9, 1918, Empire Society, sons 



116 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the American Revolution, Hyde Park 
Ice Yacht Club, Poughkeepsie Yacht 
Club, and of Eagle Engine Company, No. 
I, of Hyde Park. He is a member of 
Stissing Lodge, No. 615, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Poughkeepsie Chapter, 
No. 172, Royal Arch Masons ; King Solo- 
mon Council, No. 31, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Poughkeepsie Commandery, 
No. 43, Knights Templar ; and Cypress 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of 
Park Lodge, No. 203, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows ; Poughkeepsie Lodge, 
No. 275, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, which he served as lecturing 
knight, 1905-06. He is also a member of 
the Dutchess County Horticultural Soci- 
ety, of the Courtesy Staff of Vassar 
Brothers Hospital, and of the Rocke- 
feller Family Association. 



REYNOLDS, Clarence James, 
Business Man, Scientist. 

The late Clarence James Reynolds, of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, was well 
known during his long life not only as a 
business man but as a scientist of ability. 
Beside his lifelong connection with the 
old house of Reynolds & Company, his 
tastes led him into research and study, 
and in geology, anthropology, horticul- 
ture and music he had a wide reputation. 

The name Reynolds is an evolution 
from regen weald, Scandinavian words, 
meaning "strong ruler," which were car- 
ried by the Norsemen into France. From 
France the various forms of the name 
reached England: Reginald, Reigneaud, 
Reignold, Reynold, whence Reynolds. 
James Reynolds, a settler in the Narra- 
gansett Country, Rhode Island, early in 
the eighteenth century, was the first 
American ancestor of Clarence James 



Reynolds (i) of Poughkeepsie. From 
him the line of descent was through: 
Francis (2), Peter (3), John (4), William 
(5), James (6), William W. (7), to 
Clarence J. Reynolds (8). 

In the fifth generation, William Rey- 
nolds, of Wickford, Rhode Island, lived 
in the period of the War of the Revolu- 
tion and rendered service with Rhode 
Island troops. 

In the sixth generation, James Rey- 
nolds removed from Rhode Island to the 
valley of the Hudson, establishing him- 
self at Poughkeepsie, where he founded 
the business which in 1919 celebrated its 
centennial. James Reynolds settled at 
Poughkeepsie, about 1800, and quickly 
entered into the various activities of a 
commercial sort. First he operated a line 
of sloops for passengers and freight, out 
of which grew a storehouse and landing, 
and grist, plaster and saw mills, which 
together formed a distributing point for 
Dutchess County produce. He was suc- 
ceeded by his sons, William W. and 
James Reynolds, Jr. Steamboat traffic 
on the Hudson and the opening of the 
Erie Canal altered local conditions, and 
the business of James Reynolds and his 
sons expanded and shaped itself to meet 
new factors. With the opening of the 
New York Central Railroad still other 
conditions were created and the business 
was moved from the waterfront to the 
side of the railroad. The river freighting 
was eliminated and the wholesale distri- 
bution of flour and grain became for many 
years the business of the firm. To that 
was added in 1887 the wholesale distribu- 
tion of groceries and food supplies and 
these two departments are to-day still in 
operation, the title of the house being 
William T. Reynolds & Company, Inc. 
The business founded by James Reynolds 
has borne the following firm names: 
17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Reynolds & Innis (from about 1811 to 
1837), W. W. & J. Reynolds, Jr., 1835- 
1865 ; Reynolds & Sons, 1865-1869; W. W. 
Reynolds & Company, 1869-1874; Rey- 
nolds & Company, 1874-1889; Reynolds 
& Cramer, 1890-1899; William T. Rey- 
nolds & Company, 1900. During a period 
of over a century this house has deserved 
a reputation for conservatism, stability 
and honorable standards. 

Clarence James Reynolds, who became 
associated with Reynolds & Company in 
1883, was born in Poughkeepsie, New 
York, July 25, 1853. He was educated in 
the city of his birth, and in young man- 
hood went abroad to study music, enter- 
ing the Conservatory in Paris. While 
in Paris he married, October 14, 1878, 
Mile. Marguerite Beatrix de Lalande, 
daughter of Laurence and Marie Louise 
(Ristelhuber) de Lalande. Returning to 
the United States he began his long con- 
nection with the business of his father 
and grandfather, and at the time of his 
death, July 31, 1919, he was the secretary 
of the corporation of William T. Reynolds 
& Company. Mr. Reynolds was a valued 
member of several clubs and scientific 
societies among them being: the Arche- 
ological Institute of America, the Na- 
tional Geographic Society, the Navy 
League, the Dutchess County Horti- 
cultural Society, Euterpe Glee Club, Am- 
rita Club, Apokeepsing Boat Club, and 
Triune Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons. His scientific interests led to 
rather extensive travel, which helped to 
broaden and diversify his large fund of 
general information, but his love for 
study never afifected his capacity for 
friendship and his human contacts were 
warm and kindly. He and his wife (who 
died October 8, 1885) were the parents of: 
Louis W., died April 22, 1923. Marie 
Louise, wife of Isaac Piatt and the mother 



of a daughter, Louise de Lalande Piatt. 
Marguerite Beatrix, who married Wilfred 
H. Sherrill, and died October 12, 1904. 
Paul Innis. 

Paul Innis Reynolds, youngest of the 
four children of Clarence James and 
Marguerite Beatrix (de Lanande) Rey- 
nolds, and a representative of the ninth 
generation of his family in America, was 
born in Poughkeepsie, May i, 1883. He 
attended private schools in Poughkeepsie, 
and upon the completion of his course at 
Riverview Military Academy in 1900 
entered the employ of William T. Rey- 
nolds & Company. His first position was 
that of clerk in the shipping department, 
where he remained for five years. He 
then became buyer and advertising man- 
ager, and later business manager, and in 
1917 treasurer of the corporation, to which 
office was added that of secretary in 1919 
at his father's death. During the early 
part of America's entry in the World 
War, Mr. Reynolds' services were asked 
for by the Italian Commission of the 
American Red Cross. Answering this 
call he served over-seas until the close 
of the war as first lieutenant of the Ameri- 
can Red Cross having charge of relief 
work in one of the important districts of 
the province of Tuscany. 

In politics Mr. Reynolds is a Republi- 
can. He is a member and past vice- 
president of the Amrita Club, Pough- 
keepsie ; a member of the Dutchess Golf 
and Country Club ; a member and several 
times vice-president of the Poughkeepsie 
Tennis Club ; a member and first presi- 
dent of the Poughkeepsie Rotary Club; 
member of the Poughkeepsie Automobile 
Club; member and present (1924) first 
vice-president of the Poughkeepsie Cham- 
ber of Commerce ; member and one of 
the executive committee of the New York 
State Wholesale Grocers' Association ; 
118 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and trustee and executive committee- 
member of Vassar Brothers' Hospital. 
On the hospital board Mr. Reynolds has 
taken a leading part in the reorganization 
of the institution in connection with its 
extensive building program. He is a 
member of Christ Episcopal Church, 
Poughkeepsie. 

Paul Innis Reynolds was married in 
Poughkeepsie, February 28, 1922, to 
Dorothy Titus, daughter of Henry P. 
and Clara A. (Fesler) Titus. They are 
the parents of four children : Clarence 
James, 2d, and Clara Marguerite, twins, 
born December 10, 1922 ; Ruth de Lalande 
and Rosalind May, twins, born October 
6, 1924. 



OTIS, John C, 

Physician, Philanthropist. 

The useful life of Dr. Otis, of Pough- 
keepsie, New York, has almost entirely 
been passed in his native Dutchess 
County, and since January i, 1872, 
Poughkeepsie has been his home and the 
seat of his medical practice. His success 
as a physician has been remarkable, not 
only for the length of his career in that 
profession, but also for the great number 
of patients to whom he ministered so de- 
votedly that many of them looked upon 
him as their best friend and always as 
their safest counselor in matters pertain- 
ing to their bodies, and their domestic 
and business affairs. His philanthropies 
were numerous and diversified, testifying 
to that liberality of mind and generosity 
of purse for which he has become more 
than locally esteemed. As president of 
the Poughkeepsie Board of Health and 
the Board of Public Works, as well as 
president of leading medical associations, 
he has exhibited his spirit of public ser- 
vice and professional skill that has made 
him a man much sought after by his col- 



leagues and fellow-citizens. Dr. Otis 
comes of ancient English family, Otes, 
Otys, that bore arms: 

Arms— Azure, a cross engrailed argent between 
four crosslets fitchee or. 

A variation of the above was : 

/4r»u— Argent, a saltire engrailed between four 
crosses-crosslets fitchee azure. 

The arms of Oates of Leeds, York- 
shire, figured in a variation of H. H. Otis, 
in genealogical memoir, were not granted 
until 1815. 

"The family of Otis," says Tudor, "has 
produced some eminent persons, and its 
several branches are now widely extend- 
ed." The family name Otis is from the 
personal name Otes, which "Camden 
Remains" says is from Otho, rather Oto 
(Odo), brought into England by the 
Normans and used in the possessive case. 
Oto de Bagley flourished about 1300, and 
Andreas Otes was in the Hundred Rolls 
of Norfolk, 1273 A. D., as was Henry fil 
Ode in the Hundred Rolls of Yorkshire 
in the same year. 

There was a distinguished patriot, 
James Otis, of Boston, during Revolu- 
tionary times, who may have been the 
ancestor of Dr. John C. Otis in maternal 
line, but his only son died young. A 
John Otis seems to have been the com- 
mon ancestor of many Massachusetts 
families, he born at Barnstable, Devon- 
shire, England, in 1581. He came to 
Hingham, Massachusetts, where he 
shared in the first division of lands in 
1635. He took the freeman's oath, March 
13, 1635, and resided at Otis Hill, a beau- 
tiful slope southwest of the harbor, the 
hill there being covered with a heavy 
growth of forest trees. He died at Wey- 
mouth, Massachusetts, May 31, 1657, 
aged seventy-six. His first wife Mar- 
garet, whom he married in England, died 
in Hingham, Massachusetts, in June, 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1653, according to Deane, but in July, 
1652, Tudor says he removed to Wey- 
mouth and married a second wife, who 
survived him. He left sons, John (2) 
and Richard, also four daughters, Mar- 
garet, Hannah, Ann and Alice. 

(I) Henry Otis was born in Massa- 
chusetts, and became a builder, spending 
most of his life as a contractor. He mar- 
ried, and had two sons and seven daugh- 
ters. He died in 1812. 

(II) John H. Otis, son of Henry Otis, 
was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, 
in 1809, although the family only resided 
there a short time. At the age of eighteen 
John H. Otis went to Charleston, South 
Carolina, where he engaged in business 
under the firm name, Otis & Roulane. In 
1846 he disposed of his interests in the 
South and came to Dutchess County, New 
York, where he bought 700 acres in the 
town of Stanford. He held that property 
until 1855, then sold and moved to Pough- 
keepsie, where with E. B. Osborne he 
was interested in the "Telegraph," later 
the "News-Press." He was for many 
years a director of the Merchants' Bank 
of Poughkeepsie, was an ardent Demo- 
crat, and a man of strong, upright cha- 
racter. During the "Nullification" period 
of 1832 he was a member of a company 
of Northern volunteers in Charleston, 
and served in the Seminole War in Flor- 
ida under Andrew Jackson. When war 
broke out between the States he raised the 
first company in Dutchess County, New 
York, Company E, Thirtieth Regular 
New York Volunteer Infantry, and later 
was ofiFered the colonelcy in the One 
Hundred and Fiftieth Regiment, but de- 
clined the honor. In 1863 he went to the 
front as Captain of Company K, One 
Hundred and Sixty-Fifth Regiment, New 
York Heavy Artillery, and served with 
honor. As a citizen he was popular and 



influential, serving seven times as super- 
visor of Dutchess County, also as a mem- 
ber of the Poughkeepsie Board of Health 
and of the Board of Education. In 1852 
and 1853 he was a member of the New 
York State Senate. He was an active 
member of St. Paul's Church, serving as 
vestryman for a period of twenty years. 

Senator John H. Otis married, in 1842, 
Ann Briggs Buckman, of a prominent 
Dutchess County family, who died in 
i860, leaving two children: Mary Anna, 
married Dr. W. R. Case, of Poughkeepsie, 
and Dr. John C. Otis, of further mention. 
Senator John H. Otis died in July, 1887. 

(HI) John C. Otis, only son of Senator 
John H. and Ann Briggs (Buckman) Otis, 
was born in the town of Stanford, Dutch- 
ess County, New York, January 4, 
1847, and now (1925) holds honored rank 
among the physicians of his native 
county. He is also president of the Farm- 
ers' and Manufacturers' Bank of Pough- 
keepsie. At an early age Poughkeepsie 
became the family home, and there he 
obtained his preparatory education in 
Dutchess Academy and the John R. Les- 
lie School. In 1863 and 1864 he served as 
quartermaster in the Department of Wil- 
limantic, and later for a time was a stu- 
dent at the University of Vermont. 

In 1865 he began his medical studies 
with Dr. Case, of Harts Village, Dutchess 
County, New York, and in March, 1868, 
was graduated M. D. from New York 
Homeopathic College, and in June of that 
year completed a course of medical study 
at the University of Vermont, having 
persued courses in both homeopathy and 
allopathy for some time at these two in- 
stitutions. He began medical practice at 
Erie, Pennsylvania, but later moved to 
Millbrook, Dutchess County, New York : 
then, two years later, on January i, 1872. 
finally located in Poughkeepsie, forming 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a partnership with Dr. A. Hall, an old 
practitioner. Two years later he estab- 
lished in practice alone, but in 1878 
formed a partnership with Dr. Taylor 
Lansing, which continued until Dr. Lans- 
ing's death in 1883. In 1884 Dr. Otis 
associated with Dr. Case, continuing until 
1888, then practiced alone until 1892, 
when he admitted his son, Dr. John Havi- 
land Otis, to a partnership, father and son 
continuing together until the death of the 
latter on June 30, 1907. 

Dr. Otis always commanded a large 
general practice, but gave special atten- 
tion to the diseases of children. He was 
for a number of years president of the 
Poughkeepsie Board of Health, and is an 
ex-president of the Dutchess County 
Homeopathic Society. He is a member 
of the Dutchess-Putnam Counties Medi- 
cal Society and the Poughkeepsie Acade- 
my of Medicine, both of which organiza- 
tions he has served as presiding officer. 
He is president of the First District 
Branch of the Medical Association of 
New York State. He served the city of 
Poughkeepsie two terms, six years, as 
president of the Board of Public Works. 
He is a trustee of the Poughkeepsie Sav- 
ings Bank, an institution with which he 
has been connected with for twenty-five 
years. For thirty years he has been con- 
nected with the Farmers' and Manufac- 
turers' Bank of Poughkeepsie, and in 
March, 1922, was elected president of that 
institution, succeeding Edward S. At- 
water, deceased. 

Dr. John C. Otis' contributions to the 
municipal welfare of the city of Pough- 
keepsie are beyond compare. He has been 
the organizer of numerous health and 
charitable organizations under the aus- 
pices of the city. He was most active in 
the reorganization of the Board of Pub- 
lic Works, which body was placed on an 
efficient basis, functioning in satisfactory 



manner with other related departments of 
the city government. For years he has 
been a trustee of the Poughkeepsie Rural 
Cemetery. He is identified with every 
movement having as its purpose the pro- 
gress and enhancement of the good name 
of the city of Poughkeepsie. He has been 
a member of the Amrita Club and the 
Poughkeepsie Tennis Club for many 
years. He is a warden and vestryman of 
Christ Episcopal Church. 

Dr. John C. Otis married, October 6, 
1870, Catherine Haviland, daughter of 
R. Barclay and Susan (Tredway) Havi- 
land. Her father was a prominent farmer 
of Millbrook, then Harts Village, Dutch- 
ess County; a lifelong Democrat, tak- 
ing an active interest in all civic affairs. 
He was one of the original members and 
officials of the Dutchess County Agri- 
cultural Society, and a birthright member 
of the Society of Friends. Dr. and Mrs. 
Otis were the parents of two children, 
both deceased. Dr. John Haviland, of 
whom further, and Annie S. Otis. i^ 

(IV) Dr. John Haviland Otis, son 0/ 
Dr. John C. and Catherine (Haviland) 
Otis, was born at Harts Village, Dutchess 
County, New York, July 27, 1871. He 
was a graduate of the New York Homeo- 
pathic Medical College, M. D., 1892, and 
immediately began practice with his 
father in Poughkeepsie. He became 
famous in his profession as a specialist 
in diseases of children, and was always 
a student, taking a special course in New 
York almost every year as long as he 
lived. He was a member of several medi- 
cal societies, member of the Masonic 
order, attending physician to the City 
Home, and at the time of his passing was 
a member of the Board of Charity Com- 
mittee. He married, in October, 1894, 
Louise N. Smith, of Poughkeepsie, who 
survives him with three children : Anna 
S., John H. and Catherine H. Otis. 
121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LOWN, Frank B., 

Lawyer, Banker. 

In Hasbrouck's "History of Dutchess 
County" the chapter devoted to the Bench 
and Bar of the county is from the pen of 
Frank B. Lown, a member of that bar 
since 1871 and yet in practice after more 
than half a century. With characteristic 
modesty Mr. Lown made no mention of his 
own part in the making of the legal histo- 
ry of his county, but he cannot now claim 
immunity from the attention of the biog- 
raphers as he could then, being himself 
the writer. He said : "Time marches 
rapidly and the lawyers of one genera- 
tion, except they be of remarkable ability 
and achievement, are forgotten by the 
next. The distinguished and the great 
need no historians. Their lives and deeds 
pass from father to son, their names and 
reputations never suffering in the telling." 
In his review the record of this eminent 
member of the Dutchess County Bar, 
this counsellor and friend of other law- 
yers, this banker and business man is re- 
viewed, that his deeds may be perpetu- 
ated and kept in mind with many others 
of the strong men of the bar of the State 
of New York. 

When the Dutch dominion in the Val- 
ley of the Hudson passed to the English, 
the Lown family came in with other Eng- 
lish settlers, Rhinebeck becoming their 
home. Frank B. Lown is a grandson of 
David Lown, and a son of David (2) 
Lown, born in Rockland County, New 
York, who was a cooper by trade, he be- 
coming a resident of Poughkeepsie, New 
York, in 1857, where he died in 1875. 
David (2) Lown married Jane M. Coon, 
and they were the parents of seven chil- 
dren : David Mills ; Robert B. ; Frank B. ; 
of whom further; Clarence; Sarah, wife 
of Leo E. D. Sutcliff ; Jennie; Jessie. 



Frank B. Lown was born at Red Hook, 
Dutchess County, New York, January i, 
1849, and since 1857 has been a resident 
of Poughkeepsie. He completed full 
courses of public school study in the city 
of his adoption, and then began the study 
of law. He finished his law preparation 
in the office of Nelson & Baker, his pre- 
ceptor the eminent Judge Homer A. Nel- 
son, born in 1829, died in 1891, County 
Judge, Secretary of State, State Senator, 
whom Mr. Lown styles, "The most for- 
midable jury lawyer of a group of strong 
Dutchess county lawyers. The junior 
member of the firm was Orlando D. M. 
Baker, born in 1842, died in 1890. In all 
matters concerning practice, concerning 
the machinery of the law, far and away 
the ablest man at the bar." 

Under such preceptors Mr. Lowe spent 
the years 1870 and 1871, gaining admis- 
sion to the New York bar in the latter 
year. After his admission to the bar he 
became a law clerk in the offices of 
Thompson & Weeks, then the oldest firm 
of legal practitioners in Dutchess County. 
Of John Thompson, born in 1809, died in 
1890, Mr. Lown wrote, "Mr. Thompson 
was a brilliant advocate and a man of 
much learning in his profession. He 
dearly loved the turmoil of a lawsuit and 
it is not too much to say that he was in 
practically every important trial from 
1845 until his retirement." Of Mr. Weeks 
he wrote: "Mr. Weeks disliked the com- 
bative air of the court room and rarely 
could be induced to take an active part 
in trials. He was perhaps the best and 
safest office lawyer and general adviser 
at the bar, and with his partner to supply 
the eloquence and pyrotechnics the firm 
Thompson & Weeks was deservedly pre- 
eminent in the legal history of Dutchess 
County." 

Such were the men with whom Mr. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lown was associated during the first 
seven years of his legal career, 1871-78. 
He was then admitted the third member 
of the firm which continued as Thomp- 
son, Weeks & Lown until 1887, when Mr. 
Weeks died, Mr. Thompson passing away 
in 1890. Mr. Lown continued the busi- 
ness as the last survivor and is yet in 
practice, the Nestor of the Dutchess 
County bar, occupying both as banker and 
lawyer the peculiar position of counsellor 
and friend of other lawyers, a fact which 
in itself reveals the possession of uncom- 
mon attainments of a high order. His 
practice has covered a wide range as 
opposed to the modern idea of specializ- 
ing in one of the branches of the law. It 
was perhaps the versatile quality of his 
mind that led him into banking. His 
first connection with that business was 
when retained as counsel by the Farmers' 
and Manufacturers' National Bank of 
Poughkeepsie, a financial institution rep- 
resenting the best traditions in conserva- 
tive banking. Mr. Lown's sound judg- 
ment in matters of credit and banking 
policy soon led to his election to the bank 
directorate, and to other positions of 
trust. Finally, in 1922, he was elected 
president of the Poughkeepsie Savings 
Bank, an institution standing high upon 
the list of thrift banks and successful 
conservers of the savings of the public it 
serves. 

A man of public spirit, Mr. Lown ren- 
ders present service to his State as presi- 
dent of the board of directors of The 
Hudson River Insane Asylum ; to his 
profession-at-large as president of the 
Dutchess County Bar Association; and 
socially is identified with the Amrita 
Club, of which he was one of the founders. 
His fraternity is the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Lown married Augusta Paulding, 



of ancient Dutchess County family, 
daughter of William and Margaret Pauld- 
ing. The only child born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Lown died in infancy. 

Such in brief has been the career of 
Frank B. Lown, a native son of the Em- 
pire State, and of Dutchess County, who 
now in his seventy-fifth year has never 
had a home outside the county of his 
birth, but in that county has risen to 
eminence as professional man, banker and 
citizen, and to a position in public esteem 
and confidence to a degree few men attain. 



SMITH, Scott Lord, 

Physician. 

Scott Lord Smith, M. D., who enjoys a 
wide reputation in the Hudson River sec- 
tion, particularly in that region focussing 
upon Poughkeepsie, New York, the scene 
of his principal activities as a success- 
ful practitioner, comes of an ancestry, on 
the paternal side, dating back to the 
settlement for the second time of Amenia, 
Dutchess County, New York. The father 
of Dr. Scott L. Smith was himself a 
noted physician, alienist and prominent 
throughout the East as a specialist in 
mental diseases ; it was therefore but 
natural that the son should in early life 
show a bent in the direction of the medi- 
cal profession. With such a substantial 
background, supplemented by as com- 
plete an education as could be desired, 
it was to be expected that the young 
doctor would become a permanent fix- 
ture in the life of the community where 
he chose to largely confine his practice. 

Dr. Smith is a grandson of Everitt 
Kimball Smith, for many years a manu- 
facturer in Hanover, New Hampshire, 
who married Harriet Williston, and they 
were the parents of Edwin Everett Smith, 
who was prominently identified with the 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



medical profession for nearly a half cen- 
tury. Dr. Edwin Everett Smith was a 
native of Hanover, born in 1844. He mar- 
ried, in New York City, in 1877, Jeanette 
Lord, who died May 27, 1919, daughter 
of Judge Scott Lord, former member of 
Congress, of Geneseo, New York. He 
received his public school training at 
Hanover, and persued his studies at 
Peacham Academy, Peacham, Vermont, 
graduating in the class of 1863 ; and Dart- 
mouth College, graduating in the class 
of 1868. He took up the actual study 
of medicine at the Long Island Medical 
College Hospital of Jamaica, Long Island, 
graduating in the class of 1871. His first 
practice was as an interne on Ward's 
Island, to which hospital he was attached 
two years ; then, deciding to take up the 
study of mental diseases, followed a 
course at the New York State Asylum 
for the Insane, under Dr. Gray, at Utica, 
New York. Afterward he was appointed 
assistant physician, under Dr. Batolf, at 
the New Jersey State Asylum, Morris 
Plains, New Jersey ; in 1882 he was 
appointed superintendent and physician- 
in-charge, continuing in that capacity 
until 1886. In the latter year he resigned 
and established a private sanitorium for 
the care of the insane at Norwalk, Con- 
necticut. This institution he conducted 
with marked success until 1914, when, 
because of ill health, he was forced to 
retire from the supervision and active 
practice, and settled in Cold Spring, New 
York, where he died June 19, 1918. 

Dr. and Mrs. Edwin Everett Smith 
were the parents of four children : Everett 
Kimball, of Cold Spring, New York; 
Helen Williston, married Dr. Sanger 
Brown, and died in July, 1896; Frances 
Jeanette, of Norwalk, Connecticut; and 
Scott Lord, of this review. 



Scott Lord Smith was born October 
22, 1878, at Morris Plains, New Jersey. 
He was educated at Norwalk Military 
Academy ; Hotchkiss Preparatory School, 
Lakeville, Connecticut, graduated in the 
class of 1898 ; Yale University, graduated 
Bachelor of Arts, class of 1902; College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia 
University, graduated Doctor of Medi- 
cine, class of 1906. A term of two years 
as interne was spent at Roosevelt Hos- 
pital, New York City, and later at the 
Sloan Maternity Hospital, New York 
City. Dr. Scott Lord Smith located in 
August, 1909, at Poughkeepsie for the 
practice of his profession. Upon his 
arrival on the field of his choice, he was 
appointed attending physician at the 
Vassar Brothers Hospital and the 
appointment still is in force after fifteen 
years. He devotes his attention wholly 
to the practice of internal medicine, and 
enjoys the confidence of a large and select 
clientele. Dr. Smith is a Fellow of the 
American Medical Association ; member 
of New York City Academy of Medicine ; 
Alumni associations of the Roosevelt 
and Sloan hospitals ; Poughkeepsie 
Academy of Medicine; and Dutchess and 
Putnam Counties Medical Society. His 
clubs are the Yale Club of New York 
City, Amrita Club of Poughkeepsie, New 
York, and the Adirondack League Club. 
He is a member of Christ Episcopal 
Church of Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Smith married, March 23, 1910, 
Mildred Gorham, daughter of John and 
Helen Maud (Neal) Gorham, of Halifax, 
Nova Scotia, her father having been a 
successful merchant of that city. They 
have three children : Gorham, born Janu- 
ary 10, 191 1, and Marion Williston and 
Scott Lord, Jr., twins, born March 11, 
1915- 



^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^B 




m^ 


f\ 




MM 



^ICL. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BENSON, Harold A., 

Physloian, Snrgeon. 

Descendant of worthy ancestors of 
English origin, learned in the various 
branches of medicine, and having shared 
service in behalf of the United States 
Government at home and overseas in the 
World War, Dr. Harold A. Benson is 
one of the younger successful physicians 
and surgeons at Poughkeepsie, New 
York, where he has practiced his pro- 
fession since late in 1919, following his 
honorable discharge from the United 
States Army. Through training and 
association with the requirements of his 
vocation. Dr. Benson has acquired that 
skill in medicine and surgery, as well as 
that broad humanity, that have made him 
the able practitioner, wise counsellor and 
friend, elements that have contributed in 
no minor measure to securing for him the 
enduring place he holds in the community 
of his labors. 

Dr. Benson's English and American 
paternal forefathers, from the time of 
emigration to America, are traced as fol- 
lows: 

(I) John Benson, of Caversham, in 
Oxfordshire, England, came from South- 
ampton, in 1638, at thirty years of age, in 
the ship "Confidence," with his wife 
Mary and children, and he had a grant 
of land at Hingham, Massachusetts, upon 
his arrival. Children: i. John, of whom 
further. 2. Mary, both then under four 
years of age. 

(II) John Benson was born in Eng- 
land, and came with his parents to 
America in 1638. He lived at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, where he was a free- 
holder. 

(III) Isaac Benson lived at Gloucester, 
Rhode Island, where he owned a farm. 

(IV) Job Benson owned a farm in 
Gloucester, Rhode Island, where he died. 



The late Mrs. Martha (Benson) Davis 
was possessor of his commission "dating 
as far back as the reign of King George 
III, signed by Governor Wanton of the 
Colony of Rhode Island, in the Town of 
Gloucester, County of Providence, giving 
Job Benson the office of Ensign, dated 
the 17th of June, 1769." He married 
Miriam (Mary?), surname unknown, and 
their sons were: i. Elihu, of whom fur- 
ther. 2. Job. 

(V) Elihu Benson was born at Glou- 
cester, Rhode Island, about 1757, and he 
taught school for awhile at the home of 
John Inman. He died about 1805, and 
his will was signed by Barak Benson 
(grandson of Elihu, son of Daniel), Sarah 
Benson, (daughter-in-law of Elihu, and 
second wife of Daniel), and Hannah Ben- 
son (granddaughter of Elihu, and daugh- 
ter of Duty Benson) ; and the sole execu- 
tor was Benedict Arnold. The Arnold 
family lived in Rhode Island, neighbors 
to the Bensons in Providence Plantation, 
of which Gloucester was a part, as did 
the Allen family. Thence, later, all 
pushed their way into Vermont, where 
Ethan Allen and Benedict Arnold formed 
their regiment which was known as the 
"Green Mountain Boys." 

Elihu Benson went from Rhode Island 
as early as 1778, accompanied on horse- 
back by his wife Hulda, to settle at 
Danby, Vermont, as his name appears on 
the roll of freemen of that year. His 
permanent residence was not made there 
until some years afterwards, when he 
eventually settled on a farm that was 
owned in 1869 by John and Ira Cook. 
Elihu Benson and his brother Job both 
enlisted during the Revolutionary War 
in the Thirteenth Regiment of the Albany 
Company of Militia, in 1780, under Colo- 
nel Cornelius Van Veghten, and they 
were given honorable discharge at the 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



close of service. Elihu Benson married 
Hulda Brown, daughter of Daniel Brown, 
the latter having been given a commis- 
sion as ensign at Fort Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, in the reign of George III. 
Members of the family state that there 
is some evidence, though as yet unproven, 
that Daniel Brown was a descendant of 
Peter Brown, one of the "Mayflower" 
passengers. The children of Elihu and 
Hulda Benson: i. Allen. 2. Daniel. 3. 
Solomon. 4. Rufus. 5. Duty. 6. David. 
7. Amos, of whom further. 8. Job. 9. 
Jacob. ID. Elizabeth. 11. Chloe. 12. 
Phebe. 

(VI) Amos Benson was born Novem- 
ber 30, 1798, in Rhode Island, and he re- 
moved with his parents to Rutland 
County, Vermont. There he married 
(first) Ruth Gifford, and removed with 
his bride to Ellisburg, New York, where 
his brother resided, and later to Plessis, 
where he bought a farm and resided al- 
most to the time of his death in 1884. 
While there, his wife died, survived by 
her husband and eight children, two 
children having died. Amos married 
(second) Olivia (Lockwood) Hubbard, a 
widow with seven children, and by whom 
he had four children. 

(VII) Charles Allen Benson was born 
September 16, 1855, at Alexandria Bay, 
New York, and died September 9, 1922, at 
St. Vincent De Paul Hospital, Brock- 
ville, Ontario, Canada. He was a farmer 
and carpenter, and lived at Alexandria 
Bay, where he was justice of the peace 
for many years. He was a highly 
esteemed and prominent citizen of his 
community; his fraternal affiliations were 
those of the Free and Accepted Masons, 
in the Blue Lodge and the Chapter; and 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
of which he was District Deputy. His 
religious fellowship was with the Metho- 



dist Episcopal Church. He married 
Sibyl Ann Robison, of Orleans, New 
York, and they were the parents of five 
children: i. Mabel E., who received her 
education at the Alexandria Bay High 
School, where she was graduated with 
the highest honors ; at the Potsdam, New 
York, State Normal School, where she 
took the Clarkson Prize for efficiency in 
English ; and at Syracuse University, 
where she was graduated in the class of 
1916, with special honors in English. 
She married Charles S. Orr, of Erie, 
Pennsylvania. 2. Walter Scott, medical 
student in New York City, who died in 
191 1. 3. Lillian Annette, who died at the 
age of eleven years. 4. Josie, who died in 
infancy. 5. Harold A., of whom further. 
(VIII) Harold A. Benson was born at 
Alexandria Bay, New York, October 12, 
1891. He received his preliminary edu- 
cation in the public schools of his birth- 
place, and graduated at the Alexandria 
Bay High School. In preparation for his 
life-work, he took the course at the Uni- 
versity of Vermont College of Medicine, 
where he was an honor graduate with the 
class of 1915. Receiving his degree of 
Doctor of Medicine, Dr. Benson at once 
entered upon the practice of his profes- 
sion, later receiving an appointment as 
pathologist to the Eastern Maine Sana- 
torium, at Hebron, Maine, where he 
remained one year. In 1916 he entered 
the Army Medical School at Washington, 
District of Columbia, and afterwards 
was transferred to Fort Bliss, El Paso, 
Texas, and assigned to the Field Ambu- 
lance Corps. There he remained for six 
months, when he was transferred to the 
Plattsburg Training Camp, Plattsburg, 
New York, to act as pathologist, continu- 
ing to serve in that capacity until Janu- 
ary, 1918, when he was ordered to Camp 
Pike, also there to act as pathologist. In 



126 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



August, 1918, he sailed for France, and 
was there attached to Base Hospital No. 
83, Evacuation Hospital No. 16, and the 
2ist Infantry, with rank of captain. He 
returned to the United States, in May, 
1919, and was honorably discharged from 
the service at Camp Dix. 

Dr. Benson, immediately upon resump- 
tion of civil life, reentered upon the 
duties of his profession, and with a three 
months' course in Tuberculosis, Its Cause 
and Prevention, at Bowne Memorial 
Hospital, Poughkeepsie, he still further 
perfected himself for his vocation. In 
September, 1919, with a wealth of train- 
ing and experience at his command, he 
began the general practice of internal 
medicine and surgery at Poughkeepsie, 
where he has steadily advanced in favor 
with the community and an increasing 
practice. 

Dr. Benson's fraternal affiliations are 
those of the National Phi Chi Fraternity, 
and he is a Fellow of the American Medi- 
cal Association, and a member of the 
Dutchess and Putnam Counties Medical 
Society, and the Poughkeepsie Academy 
of Medicine. He is a member of Triune 
Lodge, No. 782, Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Scottish Rite, Thirty-Second 
Degree, the Masonic Club, the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
the Knights of Pythias ; and his clubs are 
the Elks and the Kiwanis, of Pough- 
keepsie. 

Dr. Benson married, September 23, 
1921, Helen Irene Cole, daughter of Cal- 
vin and Emma (Lund) Cole, of Esopus, 
New York. 

y 



Dubois, James Fletcher, 
Mercbant. 

In the course of American business 
history it has been continuously proven 



that no public enterprise has come into 
closer touch with communities, large or 
small, or more generally met the needs of 
the people, than that of the keeper of the 
general merchandising store, a distinc- 
tively American institution. A lifelong 
witness to such a statement, an expert in 
the calling that he has honored, and that 
by straightforward dealing he has found 
lucrative, James Fletcher DuBois, more 
than a half century a merchant at Pough- 
keepsie, New York, and during that long 
period at the one location, has made busi- 
ness history both for the city and the 
State. 

The story of a career devoted to the ful- 
fillment of the daily requirements of a 
progressive population is necessarily 
filled with the record of the great changes 
that come to a township, as well as with 
the current account of events of all 
degrees of value ; but let it be sufficient to 
say that Mr. DuBois, whose store has 
been for so many years a landmark, is 
himself partaker and custodian of the 
mercantile chapter of that history in this 
section. No merchant or store-keeper has 
a more widely established repute through 
the length and breadth of the Hudson 
River Valley, not alone on account of 
his farsighted business ability that has 
been the means of bringing him emolu- 
ment and confort in his age, but through 
the hard work and the sterling integrity 
that have been the invariable accompani- 
ment of native business intuition and 
capabilities. 

His is an old family in the State of 
New York, and without exception his 
ancestors have possessed the same pride 
of industry that is Mr. DuBois' rightful 
heritage. His grandfather, Joseph Du- 
Bois, was a native of Ulster County, New 
York, and Josiah C. DuBois, father of 
James Fletcher DuBois, was born at his 
127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father's home that stood midway between 
the townships of Highland and Marlboro, 
also in Ulster County. Josiah C. DuBois 
attended the schools of his neighborhood 
and early in life he found employment in 
the general store of Miles J. Fletcher, at 
Marlboro, which continued for several 
years ; in 1846, he removed to the town 
of Highland, and there he opened a store, 
which he conducted until his death, which 
took place at the age of sixty-five. He 
was a strictly religious man, upright in 
all his dealings, an adherent of the Pres- 
byterian faith, and an official in his 
church. He married Sarah E. Weygant, 
a daughter of James and Philena Wey- 
gant, of Marlboro, and they were the 
parents of six children: Calvin, Myron, 
Chandler, Abigail, Jennie, and James 
Fletcher, of whom further. 

James Fletcher DuBois was born in 
Highland, New York, March 11, 1847. 
He received his preliminary education in 
the schools of his birthplace, graduating, 
also, at Highland Academy, one of the 
older academical institutions of the State. 
He thereupon started out upon his mer- 
cantile career that proved in its results 
the prudence and wisdom of his choice. 
His first occupation was that obtained 
in the store of William H. Howland, in 
the capacity of clerk, and for his duties 
he received the sum of $150 a year, and 
his board. He remained with Mr. How- 
land one year, and in 1865 he transferred 
his interests to the general store of C. 
B. Harrison, at Highland, where he con- 
tinued in the same line for four years. In 
1869 Mr. DuBois removed to Pough- 
keepsie and there found employment with 
the firm of Trowbridge & Company, 
dealers in general merchandise, and 
whose store at that time was one of the 
oldest and best known business land- 
marks in the Hudson River Valley. The 



name of the concern was changed in 1887 
to Trowbridge & Kirby, the former com- 
pany retiring; and one year later, in 1888, 
the firm name became Kirby, DuBois & 
Boyd. In 1896 the firm name was again 
changed, Messrs. Kirby and Boyd retir- 
ing from the partnership, and Mr. DuBois 
took in his brothers, Calvin and Myron, 
as partners, the firm becoming known as 
DuBois Brothers. This association con- 
tinued for twenty years, to 1916, when 
James Fletcher DuBois purchased the 
interests of his brothers, and conducted 
the business alone, retaining the name 
DuBois Brothers. 

On December 31, 1920, Mr. DuBois 
retired from active business life, his 
associations therewith covering a period 
of fifty-two years, and at the same loca- 
tion. No. 321 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, 
New York. For a number of years Mr. 
DuBois has been a member of the board 
of directors of the Farmers' and Manu- 
facturers' Bank. 

Mr. DuBois married Marianna Kelley, of 
Nantucket, Massachusetts, and they are 
the parents of three children : i. Jennie, 
who married Edward J. MacClelland, and 
whose children are : Helen, who married 
Harry Reeves, of Eldorado, Arkansas, 
one daughter, Jean MacClelland DuBois 
Reeves ; M. Gretchen Glenn, of Pough- 
keepsie, New York ; Donald Fletcher ; 
and Edward J. MacClelland, Jr. 2. 
Gertrude. 3. Philena, who married D. J. 
Cronk, of Poughkeepsie. 



LASHER, Irving, 

General Contractor. 

As a member of the firm of Spoor- 
Lasher Company, Incorporated, Irving 
Lasher is identified with one of the lead- 
ing construction and general contracting 
concerns in the Hudson River section of 

128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the State. Mr. Lasher is well known as 
an expert in his line, and is prominent in 
fraternal circles. The Lasher (or Loes- 
cher) family is of German origin, tracing 
descent from Sabastian Loescher, of the 
Province of the Rhine, Germany. 

(I) Sabastian Loescher sailed from 
Germany with a fleet of ten vessels leav- 
ing December 25, 1709, and arriving in 
New York City in June, 1710. So great 
were the hardships of the voyage that of 
the four thousand on board seventeen 
hundred died during the passage. Sabas- 
tian Loescher settled at West Camp, now 
Kingston, New York, in 1710, and later 
was at East Camp, Livingston Manor, 
near Germantown, New York, where m 
1724 records show that he was willing to 
settle if he could secure clear title to his 
property. He had three sons: Sabastian, 
Conrad, of whom further, and George. 

(II) Conrad Lasher, son of Sabastian 
Loescher, was born in Germany in 1708, 
and lived at Athens, Germantown, and 
Rhinebeck, New York, in which places 
their children were baptized. He married 
Angeline Sestis, and they were the 
parents of six children : Sabastian, of 
whom further, George, Conrad, Jr., Anna 
Maria, John, and Gerret. 

(III) Sabastian Lasher, son of Conrad 
and Angeline (Sestis) Lasher, was born 
in 1729. He married Margaret Schu- 
macker, at Germantown, New York, April 
4, 1748, and had ten children: Conrad, 
Sabastian, Mark, of whom further, John, 
Jacob, Philip, George, Christina, Peter, 
and Adam. 

(IV) Mark Lasher, son of Sabastian 
and Margaret (Schumacker) Lasher, 
was born in 1752, and died in 1829. He 
married Christina Best, of Germantown, 
New York, who was born in 1755, and 
died in 1835, and they were the parents 
of six children : John M., of whom further, 

N.Y. — 8—9 I 



Catharin, Jacob G., Christina, Marcus, 
and Margaret. 

(V) John M. Lasher, son of Mark and 
Christina (Best) Lasher, was born 
November 29, 1777, and died November 
8, 1859. He married, at Rhinebeck, New 
York, April 23, 1801, Cathrine Clum, 
born November i, 1785, and died Novem- 
ber I, 1851. Their children were: Philip 
Lasher, baptized December 24, 1802, 
married Catharin Harden ; Christina, 
baptized December 24, 1803, married Ste- 
phen Miller; Eliza, baptized May 25, 
1807, married Simeon Flagler ; John E., 
baptized May 24, 1808, married Jane 
Hammond ; Johnas, baptized December 
23, 1810, married Elizabeth Smith ; Robert 
William, of whom further ; Hannah Caro- 
line, baptized November 21, 1818, married 
DeWitt C. Harris; Catharin Maria, bap- 
tized November 22, 1822, married Israel 
Ward ; Jane Maria, baptized September 
28, 1823 ; and Frederick, baptized Sep- 
tember 2, 1827, married Margaret Wilson. 

(VI) Robert William Lasher, son of 
John M. and Cathrine (Clum) Lasher, 
was born in Dutchess County, New York, 
May 21, 1815, and died at Vischer Ferry, 
Saratoga County, New York, March i, 
1902, having removed to Saratoga County 
in 1825. He married, February 24, 1842, 
in the town of Malta, Saratoga County, 
New York, Jane A. Miller, born Septem- 
ber 16, 1818, and died January i, 1898, at 
Vischer Ferry. Mr. and Mrs. Lasher 
celebrated their golden wedding on 
February 24, 1892. Their children were : 
Mary A., born December 5, 1842, married 
James Van Hyning; William H., born 
June 28, 1845, married Margaret A. 
Smith; Augustus, born August 27, 1848, 
married Rachel Vischer; George J., of 
whom further; Clark, born May 13, 1854, 
married Amelia Weldon; Lester, born 
November 12, 1857; Charles, born May 

29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



17, 1859, married Jennie Bell ; and Ida 
Jane, born November 13, 1863. 

(VII) George J. Lasher, son of Robert 
William and Jane A. (Miller) Lasher, 
was born in Saratoga County, New York, 
October 5, 1851. He received his edu- 
cation in the district schools of his native 
town, and spent his whole life in agri- 
cultural persuits in that vicinity, where he 
won in a high degree the esteem of his 
friends and neighbors. He married Anna 
Van Denburgh, daughter of Vischer and 
Emma (Sibley) Van Denburgh, of Sara- 
toga County, New York, and their chil- 
dren were : Lettie May, who married 
Peter Van Vranken Spoor, and has living 
children, Anna, Everett, and Donald 
Spoor; Lloyd E., deceased; Dorothy, 
deceased ; Irving, of whom further ; Ella, 
who married Lewis L. Fellows and had 
two sons, Larold, deceased, and Howard, 
living. 

(VIII) Irving Lasher, son of George 
J. and Anna (Van Denburgh) Lasher, 
was born at Vischer Ferry, Saratoga 
County, New York, November 20, 1878. 
He received his early school training in 
the district school of his native town, 
and then made further preparations for a 
successful career by taking a course in 
Albany Business College, and by continu- 
ing his studies in a night school in Schen- 
ectady, where he studied mechanical 
engineering. Possessed of considerable 
mechanical ability and being deeply inter- 
ested in that line of activity, he decided 
to find employment where he would also 
receive the best possible training, and in 
1901 he entered the employ of the General 
Electric Company at Schenectady, with 
whom he remained for two years, in the 
machine fitting department. His next 
connection was with George Van Vran- 
ken, a general contractor of Schenectady, 
with whom he was identified as foreman 



and superintendent until the time he 
became associated with the Acme Engin- 
eering Company, of Schenectady, as car- 
penter superintendent. Later, he re- 
turned to the employ of Mr. Van Vran- 
ken, with whom he remained until 1914, 
leaving him in order to accept a position 
with the Raymond Concrete Pile Com- 
pany, of New York City. In 1919, hav- 
ing acquired an extended experience in 
general construction work, he, in associa- 
tion with L. E. Spoor, organized the firm 
of Spoor-Lasher Company, Incorporated, 
and engaged in business as general con- 
tractors, carrying on a transportation 
business and including highway con- 
struction and street paving. The enter- 
prise met with success and has steadily 
grown, until at the present time (1924) 
the firm of Spoor-Lasher Company, 
Incorporated, is known as one of the 
leading concerns of its kind in Dutchess 
and Orange counties, possessing the larg- 
est business equipment for handling con- 
crete material and street construction 
between New York and Albany. Thor- 
ough technical knowledge and sound 
business principles have enabled Mr. 
Lasher to win in a high degree the con- 
fidence of his patrons and the esteem of 
his associates. 

In addition to his business activity, 
Mr. Lasher has found time for extensive 
fraternal affiliations. He is a member and 
junior warden of Poughkeepsie Lodge, No. 
266. Free and Accepted Masons ; Pough- 
keepsie Chapter, No. 172, Royal Arch 
Masons; King Solomon Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Poughkeepsie Com- 
mandery, No. 43, Knights Templar; 
Mecca Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and 
of Tri-Po-Bed Grotto, Veiled Prophets 
of the Enchanted Realm. He is also 
a member of the Kiwanis Club, 



130 




^^A^^^i^-^i^^^ <^- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Amrita Club, and Dutchess County Golf 
and Country Club. His religious affilia- 
tion is with the Reformed Church of 
Poughkeepsie. Mr. Lasher has a host of 
friends, both among his business associ- 
ates and among those with whom he is 
associated in a social way. 

On June 25, 1913, Irving Lasher mar- 
ried May B. Ritter, daughter of Charles 
and Mary (Darling) Ritter, of Saratoga 
County, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Lasher 
are the parents of one daughter, Mary 
Barbara, born in Boston, February 18, 
1918. 



LANE, Charles E., 

Physician. 

The Lanes of Old Monmouth County, 
New Jersey, who came from Holland in 
the latter part of the seventeenth and in 
the early part of the eighteenth centuries, 
gave to Dutchess County, New York, 
descendants of the same name, who have 
built into the history of that region not 
a little of the virility for which the old 
families and their posterity of Dutch 
origin have been noted for nearly three 
centuries. The Holland family of Lane 
were robust and intrepid folk in the main, 
a number of whom were eager to brave 
the dangers of a sea voyage in those pre- 
carious days, when an adventurous spirit, 
a courageous heart and faith in the future 
were the chief resources of these builders 
of the new civilization across the seas. 
Of a race such as this comes Charles E. 
Lane, M. D., who ranks among the promi- 
nent and widely known physicians and 
surgeons of Poughkeepsie, and is a great- 
grandson of Jacob Lane, who settled in 
Dutchess County prior to and served in 
the Revolutionary War. 

The Monmouth County (New Jersey) 
Lanes chiefly were descended from Gys- 



bert and Jacob Thysz Van Pelt Lanen, 
and are of the same stock as the Van 
Pelts. They used the surname, Laen, 
Laan or Lane. Gysbert Lane settled in 
New Utrecht, Long Island, and in 1699 
bought land in New Jersey. In 171 1 he 
deeded land in Monmouth County to his 
son, Cornelius. Gysbert Lane died in 
1727. His wife, Jane Lane, bore him four 
children, Adrian, Cornelius, Mary and 
Jane. Mathias Lane, who died in Mon- 
mouth County, 1729, was probably a 
brother of Gysbert. Cornelius Lane, son 
of Gysbert Lane, died in Monmouth 
County, 1762. Jacob Lane, of Monmouth 
County, also died in 1762, and his will is 
filed at Trenton, New Jersey. Many 
others of the name of Lane have lived in 
Monmouth County, and from Raritan, 
probably of Monmouth County, came 
Jacob Lane, of Dutchess County, New 
York. 

(I) This Jacob Lane was born in 
Raritan, New Jersey, and died in Dutch- 
ess County, New York. He was the Lane 
of his generation who stood out as a 
soldier of the Revolution. In 1790 he was 
a resident of Beekman, Dutchess County. 
He married, at New Hackensack, New 
York, June 28, 1770, Annetje Concklin, of 
Romboat, New York, daughter of John 
and Annetje (Storm) Concklin. They 
had two sons, Peter, John G., of whom 
further, and five daughters. 

(II) John G. Lane, son of Jacob Lane, 
was born in Beekman (now Unionvale), 
May 22, 1776, and spent all his life in 
that town. He married Betsey Emigh, 
and to them were born twelve children : 
Thomas, Benson, Marvin, Jackson, Wil- 
liam, Rensselaer, Jeremiah, Edward, of 
whom further; Betsey, Hannah, Phebe, 
and Julia. 

(HI) Edward Lane, son of John G. and 
Betsey (Emigh) Lane, was born June 19, 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1825, and died September 24, 1904, in 
Fishkill, New York. He received a 
limited education, and at an early age left 
home to support himself. He embarked 
upon a whaling voyage and was gone 
several years. He possessed a good intel- 
lect, and spent most of his leisure hours 
in study. He served on a number of 
boats on the Hudson River as pilot and 
captain, and later became the owner of a 
schooner, which at the time was the 
largest boat that ran to Troy, New York. 
In 1863 he removed to a farm in Seneca 
County, New York, and still later to 
Fishkill, New York. He married, in 1854, 
Jane A. Hall, daughter of Gilbert and 
Mary Hall. They were the parents of 
three children : Charles E., of whom fur- 
ther ; Celestia A. ; and Irvin J. 

(IV) Dr. Charles E. Lane, son of 
Edward and Jane A. (Hall) Lane, was 
born in Clove, Dutchess County, New 
York, August 16, 1855. He was educated 
in the district schools of that community, 
at Wesleyan Academy, Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, and in 1876 took a course 
at Eastman's Business College, Pough- 
keepsie, New York. He entered, in 1880, 
the New York Homeopathic Medical Col- 
lege, class of 1883, and began the practice 
of his profession at Clove, New York, 
where he remained five years. In 1888 
he located at Poughkeepsie, where he con- 
tinues as a general practitioner and a 
specialist in orificial surgery, which latter 
practice won for him speedy recognition 
by the medical fraternity and the public. 
He was examining surgeon of the United 
States Bureau of Pensions, 1888-94. 

Dr. Lane is a member of the American 
Medical Association, New York State 
Medical Society, Dutchess and Putnam 
Counties Medical Society, Poughkeepsie 
Academy of Medicine, and American 
Institute of Homeopathy. He is a mem- 



ber of Triune Lodge, No. 782, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Poughkeepsie Chapter, 
No. 172, Royal Arch Masons; King Solo- 
mon Council, No. 31, Royal and Select 
Masters; Tri-Po-Bed Grotto, Veiled 
Prophets of the Enchanted Realm; 
Poughkeepsie Commandery, No. 43, 
Knights Templar ; Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; Fallkill 
Lodge, No. 297, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He is a member of the 
Dutch Reformed Church. His club is 
the Amrita of Poughkeepsie. Dr. Lane 
is a Republican, and was president of the 
Poughkeepsie Board of Aldermen, 1894- 
1901. Dr. Lane married, March 28, 1877, 
Hattie A. Yeomans, daughter of George 
and Eliza (Haight) Yeomans, of Clove, 
New York. They have had two sons, 
Theron, who died in infancy, and George 
Edward, of whom further. 

With becoming pride, and equally with 
his father, Dr. George Edward Lane can 
trace his ancestral progenitors of the 
Lane family in America back to Holland, 
to a Revolutionary soldier and to a pio- 
neer merchant vessel captain, whose boat 
plied the Hudson River from the ocean 
as far as Troy, New York. Great forti- 
tude, persistency and progressiveness 
characterized those sturdy Lanes of the 
Colonies and the early days of the Repub- 
lic, and from father to son in succeeding 
generations these virtues were passed to 
the present Dr. Lane, who has emulated 
his father in profession and reputation 
both as a skillful practitioner and a 
worthy citizen. He stands forth among 
Dutchess County physicians an X-ray 
specialist of great proficiency. 

(V) Dr. George Edward Lane, son of 
Dr. Charles E. and Hattie A. (Yeomans) 
Lane, was born at Clove, New York, 
November 30, 1883. He was educated at 
the old Quincy private school, Pough- 

32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



keepsie public schools, Riverview Mili- 
tary Academy, and was graduated with 
honors from the New York Homeopathic 
Medical College, class of 1908, with the 
degree of M. D. He served as interne at 
Flower Hospital for one year, and in 
1909 began practice at Poughkeepsie, be- 
ing associated with his father for three 
years, and then for two years practiced 
alone. In 1914 he took an X-ray post- 
graduate course at the New York Post- 
Graduate Hospital. He now enjoys a 
large and lucrative practice in Pough- 
keepsie and vicinity, in general practice 
and X-ray work. He is radiologist at the 
Bowne Memorial Hospital and St. 
Francis' Hospital, Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Lane is a Fellow of the American 
Medical Association, a member of the 
New York State Medical Society, Dutch- 
ess and Putnam Counties Medical Associ- 
ation, American Institute of Homeopa- 
thy, New York State Homeopathic Medi- 
cal Society, New York and New England 
Association of Railway Surgeons, Alumni 
Association of Flower Hospital, New 
York City; the Alpha Sigma fraternity; 
Triune Lodge, No. 782, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Poughkeepsie Chapter, 
No. 172, Royal Arch Masons ; Pough- 
keepsie Council, No. 31, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Poughkeepsie Commandery, 
No. 43, Knights Templar ; New York 
Consistory, 32nd degree ; Mecca Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine ; Tri-Po-Bed Grotto, 
Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm ; 
Fallkill Lodge, No. 297, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows; Poughkeepsie 
Council, No. 391, Royal Arcanum. His 
club is the Amrita. 

Dr. Lane married, June 19, 1912, Inez 
Johnston, daughter of Robert L. and 
Mary Frances Pattison of Cincinnati, 
Ohio. Mrs. Lane comes of Revolu- 



tionary descent on both sides and is a 
member of Mahwenawsigh Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, 
of Poughkeepsie, New York. They are 
the parents of two children : Charles E. 
{2), born March 19, 1914, and Roberta J. 
born December 30, 1915. 



NESBITT, Fitz James, 

Business Man, Veteran of Civil War. 

The recent death of Fitz James Nesbitt, 
one of Poughkeepsie's most prominent 
and successful business men, struck one 
more name from the fast diminishing roll 
of Civil War veterans. Mr. Nesbitt, how- 
ever, leaves behind him more than an 
honorable war record, for his memory will 
also live through the great integrity 
which always characterized his life, 
through his many years of successful 
business, and through the beauties of a 
perfect home life. He will long be re- 
membered as a soldier, business man, 
fraternal man, and last but not least, a 
good citizen — for to be a good citizen 
requires the highest virtues of man. 

Fitz James Nesbitt, of Scotch-English 
ancestry, was born in Albany, New York, 
July 3, 1840, a son of David and Charlotte 
(Mink) Nesbitt, the latter of whom was 
a descendant of English forebears. The 
father, David Nesbitt, was a native of the 
land of "hills and heather," and upon emi- 
grating from Scotland to America, he set- 
tled in Albany, New York, where he fol- 
lowed his trade of boat builder. 

The son received his education in the 
public schools of his birthplace, and 
shortly after the completion of his school- 
ing the long-feared Civil War suddenly 
became an actuality. Fitz James Nesbitt 
at once enlisted in the Union Army and 
served with distinction throughout the 
duration of the war. Upon the cessation 

133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of hostilities between the North and the 
South, in 1865, Mr. Nesbitt came to 
Poughkeepsie, New York, and here estab- 
lished a business enterprise in the old 
Enterprise Building on Main Street. 
Later he removed his business to the 
Lockwood House, where he continued 
with steadily increasing success until the 
year 1886, at which time he again 
removed his concern to No. 261 Main 
Street. Mr. Nesbitt remained here until 
his retirement from active life in 1918. 
This business venture, which he founded 
in 1865, is to-day (1924) being carried for- 
ward by his son-in-law, Richard F. Kolb, 
at No. 273 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, 
New York. 

Politically, Mr. Nesbitt had always 
been a firm supporter of the Democratic 
Party, and had served his chosen party 
ably and well on more than one occasion. 
At one time he was an alderman of the 
City of Poughkeepsie, representing the 
Fourth Ward, following which he became 
president of the Board of Aldermen. For 
a short period he was acting mayor of the 
City; at one time served as president of 
the Board of Police Commissioners ; and 
was a foremost member of the commis- 
sion that condemned the land for the 
Central New England Station. Mr. Nes- 
bitt also had the distinction of being the 
delegate to the Democratic State Conven- 
tion in 1894 when Grover Cleveland was 
running for the Presidency of the United 
States. His deep interest in municipal 
affairs was always evident, and any move- 
ment for the improvement of civic or 
county conditions was ever close to his 
heart. 

Fraternally, Mr. Nesbitt had been an 
active member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows for more than five 
decades, and it was due to his interest 
and influence that the present Odd 



Fellow's Building was purchased. A few 
years ago Mr. Nesbitt received a fiftj'- 
year gold medal from his lodge in recog- 
nition of his long membership in the Odd 
Fellows. He was also prominent in 
Masonic Circles, having for many years 
been a member of Poughkeepsie Lodge, 
No. 266, Free and Accepted Masons. Mr. 
Nesbitt's religious affiliation was given 
to the Methodist Church. 

In the financial circles of Poughkeepsie, 
Mr. Nesbitt was represented by being a 
member of the board of directors of the 
Merchants' National Bank. The follow- 
ing resolutions were passed by the board 
of directors upon his death : 

Resolved, That we record with deep sorrow the 
death of our fellow-director, Fitz James Nesbitt. 

We have enjoyed our association with Mr. Nes- 
bitt during his thirteen years on the Board of 
Directors of this bank, and know that his high 
ideals, integrity and loyalty were of great benefit 
to us and to all who came in contact with him. 

With a sincere sense of our loss in the passing 
of a loyal and true friend, we extend to his family 
this expression of appreciation and heartfelt 
sympathy. 

Fitz James Nesbitt married, in Pough- 
keepsie, April 27, 1870, Louise J. Bahret, 
a daughter of Jacob and Fredericka 
(Deitz) Bahret, old residents of Dutchess 
County, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Nes- 
bitt were the parents of three children, 
as follows: i. Dr. Edward J. Nesbitt, 
who married Ida Traver, of Brooklyn, 
New York, and their children are: a. Mil- 
dred, who married Frederick Waite, of 
Poughkeepsie, and they have one son. 
i. Frederick Waite, Jr. b. Edward J. Jr. ; 
and c. Marjorie. 2. Grace F., who died at 
the age of four. 3. Mabel Louise, who mar- 
ried Richard F. Kolb, and they have the 
following children : Louise N. and Rich- 
ard F. Kolb, Jr. Mrs. Louise J. (Bahret) 
Nesbitt, two of her three children, five 
grand-children, and one great-grandson. 



134 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



survive Mr. Fitz James Nesbitt, whose 
death occurred at Poughkeepsie, New 
York, March 8, 1924, during- his eighty- 
third year. 



ELSEFFER, Jacob W., 

Lawyer, Financier. 

The late Jacob W. Elseffer was for 
more than half a century a prominent 
lawyer and a foremost banker of Dutchess 
County, New York. His ancestors were 
among the earliest settlers of Dutchess 
County, and for one hundred and fifty 
years had been closely identified with the 
local history of progress and advance- 
ment. 

Jacob W. Elsefler was born in Red 
Hook, New York, September 6, 1822, a 
descendant of Louis Elzvier, who in 1580 
started in Holland the Elzvier Printing 
Works soon to be known throughout the 
civilized world as the makers of the noted 
Elzvierian Bibles, a son of former 
Assemblyman John Elseffer, whose wife 
was Katherine (Whiteman) Elseffer, a 
descendant of the Whiteman family who 
came from Switzerland in 1720. Henry 
Whiteman and his son were noted patri- 
ots in the Revolution, and large land 
owners in Dutchess and Columbia 
counties. 

The early education of Jacob W. Elsef- 
fer was obtained at the Claverack Insti- 
tute, Claverack, New York, following 
which he matriculated at Williams Col- 
lege. Instead of pursuing that full college 
course, however, he took up the study of 
law in the offices of Judge Rowley, of 
Upper Red Hook, and was admitted to 
the bar of the State of New York in the 
year 1845. He at once began the practice 
of his profession in his native town, and 
in a short time had built up a large and 
lucrative clientage. Such was his ability. 



efficiency, and probity that his earliest 
clients and their descendants adhered to 
him throughout his long and unusually 
successful legal career. In 1865 the First 
National Bank of Red Hook was incor- 
porated, of which Mr. ElseiTer was largely 
instrumental in its organization, and 
which institution fittingly honored him 
by choosing him as its first president. 
Mr. Elseffer continued for many years as 
director of and attorney for the bank, and 
much credit was awarded him for the 
excellent condition of its affairs. Both 
as a lawyer and as a financier, Mr. Elsef- 
fer, by his absolute uprightness of char- 
acter and his proved ability and deep 
wisdom, held the confidence and esteem 
of his contemporaries, townspeople, and 
associates. Fraternally, Mr. Elseffer 
limited his affiliation to the Masonic 
bodies only, and was an active and sincere 
member for many years of Monumental 
Lodge, No. 374, Free and Accepted 
Masons. His interest in "the search for 
further light" led him through the chairs 
until he became Master of the lodge. At 
the time of his death he had the unique 
distinction of being the Senior Past 
Master of Monumental Lodge. Political- 
ly, Mr. Elseffer gave his support and 
allegiance to the Democratic party, and 
although he never aspired to political 
honors, yet he was ever an influential 
man in the affairs of his chosen party. 
Mr. Elseffer was a man of great intel- 
lectual power, unusual forensic ability 
in the court-room, brilliant and sparkling 
in conversation, and polished and always 
courteous in manner. He had the quality 
for making friends and, what is still more, 
the capacity for keeping them. 

Jacob W. Elseffer was married (first), 
October 17, 1847, to Delia Eliza Bone- 
steel, of Clermont, New York, whose 
death occurred October 20, 1888. Mr. 



t35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Elseffer was married (second), Novem- 
ber II, 1890, to Harriet E. Mesick, a 
daughter of Frederick Mesick, of Clave- 
rack. She died in April, 1907. Issue by 
first wife: Mary; John Henry, a sketch 
of whom follows ; Katherine Whiteman, 
who married William P. Adams, of 
Cohoes, New York ; she died at Red 
Hook, New York, July 16, 1924. Mr. and 
Mrs. Adams were the parents of two 
children, Elizabeth Piatt, married Rad- 
cliffe Heermance, of Princeton, New 
Jersey; Mrs. Hermance died in October, 
1919; and Katherine Elseffer Adams. 

Jacob W. Elseffer's death occurred at 
his home in Red Hook, New York, 
November 15, 1907, during his eighty- 
fifth year, and lost to Dutchess County 
one of its foremost legal lights and finan- 
cier extraordinary. 



ELSEFFER, John Henry, 

Attorney-at-Law. 

John H. Elseffer was a descendant of 
old Dutchess County pioneer stock, his 
ancestors having come into the county 
when it was but a wilderness, and by 
unremitting toil had cleared farm acreage, 
built hamlets, and instituted town and 
village governments. John H. Elseffer's 
was a noble heritage of true American- 
ism, by reason of the achievements of his 
paternal and maternal forebears, and a 
heritage in which he took justifiable pride. 

John H. Elseffer was born in Red 
Hook, New York, as was his father 
before him, July 2, 185 1, a son of Jacob 
W. and Delia Eliza (Bonesteel) Elseffer, 
see preceding sketch. His early educa- 
tion was received in the district schools of 
his native town, following which he took 
a college preparatory course at the De 
Garmo Institution, at Rhinebeck. He 
then matriculated at Cornell University, 



at Ithaca, New York, supplementing his 
collegiate course by reading law under 
the expert tutelage of his honored father 
in the latter's offices in Red Hook, New 
York. He then entered the Albany Law 
School, from which he was graduated 
with the class of 1876, and was admitted 
to the bar of the State of New York in 
Binghamton in the year 1876. For sev- 
eral years directly following he was 
associated with his father in the latter's 
extensive law practice in Red Hook. He 
then removed to San Diego, Southern 
California, where he resided until the 
death of his wife in 1920, at which time 
he returned to the place of his nativity. 
Somewhat later he removed to Pough- 
keepsie, New York, where he lived, re- 
tired, at the Nelson House, until his 
death, which occurred February 11, 1925. 

Mr. Elseffer was a member of the Sons 
of the American Revolution, and of the 
Dutchess County Historical Society. 
Politically, he supported the Democratic 
party, but took no active participation in 
political matters aside from exercising 
his right of franchise. His religious affili- 
ation was given to the Lutheran Church. 

John H. Elseffer was married at New 
Orleans, Louisiana, January 6, 1900, by 
Rev. G. C. Franke, pastor of the First 
English Lutheran Church, to Emma 
Manchester. Her death occurred in San 
Diego, Southern California, in 1920, and 
she is buried at Red Hook, New York. 



RIVENBURGH, Willard T., 
Physician. 

One of the well known and notably 
successful physicians of Highland, New 
York, is Dr. Willard T. Rivenburgh, who 
has been engaged in general practice 
there since 1914. The Rivenburgh family 
early located in Columbia County, New 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



York, and its members have contributed 
to the development of that section of the 
State, serving in professional, business, 
and agricultural fields of activity. 

(I) Jacob N. Rivenburgh, grandfather 
of Dr. Rivenburgh, was successfully 
engaged in agricultural activities in and 
near Chatham, Columbia County, New 
York. He married Charlotte Tipple, and 
they were the parents of two sons: i. 
John H., of whom further. 2. Dr. Willard 
T. Rivenburgh, who was a practicing phy- 
sician of Middleburgh, Schoharie County, 
New York. 

(II) John H. Rivenburgh, son of Jacob 
N. and Charlotte (Tipple) Rivenburgh, 
was born in Ghent, Columbia County, 
New York, in 1855, and died there in 1912. 
After attending the public schools of 
Ghent, he completed his education in 
Millerton Academy, and then began his 
business career in the employ of a local 
hardware concern. After a time he 
severed this connection and entered the 
employ of Higgins & Tremain, dealers in 
coal and feed, whom he served in the 
capacity of bookkeeper for several years. 
While attending to these duties he made 
himself thoroughly familiar with the busi- 
ness, and when Mr. Higgins retired from 
active participation in the concern Mr. 
Rivenburgh was made a partner and the 
firm became Tremain & Rivenburgh. Mr. 
Rivenburgh was a man of excellent busi- 
ness ability, a good friend and neighbor 
and popular among a large group of 
friends. He took a deep interest in 
municipal affairs, and throughout his life 
was identified with the activities of the 
Republican party in Columbia County. 
He served as town clerk of Ghent and 
overseer of poor, and for nine years was 
superintendent of the poor of Columbia 
County. Later he became a clerk of one 
of the Legislative committees in the State 



Senate at Albany, and was well known 
among the leaders of the party in the 
State at Albany. His religious aiifilia- 
tion was with the Reformed Church of 
Ghent. He married Sarah J. Cobum, 
daughter of Henry R. and (Sim- 
mons) Coburn, of Columbia County, and 
they were the parents of three children : 
I. John H., Jr., who died at the age of 
sixteen. 2. Russell, who died in infancy. 
3. Willard T., of whom further. 

(Ill) Dr. Willard T. Rivenburgh, son 
of John H. and Sarah J. (Coburn) Riven- 
burgh, was born in Ghent, New York, 
July II, 1886. He received his earliest 
education in the district schools of his 
native town. Later he entered Chatham 
High School, from which he was gradu- 
ated. In 1905, having chosen the medical 
profession as his field of service, he began 
study in Albany Medical College, of 
Union University, where he remained for 
a year. At the end of that time he 
entered the pharmacy of Troy in the 
capacity of clerk, but in 1907 he reentered 
Albany Medical School, from which he 
was graduated with the class of 1910, 
receiving the degree M. D. at that time. 
The following year, 1910-11, he served 
his internship in Samaritan Hospital, 
Troy, and when that period of practice 
and study was completed, he engaged in 
general practice in his home town. In 
1914 he removed to Highland, New York, 
where he has since remained and where 
he has built up a large and important 
practice. He is known as one of the lead- 
ing physicians of that section of the 
County and enjoys in a high degree the 
respect and esteem both of his large clien- 
tele and of his professional colleagues. 

On April 10, 1918, after the entrance of 
the United States into the World War, 
Dr. Rivenburgh enlisted in the United 
States Army and was assigned to duty 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at the Base Hospital, Camp Upton, New 
York, where he remained until he was 
discharged from service. May 25, 1919, 
with the rank of first lieutenant. Medical 
Forces. In 1920-21 he entered the medi- 
cal department of Endicott-Johnson 
Corporation, Johnson City, New York, 
but after remaining there for a short time 
he returned to Highland, and resumed 
general practice. Dr. Rivenburgh is by 
courtesy attending physician of the 
Vassar Brothers' Hospital, Poughkeepsie. 
He is a member of Highland Lodge, No. 
718, Free and Accepted Masons ; and of 
Otseningo Consistory, Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite. He is a Republican in 
politics, and a member and former trustee 
of Highland Presbyterian Church. 

Dr. Willard L. Rivenburgh married, 
February 18, 1914, Florence Darrow, 
daughter of J. Wallace Darrow, of 
Chatham, New York, former editor of 
the Chatham "Courier." Dr. and Mrs. 
Rivenburgh are the parents of two chil- 
•dren : Florence Elizabeth ; Willard John, 
born May 11, 1921. 



ALBRO, William C, 

Attorney-at-Law. 

In the eighth generation of descent 
from John Albro, the founder of the 
family name in America, who came from 
England in 1634, became a major in the 
Colonial Militia, and died at Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, December 14, 1712, Wil- 
liam C. Albro, of Poughkeepsie, New 
York, in a half-century of practice of the 
law has risen to a high place in the esteem 
and affectionate regard of his brethren at 
the bar and of a large clientele. He has 
also given much of his time and energy to 
the affairs of education in his home city, 
and being a speaker of no mean ability, 
his services in that respect have often 



been in demand in the campaigns for pro- 
moting the success of one enterprise or 
another. He continues to be actively 
engaged in the practice of his profession, 
although now (1924) more than seventy- 
five years of age. 

(I) Thomas Albro, grandfather of 
William C. Albro, was born May 2, 1799, 
and died September 24, 1852, in Genesee 
County, New York. His wife, Ever 
Albro, was born in 1782, and died October 
28, 1851. They were the parents of Zeno, 
of whom further. 

(II) Zeno Albro, son of Thomas and 
Ever Albro, was born June 10, 1809, at 
Clove, Dutchess County, New York, and 
died November 26, 1883, at Scranton, 
Pennsylvania. Zeno Albro attended at 
Clove the public schools, afterward taught 
school, and was a successful farmer, hav- 
ing owned farms in Dutchess and Genesee 
Counties, New York, and in Wyoming 
County, Pennsylvania. He was one of 
those who interested themselves in the 
formation of Lackawanna County, Penn- 
sylvania. His sympathies were strong on 
the side of the Union cause in the Civil 
War, and he was among those who went 
to Washington, District of Columbia, for 
the purpose of filling the quota of men to 
be taken into service for Dutchess 
County. He married Mary Ann Clark, 
November 2, 1846, who died in January, 
1 91 7, at the age of ninety years. They 
were the parents of five children. 

(III) William C. Albro, son of Zeno 
and Mary Ann (Clark) Albro, was born 
August 16, 1848, in Genesee County, New 
York. He was prepared for college at 
Wesleyan Academy, Wilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, and completed his education at 
Cornell University and Columbia Uni- 
versity Law School, from which he was 
graduated, 1874, with degree LL. B. In 
the fall of 1874 he was admitted to the bar 

38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at the general term of court sitting at 
Poughkeepsie, and at once began the 
practice of law which to the present time 
has covered a period of more than fifty 
years. 

Mr. Albro always has exhibited a deep 
interest in the affairs of the school and in 
educational matters in general. For nine 
years he was a member of the Pough- 
keepsie Board of Education. He was 
appointed a member of the commission 
which revised the charter of the city of 
Poughkeepsie in 1920. He was appointed 
in 1920 by Mayor Butt a member of the 
Poughkeepsie Board of Public Works for 
a term of three years, and he was presi- 
dent of the board for two years. In politi- 
cal activities he has always declared him- 
self to be a Democrat. In 1913 he was 
nominated by his party for mayor of 
Poughkeepsie ; he made a remarkably 
good run for the office, but was defeated. 

One of the outstanding instances in 
Mr. Albro's career to which he and his 
friends point with commendable pride 
was in connection with the early move- 
ment in support of women who then were 
pushing to the fore in the professions 
theretofore preempted by the men, par- 
ticularly in New York State. The occa- 
sion was a visit of that champion and pio- 
neer of "woman's rights," Belva Lock- 
wood, to Poughkeepsie. In one of her 
masterful lectures before a Poughkeepsie 
audience she made a driving remark to 
the effect that women were not allowed to 
practice law in the State of New York. 
The correctness of her statement and the 
odious comparison drawn naturally 
roused the women present to reassert 
their intention to urge their cause the 
more insistently, and the more chivalrous 
of the men quickly rallied to their stand- 
ard. Of the men who thus became allies 
of the women none was quicker in enter- 



ing the forward movement than Mr. 
Albro. Suiting the deed to the word, he 
drafted the now historical amendment to 
the Code of Civil Procedure, introduced 
in the Legislature by Hon. John I. Piatt, 
member of the Assembly from Pough- 
keepsie, and which was signed by Gover- 
nor Hill, thus entitling women to become 
lawyers in New York State, and regis- 
tering another mark in the adoption of a 
more liberal policy in the equality of the 
sexes in matters of government and politi- 
cal economy. He is a member of the 
Dutchess County Bar Association and 
the Vassar Brothers Institute Society. 

Mr. Albro married, November 3, 1874, 
Theodora Rogers, born February 17, 1853, 
daughter of Egbert and Maria (Sherman) 
Rogers, of the town of Beekman, Dutch- 
ess County, New York. Mrs. Rogers is a 
sister of John B. Sherman, the founder 
of the Chicago stockyards. Mr. and Mrs. 
Albro are the parents of a daughter, Edna 
C, a mernber of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution, on the maternal 
side, and who lives at home. 



WILLIAMS, H. St. John, 

Physician. 

Rarely has any man brought to a highly 
important position a fuller training and a 
riper experience than has been acquired 
by H. St. John Williams, M. D., widely 
known, even beyond his own State, and 
who is superintendent of the Bowne 
Memorial Hospital, Poughkeepsie, New 
York, where he has given skillful service 
and wise counsel for nearly a decade. 
Before coming to Poughkeepsie he had 
passed through three hospitals either as a 
student-doctor or resident physician ; he 
was, therefore, splendidly equipped in his 
profession to take over himself the man- 
agement of a large hospital. His paternal 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



grandfather left to him a rich memory for 
accomplishing things of lasting value, for 
he, although a farmer, but a successful 
one at that, was one of the prime movers 
in the founding of Bedford Academy. 
His father was a well-known educator, 
having been a teacher in academy, public 
schools of two states and a superintendent 
of schools. It was therefore considered 
the proper thing for the son and grand- 
son to have early instilled within him the 
desire for a well-rounded education lead- 
ing to the profession of which time has 
shown he made a wise choice. 

(I) James Francis Williams was of 
Bedford, Westchester County, New York, 
and married Mary Stone. It was he who 
proved to his neighbor folk that the 
occupation of farmer did not cramp his 
horizon, and he possessed that intuition 
for progress which reached far beyond the 
limits of forest and field. This onward 
and upward look, when the opportunity 
was both made and offered, found its 
focal point in a strong local movement for 
the establishment of a school of a higher 
grade and wider range of subjects than 
had heretofore been taught in his home 
town. He was at the forefront of the 
movement that culminated in the found- 
ing of the academy which has given the 
town name, as it was the aim of the 
founders to have it become a co-operative 
agency for the intellectual uplift of the 
entire community. Mr. and Mrs. Wil- 
liams are the parents of seven children, 
among whom was James Francis, of 
whom further. 

(II) James Francis Williams, second 
son of James Francis and Mary (Stone) 
Williams, was born October 7, 1854, in 
Bedford Village. He was given a good 
start in life in the district schools, and 
the Potsdam Normal School, of Potsdam, 
New York. He taught at Bedford Aca- 



demy, which his father had helped to 
found; at Stamford, Connecticut, and 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He was 
superintendent of schools at Bristol, 
Connecticut, for a number of years. On 
his retirement from active educational 
work he settled in Darien, Connecticut. 
He was a member of the Congregational 
Church. He married Clara Barrett, 
daughter of Hiram and Mary Ann 
(Knapp) Barrett, of Pound Ridge, West- 
chester County, New York. To them 
were born five sons and one daughter. 

(Ill) Dr. H. St. John Williams, third 
child of James Francis and Clara (Bar- 
rett) Williams, was born in Bristol, Con- 
necticut, December 11, 1888. He was 
educated in the public schools of Bristol, 
the Springfield, Massachusetts, High 
School ; Yale University, graduated com- 
bination course, class of 1910, degree of 
M. D. Dr. Williams made his beginning 
at his profession by doing substitute in- 
terne work at Fordham Hospital, New 
York, and was resident interne for eigh- 
teen months at the Bridgeport General 
Hospital, Bridgeport, Connecticut. He 
was afterward appointed resident physi- 
cian at the State Sanitorium at Meriden, 
Connecticut. In November, 1914, after 
the trustees of Bowne Memorial Hospital 
at Poughkeepsie had looked about for a 
desirable physician for superintendent, 
investigated the experience and fitness of 
Dr. Williams and elected him to the posi- 
tion which he has continued to fill. Dr. 
Williams is also engaged in private work 
as a consultant, specializing on the heart 
and lungs. He is a member of the con- 
sulting staffs of St. Francis Hospital, 
Poughkeepsie, and the Thompson House 
Hospital, Rhinebeck, and is physician in 
charge of the Poughkeepsie Tuberculosis 
clinic and Beacon Tuberculosis clinic. 

During the World War he gave of his 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



service to the Government and was 
appointed a member of the Medical Ad- 
visory Board of the Second District w^ith 
headquarters at Poughkeepsie. Dr. Wil- 
liams is a member of the American Medi- 
cal Association, National Tuberculosis 
Association, American Sanatorium Asso- 
ciation, New York State Medical Society, 
Dutchess Putnam Medical Society, New 
York State Association of Managers and 
Superintendents of Tuberculosis Hospi- 
tals, Poughkeepsie Academy of Medicine, 
Poughkeepsie Tennis Club, and Amrita 
Club of Poughkeepsie. He is a member 
of the First Congregational Church, 
Poughkeepsie. 

Dr. Williams married, July 6, 1908, Eva 
Dickinson, daughter of Eugene and Ella 
(Spencer) Dickinson, of Messengerville, 
Cortland County, New York. 



CRONK, James M., /: ' 

Physician. 

Dr. James M. Cronk is a foremost 
member of the great medical profession — 
that profession which one philosopher 
has stated to be the highest and most 
noble calling of man. Certain it is that 
in the hearts of the world the physician 
and surgeon comes first, for humanitari- 
anism — the epitome of the medical pro- 
fession — begets love, respect and regard. 
In Dutchess County, New York State, the 
name of Dr. Cronk is well and widely 
known, Dutchess County being the seat 
of his professional activities. 

Dr. Cronk comes from old Dutch ances- 
try, his forebears changing their name 
from Cronkhite to Cronk by dropping the 
last syllable. The Cronkhites and Lents 
were early settlers of Westchester 
County, and were of common origin in 
Germany. At a remote period they en- 
joyed a state of allodial independence, 



and were regarded as "Constituting 
nobility." They possessed the Manor of 
Rycken, from which they took their 
names. Hans Von Rycken, and his 
cousin Melchior, of Holland, headed eight 
hundred Crusaders in the First Crusade 
of 1096. In the Spanish War Captain 
Jacob Simons de Rycke was a partisan of 
William the Orange, and distinguished 
himself by his military exploits. Through 
Captain Jacob Simons de Rycke the line 
descends through Jacob ; to Abraham, the 
immigrant ancestor in 1638, to Ryck 
Abrahamsen, of Cortland Manor, who 
assumed the name "Lent" ; and to Mary 
(de Rycke) Lent, his daughter, whose 
marriage into the Cronkhite family 
brought the two families again into 
close relationship they had enjoyed cen- 
turies before in Lower Saxony. The name 
Cronkhite in its ancient form was spelled 
Krankheydt. It then became Kronk- 
heydt, Krankheydt, Krankhuyt, and final- 
ly Cronkhite. 

(I) Herrick Krankhuyt is the first of 
the name of whom there seems to be any 
mention. He was born, reared, married, 
and died, in Holland. To him was born a 
son, Sybout Herrickse, of whom forward. 

(II) Sybout Herrickse Krankheyt, son 
of Herrick Krankhuyt, came to America 
before 1703, and settled in Tarrytown, 
New York. He was one of the purchasers 
with Abraham Lent of Ryck's Patent, 
Westchester County, New York. Teunis 
Herickse, Jan Herrickse, Hendrick Her- 
rickse, and Jacobus Krankheyt, brothers 
of Sybout Herrickse Krankheyt, also 
came to America and settled in West- 
chester County, where Jacobus Krank- 
heyt acted as godfather to the children of 
all his brothers. Sybout Herrickse 
Krankheyt was married to Mary Lent, 
born in 1649, a daughter of Ryck Abra- 
hamsen, who changed his name to Abra- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ham Lent, as heretofore noted. Issue : 
Samuel, of whom forward. 

(III) Samuel Cronkhite (note change 
of spelling), a son of Sybout Herrickse 
and Mary (Lent) Krankheyt, was bap- 
tized in Tarrytown, New York, Novem- 
ber 8, 1710. In regard to the shortening 
of the surname the following has been 
written : 

It is established that the original name Cronk- 
heit was in many cases shortened to Cronk by the 
American families, although there are many fami- 
lies now in the United States using the original 
name Cronkheit. The records of the Fourteenth 
Regiment from Hoosick and Schaghticoke, also 
Albany County, New York, which fought under 
Colonel Peter Yates in the War of the American 
Revolution, contained the name of an Abraham 
Cronkheit, a Tunis Cronkheit, besides five other 
Cronks and Cronkhcits. This would seem to sup- 
port the theory that the family had come to Amer- 
ica considerably before the year 1700, and that 
they entertained diversified political views. There 
are New York records that show that Dutchess 
County Cronkheits favored the American cause, 
and "Signed the Associations," in July, 1775. Two 
Ulster County Cronks refused, as did two Dutchess 
County Kranchites. Captain James Kronkhyte led 
a company of Westchester County Revolutionary 
troops. All of these different spellings and opinions 
within a few miles. 

As near as can be ascertained Samuel 
Cronkhite was the father of Samuel 
Cronk, of whom forward. 

(IV) Samuel Cronk, probably the son 
of Samuel Cronkhite, was born in Suy- 
dam, Columbia County, New York. He 
kept a general store, and was also en- 
gaged in agricultural pursuits. He mar- 
ried Kilmer, and they had a son 

Martin L., of whom forward. 

(V) Martin L. Cronk, a son of Samuel 

and (Kilmer) Cronk, was born in 

Suydam, Columbia County, New York, 
in the year 1834, and died there on Decem- 
ber 7, 1907, having spent his life as a far- 
mer. He was married in 1865 to Marion 
Carl, who bore him four children, as fol- 



lows : Jennie, Alice, Esbon, and James 
M., of whom forward. 

(VI) Dr. James M. Cronk, one of the 
four children of Martin L. and Marion 
(Carl) Cronk, was born in Suydam, 
Columbia County, New York, August 8, 
1867. His early education was acquired 
in the district schools of his native town, 
following which he attended the Hudson 
River Institute at Claverick-on-the-Hud- 
son. In 1895 he matriculated in the Medi- 
cal Department at Albany of Union Uni- 
versity, of Schenectady, New York, from 
which he was graduated in the class of 
1898 with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine. Immediately upon the completion 
of his medical studies, he began the prac- 
tice of his chosen profession in Hyde 
Park, Dutchess County, New York, where 
he has since remained, becoming very 
successful and widely known, and build- 
ing up a large and lucrative clientage. 

Politically, Dr. Cronk has always been 
an advocate and supporter of the princi- 
ples of Republicanism. He has ever been 
an interested worker in municipal aflfairs, 
having served as health officer of Hyde 
Park for a period of twenty-four years, 
and as president of the Hyde Park Board 
of Education for thirteen years. His 
religious affiliation is given to the Hyde 
Park Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
which he has been a trustee for some 
years. 

Dr. Cronk has had a military career 
deserving of more than passing mention. 
During the late World War, on June 7, 
1918, he entered the government training 
camp at Camp Oglethorpe, Georgia, with 
the rank of lieutenant, and two months 
later was assigned to Base Hospital, No. 
121, of the same cantonment. He was 
next transferred to Camp Beauregard, 
Louisiana. On November 11, 1918, he 
went overseas and was stationed at Beau- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Besert, Base Section No. 2, France. On 
May 19, 1919, he was commissioned cap- 
tain, and made commanding officer of 
Sanitary Squad No. 76. Captain Cronk 
returned to America on May 30, 1919, 
and was mustered out of service at Camp 
Dodge, June 17, 1919. 

Dr. Cronk is an active member of the 
Dutchess- Putnam Counties Medical Asso- 
ciation; the New York State Medical 
Association ; and the Poughkeepsie Acad- 
emy of Medicine. Fraternally he holds 
membership in Triune Lodge, No. 782, 
Free and Accepted Masons, The National 
League of Masonic Clubs, and the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Dr. James M. Cronk was married in 
Hudson, New York, January 3, 1893, to 
Nellie Palmer, a daughter of Peter and 
Elizabeth (Pearsall) Palmer, of Matte- 
wan, New Jersey. Dr. and Mrs. Cronk 
are the parents of one daughter, Laura, 
who was married in the year 1917, to 
Frederick Traudt, of Hyde Park. To 
Frederick and Laura (Cronk) Traudt 
have been born three children : Fred- 
erick, Phyllis, and James C. Traudt. Dr. 
and Mrs. Cronk make their home at Hyde 
Park, Dutchess County New York. 



GROUSE, John Seneca, A' 

Financier. 

Known as one of the strongest financial 
men of Dutchess County, New York, 
John Seneca Crouse, born in Clinton 
Hollow, New York, September 26, 1828, 
died in Red Hook, New York, October 6, 
1893, rendered conspicuous service to his 
own banks, the banks of his region and 
to the United States Government during 
the Civil War period and the reconstruc- 
tion days immediately following the peace 
by reason of his expert ability for the 
detection of counterfeit money. Taking 



advantage of the disturbed condition of 
the country in the hazardous times of the 
war and its aftermath, evilly inclined men 
of high technical ability, either in com- 
bination or as individuals, flooded the 
circulation of the country with counter- 
feit paper and metal money. So closely 
did the spurious resemble the genuine 
money, that often it was declared to be 
an impossibility to discern the diiiference. 
Irreparable damage was done to the 
receivers of the counterfeit, and an im- 
mense inconvenience was caused to busi- 
ness and bankers generally. State and 
National authorities bent all their ener- 
gies and applied all their resources in an 
effort to apprehend the criminals. They 
succeeded to a marvelous degree, and thus 
were brought to justice many notorious 
counterfeiters ; but the product of their 
nefarious business was in the currency, 
and it became a very serious problem how 
to rid the circulation of the troublesome 
and illicit medium of exchange, particu- 
larly since now and again the craft, ever 
receiving reinforcements, would inject a 
fresh supply of the base material. Thus 
the difficulty would no sooner become 
seemingly remedied to an appreciable 
degree as far as the capture of some of 
the most prolific and skillful of the coun- 
terfeiters was concerned, than it would 
again become sorely aggravated by a re- 
currence of the unlawful money. To 
meet this dire emergency in a remarkable 
way, there arose here and there in differ- 
ent parts of the country men who, by 
long years of experience in the handling 
of money in banks, became expert in the 
detection of counterfeit money. They 
became also invaluable servants to the 
Government, and to its forces they acted 
as the second line of attack, which could 
always be depended upon to do its part 
to eliminate as far as possible the coun- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



terfeit from the supply of genuine money. 
In this category belonged John Seneca 
Crouse, whose fame spread far and wide 
in the i86o's and onward. So proficient 
did he become in the matter of selection 
of counterfeit from the money that passed 
through his hands, that other banks than 
the one that he served in official capacity 
often called upon him to render like ser- 
vice for them. He soon became the most 
expert counterfeit detector in Dutchess 
County, if not, in fact, in a territory far 
beyond the confines of that division of 
the State. 

John Seneca Crouse was a lineal 
descendant of Jacob Crouse, who settled 
in Beekman, Dutchess County, New 
York, about the year 1760. John Crouse, 
father of John S. Crouse, lived in Clinton 
Hollow, and married Jane Ann Young. 
He had brothers and sisters: Deborah, 
Tillie, William and Seneca. John and 
Jane Ann (Young) Crouse had one son, 
John Seneca, of whom further. 

John Seneca Crouse received his pre- 
liminary education in the country schools 
of his native village, and he also took an 
academic course. School-days at an end, 
he cast about for employment, and his 
first steady job was with Spencer Bennett 
in the "freighting" business at Hyde 
Park, New York. He afterward engaged 
in the same line of business at Pough- 
keepsie. New York. The salient turning 
point in his career came in 1863, in which 
year he entered the employ of the Pough- 
keepsie Bank, established in 1830 and now 
known as the Poughkeepsie Trust Com- 
pany. His position was that of clerk, and 
he remained with that bank for thirteen 
years, during which period he became 
acquainted with much of the detail of a 
banking institution. In 1865 he was 
called to Red Hook to become cashier of 
the First National Bank, the leading 



financial institution of that town. He 
held that office for thirty years, or until 
the time of his death in 1893. Mr. Crouse 
is highly esteemed for his sterling worth, 
and his memory is held in deep affection 
by his intimates, who knew him as man 
of genuine quality and as one who was 
bent on doing service to the extent of 
his powers in whatever avenue of life's 
activities he was placed. He was true to 
himself and true to his friends, loyal to 
his business and financial connections, 
devoted to his family, and intensely patri- 
otic in his allegiance to the common- 
wealth and to his country. 

John Seneca Crouse married Hannah 
Dawes Kettell, November 20, 1862, 
daughter of George Frederick and Lucre- 
tia (Hawley) Kettell. They were the 
parents of three children: Frances Eliza, 
born September 24, 1866; John Kettell, 
born October 12, 1869, died September 18, 
1917; Lucy Dawes, born October 2, 1874, 
married Rev. Charles S. Champlin, of 
Baldwinsville, New York, October 22, 
1902, and has one son, Charles Dawes 
Champlin, born August 5, 1903. 



BLAKELY, Julius Warren, 
Fbysician. 

The surname "Blakely" is a local, or 
place, name, meaning "of Blakesley," a 
parish in Northamptonshire, four miles 
from Towcester, England, and is of 
ancient origin. The name has been vari- 
ously spelled, the more common variants 
being Blacksley, Blakeslee, and Blakely. 
The family became represented in Ameri- 
ca at an early date, and to-day one of the 
prominent bearers of this ancient patro- 
nym is Dr. Julius Warren Blakely, a 
well known and prominent physician of 
Highland, Ulster County, New York. 
(I) John Blakely appears to be the 
44 



J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ancestor of the line herein considered. 
He, however, may not have been the 
immigrant ancestor, for the first date 
pertaining to him is 1812, and thus it is 
more than likely that he was of the sec- 
ond, third, of fourth generation descended 
from the American progenitor. Connecti- 
cut was the home of the early Blakelys, 
and from this State, in 1812, did John 
Blakely and a Mr. Hunt remove to the 
town of Otego, New York. Here he be- 
came very prominent in civic aflfairs, and 
for many years served as justice of the 
peace. To him was born a son, Heman, 
of whom forward. 

(II) Heman Blakely, son of John 
Blakely, was born, lived and died at 
Otego, New York. He spent his long life 
as an agriculturist. He was the father of 
David, of whom forward. 

(III) David Blakely, son of Heman 
Blakely, was born at Otego, New York, 
and here lived and died. He also was a 
farmer, respected and influential in the 
community. To him was born a son, 
John, of whom forward. 

(IV) John Blakely, son of David 
Blakely, was born at Otego, New York. 
He continued in agricultural pursuits as 
his forefathers had done before him. He 
married Lydia D. Cutler, a direct 
descendant of the Vermont Putnams of 
Revolutionary War fame. John and 
Lydia D. (Cutler) Blakely were the 
parents of four children, as follows: i. 
Almon D., of whom forward. 2. Emma, 
married William Fowler, of Otego. 3. 
Myra, married Edward Peckham, of Guil- 
ford, New York. 4. Helen, married 
Charles H. Stebbins, of Unadilla, New 
York. 

(V) Dr. Almon D. Blakely, only son of 
John and Lydia D. (Cutler) Blakely, 
was born at Unadilla, New York, April 
17, 1848, and died at Syracuse, New York, 

N.T. — 8 — 10 



in the year 1917. He received his early 
education in the public schools of Una- 
dilla, following which he entered and was 
graduated from the Unadilla Academy. 
He then matriculated at the Medical Col- 
lege of Syracuse University, Syracuse, 
New York, and Medical Department of 
the University of the City of New York, 
from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1880, receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. Immediately upon 
the completion of his medical studies he 
removed to Milford, New York, and 
engaged in the practice of his chosen pro- 
fession, continuing in practice here with 
ever-increasing success from 1880 to 1918 
— a period of nearly four decades. Dur- 
ing the latter year he retired from active 
professional life and returned to the city 
in whose college he had acquired his 
knowledge of medicine. Here in Syra- 
cuse he spent his remaining years, his 
death occurring August 24, 1917. 

Almon D. Blakely was married March 
15, 1870, at Unadilla, New York, to Julia 
Bronson, a daughter of Warren Bronson, 
a resident of Unadilla. To Dr. Almon D. 
and Julia (Bronson) Blakely was born 
one son, Julius Warren, of whom for- 
ward. 

(VI) Julius Warren Blakely, only son 
of Dr. Almon D. and Julia (Bronson) 
Blakely, was born at Unadilla, New York, 
June ID, 1874, and was destined to choose 
the same career as did his honored father, 
and to follow in his professional footsteps. 
To-day Julius Warren Blakely, M. D. is 
one of the foremost medical practitioners 
of Ulster County, New York, and due to 
inherited instinct, great ability and effici- 
ency, and a rigid adherence to a high 
medical code of ethics, he has builded for 
himself a monument of public esteem and 
love over which he may well be proud. 
At the present time (1924) he is still 



145 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ministering to the needs of a large client- 
age, and is constantly and consistently- 
adding to his prestige in this greatest of 
all humanitarian fields of endeavor. 

Julius Warren Blakely obtained his 
early education in the district schools of 
Unadilla, following which, as his father 
had done before him, he entered and was 
graduated from the Unadilla Academy. 
Having been reared in the atmosphere 
and surrounded since babyhood by the 
influences of well doing among the sick 
and needy, it is not to be wondered at 
that the youth should choose his father's 
profession for his life's work. He en- 
gaged upon the medical studies in the 
Albany Medical College, from which he 
was graduated with the class of 1896, 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
Upon his actual admission into the great 
medical fraternity he at once went to Mil- 
ford, New York, where his father was 
practicing medicine, and under the experi- 
enced guidance of his father he engaged 
actively in his chosen profession. He 
remained in Milford for three years, and 
in 1889 he removed to Sidney, New York, 
where he was most successfully engaged 
in practice until 1905, at which time he 
removed to Highland, Ulster County, 
New York. Here he has since remained, 
and by his sincerity, ability, and by his 
achievements he has won a name par 
excellence for himself in local medical 
circles. In 1918 he relinquished his prac- 
tice temporarily in order to take a post- 
graduate course at the Bellevue Hospital 
in New York City. Dr. Blakely is phy- 
sician to the Sacred Heart Orphan Asy- 
lum, West Park, New York ; Physician 
to the Raymond Riordan School, High- 
land, New York; is attending physician 
at Vassar Brothers Hospital, Poughkeep- 
sie. New York ; and has served as health 
officer of the town of Highland for nearly 
a decade. Outside of his professional 



activities, he is the president of the Ulster 
Gas & Oil Company, Incorporated, of 
Highland. 

Politically, Dr. Blakely is a staunch 
Republican, being an ardent advocate and 
supporter of the principles of Republican- 
ism. His religious affiliation is given to 
the Presbyterian Church. He is a mem- 
ber of the Ulster County Medical Associ- 
ation ; Poughkeepsie Academy of Medi- 
cine ; Phi Sigma Kappa, College frater- 
nity; Deputy District Grand Master of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
of the Ulster District, member of the 
order since 1897, and founder in 1909 of 
Sunshine Lodge, No. 929, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Highland, New 
York. 

Dr. Julius Warren Blakely was mar- 
ried (first) at Middlefield, New York, 
January 25, 1899, to Grace R. Herin, a 
daughter of Thomas and Lora (Van Hen- 
sen) Herin, residents of Middlefield, New 
York. Of this union there were two chil- 
dren, as follows: i. Emma Eloise, born 
October 29, 1904, died at the age of thir- 
teen. 2. John Charles, born January 10, 
1907. Dr. Blakely was married (second) 
September 21, 1913, at Highland, New 
York, to Florence M. Clearwater, a 
daughter of John J. and Emma (Barnes) 
Clearwater, natives of Highland, who 
come of old Dutch ancestry. Dr. and 
Mrs. Blakely are prominent in both the 
social and religious circles of their com- 
munity, and they lend their support to 
every worthy movement of a charitable 
public welfare, or civic advancement 
nature. 



HOFFMAN, Charles Beekman, 

Merchant, Manufacturer, Financier. 

In the fourth generation of descent 
from Conrad Hoffman, Charles Beekman 
Hoffman was born at Red Hook, New 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



York, June 9, 1855, died January 22, 1821, 
son of Benjamin B. and Adeline (Fan- 
cher) Hoffman, and he, as was his son, 
Charles B., after him, was president of 
the Red Hook National Bank. The son 
was also prominent as a merchant and 
manufacturer. He was a helpful and 
actively influential member of several 
organizations for the promotion of wor- 
thy objects in his native county and town. 
The prestige attaching to the family name 
for honorable dealing, uprightness of 
character and strict integrity in financial 
and business affairs was most closely 
guarded and maintained by this worthy 
son of a worthy ancestor. 

George C. Hoffman, grandfather of 
Charles Beekman Hoffman, was a farmer 
and butcher in Red Hook. He married, 
June 7, 1807, Lydia Beekman for his first 
wife, and after her death he married 
Maria Waldorf. Of these two unions 
there were twelve children : Gitty Eliza- 
beth, Rebecca, Helen S., Sarah A., Lydia 
C, Benjamin B., father of Charles Beek- 
man; Marjorie L., John W., George L., 
Edward M., J. Robert and Regina E. 

Benjamin B. Hoffman, father of Charles 
Beekman Hoffman, was born at Red 
Hook, March 25, 1821, died May 19, 1901. 
He was a prominent citizen of his town 
and a member of the firm of Hoffman & 
Company, manufacturers of tobacco and 
cigars. He carried on an extensive busi- 
ness throughout the Hudson River Valley 
region, and was widely known and deeply 
interested in business and financial affairs. 
For many years previous to his death he 
was president of the Red Hook National 
Bank. He married. May 8, 1843, Adeline 
Fancher, of Fishkill, New York., born 
March 25, 1824, died March 8, 1896, and 
they had children: Mary M., Laura A., 
Louis F., Emma J., Edith E., Charles 
Beekman, Kitty F. and Ida. 

147 



Charles Beekman Hoffman was edu- 
cated in the district schools of his native 
community, at De Garmo Institute, 
Rhinebeck, New York, and at Claverack 
Academy, Claverack, New York. His 
first business association was in a general 
store in Red Hook, later taking a position 
in the department store of Luckey, Piatt 
& Company, Poughkeepsie, New York, 
where, because of failing health, he re- 
mained only a short time. He then went 
to his father's farm at Red Hook, and in 
a few years entered the employ of the 
Hoffman Tobacco Company at Red 
Hook. He soon was made a member of 
the firm, and continued in that capacity 
until about five years prior to his death, 
when he withdrew from connection with 
the company. On the death of his father, 
Benjamin B. Hoffman, in 1901, the latter 
was succeeded in the presidency of the 
Red Hook National Bank by John N. 
Lewis, and on the latter's death a few 
years afterward, Charles Beekman Hoff- 
man was elected president, which office 
he held until his death in 1921. Mr. Hoff- 
man was also a trustee of the Rhinebeck 
Savings Bank, a member of the Dutchess 
County Agricultural Society, Dutchess 
County Historical Society, the Dutchess 
County Society, and was an active and 
helpful member of St. Paul's Evangelical 
Church. 

Mr. Hoffman married, October 27, 1880, 
Fannie Allendorf, daughter of Alfred and 
Catherine A. (Shook) Allendorf, of Red 
Hook. She is of Revolutionary ancestry 
and descended from early settlers of 
Dutchess County. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Charles Beekman Hoffman: i. 
Bessie C, married Allan Scott, of New 
York City, October 9, 1909, and they are 
the parents of Malcolm Scott, born July 
19, 1910. 2. Edith Marjorie, married 
Lorenzo M. Armstrong, of New Haven, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, and has three children, 
Lorenzo M., Jr., born March 22, 1917, 
Marjorie M., and John, born July 13, 1924. 
3. May, died in infancy. 4. Katherine 
Allendorf, married Harry R. Roman, of 
Cedarhurst, Long Island, and they are 
the parents of a daughter, Marjorie 
Homan. 



FURLONG, Frank Carmine, 
Physician, Surgeon. 

Brought to this country from Italy 
when an infant by his mother, reared 
with scrupulous care and generous affec- 
tion bestowed by his stepmother, trained 
for the medical profession in university 
and hospital, Frank Carmine Furlong, 
M. D., has worked his way up into the 
prominent physician class in Dutchess 
County, New York, and merits also the 
esteem in which he is held in his home 
community, Poughkeepsie, in which city 
and the vicinity his practice largely cen- 
ters. Hard work persistently concen- 
trated upon his life calling and the 
results of the motherly devotion affection- 
ately manifested by his father's second 
wife were the chief contributing elements 
to the forward strides made by this young 
physician. 

Anthony Furlong, when he emigrated 
to this country from Italy in 1890, left 
his young wife in the homeland until such 
time as he should be able to receive them 
in a home of their own. When he landed 
on the shores of the United States, the 
father of the future Dr. Furlong knew 
little or nothing of the English language. 
When the court officials asked him his 
name, he gave it correctly, Ferlona, but 
his speech was so broken that the officials 
imderstood him to have said "Furlong" 
and thus his name went into the record, 
and thus ever since it has been known, 
it having been with facility adopted by the 



family. Therefore he who otherwise 
would have been known as Dr. Ferlona 
has gone further in name and has lived up 
to the same with an enviable reputation. 
Anthony Furlong, immediately after pas- 
sing through the immigration station, 
settled in Poughkeepsie, New York, hav- 
ing come to this country to take advan- 
tage of the opportunities of education and 
the betterment of himself and his family. 
His wife, Vincenza Juliano Furlong, who 
was left by her husband in Italy, he hav- 
ing preceded her to this country by seve- 
ral months, brought with her their infant 
son, Frank Carmine, who was born in 
Postiglione, Province of Salerno, Italy, 
June 24, 1890, and mother and son joined 
husband and father at Poughkeepsie. 
The family lived in Poughkeepsie seven 
years, and then removed to Highland, 
Ulster County, New York, where he 
worked as laborer. His wife, Vincenza 
Juliano Furlong, died November 2, 1897. 
He married (second) Mary Marcigliano, 
to whom Dr. Furlong is deeply indebted 
for her having taken the place of mother 
in the best sense of the word, and having 
reared him as if he had been her own son. 
Anthony Furlong died in Highland, April 
3. 1921. 

Frank Carmine Furlong, when the 
family lived in Poughkeepsie, attended 
St. Peter's Boys Parochial School in that 
city, and on the family's removal to High- 
land he entered the high school of that 
town, whence he was graduated in the 
class of 1910. Possessing an industrious 
nature, he worked at various employment 
during his school days. In the fall of 
1910, having determined to take up the 
study of medicine, he entered the Albany 
Medical College of Union University, 
from which he was graduated in the class 
of 1914 with the degree of M. D., secre- 
tary of his class. 

Dr. Furlong served one year as interne 



148 



C^_ 1/ u^^^^i^^^-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Albany (New York) Hospital, and 
then removed to New York City to take 
charge of the hospital at Blackwell's 
Island Workhouse under the direction of 
Commissioner Katherine Davis, at that 
time the only woman commissioner in 
New York. In May, 1916, Dr. Furlong 
removed to Poughkeepsie, where he be- 
gan his professional career of Physician 
and surgeon and as a general practitioner. 

Dr. Furlong is first assistant surgeon 
to the chief of staff of St. Francis' Hos- 
pital and attending physician of Bowne 
Memorial Hospital. In 1919 he was 
appointed by the Poughkeepsie Board of 
Charities as physician to the City Home. 
He was appointed by the Board of Health 
as physician to the Parochial School for 
four years. Dr. Furlong is a member of 
the American Medical Association, New 
York State Medical Society, Dutchess and 
Putnam Counties Medical Society, 
Poughkeepsie Academy of Medicine. He 
holds membership in Poughkeepsie 
Lodge, No. 275, Benevolent and Protect- 
ive Order of Elks ; Poughkeepsie Council, 
Knights of Columbus ; the Sons of Italy, 
of which he is District Deputy for Dutch- 
ess County, having been appointed by the 
Grand Lodge, and is a trustee of Our 
Lady of Mount Carmel Church, Pough- 
keepsie. 

Dr. Furlong married, July 31, 1916, 
Carmela Mauro, of Gloversville, New 
York, who was graduated from the New 
Paltz State Normal School, and at the 
time of her marriage was a teacher at the 
Gloversville (New York) High School. 
She is the daughter of Joseph and Cathe- 
rine Mauro, of Gloversville. 



r 

GRANT, Edwrin V., 

Representative Business Man. 

The late Edwin V. Grant, who for many 
years was one of Poughkeepsie's promi- 



nent business men, and widely known 
throughout the Hudson River Valley as 
the chief executive of one of the repre- 
sentative paint and wall paper concerns 
in Dutchess County, was of Scotch 
extraction, his parents having been 
natives of the land of "hill and heather." 
The patronymic "Grant," which first 
came into use in the early part of the 
eleventh century during the surname 
epoch, is a variation of le grand, mean- 
ing great or large. It was applied to 
men of great stature, of big and broad 
proportions. Thus Richard, if he hap- 
pened to be a man of gigantic physique, 
would become Richard le Grand. Le 
Grand, due to colloquialism, gradually 
changed to "le Graunte," "le Graunt," "le 
Grant," and finally, "Grant." This sur- 
name was especially popular in Scotland, 
probably due to the fact that the early 
clans bred men of great strength and size. 
Families bearing the name Grant have 
become greatly ramified throughout Scot- 
land, especially in and around Edinburgh, 
whence came Mr. Grant's father. The 
ancient armorial bearings of the Scottish 
clans of Grant are as follows : 



! antique crowns or, within a 
canton of the second, a demi 



Arms — Gules, thr 
bordure ermine ; on 
otter, proper. 

Crest — A Hercule's head couped sidefaced, in a 
lion's skin, all proper. 

William Grant, father of Edwin V. 
Grant, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
and reared there. He married Susan 
Palmer, and they immigrated to this 
country, settling in New York City, 
where Mr. Grant engaged in the paint 
and wall paper business. The venture 
was a success from the very start, and 
some years later he removed to Ossining, 
New York, where he engaged in the same 
line of endeavor with his eldest son, Ells- 
worth, who later succeeded him in the 
149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



management of the concern. The senior 
Mr. Grant was a far-seeing and unusually 
keen business man, and became the owner 
of a considerable amount of real estate 
in New York City. William Grant and 
his wife were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, of whom Edwin V. was the second 
youngest child. 

Edwin V. Grant was born in Ossining, 
New York, February 14, 1871, and died 
in Poughkeepsie, New York, July 4, 1924. 
His early education was received in the 
public schools of his birthplace, following 
which he attended and was graduated 
from the Mt. Pleasant Military Academy 
and Odell College, both of Ossining, New 
York. About the year 1894, Edwin V. 
Grant came to Poughkeepsie, and with 
his cousin, U. S. Grant, took over the 
interests of his brother, who was engaged 
in the paint and wall paper business, 
under the firm name of E. V. & U. Grant. 
Later he took over the interests of his 
partner, his cousin who had retired, and 
from that time on until his death he con- 
tinued the business alone with great suc- 
cess. Edwin V. Grant was a keen busi- 
ness man, possessing those prime requi- 
sites to any successful business endeavor : 
ability, efficiency, attention to details, 
unlimited energy, and last but not least, 
integrity and honesty so welded into his 
strict code of business ethics that his 
reputation for probity was well and wide- 
ly known. Mrs. Grant had been associ- 
ated in the enterprise with her husband 
for a number of years, and together they 
built up a business second to none in this 
section. Mr. and Mrs. Grant had always 
travelled extensively, and they contem- 
plated a trip to Europe when the hand of 
death stilled for all time the activities of 
Mr. Grant. He was a sincere member of 
the Washington Street Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of Poughkeepsie, and a con- 
sistent contributor to its support. 



Edwin V. Grant was married in Ossin- 
ing, New York, August 22, 1899, to Ada 
S. Smith, a daughter of Samuel H. and 
Mary Ann (Grosvenor) Smith, residents 
of Pomfret, Connecticut. Mrs. Grant, on 
the maternal side, comes from Revolu- 
tionary War stock, the Grosvenors having 
been prominent in New England history 
from the early Colonial days down to the 
present time. Ada S. (Smith) Grant sur- 
vives her husband, whose death removed 
from Dutchess County a well known and 
highly respected citizen, and one of the 
foremost business men. 



WOOD, James W.,/ 

Well-Knonrn Druggist. 

Seeking and fulfilling the best of his 
life's opportunities, in the domain of his 
wide business experience, and in the even 
larger social world in which he bore so 
prominent and acceptable a part in his 
native city of Poughkeepsie, James W. 
Wood, maintained an influential and 
meritorious position both for personal 
enterprise and talent. He set a high esti- 
mate upon worth and character in all of 
life's affairs, and his scores of friends bear 
witness that he held closely to such esti- 
mate in his own individuality, the mould 
of honorable and faithful living being that 
in which his purposes and dealings were 
cast. Not alone in Poughkeepsie and its 
surroundings was he known and esteemed, 
but throughout the Hudson River Valley 
his friendships and acquaintances were 
numberless. His management and direc- 
tion of the extensive drug store business 
that had continued for years was of such 
an excellent character that his name and 
business were synonymous with integrity 
and substantiality. A man endowed with 
mental gifts and the graces of humor and 
of histrionic talents, his popularity was 
150 





^^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



unfailing. He was a son of James G. and 
Sarah (Waring) Wood. 

James G. Wood was born in Dutchess 
County, New York. Early in life he en- 
gaged in the drug business, and in 1859 
he came into possession of the drug store 
at No. 288 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, 
which had been conducted by Elias Tri- 
vett and Henry Titamer, the firm being 
well known and carrying on an extensive 
business. Mr. and Mrs. Wood were the 
parents of two children : James W., of 
whom further; and Charlotte, a writer of 
considerable note, who married Edward 
Morse, the son of Samuel F. B. Morse, 
inventor of the telegraph, and who for 
years lived in the town of Poughkeepsie. 

James W. Wood was born at Pough- 
keepsie, August I, 1863. He received 
his preliminary education in the Bishop 
Private School at his birthplace ; he had 
prepared to matriculate at Williams Col- 
lege, Williamstown, Massachusetts, when 
the death of his father caused him to make 
a change in his former plans, and he 
applied himself to learning the business 
of druggist. In 1899, Mr. Wood associ- 
ated himself with William J. Bolton, 
under the firm name of Wood & Bolton, 
that partnership existing twelve years. 
In 191 1, Mr. Wood assumed the responsi- 
bilities of the business, and so conducted 
it until his death. Under his capable 
management it became one of the most 
widely known drug stores, happily quali- 
fied by the popular terms "old and reli- 
able" throughout the Hudson River 
Valley. 

No one was ever given a more cordial 
welcome in the social life of Poughkeep- 
sie. At the time of his death, Mr. Wood 
was a member of the Amrita and Dutch- 
ess Golf and Country clubs, and of both 
organizations he had been a member of 
long standing, and he was one of their 



most ardent workers. For years, also, he 
was a member of the Apokeepsing Boat 
Club, and of the Poughkeepsie Tennis 
Club, though he had retired from both 
some years previously. In the social circles 
of the city he had earned an excellent 
reputation as an actor, largely through 
his unstinted cooperation in the amateur 
theatrical productions that were staged 
by various organizations of which he was 
a member. A man of rare talent, he was 
invariably a cheering personality in any 
work that he undertook. 

Mr. Wood married, March 7, 1888, 
Electa Myers, a daughter of Michael and 
Mary (Allen) Myers, both natives of 
Whitehall, New York, where Mr. Myers 
was a successful merchant and conducted 
a country store. Mr. and Mrs. Wood 
were the parents of two children : James 
Waring, who died when he was fourteen 
years of age ; and Margaret Allen, who 
married Robert C. Powell, of Providence, 
Rhode Island, their children being Nancy 
and James Powell. 

James W. Wood died July 12, 1924, a 
man of excellent character, and who pos- 
sessed that kind of personality, agreeable 
and optimistic, that makes of every 
acquaintance a friend. He highly merited 
the esteem in which he was held through- 
out this section, and his death was regret- 
ted by a host of friends. Truthfully has 
it been said of him that he left behind a 
good example of honorable and faithful 
dealing, and memories of the most pleas- 
ing and enduring sort. 



VON TILING, Johannes H. M. A., 

Physician. 

A native of Riga, Russia, educated in 
the schools of that city and Lubeck, 
Germany, and the Universities of Goet- 
tingen and Bonn, now a naturalized citi- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



zen of the United States, formerly assist- 
ant surgeon at Vassar Brothers Hospital, 
Dr. Johannes H. M. A. von Tiling pract- 
ices his profession of internal medicine at 
Poughkeepsie, New York, and is a valued 
contributor to magazines and other peri- 
odicals on a variety of medical subjects. 
Dr. von Tiling comes from a long line of 
professional and literary men, and is the 
third son of Professor Wilhelm August 
von Tiling, a native of Mitau, Russia, 
where he was born in 1844, and died in 
Germany, in January, 1924. He was an 
educator, and occupied the chair of pro- 
fessor of Greek and Latin at Riga. In 
1888 he removed with his family to 
Lubeck, Germany, where he became a 
German-Lutheran clergyman and held 
pastorates there and in that vicinity until 
1912, when he retired from the ministry. 
Professor von Tiling married Marie 
Kupfer, and they were the parents of 
twelve children. 

Dr. von Tiling was born in Riga, Rus- 
sia, August 28, 1875, and was educated in 
the gymnasiums of Riga and Lubeck, at 
Schul-Pforta and Goslar and the universi- 
ties of Goettingen and Bonn ; and was 
graduated from Bonn in the class of 1901 
with the degree of M. D. He was assist- 
ant surgeon at Bonn for two years, and 
in 1903 he was induced to come to this 
country by Dr. Howard A. Kelly, the emi- 
nent Professor of Gynecology at Johns 
Hopkins University, Baltimore, Mary- 
land, and became an assistant to Dr. 
Kelley. Dr. von Tiling, in 1903, removed 
to Poughkeepsie, New York, where he 
was appointed assistant surgeon at the 
Vassar Brothers Hospital, remaining in 
that position until January, 1906, when 
he established an office of his own and 
entered upon the practice of internal 
medicine, which he continues to follow. 
His articles on medical subjects in vari- 



ous periodicals of worth have attracted no 
little attention on the part of the profes- 
sion. In 1909 Dr. von Tiling, having 
determined to make this country his per- 
manent home, became a naturalized citi- 
zen of the United States. His residence 
is at No. 278 Mill Street, Poughkeepsie, 
New York, and he maintains a summer 
residence at Cliff Island, Portland, Maine. 
He is a member of the American Medical 
Society, New York Academy of Medi- 
cine, American Congress on Internal 
Medicine, and the Poughkeepsie Academy 
of Medicine. He is a member of the 
medical staff of St. Francis' Hospital, 
Poughkeepsie. His clubs are the Port- 
land Yacht, Dutchess County Golf and 
Country and Amrita. 

Dr. von Tiling married January 16, 
1904, Sarah F. R. Morrison, of Wake- 
field, England. They are the parents of 
a daughter, Johanna E. R., who was edu- 
cated at the Emma Willard School, Troy, 
New York. 



HAYT, Ralph Augustus, 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Having the honor to have descended 
from Simeon Hayt, immigrant English 
ancestor, who settled in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, in 1629, was admitted a 
freeman of the city of Boston, May 18, 
1631, said to be the earliest record of any 
man so constituted on this side of the 
Atlantic, Dr. Ralph Augustus Hayt, of 
Fishkill, New York, also has in his lineage 
Walter Hayt, son of Simeon Hayt, the 
founder of the Hayt family name in 
America, who was a member of the Con- 
necticut General Assembly in 1667 ; Ste- 
phen Hayt, who fought in the French 
wars on the side of England, born in 1730, 
died in 1770; and John Hayt, a soldier of 
the American Revolution, whose service 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



only lasted for six months as he was made 
prisoner by the British. 

Born in Fishkill, November ii, 1877, 
son of William B. and Ella J. Hayt, Ralph 
Augustus Hayt attended the elementary 
schools of his native village, afterward 
entering Claverack College and Hudson 
River Institute, Claverack, New York, 
1893-95, and then entered Cornell Uni- 
versity, where he took special studies in 
1895-96. Early in his student days he 
selected the medical profession, and in 
pursuit of his ideal he entered the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia 
University, taking the four years' course, 
1896-1900, and was awarded his diploma 
with the degree of M. D. Dr. Hayt 
obtained his practical experience in medi- 
cine and surgery while serving as interne 
at St. Catherine's Hospital, Brooklyn, 
New York, 1900-02. As showing the high 
standing to which Dr. Hayt has attained 
in his profession, he is attending surgeon 
of the Highland Hospital, Beacon, New 
York; attending surgeon of the United 
States Veterans' Hospital, Castle Point, 
New York; consulting surgeon of the 
Matteawan State Hospital for the Crimi- 
nal Insane, Beacon, New York. Dr. Hayt 
rendered valued service to the State of 
New York as coroner of Dutchess 
County, 1912-14. 

While he yet was a medical student at 
Columbia University the Spanish-Ameri- 
can War broke out, 1898, but Dr. Hayt, 
with true patriotic devotion, allowed the 
call of the President to invade his course 
of study and he interrupted it with 
answer to the service of his country in 
its successful attempt to liberate Cuba 
from the Spanish yoke. He became a 
member of the Hospital Corps of the First 
Division, Second Army Corps, and in 
that period of service he also gained much 
of experience that was of great benefit to 
him as a student of medicine and surgery. 



Dr. Hayt is a member of the college 
fraternities. Phi Sigma Kappa and Theta 
Nu Epsilon, of the American Medical 
Association, New York State Medical 
Association, Dutchess County Medical 
Association, and the Newburgh Bay 
Medical Association. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Poughkeepsie Club, Golf and 
Country Club, Southern Dutchess 
Country Club of Beacon, Poughkeepsie 
Automobile Club, and Kiwanis Club of 
Beacon. He is a communicant of the 
Dutch Reformed Church. 

Dr. Hayt married, at Newark, New 
Jersey, September 15, 1919, Catherine 
McGeehan, daughter of John J. and 
Catherine McGeehan, her father being a 
pioneer lumberman of Wisconsin. 



ROBERTS, Charles Anthony, 
State Inspector. 

For over twenty years Charles Anthony 
Roberts, of Windsor, has been identified 
with the public service of the common- 
wealth of New York in the Department 
of Agriculture in a position in which the 
requirements of office are exact knowl- 
edge and proved ability. Modern con- 
ditions of life have brought in their train 
difficult problems in the preparation and 
distribution of food materials, and scien- 
tific regulation has resulted. Mr. Roberts 
is one of the State officials whose time 
and labor are directed toward the safe- 
guarding of the health and welfare of the 
people within and beyond the borders of 
the State, and his record during many 
years in his department is one of faithful 
efficiency resulting in a notable contribu- 
tion to the public welfare. 

Charles Anthony Roberts was born in 
Clifford, Susquehanna County, Pennsyl- 
vania, on December 21, 1867, shortly after 
his father, Eli Worden Roberts, had 
joined the now historical Gold Rush to 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



California. Eli W. Roberts, who was a 
farmer and inn-keeper of Clifford, was a 
native of Delaware County, New York 
State, and a son of Anthony and Deborah 
(Fish) Roberts. He went out to Cali- 
fornia when the gold fever was at its peak, 
going by boat "around the Horn." He 
remained in the West for several years, 
prospecting for gold dust in the far 
reaches of the mountain valleys, staking 
out promising claims which now and then 
"panned out" successfully, alternating 
between moderate wealth and compara- 
tive want, and undergoing all the hard- 
ships and perils peculiar to those pioneer- 
ing days. After a few years had passed, 
having made a small fortune, he returned 
East and moved his family to Windsor, 
Broome County, New York, where he 
purchased a large farm upon which he set- 
tled his family. But the call of the 
Golden West was too strong, and he re- 
turned to California where he subse- 
quently lost his fortune in "grub-staking" 
unsuccessful prospectors. His experi- 
ences were varied and exciting. He lived 
for a time in a lonely cabin which he had 
built high up in the Rocky Mountains, 
his only friend an old Indian who was 
given systematically to pilfering from his 
scanty supply of corn-meal, tea and sugar. 
At one time he was chased by a bear, 
one of whose cubs he had picked up to 
admire, and barely escaped with his life. 
Having retrieved a small part of his lost 
fortune he returned home and spent his 
remaining days in Windsor, New York. 
An unusually fine collection of gold nug- 
gets which he had mined is now in the 
possession of a daughter, Mrs. Maud 
Cooke; while a large signet ring, which 
he had had made from an especially large 
nugget, was inherited by a grandson. Eli 
Worden Roberts married Mary Abigail 
Cramer, and they were the parents of the 



following children: i. Charles Anthony, 
of whom this biographical review. 2. 
Jessie, died unmarried. 3. Maud, became 
the wife of George Cooke. 4. Mary, mar- 
ried Charles Depew. 5. Georgia, now 
Government Librarian at Santo Domingo, 
attached to the Rockefeller foundation. 
6. and 7. Twins, who died in infancy. 

Charles Anthony Roberts, eldest of the 
seven children of Eli Worden and Mary 
Abigail (Cramer) Roberts, and a repre- 
sentative of the eighth generation of the 
old New England family of that name, 
spent his early days in Clifford, Pennsyl- 
vania, and while yet a boy removed to 
Windsor, New York, where he assumed 
full charge of the family farm while his 
father was in California. His education 
was received in the local district-schools, 
following which he attended the Old 
Windsor Academy, at that time one of 
the most famous educational institutions 
in the State. Meanwhile, he continued 
the management of the farm and upon 
the completion of his scholastic work he 
entered the employ of the Coburn Whip 
Factory, in Windsor. When the family 
homestead was destroyed by fire he re- 
moved with his young wife into the vil- 
lage proper, and subsequently became the 
proprietor of a grocery store, with which 
business he was identified for several 
years. 

In February, 1904, he accepted a posi- 
tion with the State of New York as agent 
in the Department of Agriculture. In 
1906 he became a member of the New 
York State Civil Service and continued 
his work as pure food agent for the De- 
partment of Agriculture, enforcing the 
provisions of the State and Federal Pure 
Food Laws. About the year 1920 he was 
made Inspector in the Dairy and Food 
Bureau, Department of Agriculture, 
which position he still holds (1925). 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Much of his work is in the inspection of 
food stuflfs, milk and its by-products, 
seeds and feeds, and sanitary conditions, 
and in making these commodities and 
conditions to conform to legal require- 
ments. His record as pure food inspector 
during the last twenty-one years speaks 
for itself, and gives irrefutable proof of 
his ability, energy, and absolute probity. 

Politically, Mr. Roberts is a staunch 
Republican, as was his father before him, 
and as also are his four sons. He has 
always maintained a deep interest in the 
progress and advancement of his home 
town, having served as village clerk for 
several years, and as a member of the 
Board of Education for seven years. 
Fraternally, Mr. Roberts has carried on a 
family tradition by affiliating himself with 
the ancient Masonic Fraternity, being a 
member of Windsor Lodge, No. 442, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and Otse- 
ningo Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of 
Binghamton, New York. He is like- 
wise a member of Windsor Chapter, No. 
190, Order of the Eastern Star, of which 
he was Worthy Patron for two years. 
He also holds membership in the S. P. 
Quick Volunteer Hose Company, No. I, 
and in the Windsor Rod and Gun Club. 
He and the members of his family attend 
the First Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Windsor, of which body Mr. Roberts has 
been a steward for many years. 

Charles Anthony Roberts was married 
in Windsor, New York, September 24, 
1891, by the Rev. Benjamin P. Ripley, to 
Mary Agnes Gilbert, born September 25, 
1873, the second daughter of John Bush 
and Emma Amelia (Watrous) Gilbert. 
Her father was born March 5, 1846, and 
died March 8, 1925; while her mother, 
who was born August 24, 1847, is still 
living at her home in Windsor (1925). 
Charles Anthony and Mary Agnes (Gil- 



bert) Roberts are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: i. Benjamin Worden, 
born May 4, 1892 ; married, June 28, 1917, 
to Frances Marie Meves, and is now chief 
chemist for the firm of Meves & Gregg, 
of Philadelphia. 2. Walter Charles, born 
April 21, 1895, at present connected in 
editorial capacity with the Lewis Histori- 
cal Publishing Company of New York 
City. 3. Frank Adrian, born April 18, 
1897; "ow associated with the Glens Falls 
Insurance Company, of Glens Falls, New 
York. 4. Howard William, born Novem- 
ber 12, 1899, died November 10, 1900. 5. 
Helen Agnes, born August 26, 1901 ; is 
attending (1925) the Curtis Institute of 
Music, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 6. 
John Carol, born June 19, 1906, an under- 
graduate at Syracuse University. Mr. 
Roberts has sent his four sons to Syra- 
cuse University, and two of them, Walter 
C. and Frank A., served with the Army 
and Marine forces, respectively, during 
the World War. The family home, 
"Robertshurst," is maintained at Wind- 
sor, New York. 



GANNON, Frank Stanislaus, Jr., 

Lawyer. 

Frank S. Gannon, Jr., one of the suc- 
cessful lawyers of New York City, has 
made his way to an eminent position at 
the bar, through native ability, reinforced 
by studious application. He is a grand- 
son of John and Mary (Clancy) Gannon, 
of Irish birth, who established themselves 
in Spring Valley, New York, in the early 
part of the nineteenth century. His 
father, Frank Stanislaus Gannon, was 
born September 16, 185 1, at Spring Val- 
ley, and educated in the public schools 
of Port Jervis, New York. At the age of 
seventeen years he entered the service of 
the Erie Railroad as a telegraph operator. 



[55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in which he continued from 1868 to 
1870. Following this he was with the 
Midland Railroad, now the New York, 
Susquehanna and Western, a part of the 
Erie system, serving in various capaci- 
ties of clerk, terminal agent, and train 
dispatcher, from 1870 to 1875, and later, 
until 1881, master of transportation on 
the Long Island Railroad. In the latter 
year he was supervisor of trains on the 
Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and from 
1881 to 1886 general superintendent of 
the New York City and Northern Rail- 
road. From 1886 to 1894 he was general 
superintendent, and from 1894 to 1896 
general manager of the Staten Island 
Transit Railway. From 1893 to 1896 
he was president of that railroad, and 
from 1900 to 1906 general superintendent 
of the New York Division of the Balti- 
more and Ohio Railway. He was sub- 
sequently third vice-president and gen- 
eral manager of the Southern Railway, 
president and director of the Norfolk and 
Southern Railroad in 1909 ; president of 
the Montana, Wyoming and Southern 
Railroad; Virginia and Carolina Coast 
Railroad, Atlantic and North Carolina 
Railroad ; Pamlico, Oriental and Western 
Railroad. He served as a director of the 
New York City Railway, Broadway and 
Seventh Avenue Railroad, Forty-Second 
Street and Grand Street Ferry Railroad, 
Fulton Street Railroad, Thirty-Fourth 
Street Crosstown Railway, Twenty-Third 
Street Railway, Twenty-Eighth and 
Twenty-Ninth Street Crosstown Rail- 
roads. He was also a director of the 
Metropolitan Securities Company and the 
Immigrant Industrial Savings Bank, of 
New York. He married, in Jersey City, 
September 24, 1874, Marietta Burrows. 
They became the parents of a large fam- 
ily of sons : Frank Stanislaus, Jr., John W., 
James A., Gregory, Edward, Albert, 
Robert and Benedictine. 



Frank Stanislaus Gannon, Jr., was born 
December i6, 1877, in Long Island City, 
and in youth was a student of public 
schools of New York. Entering St. 
Francis Xavier College of New York 
he was graduated Bachelor of Arts 1898, 
Master of Arts 1899. In 1900 he gradu- 
ated from the New York Law School 
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, and 
was at once admitted to the bar. He 
gained a legal experience in the offices 
of Tracy, Boardman and Piatt, of New 
York City, where he continued three 
years, at the end of which period he be- 
came a member of the law firm of Mur- 
phy, Curry, and Gannon. After one year 
the senior partner withdrew and the firm 
became Gannon and Curry, and in 1907 
was formed a new law partnership under 
the style of Gannon, Seirbert and Riggs. 
This association has enjoyed a liberal 
share of the law practice of the metropo- 
lis. Mr. Gannon is a member of the 
Roman Catholic Church, with his family, 
and is independent of party dictation in 
political action. He is a member of the 
American Bar Association, New York 
Bar Association, and the Association of 
the Bar of the City of New York, of 
the Lawyers' Club of New York City, 
Richmond Country Club, Staten Island 
Cricket Club, Catholic Club, Westchester 
Golf Club and the Mummers, and of the 
Xavier Alumni Association, Xavier 
Sodality, and Friendly Sons of St. 
Patrick. 

He married, April 5, 1910, Frances, 
daughter of Michael Foley, of New 
Jersey, and they are the parents of the 
following children: Frank Stanislaus (3), 
born July, 1912, at St. George, Staten 
Island, and Marietta, born August, 1913, 
in Livingston, Staten Island. The home 
of the family is now on Bard Avenue, 
Livingston, Staten Island. 



X56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



NETTLETON, Albert E., 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

The city of Syracuse, New York, is 
justly celebrated as a manufacturing cen- 
ter, and the business of manufacturing 
shoes is one of its most important indus- 
tries. Prominently identified with this 
particular branch of manufacture is Al- 
bert E. Nettleton, who is regarded as one 
of the conservative business men of the 
city, progressive and modern in all that 
he undertakes to do. The social and 
political affairs of the city are given their 
fair share of his attention, and he is an 
unostentatious yet generous patron of 
any plan that is afoot to better the cause 
of humanity. Thus the organization 
which Mr. Nettleton leads possesses the 
prestige and influence attainable only 
through years of service to a community. 

For the greater part of a century, the 
name of Nettleton has been associated 
with the shoe trade in the State of New 
York. Edward Nettleton established one 
of the first boot and shoe stores in the 
village of Fulton, New York, about 1837, 
and personally and successfully con- 
ducted this until his death in 1864, when 
his sons, Franklin E. and Samuel W., 
succeeded him and conducted affairs ac- 
cording to the most approved methods, 
and they in turn were succeeded by their 
brother, Augustus C. Nettleton. 

Albert E. Nettleton, son of Edward 
Nettleton, was born in Fulton, Oswego 
County, New York, October 29, 1850. 
His early education was acquired in the 
public schools of that section, and this he 
later supplemented by attendance at the 
Falley Seminary, in Fulton, being gradu- 
ated from this institution in the class of 
1869. Upon the completion of his studies, 
he found employment in the business of 
his brother, Augustus C. Nettleton, who 
had succeeded his two older brothers, and 



in 1872 Albert E. Nettleton succeeded his 
brother, Augustus C, purchasing the 
business from him. In 1875 he also 
established a shoe store in Cazenovia, 
New York, which he conducted until 
1881, and from 1881 to 1884 he also con- 
ducted a shoe store in Lyons, New York. 
In 1879 he came to Syracuse, and there 
purchased a boot and shoe factory of 
James R. Barrett, and later formed a 
partnership with W. A. Hill, this firm 
conducting business under the style of A. 
E. Nettleton & Company. By purchas- 
ing the interests of his associates, Mr. 
Nettleton became the sole owner of the 
concern, making a specialty of the manu- 
facture of men's shoes, for which his plant 
earned a well merited reputation. He 
employed upwards of six hundred hands, 
and the products of the factory go to all 
parts of the world, finding a ready sale. 
Only the best materials are used, in pro- 
portion to the cost of the finished product, 
and only the best work done. His aim 
was to build up a reputation and business 
on the actual value and merit of his 
product, and this he accomplished most 
successfully. 

But the manufacture of shoes is not 
the only enterprise with which Mr. Net- 
tleton is closely connected. He was 
elected president of the Fulton Paper 
Company in November, 1893 ; is presi- 
dent of the C. A. Whelan Company ; sec- 
ond vice-president of the Great Lakes 
Steamship Company ; trustee of Onon- 
daga County Savings Bank; director of 
the National Bank of Syracuse; director 
of the Syracuse Trust Company ; director 
of the Empire Savings and Loan Associ- 
ation, elected in April, 1892, and director 
of the Paragon Plaster Company, becom- 
ing a member of its board of directors at 
its organization in 1888. Mr. Nettleton 
has shown marked ability as a financier, 

57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his counsel and advice being frequently 
sought and always followed. 

Mr. Nettleton is deeply interested in 
the public welfare, and uses his utmost 
influence to better existing conditions in 
every way that lies in his power, succeed- 
ing well in his efforts. His life history 
most happily illustrates what may be 
attained by faithful and continued effort 
in carrying out an honest purpose. Un- 
tiring activity and energy are prominent 
factors in the success he has achieved, 
and his example is well worthy of emula- 
tion by the youth of the present day. He 
is scrupulously honorable in all his under- 
takings with mankind, and bears a repu- 
tation for public and private integrity sec- 
ond to no man. He is sociable and genial 
in disposition, and has a wide circle of 
friends. 



OWEN, Charles Sumner, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

It was an immortal saying of a great 
citizen of the State of New York and a 
great American that "A public office is 
a public trust." That sentiment has taken 
de^ root in American politics and there 
are men in office to-day who so regard 
public office, as it was so regarded by 
many before President Cleveland voiced 
the truth. Such a man is Charles Sumner 
Owen, who as supervisor, commissioner 
of public safety of Rochester and sheriff 
of Monroe County, has shown a devotion 
to official duty that has won him the 
unqualified confidence of the public. With 
devotion, efficiency has gone hand in 
hand, and while his term as sheriff has 
not yet expired, his record as commis- 
sioner of safety was one marked with 
such an advance in the efficiency of that 
department of municipal government that 
Rochester holds his name in grateful re- 
membrance. Since 1894 Sheriff Owen 
has been connected with the business in- 



terests of his native city, beginning as 
office boy, and is now vice-president of 
the Chapin-Owen Company, dealers in 
auto supplies, motor engines, and sports- 
man's goods. He holds high position in 
the Masonic order and is a most worthy 
exponent in his daily walk of the best 
tenets of that ancient institution. His 
rise to public favor and the success he 
has attained are not due to a lucky turn 
of Fortune's wheel, but to his own strong 
personality, his keen powers of observa- 
tion, his clear mind, his energy, his cour- 
age, his unblemished integrity, and his 
manly life. He is a true son of the Em- 
pire State, son of Wilbur F. and Mary 
Ellen (Brady) Owen, both born in New 
York, his father having spent almost his 
entire life in Rochester, where for many 
years he has been associated with the 
firm of Smith, Beir & Gormley, jobbers 
of dry goods. 

Charles Sumner Owen was born in 
Rochester, January 7, 1869, second in a 
family of six children. He attended pub- 
lic school until fifteen years of age, then 
became a wage earner, entering the em- 
ploy of Sargent & Greenleaf, lock manu- 
facturers, as office boy. Two years later 
he went with May Brothers in a higher 
capacity, and about 1887 with Moore & 
Beir, clothing manufacturers. He rapid- 
ly advanced in rank with the last named 
firm, his efficiency and ability being fully 
recognized and amply rewarded. In 1903 
the firm of Moore & Beir became a corpo- 
ration, Mr. Owen being chosen the first 
vice-president. He continued an impor- 
tant factor in the management and suc- 
cess of the company until 1909, when he 
became commissioner of public safety for 
the city of Rochester. Since that time he 
has devoted himself to the public service 
of city and county, becoming, however, a 
member of the Chapin-Owen Company in 
191 5, serving that company as vice-presi- 
dent. 



158 



J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Since becoming a voter Sheriff Owen 
has been an active Republican. On Feb- 
ruary I, 1903, he was appointed a member 
of the board of supervisors of Monroe 
county, to fill out the unexpired term of 
Willis K. Gillette. At the next regular 
election he was the Republican candidate 
for that office from the Third Ward of 
the city of Rochester, was elected, and 
served with such acceptance that in 1905 
he was reelected. On January i, 1907, he 
was chosen chairman of the board, serv- 
ing in that position until the end of his 
term of office. On January i, 1908, he 
was appointed commissioner of public 
safety, a responsible position in which he 
demonstrated his full power of organiza- 
tion, his firm grasp of municipal con- 
ditions, and his ability to cope with 
weighty problems of administration. He 
brought system, order and reliability out 
of inferior conditions and gave to Roches- 
ter an administration of the Department 
of Public Safety such as it had never 
known. In 1914 he was the Republican 
nominee and the successful contender for 
the office of sheriff of Monroe county. 
He assumed the duties of that position, 
January i, 1915, and his discharge of the 
obligations of the sheriff's office is on the 
same high plane of prompt, thorough and 
conscientious service that has character- 
ized his official as well as his business 
career. 

In the Masonic order Mr. Owen has 
ever been active, his official career being 
highly honorable and an evidence of his 
standing in the esteem of his brethren. 
He is past master of Valley Lodge, No. 
109, Free and Accepted Masons ; past 
high priest of Hamilton Chapter, No. 62, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Sir Knight of Mon- 
roe Commandery, Knights Templar, and 
a Noble of Damascus Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He has been connected with the 
Masonic Temple Association from its in- 



ception, serving as a director, and is an 
ex-president of the Masonic Club. He is 
also a member of the Rochester Club. 

Sheriff Owen married, April 18, 1882, 
Delphine A. Cragg, of Rochester, and has 
a daughter, Dorothy Cragg Owen. 



STONE, Charles Luke,^ 

Lawyer, Referee in Bankruptcy. 

Charles Luke Stone is descended from 
a very ancient family, whose name ap- 
pears to have been derived from a place 
of residence. The early Ardleigh records 
speak of William Att Stone, which indi- 
cates that his name arose from his resi- 
dence, near some important rock, perhaps 
a land mark. Symond Stone, the earliest 
known ancestor of this branch of the 
Stone family, made a will on May 12, 
1506, the record of which is on the parish 
records of Much Bromley, England. The 
will was proved February 10, 1510; he 
bequeathed to his son Walter his tene- 
ment in Ardleigh, and as Ardleigh is in 
the immediate vicinity of Much Bromley, 
it would appear that this first Symond 
was a descendant of the William at the 
Stone, mentioned above. In a court roll 
of 1465, in the reign of Edward IV., refer- 
ence is made to three fields called Stone- 
land. David Stone, son of Symond Stone, 
lived also at Much Bromley, County Es- 
sex, England, early in the sixteenth cen- 
tury. Symond (2) Stone, son of David 
Stone, also lived at Much Bromley. His 
wife's name was Agnes. David (2) Stone, 
son of Symond (2) or Simon Stone, was 
born, lived and died at Much Bromley. 
He had wife Ursula. It has been posi- 
tively proved that he, and not Rev. Timo- 
thy Stone, as formerly supposed, was the 
father of the two American immigrants, 
Gregory and Simon, next mentioned. 

Simon Stone, son of David (2) Stone, 
was the immigrant ancestor of this branch 
of the family in America. He was born 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Much Bromley, County Essex, Eng- 
land, where he was baptized February 9, 
1585-86. Before 1624 he and his wife 
moved to Boxted, a few miles from Much 
Bromley, and from Boxted he and his 
family are believed to have come to this 
country. On April 15, 1636, the father, 
aged fifty ; mother, aged thirty-eight ; and 
five children, embarked from London on 
the ship "Increase," Robert Lee, master, 
for New England, after receiving permis- 
sion from the government to leave Eng- 
land for America. They settled first in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, having forty 
acres of land along the banks of the 
Charles river, south of the present Mount 
Auburn Cemetery; it is believed that a 
part of his farm is now covered by the 
cemetery. Simon Stone was admitted a 
freeman. May 25, 1636, with his brother, 
Gregory, who emigrated at the same 
time. He was selectman from 1637 to 
1656, and was a deacon of the church for 
many years. One of the pear trees 
planted by him is said to have borne fruit 
for two hundred and fifty years, and was 
still vigorous in 1899. Mr. Stone became 
a prominent real estate owner, and ac- 
cording to tradition built a large old- 
fashioned house, colonial in style, which 
served as a home for his descendants for 
six generations, but was finally destroyed 
by fire. He married (first) August 5, 
1616, Joan or Joana Clark, daughter of 
William Clark, and their two eldest chil- 
dren were baptized in Bromley, England, 
the others being born in Boxted. He 
married (second) about 1654, Sarah 
Lumpkin, widow of Richard Lumpkin, of 
Ipswich, Massachusetts. She also came 
from Boxted, County Essex, England, 
and left a will dated March 25, 1663. 
Simon Stone died in Watertown, Septem- 
ber 22, 1665. Children by first wife: 
Frances, baptized January 20, 1619; 
Mary, October i, 1621, died young; Ann, 
born 1624; Simon, mentioned below; 



Mary, 1632 ; John, August 6, 1635 ; Eliza- 
beth, April 5, 1639, died young. ' Simon 
(2) Stone, son of Simon (i) Stone, was 
born in 1631, in Boxted, England, died 
February 27, 1708. He and his brother 
John divided the real estate left by their 
father, Simon, keeping the homestead for 
his home. He was deacon of the church, 
and held various public offices. For sev- 
eral years he served as selectman, and 
was town clerk for ten years. From 1678 
to 1684, inclusive, he was representative 
to the General Court, and in 1686-89-90 
one of the original proprietors of Groton, 
Massachusetts. In 1662 he owned an 
eighteen acre right in Groton, increasing 
his holding there in 1670 to more than 
eighty-seven acres, although he may not 
have lived there. He married Mary 
Whipple, daughter of Elder John Whip- 
ple, an early settler of Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts. She was born in 1634, died 
June 2, 1720. Children: Simon, men- 
tioned below; John, mentioned below; 
Matthew, born February 16, 1660; Na- 
thaniel, February 22, 1662, died same 
year; Ebenezer, February 27, 1663 ; Mary, 
1665; Nathaniel, 1667; Elizabeth, Octo- 
ber 9, 1670; David, October 19, 1672; 
Susanna, November 4, 1675 > Jonathan, 
December 26, 1677. Simon (3) Stone, 
son of Simon (2) Stone, born September 
8, 1656, settled in Groton, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1694. His son, Simon (4), 
born about 1690, married Sarah Farns- 
worth. He lived in Groton and Harvard, 
Massachusetts. The records of Groton 
are very imperfect, and do not note all 
the births there. John Stone, son of 
Simon (2) Stone, was born July 23, 1658, 
in Watertown, and settled in Groton. He 
had a son, James Stone, born there Janu- 
ary 23, 1 701, whose son, James Stone, 
born in 1724, in Groton, married Deborah 
Nutting, and was probably the father of 
Philip Stone, born 1751. Philip Stone, 
of Groton, was the first permanent settler 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the town of Bridport, Addison county, 
Vermont, in 1772. There he married, 
November 25, 1773, a Miss Ward, of 
Addison, Vermont. They were the par- 
ents of Isaac Stone, who lived in Brid- 
port until 1825, and soon after removed 
to Mexico, Oswego county. New York. 
He married, in Vermont, January 20, 
1815, Lydia Hurlbut, born February i, 
1796, in Sudbury, Vermont, daughter of 
Samuel and Jerusha (Higgins) Hurlbut, 
natives respectively of Chatham and Had- 
dam, Connecticut, descended from Thom- 
as Hurlbut, who was a soldier under Lion 
Gardiner in the settlement at Saybrook, 
Connecticut. Isaac Stone was a farmer 
and a shoemaker, and died in Mexico, 
New York, November 4, 1848. He had 
twelve children, of whom the eldest son 
and second child was Samuel Hurlbut 
Stone, born March 6, 1818, in Bridport, 
Vermont. He was a merchant in Mexico, 
in association with his brother, Benjamin 
Sage Stone, and was a prominent citizen 
of that town, filling various offices. He 
was executor of the will of Peter Chand- 
ler, of that town, and died there January 
20, 1887. He married, June 12, 1844, 
Rhoda A. Butterfield, daughter of Luke 
and Sophronia (Kellogg) Butterfield, of 
Mexico. Their second son and child is 
the subject of this sketch. 

Charles Luke Stone was born April 2, 
1848, in Mexico, where he grew up and 
received his primary education. He 
graduated with the degree of A. B. at 
Hamilton College in 1871, and subse- 
quently received from this institution the 
degrees of A. M. and LL. B. He engaged 
in practice of law at Syracuse, New York, 
where he has continued to the present 
time, and has attained a commanding 
position at the bar. Since 1878 he has 
been attorney for the Onondaga County 
Savings Bank, was city counsel from 1887 
to 1889, and counsel to the Syracuse 
Water Board and Department from 1889 
N Y— Vol iv_n 



to 1906. Since 1898 he has been a referee 
in bankruptcy, and is a trustee, attorney 
and director of the Onondaga County 
Savings Bank, and New Process Raw 
Hide Company. He is and has been at 
the head of the law firms of Stone, Gan- 
non & Petit; Stone & Petit, and now of 
Stone & Stone. He is a member of the 
Onondaga County Bar Association, New 
York State Bar Association, Sons of the 
American Revolution, and the college fra- 
ternity Phi Beta Kappa. He is or has 
been also associated with several clubs, 
including the Century, Citizens' and Uni- 
versity clubs of Syracuse. In religion a 
Presbyterian, in politics a Republican, he 
exerts a large influence in political coun- 
cils. 

He married at College Hill, Clinton, 
New York, 1872, Zilla Buttrick Sackett, 
daughter of William A. and Charlotte 
(Buttrick) Sackett. Children: Char- 
lotte S., MacDougall, Harold and Rhoda 
Zilla Palmer. 



CLARKE, Charles J., 

Clerk of Supreme Court. 

Mr. Clarke is a descendant of Scotch 
and Irish ancestry, and was born Febru- 
ary 24, 1864, in the city of New York. 
His father, Thomas W. Clarke, was a 
noted secret service man in the employ of 
the United States government during the 
Civil War, and was also connected with 
the navy. He lost his life at the battle 
of Fort Fisher, January 15, 1865. His 
mother was a member of the Scott family 
of Dublin, Ireland, daughter of Thomas 
Scott, who was queen's counsel for the 
city of Dublin for about forty-five years, 
having previously earned credit by gal- 
lantry in the Spanish War. He was a 
relative of William Smith O'Brien, the 
Irish patriot. 

Charles J. Clarke received his educa- 
tion in the common schools, and started 



161 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



out in life at the age of fifteen years as 
a night messenger boy, at a salary of 
eight dollars a month, working from 8 
P. M. until 7 A. M. After two years of 
this service he became an apprentice to 
the moulding trade, becoming a skilled 
iron moulder, and continued in that occu- 
pation until he attained his majority. At 
this time he started out on the road, sell- 
ing iron goods, and thus continued until 
1900, when he was appointed to a minor 
clerkship in the Onondaga county clerk's 
office. From this humble beginning he 
won steady promotion, and in time be- 
came deputy county clerk, in charge of 
the Court of Records. In 1908 he was 
advanced to the position of clerk of the 
Supreme Court, having received the 
unanimous endorsement of the judiciary 
of the fifth district of the Supreme Court. 
When the present Court of Claims was 
organized by the Republican administra- 
tion, the chief clerkship was offered to 
him without any solicitation on his be- 
half, but was declined. It was his duty 
to make all the arrangements for the 
famous Barnes vs. Roosevelt trial, held in 
Onondaga county in April and May, 1915. 
Mr. Clarke is a collector of bric-a-brac 
and old mahogany furniture, and has a 
large and rare collection of pictures, num- 
bering nearly two hundred and fifty of 
all kinds. His spare time is devoted to a 
sixty-five acre farm, located in Oswego 
county. New York, on which he has 
erected all necessary farm buildings by 
his own hands, thus demonstrating a na- 
tural mechanical skill, as he never re- 
ceived any training as a carpenter. It 
has always been the custom of Onondaga 
county to give the county clerks two 
terms, and after the expiration of the 
present term of his superior, by common 
consent the succession will fall to Mr. 
Clarke. He is a member of all the Ameri- 
can Rite Masonic bodies and also a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason ; mem- 



ber of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, Maccabees, Knights of Pythias, 
Citizens' Club, and secretary of the Onon- 
daga County Men's League for Woman's 
Suffrage. 

He married, June 12, 1889, M. Belle 
Herrick, a resident of Syracuse, and one 
of the descendants of the Von Steinbergh 
family of Albany and Syracuse, noted 
in the Revolutionary annals of the State. 
They are the parents of two sons, Charles 
J., Jr., and Scott H. Clarke. 



CLAPP, Edward Everett, 

Financier, Beal Estate Operator. 

The surname Clapp or Clap had its 
origin in the proper or personal name of 
Osgod Clapa, a Danish noble of the court 
of King Canute (1007- 1036). The site of 
his country place was known as Clapham, 
County Surrey. The ancient seat of the 
family in England is at Salcombe, in 
Devonshire, where important estates 
were owned for many centuries by this 
family. Coat-of-arms of this branch: 
First and fourth, three battle axes ; sec- 
ond, sable a griffin passant argent ; third, 
sable an eagle with two heads displayed 
with a border engrailed argent. A coat- 
of-arms in common use by the Clapp 
family in England and America is : Vaire 
gules and argent a quarter azure charged 
with the sun or. Crest: A pike naiant 
proper. Motto: Pais ce que dots advienne 
que pourra. 

The American family is descended 
from six immigrants, Edward and Cap- 
tain Roger, sons of William Clapp, and 
John, Nicholas, Thomas and Ambrose, 
sons of Nicholas Clapp, of Venn Ottery, 
Devonshire, England. The fathers, Wil- 
liam and Nicholas, were brothers. All 
came to Dorchester, Massachusetts, May 
30, 1630, and formed one of the most 
prominent and influential families of that 
town. William Clapp, of the ancient 



162 




(Z^^^f^^J C^iAA^%/Luc_-^ 



J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Devonshire family, lived at Salcombe 
Regis, Devonshire. Captain Roger Clapp, 
son of William Clapp, was born in Sal- 
combe Regis, Devonshire, England, April 
6, 1609, and died in Boston, February 2, 
1691, whither he had removed in 1686. 
He sailed from Plymouth on the ship 
"Mary and John" for New England, 
March 20, 1630, arriving at Nantasket, 
May 30, of the same year. He was a 
proprietor, and was admitted a freeman. 
May 4, 1634. At the first regular organi- 
zation of the militia in 1644, he was made 
lieutenant of the Dorchester company 
and later was made captain. In August, 
1665, he was appointed by the General 
Court commander of Fort Independence in 
Boston harbor, which position he held for 
twenty years, or until he was seventy- 
seven, when he retired to his residence 
in Boston, and died there in his eighty- 
second year. He was also a member of 
the Ancient and Honorable Artillery 
Company. He was one of the founders 
of the Dorchester church and a member 
for sixty years. He married, November 
6, 1633, Johanna, daughter of Thomas 
Ford, of Dorchester, England. Their son. 
Preserved Clapp, bom November 23, 1643, 
died September 20, 1720, lived in Dor- 
chester until he was about twenty years 
old, when he removed to Northampton 
and became one of the leading citizens 
there. He was captain of the militia, 
ruling elder of the church, and deputy 
to the General Court. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Major Benjamin Newberry, 
of Windsor, Connecticut, and their son. 
Captain Roger (2) Clapp, was born May 
24, 1684, and died January 9, 1762. He 
lived in Northampton, was a captain in 
the militia, and representative to the 
General Court. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Samuel Bartlett, born Octo- 
ber 27, 1687, died August 9, 1767. Their 
fifth son. Supply Clapp, was born 1721, 
in Northampton, died October 11, 1784. 



He was a soldier in the French and In- 
dian War, 1755, a sergeant in the regi- 
ment of Colonel Seth Pomeroy, and was 
taken prisoner at Lake George, in the 
capture of which fort that regiment took 
an important part. His name was on the 
sick list returned by Thomas Williams, 
surgeon, November 23, 1755. He was 
also in the expedition to Crown Point, 
Captain Elisha Hawley's company. He 
married (second) December 30, 1756, 
Sarah Lyman. Their eldest child. Supply 
(2) Clapp, was born February 22, 1767, 
and died June 20, 1800. His first wife 
was Lucretia, daughter of Deacon Mar- 
tin Clark, of Westhampton. Justice 
Clapp, eldest child of Supply (2) and 
Lucretia (Clark) Clapp, was born August 
26, 1795, and died October 15, 1849, in 
Becket, Massachusetts. He married, June 
3, 1823, Lucretia Clark, daughter of Julius 
Clark, fifth descendant from Lieutenant 
William Clark. She was born January 
26, 1802, and died May 14, 1840. 

Edward Everett Clapp, son of Justice 
and Lucretia (Clark) Clapp, was born 
January 5, 1838, in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. His mother died when he was two 
years old, and his father when he was 
eleven. At the age of fifteen he came to 
Newburg, New York, and attended the 
Newburg Academy under Professor Reed, 
living with his brother, George M. In 
April, 1861, he sailed for China with the 
purpose of seeing more of the world and 
securing a suitable business opening. He 
found his opportunity in the cotton trade 
in China, where, owing to the Civil War 
in America, cotton was in demand for 
export to supply the cotton mills of Eng- 
land and other countries. In 1875, after 
spending most of the intervening years 
abroad, he established an insurance 
agency in Albany, New York, represent- 
ing twelve fire insurance companies, one 
life, and the Fidelity & Casualty Com- 
pany of New York, and enjoyed from the 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



outset an excellent patronage. In 1881 
the president of the Fidelity & Casualty 
Company persuaded him to sell his Al- 
bany business and devote his entire atten- 
tion to the New York business of that 
company. His firm, E. E. Clapp & Com- 
pany, consists of Mr. E. E. Clapp and Mr. 
Edward Griffith, under the firm name of 
E. E. Clapp &. Company. They are man- 
agers of the disability department of the 
Fidelity & Casualty Company for New 
York, New Jersey, Massachusetts and 
Rhode Island, and for many years have 
been first in the amount of business 
written among the general agents of the 
entire world. In 191 1 this firm paid the 
Fidelity & Casualty Company over $1,- 
450,000. In the special field of disability 
and accident insurance, Mr. Clapp is rec- 
ognized as one of the foremost author- 
ities in this country. He has taken a 
leading part in the development of this 
form of insurance from its inception. In 
politics Mr. Clapp is a Republican of 
some prominence. In religion he is an 
Episcopalian. He is a thirty-second de- 
gree Mason, a member of the New York 
Chamber of Commerce, the Union League 
Club, the Down Town Association, the 
Republican Club, the Peace Society, and 
the Economic Club of New York, also 
the Essex County Country Club, the New 
England Society of Orange, and the So- 
ciety of Colonial Wars of New Jersey. 
His home is in East Orange, New Jersey. 
Mr. Clapp married, while in the United 
States, in April, 1864, Eliza Brooks Town- 
send, born June 29, 1838, daughter of 
William Townsend, a descendant of 
Henry Townsend, who in 1661 settled 
in Oyster Bay, New York ; his brother, 
John Townsend, received in 1645 from 
Grovernor Keift a patent for the town of 
Flushing, and Henry remained there with 
him until 1661. After his marriage Mr. 
Clapp returned to China, taking his wife 
with him. Child : Annie Brooks, born 



April 28, 1866, married Robert Henry 
Hillis, and has one child, Edward Clapp 
Hillis, born November 24, 1908. 



HOLMES, Daniel, 

Pioneer Iiawyer. 

Daniel Holmes, now living retired, was 
the pioneer lawyer of Brockport and for 
many years a prominent attorney of the 
Monroe county bar. He is a native of 
West Bloomfield, Ontario county, New 
York, born September 11, 1828, and is a 
son of Daniel and Susan (Hale-Stuart) 
Holmes, natives of Massachusetts, who, 
removing westward about 1812, settled 
in Ontario county, New York, where they 
cast in their lot with those who were re- 
claiming a frontier district for agricul- 
tural uses. The father served his country 
as a soldier in the War of 1812 and 
participated in the battle of Buffalo. The 
maternal ancestry of Mr. Holmes was 
represented in the Revolutionary War, 
the grandfather, Thomas Hale, being a 
drummer boy at the battle of Bunker 
Hill. 

Daniel Holmes was reared at Aliens- 
hill, New York, his father being proprie- 
tor of a hotel at that place for a number 
of years. After mastering the elementary 
branches of learning he prepared for col- 
lege at the Brockport Collegiate Institute 
and received his university training at 
Yale, which he entered in 1846. He is 
numbered among the alumni of 1848, hav- 
ing been graduated with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. Subsequently in 1853 
he received from the University of 
Rochester the degree of Master of Arts, 
and in the fall of the same year was ad- 
mitted to the bar, for which he had pre- 
viously prepared. He immediately be- 
gan the practice of his profession in 
Brockport, where he has resided continu- 
ously since, having been in practice here 
for more than a half century. He was. 
64 



I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the pioneer lawyer of the town and his 
ability enabled him always to maintain 
a place in the foremost ranks of its legal 
fraternity. In recent years, however, he 
has retired from active practice to enjoy 
well earned ease. 

In early manhood Daniel Holmes was 
united in marriage to Mary J. Hawes, of 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, of whom ex- 
tended mention is made in following 
pages. Theirs was an ideal relation, their 
mutual love and confidence increasing 
year by year as they met together the 
joys and sorrows, the adversity and pros- 
perity, the disappointments and the pleas- 
ures which checker the careers of all. 
Closer grew their friendship as time went 
by, the desire of each being always for 
the best interests and happiness of the 
other, but on October 6, 1907, they were 
separated through the death of Mrs. 
Holmes. 

Mr. Holmes still continues to reside in 
Brockport, where for many years he has 
figured prominently in community affairs. 
For thirty years he served as justice of 
the peace of Brockport, his decisions be- 
ing strictly fair and impartial, so that he 
"won golden opinions from all sorts of 
people." He was also clerk of the village 
for twenty years and in community affairs 
was actively and helpfully mterested, be- 
ing secretary and treasurer of the State 
Normal School at Brockport, for many 
years. 

Mr. Holmes is a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, belonging to Monroe 
Lodge, No. 173, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of which he is a past mas- 
ter. He also belongs to Daniel Holmes 
Chapter, No. 294, Royal Arch Masons, 
and to Monroe Commandery, No. 12, 
Knights Templar, of Rochester. He is 
senior warden of St. Luke's Church at 
Brockport. He is also a member of the 
Empire State Chapter of the Sons of the 
American Revolution and a member of 



the New York State Bar Association. He 
is one of the oldest attorneys of Monroe 
county and while his professional career 
gained him rank with the leading lawyers 
of Brockport he has also been well known 
because of his activity in connection with 
the interests bearing upon the general 
welfare of society and the upbuilding and 
improvement of the community. 



HOLMES, Mrs. Mary J., 

Favorite Author. 

With one exception the works of no 
American novelist have been so widely 
read as those of Mrs. Mary J. Holmes, 
and Brockport was proud to number her 
among its citizens, but while her name 
was a household word throughout the 
length and breadth of this land, in her 
home town she was loved for personal 
traits of character that endeared her to 
all with whom she came in contact. She 
was the wife of Daniel Holmes, whose 
sketch precedes this. In her maidenhood 
she was Mary J. Hawes, of Brookfield, 
Massachusetts, a daughter of Preston 
Hawes, a man of rare mentality, while 
from her mother she inherited a love of 
poetry and of fine arts. When but three 
years of age she began to littend school, 
studied grammar at the age of six, and 
began teaching school when but thirteen 
years old. Her first article was published 
when she was only fifteen years old. 
^^e^y early in life she manifested rare 
ability for story telling, entertaining her 
young companions with tales of her own 
invention. Her precocity has been borne 
out by the work of her later years, for 
there is perhaps no American author 
whose works are more widely read than 
those of Mrs. Mary J. Holmes. 

Over two million copies of her books 
have been published and the demand for 
all of them continues. The annual sale 
amounts to thousands of copies and no 



165 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



better proof of their merit and popu- 
larity could be given. A list of her pub- 
lished works includes the following: 
"Tempest and Sunshine," "English Or- 
phans," "Homestead on Hillside," "Lena 
Rivers," "Meadow Brook," "Dora Deane," 
"Cousin Maude," "Marian Grey," "Dark- 
ness and Daylight," "Hugh Worthing- 
ton," "Cameron Pride," "Rose Mather," 
"Ethelyn's Mistake," "Millbank," "Edna 
Browning," "West Lawn," "Edith Lyle," 
"Mildred," "Daisy Thornton," "Forrest 
House," "Chateau d'Or," "Madeline," 
"Queenie Hetherton," "Christmas Sto- 
ries," "Bessie's Fortune," "Gretchen," 
"Marguerite," "Dr. Hathern's Daugh- 
ters," "Mrs. Hallam's Companion," "Paul 
Ralston," "The Tracy Diamonds," "The 
Cromptons," "The Merivale Banks," 
"Rena's Experiment," and "The Aban- 
doned Farm." As an author she had a 
most happy career, with none of the trials 
which fall to the lot of so many writers, 
and her publishers have always been her 
friends. G. W. Carlton and later Dilling- 
ham had charge of the sale of her books. 
Her first novel, "Tempest and Sunshine," 
was published in 1854 and since that time 
her writings have been constantly on the 
market. With the possible exception of 
Mrs. Stowe, no American woman has 
reaped so large profits from her copy- 
rights, some of her books having attained 
a sale of fifty thousand copies. 

In commenting on this, the Brockport 
"Republic" said: 

Her success as an author is said by some to be 
the result of her power of description; others 
assert it was her naturalness, her clear concise 
English and the faculty to hold the reader's sym- 
pathy from the beginning to the end ; others at- 
tribute it to the fact that there was nothing in 
her works but what was pure and elevating. We 
who know her best, feel that all this has made 
her the successful writer that she was. 

Mrs. Holmes was deeply interested in 
benevolent works in Brockport and in 



those organizations which promote cul- 
ture, charity and patriotism. She was 
president of the Brockport Union Char- 
itable Society and vice-regent of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 
She was indefatigable in the founding and 
sustaining of a free reading room and did 
everything in her power to promote 
knowledge and culture among the young 
people, of whom she was particularly 
fond. She often talked to them concern- 
ing art and foreign travel, on which sub- 
jects she was well versed, she and her 
husband having made various trips 
abroad, visiting the noted art centers of 
the Old World. As a hostess she was 
charmingly gracious and hospitable, hav- 
ing the ready tact that enabled her to 
make all guests feel at home. Her be- 
nevolence was also one of her strongly 
marked characteristics. In early life she 
made it her plan to give one-tenth of her 
income to charity and this she did ever 
afterward. St. Luke's Episcopal Church, 
of which she was a member, is greatly in- 
debted to her for its prosperous condition. 
Her charitable work, however, was done 
quietly and few people knew the great 
amount of good she did. She cared not 
for public recognition of her benevolence, 
content in the consciousness of having 
aided a fellow traveler on life's journey. 
While she had thousands of admirers 
throughout the country, in her home 
town where she was best known she was 
much loved by the people among whom 
her daily life was passed. 

The summer of 1907 was spent by Mr. 
and Mrs. Holmes at Oak Bluffs, Martha's 
Vineyard, and while on the return trip 
Mrs. Holmes became ill. After improv- 
ing to a slight degree she insisted on con- 
tinuing the journey but lived for only a 
brief period after she reached Brockport, 
passing away on October 6, 1907. Per- 
haps no better testimonial of the regard 
in which she was held in Brockport can 



166 



I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



be given than by quoting from a local 
paper, which said : 

During the many years of Mrs. Holmes' resi- 
dence in Brockport her influence for good has 
been constant and unvarying, and every enter- 
prise that made for the welfare of the village 
received her most hearty sanction and support. 
With charity toward all, with malice toward 
none, she moved among us the very embodiment 
of gracious kindness. And so, in thousands of 
ways her death will prove an inestimable loss to 
this community, and to-day nearly every house- 
hold is shadowed by a personal grief. She went 
to her death wearing the white rose of a blame- 
less life. The world is the poorer for her going. 



MATHEWS, John Alexander, 

Scientist, Man of Affairi. 

John Alexander Mathews, Sc. D., Ph. 
D., is not a native son of New York but 
was born in the old college town of 
Washington, Pennsylvania, May 20, 1872. 
His father, William Johnston Mathews, 
was a prosperous merchant who died in 
1874, leaving a widow, Frances Sage 
Pelletreau Mathews, and four young chil- 
dren. Shortly afterward the family re- 
moved to Wisconsin and for seven years 
lived upon a farm. When the older chil- 
dren were ready for college preparation, 
they returned to Washington and John 
A. attended public and high school, then 
preparatory school and later entered 
Washington and Jefferson College, gradu- 
ating with honors in 1893, with the de- 
gree of B. Sc. He later received the de- 
gree of M. Sc, and in 1902 received the 
first award of the degree of Doctor of 
Science, causa honoris, ever conferred by 
his alma mater. During college days he 
worked for various newspapers and upon 
graduation thought seriously of continu- 
ing newspaper work. Armed with letters 
of introduction he assailed every news- 
paper office in Pittsburgh, but receiving 
no encouragement and no job. A week 
later he enrolled at Columbia University 



as a student of chemistry. So successful 
was he in this that he earned his M. A. 
(1895) and Ph. D. (1898) in course and 
was awarded first the University Fellow- 
ship in Chemistry (1897), and later re- 
ceived a three-year appointment to the 
"Barnard Fellowship for the Encourage- 
ment of Scientific Research." It was un- 
derstood that one year of this occupancy 
should be spent studying abroad and Dr. 
Matthews chose to work with Professor 
Sir William Roberts-Austen, K. C. B., F. 
R. S., at the Royal School of Mines, Lon- 
don. Professor Roberts-Austen was chair- 
man of the alloys research committee of 
the Institution of Mechanical Engineers 
and it was along the line of alloys research 
that Dr. Matthews studied. While in Lon- 
don in 1900-1901 Andrew Carnegie en- 
dowed certain research scholarships in the 
gift of the Iron and Steel Institute of Great 
Britain. These were open to interna- 
tional competition and the first three ap- 
pointees included an Englishman, an Aus- 
trian and an American — Dr. Mathews. 
This award was made with the under- 
standing that he should return to Colum- 
bia University and take up special studies 
in iron and steel under Professor Henry 
M. Howe. A scholarship "going and com- 
ing" was so much of a novelty that Hon. 
Seth Low, then president of Columbia 
University, referred to this unique record 
at some length in his commencement ad- 
dress in 1901 and one year later took 
pleasure in announcing that the first "An- 
drew Carnegie Gold Medal for Research" 
had been awarded Dr. Mathews as a re- 
sult of his work while holder of the Car- 
negie Scholarship. 

The work connected with this scholar- 
ship directed Dr. Mathews' attention to 
steel and in the course of his work he 
secured permission to carry on some ex- 
periments on a commercial scale at the 
Sanderson Brothers Works, Syracuse, 
New York. The acquaintances thus 
167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



formed led to the ofifer of a position with 
that company upon the completion of his 
investigations, so in September, 1902, he 
came to Syracuse as metallurgist in 
charge of research work for the Crucible 
Steel Company of America of which the 
Sanderson Works forms a part. Even 
then he had not fully decided to give up 
his wish for teaching. Several years at 
Columbia had been spent as instructor in 
chemistry and when he accepted a posi- 
tion in an industrial plant it was with the 
idea of securing some practical experi- 
ence to better fit him for a professorship in 
applied science. The fates, however, de- 
cided otherwise and in less than two 
years he had become assistant manager 
of the Sanderson Works, and in 1908 he 
went to the Halcomb Steel Company of 
Syracuse as operating manager and gen- 
eral superintendent. He later became a 
director in the corporation and general 
manager. In 1915 he succeeded Mr. H. 
S. Wilkinson as president of the com- 
pany and of the Syracuse Crucible Steel 
Company, an affiliated interest. 

Dr. Mathews is a member of many 
technical societies, domestic and foreign, 
and has been a frequent contributor to 
their journals. He was a special con- 
tributor on steel to the "Encyclopedia 
Americana," second edition, and frequent- 
ly lectures before learned societies. While 
a recognized authority upon the science 
of iron and steel he is also a successful 
executive and manager. The companies 
with which he has been associated enjoy 
enviable reputations for the highest 
grades of tool and alloy steels. 

Aside from his business Tie has given 
freely of his time and talents to civic 
affairs, philanthropy and charities. He 
has never held or sought political office 
but has had the rare distinction of ap- 
pointment by Presidents McKinley, 
Roosevelt and Taft to the Assay Com- 
mission. At present he is president of the 



Manufacturers' Association of Syracuse; 
first vice-president of the Chamber of 
Commerce, a director of the First Na- 
tional Bank and the Provident Loan As- 
sociation. He was formerly a trustee of 
the Hospital of the Good Shepherd and 
has served on several commissions to in- 
vestigate municipal problems, frequently 
as chairman. His reports upon smoke 
abatement, city pavings, municipal own- 
ership of gas and electric plants, etc., 
have attracted much more than local at- 
tention. In politics he has been a staunch 
Republican and Protectionist ; in religion 
a Presbyterian. He is a member of the 
Engineers' and Chemists' clubs of New 
York; the University, Onondaga Golf 
and County Club and the Bellevue Coun- 
try Club of Syracuse. His chief diversion 
has been the collection of old books of 
metallurgical value and his library con- 
tains many of the rarest books in exis- 
tence on this subject, as for example : 
copies of Biringuccio (1540), Agricola 
(1563) and Gilbert (1600), beside many 
others. 

Dr. Mathews is of mixed ancestry. His 
father was Scotch-Irish, the great-grand- 
parents coming to America shortly after 
the Revolution. His mother was of 
French Huguenot lineage, the first mem- 
bers of the family coming to America in 
1685, and for many generations lived at 
Southampton, Long Island. In 1903 Dr. 
Mathews married Florence Hosmer King, 
of Columbus, Ohio, and they have two 
children, Margaret King, born 1903, and 
John Alexander, Jr., born 1908. 



PERKINS, Robert Patterson, 

Mannfactnrer. 

Mr. Perkins was born in December, 
1861, in New York City, and is a descend- 
ant of one of the oldest New England 
families. Peter, being one of the twelve 
Apostles, his name was a favorite one for 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



centuries among Christians. It assumed 
the form of Pierre in France, whence it 
found its way into England and there 
took the diminutive form of Perkin. This 
gradually and naturally became Perkins 
and, in time, was bestowed upon or as- 
sumed by one as a surname. Many of 
the name were among the early settlers 
of New England, and their descendants 
have borne honorable part in the develop- 
ment of modern civilization in the West- 
ern Hemisphere. John Perkins, born 1590, 
in Newent, Gloucestershire, England, set 
sail from Bristol in the "Lyon," William 
Pierce, master, on December i, 1630, with 
his wife, Judith (Gater) Perkins, five 
children, and about a dozen other com- 
panions. They reached Nantasket, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1631, and settled in Boston. He 
was the first of that name to come to 
New England, and was one of the twelve 
who accompanied John Winthrop, Jr., to 
settle in Ipswich, where he was made 
freeman. May 18, 1631. On April 3, 1632, 
"It was ordered" by the General Court, 
"that noe pson wtsoever shall shoot att 
fowle upon Pullen Poynte or Noddles 
Ileland ; but that the sd places shalbe 
reserved for John Perkins to take fowle 
wth netts." Also, November 7, 1632, 
John and three others were "appointed 
by the Court to sett downe the bounds 
betwixte Dorchester and Rocksbury." 
He at once took a prominent stand among 
the colonists, and in 1636 and for many 
years afterward represented Ipswich in 
the General High Court. In 1645 he was 
appraiser, and signed the inventory of the 
estate of Sarah Dillingham. In 1648 and 
1652 he served on the grand jury, and in 
March, 1650, "being above the age of 
sixty he was freed from ordinary train- 
ing by the Court." He made his will 
(probate office, Salem, Massachusetts), 
March 28, 1654, and died a few months 
later, aged sixty-four. Thomas Perkins, 
second son of John and Judith (Gater) 



Perkins, born about 1616, in England, 
came to America at the age of fifteen 
years with his parents. He settled in 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, where he owned 
Sagamore Hill, an elevated tract one 
hundred and seventy feet high. After 
a few years he removed to Topsfield, 
Massachusetts, where he was deacon, 
selectman, and often on committees rep- 
resenting the town and the church. A 
farmer by occupation, he bought and sold 
much land, and died May 7, 1686. He 
married in Topsfield, about 1640, Phebe, 
daughter of Zachary and Phebe Gould, 
born in England, baptized September 20, 
1620, at Hemel Hempstead. On her mar- 
riage she received from her father a gift 
of one hundred and fifty acres of land. 
Her husband subsequently purchased the 
tract of two hundred and twenty-seven 
acres upon which he lived in the town of 
Topsfield. Timothy Perkins, son of 
Thomas and Phebe (Gould) Perkins, was 
born June 6, 1661. in Topsfield, and re- 
ceived by inheritance a portion of his 
father's farm, upon which he lived, and 
died December 18, 175 1. His first wife, 
Hannah, died November 14, 1690. She 
was the mother of Jonathan Perkins, bap- 
tized January 22, 1693, in Topsfield, died 
June 2, 1749. He married at Salem, De- 
cember II, 1722, Elizabeth Potter, born 
April 23, 1695, in Ipswich, daughter of 
John and Sarah (Kimball) Potter. They 
were the parents of David Perkins, born 
December 6, 1725, in Topsfield, died April 
30, 1803. He married, March 10, 1752, 
at Wenham, Massachusetts, Mary Fisk, 
of that town, born March 9, 1729, daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Fuller) 
Fisk, died October 19, 1777. Their son, 
David (2) Perkins, born May 11, 1756, in 
Topsfield, was baptized on the i6th of 
the same month, and died July 27, 1827. 
He married (intentions published in both 
Topsfield and Beverly, November 2, 
1783), Nabby Conant, of Beverly, born 
69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February 25, 1756, died November 25, 
1842, daughter of Lott and Abigail (Per- 
kins) Conant. Benjamin Conant Perkins, 
son of the above couple, was born Sep- 
tember II, 1803, in Topsfield, and there 
married, March 10, 1835, Lucy Peabody, 
born August 24, 1812, in Topsfield, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Mercy (Per- 
kins) Peabody. They were the parents 
of Charles Lawrence Perkins, who mar- 
ried Elizabeth West Nevins. 

Robert Patterson Perkins, son of 
Charles Lawrence and Elizabeth W. 
(Nevins) Perkins, was born in New York 
City, and was educated in a private school 
conducted by a Dr. Calerson, and at St. 
Paul's Episcopal School, Concord, New 
Hampshire, where he spent six years in 
preparation for college. In 1879 he en- 
tered Harvard University, from which he 
was graduated A. B. in 1884. Having 
determined to engage in business, he en- 
tered the general offices of the Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western Railroad Com- 
pany of New York, where he continued 
one year, after which he was with H. C. 
Thacker & Company, wool dealers, of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, until 1892, 
when he became secretary of the Higgins 
Carpet Company, continuing in that posi- 
tion some four years, after which he was 
vice-president of the company. In asso- 
ciation with others he purchased this 
business, of which he became president, 
and continued two years until 1894, when 
it became the Hartford Carpet Company, 
a corporation of which he was president. 
In 1914 this company purchased the Bige- 
low-Lowell Carpet Company, and now 
maintains factories at Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, and Clinton and Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and is one of the largest 
establishments of the kind in the United 
States. Mr. Perkins resides in New York 
City, and is a communicant of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal church. He is a mem- 
ber of the Brook Club, of which he was 



four years president, is a trustee of St. 
Paul's School of Concord, New Hamp- 
shire, and a friend of education and prog- 
ress. Politically he acts with the Re- 
publican party. 



LEE, John Mallory, 

Surgeon, Hospital Official. 

Dr. John Mallory Lee, a native of this 
State, was born in Cameron, Steuben 
county, September 29, 1852, and he is 
among the most prominent surgeons en- 
gaged in practice in New York State. He 
is descended from good old Revolution- 
ary stock. His paternal great-grandfather 
aided the colonies in their struggle for 
independence, and members of his family 
served in the late War of the Rebellion. 
Dr. Lee's grandfather was one of the 
early settlers of Steuben county. New 
York, where he carried on farming for 
many years, and there Dr. Lee's father, 
Joseph R. Lee, spent his entire life. He 
engaged in business as a contractor and 
builder throughout the years of his man- 
hood ; he also served as justice of the 
peace, and was a deacon and chorister in 
the Baptist church of South Pulteney. 
In early life he married Sarah Wagener, 
a daughter of Melchoir Wagener and a 
granddaughter of David Wagener, who 
was of German birth and a Quaker. He 
removed from Pennsylvania to Yates 
county, New York, at an early day and 
became the owner of a large tract of land 
on which Penn Yan was afterward laid 
out. He was prominently identified with 
the development and upbuilding of the 
village, to which he gave its name, taken 
from "Penn" and "Yankee." He contrib- 
uted the site for the cemetery and was 
the first white man to be buried there. 
His oldest son, Melchoir, grandfather of 
Dr. Lee, moved to Pulteney in 181 1, 
where he purchased a section of land and 
developed extensive milling interests. 



170 




u. 



£udfl^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



During her girlhood days Mrs. Lee at- 
tended the Franklin Academy at Pratts- 
burg, New York, where she was gradu- 
ated. She died in 1898, at the age of 
ninety-three years, and long survived her 
husband, who passed away in 1861. They 
were people of prominence in the com- 
munity where they made their home and 
were highly respected. 

Left fatherless at the early age of nine 
years, Dr. Lee has practically made his 
own way in the world and success is due 
to his untiring efforts. He attended the 
schools of Pulteney, Steuben county; the 
Penn Yan Academy, and was also in- 
structed by a college professor at Palo, 
Michigan, where he was employed as 
clerk in a drug store for three years. 
Under his guidance Dr. Lee was fitted to 
enter college and he graduated from the 
University of Michigan in 1878 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. He opened 
an office in Rochester in June, 1878, and 
engaged in general practice for nine 
years, but finally decided to devote his 
attention to surgery and with this end in 
view he took post-graduate work in the 
Polyclinic of New York City in 1880 and 
the Post-Graduate School of New York 
in 1890, 1891, 1892 and 1894. He is to- 
day numbered among the most eminent 
surgeons of the State and has met with 
remarkable success in his practice. He as- 
sisted in founding the Rochester Homoeo- 
pathic Hospital and its Training School 
for Nurses and was vice-president of the 
medical and surgical stafif of the hospital 
during the first ten years of its existence. 
He has also been surgeon, surgeon-in- 
chief and consulting surgeon at different 
times. In 1897 he established a private 
hospital at 179 Lake avenue and from the 
start success has attended his efforts in 
this direction. 

Dr. Lee stands deservedly high in the 
estimation of his fellow practitioners and 
he has been called upon to serve in many 



positions of honor and trust, such as pres- 
ident of the Homoeopathic Medical Soci- 
eties of Monroe County, of Western New 
York and of the New York State Society. 
He is a member of the Alpha Sigma fra- 
ternity, Ann Arbor Chapter; president of 
the Alumni Association of the Homoeo- 
pathic Department of the University of 
Michigan ; president of Rochester District 
Alumni Association, University of Michi- 
gan ; an honorary member of the Homoeo- 
pathic Medical Society of the State of 
Michigan ; and a member of the American 
Institute of Homoeopathy. He was also 
chairman of the legislative committee ap- 
pointed by the State Homoeopathic Medi- 
cal Society of New York, which commit- 
tee secured the appropriation for the es- 
tablishment of the Gowanda State Hos- 
pital for the Insane, an institution which 
has accommodations for about fourteen 
hundred patients. Dr. Lee has been pres- 
ident of the New York State Board of 
Homoeopathic Medical Examiners and 
the joint board composed of the three 
recognized schools of medicine. He is an 
associate alumnus of the New York 
Homoeopathic Medical College and be- 
longs to the Medical-Chirurgical Society 
of Central New York, the Southern Tier 
Medical Society, the Surgical and Gyne- 
cological Association of the American In- 
stitute of Homoeopathy, the National So- 
ciety of Electrotherapeutists, the Roches- 
ter Medical Association ; consulting sur- 
geon to the Gowanda State Hospital, the 
Rochester Hahnemann Hospital and cen- 
sor of the Cleveland Homoeopathic Medi- 
cal College. He is a director of several 
business corporations of Rochester ; direc- 
tor of the Rochester Public Health Asso- 
ciation ; director of the Children's Hos- 
pital and the State Industrial School at 
Industry, New York. For several years 
Dr. Lee was associate editor of the "Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons Investigator" and 
was one of the corps of writers of the 



[71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Homoeopathic Text-Book of Surgery." 
His original research and investigation 
have led to the preparation of many valu- 
able papers and addresses which may be 
found in the transactions of these soci- 
eties and the magazines of his school. 

Dr. Lee married (first) September 28, 
1876, Idella Ives, a daughter of Dr. 
Charles E. Ives, of Savannah, Wayne 
county, New York. She died October 11, 
1897, leaving two children: Maud, the 
wife of A. Dix Bissell, Esq., of Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, and Carrie Eliza- 
beth. On June 20, 1899, Dr. Lee married 
(second) Carrie M. Thomson, a daughter 
of the late John Church Thomson, of Bat- 
tle Creek, Michigan. 

In religious faith Dr. Lee is a Baptist; 
he belongs to the Baptist Social Union, 
the Lake Avenue Baptist Church, and is 
chairman of its board of trustees. In his 
fraternal relations he is connected with 
Corinthian Temple Lodge, No. 805, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Hamilton Chap- 
ter, No. 62, Royal Arch Masons ; Doric 
Council, No. 19, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; and Monroe Commandery. He has 
attained the thirty-second degree in Scot- 
tish Rite Masonry and is second lieuten- 
ant commander of Rochester Consistory, 
and past president of the Rochester Ma- 
sonic Temple Association. He is also a 
mem,ber of Damascus Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine; Lalla Rookh Grotto, No. 113, M. 
O. V. P. E. R.; and the Rochester Ma- 
sonic Club. He belongs to the Genesee 
Valley Club, the Oak Hill Country Club, 
the Rochester Medical Club, and the 
Rochester Chamber of Commerce, and by 
his ballot supports the men and measures 
of the Republican party. Although prom- 
inent socially his time and attention are 
almost wholly devoted to his professional 
duties and he has that love for hir, worx 
which has been rewarded by success, so 
that he ranks with the ableit representa 



tives of the medical fraternity in the State 
of New York. 



GARVAN, Francis Patrick, 

tawyer, Public Official. 

Mr. Garvan is the child of Patrick and 
Mary (Carroll) Garvan, natives of Ire- 
land, who came to this country and set- 
tled at East Hartford, Connecticut. Pat- 
rick Garvan became an active and useful 
citizen, represented his district in the 
State Senate, and was one of the best 
known paper manufacturers of the State. 
He died in London in 1912. 

Francis P. Garvan was born June 13, 
1875, in East Hartford, and was educated 
in the public schools, including the high 
school of Hartford, Connecticut. He en- 
tered Yale University, from which he was 
graduated Bachelor of Arts in 1897, and 
subsequently, for a time, attended the 
Catholic University at Washington, D. 
C. He took the lead in his classes and 
was very active in college fraternities. 
From the New York Law School he re- 
ceived the degree of Bachelor of Laws, 
and was admitted to the bar of New York 
in 1899. For some time he was a clerk 
in the law ofiBce of James, Schell & Elkus, 
and in 1901 was appointed assistant dis- 
trict attorney of New York county under 
District Attorney Jerome, continuing to 
serve under that noted official for a period 
of eight years. Mr. Garvan was in full 
charge of the homicide cases and was 
practically the chief of District Attorney 
Jerome's staff. He was a very active 
figure in the prosecution of many world- 
famous cases, including the murder trial 
of Patrick, and of Molineaux and Harry 
K. Thaw. He also prosecuted railroad 
fraud cases and a large number of in- 
dividuals for false claims against insur- 
ance companies. In this trying position 
Mr. Garvan developed the keenest of abil- 
ities, and assisted greatly in making the 
72 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



great reputation which surrounded Mr. 
Jerome as State's attorney. No man in 
that position ever achieved a finer record 
than Mr. Garvan. He is a member of 
many organizations and clubs, among the 
latter including the Manhattan, Piping 
Rock Racquet and Tennis, Rockaway 
Hunt, University, Yale Club, and the 
Delta Psi college fraternity. In addition to 
a large general law practice, he is inter- 
ested in various enterprises, and is a direc- 
tor of P. F. Collier & Sons, one of the 
largest publishers in the country. On 
leaving the district attorney's ofifice Mr. 
Garvan became a member of the law firm 
of Osborne, Lamb & Garvan. Here he 
finds field for the exercise of his unusual 
talents, and is making rapid strides 
toward the position of a leader at the New 
York bar. He has been retained in much 
important litigation, and has ever acquit- 
ted himself with credit and success. He 
is a faithful member of the Roman Cath- 
olic church, and in political action has 
ever been an unswerving Democrat, hav- 
ing faith in the principles which have 
made his party an active factor in the 
direction of afifairs since the time of 
Thomas Jefferson. 

He married, June 9, 1910, in Albany, 
Mabel Brady, daughter of the late An- 
thony N. Brady, one of the most success- 
ful business men of New York, and a 
prominent politician. Mr. Brady was 
born August 22, 1843, in Lille, France, 
and came with his parents to the United 
States in childhood. His wife, Marcia 
Ann (Myers) Brady, was born July 10, 
1849, in Bennington, Vermont. Mr. Gar- 
van's children are : Patricia, Francis Pat- 
rick, Jr., and Flora Brady. 



GERE, James Brewster, 

Basiness Man. 

Identified with the business interests 
of Syracuse since 1896, I\Ir. Gere is well 



known in commercial circles as the capa- 
ble president of the Gere Coal Company 
and of the Onondaga Vitrified Brick Com- 
pany. He is a son of Colonel James Mon- 
roe Gere, one of the best known Civil 
War veterans of Onondaga county, who- 
answered final roll call, July 12, 1908, at 
the age of eighty-four years. 

The family name is found spelled both 
Geer and Gere, the earliest known ances- 
tor of the family, Walter Geere, of Heavi- 
tree, Devonshire, England, living in the 
fifteenth century. He married, about 
1450, Alice Somaster, of Southams, Dev- 
onshire, England, and from them all Dev- 
onshire Geers sprang. The origin of the 
name is said to have been from the occu- 
pation of the man who first bore it, John 
of the Gear. He was in the service of a 
chieftain and was chosen to superintend 
the war equipment of the chieftain's men. 
All such equipment was then designated 
as "gear," and when surnames came into 
vogue, about the middle of the eleventh 
century, "John, of the Gear," became John 
Gear. The immediate ancestor of J. Brew- 
ster Gere, of Syracuse, was Jonathan 
Geer, of Heavitree, Devonshire, of whom 
little is known further than that he left 
considerable property and two sons, 
George and Thomas, in charge of his 
brother. George Geer was born about 
1621, his brother Thomas in 1623. Their 
uncle gave them no educational advan- 
tages and began at once to plan getting 
rid of them in order to secure their patri- 
mony, left in his care. He finally got the 
boys upon a ship about to sail for Am 
ica by requesting them to deliver a letter 
to the captain for him. The letter asked 
that the captain take the boys to Amer- 
ica, and before they discovered the trick 
they were at sea. This was in 1635, and 
after the arrival of the ship at Boston the 
boys went ashore, without money, all 
trace of them being lost for many years. 
George is on record as one of the early 
73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



settlers of New London, Connecticut, in 
1651 ; Thomas was living in Enfield in 
1682. 

George Geer, the ancestor of this 
branch, married Sarah AUyn in February, 
1658, and lived at Groton until about 
1720, then moved to Preston, where he 
made his home with a daughter, Mar- 
garet, wife of Thomas Gates, until his 
death in 1726, aged one hundred and five 
years, having been totally blind for sev- 
eral years. The line of descent was 
through George ; his son, Robert ; his son, 
Ebenezer; his son, David; his son, Wil- 
liam Stanton; his son, Colonel James 
Monroe; his son, J. Brewster Gere, of 
Syracuse. 

William Stanton Gere, born in Octo- 
ber, 1785, died September 15, 1852. He 
married, February 14, 1816, Louisa Brew- 
ster. Their son. Colonel James Monroe 
Gere, was born November 15, 1824, died 
in Camillus, July 12, 1908, the last sur- 
vivor of the seven children of William 
Stanton Gere. He died in the house in 
which he was born eighty-two years be- 
fore, a house tjiat had been his residence 
and home during nearly his entire life. 
His military career was attended by many 
dangers and thrilling experiences. He 
enlisted in 1862 and was at once commis- 
sioned captain of Company F, One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-second Regiment Vol- 
unteer Infantry, a company recruited in 
Camillus. He fought with the Army of 
the Potomac from Antietam to the Wil- 
derness, rising in rank to lieutenant-colo- 
nel, and for some time prior to his death 
was the highest officer in rank among the 
survivors of his regiment. During the 
Federal occupancy of Danville, Virginia, 
Captain Gere was assistant provost mar- 
shal and for several weeks commanded 
the forces holding that city. At the battle 
of the Wilderness he ranked as captain 
and was taken prisoner by the enemy. He 
was confined in Confederate prisons at 



Macon, Savannah, Charleston and Colum- 
bia, twice escaped and was recaptured, 
but a third attempt was successful after 
a six months' imprisonment. He made 
his escape from Columbia prison in the 
night, and after eight weeks of hunger, 
suffering and privation joined a detach- 
ment of troopers from Colonel Kirk's 
command, who were raiding the moun- 
tains of Tennessee. He was aided in his 
get-away by a loyal Union man, a North 
Carolina mountaineer, who fed, clothed 
and cared for him as best he could, and 
instructed him as to the proper course to 
pursue. Colonel Gere never forgot thia 
man and the only break in his Camiil 
residence was during the ten years he 
spent in North Carolina engaged in min- 
ing mica with the man as partner who 
had befriended him in his hour of need. 
Colonel Kirk, after Captain Gere reported 
to him, aided him to get to Washington, 
and soon afterward he was sent back to 
his regiment, arriving in time to accom- 
pany it on the Petersburg campaign. At 
the storming of Lee's lines at Petersburg 
the One Hundred and Twenty-second 
New York took part, Lieutenant-Colonel 
Gere leading his men. 

Colonel Gere married, October 8, 1856, 
Helen Hopkins, daughter of Anson Hop- 
kins, of Amboy, Onondaga county. New 
York. She was born July 7, 1832, died 
February 26, 1913, at Gere Locks, a mile 
west of Solvay, aged eighty years. At 
the time of her death she was the last 
survivor of the first members of the Am- 
boy Presbyterian Church, one of the old- 
est churches in the county. She was born 
in Amboy and never resided outside of 
Onondaga county. After the death of 
Colonel Gere in 1908 she made her home 
at the old Gere homestead. 

Colonel Gere for thirty-five years was 
elder of Amboy Presbyterian Church, and 
the year pripr to his death represented 
that church in Syracuse Presbytery. For 



cz5,,S,>^^_^5r^^ ^"^A— 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



many years he was engineer of the town 
of Solvay, and for many years was con- 
nected with the manufacture of Solar Salt 
in Syracuse. Children of Colonel James 
M. and Helen (Hopkins) Gere: Helen 
Eliza, born June lo, 1858, graduated from 
Syracuse University, Bachelor of Philos- 
ophy, class of 1881, now a teacher of 
science ; William Anson, born September 
3, i860, married Caroline Munro, June 4, 
1890; James Brewster, of further men- 
tion; Mary Emmeline, born October 2, 
1870, died March 27, 1872. 

James Brewster Gere was born in Ca- 
millus. New York, August 14, 1867. He 
obtained his early education in the schools 
of that town, and then entered Syracuse 
High School, continuing there until 1883, 
when he left school to become his father's 
farm assistant. In 1896 he engaged in 
the retail coal business in Syracuse, and 
in 1899 added a wholesale department. 
In 1907 he incorporated his business 
under the title of the Gere Coal Company, 
of which he is president. He is also presi- 
dent of the Onondaga Vitrified Brick 
Company, both companies leaders in their 
respective lines. Mr. Gere is an active 
member of the Syracuse Chamber of 
Commerce, is a trustee of Geddes Congre- 
gational Church, is a member of the Ma- 
sonic order, of the Citizens' Club, and is 
an ardent Republican. 

He married, November i, 1894, Harriet, 
daughter of Henry S. Munro, of Belle 
Isle, New York. Children: Wendell, 
born September 28, 1897 ; James Brew- 
ster (2), born June 17, 1900; Caroline, 
born May 25, 1902; Donald Kerr, born 
December 25, 1903. 



CHAPMAN, Levi Snell, 

I<a\ryer, Man of Affairs, Legiilator. 

Levi Snell Chapman was born at Fay- 
etteville, Onondaga county. New York, on 
October 15, 1865. His father was Nathan 



Randall Chapman, who after practicing 
law in that village for fifty-seven years, 
died March 21, 1897, at the age of eighty- 
eight years. As an evidence of the esteem 
in which he was held, the Methodist, 
Presbyterian, Episcopal and Baptist 
churches united for a union memorial 
service on the Sunday evening following 
his funeral. His mother was Martha 
Maria (Tibbits) Chapman, who was born 
in Syracuse on April i, 1829, and who 
married Nathan R. Chapman on Decem- 
ber 27, 1847. She was a daughter of Otis 
and Rebecca Tibbits, who were early set- 
tlers in Syracuse, where she died on 
March 31, 1909, at the age of eighty years, 
leaving her surviving three children, Sara 
Fidelia Chapman, now living in Syracuse ; 
Ella Chapman Dike, wife of Rev. Otis A. 
Dike, of Lake Placid, New York ; and 
Levi Snell Chapman, the two latter being 
twins. Thomas D. Chapman, a half- 
brother and a veteran of the Civil War, 
died at Fayetteville in 1901. 

Mr. Chapman can trace his ancestry on 
his father's side in an unbroken line al- 
most to the beginning of American his- 
tory. His father was born at Stonington, 
Connecticut, April 21, 1809, and with his 
father, Nathan Chapman, and his mother, 
Hannah (Randall) Chapman, and an 
uncle, Smith Chapman, who later re- 
moved to Rochester, New York, came to 
Lenox, Madison county. New York, about 
1818, long before the advent of railroads 
and when Central New York was almost 
a wilderness. There he lived for years in 
a log cabin and helped his father clear the 
virgin soil of the county of which his 
brother, Sanford Palmer Chapman, after- 
wards became sheriff, and his cousin, 
Benjamin Franklin Chapman, became 
county judge. 

After graduating from Cortland Acad- 
emy at Homer. New York, in 1831, the 
elder Chapman entered Hamilton College, 
at Clinton, New York, from which he was 
175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



graduated with high rank in 1835. He 
survived every other member of his class 
and lived to be the ninth oldest alumnus 
of his alma mater. Later he taught Greek, 
Latin and mathematics in the Manlius 
Academy, and in the year 1836, became 
a teacher in the Fayetteville Academy, of 
which he afterwards became principal, 
which position he held for two and one- 
half years. During his administration the 
Fayetteville Academy, which was a pri- 
vate preparatory school, had an attend- 
ance of nearly three hundred students, as 
the old catalogues show, coming from all 
parts of Central New York. While teach- 
ing, the elder Chapman studied law in the 
offices of Nicholas P. Randall, a relative 
on his mother's side, of Manlius, and 
Judge Watson, at Fayetteville, and was 
admitted to the bar in 1840. 

Mr. Chapman's father, grandfather and 
great-grandfather all bore the Christian 
name of Nathan. Both his great-grand- 
fathers were captains in the War of the 
Revolution, one of whom, Peleg Randall, 
his grandmother's father, as Bachus' 
"History of the Baptists," volume 3, page 
259, informs us was a lieutenant, and at 
the surrender of Burgoyne, the captain 
having been killed, took command of the 
company. This same Peleg Randall was 
for thirty years, as Benedict's "History of 
the Baptists," page 475, tells us, pastor of 
the First Baptist Church of North Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, one of the earliest 
Baptist churches in New England. The 
first Nathan Chapman was a deacon in 
this church, and his son, Nathan, Jr., mar- 
ried the daughter of this pastor, Hannah 
Randall, May 29, 1808. Her mother was 
Hannah Palmer, who married Rev. Peleg 
Randall, in 1772, thus connecting the 
Chapman family with the ancient Ran- 
dall and Palmer families, the first of 
which traces its ancestry back to John 
Randall, who died at Westerly, Rhode 
Island, in 1684, and the second of which, 



by an equally continuous genealogical 
record, traces its ancestry back to Walter 
Palmer, who lived in Charlestown, Mas- 
sachusetts, as far back as 1629. 

This particular Chapman family begins 
with John Chapman, who was born in 
England, near London, in or about the 
year 1694, and came to America in 1712, 
having been impressed on a British man- 
of-war, from which he escaped in Boston, 
and fled back into the wilderness, where 
he stayed with the Pequot Indians until 
he could make his way to Westerly, 
Rhode Island, where in or about the year 
1714 he married Sarah Brown. They had 
five children, viz., John Chapman, who 
settled at Westerly, Rhode Island; Wil- 
liam Chapman, who settled at North Bol- 
ton, Connecticut ; Andrew Chapman, born 
in the year 1722, who settled at Stoning- 
ton, Connecticut ; Thomas Chapman, who 
settled at North Bolton, Connecticut ; and 
Sumner Chapman, who settled at West- 
erly, Rhode Island. Andrew, the third of 
these five sons, was the great-great-grand- 
father of Levi S. Chapman, and died at 
North Stonington, Connecticut, April 15, 
1794, at the age of seventy-six years. His 
wife, Hannah Smith Chapman, to whom 
he was married in 1744, died June 31, 
1783, at the age of fifty-six years. They 
had seven children, of whom Nathan 
Chapman was the fourth, born October 
7, 1760, and who was married July 7, 1785, 
to Nabby Peabody, who was born Sep- 
tember 20, 1763. The first Nathan died 
at North Stonington, Connecticut, Febru- 
ary 14, 1824, and his widow died at Fay- 
etteville, New York, May 12, 1847. They 
had seven children of whom the oldest 
was Nathan, Jr., Levi S. Chapman's 
grandfather, who was born at Stonington, 
Connecticut, March 17, 1786, and died at 
Auburn, New York, June 27, 1871, and is 
buried at Fayetteville, New York. 

Many representatives of the Chapman 
fam.ily are to be found in Connecticut at 



176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the present day, and at Stonington we 
find the "Chapman burying ground" with 
the graves of the earlier members of the 
family dating back almost as far as 1600. 

The early education of Levi S. Chap- 
man was acquired in the Fayetteville 
Union School, from which he was gradu- 
ated as valedictorian in the class of 1884, 
after which he was then engaged in col- 
lege preparatory work for one year in 
Whitestown Seminary, from which he 
also was graduated in 1885. Entering 
Syracuse University in the fall of 1885, 
he was graduated in the class of 1889, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, hav- 
ing been one of the commencement day 
speakers. He then commenced the study 
of law with his father at Fayetteville, but 
in January, 1891, having accepted a posi- 
tion as clerk in the Board of United States 
General Appraisers in New York City, 
he continued his studies with the law firm 
of Stanley, Clark & Smith. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Utica, New York, in 
1891, and having resigned his clerkship in 
New York on January i, 1892, he returned 
to Syracuse, where he became associated 
in offices with James E. Newell, with 
whom, in 1893, he formed a partnership 
under the name of Newell & Chapman. 
Harry E. Newell, a brother of James E. 
Newell, was admitted to partnership in 
1899, and the firm has since continued 
under the name of Newell, Chapman & 
Newell, with whom also since 1901 Har- 
ley J. Crane has been associated. 

For several years James E. Newell was 
corporation counsel of Syracuse, during 
which time the firm transacted all of the 
legal business for the city. Mr. Chap- 
man's particular field has been corpora- 
tion work, and he has organized and pro- 
moted many corporations. Principal 
among these at the present time are the 
City Bank of Syracuse, promoted by him 
in 1909, and now having assets of over 

N Y-Vol IV-12 I 



$5,000,000, of which he is a director and 
attorney ; Thomas Millen Company, man- 
ufacturers of Portland Cement at James- 
ville, New York, which he reorganized in 
1913, and of which he is secretary and 
treasurer; Watson Wagon Company, 
manufacturers of dumping wagons and 
motor tractors at Canastota, New York, 
of which he is vice-president ; Sherwood 
Metal Working Company, of Detroit, 
Michigan, and Syracuse, manufacturers 
of metal-frame window screens, etc., of 
which he is vice-president ; Syracuse Fau- 
cet and Valve Company, manufacturers 
of faucets and valves, of which he is 
treasurer ; United States Steel Furniture 
Company, manufacturers of steel office 
furniture, of which he is secretary, and 
Morningside Cemetery Association, which 
dedicated in 1899, one hundred and four- 
teen acres of land in Syracuse for ceme- 
tery purposes, of which corporation he is 
treasurer. In the year 1905, Mr. Chap- 
man represented the Third Assembly Dis- 
trict of Onondaga in the State Legisla- 
ture. 

Since coming to Syracuse he has been 
a member of the Central Baptist Church, 
consolidated in 1910 with the First Bap- 
tist Church, and was largely instrumental 
in bringing about this consolidation, 
which united two strong down-town 
churches, and made possible the building 
of the new First Baptist Church, during 
the construction of which he was chair- 
man of the building committee. This 
church cost, including site, over $550,- 
000 and is unique, in that it operates a 
hotel and restaurant in connection with 
its church building. Mr. Chapman has 
been one of the deacons of this church 
for over twenty years, and for several 
years has been the teacher of the First 
Baraca Class, an organization of men in 
the Sunday school, having a membership 
at present of about three hundred and 



n 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fifty, with an average Sunday attendance 
of about two hundred. This is the first 
class organized by M. A. Hudson in the 
Baraca-Philathea Union, now having a 
membership of over 1,000,000 men and 
300,000 women. 

Mr. Chapman has also been interested 
for many years in the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association vvork, having been presi- 
dent of the Syracuse Association for nine 
years prior to 1896, when the new build- 
ing on Montgomery street was completed. 
During these nine years, the association ' 
secured pledges for $55,000 to wipe out an 
indebtedness in that amount on its old 
building on South Warren street, and 
raised more than $300,000 for its new 
building on Montgomery street. Mr. 
Chapman secured from Benjamin Tousey 
the gift of the land on which this new 
building was erected and an additional 
gift to make Mr. Tousey's subscription 
$114,000 which was conditioned on the 
balance of the required amount being 
raised, and appointed the special com- 
mittee consisting of Mr. Frederick R. 
Hazard, Mr. Lyman C. Smith and Mr. 
W. L. Smith, who with these called to 
their assistance had charge of the con- 
struction of the building and of securing 
the other subscriptions. Since 1896 he 
has been a member of the board of trus- 
tees. 

Mr. Chapman is a member of the Uni- 
versity Club, the Phi Beta Kappa honor- 
ary fraternity, the Masonic Club, the 
Delta Upsilon Society, of the board of 
trustees of which corporation he has been 
president for fifteen years or more, and 
a member of the various local bodies of 
the Masonic fraternity, including the 
Shrine. He is also a trustee of Roches- 
ter Theological Seminary and a trustee 
of Syracuse University. 

On November 30, 1892, Mr. Chapman 
married Lucia Louise Pattengill, daugh- 



ter of Rev. Charles N. Pattengill, retired, 
of Whitesboro, New York, who was for- 
merly pastor of the Baptist church at 
Fayetteville and for twenty-three years 
he has resided on Westcott street, Syra- 
cuse, for twenty years at No. 321 West- 
cott street, his present home. They have 
three children: Ella Louise, a senior in 
Vassar College ; Charles Randall, a senior 
in Mercersburg Academy; and Lucia 
Maria, ten years old. 



NORTHRUP, Ansel Judd, 

Iiawyer, Jurist, Author. 

Ansel Judd Northrup, one of the lead- 
ing citizens of Syracuse, is a lifelong resi- 
dent of Central New York, having been 
born in Smithfield, Madison county, June 
30, 1833. His father was a pioneer set- 
tler of that region, and his ancestors were 
among the sturdy and enterprising na- 
tives of old England, who set out and met 
hardships and difficulties to settle New 
England. The name is derived from an 
old Saxon word, "thrope" (or "thorp''), a 
village, and appears as early as 1294 in 
England as del Northrope (of the north 
village). It is frequently found in that 
form in the records of York county, and 
under various spellings in other sections 
of England and in Massachusetts. It has 
figured in the various Colonial wars, the 
War of the Revolution, and the Civil War. 
Under the various forms it appears forty- 
nine times in the roll of Revolutionary 
soldiers from Massachusetts alone. It 
has figured in the learned professions at 
the head of educational institutions, on 
the bench, and in high ecclesiastical posi- 
tions. Many descendants now use the 
form Northrop. 

Joseph Northrup, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the family in America, is 
supposed to have come from Yorkshire, 
England, and was presumably a member 



178 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Eaton and Davenport's company, which 
left England on the "Hector and Martha," 
landing in Boston, July 26, 1637. He was 
among the settlers at Milford, Connecti- 
cut, where he joined the church in 1642, 
and was admitted as a citizen of the 
colony, having come of good family with 
good estate. He died in 1669, at Milford. 
His wife Mary was a daughter of Francis 
Norton, who went to Milford from Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut. Joseph (2), eldest 
son of Joseph (i) and Mary (Norton) 
Northrup, was born July 17, 1649, i" Mil- 
ford, where he married Miriam Blakeman, 
daughter of James and Miriam (Wheeler) 
Blakeman, granddaughter of Rev. Aaron 
Blakeman, born 1598, in Stratford, Eng- 
land. Moses, third son of Joseph (2) and 
Miriam (Blakeman) Northrup, baptized 
March 31, 1695, in Milford, was among 
the purchasers and original settlers of 
Ridgefield, Connecticut, as early as 1716. 
In 1734 he removed to Dutchess county, 
New York, where he died about 1747. 
He married Abigail Cornwall, and they 
were the parents of Amos Northrup, born 
1730, at Ridgefield, died February 9, 1810, 
in Tyringham, Berkshire county, Massa- 
chusetts, where he settled as early as 
1771. He was ensign in the Tyringham 
company in the Revolutionary army. He 
first enlisted as a private September 22, 
1777, again enlisted October 18, 1779, 
serving in a company from Claverack, 
Columbia county. New York. He mar- 
ried a widow, Hannah, born Calkins, 
1737, died April 22, 1805. Amos (2), their 
eldest son, was born April 19, 1768, in 
Dutchess county, and died October 12, 
1835, i^ Peterboro, Madison county. New 
York. He visited that section in 1804, 
and took up lands in the "milestrip" in 
the town of Smithfield, where he built a 
log house. Thither he brought his fam- 
ily in February, 1805. He married. March 
10, 1796, Elizabeth, daughter of Tristram 



Stedman, born December 18, 1773, died 
November 15, 1852, and both are buried 
at Peterboro. 

Rensselaer Northrup, their second son, 
was born August 10, 1804, in Tyringham, 
and was six months of age when the fam- 
ily removed to Madison county. He died 
August 8, 1874, in the village of Canas- 
tota, and was buried in Quality Hill 
Cemetery, on the seventieth anniversary 
of his birth. An active, upright farmer, 
an earnest advocate of temperance, and a 
"Gerrit Smith Abolitionist," his active 
life was passed in the town of Smithfield. 
He refused to accept the office of assessor 
after his election because he was expected 
to assess property at a low rate after tak- 
ing an oath to assess at full value. His 
house was a station on "the underground 
railroad," where he often sheltered slaves 
on their way to Canada and freedom. For 
many years he was a member and officer 
of the Presbyterian church. He married, 
October 3, 1832, at Watervale, Onondaga 
county. New York, Clarissa Judd, born 
May 9, 1810, died August 17, 1862, at 
Lenox, Madison county. New York. She 
was a descendant of Thomas Judd, who 
came from England in 1624, and settled at 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he was 
admitted a freeman May 25, 1636. In 
that year he removed to Hartford, Con- 
necticut. He was among the pioneers of 
Farmington, Connecticut, and one of the 
first proprietors, a charter member of the 
Farmington Church, and its second dea- 
con. His descendant, Ansel Judd, mar- 
ried Electa Jones, and lived in the town 
of Pompey, Onondaga county. 

Ansel Judd Northrup, son of Rensse- 
laer and Clarissa (Judd) Northrup, passed 
his early life on the paternal farm, in 
whose labors he participated in the inter- 
vals of attendance at school. He taught 
four winter terms of school, prepared for 
college at Peterboro Academy and Ober- 
79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lin College, Ohio, and was graduated from 
Hamilton College at Clinton, New York, 
in 1858, as salutatorian of his class with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. After pur- 
suing the study of law at the Columbia 
Law School at New York, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in Norwich, New York, 
May 12, 1859, and began the practice of 
his profession at Syracuse, in the same 
year. In 1861 he received the degree of 
Master of Arts from his ainia mater, and 
in 1895 that of Doctor of Laws. He was 
appointed a United States court commis- 
sioner, March 22, 1870, and soon after 
United States examiner in equity, both of 
which positions he still holds. 

He was elected a trustee of the Syra- 
cuse Savings Bank, March 20, 1877, and 
still fills that position, being also a trus- 
tee of Oakwood Cemetery at Syracuse. 
He was one of the founders and long a 
director of the University Club of Syra- 
cuse; was for ten years president of the 
Onondaga Historical Society, and has 
long been an elder of the First Presby- 
terian Church of Syracuse. During and 
after the Civil War he was vice-presi- 
dent and later president of the Loyal 
League (in Syracuse) and served as lay 
commissioner to the General Assembly 
of the Presbyterian Church at Saratoga, 
in 1890, at Buffalo, in 1904, and at Atlan- 
tic City, in 1910. He was elected in No- 
vember, 1882, as county judge of Onon- 
daga county, and reelected in 1888, serv- 
ing twelve years. In January, 1895, he 
resumed the practice of law at Syracuse 
in association with his son, Elliott Judd 
Northrup. In February of that year he 
was appointed by Governor Morton one 
of three commissioners of statutory re- 
vision of the State, and in June following 
one of three commissioners to revise the 
code of civil procedure, and served six 
years in each of these positions. Judge 
Northrup is much interested in historical 



and genealogical research ; is a member 
of the Genealogical Society of Central 
New York, and published in 1908 the 
Northrup Genealogy. He is a member 
of the Alpha Delta Phi and the Phi Beta 
Kappa, and of the Citizens, University 
and Fortnightly clubs. Besides the work 
above mentioned, he is the author of sev- 
eral books, such as "Camps and Tramps 
in the Adirondacks and Grayling Fishing 
in Northern Michigan" (1880-igoi) ; 
"Sconset Cottage Life" (1881-1901) ; 
"Slavery in New York" (1900) ; "The 
Powers and Duties of Elders in the Pres- 
byterian Church" (1908), also numerous 
addresses. As secretary he edited the 
"History of the Cl^ss of 1858," Hamilton 
College, 1898; edited the history of the 
"Seventy-fifth Anniversary First Presby- 
terian Church," Syracuse, 1899. Politi- 
cally Judge Northrup is affiliated with 
the Republican party and advocates its 
principles. He is still (1915) active in his 
profession of the law. 

He married, November 24, 1863, Eliza 
Sophia, eldest daughter of Thomas Brock- 
way and Ursula Ann (Elliott) Fitch, of 
Syracuse, born December 15, 1842, and 
died March 15, 1914. Children: i. Ed- 
win Fitch, graduate of Amherst College 
and Johns Hopkins University, Doctor of 
Philosophy, formerly a manufacturer of 
instruments at Philadelphia, member of 
the Leeds & Northrup Company, and 
since 1910 a professor of physics in 
Princeton University. He is an inventor, 
and frequent contributor to magazines on 
scientific and engineering subjects, and 
has written many scientific addresses. 2. 
Elliott Judd, graduate of Amherst Col- 
lege and Cornell University Law Depart- 
ment, professor of law in the University 
of Illinois for some time, and since 1910 
in Tulane University, New Orleans, 
Louisiana. 3. Theodore Dwight, died in 
his twelfth year. 4. Ursula, married Louis 



180 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Cleveland Jones, of Solvay, New York, 
chief chemist of the Semet Solvay Process 
Company, Syracuse, and residing in Syra- 
cuse. 5. Edith, graduated from Syracuse 
University, 1908, with the degree of Bach- 
elor of Philosophy, and a teacher of Eng- 
lish in the Goodyear Burlingame Private 
School in Syracuse!? 

MORRIS, Robert Clark. 

Iiawyer, I.aw Instructor. 

Robert Clark Morris is descended from 
a very old Connecticut family, which was 
first located at New Haven, and has in- 
herited those sterling qualities which dis- 
tinguished the pioneers of that State. The 
first in this country was Thomas Morris, 
a native of England, who was one of the 
sfgners of the Plantation Covenant at 
New Haven, in 1639. His eldest son, 
Eleazer Morris, was born at New Haven, 
and settled in the adjoining town of East 
Haven, Connecticut, where he resided 
with his wife Anna. Their second son, 
James Morris, was born about 1690, in 
East Haven, and married, February 24, 
1715, Abigail Ross. Their second son, 
James Morris, born 1723, in East Haven, 
settled in Litchfield, Connecticut, where 
he was a landowner at Litchfield South 
Farms, now the town of Morris, a deacon 
of the church, and a prominent citizen. 
He died June 6, 1789, in Litchfield. He 
married, April 8, 1751, Phebe, widow of 
Timothy Barnes, born 1712-13, died April 
15' 1793- Both are buried in the grave- 
yard at Morris. 

Their eldest child was James Morris, 
born January 8, 1752, was graduated from 
Yale in 1775, and began the study of the- 
ology with Rev. Dr. Joseph Bellamy. In 
May, 1776, while teaching at Litchfield, 
he entered the patriot army as an ensign 
in Colonel Fisher Gay's Connecticut regi- 
ment. He served in the campaign around 
New York, and in January, 1777, was ap- 



pointed first lieutenant in Colonel Philip 
B. Bradley's New Connecticut regiment. 
At the battle of Germantown, October 4, 
1777, he was captured, and spent the next 
eight months in prison at Philadelphia. 
Thence he was transferred to Brooklyn, 
and was discharged January 3, 1781. 
While in captivity he was promoted to a 
captaincy, and in the summer of 1781 was 
detached to serve in Colonel Scannell's 
Light Infantry Regiment, which he ac- 
companied to Yorktown. On his dis- 
charge from the army, in January, 1783, 
he settled in his native village, where he 
filled numerous important offices. Here 
he established an academy in 1790, which 
instructed in all nearly fifteen hundred 
pupils, of whom more than sixty were 
prepared for college. At nine sessions of 
the General Assembly, between 1798 and 
1805, he represented Litchfield. The town 
of Morris, formerly a part of Litchfield, 
was named in his honor, and he was dea- 
con of the church there from 1795 until 
his death, which occurred April 20, 1820, 
at Goshen, Connecticut, while on a trip 
from Cornwall to his home. Portions of 
his narrative of his life and public serv- 
ices during the Revolution have been 
printed in "Yale in the Revolution" and 
"Memoirs of the Long Island Historical 
Society." He married (first) Elizabeth, 
youngest daughter of Robert Hubbard, 
of Middletown, Connecticut, and (sec- 
ond) March 16, 1815, Rhoda Farnum. 

The only son of the second marriage, 
Dwight Morris, was born November 22, 
1817, in what is now Morris, and gradu- 
ated with honors from Union College in 
1838, subsequently receiving the degree 
of Master of Arts from Yale. In 1839 he 
was admitted to the Litchfield bar, be- 
came active in public aflFairs, represented 
his town in the General Assembly sev- 
eral sessions, and was judge of probate 
from 1845 to 1852. In 1862 he recruited 
a regiment, and went to the front as colo- 



181 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nel of the Fourteenth Connecticut Volun- 
teers. Soon after he was given command 
of the Second Brigade, Second Corps, and 
took part in the battle of Antietam. His 
regiment came to be known as the "Fight- 
ing Fourteenth," from its brilliant service. 
Ill health compelled him to resign his 
commission, and he was honorably dis- 
charged, with the rank of brigadier-gen- 
eral. He was nominated by President 
Lincoln as judge of the Territory of 
Idaho, but declined. From 1865 to 1869 
he served as consul-general at Havre, 
France, and in 1876 was elected Secretary 
of State of Connecticut. Through his 
efforts the Society of the Cincinnati was 
reinstated in his State, July 4, 1893, after 
having been dormant eighty-nine years, 
and thenceforward, until his death, Sep- 
tember, 1894, he was its president. He 
devoted considerable time to literature, 
and contributed many articles on histori- 
cal subjects. His second wife, Grace Jo- 
sephine Clark, whom he married in 1867, 
at Paris, France, was born 1844, in Chi- 
cago, daughter of Lewis W. and Emily 
(Henshaw) Clark, of that city, died 1884. 
Robert Clark Morris, son of the last 
named, was born November 19, 1869, at 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, where he was a 
student of the public schools, after which 
he pursued the study of law at Yale Law 
School, from which he was graduated 
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws in 
1890. From Yale he received the degree 
of Master of Law in 1892, and Doctor of 
Civil Law in 1893. He was secretary of 
the class of 1890 at Yale Law School. In 
that year he was admitted to the Connec- 
ticut bar, and in 1890-91 studied conti- 
nental jurisprudence in Europe. In 1894 
he located in New York City, where he 
immediately began practice. From 1895 
to 1904 he lectured on French law at Yale 
Law School, and since 1904 has been lec- 
turing on International Arbitration and 
Proceedure in that institution. He is the 



author of a standard work entitled "In 
ternational Arbitration and Proceedure." 
He is at present senior partner of the law 
firm of Morris & Plante, in New York 
City. Mr. Morris has taken a keen in- 
terest in political movements, and from 
1901 to 1903 was president of the Repub- 
lican County Committee of New York, 
and in 1909 was president of the Repub- 
lican Club of that city. He was counsel 
for the United States before the United 
States and Venezuelan Commission in 
1903, and occupies a leading position at 
the metropolitan bar. The work of his 
firm is general, but most of his time is 
devoted to reorganizations. By inherit- 
ance he is a member of the Order of the 
Cincinnati, and is a member of the Mili- 
tary Order of the Loyal Legion and the 
Sons of the Revolution. He is also a 
member of the New York Bar Associa- 
tion, the International Law Association, 
the American Bar Association, New York 
County Lawyers' Association, the Amer- 
ican Society of International Law, the 
Society of Medical Jurisprudence, the 
Japan Society, and the China Society. He 
is identified with several clubs, including 
the Union League, Yale, Metropolitan, 
Tuxedo of New York, Lakewood Coun- 
try, also the Graduates' Club of New 
Haven. He resides on Fifth avenue, in 
New York City. He married, June 24, 
1890, Alice A. Parmelee, of New Haven, 
daughter of Andrew Yelverton and Sarah 
Elizabeth (Farren) Parmelee. They have 
travelled extensively throughout the 
world, and Mrs. Morris is the author of 
"Dragons and Cherry Blossoms," a work 
on Japan. 



SMITH, Jay Hungerford, 

Mannf acturer, Man of Affairs. 

There is genuine satisfaction in telling 
Mr. Smith's life story, for it is a record of 
worthy effort, generously recompensed. 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



There are men who build well upon foun- 
dations laid by another and there are men 
who conceive, plan, dig, lay the founda- 
tion and upon it build to completion. To 
this latter class Mr. Smith belongs. A 
graduate chemist, he might easily have 
followed the beaten paths, compounded 
drugs, and sold soda water all his life, 
and might have been one of thousands 
performing their duty well along similar 
lines. But his nature would not permit 
this and from the drug store at Ausable 
Forks he launched out into the wide field 
of experiment and established a new busi- 
ness, adding his own to the names of 
America's creative geniuses. From foun- 
dation to spire the business over which 
he presides is his own, the child of his 
own brain, developed through his own 
skill and conducted by his own master- 
ful mind. "Founder" and "head" of a 
business conducted in one of Rochester's 
finest factories, Mr. Smith can with deep- 
est satisfaction contemplate the work he 
has accomplished in the twenty-five years 
since he first located in Rochester and 
began as the head of the Jay Hungerford 
Smith Company the manufacture of 
"True Fruit" syrups. 

A review of Mr. Smith's ancestry, pa- 
ternal and maternal, is most interesting. 
He descends paternally from Silas Smith, 
who came from England with the Plym- 
outh Company, settling at Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts. The line of descent to Jay 
Hungerford Smith is through Silas (2) 
and Hannah (Gazine) Smith; their son, 
Samuel, and Abigail (Wright) Smith; 
their son Daniel, and Susan (Holmes) 
Smith ; their son, William Priest, and 
Sarah Porter (Hungerford) Smith ; their 
son. Jay Hungerford Smith. 

Samuel Smith, of the third generation, 
was a soldier of the Revolution, and the 
first of this branch to locate in New York 
State, living in Spencertown, Columbia 
county, where his son, Daniel, was born. 



Daniel Smith moved to Ellisburg, Jeffer- 
son county, in 1802, was a lieutenant in 
the War of 1812, fought at Sackett's Har- 
bor, and donated the use of his home for 
a hospital for the wounded soldiers. 
Susan (Holmes) Smith, his wife, bore him 
sixteen children. Her father, Thomas 
Holmes, was a soldier of the Revolution 
from Connecticut, ranked as sergeant, and 
was a Revolutionary pensioner. William 
Priest Smith, of the fifth generation, was 
born in New York, January 5, 1799, was 
a lumberman and landowner of St. Law- 
rence county, New York, justice of the 
peace, associate judge, a man of influence 
and high standing. His wife, Sarah Por- 
ter (Hungerford) Smith, whom he mar- 
ried, July 9, 1843, traced her ancestry to 
Sir Thomas Hungerford, who in 1369 pur- 
chased "Farley Castle," in Somersetshire, 
England, an estate that was the family 
seat for more than three hundred years. 
Sir Thomas was steward for John of 
Ghent, Duke of Lancaster, son of King 
Edward III., and was a member and 
speaker of the House of Commons, re- 
puted to be the first person elected to that 
high office. The present crest of the 
Hungerford family, "A garb or, a wheat 
sheaf between two sickles erect," with the 
motto Et Dicu mon appuy (God is my sup- 
port), was first adopted by Sir Walter, 
afterward Lord Hungerford, son of Sir 
Thomas. John Hungerford, great-grand- 
father of Sarah Porter Hungerford, a 
lineal descendant of Sir Thomas, was a 
colonial soldier, ranking as captain. His 
son, Amasa, was a colonel in the Revolu- 
tionary army; his son, Amasa (2), was a 
"minute man" of the War of 1812, a ship 
builder on Lake Ontario, a prosperous 
farmer of Jefferson county. New York, a 
man widely known. His daughter, Sarah 
Porter Hungerford, married William 
Priest Smith, whom she bore eleven chil- 
dren : Lois Elizabeth, Amasa Daniel, 
Annie Eliza, Frances Sarah, George Wil- 
183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



liam, Jay Hungerford, of further mention, 
Mary Louise, Jennie V., Joseph Brodie, 
Frank Robbins, and May Lillian. 

Jay Hungerford Smith was born at 
Fine, St. Lawrence county. New York, 
February 20, 1855, third son and sixth 
child of William Priest and Sarah Por- 
ter (Hungerford) Smith. He prepared 
for college at Hungerford Collegiate In- 
stitute and entered the University of 
Michigan, whence he was graduated 
Pharmaceutical Chemist, class of 1877. 
Three years later he began business at 
Ausable Forks, New York, as a whole- 
sale and retail dealer in drugs. He de- 
veloped a prosperous business along con- 
ventional lines and there was no reason to 
suppose that he was not permanently set- 
tled in business. But his ideals were 
higher and in the course of business he 
saw opportunity open a new avenue of 
effort, and this avenue he saw would lead 
to great result could he but tread it. At 
that time the soda fountain business, now 
of such immense proportions, was but a 
small item in the drug trade and all flavor- 
ing syrups dispensed were either artificial 
or from preserved fruit. Mr. Smith at- 
tacked the problem of improving the qual- 
ity of these flavors, striving to extract and 
to preserve the true flavor of fresh fruit. 
His intimate knowledge of chemistry was 
called upon and after a great deal of ex- 
perimenting and many failures he finally 
perfected a cold process by which he ob- 
tained the desired result. He added to his 
process, matured his plans of manufac- 
ture, located in 1890 in Rochester, New 
York, and began carrying them into effect. 
He organized the J. Hungerford Smith 
Company, erected a plant, and began the 
manufacture of "True Fruit" syrups. So 
well had he planned and so superior was 
his product that public favor was quickly 
secured and to-day two hundred thousand 
square feet of factory space is required to 
meet the demands for "True Fruit" 



syrups. As the products, so are the sur- 
roundings attending their manufacture, 
for "purity and cleanliness" are factory 
slogans and the highest in both has been 
realized. The sanitary precautions are 
unsurpassed, and every device making for 
purity, cleanliness, health, efficiency of 
operation, and perfection in product, has 
been installed. "True Fruit" syrups have 
an immense sale in the United States, 
and a large export trade, double that of 
any similar product, has been built up. 
This end, attained in twenty-five years, 
is a gratifying one, the business having 
been built from nothing but an idea to its 
present prosperous condition. Mr. Smith 
conceived the idea of "True Fruit" flav- 
ors, founded the business, visioned and 
perfected the conditions under which such 
flavors should be produced and with rare 
executive ability has managed the busi- 
ness affairs of the company producing 
them. So the titles of creator, founder 
and head are truly his as applied to the 
product and business of J. Hungerford 
Smith & Company. He is a director of 
the Alliance Bank, and has other impor- 
tant business interests in Rochester and 
elsewhere. 

Mr. Smith's next greatest interest is in 
the Masonic order, one in which he has 
attained every degree in both York and 
Scottish rites that can be conferred in 
this country. He has received many 
honors at the hands of his brethren, the 
thirty-third degree Scottish Rite being 
one that is only conferred by special 
favor and then only for "distinguished 
service" rendered the order. He was 
"made a Mason" in Richville Lodge, No. 
633, Free and Accepted Masons, in 1880, 
and after coming to Rochester affiliated 
by "demit" with Frank R. Lawrence 
Lodge, No. 797, serving as worshipful 
master in 1897 ^"d 1S98. He, as rapidly 
as the Masonic law permits, took the 
chapter, council, and commandery de- 



184 




'Uy\ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



grees constituting the York Rite, and 
holds membership in Hamilton Chapter, 
No. 62, Royal Arch Masons ; Doric Coun- 
cil, No. 19, Royal and Select Masters, 
and Monroe Commandery, No. 12, 
Knights Templar. By virtue of being 
master he became a member of the 
Grand Lodge of the State of New York, 
and in 1898 was appointed grand senior 
deacon. As chairman of the Grand 
Lodge committee on work and lectures in 
1899 he performed valued service in per- 
fecting ritualistic work and for several 
years was one of the custodians of the 
work. He was a member of the commis- 
sion of appeals of the Grand Lodge in 
1905, 1906, and 1907, and since 1900 has 
been representative of the Grand Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Canada, 
near the Grand Lodge of the State of 
New York. He is a director of the Ma- 
sonic Temple Association, and ex-presi- 
dent of the Masonic Club, of Rochester, 
ex-trustee of the Hall and Asylum Fund, 
and a present member of the standing 
committee. 

After acquiring the degrees of York 
Rite Masonry, Mr. Smith, desiring 
"further light," was initiated into the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, is a 
member of the four bodies of the Rite. 
and has attained the much hoped for, 
seldom conferred, thirty-third degree. 
He is a member of Rochester Consistory, 
which conferred all degrees including the 
thirty-second. Sovereign Princes of the 
Royal Secret, and on September 15, 1896, 
received the crowning thirty-third degree 
through the favor of the body governing 
the holders of that degree, the highest 
honor an American Mason can receive. 

The ancient landmarks of the order 
are sacred to Mr. Smith and as custodian 
of the work he has sought to keep closely 
to them. Where methods only were in- 
volved he has sanctioned and suggested 
ritualistic innovation, thereby beautify- 
ing and strengthening the work. Through 



the exercise of his unbounded dramatic 
ability many of the degrees, particularly 
in the Scottish Rite, have been illumi- 
nated and clothed with a deeper meaning. 
His influence has been exerted for the 
good of the order, his service has been 
valued by his brethren, and his elevation 
to the thirty-third degree came as an 
acknowledgment of that service, for the 
degree cannot be applied for, as other 
degrees must be, but comes as an un- 
sought and highly valued honor. 

A public honor was conferred upon Mr. 
Smith when he was but twenty-eight 
years of age in recognition of his stand- 
ing in his profession, by appointment as 
one of the five members of the original 
New York State Board of Pharmacy, a 
position he held for eight years. For 
many years he has been a trustee of the 
Rochester Chamber of Commerce and 
has been one of the progressive men ever 
ready to aid and to support every move- 
ment or enterprise to further the public 
good. He is an official member of the 
Cascade Lakes Club in the Adirondack 
preserve, his city club the Masonic. 
Social by nature and most genial in dis- 
position, he has many friends, and these 
friendships are mutually highly prized. 
He is, however, preeminently a man of 
affairs, and is a splendid example of the 
alert, progressive, creative American 
business man, a type of the men who have 
made this country famous. 

Mr. Smith married. May 17, 1882, 
Jean, daughter of John A. Dawson, of 
Ausable Forks, New York. Children : 
James Hungerford, Anna Dawson, Flor- 
ence, died in infancy; Jay Elwood, Lois, 
and Helen Hungerford. 



HALE, George David, 

Educator, Man of Affairs. 

Professor George David Hale was born 
in Adams, Jeflferson county. New York, 
March 27, 1844. His parents were Abner 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Cable and Sally Ann (Barton) Hale. The 
first American ancestor in the paternal 
line was Thomas Hale, the glover, who 
came from England in 1637 and settled at 
Newbury, Massachusetts, where he died 
December 21, 1682. The grandfather, 
David Hale, was senior member of the 
first mercantile firm in Adams, New York, 
and was also captain of a troop of cavalry 
in the War of 1812. From a very early 
period in the development of Jefferson 
county the family was connected with its 
progress and upbuilding. Abner C. Hale, 
the father, followed the occupation of 
farming at Adams. 

Professor George D. Hale spent his 
boyhood days under the parental roof. 
In 1870 he was graduated from the classi- 
cal course of the University of Rochester, 
and three years later that institution con- 
ferred upon him the degree of Master of 
Arts. He is a member of the Delta 
Kappa Epsilon and of the Phi Beta Kap- 
pa, two college fraternities. Professor 
Hale is known personally or by reputa- 
tion to every resident of the city and also 
to a large extent throughout this and 
other states by reason of the fact that his 
students have gone abroad into all parts 
of the country, bearing in their lives the 
impress of his individuality. The Hale 
Classical and Scientific School, which he 
conducted in Rochester from 1871 to 1898, 
is recognized as having been one of the 
most excellent institutions of learning in 
the State and among its graduates are 
men who are now prominent in the public 
and business life of Rochester. Thor- 
oughness has always been his motto and 
he has ever held high the standard of edu- 
cational proficiency. Kant has said : "The 
object of education is to train each in- 
dividual to reach the highest perfection 
possible for him," and the spirit of this 
statement has been a dominant factor in 
the work done by Professor Hale during 



these years. Moreover, he is recognized 
in educational circles as an authority on 
mathematics and as one who stands as a 
leader in his profession because of the 
high ideals which he has ever held and 
the unfaltering eflfort he has made to 
reach them. He is identified with several 
of the leading societies for the advance- 
ment of knowledge, being a member of 
the National Educational Association and 
the American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Science, also of the Na- 
tional Geographic Society. Of local so- 
cieties he is identified with the Rochester 
Historical Society, the Genesee Valley 
Club, the Rochester Country Club, the 
University Club, and the Rochester 
Chamber of Commerce. His political 
preference has always been for the Re- 
publican party, and while he has been a 
student of the great issues and questions 
bearing upon the welfare of State and 
Nation, he has always been without poli- 
tical ambition. 

On December 29, 1875, Professor Hale 
was married in Rochester to Mary Eliza- 
beth Judson, a daughter of Junius (q. v.) 
and Lavenda (Bushnell) Judson. They 
have two daughters, Edith Hariette and 
Elizabeth Lavenda Hale. Mrs. Hale was 
possessed of rare mental endowment, of 
mature Christian character, and withal of 
a most charming personality which 
showed itself in sweet courtesy towards 
all. She died April 12, 1915, sincerely 
mourned by all who knew her. 

Professor Hale is a member of the 
First Baptist Church of Rochester, in 
which he has served for many years as a 
trustee, being also prominently identified 
with the general interests of the Baptist 
denomination in this city. He has been 
a generous contributor to many public 
and charitable works and his influence is 
always on the side of that which pro- 
motes intellectual development, aesthetic 



ExMCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



culture and moral progress. He has 
given many years of an active and useful 
life to the cause of education and has at- 
tained vi^ide distinction in the field of 
labor he has chosen. He has been for 
several years identified with the business 
interests of the several Judson companies 
of this city, in which he is both director 
and stockholder. 



PRICE, George M., 

Surgeon, Professional Instructor. 

For more than a quarter of a century 
George M. Price, M. D., F. A. C. S., has 
practiced his healing art in Syracuse, win- 
ning honorable standing in his profession 
and public esteem as a citizen. In fact, 
save for the years spent in American and 
European medical schools, his entire life 
has been spent in the vicinity of Syra- 
cuse; his birthplace, Liverpool, being 
not far away. He is devoted to his pro- 
fession and confines himself closely to his 
special work as surgeon, having few out- 
side interests. 

George M. Price was born at Liverpool, 
Onondaga county. New York, March 3, 
1865. After a course of public school 
study he became a student at Cazenovia 
Seminary, later entering Syracuse High 
School, there completing a full course to 
graduation. He decided upon the profes- 
sion of medicine as his life work, begin- 
ning study in the medical department of 
the University of Syracuse, whence he 
was graduated M. D., class of 1886. Al- 
though officially authorized to begin prac- 
tice, he was not satisfied with his attain- 
ments and for the next two years pursued 
post-graduate courses in the hospitals and 
schools of medicine in London, England, 
and Vienna, Austria. He then returned 
to the United States and spent some time 
in further post-graduate work as interne 
and student at New York Hospital. 

After those years of thorough prepara- 



tion, he located in Syracuse and there has 
since continued, an honored and success- 
ful practitioner. He is a member of the 
New York State Medical Society, Central 
New York Medical Association, the 
Onondaga County Medical Society, and 
the Syracuse Academy of Medicine. He 
has served as president of the three last 
named societies. He is surgeon to the 
Hospital of the Good Shepherd and the 
Syracuse Free Dispensary, and Professor 
of Clinical Surgery in the College of 
Medicine, Syracuse University. In 1914 
he received the degree of F. A. C. S. from 
the American College of Surgeons. He is 
a member of the board of directors of the 
Syracuse Young Men's Christian Associ- 
ation, of the Syracuse University Social 
Sentiment, and the Billy Sunday Club, and 
of the session of the Park Central Presby- 
terian Church. He has been honored by 
membership in the following organiza- 
tions: Alpha Omega Alpha (the * B K 
of the Medical World), Iota Chapter, 
Alpha Kappa Kappa ; Salt Springs Lodge, 
No. 520, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Knight Templar; thirty-second degree 
Mason ; University Club, Practitioners' 
Club, Clinical Club, Automobile Club. 

Dr. Price married, January 19, 1888, 
Nettie B. Reese and has five children : J. 
Reese, Emily H., Letitia E., Willis H., 
and G. Taylor, 2nd. 



SMITH, Ray Burdick, 
Lawyer, Autbor of Salutary Ijegislation. 

In every branch of activity it is the few 
and not the many who rise to eminence, 
and it is these few who give tone and 
character to society, and shape the des- 
tinies of the communities in which they 
reside. More men rise to what is called 
eminence at the bar than in any other 
profession. The majority of our orators 
and statesmen come from the forum, as it 
is the most general school for the training 



187 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of genius or talent, and humanity is in- 
debted to the study of law and the prac- 
tice of our courts for the development of 
some of the greatest minds the world has 
ever produced. Certainly no state has 
more reason to feel proud of her bar than 
New York. The records of her lawyers 
since the earliest periods of her history are 
replete with the works of men who were 
giants in intellect, and to-day no city in 
the east presents a fairer array of legal 
luminaries than Syracuse, New York. 
Prominent among those who have earned 
enviable reputations for themselves, and 
whose worth the people of the city have 
seen fit to acknowledge by conferring on 
them positions of honor and trust, is Ray 
Burdick Smith, of Syracuse. 

The particular Smith family from 
which he is descended originally came 
to this country from Germany, where the 
name was spelled Schmidt, and has been 
changed to its present form in the course 
of years. Henry Smith (Schmidt), great- 
grandfather of Ray Burdick Smith, came 
to America in the latter part of the 
eighteenth century, and settled near Hud- 
son in Columbia county. New York. He 
moved to the town of Cuyler, Cortland 
county, New York, at the time of the 
Holland Purchase, with a large family of 
children, of which William Henry Smith 
was one. William Henry Smith cleared 
and worked a farm in the town of Linck- 
lean, Chenango county, and a tannery in 
the adjoining town of Taylor in Cortland 
county. He raised a family of eleven 
children of whom Willis Smith, father of 
Ray Burdick Smith, was one. 

Willis Smith was a farmer in the town 
of Cuyler, Cortland county, and later re- 
moved with his family to Lincklean, Che- 
nango county. He married Emily Bur- 
dick, daughter of James and Martha 
(Maxon) Burdick. The founders of the 
Burdick and Maxon families were mem- 



bers of the Roger Williams colony, and 
settled in what is now the State of Rhode 
Island. They have remained to this day 
"Separatists", or Seventh Day Baptists, 
and Ray Burdick Smith still clings to this 
faith, although he is a member of the 
First (Dutch) Reformed Church of Syra- 
cuse. 

Ray Burdick Smith was born in Cuy- 
ler, Cortland county, New York, Decem- 
ber II, 1867, and was a young child when 
his parents removed to the town of Linck- 
lean, Chenango county, in the same State. 
There he received his earlier education in 
the country district school, later becom- 
ing a pupil at the DeRuyter Academy 
and Cazenovia Seminary, from which he 
was graduated in the class of 1886, and 
was awarded the Wendell Scholarship for 
having maintained the highest standing 
in the class. In the fall of that year he 
matriculated at Syracuse University, re- 
mained there one year, then entered Yale 
University, from which he was graduated 
with distinction in the class of 1891, with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and mem- 
bership in the Phi Beta Kappa Society. 
He achieved prominence in Yale both as 
a prize speaker and writer. He was a 
successful competitor for the John A. 
Porter Prize Essay, being the second un- 
dergraduate to win it after its foundation 
in 1870. The "Yale Literary Magazine" 
was in excellent standing during the time 
time he was one of its editors and its 
manager, and as a member of the Psi 
Upsilon and Chi Delta Theta fraternities 
he was held in high esteem. 

Mr. Smith commenced the study of law 
in the latter part of 1891, in the Law 
School of Cornell University, devoting 
himself so earnestly to this that he prac- 
tically completed a two years' course in 
one year, one of his instructors having 
been Justice Charles E. Hughes. Taking 
up his residence in the city of Syracuse, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he completed his law studies in the office 
of Waters, McLennan & Waters, was 
admitted to the bar in 1893, and at once 
opened offices in association with Thomas 
Woods under the firm name of Woods & 
Smith, which was later changed to 
Thomson, Woods & Smith, which part- 
nership continued until 191 1. 

In 1894, when the Constitutional Con- 
vention opened, Mr. Smith was appointed 
clerk of the cities committee of that body, 
and in this capacity drafted and advo- 
cated the constitutional provision which 
requires every bill for a special city law 
passed by the Legislature to be sent to 
the mayor of the city, and returned to 
the Legislature or Governor within fifteen 
days, with a certification as to whether 
or not the city has accepted it. This was 
one of the most important publicity pro- 
visions of the present constitution, giving 
to cities the right to a voice in measures 
in which they are directly concerned. In 
the Legislatures of 1894 and 1895, Mr. 
Smith was clerk of the committee on 
general laws of the Senate. He was 
elected supervisor of the Fourteenth, now 
the Seventeenth, ward of the city of 
Syracuse, in 1895, and was the incumbent 
of this office for a period of four years. 
He was chairman of the committee which 
had charge of the construction of the new 
Onondaga County Penitentiary, a struc- 
ture which has repeatedly been com- 
mended by the State Prison Commission, 
and is regarded as a model of its kind. 

Mr. Smith was appointed assistant 
clerk of the Assembly in 1898, holding 
this office until his election as clerk in 
1908. During his service as assistant 
clerk, he annually organized the clerical 
force of the house, and managed that 
work with consummate ability and suc- 
cess. For many years he has been recog- 
nized as one of the foremost parliamen- 
tarians of the State, and he so shaped the 



procedure of the Assembly as to expedite 
materially the work it is called upon to 
perform. He drafted an amendment to 
the legislative law, providing for a system 
of original journals and documents which 
have, since their adoption, enabled the 
courts to save many thousands of dollars 
to the State. During the sixteen years 
he spent in Albany, he drafted practically 
every piece of legislation affecting his 
own county of Onondaga, and succeeded 
in getting many laws passed of great 
benefit to this section and to the State at 
large. He was counsel for the commit- 
tees which revised the charter of second 
class cities and drew a proposed charter 
for the city of New York and his knowl- 
edge of constitutional law and wide ac- 
quaintance with municipal affairs were 
invaluable in these connections. One of 
the legislative achievements of which Mr. 
Smith may well be proud is the Syracuse 
lighting law, which protects the rights 
of the consumer of gas and electricity 
more effectively than any measure of its 
kind, and which was passed only after 
a hard fight. 

In 1910, when a Democratic Assembly 
was elected, Mr. Smith retired from 
active political life, and since that time 
has devoted himself exclusively to the 
practice of his profession, except that he 
was elected and served as a member of 
the Constitutional Convention of 1915, 
and was a prominent figure in that con- 
vention, notably in securing the adoption 
of several amendments proposed by him 
and in opposing other amendments in- 
cluding the form of submission which 
were instrumental in the rejection of the 
proposed revision of the constitution by 
the electors. 

During the recent years he has won a 
number of cases which have been of far 
reaching importance. In one of them — 
Tomaney against the Humphrey Gas. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Pump Company — the Appellate Division, 
Fourth Department, affirmed a judgment 
of twenty-five thousand dollars, given Mr. 
Smith's client by a jury. This was the 
largest verdict in a negligence action by 
the Fourth Department up to the present 
time (1915). In the fight in the courts 
against the telephone monoply in Syra- 
cuse, Mr. Smith has been a prominent 
figure, as he also was in securing legis- 
lation to relieve the towns of the burden 
of paying a proportion of the cost of the 
construction of county highways. 

In his own county Mr. Smith has been 
regarded for many years as influential 
in public affairs. He was elected a mem- 
ber of the Republican general committee 
of Onondaga county in 1895, and became 
the vice-chairman of this body in 1896. 
He was elected chairman in 1907, and 
acted in that capacity through two of the 
hardest municipal campaigns in the 
experience of the party, that of 1907, and 
that of 1909, in the latter of which Ed- 
ward Schoeneck succeeded in a four- 
cornered fight against one strong Demo- 
crat and two Independent Republican 
candidates. 

Mr. Smith is a member of the Citizens' 
and Masonic clubs of Syracuse; the Al- 
bany Club of Albany; the Republican 
Club of New York City; he is a thirty- 
second degree Mason, and a member of 
the Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Utica ; Syracuse Lodge, 
No. 31, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; Westminster Lodge, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows ; De Kanissora 
Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men ; 
Independent Order of Foresters ; the 
Onondaga County Bar Association, and 
State Bar Association. 

Mr. Smith married, in 1891, Nellie 
King Reilay, of Syracuse, and they have 
one child: Willis King, born September 
II, 1892. 



VANN, Irving Goodwin, 

Lawyer, Jnriat. 

If "biography is the home aspect of 
history," it is entirely within the province 
of true history to accumulate and per- 
petuate the lives and characters, the 
achievements and honors of the illus- 
trious sons of the nation, and when the 
history of New York and her public men 
shall have been written its pages will 
bear few more illustrious names or record 
few more distinguished careers than that 
of Judge Irving Goodwin Vann, of Syra- 
cuse. Whatever else may be said of the 
legal fraternity, it cannot be denied that 
members of the bar have been more 
prominent factors in public affairs than 
any other class in the community. This 
is but the natural result of causes which 
are manifest and require no explanation. 
The ability and training which qualify 
one to practice law also qualify him in 
many respects for duties which lie out- 
side the strict path of his profession and 
which touch the general interests of soci- 
ety. The keen discernment and the habits 
of logical reasoning and arriving at accur- 
ate deductions so necessary to the suc- 
cessful lawyer enable him to view cor- 
rectly important public questions and to 
manage intricate business affairs suc- 
cessfully. Not only has Judge Vann at- 
tained an eminent position in connection 
with his chosen calling, but also in public 
office. His marked intellectuality and 
fitness for leadership led to his selection 
again and again for public honors. He is 
a man remarkable in the breadth of his 
wisdom, in his indomitable perseverance 
and his strong individuality. 

On both sides of the family his lineage 
is an ancient one. Samuel Vann, his 
great-grandfather, was born in New Jer- 
sey, and served with bravery as a lieuten- 
ant in the War of the Revolution ; his 



190 




/^(^-7^. l/'o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son, also Samuel Vann, died in 1878, at 
the age of one hundred and six years. 
Samuel R. Vann, son of the second 
Samuel Vann, was a native of New Jer- 
sey, and followed agricultural pursuits. 
The greater part of his life was spent in 
Ulysses, New York, where he died in 
1872. He married Catherine H. Goodwin, 
a daughter of Joseph Goodwin, who 
served actively in the War of 1812; a 
granddaughter of Richard Goodwin, who 
was born in Pennsylvania, and, early in 
the nineteenth century, settled at Good- 
win's Point, near Taughannock Falls, on 
Cayuga Lake ; and great-granddaughter 
of Richard Goodwin, a native of New 
England. 

Judge Irving Goodwin Vann, son of 
Samuel R. and Catherine H. (Goodwin) 
Vann, was born in Ulysses, Tompkins 
county. New York, January 3, 1842, and 
his early years were spent on the farm 
of his father in that town. He was pre- 
pared for entrance to college at Tru- 
mansburg and Ithaca academies, matricu- 
lated at Yale College in September, 1859, 
entering the freshman class, and was 
graduated in the class of 1863. He en- 
gaged in the profession of teaching for 
a time, and in 1864 was principal of the 
Pleasant Valley High School, near 
Owensboro, Kentucky, from which posi- 
tion he resigned in order to devote him- 
self to his legal studies. He commenced 
these studies in the office of Boardman 
& Finch, of Ithaca, continuing them at the 
Albany Law School, from which he was 
graduated early in 1865. Following his 
graduation he served as a clerk in the 
Treasury Department at Washington, 
District of Columbia, for some months, 
and in October, 1865, took up his resi- 
dence in Syracuse, New York, with 
which city his career was identified from 
that time. A limited period of time was 
spent as clerk in the office of Raynor & 



Butler, and he established himself in 
independent practice in March, 1866. The 
firms with which he was successively 
identified are: Vann & Fiske, Raynor & 
Vann, Fuller & Vann, and Vann, Mc- 
Lennan & Dillaye. His reputation as a 
lawyer of tact, ability and undoubted 
learning was soon established. His prac- 
tice was mainly confined to cases in the 
Appellate Courts, although he was so 
frequently called upon to act as referee, 
that he was at last obliged to refuse work 
of this nature, owing to the mass of 
other legal work which had accumulated. 
The interest displayed by Judge Vann 
in the public affairs of the community 
was an unselfish and impartial one, but 
it was soon recognized and appreciated 
by the people of the city that he was a 
man to whom the conduct of public 
afl^airs could be safely entrusted. In 
February, 1879, he was elected mayor 
of Syracuse by a large Republican ma- 
jority, declining renomination at the end 
of his term because of the demands of his 
private practice. However, the citizens 
of Syracuse had had an opportunity to 
judge of his worth as a public official, 
and in 1881 he was elected a justice of 
the Supreme Court of the Fifth Judicial 
District, serving from January i, 1882, 
to January i, 1889, when Governor Hill 
appointed him a judge of the Court of 
Appeals, Second Division, as which he 
served during the entire existence of that 
tribunal, until October i, 1892, when he 
resumed the duties of justice of the Su- 
preme Court. In November, 1895, he 
was the hominee of both parties, and 
was reelected a justice of the Supreme 
Court, assuming his duties January i, 
1896, and resigning them January 7, 1896, 
in order to assume the duties of a judge 
of the Court of Appeals, to which Gov- 
ernor Morton had appointed him on 
January 6, to succeed Judge Rufus W. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Peckham, who had resigned in order to 
take up his work as a judge of the Su- 
preme Court of the United States. In 
November, 1896, Judge Vann was elected 
a judge of the Court of Appeals by the 
largest majority ever received at a State 
election in New York, his term to cover 
from January i, 1897, to December 31, 
1910. In the fall of 1910 he was re- 
elected, having been nominated by both 
the leading political parties, for the full 
term of fourteen years, but on reaching 
the age of seventy he retired on the first 
of January, 1913, owing to the age limit 
of the constitution. In 1882 Hamilton 
College conferred upon him the honor- 
ary degree of Doctor of Laws and the 
same degree was conferred by Syracuse 
University in 1897, and by Yale Univer- 
sity in 1898. He has been a law lecturer 
in Cornell, Syracuse and Albany Law 
schools. He was the organizer of Wood- 
lawn Cemetery, and has served continu- 
ously as its president. He was one of the 
founders, and for several years president, 
of the Century Club, and was president 
of the Onondaga Red Cross Society since 
its organization. For many years he has 
visited the Adirondacks, where he owns a 
handsome, well appointed cottage, which 
he had erected on Buck Island, in Cran- 
berry Lake. There he houses his splen- 
did collection of fire arms and weapons 
of varied character, many of them of 
decided historical and scientific interest. 
Always an enthusiastic hunter and 
fisherman, Judge Vann in earlier years 
was also fond of camping. In his beau- 
tiful city home are collections of another 
sort, notably that of a fine and extensive 
library, in which may be found many 
volumes of almost priceless worth. Phil- 
anthropic projects of varied character 
and scope have always received a more 
than fair share of his time and attention, 
and his charities are wide and diversified. 



Judge Vann married, October 11, 1870, 
Florence Dillaye, only daughter of the 
late Henry A. Dillaye, of Syracuse. To 
this union there have been born: Flor- 
ence Dillaye, July 31, 1871, who married 
Albert P. Fowler, a member of the law 
firm of Fowler, Vann & Paine ; Irving 
Dillaye, a member of the above mentioned 
firm, who was born September 17, 1875. 



BRAYTON, Warren C, 

Financier, Enterprising Citizen. 

When, in the course of a few years, the 
scope of a business grows from a moder- 
ate beginning to a large amount annually, 
it argues that there must be a very cap- 
able leading spirit in control of its afifairs, 
and it is of such a man, Warren C. Bray- 
ton, of Syracuse, New York, that this 
sketch treats. Faithfulness to duty and 
strict adherence to a fixed purpose in life 
will do more to advance a man's interests 
than wealth, influence or advantageous 
circumstances. The successful men of 
the day are those who have planned their 
own advancement and have accomplished 
it in spite of many obstacles, and at the 
same time with a certainty that may only 
acquired through their own eflforts. 



be 



Of this class of men, Mr. Brayton is an 
excellent representative. 

Eli C. Brayton, his father, was born 
in Washington county. New York, in 
1814, and died in Syracuse, New York, 
in 1895. He was of English descent, and 
engaged in agricultural pursuits through- 
out the active years of his life. He mar- 
ried Maria Barrell, also a native of 
Washington county. New York. She 
died in Syracuse, New York, in 1893. 
Their two children were Warren C. 
Brayton and Pierce B. Brayton. Pierce 
B. Brayton was a resident of Syracuse 
for many years and well known. Later 
on, he took up his residence in Geneva, 
Nebraska. He passed away in 1907. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Warren C. Brayton was born in Hart- 
ford, Washington county. New York, 
February 5, 1840, and there acquired his 
education in the district schools. Brought 
up on the farm, he assisted his father in 
its cultivation, at the same time acquiring 
a great deal of experience in this line 
which was to be of assistance to him later 
on. However, farm labors were not great- 
ly to the taste of Mr. Brayton, and July 
9, 1857, found him in Syracuse, whither 
he had com,e in order to find more con- 
genial employment. He opened a rail- 
road ticket office as the agent of the Lake 
Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad 
Company, and several other lines, and in 
1865 was joined in this enterprise by his 
brother. Their unfailing courtesy and 
unflagging interest in behalf of the travel- 
ing public brought them a very large 
business. They succeeded particularly in 
obtaining a large share of the western 
travel. This agency was conducted suc- 
cessfully for more than a quarter of a 
century. When the New York Central, 
Lake Shore & Michigan Southern de- 
creased the number of emigrant trains, 
as travel to the west diminished, the 
receipts of Messrs. Brayton Brothers 
suffered in proportion and Mr. Warren 
C. Brayton accepted the position of dis- 
trict passenger agent of the Lake Shore 
& Michigan Southern railroad. He was 
also affiliated with the passenger depart- 
ment of the West Shore road, which was 
then completed and had just gone into 
operation. When the West Shore be- 
came a part of the New York Central 
system, he became general agent for the 
passenger department of the Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western railroad, and 
was instrumental in building up a large 
passenger business for this railroad. His 
previous connections with other lines 
made him one of the best known men in 
Central New York. 



Mr. Brayton had long cherished cer- 
tain theories and ideas on farming gen- 
erally and the breeding of cattle prin- 
cipally, and in the meantime acquired a 
farm of two hundred and fifty acres in 
the town of DeWitt. In 1878 he estab- 
lished this property as an experimental 
farm, giving it close attention and con- 
ducting it on a rather scientific plan, and 
he achieved a success well known to his 
neighbors in that vicinity at the time. 
To this farm came the first students in 
charge of Professor I. T. Roberts from 
the new established agricultural depart- 
ment at Cornell University. Mr. Bray- 
ton's methods had attracted considerable 
attention ; consequently, there was a 
great deal of interest when the univer- 
sity recognized this experimental farm. 
It might be added that this was chiefly 
due to the plans made by Mr. Brayton to 
improve the milk production of the 
native cattle. Mr. Brayton contended 
that the Holstein cattle were the best 
milch cows. This was not admitted at 
the tim,e but has since been conceded. 
Mr. Brayton was one of the promoters 
of the Holstein-Friesian Breeders Asso- 
ciation. Mr. Brayton was treasurer of 
this association for a great many years 
and is still a member and takes an active 
interest in the work. About this time, 
the farmers had a great deal of difficulty 
in disposing of the milk. Mr. Brayton, 
in conjunction with others, founded the 
Onondaga County Milk Association, and 
which was to be a great force in the 
profitable marketing of milk, the improv- 
ing of the quality and the establishing of 
standards. 

In 1878, Mr. Brayton, acting with 
Austin B. Avery, Cyrus D. Avery, John 
Wells and others, promoted the Onon- 
daga County Fair. The idea was devel- 
oped while these gentlemen were return- 
mg from the Fulton County Fair. They 



Y-Vol IV_13 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



encountered considerable difficulty at 
first, especially in financing the project, 
and at one time it appeared as if the 
project might fall through because of the 
finances. Then Mr. Brayton became 
treasurer and was actually responsible for 
the financing of the association that put 
the idea through. The first fair was a 
splendid success in spite of the many pre- 
dictions that it would be a failure. The 
success of the Onondaga County Fair 
here made possible the bringing to Syra- 
cuse of the State Fair as it is known to- 
da}'. 

In 1902 Mr. Brayton was offered the 
position of general manager of the Kemp 
& Burpee Manufacturing Company. He 
accepted it, and resigned his office with 
the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
railroad, a position which he had held 
for a long time. In the meanwhile he 
had retired from farming after achiev- 
ing a splendid success. The Kemp & 
Burpee Manufacturing Company was 
established and incorporated in 1878 on a 
small scale and commenced the manu- 
facture of a fertilizer spreader, the first 
implement of this kind ever put on the 
market. This company had many re- 
verses at first and considerable difficulty 
in protecting their patents. Shortly after 
Mr. Brayton assumed charge of this com- 
pany's affairs, they began to prosper. 
He guided the company through some 
particularly trying times and later on 
through a very successful era. In the 
meanwhile he became president of the 
company ; put into effect his systematic 
management and progressive methods, 
and so increased the demand for the out- 
put of the concern that the means of 
supplying the demand were taxed to the 
fullest extent. New factory buildings 
were erected and also a large office build- 
ing. It is the opinion of competent 
farmers that this machine is one of the 



most important ever invented for agri- 
cultural purposes. It affords a means of 
rapidly restoring the richness to soil 
which has become impoverished by the 
constant production of crops. Thus, 
through very fine ability, Mr. Brayton 
achieved one of his greatest successes. 
Kemp & Burpee Manufacturing Com- 
pany, together with its foundry and its 
Canadian plant, finally became part of 
Deere & Company, Moline, Illinois. 

After the purchase of the Kemp & 
Burpee Manufacturing Company and its 
kindred interests by the "Deere" syndi- 
cate, Mr. Brayton retired from active 
business, giving some time, however, to 
other corporations on whose board of 
directors he was serving and devoted 
himself to the Industrial Building which 
he built in 1889. This was a six-story 
building of improved construction and 
made suitable for light manufacturing. 
This building has housed a great many 
industries in their infancy and at the 
present time is occupied by several who 
require all of the facilities of a large plant 
but do not require as much room. 

In 1910 Mr. Brayton was impressed 
with the need in Syracuse, New York, for 
additional banking facilities. He, to- 
gether with others, organized the City 
Bank. Mr. Brayton was the first vice- 
president and at the present time he is 
president of the institution. The success 
of this bank from the start is well known. 
It is seldom that a new banking institu- 
tion attains so much success in such a 
short time. It is not to be wondered at, 
however, when one considers that a group 
of men who have been successful in their 
individual lines of business are behind an 
undertaking of this kind. The City Bank 
commenced with a capital of $200,000, 
rapidly accumulating a surplus, and later 
the capital stock was increased to half a 
million. This amount, together with the 
194 




^' aT- <:^^^M..^e.^c^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



surplus, gives Syracuse a bank with 
assets of over three-quarters of a million 
dollars. As president of this bank, Mr. 
Brayton has given a great deal of time to 
the working out of the success of its 
policies. 

In politics, Mr. Brayton has been a life- 
long Republican, a force in the party, but 
he has never held public office. He pre- 
fers the quiet methods and is rarely found 
in the activities of a political campaign 
although his advice is sought and his 
opinion carries a great deal of weight. 
His religious membership is with the 
May Memorial Unitarian Church, in 
whose interest both he and his wife have 
been most active and helpful workers. 
Their beautiful home is at No. 509 West 
Onondaga street, on grounds purchased 
by Mr. Brayton in 1883. 

Mr. Brayton married, February 15, 
1865, Harriet Elizabeth Duncan, who 
died June 17, 1914, after forty-nine years 
of married life. Their children are : 
Alice M., who passed away in 1875 ; Lieu- 
tenant Clarence E., who died in the Span- 
ish-American War; Mildred E., married 
to Floyd R. Todd, of Moline, Illinois; 
and Helen Josephine, married to Harry 
F. Butler, of Bufifalo, New York, now a 
resident of Syracuse. 

Mr. Brayton is filled with civic pride 
for Syracuse ; has worked hard for its 
success as a manufacturing center and is 
keenly interested in its beauty and its 
efficient city government. There are in 
Syracuse to-day few men better known 
and who enjoy a greater reputation for 
judgment, foresight and integrity than 
Warren C. Brayton. 



FRENCH, Edmund Leavenworth/- 

Chemist, Mannfactnrer. 

From various strains of New England 
ancestry. Mr. French has derived the 
qualities of perseverance, industry and 



fine discrimination which have brought 
to him success in the business world. 
His American progenitor was Stephen 
French, who was made a freeman, May 
14, 1634, in Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
was representative in 1638, and died in 
July, 1679. His vvife Mary died April 6, 
1655. He had a second wife who died 
in 1657. His son, Stephen French, 
resided in Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
where he married, January 19, 1660, Han- 
nah Whitman, born August 24, 1641, 
daughter of Jonathan Whitman. Their 
second son, Samuel French, was born 
May 5, 1668, in Weymouth, and settled 
in Stratford, now Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, about 1694, becoming prominent as 
a public officer, sergeant in the Colonial 
militia, received in the church in March, 
1698, and died in 1732. He married, 
about 1696, Abigail, daughter of Richard 
Hubbell, who came from Wales and re- 
sided in New Haven and Fairfield, Con- 
necticut. They were the parents of 
Samuel (2) French, born about 1697, 
who married Mary, daughter of Benja- 
min and Rebecca (Phippeny) Sherman, 
born February 24, 1697. Their son, 
Samuel (3) French, born about 171 7, 
married, June 2, 1736, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Nehemiah Loring, and widow of 
Samuel Clark. They were the parents 
of Samuel (4) French, born March 9, 
1739, in Stratford, settled in Amenia, 
Dutchess county, New York, about 1773. 
With his son, Samuel French, and a con- 
siderable colony of Stratford people, he 
was instrumental in establishing the 
colony of Manchester in Vermont. They 
were ardent churchmen and officers in 
the Episcopal church, and although Ben- 
nington and Manchester furnished many 
intensely loyal men to the Revolution the 
Frenches undoubtedly were reluctant to 
show open hostility to the English cause 
and church, as none of the line appears to 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



have served with the Revolutionary army. 
Joshua French, son of Samuel (5) French, 
left Vermont with his son, Rev. Mans- 
field French, in 1836, and settled near Mt. 
Vernon, Ohio. Rev. Mansfield French 
was appointed hospital chaplain of United 
States Volunteers, July 10, 1862; accepted 
the appointment, July 29, 1862 ; was sta- 
tioned at Beaufort, North Carolina, New 
York City, and Washington, D. C, and 
was honorably discharged on August 4, 
1865. The records of the adjutant-gen- 
eral's office at Washington also show that 
he was again mustered into the United 
States service, October 28, 1865, at Wash- 
ington, as chaplain of the One Hundred 
and Thirty-sixth Regiment, United States 
Colored Infantry, and served on duty in 
the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and 
Abandoned Lands at New York City, 
Charleston, South Carolina, and Wash- 
ington, D. C, until honorably discharged 
as chaplain, January i, 1868, on account 
of his services being no longer required. 
For the succeeding two months, however, 
January i to February 29, 1868, he served 
as civilian agent of the Bureau of 
Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned 
Lands in South Carolina. He left the 
Episcopal church for the more liberal 
Methodist church and became a circuit 
rider, evangelist and educator, prominent 
in the early history of Ohio. He was 
interested in the founding of Kenyon 
College, Marietta College and Wilber- 
force College. Later, becoming an 
ardent Abolitionist, he wrote and spoke 
in that cause. He spent considerable 
time in Washington and frequently 
talked with President Lincoln, endeavor- 
ing to convince him that he as President 
was called of God to free the slaves. On 
the paternal side Mr. French is descended 
from Elijah Rose, a soldier of the Revo- 
lution and member of Colonel Moseley's 
regiment from Granville, Massachusetts. 



On the maternal side Mr. French is de- 
scended from many families notable in 
Colonial history. Among these is the 
Brewster family, the line going back to 
Rev. Nathaniel Brewster, a graduate in 
the first class of Harvard College, and, 
according to family tradition, a grandson 
of Elder William Brewster of the "May- 
flower." Mr. French's mother was Eliza- 
beth Hull Smith, a direct descendant of 
Captain Isaac Smith, a Revolutionary 
officer of Derby, Connecticut, whose son, 
Isaac, Jr., at the age of sixteen years, with 
his mother, Elizabeth Hull Smith, rend- 
ered signal service in saving the stores 
of the Continental army from the British. 
His mother was also directly descended 
from the Revolutionary officer, Captain 
Joseph Hull, grandfather of Commodore 
Isaac Hull of the United States frigate 
"Constitution," and father of General 
William Hull of the War of 1812. Mr. 
French is descended from Captain Gideon 
Leavenworth who, with his four sons, 
served in the Revolution, the youngest 
son, Edmund Leavenworth, great-great- 
grandfather of Mr. French, and for whom 
he is named, having entered the service 
as his father's camp servant at the age 
of eleven years. Mr. French is descended 
on his mother's side from Colonel Ebe- 
nezer Johnson, who served valiantly in 
the Indian and Colonial wars ; from Roger 
Ludlow, a Colonial lieutenant-governor 
of Connecticut ; from Stephen Hopkins, 
a "Mayflower" pilgrim ; from John Bron- 
son, a soldier of the Pequot Indian War; 
from Isaac Johnson, a Revolutionary 
soldier of Derby, Connecticut; from Ser- 
geant Edward Riggs, an officer in the 
Pequot War, and father of Captain 
Samuel Riggs, a Colonial officer; from 
Abraham Bassett, a Revolutionary soldier 
from. Derby, Connecticut ; from Obadiah 
Wheeler, a lieutenant in the Colonial 
forces at Milford, Connecticut; from 
196 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Clark, mate of the "Mayflower;" 
from Ensign Martin Winchell, of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, a Colonial and Revolu- 
tionary soldier ; and from Captain Wil- 
liam French, founder of a separate family 
of that name, who came to America in 
the ship "Defence" in 1635 and settled at 
Billerica, Massachusetts. 

Edmund Leavenworth French was 
born October 12, 1870, in New York City, 
and was eight years of age when he re- 
moved to Syracuse, where his home has 
been down to the present time. He at- 
tended the public schools of that city, 
graduating from the high school in 1888, 
and entered Syracuse University with 
the class of 1892, becoming a member of 
the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. He 
spent two years, 1891 to 1893, at the 
Royal Schools of Mines, Freiberg, Saxony, 
Germany, making a special study of the 
metallurgy and chemistry of iron and 
steel. On his return to Syracuse he took 
the first employment offered, which was 
in newspaper work, and spent four years 
successively as a proofreader on the Syra- 
cuse "Journal," reporter on the Syracuse 
"Post," and telegraph editor and assist- 
ant city editor of the Syracuse "Stand- 
ard." He was also Syracuse correspond- 
ent for the New York "Sun," and gave 
promise of a brilliant career in journal- 
ism. In 1897 an opportunity offered to 
engaged in the profession for which he 
had fitted himself in study abroad, and 
he became chemist for the Sanderson 
Brothers Steel Company of Syracuse, 
with which he continued for several 
years. In 1902 he was made manager of 
the experimental department of the 
Crucible Steel Company of America, and 
three years later became sales manager 
of the same corporation, in its Syracuse 
branch. The Sanderson Brothers Works 
had become a part of the Crucible Steel 
Company of America, and in 1908 Mr. 



French was made manager of this estab- 
lishment, becoming a director of the 
Crucible Steel Company of America in 
1915. Thus, in a period of eighteen 
years, he rose from a comparatively sub- 
ordinate position in the steel manufac- 
ture to one of considerable prominence 
and responsibility. He is interested in 
other business interests in Syracuse, in- 
cluding the Trust & Deposit Company of 
Onondaga, of which he is a director; is 
president of the Orange Publishing Com- 
pany and a director of the Railway Roller 
Bearing Company of Syracuse. In 1914, 
in recognition of his work in metallurgy, 
he received from Syracuse University the 
degree of Doctor of Science. For two 
years, 1914 and 1915, he was a member of 
the Iron and Steel Standards committee of 
the Society of Automobile Engineers, and 
has been actively identified with various 
important advances in the art of steel 
making, especially in connection with 
special steels for automobile purposes. 
Mr. French is identified with numerous 
clubs and social organizations, including 
the University Club, of Syracuse ; is vice- 
president of the Technology Club of that 
city ; director of the Onondaga Country 
Club ; trustee of Syracuse University, be- 
ing secretary of the executive committee 
of the board ; a member of the Iron and 
Steel Institute of Great Britain, and hon- 
orary member of Phi Beta Kappa, Syra- 
cuse. He is a member of the Sons of the 
American Revolution ; of the Citizens' 
Club of Syracuse ; Central City Lodge, 
No. 305, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Chamber of Commerce ; member of the 
official board of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church of that city ; Hunting 
and Fishing Club of the Nine Lakes 
(Northern Quebec), and a charter mem- 
ber of the Billy Sunday Business Men's 
Club of Syracuse. His greatest pleasure 
and recreation are found in fishing, and 
197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



every summer he visits Canada to indulge 
in his favorite sport. He is an expert fly 
fisherman, and does not indulge in any 
other form of this sport. He has a sum- 
mer residence at Tully Lake Park, New 
York. 

He married. September 23, 1896, 
Frances Cooper Smith, of Oswego, and 
they have children: Grace Mansfield, 
born 1897; Helen Cooper, 1899; Frances 
Elizabeth, 1900; Sarah Douglas, 1910; 
Edmund Leavenworth, Jr., 1912. 



ESTABROOK, Henry Dodge, 
Lawyer. 

Henry Dodge Estabrook brings to the 
practice of his profession a judicial mind, 
well cultivated, and with faculties inher- 
ited from worthy ancestors, whose name 
he has honored. The name of Estabrook 
is an old one in this country, coming 
from Middlesex county, England, to New 
England, in 1660. Joseph Estabrook, the 
founder of the family, entered Harvard 
College immediately after his arrival in 
New England, and graduated in 1664. 
Soon afterward he was ordained as a 
colleague of Rev. Edward Bulkeley, of 
Concord, Massachusetts, whom he suc- 
ceeded on the latter's death, in 1696. He 
continued pastor until his death, Septem- 
ber 16, 171 1. Such was his character as 
a plain, remarkable and persuasive 
preacher, and a kind friend of his flock, 
that he was generally known as "The 
Apostle." He refused invitations to pre- 
side over churches in Boston and else- 
where, his only outside service being 
that of chaplain of the Massachusetts 
Legislature. He married. May 20, 1668, 
at Watertown, Mary, daughter of Cap- 
tain Hugh Mason, the Indian fighter, and 
his wife Esther. She was born December 
18, 1640, and was the mother of six chil- 
dren. The third son, Samuel Estabrook, 



born June 7, 1764, in Concord, graduated 
from Harvard College in 1696, was assist- 
ant to his father, and was ordained first 
pastor of the church at Canterbury, Con- 
necticut, June 13, 171 1, and there served 
until his death, June 26, 1727. In 1718 
he preached the election sermon before 
the Massachusetts Legislature. He mar- 
ried, March 3, 1713, Rebecca Hobart 
(same family as Hubbard), daughter of 
Rev. Nehemiah and Sarah (Jackson) 
Hobart, of Newton, Massachusetts, 
granddaughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, of 
Hingham. She survived him six months. 
Their eldest child, Nehemiah Estabrook, 
born April i, 1715, in Canterbury, owned 
a farm near Mansfield Center, Connecti- 
cut, where he was deacon of the church 
and prominent in civil affairs. After 1770 
he removed to Lebanon, New Hampshire. 
He married (second) October 18, 1744, 
Abigail, daughter of Deacon Experience 
Porter. She died at Mansfield, December 
7, 1770. Their second son, Experience 
Estabrook, was born June 3, 1751, in 
Mansfield, graduated from Dartmouth 
College in 1776, and received the degree 
of Doctor of Divinity. For several years 
he labored as a Congregational clergy- 
man in Western New York, and was sub- 
sequently successively pastor at Thorn- 
ton, Francestown and Meriden, New 
Hampshire, and died at Bath, in that 
State, in February, 1799. He married 
Jedidah Willey, of a New Hampshire 
family. Their eldest son, Seth Willey 
Estabrook, born 1785, was a farmer and 
miller in Alden, Erie county. New York, 
where he died in 1840. He married, April 
19, 1812, at Lebanon, New Hampshire, 
Hannah, daughter of Moses and Hannah 
(Alden) Hebard, a descendant of John 
Alden of the "Mayflower." The town of 
Alden in New York was named for Han- 
nah Alden. The eldest son of Seth W. 
Estabrook, Experience, was born April 



liXCYCLOrEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



30, 1813, in Lebanon, read law in Buffalo, 
New York, and graduated from the law 
school of Marshall College in 1839. I" 
1840 he began to practice law in Geneva, 
Wisconsin, and he was a delegate to the 
Second Constitutional Convention which 
framed the organic law under which that 
State was admitted to the Union in 1848. 
In 185 1 he was a representative in the 
State Legislature, and was Attorney- 
General of the State in 1852. Soon after 
he removed to the territory of Nebraska, 
where he was United States District 
Attorney from 1854 to 1859, and was a 
leading lawyer of Omaha until his death. 
He married, April 15, 1844, in the town 
of Walworth, Walworth county, Wis- 
consin, Caroline Augusta Maxwell, 
daughter of Colonel James Maxwell, born 
August 17, 1823, in Tioga, Pennsylvania. 
Their daughter, Caroline Augusta Esta- 
brook, became the wife of Robert C. 
Clowry, long identified with the Western 
Union Telegraph Company in Omaha, 
later in Chicago, and finally president of 
the company, with headquarters in New 
York. The only son is the subject of the 
following biography. 

Henry Dodge Estabrook was born 
October 23, 1854, in Alden, New York, 
and was an infant when his parents 
settled in Omaha, Nebraska. There he 
was educated in the public schools, and 
graduated from the law department of 
Washington University in 1875. For 
twenty-one years thereafter he engaged 
in the practice of law at Omaha, and in 
1896 removed to Chicago, where he con- 
tinued in practice until 1902, as a member . 
of the firm of Lowden, Estabrook & Davis, 
and then located in New York City, where 
after serving for many years as solicitor 
to the Western Union Telegraph Com- 
pany he became a member of the law 
firm of Noble, Estabrook & McHarg. 



Mr. Estabrook is a member of the New 
York State Bar Association, and the 
American Bar Association, and is iden- 
tified with numerous clubs, including the 
Union League, Lawyers, Lotos, Metro- 
politan, Republican, Automobile Club of 
America, Ardley and Sleepy Hollow. 
His affiliation with the Union League and 
Republican clubs plaitily indicates his 
political association with the Republican 
party. His home is in Tarrytown, New 
York. 

He married, October 23, 1880, in 
Omaha, Clara Campbell, and they have 
a daughter, Blanche Deuel, born January 
I, 1881, in Omaha, now the wife of Karl 
G. Roebling, of Trenton, New Jersey. 



RILL, Willard A., 

Iiawyer, Public Official. 

A resident of Syracuse, New York, 
from his sixth year, a product of her 
public schools, a graduate from the law 
school of her great university, prominent 
in city politics and in fraternal life, Mr. 
Rill has for his adopted city all the love 
and devotion of a native son, for his 
memory recalls no other home. He is of 
French and German lineage, his French 
ancestor a soldier under Napoleon the 
Great, going down in defeat with his 
beloved commander at Waterloo. 

Willard A. Rill was born in Cicero, 
New York, June 17, 1874, son of Adrian 
L. and Christine (Snavlin) Rill, the 
former a school teacher, residents until 
1880 of Oswego county. New York. In 
that year the family located in Syracuse, 
where the son completed a course in the 
public schools, finishing at the high 
school. In 1896 he entered Columbia 
University, graduating with the class of 
1898, after which he took a post-graduate 
course at Syracuse University, a course 



199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which he completed in 1899, graduating 
with the degree of Bachelor of Law. He 
was admitted to the Onondaga county 
bar in October, 1899, began and has since 
continued in general practice in Syra- 
cuse, his law business extending to all 
State and Federal courts of the district. 
Mr. Rill is a Republican in politics and 
has ever been active and influential in the 
local affairs of his party. In 1909 he was 
elected supervisor from the Nineteenth 
Ward of the city of Syracuse, and in 191 1 
was elected president of the Common 
Council, serving two terms, then refusing 
a third term. He has always given public 
aflfairs much of his time and the best of 
his ability. Since 191 1 he has been chair- 
man of the Republican County Commit- 
tee, but has steadfastly refused the many 
ofifers made to make him party candidate 
for different offices. He prefers to serve 
his party and city in private capacity, 
taking the just view that the interested, 
thoughtful private citizen is of greater 
value to the State than the office seeker, 
ever "with an ax to grind." Mr. Rill is 
a power in party councils and as chair- 
man of the county committee wields wide 
influence, influence used solely to further 
party interests, never for his own bene- 
fit. He is a past master of Central City 
Lodge, No. 305, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, holding the office of master during 
the year 1910, and by virtue of his office 
a member of the Grand Lodge of the 
State of New York, holding in that body 
membership on the committee on de- 
ceased brethren. In Scottish Rite Ma- 
sonry he has attained the thirty-second 
degree, belonging to Syracuse Con- 
sistory. 

In 1902 he married Lillian G. Draw- 
bridge, by which marriage he has two 
children : Elizabeth C, born September 
2, 1905, and Willard A., Jr., born August 
17, 1910. 



WARD, Brig.-Gen. Thomas, 

Army Officer, Military Instructor. 

After more than forty years of service 
in the United States army, which in- 
cluded the latter half of the Civil War, 
Brigadier-General Thomas Ward, now a 
resident of Rochester, New York, can 
look back over a lifetime of service to his 
country and devotion to the Stars and 
Stripes. He was born at West Point, 
New York, March 18, 1839. It is scarcely 
to be wondered at that one, reared in 
such an atmosphere and environment as 
that of West Point, and who reached his 
young manhood in such stirring times as 
the years immediately preceding the 
Civil War, should be fired by a patriotic 
zeal, and should decide upon a military 
career. His parents were Bryan and 
Eliza (Henry) Ward. Bryan Ward died 
in 1852, at the age of fifty-two years. He 
had been registrar of West Point Mili- 
tary Academy for many years, and was 
succeeded by his son William, who held 
the office for more than fifty years. Of 
his children we have on record: Lieu- 
tenant Matthew Henry Ward, a volun- 
teer in the Ninth Michigan Cavalry, who 
was promoted at the close of the war to 
the Second Regular Artillery, and died 
soon after the close of the war from a 
disease contracted while in service ; 
Philip W. Ward, enlisted, was with 
Burnside's Cavalry, and died at the close 
of the war from exposure and disease 
contracted on the field ; Bryan Ward, Jr., 
nursed his brother, Brigadier-General 
Thomas Ward, through an attack of 
typhoid fever, contracted the disease, and 
died at the early age of sixteen years. 

Brigadier-General Thomas Ward re- 
ceived a thorough and careful prepara- 
tory education, then entered the United 
States Military Academy at West Point, 
from which he was graduated in 1863. 




y^^adc^- y^^.a/ JA 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was commissioned second lieutenant 
of the First Regiment of Artillery, June 
II, 1863. For gallantry displayed at Cold 
Harbor he was brevetted first lieutenant, 
June 3, 1864; July 18, of the same year, 
he was promoted to a first lieutenancy ; 
Alarch 13, 1865, he was brevetted captain 
for gallant and meritorious service dur- 
ing the war, and was recommended, April 
2^, 1866, by General James H. Wilson, his 
(.ommanding general in the field, fcr tht 
brevet of major, "for bravery of the 
highest degree, zeal and good manage- 
ment, during the entire service with me 
and particularly during the rapid anl 
exhausting marches and fights incidental 
to operations against the South Side and 
Danville railroad, known as 'Wilson's 
Raid,' June 21 to July i, 1864." In this 
connection the following quotation from 
the official records will be of interest : 
"Captain Ward was recommended for an 
additional brevet by his commanding 
general, for bravery, zeal and good man- 
agement during the rapid and exhausting 
marches and fights incidental to operr 
ations against the South Side and Dan- 
ville railroads, Virginia ;" but on account 
of a blunder the paper was filed in the 
War Department without further action 
at the time, and the error was only dis- 
covered by accident twenty-three years 
later, as the following correspondence 
will show. General Wilson received a 
letter from the Adjutant-General's Office, 
War Department, under date of March 
23, 1889, inviting his attention to the 
following endorsement : 

Wilmington, Delaware, April 27, 1866. 
Respectfully forwarded. I take pleasure in 
saying that the conduct of Captain Ward during 
his entire service with me and particularly during 
the rapid and exhausting marches and fights in- 
cidental to operations against the South Side and 
Danville railroads was in the highest degree 



commendable for bravery, zeal and good manage- 
ment. To my personal knowledge, the abandon- 
ment of his guns was entirely unavoidable and 
due to the utter exhaustion of his horses rather 
than to anything else whatever. 

I take pleasure in recommending him for the 
brevet of captain. 

(Signed) J. H. WasoN, 
Captain Engineers and 
Brevet Brigadier-General, U. S. A. 

Stockbridge, Wilmington, Delaware, 
March 24, 1889. 
My Dear Major: It gives me very great pleas- 
ure to say in reply to your letter of yesterday, 
that I of course intended to recommend you for 
the brevet of Major instead of Captain, when you 
actually held that rank in the line, and now I 
hasten to enclose a letter to the Adjutant General 
correcting as far as possible the blunder into 
which I fell in my endorsement of April 27, 1866. 
Regretting more than I can find words to ex- 
press, that I should have made such a palpable 
mistake, and that it was not discovered and cor- 
rected sooner, I am. 

Cordially your friend, 
(Signed) James H. Wilson. 

Wilmington, Del., March 24, 1889. 
To the Adjutant General, 

War Department, Washington, D. C. : 

Sir: Referring to a certain statement made by 
Major (then Captain) Thomas Ward in 1866 in 
regard to his military history, and also to my en- 
dorsement thereon, dated April 27, 1866, in which 
I recommended Captain Ward for the brevet of 
Captain in the United States Army, when he held 
at the time that rank in the Artillery, I beg to say 
that my intention was to recommend him for the 
brevet of Major and to request that this state- 
ment, in justice to Major Ward, who was a most 
gallant and meritorious officer, be filed with the 
original document now in the possession of your 
department. 

Deeply regretting that the obvious error has re- 
mained so long uncorrected and trusting that my 



request 
to be, 



n be complied with, I have the honor 

Very respectfully, 
Your obedient servant, 
(Signed) James H. Wilson, 
Late Major General Volunteers and 
Brevet Major General, U. S. A. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



War Department, 
Adjutant General's Office, 
April 13, 1889. 
The foregoing request of General Wilson has 
been complied with. His statement is to be filed 
with the original letter and Major Ward fur- 
nished an official copy. 

(Signed) R. C. Drum, 
Adjutant General. 

After the Civil War, General Ward, as 
an officer of the regular army, was 
stationed at various posts, the following 
instances being of sufficient interest to 
note : 

General Ward was in command of the 
battery encamped in Annunciation 
Square, New Orleans, Louisiana, from 
May 10 to 20, 1873, suppressing political 
riots, and in garrison at Jackson Bar- 
racks, New Orleans, until July 7, 1873. 
November i, 1876, he was commissioned 
captain. He commanded Battery D, 
First Artillery, during the strikes and 
railroad riots from August i to 27, 1877, 
at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and at 
Reading, Pennsylvania, from August 28 
to October 24, of the sam,e year. He was 
promoted to major and assistant adjutant- 
general, June 28, 1884; lieutenant-colonel 
and assistant adjutant-general, August 
31, 1893; colonel and assistant adjutant- 
general, September 11, 1897; adjutant- 
general, headquarters of the army. Au- 
gust 25, 1900; brigadier-general. United 
States Army, July 22, 1902 ; and in June, 
1907, he was appointed president of the 
board of visitors to the United States 
Military Academy at West Point. 

In 1873-77 he was Professor of Military 
Science in Union College, Schenectady, 
New York, and that institution conferred 
on him the honorary degree of Master of 
Arts. He belongs to the Phi Beta Kappa 
and Sigma Phi Alpha college fraternities ; 
member of the Loyal Legion and the 
Grand Army of the Republic ; Metro- 
politan Club, at Washington, D. C. ; Fort- 



nightly Club of Oswego; National Geo- 
graphical Society; Society of American 
Wars ; Genesee Valley Club ; and affiliated 
with the Masonic fraternity at Schenec- 
tady, while he was at Union College. 
He is very refined, quiet and unassuming 
in manner; of pleasing personality, and 
has won a large circle of loyal friends. 
He is of tall and commanding presence, 
well preserved, and has never used liquor 
of any kind. 

General Ward's record as a military 
man reflects credit on his native State. 
He was on duty at Vancouver Barracks, 
Washington, as adjutant-general of the 
Department of the Columbia from 1889 
to 1893, which included Alaska. During 
that time General Ward toured Alaska 
to Chilkat and took with him his two 
sons — the elder, who is now Major Philip 
R. Ward, and Thomas, Jr. Next he was 
stationed as adjutant-general of the 
Department of the Columbia, with head- 
quarters at Denver, 1893-96. He was on 
General Hancock's staflf as captain, at 
Governor's Island, when Hancock ran for 
the office of President of the United 
States. At that time General Ward was 
inspector-general of the Department of 
the East, which took in the New England 
coast and as far west as Sault St. Marie, 
and as far south as Florida. He retired 
from military service in 1902, and after a 
short residence in Oswego, became a 
resident of Rochester, New York, where 
he has lived ever since. 

General Ward married, April 20, 1870, 
in Oswego, New York, Katherine L. 
Mott, born April 17, 1851, died November 
II, 1914. She was a daughter of Thomas 
S. Mott, one of the leading politicians of 
New York State in his day, the right 
hand man of Senator Conklin, and presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of 
Oswego. General and Mrs. Ward had 
children: Major Philip R., was gradu- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ated from West Point, and is now in the 
Coast Artillery, commanding Fort 
Preble ; Bessie DeWolfe, married Edwin 
Allen Stebbins, of Rochester; Katherine 
Alott, at home ; Thomas, Jr., midshipman 
in the United States Navy, of whom 
further; John Mott, now with Dr. Fitch, 
engaged in Red Cross work in France at 
the hospital at Yvetot ; two sons who 
died in childhood. 

Thomas Ward, Jr., was a worthy scion 
of his family, which has given so many 
brave men to the world. He was a hand- 
some young man, of fine military bearing, 
and would, no doubt, have added still 
more to the prestige of the family name 
had his career not been cut short at so 
early an age while in the brave discharge 
of his duty. Following are a few extracts 
and copies of letters telling graphicalh 
the story of his tragic death : 

From the "Saturday Globe," Utica, 
New York, April i6, 1904: 

The worst catastrophe in the recent history of 
the American Navy was that at Pensacola, Flor- 
ida, Wednesday, when five charges of smokeless 
powder exploded and killed thirty-three men, of 
whom five were officers, besides injuring five 
others, two of them fatally. A miracle alone pre- 
vented this accident in peaceful waters from 
paralleling the horror of war in Asiatic seas on 
the same day. Within a few feet of the second 
explosion was a magazine containing thousands 
of pounds of high explosives. Had this been 
ignited, the ship and her crew of six hundred 
would have gone to the bottom. This fortunate 
intervention of Providence and the heroic conduct 
of her commander. Captain William S. Cowles, 
are the two bright spots in the black record of 
destruction, though the noble actions of some of 
the other officers should not be overlooked. The 
after twelve-inch guns were being fired. Numerous 
shots had been fired and the left gun was being 
loaded, one section, two hundred pounds of 
powder, having been rammed home and the sec- 
ond section having cleared the hoisting car. At 
this instant a wind from off shore blew a portion 
of the flame from the muzzle back into the breech 
where the charge was being rammed home. This 
ignited the charge, there was an explosion and 



some of the burning stuff dropped into the han- 
dling room below, whose four charges were ready 
to be hoisted. These exploded. The flames were 
soon leaping from every portion of the turret, 
and the fumes from the powder overcame the 
men who sought to extinguish them. Meanwhile, 
terrible scenes were witnessed in the turret and 
in the handling room. * * * When the bodies 
were finally taken from the turret and the room 
below, they were perfectly nude, every strip of 
clothing having been burned off. They were 
hardly recognizable. The flesh hung from their 
bodies in strips and would drop ofi^ when touched. 
The twenty-five men of the turret were found 
lying in a heap just under the exit. Two separate 
explosions had occurred, which accounts for the 
position of the men. The first explosion in the 
turret did not cause any deaths, and every man 
started for the exit to get fresh air. They had 
just reached it when the second and more terrible 
explosion, directly beneath, sent the flames up 
through the exit through which they were en- 
deavoring to pass. * * * Thomas Ward, Jr., 
one of the officers killed by these explosions, was 
twenty-one years old, and was appointed to the 
Naval Academy at Annapolis, from Utica, New 
York. He was graduated a little more than a 
year ago, and when the Missouri went into com- 
mission, was placed on her as one of the officers. 

Navy Department, 
Bureau of Navigation, 
Washington, April 14, 1904. 
General Thomas Ward, U. S. Army, 
Oswego, N. Y. : 
The President directs me to convey to you his 
sympathy in your bereavement in the death of 
your son, while in the faithful discharge of his 
duty. 

Permit me at the same time to express my own 
sympathy and to assure you that you have that 
of the entire Navy. 

(Signed) William H. Moody, 
Secretary. 

Navy Department. 
Washington, June 9- I904- 
To Brigadier General Thomas Ward, 
United States Army: 
Sir : The Department is in receipt of a report 
from the commanding officer of the Missouri, 
referring to the accident in the after turret of 
the vessel on April 13th last, in which it is stated 
that J. W. McDade, ordinary seaman, the one 
living witness to the occurrence said in conver- 
sation with Midshipman Ward's messmates, that 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



when the explosion took place he remembers 
Midshipman Ward rushed over to the door of 
the twelfth magazine in which he (McDade) was 
at the time and gave some order about the maga- 
zine, but what he said he could not hear and con- 
sequently he made no mention of it before the 
court. 

He further stated that at the instant the flame 
enveloped all and that young Ward fell and lost 
his life at the door of the magazine (see note). 

Upon further questioning by the commanding 
officer, McDade stated that while he remembered 
Midshipman Ward rushing over to the magazine 
door, he did not hear what he said. 

The letter concludes : 

Believing the Department should know every 
detail officially as to how those died who lost 
their lives at their posts of duty, this incident 
shows that Midshipman Ward was himself alive 
to the fact of the very great danger, rushed at 
once, closed the magazine door and saved the 
ship. 

I communicate this to you with sincere sympa- 
thy, believing that it will help to relieve your sor- 
row; to know your son's unhesitating faithful- 
ness to his duty at the cost of his life. 

A copy of this letter will be placed with Mid- 
shipman Ward's record in the Navy Department, 
and another copy will be sent to the Commander- 
in-Chief, North American Fleet, for publication 
to the fleet, and to be read on the quarter deck of 
the United States Ship Missouri at muster. 

I have the honor to remain, 

Your very respectfully, 
(Signed) William H. Moody, 
Secretary. 

In 1910 the class of 1903 placed in Ban- 
croft Hall, Annapolis, a tablet inscribed 
as follows-. 

IN MEMORIAM 

To 

THOMAS WARD 

and 

WM. E. T. NEUMANN 

United States Navy 

Class of 1903 

They died April 13, 1904, as 

a Result of an Explosion 

in the after turret of 

the U. S. S. Missouri during 

record target practice 



while in the performance 

of duty. 

ERECTED 

BY THEIR CLASSMATES. 



NOTE.— The do 



undoubtedly t 
reported at the 
saved in the m 
closed upon hi 



Young Ward 



MERCER, Alfred, M. D., 

Physician, Philanthropist. 

Alfred Mercer, M. D., late of Syracuse, 
New York, a son of William Mercer, who 
died in England in 185 1, and his wife, 
Mary (Dobell) Mercer, who died in Eng- 
land in 1863, was born in High Halden, 
Kent, England, November 14, 1820, came 
to America with his parents in 1832. and 
died in his ninety-fourth year, at his resi- 
dence, No. 324 Montgomery street, Syra- 
cuse, New York, August 5, 1914. His 
parents were almost sixty years of age 
when they came to this country, were 
imbued with the English social and busi- 
ness habits, and the change to America 
proved too great for their comfort or 
enjoyment. They therefore returned to 
England the following spring, but believ- 
ing that this country offered better 
advantages than England for an am- 
bitious young man, they left their 
youngest son, Alfred, in America with an 
elder brother, who had already resided 
here several years. 

The youth spent two years at the 
Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, studied 
medicine in the office of Dr. John F. 
Whitbeck, in Lima, Livingston county, 
and was graduated from the Geneva 
Medical College in 1845. I" 1846 he 
visited his parents in England, and 
devoted a few months to the study of 
medicine and surgery in the hospitals of 
London and Paris. Returning to Amer- 
ica in 1847, he opened an office in Mil- 



I 




UM^l^ '^'^UCJAj 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



waukee, Wisconsin, but in 1848 returned 
to this State and practiced in Livingston 
and Monroe counties until 1853, when he 
settled permanently in Syracuse, where 
he became one of the best known and 
most trusted physicians and surgeons in 
the Empire State. 

It was one of Dr. Mercer's pleasures 
to relate, and most entertainingly, his 
early experiences. He traveled by boat 
on the Erie canal when Syracuse was 
only a salt manufacturing locality. He 
spoke of the hardships which physicians 
of the early times were called upon to 
endure. Dr. Mercer was the first phy- 
sician in Central New York, in about 
i860, to recognize the value of, and to 
use, the microscope as an aid to his pro- 
fessional work. From 1864 to 1866 he 
was health officer of Syracuse. Upon the 
removal of the Geneva Medical College 
to Syracuse, in 1872, when it became 
a department of Syracuse University, he 
was made a member of the faculty, in 
which he long occupied the chaJr of 
Minor and Clinical Surgery. In the 
faculty he strongly advocated higher 
standards in medical education. Sub- 
sequently he was for many years Profes- 
sor of State Medicine and later Emeritus 
Professor of State Medicine, of which 
chair he was the incumbent at the time 
of his death. From its inception for many 
years he was acting surgeon, and later up 
to the time of his death consulting sur- 
geon, to the Hospital of the House of the 
Good Shepherd. He was president of the 
Syracuse Board of Health from 1882 to 
1889 and served as New York State Com- 
missioner of Health from 1884 to 1890. He 
was a member of both the American and 
British Medical associations. He was also 
a m.ember of, and held various ofificial posi- 
tions, in the New York State Medical Soci- 
ety, the Central New York Medical Asso- 
ciation, the Onondaga Medical Society, 
and the Syracuse Academy of Medicine. 



Dr. Mercer was a conscientious, kind 
and self-sacrificing practitioner and 
student, cheerfully doing no little of hij 
work without pecuniary reward. He was 
beloved by a host of patrons. He at- 
tended his first thousand cases of labor 
without losing a mother or child. He 
performed many of the major surgical 
operations before the days of asepsis 
with nearly, if not quite, as successful 
results as are attained to-day. He wrote 
and spoke often and vigorously and con- 
vincingly on questions of public health. 
He contributed his share in the struggle 
which resulted in bringing to Syracuse 
one of the best water supplies in the 
world, that from Skaneateles Lake. He 
responded with much painstaking to 
occasional requests to present addresses, 
historical and scientific, at anniversaries 
of medical societies or of the college. 
He also contributed papers to the 
periodical literature of his profession. 

When he had rounded out his nine- 
tieth year, a dinner was tendered him by 
the medical fraternity and citizens of 
Syracuse, at which they vied with each 
other to do honor to the man who had 
done so much for humanity and for the 
people of Syracuse in particular. Letters 
and messages came from near and far on 
this occasion. Appreciation of his work 
was thus heartily and lovingly shown. 
When Dr. Mercer died, it appeared as if 
a personal loss had come to many a resi- 
dent in the city. The expressions of grief 
were sincere and heartfelt. 

A hint as to the breadth of Dr. Mercer's 
thought and sympathies in politics and 
religion and his practical kindness of 
heart may be gleaned from the following 
provisions found in his will: "To keep 
green in memory the heroism of the men 
who rescued Jerry, men who could not 
look on a slave, I give six hundred dol- 
lars to the Onondaga Historical Associ- 
ation to be known as the Jerry Rescue 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fund, the interest qf which shall be used 
every five years to procure some person 
to deliver a Jerry Rescue Oration on 
October i. * * * There is one true 
charity, providing for helpless children." 
Following this is a bequest of a house 
and lot to the Onondaga Orphan's Home. 
The proceeds of the sale of this property 
became a nucleus of an endowment fund 
which has by later additions from others 
become a very substantial sum. He also 
left an envelope addressed to his son 
which contained shares of New York 
Central Railroad Company stock, with 
instructions for their division among 
Catholic orphans, Jewish orphans, and 
the aged women cared for by the Syra- 
cuse Home Association. Soon after the 
death of his son Fremont, the boy's 
money in the Onondaga County Savings 
Bank was given to the Onondaga 
Orphans' Home as a fund, the interest of 
which now annually buys books for the 
children. 

Hr. Mercer married (first) in 1848, 
Delia, eldest daughter of Aaron Lam- 
phier, Esq., of Lima, New York, who died 
February 14, 1887, leaving a son, Dr. 
A. Clififord Mercer, mentioned below, 
and a daughter, Ina, now the wife of 
Professor Lepine H. Rice, of Syracuse. 
Dr. Mercer married (second) July 25, 
1888, Mrs. Esther A. (Morehouse) Esty, 
of Ithaca, New York. Dr. Mercer's 
other children were Eliza, who died in 
1855, in her fifth year; Charles Dobell, 
who died in 1884, in his twenty-sixth 
year; Fremont, who died in 1874, in his 
twelfth year ; and Mary, who died in 1869, 
in her third year. 

We cannot bring this short review of 
the life of Dr. Mercer to a more fitting 
conclusion than by quoting from a 
memorial tribute by Dr. John L. Heft'ron, 
which a])peared in the "New York State 
Journal of Medicine," in November, 1914: 



Dr. Mercer, of all men I ever knew, best illus- 
trated the virtues of the middle course in life so 
exquisitely voiced by Horace. He was of medium 
height and of medium weight. He had strongly 
chiseled features, the English clear complexion, 
kindly blue eyes, lips red as a cherry, and ruddy 
brown beard and hair, luxuriant and but slightly 
grey at the time of his death. * * * He had 
an inquiring mind, capable of accurate if not 
rapid observations, and he had perfect intellectual 
poise. He was rarely enthusiastic, but he had a 
deep and abiding interest in every subject worthy 
a man's thought and action. His industry was 
indefatigable and was always guided by sound 
judgment. He was by nature temperate in all 
things, and was never tempted to excess of any 
kind, excepting perhaps work in younger and 
middle life. It was but natural that such a man 
should accumulate a treasure house of knowledge 
and should mature judgments that were sound 
and increasingly convincing. * * * He early 
learned the withering effects of dogma, and was 
one of the earnest advocates of intellectual and 
spiritual liberty of thought. * * * Dr. Mer- 
cer was not narrow. The interests outside of his 
chosen profession were many and various, how 
various only those most intimate with him can 
judge. * * * I never came into Dr. Mercer's 
presence in his office, in his home, in the college, 
or in medical meetings, but what I was conscious 
of being near one who radiated truth and justice 
and fraternal love. * * * Here is a man 
whose life is a positive inspiration to everyone of 
us. He had no extraordinary gifts of either 
body or of mind, but he had perfect self-control. 
He ordered his daily life with judgment, not with 
caprice. He weighed the value of things, and de- 
veloped the keenest perception of the relative 
importance of even the minor things in life. He 
cultivated methods, and might have been one who 
inspired the present movement for efficiency. He 
was industrious, and did not allow himself to 
waste a moment. He cared for his body with in- 
telligence, by correct habits of eating and by 
observing a due proportion between work and re- 
laxation. He looked ahead and kept his knowl- 
edge up to the minute. 



MERCER, A. Clifford, M. D.. F. R. M. S., 
Physician, Scientist. 

A. Clifford Mercer, M. D., F. R. M. S., 
son of the preceding, was born at Syra- 
cuse, New York, July 5, 1855. He at- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tended the public schools of his native 
city from i860 to 1875, then matriculated 
at Syracuse University from which he 
was graduated in the class of 1878 with 
the degree of Doctor of Aledicine. He 
was a post-graduate student at St. 
Thomas' Hospital, London, England, in 
1878-79-80. 

He was instructor in pathology in the 
College of Medicine, Syracuse Univer- 
sity, from 1880 to 1886, and Professor of 
Pathology from 1886 to 1893. He was a 
student and held clinical appointments in 
the Great Ormond Street Hospital for 
Sick Children, London, England, in 1890 
and 1891, was Professor of Clinical 
Pediatrics in the College of Medicine, 
Syracuse University, from 1893 to 1904, 
and since 1904 has been Professor of 
Pediatrics. For seventeen years he was a 
member and secretary of the medical and 
surgical staff of the Hospital of the House 
of the Good Shepherd. He is consulting 
physician at the Children's Clinic of the 
Syracuse Free Dispensary and to the 
Babies' Summer Camp of the Visiting 
Nurses' Association, and physician to the 
Children's Pavilion of the Syracuse Hos- 
pital for Women and Children. 

He was for years treasurer of the Col- 
lege of Medicine and of its Alumni Asso- 
ciation, and of the Medical Association of 
Central New York. He has served as 
president of the American Microscopical 
Society, the Central New York Micro- 
scopical Club, the Onondaga Medical So- 
ciety, the Syracuse Medical Association, 
the Syracuse Academy of Medicine, the 
Milk Commission of the Onondaga 
Medical Society (responsible, under New 
York State law, for the maintenance of 
national standard requirements in the 
production and transportation of certified 
milk) and the board of managers of the 
Onondaga Sanatorium for Tuberculosis. 
He has repeatedly served on public health 



comjnittees of medical societies and the 
Syracuse Chamber of Commerce, and is a 
member of the advisory committee of the 
Syracuse Bureau of Health. He was 
health officer of Syracuse for three years 
(1883-85). The selection of an exception- 
ally beautiful and suitable site for the 
Onondaga Sanatorium for Tuberculosis, 
which for a long time met with wide and 
bitter opposition, was finally brought 
about largely by the incessant work of 
Dr. Mercer and his professional co- 
workers. 

He is also a life fellow of the Royal 
Microscopical Society, London, England, 
a member of the American Association 
for the Advancement of Science, the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, Alpha Omega 
Alpha (honorary medical society). Na- 
tional Association for the Study and Pre- 
vention of Tuberculosis, National Asso- 
ciation of Medical Milk Commissions, 
New York State Medical Society, Central 
New York Medical Association, Thurs- 
day Night Club (medical), Onondaga 
Historical Association, Syracuse Acad- 
em,y of Science, University Club and 
Citizens' Club. He is an honorary mem- 
ber of the Syracuse Botany Club and 
corresponding member of the Rochester 
(New York) Academy of Science. 

When Dr. Mercer was president of the 
American Microscopical Society a sketch 
of his life work by Professor S. H. Gage, 
of Cornell University, appeared in the 
"American Monthly Microscopical Jour- 
nal," February, 1896, from which the fol- 
lowing are extracts : 

* * * Thus surrounded by the microscopical 
influences of his father's office, enjoying the ac- 
quaintance of the famous optician, Charles A. 
Spencer, and Spencer's Syracuse friend, Willard 
Twitchell, it was only natural that very early 
there was awakened in the boy the keenest in- 
terest in the microscope and its revelations. In 
the Syracuse high school in 1874 and 1875 an 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



added interest in this and in photography de- 
veloped under the practical teaching of Dr. Wal- 
ter A. Brownell. From this period may be dated 
Dr. Mercer's career in photo-micrography, the 
first apparatus being constructed by Charles A. 
Spencer after Mercer's drawings. His interest 
in photo-micrography has never flagged and 
many members of the American Microscopical 
Society feel under deep obligation to him for help 
and suggestions. He has not only used this beau- 
tiful art for scientific purposes but has made ex- 
cellent use of it in demonstrating the truth of his 
conclusions in courts of justice. 

After receiving the degree of M. D. from Syra- 
cuse University in 1878, he spent about two and 
one-half years in St. Thomas Hospital and Medi- 
cal School in London, England, where he was a 
pupil in pathology of Dr. W. S. Greenfield, now 
professor of pathology in the University of 
Edinburgh. After becoming assistant to Dr. 
Greenfield in the Brown Institution, Dr. Mercer 
cut and mounted the first sections of tuberculous 
joints studied in England and furnished the ma- 
terial described by Mr. John Croft in Vol. x.xxii 
(1881) of the transactions of the Pathological 
Society of London. 

While in London he became acquainted with 
Dr. Lionel S. Beale, and revised for him "Part 
v., On Taking Photographs of Microscopic 
Objects" of his well-known book, "How to Work 
With the Microscope." On Dr. Beale's nomina- 
tion he was made a fellow of the Royal Micro- 
scopical Society. He found a warm personal 
friend in the late Dr. John Matthews, editor of 
the second edition of the "Preparation and 
Mounting of Microscopical Objects," by Thomas 
Davis, and always recalls with gratitude the 
demonstration which Mr. John E. Ingpen gave 
him of the Abbe diflfraction theory of microscopic 
vision. This was before the theory had become 
generally known to the microscopical world. 

During this period and a subsequent visit to 
London for professional study. Dr. Mercer had 
the good fortune to be brought in friendly rela- 
tions with Dr. R. L. Maddox, Mr. E. M. Nelson 
and Mr. Andrew Pringle, England's most skill- 
ful photo-micrographers. With a mind prepared 
and open as was Dr. Mercer's the association 
with these masters of the photo-micrographic art 
could only be productive of good, and our own 
country has been the gainer thereby, for Dr. 
Mercer is most generous in freely giving. To 
Dr. Maddox, the discoverer of the present dry 
plate process in photography, he is indebted for 
a share of the suggestive, helpful and generous 
correspondence with which that Nestor of photo- 



micrography has, for many years, favored his 
fellow workers on both sides of the Atlantic — 
with its warmth of friendship and stimulus to 
progressive work. 

********** 

He has been active in the practice of his pro- 
fession and has prepared papers which find an 
honored place in the medical literature of the 
country. He has served in various positions of 
honor and trust in medical societies thus showing 
that he possesses the esteem and confidence of 
his professional brethren. While he fills an 
honored place in the medical profession and his 
main energy and work lie in that direction his 
interests are very broad, and he has a keen appre- 
ciation of the ultimate gain to medicine of the 
pursuit of pure science, although the connection 
may seem remote to those who cannot see the 
invisible threads that bind all truth into a har- 
monious whole. He has also a keen love of na- 
ture for her own sake, and while studying for his 
degree in medicine took up the miscroscopical 
study of the mosses as a part of the work of the 
Syracuse Botanical Club, and later was elected 
an honorary member of that club. 

He became a member of the American Micro- 
scopical Society under its earlier name (American 
Society of Microscopists) in 1882. He has attended 
the majority of the annual meetings since then, 
often as the writer well knows at considerable 
inconvenience. He has furnished articles to the 
"Journal of the Royal Microscopical Society" and 
to photographic journals, and in nearly every 
volume of the proceedings of the society of which 
he is now president may be found one or more 
articles from his pen. The article in the proceed- 
ings for 1886 "Photo-micrograph versus Micro- 
photograph," furnished the information on which 
the definitions of the words in the Century Dic- 
tionary and in Dr. G. M. Gould's Illustrated Dic- 
tionary of Medicine are founded. The Syracuse 
solid watch glass for microscopical purposes de- 
signed by him finally solved the problem of a 
watch glass for the microscopist and there is 
hardly a histological or microscopical laboratory 
in the country that does not count these watch 
glasses as an indispensable part of its equipment. 

Dr. Mercer has also designed several 
pieces of apparatus which have been used 
in microscopical, photographic and x-ray 
work. He has also devoted considerable 
time to experimental work in photo- 
micrography and roentgenology and is 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the author of "An Experimental Study of 
Aperture as a Factor in Microscopic 
Vision," an expansion of his presidential 
address before the American Microscop- 
ical Society in 1896. In recent years his 
chief interest has been in pediatrics, 
diseases of infants and children, to which 
he has given most of his time and thought 
in college, hospital, dispensary and 
private practice. 



SKINNER, Charles Rufus, 

Journalist, Legislator, Educator. 

Charles Rufus Skinner was born at 
Union Square, Oswego county. New 
York, August 4, 1844, son of Avery and 
Charlotte Prior (Stebbins) Skinner, and 
a descendant of worthy New England 
ancestry. Avery Skinner was a native of 
New Hampshire, a farmer by occupation, 
settled in Watertown, New York, in 1816, 
from whence he removed to Oswego 
county. New York, in 1826. He was 
postm,aster at Union Square, which place 
he settled and name, for fifty years, hav- 
ing been appointed by John Quincy 
Adams. 

Charles Rufus Skinner was brought up 
on his father's farm, attended the district 
school in his native town until his six- 
teenth year, after which he accepted the 
position of teacher in a neighboring 
school, assisted in the work of the post 
office at Watertown, New York, and in 
various other ways obtained sufficient 
capital to enable him to pursue his educa- 
tion further. He became a student in the 
Clinton Liberal Institute, and later in the 
Mexico Academy, New York, from which 
he was graduated in 1866, the valedictor- 
ian of his class, and during the following 
year he acted as teacher in the same 
institution. In December, 1867, he went 
to New York City and took charge of the 
agency of the Walter A. Wood Mowing 

N Y-Vol IV-14 



and Reaping Machine Company, but re- 
mained only three years, his father being 
in such ill health that he was obliged to 
return home to manage the farm. In 
1870 he became a resident of Watertown, 
New York, and until 1874 was part owner, 
business manager and city editor of the 
Watertown "Daily Times and Reformer." 
He was a member of the Board of Educa- 
tion of Watertown from, 1875 to 1884; 
member of the New York Assembly from 
1876 to 1881 from Jefferson county, dur- 
ing which time he served as chairman of 
the committee on public printing and 
railroads, and as member of the commit- 
tees on cities, insurance, internal affairs, 
etc. In 1877 he introduced and pushed to 
its passage the bill prohibiting frequent 
changes in text-books in schools, and in 
1879 introduced a bill to reduce legislative 
expenses, and an amendment to the con- 
stitution to bring about biennial sessions 
of the Legislature. This resolution 
passed one Legislature, but in the follow- 
ing year was defeated in the Senate. 
This proposition was favored by Gov- 
ernor Cornell in his message of 1882, and 
urged by Governor Black in 1898. In 
1879-80 Mr. Skinner was active in advo- 
cating the anti-discrimination freight bill, 
and the measure for five-cent fares on the 
New York elevated railroads. In 1878 he 
served on a special committee of the 
Assembly to consider and report on the 
State normal schools. He was a member 
of the Forty-seventh and Forty-eighth 
Congresses, 1881-85, representing Jeffer- 
son, Lewis and Herkimer counties, where 
he was instrumental in securing the re- 
duction of letter postage from three 
to two cents, was the author of the bill 
providing for the special delivery system 
and the passage of the law giving letter 
carriers a vacation. He opposed the 
Chinese restrictive act, urging in a power- 
ful speech that the United States was 
209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bound to keep the terms of the treaty- 
made with China ; made speeches in favor 
of prompt action to suppress polygamy, 
and against the Morrison tariff bill in 
1883, and was active in all debates on 
post ofifice questions. In 1884 he was 
appointed on the board of visitors at 
West Point with General Rosecrans, 
Colonel Waring and others. In 1885, 
after his term in Congress expired, he 
edited the Watertown "Daily Repub- 
lican" and served in that capacity until 
January, 1886, and then for a short time 
was city editor of the Watertown "Daily 
Times." He was Deputy State Superin- 
tendent of Public Instruction from 1886 
to 1892 ; supervisor of teachers' institutes 
and training classes from 1892 to 1895; 
State Superintendent of Public Instruc- 
tion from April 7, 1895, to 1904, and was 
elected president of the National Educa- 
tion Association at its meeting in Buffalo 
in 1896. Dr. Skinner's administration as 
Superintendent of Public Instruction re- 
vealed a marked enthusiasm in the cause 
of popular education, a sincere devotion 
to its interests and forceful methods of 
promoting them. He was zealous in up- 
holding the integrity of his department 
against all assaults upon it and consist- 
ently advocated the placing of all tax- 
supported schools within its control. A 
few of the significant events of his tenure 
was the proposal of an educational quali- 
fication for school commissioners (not 
perfected) ; the fixing of the statutory 
school age at from five to eighteen years ; 
the observance, in 1895, of the centennial 
of the law establishing common schools ; 
the act of 1895 requiring the display of 
the "Stars and Stripes" upon the school- 
houses of the State ; the commemoration 
of the one hundredth birthday. May 14, 
1895, of the great educator, Horace 
Mann ; the judicial decision in the Water- 
vliet case, affirming the power of the 



State to compel a municipality, or school 
district, to provide and maintain ade- 
quate educational facilities, and forbid- 
ding teachers to wear sectarian dress in 
schools ; the satisfactory execution of the 
compulsory education law, enacted in 
1894; and the enlargement of the num- 
ber of State scholarships in Cornell Uni- 
versity from 128 to 150, to conform 
to the apportionment of assembly dis- 
tricts under the constitution of 1894. 
While State Superintendent, Dr. Skin- 
ner made educational visits and ad- 
dresses in every county of the State, 
and in many neighboring States. He 
served as assistant appraiser of the port 
of New York from 1906 to 191 1; was 
librarian of the New York Assembly, 
1914; and since 1915 has been legislative 
librarian in charge of a library formed by 
the consolidation of the Senate and As- 
sembly libraries. 

Dr. Skinner is a life member of the 
New York State Press Association, and 
has frequently been delegated to repre- 
sent it in the meetings of the National 
Editorial Association. He has been a 
member of the Fort Orange Club of 
Albany, the Republican Club of New 
York City, the Union League of Brooklyn 
and the Thousand Island Club of Alex- 
andria Bay. He was a trustee of St. 
Lawrence University and of the Albany 
Home School for the Deaf. He received 
the degrees : Master of Arts from Hamil- 
ton College, 1889; Doctor of Laws from 
Colgate University, 1895; Doctor of 
Literature from Tufts College, 1901. He 
is the author of: "Commercial Advan- 
tages of Watertown, New York," 1876; 
"New York Question Book," 1890; 
"Arbor Day Manual," 1891 ; "Manual of 
Patriotism for the Schools of New York," 
1900; and "The Bright Side," 1909. 

Dr. Skinner married, October 16, 1873, 
at Watertown, New York, Elizabeth 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Baldwin, daughter of David W. and 
Laura (Alerriman) Baldwin, of Water- 
town. Seven children have been added 
to his household, four sons and three 
daughters. Three sons and one daughter 
are living: Harold Baldwin and Charles 
Rufus, Jr., are connected with the New 
York Edison Company ; Albert Merriman 
is an architect in Watertown ; Alice died 
in 1882; Bessie, in 1889; a son died in 
infancy ; Elizabeth was married in Sep- 
tember, 1915, to Lieutenant Dana 
Palmer, of the Third United States In- 
fantry. 



HILL, David Jayne, 

Edncator, Diplomat, Historian. 

David Jayne Hill, distinguished as edu- 
cator, accomplished as diplomat, brilliant 
as orator and illustrious as author, was 
born in Plainfield, New Jersey, June 10, 
1850, son of the Rev. Daniel T. and Lydia 
Ann (Thompson) Hill, grandson of Isaac 
Hill, whose ancestors came from England 
about 1640. 

David Jayne Hill acquired his prelim- 
inary education in the public schools of 
his native town, and this knowledge was 
supplemented by a course at the Univer- 
sity of Lewisburg, Pennsylvania (now 
Bucknell) from which he was graduated 
in 1874, with the degree of A. B., receiv- 
ing the degree of A. M. from the same 
institution in 1877. Succeeding courses 
of study in the universities of Berlin and 
Paris, he became an instructor in Ancient 
Languages at Bucknell University ; was 
Crozer Professor of Rhetoric there from 
1877 until 1879; and president of the uni- 
versity from 1879 until 1888, attaining 
this position before he was thirty years 
of age. Therein, he was eminently suc- 
cessful in increasing the resources, at- 
tracting students, advancing the prestige 
of the institution, and securing for him- 



self a place among the leading educators 
of the land. In 1888, he was called to the 
presidency and the Burbank chair of In- 
tellectual and Moral Philosophy in the 
University of Rochester, as successor to 
Dr. Anderson. 

Dr. Hill's administration of this office 
was especially able and noteworthy. To 
wide knowledge and a signal faculty of 
imparting it, constraining the esteem of 
students, he added a gracious personality, 
winning their affection ; and, on the ad- 
ministrative side, kept the affairs of the 
institution in excellent order ; while out- 
side of his official duties, he gained a 
splendid reputation as a public speaker. 
A master of his themes and of the Eng- 
lish tongue, his addresses were compact, 
in clear and telling phrase, chaste and 
sparkling in wit. A reference to one of 
these is pertinent as relative to his future 
career. In the presidential campaign of 
1892, William McKinley spoke at a Re- 
publican meeting and was banqueted at 
the leading social club in Rochester, the 
principal speech at the latter gathering, 
aside from that of the guest of honor, 
being made by Dr. Hill, whose thought- 
ful and graceful remarks greatly im- 
pressed the coming president of five years 
later, initiated a cordial friendship be- 
tween the two, and was not without bear- 
ing upon the invitation to the university 
president to accept the second place in 
the State Department when McKinley 
had the opportunity to recognize Hill's 
ability as a publicist. 

Even before his Rochester residence, 
Dr. Hill had established a national repu- 
tation as an author. He published his 
"Elements of Rhetoric" in 1877, the 
"Science of Rhetoric" in 1886, and the 
"Elements of Psychology" in 1886 — all 
extensively adopted as text books in 
schools and colleges, and, by the way, 
quite remunerative to the author in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



royalties. His "Life of Washington 
Irving" appeared in 1877 and that of 
William Cullen Bryant in 1878 — con- 
densed, but admirable and appreciative, 
biographies of each. While still in 
Rochester, he published "Social Influence 
of Christianity" (1888), "Principles and 
Fallacies of Socialism" (i888j and 
"Genetic Philosophy" (1893), In 1896, he 
resigned as president of the university, in- 
tending to pursue historical studies 
abroad. His departure was keenly re- 
gretted, not only by the authorities and 
students, but by the community which 
he had served in all good works as a citi- 
zen, and especially by its social and 
lettered classes to whom he had become 
endeared. Retaining his legal residence 
in Rochester, he spent nearly three years 
mainly in Paris and Berlin in the study 
of philosophy and public law, laying the 
foundation for the elaborate volumes re- 
lating thereto, which he published sub- 
sequently. 

He was recalled to this country, Octo- 
ber I, 1898, when President McKinley 
appointed him First Assistant Secretary 
of State to succeed John B. Moore, and 
while in the State Department he also 
served as Professor of European Diplo- 
macy in the School of Comparative Juris- 
prudence and Diplomacy at Washington, 
D. C, from 1899 until 1903. He was then 
commissioned as Envoy Extraordinary 
and Minister Plenipotentiary of the 
United States to Switzerland from 1903 
to 1905 ; to the Netherlands from 1905 
until 1908; Ambassador Extraordinary 
and Plenipotentiary to Germany from 
1908 until 191 1. He became a member 
of the Permanent Administrative Council 
of the Hague Tribunal, and delegate to 
the Second Peace Conference at the 
Hague, 1907. Of his diplomatic service it 
is needless to speak ; it was enlightened 
in full degree, and faithful to the coun- 
try's interests, held in high esteem by the 



representatives of all nations and the 
courts to which he was accredited, and 
abounding in kindly ofifices to his fellow 
countrymen, visiting the various em- 
bassies. 

His pen still busy, he gave to the press 
"A Primer of Finance ;" "The Concep- 
tion and Realization of Neutrality" 
(1902) ; "Life and Work of LIugo Gro- 
tius" (1902) ; and "The Contemporary 
Development of Diplomacy" (1904). In 
1905 he issued the first volume of his 
great work, "A History of Diplomacy in 
the International Development of Eu- 
rope," entitling it "The Struggle for Uni- 
versal Empire ;" the second volume, 
"The Establishment of Territorial Sover- 
eignty," followed in 1906; and the third, 
"The Diplomacy of the Age of Absolut- 
ism," in 1914. "World Organization as 
Affected by the Nature of the Modern 
State," (translated into German and 
French) appeared in 191 1. Since his re- 
turn to America, with temporary abode 
in Washington about two years. Dr. Hill 
has written many articles on political and 
governmental topics for leading maga- 
zines, and has frequently been heard from 
the platform upon the same. In the Re- 
publican primaries of the State in 1914, 
his name was presented for United States 
Senator, and, although abroad at the 
time and without organized effort in his 
behalf, he received a flattering vote there- 
for, particularly in Western New York. 
He has recently published "The People's 
Government" (1915), and "Americanism: 
What It Is" (1916) ; and is preparing 
a volume on "International Readjust- 
ments." 

He was elected a fellow of the Ameri- 
can Association for the Advancement of 
Science in 1895 ; he is a member of the 
American Philosophical Society, Ameri- 
can Society of International Law, Ameri- 
can Academy of Political and Social Sci- 
ence, American Historical Association. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and is president of the National Associ- 
ation for Constitutional Government. He 
is a member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and vice grand commander 
of the Society of American Wars. He is 
also a member of the following clubs: 
Authors, Century (New York), Metro- 
politan, Cosmos (Washington) and "Pun- 
dit" and Browning (Rochester). He has 
been honored with the degree of Doctor 
of Laws by Colgate (1883), University of 
Pennsylvania (1902) and Union (1902), 
and Docteur es Lettres, University of 
Switzerland (1900). He married Juliet 
Lewis Packer, of Williamsport, Pennsyl- 
vania, June 3, 1886. 



ROBERTS, Ellis H., 

Journalist, Statesman, Scholar. 

No intelligent account of the settle- 
ment and progress of Oneida county and 
Central New York can fail to note the 
contributions thereto made by the thrifty 
and adventurous Welshmen who were 
among the pioneers of the region. Their 
incoming dates from 1798, when a com- 
pany of about a dozen of the race took up 
land in the town of Steuben from Colonel 
Walker, the representative of Baron von 
Steuben of Revolutionary fame, to whom 
a large domain had been bestowed by a 
grateful people. Others followed until 
the towns of Steuben and Remsen be- 
came practically Welsh communities, and 
retain that character to a considerable 
extent to this day. Welsh settlements 
were founded in Deerfield, Rome, Plain- 
field, Nelson, and Waterville, and the 
Welsh population of Utica continued to 
increase. The Welsh strain is one of the 
strongest in the population of that city, 
foremost in its business and professional 
life, and its high moral tone is due, in large 
measure, to Welsh inspirations. 

Ellis Henry Rogers, long a molder of 
the thought of Central New York, politi- 



cally and socially, is of this sturdy stock. 
His ancestors were pioneers of progress 
in the old country and uncompromising 
non-comformists — courageous and inde- 
pendent. Michael Jones, of Bala, of 
kindred on the paternal side, had prob- 
ably more to do than any of his contem- 
poraries in the educational and political 
awakening of Wales in the last century. 
Roberts, Tyddynddeen and Thomas, of 
Bangor, noted clergymen, were of the 
same stock. On the maternal side, Ellis 
descends from the Williams, who re- 
sided on the shores of Bala Lake, as ten- 
ants of Sir Watkin Williams Wynn. A 
member of the family was the Rev. John 
Williams, a pastor at Sheffield, England, 
and a divine of national reputation. In 
the British parliament, to-day, are a num- 
ber of Mr. Roberts's relations, some of 
whom visited him in Washington when 
he was Treasurer of the United States. 
His father, Watkin, came to this country 
in 1816, while the building of the Erie 
canal was proceeding. He was a stone 
mason and worked upon this mammoth 
enterprise. His mother, Gwen (Wil- 
liams) Roberts, followed her husband, 
with four chldren, two years later, and 
the family settled in Utica, where Ellis 
Henrv' was born September 30, 1827. The 
father died in 1831 and the struggle of 
the widowed mother and fatherless chil- 
dren to maintain an existence in a strange 
land was a severe one, but, by pluck and 
grit, they all attained honorable and suc- 
cessful positions in life. 

Ellis Henry's preliminary education 
was pursued in the elementary schools 
and the Free Academy of his native city ; 
and he entered Yale College in the fall of 
1846, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 1850, a member of the Alpha 
Delta Phi fraternity, having held ex- 
cellent rank as a scholar throughout the 
course, receiving prizes for English com- 
position and winning the Bristed scholar- 
13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ship for proficiency in the classics and 
mathematics. He was advanced to the 
master's degree three years later; and 
for marked erudition, was laureated Doc- 
tor of Laws by Hamilton in 1869, and by 
his alma mater in 1884. He was principal 
of the Utica Academy and also teacher of 
Latin in the Utica Female Seminary, 
1850-51. He married, June 29, 1851, 
Elizabeth Morris, of the same goodly 
Welsh lineage — a helpful consort for over 
fifty years, dying in July, 1903. 

His college training inclined him to jour- 
nalism and he accepted, in 185 1, the editor- 
ship of the Utica "Morning Herald," then 
at the outset of its notable and cogent ca- 
reer, which he retained until 1893, also 
securing in it a controlling proprietary in- 
terest. Dr. Roberts assumed the editorial 
chair at a time when government policies 
of the utmost moment, including vital moral 
issues, were at stake, almost coincidently 
with the birth of the Republican party, of 
which he was to become an earnest cham- 
pion. He was equipped with superior 
scholarship, especially well versed in the 
history of the Republic and with the polit- 
ical and economical problems pressing 
for solution. As a writer, he soon ob- 
tained wide recognition for his wealth of 
knowledge, the precision of his thought 
and the force and lucidity of its expres- 
sion, and above all for the sincerity of his 
convictions. The "Herald," under the di- 
rection of Dr. Roberts, gained an exten- 
sive patronage and materially inspired 
and controlled public opinion, not alone 
in Central but also in Northern New 
York, in the latter section especially be- 
coming the Republican oracle and having 
well-nigh a monopoly of circulation, 
which the Syracuse press, quite as acces- 
sible to it as the "Herald," vainly con- 
tested. It is to be added that the "Her- 
ald" was also quite as distinguished for 
enterprise as a news gatherer as for au- 
thority in its editorial columns, rendering 



it for years the leading journal of its 
locality in all respects. It prominently 
supported the administration of Lincoln 
in all measures for subduing the rebellion 
against the Union, and Dr. Roberts, with 
loyalty and love for the martyred Presi- 
dent, as a delegate to the Republican Na- 
tional Convention in 1864, enthusiastical- 
ly favored his renomination ; and when 
the lines were drawn between congres- 
sional and executive policies of recon- 
struction, he was found arrayed with the 
congressional leaders, even to urging the 
impeachment of President Johnson. 

Dr. Roberts was elected to the As- 
sembly of 1867, and took a conspicuous 
and persuasive part in its deliberations, 
especially in effecting the promotion to 
the United States Senate of his then 
friend and neighbor, Roscoe Conkling, 
who had by a service of four terms, as a 
representative in Congress, established 
his standing as an ornate and virile ora- 
tor; and, as State Senator Andrew D. 
White said, on seconding Conkling's re- 
nomination in the Republican legislative 
caucus, New York needed a voice in the 
Federal Senate. The voice, indeed, did 
much for Conkling, but it were to ques- 
tion historical verity to doubt that Ellis 
H. Roberts did far more by his personal 
appeals to produce the desired result than 
Conkling's most eloquent forensic utter- 
ances. Roberts was indefatigable in his 
efforts, not only by articles in the "Her- 
ald," but by enlisting nearly the entire 
press of the interior in Conkling's behalf, 
by standing for the Assembly, at Conk- 
ling's instance, and by his industrious can- 
vass among his colleagues in that body. 
The estrangement between the two that 
occurred subsequently need not here be 
detailed. It is sufficient to say, in the can- 
did review, that the principal fault there- 
for is not to be imputed to Roberts. In 
1868, Roberts again appeared as a dele- 
gate in the Republican National Conven- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion and united in the nomination of Gen- 
eral Grant for the presidency. 

In 1870, Roberts was elected from the 
Twenty-first (Oneida) District a Repre- 
sentative in the Forty-second Congress; 
and, in 1872, was reelected to the Forty- 
third. He spoke in the House as occa- 
sion demanded, always with full informa- 
tion and decided effect, in clear, vigorous 
English, particularly upon economic and 
financial measures, in the discussion of 
which he had already shown himself an 
authority in his editorials and other writ- 
ings. 

Since his retirement from Congress, 
Dr. Roberts has not held elective office, 
but has forcibly and ably vindicated 
Republican principles and policies. He 
favored, with some hesitation, the re- 
election of Grant in 1872, and the nomi- 
nation of Hayes in 1876, but strenuously 
combatted a third term for Grant in 1880, 
acting with that element of his party 
which secured the nomination of Garfield 
and, in the State, opposing the return of 
Conkling and Piatt to the United States 
Senate after their resignation therefrom. 
Dr. Roberts was a staunch champion of 
Blaine in the presidential canvass of 1884 
and cordially supported Harrison in that 
of 1888. He was appointed by the latter 
to the important position of Assistant 
Treasurer in New York, of the United 
States, and served throughout Harrison's 
.administration. He was president of the 
Franklin National Bank of New York 
City from 1893 until 1897, when he was 
designated by President McKinley as 
Treasurer of the United States, continu- 
ing as such until 1905, when he retired 
from public life at the age of seventy- 
eight years, having filled with eminent 
ability the various offices of honor and 
responsibility that had been reposed in 
him. Interested in the cause of higher 
education, he wrote much on the subject. 



and was trustee of Hamilton College from 
1872 until 1900. 

Outside of his journalistic and official 
duties, Dr. Roberts has been a prolific 
writer upon historical and financial 
themes, and also has deserved promi- 
nence as a public speaker. He has de- 
livered courses of lectures at Cornell Uni- 
versity and Hamilton College, and ad- 
dresses before the American Bankers' 
and several State banking associations, 
and the American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Science ; and has been in 
constant request as a political orator in 
the successive presidential canvasses with 
which he was concerned, on notable his- 
torical occasions, and as an "after dinner" 
speaker. He is the author of "Govern- 
ment Reserve, Especially the American 
System" (1884), an enlightened exposi- 
tion of the subject ; and of "The Planting 
and Growth of the Empire State" (1887). 
Although an abridgment rather than an 
exhaustive review, and necessarily trust- 
ing considerably to secondary rather than 
original sources, this latter work holds a 
leading place among histories of New 
York, revealing its author as diligent in 
research, philosophical in treatment, en- 
gaging in style and impartial in tone. Dr. 
Roberts is still (July, 1916) living in 
Utica, in hale old age, with faculties un- 
impaired and, at times, contributing valu- 
able articles to the press. 



CHOATE, Joseph Hodges, 

Jurist, Orator, Diplomat. 

The splendid gifts of mind and person 
that Joseph Hodges Choate has displayed 
conspicuously in his long career at the 
bar and in high official place are meas- 
urably due to his lineage. He comes of 
sturdy, intelligent Puritan stock, char- 
acterized almost uniformly by physical 
longevity and by signal concentration 



215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and versatility of thought with its eifec- 
tive expression. 

The founder of the American family- 
was John Choate, a native of England, 
who came in 1643 to Massachusetts Bay 
while Winthrop was still Governor of the 
colony, settled at Chebacco (now Essex) 
and was admitted a freeman in 1667. 
From him and his wife, Anne, to whom 
he was married in 1660, the line of de- 
scent runs through their son, Thomas 
(1671-1745) first of the family in the an- 
cestral estate — Hog or Choate Island — 
and representative in the General Court 
(1723-25) and his wife, Mary (Varney) 
Choate ; through their son, Francis 
(1701-77), farmer, church elder and 
friend of George Whitefield, and his wife, 
Hannah (Perkins) Choate; through their 
son, William (1730-85), who was a sea 
captain, and his wife, Mary (Giddings) 
Choate; through their son, George (1762- 
1826) representative for Ipswich, 1814- 
17, and Essex, 1819, and his wife, 
Susanna, daughter of Judge Stephen 
Choate, of Ipswich ; to Dr. George 
Choate, the father of Joseph Hodges 
Choate. In collateral branches also the 
family has been worthy and often dis- 
tinguished, Rufus Choate, a cousin of 
Dr. George Choate, with his magnetic 
speech, being supremely famous. Dr. 
George Choate (1796-1880) was a native 
of Essex, a graduate of Harvard College 
(1818), a prominent and skillful phy- 
sician, and a representative in the Gen- 
eral Court for several years. He married 
Margaret Manning, a daughter of Gama- 
liel Hodges, descended from the immi- 
grant of 1630 and of a family honorable 
in Massachusetts annals ; and to them 
Joseph Hodges Choate was born in 
Salem, January 24, 1832. In the mater- 
nal line Mr. Choate traces his lineage to 
Philip English, the first great merchant 
of Salem. 

His preliminary education was obtained 



in the public schools of Salem. He was 
graduated from Harvard, in 1852, with 
Phi Beta Kappa rank, the fourth scholar 
of the class, in which his elder brother, 
William Gardner Choate, since a United 
States judge of the Southern District of 
New York stood first. He was a member 
of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, in 
whose welfare he has ever retained a 
lively interest, frequently the orator at 
jts reunions and presiding at its banquets. 
He was graduated Bachelor of Law from 
the Harvard Law School, in 1854, and 
after an additional year of study in the 
office of Leverett Saltonstall, in Boston, 
was admitted to the Massachusetts bar 
in 1855. In the same year he moved to 
New York City, whch has since been his 
home, was licensed in this State and be- 
gan the practice which has continued un- 
interruptedly to the present day. He 
first entered the office of Scudder & 
Carter, the latter an accomplished jurist 
for half a century, with whom he re- 
mained a very short time when, with a 
commendatory letter from Rufus Choate 
to William M. Evarts, he was introduced 
to the office of Butler, Evarts & South- 
mayd of which Mr. Evarts was the head, 
in which he remained until 1858, when he 
formed a partnership with General Wil- 
liam H. L. Barnes, subsequently a bril- 
liant lawyer in San Francisco, which was 
conducted successfully for a year, under 
the style of Choate & Barnes. He then 
returned to the Evarts office, as a mem- 
ber of the firm designated as Evarts, 
Southmayd & Choate. This association 
continued until 1884, when it was re- 
solved into that of Evarts, Choate & 
Beaman, its successor now known as 
Evarts, Choate & Sherman, of which the 
sons of Mr. Evarts and Mr. Choate are 
members. 

Steadily rising in repute and augment- 
ing in practice, Mr. Choate became the 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



recognized "head of the bar" of the me- 
tropolis, which is the head of the bar in 
the country, when the senior member, 
that illustrious lawyer and prince of wits, 
gave himself wholly to the public service 
as Secretary of State and Senator. Mr. 
Choate was equally prominent in trials 
at nisi prius and cases in banc. His deep 
analysis of human nature, his discern- 
ment of situations and skill in eliciting 
evidence rendered him an expert in the 
examination of witnesses, while his spark- 
ling wit, ready repartee and cogent 
appeals mastered juries. His knowledge 
of the law, his familiarity with principles 
and precedents, the precision and solidity 
of his address and the urbanity of his 
acumen were also singularly persuasive 
with the bench ; and this not alone in the 
Appellate Courts of the State, but in the 
highest tribunal of the land before which 
he has argued many celebrated cases. 
Among the cases in different jurisdictions 
that he has managed several may be men- 
tioned without, in all instances, specify- 
ing issues, to wit : Fuardent vs. di Ces- 
nola, in which he defended successfully 
the genuineness of the Cypriote antiqui- 
ties in the Metropolitan Museum of Art ; 
Stewart vs. Huntington, concerning the 
contracts and operations of the Central 
Pacific ; Hunt vs. Stevens ; Laidlaw vs. 
Sage; the Maynard New York election 
frauds of 1891-92; the validity of the 
Standard Oil and American Tobacco 
trusts ; the Cruger, Vanderbilt, Tilden, 
Stewart, Hoyt, Drake and Hopkins will 
cases ; and various others in the Admir- 
alty courts. 

As he has been a maker of the organic 
law of the commonwealth, as will later 
be seen, he has also been the constant 
interpreter of the national constitution 
as witnessed in many issues before the 
national tribunal. Among these are the 
following: The case of the Philadelphia 



Fire Association vs. New York, touch- 
ing the constitutionality of the so-called 
reciprocal and retaliatory taxation laws 
against foreign corporations enacted by 
many States; the Kansas prohibition 
law ; the Chinese exclusion cases, with 
the pregnant question as to the right of 
the government to exclude or deport im- 
migrants of that race ; the California irri- 
gation cases; the constitutionality of the 
Acts of many western States ; the Massa- 
chusetts fisheries cases ; the constitu- 
tional right of a State to protect fisheries 
in arms of the sea and within and beyond 
the three-mile limit ; the income tax cases, 
which involved the constitutionality of 
(the Income Tax Law of 1894. Besides 
these, Mr. Choate has argued many other 
important cases before the high courts 
of his own and other States. With John 
C. Bullitt and Anson Maltbie he achieved 
a signal triumph in 1889 in the able de- 
fense of General Fitz-John Porter before 
the commission appointed by President 
Hayes to inquire into the justice of the 
sentence which in 1863 had deprived Gen- 
eral Porter of his military rank for alleged 
misconduct in battle, and for the reversal 
of which General Porter had made the 
most strenuous efforts for many years. 
Mr. Choate not only fully established 
Porter's innocence, but also procured the 
restoration of his rank. The lawyer's 
versatility was further displayed in his 
presentation of the case for the defendant 
before the naval court-martial appointed 
to try Captain McCalla for certain alleged 
breaches of the naval regulations ; and a 
still further illustration of that quality 
of his mind is to be found in his diplo- 
matic conduct of the investigation under- 
taken by the New York Yacht Club of 
the Defender-Valkyrie controversy, upon 
charges made by Lord Dunraven as to 
the conduct of the international race be- 
tween those yachts. 

Mr. Choate has been most honorably 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



recognized by his brethren of the bar in 
the presidencies of the Harvard Law 
School Association, the New York City, 
New York State and American Bar asso- 
ciations. He has been made Doctor of 
Laws by many leading colleges and uni- 
versities both in the United States and 
Great Britain, to wit: Amherst (1887), 
Harvard (1888), Yale (1901), Williams 
(1905), Pennsylvania (1908), Union 
(1909), McGill (1913), Cambridge (1900), 
Edinburgh (1900), St. Andrews (1902), 
Glasgow (1904), and Toronto (1915), and 
in 1902 Oxford University conferred upon 
him the degree of Doctor of Civil Law. 
He was elected, April 10, 1905, a bencher 
of the Middle Temple, that most select 
and honorable legal body, a distinction 
never bestowed upon any other Ameri- 
ican. He is also a foreign honorary fel- 
low of the Royal Society of Literature, a 
member of the American Philosophical 
Society, a trustee of the Metropolitan 
Museum of Art and of the American Mu- 
seum of Natural History since the foun- 
dation of each ; vice-president of the 
American Society for the Judicial Settle- 
ment of International Disputes ; Am- 
bassador and first United States delegate 
to the International Peace Congress at 
the Hague (1907); trustee of the Equita- 
ble Life Assurance Society ; governor of 
the New York Hospital, 1877; president 
of the New York State Charities Aid 
Association ; member of the Massachu- 
setts Colonial Society ; president of the 
New England Society of New York 
(1867-71); of the Harvard Club of New 
York (1874-78); of the Union League 
Club of New York (1873-77) and is now 
president of the Century Association. In 
addition to those already mentioned, he 
is also a member of the following clubs: 
University, Alpha Delta Phi, City, Met- 
ropolitan, Riding, New York Athletic, 
and Down Town. 

These various associations — legal, let- 
tered, artistic, social and humane — which 



have honored him and he has honored 
reveal at once the wide range of his activ- 
ities and the insistent call for their serv- 
ice. If he may be estimated by his tri- 
umphs at the bar; his constant thought 
and kindly consideration for its younger 
members; his identification with great 
enterprises ; his courage and honesty in 
municipal affairs; his secret, as well as 
open, beneficences, for no good and needy 
cause ever appealed to him in vain ; his 
catholic views and quick sympathies, 
coupled with independence in thought 
and action ; his culture in arts and letters ; 
his social graces, his genial bearing and 
fascinating address, he may be fairly dis- 
tinguished as the first citizen of the me- 
tropolis as well as the leader of the bar. 
Enchanting as a guest and peerless as 
the host at the banquet board, he is, 
like Macgregor, the head of the table 
wherever he sits. If a notable from 
abroad visits our shores, he is chosen to 
bid him welcome. If a philanthropic, 
educational or clearly political movement 
is to be advanced he is summoned for 
the energizing event. If an historic occa- 
sion is to be observed or respect paid to 
the memory of a departed worthy, his is 
the informing utterance or the fitting 
tribute. Among his most notable ora- 
torical efforts may be mentioned that at 
the Metropolitan Fair in New York City, 
in 1864, that at the unveiling of the Far- 
ragut statue in New York (1881) and of 
Rufus Choate in the Boston Court House 
(1898), a labor of love, as he has often 
declared that he owes to Rufus Choate 
more than to any other man or men, to 
his example and inspiration, to his sym- 
pathy and helping hand, whatever suc- 
cess has attended his own professional 
efforts ; on the "Trial by Jury" before the 
American Bar Association (1898); on 
Leverett Saltonstall (Boston, 189S) ; on 
Richard H. Dana, 1915, and the famous 
classic on Abraham Lincoln. 

Politically Dr. Choate has always been 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a Republican, the attainment of his ma- 
jority and the birth of the party being 
nearly coeval. A champion of its prin- 
ciples, he has taken the stump in its be- 
half in many campaigns, but has not 
hesitated to criticize its policies, when 
they seemed to him unwise, or its local 
leadership when it failed in rectitude of 
conduct. In other words he is an inde- 
pendent Republican ; uniformly the ad- 
vocate of purity in government and the 
scourge of abuses and corruption by 
whomsoever perpetrated. Thus he was 
prominent in the committee of seventy 
which, in 1871, broke up the Tweed ring 
and punished its chief malefactors. He has 
steadily refused to stand for office, once 
only consenting, in 1897, to be an inde- 
pendent Republican candidate for United 
States senator, but was defeated by what 
is known as the "organization." He has, 
however, accepted two positions of ex- 
alted import, among many tendered him, 
the one as a reviser of the organic law of 
the commonwealth and the other as the 
representative of the Republic in the 
most important post in the diplomatic 
service. 

The fourth constitutional convention, 
duly ordered by the people, a large major- 
ity of the delegates being Republicans, 
met in the Assembly Chamber at the 
Capitol in Albany, May 8, 1894, Dr. 
Choate, who had been a member of the 
Constitutional Commission of 1890, head- 
ing the list of the delegates at large. It 
was an able body of men, many of them 
having previously received honorable 
preferment, and was well equipped by 
learning and experience for the responsi- 
ble duty it was to fulfill. By practically 
uanimous acclaim Dr. Choate was select- 
ed as president. Although without previ- 
ous legislative experience, he at once re- 
vealed signal ability as a presiding officer 
— firm, dignified, impartial, resourceful — 



and commanded the esteem of his asso- 
ciates throughout, at times taking the 
floor to discuss propositions of exigent 
concern. He enlightened the convention 
by his speech, enlivened it by his wit, and 
charmed it by his courtesy. It framed 
an instrument accordant with his address 
on assuming the chair, in which, after 
prefacing a cordial tribute to the then 
existing constitution, he said: 

We are not commissioned, as I understand it, 
to treat it (the Constitution of '46) with any rude 
or sacrilegious hands. To its general features, 
the statutes, the judicial decisions, the habits of 
this great people have long been accustomed and 
adapted, and it seems to me, we should be false 
to our trust if we entered upon any attempt to 
tear asunder this structure which, for so many 
years, has satisfied, in the main, the wants of the 
people of the State of New York. And yet, he 
proceeded, there are certain great questions which 
we are here to consider, which stare us in the face 
at the very outset of the proceedings and will 
continue to employ our minds until the day of our 
final adjournment. 

Among these, he specified the reappor- 
tionment of the legislative districts, the 
government of cities, the relief of the 
court of appeals, the sufifrage, education, 
and the regulation of legislative and 
court procedure. His ideas concerning 
these all found expression in the Con- 
stitution, which was ratified at the polls 
by a majority of nearly 100,000.* 

•A striking specimen of his subtle wit Is still 
fresh In the minds of surviving: members of the 
convention. Toward the end of the session, with 
business pressing-, the president was desirous of 
restricting discussion as much as possible. A 
resolution being before the convention, the pres- 
ident stated that it was not likely to precipitate 
debate and directed the secretary to call the roll 
for a vote. That officer had not called more than 

tinguished leader of the minority, the Hon. John 
M. Bowers, arose and said: "Mr. Presfdent, I 
would like to say something on the question," 
The president either unconsciously, or purposely, 
it would be difficult to say, paid no attention and 
still directed the secretary to proceed with the 
call; whereupon Mr. Bowers, with considerable 
excitement of manner and waving of hands ex- 
claimed. "No. Mr. President, I want to dehate the 
resolution; we all want to debate it." "That is 
precisely the same thing," the president quickly 
replied, and the call proceeded amid the laughter 
of the convention, in which Mr. Bowers himself 
cheerfully Joined. 



219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In January, 1899, President McKinley 
nominated and the Senate promptly con- 
firmed him as Envoy Extraordinary and 
Minister Plenipotentiary to the Court of 
St. James. Retained by President Roose- 
velt, his embassy included six years 
(1899-1905). In the long and brilliant 
line of scholars, orators and statesmen, 
who have honored the nation in this lofty 
station, none has been more acceptable 
to his own country or persona grata, 
more pleasing to that to which he was 
accredited than Joseph Hodges Choate. 
In the amicable relations between the 
two peoples, never more pronounced than 
during his tenure, there were some deli- 
cate and difficult issues to determine ; in- 
cluding especially the Alaska boundary, 
the Panama canal question, and the main- 
tenance of the Open Door in China. He 
performed the regular duties of his office 
with dignity, fidelity and dispatch, the 
embassy was the home of visiting Amer- 
icans and the rights and needs of his 
countrymen were attended to scrupu- 
lously. Entertaining elegantly, but not 
ostentatiously, he was a welcome guest 
in all circles of rank and refinement, but 
it was abroad, as at home, that his speech 
conquered. Invitations to speak were 
showered upon him for literary and civic 
occasions, and to these he responded 
cheerfully and freely, never forgetting 
that he was an American, but never offen- 
sively obtruding his nationality, as too 
many of our diplomats have been wont 
to do. The esteem in which he was held 
is clearly shown in the university degrees 
bestowed upon him and the exclusive 
associations to which he was invited. 
Both on the social and official sides his 
mission was eminently successful, link- 
ing more closely the ties that unite the 
great communities of the Anglo-Saxon 
race. 

A fitting honor paid Mr. Choate was 
his appointment as head of the American 



delegates selected by President Roose- 
velt in 1907 to represent the United 
States at the second Peace Conference to 
meet at the Hague, June 15, 1907. The 
delegates received their instructions from 
Secretary of State Elihu Root under date 
of May 31, 1907, in these instructions out- 
lining the wishes and desires of this gov- 
ernment. The service rendered by Mr. 
Choate as plenipotentiary ambassador, 
representing the United States, was 
weighty and exceedingly valuable ; his 
addresses and arguments on compulsory 
arbitration, on an International Court of 
Appeal, and on the Immunity of Private 
Property at Sea, especially being worthy 
of preservation in government archives. 
Had the American project been adopted 
the history of the European conflict now 
raging would perhaps never need to be 
written. 

Forty-six States were invited to partici- 
pate in the labors of the Hague Confer- 
ence and but two failed to send repre- 
sentatives, Costa Rica and Ethiopia. In 
the official instructions to the delegates 
the United States government said, "You 
will urge upon the Peace Conference the 
formulation of international rules of war 
at sea," adding, "No rules should be 
adopted for the purpose of mitigating the 
evils of war to belligerents which will 
tend strongly to destroy the rights of 
neutrals, and no rules should be adopted 
regarding the rights of neutrals which 
will tend strongly to bring about war." 
"Special consideration should be given 
an agreement upon what shall be deemed 
to constitute contraband of war." On 
the question of arbitration the United 
States delegates were instructed by Sec- 
retary Root to secure a general treaty 
along the lines of the treaties negotiated 
by John Hay when Secretary of State and 
"to secure such a treaty you should use 
your best and most earnest efforts." 

The program for the work of the con- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ference was so elaborate that a division 
of the conference into four commissions 
was advisable. Mr. Choate was desig- 
nated with Horace Porter honorary presi- 
dents of the second and third commis- 
sions. Mr. Choate, on June 28, 1907, ad- 
dressed the conference on the American 
proposition, "The Immunity from Cap- 
ture of Private Unoffending Property of 
the Enemy upon the High Seas." 

In the language of the learned reporter, 
M. Henri Fromageot, Mr. Choate's argu- 
ment was "sustained with an eloquence 
and a dialectical force difficult to sur- 
pass." But the doctrine proved unaccept- 
able to the larger maritime nations. On 
July 18 he again addressed the confer- 
ence on the American proposition, inter- 
national arbitration, presenting most elo- 
quently and powerfully the proposition 
for a general agreement of arbitration 
among the nations. After ten weeks of 
discussion in the committee of Examina- 
tion A, the Anglo-American draft of a 
general treaty of arbitration was pre- 
sented to the first commission and was 
there debated with great warmth of feel- 
ing. On October 5 Mr. Choate again 
argued in favor of International Arbitra- 
tion and the adoption of the Anglo- 
American draft of a general treaty. On 
October 10 he argued at length against 
the Austro-Hungarian resolution which 
virtually meant postponement of the 
Anglo-American proposition of compul- 
sory arbitration which had secured a vote 
of thirty-two in its favor to nine against ; 
the opponents of the measure insisting 
upon the unanimity rule of international 
assemblies, and the opposition of Ger- 
many to a general treaty of arbitration 
finally proving fatal to the Anglo-Amer- 
ican project, the result of weeks of labor 
and discussion. Its partisans, however, 
secured the adoption of a resolution ad- 
mitting the principle of compulsory arbi- 



tration and declaring in favor of so set- 
tling "certain disputes." Mr. Choate 
voted against the resolution which 
seemed a retreat from the advanced posi- 
tion the commission had taken in its 
votes and on October 11, addressed the 
commission in a brief statement in be- 
half of the American delegation. At the 
closing session of the First Commission, 
October 11, 1907, Mr. Choate on behalf 
of the American delegation delivered an 
eloquent tribute to M. Bourgeois, presi- 
dent of the First Commission to which 
the question of arbitration had been as- 
signed. In closing he said: "During 
these four months, Mr. President, we 
have lived happily under your benign 
dominion, we have worked hard, and have 
earned the bread of the conference by 
the sweat of our brows, and there have 
been moments of trial and sufifering, but 
in separating, we look back with satisfac- 
tion upon our labors, thanks greatly to 
your beneficent and harmonizing spirit." 

Other addresses made by Mr. Choate at 
the conference were on the establishment 
of an International Court of Justice (July 
1 1 ) and on the American project for a 
Permanent Court of Arbitral Justice (Au- 
gust i). 

Those four months spent in delibera- 
tion with chosen minds of all nations 
constitute a record that is not only a 
source of satisfaction to Mr. Choate and 
the entire American delegation, but one 
in which the American nation takes great 
pride. 

Dr. Choate's residence for nine months 
in the year is at No. 8 East Sixty-third 
street. New York. The other three 
months he sets apart for comparative re- 
laxation and repose at Stockbridge in 
the Berkshire hills, where he dispenses 
a gracious hospitality. He married, Oc- 
tober 16, 1861, Caroline Dutcher, daugh- 
ter of Frederick A. Sterling, of Cleve- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



land, Ohio, and sister of President Theo- 
dore Sterling, late president of Kenyon 
College. Mrs. Choate, and two sons, 
George and Joseph Hodges, Jr., and one 
daughter are living. 



HAVEMEYER, John Craig, 

Man of Affairs, Philanthropist, Author. 

This tribute of respect is dedicated to 
a man who has lived long and has lived 
well. The story of his life is full of les- 
sons, full of interest, full of inspiration. 
It covers a period when a great number 
of social, civic and religious reforms were 
efifected with which he was identified. 
Now, an octogenarian, Mr. Havemeyer 
has stood through this long number of 
years for the highest ideals of citizenship, 
his voice has always been raised and his 
influence unswervingly cast on the side 
of right and righteous living, whether a 
business man, citizen, philanthropist or 
Christian, he has consistently sought to 
embody in his life the principle of Him 
who said: "I came not to be ministered 
unto, but to minister." 

The Havemeyers came from the Ger- 
man middle class, removed alike from 
noble and serf, which preserved through 
out the darkness of the Middle Ages the 
learning, energy and independence of 
character which made Northern and Cen- 
tral Germany receptive to Luther and the 
Reformation. Blieckeburg, in the prin- 
cipality of Schaumburg-Lippe, was the 
home city of the Havemeyers and there 
Hermann Hoevemeyer (as sometimes 
spelled) with nineteen others formed a 
Baker's Guild in 1644. Dietrich William 
Hoevemeyer, born 1725, was a master 
baker, a member of the Common Council 
of the City of Bueckeburg and served in 
the Seventy Years' War. 

The first of the family to come to 
America was William Havemeyer, grand- 
father of John Craig Havemeyer. Or- 



phaned at an early age, he had gone to 
England at fifteen, and in London 
learned sugar refining, eventually becom- 
ing superintendent of a refinery. He 
came to New York under contract with 
Edmund Seaman & Company to take 
charge of their sugar house in Pine street, 
bringing with him a bill of exchange for 
sixty pounds sterling, dated London, 
March 12, 1799, drawn on James J. Roose- 
velt, merchant, New York. He com- 
pleted the terms of his contract in 1807, 
then at once began business for himself, 
establishing one of the first sugar refin- 
eries in New York City, its location be- 
tween Hudson and Greenwich streets, on 
Vandam street. He became a naturalized 
citizen in 1807 and at his death, August 
13, 1 85 1, aged eighty-one years, he left 
a comfortable estate to his four children : 
Anna, Amelia, Albert and William Fred- 
erick. 

William Frederick Havemeyer, father 
of John Craig Havemeyer, was born at 
No. 31 Pine street. New York City, Feb- 
ruary 12, 1804, died during his third term 
as mayor of New York, while in per- 
formance of his official duties at the City 
Hall, November 30, 1874. After prepara- 
tion in private schools he entered Colum- 
bia College, whence he was graduated, 
class of 1823, having particularly distin- 
guished himself in mathematics. He ob- 
tained a thorough business training as 
clerk in his father's sugar refinery, and 
in 1823 formed a partnership with his 
cousin, Frederick Christian Havemeyer, 
under the firm name of W. F. & F. C. 
Havemeyer, sugar refiners. In 1842, after 
fourteen years in successful business, he 
sold his interests in the firm to his 
brother, Albert Havemeyer, and retired 
with a competency honorably earned. 

His prominent connection with public 
affairs began in 1844 and continued until 
his death thirty years later. He was a 
Democrat, and an enthusiastic supporter 




^7^ 



-7^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Andrew Jackson during the years "Old 
Hickory" was so potent a power in the 
land. In 1844 he was chosen to repre- 
sent his ward in the Tammany Hall Con- 
vention. At the succeeding State Demo- 
cratic Convention held at Syracuse, Sep- 
tember 4, 1844, he was nominated presi- 
dential elector, and in the Electoral Col- 
lege cast the vote of New York State for 
James K. Polk, of Tennessee, for Presi- 
dent and George M. Dallas, of Pennsyl- 
vania, for Vice-President. 

He became a member of the general 
committee of Tammany Hall and dis- 
played so marked a business ability that 
he was chosen chairman of the finance 
committee. He became very influential 
in the party, but was too independent in 
his actions to please the politicians who, 
to forestall his appointment by President 
Polk as collector of the port of New York, 
offered him the nomination for the mayor- 
alty. This was in the day when national 
party power was of greater importance to 
Tammany Hall than city control ; the ad- 
ministration of the city with its then but 
four hundred thousand population being 
comparatively simple. The Department 
of Charities and Correction was governed 
by a single officer; the police were ap- 
pointed, controlled and dismissed by the 
mayor; "Jobs" were unknown and 
"rings" had not yet been invented. The 
office of mayor, however, was something 
more than a civic honor. 

Mr. Havemeyer was elected mayor by 
a large majority in April, 1845, ^"d at 
once directed his special attention to 
police affairs, the Common Council pass- 
ing at his instance an ordinance provid- 
ing for a municipal police force. Under 
its terms he nominated George W. Mat- 
sell for Chief of Police and he was con- 
firmed, great reforms were introduced in 
city government, one of the most impor- 
tant relating to immigration. Upon his 
advice the Legislature passed an act cre- 



ating the board of "Commissioners of 
Emigration," there having been no offi- 
cial supervision of immigration by State 
or City prior to that board. Mayor 
Havemeyer was appointed the first presi- 
dent of the board and remained its head 
after his term as mayor expired. The 
Ward's Island institution for emigrants 
was established by Mr. Havemeyer and 
his associates. At the expiration of his 
first term he was reelected, untiring 
energy, ability and devotion characteriz- 
ing both administrations. He declined a 
third term and for several years retired 
from active participation in politics. In 
1857, when the metropolitan police com- 
missioner and the mayor, Fernando Wood, 
were struggling for control of the police 
force, Mr. Havemeyer came out of retire- 
ment and aided Chief Matsell. In 1859 
he was a candidate for mayor in a tri- 
angular contest and was defeated. 

From 185 1 until 1861 he was president 
of the Bank of North America, and from 
1857 until 1861 he was president of the 
New York Savings Bank, taking the office 
at a time of great peril to the bank and 
leaving it upon a secure foundation. For 
several years he was vice-president of the 
Long Island Railroad Company and held 
similar relation to the Pennsylvania Coal 
Company. 

During the Civil War he was an un- 
wavering and earnest supporter of the 
government at Washington. He presided 
over one of the four great meetings held 
simultaneously in Union Square, April 
21, 1861, to give expression to the patri- 
otic sentiments of the people of New 
York. In July, 1866, he was selected in 
conjunction with Thurlow Weed as arbi- 
trator of a long dispute between the 
Board of Public Charities and the Board 
of Commissioners of Emigration involv- 
ing an amount in excess of $100,000. Their 
report was satisfactory to both parties 
and the controversy ended. Twelve years 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were passed in quiet before Mr. Have- 
mej'er again entered the public arena, to 
lead the fight against the Tweed Ring. 
Tammany Hall, under the control of Wil- 
liam M. Tweed, had become an organiza- 
tion of banditti, with the city treasury and 
the city's credit at its mercy. Many mil- 
lions of dollars were stolen and divided 
between Tweed and his confederates, 
their methods of plundering so ingenious 
and so well marked under a pretence of 
legitimate public expenditures, that even 
eminent financiers were deceived as to 
the real condition of affairs. So greatly 
were they deceived that they signed a 
certificate exonerating the "Ring," while 
the rank and file of Tammany Hall ac- 
claimed the leaders, who scattered with 
a free hand a share of the stolen funds 
among their followers. 

Mr. Havemeyer, however, was one of 
the men who were not deceived, and in 
the spring of 1870 united with other 
patriotic citizens in organizing the New 
York City Council of Reform, whose ob- 
ject was to rescue the city from its plun- 
derers and bring the guilty to the bar of 
justice. Mr. Havemeyer was its first 
president, and presided at the first great 
meeting of citizens held at Cooper Insti- 
tute, April 6, 1871, and the still more im- 
portant meeting held at the same place, 
September 4, 1871, which created the 
Committee of Seventy, of which Mr. 
Havemeyer was for two months vice- 
president and afterwards president. 

The story of the final overthrow of the 
corrupt "Ring" is a familiar one. After 
Mr. Havemeyer and Samuel J. Tilden 
gained access to the Broadway Bank in 
which the members of the "Ring" kept 
their accounts and obtained the legal 
proof of the enormous thefts, criminal 
prosecution completely broke the power 
of the "Ring" whose members fled, died, 
or gave themselves up to the law. 

The mayoralty campaign of 1872 saw 



Tammany Hall with a very respectable 
candidate, the Apollo Hall Democracy 
with another, but neither candidate had 
the endorsement of the Committee of 
Seventy which just then was a power in 
politics. The Republican party saw their 
opportunity and nominated William F. 
Havemeyer, whose record as a war Dem- 
ocrat was satisfactory to the Republicans 
and whose services in behalf of reform 
rendered him acceptable to the Commit- 
tee of Seventy. He was elected and for 
a third time occupied the highest execu- 
tive office of the city. His third term was 
a stormy one, being a series of contests 
with the Board of Aldermen. Party 
leaders and private cliques were anxious 
to dictate or control appointments. The 
discomfited but not annihilated followers 
of Tweed were on the alert to discredit 
him. An indiscreet word or act, an un- 
acceptable nomination, anything in short 
which either was or could be construed 
into a mistake was certain to be seized 
upon by vigilant antagonists and by 
selfish interests to which he refused to 
be subservient. But he "fought the good 
fight," and "kept the faith," breaking 
down under the strain, however, and 
dying at his desk in the City Hall. 

A New York morning journal none too 
friendly to him said : "He was a Mayor 
whose honesty of purpose had never been 
impugned," and that the real fruit of the 
Reform party "is to be seen in the puri- 
fied Democratic party which has just 
now, two years after the election of Mr. 
Havemeyer, carried New York by a ma- 
jority almost unexampled." 

An impartial religious journal said: 
"He had been called in a trying time to 
fill a difficult position. More was ex- 
pected of him than he could perhaps ac- 
complish. Unfortunately for him he was 
controlled by a partiality for old friends 
with which the city had neither sympathy 
or patience. He knew the men with 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



whom he had associated in years long 
gone by better than the men of to-day, 
and with the tenacity of a strong nature 
clung to them." 

Mayor Havemeyer was for years a 
member of the board of trustees of Cen- 
tral Methodist Episcopal Church, was 
deeply interested in its property, gave 
liberally to its current expenses, to its 
benevolences and was a regular attend- 
ant on the public Sunday services. 

Mayor Havemeyer married Sarah 
Agnes Craig, of Scotch ancestry. Her 
grandfather, James Craig, came from 
Paisley, Scotland, and settled at Bloom- 
ing Grove, Orange county. New York, 
and was the founder of the manufactur- 
ing village of Craigville, formerly known 
as Cromeline on Grey Court Creek, a 
powder mill said to have been located 
there during the Revolution. In 1790 
James Craig erected a paper mill, the first 
in Orange county. His wife was the 
daughter of Captain Hector McNeil, who 
commanded the United States ship "Bos- 
ton" in 1777 and was third of the twenty- 
four naval captains appointed by Con- 
gress, October 10, 1776. 

Their son. Hector Craig, was born in 
Scotland, coming to this country with his 
parents. In 1816 he was one of the in- 
corporators and secretary of the Bloom- 
ing Grove and New Windsor Turnpike 
and in 1818 also secretary of the Orange 
County Agricultural Society. In 1823- 
25 he was a Congressman, again elected 
in 1829, but resigned before his term ex- 
pired to accept appointment by President 
Jackson in 1830 to the post of collector 
of the port of New York. He was re- 
moved from that office by President Van 
Buren for political reasons. In 1832 he 
was commissioner of insolvency for the 
Southern District of New York. He mar- 
ried a daughter of John Chandler, of 
Blooming Grove, a large land owner, 

NY-VolIV-15 2: 



storekeeper and miller, also trading with 
the West Indies, a man of importance in 
Orange county. Their daughter, Sarah 
Agnes Craig, was a country bred girl, a 
fine horsewoman in her younger days. 
She was educated in the famous Emma 
Willard School at Troy, New York. Her 
marriage to William F. Havemeyer was 
a very happy one, and in her affection, 
practical intelligence and earnest cooper- 
ation her husband found much of inspi- 
ration that led him onward in a notable 
business and official career. Mrs. Have- 
meyer was the mother of ten children, 
her heart was centered in her home, and 
her husband and children were her joy 
and pride. She was very charitable, had 
deep religious convictions, was earnest 
and sincere, her example and teaching 
potent in moulding the lives and charac- 
ters of her children. She lived to the age 
of eighty-seven and between her and her 
thirdchild, John C, there existed the most 
intimate fellowship. The family home 
was located in what is now a far down 
town section on Vandam street, adjoin- 
ing the sugar house, and there John Craig 
Havemeyer was born. 

John Craig Havemeyer was born May 
31, 1833, son of William Frederick and 
Sarah Agnes (Craig) Havemeyer. Until 
his eleventh year he attended various pri- 
vate schools. Miss Durant's, Greenwich 
and Charlton streets. Miss Houghton's, 
Vandam near Varick street, and Mr. Mar- 
tin's in Dominick street. At the age of 
eleven he was sent to the boarding school 
of Rev. Robert W. Harris, White Plains, 
New York. From a diary neatly kept 
during this period it is found that the 
studies he pursued were Latin, Greek, 
mathematics, French, geography, history 
and spelling and that the religious ele- 
ment was prominent in the training he 
there received. He remained at White 
Plains about two years, then entered the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



grammar school of Columbia College, 
there gaining special commendation for 
excellence in English. He was unusually 
facile in expressing himself in good Eng- 
lish while quite young and when but 
fourteen one of his youthful essays, "The 
Seasons," was admitted into the public 
print. During portions of 1848-49 he was 
a student at New York University, but 
ill health and particularly poor eyesight 
compelled him to withdraw from college. 
He, however, continued his studies in pri- 
vate and became a member of two debat- 
ing societies, the Philosophian Society, of 
which he was chosen president in 1850, 
and the Addisonian, which he was instru- 
mental in organizing in January, 1851. 
The debates in these societies in which 
the boy took active part were of great 
aid to him in cultivating that fluency, 
clarity and directness of expression for 
which he has always been noted. The 
abandonment of his college course was a 
severe blow to him and brought him 
much sadness and disappointment. For 
a time he did nothing, then attempted to 
secure a position but the fact that his 
father was mayor created a peculiar diffi- 
culty. He became discouraged and re- 
solved to "run away," and go by vessel 
to California, but his father learned of 
his plans and busied himself in the boy's 
behalf, finally securing him a position 
with his uncle in a grocery store on Ful- 
ton street, where he received fifty dollars 
for his first year's work. 

The following pledge solemnly taken 
and kept with an extract from his diary 
reveals his moral and religious sentiment, 
deliberate judgment and will power, 
even in youth : "I, the undersigned, 
do hereby solemnly promise and declare 
that I will, as far as in me lies, totally 
abstain from the use of tobacco, snuff or 
segars, and in addition thereto do sol- 
emnly affirm that I will refrain partaking 
in large or small quantities of intoxicat- 



ing liquors of any kind so ever from date 
until arrived at the age of twenty-one and 
if then this course be found beneficial 
whether or not I will follow this rule the 
rest of life, remains for myself to de- 
termine." The above has been drawn out 
and is now signed from a growing incli- 
nation towards indulging in them ex- 
hibiting itself. From his diary, date of 
November 14, 1850, this extract is taken: 

In my eighteenth year, of moderate size and 
passable looks, engaged in the grocery business 
with an uncle, I sometimes feel a contentment 
and at others a depression of spirits which alter- 
nately makes me satisfied with my condition and 
again spreads on all objects around a gloom 
which a day of active exercise alone can dispel. 
But my trust is in God. He will answer my 
prayers and give me the equilibrium of disposi- 
tion, the sobriety of thought and activity of mind 
and body which I have long and earnestly de- 
sired. I wish to be neither too grave nor gay, 
but desire to unite the two traits in such a 
manner as will render me a happy medium. 

Above all things I would be governed in my 
actions and thoughts by a high and holy principle 
which will lead me always to consider the right 
and justice; influence me to act kindly and gen- 
erously toward all, to relieve the wants of the 
destitute, encourage the disheartened and which 
will impart to my character a firmness and proper 
dignity and give to my feelings an elevation 
which shall act as a talisman to protect me from 
the low contaminations surrounding me, by which 
I sometimes fear that I have been somewhat 
corrupted. 

From June 12, 1852, until March 27, 
1853, he took an extended tour through 
Europe and the countries bordering the 
Mediterranean, a journey taken at his 
father's instance as a health measure, but 
for the young man it became a period of 
investigation and study, not mere sight- 
seeing. At Bueckeburg, the home of his 
German ancestors, he visited the house in 
which his grandfather was born. His let- 
ters from European cities and from the 
Holy Land display an interest in every- 
thing he saw, and a close observation 
that enabled him to write most interest- 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ingly and intelligently of the countries he 
visited. He returned to New York from 
Havre on the steamer "Humbolt," arriv- 
ing home in April, 1853. 

With his return from Europe, Mr. 
Havemeyer began his business life in 
earnest. He became clerk in the Have- 
meyer & Moller Sugar House and in a 
few months wrote to his sister: "I went 
into the sugar house as clerk towards 
the last of December and have now (Jan- 
uary 30, 1853) entire charge of the office." 
During this period he was vice-president 
of the Everett Club, a debating society, 
and was active in the support of religion 
and the church. 

On the last day of the year 1855 he 
signed a partnership agreement with 
Charles E. Bertrand, then beginning his 
independent career as a sugar refiner. 
The firm Havemeyer & Bertrand was 
located at Williamsburg at what is now 
the corner of South Third and First 
streets, Brooklyn. Six months later a 
cousin, F. C. Havemeyer, was admitted 
to the firm. The difficulty in getting 
proper machinery from Germany caused 
delay and loss, and after nine months of 
struggle Mr. Havemeyer sold his inter- 
est to Havemeyer & Moller. 

In November, 1856, he started on a 
journey intending to travel east and west 
until he found a business opportunity and 
wherever he found a business opportun- 
ity there to settle, but after visiting Bos- 
ton and Worcester he returned to New 
York, there deciding to remain. In 
March, 1857, he entered the employ of 
Havemeyer & Moller and during the fall 
of that year made a business trip to De- 
troit and other places, a journey he re- 
cords in his diary as one on which he 
"made the acquaintance of several prin- 
cipal firms in the grocery business." In 
January, 1859, he made a special arrange- 
ment with the firm of William Moller & 
Company, Steam Sugar Refiners, as 



salesman and agent, with power of attor- 
ney, his compensation $3,000 a year and 
a share of the net profits of the business. 
His responsibilities were very great and 
involved business trips to various parts 
of the country. The entries in his diary 
at this period, although meagre, show 
him to have been in improved health and 
spirits and very active in his business. 
Yet, business cares did not prevent his 
giving time to the church, Sunday school. 
Young Men's Christian Association, Bible 
Society and the Everett Club, and 
wherever he happened to be on a Sun- 
day he always attended Divine service. 

About the end of January, i860. Mr. 
Havemeyer left William Moller & Com- 
pany, and very soon afterward started 
independently as a commission merchant 
with offices first at No. 107 Water street, 
later at No. 175 Pearl street, also becom- 
ing a member of the New York Produce 
Exchange. It was at that time that Mr. 
Havemeyer, prompted by devotion to 
Christian business principle, had Scrip- 
tural quotations printed on his business 
letterheads. His father objected to the 
practice and in deference to him the prac- 
tice was discontinued. Mr. Havemeyer 
admitted his brother Henry to a partner- 
ship in 1865 under the firm name of John 
C. Havemeyer & Brother. Their busi- 
ness was largely in tobacco and rice, later 
many other articles were handled and 
journeys east, west and south were 
necessary. This business relation existed 
until July, 1869, when the firm of Have- 
meyer & Company, composed of Albert 
and Hector C. Havemeyer, engaged John 
C. Havemeyer to conduct the mercantile 
part of their sugar refining business with 
power of attorney. This was an ex- 
tremely responsible position, involving 
extensive purchases and sales of sugar; 
"and any other articles for the use of or 
being the product of one refinery, or 
otherwise required by our business, to 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



draw or endorse checks and orders for 
the payment of money, to make or in- 
dorse any promissory notes or bills of 
exchange, to borrow money and generally 
to negotiate and transact in the name and 
in behalf of said firm, all financial and 
commercial matters properly relating to 
said business as fully and effectually as 
either we or either of us as copartners 
in said firm could do if present." Under 
so wide a contract Mr. Havemeyer 
worked for nine months when Have- 
meyer & Company sold out to Have- 
meyer & Elder, January 7, 1870. From 
that time until 1880 Mr. Havemeyer was 
a member of the firm of Havemeyer 
Brothers & Company, Sugar Refiners, 
No. 89 Wall street. He sold his one- 
sixth interest in the firm in September, 
1880, to John E. Searles, Jr., of No. 100 
Wall street, retiring from that time on 
from all connection with the sugar busi- 
ness ; often during later years it has been 
erroneously stated that he was a member 
of the "Sugar Trust." Many times he 
has been falsely attacked in that connec- 
tion and to disprove the charge he has in 
several instances publicly set forth his 
relations, terminating in 1880, to the busi- 
ness of sugar refining. 

From 1880 until his retirement, Mr. 
Havemeyer confined his business opera- 
tions to real estate dealing in the States 
of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New 
York, and the region now the State of 
Oklahoma. During the seventies he was 
president of the Central Railroad of Long 
Island, associated as a bondholder with 
the Darien Short Line Railroad in 1893, 
in 1890 prominently connected with the 
reorganization of the Toledo, St. Louis 
& Kansas City Railroad Company, and 
for some time was a trustee of the Con- 
tinental Trust Company of New York. 

During the years 1876 to 1881 Mr. 
Havemeyer, as the executor of the will of 
his father, found himself with his brother 



Henry the defendants in a suit brought 
by the administrators of the estate of his 
uncle, Albert Havemeyer, involving the 
charge of a breach of contract in the sale 
of a large amount of stock of the Long 
Island Railroad Company. Two juries 
decided against the defendants but on 
appeal the verdict was reversed, Judge 
William H. Taft, afterward President, 
was one of the judges who decided the 
case in John C. and Henry Havemeyer's 
favor. 

In the home of his distinguished father 
and in subsequent social and business re- 
lations, Mr. Havemeyer frequently met 
men of great reputation and influence. 
One of these was Samuel J. Tilden, the 
great lawyer and Democratic idol, who 
used often to visit Mayor Havemeyer at 
his home, Mr. Tilden, a bachelor, then 
living on Union Square near Fourteenth 
street. He left a lasting impression on 
Mr. Havemeyer on account of his irregu- 
lar habits of life. He went to bed very 
late and got up very late, not before ten 
in the morning. He had false teeth and 
when agitated moved them about in his 
mouth and as his agitation increased 
would take them out and place them on 
the table. He drew up Mr. Havemeyer's 
partnership papers and warned him that 
it was important to look into all the de- 
tails of a partner's character, very much 
the same as when one got married. In 
the early eighties Mr. Havemeyer was 
connected in business with John Wana- 
maker, the great merchant and states- 
man, and has some interesting letters ex- 
changed with that great man, with Judge 
Taft, and many other men of an earlier 
day. Colonel Robert G. Ingersoll, the 
noted agnostic, was also brought in busi- 
ness touch with him, and an interesting 
correspondence between the two men is 
preserved, all the more interesting on ac- 
count of the abysmal difference between 
them in relation to Christian belief. 



228 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



For forty years after his marriage in 
1872 Mr. Havemeyer made Yonkers his 
home and took a deep interest in promot- 
ing its prosperity. He advocated public 
parks, headed the agitation which result- 
ed in old historic Manor Hall being saved 
and transferred to the State of New York, 
and at the dedication of "Hollywood Inn," 
a non-sectarian club house for young 
men, represented St. John's Chapter of 
the Brotherhood of St. Andrew in a 
speech full of deep feeling. He was and 
is opposed to war on Christian grounds, 
depreciates the patriotism that is found- 
ed on military or naval prowess, believes 
that humanity and religion are above 
patriotism and the law of universal love 
before that of allegiance to one's country, 
and that as long as mankind shall con- 
tinue to bestow more liberal applause on 
their destroyers than on their benefactors 
the thirst for military glory will ever be 
the vice of the most exalted characters. 
He has maintained his positions in the 
religious and secular press, beginning at 
the age of seventeen with an article in the 
New York "Evening Post," of which Wil- 
liam Cullen Bryant was the editor, down 
to the present, taking issue with Theo- 
dore Roosevelt's article in the "Outlook" 
in 1909 on "Great Armaments and Peace," 
answering it in the "Christian Advocate" 
of New York. He was a Democrat by 
inheritance, but never has been narrowly 
partisan. He warmly supported Grover 
Cleveland for President, and in 1908 sup- 
ported Bryan, but with little enthusiasm, 
believing on the whole he represented 
better principles than his opponent. He 
bitterly opposed the use of the pulpit as 
a political rostrum. In 1903, when capi- 
tal and labor were in bitter controversy, 
Mr. Havemeyer endeavored to bring 
about a better mutual understanding by 
public discussion and at his own expense 
obtained Music Hall, Yonkers, in which 
to hold the meeting, his position being 



wholly impartial, only seeking to estab- 
lish the fact that both capital and labor 
were under obligations to higher de- 
mands of humanity and religion. 

Mr. Havemeyer was reared in the at- 
mosphere of a religious home, and at 
about the age of sixteen made an open 
profession of religion and joined the 
Methodist church. From this early age 
he associated himself actively with all 
departments of his church, believing them 
all essential to the development of the 
best type of Christian character. In 1862 
he aided in founding the Christian 
Brotherhood of Central Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, New York, of which Rev. 
Alfred Cookman of sainted memory was 
pastor, and became its first president. 
After settling in Yonkers he joined the 
First Methodist Church and has never 
removed his membership. He was treas- 
urer of the building committee in charge 
of the erection of the present beautiful 
church edifice and he has been a devoted 
and influential layman of the church he 
loves for over sixty years. For a number 
of years he was closely associated with 
the work of the Evangelical Alliance and 
a member of the executive committee. 
In the work of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, he has taken a lively 
interest since youth, his membership dat- 
ing back to 1855 when the association 
occupied rooms in Clinton Hall, Astor 
Place. It was largely through his aid 
that the Yonkers branch was established. 
He was its first president, personally 
raised the first year's salary of the gen- 
era! secretary, was for years president 
of the board of trustees, was a recognized 
association speaker and addressed more 
Young Men's Christian Association audi- 
ences than any man in Yonkers, com- 
pleted the fund to pay oflf its mortgage 
indebtedness, and as the secretary writes : 
"There hangs in my office, just over my 
desk, a fine portrait of the kindly earnest, 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



generous face of my friend, John C. 
Havemeyer, with the inscription on the 
frame, 'John C. Havemeyer, First Presi- 
dent of the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation 1881'." 

For many years he was a local preacher 
of his church and occupied many pulpits 
other than those of his own denomina- 
tion. The Bible is his great and final 
authority ; what can be proved by it is 
binding beyond dispute. He believes 
thoroughly in personal Christian work, in 
strict Sabbath observance. He has writ- 
ten many monographs, among others "A 
Study of Labor Unions," "Patriotism," 
"Shall We Prepare for War in Time of 
Peace," "The Needs of the Church from 
a Layman's Standpoint," "What is Love 
of Country," "Great Armam,ents and 
Peace," "Fundamental Facts About Re- 
ligion," and "Foundation Truth." His 
newspaper articles are legion and there 
has been no great moral, religious or 
ethical question of his time that he has 
not publicly discussed, and has never 
sought an obscure person to discuss it 
with. 

Personal philanthropy cannot be fairly 
dealt with in a biography for the essence 
of true benevolence is secrecy. But phi- 
lanthropy is an indication of character 
and the method and spirit in which it ex- 
presses itself deserve careful considera- 
tion. Mr. Havemeyer was born with an 
inherited disposition to help those in need 
and was trained to do good from earliest 
days by precept and home example. He 
believes in simple living and regards 
wealth as a stewardship for which an ac- 
count must finally be rendered. He gives 
systematically and as far as possible finds 
out all he can concerning the person or 
cause he is assisting. He holds decided 
opinions upon philanthropy, as he does 
upon every question he deems of impor- 
tance, and is not easily driven from a 



position in which he has intrenched him- 
self particularly if it be a Bible truth. He 
is conscientious to the last degree, emi- 
nently fair in argument and most cour- 
teous. A strong character and one the 
world should know better. 

Mr. Havemeyer married in Athens, 
Greece, December 5, 1872, Alice Alide 
Francis, daughter of John Morgan and 
Harriet E. (Tucker) Francis. Her father 
was for three years United States minis- 
ter to Greece, later United States am- 
bassador to Austria-Hungary, and owner 
as well as editor of the Troy (New York) 
"Times." Mr. Havemeyer met his future 
bride in 1871 in Brussels, where she was 
sojourning with her parents. Later they 
became engaged and in November, 1872, 
sailed from New York to Greece to claim 
his bride. A number of distinguished 
guests were present at the marriage, 
among them several missionaries. They 
made Yonkers their permanent home. 



CLARKE, R. Floyd, 

Attorney-at-I.aw, Author. 

Mr. Clarke is descended on the father's 
side from one of the oldest Rhode Island 
families, with straight descent from the 
English family of Clarkes, originally 
located at Westhorpe, Suflfolk county, 
England, whose pedigree can be traced 
back with the aid of Parish Registers and 
an ancient Bible to John Clarke, of Wes- 
thorpe, Suflfolk county, England, who died 
there in 1559. (See "The Clarke Families 
of Rhode Island," by George Austin Mor- 
rison, Jr., page 13). 

The grandson of this John Clarke was 
also of Westhorpe, and had among his 
seven children four males known as the 
"Immigrants," namely, second son Ca- 
rewe, third son Thomas, fifth son John, 
seventh son Joseph, who emigrated to 
America about 1637. 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Of these four immigrants, John Clarke, 
born October 8, 1609, died April 20, 1676, 
was the most prominent. (See sketch of 
him in 4 "Appleton's American Cyclo- 
paedia," 640, and "Story of Dr. John 
Clarke, Founder of Rhode Island," by 
Thomas W. Bicknell.) He devoted him- 
self to study, and at twenty-eight years of 
age we find him holding two professions 
— that of a physician and also that of an 
ordained minister of the Baptist faith. 
He appears in the Catalogue of the Uni- 
versity of Leyden, Holland, 1575-1875, as 
one of the students there on July 17, 1635 
("Story of Dr. John Clarke," JM/ra, p. 74) ; 
and during his life he practiced both pro- 
fessions in New England, and also prac- 
ticed as a physician in London for twelve 
years while he was engaged in obtaining 
the charter for Rhode Island hereinafter 
mentioned. 

He emigrated to Boston in November, 
1637. Owing to his views on religious 
toleration, he came in conflict with the 
Puritan element, and was practically 
banished, and proceeded with others to 
form a settlement on the Island of Aquid- 
neck, Rhode Island. Later, in 165 1, hav- 
ing held religious services at Lynn, he 
and two companions were sentenced to 
pay fines, or else to be whipped, and to 
remain in prison until paid, for their meet- 
ing at William Witter's about July 21st, 
and then and at other times preaching 
and blaspheming, etc. On August 31, 
165 1, from his prison he wrote to the 
Honored Court assembled at Boston, ac- 
cepting the profifer publicly made the day 
before of a dispute with the ministers, 
and therefore "do desire you would ap- 
point the time when, and the person with 
whom" the points might be disputed pub- 
licly. This challenge to a debate was not 
accepted, and his fine and Mr. Crandall's 
were paid by friends without their con- 
sent, they thus escaping corporal punish- 



ment. His fellow prisoner, Holmes, was 
publicly flogged. ("Story of Dr. John 
Clarke," supra, p. 85.) 

Later, Dr. Clarke and Roger Williams 
proceeded to England — Clarke represent- 
ing the Newport and Aquidneck colonies, 
and Williams the Providence colony. 
Williams returned, but Clarke remained 
in England for twelve years, watching 
over and advancing the afJairs of the 
Colony, and finally obtained from the 
Government of Charles II. a Royal Char- 
ter for Rhode Island in the year 1663. 
This charter contains the first guarantee 
of civil and religious freedom in America. 
In fact it is the first charter of religious 
toleration ever granted. This charter 
provided : "that no person within the said 
colony at any time hereafter shall be in 
anywise molested, punished, disquieted or 
called in question for any differences of 
opinion in matters of religion, which do not 
actually disturb the civil peace." ("Story 
of Dr. John Clarke," supra, p. 193.) 
The provisions in this charter, embody- 
ing freedom of religious thought and wor- 
ship with a temperate and iust civil gov- 
ernment as opposed to the narrow and 
dogmatic attitude of the other New Eng- 
land colonies at this time upon these 
questions was chiefly the idea and con- 
ception of John Clarke. ("Story of Dr. 
John Clarke," supra.) 

Dr. Clarke maintained himself in Eng- 
land by using his own funds, and we find 
later that the town of Providence and 
other towns voted him a partial compen- 
sation for his outlays. On returning to 
the Colonies, he settled at Newport, and 
later died there, without issue, after hold- 
ing various religious and public offices. 
("Story of Dr. John Clarke, supra.) 

^^'hile John Clarke left no issue, his 
three brothers left issue, resulting in one 
of the three branches of the Clarke family 
in the United States. 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joseph Clarke, of Westhorpe, Suffolk 
county, England, and later of Newport 
and Westerly, brother of John Clarke, 
is the ancestor of R. Floyd Clarke, of this 
review. Joseph Clarke was admitted an 
inhabitant of the Island of Aquidneck at 
Newport in 1638. He was president at 
the General Court of Election in 1640, 
and became a freeman on March 17, 1641. 
He was made one of the original mem- 
bers of the First Baptist Church of New- 
port in 1644, and a member of the General 
Court of Trials in 1648 ; he became a free- 
man of the Colony and acted as a com- 
missioner in 1655-57-58-59 and was as- 
sistant in 1658-63-64-65-78-80-90. His 
name appears in the charter granted to 
Rhode Island by Charles II.. July 8, 1663. 
He became a freeman at Westerly in 
1668, and acted as deputy to the General 
Assembly in 1668-69-70-71-72-90. He was 
a member of the Court of Justices of the 
Peace in 1677. He returned to Newport 
in the later years of his life. ("Clarke 
Families of Rhode Island," Morrison, p. 
23.) 

The descendants of Joseph Clarke, the 
immigrant above referred to, continued 
living in Newport and Westerly and occu- 
pying various religious and political posi- 
tions from time to time until the eighth 
generation was represented by Thomas 
Clarke, of Westerly, and later of North 
Stonington, Connecticut, born June 10, 
1749, died May 28, 1832, married, June 10, 
1770, Olive Marsh, of Hartford, Vermont, 
among whose eleven children was a son, 
Samuel, born June 23, 1790 (ibid, p. 69). 

This Samuel Clarke was the grand- 
father of R. Floyd Clarke. The story as 
told in the family is that Samuel Clarke 
was of a studious turn of mind, and pre- 
ferred books to ploughing, much to the 
chagrin of his father, Thomas Clarke; 
that on one occasion when the boy was 
about fifteen vears old, his father causrht 



him reading Euclid in the shade of a tree 
while the horses and plough stood idle 
in the furrow. Result — -serious parental 
chastisement, and that night the young- 
ster ran away to sea. Beginning as a 
cabin boy in the New England West 
Indies trade, he soon became a super- 
cargo, waxed well in this world's goods — 
married Eliza Burnell, daughter of an 
English sea captain at Nassau, in the Ba- 
hamas, and taking her to the United 
States established himself as a factor, etc., 
in marine stores, etc., at St. Marys, 
Georgia, on the river St. Marys, a tribu- 
tary of the river St. Johns. Later he was 
practically ruined by the burning of his 
warehouse and stock, etc., by a predatory 
expedition of the British up the St. Marys 
river in the War of 1812. Making a new 
start at the same place, he again im- 
proved in this world's goods when the 
Seminole War came along, and with it 
the destruction of his warehouse and 
goods and family residence by flames, he 
and his family barely escaping with their 
lives. Again a new start in life, with a 
wife and large family on his hands, in 
Savannah and St. Marys, and again a 
successful issue and the death of the old 
gentleman at his place of residence, 
"Glenwood," St. Marys, Georgia, Octcn 
ber 26, 1858, where he had been accus- 
tomed to entertain his friends in the style 
of the old Southern hospitality of "before 
the war." He left his second wife sur- 
viving; he had no issue by her, but had 
issue by his first wife of some fifteen chil- 
dren. Lemuel Clarence Clarke, the sixth 
son and tenth child of this couple, was the 
father of R. Floyd Clarke. 

On his father's side Mr. Clarke has a 
small mixture of Spanish blood. His 
great-grandmother, Elizabeth Sanchez, of 
the Venanchio Sanchez family of St. Au- 
gustine, Florida, married Captain Bur- 
nell, an English sea captain, the father of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his grandmother, who became the wife of 
the Samuel Clarke, above mentioned. 

On his mother's side Mr. Clarke is of 
mixed English and Scotch blood — his 
grandmother, Sarah Caroline Heriot, be- 
ing of the Heriots hailing from George- 
town, South Carolina, and prior to that 
from Haddington, in Scotland. Of this 
family was that George Heriot who 
founded a hospital in Edinburgh, and a 
sketch of whose life may be found in 
the 13 Encyclopaedia .Brittanica (nth 
Ed.) p. 363. His grandfather on the 
mother's side, Thomas Boston Clarkson, 
was a resident of Charleston, and later of 
Columbia, South Carolina, and was a 
wealthy cotton planter owning four plan- 
tations and many slaves. He was de- 
scended from the Clarksons of England, 
and through the female line from the 
Scotch divine, Thomas Boston, Calvin- 
istic Theologian, 1676-1732, author of 
"The Crook and The Lot," and other 
theological works, — a sketch of whose life 
may be found in 2 Appleton's American 
Encyclopaedia, p. 139, and 4 Encyclopae- 
dia Brittanica (nth Ed.) p. 289. 

Mr. Clarke's father, Lemuel Clarence 
Clarke, born at St. Marys, Georgia, Au- 
gust 4, 1831, later removed to Columbia, 
South Carolina, and there married Caro- 
line Beaumont Clarkson, of Columbia, 
South Carolina, December 17, 1859. He 
was a merchant in Columbia, South Caro- 
lina, before and during the war, and then 
removed with his family to New Orleans 
and later to New York, and died in New 
York, April 30, 1893. Mr. Clarke's 
mother, Caroline Beaumont (Clarkson) 
Clarke, of Columbia, South Carolina, 
born October 10, 1834, died at New York 
City. October 26, 1912, she being the first 
daughter and fourth child of Thomas 
Clarkson and Sarah Caroline Heriot, men- 
tioned above. This couple had seven chil- 
dren, all save one dying in infancy. Their 
third child and second son, R. Floyd, born 



after his twin brother, October 14, 1859, 
is the sole survivor of the whole family. 

This family of Clarksons had come over 
to Charleston, South Carolina, in the 
eighteenth century, and in 185 1 they were 
represented by three brothers named 
Thomas Boston Clarkson, William Clark- 
son and John Clarkson, and by the child 
of a deceased sister, W. C. Johnson. 
Thomas Boston Clarkson and William 
Clarkson had married, and had large 
families, but the third, John, was a 
wealthy bachelor. 

As an indication that all Southerners of 
this period did not believe in slavery, the 
following episode may be of interest: In 
December, 1841, the Legislature of South 
Carolina passed an act to prevent the 
emancipation of slaves. John Clarkson 
died in 1849, leaving a will in which, with 
the exception a few legacies, he be- 
queathed all of his property, on certain 
conditions made with him, to his brother, 
William Clarkson, and appointed the 
latter executor. The executor having 
qualified, the infant son of the deceased 
sister brought a suit to be found as "W. 
C. Johnson, by next friend, vs. William 
Clarkson and Thomas Boston Clarkson, 
Charleston, January, 1851, 24 South Caro- 
lina Equity Reports, 305," in which he 
declared that the object of the will, and 
the conditions under which it had been 
given, had been to free the slaves of the 
testator, and asked for a decree to set 
aside the will. John Clarkson's property 
consisted of a plantation, a large number 
of negroes, together with stocks and 
other personal estate. 

The answer of the defendants admitted 
that the property was left to them, and 
accepted by them upon the conditions ex- 
pressed by the testator in certain papers 
accompanying the will unless prevented 
by the court, and upon condition that 
they were to practice no evasion of the 
law, but to make application to the Legis- 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lature of the State, which body alone 
could emancipate slaves, to emancipate 
all the slaves belonging to the testator at 
death, or to give the defendants a license 
to send them out of the State ; and if the 
said negroes be emancipated by the Leg- 
islature, or defendants permitted to send 
them out of the State, then to sell the 
plantation and out of the property and 
proceeds pay certain legacies, and the 
balance to divide among the negroes. If 
the foregoing could not be done, then to 
sell and divide according to other direc- 
tions given. The court held that no bene- 
ficial interest was given by the will to 
William Clarkson and the conditions im- 
posed by the testator being void under 
the law of South Carolina, the estate went 
to the next of kin. Among the memo- 
randa left by John Clarkson with his will 
were the following: 

Husbands and wives must on no account be 
separated. 
Nov. 25, 1842. John Clarkson. 

I do not wish my negroes forced to go to 
Africa, if they do not wish it. 
Aug. 13, 1849. John Clarkson. 

R. Floyd Clarke, son of Lemuel Clar- 
ence and Caroline Beaumont (Clarkson) 
Clarke, was born October 14, 1859, in 
Columbia, South Carolina. He was in 
that town at the time it was burned dur- 
ing Sherman's march in 1865 ; was later, 
at the age of seven, in the yellow fever 
epidemic of 1867 in New Orleans, recov- 
ering from an attack of the same, including 
the black vomit, from which stage of the 
disease a very small percentage ever sur- 
vive. Afterwards, the family being im- 
poverished by the war, Mr. Clarke was 
brought as a child to New York about 
1870, where he was educated in Public 
School No. 35— the old 13th Street School 
near Sixth Avenue, and in the College of 
the City of New York, then at 23rd Street 



Stand, Lexington Avenue. He graduated 
from the College of the City of New 
York, A. B. in 1880, and in 1899 received 
from that institution the degree of A. M. 
Taking up the study of law at Columbia 
College Law School, he was graduated 
LL. B. cum laude in 1882, taking the first 
prize in Municipal Law. Shortly after- 
wards he was admitted to the New York 
bar, obtaining, with others, honorable 
mention as the result of the examination, 
and has since practiced law in New York 
City, first as managing clerk in the office 
of Olcott & Mestre, 1882-83; then as a 
member of the firm, 1883-84 ; then as a 
member of the firm of Clarke & Culver, 
1895-1903; and from that time under his 
own name. He has been counsel for large 
interests and corporations ; and has been 
identified with important litigations and 
international cases, notably in the follow- 
ing litigations : The George Kemp will 
case ; the Edward Kemp will case ; the 
Dunlap Estate litigation ; the Consoli- 
dated Lake Superior Corporation litiga- 
tion ; the James R. Keiser trade name lit- 
igation over "Keiser Cravats" and others. 
He has been counsel in the following 
international cases, notably in connection 
with the claims of private claimants 
under the Mexican title in the interna- 
tional arbitration case of Mexico z's. 
United States in the El Chamizal District, 
El Paso, Texas, decision for part of the 
land in favor of Mexico, June 15, 191 1, 
decision protested by the United States 
and matter standing in statu quo ; the 
claim of the United States & Venezuela 
Company, known as "the Crichfield As- 
phalt Concession" against Venezuela, 
which, by protocol of February 13, 1909, 
was sent to the Hague Tribunal, but was 
afterwards settled out of court for $475,- 
000 ; the claim of the McGivney & Roke- 
by Construction Company against Cuba 
which resulted in obtaining enforcement 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



through diplomatic intervention by the 
United States under the Piatt Amend- 
ment of their contract to sewer and pave 
the City of Havana, work on which is 
going on and has now been practically 
completed; counsel for Porter Charlton 
(the Lake Como murder case) in habeas 
corpus proceedings to prevent his depor- 
tation to Italy on the ground that Italy 
having admittedly broken the Treaty of 
Extradition, it could not be heard to en- 
force it. This issue was taken through 
the Secretary of State's office and all the 
courts to the Supreme Court of the 
United States without success ; but on 
the subsequent trial of the case in Italy, 
the delays of the litigation in America 
counting on the sentence, Charlton was 
sentenced to only twenty-eight days of 
imprisonment and is now a free man ; 
counsel also in important contraband 
cases arising as to steamers and cargoes 
in the recent world war ; and others. 

He is the author of "The Science of Law 
and Law Making" Macmillan & Com- 
pany, 1898) and articles including "A 
Permanent Tribunal of International Law 
— Its Necessity and Value," i American 
Journal of International Law, April, 1907, 
p. 342; "Castro, The Ungrateful," North 
American Review, April, 1908; "An Epi- 
sode on the Law of Trusts," Columbia 
Law Review, May, 1905; "Intervention 
for Breach of Contract or Tort Com- 
mitted by a Sovereignty," Proceedings of 
American Society of International Law, 
4th Annual Meeting, 1910, pp. 149-191. 

He is a member of the New York State 
Bar Association, the Association of the 
Bar of the City of New York, the New 
York County Lawyers' Association, 
American Society of International Law, 
Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity, Phi 
Beta Kappa Society. He is a life member 
of the New York Southern Society. His 
recreations are: Yachting, motoring and 
chess. He owns the sloop yachts "Atala" 



and "Golliwog," and has a country place 
at Stony Creek, Connecticut, opposite the 
Thimble Islands. Clubs : Life member 
of the University Club of the City of New 
York, New York Yacht Club, Larchmont 
Yacht Club and Atlantic Yacht Club. 
Member of Colonial Order of the Acorn 
and Manhattan Chess Club. 

Mr. Clarke's book, "The Science of 
Law and Law Making," being a treatise 
on the vexed question of the propriety of 
codifying the whole of the Civil Law, and 
taking strong ground against its entire 
codification, has been much discussed and 
has received many reviews both in the 
United States and England. As might 
be expected from the nature of its subject 
matter, these have been partly compli- 
mentary and partly the reverse. As a 
sample of the diversity of the human 
mind, the following extracts from some 
of these reviews may be of interest : 

From "The Harvard Law Review," May, 1898, 
vol. xii, p. 68: Mr. Clarke's book should be wel- 
comed as affording to the general reader an 
introduction to the study of law suggestive of the 
beauty and interest of its problems, and as giving 
for the first time a comprehensive discussion of 
the problem of codification * * *. 

In advocating the cause of the case law system, 
the real substance of the book, the writer has 
accomplished his purpose well. The division of 
the chapters into so many headings adds little to 
the clearness or literary merit of the work, but 
the argument is, on the whole, coherent and con- 
vincing. 

From "The Green Bag," May, 1898, vol. x, No. 
5, p. 228: This work is intended especially for 
the layman, but the legal profession will also find 
it both readable and instructive. Mr. Clarke 
gives his readers a clear and true conception of 
the system of law under which they live, explain- 
ing in popular terms the general outlines of legal 
systems and making the subject perfectly intelli- 
gible to the ordinary mind. He then proceeds to 
discuss the question of codification, and his con- 
clusions seem to us to be sound and to be sus- 
tained by facts. We commend the book as one 
which may be read with profit by all thinking 
men. 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



From "The Albany Law Journal," Saturday, 
April 2, 1898, vol. 57, No. 14, p. 223 : * * * 
Within the 475 pages of this work the author has 
condensed in an admirable manner all the leading 
arguments for and against codification, in ad- 
dition to which he has given a large amount of 
elementary matter, valuable not only to the stu- 
dent, but as well to the professional reader, in 
refreshing his recollection and aiding to a clearer 
conception of the generalizations involved in the 
arguments advanced. His style of writing, it may 
be added, is charmingly clear, as well as remark- 
ably vigorous. * * * it will probably be con- 
ceded that it would be difficult to put the argu- 
ment against codification more strongly and forci- 
bly in so many words. Mr. Clarke has certainly 
made a valuable contribution to the solution of a 
very important and e.xceedingly complex problem. 

From "The Yale Law Journal" (New Haven), 
May, 1898, vol. vii. No. 8, p. 374: * * * Mr. 
Clarke takes strong ground against codification. 
The arguments for and against are reviewed and 
the question made distinct and clear. This 
method of illustrating the working of the systems 
of Case and Code Law, by applying their methods 
to the solution of the question of a contract in 
restraint of trade, is ingenious and convincing. 

From "The New York Law Journal," Friday, 
May 13, 1898, vol. 19, No. 36, p. 522 : * * * 
This work will certainly accomplish one of its 
principal purposes in imparting to intelligent lay 
readers the science of jurisprudence and the pro- 
cess of the building of the common law. * * * 
It is therefore a distinct advantage to general 
culture to have a work, such as Mr. Clarke's, 
from which the ordinary reader may learn the 
rudiments of our legal system. 

This author furthermore presents the argu- 
ment against codification very forcibly and com- 
pletely and with much originaHty of suggestion 
and ingenuity of illustration. 

From "The New York Evening Post," Saturday, 
August 20, 1898, vol. 97. P- 15: * * * Where 
we find ourselves at one with the author is in 
believing that some subjects lend themselves 
better to statutory, others to common law regu- 
lation. 

From "The American Law Register," May, 
1898, vols. 46 O. S., 37 N. S., No, 5, P- 335: The 
importance of the question considered by the 
author, and the growing interest in it, insure 
something more than passing attention to the 



book under review. * * * The method of 
adducing concrete examples of case, statute and 
code law is very effective, often rendering argu- 
ment on a given point almost unnecessary. * * * 
To the lawyer, the book will commend itself 
as one in which a vital problem is impartially 
treated. None of the advantages of codification 
are underestimated, nor are its disadvantages 
slighted. The conclusions reached by the author 
are evidently the result of careful thought and, 
insofar as a cursory examination can show, valid. 

From "The Banking Law Journal," May, 1898, 
vol. IS, No. 5, p. 261 : * * * To all intelli- 
gent laymen, as well as to all lawyers desirous of 
brushing up on the fundamentals, we would com- 
mend Mr. Clarke's work, which is written in a 
style that will find favor with the popular reader, 
and which admirably fills the want we have out- 
lined. No one who reads this work will say that 
the law is dry; on the contrary, it will be found 
to have a peculiar fascination for the general 
reader. * * * 

The work gives the most complete and best 
presentation of the whole subject of codification 
— the arguments and reasons pro and con — ^yet 
written ; and while, as such, it will command the 
attention of the foremost legal minds on both 
sides of the Atlantic, it is none the less a work 
which will be found inteUigible and highly in- 
structive to, and entirely within the comprehen- 
sion of, the general reader. 

From "The New Jersey Law Journal," vol. 21, 
No. s, p. 159, May, 1898: A general introduction 
to the study of the law is followed by concrete 
examples showing its expression and application 
in a suit at law and in reported cases, digests, 
text-books and in statutes, and from these ex- 
amples it is shown how different are the methods 
and results when the law is found in reported 
cases and when it is expressed in statutes or 
codes; and then there is a statement of the exist- 
ing provinces of case and statute law and a dis- 
cussion of the question whether the province of 
the latter should be extended and a clear ex- 
position of the essential differences between the 
two and an earnest argument against the effort to 
crystallize the whole law in a definite code * * * 
it has the merit of bringing the question by 
means of examples within the comprehension of 
any intelligent man not familiar with the law. 

From "The Western Reserve Law Journal," 
vol. iv. No. 3, p. 81, April, 1898: * * * Here 
is a work, written with scholarly accuracy and 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



clearness, so simple as to render a dictionary un- 
necessary, and yet so complete and profoimd as 
to invade the depth of a science on which many 
of our law givers are painfully ignorant. * * » 
To those who, with a mental aggressiveness, 
are continually alive to the absorption of useful 
and valuable, even necessary knowledge, we 
gladly commend this work as a new contribution 
to the field of scientific legal thought. 

From "The New York Daily Tribune," Tues- 
day, July 26, 1898: Mr. Clarke has seized the idea 
of evolution in law with a grasp not easily loosed. 
* * * The evolutionary process had been a 
natural one, and both Professor Jenks and Mr. 
Clarke, however much they might differ about 
other things, evidently hold that it continued to 
be natural. Mr. Clarke goes on to say that the 
process in the mind of successive generations of 
judges was inductive, not deductive. The prin- 
ciple was sought in the actual concrete case, not 
inferred from some universal premise and applied 
to the case. Professor Jenks says the same thing 
by contrast, when he describes the method of 
interpreting the Roman Law as scholastic. Mr. 
Clarke's argument is that after all these ages of 
legal development on lines that are now found to 
be just the natural lines of investigation, and 
above all of scientific investigation, it is absurd 
for men to go back to the scholastic method of 
a fixed code. 

From "The American Law Review," vol. xxxii, 
No. 4, p. 637, July- August, 1898: The briefest 
description of this work would be to say that 
it somewhat resembles, in outline and substance, 
the celebrated work of Judge Dillon on English 
and American jurisprudence and laws. It carries 
us into new lines of thought and widens out many 
fresh fields of discussion. It will repay reading 
by everyone who has time to think upon the foun- 
dations of the jurisprudence of his country. 

From "The Nation" (New York), vol. Ixvii, 
No. 1729, p. 137, August 18, 1898; * * * 
Where we find ourselves at one with the author 
is in believing that some subjects lend themselves 
better to statutory, others to common law regula- 
tion. 

From "The Law Quarterly Review," vol. xiv. 
No. 55, July, 1898: This book professes to be an 
introduction to law for the use of laymen, but it 
is really nothing but an elaborate argument 
against codification, in which the general 



pro and contra are set forth with sufticient fair- 
ness and, we venture to think, more than sufticient 
fulness. 

From "The Athenaeum," No. 3695, August 20, 
1898: "The Science of Law and Law Making," 
by Mr. R. Floyd Clarke (MacraiUan & Co.), 
which purports to be an important philosophic, 
or at least scientific, inquiry of more than usual 
interest, because seldom undertaken, proves on 
perusal to be an unscholarly discussion of the 
comparative advantages of statutes or decisions 
as methods of legal expression. * * * 

Admitting all he has to say as to the practical 
difticulties in the way of the statutory form, we 
still think that it is the right form to aim at, and 
Mr. Clarke's arguments to the contrary are far 
from being irresistible. We have not the space to 
go into the merits of the question, nor can it 
be urged that Mr. Clarke's treatment of it tempts 
his critics to do so. Law books are seldom happy 
in style, and in this respect his work can success- 
fully claim to be a law book. 

From "The St. James' Gazette," vol. xxxvii, 
No. 5O76, September 21, 1898: The latest discus- 
sion of the whole subject of codification is to 
be fotmd in a bulky volume, the "Science of Law 
and Law Making," by Mr. R. F. Clarke, of the 
New York Bar. Mr. Clarke, who is a convinced 
opponent of codification, has spoiled his case by 
going too far and endeavoring to establish a 
fanciful theory as to the respective provinces of 
case and statute law. According to him, legal 
rules of conduct involving an ethical element 
should be left to be fixed by the common law in 
decided case; while rules about conduct ethically 
indifferent but requiring regulation for general 
convenience, say the rule of the road, should 
alone be left to the Legislature. * * * 

On the general subject Mr. Clarke has much to 
say that is sound and ingenious; but the book is 
illarranged and intolerably diffuse. 

From "The Irish Law Times and Solicitors' 
Journal," vol. xxxii, No. 1641, Saturday, July 9, 
1898: * * * The fifth chapter, treating of 
English law as it is, is very interesting and novel 
in its methods, contrasting concrete examples of 
Statutes, of Reported Cases, of Text Books, of 
Digests. That dealing with English law as it 
would be if codified is also noteworthy. As 
regards Case Law the author asks if there is no 
relief from the ever increasing mass of Case 
Law, with its bulk, contradictions, and uncer- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tainties. And certainly any one who has glanced 
through the American Digests will appreciate the 
query. He answers that a perfect system of law 
is unattainable and that both Statute and Case 
Law must continue to flourish side by side. Codi- 
fication of the Case Law of England is, he says, 
the mirage of enthusiastic speculation, and would 
be the forging of fetters on the Science of law, 
precluding its true development. To all interested 
in this Science the present work will prove the 
most interesting holiday reading. 

From "The London Times," No. 35,559, Mon- 
day, July 4, 1898 : Mr. Floyd Clarke has written 
a clever book though he does refer to Sir "Thom- 
as Moore" as Lord Chancellor, and though he 
maintains a thesis which is hopelessly wrong. 
"The Science of Law and Law Making" (Mac- 
millan) is another name for "No Codification." 
* * * Perhaps the cleverest, and we are 
tempted to add, not the least absurd, chapter in 
the book is that in which Mr. Clarke seeks to 
show that there is scientific warrant for the dis- 
tinction between statute and case law ; that their 
provinces are properly different; and that while 
statute law deals with morally indifferent con- 
duct, case law relates to ethical conduct. There 
are many things in the volume much more valu- 
able than these whimsical distinctions — or the 
contention that "the necessity for codification 
arises from the clash of wills." The author 
throws out several hints and suggestions well 
worthy of the consideration of law makers, and 
shows that much remains to be done to perfect 
the mechanics of legislation. 

From "The Manchester Guardian," Tuesday, 
August 23, 1898, No. 16,23s : * * * The book 
is indeed the most formidable attack on codifica- 
tion which has appeared for a long time — well 
planned, clearly written, ably and ingeniously 
argued. 

From "The Canada Law Journal," vol. xx.\iv. 
No. 17, October 15, 1898: ♦ * * As the au- 
thor states, it is a curious fact that no work 
exists in which the general outlines of legal 
systems are explained in popular terms, so as to 
be intelligible to the ordinary man not versed in 
technicalities. The book is, firstly, an introduc- 
tion to the study of law and secondly, gives the 
ground work on which to build up an argument 
on codification. It should, therefore, be helpful 
to those students of the law who desire to be 
lawyers and not merely practitioners. It exhibits 



much thought and research, and is written in an 
interesting style and clear in expression. There 
is entirely too little thought and time given to 
the study of foundational truths, such as are 
presented in this book, and the sooner the student 
is compelled to know more of the science of law 
and law making, the better for the profession. 

From "The Evening Sun" (New York), Satur- 
day, June 3, 1899: The layman is accustomed to 
associate dullness with treatises on the law. But 
how foolish this notion is he would speedily 
admit were he to glance into "The Science of 
Law and Law Making" (Macmillan), by Mr. R. 
Floyd Clarke of the New York Bar. It is a 
philosophical and scholarly statement of first 
principles and their application. The great sub- 
ject is handled with such grasp and skill as to 
make the questions dealt with interesting to the 
least sympathetic. The volume, which only runs 
to 450 pages, is one which no lawyer's library 
should be without. As for the student and the 
legislator, they will find it the best possible in- 
troduction to what has been until recent years 
a puzzling and bewildering wilderness. Mr. 
Clarke speaks with authority, but in no case have 
we come upon a quotation in his book which 
could be described as having been used for the 
purpose of ostentation. * * * 

Were it only to be regarded as a book of 
reference, this treatise would be very valuable. 
Mr. Clarke has the trick of clever definition and 
apt illustration. 

From "The Speaker" (London), vol. xviii, No. 
466, p. 675, December 3, 1898: This is a very able, 
if somewhat diffusive, argument against the codi- 
fication of English case law, but we cannot ex- 
actly understand how it came to be labelled "The 
Science of Law." * * * 

Mr. Clarke's book, though the unscientific 
lawyer may perhaps think it too conclusive to 
have needed writing, may with great confidence 
be recommended to all professors and laymen 
who take an interest in legal reform. It comes 
with added authority from across the Atlantic. 

Munroc Smith in "The Political Science Quar- 
terly," vol. xiv. No. 2, p. 347, June, 1899, says : 

* * ♦ He therefore begins at the beginning 
and writes "an introduction to law" which pre- 
pares the way for an exhaustive analysis of the 
difference between statutory and judicial law. 
This part of the work is well done, and the book 
can be cordially commended to every layman who 



23.9 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



desires a more definite conception of the ways in 
which law comes into existence. The method of 
concrete illustration is perhaps pushed to an ex- 
treme; the layman may be induced to read a case 
or two, and even a statute or two, but he is 
hardly likely to peruse with care extracts from a 
digest or the table of contents of a code. 

As regards the treatment of the special question 
of codification, the book has great merits. The 
author really makes it possible for a layman to 
see, as few lawyers really see, what is meant by 
the "flexibility" of case law. When he says (p. 
255) that "the case law deals with the actual 
phenomena, while the code law deals with human 
abstractions from the phenomena as the counters 
for its reasoning," he has really gone to the 
bottom of the question. 

From "Law Notes," Northport, New York, 
January, 1900: * * * We do not know 
whether the author has had previous experience 
in literary work, but his book shows no signs of 
the prentice hand. One may open it at any page, 
and reading a sentence, his attention and interest 
are fixed at once. * * * 

In the short space of this notice we can give no 
adequate idea of the charm of this book for a 
thinking reader. Any one who has read Buckle 
with delight cannot fail to be delighted with Mr. 
Clarke's essay. In its lucid and vigorous style it 
resembles the work of the distinguished philo- 
sopher-historian. But a more striking resem- 
blance is found in the fact that our author, like 
Buckle, ramsacks the whole realm of human 
knowledge in ardent search for analogies that 
will support his argument. And he finds them 
too. 

Hon. John J. Dillon writes of the book : * * * 
I have delayed writing you until I could find the 
time to read the volume, which I have now done 
with both pleasure and instruction. Its pages are 
replete with proofs of your wide reading and 
research, and of your own studies and reflection, 
and the results are embodied in this delightful 
volume. With here and there a slight reserva- 
tion, I am able to agree with you concerning the 
important subjects which you discuss. 

Hon. William L. Penfield, Solicitor of the 
State Department, Washington, 1904, etc., writes : 
* * * It is a solid contribution to the science 
of jurisprudence ; its style is lucid and engaging, 
and I find it very readable and instructive. 



ELY, Albert Heman, 

Fhysician, Surgeon. 

Dr. Albert Heman Ely, one of the most 
prominent physicians of New York City, 
was born November 22, i860, in Elyria, 
Ohio. His ancestor, Nathaniel Ely, was 
born in England, doubtless at Tenterden, 
County Kent, in 1606, and received a 
common school education, as evidenced 
by the records left behind him. He came 
to America, it is thought, in 1634, in the 
bark "Elizabeth," from Ipswich. England, 
with his wife Martha, and a son and a 
daughter. His name is not on the pas- 
senger list, but that of his friend, Robert 
Day, appears, and as they settled on ad- 
joining lots in Newtown, Massachusetts 
Bay, now the city of Cambridge, May 6, 
1635, it is reasonable to believe that they 
came together. In 1639 he was one of 
the constables of Hartford, and in 1643- 
49 one of the selectmen. The name of 
Nathaniel Ely is on the monument to the 
memory of the first settlers of Hartford. 
He died December 26, 1675, ^"^ his wife, 
Martha, October 23, 1688. Samuel Ely, 
son of Nathaniel and Martha Ely, was 
born probably at Hartford, or Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, and died March 19, 1692. 
He removed to Springfield with his par- 
ents and married there, October 28, 1659, 
Mary, youngest child of Robert Day. 
Their sixteen children were all born in 
Springfield. Deacon John Ely, son of 
Samuel and Mary (Day) Ely, was born 
January 28, 1678, at Springfield, and died 
at West Springfield, January 15, 1758. 
He married Mercy Bliss, and their son. 
Ensign John (2) Ely, was born Decem- 
ber 3, 1707, at West Springfield, and died 
there May 22, 1754. He married, Novem- 
ber 15, 1733, Eunice Colton, born at 
Longmeadow, February 22, 1705, died 
March 29, 1778. Justin Ely, son of En- 
sign John (2) and Eunice (Colton) Ely, 
239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born August lo, 1739, at West 
Springfield, and died there June 26, 1817. 
He graduated from Harvard College, 
1759, and became a successful merchant 
in his native town, where he conducted a 
larger business than any other merchant. 
During the Revolution he was active in 
aiding the country, especially in collect- 
ing men who were drafted into the serv- 
ice and in providing for them afterwards. 
He married, November 9, 1762, Ruth, 
daughter of Captain Joel and Ruth (Dart) 
White, of Bolton, Connecticut, and had 
four children. 

Heman Ely, youngest child of Justin 
and Ruth (White) Ely, was born April 
24, 1775, in West Springfield, and died 
February 2, 1852, in Elyria, Ohio. Early 
in the nineteenth century he became in- 
terested in the purchase of lands in Cen- 
tral and Western New York, and under 
his direction large tracts there were sur- 
veyed and sold to settlers. At about the 
same time he entered into partnership 
with his brother Theodore in New York 
City, and was for ten years engaged with 
him in commerce in Europe and the East 
Indies. During this time he visited Eng- 
land, Holland, France and Spain, largely 
in the interests of his business. In France 
he lived long enough to acquire the lan- 
guage, and was in Paris from July, 1809, 
to April, 1810, where he was witness of 
many social and political events of his- 
torical interest. He saw in August, 1809, 
the grand fete of Napoleon and the Em- 
press Josephine, and in the evening at- 
tended a ball at the Hotel de Ville, where 
a cotillion was danced by a set of kings 
and queens. The following April, the 
Empress Josephine having in the mean- 
time been divorced and dethroned, he 
witnessed the formal entrance into Paris 
of Napoleon and Marie Louise of Aus- 
tria, and the religious ceremony of mar- 
riage at the chapel of the Tuilleries. At 
that time all Europe was under arms and 



passage from one country to another was 
attended with the greatest difficulty and 
danger. Mr. Ely and a friend, Charles 
R. Codman, of Boston, in 1809 embarked 
for Holland from England in a Dutch 
fishing boat, were fired upon by gen- 
darmes as they tried to land, and only 
after a long journey on foot reached Rot- 
terdam and finally Paris. In 1810 he re- 
turned to America and the following year 
visited Ohio, and returned to New Eng- 
land by way of Niagara Falls, the St. 
Lawrence, and Montreal. In 1816 he 
again visited Ohio, and in February, 1817, 
accompanied by a large company of 
skilled workmen and laborers, he left the 
east for his future home. The new settle- 
ment was named by Mr .Ely, Elyria, and 
owed its prosperity to his life-long efforts. 
Mr. Ely was a Federalist in politics, of 
the school of George Cabot, Harrison 
Gray Otis and Thomas Handyside Per- 
kins. He married at West Springfield, 
October 9, 1818, Celia Belden, daughter 
of Colonel Ezekiel Porter and Mary (Par- 
sons) Belden. 

Heman (2) Ely, son of Heman (i) and 
Celia (Belden) Ely, was born October 30, 
1820, at Elyria. His mother died in 1827, 
and he was brought up by Rev. Emerson 
Davis, D. D., and his wife, of Westfield, 
Massachusetts. Later he attended the 
high school at Elyria and Mr. Simeon 
Hart's school in Farmington, Connecti- 
cut. He then returned to Elyria and en- 
tered his father's ofifice, where he received 
a business training particularly in the 
care of real estate. He soon assumed the 
entire business. He assisted in the or- 
ganization of the first bank in Elyria, was 
chosen a director in 1847 ^nd from that 
time has been connected with it as direc- 
tor, vice-president and president. It be- 
came in 1883 the National Bank of Elyria. 
In 1852, with Judge Ebenezer Lane and 
others, he secured the building of that 
section of the present Lake Shore & 



240 




WTBather-NY 



^^^^^^^^■^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Michigan Southern Railway, then known 
as the Junction Railroad, from Cleveland 
to Toledo. From 1870 to 1873 he was a 
member of the State Legislature, and in- 
terested himself especially in the forma- 
tion of the state insurance department. 
He was a member of King Solomon's 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
was worshipful master from 1852 to 1871 ; 
of the Grand Commandery of Knights 
Templar of Ohio, grand commander from 
1864 to 1871 ; of the Supreme Council of the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Free 
Masonry for the Northern Jurisdiction of 
the United States, and treasurer for some 
years. He was also a member of the Con- 
gregational church in Elyria, and for 
many years one of its officers. For ten 
years he served as superintendent of the 
Sunday school. He has spent some time in 
compiling the records of the Ely family. 
He married (first) in Elyria, September 
I, 1841, Mary, daughter of Rev. John and 
Abigail (Harris) Montieth, born in Clin- 
ton, Oneida county. New York, Novem- 
ber 12, 1824, died in Elyria, March i, 1849. 
He married (second) in Hartford, May 
27, 1850, Mary Frances, daughter of Hon. 
Thomas and Sarah (Coit) Day, born in 
Hartford, May 7, 1826. 

Dr. Albert Heman Ely, son of Heman 
(2) and Mary Frances (Day) Ely, pre- 
pared for college at Phillips Academy, 
Andover, Massachusetts, and entered 
Yale University, where he was graduated 
in the class of 1885 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. He entered upon the 
study of his profession at the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia 
University, and was graduated there with 
the degree of M. D. in 1888. He received 
his hospital experience as interne at St. 
Luke's Hospital in New York City. For 
about two years he traveled and studied 
abroad, attending lectures and acquiring 
hospital experience at Vienna. Since his 
return to this country he has been en- 

N Y-Vol IV-16 24 



gaged in general practice in New York 
City. He is a member of the County and 
State Medical societies, the American 
Medical Association, and is a Republican 
in politics. He belongs to the New Eng- 
land Society of New York, the Univer- 
sity, Yale and Southampton clubs, and is 
a communicant of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church. He married, at Rochester, 
New York, October 7, 1891, Maude Louise 
Merchant, born at Rutland, Illinois, 
daughter of George Eugene and Frances 
(Sherburne) Merchant. Children: Regi- 
nald Merchant, born August 10, 1892, 
died August 21, 1892; Albert Heman, 
March 21, 1894; Gerald Day, October 7, 
1896, died December 29, 1900; Francis 
Sherburne, November 7, 1902. Albert 
H. Ely, Jr., graduated at Yale, 1915, pre- 
pared at Hill School and for a year before 
he entered college traveled with the Por- 
ter E. Sargent School of Travel, going 
through all Europe, the Eastern Medit- 
teranean, Greece and the Dalmatia Coast. 
During the summer of 1914 he made a 
complete trip around South America 
through the Straits of Magellan and Pana- 
ma Canal. At present he is studying in 
Columbia Law School. 



MILLER, Charles Ransom, 

Journalist. 

Charles Ransom Miller, editor of the 
"New York Times," one of the leading 
newspapers of the country, is a descend- 
ant of an old English family. His an- 
cestor, Thomas Miller, yeoman, of Bis- 
hops Stortford (called usually Stortford), 
England, had by his wife Bridget, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Jernegan, seven children. 
John Miller, of Stortford, son of Thomas 
and Bridget (Jernegan) Miller, was a 
butcher, as shown by his will dated 
March 26, 1601, proved November 9, 1602. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Rich- 
ard Jardfeilde, of Stortford, and sister of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John and George Jardfeilde. Their son, 
John (2) Miller, married, and had three 
children, according to parish records 
which run back to 1561. Thomas Miller, 
son of John (2) Miller, was born at Bis- 
hops Stortford, about 1610, came to Mas- 
sachusetts with his brother John in 1635, 
but did not settle in Dorchester, as the 
list of inhabitants of that town in Janu- 
ary, 1636, contains only John and Alex- 
ander. The first notice we have of Thom- 
as Miller is that he was enrolled as a free- 
man at Boston, May 22, 1639, residence 
Rowley. His first wife, Isabel, died in 
1660, leaving one child, and he married 
(second) at Middletown, June 6, 1666, 
Sarah, daughter of Samuel Nettleton, of 
Milford, settled there in 1639. Benjamin 
Miller, son of Thomas and Sarah (Nettle- 
ton) Miller (senior so-called in Middle- 
town records), was born July 30, 1672, 
died September 12, 1737 ; he married, 
1 701, Mary Basset, born 1674, died De- 
cember 5, 1709. Their son, Benjamin (2) 
Miller, was born 1702, and removed to 
New Hampshire in 1738, as in the latter 
year and in 1753 we find him at Newing- 
ton, and as late as June 5, 1783. He mar- 
ried, about 1730, Hannah, surname un- 
known. Benjamin (3) Miller, son of Ben- 
jamin (2) and Hannah Miller, was born 
between 1731 and 1735. He was in New- 
ington, New Hampshire, prior to 1775, 
when he removed to Brookfield, Massa- 
chusetts, but returned to New Hampshire 
about 1778-80, settling at Lyme, where he 
probably died. He married, in 1773, 
Esther, daughter of Elijah Clapp, and 
had four children. Elijah Miller, son of 
Benjamin (3) and Esther (Clapp) Miller, 
was born at Newington, in 1774, as his 
recorded age at death in New Hampshire 
State Official Register was sixty-three. 
He was baptized June 23, 1776, died Janu- 
ary 10, 1837. He was in the town of 
Lyme, New Hampshire, from 1780 to 
1798, when he removed to Hanover, and 



married there Eunice, daughter of David 
and Susanna (Durkee) Tenney; she was 
born in Hanover, December 21, 1783, died 
February 21, 1870. Mr. Miller also held 
several local offices in Hanover town and 
Grafton county, and was state senator, 
June 23, 1829, to June 2, 1830, and from 
that date to June i, 1831 ; and was a 
member of the governor's council 1834- 
35-36, and died, according to New Hamp- 
shire Official Register of 1851, January 
10, 1837, aged sixty-three. He was a man 
of ability and distinction. In politics he 
was a Democrat, in religion a Unitarian. 
By occupation he was a farmer. Elijah 
Tenney Miller, son of Elijah and Eunice 
(Tenney) Miller, was born August 15, 
1815, at Hanover, New Hampshire, and 
died May 30, 1892. He married Chastina 
C. Hoyt, born about 1826, daughter of 
Benjamin and Abigail (Strong) Hoyt. 
They had three children: Fayette M., 
born July 25, 1844; Susan A., March 22, 
1847, married David C. Tenney, of Han- 
over, and died 1873 ; and Charles Ran- 
som, of whom further. 

Charles Ransom Miller, son of Elijah 
Tenney and Chastina C. (Hoyt) Miller, 
was born January 17, 1849, ^t Hanover. 
He attended the public schools of Han- 
over, the Kimball Union Academy at 
Meriden, New Hampshire, and the Green 
Mountain Institute at South Woodstock, 
Vermont, where he completed his prepa- 
ration for college. He entered Dart- 
mouth College and was graduated in the 
class of 1872 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Arts. In 1905 he was honored by his 
alma mater with the degree of Doctor of 
Laws. Columbia University conferred 
upon him the degree of Doctor of Letters 
in 1915, and that year also he was elected 
to membership in the National Institute 
of Arts and Letters. From the time of 
his graduation from college until 1875 he 
was on the editorial staff of the "Republi- 
can," at Springfield, Massachusetts, and 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



rose to the position of city editor of that 
newspaper. In July, 1875, he became a 
member of the stafif of the "New York 
Times," and since then has been con- 
nected with that newspaper. He was 
foreign editor for a time, then editorial 
writer from 1881 to 1883, and since April, 
1883, has been editor-in-chief. He is also 
vice-president and a stockholder of the 
New York Times Company. During the 
period of Mr. Miller's editorship "The 
Times" has become one of the foremost 
newspapers of the country. In the opin- 
ion of many of the best judges it is the 
best newspaper in New York City, and the 
success of the newspaper under the policy 
of "All the news that's fit to print" has 
been a wholesome example and inspiration 
to editors and publishers of newspapers 
throughout the whole country. In poli- 
tics Mr. Miller is an Independent, and in 
religion non-sectarian. He is a member 
of the Century Club, the Metropolitan 
Club, the Piping Rock Club, the Garden 
City Golf Club, the Blooming Grove 
Hunting and Fishing Club of Pike 
County, Pennsylvania. He married, 
October 10, 1876, Frances Ann Daniels, 
born April 8, 1851, died December 8, 1906, 
daughter of William H. and Frances Cot- 
ton Daniels, who was a descendant of 
Rev. John Cotton, the Puritan divine. 
Children : Madge Daniels, born October 
28, 1877; Hoyt Miller, March 18, 1883, in 
New York City. Mr. Miller resides at 
21 East Ninth street. New York City, in 
summer at Great Neck, Long Island, and 
his business address is the Times office. 
New York City. 



MUNGER, George Grover, 
Lawyer. 

While several generations of Mr. 
Munger's immediate ancestors have lived 
in New York State, the family is origin- 
ally from Connecticut, descendants of 



Nicholas Munger who settled in Guil- 
ford, Connecticut, not later than 1661 and 
resided on the north side of the Neck 
river, where he died October 16, 1668. 
He married, June 2, 1659, Sarah Hull, 
who survived him and became the wife 
of Dennis Crampton. James Munger, a 
descendant of Nicholas and Sarah 
Munger, moved to Central New York. 
His son, James (2) Munger, married 
Jane B. Thompson, and they were the 
parents of an only son. Rev. Reuben De- 
Witt Munger, D. D., and the grand- 
parents of George Grover Munger, of 
Syracuse. James (2) Munger died in 
Ithaca, New York, in 1848. 

Rev. Reuben DeWitt Munger was 
born at Ithaca, New York, August 26, 
1837, died at Syracuse, New York, March 
II, 1909. His early years were spent in 
Ithaca, the family home until the death 
of James (2) Munger in 1848. After 
being left a widow, Mrs. James Munger 
removed with her only son to Watkins, 
New York, where his education, begun in 
Ithaca public schools, was continued in 
the schools of Watkins. After complet- 
ing the courses there he prepared at 
Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, a noted 
school located at Lima, New York, then 
entered Genesee College, whence he was 
graduated at the head of his class, 1861, 
and awarded the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. Later he was awarded Master of 
Arts, a degree he also received from 
Syracuse University in 1873. His college 
fraternity was Phi Beta Kappa. 

His high order of scholarship attracted 
attention and after graduation he was 
ofTered college professorships, but all 
such offers were declined, his ambition 
being fixed upon the holy calling of 
ministry. He passed through the varied 
degrees of service until finally ordained 
a minister of the Methodist Episcopal 
church and a member of the East Gene- 
see Annual Conference. That conference 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was then very large and through changes 
in conference boundaries he was at times 
a member of the Western New York Con- 
ference, the Genesee Conference and the 
Central New York Conference. His first 
appointment was at Big Flats, New 
York, in 1861, and from that year until 
1893, when he was chosen presiding elder, 
he was continuously in the active 
ministry. In 1862 he was pastor at 
Havana; at South Sodus in 1863-64; 
Painted Post in 1865 ; Dansville in 1866- 
67; Addison in 1868; East Bloomfield in 
1869-71; Rochester in 1872-74; Bath in 
1877; Palmyra in 1878-80; Auburn in 
1881-82; Ithaca, his birthplace, 1883-85; 
Waterloo in 1886-90; Geneva in 1891-92. 
In all the charges he filled he labored 
most acceptably and as he grew in years 
and experience he broadened intellec- 
tually and was regarded as one of the 
strong men of his conference. 

In 1893 he was elected presiding elder 
of the Auburn district, a responsible 
position, now known in the church as 
district superintendent. During his term 
of office, five years, he resided in Auburn, 
from there keeping in close touch with 
the churches of his district. In 1896 he 
received from Syracuse University the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity, an honor 
conferred in recognition of his learning, 
piety and eminence as a theologian. At 
the annual conference of 1898 he was 
transferred as presiding elder to the 
Elmira district, serving that district until 
1904. The conference of 1904 elected Dr. 
Munger secretary of the sustenation fund 
of the conference, an office he held until 
death with headquarters at Syracuse. 
During the five years he served as secre- 
tary of the fund he put forth every efTort 
and did arouse the church to the neces- 
sity of more adequately providing for the 
support of its superannuated ministers 
and the campaign he inaugurated resulted 



in a fund which has reached very large 
figures, available for the support of the 
aged clergymen of the conference. Dr. 
Munger was accorded the honor of elec- 
tion as delegate to the quadrennial gen- 
eral conference of his church in 1896 and 
reserve delegate to that of 1904. From 
1873 until 1880 he was a trustee of Gene- 
see Wesleyan Seminary and of Syracuse 
University from 1895 until his death. 

He was a member of Dansville Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Ithaca Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; St. Augustine 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
Ithaca. He was a member of the New 
York State Historical Society, taking a 
deep interest in the various bodies to 
which he belonged. Seventy-two years 
was the span of life allotted the devoted, 
eloquent divine, years of greatest useful- 
ness in the ministry and ended while still 
"in the harness" as he would have wished. 
He was actively interested in those ques- 
tions tending to the moral uplift of the 
communities in which he lived and could 
always be counted upon for active sup- 
port. The cause of temperance was very 
dear to him, and outside of his strictly 
ministerial work none other was so clear. 
He was a loyal supporter of Francis 
Murphy, that gifted Irishman whose 
crusade against rum so stirred the nation, 
and during that and other campaigns for 
temperance he lectured in nearly all of 
the Eastern and Middle States. He was 
greatly in demand for such service and 
proved a powerful advocate for the 
cause. 

Dr. Munger married, in 1863, Estelle 
Hinman, daughter of Dr. George T. and 
Irene (Benson) Hinman, of Havana, New 
York, a descendant of Sergeant Edward 
Hinman, an officer of the Royal Life 
Guards of Charter I. Sergeant Hinmai* 
came to America in 1650 and is the ances- 
tor of all of the name in this country 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



claiming early Colonial descent. He was 
a large land owner at Stratford, Con- 
necticut, and the first title holder to the 
old tide mill which stood between Strat- 
ford and what is now Bridgeport. The 
Hinman ancestry also includes Governor 
John Webster, of Connecticut, and 
Deputy-Governor Samuel Symonds, of 
Massachusetts. Dr. and Mrs. Munger 
were the parents of George Grover 
Munger, of further mention, and James 
DeWitt Munger, of St. Paul, Minnesota. 
George Grover Munger was born Janu- 
ary 29, 1865, at South Sodus, Wayne 
county. New York, his father then being 
pastor of the Methodist Episcopal church 
at that place. His early education was 
obtained in the schools of the dififerent 
charges his itinerant father filled, but he 
was reared under the best home influences 
and the instruction of his scholarly 
father and accomplished mother counted 
more in those formative days than school 
instruction. At Auburn and at Ithaca he 
had the benefit of the high school courses 
and was fully prepared for college admis- 
sion. He then entered Cornell Univer- 
sity, specialized in history and political 
economy and was graduated Bachelor of 
Arts, class of '88. Choosing the profes- 
sion of law he studied under the precep- 
torship of F. L. Manning, of Waterloo, 
New York, and in 1890 was admitted to 
the bar. He chose Syracuse as a location, 
was a partner with H. H. Bacon for one 
year, but since 1892 has practiced alone. 
While his practice is general in character 
he specializes in the law of real estate 
and of corporations, transacting a large 
business in the State and Federal courts 
of the district. In 1904 he was appointed 
receiver for the Royal Templars of 
Temperance, and has been called to fill 
other positions of trust and respon- 
sibility. He is devoted to his profession, 
but has outside business interests and is 



highly regarded as both a professional 
and business man. He is a member of the 
various bar associations, and is interested 
in those movements intended to make 
communities better places in which to 
live. His church affiliation is with th 
denomination whose ministry his honored 
father graced, and he serves Centenar}- 
Methodist Episcopal Church of Syracuse 
as trustee. He is one of the stewards of 
the Central New York Conference, a 
member of the Permanent Fund Commis- 
sion and holds other positions of the con- 
ference open to a layman. He is a mem- 
ber of Central City Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Central City Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Central City Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar ; the Citizens' 
and University clubs ; the New York 
State Historical Society and American 
Historical Association. In political faith 
he is a Republican, but serves as a private 
in the ranks, seeking no political office for 
himself. 

Mr. Munger married, September 26, 
1894, Ada M. Bishop, of St. Paul, Minne- 
sota. Their only son, George DeWitt 
Munger, is a student at Syracuse Univer- 
sity, class of 1919. 



NOLTE, Adolph, Jr., 

Kanufactarer, Inventor. 

Nolte, a name well known among Ger- 
many's higher classes, has been worthily 
borne in Rochester by two generations of 
the family, Adolph Nolte, senior and 
junior, the former an adopted, the latter 
a native son. The father was a noted 
editor of a newspaper, the son has won 
distinction in the mechanical world by 
his inventive genius and skill. His inven- 
tions cover a wide field, but his greatest 
fame has been won in connection with the 
Hydro-Press Company, of which he was 
president. The most important of his 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



inventions is difficult to determine, for his 
machine for grinding the edges of lenses 
so that the milky surface is obtained, a 
result that eliminates the shadows and 
reflections of a bright surfaced edge, is 
used to-day all over the world by manu- 
facturers of optical and camera lenses. 
To him is also credited the first positive 
washing machine, Mr. Nolte perfecting 
that invention at the age of eighteen 
years while an employee of the Sprague 
Laundry Company. His hydraulic press, 
capable of removing the two wheels from 
the axle of a locomotive instantaneously, 
was the first machine of its kind ever 
built, and giant presses of fifteen thou- 
sand tons strength are the fruit of his 
mechanical genius and skill. Since igo8 
his talents have been devoted to the serv- 
ice of the Eastman Kodak Company in 
experimental work and machine improve- 
ment. These are his greatest successes 
only. He is the inventor of many original 
machines, has taken out many patents, 
and is a member of the International 
Congress of Inventors. Originality, 
enterprise, determination and industry 
have marked his business life, while cour- 
tesy and kindliness show in his inter- 
course with his fellow-men. He is 
highly esteemed and holds a place in 
public regard fairly won and worthily 
filled. 

Adolph Nolte, Sr., scion of an aristo- 
cratic German house, was educated in a 
manner befitting his station. He was one 
of those bold spirits who, inspired by a 
hatred of oppression and a love of liberty, 
joined in the "Students' Rebellion" in 
1841, and as a consequence was forced tc 
flee his native land. He tarried in France, 
joined the French army, fought in Africa 
with the French legions, and for gallantry 
was raised to the rank of an officer. He 
later came to the United States, locating 
in Rochester, where within a year of his 



arrival he was editor of the "Rochester 
Beobachter," a paper that he founded and 
printed in the German language. Its 
name was later changed to the "Rochester 
Abendpost," and for many years he con- 
tinued its editor and publisher. When 
war broke out between the States he 
recruited Company C, Thirteenth Regi- 
ment New York Volunteer Infantry, and 
upon receiving a captain's commission he 
led them to the front. The military 
spirit was in his blood and he fought as 
bravely for the Union as he had upon 
Algerian battlefields under the French 
flag, and was as ardent an apostle of 
liberty for the slave as when, a student in 
his native land, he raised the standard of 
revolt against tyranny. His influence 
among those of German birth in Roches- 
ter was very great, and being thoroughly 
imbued with American ideals he sought 
to inspire his countrymen with the same 
love and loyalty for their adopted coun- 
try and its institutions. He was one of 
the organizers of the Turn Verein, was a 
trustee of the Soldiers' Home, and a man 
held in highest respect in his adopted 
city by all classes. He married Margaret, 
daughter of John Sattler, a contractor of 
masonry and builder of the piers for the 
first iron bridge erected in Rochester. 
Adolph Nolte, Sr., died in 1893, mourned 
by a wide circle of loyal, loving friends. 
His wife died in 1885, aged forty-eight 
years. 

Adolph Nolte, Jr., son of Adolph and 
Margaret (Sattler) Nolte, was born in 
Rochester, New York, July 11, 1866, and 
has ever been a resident of his native 
city. He attended public schools until 
sixteen years of age, then became a 
machinist's apprentice. He converted his 
nights and days of vacation into hours of 
study, machine designing, mechanical 
drawings, mathematics, and technical 
branches of his trade being his favorite 



246 




C::::^'^ ^-y^ q)w^ 



ENC k'CLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



branches. He adopted the foreign method 
of working in dififerent shops, thus be- 
coming familiar with all kinds of ma- 
chines, how they were built and how they 
were operated under varied conditions. 
This, with his constant study, marked 
natural inventive genius and constructive 
ability, laid the foundation for his future 
success as inventor and designer of ma- 
chinery and executive and for his high 
position in the mechanical world. In 1902 
he entered the employ of the Schafifer 
Manufacturing Company, beginning as a 
machinist, that firm then employing but 
four men in the machine shop and doing 
a limited business. He soon advanced to 
the position of foreman, and within a year 
and one-half after his entrance was made 
superintendent of the plant, in charge of 
a force of forty-two machinists. In 1906 
John O. Brewster, president of the com- 
pany, died, and Mr. Nolte, having become 
a large stockholder, organized the Hydro- 
Press Company with a capitalization of 
$75,000, and bought out the Schafifer 
Manufacturing Company, becoming vice- 
president and manager of the new com- 
pany. In 1908 he was elected president, 
but shortly afterward disposed of his 
interests in the company and accepted a 
position with the Eastman Kodak Com- 
pany which was more in accord with his 
tastes, experimental work, designing of 
new machinery, and improvements on 
that in use. The work Mr. Nolte did with 
the Schafifer and Hydro-Press companies 
resulted in a vast advance in the construc- 
tion of hydraulic presses. The power of 
the hydraulic press was vastly increased 
and the scope of its usefulness broadened. 
He built presses capable of exerting a 
pressure of fifteen thousand tons, and as 
heretofore noted designed a press for the 
removing of the two locomotive driving 
wheels from their axle instantaneously, 
the first of its kind ever built. Numerous 



patents exist as the product of his brain, 
many of them exceedingly valuable and 
covering a wide field. His invention to 
eliminate the shadows and reflections that 
a bright surfaced edge throws into a lens 
is exceedingly valuable, and his machine 
for grinding the edges to produce a milky 
surface was a result that lens makers had 
sought for vainly for thirty years. The 
introduction of his successful machine 
was hailed with delight by lens makers 
all over the world and found a ready sale. 
So, too, his machine for burnishing post 
cards was a great advance, raising both 
the quality and the quantity of the work 
produced. 

Mr. Nolte is a member of the Inter- 
national Congress of Inventors, the 
Rochester Turn Verein, and the Knights 
of Malta. In politics he is a Republican, 
but takes little active part in public afifairs. 
He is one of the world's valued workers 
and the results of his labors have added 
to the sum of human achievement. 
Hardly yet in the full prime of his powers, 
there are many years of useful effort be- 
fore him, and even greater results are to 
be expected from his labors. 

Mr. Nolte married, April 27, 1887, Eliza, 
daughter of Adam Klein, of Rochester. 
Children: Elmer, Adele, Gladys, wife of 
Frank Stolte ; Mildred, and Lucille. 



PELLETREAU, William S., 

Genealogist, Anttiqaarian. 

The ancestors of this family were 
Huguenots who fled from France on the 
revocation of the Edict of Nantes. The 
first in America were Jean Pelletreau and 
his wife Magdalena ; their sons, Jean and 
Elie (John and Elias) had for an ancestor 
a physician to Admiral Coligny. The full 
family line appears at length in "History 
of Long Island," by Peter Ross, LL. D., 
Lewis Publishing Company, 1903. 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



From such ancestry is descended Wil- 
liam S. Pelletreau, son of William S. and 
Elizabeth (Welles) Pelletreau. He was 
born in Southampton, Long Island, July 
19, 1840. His early education was 
obtained in the village school and at 
Southampton Academy. He was addicted 
to books from his early youth, and dis- 
played more than ordinary proficiency in 
language. In 1861 he was elected town 
clerk of Southampton. The ancient 
records (the oldest in the State, dating 
back to 1639), were in a chaotic condition, 
and all but entirely illegible. He accom- 
plished the almost hopeless task of col- 
lecting and arranging them in chron- 
ological order and transcribing them, and 
thus the oldest records of the oldest town 
were rescued from oblivion. In 1873 by 
vote of the town meeting, Mr. Pelletreau 
was authorized to print them, and when 
completed, the first work of the kind ever 
printed on Long Island, the work 
attracted most favorable attention. It 
was favorably reviewed in historical 
magazines and newspapers, and in recog- 
nition of his labors Mr. Pelletreau re- 
ceived from the University of the City of 
New York the honorary degree of Master 
of Arts. A second and a third volume 
soon followed. Since then, Mr. Pelle- 
treau's entire life has been devoted to 
historical research. Among his many 
works are narrative histories of Greene 
county and Rockland county. New York; 
the genealogical portion of the "History 
of Westchester County," "History of 
Putnam County, New York ;" "Records of 
Smithtown, Long Island ;" "Early New 
York Houses ;" "Early Long Island 
Wills," and "History of Long Island." 
Probably his most important works are 
four volumes of "Abstracts of New York 
Wills," prepared as part of the "Collec- 
tions of the New York Historical So- 
ciety," and which contain very carefully 



prepared abstracts of all the wills and 
documents contained in the first eighteen 
books of wills in the New York surro- 
gate's office, and are a mine of historical 
and genealogical information. Mr. Pelle- 
treau is a life member of the New York 
Historical Society, and is connected with 
the Huguenot Society of America. 



BUCKLEY, William Arthur, 

Contracting Bnilder. 

It is a well-attested maxim that the 
greatness of a State lies not in its ma- 
chinery of government, nor even in its 
institutions, but in the sterling qualities 
of its individual citizens, in their capacity 
for high and unselfish effort and their 
devotion to the public good. Mr. Buckley 
is one who has through many years been 
an important factor in conserving the 
public interests. 

William Arthur Buckley was born in 
Rochester, Monroe county, New York, 
October 19, 1866, son of Thomas E. and 
Mary E. (Dalton) Buckley, the former 
named a prominent and successful mer- 
chant of Rochester, actively engaged in 
the picture business. St. Patrick's 
Parochial School afforded William A. 
Buckley the means of obtaining a prac- 
tical education, which qualified him for an 
active business career, which has been 
devoted to the general building line, he 
being a contractor of note and promi- 
nence, many of the buildings in his native 
city and vicinity standing as monuments 
of his skill and ability in the line chosen 
by him as his lifework. He is a self- 
made man, possessed of more than ordi- 
nary business acumen and is now in pos- 
session of a handsome competence, 
which has been acquired entirely through 
his own well-directed efforts. The qual- 
ities which have insured his success are 
those easily cultivated, and his example 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



should serve to encourage and inspire year, after which it became necessary for 



others to whom fate has not given wealth 
in the beginning of a business career. 
In politics he has always been a stalwart 
Democrat, the principles of which party 
he believes stands for the best govern- 
ment of the people. He served as aide 
man during the years 1908-09, represent- 
ing the Fifteenth Ward, as a member of 
the New York State Democratic Com- 
mittee for 1912-13-14, and on March 2, 
1914, was appointed postmaster of 
Rochester, the duties of which important 
office he is performing in an entirely 
creditable manner. His religious affili- 
ation is with Holy Apostles Roman Cath- 
olic Church, and he is also actively con- 
nected with the following organizations : 
Knights of Columbus, Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, Catholic Mutual Benefit As- 
sociation, St. Joseph's Catholic Young 
Men's Club, Improved Order of Red 
Men, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and Woodmen of the World. Mr. 
Buckley is unmarried. 



SCHMEER, Henry, 

Prominent Mannfactnrer. 

Henry Schmeer, whose business as a 
paper box manufacturer exceeds that of 
any similar enterprise in Syracuse, was 
born in that city on Christmas Day, 1845, 
his parents being Philip and Sophia 
(Thousand) Schmeer, both natives of 
Germany, the father crossing the Atlantic 
and becoming a resident of Syracuse in 
1835, and was one of the pioneer salt 
manufacturers there. He died in 1875, 
having for about three years survived his 
wife, who passed away in 1872. They 
were the parents of thirteen children but 
only two are now living, Henry and 
Jacob. 

Henry Schmeer attended the public 
schools of Syracuse to his thirteenth 



him to start out in life on his own account 
and he learned the trade of manufactur- 
ing candy with a Mr. Holliday, in whose 
employ he continued for three years. On 
the expiration of that period he took up 
the business of manufacturing paper 
boxes at a time when all work was done 
by hand. He was in the employ of the 
Trowbridge Box Company, managing 
same, and thoroughly acquainted him- 
self with all branches of the business. 
Because of some differences with the 
Trowbridge Company, he left their em- 
ployment and after the war he engaged 
in the manufacture of paper boxes on his 
own account, starting in a very small way 
with a capital of only five dollars. He 
admitted Mr. Philip Listman to a part- 
nership in the year 1867 and they began 
the manufacture of paper boxes in the 
old Wieting Block, where they remained 
for two years, when they removed to 
South Clinton street, near Walton street. 
For some time they continued together, 
but in 1883 Mr. Schmeer sold out his 
interest in the business to Mr. Listman 
and established a plant of his own on 
West Water street, making the same line 
of goods there until 1889, when he re- 
moved to No. 108 Noxen street, where he 
occupied three floors of that building and 
where he did an extensive business until 
1894. Business grew so rapidly that he 
was forced to look for larger quarters, so 
he purchased the lot at No. 202-204 Noxen 
street, just one block from his old place. 
This lot extended through to Marnell 
avenue. He built a four-story brick 
building in the rear of this lot and began 
an extensive business, employing about 
sixty hands at that time. The firm name 
was the Henry Schmeer Manufacturing 
Company. In the year 1907 he was forced 
to add another story, making it five 
stories high. The business kept on grow- 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing until 1913, when he was compelled to 
build again. This time instead of adding 
more stories to the same building, he 
extended three stories to Noxen street, 
connecting with the old building. This 
new edition is constructed of concrete and 
brick reinforced with steel, equipped 
throughout with the Grinell Automatic 
Sprinkler System, making it as fire-proof 
as possible. The building is ideal for 
manufacturing purposes, getting light and 
air from three sides, and has access from 
two streets. It is one of the best manu- 
facturing plants in the city; has a floor 
space of about thirty-five thousand square 
feet and gives employment to over one 
hundred hands. In the year 1910 the 
business was incorporated under the laws 
of the State of New York and from that 
time has been going under the name of 
Schmeer's Paper Box Company, Incor- 
porated. The business is owned entirely 
by Mr. Henry Schmeer and children, all 
of whom have stock in same. The officers 
are : President, Mr. Henry Schmeer ; vice- 
president, Mr. George J. Schmeer; gen- 
eral manager, Mr. Henry P. Schmeer; 
secretary, Mr. William N. Schmeer; 
treasurer, Mr. Charles F. Schmeer. His 
political allegiance is given to the Repub- 
lican party, but he is not a politician in 
the sense of office seeking. He is a mem- 
ber of the First English Lutheran Church, 
with which he has been active for over a 
quarter of a century. He is also identified 
with the Citizens' Club, Angler's Club, 
South Bay Club House, De Forrest Ang- 
ling Association and the Chamber of Com- 
merce. 

In 1873 Mr. Schmeer was united in 
marriage to Julia Meyers, of Syracuse, 
and they had seven children, two daugh- 
ters, Julia and Stella, and five sons, 
George J., Henry P., William N., Robert, 
and Charles F. Robert died in the year 
1880 at the age of eight months, his was 



the first grave in Woodlawn Cemetery. 
Julia died in 1887 at the age of sixteen 
years and six months. William N. was 
married to Theresa Vischer in 1907 and 
they have one daughter, Stella Florence 
Schmeer, age eight years. Henry P. 
Schmeer was united in marriage to 
Bertha Herbrich in 1903, no children, his 
wife died in 1914. George J. Schmeer was 
married to Caroline Hack in 1898 and 
they had one son, born 1915, who died in 
infancy. Miss Stella Schmeer was mar- 
ried, in 1914, to Mr. Stanley Kingsbury. 
Character and ability will come to the 
front anywhere, a truth which is manifest 
in the life of Mr. Schmeer, starting out 
for himself at the early age of thirteen 
years he has gradually advanced until 
to-day he occupies an enviable position in 
industrial circles. 

^ 

WINKWORTH, Edwin David, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

While the great Solvay Process Com- 
pany is one of the wonders of the com- 
mercial world in the magnitude of its 
business, its proudest achievement is the 
perfection of its organization and the 
opportunity it offers for men to develop 
the peculiar talent they may possess. 
When but a lad of sixteen years fresh 
from high school, Mr. Winkworth entered 
the employ of that company and for 
twenty-three years he has known no 
other. He is a son of John W. and Anna 
S. Winkworth, his father a veteran of the 
Civil War, his service performed with the 
Ninth Regiment New York Heavy Artil- 
lery. 

Edwin D. Winkworth was born at 
Geddes, Onondaga county, New York, 
January i, 1877, and was educated in 
grammar and high schools. In 1893 he 
entered the employ of the Solvay Process 
Company and with that company and the 



250 




Ch^t^^^l,^^C^<^<:^^~^ 



ExXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Semet Solvay Company has passed the- 
years which have since intervened. Dur- 
ing those years he has served in various 
capacities, now being assistant secretary 
of the company and manager of the sales 
department. Busy as his life has been 
Mr. Winkworth has been active in com- 
munity affairs and in social life. He is 
president of the West End Citizens' Im- 
provement Association, president of the 
West End Citizens' Club, member of the 
Citizens' and Rotary clubs of Syracuse, 
Central City Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Syracuse Lodge, No. 31, Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; 
and of West Genesee Avenue Methodist 
Episcopal Church. In political faith he 
is a Republican. 

Mr. Winkworth married in Syracuse, 
August 30, 1905, Prudence Mary Brind- 
ley, daughter of Joseph and Prudence 
Brindley. They are the parents of three 
children: Laura, born July 28, 1906; Ed- 
ward, March 18, 1908; Eleanor, January 
29, 1912. 



MELDRAM, John Charles, 

Attorney-at-Iiaw. 

A practitioner at the Onondaga county 
bar since his graduation from law school 
in 1878 Mr. Meldram has won honorable 
standing at that bar, and to his profes- 
sional work has given his entire time and 
energy. He is a son of John James Mel- 
dram, and a grandson of James Meldram, 
who came in 1820 from Leeds, England, 
to the United States, and died in Syra- 
cuse, New York, in 1890, aged eighty- 
nine years, having conducted a meat busi- 
ness for fifty years, his shop being on 
Warren street where the Snow building 
now stands. John James Meldram, who 
died in Syracuse, April 28, 1893, was for 
many years engaged in the public service 
as deputy sheriff; United States deputy 
marshal; under sheriff, sheriff and court 



crier. He married Sarah Lavina Willard, 
who died in February, 1899, daughter of 
William W. Willard, who died in 1876, 
senior member of the jewelry firm of Wil- 
lard & Hawley, of Syracuse. 

John Charles Meldram, son of John 
James and Sarah Lavina (Willard) Mel- 
dram, was born in Syracuse, New York, 
July 20, 1856. After completing the pub- 
lic school courses in grammar and high 
schools of Syracuse, he began the study 
of law, taking the full course at Albany 
Law School from whence he was gradu- 
ated LL. B. class of 1878. He was at 
once admitted to the Onondaga bar and 
began practice in Syracuse practically 
alone until 1884. He then formed a law 
partnership with the late William James, 
that association continuing until 1889. He 
continued alone until about 1907, when 
the present partnership with Frank R. 
Lennox was entered into. The firm prac- 
tices as Meldram & Lennox, with offices 
923-931 University Building, Syracuse. 
Their practice is an extensive one, con- 
ducted in all State and Federal courts. 
Mr. Meldram is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias, the Citizens' Club, The An- 
glers' Club of Onondaga, the Anglers' As- 
sociation of Onondaga, and the Onondaga 
County Bar Association. 

He married in Syracuse, in July, 1881, 
Nellie E., daughter of Griffith Nelson and 
Emily A. (Costello) Griffith. Mr. and 
Mrs. Meldram have four children : Frank 
John, born November ro, 1882 ; Leo 
Griffith, April 29, 1888; Marjorie, De- 
cember 16, 1889; Emily Lavina, March 
10, 1893. 



EDWARDS, Oliver Murray, 

Mannfactnrer, Inventor. 

The Edwards family, represented in the 
present generation by Oliver M. Edwards, 
inventor and manufacturer, of Syracuse, 
claims as its ancestor Talmage Edwards, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who, accompanied by his brother, Daniel 
Edwards, came to this country from the 
border of Wales and England before the 
Revolutionary War, locating, probably, 
in the State of Connecticut, from whence 
Talmage Edwards removed to New York 
State and later to Johnstown, where he 
established the heavy glove business 
which later grew to be the local industry 
and remains so to this day. The tradition 
is that Daniel Edwards died during the 
period of the Revolutionary War, the fact 
remaining that he was not heard from 
afterward. The following was copied 
from the Johnstown "Republican," issue 
of October 19, 1895 : 

The manufacture of gloves in this vicinity 
(Johnstown, New York) dates back many years 
and to-day there are thousands of people em- 
ployed in this industry in Johnstown. It is esti- 
mated that no less than 30,000 are employed in 
this business in the Cayadutta valley. Tal- 
mage Edwards, a downcast Yankee, had learned 
the art of dressing deer skins and of making 
moccasins, mittens and leather breeches. He 
began in a small way in a little house erected 
by him at the corner of William and Mont- 
gomery streets in Johnstown, on the site of the 
present residence of Everett M. Kennedy. In 
the course of time others became interested in 
the dressing of leather and its manufacture, and 
the business has increased until now there are 
250 concerns in Fulton county making gloves. 
The sales of the product of the glove industry 
in Fulton county aggregate nearly $10,000,000 
annually. 

John Edwards, the first of the line here- 
in recorded of whom we have authentic 
record, was born in 1781, and when two 
years of age accompanied his parents to 
Johnstown, New York, removing thence 
from Dutchess county, New York. He 
served as jailor of Fulton county from 
i8c6 to 1812, and was elected to Congress 
in 1836. He married and among his chil- 
dren was Daniel, of whom further. 

Daniel Edwards, son of John Edwards, 
was born in 1804, in Johnstown, New 
York, and later became a verj' prominent 
citizen of that place. He married Sally 



Maria Wells, daughter of Eleazer Wells, 
of Johnstown, who owned and occupied 
the Sir William Johnson estate at Johns- 
town, which has recently been sold to the 
State of New York. Among the children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Edwards was Eleazer 
Wells, of whom further. 

Eleazer Wells Edwards, son of Daniel 
and Sally Maria (Wells) Edwards, was 
born in Johnstown, New York, April 17, 
1838, died in Syracuse, New York, where 
he had resided for many years, November 
25, 191 1. His father was for many years 
a merchant in Johnstown, and on his re- 
tirement from business in 1863, the son 
succeeded the father, continuing the busi- 
ness which had been founded in 1832. In 
1889 Eleazer W. Edwards removed to 
Syracuse, accompanied by his son, Oliver 
M. Edwards, who had recently been taken 
into partnership in the Johnstown store. 
Another son of Eleazer W. Edwards, 
Daniel M. Edwards, who had been oper- 
ating a store at Gloversville, had pre- 
ceded them to Syracuse and there pur- 
chased the old Milton S. Price store. The 
Syracuse firm was established under the 
style of E. W. Edwards & Sons, compris- 
ing Eleazer W. Edwards and his two 
sons, O. M. and D. M. Edwards. Eleazer 
W. Edwards was an elder of the South 
Presbyterian Church of Syracuse. He 
was a member of the Citizens' Club ; St. 
Patrick's Lodge. No. 4, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Johnstown ; the Masonic Vet- 
erans' Association of Syracuse, and was 
one of the trustees of the Auburn Theo- 
logical Seminary. His business, church, 
and personal relations gathered around 
him a large circle of friends, and he was 
considered a type of Christian manhood, 
belonging to the old school in which 
honesty, integrity and character were 
considered paramount essentials in busi- 
ness life. Mr. Edwards was deeply inter- 
ested in his business, and his inherent 
honesty and sincerity built up an exten- 
252 




'^s^^;/^*^^ ^3i^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sive business, growing out of the general 
confidence felt in him by the public. He 
was deeply attached to his family and of 
domestic tendencies. He endeared him- 
self to all who came in contact with him. 
had a host of friends and was not known 
to have a single enemy. His deeply re- 
ligious nature led him to take an unusual 
interest in church work, and he was 
among the most valuable citizens of the 
city. He did not seek a part in the public 
life in official capacity, but his share in 
the development of all which made for 
progress and civilization was very large. 
To an unusual degree charitable, his 
heart and purse were ever open to the call 
of genuine distress. 

Mr. Edwards married, October ii, 1859, 
at Ephrata, New York, Amy Murray, 
born September 17, 1835, in that town, 
and died in Syracuse, December 29, 1914. 
They were the parents of two children : 
Oliver Murray, of whom further; Daniel 
M., an extensive dry goods merchant of 
Syracuse and Rochester, New York. 

Oliver Murray Edwards, son of Eleazer 
Wells and Amy (Murray) Edwards, was 
born at Ephrata, New York, October 20, 
1862. He received his education at the 
academy of Johnstown, Eort Edward In- 
stitute, and Boys' Academy of Albany, all 
of New York. His early life was passed 
am,id agreeable and inspiring surroundings, 
and he was taught those principles which 
establish men in the hearts of their fel- 
lows. He had a mechanical genius, and, 
resigning from the dry goods firm of E. 
W. Edwards & Sons, turned his atten- 
tion to the development of devices for the 
improvement of articles already on the 
market and also made many new inven- 
tions which have entered largely into 
use. Among his most important produc- 
tions may be mentioned the Edwards 
Window Fixtures and Extension Plat- 
form Trap Doors for railroad cars, now 



in universal use on both steam and elec- 
tric cars throughout the world. He 
engaged in the manufacture of these and 
other products of his invention, and in 
producing the well known Omeco line of 
padlocks and steel office furniture and 
bank and battleship furniture. He is 
president of the O. M. Edwards Company, 
Incorporated, which is now conducting a 
very extensive business. He is affiliated 
with the Masonic order, in which he has 
attained the thirty-second degree, and is 
associated with Central City Command- 
ery. No. 25, Knights Templar, of Syra- 
cuse, New York, and Ziyara Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Utica, New York. He 
is connected with many clubs of busi- 
ness and social character, including the 
Citizens, Century, City, Masonic Temple, 
Technology, Onondaga Golf and Coun- 
try, Sedgwick Farm, and Automobile 
Club, of Syracuse ; the South Bay, Stony 
Island, Fulton Chain Yacht, New York 
Railroad, Central Railroad and Trans- 
portation clubs. His home in Syracuse 
is located on James street, and he also 
has a camp in the Adirondacks, called 
"Paom.nyc" at Eagle Bay on Fourth 
Lake of Fulton Chain. 

Mr. Edwards married, in Johnstown, 
February 3, 1886, Josephine Adele Riton, 
and they have six children: Joseph Jean, 
born January 8, 1887; Eleazer Wells, 
born July 11, 1889, died September 13, 
1915 ; Amy Murray, born August 27, 
1891 ; Harold, born September 28, 1893; 
Oliver, born December 29, 1896; Helen 
Louise, born December 8, i8g8. 



NICHOLS, Erwin George, 

Attorney-at-Lair. 

"The name Nichols (an abbreviation 
of Nicholas) is of purely patrician 
origin, having been invented by the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Alexandre-Egyptian dynasty as a Cog- 
nomen for princes," (Patronymica Brit- 
tanica). By degrees the brevet acquired 
the permanence of a surname, eventuat- 
ing in the historic Nicholas family of 
Europe vk^hich has given the church two 
Popes, besides a long line of nobility. 
The branch of this celebrated and ancient 
family from which Erwin George 
Nichols, of Syracuse, descends settled 
near Berne, in Switzerland, from whence 
they came to the United States. His 
great-grandfather, John Nichols, fought 
with the Swiss Highlanders in the Na- 
poleonic wars and in each generation the 
family in all its branches have displayed 
high qualities of leadership in whatever 
station placed. Livingston county. New 
York, was the early seat of this branch of 
the family. 

Erwin George Nichols is a son of John 
E. and Sarah E. Nichols, now living 
retired at Avon, New York, grandson of 
Smith Nichols, and great-grandson of 
John Nichols, the Swiss soldier. Erwin 
G. Nichols was born at Avon, Livingston 
county. New York, September 8, 1856. 
He passed through the various public 
school grades and was graduated from 
Avon High School, class of "04." He 
then entered Syracuse University, Col- 
lege of Liberal Arts, whence he was 
graduated Bachelor of Philosophy, class 
of "08," and from the University Law 
School, Bachelor of Laws, class of "10." 
He was at once admitted to the Onondaga 
county bar and has been in continuous 
practice of his profession since that year 
as a member of the well known and 
highly regarded law firm of Wiles, Neily 
& Nichols, with offices at No. 540-46 
Gurney Building, Syracuse. 

Air. Nichols is a Republican in politics ; 
member of Park Central Presbyterian 
Church, Syracuse ; Phi Delta Phi frater- 
nity ; the various bar associations of the 



city ; Central City Lodge, No. 305, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and all bodies of 
th^i Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, hold- 
ing all degrees up to and including the 
thirty-second of Lodge of Perfection, 
Chapter of Rose Croix, Council Princes of 
Jerusalem and Consistory. His clubs are 
the Citizens', City, University, Bellevue 
Country, all of Syracuse. Although in 
practice but a few years, Mr. Nichols has 
demonstrated his fitness for the profes- 
sion he chose and has gained a large 
degree of public favor. 



MOREY, John Everts, 

Journalist. 

Journalism in Rochester and the name 
Morey have been synonymous terms for 
well on to three-quarters of a century, 
John Everts Morey, father and son, rep- 
resenting two generations of the family 
owning and publishing the Rochester 
"Daily Advertiser," consolidated with the 
Rochester "Union" in 1856, the "Union 
and Advertiser," the Rochester "Herald," 
and the "Evening Times." 

John Everts Morey, Sr., was born in 
Onondaga county. New York, in 1821, 
died in Rochester, New York, September 
II, 1890. He was thrown on his own 
resources at the age of eleven years, 
learned the trade of printer, came to 
Rochester and became one of the promi- 
nent figures in Western New York jour- 
nalism. He became owner of the Roches- 
ter "Daily Advertiser" and was its pub- 
lisher until 1856 when a consolidation 
was effected with the Rochester "Union." 
The new paper the "Union and Adver- 
tiser" was successfully conducted under 
the business management of John E. 
Morey until 1885, when he sold his inter- 
est-^ and retired, being sixty-four years of 
age. He died in Rochester five years 
later. He married Ann Maria Smith. 



254 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born at New London, Connecticut, in 
'822. 

From 1874 until the retirement of Mr. 
Morey, Sr., in 1885, father and son were 
contemporaries in the journalistic field, 
and both interested in the ownership as 
well as in the management of the "Union 
and Advertiser." When the senior with- 
drew the junior Morey continued as a 
large owner in the Rochester "Herald" 
until 1895, and since 1901 he has been 
principal owner of the "Evening Times," 
president of the Evening Times Company 
and general manager. There is no posi- 
tion in a newspaper office he has not 
filled from press boy to editor and man- 
ager. Journalism has been his life work 
and he has never been led astray by the 
allurements of political office, holding to 
the chief tenet of the school of journalism 
in which he was trained that independ- 
ence was an editor's chief duty to his 
readers and must be preserved from such 
obligations as the acceptance of office 
imposed. Independence and progressive- 
ness have marked his cour.?c and he is 
one of the best exponents of modern 
journalism. The "Evening Times" is one 
of the leading journals of Western New 
York and in every page breathes the high 
purpose of its leading spirit, John E. 
Morey, Jr. 

John Everts Morey, Jr., was born in 
Rochester, New York, November 22, 
1856. He has spent his life in his nal've 
city and since his eighteenth year has 
been connected with newspaper work. 
After courses in Rochester private 
schools he entered DeGrafifs Military 
Academy, completing a four-year course 
in 1874. He was naturally attracted to 
the business in which his honored father 
was so conspicuous, and at the age of 
eighteen he entered the office of the 
"Union and Advertiser," beginning at the 



bottom of the ladder. Three years later, 
in 1877, so rapidly had he advanced, 
he was admitted to a part ownership. He 
took an active part in the development 
of the paper during the next eight years, 
but in 1885 both Mr. Morey senior and 
junior sold their interests in the "Union 
and Advertiser," the elder man retiring 
from active business. John E. Morey, 
Jr., at once purchased a large interest in 
the Rochester "Herald," became its busi- 
ness manager and for ten years con- 
tinued in that capacity. In 1895 the 
"Herald" was sold to a Democratic syndi- 
cate, Mr. Morey retiring from the paper 
with the sale of his stock. He was not 
concerted as owner with any of the city 
journals for the next five years, but in 
1901 again entered the field of journalism 
as purchaser of the "Evening Times," 
which has since attained high rank under 
his able management. He is president 
and general manager of the Evening 
Times Company, and gives to the paper 
and its interests his entire time and 
energy. He is one of the best known 
figures in Western New York journalism, 
and is highly esteemed both within and 
without his own particular field of 
activity. He is a member of Frank R. 
Lawrence Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Genesee Valley Club, the 
Rochester Athletic Club and several 
purely professional associations. 

Mr. Morey married, February 8, 1877, 
Alice R. Gage, daughter of George W. 
Gage, of Fredonia, New York. Their 
only son, Frank G. Morey, died in early 
childhood. The family home is at Avon, 
New York, a beautiful stone mansion of 
the style of eighty years ago, built on a 
well situated tract, five hundred and 
eighty feet front, a bower of horticultural 
beauty in which the soul of its owner 
delights. 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



WOODBURN, Hiram H., 

Enterprising Citizen, Public Official. 

Hiram H. Woodburn, of Binghamton, 
New York, is one of those men who have 
had success attend the efforts which they 
have strenuously made, and which have 
enabled them to rise from a comparatively 
humble place to a position of prominence 
in the community, commanding the 
respect and esteem of all who knew them. 
His keen discernment and marked enter- 
prise have long been recognized as 
salient characteristics in his career, and 
yet his life has never been narrowed by 
concentration of his energies on one 
point. On the contrary he is known as a 
broad-minded, public-spirited man, who 
has kept in touch with those concerns of 
vital interest to his city and State, labor- 
ing entirely for public progress in many 
ways and especially for the moral devel- 
opment of the community. He stands 
to-day a strong man — strong in his honor, 
strong in his good name, and strong in 
what he has accomplished, not only in the 
life of individual gain but for the benefit 
of his fellow-men, in whom his interest 
is deep and sincere. He is a representa- 
tive of an ancient family. 

Woodburn is an ancient surname of 
England and Scotland, derived from the 
name of a locality. During the persecu- 
tions of the Scotch Presbyterians by the 
English in 1685, John Furgushall and 
George Woodburn were shot to death by 
Nisbet and his party. On their grave- 
stone in Finnick, Scotland, is written : 
"When bloody prelates, once this nation's 
pest, contrived that curs'd self-contradic- 
tory test, these men for Christ did suffer 
martyrdom. And here their blood lies 
waiting till he comes." A branch of the 
Woodburn family went from Scotland to 
Ulster, North of Ireland. The New Eng- 
land Woodburns are probably all de- 
scended from John Woodburn, who was 



born in Scotland or Ireland about 1700, 
and came with the Scotch-Irish to Lon- 
donderry, New Hampshire, a few years 
after the settlement of 1718. With him 
came a brother David. Another immi- 
grant came with the Scotch-Irish to Penn- 
sylvania. They were from the same 
section as the New Hampshire Wood- 
burns. As neither branch had lived long 
in Ireland, and as there were very few 
of them judging from the records, it is 
fair to suppose that the New Hampshire 
and Pennsylvania settlers were closely 
related, possibly brothers. The family 
scattered throughout the State. In 1790, 
according to the first Federal census, 
there were seven heads of families named 
Woodburn. 

George Woodburn, great-grandfather 
of Hiram H. Woodburn, was born Sep- 
tember 13, 1722. He married Mary Cul- 
bert, born September 13, 1736. They 
were the parents of Naphtali, of whom 
further. 

Naphtali Woodburn, grandfather of 
Hiram H. Woodburn, was born Decem- 
ber 30, 1768. He married and was the 
father of Naphtali, of whom further. 

Naphtali Woodburn, father of Hiram 
H. Woodburn, was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, and died in 1871. He was a 
farmer, and was one of the first to enter 
the Union army at the time of the out- 
break of the Civil War. He was in active 
service until the battle of Petersburg, 
when he was severely wounded and in- 
capacitated for further active duty. In 
1871 he removed with his family to Tioga 
county. New York, where his death 
occurred. He married Elizabeth Havens, 
also born in Pennsylvania, and they had 
children : Clarence, although only a 
young lad when the Civil War broke out, 
enlisted, was wounded at Gettysburg, and 
is now deceased ; Olive, married, and 
lives at LaGrange, Illinois ; Hiram H., 
whose name heads this sketch. 



256 




/yCr^^^^^.^' yyy^^^'^tu/t^LA ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Hiram H. Woodburn was born in 
Rome, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, 
November 12, 1866. He was but five 
years of age when he was brought to 
New York by his parents, and his early 
years were spent in Tioga county, where 
he acquired his education in the public 
schools. In 1882 he came to Bingham- 
ton. New York, being in the employ of 
the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
Railroad Company, starting as a water 
boy. He soon proved his ability, and at 
the end of two years entered the service 
of the Delaware & Hudson Railroad 
Company, where he was a brakeman on a 
passenger train. From this position h' 
was placed in that of conductor on pas- 
senger trains, an almost unheard of pro- 
motion, as the conductors of passenger 
trains have always been drawn from the 
ranks of the freight car conductors. He 
was one of the youngest men ever en- 
trusted by the company with the respon- 
■ sible duties of a passenger conductor. 
He was in the employ of the Delaware 
& Hudson Company for a period of 
twenty-five years, lacking one month, his 
run being between Binghamton and 
Albany. 

In June, 1908, Mr. Woodburn, in asso- 
ciation with J. W. Ballard and Joseph 
Bromley, organized the Atlas Coal & 
Supply Company, dealers in coal and 
building materials. Their plant, located 
at the corner of Court and Alice streets, 
covers an acre of ground, and is fully 
equipped in the most modern manner. 
The original officers of the company 
were : Mr. Ballard, president ; Mr. Wood- 
burn, vice-president ; Mr. Bromley, treas- 
urer. At the expiration of two years Mr. 
Ballard withdrew from the concern and 
Mr. Woodburn became president and 
manager. The capital stock is $25,000, it 
has been a success from its inception, and 
they now transact a business of upwards 
of $120,000. 



But it was not to business affairs alone 
that Mr. Woodburn devoted his energies. 
Very early in life he took a decided inter- 
est in political matters, and this interest 
increased and became intensified with the 
passing years. His first political ofifice 
was as district committeeman in the 
Seventh Ward, and in 1898 he was elected 
a m.ember of the Common Council from 
the same ward, and served in this ofifice 
for eight successive years. For a number 
of years he was chairman of the finance 
committee of this honorable body. In 
1906 he was honored by election as mayor 
of the city of Binghamton, served two 
years, and as soon as he entered upon the 
duties of this office, the city felt the 
benefit of his executive ability and bril- 
liant ideas. His first step was, figura- 
tively, to clean house for the city. Under 
his management the disorderly element 
in the city was practically eliminated, in 
all directions. He established a sinking 
fund by levying a tax on the proceeds of 
the water plant, a municipal affair; he 
met with bitter opposition, but he had the 
courage of his convictions, knew what 
was best for the city and its residents, 
and at the present time is accorded the 
highest praise for his determined con- 
duct in this matter. He was dubbed the 
"Railroad Mayor," and a feeling as to 
his incapacity appeared to prevail in 
many circles, but he amply demonstrated 
that his knowledge was not of railroad 
matters alone. His political affiliation 
has always been with the Republican 
party, and he is in frequent demand as a 
delegate to State conventions. He is a 
born fighter, and generally wins his 
battles. In August, 1915, he was ap- 
pointed a member of the Child's Welfare 
League, and was elected its first chair- 
man at the meeting held September 3, 
1915. He was strongly urged to accept 
the nomination for mayor of the city in 
the fall of 1915, but he resolutely 



N Y-Vol lV-17 



257 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



declined the honor, believing that he is 
best serving the city by devoting himself 
to the conduct of his business affairs. 
His religious connection is with the Cen- 
tenary Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Binghamton, in which he holds office as 
president of the board of trustees. He is 
a member of the Improved Order of Red 
Men, the Royal Arcanum, and other 
fraternal bodies of lesser importance. 

Mr. Woodburn married, September 28, 
1887, Delia Rice Pratt, of Binghamton. 
One child blessed this union: Eva, who 
is now the wife of Francis V. Leary, 
an attorney-at-law of Binghamton, and 
they have one child — Francis Woodburn 
Leary. 



CHAPIN, Charles Terry, 

Active in Commnnity Affairs. 

Few men in Rochester have a wider 
acquaintance or are more popular in their 
circle of acquaintances than Charles 
Terry Chapin, president of the Chapin- 
Owen Company, and president of the 
Rochester Base Ball Club. As a bijciness 
man of initiative and action, he has proved 
a worthy successor of his honored father, 
Charles Hall Chapin, one of the eminent 
business men of his day, while his inter- 
est in the manly sports and recreations 
has resulted in the advancement of the 
organizations particularly charged with 
their maintenance as a means of public 
enjoyment. By heredity Mr. Chapin is 
entitled to rank with the worthiest of the 
land, his American ancestor. Deacon 
Samuel Chapin, coming with the Puri- 
tans of 1635, the history of New England 
being enriched through his deeds and 
those of his descendants in founding 
colony and commonwealth. Through 
maternal line, the Chapin descent is 
traced to Timothy Dwight, LL. D., an 
early president of Yale College. 



Of the sixth American generation of 
the family founded by Deacon Thomas 
Chapin was Judge Moses Chapin, who 
located in Rochester, New York, became 
the third judge of Monroe county, serv- 
ing from 1826 to 1831, following Elisha 
B. Strong, 1821-23, and Ashley Sampson, 
1823-26. He was admitted a member of 
the Rochester bar about 1821 and was 
one of the eminent men of his day. 

His son, Charles Hall Chapin, was 
born in Rochester, New York, January 6, 
1830, and died in his native city, March 
16, 1882, after a life of great activity and 
usefulness. Early in his business career 
he became business manager of the Kidd 
Iron Works of Rochester, which for 
several years were operated under the 
firm name of Chapin & Terry. In 1877 
he organized the Rochester Car Wheel 
Works on the business established by 
William Kidd, and was its directing head 
until his death. That enterprise, estab- 
lished by Charles Hall Chapin, was a very 
successful one under the founder's guid- 
ance and under his son, Charles T. Chapin, 
became one of the most important indus- 
trial concerns of Rochester. Charles Hall 
Chapin was also vice-president of the 
Charlotte Iron Works and a trustee of the 
Roberts Iron Works, Kingston, Canada. 
He was equally prominent in financial 
circles, being one of the organizers and 
bulwarks of the private banking house of 
Kidd & Chapin, founded in 1871. The 
house continued as private bankers until 
1875, then was merged with the Bank of 
Rochester, Mr. Chapin becoming presi- 
dent of the consolidation and continuing 
its executive head until his death. He 
was a man of sound judgment and great 
business ability, full of ready resource 
and quick powers of decision. He led 
the enterprises with which he was con- 
nected to a condition of solid prosperity 
and will long be remembered as one of 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the strong men of his day and an im- 
portant factor in Rochester's upbuilding 
as a commercial city. 

He married, in 1854, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of William Kidd, also one of Roches- 
ter's early men of affairs. Mr. and Mrs. 
Charles Hall Chapin were the parents of 
William Kidd; Charles Terry, of further 
mention; Mary Ward, married William 
E. Marcus ; Edward Hall ; Eleanor B., 
who died in 1881. 

Charles Terry Chapin was born in 
Rochester, New York, February 24, 1861. 
After courses of study in private schools 
he entered Rochester High School, there 
continuing until 1877. He was sixteen 
years of age when he first entered the 
employ of the old Bank of Rochester, of 
which his father was president, an insti- 
tution which later flourished as the Ger- 
man-American Bank and is now the Lin- 
coln National Bank. Mr. Chapin was a 
bookkeeper in the old bank until 1880, 
and after arriving at man's estate and 
gaining valuable business experience he 
was elected secretary and treasurer of the 
Rochester Car Wheel Works, founded by 
his eminent father. Later he was elected 
president of the corporation and so con- 
tinued its executive head until 1905 when 
it became an integral part of the National 
Car \^'heel Company. His active official 
connection with the works then ceased, 
but he continues to act as special repre- 
sentative of the National Car Wheel 
Company in matters of unusual import- 
ance. He is president of the Chapin- 
Owen Company, Incorporated, the Auto- 
ist's and Sportsman's Shop, dealing in 
everything for the autoist or the sports- 
man, both at wholesale and retail. No. 
380 Main Street East. 

Ever a devotee of out-of-doors sports 
he took a deep interest in the Flower City 
Driving Club and for five years was its 
president. He loves a good horse, is 



especially fond of the light harness strain 
and owned some of the finest and fastest, 
his horse "Connor" having a track record 
of 2.03 1-4 and his Dariel 2.00 1-4 had the 
distinction of being the fastest pacing 
mare in the world. Base ball is also one 
of Mr. Chapin's fads in sport and as 
owner and president of the Rochester 
Base Ball Club he brought three pennants 
to Rochester and gives to the patrons of 
the game an opportunity to enjoy their 
favorite game under most favorable con- 
ditions. 

Mr. Chapin has borne his full share of 
civic responsibility, serving as police 
commissioner for five years, 1896-1901, 
and as park commissioner from Novem- 
ber 6, 1902, to 1915. He was an active 
member of the old volunteer fire depart- 
ment, serving as secretary of Alert Hose 
Company from the time he joined in 1881 
until elected president of the company 
in 1883, filling the latter office four years. 
He is now a member of the Exempt Fire- 
men's Association. He was for one year 
vice-president of the Rochester Chamber 
of Commerce, later chairman of the com- 
mittee on manufactures and promotion of 
trade. He has borne an important part 
in the efforts of the chamber to promote 
Rochester's commercial welfare and as an 
individual lends his aid to every worthy 
enterprise. He is a life member of the 
Rochester Athletic Club, belongs to the 
Rochester Whist Club, Rochester Club, 
Ad Club, Rotary Club, and is affiliated 
as life member with the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. His all round 
activity in business, civic affairs and 
sports has brought him an exceedingly 
wide circle of acquaintances and from 
whatever angle viewed Mr. Chapin is 
recognized as one of the strong and valu- 
able men of his city. 

He married, September 5, 1882, Emily, 
daughter of Colonel William Emerson. 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mrs. Chapin died May 24, 1885, leaving a 
son, Charles Hall Chapin (2). He is a 
graduate of Yale University, class of 1907, 
now treasurer of Chapin-Owen Company 
(Incorporated). He has inherited his 
father's love for out-of-door sports and 
at Yale in his freshman year was catcher 
of the inter-collegiate champion baseball 
team, and in 1906 was manager of the 
Yale champion basket ball team. He and 
his father are particularly congenial in 
their athletic tastes and are associated in 
the different Chapin enterprises. 



MOSHER, Howard Townsend, 

Educator, Iiawyer, Uectnrer. 

The earliest traditions of the Mosher 
family locate them in Alsace, France, 
about the year 1580. Their home was in 
the southern part of the province, near 
Strassburg. The name is compounded of 
two German words Mos and Herr, which 
when combined means Mosslord or 
"Lord of the Moss." This may be taken 
to imply that the founder of the family 
name was a man of prominence, and had 
his residence on a mossy mound or hill. 
After Alsace was annexed to France, 
both the German and French languages 
were in use. The French spelled the 
name Mosier or Motier. In England the 
German method of spelling the name 
prevailed, Mosher. In religion the family 
were Protestants, and with many others 
fled to England to escape persecution. 
It is supposed they went to England 
under the leadership of Hugh Mosher 
prior to the year 1600. They located in 
Manchester, Chester and London. The 
Manchester records show that five 
Mosher brothers were engaged in busi- 
ness in that city in 1616, partners and silk 
weavers. They were : William, John, 
Thomas, Stephen and George. The 
American ancestor, Ensign Hugh Mosher, 
was a son of Stephen Mosher. 



Ensign Hugh Mosher, son of Stephen 
Mosher, of Manchester, England, sailed 
for America and reached Boston in 1636. 
Another Hugh Mosher, son of Thomas 
Mosher, settled in Maine. A third Hugh 
Mosher, son of John Mosher, was promi- 
nent in the East India Company, died 
wealthy, without issue. It was his for- 
tune that the Moshers of the United 
States tried unsuccessfully to obtain in 
recent years. Hugh Mosher, son of 
Stephen Mosher, first settled in Salem, 
Massachusetts, where he became a friend 
of Roger Williams, pastor of the Salem 
church, and was in full sympathy with 
his religious views. When Williams was 
banished from Massachusetts, in October, 
1636, Mosher went with him to Rhode 
Island, and shared his hardships and 
sufferings. When Williams was in a 
position to do so he repaid the devotion 
of his friend with the permanent title to 
a fifth part of the township of Westerly, 
Rhode Island, August 4, 1676. In 1669 
Hugh Mosher was appointed ensign of a 
military com.pany by the General Court, 
and took part in King Philip's War, dur- 
ing which war two of his sons were 
killed. In 1674 he was ordained pastor 
of the Baptist church in Dartmouth, 
Massachusetts, but was always called by 
his military title. Ensign Hugh Mosher. 
He died in Newport, Rhode Island, 1694. 
He married Lydia Maxon. 

Descendants of Ensign Hugh Mosher 
settled in New York State and are found 
from Troy to Bufifalo, men of prominence 
in every field of life's activity they have 
entered. Howard Townsend Mosher, of 
Rochester, is a son of Jacob Simmons 
Mosher, M. D., an eminent physician and 
surgeon of Albany, New York, and dis- 
tinguished in the medical service of his 
State. Dr. Mosher was deputy health 
officer of the port of New York, 1870-76. 
was surgeon during the Civil War and 




'-^jjt^^yCMU^^I^i^: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



surgeon-general upon the staff of Gov- 
ernor Hoffman of New York State. He 
married Emma Starr Montgomery, of 
distinguished ancestry. 

Howard Townsend Mosher, son of Dr. 
Jacob S. and Emma S. (Montgomery) 
Mosher and brother of Dr. Jesse Mont- 
gomery Mosher, of Albany, New York, 
was born at Albany, July 6, 1868. His 
education, begun at Albany Boys Acad- 
emy, was continued at Union College, 
Schenectady, New York, whence he was 
graduated Bachelor of Arts, class of 
1890. He then went abroad and pursued 
courses of study in Paris during the 
years 1890-92. On his return to the 
United States he was elected a member 
of the faculty of Union College, instructor 
in French in the modern language depart- 
ment five years, 1892-97. He then pre- 
pared for the practice of law, was admit- 
ted to the Monroe county bar, in 1901, 
and has been continuously in practice in 
Rochester until the present year (1916). 
From 1910 until 1914 he was lecturer on 
citizenship in the University of Roches- 
ter, and has attained high reputation as 
educator, lawyer and lecturer. Mr. 
Mosher is one of the leaders of the Demo- 
cratic party in Western New York, and 
has for many years taken an active part 
in public affairs. He was the candidate 
of his party for State Senator in 1902, 
for surrogate of Monroe county in 1906; 
chairman of the Democratic County Com- 
mittee of Monroe county, 190S-10; candi- 
date for mayor of Rochester in 191 1 and 
in 1915 ; and a member of the New York 
State Prison Reform Commission, 1913- 
15; and a member of the State Work- 
man's Compensation Commission, 1914- 
15. He is a member of Psi Upsilon fra- 
ternity, Rochester Chamber of Com- 
merce, Rochester Athletic Club, Univer- 
sity Club of Rochester, and of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal church. 



Mr. Mosher married, in Rochester, 
July 6, 1893, Mary Josephine, daughter of 
William R. and Josephine (Coburn) 
Seward, of a distinguished New York 
family. 



LEONARD, George Bement, '^ 
Financier, Man of Enterprise. 

While yet in his teens Mr. Leonard 
began his long and valuable life as a 
banker, commencing as clerk. At the age 
of twenty-five he was cashier, and after 
thirty years of service in that position he 
resigned and became president of the 
Salt Springs National Bank of Syracuse. 
He won for himself an honorable name 
and high reputation as an able financier 
and upon his record as a banker his fame 
might securely rest. But that was only 
one of his lines of business activity and 
in a call of the roll of Syracuse enter- 
prises it will be found that in many of 
them he was one of the organizers, one 
of the incorporators and one of the 
officials. His dominating qualities and 
the foundation stones of his success were 
energy, force and discernment ; his busi- 
ness instinct was keen, his judgment 
sound and men were willing to follow 
where he led. He was progressive and 
far-seeing, yet possessed a caution that 
protected him against visionary under- 
takings. He was strong and self-reliant, 
strict integrity marking his course 
through life, a man who could be relied 
upon in any relation and every emer- 
gency. 

George B. Leonard was a descendant 
of James Leonard, who was of Lynn in 

1651, and of Taunton, Massachusetts, in 

1652, and with his brother Henry estab- 
lished the first forge in the Plymouth 
colony. For a long time the Leonard 
forge was the principal one in this coun- 
try, and through several generations 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Leonards were celebrated iron masters. 
The brothers, James and Henry Leonard, 
were sons of Thomas Leonard, who re- 
mained in England. Descendants became 
prominent in Colonial days as business 
men and public officials, Revolutionary 
records also bearing the name frequently. 
John Campfield, whose daughter, Susan, 
married James Leonard, the grandfather 
of George B. Leonard, was the aide-de- 
camp to General Lafayette, and in 1825 
was warmly greeted by Lafayette in 
Morristown, New Jersey, at the time of 
his last visit to America. 

George Bement Leonard was born in 
Syracuse, New York, June 25, 1838, died 
June 7, 1914, son of John Alexander 
Leonard, born July 7, 1806, died March 
23, 1873, and his wife, Louisa Sloan, 
daughter of Kellogg Bement and Mary 
Ann (Gaylord) Sloan. He was educated 
in the public schools of Syracuse, and 
began his business career as clerk in a 
Jocal mercantile house. While yet a 
minor he became a clerk in the Crouse 
Bank, and was yet in his teens when he 
transferred his services to the Bank of 
Salina. Upon the organization of the 
First National Bank of Syracuse in 1863, 
Mr. Leonard was appointed its first 
cashier and for thirty-four years filled that 
responsible position most efficiently and 
most honorably. In 1897 he resigned the 
post he had filled for so many years, 
having been called to the presidency of 
the Salt Springs National Bank, a 
merited recognition of his high standing 
in the world of finance. During the years 
that had elapsed since taking the cashier's 
desk in the First National he had become 
interested in many local and industrial 
enterprises. He was identified with the 
building of the East Side railway con- 
necting Syracuse with East Syracuse, 
that road later being merged with the 
Syracuse Rapid Transit system. He was 



one of the incorporators of the Kemp & 
Burpee Manufacturing Company and 
served as its treasurer until the purchase 
of the company by the John Deere Plow 
Company of Moline, Illinois. He was 
one of the incorporators of the Syracuse 
Tube Company, and at the time that 
company was absorbed by the National 
Tube Company he was its largest 
individual stockholder. He was a direc- 
tor of the Great Lakes Steamship Com- 
pany and in his honor the company 
named one of its largest freight carriers 
the "George B. Leonard." He had other 
important business interests, the fore- 
going being those only with which he 
held prominent official relation. 

In early life he became an active mem- 
ber of Plymouth Congregational Church 
of Syracuse, but in later life he became 
a devout attendant and generous sup- 
porter of the First Reformed Church of 
the same city. He was a charter member 
of the Citizens' Club, retaining his mem- 
bership until his death, and was a member 
of the Fortnightly Club for many years. 
He was a Republican in politics, and in 
1873-74-75 served as school commis- 
sioner. During the Civil War Mr. 
Leonard was an enlisted member of the 
New York State militia. 

George B. Leonard married, at Cuba, 
Allegany county. New York, October 24, 
1866, Elizabeth DeWitt Dimock, of 
Cuba, daughter of Thomas Dimock, born 
in New London, Connecticut, who died 
during the early childhood of his daugh- 
ter, and Elizabeth (Mandeville) Dimock, 
his wife, a daughter of the Rev. Garret 
Mandeville, who was the first settled 
pastor in Ithaca, New York, in 1801. 
Children of George B. and Elizabeth D. 
Leonard : Anna Elizabeth ; Mary Louise, 
died at Syracuse, July 15, 1899; Margaret 
DeWitt; Thomas Dimock, now a real 
estate dealer of New York City ; George 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Alexander, member of the Hill-Leonard 
Engineering & Construction Company, 
now engaged in building the new Welland 
Canal. Mrs. Elizabeth D. Leonard sur- 
vives her husband and continues her 
residence in Syracuse. 



BECHTOLD, Charles B., 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

A member of the Rochester bar since 
1902 Mr. Bechtold has won high standing, 
and as a member of the law firm of Mc- 
Inerney & Bechtold, No. 1003 Insurance 
Building, transacts an important busi- 
ness in all State and Federal courts of the 
district. He has been equally prominent 
in public affairs and as deputy and assist- 
ant district attorney rendered efficient 
service. His social, genial nature rendersi 
him very popular in the many clubs and 
secret orders of which he is a member, 
his professional ability and pleasing per- 
sonality forming a rare combination 
which attracts and holds the regard of 
men of worth. He is a son of Henry and 
Caroline Bechtold, his father for many 
years a business man of Rochester. 

Charles B. Bechtold was born in 
Rochester, New York, June 6, 1874. He 
obtained a good preparatory education in 
the public schools, the old Free Academy 
and under a private tutor. He also is a 
graduate of the Mechanics' Institute, and 
in earlier life learned and followed the 
trades of machinist and draughtsman. 
For several years he was in the employ 
of the Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburgh 
railroad in that capacity and was rated 
a most satisfactory workman. But he 
had an ambition for the law and resign- 
ing his railroad position he began the 
study of law tmder the direction of 
Werner & Harris, eminent members of 
the Rochester bar. After passing satis- 



factorily all the tests imposed upon a 
young lawyer he was admitted to the 
Monroe county bar on July 11, 1902, hav- 
ing also during his law studies served as 
deputy clerk of the police court. 

He at once began practice in Rochester 
forming a partnership with John J. Mc- 
Inerney under the firm name Mclnerney 
& Bechtold. During his early practice he 
was also clerk of the police court, and on 
May I, 1904, accepted appointment to the 
position of deputy assistant district attor- 
ney for the county of Monroe, this neces- 
sitating his retirement from the law firm 
of Mclnerney & Bechtold. He served as 
deputy assistant until January i, 1906, 
then was appointed assistant district 
attorney, an office he held until 1910. 
During those years he conducted a line 
of law work in connection with his old 
preceptors, Werner & Harris, but upon 
his retirement from the district attorney's 
office he again renewed the partnership 
with his former partner and has since 
practiced as the junior of the firm of Mc- 
lnerney & Bechtold. He is a member of 
the Rochester Bar Association and held 
in high esteem by his brethren of the 
bench and bar. In early life he affiliated 
with the Republican party and has ever 
been an ardent supporter of the principles 
of that party as well as a valuable worker 
for party success. For several years he 
represented the Twentieth Ward of 
Rochester on the Republican General 
Comm.ittee, and has been a frequent dele- 
gate to State and district conventions and 
is a member of several political societies. 
He is a good campaigner, an eloquent 
speaker whether pleading the cause of 
client or candidate, and has the happy 
faculty of delivering telling blows in a 
most agreeable and happy manner. His 
friends are legion and he is a strong 
advocate for any cause he espouses. He 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is a member of all of the various Masonic 
bodies of Rochester, the Ancient Order 
of Foresters and Sons of Veterans; his 
clubs the Masonic, the Rochester Whist, 
Oak Hill, Yacht and Athletic. 



HYDE, Salem, ' 

Enterprising Citizen. 

Salem Hyde, whose business history 
has been marked by steady progress, is 
junior partner of the firm of Neal & 
Hyde, wholesale dry goods merchants of 
Syracuse. He pays the strictest atten- 
tion to his business, allowing no outside 
interest to enter as a variable force and 
his singleness of purpose guided by sound 
judgment have placed him in the enviable 
position which he to-day occupies in 
commercial circles. A native of Victory, 
Cayuga county, New York, he was born 
June 22, 1846, of the marriage of EHsha 
H. and Mary Ellen (Botsford) Hyde. 
The family comes of English origin but 
was founded in America in early Colonial 
days, the great-grandfather living in Ox- 
ford, Connecticut. From that place John 
Salem Hyde, the grandfather, removed to 
Scipio, New York, and subsequently to 
Victory, Cayuga county, in the early part 
of the nineteenth century. His business 
interests were varied, as he was a phy- 
sician, manufacturer and farmer. His son, 
Elisha H. Hyde, was born at Victory, 
and also followed the occupation of 
farming. He removed from Cayuga 
county to Oswego county, near Fulton, 
and from thence twenty years later to the 
town of Onondaga Valley, where he lived 
for twenty years and died at the home 
of a daughter living in Rochester, at the 
age of nearly eighty-nine years, his birth 
having occurred in 1820. His wife be- 
longed to an old Vermont family and her 
grandfather was one of the patriots of the 
Revolutionary War, enlisting at Benning- 



ton, Vermont, and participating in that 
battle where the Green Mountain boys 
under Colonel Ethan Allen won undying 
fame. The maternal grandfather of Mrs. 
Hyde was a Mr. Peck, also a resident of 
Vermont and a participant in the Revo- 
lutionary War with the Colonial army. 

Salem Hyde pursued his education in 
the district schools of Victory, New 
York, and in the Red Creek Academy. 
He entered business life as a clerk in a 
country store at Wolcott, Wayne county, 
where he remained for a year. He after- 
ward spent two years in Red Creek, and 
in the spring of 1864 came to Syracuse 
where he began clerking for Price & 
Wheeler on the site of the present 
Edwards house. There he continued for 
two years, or until 1866, when he entered 
the employ of McCarthy & Sedgwick, 
wholesale dry goods merchants, while 
later he was with Neal, Baum & Com- 
pany, wholesale dealers, as salesman. He 
afterward engaged with Charles Chad- 
wick & Company as manager of one of 
their departments, and after the death of 
their senior partner this firm consolidated 
with that of Neal & Baum under the name 
of Sperry, Neal & Hyde in 1879. Mr. 
Hyde was enabled to become a member 
of the firm as a result of his many years 
experience. At Mr. Sperry's death in 
1891 the firm became Neal & Hyde. The 
concern has grown very rapidly during 
this time, enjoying a steady, healthful 
development and their trade covers Penn- 
sylvania, Massachusetts, Connecticut and 
Vermont, together with the immediate 
surrounding territory. They employ a 
large force in the house and a large corps 
of salesmen on the road, doing a strictly 
jobbing business. This has become one 
of the leading wholesale houses of 
Central New York and its success is 
attributable in no small measure to the 
labors, enterprise and careful manage- 



264 




<^ jf/f/ay • ■ 1 . 0/'y/'/<rr^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment of Mr. Hyde. He is also a trustee 
of the Onondaga County Savings Bank, 
and widely recognized as a prominent 
factor in the commercial life of Syra- 
cuse. 

Mr. Hyde is a member of the Citizens' 
Club, the Chamber of Commerce and the 
Lotos Club of New York City, and has 
been a co-worker with many leading 
citizens in movements toward the up- 
building of a Greater Syracuse. In 
politics he is a Republican with a citizen's 
interest in the adoption of the prin- 
ciples which he believes best conserve 
good government. He was the first com- 
missioner of jurors in Syracuse and filled 
that office for six years. He is serving 
his third five-year term as a trustee of the 
Syracuse Public Library and has been 
for many years vice-president of the 
Historical Society, also of the Syracuse 
Museum of Fine Arts, of which he is a 
charter member. He belongs to the May 
Memorial (Unitarian) Church, and is 
greatly interested in charities, to which 
he has been a liberal contributor. Mr. 
Hyde during his lifetime has been a man 
of literary tastes and has accumulated 
one of the finest private libraries in the 
city, containing many rare volumes and 
being especially strong in early nineteenth 
century English literature and in books 
pertaining to the history and literature of 
Greece. A unique feature of this library 
is the collection of Emersoniana, number- 
ing nearly five hundred bound volumes 
in several languages, which together with 
many pamphlets, autograph letters and 
other items of interest probably forms as 
complete a collection of works relating to 
Emerson and his writings as may be 
found anywhere. His life has been char- 
acterized by a resolute purpose and early 
in his career he became imbued with a 
laudable ambition to master each task 
that was assigned him and progressed 



until he is to-day with Mr. Neal equal 
owner of a business which pays tribute 
to his industry and his ability, and stands 
as a monument to his enterprise and cap- 
able management. 

Mr. Hyde married Anne P. Cheney, 
a daughter of Timothy C. Cheney, an 
early settler of Onondaga county, and a 
prominent contractor, who built the old 
Wieting block, the courthouse and other 
notable structures of the city. The chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Hyde are as follows : 
Henry N., born in 1873, rector of St. 
Philip's Church, Joplin, Missouri ; Mary 
Frances, born in 1875, now the wife of 
Charles W. Andrews ; Charles Salem, 
born in 1877, employed in the store with 
his father ; Dana Cheney, born in 1879, 
also associated in business with his 
father; Florence M., born in 1882; Nelson 
C, born in 1888, secretary to Congress- 
man Magee, and Washington correspond- 
ent of several newspapers ; and Dorothy 
A., born in 1891. 



CURTICE, Edgar N., 

Head of Important Industry. 

The financial and commercial history 
of New York State would be incomplete 
and unsatisfactory without a personal and 
somewhat extended mention of those 
whose lives are interwoven closely with 
its industrial and financial development. 
When a man or select number of men 
have set in motion the machinery of busi- 
ness which materializes into a thousand 
forms of practical utility, or where they 
have carved out a fortune or a name from 
the common possibilities open for com- 
petition to all, there is a public desire, 
which should be gratified, to see the men 
so nearly as a portrait and a word artist 
can paint them and examine the elements 
of mind and the circumstances by which 
such results have been achieved. 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The subject of this review finds an 
appropriate place in the history of those 
m,en of business and enterprise in the 
State of New York whose force of char- 
acter, whose sterling integrity, whose 
fortitude amid discouragements, whose 
good sense in the management of com- 
plicated affairs and marked success in 
establishing large industries and bringing 
to completion great commercial under- 
takings, have contributed in an eminent 
degree to the development of the re- 
sources of this noble Commonwealth. 
The great army of employes and the 
magnitude of the business which he 
controls both attest the marked ability 
of Edgar N. Curtice, whose name is 
known in trade circles wherever civiliza- 
tion has left its stamp. 

He was born in Webster, Monroe 
county, New York, on December g, 1844, 
a son of Mark Curtice and a descendant of 
one of the oldest Colonial families. His 
ancestry is traced back to Henry Curtice, 
who was one of the original grantees of 
the town of Sudbury, Massachusetts, in 
1638. His son, Lieutenant Ephraim Cur- 
tice, born March 31, 1642, was a noted 
frontiersman and famous Indian scout. 
Ephraim Curtice, son of Lieutenant Cur- 
tice, was born in Topsfield, Massachu- 
setts, in 1662, and became the father of 
Ebenezer Curtice, born in Boxford, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 21, 1707. The latter's 
son, Jacob Curtice, was born March 21, 
1730, in Topsfield, Massachusetts. He 
wedded Mary Stiles, a native of Boxford, 
Massachusetts, and from Boxford re- 
moved to Amherst, New Hampshire. He 
and five of his sons valiantly fought for 
American independence in the Revolu- 
tionary War, Jacob Curtice enlisting at 
Amherst in 1775 and serving until the 
close of hostilities. Jacob and Mary Cur- 
tice had nine children, of whom Ebenezer, 
the fifth, was born in Amherst, New 



Hampshire, June 9, 1760. He married 
Sarah Parker, and removed to Western 
New York. He was among the earliest 
settlers of this part of the State, locating 
at Bloomfield, New York, in 1789. In 
1792 he removed to Webster, then a part 
of Ontario county, where his remaining 
days were passed. He died August 22, 
1832, and was buried in Lakeside Ceme- 
tery in Webster. His wife died August 
16, 1847, ill her eighty-third year. 

Mark Curtice, the father of Edgar N. 
Curtice, was the youngest of the eleven 
children of Ebenezer and Sarah (Parker) 
Curtice. He was born in Windsor, New 
York, October 17, 1808, and died in 
Webster, Monroe county. New York, 
November 9, 1880. Mark Curtice's wife, 
Elmina (Goodnow) Curtice, daughter of 
Simeon and Sarah (GrifTen) Goodnow, 
was the first white child born in what is 
now the town of Webster. She was born 
July 3, 1812, and died March 26, 1888. 
Simeon Goodnow came to Monroe county 
from New Hampshire in 1810. He was 
born in the old Granite State in 1787, died 
November 20, 1826, and was buried in 
Lakeside Cemetery at Webster. He was 
a son of Calvin Goodnow, who was born 
February 15, 1752, in Westboro, Massa- 
chusetts. Calvin Goodnow served in the 
Revolutionary War from Rindge, New 
Hampshire, and also from Amherst, New 
Hampshire. The Goodnow family in 
America is descended from Edmund 
Goodnow, who cam,e to America on the 
ship "Confidence" in 1638. In the family 
of Mark and Elmina (Goodnow) Curtice 
were five children: i. Delia, who was 
born in 1833, became prominent in educa- 
tional circles, acting for more than 
twenty-five years as principal of different 
public schools in Rochester, most of this 
time being at the head of No. 20. She 
was a woman of superior mind, highly 
respected and loved by all. Her death 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



occurred in 1903. 2. Albin B., born in 
1838, died in December, 1886. 3. Simeon 
G., born August 13, 1839, died February 
7, 1905, after long connection with the 
extensive business now conducted under 
the name of Curtice Brothers Company. 
4. Edgar N., of whom further. 5. Belle 
Sophia, the wife of the late A. B. Wol- 
cott ; is now a resident of Rochester. 

Edgar N. Curtice was educated in the 
common and advanced schools of Web- 
ster and in what was known as Satter- 
lee's Institute in Rochester, completing 
his course when about twenty-one years 
of age. He then joined his brother, 
Simeon G. Curtice, who about three years 
before had embarked in the grocery busi- 
ness on a small scale in what is known 
as the Flatiron building at Main, North 
and Franklin streets, Rochester. This 
was in 1865 and there they continued 
until 1868. They removed in that year 
to the building at the corner of Water 
and Mortimer streets, and commenced the 
canning and preserving business which 
has grown steadily to the present exten- 
sive enterprise. The business continued 
in this location until 1872, when the de- 
mand for increased space compelled the 
Curtice Brothers to build at No. 200 
North Water street, the new structure 
being used for canning and preserving on 
a larger scale. In 1880 they bought the 
land and erected the buildings now occu- 
pied by the company, which from time to 
time have been enlarged in order to meet 
the growth of the trade. In 1887 the 
business was incorporated under the 
name of Curtice Brothers Company, with 
a capitalization of $200,000. Simeon G. 
Curtice was the president ; Edgar N. Cur- 
tice, the vice-president and treasurer ; and 
Robert A. Badger, the secretary of the 
new corporation. In 1901 the business 
was reincorporated under the same name 
and the same officers and with a capital- 



ization of $1,500,000, showing thus a more 
than seven-fold increase in the fourteen 
years. On the death of Simeon G. Cur- 
tice in 1905, Edgar N. Curtice was made 
president and treasurer; Henry B. Mc- 
Kay, vice-president ; and Robert A. 
Badger, secretary. 

The Curtice Brothers Company is one 
of the largest producers of high grade 
food products in the world and con- 
tributes much to the fame of the Flower 
City as a commercial center. Its products 
are found in the markets all around the 
globe, being recognized as goods of the 
highest quality and the company has 
difficulty in meeting the increasing de- 
mand made upon it. Each year has 
shown the necessity of increased acreage 
to supply the fruits and vegetables 
needed for the business until now the 
company contracts for the yield of over 
eight thousand acres in farm and market 
garden products from some of the most 
famous and fertile lands in the world — 
notably the valley of the Genesee. The 
company owns and operates four plants, 
the parent plant in Rochester, one in 
Vernon, Oneida county. New York, for 
vegetables, one in Woodstown, New Jer- 
sey, for tomatoes, and one in Bergen, 
Genesee county. New York. The Roches- 
ter factory not only carries on all sorts of 
canning and preserving, but also manu- 
factures the cans for use in all its fac- 
tories. At Rochester also are the admin- 
istrative ofifices. It is essentially a Roches- 
ter concern. This immense enterprise 
pays out annually very large sums of 
money to its employes and to the 
farmers who grow the fruits and vege- 
tables used in the business. It markets 
its products all over the world, as has 
been said, and the profits of this enor- 
mous business come back into Rochester 
to increase the wealth of its citizens and 
the resources of the banks. Each of the 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



company's plants is equipped with the 
latest and most perfect mechanical appli- 
ances, securing the highest degree of 
cleanliness and most sanitary conditions. 
Over twenty-five hundred employes are 
at work in the factories in the busy 
season, and a still larger number are en- 
gaged on the farms in producing the fruits 
and vegetables needed for the business. 
The world-wide fame of the "Blue 
Label" ketchup, chili sauce, soups, per- 
serves, jams, jellies, meat delicacies, etc., 
is simply a recognition of the efficient 
methods, the constant watchfulness, and 
the wise management of the vast enter- 
prise of which Mr. Curtice is the head, 
and of which he and his brother have 
been the creators. 

Edgar N. Curtice Avas married in 1876 
to Lucy E. Gardner. Their only son, 
Edgar N. Curtice, Jr., born in 1878, died 
in 1905, in which year the death of Mrs. 
Curtice also occurred. Louie Belle, a 
daughter, is the wife of Frederick Edwin 
Bickford. Agnes Eloise, another daugh- 
ter, is the wife of Dr. Volney A. Hoard. 

Mr. Curtice is a member of various 
clubs and social organizations, among 
them the Genesee Valley Club, the 
Rochester Yacht Club, Rochester His- 
torical Society, the Country Club of 
Rochester, the Oak Hill Country Club 
and the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution. Deeply interested in the welfare 
and commercial development of Roches- 
ter, he has been a member of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce since its organization, 
and he is also a director of the National 
Bank of Rochester and of the Fidelity 
Trust Company. His political allegiance 
is given to the Republican party. Such, 
in brief, is the life history of Edgar N. 
Curtice, a man remarkable in the breadth 
of his wisdom, his indefatigable energy 
and his fertility of resource. One of the 
prominent characteristics of his success- 



ful business career is that his vision has 
never been bounded by the exigencies of 
the moment, but has covered as well the 
possibilities and opportunities of the 
future. This has led him into extensive 
undertakings, bringing him, into marked 
prominence in industrial and commercial 
circles. A man of unswerving integrity 
and honor, one who has a perfect appre- 
ciation of the higher ethics of life, he has 
gained and retained the confidence and 
respect of his fellow men and is distinc- 
tively one of the leading citizens, not 
only of Rochester but of the Empire 
State, with whose interests he has been 
identified throughout his entire career. 



WIDENER, Howard H., i 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

A man of wide general information, 
broad reading and deep thinking, well 
educated and well bred, Mr. Widener even 
without the prestige which he deserves 
from his high position at the Rochester 
bar would be a man singled out from 
among his fellows as one far above the 
ordinary. As a lawyer he is a clear 
thinker, a logical reasoner, well versed in 
the branches of the law, to which he has 
devoted himself. As assistant and as 
district attorney of Monroe county he 
was necessarily obliged to specialize in 
criminal law and some most notable vic- 
tories are to his credit. His practice ex- 
tends to all State and Federal courts of 
the district, and he acts as legal repre- 
sentative for some of the most prominent 
m,en and concerns of the city, his sage 
counsel based upon comprehensive under- 
standing of the law proving a valuable 
asset to his large clientele. He is noted 
for his industry, his thorough knowledge 
of the law, his concise and searching 
mind, his systematic habits, his resource- 
fulness, his personal honesty, and his 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lofty professional ideals. It is the special 
function of the lawyer to actively partici- 
pate in the affairs of his community. He 
is the spokesman for its patriotic observ- 
ances, for the reform of its abuses, and 
for the enlargement of its functions. He 
is the motive power of its educational, 
moral and charitable work. All these re- 
quirements of Air. Widener fulfills, and no 
man is more genuinely useful and helpful 
than he. Admitted to the Monroe county 
bar in 1885, he has in the years inter- 
vening made continuous progress in his 
profession and has long occupied a posi- 
tion of distinction among the leading 
lawyers of that bar. His reputation as a 
lawyer has been won through earnest, 
honest labor, and his standing at the bar 
is a merited tribute to his ability. 

Mr. Widener springs from one of the 
historic families of New Jersey, his great- 
grandfathe^r, Henry Widener, serving with 
the "Minute-Men" of Sussex county in 
the Revolutionary War. The family is 
of German origin, the American ancestors 
settling in Eastern Pennsylvania about 
1735. A lineal descendant was Peter A. 
B. Widener, the great financier and capi- 
talist, whose son and grandson were lost 
at the sinking of the great steamship 
"Titanic." The wonderful contributions 
of that branch of the family to the art 
galleries and philanthropies of Philadel- 
phia are the glory of that city, and at 
Harvard University a memorial building 
stands as a monument to the brave young 
man whose soul went out over the frozen 
sea when the "Titanic" plunged beneath 
the wave. Other noted descendants are 
General Josiah Gorgas and his son. Colo- 
nel William Gorgas, both of the United 
States army, the latter of Panama Canal 
fame. Professor R. F. Widener, of Chi- 
cago, is also a descendant of the German 
ancestor. 

Henry (2) Widener, son of the Revolu- 



tionary patriot, Henry (i) Widener, of 
Sussex county, New Jersey, settled in 
Chili, Monroe county. New York, in early 
pioneer days, and at one time was the 
owner of six hundred acres of cultivated 
land. He was a soldier of the War of 
181 2, serving with the defenders of the 
Niagara frontier. He married Prudence 
Kimball, of Riga, New York, who bore 
him ten children. He died at Chili, Janu- 
ary 21, 1837, his wife. Prudence, died Jan- 
uary 7, 1845. 

Kinney A. Widener, son of Henry (2) 
and Prudence (Kimball) Widener, was 
born at Chili, New York, April 22, 1822. 
He was a man of education, taught school 
for fourteen years, but was a farmer the 
greater part of his life. He was closely 
identified with public afifairs, held many 
town offices, including town superintend- 
ent and school commissioner. He mar- 
ried, March 11, 1848, Mary R., daughter 
of Samuel and Eliza (Reed) Phillips, of 
Chili. She was the mother of three chil- 
dren : Howard H. ; Chandler Reed, born 
March 25, 1862, died January 11, 1865; 
and Blanche Eliza. 

Howard H. Widener, eldest son of Kin- 
ney A. and Mary R. (Phillips) Widener, 
was born at Chili, Monroe county. New 
York, May 6, i860. He obtained an 
academic education and was graduated 
from Chili Seminary, class of 1879, and 
for four years taught school. But his 
ambition was for the profession of law, 
and after a thorough course of prepara- 
tory study he was admitted to the Monroe 
county bar at the June term, 1885. He at 
once began practice in Rochester, and has 
been continuously in practice until the 
present time (1916). He soon gained a 
foothold in his profession, and has gone 
forward as the years have progressed 
to a position of professional importance 
most gratifying to himself and his many 
friends. He possesses that rarest of gifts, 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the faculty for honest work, a faculty 
which has won him professional fame and, 
combined with business ability and sa- 
gacityand personal qualities of the highest 
order, has won him public confidence and 
esteem and the affection of a host of 
friends. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Widener 
was appointed assistant district attorney 
of Monroe, and in that office tried some 
very important criminal cases, and won 
notable victories. In 1907 he was the 
candidate of his party for district attor- 
ney, and won the verdict of the polls. 
He not only upheld the high reputa- 
tion he had gained as assistant, but 
won additional fame and the highest 
encomiums of the bench and bar. He 
prepared his cases with the greatest 
care, and in his presentation is clear, 
logical and forceful. He is a fair oppo- 
nent, a close observer of the ethics of the 
profession, courteous to court, and most 
solicitous for a client's interests. He is 
fond of historical and genealogical study, 
and in his hours "off duty" has compiled 
a history of the Widener family, a work of 
great labor, and very valuable. He is a 
thirty-second degree Mason of Rochester 
Consistory, and a Noble of Damascus 
Temple, his lodge, Younondio, No. 163, 
Free and Accepted Masons. He is a 
member of the local and State bar asso- 
ciations, and much interested in their 
proceedings. 

Mr. Widener married, February 22, 1886, 
Anna L., daughter of Lyman and Mary 
J. (Hamlin) Brooks. The family home 
is in Chili, where the family has been 
resident for considerably more than a 
century. His professional offices are in 
the Powers Building, Rochester. 



RICKER, Marcena (Sherman), M. D., 
Successful Female Physician. 

In 1888 Dr. Marcena (Sherman) Ricker 
located in Rochester, New York, for the 



practice of her profession, her advent 
causing much more comment then than 
can be now understood when the woman 
doctor is no longer a novelty but a fixed 
star in the medical firmament. She came 
thoroughly prepared by college training 
and hospital experience, but in the years 
which have since intervened she has pur- 
sued post-graduate courses in New York 
City institutions and in her specialties, 
diseases of women and children, has won 
the highest professional reputation. She 
is a member of the County, State and 
National Medical societies. She has de- 
voted a great deal of time to church, char- 
ity and philanthropy. As an able repre- 
sentative of the professional women of 
her city, she has been of great aid to every 
other woman who was ambitious to enter 
a profession, and through the influence of 
her own successful career and noble life 
she has aided in breaking down the wall 
of prejudice and opposition until now 
woman can apply for admission to nearly 
every institution of learning with the cer- 
tainty that her sex alone will not be a bar. 
Argument was good a quarter of a century 
ago, but it needed the object teaching of 
lives like Dr. Ricker's to make the argu- 
ment effective, as the men controlling col- 
leges of law and medicine are perhaps 
bound by tradition more firmly than any 
other class and yield only when their de- 
fense is utterly demolished by facts and 
Dr. Ricker aided by furnishing a fact in 
her own life. 

Marcena (Sherman) Ricker was born in 
Castile, Wyoming county, New York, 
daughter of Benjamin H. and Eliza 
(Llewellyn) Sherman. Benjamin H. 
Sherman was born in Rhode Island, a 
distant relative to General William T. 
and Senator John Sherman, of Ohio, and 
died in 1887, aged sixty-nine. His wife, 
born in Bristol, Orleans county. New 
York, was of Welsh descent. They were 
the parents of two sons and four daugh- 




;;^^-:y^j7'^^^^^^^i^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ters. Marcena Sherman was educated in 
Castile schools, Gainesville Seminary, and 
Albany Normal College, qualifying as a 
teacher. After graduation from Normal 
she taught for three years, then began the 
carrying out of a long formed ambition, 
the study of medicine. She obtained her 
degree of M. D. from the Cleveland 
Homeopathic College, class of 1888, and 
shortly afterward located in Rochester 
where she has since been in continuous 
practice, specializing in diseases of women 
and children. She was remarkably suc- 
cessful in her earlier efforts to establish 
a practice, and it was not long before her 
office was being sought for by a most 
desirable class of patrons. Her experi- 
ence and post-graduate courses taken in 
New York later gave her greater confi- 
dence in her own powers and she is now 
the strong, self-reliant physician, skillful 
in both diagnosis and treatment, her skill 
being accompanied to the sick room by 
that sympathy and womanly tenderness 
which brings healing in itself. A student 
and thinker, she is recognized as a learned 
and able member of the medical profes- 
sion and the contributions from her pen 
to the medical journals have been fre- 
quent and well received. 

Dr. Ricker is a member of the Monroe 
County Medical Association, Western 
New York Medical Society, the American 
Institute of Homeopathy, member of the 
staff of the Homeopathic Hospital of 
Rochester, president of the board of man- 
agers of the Baptist Home of Monroe 
County, visiting physician at the Door of 
Hope, member of Lake Avenue Baptist 
Church. The Baptist Home of Monroe 
County was established largely through 
her persistent effort extending over a 
period of ten years, ere "hope ended in 
fruition." 

Miss Sherman married, June, 1898, 
Wentworth G. Ricker, born in the State 



of Maine, and for several years president 
of the Ricker Manufacturing Company, 
overhead trackings and machine work. 
No. 239 North Water street, Rochester. 
Mr. Ricker is one of Rochester's able, en- 
ergetic and successful business men, his 
line of manufacture being an important 
one. He is a member of Lake Avenue 
Baptist Church. In political faith he is a 
Republican. 



FARMER, William Sidney, 
Lawyer, Jurist. 

As judge of the Municipal Court of 
Syracuse, William Sidney Farmer is con- 
tinuing a career in which he has served 
his native State with conspicuous fidelity, 
and with the dignity, zeal and courage 
which have characterized his entire work 
from the time of his admission to the bar. 
Not only is his mental attitude one of 
simplicity and impartiality, but his actual 
contact with everyone is based on that be- 
lief in human brotherhood, so frequently 
met with, and which makes him an ideal 
magistrate. Rich and poor alike are dealt 
with by him on a plane of simple equality, 
and with a dignity and courtesy that are 
only the outward aspect of great firmness, 
courage and a far reaching progressive- 
ness. The Farmer family has been resi- 
dent in the State of New York for a num- 
ber of generations, Jonathan Farmer hav- 
ing been one of the pioneer settlers of St. 
Lawrence county, when he took up his 
residence in the town of Fowler. 

Seymour M. Farmer, son of Jonathan 
Farmer, was born in Fowler, and subse- 
quently removed to Hailesboro. For a 
number of years he was engaged in busi- 
ness as a merchant, and for a long time 
held the office of justice of the peace. He 
was a major of the State militia. He mar- 
ried Alethea M. Rich, who died in 1913, 
and who was a member of a pioneer fam- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ily of Northern New York. Children : 
William Sidney, whose name heads this 
sketch ; Frances A., of Syracuse ; Anna 
E., who married Hon. Vasco P. Abbott, of 
Gouverneur; Martha A., married Charles 
W. Carpenter, of Syracuse ; Lieutenant 
Harry H., a prominent attorney of Syra- 
cuse, now associated with his brother, 
Judge Farmer. 

Judge William Sidney Farmer, son of 
Seymour M. and Alethea M. (Rich) 
Farmer, was born in Hailesboro, St. Law- 
rence county. New York, July i8, 1861. 
He received his education in the public 
schools of Hailesboro, and the Gouv- 
erneur Wesleyan Seminary, at Gouver- 
neur, New York, and from early years 
showed decided ability as a speaker. Hav- 
ing decided to adopt the law as a profes- 
sion, he commenced his studies with the 
Hon. Vasco P. Abbott, at that time sur- 
rogate of St. Lawrence county, and at 
the same time became clerk of the surro- 
gate's court. He was admitted to the 
bar at Saratoga, New York, in 1882, and 
established himself in the practice of his 
profession in Gouverneur, but remained 
there but a short time. Going to Kimball, 
South Dakota, at that time a pioneer set- 
tlement, he was successfully engaged in 
practice there for a period of two years, 
during which time he served as vice-presi- 
dent of the Farmers' and Traders' Bank 
of Kimball. In 1891 he returned to the 
State of New York, where he established 
himself in the practice of his profession 
in Syracuse, and is still busy with a large 
clientele. There he formed a partnership 
with Emmons H. Sanford, under the style 
of Sanford & Farmer. Subsequently he 
associated himself in a partnership with 
his brother, Lieutenant Harry H. Farmer, 
which firm is still known as W. S. & H. 
H. Farm.er. 

In May, 1914, during the absence of 
Judge Shove, William S. Farmer was ap- 



pointed acting judge of the Court of 
Special Sessions, by Mayor Will, and on 
January 9, 1915, he was appointed judge 
of the Municipal Court by the same 
mayor, to fill the vacancy made by the 
resignation of Judge Cady. Judge Farmer 
is interested in many of the social, frater- 
nal and benevolent associations of Syra- 
cuse, and has attained the thirty-second 
degree in Free Masonry. He is a member 
of the Masonic Club of the City of New 
York ; of Central City Lodge, No. 305, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Syracuse; 
honorary member of Syracuse Lodge, No. 
501, and of Gouverneur Lodge, No. 217, 
at Gouverneur, New York. Masonically 
he has been master of his lodge, district 
deputy grand master of the Twenty- 
seventh Masonic District for three years, 
one of the commissioners and chief com- 
missioner of the Commission of Appeals, 
and is now senior grand warden of the 
Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons in the State of New York. He is a 
member of Americus Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; of the Syracuse 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias; of the Syra- 
cuse Chamber of Commerce ; Masonic 
Temple Club ; City Club ; Citizens' Club ; 
Republican Escort ; and Mystique Krewe 
of Ka-noo-na, a civic corporation of Syra- 
cuse, of which he was president three 
years. 

Judge Farmer married, in 1889, Ruth 
Selleck, daughter of William H. Selleck, 
of Syracuse, and they have one daughter : 
Helen Alethea, born August 30, 1905. 
The beautiful home of the family is at No. 
15 18 East Genesee street. 



BELLOWS, Anna May (Marshall), 
VTell-Known Elocntionist. 

Large as is the influence in a commun- 
ity of those more subtle forms of force, 
such as exert themselves in the expression 



272 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of aesthetic feeling, as in the case in in- 
stance, it is very difficult to state in accu- 
rate terms or even to compare with other 
influences of another character. We can 
gauge, at least roughly, the benefactions 
of those whose gifts to their fellows are 
material in character, we can apply to 
them certain standards of value, even if 
it be so gross a one as that of money 
value, and thus gain some general idea 
of their comparative worth to us, but how 
shall we deal with the spiritual gifts of 
the artist? What standard of value shall 
we gauge and measure them by? So illu- 
sive and intangible are they that the man 
who does not feel them, the materialist, 
will deny their existence altogether, and 
even those who are most sure of their 
great value, who are most sensitive to 
their appeal, can find no adequate terms 
in which to speak of them. Nevertheless 
the great mass of people with sure in- 
stinct are thoroughly convinced of their 
worth as evidenced by the way in which 
they seek every opportunity to have the 
feelings which respond to artistic stimuli 
awakened and applaud those who are suc- 
cessful in awakening them. We must 
always, therefore, turn with gratitude to 
the work of such women as Mrs. Anna 
(Marshall) Bellows, of Gloversville, New 
York, who has given her life to the de- 
velopment of her remarkable artistic tal- 
ents, consecrating her best efforts to pro- 
viding this most wholesome of pleasures, 
the aesthetic pleasure, for her fellows. 

Anna (Marshall) Bellows is a daughter 
of Levi T. and Mary Ann (Smith) Mar- 
shall, of Gloversville, New York, and a 
member of a very old New England fam- 
ily, the Marshalls having lived there from 
some time previous to the year 1634, on 
the 31st of August of which year Thomas 
Marshall was admitted to the church in 
Boston as we learn from a record in which 
he is described as a "widower." Tradi- 

N Y-Vol IV-18 273 



tion, indeed, makes the tamily a very old 
one in England and has it that the line of 
descent runs back to one of the warriors 
who accompanied William the Conqueror 
into England at the time of his conquest 
of that country. However this may be, 
the line is a perfectly distinct one in this 
country from the early colonial figure 
down to the present representatives of the 
name in New York State. The Thomas 
Marshall already spoken of brought to 
the country with him when he sailed from 
England his four children, Thomas and 
Samuel, Sarah and Frances, and it was 
from the second of these sons that the 
branch of the family with which this 
sketch is concerned was derived. Thomas 
Marshall occupied a position of promi- 
nence in the Boston colony and held sev- 
eral offices, such as selectman and deputy, 
was deacon in the church and generally 
highly respected among his fellow colo- 
nists. The high standard set by him has 
been consistently maintained by his de- 
scendants and the family has numbered 
many distinguished men among those 
who have borne its name. 

In the seventh generation of descent 
from Thomas Marshall was Levi T. Mar- 
shall, the father of Mrs. Bellows. In his 
father's time the family had removed from 
Connecticut, where it had made its home 
for a number of generations, to New York 
State, and taken up its abode in Oneida 
county, and it was there in the little vil- 
lage of Vernon that Levi T. Marshall was 
born. He was one of the splendid type 
of farmers with which the North Atlantic 
States abounded in the past generation, 
enlightened and of strong personality, 
who made of the primitive occupation that 
they followed something that any man 
might be proud to call his own. Un- 
usually well educated and possessed of a 
forceful character and powerful m.ind, Mr. 
Marshall was one who might have shone 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



brilliantly in professional life and his 
tastes led him somewhat in that direction. 
He was, however, one of those philoso- 
phers who make the best out of the condi- 
tions of life in which they find themselves 
and, finding that circumstances were such 
as to make it necessary for him to farm, 
he farmed with all his might and made a 
great success of his operations. A man 
of his character would be prominent in 
any community and he was eminently so 
among the rural population of Oneida 
county. He was one of the leading mem- 
bers in both the Oneida and the New 
York State Agricultural societies, held 
high official positions in both and was one 
of the most conspicuous figures in the 
work of advancing the agricultural inter- 
ests of that part of the country. His 
farm was one of the model places of the 
district, a sort of show place, where vis- 
itors to the town were taken to admire 
its beauties, and here he devoted himself 
to his specialty, the cultivation of fruit. 
In the year 1869 he removed to Glovers- 
ville, New York, and there made his home 
until his death in 1910. Upon his com- 
ing to Gloversville he purchased forty 
acres of land in the vicinity and added it 
to the village with the idea of improving 
its appearance and adding to its general 
attractiveness. He then organized the 
Rural Art Association, consisting of the 
most public-spirited men of the commun- 
ity, and at once began the active cam- 
paign for the beautifying of the village. 
He was himself chosen president of the 
association and it has been largely due 
to his unremitting efforts that the great 
improvement in Gloversville's appearance 
has taken place. It was a work entirely 
in line with Mr. Marshall's tastes and in- 
clinations and one which his unusual 
taste and intelligence fitted him to per- 
form most fully and adequately. Cer- 
tainly the present city of Gloversville is 



much in debt to his memory. His public 
life was a very conspicuous and praise- 
worthy one and he became a very promi- 
nent figure in the militia organization of 
his State, being commissioned brigadier- 
general by Governor William H. Seward 
in 1839. He was elected justice of the 
peace in 1835 and held that office until 
1869, when he removed to Gloversville, 
and in 1861 was elected to the Legislature 
of New York State. General Marshall 
was married, in 1832, to Mary Ann Smith, 
a daughter of John Smith, of Vernon, and 
to them were born three children : Charla- 
magne; Joseph Addison, who married, 
January 26, 1876, Irene Wing Lasher; 
Anna May, of whom further. 

Anna May (Marshall) Bellows was 
born at Vernon, Oneida county. New 
York, and passed the early years of her 
life on the beautiful farm owned by her 
father. In the midst of this healthful en- 
vironment, engaged in the wholesome 
occupations and pastimes of the country 
child, she grew up into young girlhood. 
She very early showed that she inherited 
her father's taste for art and the beauti- 
ful, also his discrimination, and she inter- 
ested herself particularly in literature and 
the art of elocution. She was a girl 
thirteen years of age when her father re- 
moved to Gloversville, Fulton county, 
New York, and from that time to the 
present that city has been her home. She 
was educated at the public schools of 
Gloversville while a young girl. This 
completed her preparatory studies and 
she then attended Wells College. Dur- 
ing this period she showed herself an un- 
usually alert and intelligent student and 
drew the favorable attention of her mas- 
ters and instructors upon her because of 
the high standing she maintained in her 
classes. She completed her course in 
1876 and then turned her attention to the 
art she loved with the intention of mak- 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing it her work for life if it should be pos- 
sible. What might have been a difificult 
task for most of us, with her talents was 
quite possible and she soon became 
known as a successful public reader. In 
the year 1883 she was married to Edwin 
P. Bellows, of Gloversville. Mrs. Bel- 
lows took up the work of elocutionist pro- 
fessionally ; she was previously enrolled 
as a member of the Star Lyceum, Bureau, 
with office in the Tribune Building in 
New York City. She has read and re- 
cited at many public entertainments in 
the neighborhood of Gloversville and else- 
where. 

Large as is her influence in her profes- 
sion, it is not by any means the only chan- 
nel in which it is exerted for the good of 
the community. On the contrary, she is 
active in a large number of the impor- 
tant movements undertaken in the city 
for the general good and especially those 
identified with her own sex. She is a 
member of many of the most prominent 
organizations among women in the State 
and in all takes a leading part. From the 
year 1886 she has been intimately con- 
nected with the Young Women's Chris- 
tian Association of Gloversville and has 
during all that period served as a mem- 
ber of its board of directors and oflf and 
on as its president also. She is a member 
of the Mohawk and Hudson Humane So- 
ciety and a director of its Gloversville 
branch, and is intensely interested in all 
philanthropic and humane work, espe- 
cially that connected with children and 
animals. She is also a member of the 
General Richard Montgomery Chapter of 
the National Society of the Daughters of 
the American Revolution, and has served 
as its regent since the year 1906. Besides 
these organizations she also belongs to 
the Monday Afternoon Study Class, the 
Washington Headquarters Association of 
New York City and the Cayadutta Chap- 



ter of the Order of the Eastern Star. Tak- 
ing part in as many of the activities of 
the community as she does, Mrs. Bellows 
is of course a very well known figure in 
community life. She is carrying on the 
work and influence begun by her father 
towards a better appreciation and under- 
standing of the beautiful, although her 
own course lies in different paths and is 
effective through other means. She is 
highly successful in her profession, and 
although it is necessarily difficult to pick 
out the elements and contributory factors 
in a thing so complex as success, the sub- 
ject is so fascinating a one that a glance 
at it in the case of Mrs. Bellows is per- 
haps justifiable. 

There is no formula for success, one 
accom.plishing the ends by means that 
seem the diametrical opposite of those 
employed by others. One's strength 
seems to lie in self-advertisement, to make 
progress one must call attention to him- 
self or herself and claim the admiration 
and wonder of those he or she uses as 
instruments, while with another silence 
appears as necessary as did noise to the 
first. There are, of course, a thousand 
variations to each of these general classes 
and we distinguish easily between those 
who need silence or obscurity for their 
deeds, and those who prefer them 
merely as part of modest and retiring 
natures. Perhaps we can say that it is to 
this last class that the subject of this 
l^rief article belongs — a woman who does 
not strive or proclaim her own merits, so 
convinced is she that "good wine needs 
no bush," that she concerns herself wholly 
with the performance in the very fullest 
sense of all her engagements. The result 
fully justifies her in her policy ; her suc- 
cess is great and no wide system of ad- 
vertising could have resulted in a more en- 
viable reputation or an achievement more 
substantial. Whatever may be thought 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the method from the standpoint of 
business there is one thing certain, how- 
ever, and that is that in a broader aspect 
the knowledge of such a life must in the 
final analysis depend upon the efiforts of 
others for its preservation. The more re- 
tiring and self-effacing a person is, the 
more important is it that an account of 
his or her career should be put in some 
permanent form so that it may not cease 
to serve as an example to others. Nay, 
there is an added reason why such a one 
should have his record preserved, for 
modesty is an added virtue and one which 
perhaps above all others, we need to have 
presented to us for imitation, and which 
by a strange paradox most readily hides 
even itself. This is the raison d'etre for a 
record such as this, that it shall assist in 
preserving the knowledge of a career that 
may serve us all as a model to be copied. 



OTIS, Lyman M., 

City Official, Honored Citizen. 

Exceptionally well preserved in this, 
his eighty-fourth year, serving his city as 
he has always served it, with fidelity and 
zeal, the tall, spare, yet supple and re- 
sponsive form of Lyman M. Otis, treas- 
urer of the city of Rochester, is a daily 
sight at his desk in the City Hall during 
business hours. Physically, no man of 
■his years can surpass him, while in mental 
vigor, breadth of vision, and loyalty to 
the interests of the city he loves, he is 
more the man of fifty than of eighty-four. 
His has been a wonderful life, not more 
for its success than for the spirit that in- 
spires his public service. Since 1857 
when, as a citizen of the town of Henri- 
etta, Monroe county, he first accepted 
public office, he has rendered official serv- 
ice almost continuously, not from the nar- 
row standpoint of self-interest, but from 
a patriotic desire to be identified with 



public afifairs and to aid the cause of 
clean, honest, municipal government. 
Prior to 1899, when he retired from active 
business life, this public service was given 
at the expense of personal interest and 
convenience, and certainly the twelve 
years during which he has been treasurer 
of Rochester might have been justly de- 
voted to personal comfort, not civic duty. 
But he laid aside his rightful privileges 
in his desire to be useful, and these twelve 
years have been years of active service 
and vigilant supervision of the financial 
interests of his city, his keen foresight, 
business sagacity, inborn financial abil- 
ity, and sound moral principles all being 
laid upon the altar of duty. And there is 
a lesson to be learned from the example of 
Mr. Otis that other men in control of 
industrial and commercial enterprises 
should take to themselves — that cities and 
States need the wisdom and business abil- 
ity of such men, and that not until the 
light that has illumined the life of Mr. 
Otis penetrates the cloud of selfishness in 
which so many able men are enveloped 
will the cause of good government ad- 
vance. That the public appreciates the 
more than half a century of official serv- 
ice of Mr. Otis is best shown by the fact 
that he found it necessary to announce 
publicly that at the expiration of his 
term, December 31, 1915, he would re- 
tire permanently from official life in order 
to prevent another reelection. But when 
he shifts the responsibilities of his office 
to younger shoulders he can do so with 
the full knowledge that his duty has been 
perform.ed and that he carries into private 
life the unbounded respect and confidence 
of an entire city. 

Mr. Otis springs from an honored New 
England ancestry, tracing to John Otis, 
who came from Hingham, England, to 
Hingham, Massachusetts, in June, 1635. 
His grandson, Judge John Otis, born in 
-6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hingham in 1657, moved to Barnstable, 
where he died after a life of long and use- 
ful public service, November 30, 1727. He 
was for eighteen years colonel of militia, 
for twenty years representative to the 
General Court, for twenty-one years a 
member of the Governor's Council, and 
for twenty-one years Chief Justice of 
Common Pleas and Probate Court. 

David G. Otis, a grandson of Judge 
John Otis, came from Connecticut to 
Perry, Wyoming county. New York, at 
an early day and was one of the pioneer 
school teachers of that section. He taught 
for many years in Warsaw, Wyoming 
county, moving in 1838 to Henrietta, 
Monroe county, where he also taught and 
resided until his death in 1837. He was 
for many years identified with military 
affairs in the State, and at the time of his 
death held the rank of brigadier-general 
of militia. He served as school commis- 
sioner and was actively interested in edu- 
cational matters as teacher and layman 
throughout all his life, although farming 
was his principal occupation. He mar- 
ried Maria Morris, born in Warsaw, New 
York. 

Lyman M. Otis, son of David G. and 
Maria (Morris) Otis, was born in Henri- 
etta, Monroe county, New York, Novem- 
ber 12, 1831, and at the age of six years 
was deprived of a father's care. He was 
educated in public schools, Monroe Acad- 
emy, and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, 
the last named institution located at Lima, 
New York. During his youth and early 
manhood he taught school during the 
winter months, engaging in farming dur- 
ing the summer seasons. In 1855 he made 
his entrance into the business world as a 
partner of D. W. Chase, embarking in 
the nursery business under the firm name 
Chase & Otis. This was in the early 
period of the now great nursery business 
of Monroe county, and in order to make 



income and disbursements balance the 
firm dealt in produce, live stock and wool. 
In 1867 the firm sold its business in Hen- 
rietta and moved to Rochester, where the 
lumber business of J. H. Robinson & Son 
was purchased. They conducted a very 
successful business until 1888, when Mr. 
Chase died, Mr. Otis continuing the busi- 
ness under the firm name of L. M. Otis & 
Company. For eleven years he managed 
an ever-increasing business most success- 
fully, then in 1899 sold to the W. B. Morse 
Lumber Company and retired from pri- 
vate business life. He was for many years 
a member and treasurer of the Monroe 
County Agricultural Society and one of 
the organizers of the Monroe County 
Building and Loan Association. He was 
connected with that association during the 
fifteen years required to mature its issue 
of shares, every shareholder receiving 
from six to ten per cent, on his invest- 
ment. As a business man Mr. Otis was 
progressive and successful, displaying the 
qualities that ever make for advancement 
and winning high reputation as a finan- 
cier and executive manager. 

During his earlier years Mr. Otis was 
a Democrat, but like so many others 
broke with his party when slavery be- 
came the issue and affiliated with the 
newly formed Republican party, to which 
he has ever since been attached. He was 
elected town clerk of Henrietta in 1857, 
served nine years as justice of the peace, 
and after his removal to Rochester in 1888 
at once began taking active part in public 
affairs. In 1889 he was elected supervisor 
from the Fourth Ward, serving continu- 
ously for six terms, during the last two 
being chairman of the board. He also 
served two terms as alderman from the 
Fourth Ward, from 1894 to 1898 was in- 
spector of Monroe county prison, in 1894 
was chosen chairman of the com.mittee 
having in charge the erection of the new 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



county court house, serving until its com- 
pletion in 1896, and was elected sewer 
commissioner in 1895. From 1900 until 
1904 he was city assessor of taxes, and 
on January i, 1904, entered upon his 
duties as treasurer of the city of Roches- 
ter, an office he held continuously, his 
last term expiring December 31, 1915, 
when he announced that he would re- 
tire from public life. He will be missed, 
this kindly old gentleman whose sense 
of humor never fails, whose tall form 
and keen blue eye have welcomed callers 
at the treasurer's office for the past 
twelve years. The treasurer's office of a 
large city like Rochester is not a sinecure, 
the single item of disbursements alone re- 
quiring Mr. Otis to sign seventy thou- 
sands checks each year. But from the 
age of seventy-two to that of eighty-four 
years he has carried the weight of re- 
sponsibility the office entails with the 
ease of a man thirty years his junior. 

Mr. Otis married, in 1864, Amanda M., 
daughter of Ambrose Cornwell, of Henri- 
etta, New York. Mrs. Otis died in 1909. 
They were the parents of one child, Mary 
S., widow of Fred W. Baker, of Roches- 
ter. 



GREENE, Myron W./ 
Banker. 

Myron W. Greene, who conducts a pri- 
vate banking and investment business in 
Rochester and acts as executor, adminis- 
trator and trustee of estates and trust 
funds, has gained distinction in financial 
circles, and is a representative of one of 
the oldest and most prominent American 
families. He is the author of a family 
genealogy from 1639 to 1891, which was 
published in 1891 by the Narragansett 
Historical Register. His grandfather, 
Nathan Greene, married Maria Greene, a 
descendant of John Greene, of Warwick, 



Rhode Island, to which line belongs Gen- 
eral Nathaniel Greene, hero of the War 
of the Revolution and contemporary with 
General George Washington. 

John Greene, of Quidnessett, Rhode 
Island, was fifteenth in descent from Lord 
Alexander de Greene de Boketon, who 
received his titles and estates A. D. 1202, 
head and founder of the "Greene line;" 
ninth in descent from Sir Henry Greene, 
Lord Chief Justice of England, who died 
in 1370; and on the "Capeteian line" was 
twenty-fifth in descent from Robert the 
Strong, made Duke de France in A. D. 
861 ; twenty-second from King Hugo 
Capet ; and nineteenth from Hugh de 
Vermandois, the great crusader. In the 
Revolutionary War Samuel Greene, of 
Rhode Island, sent eight sons into the 
war, a record no one else ever equalled, 
and Joseph Greene, of New York, volun- 
teer, twelve years old, was the youngest 
soldier of the same war. The Greene 
family, so closely identified with the early 
history of Rhode Island, have enjoyed 
more State and civic honors than any 
other family within her borders, there 
being more Greenes in the State than any 
other name whatever and extending over 
a period of nearly three hundred years of 
American history not one has been found 
to have ever been convicted of crime and 
not one who was a drunkard. The Greene 
coat-of-arms, with the motto. Nee Timeo, 
Nee Sperno, consists of three bucks trip- 
pant on an azure field, as it was borne by 
the founder of the line. The crescent, a 
mark of cadency, denoting the line of a 
second son, is used by all the Warwick 
and Quidnessett Greenes. 

Ira W. Greene, father of Myron W. 
Greene, was a native of Monroe county, 
New York, born at Greene's Corners, now 
Mann's Corners, in the township of Rush, 
on May 2, 1832. He was a man of dis- 
tinguished presence and commanding in- 



278 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fluence in politics, although never aspir- 
ing to or accepting office. For twenty- 
five years he was superintendent of the 
Sunday school and president of the board 
of trustees of the Rush Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, his father, Nathan Greene, 
having settled on a farm in this county 
in 1804. For many years Ira W. Greene 
carried on business as a farm.er and dealer 
in live stock, coal and produce, and was 
in the Eagel Bank of Rochester, New 
York, from 185 1 to 1853, which later 
merged into the Traders' National Bank. 
He was also propagator and grower of 
choice field seeds and figured for many 
years as a respected and worthy resident 
of this county, being at the time of his 
death, which occurred on June 22, 1905, 
one of the oldest native sons of the coun- 
ty. On the distaff side Myron W. Greene 
is also a descendant from an old pioneer 
family of Western New York. His 
mother, who bore the maiden name of 
Hester Ann Ruliffson, was born in Henri- 
etta, Monroe county, daughter of Isaac 
RulifTson. She died in April of 1866. 
The father was twice married and by his 
first wife had three children, two sons and 
one daughter, and by his second wife he 
had two sons and one daughter. 

Myron W. Greene was born in district 
No. 6, in the township of Rush, Monroe 
county. New York, November 26, 1864. 
Provided with good educational privi- 
leges he was graduated from the Genesee 
Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, New York, 
in the class of 1887 and became a mem- 
ber of the Genesee Lyceum Society. He 
became an active member and is now 
president of the board of trustees of this 
society. He is treasurer of the Alumni 
Gymnasium Association of the Genesee 
Wesleyan Seminary and further retains 
his interest in the seminary by maintain- 
ing a scholarship prize and prize for pub- 
lic speaking to members of the Lyceum 



Society. As a student in the Syracuse 
University, which he entered in 1887, he 
pursued a scientific course and was can- 
didate for the degree of Bachelor of 
Science in the class of 1891. In 1888 he 
entered Williams College, Massachusetts, 
in the class of 1890. His broad intellec- 
tual culture well qualified him for an im- 
portant position in the business world, 
and following the completion of his edu- 
cation he entered the Bank of Honeoye 
Falls, Monroe county, New York, where 
he remained until 1892, when he became 
connected with the Rochester Trust & 
Safe Deposit Company, with which he 
remained until 1899, when he established 
a business on his own account for the 
conduct of a private banking and invest- 
ment business. He deals in government 
and municipal bonds, and has gained for 
himself a reputation as a financier of keen 
discernment and sound judgment. 

Mr. Greene is a member of the Invest- 
ment Bankers' Association of America, 
the Zeta Psi (College) Fraternity of 
North America, of which he was grand 
officer in 1909-1910. During his term of 
office he visited practically every college 
of importance in the United States and 
Canada, delivering numerous public ad- 
dresses, and presiding at the International 
Convention held in San Francisco in 
1910." He has been president of the Zeta 
Psi Alumni Association of Rochester, 
New York, since the date of its organiza- 
tion in 1905 ; vice-president of Williams 
College Alumni Association of Rochester, 
New York, 1913-14-15 ; vice-president of 
Greene Family Association, 1913-14-15; 
president of Ruliffson-Wells Family As- 
sociation, 1914-15. He also belongs to 
the Frank R. Lawrence Lodge, No. 797, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and Hamil- 
ton Chapter,. No. 62, Royal Arch Masons. 
He is a worthy representative of an hon- 
ored family, patriotic in his devotion to 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



American interests, and loyal in his sup- 
port of those measures and movements 
which he deems beneficial to the city, 
government or nation. 

On April 27, 1900, Mr. Greene was mar- 
ried to Nancy Laura Lancaster, of Lead- 
ville, Colorado. She was born in Lara- 
mie, Wyoming, February 22, 1877, daugh- 
ter of George W. Lancaster. Unto this 
marriage have been born the following 
named : Lancaster Myron, born Febru- 
ary 21, 1901 ; Norvin Rulififson, born Sep- 
tember 13, 1902 ; Zeta Priscilla, born March 
2, 1904; Nathan Ira, born March 6, 1906; 
and Myron Wesley (2nd), born Novem- 
ber I, 1911. 



BELDEN, Alvin Jackson, 

Man of Large Affairs. 

The true measure of Alvin Jackson 
Belden, of Syracuse, New York, is clearly 
indicated by the designations he succes- 
sively earned as he passed along the road 
of commercial effort — executive, iron- 
master, railroad and canal builder, con- 
structor of public works, financier, capi- 
talist — ever and always a man of big 
affairs. Greatness cannot emanate from 
pettiness, neither can broad comprehen- 
sion meet narrow perspective. The life 
of Alvin Jackson Belden has been occu- 
pied with accomplishments of magnitude, 
in the main the outcome of his own in- 
dividual ability and application, but to 
some extent, perhaps, due to heredity. 

The ancestral records of the Belden 
family cover many distinguished lives, 
Alvin Jackson Belden being in direct 
lineal descent from Sir Francis Baildon, 
who was knighted at the coronation of James 
I., and whose son, Richard Belden, in 
1638 emigrated from England, landing in 
due course on American soil, and settling 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut. Tracing 
still farther back, it appears that Belden 



is a place name, and the family of ancient 
English origin. Bayldon, or Baildon 
Common, is a chapelry in the West 
Riding of Yorkshire; Baildon was in the 
Angle kingdom of Diera, A. D. 550, 
whence came the immortal youths seen 
by Gregory at Rome, and it has been the 
seat of the Baildon-Bayldon-Baylden-Bel- 
ding-Belden family since the time of King 
John. Baildon Hall is still in a good state 
of preservation. The hall was built 
sometime during the fifteenth century, 
and alterations were effected in 1660 by 
Francis Baildon, cousin of Richard Bel- 
den. 

The patronymic has during the cen- 
turies been variously written, Baildon, 
Bayldon, Bayldonn, Baylden, Belding, 
and Belden being some of the variations. 
Richard Belden, the progenitor of the 
family in America, signed his name to the 
oath of allegiance to the crown, March 
26, 1613, Richard Bayldonn — carrying the 
extra "n," though on his arrival in Ameri- 
ca his name was written into records, pre- 
sumably at his direction, as Richard Bayl- 
den. He died at Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, in 1655, and among the effects men- 
tioned in his will was rapier, or gentle- 
man's sword, a weapon for which he 
could have found small use in Wethers- 
field, and was doubtless a relic of his 
early days, indicating his aristocratic line- 
age. 

In the annals of the Belden family of 
the many generations between that of 
Richard Belden, of Wethersfield, and the 
present are contained many records of 
honorable connection with, and partici- 
pation in, national, civic and commercial 
affairs; many Beldens were soldiers, one 
of particular historic interest to the family 
having been Elisha Belden who served 
the State and Nation during three wars, 
including the Revolutionary War of 1775; 
another, Elisha, son of the aforemen- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tioned namesake, was a noted builder of 
sailing vessels for foreign trade in the 
early part of the nineteenth century ; 
other members of the family have been 
of Judiciary, the Legislature, House of 
Congress, et cetera. An uncle of Mr. 
Alvin Jackson Belden was the Hon. 
James Jerome Belden, whose successful 
execution of many mammoth public 
works within the State of New York and 
other parts of the country brought him 
conspicuously before the "public eye" of 
the Nation. He was twice honored by 
election to the mayoral chair of the city 
of Syracuse, and for three terms sat in 
the Legislative House of the Nation. 

Enough has been written in the fore- 
going to indicate the possibility that his 
heredity had some bearing on the capac- 
ity of Alvin Jackson Belden to handle 
affairs of magnitude and moment ; and 
certainly an example was prominently 
before him during the greater part of his 
life — in the achievements of his father, 
Augustus Cadill Belden, a business man 
of considerable note ; but chief credit for 
the present standing of Alvin Jackson 
Belden in financial and industrial circles 
is due to Alvin Jackson Belden, who from 
his very initiation into commercial affairs 
indicated the quality within him. 

Born in Pompey, Onondaga county, 
New York, October lo, 1848, son of Au- 
gustus Cadill and Rozelia (Jackson) Bel- 
den, Alvin Jackson Belden commenced 
his education in the schools of Geddes, 
later proceeding to the Walnut Hill 
Academy at Geneva, New York, from 
which academic institution he graduated 
in 1866. Electing to follow a business life 
rather than a professional career, influ- 
enced in his decision maybe by the char- 
acteristic which later became so strongly 
evident in him, i. e., his broadness of 
view on all questions, he applied himself 
with energy to his initial industrial oc- 
cupation which had connection with the 



iron business of the Onondaga Iron Com- 
pany, manufacturers of pig iron. His ex- 
ecutive ability quickly advanced him to 
posts of much responsibility, and he re- 
mained secretary and treasurer of the 
Onondaga Iron Company for many years, 
in fact until 1881, when he resigned to 
undertake the organization of the Phoenix 
Foundry & Machine Company, of which 
corporation Mr. Belden assumed direc- 
tion in his capacity as secretary-treasurer. 
About ten years later he decided to in- 
terest himself actively in the business of 
railroad and public works contracting, 
and this sphere of activity being abso- 
lutely in harmony with his disposition, 
his success was rapid and considerable. 
In a short space of time he was part 
owner of three huge contracting com- 
panies whose operations had assumed 
immense proportions, successfully and 
simultaneously undertaking contracts for 
important national, state and other pub- 
lic works of great magnitude in various 
parts of the United States. One of the 
companies executed three large contracts 
for sewer building in Boston, and also 
carried out the Erie Canal contract, a 
project the cost of completing which 
totalled to nine million dollars. Mr. Bel- 
den was also one of the principals of the 
Rapid Transit Company, of Syracuse, this 
company doing considerable business 
within the State of New York. Through- 
out his active business life, Mr. Belden 
has demonstrated his capacity for great 
things. One biographer wrote of him : 
"As an organizer and promoter, he occu- 
pied a position of distinction in business 
circles, and in all his ventures met with 
success which results from capable man- 
agement, keen foresight, and sound judg- 
ment." And the best evidence of his 
ability lies in the position he to-day holds 
among the leading "men of affairs" of the 
Empire State. 

Mr. Belden is a member of the First 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Presbyterian Church of Syracuse, and 
liberal in his support thereof; in fact is 
the donor of many more contributions to 
religious and charitable institutions than 
appear on the public records, a large pro- 
portion of his benefactions remaining un- 
announced in accordance with his wish. 
He holds membership in the Citizen's 
Club, the Century Club, the Onondaga 
Club, and the Country Club, all of Syra- 
cuse. He also belongs to the Transporta- 
tion Club of New York, and to the New 
York City Branch of the Autorrtobile 
Club of America. His political allegiance 
is given to the Republican party. 

On September lo, 1862, Mr. Beldenwas 
married to Augusta, daughter of Isaac R. 
and Susan (Case) Pharis, of Syracuse. 

Now, having retired from active par- 
ticipation in matters of business, outside 
those bearing direct relation to his con- 
siderable vested interests, Mr. Belden is 
able to, and does, give much time to the 
enjoyment of a pleasure in which he 
could not indulge during the busy periods 
of his life — he is an enthusiastic sports- 
man and is often seen in the north woods 
of the Ad