(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Connecticut biography, genealogical-memorial; representative citizens;"

„a«ii .u.i«y 4tir- wt.'*w 



NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08254180 



^^^ 


fmsss^s^i^mmm^v^m^^s!^ 

















Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2007 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofco02amer 



Cv\cy' 



THE I^IEV^' YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY I 



ASTOR, LET'OX 
TILDEN FCUI,D..TiONS 




Vf. 



{ liMfouJ^iMduucJ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA 

OF 

CONNECTICUT BIOGRAPHY 

GENEALOGICAL— MEMORIAL 



REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



Compiled with assistance of the following 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



SAMUEL HART, D.D., D.C.L. 

Dean of Berkeley Divinity School; President of 
Connecticut Historical Society. 

THOMAS SNELL WEAVER 

Superintendent of City Scliools, Hartford; 
Journalist, former Editor Willimantic Jour- 
nal, and associated witli New Haven Register, 
Boston Globe, Hartford Post and Hartford 
Courant. Member of Library Committee Con- 
necticut Historical Society. 

JOSEPH ANDERSON, D.D. 

President of Mattatuck Historical Society; 
forty years pastor of First Congregational 
Church, Waterbury; Editor Anderson's His- 
tory of Waterburj'. 

WALTER RALPH STEINER, M.D. 

Member of State Historical Society; Member 
of State Medical Society; Fellow of American 
Medical Association; Secretary Congress of 
American Physicians and Surgeons; Librarian 
Hartford Medical Society. 

HADLAI AUSTIN HULL, LL.B. 

Attorney, New London; Major in Spanish- 
American War. 

STORRS OZIAS SEYMOUR, D.D. 

President of Litchtield Historical Society; 
President of Wolcott and Litchfield Library 
Association; Rector Emeritus of St. Michael's 
(P. E.) Church, Litchfield (23 years active 
rector). 



JOHN GAYLORD DAVENPORT, D.D. ] 

Pastor Emeritus Second Church of Waterbury 
(.30 years active); Member of Connecticut his- 
torical Society; Member of Mattatuck Histori- 
cal Society; ex-Governor and Chaplain of Con- 
necticut Society, Sons of Founders and Pa- 
triots; ex-Deputy Governor National Society, 
same order. 

GEORGE CURTIS WALDO, A.M., LITT.D. 
Editor of Bridgeport Standard 49 years; one 
of Founders of Bridgeport Scientific Society; 
ex-Vice-President of Fairfield County Histori- 
cal Society; Author of History of Bridgeport. 

FREDERICK BOSTWICK 

Librarian New Haven Colony Historical Soci- 
ety; Register S. A. R., Connecticut; Honorary 
Member of National Genealogical Society; 
Member of Connecticut Historical Society, 
Connecticut Library Association, Mis.sissippi 
Valley Historical Association; Associate Edi- 
tor Genealogical History of Connecticut; ex- 
I^resident New Haven-Chautauqua Union. 

GUILFORD SMITH 

President of Windham National Bank; Mem- 
ber of Connecticut Society, Mayflower De- 
scendants. 

LEWIS ELIOT STANTON, A.B. 

(Yale, 1855). iMember of American Bar Asso- 
ciation and State Bar Association; A.?sistant 
United States Attorney 1870-1885; United 
States Attorney District of Connecticut 1885- 
1888 (resigned); Representative Hartford, 1880. 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



BOSTON 



INCORPORATED 

NKW YORK 

1917 



CHICAGO 



;. \r' 




Jnreuiarb 



'ACn one of us is "the heir of all the 
ages, in the foremost files of time." 
We build upon the solid foundations 
laid by the strenuous efforts of the fathers 
who have gone before us. Nothing is 
more fitting, and indeed more important, 
than that we should familiarize ourselves 
with their work and personality ; for it is 
they who have lifted us up to the lofty 
positions from which we are working out 
our separate careers. "Lest we forget," 
it is important that we gather up the 
fleeting memories of the past and give 
them permanent record in well-chosen 
words of biography, and in such repro- 
duction of the long lost faces as modern 
science makes possible. 

Samuel Hart. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 



■-, O^, LENOX 
:.;U FCUt;DATIONS I 




X^eu^is Ilisiovica.1 ru 



(hirUCL U-.M^zt^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PLATT, Orville Hitchcock, 

Distinguished Statesman. 

In a time when political and govern- 
mental corruption has become a byword 
and the term politician a reproach it is 
refreshing, indeed, to turn to the record 
of such a man as Senator Orville Hitch- 
cock Piatt, of Connecticut, a record un- 
sullied by the smallest lapse in the faith- 
ful discharge of his high duties, by any in- 
directness or intrigue, or by the plausible 
setting up of political expediency in the 
place of the public interest, a record 
marked by faithful service and faithful 
devotion to principle. Senator Piatt was 
the scion of a very old and illustrious 
family which, even before its early advent 
in the country, was already prominent in 
the affairs of the Old World. As early as 
1326 a Piatt was accorded a coat-of-arms 
in England and several branches of the 
family received this mark of distinction 
between that time and the reign of Eliza- 
beth. It is in America, however, that the 
name has won the brightest lustre where, 
ever since its founding here by Deacon 
Richard Piatt prior to 1638, the men who 
have borne it have proved themselves of 
sturdy patriotism, holders of the beliefs 
and doers of the deeds that finally made 
this a free and independent Nation. Two 
of the Platts, one a direct ancestor of Sen- 
ator Piatt, were imprisoned by Governor 
Andros of New York on account of their 
sturdy independence, and his grandfather 
fought in the Revolutionary War, and was 
one of those to suffer on the terrible 
prison ships in New York harbor. The 
Platts as a general thing followed farm- 
ing throughout their long residence in 



New England and the father of Senator 
Piatt was engaged in this occupation all 
his life at Washington, Connecticut. He 
was a man of parts and in addition to his 
farming was active in the affairs of his 
community, serving as deputy sheriff of 
the county and judge of probate and at 
times exhibiting the versatility of his 
talents by teaching school. Pie was mar- 
ried to Almyra Plitchcock in 1817 and 
Orville Hitchcock Piatt was the second 
son and child of this union. 

Orville Hitchcock Piatt was born July 
19, 1827, in the town of Washington, Con- 
necticut. He received the training com- 
mon to the sons of farmers in that day. 
namely, his winters spent in school and 
his summers at work on his father's acres. 
It was a hard life, but it bred a stalwart 
race. He first attended the local public 
schools, but later went to the academy 
in his home town, where he came in con- 
tact with a remarkable personality and 
one that was destined to have a strong 
and beneficent influence upon his own de- 
velopment. This personality was that of 
Frederick W. Gunn, the principal of the 
academy, from whom it derived the name 
of "The Gunnery," and by which it has 
since been known far and wide. Fred- 
erick W. Gunn was a man of great mental 
strength and rare individuality. He was 
greatly beloved and honored by his 
pupils, and he did much to train them 
into the simple, straightforward manhood 
that was his ideal, and which he, himself, 
so well exemplified. Mr. Piatt was at the 
impressionable age of thirteen when he 
first attended Mr. Gunn's school, which 
then was situated at Judea, Connecticut, 
and for a number of years thereafter came 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



into the closest association with him both 
in the school and in his family life. Mr. 
Gunn was one of eight children, all of 
whom became prominently connected 
with the Abolitionist movement, so that 
his pupils diminished greatly in number 
and at one time were reduced to nine, all 
the children of Abolitionists, so that he 
was forced to move his school to smaller 
quarters, locating on the site of the 
present "Gunnery." During this time 
Mr. Piatt lived in the home of Mr. Gunn 
in the winter and after the second year of 
the school in its new location acted as an 
assistant instructor. Later Mr. Gunn was 
chosen principal of a large school in 
Towanda and persuaded Mr. Piatt, to 
whom he was deeply attached, to accom- 
pany him as his assistant. These years 
of strong devotion to a character of such 
a splendid type were happy ones for the 
young man and valuable also, his char- 
acter forming under these fortunate cir- 
cumstances, for there are but few things 
that afTect a young man's life more 
strongly than such a period of hero-wor- 
ship if it be centered upon a worthy 
object. How strong were his feelings 
may be seen in the article penned by him 
for a memorial volume brought out in 
honor of Mr. Gunn shortly after his death, 
in which he states that, "He was more to 
me than a teacher; my love for him was 
the love one has for father, brother and 
friend." At length, however, this ideal 
association had to be broken to a large 
extent, Mr. Piatt's choice of a profession 
being the law, which claimed the major 
part of his time and energies. He was 
twenty years of age when he took up 
reading law in the office of Hon. Gideon 
H. Hollister. of Litchfield, Connecticut, 
profiting greatly under the preceptorship 
of this able attorney. He was admitted 
to the bar in Litchfield county, and after- 
wards in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, 
returning to the town of Towanda, where 



he began his active practice in the office 
of Hon. Ulysses Mercur, afterwards of 
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. In 
185 1 he returned to Connecticut and 
established himself in the practice of his 
profession at Meriden, which also was his 
legal residence, notwithstanding that he 
always looked upon Washington as one 
of his homes. 

The age was a stirring one in American 
affairs upon which Mr. Piatt's youth had 
fallen, and less sensitive spirits than his 
were strongly afifected by the problems 
that demanded solution of that genera- 
tion. Mr. Piatt felt keenly the momen- 
tous character of these problems and how 
greatly their solution might affect the 
future of the country, and with the gen- 
erous ardor of youth he threw himself 
into the work of solution. His first direct 
effort in this direction was shortly after 
his coming to Meriden, when he became 
associate editor of "The Whig," a local 
paper given to the candid discussion of 
public issues and which continued for a 
period of some three years an influence in 
the community. These three years were 
of value to Mr. Piatt as a training in the 
art of expression and in bringing him into 
contact with men of all kinds and the 
world of affairs. He did not abandon his 
practice of the law during this time, how- 
ever, although at first this was no ardu- 
ous task, the difficulties that usually at- 
tach to the working up of a legal prac- 
tice by no means sparing him. He was 
gradually gaining a name as a young man 
of originality and parts, however, and in 
1853 found himself a candidate for judge 
of probate and was duly elected, serving 
three years. Work and responsibilities 
began to pile up now, but he proved him- 
self amply capable of taking care of them 
and his reputation grew both in degree 
and extension. In 1855 ^^ received the 
appointment to the clerkship of the Con- 
necticut State Senate and served in that 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



capacity. The great crisis in politics 
which was finally to become sectional and 
express itself in the terrible Civil War 
was now becoming definite and the }tMr 
1858 was marked by the formation of the 
Republican party, destined to play so 
great a part in the fortunes of the coun- 
try. Mr. Piatt was one of the original 
members of the new political birth, and 
from that time until his death continued 
a staunch supporter of its principles and 
policies. His political career now took a 
great step forward, and with his election 
to the office of Secretary of State for 
Connecticut, he became a factor to be 
reckoned with in public affairs. He was 
already recognized at this early day as a 
man who could not be bought or influ- 
enced by any personal consideration in 
the discharge of his public duties, and 
this firm honor, a quality in high demand 
with new parties, quite as much as his 
marked ability, won him his election as 
State Senator in 1861. He served during 
that term and in 1864 was elected to the 
State Assembly. In this body he was 
made chairman of the judiciars- com- 
mittee, a post that carried with it the 
acknowledged leadership of the party in 
the House. It was a time of the gravest 
responsibilities, with the Civil War at its 
height and the most violent feelings ex- 
isting between, not only the parties, but 
even between the factions of the same. 
But it was no common leader that the 
Republican members of the Connecticut 
House had in this young man for whom 
they conceived an increasing respect. One 
interesting contest at this time in which 
Mr. Piatt took a decisive part was that 
connected with the proposition that the 
soldiers in the field be permitted to vote. 
A constitutional amendment was required 
for this, which in its turn required a two- 
thirds vote in the House. After a close 
debate the vote was taken and resulted 
in the two-thirds necessarv for affirma- 



tion, but an obstacle still stood in their 
way. .A. number of representatives were 
absent and the speaker ruled that a two- 
thirds vote of those present was not suf- 
ficient, the constitutional rule applying to 
the whole House in his contention. From 
this Mr. Piatt appealed and eventually 
won his point and that of his party, and 
opened the way to casting the ballot for 
the soldiers engaged in actively defend- 
ing their State and the Union. Mr. Piatt 
next held an important public office in 
1869. when he was again elected to the 
Assembly and then chosen Speaker of the 
House. In this new capacity he displayed 
the qualities that had already placed him 
so high in the regard of his fellows, and 
under his firm and skillful guidance the 
Legislature transacted a ver\' large vol- 
ume of important business in a manner 
greatly to the advantage of the commu- 
nity at large. His party associates were 
fully aware of how strong a candidate 
Mr. Piatt would make for wellnigh any 
oflfice and were keenly alive to the desir- 
ability of his continuance in politics, but 
at the close of this term in the Legisla- 
ture he found it desirable to withdraw 
temporarily. 

During the years that had passed he 
had given a very large percentage of his 
time to the public business and that in 
spite of the fact that his own legal prac- 
tice was growing greatly in proportions. 
His reputation as a lawyer had of course 
some effect upon the course of his politi- 
cal career, but perhaps the converse was 
even more true that his political career 
was a large factor in the increase of the 
practice. However this may be, the latter 
had developed so much that it was neces- 
sary to give it his undivided attention for 
a time and he was obliged to disregard 
the strong pressure brought to bear upon 
him and retired into private life. Of 
course the life of a prominent lawyer is 
in anv case but semi-private and Mr. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Piatt continued to come into contact with 
affairs to a certain extent. A great deal 
of very important litigation was entrusted 
to him at this epoch and the masterly 
manner in which he handled it but added 
fresh laurels to his name. He possessed 
many of the qualities associated with the 
ideal jurist, a clear and concise reason 
that enabled him to pick out the essential 
fact from amidst a mass of detail, great 
erudition in his subject and the capacity 
for long and close study which he be- 
stowed on every case. For eight years he 
continued to give his undivided attention 
to his practice and established himself as 
one of the leaders of the State bar, but in 
1877 he accepted the appointment of 
State's Attorney for New Plaven county 
and thus once more entered the stormy 
arena of politics and public affairs. This 
office was but the entering wedge, as it 
were, for two years later he was launched 
into the very thick of the matter by his 
election to the United States Senate. A 
Republican himself he succeeded Senator 
W. H. Barnum, a Democrat, but from 
that time onward until his death he con- 
tinued to hold this high office, his term 
being renewed at each successive elec- 
tion. There have been few periods in 
which the elements in national life strug- 
gling for control have been more varied and 
complex than during our recent political 
era, few periods in which selfish strife and 
interested motives have played a greater 
part in the conduct of affairs. Among 
these conflicting cross currents of pur- 
pose and action, the figure of Mr. Piatt, 
actuated by no thought of self but the 
most impersonal desire to witness the 
right, rose conspicuously, winning for it- 
self the spontaneous admiration of all 
worthy men whether political friends or 
opponents. Mr. Piatt spoke truly when 
he said during the course of a speech 
made at a reception in his honor shortly 
after his first election as Senator: "That 



which is right is priceless to me ; and in 
all the campaigns and achievements of the 
Republican party in which I have partici- 
pated I have never steered a middle 
course, but have done what I thought 
right." 

As time went on Senator Piatt grew to 
hold a more and more prominent place in 
the deliberations of the august body of 
which he was a member, and his voice to 
gain greater and greater weight with his 
confreres. This is well known by the 
very prominent part that he played in the 
important legislation of the period and 
the various committees upon which he 
served. It would be impossible to treat 
adequately the part played by him in the 
eventful years comprised in the last two 
decades of the century just passed and 
the opening of the present one, for to do 
sow-ould necessitate a resume of the legis- 
lation enacted in that period and the com 
pass of a large volume. But the mere 
enumeration of the more important issues 
in the decision of which he was active 
will show him to have been beyond ques- 
tion one of the most conspicuous figures 
of that epoch. In all such issues none 
ever questioned his integrity of motive 
and his judgment was equally unques- 
tioned. One of the first of these great 
issues was that of international copyright 
(to established the right to brain prop- 
erty). A long and vigorous campaign 
had been waged by a group of right- 
minded men to promote this obviously 
righteous measure, yet so great was the 
opposition from certain corrupt sources 
and so great the indifference on the part 
of most men that their efforts had seemed 
almost unavailing. The question, how- 
ever, was very prominent in Congress 
and the final passage of a bill making 
possible the copyright bill, which gives 
the exclusive right of any author in his 
literary work, was due in a very large 
measure to his unwearied and able efforts. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The patent question, adequate protection 
of our wards, the Indians, currency and 
financial matters, the protection of Amer- 
ican industries by tariff regulations, were 
also among the issues upon which he 
spoke with no uncertain voice and in 
which his influence was felt most po- 
tently. One of the greatest services ren- 
dered by him to the country, however, 
was through his action in the tangled 
problems arising out of our war with 
Spain and involving the matter of our 
right to acquire territory and our attitude 
towards colonies and dependent peoples. 
Especially was his attitude towards Cuba 
notable for its courage and disinterested- 
ness and culminated in the celebrated 
Piatt amendment, which became a law 
on the second of March, 1901, and pro- 
vided the basis of the future relations of 
this country and the youthful republic 
that our efforts had created. His serv- 
ices as chairman of the committee on 
Cuban relations were followed by others 
of a no less notable kind. In the issue 
between labor and capital that was dis- 
turbing the country, and. indeed, still is, 
he played an important part and as chair- 
man of the judiciary committee in the 
Fifty-eighth Congress, the value of his 
work can hardly be overestimated. This 
Congress had a comparatively brief term, 
but the business before it was enormous 
in volume and extremely vital in char- 
acter, and this fact together with the very 
serious apprehension and anxiety felt by 
Senator Piatt concerning the radical tend- 
encies then making themselves felt exer- 
cised a deteriorating effect upon his health 
from which he never entirely recovered. 
The great mental concentration and the 
general demands made upon his energies 
by this session used up his nerve force 
too rapidly and this effect was brought 
to a climax by the impeachment of Judge 
Swayne, of Florida, by the House of 
Representatives. Already with more 



work on their hands that they could con- 
veniently dispose of, the members of the 
Senate were obliged to sit as a high court 
upon the impeachment proceedings. Sen- 
ator Frye, the president pro tempore, was 
ill at the time and unable to preside at 
the trial and this most trying duty de- 
volved upon the shoulders of Mr. Piatt 
as chairman of the judiciary committee. 
The latter might with equal reason have 
pleaded the same excuse, but his ex- 
ceedingly keen sense of duty made him 
go through with the ordeal although 
throughout the time he was battling with 
the sheer force of his will with a growing 
malady. He was able to complete his 
task, however, and furthermore to finish 
his share of the business which wellnigh 
crushed him and his colleagues before the 
inauguration of the new administration 
on March 4. 

While Mr. Piatt feared the growing 
force of certain radical tendencies, he was 
very far from a reactionist in his beliefs 
and was a strong supporter of the more 
progressive element in his party as repre- 
sented by Theodore Roosevelt, and dur- 
ing the administration of Mr. Roosevelt 
as President, strongly supported his poli- 
cies. Charles Henry Butler, reporter of 
the United States Supreme Court, had 
arranged to give Mr. Piatt a dinner on 
March 18, 1905, in honor of his comple- 
tion of twenty-six years of continuous 
service as Senator, but this was frustrated 
by the death of General Hawley, the 
junior Senator from Connecticut. The 
invitations were withdrawn, but those 
who were bidden wrote letters of appre- 
ciation to the quest of honor, of which 
that of President Roosevelt, whose sec- 
ond term had just begun, is typical. 
President Roosevelt's letter ran as fol- 
lows: "My dear Mr. Butler: May I. 
through you, extend my heartiest greet- 
ings to the guest of the evening, Senator 
O. H. Piatt? It is difficult to say what I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



really think of Senator Piatt without 
seeming to use extravagant expression. 
I do not know a man in public life who 
is more loved and honored, or who has 
done more substantial and disinterested 
service to the country. It makes one feel 
really proud as an American, to have such 
a man occupying such a place in the 
councils of the Nation. As for me per- 
sonally, I have now been associated with 
him intimately during four sessions of 
Congress, and I cannot overstate my obli- 
gations to him, not only for what he has 
done by speech and vote, but because It 
gives me heart and strength to see and 
consult with so fearless, high-minded, 
practicable, and far-sighted a public serv- 
ant. Wishing you a most pleasant even- 
ing, believe me, sincerely yours, Theo- 
dore Roosevelt." It was at the funeral of 
General Hawley, which Senator Piatt at- 
tended shortly after, and at which he was 
obliged to stand hatless a long time in 
the blustering March weather, that he 
brought his illness to an active state from 
which he never recovered, and about a 
month later his own death occurred on 
Good Friday, April 21, 1905. 

Senator Piatt was twice married, the 
first time on May 15, 1850, to Annie Bull, 
of Towanda, Pennsylvania, the only 
daughter of James Perry and Ann (Wal- 
lis) Bull, of that place. To them were 
born two children : James Perry, who in 
1902 was appointed a justice of the United 
States District Court, died January 26, 
1913 ; and Daniel Gould, deceased in 
childhood. The first Mrs. Piatt died in 
November, 1893, and on April 29, 1897, 
Mr. Piatt was married to Mrs. Jeannie 
Penniman Hoyt, widow of George A. 
Hoyt, of Stamford, Connecticut, and 
daughter of Hon. Truman Smith, United 
States Senator from Connecticut. Mrs. 
Piatt survives her husband and still re- 
sides at Washington, Connecticut, the 



birthplace and home of Senator Piatt for 
so many years. 

It is out of the question to deal ade- 
quately with a personality at once so 
large and so many-sided as that of Sen- 
ator Piatt. The sterling honor and in- 
tegrity which formed the very basis of it 
has been indicated to some extent in the 
foregoing account, but what has not and 
cannot be given is the effect produced 
upon all who associated with him by the 
character as a whole. Honest and sincere 
he was primarily, but he was also a man 
of the broadest charity and tolerance, 
kindly and responsive and full of ready sym- 
pathy for those who stood in need. One 
of his most strongly marked traits was 
his fondness for nature and out-of-door 
life, and this was a great asset to him 
throughout his whole career. He spent a 
considerable portion of the summer each 
year in the Adirondacks. living in the 
open air, fishing, hunting and blazing 
trails. He was a skillful fisherman and 
would often be gone for a whole day from 
camp following his favorite streams, yet 
it was said of him that it was more the 
delight of the woods through which he 
must wander and the sense of freedom 
and primitive life that lured him than the 
sport itself. There is little doubt that 
these wholesome, quiet summers were the 
cause of his being able to endure for so 
many years the tremendous strain of his 
work in Congress. An intelligent and 
witty conversationalist, a man of great 
culture and of wide reading, he was, as a 
matter of course, a delightful companion 
and his personal friends valued most highly 
the privilege of their intimate association 
with him. In spite of the immense 
amount of time and effort he was obliged 
to spend in 'the public service, he con- 
trived to find time and occasion for inter- 
course with family and friends, occasions 
which he enjoyed more than aught else. 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was an author of ability and learning 
on historical and archaeological subjects 
and the study of these in connection with 
his home State was a favorite recreation. 
Of a deeply religious nature, the influ- 
ence that he exercised in the community 
worked for good and he will long remain 
in the memon,- of his fellow citizens as a 
model of good citizenship and sterling 
manhood. 



PALMER, Nathaniel B., 

Explorer, Designer of Famous Ships. 

Nathaniel Brown Palmer wa.-^ born in 
Stonington, Connecticut, August 8. 1799. 
son of Nathaniel (1768-1812) and Mercy 
(Brown) Palmer, grandson of Nathaniel 
(1740-1818) and Grace (Noyes) Palmer. 
and of Pelegand Mercy (Denison) Brown, 
and a descendant in the seventh genera- 
tion from Walter and Rebecca (Short) 
Palmer, who came from England to 
Stonington, Connecticut, in 1653 ; he was 
of the sixth generation from the Rev. 
Chad Brown. He was also a direct de- 
scendant through Mercy Denison, of 
John Howland of the "Mayflower." and 
through Dorothy Noyes, of Governor 
Peleg Saniord. His father was a lawyer 
and afterward a shipbuilder. 

Nathaniel B. Palmer went to sea in 
1813, a youth of fourteen. At the age of 
nineteen he was second mate of the brig 
"Herselia," Captain J. P. Sheffield, which 
returned from the South Seas to Stoning- 
ton with ten thousand seal skins. He was 
made captain of the sloop "Hero" in 18 19, 
and in company with the "Herselia" made 
a second voyage to the South Seas where 
he discovered "Palmer's Land" in lati- 
tude 67° longitude 70°, and which was 
named for him. He next commanded 
the "James Monroe'' in an expedition 
under Captain W. A. Fanning to the 
South Shetland Islands, and the "Cadet" 



in several voyages to Cartagena on the 
Spanish Main, where he was employed 
by the Colombian government in trans- 
porting a portion of General Bolivar's 
army from Cartagena to the river 
Chagres, and prisoners to Santiago de 
Cuba. In 1826 he took the brig ""Tam- 
pico" to Cartagena. He took the brig 
■'Francis'' to the South Seas in 1827, and 
the "Anawan" on a voyage of discover)- 
in 1829. east of Cape Horn. On his next 
voyage he touched at Juan Fernandes 
Island for water, and was captured by 
Chilian convicts. His identity as a Ma- 
son saved his life, but the convicts forced 
him to carry them out of captivity. In 
December, 1833. he assumed command of 
the packet ship "Huntsville" between 
New York and New Orleans : in 1835 of 
the "Hibemia" to Rio Janeiro; in 1837 of 
the ship "Garrick," of the Collins line, to 
Liverpool; in 1838 of the "Siddons," to 
the same port- and in 1841 the "Paul 
Jones" to China. He modeled the clipper 
ship "Hoqua" for Brown & Bell, of New 
York, and made a voyage in her to Can- 
ton. He next modeled the "Sam Russell," 
"Oriental," "David Brown" and "N. B. 
Palmer" for A. A. Low, and commanded 
the "Oriental" and "Sam Russell" in the 
China tea trade, making the celebrated 
passage from Hong Kong to London in 
ninety-seven days. In 1848 he took the 
steamer "United States" to Germany, and 
in 1849 retired from sea service. He was 
the seventh charter member of the New 
York Yacht Club, held his membership 
over thirty years, and modeled and owned 
seventeen yachts. He was a member of 
the Currituck Gun Club : a director of the 
Fall River line of steamers, and was in- 
strumental in building the "Bristol" and 
the "Providence." He bought the "Great 
Republic" for Low Brothers, and was in 
charge of that vessel for three years in 
London until she was chartered bv the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



French government. He corrected the 
United States Coast Survey of Stoning-- 
ton harbor. 

His brother, Alexander Smith Palmer, 
a famous sailor and commander and sev- 
eral years his junior, was presented a 
silver cup for saving the passengers and 
crew of the English ship "Dorothy," July 
4, 1833, and a gold medal from Queen 
Victoria for rescuing the survivors of the 
"Eugenia" in 1840. Captain Alexander's 
son, Nathaniel Brown Palmer (2d), left 
San Francisco, California, for China on 
a sailing vessel, with his uncle, Captain 
Nathaniel, in 1876, for the benefit of the 
health of the younger man. They left 
Hong Kong on the return voyage on 
board the "City of Peking," May 15, 1877, 
and the nephew died when one day out, 
and Captain Nathaniel Brown Palmer 
died in San Francisco, California. June 
21, following. Both were buried in Ston- 
ington, Connecticut. 



JEWELL, Marshall, 

Diplomatist, Cabinet Official. Governor. 

Marshall Jewell, a strong figure for a 
quarter of a century after the close of the 
Civil War. was born at Winchester, New 
Hampshire, October 20, 1825. His Amer- 
ican ancestry begins with Thomas Jewell, 
who was granted land at Wollaston. Mas- 
sachusetts, only a few years after the 
.Massachusetts settlement. His later an- 
cestors were tanners in New Hampshire. 
His father, Pliny Jewell, expanded the 
hereditary family vocation, and in 1845 
established a belting factory at Hartford, 
Connecticut. 

Marshall Jewell received only a com- 
mon school training. He learned tanning 
under his father, but, having tavight him- 
•>elf telegraphy in the infancy of that 
science, practiced it for three years in 
the south and west. In 1850 he returned 
to Hartford to enter his father's manu- 



factory as a member of the firm of P. 
Jewell & Sons. He quickly became the 
controlling spirit in the business, and 
greatly increased its fortunes by timely 
purchases of leather just before the Civil 
War, and holding it for war prices. Mr. 
Jewell first entered upon a political career 
as a candidate for the State Senate, in 
which he was unsuccessful. For four 
years in succession, beginning with 1868, 
he was the Republican candidate for Gov- 
ernor against James E. English, but won 
out in 1S69. and also, by an exceedingly 
narrow margin, in 1871, when the open- 
ing of the ballot boxes by a Republican 
Legislature formed a precedent exten- 
sively cited in the "deadlock" of 1891. 
During his gubernatorial administration 
the present militia system was adopted ; 
the charter of Yale College was amended 
so as to allow graduates to vote for mem- 
bers of the University Corporation ; and 
the erection of the new State House was 
begun. With the year 1873 Mr. Jewell 
began a prominent career in the service 
of the nation as Minister to Russia, and 
incidentally, it is said, he discovered the 
secret of Russian tanning, which process 
he introduced into this country ; the clue 
to his discovery was obtained by his keen 
tanner's sense of smell. In August, 1874, 
he was called home, having been ap- 
pointed Postmaster-General by President 
Grant. It was a period of many unsavory 
disclosures at the federal capital, includ- 
ing the whisky ring scandals, in which 
Mr. Jewell sided actively with Secretary 
Bristow, and resigned in consequence of 
a disagreement with the President as to 
the prosecution of the wrongdoers. The 
exact form of that disagreement has never 
been fathomed, though Mr. Jewell was 
reported as saying that he went into a 
room for a talk with the President, not 
dreaming of resigning, and when he came 
out he had resigned. As Postmaster- 
General Mr. Jewell's administration was 



10 



H.VCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eminently businesslike and purifying; one 
feature of his administration was his de- 
termined war upon the "Star Route" 
swindles, which he brought to light and 
overthrew. He opposed President Grant's 
renomination for a third term in i8So, but, 
having been a member of that distin- 
guished man's cabinet, declined to attend 
the Republican National Convention, but 
became chairman of the Republican Na- 
tional Committee, and conducted to a 
successful close the campaign resulting 
in the election of James A. Garfield. To 
impairment of constitution caused by the 
intense labors and anxieties of that can- 
vass, his death, thirteen months later, is 
partly ascribed. Though without a liberal 
education, Mr. Jewell was a ready and 
eloquent speaker, and with a natal gift 
for humor and quick epigram — the phrase 
"too unanimous," as applied to an effusive 
person, which went the rounds for some 
years, was attributed originally to him. 
His fine physique and fresh, boyish face, 
crowned by thick, snow-white hair, made 
him in later life a marked figure wherever 
he moved. He died at Hartford. Connec- 
ticut. Februar\^ lo, 1883. 



HUBBARD, Richard D.. 

Lawyer, Liegislator, Governor. 

Richard Dudley Hubbard, thirtieth 
Governor of Connecticut, was born in 
Berlin. Hartford county. Connecticut, 
September 7, 1818, and died in Hartford. 
Connecticut. February 28. 1884. He was 
a son of Lemuel and Elizabeth (Dudley) 
Hubbard, and a descendant of George 
Hubbard, who, after living in Milford and 
Guilford, removed to Hartford about 
1639. and later to Middletown. 

Richard D. Hubbard was reared on a 
farm, received his preparatory education 
in the common schools of the neighbor- 
hood, and then entered Yale College, from 



which institution he was graduated in 
1839. He then entered the law office of 
Hungerford & Cone, at Hartford, where 
he qualified himself as a lawyer, was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1842, and settled in 
practice in East Hartford. He was emi- 
nently successful, was called the first 
lawyer in Connecticut, and was undoubt- 
edly the greatest orator of his day in the 
Commonwealth. His success was at- 
tributed largely to great natural powers, 
added to which was scholarly culture and 
the utmost familiarity with the ancient 
and modern classics. He was a represen- 
tative in the General Assembly in 1842 ; 
was State's Attorney for Hartford coun- 
ty, 1846-68; and represented Hartford in 
the General Assembly, 1855-58. He was 
elected a representative in the Fortieth 
Congress. 1867-69. and declined a re- 
election. He was the unsuccessful Demo- 
cratic candidate for Governor of the State 
in 1872, but was elected in 1876, and again 
defeated in 1878. 

He was a striking example of the self- 
made man, forcing himself to the top by 
means of studious application to books, 
and compelling the admiration of the 
people of his State generally, including 
his political foes. He received the honor- 
ary degree of A. M. from Trinity Col- 
lege in 1S51. and that of LL. D. from 
Yale College in 1877. He was a trustee 
of Trinity College, 1856-58. 

Governor Hubbard married. December 
2. 1845. Mary Juliana, daughter of Dr. 
William H. and Margaret F. (Chenevard^ 
Morgan, who bore him three sons and 
three daughters. On June 9, 1890, six 
years after his death, a statue of Govern 
or Hubbard, of heroic size, by Karl Ger- 
hardt, was unveiled in the presence of the 
highest officials of the State and bar : it 
stands in a conspicuous place near the 
capitol. 



II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HOLLEY, Alexander H., 

Manafactnrer, Governor. 

Alexander Hamilton Holley, manufac- 
turer and twenty-second Governor of 
Connecticut, was born at Lakeville (Sal- 
isbury), Litchfield county, Connecticut, 
August 12, 1804, second son of John Mil- 
ton and Sally (Porter) Holley, grandson 
of Luther and Sarah (Dakin) Holley, and 
of Colonel Joshua and Abigail (Buell) 
Porter, and a descendant in the seventh 
generation of John Holly, a pioneer set- 
tler of Stamford, Connecticut, about 1644. 
Luther Holley engaged in merchandizing 
and iron making, and was succeeded in 
these occupations by his eldest son, John 
Milton Holley (father of Alexander H. 
Holley), associated with John C. Cof^ng. 
Among the products of this enterprising 
firm w^ere United States Armory supplies, 
and anchors for the fleet which was used 
by the Greeks in their war with Turkey. 
Colonel Joshua Porter practiced medicine 
for forty years in Salisbury, served the 
town as representative in the Assembly 
for forty sessions and as judge of probate 
for thirty-seven years, and saw active 
service as a militia colonel during the 
Revolutionary War. 

Alexander Hamilton Holley obtained 
his preparatory education at the Rev. Oi 
ville Dewey's school at Shefifield, Massa- 
chusetts ; at the Rev. Mr. Parker's school 
at Ellsworth. Connecticut ; at the Hudson 
(New York) Academy, and intended to 
enter Yale College, but was prevented by 
ill health. In 1819 he engaged with his 
father, senior member of the firm of Hol- 
ley (S: Cofifing, engaged in the mercantile 
and iron manufacturing business, and 
continued with that firm and other com- 
binations of it until his father's death in 
1836. He thereafter continued in local 
trade, to which he added in 1844 the 
manufacture of pocket cutlery, transfer- 
ring to Lakeville a small plant which had 



been established elsewhere by workmen 
from Sheffield, England, and continued it 
with Nathan W. Merwin as partner, until 
1854, when a joint stock company was 
organized under the name of the Holley 
Manufacturing Company, with Mr. Hol- 
ley as president. In 1900 this was the 
oldest continuously operated concern of 
its kind in the United States. Mr. Holley 
held the offtce of president until his death, 
and. largely through his enterprise, his 
practice of producing the best wares pos- 
sible, and his influence with other manu- 
facturers, American cutlery came to gain 
its present unrivaled reputation. He was 
prominent also in organizing and direct- 
ing banks, and served as president of the 
Iron Bank at Salisbury, the National Iron 
Bank of Falls Village, and of the Salis- 
bury Savings Society. He was greatly 
interested in railroads, and was instru- 
mental in procuring the funds for build- 
ing the Housatonic railroad ; assisted in 
the extension of the Harlem railroad from 
Dover to Chatham, New York ; and in 
1869-71 took an active part in the organ- 
ization and management of the Connec- 
ticut Western railroad. He gave much 
thought and care to the School for Im- 
beciles, privately established at Lake- 
ville in 1858, and his last public address, 
delivered a few months before his death, 
was made at the dedication of a new 
building, and his last appearance on a 
public occasion was at the dedication of 
the Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument at 
New Haven. Connecticut. He was liberal 
in his gifts to the Congregational church 
he attended, and to religious and benevo- 
lent societies of many names. 

From the time he cast his first vote 
until the Republican party was formed, 
he was connected with the Whig party, 
and was a delegate to the convention that 
nominated Henry Clay for President in 
1844. He was a delegate-at-large to the 
convention that nominated Abraham Lin- 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



coin in i860. In May, 1854, he was electea 
Lieutenant-Governor of Connecticut, and 
in 1857 was elected Governor, serving 
during that year and the following. In 
February, 1858, as the State's representa- 
tive, he attended the unveiling of Craw 
ford's statue of Washington, at Rich- 
mond, Virginia, and at a public banquet 
given on that occasion made an eloquent 
speech in which he deprecated any at- 
tempt to break the Union of the States. 
He rose to the rank of lieutenant-colonel 
in the State militia. He was the author 
of numerous addresses and contributions 
to newspapers. He was elected a life 
member of the New England Historic- 
Genealogical Society in 1869. 

Governor Holley married (first) at 
Goshen, Connecticut, October 4, 1831, 
Jane M., daughter of Hon. Erastus and 
Abigail (Starr) Lyman; who bore him 
a son, Alexander Lyman Holley. She died 
in 1832, and he married (second) at Lake- 
ville, September 10, 1835, Marcia, daugh- 
ter of Hon. John C. and Maria (Birch) 
Coffing, who bore him five sons and a 
daughter. She died in 1854, and he mar- 
ried (third) at Hartford, November 11, 
1856, Sarah Coit, daughter of Hon. Thom- 
as Day, who survived him twelve years. 
Governor Holley died at Lakeville, Con- 
necticut, October 2, 1887. 



MINOR, William T., 

Lia-wyer, Jurist, Governor. 

William Thomas Minor was born at 
Stamford, Connecticut, October 3, 1815, 
son of Simeon Hinman and Catharine 
(Lockwood) Minor, the latter a native of 
Greenwich, Connecticut. His first Ameri- 
can ancestor was Thomas Minor, who left 
England in 1646, settling with his fellow 
colonists at Pequot, near Stonington, 
Connecticut. Governor Minor's father 
was one of the principal legal practi- 
tioners of Fairfield county, and when the 



village of Stamford obtained its charter 
(1830) was elected its first warden. 

William T. Minor spent his early years 
in his native village, and was graduated 
from Yale College in 1834. For a time he 
was a school teacher. He studied law. 
was admitted to the bar of Fairfield coun- 
ty in 1841 and soon gained recognition 
as an able and conscientious lawyer and 
a popular debater and orator. His stand- 
ing with his fellow citizens of Stamford 
is indicated by his election and reelec- 
tions (seven in all) to the Connecticut 
Legislature. In 1853 and 1854 he was 
State Senator and in 1855 was nominated 
for Governor on the American or Know- 
nothing ticket. There being no election 
by the people, he was chosen Governor 
by the Legislature, and at the ensuing 
gubernatorial election a similar condition 
was followed by a similar result. When 
the Civil War broke out, ex-Governor 
Minor was especially distinguished for 
his zeal in support of the government 
and for his kindness to Federal soldiers. 
In 1864 he became United States Consul- 
General at Havana, Cuba, by appoint- 
ment of President Lincoln ; but resigned 
his work at the end of three years. It 
was his prompt intervention with the 
Spanish captain-general which secured 
the detention of the Confederate ram, 
"Stonewall Jackson," until he could com- 
municate with the nearest United States 
naval commander. By his further repre- 
sentations and efforts, however, the vessel 
was finally surrendered to the Spanish 
officials before the arrival of the United 
States naval force. In 1854 he received 
his first judicial appointment in his elec- 
tion by the State House of Representa- 
tives to the judgeship of the Fairfield 
county court. In 1868 he was appointed 
a judge of the Connecticut Superior 
Court, and served as such until 1873 with 
marked ability. He was then nominated 
for United States Senator on the Repub- 



J3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lican ticket, and Stamford gave him the 
largest majority she had ever given any 
candidate ; but he was less fortunate else- 
where, and was defeated by William H. 
Barnum. In 1874 he was nominated to 
the State Senate from the Twelfth Dis- 
trict, but was defeated by a fellow citizen, 
Galen A. Carter. Governor Minor was 
one of three commissioners appointed by 
the Legislature in 1879 to meet a similar 
number from New York, to agree and de- 
cide upon the boundary line between the 
two States. Their report was duly ac- 
cepted by both States. 

He was married, at Stamford, in 1849, 
to Mary C. Leeds, daughter of John W. 
Leeds ; she bore him five children. Judge 
Minor died at Stamford, Connecticut, 
October 13, 1889. 



LOOMIS, Ellas, 

Scientist, Author. 

Elias Loomis was born in Wilmington, 
Connecticut, August 7, 181 1. His early 
educational training was by his father, 
who was an eminent physician. He re- 
ceived his diploma from Yale College in 
1830, and three years later became a tutor 
in the college. He became greatly inter- 
ested in astronomical studies, and during 
this period, in association with Professor 
Alexander C. Twining, he began the first 
observations in this countrv to determine 
the altitude of shooting stars ; and he 
was untiring in his observations upon 
the magnetic needle, devoting fourteen 
months to his investigations. 

His first distinction in the field of sci- 
ence was made in 1835, while still a tutor 
at Yale. When computing the elements 
of its orbit from his own observations, he 
was the first to discover Halley's comet 
on its return to perihelion in 1838, and 
from his own data determined its orbit 
afresh. A year later he studied at Paris 
under Arago, Biot, Pouillet, and other 



distinguished scientists. Until 1844 he 
was Professor of Mathematics and Na- 
tural Philosophy in the Ohio Western 
Reserve College, devoting every spare 
moment to the study of his favorite pur- 
suit, and during these years made two 
hundred and sixty observ^ations of the 
moon, of the determination of longitude, 
besides other observations upon partic- 
ular stars for latitude, and made suf- 
ficiently extended observations upon 
five comets to determine their orbits. He 
also traveled extensively, making obser- 
vations to determine the dip of the mag- 
netic needle. From 1844 until i860 he 
occupied the chair of natural philosophy 
in the University of the City of New 
York, which gave him the degree of LL. 
D. in 1854, when he was but forty-three 
years old. He accepted the chair of na- 
tural philosophy and astronomy at Yale, 
and devoted his time to original re- 
searches, which were published in the 
"American Journal of Science," under the 
title "Contributions to Meteorology." In 
1873 ^^ ^^'^s made a member of the Na- 
tional Academy of Sciences. His name 
was also a distinguished one on the rolls 
of the different scientific societies of 
America and Europe. He is widely known 
by his series of textbooks, embracing the 
entire scope of scientific subjects, and 
which became class books in high schools 
and colleges all over the land. He was 
also the author of various popular trea- 
tises on natural philosophy, astronomy 
and meteorology. Many of his treatises 
took the form of contributions to the dif- 
ferent scientific publications of Europe as 
well as of the United States. Not the 
least work performed by him was his 
comparison from 1846 to 1850 of different 
longitudes by means of the telegraph, also 
his successful observations determining 
the velocity of the electric fluid on tele- 
graph wires. 

His works include : "Elements of Al- 



14 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gebra, Designed for Ijeginners" (1851) ; 
"Treatise on Algebra" (1857) ; "Geome- 
try and Conic Sections" (1857); "Trig- 
onometry and Tables'' (1856); "Analyti- 
cal Geometry and the Calculus" (1856) ; 
"Introduction to Practical Astronomy" 
(1855), which was recommended by J. 
H. Nichol as the best work of the kind 
in the English language; "Recent Prog- 
ress in Astronomy" (1850), which the 
"Westminster Review" highly recom- 
mended ; "A Treatise on Arithmetic, 
Practical and Theoretical" (1857) ; "Trea- 
tise on Meteorology" (1868) ; and "Ele- 
ments of Astronomy" (1869). The Rev. 
J. McClintock commended his text book 
on mathematics as a model of neatness, 
precision and practical adaptation to the 
wants of the student. He contributed 
many papers to the transactions of the 
American Philosophical Society, besides 
occasional articles to the scientific jour- 
nals of the day. Apart from the qualities 
to be naturally looked for in one of his 
high scientific attainments, Professor 
Loomis possessed such kindly traits of 
character as to greatly endear him to the 
students who had the good fortune to 
come under his instruction. He died in 
New Haven, Connecticut, August 15, 
1889. 



ENGLISH, James E., 

Governor, Senator, Philanthropist. 

James Edward English was born in 
New Haven, Connecticut, March 13, 1812, 
son of James and Nancy (Griswold) Eng- 
lish. He was descended from Clement 
English, who became a resident of Salem, 
Massachusetts, was married to Mary 
Waters, of Salem, August 27, 1667, and 
had a son, Benjamin English, who, in 
1700, settled in New Haven, thus found- 
ing the Connecticut branch of the family. 
The grandfather of Governor English. 
Captain Benjamin English, was the owner 



of vessels engaged in the West India 
trade, and during the administration of 
Thomas Jefterson held a position in the 
custom house. 

Although the son of well-to-do parents, 
Governor English began at the age of 
eleven to be self-supporting, and, win- 
ning his father's reluctant consent, spent 
two years working on a farm distant 
about thirty miles from his home. He 
then returned to his parents and attended 
school for two years, devoting himself 
especially to the study of architectural 
drawing, in which he became singularly 
proficient. He was then apprenticed to 
a master carpenter, and during his term 
of service made plans for several con- 
spicuous edifices in New Haven. On at- 
taining his majority in 1833, he engaged 
in business as a master builder, and was 
so successful in carrying out contracts 
for houses on a much more elaborate 
scale than had hitherto been erected in 
New Haven, that at the end of two years 
he had accumulated a fair working capi- 
tal. With this capital he retired from his 
trade, and engaged as a lumber dealer. 
This business he pursued, with frequent 
losses, throughout the financial depres 
sion of 1837 ^^^ the succeeding years, 
and augmented his resources by buying 
and building vessels, shipping clocks to 
Philadelphia, and engaging in other com- 
mercial enterprises. These, with his lum- 
ber business, engaged his attention for 
over twenty years after which he became 
interested in the manufacture of clocks. 
In this he met with such success that the 
New Haven Clock Company became the 
largest clock manufactory in the world. 
In the interests of this business he made 
several visits to England. He also be- 
came interested in other manufactures in 
various States, among them the Goodyear 
Metallic Rubber Shoe Company, of which 
he was president. By these industries he 
acquired a large fortune, none of which 



l^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was due to speculations, for to these he 
was always averse. 

The public life of Mr. English was be- 
gun in 1836, when he first took part in 
the municipal government of New Haven. 
After that he served in the State Legisla- 
ture, first in the General Assembly, and 
afterwards for several years as a member 
of the Senate. He was elected a member 
of Congress in the first year of the Civil 
War, and served until its close, when he 
refused renomination, though President 
Lincoln expressed his personal desire that 
the Republicans endorse his nomination 
and make it unanimous in his congres- 
sional district. In Congress he was con- 
spicuous as a bold and consistent war 
Democrat, voting early in his term for 
the bill relating to the District of Colum- 
bia which united the emancipation of the 
slaves with compensation to the masters, 
and later advocating general emancipa- 
tion. In 1867 he was elected Governor 
of Connecticut, by his personal popularity 
carrying the election at a time when 
nearly every State in the Union was 
under the domination of the Republicans, 
and he was reelected in 1868, and again 
in 1870. In 1868 he was nominated as 
one of the Democratic presidential elec- 
tors for the State-at-large, and was a con- 
spicuous candidate before the Democratic 
National Convention for the presidency 
of the United States. As Governor, he 
attained the title of "Father of the Free 
School System," through his strenuous 
efforts to establish a system of education 
which would open the schools to every 
child in the State, without distinction, 
and free of all charge or expense. Four 
years after the expiration of his govern- 
orship he was elected to the United States 
Senate, in which he sat in 1875-77. 

Governor English was deeply interested 
in the advancement of education, and in 
several projects for the improvement of 
his native State. He donated the sum 



of $20,000 to lay out the English Drive 
in East Rock Park, New Haven, and was 
liberal in his gifts to Yale University, 
with which he was connected as council- 
lor of the Sheffield Scientific School. In 
1873 ^^ donated a large sum to establisn 
a library for Yale Law School, which was 
of inestimable benefit at that time, the 
library being in a very incomplete state. 

He was married, January 25, 1835, to 
Caroline Augusta Fowler, daughter of 
Timothy Fowler and a descendant of one 
of the earliest New Haven settlers. Four 
children were born to them, one of whom, 
Henry, lived to maturity. Governor Eng- 
lish died in New Haven, Connecticut, 
March 2, 1890. 



ALCOTT, Amos B., 

Ednoator, Reformer. 

Amos Bronson Alcott was born at 
VVolcott, Connecticut, November 29, 1799. 
He began his education in the "Cross- 
roads school house" near his humble 
home. Hungry for knowledge, he visited 
on Saturday afternoons the farmhouses 
for miles around to read the few books 
he might find there. In 1813 he went to 
Cheshire as errand boy for his uncle, and 
had opportunity to attend the district 
school which, as its teacher, he after- 
wards made famous. From 1818 to 1823 
he was employed as a canvasser in the 
Southern States. 

In 1823 he opened an infant school, and 
gained quite a reputation by his innova- 
tions in discarding textbooks and teach- 
ing by conversation. The school attracted 
so much attention that in 1828 he opened 
another in Boston, where he met with the 
opposition of the press, and his methods 
were held up to ridicule. This dis- 
couraged him and he gave up his school. 
But, as has been well said, "he achieved 
what was probably his greatest success 
in life by marrying, in 1830, Miss Abby 



16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May." All reports concur in extolling 
her patience, endurance and placid good 
nature under much privation and serious 
perplexity. She reflected Mr. Alcott's 
own beautiful spirit, and their home, 
however humble, was a very happy and 
attractive one. For about three years 
after his marriage Mr. Alcott endeavored 
to establish a school in Germantown, 
Pennsylvania, and it was in this place that 
his talented daughter, Louisa May, was 
born. Not meeting with the success he 
desired, Mr. Alcott returned to Boston 
with his family and undertook a school 
in the old Masonic Temple, in Tremont 
street, with Margaret Fuller and Eliza- 
beth P. Peabody as his assistants. The 
school had a wide reputation, and for 
several years good success, but finally 
lost caste and failed. His views, as set 
forth in "Conversations with Children on 
the Gospels," then just published, induced 
some of his patrons to remove their chil- 
dren from his school, and others were 
seriously annoyed when he received a 
colored girl as a pupil. A second time 
the school was closed, and Mr. Alcott 
removed to Concord, Massachusetts, at 
the instigation of Ralph Waldo Emerson. 
Mr. Alcott pursued his studies in reform, 
in social economics, and in theology, 
making a very humble living by lectures 
and conversations. Mr. Emerson said of 
him: "I think he has more faith in the 
ideal than any man I have known ;" and 
his daughter, in her grand way, referring 
to his reputation, and knowing the close 
poverty his home had witnessed, gave the 
definition of a philosopher as, "a man in 
a balloon, with his family and friends 
holding the ropes which confine him to 
earth, and trying to haul him down." 

Mr. Alcott visited England in 1842 at 
the invitation of James P. Greaves, of 
London, an educational theorist and 
friend of Pestalozzi. Mr. Greaves died 
before his arrival, but he was cordially 

Conn— 2— 2 1 7 



received by his friends, and on his return 
was accompanied by two of these, Charles 
Lane and H. G. Wright. These gentle- 
men, impressed with Mr. Alcott's enthusi- 
asm, went with him to Harvard, Massa- 
chusetts, where Mr. Lane purchased a 
farm, which was called "Fruitlands." 
Here it was proposed to gather a com- 
munity that should live in the region of 
high thought on a vegetable diet. The 
farm was sold ; his English friends re- 
turned home ; and Mr. Alcott returned to 
Concord. Here he remained, eking out 
an often-time scanty living by lectures 
and conversations in public halls or 
private homes throughout the country. 
The topics he presented were largely of 
a transcendental character, although in- 
cluding a wide range of purely practical 
questions. It was with difificulty that Mr. 
Alcott could write. Emerson said of him : 
"When he sits down to write, all of his 
genius leaves him — he gives you the 
shells and throws away the kernel of his 
thought." In fact, his first book, 
"Tablets," was published as late as 1868, 
when he was sixty-nine years old, al- 
though from 1839 to 1842 he had con- 
tributed frequently to the "Dial" in a 
series of papers called "Orj)hic Sayings." 
He was a man of courage and indomit- 
able resolution. When Garrison was 
dragged through the streets of Boston, 
Alcott was close beside him, and, when 
one remonstrated, said, "I do not see why 
my body is not as fit for a bullet as any 
other." His publications include: "Con- 
cord Days" (1872) ; "Table Talk" (1877) ; 
"Sonnets and Canzonets" (1877) ; and 
many magazine articles. He died March 
4, 1888. 



WAITE, Morrison R., 

Liegislator, Jurist. 

Morrison Remick Waite was born in 
Lyme, Connecticut, November 29, 1816, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son of Chief Justice Henry Matson and 
Maria (Selden) Waite, and grandson of 
Colonel Richard Selden. He was gradu- 
ated from Yale College, A. B. 1837, A. M. 
1840; studied law in his father's office 
and with Samuel M. Young, of Maumee 
City, Ohio, with whom he entered into 
partnership after his admission to the bar 
in 1839. 

In 1850 he removed to Toledo, Ohio, 
where he was joined in 1852 by his part- 
ner, the firm of Young & Waite continu- 
ing until he established a partnership with 
his youngest brother Richard. He was 
elected a Whig representative to the Ohio 
Legislature in 1849, ^^^ was defeated as 
a Republican candidate for the Thirty- 
eighth Congress in 1862. He subsequently 
declined an appointment on the supreme 
bench of Ohio, and with Caleb Cushing 
and William M. Evarts, acted as counsel 
for the United States in the arbitration at 
Geneva, Switzerland, 1872-73, submitting 
an argument on the question of the 
liability of Great Britain for permitting 
the Anglo-Confederate steamers to take 
supplies of coal in her ports, the argu- 
ment being subsequently published. He 
was admitted to practice in the United 
States Supreme Court in January, 1873. 
In May of the same year he was a delegate 
from Lucas county, Ohio, by nomination 
of both parties, to the State Constitutional 
Convention, and was chosen president 
of that body. In January, 1874, he was 
nominated by President Grant and 
unanimously confirmed by the Senate, 
Chief Justice of the United States 
Supreme Court, succeeding Chief Justice 
Salmon P. Chase, serving with great 
ability until his death. In 1876 he refused 
the urgent demands of his friends to 
become the Republican candidate for the 
presidency. He received the honorary 
degree of LL. D. from Yale University in 
1872 ; from Kenyon College in 1874 ; from 
the Ohio State University in 1879; and 



from Columbia University in 1887. He 
was a trustee of the Peabody Education 
Fund, 1874-88, serving on the standing 
committee of southern education and on 
the special committee of three appointed 
to request aid from Congress. He was a 
fellow of Yale University, 1882-88. 

He was married, September 21, 1840, to 
Amelia C. Warner, of Lyme, Connecticut. 
He died in Washington, D. C, March 23, 
1888. 



STOWE, Harriet Elizabeth (Beecher), 

Antlioress. 

Harriet Elizabeth (Beecher) Stowewas 
born in Litchfield, Connecticut, June 14, 
181 1, daughter of the famous Dr. Lyman 
Beecher and his first wife, Roxanna 
(Foote) Beecher, and sister of the cele- 
brated Rev. Henry Ward Beecher. 

Her mother dying when she was four 
years old, she was taken by relatives to 
Guilford, Connecticut, and there received 
her early education. At the age of ten she 
entered Litchfield Academy where she 
began the writing of compositions, one of 
which, at a school exhibition attended 
by a highly intelligent audience, was read 
by the principal of the academy. The 
topic was, "Can the Immortality of the 
Soul be Proved by the Light of Nature?" 
"Who wrote that?'' asked Rev. Dr. Beech- 
er, sitting by. "Your daughter, sir," 
was the answer, and the juvenile author 
many years afterward declared that that 
was the proudest moment of her life This 
production, which is preserved in Mrs. 
Stowe's "Life and Works," has always 
been considered an extraordinary article 
viewed as the work of so young a person. 
In that same year the girl entered the 
school of her sister, Catherine, at Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and to which she re- 
turned in 1828 after a brief absence in 
which she prepared herself for giving 
instructions in drawing and painting 



18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Three years more were passed in Bos- 
ton, Guilford and Hartford. In 1832, 
the two sisters with their father and his 
family went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where 
Dr. Beecher had entered upon the presi- 
dency of Lane Theological Seminary. 
Later she entered into competition for a 
fifty-dollar prize for the best short maga- 
zine story, the ofifer of a publisher, and 
which was awarded to her for "Uncle 
Lot," republished in her subsequent col- 
lection under the title of "The May- 
flower." In 1833 she made a trip across 
the river from Cincinnati into Kentucky 
where she visited an estate where she 
had opportunity to witness the workings 
of the slavery system, and met one whom 
she figured as Colonel Shelby in her 
"Uncle Tom's Cabin." In January. 1836, 
she married Professor Calvin E. Stowe. 
Professor of Sacred Literature in Lane 
Theological Seminary. He soon made a 
voyage to Europe, she remaining in Cin- 
cinnati, writing short stories, articles and 
essays for the "Western Monthly Maga- 
zine" and the "New York Evangelist," 
and also assisted her brother, Rev. Henry 
Ward Beecher, in his temporary position 
as editor of the "Cincinnati Daily Jour- 
nal." 

During the troublous days of the 
slavery agitation, Lane Theological Semi- 
nary was a hot-bed of abolition. The 
office of "The Philanthropist," an anti- 
slavery paper, having been wrecked by a 
mob, she used her pen industriously in 
deprecating such lawlessness. However, 
her letters indicate that at this time, while 
anti-slavery in her sympathies, she was 
not a declared Abolitionist. In 1839 she 
engaged as a servant a colored girl from 
Kentucky, one who had been a slave, but. 
having been brought into Ohio and left 
there by her mistress, became under Ohio 
law a free woman. The girl's master, 
however, undertook to take her back into 
slavery, whereupon Professor Stowe and 



Henry Ward Beecher, both armed, took 
the girl in a wagon by unfrequented 
roads, far into the country, and left her 
with an old anti-slavery Quaker, John 
Van Zandt. Upon this incident Airs. 
Stowe constructed the episode of the 
escape of the girl from Tom Soker and 
Marks, in "Uncle Tom's Cabin." 

In September, 1849, Professor Stowe 
accepted the Collins Professorship of Na- 
tural and Revealed Religion at Bowdoin 
(Maine) College, and about this time one 
of the best known of the minor books of 
Mrs. Stowe was written — "Earthly Care, 
a Heavenly Discipline." In February, 

1851, at the communion service in the col- 
lege church at Brunswick, a scene came 
to Mrs. Stowe's mind which suggested 
her description of the death of Uncle 
Tom. On reaching her home she at once 
wrote it out and read it to the family. 
The first chapter of her great story was 
sent to the "National Era," in April, of 
the same year, and was announced to run 
in the paper for three months, but it was 
begun in the paper in June, and was not 
completed until April i, 1852. From its 
early chapters it was hailed by competent 
critics as the most powerful production 
ever contributed to the magazine litera- 
ture of the country, placing the writer in 
the foremost ranks of American authors. 
The price she received for it as a serial 
was three hundred dollars. John P. 
Jewett, a Boston publisher, contracted to 
publish it in book form, Mrs. Stowe was 
to receive a ten per cent, royalty on sales. 
The agreement was signed March 13, 

1852, and March 20 the first edition of 
five thousand copies was issued, three 
thousand being sold that day. A second 
edition was issued the following week, a 
third on April ist, and within a year more 
than three hundred thousand had been 
sold in the United States. The first Lon- 
don edition of seven thousand copies was 
printed in April, 1852, and from that time 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to December, 1852, twelve different edi- 
tions were published, and within the year 
no less than eighteen different London 
publishing houses were engaged in sup- 
plying the demand. The aggregate num- 
ber of copies circulated in Great Britain 
and the colonies up to the year 1889 was 
estimated by Sampson Low, the English 
publisher, at over 1,500,000. In August, 
1852, "Uncle Tom's Cabin" was drama- 
tized in the United States without the 
knowledge of Mrs. Stowe, and in Septem- 
ber, of the same year, it was the attrac- 
tion at the Royal Victoria and the Great 
National Standard theatres in London. 
Nineteen translations of the work have 
made their appearance, which arranged in 
the alphabetical order of their languages, 
are as follows : Armenian, Bohemian, 
Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Flemish, French, 
German, Hungarian, Illyrian, Italian, 
Polish, Portugese, Roman or modern 
Greek, Russian, Servian, Spanish, Walla- 
chian and Welsh. "Dred, A Tale of the 
Great Dismal Swamp," was issued in 1856, 
and "The Minister's Wooing," in 1859. 
The full list of Mrs. Stowe's publications 
numbers thirty-two volumes. 

In 1853 Mrs. Stowe visited Scotland, 
England, France, Switzerland and Ger- 
many, returning home in the autumn, 
when she published her "Key to Uncle 
Tom's Cabin," containing the original 
facts, anecdotes and documents upon 
which that story was founded, with 
stories parallel to those told of Uncle 
Tom. During her absence in Europe her 
husband had become Professor of Sacred 
Literature in the Theological Seminary 
(Congregational) at Andover, Massachu- 
setts, where the family made their home 
until 1863, when a final removal was 
made to Hartford, Connecticut. In 1867 
Mrs. Stowe purchased "Mandarin," a 
winter home in Florida, and divided her 
time between the residence in Hartford 



and "Mandarin." Professor Stowe died in 
Hartford in 1886, and Mrs. Stowe died in 
the same city, July i, 1896. 



HAWLEY, Joseph R., 

Soldier, Statesman. 

Joseph Roswell Hawley was born in 
Stewartsville, North Carolina, October 
31, 1826; son of the Rev. Francis and 
Mary (McLeod) Hawley. His father, a 
Baptist minister, returned to Connecticut, 
his native State, in 1837, and in 1842 
removed to Cazenovia, New York. 

Joseph R. Hawley prepared for college 
at the Hartford High School and at the 
seminary in Cazenovia, and was gradu- 
ated at Hamilton College, A. B. 1847, 
A. M. 1850. He taught school, studied 
law, and was admitted to practice in 1850 
in Hartford, Connecticut. He entered 
political life as a Free Soil Democrat, 
opposed the Know-Nothing party, and 
called the first meeting assembled in Con- 
necticut for the organization of the Re- 
publican party, in his ofifice, February 4, 
1856. and canvassed the Northern States 
for three months in behalf of John C. 
Fremont, the first presidential candidate. 
He edited the "Charter Oak." an abolition 
journal, 1852-56, and in 1857 abandoned 
the law for journalism and assumed 
the editorship of the "Hartford Evening 
Press," in which was merged the "Charter 
Oak." in partnership with William Faxon. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War he 
aided in recruiting the first company in 
the First Connecticut Volunteer Regi- 
ment, was commissioned first lieutenant, 
and was its captain in the first battle of 
Bull Run, July 21, 1861. He returned 
home with the regiment and helped to 
recruit the Seventh Connecticut Volun- 
teers for three years' service, and was 
its lieutenant-colonel. The regiment was 
with the Port Royal (South Carolina) ex- 



20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



peditiun. and the first to land on South 
Carolina soil ; it engaged in the four 
months' siege of Fort Pulaski, and gar- 
risoned the fort on its surrender. Colonel 
Hawley succeeded Colonel Alfred H. 
Terry in command of the regiment, and 
led it in the battles of James Island and 
Pocotaligo, and in the Florida expedition. 
He commanded the port of Fernandina, 
in January, 1863, and made an unsuc- 
cessful attempt to capture Charleston in 
April of that year. He commanded a 
brigade in the siege of Charleston and 
the capture of Fort Wagner, and in Feb- 
ruary, 1864. his brigade, in the division 
of General Truman Seymour, took part in 
the disastrous battle of Olustee, Florida. 
He commanded a brigade in the division 
of General A. H. Terry, Tenth Corps, 
Army of the James, 1864, and was present 
at the battles of Drewry's Bluff, Deep 
Run, and around Bermuda Hundred. He 
commanded a division in the battle of 
Newmarket Road, and took part in the 
siege of Petersburg. He was promoted 
to brigadier-general of volunteers in Sep- 
tember, 1864, and in January, 1865, when 
General Terry was sent to lead the oper- 
ations against Fort Fisher, North Caro- 
lina, General Hawley succeeded to the 
command of the division, and on General 
Terry's return he became his chief-of- 
staff. He commanded the district of 
Southeastern North Carolina as military 
governor, with headquarters at Wilming- 
ton, February 22, to June, 1865 ^ '^^'^ ^^^ 
chief-of-staff to General Terry, in com- 
mand of the Department of Virginia, with 
headquarters at Richmond, till October, 
1865, when he returned to Connecticut. 
He was brevetted major-general of volun- 
teers and mustered out of the service, 
January 15, 1866. 

General Hawley was elected Governor 
of Connecticut in 1866, and was defeated 



for reelection in 1867. He consolidated 
"The Press'' with "The Courant" and 
edited the jjaper in the interests of the 
Republican party. He was president of 
the Republican National Convention of 
1868; secretary of the committee on reso- 
lutions in 1872; and chairman of the com- 
mittee on resolutions in 1876. He was a 
representative in the Forty-second Con- 
gress to fill the vacancy caused by the 
death of Julius L. Strong, and was re- 
elected to the Forty-third Congress, serv- 
ing 1872-75. He was defeated as a can- 
didate for representative in the Forty- 
fourth and Forty-fifth Congresses, but 
was elected to the Forty-Sixth Congress, 
serving in 1879-81. He was president of 
the United States Centennial Commis- 
sion, 1873-77, and gave two years' service 
in promoting the exposition at Philadel- 
phia, 1875-76. He was elected a United 
State Senator in 1881 by a unanimous 
vote of his party, and was reelected in 
1887. 1893 and 1899. In the Senate he 
was chairman of the committee on 
military affairs, and a member of the 
committees on the coast defences, inter- 
oceanic canals, coast and insular survey, 
railroads, and the select committee on 
industrial expositions. In the Republican 
National Convention of 1884 he was a 
candidate for the nomination for Presi- 
dent of the United States, and received 
the unanimous vote of the delegates from 
Connecticut on every ballot. He was 
elected a member of the American His- 
torical Society and of other learned so- 
cieties. He became a trustee of Flamil- 
ton College in 1876. and received the 
honorary degree of LL. D. from Hamil- 
ton in 1876, from Yale in 1886, and from 
Trinity in 1894. He was the author 01 
"The Battle of Olustee," in "Battles and 
Leaders of the Civil War" (1884-88) . He 
died in Washington, D. C, March 17, 
T905. 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



TUTTLE, Bronson B., 

Man of Character and Enterprise. 

The name of Tuttle is one of the most 
ancient purely Enghsh names to be found 
on the records of the kingdom of Great 
Britain, and for its derivation goes back 
to that period when history is merely 
legendary in England. The Tothills of 
England were mounds, natural and other- 
wise, dedicated to the worship of the 
Thoth, or Tot. Later they became the 
wathc or loot-out hills, and in the adop- 
tion of surnames, Tothill, the first form 
of the present orthography Tuttle, was 
first assumed by residents in the vicinity 
of the Tothills. The first authentic rec- 
ord of the Tothills is found in the pedi- 
gree of the Tothills of Devon, headed by 
the name of William, Totyl, and taken 
from Meyrick's "Heraldic Visitations of 
Wales." From this visitation, from Eng- 
lish country histories, and from genea- 
logical and historical works, have been 
gleaned facts, which, though of a frag- 
mentary nature, are sufficient to establish 
beyond a doubt the fact that the family is 
one of the most ancient in England, of the 
landed gentry, entitled to bear arms, and 
allied through marriage with the nobility 
of the kingdom. Tuttles have been found 
in great numbers high in the councils of 
the church and State, prominent in the 
professions, and leaders of the industries. 

The arms of the Tuttle family are as 
follows : Azure, on a bend doubly cotised, 
a lion passant sable. Crest : On a mount 
vert, a bird, proper, in the beak a branch 
of olive. Motto: Pax. 

The first mention of the name on early 
Colonial records in America occurs in 
1635, when Richard, John and William 
Tuttle. with their families, came to New 
England, arriving on the ship "Planter," 
Nicholas Travice, master, having sailed 
from England, April 2, 1635. They were 



all natives of the parish of St. Albans, in 
Hertfordshire. 

(I) William Tuttle, progenitor of the 
branch of the Tuttle family herein treated 
and direct ancestor of the late Bronson 
Beecher Tuttle, is recorded in the passen- 
ger list of the ship "Planter" as twenty- 
six years of age. Elizabeth Tuttle, his wife, 
was twenty-three years of age at the time 
of their coming to America, and their chil- 
dren, John and Thomas, were aged, three 
and one-half years, and three months, 
respectively. He settled at Charlestown, 
and became a proprietor there in 1636, 
during which year also he was granted 
the right to build a windmill. His wife 
joined the church at Boston, August 14, 
1636. On September 8, 1639, she was 
dismissed to the church in Ipswich, and 
it is thought from this fact and from his 
business connections with Zebulon Tut- 
tle, of that place, that they resided there 
for a time. He was part owner of a ketch 
"Zebulon" of Ipswich, and was associated 
in business with John Tuttle there, with 
whom he was part owner of a parcel of 
land deeded to them by George Griggs 
for debt. He also held a mortgage on the 
house and land on Beacon street in Bos- 
ton, given him by George Griggs on Octo- 
ber 8, 1650, after his removal to New- 
Haven. He removed to New Haven, in 
1639, and there was given a house lot on 
the square bounded by Grove, State, Elm 
and Church streets. In 1656 William Tut- 
tle purchased from Joshua Atwater his 
original allotment, with mansion house, 
barn and other lands, and on this property 
made his home until his death, willing it 
to his widow who resided in it for twenty- 
eight years thereafter. This property was 
appraised at one hundred and twenty 
pounds. W'illiam Tuttle became a man 
of prominence in the community at New- 
Haven. In 1640 and several times there- 
after he shared in the division of public 



22 




^/^^l^^^:^^^-^^^:>^>9-t^-^^cZ<^^^-^^^^ 



TRp. j:e\v YorK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

A STOP, LENO:'. 
TILDUN FC'JKDAT 



E^XYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lands, and with Mr. Gregson was one of 
the first owners of land in East Haven, 
Connecticut. His land there was bounded 
by a line running from the old ferry 
(where the new bridge over the Quinnipi- 
ack now stands) eastward to a spring 
where issues the small stream called Tut- 
tle's brook, thence south to Gregson's 
land at Solitary Cove, thence west to a 
point on the New Haven harbor near 
chemical works and Fort Hale, thence 
north along the harbor to the point of be- 
ginning. It included Tuttles hill. In 
1659 he became the owner of land at 
North Haven. The greater portion of his 
extensive property holdings he sold or 
conveyed to his children before his death. 
He was one of the most prominent and 
influential citizens in the colony at New 
Haven, and held public ofBce for several 
years. He was interested in the attempted 
settlement of a colony from New Haven 
on the banks of the Delaware ; this failed, 
however, through the hostility of the 
Dutch in New Netherlands. In New 
Haven he was commissioner to decide on 
an equivalant to those who received in- 
ferior meadow lands in the first allotment. 
He was fence viewer in 1644; road com- 
missioner, 1646; commissioner to settle 
the differences as to the boundary be- 
tween New Haven in 1669, and to fix the 
bounds of New Haven, Milford, Branford 
and Wallingford in 1672. He was often a 
juror and arbitrator ; and was constable in 
1666. He died early in June, 1673, and 
the inventory of his estate is dated June 
6, of the same year. His wife Elizabeth 
died December 30, 1684. aged seventy- 
two years. For several years previous to 
her death she had been residing with her 
son Nathaniel, who presented her will. 
The inventory of her estate is dated Feb- 
ruary 3, 1685. Her gravestone was re- 
moved with others in 1821. from the Old 
Green to the Grove Street Cemetery, and 



now stands in a row placed along the 
north wall of the cemetery. 

(II) Jonathan Tuttle, son of William 
and Elizabeth Tuttle, was baptized in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, July 8, 1637, 
and was the first child of the founder who 
was born in America. About the year 
1670 he began a settlement on the out- 
skirts of New Haven, on what is now the 
southern part of the town of North Haven. 
He also built a bridge over the Quinnipi- 
ack river, which was long known as Tut- 
tle's bridge. He was granted permission 
by the General Court to collect toll here, 
and also to take compensation for the re- 
freshment of travellers. He died intes- 
tate, and his estate was administered by 
Simon Tuttle. He married Rebecca Bell, 
daughter of Lieutenant Francis Bell, one 
of the pioneer settlers of Stamford. She 
was born in August. 1643, ^^^^ died May 
2, 1676. 

(III) William Tuttle, son of Jonathan 
and Rebecca (Bell) Tuttle, was born May 
25, 1673, and died in 1727. He married 
Mary Abernatha, born March 2"], 1679-80, 
daughter of William Abernatha, of Wall- 
ingford. He received a deed of forty 
acres of land from his father about 1696. 
His will was proved on November 6, 1727, 
and the inventory of his estate amounted 
to nine hundred and thirty-eight pounds, 
a large estate for the time. 

(IV) Ezekiel Tuttle, son of William 
and Mary (Abernatha) Tuttle, was born 
about 1705. He was a large landholder, 
and a farmer in North Haven. He mar- 
ried (first) April 21, 1729, Susannah Mer- 
riman, born July 20. 1709, a descendant of 
Captain Nathaniel Merriman, and daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Peck) Merri- 
man. Ezekiel Tuttle married (second) 
January 16, 1760, Sarah Rexford, of New 
Haven. 

(V) Reuben Tuttle, son of Ezekiel and 
Susannah (Merriman) Tuttle, was born 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 3, 1739, at North Haven, Connec- 
ticut. He removed later in life to New 
Haven, and resided there. He married, 
January 20, 1766, Hannah Tyler, of Bran- 
ford, Connecticut, who died September i, 
1783. In March, 1803, administration of 
the estate of Reuben Tuttle was granted 
to his son Obed. 

(VI) Obed Tuttle, son of Reuben and 
Hannah (Tyler) Tuttle, was born at 
North Haven, Connecticut, June 26, 1776, 
and upon reaching his majority removed 
to Prospect, where he engaged in farming 
and blacksmithing, manufacturing scythes 
and axes. He died at Prospect, January 
12, 1856. Obed Tuttle married Lucretia 
Clark, of West Plaven. She died August 
19, 1862. 

(VII) Eben Clark Tuttle, son of Obed 
and Lucretia (Clark) Tuttle, was born at 
Prospect, Connecticut. April 27, 1806. He 
remained at home until he reached the 
age of twenty years when he went to 
Straitville, Connecticut, and secured em- 
ployment at manufacturing forks. Three 
years later he returned to Prospect, and 
shortly afterwards invented the modern 
"goose-neck" hoe, which wholly supplant- 
ed the old form then in use, and brought 
him constant demands for the manufac- 
tured article. He set up a shop and be- 
gan the making of hoes. The output of 
this first factory amounted to only twen- 
ty-five hoes a day. The demand for the 
invention was so great that the business 
increased very rapidly and in 1846 Mr. 
Tuttle removed to Union City, where he 
opened a small shop. Some years later 
the business was incorporated, with Eben 
Clark Tuttle as president. The firm also 
manufactured forks. In 1856 Mr. Tuttle 
resigned his position as president of this 
firm, and formed the E. C. Tuttle Manu- 
facturing Company, building a factory 
near the railroad station at Union City. 
This was destroyed by fire in 1858. Two 



years later, in i860, he went to Oshawa, 
Canada, and there established a large 
plant, which became one of the m,ost im- 
portant of its kind in the country. He 
returned to the United States in 1864, 
and organized a company under the name 
of the E. C. Tuttle Manufacturing Com- 
pany, now the Auburn ^Manufacturing 
Company. In 1868 he returned to Can- 
ada, and established the Welland Vale 
Works, in which venture he lost his for- 
tune. He died in Union City, Connecti- 
cut, December 3, 1873. He married (first) 
April 27, 1829, Temperance Beecher, 
daughter of Hezekiah Beecher. She died 
October 3, 1863. He married (second) 
Charlotte Bentz. The children of Mr. 
Tuttle and his first wife were: i. Juliette 
Augusta, born August 16, 1832, died Sep- 
tember 23, 1835. 2. Bronson Beecher, 
mentioned below. 3. Adelbert C, born 
March 19, 1847; married, June 13. 1872, 
Margaret Carlisle, of St. Catherines, Can- 
ada. It was said of Eben Clark Tuttle at 
the time of his death : 

His reputation as a manufacturer was almost 
world-wide, and when the history of the manu- 
facturing founders of the Naugatuck Valley shall 
be written, his name will be among the foremost. 
He lived to see the business he commenced in a 
small way grow to almost gigantic proportions, 
and the little hamlet of Union City, which when 
he went there, contained scarce half a dozen 
houses, by his enterprise became one of the first 
manufacturing villages of the Naugatuck Valley. 

(VIII) Bronson Beecher Tuttle, son of 
Eben Clark and Temperance (Beecher) 
Tuttle, was born in Prospect, Connecti- 
cut, December 28, 1835. He was edu- 
cated in the public and private schools of 
Connecticut, completing his studies in the 
Naugatuck High School. After being 
graduated from the latter he entered his 
father's factory and mastered the busi- 
ness both in entirety and in detail. This 
business formed the nucleus of what be- 



24 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



TOR, LENOX 
.0-14 rCJI-^DATIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came the large Tuttle interests in many 
parts of the country. In 1857 the prin- 
cipal business was the manufacture of 
hoes, rakes and small agricultural imple- 
ments, etc. At this time the malleable 
iron department was only a side issue to 
the rest of the plant. In 1858 the entire 
plant was destroyed by fire, and in the 
rebuilding of the plant, the entire man- 
agement and conduct of the malleable 
iron industry was turned over to Bron- 
son Beecher Tuttle and John M. Whitte- 
more by the Tuttle Hoe Manufacturing 
Company. In this venture the two men 
were highly successful, and continued as 
partners until 1894, when a stock com- 
pany was formed. Bronson Beecher Tut- 
tle gradually attained a position in the 
business and industrial world which 
equalled that of his father. He became 
president of the Pratt Manufacturing 
Company of No. 71 Broadway, New York 
City, makers of railway tracks supplies. 
Mr. Tuttle was a dominant figure in the 
financial world. He was connected with 
the Naugatuck National Bank and the 
Savings Bank in ofificial capacities. He 
was also greatly interested in Chicago 
real estate. 

Mr. Tuttle was a Republican in politi- 
cal affiliation, and served one term, in the 
State Legislature. 

He married, October 12, 1859, Mary A. 
Wilcox, daughter of Rodney B. and 
Rachel Montgomery (Green) Wilcox, of 
Madison, Connecticut. She was born 
October 3, 1836. Mrs. Tuttle resides in 
Naugatuck. Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle had 
one son : Howard Beecher Tuttle. Bron- 
son Beecher Tuttle died in Middlebury, 
Connecticut, September 12, 1903. The 
following epitome of his life and char- 
acter gives more concisely and clearly 
than could any other effort an adequate 
description of the man and what he meant 
to the community, who knew and loved 
him well : 



The heredity and early environment of Mr. 
Tuttle were evident in mature years, habits of 
industry and integrity being implanted in the 
formative age. In those days people read less, 
but they thought more. The life was simple, 
but strong and sweet, and his love for this form 
of life never deserted him. He had ever a sin- 
cere sympathy with the toiler, but never patron- 
izing pity just because he toiled. He learned to 
work better than he learned to play. His innate, 
rare, practical mechanical ability he developed 
out into large, long lines. He achieved success 
not by accident, but by constant application of 
efYort and by the continued practice of thrift. 
His attainment, and it was high, did not separate 
him in spirit from the humblest humanity if it 
were honorable. Rather reserved, so that you 
might not have suspected the true and tender 
sentiment which was strong within. He took 
life seriously, but beneath the surface was a 
nature keenly appreciative and often expressive 
of happiest wit and healthiest humor. No man 
had a better belief in genuine godliness. There 
was a firm faith at the foundation of his worthy 
works. No man loved the Sabbath and the 
sanctuary more than he. His generosity was of 
the scriptural sort, of not letting one hand know 
what the other did. He was cautious even to 
extreme conservatism. He was a man of posi- 
tive convictions. He was not quick to convince. 
He could discerningly detect shams and he 
spared them not in sharp, sound judgment. He 
despised any reference to himself for his wealth 
and asked to be weighed only for his worth. He 
was absolutely loyal as a friend. He was a 
wholesome example as a father. He was fond 
and faithful as a husband. He was fine as a 
citizen. We are thankful for the thoughtful 
kindness of her who has bestowed this building, 
and it will not so much serve to make us remem- 
ber him whose name appeareth herein, but he 
whose name it beareth will help us always to 
remember the building. — Taken from the address 
of the Rev. Sherrod Soule, delivered on Novem- 
ber 2, 1907, at the dedication service of the Tut- 
tle Memorial Chapel at Grove Cemetery, the 
gift of Mrs. Tuttle. 



HART, Hubert Chauncey, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

Hubert Chauncey Hart, well known 
manufacturer of Hartford, and president 
of the ^tna Safety Appliance and Hard- 
ware Company, is a member of the famous 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and distinguished family of Harts of Con- 
necticut, which traces its ancestry directly 
back to Deacon Stephen Hart, of pre- 
Revolutionary fame. He is the son of 
Chauncey and Sarah Jane (Hooper) Hart, 
and was born in the town of Farmington, 
Connecticut, on April 14, 1844. He re- 
sided in Farmington until he reached the 
age of seven years, when his father re- 
moved from, Farmington to Unionville, 
Connecticut. Here he started a factory 
for the manufacture of steel traps and 
edge tools. He was noted for the manu- 
facture of the best grade of edge tools in 
the market, and was the first man in the 
United States to patent and manufacture 
steel game traps, and solid steel garden 
rakes. This industry has grown enor- 
mously since the time when he founded it, 
and is now one of the great industries of 
the country. The value and excellence 
of the work produced by his factories can 
be adequately gauged by the fact that his 
carpenter's chisels, manufactured fifty 
years, are now in use by carpenters of to- 
day. The principle on which he founded 
his business, and which was largely the 
cause of his success, was to manufacture 
the best grade of product that could pos- 
sibly be made, and to use in his factories 
only the highest quality of steel obtain- 
able. 

His son, Hubert Chauncev Hart, re- 
ceived his early education in the elemen- 
tary schools of Unionville, after which he 
attended the high school. At the age of 
seventeen years he left school, and en- 
tered his father's factory, as foreman, and 
here gained invaluable practical experi- 
ence, which later in life proved an im- 
portant factor in his business. He was of 
an observant and inventive turn of mind, 
and directed all his energies to becoming 
thoroughly acquainted with the inner- 
most workings of the shop. He studied 
factory conditions with the eye of an 
efficiency expert, and paid special atten- 



tion to the reducing of costs, the lessen- 
ing of the working force, and the maxi- 
murn amount of work accomplished by 
each man working under ordinary condi- 
tions. His intention was to produce a 
large amount of goods with as few men 
as possible, and at the age of eighteen his 
father gave him a contract for the manu- 
facture of trap parts ; it was of this de- 
partment of the factory that he was fore- 
man. The contract called for the manu- 
facture and assembling of parts at a price 
which an older contractor rejected be- 
cause of his inability to draw any profit 
from it. After receiving the contract, Mr. 
Hart immediately began work on the in- 
vention of new ways of manufacturing to 
be applied to the making of traps; At the 
end of six months' time he had invented 
means of turning out trap parts, which 
doubled the output, while employing the 
same number of workmen as had before 
been necessary for the work. Manufac- 
turing on this basis, he made so enormous 
a profit that of his own free will he re- 
duced the price of the making of traps 
one-half. 

At the age of nineteen }ears, Mr. Hart 
endeavored to enlist for service in the 
Civil War, but was rejected. He pur- 
chased his father's business when he 
reached the age of twenty-five years, and 
carried it on successfully until the year 
1876, when he invented a carpenter's bit 
brace. This invention he sold to the P. & 
F. Corbin Company of New Britain, Con- 
necticut, and accepted a position with 
that company at a salary of eighteen hun- 
dred dollars a year. He remained with 
P. & F. Corbin until 1880, when he sold 
out his invention and removed to Union- 
ville, where he started a cutlery business. 
He received a contract from the Meriden 
Britannia Company of Meriden. Connecti- 
cut, for the manufacture of two hundred 
thousand dozen solid steel knives blanks. 
He started work with twelve men, and 



26 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



within two years his business increased 
so rapidly that he employed one hundred 
and fifty men. He continued the manu- 
facture of solid steel knives and forks for 
the Meriden Britannia Company for twen- 
ty-five years and held their trade, by the 
recognized and uniform excellence of his 
work, against all competitors. In 1890 his 
company sold out to the Upson Nut Com- 
pany. Mr. Hart, however, continued with 
the com])any until 1894, when the factory 
was destroyed by fire. He then retired 
from active business, and devoted his en- 
tire time to his inventions, the next of 
which was a machine for the manufacture 
of washers from wire. This was a great 
success, and he patented it in the United 
States and several foreign countries, 
afterward building four machines and 
organizing a company for the manufac- 
ture of the same, having a capital stock 
of $300,000, of which he held $150,000 
worth for his patents. In 1895 the com- 
pany leased their plant to the Spencer 
Wire Company of Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, on a royalty plan. Mr. Hart's son, 
Edison W. Hart was superintendent of 
the factory for two years, after which 
time he was promoted to the general 
managership. The Spencer Wire Com- 
pany built up a very large business, and 
the royalties paid to the American Wire 
Washer Company, the one originally 
formed by Hubert Chauncey Hart, were 
at the rate of twenty-five thousand dol- 
lars a year. The company is now turn- 
ing out spring washers for automobiles at 
the rate of one hundred millions a year. 
Mr. Hart's invention is the only machine 
in the world to turn out these goods auto- 
matically. 

In 1907 Mr. Hart invented a new 
scheme for the manufacture of table 
knives and forks, and formed a new com- 
pany for that purpose, under the firm 
name of H. C. Hart Manufacturing Com- 
pany. The business has been enormously 



successful and they have sold to date six 
millions of their product. At the present 
time the company is behind on its 
orders to the amount of over two hundred 
thousand. Mr. Hart has taken out over 
one hundred patents and his inventions 
are employing thousands of men in the 
United States. His latest invention is a 
machine for the finishing of table knives 
and forks that will do the work of ten 
men. This he proposes to lease out to all 
cutlery manufacturers, and expects to de- 
rive profits from it to the extent of several 
thousands of dollars yearly in royalties. 

Mr. Hart is president of the H. C. Hart 
Manufacturing Company; of the Mutual 
Plate Glass Company; vice-president of 
the World Gas Engine Company ; presi- 
dent of the American Wire Washer Com- 
pany ; and president of the ^tna Safety 
Appliance and Hardware Company. This 
last-named corporation has a capital stock 
of $500,000, and manufactures Mr. Hart's 
solderless couplings for automobiles, cable 
gripping connections, safety couplings for 
machinery shafting, \\'right's hot and 
cold water faucets, William Legate's Pep- 
o-Gas for increasing the power and sav- 
ing of gasoline in automobiles and in- 
creasing the mileage of the same, and 
hundreds of other products. 

At the age of nineteen years, Mr. Hart 
married Evaline Moses, the daughter of 
Orin Moses, of Burlington, Connecticut. 
Although now seventy-two years of age 
he is still actively engaged in business, 
and during the last year has patented sev- 
eral inventions, among which are two of 
great importance, the cable grip and 
solderless coupling patented on May 25, 
191 5. Mr. Hart is as active and as fully 
possessed of his faculties and inventive 
genius as he was at fifty years of age. 

It has already been stated that Mr. 
Hart is a lineal descendant of the famous 
Deacon Stephen Hart. The following is 
a bare outline of the line of descent. 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) Stephen Plart, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the family, was born in Brain- 
tree, County Essex, England. He cam,e 
to American soil about 1632, and settled 
in Cambridge, where he was made a pro- 
prietor, May 14, 1634. In 1635 he dis- 
posed of his Cambridge property and re- 
moved to Hartford, a member of that 
famous band, which was led into Connec- 
ticut in 1636 by the Rev. Thomas Hooker. 
He and several others on a hunting ex- 
pedition discovered the Farmington River 
Valley, which was then inhabited by a 
powerful Indian tribe, the Tunxis. The 
settlers made a bargain with the Indians, 
and some of them settled there. Stephen 
Hart became one of the original pro- 
prietors of Tunxis, as he had also been one 
of the original proprietors of Hartford. 
It is said that the settlement of Hartford 
was named after Deacon Stephen Hart, 
in commemoration of his discovery of a 
ford over the Connecticut river. It was 
originally called Hart's Ford, which name 
for the sake of euphony and convenience 
was later changed into Hartford. The 
settlement at Tunxis later became known 
as Farmington, which it has remained to 
the present time. Stephen Hart was 
deputy to the General Court in 1647, and 
for fifteen sessions, with one exception. 
In 1653 he was commissioner for the town 
of Farmington to aid in impressing men 
for the army. He was chosen first deacon 
of the church there, and was one of the 
seven pillars of the church. His first mar- 
riage occurred in England, and the name 
of his wife is not known. He was mar- 
ried a second time to Margaret, widow of 
Arthur Smith. He died in March, 1682- 
83. She survived him and died in 1693. 

(II) Stephen (2) Hart, son of Deacon 
Stephen (i) Hart, was born at Braintree, 
County Essex, England, and located at 
Farmington, east of the meeting house, 
and opposite the house of the Rev. 



Thomas Hooker. He was made a free- 
man in the year 1654, and he died in 
1689. 

(HI) Sergeant Thomas Hart, son of 
Stephen (2) Hart, was born at Farming- 
ton in 1666. He married, December 18, 
1689, Eliza, daughter of John and Mary 
(Hawkins) Judd. He was a large land- 
holder, and held the military rank of ser- 
geant. He died March 28, 1728. His 
widow died March 18, 1743. 

(IV) Stephen (3) Hart, son of Ser- 
geant Thomas Hart, was born in Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, and resided there all 
his life. He married Eunice Munson. 

(V) David Hart, son of Stephen (3) 
and Eunice (Munson) Hart, was born in 
Farmington, and married Elizabeth Por- 
ter, of that place. 

(VI) Asa Hart, son of David and Eliz- 
abeth (Porter) Hart, was born in Farm- 
ington, and was a prominent citizen of 
that place. 

(VII) Zena Hart, son of Asa Hart, 
was born in Farmington, and resided 
there until his death. He married Rachael 
Lewis, of Kensington. 

(VIII) Chauncey Hart, son of Zena 
and Rachael (Lewis) Hart, was born Au- 
gust 26, 1810. He was a founder by trade, 
and learned his trade from the noted 
founder of the Stanley Works, New 
Britain, Ira Stanley, Jr. He was a dea- 
con of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He was married, in 1832, to Sarah Jane 
Hooper. As has already been stated he 
owned a factory for the manufacture of 
edge tools and steel traps. It was Chaun- 
cey Hart who received the contract from 
John Brown for the manufacture of pikes 
which were later used in John Brown's 
immemorial raid on the government 
arsenal at Harper's Ferry. John Brown 
came to Unionville, Connecticut, where 
Mr. Hart's factory was located in 1859, 
and contracted for the manufacture of 



28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the pikes used at the insurrection at Har- 
per's Ferry. Brown's statement was that 
he wanted to use the goods for the pur- 
pose of arming the settlers on the border 
of Kansas, who were constantly subjected 
to danger from Indian Invasion. After 
the ill-fated storming of Harper's Ferry 
Mr. Hart was arrested for being in league 
with Brown, but was released on proving 
that he knew nothing of the ultimate use 
to which Brown intended to put the pikes. 
Chauncey Hart's sons were: i. George 
L., who died twenty years ago. His son, 
Charles Hart, is a foreman of a depart- 
ment of the Wheeler & Wilson factory 
at Bridgeport, Connecticut, and his son, 
John Hart, is superintendent of the forg- 
ing department of the International Sil- 
ver Company at Meriden, Connecticut. 
2. Albert J., was a missionary worker in 
Boston at the time of his death. 3. San- 
ford J., died fifteen years ago, survived 
by four sons and one daughter. 4. Clin- 
ton, an artist. He is married and has one 
son, also an artist; and Herbert Hart, 
foreman of the forging department of the 
Wheeler & W^ilson factory in Bridgeport ; 
and Samuel Hart, of Avon, Connecticut, 

a farmer ; and , who is also a 

farmer. 5. Philip Z., died ten years ago, 
and is survived by a widow and one son. 
6. Hubert Chauncey. mentioned below. 
Both Philip Z. and Albert J. Hart served 
in the Civil War as privates, in active 
service from the beginning of the war 
until the end, reenlisting when their terms 
expired. The daughters of Chauncey 
Hart: Sarah, who is married and the 
mother of three children ; Emma J., mar- 
ried James A. McDonald, of New Bruns- 
wick. They had one daughter, who mar- 
ried John Bernstein, buyer for a depart- 
ment store in New Haven, Connecticut. 
Mrs. Bernstein has two children ; Nancy 
T.. married Edwin Piper, who died several 
years ago. They were the parents of one 
son and two daughters, Myra and Ida 



Jane. Myra Piper married Francis Bis- 
sell, of Bantam, Connecticut. He was a 
lawyer and died three years ago, survived 
by one daughter and one son. Ida Jane 
Piper married Frank Gilmore, who died 
ten years ago. He is survived by one son, 
Allie Gilmore, who is a foreman at the 
Automobile Company in Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut, and is married (he has one son 
and two daughters). Mrs. Gilmore owns 
a residence in Bridgeport, and lives with 
her son Allie. She is a dressmaker by 
trade. 

(IX) Hubert Chauncey Hart, son of 
Chauncey and Sarah Jane (Hooper) Hart, 
is of the ninth generation in direct de- 
scent from Deacon Stephen Hart. The 
details of his life have been fully treated 
previously in the sketch. His children 
are: i. Arthur Hart, M. D., specialist in 
the eye and ear in Hartford, Connecticut, 
with an office at the Hartford Bank Build- 
ing. 2. Carl Hart, M. D., physician and 
surgeon in New Britain, Connecticut. 3. 
Edison W. Hart, general manager of the 
Reliance Manufacturing Company of Mas- 
sillon, Ohio. 4. Ernest Hart, treasurer of 
the H. C. Hart Manufacturing Company 
of Hartford. 5. W'illis O. Hart, secretary 
of the H. C. Hart Manufacturing Com- 
pany. He has also a daughter, Nellie M. 
Hart, two grandsons and a granddaugh- 
ter. 



ELMORE, Samuel Edward, 

Financier, Man of Enterprise. 

In July, 1913, Mr. Elmore terminated 
by retirement an active business connec- 
tion with the insurance and banking in- 
stitutions of Hartford that had existed for 
more than half a century. Thirty-eight 
of those years he had been president of 
the Connecticut River Banking Company, 
and at the time of his retirement enjoyed 
the distinction of being the oldest banker 
in Hartford. Now an octogenarian in 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years, and a veteran among veterans, he 
is still active in mind and body and re- 
views a long career of unusually varied 
activity, during which he has achieved an 
abundant measure of success, and through 
his worthy deeds has added additional 
lustre to one of the oldest and most re- 
spected of New England family names. 
No citizen of Hartford has been more 
widely known and none more highly 
esteemed. Public-spirited and progres- 
sive, he has well served his city and his 
State by personal achievement and by 
aiding and abetting those movements and 
enterprises that promised to conserve the 
public good. A man of intellectual tastes 
and deeply interested in family history, 
he spent the less busy hours of several 
years in compiling and writing a history 
and genealogy of the Elmer-Elmore fam- 
ily. From that work the facts relating 
to the generations preceding his own are 
taken. 

Spelled in various ways the name El- 
more is handed down from an early period 
in English history, the name first appear- 
ing in Domesday Book which dates back 
to the year 1086, and in which it frequently 
appears as "Elmer habet." describing cer- 
tain lands partitioned by "William the 
Conqvieror" among his followers. 

The American spelling is Elmore or 
Elmer, and was brought to this country 
by Edward Elmer, born about 1604, at 
Quinton (near Northampton), England, 
who came in the ship "Lion," arriving at 
Boston, September 16, 1632. He came to 
Hartford with Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
company in 1636, was an original pro- 
prietor, owning the lot on the east side 
of Main street adjoining that of Captain 
John Talcott, on the north. In 1654 he 
became one of the first settlers of North- 
ampton, Massachusetts ; was a member 
of the first board of magistrates in 1656; 
was witness to an Indian deed in 1658 
that conveyed to Major Pynchon's com- 



pany the land which constitutes the site 
of Hadley, and in 1660 returned to Hart- 
ford. He purchased an additional tract 
of five hundred and fifty acres on the east 
side of the "great river" in what is now 
South Windsor, cultivated it with the aid 
of his sons and there fell a victim to the 
wrath of the Indians during King Philip's 
war in June, 1676. He married his wife 
Mary in 1644 or 1645. His estate was 
large for that early day, one thousand and 
twenty-one pounds, fourteen shillings and 
three pence being the appraised value of 
his personal property in Hartford, and 
had thirteen hundred acres of land at 
Podunk valued at three hundred and six- 
ty-nine pounds. 

His eldest son, John Elmer, was born 
at Hartford, Connecticut, settled on the 
South Windsor lands and there died, Sep- 
tember 21, 171 1. He married Rosamond 
Ginnuarie. 

Their son, Joseph Elmer, born 1678, 
died at Windsor, Connecticut June 4, 
1758. He married, April 4, 1700, Jane 
Adkins, of Hartford, who died December 
8, 1766. 

Their son, Samuel Elmer, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1705, was one of the first settlers 
of the "Long Hill" district in South 
Windsor, where he died August 24, 1761. 
He married Susannah Gilman. 

Their son, Samuel Elmer, born Novem- 
ber 18, 1755, died June 8, 1834. He served 
during five campaigns in the Revolution- 
ary W^ar. He married (first) Sarah 
Loomis. 

Their youngest child, Harvey Elmore 
(who adopted that form of spelling the 
name in his branch of the family), born 
December 26, 1799, died March 26, 1873. 
He married, April 19, 1830, Clarissa 
Burnham, born October 23, 1798, died 
January i, 1871, daughter of Zenas and 
Thankful Burnham, who bore him a son, 
Samuel Edward Elmore. Harvey El- 
more was an instructor of youth, princi- 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



' pal for several years of East Hartford 
Academy, then the largest school in that 
section. He was a member of the General 
Assembly in 1842 and in 1844, captain of 
an independent rifle company attached to 
the Twenty-fifth Regiment Connecticut 
Militia, 1836-38. He was a man of ster- 
ling moral worth, splendid mentality, 
holding the perfect confidence and high 
esteem of his fellow men. 

Samuel Edward Elmore, of the seventh 
American generation, was born at South 
Windsor, Connecticut, November 3, 1833. 
After finishing grammar school courses 
he prepared for college at Hinsdale Acad- 
emy and Williston Seminary at East 
Hampton, Massachusetts, then entered 
Williams College, whence he was gradu- 
ated Bachelor of Arts, class of 1857. He 
was associated with James A. Garfield, 
later President of the United States, in 
the editorship of the Williams Quarterly, 
a college journal. Mr. Elmore was presi- 
dent of the Lyceum of Natural History 
and other literary societies, and was the 
captain of a college scientific expedition 
to Florida Keys and the Dry Tortugas. 
.Vfter graduation from Williams, Mr. El- 
more served as assistant principal at Sedg- 
wick Institute, Great Harrington, Massa- 
chusetts, and later was principal of the 
Academy at Stowe, Vermont. During this 
period of his life he studied law, but never 
])racticed. 

After returning to Connecticut from 
Vermont he became active in political 
affairs, and in the trying times that fol- 
lowed, he gave strong evidence of the 
mental and moral stamina of his nature. 
He held decided opinions and possessed 
the courage to make them efifective. He 
was a member of the General Assembly 
of his State in i860 and again in 1864, and 
from i860 until 1865 was chief clerk in 
the office of the State Treasurer. In that 
capacity he was responsible for obtaining 
all the money required for fitting out 



and sending to the front the Connecticut 
regiments. He held the entire confidence 
of Governor Buckingham, and was his 
often accredited agent to visit General 
Washington as financial representative of 
the State of Connecticut; to receive from 
the United States government large sums 
to reimburse the State for moneys ex- 
pended in behalf of the government to 
pay soldiers' bounties to reenlist soldiers 
whose first term of service had expired, 
and to succor Connecticut soldiers wound- 
ed at the battles of Sharpsburg and Antie- 
tam. His experience in the State Treas- 
urer's office was of great value to him in 
the business he was later to pursue and 
was an experience in large financial opera- 
tions which gave him confidence in his 
own ability as a financier, as well as one 
that impressed others in a like manner. 

In 1864 he promoted and organized the 
Continental Life Insurance Company that 
was chartered that year. He was the first 
secretary of the company, later its presi- 
dent. The company began business with 
assets of $150,000, and during the ten 
years of Mr. Elmore's management the 
assets increased to $2,500,000. He sev- 
ered his connection with the company in 
1874, and in 1875 becam.e president of the 
Connecticut River Banking Company, a 
position he held until July, 1913. He was 
one of the organizers of the J. R. Mont- 
gomery Company, and its first treasurer, 
a position he held until the summer of 
1915. He was president of the East Had- 
dam Electric Light Company, managed 
that corporation for many years and was 
a director in many other important com- 
panies. Although practically retired from 
business he is yet a director of the Hart- 
ford County Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, of the J. R. Montgomery Company, 
and of the C. Cowles Company of New 
Haven, conducts a tobacco plantation on 
the old homestead farm and is interested 
in orange culture in Florida. 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He is a member of the Hartford Scien- 
tific Society, Connecticut Historical Soci- 
ety, Sons of the American Revolution, The 
Vermont Veterans, president of Williams 
College Alumni Association of Connecti- 
cut, and a member of the Hartford Club, 
The Chamber of Commerce, etc. In re- 
ligious faith he is a Congregationalist be- 
longing to Park (later Immanuel) Church, 
his religion the kind that finds expression 
in the daily walk of its possessor. 

Mr. Elmore married, November i, 1864, 
Mary Amelia Burnham, born December 
31, 1837, died May 28, 1878. Children: 
Frank Harvey, of Providence, Rhode 
Island, born November 16, 1866; Samuel 
Dean, of Boston, Massachusetts, born De- 
cember 23, 1868; Charles Burnham, born 
May 17, 1871 ; Henry Dennis, born April 
II, 1875. 



BROWN, Robert Kingsbury, 

Man of Enterprise. 

Three generations of this branch of the 
Brown family of Connecticut have con- 
tributed to the commercial glory and civic 
greatness of Waterbury, Colonel and Dea- 
con James Brown, his son, Hon. William 
Brown, and his son, Robert Kingsbury 
Brown. Prior to the settlement in Water- 
bury, two generations, Stephen (i) and 
Stephen (2) Brown, grandfather and 
father of Colonel and Deacon James 
Brown, had resided in Windsor, Connec- 
ticut. Stephen (i) Brown was a son of 
Captain Francis Brown, of Wallingford, 
Connecticut, son of Samuel Brown, an 
original subscriber to the compact for the 
settlement of Wallingford, and died there 
November 6, 1691. Samuel Brown was a 
son of Francis Brown, the founder of this 
branch of the Brown family in America. 

Francis Brown came with the fifty men 
reported as passengers on the ship "Hec- 
tor and Consort," who arrived at Boston, 
June 26, 1637. In September of that year 



he came to Connecticut with the Eaton 
and Davenport colony, which settled New 
Haven, and was one of the seven men left 
there to pass the winter of 1637-38, the 
remainder of the party returning to Bos- 
ton to return with their families the fol- 
lowing spring. In the division of land, 
Francis Brown was one of the "Seven" 
who "dwelt on the bank side" (East 
Water street fronting the harbor). He 
was a tailor by trade, and for a time oper- 
ated the ferry at Red Rock over the 
"East" river. He married in F2ngland 
Mary Edwards, who died December 7, 
1669. He died in East Haven in 1668. 
From Francis Brown sprang a numerous 
and very influential Connecticut family. 

Stephen (2) Brown, of the fifth genera- 
tion in America, son of Stephen (i) 
Brown, son of Captain Francis Brown, 
son of Samuel Brown, son of Francis 
Brown, "the founder," was a Revolution- 
ary soldier marching on the "Alarm" at 
Lexington with the company commanded 
by Captain Nathaniel Wayden, Jr. 

James Pjrown, son of Stephen (2) 
Brown, was a blacksmith, and at the age 
of twenty-two located in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, where he was noted for industry, 
sobriety and honesty. He was one of the 
original partners in the third rolling mill 
erected in Waterbury in 1830, afterward 
known as the Brown & Elton Company. 
Believing idleness a sin, he continued in 
business long after securing a compe- 
tence, nor did he alter his plain, frugal 
manner of life. He was a member of the 
Waterbury Militia Company and finally 
became colonel of his regiment. In 1818 
he was chosen deacon of the First Con- 
gregational Church, and also belonged to 
the Masonic order. He married, June 22, 
1801, Lavinia, daughter of Levi Wolcott, 
of Wolcott, Connecticut. Colonel Brown 
died July 24, 1848, aged seventy-two. His 
wife died October 6, 1848. His four sons, 
all of whom became eminent in Water- 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury business and professional life, were : 
Philo ; William, of further mention; Au- 
gustus ; and Dr. James Brown. 

William Brown, second son of Colonel 
and Deacon James Brown, was born June 
i6, 1S04, died March 3, 1S81. His busi- 
ness career was one of honor and promi- 
nence, culminating in the corporation of 
Brown & Brothers, composed of William., 
Philo, Augustus and James Brown. For 
fifteen years William Brown was associ- 
ated with his brothers in brass manufac- 
turing, then in 1856 retired to the man- 
agement of his private estate and to the 
administration of public and private 
trusts. His public service was important. 
He represented his district in the State 
Legislature as Assemblyman and Sena- 
tor, holding the latter office at the time 
of his death. He gave his time and tal- 
ents to the public service to a greater ex- 
tent than any other citizen of his genera- 
tion, serving Waterbury as selectman and 
filling many other city and town offices. 
For many years he was consulted freely 
by public officers, who valued his sound 
judgment, good sense and ripe experi- 
ence. The State Senate took official action 
when his death was announced and the 
State press, regardless of party, paid 
touching tribute to his long and valued 
public service and to his private worth. 
He was a Democrat in his political allegi- 
ance and a tower of strength to his party. 

Senator William Brown married (first) 
December 17, 1828, Susannah, daughter of 
Judge John Kingsbury, who died May 28, 
1841, leaving three children: Marcia 
Bronson, who died at the age of nineteen ; 
Robert Kingsbury, of further m,ention ; 
Eliza Jane, who married Guernsey S. Par- 
sons, banker and probate judge. Senator 
Brown married (second) March 25, 1844, 
Rachel Vienna, daughter of Asa Fenn, of 
Middlebury. Connecticut, who survived 
him with one son, Frederick James. 

Robert Kingsbury Brown, only son of 

Conn— 2- -3 -J-J 



Senator William Brown, and his first 
wife, Susannah (Kingsbury) Brown, was 
born at W^aterbury, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 6, 1833, and died November 21, 1916, 
aged eighty-two years, eleven months, 
sixteen days. He was educated in the 
public schools of Waterbury and East 
Litchfield, finishing at Williston Semi- 
nary, Easthampton, Massachusetts. At 
the age of eighteen he entered the employ 
of Brown & Brothers, brass founders, and 
in association with his father and uncles 
passed the seventeen succeeding years. 
He became financially interested in the 
corporation after coming of legal age, and 
during his active connection filled vari- 
ous positions of responsibility and trust, 
including management of the manufactur- 
ing department. At the age of thirty-five 
he retired from active connection with 
Brown & Brothers to devote himself to 
the care of his own private estate and 
business. He was for a tim,e engaged in 
banking as head of the private banking 
house. Brown & Parsons, but his princi- 
pal business was in real estate. He had 
the greatest faith in the future of Water- 
bury and greatly increased his fortune by 
judicious investment in city property, 
holding for a long time more city real 
estate than any other man. He was the 
heaviest individual taxpayer in Water- 
bury. His late home, at the corner of 
West Main and Meadow streets, stands 
on land originally known as "the lot at 
the West End," owned by the First 
Church, and used as the site for the min- 
ister's house, the land then extending 
through to Grand street, so that the burial 
place was at the foot of the minister's gar- 
den, part of the old Grand Street Ceme- 
tery being a continuation of the house lot. 
He owned two of the old hotel buildings 
of the city, one formerly known as the 
Arcade, this hotel being originally con- 
ducted by his father and uncle, and first 
known as "Brown's Hotel." the other still 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



standing, known as "The Tontine." In 
fact, Mr. Brown, through purchase from 
the original heirs, his sister, Mrs. Eliza 
J. Parsons, and his half-brother, Fred- 
erick J. Brown, acquired all the original 
holdings of his father, including not only 
the property on the corner of East Main 
street and Exchange place, but the one 
hundred acre farm on the Watertown 
road, known as "Brown's Farm.-' He also 
owned the house just east of his late 
home. It is worthy of note that the de- 
velopment of the farm of Mr. Brown was 
very rapid and extensive, and it is now 
the site of large manufacturing plants and 
factories, Mr. Brown having given the 
ground, some seven acres, for the first 
factory site. There are now located 
there: The Waterbury Rolling Mills, 
Waterbury Tool Company, National Com- 
pany, Metal Specialty Company, Eastern 
Brass and Ingot Company and The A. H. 
Wells Manufacturing Company. Mr. 
Brown inherited the thrift and energy of 
his grandfather, Colonel James Brown, 
and while averse to personally holding 
public office, was, like his honored father, 
deeply interested in public affairs. From 
early youth he was saving and frugal, 
practicing extreme self-denial to effect his 
first savings. One of his first investments 
was the purchase of stock in the Citizens' 
Bank of Waterbury, two hundred dollars 
being the investment, but it accomplished 
his object, the privilege of attending the 
business meetings of the bank. While 
Mr. Brown reaped substantial reward 
through his faith in the growth and de- 
velopment of his city, no man of all those 
who have had a share in its upbuilding 
worked harder or contributed more to 
Waterbury's development than Robert K. 
Brown. 

The character of his public service was 
educational, public office not attracting 
him , although when a young man of 
thirty he sat in Waterbury Common 



Council. He was deeply interested in 
questions of municipal administration and 
frequently appeared as an expert upon 
such subjects before the legislative com- 
mittees. He used his pen, however, and 
frequently published and circulated his 
printed views. He also did some writ- 
ing of cipher matter, and had a fine taste 
for poetry, in which latter he delved as 
a pastime. His knowledge of history was 
wide and as a student of political economy 
he read and studied the principles of gov- 
ernment and law under which we live, the 
following extracts from his writings 
showing the trend of his thought. "Upon 
the love and esteem of the government 
depends the strength of the government, 
and when the laws are considered just, 
every man becomes an executor." "The 
average American has but a vague idea 
of the constitution and the laws govern- 
ing the free American people. Blinded by 
her growth and prosperity, trusting in the 
people to rule, and meekly following our 
political leaders, it has never seemed to 
occur to us that this thing would not 
cease content with the present." Though 
originally a member of the First Church, 
he was for many years prior to his death 
an attendant upon the services of St. 
John's Church, of which his wife was an 
active member, and interested in its 
affairs. In politics he was a Democrat, 
and he was in all things independent and 
positive on his opinions and in his expres- 
sion of them. 

Mr. Brown married, January 22, 1856, 
Elizabeth Nichols, daughter of Stiles M. 
Middlebrook, of Bridgeport, Connecticut. 

At the time of his death Mr. Brown was 
an octogenarian whose years had been en- 
tirely spent in the city of his birth, that 
same city in which his honored father was 
born, lived and died. Mr. Brown was not 
only an authority on local history, a land- 
mark and a connecting bond between the 
long ago and the present, but he was in 



34 



"t^E l-'iV' YOKK 
PUBLIC UBPARY 







22>-^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



himself an important part of that history. 
The part Robert K. Brown played in the 
development of his community, and its 
material and moral upbuilding was one of 
the important factors in that development. 
Add his part to the life work of his father, 
Senator William Brown, and to that of 
the life work of other descendants of Colo- 
nel James Brown, and the history of 
Waterbury from the coming of Colonel 
James, the "village blacksmith" of 1798, 
until the present is largely written. 



ANDERSON, Henry Gray, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon, Hospital Of&cial. 

Son of a Presbyterian minister and 
grandson of a physician, Dr. Anderson in- 
herited professional instincts, and in his 
choice of a profession reverted to that of 
his maternal grandfather, Dr. Henry 
Gray, whose name he bears. While 
he has specialized in surgery, his prac- 
tice in Waterbury for the past twenty 
years has been general in character and 
the position he has attained as one of the 
leading men of his profession has been 
won by increasing devotion to its de- 
mands. He is highly regarded in his 
adopted city as a physician and surgeon 
of rare skill and as a citizen of honorable, 
upright life. He is a descendant of the 
Anderson family of Aberdeenshire, Scot- 
land, a seafaring family, Dr. Anderson's 
branch later settling in the North of Ire- 
land near Londonderry. From thence 
came William and Margaret Anderson, 
settling at Port Hope, province of On- 
tario, Canada. 

John Anderson, son of William and 
Margaret Anderson, was born at Port 
Hope, Canada, in 1826, died in Cambridge, 
New York, in 1903. When a lad his par- 
ents moved to Argyle, Washington coun- 
ty. New York, where his youth and early 
life was spent. He prepared in the public 
schools, then entered Union College (now 



University), Schenectady, New York, 
whence he was graduated in the class of 
1853. Later he prepared for the minis- 
try at the General Theological Seminary, 
New York City, and was ordained a min- 
ister of the Presbyterian church. For a 
season he taught in Washington Acad- 
emy, Cambridge, New York, but after his 
marriage he went west, locating at Oswego, 
Indiana, where their son, Henry Gray An- 
derson, was born. Rev. John Anderson 
remained in Oswego eight years, 1S60-68. 
then accepted a call from the United Pres- 
byterian clnirch of Martin, Michigan, re- 
maining pastor of that church until 1877. 
In 1877 he became pastor of the North 
Presbyterian Church, Kalamazoo, Michi- 
gan, continuing the spiritual head of that 
church until 1885, when failing health 
compelled him to retire from the minis- 
try. He then returned to Cambridge, 
New York, his wife's girlhood home, and 
there the family resided in the old Gray 
homestead. Rev. John Anderson married 
in Cambridge, New York, Mary Bullions 
Gray, born in Cambridge in 1835, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Henry and Janet (Bullions) 
Gray, the Gray and Bullions families 
coming from Scotland and North Eng- 
land. Dr. Gray was a descendant, also 
the progenitor, of a line of professional 
men, many of them physicians, and was 
himself an eminent member of the medi- 
cal profession. 

Henry Gray Anderson, son of the Rev. 
John and Mary Bullions (Gray) Ander- 
son, was born in Oswego, Indiana, No- 
vember 22, 1865. At the age of three 
years, his parents moved to Martin, 
Michigan, where his education began and 
continued until 1877, then was advanced 
in the schools of Kalamazoo, Michigan. 
He completed classical study at Vermont 
Academy, whence he was graduated in 
1886. He chose medicine as his life 
work, his maternal ancestors for several 
generations transmitting to him a prefer- 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ence from that profession. He entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
Columbia University, New York, pur- 
sued an extended course of study and re- 
ceived his degree of M. D. with the gradu- 
ating class of 1889. After a term of serv- 
ice as interne at Chambers Street Hos- 
pital, the New York Cancer Hospital, and 
the Woman's Hospital, New York, of 
which he was later assistant surgeon, he 
established in private surgical practice in 
New York, continuing until 1897. In that 
year he located in Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, where he has since been continuously 
in medical and surgical practice. In aa 
dition to a large private practice, he is 
surgeon and attending gynecologist to 
Waterbury Hospital and is frequently 
called in consultation. He is a fellow of 
the American College of Surgeons, Fel- 
low of the American Medical Association, 
member of the State Medical Society, 
New Haven County Medical Society, 
Waterbury Medical Association, the 
Greater New York Medical Society, the 
Union League of New Haven, the Water- 
bury Club and the First Congregational 
Church of Waterbury. In politics he is 
a Republican. From 1883 to 1886, while 
a student at Vermont Academy, he served 
in the First Regiment, Vermont National 
Guard. 

Dr. Anderson married, at Saxton's 
River, Vermont, October 4, 1892, Char- 
lotte May Alexander, daughter of John 
F. and Mary (Perry) Alexander. Chil- 
dren : Harry Gray, born in New York 
City, April 5, 1895 ; Hannah Perry, born 
in Waterbury, Connecticut, October 22. 
1899. 

(The Gray-Grey Line). 

Most genealogists derive this ancient 
and noble family from Fulbert, Chamber- 
lain to Robert, Duke of Normandy, who 
held by his gift the castle of Croy in 
Picardy from which the name is assumed 
to have been borrowed. There is, how- 



ever, no evidence for this for the pedigree 
is only traced to Henry de Grey to whom 
Richard Coeur de Lion gave the manor of 
Thurrock in Essex, which manor was 
subsequently known as Grey's Thurrock. 
From D'Ainsy it appears that the family 
came from Grai or Gray, a village near 
Caen. There were Grays in the train of 
William the Conqueror. In England the 
name is usually Grey, in Scotland Gray. 
They intermarried with royalty, some- 
times to their sorrow as in the case of 
Lady Jane Grey. The Gray family in 
America is numerous, widespread, and 
of many diverse branches. They were 
among the Pilgrims of New England, 
the Quakers of Pennsylvania, were early 
settlers in Virginia, as well as other 
Southern States. From 1620 to 1720 at 
least twenty different families of Grays 
emigrated to this country and made their 
homes in the New World. Of the later 
emigrations there were several, notably 
that of the Matthew Gray family which 
settled in Worcester, Massachusetts, in 
1718, from which sprang Dr. Joseph Gray, 
Dr. Henry Gray and Dr. Henry C. Gray, 
ancestors of Dr. Henry Gray Anderson, 
of Waterbury, Connecticut. 

Matthew Gray and his wife, Joan, were 
among the Scotch-Irish immigrants land- 
ing in Boston, August 4, 1718. In the 
autumn they located in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, where he bought, in 1728, the 
nucleus of the Gray farm, which remained 
in the possession of his descendants for 
more than a century. He was a sealer 
of leather and hoggreeve in Worcester, 
and there lived until his death. He 
deeded his farm to his son, Matthew (2), 
in October, 1735. 

Matthew (2) Gray was born in 1710, 
and in October. 1735. his father deeded 
him the "Gray farm" in Worcester, upon 
which he resided until 1772, when he 
deeded it to his son Reuben. Matthew 
(2) had two wives and twentv-one chil- 



36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dren, eleven of whose births are recorded 
in Worcester. His first wife. Jean, died 
in December, 1764, aged forty-eight; his 
second wife was Margaret (McFarland) 
Gray. Among his children was a son. 
Joseph, born June 4, 1758. 

Dr. Joseph Gray, son of Matthew (2) 
and Jean Gray, of Pelham, Massachusetts, 
was born June 4, 175S. although it is 
claimed by some of his descendants that 
he was of English origin and born in 
Providence, Rhode Island, in 1751. Me 
took an active part in the war of the 
Revolution, studied medicine under Dr. 
Rush, and was one of the earliest edu- 
cated physicians in Hillsboro county. Xew 
Hampshire. In 1780 he married Lucy 
Bancroft, daughter of Samuel Bancroft, 
son of Samuel Bancroft, son of Thomas 
(i) Bancroft, born in England. George 
Bancroft, the historian, son of Dr. Aaron 
Bancroft, was a nephew of Lucy (Ban- 
croft) Anderson. Dr. Gray moved in 
1790 to Mason, New Hampshire, and died 
at Quebec, Canada, in 1812. his \y\ie in 
1815. Children: Harry, died young; 
Henry, see forward ; Lucy, born Febru- 
ary 5, 1785 ; Joseph (2), a physician, born 
February 9, 1788, died February 9, 1879; 
John L., March 28, 1789; Lydia. died in 
infancy; Lydia Bancroft, born June 19, 
1793, died November 12, 1877; Isaac, June 
20, 1795, died August, 1821 ; Hannah. 
Tanuar}^ 17, 1800, died September 29, 1822. 

Dr. Henry Gray, second son of Dr. 
Joseph and Lucy (Bancroft) Gray, born 
at Nottingham West, now Hudson, New- 
York, May 27, 1783, was a physician, and 
died August 24, 1863. He married, No- 
vember 23. 1808, Margaret Carpenter. 
Children : Henry, see forward ; Isaac F.. 
born January 7. 1812; May, November 
12, 1813; Lucy. January 22, 1815 ; David 
B., May 6, 1817; A. Jackson, February 
23, 1820; Margaret. February 9. 1822; 
Hannah, July 29, 1824; Joseph J., De- 
cember 25, 1826; John B., April i. 1829. 



Dr. Henry Gray, son of Dr. Henry 
Gray, born January 7, 1810, married, 
March 31. 1834, Janet Bullions, died at 
Cambridge, New York, February 10, 1877. 
Children: i. Mary Bullions, born June 
22, 1835 ; married the Rev. John Ander- 
son ; children : Mary Jeannette, Lizzie 
G., Henry Gray. Annie B., Grace Estey, 
John and Charles Gray. 2. Henry, died 
in infancy. 3. Eliza, married Dr. Benja- 
min F. Ketchum. 4. Henry, a physician; 
married Sarah A. Buel. 5. Robert L., 
killed at the battle of the W'ilderness, 
May 5. 1864. 6. Charles Adams, a physi- 
cian of Sioux Falls. Dakota, and Hills- 
dale. New Hampshire ; married Nellie A. 
Joslin. 7. Florence C. married Julia J. 
Estey. 8. Frances J., married (first) Dr. 
J. W. Kennedy, (second) Rev. Thomas 
Cull. 9. Annie R.. married Marcius L. 
Cobb. 



CARTER, Loren Russell, 

Real Estate Lieader. 

Intimately connected with Waterbur\' 
business interests for many years, giving 
especial attention to real estate, Mr. Car- 
ter has had an important part in the 
upbuilding of that city. He is a lineal 
descendant of the Rev. Thomas Carter, 
who was ordained the first pastor of the 
church at Woburn. Massachusetts. No- 
vember 22. 1642. and the founder of a 
family settled all over the United States. 
The family he founded is shown by the 
records to have been prominent in all 
matters of public interest, the building of 
churches and the establishment of schools, 
active in the military organizations and 
public duties of their day, many soldiers, 
legislators, physicians, lawyers and min- 
isters bearing the name. 

(I) Rev. Thomas Carter was born in 
England in Hertfordshire, at or near St. 
Albans. He received his degree of A. B. 
at St. John's College, Cambridge, April i, 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1626, and the A. M. degree in 1633. It 
is not known when he sailed for New 
England but the Thomas Carter who 
came in the ship "Planter," April 2, 1635, 
located in another part of Massachusetts. 
There were three Thomas Carters who 
came to New England, all arriving at 
about the same time and all were about 
the same age, and another Thomas Carter 
who went to Virginia. Rev. Thomas Car- 
ter came to Massachusetts prior to 1637, 
as he was made a freeman of the colony 
in that year at Wedham, shortly after 
moving to Watertown where he was elder 
of the church, had a homestall of ten 
acres, and in 1642 a farm of ninety-two 
acres and a lot in the town plot. He first, 
preached in Woburn, December 4, 1641, 
this being the second service of public 
worship ever held in the new town. xA.fter 
much persuasion he yielded a reluctant 
consent to leave the Watertown church, 
and on November 22, 1642, was ordained 
the first pastor of the Woburn church. 
At his ordination the town presented him 
with a house which they built for his use 
and agreed to give him a salary of eighty 
pounds annually, one quarter to be in 
silver, the remainder in various neces- 
saries of life at current prices. This 
compensation was increased in 1674 by 
the grant of twenty cords of wood annu- 
ally, to be delivered at his door. He min- 
istered constantly to his people without 
aid for thirty-six years, and then an as- 
sistant pastor was appointed. He served 
six years more in conjunction with the 
assistant vmtil his death, in 1684, in all 
forty-two years. He is described as a 
"reverend godly man, apt to teach the 
sound and wholesome truths of Christ." 
There appears to have been the greatest 
harmony between him and the congre- 
gation and under his ministrations the 
church was greatly enlarged and built up. 
He died September 5, 1684. There is little 
doubt that his wife, Mary, was the daugh- 



ter of George Parkhurst, Sr., of Water- 
town, and that she was baptized in Ips- 
wich, England, August 28, 1614. She died 
in Woburn, Alarch 28, 1687. No record 
of their marriage is found, but their first 
child, Samuel, was born in Watertown, 
.Vvigust 8, 1640. Children of the Rev. 
Thomas Carter: Samuel, died in 1693; 
Judith, died in 1676; Theophilus, Mary, 
Abigail, Deborah, Timothy, Thomas (2), 
mentioned below. 

In the public library at Woburn is a 
painting of the ordination of the Rev. 
Thomas Carter by Albert Thompson, No- 
vember 22, O. S. 1642, the characters repre- 
sented being John Cotton, minister of the 
First Church of Boston ; Richard Mather, 
minister of the First Church of Dorches- 
ter ; John Eliot, Apostle to the Indians, 
First Church of Roxbury ; Captain Ed- 
ward Johnson, one of the founders of both 
church and town ; Thomas Carter, a lay 
member of the church ; John Wilson, min- 
ister of the First Church of Charlestown ; 
two visitors and church members. This 
painting is of great historic value, show- 
ing as it does some of the first settlers of 
Woburn. 

(II) Thomas (2) Carter, son of the 
Rev. Thomas (i) Carter, was born in 
Woburn, June 8, 1655, and was living 
September 21, 1722, a farmer possessed 
of considerable land. He married, in 
1682, Margaret (or Margery) Whitte- 
more, born September 9, 1668, died Octo- 
ber 5, 1734, daughter of Francis and Mar- 
garet Harty Whittemore. Children, all 
born in Woburn : Mary, Thomas (3) , men- 
tioned below ; Eleazer, Daniel, Ebenezer, 
Ezra. 

(HI) Thomas (3) Carter, son of Thom- 
as (2) Carter, was born in Woburn, Mas- 
sachusetts, June 13, 1686, died November 
18, 1772, aged eighty-eight years, and his 
tombstone mav be seen near the entrance 
in Warren (Connecticut) Cemetery, the 
epitaph reading: 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



All nature must 
Return to dust. 

He was a wheelwright by trade and 
about 1718 moved from Reading, Massa- 
chusetts, to Weston, thence in 1726 to 
Hebron, Connecticut. About 1750, after 
a residence of nearly twenty-five years in 
Hebron, he moved with nearly all his 
numerous family, some of them already 
married, and accompanied by several 
other unrelated families, to Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, and took up a large 
part of what became the town of Warren. 
His name is first on the list of those who 
"owned the Covenant" in the church of 
the Society of East Greenwich (now 
Warren). He married (first) at Reading, 
Massachusetts, February 19, 1713, Abigail 
Locke, of Woburn. She died April 10, 
1729, leaving five children. He married 
(second) December 9, 1730, Sarah Gil- 
bert, who died July 12. 1796, in her eighty- 
eighth year, and is buried in Warren 
Cemetery near her husband. She was a 
daughter of Samuel and Mercy (Warner) 
Gilbert, granddaughter of Samuel and 
Mary (Rogers) Gilbert, and great-grand- 
daughter of Jonathan Gilbert, a promi- 
nent man of the Connecticut Colony from 
1645 until his death, 1682, and his second 
wife, Mary (White) Gilbert, daughter of 
Elder John White and Mary (Welles") 
White, daughter of Hugh Welles, and 
brother of Governor Thomas Welles, one 
of the founders of Hartford, Connecticut. 
By his two wives Thomas (3) Carter had 
fifteen children. By first wife : Thomas. 
Abigail. Elizabeth, Benjamin, Anne, Jo- 
seph, died young; an infant, stillborn. 
By second wife: Joseph, Sarah, Samuel, 
mentioned below ; John. Mercy. Eleazer, 
Israel. Benoni. 

(IV) Lieutenant .^amnel Carter, son of 
Thomas (3) Carter and his second wife, 
Sarah (Gilbert) Carter, was born in Heb- 
ron, Connecticut. May 31, 1734, died in 



Warren, Connecticut, April i, 1822. He 
was a farmer. During the French and 
Indian War he served in 1762 in the 
Eighth Company, Second Regiment, Con- 
necticut Troops. During the Revolution 
he served, as did two of his brothers, at- 
taining the rank of lieutenant. He repre- 
sented his district in the Connecticut Gen- 
eral Assembly sessions of 178S and 1797, 
and was a man of influence in his commu- 
ity. He married, in Warren, May 4, 
1759, Martha Buell, born in Hebron, July 
24, 1736, died July 5, 1735. aged nearly 
ninety-nine years, daughter of Samuel 
and Rebecca Buell. Children : Samuel, 
born April 9, 1760; Benjamin, January 8, 
1762; Rebecca, May 25, 1764; Buell, men- 
tioned below; Sarah, October 30, 1768; 
Martha, June 6, 1771, died young; Dari- 
us, March 24, 1773; Martha, March 18, 
1775; Susanna, August 27, 1777, died 
\oung; Lydia. November 27. 1778; Dan. 
July 29, 1 78 1. 

(V) Buell Carter, son of Lieutenant 
Samuel and Martha (Buell) Carter, was 
born in Warren, Connecticut, May 25, 
1766, died in Warren, May 8, 1856. He 
was a farmer all his life. He married in 
Cornwall, Connecticut, October 29, 1789, 
Eunice Peck, who died in Warren, Sep- 
tember 20. 1847, aged seventy-seven years, 
daughter of Benoni and Mehitable (Mil- 
lard'i Peck. Children : Lorain, born Feb- 
ruary 24, 1791, died October 24, 1865, mar- 
ried Sarah Robbins ; Russell, mentioned 
below; Lury, born February 25, 1796, 
(lied young; Maria, born May 31, 1800, 
died March 20, 1837, married Burton Gil- 
bert. 

( \'I) Captain Russell Carter, youngest 
child and only son of Buell and Eunice 
rPeck) Carter, was born in Warren, Con- 
necticut, November 2, 1792, died in 
Waterbury. February 21, 1870. He was 
a farmer of Warren until 1856, when he 
moved to W^aterburv. where his death 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



occurred. He was a man of importance 
in his community, sergeant, lieutenant 
and captain of militia, was a selectman, 
filled many town offices and represented 
the town of Warren in the State Legisla- 
ture several times. He was a Democrat 
in politics and a man highly esteemed. 
He married (first) in New Milford, Con- 
necticut, January 29, 1823, Rebecca Stone, 
born August 11, 1797, died in Warren, 
January 17, 1844, daughter of Benjamin 
Stone. They had two children, both now 
deceased: Buell (2), born November 25, 
1827, died in Warren in May, 1900; Har- 
riet Maria, born August 31, 1833, married 
Charles Vale Moulthrop, and died in 
South Britain, September 5. 1859. He 
married (second) in Ivent, Connecticut, 
March 16, 1845, Laura L. Hills, born in 
Glastonbury, Connecticut, January 11, 
1824, daughter of John and Esther (Hale) 
Hills. Children: Rebecca, born Septem- 
ber 23, 1846, died November 15, 1862; 
Loren Russell, mentioned below; Elea- 
nor Elizabeth, born August 10, 1857, died 
November 10, 1862. 

(VII) Loren Russell Carter, only son 
of Captain Russell and Laura L. (Hills) 
Carter, was born at Warren, Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, October 16, 1854. 
He was educated in W^aterbury public 
schools, Wesleyan Academy and East- 
man's Business College. He was en- 
gaged as a hardware clerk until about 
1886, then established in the real estate 
business in Waterbury, and from that 
year has been continuously in that line of 
activity, one of its leaders. He has built 
extensively, and maintains in connection 
with his real estate business loan and in- 
surance departments. He is treasurer of 
the French Manufacturing Company of 
Waterbury, a company incorporated in 
1905. manufacturing brass and copper 
tubing. He has other business interests. 
He is a Republican in politics; a member 
of Townsend Lodge. Independent Order 



of Odd Fellows ; member of the Connec- 
ticut Society ; member of the Order of 
Founders and Patriots of America; mem- 
ber of the First Baptist Church, which he 
serves as trustee, chairman of the board 
and chairman of the building committee. 
He is deeply interested in these societies 
and organizations, taking an active part 
and adding to their usefulness. 

Mr. Carter married at Waterbury, Sep- 
tember 20, 1879, Irene Ethelinda Hen- 
drick, born in New York City, daughter 
of Joseph Edward and Catherine (Card) 
Hendrick, now residents of Waterbury. 
Mr. and Mrs. Carter have three children : 
I. Loren Russell (2), born July 8, 1880; 
graduate of Yale, A. B.. 1903, Harvard 
Law School, LL. B., 1906, now practic- 
ing law in Waterbury, one of the rising 
young men of his profession ; he is also 
secretary of the French Manufacturing 
Company ; he is a member of the Con- 
necticut and Massachusetts bar associ- 
ations and of lodge, chapter, council and 
commandery of the Masonic order. 2. 
Earle Buell, born October 20, 1885 ; gradu- 
ate of Yale, B. S., 1907, Johns Hopkins 
University, medical department, M. D.. 
191 1, now practicing his profession at 
Hartford. Connecticut, a young physician 
and surgeon already well established, 
member of the County and State medical 
societies and of the Masonic order; mar- 
ried Ethel V. Merrick, of Cold Spring, 
New York, and has a daughter, Eleanor 
Lorene. 3. Ethel Lorene, born Febru- 
ary 21, 1889; educated in Emma Willard 
School, Troy, New York ; a member of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 



WELLS, Samuel Judson, 

Manufacturer. 

Two generations of this family, Am- 
brose H. Wells, a manufacturer of seam- 
less tubing, and his five sons who have 
continued the business, have made Water- 



40 



THE HEV? '-jF.K 
PUBLIC LIBF^^RY 




v>;ff^^c? 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury, Connecticut, the seat of their ac- 
tivity. The original plant was built after 
ihc English fashion on the grounds sur- 
rounding the founder's home then on 
VVatertown road, now Watertown ave- 
nue. The business now incorporated 
as the A. II. Wells Company, one of 
the leading manufacturing concerns of 
Waterbury, is strictly a family business, 
all the sons of Ambrose H. Wells being 
interested in its management and living 
in the vicinity of the old homestead on 
Watertown avenue. 

This branch of the family descends from 
Thomas Wells, born at Hathwell, North- 
amptonshire, England, who was a descend- 
ant, it is agreed, of Robert de Welles or 
de Euille. one of the Norman lords who 
came over with the Conqueror and whose 
name appears on the Roll of Rattle Abbey 
as R. de Euilles. The family arms are : 
Or, a lion rampant, sable. Crest : A demi 
lion, rampant, sable. Motto: Semper 
paratus. 

Thomas Wells (English spelling Welles 
and so used in some of the American 
branches) was a son of Thomas Wells, a 
wealthy Englishman, and brother of Hugh 
Wells, the first of the name to settle 
in Wethersfield, Connecticut. Thomas 
Wells, also an early settler at Wethers- 
field, became a man of great prominence 
in the colony, serving in many high offices 
before becoming governor in 1655, serv- 
ing three terms. He founded a family 
which has been prominent in every walk 
of life, one of his descendants, Gideon 
Welles, serving as secretary of the navy 
under President Lincoln. The line of de- 
scent to Ambrose H. Wells is through 
John Wells, son of Governor Wells ; his 
son, John (2) Wells ; his son, John (3) 
Wells; his son, David Wells; his son, 
David (2) Wells; his son, Emory Wells; 
his son, Ambrose H. Wells. 

Emory Wells was born in Newtown, 
Fairfield county, Connecticut, a shoe- 



maker by trade. In 1841 he located in 
Lockport, New York, where he engaged 
in the manufacture of shoes until his 
death. He was a Democrat in politics, 
a member of the Episcopal church, and 
a man of ability, highly regarded in his 
community. He married Maria Gilbert, 
who bore him a daughter, and two sons, 
Isaac and Ambrose H. Wells. 

Ambrose H. W^ells was born in New- 
town, Fairfield county, Connecticut, 
March 26, 1837, died in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, February 15, 1910. He attended 
the public schools, but at an early age 
became his own source of supply, work- 
ing at farming until he decided to learn 
the blacksmith's trade. He followed the 
latter occupation in the country until 
1862. then came to Waterbury, Connec- 
ticut, which was ever afterward his home. 
He accepted a position in the brass mill 
owned by Brown Brothers, became fore- 
man of the tube department, continuing 
in that capacity for nineteen years. He 
then for a time conducted a flour and feed 
business on Harrison alley near South 
Main street, but not meeting with the ex- 
pected success, sold out after two years' 
experience and returned to the employ of 
Brown Brothers, securing his former po- 
sition as foreman. After a year, how- 
ever, he again started in business for him- 
self in a small plant on his home grounds 
on Watertown road in Waterbury and be- 
gan the manufacture of seamless tubing, 
lie prospered and in 1893 erected a large 
mill and continued as a firm until 1907, 
when he incorporated as the A. H. Wells 
Company. As his sons reached suitable 
age they were taken into the business and 
never since its beginning has it been of- 
ficered or managed by others. A man of 
enterprise and energy, Mr. Wells gave a 
good account of his life and when it 
terminated at the age of seventy-three he 
left behind him an honored name and sub- 
stantial results of his stewardship. He 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a member of King Solomon Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, was a charter 
member of the Pequot Club, a trustee of 
Union Chapel, and a Democrat in his 
political faith. 

Mr. Wells married, in Newtown, Con- 
necticut, Eveline Judson, daughter of 
Zenas J. Judson, granddaughter of Abel 
Judson, Jr., son of Abel Judson, Sr., son 
of David Judson, son of James Judson, 
son of Joseph Judson, son of William 
Judson, who came from England in 1634 
with wife and three sons, Joseph, Jere- 
miah and Joshua, locating at New Haven. 
Connecticut, where William Judson died 
in 1662. The Judsons were an agricul- 
tural family, owning their own lands and 
holding high rank in their communities. 
Abel Judson, Jr., married '\nn Bennett, 
who bore him fifteen children. His son. 
Zenas J. Judson, married Fanny Torrance 
and had eleven children, Eveline, the 
youngest, the wife of Ambrose H. Wells. 
Five sons were born to Ambrose H. and 
Eveline (Judson) Wells : Samuel Judson, 
see forward ; Franklin A., see forward ; 
George H., see forward; Edward A., see 
forward ; Clifford H., see forward. 

Samuel Judson Wells was born in 
Waterbury, Connecticut, October 18. 
1866, and has ever been a resident of 
his native city. After completing his 
years of school work he became an em- 
ployee of the J. O. Wilds drug house on 
Bank street, Waterbury, continuing until 
1895. ^^ ^^so pursued a course in phar- 
macy and chemistry, graduating in 1891, 
and became an expert in chemistry and 
drugs. In 1895 he' abandoned the drug 
business to become his father's business 
associate, taking at first a minor position. 
He rapidly advanced, however, to higher 
position and upon the death of Ambrose 
H. Wells in 1910 he succeeded him as 
president of the A. H. Wells Company. 
As the years have passed the business of 
the company has steadily increased and it 



now employs about one hundred and sixty 
skilled hands in the manufacture of seam- 
less brass and copper tubing. In 1916 
the company purchased lands on Brown's 
Meadows, Waterbury's new and desirable 
factory district and there is erecting a 
large modern plant where it can great- 
ly increase its output. Samuel J. Wells 
is a director of the Waterbury Rolling 
Mills, has other business interests, and is 
one of Waterbury's active, enterprising, 
influential men of affairs. He is a charter 
member of the Pequot Club, member of 
Pequot Hose Company, and of Comstock 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Wells married (first) Jennie M. 
Fisher, who bore him a daughter, Aletha 
Maria Wells, a graduate of St. Margaret's 
Seminary, now a clerk in the office of the 
A. H. Wells Company. Mr. Wells mar- 
ried (second) Mary Schuelke. Children: 
Martha Adeline; Homer Ambrose, died 
in infancy ; George Judson : and Gordon 
Everett. The family home is one of the 
most beautiful on Waterbury avenue, 
located not far from the original home- 
stead. 

Franklin A. Wells was born in Water- 
bury. Connecticut, September 5, i87i,and 
there has continuously resided. He was 
educated in the public schools, and at an 
early age became associated with his 
father in business, receiving a careful and 
thorough training ; and has ever been ac- 
tive in company management, now being 
vice-president of the A. H. Wells Com- 
pany. He is a Democrat in politics, has 
been active in public affairs and an oflRce 
holder of the city. He is a charter mem- 
ber of the Pequot Club : member of 
Speedwell Lodge, Knights of Pvthias, 
and of Toantic Lodge, Improved Order 
of Red Men. Mr. Wells married Amelia 
Schuelke and has five children : Lillian. 
Emilv, Gertrude, Florine and Franklin 
A. (2). 

Georsre H. Wells was born in Water- 



42 






w 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury, Connecticut, March 26, 1877, and 
has spent his busines life entirely in as- 
sociation with his father and brothers. 
He was educated in the public schools, 
then began working under the direction 
of his father in the tubing plant. He is 
now treasurer of the A. H. Wells Corn- 
pan}- and an important factor in its suc- 
cessful operation. He is a charter mem- 
ber of the Pequot Club and of Speedwell 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias. Mr. Wells 
married Florence Davis. 

Edward A. Wells was born in Water- 
bury. Connecticut. January 21, 1879, and 
has continuously resided in the city of 
his birth. After completing his education 
in \\'aterbury public schools, he entered 
the family business and has been one of 
the contributing factors to its continued 
success, now being general manager of 
the A. H. Wells Company. He takes an 
active part in public affairs, is a charter 
member of the Pequot Club and belongs 
to Speedwell Lodge. Knights of Pythias. 
Mr. \\'"ells married Caroline Engert and 
has four children: Edwin. Marion, Wil- 
liam and Kennett. 

Clifford H. Wells was born in Water- 
bury. Connecticut, December 18, 1881. 
and like his brothers has spent his entire 
business life in the mills now constituting 
the plant of A. H. Wells Company. He en- 
tered the mill immediately after complet- 
ing his public school education, and is 
now secretary and assistant treasurer of 
the A. H. Wells Company. He is a char- 
ter member of the Pequot Club, member 
of Speedwell Lodge, Knights of Pythias, 
and interested in much that concerns the 
business and social life of his city. Mr. 
Wells married Fredericka Bond and has 
two daughters. Virginia and Susane. 

This review of the life of Ambrose H. 
Wells and of the careers of his five sons 
as far as they have progressed, for they 
are all voung men, necessarily touches 



the principal points only, but enough is 
shown to prove the high quality of each. 
The little beginning made by the father 
has grown into one of the largest plants 
in the city and every step in its develop- 
ment has been under Wells control. Busi- 
ness ability has gone hand in hand with 
civic pride and in all that aids the welfare 
of Waterbury the brothers can always be 
relied upon to assist. 



GATES, Clarence E., D. D. S., 

Leader in Dental Profession. 

Eminent in his own right as one of the 
leading men of the dental profession. Dr. 
Clarence E. Gates adds to personal merit 
a long line of distinguished paternal and 
maternal ancestors. The paternal line is 
traced to Thomas Gates. England, 1327, 
of Higheaster and Thursteubie. Essex, 
England. The original date of the grant 
of the right to bear arms is not extant 
but they are recorded in the Visitations 
of York 1584 and 1665 with quarterings. 
Gates (of Semer Yorkshire and Essex 
England). Arms: Per pale, gules and 
azure, three lions rampant, gardant or. 
Crest : A demi-lion rampant, gardant, or. 

Descent is traced from Thomas Gates, 
Esq., through his son, William Gates; his 
son. Sir Geoffrey Gates, and his wife 
Agnes, daughter and heiress of Sir 
Thomas Baldington, of Aldersbury. Ox- 
fordshire. England ; their son. William 
Gates and his wife Mabel, daughter and 
heiress of Thomas Capdow. of High- 
easter Essex: their son. Sir Geoffrey 
Gates, and his wife Elizabeth, daughter 
of Sir William Clapton. Knight of Kent- 
well. Sussex. England ; their son, Geof- 
frey Gates, and his wife. Pascall, 

of Essex, England ; their son, Geoffrey 
Gates, and his wife. Joan fWentworth) 
Gates : their son, Peter Gates, and his 
wife. Mary (Josselyn) Gates ; their son. 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Gates ; his son, Stephen Gates, 
of the tenth English generation and the 
founder of the family in America. 

Stephen Gates, second son of Thomas 
Gates, of Norwich, Norfolk county, Eng- 
land, came from Hingham, England, to 
Hingham, Massachusetts Bay Colony, in 
the ship "Diligent," of Ipswich, England, 
in the year 1638 accompanied by his wife, 
Ann (fiill) Gates, and two children. 
From Hingham, Massachusetts, Stephen 
Gates removed to Lancaster at the settle- 
ment of that place, thence to Cambridge, 
where he died in 1662. His will, dated 
June 9, 1662, was probated October 7, 
1662, Ann, his widow, married (second) 
in 1663, Richard Woodward, of Water- 
town, and died at Stow, February 5, 1682- 
83. In early records of Lancaster, H. S. 
Nourse writes: "The Gates blood seems 
to have been of decided tropical nature. 
The daughter Mary boldly contradicted 
the minister in public assembly. Stephen 
Gates quarreled with his neighbors, the 
Whitcombes, was deprived of his con- 
stable's staff and moved away from Lan- 
caster after less than three years' resi- 
dence. His sons attempted unsuccess- 
fully to break his will alleging their father 
was not of disposing mind." This "trop- 
ical nature" evidently descended to his 
posterity for they were fighters in the 
Indian and Colonial wars, in the War for 
Independence, in the Mexican War and 
in the Civil War, and a record of their 
deeds would fill a volume. 

Stephen (2) Gates, eldest son of the 
founder, was born about 1640, died at 
Acton, Massachusetts, in 1706. He re- 
ceived by his father's will the house and 
lot at Lancaster. He resided at Stow, 
Massachusetts ; was an early proprietor 
at Preston, Connecticut, and made his 
will at Stow, September 5. 1701. He 
married Sarah Woodward, daughter of 
George and Elizabeth (Hammond) Wood- 
ward, of Watertown, Massachusetts. 



Simon Gates, second son of Stephen (2) 
and Sarah (Woodward) Gates, was born 
June 5, 1666. He married. May 4, 1688, 
Hannah Benjamin, of Stow. 

Benjamin Gates, third son of Simon 
and Hannah (Benjamin) Gates, died at 
Barre, Massachusetts, in 1756. After his 
marriage he moved to Worcester, thence 
going to Barre. He married Bethulia 
Rice, born March 24, 1704, daughter of 
Jonathan and Anna (Derby) Rice, of Sud- 
bury, Massachusetts. 

Israel Gates, eldest son of Benjamin 
and Bethulia (Rice) Gates, was born in 
Conway, Massachusetts, in 1727. He en- 
listed. May 8, 1775, and served at the 
siege of Boston until October, 1775, when 
his name was transferred to the "Alarm 
List". Fie responded to several calls, 
serving from a few days to a month and 
a half on each call, but in 1778, when 
drafted to fill the quota from Stow, he 
paid the fine for non-service. He married 
and had several children whose births are 
recorded in different towns. 

Peter Gates, eldest son of Israel Gates, 
the Revolutionary soldier, was born at 
Conway, Massachusetts, in 1753. and died 
there, December 15, 1821. He also served 
in the Revolutionary War. He married 
(first) in 1778, Anna Childs ; married 
(second) in 1782, Experience, daughter of 
Daniel Arms, who was the mother of his 
eight children. 

Israel Gates, eldest son of Peter Gates 
and his second wife. Experience (Arms) 
Gates, was born at Conway, Massachu- 
setts, November 17, 1783, died September 
3, 1866. He married. May 25, 1809. Han- 
nah Lincoln, born June 17, 1786, died at 
her residence, Longmeadow. Massachu- 
setts, August 2, 1868, the mother of three 
sons and four daughters. 

Henry Gates, second son and fourth 
child of Israel and Hannah (Lincoln) 
Gates, was born at Longmeadow, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 5, 1817, died in Chico- 



44 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pee, Massachusetts, January 14, 1907. He 
obtained a g-ood education, and prepared 
for his life work by learning the wagon 
maker's trade. After his location in 
Chicopee he established in business for 
himself as builder of heavy trucks and 
wagons, conducting a very successful 
plant and acquiring a competence. He 
owned two valuable farms and was a well 
known breeder and owner of blooded 
horses and Jersey cattle. He was a man 
of strong character and upright life, de- 
voted to his family and highly esteemed 
by his townsmen. While deeply inter- 
ested in all that concerned his town, he 
took no active part in public affairs. He 
was a regular attendant of the Baptist 
church, gave liberally to its support and 
freely responded to the call of charity. 
He married (first) February 5, 1840, Abi- 
gail Colson, born August i, 181 5. at 
Windsor Locks, Connecticut, died Octo- 
ber 31, 1841. at Longmeadow, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Roswell and Abigail 
(Stockwell) Colson. They had one child, 
.\bby Francis Gates, born January 25, 
1 841. at Longmeadow, Massachusetts, 
and is still living; married Henry Col- 
ton. Henry Gates married (second) May 
3, 1843, Almira Callista Abbey, born Sep- 
tember 18, 1817, at South Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, died August 14. 1888, at Chico- 
pee. Massachusetts. She was the daugh- 
ter of Abner, Jr., and Sibyl (Brown) 
Abbey, a descendant of Captain Thomas 
Abbey, of Colonial war and Revolution- 
ary fame, and of John Abbey, an early 
settler of Wenham, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren : Arthur H., born February 16, 1844, 
died May, 1845 5 Mary Amanda, born Oc- 
tober 13, 1845; Albert H., born Novem- 
ber 28. 1850; Clarence E., of whom fur- 
ther. 

Clarence E. Gates, youngest child of 
Henry and Almira Callista (Abbey) 
Gates, was born in Chicopee, Massachu- 



setts, September 11, 1856. After com- 
pleting public school courses and gradu- 
ating from Worcester Academy he began 
the study of dentistry under the instruc- 
tion of Dr. J. Searle Hurlburt, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. He remained under 
Dr. Hurlburt's preceptorship from 1872 
to 1877, then entered the Philadelphia 
Dental College whence he was graduated 
D. D. S., class of 1880. The same year he 
began the practice of his profession in 
Waterbur)', Connecticut, and there con- 
tinues until the present time (1916). The 
years have brought him professional fame 
and a clientele from among the leading 
families of his city, many of the names 
which appear in his earlier records being 
his patrons of to-day as well as their chil- 
dren and in several instances their grand- 
children. His reputation has spread far 
beyond local limits, where he is one of 
the oldest dental practitioners, and he is 
numbered among the leading New Eng- 
land members of his profession. 

Dr. Gates in his practice has kept pace 
v.ith modern professional advancement, 
and as dentistry has become both a sci- 
ence and a profession, requiring the skill 
of a physician and the anatomical knowl- 
edge of a surgeon in addition to the me- 
chanical expertness of a dentist, he has 
maintained his place in the foremost rank. 
He is a member of the New Haven Coun- 
ty, Connecticut State and National Dental 
societies, and is as highly esteemed among 
his professional brethren as by his cli- 
entele. He is a member of Harmony 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Waterbury, and is a Republican in poli- 
tics, neither seeking nor accepting public 
office but keenly alive to his duties as a 
citizen. His recreations are those of the 
out-of-doors, his two fast motor boats be- 
ing familiar sights on the Connecticut 
river at his summer home at East Had- 
dam. His clubs are the Hartford Yacht, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middletown Yacht and Waterbury Coun- 
try, and in all he is the interested popular 
member. 

Dr. Gates married Jessie Button Mor- 
ley, of Springfield, Massachusetts. Their 
only daughter, Almira Jennie, married 
James G. Smith, of Bay Side, Long 
Island, a business man of New York City. 

(The Abbey Line). 

In the town of Enfield, close to the 
spot where the ancestral Town Hall 
stood, is the Abbey Memorial, a tribute 
erected by twentieth century descendants 
to the memory of their forefathers, path- 
finders, soldiers and pioneer settlers of 
Connecticut, its Western Reserve in 
Ohio and the Great West. The statue 
surmounting the memorial is of Captain 
Thomas Abbey, born April ii, 1731, died 
June 3, 181 1. He was a son of Lieuten- 
ant Thomas Abbey, 1686-1759; grandson 
of John Abbey, 1612-90, the founder of 
this branch of the family in America. 
John Abbey sailed from London. Eng- 
land, in the "Bonaventure," January 2, 
1634, and was an early settler of \\'en- 
ham, Massachusetts. With his sons, 
John and Samuel, he settled in Wind- 
ham, Connecticut, in 1696-97, and from 
that branch sprang an illustrious family 
including Richard Abbey, 1682-1737, leg- 
islator; Joshua Abbey, 1710-1807, philan- 
thropist; Shuabel Abbey, 1744-1804, leg- 
islator; Henry Abbey, 1842-1911, poet; 
Edwin Austin Abbey, 1852-1911, painter; 
Cleveland Abbe, 1838, astronomer and 
meteorologist ; and his brother, Robert 
Abbe, 1850, surgeon. 

Thomas Abbey, born 1656, died 1728, 
son of John Abbey, the founder, was a 
soldier of King Philip's War in Captain 
Appleton's company at the taking of the 
Indian fort in the Great Swamp fight at 
Narragansett, Rhode Island, December 
19 1675. Hs "was one of the first settlers 



of Enfield, Connecticut, in 1683. He mar- 
ried, December 17, 1683, Sarah Fairfield, 
daughter of Walter Fairfield, representa- 
tive of Wenham in the General Court of 
Massachusetts, 1689, and granddaughter 
of John Fairfield, an original proprietor 
of Wenham. 

Lieutenant Thomas Abbey, born 1686, 
died 1759. son of Thomas and Sarah 
(Fairfield) Abbey, was a sergeant in 171 1, 
and lieutenant in 1712-13. He married, 
March 13, 171 5, Mary Pease, daughter of 
Captain John Pease, founder of Enfield 
and the father of the first white child born 
there, in 1683. Mary was a great-grand- 
daughter of Robert Pease, of the "Fran- 
cis," 1634; John Adams, of the "Fortune," 
1621 ; and of William Vassall, of the 
"Arabella," 1630, whose father, John Vas- 
sall, was commander of two ships against 
the Spanish Armada, 1588, and mem- 
ber of the Virginia company which 
founded Jamestown in 1607. 

Captain Thomas Abbey, born April 11, 
1731, died June 3, 181 1, son of Lieutenant 
Thomas and Mary (Pease) Abbey, was a 
soldier in the French and Indian wars. 
He took part in the capture of Fort Ti- 
conderoga in 1758 and the invasion of 
Canada, 1761, as corporal of the First 
Regiment Connecticut troops, May 25 to 
November 22, 1758, and as lieutenant in 
Captain Seth King's company, April i 
to December i, 1761. According to tra- 
dition he drummed the congregation out 
of the Enfield meeting house, on the Lex- 
ington Alarm in April, 1775; marched to 
the relief of Boston with the Enfield com- 
pany led by Major Nathaniel Terry and 
Captain John Simons, Jr., and was lieu- 
tenant in Captain Hezekiah Parson's 
company. On May 9, 1776, he was ap- 
pointed by the Connecticut General As- 
sembly first lieutenant in Captain Abel 
Pease's company, served under General 
Gates at Ticonderoga and vicinity. June 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



to November, 177O, and as adjutant of 
Chester's Connecticut State Regiment, 
June to December, 1776. Pie was com- 
missioned captain, January i, 1777; was 
appointed by the Committee of Safety, 
February i, 1777, to Colonel Samuel Wyl- 
iys's regiment in New Y'ork, a command 
he held until November 15, 1778. Captain 
Abbey married, June 22, 1749, Penelope 
Terry, born 1731, died 181 1, daughter of 
Dr. Ebenezer Terry, earliest physician of 
Enfield, granddaughter of Captain Samuel 
Terry, pioneer settler of Enfield, whose 
father. Sergeant Samuel Terry, came from 
Barnet, England, as apprentice to Wil- 
liam Pynchon, founder of Springfield. 
The first marriage recorded in Enfield 
was that of Captain Samuel Terry. ]\Iay 
17, 1682, to Hannah Morgan, daughter 
of Captain Miles Morgan, defender of 
Springfield against the Indians, October 
5, 1675. Penelope (Terry) Abbey was 
her father's pupil and assistant, Enfield's 
first woman doctor. Her obituary in the 
Hartford "Courant" states that she prac- 
ticed thirty-three years and was present 
at the birth of one thousand three hun- 
dred and eighty-nine children. She wel- 
comed into the world an entire generation 
of the inhabitants and is well worthy of 
commemoration. She was the mother of 
eleven children and left forty-five grand- 
children, fifty-two great-grandchildren 
and two great-great-grandchildren. At 
the time of her death, January 2. 1818. 
there were living one hundred and four 
descendants of Captain Thomas and 
Penelope (Terry) Abbey. From such 
illustrious ancestry came Almira G. 
(Abbey) Gates, wife of Henry Gates, and 
mother of Dr. Clarence E. Gates, of 
Waterbury. The generations descend- 
ing from Captain Thomas Abbey have 
been scarcely less illustrious, and in war, 
business, science, art and the professions 
have worthily upheld the family name 



which in direct and collateral line is asso- 
ciated with the most ancient and honor- 
able families of earliest New England, 
even tracing to John Vassall, who was a 
member of the Virginia company which 
founded Jamestown in 1607, the earliest 
English settlement in this country. 

The Abbey Memorial stands on the 
green opposite the Enfield Congregational 
Church on land donated forever by the 
town of Enfield. It consists of a marble 
statue of the Revolutionary soldier. Cap- 
tain Thomas Abbey, surrounded by four 
marble seats in the Greek style bearing 
inscriptions commemorating the achieve- 
ments of Captain Abbey and his descend- 
ants in the lines of literature, science 
and art. Its unveiling, November 4, 1916, 
was an event of national importance, six 
hundred members of the Abbey family 
being invited from all parts of the coun- 
try, two hundred and seventy-five mem- 
bers of the Cincinnati attending, with 
chapters of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution and Grand Army posts 
also among the guests. The memorial 
was presented by Mrs. Frances Maria 
Abbey Freeman and her children of East 
Orange, much of the work having been 
superintended by Allen B. Freeman, a 
son of the donor. 

Most of the Windham family cling to 
the ancient spelling "Abbe" which also 
prevails in Enfield to-day. Captain 
Thomas Abbey spelled his name Abbey 
as is shown by an autograph. His sons, 
Thomas, Peter and Simeon, in the an- 
nouncement of the dissolution of their 
partnership printed in the Hartford 
"Courant" of June, 1793, spelled the name 
Abbey. The obituary notice of Captain 
Abbey's widow in the "Courant," Janu- 
ary 18, 1818, also spelled the name Abbey, 
and the line herein recorded has used the 
same spelling for six consecutive gener- 
ations. 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ENDERS, John Ostrom, 

Financier, liegislator. 

The name of Enders has been promi- 
nently identified with financial affairs in 
the State of Connecticut for a long period, 
and John Ostrom Enders needs no in- 
troduction to Connecticut readers. The 
name is of ancient German origin, and is 
found at an early date in the State of 
Pennsylvania. John Jacob Enders, grand- 
father of Mr. Enders, was a native of New 
York State, a merchant residing at Glen, 
Montgomery county. New York, his wife, 
Relief (Ostrom) Enders, a descendant of 
an old Dutch family. They were the par- 
ents of Thomas Ostrom Enders, who was 
born September 21, 1832, in Glen, and 
died June 21, 1894, in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut. In youth he worked on the farm of 
his grandfather, and started out at the 
age of seventeen years to make his way 
amid scenes far removed from his native 
home. By industry and determination he 
succeeded, and died with honors and in 
the enjoyment of a handsome fortune 
which had been accumulated by his own 
eft'orts. On leaving home he went to 
Meriden, Connecticut, and there supple- 
mented the education of the country 
schools by attendance at the Meriden 
Academy. In the meantime he pursued 
such employment as a youth of his age 
could perform, and later removed to New 
Haven, where he was engaged as a clerk 
in the dry goods store of George Rice & 
Company, where his early manifestation 
of the habits of diligence, initiative and 
trustworthiness gained for him speedy 
advancement. Returning to Meriden, he 
engaged with Curtis L. North, first agent 
of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, 
and was with John C. North of the New 
Haven Insurance Company, continuing 
three years as a solicitor, following which 
he rertioved to New York City and en 
tered the employ of the Avery Sewing 



Machine Company. He had in the mean- 
time attracted the attention of the secre- 
tary of the Aetna Life Insurance Com- 
pany, who induced him to return to Con- 
necticut and enter the office of the com- 
pany in Hartford as a clerk. This was in 
1854, and four years later, when only 
twenty-six years of age, he was made 
secretary of the company, in which ca- 
pacity he continued for a period of 
eighteen years, and in 1872 was elected 
president of the company. Mr. Enders 
was indefatigable in his efforts to build 
up the business, and he had the satisfac- 
tion of seeing it grow under his manage- 
ment until the company's asets were $25,- 
000,000. When he entered its employ in 
1854 the assets were $175,000. Such was 
his zeal and devotion to the interests of 
this institution, that by 1879 his health 
had been impaired, making it necessary 
for him to resign the presidency, though 
he continued as a member of the board 
of directors for many years. In 1881 he 
was induced to accept the presidency of 
the United States Trust Company whose 
stock at that time was quoted at eighty. 
The name was changed to the United 
States Bank of Hartford, and Mr. Enders 
gave this institution the same persistent 
intelligently directed efforts that had 
characterized his career in the insurance 
world, with the result that when he de- 
clined reelection in 1891 it was far in ad- 
vance of other banks in the city in per- 
centage of surplus, value of shares and 
ratio of deposits to capital. Mr. Enders 
was never a politician, yet he always took 
an active interest in public affairs, and 
was elected from West Hartford on the 
Republican ticket as a member of the 
General Assembly, where he served from 
1889 to 1891 on the committees on appro- 
priations and banks. Mr. Enders' financial 
interests grew with the years, and he was 
identified in an official capacity with many 
important financial organizations, of which 



48 





^/^7:>^^^' 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



maybe mentioned the following: He was 
a director of the Aetna (Fire) Insurance 
Company; Hartford Steam Boiler Inspec- 
tion and Insurance Company ; Society for 
Savings; Dime Savings Bank; Aetna 
Life Insurance Company, and Phoenix 
Life Insurance Company. He was a 
member of St. Johns Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Hartford. 

Mr. Enders married, December 29, 
1858, Harriet Adelaide, daughter of Den- 
nis and Harriet (Sloane) Burnham, born 
March 12, 1835, died August 7, 1901. She 
was a direct descendant of Thomas Burn- 
ham, who was born in England in 1617, 
and whose name is recorded in Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1649, as bondsman for his 
servant Rushmore "that he should carry 
good behavior." Mr. Burnham was a 
lawyer, became a large land owner and 
was one of the prominent citizens of 
Hartford. To Thomas O. Enders and 
wife the following children were born : 
Harry, deceased ; Harriet Burnham, de- 
ceased ; Dr. Thomas B., of Noank, Con- 
necticut ; John Ostrom, mentioned below. 
Mr. Enders was indebted to no conditions 
of environment or circumstance for the 
prominent position he attained in the 
business world. He rose because of his 
own sterling character, his splendid men- 
tal endowment, and an indomitable en- 
ergy and will. He was of generous na- 
ture, but modest, unassuming and refined. 
He was frank and open, and his genial 
personality won multitudes of friends. 

John Ostrom Enders was born Decem- 
ber 3. 1869, in Hartford, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools of West Hart- 
ford, and at Phillips' Exeter Academy. 
His entire banking career has been in 
association with the United States Bank 
of Hartford, which he entered as a young 
man and remained with until 1894, when 
he resigned his position. His fine busi- 
ness talents have been called to the serv- 

Conn— 2— 4 49 



ice of several leading Hartford institu- 
tions. In the spring of 1915 he was elected 
vice-president of the United States Bank. 
He is a director in the Aetna Life Insur- 
ance Company ; Hartford Steam Boiler 
Inspection and Insurance Company ; Dime 
Savings Bank ; trustee of the Society for 
Savings, and during the existance of the 
Charter Oak Bank under that name was 
for several years a director. He is a 
director of the Hartford Retreat ; trustee 
of the Dime Savings Bank and has other 
business interests of importance. While 
like his father in no sense a politician, he 
has been similarly honored and repre- 
sented the town of West Hartford in the 
Connecticut General Assembly during the 
session of 1899, serving on the finance 
committee. 

He is affiliated with Wyllys Lodge, No. 
99, Free and Accepted Masons, of which 
body he was for many years treasurer ; 
is a companion of Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; a Sir Knight of 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar ; member of the Society of Colonial 
Wars ; vestryman of St. John's Protes- 
tant Episcopal Church, and is a member 
of Phi Kappa Delta, Phillips Exeter 
Academy Chapter. Mr. Enders holds a 
high place in the esteem of Hartford 
financiers and possesses those personal 
qualities that win universal respect and 
royal friendships. 

Mr. Enders married. June 12. 1895, 
Harriet Goulden Whitmore. They have 
the following children : John Franklin, 
Harriet Burnham, Ostrom and Elvia. 



HUNTINGTON, Rev. John Taylor, 
D. D., 

Clergyman. 

Xow rector emeritus of St. James' Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church, Hartford, Rev. 
John Taylor Huntington reviews a life 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of eighty-five years, nearly sixty of which 
have been spent in the Christian ministry. 
He descends from distinguished ancestry, 
the Huntingtons of Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, numbering in their family connection 
men of eminence in the professions, in 
public life, and in business, a signer of 
the Declaration of Independence, and 
many noted military men. The Enoch 
Huntingtons were the immediate pro- 
genitors ; father, grandfather and great- 
grandfather, all professional men, and two 
of them ministers of Christ, the third an 
eminent lawyer. From his honored sires 
Rev. John T. Huntington inherited his 
scholarly intellectual tastes, and inspired 
by their example he fitted himself to fol- 
low the sacred profession. He is the 
oldest pastor in the city and has the dis- 
tinction of serving as rector and rector 
emeritus of the parish he organized as a 
Sunday school nearly half a century ago. 
His record of service is unusual, not only 
in length of years, but in the value of 
that service to his fellow men and to the 
cause he loves. Since his ordination in 
1853 he has been continuously engaged in 
ministerial work although for several 
years he had no stated parish, occupying 
a professor's chair at Trinity College. 
But during that period he preached everj 
Sunday, was engaged in Sunday school 
work, and even when regularly settled 
over St. James' parish as rector, engaged 
in missionary and Sunday school work 
beyond the confines of his own parish. 
His work has been blessed with abundant 
results, his sheaves are many, and in all 
things he merits the approval of all who 
are in sympathy with the consecrated 
purpose of a holy life. His wife, a de- 
voted Christian woman of large inherited 
wealth, was in complete sympathy with 
her husband's work and was a blessed 
helpmeet. Her liberal means enabled her 
husband to give his consecrated services 
without compensation and all his years of 



labor have been without salary. His 
whole life has been devoted to the service 
of mankind and now in its late evening 
he has no regrets save that he has not 
been able to accomplish more. 

Rev. John Taylor Huntington, D. D., 
was born at New Milford, Connecticut, 
January 30, 1830, son of Rev. Enoch 
and Charlotte (Taylor) Huntington, his 
mother a niece of Nathaniel Taylor, of 
Yale College. Rev. Enoch Huntington, 
born at Middletown, Connecticut, was a 
graduate of Yale, and on entering the 
ministry was originally a Congregation- 
alist. He was first stationed at New Mil- 
ford, where he was annually elected pas- 
tor for twenty-one years, annual elections 
then being the law of the church. He 
then became a clergyman of the Protes- 
tant Episcopal church, and was rector of 
the New Milford church until about ten 
years before his death at the age of seven- 
ty-five. Rev. Enoch Huntington was a 
son of Enoch Huntington, of Middle- 
town, one of the most eminent lawyers of 
his day. Enoch Huntington was a son of 
another Rev. Enoch Huntington, a clergy- 
man of the Congregational church who 
for half a century was settled over the 
church at Middletown, Connecticut. Mrs. 
Charlotte (Taylor) Huntington died in 
1895, aged eighty-eight years, the mother 
of seven children. 

John Taylor Huntington attended the 
intermediate and high schools of New 
Milford, Connecticut, then entered Trin- 
ity College, Hartford, whence he was 
graduated, valedictorian, class of 1850. 
He hearkened to the Divine command 
"go thou and preach My Gospel," and 
after graduation from Trinity entered the 
General Theological Seminary of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church at New 
York, whence he was graduated in 1853. 
He was regularly ordained a priest, and 
began his holy calling as assistant to the 
rector of St. James' Episcopal Church at 



50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Philadelphia, serving- for three years. In 
1856 he was settled as rector over St. 
John's Church at New Haven, continuing 
a successful pastorate of six years. In 
1863 and 1864 he was rector of the Great 
Barrington Episcopal Church, retiring 
from the ministry in 1864 to accept the 
Greek chair at his abiia niatrr. Trinity 
College. 

In 1866 he organized, with the assist- 
ance of a number of Trinity students as 
teachers, a Sunday school which grew 
into the "Church of the Incarnation" of 
which Rev. Huntington was spiritual 
head until 1870 when a rector was set- 
tled over the infant church. In 1878 he 
resigned the professorship in Trinity and 
returned to the ministry as rector of the 
Church of the Incarnation, the name, 
however, being then changed to St. 
James' Church. He continued in that 
capacity until weight of years compelled 
him to abandon active clerical work. His 
successor, Rev. E. C. Thomas, was in- 
stalled over the church in 1913. and since 
then as rector emeritus he continued in 
close relation to the parish, the outgrowth 
of the little Sunday school he established 
in 1866. In addition to his regular cleri- 
cal duties he constantly engaged in mis- 
sionary work, was in charge of Christ 
Church, West Hartford, for three years, 
took a deep interest in Sunday school 
work, serving as superintendent of that 
branch of St. James'. The parish pros- 
pered, grew in numbers and in spiritual- 
ity, becoming one of the strong forces for 
righteousness in Hartford. 

The devoted rector of a large and grow- 
ing parish could well plead that his time 
was fully occupied, but Rev. Huntington 
gave himself unreservedly to all forms of 
Christian service. Missions and Sunday 
schools were generously aided, and when 
there was a demand for his services from 
the Children's Aid Society of the State of 



Connecticut he generously responded and 
for twenty years has been president of 
that institution. He is also chaplain of 
the Church Home of Hartford. His col- 
lege fraternity is yVlpha Delta Phi. In 
19 1 3 Trinity College, his abiia mater, con- 
ferred upon him the honorary degree of 
Doctor of Divinity. 

Dr. Huntington married at Norwich, 
Connecticut, in 1856, Elizabeth T. Wil- 
liams, who died in 1887, aged fifty-six 
years, daughter c^f Erastus and Elizabeth 
(Tracy) Williams, her father a woolen 
manufacturer of Norwich. Children : 
Harwood, a graduate of Trinity College, 
now rector of a church at Hot Springs, 
Arkansas ; Charlotte E., wife of Frederick 
J. Alexander, of Hartford. 

Now in the "sere and yellow leaf" Dr. 
Huntington preserves that sweetness of 
disposition, that true humility and sim- 
plicity of character which has ever won 
men's hearts and is a living exemplifica- 
tion of the Christian graces. As he nears 
his journey's end his confidence and trust 
in the Saviour he loves so well and has 
served so faithfully g^rows stronger, and 
he can say with the Apostle Paul: "I 
have fought a good fight ; I have finished 
my course ; I have kept the faith ; hence- 
forth there is laid up for me a crown of 
righteousness which the Lord the right- 
eous Judge shall give me at that day.'' 



FIELD, Charles Henry, 

Retired Governmeut Official. 

The greatest differences and changes 
made in a national life are those im- 
pressed by conquest. The history of 
England shows three distinct and marked 
epoches, the moving factors in the forma- 
tion of which have been the conquests — 
Roman, Saxon and Norman. Of these the 
greatest was the last for the reason that 
it brought, of course with its complement 



51 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of suffering-, the greatest good, namely the 
higher civilization of the continent which 
it literally forced on unwilling England. 
The tyranical impression of the French 
language, customs, manners and modes of 
life, cruel as it was, was an influence, the 
effect of which on the later history of 
England cannot be overestimated, with- 
out it the England of to-day would have 
been impossible. At the time of the Nor- 
man invasion of England a vast number 
of Norman-French crossed the channel in 
the wake of William the Conqueror to 
take up permanent abode. After Has- 
tings, the Conqueror despoiled the native 
rulers of their domains, instituting the 
feudal system of land tenure which di- 
vided the newly acquired land among 
those of his followers whose military 
services and rank merited it. One of his 
nobles who came to England in 1066 and 
received large grants of land was Sir 
Hubertus de la Feld, the first ancestor of 
the Field family of which Charles Henry 
Field is a member, whose record has been 
found. Fie belonged to the family Counts 
de la Feld, who have been traced back to 
about the sixth century. On account of 
the wars between the English and French 
during the fourteenth century, and the 
hatred of all things French which grew 
to such intensity in that period, the Eng- 
lish family dropped the "de la" from the 
name, which from that time on was 
written Field. 

(I) Probably because of the unrest and 
upheaval, the conflagration and carnage 
rampant in England after the Conquest, 
it is impossible to find public records of 
the descendants of Sir Hubertus de la 
Feld for a period of time extending from 
1066 to about 1240, when Roger Del Feld 
was born in Sowerly, England. 

(II) His son, Thomas Del Feld, was 
born in the same place about 1278. 

(IID John Del Feld. son of Thomas 



Del Feld. was born in Sowerly, England, 
in 1300. His name is incorporated in the 
Wakefield Manor rolls in the years 1326, 
1334 and 1336. 

(IV) His son, Thomas Del Feld, was 
born in Sowerly in 1330. He was a man 
of importance in the town and several 
times held public office. There is record 
of his having hired Sowerly mill in 1380 
with a partner. Mention is also made in 
records of his wife Annabelle. The name 
last appears on the Wakefield Manor rolls 
in 1 391. 

(V) Thomas Del Felde, son of Thomas 
and Annabelle Del Feld, was born in 
1360. His wife was Isabel Del Felde. 
He died in 1429, possessed of an estate 
of which he disposed by will. 

(VI) W^illiam Felde, son of Thomas 
and Isabel Del Felde, was probably born 
in Bradford where his father had a villa. 
He died in April. 1480, and his wife Kath- 
erine, as administratrix of his estate, was 
granted letters of administration on April 
21. 1480. 

(VII) William Felde. son of William 
and Katherine Felde, was born in Brad- 
ford and resided in East Ardsley. 

(VIII) His eldest son. Richard Felde. 
was probably born at East Ardsley. He 
was a farmer by occupation. His wife 
was Elizabeth Felde. Richard Felde died 
in December, 1542. 

(IX) John Field, son of Richard and 
Elizabeth Felde, was born in East Ards- 
ley about 1525, and died in May, 1587. 
In 1560 he married Jane, daughter of 
John Amyas, of Kent. She died on Au- 
gust 30, 1609. John Field was the first 
man in England to make known the dis- 
coveries of Copernicus. His first "Ephe- 
meris" was published in 1557, and in the 
next year another computed for the years 
1558-59-60 appeared. These are preserved 
in the British Museum and in the Bodlein 
Library in Oxford University. His writ- 



s' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BlOGRAl'H^' 



ings indicate that John Field was a man 
of considerable mentality and unusual 
t-ducation in the classics for his day. 

(X) John Field, son of John and Jane 
(Amyas) Field, was born in Ardsley 
about 1568. 11 c evidently left his native 
town at an early age, for no mention is 
made of him in his father's will, and little 
record of him has been found. 

(XI) His son, Zechariah Field, was 
born at East Ardsley, Yorkshire, in 1596. 
He was the first of the ancestors of the 
Field family to come to America, and was 
among the very earliest colonists of Mas- 
sachusetts, settling in Dorchester. He 
arrived in Boston, in 1629. In 1636 he 
removed to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
settled on Sentinel hill, which is now the 
north end of Main street. He also owned 
land through which Asylum street now 
runs. Zechariah Field was one of the 
forty-two men from Hartford who took 
part in the Pequot War. He removed to 
Northampton. Massachusetts, in 1659, 
where he engaged in mercantile pursuits, 
carrying on a large trade with the In- 
dians. He was one of the twenty-five 
persons who agreed to settle in what is 
now Hatfield, and was a member of the 
committee selected to lay out the lands. 
He engaged in business there until his 
death on June 30, 1666. 

(XII) His son, Samuel I'^ield, sergeant, 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, about 
165 1. He held many town offices, and 
was prominent and influential in public 
affairs. On August 9, 1676, he married 
Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Cath- 
erine (Chapin) Gilbert, of Springfield. 
He was a sergeant at the Turner's Fall 
fight on May 19, 1676. On June 24, 
1697, while hoeing corn in the Hatfield 
meadows, he was massacred by Indians. 

(XIII) Thomas Field, son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Gilbert) Field, was born in 
Hatfield, Massachusetts, June 30, 1680. 
He married, October 4, 1713, Abigail, 



daughter of 1 lezekiah and Abigail (Black- 
man) Dickinson. She was born Decem- 
ber 8, 1690, and died June 20, 1775. About 
1728 Thomas Field removed to Long- 
meadow, Massachusetts, where he died 
on I'^bruary i, 1747. 

(XIV) Dr. Simeon Field, son of Thom- 
as and Abigail (Dickinson) Field, was 
born in Longmeadow, Massachusetts, 
April 25, 1731. On December 29, 1763, 
he married Margaret, daughter of Rev. 
Peter and Elizabeth Reynolds. She was 
born July 16, 1742, and died February 9, 
1796. Simeon Field was a graduate of 
Yale University, where he took a degree 
as a physician. He located in Enfield, 
Connecticut, and here developed a large 
practice and won a wide reputation for 
his skill. He also kept a tavern which a 
few years ago was still standing, and was 
known as the old Field Tavern. During 
the Revolutionary War he was the most 
important citizen in his town. 

(XV) Dr. Edward Field, son of Dr. 
Simeon and Margaret (Reynolds) Field, 
was born at Enfield, Connecticut, July i, 
1777. He was a graduate of the Medical 
School of Yale University and practiced 
his profession in Waterbur>' from the 
year 1800 up to the time of his death, 
November 17, 1840. He began his studies 
at home under the preceptorship of his 
father and completed them under Dr. 
Cogswell at Hartford. In 1799 he was 
commissioned as surgeon's mate in the 
navy and started on a three years' cruise 
for the East Indies. The ship was dis- 
masted in a storm, and in helping to sub- 
due the sailors, who had mutinied, Dr. 
Field was wounded in the right wrist. 
The voyage was given up within a year, 
and the experience cured Dr. Field of any 
longing he may have had for a life on 
the ocean wave. 

(XVI) Henry Baldwin Field, son of 
Dr. Edward Field, was born in Water- 
bury, Connecticut, January 11, 181 1. Un- 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



til he was nearly forty years old he re- 
sided in Waterbury and New Haven. He 
was one of the forty-niners, and went to 
California in the days of the gold rush, 
returning to Waterbury in 1851. In 1855 
he became secretary and treasurer of the 
Waterbury Gas Light Company, and 
managed the company most successfully 
until July, 1883. He was a man of in- 
dustry, perseverance and the highest 
moral principles. He Avas sound in busi- 
ness judgment and commanded the re- 
spect and esteem of all who were brought 
in contact with him. He retired from 
active business life in 1883. On June 14. 
1836, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of 
Captain Francis and Content (Mix) Bulkley 
Of their children two grew to maturity : 
Francis Bulkley. who was born Septem- 
ber 16, 1843, ^^^ married Ella Scovill 
Cooke, and Charles Henry, who is men- 
tioned at length later. Henry Baldwin 
Field died on January i, 1892. 

(XVII) Charles Henry Field, son of 
Henry Baldwin and Sarah Ann (Bulk- 
ley) Field, was born in Baltimore, March 
2T, 1849, where his father was engaged 
in a mercantile business until he went 
to California. While he was yet a child 
his parents moved to Waterbury, where 
he began his education in a private school, 
finishing at the New Haven Business Col- 
lege in 1865. When he was seventeen 
years of age, he became a clerk in the 
Waterbury National Bank afterward em- 
ployed with the Elton Banking Company 
for about two years. He then went to 
Rio de Janeiro. Brazil, as secretary of an 
artificial ice company. The venture 
proved a failure, owing to insuflficient 
capital. Mr. Field became ill with yellow 
fever, which was prevalent in that section 
of the country and until recent years has 
been uncontrollable. W^hen he had re- 
covered suf^ciently to make travelling 
possible, he left for the United States, 
having spent one and one-half years on 



the Southern Continent. During General 
Grant's administration he was appointed 
an assistant assessor under the Treasury 
Department, and continued in that ca- 
pacity until 1872, when he became a teller 
in the Mercantile National Bank of Hart- 
ford. Connecticut. He devoted his un- 
divided attention to his duties, looking 
after details carefully, with the result 
that he won advancement from time to 
time, finally reaching the post of cashier. 
This position he held until 1890, when he 
became associated with the Aetna Na- 
tional Bank of Hartford, remaining with 
that instituion until 1893. when he re- 
signed to become agent and inspector of 
the government stamped envelope agency, 
the output of stamped envelopes and mail- 
ing wrappers then totaling about three 
millions a day. He held this position un- 
til October. 1903, since which time he has 
1)een retired. 

Until the campaign of James G. Blaine 
for the presidency, Mr. Field had always 
been a Republican. Finding that he could 
not morally agree with the principles of 
the party at that time, nor support their 
candidate, he became identified with the 
independent movement which elected 
Grover Cleveland in 1884. He was also 
an enthusiastic supporter of Mr. Cleve- 
land in the campaigns of 1888 and 1892. 
During President Cleveland's second ad- 
ministration Mr. Field was appointed to 
his position in the government stamped 
envelope agency at Hartford. 

On September 20, 1871, Mr. Field mar- 
ried Elizabeth Rockwell, daughter of 
Charles I. Tremaine, of Hartford. She 
was born at Kinderhook, New York, 
July 22. 1851. They have two sons: i. 
Edward Bronson, born April 27, 1872; 
he was educated in the Hartford High 
School ; he is now connected with the 
Travelers Insurance Company as State 
manager in the Compensation Depart- 
ment : he married Katharine Ames. 



54 



I T" 



1 



vv 



d 





r 



z^a^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Daniel A. Kimball, of Stock- 
bridge ; they have two children, Treniaine 
Kimball and Eleanor. 2. Francis I^lli- 
ott, born July 21, 1873; ^^ ^V'^s educated 
in the public schools and in the Hartford 
Classical School ; for several years he has 
been connected with the Aetna Life In- 
surance Company ; he married Anna Ma- 
bel, daughter of Dr. William B. Dun- 
ning, of Hartford ; they have two chil- 
dren, Louise Bancroft and Francis Bulk- 
ley. 

Since the year 1903, when he retired 
from active business life, Charles H. 
Field has continued in the position of 
respect and honor in the eyes of all Hart- 
ford to which he attained by his service 
of many years for the government and 
the people. He is a member of the Na- 
tional Geographic Society, American Free 
Trade League, Connecticut Civil Service 
Reform Association, Connecticut Peace 
Society, Connecticut Forestry Associ- 
ation, and is the president of the board 
of trustees of the First Unitarian Con- 
gregational Society of Hartford. 



MERRIMAN, William Buckingham, 

Financier, Man of Enterprise. 

One of the old New England families 
that has maintained a high position in the 
regard of the community throughout the 
length of the history of that part of the 
world, ?nd won distinction in the persons 
of its vr- ous representatives, is that of 
Merriman, whose residence in Connecti- 
cut has lasted from the early Colonial 
period to the present, and in the course 
of which those that bear the name and 
the name itself have come most closely 
to be identified with the life and traditions 
of the State. The name itself is a very 
ancient one and. as is generally true in 
such cases, is found spelled in a number 
of different ways. We often find that two 
branches of a family, both of which can 



trace their ancestry indubitably to the 
same source, will spell the name quite 
differently as in the case of two lines of 
descent from Joseph Merriam, of Con- 
cord, one of which spells the name as 
their progenitor and the other Merriman. 
These and Meriam are difterent forms of 
the same name, although in the branch 
with the members of which this sketch is 
concerned Merriman has been the form 
back to the founder of the house in Con- 
necticut. This w^as Captain Nathaniel 
Merriman, one of the first settlers of the 
old town of Wallingford, a man of parts, 
a property owner and influential in the 
community. From him William Bucking- 
ham Merriman, the distinguished gentle- 
man wdiose name heads this brief article. 
is descended in the ninth generation. 

William Buckingham Merriman, whose 
death at Waterbury, Connecticut, on 
April t8, 1916, was felt as a great loss in 
that community and especially in the 
financial and banking world, exhibited in 
his own character and personality the 
sterling virtues for which his ancestors 
were remarkable and which were the 
cause of their occupying for so long a 
period the position that they have in the 
community. His father, Charles Buck- 
ingham Merriman, was a native of Water- 
town, Connecticut, but lived the major 
part of his life in Waterbury, in the 
aflfairs of which he was one of the most 
influential figures. He was one of most 
prominent merchants and manufacturers 
of his day and did a great deal towards 
the development of Waterbury, being a 
dominant factor in several of the largest 
industrial and financial concerns in the 
city. The part he played in public affairs 
also was large and he held many offices, 
being for a number of years a member of 
the Common Council of the city and at 
one time the mayor thereof. His wife, 
Avho was a Miss Margaret Field, a native 
of Waterbury, born March 12, 181 7, was 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married to him June 30, 1841, and they 
became the parents of six children as fol- 
lows: Charlotte Buckingham, born Au- 
gust 21, 1843; Sarah Morton, August 7, 
1845; Helen, January 19, 1848; Margaret 
Field, March 16, 1850, married Dr. Frank 
E. Castle, of Bethany ; William Bucking- 
ham, mentioned at length below ; and 
Edward P'ield, September i, 1854. 

The birth of William Buckingham Mer- 
riman occurred in Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, June II, 1853, the city which con- 
tinued to remain his home until the end 
of his active life. His education was 
gained chiefly at the Episcopal Academy 
at Cheshire, Connecticut, which he at- 
tended for a number of years. He was 
an apt student and painstaking, and in 
the years that he was at this excellent in- 
stitution he gained a splendid general 
education. He did not enter college, 
through trouble with his eyes, but after 
completing his studies at Cheshire at once 
started upon his business career. For a 
time in his early youth he was associated 
with the firm of Benedict, Merriman & 
Company, from which he went to the 
Scovill Manufacturing Company, remain- 
ing there for several years. Mr. Merri- 
man was greatly interested from early 
manhood in the subject of banking, and 
made a considerable study of its prob- 
lems and methods. It was, therefore, 
with great pleasure that he accepted an 
ofifer made to him by the Waterbury Na- 
tional Bank to become its teller. In this 
new position his talents were displayed to 
their best advantage and he was advanced 
to the office of assistant cashier and then 
became one of the board of directors. He 
was also connected with the Dime Sav- 
ings Institution of Waterbury, and was 
one of its trustees. 

There were very few aspects of the 
life of the community in which Mr. Mer- 
riman did not play a leading part. Espe- 
cially was this true in the case of the 



social and club activities and all move- 
ments undertaken for the benefit of the 
community. He was one of the strongest 
advocates of the founding of the Country 
Club of Waterbury, and at the time of its 
organization was a charter member. He 
was also a member of the Waterbury 
Club and the Home Club, a charter mem- 
ber of the Farmington Club and belonged 
to the local lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. Politically he 
was a Republican, as his father before 
him had been, and a staunch supporter of 
the principles and policies for which that 
party stands. For the major part of his 
life, however, he did not take any active 
part in political affairs and was entirely 
without ambition for public office. In 
1912, however, during that three-cornered 
campaign resulting in the split of the Re- 
publican party into Progressives and 
those who continued to bear the old 
name, Mr. Merriman was persuaded by a 
very strong popular pressure to accept 
the nomination for congressman. The 
year was a Democratic one, Woodrow 
W^ilson being elected to the presidency, 
and Mr. Merriman was defeated with the 
remainder of his associates, running well 
ahead of his ticket, however. Mr. Merri- 
man was affiliated with the Episcopal 
church and was a member of St. John's 
parish in Waterbur}-, a member of the 
vestry for a number of years. He was 
active in the church work and liberally 
supported its philanthropic activities and 
the charities connected therewith. 

In St. John's Episcopal Church, at 
Waterbury. on November 17. 1886, Mr. 
Merriman was united in marriage with 
Sarah Kingsbury- Parsons, a native of that 
city, born November 30, 1864, and a daugh- 
ter of Guernsey S. and Eliza Jane (Brown) 
Parsons. Mr. Parsons came originally 
from Durham. Connecticut, where he had 
spent the greater part of his youth and 
young manhood, coming to Waterbury 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



when he was about twenty-five years of 
age. Mrs. Merriman died in Waterbury, 
January i8, 1915, she and Mr. Merriman 
having become the parents of two chil- 
dren, both sons, as follows: Buckingham 
Parsons and William Buckingham, Jr. 
The elder, Buckingham Parsons Merri- 
man, was born August 18, 1887, at Water- 
bury. He gained the preliminary portion 
of his education at the Pomfret School, 
Connecticut, and after completing his 
studies there, matriculated at Yale Uni- 
versity. At first he took the academic 
courses, proving himself an excellent 
scholar and winning the favorable notice 
of his instructors. He graduated with 
the class of 1910 and shortly afterwards 
entered the Law School of the same uni- 
versity. Here, also, he distinguished him- 
self and was very active in his class's 
interests, a member of the board of the 
Yale Law Journal and of the Law School 
honorary fraternity of Chi Tau Kappa. 
Upon his graduation in 1914 he added the 
degree of LL. B., cum laude in recog- 
nition of his scholarship to the B. A. of 
his academic course. In 1915, he received 
the degree of M. A. His father was a 
member of the Connecticut societies of 
Colonial Wars and the Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution and of these the son is 
now also a member. The second son, 
William Buckingham Merriman, Jr., died 
March 19, 191 5. 



PRESTON, Edward Verrance, 

Civil War Veteran, Insurance Official. 

Major Edward Verrance Preston, gen- 
eral manager of agencies of The Travelers 
Insurance Company of Hartford, is one 
of the best known insurance men in Con- 
necticut, his native State. He was born 
June I, 1837, in Willington, son of Joshua 
and Caroline (Eldredge) Preston. Major 
Preston was born under the handicap 
of having to maintain the prestige of a 



distinguished ancestry, which has been 
traced back through a number of families 
to early Colonial days. Major Preston 
has made good, not only as a volun- 
teer when the unity of the nation was 
threatened, but in the more peaceful paths 
of business, and as a worker in the cause 
of religion, in which his family through 
many generations has been prominent. 

The Prestons have been in Connecticut 
for many generations, and prior to locat- 
ing in this State were early settlers of 
Masaschusetts. He also traces to Elder 
Thomas Dimock, Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, 1635 5 Lieutenant Abel Wright, to 
whom a "homlot" was granted in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, 1-2-1665 ; Zoeth El- 
dredge, a soldier in the Revolution from 
Willington, Connecticut ; Samuel Hinck- 
ley, of Scituate, in 1635, whose descend- 
ants were patriots of the Revolution. The 
list of Revolutionary soldiers published 
by Connecticut shows twenty-five repre- 
sentatives of the Preston family of Con- 
necticut in the service. Another ancestor 
was Deacon Joseph Huntington, of Nor- 
wich. The Preston family is one of the 
oldest in New England, and the surname 
Preston is of great antiquity in North 
Britain. It was assumed by the family 
from territorial possessions in Mid-Lothi- 
an, in the time of Malcolm, King of Scots. 
Leophus de Preston, of the time of Wil- 
liam the Lion, in 1040, was grandfather 
of Sir William de Preston, one of the 
Scotch noblemen summoned to Berwick 
by Edward I. in the competition for the 
crown of Scotland between Bruce and 
Baliol, the division having been referred 
to Edward. After the death of Alexander 
HI., in 1291, this Sir William de Preston 
was succeeded by his son, Nicol de Pres- 
ton, one of the Scottish barons, who swore 
fealty to Edward T. He died in the be- 
ginning of the reign of David II., of Scot- 
land, son of Robert Bruce, and was suc- 
ceeded by his, son. Sir Lawrence de 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Preston, who was seated at Preston in 
Westmoreland in the time of Henry 
II. Sir Richard de Preston, fifth in 
descent from the above Richard de 
Preston, represented the county of West- 
moreland in Parliament in the seven- 
teenth year of Edward III. His son, Rich- 
ard de Preston, had likewise the honor of 
being knight of the shire of Westmore- 
land in the same reign, 27th Edward III., 
and in the same year, 1368, obtained 
license to embark five hundred acres. His 
successor was Sir John de Preston, of 
Preston Richard and Preston Patrick, 
and was a member of Parliament for 
Westmoreland in the thirty-sixth, thirty- 
ninth and forty-sixth years of Edward II. 
His son Richard had no male issue. His 
son John was judge of the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas in the reigns of Henry IV. 
and VI., and retired from the bench in 
consequence of great age, in 1427. Chil- 
dren of Judge John : Rev. John ; Richard, 
his heir, and a daughter. The American 
families are undoubtedly descended from 
some branch of this family. The Connec- 
ticut family has been traced to George 
Preston, of Valley Field, who was created 
a baron of Nova Scotia in 1537, through 
his son William, who died April 23, 1585 : 
his son John ; his son William, the Con- 
necticut immigrant, came in 1635, died in 
1639, leaving land in Yorkshire, whence 
he had come to this countrv. 

Roger Preston was born in England in 
1614. In 1635, at the age of tw^enty-one 
years, he took the oath of allegiance in 
London, and sailed for America in the 
ship "Elizabeth," April 8, 1635, William 
Stagg, master. His name first appears as 
a resident of Ipswich in 1630. His wife, 
Martha, whom he married in 1642, was 
born in 1622. In 1657 they removed to 
Salem, Massachusetts, where he died Jan- 
uary 20, 1666. Martha, his widow, mar- 
ried (second) Nicholas Holt, of Andover, 
where she resided thereafter, taking her 



sons, Samuel, John and Jacob Preston, 
with her. She died at Andover, March 
21, 1703. Roger Preston was a tanner by 
trade. His son, Samuel Preston, was born 
1651, at Ipswich, and settled in Andover 
with his mother. He married (first) May 
2^, 1671, Susanna Gutterson, who died 
December 29, 1710. Their fourth child. 
Jacob, was born February 24, 1680-81, 
and in 1723-24 we find him in Windham, 
Connecticut, at which time he united with 
the church of Canada Parish. He mar- 
ried, June 2, 1702, Sarah Wilson. Their 
son, Benjamin Preston, the ancestor of 
the Willington Prestons, was born in 
April or May, 1705. He married. May 5, 
1727, Deborah Holt, of Canada Pari.sh, 
Windham covmty. He and his wife died 
within the same hour, November 26, 1784, 
and were buried in the same grave. Theif 
son, Darius Preston, was born at Willing- 
ton Hollow, in 1 73 1, and died there, May 
30, 1821. His powder horn, dated 1771. 
is now in Major Preston's possession. He 
married. November 15, T759, Hannah 
Fisk, who died January \2. 181 3. Their 
son, Amos Preston, born February 8, 
1782, was the youngest of eleven children, 
and died October 6, 1864. He married, 
September 4, 1803. Martha ("Patty") 
Taylor, who was born February 8, 1782. 
and died December 7, i860 Her father. 
Thomas Taylor, died April 5, 1815, aged 
sixty-three years. Joshua Preston, son of 
Amos and Martha (Taylor) Preston, was 
born July 15, 1813, the youngest of six 
children. He learned the trade of tanner, 
and was for many years foreman at the 
tannery owned by his eldest brother, the 
late Hon. S. T. Preston. For a time he 
was the proprietor of a hotel in the vil- 
lage of Westford, Connecticut, and also 
owned the Lincoln tannerv'. He was a 
stanch Democrat, but was indifferent to 
the lure of political office. He was de- 
cided in his opinions and outspoken, espe- 
cially on the temperance question, and 



58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was one of the first to identify himself 
with the temperance movement, which he 
believed went well with the Christian 
principles he professed. He was a mem- 
ber of the Baptist church at Willington, 
and was quite an accomplished player on 
the double-bass viol, with which he fur- 
nished music at the meetings of the 
church. In 1857 he became foreman for 
P. Jewell & Sons, tanners, of Hartford, 
and remained with them until 1879, when 
he removed to Chicago, where he held a 
similar position in the plant of his son, 
Captain E. B. Preston. In 1895 ^''^ ^^' 
turned to Hartford, and made his home 
with his daughter, Mrs. W. Chapin Hunt, 
until his death, March 18, 1900. He mar- 
ried, March 3, 1835, Caroline, daughter of 
Ariel and Betsey (Dimock) Eldredge, 
born February 6, 1816, in Willington, died 
April 27, 1882, in Chicago, and was buried 
in Cedar Hill Cemetery at Hartford. Ariel 
Eldredge was born April 28. 1791, and 
died September 15, 1849. ^^^ was the son 
of Zoeth Eldredge, born, it is supposed, 
in Willington, Connecticut, about 1751, 
died there, March 18, 1828. He was a 
farmer. He marched on the Lexington 
Alarm in Major Elijah Fenton's company 
from Willington. Upon his dismissal 
from this brief service he enlisted in the 
Second Connecticut Regiment, Colonel 
Joseph Spencer, serving in the Fifth Com- 
pany under Captain Solomon Willes, 
from about May i until the latter part of 
December, 1775, when the regiment was 
dismissed. He was at Roxbury during 
the siege of Boston, and also saw three 
months' service under Washington in 
New York City in Captain Joseph Par- 
sons' company. Colonel Samuel Chap- 
man's regiment. He married in Willing- 
ton, Connecticut, October 16, 1779, as his 
second wife, Bethia, born December 10. 
1759, in Tolland, Connecticut, daughter 
of Captain Tchabod Hinckley, of Tolland, 
who was born October 13, 1735, in Wil- 



lington, and died February 23, 1807. He 
was captain in the Continental army, and 
was very active in the Revolutionary 
War ; served two terms in the General 
Assembly, and was selectman for four- 
teen years. Pie was a man of great natu- 
lal dignity, of unusual ability, and of 
highest integrity. He served as first lieu- 
tenant, Sixth Company, Third Battalion, 
Wadsworth's Brigade. This battalion 
was raised in June, 1776, to reinforce 
Washington in New York City; served 
there and on Long Island; was caught 
in the retreat from the city, September 
15, and suffered some loss; also engaged 
in the battle of White Plains, October 28. 
His time expired December 25, 1776. 
His first wife, Mary, died in Willington, 
January 8, 1769, aged thirty-seven years. 
Benjamin Hinckley, father of Captain 
Ichabod Hinckley, was born June 19, 
1707, in Iiarnstable, and died in Willing- 
ton, Connecticut. October 11, 1749. He 
was a farmer and was admitted freeman 
in Willington, December 17, 1735. He 
married in Tolland, November 6, 1733. 
Deborah Palmer, of Windham. His 
father was Ichabod Hinckley, born Au- 
gust 2S, 1680, in Barnstable, died in Tol- 
land, Connecticut, May 10, 1768. He 
married, January 5, 1702, Mary, daughter 
of P)enjamin and Mary (Davis) Good- 
speed, of Barnstable. She was born Jan- 
uary 10, 1678, and died October i, 1719. 
Having purchased three hundred acres of 
land, partly in Tolland and partly in Wil- 
lington, he removed in 1732 with his fam- 
ily to Tolland, and sensed several terms 
there as selectman. His father, John 
Hinckley, brother of Thomas Hinckley. 
sixth Governor of New Plymouth Colony, 
was born May 24. 1644. and died De- 
cember 7, 1709. In July, 1668. he 
married Bethiah. daughter of Thomas 
Lothrop, and granddaughter of Rev. John 
Lothrop. She was born July 23, 1649, and 
died July 10, 1697. John Lothrop was 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born about 1621, probably at Egerton, 
Kent. England, and was about thirteen 
years of age when he came with his 
father to Scituate. Massachusetts. He 
married Sarah, daughter of William 
Learned. "Ensign" John Hinckley was 
a prominent citizen of Barnstable, where 
he owned much land. His father was 
Samuel Hinckley, of Tenterden, Kent, 
England, who came to New England with 
his wife, Sarah, and four children in the 
ship "Hercules," of Sandwich, which 
sailed about March, 1634. He settled in 
Scituate, where his wife joined the church 
.August 16, 1635. They removed to Barn- 
stable in 1639. where his wife died August 
t8, 1656. He died there, October 31. 1662 
He was prominent and owned much land. 
Jesse Eldredge, father of Zoeth El- 
dredge, was born August 9, 171 5, in East- 
ham, and died in Willington, Connecticut, 
December 17, 1794. He married, Novem- 
ber 7, 1734, Abigail, daughter of Samuel 
and Abigail (Freeman) Smith. She was 
born in Eastham, December 17, 1718, and 
died in Willington, March 16, 1793. She 
was a descendant of Elder William Brew- 
ster, Stephen Hopkins, Governor Thomas 
Prence, Edmund Freeman, Rev. John 
Lathrop, Ralph Smyth, Henry Howland 
and Thomas Clark. Elisha Eldredge, 
father of Jesse Eldredge, was born about 
1690, and died in Mansfield. Connecticut, 
November 9, 1754. He married Dorcas, 
daughter of Thomas Mulford. of Truro. 
She was born March 6, 1693. in Eastham. 
and died in Mansfield about 1755. Her 
mother was Mary, daughter of Nathaniel 
Basset, and granddaughter of William 
Basset, who came in the ship "Fortune" 
in 1621. His father was Elisha Eldredge, 
born in 1653, ^'^^ i" Eastham, October 
14, 1739. In 1693 ^6 was in Harwich and 
bought land in the Doane neighborhood. 
He afterwards sold this and removed to 
what later became Wellfleet. His father, 
William Eldredge, was a resident of Yar- 



mouth, Massachusetts, from 3-3-1645, to 
1667. He was a man of standing and 
substance ; was constable in 1657, 1662, 
1674, 1675 and 1677; was also surveyor 
of highways. He married Anne, daughter 
of William and Tamesin Lumpkin, of 
Yarmouth. Lumpkin came over in 1637. 
He was deputy to the Colony Court and 
held many local offices. 

Major Preston's maternal grandmother, 
Betsey (Dimock) Eldredge, was born 
January 29, 1795, in Mansfield, and died 
in March, 1873. Her father, Shubael 
Dimock, was born October 4, 1757; mar- 
ried, January 22, 1789; died March 8, 
1828. Her mother, Elizabeth (Wright) 
Dimock, born July 31, 1769, died August 
10, 1837. The Dimock ancestry- has been 
traced back to Elder Thomas Dimock, 
who was a selectman of Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1635 • freeman. May 25, 
1636; Hingham, 1638; Scituate, 1639; 
one of the grantees of Barnstable, to 
which town he removed in 1639. Amos 
Otis says he was the leading man of the 
town. He was deputy to the Plymouth 
Colony court in 1640-41-42-48-49-50, and 
held other important offices. On October 
14. 1642. he was elected lieutenant of 
militia, and reelected in 1646; was or- 
dained elder. August 7, 1659. and died in 
1659. His widow, Ann (Hammond^ 
Dimock, was living in October, 1683. 
Their only son. Ensign Shubael Dimock, 
who lived to mature age, was baptized 
September 15, 1644. He was prominent 
in town aflFairs ; selectman and deputy 
to the General Court in 1685 and 1686 
and deputy again in 1689; was ensign of 
the militia. About 1693 he removed to 
Mansfield, where he died October 29, 
1732, in his ninety-first year. In April, 
1663. he married Joanna, daughter of 
John Bursley. She died May 8, 1727, 
aged eighty-three years. They were 
apparently the grandparents of Betsey 
Dimock's father, Shubael Dimock. Eliza- 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth Wright was the daughter of Eleazer 
and Anna (Marsh) Wright. He was born 
April 12, 1741, at Mansheld, Connecticut 
(his name is given in Mansfield vital rec- 
ords as Ebenezer), and died January 21, 
1825. His wife died April 10, 1825. 
Eleazer Wright was the son of Ebenezer 
Wright, of Lebanon, Connecticut, who 
was born February 22, 1701 ; married, in 
1728, as his second wife, Sarah Hunting- 
ton. He died April 22, 1786, and she Oc- 
tober 19, 1775. Ebenezer Wright was the 
son of Ensign Abel W' right, of Lebanon 
Connecticut, where he died June 2, 1745 
He married, September 6, 1691, Rebecca, 
daughter of Samuel Terry, of Springfield. 
Abel Wright was the son of Lieutenant 
Abel Wright, of Springfield, who mar- 
ried Martha, daughter of Samuel Kritch- 
well, of Hartford, December i, 1659. She 
was scalped July 26, 1708, and died Octo- 
ber 19, 1708. He died October 29, 1725, 
in his ninety-fourth year. He was select- 
man of Springfield in 1689 and 1698, also 
deputy to the General Court. Sarah 
(Huntington) W^right, wife of Ebenezer 
Wright, was the daughter of Deacon 
Joseph and Rebecca (Adgate) Hunting- 
ton. Deacon Joseph Huntington was 
born September, 1661, in Norwich, and 
died December 29. 1747. He married. 
November 2^, 1687, Rebecca, daughter of 
Deacon Thomas Adgate and Airs. (Bush- 
nell) Adgate, died November 28, 1748. 

At the age of thirteen years, Major 
Preston went to Hartford to l^egin his 
career in the business world. Such was 
his application, intelligence and thrift 
that we find him eleven years later, at 
the outbreak of the Civil \\'ar. a member 
of the firm of Griswold, Griffin & Com- 
pany, manufacturers of shirts. On April 
22, 1861, he oft'ered to give temporary as- 
sistance as a clerk in the office of Adju- 
tant-General J. D. Williams. On July 17, 
1861, in response to the request of Colo- 
nel Orris S. Ferry, Mr. Preston was ap- 



pointed quartermaster of the Fifth Con- 
necticut Regiment, with the rank of first 
lieutenant. On July 2}^ he was mustered 
into the United States Volunteer service. 
In September, 1861, he was detailed by 
Colonel Dudley Donnelly, and afterward 
by Generals G. H. Gordon and A. S. Wil- 
liams to be acting assistant quartermaster 
of the First Brigade. General Banks' Di- 
vision, and remained in that position un- 
til January i, 1862, when he was returned 
to his old place in the Fifth Connecticut. 
In March. 1862, Lieutenant Preston was 
detailed as aide-de-camp on the staff of 
(jeneral Ferry, who had received a briga- 
dier's commission. During a part of the 
time until February 19, 1863, he served 
as acting assistant quartermaster of the 
division. On that date President Lincoln 
commissioned him as "additional paymas- 
ter. United States \'olunteers, with the 
rank of Major," and this position Major 
Preston held until July 31, 1865, when 
he was honorably discharged by the secre- 
tary of war. Millions of dollars passed 
through his hands during the war, and in 
the final settlement with the government 
his accounts balanced to a penny. At the 
close of the war he became a special agent 
for The Travelers Insurance Company. 
.\fter two years in this position he was 
appointed superintendent of agencies, in 
189S he was promoted to be general man- 
ager of agencies, and has held that office 
continuously since that time. This posi- 
tion calls for executive ability of the 
highest order, with a gift for diplomacy 
equal to that of a foreign embassador. 
Major Preston is a man of poise, and 
while he possesses a determination that 
enables him to surmount every obstacle 
to the accomplishment of his purpose, he 
accomplishes results through the exercise 
of tact that makes every one his friend. 
In the course of his work Major Preston 
has traveled all over the United States. 
Canada and Mexico. He is a member of 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, being one of its eight 
oldest members ; Massachusetts Com- 
mandery, MiHtary Order of the Loyal 
Legion ; The Fifth Connecticut Infantry 
Reunion Association ; Society of the 
Army of the Potomac, representing the 
State of Connecticut on its board ; Robert 

0. Tyler Post. Grand Army of the Re- 
public, being one of the trustees of the 
ten-thousand-dollar fund owned by the 
post ; Army and Navy Club of Connecti- 
cut, of which he is president ; Hartford 
Club ; Red Cross Association ; Connec- 
ticut Humane Society; Charity Organ- 
ization ; Visiting Nurse Association : Wil- 
lington Cemetery Association ; Lincoln 
Farm Association ; Connecticut Peace 
Society ; Connecticut Forestry Associ- 
ation, of which he was elected president 
in 1898; American Forestry Association; 
Connecticut Civil Service Reform Asso- 
ciation, and Municipal Art Society. For 
several years he was a member of the 
board of trustees of the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute of Suffield, and was presi- 
dent of the board for two or three years. 
Major Preston is a strong and active Re- 
publican, and has served in the Common 
Council and as a member of the board of 
aldermen. 

Major Preston married, September 9. 
1863, Clara M., daughter of John G. 
Litchfield, of Hartford. Children : Harry 
Edward, born September 27, 1864, died 
at San Antonia, Texas, April 7, 1893; 
Evelyn Wallace, born April 9, 1867. 

In 1868 Major Preston began to arouse 
interest in a project to form a Baptist 
church on Asylum Hill, and on January 

1, 1869. he circulated an invitation signed 
by himself and a number of other leading 
Baptists to attend a meeting to discuss 
the matter. In 1871 the committee of 
which he was a member purchased the 
lot. In that year a Sunday school was 
organized, and the following year the 



church edifice was completed. Major 
Preston was treasurer from 1872 to 1901, 
and deacon from 1875 to the present time. 
He is a member of the Baptist Social 
Union of Connecticut, which he has 
served as secretary, treasurer and presi- 
dent at different times. He has also 
served as a member of the board of the 
Baptist State Convention. 



GRAHAM, Charles H., 

Mannfacturer, Inventor. 

Perusing the records of the brilliant 
men who have built up the industries of 
New England and made that region what 
it is, we are often compelled to wonder 
at the great number of of men who, in 
the face of great odds, forced the issue 
with destiny and made their names to 
be forever identified with this or that 
great enterprise, commercial, industrial or 
financial. These are the men who are 
perhaps the dominant and certainly the 
most conspicuous type in that whole 
great region, the type that we think of 
first when the term New Englander is 
used. It would be difficult to find a finer 
example of this type we so much admire 
than that presented in the person of 
Charles H. Graham, of Unionville, Con- 
necticut, who, although he is now retired 
completely from all business activities, 
was at one time one of the most conspicu- 
ous figures in that whole region and iden- 
tified with many of its most important en- 
terprises. 

Born October 15, 1837, at New Britain 
in the State in which he has always made 
his home, Mr. Graham is originally of 
Scottish extraction, his paternal great- 
grandfather being a native of that coun- 
try, the youngest son of the then Lord 
Graham. This gentleman, being of an en- 
terprising nature, preferred to come to 
the United States, where he might make 
something of the opportunities open to 



62 




■r.,-/*^.'l&.-^:! ^^.-^ A'r' 





OL^L"L.-tA. 



y,Y 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



all men than to remain indefinitely in the 
old country- where his position as a 
younger son necessarily relegated him 
somewhat to the background. Accord- 
ingly he left the old land with all its 
associations and came to the great west- 
em republic where he must depend sole- 
ly upon his own unaided ettorts. He set- 
tled at Norwich, Connecticut, and there 
his family continued to live for many 
years. His son, Curtis Graham, the 
grandfather of Charles H. Graham, was 
born in that town and passed his life 
there. He was successfully engaged in 
a saddler}' business and was a well- 
known and popular citizen. He was mar- 
ried to Paulina Lord, of Norwich, and 
they had three children : Gilbert, a resi- 
dent of New- Britain ; Man.', who moved 
out West and lived in the State of In- 
diana, and William Lord, the father of 
the Mr. Graham of this sketch. William 
Lord Graham was born at Nonvich and 
there passed the early years of his life. 
He was educated in the local schools, 
and until yoimg manhood lived with his 
father. He then went to New Britain, 
where he learned the trade of brass-turner 
and followed that craft in the same town 
for a number of years. He then saw an 
opportunity to engage in an industrial 
enterprise, which he seized with alacrity, 
and was soon doing a successful business 
in the manufacture of hames. cow bells 
and similar articles at New Britain. His 
death occurred at Burlington, Connecti- 
cut, in 1869. William Lord Graham, was 
twice married, the first time to Almira 
Wilmot, a daughter of Thomas Wilmot, 
of Burlington, Connecticut, and they were 
the parents of four children : Charles H., 
of whom further; Walter A., who became 
the superintendent of the Fair Haven «& 
Westville Railroad and made his home 
in New Haven. Connecticut ; Mary Jane, 
who became the wife of Albert J. Brewer, 
of Unionville. Connecticut ; and William 



J., also a resident of that town Mr. 
Graham married (secondj Frances Petti- 
bone, and of their children but one sur- 
vives, Arthur, now a resident of Burling- 
ton, Connecticut. 

Charles H. Graham passed the early 
years of his childhood in his native New 
Britain and there also began his educa- 
tion, attending the local public schools for 
this purpose. When still a mere child his 
parents removed to Burlington, Connec- 
ticut, and he there continued his studies, 
and, being of an unusually ambitious and 
capable character, made the most of his 
advantages and gained an excellent edu- 
cation, considering the somewhat meagre 
opportunities offered by the public schools 
of those days. He was eighteen years of 
age when he finally completed his studies 
and entered the business life in which he 
was to make so large a success. His very 
first position brought him into contact 
with the great concern with which he re- 
mained identified throughout his entire 
active life. He was employed as a hand 
in his factory by Dwight Langdon, of 
L^nionville, Connecticut, who in 1854 
founded the concern that afterwards be- 
came the Upson Nut Company, although 
it was then carried on under Mr. Lang- 
don's name. The young apprentice 
quickly showed his talent in picking up 
the detail of the new business of bolt and 
nut making, and he very soon became a 
master of the craft. Shortly after his con- 
nection with the company began, the con- 
trol of the business passed from the hands 
of Mr. Langdon into those of A. S. Upson 
and George Dunham, who purchased the 
former owner's interest. For a time these 
two gentlemen conducted the business 
under the firm name of L'pson & Dun- 
ham, but it was later incorporated under 
its present name of the L'pson Nut Com- 
pany. Mr. Graham's position with the 
growing concern continued constantly to 
improve. For a time he was employed as 



^3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a shipper by Upson & Dunham and then 
was given a contract to make bolts and 
nuts for them. The business talents of 
the young man were not long waiting for 
recognition and his employers soon made 
him superintendent of the factory, a posi- 
tion of great trust and responsibility 
which he filled for upwards of fifteen 
years, continually learning more about the 
requirements of the work and making 
himself invaluable to the concern. Dur- 
ing this period a Mr. Samuel Frisbie held 
the office of treasurer of the Upson Nut 
Company, but upon his death the good 
record of the young superintendent was 
rewarded by his appointment to the office 
thus left vacant. For many years there- 
after the firm was composed of A. S. Up- 
son, president ; W. A. Hitchcock, secre- 
tary, and Mr. Graham, treasurer. 

His interests, however, were by no 
means confined to the single concern, but 
were extended to many others and even 
went far beyond the limits of the commu- 
nity in their scope. His inventive genius 
was, perhaps, the first factor in making 
him well known, for. with his invention 
and patenting of the automatic lathe for 
threading bolts, he at once leaped into 
prominence wherever this industry is 
carried on. He became the secretary of 
the Union Nut and Bolt Company of New 
York and Chicago, and assistant treasurer 
of the Union Rolling Mill Company of 
Cleveland, Ohio. In his home town, also, 
he was interested in other concerns and 
was vice-president of the Unionville 
Water Company and a director of the 
Union Water Company of Unionville. 
A few years ago, Mr. Graham retired 
from active business and sold out his 
large interest in the Upson Nut Company 
to a Cleveland steel concern, which 
bought the whole company. Mr. Graham 
is now living with a married son, S. F. 
Graham, at Unionville. 



The exacting nature of Mr. Graham's 
work in connection with the various con- 
cerns with which he was identified for so 
many years rendered it difficult during 
the greater part of his life to take the part 
in the more general life of the community 
which his tastes impelled him to and his 
abilities fitted him for. He has been for 
many years, however, a member of Even- 
ing Star Lodge, No. loi. Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and up to recently has 
been active in the afifairs thereof. He has 
always been keenly interested in political 
matters, especially in their application to 
local situations and conditions and, had 
his tasks been less onerous, might have 
taken a conspicuous place in public affairs. 
As it is, he has served his fellow towns- 
men as justice of the peace and as a mem- 
ber of the relief board. He is a Republi- 
can in politics, and was elected by that 
party to the State Legislature. He and 
his family attend the Congregational 
church, and take an active part in the 
work thereof. 

Mr. Graham was united in marriage at 
L^nionville. Connecticut, with Emeline A. 
Upson, a daughter of Seth and Martha 
(Brooks) Upson, of that place. To them 
were born five children, as follows: i. 
Walter E., who is associated with the 
Upson Nut Company of Unionville ; mar- 
ried Clarabel Lusk, by whom he has had 
two children, Kenneth and Arline. 2. 
Samuel F., who is now superintendent of 
the U^nionville branch of the Upson Nut 
Company ; is a selectman of Unionville ; 
married Clara Roboham. 3. Henry C, 
a resident of Cleveland, Ohio, and a mem- 
ber of the corporation that purchased the 
L^pson Nut Company ; married, in August, 
1899, Alice Taylor, of Unionville; chil- 
dren : Taylor and Winifred. 4. Lila E., 
deceased. 5. Winifred, deceased. Mrs. 
Graham is also deceased. 



64 




vaii^y 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LYMAN, Theodore, 

Lavryer, Financier. 

The calendar declares Mr. Lyman an 
octogenarian and the calendar is inexor- 
able, but he is one of those men who 
never grow old save in years. Although 
hope has long since ended in fruition ; 
ambition in realization, enthusiasm given 
way to ripened judgment, he has that 
spirit of perennial youth in his heart, that 
sympathy and desire to be of service, from 
which he draws a fresh inspiration each 
day, as from a seemingly inexhaustible 
source. He is one of the oldest members 
of the Hartford bar, though it is now 
several years since he has engaged in 
practice, but he retains an active interest 
in several of Hartford's important finan- 
cial corporations, holding official position. 

Nearly a decade has passed since he 
celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of his 
admission to the bar and over three dec- 
ades since he succeeded his honored 
father as director of the Hartford Fire 
Insurance Company. As the years have 
taken their toll, the heavier burdens he 
carried were gracefully surrendered to 
younger shoulders, but he has not lost 
step nor surrendered his place in the line 
of public-spirited men whose achieve- 
ments are the glory of City, State and 
Nation. 

Mr. Lyman traces his family history to 
England and to Richard Lyman, who 
sailed on the ship "Lion" from Bristol, 
England, in August, 163 1, settling in 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, where he 
was made a freeman, June 16, 1635. On 
October 15, following, he joined the party 
that later settled in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, where he died in August, 1640. 

The line of descent is traced through 

his son. Lieutenant John Lyman, born in 

England in 1623. who was brought to 

this country by his parents in 1631. He 

Coai>— 2— 5 65 



was a resident of Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1690. At the 
"Falls" fight with the Indians, May 18, 
1676, he commanded the Northampton 
troops. He married, in 1654, Dorcas, 
daughter of John Plumb, of Branford, 
Connecticut. 

Their son, John Lyman, born in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, in 1660, 
died at his home at South Farms in 1740. 
He married, in 1687, Mindwell, daughter 
of John and Mary (Crawford) Pomeroy, 
and kept a public inn at Smith's Ferry. 
His wife was born in 1666, died in 1735. 

Their son, Elias Lyman, born at South 
Farms in 1710, died in 1790. He suc- 
ceeded his father as inn keeper and 
farmer, and was many times called out 
for service during the Revolution. He 
married, in 1736, Hannah, daughter of 
Deacon Samuel Allen, of Northampton, 
born in 1714. 

Their son, Elias (2) Lyman, born at 
South Farms in 1740, died in 1816. He 
was also a farmer and inn keeper. He 
married, in 1764, Hannah Clapp, of East- 
hampton. 

Their son. Gains Lyman, born Novem- 
ber 24, 1769, died January 4, 1845. ^^ 
kept an inn for several years, moving to 
Hartford in 1804 and there becoming a 
merchant, dealing in lumber and West 
India goods. He married, January 18, 
1797, Submit Field, born June 17, 1774, 
died in Hartford, April 2^, 1846, daughter 
of Deacon Joseph Field, of Sunderland. 
Massachusetts. 

Their son, Christopher Columbus Ly- 
man, father of Theodore Lyman, was 
born at Northampton, Massachusetts, 
December 28, 1800, died at Hartford, 
Connecticut, May 28, 1883. For a time 
he engaged in the lumber business in 
Hartford, but in 1835, upon the organiza- 
tion of the Hartford Fire Insurance 
Company, became its assistant secretary. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continuing in that position until 1878. He 
was the largest individual stockholder in 
the company and a director, but stead- 
fastly refused to accept higher position 
in the management than that of assistant 
secretary although often urged. He was 
a cultured musician, his large library of 
musical works one of the best in the 
State. He composed the music for sev- 
eral hymns but never attempted any more 
pretentious composition. He was a man 
of quiet tastes and unassuming manner ; 
generous, kindly hearted, and sympa- 
thetic, pure in thought and deed, a true 
Christian and a public spirited citizen 
whose years, eighty-two and five months, 
were spent in good works. He married 
at Bennington, Vermont, September 6. 
1830, Cecilia Breakenridge. who died in 
Hartford, March 20, 1870. 

Theodore Lyman, son of Christopher 
Columbus and Cecilia (Breakenridge) 
Lyman, was born at Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, January 4, 1834, and there his years, 
eighty-two, have been spent. He fin- 
ished public school courses with gradu- 
ation from high school in 1851, then 
entered Yale College whence he was 
graduated Bachelor of Arts, class of "55." 
He then began the study of law under the 
preceptorship of Thomas C. and Charles 
E. Perkins, eminent members of the Hart- 
ford bar, and on June 26, 1859, was ad- 
mitted to practice. He chose the law of 
real estate as his special line and for half 
a century continued in practice, attaining 
high reputation as an able, honorable ex- 
ponent of the law of property. His busi- 
ness connections have been numerous and 
exceedingly weighty, embracing many 
well-known corporations of the past and 
present. These have been largely sur- 
rendered but he is yet "in the harness" as 
director of the Hartford Fire Insurance 
Company, succeeding his father on the 
board in 1883, as vice-president of the 
Society for Savings ; as director of the 



Connecticut General Life Insurance Com- 
pany and as trustee of the Hartford Trust 
Company. 

This outline of his legal and business 
career but indicates its extent, importance 
and usefulness. No movement or enter- 
prise that promised to advance the public 
good or Hartford's greatness but has had 
and has his hearty support. His high 
ethical standard won him the respect of 
his professional brethren of bench and 
bar, his genial personality, a host of 
friends throughout the State, his upright- 
ness and integrity the highest esteem of 
his business associates. He is a member 
of the University Club and Phi Beta 
Kappa fraternity. 

Mr. Lyman married, January 22, 1886, 
Laura M.. daughter of George T. Sher- 
man, of Milford, Massachusetts, and has 
four children: Helen, who resides in 
Hartford ; Richard Sherman, of whom 
further ; and Bertha and Esther, both liv- 
ing with their parents. 

Richard Sherman Lyman, only son of 
Theodore and Laura M. (Sherman) Ly- 
man, was born January 29, 1891. He was 
graduated from the Hartford High School 
with the class of 1909, and from Yale 
University, Bachelor of Arts, in 1913, and 
immediately entering the Yale Medical 
School. He then took a special course in 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technol- 
ogy, then attended the Harvard Medical 
School, and thence went to Johns Hop- 
kins University as a member of the class 
of 1919. When Professor Sedgwick, of 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technol- 
ogy, was asked to nominate men to go to 
Serbia to combat the typhus epidemic, Dr. 
Lyman was one of the ten candidates 
named, and became a member of the Red 
Cross expedition that went to Serbia 
under the auspices of the Rockefeller 
Foundation for Research. He was inocu- 
lated against typhus, and was one of the 
company of twenty-five who sailed March 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



3, 1915, to be gone five months. He per- 
formed a full share of the arduous labors 
and exposures incident to that severe 
service, and returned home October 4, 
1915. In high school, he was chairman of 
his class. He is a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church. He is a 
member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity of 
Yale, also of the Elihu Club. 



BRADSTREET, Albert Porter, 
Lawyer, Jurist. 

From 1875 until 1897, Judge Bradstreet 
was in the public service of the State of 
Connecticut, as town clerk. Assemblyman, 
State Senator, judge of probate, deputy 
judge and judge of the District Court at 
Waterbury. His prominence in public 
life and in his chosen profession does not 
outrank his social popularity nor his repu- 
tation as a loyal friend to every good en- 
terprise. 

(I) Judge Bradstreet is of the seventh 
generation of the family founded in 
America by Simon Bradstreet, who came 
over with Governor Winthrop in 1630, 
an A. B. and an A. M., Cambridge Uni- 
versity, 1620-24. Simon Bradstreet came 
to the Massachusetts Bay Colony as as- 
sistant, was secretary of the Colony from 
August 23, 1630, to 1636; deputy gov- 
ernor, 1673-78; governor, 1679-86, and 
again in 1689-92. He died March 27, 
1697, aged ninety-four years. His wife, 
Ann (Dudley) Bradstreet, was a daughter 
of Governor Dudley, born in England, 
who came to Massachusetts in 1638 with 
a commission as deputy governor, was 
Governor of the Colony in 1640 and one 
of the signers of the Charter of Harvard 
College. Ann (Dudley) Bradstreet was 
the first poetess of note in New England 
and one of a distinguished family, her 
brother later becoming a Governor of the 
Colony, a nephew becoming chief justice. 
She died September 16, 1672. Governor 



Bradstreet married a second wife, Ann, 
daughter of Emanuel Dowling, and 
widow of Joseph Gardner. 

(II) John Bradstreet, the youngest 
child of Governor Simon Bradstreet and 
his first wife, Ann (Dudley) Bradstreet, 
was born July 22, 1652, at Andover, Mas- 
sachusetts, but spent his life largely in 
Topsfield, although in 1681 he was living 
in Salem. His wife Sarah was a daugh- 
ter, of the Rev. William Perkins, of Tops- 
field. 

(III) Simon Bradstreet, son of John 
and Sarah Bradstreet, was born April 14, 
1682, lived and died at Topsfield. He 
married Elizabeth Capen. 

(IV) John (2) Bradstreet, named for 
his grandfather, John Bradstreet, son of 
Simon and Sarah (Perkins) Bradstreet, 
was born at Topsfield, March 2, 1717. He 
married Elizabeth Fisk. 

(V) Captain Dudley Bradstreet, son of 
John (2) and Elizabeth (Fisk) Bradstreet, 
was born in Topsfield, October 8. 1765. 
He married Polly Porter. 

(VI) Rev. Thomas Jefferson Bradstreet. 
son of Captain Dudley and Polly (Porter) 
Bradstreet, was born April 7, 1807, died at 
Thomaston, Connecticut, October 5, 1897. 
He was a graduate of Yale College in 
1834, was ordained a minister of the Con- 
gregational church, and delivered the first 
sermon in the church of that faith at 
Thomaston, Connecticut. In 1840 he was 
compelled to abandon his holy calling 
through ill health, and for a time he was 
superintendent of the Seth Thomas Clock 
Company, later was their commercial 
agent. His health continued to fail and 
finally he sought the out-of-doors occupa- 
tion of a farmer, so continuing until his 
death in 1897. Fo'' thirty-seven years he 
was a member of the board of education 
of Thomaston, served as selectman, and 
represented his district in the State As- 
sembly. He continued actively in church 
work, although unable to follow the call- 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing for which he prepared, but as Sunday 
school superintendent and worker ren- 
dered valued service in advancing his 
Master's cause. He was a man of the 
highest personal character, strong intel- 
lectually, ready in debate and a clear 
thinker. 

Rev. Thomas J. Bradstreet married 
Amanda Thomas, a woman of great per- 
sonal charm and grace, noble in her char- 
acter, exerting a strong influence for good. 
She was a daughter of Seth Thomas, who 
began the manufacture of clocks in the 
town of Plymouth, now Hancock Station, 
Connecticut, in 1806, and in 1813 organ- 
ized the Seth Thomas Clock Company 
under the joint stock laws of the State 
of Connecticut, and located in the place 
now Thomaston. By act of Legislature, 
in 1875, the town of Plymouth was di- 
vided, the western portion set off as a 
new town, and in honor of Seth Thomas 
and the great industrial plant he had 
created was named Thomaston. Rev. 
Thomas J. and Amanda Bradstreet were 
the parents of four sons and a daughter, 
Mary Amanda, who became the wife of 
Joseph R. French, of New Haven. The 
sons became prominent in business, in 
public life, in law, in agriculture and 
in medicine. Thomas Dudley Bradstreet 
as veteran manufacturer, Assemblyman, 
State Senator and State comptroller ; Al- 
bert Porter Bradstreet as lawyer, judge 
and Legislator ; George Parker Bradstreet 
as farmer, dairyman and merchant; Ed- 
ward Thomas Bradstreet as a practicing 
physician of Meriden, Connecticut. 

(VII) Albert Porter Bradstreet, son of 
the Rev. Thomas J. and Amanda (Thom- 
as) Bradstreet, was born at Plymouth. 
now Thomaston, Litchfield county, Con- 
necticut, June 9, 1846. There he attended 
the public schools and high school, and 
under private tutors prepared for admis- 
sion to Yale College in 1867, whence he 



was graduated A. B., class of "71." Hav- 
ing decided upon the profession of law, 
he entered Columbia University Law De- 
partment, and there completed his course 
in 1873 and received the LL. B. degree. 
He chose Thomaston as the location in 
which to begin practice, having, how- 
ever, spent a few months in the law offices 
of Webster & O'Neill at Waterbury. He 
continued in successful practice at Thom- 
aston until 1879, when he was elected 
deputy judge of the District Court sitting 
in Waterbury. In 1883 he was elected 
judge of the same court, was reelected in 
1887 and again in 1893, serving until 
1897. He was also judge of probate for 
the Thomaston district from 1882 until 
1890. i\t the expiration of his term as 
district judge in 1897, Judge Bradstreet 
resumed his profession, practicing with 
honor and success in State and Federal 
courts. 

Judge Bradstreet early affiliated with 
the Republican party, became an active 
worker and has since been one of the 
strong men and leading spirits of his 
party. Two years after beginning prac- 
tice in Thomaston, he was elected town 
clerk and held that office continuously 
until 1891. In 1877-78 he represented 
Thomaston in the State Assembly, serv- 
ing on the committee on cities and bor- 
oughs. In 1881-82 he served as State 
Senator from the Sixteenth Senatorial 
District, filling a place on the committee 
of insurance, as chairman the first year 
and being chairman of the committee on 
judiciary the second year. The purely 
judicial offices to which Judge Bradstreet 
was elected have been previously noted. 
He is of social, genial nature and en- 
joys the society of his friends, and has for 
many years been affiliated with clubs in 
the cities to which business or profes- 
sional engagements often called him. He 
is an ex-president of the Thomaston Club, 



68 



THE K^'-^ "0P>'^ 
I PUBLIC LIBRARY 






ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a member of the Yale Club of New York, 
the Alpha Delta fraternity of Yale.| In 
relij^ious faith he is a Cong-regationalist. 

Judge P)radstreet married at Thomas- 
ton. March 4, 1875, Mary J. F^arker, 
daughter of Edwin P. and Martha (Lee) 
Parker, both of whom lived and died at 
Thomaston. 

Fortunate indeed is the community 
whose sons rear such worthy monuments 
to perpetuate her memorv- as the lives of 
the Rev. Thomas Jefferson Bradstreet 
and his sons ; and happy is the man whose 
sons so worthily emulate the virtues of 
their father : nor is the commercial great- 
ness arising from the genius and energy 
of their forefather, Seth Thomas, of 
greater value to Thomaston than the life 
records of his descendants herein re- 
corded. He brought to Thomaston the 
energ} and thrift of his Scotch parents : 
the Bradstreets brought to New Eng- 
land the culture and genius for public 
service of Governor Simon Bradstreet 
and his accomplished wife. Ann (Dudley) 
Bradstreet. and in Connecticut they 
united to form one of the strong families 
of this Commonwealth, a family of which 
Judge Albert Porter Bradstreet is a repre- 
sentative. 



JUDD, George Edwards, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

We are always duly interested and 
properly impressed by the success won by 
unusual talents and powers out of the 
common ; it appeals to a very funda- 
mental trait in all of us. the account of 
the exploits of others more gifted than 
ourselves ; we find it vastly entertaining 
to read of some coup which we feel utterly 
beyond the reach of our own humble abil- 
ities, we are delighted at hearing a re- 
port of how St. George disposed of the 
dragon. But it may be questioned if such 
matters are of as reallv vital interest to 



us, certainly they are not so important, 
as that other class of record which de- 
scribes how worth has won its way up- 
wards, through doubts and difficulties, 
from humble beginnings to a recognized 
place in the regard of men. and trusted 
to no power but its own indomitable cour- 
age and indefatigable patience for the 
result. It is in the latter kind rather than 
the former that a lesson is contained for 
the rest of us. and it is a story not un- 
common in this western land of ours. 
Like many of the other common things 
of life, however, it is perennially inspir- 
ing and with each repetition, each re- 
appearance under new circumstances we 
feel a reawakened sympathy, a renewed 
wonderment regarding the forces and 
traits of character that have thus tri- 
umphed over obstacles and difficulties, 
and a strengthened determination to emu- 
late them. Such an example we may find 
in the life of George Edwards Judd. of 
^^'aterburv^ Connecticut, who, by sheer 
perseverance and hard work, gradually 
forced his way upward from the position 
he held as humble bookkeeper to one of 
influence and control in the financial and 
industrial world. 

Born December i, 1858, at New Haven. 
Connecticut, George Edwards Judd was the 
second of the nine children of William Brace 
and Elvira ("Edwards) Judd. both of good 
old Xew England stock, the father having 
been born at Bethlehem and the mother 
at Roxbury, both in Connecticut. The 
Mr. Judd of this sketch lived in the city 
of his birth until he had reached the age 
of sixteen years, so that all his childish 
associations are with New Haven, and it 
was there that he gained his education, 
attending the excellent public schools and 
notably the Webster High School for that 
purpose. After completing his studies at 
this institution. Mr. Judd went to Middle- 
town, Connecticut, and there secured a 
position in the Middletown Green Houses. 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



remaining there for upwards of eighteen 
months. He then came on to Waterbury, 
in which place he has since made his 
home and which has been the scene of his 
business career and is the site of the vari- 
ous enterprises founded by him. A year 
after his coming to Waterbury, his father 
followed him there and engaged in a con- 
tracting and building business until his 
death in the year 1900. In the mean- 
while Mr. Judd, Jr., had secured a posi- 
tion as a bookkeeper with the Burcey 
Chemical Company, a prosperous concern 
of the city, it being an ambition of his to 
familiarize himself with business con- 
ditions and methods with a view to fitting 
himself for a larger career. He was well 
advised in this purpose and the training 
he received for the next few years could 
scarcely have been bettered. He remained 
about one year with the Burcey Company 
and then went temporarily to the Nauga- 
tuck Railroad Company, where he was 
given the position of cashier in the freight 
office of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford railroad, where he remained an- 
other year. He then took a clerical posi- 
tion as bookkeeper in the Waterbury Na- 
tional Bank. This was the beginning of 
an association with this institution that 
lasted over a period of twenty-eight years, 
in which he gradually rose to the position 
of receiving teller, and became thoroughly 
familiar with every detail of the banking 
business. He then severed his connec- 
tion with the National Bank and became 
associated with the West Side Savings 
Bank of Waterbury. of which he is at 
present secretary and treasurer. But Mr. 
Judd's talents are scarcely given their full 
play even in so responsible a position as 
this. He is the possessor of a remarkable 
organizing ability, and this has found its 
expression in the Mattatuck Manufactur- 
ing Company of Waterbury which he 
established about 1898 and which has 
done a most flourishing business in the 



manufacture of metal goods ever since. 
He founded the Judd and Puffer Insur- 
ance Agency, in 1881, and does a large 
business in this connection. 

There are other sides besides that of 
business to the activities of Mr. Judd and 
he is a participant in many aspects of the 
city's life. His great knowledge of finan- 
cial and business conditions being well 
recognized by his fellow citizens, he was 
chosen as a member of the bureau of as- 
sessment and served in that department 
most efficiently and to the satisfaction of 
the whole community. He is a member 
of the local lodge of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of the New Eng- 
land Society of New York and of the 
Waterbury and Country clubs of Water- 
bury. Mr. Judd is actively connected with 
church affairs in Waterbury. He is a 
Congregationalist and a member of the 
.'^econd Church of that denomination in 
Waterbury. He is a liberal supporter of 
the charitable work undertaken by the 
congregation and has been clerk of the 
ecclesiastical society for the past twenty 
years. 

On July 18, 1898, Mr. Judd was united 
in marriage with Nina Cowles, a native 
of Oakville, Connecticut, and a daughter 
of Samuel Henry and Mary Jane (Coley) 
Cowles, both of whom are deceased. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Judd have been born two 
children as follows : Stuart Edwards, 
born October 10, 1901, and now a student 
in the McTurnan private school of Water- 
bury where he is preparing himself for 
Hotchkiss School. Lakeville, Connecticut; 
and Eloise Elizabeth, born June 4, 1905, 
attending St. Margaret's School for Girls. 



HOWE, Daniel Robinson, 

Financier. 

A twentieth century representative of 
one of the ancient and honorable New 
England families, Mr. Howe in his own 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



right has won position among 1 lartford's 
financial leaders and public spirited citi- 
zens. He is a descendant in the eighth 
American generation of Abraham Howe, 
who came to Massachusetts from Eng- 
land, settling first at Watertown where 
he is named as a proprietor. He then 
moved to Marlborough, which town for 
several generations was the family seat. 
He is first of record in Marlborough, 
Massachusetts, in 1660, and there he died, 
June 30, 1695. He married, May 6, 1657. 
Hannah Ward, who died November 3, 
1717. daughter of William Ward, ances- 
tor of General Artemas Ward of Revolu- 
tionary fame. 

(IT) From Abraham Howe descent is 
traced through his son. Captain Daniel 
How^e, born 1658, died April 13, 1718, a 
large landowner in both Marlborough and 
Lancaster. 

(HI) His son, Jonathan Howe, Jr. (so 
called to distinguish him from another Jona- 
than Howe), was born April 23. 1695. died 
July 25, 1738. He married Sarah Hop- 
good, a descendant of Shadrach Hopgood, 
of Sudbury, Massachusetts. 

(IV) Their son, Solomon Howe, born 
December 11, 1718, died October 13, 1762. 
He was a farmer of Marlborough until 
about 1738 when he moved to Mansfield, 
Connecticut. He married, about 1738. 
Mary Howe, born in Marlborough, No- 
vember 18, 1719, died November 16, 1792. 

(V) Their son, Daniel Howe, born at 
Marlborough, Massachusetts, June 13, 
1740, died at Mansfield, Connecticut, De- 
cember 8, 1807. He married, August 26, 
1 761, Bridget Smith, who died March 20, 
181 5, aged seventy-one years. 

(VI) Their son, Edmund Howe, born 
at Mansfield, Connecticut. April 25, 1780, 
died December 10, 1834. He was a farmer 
and merchant. He married, March 3, 
1807, Eunice Grant, born 1781, died Octo- 
ber 12, 1844. a descendant in the sixth 



generation of Matthew Grant, of the Gen- 
eral Ulysses S. Grant family. 

(VII) Their son, Edmund Grant Howe, 
father of Daniel Robinson Howe, was 
born at Mansfield, Connecticut, Novem- 
ber 8, 1807, died April 23, 1872. He be- 
gan business life with his father, later 
became a dry goods merchant, trading 
under his own name. In 1829 he located 
in Hartford, and in 1831 established the 
dry goods firm of Pratt, Howe & Com- 
pany, a firm that was abundantly success- 
ful until its dissolution in 1857. Junius 
S. Morgan, father of the late J. Pierpont 
Morgan, was Mr. Howe's partner for 
fifteen years while engaged in the dry 
goods business. After the dissolution of 
Pratt, Howe & Company, Mr. Howe went 
to New York City where for three years 
he was a partner in the banking firm of 
Ketchum, Howe & Company. In i860 he 
returned to Hartford and became a mem- 
ber of the banking house of Hov^re, Mather 
& Company, continuing senior member 
until his death twenty-three years later. 
He was one of the organizers of the Hart- 
ford Carpet Company, and of the Green- 
woods Company for manufacturing cotton 
goods. He was the first president of the 
City Bank of Hartford, serving from 1851 
until 1857, and from 1866 until 1872 was 
president of the Exchange Bank. He 
served the Connecticut Mutual Life In- 
surance Company as vice-president, the 
New York, New Haven & Hartford Rail- 
road Company as director, the Hartford 
and Wethersfield Horse Railroad Com- 
pany as its first president. 

Mr. Howe held the rank of captain in 
the State militia, and while never an 
aspirant to political honors he served one 
term in the General Assembly, discharg- 
ing the duties of that office with the same 
conscientious care and thoroughness that 
distinguished him in his personal busi- 
ness aflfairs. He was a man of unusually 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fine business ability, forceful, farsighted, 
progressive and well balanced. His in- 
tegrity was undisputed, and he was held 
in the highest respect and esteem by all 
who knew him. He was one of the lead- 
ing business men of his day, and widely 
known both within and without his State. 

Edmund Grant Howe married Frances 
Kies, daughter of Samuel and Pamela 
(Davis) Kies. Her mother, Pamela 
(Davis) Kies, was born at Charlton. Mas- 
sachusetts, March 4, 1778. died June 24, 
1824. Five children were born to Edmund 
Grant and Frances (Kies) Howe : Ed- 
mund Miner, deceased ; Charles Grant, 
deceased ; Frances Pamela, married Wil- 
liam J. Wood, deceased ; George Summer, 
deceased ; and Daniel Robinson, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(VIII) Daniel Robinson Howe pre- 
pared for college in the public schools of 
Hartford, and entered Yale University. 
whence he was graduated Bachelor of 
Arts, class of "74." He began business 
life as clerk in the dry goods store of 
Collins & Fenn in Hartford, following 
that service by a clerkship in the Hart- 
ford National Bank. He then formed a 
partnership with Atwood Collins, founded 
the banking house of Howe & Collins and 
for several years was engaged in private 
banking operations. He then retired and has 
since devoted himself to the management 
of his own private business affairs and 
in the administration of the duties of sev- 
eral trusteeships that have been confided 
to him. He, however, holds important con- 
nection with several Hartford corpora- 
tions of note, serving as vice-president of 
the Society for Savings, director of the 
National Exchange Bank, director of the 
Connecticut Fire Insurance Company, and 
trustee of the Connecticut Trust and Safe 
Deposit Company. He is an ex-treasurer 
of the Hartford Orphan Asylum, the 
American School for the Deaf and W^at- 
kinson Juvenile Farm School. He is a 



member and deacon of the First Church 
of Christ, is an ex-president of the Federa- 
tion of Churches and of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. His college fra- 
ternities are Kappa Sigma Epsilon, Delta 
Kappa, Delta Kappa Epsilon, and at Yale 
also of the senior society, Scroll and Key. 
For many years he was a member of the 
Hartford and Hartford Golf clubs, his 
present membership being with the Uni- 
versity Club. He is not actively interested 
in politics, but takes more than passive 
interest in public affairs, always support- 
ing those measures and enterprises that 
promise good to the community. 

Mr. Howe married. February 16, 1876, 
Henrietta A., daughter of Erastus and 
Mary (Atwood) Collins, her father a dry 
goods merchant of Hartford, her mother 
of a Philadelphia family. They have three 
children: i. Edmund Grant, educated in 
Hartford public schools, at Yale, at Leip- 
sic, Germany, and the Sorbonne, Paris, 
now instructor at the University of Pitts- 
burgh ; he married Eleanor Wilson, of 
Parkersburg, West Virginia, and has a 
son. Daniel R. 2. Henrietta, married 
Clement Scott, of New York City, and 
they have one child, Clement. 3. Mar- 
jorie Frances, married Maynard Hazen. 
of Middletown, Connecticut. 



BEARD SLEY, Charles William, 

Man of Enterprise, Legislator. 

It would be difficult indeed to find a 
stronger, healthier and more capable type 
of men than that formed by the pure 
blooded descendants of the English colo- 
nists who settled here in the early days 
and handed down their courage and enter- 
prise and all the many virtues which so 
strongly characterized them and rendered 
them more fit than any other race that 
came to this wilderness of the "New 
World" to cope with its dangers and 
hardships and finally draw a great nation. 



72 




2^A^^-^^ jT/l^e^<^/>'^'~^^>- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a brilliant civilization, from such difficult 
and unpromising beginnings. It is with 
this type that we rightly associate the 
thrilling events which led up to the gain- 
ing of independence and freedom for the 
American people, it is this race that has 
wrought most of the great deeds of the 
young nation which have made its name 
a synonym for enlightened tolerance and 
virtuous courage the world over. It is 
from this splendid stock that the dis- 
tinguished gentleman whose name heads 
this brief sketch claims his descent, both 
he and his forebears displaying well the 
qualities and traits of their class and race. 
The Beardsley family is one of the oldest 
in New England and one of those that 
founded the charming town of Stratford, 
Connecticut, in 1639, its progenitor, Wil- 
liam Beardsley, having settled there in 
that year and given the little settlement 
in the woods the name that it has since 
borne. This he did in honor of his birth- 
place in old England, Stratford-on-Avon, 
from whence he sailed to the colonies in 
1635. The first four years of his life in 
this country he spent in Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, and then removed to Connecti- 
cut where his descendants have remained 
to the present day, where they are at present 
very numerous. Some of them in the 
early days pressed on westward to New 
York and it is interesting in this connec- 
tion to note that the town of Avon in that 
State was named by them in honor of 
the river on whose banks their ancestors 
dwelt. The particular line of his descend- 
ants of which Charles William Beardsley 
is a member, remained through the long 
interval of years residents of Stratford 
until the generation preceding him, when 
his father removed to the neighboring 
town of Milford whither his business took 
him towards the later end of his short 
life. The record of the Beardsleys in both 
towns has been of a kind in full harmony 



with the best representatives of their 
type. 

Mr. Beardsley's grandfather, William 
Henry Beardsley, was a man of parts. 
He was born in Stratford in the year 1767, 
and died in 1841 at the age of seventy- 
three years. His wife, who was a Miss 
Sarah Beach, of Huntington, Fairfield 
county, Connecticut, was a daughter of 
Israel Beach and a descendant of John 
I'each, of Stratford. They were the par- 
ents of seven children of which the fifth, 
Charles, was the father of Mr. Beardsley. 
Charles Beardsley was born in Stratford 
in 1806, and followed the occupation of 
farming as his ancestors had before him 
for many years. He learned the trade of 
shoemaker and followed this in connection 
with farming. He married, about 1831, 
Sarah Baldwin, a daughter of Hezekiah 
Baldwin, of Milford, Connecticut, and in 
1844 they removed to that town. Nine 
years later, in 1853, when but forty-seven 
years of age he died leaving eight chil- 
dren as follows : Charles William, with 
whose career this sketch is especially con- 
cerned : Abigail, born May 9, 1832, and 
became the wife of Charles R. Baldwin, 
of Milford ; Alvira, born June 4, 1834, de- 
ceased ; Hezekiah, born April 30, 1836, 
deceased, who for many years conducted 
a large contracting and building business 
at Milford ; George, born January 20, 
1838, deceased, who had charge of the 
cabinet work in the schools of New Haven 
in which city he made his residence ; 
Theodore, born February 23, 1840, de- 
ceased, who conducted a large contract- 
ing business in Spring^eld, Massachu- 
setts; Sarah J., born January 25, 1842, 
deceased, married Edward Clark, of Mil- 
ford ; and Frederick, w^ho was connected 
with the New York, New Haven & Hart- 
ford Railroad for many years. 

Charles William Beardsley was born 
May 27, 1829, at Stratford in the old fam- 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ily home, and there passed the years of 
his childhood until his fifteenth year. He 
attended the public and private schools 
of his native town and there gained his 
education, but upon leaving Stratford and 
moving to Milford he abandoned his 
studies and learned the shoemaker's trade 
as his father had before him His appren- 
ticeship lasted about three years and he 
then follovi^ed the trade for upwards of 
fifteen years more and with a consider- 
able degree of success. He was fifteen 
years old when he began his apprentice- 
ship and continued in this line until he 
was in the neighborhood of thirty years 
of age, when his failing health warned 
him that his life was too confined for 
health. Accordingly he gave up his shoe- 
making and engaged in stock raising and 
farming, trading in high-grade cattle-for 
a number of years. In this he was ex- 
tremely successful and some of the finest 
Jersey cattle that has ever come into the 
country has passed through his hands. 
As years passed he took his son into busi- 
ness with him and the two men raised 
fancy stock getting as high as four thou- 
sand dollars a head for some of their prize 
cattle. They also raised trotting horses 
and were widely known for their success. 
At the height of his success in this line 
Mr. Beardsley had his attention drawn to 
another enterprise which he considered 
offered him splendid opportunities. This 
was the raising of seeds for farm plant- 
ing, and he proceeded at once to carn>' the 
scheme into effect. He purchased one of 
the finest farms near Milford and from 
the outset met with a high degree of suc- 
cess. He entered into a contract with the 
great firm of Peter Henderson & Com- 
pany of New York to supply them with 
seed and this turned out a most lucrative 
agreement for both parties. Some few 
years ago Mr. Beardsley himself with- 
drew from active management of the busi- 
ness, but his son continues it to this day 



and still supplies the New York seed man 
with his seed. 

But it was not merely in his business 
successes that Mr. Beardsley became 
prominent in the community. He took 
an extremely active part in public affairs 
and was closely allied to the local organ- 
ization of the Democrat party. He was 
elected selectman and succeeded himself 
twelve consecutive terms in the same 
office. He w^as a member of the fire de- 
partment for twenty-two years, and a 
member of the board of education and 
did invaluable service to his fellow citi- 
zens in all these capacities. In 1889 he 
was elected to represent Milford in the 
Connecticut State Legislature, serving for 
two years on that body during which time 
he was a member of the railroad com- 
mittee and the commission in charge of 
the Washington Bridge. He participated 
in the movement to install the new struc- 
ture as a free bridge, those across the 
Housatonic at that period being all toll 
bridges. He made a strong motion be- 
fore the Legislature urging this point and 
had the satisfaction to see the bill passed 
providing for the upkeep of the bridge 
out of the county funds. He was re- 
elected to the Legislature in 1891 and was 
again on the railroad committee. Gov- 
ernor Bulkeley appointed him to the Shell- 
fish Commission and in 1893 ^^ ^^^ ^^' 
appointed to this office by Governor Mor- 
ris. 

On May 2S, 1850, Mr. Beardsley was 
united in marriage with Sarah Baldwin, a 
native of Milford, born January 4, 1827, a 
daughter of Elnathan and Sarah (Stow) 
Baldwin, old and highly respected resi- 
dents of that place. Mrs. Beardsley died 
November 24, 1906, aged seventy-nine 
years. Three children have been born 
to them as follows: i. DeWitt Clinton, 
May 18, 1852, now a manufacturer of 
boxes in New Haven ; married Martha 
P. Averv, of Stratford, and has four chil- 



74 



THE NEV/ VQKx 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LE' 
[TILDEN FOUi,D..T.L-ir.-: 





wJioAli^ /^ /JjCOA de£^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dren : Medorah 11., Maud C, Stanley A., 
died in 1915, and Ida Frances. 2. Sarah 
Etta, born February 10, 1855, '^^^^ i^i 
1915 ; was the wife of Charles Clark, now 
engaged in the extract business in West 
Haven : they were the parents of two 
children : George W. and Elwood R. 3. 
Charles Frederick, who resides at home 
and is now carrying on the great seed 
business founded by his father. Air. 
Beardsley is a Congregationalist in re- 
ligious belief and in 1850 joined the First 
Church of that denomination in Milford 
and is to-day one of the oldest living 
members, lie is a member of the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows. 



BEARDSLEY, Charles Frederick, 

Substantial Citizen. 

\\'hen man first emerged from that 
state of civilization in which his intellect 
was approximately that of a beast, and 
became a thinking being, the first pur- 
suit or occupation to which he directed 
his energies was the cultivation of the 
soil. On this state of development, the 
first beyond the actual battle for self- 
preservation, depended the later evolu- 
tion of the entire race. Upon the impor- 
tance or unimportance of the position 
which agriculture occupies in the national 
life, the subsequent history of the nation 
hinges. Rome drew by far the greater 
proportion of her famous statesmen, sol- 
diers, generals, writers and poets from 
that sturdy caste which formed the very 
sinews of the nation, the "agricolae," or 
farmers. And her greatness lasted so 
long as the homely virtues, connected 
with the cultivation of the soil, stood for 
the highest and best in the ideals of the 
empire. Pompey, Cicero, Marius, Cato, 
Cincinnatus, men whose names are syn- 
onymous with the greatness and prestige 
of the Roman Empire, came from the 
farming class, and when not occupied 



with professional affairs, or the affairs of 
the State, reverted to it. It was not until 
Rome undervalued the virility and inspira- 
tion to be gained from nearness to the 
soil, and, forsaking the country, went 
madly into the dissipated life of the cities, 
that she fell. 

We Americans are essentially a nation 
of farmers, on a colossal scale, and our 
greatest men have ever been, and will 
continue to be sons of the soil. From the 
very founding of the nation farming has 
occupied first place in the national pur- 
suits, and has been responsible to a 
greater extent than any other thing for 
the position which America holds in the 
world to-day. It is this fact that makes 
agriculture a topic of absorbing interest 
to thinking people, and draws men to it 
as a life work. 

Charles Frederick Beardsley comes of 
a family of gentlemen farmers, which 
reaches back to the times of the Revolu- 
tion. He is the son of Charles William 
Beardsley, whose sketch precedes this, 
and was born on the Beardsley farm in 
Milford, Connecticut, in the house in 
which he now lives, on June 16, 1866. He 
was given educational advantages of a 
high order, and attended the elementary 
and high schools of Milford, later going 
to the Russell Military Academy at New 
Haven. He left school at the age of six- 
teen years, however, and returned to his 
father's farm. He selected farming from 
among the walks of life for which his edu- 
cational training had prepared him, as his 
vocation, and has devoted his entire life 
since that time to it. He has made a close 
and continual study of the latest and most 
scientific and efficient methods of farm- 
ing, and has applied all these to his work. 
Mr. Beardsley is regarded as one of the 
most prominent farmers in the entire 
State of Connecticut. He has given much 
time to the raising of fine cattle and 
horses, and has specialized in the raising 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of race horses. For forty years, all kinds 
of garden seed, raised on the Beardsley 
farm, has been sold to Peter Henderson 
& Company of New York, and the ex- 
cellence of its quality has become a stand- 
ard by which other seed is measured. The 
Beardsley farm covers one hundred and 
fifty acres of land of superior grade, 
valued at two hundred and fifty dollars 
an acre. Beside this, Mr. Beardsley owns 
several other tracts of land in the vicin- 
ity of Milford. 

Althoug-h a man of prominence in the 
town of Milford, Mr. Beardsley has never 
taken an active part in its political affairs, 
declining- firmly any nomination to public 
office. He is a Democrat in political 
affiliation, but not bound against his 
better judgment by party lines. His time 
has been so entirely taken up by his busi- 
ness pursuits that he has never become a 
member of any clubs, or fraternal organ- 
izations of any sort. He is a member of 
the First Congregational Church of Mil- 
ford. 

On August 29, 191 1. Mr. Beardsley mar- 
ried Florence Montonboult, a daughter of 
Joseph and Agnes (Palmer) Monton- 
boult, of Montreal, Canada. Mrs. Beards- 
ley was born at Alpina, Michigan. Her 
father, a farmer near Montreal, is of 
French descent, and her mother English. 

A fact of historical interest in connec- 
tion with the Beardsley farm is that one 
of the oldest houses in the State of Con- 
necticut, two hundred and fifty years old. 
still stands intact upon it. The house in 
which Mr. Beardsley himself was born is 
sixty-five years old. 



REEVES, Francis Thomas, 

Lanryer, Jurist. 

When the new American race is at 
length wholly formed in this country after 
years of slow preparation in which the 



peoples of many climes and races are 
amalgamated to form a single unit, it 
seems practically incontestable that the 
general character of the resulting race 
will be Anglo-Saxon or English. It will, 
of course, contain a thousand other ele- 
ments and the gaiety and pathos of the 
Celt, the romance of the Slav, the inten- 
sity of the Hebrew will all probably exist 
as modifications of those traits of energy 
and enterprise that we have come to look 
upon as typically Anglo-Saxon ; yet these 
will dominate, and it shall be from the 
English, from whom we have them, that 
the customs, the institutions, the prevail- 
ing social tone of that prospective people 
will be derived. It has so happened that, 
])y a fortunate circumstance, the English 
people, upon whom we depend for our 
most fundamental traits, were the first 
and dominating element here, that they 
established a civilization of their own 
type here and that there has never been 
a sufficient inroad of foreign elements to 
greatly alter it, since as each new con- 
tingent arrived its members were trans- 
muted into Americans who adopted our 
way of thinking as they adopted our lan- 
guage and thus, while they modified 
slightly, yet in the main only added to 
the mass and momentum of the great 
English tradition of freedom and equal- 
ity upon which our very existence as a 
nation is built. We are not so fortunate 
as to have to-day an immigration of Eng- 
lishmen in any way comparable in num- 
bers with that of many other races, yet 
they still find their way here now and 
then, to make splendid citizens and take 
their share in preserving in a new land 
the splendid traditions of a common an- 
cestry. 

While not himself a native of Eng- 
land, having been born in Thomaston, 
Connecticut, August 3, 1877, Francis 
Thomas Reeves, the distinguished gen- 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tleman whose name heads this brief ap- 
preciation, is a son of one who was, and 
it has been his part, during- the compara- 
tively brief portion of his hfe that he has 
spent, to maintain the best traditions and 
associations of the race in his character 
and conduct. It was Mr. Reeves' grand- 
parents, Francis and Martha (Broad) 
Reeves, who were the real immigrant 
ancestors, his father being an infant of 
but two years when he was brought to 
his new home in America. Francis 
Reeves was employed as a salesman in 
this country and in the course of his 
career travelled to many parts of it. He 
was a man of extremely adventurous and 
enterprising spirit and it was but five 
years after he had come here to live that 
he lost his life in the Pike's Peak region 
of Colorado, whither he had gone on a 
prospecting expedition. Of the four chil- 
dren of Francis and Martha (Broad) 
Reeves, the eldest, Francis, Jr., is de- 
ceased, and the second is Peter B. Reeves, 
the father of Francis T. Reeves. 

As has already been stated, Peter B. 
Reeves was born in England two years 
before his journey across the Atlantic, on 
June 28, 1852. He now resides in Water- 
bury, Connecticut, where he is associated 
with the Waterbury Clock Company. He 
married Ada M. Savage, of New York 
City, November 6, 1875, and their chil- 
dren were : Francis Thomas, of whom 
further; William Ainsworth, born May 
18, 1879, at Thomaston ; Ada May, born 
February 29, 1884, in Brooklyn, New 
York ; and Martha Amelia, born February 
T, 1889, in Jersey City, New Jersey, and 
died April 19, 1914. 

Only the first four years of his life was 
spent by Francis Thomas Reeves in his 
native town of Thomaston, his parents 
moving in 1881 to Brooklyn, New York, 
where he first attended school. Eight 
years later they came to Waterbury, Con- 



necticut, and there the lad attended the 
high school for a couple of years. He was 
fourteen years of age when he left his 
studies and found employment with the 
Waterbury Clock Company, with which 
his father was and is still connected. The 
younger man entered the employ of this 
great company in 1891 and remained 
there for nine years, being promoted sev- 
eral times in that period. He was pos- 
sessed of a great ambition, however, and 
made up his mind to make a name for 
himself in a profession and ultimately de- 
cided on the law. Accordingly in 1900 he 
left the company and in September of 
that year entered the Southwestern Bap- 
tist College at Jackson, Tennessee, from 
which he graduated in 1901 with the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Laws. He went to 
the Washington and Lee University in 
1902 and graduated with the class of 
1903. again taking the degree of Bachelor 
of Laws. His graduation took place in 
June and before the month was over he 
had returned to Waterbury, Connecticut, 
and opened an office and established him- 
self in legal practice there. From the out- 
set Mr. Reeves was successful, and al- 
though he is still a comparatively young 
man he is regarded as one of the most 
promising attorneys in the city and 
already as a leader of the bar. He entered 
politics some years ago and quickly made 
his personality felt in the afTairs of the 
city. It is in this connection that he is 
best known in Waterbury and that part 
of the State. As early as 1904 he was 
appointed to the position of assistant city 
clerk and served in that office for upwards 
of two years, becoming the Democratic 
candidate for tax collector in the autumn 
of 1905. To this office he was elected and 
again in 1907, serving for two years or 
four years in all. But much more impor- 
tant matters were coming to the young 
man, whose most efficient and disinter- 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ested work in the offices he had held at- 
tracted the favorable notice of the public 
generally. He became the Democratic 
candidate for mayor of Waterbury in 
1909 and was defeated by only ninety- 
two votes by William B. Hotchkiss. Two 
years later, Mr. Reeves was again candi- 
date and again ran against Mr. Hotchkiss, 
who was up for reelection, and whom he 
this time defeated. He served in this 
most important post for two years and 
rendered an invaluable service, not merely 
to his party, but to the community gen- 
erally, carrying out much that was valu- 
able in the way of public work and re- 
form. One of the important things ac- 
complished in his administration was the 
completion of the plans for the new 
Waterbury City Hall. In the year 1914 
Mr. Reeves was appointed jvidge of the 
District Court of Waterbury, an office 
that he is still holding and which expires 
in 1918. Besides these more important 
offices, Judge Reeves has held many 
minor ones and many local honors have 
been accorded him, these being a slender 
expression of the esteem in which he is 
held by his fellow citizens. 

Judge Reeves is a man who does not 
allow his profession to narrow his outlook 
upon life, or his more formal official 
duties to blind him to the general life of 
the community which he has been called 
to preside over. In the matter of social 
and club activities he is a prominent par- 
ticipant and belongs to a number of im- 
portant organizations. He is a member 
of the local lodge of the Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of the Elks, a member of 
the Waterbury Conclave of the Hepta- 
sophs, and the Charter Oak Camp of the 
W^oodmen of the World. He was also a 
member of several local societies and 
clubs and made himself interested in the 
success of all. In the matter of religion 



Mr. Reeves is affiliated with the Epis- 
copal church and is a member of Trinity 
parish in Waterbury. 

On June 9, 1904, at Naugatuck, Con- 
necticut, Mr. Reeves was united in mar- 
riage with Betty Peterson of that place. 
Mrs. Reeves is a native of Sweden and a 
daughter of Peter Larson and Christina 
Peterson, who still reside in Sweden. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Reeves has been born one 
daughter, October 5, 1910, Doris Betty. 

Judge Reeves is a man of thoroughly 
Democratic ideals and standards, a man 
who disregards the external characteris- 
tics of men and perceives the essential 
underlying manhood in each. He is ex- 
tremely fond of outdoor sports and pas- 
times, especially of hunting and fishing, 
enjoys automobiling greatly and is an en- 
thusiastic billiard player, but if he may be 
said to have any hobby at all that hobby 
is his work, in which he is completely 
wrapped up. Indeed, work appears to be 
his play, and one of his chief occupations 
outside of the practice of his profession 
or the discharge of his public duties is 
the subject of banking, of which he is a 
very thorough student. So much is he 
a student of this subject that he is em- 
ployed as instructor in the principles of 
banking in the Waterbury Chapter of the 
Institute of Banking. 



ROWLAND, Herbert Samuel, 
Manufacturer. 

Among the many important manufac- 
turing concerns which give Waterbury, 
Connecticut, its commercial importance 
is the Berbecker & Rowland Manufactur- 
ing Company, Herbert S. Rowland being 
secretary and treasurer. This company 
manufactures and imports plain and fancy 
furniture nails, cabinet and upholstery 
hardware, brass and other metal goods, 
had a small beginning, but has grown to 



7'^ 



THE r;LV/ ■ '-LK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a large modernly equipped plant, trans- 
acting an extensive business. In this 
growth and prosperity Mr. Rowland has 
been a contributing factor, no department 
of the company's business showing more 
efficient management than the secretary- 
treasurer's office. Mr. Rowland came to 
Waterbury when a young man fresh from 
school and has spent his entire business 
life in that city. All but five years of 
that period has been spent with the com- 
pany whose financial affairs are in his 
capable hands. He is a w-ise, cautious, 
yet progressive business man and has 
won enviable standing among men of 
affairs. He is a member of the Weston 
branch of the well known Rowland fam- 
ily, son of Samuel Sherwood and Emily 
Cole (Thorpe) Rowland. 

Samuel Sherwood Rowland, an only 
child, was born in Weston, Connecticut, 
died at Southport in the same State about 
1886, aged sixty-four years, a farmer. He 
married Emily Cole Thorpe, born in 
Southport, who died in 1875 at ^^'eston. 
Two of their five children are living, 
Henry Lincoln, trust officer of the Colo- 
nial Trust Company of Waterbury, and 
Herbert S. (the youngest child), of further 
mention. The deceased are : Harriet J. 
(the eldest child), wife of A. C. Barron, 
of Nunda, New York; Edith Sherwood, 
who married Asa F. Bosworth, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island ; and Mary Emily. 
who died unmarried. 

Herbert Samuel Rowland was born at 
Weston, Connecticut, August 21, 1866, 
but at the age of ten years the family 
moved to Southport, Connecticut, where 
he attended public schools until his ad- 
mission to Fairfield Academy, and for 
five years he was a student at South Berk- 
shire Institute, Xew Marlboro, Massa- 
chusetts. After his graduation he entered 
the employ of the Waterbury Button 
Company at Waterbury. continuing in 



that employ for five years. He then 
formed the connection that now exists 
with the Berbecker & Rowland Manufac- 
turing Company. The plant of the com- 
pany is located at Waterville, near Water- 
bury. He is also a director of the Water- 
bury Trust Company and of the Apothe- 
car}- Hall Company. Mr. Rowland is a 
member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows 
orders, the Waterbury Country Club, the 
Waterbury Club, the Home Club, the 
First Congregational Church, and in polit- 
ical faith is a Republican. He has never 
sought nor accepted public office, but is 
fully alive to the responsibilities of citi- 
zenship and interested in all that pertains 
to the public welfare. 

r^Ir. Rowland married, at Woodbury, 
Connecticut, October 6, 1893, Susan S. 
North, born at Waterbury. daughter of 
Dr. Alfred North, a long time physician 
of Waterbury, now deceased, and his 
wife, Amelia H. (Buck) North, born in 
Xew York City. ]\Ir. and Mrs. Rowland 
are the parents of two children : Alfred 
North, born January 15. 1901, and Helen 
North, December 31, 1903. 



PALMER, Robert, 

Business Man, Pnblic Official. 

Ten generations of Palmers. William 
Palmer and his descendants, have flour- 
ished in America, the founder coming 
from England on the ship "Fortune" in 
1621. one year after the Pilgrims of the 
"Mayflower." Every State in the L'nion 
claims descendants of William Palmer, 
and in Connecticut there are many of the 
name. Robert Palmer, of Waterbury, 
Connecticut, of the tenth American gen- 
eration, is. however, of New York birth, 
his grandfather, also a William Palmer, 
having settled in Dutchess county of that 
State. The lapse of time has brought him 
back to New England, the home of his 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



earlier ancestors, and to the State of Con- 
necticut, where another Robert Palmer, 
but of an earlier generation, was a famous 
shipbuilder. 

The name Palmer was originally a com- 
mon title of those pilgrims who had re- 
turned from the Holy Land bringing with 
them as a token, and a remembrance of 
their pilgrimage, a branch of a palm tree. 
Thus is Scott's "Marmion," Canto I — 
xxiii : 

Here is a holy Palmer come, 

From Salem first and last from Rome. 

Certain returned Crusaders were knight- 
ed and allowed to assume the title "Pal- 
mer" as a surname. 

William Palmer, the American founder 
of the family, settled in Plymouth with 
the Pilgrims, his land being in that part 
later set off as Duxbury. He brought a 
son William (2), and by a second wife 
had a son Henry. This son William (2) 
died before his father, but left a son, Wil- 
liam (3), from whom many Massachu- 
setts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, and 
New York Palmer families are descended. 
William Palmer, of the eighth generation 
in America, a descendant of William Pal- 
mer, "the founder," lived in Dutchess 
coimty. New York. He married a mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, Miss White, 
and of their children three are yet living: 
John Allen, of further mention ; Edward 
and Milo Palmer, of Torrington, Connec- 
ticut. 

John Allen Palmer, born in Dutchess 
county, New York, in 1845, is now (1916) 
living retired at Falls Village, Connecti- 
cut, an honored veteran of the Civil War. 
He was little more than a boy when he 
enlisted in the Fifth Regiment Connecti- 
cut Volunteers, and except when in hos- 
pital, or a prisoner, there were no battles 
in which this famous fighting regiment 
took part in which he did not participate. 



He was severely wounded, was captured 
by the Confederates and confined within 
the infamous Andersonville stockade, but 
survived all perils, and when finally honor- 
ably discharged and mustered out of the 
United States army had completed four 
and one-half years of service. He re- 
turned to Dutchess county a veteran in 
experience, having hardly yet attained his 
majority. He became a farmer and stock- 
raiser, following that occupation and busi- 
ness all his active years, residing several 
years at Amenia, Dutchess county, where 
his son Robert was born. He married 
Sarah U. Buckley, born in Sharon, Con- 
necticut, who died in 1904. John A. and 
Sarah U. Palmer were the parents of ten 
children, seven of whom are living: John, 
deceased ; Robert, of further mention ; 
Thomas, deceased ; Richard ; Emma, wife 
of H. N. Adams, of Goshen, Connecticut; 
Sarah, wife of William Harding, of Mount 
Vernon, New York ; Nathaniel, of Tor- 
rington, Connecticut ; Dolly, wife of C. 
E. Holcomb, of Canaan, Connecticut; 
Anna, residing in New York City ; Mary, 
residing in New Rochelle, New York. 

Robert Palmer, second son of John 
Allen and Sarah U. (Buckley) Palmer, 
was born at Amenia, Dutchess county. 
New York, February 24. 1870, of the tenth 
Palmer generation in America. When he 
was less than a year old his parents moved 
to Sharon, Connecticut, where he resided 
for twelve years, then left home. He 
attended public schools in Sharon, and 
after leaving home worked for different 
farmers at Burrville for two years, attend- 
ing school during the school year. He 
then spent two years in a similar manner 
at Stockbridge, Massachusetts, working 
and attending school. He then returned 
to Connecticut, and in 1892, being twenty- 
two years of age, located in Waterbury, 
where for eighteen years he was in the 
employ of the American Ring Company, 



80 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



becoming foreman of the packing depart- 
ment after one year of service and remain- 
ing so for seventeen years. 

He had taken a deep interest in public 
affairs from the beginning of his resi- 
dence in Waterbury. but only as a voter 
and party worker, until 1907, when he 
was elected a member of the Board of 
Relief, serving two years. In 1909 he 
was the nominee of the Republican party 
for town clerk, serving his term of two 
years most efficiently, and in 191 1 was 
reelected for another two years. In 1913 
he was again the nominee of his party, 
and at the November polls was the only 
Republican on the city ticket to be elect- 
ed. In 1915 he was nominated for a 
fourth term, and as in 1913 was the only 
Republican to emerge triumphantly from 
the ordeal of the polls, his majority being 
1 171. This leaves the inference very 
plain that Mr. Palmer has filled the office 
of town clerk so well that his Democratic 
friends overlook their party prejudices 
in their desire to retain an efficient town 
clerk in office. This is highly compli- 
mentary to the town clerk and highly 
commendable to the independent voters 
who have retained him in office in the 
face of an adverse party majority. 

Mr. Palmer is particularly well known 
in fraternal and society circles, holding 
membership in thirty-four organizations, 
five of them being fraternal organizations 
of Waterbury. In many of these he holds 
official positions and in others he has 
passed all the chairs. The societies to 
which he belongs cover a wide fraternal 
and social field, the principal ones being: 
Waterbury Lodge, No. 265, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks ; Water- 
bury Aerie, No. 379, Fraternal Order of 
Eagles ; Waterbury Lodge, No. 703, Loyal 
Order of Moose ; Speedwell Lodge, No. 
10, Knights of Pythias ; White Oak Camp, 
Woodmen of the World; Amity Castle, 

Conn— 2— 6 8l 



No. II, Knights of the Golden Eagle; 
Foresters of America ; New England Or- 
der of Protection ; Concordia Singing So- 
ciety ; Concordia Club of Danbury ; 
Pequot Club of Waterbury ; Brooklyn 
Athletic Club ; South End Social Club ; 
Recreation Rod and Gun Club ; Oakville 
Pigeon Game Club ; Waterbury Sporting 
and Fishing Club, of which he is presi- 
dent ; Washington Hill Athletic Club ; 
Turn Verein Vorworts, of Waterbury ; 
Broadway Social Club. 

Mr. Palmer married, in Waterbury, 
November 2"/, 1897, Catherine Kilbride, 
born in Waterbury, June 23, 1875, daugh- 
ter of Lawrence and Mary (Cullen) Kil- 
bride, both deceased. Lawrence Kil- 
bride was born in the county of Queens, 
Ireland, married in England, Mary Cul- 
len, also born in Queens covmty, Ireland. 
then came o the United States, locating 
in Waterbury, where both died. Robert 
and Catherine Palmer are the parents of 
six children, one of whom died in infancy. 
The living are (1916) : Raymond, aged 
eighteen ; Frank, aged sixteen ; Joseph, 
aged fourteen ; all high school students ; 
Walter, aged twelve, attending grammar 
school ; Marie, aged seven, attending the 
primary department of Notre Dame Con- 
vent. Mrs. Palmer is a member of the 
Roman Catholic church, the children also 
being brought up in that faith. 

Mr. Palmer is a man of genial nature, 
very friendly and filled with the generous 
spirit of fraternity, brotherly love and 
manliness. His friends are many, his up- 
rightness, integrity and honorable life 
commending him to all. 



CHURCH, Ulysses Grant, 

Attorney-at-Laiir. 

The law is an exacting mistress to those 
who would follow her, but, though, exact- 
ing, she brings great rewards. Of her 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



votaries she demands from first to last 
that they make themselves students, nor 
will she excuse them from this necessity, 
however far they may progress in knowl- 
edge. Of them, too, she will have the 
strictest adherence to her standards, the 
closest observation of the etiquette she 
has approved, so that one should not in- 
considerately pledge himself to her cause. 
Yet there are some who possess a pure 
love of the law for its own sake, even in 
this day and generation, some who would 
regard it as well worth their best efforts 
even though it were an end and not a 
means, a road that existed for its own 
sake and led nowhere. Such is undoubt- 
edly true in the case of Ulysses Grant 
Church, the distinguished attorney of 
Waterbury, Connecticut, whose name 
heads this brief sketch, a profound stu- 
dent of the law and an ardent lover of its 
traditions and its methods. 

Ulysses Grant Church was born No- 
vember 2.2, 1869, at Chaplin, Connecticut, 
a son of Julius and Minerva (Turner) 
Church, and a member of an old and 
honored New England family, whose 
founder, Richard Church, came to Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, in 1630. The pa- 
ternal grandfather, Morris Church, was 
born in Mansfield, where he lived most 
of his life, was a farmer in Chaplin, living 
there in the high regard of his neighbors 
until his death at the age of eighty-seven 
years. He was twice married, but it was 
by his first wife, Patty (Robbins) Church, 
that his children were born. There were 
three in all, two daughters, Martha and 
Eunice, both deceased, and Julius. Mr. 
Church's father, now also deceased. 

Julius Church was born in Mansfield, 
but afterward made his home in Chaplin, 
where his son was born, and finally at 
North Windham, where he died in 1915 
at the age of eighty-nine years, his wife 
having died there the year previous at 



the age of eighty-two. Like his father he 
was a farmer, and his son, Mr. Church, 
enjoyed the benefits that come from a 
youth spent amid the wholesome, vigor- 
ous environment of the farm. He was 
the youngest of five children, the others 
being as follows : Emma, who died at the 
age of thirteen years ; Edith, who became 
Mrs. Charles Smith, of North Haven, 
Connecticut, and died in 1891 ; Clifton J., 
who now resides at the old homestead at 
Chaplin with his wife, Eva (Whittaker) 
Church, and their two children, Bernard 
and Lawrence ; Martha, now Mrs. Orin 
E. Colburn, of North Windham, and the 
mother of two children, Raymond and 
Edith. 

Ulysses Grant Church lived in his 
native town of Chaplin during the first 
seventeen years of his life, and there at- 
tended the local public schools for the 
rudimentary portion of his education. 
Later he went to the Mount Hermon 
School at Northfield, Massachusetts, and 
graduated therefrom in the year 1891. In 
later life Mr. Church served a term as 
trustee of this institution. He was a 
}outh of much aml:)ition and no little taste 
for study and he matriculated at Yale 
University in 1891 and graduated with 
the class of 1895 from the academic de- 
partment. It had been a growing desire 
on his part to study law, and upon com- 
pletion of his academic course he en- 
tered the Yale Law School and graduated 
therefrom two years later with the class 
of 1897. Shortly after, the outbreak of 
the Spanish-American War turned Mr. 
Church's thoughts away from the law 
temporarily. He joined the auxiliary force 
of the United States navy, mustered in 
for the occasion. However, the war was 
soon over and in January, 1899, Mr. 
Church came to Waterbury, Connecticut, 
and there began his practice of the law, 
Waterbury having remained his home up 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to the present time. He opened his office 
at Xos. 17 and 19 Odd Fellows' Building, 
his present location, and was very suc- 
cessful from the outset. His practice is 
now a large and important one and he is 
regarded as one of the leaders of the 
county bar. 

Besides his private practice in the law, 
Mr. Church has identified himself promi- 
nently with the affairs of the city he has 
chosen for his home and has already ren- 
dered valuable service to the community. 
Greatly interested in politics from an 
early age, Mr. Church has allied himself 
with the local organization of the Repub- 
lican party, of the principles and policies 
of which he is a staunch supporter. It 
was soon recognized by his colleagues 
that Mr. Church was a coming power in 
the political situation and a natural leader 
and he was placed in a number of respon- 
sible positions in the party's organization. 
He was chairman of the city committee 
for a number of years and for six years 
the member from the Fifteenth Senatorial 
District in the State committee. He is at 
present holding this responsible place, 
serving his fourth term therein, having 
succeeded General Lilly in this position. 
In 1906 he was appointed prosecuting 
attorney for the District Court and served 
in this difficult post until 1914, a period 
of eight years. He is one of those chosen 
in 1915 to serve on the State civil service 
commission by Governor Holcomb. and 
is still effectively serving the State in this 
capacity. 

Mr. Church is a conspicuous figure in 
fraternal circles in Waterbury and a 
prominent member of several orders. He 
belongs to Harmony Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Eureka Chapter. Royal 
Arch Masons, and Clark Commandery. 
Knights Templar. He is also a member 
of the local encampment of the Independ- 



ent Order of Odd Fellows, the Waterbury 
Lodge of Elks, and the Waterbury Lodge 
of Spanish War Veterans. He is a mem- 
ber of the Waterbury Club and decidedly 
active in the general social life of the city. 
He keeps in touch with his colleagues of 
the profession by membership in the 
American Bar Association and the Con- 
necticut Bar Association. In the matter 
of religious belief Mr. Church is a Con- 
gregationalist, attending the First Church 
of that denomination in Waterbury and 
giving liberally of effort and money in its 
cause. 

On December 21, 1899, at Chaplin, Con- 
necticut, the marriage of Mr. Church to 
Mabel Spafford Lincoln was celebrated. 
Mrs. Church is a native of Chaplin, born 
July 10, 1875, a daughter of Edgar S. 
and Katherine (Griggs) Lincoln, then of 
Chaplin, now of Waterbury. where Mr. 
Lincoln lives in retirement, having with- 
drawn from the active life of a large mer- 
cantile establishment some years ago. 
There is another daughter besides Mrs. 
Church, Lucy, now the wife of Hubert 
Blake, of New Britain, Connecticut. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Church one child has been 
born, Richard Lincoln Church, December 
17. 1912. 

The life of Mr. Church may well serve 
as an example for the young men of his 
community. Possessed of talents above 
the average, a capable mind and alert per- 
ceptions, to which he adds a fine legal 
training, he is turning the better part of 
his efforts to the service of the commu- 
nity, contenting himself with the knowl- 
edge of work well done. For such a one 
the future seems to smile most fairly, and 
it may be discreetly predicted that, with 
a growing reputation and his faculties at 
their prime, the coming years will wit- 
ness still higher achievement than in the 
past. 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



FILLEY, Homer Gilbert, 

Active Factor in Community Affairs. 

Among the successful business men of 
the prosperous city of Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, a high place is due to Homer 
Gilbert Filley, whose career from the out- 
set has been successful in the best sense 
of the term, in that it has contributed to 
the welfare of the community as well as 
to his own, and which has placed him 
high in the regard of his fellow citizens. 
Mr. Filley is a fine type of citizen, com- 
bining in his character and personality in 
very happy proportion the qualities of the 
practical business man with those of the 
public-spirited altruist, whose thoughts 
are with the welfare of the community. 
It has been by his own efforts that he has 
risen from the humble position of clerk 
in a dry goods store to that of one of the 
city's prominent merchants, and through- 
out this long and worthy career he never 
has conducted his business so that it was 
anything but a benefit to all his associates 
and to the city-at-large. He is frank and 
outspoken, a man whose integrity has 
never been called in question, who can 
be, and is, trusted to keep the spirit as 
well as the letter of every contract and 
engagement that he enters into. He is 
possessed of the truly democratic in- 
stincts, easy of access to all men and as 
ready to lend his ear to the humblest as 
to the proudest and most influential. 

Homer Gilbert Filley was born July 6, 
1861, in the city of New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, but his family, which is an old one, 
lived in the early years in the neighbor- 
hood of Bloomfield, Connecticut, in which 
town his paternal grandfather, GurdonW. 
Filley, was born. This gentleman was 
married to Polly Crampton, of Bloom- 
field, and while yet a young man moved 
to Litchfield, Connecticut, where he was 
the possessor of a fine farm which he 



operated with a high degree of success 
during the remainder of his life. He and 
his wife were the parents of four children, 
none of whom are at present living. One 
of these, Myron Winslow Filley, was the 
father of the Mr. Filley of this sketch. He 
was born at Litchfield, and during his 
early youth lived upon his father's farm. 
He had a strong ambition to come to the 
city, where he believed a far greater op- 
portunity existed for success, and accord- 
ingly he removed to New Haven and 
there entered the photographer's line. His 
success was marked and he remained in 
this work until the close of his life, attend- 
ing to his business at his office on the 
very day of his death. This occurred at 
the age of seventy-seven at his home. He 
was married, in 1859, to Cleora Gilbert, 
then a girl but seventeen years of age, 
who is still residing in New Haven. She 
was a native of Hamden, Connecticut, and 
one of the seven children of Griswold I. 
and Mary (Ford) Gilbert, of whom only 
she and one brother, John Gilbert, of New 
Haven, senior member of the grocery 
house of John Gilbert & Son, survive. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Filley, Sr., six children were 
born. One of these, Emma, died in in- 
fancy, the five others now living being as 
follows : Homer Gilbert, the eldest, of 
whom further ; Mary, who is now the wife 
of the Rev. H. S. Wanamaker, of Frank- 
fort, Wisconsin ; Luella, who resides in 
New Haven ; Walter O., also a resident of 
New Haven and the holder of the respon- 
sible office of State forester of Connecti- 
cut ; and Sarah, now Mrs. C. C. Chatfield, 
of New Haven. 

The boyhood of Homer Gilbert Filley 
was spent in his native city, New Haven, 
and it was at the fine public schools there 
that he received his education. Upon his 
graduation from the Dwight Grammar 
School, however, he did not further pursue 
his studies, but coming alone to the city of 

84 



r'^^^^'^^^i^ 



i:,- 
U 



J 




^U^f^</^aa6^^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



Waterbury he went to work in the dry 
goods establishment of K. T. Turner & 
Company. This was in the year 1879. 
and for eight years he continued in this 
employ, gradually rising in position until 
he held one of responsibility and promi- 
nence. In 1887. however, he severed his 
connection with this concern entirely and 
then became associated with J. M. Bur- 
rail & Company, dealers in furniture and 
doing a large business in undertaking. 
This firm was the first in the undertaking 
business in the city, having been estab- 
lished there as early as 1849. ^I^"- Eilley 
was admitted to this firm as a partner and 
remains thus associated up to the present 
time. Upon the death of J. M. Burrall in 
the year 1909, the concern became the Fil- 
ley & Crane Company and the control and 
management of the large business passed 
into the hands of Mr. Filley, where they 
still remain. In virtue of his position as 
one of this concern, Mr. Filley is recog- 
nized as one of the most influential busi- 
ness men and merchants in the city and 
has won for himself a reputation second 
to none for integrity and solid conserva- 
tism. 

There are many other departments of 
activity in which Mr. Filley is prominent, 
and there are few movements undertaken 
for the advancement of the public inter- 
ests which, if they appeal to his judgment 
of what is well considered and wise, with 
which he is not identified, often as a 
leader. In fraternal and club circles as 
well as in the more informal functions of 
society, he is conspicuous, and his name is 
included in the membership rolls of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Country Club of Waterbury. In his 
religious belief he is a Congregationalist 
and he attends regularly divine service at 
the Second Church of this denomination 
in Waterbury, contributing liberally to its 
work, especially that of a beneficent and 



philanthropic nature, and himself taking 
an active part therein. 

Mr. Filley was married to Minnie Elea- 
nor Ford, at Torrington, Connecticut, on 
September 18, 1890. Mrs. Filley is a na- 
tive of Torrington and a daughter of Wil- 
liam and Susan W. (Wilson) Ford, old 
and highly respected residents of that 
])lace. Mr. Ford was for a long period a 
farmer there, his death occurring many 
years ago, but Mrs. Ford still resides there 
at the age of seventv-two vears. 



BLAKESLEY, Albert Johnson, 

Financier. 

Albert Johnson Blakesley, whose life 
has been so closely associated with the 
city of Waterbury, Connecticut, since his 
birth there, is a fine example of the strong 
men who in the past and present genera- 
tions have brought such great industrial 
and financial development to New Eng- 
land. As in the case of so many of these, 
Mr. Blakesley is the product of two fac- 
tors, which are apparently well fitted in 
combination to produce the strong, yet 
polished, type that has made New Eng- 
land so famous in the world of business 
enterprise. These factors are, in the first 
place, a native culture, the result of its 
presence in the past generations of his an- 
cestors, and in the second place a youth- 
ful environment of simplicity, with wealth 
sufficient for all needful things yet not 
enough to excuse from the normal tasks 
and labor and so produce the spirit that 
shrinks from effort. 

Mr. Blakesley was born April 30, 1858, 
at Waterbury, Connecticut, and has al- 
ways made that city his home. He re- 
ceived his edtication at the excellent pub- 
lic schools there and graduated from the 
Waterbury High School with the class of 
1873. His father, Augustus M. Blakesley, 
had already made himself a prominent 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



figure in the banking circles of the city 
and reached a high place in the regard of 
his fellow citizens. The elder man was 
not a native of Waterbury, but had come 
thither from Plymouth, Connecticut. He 
was a son of Milo and Dorcas (McKee) 
Blakesley, of Plymouth and Terryville, 
Connecticut, and was himself born there 
March 4, 1830. He came to Waterbury 
some time before the birth of his son, and 
became associated with the Waterbury 
National Bank, rising finally to the office 
of cashier, his term of service there being 
fifty-six years, from 1852 to 1908, in which 
year he died on October 20. He married 
Margaret O. Johnson, of Cadiz, Ohio, 
whose death occurred in Waterbury in 
1884, and by whom he had two children, 
the Mr. Blakesley. of this sketch, and a 
daughter, Jennie Elizabeth, born August 
25, 1865, who is now the wife of Dr. John 
M. Benedict, of Woodbury, Connecticut, 
and the mother of two children, John 
Blakesley and Ruth. 

Upon completing his education, Albert 
Johnson Blakesley began his business life 
as a clerk in the Waterbury National 
Bank, where his father was already the 
cashier, and soon proved himself to be 
gifted with a talent for business above the 
ordinary. It was in 1874 that he first en- 
tered the employ of the bank and it was 
only five years later, in 1879, that he be- 
came head bookkeeper there. Gradually 
more and more responsibility devolved 
upon his shoulders and in 1905 he was 
elected a director of the concern, an office 
that he still holds to-day. In the year 
1907 he was made cashier of the bank to 
succeed his father, and in this office also 
he serves at the present time. Mr. Blakes- 
ley has always been a leader in the affairs 
of the community of which he is a mem- 
ber, not alone in the financial and business 
world, where his influence is exceedingly 
strong, but in many other aspects of its 



life. He is a member of the Home Club, 
the Waterbury Club and the Country 
Club, all of Waterbury. He is also promi- 
nent in the religious life of the city, is a 
member of the Second Congregational 
Church, and very active in the work of 
the congregation. Since the year 1908 he 
has held the position of treasurer of the 
Ecclesiastical Society of the church and 
of the Waterbury Hospital. 

Perhaps the connection in which Mr. 
Blakesley is best known in the city, how- 
ever, is that of his activity in music. He 
is a man of strong and definite tastes in all 
things and this is perhaps his strongest 
taste. He is largely self-educated in this 
matter and learned quite by himself to 
play the pipe organ, one of the most diffi- 
cult of instruments, as any musician 
knows, mastering it to such an extent 
that he is now a most capable church 
organist, as well as being one of the best 
all-round musicians in the city. For two 
years, between 1872 and 1874, he was 
organist in the Congregational church at 
Naugatuck. Connecticut, and from 1874 
to 1909 was organist in the Second Con- 
gregational Church of Waterbury. He is 
passionately fond of his art and devotes 
such time as a busy man may to its culti- 
vation. 

Mr. Blakesley's citizenship is of a kind 
that may well serve as a model for the 
youth of the community. He is possessed 
of those sterling virtues that have been 
considered typical of the New England 
character, a simple, straightforward sort 
of democracy and a union of idealism with 
a practical grasp of affairs, which marks 
the most effective and successful men. 
His place in the business world is an envi- 
able one, and he enjoys a universal repu- 
tation for the most undeviating integrity 
and the soundest judgment. As a man he 
is not one jot less admired than as a 
banker and financier. Indeed, the regard 



86 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for him in his private relations, as a friend, 
and as a good neighbor, is perhaps even 
higher than as a successful man of busi- 
ness. He is a social man, delighting in 
the intercourse of his fellows, especially 
when it is of an informal, spontaneous 
nature, although for the more formal kind 
of social function he has no great fond- 
ness. His chief happiness is found in the 
life of his home, where his own individual- 
ity finds its readiest and most typical ex- 
pression, at once in his beloved music and 
in the moulding of the external features of 
the home to fit his tastes and fancies. It 
is for this reason that his home possesses 
a charm that many more pretentious 
abodes lack entirely, because it is a real 
expression of its cultured and enlightened 
inmates. 

Mr. Blakesley married (first) in 1879. 
Fannie F. Atwood, of Waterbury, who 
died in 1884. Two children were born to 
them, both of whom died in infancy. Mr. 
Blakesley married (second) in 1888, Marie 
D. Mitchell, a native of New York State, 
born at Gloversville. 



HEMINWAY, Harry Hinman, 

Manufacturer. 

Harry Hinman Heminway was born at 
Watertown, Connecticut, November 5, 
1869. His grandfather was the founder 
of the important firm of M. Heminway & 
Sons, manufacturers of silk at Water- 
town, and the father retired from this con- 
cern in order to organize the Watertown 
Trust Company in 191 1, a most important 
financial institution of which he is still 
the president. Merritt Heminway was 
born at Watertown, August 9, 1842, and 
was married to Edla R. Hinman, of 
Watertown, a daughter of Charles R. and 
Eliza A. (Loveland) Hinman, of that 
place. Their son has made his home in 
his native town of Watertown to the pres- 
ent time, but his business interests have 



been transferred to the neighboring city 
of Waterbury. The preliminary part of 
his education was obtained in the public 
schools of Watertown, which he attended 
up to the age of twelve years, and he was 
then sent away from home to the Ches- 
shire Academy, a boarding school, where 
he remained three years. From there he 
went to the Mohegan Lake School at Mo- 
hegan Lake, New York, and graduated 
from the last named institution with the 
class of 1887. He entered the silk busi- 
ness founded by his grandfather, and 
there remained until 1901. He then re- 
tired from the silk business, and pur- 
chased the business of the A. C. Northrop 
Company, manufacturers of paper boxes 
at Waterbury. Upon gaining possession 
of this establishment, Mr. Heminway in- 
corporated it under the name of the 
Waterbury Paper Box Company. In 1914 
he became associated with the Metal Spe- 
cialty Manufacturing Company of Water- 
bury. He is also a director of the Water- 
bury Trust Company and of the Water- 
town Trust Company, the latter institu- 
tion being that of which his father is the 
president. He is an Episcopalian in his 
religious belief and a member of the Epis- 
copal church in Watertown and has been 
a vestryman for some years. 

Harry Hinman Heminway was married 
at Watertown, on October 18, 1892, to 
Charlotte Bishop Lewis, a native of 
Watertown. Mrs. Heminway is the 
daughter of Robert B. and Jane (Warren) 
Lewis, the former now living in retire- 
ment from business at New Rochelle, New 
York, and the latter deceased. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Heminway two children have 
been born as follows : Merritt, second, 
born September 10, 1896, now a student 
at Yale University in the class of 1918; 
and Bartow Lewis, born November 25, 
1899, and now a pupil at the well known 
Taft's School at Watertown in the class 
of 1917. 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BRETT, Hon. Frank P., 

La^ryer, Ijegislator. 

Hon. Frank P. Brett, member of the 
legal fraternity, practicing in Waterbury, 
is a descendant of an Irish ancestry, in- 
heriting in marked degree the characteris- 
tics of that race of people. 

Patrick Brett, father of Frank P. Brett, 
was born in County Sligo, Ireland, about 
1830, died in Waterbury, Connecticut, in 
April, 1871. His father served in the ca- 
pacity of county surveyor of County Sligo, 
being proprietor of considerable land in 
that section, and he and his wife were the 
parents of several children, one of whom 
was a fleet surgeon, another a county sur- 
veyor, and another a Queen's counsel. 
Patrick Brett was reared and educated in 
his native land, and in 1850, when about 
twenty years of age, emigrated to this 
country and located in Newark, New Jer- 
sey, where he secured employment as a 
bookkeeper and he served as such for a 
number of years, resigning in order to en- 
ter the employ of the Waterbury Buckle 
Company, Waterbury, Connecticut, which 
was tendered him. He was an expert ac- 
countant, assumed entire charge of their 
accounts and also straightened out many 
sets of books in the city. Shortly after his 
connection with the company he was 
elected to the higher office of secretary 
and treasurer, in which capacity he was 
serving at the time of his decease, and he 
was also a stockholder in the company. He 
married (first) Elizabeth Henry, who bore 
him several children. He married (second) 
Elizabeth Slater, of Massachusetts, a na- 
tive of Vermont, who prior to her mar- 
riage taught school in Newark, New Jer- 
sey, and in Worcester, Massachusetts, and 
who was universally recognized as a 
woman of unusual accomplishments and 
rare intelligence. Her death occurred 
May 8, 1895. She was a daughter of John 



Slater, a native of County Sligo, Ireland, 
where he resided until about the year 1832. 
when he removed to Quebec, Canada, 
where he was employed as supervisor of 
public works, retaining the position for 
only a short period of time, removing to 
the United States to escape the epidemic 
of cholera then raging in Canada. His 
first residence in this country was in the 
State of Vermont, from whence he re- 
moved to Western Massachusetts, where 
he devoted his attention to agricultural 
pursuits, and was one of the pioneer Cath- 
olics of that section, and upon his removal 
to Amherst he became a leader among the 
Catholics for a radius of fifty miles, gather- 
ing the people of that faith together and 
securing the services of a priest to min- 
ister to them. Mr. Slater was the father 
of six daughters and one son ; the daugh- 
ters all followed the same vocation, that 
of school teacher, five of them coming to 
Waterbury, Connecticut, and teaching in 
the first parochial school under public 
school management in that State, continu- 
ing for a number of years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Brett were the parents of two children : 
William H., whose death occurred April 
6, 1894, and Frank P., of whom further. 

Frank P. Brett was born in Waterbury, 
Connecticut, December 13, 1869. He was 
educated in the public schools of his na- 
tive city, graduating from the high school 
in 1888. He then placed himself under the 
preceptorship of Charles A. Colley, a suc- 
cessful lawyer, with whom he studied for 
a period of two years, and supplemented 
the knowledge acquired vmder his tuition 
by a course of study in Yale Law School, 
from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1892. After passing the required 
examinations he was admitted to the Con- 
necticut bar in June, 1892, and located for 
the active practice of his profession in 
W^aterbury, and during the intervening 
years, almost a quarter of a century, he 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has built up an extensive clientele and 
gained a reputation of which any man 
might well be proud, being the result of 
honest, earnest labor, and his standing at 
the bar is a merited tribute to his ability. 
He has also become well known in politi- 
cal circles, having been chosen by his fel- 
low citizens to fill various public offices, 
being a candidate on the Democratic 
ticket, both he and his father ])cing staunch 
adherents of the })rinciples of Democracy. 
He was a m,ember of the board of school 
visitors for six year; a representative in 
the State Legislature in 1899; and clerk 
of the town of Waterbury, elected in the 
fall of 1899 and serving until 1910. He 
has been prominent and influential in for- 
w^arding all movements for the welfare of 
his party and of the citizens of Water- 
bury, and is highly esteemed by all with 
whom he is brought in contact. He is 
faithful to the religion of his forefathers, 
a consistent member of St. Margaret's 
Church, Waterbury, and a generous con- 
tributor to its maintenance. He holds 
membership in the Knights of Columbus ; 
the Foresters of America ; the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians ; the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks ; the Veteran 
Association of the Connecticut National 
Guard, having served sixteen years as an 
active member thereof ; the American- 
Irish Historical Society ; associate mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of the Republic 
and several other societies having local 
interests in his native city. 



PILLING, John William, 

Business Man. 

As president of the Pilling Brass Com- 
pany of Waterbury, Connecticut, Mr. Pill- 
ing has won prominence in the manufac- 
turing circle in which he moves and has 
added to the commercial importance of his 
city. The Fillings are of ancient English 



lineage, John W. Pilling being of the 
first American born generation. On his 
mother's side he is of Scotch descent, she 
being born in Edinburgh. He is a son" of 
William Pilling, and a grandson of John 
and Mary (Dobson) Pilling, both of 
whom died at advanced ages in England, 
leaving children : William, of further 
mention ; l^lizabeth and Isaac, all de- 
ceased. 

William l-'illing w^as born at Hudders- 
field, England, in 1834, died at Westerly, 
Rhode Island, in October, 1865. He came 
to the United States in 1857, resided for a 
time at Franklin, New Jersey, removing 
thence to Stonington, Connecticut, and 
later to W^esterly, where he was in charge 
of the operation of a woolen m,ill. He died 
at the age of thirty-one years, just fairly 
entering upon a life work of promise. He 
married Isabella Fleming, born in Edin- 
burgh. Scotland, daughter of John and 
Mary (Black) Fleming. She survived her 
husband and died in W^aterbury, Connec- 
ticut, aged seventy-nine years. Her only 
brother, James Fleming, died in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. William and Isa- 
bella (Fleming) Pilling were the parents 
of four children : Mary, a resident of 
W' aterbury ; Elizabeth, widow of Na- 
thaniel Gault, residing in Waterbury ; 
John W., of further mention; and James 
H., secretary of the Pilling Brass Com- 
pany, a sketch of whom follow^s in this 
work. 

John W. Pilling was born at Franklin, 
near Newark, New Jersey, July 17, 1861, 
his parents moving to Westerly, Rhode 
Island, the followdng year. There he at- 
tended public schools until he was sixteen 
years of age. He then accompanied his 
widowed mother to Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, which city has since been his home. 
He learned the carpenter's trade thor- 
oughly and as apprentice and journeyman 
worked at that trade for ten years. He 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



then became a worker in the brass works 
of the Scoville Manufacturing Company, 
remaining two years, then for sixteen 
years was in a responsible position with 
Benedict & Burnham,. In 1907 he organ- 
ized the Pilling Brass Company of which 
he is president and treasurer, his brother, 
James H. Pilling, secretary. The firm are 
manufacturers of phosphor bronze, brass, 
German silver, and copper stock of varied 
width and thickness, and are highly re- 
garded in the trade. Mr. Pilling is a Re- 
publican in politics. He is an earnest, 
capable business man, thoroughly devoted 
and honorable, and interested in those 
movements which promote the material 
growth and moral welfare of his city. For 
thirty years he has been a menxber of the 
Second Congregational Church, an active 
promoter of its interests and a generous 
supporter. 

Mr. Pilling married, in Waterbury, Jan- 
uary 26, 1887, Rose Emily Boden, born in 
New York, daughter of Benjamin and 
Rebecca (Smith) Boden, both living at 
Oakville, Connecticut, her father a retired 
mechanic at the age of eighty-five, her 
mother aged seventy-five. Mr. and Mrs. 
Pilling have four children : Norman Bo- 
den, born January 23, 1893 ; Marian ; Mar- 
garet ; and John William, Jr., born in 
1903. 



PILLING, James Henry, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

At the age of fifteen Mr. Pilling moved 
with his widowed mother and her family 
to Waterbury, Connecticut, and from that 
time has resided in that city, one of its 
pushing, energetic boys, reputable busi- 
ness men and honored public officials. He 
has filled many public positions and as 
councilman, alderman, town treasurer, 
commissioner of charities and postmaster, 
has served the city with fidelity and zeal. 



As an employe of the Scoville Manufac- 
turing Company for twenty years he 
proved his business quality, and as secre- 
tary of the Pilling Brass Company, he has 
contributed to the upbuilding of another 
strong manufacturing enterprise to add to 
his city's material prosperity. 

James Henry Pilling was born May 12, 
1863, at Stonington, Connecticut, his par- 
ents living there for a time prior to taking 
up their residence in Westerly, Rhode 
Island. He was but a child of less than 
three years when his father died, but his 
stout-hearted mother kept the children 
with her and gave them the advantages of 
the public schools. He attended school 
until he was thirteen, then worked as 
clerk in a dry goods store until the re- 
moval of the family to W^aterbury in 1878. 
For two years after coming to Waterbury 
he was employed in the brass works of 
the Scoville Manufacturing Company, 
then entered the government service as 
clerk in the Waterbury post office. He 
continued in that position for seven years, 
then resigned and re-entered the employ 
of the Scoville Manufacturing Company, 
remaining with that corporation in re- 
sponsible position for twenty years. In 
1907 he joined his brother, John William 
Pilling, in the organization of the Pilling 
Brass Company, of which he is secretary, 
John W. Pilling president and treasurer. 
The company is a successful one and 
under the capable management of the 
brothers promises to so continue. 

James Henry Pilling from the time he 
became a voter has taken an interest in 
political affairs. He is a Republican in 
his political faith and since 1892 has been 
one of the leaders of the party in Water- 
bury. He was first elected a member of 
the Council in 1892, serving through re- 
election for three terms. In 1896 he was 
elected alderman, serving during 1896 
and 1897. During the same period he 



90 




zu^ /hi /^^e^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was commissioner of charities and during 
1898 and 1899 was town treasurer. In 
1902 he was again elected alderman, serv- 
ing continuously until 1907. During 1904 
and 1905 he was again commissioner of 
charities, and on Alarch 30, 1907, he was 
appointed postmaster of Waterbury by 
President Roosevelt. He was reappointed 
by President Taft four years later, hold- 
ing the office until the expiration of his 
second term, March 30, 1915. This rec- 
ord of continuous public service, ex- 
tending over a period of nearly a quar- 
ter of a century, indicates Mr, Pill- 
ing's popularity and the value placed by 
his fellow-men upon his efforts to serve 
the public honorably and efficiently. 
There is no stain upon his record and he 
can review his public career with satis- 
faction. For twenty-five years he has 
been a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, is also a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and very popular in both orders. In re- 
ligious affiliation he is connected with the 
Second Congregational Church. He is 
unmarried. 



BEACH, George Mile, 

Public Official. 

A descendant of Connecticut Revolu- 
tionary sires, son and grandson of Con- 
necticut farmers, George M. Beach has 
proved a worthy twentieth century de- 
scendant of a family which for over two 
and a half centuries has been one of the 
strong families of Connecticut, both as a 
colony and a commonwealth. His early 
life was spent on the farm in much the 
same manner as former generations of his 
family had spent theirs, but after attain- 
ing legal age he left the farm and has 
since been a city resident, engaged in 
factory life and an important factor in 
city government. He descends from the 



Goshen branch of the family founded by 
Thomas Beach. 

John Beach left W'allingford in 1728 
and became one of the founders of the 
town of Goshen, Connecticut, where in 
1739 he built one of the largest houses in 
the town and in one of the most popular 
residence sections, now East Goshen, and 
there he died May 9, 1775. When half a 
century later the Revolutionary War was 
being waged fourteen men by the name 
of Beach fought in the Continental army 
from the town of Goshen. 

There are* three immigrants named 
Beach found in the records of Xew Haven 
Colony for 1639, Richard, John and 
Thomas, and the evidence that they were 
brothers appears conclusive. Richard 
Beach came from London in 1635 in the 
ship "Elizabeth and Ann" and settled in 
New Haven as early as 1639. John Beach 
was concerned with Richard Beach in 
1647 'I'l t^ie settlement of an estate, and 
before 1660 located in Stamford, Connec- 
ticut. Both John and Richard Beach 
bought lands in Wallingford. Thomas 
Beach, the third brother, took the oath of 
fidelity in New Haven, March 7, 1647, ^^^ 
had been there prior to that date. Later 
he moved to Milford, then to Walling- 
ford. where he resided for a time, dying in 
Milford in 1662. All the brothers mar- 
ried, had issue, and from them are all of 
the name in Connecticut traced, whose an- 
cestors were in the State prior to 1650. 
The name is one of the best known in the 
State and has been honorably borne in 
every generation by men of eminence in 
the professions and the various occupa- 
tions in which men of worth engage. 
George Milo Beach, of Waterbury, de- 
scends from Thomas Beach, of New 
Haven, 1647, through John Beach, born 
1655, Samuel Beach, born 1696, Zophar 
Beach, born 1723, Abner Beach, born 
1748, Heman Beach, a native of Goshen, 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, born 1775, and Milo Beach, 
born 1803. 

Heman Beach, son of Abner and Beu- 
lah (Abernethy) Beach, was born in 
Goshen, Connecticut, in the year 1775, 
there passed his entire life and died in 
1840. He was a wealthy landowner, pos- 
sessing several farms, but his own farm 
was mainly devoted to the breeding of 
cattle. He dealt heavily in cattle in addi- 
tion to his own herds, and in that day was 
known as a "drover" from the fact that 
cattle were sent to market in droves on 
foot, a practice extinct since the introduc- 
tion of railroads. His wife, Clarissa (Kil- 
burn) Beach, bore him five children, three 
surviving to mature years: Marcia, Milo, 
of further mention, and Heman (2) ; 
James and Clarissa dying in infancy. 

Milo Beach, son of Heman Beach, was 
born in Goshen, Connecticut, June 9, 
1803, and died in Litchfield, Connecticut, 
in 1888. He grew to manhood on the 
home farm, and from childhood until 
death was engaged in agriculture in its 
varied forms. He owned a good farm at 
Litchfield, and was a man of thrift, in- 
dustry and integrity. He married. No- 
vember II, 1856, Lucretia Hall, of Litch- 
field, Connecticut, born February 5, 1827, 
who died when her son, George Milo 
Beach, was sixteen months old. She also 
left a daughter, Mary Lucretia, born Jan- 
uary I, 1859, now the widow of Frank 
Barton, of Watertown, Connecticut. By 
a second wife, Milo Beach had a son. 
Milo, Jr., now residing in Litchfield, a but- 
ter dealer. 

George Milo Beach, son of Milo Beach 
and his first wife, Lucretia (Hall) Beach, 
was born in Litchfield, Connecticut. Sep- 
tember 10, 1857. He was educated in the 
public schools and spent the first eighteen 
years of his life at the home farm. His 
boyhood was spent after the fashion of 
the average country boy, plenty of hard 



work, but with the usual compensation in 
healthful surroundings and a well de- 
veloped body. On coming of age, he 
taught school for a time. In 1880 he went 
to Thomaston, Connecticut, where for five 
years he was employed in a clock manu- 
factory. In 1885, at the age of twenty- 
eight, he moved to Waterbury, where he 
was employed in the clock department of 
the Waterbury Watch Factory for the 
ensuing twenty years, ranking with the 
most highly regarded employees in the 
company's service. During those twenty- 
five years spent in clock manufacture, Mr. 
Beach held various positions, his experi- 
ence covering every phase of clock manu- 
facture. 

In 1905 he resigned his position to ac- 
cept the position of superintendent of 
police, an office he has most satisfactorily 
filled until the present time (1916). When 
appointed superintendent of police of 
Waterbury, Mr. Beach resigned the office 
of alderman, which he had held continu- 
ously for four years, having been first 
elected in 1902. He was vice-president 
of the Board of Aldermen. 1904-05, and 
from 1902 to 1905, inclusive, was also a 
member of the committee of public safety 
or police commissioner. His services as 
alderman were valuable to the city and 
in a measure prepared him for the respon- 
sible duties of guardian of the public 
peace. His administration of the super- 
intendent's office has been most devoted. 
Under him the force has gained in effi- 
ciency, and in no city of its size has the 
police service been of a higher order. 

In 1875, having reached the age of 
eighteen years as required by law, Mr. 
Beach enlisted in the State National 
Guard, and for seven years continued in 
the militia service of the State. He is a 
prominent member of the leading fra- 
ternal orders of the city, belonging to 
Continental Lodge, Free and Accepted 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Masons ; Waterhury Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks ; Nosa- 
hogan Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and he belongs to the Water- 
bury Country Club. 

Mr. Beach married, June 21, 1879, at 
Cornwall Bridge, Connecticut, Sarah Isa- 
bel Sawyer, born there February 12, i860, 
daughter of William and Nancy (Bird- 
sell) Sawyer, of Cornwall Bridge, both 
deceased, her father a farmer, leaving 
children, Lewis, Louisa, Wallace, Mary 
and Sarah Isabel. Mr. and, Mrs. Beach 
have two sons, Arthur George and George 
Lewis, their second child. William, dying 
in childhood. 



ALLEN, George B., 

Representative Citizen. 

There is always something instructive 
in the records of such men as George B. 
Allen, the public-spirited and successful 
citizen of Unionville, Connecticut, be- 
cause in them we see typified the earnest 
and unwearied efifort that inevitably spells 
success; because the achievements that 
we discover there are not the result of a 
brilliant touK de force, but of the quiet, 
conscientious application of the talents and 
abilities with which nature has endowed 
them to the circumstances at hand ; be- 
cause the position and fortune which they 
have gained seem almost to be no more 
than an incident to, a by-product of. the 
consistent performance of duty which 
forms its own end and objective. This is 
instinctively realized by those who come 
in contact with Mr. Allen, who is not so 
much thought of by the community in 
the character of a man of wealth and posi- 
tion, as in that of a wise, philanthropic 
citizen and a disinterested neighbor whose 
best advice and counsel in all emergencies 
may always be had for the asking. On 
both sides of the house Mr. Allen is a 



member of good old New England fam- 
ilies, his parents, Henry T. and Maria E. 
(Taylor) Allen, both being natives of 
Massachusetts, the former of Westfield 
and the latter of the little village of 
Shootsbury. 

George B. Allen himself was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, February 16, 
1864, but did not remain in his native 
place more than the first ten years of his 
life, his father removing to New Jersey 
in 1876, and settling in the little town of 
Vineland. It was here that a large por- 
tion of Mr. Allen's childhood was spent, 
and it was here that he obtained his edu- 
cation, attending the local public schools 
and graduating from the high school. 
Shortly after his graduation the family 
again changed its place of residence to 
the town of Adams. Massachusetts, and 
Mr. Allen entered the employ of the L. L. 
Brown Paper Company of that place, it 
being his intention to learn this business. 
This, indeed, was the beginning of Mr. 
Allen's most successful career, for besides 
the business itself he became an expert 
upon the subject of paper manufacturing 
and the machinery and equipment neces- 
sary for that process. During the next 
few years he gained a wide reputation in 
this connection and when, in the year 
1904, the great Berkshire Paper Company 
decided to erect the now famous Berk- 
shire Mills, Mr. Allen was one of the ex- 
perts engaged upon that work. His work 
in this undertaking did much to still fur- 
ther increase his reputation, and in 1906 
he received an offer from the American 
Paper Company to take the superintend- 
ency of the branch establishment at 
Unionville, Connecticut. This offer he 
at once accepted and moved to that city, 
where from that time up to the present he 
has continued to make his home. The 
mill at Unionville manufactures a very 
high grade of official business bond paper 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and to the extension of its market as well 
as to the detail of the operation itself, Mr. 
Allen has devoted himself. How marked 
has been his success is to be seen in the 
tremendous activity of the factory to-day, 
it being necessary to employ more than 
one shift of labor and keep it running 
both night and day. This great business 
has been built up as the result of Mr. 
Allen's indefatigable efforts and he is still 
at work there with even more energy and 
efifect than before. 

Mr. Allen is a conspicuous figure in the 
general life of the community and there 
are but few movements undertaken for 
the advance of the common weal that he 
is not a supporter of, provided, of course, 
that they appeal to his sense of what is 
worthy and appropriate. He takes an 
active part in the social life of the place 
and is a member of Unionville Lodge. 
Free and Accepted Alasons. In the mat- 
ter of his religious belief Mr. Allen is an 
Episcopalian and attends Christ's Church 
of that denomination in Unionville. He is 
a Republican in politics, and a member of 
the Auto Club of Hartford. 

In spite of his many activities, which 
lead him much into semi-public and social 
life, Mr. Allen is essentially a domestic 
man. It is the ties of the family, the 
household, the home that bind him most 
closely and his greatest pleasure is found 
in the hours spent by his own hearth 
stone. He is a faithful friend and a de- 
voted companion and greatly enjoys the 
society of his intimates. The trustworthi- 
ness of his character, and the absolute in- 
tegrity of all his dealings with his fel- 
lows, begets the same in those who come 
into business relation with him. His 
sense of justice is extremely developed 
and his attitude towards his fellows tol- 
erant and unassuming, truly democratic, 
so that all men, the highest as well as the 
most humble, feel at home in their inter- 



course with him^ He is one of the most 
popular figures in the city and it requires 
but little power of prophecy to predict 
that, with his great abilities and talents, 
the future will witness an even more 
noteworthy achievement than has the 
past. 

Mr. Allen married in Pittsfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1891, Caroline Thomson, 
daughter of Edward Thomson, of Brain- 
ard. New York. 



JOHNSON, Edwin Hine, 

Physician. 

The entire plan of life which Dr. John- 
son had mapped out for himself was sud- 
denly changed in early life, when, instead 
of entering the Sheffield Scientific School, 
Yale University, for which he had pre- 
pared, he entered the medical department 
of the University of Vermont and devoted 
his life to the practice of medicine and 
surgery. Since 1893 ^e has been a gen- 
eral practitioner in Naugatuck, Connecti- 
cut, but as the years have progressed he 
has devoted himself more and more to the 
practice of surgery, a branch of medical 
science in which he has attained almost 
the eminence of a specialist. 

Dr. Johnson is a son of Albert and Eliza 
(Tuttle) Johnson, of Ansonia, Connecti- 
cut, his father a contractor and builder of 
Ansonia until his death in 1905, at the 
age of sixty-seven. He was born in Con- 
necticut and early in life settled in Ansonia 
and there ever resided. Eliza (Tuttle) 
Johnson was born in Prospect, Connecti- 
cut, and died in Ansonia, in 1908, aged 
sixty-eight years. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson 
were the parents of four children : Edwin 
Hine, of further mention ; Alice Tuttle, 
residing with her brother in Naugatuck; 
two children, who died in infancy. Albert 
Johnson was a son of Beecher Johnson, 
a farmer of Bethany, Connecticut, the 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Johnsons and Tuttles both prominent 
early Colonial families. 

Dr. Edwin Hine Johnson was born in 
Ansonia, Connecticut, November ii, 1869. 
He prepared in the public schools of An- 
sonia, graduating" from the high school, 
class of 1885, intending to enter Sheffield 
Scientific School, Yale University. But 
the "divinity which shapes our ends" de- 
creed otherwise, and he entered the Uni- 
versity of Vermont as a student in the 
medical department and the medical pro- 
fession gained a shining light at the ex- 
pense of another profession. He was 
graduated Doctor of Medicine, class of 
1888, and at once began practice, locating 
at Morrisville, Vermont. He remained in 
practice at Morrisville until August, 1893, 
then located in Naugatuck, Connecticut, 
practicing there continuously and suc- 
cessfully until the present. He has ever 
devoted himself with special interest to 
the practice of surgery, and at present is 
surgeon to Waterbury Hospital, and spe- 
cializing as far as possible in that science. 
He has a large and well established prac- 
tice, is highly regarded, professionally 
and socially, and ranks with the skillful 
and honorable members of his profession. 
He is a member of all the national and 
State bodies of medical societies, keeps 
thoroughly well informed in all that per- 
tains to the advance in medical and sur- 
gical science, preventative and curative. 
He is a member of the Masonic order, of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. In religious faith he is an Epis- 
copalian, and in political preference a Re- 
publican, but not active. 

Dr. Johnson married, in Hillsborough, 
New Hampshire, June 11, 1891, Cora I. 
Collins, of Hillsborough, daughter of 
David and Elizabeth Collins, both de- 
ceased. Dr. and Mrs. Johnson are the 
parents of four children : Harold Albert, 



class of 1918, Yale, now with his com- 
mand, the First Regiment, Vermont Na- 
tional Guard, on the Mexican border, 
ranking as corporal ; Kenneth Edwin, 
class of 1918, Trinity College ; Ruth Eliza, 
graduate of Naugatuck High School, class 
of 1916, and member of class of 1920, 
Wellesley College ; Marion Elizabeth, a 
hisfh school student. 



HYNES, James Alfred, 

Real Estate and Insurance Factor. 

Success is in itself interesting almost 
without reference to the direction in 
which it be achieved, even if it be of a 
nature which we heartily disapprove and 
in the way of which we would place 
every possible obstacle, still if it be actu- 
ally accomplished, it excites the imagina- 
tion and interest in a high degree. Of 
course, when we highly approve of the 
matter as well as the manner of the suc- 
cess, our interest is doubly aroused and 
we feel an added pleasure in the thought, 
often purely subconscious, of our own 
effort to imitate it. It is for this reason, 
among others, that the setting down of 
the records of successful men, successful 
in legitimate enterprise, that is, is at once 
of so much value and meets with so much 
popular approval. Especially is this true 
to-day when the achievements to be 
chronicled are those of the business man, 
the financier, the merchant, who are, 
without doubt, the popular figures of the 
age, and whose careers we all feel there 
is a possibility of our imitating. Such a 
career, for instance, as that of James Al- 
fred Hynes, the prominent business man 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, still happily 
at its height, which may well excite our 
interest in the mere manner of its accom- 
plishment and stimulate our wholesome 
ambition to imitate a thing so worthy. 

James Alfred Hynes is not a native of 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Waterbury, nor of any part of New Eng- 
land, though he exhibits in his character 
the finest traits of their best type of suc- 
cessful men. He was born in New York 
City, December lO, 1856, of Irish descent, 
his family having lived for a considerable 
period in County Westmeath, Ireland. 
His paternal grandparents were James 
and Ann (Grady) Hynes, who lived and 
died in that region. His maternal grand- 
parents, on the contrary, Patrick and 
Dinorah (Coughlan) Sheahan by name, 
left the old home and embarked upon the 
voyage to the "New World," there to try 
their fortunes. Mr. Hynes' father, also 
James Hynes, was born in County West- 
meath and passed his childhood and early 
youth there, but came to the United States 
in early manhood and located in New 
York City. He was a veterinary surgeon 
and was employed for a long period by 
the old Knickerbocker Stage Line. He 
met Mary Sheahan, a daughter of Patrick 
Sheahan, already mentioned, and was 
married to her in New York whither she 
had been brought by her parents in early 
youth. They had five children, the only 
one of whom that survives is the Mr. 
Hynes of this sketch. Mr. Hynes. Sr., 
died in New York City, December 4, 187 1, 
and his wife in 1864. 

Mr. Hynes passed the first fifteen years 
of his life in New York, leaving there in 
1872, a year after his father's death, and 
coming to Waterbury, where his maternal 
grandparents were living. He had re- 
ceived his education at the Manhattan 
Academy in New York, and after com- 
pleting his studies at that institution se- 
cured employment with a real estate firm 
there. Upon coming to Waterbury he 
entered the employ of the Waterbury 
Clock Company and there remained ten 
years, winning the favorable notice of his 
em,ployers and a rapid promotion. At the 
end of this period he was still a young 
man, but by dint of hard work and rigid 



economy he had saved up some money 
and found himself in a position to gratify 
his ambition to embark in business on his 
own account. His first venture was the 
Waterbury One Price Clothing Company 
which he established in 1882 and which was 
extremely successful. One thing his early 
business training had shown him, however, 
and that was that real estate in a grow- 
ing place like Waterbury was, if handled 
with any degree of prudence and foresight, 
one of the best investments in the world. 
xA-ccordingly in 1895 he established the 
present general insurance and real estate 
business which, during the past twenty- 
one years, has steadily and rapidly grown 
in size and importance until it is one of 
the largest concerns of its kind in the 
region. He is at present assisted by a son 
and a daughter in the carrying on of his 
operations. Mr. Hynes is now one of the 
most important figures in the business 
world of Waterbury and is generally rec- 
ognized as a leader in many of the most 
prominent movements undertaken in the 
city. 

And it is not alone in the realm of busi- 
ness that he thus figures. In many other 
departments of the community's life he is 
equally active and especially is this the 
case in politics in which he is keenly in- 
terested. Hs is a staunch member of the 
Democratic party and has made himself 
very valuable to his party locally. He is 
at present treasurer of the town Demo- 
cratic committee and has been a member 
of the central State committee for many 
years. He has held a number of public 
offices also and all with great efificiency. 
He has at dififerent times held the offices 
of water commissioner and fire commis- 
sioner, and has also been registrar of 
voters several times. At present he is 
deputy sheriff of the county, in which 
post he serves to the entire satisfaction of 
the community generally. 

He is extremely prominent in social and 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fraternal circles, and belongs to many 
orders and similar organizations and has 
held high office in the majority of them. 
He is a charter member of Sheridan Coun- 
cil, No. 24, Knights of Columbus ; the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians ; the Independ- 
ent Order of Foresters since its founding, 
and is high secretary of the State since 
the inception of high court in 1902; a 
charter member of Waterbury Lodge, No. 
265, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and also a charter member of Court 
Hancock, Foresters of America. In each 
and everyone of these he has held the 
highest office at different times. He is 
also a member of the Patrick Sarfield 
Club of Waterbury. In religious belief 
Mr, Hynes is a Catholic and is a faithful 
member of the Church of the Immacu- 
late Conception, having been a communi- 
cant there for the term of fifty years. 

Mr. Hynes was married at Waterbury 
on November 24, 1876, to Sarah S. Hen- 
inger, a native of that city and a daughter 
of Jacob and Sarah (Schlegel) Heninger. 
The father was the founder of the first 
brewery in Waterbury and was killed in 
the Civil War in the engagement at Fort 
Fisher. He was of German descent, and 
his wife was born in that country and died 
in Waterbury a number of years ago. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Hynes seven children have 
been born, three of whom, Elizabeth, 
Mary and Joseph, are deceased. The four 
that are alive are as follows : George A. ; 
James A., Jr., who was married to Alice 
Burke ; Sadie K. ; and Edward A., who 
married Loretta Truden. They are all 
residents of Waterbury, and it is his eld- 
est son, George A. Hynes, and Sadie K. 
Hynes, that are associated with their 
father in the conduct of his large real 
estate and insurance business. 



PLATT, Lewis Alfred, 

Business Man, Financier. 

The name of Piatt has been associated 
for many years with the building up of 

Conn— 2— 7 



the business world of Connecticut, more 
especially of the region about the city of 
Waterbury, where for four generations 
members of the family have held a high 
place in the regard of their fellow citizens 
and identified themselves with the up- 
building of the community. Nor was it 
only in the matter of the business inter- 
ests that this activity lay on the part of 
the Platts, but they were also promi- 
nently associated with the conduct of 
public affairs and the political issues that 
have been vital. Of this distinguished 
family the present representative, Lewis 
Alfred Piatt, of Waterbury, deserves 
especial mention because of the honorable 
place he occupies in the community, 
which besides many local honors has re- 
sulted in his being chosen to represent 
the State of Connecticut in the State Sen- 
ate. 

Lewis Alfred Piatt was born May 31, 
1854, in the city of Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, son of Clark Murray and Amelia M. 
(Lewis) Piatt, and a grandson of Alfred 
and Irene (Blackman) Piatt, all of 
Waterbury. Alfred Piatt was a native of 
Newtown, Connecticut, born in 1789, but 
came to Waterbury in 1795, making that 
city his home until his death in 1873. 
Here his six children were born, all of 
whom are now deceased. The Piatt fam- 
ily is one of the oldest in Connecticut, 
having come to the town of Milford as 
early as the year 1640, and ever there- 
after maintaining an honorable position 
in the community. Clark Murray Piatt 
was the fourth of six sons, the others 
being, in the order of their age : Nirom, 
Charles, William, Legrand and Seabury. 
Clark M. Piatt was born January i, 1824, 
in Waterbury, and made that city his 
home until his death, December 20, 
1900. He and his father, Alfred Piatt, 
were the founders of the firm of A. & 
C. M. Piatt, afterwards A. Piatt & 
Sons, which, under the name of The 
Piatt Brothers & Company, is still doing 

97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a large business in Waterbury. He was 
prominent in many ways in the city and 
served as alderman in the seventies. His 
wife, who before her marriage to him was 
Amelia M. Lewis, and whose death oc- 
curred at Waterbury, April i, 1916, was 
also a member of an old and distinguished 
Connecticut family, a daughter of Selden 
and Lockey (Spencer) Lewis, of Nauga- 
tuck, of whose three children one, Ed- 
ward Lewis, is still living, retired in 
Waterbury, where for many years he was 
employed as a foreman in the Piatt con- 
cern. Mrs. Piatt, Sr., was born January 
3, 1826, at Naugatuck, but after her mar- 
riage to Mr. Piatt went to Waterbury to 
live. They had three children : Bertha 
L., now the wife of J. H. Hart, of Water- 
bury; Lewis Alfred, with whose career 
we are especially concerned ; and Edward 
Legrand, born April 17, 1857, died 1862, 
when but five years of age. 

Lewis Alfred Piatt received his early 
education in the public schools of his na- 
tive city, after which he went to East 
Hampton, Massachusetts, where he at- 
tended Williston Seminary, preparing 
himself for the college course that it was 
at once his parents' and his own desire 
that he should take. It was here that he 
proved himself to be the apt and intelli- 
gent student that he was, and began to 
display some of the talent for practical 
affairs that has marked him throughout 
his business career. In 1874 he graduated 
from the seminary, and the following 
year entered Yale University, taking the 
regular academic course. Here he con- 
tinued his successful career as a student 
and attracted the favorable regard of his 
masters and instructors, as well as the 
friendship of his undergraduate comrades. 
He graduated with the class of 1879, and 
at once engaged in business, associating 
himself with the great Piatt concern, 
which by that time had come to bear the 



name of The Piatt Brothers & Company. 
His business talent quickly made itself 
felt in these surroundings and he rapidly 
rose to a position of control, which he 
has since maintained. Of recent years, 
under the capable management it has en- 
joyed, the concern has continued to grow 
so that it is now one of the m.ost impor- 
tant factors in the business world of 
Waterbury, with a reputation such as it 
has always possessed from the outset, for 
unsurpassed integrity and straightforward 
dealing. As president of The Piatt 
Brothers & Company, Mr. Piatt would in 
any case occupy a very prominent place 
in the industrial and commercial circles 
of W^aterbury, but in addition to this he 
is associated with several of the financial 
and business institutions of the city, so 
that he occupies a position of great con- 
trol there and is regarded as one of the 
most important men of the place. He is 
a director of the Colonial Trust Company 
and vice-president of the West Side Sav- 
ings Institution, as well as many other 
local concerns. 

But it is not onh' in the business world 
that Mr. Piatt is conspicuous. On the 
contrary he is keenly interested in almost 
every aspect of the community's life and 
a leader in every important movenxent for 
the betterment of the city. Especially is 
this true in the case of politics, in which 
he has always had an active interest, and 
has gradually become known outside the 
immediate locality until he has gained a 
State-wide prominence and popularity. 
He has held a number of local offices such 
as membership on the Board of Education 
and in each has given invaluable service to 
the community. He is a member of the 
Republican party, and in 1910 was hon- 
ored thereby with the oflfer of its nomina- 
tion to the Connecticut Senate. This Mr. 
Piatt accepted and was duly elected, serv- 
ing in that body during the years 191 1 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



and 1912. Mr. Piatt has always been 
deeply interested in the cause of educa- 
tion, and has been for more than thirty 
years secretary of the Bronson Library' 
Association, and has done much to ex- 
tend the usefulness of that org-anization. 
He is a prominent member of the Masonic 
fraternity, and has done much for the de- 
velopment of the club life in Waterbury. 
being a charter member of the Water- 
bury, the Home and. the Waterbury Coun- 
try' clubs of that city. In his religious affili- 
ations Mr. Piatt is a Congregationalist, 
and has for many years been a member 
of the Second Congregational Church of 
Waterbury and very active in its work, 
supporting especially its philanthropic 
activities most liberally. 

Mr. Piatt married, June 20, 1882, at 
New Haven, Ellen Brainard, of that city, 
daughter of Sidney and Ellen (Clark » 
Brainard. both long deceased. 



BOSTWICK, Frederick, 

Librarian and Curator. 

The Bostwick family is of Saxon origin 
and can trace their descent to the time of 
Edward the Confessor, who preceded 
Harold, the last of the Saxon kings, upon 
the throne of England. Like all ancient 
names it has undergone some mutations 
in more than seven centuries, and has 
even been materially changed since the 
time when Arthur Bostwick (Bostock) 
first transplanted it into the wilderness 
of America. 

Arthur Bostwick. above mentioned, 
emigrant ancestor of the branch of the 
family herein followed, was baptized 
at Tarporley, County Cheshire, Eng- 
land, December 22, 1603. He emigrated 
to this countr}' in 1641-42, and locat- 
ed at Stratford, Connecticut, being one 
of the first seventeen settlers of that 
town. He married Jane Whittel. Their 



son, John Bostwick, was baptized in St. 
Helen's Church, Tarporley, England, Oc- 
tober 18, 1638, died in 1688. He married 
Mary Brinsmead. Their son, John (2) 
Bostwick, was born in Stratford, Connec- 
ticut, May 14, 1667. He removed to New 
Milford, Connecticut, in 1707, and was 
the second settler of that town, his death 
occurring there when he was upwards of 
eighty years of age. He married Abigail 
Walker. Their son, Daniel Bostwick, 
was born in New Milford, Connecticut, 
in 1708, and was the first white male 
child born in that town : he spent his 
entire life there, was prominent in town 
affairs, lieutenant in the militia, and died 
July 31, 1792. He married Hannah Hitch- 
cock. Their son. Amos Bostwick, was 
born in New Milford, Connecticut, in 
1743. died in Unadilla, New York, No- 
vember 19, 1829. He was an active par- 
ticipant in the Revolutionary War. He 
married (first) Sarah Grant, (second) 
Sarah Hayes. His son, Charles Bostwick, 
was born in New Milford, Connecticut, 
October 9, 1772, died in New Haven, Con- 
necticut, October 17. 1850. Upon attain- 
ing his majority he engaged in the sad- 
dlery business in New Haven, which 
grew to large proportions, and is still 
conducted by his great-grandson. Leon- 
ard Bostwick, being one of the few con- 
cerns in the L'nited States that have been 
owned in the same family for a full cen- 
tury. He married Sarah Trowbridge. 
Their son, Frederick Levi Bostwick, was 
born in New Haven, Connecticut, July 9, 
1818, died there, March 8. 189S. He mar- 
ried (first) Caroline Atwater Rowland, 
and (second) Elizabeth Jones Rowland, 
sister of his first wife. They were fifth in 
descent from Thomas Fitch, of Norwalk, 
Governor of Connecticut from 1754 to 
1766. One of their brothers, Thomas 
Fitch Rowland, built the famous ironclad. 
"Monitor,"' under contract with Ericsson. 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Frederick Levi Bostwick and his second 
wife were the parents of Frederick Bost- 
wick of this review. 

Frederick Bostwick was born in New 
Haven, Connecticut, September lO, 1852. 
He attended private schools until he en- 
tered the New Haven High School in 
1866, intending to prepare for Yale Col- 
lege, but upon the withdrawal of the 
classical course from the curriculum of 
the high school he abandoned his inten- 
tions of a higher education and entered 
the Yale College printing office, where 
he remained for thirty-five years. In 
1906 he was appointed librarian and cura- 
tor of the New Haven Colony Historical 
Society, of which he had long been a life 
member. This society possesses a rare 
collection of books, portraits and other 
articles relating to the colonial history of 
New Haven. Air. Bostwick is a member 
of the Connecticut Historical Society, the 
Connecticut Library Association, the Na- 
tional Genealogical Society ; also of the 
Order of Founders and Patriots of Amer- 
ica, and is State Registrar of the Connec- 
ticut Society, Sons of the American Revo- 
lution. 

He married, October 4, 1876, Ida May 
Boone, daughter of Jacob S. and Mary 
A. (Cox), of Pennsylvania. They have 
three sons : Charles R., Frederick B. and 
Lawrence E., all graduates of Yale Uni- 
versity. Three other children died in 
early life. 



PECK, Henry Hart, 

Merchant, Financier, Legislator. 

The name of this family is of great an- 
tiquity. It is found in Belton, Yorkshire, 
England, at an early date, from there 
scattering not only over England, but in 
every civilized country in the world. A 
branch settled in Hesden and Wakefield, 
Yorkshire, whose descendants moved to 



Beccles, County Suffolk, and were the 
ancestors of one branch of the American 
family of the name. 

Arms : Or on a chevron engrailed, gules, 
three crosses formee of the field. Motto: 
Cru.v Christi salus mea. 

This family presents a long line of 
honorable and capable forbears, who, in 
their several periods, were prominently 
identified with the affairs of the commu- 
nities in which they lived. Deacon Paul 
Peck, immigrant ancestor of the family, 
was born in County Essex, England, in 
the year 1608, and was one of that sturdy 
band of men who braved the hardships 
of the New World, in preference to suf- 
fering curtailment of their religious lib- 
erty. He came to Boston in 1635 on the 
ship "Defense," and remained in Boston 
and the vicinity until 1636, when he went 
with Rev. Thomas Hooker and his party 
to Hartford, and became one of the 
founders of that city and the State of 
Connecticut. He was a proprietor of 
Hartford in 1639, and became a leading 
citizen. His home was on what is now 
Washington street not far from the State 
Capitol. He was a deacon of the church 
from 1681 until his death, December 23. 
1695. His will, dated June 25, 1695, was 
proved January 15, 1695-96. His inven- 
tory amounted to £536 5s. He bequeathed 
to his wife Martha; children, Paul, Jo- 
seph, Martha Cornwall, Mary Andrew, 
Sarah Clark, Elizabeth How ; grandsons, 
Paul and Henry Peck; son-in-law, John 
Shepherd ; granddaughter, Ruth Beach ; 
son-in-law, John Bouton. Children: i. 
Paul, born 1639. 2. Martha, born 1641 ; 
married, June 8, 1665, John Cornwall. 3. 

Elizabeth, born 1643 ; married 

How, of Wallingford. 4. Samuel, men- 
tioned below. 5. John, baptized Decem- 
ber 22. 1650. 6. Joseph, born 1650, bap- 
tized December 22, 1650. 7. Sarah, born 
1653 ; married Thomas Clark, of Hart- 



100 




,yW,f,„^a^S^,,. 



^T^ i^jcs u-uf!^,ni £S/-^ y/y 



y c^zl^o^ _ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford. 8. Hannah, born 1656; married, 
May 12, 1680, John Shepherd. 9. Mary, 
born 1662; married John Andrew, of 
Hartford; died in 1752. 

(II) Sam.uel Peck, son of Deacon Paul 
Peck, was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
in 1647. He settled in West Hartford, 
and lived there until his death, January 

10, 1696. He married Elizabeth . 

Child: Samuel, mentioned below. 

(III) Samuel (2) Peck, son of Samuel 
(i) Peck, was born in West Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1672, and died December 
9, 1765. He settled in Middletown, now 
the town of Berlin, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried Abigail, daughter of Joseph Collier; 
she died October 28, 1742. Children, 
born at Kensington: i. Samuel, January 
6, 1701. 2. Moses. April, 1703. 3. Isaac, 
born at Scarborough, November 2, 1706. 
4. Abijah, December 28, 1707. 5. Zebu- 
Ion. September i, 1713. 6. Amos, men- 
tioned below. 7. Abel, born at Kensing- 
ton, December 28, 1717, died September 
19, 1742. 8. Elisha, born at Lynn, July 
23, 1723; married Mary, daughter of 
Hewett Strong. 

(IV) Amos Peck, son of Samuel (2) 
Peck, was born at Kensington, March 5, 
1715, died in Middletown, April 6, 1802. 
He married, July 26, 1750, Mary Hart, 
who died June 22, 1771. Children: i. 
Matthew, born July 16, 175 1. 2. Amos, 
January 25, 1754. 3. Ruth, November 28, 
1756. 4. Mary, March 9, 1760. 5. Hul- 
dah, September 13, 1762. 6. Lemuel, 
mentioned below. 7. Lucy, December 2, 
1767. 

(V) Lemuel Peck, son of Amos Peck, 
was born March 28, 1765, died in Berlin, 
Connecticut, February 22, 1821. He mar- 
ried Lydia Dickinson, who died April 15. 
1826. Children: i. Selden, mentioned be- 
low. 2. Harriet, born February 14, 1796, 
died November 11. 1828. 3. Sherman, De- 
cember 28, 1800. 



(VI) Selden Peck, son of Lemuel Peck, 
was born January 25, 1794, died in Meri- 
den, Connecticut. He was a farmer in 
Berlin, Connecticut. He married, No- 
vember I, 1826, Lucy H. Hart. Children: 
I. Sherman H., born March 17, 1829. 2. 
Harriet E., April 16, 1835. 3. Henry H., 
mentioned below. 4. George S., May 9, 
1840, died 1865. 5. Lucy Anna, October 

17. 1844- 

(VII) Henry Hart Peck, son of Selden 
Peck, was born in Berlin, December 25, 
1838. 

Beyond doubt there is a lesson well 
worth learning to be found in the records 
of men, whose achievements have been 
great even when these have been wrought 
purely in their own interests ; and if this 
be so, how much greater and more worth 
while is the lesson contained in the 
careers of those who have at least equally 
concerned themselves with the good of 
others, whose efforts have been directed 
towards the fulfillment of large and altru- 
istic purposes, whose labors have com- 
passed the welfare of the communities 
whereof they have been members, quite 
as much as they have their own personal 
ends. The name of Peck has for many 
generations been associated with men of 
this type throughout Connecticut, who 
have not allowed even their own ambi- 
tions or the hopes most dear to their 
hearts to interfere with their disinterested 
and faithful service to their fellows. In- 
deed, of all the distinguished families of 
the State there are few that can rival this 
one in the high regard in which it is held 
by the community generally. The name 
is a very ancient one, and was known in 
England many years before the settle- 
ment of the North American colonies, 
where it appears in several counties al- 
though its origin seems to have been in 
Yorkshire. It was from Essex, however, 
that the immediate ancestors of this 



lOI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



branch of the Peck family herein treated, 
came, Deacon Paul Peck, the immigrant 
ancestor, being recorded as born in that 
county in 1608. In the region of Hart- 
ford and Berlin, Connecticut, the family 
has continued to make its home down to 
the present time, and is now represented 
in Waterbury by Henry Hart Peck, a 
descendant in the seventh generation of 
Deacon Paul Peck. 

Henry H. Peck is the son of Selden 
Peck, who throughout his life farmed ex- 
tensively in the town of Berlin, Connecti- 
cut, where his son was born and reared to 
manhood. Selden Peck, in November, 
1826, was married to Lucy H. Hart, of 
Berlin, Connecticut, and Henry H. Peck 
was the third in point of age of their five 
children. Mr. Peck was born on Christ- 
mas Day, 1838, on his father's farm, and 
passed the years of his childhood there. 
He attended the local public schools and 
in his spare time assisted his father in 
the farm work. It was doubtless in this 
healthful rural life that Mr. Peck laid 
the foundation of that splendid physical 
health and vigor that has stood him in 
good stead during his long and arduous 
business career. This continued until he 
reached the age of seventeen years, when 
he went to Meriden and entered the high 
school there. After attending this school 
for a number of years he entered the Kel- 
log Institute in Meriden and there com- 
pleted his studies. In the year 1857 he 
secured a position in the firm of D. & 
N. G. Miller, of New Britain, and began 
work in their dry goods establishment. 
His mind, which was naturally alert and 
quick to pick up all kinds of knowledge, 
very soon mastered the details of the 
dry goods business and he became one of 
the most valuable members of the firm's 
staflf. It was not his intention, however, 
to remain in this employ, nor in any em- 
ploy, no matter how bright the prospects 



seemed for advancement, for he possessed 
as a youth the same characteristic of 
sturdy independence which throughout 
his life has characterized him, and it was 
his ambition to embark upon an enter- 
prise of his own. Accordingly, in i860, 
when he had been employed about three 
years in New Britain, he went to Water- 
bury, Connecticut, and formed a partner- 
ship with Charles Miller in establishing 
the dry goods house of Miller & Peck. 
The first store of the firm was situated in 
what is known as the Baldwin Block, but 
in only about a year, finding these quar- 
ters too small for them, they removed to 
the Hotchkiss Block, continuing there for 
a number of years. The afifairs of the 
firm prospered greatly from the very 
outset and the partners rapidly became 
known as influential figures in the com- 
mercial and mercantile world of the city. 
As they grew older, the business grew 
more and more, and it was their keen 
business judgment and foresight that was 
responsible for the place now occupied by 
the concern in the city. Mr. Peck's inter- 
ests enlarged greatly as time went on and 
spread beyond the limits of the firm, his 
ability and conservatism being so well 
known that other concerns sought to avail 
themselves of them. He was chosen to 
the board of trustees of the Dime Savings 
Bank of Waterbury, and in 1886 became 
that institution's president, an office that 
he holds to this day. In 1866 the great 
dry goods business was removed to still 
larger and more central quarters on South 
Main street, where it remains to-day. In 
1887 Mr. Peck withdrew from active par- 
ticipation in the business, but his name 
still remains associated with it. Mr. Peck 
is also a director of the Beacon Falls Rub- 
ber Company. 

But it is not merely in the realm of 
business that Mr. Peck plays a prominent 
part in the life of the city of Waterbury. 



102 



THK KLW YOhX I 
PUBL'C LIBRARY 



ASrOi^, LENOX 
.Di:!^ FOUND.XTIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Since coming to it in i860 he has con- 
stantly made his home there and identi- 
fied himself most closely with the general 
life of the place. In 1886, the year in 
which he was chosen president of the 
Dime Savings Bank, he was elected to 
represent Waterbury in the Connecticut 
State Legislature, and in the years 1905 
and 1906 he was a member of the State 
Senate, having been elected to the office 
on the Republican ticket from the Fif- 
teenth District. During his term of serv- 
ice in lliat body he was a member of a 
number of important legislative commit- 
tees. He has always been interested in 
the business development of Waterbury, 
and has always been active in any efforts 
for civic betterment. In a quiet and un- 
ostentatious way, which admits of no 
publicity, Mr. Peck has during the past 
few decades given monc}- equal in amount 
to a small fortune to the charitable and 
philanthropic institutions of Waterbury. 
Besides extremely liberal donations to the 
Waterbury Hospital, he gave material aid 
in his services on the executive board of 
that organization in 1895. 

For many years Mr. Peck's chief recre- 
ation has been travel, and he has visited 
nearly every quarter of the globe. A keen 
observer of men and conditions, he can 
talk most entertainingly of his many ex- 
periences during these trips. This ability 
and a magnetic personality have gained 
for him a large circle of friends. Mr. 
Peck is unmarried. He attends the Prot- 
estant Episcopal church, and is an active 
supporter of its various activities. He is 
a prominent figure in Masonic circles, and 
is a member of the Continental Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and of Clark 
Commandery, Knights Templar, both of 
Waterbury. He is a thirty-second degree 
Mason. Mr. Peck is a member of the 
Waterbury Club and of the Home Club 
of Meriden. 



(The Hart Line). 

The surname Hart is common in Eng- 
land, Ireland and Scotland. It is spelled in 
various ways, Hart, Hartt, Heart, Harte 
and Hearte. Colonial records attest the 
fact that there were at least six immi- 
grants of the name in New England be- 
fore 1650. The arms of the family go 
back into the Middle Ages, as far as the 
year 1572. Arms: Gules a fesse between 
three fleurs-de-lis argent. 

Mr. Peck is a descendant on the ma- 
ternal side of his house from Deacon 
Stephen Hart, a prominent member of 
Rev. Thomas Hooker's party, and one of 
the original founders and proprietors of 
the present city of Hartford, Connecticut. 
The genealogy of the branch of the Hart 
family of which his mother is a member 
is given herewith. 

(I) Deacon Stephen Hart, the immi- 
grant ancestor of this branch of the fam- 
ily, was born about 1605, at Braintree, 
England. He left England for America 
in the year 1632, and is recorded a pro- 
prietor of Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 
1633. He was admitted a freeman, May 
14, 1634. In 1635 he sold his Cambridge 
property and removed to Hartford with 
Rev. Thomas Hooker's company and be- 
came one of the proprietors of that settle- 
ment. His house was located on the west 
side of what is now Front street, near 
Morgan street. It is said that he and 
others were on a hunting expedition on 
Talcott mountain and discovered the 
Farmington river valley, then inhabited 
by the Tunxis, a powerful tribe of In- 
dians. The settlers made a bargain with 
the Indians and some of them settled 
there. Stephen Hart became one of the 
original proprietors of Tunxis, later Farm- 
ington, in 1672. He was deputy to the 
General Court in 1647 ^"^ ^or fifteen ses- 
sions, with one exception, and in 1653 was 
commissioned for the town of Farming- 



103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton to aid in impressing men for the army. 
He was chosen the first deacon of the 
church there, and was one of the seven 
pillars of the church. His house lot was 
the largest in Farmington, situated on 
the west side of Main street, opposite 
the meeting house, and contained fifteen 
acres. This large lot was given him as 
an inducement to erect a mill, to be 
perpetuated and kept running. His will 
was dated March i6, 1682-83. He died 
in March, 1682-83. He married (first) 

; (second) Margaret, widow of 

Arthur Smith ; she survived him and 
died in 1693. Children, all by his first 
wife : Sarah, married, November 20, 1644, 
Thomas Porter ; Mary, married (first) 
John Lee and (second) Jedediah Strong ; 
John, mentioned below ; Stephen ; Mehita- 
ble, who married John Cole ; Thomas. 

(II) John, of Farmington, first son of 
Deacon Stephen Hart, was born in Eng- 
land. He was made a freeman by the 
General Court in May, 1654. He was one 
of the first settlers of Tunxis. His death 
was caused by a fire in his home, in the 
year 1666. 

(III) Captain John (2) Hart, son of 
John (i) and Sarah Hart, was born in 
Farmington about 1655. He married 
Mary, daughter of Dr. Isaac Moore, of 
Farmington. He was ensign of the Farm- 
ington trainband, and in 1703 was com- 
missioned lieutenant. He was four times 
deputy from Farmington to the General 
Court, and was one of the auditors of the 
colony, being appointed May, 1705. He 
died November 11, 1714, aged sixty years, 
and his wife died September 19, 1738, at 
the age of seventy-four. 

(IV) Nathaniel Hart, son of Captain 
John (2) and Mary (Moore) Hart, was 
born in Farmington in 1695. He married, 
December 3. 1719, Abigail, daughter of 
John Hooker, Esquire. He died October 



24, 1758, at the age of sixty-four. His 
widow died in 1761, aged sixty-three. 

(V) Nathaniel (2) Hart, son of Na- 
thaniel (i) and Abigail (Hooker) Hart, 
was born March 17, 1735, at Kensington, 
Connecticut, of which place he remained 
a resident until his death. He was mar- 
ried on November 23, 1758, to Martha 
Norton, daughter of Thomas Norton, of 
Kensington, parish of Berlin, Connecti- 
cut. He died October 13, 1773, at the age 
of forty years. His widow moved to 
Hartford after his death. 

(VI) Cyprian Hart, son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Martha (Norton) Hart, was born 
at Kensington and baptized there on Feb- 
ruary 5, 1769. He was adopted by his 
uncle, the famous General Selah Hart, 
whose estate he inherited. He married. 
December 24, 1795, Lucy, daughter of 
Elijah Hooker, of Kensington, Connecti- 
cut. He died at his uncle's homestead, 
at the age of thirty-seven years, March i, 
1806. His widow died July 8, 1851, at 
the age of eighty years. 

(VII) Lucy Hooker Hart, third daugh- 
ter of Cyprian and Lucy (Hooker) Hart, 
of Kensington, parish of Berlin, Connec- 
ticut, was born there on November 14, 
1803. On November i, 1826. she married 
Selden Peck, of "Blue Hills." She died 
in Meriden, where they resided, on No- 
vember 12, 1872, aged sixty-nine years. 
Her children were: Sherman H., Harriet 
E.. Henry Hart, George Selden, Lucy 
Ann. Her son, Henry Hart Peck, is the 
living representative in the seventh gen- 
eration of Deacon Paul Peck, and in the 
eighth generation of Deacon Stephen 
Hart, both founders and proprietors of 
the present city of Hartford, and men 
whose posterity have been prominent in 
every field of endeavor which has played 
an important part in the history of Con- 
necticut from its very founding. 



104 



THF rt:v/ vOi.A 

potIic library 



A3TOP. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CHENEY, Louis Richmond, 

Manufacturer, Public Official, Financier. 

From the time he began silk manufac- 
turing in 1879 until the present Louis 
Richmond Cheney has been a prominent 
figure in the business and public life of 
Hartford, chief executive of the city for 
two years, 1912-1914, following service 
as councilman and alderman, he gave to 
civic problems and to the public service 
the ability of a successful business man, 
and left an example of devotion to the 
best interests of all the people worthy of 
emulation by men in every public posi- 
tion. As assistant quartermaster-general 
of the State, and as commanding officer 
of the Governor's Foot Guard, he dis- 
played a deep interest in the State mili- 
tary forces, and by virtue of his positions 
bears his military titles "Major" and 
"Colonel." In every position in life in 
which his character, ability and manhood 
have been tested he has proven that he 
possesses the qualities of that king of 
trees, suggested by the name he bears — 
Cheney — derived from the French word 
"Chene," meaning oak. 

Colonel Cheney descends from John 
Cheney, of whom John Eliot, the Apostle 
of the Indians, wrote : "John Cheney came 
into the land in the year 1636. He brought 
four children, Alary, Martha, John, Dan- 
iel. Sarah, his fifth child, was born in 
the last month of the same year, called 
February. He removed from our church 
at Brookfield to Newbury." 

The line of descent from John and Alar- 
tha Cheney is through Peter and Hannah 
(Xoyes) Cheney; Benjamin and Eliza- 
beth (Long) Cheney; Timothy and Mary 
(Olcott) Cheney ; George and Electa 
(Woodbridge) Cheney ; George Wells 
and Mary (Cheney) Cheney ; George 
Wells (2) and Harriet Kingsbury (Rich- 
mond) Cheney; Louis Richmond, of the 
ninth American generation. 



George Wells (2) Cheney was born in 
Manchester, Connecticut, August 18, 1825, 
died December 29, 1893. Up to within 
fifteen years of his death he was con- 
nected with the silk business established 
in 1836 by his father, George Wells, his 
uncles. Ward, Charles, Rush and Frank 
Cheney, which as the Cheney Brothers 
Silk Manufacturing Company became the 
largest company of its kind in the coun- 
try. His wife, Harriet Kingsbury (Rich- 
mond) Cheney, to whom he was married 
October i, 1850, and who died September 
10, 1900, was a daughter of William 
Wadsworth Richmond, and a descendant 
of Elder William Brewster, "The Pil- 
grim." The three sons of George Wells 
(2) Cheney: Wells Wadsworth, Louis 
Richmond and George Herbert, all were 
connected with the Cheney Brothers Silk 
Manufacturing Company. 

Louis Richmond Cheney, second son of 
George Wells (2) and Harriet Kingsbury 
(Richmond) Cheney, was born in South 
Manchester, Connecticut, April 27, 1859. 
After completing his studies at Hartford 
Fligh School he entered the Cheney Silk 
Alill in Manchester in 1879, later was 
connected with the Cheney Silk Mills in 
Hartford, spent four years in the sales de- 
partment in New York City, then re- 
turned to Hartford, retiring from the silk 
business in 1893. He was engaged in the 
general business activities of the city ; has 
administered and acted as trustee for sev- 
eral large estates, and has official connec- 
tion with important corporations. He is 
a director of the Hartford Electric Light 
Company, Automatic Refrigerating Com- 
pany, Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, Connecticut River Banking 
Company, Hartford Trust Company, 
Standard Fire Insurance Company and 
Colt's Patent Firearms Manufacturing 
Company ; president of the Hartford Mor- 
ris Plan Company, commissioner of the 



105 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut River Bridge and Highway 
District, and October 8, 1915, was elected 
president of the Chamber of Commerce ; 
in all an interested and efficient official. 

His interest in the unfortunate is deep 
and abiding, institutions erected and 
maintained for their benefit and relief 
profiting through his personal service. He 
is vice-president of the Hartford Hospi- 
tal, and trustee of the Loomis Institute, 
the American School for the Deaf, the 
Hartford Retreat, and the Institute for 
the Blind. His clubs are the Hartford, 
City, Hartford Golf, Republican, Coun- 
try, Twentieth Century and the Union 
League of New York, also several sport- 
ing clubs. He was assistant quarter- 
master-general 1895-1897, with the rank 
of colonel, and commander of the First 
Company Governor's Foot Guard, Hart- 
ford, 1898-1903, and 1907-1908 with the 
rank of major. 

The public political service Colonel 
Cheney began was the outgrowth of the 
deep interest he has ever displayed in 
civic aflFairs, and in the welfare of the Re- 
publican party. He was elected council- 
man in 1896, serving in that office and as 
alderman until 1902. In 1912 he was 
elected mayor of Hartford, serving from 
April 3, of that year until April 10, 1914, 
his administration being marked by effi- 
ciency and careful business-like methods 
in all departments under his control. It 
was during his administration that the 
long contemplated Municipal Building 
was begun. Mayor Cheney laying the 
cornerstone with appropriate ceremonies, 
July 9, 1912. In 1914 he was elected State 
Senator from Hartford, an office he most 
worthily filled, serving as chairman of the 
committee on insurance. His interest is 
not bounded by business or politics as 
noted, but is widespread. He is a direc- 
tor of the Connecticut Fair Association. 

The deeds of his patriotic ancestors 



open wide to him the doors of many soci- 
eties of national importance. He is a 
member of the Society of the Cincinnati ; 
the Sons of the American Revolution ; the 
Society of Colonial Wars, of which he is 
an ex-governor ; the Military Order of 
Foreign Wars, of which he is a past com- 
mander, and the Connecticut Society of 
Mayflower Descendants. 

Mr. Cheney married, April 16, 1890, 
Mary Alice, daughter of Lucius Franklin 
and Eliza (Trumhull) Robinson. They 
have one daughter. Eliza Trumbull, wife 
of Jolm Taylor Roberts. 



PARROTT, Henry R., 

Manufacturer. 

When Frederick Wells Parrott began 
the manufacture of varnish to meet the 
demands of his furniture manufacturing 
business, he laid the foundations of one 
of the most important business industries 
of Bridgeport. He continued the capable 
head of the business, which was incorpo- 
rated as the Parrott Varnish Company in 
1869, until his death in 1891, then was suc- 
ceeded by his son, Henry R. Parrott, who 
continues the honored head of the com- 
pany, although nearing the age which 
shall mark him a nonogenarian. Nearly 
half a century of his life has been given 
to the service of the company, his connec- 
tion dating from its incorporation in 1869, 
the years 1869-91 having been spent in as- 
sociation with his father, the son as sec- 
retary-treasurer and general manager, 
seconding the work of the father as chief 
executive, and then ably succeeding him 
in title as he had years before succeeded 
him in fact. Frederick Wells Parrott 
lived to the age of eighty-six before sur- 
rendering to the inexorable hand of time, 
but his wife, Lucelia Ann (Remer) Par- 
rott, lived to the age of ninety, retaining 
all her faculties to the last. They cele- 



106 




Ti r-c'^' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

brated the golden anniversary of their 1846 began its manufacture for the trade, 
wedding day, May 17, 1877, and each sue- From his own needs sprang the business 
ceeding anniversary until death dissolved which was incorporated in 1846 as the 
the bond. For sixty years she was a Parrott \'arnish Company. When the 
member of the Ladies' Charitable Society founder laid down the reins in 1891, he 
of Bridgeport. One of her golden wedding was by several years the oldest active busi- 
day presents was a vase from the society ness man in Bridgeport, and he also left 
of which she had then been a member for an honorable record of usefulness as a 
forty-nine years. Both were members of city official and citizen, 
the North Congregational Church. and dur- Henry R. Parrott, eldest child and only 
ing the war times, 1861-65, they were ac- son of Frederick Wells and Lucelia Ann 
tive in aiding the cause, he in recruiting, (Remer) Parrott, was born in Bridge 
she in the Soldiers' Aid Society, preparing port, Connecticut, January 4, 1829, de- 
medical and hospital supplies. When in scending on the maternal side from Cap- 
after years a soldiers' monument was pro- tain Joseph Riggs, Sr., uncle of General 
jected, he was active in raising the re- David Humphreys, aide-de-camp to Gen- 
quired funds, and when the cornerstone eral Washington, and through his grand- 
was laid, Frederick Wells Parrott was mother from Governor Wells, of Connec- 
grand marshal of the parade, his son, ticut. Lentil eighteen years of age, Henry 
Henry R. Parrott, his chief aide. So to R. Parrott attended the public schools, 
his civic pride and public spirit the monu- the Ebenezer French and Warren Selleck 
ment stands as the important Parrott private schools of Bridgeport, finishing 
Varnish Company does to his business his studies at Danbury Institute, then 
enterprise and ability, under the principalship of Rev. John W. 
Henr>' R. Parrott is of the seventh Amer- Irving. For the succeeding eight years 
ican generation of the family founded in he was a clerk in the drj- goods store of 
Stratford, Connecticut, by John Parrott, Beers & Oviatt, and then when that firm 
who was born in England about 1675, dissolved went to a similar position with 
and settled at Stratford, where he and James W. Beach. A few years later he 
his wife, Hannah (Beardsley) Parrott, entered the employ of Birdsey & Com- 
"owned the Covenant," December 8, 1706. pany. remaining eight years. This 
The line of descent is through their son, brought him to the year 1854, and to a 
John (2) Parrott ; his son, Abraham Par- new line of activity. He became local 
rott ; his son. Abraham (2) Parrott ; his agent for the Adams Express Company, 
son. Abraham (3) Parrott ; his son. Fred- and so well did he master the intricacies 
erick Wells Parrott. born in Bridgeport, of the express business that during the 
July 25, 1805, died in Bridgeport. April Civil \\^ar he was sent to Washington, 
II, 1891 ; his son, Henry R. Parrott. to D. C, to reorganize and take charge of 
whom this review is inscribed. Frederick the company's business at that very im- 
Wells Parrott. a cabinet maker by trade, portant point. He continued in the serv- 
began the manufacture of fine furniture in ice of The Adams Express Company until 
1827. and built the first mahogany fur- 1869. 

niture seen in his section. His furniture W'hile he had never taken an interest 

business demanded a fine varnish, and in in his father's business, in 1869, when 

time he manufactured the large quantity the Parrott Varnish Company was incor- 

required in his furniture factory, and in porated, he gave up his bright prospects 

107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with the Adams Express Company and 
became associated with the varnish com- 
pany as secretary-treasurer and general 
manager. From that time he has known 
no other prime business interest, although 
he was formerly vice-president of the 
People's Steamboat Company of Bridge- 
port. From its inception the Parrott Var- 
nish Company has grown in importance, 
and the product of the works has gained 
national as well as international fame. 
The ownership and management has 
never been out of the Parrott family, the 
executive control having been vested in 
but two men. Frederick Wells Parrott, 
the founder, and his son, Henry R. Par- 
rott. 

Mr. Parrott cast his first presidential 
vote for General Winfield Scott, the Whig 
candidate. In 1856 he voted for General 
John C. Fremont, the first candidate of 
the Republican party, and in i860 for the 
first successful candidate of that party, 
Abraham Lincoln, and has supported 
every Republican candidate for the presi- 
dency from that time onward. During 
the first Lincoln campaign he was an ac- 
tive member of the '"Wide Awakes," and 
aroused a good deal of resentment among 
the Adams Express Company employees, 
even to the extent of censure from the 
superintendent of the company. But after 
the battle of Bull Run. the government 
demanded that only men of proved loyalty 
be sent to Washington, and Mr. Parrott 
was called to that city to take charge of 
the company's business, his loyalty and 
devotion proving of great service to both 
the government and the company. Dur- 
ing that memorable first Lincoln cam- 
paign, Mr. Parrott was chairman of the 
town Republican committee, being prob- 
ably the only man living to have served 
from so early a period and for so long a 
time. That was a memorable campaign 
for the young man. and it was through 



his efforts that Mr. Lincoln was induced 
to come to Bridgeport and deliver one 
of his characteristic campaign speeches. 
During the Cleveland-Blaine campaign of 
1884, Mr. Parrott was the candidate of 
his party for State Senator ; was one of 
the organizers and first president of the 
Bridgeport Republican Club in 1887 ; dele- 
gate to the National Convention of 1888 
at Chicago which nominated Benjamin 
Harrison, and was secretary of the State 
delegation ; was a member of the State 
Republican Central Committee in 1889; 
served two terms as common councilman ; 
several terms as alderman ; was one of 
the first board of police commissioners 
for eight years under the city charter 
which organized the present police force, 
and was one of the committee that framed 
the present charter. After his many years 
of valiant service, he is still earnest in the 
faith, but several years ago announced his 
unalterable determination "not for a mo- 
ment to consider accepting a nomination 
to any office." 

During the Civil War period he was a 
member of the Bridgeport Battery, drilled 
as a home guard. For forty-seven years 
he has been a member of the society 
committee of the First Congregational 
Church, and long its chairman. He is a 
member of the Connecticut Historical So- 
ciety, the Home Market Club of Boston, 
the Associated Charities of Bridgeport, 
?.nd WHS one of the founders and member 
of the board of governors of the Seaside 
Club ; also a member of the American 
Tariff' League of New York. 

And so a life well along In its evening 
has been passed, "spending and being 
spent." He has stood at all times for 
that which was good and true, and has 
conducted himself under all circumstances 
as a man of character and integrity should. 
No man has taken a deeper interest in all 
that pertains to the uplift of his com- 
08 



i THE i:^V^ VOP.K 

i .... 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



munity than he. He is a wise counselor, 
a true friend and a generous giver to all 
good causes. 

Mr. Parrott married (first) October 17, 
1854. Annie Jane Garland, who died 
March 26, 1895, daughter of Daniel and 
Many- Garland, of Ijoston. Mr. and Mrs. 
Parrott were the parents of two sons and 
a daughter: Frederick Welles (2), born 
July 17. 1855, died October 2^, 1914, mar- 
ried Bessie Belja; Colonel Frank Spooner 
Parrott. born December 11, i860, died 
January 30, 18S9. was a member of Gov- 
ernor Bulkeley's staff. State of Connec- 
ticut; Harriet Garland, born Alarch 16. 
1862. died June 4, 1893. ^Ir. Parrott mar- 
ried (second) February 18, 1903, Helen 
Reinders, whose grandmother was a lady- 
in-waiting to Queen W'ilhelmina, of Hol- 
land, is also a great-granddaughter of 
Stephens Yon Rems. of Holland. 



BURNHAM, Edward Goodwin, 

Manufacturer, Man of Enterprise. 

Among the many descendants of the 
Englishman, Thomas Burnham, who first 
appeared in New- England in 1649, have 
been men of eminence in each generation, 
but to none is special mention more 
justly due than to Edward Goodwdn Burn- 
ham, of the seventh American generation, 
who after a lifetime of great usefulness 
was gathered to his fathers. He came 
upon the scene of action early in the nine- 
teenth century, and from the age of six- 
teen until his retirement in the dawn of 
the twentieth century was one of the 
world's workers, a veritable "captain of 
industry." His active years, 1843-1905, 
covered the greatest period of expansion, 
invention and progress in the m,echanical 
arts the world has ever seen, and when in 
1905 he retired from the presidency of 
the Eaton, Cole & Burnham Company of 
Bridgeport with its hundreds of em- 



ployees he surrendered a place in the in- 
dustrial world which he had won through 
his own strong individuality in competi- 
tion with the strong men who with him 
had made that period an "epoch in his- 
tory." 

While he was a most remarkable man 
and the architect of his own fortunes, 
heredity played an important part in his 
life. His father, Charles Burnham, was a 
man of great firmness of character, strict 
morality and sterling integrity. His 
mother. Persis (\\'hite) Burnham, was of 
equally strong character, with every 
womanly virtue, her influence over her 
son most beneficial and lasting. She was 
a descendant of the Puritan elder, John 
White, who cam.e in 1632, one of the first 
settlers of Cambridge, Hartford and Had- 
ley. The line of descent is through the 
Elder White's son, Captain Nathaniel 
White, of Middletown, Connecticut ; his 
son. Deacon Nathaniel White, of Hadley, 
Massachusetts ; his son, Daniel White, of 
West Springfield, Massachusetts; his son, 
Preserved White, of West Springfield ; 
his son. Preserved (2) White, of Spring- 
field ; his daughter. Persis, wife of Charles 
Burnham, they the parents of Edward 
Goodwin Burnham. 

On the paternal side Mr. Burnham 
traced in direct line to Thomas Burnham, 
Sr., the American ancestor, the English 
Burnhams descending from Walter de 
Ventre, who came with the Conqueror in 
1066. In the distribution of favors by 
William the Conqueror, de Ventre was 
made Lord of Burnham and other Saxon 
villages and from Burnham he took the 
surname de Burnham. Arms : Sable a 
cross between four crescents argent. 

Thomas Burnham, Sr.. was an attor- 
ney-at-law and for his successful defense 
of Abigail Betts accused of blasphemy, or 
as the court expressed it, "for saving her 
neck," the court deprived of their expect- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ed victim, sentenced her lawyer to "ye 
prison keep," rather a high-handed pro- 
ceeding, but a precedent later-day judges 
would no doubt be glad to follow at times. 
The sentence, however, was not carried 
into effect, though he was deprived of his 
citizenship for a time and prohibited from 
acting as attorney save in his own cases. 
The line of descent is through his son, 
Richard Burnham ; his son, Lieutenant 
Richard Burnham; his son, Elisha Burn- 
ham, who married Sarah Olmstead, of a 
noted family, great-granddaughter of 
James Olmstead, who came from Eng- 
land in 1632 ; their son, George Burnham ; 
their son, Charles Burnham, an inspector 
in the United States armory at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, who married Persis 
White, previously referred to ; their son, 
Edward Goodwin Burnham, the central 
figure of this review. 

Edward Goodwin Burnham was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, June 2, 
1827, died at his home, No. 768 Fairfield 
avenue, Bridgeport, Connecticut, Febru- 
ary 28, 1908. His boyhood was spent on 
a farm and he attended public school, but 
he was of a decided mechanical bent of 
mind and his reading was mostly from 
books on mechanical subjects. But he 
improved his school years well and grew 
up under conditions which developed a 
strong body and a keen, alert mind. At 
the age of sixteen he left farm and school, 
went to Brattleboro, Vermont, entered 
the employ of Hines, Newman & Hunt 
as an apprentice, served a full term and 
became an expert machinist. That was 
his preparation for life's battle and it was 
sufficient as the sequel shows. 

From Brattleboro he came to the 
United States Armory at Springfield, and 
there he was employed for several years 
as a machinist, also taking special con- 
tracts on certain lines of work. After 
leaving government employ he was for a 



few years employed with Dwight, Chapin 
& Company, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
manufacturers of rifle parts and firearms 
for the government during the Civil War. 
After peace came Mr. Burnham formed a 
partnership with Charles F. Belknap, of 
Bridgeport, and began in a small way to 
manufacture fittings for steam, gas and 
water pipes. His inventive genius and 
mechanical skill were perseveringly em- 
ployed in building up this business, and 
in due course of time his hopes ended in 
fruition and the large business was in- 
corporated as Belknap & Burnham, with 
the last named as president. Expansion 
followed incorporation, and in 1874, to 
obtain greater capital and increase the 
executive force, the business was reorgan- 
ized and reincorporated as the Eaton, 
Cole & Burnham Company, with Mr. 
Burnham as vice-president, but in reality 
the active head as later he was officially 
designated. 

The growth of the Eaton, Cole & Burn- 
ham Company was one of wonderful pro- 
portions, and in 1905, when Mr. Burnham 
retired from the presidency, fourteen hun- 
dred men were employed at their plant, 
one of the leading industries of a city of 
wonderful industrial development. Forty 
years were required to build up the busi- 
ness President Burnham voluntarily laid 
down, years in which he had put into 
action all his genius, strength, ingenuity 
and force. From nothing he built a great 
corporation and when he surrendered its 
cares and responsibilities he did so abso- 
lutely, by disposing of his interest and re- 
tiring to a well earned rest, carrying with 
him the best wishes of his associates and 
their unvarying respect. While his own 
business was his chief and all absorbing 
interest he had been officially connected 
with other important concerns, and as 
president of the Bridgeport Crucible Com- 
pany, vice-president of the United Illumi- 



110 



a 



i^_ 





v^.. 



2, .- /^^^l ^ <^< 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nant Company and director of the City 
National Bank, had contributed to the 
strength of the management of those cor- 
porations. Three years after his retire- 
ment from business he died, aged eighty- 
one, leaving this word for young men : 
"Be honest, temperate, industrious and 
economical. In all that you undertake 
whether for yourself or others give your 
best efforts and honest work. Have char- 
ity for the poor and unfortunate. Be kind 
to and have a word of cheer for all with 
whom you are brought in contact. Live 
a life that shall be a good example to 
others. Live by the Golden Rule." 

The foregoing minutely gives Mr. 
Burnham's scheme of life. He was "hon- 
est, temperate, industrious and economi- 
cal," and in all that he undertook he gave 
his "best efforts." Among his many 
splendid qualities his generosity shone 
brightly, and while the city knows of the 
large amount of money he gave away and 
of his splendid gift of a new wing to 
Bridgeport Hospital no one knows except 
the recipients of that far greater stream 
of help which flowed unceasingly to the 
poor and the needy. His charity was 
broad and unobtrusive, he had "charity 
for the poor and unfortunate ;" he Uvea 
by the "Golden Rule," and his life is a 
"good example to others." He served 
Bridgeport Hospital as vice-president and 
was ever its generous friend ; the Prot- 
estant Orphan Asylum appealed to his 
sympathetic nature and as a trustee and 
patron he aided wonderfully to enhance 
its usefulness. He was a devout church- 
man and a vestryman of St. John's Church 
of Bridgeport. In political faith he was 
a Republican after the formation of that 
party upon the ruins of the old Whig 
party with which he had been affiliated. 
He was elected State Senator in 1886 for 
a term of two years, and he was a memr 
ber of the Bridgeport board of public 



works for a number of years. He was 
always fond of the sports of the great 
out-of-doors, always kept good driving 
horses, which he enjoyed, and when the 
automobile came he found great pleasure 
in that form of riding. He loved yachting 
and that form of sport he indulged in 
largely. 

Mr. Burnham married, in September, 
1853, Mary Ferree, of Springfield. They 
were the parents of three children, all of 
whom survived their honored father: 
William Edward, Mary White, Belle. 



BURNHAM, William Edward, 

Manufacturer, Man of AfPaira. 

From the age of seventeen until the 
sale of the Burnham interests in the great 
manufacturing corporation, the Eaton, 
Cole & Burnham Company of Bridgeport 
m 1905, William E. Burnham was closely 
associated with a business which, founded 
by his father, grew under their combined 
management to be one of Bridgeport's 
greatest industrial concerns. Son of a 
mechanical expert and business genius, 
he inherited a taste for mechanics and an 
aptitude for business management that 
made him a valued assistant, and after 
a period of preparation in shop and de- 
partment detail he took his place in the 
executive board, and as his father yielded 
to the inexorable demands of time, the 
son shouldered many of the burdens and 
became a vital factor in the growth and 
development of the company, one of the 
largest and best known brass and iron 
manufacturing corporations of the State 
He is of distinguished ancestry and in 
the review of the life of Edward Goodwin 
Burnham the genealogy is shown in de- 
tail. As a twentieth century representa- 
tive of an honored family he has added to 
the prestige of the name and in Bridge- 
port annals, business and civic, his service 



III 



E^XYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stands out in bold relief. His career gives 
weight to the words of counsel that he 
would suggest to young men as a rule of 
life. "Attend to your duties closely, work 
hard for your employer's interest. Don't 
spend every cent you earn but start a nest 
egg for the future, be honest and temper- 
ate and above all things be self reliant, 
active, energetic and you will succeed." 
William E Burnham, son of Edward 
Goodwin and Mary (Ferree) Burnham, 
was born in Springfield. ^lassachusetts, 
November 25, 1856. but from early boy- 
hood has been a resident of Bridgeport, 
Connecticut. He attended the public 
schools of that city, the Seabury Insti- 
tute, Saybrook. Connecticut, and studied 
in the Park Avenue Institute for six 
years which completed his education. 
At the age of seventeen he entered the 
employ of the Eaton, Cole & Burnham 
Company, and after extended experience 
in the various departments, during which 
he performed stated duties under the 
same conditions as all other employees 
of the company, he was promoted to high 
position, eventually becoming vice-presi- 
dent and assistant treasurer and manager 
From 1873 until the sale of the Burnham 
interests and retirement of both Edward 
Goodwin and William E. Burnham, the 
latter was closely identified with ever>- 
phase of the company's development, and 
through his vision, sagacity and devotion, 
a large share of its success may justly be 
ascribed. In 1905 he retired from active 
connection with Eaton, Cole & Burnham 
Company, but only to assume other heavy 
responsibilities as president of the Pacific 
Iron Works, treasurer of the Thomas 
Philips Company, director of the Connec- 
ticut National Bank and director of the 
Bridgeport Crucible Company. As the 
years have progressed these have been 
largely surrendered and he is now (1917) 
practically retired from participation in 



corporation mangement. his time being 
devoted to the care of his private estate. 
Loyal in his devotion to Republican 
principles, his interest has been as a citi- 
zen not as a seeker for public office. He 
served his city as park commissioner for 
seven years, 1897-1904, and in 1908 he was 
a delegate to the National Republican 
Convention, and one of the presidential 
electors who cast the vote of Connecticut 
for William H. Taft. His interest in the 
Bridgeport Hospital and Public Library 
has been expressed by official service as 
a member of the board of directors of 
both ; he is a director of the Boys' Club, 
and interested in all that pertains to the 
public good. His recreations are those of 
the out-of-doors and in the Black Rock 
Yacht and New York Yacht clubs, he 
indulges his taste for aquatics and ath- 
letics. He is also a member of the Algon- 
quin and Sea Side clubs of Bridgeport and 
the L'nion League of New Haven. He is 
a member of lodge, chapter, council, com- 
mandery, shrine and consistory of the 
Masonic order, and of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. I\Ir. Burnham 
married, December 10, 1884, Harriet J. 
Kiefer. 



PURCELL. John Leo, 

Business Man, Legislator. 

Senator John L. Purcell, who has been 
before the public eye for several years, is 
a man well known and highly honored 
and respected in Hartford. Honor and 
tenacity of ideals, which mount to the 
heights of sacrifice of personal ambition 
and deferring of hopes, are factors seldom 
encountered in political campaigns, and 
when found are noted and praised. The 
unusual and unselfish act which lost Sen- 
ator Purcell the mayoralty of Hartford 
brought him hosts of friends in his 
own party and compelled the admiration 
12 




f9 



o/tn ^. c/u^ce// 



'?:ARY 



;ld^:-i t-CUNDAuONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and support of broad minded and fair 
thinking men of the opposition. He is 
recognized universally as a man of im- 
peccable honor. Great force and deter- 
mination applied to the several lines of 
endeavor in which he has engaged have 
brought him at an early age into promi- 
nence. The Senator's initiative and ex- 
ecutive ability have been amply evidenced 
in his work in the State Senate where he 
leads the minority. He attained consider- 
able prestige and rallied around himself 
unusual support from the majority, his 
aggressiveness for party principles gain- 
ing their respect, at a time when, to quote 
the Hartford '"Times". "Democrats were 
not supposed to be of any importance." 

John Leo Purcell was born in Hartford. 
Connecticut, October 2, 1880, the son of 
John A. and Bridget M. (Kirby) Purcell. 
His grandfather w^as John Purcell. of 
Waterford, Ireland, who came to Hart- 
ford just after the Civil War. He mar- 
ried Catherine Coleman. Their son, John 
A. Purcell, father of Senator Purcell, was 
born in Waterford, Ireland. March 19, 
1851, and came to Hartford with his par- 
ents. He was educated in the public 
schools, and later became foreman in the 
drayage business wath Hebard & Com- 
pany. He is a member of the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians. He married Bridget 
]\I., daughter of John Kirby, of Youghal. 
County Cork, Ireland. She was educated 
in her native city and came to Hartford 
with her brothers and sisters. Of her 
eight children, four have survived : Agnes 
G., wife of Francis P. Horan, of Hart- 
ford; Ella: Josephine; and John L.. of 
whom further. 

As a boy of fifteen years. John L. Pur- 
cell decided to enter a mechanical field, 
and having completed his course in St. 
Patrick's Parochial School, he entered the 
' employ of the late Edward Lawler to 
become a plumber. After a few years 

Conn— 2- -8 T 



work as a skilled journeyman, he en- 
tered in business for himself and set up 
as a contractor, remaining in the contract- 
ing business for nine years. In 1909 he 
started in the wholesale plumbing and 
supply business in which he is now en- 
gaged. Senator Purcell holds the rank of 
major in the First Connecticut Infantry, 
having enlisted in Company H as a pri- 
vate. He was promoted rapidly to corpo- 
ral and lieutenant, and w^as elected major 
by the line officers of the regiment on 
March 8, 191 1. He now commands the 
.Second Battalion, consisting of Com- 
panies E, of New Britain ; G, of South 
Manchester ; and F, and H, of Hartford. 
Major Purcell is a student of military* 
affairs, and is considered a field officer of 
ability, standing well in the estimation of 
the United States officers detailed with 
the regiment. He was chairman of the 
State commission appointed by the Legis- 
lature of 191 3 to have charge of Connecti- 
cut's representation at the Gettysburg 
semi-centennial reunion of the veterans 
of the Blue and Gray. Senator Purcell is 
a member of many social and fraternal 
organizations. He is active in the Rotary 
Club. Knights of Columbus, the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, the 
Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Hartford 
Saengerbund, the Modern Woodmen, the 
Tigers of the World, and the Michael 
Davitt Club. He is a member of the 
Automobile Club of Hartford and of the 
Chamber of Commerce. 

As a resident of the old Third Sena- 
torial District and of the Seventh Ward 
he took an active interest in the politics 
of the section. Senator Purcell's career in 
public service has been comparatively 
short, but eventful and useful. He has 
spent seven years as a member of the 
Board of Education, and two terms in 
the State Senate, and in these positions has 
had opportunity to become acquainted 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with many problems which deeply con- 
cern the people of Hartford. In Febru- 
ary, 1916, Senator Purcell announced his 
candidacy for the democratic nomination 
for mayor. He was among those serious- 
ly considered for the nomination before 
the party primaries two years ago. He 
was the first to accept the suggestion of 
some of the party leaders that all candi- 
dates withdraw their names that a har- 
monious choice might be made. As min- 
ority leader in the last session of the 
Senate, Senator Purcelll attained great 
prestige. One of the laws, in the passage 
of which he took an active part, applies 
to compulsory publication of unclaimed 
savings bank accounts in local papers. 
He took a strong stand against the civil 
service emasculation bill and rallied 
around him considerable Republican sup- 
port by his intelligent conduct of the leg- 
islative fight. In regard to bills applying 
to his own city Senator Purcell opposed 
vigorously the creation of a partisan pub- 
lic buildings commission and he forced 
modifications from the Republican major- 
ity in the form of the redistricting bill. 
He secured an appropriation of $60,000 
for new buildings for the Institute for the 
Blind on Wethersfield avenue. As a 
member of the committee on appropri- 
ations Senator Purcell was brought into 
close touch with the big problems of the 
State. When he announced his candidacy 
for the mayoralty, he was the first in the 
field for nomination. Nearly three weeks 
after he entered the race, he withdrew in 
favor of Colonel Richard H. Goodman, 
commander of the First Connecticut In- 
fantry, in which Senator Purcell ranks as 
major. The conviction that a contest be- 
tween two officers of the same regiment 
for a place of civic honor would introduce 
partisan strife destructive to complete 
military efficiency was responsible for this 
move of patriotism and the waiving of 
personal ambition. 



The value of such disinterested service 
as is evidenced in this act is of inestimable 
value to Hartford. Senator Purcell is of 
the type of man whose presence in a posi- 
tion of legal importance is a factor for 
good whose value cannot be over-rated. 
His splendid mentality and ability, backed 
by his aggressive though not pugnacious 
nature, extends hope for greater achieve- 
ment in the future along the same lines 
in which he has succeeded in his work in 
the Senate. He is tactful and diplomatic, 
and of a genial disposition which makes 
and keeps friends easily. His popularity 
in Hartford among all political factions 
is ever increasing and Senator Purcell is 
looked upon as one of the rising men of 
the day. Major Purcell accompanied his 
regiment to the Mexican border in 1916 
and gave four months' duty to his coun- 
try under the call of President Wilson. 



WHITMORE, Franklin Gray, 

Heal Estate Operator, Insurance Actuary. 

Franklin Gray Whitmore, senior mem- 
ber of the firm of F. G. Whitmore & Son, 
real estate and insurance, of Hartford, 
Connecticut, and secretary of the board 
of park commissioners, was born at No. 
162 Henry street. New York City, Sep- 
tember 18, 1846. He was a son of Isaiah 
and Elizabeth Ann (Culver) Whitmore, 
and a direct descendant of Francis Whit- 
more, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, born 
in 1625, he being a descendant of John 
Whitmore, of Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
who lived in that town in 1638 and was 
afterwards the founder of Stamford, Con- 
necticut, in 1641. 

The Whitmore family is one of the 
oldest in New England and has been 
found in the record in old England as 
far back as 1215. As surnames did not 
begin to come into general use until about 
the thirteenth century, it will be seen that 
Whitmore is one of the oldest of family 



114 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



names. It is derived from wid, meaning 
spear, and mar, meaning famous, together 
signifying "famous with the spear," the 
name of a Gothic king. When King John 
signed the Magna Charta at Runymeade, 
the name of Whitmore appears. The 
early proprietors of the Manor were called 
Lords of Whytemore, and John De Whyte- 
more was mayor of Chester from 1369 to 
1372. Whitmore Hall is situated in the 
village of Whitmore in Staffordshire, one 
hundred and forty-six miles from London. 
Up to this time the connection of the 
American family with the Whitmores of 
Staffordshire has not been established, 
but the similarity in the Christian names 
of the family in different generations 
leaves little doubt that it is of Stafford- 
shire origin. Tradition says that two 
brothers, Sir George and John, emigrated 
to America in the early part of the seven- 
teenth century, the former locating in 
Halifax, Nova Scotia, where he served as 
a government offfcer. 

The name of John Whitmore, some- 
times called "the lost brother," appears 
on the Wethersfield, Connecticut, records 
in 1638, when Robert Treat purchased 
fifty-eight acres of land belonging to him. 
In 1641 John Whitmore became one of 
the founders and settlers of Stamford. 
In the first distribution of land he was 
allotted ten acres and was admitted as 
freeman in 1642. He was chosen deputy 
to the General Court, October 27, 1643, 
and representative to the New Haven As- 
sembly in 1647. He was killed by the 
Indians in 1648. He was married in Eng- 
land, but the record of his wife's name has 
been lost. He was married a second time 
in this country. The following children 
w^ere born from the first marriage : Thom- 
as, in 1615; Anne, in 1623; Francis, in 
1625 ; and John, in 1627. 

There can be no reasonable doubt that 
Francis, the fourth child, is the same man 



who married Isabele Parke in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, about 1648, as he gave the 
date of his birth in an affidavit as 1625. 
He died at Cambridge, October 12, 1685. 
His wife, who was the daughter of Rich- 
ard and Margery (Crane) Parke, died 
there March 31, 1665. 

The third child of this marriage was 
John Whitmore, born at Cambridge, Oc- 
tober I, 1654. He married for his first 
wife Rachel, the widow of John Poulter, 
of Cambridge, and daughter of Francis 
and Mary (Saunders) Eliot. She was 
born October 25. 1643, and died March 
20, 1723. They lived at Cambridge and 
Medford, Massachusetts. He served 
under Major Swayne in the fight with 
the Indians at Saco. He became pos- 
sessed of considerable land in Medford, 
Billerica and Charlestown. He was town 
treasurer and deacon of the First Parish 
Church. 

His sc 1, John Whitmore, was born Au- 
gust 2"], ;683, and died at Billerica, March 
26 or 2'j, 1753. In 1706 he married Mary, 
daughter of Colonel John and Susan 
(Whipple) Lane, of Billerica. She was 
born May 15, 1686, and died March 27, 
1783. John Whitmore learned the trade 
of carpenter but later went into business 
with his brother Francis. He owned much 
property in Medford, and was a liberal 
contributor to the church. Mrs. Whit- 
more was a granddaughter of Job Lane, 
or Laine, as the name was frequently 
spelled. He was a native of Rickmans- 
worth, England, born in 1624, and came 
to this country before he was twenty 
years of age. There is a record of him at 
Sekonck, Rehoboth. Massachusetts, which 
states that he drew a house and lot in the 
apportionment of lands there. His sec- 
ond wife was Hannah Reyner or Rayner, 
of Maiden, whom he married July 2, 1660. 
This lady, who was born in the year 1632 
and died April 30, 1704, was a daughter 



115 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Rev. John and Sarah (Bayes) Rey- 
ner. Her father was a native of Gilder- 
somme, Yorkshire, England, was a gradu- 
ate of Magdalen College, Oxford, and was 
married in 1631. He came to Boston on 
the ship "James" in 1635 and the follow- 
ing year became pastor of the First 
Church at Plymouth. In 1654 he left 
Plymouth and went to Dover, New 
Hampshire, where he was the pastor of 
the church there until his death in 1669. 
Job Lane followed the trade of carpenter 
all his life, and on September 11, 1658, 
signed an agreement to build the first 
meeting house in the community where 
he dwelt, and four years later built a 
drawbridge. He removed from Maiden 
to Billerica, Massachusetts, about 1667 or 
1668, and was a selectman in that commu- 
nity in 1683 ^^^ 1686. In 1680 he re- 
turned to Maiden. His son, Colonel John 
Lane, the father of Mary (Lane) Whit- 
more, was born October, 1661, and mar- 
ried, March 20, 1680, Susannah Whipple. 
He was the leading soldier in Billerica 
and was in command of a troop of horse 
in the year 1693 and again three or four 
years later. He was selectman in 1693, 
1696-1704 and in 1709, and he was given 
a grant of land for his ser\'ices as deputy 
in the year 1707. He was a liberal con- 
tributor to religious and educational work 
in the community. 

John and Mary (Lane) Whitmore had 
a son, Francis Whitmore, who was born 
at Medford, October 4, 1714, where he 
grew up to be a business man of impor- 
tance. In the years 1760, 1762, 1765, 1766 
and 1767, his name appears either as a 
purchaser or seller of lands in the vicinity 
of Reed's Point on the Kennebec river, 
Maine, and during that time he shipped 
masts for the Royal Navy. The first evi- 
dence of milling is found on his land on 
the Abadagasett river and it is therefore 
probable that he was the pioneer lumber- 



man in that part of Maine. In an account 
of the establishment of Bowdoinham in 
1762 appears the statement that a man 
named W'hitmore had settled previously 
at Reed's Point on the Kennebec and an- 
other account of early settlements along' 
that river states that he was there as early 
as 1749. He traded with the Indians on 
an extensive scale. In 1763 he was moder- 
ator of the meeting held to incorporate 
the town of Bowdoinham and we find 
him given the title of "Captain" Francis 
W^hitmore in a record of an appropriation 
made to maintain meetings, some of 
which were to be held at his house. On 
January i, 1739, he married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Lieutenant Stephen and Elizabeth 
(Fowle) Hall. She was born April 17, 
1719, and died October 20, 1791. He died 
April 27, 1794. 

John Whitmore, son of Francis and 
Mary (Hall) Whitmore, was born at 
Medford, November 25, 1754, and died at 
Bath, Maine, November 29, 1820. He was 
married April 12, 1781, to Hulda, a daugh- 
ter of Isaiah Crooker. She died at Bath, 
February 19. 1812. 

Their son, Isaiah W^hitmore, born at 
Bath, February 21, 1792, died July i, 1865, 
in New York City. Isaiah Whitmore was 
for many years in the shipping business 
in New York, having a large number of 
vessels in the trade with West Indian and 
South American ports. His office was at 
No. 47 South street, and as he advanced 
in years his participation in the business 
grew less and he finally completely re- 
tired from its management which was 
taken over by his sons, Henry and Fred- 
eric. Isaiah Whitmore was married to 
Elizabeth Ann Culver, a daughter of Cap- 
tain Culver. She was born March 29, 
1803, and died December 4, i860. Born 
to Isaiah and Elizabeth Ann (Culver) 
Whitmore was one son, Franklin Gray 
Whitmore, the subject of this sketch. 
16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Franklin Gray Whitmore was educated 
at Charles N. Anthon's private grammer 
school in New York City, Edward L. 
Hart's private boarding school at Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, and at the age of 
sixteen entered Columbia College in 1862. 
In 1864 he enlisted in the Sixth Company, 
Seventh Regiment, New York National 
Guard, under Captain Bird. That regi- 
ment was detailed to guard the body of 
the martyred Lincoln during its proces- 
sion through New York City and while 
h'ing in state in the City Hall there. After 
his marriage in 1867 he spent some years 
abroad and then purchased a stock farm 
in Fairfield county, Connecticut, where he 
spent his summers and engaged in breed- 
ing trotting horses. He owned some very 
fast horses. He spent his winters in Hart- 
ford, and beginning in 1880 made West 
Hartford his permanent home. In that 
year he built his present residence at the 
corner of Highland street and Farmington 
avenue. Subsequently Mr. Whitmore 
opened a real estate office in Hartford, 
and after a few years his son, Harold B. 
Whitmore, became a partner under the 
firm name of F. G. Whitmore & Son. For 
some years Mr. Whitmore was private 
secretary to the late Samuel L. Clemens 
(Mark Twain) and probably no living 
man was so intimately acquainted with 
the great humorist as Mr. Whitmore. He 
has lectured on Mark Twain and written 
papers on him. He has a large collection 
of his letters and enough material to make 
a splendid biography of him. In 1896 Mr. 
Whitmore was elected secretary of the 
board of park commissionersand has held 
that office ever since. He has been a di- 
rector of the Connecticut Fire Insurance 
Company for thirty-eight years ; a mem- 
ber of the Sons of Colonial Wars ; a mem- 
ber of the advisory board of the Hartford 
Art Society ; a member of the advisory 
board of the Women's Aid Society. 



He was married to Harriet Eliza, 
(laughter of William S. Goulden, of Fair- 
field, Connecticut. They were the parents 
of six children, as follows : William Frank- 
lin ; Frederic Culver, deceased ; Harriet 
Eliza, married John O. Enders, a sketch 
of whom appears elsewhere in this work ; 
hVanklin G., Jr., deceased ; Harold Bur- 
ton, who is a partner in his father's busi- 
ness ; Ruth, who married Robert P. 
Parker, a son of Rev. Edwin Pond Parker, 
D. D., of Hartford. Mr. Whitmore is an 
Episcopalian in his religious affiliations 
and attends St. John's Episcopal Church, 
to which he has given a memorial window 
in honor of his deceased children. 

Mrs. Whitmore did a great deal of work in 
tracing the various lines of her ancestry, 
and this was published in a little book en- 
titled : "A Memorial of the Kindred and 
Ancestry of Harriet L. Sturges Goulden, 
of Fairfield, Connecticut, Compiled in 
Loving Memory by Her Daughter, Har- 
riet E. Goulden Whitmore." The lines 
traced are Sturges. Barlow, Judson, Sher- 
wood, Bradley, Dimon, Ward, Pinkney, 
Burr, Redfield, Davis, Hull, Jones, San- 
ford. Mrs. Whitmore was historian of 
the Ruth Wyllys Chapter, Daughters of 
the American Revolution, of Hartford. 
For several years she was vice-president 
of Colonial Dames of Connecticut. She 
declined the presidency on account of 
her health. She was identified with the 
Hartford Art School, Women's Aid So- 
ciety, the Blind Asylum, and the Connec- 
ticut Historical Society. She wrote a 
number of magazine articles on historical 
subjects. Mrs. Whitmore was truly a 
remarkable character, a leader in the in- 
tellectual life of her community where she 
exerted a great influence upon the life of 
her own sex. She was possessed of an 
energy which exceeded the limits of her 
physical strength. She was public-spirited 
in the extreme and gave freely of herself 



117 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to every good work undertaken in the 
community. Her relations with her fam- 
ily were of the highest order. She was 
an ideal wife and mother, and the Whit- 
more home, in the hospitality which it ex- 
tended to a large circle of friends and for 
which it was famous, was an expression 
of her personality. She died June 30, 1915. 



SANBORN, WiUiam A., 

Insurance Actuary, Financier. 

William A. Sanborn, of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, is one of the energetic and suc- 
cessful men of that city, and one whose 
name is closely identified with the growth 
and development of the community. He 
comes of sturdy old New England stock, 
of the type that in the past wrought the 
foundation of the Republic, his ancestors 
being residents of that region from earliest 
Colonial times. 

William A. Sanborn is a member of an 
old New England family. The name San- 
born, or Sanborne, is met with compara- 
tive frequency in America to-day. There 
is little doubt, however, owing to the 
great infrequency with which it appears 
in England that there is but one family 
with a single origin in that country. The 
coat-of-arms is as follows : Argent, a 
chevron sable, between three mullets 
gules. Crest: A right hand holding a 
sheaf of arrows proper. There is another 
branch of the family which shows the 
arrows sable, and still another with a 
crest consisting of a lion rampant azure. 
It is in A. D. 1194 that we find the earliest 
mention of the name of Sanborn in Eng- 
land. It then appears in the old form of 
De Sandeburne, while later, in 1330. we 
find the spelling Samborne, or Sambourne 
Since the fourteenth century, the last two 
forms have been the accepted English 
spelling and the only two branches of the 
family which exist in England to-day. 



The first American ancestors spelled their 
name with an "m" and with or without 
the final "e," the variation being quite in 
harmony with the loose customs in spell- 
ing existing at that time. For several 
generations this continued to be the case 
but slowly the "m" was changed to "n," 
until about 1750 the modern form was 
adopted, the final "e'' being dropped al- 
together. The original and traditional 
pronunciation in this country was as 
though it was spelt Sahnbourn with a 
marked accent on the first syllable. At 
the present time there are but two fam- 
ilies, one living in Michigan and one in 
Illinois who spell their names otherwise, 
both of these preferring the form Sand- 
born. 

The founder of the family was William 
Sanborn, who was born about 1622 in 
England, a son of William Sanborn, of 
Brimpton, Berks, and Anne (Bachiler) 
Sanborne. His parentage was not abso- 
lutely certain, but the great balance of 
probability is as above. William was one 
of four sons and he and his three brothers 
evidently came to America in the year 
1632 with the Rev. Stephen Bachiler, their 
grandfather. It was not until 1639, how- 
ever, that we find a record of them in 
Hampton, New Hampshire, where they 
eventually settled and where "in June 
1640 a house lot on the road towards the 
sea was granted to him." He was select- 
man of Hampton in 1651, 1660, 1667, 1671, 
1677 and 1683, and was very active in the 
affairs of the community, serving in the 
war with King Philip. His death oc- 
curred on November 18, 1692, and he was 
married to Mary, a daughter of John 
Moulton, of Ormsby and of Hampton, 
New Hampshire. 

Their son, Stephen Sanborn, was born 
in Hampton. September 4, 1671, and there 
is a tradition that he lived in a "side hill 
cave" for thirty years. However, this may 



118 





cZ^c^' 



I3RARY 



,. -o:\ LENOX 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he, he was a member of the garrison at 
D. Tilton's in 1695 and 1696, and at Ex- 
eter in the latter year. He was a soldier 
in the wars of 1704 to 1708, and his death 
occurred on June 21, 1750. It is an amus- 
ing light on the character of this old 
worthy that, in 1704, one Samuel Roby, 
of Hampton, complained that Stephen 
Sanborn, with others, was concerned in 
a riot, i le was married, on July 26, 1693, 
to Hannah, a daughter of Lieutenant 
James I'hilbrick, of Hampton. 

Their son, Stephen Sanborn, was born 
May I, 1694, at Hampton, and lived in 
that town during his entire life. His 
death occurred May 30, 1778. He was 
married, .November 30, 1721. to Ruth, a 
daughter of Aretas Levet, of Hampton, 
whose death occurred on the same day as 
that of her husband, two years earlier. 

Their son, Amos Sanborn, was born in 
Hampton, June i, 1726, and like his father 
he made his home in his native place until 
the elder man's death, when he removed 
to Moultonborough. He was married to 
Polly . He died March 3, 1815. 

Their son, Robert Sanborn, was also 
born in Hampton, February 6, 1762, but 
eventually made his home at Sandwich 
in the same State, where he married Mary 
Glines. His death occurred February 24, 
1851. 

Their son. David Ambrose Sanborn, 
was born at Sandwich, New Hampshire. 
February 14, 1795, and died in Somerville, 
Massachusetts, February 19, 1875. He 
made his home in the latter place, where 
he was prominent, carrying on a good 
business as a brick manufacturer. He was 
married to Hannah Adams, a daughter of 
John Stone, of Somerville. She was born 
January 18, 1794, and died July 15, 1875. 

Their son, Daniel Alfred Sanborn, was 
born in Somerville. Massachusetts, April 
5. 1827. He was the father of the subject 
of this sketch. He was educated as a 



civil engineer, learning this profession in 
the office of a prominent engineer of Bos- 
ton. His life was a decidedly varied one 
as he engaged in a number of different 
occupations. He was at one time superin- 
tendent of railroads in Maine and at an- 
other time held the same office in the 
State of Delaware. At one time he was 
in l>oston, where he took a contract to fill 
in a part of what is now the Back Bay dis- 
trict of that city. In 1866 he was em- 
ployed by Mr. J. B. Bennett, the manager 
of the Cincinnati office of the ^tna In- 
surance Company, in making maps for in- 
surance work. The employment of maps 
as an aid to underwriters dates back in 
this country to 1850 when Mr. William 
Ferris made one for Mr. Hope, of New 
"Sork Cit}', who was then secretary of the 
Jefferson Insurance Company. It was 
not completed until 1852. Mr. Sanborn's 
work under Mr. Bennett was among the 
earliest attempts in this direction, how- 
ever, and he thus became introduced to 
an industry in which he was engaged dur- 
ing the remainder of his life. There was 
a very small demand for these maps at 
the outset, and although Mr. Sanborn had 
the backing of Mr. Bennett and several 
other insurance men who were greatly 
impressed with the idea, it was very dif- 
ficult to put the business on a paying 
Itasis. Anyone who possessed less cour- 
age and persistence than Mr. Sanborn 
must have given up the attempt long be- 
fore anything had come of it. But, with 
a pertinacity characteristic of his New 
England ancestors, Mr. Sanborn would not 
give in and eventually built up the con- 
cern which now is by far the largest and 
most important engaged in this great in- 
dustry. Mr. Sanborn's health unfortu- 
nately failed at a time when his business 
had reached very great proportions and 
he was obliged to retire' from active life 
several vears before his death, which oc- 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



curred on April ii, 1883. He married, 
October 6, 1853, -^"^ Rogers Forster, of 
Somerville, Massachusetts, where she was 
born January 10, 1832. Her death oc- 
curred November 17, 1910. Her father 
was Charles Forster, of Somerville, and 
he was very prominent in the community, 
a school there having been named for him. 

William A. Sanborn, their son, was 
born at Charlestown, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 4, 1864. His education was re- 
ceived in private schools and was com- 
pleted at the Brooklyn Polytechnic In- 
stitute. He then became associated with 
his father in the insurance map business. 
In the year 1890 he came to Hartford, 
Connecticut, where he has made his home 
from that time to the present, and in 1901 
engaged there in the real estate business. 
He has made a specialty of developing 
high-class real estate propositions, par- 
ticularly in residential districts. He is 
also the agent for a number of very im- 
portant business buildings in the city, 
among which is the Connecticut Mutual 
Building. He is much interested in the 
insurance business, to which he had an 
introduction through the making of maps 
for use therein, and he is now associated 
with the Standard Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, being a member of its board of di- 
rectors and its local agent in Hartford. 
He is also a director of the Colonial Na- 
tional Bank, president and treasurer of 
the Park Realty Company, a director of 
the Connecticut Fair Association, all of 
Hartford, and secretary of the Sanborn 
Map Company of New York. 

Some years ago Mr. Sanborn erected a 
beautiful summer home at Eastern Point, 
Connecticut, and has taken an active part 
in the social life of both Hartford and the 
former place. He is a member of many 
of the most important clubs of Hartford, 
among which should be mentioned the 
Hartford Club ; the Hartford Golf Club. 



of which he was secretary for four years ; 
the Hartford Yacht Club; the Hartford 
Curling Club, of which he was the presi- 
dent ; the Automobile clubs of Hartford 
and of America ; and the Country Club of 
Farmington. For a time he was vice- 
president of the Municipal Art Society of 
Hartford. He attends the Center Church. 
William A. Sanborn married, October 
13, 1884, Nellie A. Smiley, a daughter of 
Joseph E. and Nellie Aurelius (Wight- 
man) Smiley, of Philadelphia. To them 
one daughter was born, Eleanor, October 
18, 1901. 



BIRDSEYE, Arthur Julius, 

Insurance Expert, Public Official. 

Contemporary opinion — always valu- 
able — was recently expressed in the fol- 
lowing manner concerning Mr. Birdseye : 
"There is about Mr. Birdseye an elan, a 
vigor, a sincerity to which the spirit of 
all who come in contact with him in- 
stinctively responds, and these qualities 
coupled with his innate urbanity have 
made him immensely popular. He is pa- 
triotic, philanthropic, and public spirited 
to the marrow." 

While the above was written concern- 
ing his political prominence, it applies to 
his success in the life insurance field as 
well, and goes far in explaining the promi- 
nence of the Mutual Benefit Life Insur- 
ance Company of Newark, New Jersey, 
in the State of Connecticut, for since 1900 
Mr. Birdseye has been State agent for 
that company. He has made life insur- 
ance his deep study, is master of its detail 
in ever\^ department, and ranks as an au- 
thority. His lecture "Fundamentals in 
Life Insurance" has been asked for and 
delivered before faculty and students at 
a number of New England colleges and 
other institutions, a compliment usually 
reserved for the hisfhest insurance execu- 



120 





*Vx.-^-^c>/ z^ l_ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lives, and one that fixes Mr. Birdseye as 
an authority. 

Perhaps he is best known to the public- 
at-large for his work in the State Legis- 
lature, where in face of powerful and 
wealthy opposition he forced to passage 
the bill known throughout the country as 
"Birdseye's Money Shark Bill" prohibit- 
ing the loaning of money at exorbitant 
rates to wage earners. This law effectu- 
ally stopped the pernicious business of 
such loaners in the State of Connecticut, 
and is deemed one of the most important 
and salutory enactments of recent years. 
The law was declared constitutional by 
the Supreme Court of Connecticut, and 
by the Supreme Court of the United 
States, and under its provisions a fine of 
$6,000 was collected from the notorious 
Tolman, the State of New York later ex- 
acting a fine of $2,000 after his conviction 
upon a similar charge, also inflicting a 
term of imprisonment in Sing Sing. 

Air. Birdseye is of the ninth American 
generation of the family founded by John 
Birdseye, who, according to an eminent 
authority, was a Puritan in England in 
1636. He emigrated to New Haven, 
Connecticut, with his two sons. The 
line of descent from John Birdseye, "the 
founder," is through his son, "Deacon"' 
John (2) Birdseye; his son, John (3) 
Birdseye; his son. Lieutenant Abel Birds- 
eye; his son, Captain Jonas Birdseye, a 
soldier of the Revolution ; his son, Abel 
Birdseye, who settled in New York State 
and died at Junius, October 13, 1866; his 
son, Julius Hiram Birdseye, father of 
-Arthur Julius Birdseye, of Hartford. 

Julius Hiram Birdseye was the first of 
his family in direct line born outside the 
confines of the State of Connecticut, his 
birthplace, Junius, New York. He died at 
Waterloo in that State in 1885, a farmer, 
merchant and horticulturist. He married, 
October 4. 1849, Elizabeth Kliner, born 



at Lyons, New York, daughter of Jacob 
Kliner, born in Germany, who came to this 
country a boy of twelve, both his parents 
dying on the voyage. He was bound out 
to a miller and followed that trade most 
of his life. His wife was of French 
parentage. 

Arthur Julius liirdseye, son of Julius 
Hiram and Elizabeth (Kliner) Birdseye, 
was born at Waterloo, New York, August 
21, 1858. He obtained his education in 
the public schools and the academy of that 
place. He learned the jeweler's business 
at Waterloo, and later engaged in the dry 
goods business at Rochester, New York. 
In 1881 he again entered the jewelry busi- 
ness at Fairport, spending the years until 
1887 there and at Peekskill, New York. 
He became a broker in New York City 
in 1891, but in 1893 niade his entrance into 
the life insurance field by taking an 
agency with the Nederland Life Insur- 
ance Company of Holland, locating his 
office at Rochester, New York. In 1896 
Mr. Birdseye transferred his allegiance to 
the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Com- 
pany of Newark, New Jersey, spending one 
year at the home office in close study of 
the methods, policies and operation of 
the company, particularly in relation to 
field work. In 1897 ^^ ^^'^s made super- 
intendent of Ohio agencies, remaining in 
the West for three years. In 1900 he was 
appointed State agent for Connecticut 
with headquarters at Hartford, and there 
has compiled a notable record as a busi- 
ness producer, efficient manager, and life 
insurance expert. 

He has made Farmington his home 
residence, and there has taken active and 
prominent part in public affairs. In 1907 
he was elected to the General Assembly, 
being the first Democrat chosen to that 
office in fourteen years from that district. 
He served on the committee on banks 
and banking, was a strong supporter of 



121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Governor Woodruff and his policies, 
secured some necessary legislation re- 
garding automobile operation, and suc- 
ceeded in passing the "Birdseye Money 
Shark Bill" to which reference has been 
made. 

He is an ex-president of the Connecti- 
cut Life Underwriters Association ; was 
a member of the executive committee of 
the National Association of Life Under- 
writers for six years, highly regarded and 
active in both ; is lieutenant on the staff 
of the major commanding the Putnam 
Phalanx ; ex-treasurer general of the So- 
ciety Founders and Patriots of America ; 
ex-governor of the Connecticut Society ; 
member of the Hartford Municipal Art 
Society; director of Connecticut Chil- 
dren's Aid Society ; treasurer and vestry- 
man of St. James Protestant Episcopal 
Church of Farmington, holds the degrees 
of lodge, chapter, council and comman- 
dery, York Rite, Ancient Craft Masonry ; 
is a noble of the Mystic Shrine, and a 
thirty-second degree Mason of the An- 
cient Accepted Scottish Rite. His clubs 
are the Hartford, City. Rotary, Farming- 
ton Country, and he was the first presi- 
dent of the Charter Oak Ad Club. While 
very aggressive in his methods, Mr. 
Birdseye is a man of magnetic personal- 
ity, holding men to him closely. He has 
unusual ability to make himself clearly 
and easily understood and is very popular. 
He has demonstrated fine executive qual- 
ity and his success as a manager of men 
has been most marked. 

He married, at Rochester, New York, 
October 12, 1881, Clara Matilda, daughter 
of Thomas H. Turpin. of Rochester. 



PORTER, Dr. WUliam, Jr., 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

Dr. William Porter, an earnest and dis- 
criminating student in the line of his pro- 



fession, widely known as a prominent 
representative of the medical fraternity of 
Hartford, traces his ancestry back to an 
early period in England, the family being 
an ancient and honorable one, bearing a 
coat-of-arms, described as follows : Sable, 
three church bells, argent ; canton, ermine. 
Motto : Vigilantia ct virdus. 

William de la Port, the first ancestor of 
the family of whom there is definite in- 
formation, was a Roman knight and went 
to England with William the Conqueror. 
The line of descent is traced through his 
son, Ralph de la Port ; his son, Robert de 
la Port ; his son, Hugh de la Port, who 
married a daughter of William Russell ; 
their son, John Porter, a resident of Mark- 
ham, England, who married a daughter of 
a Mr. Gardiner, of Bishops Norton, Lin- 
colnshire, England ; their son, John Por- 
ter; his son, Augustine Porter, of Belton ; 
his son, John Porter; his son, William 
Porter, of Wryhall ; his son, John Porter, 
born in England, 1590. emigrated to this 
country in 1633. accompanied by his wife 
Rose, located in New England, and about 
1635 was one of the founders of Windsor, 
Connecticut ; their son, Samuel Porter, 
was a native of England, born in 1626; 
his son. Samuel Porter, born in 1660; his 
son, Eleazer Porter; his son, Eleazer 
Porter, born in 1728; his son, William 
Porter, born in 1763, died in Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, about 1848, was a merchant, 
agriculturist and physician, meeting with 
well merited success in each line of work, 
the result of energy, perseverance and 
skill. He married (first) Lois Eastman, 
and (second) CTharlotte Williams, and 
by his first marriage had two sons, John 
and William. 

William Porter, grandfather of Dr. 
William Porter, of this review, was born 
in Hadley, Massachusetts, November 14, 
1792, and died in Lee, Massachusetts. 
February 11, 1853. He supplemented his 



122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



common school education by a course in 
Williams College, from which institution 
he was graduated in 1813. Having chosen 
the profession of law for his active career, 
he followed the same throughout the ac- 
tive years of his life, and held high rank 
among the members of the legal frater- 
nity in Lee, Massachusetts, whither he 
removed in early manhood. He also took 
an active interest in public affairs, and was 
chosen by his fellow citizens to represent 
them in both houses of the State Legis- 
lature, his tenure of office being noted for 
efficiency and capability. He married 
Mary Ann Quincy, whose death occurred 
on December 2, 1835. Their children were 
as follows : William, of whom further ; 
Samuel Quincy, who was a resident of 
Unionville. Connecticut ; Charlotte, who 
died aged thirteen years ; Mary Weld, 
who married. September 3, 1845, Franklin 
Chamberlin, born April 14, 1821, in Dal- 
ton, Massachusetts, was one of the promi- 
nent lawyers of Hartford, and died there, 
September 10, 1896. 

William Porter, father of Dr. William 
Porter, was born in Lee, Massachusetts, 
January 10, 1820. He acquired a practical 
education by attendance at the common 
schools of his native town, then matricu- 
lated in Williams College, from which in- 
stitution he was graduated in 1839. His 
health having been impaired by years of 
constant study, he took passage on a sail- 
ing vessel bound for Florida, his parents 
deeming that the best way in which to 
recuperate, and he remained in that State 
for seven years, that length of time being 
necessary to accomplish the purpose for 
which he was sent. Later he entered 
Union Theological Seminary in New 
York City, where he pursued a course of 
study in theology, and thereafter made 
that profession his life work. In 1845 ^^ 
accepted the position of Professor of Latin 
in Beloit College, Beloit, Wisconsin, in 



which capacity he served continuously 
for many years, honored and beloved 
by all with whom he was brought in 
contact, lie was a man of scholarly at- 
tainments, great wisdom and genial dis- 
position, and his influence for good was 
far-reaching and beneficial. He married, 
July 13, 1854, Ellen Gertrude, born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, March 15, 1831, 
youngest daughter of Laertes Chapin, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, and a sister of 
President Aaron L. Chapin. of P.eloit Col- 
lege (see Chapin). Their children were 
as follows : William, of whom further ; 
Frank Chamberlin, a professor in Yale 
University, married Delia Lyman, and 
has two sons, Lyman and William 
( )uincy ; James, died in infancy ; Mary 
Quincy, a resident of Beloit, Wisconsin. 

Dr. William Porter was born at Beloit,^ 
W^isconsin, October 16, 1855. His early 
years were spent in his native city, and 
his education was gained by attendance 
at Beloit College. The three years fol- 
lowing the completion of his studies 
were spent in connection with the paper 
mill business in Dalton, Massachusetts, 
whither he removed. He then matricu- 
lated in the Chicago Medical College, 
which is now the medical department of 
the Northwestern University, from which 
he was graduated with the degree of Doc- 
tor of Medicine, in 1882. He then went 
abroad, and for one and a half years pur- 
sued post-graduate work in institutions 
in Paris and Vienna, thus adding materi- 
ally to his previous knowledge and in- 
creasing his efficiency many degrees. 
Upon his return to the United States, he 
chose the city of Hartford. Connecticut, 
as his place of residence, locating there 
in January, 1884. and remaining there 
ever since, the intervening years having 
brought to him large returns for labor 
expended, and a place of prominence in 
the ranks of his professional brethren. 



[23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



also in the esteem of his fellow citizens. 
He is a member of the staff of the Hart- 
ford Hospital, and keeps in touch with 
the leading thoughts and advanced ideas 
along the line of his profession by mem- 
bership in the City, County and State 
Medical societies, and the American Medi- 
cal Association. 

Dr. Porter married, in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, June 2"], 1885, Mrs. Frances 
(Pease) Hall, widow of Ezra Hall, and 
daughter of Edwin T. Pease, one of the 
founders of the Phoenix Fire Insurance 
Company. By her former marriage she 
had two children, Robert and Elizabeth. 
Dr. and Mrs. Porter have one daughter, 
Margaret Chapin. Mrs. Porter is a mem- 
ber of Immanuel Congregational Church, 
of Hartford. 

(The Chapin Line). 

Deacon Samuel Chapin, the progeni- 
tor of the line of the Chapin family 
herein followed, of which Ellen Gertrude 
(Chapin) Porter was a representative, 
located in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
with his family in 1642, and became one 
of the highly esteemed citizens of that 
place. He took an active part in public 
affairs, and on October 10, 1652, was ap- 
pointed one of the magistrates of that 
town. His death occurred November 11, 
1675, and he was survived by his wife, 
Cecily, whose death occurred February 8, 
1683. 

Their son, Jepheth Chapin, was born in 
the year 1642, and died February 30, 1712. 
He was an active participant in the great 
fight at Turner's Falls, May 18, 1676. He 
married (first) July 22, 1664, Abilenah 
Cooley, who died November 17, 1710. He 
married (second) May 31, 1711. Dorothy 
Root, of Enfield, Connecticut. 

Deacon David Chapin. son of Jepheth 
and Abilenah (Cooley) Chapin. was born 
November 16, 1682, and died July 8, 1772. 
He served in the capacity of first clerk of 



Chicopee Parish, and was one of the first 
deacons in that parish. He married (first) 
November 12, 1705, Sarah, daughter of 
Joseph Stebbins. She died February 6, 
1726. He married (second) Mindwell 
Holton, who died October 21, 1758. 

Deacon Edward Chapin, son of Deacon 
David and Sarah (Stebbins) Chapin, was 
born February 16, 1724, and died January 
6, 1800. He married, July 6, 1752, Eunice, 
daughter of William and Mary Colton, of 
Longmeadow. 

Their son, Aaron Chapin, was born 
April 20, 1753, and died December 25, 
1838. During his early manhood days 
he followed the occupation of a cabmet 
maker, in which line of work he was pro- 
ficient, but subsequently changed his line 
of work to that of watch repairer and 
cleaner, in which he was equally expert. 
He served as deacon of the First Congre- 
gational Church in Hartford. He mar- 
ried, September 11, 1777, Mary, daughter 
of Zebulon King, of East Windsor, Con- 
necticut. She died February 21, 1829. 

Their son, Laertes Chapin, was born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, August 21, 1778, 
and died October 30, 1847. He learned 
the trade of cabinet maker under the pre- 
ceptorship of his father, and his entire 
active career was devoted to that line of 
work, first in Hartford and later in East 
Hartford, whither he removed two years 
prior to his death. He was honest and 
straightforward in all his transactions, ac- 
tive and enterprising, faithful in his at- 
tendance on divine service, and was hon- 
ored and esteemed by all in his commu- 
nity. He married (first) November 12, 
1809. Susanna, daughter of Gad Merrick, 
of Franklin, New York. She died Sep- 
tember 9, 181 1. He married (second) 
Laura Colton, of Hartford, Connecticut. 
She died September 18, 1854. Mr. Chapin 
was the father of ten children, and among 
the children of his second wife was Ellen 



124 



r-r;T7 Y"/ .'ji^'^ 

ptV^'^c "library 





^^>>^^ 



^/S-^^^S^^^-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Gertrude, who became the wife of Wil- 
liam Porter, and mother of Dr. William 
Porter, aforementioned. 



WEBSTER, Hon. Morris Catlin, 

Public Official, Legislator. 

lion. Morris Catlin Webster, comp- 
troller of the State of Connecticut, is a 
representative in the eighth generation of 
one of Connecticut's oldest and most 
prominent families. The Webster family 
has furnished to the Nation very many 
men who have won fame as patriots, edu- 
cators, public officials, clergymen, and 
members of the other learned professions 
and in the world of business and finance. 
Probably the most noted member of the 
family was Noah Webster, presumably 
the best known lexicographer of the Eng- 
lish language. 

Many of our English names had their 
origin in the occupation of the family, and 
among these we find Webster, meaning 
weaver. As surnames were not generally 
adopted in England until after the thir- 
teenth century, and as a family of W^eb- 
sters have been traced in Yorkshire as far 
back as the late thirteen hundreds, it will 
be seen that this is one of the oldest of 
English names. Eminent British author- 
ities state that the family is of Scotch 
origin. The English ancestry of the 
American family has not been definitely 
established, but it is supposed that John 
Webster, fifth governor of Connecticut, 
came from the Yorkshire family. Several 
branches of the family are entitled to wear 
coats of armor. 

Savage says that John Webster 
"brought from England his wife Agnes 
and children, Matthew, Robert, Ann 
Elizabeth, and Mary." He came to Hart- 
ford from Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 
1636, and was one of the founders of the 
town. From the beginning he was promi- 



nent and influential. In April, 1637, he 
was a member of the committee that sat 
with the Court of Magistrates to declare 
war against the Pequot Indians. He was 
elected to the General Court the same 
year, and in 1638 was one of the deputy 
commissioners. In April, 1639, he was 
elected to the Court of Magistrates and 
was continued in that office until 1655, 
in which year he became deputy governor, 
and the following year was Governor of 
the State. During the years, 1657-58-59, 
he held the office of first magistrate. He 
served on many important committees 
and performed many useful public serv- 
ices. He served on the committee with 
William Phelps who drafted the criminal 
code that was approved by the General 
Court in 1642. In 1654, with Major-gen- 
eral Mason, he was appointed a member 
of the Congress of the United Colonies. 
Benjamin Trumbull says that Governor 
Webster was one of eleven men out of 
the one hundred and fifty-three original 
settlers of Hartford who were honored 
with the prefix, "Mr." He took an active 
part in the stormy controversy that arose 
in the First Church at Hartford after the 
death of the Rev. Thomas Hooker. He 
was one of the minority that withdrew 
and settled in Iladley. It is the opinion 
of the historian of the church that "the 
weight of right and justice was with the 
defeated and emigrating minority." John 
W'ebster's name appears first on the list 
of settlers from Hartford in the Hadley 
records. He was prominent in the new 
settlement as he had been at Hartford. 
He was appointed as one of the commis- 
sioners with "magistratical" power in 
1660 who held court in Springfield and 
Northampton. He was made a freeman 
in Massachusetts, March 26, 1661. He 
died in Hadley, April 5, 1661, and Noah 
Webster, the great lexicographer, who 
was his direct descendant, placed a tomb- 



i^.S 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPFIY 



stone at his grave in 1818. Governor 
Webster's widow died in 1667. 

Lieutenant Robert Webster, third child 
•of Governor John Webster, was born in 
1627, died May 31, 1676. He located in 
Middletown, where he became a promi- 
nent citizen. He was chosen recorder 
when the town was organized in Septem- 
ber, 165 1. He served as deputy to the 
General Court from September, 1653, to 
May, 1655, again in 1656-57-58. In the 
latter year he returned to Hartford to 
live, and there served on many important 
committees. Savage says he was "on 
service in the War of 1675," and in 1712 
he was paid for military service with 
others whose accounts had been held open 
owing to uncertainty as to the length of 
their service. In 1652 he married Hannah 
Treat, who was born in 1629, at W^ethers- 
field, Connecticut, daughter of Richard 
and Alice (Gaylord) Treat. She died in 

1705- 

Ensign William Webster, son of Lieu- 
tenant Robert Webster, was born July 2. 
i67i,died June, 1722. On May 11, I72i,he 
was "established and confirmed" by the 
General Assembly as ensign of the South 
Side Trainband in Hartford. That he was 
thrifty and industrious is indicated by his 
estate, which was inventoried at £566 5s 
5d. He married, November 28, 1700, 
Sarah, daughter of Cyprian Nichols, of 
Hartford. 

Captain Moses Webster, son of Ensign 
William Webster, was born September 
26, 1706, died December 29, 1797. He set- 
tled in Harwinton, where land was deeded 
to him in 1737. He was first recorded as 
a resident of the town in 1739, and in the 
following year he is mentioned as captain. 
He married, December 6, 1733, Mary, who 
was baptized at Center Church, Hartford, 
April 3, 1709, daughter of John and Mary 
(Webster) Brace. She died September 
14, 1762 or 1764. 

Amos Webster, son of Captain Moses 



Webster, was born July 12, 1740, died 
October 12, 1827. In the Revolution he 
served in the Eighth Regiment under 
Colonel Jedediah Huntington in Captain 
Joel Clark's company from Farmington. 
His term of service was from July 10 to 
December 18, 1775. The regiment was 
stationed on the Sound until September 
14, when it was ordered to the Boston 
camps and became a part of General 
Spencer's brigade at Roxbury. He mar- 
ried, November 19, 1767, Theodosia Bull, 
of Harwinton. She died February 14, 
1817. at Hartford. 

Abijah Webster, son of Amos Webster, 
was born at Harwinton, December 6, 
1783, died March 26, 1855. He was select- 
man of the town for the years iS^6, 1832- 
33, and in the latter year and in 1834 he 
represented the town in the General As- 
sembly. He married, January 20, 1807, 
Olive Rossiter, who was born September 
12, 1785, died April 19, 1863. Among 
their children were twins, Addison and 
Adaline. 

Addison Webster, son of Abijah Web- 
ster, was born April 23, 1819, died De- 
cember 17, 1885. He was for a quarter 
of a century secretary and treasurer of 
the Harwinton Fire Insurance Company, 
of which he was one of the organizers, 
and served as selectman of Harwinton 
about fourteen or fifteen years. He was 
the chief organizer of the Harwinton 
Agricultural Society, of which he was sec- 
retary from its organization until his 
death, and treasurer for many years. He 
also served in the capacities of tax col- 
lector, assessor, grand juror for a number 
of years, and member of the Legislature 
for the year 1857, believing that it was 
the duty of a good citizen to take an active 
part in public aflfairs, thus advancing the 
cause of right and justice. He married 
Ann Maria, daughter of Lewis and Can- 
dice (Catlin) Catlin. 

Hon. Morris Catlin Webster, son of 



126 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Addison and Ann Maria (Catlin) Web- 
ster, was born at Harwinton. Connecticut, 
September 28, 1848. He was educated at 
Winchester Institute, the well known 
military academy, at that time in charge 
of Colonel Ira W. Pettibone. His first 
employment was with Hart, Werriam & 
Company, of Hartford. After six years 
in their employ he went to Milwaukee, 
and engaged in the same line of business, 
carpets and draperies, but shortly after- 
ward he accepted a position with W. & 
J Sloane, of New York City, well known 
importers of carpets and rugs. In 1874 
he engaged in a general merchandise busi- 
ness on his own account at Terryville, 
Connecticut, continuing the same success- 
fully for four years. He then accepted 
the positions of secretary and superin- 
tendent of the Malleable Iron Works at 
New Britain, positions which he held un- 
til 1902, a period of twenty-four years. 
He then became State Building and Loan 
Commissioner, serving from 1901 to 1907, 
and after relinquishing that position he 
devoted his time and attention for some 
time to his Harwinton farm, which was 
conducted for stock breeding purposes. 

From early manhood Mr. Webster has 
taken a keen interest in public affairs and 
has been an active worker in the ranks of 
the Republican party. His first political 
office was as a member of the Common 
Council of New Britain, which he held 
for three years, from 1883 to 1886. He 
was a member of the school board for 
fifteen years, from 1890; served the city 
as mayor during the years 1898-99; in 
1897 he was representative from New 
Britain, and from 191 1 to 1913 he repre- 
sented his district in the General x\ssem- 
bly from Harwinton, and served during 
the latter year as speaker of the House ; 
in 1914 he was elected to his present office 
of comptroller. Mr. Webster's career as 
a public official has been characterized by 



the >ame careful attention to detail, and 
honest straightforward methods that 
have marked the conduct of his personal 
business affairs. From the time he first 
entered public life he has grown in the 
confidence and esteem of his fellow citi- 
zens. 

Mr. Webster married, April 15, 1874, 
Ida Elizabeth Barber, born in Harwinton, 
Connecticut, August 7, 185 1, daughter of 
Orville and Sarah Barber, and a direct 
descendant of Thomas Barber, who was 
born in England in 1614 and was the first 
of the name to come to New England. He 
settled in Windsor, Connecticut, in 1635. 
Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Webster: Walter Barber, born November 
12, 1876, died January 12, 1913; Sarah B., 
born May 28, 1879; Ellen Anna, born July 
24, 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Webster are mem- 
bers of the Congregational church, in 
which body Mr. Webster has held vari- 
ous offices. In the church in New Britain 
he served as superintendent of the Sun- 
day school for fifteen years, and as deacon 
of the church for about ten years. 



HOWARD, Charles Patten, 

Manufacturer, Inventor, Astronomer. 

The man with a "hobby" usually rides 
it to the exclusion of all else and is a man 
unfitted for practical business life. But 
Mr. Howard is a practical, successful busi- 
ness man, an inventor of note, a mountain 
climber of two worlds, yet withal, astron- 
omy is an acknowledged "hobby" and to 
him a source of boundless interest. But 
he has his pursuits all under control and 
classified. Business is his serious interest, 
mountain climbing his recreation, astron- 
omy his hobby. He, however, takes his 
recreation and his hobby seriously and 
has achieved results that entitle him to 
rank with the specialists and profes- 
sionals. His mountain climbing activities 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



are over, but his interest in astronomy 
grows with the years. 

Paternally Mr. Howard descends from 
William Howard, who came from Eng- 
land in 1635, settling at Braintree, Massa- 
chusetts. Maternally he descends from 
Colonel Robert Patton, of Scotch-Irish 
family, who came from Westport, Ire- 
land, to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 
1762, served in the Revolutionary army 
under Washington and Lafayette, was the 
first postmaster of Philadelphia, appointed 
by Washington in 1789, a position he held 
continuously for thirty years. He was an 
original member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati. 

Charles Patton Howard, son of Charles 
F. and Catharine (Patton) Howard, was 
born at Hartford, Connecticut, March 21, 
1853, his father a prominent business 
man of Hartford, one of the founders 
of the firm of James L. Howard & Com- 
pany, manufacturers of railway supplies. 
Charles P. Howard was educated in Hart- 
ford public schools and was graduated 
from high school with the class of 1869. 
He then spent one year in Colt's Armory 
under the instruction of the superintend- 
ent, after which he entered Massachu- 
setts Institute of Technology in Boston. 
There he pursued a course in civil engi- 
neering and was graduated, class of 1874. 
After completing his technical study Mr. 
Howard returned to Hartford, there be- 
coming assistant to the superintendent of 
the firm of James L. Howard & Company, 
then an important firm, now one of the 
largest concerns in the East, manufactur- 
ing railway supplies. In 1877 Mr. How- 
ard was elected secretary of the company, 
vice-president in 1905, and in 1907 was 
chosen to fill the president's chair left 
vacant by the death of James L. Howard. 
For the past eight years he has been the 
able executive head to the company with 
which he has been officially connected for 



forty years. A trained engineer and 
brought into such intimate relation with 
railway needs, Mr. Howard has given a 
great deal of time to improving appli- 
ances in railway use and in the invention 
of devices to perform certain service. In 
all he has perfected and patented about 
twenty inventions that have found ready 
adoption, many of them now being manu- 
factured by James L. Howard & Com- 
pany. 

Mention has been made of Mr. How- 
ard's fondness for mountain climbing, and 
in "Lippincott's Magazine" for Septem- 
ber, 1879, may be found an account of 
one of his adventures in the Alps, his 
ascent of the Matterhorn in 1877, when 
he reached an altitude of fourteen thou- 
sand eight hundred feet. In that same 
year he climbed two other of the princi- 
pal Alpine peaks, the Breithorn near Zer- 
malt (13,700 feet), and Mont Blanc (15,- 
800 feet). He has several times ascended 
the peaks of the White and Adirondack 
mountains, and in 1889 climbed Mount 
Sneffles, the sharpest of Colorado moun- 
tain peaks. He also visited the cliff dwell- 
ing in the Mancos Canyon, his being the 
second party of white men to explore the 
principal ruin, Cliff Palace, discovered the 
previous winter by their guide. In 1896 
he again climbed Mount Sneffles. He also 
ascended Uncompaghre Peak (14,400 
feet). 

From his father he inherited his tastes 
for astronomy and the theory and con- 
struction of telescopes. Charles F. How- 
ard, after using a small telescope for years, 
became so aroused by the appearance of 
Donati's Comet in 1858 that he purchased 
a four and one-fourth Fitz telescope. 
This telescope served his son until 1880, 
when he replaced it in his private observa- 
tory by one of the most perfect telescopes 
in existence, an Alvan Clark, having an 
object glass nine and one-half inches in 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



clear aperture. Mr. Howard carried his 
interest so far that evenings and hoHdays 
for five years, 1880-85, he spent in con- 
structing a three and one-half inch tele- 
scope object glass, doing all the work him- 
self. He finally learned the art, overcame 
the many difficulties in his way and 
brought this object glass to such perfec- 
tion that when rigidly tested no error 
could be found in it. Only an expert can 
realize the extreme difficulty of working 
an object glass to such a high degree of 
perfection. In 1886 he began and in 1889 
finished a four and one-half inch object 
glass of entirely different form. That 
glass was tested by Mr. Alvan G. Clark 
who pronounced it, but not in Mr. How- 
ard's hearing: "The best object glass I 
ever tested, that we did not make our- 
selves." His next ambitious work was a 
seven-inch object glass on which he failed, 
but that was simply a setback, not a dis- 
couragement. In 1903 he completed an- 
other seven-inch object glass which was 
a success, only a few telescope makers in 
the world being able to produce an object 
glass so perfect. With it on May 12, 1903, 
he saw distinctly and steadily three canals 
on Mars, Ulysses, Gorgon and Brontes. 
On February 5, 1904, the Companion of 
vSirius was steadily and distinctly seen at 
a distance of only six and a half seconds 
from Sirius. These observations of diffi- 
cult objects prove the extreme accuracy 
of the object glass, that concentrates all 
the light that enters it from a star within 
a small circle at the focus but three ten- 
thousandths of an inch in diameter. In 
1905, having waited two years for the de- 
sired quality of glass to be produced by 
the manufacturers, Mr. Howard obtained 
from Jena, Germany, two discs of glass 
for a twelve-inch objective. He had made 
all the necessary calculations to deter- 
mine its form, but the labor of construct- 
ing it proved too great for an amateur 

Conn— 2— 9 1 29 



and he had Alvan Clark & Sons complete 
it. 

Mr. Howard in 1900 accompanied Presi- 
dent Luther of Trinity College to Win- 
ton, North Carolina, to observe the total 
eclipse of the sun, May 28. Using a two- 
inch telescope magnifying eighteen di- 
ameters and having a field of view of two 
and one-half degrees, he had one of the 
most remarkable views of the sun's corona 
on record. Several of the objects seen by 
him with perfect ease and steadiness 
standing out from the sun's limb were 
not seen at previous eclipses. -In "Popu- 
lar Astronomy," December, 1900, a full 
description of his observations was pub- 
lished, also an illustrated pamphlet was 
sent to many astronomers, hoping that 
some of them going to Sumatra in Janu- 
ary, 1901, to observe the sun's eclipse, 
would use a similar instrument. 

In 1905 he observed a total eclipse of 
the sun at Burgos, Spain, in company with 
Professor Charles S. Hastings of Yale 
University, both using similar telescopes 
of about three inches in diameter with 
magnifying power of twenty and field 
view of two and one-quarter degrees. 
Comparing notes as they stood at their 
telescopes, the instant the eclipse was 
over, it was found that both had seen the 
corona exactly alike. They distinctly saw 
it to be a filamentous structure completely 
surrounding the sun as far out as the three 
radii. To this extent the observations 
taken by Mr. Howard in 1900 were con- 
firmed, but the other objects seen clearly 
then were absent. "Popular Astronomy" 
for December, 1905, published an account 
of these last observations. 

In "Popular Science Monthly," Decem- 
ber, 1885, is an article by Mr. Howard on 
the "Refracting Telescope ;" in the "As- 
tronomical Journal," February 14, 1891, is 
an article on the "Orbit of the Companion 
of Sirius," and in "Astronomy and As- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



trophysics," June, 1894, his article on "A 
(iraphical Method of Determining the 
Apparent Orbits of Binary Stars." So 
the hobby he has ridden so industriously 
is not a hobby at all, but the scientific 
pursuit of a gentleman who likes to work 
with his own tools. He is a member of 
the American Society of Mechanical En- 
gineers, American Society for Advance- 
ment of Science, National Geographical 
Society of Washington, and the Hartford 
Golf Club. 



MALONEY, Cornelius. 

Journalist. 

Journalism has ever called into tlie 
circle of her followers the brightest minds 
and the most gifted sons of the nation. 
The naturally keen intellect is sharpened 
by its contact with others as brilliant, 
and gains thereby an added strength and 
power. The most careful analysis, closest 
reasoning and logical thought processes 
are brought into play, and the journalist 
of ability, by reason of his strong in- 
tellectuality, rises above the ranks of the 
many to become a leader in thought and 
action, his influence extending throughout 
the world. The late Cornelius Maloney. 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, was a man of 
this stamp. 

Mr. Maloney was born May 18, 1853. at 
New Britain, Connecticut, a son of Patrick 
and Margaret (Loughery) Maloney. of 
that place. At a very early age Cornelius 
Maloney showed an aptitude for the pro- 
fession which afterward was to be his life 
work. The opportunities for adequate 
schooling were practically none at that 
time, and Cornelius Maloney was able to 
avail himself of very few of those that 
did exist. He attended a private school 
for a short time, and then went to the 
public schools for another brief period, 
but when only ten years of age he left his 
studies and was apprenticed to the firm of 



Oviatt & Guernsey to learn the printing 
trade. Mr. Maloney thus made his en- 
trance upon the career that was to lead 
him to the top of the journalistic profes- 
sion in his State and to a place of such 
prominence that he was universally re- 
garded as one of the most influential citi- 
zens of Connecticut. He received a most 
ample training in a school of printing now 
rather antiquated, in which he learned to 
do by hand many of the operations now 
performed by machinery, but which gave 
him a very thorough mastery of his new 
trade. He remained for a time in this 
employment and then secured a position 
on the "New Britain Record,'' and here 
received his preliminary training in news- 
paper work proper. He was of an ex- 
tremely enterprising nature, and it soon 
became an ambition with him to engage 
in a newspaper venture on his own ac- 
count. It was a venture to make most men 
pause, but Cornelius Maloney was a man 
of great courage and self confidence, and 
the year 1878 saw the establishment of 
the "New Britain Times," the first paper 
published by a native of the State. The 
"Times" was successful, and Mr. Maloney 
continued its publication for some years. 
In 1 88 1, however, he removed to \\'ater- 
bury, Connecticut, and there opened an 
office on South Main street, where he and 
his brother, under the firm name of C. and 
]\I. T. Maloney. ran a general printing 
business with much success for some 
years. A little later the "Valley Demo- 
crat" appeared. For the six years follow- 
ing this first attempt in Waterbury, Mr. 
Maloney and his younger brother, Michael 
Maloney. had many difficulties to over- 
come, and they had little rest from labor, 
for truly the efifort to break into a region 
in which they were almost totally un- 
known was no light one. Little by little, 
however, the real merit of their publica- 
tion won its way into the regard of the 



130 





^^^c;^-<-«^ f ly/(j3.Jh»^^C'*^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



people, and on December 5, 1887, the 
"Waterbury Evening Democrat" made 
its first appearance. The new sheet was 
a daily from the outset and was instantly 
successful. It grew rapidly, but the 
younger Mr. Maloney died before its 
greatest success had been attained and 
Cornelius Maloney carried on the project 
alone. As has already been stated, the 
"Waterbury Evening Democrat" became 
before the death of its founder one of the 
strongest and most influential papers in 
that region of the country, a paper con- 
taining the best elements of popularity, a 
champion of the people and the rights of 
the people. 

So effective was the campaign waged 
by the "Democrat" and Mr. Maloney, its 
gifted editor, for the cause of democracy 
and the Democratic party, that he was 
generally regarded as one of its leaders in 
Connecticut, and many offers of impor- 
tant nominations were tendered him. All 
these, however, were consistently refused 
by Mr. 2^Ialoney with the exception of one 
for the General Assembly. It is an elo- 
quent tribute to the position held by Mr. 
Maloney in the popular affection, that it 
was due to the flocking of the popular 
votes to the Democratic ticket on which 
he was running that won him the elec- 
tion. Mr. Maloney was a conspicuous 
figure in the social and fraternal world of 
Waterbury, and belonged to many im- 
portant organizations, holding a promi- 
nent place in all. He was the first grand 
knight of Sheridan Council, Knights of 
Columbus ; a member of St. Joseph's 
Temperance Association, and was also an 
of^cer in the Ancient Order of Hibernians 
and the Irish National Land League. In 
the matter of religion Mr. Maloney was 
of the Catholic faith, his forbears having 
held this from the beginning. Even as it 
descended from them to him, it was his 
pride and satisfaction to hand it on to his 
own children. He was the possessor of 



a ver) good voice, and sang at various 
times in the choirs of the churches of the 
Immaculate Conception, the Sacred Heart 
and St. Patrick. Mr. Maloney was not 
only well known but most highly honored 
in the community, as much for his virtu- 
ous and manly private life as for the en- 
ergy and courage with which he spoke his 
principles and pressed his policies in his 
paper. 

Mr. Maloney married, at Litchfield. 
Connecticut, November 17, 1886, Mary 
Quigley, daughter of Felix and Mary 
( Herbert) Quigley, of that town, where 
she was born. To Mr. and Mrs. Maloney 
six children were born, as follows : Ed- 
ward Vincent, mentioned below; Angela 
A.; Margaret M.; Catherine A. ; Joseph, 
died in infancy ; and Cornelius Francis. 

The death of Mr. Maloney occurred 
January 5, 1914, as the result of an ac- 
cident, and was deeply deplored. The 
State and community had benefited 
through his presence and mourned greatly 
the loss of so great but unassuming a 
character. His career had been one of 
marked success and his public spirit and 
his efforts in behalf of the upbuilding of 
many worthy enterprises were widely 
recognized. 

Edward V^incent Maloney, eldest son of 
Cornelius and Mary (Quigley) Maloney. 
was born October 23, 1888, in Waterbury. 
Though his father had never enjoyed 
many educational advantages in his own 
youth, he was a man who had won a great 
education by his own efforts and who 
thoroughly appreciated the advantages of 
schooling. The son was. therefore, sent 
to the local schools for the rudimentary 
portion of his education, and after gradu- 
ating from high school in 1907. attended 
Holy Cross College. Worcester. Massa- 
setts. from which in turn he graduated with 
the class of 191 1. He had early exhibited 
his father's talent as a writer, and upon 
concluding his studies was taken by his 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father on the staff of the "Democrat" as 
associate editor, in which position he re- 
lieved him of some of the burdens he had 
borne single handed for years. On the 
death of his father he became editor-in- 
chief and general manager of the paper, 
a large enterprise for his years (twenty- 
six) and experience. However, undaunted 
the young man undertook the great task 
without a fear and has made good since 
the start. The circulation and general 
prestige of the "Democrat" continued to 
increase under his management, and he 
erected a large five-story building on the 
corner of Grand and Canal streets for the 
accommodation of the paper which had 
long since outgrown its present quarters. 
This building, which completed, is one of 
the finest newspaper offices in Connec- 
ticut, was ready for occupancy Janu- 
ary I, 1917. Mr. Maloney is a Catholic 
in religion, a Democrat in politics, and 
takes an active part in the general life of 
the community. He is conspicuous, like 
his father before him, in fraternal circles, 
and deeply interested in politics, although 
not actively engaged in the same other 
than for the general good of the commu- 
nity and standing of the paper. The 
younger Mr. Maloney sees a great future 
for the "Democrat" in Waterbury and. 
like his father, is undaunted by any trials 
and tribulations which accompany the 
building up of such an enterprise as the 
"Democrat" is fast moulding itself into. 
On the paper three other members of 
the family are actively engaged. Angela 
A., assistant editor and special writer ; 
Catherine A., bookkeeper and secretary in 
the business department ; and Cornelius 
Francis, a member of the reportorial staff. 
Like father, like sons and daughters, the 
inheritance for the newspaper profession 
with all its trials, but none the less fas- 
cinating for all of that, has been handed 
down and will continue to remain in the 
family. 



GRIGGS, Robert Foote, 

Man of Affairs. 

The business world, just as the world 
of public affairs, has its prominent figures 
which represent epochs or tendencies in 
the history of its development, which are 
looked up to by the rank and file as its 
leaders and honored as its champions. 
The Griggs family of Connecticut has 
given more than one such figure to the 
business development of the State, such 
a figure as that of Henry Charles Griggs 
of a generation past, and Robert Foote 
Griggs of the present time, upon whom 
has fallen the mantle of his able father. 

The Griggs family, of which Mr. Griggs 
is the present representative, is one of the 
oldest in New England and was founded 
in this country by one Thomas Griggs, 
who was born in England, either in the 
latter part of the sixteenth or the early 
part of the seventeenth century, sailed to 
the American Colonies and settled at Rox- 
bupy, Massachusetts, as early as 1639. He 
brought with him his wife and their two 
children, John and Joseph. He seems to 
have been a man of considerable promi- 
nence in the colony and owned a tract of 
land at Muddy River which was then the 
name of what is now Brookline. He lived 
but a few years after his arrival in this 
country, his death occurring June 23, 
1646. His second son, Joseph, was th*^ 
ancestor of that branch of the Griggs fam- 
ily which we are considering, and from 
this Joseph the line runs through Ichabod 
(i).Ichabod (2), Joshua, Roswell, Charles 
and Henry Charles, who was the father 
of Robert Foote, who is thus of the ninth 
generation from the emigrant ancestor. 
Many of these, his forebears, were promi- 
nent men in their various communities, 
and through their marriage the Griggs 
family is connected with many of the most 
distinguished names in New England his- 
tory. 



[32 



THE r::'7 vQi^K 
PUPL^C LIBRARY 



liLD^ij re .•:, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Charles Griggs, the grandfather of the 
Mr. Griggs of this sketch, was a son of Ros- 
well and Sarah (Dunham) Griggs, and 
was born April 14, 1799, at Totland, Con- 
necticut. As a young man he made his 
home in the village of South Windsor, 
Connecticut, and in 1845 removed to 
Waterbury. He was married, in 1830, to 
Frances Catherine Drake, and Henry 
Charles Griggs was the third of the five 
children born to them. 

Henry Charles Griggs was one of the 
prominent figures of the Connecticut fi- 
nancial and industrial world during the 
middle portion of the nineteenth century. 
His birth occurred at Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, December 18, 1843, ^^^ ^e went 
with his father to Waterbury- at the age 
of eleven years. He attended school in 
both of these places and completed his 
study when only fourteen years of age. 
He then became a clerk in the employ of 
the Waterbury Hook & Eye Company. 
He rapidly advanced in rank and in 1816 
was offered the management of the 
Waterbury Button Company, which he 
accepted. In this capacity he made so 
great a reputation as a business man that 
he attracted the attention of the large 
concerns in that region and might have 
associated himself with a number of them 
had he so desired. It was always his 
nature, however, to be entirely independ- 
ent, and in 1864 he formed the partner- 
ship with John T. Smith for the manu- 
facture of brass goods. Some time later 
Mr. Griggs became associated with the 
firm of Israel Holmes & Son, and the two 
concerns united their forces and there- 
after their business was conducted under 
the style of Holmes, Griggs & Smith. 
This new firm became the owner of a 
large brass mill in New York and con- 
tinued that and the brass business already 
worked up by Griggs & Smith at Hope- 
ville, Connecticut. This association did not 



last, however, for a great length of time 
rnd the firm was dissolved in 1869, two 
companies being then formed, the Holmes 
& Griggs Manufacturing Company of 
New York and the Smith & Griggs Manu- 
facturing Company of Waterbury. The 
latter company, which was incorporated 
June 5, 1869. had a capital stock of forty 
thousand dollars, held by John E. Smith, 
Henry Charles Griggs, Elizur D. Griggs 
and Charles E. L. Smith. John E. Smith 
was the president of the concern and Mr. 
Griggs its secretary and treasurer. After 
a number of years and very prosperous 
business, the latter resigned in 1875 ^ind 
some time afterwards established a button 
factory on Division street, Waterbury. It 
was not only in the industrial world, how- 
ever in which Mr. Griggs was prominent 
in the Waterbury region. He invested 
very extensively in real estate in that city 
as he realized that with its rapid develop- 
ment there could be no better investment 
than in property there. He was also as- 
sociated with a number of important fi- 
nancial institutions and was president of 
the Dime Savings Bank and a director of 
the Waterbury National Bank of that 
city. He also was prominent in the politi- 
cal affairs of the place and was connected 
with a number of important charitable 
institutions. He was married on October 
9, 1862, to Mary Bassett Foote and they 
were the parents of eight children as fol- 
lows: I. Henry Foote, born November 
17, 1863, died in early infancy. 2. Charles 
Jared, born November 28, 1864, died May 
24, 1905 ; a graduate of Yale University 
in both the academic and law depart- 
ments ; married, June 25, 1895, Elizabeth 
H. Bowers. 3. Wilfred Elizur, born May 
2, 1866; a graduate of the Sheffield Scien- 
tific School of Yale University, and of 
Columbia University in its architectural 
course ; married, at Paris, France, Flora 
Victoria Hartley. 4. Robert Foote, of 



133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



whom further. 5. Mary Rebecca, born 
May 16, 1870, died January 12, 1878. 6. 
David Cullen, a sketch of whom follows 
in this work. 7-8. Grace and Catherine, 
twins, born August i, 1873; both died in 
early infancy. 

Born February 22, 1868, in Waterbury, 
Connecticut, Robert Foote Griggs made 
that city his home during his entire life. 
He was educated in private and public 
schools of the city and later went to the 
Williston Seminary at East Hampton, 
Massachusetts. He finally entered Yale 
University but did not complete his course 
in that institution, leaving after his sopho- 
more year to accept an excellent position 
oflfered him in the Fourth National Bank 
of Waterbury. Two years later he ac- 
cepted a position as bookkeeper for the 
A/^aterbury Malleable Iron Company and 
the following year, in 1893, became secre- 
tary and director of the Mathews Woolen 
Company and Willard Manufacturing 
Company. In 1903 Mr. Griggs established 
his present business in investments, secur- 
ities and brokerage which has become one 
of the most important factors in this de- 
partment of the business world in that 
region. Besides this important enterprise, 
Mr. Griggs is connected with a very large 
number of important concerns in and 
about Waterbur}', both financial and in- 
dustrial. Among these should be men- 
ioned the Waterbury Savings Bank, of 
>vhich he is the vice-president and a direc- 
tor, and the Colonial Trust Company, of 
which he is also a director and a member 
of the executive committee. He is a di- 
rector of the American Mills Company, 
of the Waterbury Buckle Company, of 
the Smith & Griggs Company, the Water- 
bury Gas Light Company and many 
others. Nor does Waterbury and its 
vicinity bound Mr. Griggs' industrial ac- 
tivities. He is also a director of Mitchel 
Vance & Companv. of New York City, 



and of Clark Brothers Bolt Company, of 
Milldale, Connecticut. 

It would seem that one interested in so 
many various enterprises in the business 
world would scarcely find time to devote 
his attention to any other considerations, 
yet such is not the case with Mr. Griggs, 
who has never failed since his early youth 
to interest himself in the general life of 
the community. In politics he is a Re- 
publican and although he has never al- 
lowed his name to be used as a party 
candidate, he is nevertheless considered 
a factor in public affairs there. In re- 
ligion he is affiliated with the Episcopal 
church and is a member of St. John's 
Parish in Waterbury. He is also the 
secretary and a member of the board of 
trustees of St. Margaret School in Water- 
bury and a member of the board of direc- 
tors of the Waterbury Visiting Nurses 
Association. He is also a conspicuous 
figure in the social and club life of the 
city as well as being affiliated with a num- 
ber of prominent New York City clubs. 
He was the president of the Waterbury 
Club for two years and a member of the 
Union League Club and Yale Club of 
New York City. Among other associ- 
ations with which Mr. Griggs is con- 
nected should be mentioned the Masonic 
order, the Society of Colonial Wars and 
the American Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution. 

Mr. Griggs has been twice married, the 
first time on April 11, 1893, to Charlotte 
Hamilton Branch, of Savannah, Georgia. 
One child was born of this union, who 
died at the age of nineteen months. Mrs. 
Griggs died in May, 1897. On February 
4, 1902, Mr. Griggs was married to Caro- 
line Haring White, a daughter of George 
L. White, of Waterbury. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Griggs two children have been born : 
Caroline White, December i, 1906, and 
Robert Foote, Jr.. June 27, 1908. 

34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Griggs is a splendid specimen of 
the strong and simple character, so typ- 
ical of New England, the union of the 
idealist and the practical man of aftairs, 
so valuable in any community where he 
appears. This combination of character- 
istics is admirably exemplified in his busi- 
ness life. He is known to be entirely 
practical in the conduct of the great in- 
terests that are intrusted to his care, and 
never to contemplate anything which was 
incompatible with the pecuniary success 
of the operations, yet merely to win for 
himself and associates large dividends, 
was by no means his object, but rather 
to make the great establishments a type 
of a model American industry. His char- 
ities and philanthropies are large and 
varied, more so, indeed, than even his 
connection with public benevolence would 
suggest. Toward the community as a 
whole he is ever moved to some generous 
and public spirited deed, and that in spite 
of an instinctive shrinking from appear- 
ing publicly. He is indeed devoted to the 
society of his friends, and finds his chief 
pleasure in the intimate intercourse of the 
household and home. He possesses all 
the domestic virtues and is an unusually 
devoted husband and father. 



GRIGGS, David Cullen, 

Manufacturer, Public Official. 

David Cullen Griggs is a descendant in 
the ninth generation of the pioneer ances- 
tor. He was born at W'aterbury, Con- 
necticut. June 30, 1871, son of Henry 
Charles and Mary Bassett (Foote) 
Griggs, his father having been one of the 
most prominent citizen? of W'aterbury 
during his life, and active in practically 
every important movement in the city. 
The education of David C. Griggs was 
begun in the private school of Miss Kath- 
arine A. Pritchard at Waterbury, con- 



tinued in the public schools of his native 
city, and later he entered the Sheffield 
Scientific School of Yale University, 
graduating therefrom with the class of 
1892. After his graduation he entered 
the employ of the Berlin Iron Bridge 
Company, of East Berlin, Connecticut, as 
draughtsman. In February, 1893, ^^ se- 
cured a similar position with the Water- 
bury Farrell Foundry and Machine Com- 
panv. He was employed for a time in 
the engineering department, then in the 
commercial department, and is now a di- 
rector and secretary of the concern. He 
has served two terms in the board of edu- 
cation. He is a member of the local lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Waterbury Club, the Waterbury Country 
Club and the Graduates' Club of New 
Haven. He and the members of his fam- 
ilv attend St. John's Protestant Episcopal 
Church of Waterbury. 

Mr. Griggs married, June 6, 1904, at 
Waterbury. Helen Trowbridge Williams, 
a native of that city, born May 6, 1875. a 
daughter of Samuel P. and Ella (Rice) 
Williams, who for many years have made 
their home in that city. Mr. Williams 
was a native of Litchfield. Connecticut, 
and was active in the real estate, loan and 
insurance businesses. Mr. and Mrs. 
Griggs are the parents of two children: 
Henry Charles, born January 2", 1907, 
and Eleanor Rice, born August 3, 191 1. 



CAMPBELL, James Noel Howard, 

Laxryer, Man of Affairs. 

A member of the Hartford county bar 
since 1906, James N. H. Campbell has 
I)racticed law for a few years, and then 
given up the practice of the profession for 
pctive business as a broker. He is a 
worthy successor in public favor to his 
honored father. Dr. James Campbell, who, 
from 1874 until his death in 1899 was one 
of Hartford's leading physicians. 



135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. James Campbell, fourth in his direct 
line to bear the name James, was of the 
sixth American generation of the family 
founded by William Campbell, of Scotch 
ancestry, who came from the North of 
Ireland about 1718 with the Scotch-Irish 
settlers of New Hampshire and Massa- 
chusetts. William Campbell is of record 
in Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1719, 
and also lived in Boston. The line of de- 
scent follows through his son, James (i) 
Campbell ; his son, James (2) Campbell ; 
his son, Benjamin Campbell ; his son, 
James (3) Campbell ; his son, James (4) 
Campbell, M. D. ; his son, James Noel 
Howard Campbell, of the seventh gener- 
ation. 

Dr. James (4) Campbell was born at 
Manchester, Connecticut, March 14, 1848. 
died at Hartford, October 17, 1899. He 
attended Manchester public schools, se- 
curing his medical education at the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons, New 
York City, and at the University of Ver- 
mont. At the age of twenty-three years 
he began medical practice in the State 
of Minnesota, but later resumed medical 
study, his preparation including a year 
and a half course in the hospitals and 
clinics of Berlin, Prague and Vienna. In 
1874 he located in the city of Hartford, 
there continuing a prominent practice un- 
til his death, a quarter of a century later. 

Those twenty-five years were fruitful 
ones for Dr. Campbell, and years of bene- 
fit to the city of his adoption. Fifteen of 
them were spent at the head of the city 
board of health as president, thirteen of 
them, 1886-99, he was a professor of Yale 
Medical School ; for many years he was 
a member of the medical staflf of Hart- 
ford Hospital, and all this was in addition 
to the demands of a large private practice. 
He was elected professor at Yale in 1886, 
serving with ability and acceptability un- 
til his resignation in 1899. In 1891 he was 



awarded the honorary degree, Master of 
Arts, by Yale University, and when he 
retired the Yale Corporation awarded him 
an official vote of thanks for his long and 
excellent service, also expressing their 
regret that he felt obliged to withdraw 
from a position they felt he adorned. 
They did not accept his resignation, but 
until his death he remained a member of 
the faculty of the Medical School. His 
connection with the City Board of Health 
was most beneficial to the city, and to his 
eflforts and good judgment the present 
intercepting sewer is due. He devoted a 
great deal of time to sanitary improve- 
ment, and under his executive manage- 
ment the Hartford Board of Health be- 
came an important department of the city 
government. He was an honored member 
of the medical societies of Hartford, Hart- 
ford County, Connecticut State and the 
American Medical Association, the liter- 
ature of these bodies being enriched by 
contributions from his able pen. For two 
years he was medical director of the ^tna 
Life Insurance Company, and a medical 
examiner. He held membership in the 
Association of Medical Directors of Life 
Insurance Companies of the United States 
and Canada, and the New York Academy 
of Medicine. He had also numerous and 
weighty business interests. 

Dr. Campbell held all degrees of York 
Rite and Scottish Rite Masonry up to and 
including the thirty-second ; was a Knight 
of Pythias, and an Odd Fellow : belonged 
to the Hartford Club, the Church Club of 
the Episcopal Diocese, and to the Connec- 
ticut Society, Sons of the American Revo- 
lution. 

In a quiet, unostentatious way he did a great 
deal of good. He gave fully of his time and skill 
among the families of the poor. He took pleasure 
in assisting various young men in getting a liberal 
education. He was generous to the extent of his 
means. His kindly ways and magnetic personality 
drew to him many friends and made him espe- 
cially loved in the family. 



136 



Ti:'-. II -V' YORK 
PiJBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOn, LC-'OX 
iTILDEN rCJi.D. T-iONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPin' 



Dr. Campbell married, October 15, 1874, 
Mary Cornelia Pettibone, born at Hart- 
ford, February 18, 1846, died there in Sep- 
tember, 1907. Children: James Malcolm, 
died in infancy; James N. H., mentioned 
below; Grace, born October, 1884, died 
in July, 1906. 

James Noel Howard Campbell was born 
at Hartford, December 25, 1881. His ele- 
mentary, intermediate and preparatory 
education was obtained in Hartford public 
schools, finishing at high school, gradu- 
ating in 1899. Me then entered the clas- 
sical department of Yale University, 
whence he was graduated with the Bache- 
lor's degree, class of 1903. He chose the 
legal profession, and from Yale Law 
School received his degree LL. B., class 
of 1906. In June, 1906, he was admitted 
to the Hartford county bar, began prac- 
tice in Hartford, and practiced several 
}'ears, retiring to go into active business. 
He is a director of the Colonial National 
r>ank ; for several years was a member of 
the brokerage firm of H. K. Taylor & 
Company, afterwards becoming a member 
of the firm of Campbell & Hawley, and is 
highly regarded by legal and business as- 
sociates. Mr. Campbell is the present 
secretary of the Hartford Stock Exchange, 
a position he has held since 1915. 

An ardent Republican, he is recognized 
as one of the leaders of his party in Hart- 
ford, and has rendered the city valued 
service in Common Council, representing 
his ward four terms in that body. For 
several years he has been president of the 
Landlords and Taxpayers Association ; 
was a member of the high school com- 
mittee for one year, and is the present 
chairman of the Republican Town Com- 
mittee. His church affiliation is with 
Asylum Avenue Congregational. 

Mr. Campbell is a member of the vari- 
ous Masonic bodies of Hartford ; Saint 
John's Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons ; 



Pythagoras Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; Sphinx Temple. Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, and Consistory of the An- 
cient Accepted Scottish Rite. His college 
fraternity is the Phi Gamma Delta. His 
clubs the Hartford, Country, Republican, 
Golf. University, Yacht, Automobile and 
City. 

He married. May i, 1907. Marion Judith 
Moulton, of Hartford, daughter of Frank 
P. and Rachel (White) Moulton, of 
Maine. Children : James Howard Moul- 
ton, born February 6, 1908 ; Judith, Octo- 
ber, 1910; Malcolm Griswold. March, 
1912; Esther, October, 1914. 



PHILLIPS, Ebenezer Sanborn, 

Business Man, Prominent Freemason. 

The honors of Freemasonry, unlike the 
rain from Heaven, fall not upon all alike 
but upon the worker alone. Particularly 
is this true of the thirty-third degree, that 
highest of all degrees of the Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite, which is conferred 
solely for "meritorious service" rendered 
the order. It is a degree to which "few 
are chosen," one which may not be applied 
for and its bestowal is the highest mark 
of honor and appreciation the order can 
bestow. Consequently, when in 1904 that 
exalted degree was conferred upon Eben- 
ezer Sanborn Phillips, of Bridgeport, it 
was in recognition of the high value 
placed upon his long years of service in 
all bodies of the York and Scottish rites 
in Bridgeport. His particular service has 
been of a financial and secretarial char- 
acter as member of the finance committee, 
and treasurer and secretary of many of 
the bodies of both rites. Such service is 
not as spectacular nor public as that per- 
formed by others, but none the less valu- 
able, in fact the quiet, retiring secretary 
is the dynamo who supplies the force that 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



drives the machinery of the whole order. 
Mr. Phillips, in addition to the personal 
service rendered, has delved deep into the 
"mysteries," has gathered a famous libra- 
ry, not alone of Masonic interest, and is 
a member of that greatest of all Masonic 
literary societies, the Lodge of Research 
of Leicester, England. As a business man 
he has been connected with Bridgeport 
aitairs for more than half a century as 
employee and owner and to the business 
of Luddington & Company, which he pur- 
chased in 1893, he has given and still 
gives close personal attention. His life, 
now in its evening, has been one of un- 
selfish usefulness and a retrospective view 
can bring him nothing but satisfaction. 

Mr. Phillips traces paternal descent 
from Nicholas Phillips, born in England, 
who settled in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1636. Later he moved to Wey- 
mouth, where he was a deacon of the 
church. He was succeeded by his son, 
Richard Phillips, who was made a free- 
man of Weymouth in 1678, and he, by his 
youngest son. Captain John Phillips, who 
settled in Easton, Massachusetts, was a 
prominent town official, captain of the 
first military company in that town, 
served in the expedition to Canada in 
1690, and forty years later, on account of 
that service, received a grant of shares in 
Huntstown. later Ashfield. Massachu- 
setts, where his son Thomas was one of 
the first settlers. 

Captain John Phillips was succeeded by 
his son, Joshua Phillips, a member of the 
rCaston Church in 1747, member of the 
committee on correspondence at Easton 
in 1776, and there died in 1792, aged 
eighty-seven years. The line of descent 
is through his son, Oliver Phillips, who 
resided in Easton until 1790, then moved 
to Vermont and died at Newfane, Octo- 
ber 5, 1836. He was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution, marching from Easton on the Lex- 



ington Alarm and rendering later military 
service. Nathan Phillips, son of Oliver 
Phillips, the Revolutionary soldier, was 
born in Easton, Massachusetts, April i, 
1787, and accompanied his father to New- 
fane, Vermont, where he was a substan- 
tial farmer. His son, Adin M. Phillips, 
born in Newfane, Vermont, February 6, 
1816, died November 12, 1902. He was a 
farmer of Nevv fane until his marriage in 
1840, when he purchased a farm at Straf- 
ford, Vermont, upon which he resided un- 
til 1869. He then moved to Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, there engaging in the lumber 
lousiness. He married, September 16, 
1840. Rebecca Sanborn, daughter of 
Ebenezer H. Sanborn, of Epsom, Ver- 
mont ; they the parents of an only son. 
Ebenezer Sanborn Phillips, to whom this 
review is inscribed. 

Ebenezer Sanborn Phillips was born in 
Newfane, Vermont, January 13, 1842. His 
early life was spent at the home farm in 
Strafiford. V^ermont, his education ac- 
quired in the public school. In 1863, at 
the age of twenty-two, he located in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, which city has 
since been his home. For five years he 
was in railroad employ, then for ten years 
was a lumber salesman associated with 
S. C. Nickerson & Company. The follow- 
ing six years he filled a similar position 
with Charles H. Hawley & Company, 
after which he entered the employ of 
Wheeler & Howes, coal merchants, as 
bookkeeper. He remained with Wheeler 
&: Howes for ten years, resigning in 1893 
to engage in business for himself. The 
years had developed a careful, painstak- 
ing, capable business man, highly re- 
garded by his employers and their cus- 
tomers. His attention to detail was a 
strong feature of his work, and in all his 
dealing uprightness and integrity distin- 
guished him. 

In 1893 Mr. Phillips purchased the 



138 



I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



business of Luddington c^ Company, 
truckmen, and to that business has since 
devoted himself with marked success. He 
won the confidence of shippers and mer- 
chants by his careful attention to the vari- 
ous details of a rather complicated busi- 
ness, and once that was gained orders for 
handling shipments, both incoming and 
outgoing, flowed freely in. Although the 
years have left their mark he claims no 
exemption, but each day sees him at his 
office and there or at various shipping 
centres his day is passed. 

Mr. Phillips has attained all degrees of 
both York and Scottish rites. He is a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and a member of its finance com- 
mittee ; Jerusalem Chapter. Royal Arch 
Masons, and its treasurer ; Jerusalem 
Chapter, Royal and Select Masters, and 
its treasurer ; Hamilton Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and a member of its 
finance committee ; DeWitt Lodge of 
Perfection, Washington Council ; Pequon- 
nock Chapter of Rose Croix ; and Lafay- 
ette Consistory, serving the last four 
bodies as secretary. In 1904 he received 
the crowning degree, Sovereign Prince of 
the Royal Secret, the thirty-third degree 
of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish 
Rite. He is a member of Ars Quotuor 
Coronatum, Xo. 2076, London. England, 
and the Lodge of Research, No. 2024. of 
Leicester. England, these the great Eng- 
lish Masonic literary societies, their mem- 
bership composed of those interested in the 
literature and history of the order and pos- 
sessing required literary qualifications. 
Mr. Phillips has gathered a valuable li- 
brary of Masonic, historical and genea- 
logical works including some very old 
and rare books of priceless value. He is 
a life member of the Connecticut Histori- 
cal Society, and Bridgeport Scientific So- 
ciety; is a Universalist in religious faith, 
and a Republican in politics. He is an 



exhaustless mine of information concern- 
ing the personal history of men of Bridge- 
port, gathered in his official capacity, and 
is freely sought by the reporters in gather- 
ing material for personal sketches for the 
use of their papers when special occasion 
demands. 

Mr. Phillips married (first) April 23, 
1866, Emily Maria Buckman, born in Al- 
stead, New^ Hampshire, died in Bridge- 
port, March 3, 1907, daughter of Lewis 
Buckman. Their only child, a son, died 
young. He married (second) November 
10, 190S, Anna Adelia Larkin, born in 
Hartford, December 8. 1853, daughter of 
Samuel and Eliza Rhodes (Staflford) Lar- 
kin. her father a manufacturer of Bridge- 
port and member of the Connecticut Leg- 
islature in 1865. 



BEARDSLEY, Morris Beach, 

Liaxryer, Pnblic 0£Eicial. 

There are very few regions in the world 
that can compete with New England in 
the number of illustrious families whos^ 
members, without any of the aid which 
comes of an organized aristocracy, have 
maintained from generation to generation 
the same high standard of character and 
the same high position in the regard of 
the community from the earliest times 
clown to the present. The annals of New 
England are crowded with the records of 
such families, whose achievement as pio- 
neers, as organizers, as soldiers and men 
of afifairs and last, though not least, as 
leaders of the great industrial and finan- 
cial enterprises characteristic of that part 
of the country in recent years, have shown 
a degree of inherited strength and ability 
truly remarkable. Among such families 
there is none that stands higher in point 
of age and character than that which bears 
the name of Beardsley, of which the dis- 
tinguished gentleman, whose name heads 

39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



this article, was a most worthy scion. He 
is descended on the paternal side of the 
house from two ancestors who came to 
the New England colonies from England 
in the "Planter," and on every side is 
allied to illustrious and honored names of 
the early colonists. 

The founder of the family in this coun- 
try was William Beardsley, who came 
from England to the American Colonies 
on the good ship "Planter" in the year 
1635. He was one of the original settlers 
•of the old town of Stratford, Connecti- 
cut, and both in that town and in Bridge- 
port the family has had a distinguished 
career to the present day. The old First 
Congregational Church of Bridgeport was 
founded by nine men from Stratford, two 
of whom, Samuel Beardsley and Samuel 
Gregory, were ancestors of the Mr. 
Beardsley of this sketch. 

For a great many years, descendants 
-of the original William Beardsley made 
their home in the town of Trumbull, Con- 
necticut, and it was here that Mr. Beards- 
ley's grandfather, Samuel Beardsley, was 
born and lived his entire life. He was en- 
gaged in successful farming operations 
and owned valuable property in that region. 
He was married to Asenath Gregory, like 
himself a native of Trumbull, and both 
he and his wife died in that town. They 
were the parents of two children, Samuel 
Gregory and Orville Hall, both of whom 
died in Trumbull many years ago. The first 
of these children, Samuel Gregory Beards- 
ley, was the father of ]\Iorris Beach 
Beardsley. He was a farmer, as was his 
father before him. and also made a success 
of his operations in this line. He was 
married to Mary Beach, also a native of 
Trumbull, who survives him and is now 
a resident of Bridgeport, Connecticut. 
The>' were the parents of three children, 
of whom the oldest is our subject; the 
others being Mary Louise, died in 1900; 



and Alice M., who is now the wife of L. 
B. Curtis, of Bridgeport. 

Morris Beach Beardsley was born Au- 
gust 13, 1849, at Trumbull, Connecticut, 
and there lived during the greater part of 
his childhood and early youth. The pre- 
liminar)^ portion of his education was 
gained in the district schools there, and 
when he had learned all that these were 
capable of teaching him, he was sent to 
the Stratford Academy where he com- 
pleted his education for a college course. 
Upon graduating from this institution he 
matriculated at Yale University, taking 
the academic course there and proving 
himself to be an unusually capable 
scholar. Mr. Beardsley had acquired 
during his course in Yale a great interest 
in the subject of the law and determined 
to make it his career in life, so upon his 
graduation from the university in 1870, 
he went to New York City and entered 
the famous law school of Columbia Uni- 
versity there. Graduating from the latter, 
he returned to Connecticut and continued 
to read law in the office of William K. 
Seeley, a well known attorney of Bridge- 
port. In 1872 he was admitted to the bar 
of Fairfield county and in the same year 
vv'as taken into partnership by Mr. Seeley, 
his former preceptor, the firm taking the 
name of Seeley & Beardsley. But while 
Mr. Beardsley was extremely interested 
and even devoted to his subject, the law, 
he is perhaps even better known in the 
community in connection with his politi- 
cal career, which has been a notable one. 
After practicing a number of years in 
partnership with Mr. Seeley, he was 
elected city clerk of Bridgeport and served 
in that capacity for four years, 1872 to 
1876. In 1876 he was elected judge of 
the Probate Court at Bridgeport, servdng 
in this responsible position until January, 
1893. In the latter year he was the suc- 
cessful candidate of the Democratic party 



140 




^-^ ^~^r,-r..f, A&<7r->^«'5^. 



» / / 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to the General Assembly of Connecticut 
and served with distinction in that body. 
Upon the completion of his term, he re- 
sumed the practice of law and for some 
time continued by himself. In 1897, how- 
ever, upon the graduation of his son, Sam- 
uel Fayerweather Beardsley, from Yale 
Law School, he took the young man into 
partnership with him and the present 
firm of Beardsley & Beardsley was formed. 
Mr. Beardsley 's career in his profession 
has been one of distinction and he has 
handled considerable very important liti- 
gation before the Fairfield county courts. 
The legal business of the firm is at pres- 
ent very large and he is regarded as one 
of the leaders of the bar in the commu- 
nity. 

Mr. Beardsley is prominently connected 
with the social and fraternal life of 
Bridgeport, and is a member of the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows and the 
Masonic order. In the latter he is par- 
ticularly prominent, belongs to all the 
local bodies and has taken his thirty-sec- 
ond degree in Freemasonry. One of Mr. 
Beardsley's chief interests is connected 
with the history of his community and 
his family, in both of which matters he 
is a profound student. He is one of the 
most active members of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, and besides holding 
many oi^ces in the State Society has 
served as president general of the Na- 
tional Society, Sons of the American 
Revolution. He is also prominent in 
club life and belongs to the Brooklawn 
Country Club of Bridgeport, and the Uni- 
versity Club and the New England So- 
ciety of the City of New York. In his 
religious belief he is a Congregationalist 
and is a member of the United Church of 
that denomination in the city of Bridge- 
port. 

In Brooklyn, New York, June 5, 1873, 
Mr. Beardsley was united in marriage 



with Lucy Jane Fayerweather, a native 
of Bridgeport, Connecticut, and a daughter 
of William and Polly (Botsford) Fayer- 
weather. Her parents both moved to the 
West in later life and eventually died at 
Dubuque, Iowa. Three children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Beardsley, as fol- 
lows : Samuel Fayerweather, who, as has 
already been mentioned, is a member of 
the law firm of Beardsley & Beardsley ; 
Lucy M., now the wife of Emile C. Can- 
ning, of New Orleans, Louisiana, and the 
mother of three children : Amelia B., 
Morris B. and Lucy F. ; Amelia L., who 
makes her home with her parents in 
Bridgeport. 



DAVENPORT, Daniel, 

Jj&xryer, Legislator. 

While Fairfield county, Connecticut,, 
has long been the Davenport family seat, 
Daniel Davenport is the first of this 
branch to make Bridgeport the scene of 
their activities, he having been a practic- 
ing lawyer of that city since 1875, emi- 
nent in his profession and highly esteemed 
as a citizen. He traces his ancestry in 
New England to Rev. John Davenport, 
born in England, who settled in New 
Haven, Connecticut, in April, 1638, and 
on the following December 9, was in- 
stalled pastor of the First Church. The 
founders of the New Haven Colony led 
by John Davenport and Theophilus Eaton 
sought to establish a new state in which 
religion and education should be matters 
of prime concern. Air. Davenport was 
the leader in educational matters and it 
was part of his plan from the first to make 
New Haven a college town and thus in a 
sense he was the original projector of 
Yale. "Even in his old age he was found 
struggling with unwearied zeal to estab- 
lish a college in New Haven for the good 
of posterity." Rev. John Davenport was 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the seventeenth generation of a family 
traced in direct line to Ormus de Daven- 
porte, born in 1086. Rev. John Daven- 
port had a son, John ; he was a merchant 
of Boston, and married Abigail Pierson, 
daughter of the Rev. Abraham Pierson, 
of Bradford, the founder of Newark, New 
Jersey, and their son, also the Rev. John 
Davenport, was ordained minister at 
Stamford, Connecticut, in 1694, and died 
February 5, 1731. It was a son of the 
Rev. John Davenport, Colonel Abraham 
Davenport, whom Whittier immortalized 
in his poem relating to " The Dark Day," 
as calling for candles when darkness fell 
upon the Senate Chamber in midday, in 
these words : "The Day of Judgment is 
either approaching or it is not. If it is 
not there is no cause for adjournment; if 
it is I choose to be found doing my duty. 
I wish therefore that candles be brought." 
A son of Colonel Abraham Davenport was 
also John Davenport, member of Con- 
gress, 1799-1817, who in 1824 entertained 
at his Stamford residence the great 
Frenchman, Lafayette. 

While the church and the law have 
been chosen by many Davenports as the 
profession they would follow, there has 
been many business men and farmers in 
the family, Nathan Davenport, grand- 
father of Daniel Davenport, of Bridge- 
port, indulged in both occupations. He 
was born at Stamford, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 8, 1768, became proprietor of a full- 
ing mill at Wilton, which he conducted 
for many years, and was also a farmer. 
He married Mary Smith, a sister of the 
Rev. Daniel Smith. Nathan Davenport 
had a half-sister, Clarissa Raymond, who 
lived to the great age of one hundred and 
four years, eight months and twenty-live 
days. 

George A. Davenport, son of Nathan 
and Mary (Smith) Davenport, was bom 
in the town of Wilton, Fairfield county. 



Connecticut, January 31, 1808, and be- 
came one of the most honored of Fair- 
field's sons. After preparation under Dr. 
Hawley Olmstead, of the Academy, who 
began with his education where the public 
schools had left him, the young man en- 
tered Yale Law School and was fitted for 
liis profession. For a time he was associ- 
ated in practice with Judge Butler, but 
he had little liking for court room work 
and withdrew from the partnership to 
conduct an office practice. Until 1844 he 
confined himself to office business, but in 
1844 ^c was appointed probate judge for 
the district of Norwalk, serving by ap- 
pointment until 1850. The office was then 
made elective and he was continuously 
returned by large majorities and nearly 
always as the candidate for both parties. 
He held the office continuously until 1878, 
when, reaching the constitutional limit 
of age, he was retired with the best wishes 
and highest respect of the entire bar. Said 
the Norwalk "Gazette," January 8, 1878: 
"Few if any probate districts in the coun- 
try have been as highly favored with such 
exceptional capacity and fidelity to public 
trust and we are sure that the regrets at 
Judge Davenport's retirement will be 
both universal and sincere." 

When he retired to the quiet of his Wil- 
ton home he gave himself to scholarly 
pursuits and fully satisfied that craving 
of his nature, for he was by heredity and 
disposition a student. He was eighty 
years of age when he began studying 
Hebrew and until his death he continued 
his literary pleasures. Judge Davenport 
married (first) Mary Sturges, daughter 
of Erastus and Abigail (Sturges) Sturges, 
her father a farmer. They were the par- 
ents of three daughters and three sons, all 
the sons embracing their father's profes- 
sion : Mary A., born February 26, 1844, 
married Dr. Charles B. White, deceased; 
Julia, born April 16, 1847, died July 28, 
42 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1890; Benjamin, born January 21, 1850, 
a graduate of the law department of the 
University of Georgetown, class of "74.'' 
located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, mar- 
ried Mary Goodhue, of Washington, D. 
C. ; Daniel, mentioned below; Timothy, 
born February 8, 1854, graduate of Yale 
"75. " 3- practicing lawyer of New York 
City, married Mary Allen, of Glovers- 
ville. New York; Sarah, born October 31, 
1856. 

Daniel Davenport, second son of Judge 
(ieorge A. and Mary (Sturges) Daven- 
port, was born in Wilton, Connecticut, 
January 13, 1852. He prepared for college 
at Wilton Academy, and after graduation 
in 1869 entered Yale University whence 
he was graduated A. B. class of "7:^-''' He 
prepared for the profession of law under 
the preceptorship of Asa B. Woodward 
and John H. Perry in Norwalk, and Sep- 
tember 24, 1875, was admitted a member 
of the Fairfield county bar. He at once 
began practice in Bridgeport and so con- 
tinues having in the years intervening 
won a leading position among the strong 
men of the Connecticut bar. In 1876-77 
Mr. Davenport was prosecuting attorney ; 
in 1893-94 city attorney of Bridgeport ; in 
1875 he represented the town of Wilton 
in the State House of Representatives ; in 
1902 he was a delegate from Bridgeport 
zt the Constitutional Convention. He is 
v. member of the various law associations, 
and is an Independent in politics. 

Mr. Davenport married, October 16, 
1876, Mary Lockwood, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sophia Lockwood, of New York 
City. One daughter. Beatrice, now Mrs. 
(George L. Emmons, living in Schenec- 
tady, New York ; she has one child, Na- 
thaniel D. Emmons. 



SMITH, Charles Monroe, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

If we were seeking for a test of what 
might be called the social health of any 



community, we could probably find none 
more thoroughly conclusive and satisfac- 
tory than that of whether the best classes 
are taking an active part in the conduct 
of public affairs and exercising a real in- 
fluence in the general local life. If, for 
instance, we find, as we so often do, that 
the most cultivated and enlightened men 
in a community stand aloof from its 
affairs, either from disgust with the way 
that matters are going, or from general 
indifference, we may form our own con- 
clusions of the place, but we should cer- 
tainly avoid it in chosing the location for 
cair home. If, on the contrary, we find 
them busy about the local issues, holding 
office and generally having a voice in 
matters, we may be sure that all is well 
with it. Judged by this criterion, the 
cities and towns of New England measure 
up to the standard better than those of 
any other part of the country excepting 
possibly the extreme west. If we would 
liave a specific example of this thing, the 
holding of public of^ce long and faithfully 
by a man of the highest culture and re- 
finement, we can not do better than refer 
to the case of Charles Monroe Smith, the 
honored treasurer of the town of Wood- 
mont, Connecticut, for more than a quar- 
ter of a century. 

Charles Monroe Smith was born in the 
city of New Haven, Connecticut, x'X.ugust 
31, 1840, and died at Woodmont, October 
28, 1914, in the seventy-fifth year of his 
age. He was a son of Leonard and Maria 
(Russell) Smith, his father being a native 
of New Haven and his mother of Derby. 
Connecticut. Mr. Smith was educated in 
his native city, attending the excellent 
public schools thereof for that purpose 
and exhibiting as a student the same alert 
mind and decision of character that was 
afterwards to mark him in the business 
and political worlds. 

His first work after leaving school was 
in a shoe store on Chapel street. New 

143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Haven, and later he became associated 
with A. O. Coburn & Company, wholesale 
grocers, and was with this firm about 
fifteen years as traveling" salesman. He 
then went with Angus & Tuttle, who 
were engaged in the same line of business, 
as traveling salesman, both of these firms 
being in business in New Haven. Later 
he went with Depew & Son, of New York, 
same business, and was with this firm 
about four years. He was on the road 
as salesman altogether about thirty-five 
years when his sight failed and he aban- 
doned that line of work. He formed a 
partnership with his brother, Lyman 
Smith, while he was still on the road, 
and began the manufacture of carriages. 
The success of this enterprise was very 
marked and what began as a small busi- 
ness was gradually developed until it 
assumed large proportions and the two 
brothers had won a reputation for clean 
and honorable business methods as well 
as for business ability not surpassed by 
any of their fellow citizens. Unfortu- 
nately, however, for Mr. Smith's am- 
bition, which seemed in such a fair way 
to be realized, his health failed him. his 
eyesight giving out, and he was obliged 
to withdraw entirely from active partici- 
pation in business. It was then that he 
removed from New Haven to Woodmont, 
he being one of the earliest settlers in 
what has since become one of the most 
charming and fashionable summer resorts 
along that part of the coast. Since Mr. 
Smith built his home there the wealth of 
New York and Boston has found its way 
thither and the place now numbers many 
beautiful summer villas of rich and promi- 
nent men. Mr. Smith was elected clerk 
of the town of Woodmont, a position 
which his somewhat returning health al- 
lowed him to fill effectively. Indeed, so 
entirely were his services to the liking of 
his fellow townsmen, that he later was 



advanced to the post of treasurer, and this 
office he continued to hold for twenty- 
five years or until the time of his death, 
ii being the latter event only that could 
interrupt him in the invaluable services 
he was performing for the public. It was 
thus that an event, seemingly without 
any compensating elements at the time, 
the failure of his eyesight, drove Mr. 
Smith into a line of activity in which, per- 
haps, the most characteristic work of his 
life was performed, for it was only after 
he had retired from business life that he 
found time and strength to devote to 
public aflfairs. After his death on Octo- 
ber 28, 1914, the work which he was doing 
was taken up by Mrs. Smith who, from 
that time down to the present, has filled 
the office of town treasurer most effici- 
ently. In this work she has the capable 
assistance of Dr. C. R. Booth. Dr. Booth 
has been almost a member of the Smith 
family for a number of years, having been 
in constant attendance upon Mr. Smith 
before the latter's death, taking care of 
him in his constantly increasing ill health 
and failing eyesight, and having remained 
a devoted friend of his widow since his 
death. 

Besides his business and official activ- 
ities Mr. Smith was a conspicuous figure 
in the social and fraternal circles of both 
New Haven and Woodmont and a mem- 
ber of several important orders and or- 
ganizations. He belonged to all the Ma- 
sonic bodies in New Haven and had 
reached the thirty-second degree in that 
order, and was also a member of the New 
Haven Lodge of Red Men. In the matter 
of religion Mr. Smith was an Episco- 
palian and attended the church of that 
denomination in New Haven. 

On February 22, 1870, Mr. Smith was 
united in marriage with Ella Hotchkiss 
Baldwin, of Derby, Connecticut, a daugh- 
ter of William and Sarah Maria (Hotch- 



144 



PC. 



ASTOR. tENBX 
TILDEN f OUNjeATIONS; 



' 




^ 



V 



>> 






^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



kiss) Baldwin, of that place. One child 
was born to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, who 
died in infancy. 

The character of Mr. Smith was a most 
admirable one and his personality charm- 
ing, lie made friends and kept them al- 
ways and was of a strongly affectionate 
disposition. He was perfectly devoted 
Ic his home and family and found his 
greatest happiness in that intimate inter- 
course. His memory will long be cher- 
ished in a wide circle of associates, not 
one of whom but felt the influence of his 
personality and felt it to his good. 



WORDEN, Robert Franklin, 

Man of Enterprise. 

That there is nothing incompatible in 
the gaining of great material success and 
a position of power and control in the 
commercial world with the rendering of 
invaluable service to the community is 
well proved by the case of Robert Frank- 
Im Worden, who for a period of twenty- 
six years has been so distinguished a citi- 
zen of Waterbury, Connecticut. Pre- 
eminently a man of business, he has made 
his enterprises subserve the double end 
of his ambitions and the welfare of his 
fellow citizens. Waterbury has been the 
scene of his phenomenal success, and al- 
though he was neither born nor spent the 
early years of his life in that city, yet it 
is with it that his name is so intimately 
associated and it is there that he is chiefly 
held in high respect and honor, not only 
by those with whom he comes into per- 
sonal relations of friendship, but by the 
community at large. Strong common 
sense and an invincible will, the latter 
tempered by unusual tact and judgment 
in all his dealings with his fellows, are 
the bases of his character and success, a 
success that he owes to absolutely no 
outward circumstances, but entirely to 
his own unaided efforts. 

Conn— 2— 10 1 45 



Robert Franklin Worden was born 
June 26, 1858, at Wappingers Falls, New 
York State, the son of Robert and Lucy 
(llildreth) Worden, of that place. Robert 
Worden was a native of England, a son 
of John Worden, coming to this country 
wnth his parents at the age of ten years. 
His home in the new land was the town 
of Wappingers Falls, New York, and he 
there at an early age identified himself 
wath the community's life and in course 
of time became a prominent figure. He 
engaged in a mercantile business there 
and also kept a successful livery stable, 
but the connection in which he was best 
known in the town of his adoption was 
that of music, in which line he was some- 
thing of a genius, and his enthusiasm was 
such that he communicated it to others so 
that the concerts that he gave under the 
name of the "Worden Family" were most 
popular and achieved a fame that ex- 
tended beyond the limits of the commu- 
nity. He and his wife were the parents 
of seven children, the youngest, Robert 
Franklin, the subject of this sketch. The 
father died in October, 1857, when still a 
young man and before the birth of his 
son, and when the lad had reached the 
age of seven months, the mother died 
leaving him the youngest of seven chil- 
dren, in charge of his sisters, who cared 
for him and brought him up. 

The educational advantages of Robert 
Franklin Worden were limited, and he be- 
gan work when but thirteen years of age, 
securing a position with a safe deposit 
concern in New York City. From there 
he made his way into the State of Con- 
necticut, where he obtained employment 
on a farm. He remained on the farm for 
about five years and from there returned 
to New York, making his home on this 
occasion in Brooklyn, where he remained 
for five years more. He then went to Tor- 
rington, Connecticut, where he remained 
for four years, and where he learned 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the trade of brass casting, which he fol- 
lowed for twenty-five years. In the year 
1890 he came to Waterbury, Connecticut, 
which has remained his home and the 
scene of his active business life ever since. 
Later he established himself in the milk 
business, an enterprise that has grown to 
such an extent that it has become one of 
the most important in Waterbury and is 
still rapidly growing, and besides this he 
added ice cream. The plant in which 
these operations are carried on is a model 
of its kind and is considered to be one of 
the finest in the New England States. 
In it the rules of New York City ordinance 
in regards to pasteurization are observed 
and everything is carried on with the 
most scrupulous sanitary regard for 
purity of the milk and the health of his 
customers. He is particularly careful in 
the selection of hands to work in the 
establishment, and may well be proud of 
the class of employees he has secured. 
Mr. Worden's sons, Clarence H., Arthur 
D. and Howard F., are associated with 
him in the business ; Arthur D. is vice- 
president and secretary of the company 
which bears the name of R. F. W'orden & 
Sons. Mr. Worden is a member of the 
Knights of Pythias and the United Work- 
men of America. 

In Brooklyn, New York, on October 4, 
1881, Mr. Worden was united in marriage 
with Isabelle Duncan Wood, a native of 
New York City, born December 26, 1858. 
Mrs. Worden's death occurred July 21, 
191 5, at the age of fifty-seven years. Their 
son, Clarence H., was born July 15, 1882, 
married Carrie Phillips, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and is now a popular con- 
ductor on the New York. New Haven & 
Hartford Railroad ; Arthur D., born De- 
cember 20, 1884, married Hortense Wild- 
man, of Waterbury, by whom he has had 
two sons, twins, born October 17, 1914; 
Howard F., born February 5, 1888, mar- 



ried Ruth Conibal, of Greenneici, Massa- 
chusetts, by whom he has one child, Doro- 
thy Emma. 

The welfare of his adopted city, where 
Mr. Worden began his career so humbly 
and where he has since become so influ- 
ential a figure, is very dear to him, and 
he has never been a laggard when it was 
a question of doing anything for the gen- 
eral advancement. He is justly regarded 
as one of the most public-spirited mem- 
bers of the community and is always 
ready to give his aid for its advancement. 
His personality has the effect of making 
all those who come in contact with him 
feel instinctively the value of life. In the 
height of his prosperity and good fortune 
he never forgets the difficulties of his own 
youth and is ever ready to hold out a 
helping hand to such as are less fortunate 
than himself. Nor is his charity merely 
jjcrfunctory, such as is so often the case, 
for he gives, not from his purse alone, but 
from his heart, so that the recipient is 
never made to feel the bitterness of his 
position, but leaves a life-long friend. It 
is partially thus that he has gained so 
large a following of friends, devoted to 
him and his interests, and has become so 
popular a figure in the city. Various and 
large as are his business interests, a re- 
markably large portion of his time and 
attention is devoted to these more altru- 
istic purposes, and he never allows, like 
so many successful men, his commercial 
pursuits to warp his generous feelings or 
shake his charity and faith in life and the 
goodness of his fellows. He himself has 
started out with high ideals which neither 
hardships nor prosperity can shake, and 
he credits others with the same idealism. 
And what may seem strange is that he 
is very seldom mistaken, for it has been 
rightly said that men are apt to show the 
traits we attribute to them, good or bad. 
His career has been a busy and useful one, 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and all men, himself as well as others, have 
benefited by it. Nor are his virtues less 
apparent in his family life than in his rela- 
tions with the outside world. His house- 
hold has been made happier by his pres- 
ence, and his own chief pleasure is found 
in the intercourse of his home. He is 
possessed of a strong religious faith, 
which it is his purpose to make practical 
in his everyday life. 



BEACH, Carroll C, 

Physician, Naval Militia Officer. 

The life of a physician is no sinecure 
and the very choice of it is a proof of the 
sincerity and earnestness of the chooser, 
either as a student with an overwhelm- 
ing love of his subject or as an altruist 
whose first thought is the good of his 
fellows. Probably a something of both 
qualities enters into the attitude of Dr. 
Carroll C. Beach, of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, one of the leaders of his profession 
in that city, and this is borne out by the 
double fact that he is at once unusually 
well versed in the theory and technical 
practice of medicine and that he has won 
the respect and affection of his patients 
and the community generally. 

There is probably no family name more 
prominently connected with the history 
of Connecticut than that of Beach. There 
are many branches of this family in the 
country to-day, and from the earliest 
Colonial period to the present time its 
members have adorned the learned pro- 
fessions and won distinction in many 
fields of endeavor, particularly in the 
world of business, have held many public 
ofifices efficiently and with honor, and 
have furnished loyal patriots for the cause 
of their country's freedom. Dr. Carroll 
C. Beach is a descendant in the ninth gen- 
eration from one of the earliest settlers in 
Connecticut, and by his personal achieve- 



ment has maintained the prestige of an 
honored family name. The record of the 
New Haven colony shows us that in 1639 
three immigrants of the name of Beach 
were among the settlers there. They 
were Richard, John and Thomas Beach, 
and there seems to be strong evidence of 
their having been brothers. Thomas 
Beach, the progenitor of the branch of 
the family from which Dr. Beach is 
sprung, was a resident of New Haven in 
1647, there being a record of him that 
he took the oath of fidelity on the seventh 
of March in that year. He removed to 
the town of Milford, however, and there 
seems to be evidence that he lived in 
Wallingford for a time. He returned to 
Milford, however, where he lived until 
the close of his life on the first day of 
March in the year 1662. On the first day 
of March, 1654, he was married to Sarah, 
a daughter of Richard and Mary Piatt. 
Mrs. Beach died in 1698. 

Their son, John Beach, was born in 
Milford, October 19, 1655, and died there 
in 1709. In 1673-74 he removed to Wal- 
lingford with the children of his cousin, 
also John Beach, of Hartford. Mr. Beach 
was known as John Beach, Jr., to dis- 
tinguish him from his cousin. In 1677 he 
married Mary . 

Their son, Thomas Beach, was born 
February 14, 1686, at Milford, and in 171 1 
he married Hannah Atwater. 

Their son, Landa (or Landrey) Beach, 
was born March 5, 1727, and bears the 
distinction of having served in the Revo- 
lution, despite his advanced years. In 
1749 he was married to Abigail, a daugh- 
ter of Lieutenant Nathan and Elizabeth 
(Rogers) Baldwin. For nearly four score 
years they lived together until on Christ- 
mas Eve. 1823, she died at the age of 
ninety-six years. He died the following 
year on February 25, at the age of ninety- 
seven. At their death they left behind 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



them seven children, seventy-two grand- 
children, one hundred and two great- 
grandchildren and seven great-great- 
grandchildren. 

Their son, Thaddeus Beach, also served 
in the Revolution in 1781, and in 1818 was 
pensioned for service on the frigate, "Alli- 
ance." 

In 1795 his son, David Beach, was born 
in Plymouth, and in the month of Sep- 
tember, 1816, he married Sylvia, the 
daughter of Gideon and Lois (Barnes) 
Smith. His death occurred in 1863 and 
that of his wife eleven years later. 

Their son, Charles E. Beach, was born 
November 2, 1818, and was twice mar- 
ried. His first wife was Martha Em- 
meline, a daughter of Timothy and Phila 
(Tisdalej Lewis, of Southington, Con- 
necticut, who died September 5, 1852. She 
was a descendant of William Lewis and 
William Wadsworth, who were among 
the first settlers of Plartford. Mr. Beach 
died on October 24, 1872. 

Their son. Dr. Charles Lewis Beach, 
was the father of the Dr. Beach of this 
sketch. He was born at Southington, 
February 13. 1848, and his general educa- 
tion was acquired in the public schools 
of his native town. After completing this 
schooling, he devoted his attention for 
some time to farming and teaching in the 
local school, until eventually he deter- 
mined to make medicine his profession. 
He then entered the Homeopathic Col- 
lege of the City of New York, from which 
he was graduated with the degree of M. 
D. in 1872. He practiced for about eight 
years in Unionville, Connecticut, and 
from there removed to Rockville, where 
he remained about twelve months longer. 
In 1882 he came to Hartford and there 
established himself in the practice which 
has continued to the present time. He 
met with more than ordinary success, and 
in 1899 formed a partnership with his son. 



Dr. Carroll C. Beach, who is mentioned 
at length below. Dr. Charles L. Beach is 
a member of the Connecticut Homeo- 
pathic Society and has been identified for 
many years with the Republican party. 
The demands of his practice, however, are 
such as to deter him from entering the 
political arena, or from aspiring to the 
public office which his talent so eminently 
fitted him for. He is essentially domestic 
in his tastes and without doubt an impor- 
tant factor in his success is the friendly 
confidence which his frank and generous 
nature inspires in those whom he is called 
upon to serve in a professional capacity. 
On May 14. 1873, Dr. Beach was married, 
at Southington, to Annie E., a daughter 
of Horace W. and Esther (Dibbell) Lam- 
son. Mrs. Beach was born at Mount 
Washington, Massachusetts, May 11, 
1850. Dr. and Mrs. Beach have for many 
years been members of the South Con- 
gregational Church. They are the par- 
ents of three children as follows : Carroll 
Charles, of whom further; ]\Iartha Esther, 
born June 7, 1878, died October 24, 1879; 
Orin Lamson, born August 7, 1886. 

Dr. Carroll Charles Beach was born at 
Unionville, Connecticut, December 12, 
1874. He received the preparatory part 
of his education in the public schools of 
Hartford and graduated from the high 
school there. He then entered Trinity 
College, Hartford, and graduated from 
that institution with the class of 1896 and 
the usual academic degree. It was his 
desire to follow medicine as a profession, 
as his father had set him an example, and 
accordingly he matriculated in the medi- 
cal school of the Boston University. He 
graduated in 1899 with the degree of M. 
D. The practical experience necessary for 
practice was gained as an interne in the 
Roxbury Hospital at Boston and at the 
Homeopathic Insane Asylum at West- 
borough, Massachusetts. Since that time 



148 






'1 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he has remained in active practice in the 
city of Hartford, where, as has already 
been mentioned, he was taken into partner- 
ship by his father. He has already estab- 
lished for himself an enviable reputation 
and is regarded as one of the rising physi- 
cians in the city. He is a member of the 
Connecticut Homeopathic Society and of 
the college fraternity of Alpha Chi Rho 
and the Alpha Sigma, the former at Trin- 
ity and the latter at Boston University. 
lie and the members of his family are 
conmiunicants of the South Congrega- 
tional Church. Dr. Beach served in the 
naval militia as assistant surgeon for a 
number of years, and for five years he 
was the commander of the second division, 
naval militia. 

Dr. Beach married. April 22, 1903, Mary 
Bishop White, a daughter of Niles G. and 
Minnie (Bishop) White. A sketch of her 
father appears elsewhere in this work. 
Mrs. Beach was born August 16, 1874, at 
Guilford, Connecticut. Dr. and Mrs. 
Beach are the parents of three children, 
as follows: Ruth, born January 14, 1904; 
Marion, born September 11, 1908; and 
Carroll Charles, Jr., born August 2, 191 1. 

Dr. Beach is a man of great energy and 
industry, and one of a wide and cultured 
outlook on life, so that he devotes much 
of his efforts to the good of the commu- 
nity of which he is a member. He is at 
once the typical scientist and the man of 
affairs, who pursues his subject theoret- 
ically with the zeal of a true scholar, and 
yet has the practical ability to apply it to 
the situation in hand. This is a combina- 
tion well calculated to make a successful 
practitioner in medicine and surgery, and 
Dr. Beach's career promises to be a good 
example of the fact, leading as it has to a 
prominent position in his profession, de- 
spite his comparative youth. His char- 
acter as a man is not less worthy than 
as a physician, and if he stands high in 



his profession, he stands no less so in the 
regard of his fellow townsmen as a type 
of public spirited citizenship. Nor in his 
jiurely private life are his virtues less 
marked. He possesses very strongly the 
domestic instincts, loving the intimate re- 
lationship of home life and household 
affairs, and proving himself a loving and 
devoted husband and father. 



SPICER, Edmund, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon. 

There are few professions that call foi 
so many qualities, both of mind and heart, 
as that of medicine, the object of which is 
a much more complex one than the aver- 
age layman imagines. The true physi- 
cian, while it may be said that his prime 
object is the healing of the body, should 
turn his attention with scarcely less con- 
centration upon the healing of the mind, 
since in a measure this is a means to the 
former. There are few of us who have 
had the misfortune to be invalids, even 
though it be for a short period, who are 
not aware of how greatly the presence in 
the sick room of the cheerful and opti- 
mistic physician tends to lighten the bur- 
den of ill health and actually hastens re- 
covery. Dr. Spicer has realized this 
simple truth intuitively and his great suc- 
cess in his profession is due to the fact 
that he adds this real therapeutic agency 
to a profound knowledge of the material 
and physical aspects of disease. Dr. 
Spicer is still a young man but his place 
in the popular approval of his fellow citi- 
zens of Waterbury. Connecticut, is as- 
sured. 

Dr. Spicer comes of a fine old Connecti- 
cut family, the members of which have 
distinguished themselves in that State for 
many years. His grandfather, also Ed- 
mund Spicer, was born in Ledyard, Con- 
necticut, and lived in that town all his 



149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



life, his death occurring there in 1889. 
He was a successful farmer and took a 
prominent part in village affairs. He was 
also active in the Masonic order and was 
past master of the local lodge. He mar- 
ried a Miss Williams, who died in Led- 
yard at the age of sixty-five years. Seven 
children were born to them, of whom John 
died at the age of seventy years. The 
six, who still survive, are as follows : 
Fannie, the widow of George Fanning, 
now resides in Hartford; Edward E., the 
father of Dr. Spicer ; Sarah, Carrie and 
Cecelia, who married three brothers of 
the name of Lester, two of whom went 
with their wives to California many years 
ago, and the third, who married Carrie 
Spicer, remained in Ledyard ; George, the 
youngest child, now lives at Deep River, 
Connecticut, where he is a very successful 
grower of fruit. 

Edward E. Spicer, the father of Dr. 
Spicer, was born in Ledyard, Connecticut, 
and passed the earlier years of his life 
there. He then came to Groton, Connec- 
ticut, where he is living at the present 
time (1916). He is a successful business 
man and now owns a large ice plant in 
Groton. He has taken a conspicuous part 
in the affairs of the borough of Groton 
and has been identified with the political 
and industrial life there in an intimate 
manner. He married Sarah Griswold, 
like himself a native of Ledyard and one 
year younger than himself. They are the 
parents of five children, all of whom are 
living, as follows: Bethiah, bom in the 
year 1879, and is now the wife of William 
E. Brown, of old Mystic, New London 
county, Connecticut; Edmund, of whom 
further; Clare, born in the year 1883, and 
now the wife of Edmund Eldred, a resi- 
dent of Connecticut; Sarah, born in the 
year 1887, and now the wife of Lieuten- 
ant I. C. Shute, of the United States navy ; 
Rodger G., a resident of Groton, where 
he is engaged in the automobile business. 



Born at Groton, Connecticut, on Sep- 
tember 6, 1881, Edmund Spicer passed his 
early childhood in his native town. He 
began his education in the local public 
schools but was afterwards sent to New 
London, where he attended the well 
known Bulkeley School of that city. He 
completed the preparatory portion of 
his education in this latter institution, 
and upon graduating from it at the age 
of nineteen, entered the School of Medi- 
cine of Yale University. His course 
there was one of distinction and he proved 
himself so good a student as to draw the 
favorable regard of his masters upon his 
work. He graduated in the year 1905 
with his degree of Doctor of Medicine and 
gained his practical experience as interne 
in the Lincoln Hospital in New York 
City, being a member of the house staft 
of that institution for two years. In the 
year 1905 he came to Waterbury and took 
up his regular practice there, giving espe- 
cial attention to the surgical side of his 
profession. He perfected himself in this 
branch until he is now recognized as one 
of the cleverest among the rising surgeons 
and has received the honor of an appoint- 
ment as assistant surgeon in the Water- 
bun,' Hospital. His office is located at 
No. 292 West Main street. 

The time of a physician, particularly 
a busy one such as Dr. Spicer, is naturally 
taken up very largely with his profes- 
sional work, the demands of that profes- 
sion being in the highest degree exacting. 
Dr. Spicer, however, is a man of wide in- 
terests and sympathies, a lover of social 
intercourse with his fellowmen, and he 
gains the necessary relaxation and recrea- 
tion in this direction through his associ- 
ation with the order of the Knights of 
Pythias. He holds the commission of 
first lieutenant in the Medical Reserve 
Corps of the United States army. In his 
religious belief. Dr. Spicer is a Congre- 
gationalist and attends the church of the 



ISO 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



denomination in Waterbury, giving liber- 
ally in support of its philanthropic under- 
takings. Dr. Spicer's position in the com- 
munity is an important one and promises 
to become much more so. 

On December ly, 1912, at Waterbury, 
Dr. Spicer was united in marriage with 
Minnie Tracy, a native of Waterbury and 
a daughter of George and Sarah (Snow) 
Tracy. Mr. and Mrs. Tracy are also na- 
tives of Waterbury and lifelong residents 
there. Mr. Tracy is a member of the firm 
of Trac}- Hrothers, engaged in the con- 
tracting and building business. They 
have done a very large amount of fine 
work in the city and are very well known 
there. Mrs. Tracy's father came origi- 
nally from Morris county. Connecticut. 



STODDARD, Henry Haven, 

Bnsiness Man, Active in Insurance Circles. 

Among the successful and prominent 
business men of New London, Connecti- 
cut, of the past generation, the name of 
Henry Haven Stoddard stands out as an 
example of one whose entire career was 
followed with the most scrupulous concern 
for the rights and interests of others, who 
never wittingly harmed a fellow, even a 
rival in business, and who left behind 
him an unsullied reputation and a feel- 
ing of loss which extended to all those 
who had ever come into contact with 
him, even the most distantly. His death 
there on January 19, 1913, occurred in the 
house where he was born, and his entire 
life was spent in the city of his birth. The 
Stoddard family, of splendid old New 
England stock, had made New London 
its residence for many years and Mr. 
Stoddard's father. Enoch Vine Stoddard, 
was a well-known and highly respected 
citizen of the place. 

Born on March 22, 1854, Henry Haven 
Stoddard attended the excellent public 



schools for his education and proved 
himself a bright and alert student, leav- 
ing a record of good scholarship behind 
him. Upon completing his studies, he 
turned his attention to the task of earn- 
ing his living and making his way in the 
world. His first venture was in the 
wholesale dealing of drugs, a business in 
which he saw a large future in New Lon- 
don at that time. He was eminently suc- 
cessful, but later saw an excellent oppor- 
tunity to engage in the manufacture of 
paper on a large scale and took advantage 
(jf it promptly. It was not in either of 
these lines, however, that Mr. Stoddard 
won his great success. It is with life in- 
surance that his name is especially asso- 
ciated in the city, and it was but a short 
time after his venture in the paper in- 
dustry that he turned his attention to this 
great business. Life insurance at that 
time, while it had been in existence many 
years, was then first making those im- 
mense strides forward which has placed 
it among the front rank of businesses in 
the country, and of that group of com- 
panies whose efforts had most to with 
this great development the New York 
Life Insurance Company was a leading 
member. Mr. Stoddard became the repre- 
sentative of this great concern for New 
1 .ondon and proceeded at once to open a 
sort of educational campaign in the city 
on the value of life insurance in general. 
He was eminently successful as a getter 
of business and was one of the most 
valued agents of the company in New 
England. He was a man of strong per- 
sonality and a persuasive tongue and he 
was soon doing a very large volume of 
business for his company. He continued 
actively in this line until towards the close 
of his life when ill health intervened and 
caused him to suffer confinement in his 
home. 

^Tr. Stoddard was a man of large in- 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



terests and wide influence and was con- 
nected with many of the aspects of the 
city's life besides that of business. He 
was a man of strong social instincts and 
devoted to the society of his fellow men, 
who in turn valued him most highly as 
a companion. He was especially inter- 
ested in the Masonic order, was a promi- 
nent member of the local bodies connected 
therewith and was a past master of Brain- 
ard Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and a past commander of Palestine Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar. His work as 
a Free Mason was of great importance to 
the welfare of the order in New London 
and it was due in no small degree to his 
efforts that the handsome Brainard Ma- 
sonic Temple was secured for that body 
in New London. Another matter in which 
his fondness for social intercourse among 
his fellows was shown in the founding of 
the Thames Club, in which he was one of 
the prime movers, and later an active and 
enthusiastic member. 

Henry Haven Stoddard was united in 
marriage on April 22. 1884, at Zion Epis- 
copal Church, to Marie Day McEwen, of 
New York City, a daughter of Dr. John 
B. and Mary (Day) McEwen. Two chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Stoddard : 
Marie Day and Henry Haven, Jr.. who 
survive their father and are at present 
making their home with their mother. 
The young man, Henry Haven Stoddard, 
Jr., is a graduate of Norwich Academy in 
the town of that name and contemplates 
shortly of entering Yale University. He 
is possessed of a strong taste for the 
student's life and is fond of books of 
which he is already a wide reader. 



WILSON, Clifford Brittin, 

Identenant-GovernoT of Connecticnt. 

A splendid example of the successful 
New Englander, who through his un- 



aided efforts has risen from a position in 
the ranks of his fellows to the second 
highest office in the State, is Lieutenant- 
Governor Clifford Brittin Wilson, a citi- 
zen of whom Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
may well be proud. His achievement is 
the more remarkable when his age is 
considered, for Mr. Wilson is a young 
man whose greatest accomplishment must 
be looked for in the future. What the 
future will bring for him no one can say 
but there is certainly no doubt that what- 
ever it is it will add to the record which 
he has already established of personal 
ability and invaluable public service. Mr. 
Wilson's descent from one of the fine old 
families of Connecticut presupposes his 
sterling and vigorous traits of character. 
The stock from which he sprung is typ- 
ical of the best traditions of New England 
life, the life which has had more to do 
with the shaping and development of our 
republican institutions than that of any 
other single section of the country. 

For generations the Wilson family has 
lived in the charming old town of Fair- 
field, Connecticut, where its members 
have always held a position of the highest 
esteem in the regard of their neighbors. 
The founder of the family in Fairfield was 
one Amos Wilson, who came to what was 
then a border settlement and made his 
home there. From that time to the pres- 
ent, Fairfield has remained the abode of a 
large portion of the Wilson family. Lieu- 
tenant-Governor Wilson's great-grand- 
father was John Squire Wilson, a man of 
prominence in his time. His grandfather 
was William Squire \^'ilson, who in early 
life followed the trade of carpenter, sub- 
sequently retired from that line of work, 
and during the remainder of his life oper- 
ated the family farm. He married Phoebe 
Ann Wilson, who bore him a large family 
of children, all of whom are now deceased. 
The father of Lieutenant-Governor Wil- 



152 



voPxK 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son was James A. Wilson, who was born 
I'^bruary ii, 1845, ^^ the old homestead 
of the Wilson family at Fairfield. He 
was the first in the direct line to move 
from that place, in his youth taking up 
his residence in Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
where for several years he followed the 
profession of school teacher. He then 
took up the study of law, in which profes- 
sion he continued until the end of his life, 
his death occurring in Bridgeport, Febru- 
ary, 12. 1897. He married Mary Eliza 
Wordin, a native of Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, a member of a very old and dis- 
tinguished family of that city, and her 
death occurred May 26, 1915. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wilson were the parents of eight 
children, four of whom are now living: 
Eva. a resident of Bridgeport ; Bertha and 
Mirta, twins, who died in infancy; Clif- 
ford Brittin, of whom further ; Lizzie, now 
the wife of Robert G. DeForest, a resident 
of Bridgeport; William W., died in in- 
fancy ; Marion, died in infancy ; and Flar- 
old J., a resident of Bridgeport. 

Clifford Brittin Wilson was born De- 
cember 2, 1879, at Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, and has lived there all his life. He 
obtained his preliminary education in the 
public schools of his native city, later 
attending the high school, from which he 
was graduated in 1898. He possessed a 
strong taste for the law in early youth, 
and upon the completion of his studies 
he devoted his attention to that subject 
in the office of Edward P. Nobbs, a promi- 
nent attorney of Bridgeport. In 1899, 
while he was yet a student of law, he was 
appointed assistant clerk of the Probate 
District of Bridgeport, a fact which 
speaks highly for his talent and the con- 
fidence which he inspired in older men. He 
was admitted to the bar in January, 1902, 
and at once began the active practice of his 
profession. Two years later he entered into 
partnership with Henry C. Stevenson, an 



association which continued until the year 
1915. Mr. Wilson's career at the bar was 
one which attracted the attention of the 
community to him, the ability which he 
displayed being of a very unusual order, 
and in 1907 he was elected alderman from 
the Fifth District, serving in that capacity 
until 1909, in which year he was appointed 
coroner for Fairfield county, which office 
he resigned on January i, 1912. In 1909 
he also became president of the Common 
Council and served as acting mayor of 
Bridgeport. In November, 191 1, he re- 
ceived the election of mayor of Bridge- 
port, the term of service being for two 
years. He was reelected mayor in No- 
vember, 1913, and again in November, 
1915. In November, 1914, he was elected 
Lieutenant-Governor of Connecticut for a 
term of two years, and was reelected to 
said ofifice in November, 1916. Mr. Wil- 
son has been active in many departments 
of the public life of his native city, and 
particularly so in the militia of his State. 
He held various offices in the Third Regi- 
ment, which afterwards became the 
Fourth Company, Coast Artillery, and he 
is now on the State retired list as captain 
of militia. 

Mr. Wilson has been a member of the 
Masonic order for many years and is par- 
ticularly active therein. He is a member 
of all the bodies connected with tliat 
order, including the l\vramid Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order N'obles of the 
Mystic Shrine, and has taken his Knight 
Templar and thirty-second degrees in Ma- 
sonry. He is also a member of and past 
grand of Pequonock Lodge. No. 4, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; past 
chief patriarch of Stratfield Encampment, 
No. 23. of the same order; a member of 
P)ri(!geport Lodge. Benevolent ani Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and Franklin Bart- 
lett Camp, No. 11. Sons of Veterans. 

Mr. Wilson was united in marriage, No- 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember lo, 1914, to Anastasia C. Dorsey, 
a native of Middletown, Connecticut, a 
daughter of Patrick and Mary E. (Cahill) 
Dorsey, of Middletown. Mr. Dorsey came 
from the Isle of New Foundland, where 
he was born, while Mrs. Dorsey was a 
native of Williamsbursr. Massachusetts. 



WILLIAMS, Almeron Newberry, 
Fire Insurance Expert. 

The name of Williams is very ancient 
and is to be found throughout the civilized 
world. Most of the original families of 
the name were doubtless of Welsh ex- 
traction. They form a large portion of 
the principality of Wales, somewhat like 
the O's of Ireland and the Mac's of Scot- 
land. At a very early date in Colonial 
history there were a number of distinct 
families of the name of Williams in this 
country. 

(I) The pregenitor of the branch of 
the family herein treated, W^illiam Wil- 
liams, was born in England, about 1623, 
and died in East Hartford, Connecticut, 
December 17, 1689. He settled there in 
1646. He was a cooper by trade. He 
was admitted freeman in 1654. On Octo- 
ber 3, 1662, the town of Hartford voted 
him a tract of land at Podunk, and about 
1666 the town divided among the proprie- 
tors the upland held in common east of 
the river, each lot running east three 
miles. William W^illiams purchased 
enough of these lots to make a lot sixty- 
six rods wade. Some of this land is still 
in the possession of his descendants. On 
November 25, 1647, he married Jane 
Westover, who died December 25, 1689. 
His will was dated 1688. 

(II) John Williams, son of William 
and Jane (Westover) Williams, was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, the second of 
nine children. His will was dated in 
1713- 



(III) Jonathan Williams, son of John 

Williams, married Sarah , who is 

buried at Town Hill, New Hartford. 

(IV) Abraham Williams, son of Jona- 
than and Sarah Williams, was born in 
1718, and died September 2, 1807. He 
married Mary Loomis, born October 6, 
1728, and died April 19, 1809. David 
Loomis, father of Mary (Loomis) Wil- 
liams, was born December 2, 1694, and 
died Januar)^ 9, 1752, in Windsor, Con- 
necticut. He married, November 24, 1715, 
Elizabeth Harmon, born December 29, 
1694, died April, 1770, daughter of Na- 
thaniel and Mary (Skinner) Harmon. 
David Loomis, father of David Loomis, 
was born January 11, 1667-68, at Wind- 
sor. Connecticut, and died January 9, 
1751-52. He married, December 8, 1692, 
Lydia (Marsh) Lyman, born October 9. 
1667, daughter of Jonathan and Hepzibah 
(Ford) Marsh, and widow of Richard 
Lyman. Nathaniel Loomis, father of 
David Loomis, was born in County Es- 
sex, England, about 1626, and died at 
Windsor, Connecticut, August 19, 1688. 
He was admitted freeman in 1654; joined 
the church, ]May 3, 1663; was a member 
of Windsor Troop of Horse in King 
Philip's W'ar. His will, dated August 17, 
1688, is preserved at Hartford and is 
signed "Nathaniel Loomys." He mar- 
ried. November 24, 1653, Elizabeth Moore, 
born at Windsor, 1638, daughter of Dea- 
con Jonathan and Abigail Moore (More). 
She married (second) Jonathan Case, and 
died July 23, 1728. Joseph Loomis, father 
of Nathaniel Loomis, was born in Eng- 
land, probably before 1590, a son of Jona- 
than and Agnes Loomis. Joseph Loomis 
was a woolen merchant in Braintree, 
County Essex, England. He came to 
Boston, Massachusetts, in the ship "Su- 
san and Ellen" arriving, July 17, 1638. 
He lived at Dorchester for about a year. 
On February 2, 1640, the town of Wind- 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGFLAPHY 



sor, Connecticut, granted him twenty-one 
acres of land adjoining the Farmington 
river on the west side of the Connecticut 
river. He also became possessed of other 
land on the east side of the Connecticut 
river by grant and by purchase. He mar- 
ried, in Messing, County Essex, England. 
June 30. 1614, Mary White, baptized Au- 
gust 24. 1590, daughter of Robert and 
Bridget (Allgar) White, who were mar- 
ried June 24, 1585. Joseph Loomis died 
November 25. 1658 ; his wife died at 
Windsor, August 22, 1652. The name 
Loomis. like most family names, was 
spelled in various way at an early date. 
Two or three centuries ago the name was 
spelled Lummas, Lommas and Lomes ; 
to-day in England the name is generally 
spelled Lomas. In Colonial days in this 
country the name was spelled Lomis, 
Lomys and Lomas, but the name is now 
almost universally spelled Loomis. 

(V) David Williams, son of Abraham 
and Mary (Loomis) Williams, was born 
February 2, 1756, and died October 13, 
1809. He married Rachel Bidwell, who 
died December 24, 1828. She was a 
daughter of Amos and Phoebe (Wil- 
liams) Bidwell. Through her mother 
the line runs into the line of her husband. 
The father of Phoebe (Williams) Bidwell 
was Gabriel W^illiams, Jr., who was the 
son of Gabriel and Hannah Williams, and 
he was the son of William Williams, 
aforementioned. 

(VI) Jonathan (2) Williams, son of 
David and Rachel (Bidwell) Williams, 
was born June 9, 1794, and died January 
31, 1881. He was a farmer by occupation, 
and he served as a corporal in the War of 
1812. He married, November 2, 1817, 
Clarissa Starkweather, born in South 
Windsor, Connecticut, May 2, 1791. died 
in Manchester, Connecticut, May 22, 
1867, daughter of Thomas Starkweather 
(Starks) and his first wife, Sybil (Ander- 
son) Starkweather. 



(\TI) Elisha W^illiams, son of Jona- 
than (2) and Clarissa (Starkweather) 
Wiliams, was born March 14, 1819, in 
Manchester, Connecticut, and died March 
22, 1895. In his younger days he was as- 
sociated with Nehemiah Rice in the gro- 
cery business at Hartford, Connecticut, 
and later, on account of his wife's health, 
he removed to Manchester and engaged 
in agricultural pursuits, continuing along 
that line for the remainder of his days. 
He was not a politician, but served sev- 
eral years in the capacity of selectman of 
the town. He married (first) November 
26. 1857, Maria L. Heath, who bore him 
one daughter, Emma Louise. He mar- 
ried (second) May 7, i860, Mary Ann 
Newberry, born July 4, 1828, died Au- 
gust 21, 1873, daughter of Joseph Mose- 
ley Newberry (see Newberry XXVIl). 
They were the parents of two children : 
John Moseley, a resident of Manchester, 
Connecticut ; and Almeron Newberry, of 
whom further. 

(VIII) Almeron Newberry Williams, 
son of Elisha and Mar}' Ann (Newberry) 
Williams, was born in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, January 19, 1862. He was educated 
in the public schools of Manchester, and 
later took up the study of shorthand, 
that being prior to the time that ste- 
nography was in such general use in 
business ofifices as it is at the present 
time. On April 15. 1882, he accepted a 
position as a stenographer for the Phoenix 
(Fire) Insurance Company of Hartford, 
and continued in that capacity until Sep- 
tember, 1891, when he was sent into the 
New York field as special agent and ad- 
juster for the company in that State. The 
following February he was transferred to 
the New England field in the same ca- 
pacity. In May, 1897, ^^ resigned from 
the service of that company and accepted 
the same day a position as special agent 
and adjuster in New England for the 
TEtna. (Fire) Insurance Company of 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford, with whom he has been identi- 
fied until the present time (1917). In 
December, 1902, he was made assistant 
secretary of the company; in April, 1912, 
was made vice-president, and in January, 
1913, was elected a member of its board 
of directors. He also serves as director 
of the Travellers' Bank and Trust Com- 
pany and of the Connecticut River Bank- 
ing and Trust Company, trustee of the 
State Savings Bank, and member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution of Con- 
necticut, Drug and Chemical Club of 
New York City, and of the Hartford Golf 
Club. Mr. Williams is domestic in his 
tastes, quiet and unassuming, and pos- 
sesses in large degree the qualities that 
make for success in business, namely : 
Industry, perseverance, stability, capabil- 
ity, thoroughness in detail and a capacity 
for judging men and events. 

Mr. Williams married, June 7, 1899, 
Alice Eugenia, daughter of the late J. B. 
Burr, a well known publisher in Hartford. 
Children : John Burr, born November 2^, 
1900; Pauline, born August 29, 1903; 
Eugenie, born January 10, 1910. The 
family attend and are members of Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church. 

(The Newberry Line). 

Like most patronymics of ancient ori- 
gin, that of Newberry has been spelled in 
various ways. It is derived from the 
castle of Newbourg in Normandy, whence 
the family came to England in the time 
of William the Conqueror. For more 
than five hundred years after that the 
name was spelled Newburgh, and from 
the beginning of the fifteenth century it 
Avas pronounced "Newborough," "New- 
borowe," and during the sixteenth and 
seventeenth centuries we find the name 
frequently spelled in the last two forms 
given. From the latter spelling the trans- 
lation to "Newberye" and "Newberry" 
was natural and easy. 



From the time of William the Con- 
queror the family has borne arms, and 
during the succeeding centuries the arms 
were varied to some extent by different 
branches of the family. That borne by 
the Newboroughs, of Othe Francis, in 
Netherbury, County Dorset, from whom 
was descended Thomas Newberry, the 
immigrant ancestor of the American fam- 
ily, was : Or, three bends azure, within 
a bordure engrailed gules. 

The Newberry genealogy has been 
traced directly to Torf, Seigneur de Tor- 
ville, a great Norman feudal baron, who 
was born A. D. 920. He is supposed to 
be the grandson of one of the viking 
chiefs who invaded northern France about 
900 and gave the name of Normandy to 
the country. About 950 he married Er- 
temberge de Briquebec. He possessed a 
number of lordships in Normandy. Their 
son, 

(II) Touronde, Sir du Ponteaudemer, 
was born about 950. He inherited his 
father's estates and titles. About 980 he 
married Wevia de Crepon, a younger sister 
of the Duchess Gunnoree, wife of Richard 
I., Duke of Normandy. By this marriage 
Touronde placed himself in a high posi- 
tion among the nobility, and he was a 
prominent figure during the reigns of 
Dukes Richard II., Richard HI., and 
Robert "The Devil" (996-1035). Their 
son, 

(HI) Humphrey de Veulles, Sir du Pon- 
teaudemer, was born about 980, succeeded 
to his father's titles and estates, and be- 
came possessed of numerous others. His 
name appears on many monastic charters. 
About 1050 he founded and endowed the 
Abbey Preaux in Ponteaudemer, where he 
was buried. His son, 

(IV) Roger de Beaumont, Sir du Pon- 
teaudemer, was born about loio, and suc- 
ceeded to the family estates and titles in 
Normandy, his elder brother having died. 
About 1040 he married Adeline de Meul- 



t56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lant, daughter and sole heiress of Wale- 
ran, Comte de Meullant, a great feudal 
nobleman of France. She died in 1081. 
This marriage greatly increased the 
wealth and position of Roger de Beau- 
mont, who became one of the most power- 
ful feudal noblemen of his age. He fur- 
nished sixty armed vessels for the fleet 
of William the Conqueror, and, when the 
latter left to invade England, Roger de 
Beaumont was left in charge of the gov- 
ernment of Normandy. He munificently 
endowed the Abbey of Preaux, of which 
later in life he became a monk, and was 
buried there in 1094. His second son, 

(V) Henry de Newburgh, Earl of 
Warwick, was born about 1045, ^^ the 
Castle of Newbourg, in Normandy 
(whence the derivation of his name), and 
succeeded to his father's estates. From 
William the Conqueror he received great 
estates in Warwickshire, England, where 
he built the famous Warwick Castle. In 
1078 the Conqueror appointed him con- 
stable of Warwickshire; in 1080 he was 
appointed Baron of the Exchequer of 
Normand}^ ; about 1090 he was created 
Earl of Warwick by King William II. 
About 1090 he married Margaret de 
Perche, daughter of Geoffrey II. Comte 
de Perche by Beatrice, his wife, daughter 
of Hilduin IV. Comte de Montdidier et 
Roucy. She was living in 11 56. Henry 
de Newburgh died June 20, 1123, and was 
buried beside his father in the Abbey of 
Preaux. He and his descendants perma- 
nently adopted Newburgh as a family 
name. Their son, 

(VI) Robert de Newburgh was born 
about HOG. He succeeded to his father's 
estates in Normandy, where he resided. 
He served as seneschal (an officer of 
princes and dignitaries who had the 
superintendence of feasts and domestic 
ceremonies, and sometimes judicial and 
military powers) of the Dukedom of 



Ponteauxdemer, and received from Henry 
1. of England the grant of the manor of 
Winfreth, in Dorsetshire. He was a 
benefactor of the Abbey of Bee, in Nor- 
mandy, where late in life he became a 
monk. He died August 30, 1159, and 
was buried in that monastery. His son, 

(VII) Roger de Newburgh was born 
about 1 135 ; settled in Dorsetshire, England ; 
inherited his father's estates there. In 
1772 he and his wife founded and en- 
dowed the Cistercian Abbey of Bindon in 
Dorsetshire, and here they and ten gener- 
ations of their descendants were buried. 
He died about 1192. He married, about 
1170, Matilda de Glastonia, daughter of 
Robert and Azilia de Glastonia. Their 
son, 

(VIII) Robert de Newburgh was born 
about 1 175. He inherited his father's 
estates in Dorsetshire, and also inherited 
lands from his mother. His son, 

(IX) Robert de Newburgh was born 
about 1200. He inherited the Manor of 
Winfreth. In 1223 he married Lucy 

, who was living as late as 1270. 

I'heir son, 

(X) Henry de Newburgh, born about 
1223, succeeded to the family estates. In 
1276 he was summoned by King Edward 
I. to serve in the war against Llewellyn, 
Prince of North Wales. About 1250 he 
married Matilda . Their son, 

(XI) Jonathan de Newburgh was born 
about 1250. He inherited the ancestral 
estates. In 1306 he was collector in Dor- 
setshire of a subsidy for King Edward I. 

He married, about 1280, Margery . 

He died about 1309, and was buried in 
Bindon Abbey. Their son, 

(XII) Sir Robert de Newburgh, Knight, 
was born about 1280, and succeeded to 
the family estates. He was one of the 
Knights taken prisoner in 1322 at the 
battle of Boroughbridge in a rebellion 
under the Earl of Lancaster against King 



157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Edwara II. On account of this his estates 
were forfeited to the crown, but he se- 
cured a pardon and restoration of his 
lands upon payment of a fine of £ioo 
(equivalent to $10,000 to-day) taking an 
oath of allegiance to the King, and bind- 
ing himself to serve in the King's wars. 
In 1325 he served in an expedition into 
Gascony. He married, about 1315, Mar- 
garet . He died in 1338. Their 

son, 

(XIII) Sir Thomas Newburgh, Knight, 
was born about 1315. In this generation 
the "de" finally disappeared in records of 
the family name. He possessed the fam- 
ily estates. He married, about 1337, Ha- 

wisa , who died in November, 1381. 

He died about 1365. Their son, 

(XIV) John Newburgh, Esq., born 
about 1340, inherited his father's estates. 
He married, about 1370, Margaret, daugh- 
ter and co-heiress of Sir Nicholas Payntz. 
Knight, and his wife, Aleanore, daughter 
of Sir Jonathan Exleigh, Knight. This 
marriage greatly enlarged the estates of 
the Newburgh family. John Newburgh 
died June 4, 1381, and was buried at Bin- 
don Abbey. Their son, 

(XV) Jonathan Newburgh, Esq., was 
born about 1370. In 1420 he was sheriff 
of Dorsetshire. On February 24, 1438-39, 
he was appointed a commissioners for an 
inquisition in Dorsetshire ; this is the 
latest date recorded in connection with 
him. Prior to 1400 he married Joane, 
daughter of Sir John Delamere, Knight. 
Their son, 

(XVI) John Newburgh, Esq., was born 
about 1400. On July 26, 1444, he was 
appointed a justice for Dorset, and held 
that office for forty years, until his death. 
During the "Wars of the Roses" he was 
an adherent of the House of Lancaster, 
and after their final overthrow at the 
battle of Tewkesbury, May 4, 1471, politi- 
cal pardons being issued to the Lancas- 



trians on September i, 1471, a general 
pardon was granted to John Newburgh, 
the elder, of East Lullworth, County Dor- 
set, Esq., for all offenses committed be- 
fore x^ugust 5, 1471. He married, about 
1435, for his second wife, Mrs. Alice 
(Carent) Westbury, daughter of William 
Carent, of Toomer county, Somerset. She 
brought to her husband the Manor of 
Berkley, etc.. County Somerset. John 
Newburgh died April i, 1484. Their 
youngest son, 

(XVII) Thomas Newborough or New- 
burgh, Esq., was born about 1445. In 
1484 he was an overseer of the will of his 
father. He inherited from his mother 
the Manor of Berkley, and he also held 
the Manor of Warmwell and other estates 
in County Dorset. He married, about 

1584, Alice , who married (second) 

Thomas Kynton, and died in 1525. Thom- 
as Newborough died March 15, 1512-13. 
Their second son, 

(XVIII) Walter Newborough or New- 
burgh, Gent., was born about 1487. By 
deeds of gift from his father, his elder 
brother Jonathan, and his cousin, Sir 
Roger Newborough, he became the owner 
of more than seven hundred acres of land 
in Dorsetshire, and founded a new minor 
branch of the family seated at the manor 
house of Othe Francis, or Worth Francis, 
in the parish of Netherbury, which con- 
tinued there about two centuries. He 
married, about 15 12, Elizabeth Birport. 
Their son, 

(XIX) Richard Newberowe or New- 
burgh. Gent., the only heir of his father, 
was born in 15 17. He married, about 
1552, Elizabeth, daughter of William 
Horsey, Gent., of Binghams, a manor in 
the Parish of Netherbury. Their son, 

(XX) Richard Newberge, Newberowe 
or Newburgh, Gent., was born about 1557. 
He was a legatee and infant executor of 
the will of his father, dated December 3, 



158 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1568. Being a younger son he inherited 
no lands, nor did he secure much estate 
by his marriage to a distant kinswoman 
who was heiress to a small landed estate 
in Yarcombe, County Devon, about 
twelve miles west of Netherbury. There 
he resided during the remainder of his 
life. He married. January 15, 1580-81, 
Grace, daughter of Jonathan Matthew 
and granddaughter of Stephen and Isabel 
(Newburgh) Matthew. She was baptized 
at Yarcombe, November 21, 1558, and 
was buried there, December 18, 1632. 
Their fourth son, 

(XXI) Thomas Newberry, Gent., was 
baptized November 10, 1594. and was the 
immigrant ancestor of the American fam- 
ily. He engaged in legal study during 
several terms of the Court of Chancery. 
He occupied an estate called "Coweleyes," 
in Marshwood. County Dorset, the lease 
of which for ninety-nine years from 1625 
was held by his father-in-law, Christopher 
Dabinatt. In early manhood he espoused 
the Puritan faith. Pie was one of the 
"Dorchester Adventurers" who sailed 
from Plymouth, England, in March, 1630, 
in the ship "Mary and John," and founded 
Dorchester, Massachusetts. The first 
record of Thomas Newberry in Massa- 
chusetts is as a grantee of lands in Dor- 
chester, September i, 1634. He pur- 
chased for a dwelling a house built by 
William Pyncheon. He also acquired a 
farm of about four hundred acres south 
of the Neponset river, in what is now 
Atlantic. He was admitted a freeman, 
September 3, 1634, and was therefore a 
member of the church at that time. He 
immediately became prominent in public 
affairs, being chosen first selectman, Oc- 
tober 28, 1634; on March 4, 1634-35, he 
was deputy to the General Court ; on 
May 6, 16 — , he was "chosen overseer 
of the worke att Castle Ileland." This 
work doubtless concerned fortifications 



there. He was one of the active leaders 
in the project of settling Windsor, Con- 
necticut, but died suddenly, probably in 
December, 1635, before he had completed 
arrangements to remove thither. He was 
one of that limited number invariably 
termed "Mr.,"' bespeaking superior edu- 
cation, wealth and social position. The 
inventory of his estate would indicate 
that he had intended to engage in busi- 
ness as a merchant as well as in farming. 
The estate was appraised at more than 
£7,500. He married (first) Joane Dabinatt, 
born about 1600. died in England, about 
1629, leaving three sons and two daugh- 
ters. He married (second) about 1630 

Jane , by whom he had three 

daughters. Shortly after his death she 
removed with the children to Windsor, 
Connecticut, where she married, in 1637, 
the Rev. Jonathan Warham. She died at 
Norwalk, April 23, 1655. According to 
Stiles, she died April 23, 1645. 

(XXII) Major Benjamin Newberry, 
son of Thomas Newberry and his first 
wife, Joane (Dabinatt) Newberry, was 
born in England, about 1624. On Octo- 
ber 10, 1640, he received a grant of a 
home lot of thirteen acres and other 
lands from the Plantation of Windsor. 
Later by other grants, purchases and in- 
heritance, he became a large landowner. 
He was very prominent in town affairs, 
serving as townsman from 1656 to 1661, 
inclusive, and again in 1671-72. He was 
a lister in 1663 and 1687; from May, 
1656, to October, 1684, inclusive, was 
deputy to the General Court. In May, 
1685, he was elected an assistant of the 
colony, continuing in that office (except 
during the Andros usurpation of October, 
1687, to May, 1689,) until his death, Sep- 
tember II, 1689. From May, 1669, to 
May, 1684, lie was annually appointed a 
commissioner for Windsor, and during 
his long career served on many important 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



committees. He was equally active in 
military affairs, serving as ensign in 1655, 
lieutenant in 1658; was commissioned 
captain of the Windsor military company, 
June 7, 1660, and continued until Septem- 
ber 3, 1689, when he was promoted to be 
major of the Hartford county regiment 
of militia. In 1666, 1672 and 1673 he 
served on a council of war appointed by 
the General Court to have charge of mili- 
tary matters in the Connecticut Colony, 
and he served on this body until the 
spring of 1677. During King Philip's 
War he performed active service, being 
appointed on May 20, 1676, commander 
of a force of eighty men raised in Hart- 
ford and vicinity, and which marched to 
Northampton, Massachusetts. He died 
at Windsor, September 11, 1689, and his 
estate was inventoried at £563 i8s. He 
married, June 11, 1646, Mary, daughter 
of Hon. Matthew and Margaret Wyatt, 
of Braunton, County Devon, England, 
and later of Windsor, Connecticut. She 
was born about 1628, and died December 
14, 1703. Her father was a prominent and 
wealthy planter, and for ten years was a 
deputy to the General Court of Connec- 
ticut. He was a magistrate or assistant 
of the colony for ten years, and from 1660 
to 1664 a commissioner of the rented colo- 
nies of New England. Mrs. Newberry 
joined the church at Windsor on April i, 
1655, and her husband joined April 1 1, 
1658. Their son, 

(XXIII) Thomas Newberry was born 
in Windsor, Connecticut, September i, 
1657. He engaged in farming until his 
death, April 30, 1688. He was chosen 
fence viewer, February 4, 1684-85, and 
was a member of a committee in Janu- 
ary, 1685-86, to determine the boundary 
line between Hartford and Windsor. On 
March 12, 1676-77, he married Anna Ford, 
and after his death she married Joseph 
Leonard, and died at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January 6, 1690-91. Their son, 



(XXIV) Sergeant Joseph Newberry 
was born at what is now South Windsor, 
October 24, 1684. He was left an orphan 
at the age of seven. He received the 
homestead by inheritance from his father 
and his brother Benjamin. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman, April 30, 1717; was 
chosen fence viewer in 1718; was sur- 
veyor of highways in 1731-32; in No- 
vember, 1735, was appointed one of the 
four sergeants of the South Company of 
Windsor, on the east side of the Con- 
necticut river. He married, March 2, 
1708-09, Sarah, daughter of Jonathan and 
Sarah (Graves) Loomis. She was born 
September 13, 1689, and was buried at 
Windsor, July 31, 1771. Jonathan Loomis 
was born at Windsor, Connecticut, March 
30, 1664, married, December 27, 1688, 
Sarah Graves, who died July 17, 1699, 
daughter of Marshall George Graves and 
his wife Elizabeth, who was probably a 
Mitchell. He resided in Hartford, 1685- 
94, and died October 23, 1707, at Wind- 
sor. He was a son of Nathaniel Loomis, 
born about 1626, aforementioned. Ser- 
geant Newberry died August 30, 1751. 
Their son, 

(XXV) Joseph Newberry was born in 
what is now South Windsor, January 11, 
1709-10. He was a farmer, and succeeded 
to half of his father's real estate in Wind- 
sor, Barkhamsted and Torrington. He 
was a member of Captain Ebenezer 
Grant's company which was sent on a 
scouting expedition on the frontiers, De- 
cember 19, 1745. He was fence viewer, 
1740-43; surveyor of highways, 1744: 
tithingman, 1745 and 1765 ; lister, 1746- 
47, and brander of animals, 1748-73. He 
died January 28, 1797. He married, July 
6, 1749, Sybil Stoughton, born June 9, 
1730, died May 5, 1794, daughter of Ser- 
geant William and Elizabeth (Strick- 
land) Stoughton. Sergeant William 
Stoughton was born March 10, 1685-86, 
and died May 18, 1750. He married, July 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



6, 1 710, for his first wife, Elizabeth Strick- 
land. His father, John Stoughton, was 
born June 20, 1657. He settled on the 
quarry in what is now East Windsor. 
He was a leading man there. He served 
as selectman, and it is to his family papers 
that we owe much of the information con- 
cerning the earliest days at East Wind- 
sor, He married, August 24, 1682, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Thomas and Abigail 
(Moore) Bissell. She died July 17, 1688. 
His estate inventoried and distributed 
May 4, 1713, amounted to £271 2s gd. 
His father, (Ancient, or Ensign) Thomas 
Stoughton, was born in England, came 
to Dorchester, 1630-33, and to Windsor 
in 1640 with his father. He was a man of 
property and social distinction. He built 
the "Old Stoughton House" at "Stone 
Fort." He married, November 30, 1665, 
Mary, daughter of William Wadsworth. 
His father, Thomas Stoughton, Sr., came 
from England to Dorchester in 1630-33, 
and thence to Windsor about 1640, where 
he received a grant of land which he 
deeded to his son Thomas, July 17, 1645. 
He married for his first wife a Miss Moul- 
peson, who died in England. The Stough- 
ton family is an ancient one in England, 
the name dating back to 1135. Their 
son, 

(XXVI) John Newberry was born in 
what is now South Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, August 6, 1756. He inherited part 
of the homestead. During the Revolu- 
tionary War he served in the regiment 
under Lieutenant-Colonel Samuel Can- 
field, which was stationed at West Point, 
New York, in September, 1781. He had 
previously served in the garrison at New 
London Tower, his service extending 
from September 14 to October 24, 1778. 
He was a farmer. He married, February 
5, 1784, Elizabeth Ellsworth, born Janu- 
ary 16, 1765, daughter of Solomon and 
Mary (Moseley) Ellsworth. He died on 

Conn— 2— n l6l 



the homestead, April 23, 1825, and his 
wife died March 13, 1816, "a very valu- 
able and useful woman," according to her 
pastor, Rev. Dr. Thomas Robbins. Solo- 
mon Ellsworth was born in Windsor, 
Connecticut, April 30, 1737. He married, 
December 27, 1758, Mary, daughter of 
Abner Moseley, of Glastonbury. She was 
born December 8, 1737 (another record, 
perhaps of baptism, says January 11, 
1738), and died February 16, 1823. He 
died October 19, 1822. His father, Cap- 
tain John Ellsworth, was bom November 

7, 1697. He married. May (November) 

8, 1734, Ann Edwards, born April 28, 
1699, died April 11, 1790, daughter of the 
Rev. Timothy Edwards, of East Windsor. 
Tradition says that he served in the In- 
dian wars. He died January 4, 1784. She 
was a sister of the Rev. Jonathan Ed- 
wards. The Rev. Timothy Edwards was 
born May 14, 1669, was graduated from 
Yale, ordained as first pastor of the Sec- 
ond Church of Windsor in 1699, married, 
November 6, 1694, Esther, daughter of 
the Rev. Samuel Stoddard, of Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, by his first wife, 
Hester (or Esther), daughter of the Rev. 
Jonathan W'arham, the first minister at 
Windsor. He married for his second wife 
Jane, widow of Thomas Newberry, who 
died at Norwalk, Connecticut, April 23, 
1645, as already noted in this sketch. Rev. 
John W^arham died April i, 1670, having 
been forty years a minister in New Eng- 
land, six at Dorchester and thirty-four at 
Windsor. Cotton Mather wrote : "The 
whole colony of Connecticut considered 
him as a principal pillar and father of the 
colony." During the early years of the 
colony his name appears in connection 
with many real estate transactions, and 
he died possessed of a large estate. Rich- 
ard Edwards, father of the Rev. Timothy 
Edwards, was born in May, 1647, mar- 
ried, in 1667, for his first wife, Elizabeth, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of William Tuthill, of New 
Haven. His father, William Edwards, 
was a resident of Hartford about 1645. 
He married Agnes, widow of William 
Spencer, about 1646. He died before 
1672. Lieutenant John Ellsworth, father 
of Captain Jonathan Ellsworth, was born 
October 7, 1671. He was the first settler 
in Ellington, Connecticut, settled on the 
west side of Town street, nearly opposite 
the old Ellsworth place. He was killed 
by the fall of a tree, October 26, 1720. 
He married, December 9, 1696, Esther, 
daughter of Daniel White, of Hartford. 
She was born in 1671, and died Septem- 
ber 7, 1766. His father, Sergeant Josias 
Ellsworth, was born in 1629. Hinman 
says he was in Connecticut in 1646, but 
his name first appears on record in con- 
nection with his marriage, November 16, 
1654, to Elizabeth Holcomb. He was 
made a freeman, May 21, 1657 ; was juror 
in 1664. In 1676 he contributed three 
shillings to the "Connecticut Relief Fund 
for the Poor of Other Colonies." He died 
August 20, 1689. His estate was valued 
at £655. His widow died September 18, 
1712. The name Ellsworth is derived 
from that of a small village a few miles 
from Cambridge, England. This village 
is situated on a rivulet, once remarkable 
for eels. Hence, as the Saxon word 
"worth" signified place, the village was 
originally called Eelsworth, but after- 
wards Ellsworth, and as the custom for- 
merly was for the first settler in a new 
place to take the name of the settlement, 
we have, in that circumstance, the origin 
of the family name. 

(XXVII) Joseph Moseley Newberr>% 
son of John and Elizabeth (Ellsworth) 
Newberry, was born in what is now 
South Windsor, December 12, 1804, in 
the old family homestead which he in- 
herited. This house, built about 1785, is 
still in the possession of the family and 



is in a good state of preservation. He 
was a man of good abilities, a substantial 
and successful farmer. He held numer- 
ous town offices. In 1856 and 1866 he 
represented South Windsor in the State 
Legislature. He died March 8, 1870. He 
married, November 26, 1826, Jane Eliza- 
beth Mills, born in what is now South 
Windsor, October 15, 1805, died May 10, 
18S6, daughter of Augustus and Anna 
(Barber) Mills. Augustus Mills was bap- 
tized February 20, 1763, died June 11, 
1850. He married Anna, daughter of 
I\Ioses Barber, of Windsor, October 15, 
1783; she died December 15, 1815. His 
father, Captain Roswell Mills, of East 
Windsor, married Elizabeth ("Porter 
Genealogy" gives her name as Eleanor) 
Mills, born 1739, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Eleanor (Dodd) Porter. Nathaniel 
Porter was born January 14, 1709; mar- 
ried. August 3, 1738, Eleanor (Elizabeth) 
Dodd. born December i, 1712. His 
father. Joseph Porter, was born Febru- 
ary 7, 1675. He lived and died in Hart- 
ford. He married, December 5, 1699, 
Hannah Buell, born May 4, 1674, died 
1 761. His father, John Porter, born in 
England, in 1620. died in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, August 2, 1688. He married, in 
1650, ]\Iary Stanley, born in England, died 
September 13. 1688. daughter of Thomas 
Stanley, who came from England in the 
ship "Planter" in 1635; removed to Hart- 
ford with the Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
company in 1636; removed later to Had- 
ley, Massachusetts. His father, Jonathan 
Porter, according to the records in Eng- 
land, was in the sixteenth generation 
from William de la Grande, a Norman 
knight who participated in the Conquest 
in 1066, and who acquired lands in War- 
wickshire. His son, Ralph (or Roger) 
became "Grand Porteur" to Henry I., 
from which the patronymic "Porter" was 
derived. Jonathan Porter's name first 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



appears on the Windsor records in 1639. 
He was a man of considerable substance 
for that period. His wife Rose died in 
July, 1647. H^ <^i6d April 22, 1648. 

Mary Ann Newberry, daughter of Jo- 
seph M, Newberry, married Elisha Wil- 
liams (see Williams VII). 



CLARK, William Braddock, 

President of Aetna Fire Insurance Com- 
pany. 

Ira Remsen in his life of a noted physi- 
cist says, "some men are interesting be- 
cause of their ancestors, while some an- 
cestors are interesting because of their 
descendants " This in Mr. Clark's in- 
stance would seem to work both ways, 
for while he comes of an old and dis- 
tinguished family, each succeeding gener- 
ation has added fresh lustre to the name, 
ancestors and descendants being in their 
achievement interesting and honorable. 
The career of William B. Clark, of Hart- 
ford, chief executive of the leading fire 
insurance company in America, is one of 
exceeding interest and in tracing his rise 
from office clerk to president the lesson is 
borne home most forcibly that hard work, 
with natural aptitude and ability to faith- 
fully apply energy to the task in hand, 
will win to high position. He entered the 
office of the Phoenix Fire Insurance Com- 
pany in 1857, and it would be interesting 
to know how many other boys entered 
that company's employ in that year who 
are now unheard of. He had no influ- 
ential friends to push him forward, but 
so faithfully did he apply himself to the 
task in hand and so thoroughly did he go 
out after and master the details of the 
business, that in six years he had so im- 
pressed his value upon his superiors in 
rank that he was elected secretary of the 
company being then but twenty-two years 
of age. 



Biographies of successful men are valu- 
able for the lessons they teach to the 
young, and the lesson the life of Mr 
Clark teaches is the value of being in 
earnest, of putting the whole heart into 
the task in hand, and filling each position, 
no matter how humble, so efficiently that 
the call to "come up higher" cannot be 
long delayed. From the pinnacle of busi- 
ness success his example gives this word 
to American youth, be in earnest and 
bend every energy to the accomplishment 
of a purpose. 

Mr. Clark traces to an ancient English 
family, his American ancestor, that John 
Clark, first of Newtown (now Cam- 
bridge), Massachusetts, who was of the 
company who came to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in 1636, and whose name appears 
on the monument in the old cemetery of 
Center Congregational Church, dedicated 
to the memory of the early settlers of the 
city. He later settled in Farmington, was 
a soldier in the Pequot War, held various 
offices, and was a pillar of the First 
Church of Farmington. The line of de- 
scent is through his son, Matthew Clark, 
born before 1674, married about 1704, 
Ruth, daughter of John and Mary (Haw- 
kins) Judd. Their son, 

John Clark, born in 1712, married, in 
1742, Elizabeth, daughter of Captain John 
and Elizabeth (Hawkins) Newell, and 
resided in New Britain. Their son. 

Abel Clark, born in 1750. married, in 
1774, Abigail, daughter of James and 
Hannah (Andrews) Judd. Abel Clark 
was one of the seventy men who on Sep- 
tember 3, 1774, signed an agreement "to 
be in readiness and duly equipped with 
arms and ammunition to proceed to Bos- 
ton for the relief of our distressed 
brethren there." Their son. 

John Clark, born in 1787, married, in 
1812, Prudence, daughter of Joshua and 
Prudence (Curtis) WoodrufT, and lived 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at the old homestead in Stanley Quarter, 
New Britain. He was a soldier in the 
War of 1812, serving as corporal in Cap- 
tain Dean Deming's company, Colonel 
Brainerd's regiment. He died in 1835. 
Their son, 

Abel Newell Clark, father of William 
Braddock Clark, was born at New Britain, 
Connecticut, June 12, 1819, died in 1867. 
For several years he was a merchant of 
Hartford, then became bookkeeper and 
general business manager and one of the 
owners of the "Hartford Courant," con- 
tinuing as such for twenty years until 
his death, a potent factor in shaping the 
course of that journal. He possessed an 
enormous capacity for hard work, and 
was deeply conscientious. The "New 
York Times" said of him: "In the death 
of Mr. Clark the editorial fraternity has 
lost one of its most useful members, and 
the city one of her most active, upright 
business men." He married, April 2"], 
1840, Emily I. Braddock, born December 
7, 1821, died May 6, 1896, daughter of 
John and Emily (Welles) Braddock. 

From such ancestry and from such a 
father and mother, William Braddock 
Clark inherited his capacity for hard 
work, his conscientious devotion to duty, 
a heritage of priceless value that, im- 
proved and given scope for action under 
later nineteenth and early twentieth cen- 
tury conditions and opportunities, has 
brought forth a harvest so abundant. 
Born at Hartford, June 29, 1841, he was 
educated in public schools, New Britain 
High School and N. L. Gallup's College, 
Green School. He began business life in 
the office of the "Hartford Courant," con- 
tinuing for one year, then in 1857 entered 
the employ of the Phoenix Fire Insur- 
ance Company as a clerk. He found, the 
business to his liking, and with all his 
talent, energy and aptitude appHed him- 
self to mastering every detail of the insur- 



ance business, whether it came within the 
circle of his appointed task or beyond it. 
He pursued such a course of action for 
six years, and although advanced in rank, 
the first important recognition of the fact 
that the company possessed a valuable 
asset in his services came on August 27, 
1863, a few weeks after he had passed his 
twenty-second birthday, in his election as 
secretary of the company. He filled that 
position for four years, not only to the 
satisfaction of his own company, but in 
a manner that attracted the attention of 
the ofificials of other companies in the in- 
surance business. In all he spent nearly 
eleven years with the Phoenix Fire In- 
surance Company, and so thoroughly had 
he impressed his individuality upon the 
insurance men of his city that in 1867 
the ^tna (Fire) Insurance Company 
made overtures to him and on December 
I, 1867, he was elected assistant secretary 
of that company. This was his first and 
last change of companies, but not of rank. 
As assistant secretary of the ^Etna, a 
position he held for twenty-one years, he 
won high reputation as a fire underwriter, 
ranking as one of the ablest in that city of 
able insurance men. 

A few weeks after the death of L. J. 
Hendee, president of the .^tna (Fire) In- 
surance Company, which occurred Sep- 
tember 4, 1888, Mr. Clark was elected 
vice-president of the company. In that 
position he found a wider field of oppor- 
tunity for the exercise of his well proven 
talents and for the practical expression 
of the ideas as well as the ideals that he 
had developed as a result of his long and 
careful study of insurance problems. 
Four years later President Jonathan 
Goodnow died (November 19, 1892), and 
shortly afterward Mr. Clark was elected 
president of the company. His elevation 
to that ofltice, by coincidence only, oc- 
curred on the twenty-fifth anniversar)^ of 

64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his entering the company's service as as- 
sistant secretary, December i, 1867. At 
the time of assuming- the executive chair 
he was with one exception the youngest 
fire insurance president, although in years 
of service he was the senior insurance 
official in his city. His selection met with 
the unanimous approval of the insurance 
world, but the tribute he most appreci- 
ated came from his own company, his 
subordinates in office, an expression of 
their appreciation of the fairness and con- 
sideration they had always received from 
him, as well as a tribute to his ability. 
This came in the form of an ovation given 
Mr. Clark by the entire office force, and 
as an expression of their high esteem and 
good will he was presented with a beauti- 
ful gift of cut glass and silver. 

Nearly a quarter of a century has since 
elapsed, but that feeling of confidence in 
his fairness, his consideration for them, 
has but deepened and the esteem and good 
will with which they welcomed him has 
grown stronger with the years. That his 
management of his company has been wise 
and progressive, is attested by the fact 
that the ^tna (Fire) Insurance Company 
is the leading fire insurance company in 
this country. While the executive manage- 
ment of .(^tna is his first and chief con- 
cern, Mr. Clark is identified officially with 
many other corporations and institutions 
of Hartford, financial and otherwise. For 
forty years he was a director of the old 
City Bank, and is now a director of the 
Travelers' Insurance Company, the First 
National Bank, the Society for Savings 
(vice-president), and Cedar Hill Ceme- 
tery Association. In 1896 he served as 
president of the National Board of Fire 
Underwriters, declining reelection. 

Nor has he been neglectful of the obli- 
gations of good citizenship. In 1880-82 
he represented the old Third Ward of 
Hartford on the board of aldermen, serv- 



ing as chairman of the ordinance and 
printing committees. He accepted ap- 
pointment to the board of water commis- 
sioners in 1882, serving through reap- 
pointments a term of nine years. He was a 
member of the famous committee on Out- 
door Alms which in i8go effected impor- 
tant city reforms. In political faith he is 
a lifelong Republican. 

All his life he has been interested in 
military affairs, becoming a member of 
the noted "Wide Awakes" before he was 
of age ; was treasurer of the civil organ- 
ization and paymaster on the major's 
staff. His father was an active member 
of the Governor's Foot Guard, and Mr. 
Clark, the subject of this article, was a 
member and served as vice-president and 
president of the Veteran Corps of the 
Guard. It was as a result of his persistent 
efforts that the Veteran Corps was re- 
vived, many of the old members of the 
Guard induced to join, and the Corps 
placed on a sound financial basis, now 
paying rent to the Guard for the quarters 
they formerly occupied by favor. 

Mr. Clark is a member of the First 
Baptist Church, and a believer in a prac- 
tical religion for every day use. A man 
of broad sympathy and generous to a 
fault, he has always been a friend of 
benevolent and charitable institutions. 
Since 1880 he has been a member of the 
corporation of Hartford Hospital, and 
since 1890 a director of the Retreat for 
the Insane, also of the Municipal Art So- 
ciety. 

Mr. Clark married. May 13, 1863, Caro- 
line H. Robbins, born March 22, 1844, 
daughter of Philemon F. and Emily 
(Strickland) Robbins. They have three 
children : Charlotte B. ; Alice Robbins, 
who married Edward S. Allen, and has 
three sons: William B. Clark, Edwin 
Stanton and Francis R. Allen ; Caroline 
Emily. Two children died in childhood. 



165 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ever careful in his life, Mr. Clark, 
despite his years and load of responsi- 
bility, is at his desk every day, and shouts 
little to indicate those years with w^hich 
the calendar accuses him. He is a man of 
forceful personality, with a will to over- 
come every obstacle to the accomplish- 
ment of a purpose. He is a constructive 
executive, and has the faculty of inspir- 
ing confidence and winning the loyal sup- 
port as well as the esteem of those associ- 
ated with him. 



LUTHER, Rev. Flavel S., Jr., 

President of Trinity College. 

Rev. Flavel Sweeten Luther is a direct 
descendant of one of the few families of 
purely German extraction which settled 
in America in the early part of the colo- 
nization period. The family traces its 
lineage to Johannes Luther, brother of 
Martin Luther, the great leader of the 
Reformation. Johannes Luther was born 
in Eisleben, Saxony, the son of Henry 
Luther. The date of his birth is placed 
between the years 1475 and 1490. His 
descendants of the third or fourth gener- 
ation emigrated from Germany to Holland, 
whence after a period of about a century 
they went to England, some of them set- 
tling in County Sussex, where there is 
record of one Wilhelm Luther, who 
reached the age of one hundred and eight 
years. Some branches of the family in 
England attained great prominence and 
became the owners of much landed prop- 
erty in the vicinities in which they settled. 
An anglicized form of the name generally 
used at the time was Luton, the original 
form being employed in legal documents, 
however. The American branch of the 
family, of which Hon. Flavel S. Luther, 
is a descendant in the ninth generation, 
was established in this country in the 
early part of the seventeenth century, by 



Captain John Luther, a member of the 
English branch of the ancient German 
family. 

Captain John Luther, the progenitor, 
was a native of Shrewsbury, England. 
He left England in 1635, sailing from 
Dorset county, England, and arriving in 
the port of Boston, in Massachusetts 
Colony. In 1637 he became one of the 
first purchasers and settlers of Swansea. 
He is mentioned in early records of the 
town as the owner of ninety acres of land 
which are said to have been purchased 
from the Indians for a peck of white 
beans. It is thought that the land was 
assigned by the government, and the ex- 
change of the beans made with the In- 
dians to preclude any opposition. Cap- 
tain Luther remained in Swansea until 
1642, when he sold his interests and be- 
came one of the original settlers of 
Gloucester. He was a mariner, and was 
employed by one of the merchants of 
Boston as captain of a vessel to go to 
Delaware Bay on a trading voyage. He 
was killed by the Indians on this expe- 
dition in 1644. It is evident from early 
court records of the time that his son 
accompanied him on the voyage and was 
captured at the same time. On May 2, 
1646, the General Court of Massachusetts 
decreed that the Widow Luther should 
have the balance of her husband's wages 
according to sea custom, after the mer- 
chants had been reimbursed for expenses 
incurred in redeeming her son. 

Hezekiah Luther, son of Captain John 
Luther, was probably born at Taunton, 
Massachusetts, in 1640, and died July 23, 
1723. He was one of the first settlers of 
Swansea, Massachusetts, and his de- 
scendants settled in the adjoining town 
of Rehoboth, and in various parts of 
Rhode Island. He married (first) Eliza- 
beth ; (second) Sarah . 

Their son, John (2) Luther, was born 



166 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in 1663, and died April 14, 1697; he mar- 
ried, January 25, 1687, Hopestill Butter- 
worth. Their son, Nathaniel Luther, was 
born August 17, 1692, and married, June 
4, 171 5, Mercy Boomer. Their son, Mat- 
thew Luther, was born August 26, 1721, 
and married, December 20, 1747, Eleanor 
Gansey. Their son, Peleg Luther, was 
born August 18, 1756, and married, in 
J 780, Mary Nichols; he later removed to 
Providence, Rhode Island, where he died, 
November 4, 1810. Their son. Job Luther, 
was born April 3, 1793, in Swansea, and 
died in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, on 
March 22, 1875 ; he followed the occupa- 
tion of teamster in Providence, where he 
resided; he married (first) Lucy Ann 
Peck, daughter of Darius Peck, of See- 
konk, December 15, 1823; he married 
(second) October 13, 1829, Caroline Reed 
Ormsby. 

Flavel Sweeten Luther, son of Job and 
Lucy Ann (Peck) Luther, was born in 
Providence, Rhode Island, November 9, 
1825. He received his early education in 
the public schools of the city, and later 
attended a private school in Providence, 
kept by Benjamin Burns. After leaving 
school he was employed for several years 
in various stores, after which he served 
an apprenticeship of four years at cabinet 
making in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. Mr. 
Luther later became interested in the 
business of organ building. He owned 
a farm at Brooklyn, Connecticut, where 
he purchased a news agency, which he 
conducted successfully for thirty years, 
becoming a prominent member of the 
community there. He died August 16, 
1913, in Hartford, Connecticut. He was 
a member of Trinity Protestant Episco- 
pal Church of Brooklyn. His political 
sympathies were with the Republican 
party. 

Flavel Sweeten Luther married, March 
26, 1849, at Brooklyn. Connecticut, Jane 



Jerusha Lillie, born at Brooklyn, January 
20, 1824, daughter of Jacob and Joanna 
(Manning) Lillie. Her father was a 
farmer there, and also a butcher ; served 
as an ensign in the War of 1812, stationed 
at New London, Connecticut. Children, 
born at Brooklyn, Connecticut : i. Flavel 
Sweeten, mentioned below. 2. Hcrmon 
Lillie, born March 12, 1855 ; graduate of 
Racine College, took post-graduate course 
at Harvard, and after a few years of teach- 
ing studied law and was admitted to the 
bar of Minnesota, later becoming a suc- 
cessful lawyer in that State ; married, De- 
cember 29, 1885, Kate C. O. Blake; died 
P'ebruary 2, 1904; child: Hermon Blake, 
born October 31, 1886, died February 2, 
1887. 3. Riverius Manning, born June 30, 
1868; was a graduate of Trinity College, 
Hartford, Connecticut, in the class of 
1890; electrical engineer by profession; 
died, unmarried, November 28, 1891. 

Rev. Flavel Sweeten Luther, son of 
P^lavel Sweeten and Jane Jerusha (Lillie) 
Luther, was born in Brooklyn, Connecti- 
cut, March 26, 1850. He was educated in 
the local schools of Brooklyn, and at the 
age of seventeen years entered the sopho- 
more class of Trinity College in Hartford, 
from which institution he was graduated 
in his twentieth year, the third in his 
class. He took high honors in mathe- 
matics, and won the first prize in that 
subject in his sophomore year. In the 
fall of 1870 he went to Troy, New York, 
where he assumed charge of a parish 
school of one hundred members, and in 
addition to his work began the study of 
theology under the Rev. Dr. Coit. When 
he became of age he was ordained a dea- 
con of the Protestant Episcopal church by 
Bishop Doane. His success as a teacher 
and disciplinarian in Troy was quite 
marked, and in 1873 he was appointed 
rector of a large Episcopal school in 
Racine, Wisconsin. In conjunction with 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his duties there he devoted much time to 
the study of mathematics, in which he 
had always been extremely proficient and 
which remained his favorite study. In 
1876 he was appointed to the chair of 
mathematics in Racine College, which he 
filled until 1881, when he accepted a simi- 
lar post with Kenyon College, in Gambler, 
Ohio. After two years at Kenyon Col- 
lege, he returned to the East, to accept 
a call to the chair of mathematics in Trin- 
ity College, Hartford, thirteen years after 
his graduation therefrom. 

In 1903 Professor Luther became act- 
ing president of Trinity, and in 1904 its 
president, succeeding in that office Dr. 
George W. Smith. While teaching mathe- 
matics and astronomy at Trinity, he also 
was consulting engineer for the Pope 
Manufacturing Company, the largest and 
most important bicycle company in the 
countr}^, and was actively connected with 
its development. While engaged in this 
work, Professor Luther showed a mechan- 
ical and inventive genius of a high order, 
and one of his inventions for the bicycle 
is used on every bicycle manufactured to- 
day. In appreciation of his services to 
the company in the invention of this part, 
he was given a handsome present in ad- 
dition to his salary. 

President Luther has brought to the 
administration of the aftairs of Trinity 
College a spirit of progress which has 
achieved much for the college. In ad- 
dition to the long experience in teaching 
and directing schools, his theological 
training, his service as a college professor, 
his love for and thorough knowledge of 
the field of mathematics and engineering, 
he has brought to his work the keen judg- 
ment and foresight of the man who has 
been in actual touch with the business 
world, and who knows the science of han- 
dling men and affairs, not theoretically but 
practically. Trinity College is not a rich 



college and this business ability has been 
of much value in inspiring trust among 
those who support it by endowments and 
gifts. President Luther has the gift of 
being able to bring to the front the loyalty 
and love of the students under him. Dur- 
ing his administration Trinity has pros- 
pered in every department of her work 
and affairs. 

President Luther received the degree of 
LL. D. from Trinity College in 1904, 
shortly before his inauguration. He is 
a preacher of note, and has declined sev- 
eral offers of positions of prominence in 
the church, in the interests of the college. 
He is also an able public speaker and a 
fine conversationalist. Since his coming 
to Trinity he has done much to advance 
the athletics of the college to a higher 
plane in the scale of inter-collegiate sports 
and was chiefly responsible for the new 
athletic field of the college. He refused 
an offer to become president of Kenyon 
College while still a professor at Trinity. 
President Luther has always maintained 
a keen interest in public affairs, and has 
been prominently identified with many 
movements for civic betterment. He was 
twice elected to the State Senate, serving 
from 1907 to 1910, inclusive. During his 
terms in the Legislature he rendered valu- 
able services as chairman of the commit- 
tees on education and contingent ex- 
penses, and as a member of the com- 
mittees on military aflFairs and legislative 
expenses. In discussing the advantages 
of a commission form of government in 
the State, at a City Club Civic Luncheon, 
President Luther made the following re- 
marks: "If we put the responsibility of 
our affairs into the hands of a small body 
of trained men and pay them enough to 
keep them there things would be very 
greatly improved. Select this body of not 
more than fifteen from the state at large 
to consider such legislation as is necessary 

68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and to repeal such laws as are unnecessary 
— -and there are a tremendous lot of them 
— and pay them a living salary. Let us 
select these men because they know some- 
thing about their jobs. Let them stay in 
office until they become familiar with 
their work. This method will be found to 
be cheaper, more satisfactory and to the 
best interests of the State. According to 
the present plan of State government 
some good men get into office, but they 
don't know anything about parliamentary 
law.. As soon as they learn, somebody 
else comes in and takes their seats. I 
don't expect to see the plan just outlined 
to go into effect next year, and it prob- 
ably never will, but the tendency to fix 
responsibility is growing." Dr. Luther 
advocated the elimination of politics, 
"But," said he, "if we must have Repub- 
licans and Democrats and Socialists and 
Prohibitionists and others, let us all vote 
for this small body of selected men any- 
way." Dr. Luther made a comparison 
between State and National legislation. 
He pointed out that five supreme court 
judges could repeal any action that repre- 
sentatives and senators might take if they 
were satisfied that the legislation was not 
favorable to them. President Luther is 
a member of the American Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers, and of the Delta 
Upsilon fraternity. During 191 5, on leave 
of absence from Trinity, he traveled ex- 
tensively throughout the United States, 
visiting many colleges from coast to coast. 
Rev.Flavel Sweeten Luther married, No- 
vember 2, 1871, Isabelle Blake Ely, born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, August 27, 184(8, 
daughter of Alfred Eli and Mary Jones 
(Bull) Ely. They have no children. Mrs. 
Luther is a member of the Colonial Dames 
of America. 

(The Ely Line). 

Mrs. Isabelle B. (Ely) Luther is de- 
scended directly from Nathaniel Ely, the 



progenitor of one of the very numerous 
Ely families in America. The published 
genealogy entitled "Nathaniel Ely and 
His Descendants" contains an interesting 
statement of the results obtained in an 
effort to trace the family in England ; but 
as no positive knowledge of the ante- 
cedents of Nathaniel Ely was obtained, 
we shall begin this brief narrative with 
the record of the immigrant ancestor. 

Tt has been assumed that Nathaniel Ely 
was born in 1605, in Tenterden, County 
Kent, England. He married Martha 

, and came to America about the 

same time as Robert Day (1634), who 
was his nearest neighbor in Newtown, 
now Cambridge, Massachusetts. They 
both took the freeman's oath at Cam- 
bridge, May 6, 1635. The following year 
they were members of the company who 
came to Connecticut with the Rev. Thom- 
as Hooker and settled at what is now 
Hartford. Nathaniel Ely became pos- 
sessed of ten parcels of land in Hartford. 
He was constable in 1639; selectman in 
1643 and 1649. His name appears on the 
Central Monument in "The Ancient 
Burying-Ground of Hartford" erected to 
the memory of the "Founders of Hart- 
ford." He was one of the leaders in the 
settlement of Norwalk. Connecticut. In 
1649, on the petition of Nathaniel Ely and 
Richard Olmsted, of Hartford, the Gen- 
eral Court gave permission for the settle- 
ment of Norwalk, and about four years 
later invested the inhabitants with town 
privileges. In 1654 he was elected a con- 
stable of Norwalk; selectman in 1656; 
representative to the General Court in 
1657. Two years later he sold his prop- 
erty and removed to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, where he spent the remainder 
of his life. There he was prominent in 
public life as he had been at Norwalk and 
Hartford; was selectman in 1661, 1663, 
1666, 1668, 1671 and 1673. In iGf'tS he 
69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



became the keeper of the "ordinary," or 
tavern, and continued in that business 
until his death in 1675. In granting him 
his license, the County Court released him 
"from Trayning in ye Towne soe long as 
he continues to keep ye Ordinary." The 
Ely tavern occupied a prominent site on 
Main street until about 1845 when the 
building was removed to the corner of 
Dwight and Sanford streets, where it was 
still standing not many years ago. He 
died December 25, 1675, and his widow 
died in Springfield, October 23, 1688. 

There is no record of where or when 
their son, Samuel Ely, was born. His 
name first appears as a witness on a deed 
given by the Indians to his father and 
others dated February 15, 1651. That 
was in Norwalk. He was industrious and 
thrifty and left a considerable estate. He 
married, in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
October 28, 1659, Mary Day, daughter of 
Robert and Editha (Stebbins) Day, who 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 1641. 
He died in Springfield, March 19, 1692. 
His widow was married twice after his 
death, and she died as the widow of Dea- 
con Jonathan Coleman, of Hatfield, Octo- 
ber 17, 1725. 

Deacon John Ely, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Day) Ely, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, January 28, 1678, and died 
m West Springfield, January 15, 1758. 
He married, December 30, 1703, Mercy 
Bliss, born July 18, 1680, died in West 
Springfield, May 5, 1763, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Mary (Leonard) Bliss. 

Caleb Ely, son of Deacon John and 
Mercy (Bliss) Ely, was born in W^est 
Springfield, Massachusetts, October 25, 
1714, and died there. May 16, 1754. He 
married. May 21, 1740, Mary Edwards, 
born in Hartford, Connecticut, August 20, 
1721, died in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 7, 1783, daughter of Deacon 
John and Christian (Williamson) Ed- 
wards (see Edwards). 



William Ely, son of Caleb and Mary 
(Edwards) Ely, was born in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, June 15, 1743, and 
died there, March 2, 1825. He married, 
October 12, 1766, Drusilla Brewster, born 
November 3, 1745, died October 13, 1828, 
daughter of William and Damaris (Gates) 
Brewster (see Brewster). 

Eli Ely, son of William and Drusilla 
(Brewster) Ely, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, July 25, 1772, 
and died in Hartford, Connecticut, April 
6, 1842. He was for many years a suc- 
cessful merchant in Hartford. He mar- 
ried, in Hartford, April i, 1798, Bathsheba 
Blake, born November 22,, ^777, died Sep- 
tember 22, 1832, daughter of Amariah and 
Hannah (Babcock) Blake, of Milton, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

Alfred Eli Ely, son of Eli and Bath- 
sheba (Blake) Ely, was born in Hartford, 
Connecticut, October 14, 1814, and died 
November 3, 1887. He and his brothers, 
William and Henry, succeeded to the 
father's business. He married, in North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, June 2, 1841, 
Mary Jones Bull, born January 20, 1820, 
daughter of James Perry and Mary (Col- 
ton) Bull (see Colton). Their daughter, 
Isabelle Blake, become the wife of the 
Rev. Flavel S. Luther (see Luther). 

(The Edwards Line). 

Deacon John Edwards, father of Mary 
(Edwards) Ely, was born February 27, 
1694. and died January 18, 1769. His 
mother was Mary (Talcott) Edwards, 
second wife of Richard Edwards, and 
therefore Deacon John Edwards was a 
half-brother of the famous Rev. Timothy 
Edwards, father of the Rev. Jonathan Ed- 
wards, president of Princeton College. 
Richard Edwards was a merchant in 
Hartford. He married Elizabeth Tuthill, 
of Middletown. 

His father, William Edwards, the im- 
migrant ancestor, was the son of Richard 



170 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGFL\PHY 



Edwards, of Wales, who removed to Ox- 
ford in the latter part of Queen Eliza- 
beth's reign, and after that went to Lon- 
don, where he was a minister of the 
Church of England. After his death his 
widow married a Mr. Coles, who became 
truly a father to his wife's young son. 
They brought young Edwards with them 
to Boston, Massachusetts, where they 
arrived about 1630. Richard Edwards is 
first heard of in Hartford. Connecticut, 
where he married Anne, widow of Wil- 
liam Spencer. 

(The Brewster Line). 

William Brewster, father of Drusilla 
(Brewster) Ely, was born September 16, 
1 714. He was probably a farmer, evi- 
dently very industrious and successful. 
He removed from Preston to Canterbury 
after the birth of his first child in 1738. 
He joined the church there in 1751. The 
following year he purchased land in 
Windham and removed there. His name 
appears in connection with many transfers 
of land between 1752 and 1786. and it 
would seem that he suffered severe prop- 
erty losses during the Revolution. He 
married for his first wife at Preston, Con- 
necticut. March 24. 1737. Damaris Gates, 
born December iS, 171S. died in Canter- 
bury. Connecticut. September 7, 1751. 
daughter of Joseph and Damaris (Rose) 
Gates, of Norwich. Connecticut. 

His father. Benjamin Brewster, was 
bom July 7. 1688. He married for his 
first wife at Preston. Connecticut. Octo- 
ber 10 or 16, 1713. Elizabeth Witter, born 
in Preston. March 3. 1694, died February 
21. 1740-41. daughter of Ebenezer and 
Dorothy (Morgan') Witter, and grand- 
daughter of Josiah Witter, and great- 
granddaughter of William Witter, who 
emigrated from Scotland to L\Tnan, Mas- 
sachusetts. Benjamin Brewster's estate 
was appraised at ±2.340. from which we 



may infer that he was exceptionally pros- 
perous for his day. Letters of adminis- 
tration were granted to his widow and 
eldest son. William, on November 7. 1752. 

His father. Deacon William Brewster, 
resided at Duxbury. Massachusetts, and 
was "a worthy man. who was often em- 
ployed to good advantage in the civil 
affairs of the town." He took the free- 
man's oath in 1689. Fie became a large 
landowner, and was deacon of the church. 
He married. January- 2, 1672, Lydia Part- 
ridge, daughter of George and Sarah 
(Tracy) Partridge ; she died Februax}- 
2. 1742-43. '"aged near yS years ;" George 
Partridge came in the "'James" in 1636. 

His father. Love Brewster, came in the 
■Ma^-flower'* with his parents. He was 
made a freeman. March 2. 1635-36. "He 
early removed from Plymouth to Dux- 
bun.- and devoted himself to the cultiva- 
tion of the paternal acres in Duxbur\-, 
forming there with his father a family 
loome * * * where, in due time, a 
portion of the estate became his own 
and his children's inheritance."' He was 
among those who volunteered to serve in 
the Pequot War in 1637. and in the mili- 
tan.- enrollment of 1643 his name appears 
as a member of Captain Myles Standish's 
Duxbury company. He was grand jur}-- 
man in 1643. and in 1645 "^^'^^ one of 
the proprietors of what later was called 
Bridgewater. The inventors- of his estate 
was made by "'William Collyar and Cap- 
tame Miles Standish" on ""January the 
last day 1650." It amounted to £97-07-01. 
He married. May 15. 1634. (O. S.) Sarah, 
daughter of William Collier, of Duxbury. 
She married (second) Richard Parke, of 
Cambridge. Massachusetts, and died at 
Plymouth. April 26, 1691. in her seventy- 
sixth year. William Collier was bom in 
England, and was one of the ""Merchant 
Adventurers'' who came to New England 
in 1633. He was elected assistant coun- 
■I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cillor to the governor of the Plymouth 
Colony in 1634, and with the exception of 
the year 1653 held the office continuously 
until 1666. He was one of the two com- 
missioners appointed by the Plymouth 
Colony in 1643 to form a confederation of 
the New England Colonies. "He appears 
to have been the wealthiest man in Dux- 
bury, being rated the highest on the tax 
list." "He was a distinguished early set- 
tler and a great benefactor to the Colony." 
His father, Elder William Brewster, 
was born during the last half of the year 
1566 or the first half of 1567, probably at 
Scrooby in Nottinghamshire, England. 
He matriculated at Peterhouse, Cumber- 
land, England, December 3, 1580. A more 
detailed narrative of the career of Elder 
William Brewster will be found in the 
genealogy of the Rt. Rev. Chauncey B. 
Brewster which appears elsewhere in this 
work. Elder Brewster married Mary 
, who died at Plymouth, Massachu- 
setts, April 17, 1627. He died there, April 
10, 1644. 

(The Colton Line). 

Deacon Reuben Colton, father of Mary 
(Colton) Bull, mother of Mary Jones 
(Bull) Ely, was born in Longmeadow, 
Massachusetts, November 26, 1762. He 
resided in Enfield for many years ; repre- 
sented the town in the Legislature in 
1808-09 ; was deacon in the church, and 
recognized as one of the leading citizens. 
"Business complications, and a very liter- 
al interpretation of scriptural injunctions 
which seemed to forbid his taking legal 
measures to enforce his rights, led him to 
emigrate to the central part of New York 
State, then the 'far west'." He married 
for his first wife in Greenwich, Massachu- 
setts, September 13, 1787, Sally Harwood, 
born in 1768, and died August i, 1810, in 
Enfield, Massachusetts. He died on his 
farm in Geneseo, New York, in 1822. 

His father, Samuel Colton, was born 



December 11, 1718. He married, Febru- 
ary 19, 1751, Mary Hoar, of Brimfield, 
Massachusetts. They resided in Green- 
wich, Massachusetts. The births of their 
children are recorded in Springfield. 

His father. Lieutenant Ephraim Colton, 
was born February 8, 1672, in Long- 
meadow, Massachusetts, and died Sep- 
tember 22, 1753. He married, in West- 
field, Massachusetts, February i, 1699, 
Mary Noble, born June 29, 1680, daughter 
of Thomas and Harriet (Warriner) Noble, 

His father, Ephraim Colton, was born 
in Longmeadow, Massachusetts, April 9, 
1648. He married, November 17, 1670, 
Mary Drake, daughter of Job Drake, of 
Windsor. She died in 1681. The fore- 
going is according to the "Longmeadow 
Centennial" and the "Colton Family Gene- 
alogy." According to "Stiles' Ancient 
Windsor," Mary Drake was born Decem- 
ber 12, 1649, ar'd married Thomas Mar- 
shall, March 3, 1685-86. Ephraim Colton 
and his wife first settled in Longmeadow, 
but about 1696 removed to Enfield, Con- 
necticut, where he died. May 14, 1713. 
John Drake, father of Job Drake, was 
born at Wiscomb, County Devon, Eng- 
land, about 1600. He married Elizabeth 
Rogers. He came to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, about 1630, and on October 19 of 
that year, he petitioned to be made a free- 
man. In 1638-39 he was one of forty- 
six original purchasers and proprietors 
of Taunton, Massachusetts, but did not 
settle there. Stiles says he settled in 
Windsor before 1639, and was killed in 
a runaway accident, August 17, 1659. His 
widow died October 7, 1681, "at looth 
year of age." John Drake was of the 
ninth generation in direct descent from 
Jonathan Drake, of Exmouth, England, 
1630, who married Christian, daughter of 
Jonathan Billett, and acquired the manor 
of Ashe, County Devon. 

George Colton, father of Ephraim Col- 



172 



ASTOR, LENOX 
riLDEN FOUNDATIONSj 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton, who was referred to as "Quarter- 
master," is supposed to have been born 
in Sutton, Coldfield, County Warwick, 
England. We know not when he came to 
America, but we find him in Masacksich, 
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, in 1644. 
About that time he married Deborah 
Gardner (or Goodner), of Hartford. He 
took the oath of allegiance in 1665; was 
made freeman in 1669-71 ; and was repre- 
sentative to the Massachusetts General 
Court in 1677. ^'^^ was one of the com- 
missioners appointed by the General Court 
to lay out and sell lots in the new planta- 
tion of Suffield. In 1722 fifty acres of 
land were laid out in Suffield to the as- 
signs of George Colton, then deceased, in 
recognition of his services. He was a 
trusted, prominent and public-spirited 
citizen. 



HYDE, Hon. Ephraim Henry, 
liieutenant-GovernoT. 

The name of Hyde holds an eminent 
position in the roll of Connecticut's colo- 
nial families. The progenitor of the fam- 
ily in America, William Hyde, was one of 
the founders of the city of Hartford, and, 
from that time to the present, members of 
the family, distinguished for their ability, 
have rendered signal service to their State 
and country in the development of in- 
dustry, as members of the professions and 
in the capacity of efficient and faithful 
public officials. 

The Hyde family is an old one in Eng- 
land, the name being found on record for 
five hundred years. William Hyde, the 
immigrant ancestor, was a native of Eng- 
land. The exact date of his coming to 
America is unknown, but his name ap- 
pears on record in Hartford in 1636. He 
was an original proprietor in 1639-40, his 
name being perpetuated as such on the 
monument in the old graveyard at the 



rear of the First Church in Hartford. He 
was doubtless a member of Rev. Thomas 
Hooker's company. He was in Saybrook 
as early as 1652, and we find him named 
as one of the original thirty-five propri- 
etors of Norwich in 1660. He was a man 
of considerable wealth, and was promi- 
nent in the colony. He served several 
terms as selectman. His death occurred 
at Norwich, January 6, 1681. 

From him the line descends through 
Samuel Hyde, born in 1637, and died in 
1677; his son, Thomas Hyde, born in 
July, 1672, and died April 9, 1755; his 
son. Captain Jacob Hyde, who was born 
January 20, 1703, and resided at Norwich 
West Farms. His son, Ephraim Hyde, 
was born April 23, 1734, and his son, 
Jasper Hyde, was born at Stafford in De- 
cember, 1769. He engaged in the manu- 
facture of iron in his native town, and ac- 
cumulated great wealth for his day. He 
was one of the town's most useful citi- 
zens. His death occurred on August 5, 
1848. 

Hon. Ephraim Henry Hyde, son of Jas- 
per Hyde, was born June i, 1812, at Staf- 
ford, Connecticut. Notwithstanding the 
fact that his formal educational opportu- 
nities were limited, he became one of the 
leading citizens of the State, and served 
as its Lieutenant-Governor. He was a man 
of splendid mental capacity, ambitious 
and determined. He was progressive and 
aggressive, and the State will ever be in- 
debted to him for his intelligent and un- 
tiring efforts to promote agriculture and 
stock breeding, the cause of education and 
prison reform. 

On his father's farm was an old hotel 
known as the halfway station between 
Hartford and Worcester. He attended 
the district school in his native town, 
and had about six weeks of study at the 
academy in Monson, Massachusetts. He 
v;orked in the hotel and on the farm. Dur- 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing this period he also had about four 
months' experience at driving a stage be- 
tween Stafford and Sturbridge. At the 
age of eighteen he became a clerk in a 
country store. His thrift and industry are 
indicated by the fact that soon after at- 
taining his majority he became proprietor 
of the business. As fast as his means in- 
creased he embarked on new enterprises. 
He was interested in a blast furnace for 
about eight years, and at the age of twen- 
ty-nine was the chief promoter of a cotton 
mill at Stafford Springs. For many years 
he was a member of the firm of Converse 
& Hyde, manufacturers of satinets, and 
he was actively engaged in many other 
industrial enterprises. 

While his industrial interests were 
large, he found his greatest pleasure in 
agriculture and kindred interests. He 
owned several large farms, and from 
about the year 1842 gave most of his 
time and attention to cattle breeding and 
the farming operation incidental thereto, 
entering upon a course that was to make 
his name familiar as a household word to 
the leading agriculturists throughout the 
country. He was convinced that Devons 
were best adapted to natural conditions in 
Connecticut, and imported many fine 
cattle of that breed. He also experi- 
mented with Ayrshires, Durhams and 
Jerseys. His Devon cattle won many 
sweepstakes, medals and other prizes. 
His study and efforts contributed greatly 
to the improvement of the breed on this 
continent, individuals from his herds be- 
ing shipped to all parts of the country. 
The improvement in Connecticut herds 
was especially marked. The name of 
Ephraim Henry Hyde will ever hold a 
place of eminence in the development of 
modern agriculture and stock raising in 
that State. His activities were not limited 
by the desire for personal gain ; he gave 
liberally of his time, money and talents 
to the advancement of these interests. 



The Tolland County Agricultural So- 
ciety was organized in 1852, largely as a 
result of his influence and efforts. He 
was its first president, serving continu- 
ously until i860, and again from 1864 to 
1868. Hyde Park at Rockville was so 
named in his honor, and in recognition of 
his services to the society. He was presi- 
dent of the Connecticut State Agricul- 
tural Society from 1858 to 1881 ; presi- 
dent of the American Breeders' Associ- 
ation from 1865 until the association was 
resolved into sections for each breed; 
president of the Connecticut Valley Agri- 
cultural Association, comprising New 
Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts and 
Connecticut ; president of the Tolland 
County East Agricultural Society from 
its organization in 1870 to 1876; vice- 
president of the State Board of Agricul- 
ture from its organization in 1866 to 1882, 
and was placed in the office again in 1890; 
vice-president of the New England Agri- 
cultural Society from its incorporation 
until his death; vice-president of the 
Dairymens' Association ; was one of the 
incorporators of the Connecticut Stock 
Breeders' Association ; for more than 
thirty years served as chairman of the 
State Commission on Diseases of Domes- 
tic Animals, and chairman of the com- 
mittee to publish the first volume of the 
"American Herd Book." 

Governor Hyde long felt the need of a 
school in Connecticut especially devoted 
to teaching agriculture, and he was one 
of the first two persons who discussed 
with the Storr Brothers the desirability 
of establishing such a school at Mans- 
field. The success of the undertaking was 
due largely to his zeal, support and un- 
tiring efforts in its behalf. In 1899 he 
was chosen one of the committee under 
whose direction the splendid buildings 
were erected at a cost of about $50,000. 
He was a member of the board of trustees 
and its vice-president. Soon after the 



174 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Civil War, when the office of Commis- 
sioner of Agriculture at Washington be- 
came vacant, he was strongly recom- 
mended for the place, every member of 
the Legislature then in session, regard- 
less of party affiliation, signing the peti- 
tion, and nearly as many of the State 
delegation in Congress. He was sent as 
a delegate from the New England Agri- 
cultural Association to the United States 
Agricultural Association Convention at 
Washington. That Governor Hyde was 
a broadminded man, alive to all the in- 
terests of his State, economic, social and 
religious, is indicated by his widely varied 
activities; and in all the offices he held 
and the many undertakings in which he 
engaged he displayed the same fore- 
sighted vision, sound judgment and pains- 
taking attention to details that made his 
private enterprises so successful. He was 
one of the leaders in his day in the prison 
reform movement ; was one of the 
founders and directors of the Prisoners' 
Friend Association and served as a direc- 
tor of the Industrial School for Girls. He 
was active in the direction of the State 
Board of Education, especially in the 
years 1867-69. 

He was a worker from early manhood 
in the ranks of the Democratic party, and 
while he held many offices he was not a 
politician in the general acceptation of 
that term. He was a man of strong con- 
victions and in matters of public concern 
had the courage as well as the ability to 
make his opinions known. He was coun- 
ty commissioner for Tolland county in 
1842-43 ; member of the General Assem- 
bly from Stafford in 1851-52; and was 
sent as a delegate to the Democratic Na- 
tional Convention at Baltimore before the 
war. He was identified with the States' 
rights faction of his party, took an active 
part in the presidential campaign and was 
a presidential elector on their ticket. In 



1S67-69 he held the office of Lieutenant- 
Governor, and in 1876-77 was president 
pro ton. of the State Senate. He worked 
earnestly for the establishment of the 
Connecticut Experiment Station, and was 
elected vice-president of the board of con- 
trol at its organization, March 29, 1879. 
He was president of the Tolland Centen- 
nial Celebration in 1876 and delivered the 
opening address. He also presided at the 
one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of 
the primitive organization of the Congre- 
gational church and society at Franklin, 
Connecticut, October 4, 1868. His re- 
ligion w^as of the practical kind that finds 
its expression in the practice of the Golden 
Rule rather than in dogmatic disputations. 
He was identified for many years with 
the Universalist Society at Stafford, serv- 
ing for fifteen years as sexton, organist 
and leader of the choir. 

He married (first) September 27, 1836, 
Hannah Converse Young, who died Feb- 
ruary 26, 1862. He married (second) Oc- 
tober 19, 1869, Mary S. Williams, of Hart- 
ford. Children by first wife: Ellen E., 
married Ernest Cady, of the Pratt & Cady 
Company of Hartford ; Ephraim Henry, 
a sketch of whom follows ; four children 
died young. 

Governor Hyde died June 18, 1896. In 
all his public life, covering a period of 
nearly half a century, his aim was to sub- 
serve the interest of the State, and not 
the shadow^ of a suspicion rests on his 
honored name. His conduct, motives and 
methods were straightforward and honor- 
able, and his record one of which to be 
proud. Lieutenant-Governor Hyde filled 
a large place in the State, but his name 
will best be known as that of the eminent 
breeder, who, by his enlightened efforts, 
materially assisted in raising the farming 
industry of the State to a higher level, 
and in vastly increasing the value of its 
dairy farm and stock. But few men of 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



half his age were to be compared with 
him in activity and endurance. Always 
strictly temperate in his habits, he saved 
himself from the infirmities that so often 
overtake public men in their declining 
years. With a tall and slender form, a 
well-bred face, a flowing white beard, and 
the graceful courtesy of an elder day, he 
presented a striking figure. Aflfable and 
agreeable, fond of society and companion- 
ship, kind and considerate of others, with 
a pleasant smile and a cheerful greeting 
always, he had as large a circle of per- 
sonal acquaintances and friends as any 
man in the State, and no one was more 
highly and widely esteemed. 



HYDE, Ephraim Henry, Jr., 

Laxryer, Public Official. 

Major Ephraim Henry Hyde, Jr., son of 
Hon. Ephraim Henry and Hannah Con- 
verse (Young) Hyde, was born in Staf- 
ford, Connecticut, October 5, 1848. He 
was educated at the public schools of his 
native town, and made his preparation for 
college at Wesleyan Academy, Wilbra- 
ham, Massachusetts, which he attended 
for a year; at Monson Academy and at 
the high school in Staflford. He entered 
Yale University in 1867. At the end of 
his freshman year he decided to take up 
the study of law, and accordingly entered 
the law offices of Waldo, Hubbard & 
Hyde, one of Hartford's leading law 
firms. After three years of study he was 
admitted to the bar in 1871. He then be- 
gan the practice of his profession on his 
own account, having his office with Sam- 
uel F. Jones for four years. In April, 
1875, he formed a partnership with 
Charles M. Joslyn, and this business was 
conducted under the name of Hyde & 
Joslyn for nineteen years. In 1894 George 
H. Gilman was admitted to partnership, 
the name being changed to Hyde, Joslyn 



& Gilman. On September i, 1897, the 
late Frank L. Hungerford, of New 
Britain, became a member of the firm, 
which was reorganized as Hungerford, 
Hyde, Joslyn & Gilman. After the death 
of Mr. Hungerford, his son became a 
member of the firm, the name being 
changed in June, 1909, to its present style, 
Hyde, Joslyn, Gilman & Hungerford. 
This firm has always maintained the 
best traditions of the legal profession and 
holds a prominent place among the law 
firms of the State. They have a large 
general practice besides handling the legal 
affairs of many important corporations. 

It is to be expected from the nature of 
his calling that a lawyer should be keenly 
interested in public affairs. There is a 
natural kinship between law and politics, 
as is evidenced by the fact that there is a 
large proportion of lawyers to be found in 
all of our legislative bodies. Major Hyde 
has been no exception to the rule, and so 
we find him, soon after his admission to 
the bar, as an active worker in the ranks 
of the Democratic party. In 1873 he 
served as assistant clerk in the Connecti- 
cut House of Representatives. The fol- 
lowing year he was clerk of the House, 
and in 1875 was clerk of the Senate. On 
October i, 1875, he became prosecuting 
attorney for the city of Hartford, serving 
until November i, 1877. He held the 
office a second time for a year beginning 
April 4, 1879. In 1893 Governor Morris 
appointed him as a member of the com- 
mission of uniform State legislation, and 
he rendered his fellow citizens valuable 
service in that capacity until 1904, when 
he resigned. Alajor Hyde became presi- 
dent of the Hartford Board of Charity 
Commissioners in 1896, and served until 
1901. In 1896 he was the candidate for 
Congress in the First Congressional Dis- 
trict on the ticket of the Gold Democrats. 
He was a member of the Municipal Build- 



176 




^ //^^-^^ /^<^^^ 



r^--:: TT£Vr VQRK 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing Commission that had in charge the 
erection of Hartford's beautiful new mu- 
nicipal building, and on the occasion of 
the formal dedication of the structure in 
191 5 the pleasant duty of turning over the 
key of the building to the mayor of the 
city devolved on him. 

He is past master of St. John's Lodge. 
Xo. 4. Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Hartford; also a member of the Hart- 
ford Club. Farmington Country Club, and 
Army and Xavy Qub of Xe\v York. Since 
1880 he has been a member of the First 
Company Governor's Foot Guard, of 
which he was major-commandant from 
1891 to 1898. 

On June 2. 1881. Major Hyde was mar- 
ried to Clara Pierce Tuttle, of Hartford. 

In this brief sketch we have touched 
only the most salient features in the ca- 
reer of a man who is recognized as one of 
Hartford's leading lawyers, a man of 
scholarly tastes and attainments. Like 
his father, he is one of the most approach- 
able of men. broadminded, generous and 
public-spirited. His professional and pub- 
lic career have been marked by unswerv- 
ing devotion to the highest ideals. 



SHELTON, Gould Abijah. M. D., 

Physician. 

In the professional life of Dr. Gould A. 
Shelton he has gained a creditable posi- 
tion and won gratifying success, for he is 
well equipped for the practice of medi- 
cine, his efforts have been discerningly 
directed and they have gained him pre- 
cedence as one of the followers of the 
calling. He is of the third generation of 
physicians in his family, inheriting in 
marked degree the qualifications neces- 
sar\- for that line of work, and he has 
conducted his activities in Shelton. a 
town named for his family and in which 
his ancestors and relatives have been 

Conn— 2—12 I 



leaders of affairs for many years, and in 
which he has also distinguished himself 
in public matters. 

(I) The immigrant ancestor of the 
Shelton family and the founder in this 
country of the Connecticut Sheltons was 
Daniel Shelton, a native of Deptford, 
Yorkshire, England. He was a merchant 
in his native land. He came to Xew Eng- 
land about 1686-90 and settled in Strat- 
ford, now Huntington, Connecticut, where 
he resided until about 1707, when he set- 
tled at Long Hill and there spent the re- 
m.ainder of his days, his death occurring 
there in 1728. He was a large landholder, 
owning land in Stratford, Stamford, Farm- 
ington. Oxford. \Voodbur\- and Derby, 
and was an original, though non-resident, 
proprietor of \Vaterbury. He married, 
April 4. 1692, Elizabeth, daughter of Sam- 
uel \\'elles. of Wethersfield, Governor of 
the Connecticut Colony, and granddaugh- 
ter of Hon. Thomas AVelles. one of the 
early Governors of the Commonwealth. 
She survived her husband, her death oc- 
curring April I, 1747, aged seventy-seven 
} ears. Children: Elizabeth, born Janu- 
ar}- 2, 1693: Sarah. January 2, 1694-95; 
Joseph. June 24, 1698; Daniel, July 21, 
1700: Thaddeus. 1702; Samuel, of whom 
further; James, about 1710; John, about 
1712; Josiah. about 1714. 

(ID Samuel Shelton. son of Daniel 
and Elizabeth (Welles) Shelton, was bap- 
tized February 10. 1705-06, and died in 
Huntington. Connectict, Xovember 12, 
1772. He married. October 2, 1734. Abi- 
gail, daughter of Captain Joseph Xichols, 
of Lnity. She died February 21. 1794. 
Children: Man.-, born February 13, 1736; 
Daniel, of whom further ; Samuel, August 
24. 1738; Elizabeth. February 13, 1740; 
David, June 16, 1741 ; Abigail, December 
29. 1742; Joseph. February 2. 1744; An- 
drew, X'ovember 26, 1746; Sarah. July 
19, 1748; Ann, February 7, 1750; Josiah, 



// 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



December 30, 1751 ; Philo, May 4, 1754; 
Isaac Welles, March 11, 1756; Agur. 

(III) Daniel (2) Shelton, son of Sam- 
uel and Abigail (Nichols) Shelton, was 
born April 26, 1737, and died on Booth's 
Hill, May 12, 1813. He was called "Little 
Daniel." He married Mehitable, daughter 
of Daniel Shelton. She died September 
2.2, 1812. Children: Jane, born March 19, 
1761 ; Elizabeth, February 5, 1768; Su- 
sannah, October 22, 1769; Samuel Fred- 
erick, of whom further; EHjah Daniel, 
January 5, 1773 ; Avis Newton and Isaac, 
June 13, 1779. 

(IV) Samuel Frederick Shelton, son of 
Daniel (2) and Mehitable (Shelton) Shel- 
ton, was born August 4, 1771. He mar- 
ried, December 3, 1795, Eunice Hannah, 
born January 23, 1775, died June 13, 1866, 
daughter of Judson Curtiss. Children : 
Samuel Daniel, born December 28, 1796; 
Judson Curtiss, of whom further; Juline, 
September 14, 1800; Sally, October 21, 
1803; Hannah Maria, December 5, 1809, 
married Dr. James H. Shelton, son of Dr. 
William Shelton, who graduated at Yale 
College in 1788 and practiced medicine at 
Huntington, Connectict, from 1789 to 
1819, and was a famous doctor in his day ; 
Dr. James H. Shelton was succeeded by 
his nephew, Dr. Gould A. Shelton, of this 
review; Abigail Avis, born November 19, 
1811. 

(V) Judson Curtiss Shelton, son of 
Samuel Frederick and Eunice Hannah 
(Curtiss) Shelton, was born at Hunting- 
ton, Connecticut, October 17, 1798, died 
August 4, 1880, in the town of his birth, 
which Avas formerly part of Stratford. He 
was a farmer, successful in his operations. 
He married Hannah Lewis, born March 
20, 1802, died July 13, 1883, a woman of 
strong personality, who radiated the best 
of moral and intellectual influences. Chil- 
dren: Harriet N., Susan H., Minor C, 
Alice M., Sarah Maria, Lewis J., Frederick 



£., Mary J., Sylvia A., Gould Abijah, Eliza 
A. 

(VI) Gould Abijah Shelton, son of Jud- 
son Curtiss and Hannah (Lewis) Shelton, 
was born at Huntmgton, Fairfield county, 
Connecticut, August 19, 1841. He was 
reared on his father's farm, and during his 
} outh assisted in the work thereon and 
attended the district schools. He pre- 
pared for college at the Staples Academy 
at Easton, Connecticut, and entered Yale 
with the class of 1S66. He left college in 
his junior year and taught in private and 
public schools for several terms. He be- 
gan the study of medicine with Dr. 
George W. Hall, of New York City, and 
later entered Yale Medical School, where 
he took a three years' course, receiving 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine in i8()9. 
In June of that year he began the active 
practice of his profession in Shelton, Con- 
necticut, a borough named in honor of 
Edward N. Shelton, president of the 
Ousatonic Water Company, succeeding 
to the practice of his uncle. Dr. James H. 
Shelton, as heretofore stated, and he has 
practiced in Shelton and the vicinity since 
that date, a period of almost half a cen- 
tury, during which time he has built up 
an extensive and lucrative practice. In 
addition to his private practice, which is 
of a general character, he was appointed 
in 1892 a member of the consulting staff 
of the Bridgeport Hospital, was also simi- 
larly connected with the New Haven 
Hospital, and served as president of the 
medical board of the New Griffin Hospital 
of Derby, Connecticut. His other profes- 
sional services have been coroner, medical 
examiner of the town of Huntington, 
appointed in 1889, and health officer of 
the borough of Shelton, appointed in 1886. 
He keeps in touch with his professional 
brethren by membership in the Fairfield 
County Medical Society, of which he was 
president in 1889; the Yale Medical 



178 



:Pl 



71 

RYl 




raifTaf^ns 




T^zi^^^t^cZ^ J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

Alumni Association, of which he was BREWSTER, James H., 

president in 1894; the Connecticut Mecli- Active Factor in Insurance Circles. 

cal Society, of which he was president in ^,^^ ^^^^^1^ ^^^^ ^ ^^^^^^^ j^„^^^ j^_ 

1903; the American Academy of Medi- Brewster, of Hartford, has been engaged 

cine ; the American Medical Association, -^ ^^^ j^^.^ insurance business, beginning 

and the Lower Naugatuck Valley Uni- ^s clerk in the office of the Connecticut 

versity Alumni Association, of which he pjre Insurance Company, and since Janu- 

was president in 191 1. In 1891 he received ary, 1900, manager of the American 

the honorary degree of M. A. from Yale Branch of the Scottish Union and Na- 

University. tional Insurance Company of Edinburgh, 

His public offices have been many and Scotland. He is one of the ablest fire- 
important. He was for eighteen years a underwriters in a city distinguished as an 
member of the local Board of Education, insurance center, and has fairly won the 
in which he took a keen interest. He was high reputation he enjoys, 
a member of the Board of Burgesses of Mr. Brewster is a descendant in the 
Shelton from 1885 to 1889; warden of the ninth American generation of Elder Wil- 
borough of Shelton from 1890 to 1893 ; liam Brewster, of the "Mayflower," 
represented Huntington in the General through the Elder's son Jonathan, his 
Assembly in 1895 ^^^^ '^^s house chair- son Benjamin, his son William, his son 
man of the committee on public health Peter, his son Jacob, his son Shuabel, his 
and safety during that session ; president son Henry Augustus, his son James H. 
of the Board of Park Commissioners of Brewster, of Hartford. 
Shelton, appointed in 1893; ^" ^909 ^^^ Henry Augustus Brewster, born at Cov- 
again elected to the General Assembly entry, Connecticut, July 23, 1817, married, 
and served as house chairman of the com- December 10, 1844, Fannie S. Badger, 
mittee of public health and safety, and in daughter of James Badger, of Mansfield, 
all of these offices of trust and responsibil- Connecticut, born March 20, 1821, died 
ity he rendered efficient service. He has also August 22, 1915. 

taken an active part in other enterprises, James H. Brewster was born at Cov- 
serving as president of the Shelton Water entry, Tolland county, Connecticut, De- 
Company, appointed in 1893; director in cember 24, 1845, ^^^ obtained his educa- 
the Shelton Savings Bank, and in the Silver tion in Coventry and Hartford schools. 
Plate Cutlery Company, and secretary and He began business life as clerk in the 
treasurer of the board of directors of the store of Pease & Foster at Hartford, there 
Plumb Memorial Library. He is a Con- continuing for two years. The possibili- 
gregationalist in religion, a Republican in ties of the fire insurance business appealed 
politics, a Mason and an Odd Fellow, be- to him very strongly, and in 1867 he en- 
ing affiliated with King Hiram Lodge, tered the- clerical service of the Connecti- 
Hamilton Commandery and Pyramid cut Fire Insurance Company. That busi- 
Temple, of the former named order, and ness seemed one for which he possessed 
Ousatonic Lodge of the latter named a natural aptitude and he bent every en- 
order, cgy to mastering every detail that came 

Dr. Shelton married, June 16, 1874, his way. His spirit of energy and the 

Emily Plumb Capel, of Shelton. She died efficient manner in which he performed 

November 11, 1897. his allotted duty, his willingness to do 

179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



more than his routine work called for, WOOSTER, Albert Mills, 

attracted instant attention and he was 

rapidly advanced in clerical rank. In 1873, 

but six years from the date of his entrance 

as clerk, he was made assistant secretary 

of the company, and for seven years he 

filled that post. As assistant secretary he 

had a wider scope for his undoubted 

talents and was given free exercise to 

develop his ability as an underwriter. 

He improved his opportunities and was 

ranked with the rising young men of the 

fire insurance company. 

On November i, 1880, his friend, Mar- 
tin Bennett, was appointed manager of 
the United States Branch of the Scottish 
Union and National Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, and needing an assistant manager 
he offered the position to Mr. Brewster, 
Avho accepted it. He resigned the position 
he was holding and for twenty years, 
1880-1900, Mr. Bennett and Mr. Brewster 
were associated as manager and assistant. 
They developed a large business through 
their own efi^orts and that of a well or- 
ganized field force, and when Mr. Bennett 
passed from earthly scenes the assistant 
became the manager on January i, 1900. 
This position Mr. Brewster yet most ably 
fills, the business of the American branch 
being most satisfactory to the officials of 
the company and the services of their 
American manager most highly appreci- 
ated. He is also a director of the First 
National Bank. He is a member of St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Pythagoras Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; and Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Brewster married in Brooklyn, 
New York, December 9, 1879, Mary E., 
daughter of George W. Folts. Their son, 
James H. Brewster, Jr., Yale, 1904, is a 
representative of the tenth American gen- 
eration of his family, and is a member of 
the firm of Rhoades & Company, bankers. 
New York City. 



Specialist in Patent Law. 

A special student of patent law even be- 
fore receiving his LL. B., Mr. Wooster 
has since made that branch of the law his 
specialty and since 1875, when he entered 
the United States Patent Office at Wash- 
ington as a clerk, he has been involved in 
the workings of the Patent Office and en- 
gaged in unraveling the intricacies of 
patent law. Since 1882 he has been a 
resident of Bridgeport, Connecticut, and 
a member of the Fairfield county bar, ad- 
mitted to practice in all State and Federal 
courts of the district and in the United 
States Supreme Court. Not only is he 
known as an able and successful patent 
lawyer, but as an interested, valued citi- 
zen and lecturer. He chose his calling 
early in life and bent every energy to 
worthy preparation therefor ; the studious 
habits then acquired have never been 
dropped but all his life he has been the 
student. In the pursuit of knowledge he 
has collected a good library of reference 
books and any subject with which he 
deems himself not sufficiently familiar is 
there delved into until that subject is ex- 
hausted. His achievement in his profes- 
sion and upon the lecture platform has 
been most gratifying, and he reviews his 
years, sixty-seven, with the satisfaction 
that comes from a knowledge of duty well 
performed and opportunity well improved. 

Mr. Wooster is a native son of New 
York, a descendant of ancient and honor- 
able New England ancestry. His pater- 
nal ancestor, Edward Wooster, settled in 
Milford in 1625, his paternal great-grand- 
father, Ephraim Wooster, was a soldier of 
the Revolution ; his grandfather, Philo 
Mills Wooster, a soldier of the War of 
1812. On maternal lines he traces to Rob- 
ert Treat, Governor of Connecticut, 1683- 
98, to John Beard, an early Connecticut 
settler, to great-grandfathers. Captain 
Stephen Cogswell, Thomas Gilbert and 



180 




c:^r7ft^^^^^l^ 



TUE TiEW YORK 
PTT^> -. LIBRARY 



' 



A^TOR, LENOX 
riLDLH FC Ji;D.-.TIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Joel Beard, Revolutionary soldiers, and 
to Sergeant Samuel Beard, his great- 
great-grandfather, a Continental soldier. 
He is a son of William Cogswell and 
Mary Louise (Gilbert) Wooster, both 
born in Huntington, Connecticut. 

The line of descent is from Edward 
Wooster, born in England in 1622, died 
in Milford, Connecticut, July 8, 1680, 
leaving an estate which in 1694 was dis- 
tributed. His second wife, Tabitha 
(Tomlinson) Wooster. whom he married 
in 1669, was the daughter of Henry Tom- 
linson. Their son, Jonas Wooster, who 
was the third child of his parents, was a 
resident of Stratford and Derby, Connec- 
ticut. By his wife Jane he had at least 
two sons, Jonas and John. John Wooster, 
son of Jonas and Jane Wooster, was born 
January 2"], 1721, died in 1797; married, 
November 9, 1752, Abigail Blakeman, who 
died in 181 1, aged eighty-two. The line 
of descent is through their second son, 
Ephraim Wooster, born April 8, 1755. 
He married, December 6, 1776, Elizabeth 
Ann Mills, born February 24, 1756, 
daughter of Philo and Betsey Mills. 
Ephraim Wooster was a soldier of the 
Revolution. His son, Philo Mills Woo- 
ster, was born January 6, 1786, and fought 
in the War of 1812. Philo Mills Wooster 
married Ruth Ann Cogswell and they 
were the parents of William Cogswell 
Wooster, father of Albert Mills Wooster, 
of Bridgeport. 

Albert Mills Wooster was born in 
Chatham, Columbia county. New York, 
April 15, 1850, and until the age of fifteen 
attended the district schools. In 1857 the 
family moved to New Preston, Connecti- 
cut, where William Cogswell Wooster 
was a merchant and postmaster at the 
time of his death in 1864. The necessity 
of contributing to the family income, for 
his mother, a widow, had three younger 
sons, made it imperative that he begin 



work, and three years were spent as a 
farm worker and clerk in a country store. 
In return for those years taken from his 
school courses, the boy not only gained 
lasting inspiration from his mother, but 
the keen satisfaction of helping to make 
her burdens lighter. At the age of 
eighteen he became a clerk in the great 
New York dry goods house, A. T. Stewart 
(K: Company, remaining three years. He 
had even then elected the law as his pro- 
fession, and although the next few years 
were spent as dry goods clerk and sew- 
ing machine agent, that ambition was 
never for a moment lost sight of. His 
first actual start was preparatory, through 
competitive examinations under civil 
service rules, for a government position. 
In October, 1874, he received his appoint- 
ment as clerk in the dead letter office of 
the Post Office Department at Washing- 
ton, and a year later, having decided upon 
the branch of law in which he would spe- 
cialize, obtained a transfer to the United 
States Patent Office as assistant-ex- 
aminer. For seven years he continued an 
examiner in the Patent Office, and during 
this time completed courses of study in 
the Law School of the National Univer- 
sity, receiving his degree of LL. B. in 
1876. Later, although admitted to the 
district bar, he completed a post-graduate 
course at Columbian, now George Wash- 
ington University, receiving the degree of 
LL. M. in 1880. In 1882, after seven 
years' experience as an examiner in the 
Patent Office and with the degrees of 
two universities, he resigned and left 
Washington to locate in Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut. Thirty-five years have since 
intervened, but the life begun in Bridge- 
port in 1882 still continues along the same 
lines, but the skill and resource of the 
veteran has supplanted the timidity of 
self consciousness of the tyro in practice. 
He has confined his practice to patent law 



181 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and has won high reputation in that 
branch of his profession. Two of his best 
known lectures are upon subjects he has 
made his special life study, "Patents, 
Trademarks and Unfair Trade." 

He is a member of the various bar asso- 
ciations of the city, county and State, and 
is held in very high esteem by his pro- 
fessional brethren. The outlined facts 
give little idea of the amount of labor re- 
quired to compass the requirements of 
two law schools, while performing all the 
duties of a difficult position. The fact 
that Mr. Wooster could and did acquire 
so profound an education in such a man- 
ner gives the keynote to his entire life and 
his successes. He spared not himself, but 
so well did he conserve his energy and 
care for the physical man that body and 
mind developed on a parity and not one 
at the expense of the other. He is a firm 
believer in the gospel of work, but as 
firmly advocates seasonable exercise, sleep 
in sufficient quantity, temperance in all 
things and the value of a moral life. As 
a guide for business and social life his is 
the Golden Rule, and in the various civic 
oflfices he has held he has applied the same 
rule of morality as that which inspires his 
personal life. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Wooster 
has taken an active part in municipal 
afifairs. In 1890 and 1892 he was a mem- 
ber of the Common Council, serving as 
president during the last term. In 1893 
he was elected alderman, and was nine 
years a member of the Board of Educa- 
tion. He has labored with untiring zeal 
in support of movements tending to place 
the public schools upon a higher plane of 
efificiency, and to him a great deal of credit 
is due for what has been accomplished. 
While a believer in a wholesome amount 
of recreation, Mr. Wooster finds his in 
intellectual pursuits, and one of the lines 
of reading he has pursued has been the 



life history of the Great Napoleon. So 
closely has a study of that most famous 
figure in French history drawn him, that 
he has prepared a lecture with Napoleon 
as the subject, a lecture of such interest 
that it has been delivered before several 
literary and historical bodies. In addition 
to his professional lectures and the one 
just named, that of "Pictures and How 
They Are Made" is the best known. He 
has frequently appeared as a lecturer be- 
fore the Scientific Society, The Board of 
Trade, and the Public Library, his reputa- 
tion resting not more upon the value of 
the subject matter of his lectures than 
upon the interesting way and manner of 
the lecturer. His clubs are the Contempo- 
rary, University and Yacht of Bridge- 
port, and the Alumni Association of 
George Washington University. He is 
a member of lodge, chapter, council and 
commandery of the York Rite of Ma- 
sonry, is a noble of the Mystic Shrine, 
and in the Scottish Rite has attained the 
thirty-third and highest degree which can 
be conferred, and one but comparatively 
few ever attain, as it is only conferred 
in recognition of distinguished services 
rendered to the order. In religious pref- 
erence he is a Congregationalist. 

Mr. Wooster married (first) April 15, 
1875, Fannie Brownley Bowen, of Warren 
county, Virginia. Mrs. Wooster died No- 
vember II, 1912, leaving two children: i. 
Julian Scott, born September 15, 1877; 
a patent lawyer, with ofifice at No. 115 
Broadway, New York City; married, No- 
vember 17, 1909. Edith Gertrude Castle, 
of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ; they re- 
side at Scarsdale, New York. 2. Myra 
Estelle, born June 23, 1879, ^ painter of 
miniatures; married, June 5. 1912, James 
Orton Buck, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
manager for R. G. Dun & Company; 
children: James Orton, Jr., born July i, 
1913; Beverly, born June 10, 1915, died 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



July 15, 1916; Julian Randolph, born Feb- 
ruary 9, 1916; they reside in Bridgeport. 
Mr. Wooster married (second) March 
18, 1914, Salome Williams Atherton, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, who comes from 
a prominent New Hampshire family. Mr. 
Wooster resides at No. 778 Park avenue, 
Bridgeport. 



BILLINGS, Charles Ethan, 
Manufacturer, Inventor, Public Official. 

One of the foremost among Connecti- 
cut's captains of industry, president of the 
Billings & Spencer Company, of Hartford, 
Mr. Billings, who for so long has borne 
great responsibilities, has now shifted to 
the younger shoulders of his capable son 
the heavier burdens of management. 
From apprentice boy to head of the lead- 
ing drop forging works in the world is a 
far cry, but that is the record Mr. Billings 
has compiled, and in addition his reputa- 
tion as a mechanical engineer is world- 
wide. Nor has fortuitous circumstance 
contributed to his elevation, for, possessed 
of natural mechanical genius, he culti- 
vated his talent and by close study and 
persistent work intelligently directed, he 
won his way upward. His keen mind 
soon acquired the power to analyze and 
dissect a problem, and then with clear, 
mechanical vision to create and construct 
from his deductions tangible, workable 
realities. 

(I) Charles Ethan Billings is a de- 
scendant of Richard Billings, who in 1640 
received a grant of six acres of land in 
Hartford, and in 1659 signed, with others, 
a contract with Governor Webster to set- 
tle at Hadley. In 1661 he complied with 
that contract, settling in that part of the 
town later set off as Hatfield. He died 
March 3, 1679. His wife Margery died 
December 5, 1679. 

(II) Samuel Billings, son of Richard 



3nd Margery Billings, died in Hatfield, 
1-ebruary I. 1678. He married, in 1661, 
LTrsuki Fellows, who survived him, mar- 
ried (second) Samuel Belden, and died 
February 5, 1713. 

(HI) Samuel (2) Billings, eldest son of 
Samuel (i) and Ursula (Fellows) Bil- 
Imgs, was born in Hatfield, January 8, 
1665. tie married (first) Hannah Wright, 
who died in 1686. He married (second) 
a widow, Rebecca Miller, born March 26, 
1661, daughter of John and Sarah (Heald) 
Miller. 

(I\') Joseph Billings, son of Samuel 
(2) Billings and his second wife, Rebecca 
( Miller) Billings, was born in Hatfield, No- 
vember 15, 1700, and there died about 1783. 
He was a member of the company formed 
to fight the Indians. He married, January 7, 
1 726, Elizabeth (Colton) Kellogg, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Sarah Colton, of 
Springfield. 

(V) Joseph (2) Billings, son of Joseph 
(i) and Elizabeth (Colton-Kellogg) Bil- 
lings, was with his uncles and cousin, part 
of the company of seventy who about 1763 
petitioned Governor Wentworth, of New 
Hampshire, for a grant of land in that 
province. On August 17, 1763, a royal 
charter was granted by King George III. 
for 23,040 acres on the border of Lake 
Champlain to be incorporated in the town 
of Swanton. While the Billings grantees 
appear on the charter, and Joseph Billings 
may have been a resident of Windsor, 
Vermont, there is no record of his resi- 
dence there. He married and among his 
children was Rufus. 

(VI) Rufus Billings, son of Joseph (2) 
Billings, resided in Weathersfield, Ver- 
mont. He married, and among his chil- 
dren was Ethan F. 

(VII) Ethan F. Billings, son of Rufus 
Billings, born January 27, 1807, died Sep- 
tember Ti. 1848. He was a blacksmith 
of Windsor, Vermont, to which town he 



^83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



moved from Weathersfield. He married 
Clarissa M. Marsh, daughter of James 
Marsh, of Rockingham, Vermont, and 
among their children was Charles Ethan. 
(VIII) Charles Ethan Billings, son of 
Ethan F. and Clarissa M. (Marsh) Bil- 
lings, was born in Windsor, Vermont, 
December 5, 1835. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Windsor until his father's 
death in 1848, but before leaving school 
he had imbibed his first lessons in me- 
chanics, learning to "blow and strike'' 
with his father, the village blacksmith. 
In 1852, at the age of seventeen, he was 
regularly apprenticed for three years to 
the Robbins & Lawrence Company, ma- 
chinists and gunsmiths of Windsor, the 
company agreeing to pay him fifty cents 
per day the first year, fifty-five cents the 
second year, and sixty cents the third 
year, the agreement stipulating that his 
mother should board, lodge and clothe 
him at her own expense. He served the 
full term of his apprenticeship, but soon 
afterward, in June, 1856, came to Hart- 
ford and entered the employ of the Colt 
Arms Company as a die sinker in the 
forging department. There his inventive 
genius began to assert itself and he be- 
came convinced that the complicated ex- 
pensive drop hammer then in use could 
be vastly improved ; but no opportunity 
was given him to demonstrate his ideas 
until 1862 when he began working in the 
gun factories of E. Remington & Sons at 
Ilion, New York. There he advanced his 
ideas for drop forgings, which seemed 
good to the Remingtons and he was em- 
powered to erect a plant from his own 
plans. That plant proved all that he had 
claimed for it, showing an increased labor 
efficiency of four thousand per cent, in 
the forging of pistol parts, and with his 
new way of forcing the metal into the 
frame saved the company $50,000 on the 
contracts then in force. In 1865 Mr. Bil- 



lings returned to Hartford, with his repu- 
tation greatly enhanced, to accept the po- 
sition of superintendent of the manufac- 
turing department of the Weed Sewing 
Machine Company. The method then 
employed in making shuttles was to 
braize the different parts together, a 
method which Mr. Billings threw into 
the discard in 1867 by patenting an inven- 
tion, employing four pairs of dies, and by 
drop forging make a shuttle from a single 
piece of bar steel. This method of forg- 
ing reduced the cost of making a shuttle 
more than one-half and is now in uni- 
versal use. At the great Billings «& Spen- 
cer plant in Hartford, over 4,000,000 shut- 
tles have been made by this process, and 
they are still being made there, but in 
small quantities, as that type of shuttle is 
being superseded. In 1868 Mr. Billings 
went to Amherst, Massachusetts, and 
with C. M. Spencer organized the Roper 
Sporting Arms Company, but in 1869 re- 
moved his business to Hartford. The 
company was not a financial success, and 
in 1870 was abandoned, the partners each 
having faith in the other, however, form- 
ing a new organization. The Billings & 
Spencer Company, making drop forgings 
a specialty. The business proved a suc- 
cess from its beginning, and fully recom- 
pensed the partners for their losses in 
attempting to exploit the Roper gun. After 
a few years Mr. Spencer retired, and from 
that time forward Mr. Billings bore the 
burden of the management and carried 
the business forward to the highest point 
of success. 

Mr. Billings in the main, has given his 
life to the development of the business 
of drop forging. His first invention, by 
which so much was accomplished in the 
Remington works, was the beginning of 
a long series of improving and origi- 
nal inventions, and in the great plant re- 
centlv dedicated at Hartford the various 



184 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



processes by which bars of iron, steel, 
bronze or copper are transformed into 
pieces of irregular size and shape are seen 
in all the perfection of human ingenuity. 
The wonderful machines, hammers and 
processes are many of them the children 
of his own brain, and were the Billings' 
patents and processes removed from the 
earth drop forging would revert to one of 
the crude arts. One instance only will 
serve to illustrate his point and to show 
how the keen and alert mind of Mr. Bil- 
lings enabled him to increase the scope of 
his business, to aid other inventors, and 
to give to the world a greatly improved 
product. One day in 1886, Mr. Billings, 
while passing through the Edison Electric 
Works, noted the then existing method of 
making commutator bars. These are "L" 
shaped pieces of copper set at an angle to 
each other. Horizontal bars, thin and 
wedge like, separated by some non-con- 
ducting substance, were placed side by 
side around the shaft of the dynamo and 
bound firmly together. Electricity was 
generated by the friction of metallic 
brushes revolving at high speed against 
the edges of the bars. These bars were 
then made in two pieces united with pins 
and solder, but as the current was partly 
broken, resistance was increased and a 
maximum of efficiency could not be ob- 
tained. Mr. Billings quickly saw an op- 
portunity for improvement and on his 
return to Hartford at once addressed him- 
self to perfect a method by which a better 
commutator bar could be produced and 
sold to the Edison Company for a lower 
price than they were paying for an inferior 
bar. He perfected dies and processes, and 
within three weeks shipped the Edison 
Company an invoice of bars forged in a 
single piece from pure copper having a 
homogenous molecular structure through- 
out, and of the greatest possible density. 
He had not only produced a more efficient 



bar for the purpose, but had also reduced 
the cost, facts which so appealed to the 
large electrical companies that they gen- 
erally adopted them. But that is only a 
single instance of the methods by which 
Mr. Billings brought his plant to the po- 
sition of the greatest of all drop forging 
establishments. This highly specialized 
plant produces a myriad of articles which 
go to every part of the globe. Many of 
these are incomprehensible to the layman, 
but a catalogued list includes a complete 
line of drop forged wrenches, ratchet 
drills, lathe dogs, clamps, combination 
pliers, vises, sewing machine shuttles, 
thumb screws, pistol frames and barrels, 
machinist's hammers, solid eye bolts, 
magazine screw drivers, and many parts 
of machines beyond power of computa- 
tion. In later years the business has been 
developed in the line of manufacturing 
forging machinery, including drop ham- 
mers, trimming presses, and die making 
machines. Many of the foregoing were 
Mr. Billings' own invention and it was 
his superior inventive genius in devising 
machines for special service in his own 
plant which gave him such an advantage 
in the manufacture of drop forged pro- 
ducts, and placed the Billings & Spencer 
plant in the proud position as the greatest, 
as it was the first commercial drop forg- 
ing company in the world. The company 
was incorporated in 1872, and it is inter- 
esting to note that its first extensive con- 
tract was for the manufacture of dies, 
furnished by the Pratt & Whitney Com- 
pany, as part of a general contract for the 
equipment of arsenals in Germany. Mr. 
Billings, president, and for so many years 
the dominant spirit, is yet president of the 
company and potent in its councils, but 
for some time has been retired from active 
participation in its afTairs. From its be- 
ginning he made it the great interest of 
his life and it may be truly said that he 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



loved his business. A hard worker, deter- 
mined and persistent, he never gave up 
until he accomplished whatever purpose 
he had in view. Both he and his company 
have risen from a humble beginning and 
it is with no little satisfaction that he re- 
views his long and honorable life, and con- 
templates the eminence of the company 
he formed which is perhaps but yet in its 
infancy, the tangible expression of a fun- 
damental idea born in the brain of a mas- 
ter. 

The original home of the company, part 
of a wooden building occupied by the 
Wheeler & Wilson Sewing Machine Com- 
pany, was bought, rebuilt and added to in 
1899 until it had a frontage of five hun- 
dred and forty feet on Lawrence street, 
three hundred and forty feet on Broad 
street and two hundred and twenty-five 
on Russ street. That was the company's 
home for many years, and in its planning 
and designing the comfort, health and 
efficiency of employees received most 
careful attention. In January, 1916, the 
company removed to an entirely new 
home on the corner of Park and Laurel 
streets, having bought what was once the 
plant of the Columbia Motor Vehicle 
Company, and with the aid of efficient 
engineers overhauled it from top to 
bottom, made several additions, making 
a plant in which detail of construction, 
the placing of machines, routing of work 
and each other matter is arranged to pro- 
mote the greatest efficiency. A new 
boiler plant and a steel shed was built 
and a part of the original group of build- 
ings has been practically rebuilt into a 
large forge shop to house the drop forging 
department. With these additions, the 
plant as a whole has been arranged to 
provide for an uninterrupted flow of ma- 
terial from steel shed to shipping room. 
Wonderful is the steel shed with a capac- 
ity of five thousand tons, the boiler plant, 
the trimming, die sinking, grinding and 



polishing departments, but the forge shop 
or drop forging department is the heart of 
the plant. This is a building 80x446 feet 
free from posts, the roof twenty-one feet 
to the under side of the chord, being self 
supporting. There, the great Niles cranes 
lift the heavier parts, and the great bat- 
tery of hammers forge parts weighing 
from one-half an ounce to two hundred 
and fifteen pounds, and every device tend- 
ing to perfect efficiency in manufacturing, 
ventilation, sanitation and heating are 
employed, and above all, "Safety First" 
rules. The arrangement of offices, with 
its varied departments, is planned with 
the same objects in view and in all the ex- 
perience of over forty years in business 
has enabled Billings & Spencer to make 
its new plant a notable addition to New 
England's large industrial establishments. 
Mr. Billings, great as a mechanical en- 
gineer, expert and inventor, has fully 
demonstrated his executive ability in his 
management of the company's affairs. He 
is a keen observer of men and things, is 
a good judge of human nature, and as he 
has trod every step of the path from 
apprenticeship to president, he can appre- 
ciate the small irritations that are in- 
evitable in any large body of workmen. 
He was and is eminently great and fair 
in his dealings with his men, keeping in 
close personal touch with them, ever hold- 
ing their confidence and esteem. Until 
1912 the company employed no salesmen, 
yet always kept their plant running on 
full time. Selling agencies were then 
established in nearly every large city, and 
business has now trebled. In the summer 
of 1915 they became, by invitation, a 
member of the Rice Leaders of the World 
Association, membership in this exclu- 
sive association being "Honor, Quality. 
Strength and Service." His interests out- 
side Billings & Spencer grew with the 
years, and he is yet officially identified 
with a number of Hartford's important 



186 



TPE rtV^ '"oI'K 
PUBlIC IIBPARY 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



industrial corporations. As president of 
the State Savings Bank, and trustee of 
the Hartford Trust Company, he com- 
mands the respect of the financial world. 
He is also president of the C. E. Billings 
Manufacturing Company. On October 2, 
1895, he was elected president of the 
American Society of Mechanical Engi- 
neers to fill out the unexpired term of E. 
F. C. Davis, and when his term expired 
he was elected an honorary member in 
perpetuity, and to membership of the 
Honorable Council of the society. In 
younger years he was a member of the 
First Regiment, Connecticut National 
Guard, and has always taken an active 
part in public affairs. Although never 
seeking office, he has never been unmind- 
ful of his obligations as a citizen, and has 
borne his share of the administration of 
m.unicipal afi'airs. He served as council- 
man and alderman from the Third Ward, 
was president of the Board of Fire Com- 
missioners twelve years, and gave to the 
performance of his duties the same care- 
ful intelligent interest as to his private 
affairs. In fact, at times, he has postponed 
private business in order that no detail of 
work connected with his official duties 
might suffer. 

In the Masonic order he has attained 
the highest honor his . brethren of the 
United States could confer, the thirty- 
third degree. Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite, is an honorary member of the Su- 
preme Council of the Order, and is a mem- 
ber of the Royal Order of Scotland. He 
is a past grand commander of the Grand 
Commandery of Connecticut, Knights 
Templar, and as a man is as highly 
esteemed personally as he has been hon- 
ored officially. He is a member of the 
Hartford Chamber of Commerce, the 
Home Market Club of Boston, the Ameri- 
can Protective Tariff League and the 
Hartford Club. 



Mr. Billings married (first) January 5, 
1857, Frances M. Heywood, daughter of 
William Heywood, of Cornish, New 
Hampshire, who died in 1872. He mar- 
ried (second) September 9, 1874, Eva C. 
Holt, daughter of L. H. Holt, of Hart- 
ford. Childrenof first marriage : i. Charles 
H., born July 13, 1861, died in infancy. 
2. Frederic Church, born in Utica, New 
York, October 21, 1864; educated in Hart- 
ford public schools, served an apprentice- 
ship with Pratt & Whitney, and since then 
has been closely affiliated with his father 
in the management of the Billings & Spen- 
cer Company ; he was made superintend- 
ent about 1888, later vice-president, and 
has since held the dual offices and carries 
the heavier burden of management since 
his father's partial retirement ; he is a di- 
rector of the City Bank & Trust Com- 
pany, director of the Canadian Foundries 
and Forges Company, organized to manu- 
facture Billings &: Spencer's products in 
Canada, is connected with the C. E. Bil- 
lings Manufacturing Company ; member 
of St. John's Lodge, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; the Hartford Golf. Hart- 
ford Country and Hartford Yacht clubs, 
East Hadden Fish and Game clubs ; he 
married Mary E. Parker, daughter of Rev. 
Edwin Pond Parker, and has a daughter, 
Frances. 3. Harry E., born December 2;^. 
1868, died young. Children of second 
marriage : 4. Mary E.. born October 22, 
1877; married William B. Green, of New 
York, now manager of the advertising de- 
partment of the Billings & Spencer Com- 
pany. 5. Lucius H., born June 26, 1879. 
Mr. and Mrs. Billings are members of the 
Hartford Congregational Church. 



INGALLS, Phineas Henry, M. D., 
Physician, Gynaecologist. 



Dr. Phineas Henry Ingalls, of Hartford, 
needs no introduction to contemporaneous 



187 



E.XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



readers of this work. His reputation as a 
gynaecologist extends far beyond the con- 
fines of Connecticut. The prominent con- 
nection which Dr. Ingalls has for many 
years maintained with the National Guard 
has also made his name familiar to the 
laity of his home State. 

The Ingalls family is one of the oldest 
in America, and first appears in England 
in 1080, it being recorded in "Domesday 
Book" that in that year Baron Ingald was 
a tenant of King \\'illiam at Rersbi and 
Elvestone, Leicestershire. He came from 
Normandy, but his connection with the 
American branch of the family has not 
yet been traced. It has been supposed 
that the name of Ingalls is of Scandina- 
vian origin, and means "By the power of 
Thor." During the ninth century Scan- 
dinavian pirates often descended upon the 
east coast of Great Britain and in later 
years many of them settled there, espe- 
cially in Lincolnshire. Ingalls, like most 
other surnames, was and still is spelled in 
various ways, particularly in England. 

(I) Henry Ingalls, the earliest known 
progenitor of the American branch of the 
family, was born, probably, about 1480, 
and made his will in 1555. He married 
and had a son, Robert. 

(II) Robert Ingalls, son of Henry In- 
galls, married and had a son, Edmund. 

(III) Edmund Ingalls, son of Robert 
Ingalls, was born about 1598, in Shirbeck, 
Lincolnshire, and was one of the com- 
pany which, in 1628, under the leadership 
of Governor John Endicott, founded the 
town of Salem. Alassachusetts. The fol- 
lowing year, in association with his 
brother, Francis Ingalls, and four others, 
Edmund Ingalls helped to establish a set- 
tlement at Lynn. He was one of the 
prominent citizens of his day and there is 
abundant testimony to his good character, 
despite the fact that he was once fined 
for "bringing home sticks in both his arms 



on the Sabbath day." In March, 1648, 
while traveling on horseback to Boston, 
he was drowned in the river Saugus, the 
accident being due to a defective bridge. 
His wife Ann, whom he married in Eng- 
land, survived him. His will was probated 
November 16, 1648, his estate being ap- 
praised at one hundred and thirty-five 
pounds. 

(IV) Henry (2) Ingalls, son of Ed- 
mund and Ann Ingalls, was born in 1627, 
in Shirbeck, Lincolnshire, and was an in- 
fant when brought by his parents to New 
England. He became the owner of land 
in Ipswich, the sale being recorded in 
1652, and he was one of the first settlers 
of Andover, Massachusetts, purchasing 
his land from the Indians. In 1673 Henry 
Ingalls was made a freeman and became 
active in town afTairs, holding various 
offices. He married, July 6, 1653, -^lary, 
daughter of John and Ann Osgood, of 
Andover, who died in December, 1686. 
The death of Henry Ingalls occurred Feb- 
ruary 8, 1719. 

(V) Henry (3) Ingalls, son of Henry 
(2) and Mary (Osgood) Ingalls, was born 
December 8, 1656, in Andover, and mar- 
ried, June 6, 1688, Abigail, born January 
16. 1669, daughter of John, Jr., and Mary 
(Webster) Emery. Henry Ingalls died 
in Andover, February 8, 1699, and his 
widow survived him more than half a 
century, passing away July 12, 1756. 

(VI) Francis Ingalls, son of Henry (3) 
and Abigail (Emery) Ingalls, was born 
December 20, 1694, in Andover, and mar- 
ried (first) November 19, 1719, Lydia, 
daughter of James and Hannah (Abbott) 
Ingalls. Her death occurred April 29, 
1743. The will of Francis Ingalls was 
probated February 26, 1759. 

(VII) Francis (2) Ingalls, son of Fran- 
cis (i) and Lydia (Ingalls) Ingalls, was 
born January 26, 1731, in Andover, and 
married, November 12, 1754, Eunice Jen- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nings. Francis Ingalls died in Andover, 
April 3, 1795, and his widow died May 23, 
1799. 

(VIII) Phineas Ingalls, son of Francis 
(2) and Eunice (Jennings) Ingalls, was 
born November 14, 1758, in Andover, and 
was a soldier of the Revolution, partici- 
pating in the battle of Bunker 11 ill and 
in 1776 seeing service in Albany. He mar- 
ried, October 22, 1783, Elizabeth, who was 
born November 19, 1764, daughter of 
Jacob Stevens. The latter years of Phin- 
eas Ingalls' life were spent in Bridgton, 
Maine, and it was there he died, January 
5, 1844. His widow, the faithful compan- 
ion of sixty years, passed away Julv 19. 
1858. 

(IX) Dr. Phineas (2) Ingalls, son of 
Phineas (i) and Elizabeth (Stevens) In- 
galls, was born December 22, 1797, in 
Bridgton, Maine, and practiced medicine 
at Gorham, Maine. He married, March 
19, 1845. Ruth Huston, born July 11, 1815, 
at Gorham, daughter of Samuel and Nancy 
(Mosher) Elder, and a descendant of Jo- 
sias Cook, who came in the "Mayflower." 
Of their children the only one who grew 
to maturity w^as Phineas Henry, men- 
tioned below. Dr. Ingalls continued in 
active practice until his death, which oc- 
curred at Gorham, February 24, 1858. 

(X) Dr. Phineas Henry Ingalls, son of 
Phineas (2) and Ruth Huston (Elder) 
Ingalls, was born April 8, 1856, at Gor- 
ham, Maine, and was prepared for college 
in the public schools of his native town 
and in those of Portland. In 1877 he 
graduated at Bowdoin College with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts, and in 1885 
his alma mater conferred upon him that of 
Master of Arts. His preceptors in the 
study of medicine were Drs. S. H. Tewks- 
bury and Charles W. Bray — that is to say, 
his preceptors in a preliminary course of 
reading. Later he attended two courses 
of lectures at the Maine Medical School, 



after which he entered the College of Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons of New York City, 
graduating from that institution in 1880. 
Immediately thereafter Dr. Ingalls was 
appointed to the position of house surgeon 
in the Woman's Hospital, in New York 
City, and it was while holding this posi- 
tion that he decided to make surgery his 
life-work. In pursuance of this resolution 
he returned to Portland in November, 
1881, and in the following March opened 
an ottice in Hartford, where he has since 
resided. He has always made a specialty 
of gynaecology, in w'hich he has achieved 
from the beginning notable success. He 
is now generally recognized as the fore- 
most gynaecologist in Connecticut. In 
1S84 Dr. Ingalls was appointed visiting 
gynaecologist of the Hartford Hospital, 
and he is now chairman of its medical and 
surgical staff. In 1889 he was appointed 
medical examiner for the .i^tna Life In- 
surance Company. Dr. Ingalls is fre- 
quently called in consultation to places 
situated at a distance from Hartford. 

In the midst of an unusually active pro- 
fessional career, Dr. Ingalls has found 
time to keep in close touch wnth municipal 
affairs and to render valuable service as 
a public official. He was appointed by 
Mayor Brainard a member of the Board 
of Police Commissioners, and he also 
served as chairman of the building com- 
mittee having in charge the erection of 
the new police station. It was largely 
through Dr. Ingalls' activities in this po- 
sition that the present excellent structure 
was secured. 

For a number of years Dr. Ingalls ren- 
dered efficient service in the Connecticut 
National Guard. In 1883 he was ap- 
pointed assistant surgeon of the First 
Connecticut Regiment, in 1885 he was 
commissioned adjutant and in 1890 he 
served as brigade inspector on the staff of 
General Watson. In 1892 the pressure of 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his growing practice made it necessary 
for him to resign. Dr. Ingalls now holds 
the position of surgeon-general on the 
staff of Governor Holcomb. 

Among the professional organizations 
in which Dr. Ingalls is enrolled are the 
State Medical Society and the American 
Medical Association. He is president, di- 
rector and trustee of the Hartford Medi- 
cal Society and the only Connecticut 
member of the American Gynaecological 
Society, the membership of which is 
limited to one hundred specialists. He 
also belongs to the Alumni Association 
of the Woman's Hospital of New York 
City. 

Despite the multitude of imperative de- 
mands upon his time and attention Dr. 
Ingalls' pen has not been idle. Among 
the many able papers which he has con- 
tributed to professional publications we 
may mention the following: "Non-Surgi- 
cal Treatment of Anteflexion," published 
in the "New York Medical Journal," March 
2^, 1886; "Damages of Parturition and 
Their Repair," read before the Connecti- 
cut Medical Society, 1886; "Uterine Can- 
cer," Connecticut Medical Society, 1889; 
"Sloughing Fibroid of the Uterus," Amer- 
ican Gynaecological Society, 1891 ; "Suc- 
cessful Case of Caesarean Section," "Amer- 
ican Journal of Obstetrics," August, 1892. 

By right of ancestry Dr. Ingalls is en- 
rolled in the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution and the Society of Colonial Wars. 
He belongs to the Hartford Club, the 
Country Club, the Church Club of Con- 
necticut and the Delta Kappa Epsilon fra- 
ternity. For many years he has been an 
active member of Christ Protestant Epis- 
copal Church of Hartford. 

Dr. Ingalls married. May 13, 1885, Mary 
Helen Beach, born July 12, 1861, in Hart- 
ford, daughter of Joseph Watson and Jo- 
sephine E. (Coflfing) Beach. Mr. Beach, 
as a member of the firm of Beach & Com- 



pany, importers of colors and dyestuffs, 
was in his day one of the leading business 
men of Hartford. He was president of 
the Weed Sewing Machine Company, be- 
ing also officially connected with several 
other important manufacturing concerns. 
Dr. Ingalls' success is the fruit not only 
of close study and keen observation, but 
also of that combination of methods, char- 
acter and conduct which, in any profes- 
sion, seldom fails to secure speedy and 
lasting recognition. 



BEACH, Charles Coffing, M. D., 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

Dr. Charles Coffing Beach, who has now 
been practicing for thirty years in his na- 
tive city of Hartford, is a representative 
of a family of ancient Colonial record. 
Through different lines of ancestry Dr. 
Beach traces his descent from men who 
helped to make the history of New Eng- 
land from the earliest period of her ex- 
istence. 

(I) Thomas Beach, founder of the 
Hartford branch of the family, was among 
the recorded founders of the New Haven 
Colony, as were also his brothers, Rich- 
ard and John. On March 7, 1647, Thomas 
Beach took the oath of fidelity in New 
Haven, later removing to Milford. He is 
said to have lived for a time in Walling- 
ford. but it is known that he returned to 
Milford before his death. He married, 
]March i, 1654, Sarah, daughter of Richard 
and Mary Piatt. Thomas Beach died in 
1662 and his widow passed away in 1698. 

(II) John Beach, son of Thomas and 
Sarah (Piatt) Beach, was born October 
19, 1655, in Milford, Connecticut, and in 
1674 went to Wallingford with the chil- 
dren of John Beach, of Stratford. He was 
known as John Beach, Jr., to distinguish 
him from his cousin of the same name. 
In December, 1677, he married Mary 



190 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



. The death of John Beach oc- 
curred in 1709. 

(III) John Beach, son of John and 
Mary Beach, was born October 15, 1690, 
in Wallingford, Connecticut,, and in 1729 
became one of the founders of the town 
of Goshen, Connecticut. In 1739 he built, 
in what is now East Goshen, one of the 
largest houses in the town, and there, in 
November, 1740, the Rev. Mr. Pleaton, 
the first minister of Goshen, was ordained. 
John Beach married (second) Mary, born 
in 1695, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Baldwin) Royce, who died October 27, 
1767. John Beach passed away May 9, 

1775- 

(IV) Adnah Beach, son of John and 

Mary (Royce) Beach, was born January 
II, 1718, and was by trade a tanner. He 
lepresented his town in the General As- 
sembly. Adnah Beach married, June 9, 
1741, Hannah, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Ball) I\Iiles, granddaughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Harriman) Miles and of 
John Harriman, of New Haven, and great- 
granddaughter of Richard Miles, who 
took the oath of fidelity in New Haven, 
in 1657. Hannah (Miles) Beach passed 
away December 6, 1775, aged fifty-five 
years, and her husband, Adnah Beach, 
died March 10, 1783. 

(V) Ebenezer Beach, son of Adnah 
and Hannah (Miles) Beach, was born 
May 30, 1766, and at the time of his mar- 
riage appears to have been in business as 
a goldsmith and clockmaker, in Hartford, 
having as an associate his brother Miles. 
Later Ebenezer Beach removed to Litch- 
field, where he engaged in the same busi- 
ness by himself. He married, in Hart- 
ford, Lucy Steele, whose ancestral record 
is appended to this biography, and who 
died April 7, 1801, surviving her husband, 
whose death occurred May 3, 1793. 

(VI) George Beach, son of Ebenezer 
and Lucy (Steele) Beach, was born No- 



vember 29, 1788, in Litchfield, Connec- 
ticut, and after the death of his mother 
probably lived until 1806 with his Grand- 
father Steele. He began his business ca- 
reer as a clerk for John Pierce, a West In- 
dian merchant of Hartford, and lived for 
a time, as was frequently the custom in 
those days, with the family of his em- 
ployer. A few years later Mr. Beach be- 
came a partner in the business under the 
firm name of Pierce & Beach. The trade 
of the firm was ruined by the War of 
1812 and Mr. Pierce left the city, Mr. 
Beach remaining to close the business. 
Upon the organization of the Phoenix 
Bank of Hartford, in 1814, Mr. Beach was 
elected cashier, a position which he con- 
tinued to hold until September 6, 1837, 
when he was elected president, remain- 
ing at the head of the institution until his 
last illness and resigning on April 5, i860. 
In 1836 Mr. Beach became a partner in 
the firm of Phelps, Beach & Company, 
formerly Hungerford, Phelps & Beach. 
When Mr. Phelps retired in 1839 the firm 
became Beach & Company, George Beach 
becoming head of the house. 

When General Lafayette visited Hart- 
ford, about 1825, it was Mr. Beach's duty 
as captain of the Governor's Foot Guard, 
to meet the honored guest, and, with his 
company, to escort him to a raised platform 
in front of the Phoenix Bank where the 
leception was held. 

Public spirit was one of Mr. Beach's 
dominant characteristics and his contribu- 
tions to charity were large but bestowed 
with an entire absence of ostentation. He 
took a special interest in young men start- 
ing in business and many of them could 
testify to his friendly counsel and assist- 
ance. The land for St. Paul's Church was 
donated by Mr. Beach, and he built and 
maintained the Widows' Home, consist- 
ing of a number of small apartments let 
gratuitously to deserving widows who 



191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were without homes, and after his death 
his sons contributed to this worthy char- 
ity. From early life Mr. Beach was an 
active and faithful member of Christ 
Church. 

Mr. Beach was thrice married, his first 
wife, whom he wedded on April 15, 1808, 
being Harriet, born June 2'j, 1792, daugh- 
ter of Aaron and Sarah (Chittenden) 
Bradley. Aaron Bradley was one of the 
eight men who organized Christ Church 
of Hartford. His ancestry has been traced 
to William Bradley, one of the early set- 
tlers of the New Haven Colony. Mrs. 
Bradley was a lineal descendant of Lieu- 
tenant William Chittenden, who settled 
in the New Haven Colony in 1639 and 
was a magistrate and also a member of 
the General Assembly for twenty-seven 
sessions, from 1641 to 1661. Mrs. Beach 
passed away July 16, 1826, and the death 
of Mr. Beach occurred May 3, i860, at 
his home on Farmington avenue, Hart- 
ford. 

(VII) Joseph Watson Beach, son of 
George and Harriet (Bradley) Beach, 
was born December 28, 1823, in Hartford, 
in the old house now standing in the 
rear of the Young Women's Christian 
Association building on Church street. 
His early education was acquired at Miss 
Canfield's school in Hartford and at a 
school at Torrington presided over by Dr. 
Epaphroditus Hudson. He completed his 
course of study in the school of Dr. Ste- 
phen Reed at Richmond, Massachusetts. 
The first employment of Mr. Beach was 
in the office of the Hartford Carpet Com- 
pany, of Thompsonville, Connecticut, and 
his connection with the firm remained un- 
broken until 1849, when he and his 
brothers, George and Charles Mason, be- 
came members of the firm of Beach & 
Company, one of the oldest houses deal- 
ing in dyestufifs in New England. Joseph 
Watson Beach quickly mastered the de- 



tails of the business, winning a reputation 
in the commercial world as one of Hart- 
ford's ablest business men. He remained 
identified with Beach & Company until 
his death. 

A man of great energy and enterprise, 
Mr. Beach, as his means increased with 
the lapse of years, became associated in 
an official capacity with a number of im- 
portant financial and industrial institu- 
tions. He was president of the Weed 
Sewing Machine Company and the Mer- 
cantile Bank, vice-president of the Auto- 
matic Screw Company and a director in a 
number of other manufacturing and com- 
mercial enterprises. He was an able ex- 
ecutive, but never in the slightest degree 
visionary, his efforts being always di- 
rected toward the furtherance of all that 
made for true and well considered prog- 
ress. 

Mr. Beach married, October 13, 1852, 
Josephine Elizabeth, daughter of Charles 
Fitch and Catherine Frances (Eldredge) 
Coffing, of Westfield, Massachusetts, and 
their children were : Katharine, married 
George Herbert Day ; Charles Coffing, 
mentioned below ; George Watson, of 
Saybrook, Connecticut, married Elizabeth 
Jarvis ; Mary Helen, married Dr. Phineas 
H. Ingalls, whose biography appears else- 
where in this work ; and Richard Jarvis, 
of Niantic, Connecticut. 

After an illness of three days only Mr. 
Beach passed away on March 16, 1887. 
He was a man who had the courage of 
his convictions and strength of will suf- 
ficient to overcome every obstacle to the 
accomplishment of a purpose. His impos- 
ing presence, genial disposition, generous 
hospitality, kindness to strangers and en- 
thusiasm for all that promised to enhance 
the interests of his native city or its in- 
stitutions made him one of Hartford's 
best known citizens, beloved by all who 
knew him. 



192 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VIII) Dr. Charles Coffing Beach, son 
of Joseph Watson and Josephine Eliza- 
beth (Coffing) Beach, was born May 19, 
1856, in Hartford, Connecticut, and re- 
ceived his earliest education at Miss Can- 
field's school, then attending the Spring 
Side School of Pittsfield, Massachusetts, 
of which William Carey Richards was 
principal, and afterward completing his 
preparation for college at the Hartford 
High School. He then took a course at 
the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale Uni- 
versity, graduating in 1877 with the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Philosophy. Immedi- 
ately thereafter Mr. Beach went to tht 
Canary Islands as agent for the cochineal 
trade of Beach & Company. He remained 
with the firm about a year, and then, hav- 
ing decided to adopt for his lifework the 
profession of medicine, he entered the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons, of New 
York, graduating in the spring of 1882 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
After serving two years as interne in St. 
Luke's Hospital, New York, Dr. Beach 
devoted one year to post-graduate work 
in Berlin and Vienna. In 1885 he re- 
turned to Hartford and entered upon the 
general practice of his profession. He 
was attending physician of the Hartford 
Hospital, but after some years resigned 
the position. He is now consulting phy- 
sician of St. Francis' Hospital and con- 
sulting medical director of the Travellers' 
Insurance Company. The professional 
organizations in which Dr. Beach is en- 
rolled include the City, County and State 
Aledical societies and the American Medi- 
cal Association, He is president of the 
Hartford County Medical Society and a 
member of the Delta Psi fraternity of 
Yale, also belonging to the Society of St. 
Luke's Alumni. The American Associ- 
ation for the Advancement of Science 
numbers Dr. Beach among its members. 
He belongs to the Country Club, the Uni- 



versity Club of Hartford, the Church Club 
of Connecticut, the University Club of 
New York and the Yale Club of New 
York. He and his wife are members of 
Christ Protestant Episcopal Church in 
which Dr. Beach holds the office of ves- 
tryman. 

Dr. Beach married Mary Elizabeth, 
I'Orn June 13, 1856, daughter of James G. 
Batterson, founder of the Travellers' In- 
surance Company. A biography of Mr, 
Batterson appears elsewhere in this work. 
Dr. and Mrs. Beach are the parents of 
four children : Goodwin Batterson, Joseph 
Watson, Charles Bradford, and Elizabeth 
Goodwin. The thirty years of Dr. Beach's 
professional life have passed with honor 
into the medical history of his city and 
State. 

(The Steele Line). 

John Steele, the immigrant. John (2) 
Steele, son of John (i) Steele married 
Mercy Warner. Samuel Steele, son of 
John (2) and Mercy (Warner) Steele, 
married Mary Bradford (see Bradford 
line). Daniel Steele, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Bradford) Steele, married Mary 
Hopkins (see Hopkins line). Timothy 
Steele, son of Daniel and Mary (Hopkins) 
Steele, married Sarah Seymour. Lucy 
Steele, daughter of Timothy and Sarah 
(Seymour) Steele, became the wife of 
Ebenezer Beach, as stated above. 

(The Bradford Line). 

William Bradford, a passenger on the 
"Mayflower" and second Governor of the 
Plymouth Colony, married Widow Alice 
Southworth, who came thither two or 
three years later. Major William Brad- 
ford, son of Governor William and Alice 
(Southworth) Bradford, married Alice 
Richards. Mary Bradford, daughter of 
Major William and Alice (Richards) 
Bradford, became the wife of Samuel 
Steele (see Steele line). 



Conn— 2— 13 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(.ine Hopkins Line). 

John Hopkins and Jane, his wife, were 
of Cambridge, Massachusetts. Stephen 
Hopkins, son of John and Jane Hopkins, 
married Dorcas Bronson. Ebenezer Hop- 
kins, son of Stephen and Dorcas (Bron- 
son) Hopkins, married Mary Butler. 
Mary Hopkins, daughter of Ebenezer and 
Mary (Butler) Hopkins, was born Janu- 
ary 30, 1705, and became the wife of 
Daniel Steele (see Steele line). 



RICE, Charles Delos, 

Inventor, Public Official. 

Charles Delos Rice, factory manager of 
the Underwood Typewriter Company, 
needs no introduction to contemporary 
readers of this work. In the typewriting 
industry Hartford leads the world in pro- 
duction. The city gives more persons em- 
ployment in this line and turns out more 
writing machines than any other city. 
The largest typewriter factory in the 
world is the Underwood. The plants of 
the Underwood and the Royal utilize 
approximately 1,100,000 square feet of 
floor space and furnish employment to 
nearly five thousand people. In the Un- 
derwood plant a complete machine is 
turned out every minute. The career of 
the man who directs, with the obvious 
success which is Mr. Rice's, the greatest 
industry of its kind in the world, furnishes 
a narrative of unusual interest, both to 
those who have watched its progress step 
by step and to those who see it now at 
the height of its achievement. It is a 
practical illustration of the vast field 
which lies open to one who sets before 
himself high ideals, and upholds those 
ideals with indefatigable energy and am- 
bition, and that tenacity of purpose which 
pursues without deviation the course de- 
liberately and thoughtfully mapped out. 

An epitome of the basic principles on 



which Mr. Rice founded and built his en- 
tire business life is found in his advice 
to young men. This is not the hastily 
drawn conclusion of the casual observer, 
but the earnestly and thoughtfully worked 
out opinion of a man who has traveled 
every step of the way from work ot a 
factory boy to that of a factory manager. 
Mr. Rice is in a position to speak with 
authority : 

A young man entering factory life with am- 
bitions to rise, should, in order to excite interest 
on the part of those who may have to do with his 
future advancement, maintain good habits and 
abstain from profanity or the doing of things 
which are distasteful in the sight of right think- 
ing men and he should also show an eagerness 
to do and to learn. This coupled with the practice 
of observing closely the methods of others who 
are expert in whatsoever kind of work it is, will 
afford plenty of substance for reflection and 
mental training, and will quite naturally serve to 
engage him in practices both mentally and other- 
wise which will attract the notice of those above 
him, and which will surely result in his advance- 
ment from time to time (provided, of course, he 
possesses fair natural ability and tact to start 
with). After maturity and when, through proper 
training and accomplishments, a substantial repu- 
tation is established, such service as might be 
rendered by such a person is always in demand. 

Beyond a doubt the excellent environ- 
ment in which Mr. Rice was reared was 
the prime factor in the formation of his 
high ideals. 

His father, Benjamin Rice, was a man 
of exceptional intelligence and ability. He 
attended Yale University, but was unable 
to finish his course. His occupations dur- 
ing his life were widely diversified, run- 
ning the gamut from cabinet maker to 
j-chool teacher. He lived in Auburn, New 
York, and in that section of the State for 
the greater part of his life. His latter 
years were spent with his children in 
^►lichigan. His eldest son, Horatio, by 
his first marriage, served in the Civil War, 
enlisting from Auburn. Mr. Rice's wife, 
194 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who before her marriage was Harriet Alal- 
vina Bridges, was a woman of splendid 
mentality, high ethical principles, and 
ambitious for the welfare of her son. 

Charles Delos Rice was born in Au- 
burn, New York, April 15, 1859. He at- 
tended the public schools until he was 
twelve years of age, at which time cir- 
cumstances made it necessary for him to 
take his place in the world's army of 
wage-earners. He had already been 
taught habits of industry at home, and 
from the early age of eight years had 
been accustomed to perform regularly 
small tasks such as were within his abil- 
ity. He was of a mechanical turn of mind 
and was permitted to follow his natural 
bent in securing employment in a factory 
where he was given such routine work as 
an unskilled boy can perform. His natu- 
ral aptitude and interest, coupled with 
careful attention to the details of his work 
and untiring energy, won advancement for 
him. In order to broaden the scope of his 
practical experience and to become ac- 
quainted with every phase of his work, 
Mr. Rice sought employment in various 
shops as the years went on. His technical 
education in the underlying scientific prin- 
ciples of his vocation was in his leisure 
time. 

In 1887 Mr. Rice came to Bridgeport 
as a foreman in the factory of the Yost 
Writing Machine Company. In 1890 he 
became chief engineer of the Pope Manu- 
facturing Company. Ten years later he 
became general superintendent of the 
Underwood Typewriter Company, then 
located at Bayonne, New Jersey. As a 
result of Mr. Rice's suggestions and efforts, 
the plant was moved to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in the summer of 1901. The 
company now employs three thousand 
seven hundred men in the factory, and is 
one of the most important industries in 
the State. It is safe to say that few other 



men in the country so well understand the 
problems to be solved in typewriter con- 
struction. Mr. Rice has taken out many 
patents, not only covering typewriter and 
bicycle parts, but machinery to make the 
same, including forging machinery, gear 
cutting machines, drilling machines, etc. 
He invented a new principle for belt gear- 
ing, permitting four speeds with only two 
steps on each of two pulleys. On small 
parts this is the most rapid and accurate 
producer yet developed. The patent office 
had to make a special classification to 
cover this. Twenty-five years ago he 
brought out an invention under the head 
of "variable speed gear for bicycles under 
automatic action to meet the varying con- 
ditions of the road." This device changed 
automatically and gradually from high to 
low gear and vice versa. Mr. Rice be- 
lieved that this invention would never be- 
come a commercial success and hence the 
device was not placed on the market. 

Mr. Rice has always taken an active 
interest in public affairs, and though a 
busy man and in no sense of the word a 
politician, he has not shirked his duty as 
a citizen when called upon to serve the 
city in an official capacity. In 1906 he 
served as a member of the Common Coun- 
cil of Hartford, and later as a member of 
the Board of School Visitors. As a man 
whose knowledge and training are the re- 
sult of his own efforts to gain them, he 
knows the value and importance of sound 
education and has always taken a keen 
interest in school affairs. 

Mr. Rice is a member of the Republican 
Club of Hartford, the Hartford Club, 
Hartford Automobile Club, the Hartford 
Golf Club, and the Hartford Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons. His connection 
with organizations of various sorts ex- 
tends throughout many states. He is a 
member of the Society of Cayugas of 
New York and of the Franklin Institute 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Philadelphia. Mr. Rice is prominent 
in the American Society of Mechanical 
Engineers, and also in the Society of Me- 
chanical Engineers of New York. He 
served as first vice-president of the Hart- 
ford Business Men's Association before 
it was merged into the Chamber of Com- 
merce, of which he is now a member. He 
has also served as president of the Manu- 
facturers' Association of Hartford County. 

On December 25, 1882, Mr. Rice mar- 
ried Anna C. Hoagland, daughter of 
Joshua Hoagland, of Auburn, New York. 
They have one daughter, Harriet Edna. 
The family are members of Emmanuel 
Congregational Church, of Hartford. 

The delineation of the events which go 
to make up a useful and important career 
is more than just a tribute to the man 
himself. It is the setting before the eyes 
of those who are to carry on the world's 
work of the future, the details and pre- 
cepts by which they may successfully 
order their own lives. Faithful imitation 
is the first step toward successful accom- 
plishment. Out of it and beyond it grows 
originality of purpose and design. To 
the youth of the day no greater incentive 
can be given than the biographies of men 
of mark. 



GOODENOUGH, Edward Winchester, 

Specialist in Pediatrics. 

No one is supposed to be responsible 
for choice of ancestors. However, a study 
of the forbears here presented shows ex- 
cellent selection made some way. Gener- 
ations spent in New England's school of 
mental and moral training developed re- 
spect for religion, independence and love 
of children. These form an excellent 
ground work for skill in the science of 
medicine, especially in Pediatrics, the 
branch which is devoted to the care and 
treatment of children. This is the chosen 



profession of Dr. Edward Winchester 
Goodenough, who was born in New 
Haven, Connecticut, June 12, 1865. 

The Goodenough, or as it was variously 
spelled in the old days, Goodenow, Goode- 
noe, Goodenowe, family was founded in 
this country in the earliest Colonial period 
of New England by one, Thomas Goode- 
now, a native of Shaftsbury, Dorsetshire, 
England, where he was born about the 
year 1608. He set sail for the Colonies 
from Southampton, April 24, 1639, on the 
good ship, "Confidence," with his wife 
Jane, a son Thomas, and two brothers, 
Edward and John. In due course he 
landed in the "New World" and made his 
home at first in the little community of 
Sudbury, Massachusetts. Later, however, 
he removed to Marlboro, Massachusetts, 
and there spent the remainder of his days. 
He had a large family of children, and it 
was from the sixth of these that this par- 
ticular branch of the Goodenough family 
is descended. 

Samuel Goodenow or Goodenough, son 
of Thomas and Jane Goodenow, was born 
at Sudbury, Massachusetts, February 28, 
1646. He married, about 1670, Mary 
, and among their children was Sam- 
uel, of whom further. The family resided 
in Northboro, Massachusetts, and were 
prominent in community affairs. 

Samuel (2) Goodenough, son of Samuel 
(i) and Mary Goodenow or Goodenough, 
was born in November, 1675. He was a 
man highly respected by all who knew 
him. He married, about 1703, Sarah 

— , who bore him four children, the 

eldest of whom was David, of whom fur- 
ther. 

David Goodenough, son of Samuel (2) 
and Sarah Goodenough, was born Febru- 
ary 26, 1704, and died in West Boylston, 
Massachusetts, August 16, 1778. He mar- 
ried, November 8, 1722, Dinah Fay, 
daughter of John Fay, and sister of the 



196 



TKE r'EW YORK 
i^'JDL'C LIBRARY 

!* . :-", LENOX 

CUNDATIONS 



1 1 m ■»■ 



THE 
PUE 



TILDK^. 



-::::iy 




Sy/y//ofiy .yooclen aiuj,/t 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mother Ji Roger Sherman. They moved 
to Lancaster, Massachusetts, and later to 
West Boylston, same State, where they 
spent the remainder of their days. They 
were the parents of eleven children, the 
youngest of whom was Benjamin, of 
whom further. 

Benjamin Goodenough, son of David 
and Dinah (Fay) Goodenough, was born 
in 1746. He removed in young manhood 
to Mount Monadnock, New Hampshire, 
and there married a Miss McBride, of 
Dublin. New Hampshire, who was a sister 
of Molly McBride, a local celebrity, a de- 
scendant of a Scotch ancestry. They took 
up their residence within the limits of 
the town of Marlboro, New Hampshire, 
and they are referred to as residents of 
that place in the "History of Marlboro" 
by the local historian, Bemis. He is re- 
ferred to as Captain Goodenough in that 
work and there is every reason to believe 
that he is the same as the Captain Ben- 
jamin Goodenough who fought with 
Ethan Allen at Ticonderoga and other 
places. To Captain Goodenough and his 
wife were born a large family of children, 
eight of whom are recorded, and the line 
of descent is through William, of whom 
further. 

William Goodenough, son of Benjamin 

and (McBride) Goodenough, was 

born June 26, 1774. He married, April 19, 
1798, Rachel Piper, who seems to have 
been a resident of Boston, Massachusetts, 
and shortly after their marriage they re- 
moved to what was then spoken of as the 
West, i. e., to Schoharie county. New 
York, where they settled in the small 
town of JefTerson. The births of their 
nine children are recorded there, the 
eighth of whom was Giles Chipman, of 
whom further. 

Giles Chipman Goodenough, son of 
William and Rachel (Piper) Goodenough, 
was born at Jefferson, Schoharie county, 



New York, March 15, 1816. He married, 
December 11, 1834, Alida Cooper, the 
eldest of the nine children of Dr. Tunis 
Cooper, a successful country doctor, of 
Jcliferson, New York. She was grand- 
daughter, on the paternal side, of Oba- 
diah Cooper, and on the maternal side, 
of Abram Ostrander, and a lineal descend- 
ant of Pieter Ostrander, a pioneer of 
Kingston, New York, a resident there in 
1660, who was scalped by the Indians; 
also a descendant of Hygbert Van der 
Berg, whose sister was one of the "Goede 
Vrouwe Manahata," who were the first 
patronesses of the Great Patriarch's Ball 
of New York. Mr. and Mrs. Goodenough 
were the parents of a large family, ten of 
whom survived infancy. The third child, 
but the eldest who grew to manhood, was 
Arthur, of whom further. 

The Rev. Arthur Goodenough, son of 
Giles Chipman and Alida (Cooper) Good- 
enough, was born in Jeflferson, Schoharie 
county, New York, May 13, 1838. He was 
graduated in i860 from the Delaware Lit- 
erary Institute at Franklin, New York, 
and two years later from Yale University 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He 
had early decided upon the church as his 
career in life, and from the academic 
course at Yale University turned to the 
Divinity School, which he entered the 
same year, and was graduated therefrom 
in 1865 with the honorary degree of Mas- 
ter of Arts. He has served in this high 
calling in a number of the Congregational 
churches in various parts of Connecticut, 
and is now (1917) the oldest settled pastor 
of any Congregational church in that 
State. His pastorates were at Ellsworth, 
Roxbury and Winchester, the latter par- 
ish becoming his charge in 1870 and he 
is still actively engaged there. The Rev. 
Arthur Goodenough married, at New 
Haven, Connecticut, July 11, 1864, Han- 
nah Brett, a native of Boston, Massachu- 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, born February i8, 1833, daughter 
of Cyrus and Mary Ann (Winchester) 
Brett, of Boston. Their children are as 
follows : Edward Winchester, of whom 
further; Mary Alida, a graduate of 
Mount Holyoke, 1886, who became the 
wife of Myron Sherwood, of Torrington, 
Connecticut ; Francilla Jane, a graduate 
of W^heaton Seminary, a kindergarten 
teacher in the public schools at Hartford, 
Connecticut ; Helen Evelyn, a graduate 
of Mount Holyoke, 1891, a teacher at 
Ledyard, Connecticut ; Giles Frederic, a 
graduate of Yale, 1893, B. A., a clergy- 
man, in charge of the Congregational 
church at Ledyard ; Silas H., ex-Yale, 
1895, deceased ; and Gertrude Lilian, a 
graduate of Mount Holyoke and Simmons 
College, who resides at home. 

On the maternal side Dr. Goodenough 
is descended also from distinguished men. 
John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, of 
historic and traditional fame, were ances- 
tors, as were also William Brett, who 
founded the family in this country and 
was among the first settlers of North 
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and Ephra- 
im, Ezra and Matthew Allen, three 
brothers, who distinguished themselves 
in the Revolution. The Rev. Jonathan 
Winchester, of Ashburnham, Massachu- 
setts, was the grandfather, and Samuel 
Winchester, probably a soldier in the 
Revolutionary army, was the father of 
Mary Ann (Winchester) Goodenough, 
the grandmother of Dr. Goodenough. 

The childhood and youth of Dr. Good- 
enough were spent in Litchfield county, 
Connecticut, in the towns of Ellsworth, 
Roxbury and Winchester, where he at- 
tended the public schools, completing his 
preparatory education at the private 
school of the Rev. J. Wycliff Beach at 
Windsor Locks. He then entered Yale 
University, from which he was graduated 
with the class of 1887, receiving the de- 



gree of Bachelor of Arts with special hon- 
ors in the sciences. During the years 
1889-90 in Waterbury, Connecticut, he 
studied medicine in the offices of Drs. 
North and Axtelle. The following year 
he was assistant principal of the Water- 
bury High School. Toward the close of 
the year 1891 he returned to Yale Uni- 
versity and entered the medical school, 
graduating therefrom in 1893 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine cum laude. 
He received the appointment of assistant 
surgeon for the Illinois State Home for 
Soldier and Sailors at Quincy, and there 
resided for a year. Upon his return to 
the East he once more took up his resi- 
dence in Waterbury, Connecticut, and 
there established himself in the active 
practice of his profession. His practice 
for twenty years was of a general char- 
acter. His special work is now Pediatrics 
and he is regarded as an authority upon 
all questions regarding the medical care 
and hygiene of children. He has done 
special work at the Post-Graduate and 
the Polyclinic in New York City, also at 
the Harvard Summer School, and for 
seven years served as clinical assistant in 
Pediatrics at Yale University Dispensary. 
He has recently been appointed consult- 
ing physician in Pediatrics to the Litch- 
field County Hospital, of Winsted. Con- 
necticut. 

Devoted as is Dr. Goodenough to his 
profession in its every respect, he has en- 
joyed his opportunity on educational 
lines. In 1900 he was appointed commis- 
sioner of education in Waterbury, and 
was very active during his term of serv- 
ice, studying the conditions and possible 
reforms in this department of public work. 
In 1910 he was elected sole medical in- 
spector of the schools of Waterbury, serv- 
ing in that capacity in that year and in 
191 1, caring for more than 15,000 chil- 
dren. In 1912 his services were recog- 



198 




o^ ^(yi/ t^if/nclrmctnd H /(vC<' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OE BIOGRAPHY 



nized by his appointment as chairman by 
the State Medical Society of the commit- 
tee of school inspection for the State of 
Connecticut, an office he holds at the 
present time. 

Dr. Goodenough married, June i, 1897, 
at Waterbury, Edith Sunderland White. 
a native of that city, daughter of Le Roy 
S. and Sarah J. (Delancey ) White, both de- 
ceased. Mr. White had an unusually 
clever intellect and was a great inventor 
in the department of mechanics. He held 
over sixty patents and brought out some 
remarkable and important devices. Im- 
provements in electro plating, a machine 
to draw 36-inch tubing used for hot water 
boilers, a method of holding carbon in 
arc light at a proper distance apart, a 
breech-loading rifle, a bicycle, stove ther- 
mometer and various electrical appliances 
were invented by Mr. White and show 
his versatility. Perhaps his greatest 
achievement was his invention of the 
telephone, independently of and simul- 
taneously with Alexander Bell. Dr. and 
Mrs. Goodenough are the parents of one 
child, Robert Delancey, born August 30, 
1900. 

Despite the multitude of duties con- 
nected with his professional and official 
work. Dr. Goodenough does not close his 
eyes or heart to the more general life of 
the community of which he is a member. 
The social and club activities interest 
him and claim as much of his time as he 
finds it possible to spare from more urgent 
tasks, and he is an active member of a 
number of the more important clubs and 
organizations of Waterbury. He is espe- 
cially fond of golf, and is a player of local 
repute. He is also a member of the order 
of Free and Accepted Masons, in which he 
has attained the rank of Knight Tem- 
plar; the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, and the Knights of Pythias. He is 
a member of the various medical societies 



and takes an active part in the work 
undertaken by those for the benefit of the 
profession generally. Since his residence 
in Waterbury Dr. Goodenough has been 
a member of the First Congregational 
Church of the city, and for a number of 
years past has served in the capacity of 
deacon. 



REDFIELD, Hosmer Parmelee, 

Financier. 

Hosmer Parmelee Redfield, treasurer of 
the Connecticut Trust and Safe Deposit 
Company of Hartford, was born February 
9, I1S58, in Essex, Connecticut, son of Ed- 
Vv-ard Walker and Louise Bates (Ayrault) 
Redfield. He traces his ancestry through 
a number of lines to those courageous 
pioneers, who, to establish liberty of con- 
science and political and industrial free- 
dom, braved the perils of ocean and 
wilderness and savage men and planted a 
new civilization on New England's barren 
shores. In addition to the progenitor of 
the Redfield family, who came soon after 
the Pilgrims, Mr. Redfield of this review 
traces to John Alden ; Edward How, one 
of the early settlers of Lynn ; William 
Paybody ; Matthew Grinnell ; Thomas 
Buckingham ; Dr. Nicholas Ayrault, and 
other early colonists who were prominent 
in Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Con- 
necticut. Many of these old worthies were 
distinguished for long and faithful service 
as town officials, members of the legisla- 
tive bodies, and as judges. The confidence 
thus shown in them by their fellow citi- 
zens is sufficient commentary on their 
strength of character and mental endow- 
ment. 

Thus far the antecedents of the Red- 
field family of America have not been 
traced in England. This name, like most 
other old names, has undergone a change 
in spelling, its present form having, for 

99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



some reason not discovered, been adopted next find James Redfield as a resident of 



by the second generation in this country. 
The immigrant ancestor of the family was 
William Redfin, and that form of the 
name was spelled in various ways in the 
early records, as Redfen, Redfyn and 
Redfyne. 

(I) The first record of William Redfin 
shows him as an occupant of a house and 
four acres of land on the south side of the 
Charles river, about six miles from Bos- 
ton, near the northwest corner of what is 
now the town of Brighton. That was in 
1639, and he may have located there at 
an earlier date. He sold the place in Sep- 
tember, 1646. He probably joined the 
ranks of those who removed about that 
time to what is now the town of Ledyard, 
Connecticut, The first positive evidence 
we have of his presence there is in 1653, 
when he built a house on Brewster's 
Neck, on land conveyed to him by Jona- 
than Brewster, May 29, 1654. He died 
about April or May, 1662. The last rec- 
ord we have of his widow, Rebecca, is in 
1667. During the residence of the family 
in New London the spelling of the name, 
as shown in various documents on record, 
was gradually changed to its present 
form. 

(II) James Redfield, son of William 
and Rebecca Redfin, was born about 1646. 
On April i, 1662, he bound himself for 
five years to Hugh Roberts, of New Lon- 
don, to learn the trade of tanner. In May, 
1669, he was married at New Haven to 
Elizabeth How, born in 1645, daughter of 
Jeremy How, of New Haven. Jeremy 
How was a son of Edward How, one of 
the early settlers of Lynn, Massachusetts, 
who was admitted freeman there in 1636; 
was several times chosen representative ; 
was a member of the Essex court in 1637; 
attended the court which was convened 
in Boston in March, 1639, and in April 
dropped dead while on his way home. We 



Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard, in 1671. He 
was evidently of a roving disposition, for 
we find him back in Connecticut in July, 
1676, where he was engaged in weaving. 
He was granted land at Pipe Staves Point 
in 1683, and again in 1686. He removed 
to Fairfield as early as 1693, and probably 
earlier, where he married his second wife. 
The date of his death is not known, but 
it probably occurred prior to 1723. 

(Ill) Theophilus Redfield, son of James 
and Elizabeth (How) Redfield, was born 
in 1682, probably at Saybrook, and died 
February 14, 1759. He was a joiner by 
trade, and settled in Killingworth, Con- 
necticut, soon after becoming of age. In 
March, 1704-05, he purchased a small 
piece of ground in that part of Killing- 
worth which was afterward set off as 
Clinton. On December 24, 1706, he mar- 
ried Priscilla Greenel (or Grinnell), the 
seventeen-year-old daughter of Daniel and 
Lydia (Pabodie) Greenel, who three years 
before had settled in that part of Say- 
brook, now known as Westbrook. Pris- 
cilla Greenel's mother, Lydia (Pabodie) 
Greenel, was born (according to "The 
Paybody Family" by B. Frank Pabodie) 
April 3, 1667, daughter of W^illiam Pa- 
bodie, of Duxbury, Massachusetts, and 
Little Compton, Rhode Island. William 
Pabodie was born in England, 1620, and 
died December 13, 1707. He married, De- 
cember 26, 1644, Elizabeth, born 1624-25, 
died May 31, 1717, daughter of John and 
Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, the story of 
whose marriage is immortalized in Long- 
fellow's "Courtship of Miles Standish." 
William Pabodie (or Paybody) settled at 
Plymouth with his father ; afterward re- 
moved to Duxbury, where he held many 
offices of trust and responsibility. He 
owned much land there. He was one of 
those to whom Bridgewater was set off 
in 1645 : was one of the first proprietors of 



200 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Freetown in 1659; was one of the original 
purchasers of Little Compton in 1675, '^^^^ 
removed there with his family about 1684. 
His father, John Paybody, was born in 
England about 1590, died at Bridgewater 
about 1667; had a wife named Isabel. 
He and his son William are named among 
the original proprietors of Plymouth. 
Daniel Grinnell, father of Daniel Grinnell, 
mentioned above, was born in 1636, in 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and died at 
Little Compton in 1703. He married 
Mary, born November, 1640, daughter of 
William and Mary Wodell. William 
Wodell was in Boston at an early date, 
and died at Tiverton, Rhode Island, in 
1693. I" 1643, he, with others, was ban- 
ished from Massachusetts for "heresy and 
sedition" and returned to Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, where they had previously 
been living. In 1643 he was granted land 
in Portsmouth ; was commissioner, 1656- 
63 ; deputy, 1664-65-66-67-69-70-72-73-74- 
75-80-81-82-83-84-86. During these years 
he served on many important committees. 
In 1684 he was chosen assistant, but posi- 
tively declined to serve. Daniel Grinnell 
was a malster ; was made freeman at 
Portsmouth in 1657. His name appears in 
several real estate transactions in that 
town and at Little Compton. He served 
on the grand jury and as constable. His 
father, Matthew Grinnell, died prior to 
1643 ; was a resident of Newport, Rhode 
Island. His wife Rose died in 1673. About 
1717 or 1718 Theophilus Redfield pur- 
chased about one hundred and twenty 
acres of land on Chestnut Hill in Killing- 
worth, Connecticut, and there he resided 
during the remainder of his life. He 
served on many important town commit- 
tees, and was known as "Sergeant Red- 
field." He died February 14, 1759. His 
widow, Priscilla (Greenel) Redfield, died 
January 12, 1770, aged eighty-one years. 
(IV) Daniel Redfield, son of Theophilus 



and Priscilla (Greenel) Redfield, was born 
September 22. 1707, and resided at Clin- 
ton, Connecticut. In 1725 he recognized 
the church covenant. In May, 1746, he 
was commissioned ensign of the Third 
Company of Colonel Elisha Williams' 
regiment of Wethersfield. raised for a 
contemplated expedition against the 
French in Canada. During a part of his 
life he was a sea captain, and died Janu- 
ary II, 1758. His wife, Elizabeth, whom 
he married in 1728, died November 2, 
1775. aged seventy-four years. 

(V) Roswell Redfield. son of Daniel 
and Elizabeth Redfield, was born Septem- 
ber 4, 1 73 1, at Guilford, Connecticut, was 
a sea captain, and resided at Clinton. 
About 1764 he and his crew were lost at 
sea. On November 2, 1758, he married 
for his second wife. Mehetable Post. 
After the death of her husband, she mar- 
ried Captain Samuel Crane, and died June 
12, 1814, in her seventy-fourth year. 

(VI) Roswell (2) Redfield, son of Ros- 
well (i) and Mehetable (Post) Redfield, 
was born April 27, 1762, and died Febru- 
ary 15, 1838. He followed the sea during 
a portion of his life, and also followed the 
vocation of jeweler. He married, March 
20, 1787, Juliana Stevens, of Killingworth. 
Connecticut, born February 2. 1763. 

(VII) Elias Redfield, son of Roswell 
(2) and Juliana (Stevens) Redfield, was 
born November 7, 1792. He was a mer- 
chant in Essex, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried, August 28, 1819, Ann Snow, born 
June 8, 1793 (according to "Redfield 
Cienealogy," but "The Buckingham Fam- 
ily" gives the year as 1792). She was a 
daughter of Hosmer and Lilly (Snow) 
Buckingham. Hosmer Buckingham was 
born August 6. 1761 ; married, about 1790, 
Lilly Snow. His father was Nathan 
Buckingham, born May 7, 1714; married, 
March 27, 1745, Constant TifTany, and 
lived in Saybrook until his death, Febru- 



201 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ary 29, 1796. His father, Hezekiah Buck- 
ingham, was born June 21, 1682, held 
many important offices of trust in Say- 
brook, and died probably in the early 
part of 1752; he married, December 15, 
1703, Sarah Lay. His father, Rev. Thom- 
as Buckingham, was born probably early 
in the year 1646; he preached in Wethers- 
field when he was only eighteen years of 
age, and early in 1665 commenced preach- 
ing in Saybrook; he was not ordained and 
installed as pastor of the church, however, 
until 1670, though he had regularly sup- 
plied the pulpit during the intervening 
five years ; he received several grants of 
land, became a large landowner, was often 
appointed on committees to deal with im- 
portant town afitairs, and was one of the 
Founders and Fellows of Yale College 
from 1700 until his death; he was influ- 
ential in the councils of the church ; he 
married, in Hartford, September 20, 1666, 
Hester, daughter of Thomas Hosmer, of 
that city; he died April i, 1709. and his 
wife died June 3, 1702. His father, Thom- 
as Buckingham, arrived in Boston from 
England, June 26, 1637; in April, 1638, 
he became a resident of New Haven, and 
received an allotment of land in the first 
division ; he was one of the original mem- 
bers of "The Church of Christ" at Mil- 
ford, first gathered on August 22, 1639; 
he was a deputy to the General Court, and 
was one of the prominent men of the 
colony ; he died in Boston in the fall of 
1657 ; his second wife, Ann, died subse- 
quent to May 18, 1687, the date of her 
will. 

(VHI) Edward Walker Redfield, son 
of Elias and Ann Snow (Buckingham) 
Redfield, was born November 26, 1825, 
and died August 9, 1898. He received his 
education in the public schools of his na- 
tive town, Essex, Connecticut, and at the 
Connecticut Literary Institute at Suffield. 
He then formed a partnership with two 



cousins, Elias and Hosmer Parmelee, under 
the firm name of Redfield & Parmelee, 
and they took over the mercantile busi- 
ness that had been established many years 
before by Elias Redfield. They also en- 
gaged in ship building, and were among 
the few men in the town who were 
leaders in its business life. Later the 
partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Red- 
field became treasurer of the Essex Sav- 
ings Bank, which position he filled for 
many years, retiring a few years prior to 
his death. He was a man of high prin- 
ciples, of sound judgment and exceptional 
business ability. His personality was of 
that cordial, pleasing quality that wins 
the friendship and confidence of those 
who come within its influence. He was 
a member of the Masonic lodge in Essex , 
was a Whig in politics, and later a Repub- 
lican. He filled the office of town clerk, 
was a member of the Legislature in 1858, 
and for a period of thirty or forty years 
administered the office of judge of pro- 
bate for his district in an efficient manner. 
He married, April 28, 1853, Louise Bates, 
daughter of Daniel and Hepzibah (Kent- 
field) Ayrault, of Wethersfield, Connec- 
ticut, and a descendant of an old Wethers- 
field family. The name Ayrault is said to 
be Belgian, but it is always referred to 
in the Wethersfield records as French. 
Nicholas and Pierre Ayrault, brothers and 
physicians, came to America in 1687, 
shortly after the Revocation of the Edict 
of Nantes, as members (some say leaders) 
of a party of Huguenots. Pierre Ayrault 
settled and died in Rhode Island ; Nicho- 
las Ayrault married there Marion Bre- 
toun, also a Huguenot, whose acquaint- 
ance he made on the voyage, and settled 
in Wethersfield. He was apparently a 
man of means and good social standing. 
The Wethersfield inscriptions say he died 
May 6, 1706-07, aged thirty-seven. The 
"Wethersfield Record" says he died March 



202 



rrup f'".,7 V'jrviv 

PUBLIC UBFAKY 



|tu.-Di 




'[^^P%W^MJi^i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



4, 1706, aged about fifty years, "his age 
not clearly known." In his will be be- 
queathed to his wife "all the rest and resi- 
due of my estate, goods and chattels what- 
soever, in France, not hereinbefore be- 
queathed, after my debts and funeral ex- 
penses are discharged." His widow died 
August 2"/, 1741, aged sixty. Their fourth 
and youngest child. Captain Nicholas Ayr- 
anlt. was born October 2, 1705, was a 
tanner, and died April 29, 1775. He mar- 
ried, April 17, 1730, Jane, daughter of 
Daniel Stocking, of Middletown. She 
survived him until October 26 or 31, 1783, 
being seventy years of age at her decease. 
Their son, Daniel Ayrault, was born De- 
cember 8. 1735, and died March 8. 1807. 
He married for his second wife, in 1784, 
Mary, daughter of Ebenezer Balch. She 
died September 16, 1852, aged one hun- 
dred. Their son, Daniel Ayrault, was 
born in October, 1786, baptized Novem- 
ber 12, 1786; married Hepzibah Kent- 
field; he died November 11, 1868, and 
she, August 22). 1871, aged seventy-four. 
Their daughter, Louise Bates, became the 
wife of Edward Walker Redfield. Chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Redfield : Mary Ayr- 
ault, born January 2"], 1854, widow of 
George W. Dickinson, of Essex ; Hosmer 
Parmelee, mentioned below ; Edward 
Daniel, born February ii, 1864, married, 
June 21, 1893, Marietta Alice Griswold ; 
Lily Snow, born July 19. 1865, married, 
June I, 1887, Walter H. Wright, of Essex. 
(IX) Hosmer Parmelee Redfield, son 
of Edward Walker and Louise Bates 
(Ayrault) Redfield, was born in Essex, 
Connecticut, February 9, 1858. After 
completing the course in the public 
schools, he attended Hills' Academy at 
Essex. His first experience in the busi- 
ness world was in the office of the town 
clerk of Hartford, under his uncle, Gurdon 
Robins, who held that position for many 
years. After a year in Hartford, Mr. Red- 



field returned to Essex and was employed 
for a few years in the Saybrook Bank. 
About 1876 he came to Hartford and was 
identified with the Hartford Trust Com- 
pany for about six years. In 1882 he be- 
came bookkeeper for the Connecticut 
Trust and Safe Deposit Company, and 
was from time to time promoted to the 
positions of teller and assistant treasurer, 
and in 191 5 was made treasurer of the 
company. Mr. Redfield has, during all 
these years, given the best that was in 
him to his business, permitting no outside 
interest to divert his attention. He has 
been identified with Hartford financial in- 
stitutions for two score years, and for 
more than a third of a century with the 
company of which he is treasurer. No 
man in Hartford's financial circles is 
better known. His careful, conservative 
methods and sound judgment have won 
for him the unqualified confidence of all 
who know him, and his unfailing courtesy 
and consideration for others make friends 
of all with whom he comes in contact. 
He is a member of the Hartford Yacht 
Club. Hartford Coif Club. City Club of 
Hartford, and Dauntless Club of Essex. 

Mr. Redfield married, June 13, 1888, 
Mary A., daughter of Dudley Wells, of 
Wethersfield, Connecticut. Children : 
Dudley Wells, born November 25, 1889; 
Hosmer Parmelee, Jr., born July 25, 1902. 
Mrs. Redfield is a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church, of which 
Mr. Redfield is an attendant. 



MARVIN, Loren Pinckney Waldo, 

Lawyer, Jnrist. 

Hon. Loren Pinckney Waldo Marvin, 
judge of probate for the district of Hart- 
ford, is the descendant of a family that 
for eight generations has been prominent 
in the history of Connecticut. He is the 
son of Edwin Eliphalet and Cynthia 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Paulina (Waldo) Marvin, and was born 
in Hartford, October 19, 1870. 

The genealogical tree of the family- 
reaches back without a break to Reinold, 
or Rynalde Marvin, of Ramsey, County 
Essex, England, who was born as early 
as the year 1514. Several families of the 
name had lived for more than a hundred 
years prior to that date within a few miles 
of the place of his birth. He died before 
October 14, 1561, and his wife, Johan, was 
the executrix of his will, which is still 
preserved in Somerset House, London. 
He was possessed of considerable land. 
Edward, one of their six children, was 
born at Ramsey, or Wrabness, about the 
year 1550, and inheriting the homestead, 
became possessed also of other farms. 
His old mansion house, "Edons," or 
"Dreybacks," was still standing in good 
repair, a few years ago. Edward Marvin 
died November 13 or 14, 1615. His widow, 
Margaret, was buried May 28, 1633. Of 
their children two, Matthew and Reinold. 
came to America and settled in Connec- 
ticut. 

Reinold Marvin, ancestor of the present 
line, was baptized October 25, 1594, in 
St. Mary's Church, Great Bentley, County 
Essex, England. He inherited property 
from his father, was a man of some promi- 
nence, and became one of the overseers 
in 1625 and 1637. He was also one of the 
wardens of St. Mary's in 1627-33-34; his 
name is on record as being in Great Bent- 
ley in 1637, and ij^ 1638 we find him in 
Hartford. About the year 1640 he re- 
moved to Farmington, of which town he 
was one of the earliest proprietors. Later 
he removed to Saybrook, where he was 
made a freeman, May 20, 1658, and his 
house was located in what is now the 
town of Lyme. On July 9, 1663, his will 
was probated. His wife, Mary, died about 
1681, her death being attributed to witch- 
craft ; and Nicholas Jennings and his wife 



were tried on account of her death and 
that of others. 

Lieutenant Reinold (2) Marvin, son of 
Reinold (i) and Mary Marvin, was born 
in Great Bentley, England, where he was 
baptized December 20, 1631. He died in 
Lyme, Connecticut, August 4, 1676. He 
came to Connecticut with his father and 
was admitted a freeman ten days after 
his father, at Saybrook, where he became 
prosperous and possessed of considerable 
land. He was prominent in the colony, 
and was a deputy to the General Court 
from Lyme in 1670, and from 1672 until 
his death. He was town surveyor, and 
served on the committee to divide the town 
of Saybrook. In 1672-73 he was select- 
man, and in 1674-75 also ; in addition to 
this he was constable in 1674. In 1661 
he was sergeant of the train band, and 
later lieutenant until his death. He mar- 
ried Sarah, daughter of George, Jr., and 
Sarah Clark, who was baptized February 
18, 1643, and died in Milford, Connecticut, 
February i, 1716. 

Deacon Samuel Marvin, son of Lieu- 
tenant Reinold (2) and Sarah Marvin, 
was born at Lyme in 1671, and died there, 
May 15, 1743. He served as selectman in 
1699. from 1708-12, inclusive, and 1718-20, 
inclusive. Beginning with the year 1725, 
he was town clerk for many years ; was 
constable from 1695 to 1718; surveyor, 
1701 ; lister, 1706-15; tythingman, 1723; 
and town treasurer most of the time from 
1725 to 1738. In 1700 he was a member of 
the school commission to divide the town 
into school districts ; and was deputy to 
the General Court in 171 1-22. He was 
also for many years deacon of the church. 
In 1726 he was appointed to make the 
rates. His will was proved June 18, 1743. 
On May 5, 1699, he was married to Su- 
sannah, daughter of Henry and Mary 
Graham, of Hartford. 

Their son. Deacon Zachariah Marvin, 



204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born in Lyme, December 27, 1701, 
and died there, September 12, 1792. lie 
was admitted a freeman, September 14, 
1731 ; and in 1729 to 1743 was lister. He 
was grand juryman, fence viewer, and 
treasurer in 1742, and for many years 
afterward. In January, 1741, he was dea- 
con of the church. Pie married, March 
29, 1732, Abigail, daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Lee) Lord, who was born in 
1708. 

Their son, Elihu Marvin, was born in 
Lyme, February 13, 1733, and died in 
Hebron, August 13, 1812. He removed to 
the latter town in 1768, teaching school 
for a while and later farmed. He bought 
land in Plebron, and was popularly known 
as "Squire Elihu." He was justice of the 
peace from 1787 to 1803, and deacon in 
1793. His first wife was Anna Beach, 
whom he married November 16, 1762. 
She died September 26, 1778, at the age 
of forty years. 

Their son, Elihu (2) Marvin, was born 
in Hebron, December 13, 1771, and died 
about June, 1805, in Tioga, Pennsylvania, 
where he removed in about the year 1800, 
and built a mill on Tioga river. Soon 
after his death his family returned to 
Hebron. About 1794, he married Clarissa, 
daughter of Elijah and Sally (Welles) 
Kilbourne, of Colchester, who was born 
in 1777 and died in 1809. 

Their son, Deacon Ira Kilbourne Mar- 
vin, was born in Hebron, September 6, 
1796, and died May 12, 1879, in Tolland, 
where he located in May, 1820. He was 
deacon of the Baptist church there for 
twenty-eight years. In 1851 he was a 
member of the Legislature. He married, 
October 22, 1824, in Windham, Connecti- 
cut, Julia, daughter of Eliphalet and Sybil 
(Lathrop) Young, who was born May 14, 
1800, and died February 24, 1875. 

Their son, Edwin Eliphalet Marvin, 
father of Judge Marvin, was born in Tol- 



land, Connecticut, October 8, 1833. He 
was educated in the public schools of Tol- 
land, and at the Suffield Literary Insti- 
tute, and adopted the law as his profes- 
sion. On April 19, 1861, he enlisted for 
three months' service, and on May 5, 1861, 
for three years in the First Regiment Colt 
Revolving Rifles ; when it was disbanded, 
he enlisted on June 20, 1861, in Company 
F, Fifth Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, 
which company was the first from Tolland 
county to repulse a Confederate charge 
and take Confederate prisoners. He was 
promoted from the rank of lieutenant to 
that of captain of his company, and re- 
signed because of disability. On Febru- 
ary 12, 1863, he was mustered out. In 
1889 he wrote the history of his regiment, 
and in 1909 wrote a family handbook of 
the genealogy of his grandparents, Elipha- 
let and Sybil (Lathrop) Young. He was 
a resident in turn of Tolland, Colchester, 
Rockville, and Hartford, practicing law 
in all of these places. For many years 
he was secretary of the Tolland County 
Agricultural Society, and served as justice 
of the peace. United States commissioner 
and extradition commissioner for the 
State ; he was also for many years clerk 
of the United States Circuit and District 
courts for Connecticut. The preliminary 
hearings of many Federal criminal cases 
were held before him, and he acted as an 
examiner and master in chancery in very 
many civil cases. From 1869 to 1875 ^^ 
was justice of the peace in Hartford, and 
during the vacations of the regular judges, 
presided in the police court of the city. 
He was a lover of out-of-doors life, taking 
his recreation with gun and rod ; and he 
was the author of the original enactment 
in the Connecticut statutes authorizing 
the purchase and reforestation of all de- 
nuded land. On December 24, 1866, he 
was married in Hartford to Cynthia 
Paulina, daughter of Judge Loren Pinck- 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ney and Frances Elizabeth (Eldredge) 
Waldo. He died January 24, 1914, and 
his wife died March 18, 1908. 

Judge L. P. Waldo Marvin was the only 
child of his parents, and was prepared for 
college in the public schools of Hartford, 
being graduated from Yale in 1892 with 
the usual Bachelor degree. He then at- 
tended the Yale Law School, from which 
he was graduated in 1894, and while there 
was one of the editors of the "Yale Law 
Journal." In the year of his graduation, 
he was admitted to the bar in Hartford 
county and immediately began the prac- 
tice of his profession, meeting with suc- 
cess from the beginning. Possessing a 
mind trained to careful study, and being 
conscientious in the preparation of his 
cases, he had the faculty of making his 
client's cause his own and his personal 
characteristics inspired confidence. He 
has been judge of probate for Hartford 
since 1907, and while he is a Democrat, 
has had the honor of being nominated by 
both parties for his present position. Such 
a testimonial to a man's personal char- 
acter and efficiency makes further com- 
ment superfluous. He has served as chair- 
man of the Democratic town committee, 
and was also a member of the high school 
commission for seven years. At the time 
of his first election as judge of probate he 
retired as a member of the street board. 

Judge Marvin is a member of many 
clubs and societies, among which are the 
Alpha Delti Phi fraternity, the City Club 
of Hartford, Elihu Club of New Haven, 
University Club, Hartford Club, Hartford 
Golf Club, Lafayette Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Charter Oak 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows ; John Hay Lodge, Knights of Pythi- 
as ; Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and the Foresters of America. He 
is also president of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, ex-president of the 



City Club of Hartford, president of the 
Yale Alumni Association of Hartford, and 
a member of the board of trustees of the 
Connecticut Training School for the 
Feeble Minded. For some years he has 
been president of the Association of Pro- 
bate Judges of the State of Connecticut, 
and he is a member of the executive com- 
mittee of the State Bar Association. He 
has also been vestryman for a number of 
years of Trinity Church, Hartford, and 
a representative of the church to the di- 
ocesan convention. He is an ex-president 
of the local assembly of St. Andrew's 
Brotherhood; president for some years of 
the Open Hearth Association, a rescue 
mission; ex-president of the Choral Club, 
and a member of the Hartford Saenger- 
bund. No man in Hartford takes a greater 
interest in public affairs than Judge Mar- 
vin. He is a man of generous impulses 
and has a strong sense of social responsi- 
bility. His support has always been ac- 
corded to those measures and enterprises 
that help the less fortunate and that 
promise to enhance the public good. 

Judge Marvin married, June 4, 1894, 
Florence Belle Watrous, born March 26, 
1873, daughter of Christopher and Char- 
lotte (Kendall) Watrous. They have 
two children : Florence Watrous, born 
December 2, 1896, and Edwin Waldo, 
born June 13, 1899. 

(The Waldo Line). 

Cynthia Paulina (Waldo) Marvin, 
mother of Judge L. P. Waldo Marvin, 
was a descendant in the eighth generation 
of the Waldo family, of English origin, 
the first member of which, in the line 
herein followed, to come to the New 
World was Cornelius Waldo, born about 
1624, died at Chelmsford, Massachusetts, 
January 3, 1700-01. It is probable that 
he settled first in Ipswich, and was one of 
the committee appointed to run the line 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



between ipswicn and Gloucester. His 
name is first mentioned in the court rec- 
ords at Salem, July 6, 1647. He owned 
a share and a half in Plum Island, and 
was living at Ipswich as late as 1664. He 
was one of the first settlers of Chelms- 
ford; in 1673 w^s on the committee to 
instruct the selectmen, and in 1678 was 
chosen selectman, also in 1698, and in 
1690 he was licensed to keep a tavern in 
that town. In various deeds he is called 
sometimes of Chelmsford and sometimes 
of Dunstable, probably because his farm 
lay part in each town. He disposed of 
his property, which consisted of a large 
amount of land in Dunstable and Chelms- 
ford, with a dwelling house and buildings 
in each town, before his death, and died 
intestate. He married Hannah Cogswell, 
born 1624, died December 25, 1704, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Cogswell, of Ipswich. They were the 
parents of eleven children among whom 
was John, of whom further, 
' John Waldo, son of Cornelius and Han- 
nah (Cogswell) Waldo, was born prob- 
ably at Ipswich, Massachusetts, and died 
at Windham, Connecticut, April 14, 1700. 
He resided in Chelmsford, Dunstable, 
Boston, Massachusetts, and Windham, 
Connecticut, removing to the latter named 
town, November 29, 1697, when he pur- 
chased a grist mill and mill works, dwell- 
ing house and an acre of land, and in 
January following purchased an allotment 
of a thousand acre right. He was ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of Windham, Janu- 
ary 30, 1698, and there spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He married Re- 
becca Adams, daughter of Captain Samuel 
and Rebecca (Graves) Adams, of Charles- 
town. She married (second) Deacon 
Eliezer Brown, of Canterbury, and she 
died at Canterbury, September 17, 1727. 
They were the parents of eight children 
among whom was Edward, of whom fur- 
ther. 



Edward Waldo, son of JoTin and Ke- 
becca (Adams) Waldo, was born at Dun- 
stable, Massachusetts, April 23, 1684, and 
died at Windham, Connecticut, August 3, 
1767. He obtained his education in the 
schools of Boston, and his first experience 
in business life was as teacher in a school 
at Windham, in which capacity he served 
for a number of years. He then turned 
his attention to farming and conducted 
extensive operations in that part of Wind- 
ham which is now Scotland. He erected a 
house, about the year 1714, near the coun- 
ty line, which is still standing and is 
occupied by a descendant. He was a 
member of the General Assembly in 1722, 
1725, 1730; was lieutenant of militia, and 
in 1745 was one of the jury which tried 
Elizabeth Shaw for murder and resulted 
in the first public execution in Windham 
county. He was moderator of the first 
meeting of the Third Society of Wind- 
ham, or Scotland Parish, in June, 1732, 
and was on several important committees 
in the church ; in 1734 he was chosen a 
deacon, and in 1735 he and his wife were 
transferred from the Windham to the 
Scotland Parish church. In 1746 he and 
his family were strong supporters of the 
Separate Church, but in 1763 he was re- 
stored to his standing in the First Church. 
He married (first) June 28, 1706, at Wind- 
ham, Thankful Dimmock, born March, 
1682, at Barnstable, Massachusetts, died 
at Windham, Connecticut, December 13, 
1757, daughter of Deacon Shubael and 
Joanna (Bursley) Dimmock, of Mans- 
field, Connecticut. He married (second) 
Mary Freeman, born February i, 1695-96, 
probably daughter of Elisha and Rebecca 
(Doane) Paine, of Eastham, and widow 
of Robert Freeman. Edward Waldo and 
his first wife were the parents of ten chil- 
dren among whom was Edward, of whom 
further. 

Edward (2) Waldo, son of Edward (i) 
and Thankful (Dimmock) Waldo, was 
207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born at Windham, Connecticut, July 27, 
1709, and died at Canterbury, Connecti- 
cut, September 4, 1807. He purchased 
land at Canterbury, and after his removal 
joined the Separate or Baptist church 
there. He may have resided in Nor- 
virich a short time, but returned to Can- 
terbury. He was a tythingman in 1765. 
He married (first) January 25, 1733, at 
Franklin, Connecticut, Abigail Elderkin, 
born at Norwich, September 29, 1715, 
daughter of John and Susannah (Baker) 
Elderkin. He married (second) Ruth 

, who died October 14, 1824, aged 

ninety-seven years. By his first marriage 
he was the father of four children, among 
whom was Zachariah, of whom further. 

Zachariah Waldo, son of Edward (2) 
and Abigail (Elderkin) Waldo, was born 
February i, 1734-35, and died in Canter- 
bury, Connecticut, February 8, 181 1. He 
was highway surveyor in 1765, 1781, 1782, 
1785; grand juryman, 1771 ; member of 
the committee of safety, 1777; selectman, 
1779; lister, 1780, 1782; member of com- 
mittee of supplies, 1782. He served in 
the Revolutionary War, being a member 
of the Second Company, Eighth Connecti- 
cut Regiment, from July 18 to December 
16, 1775, and in Captain Buell's company, 
First Connecticut Regiment, from Janu- 
ary I, 1781, to December 31, 1781, al- 
though this latter service may have be- 
longed to his son. He married (first) No- 
vember 21, 1758, Elizabeth Wight, born 
July 20, 1738, died September 7, 1800, 
daughter of Joshua and Elizabeth (Cary) 
Wight, of Windham. He married (sec- 
ond) November 18, 1806, at Canterbury, 
Cynthia Clark. His first wife bore him 
six children, among whom was Ebenezer, 
of whom further. 

Ebenezer Waldo, son of Zachariah and 
Elizabeth (Wight) Waldo, was born at 
Canterbury, Connecticut, April 6, 1771, 
and died at Tolland, Connecticut, August 



27, 1840. He probably resided in Tolland 
after the removal of his sons there. He 
took an active interest in public afifairs 
during his residence in Canterbury, and 
served as highway surveyor, 1798; lister, 
1802, 1805, 1807, 181 1 ; grand juryman, 
1806; fence viewer, 1810, 1812, 1813, 1814, 
1816, 1817; selectman, 1815, 1824. He 
was admitted to the church at Westmin- 
ster, March 9, 1806, and was inspector of 
school district No. 4 in that parish. He 
married, March 31, 1798, at Canterbury, 
Cynthia Parish, born February 19, 1770, 
died February 21, 1837, daughter of Lem- 
uel and Zerviah (Smith) Parish. They 
were the parents of four children, among 
whom was Loren Pinckney, of whom fur- 
ther. 

Loren Pinckney Waldo, son of Eben- 
ezer and Cynthia (Parish) Waldo, was 
born at Canterbury, Connecticut, Febru- 
ruary 2, 1802, and died at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, September 8, 1881. After com- 
pleting his studies in the schools of the 
community, he secured a position as 
teacher and for seven winters was en- 
gaged in that work, devoting his time dur- 
ing the summer months to agricultural 
pursuits. During this period of time he 
also applied himself to study and mastered 
the higher branches of mathematics and 
also obtained a good knowledge of Latin. 
At the age of twenty-one he entered the 
law office of his uncle, John Parish, at 
Tolland, and under his able preceptorship 
pursued a course of study of law, and was 
admitted to the bar of Tolland county in 
September, 1825, and began the practice 
of law at Somers, Connecticut. He re- 
turned to Tolland in 1830 and resided 
there until 1863, when he removed to 
Hartford and there spent the remainder 
of his days. During his residence in 
Somers he served as postmaster for two 
years, also as superintendent of schools. 
He was a member of the General Assem- 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bly from Tolland in 1832-33-34, 1839, 
1847-48; he was clerk of the House of 
Representatives, 1833 ; was a member of 
the board of visitors of schools in Tol- 
land, of the board of commissioners of 
common schools of Connecticut, and 
chairman of the committee of education in 
the House ; he was attorney for the State 
for Tolland county from 1837 to 1849; j'^^^lge 
of probate for Tolland district in 1842- 
43 ; was unanimously chosen by the Leg- 
islature as a member of the committee to 
levise the statutes, 1847, ^^'^ "vv^s again 
appointed on a similar committee in 1864; 
was a member of the Thirty-first Con- 
gress of the United States in 1849, ^^^ 
was chairman of the committee on Revo- 
lutionary pensions ; was commissioner of 
the school fund of Connecticut ; commis- 
sioner of pensions in Washington dur- 
ing the administration of President Pierce, 
and continued in that office until elected 
judge of the Superior Court of Connec- 
ticut for a term of eight years. At the 
expiration of this term, about 1863, he 
removed to Hartford and engaged in the 
general practice of his profession, at first 
with his son-in-law, Alvan Pinney Hyde, 
and later in the firm of Waldo, Hubbard 
& Hyde. He was the author of the "His- 
tory of Tolland," and gathered consider- 
able of the material for the genealogy of 
the Waldo family. In politics he was a 
Democrat. He was a member of the 
Westminster church, but later rejected 
some of the tenets of the orthodox faith, 
and both he and his brother, Obadiah 
Parish Waldo, were excommunicated in 
1826. He became a conservative Unita- 
rian, and after removing to Hartford was 
a constant and devout attendant at the 
South Congregational Church. 

Mr. Waldo married, at Tolland, No- 
vember 2, 1825, Frances Elizabeth El- 
dredge, born at New London, Connec- 
ticut, December 10, 1806, and died March 



29, 1874, daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth (Avery) Eldredge, of Tolland, and 
granddaughter of Charles Eldredge, who 
was severely wounded in the massacre of 
Fort Griswold, September 6, 1781, and of 
Captain l^lijah Avery, who was killed in 
the same massacre. Children, born at 
Tolland : F^benezer Elderkin, born March 
9, 1827, died March 19, 1833; Frances 
Elizabeth, born March 21, 183 1, married, 
September 12, 1849, Hon. Alvan Pinney 
Hyde ; Loren Pinckney, Jr., born March 
24, 1834, died September 28, 1865 ; Cyn- 
thia Paulina, born October 25, 1836, mar- 
ried, December 24, 1866, Edwin Eliphalet 
Marvin (see Marvin). 



CALHOUN, Joseph Gilbert, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Joseph Gilbert Calhoun, former prose- 
cuting attorney of Hartford, is a repre- 
sentative of a family which, for two gen- 
erations, has been prominent in the legal 
circles of that city, having been distin- 
guished in the annals of Connecticut since 
the Colonial period of her history. Mr. 
Calhoun has taken an active part in the 
political life of his city and county and 
has filled most creditably more than one 
ofHce of honor and responsibility. 

The name of Calhoun has been traced 
back to about the year 1200, the time 
when surnames were first adopted, ap- 
pearing then in history as the ancient 
Colquehouns, Lairds of Luss. The home 
of the clan was on the western shore of 
Loch Lomond, and it is interesting to 
note that the name "Colquehoun" signifies 
" a seacoasting common or point." These 
lands were granted to the progenitor of 
the family in the reign of Alexander the 
Second. Some of the branches in Scot- 
land, England and Ireland still retain the 
ancient spelling, despite the fact that the 
name is pronounced "Cohoun." 



Conn— 2— 14 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



David Calhoun, founder of the Ameri- 
can branch of the family, was born about 
1690, in Scotland. His father's family 
were Nonconformists, and by reason of 
the religious persecution then rife in their 
native country were forced to flee, with 
many others of the clan, to the North of 
Ireland, where they found a home in Lon- 
donderry. Even here, however, persecu- 
tion followed them, and in 1714 David Cal- 
houn, with his two brothers, James and 
John, emigrated to the American colonies. 
They landed in New York, where they 
separated, Da\'id coming to Connecticut 
and settling in Stratford. In 1732 he re- 
moved to \\'ashington, Connecticut, where 
he passed the remainder of his life. He 
married, in Stratford, Mrs. Fairchild, a 
widow whose maiden name had been 
Catherine Coe, and his death occurred in 
1769. 

George Calhoun, son of David and 
Catherine (Coe-Fairchild) Calhoun, was 
born April 6, 1744, and married, March 
30, 1780, Judith Taylor, a widow, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Abel Comstock, of Warren. 
Connecticut. 

Rev. George Albion Calhoun, son of 
George and Judith (Comstock-Taylor) 
Calhoun, was born October 11, 1788, in 
Washington, Connecticut. He received 
but a meagre education, the facilities 
which the neighborhood afforded for 
mental culture being extremely limited, 
and his services moreover being greatly 
needed on the home farm. Being excep- 
tionally strong he was able to do more 
work than most boys of his age, and his 
religious training which he received at 
home, was of the most thorough character 
including the Assembly's Catechism. He 
is said to have been fearless and athletic, 
a leader among his fellows, and in the 
following sentence he has described him- 
self at this period of his life : "At eighteen 
I became a man for business." A vear 



later he began to feel his lack of educa- 
tion and resolved that upon coming of age 
he would supply the deficiencies of his 
early mental equipment. Accordingly, at 
twenty-one, he placed himself at school 
at \\'olcott and began the study of arith- 
metic and English grammar. After four 
or five months he became a law student 
in the office of the Hon. Nathan Strong, 
but soon saw that his limited education 
would not allow him to study law profit- 
ably. He therefore returned to school and 
at the age of twenty-two began to study 
Latin. In 1812 he entered the junior class 
at Williams College, but at the close of 
his second term went to Hamilton Col- 
lege, which had just been established at 
Clinton, New York. Mr. Calhoun and 
one other student constituted the first 
junior and senior classes of that college 
and in August, 1814, were graduated with- 
out commencement exercises. By invita- 
tion of Williams College, Air. Calhoun 
took his degree with the class of which 
he had been a member. In September, 
1814, he united with the church in Salis- 
bury, Connecticut, and matriculated in 
Andover Theological Semi'nary, graduat- 
ing with the class of 1817. 

While at Hamilton College, Mr. Cal- 
houn had aided in founding a Young 
People's Missionary Society for Western 
New York, and under the patronage of 
that society he spent his first year after 
graduating from the seminary as a mis- 
sionary in the vicinity of Geneva, New 
York. He received invitations from 
churches in that region, but declined 
them, it being his intention, after supply- 
ing for a season some destitute churches 
in New England, to go as a missionary to 
the Southwestern States. At the close of 
his first year he went to Connecticut and 
preached for the first time on November 
I, 1818, at North Coventry, most accept- 
ably, as appears from the fact that there, 



210 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



on March lo, 1819, he was ordained and 
installed. In 1830 he resigned his pastor- 
ate on account of failing health and 
traveled in Maine in behalf of the Ameri- 
can Education Society, visiting one hun- 
dred congregations and pleading the 
cause of home missions. This paved the 
way for the Domestic Missionary Society 
of Connecticut to become the auxiliary 
of the American Home Missionary So- 
ciety. At the close of this period of labor 
Mr. Calhoun returned to his church at 
North Coventry but. his health again 
failing, he made a trip to Europe, return- 
ing in November. 1831. much invigorated. 
He also spent a year collecting funds for 
the endowment of the theological insti- 
tute at East Windsor. In 1849 ^Ir. Cal- 
houn was elected a member of the corpo- 
ration of Yale College, and in 1852 Hamil- 
ton College conferred upon him the de- 
gree of Doctor of Divinity. He served 
several times as delegate from the General 
-Association of Connecticut to foreign 
ecclesiastical bodies. In March, i860, he 
sent a communication to the Ecclesiasti- 
cal Society, relinquishing all claim for 
salary and resigning his active work as 
pastor, but still retaining his pastoral 
office. From September. 1861, to May. 
1863. he supplied the pulpit of the First 
Church of Coventry, but growing infirm- 
ities admonished him to cease from stated 
preaching. Dr. Calhoun married, Novem- 
ber 16. 1819, Betsey Scoville, whose ances- 
tral record is appended to this biography. 
and among their children was David Sam- 
uel, mentioned below. Mrs. Calhoun 
passed away April 14. 1857, and the death 
of Dr. Calhoun occurred June 7, 1867. 

David Samuel Calhoun, son of Rev. 
George Albion and Betsey (Scoville) Cal- 
houn, was born November 11, 1827, in 
Coventry, Tolland county. Connecticut, 
and was reared in a rural environment 
where he acquired habits of industry, 



thrift and frugality, being, moreover, thor- 
oughly drilled in the religious tenets of 
his time. He prepared for college under 
the private instruction of the Rev. Wil- 
liam Ely. of Coventry, and later attended 
W'illiston Seminary. In 1848 he gradu- 
ated from Yale College. Among his class- 
mates were the late Judge Dwight Foster, 
of Massachusetts ; Judge Nathaniel Ship- 
man. Major Theodore Winthrop, Arthur 
D. Osborn, who became president of the 
Second National Bank of New Haven, 
and the distinguished constitutional 
lawyer, the Hon. Henry Hitchcock, of 
St. Louis. After graduating Mr. Calhoun 
went to Ravenna, Ohio, where in Septem- 
ber. 1848, he opened a boys' school. Find- 
ing that the climate of Ohio was not 
suited to him, he returned in the follow- 
ing spring to Coventry, where he taught 
in the academy until March, 1850. At 
that time, having made choice of the 
law as a profession, he entered the office 
of the late Chief Justice O. S. Seymour, 
of Litchfield, and on December 17, 1851. 
was admitted in that city to the Connec- 
ticut bar. In February of the following 
year Mr. Calhoun opened an office in 
North Manchester, where he practiced 
until November, 1869, when he removed 
to Hartford. There he formed a partner- 
ship with Mahlon R. West which con- 
tinued for seven years. 

While in ]Manchester Mr. Calhoun 
served for twelve years as judge of pro- 
bate and also figured prominently in poli- 
tics. In 1856 he occupied a seat in the 
State Senate, and in 1862 was again 
chosen by his fellow citizens to represent 
them in that body. In his first term he 
served on the committee on education, 
officiating as chairman. This committee 
revised the school laws of the State, in 
consequence of which, among other im- 
portant changes, school societies were 
abolished and the supervision of the dis- 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



trict schools was transferred to the towns. 
In 1862 Mr. Calhoun was chairman of the 
military committee and ex officio member 
of the Corporation of Yale College. 

In 1876 Judge Calhoun suffered a seri- 
ous illness as a result of over-work and 
was obliged to take a year's complete 
rest. During his convalescence he was 
elected judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas of Hartford county. Regard for 
his health induced him to accept the office 
which he retained for twenty years until 
automatically retired by the legal age 
limit. During his period of service he 
heard and decided about two thousand 
cases only five of which were over-ruled 
by the Supreme Court of Errors and in 
two of these the court was divided. For 
some years Judge Calhoun figured promi- 
nently in the trial of criminal cases, win- 
ning an enviable reputation, but later he 
confined his practice to the civil courts. 
He was an indefatigable worker, neglect- 
ing no detail in the preparation of a case, 
and he was also a keen observer of men 
and things, a logical reasoner and a force- 
ful and able trial lawyer. 

In public affairs Judge Calhoun always 
took an active interest, aiding to the 
utmost of his power those measures and 
movements that promised to advance the 
f^eneral welfare. He was a member of 
the Connecticut Historical Society and 
the Sons of the Revolution, and for many 
years attended the Farmington Avenue 
Congregational Church, also teaching in 
the Sunday School. 

Judge Calhoun married (first) Novem- 
ber 7, 1852, Harriet A. Gilbert, of Cov- 
entry, and they became the parents of the 
following children : Mary Scoville, mar- 
ried Edward G. Hart; Joseph Gilbert, 
mentioned below; Elizabeth Hale, de- 
ceased ; John, also deceased ; Fanny Rose, 
married Ralph Clarkson, an artist of Chi- 
cago ; Theodore Winthrop ; David ; and 



Jasper. The three last are deceased. Mrs. 
Calhoun died August i, 1868, and Judge 
Calhoun married (second) February 16, 
1870, Eliza, daughter of Dr. William 
Scott, of Manchester. 

The death of Judge Calhoun occurred 
November 7, 1912. He was a man of 
pleasing personality, possessing in an emi- 
nent degree the qualities which win and 
hold friends. In his earlier professional 
life, as an able member of the bar, and 
later, during his many years of distin- 
guished service on the bench, he furnished 
an example of unwavering adherence to 
lofty ethical ideals. His name is inscribed 
with honor in the legal annals of New 
England. 

Joseph Gilbert Calhoun, son of David 
Samuel and Harriet A. (Gilbert) Calhoun, 
was born July 20, 1856, in Manchester, 
Connecticut. In 1874 he graduated from 
the Hartford High School. He then en- 
tered the Sheffield Scientific School of 
Yale University, graduating with the class 
of 1877 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Philosophy. After reading law under the 
preceptorship of his father he was ad- 
mitted in May, 1880, to the bar of his 
native State. Since that time Mr. Cal- 
houn has been continuously engaged in 
the general practice of his profession in 
Hartford. For some years he has been 
attorney of the Riverside Trust Company, 
also occupying a seat on the board of di- 
rectors. From 1896 to 1906 he served as 
prosecuting attorney of Hartford, filling 
the office with an acumen, an energy and 
a singleness of purpose which commended 
him to his professional brethren and his 
fellow citizens at large. 

The political allegiance of Mr. Calhoun 
is given to the Republican party and he 
has ever been an active worker for the 
advancement of the measures and the 
support of the principles advocated by the 
organization. From 1883 to 1889 he 
:I2 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



served as clerk of the City Police Court, 
and in 1890-91 he was a member of the 
Common Council. From 1906 to 1909 
he held the office of police commissioner, 
and since 1905 he has served continuously 
as coroner of Hartford county. From 
1906 to 1910 he was a member of the 
Republican State Central Committee. As 
a public official Mr. Calhoun has given 
the best that was in him to the service of 
his fellow citizens, placing the discharge 
of his duties and responsibilities before all 
personal considerations. He has always 
thrown the weight of his influence on the 
side of good government and his straight- 
forward methods have won the unhesita- 
ting approval of all public-spirited mem- 
bers of the community. As a lawyer Mr. 
Calhoun has the faculty of making a 
client's cause his own and marshals his 
facts and arguments in a forceful, logical 
manner which produces in the minds of 
his hearers strong conviction of the sound- 
ness of his position. 

Despite the engrossing nature of the 
demands of his profession, Mr. Calhoun 
has found time for literary work of a high 
order. He was one of the editors of "Ju- 
dicial and Civil History of Connecticut" 
and accomplished practically all the labor 
of writing and compiling this large vol- 
ume, the only work on the subject thus 
far published. The only clubs in which 
Mr. Calhoun holds membership are the 
Hartford, the Hartford Golf and the 
Twentieth Century. For many years he 
has attended the Center Church. Any at- 
tempt to describe the appearance and per- 
sonality of a man so well known to a ma- 
jority of his fellow citizens would be 
clearly superfluous. It could be justified 
only on the ground that such a description 
might be desired by generations of the 
future and that, it is needless to say, can 
be furnished more acceptably by the artist 
than by the biographer. Mr. Calhoun is 



the bearer of an ancient name, honorable 
in two hemispheres, and by his record as 
lawyer and citizen has worthily main- 
tained and increased its reputation. 

Mr. Calhoun married, November 20, 
1889. Sarah Cornelia, born April 5, 1861, 
in ]^>rooklyn, daughter of Oren Milton 
and Jeannette M. (Johnson) Beach. Mr. 
Beach was a banker in Albany for some 
years, later becoming president of the 
Broadway Bank of Brooklyn. 

(The Scoville Line). 

Elisha Scoville, grandfather of Mrs. 
Betsey (Scoville) Calhoun, was a soldier 
in the Revolutionary army, serving with 
the rank of lieutenant in the Twenty- 
fourth Regiment organized from the in- 
habitants of the Wyoming Valley. At 
the time of the terrible massacre Lieu- 
tenant Scoville was in command of Fort 
Wintermort, he and his family having 
moved, in 1770, from Colchester to the 
valley. On July i, 1778, the fort was sur- 
rendered to Major Jonathan Butler and 
in the massacre that followed Lieutenant 
Scoville and his wife lost everything but 
some clothing. They fled with their in- 
fant child to Connecticut, where they re- 
mained until the close of the war, later 
returning to the Wyoming Valley and 
there spending the remainder of their 
days. Their son, Jonathan Scoville, mar- 
ried Sarah Church (see Church line). 
Their daughter, Betsey Scoville, became 
the wife of the Rev. George Albion Cal- 
houn, as stated above. 

(The Church Line). 

Richard Church was of London, Eng- 
land, and cast in his lot with the Pilgrims 
of the "Mayflower." It would, perhaps, 
be more accurate to say that it appears 
probable that he did so by reason of the 
fact that he married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Richard Warren, who is stated to have 
been one of that heroic band. Richard 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Warren came from London, a fact which 
makes it appear that his son-in-law might 
also have been of that city. The name of 
Warren is found among the signatures 
affixed to the famous "Compact" and it is 
known that Richard Warren settled at 
Plymouth. His wife and children came 
in the "Anne" in 1623. He died before 
1628, and his widow passed away October 
"2, 1673, aged about ninety years. Their 
son, Isaac Church, was the father of 
Caleb Church, who was the father of 
Samuel Church, who was the father of 
Sarah Church, who became the wife of 
Jonathan Scoville (see Scoville line). 



EAMES, George Manson, 

Head of Important Indnstry. 

L'pon leaving school, George M. Eames 
began his business career with the Wheeler 
^ W^ilson Manufacturing Company, manu 
facturers of sewing machines. He liter- 
ally "worked his way" from the foundry 
through every department of the business 
until he became vice-president. No higher 
encomium is needed than the foregoing 
facts to convince the reader that his whole 
soul was in his work and that he "did 
with his might that which his hands found 
to do." He comes honestly both by his 
business ability and his public spirit, for 
his father, Albert Eames, was one of 
Bridgeport's noted business men and fore- 
most citizens, particularly interested in 
the establishment and development of a 
park system, and when after twenty-two 
years of service as park commissioner he 
surrendered to the "Grim Reaper," his 
son took up the work and has rendered 
equally unselfish and valuable service on 
the park board. 

Mr. Eames traces descent in direct pa- 
ternal line to Thomas Eames, born in 
England, who came to Massachusetts not 
later than 1634. He was a soldier of the 



Pequot War in 1637, and after several re- 
movals settled in Framingham, Massa- 
chusetts. During King Philip's War, on 
February i, 1676, while absent from his 
home Indians attacked and killed his wife, 
and several of his children were either 
killed or carried away captives. He did 
not long survive this cruel blow, dying 
suddenly, January 25, 1680. 

Nathaniel Eames was one of the chil- 
dren captured by the Indians, but later 
he regained his freedom and was one of 
Framingham's valued citizens until his 
death, January i, 1746. His son, Nathaniel 
(2) Eames, was a corporal in the Indian 
War in 1725, served in the French and 
Indian War in 1757, and although seven- 
ty-two years of age was a "minute-man" 
at Concord and Lexington, April 19. 1775. 
He died March 13, 1796. 

Nathaniel (3) Eames, son of the Revo- 
lutionary patriot, was a prosperous farmer 
in Framingham, and also rendered Revo- 
lutionary service. His son, Lovell Eames, 
was a substantial farmer and landowner 
of Framingham. and was generous in the 
gifts of land for church purposes. He 
married Lucy Eames, daughter of Henry 
(2) Eames, a Revolutionary soldier, and 
a descendant of Thomas Eames, through 
his son. John Eames. and his son, Henry 
( I ) Eames. 

Albert Eames, son of Lovell and Lucy 
( Fames) Eames, was born at Framing- 
ham, Massachusetts, March 9, 181 1, died 
in Bridgeport, Connecticut, December 14, 
1889. He learned the machinist's trade at 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and later was 
employed in the United States mints at 
Savannah and New Orleans. In 1846 he 
engaged with the Remingtons at Ilion, 
New York, they then having an important 
contract for firearms for the government. 
His services were of great value in invent- 
ing a new way of making parts, his system 
one now generally adopted by gunsmiths 



214 




ys^ii^^'^ -^^'^ ^y^ 




r^s^^-ntr'CJt M^ftri-rce^'' ^tfcrgfo 



y'E \IL'^'^ ''jF-K 
pijE J-C LIBRARY 

ASTOR. LENOX 
TILDEN fOUND.^TIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and machine makers. Later Mr. Eames 
organized the American Machine Works 
at Springfield, Massachusetts, and in 1856 
located in Bridgeport. He entered the 
employ of the Wheeler & Wilson Manu- 
facturing Company, and until his death 
was identified with that company. He 
was president of the Bridgeport Horse 
Railroad Company, took an active part in 
municipal affairs, and was one of the men 
to whom Bridgeport owes the inception 
and development of her first park system. 
He served as park commissioner twenty- 
two years, term expiring with his death, 
and gave to the duties of his office serv- 
ice of a high order. He was a member 
of Hampden Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of Springfield, until 
his death, although for thirty-five years 
Bridgeport was his home. He married, 
in 1844, Harriet Avery Ferre, born at 
Monson. Massachusetts, March 26, 1819, 
died at Bridgeport, September 3, 1889, a 
descendant of Charles and Sarah (Her- 
mon) Ferre, early settlers of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. The Ferre descent is 
traced through Charles Ferre, the founder ; 
his son, John (i) Ferre ; his son, John (2) 
Ferre; his son, John (3) Ferre; his son, 
Solomon Ferre, a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion ; his son, Horace Ferre, who married 
Harriet Avery, a descendant of Captain 
James Avery, of New London, Connec- 
ticut ; their daughter, Harriet Avery 
Ferre, married Albert Eames, and they 
are the parents of George Manson Eames, 
of Bridgeport. 

George Manson Eames, youngest son 
of Albert and Harriet Avery (Ferre) 
Eames, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January 19, 1859. but has spent 
his life largely in Bridgeport. After 
completing courses in Bridgeport public 
schools he entered the employ of the 
Wneeler & Wilson Manufacturing Com- 
pany in the foundry department. He was 



advanced from one department of the 
plant to another, each position held being 
an upward step. His interest and apti- 
tude carried him to constantly increasing 
positions of responsibility until he was 
elected vice-president. When the busi- 
ness was sold to the Singer Manufactur- 
ing Company, Mr. Eames was retained as 
manager of the Bridgeport plant. 

Mr. Eames is a member of the Bridge- 
port Board of Trade and of the executive 
committee of the Manufacturers' Associ- 
ation. He has ever taken a deep interest 
in municipal affairs, that interest being 
particularly directed toward the develop- 
ment of Bridgeport's park system. He 
was elected a member the park commis- 
sion, and has served continuously as presi- 
dent of the board, his colleagues unani- 
mously awarding him the honor although 
he asked that it be conferred upon an- 
other. He is an ex-president of the 
Algonquin Club, ex-commodore of the 
Bridgeport Yacht Club, and a member of 
other clubs of his city. In political faith 
he is a Republican. 

Mr. Eames married Helen Augusta 
Higby, daughter of William Riley and 
Mary Ann (Johnson) Higby, the former 
named a leading business man and official 
of Bridgeport, now deceased, a descendant 
of the eighth generation of Edward Hig- 
bee. who settled in New London, Connec- 
ticut, in 1648. Mr. and Mrs. Eames are 
the parents of five children : Charlotte M., 
married George W. Ellis, of Monson, 
Massachusetts ; Helen, married Noble E. 
Vincent ; Martha, twin with Helen, de- 
ceased ; William, deceased ; George Man- 
son (2). 



TINKER, Berlin Wright, 

Prominent in Educational Circles. 

There is no more vital factor in com- 
munity life than public education. The 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



training of the youthful mind, in the 
formative state, along those lines which 
will prove most beneficial to it in later 
life, is a task which confronts every com- 
munity, as a large and life-sized problem. 
The more progressive the community, the 
greater the care and attention given to 
this problem. The more intelligent and 
capable the men in whose hands the direc- 
tion of education is given, the greater the 
value to themselves and to the world are 
the recipients of it. It is admitted that a 
sound education is the best basis on which 
to begin a career in any walk of life. For 
this reason, the sending of a child or 
youth into the battle of life equipped poor- 
ly and without the necessary tools for 
combat, is no less criminal than the send- 
ing of an ocean liner on a voyage un- 
equipped with life savers sufficient for its 
passengers. The element of chance that 
the ship will sink is no less great than 
that the man will fail. The improvement 
in the quality of public education has in- 
creased a hundred fold within the past 
few decades, due to an awakening on the 
part of the people to the absolute neces- 
sity of a good school training. New Eng- 
land has always been noted for its ex- 
cellent schools ; the New England con- 
science has ever been quick to appreciate 
its duties. The city of Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, may well be taken as an example 
of what is being done throughout that 
entire section. Its educational institu- 
tions are admittedly of the finest grade, 
and the credit for this is largely due to 
the ability, capability and strict integrity 
of the men who have superintended them. 
Berlin Wright Tinker, present Superin- 
tendent of High Schools of the city of 
Waterbury. has steadfastly upheld the high 
standard set by his predecessors, and has 
also added to the prestige of his depart- 
ment improvement of his own. He has 
held his present incumbency since the 



year 1897, prior to which time he taught 
schools throughout the states of Connec- 
ticut and ^Massachusetts, filling the post 
of principal in several high schools. A 
lifelong study of educational conditions, 
and actual experience in the teaching 
force, have thoroughly acquainted him 
with the many problems which face 
modern education. It is impossible for 
the theorist, whose work is not backed 
up by practical planning, to accomplish 
any permanent or efifective reform. What 
is needed in the ranks of education are 
men with constructive imaginations, great 
enough to conceive adequate solutions for 
these problems, and strong and practical 
enough to see their solutions through to 
the finish. This is the type of men who 
have been responsible for the great strides 
forward that education has taken com- 
paratively recently, and in Mr. Tinker the 
schools of Waterbury have such a man. 

Mr. Tinker was born in Jerusalem, New 
York State. February 7. 1867, the son of 
Ezra and Sarah J. (Wright) Tinker. 
Ezra Tinker, D. D., LL. D., was born in 
Norwich, New York, and died in Marine 
City, Michigan, in April, 1912. The greater 
part of his life was spent in the ministry 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, and he 
was pastor of the church at Marine City 
when he died. Mr. Tinker held honorary 
degrees from Yale and Chicago univer- 
sities. The Tinker name is a well known 
one in Connecticut, reaching very far back 
in the history of the State. John Tinker, 
paternal grandfather of Mr. Tinker, was 
born at Lyme, Connecticut. He had four- 
teen children, of whom only three are now 
living: Jeremiah, who is a resident of the 
State of Kansas ; Mary, resident of Wis- 
consin ; and Sarah, resident of New York. 
Ezra Tinker married Sarah J. Wright, 
who was born at Dundee, New York, 
and died in 1908 at Lyons, New York. 
They had five children, and of these Berlin 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



W. Tinker is the only one living. Their 
children were: Viola, died at the age of 
fourteen years ; Theodore, died at thirteen 
years; Belle, died at twelve years; and 
Samuel, died at twenty-one years. 

Mr. Tinker grew up in the wholesome, 
beneficial atmosphere of the home of the 
Methodist minister. When quite young 
he went with his parents to Norwich, Con- 
uecticut, where his father was minister of 
the Methodist Episcopal church. He was 
given all the advantages of a good educa- 
tion, and completed a course at the Nor- 
wich Academy, preparatory for college. 
Upon being graduated from this institu- 
tion he attended Bates College, pursuing 
the regular academic course. He was 
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts, and for a year thereafter attended 
the Boston University, with the purpose 
of making teaching his life work. Upon 
leaving Boston University he immediately 
began teaching, and was the first principal 
of the high school at Chelmsford, Massa- 
chusetts, after that filling the same posi- 
tion in the high schools of Southborough. 
Marblehead, and Marlboro, and later was 
appointed superintendent of schools in 
Marlboro. He came to Waterbury in 
1897, ^s superintendent of schools and has 
held that post up to the present time. 
Mr. Tinker is a member of the First Con- 
gregational Church. 

He was married, in Portland, Maine, on 
August 25, 1889, to Elizabeth French 
Wyer, daughter of Hiram and Martha J. 
(Alexander) Wyer, both of whom were 
members of old families of Portland, 
Maine, and are now dead. Mr. and Mrs. 
Tinker have no children. 

The success of Mr. Tinker's administra- 
tion as superintendent of schools is evi- 
dent in the schools themselves, which 
have been brought up to a state of effi- 
ciency and competency greater than ever 
before. Mr. Tinker is thoroughly imbued 



with the responsibility of his position, and 
has shown that he is thoroughly equipped 
to handle the exigencies which arise in it. 
That this fact is appreciated by the citi- 
zens of Waterbury is attested by his suc- 
cessive reappointment to the post. 



WILBY, Stephen William, 

\Vell-KnoTO^ii Educator. 

Another prominent figure in the educa- 
tional afifairs of the city of Waterbury, 
Connecticut, is Stephen William Wilby, 
principal of the Crosby High School. The 
position of principal in a high school de- 
mands for its successful administration a 
man of much wisdom and human under- 
standing. I'he high school is a world by 
itself, and it presents problems which as- 
sume colossal proportions and require in- 
finite delicacy in their handling. The high 
school education is even more important 
than that of the elementary schools, for it 
is here that character is formed. The im- 
print of the high school life is left clear 
long after that of the elementary has be- 
come a blurred memory. Many great 
men have admitted that the influence of 
their teachers on their lives has been 
greater by far than that of their parents. 
The charge and responsibility which rests 
on the shoulders of the teacher and prin- 
cipal is as great and important in early 
life as that of the minister. It is in fact 
a ministry, and an all absorbing one, call- 
ing for sacrifices continually on the part 
of those who enter it. There are occa- 
sionally men who enter this profession 
who mistake their vocations, men whose 
presence in the calling causes the unrest 
and lack of cooperation found among 
students. They arouse antagonism, as 
natural as it is harmful to the student. 
The true teacher is born a teacher. He is 
the man filled with the spirit of his call- 
ing, the desire to impart knowledge, a 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



love of humanity, and an infinite gift of 
patience. This is the sort of teacher who 
leaves the imprint of his character and 
teaching indelible on the minds and hearts 
of his pupils, who is loved, honored, re- 
vered and respected. The place of such 
a teacher in the hearts of the younger 
generation is truly an enviable one ; and 
it is such a place that Stephen W. Wilby, 
of Crosby High School of Waterbury, 
Connecticut, holds in the hearts of the 
thousands of students who have passed 
through the portals of the high school 
since he first assumed the post of its 
principal. 

Stephen William Wilby was born in 
Spencer, Massachusetts, November 2'j, 
1865, the son of John James and Louise 
B. Wilby. He was given a thorough edu- 
cation, both elementary and secondary, 
and upon graduation from the David 
Prouty High School of Spencer, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1881, was entered in Montreal 
College, in Montreal, Canada. After fin- 
ishing there, he came back to Massachu- 
setts and attended Holy Cross College in 
Worcester. He was graduated from that 
institution in 188S. At the age of twenty- 
three Mr. Wilby began his career as a 
teacher. With the exception of one year's 
time, his entire life since that time has 
been spent in the educational profession. 
That year he spent in New York City, 
engaged in magazine work. Previous to 
his coming to Waterbury, Mr. Wilby 
taught in academies in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, and in Rochester, New York, at 
Epiphany College in Baltimore, and at 
St. Andrew's Seminary in Rochester. He 
came to Waterbury in 1895 and in 1896 
assumed the post of principal of Crosby 
High School. 

Mr. Wilby was married on August 12, 
1902. in Waterbury, Connecticut, to Cath- 
erine G. Charters, daughter of William 
and Ellen (Sexton) Charters; Mrs. Wil- 



by's parents are both dead. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilby have no children. They are mem- 
bers of St. Margaret's Roman Catholic 
Church of Waterbury. 

Mr. Wilby has held the post of principal 
of Crosby High School for twenty-one 
years, and in consequence has had under 
his care and guidance many of the men 
who are to-day Waterbury's leading citi- 
zens, business men and professional men. 
He is a keen observer, and possessed of 
the ability to read and understand men, 
without which he could not have reached 
the height in his profession which he has 
reached. He is a man of genial, kindly 
and forgiving nature ; a deep student, and 
a lover of art and letters. He is well 
known in Waterbury, and has made 
scores of friends in the city, among whom 
are numbered some of the most influential 
men of the city, many of them former 
pupils of his, men who have never for- 
gotten his beneficial influence on their 
earlier lives. 



FANNING. William Edmund, 

Head of Large Industry. 

The name of Fanning is in all probabil- 
ity derived from the old Norman and was 
j.^robably brought to Ireland by the first 
settlers of that race. Many and varied are 
the spellings which we find of it in the 
early days, the afiix "ing" having been 
established some time during the six- 
teenth century. Other more archaic 
forms are those of Fanyng, Fannyng, 
Fannynge, Fanynge, Fanyin, Fannying, 
Fannyn, Fanninge, Fannen, Fanan, Fan- 
nin, and Fannon. The progenitor of the 
Fanning family of which William Edmund 
Fanning, the distinguished gentleman 
whose name heads this brief appreciation, 
is a member, was one Edmund Fanning, 
born about 1620 in Ireland. We know 
comparatively little concerning his life 



•18 



THE Yi't\^ YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS! 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and of his marriage only that his wife's 
Christian name was Ellen. Edmund Fan- 
ning came to America at an unknown 
date. 

Their eldest son, Edmund (2) Fanning, 
was born in Ireland about 165 1, and when 
a child came to American colonies with 
his parents and lived at Groton, Connec- 
ticut, where his father had given him a 
farm. He was one of the English volun- 
teers in the Narragansett War and for his 
services received a grant of land at Vol- 
untown. He was married at Stonington, 
Connecticut, to Margaret Billings, a 
daughter of William and Mary Billings, 
in the year 1678. They made their home 
on the farm at Groton. 

Their son. Edmund (3) Fanning, was 
born in New London, Connecticut, about 
1682. He lived all his lifetime on the 
farm inherited from his father. He was 
a very prominent man in town affairs. 
He died at Groton, Connecticut, in March, 
1768. He married (first) at Preston, Con- 
necticut, about 1710, Hannah, a daughter 
of William and Hannah (Frink) Parke. 
She was born at Preston, September 10, 
1685, and died at Groton, Connecticut. 
June. 1772. 

Their son, William Fanning, was born 
at Groton, Connecticut, December 23, 
1715. He lived on the homestead of his 
ancestors, and died at Groton. Connec- 
ticut, previous to 1762. On March 17, 
1738, he married at Groton. Connecticut, 
Ann, a daughter of James and Abigail 
(Eldridge) Minor. 

Their son. George Fanning, was born 
at Groton. Connecticut, about 1743. He 
lived near Lantern Hill on the old home- 
stead where he followed the occupation 
of farming. He married, about 1770, at 
Groton, Connecticut, Eunice, a daughter 
of Asa Barnes. He died early in 1776, 
and his wife died August 21, 1829, at 
Groton. 



Their son, James Fanning, was born at 
Groton, Connecticut, July 5, 1772. He 
followed the trade of carpenter and re- 
moved to Preston, Connecticut. Here he 
was made a freeman, September 17, 1804. 
He returned to Groton in 1812 and lived 
in Ledyard. He married, at Preston, Con- 
necticut, February 17, 1799, Elizabeth, a 
daughter of Isaac and Annah (Brown) 
Williams. She was born at Groton, Con- 
necticut, June 24, 1776. He died at Led- 
yard. July 9, 1839, and she died at Led- 
yard, October i, 1857. 

Their son, William Fanning, was born 
at Preston, Connecticut, December 14, 
1808. At the age of four years he re- 
moved to Groton with his parents, and 
lived there the remainder of his life. He 
followed the occupation of farming and 
was a representative to the State Legis- 
lature in 1863. He died at Ledyard, May 
I, 1880, at the age of seventy-one years. 
He married, July 21, 1836, at Ledyard, 
Mary Ann. a daughter of Nehemiah Ma- 
son and Huldah (Wheeler) Gallup. She 
was born at Stonington. Connecticut, 
April 17, 1815, and died at Ledyard, Con- 
necticut, October 3, 1901. 

Their son, George Fanning, was born 
at Ledyard, Connecticut. October 4, 1837. 
He was the owner and cultivator of one 
of the finest farms in the State of Con- 
necticut. He was very active in civic life, 
was elected school visitor in October, 
1859. and served as acting school visitor 
and secretary of the board for several 
years. In October, 1895, he was reelected 
for a term of three years. In November. 
1880. he was elected judge of probate over 
Colonel William T. Cork, his opponent. 
In 1884 he was defeated by James A. 
Billings, and in November. 1888, was re- 
elected again. He retired in 1895 and 
was succeeded by Russell Gallup. He 
was in office for a period of ten years. 
He married, at Ledyard, Connecticut, 



219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April i6, 1862, Mary Abbie, a daughter 
of Edmund and Bethiah Williams (Avery) 
Spicer. 

William Edmund Fanning, son of 
George and Mary Abbie (Spicer) Fan- 
ning, was born June 27, 1870, at Ledyard, 
Connecticut. He received the preliminary 
portion of his education at the local pub- 
lic school, and after completing his studies 
there entered the Snell Business College, 
where he took a commercial course. Upon 
completing his studies at the latter insti- 
tution, he secured a position as book- 
keeper for the Chelsea Fire Works Com- 
pany at Norwich, Connecticut, and held 
this post for a period of some four years. 
He had a strong ambition, however, to be 
engaged independently in business, and 
was enabled to realize it in the year 1894, 
when he resigned his position as book- 
keeper and established a public laundry 
in Rockville, Connecticut. Here he was 
successful to such an extent that he be- 
came anxious to transfer his efiforts to a 
larger community and with this end in 
view, about six months later, he sold his 
Rockville business and came to Hartford, 
where he started his present establish- 
ment under the name of the Empire Steam 
Laundry. His start in this line was a 
small one, he employing but four men and 
one team of horses to carry on his work. 
But this did not remain true for more 
than a very short period, as his success 
was most immediate and necessitated a 
rapid increase in facilities and an en- 
largement of his quarters. At the present 
time the laundry employs nearly one hun- 
dred hands and ten or eleven delivery 
autos are kept in constant activity. In 
the year 1912 Mr. Fanning built the pres- 
ent large quarters of the Empire Steam 
Laundry, a building measuring one hun- 
dred and thirty-five by seventy-five feet 
and two stories in height. In 1916 an 
addition was erected to this plant meas- 



uring eighty by fifty feet. Mr. Fanning is 
also president and treasurer of the Em- 
pire Dry Cleaning Company, and sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Grant Seam- 
less Net Company, and both concerns 
are conducting their business in the 
building of the Empire Steam Laundry, 
located on Sheldon street. 

Besides his business, Mr. Fanning is 
prominent in many aspects of the com- 
munity's life and is particularly active in 
the social and club circles of the city. He 
has been a member of Putnam Phalanx 
for about four years, and is affiliated with 
St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Washington Comman- 
dery, Knights Templar, and several other 
Masonic bodies ; with the Royal Arca- 
num, of which he is grand orator ; the 
Foresters of America ; the Automobile 
Club of Hartford ; the Weathersfield 
Country Club, of Weathersfield ; the City 
Club of Hartford, and the Hartford 
Chamber of Commerce. He is now re- 
garded as one of the most successful and 
public-spirited citizens of Hartford, and 
has won a very well deserved success. 

Mr. Fanning was united in marriage to 
Ada M. Moxley, a daughter of Solon Mox- 
ley, of Norwich, Connecticut, and they are 
the parents of the following children : Eu- 
genia Adams, now a senior in the New 
England Conservatory of Music ; Esther 
Ada, a junior in Smith College, and an 
accomplished violin player ; George, who 
has completed his studies in the West 
Hartford High School. 

(The Spicer Line). 

Mary Abbie (Spicer) Fanning was born 
in Ledyard, Connecticut, September 23, 
1837. She was a daughter of Edmund 
Spicer, born January 11, 1812, in North 
Groton, Connecticut, died May i, 1890, in 
Ledyard, Connecticut. He was a promi- 
nent citizen of Ledyard, served as justice 



220 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the peace and judge of probate, and 
was a merchant and large landowner, lie 
married, November i6, 1836, Bethiah Wil- 
liams, a daughter of John Sands and 
Bethiah (Williams) Avery. She was born 
May 28, 1817, in Groton, Connecticut, and 
died March 7, 1886. 

1-Ie was the son of John Spicer, born 
August 14, 1770, in North Groton, Con- 
necticut, and died March 2, 1856, in Led- 
yard, Connecticut. He married, Septem- 
ber 7, 1794, in North Groton, Elizabeth, a 
daughter of Joseph and Deborah (Leeds) 
Latham. She was born July 23, 1774, in 
Groton, Connecticut, and died June 10, 
1859, in Ledyard. He served as select- 
man from 1803 to 1806 and was elected 
to represent the town at the National 
General Assembly at New Haven in 1806 
and at the National Association in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1807. He was justice 
of the peace in 1825, and was instrumental 
in dividing the town of Groton into a por- 
tion that later became Ledyard. He lived 
and died on the homestead, and was dur- 
ing his lifetime a carpenter, farmer and 
prosperous man. 

He was the son of Edward Spicer, born 
April 4, 1722, in North Groton, Connecti- 
< ut, and died before January 18, 1797. He 
married (second) October 18, 1761, Abi- 
jtail Allyn. She died December, 1798, in 
I'Jorth Groton. Edward Spicer was a 
Jarmer and landowner near Ledyard Cen- 
ler, Connecticut. 

He was the son of John Spicer, born 
J anuary i, 1698, in New London, Connec- 
licut, and died August 28, 1753, in North 
Groton, on the same farm on which he 
was born. He married (first) October 
:j2, 1720, in Groton, Connecticut, Mary, a 
daughter of Robert and Martha (Tyler) 
Geer. She was born May 14, 1701, in 
Groton. 

John Spicer was a son of Edward Spicer, 
born about 1674 in New London, Connec- 



I icut. He married his cousin, Katherine, 
a daughter of Hugh and Abigail (Buse- 
i:ot) Stone. She was born August 22, 
1674. 

He was a son of Peter Spicer, who is 
found in New London in 1666. From 
where he came to New London is not cer- 
1;ain, but there is a tradition that he came 
irom Virginia to New England, and was 
of English parentage. He married Mary, 
daughter of Peter and Mary Busecot, De- 
cember 15, 1670. 



STAPLES, Frank Trubee, 

Banker, Real Estate Operator. 

The growth of the city of Bridgeport, 
which in recent years has been remark- 
able, is due to the energy, enterprise and 
superior ability of its inhabitants, who for 
two centuries comprised representatives 
of the original New England families. 
While the phenomenal extension of its 
manufacturing industries has brought to 
Bridgeport many citizens of foreign birth 
or antecedents, there is still at the head 
the element which has always controlled 
the progress of the city. The family of 
Staples was settled in Nottinghamshire, 
England, and four of the name were 
mayors in the seventeenth century. Sev- 
eral parishes in Kent and Somerset coun- 
ties are called Staples. 

Tradition credits the founding of the 
family in this country to three brothers, 
one of whom, name unknown, located in 
Virginia. Peter Staples, the founder of 
an important New England family, set- 
tled in that part of Massachusetts which 
is now Kittery, Maine, where he was 
granted land in 1671. For a long time 
his name was called and recorded "Peter 
Staple." July 4, 1674, he bought land of 
Thomas Turner, on Long Beach. On 
March 9, 1679, five acres were measured 
and laid out to Peter Staple, granted by 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the town, December 13, 1676, to his wife 
in her widowhood as Elizabeth Edwards, 
showing her to have been the widow of 
Stephen Edwards and probably daughter 
of Robert Beadle. She was living in 1720. 
John, second son of Peter and Elizabeth 
(Beadle) Staples, was born in Kittery, 
Maine, and his will, made November 21, 
1744, was proved July 16, 1745. He mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of Peter and Mary 
(Renwick) Dixon. Hezekiah Staples, sec- 
ond son of John and Mary (Dixon) Sta- 
ples, was born February 11, 1702, in Kit- 
tery, and married, February 22, 1727, 
Anna, daughter of Thomas and Sarah 
(Furbish) Thompson. Miles Staples, son 
of Hezekiah and Anna (Thompson) Sta- 
ples, was born September 22, 1729, in Kit- 
tery, and died in Stockton, Maine, Febru- 
ary II, 1810. He married, June 11, 1753, 
Sarah Trefethern, and settled in Stockton, 
Maine. They had several children and 
many descendants. Sarah Trefethern was 
born in 1728, died in Stockton, 1808. Miles 
Staples, son of Miles and Sarah (Tre- 
fethern) Staples, was born at what is now 
Stockton, Maine. He removed to near 
Swanville, Maine, and there married Jane 
Nickerson, and later removed to Swan- 
ville, where he died. Hezekiah Staples, 
eldest son of Miles and Jane (Nickerson) 
Staples, was born in Swanville, followed 
the sea, and was for thirty years captain 
of a vessel. He married, 1815-16, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of General William James 
and Huldah (Stinson) Treat, and grand- 
daughter of Lieutenant Joshua Treat, 
armourer at Fort Pownal, and one of the 
first settlers on the Penobscot river. The 
grandfathers of both Hezekiah and Eliza- 
beth Staples w^ere residents of Prospect 
(now Stockton) and their farms adjoined. 
She was born September i, 1792, at Frank- 
fort, later Prospect, Maine, and was a good 
specimen of the New England mother of 
that day. Industrious, high-minded and 



sympathetic, a good manager, as shown 
by her having the responsibility, during 
her husband's absence at sea, of conduct- 
ing a large farm and the bringing up of a 
family of twelve children, and she en- 
dowed these children with qualities which 
contributed largely to their success in life. 
James Staples, son of Hezekiah and 
Elizabeth (Treat) Staples, was born Jan- 
uary 19, 1824, in Swanville, and spent his 
youth there, working on his father's 
farm in summer and attending school in 
winter, until he was fourteen years old. 
Desirous of having a college education, 
he prepared himself and at the age of 
seventeen was ready to enter, but too 
close application to his studies had under- 
mined his health and he was compelled 
to forego the realizing of this ambition. 
After this great disappointment he ac- 
cepted a position as teacher in Hyannis. 
Massachusetts, and until he was twenty- 
five years of age taught school in winter 
and managed his father's farm in summer, 
and after that time for four years taught 
continuously in Belfast, Maine. He was 
preeminently successful, and throughout 
his life held the profession of the teacher 
in the highest esteem as one of the noblest 
and most useful of avocations. In 1854 
he removed to Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
where he embarked in the lumber busi- 
ness, entering into copartnership with S. 
C. Nickerson under the name of Staples & 
Nickerson. The firm did a prosperous and 
growing business and the future looked 
bright and promising, when the terrible 
crash of 1857 swept over the country, 
and with thousands of others the firm 
was forced out of business. In 1859, as 
the financial clouds gradually swept 
away, operations in real estate became 
quickened in and about Bridgeport and 
Mr. Staples opened a real estate office, 
the first one in the city. His great energy 
and ability soon put him on the road to 



222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



success, and he became the leading- agent 
and one of the best and most consulted 
authorities on real estate in Bridgeport. 
In his later years, after he had attained a 
full measure of success, he was wont to 
say of this trying period of his career : 
"My friends told me I could not earn 
enough to season my food. I told them I 
was brought up in Maine and never had 
it very highly seasoned and I would take 
my chances." In 1863 the business of fire 
insurance was added, Mr. Staples associ- 
ating with himself his brother, George A. 
Staples, under the firm name of J. & G. A. 
Staples, and this was continued until the 
retirement of George A. Staples in 1882. 
In 1874 James Staples with T. R. and 
Frances H. Cruttenden established a pri- 
vate banking business under the firm name 
of Staples & Company. Mr. Cruttenden 
died in 1882, and Mr. Staples continued 
alone until 1884. In October of that year 
Philip L. Holzer and Frank T. Staples 
were admitted. The business of the firm 
prospered to such a degree that larger 
offices were required, and in 1892 a 
fine banking house, known as the Sta- 
ples Bank Building, was erected on the 
corner of State and Court streets. No 
banking house in Connecticut is con- 
ducted on safer or more conservative 
methods, and none enjoys a higher repu- 
tation in the community. Aside from his 
own business, Mr. Staples took an active 
part in promoting the prosperity of his 
adopted city. As a member of the Bridge- 
port Board of Trade, he aided in the estab- 
lishment of various manufacturing enter- 
prises, and was the president of the Con- 
solidated Rolling Stock Company ; he was 
also treasurer of the Board of Trade up 
to his death and was succeeded by his 
son. He always felt a deep interest in the 
public schools and was for many years a 
member of the Board of Education of 
Bridgeport. Every cause in the interest 



of the moral, religious and social welfare 
of the community of which he was a mem- 
ber found in him a zealous and generous 
friend. In politics he was a Republican 
and ardently supported the principles of 
that party, and although he never desired 
{public office, in 1900, at the earnest solic- 
itation of his friends who wished to do 
him honor, he consented to represent 
Bridgeport in the Legislature to which he 
was elected by a handsome majority. As 
a member of the house he displayed the 
same interest and forceful activity on be- 
half of measures afifecting his city that he 
did in j)rivalc life, and never feared to ex- 
press the approval or opposition his judg- 
ment dictated. He enjoyed the distinction 
of being the oldest member of the Legis- 
lature. In religious belief a Universalist, 
he was a faithful member of that denomi- 
nation. His faith was immovable in the 
doctrine of the Fatherhood of God and 
the brotherhood of man and this faith was 
a living force in his daily life. He was a 
total abstainer from the use of intoxicat- 
ing liquors and tobacco, lived simply and 
unostentatiously and was devoted to his 
family, yet he loved the society of his fel- 
lows, and his humor and ability as a story 
teller made him a delightful companion. 
He was a member of the Seaside Club. 

James Staples died February 28, 1903, 
and it was truly said, "The world was 
better because he lived." Mr. Staples was 
a man of strong character. Honest, fear- 
less, sagacious, positive, industrious, faith- 
ful to his engagements, ready to take re- 
sponsibility, and with a clear intellect he 
mastered the problems of life and rose to 
the highest ranks of usefulness and dis- 
tinction in his community. With him to 
decide was to act, and once started on a 
course of action he pursued it with a 
singleness of purpose, an indefatigable 
energy and a tireless persistence that as- 
sured the certain accomplishment of his 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



object. And yet, withal, he was a man of 
genial disposition, kindly nature, a human 
sympathy and generous responsiveness 
to the needs of suffering humanity that 
caused his presence to shed sunshine in 
every circle, and won for him the respect 
and affectionate regard of his associates. 
To Mr. Staples the misfortunes of 1857 
proved to be the key to his prosperous 
life. In them he found, as many a man 
has before him, a knowledge of his powers, 
a chart of the shoals and quicksands of 
business to be avoided, a will hardened 
and strengthened, as the muscles are by 
exercise and work, an ambition to over- 
come that proves to so many their final 
fall. 

James Staples married (first) January 
19, 185 1, Harriet H., daughter of Hugh 
Shirley, of Searsport, Maine. She died 
April 2, 1852, and he married (second) 
September 21, 1858, Sarah Elizabeth Tru- 
bee, born 1828, died January, 1910, daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Sarah (Turney) Tru- 
bee, who was prominently identified with 
the work of the Bridgeport Charitable 
Society for more than thirty years. Mrs. 
Staples was descended from Andris Tru- 
bee, who came from Holland about the 
year 1700 and settled in Boston, where he 
entered into business as a member of the 
firm of Trubee & Solomon, which estab- 
lished a branch house in Fairfield, Con- 
necticut, of which Mr. Trubee became 
manager. Since that time, the descend- 
ants of Andris Trubee have made Connec- 
ticut their home. Mrs. Staples was also 
descended from Thomas Staples, who 
came to Kittery in 1640 with his brother 
Peter, the ancestor of her husband. Thom- 
as Staples removed to Fairfield about 1650, 
and became a prominent man in public 
affairs. His wife was accused of witch- 
craft by Roger Ludlow, and a successful 
suit for defamation of character against 
the accuser was the means of putting an 



end to the delusion, which in some locali- 
ties was attended by such serious results. 
Frank Trubee Staples, son of James 
Staples, and only son of his second wife, 
Sarah Elizabeth (Trubee) Staples, was 
born November 24, 1863, in Bridgeport. 
He attended the public schools of that 
city, acquiring a practical education, and 
being graduated therefrom in 188 1. He 
began a remarkably successful business 
career in the insurance department of his 
father's office, and in January, 1882, upon 
the death of T. R. Cruttenden, was placed 
in charge of the banking portion of the 
business, with which he has ever since 
been connected. In 1884 he was admitted 
to a partnership in the firm, which became 
known as James Staples 8z Company, suc- 
cessors to the business established by 
James Staples. He early evinced a great 
aptitude for business, and applied to his 
affairs the same energy and industry 
which had been employed in the conduct 
of the business since its founding by his 
father. The story of his life is interwoven 
with that of Bridgeport, and the impress 
of his strong individuality is ineffably 
stamped upon it. He is actively identified 
with the Republican party, working earn- 
estly for the success of its candidates and 
measures, and on June i, 1897, he was 
appointed fire commissioner of Bridge- 
port, in which capacity he served faith- 
fully and efificiently for two years. Being 
a man of prominence in the community, 
he possesses a host of friends among 
whom he is popular. Recently he has 
been engaged in developing a section in 
the town of Fairfield, which will, un- 
doubtedly, become a part of Bridgeport, 
and which is now to be known as "Brook- 
lawn Park." Finely macadamized roads 
are being laid out and beautiful shade 
trees planted on the high ground, which 
is thus being rendered desirable for a 
high-class residential district. Mr. Sta- 



224 






in — — ^ -J Mm' r ' 




^ 



^».vsxsx«j; <Q, ^v5^v;«^ . 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pies is a member of the Brooklawn, Coun- 
try, and Algonquin clubs ; one of the origi- 
nal members of Park City Yacht Club, 
and filled the office of treasurer for many 
years; director of the Boy's Club; and 
president of the Bridgeport Automobile 
Club and the Connecticut Good Roads 
Association. 

He married, December i6, 1884, Laura 
Frances, daughter of William Stevens. 
They have one child, Richard Trubee, 
who married, October 12, 1910, Agnes 
Leslie, daughter of John Andrew Orr, the 
ceremony being performed in St. John's 
Episcopal Church by the rector, Rev. Wil- 
liam H. Lewis. Richard T. Staples is a 
teller in the bank of James Staples & 
Company. 



PRENTICE, Samuel Oscar, 

lia-wyer. Jurist. 

The life of Chief Justice Samuel O. 
Prentice, of the Supreme Court of Errors, 
State of Connecticut, has been one of con- 
tinued advancement from his first en- 
trance to Yale in 1869. He has met every 
official demand made upon him, and by 
the strength of his manly attributes, his 
intellectual attainments, his legal skill, 
ability and wisdom, has fairly won high 
judicial honors. That he worthily wears 
the "ermine" is best attested by the fact 
that he first assumed it in 1889 and has 
worthily worn it ever since, and men en- 
tertain a high opinion of the court over 
which he presides. Judge Prentice de- 
scends from one of the strong intellectual 
families of New England, although he is 
the first in his direct line to attain emi- 
nence as a jurist. His father, Chester 
Smith Prentice, was first selectman, as- 
semblyman and justice of the peace. His 
grandfather, Samuel (3) Prentice, was a 
lieutenant in the State militia and served 
during the bombardment of Stonington 



and at New London during the War of 
1812. 

His great-grandfather, Joshua Prentice, 
was selectman and member of the General 
Court in 1776 and 1778. Deacon Samuel 
(2) Prentice, father of Joshua Prentice, 
was town clerk of Stonington for over 
thirty years, deputy to the General Court 
four terms, and for twenty years justice 
of the peace. Samuel (i) Prentice, father 
of Deacon Samuel (2) Prentice, was 
deputy to the General Court and select- 
man several terms. Thomas (2) Prentice, 
father of Samuel (i) Prentice, married a 
daughter of Captain Thomas Stanton, a 
famous Indian interpreter. Captain Thom- 
as (i) Prentice, father of Thomas (2) 
Prentice, was the founder of his family in 
America, and a man of great ability, fre- 
quently mentioned in early Massachusetts 
and Connecticut records. 

In addition to this record of seven 
American generations of the family origi- 
nally from England, Judge Prentice traces 
through collateral lines to Elder William 
Brewster, of the "Mayflower" ; Colonel 
George Denison, of Stonington ; Captain 
James Avery, Captain John Gallup, Rich- 
ard Treat, Rev. James Noyes, and Wil- 
liam Cheesbro, all men conspicuous for 
their attainment as early history testifies. 
To such ancestral values Judge Prentice 
added an early life spent on the farm, 
years which developed a physical man of 
strength and vigor, that has not faltered 
when intellectual progress called for phy- 
sical cooperation. With so perfect an 
equipment he came to college halls and 
from them went forth to the serious busi- 
ness of life. 

Samuel Oscar Prentice was born at 
North Stonington, Connecticut, August 8, 
1850, son of Chester Smith and Lucy 
(Crary) Prentice. After a youth spent 
in the public schools and in work on his 
father's farm, he prepared for college at 



Conn— 2— 15 



225 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Norwich Free Academy, there continuing 
a student three years, 1866-69. In 1869 he 
entered Yale, receiving his Bachelor's de- 
gree with the class of "72)-" At Yale he 
displayed strong intellectual gifts, win- 
ning three prizes for English composition, 
a junior rhetorical, the '"Lit" prize medal, 
and place as one of the "Townsend"' 
speakers. He was chairman of the edi- 
torial board of the "Lit," member of the 
fraternities. Kappa Sigma Epsilon, Delta 
Beta Zi, Delta Kappa Epsilon, and of the 
famous senior society, Skull and Bones. 

From the classics he turned to the law, 
continuing at Y^ale a student in the Law 
School whence he was gfraduated Bache- 
lor of Laws, class of 1875, winning the 
Townsend prize for the first commence- 
ment oration. During this period he also 
taught special branches in Hopkins Gram- 
mar School, New Haven. From law 
school he passed to actual practice, his 
admission to the bar immediately follow- 
ing graduation. He began legal practice 
as law clerk in the office of Chamberlain 
Hall & White, of Hartford, and in 1876 
became junior member of the newly or- 
ganized law firm, Johnson & Prentice. He 
continued in successful practice until the 
summer of 1889, growing in strength as 
the years progressed. His position at the 
bar was one of honor and had attracted 
the attention of men of official and legal 
prominence. A vacancy occurring on the 
bench of the Connecticut Superior Court 
in 1889, Governor Morgan G. Bulkeley, 
whose executive secretary he had been, 
appointed Mr. Prentice to fill that va- 
cancy. 

Fourteen years elapsed between his ad- 
mission to the bar and his elevation to the 
bench. That he demonstrated a high de- 
gree of legal ability during that period is 
proven by his judgeship. That his judicial 
strength was of the same high quality 
was proved during his first term of eight 
years and that his record as a jurist was 



eminently satisfactory, his continued rise 
testifies. In 1901 he was appointed justice 
of the Supreme Court of Errors, was re- 
appointed in 1909 and in February, 1913, 
reached the highest judicial position in 
the State, chief justice. Before going 
higher. Judge Prentice was a good tryer 
of facts, and since his becoming judge has 
greatly developed as a lawyer. As a 
jurist he has the reputation of being one 
of the most agreeable men to try a case 
before, thoughtful and patient, generally 
reaching the right conclusion. On the 
supreme bench he has shown himself a 
writer of learned logical opinions well ex- 
pressed and points well chosen. He is a 
deep student and possesses all the grace- 
ful attributes of the scholar, the deep 
knowledge of the law befitting a leading 
jurist. He is dignified, yet approachable, 
wath a mind alive to every public interest. 
The foregoing are the high lights in a 
life of exceptional honor and mark the 
fruition of the hopes of an ambitious, self- 
reliant, resourceful man to whom the ac- 
cumulation of wealth has not been the all 
important thing. His career has been in- 
terspersed with honors equally important 
at the time they were conferred, that illus- 
trate difiFerent periods of that career and 
are links in the chain of his life. 

From October, 1881, to October, 1886, 
he was chairman of the Hartford city and 
town Republican committees ; delegate to 
the State conventions of 1886 and 1888; 
clerk of the Hartford County Bar Associ- 
ation for twelve years ; attorney for the 
town and city of Hartford many years; 
member of the State bar examining com- 
mittee from its formation until 1913, when 
he resigned from the committee of which 
he had been chairman since 1898 ; instruc- 
tor in pleading in Yale Law School in 
1896 : professor of pleading in 1901. which 
position he filled until 1915. when he re- 
signed. 

Outside of his profession, the life of 



22t) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Judge Prentice has been one of service in 
many ways. For ten years, 1879-89, he 
was an officer of Company K, First Regi- 
ment Connecticut National Guard. In 
1885 and 1886 he was president of the 
Hartford Library Association ; since 1894 
president of the Hartford Public Library, 
and since 1906 president of the W'atkin- 
son Library ; is a member of the board of 
trustees of Wadsworth Athenaeum, and 
in 1899 was president of Yale Alumni As- 
sociation of Hartford county. He is a 
member and for three years was president 
of the Hartford Golf Club, and belongs 
to the Hartford Club, the Graduates Club 
of New Haven and the Monday Evening, 
a literary club. He is a member of the 
Society of Colonial Wars, the Connecticut 
Historial Society, and is a communicant 
of the Congregational church. In 1913-15 
he was a member of the committee on 
missions of the National Council of Con- 
gregational Churches, and is vice-presi- 
dent of the American Missionary Society. 
In 1913 Yale University and Trinity Col- 
lege conferred upon him the honorary de- 
gree of LL. D. 

Judge Prentice married, April 24, 1901, 
Anne Coombe, daughter of Andrew J. 
Post, of Jersey City, New Jersey. Mrs. 
Prentice is a member of the Colonial 
Dames of America, and is active in a 
number of charitable and philanthropic 
organizations of her city. She is presi- 
dent of the Union for Home Work, and 
director of the Hartford Orphan Asylum, 
the Visiting Nurse Association, and the 
Babies' Hospital. 



CROFUT, Sidney Winter, 

Financier, Public Official. 

Mr. Crofut's business life now covers 
upwards of forty years, spent partly in 
clerical, but mostly in official positions 
and relations, and his success is the 



strongest proof that the principles that 
have guided him are correct and worthy 
of emulation. He was early impressed 
with the value of the motto. 'Whatever 
is worth doing is worth doing well."' and 
from his beginning at the foot of the 
ladder as clerk, thoroughness, method, 
application and reliability have distin- 
guished iiim in every position. 

Sidney Winter Crofut was born at Os- 
sining, Westchester county, New York, 
son of George W. and Susan (Fisher) 
Crofut. the former named a merchant of 
high repute, sterling in his integrity and 
strong in character, and the latter named 
was a woman of high ideals, conscientious 
and sincere. His education was obtained 
in private schools and completed at Mt. 
Pleasant Military Academy. At the age 
of eighteen years his institutional educa- 
tion was completed, at which time he en- 
tered the great school of business life, be- 
ginning as a clerk in the home office of an 
insurance company in New York City. 
He was so efficient as a clerk that he was 
soon promoted to the position of cashier 
and later became secretary. 

During his military academy days, 
when not at his studies, he had spent the 
recreation periods in out-of-doors sports, 
and after a few years the close confine- 
ment of office life told on his health, when 
he realized that he must spend more time 
in the open in order to regain his health, 
and resigning his then official position, he 
removed to the hills of Windham county 
in Connecticut at Danielson, expecting to 
remain there temporarily, but an unex- 
pected opportunity offered itself in the 
purchase of an insurance agency, the 
largest in that section of the State, which 
he availed himself of. He assumed the 
open air management of his agency and 
won back his usual health and strength. 
He continued the agency very success- 
fully for ten years, up to 1894, when he 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



abandoned that line of business and ac- 
cepted the appointment of bank commis- 
sioner of the State of Connecticut. With 
his usual efficiency, he served under the 
administrations of three governors, the 
value of his services being recognized by 
reappointment. In January, 1900, he re- 
signed as bank commissioner to accept his 
present position, that of first assistant 
treasurer of the Society for Savings, of 
Hartford, the largest savings bank in the 
State. 

During his several years of residence in 
Danielson (formerly Danielsonville) Mr. 
Crofut took an active part in public affairs 
and in the development of the borough. 
He served as a member of the Court of 
Burgesses ; chairman of the high school 
committee ; vice-president of the savings 
bank; president of the Library Associ- 
ation ; director of the National Bank ; 
member of the Board of Education, and 
served three consecutive terms as warden 
of the borough. His administration of 
the warden's office was marked by a con- 
stant series of public improvements and 
business efficiency. Electric arc lights su- 
perseded gas lights for street illumination ; 
the fire department was reorganized and 
fire hydrants installed in all parts of the 
borough and hose houses located in hither- 
to neglected localities ; the free public 
library and reading room were established 
from which has grown the present Li- 
brary Association and its beautiful library 
building. All this was accomplished with- 
out an increase of public indebtedness. 
In 1893 ^r- Crofut was elected a member 
of the General Assembly, representing the 
town of Killingly, previously having been 
nominated by acclamation at both the 
Republican and Democratic caucuses. In 
political faith he is a Republican. He is 
a member of the Masonic order, belonging 
to Lafayette Lodge, No. 100. In Hart- 
ford he has confined himself closely and 



strictly to his duties in connection with 
the financial institution with which he 
holds official relation. In addition to his 
offices as assistant treasurer and trustee 
of the Society for Savings, he serves on 
the directorate of the Hartford-Aetna Na- 
tional Bank, and on the board of trustees 
of the Security Trust Company. His 
clubs are the Republican and Get-To- 
Gether, both of Hartford. 

Mr. Crofut married in Brooklyn, New 
York, Lucy E., daughter of Hon. William 
W. Marcy, and lineally a descendant of 
Captain Reuben Marcy and Colonel Thom- 
as Knowlton, of the Continental army. 
Their daughter, Florence Marcy Crofut, 
is a graduate with the degrees of A. B. 
and A. M. of Wellesley College. 



HENDERSON, John Thomas, 

Civil Engineer. 

The fame of the great bridge that spans 
the Connecticut river at Hartford carries 
with it the name of John Thomas Hender- 
son, who as chief draughtsman, assistant 
to the chief engineer, and as chief engi- 
neer, has been connected with the bridge 
from the preliminary studies until the 
present time. Since June i, 1898, he has 
been in the service of the Connecticut 
River Bridge and Highway District, being 
then but twenty-two years of age. Heavy 
responsibilities have been placed upon him 
in the years that have followed, but he 
has proved as trustworthy as the granite 
in the great arches of the bridges he has 
planned, and has gone forward to more 
important duties after each test of his 
quality. 

Modern construction depends upon the 
known strength of parts, and this deter- 
mining the strength of materials is an 
important and vital part of an engineer's 
duty. No part of a great structure is 
allowed to be placed in position without 



228 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



definite knowledge of its quality. This is 
as true of the men entrusted with respon- 
sibility as it is of the material used. Men 
are tested for knowledge, invention, skill, 
courage, nerve and endurance. There is 
no minimum allowed, but he must stand 
the test at maximum before he can be 
trusted fully. Mr. Henderson has stood 
this test and has not been found wanting. 
"Hard work and having to shift for him- 
self" has developed a strong, self-reliant 
man, and an engineer whose work, im- 
portant as it has been, has only had its 
beginning. 

John Thomas Henderson was born near 
Elkton, Cecil county, Maryland, March 19, 
1876, son of William Cyrus and Annabel 
(Smith) Henderson, and is a grandson of 
John Henderson, who came from Scot- 
land shortly before 1812, and served as 
lieutenant in the American army during 
the second war with Great Britain. Son 
of a farmer and merchant, he had early 
learned the meaning of the word "Work," 
and many and long were the days spent 
in farm labor. But he was determined to 
have an education, and through a willing- 
ness to work every hour outside of school 
he managed to complete public school 
courses, and also compassed a course at 
Newark Academy. He was especially in- 
terested in mathematics, mechanics, phy- 
sics and history, and after entering Dela- 
ware College, Newark, Delaware, he spe- 
cialized in those studies, and in addition 
took a four years' military course. He 
had to "work hard" and "shift for him- 
self," earning money in summer to pay his 
way through the next college year, and 
though he had always worked hard the 
shifting for himself but developed him. In 
1896 he was graduated with the degree of 
Civil Engineer, and the next two years 
he spent in the study of bridges and 
bridge building. He went to New York 
City in 1898, obtained a position as rod- 



man under the consulting engineer of the 
Manhattan Elevated Railway Company, 
and did a draughtsman's work for Wil- 
liam Rich llutton. He remained in New 
York until June, 1898, then located in 
Hartford, securing a position as draughts- 
man with the Connecticut River Bridge 
and Highway District. Edwin D wight 
Graves was then consulting engineer, and 
under him Mr. Henderson designed sev- 
eral bridges for the Greenwich and John- 
sonville Railway Company of New York, 
the bridge across the Penobscot river at 
Bangor, and a suspension foot bridge 
across the Kennebec river at Waterville. 
He was chief draughtsman in designing 
the steel plate girder bridge at East Hart- 
ford, and on all the preliminary studies 
for the great bridge that connects East 
Hartford with Hartford. He continued 
as chief draughtsman and assistant engi- 
neer during the construction of the bridge 
until May 28, 1906, when impaired health 
compelled Chief Engineer Graves to re- 
linquish his duties, and so well had Mr. 
Henderson seconded the efforts of his 
chief, and so well had he stood all previ- 
ous tests, that he was advanced to the 
post of deputy chief engineer by the 
Bridge Commission. This test he too 
stood at "maximum," saw the great work 
completed, and continues at the head of 
the engineering department of the Bridge 
and Highw^ay District. The work done 
by the Bridge Commission has been esti- 
mated at $3,000,000, and in all their work 
from preliminary surveys to completion 
he has had a part. His reputation as an 
engineer may safely rest upon the "Hart- 
ford Bridge." 

He was elected an associate member of 
the American Society of Civil Engineers, 
September 3. 1902, a full member, Sep- 
tember 3, 1907, and a member of the Con- 
necticut Society of Civil Engineers. To 
his fine mental powers and alert sinewy 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



frame, he has now added experience and 
training, and withal is a gentleman of 
pleasing personality that wins him many 
friends. Mr. Henderson has attained high 
rank in the Masonic order. He is a master 
Mason of St. John's Lodge; a capitular 
Mason of Pythagoras Chapter ; a Cryptic 
Mason of Wolcott Council ; a Sir Knight 
of Washington Commandery, and a noble 
of Sphinx Temple, of which he is a past 
illustrious potentate. In the Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite he holds all degrees 
up to and including the thirty-second, be- 
longing to Charter Oak Lodge of Perfec- 
tion, of which he is past thrice potent 
master; Cyrus Goodell Chapter of Rose 
Croix ; Hartford Council, Princes of Jeru- 
salem, of which he is past sovereign 
prince; Connecticut Sovereign Consis- 
tory. His club is the Hartford Golf, his 
hours spent on the links being his favorite 
out-of-doors recreation, music also being 
one of his passions. 

Mr. Henderson married, December 27, 
1905, Maude Helen, daughter of Frank 
and Emma (Bidwell) Reeney, of Rock- 
ville, Connecticut. 



PARKER, Charles Edward, 

Fire Insurance Actnary. 

There is no man of his years in the city 
of Hartford with so long a record of con- 
tinuous connection with the fire insurance 
business, a line of activity he entered a 
lad of fifteen years, and he has recently 
passed the fifty-second anniversary of his 
birth, as Charles E. Parker (of Kimball 
&■ Parker, formerly Kimball & McCray). 
He occupies a commanding position in 
the insurance world, a position he has 
risen to from that of of¥ice boy. He early 
found the royal road to success was but 
the old path of industry and diligence in 
the pursuit of an aim, and following that 
path he came to the broad royal road he 
now and for many years has traveled. 



Charles E. Parker was born in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, February 18, 1865, son 
of James E. and Mary A. (Buckley) 
Parker. He was deprived of a father's 
guidance when but a young child, and at 
the age of fifteen years his school life 
ended, his studies having been pursued 
at the South School and at high school. 
His first position was with the insurance 
firm, C. C. Kimball & Company, his first 
remuneration, one hundred dollars per 
annum. Although but fifteen years of 
age, he had well-defined ideas concerning 
life and its responsibilities and was am- 
bitious to rise in the world. From the 
beginning he put his entire energy into 
his humble duties and strove to be useful 
to those above him. He daily added to 
his mental equipment by study and close 
observation, advancing so rapidly that 
ere long the office boy was the book- 
keeper and in time the trusted, con- 
fidential office manager. Nineteen years 
elapsed when, upon the death of Colonel 
McCray, junior member of the firm of 
Kimball & McCray (formerly C. C. Kim- 
ball & Company) Mr. Parker succeeded 
him, the new firm operating from Janu- 
ary, 1899, as Kimball & Parker. The 
enlarged responsibilities of partnership 
found him fully equipped, and the old 
firm under its new name entered upon a 
long period of business prosperity, being 
the New England manager of the Insur- 
ance Company of North America, the 
oldest American stock insurance com- 
pany, incorporated in 1792, occupying the 
finest suite of business offices of any pri- 
vate insurance agency in the New Eng- 
land States, their volume of business 
transacted through over five hundred 
agents being conceded the largest in the 
territory covered. In 1907 Mr. Kimball's 
connection with the business was termi- 
nated by his death. 

Mr. Parker can review his business ca- 
reer with satisfaction. He won his way 



230 



■ T^.^. liEV^ 'OP^^ 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, L' 



t; 



ASIO' 
TILDEiJ : 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



through merit alone, and during his more 
than fifteen years as a partner has been 
the compelling force that has raised the 
agency to its present proud proportions. 
Hard work and a thorough knowledge of 
the business he pursues have won him 
not only competence, but the unvarying 
respect of the men of affairs who have 
watched his course from boyhood and 
the esteem of those with whom he has 
been so long associated. To business 
ability and high character he adds a pleas- 
ing personality that retains the friendship 
of those his merit attracts. A Republican 
in politics, he is not partisan but extreme- 
ly independent in his exercise of the 
ballot. He never sought nor desired pub- 
lic office, his appointment as fire com- 
missioner coming entirely unsolicited and 
most unexpectedly. He was nominated 
by Mayor Preston, November 2"^, 1899, to 
fill out the term of John D. Bonner, de- 
ceased, the Board of Aldermen unani- 
mously confirming the nomination. On 
the expiration of his term, April i, 1900, 
a new mayor was in office and so well had 
Mr. Parker demonstrated his fitness to 
represent the fire insurance interests upon 
the board, that he was reappointed by 
Mayor Harbison for a term of three years, 
being the only member of the city boards 
to be reappointed. During his second 
term he was chosen president of the 
board. He is a trustee of the Riverside 
Trust Company, and one of the able, 
prominent and successful business men of 
his native city. Mr. Parker is a member 
of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, 
active and devoted, serving on the official 
board as trustee and treasurer. His fra- 
ternal relations are Masonic, his lodge, 
Hartford, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. His clubs are the Hartford, Hart- 
ford Golf and the Republican. He is well 
known in insurance circles far beyond the 
confines of his own city, and as a manager 

23 



of men and in his knowledge of the many 
details of a successful agency has no su- 
perior. 

Mr. Parker married, November 2"], 
1893, Ida M., daughter of L. G. Abbe, 
of Hartford. They are the parents of 
Charles Earnest, associated with his 
father in the business; Blanche R. ; and 
Grenville M., Yale, class of 1918, also a 
member of Sheffield Scientific School. 



TABER, Russell Peete, 

Enterprising Business Man. 

Russell Peete Taber, agent for the Reo 
cars and one of the most wide awake, 
aggressive and successful men in the 
automobile business, is a member of an 
old New England family and exhibits in 
his own character and personality the vir- 
tues and abilities inherited by him from 
a long line of worthy ancestors. His 
grandfather was William Henry Taber, 
born May 4, 1825, at Pawling, New York, 
William Henry Taber married Elizabeth 
Thomas, of Dover, in that State, and their 
son, Charles William Taber, was the 
father of Russell P. Taber. Mr. Taber, 
Sr., married, November 24, 1886, Sarah 
Ophelia Peete, a daughter of Samuel R. 
and Laura (Thomkins) Peete. They were 
the parents of three children, of whom 
Russell Peete Taber was the eldest. 

Russell Peete Taber was born Decem- 
ber 8, 1887, at Quaker Hill, in the town- 
ship of Pawling, Dutchess county. New 
York. He received his education at the 
common schools of Gaylordsville, Con- 
necticut, at which place his parents re- 
sided during the greater part of his youth. 
At the age of fourteen, however, he left 
the parental roof and made his way to a 
small community just across the New 
York State line, where he found work in 
a local grocery store. In 1905 he came to 
Hartford and there secured work for a 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



time with the Whitlock Coil Pipe Com- 
pany. The following year he went to 
work for Louis Elmer, of Hartford, who 
was engaged in the automobile business, 
and it was here that he received his first 
introduction to a line in which he was to 
make so great a success later. He re- 
mained with Mr. Elmer for about a year 
and a half and later worked for a Mr. Gil- 
man, of Hartford, who was engaged in 
the same business. With the latter em- 
ployer he remained about two years and 
a half, or until 1910, when he decided to 
embark in the same business on his own 
account. It was in 1910 that he secured 
the agency for the Reo car and since that 
time has developed one of the largest 
automobile businesses in the city of Hart- 
ford. He is now recognized as one of the 
principal figures in this line in the region. 
Some idea of the magnitude of his opera- 
tions may be had from the fact that in 
the year 1916 his sales totaled more than 
half a million dollars. 

On June 23, 1910, Mr. Taber was united 
in marriage with Mary Russell, a native 
of Hartford, and a daughter of John Rus- 
sell, a highly respected resident of that 
place. 

Mr. Taber's character is a wholly ad- 
mirable one, the mainspring of his life 
being honesty and a sense of justice to 
others. He is a man of indefatigable in- 
dustry and never leaves a task half com- 
pleted, yet despite an almost austere sense 
of duty he is always genial and com- 
panionable and easy of access to all men. 
His large experience with men of affairs 
gives him a broad cosmopolitanism that 
is the special mark of culture. His humor 
also, of which he possesses a great store, 
partakes of the same charitable character 
and is one of the qualities which quickly 
endears him to his associates. His wide 
experience of men and things has another 
efifect, it makes him a delightful conver- 



sationalist so that his society is spontane- 
ously sought by men of culture and en- 
lightenment, despite his extreme youth. 



COSTELLO, Henry Nicholas, 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Henry Nicholas Costello, Bachelor of 
Arts and Doctor of Medicine, a surgeon 
in practice in Hartford, Connecticut, in 
which city he was born, July i, 1883, is 
the son of William and Ellen (Egan) 
Costello, the former a wine merchant long 
established in substantial business in 
Hartford, and established also in the 
esteem and goodwill of many residents of 
that city. 

The Costello family for many gener- 
ations lived in Queens county, Ireland, 
where William Costello was born, as was 
also his wife, Ellen (Egan) Costello. The 
family is of good Irish descent, and the 
latter generations farmed the estate upon 
which so many of them had been reared. 
But William Costello came to America 
in 1872, and soon after landing he located 
in Hartford, and immediately entered 
business life, his success demonstrating 
the measure of his application and capa- 
bility. For thirty-nine years he assidu- 
ously continued in business, his retire- 
ment not coming until about two years 
ago. Mr. Costello has been loyally and 
truly Democratic, both in principle and 
in party fealty, but has refrained con- 
sistently and persistently from accepting 
political office. A man of sincere frater- 
nal disposition, he is an active member of 
the Knights of Columbus, Ancient Order 
of Hibernians, and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, giving much time 
and interest in former years to the move- 
ments of the Putnam Phalanx. To Mr. and 
Mrs. William Costello were born seven 
children, one of whom died in early life. 
The surviving children were : James Ed- 



232 





\V ,^^^MdCEfi±(5 V\^.^ 



^^ -LIBRARY 



Pl^ 





«e^-«^i^' 



'^y^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ward, Henry Nicholas, of whom further ; 
William Francis, Robert Thomas, Mary 
Ellen, Agnes Elizabeth. 

Dr. Henry Nicholas Costello received 
his primary education in the Henry Bar- 
nard School, thence advancing- to the 
Hartford public high school, from which 
he graduated in 1902. entering Yale Col- 
lege, where he concluded his years of 
academic study by graduating therefrom 
with the class of 1906, gaining in his 
graduation the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts. Having determined upon a pro- 
fessional career, he then entered the Medi- 
cal Department of Johns Hopkins Uni- 
versity, Baltimore, from which he was 
graduated in 1910 with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. That same year Dr. 
Costello received, by competitive exam- 
ination, appointment to the house stafif of 
the Hartford Hospital, from which he was 
graduated in 1912. He then opened an 
of^ce for general private practice, and was 
appointed to the visiting surgical stafif of 
the Hartford Hospital as assistant visit- 
ing surgeon. Dr. Costello is a member 
of the City, County and State Medical so- 
cieties, and also of the American Medical 
Association, and holds office under the 
city administration as health commis- 
sioner. Socially he belongs to the Uni- 
versity Club of Hartford. He also par- 
ticipates in the proceedings of the Pithot- 
omy Club of Johns Hopkins University. 

Dr. Costello married Rose Harriet, the 
daughter of Thomas Mason, of New 
Haven, Connecticut. They have two 
children: Rosemary, born May 10, 1915; 
Ellen Barbara, born January 13, 1917. 



REARDON, William F., M. D., 

Specialist on Eye, Ear, Nose, Throat. 

Honored and respected by all, there 
are few men in Hartford who occupy a 
more enviable position than Dr. William 
F. Reardon in professional and social cir- 



cles, not alone on account of the success 
he has achieved, but also on account of 
his many sterling traits of character. The 
tendency of the age is toward specializa- 
tion in all lines of labor, both industrial 
anrl professional, and this is particularly 
true in the medical profession. With the 
passing of time, investigation has revealed 
so much concerning diseases, their treat- 
ment and their care, that it would be im- 
possible for any one man to be highly 
jiroficient in its every department. With 
a broad general knowledge, however, of 
the underlying principles of the science, 
the laws of nature and the rules of health, 
one may then give his time and attention 
to a special line and therein gain marked 
prominence, as in the case of Dr. Rear- 
don. 

The Reardon family is an old and 
prominent one in County Cork, Ireland, 
and it was there that Dennis Reardon, 
father of Dr. Reardon, was born on Sep- 
tember 3, 1836. He spent his boyhood 
and early manhood in his native land, and 
in 1865 emigrated to this country, landing 
in New York City the day on which the 
immortal Abraham Lincoln was killed by 
an assassin's bullet. He made his way 
from New York to Collinsville, Connec- 
ticut, where he secured employment in 
an axe factory, and after a residence of 
six or seven years there removed to South 
Windsor, same State, where he worked 
on various farms, later purchasing a farm 
of his own which he devoted to the rais- 
ing of tobacco, in which pursuit he was 
highly successful. He married Mary 
Heddarman, who bore him nine children, 
four of whom attained years of maturity, 
as follows : Andrew C. deceased : James 
H., a resident of South Windsor; John J., 
also a resident of South W'indsor ; and 
William F.. whose name heads this sketch. 
Dennis Reardon died in South Windsor, 
Connecticut, October 30, 1908. 

Dr. William F. Reardon was born in 



^ZZ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



South Windsor, Connecticut, August lo, 
1885. He attended the public schools of 
South Windsor, and St. Bonaventure Col- 
lege, Allegany, New York, from which 
he was graduated in 1905 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. He then matricu- 
lated in Baltimore Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1909 with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. The fol- 
lowing year and a half he served as in- 
terne at St. Francis Hospital, Hartford, 
thus adding greatly to the store of knowl- 
edge gained during his collegiate course. 
He engaged in a general practice of his 
profession for one year, and then went 
abroad in order to further increase his 
knowledge and experience, and for one 
and a half years pursued post-graduate 
work on diseases of the eye, ear, nose and 
throat, of which he intended making a 
specialty, in the colleges and hospitals of 
Vienna, and upon his return to his native 
land he continued his post-graduate work 
in New York City with a specialist, and 
even since then he has pursued his studies 
energetically in order to keep in touch 
with the onward movement. In January, 
1914, he returned to Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and began practice, which he still 
continues, and he is justly regarded as a 
rising member of the profession and one 
who has before him a successful future. 
Dr. Reardon is one of the assistant ocu- 
lists on the staff of St. Francis Hospital, 
one of the assistants at the Isolation Hos- 
pital and at the Hartford Free Dispen- 
sary, and is attending specialist at St. 
Agnes Home. Dr. Reardon is a member 
of the City, County and State medical so- 
cieties, the American Medical Association, 
Chi Zeta Chi fraternity, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the City 
Club, Governor's Foot Guard, and the 
Knights of Columbus, in all of which his 
genial manner and sterling worth render 
him popular. 



KINSELLA, Richard John, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Faithfulness to duty and strict ad- 
herence to a fixed purpose in life will do 
more to advance a man's interests than 
wealth or advantageous circumstances. 
The successful men of the day are they 
who planned their own advancement and 
have accomplished it in spite of many 
obstacles and with a certainty that could 
have been obtained only through their 
own efforts. Of this class is Richard J. 
Kinsella, of Hartford, a representative, 
and his extensive business interests now 
bring to him an excellent financial return. 
At the same time he belongs to that class 
of representative Americans whose labors 
result not alone to their individual pros- 
perity, but are far-reaching in their valu- 
able influence and public aid. 

Matthew Kinsella, father of Richard J. 
Kinsella, was born in County Wexford, 
Ireland, where he grew to manhood years, 
acquired a practical education in the dis- 
trict schools, and learned the trade of ship 
carpenter, which he followed for a num- 
ber of years. He left his native land to 
seek larger opportunities and better con- 
ditions in the United States, and chose 
as his place of residence the city of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, where he located in 
1846 or 1847, and there devoted his atten- 
tion to general carpenter work, in which 
he was highly proficient. He married 
Helen Gough, a native of County Kil- 
kenny, Ireland, who bore him three chil- 
dren : Richard John, of this review ; Cath- 
erine ; William, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Kinsella were members of St, Peter's 
Church (Roman Catholic). Mr. Kinsella 
died in Hartford, in 1881, aged seventy- 
one years. 

Richard John Kinsella was born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, October 5, 1857. 
He attended the public schools of his na- 



234 



\-:v v^VJ YORK 

' •:- RYI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tive city, and upon attaining a suitable 
age served an apprenticeship at the trade 
of carpenter, serving two years, during 
which time he worked on the State Capi- 
tol, then in course of construction. This 
line of work not proving to his liking, he 
secured employment in a grocery concern, 
and later accepted a position as traveling 
salesman for the wholesale grocery firm 
of Foster & Company, remaining for a 
period of twelve years. In 1886 he formed 
a partnership with Thomas A. Smith, 
under the firm name of Kinsella & Smith, 
wholesale and retail dealers in butter and 
eggs, in Hartford. They started business 
in a very unpretentious manner, but being 
men of strong business force and sound 
judgment as well as resourceful ability, 
their efforts were rewarded with a large 
degree of success, and about the year 1902 
they opened a second store in Hartford, 
which is also well patronized, their pro- 
ducts being of the best obtainable. They 
also conduct an extensive wholesale busi- 
ness in Hartford and vicinity, and are 
well and favorably known in business 
circles, their word being as good as their 
bond. 

Mr. Kinsella has been a staunch ad- 
herent of Democratic principles since at- 
taining his majority, and has taken an 
active part in the work of his party, being 
chosen to serve in various capacities. He 
served a year in the Common Council ; 
four years as a member of the Board 
of Aldermen; was fire commissioner for 
three years; served three years as a mem- 
ber of the Water Board; in 1915 ran for 
mayor of Hartford and was defeated 
owing to the fact that his party was hope- 
lessly divided and it may truthfully be 
said that no self seeker would have ac- 
cepted the nomination from a party so torn 
with internal strife ; has been a member 
of South School District for eight years. 
While a member of the Board of Alder- 



men he served on the bridge commission 
that built the magnificent bridge that 
spans the Connecticut river at Hartford, 
and also served on the committee that in- 
stalled the electric system on street cars 
and was the originator of the bill that 
compelled the street railway to pay the 
city three per cent, of its income, which 
was compromised finally to two per cent. 
During the campaign for the mayorship 
of the city the following appeared in the 
Hartford "Globe" as an independent 
opinion: "At the head of the ticket, Mr. 
Kinsella is a man of large ability as a 
business man. He has seen much service 
in the Common Council and on commis- 
sions of the city and has never been ac- 
cused of not giving the best of service in 
a public office. He is a hard-working and 
conscientious man when entrusted with 
a public service. * * * Incidentally, 
Mr. Kinsella was not anxious for the 
nomination and would have stepped aside 
at any time up to his actual nomination 
in favor of any man his party desired 
more, or whom seemed to be a better 
man. It is well known that Mr. Kinsella 
did not make his announcement until men 
against whom neither faction had any- 
thing, had absolutely declined to run." 
Mr. Kinsella served for thirteen years in 
the State Militia, and holds the commis- 
sion of first lieutenant of Company B, First 
Regiment, Connecticut National Guard. 
lie is a member of the Knights of Colum- 
bus, Nathan Hale Tent of Maccabees, and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

Mr. Kinsella married, February 27, 
1890, Catherine Scott, born in Hartford, 
1870, daughter of John Scott, of Hartford, 
Connecticut. They are the parents of 
seven children, namely: John M., Wil- 
liam G., Helen M., Pauline S., Richard J., 
Jr., George, Marian G. 



235 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



McMANUS, James, D. D. S., 

Leading Dentist. 

Dr. James McManus, dean of the dental 
profession in Hartford, oldest practicing 
dentist there and probably oldest in the 
State of Connecticut, and one of the best 
known men in his profession in the 
United States, was born in Hartford, 
Connecticut, July i6, 1836, son of James 
and Ellen (Goodwin) McManus. 

James Mc^Manus, Sr., was born in 
County Fermanagh, Ireland, where he 
was reared to manhood years on a farm. 
In February, 1830, accompanied by his 
wife, who was a native of the same coun- 
ty, he emigrated to the United States, 
located in Hartford, Connecticut, and 
there accepted such employment as a 
stranger in a strange land could secure. 
Later he secured a position as miller for 
Mr. Imlay, with whom he remained for 
a number of years. Later he became 
bookkeeper, salesman and general man- 
ager for Alfred Watkinson, his term of 
service being entirely satisfactory. He 
served as a member of the old militia prior 
to the Civil War. He and his wife, Ellen 
(Goodwin) McManus, were the parents 
of eleven children, seven of whom are 
given herewith, as follows : John T., Ann, 
Thomas, James, Ellen, Edward, R. Den- 
nis. General Thomas AIcManus, the sec- 
ond son aforementioned, after completing 
his formal education in Hartford High 
School, learned the trade of carpenter and 
worked at it for several years. He then 
read law in the office of the late Hon. Wil- 
liam, W. Eaton and Goodwin Collier. He 
was admitted to the bar, January 20, 1864, 
and was very successful. He served as 
assistant judge of Hartford City Court, 
1866-68; judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas for Hartford county from 1875 to 
1877; represented Hartford in the State 
Legislature, 1878; quartermaster-general 



of the State of Connecticut, 1883-85 ; di- 
rector of Connecticut State Prison at 
Wethersfield from 1879 to 1887; chief of 
division in treasury department in Wash- 
ington, D. C, 1887-89, and recorder of the 
City of Hartford Court, 1893-97. In the 
Civil War he attained the rank of major 
in the Twenty-fifth Regiment, Connecti- 
cut Volunteer Infantry ; he saw^ active 
service in Louisiana, his regiment sta- 
tioned at Port Hudson. 

Dr. James McIManus attended the old 
stone school on ^Market street, Hartford, 
and during his boyhood entered the em- 
ploy of Dr. Hiram Preston, a leading den- 
tist of Hartford in his day. He finally be- 
came his partner, and after the retirement 
of Dr. Preston, Dr. McManus succeeded 
to the entire practice. Several years later 
Dr. ]\IcManus attended the Philadelphia 
Dental College, becoming a member of 
the class of 1864-65, which w^as the second 
class graduated from that institution. In 
recent years he has gradually been light- 
ening the burden of his professional work, 
which has been largely assumed by his 
sons. Dr. McManus called the meeting 
at which w^as organized the Connecticut 
State Dental Association, of which he was 
the first secretary and later president. 
That event transpired more than half a 
century ago, and since that time Dr. Mc- 
Manus has been made an honorary mem- 
ber of many other State associations. He 
has been a member of the American Den- 
tal Association since 1864, and has been 
one of its delegates to the International 
Convention at London, England, on two 
occasions, the last time in 1914. He took 
advantage of the opportunity to visit dif- 
ferent parts of Great Britain, the home 
of his ancestors in Ireland, also other 
parts of that garden spot of the earth. 
Dr. McManus was the first president of 
the New Dental Association ; for many 
vears was an honorarv member of the 



236 



4 





t-e^ 



< 



1 PUBLIC LIP' 



ARY 



Yj 




6^^ L^>^^f^^i^'-^^&<^€^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford Medical Society; a member for 
many years of the American Medical As- 
sociation ; member of the Connecticut 
Historical Society, and the Hartford Club. 
In 1896 he published a "History of Anes- 
thesia," the edition of which he unfortu- 
nately limited to private circulation. The 
Hartford "Courant" devoted about a 
column to its review, and it has been rec- 
ognized as authoritative. He started the 
movement which finally succeeded in 
erecting the monument to Horace Wells, 
the discoverer of Anesthesia in Hartford. 
Dr. McManus married (first) Eliza 
M., daughter of Charles Pagan, of New 
Haven, Connecticut. Two children : 
Charles, D. D. S., born August 6, 1865, 
graduated from the Philadelphia Dental 
College, class of 1888, married Fannie 
Stone ; Henry, D. D. S., born August 23, 
1868, graduated from the Philadelphia 
Dental College, class of 1890, president 
of the Hartford Post Publishing Com- 
pany, and also the musical and dramatic 
critic for that paper, married Wilhelmina 
Govan, of New York City. Since enter- 
ing upon their active careers, both sons 
have assisted their father in his extensive 
dental practice. Mrs. McManus died in 
1870. Dr. McManus married (second) 
S. Ella, daughter of Alfred E. Burk, of 
Hartford. Mrs. McManus died in 1905. 
Dr. McManus, who is a well preserved 
man, can look back without regret upon 
a long life of usefulness, honored by lay- 
men and his professional brethren alike, 
sincerity being one of his strong char- 
acteristics. He holds high ideals of stan- 
dards of living and professional ethics, is 
a man of firm religious convictions, a 
staunch adherent of the Roman Catholic 
church, the faith of his forefathers. 



HEUBLEIN, Arthur C„ 

Physician, Surgeon, Roentgenologist. 

Arthur C. Heublein, M. D., of Hart- 
ford, is one of the best known physicians 



and surgeons of his native city. He is 
third in descent from Andrew and Plena 
(Meissner) Heublein, natives of Suhl, 
Germany, who came to the United States 
in 1850 and located in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut. Here the family started in an hum- 
ble way, without prestige, have overcome 
every obstacle, and won a prominent 
place in the business, professional and 
social life of the city. Andrew Heublein, 
grandfather of Dr. Heublein, and the 
founder of the family, died May 30, 1899, 
aged seventy-nine. 

Gilbert F. Pleublein, father of Dr. 
Arthur C. Pleublein, was born in Suhl, 
Germany, December 28, 1849. He re- 
ceived his education in the public schools 
of Hartford, and also attended a private 
school maintained by German families. 
He then became associated in business 
with his father, whose partner he became 
in 1870, the firm adopting the name of 
Andrew Heublein & Son. This continued 
until 1875, when the sons. Gilbert F. and 
Louis, took over the business under the 
name of G. F. Heublein & Brother. The 
young men were progressive and aggres- 
sive and under their management the 
business grew and expanded until at the 
present time (1917) they are recognized 
as the largest importers and exporters of 
fine wines, liquors, cigars, bay rum, olive 
oil, etc., in the city. They also manufac- 
ture an extensive line of bottled liquors 
and have a business that extends to every 
country in the world. In 1891 they built 
the Heublein Hotel, which ranks as one 
of the best hotels in New England. Of 
this Gilbert F. Heublein was manager un- 
til 191 5. when he retired from the hotel 
business, though the company still owns 
the hotel property. Mr. Heublein has 
been identified with the Democratic party 
since attaining his majority. He is a 
member of the Hartford Club, Hartford 
Golf Club, City Club of Hartford. Coun- 
try Club of Farmington, Athletic Club of 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New York, Auto Club of New York, and 
Auto Club of Great Britain. Mr. Heub- 
lein married, December 2, 1876, Louise 
M., daughter of the late Louis Gundlach, 
of Hartford. Children: Alice H., born 
October 20, 1877, who is an accomplished 
musician, having- been educated at a pri- 
vate musical school in Berlin, married 
Percy Martin, of Kenilworth ; and Arthur 
C, of whom further. 

Dr. Arthur C. Heublein w^as born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, September 18, 
1879. He attended the grammar and high 
schools of Hartford, also the Peekskill 
(New York) Military School, and in 1898 
matriculated in the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons of New York City, from 
which he was graduated with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine in 1902. The fol- 
lowing two years he served as an interne 
in the Hartford Hospital, thus enhancing 
greatly his previous knowledge of the 
profession chosen as his life work. He 
established an office for the general prac- 
tice of medicine in the city of Hartford, 
January i, 1905, and continued the same 
for about five years, his practice increas- 
ing in volume and importance with the 
passing years. During this time he was 
developing in the knowledge and practice 
of his specialty — roentgentherapy and 
roentgenography, in which he has at- 
tained great proficiency, ranking high in 
the estimation of his professional breth- 
ren, with whom he keeps in touch along 
the advanced thought and ideas by mem- 
bership in the City, County and State 
Medical societies, the American Medical 
Association and the American Roentgen 
Ray Society. He is also a member of the 
stafT of the Hartford Hospital as Roent- 
genologist. Dr. Heublein also holds 
membership in the Hartford Club, Hart- 
ford Golf Club, City Club and the Auto- 
mobile Club, in which he takes a keen in- 
terest. 



Dr. Heublein married Ethel Whipple, 
born April 3, 1879, daughter of Marcus 
and Frances (Kincaid) Whipple, of North 
Pownell, Vermont. They are the parents 
of two children: Gilbert Whipple, born 
October 5, 1908, and Frances Louise, born 
July 25, 1912. Dr. and Mrs. Heublein are 
members of St. John's Episcopal Church, 
of Hartford, and Mrs. Heublein is a mem- 
ber of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. 



ROGERS, Frank Willson, 

Life Insurance Actuary. 

There is always something impressive 
in tracing through a long line of descent 
the perseverance of strong and able traits 
of character, showing themselves peren- 
nial, ever recurrent in such generation, 
without a missing link in the chain, and 
giving the most indisputable evidence of 
the power of a strong and healthy stock 
to project its virtues across the lapse of 
years and awaken in distant times and 
amidst the most diverse circumstances 
the spirit that in bygone years had ani- 
mated the blood. Such is conspicuously 
the case with the distinguished Rogers 
family of Connecticut, which, since the 
early Colonial period when its progeni- 
tor severed his connections with the land 
of his birth and came to dwell in the 
free wilderness of the "New World," 
has exhibited uninterruptedly those ster- 
ling qualities that have for so long been 
associated with the highest type of New 
England manhood. 

The Rogers family is one well known 
in Hartford, and in connection with the 
silver-plating industry, with which it is 
almost synonymous, its fame is world- 
wide. The name is derived from the 
same root as the modern German word 
ruhm, meaning fame. The old Frank 
equivalent to this being Hrother and 

38 




^yr/)tk 11 . c/fof^e?'j 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rog^ers, a corruption of this. It seems 
to have meant honored, which is doubt- 
les? a still further modification of the 
santi root. Historical tradition associates 
it with all that is true and noble and 
there is another ascribed meaning as "one 
whose word is reliable." General Under- 
wood states that "the earliest crest of the 
Rogers escutcheon was a fleur-de-lis and 
the first motto was : Nos Nostrague dco, 
which being translated is ourselves and 
our possessions to God." According to 
General Underwood the line in England 
up to the time of James Rogers, the 
founder of the family in this country, is 
as follows: (I) Sir John Fitz Roger, of 
Dorset, England, and wife Elizabeth, 
daughter of Sir Simon Ferneaux, knight, 
descended from the Earls of Bush. (II) 
Sir John Fitz Roger and wife, Agnes 
Mordaunt, 1415-41. (Ill) Sir John Fitz 
Roger and wife, Elizabeth Shuttlebroke. 
(IV) Sir Henry Rogers and wife Annie, 
daughter of Lord William Stornton. (V) 
Thomas Rogers and Catherine de Courte- 
nay (the lineage of Catherine de Courte- 
nay is traced in unbroken line to Alfred 
the Great). (VI) Nicholas Rogers. 
(VII) William Rogers. (VIII) William 
Rogers and wife, Mary Ash. (IX) John 
Rogers, born 1571, died 1635, and wife, 
Elizabeth Bostwick. (X) James Rogers 
and Elizabeth Rowland. 

In the public record of^ce in England 
there is to be found a copy of a "licens to 
go beyond the seas," dated April 15, 1635, 
and one of those who sailed for New 
England in the good ship "Increase" was 
James Rogers, twenty years old. This 
James Rogers was believed to have been 
the same James Rogers who lived in New 
London, Connecticut, and there is cer- 
tainly no evidence against it. During 
the Pequot War in 1637, James Rogers 
was one of the six men who took part 
under the command of Captain John 



Underhill, and shortly after this time he 
acquired land in Stratford, Connecticut, 
where he married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Samuel Rowland. In 1652 he removed 
from Stratford to Milford, in the same 
colony, and joined the Pruddens Congre- 
gational Church, which his wife had 
already joined in 1645. According to dif- 
ferent records of that time, it is believed 
that James Rogers was a baker and 
tradesman of importance in the commu- 
nity. Between 1656 and 1660 he became 
an inhabitant of the town of New Lon- 
don, and on March 14, 1660-61, was made 
a freeman there. James Rogers was a 
deputy to the Court of Elections in May, 
1661, and 1662, and in the latter year 
was corn commissioner of New London. 
Between 1662 and 1673 he was a repre- 
sentative to the General Court seven 
times and was in close association with 
Matthew Griswold, serving with him. on 
State and church committees several 
times. To be chosen for church and 
State positions in the time of James 
Rogers was a far greater honor than 
attaches to a similar appointment to-day, 
as these matters were then considered of 
paramount importance. We can see 
therefore the high estimation in which 
he was held by the community. He was 
one of the largest landowners of New 
London and amongst his holdings was a 
grant given him by Uncas, chief of the 
Mohegans, in August, 1658. James 
Rogers died in 1687 in New London, and 
his wife about 1709. 

Their son, Samuel Rogers, was born, 
in all probability, in 1640. The birth has 
not actually been recorded, but as his 
will was made in 1712, in which he states 
that he was then seventy-two years of 
age, we are warranted in assuming his 
birth in 1640. On the occasion of his 
marriage he received from, his father two 
hundred pounds sterling, together with a 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stone house and bakery at the head of 
Winthrop's Cove. For many years Sam- 
uel Rogers conducted this bakery with 
success. In the year 1680 he settled in 
what was at that time termed Mohegan 
and was in reality the first white man to 
make his home there. He had for many 
years maintained the most friendly rela- 
tions with this tribe and their famous 
chief, Uncas, and in return for this friend- 
ship and a number of services which he 
was enabled to perform for them, Uncas 
and his son Owaneco gave to him a num- 
ber of tracts of land. Samuel Rogers, 
adding thus to his father's property, was 
by far the largest landowner in the 
colony. He died December i, 1713, at 
New London. Samuel Rogers was twice 
married. The first time to Mary, a 
daughter of Thomas and Ann (Lord) 
Stanton, of Hartford, Connecticut. 

Their son, Daniel Rogers, was born on 
a date not accurately ascertainable, but 
as his death occurred in 1772 and it was 
claimed at the time that he was one hun- 
dred and five years old, this would give 
the date of his birth as 1667. He inher- 
ited large estates from his father, and 
during his life by purchase added greatly 
to these, so that like his grandfather and 
father be was a very large landowner in 
the community. His remarkable age is 
rendered still more remarkable by the 
fact that he was in full possession of all 
his faculties. He was one hundred years 
old when first presented with a pair of 
eye-glasses and at the age of ninety-five 
could mow with a scythe all day in the 
hayfield. He married, September 24, 
1772, Grace, the daughter of Thomas and 
Johanna Williams, of North Parish. Mrs. 
Rogers was a member of the Northville 
church, having been admitted to that 
body September 9, 1733. She was not 
far behind her husband in point of age, 



and died in 1775, when ninety-eight years 
old. 

Their son, Alpheus Rogers, was a 
farmer, inheriting much valuable land 
from his father in the New Salem Soci- 
ety, on which he settled and lived all his 
life, his death occurring there, February 
12, 1779. He was married, on January 
31, 1745, to Delight, a daughter of Lieu- 
tenant James and Sarah (Rogers) Har- 
ris. Mrs. Rogers was born October 17, 
1720, and died March 10, 1783. 

Their son, Asa Rogers, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1756, and died in Hartford, 
Connecticut, May 7, 1804, having come to 
live in that city at some time during his 
life. He was twice married, the second 
time on December 23, 1798, to Sarah 
Reynolds. 

Their son, William Hazen Rogers, was 
born May 13, 1801, and was the father of 
Frank Willson Rogers, of this sketch. 
William Hazen Rogers was the first 
manufacturer of silver plated ware in this 
country, and was in addition the first 
man to use graded rolls for the manufac- 
ture of blanks for plating. Mr. Rogers 
spent his early life on the farm of his 
father, near Hartford, and was one of 
twelve children to grow to manhood. His 
first business experience was gained in 
the jewelry trade, and after a few years 
of training he entered into partnership in 
this line of business with Joseph Church. 
The firm of Church & Rogers was organ- 
ized in 1825 and did business at Ferry 
street, Hartford, until the year 1835, when 
it was dissolved. Mr. Rogers then moved 
to No. 6 State street, and it was here that 
he conducted the experiment of silver- 
plating which later revolutionized the in- 
dustry and was responsible for the form- 
ing of the famous firm of Rogers Brothers. 
He was the first man in the country to 
apply the process of electro-plating to 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the silver trade. His genius and ability 
are alone responsible for bringing the 
process to that degree of perfection which 
made it practical for commercial pur- 
poses. Realization of the possibilities of 
his discovery led him to patent it, and he 
was the first man to apply to the govern- 
ment for a patent on sectional plate. He 
carried on the silver-plating industry 
alone until 1847, i^ which year, on 
account of its growth, he organized the 
celebrated firm of Rogers Brothers. The 
manufacturing plant occupied for a time 
the old jail building on Pearl street, and 
was later moved to quarters built espe- 
cially for it on the site of the Jewel Belt- 
ing Company. In 1862 the factory was 
discontinued, though the industry was 
continued and the manufacturing was 
done under the direction of William 
Rogers as superintendent by the Meriden 
Brittania Company, w^hich did the work 
for a royalty. This factory, which is now 
the International Silver Company, em- 
ploys a working force of a thousand men. 
William. Rogers died February 2, 1873, 
at the age of seventy-one years. 

In 1828 he was married (first) to Par- 
thenia Tyler, who died on January 3, 
1831, without issue. On December 7, 
1831, he married (second) Nancy Will- 
son, who was born at Golden Bridge, 
New York, a daughter of Nehemiah Will- 
son.- To this union were born eight chil- 
dren, three of whom are now living: 
Ellen F., wife of John H. Brace, of Syra- 
cuse, New York, both deceased; Lucy 
W., deceased, was wife of the late Dennis 
Sage, of East Milton, Massachusetts; 
Mary E., widow of James S. Belden, of 
Hartford, Connecticut; Sarah A., de- 
ceased, was wife of Joseph A. Wooley, of 
Hartford, Connecticut ; Georgiana, widow 
of Isaac H. Coe, of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut ; Isabella J., deceased, was wife of 
Stephen Raymond, of Rochester, New 

Conn— 1-16 24 



York ; Frank Willson, mentioned below. 
William H. Rogers and his wife were both 
members of the First Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of Hartford, and for many 
years Mr. Rogers was the superintendent 
of the Sunday school of the church which 
he attended. 

Frank Willson Rogers, who is now the 
only representative of the celebrated old 
house of Rogers as it was organized, re- 
ceived his education in the elementary 
and high schools of Hartford. After 
graduation from the latter he went to 
Montpelier, Vermont, where he remained 
for four years, until the spring of 1875, 
serving an apprenticeship to the jewelry 
trade under Ira H. Town in that city. At 
the end of that time he returned to Hart- 
ford, and for two and a half years was 
employed by C. H. Case, jeweler. He 
then decided to enter the silverware busi- 
ness independently and became secretary 
and director of the William Rogers 
Manufacturing Company, in which capac- 
ity he served for twelve years. Mr. 
Rogers then entered the insurance busi- 
ness as solicitor. In this field of en- 
deavor, through sheer force of applica- 
tion to his principles and executive abil- 
ity, Mr. Rogers has risen to the impor- 
tant capacity of manager for Connecticut 
of the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company. He has charge of all the 
agents in the State. In comparison to 
its size as a city, the insurance interests 
of the city of Hartford are greater than 
those of any other city in the United 
States, and to men of the type of Mr. 
Rogers these interests look for their 
future maintenance. Mr. Rogers' politi- 
cal afifiliation is with the Republican 
party. He is a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Hartford. He has held all the office'- 
possible of attainment in that society, and 
is now a past master. He is a member 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Masonic Club, the New Britain 
Club of New Britain, the Home Club of 
Meriden, the Republican Club and the 
City Club of Hartford. The family are 
members of the First Baptist Church. 

On December 31, 1879, Frank Willson 
Rogers married Elizabeth E. Hafif. Mrs. 
Rogers is the daughter of the late Joel 
Hafif, a well known hatter of Hartford, 
where he died in 1886, at the age of sixty- 
eight years. He married Elizabeth Mar- 
ble, of East Hartford. She died in 1880, 
at the age of fifty-eight years. Their chil- 
dren are: Elizabeth (Lizzie) E., born in 
New London, Connecticut, the wife of 
F. Willson Rogers; Joel P., who resides 
in Hartford. The children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Frank Willson Rogers are: Erie, 
born March 19, 1881 ; Harold, born April 
28, 1883, married, November 10, 191 1, 
Carolyn Chisholm ; William I., born June 
4, 1886, married, March 3, 1916, Dorothy 
Lyman ; Grace I., born February 26, 1890. 



ENSWORTH, Horace Hayden, 

Head of Important Industry. 

That branch of the Ensworth family of 
Connecticut of which Horace Hayden 
Ensworth, the present head of L. L. Ens- 
worth & Son, of Hartford, is a member 
has been prominent and active in the 
affairs of the State for several genera- 
tions. Like many other fine old families 
its sons have always been well forward 
in the public notice, and honored and re- 
spected for their achievements in the vari- 
ous lines of endeavor which they chose. 
They have been politicians in no sense of 
the word, but have done fully and to the 
good of the community the duty of every 
true citizen as regards public service. The 
Ensworth family was among the early 
settlers of Canterbury, Connecticut, and 
traces its line of ancestry back to Elder 
William Brewster (and to the Hay dens). 



who settled in Connecticut in the year 
1620 (making the pilgrimage to the New 
World in the "Mayflower"). 

John and Polly (Backus) Ensworth, 
great-grandparents of Horace Hayden 
Ensworth, were residents of Canterbury, 
and here his grandfather, Major Horace 
Ensworth, was born February 3, 1812. 
Horace Ensworth grew to manhood in 
that wonderful period of national prog- 
ress and advance which immediately fol- 
lowed the conclusion of the War of 1812. 
He removed to Hartford, where he estab- 
lished the firm of Ensworth & Company, 
which engaged in the drayage business 
in that city and surrounding territory. 
He had a strong bent for military affairs 
and had a genius for organization. In 
1855 he organized a company of cavalry 
of which he was made captain. In his 
later years Major Ensworth was con- 
spicuously identified with the Putnam 
Phalanx and several times acted in the 
capacity of chief marshal at election and 
also parades. He was one of the best 
known and widely liked citizens of Hart- 
ford at the time of his death, which 
occurred May 23, 1875. His funeral was 
attended by Major Boardman and the 
staff and officers of the Governor's Horse 
Guard in full uniform. Officers of the 
various city military companies were 
present and the Putnam Phalanx attend- 
ed in full ranks. On April 19, 1840, Major 
Ensworth married at Windham, Connec- 
ticut, Jerusha Antoinette Lasell, a de- 
scendant of Elder William Brewster. 

Lester Lasell Ensworth was born in 
Hartford, Connecticut, September 4, 1841, 
the son of Major Horace and Jerusha 
Antoinette (Lasell) Ensworth. His edu- 
cation consisted solely of that offered by 
the public schools of Hartford, and as a 
young man he entered the employ of 
Clark & Company, steel merchants, and 
the leading firm in that industry at the 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



time. He was industrious and observant, 
level headed and clear in his perceptions. 
During the years that followed Mr. Ens- 
worth so acquitted himself that in 1868 
he was made a partner in the business. 
His ability was marked and his value to 
the firm very great. Upon the death of 
George H. Clark, in 1881, senior partner 
in the firm, Mr. Ensworth succeeded to 
his place. Under his management the 
business flourished and developed until it 
was one of the largest of its kind in New 
England. Mr. Ensworth became recog- 
nized as one of the leaders of industry in 
Hartford, and rose to prominence in the 
confidence and esteem of his fellows. He 
was in no way a politician, beyond taking 
the interest in public afifairs that every 
progressive, broad-minded and thinking 
citizen does. He was fully cognizant of 
his duties as a citizen, however, and when 
sought for the office, he served for several 
terms in the Court of Common Council, 
and was active in the educational affairs of 
the West Middle School District. He was 
prominent in the financial circles of Hart- 
ford, holding the office of director in the 
First National Bank and the Mechanics' 
Savings Bank. Mr. Ensworth was a mem- 
ber of the Hartford Club ; and had been a 
thirty-second degree Mason for manyyears 
prior to his death. He was a member of 
the board of trustees of the Church of the 
Redeemer, though in his later years he 
became interested in Christian Science, 
and became identified with the First 
Church of Christ Scientist. On Novem- 
ber 5, 1867, he married Martha C. Hay- 
den, daughter of General William and 
Abby (Denslow) Hayden. Their chil- 
dren are : Horace Hayden, mentioned at 
length below ; George Hunt Clark, born 
June 20, 1876, who became a well known 
singer of New York City ; and Antoinette, 
born October 14, 1873. 

Mr. Ensworth was a man of generous 



impulses, high ideals, which he brought 
to bear on all phases of his life, and the 
strictest integrity. He had an indomita- 
ble will, of the sort that accomplishes 
that which it sets out to do, sweeping 
aside obstacles through the sheer force of 
its momentum. He was very popular in 
the circles in which he moved because of 
those traits of his character, such as 
geniality, courtesy, honesty and fidelity, 
which appealed universally to tliose with 
whom he came in contact. His interest 
in current happenings was keen, and his 
knowledge of aiTairs extensive ; but he 
was, withal, essentially home-loving in 
his tastes. He always had the better- 
ment of the community at heart, and his 
service to his fellowmen, though unosten- 
tatious, was of the quiet, telling sort, 
which has the greatest effect. His death 
occurred on December i, 1907. 

Horace Hayden Ensworth, son of Les- 
ter Lasell and Martha C. (Hayden) Ens- 
worth, was born in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, June 12, 1870. He received his early 
education in the elementary and the high 
schools of Hartford, being graduated 
from the latter in 1886. He was inter- 
ested in electrical engineering and be- 
came a student at the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology, graduating from 
there in 1891 with the degree of Bachelor 
of Science. He immediately returned to 
Hartford, and entered business with his 
father, studying the steel industry from 
the ground up. At the death of his father, 
Horace H. Ensworth succeeded to the 
management of the business and is at the 
present time (1917) the head of L. L. 
Ensworth & Son. He is considered a ris- 
ing figure in Hartford industry — one of 
the type of men on which the city pins the 
hope of its future. Daniel S. Morrell and 
Horace Hayden Ensworth were elected 
directors of the Connecticut River Bank- 
ing Company to fill vacancies caused by 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the death of Stanley B. Bosworth and the 
resignation of Arthur D. Coffin. 

Mr. Ensworth is a member of St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Hartford, and a member of 
Pythagorous Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons. He is active in the Hartford Club, 
the Hartford Golf Club, the Republican 
Club, and the University Club. 



HAYES, Abner Pierce, 

Lawyer, Iiegislator. 

Abner Pierce Hayes, of Waterbury, 
who, although a comparatively young 
man, has attained a place of distinction 
and influence in the affairs of his native 
State, is a descendant of fine old New 
England stock on both sides of the house, 
the members of the various generations 
performing well their part in the affairs 
of the communities wherein they resided. 

Captain Stephen Hayes, grandfather of 
Abner Pierce Hayes, was a prominent 
figure in the life of Bethlehem, Connecti- 
cut, active in public affairs, and serving 
as captain of cavalry in the old State 
militia. He married Lucy Amelia Piatt, 
who was also an active factor in the 
social circles of Bethlehem, and who bore 
her husband seven children, three of 
whom are living at the present time 
(1916) namely: Franklin Pierce, Samuel 
P., Alice, who became the wife of Henry 
Canfield. The death of Captain Hayes 
occurred at the venerable age of ninety- 
one years and his wife also passed away 
after attaining the equally venerable age 
of ninety years. 

Franklin Pierce Hayes, father of Abner 
Pierce Hayes, was born in Bethlehem, 
Connecticut, and has resided there ever 
since. He spent his boyhood in assisting 
his father in the management of the farm, 
and in attendance at district and academic 
schools, and is now a retired farmer and 



is well known in the community as a 
public-spirited citizen, having served two 
terms in the General Assembly and hold- 
ing many public positions of trust and 
responsibility. He married Catherine 
Pierce Bloss, a native of Bethlehem, Con- 
necticut, now deceased, daughter of Sam- 
uel Lambert and Mary Jane (Pierce) 
Bloss, of Roxbury, Connecticut, Mr. Bloss 
having been very active in public affairs 
during his life and having served in both 
houses of the State Legislature. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hayes were the parents of two chil- 
dren : Abner Pierce, of whom further, 
and George Franklin, who died April 29, 
1893, when not quite twenty-one years 
of age. 

Abner Pierce Hayes was born in Beth- 
lehem, Connecticut, January 25, 1876. 
He passed the years of his boyhood and 
early youth in his native place, attended 
the local schools until he was fourteen 
years of age, and then became a student 
of Mt. Hernion School, a school for the 
preparation of young men for college. 
Here he demonstrated his aptness as a 
scholar, especially in such matters as 
mathematics and all subjects that brought 
into requirement the faculties of reason 
and logic. Upon completing his course 
in this institution, he entered Yale Uni- 
versity and there continued his career as 
a brilliant student, graduating therefrom 
with the class of 1898 with high honors. 
While in college he was a member of the 
Phi Beta Kappa Society. His work in 
college led to his receiving a splendid 
position for so young a man, being ap- 
pointed statistician for the lines of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Company lying 
west of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. For 
two years he performed his complex tasks 
with great efficiency, severing his con- 
nection with the company at the expira- 
tion of that period of time, his reason for 
this move being found in the fact that an 
244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



interest, already strong, in the subject of 
the law rapidly grew upon him and finally 
became sufficiently powerful to impel him 
to give up all other work, no matter how 
successful he was in it, for this more com- 
pelling interest, and, perhaps, there was 
an added impulse in his taste for a more 
public type of activity. Nor is it wonder- 
ful that this should have been so, for Mr. 
Hayes' talents, while they undoubtedly 
fitted him for his work as statistician, are 
not less appropriate for the career of a 
lawyer, and it is certain that there are 
additional traits of character that make 
for him a life of close contact with his 
fellows the best. He thereupon returned 
to Yale University, entered the Law 
School and graduated with the class of 
1902. He then took up his residence in 
Waterbury, Connecticut, and at once 
established himself in practice, opening 
an office at No. 717 Lilley Building in 
that city, a location in which he has con- 
tinued ever since. Success marked his 
efforts from the outset, and from then 
until the present his practice has been 
important and his handling of it has 
been in such a manner as to establish his 
reputation for probity and ability. But 
Mr. Hayes' talents did not permit him to 
remain long in a merely private capacity. 
He is a member of the Republican party. 
In 1901, while a student of law at Yale, 
he was chosen as a delegate to the Con- 
stitutional Convention from his native 
town and was the youngest member of 
that body. Later he was elected to the 
General Assembly of the State from the 
city of Waterbury; was elected in 1907, 
reelected in 1908, serving both terms, and 
during the latter held membership on the 
judiciary committee of the Legislature. 

In addition to his legal and political 
activities, Mr. Hayes is conspicuous in 
the general life of the community he has 
chosen for his home, and takes a promi- 



nent part in social and fraternal circles, 
Ills name being included in the member- 
ship of many important organizations, in- 
cluding the local lodge. Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. He attends the 
Congregational church, taking an active 
interest in its work and contributing lib- 
erally toward its support. 

Mr. Hayes married, November 4, 1908, 
Margaret Ingoldsby Fitzpatrick, a native 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, where she 
has lived all her life, a daughter of John 
and Mary (Ingoldsby) Fitzpatrick. na- 
tives of Ireland, but old residents of 
Waterbury. 



GOODWIN, Wallace Burdette, 

Real Estate Operator. 

The name of Goodwin is very ancient, 
having been found in Germany as far 
back as the fifth century when it was 
spelled Gudwin and Godwin. The name 
is evidently a compound one, composed 
of the Gothic guda, meaning good, or 
goda, meaning God, and vin or wini, 
meaning friend, so that the name signi- 
fies good friend or God's friend, depend- 
ing on which of the derivatives of the 
first element of the name is accepted. In 
England the name has been traced back 
to the period when surnames were first 
coming into use, and the Mr. Goodwin 
of this review is a worthy scion in the 
ninth generation of this family, which is 
one of the oldest and most distinguished 
in Connecticut, one that has ever been 
noted for its patriotism, public spirit and 
for its high ethical ideas. 

Robert Goodwin was a resident of Nor- 
wich, England, in 1238. In 1300 the 
burgess of Colchester was Adam Good- 
win, and when Edward III. levied an 
assessment for the marriage of his son 
Galfridus Goodwin was one of the num- 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber taxed. From that time on the name 
appears with unceasing frequency. At 
the close of the fifteenth century there 
were to be found three numerous families 
of the name in County Norfolk, another 
wealthy family in Sufifolk, with other 
well-to-do families of the name in other 
counties, notably, Essex, Bedford and 
Cambridge. While the immediate ante- 
cedents of Ozias Goodwin, the progenitor 
of the branch of the family herein traced, 
have not been identified, research in Eng- 
land at the instance of the late J. J. Good- 
win, to whose valuable work we are in- 
debted for much of the information in 
this sketch, makes the presumption strong 
that he came from the Essex family of 
Goodwins. 

(I) Ozias Goodwin was born in 1596. 
His name is first found on record in New 
England at Hartford, Connecticut, where 
he received a grant of land in February, 
1639-40. His name appears on the monu- 
ment erected in the center of "The An- 
cient Burying-Ground of Hartford" to 
the memory of the "Founders of Hart- 
ford." His home lot was on Trumbull 
street, near Church street. He was one 
of the company from Hartford, Windsor, 
and Wethersfield, who on April 18, 1659, 
signed an agreement to remove to Had- 
ley, Massachusetts, but the records indi- 
cate that he finally decided to remain in 
Hartford. His name appears on the list 
of freemen dwelling on the north side of 
the river in that city on October 13, 1669. 
He died in the spring of 1683. 

(II) William Goodwin, the eldest child 
of Ozias Goodwin, was born about 1629, 
and died October 15, 1689. He was made 
freeman. May 21, 1657, and was chimney 
viewer in 1662, 1665, 1671. Under date 
of December 29, 1676, "The townsmen 
agreed with William Goodwin to sweep 
the meeting house, and ring the Bell Sab- 
beths and public meetings of the Town or 



Side and at nine of the Clock at night for 
which he is to have seven pounds per 
annum. He is also to dig graves and 
warn publick meetings as the townsmen 
shall appoint for which he shall be paid 
as Robert Sanford was." It is not known 
who his wife was except that she had a 
sister, Sarah Fruen, who was betrothed 
to Thomas Greenhill, who died before the 
time for their marriage. 

(Ill) Nathaniel Goodwin, son of Ozias 
Goodwin, was a shoemaker by trade. In 
March, 1734, he was elected deacon of 
the First Church in Hartford and held 
that office until his death in November, 
1747. He married, 1688, Mehetable Por- 
ter, born September 15, 1673, and died 
April 6, 1726, daughter of Samuel and 
Hannah (Stanley) Porter, of Hadley, 
Massachusetts. Samuel Porter was born 
in England in 1626. He was made free- 
man, March 4, 1635. He removed to 
Hartford, Connecticut, in 1636, where he 
was a merchant, and removed to Hadley, 
Massachusetts, in 1659, and died there, 
September 6, 1689. In 1659 he married 
Hannah Stanley, born in England, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Stanley, who came from 
England in the ship, "Planter," locating 
in Lynn, Massachusetts, in 1635. She 
died December 18, 1702. Jonathan Por- 
ter, father of Samuel Porter, was, accord- 
ing to English records, in the sixteenth 
generation from William de la Grande, a 
Norman knight, who participated in the 
Conquest in 1066 and acquired lands in 
Warwickshire. Ralph (or Roger), son of 
William de la Grande, became "Grand 
Porteur" to Henry I., A. D. 1120, from 
which he derived the name Porter. Jona- 
than Porter was a member of the com- 
pany that settled in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1630, and in 1635 was a mem- 
ber of the company that under the Rev. 
Jonathan Warham settled what is now 
Windsor, Connecticut. He was for that 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



period a man of considerable substance. 
His wife Rose died in July, 1647, ^^^ he 
died April 22, 1648. 

(IV) Isaac Goodwin, son of Nathaniel 
Goodwin, was baptized November 10, 
1695, and died August 15, 1766. He re- 
sided in what is now West Hartford ; was 
grand juror in 1741 and selectman in 
1742. He married for his second wife 
Ruth Gaylord, born October 18, 1704, 
died after May, 1773, daughter of William 
and Hope Gaylord, of Hartford. 

(V) Ebenezer Goodwin, son of Isaac 
Goodwin, was baptized May 29, 1743, and 
died May 18, 1810. He received from his 
grandfather, William Gaylord, in 1762, 
fifty-seven acres of land in New Hartford 
and removed there, becoming one of the 
leading citizens of the town. He was 
lister in 1772 and 1774; one of the com- 
mittee of inspection in 1775, 1776; mem- 
ber of the committee of the Ecclesiastical 
Society in 1780 and 1796, and held a num- 
ber of other positions. He married Amy 
Webster, baptized January 26, 1746, died 
at New Hartford, Connecticut, January 8, 
1835, daughter of Isaac Webster, who 
was baptized at Hartford, June 15, 1718, 
and died September 19, 1801. He located 
in West Hartford, and his name appears 
in connection with a number of real 
estate transactions. He married, Novem- 
ber II, 1739, Anne White. She became a 
member of the church in West Hartford 
in 1741, and her husband in 1770. She 
died June 23, 1807. Captain Stephen 
Webster, father of Isaac Webster, was 
born January i, 1693, and died in 1724. 
He married, June 6, 1717, Mary Burn- 
ham, baptized December 19, 1690, daugh- 
ter of John and Mary (Olcott) Burnham. 
After the death of her husband, she mar- 
ried (second) Ebenezer Merrill. Deacon 
Jonathan Webster, father of Captain 
Webster, was born January 9, 1656-57, 
in Middletown, Connecticut, and died in 



1735. He was a merchant in Hartford. 
He married for his first wife on May ii, 
1681, Dorcas, daughter of Stephen and 
Dorcas (Bronson) Hopkins, and grand- 
daughter of Jonathan and Jane Hopkins, 
among the first settlers of Hartford, also 
of Jonathan Bronson, of Farmington. 
Jonathan Webster and his wife joined the 
Second Church at Hartford, March 7, 
1695. She died during that year. Lieu- 
tenant Robert Webster, father of Dea- 
con Webster, was born in 1627, and died 
about May 31, 1676. He was chosen re- 
corder of Wethersfield upon the organi- 
zation of the town in September, 1651. 
In 1652 he settled in Middletown Upper 
Houses. He represented Middletown in 
the General Court from September, 1653, 
to May, 1655 ; from May to October, 1656; 
from October, 1657, to October, 1658, re- 
turning to Hartford in the latter year. 
On May 18, 1654, he was confirmed lieu- 
tenant in Middletown, and the same year 
was appointed on a committee to impress 
men and necessaries for the Narragan- 
sett expedition; was juryman at Hartford 
in 1662, 1663; on May 9, 1672, Hartford 
granted him three hundred acres of land ; 
in 1673 he was appointed one of the sur- 
veyors of lands on the Naugatuck river; 
on October 11, 1675, ^^ ^^''^s appointed on 
a committee to arrange defences of the 
town ; this was evidently a measure of 
protection against the Indians in King 
Philip's War. Savage says he was "on 
service in the war of 1675," and on May 
22, 1712, the governor and council ordered 
that he be paid two pounds thirteen shil- 
lings and six pence for service as a sol- 
dier, lie married, in 1652, Susannah 
Treat, born in 1629, died in 1705, daugh- 
ter of Richard and Joanna Treat, the 
former named being among the first set- 
tlers of Wethersfield. The apartment 
house at No. 191 5 Retreat avenue is prob- 
a])ly upon or near the spot where the 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Mansion house" of Lieutenant Webster 
stood. Governor Jonathan Webster, 
father of Lieutenant Webster, was the 
immigrant ancestor of the family, also 
the progenitor of the oldest and probably 
the most numerous Webster family in 
America. He came from Warwickshire, 
England, probably about 1630-33. He re- 
moved from Cambridge to Hartford in 
1636, probably with the Rev. Thomas 
Hooker. He located on what is now Gov- 
ernor street, on the east side of the street, 
about halfway between Charter Oak ave- 
nue and Wyllys street. His name ap- 
pears on the monument to the "Founders 
of Hartford" in Center Church burying 
ground. From January 14, 1639, when 
"the first written constitution known to 
history, that created a government" was 
adopted, to 1659, Jonathan Webster was 
chosen to office: From 1639 to 1655 as 
magistrate; as deputy governor, 1655; as 
governor, 1656; as chief magistrate, 1657- 
58-59. He was prominent in the dealings 
of the colony with the Indians. He was 
also a member of the committee that 
formed the criminal code for the colony. 
In 1654 he was appointed a member of 
the Congress of the United Colonies. He 
was one of the eleven members of the 
original settlers who were honored with 
the prefix "Mr.," a title of distinction in 
those days. He was a member of the 
company that withdrew from the Hart- 
ford church and settled Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1661. His 
widow, Agnes Webster, died in 1667, 
probably in Hartford. 

(VI) Pitts Goodwin, son of Ebenezer 
Goodwin, was born January 28, 1779, in 
New Hartford, and died August 2, 1864. 
He engaged in agricultural pursuits in his 
native town during his entire active 
career. For more than sixty years he 
sang in the church choir. He married, 
in 1801, Miriam, daughter of Joseph and 



(Hopkins) Gilbert, of Litchfield. 

She died December 11, 1821, aged forty- 
two years. 

(VII) Harvey Goodwin, son of Pitts 
Goodwin, was born August 17, 1802, and 
died June 11, 1895. In 1823 he removed 
to Torringford, where he engaged in 
farming and brick-making until 1827. He 
then located in West Hartford, where he 
worked in a brick yard for a time, and in 
1832 erected a pottery in Elmwood Vil- 
lage and engaged in the manufacture of 
glazed earthenware flower pots until 1872, 
when he transferred the business to his 
three sons. He won success through hon- 
est methods and persistent intelligently 
directed industry. He was a consistent 
member of the Congregational church, 
and his second wife was identified with 
the Methodist Episcopal church. He 
married (first) March 18, 1832, Mary 
Sedgwick, born January 31, 1806, died 
April 18, 1843, daughter of Timothy and 
Lucy (Braman) Sedgwick. He married 
(second) February 2, 1845, Frances 
Adelia Elmore, born March 31, 1814, died 
November 8, 1897, daughter of Moses and 
Eunice (Burnham) Elmore, of South 
Windsor, Connecticut. Children by first 
wife: Ann Amelia and Lucy Sedgfwick. 
Children by second wife: Harvey Bur- 
dette, of whom further; Wilbur Elmore, 
Elton Newell and Clarence Beaumont. 

(VIII) Harvey Burdette Goodwin, son 
of Harvey Goodwin, was born November 
30, 1845. He was educated in the public 
schools of West Hartford and Hartford. 
He began working in his father's pottery 
during his boyhood, and has continued in 
the same line of business to the present 
time (1917). In 1872 his brothers, Wil- 
bur E. and Elton N., together with Har- 
vey B., took over the father's business, 
and they enlarged the line of products to 
include besides flower pots of all kinds 
and shapes, handsomely decorated jardi- 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nieres, lamps, cuspidors, umbrella stands, 
lawn vases, hanging baskets, jugs, man- 
tel vases and a wide range of novelties. 
The business was developed until it be- 
came the largest and most important of 
the kind in the country. A spur was built 
from the New York, New Haven and 
Hartford Railroad to the plant, and at 
one time the company employed from 
seventy-five to one hundred hands, the 
product being distributed all over the 
United States. The business was incor- 
porated as Goodwin Brothers. Harvey B. 
Goodwin, president ; Wilbur E. Goodwin, 
secretary; Elton N. Goodwin, treasurer. 
The plant was destroyed by fire in the 
year 1907, and since that time their prod- 
uct has been manufactured under con- 
tract. Mr. Goodwin is a member of 
Wyllys Lodge, No. 99, Ancient Free and 
Accepted IVIasons. He married, June 10, 
1885, Annie Bramley, born in Alfreton, 
Derbyshire, England, October 4, 1862, 
daughter of Jonathan B. and Martha 
(Jepson) Bramley. Their children are as 
follows : Frances Catherine, born June 
12, 1886, became the wife of Robert P. 
Matatall, of West Hartford; Wallace 
Burdette, of whom further ; Harvey, born 
September 5, 1890; Margaret x\rgyle, 
born August 8, 1894; Shirley Bramley, 
born November 6, 1899. 

(IX) Wallace Burdette Goodwin, son 
of Harvey Burdette Goodwin, was born 
in Elmwood, June 17, 1889. He acquired 
a practical education in the public schools 
of West Hartford, Connecticut, including 
the High School. He gained his first 
practical experience in business life in 
the office of the Hartford Steam Boiler 
Inspection and Insurance Company, re- 
maining in their employ four years. He 
then became a traveling salesman for the 
Fidelity and Casualty Insurance Com- 
pany, serving in that capacity for a year, 
and since that time has been engaged in 



the real estate and insurance business on 
his own account, specializing on property 
between Hartford and New Britain. He 
has developed several properties, one of 
the principal ones being Bungalow Farms, 
on the Newington road, and a tract of fif- 
teen or twenty acres known as Burgoyne 
Gardens, which he is developing in con- 
nection with some other people. He has 
been a member of the Governor's Foot 
Guard since November, 191 5; is a direc- 
tor of the Goodwin Brothers Company, 
and a member of the City Club. Mr. 
Goodwin married, December 18, 1915. 
Lulu Edna Cadwell, daughter of John P. 
and Emma Cadwell, of Elmwood. They 
attend Christ Episcopal Church. 



FAY, George Austin, 

Lawyer. 

For fifty-seven years George Austin 
Fay was a resident of Meriden, Connec- 
ticut, and for fifty-three years was a 
member of the New Haven county bar, 
rising to eminence in his profession and 
well known far beyond local limits. There 
was little in his early life to distinguish 
him from the thousands of New England 
boys of his period, and he was a young 
man of twenty-five before he found his 
true sphere, the law. From that time, 
however, his advance was rapid and he 
became one of the brightest ornaments 
of the Connecticut bar. He at one time 
took an active part in politics, and at the 
session when James E. English was un- 
seated and Marshall Jewell seated as the 
duly elected Governor of Connecticut, he 
was a member of the State Senate and 
chairman of the committee on elections 
in charge of the contest. But with that 
exception he gave himself unreservedly 
to his profession, conducting a large prac- 
tice with unusual success. He was con- 
temporary with his brother. Frank S. Fay, 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



judge of Meriden city courts since 1902, 
and was that brother's preceptor in the 
law. 

In June, 1656, his ancestor, John Fay, 
arrived in Boston on the ship "Speed- 
well," from Gravesend, England, he then 
being but eight years of age. He had 
either relations or friends in Sudbury, 
Massachusetts, and there spent several 
years, first appearing on the records of 
Marlboro, Massachusetts, in 1669. There 
the births of his children occurred, but he 
left, seemingly as a means of safety, and 
resided in Watertown, returning to Marl- 
boro after the close of King Philip's War 
and there died in 1690. He married 
(first) Mary Brigham, who died during 
the family residence in Watertown. He 
married (second) in 1678, Susanna, 
daughter of William Shattuck, of Water- 
town, and widow of Joseph Morse. 

John (2) Fay, son of John (i) Fay and 
his first wife, Mary (Brigham) Fay, was 
born in Marlboro, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 3, 1669. He settled in that part 
of Marlboro which later was incorporated 
as Westboro, and there died in 1749, a 
highly respected, influential citizen and 
town official. He married (first) Decem- 
ber I, 1690, Elizabeth Wellington, born 
December 29, 1673, <iied in March, 1729, 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth 
(Sweetman) Wellington. He married 
(second) December 16, 1729, Levinah 
Brigham, who survived him. The births 
of four of his ten children are recorded in 
Marlboro. 

John (3) Fay, son of John (2) Fay and 
his first wife, Elizabeth (Wellington) 
Fay, was born December 6, 1700, died 
November 10, 1732. He was a large land- 
owner and resident of Marlboro and 
Northboro. He married, April 17, 1721, 
Hannah Child, who survived him and 
married a second husband, Samuel Lys- 
comb, of Southboro. 



Major Josiah Fay, son of John (3) and 
Hannah (Child) Fay, was born February 
4, 1731, died August 8, 1776, while in the 
military service of his country. He set- 
tled in Southboro, Massachusetts, about 
1750; was sergeant in the Crown Point 
Expedition in 1756, and marched with the 
minute-men from Southboro early on the 
morn of the Lexington Alarm, April 19, 
1775. The battle which made immortal 
history was fought before the arrival of 
the Southboro men, but he kept on to 
Cambridge and spent three months with 
the Colonial troops while the British 
occupied Boston. He continued in the 
Continental service, rose to the rank of 
major, was engaged and wounded in the 
battle of White Plains, and died from the 
efifects of his injuries in New York City. 
He was a selectman of Southboro in 1770, 
1771 and 1775, warden in 1769. Major 
Fay married, March 22, 1757, Mary Bent, 
born April 18, 1737, died in 1831, at the 
great age of ninety-two, daughter of 
Peter Bent, of Marlboro. 

Captain Josiah (2) Fay, a twin, son of 
Major Josiah (i) and Mary (Bent) Fay, 
was born Jime 10, 1758, at Southboro, 
died at Marlboro, February 18, 1845. He 
removed to Marlboro about 1799, was a 
skilled mechanic, a manufacturer of hand- 
made nails, and a farmer. He was a sol- 
dier of the Revolution, field drummer in 
1785, later held the rank of captain, served 
as selectman in 1775 and constable in 
1791. He married, in 1778, Hepzibah Col- 
lins, of Southboro, of ancient Colonial 
family, tracing descent from Captain 
Miles Standish. She was born in 1751, 
died August 19, 1843, the mother of six 
sons and four daughters : Josiah ; Abi- 
gail, married William Howe ; Mark ; 
Mary; Peter B. ; Sally; Hepzebeth ; 
George William, of further mention ; 
Jerub Amber; Julius Augustus. 

George William Fay, eighth child of 



250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Captain Josiah (2) and Hepzibah (Col- 
lins) Fay, was born in Marlboro, Massa- 
chusetts, May 12, 1805, died February 5, 
1867, a cabinetmaker, contractor and 
builder. He married, at Willimantic, 
Connecticut, October 5, 1835, Amanda 
Almina Ward, born April 20, 1814, died 
May 6, 1903, in Marlboro, daughter of 
Jeremiah and Eunice (Storrs) Ward. 
They were the parents of four sons and 
two daughters: i. Lucien Dana, born 
September 4, 1836, died at St. Louis, Mis- 
souri, January 10, 1871 ; married, April 
12, 1865, Martha King Batchelor. 2. 
George Austin, of further mention. 3. 
Mary Ann, born October 28, 1840, died 
June 10, 1880; married, October 12, 1863; 
Henry Otis Russell, and left two children : 
Theresa Marilla and Henry Carlton Rus- 
sell. 4. Marilla Elizabeth, born Decem- 
ber 9, 1842, died July 3, 1865. 5. Frank 
Sullivan, of further mention. 6. Heman 
Storrs, born February 6, 1852 ; married, 
September 23, 1891, Ella C. Fontaine. 

George Austin Fay, second son of 
George William and Amanda Almina 
(Ward) Fay, was born in Marlboro, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 29, 1838, died in Meri- 
den, Connecticut, September 22, 1916. He 
spent the years until 1859 at the home 
farm and in acquiring an education, com- 
pleting his studies in Marlboro High 
School. He came to Meriden in 1859, 
and during his first two years residence 
was an Adams Express Company clerk 
and Western Union Telegraph operator. 
In May, 1861, he entered Yale Law 
School, whence he was graduated Bach- 
elor of Laws, class of 1862. He then re- 
turned to Meriden, entered the law office 
of O. H. Piatt, later a United States Sen- 
ator from Connecticut, there remaining a 
year. In May, 1863, he was admitted to 
the bar, began practice in Meriden, and so 
continued until his death at the age of 
seventy-eight years. He was a lawyer of 



high repute, was learned in the law, skill- 
ful in its ai)p]ication and very successful. 
During his half century of practice, he 
was connected with much of the most im- 
portant litigation appearing in the courts 
of his section, his practice extending to 
all State and Federal courts of the dis- 
trict. He prepared his cases with care, 
was strong and logical in their presenta- 
tion to court and jury, very tenacious of 
the rights of his clients and strictly 
scrupulous in observing the rights of 
others. He was a member of the various 
bar associations, was highly regarded by 
his professional brethren, and well known 
in the higher courts of the State. He was 
counsel for the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford Railroad for many years, 
counsel and director of the Wilcox-White 
Company, counsel for the First National 
Bank of Meriden, the International Silver 
Company and many other corporations. 
He lived to be one of the oldest members 
of his profession in Meriden and one of 
the most eminent. 

He was a Republican in politics, and in 
his earlier years took an active part in 
public affairs. He was elected State Sen- 
ator in 1871 from the Sixth District and 
in that body served on the committees on 
incorporations and elections, being chair- 
man of the latter. During his term the 
memorable contest over the Governor's 
election occurred. James E. English, of 
New Haven, had been returned Governor 
])y a majority of thirty-nine votes, but 
irregularities in the Fourth Ward of New 
Haven caused his opponent. Marshall 
Jewell, to contest the election, which re- 
sulted in an investigation with the result 
that Mr. Jewell was declared elected and 
inaugurated. As chairman of the elec- 
tions committee, Mr. Fay played an im- 
portant part in the contest, but after the 
expiration of his senatorial term he took 
no part in public affairs beyond exercis- 



251 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing his rights and duties as a citizen. He 
was a man of intellectual strength and 
literary culture, very fond of books and 
possessing one of the largest private 
libraries in the State. There he spent 
most of his hours of leisure, but his 
friendly, genial nature rejoiced in the 
social features of the Home and Highland 
Country clubs, of both of which he was a 
member. He was most benevolent, gen- 
erously aided all good causes and never 
refused to extend a helping hand. 

Mr. Fay married, in 1865, Jennie M. 
Curtis, who died October 18, 1908, only 
daughter of Alfred P. Curtis, of Meriden. 



FAY, Frank Sullivan, 

Judge of Meriden Courts. 

For the past fifteen years, 1902-1917, 
Judge Fay has presided over the city and 
police courts of Meriden, but his con- 
nection with the Xew Haven county bar 
dates from 1871, when he passed the line 
which separates the student from the 
practitioner. From the serene heights of 
mature years and success, he reviews 
those forty-six years of professional ser\'- 
ice in the city of Meriden with a degree 
of satisfaction that compensates for the 
stress and strenuousness of the peaceful 
warfare of the courts which raged about 
him,; warfare in which he has won his full 
share of victory but not without tasting 
also the sting of defeat. He was a good 
lawyer, and since called to the city bench 
has fully demonstrated his possession of 
the quality which constitutes the able-, 
just and upright judge. He springs from 
a race of hardy Massachusetts pioneers, 
six generations of his ancestors residing 
in that State, the Fay settlement in Meri- 
den beginning with George Austin Fay 
in 1859. He was joined by his brother, 
Frank S. Fay, ten years later, and both 
became eminent members of the bar, con- 



temporary in Meriden until the death of 
the elder brother in 1916. 

Frank Sullivan Fay, third son of George 
William and Amanda Almina (Ward) 
Fay, was born in Marlboro, Massachu- 
setts, September 26, 1848. He there 
passed the grade and high schools, a 
graduate, class of 1868. In the fall fol- 
lowing his graduation, he joined his 
brother, George Austin Fay, who had 
been practicing law in Meriden, Connec- 
ticut, since 1863, and under his precep- 
torship prepared for the same profession. 
He continued his studies until September, 
1871, then after passing the required tests 
to the satisfaction of the court, was duly 
admitted a member of the Xew Haven 
county bar. He at once began practice 
in Meriden, and during the years until 
1882 confined himself to private legal 
business, gaining an influential clientele 
and strong position among the rising 
young men of the county bar. In 1882, 
he was elected prosecuting agent for Xew 
Haven county, a post he filled until 1893. 
At various times he has filled the office of 
corporation counsel for the city of Meri- 
den, and for one year, 1891, he was one of 
the town site commissioners appointed 
by the United States government for the 
then territory of Oklahoma. He was 
located in t-he town of Oklahoma, and was 
secretary-treasurer of the board of three 
to adjust land titles for that town. He 
continued in successful practice in Meri- 
den until 1902. when a vacancy occurred 
in the city courts caused by the elevation 
of James P. Piatt, the incumbent, to the 
bench of the United States Circuit Court. 
In March, 1902, Mr. Fay was appointed 
by Governor McLean to fill the vacancy, 
and for fifteen years with a brief interval 
he has ably administered the duties of 
judge of the city and police courts. In 
1912 there was a political deadlock in the 
Legislature and Governor Baldwin ap- 



2^2 




■ntiM^arya 



^ 




PUB LI 



■?v 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pointed Harry King as city judge in IMeri- 
den. At the next session of the Legisla- 
ture, which had a Republican majority, 
Judge Fay was reappointed. He has 
given himself unreservedly to the law, 
and has few interests outside of his pro- 
fession beyond the exercise of those 
duties and privileges pertaining to public- 
spirited citizenship and civic obligation. 
When the old town hall was burned in 
1903, Judge Fay was one of the com- 
mittee in charge of the erection of the 
present edifice, and he has borne a share 
in all civic advancement. He is learned 
in the law, striving in all his decisions to 
render exact justice, but ever tempering 
justice with mercy where circumstances 
justify the withholding of the extreme 
penalty. He is a member of the New 
Haven County, State and American Bar 
associations, and is held in deepest re- 
spect and esteem, by his professional 
brethren of both bench and bar. He is a 
member of the Home and Colonial clubs 
of Meriden, and takes a deep interest in 
the various societies and organizations of 
the city, educational, charitable and re- 
ligious. He was for years a member of 
the Metabetchum Fishing Club of Can- 
ada, his tastes strongly inclining to the 
recreations of the out-of-doors and coun- 
try life. Love of justice, sympathy, un- 
failing courtesy and tact are character- 
istics of his nature, and he adheres closely 
to the law of "Common Sense," believing 
that success comes surest to those who to 
this add "honesty, industry and persever- 
ance." To young men he advises : "Keep 
young, ready for the next duty, do the 
best you know how and keep sober, for 
the man who does all that is successful 
whether he knows it or not." In politi- 
cal faith he is a Republican, and in re- 
ligious preference an Episcopalian. 
Judge Fay married, September 28, 1881, 



Elizabeth B. Ham, who died September 
I, 1912, daughter of Allan J. and Martha 
(Cutter) ?Iam, of Stuyvesant, New York. 



SLOCUM, Wellington Robinson, 
Representative Citizen. 

The sloe is the fruit of the English wild 
spiny plum tree. It is so named because 
of its peculiar astringent action on the 
mouth, known in English as "setting the 
teeth on edge." In Southwestern Eng- 
land were many cup-shaped depressions 
or valleys in the hills. These were called 
combes. The sloe trees were very com- 
mon in these combes, hence they were 
called sloecombes, and the residents of 
that vicinity were designated as John of 
Sloe Combe or as Sloe Combe, and in the 
most natural manner the surname of 
Sloecombe was derived. The coat-of- 
arms of the family is as follows : Arms : 
Argent on a fess gules between three 
griffins' heads couped sable, as many sin- 
ister wings or. Crest: A griffin's head 
gules between two wings expanded or. 
Argent — silver ; gules — red ; couped — cut 
off smooth ; sable — black ; or — gold. The 
fess is a broad band crossing the middle 
of the shield laterally and represents the 
waist belt or girdle of honor which was 
one of the insignia of knighthood. A 
griffin is a chimerical creature retained 
from ancient times and is most frequently 
represented with the body and legs of a 
lion, and the head, neck and wings of an 
eagle, with ears. The conception of this 
character was watchfulness, strength and 
swiftness. 

(I) Anthony Slocombe was the immi- 
grant ancestor of the branch of the Slo- 
cum family herein followed. He was one 
of the forty-six "first ancient" purchasers 
of Cohannet, incorporated March 3, 1639, 
his name being spelled Slocum on this 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



record. In 1654 he served as one of the 
two surveyors of highways for Taunton, 
and again in 1662. He was admitted a 
freeman, June 3, 1657. Baylies, the his- 
torian of Taunton, says that Anthony 
Slocombe disposed of his rights in that 
town and removed about 1662 to that 
part of New Plymouth which two years 
later was incorporated as Dartmouth 
township. He settled near the Pascaman- 
set river, which has since been more gen- 
erally known as "Slocum's river." He 
was probably married in England. The 
following quotation from part of a letter 
to his "brother-in-law, William Harvey, 
in Taunton" justifies the inference that 
he married Harvey's sister. William 
Harvey was one of the first purchasers of 
Taunton, his interest being equal to that 
of Anthony Slocombe. William Harvey 
was deputy to the General Court for sev- 
eral successive years. 

(II) Giles Slocombe, son of Anthony 
Slocombe, was probably born in Somer- 
setshire, England. He settled in what is 
now the township of Portsmouth, New- 
port county, Rhode Island, probably in 
1638. His name appears of record in a 
number of real estate transactions. He 
was recorded as a freeman of Portsmouth 
in 1655. He was energetic and prosper- 
ous, an active factor in the affairs of the 
community. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Society of Friends. There 
is no record of the maiden name of his 
wife, but they show Joan Slocom died 
June 31, 1679, Giles Slocomb in 1682. 

(III) Eliezer Slocombe, son of Giles 
Slocombe, was born in Portsmouth town- 
ship, Newport county, Rhode Island, De- 
cember 25, 1664. He resided in Dart- 
mouth township, dealt extensively in 
lands and acquired large property inter- 
ests for those days. His estate was ap- 
praised at seven hundred and ninety 
pounds eighteen shillings and eleven 



pence, not including gifts made to his 
children before his death. He married 
Elephel Fitzgerald. Her will was proved 
October 4, 1748. 

(IV) Ebenezer Slocum, son of Eliezer 
and Elephel (Fitzgerald) Slocombe, was 
born in Dartmouth township, Massachu- 
setts, about 1705. He married, April 4, 
1728, Bathsheba Hull, daughter of Tris- 
tram and Elizabeth (Dyer) Hull. Tris- 
tram Hull was born in Barnstable, Massa- 
chusetts, October 8, 1677; married, in 
Newport, Rhode Island, December 19, 
1698, Elizabeth Dyer, and resided in 
South Kingston, Rhode Island. Eliza- 
beth Dyer was daughter of Charles and 
Mary Dyer, of Newport, and granddaugh- 
ter of William and Mary Dyer, of Bos- 
ton, 1635. William Dyer was hanged on 
Boston Common, June i, 1660, for preach- 
ing as a Friend. Tristram Hull was son 
of Joseph Hull, born in June, 1652 ; settled 
in Kingston, Rhode Island, and became a 
prominent minister of the Society of 
Friends ; married Experience, daughter of 
Robert and Deborah (Perry) Harper, of 
Sandwich, Massachusetts, who were 
among the first of the Friends. Joseph 
Hull was son of Captain Tristram and 
Blanche Hull. He was born in Norleigh, 
Devonshire, England, in 1624 ; was a ship- 
owner and merchant at Barnstable ; died 
in 1666. Captain Tristram Hull was son 
of the Rev. Joseph and Agnes Hull ; he 
was born in 1594; received the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts from Oxford ; was rector 
of Norleigh, Devonshire, England ; first 
minister of Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
in 1635 ; died in 1665. The Hull family 
originated in Somersetshire. For some 
time Ebenezer Slocum and his wife con- 
tinued to reside in Dartmouth, but prior 
to 1756 they removed to Tiverton town- 
ship, Rhode Island. They were living 
there in 1774. 

(V) David Slocum,, son of Ebenezer 

!54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Bathsheba (Hull) Slocum, was born 
in Dartmouth township, Massachusetts, 
September 23, 1740. He removed with 
his parents to Tiverton township, Rhode 
Island, but six years previous to the Rev- 
olutionary War he and his wife removed 
to Tolland township, Massachusetts, 
where they spent the remainder of their 
days. He married Phebe Manchester, 
born July 21, 1743, daughter of Godfrey 
Manchester. She was a native of Tiver- 
ton township, Rhode Island. David Slo- 
cum died December 7, 1818, survived by 
his wife, who passed away, March i, 1819. 

(VI) Hull Slocum, son of David and 
Phebe (Manchester) Slocum, was born 
in Tiverton township, Rhode Island, Jan- 
uary 7, 1767, and died March 3, 1843. He 
was three years old when his family re- 
moved to Tolland township, Massachu- 
setts, and he there spent the remainder of 
his days, residing on a farm in later life, 
which he cultivated and improved. He 
married Fanny Babcock, born in North 
Stonington, Connecticut, March 5, 1771, 
died December 18, 1846, daughter of 
Benedict Babcock. 

(VII) Hull Thompson Slocum, son of 
Hull and Fanny (Babcock) Slocum, was 
born in Tolland, Massachusetts, July 21, 
1797, and died in Otis, Massachusetts, 
April 7, 1870. After residing for a num- 
ber of years in Tolland, he removed to 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, locating 
in the vicinity of Colebrook river. He 
married, April 23, 1823, in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, Fidelia Henrietta Robinson, born 
in West Granville, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 25, 1797, died at her home near 
Colebrook river, Connecticut, July 2, 1863, 
daughter of Colonel David and Catherine 
(Coe) Robinson, of West Granville, Mas- 
sachusetts. Colonel David Robinson was 
born at Granville, Massachusetts, August 
9, 1762, died May 27, 1809. His wife, 
Catherine (Coe) Robinson, was born Sep- 



tember 25, 1769, died February 2, 1820. 
Colonel Timothy Robinson, father of 
Colonel David Robinson, was born at 
Durham, Massachusetts, April 29, 1728. 
He removed to Litchfield, Connecticut, 
and thence to Granville, Massachusetts. 
He served in the Revolutionary War, and 
was active in supporting the government 
at the time of Shays' rebellion. He mar- 
ried, February 13, 1755, Catherine Rose. 
David Robinson, father of Colonel Timo- 
thy Robinson, was born in Durham, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1694, and died February 9, 
1780. Fie married, January 26. 1719, Re- 
becca Miller, who died September 18, 
1786. David Robinson, father of David 
Robinson, was born in 1660, probably in 
England, and died January i, 1748. He 
married (first) about 1688, Abigail, daugh- 
ter of John and Elizabeth Kirby, who died 
about 1694. He married (second) about 

1697, Mary , who died October 17, 

1746. Thomas Robinson, father of David 
Robinson, was the immigrant ancestor of 
the family. He was born in England, 
from whence he emigrated to this coun- 
try, settling in Guilford, Connecticut. 
The title "Mr.," which was conferred 
upon him, indicates that he was a man of 
high social position, or had had a liberal 
education, for this title was used in the 
records of but few except the ministers. 
He died in 1689, at an advanced age, and 
his wife, Mary, died July 27, 1668. 

(VIII) Franklin Robinson Slocum. son 
of Hull Thompson and Fidelia Henrietta 
(Robinson) Slocum, was born in Tolland 
township, Hampden county, Massachu- 
setts, July 5, 1824, died February 25, 1917. 
He attended the public schools of his 
native town. He removed to Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1842, learned the trade of 
bookbinder, but did not follow it for any 
length of time, securing employment in 
the of^ce of a retail coal dealer, who also 
dealt extensively in real estate, and Mr. 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Slocum continued to engage in those 
lines of business during the remainder of 
his life. In the early seventies he opened 
an office of his own as a coal broker and 
dealer in real estate, which he conducted 
for many years, and by perseverance and 
industry achieved a large degree of suc- 
cess. He married (first) Harriet Eliza 
Gabrielle, born June 17, 1825, died Octo- 
ber 18, 1862, in Hartford, Connecticut, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Mat- 
thews) Gabrielle. They were the parents 
of three children : Lucius Franklin, born 
July 31, 1854, married. May 13, 1879, Lil- 
lian Stillman, born February 17, 1859, 
daughter of James P. and Harriet N. 
(Persons) Paul, of Hartford ; Maria Eliz- 
abeth, born March 19, 1856; Harriet Eliza, 
born June 4, 1861. Mr. Slocum married 
(second) October 17, 1865, Martha Ellen 
Bartlett, born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
March 8, 1834, daughter of Milton and 
Julia Sumner (Phelps) Bartlett, of Hart- 
ford. They were the parents of three 
children: William Thompson, died in in- 
I fancy ; Arthur, died in infancy ; Welling- 
ton Robinson, of whom further. 

(IX) Wellington Robinson Slocum, 
youngest child of Franklin Robinson and 
Martha Ellen (Bartlett) Slocum, was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, July 16, 1871. 
He attended the grammar and high 
schools of Hartford, acquiring a practical 
education. His first employment was 
with the Travelers Insurance Company, 
which service he began in the year 1888, 
but in the following year he resigned to 
enter the employ of the firm of Cook, 
Hapgood & Company, with whom, he re- 
mained until 1897, in which year he as- 
sisted in the organization of the Edward 
Balf Company, contractors, in which he 
served in the capacities of secretary and 
treasurer for five years, and is still a 
member of its board of directors. In 
1903 he returned to the employ of the 



Travelers Insurance Company, this time 
as chief accountant of their liability de- 
partment, and after ten years' faithful 
service in that capacity was rewarded by 
promotion to the office of cashier, the 
duties and responsibilities of which he is 
discharging at the present time (1917). 
He is a member of the board of directors 
of the Travelers Bank and Trust Com- 
pany. Through his Robinson ancestry, 
Mr. Slocum holds membership in the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and he 
is also a member of the Hartford Canoe 
Club, in which he fills the office of treas- 
urer. 

Mr. Slocum. married, January 18, 1905, 
Emma H., daughter of John Gallup, and 
they are the parents of one daughter, 
Katharine Gallup Slocum, born June 8, 
1906. 



SPERRY, Lewis, 

liawyer. Public Official. 

Lewis Sperry, of the seventh Ameri- 
can generation of the Sperry family, 
traces to the best blood in the colonies 
and to English, Scotch-Irish, Welsh and 
French Huguenot forbears, and with so 
rich an inheritance his success as a law- 
yer may be partly explained, but only 
partly, for to talent he has added the cul- 
ture of an earnest student and the unceas- 
ing eflfort that brings mental forces into 
action and a sincere desire to worthily 
bear the name bequeathed him. He pos- 
sesses that worthy spirit of ambition that 
induces men to do their best wherever 
placed and that high, courageous integ- 
rity that forbids men to vacillate or to re- 
treat from a position their conscience and 
judgment approves. He has fought well 
the battle of life, fought it in competition 
with strong men in college halls, on politi- 
cal battlefields, at the bar of State and 
Federal courts, in Congressional debate, 



256 



1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and at the present time (1917), although 
nearing man's allotment of years, he 
seems but in the prime of life and at the 
floodtide of his mental powers. 

(I) Richard Sperry, the first of the 
name of whom we have definite informa- 
tion, was a resident of New Haven, Con- 
necticut, in 1643, and became a freeman 
in the following year. Family tradition 
says that he came to New Haven as gar- 
dener or agent for the Earl of Warwick. 
He was granted a large tract of land 
known as "the farms," and still called 
Sperry's Farms, located on the west side 
of West Rock in what is now the town 
of W^oodbridge. He was the courageous 
and faithful friend and protector of the 
regicides, whose story is well known. He 

married Dennis . He died between 

the years 1693 and 1698. and his widow 
died probably in February or March, 
1707. 

(II) Lieutenant Daniel Sperry, son of 
Richard Sperry, was born in New Haven, 
Connecticut, and baptized in the year 
1665. He was confirmed to be lieutenant 
of the train-band in the northwest part 
of the town of New Haven in May, 1724, 
and was living in 1733. His first wife, 
whom he married on April 3, 1694, was 
Deborah Peck, and she died November 
16, 1711. 

(III) Joseph Sperry, son of Lieutenant 
Daniel Sperry, was born December 30, 
1709, on the old homestead at Sperry's 
Farms, and his will was proved March 3, 
1788. He married, February 18, i730-3i» 
Anna Wilmot. 

(IV) William Sperry, son of Joseph 
Sperry, was born March 8, 1740-41, and 
resided on the old homestead at Sperry's 
Farms. He married Hannah Carrington. 

(V) Abner Sperry, son of William 
Sperry, was born in 1772 at Sperry's 
Farms, died October 20, 1825. He mar- 
ried, October 29, 1795, Elizabeth Gilbert, 



who died April 6, 181 1, aged thirty-three 
\ears. She was the daughter of Daniel 
and Sarah (Eaton) Gilbert, of llamden, 
Connecticut. Daniel Gilbert was the son 
of Matthew Gilbert, wIkj died July 25, 
1795, in his seventy-third year; he was 
the son of Daniel Cjilbert, who was the 
son of Matthew Gilbert, who was the son 
of Deputy Governor Matthew (jilljert, of 
New Haven. Sarah (Eaton) Gilbert was 
the daughter of Nathaniel Eaton (or 
Ileaton), born March 21, 1732, married 
Sybil Todd, and died July 12, 1803; he 
was the son of Nathaniel Ileaton, born 
1704, married, 1726, Phebe Cooper; he 
was the son of Nathaniel Heaton, born 
1664, married Mary Todd, born 1675 ; he 
was the son of James Heaton, born in 
England. 1633, came to New Haven, Con- 
necticut, 1649, and married, 1662, Sarah 
Street. 

(VI) Daniel Gilbert Sperry, son of Ab- 
ner Sperry, was born at Sperry's Farms, 
Woodbridge, New Haven, Connecticut, 
July 2, 1807. He settled at Warehouse 
Point, East Windsor, about 1824. In his 
youth he learned the trade of cooper, but 
later engaged in the retail market busi- 
ness on his own account. In 1837, after 
his marriage, he purchased P)isseirs Tav- 
ern and farm on East Windsor Hill, and 
there spent the remainder of his days, his 
death occurring on January 17, 1886. He 
married, March 30, 1834. Harriet Frances 
Pelton, born October 20, 1814, died June 
9, 1 901. She was the daughter of James 
Pelton, born October 20, 1778, died Feb- 
ruary 5, 1869, aged ninety-one ; he married, 
luly 9, 1812, for his second wife, Sophia 
Gaylord, born July 22, 1793. died Novem- 
ber 16, 1824, daughter of Abiel and Me- 
hitable (Prior) Gaylord. Nathan Pelton, 
father of James Pelton. was born in Say- 
brook, Connecticut. May 2. 1738, died 
May 16, 1813; resided in Saybrook and 
Chatham. Connecticut, and about 1765 re- 



Ck)nn— 2— 17 



257 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



moved to East Windsor; he worked on Assembly in 1876, and served acceptably 



ship iron, and also ow^ned and operated 
a farm; he married, November 23, 1763, 
Ruth Thompson, daughter of James and 
Janet (Scott) Thompson; she died June 
21, 1789, in her forty-ninth year. Nathan 
Pelton vv^as a son of John and Elizabeth 
(Champion) Pelton, of Saybrook, the 
former named of w-hom was a ship 
builder. John Pelton was a son of John 
Pelton, of Canterbury, Groton, Lyme, 
Haddam, Saybrook and Middletown. His 
father was Samuel Pelton, of Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, and he was a son of John 
Pelton, of Boston, 1634. 

(VII) Lewis Sperry, son of Daniel 
Gilbert and Harriet Frances (Pelton) 
Sperry, was born at South Windsor, Con- 
necticut, January 2^, 1848. Until thir- 
teen years of age he attended public 
schools, then was sent to New Haven, 
where he was placed in the school pre- 
sided over by Sidney A. Thomas. In 
1869 he was graduated from Monson 
Academy (Massachusetts) and in 1873 
from Amherst College. At Amherst he 
edited, with Talcott Williams, the college 
Journal, the "Amherst Student," was a 
popular member of the debating societies, 
won several prizes in oratorical and de- 
bating contests and the first Hardy prize 
in his senior year. After leaving Am- 
herst he began the study of law in the 
Hartford offices of W^aldo, Hubbard & 
Hyde, and under the preceptorship of that 
trio of most illustrious lawyers he im- 
bibed not only the principles of law, but 
the soundest and most skillful methods 
of practice. In 1875 he was admitted to 
the bar and in 1876 George G. Sill, who 
afterward was Lieutenant-Governor of 
Connecticut, became his associate, their 
office at No. 345 Main street, Hartford. 

Coincident with his beginning the prac- 
tice of law was his entrance into the field 
of politics. He was elected to the State 



as chairman of the committee on educa- 
tion, and at the end of his term returned 
to his law practice with enhanced reputa- 
tion. His law practice grew in volume, 
and in all State and Federal courts of the 
district he became a familiar figure. In 
1881 he was appointed to the newly- 
created office, coroner of Hartford county. 
Without local precedent to guide him, in 
his findings he exhibited the courage and 
good judgment that brought him the com- 
mendation of the press of distant cities. 
In 1890 he was the Democratic candidate 
for Congress, and at the end of a heated 
campaign reversed a former victory for 
the Republican candidate and won the 
verdict of the polls by seven hundred and 
eight votes. He was a member of the 
committee on banking and served his 
term most acceptably and was again 
awarded the party Congressional nomina- 
tion. He then faced a difficult political 
situation. No Democrat had ever been 
elected from his district in a presidential 
year and 1892 was a presidential year 
with Cleveland and Harrison, ancient 
political foes, again pitted against each 
other. No Democratic Congressman had 
ever been elected to succeed himself and 
Congressman Sperry was a candidate for 
reelection. But handicapped as he was 
by precedent he went into the fight with 
all the courage and all the power of or- 
ganization and oratory he possessed. 
When the vote was counted it was found 
that with Cleveland and Harrison almost 
tied, Mr. Sperry had a majority of three 
hundred and forty, his personal popular- 
ity in Hartford winning him the election. 
In the House of Representatives during 
his second term. Congressman Sperry be- 
came a noted figure. He was a member 
of the committee on banking and cur- 
rency, to which committee fell the task 
of investigating the advisability of revis- 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing the National Bank Act, and was one 
of the most eloquent and effective speak- 
ers for the repeal of the Sherman x\ct 
affecting the purchase and coinage of sil- 
ver. His principles regarding the tariff 
forbade him supporting the Wilson Tariff 
Bill and he led the Democratic faction 
that fought it. He faced a storm of jour- 
nalistic abuse and wa.s called upon to sup- 
port that party measure or resign. But 
he had taken his stand at the dictation of 
his own conscience, based his course upon 
the conclusions of his own judgment and 
had the courage and the resolution that 
comes to such men in such crucial periods 
and did not resign nor did he alter his 
course of action. On the final vote he 
was one of the seventeen Democrats who 
voted against the bill which President 
Cleveland would not approve and which 
became a law without the presidential 
signature. 

In 1895 Mr. Sperry returned to the prac- 
tice of his profession in Hartford, becom- 
ing senior member of the firm of Sperry 
& McLean. His partner, George P. Mc- 
Lean, later became Governor of the State 
of Connecticut. He has continued actively 
in practice and is the present general 
counsel for the ^tna Life Insurance 
Company. He was a member of the Con- 
stitutional Convention of 1902 and took 
a leading part in its deliberations. He 
was a member of the Connecticut River 
Bridge and Highway Commission that 
erected the great bridge across the river 
at Hartford, was counsel for the commis- 
sion and contributed a great amount of 
his time in bringing that valuable work to 
a successful conclusion. He has borne 
his full share of civic responsibility, and 
now as life's evening approaches is shift- 
ing the burdens good citizenship entails 
to younger shoulders. He is a director of 
the Mtm Life Insurance Company, the 
Accident & Liability Company, and the 



Coles Patent Fire Arms Manufacturing 
Company, lie is a member of the Hart- 
ford Club. 

Mr. Sperry married (first) November 7, 
1878, Elizabeth Ellsworth Wood, who 
died August 3, 1900, daughter of Dr. Wil- 
liam Wood, the naturalist. Their first 
child, Mary Elizabeth, married Harry 
Francis Farnham^ and died in Australia. 
Their only son, Ellsworth, is a graduate 
of the Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology. Mr. Sperry married (second) 
April 6, 1905, Carrie Tryon .\mbruster. 
of Philadelphia, a granddaughter of Wil- 
liam F. Potts, famed as one of the promi- 
nent members of a celebrated family of 
Philadelphia iron masters. 



MAKEPEACE, Walter Dunham, 

Liavryer, Spanish War Veteran. 

While Mr. Makepeace has been a resi- 
dent of Waterbury, Connecticut, but a 
few years, he has won honorable standing 
at the New Haven county bar, and in pub- 
lic affairs, town and county, has taken an 
active and leading part. He is a son of 
Rev. Frank Barrows Makepeace, a retired 
minister of the Congregational church, 
now living in Granby, Connecticut, and is 
a grandson of Lysander Otis Makepeace, 
a long time shoe manufacturer of Lynn, 
Massachusetts, who died in 1906, aged 
eighty-seven years. His wife, Esther 
(Dunham) Makepeace, died the same 
year at about the same age. Their six 
children are all living (1916). James Rol- 
lins Viets, father of Helen M. Viets, wife 
of Rev. Frank B. Makepeace, was a life- 
time merchant of East Granby, Connecti- 
cut, where he died aged seventy-five years. 
His widow died in Salem, Massachusetts, 
October 3, 1916. in her ninetieth year. 

Rev. Frank Barrows Makepeace was 
born at Upton. Massachusetts, February 
13, 1848, and after graduating at Hart- 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford Theological Seminary, was pastor of 
Congregational churches in Gloucester, 
Andover and Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and of Trinity Congregational Church of 
New York City. He married Helen M. 
Viets, born in East Granby, Connecticut. 
Rev. Frank B. and Helen M. (Viets) 
Makepeace have three children: Walter 
Dunham, of further mention ; Helen, wife 
of Ralph S. Lillie professor of biology in 
Clark University, Worcester, Massachu- 
setts; Frank Barrows (2), of Lawrence, 
Long Island, New York. 

Walter Dunham Makepeace was born 
at Gloucester, Massachusetts, April 2-], 
1875, but when young the family moved 
their residence to Andover. He prepared 
at Phillips Academy, Andover, Spring- 
field High School and Williston Semi- 
nary, later entering Yale, whence he grad- 
uated and received his degree, class of 
97. His college study was followed by 
post-graduate work in psychology and by 
a full course of professional study at Yale 
Law School, whence he was graduated in 
1900, Bachelor of Laws. He at once be- 
gan the practice of his profession, locat- 
ing first in New York City, removing to 
Waterbury, Connecticut, in 1906. From 
1907 to 1916 he was deputy coroner of 
New Haven county, and in 1916 was 
elected chairman of the Waterbury Re- 
publican town committee, resigning upon 
his appointment by the Governor as 
deputy judge of the District Court of 
Waterbury, which office he now holds. 
He served in the Spanish-American W ar, 
is a veteran member of the Naval Militia 
of the Connecticut National Guard and of 
Company K, Seventh Regiment, New 
York's famous military organization. He 
is a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Waterbury and Coun- 
try clubs of Waterbury and the Gradu- 
ates' Club of New Haven. In politics he 
is a Republican, and in religious faith a 



Congregationalist, belonging to the First 
Church of Waterbury. 

Mr. Makepeace married at Waterbury, 
June 19, 1906, Ethel M. Sperry, born in 
W^aterbury, daughter of Mark M. and 
Julia (Porter) Sperry, her father vice- 
president of the Scovill Manufacturing 
Company of Waterbury. I\Ir. and Mrs. 
Makepeace have three children : Roger 
Sherman, born June 14, 1907; Millicent 
Porter, born July 31, 1911; LeRoy Mc- 
Kim, born September 5, 1914. 



SMALL, Frederick Forrest, 
Business Man. 

Since 1885 Mr. Small has been inti- 
mately connected with Hartford business 
interests, his present association as head 
of F, F. Small & Company beginning in 
1900 and his presidency of the Talcott 
Drug Company dating from 1913. His 
years of preparation for the positions he 
fills brought him wide experience, seven 
of those years being spent in W'estern 
travel in business relation. All his ex- 
perience however but fitted him for exec- 
utive control and when his opportunity 
came it found him a well equipped, force- 
ful young man, self-reliant and capable. 
He is a grandson of Henry T. Small, who 
came to Massachusetts from the State of 
Pennsylvania, settling at Newton Lower 
Falls, where he married Pamelia Brackett 
(marriage intentions dated March 10, 
1822). Their son, Henry Thomas Small, 
was born in Newton Lower Falls, Janu- 
ary 19, 1823, died in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, January, 1903. 

Henry Thomas Small when a young 
man moved to South Coventry, Connecti- 
cut, there engaging as a general merchant 
as a member of the firm of Small & 
Loomis. From South Coventry he moved 
to Staflford Springs, there engaging in 
the drug business, and during the Civil 



260 



THE Vl\'! voRK 
■ P[ir : LIBRARY 



l:.^.. 




■^.s. 



J 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



War period serving as postmaster. In 
1867 he located in Spring-field, Massachu- 
setts, there opening a drug store in the 
Massasoit Block, which he conducted 
until his removal to Hartford about 1870. 
In Hartford he was associated in business 
with F. C. Sturtevant, wholesale dealer in 
groceries, teas and coffees. He marricil 
Lavina Thayer Bosworth, born in Tol- 
land Connecticut, July i, 1828, died De- 
cember, 1891. They were the parents of 
seven children, three of whom grew to 
years of maturity : William R., deceased ; 
Edwin, deceased ; Frederick Forrest, of 
further mention. Both parents were 
members of the Congregational church. 
Frederick Forrest Small was born at 
Stafford Springs, Connecticut, July 15, 
1866. He completed courses in the Hart- 
ford grade and high schools, with gradu- 
ation, class of 1885. He began his busi- 
ness career with George W. Moore & 
Company, mortgage brokers, and later 
spen.t seven years traveling in the west 
for that company, inspecting properties 
and reporting vipon their value as invest- 
ment. After leaving Moore & Company, 
Mr. Small entered the employ of the 
Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company 
as assistant cashier, continuing with that 
company eight years, vmtil 1900. He then 
purchased from the estate of W. T. Price 
the insurance agency founded by Mr. Os- 
borne and for the past seventeen years 
has conducted a large and prosperous 
general insurance business under the firm 
name F. F. Small & Company. Since 
1913 he has been president and treasurer 
of the Talcott Drug Company, wholesale 
dealers in drugs and chemicals ; and is a 
director of the National Fire Insurance 
Company and of the Hartford County 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company. He is 
president of the New England Drug Asso- 
ciation, and a man highly regarded in 
business circles. 



For several years Mr. Small was a 
member of Comi)any K, First Regiment 
Connecticut National Guard, and at one 
time served on the staff of Colonel 
Schultz, commander of the First Regi- 
ment. He is a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church, member of 
the society committee, and both he and 
hi'^ wife are active in church work. He 
is a member of the board of directors of 
the Young Men's Christian Association 
and deeply interested in association work. 
Flis clubs are the Hartford, Hartford 
Golf, Farmington Country, of which he is 
])rcsident. City and Automobile of Hart- 
ford and the Army and Navy of New 
York. 

In 1891 Mr. Small married Agnes Hyde 
Swan, daughter of Samuel Swan, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, granddaughter 
of Captain A. L. Hyde and of Rev. Ben- 
jamin Lincoln and Frances (Brincker- 
hoff) Swan, he for many years a pastor of 
the church at Litchfield, Connecticut. 
Mrs. Small is a member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution. Mr. and 
Mrs. Small are the parents of a daughter, 
Frances BrinckerhoIY Small. 



WOODFORD, Alton Edward, 

Active Factor in Insurance Circles. 

As an insurance broker. Mr. Woodford 
is well known in Hartford, where his 
business life has been spent. He has 
taken an active part in the jniblic affairs 
of the city as an interested citizen, and 
in fraternal and club life has won the 
esteem of his brethren and fellow mem- 
bers. He descends from two of the old 
and honorable families of Hartford coun- 
ty, Woodford and Case, his paternal an- 
cestor, Thomas Woodford, who came to 
Hartford in 1633 with Rev. Thomas 
Hooker's company; his maternal ances- 
tors, James and Esther (Fithen) Case, 



261 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



early settlers in Simsbury. Joseph Wood- 
ford, son of Thomas Woodford, the pio- 
neer, became an extensive landowner of 
Farmington, died there in 1701, and was 
buried in "Cider Brook" Cemetery. His 
son, Joseph (2) Woodford, owned a large 
tract of good farm land in that part of 
Farmington now known as Avon, and in 
1760 was laid with his father in "Cider 
Brook" Cemetery. His son was also a 
large landowner in that section, and dur- 
ing the Revolution w^as captain of a com- 
pany, as was his son, Captain Dudley 
Woodford. The family was prominent 
as agriculturists and landowners and was 
active in church and town affairs. 

With the marriage of Edward Everett 
Woodford to Ellen Maria Case an alli- 
ance was formed with another prominent 
family, she being a daughter of General 
Jarvis Case, who resided on the home- 
stead at East Hill. He was made briga- 
dier-general of State militia in 1840, was 
active in the Episcopal church, and a 
prominent Democrat. He was a son of 
Captain Fithen Case, who settled on the 
farm at East Hill, later ow^ned by his son, 
General Jarvis (2) Case, and by his 
grandson, Jarvis W. Case. Captain 
Fithen Case, born in what is now Canton, 
Connecticut, in 1758, was a son of Cap- 
tain Josiah Case, born in Simsbury, who 
settled in Canton about 1743. Captain 
Josiah Case was a son of James and 
Esther (Fithen) Case, early settlers in 
Simsbury, Connecticut. 

Edward Everett Woodford was born at 
the home farm in West Avon near the 
Farmington line in 1841, and died at his 
farm in that part of the town of Canton 
known as East Hill, August 6, 1879. The 
section in which he lived had long been 
the home of his forebears and there he 
was educated and grew to manhood. 
When war broke out between the states 
he promptly enlisted and saw nearly four 



years of war in all its horror. While he 
escaped the perils of battle he met an 
even worse fate, his capture in battle re- 
sulting in incarceration in the Anderson- 
ville prison pen for nine months. There 
he endured every form of suffering the 
brutal Wertz could inflict, but came out 
with his life, although sadly broken in 
health. He returned to Avon and after 
regaining his strength resumed work at 
the home farm. Soon after his marriage 
he bought a farm at East Hill and there 
resided until his death, August 6, 1879. 
Both he and his wife were members of 
the Congregational church. He married 
Ellen Maria Case, born November i, 1845, 
youngest daughter of General Jarvis Case, 
born in 1801, died in 1865, and his wife, 
Lucia (Adams) Case, born in North Can- 
ton, daughter of Ezra Adams. General 
and Lucia (Adams) Case were married in 
1828, and were the parents of four daugh- 
ters and a son. Jarvis W. Case. Mrs. 
Ellen ]\L Woodford survived her husband 
and married (second) Clifford S. Thomp- 
son. Edward E. and Ellen M. Woodford 
were the parents of two sons : Louis, de- 
ceased ; and Alton Edward, of further 
mention. 

Alton Edward Woodford was born at 
the East Hill farm in Canton, Hartford 
county, Connecticut, October 31, 1876. 
After the death of his father in 1879, ^^^s. 
W^oodford moved with her sons to 
]\leadow Plain ; four years later she mar- 
ried a second husband and removed to 
Unionville where Alton E. was educated 
in the grammar and high schools. After 
leaving school he spent two years with a 
lumberman in Granby, then returned to 
Unionville, and was employed with the 
Upson Nut Company. He had saved his 
earnings, and having sufficient funds for 
the purpose, he took a course at Hun- 
singer's Business College in Hartford. 
The following two years were spent in 



262 






PUI 



-LDI.i* f 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the study of law under the preceptorship 
of Judge Thomas J. Watrous, of Hart- 
ford, but he did not complete a full course, 
deciding to enter business instead of en- 
tering the legal profession. 

He formed a partnership with Herbert 
J. Ripley, and as Woodford & Ripley pur- 
chased an established brokerage business 
located at No. 7 Park Row, Hartford, and 
there conducted successful operations as 
insurance brokers until the financial dis- 
turbance of 1902 caused them to sell out. 
In 1903 Mr. Woodford resumed as an in- 
surance broker and at No. 803 Alain 
street, Hartford, is yet so engaged, well 
established and successful. He is a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott Council, 
Royal and Select Masters ; Crescent 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows ; is a Republican in politics ; and a 
member of the Hartford Chamber of 
Commerce. His clubs are the Hartford, 
Rotary and City. 

Mr. Woodford married, October 12, 
1898, Bertha May Brooks, daughter of 
Thomas B. Brooks, of Unionville, Con- 
necticut. Both Mr. and Mrs. Woodford 
are members of the Unionville Congre- 
gational Church. 



STEWART, Raymond Grover, 

Manufacturer. 

Raymond Grover Stewart, whose career 
has been identified with the City of 
Waterbury, Connecticut, and who has, 
even as a young man, made himself prom- 
inent in its afifairs, is a native of Wood- 
bury and came to his adopted city in his 
youth. He is a type that we associate 
with the idea of New England and the 
wonderful progress that it made dur- 
ing the century subsequent to our birth 
as a nation, the type that has brought 



about the marvelous progress by its un- 
daunted courage, its unfaltering patience 
and its intelligence, skill and enterprise. 

F^orn on April 19, 1885, at Woodbury, 
Connecticut, Raymond Grover Stewart is 
a son of William and Mary E. (McMur- 
try) Stewart, both natives of Connecticut, 
Mr. Stewart having been born at Hotch- 
kissville in 1850 and Mrs. Stewart at 
West Cornwall ten years later. They 
were married at Woodbury in 1880 and 
were the parents of three children as fol- 
lows : Bertha, born in 1882, and married 

Atwood ; Leila, born in 1884, and 

married Augustus MacBurney, of Wood- 
bury, Connecticut ; and Raymond Grover, 
of whom further. 

The early life of Raymond Grover 
Stewart was spent in his native town of 
Woodbury, where he attended the local 
schools for a time. He came later to 
Waterbury, however, where he took a 
course in the Waterbury Business Col- 
lege, fitting himself admirably for his 
subsequent business career. He had 
worked for a time in the woolen mills of 
Woodbury, but after coming to Water- 
bury, which he did at the age of sixteen, 
he secured employment in several of the 
factories of the larger place, advancing in 
position until he found himself the assist- 
ant purchasing agent for the Waterbury 
Manufacturing Company. He remained 
in this position for a number of years, be- 
coming thoroughly familiar with indus- 
trial and mercantile situations throughout 
the State and learning the manufacturing 
business to the last detail. In 1910 he was 
offered the position of purchasing agent 
by the Baird Machine Company. Of too 
independent a spirit to meet with the 
whole of his success while in the employ 
of others, Mr. Stewart withdrew from, this 
association in 1912 and became a mem- 
ber of the Autoyre Company, with the 
offices of secretary and treasurer therein. 

263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



When the Baird Machine Company aban- 
doned its old plant in Oakville, Connec- 
ticut, the Autoyre Company bought this 
place from them and now occupies it. 
The business which it does there is an 
extremely successful one and is princi- 
pally that of the manufacture of wire 
articles by automatic machinery. The 
product of their factory is of a very high 
grade and has a large market in all parts 
of New England and elsewhere. Not a 
little of the business success of the firm is 
due to the talent of Mr. Stewart, who still 
occupies his position as secretary and 
treasurer. Nor does Mr. Stewart confine 
his activities to those of his business, but 
mingles freely in the affairs of Waterbury 
and is regarded as a leader in many de- 
partments of its life. He is a Republican 
in politics, and although he does not take 
an active part therein he is regarded as a 
factor in the settlement of local issues. 
He is an Episcopalian in his religious be- 
lief and attends All Saints' Church in 
Oakville. 

It was on July 12, 1910, in New York 
City, that Mr. Stewart was united in 
marriage with Lily Loftus Monahan, a 
native of Waterbury, born April 13, 1888, 
a daughter of William and Mary (Loftus) 
Monahan, of that city. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Stewart one daughter has been born. 
Myrtle Elouise, March 4, 1912. 



CRAWFORD, George Eugene, 
Head of Large Industry. 

In 1888 Mr. Crawford located in Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, and in a small way 
launched the business which has grown 
to such proportions that it outranks all 
others of its kind in the State. Not only 
has Mr. Crawford attained local promi- 
nence, but for several years he was a 
member of the board of directors of the 
National Laundryman's : Association of 



America, and at the annual convention in 
1914 he was chosen its president. He is 
equally prominent in fraternal and club 
life. He is a son of Ossian Crawford, of 
Union, Connecticut, who died in 1908, 
aged seventy-six years. He was a mill- 
wright and builder, and for fifty years 
resided in or near the cities of Springfield 
and Worcester, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Lavinia Shepard, who died at the 
age of eighty-five years, leaving four 
children, all yet living: Emma, wife of 
Robert Lawson, of New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts ; Charles F., of Wales, Massachu- 
setts ; Arthur J., of New Haven, Connec- 
ticut, and George Eugene. 

George Eugene Crawford was born in 
Whales, Massachusetts, July 15, 1867, and 
was educated in public schools and Hitch- 
cock Free High School, of Brimfield, 
Massachusetts. At the age of seventeen 
he left school and home, going to New 
Haven, Connecticut, where for two years 
he worked for his brother, Arthur J. Craw- 
ford, a laundryman. At the age of nine- 
teen he went south, spending a year in 
Montgomery, Alabama, returning to Con- 
necticut in February, 1888, locating in 
Bridgeport. He opened a small laundry- 
ing establishment in Bridgeport and set- 
tled down to build up a business which 
should be a source of profit to himself and 
a credit to the city. Twenty-eight years 
have since elapsed and for several years 
the business transacted by the Crawford 
Laundry Company has been larger than 
that of any laundry in Connecticut. Mr. 
Crawford's first laundry was at No. 216 
Middle street and was there located for 
five years before its growth compelled 
him to remove to No. 34 Court street, 
where he remained fifteen years. In 1907 
he erected the present four-story brick 
building at the corner of Fairfield and 
Courtland streets, the first reinforced 
concrete building erected in Bridgeport. 



26_ 



THE JJEV/ V:?X 






H 




(^S^x-ouvK^DuJli . 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPPIY 



He moved to his new building in the fall 
of 1907, and there has so increased his 
patronage that fifteen wagons are re- 
quired to collect and deliver and one hun- 
dred and twenty-five people are employed 
in the various departments. He is a 
director of the City National Bank, presi- 
dent of the Bridgeport Chamber of Com- 
merce, and in 1909-10 served his city as 
a member of the board of fire commission- 
ers. He is a member of the Masonic 
order, holding the thirty-second degree, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, and be- 
longs to the Brooklawn, Algonquin, Sea- 
side Outing and Bridgeport clubs. 

Mr. Crawford married in Bridgeport, 
December 21, 1894, Ida B. Hawes, daugh- 
ter of J. Henry and Laura B. Hawes, 
both deceased. ]\Ir. and Mrs. Crawford 
have four children: William H., a fresh- 
man at Brown University, class of 1920; 
Louise ; Arthur J., and George Eugene, 
Jr. 



CANFIELD, Charles Stuart, 
IjSLXfryeT, 

The profession of law has claimed the 
time and talents of Charles Stuart Can- 
field, of Bridgeport, for many years, and 
as a legal exponent he has attained high 
rank and honorable mention. During a 
lifetime spent in the city of his birth he 
has won many expressions of confidence 
from his townsmen and has served his 
city well in various official capacities. He 
is of a time honored Connecticut family, a 
descendant of Thomas Canfield, who came 
from England to Xew Haven and in 1647 
located in Milford. Connecticut. He is a 
son of Charles Edwin and Caroline Louise 
(Osborne) Canfield, his father for a long 
time a merchant of Bridgeport, later mov- 
ing to a farm in Nebraska. 

Charles Stuart Canfield was born in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, and was edu- 



cated in public and private schools, two 
of his instructors, Rev. Guy B. Day and 
Warren \\\ Selleck, being well known 
educators of their day. Choosing the law 
as his life work he entered the law offices 
of William K. Seeley, an eminent member 
of the Fairfield county bar, and under Mr. 
Seeley's able guidance was in due season 
admitted to the bar. He at once estab- 
lished an office in Bridgeport and until 
the present day has been continuously en- 
gaged in the general practice of his pro- 
fession. In 1890 he formed a partnership 
with Stiles Judson, an association which 
continued over seventeen years, the firm 
then reorganizing as Canfield. Judson & 
Pullman. The learning and natural abil- 
ity that formed Mr. Canfield's assets at 
the beginning gave him a quick start in 
professional life, and as the years have 
added experience and matured wisdom he 
has advanced to a leading position at the 
bar. He is a skillful practitioner and 
learned lawyer, honorable to the last de- 
gree and highly regarded by his brethren 
of the bench and bar. He has been asso- 
ciated with the trial of many notable 
causes, is a member of the County, State 
and National Bar associations and inter- 
ested in all. He is a director of the Peo- 
ple's Savings Bank and the legal adviser 
of many corporations and companies. He 
is a Democrat in politics, and has ever 
been active and influential in counsel and 
campaign. He has served the town as 
treasurer and the city as treasurer and 
park commissioner. He is a member and 
former president of the Seaside Club, 
member of the Brooklawn Country, Al- 
gonquin, and Contemporary clubs, and 
thoroughly enjoys the features that form 
the particular attraction in these organi- 
zations. Genial, friendly and social by 
nature, he has many friends. 

Mr. Canfield married (first) Alice 
Woostcr, of Seymour, Connecticut, who 



26: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died in March, 1907, leaving a daughter, 
Julia Stuart, and a son, Wooster Can- 
field, the latter a graduate of Sheffield 
Scientific School Yale University. On 
October 6, 1908, Mr. Canfield married 
(second) Mrs. Margaret E. Mooney, 
widow of the late Frank J. Mooney, a 
woman of rare intellectual attainments. 
Their home is at No. 798 Park avenue, 
Bridgeport. 



BEACH, Henry Ledlie, 

Manufacturer. 

A worthy scion of a family that has 
been prominent in the business life of 
Hartford for more than a century, and 
that is one of the oldest in Connecticut, 
Mr. Beach preserves the traditions and 
characteristics of New England life. His 
ancestry has been traced to John Harri- 
man, Richard Miles, John Steele, William 
Bradley, William Chittenden, all of whom 
were prominent among the Connecticut 
colonists, and also to John Hopkins, of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Governor 
Bradford of the Mayflower Colony. 

Among the recorded settlers of the New 
Haven Colony were three brothers, Rich- 
ard, John and Thomas Beach. The last 
named was the ancestor of the Hartford 
family. He took the oath of fidelity, 
March 7, 1647, in New Haven, and re- 
moved from there to Milford. He is said 
to have lived for a time in Wallingford, 
but returned to Milford before his death 
in 1662. He married, March i, 1654, 
Sarah, daughter of Richard and Mary 
Piatt. She died in 1698. 

Their son, John Beach, was born Octo- 
ber 19, 1655, in Milford, and died in 1709. 
He went to Wallingford in 1673-74 with 
the children of John Beach, of Stratford, 
and was known as John Beach, Jr., to 
distinguish him from his cousin of the 
same name. His wife's name was Mary, 
and they were married in December, 1677. 



They were the parents of John Beach, 
born October 15, 1690, in Wallingford, 
died May 9, 1775. He left Wallingford in 
1728-29, and became one of the founders 
of the town of Goshen, Connecticut. In 
1739 he built in what is now East Goshen 
one of the largest houses in the town, and 
there, in 1740, Rev. Mr. Heaton, the first 
minister of Goshen, was ordained. John 
Beach married for his second wife, Mary, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Baldwin) 
Royce, born in 1695, died October 27, 
1767. 

Their son, Adnah Beach, was born Jan- 
uary II, 1718, died March 10, 1783, and 
was buried in East Goshen, where his 
parents were also buried. He was a tan- 
ner by trade, and represented his town in 
the General Assembly. He married, June 
9, 1741, Hannah Miles, who died Decem- 
ber 6, 1775, aged fifty-five years. She was 
the daughter of John and Sarah (Ball) 
Miles, granddaughter of John and Eliza- 
beth (Harriman) Miles, of New Haven, 
and great-granddaughter of Richard 
Miles, who took the oath of fidelity in 
New Haven in 1657. 

Ebenezer Beach, youngest child of Ad- 
nah and Hannah (Miles) Beach, was born 
May 30, 1766, died May 3, 1793, and was 
buried at Sheffield, Massachusetts. He 
appears to have been in business in Hart- 
ford with his brother Miles as a gold- 
smith and clockmaker at the time of his 
marriage. Later he removed to Litch- 
field, where he engaged in the same busi- 
ness by himself. He married at Hartford, 
Lucy Steele, who died April 7, 1801, 
daughter of Timothy and Sarah (Sey- 
mour) Steele, granddaughter of Daniel 
and Mary (Hopkins) Steele, the latter 
born January 30, 1705, great-granddaugh- 
ter of Samuel and Mary (Bradford) 
Steele, great-great-granddaughter of John 
and Mercy (Warner) Steele, and great- 
great-great-granddaughter of John Steele, 
the immigrant. Mrs. Beach was also a 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOCRAniY 



great-granddaughter of Ebenezer and 
Mary (Butler) Hopkins, great-great- 
granddaughter of Stephen and Dorcas 
(Bronson) Hopkins, and great-great- 
great-granddaughter of John and Jane 
Hopkins, of Cambridge, Massachusetts. 
She was a great-great-granddaughter of 
Major William and Alice (Richards) 
Bradford, and great-great-great-grand- 
daughter of Governor William and Alice 
Bradford, who came to Plymouth in the 
"Mayflower." 

George Beach, the eldest child of Eben- 
ezer and Lucy (Steele) Beach, was born 
November 29, 1788, in Litchfield, and died 
at his home on Farmington avenue, Hart- 
ford, May 3, i860. Upon the death of his 
mother he probably went to live with his 
grandfather, Timothy Steele, and re- 
mained until 1806. He began his busi- 
ness life as a clerk for John Pierce, a 
West India merchant of Hartford, and 
lived for a time, as was generally the cus- 
tom of those days, with the family of his 
employer. A few years later Mr. Beach 
became a partner in the business, under 
the firm name of Pierce & Beach. The 
trade of the firm w^as ruined by the War 
of 1812; Mr. Pierce left the city, and Mr. 
Beach closed up the West India business. 
Upon the organization of the Phoenix 
Bank of Hartford, in 1814, Mr. Beach was 
elected cashier, and continued in that 
position until September 6, 1837, when he 
was elected president, and continued at 
the head of this institution until his last 
illness, resigning April 5, i860. In 1836 
Mr. Beach became a partner in the firm 
of Phelps, Beach & Company, formerly 
Hungerford, Phelps & Beach. When Mr. 
Phelps retired in 1839, the firm became 
Beach & Company, George Beach becom- 
ing head of the firm. When General 
Lafayette visited Hartford, about 1825. it 
was Mr. Beach's duty as captain of the 
Governor's Foot Guard, to meet the gen- 



eral, and with his company to escort him 
to a raised platform in front of the 
Phoenix Bank, where the State reception 
was held. He was generous with his 
wealth, and always favored young men 
just starting in life. He contributed 
largely to charity, but without ostenta- 
tion. He donated the land for St. Paul's 
Church, and built and maintained the 
Widows' Home, consisting of a number 
of small apartments, let gratuitously to 
deserving widows who had no home. 
From early life he was an active and faith- 
ful member of Christ Church. He was 
married three times. The first marriage 
occurred April 15, 1808, the bride being 
Harriet, daughter of Aaron Bradley, born 
June 27, 1792, died July 16, 1826. Aaron 
Bradley was one of the eight men who 
organized Christ Church of Hartford. His 
ancestry has been traced to William Brad- 
ley, one of the early settlers of the New 
Haven Colony. Aaron Bradley married 
Sarah Chittenden, a direct descendant of 
Lieutenant William Chittenden, who set- 
tled in the New Haven Colony in 1639, a 
magistrate of the General Assembly for 
twenty-seven sessions, 1641-61. 

Henry Bruce Beach, fourth son of 
George and Harriet (Bradley) Beach, was 
l)orn November 3, 181 7, in Hartftn-d, and 
died there June 18, 1907. His education 
was supplied by the public schools of his 
native city, and at Granby. At the age of 
sixteen years he shipped on a sealing ves- 
sel for a two years' voyage, and on his re- 
turn was for two years clerk in a store in 
Cazenovia. New York. Returning to 
Hartford in 1839, he entered the employ 
of Beach & Company, importers of and 
dealers in dye stufifs, as bookkeeper, con- 
tinuing in that capacity some three years. 
In 1842 he became agent for tlie firm of 
Hanks & Woodruflf. the head of the firm 
being his father-in-law\ Thus began Mr. 
Beach's connection with the engine and 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



boiler manufacturing industry, in which 
he was active for more than sixty years. 
During the Civil War the establishment 
did a great amount of work for the gov- 
ernment, completing engines and boilers 
for five sloops of war, two gunboats and 
three transports. There was only one 
other concern in the country equipped to 
compete in this business, that of the Cor- 
liss Engine Company. In 1844 Mr. Beach 
acquired the interest of Mr. Hanks, by 
purchase, and continued business under 
the name of Woodrufif & Beach Iron 
Works. In 1871 his son, Henry L. Beach, 
became a partner, under the firm nam.e of 
H. B. Beach & Son. Mr. Henry B. Beach 
was three times married, his first wife 
being Mary, daughter of Truman Hanks. 
His second wife was Mrs. Frances A. 
Tomlinson, and his third wife. Miss 
Georgianna Smith. Mr. Beach took an 
interest in all that pertained to civic life, 
and the progress and prosperity of his 
home city. He was at one time foreman 
of the Sack & Bucket Company, an organ- 
ization of volunteer firemen, located on 
Pearl street, in the days before Hartford 
had a paid fire department. He was also 
an officer of the old Hartford Life Guard 
before 1850. He was a member of St. 
John's Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons. Owing to ill health, Mr. Beach 
had not taken an active part in the man- 
agement of the business for some years 
before his death. In his day he was one 
of Hartford's most active business m,en, 
and by his sound judgment and high prin- 
ciples won a reputation for rugged hon- 
esty that inspired the unfaltering confi- 
dence of those who knew him. He was 
a man of strong convictions, open and 
frank in all his dealings, and had the 
courage and ability to make his principles 
known. A thoroughly self-made man, his 
substantial career furnished a splendid 
example of what may be accomplished by 



one who is self-reliant, ambitious and in- 
dustrious. Though not a politician he 
was active in the direction of local affairs, 
and felt that he could serve the commu- 
nity best by devoting his ability and en- 
ergy to the development of its industrial 
life. He was a man of splendid presence, 
strong personality, and enjoyed the re- 
spect and esteem of all who were privi- 
leged to know him. 

Henry Ledlie Beach, only son of Henry 
Bruce and Mary (Hanks) Beach, was 
born July 13, 1842, in Hartford, and en- 
joyed excellent educational advantages in 
his youth. He was a student at Russell's 
Collegiate and Commercial Institute at 
New Haven, which was also a military 
academy, and was widely and favorably 
known in its day as an educational insti- 
tution of high standard. In 1859 ^^ com- 
pleted his formal education, and returned 
home, where he entered the drafting room 
of the Woodruff & Beach Iron Works. 
During i860 and 1861. and a part of 1862 
he superintended the erection of boilers 
and engines and machinery for the United 
States sloops of war "Mohican" and 
"Kearsarge," also two United States 
transports. In July, 1862, he returned to 
Hartford from the "Kearsarge," and en- 
listed as a member of Company G, Six- 
teenth Regiment, Connecticut Volunteer 
Infantry, of which he was elected first 
lieutenant. On September 17 of the same 
year he was promoted captain of Com- 
pany I, same regiment. At the battle of 
Antietam he received a wound in the side, 
the bullet passing out of his body, and 
after the wound was dressed he refused to 
remain in the hospital and rejoined his 
command. In June, 1863, ^^ "^^s per- 
suaded by Gideon Welles, secretary of the 
navy, to resign his commission and super- 
intend the erection of machinery for three 
large sloops of war, which occupied his 
attention until 1866. He continued with 



268 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRA 1 '1 1 V 



the Woodruff & Beach Iron Works until 
the business was closed out in 1870 to H. 
B. Beach & Son, the firm consisting of 
himself and father, who took over all of 
its business except the building of engines. 
Owing to the ill health of the father, the 
son was practically in control of the busi- 
ness and was its managing head. He has 
continued in the manufacture of boilers 
with success to the present time. Mr. 
Beach has been quite active in Grand 
Army circles, is a member of Robert O. 
Tyler Post, No. 50, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and was chief of staff for Henry 
E. Taintor, who was department com- 
mander in 1887. Since that time he has 
been a member of the Council of Admin- 
istration, which office he still holds, and in 
1913 was national chief of staff for Com- 
mander-in-Chief A. B. Beers, and he is 
now a member of the national executive 
committee of the National Grand Army 
of the Republic. Mr. Beach is a man of 
simple tastes, of straightforward and 
direct thought and expression, and has 
small interest in the frivolities of life. In 
upright principle and clean living he ful- 
fills the destiny and honors the example 
set him by his worthy forbears. 

In 1864 Mr. Beach married (first) Mary 
Beach Crane, daughter of Henry and Se- 
lina (Hanks) Crane. She died in Octo- 
ber, 1891, and in 1893 he married (sec- 
ond) Amelia Stewart Burch. 



FROST, Charles W. S., 

Physician, Hospital OflBcial. 

Charles W. S. Frost, M. D., whose 
scientific acquirements, upright character 
and devotion to his profession have given 
him a leading place among the physicians 
of Waterbury, was born in that city De- 
cember 22, 1857, a son of Warren S. Frost, 
who traces his ancestry to Samuel Frost, 
of England. 



Samuel Frost came to America from 
the mother country in 1700, and on March 
-^i- ^733< wedded Xaonii I*\-iin, df Wall- 
ingford. 

David Frost, son of Samuel and Naomi, 
was born in Southington, Connecticut, 
September 16, 1743, and died December 
15, 1812. During the War of the Revolu- 
tion he was a soldier in the Continental 
army. He married Mary Beach, Novem- 
ber 6, 1 761, a daughter of Joseph Beach, 
a prominent man of his day. 

F.noch Frost, son of David, was born 
in Southington, January 8, 1765, and died 
May 27, 1822. His entire life was passed 
as a farmer. Anna Culver was his wife 
and they became the parents of six chil- 
dren : Anna, Stephen C, Selah, Xancy. 
Enoch W\ and Eunice. 

Selah Frost, the doctor's grandfather, 
was born in Waterbury, February 2, 1798, 
and died in 1848. He was engaged as a 
merchant in Torrington. His wife was 
Ursula Brooker, and they reared a family 
of two children : Mary, and Warren S., 
the father of the doctor. Mary married 
George Mason, who is now deceased. 

Warren S. Frost was born in Torring- 
ton, January 19, 1827, and his long and 
useful life was terminated April 20. 1899. 
He married Miss Edna J. Spring, of Col- 
linsville, Connecticut, a daughter of 
Thomas Spring, who was born in Granby, 
Connecticut, and was a farmer and wheel- 
wright. The Springs are of English ex- 
traction, and the first representative of 
the family on the American shores came 
over about 1680. Mrs. Edna J. Frost died 
September 20, 1897, and is remembered 
as a woman of far more than the usual 
gifts and attractions. She was a good 
wife to her husband, and a wise and help- 
ful mother to her children. Mr. Frost 



Note — This narrative Is reprinted from "Com- 
memorattve Biographical Record of New Haven 
County." 



269 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a Republican, and served many years 
in the Waterbury common council. The 
family were all connected with the Con- 
gregational church. 

Dr. Charles W. S. Frost spent his boy- 
hood days in Waterbury, where he ac- 
quired his elementary and general Eng- 
lish education in the public schools and 
the Waterbury English and Classical 
School. He entered Yale Medical School 
in 1876, and graduated from the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of New York 
City in 18S0. His vacations were spent 
in the hospitals of the great city, and soon 
after his graduation he came to Water- 
bury, opening an office here. The sum- 
mer of 1880 marked the beginning of a 
singularly successful professional career. 

Dr. Frost and Miss Jennie G. Davis 
were married February 5, 1880. By this 
union was born one daughter, Edna J. 
Dr. Frost was again married, December 
31, 1891, to Mrs. Minnie L. Ryder, the 
daughter of Leander Wright, of W^est 
Ashford, Connecticut. Two children have 
been born of this union : Barbara and 
Sela. 

Dr. Frost is a Republican, and was 
president of the board of health for two 
years, of which he has been a member 
since 1887. He is city and town health 
officer, and is a member of the staff of 
Waterbury Hospital. Dr. Frost was sec- 
retary of the Waterbury Medical Society 
for eleven years, and is a member of both 
the State and County Medical societies. 
On the membership roll of the Masonic 
fraternity, the Knights of Pythias, the 
Red Men, the Royal Arcanum, the Hepta- 
sophs, the K. 6. T. M., the Order of 
United American Mechanics, the Sons of 
the American Revolution, and several 
social organizations, such as the Water- 
bury Club and the Golf Association, the 
name of Dr. Frost is found ; and wherever 
he appears he is sure to be a welcome 



presence. Dr. Frost is a member of the 
First Congregational Church, and is a 
man of fine character and superior pro- 
fessional standing. 



MARKHAM, Hon. Daniel A., 

Lawyer, Jurist. 

The Markham family is of English de- 
scent and numbers among its descendants 
men who have gained distinction as 
scholars, soldiers, diplomats and finan- 
ciers. Few families in America are able 
to trace their ancestry to so remote a 
period as the Markhams. The name orig- 
inated in 1066, in England, at a settle- 
ment near the border of Mercia, now 
Scotland, and was assumed for conven- 
ience in distinguishing the bearer, who 
was engaged in trading. The first of the 
name was Claron, of West Markham, a 
Saxon chief of local renown. For serv- 
ices rendered during the Norman con- 
quest he was rewarded with a grant of 
land, land which, however, had been held 
by his father and grandfather before him. 

Because of the fact that they have no 
particular bearing on the history of the 
Markham family in America, the inter- 
mediate generations, namely those be- 
tween the progenitor and the first Ameri- 
can ancestor, have been omitted. These 
generations are seventeen in number, and 
cover six centuries. 

Arms of the Markham family: Azure 
on a chief or, a demi lion rampant issu- 
ant gules. Crest: A lion of St. Mark 
sejant guard, winged or, circled round the 
head argent, supporting a harp or lyre 
of the first. The meaning of the name : 
Local "of Markham,"' a parish near Tux- 
ford, County Notts. 

(XVIH) Daniel Markham. the immi- 
grant ancestor of the family in America, 
was of the eighteenth generation in direct 
descent from Claron. He was born in 



270 




^y^yi^/L ayy-/^^^^^-^:^-^-^-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Plumstead Manor, near Norwich, Eng- 
land, and came to Massachusetts in 1665, 
arriving in Cambridge. Two years later 
it is recorded that he moved to Middle- 
town, Connecticut. Here in 1690 he be- 
came a deacon in the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Middletown. Issue: 
John, mentioned below. 

(XIX) John Markham, son of Daniel 
Markham, was born December 28, 1708, 
at Middletown, and was the progenitor 
of the family in Chatham, where it has 
since that time been prominent and influ- 
ential in local history. He settled on the 
east side of Pocotopaug Lake. He mar- 
ried Desire Sears, on November 3, 1748. 
She died at the age of sixty-three years, 
on November 19, 1786. He died March 
30, 1788, aged eighty-one years. Issue: 
John, mentioned below. 

(XX) John (2) Markham, son of John 
(i) and Desire (Sears) Markham, born 
at Middletown, March 20, 1756, was their 
third child and second son. He was the 
great-grandfather of the present Judge 
Markham, and was a soldier in the Revo- 
lutionary War. He married on January 1 1, 
1781, Asenath Smith, and they resided on 
Chestnut Hill. He died April 15, 1852. 
Issue: Hiram, mentioned below. 

(XXI) Hiram Markham, son of John 
(2) and Asenath (Smith) Markham, was 
born at Chatham, Connecticut, January 
I, 1795- He was the grandfather of Judge 
Markham. He was a farmer and a man 
of some prominence in the town, as is evi- 
denced by the fact that he several times 
held public offices. He was a Free Ma- 
son. On November 5, 1817, he was mar- 
ried at Chatham, to Laura Niles, a native 
of that place, born on July 20, 1802, and 
died June 14, 1877. He died December 
5, 1870. Issue: Daniel Niles, mentioned 
below. 

(XXII) Daniel Niles Markham, Judge 
Markham's father, son of Hiram and 



Laura (Xiles) Markham, was born Au- 
gust 26, 1821, at Chatham, Connecticut. 
He, like his father, was a farmer on an 
extensive scale, but also engaged in lum- 
ber dealing all his life. He was a promi- 
nent and well known citizen, and was 
on various occasions elected to town 
offices. On September 23, 1844, he was 
married to Mary Octavia Skinner, a na- 
tive of Chatham, born July 2-], 1821, died 
September 10, 1909. He died February 
5, 1906. Issue: Daniel Anson, mentioned 
below. 

(XXIII) Daniel Anson Markham, son 
of Daniel Niles and Mary Octavia (Skin- 
ner) Markham, was born in Chatham, 
Connecticut, on December 29, 1854. To 
those who are familiar with the history 
of the Hartford county bar, and the men 
who are at present upholding and fur- 
thering the high standards of morals, 
equity and honor, which have character- 
ized the State of Connecticut and Hart- 
ford county, which is in truth the cradle 
of the State, from its very founding, the 
Hon. Daniel Anson Markham, associate 
judge of the Court of Common Pleas, 
needs no introduction. Judge Markham 
occupies an eminence in the legal profes- 
sion which cannot fail to bring with it a 
wade popularity and deep respect. Ap- 
preciation of the deeds of those who are 
working on behalf and in the interest of 
the common people is readily forthcom- 
ing. The general esteem in which Judge 
Markham is held is a fair gauge of the 
value of the services which he has ren- 
dered during his career in public office, 
to the interests of Hartford county. 

Judge Markham was prepared for col- 
lege under private tutors, and at the end 
of his training was admitted to Wesleyan 
University, from which institution he 
was graduated with the class of 1879. 
Deciding upon the legal profession as his 
vocation, he studied law under the pre- 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ceptorship of Arthur B. Calef and D. W. 
Northrop, prominent attorneys in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut. He was admitted 
to the bar in 1882, and two years later 
took up his residence in Hartford, where 
he has since resided. Judge Markham 
m,et with success in the practice of his 
profession from the very beginning, hav- 
ing always been an efficient worker, and 
with a genius for detail which neglected 
no phase in the preparation of a case. He 
has the rare faculty of making a client's 
case his own, and his arguments are pre- 
sented in so logical a fashion and force- 
ful a manner that they necessarily carry 
conviction. He has always had an ex- 
tremely active interest in public affairs, 
and has several times been elected to pub- 
lic offices of responsibility and impor- 
tance. In the year 1891 he became re- 
corder of the City Court, and continued 
in that office until 1893, acquitting him- 
self of the duties involved in this office in 
such a manner as to win favorable com- 
ment throughout the whole community. 

In the year 1889, Judge Markham was 
married to Grace Goodrich, daughter of 
Samuel and Annie (Butler) Goodrich. 
Their children are : Daniel Goodrich, 
born December 12, 1890; Margaret, born 
January 21, 1893, died December 3, 1895 ; 
John Anson, born November 15, 1894; 
Chauncy G., born February 5, 1901 ; 
Grace G., born June 12, 1904. 

By virtue of the fact that an ancestor 
of his was one of the original settlers who 
came to America in the famous "May- 
flower," Judge Markham has recently 
been made a member of the Mayflower 
Society. He is also a member of the Sons 
of the Revolution. Judge Markham has 
always been a member of the Congrega- 
tional church in East Hampton, retaining 
his membership there, though he now 
attends the Center Church in Hartford. 
He is one of the most respected citizens 
in the community, universall}' revered. 



WHITE, Niles Glover, 

Business Man. 

Niles Glover White, well known busi- 
ness man of Plartford, is a worthy repre- 
sentative of a family that has been identi- 
fied with the history of Connecticut for 
many generations — a family that in time 
of war and in the quieter pursuits of 
peace has maintained a standard of 
patriotism and upright citizenship of 
which its members may well feel proud. 
Mr. White was born November i, 1850, 
in Chatham, Connecticut, son of Glover 
Moses and Mary Post (Markham) White. 

The progenitor in this country of the 
branch of the White family to which 
Niles Glover White belongs was Philip 
White, an Englishman, who settled in 
Lynn, Massachusetts, in an early period 
of Colonial history. At one time he was 
a member of the light dragoons. His 
wife was a Miss Ramsdale of Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts, and after his first child, Philip, 
Jr., was born he returned to England, 
leaving his family in America. As he 
was never heard from, it has always been 
supposed that he was lost at sea. For 
years his property in England was adver- 
tised, but his son would never take steps 
to claim it. Philip White, Jr., was born 
April 12, 1760, in Lynn, Massachusetts, 
lived for a time in that town with his 
grandfather, Ezra Ramsdale, and came 
with him prior to the Revolution to Chat- 
ham, Connecticut. He was a soldier in 
the Continental army for about seven and 
one-half years, serving all through the 
war for independence. He was small of 
stature, and was nicknamed by his com- 
panions '"Frostbitten" and "Little Devil." 
He married Olive, daughter of Eleazer 
Rowley, of Moodus, Connecticut, born 
there April 22, 1764, died April 21, 1856. 
He died October 17, 1845. They resided 
in Chatham, and there Philip White was 
born February 3, 1795, the father of seven 



272 




tu r S 'ViKr<j-li LSrcirf 






THE I:£W VOr.X 
PUBLIC^'' 



TILT' 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



children. He was the grandfather of 
Niles G. White. He married Lucy Niles, 
and they had nine children, of whom 
Glover Moses, born September 26, 1819, 
was the eldest. He learned the trade of 
granite cutter, and subsequently became 
superintendent of the Mill Stone Point 
quarry at Waterford. Later he formed a 
partnership with Thomas Crane, and un- 
der the name of Thomas Crane & Com- 
pany engaged in the granite business in 
New York City. He married Mary Post 
Markham, born June i, 1824, died Janu- 
ary 12, 1887. His death occurred August 
26, 1872. She was a sister of Daniel Xiles 
Markham, father of Judge Daniel A. 
Markham.. The Alarkham genealogy will 
be found in connection with the latter's 
sketch, which appears on another page. 

Niles Glover White, only child of 
Glover M. and Mary P. (Markham) 
White, was born November i, 1850, in 
Chatham. After completing the course 
in the public school, he served an appren- 
ticeship at the trade of granite cutter 
under his father, in New York City. He 
then became a member of the firm of 
Thomas Crane & Company. Mr. White 
continued in the business in New York 
City until the death of Mr. Crane, soon 
after which the business was removed to 
Long Island City, and continued under 
the name of the W' hite Granite Company. 
In 1897 he formed a partnership with 
William F. Whitmore. under the firm 
name of White & Whitmore. Their place 
of business is in Hartford, and they deal 
in mantels, tile, interior marble and fire- 
place goods. Mr. White has been con- 
nected with the granite business for a 
period of forty years. He is a member 
of the General Society of Mechanics and 
Tradesmen of the City of New York, and 
served as its president in 1906. He mar- 
ried, August 27, 1873, ^Miss Mary Cor- 
nelia, born August 27, 1853, in Guilford, 



Connecticut, daughter of Elisha Chapman 
and Charlotte Griffin (Fowler) Bishop. 

Elisha C. Bishop was born April 10, 
1824, in Guilford, and remained on the 
home farm until he was twenty years of 
age, attending the public school until the 
course was completed. Me then learned 
the trade of machinist and engaged in 
that business on his own account until 
1861, when he went to Titusville, Penn- 
sylvania. Here he engaged successfully 
in developing oil wells until 1870, when 
he returned to Guilford and engaged in 
farming until his death, March 8, 1903. 
He was first a Republican and later a 
Prohibitionist ; was one of the most prom- 
inent men in Guilford, taking an active 
part in every movement of public impor- 
tance. He served on the school commit- 
tee ; was warden of the borough ; also 
burgess ; served seven or eight years on 
the board of selectmen, and was first 
selectman at two different periods. In 
1882 he represented the town of Guilford 
in the legislature. He married, July 5. 
1846, Charlotte G., daughter of Lyman 
Fowler, by whom he had twelve children. 
Mrs. Bishop was born December 15, 1823, 
and died October 6. 1885. He afterward 
married Mrs. Bishop's sister, Cornelia F. 
Fowler. Jonathan Bishop, father of 
Elisha C. was born March 30, 1797, and 
in his younger days he followed the sea. 
rising to the position of mate of a vessel 
plying in the cotton trade between soutli 
ern ports and New York. Later in life 
he engaged in farming on the homestead, 
until his death, March 16. 1887. He mar- 
ried, June 18, 1821, Polly Maria, born 
January 30, 1796. daughter of Seth and 
Hannah (Parmelee) Bishop. She died in 
July. 1839. His father, Jonathan Bishop, 
was born October 19, 1762, and died Sep- 
tember 2T„ 1826. He married. February 
21. 1787. Huldah Chapman, born Decem- 
ber I. 1762, died September 17. 1828. He 



Conn— 2— 18 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a farmer and during the Revolution 
was a member of the Home Guard, for 
coast defense, keeping the Tories from 
supplying the English troops with 
produce, etc. His father, David Bishop, 
was born September 20, 1728, and died 
January 25, 1792. He married, April 17, 
1755, Audrea Fowler, born September 12, 
1724, died January 24, 181 5. His father, 
David Bishop, was born January 6, 1697, 
died August 20, 1773. He married. May 
17, 1724, Deborah Stanley. His father, 
John Bishop, was born in 1655, and died 
November 25, 1751. He married, July 3, 
1689, Elizabeth Hitchcock, who died 
March 14, 1712. His father, John Bishop, 
married, December 13, 1650, Susanna 
Goldham, who died November i, 1703; 
His father, John Bishop, came from Eng- 
land, was one of the original settlers in 
Guilford, and the founder of the Bishop 
family in America. His signature is the 
second of the twenty-five on the Planta- 
tion Covenant dated June i, 1639, on the 
voyage from England, and he was one of 
the four persons who at first had sole 
direction of the affairs of the colony until 
the formation of the church. In England 
he married Anne, surname unknown, who 
died in Hartford in 1676. He died in 
Guilford in February, 1661. 

To Niles G. and Mary Cornelia 
(Bishop) White the following children 
were born : Mary Bishop, August 16, 
1874, married Carrol C. Beach, M. D. ; 
Cornelia Fowler, December 29, 1876; 
Edna, June 30, 1879; Olive, August 14, 
1881, married Edward F. von Wettberg, 
of Fairfield, Connecticut; Charlotte, De- 
cember 17, 1883, married O. Lamson 
Beach, of West Hartford, brother of Dr. 
C. C. Beach ; Bishop, October 14, 1885 ; 
Prentice, May 24, 1891. 

Mr. White has made good in the busi- 
ness world by his own energy, sound 
judgment, executive ability and straight- 



forward dealing. He has resided in West 
Hartford for more than thirty-five years, 
and enjoys the confidence and esteem of 
a wide circle of steadfast friends. On the 
Markham side his descent is traced to 
the "Mayflower" on three sides. 



GOODRICH, Charles Augustus, 

Pediatrist of Hartford Hospital. 

The heritage of an honorable, respected 
and unblemished name is a fortune than 
which there is nothing more valuable. 
The name of Goodrich is one of the old- 
est mentioned in the records of the early 
New England colonies, and has been 
identified continuously with that section 
of the country since the early part of the 
seventeenth century, when the founda- 
tions of the United States of to-day were 
laid by the suffering and untold priva- 
tions of a sturdy handful of men and 
women of high purpose and indomitable 
courage, the progenitors of that New 
England stock which has contributed 
ever since a large proportion of the coun- 
try's great m,en. In England the name 
Goodrich has been traced back to very 
ancient times, and like most other patro- 
nymics has arrived at its present spelling 
through a process of evolution from God- 
ric, which was the original spelling. 

It is not known when the family first 
appeared in Great Britain. In Ingulph's 
"History of the Abbey of Croyland," after 
the description of its destruction in the 
year 870, we find the following: "By com- 
mon consent of all, the venerable father 
Godric, although very reluctant and mak- 
ing great opposition thereto, was elected 
abbot." The ruins of Goodrich Castle are 
among the most ancient in England. Its 
site was a commanding eminence near the 
southeastern extremity of the county of 
Herford, in Herfordshire, Wales, on the 
eastern bank of the River Wye. It clearly 



274 



E-XCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



antedates the Norman conquest, being in 
the style adopted by the Saxons, and con- 
tinued to the time of Edward the Con- 
fessor, about 1050. The Domesday Book 
and Freeman's "History of the Xorman 
Conquest, 1066," show that landholders 
of the Goodrich family were numerous at 
that time. 

(I) William Goodrich was immigrant 
ancestor of the Goodrich family in Amer- 
ica. The original ancestors of William 
Goodrich have not been traced, but there 
is little doubt that Bury St. Edmunds. 
County Sutfolk, England, was his birth- 
place. The first appearance of his name 
on the early records of Connecticut 
Colony is in connection with his marriage 
to Sarah ^Marvin in the year 1648. He 
w^as made a freeman on ]\Iay 15. 1656. 
He was deputy from Wethersfield to the 
General Court at Hartford, May 15, 1662, 
and also served on the grand jury. He 
was ensign of the train-band at Wethers- 
field. He married Sarah, daughter of 
Matthew and Elizabeth ]\Iarvin, of Hart- 
ford, w^ho after his death married Captain 
William Curtiss, of Stratford, where she 
died in 1702. William Goodrich died in 
1676. 

(H) Colonel David Goodrich, son of 
William and Sarah (Marvin) Goodrich, 
was born May 4, 1667, and resided in 
Wethersfield. He was lieutenant-colonel 
in the old French war. In 1703 colonial 
operations began in Queen Anne's war, 
and in 1704 occurred the horrible massa- 
cre at Deerfield. In May of that year the 
Hartford County Dragoons were sent 
into Hampshire county, Massachusetts, 
and in this expedition David Goodrich 
went as lieutenant. In May, 1709, troops 
to the number of three hundred men were 
sent from Connecticut to Canada. They 
went, however, no farther than Albany 
and Wood Creek. At the latter place 
they were encamped through the summer 



and autumn of 1709, and ninety men were 
lost. Captain David Goodrich was both 
adjutant and quartermaster of the cam- 
paign. In 1712 two Connecticut com- 
panies were sent to a post thirty miles 
above Deerfield. One of these was com- 
manded by David Goodrich. In May, 
1723, he commanded one of the com- 
panies sent to Hampshire county. In 
F'ebruary, 1724, he went north again as 
far as Fort Dummer, near the present 
city of Brattleboro, but then the only set- 
tlement in what is now the great State 
of Vermont. He remained in Massachu- 
setts most of the time until the close of 
the war in December. 1725. In this year 
he was reappointed colonel of the Hart- 
ford forces. He had been a member of 
the committee and council of war from 
1723. He was appointed justice of the 
peace for Hartford in 1725, and held the 
position for many years thereafter. He 
was auditor and appraiser, deputy to the 
General Court from Wethersfield from 
1717 to 1724. and 1735 to 1743, and in 
1724 he was made a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council. 

He married, March 7. 1689, Hannah, 
daughter of Thomas Wright. Jr., and 
Elizabeth (Chittenden) Wright. She was 
his first wife, and was bom March 10. 
1671. She died April 2"], 1698. Colonel 
David Goodrich died June 21, 1755. 

(Ill) Deacon David Goodrich, son of 
David and Hannah (Wright) Goodrich, 
was born December 8. 1694. He resided 
at Rocky Hill. He was prominent and 
active in church work, and through his 
ceaseless activity earned the epithet 
"Forty-six years a Deacon." He married. 
December 31, 1721. Hepzibah, daughter 
of Jonathan and Mercy (Hubbard) Board- 
man, of Hatfield. Massachusetts. She 
was born February 16. 1702. or 1703, and 
died December 9. 1782. Jonathan Board- 
man, her father, was born in Wethers- 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



field, February 4, 1660. He was lieuten- 
ant of the train-band in Wethersfield in 
1703, and was prominent in town affairs. 
His house at Rocky Hill was fortified and 
called Fort Deming. He married Mercy 
Hubbard, October 22, 1685, and died Sep- 
tember 21, 1/12. Deacon David Good- 
rich died July 15, 1785. 

(IV) Rev. Elizur Goodrich, son of Dea- 
con David and Hepzibah (Boardman) 
Goodrich, was born October 6, 1734, al- 
though according to Wethersfield records 
his birth is recorded as October 18, 1734. 
He was graduated from Yale College in 
the class of 1752, and remained as tutor 
there during the year following his gradu- 
ation. "So deeply interested was he in 
mathematics and astronomy, that in the 
busiest scenes of his subsequent ministry, 
he rarely failed to calculate the eclipses 
of each successive year, and when the 
Aurora Borealis of 1780 made its appear- 
ance, he drew up one of the fullest and 
most accurate accounts of it ever pub- 
lished, with exact drawings of the auroral 
arch. In November, 1756, he was or- 
dained pastor of the Congregational 
church at Durham, Connecticut, in which 
office he continued until his death. He 
gave fourteen hours daily to severe intel- 
lectual labor; was an accomplished teach- 
er, having prepared over three hundred 
young men for college and public life. 
He was also an active friend of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, preaching the right of 
the colonies to resist the tyrannical rule 
of England, and urging them to lay down 
their property and lives, if need be, in the 
struggle for liberty. He published sev- 
eral of his sermons, and was the author 
of hundreds of elaborate essays on diffi- 
cult passages of the Scripture." In 1776 
he was elected member of the corpora- 
tion of Yale. On February i, 1757, Rev. 
Elizur Goodrich married Katherine, 
daughter of Hon. Elihu and Mary (Gris- 



wold) Chauncey. She was born April 11, 
1741, and died April 8, 1830. His death 
occurred on November 21,^1797. 

(V) Rev. Samuel Goodrich, son of Rev. 
Elizur and Katherine (Chauncey) Good- 
rich, was born January 12, 1763. He was 
a graduate of Yale College in the class of 
1783, where he had pursued the regular 
course in theology. He was ordained and 
on July 6, 1786, was installed as pastor of 
the Congregational church at Ridgefield, 
Connecticut. His father preached the 
sermon and gave the charge both to his 
son and the church. He was dismissed 
at his own request, and moved to Worth- 
ington on the twenty-ninth of the follow- 
ing May. He married, July 29, 1784, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Colonel John and 
Sarah (Worthington) Ely, who was born 
February 22, 1765, and died March 3, 
1837. Rev. Samuel Goodrich died at Ber- 
lin, Connecticut, April 29, 1835. 

(VI) Rev. Charles Augustus Goodrich, 
son of Rev. Samuel and Elizabeth (Ely) 
Goodrich, was born August 19, 1790, in 
Berlin, Connecticut. He was a graduate 
of Yale College in 1812, and was ordained 
pastor of the South (Congregational) 
Church, in Worcester, Massachusetts, in 
1818. After a few years he resigned his 
charge on account of failing health and 
removed to Kensington, where he organ- 
ized and taught a school for boys. After 
his father's death he engaged mainly in 
writing books, a number of which en- 
joyed a high degree of popularity. His 
"History of the United States" for 
schools went through many editions ; 
"Bible History of Prayer" was one of his 
last works. Others of his books were : 
"Lives of the Signers" and the "Univer- 
sal Traveler." He was at one time State 
Senator and always prominent in public 
affairs. In 1847 he removed to Hartford 
and continued to reside there until his 
death. The Rev. Charles A. Goodrich 

76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF DIOGRAPHY 

was intellectually a gifted man, and was pose. His character and conduct were in 
a most accomplished scholar. lie was of every way exemplary, and his attractive 
an unaggressive and unassuming nature, and magnetic iH-r^-onality made for liim 
and although ever active in the cause of scores of friends among those with whom 
right was a sensitive man and shrunk he came in contact, lie was modest and 
from rough contact with the world. He unassuming and homeloving in his tastes, 
was an exemplary Christian gentleman and when not occupied with lousiness 
in every sense of the word. His love for cares found his greatest pleasures within 
his fellowmen was of a high character, his family circle. Mr. (Goodrich took an 
and he was charitable in all the relations active interest in the political and puldic 
of life, in which his single purpose problems of his day. and was a student 
seemed to be the elevating of mankind, of conditions, but was never attracted by 
He died at Hartford, Connecticut, June the lure of public office. He died at 
4, 1862. On June 24, 1818, he married Hartford, Connecticut, July 5, 1908. On 
Sarah, daughter of Rev. Dr. Benoni Up- May 18, 1871, he married, for his second 
son, of Berlin, Connecticut. wife, Sarah Meigs, born August 31. 1843. 
(VII) Charles Chauncey Goodrich, son a daughter of George Martin and Eliza 
of Rev. Charles Augustus and Sarah (Meigs) Hayward, of New York City. 
(Upson) Goodrich, was born in Berlin, Their children are: i. Charles Augustus. 
Connecticut, May 14, 1823. He was edu- mentioned below. 2. Elizabeth Ely, born 
cated in Berlin Academy, and upon leav- March nj. 1876; married Robert Catlin 
ing that institution went to New York Buell, secretary and treasurer of Johns- 
City, where he started his business career Pratt Company of Hartford, Connecti- 
in the dry goods commission business, cut. 3. Sarah Upson, born June i, 1879; 
In this he later attained great prominence married Oliver R. Beckwith. an attorney 
and for years he was looked up to as a of Hartford. 

leading authority in his line. He was a (VIII) Charles Augustus Goodrich, 
member of the firm of Goodrich & Free- son of Charles Chauncey and Sarah 
man, which was changed to Goodrich, Meigs (Hayward) Goodrich, was born in 
Freeman & Foster, then Goodrich & Fos- New York City, February 2^, 1872. 
ter. He became a partner in W. C. Lang- Charles Augustus Goodrich, representa- 
ley & Company, and later was actively tive in the eighth generation of the Good- 
interested in the firm of W. H. Langley rich family in America, and a direct de- 
& Company. For several years, until scendant of William Goodrich, whose 
about eighteen months prior to the time name appears on the Connecticut Colony 
of his death, he commuted regular be- records in the year 1648. is a physician 
tween New York and Hartford, where and surgeon in the city of Hartford. He 
he made his home from the year 1882. received his early education in New York 
Charles Goodrich was very successful in City and in Hartford. Connecticut, and 
business, and was endowed with splendid upon the completion of this pursued a 
mental powers. He was a keen observer course in the Massachusetts Agricultural 
of men and things, as every man must College at Amherst. He was graduated 
be who would succeed against the strong with the degree of B. S. C. in 1893. He 
competition of the business world. His then entered the College of Physicians 
business judgment was almost unerring, and Surgeons of New York City, from 
and he was a man of energy and firm pur- which he was graduated in 1896. He 

277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



immediately became an interne in the 
Hospital for Ruptured and Crippled in 
New York City and subsequently spent 
some time in the clinics. In 1898 Dr. 
Goodrich began the practice of his pro- 
fession in Hartford. Since 1910 he has 
limited his practice to diseases of chil- 
dren. He is a member of the City, 
County and State Medical societies, and 
of the American Medical Association. 
Dr. Goodrich is pediatrist of the Hartford 
Hospital, and one of the corporators and 
directors of the Hartford Dispensary. 
He is a member of the University Club. 
On June 7, 1905, Dr. Goodrich married 
Margaret, daughter of John D. and Ade- 
laide Cutter, of Brooklyn, New York. 
Their children are : Dorothy, born March 
21, 1906; Charles Chauncey, born July i, 
1907. 



CURTIS, Howard J., 

LiSLwyeT, Jurist. 

It is a far cry from graduation, even 
with the imposing Bachelor of Laws, to 
the Superior Bench, yet in less than a 
quarter of a century Judge Curtis accom- 
plished the journey, and for the past ten 
years has ably administered the duties 
pertaining to a judgeship upon the bench 
of the Superior Court of Connecticut. 
His rise to professional distinction was 
much more rapid than the fact cited, for 
when in practice but ten years he was 
made judge of the Civil Court of Com- 
mon Pleas for Fairfield county and for 
fourteen years filled that position. As a 
lawyer he was painstaking in the prep- 
aration of cases, forcible and effective 
in their presentation. As a judge of 
Common Pleas he evidenced the breadth 
and depth of his learning, and as the 
years progressed and his horizon widened 
his peculiar fitness for the position was 
recognized by his associates of the bench 



and brethren of the bar. As a justice of 
the Superior Court his learning and abil- 
ity, reinforced by his years of experience 
upon the county bench, have enabled him 
to meet the responsibilities of his high 
position in a way and manner that classes 
nim among the eminent jurists who grace 
the bench of any court in any state. 

Judge Curtis is of the ninth generation 
of a family founded in Stratford, Connec- 
ticut, by the sons of Elizabeth Curtis, a 
widow, who came to Stratford in 1639 
with her two sons, John and William. It 
is supposed that Elizabeth Curtis was the 
widow of John Curtis, a landowner in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1639, who 
died either on the journey or so shortly 
after the family arrived in Stratford that 
no record was made. The name of Eliz- 
abeth Curtis and her sons appears on the 
earliest records of Stratford, and there 
she died in June, 1658. 

The line of descent to Judge Curtis is 
through her eldest son, John Curtis, born 
in England in 161 1, whose name appears 
as one of the original patentees of Strat- 
ford and on the list of property owners 
of 1650. He was a soldier of King 
Philip's War, ranking as sergeant and 
ensign and was treasurer of the town, 
elected December 29, 1675. He married 
Elizabeth Welles, who is believed to have 
been a sister of Governor Thomas Welles. 

Joseph Curtis, the fifth child of Ensign 
John Curtis, was born in Stratford, Con- 
necticut, November 12, 1650, and became 
one of the prominent men of the town. 
He was town clerk for fifty years, 1678- 
1728, member of the Governor's Council 
from 1698 until 1721, and representative 
in the House of Assembly for many 
years. He married Bethia Booth, of 
Stratford. 

He was succeeded by his son, Joseph 
(2) Curtis, born in Stratford, Connecti- 



278 




^ 



/>-C-c^ ,^-^t 










fc - 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 

cut, November 6, 1687. He married, July spent one year in PittslieUl, Massachu- 

15' 171 1. Elizabeth Welles. setts, as clerk in the freight office of the 

He in turn was succeeded by a son, Housatonic Railroad Company. In 1875 

Joseph (3) Welles, born in Stratford, he returned to Stratford and entered the 

Connecticut, March 28, 1721. He mar- preparatory school of which I-rederick 

ried Martha Judson, who died in 1796. Sedgwick was principal. In 1877 he en- 

Their son, Nehemiah Curtis, born in tered Yale University, whence he was 

Stratford, Connecticut, in 1740, died May graduated Bachelor of Arts, class of '81. 

13, 1810. He was a soldier of the Revo- He spent the next year in teaching at 

lution, serving in the company com- Chatham, Virginia, and at the same time 

manded by Captain Joseph Birdseye, began the study of law. In the fall of 

Colonel Whiting's regiment. Nehemiah 1882 he entered the senior class of the 

Curtis married (second) November 26, Yale Law School, whence he was gradu- 

1778, Sarah (Lewis) Booth, daughter of ated Bachelor of Laws in June, 1883, and 

William Lewis and widow of Josiah that was the fulfillment of an ambition 

Booth. cherished from boyhood. 

Freeman Curtis, son of Nehemiah Cur- After graduation Mr. Curtis located in 

tis, the Revolutionary soldier, and his Bridgeport, was for a time in the office of 

second wife, Sarah (Lewis-Booth) Cur- Amos L. Treat, but in 1883 began prac- 

tis, was born in Stratford, Connecticut, tice in partnership with George W. 

December 6, 1782, died January 5, 1862. Wheeler. The young men practiced as 

He married (first) August 6, 1802, Anna Wheeler & Curtis for ten years, until 

Peck, who died July 4, 1828, aged forty- 1893, when the association was broken by 

two years, daughter of Judson and Mary the election of Mr. Curtis as judge of the 

(Blakeman) Peck, of Stratford. Their Civil Court of Common Pleas and Mr. 

tenth child, Freeman L., was born a few Wheeler was appointed associate judge 

months prior to his mother's death. of the Superior Court of the State. For 

Freeman L. Curtis,