(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Connecticut biography, genealogical-memorial; representative citizens;"

NVPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 

Mimm 

J J433 08254184 2 



A 



Digitized by tine Internet Arciiive 

in 2007 witii funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



Iittp://www.arcliive.org/details/encyclopediaofco03amer 



^ 



y^/" 



K 




(Pm^ l^.n.CCt=:r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA 

OF 

CONNECTICUT BIOGRAPHY 

GENEALOGICAL— MEMORIAL 



REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



Compiled with assistance of the following 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



SAMUEL HART, D.D., D.C.L. 

Dean of Berkeley Divinity Scliool; President of 
Connecticut Historical Society. 

THOMAS SNELL WEAVER 

Superintendent of City Schools, Hartford; 
Journalist, former Editor Willimantic Jour- 
nal, and associated witli New Haven Register, 
Boston Globe. Hartford Post and Hartford 
Courant. Member of Library Committee Con- 
necticut Historical Society. 

JOSEPH ANDERSON, D.D. 

President of Mattatuck Historical Society; 
forty years pastor of First Congregational 
Church, Waterbury; Editor Anderson's His- 
tory of Waterbury. 

WALTER RALPH STEINER, M.D. 

Member of .State Historical Society; Member 
of State Medical Society; Fellow of American 
Medical Association; Secretary Congress of 
American Physicians and Surgeons; Librarian 
Hartford Medical Society. 

HADLAI AUSTIN HULL, LL.B. 

Attorney, New London; Major in Spanish- 
American War. 

STORKS OZIAS SEYMOUR, D.D. 

President of Litchfield Historical Society; 
President of Wolcott and Litchfield Library 
Association; Rector Emeritus of St. Michael's 
(P. E. ) Church, Litchfield (23 years active 
rector). 



JOHN GAYLORD DAVENPORT, D.D. 

Pastor Emeritus Second Church of Waterbury 
(30 years active); Member of Connecticut His- 
torical Society; Member of Mattatuck Histori- 
cal Society; ex-Governor and Chaplain of Con- 
necticut Society, Sons of Founders and Pa- 
triots; ex-Deputy (Governor National Society, 
same order. 

GEORGE CURTIS WALDO, A.M., LITT.D. 

Editor of Bridgeport Standard 49 years; one 
of Founders of Bridgeport Scientific Society; 
ex-Vice-President of Fairfield County Histori- 
cal Society; Author of History of Bridgeport. 

FREDERICK BOSTWICK 

Librarian New Haven Colony Historical Soci- 
ety; Register S. A. R., Connecticat; Honorary 
Member of National Genealogical Society; 
Member of Connecticut Historical Society, 
Connecticut Library Association, Mississippi 
Valley Historical Association; Associate Edi- 
tor Genealogical History of Connecticut; ex- 
President New Haven-Chautauqua Union. 

GUILFORD SMITH 

President of Windham National Bank; Mem- 
ber of Connecticut Society, Mayflower De- 
scendants. 

LEWIS ELIOT STANTON, A.B. 

(Yale. 1855). Member of American Bar .Asso- 
ciation and State Bar Association; Assistant 
United States Attorney 1870-1885; United 
States Attorney District of Connecticut 1885- 
1888 (resigned); Representative Hartford, 1880. 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

I.NCORPO RATED 
BOSTON NEW YORK CHICAGO 

1917 



T'!" ;E^V YORK 
PliBL:C LIBRARY 

ASTOR LENOX AND 

TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 

R I9!8 L 



Joreuiorb 



• ACH one of us is "the heir of all the 
ages, in the foremost files of time.'' 
\\'e build upon the solid foundations 
laid by the strenuous eiiforts of the fathers 
who have gone before us. Nothing is 
more fitting, and indeed more important, 
than that we should familiarize ourselves 
with their work and personality : for it is 
they who have lifted us up to the lofty 
positions from which we are working out 
our separate careers. "Lest we forget," 
it is important that we gather up the 
fleeting memories of the past and give 
them permanent record in well-chosen 
words of biography, and in such repro- 
duction of the long lost faces as modern 
science makes possible. 

Samuel Hart. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



t;:s nev 



library] 



' tJR, LENOX 





>-L- 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



EGGLESTON, Jere Dewey, 

Physician. 

From various ancestors, among the 
earliest in Connecticut and elsewhere in 
New England, Dr. Eggleston has derived 
those characteristics which made useful, 
popular and successful citizens. The 
Eggleston coat-of-arms is as follows : 
Arms : Quarterly, i and 4 argent, a cross 
sable, in first quarter a fleur-de-lis of the 
second. 2 and 3 vert, a chevron between 
three bucks trippant or, in the middle 
chief point a bezant, on a chief per fess 
gules and argent an eagle displayed 
counterchanged. Crest : A magpie proper. 
Motto: Spcro Mcliora ("I hope for better 

things"). 

The progenitor of the family in this 
country was Begat Eggleston, born in 
1590. or earlier, in England. He made a 
deposition, June 5, 1645, giving his age as 
forty-five years, but at the time of his 
death, September i, 1674, in Windsor, 
Connecticut, he was called "near one 
hundred years old." The family name of 
his first wife, Mary, is unknown. She 
died in Windsor, December 8, 1657. They 
came to Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 
1630, and Mr. Eggleston was admitted a 
freeman in 1631, was one of the original 
members of Rev. Mr. Warham's church, 
with which he removed to Windsor in 
1635. ^^ married (second) Mary Tal- 
cott, of Hartford, who was one of the 
contributors to the fund for the relief of 
the poor of the colonies in 1676. 

The third son of Begat and Mary 
Eggleston was James Eggleston, born 
about 1640. He had a grant of fifty acres 
of land in Windsor in 1671, as a reward 



for services in the Pequot War, and sub- 
sequently purchased other land. He died 
December i, 1679. He married Hester 
Williams, said to have been the first white 
female born at Hartford. She married 
(second) in 1680, James Eno. 

Nathaniel Eggleston, fourth son of 
James and Hester (Williams) Eggleston. 
was born August 15, 1666, in Windsor, and 
settled in Westfield, Massachusetts, where 
he died. He married, September 13, 1694, 
Hannah Ashley, born December 26, 1675, 
daughter of David and Hannah (Glover) 
Ashley, of W'estfield. 

Nathaniel (2) Eggleston, second son of 
Nathaniel (i) and Hannah (Ashley) 
Eggleston, was born in Westfield, April 
3, 1712, where he made his home, and died 
March 7, 1790. He married, August 13, 
1 741, Esther Wait, of Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

Eber Eggleston, eldest son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Esther (Wait) Eggleston, born 
about 1750, was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, lost three fingers in battle, was a 
United States pensioner in his old age, 
and died December 25, 1818. He married 
Submit Judd, of Southampton, who died 
July 4, 1821. 

Eli Eggleston. eldest son of Eber and 
Submit (Judd) Eggleston, born in 1784, 
in Westfield, was a farmer, honest and in- 
dustrious, a Biblical student. He married, 
October i, 1805, Zeruiah Searle, born in 
August, 1789, in Southampton, died in 
Westfield, October 3, 1826. 

Jere Dewey Eggleston, second son of 
Eli and Zeruiah (Searle) Eggleston, was 
born July 11, 1812, in Westfield, lived for 
some time at Broad Brook, in East Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, and subsequently in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Enfield, same State, where he died March 
lo, 1855. He was a miller by occupation, 
a man of generous impulses, decided 
opinions, and strict integrity. He mar- 
ried, in 1831, Louisa Carew, who survived 
him several years. 

Dr. Jere Dewey (2) Eggleston, fourth 
son of Jere Dewey (i) and Louisa (Carew) 
Eggleston, and namesake of his father, 
was born October 28, 1853, in Long 
Meadow, iMassachusetts, and was bereft of 
his father in his second year. The death of 
his mother within a few years thereafter 
left him without any parental guidance, 
and he early developed a spirit of inde- 
pendence and self-reliance which has car- 
ried him forward through life. At the 
early age of thirteen years he began work- 
ing on a farm. He was always studious, 
and made the most of every educational 
opportunity within his reach. He early 
fitted himself for teaching, and by means 
of his earnings as a teacher was enabled 
to prepare at Williams College, and in 
1879 he graduated from the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons at New York 
City. For a brief time he engaged in 
practice at Windsor Locks, Connecticut, 
and about 1880 located in the city of Meri- 
den, Connecticut, where he soon gained 
rank as a physician of ability and char- 
acter. Always a student, he has ever kept 
himself informed in the progress of medi- 
cal science, and his fine personality and 
agreeable manners quickly gained the 
confidence and good will of the commu- 
nity. For many years he conducted a 
very large practice, and in recent years 
has somewhat retired from the burdens 
incident to that condition. A conserva- 
tive and safe practitioner, he has been 
especially successful in his life work. Al- 
ways energetic, he has kept abreast of the 
world's progress, and is as well known 
outside as in his chosen profession. His 
success has been entirely the result of his 
own efforts, and his popularity in the 



community is due to his high character 
and effort to fulfill the duties of a good 
citizen. For several years he served as 
an alderman of the municipality, and has 
been ever ready to support any movement 
calculated to promote the general welfare. 
He is a director of the Home National 
Bank, director and trustee of the Meriden 
Savings Bank, trustee of the State School 
for Boys of Meriden, member of the board 
of Aleriden City Hospital. Politically he 
is a Republican, and he is prominently 
identified with the Masonic and Odd Fel- 
lows orders, and holds membership in the 
State and County Medical societies, the 
American Medical Association, and in the 
Home, Highland Country and Colonial 
clubs. 

Dr. Eggleston married, May 18, 1881, 
Elizabeth C. Duncan, descendant of an an- 
cient Scotch family. Thomas Duncan was 
an expert paper manufacturer, and was 
many years identified with that industry 
in Poquonock and elsewhere in the State. 
Before the close of the nineteenth century 
he removed to New York City. His wife, 
the mother of Mrs. Eggleston, was Grace 
(Yule) Duncan, born June 14, 1834, died 
February 15, 1867. Dr. and Mrs. Eggles- 
ton were the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Robert D., born March 7, 1882 ; 
Ralph B., November 9, 1884, died March 
19, 1886; Jeanette L., April 18, 1887; 
Arthur F., November 19, 1890; Jere Dud- 
ley, May 29, 1894. 



SEYMOUR, Storrs Ozias, 

Clergyman. 

The Rev. Storrs Ozias Seymour, rector 
emeritus of St. Michael's Church at 
Litchfield, Connecticut, was born in 
Litchfield, January 24, 1836, the son of 
Origen Storrs and Lucy Morris (Wood- 
rulf) Seymour, being eighth in direct 
descent from Richard Seymour, one of 
the early settlers of Hartford. The Sey- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mour family is one of great antiquity in 
England. The seal on the will of Thomas 
Seymour, eldest son of Richard Seymour, 
the first settler of the name in this coun- 
try, bears the impress of two wings con- 
joined in lure, the device of the English 
Seymours from the time of William de St. 
Maur of Penhow. A "Bishop's Bible," 
printed in 1584, in the possession of the 
Hon. Morris Woodruff Seymour, of 
Litchfield, a descendant of Richard Sey- 
mour, has on one of the fly-leaves a draw- 
ing of the arms of the Seymours of Bury 
Pomeroy, viz., two wings conjoined in 
lure, quartered with the Royal Arms as 
granted by Henry VIII. to Edward Sey- 
mour, Duke of Somerset, and the legend : 
"Richard Seymor, of Berry Pomery, hey- 
tor hund. in ye Com. Devon, his Booke, 
Hartford, in ye Collony of Connecticut in 
Newe England, Annoque Domini 1640." 
On another page of this Bible there is a 
memorandum relating to some business 
transaction, and the name. "John Seimor, 
Hartford, 1666." 

Dr. Storrs O. Seymour received his 
early education at Litchfield schools and 
at Phillips (Andover) Academy; gradu- 
ated from Yale in 1857, and after a year 
spent in Germany studied theology at the 
Berkeley Divinity School at Middletown, 
Connecticut. He was ordained May 22, 
1861, and immediately took charge of St. 
Peter's Church at Milford, Connecticut, 
where he remained until 1864. He was 
rector of St. Thomas's Church, of Bethel, 
during the following four years, and from 
1868 until 1874 was rector of Trinity 
Church at Pawtucket, Rhode Island. In 
the latter year he was called to Trinity 
Church at Norwich, Connecticut, and 
after a residence of nearly four and a 
half years in that town was chosen rector 
of St. Michael's Church at Litchfield, 
Connecticut. In October, 1883, he be- 
came rector of Trinity Church at Hart- 



ford, and after a service of ten years in 
that charge returned to Litchfield and 
again became rector of St. Michael's, 
which position he held until Easter, 191 1, 
when he retired from the rectorship, hav- 
ing reached the age of eighty years. This 
church carries on a great and practically 
neverceasing work, and its influence upon 
the spiritual upbuilding of Litchfield has 
been most marked. Dr. Seymour is a 
man of clear and logical ideas of what the 
work of a church in a community should 
be, and these ideas he carefully put into 
practice, and he was a preacher of force- 
fulness and clearness. 

Dr. Seymour received the degrees of 
A. B. and A. M. from Yale in 1857 and 
i860, and the degree of Doctor of Divin- 
ity from Trinity College in 1898. During 
his residence in Rhode Island he served 
as chaplain in the Pawtucket Horse 
Guards of the Rhode Island Militia. He 
was a member of the Connecticut State 
Board of Education from 1880 to 1884, 
and has been a member of the Free Pub- 
lic Library Committee for Connecticut 
since its organization in 1893. I" 1876 he 
was elected a member of the standing 
committee of the Diocese of Connecticut, 
and since 1895 has been its president. He 
is also president of the Litchfield Histor- 
ical Society, a member of the Connecticut 
Historical Society, and a trustee of the 
Berkeley Divinity School. He is a Dem- 
ocrat in politics. 

Dr. Seymour married, June 20, 1861, 
Mary Harrison Browne, of Hastings-on- 
the-Hudson, New York. They are the 
parents of one son, Edwin WoodruflF Sey- 
mour. 



MILLER, Edward, 

Head of Edward Miller & Company, 
Meriden. 

The creation, development and man- 
agement of the mammoth business known 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as Edward Miller & Company, one of 
Meriden's great industrial corporations. 
Edward Miller made his life work. His 
motto, "whatever you undertake as a life 
work, do it thoroughly and stick to it," 
was strictly adhered to in his own life, 
and from the time he began working in a 
factory at the age of fifteen until his death 
at the age of eighty-two he knew but one 
business, the manufacture of lamps and 
lighting accessories. He was a pioneer in 
the manufacture of kerosone lamp burn- 
ers in the country, placed the famous 
Rochester lamp upon the market in 1884, 
and when its world-wide reputation 
brought imitations upon the market he 
brought out that highest achievement in 
kerosene illumination, The Miller Eamp. 
When other illuminants appeared, which 
in a degree destroyed the market for 
lamps, he added gas and electric fixtures 
to the list of goods manufactured by Ed- 
ward Miller & Company, and in that field 
became preeminent. Just what the loca- 
tion of this company has meant to Mer- 
iden and its plan of operation is best told 
in a descriptive article which is as true 
now under the executive management of 
Edward (2) Miller, son of the founder, 
as when it was written. "The company's 
prosperity is such that it knows no dull 
periods or its workmen want of employ- 
ment. The departments are fully equip- 
ped with all the most modern machinery 
that can aid in the rapid and perfect pro- 
duction of goods. It is the rule in the 
manufacture of their goods that excel- 
lence is the grand thing to be attained, 
and the high esteem in which their 
products are held by the dealers and con- 
sumers warrants the assertion that they 
realize the end sought. Their products 
are largely exported to foreign lands, and 
immense as this business is, it is con- 
stantly increasing. It would be an im- 
possibility to enumerate the great assort- 



ment of articles made by this company. 
Prominent among them are lamp trim- 
mings of every variety, tinners' hardware, 
together with brass and bronze goods. 
Their designs are thoroughly their own 
and are selected by those appreciative of 
the superiority of American styles over 
those of foreign lands. Yet the company 
keeps a sharp eye on the centres of artis- 
tic productions with a view that none 
shall excel them. The result is that not 
only are the designs of the art centres 
equalled, but in most cases excelled by 
the addition of the American artist." 

Edward Miller was of the eighth gen- 
eration of the family founded in New 
England by John Miller, who came from 
Maidstone, Kent, England, to Lynn, 
Massachusetts, lived also in Salem, and 
in 1649 settled at Easthampton, Long 
Island. His wife Mary bore him five 
sons, among them George Miller, born in 
Easthampton, who died October 12, 1712, 
leaving a son, Hezekiah Miller, born 
about 1680. Hezekiah Miller married, 
December 11, 1706, Elizabeth Sherry, the 
line of descent following through their 
youngest son, Jacob Miller, who moved 
from Easthampton to Huntington, Long 
Island. He married, May 24, 1738, Su- 
sanna Weeks (or Wickes). Their young- 
est son, Jacob (2) Miller, was baptized in 
Huntington, April 24, 1754, followed the 
sea and was the owner of a whaling ves- 
sel. During the Revolution he moved to 
Wallingford, Connecticut, and is believed 
to have been the Jacob Miller who served 
in the Second Regiment, Connecticut 
Line, September to December, 1779. He 
married Elizabeth Filer and among his 
children were two ministers, Rev. Samuel 
and Rev. Thomas Miller. 

Rev. Samuel Miller was born on Long 
Island, April 15, 1773, died November 
14, 1829. He was an ordained minister 
of the Baptist Church, was the first min- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ister of that faith in Meriden, and was 
pastor of the church there for twenty-six 
years. He married, April 7, 1796. Vincy 
Blakeslee, born June 2g, 1775, died No- 
vember 18, 1829, daughter of Joseph and 
Lois (Ives) Blakeslee. Their son Joel 
was third of a family of nine. 

Joel Miller, son of Rev. Samuel and 
Vincy (Blakeslee) Miller, was born at 
Meriden, Connecticut, October 24, 1801, 
died August 25, 1864. After his marriage 
he moved to Canastota, Madison county, 
New York, but after residing there eight 
years returned to Meriden. The farm, he 
owned in Meriden is yet resided upon by 
the family, although Broad street now 
runs through the old homestead. He 
married, March 13, 1823, Clarissa Plum, 
born January 23, 1805, died March 4, 
1879, daughter of Seth Doud and Eliza- 
beth (Hall) Plum, her father a prominent 
man of his day. 

Edward Miller, son of Joel and Clarissa 
(Plum) Miller, was born in the town of 
Wallingford, Connecticut, August 10, 
1827, died in Meriden, June 11, 1909. He 
attended public school and Post Academy 
until fifteen, then entered the factory 
employ of Horatio N. Howard, of Mer- 
iden, a manufacturer of lamp screws, 
hoops and candlestick springs. He also 
was employed for two years with Sted- 
man & Clark in the same line of manu- 
facture, but while still a minor began 
business for himself, having his father 
for a partner, continuing the same busi- 
ness with which he had become familiar. 
The firm was originally Joel Miller & 
Son, but after arriving at legal age the 
son bought his father's interest in the 
business giving his note for $800. The 
following year that note was paid from 
the profits of the business and expansion 
begun. The wooden factory built on the 
site of the present works was destroyed 
by fire in 1856 ; the financial panic of 1857 



played havoc in the business world, but 
Edward Miller survived both disasters, 
and in 1858 added to his little line the 
manufacture of burners for kerosene 
lamps, a class of goods which had hith- 
erto been imported. Bronzes, sheet brass 
and brass utensils followed, and in 1866 
the business had increased beyond his 
financial ability to carry it, and Edward 
Miller & Company, a stock company, was 
organized with a capital of $200,000, Ed- 
ward Miller, president and manager. 
With this influx of capital and assistants, 
the great growth of the business began 
and continued until perhaps one thousand 
hands are employed. Mr. Miller contin- 
ued the efficient executive head of the 
company until his death, although in his 
later years his capable son took from his 
shoulders the heavier burdens of manage- 
ment. He was an honored member of 
the First Baptist Church of Meriden, and 
in 1869 gave to the church a handsome 
pipe organ. He also generously aided the 
Young Men's Christian Association and 
the Connecticut Literary Institute, and 
for years was treasurer of the Connecticut 
Baptist Educational Society. He served 
as a member of Common Council for 
twelve years as a matter of public duty, 
but otherwise refused all offers of public 
office. 

Edward Miller married, August 30, 
1848, Caroline M. Neal, born April 14, 
1830, died August 29, 1906, daughter of 
Joseph and Matilda (Barnes) Neal, of 
Southington, Connecticut. She was a 
woman of strong character, and to her 
counsel and encouragement her husband 
attributed much of his success. Mr. and 
Mrs. Miller were the parents of Edward 
(2), of whom further; Layette Alena, 
born January 10, 1853, married Charles 
A. Kendrick ; Arthur Eugene, born Sep- 
tember 12, 1863, died December 31, 1914; 
was educated in private school, Hartford 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



High School, class of "83," and Brown 
University ; he was his father's associate 
in business, and from 1901 superintendent 
and director of Edward Miller & Com- 
pany, and at the time of his death vice- 
president; he gathered his knowledge of 
the business from personal, practical con- 
tact with the factory department and was 
a most capable official. He was a prom- 
inent member of the Masonic order, a 
past master of Meriden Lodge, No. JJ, 
past eminent commander of St. Elmo 
Commandery, and a thirty-second degree 
Mason of the Scottish Rite. Two other 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Miller, Carrie 
M. and Emma E., died young. 



MILLER, Edward, 

Hanafactnrer. 

Second in Meriden's business world to 
bear the name, Edward (2) Miller, after 
a long association with his honored 
father, was called to succeed him as presi- 
dent of Edward Miller & Company, a 
corporation with which he has been iden- 
tified ever since his University gradua- 
tion in 1874. He came upon the scene of 
action prior to the great expansion of the 
company, and has been a potent factor in 
the development and prosperity of the 
great business of which he is the execu- 
tive head. 

Edward Miller, of the ninth American 
generation of his family, eldest son of 
Edward and Caroline M. (Neal) Miller, 
was born in Meriden, Connecticut, Feb- 
ruary I, 1851. After completing grade 
and high school study in Meriden, he 
fitted for college at the Preparatory Acad- 
emy, Suffield, Connecticut, class of 1870, 
then entered Brown University, whence 
he was graduated with honors, class of 
"74." The same year he entered the serv- 
ice of Edward Miller & Company, mas- 
tering first the details of factory manage- 



ment, then as secretary-treasurer, becom- 
ing a part of the executive staflf, an office 
he filled most efficiently from 1882 until 
1909, when upon the death of Edward 
(i) Miller he succeeded him in executive 
control. The successful career of the 
company is the best comment upon the 
strength of the management, and under 
the guidance of this twentieth century 
representative of an honored family its 
magnitude increases and its fame extends 
to many lands. He, like Edward (i) 
Miller, has a few outside business inter- 
ests, but having chosen his life work 
bends every energy to its successful pros- 
ecution. He, however, serves as a trustee 
of the City Savings Bank, director of the 
Home National Bank, Meriden Safe, 
Trust and Deposit Company, and Mer- 
iden Gas Light Company. 

A student by nature, Mr. Miller has de- 
voted a great deal of time to literature 
and to the collection of a private library, 
one of the finest in the State. He main- 
tains a deep interest in the First Baptist 
Church, has been in charge of its music, 
and with his brother, Arthur Eugene, 
gave as a memorial to his parents a mag- 
nificent pipe organ to replace the one 
donated by his father in 1869. He is a 
director of Meriden Hospital, is a most 
liberal friend of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, and a generous sup- 
porter of all good causes. His clubs are 
the Colonial, Home and Highland Coun- 
trv. He is unmarried. 



HOLCOMB, Marcus Hensey, 

Governor of Connecticnt. 

When in 1914 the law of the State of 
Connecticut automatically removed Judge 
Marcus H. Holcomb from the Supreme 
Bench, through the operation of its "age 
limitation" clause, the people of the State 
at once availing themselves of his ripened 



8 



THE MLV^ ''^nX 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX- 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



judgment, wide experience and well 
proven ability, elected him their chief 
executive, and he now sits at Hartford 
sixty-sixth in the list of Governors of the 
State of Connecticut. 

For forty years Governor Holcomb has 
been honored with the favor of his people, 
and his faithfulness in the administration 
of every trust committed to his care has 
won their unlimited confidence, that con- 
fidence being expressed at the polls by 
elevation to offices in an ascending scale 
of importance. The call to "come up 
higher" has been insistent and continuous, 
and his present office is proof that in no 
instance has that confidence been be- 
trayed or misplaced. 

Governor Holcomb is a man of com- 
manding presence and engaging person- 
ality, generous in all things and most un- 
ostentatious. His powers of observation 
are keen, he is an able analyst and synthe- 
sist, goes quickly to the root of a problem, 
possessing that executive quality that en- 
ables him to dispatch a large volume of 
business without waste of time. He has 
a deeply artistic nature, is a lover of the 
best in poetry and literature, is fond of 
the great "out-of-doors" and finds pleasure 
with gun and rod in the woods, by lake- 
side or stream. As a lawyer and jurist 
he proved his learning and wisdom, his 
love of justice, his sense of fairness, his 
conscientious regard for the sacred rights 
of others. He is now past the period al- 
lotted to man by the Scripture, but in 
thought, heart, action and deed he is but 
in his prime. 

Governor Holcomb prides himself upon 
his New England ancestry, tracing it to 
Thomas Holcomb, born in Wales in 1601, 
who came to Massachusetts in 1629, set- 
tling at Dorchester. He was made a 
freeman in 1634, locating at Windsor, 
Hartford county, Connecticut, where he 
cleared and tilled until his death at Po- 



quanock, September 7, 1657. He repre- 
sented Windsor and Hartford at the 
framing of the constitution of Connec- 
ticut Colony in 1639, and it is fitting that 
now, two and three-quarter centuries 
later, a lineal descendant should be 
charged with the enforcement of the pro- 
visions of the constitution of the State, 
born of the colonial constitution Thomas 
Holcomb helped to frame down through 
the intervening generations. Holcombs 
have been men of public spirit, repre- 
sentatives of the best thought, prominent 
in public, professional and business life. 

Governor Holcomb's father, Carlos 
Holcomb, was a farmer, strong of in- 
tellect, sound in judgment, taking more 
than a passing interest in public affairs. 
He served in the local offices of select- 
men, assessor and on the board of relief. 
His sterling character was greatly appre- 
ciated in his community, and many were 
the estates he was selected to settle as 
executor and administrator. He was 
noted for the scrupulous care he exercised 
in administering such trusts, and for the 
way in which he safeguarded the interests 
of the heirs, particularly the children of 
tender years. Carlos Holcomb married 
Adah Bushnell, a women of splendid 
mental powers, noble womanly character 
and charm, whose influence was always 
exerted for good, not only for the good of 
her own household but for the good of her 
community. 

Their son, Marcus H. Holcomb, was 
born at New Hartford, Litchfield county, 
Connecticut, November 28, 1844, conse- 
quently he is now (1917) in his seventy- 
third year. His boyhood and youth were 
spent in attendance at public school and 
as his father's farm assistant, thus far 
there being little to distinguish his life 
from that of the other farmer boys of the 
country. But he was ambitious to secure 
a college education and made suitable 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



preparation at Wesleyan Academy at 
Wilbraham. This ambition, however, was 
not to be realized, as he unduly exposed him- 
self on a very hot day and suffered a sun- 
stroke that so affected his health that col- 
lege study would have been most unwise. 
But he had laid a good foundation, and 
for a number of years he taught school, 
in time regaining full health and strength. 

During that period of his life he studied 
law, under the direction of Judge Jared B. 
Foster, an eminent member of the Con- 
necticut bar. In 1871 he had so far pro- 
gressed in his studies that he applied for 
admission to the bar, passed the required 
examination and was licensed to practice. 
He located at Southington. there begin- 
ning practice, winning in a comparatively 
short time honorable rank among the 
leaders of the county bar. His naturally 
sympathetic nature responded to a recital 
of a client's woes, and he made that 
client's cause his own and prepared it for 
presentation with greatest care, omitting 
no detail. Learned in the law and skill- 
ful in its application, his ability to analyze 
a case and marshal his facts and argu- 
ments in a logical forceful form rendered 
him most effective as an advocate before a 
jury. 

In 1876 he was elected probate judge 
for the Southington district, and was also 
judge of the Southington town court from 
the time the court was instituted until his 
election as attorney general. In 1893 he 
was elected treasurer of the Hartford 
Company, serving until 1908, also serving 
as State Senator, elected from the Second 
District. He was a member of the Consti- 
tutional Convention of 1902, a member of 
the Legislature in 1905 and speaker of 
the House, also serving on many State 
commissions at different times. In 1907 
he was elected attorney general of the 
State, his plurality being 21,000 votes. He 
served in that office until loio, then was 



appointed a judge of the Superior Court. 
In 1914, having reached the age limit of 
seventy years fixed by law, he was re- 
tired. In November, 1914, he was elected 
Governor of the State, and in 1916 was re- 
elected as Governor, an office that he is 
eminently qualified for and most honor- 
ably tills, his long experience in public 
aft'airs, added to executive ability of the 
highest order, giving him perfect control 
over every detail of his high office. Digni- 
fied, imposing and courtly, he is the ideal 
of a chief executive, impressing all with 
whom he comes in contact as perfectly 
fitted for the office he holds. Of all the 
Governors Connecticut has had in recent 
years no man has been so absolutely in- 
dependent of the machine in making his 
selections for office as Governor Holcomb. 
\\'orthy Democrats have faired as well as 
Republicans, which fact made some of 
the latter discontented, but the State did 
not suffer and practical civil service has 
been maintained despite the sorrows of 
those who fret over the halt given to a 
brand too often theoretic. 

It is significant that during the last 
weeks of January, 1916, attention was 
called to Governor Holcomb's attitude 
towards a renomination, as defined by 
Governor Holcomb himself, and not as 
an inference from his language by others 
who cannot be considered as entirely dis- 
interested. It will be remembered that 
Governor Holcomb said two years previ- 
ous that he had no ambition to be Gov- 
ernor and that as between retirement to 
private life, when he left the bench on 
his reaching the age limit of seventy 
years, and election to the office of Gov- 
ernor, he preferred the home life. But in 
spite of that declaration he was nomi- 
nated in the belief that he could do more 
than any other candidate to save the party 
from defeat. History, including political 
history, has a habit of repeating itself. 



10 




:rL<u^l >J ^ 




ExNCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Judge Holcomb was nominated against 
his expressed wishes and he yielded his 
wishes to the call of his party when he 
accepted the nomination. It is well 
known that the leaders of the Republican 
party gave an unwilling assent to the 
proposition to nominate him. He was 
not their choice and he is not their choice 
for another term. He was in political 
sympathy with the Republican party, but 
not in partisan accord with the managers. 
The fact is the machine permitted the 
nomination of Governor Holcomb in 1914 
because he was the most available man 
and not because they preferred him to 
others whose candidacies appealed with 
greater force to their sympathies. The 
people of Connecticut always show their 
inherent regard for law by confidence in 
the administrators of it. Judge Holcomb 
was on the bench giving satisfaction as 
judge, and he enjoyed the confidence of 
the State in his integrity. It was to 
secure for their party the advantage of 
this popular confidence that the Republi- 
can leaders nominated him. Fear of de- 
feat prevented the selection of the ma- 
chine favorite. Until 1888 Governor Hol- 
comb was identified with the Democratic 
party, but in that j-ear he transferred his 
allegiance to the Republican party, be- 
lieving it more in accord with economic 
principles which he deems better for the 
interests of the nation, since that year he 
has stood squarely with the party and is 
one of its strongest advocates. 

He has not confined his activities to 
strictly professional or political lines, but 
his capacity for large afifairs has been 
recognized in the management of corpo- 
rations, financial and commercial. Among 
such the more important are: The South- 
ington Savings Bank, of which he is presi- 
dent ; the Southington National Bank, 
Southington Hardware Company, the 
Peck Slow and Wilcox Company, and the 



Aetna Nut Company, all of which he 
serves as director. 

He is past master of Northern Star 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; a thirty-second degree Mason of 
the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, a 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine, a Knight of 
Pythias, an Elk, a Red Man, an American 
Alechanic and a Forester. He has been 
chairman of the board of trustees of the 
First Baptist Church, of Southington, and 
for thirty years was superintendent of 
the Sunday school. His religion is of 
the practical kind that finds its expression 
in the practice of the Golden Rule rather 
than in creed distinctions. 

He married, in 1872, Sarah Carpenter 
Bennett, who died in 1901. 

So a long life has been passed, that 
since his admission to the bar in 1871 has 
been lived in the public eye. There is 
nothing in his official life as it is reviewed 
by his constituents that causes them to 
regret the trust they have reposed in him, 
on the contrary the last public expression 
of their approval is of such recent occur- 
rence that it leads to the belief that did 
not the law forbid they would gladly re- 
tain his services. On his part Governor 
Holcomb can indulge in a retrospective 
view with great satisfaction, knowing he 
has been true to his obligations, faithful 
in the performance of every duty, true to 
his own conscience and true to those who 
have trusted him. 



SMITH, Edward Wier, M. D., 
Physician, Snrgeon. 

For thirty-five years Dr. Smith has 
practiced his profession in the city of 
Meriden, Connecticut, and there has again 
disproved the old saying that "a prophet 
is not without honor save in his own 
country," for he has risen in his native 
city to the highest professional standing. 



II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Next to his affection for Meriden, a city 
sacred in its associations, is his deep in- 
terest in Yale, an institution which was 
long the goal of his ho{)es and which later 
became his alma mater. Circumstance de- 
creed that his professional education 
should be obtained elsewhere, but Yale 
Medical School was his choice and one 
year was spent there. His A. B. came 
from Yale, and in the athletic records 
of the university his name appears as a 
member of the varsity baseball team of 
1876-77-78-79. 

Dr. Smith is a descendant of James 
Smith, born in England, who came to the 
Massachusetts Bay Colony before 1639, 
as in that year he was a proprietor of 
Weymouth. The line of descent is 
through his son, Nathaniel Smith, born 
in Weymouth in 1639; his son, Nathaniel 
(2) Smith, who moved to Hartford. Con- 
necticut, and was one of the early settlers 
of Litchfield; his son, Jacob Smith, a 
lieutenant of the Revolution ; his son, 
David Smith, born at the Litchfield home- 
stead ; his son, David (2) Smith, father 
of Dr. Edward Wier Smith. 

David (2) Smith was born in Litchfield, 
Connecticut, April 16, 1822, died in Meri- 
den. May 28, 1902. He learned the stone- 
mason's trade, and lived at Litchfield un- 
til 1854, when he moved to Meriden, 
which city was his home for half a cen- 
tury. He conducted a successful con- 
tracting business until the years grew 
heavy, then retired after a long, active 
and honorable life. He was a Republican 
in politics, a member of the First Con- 
gregational Church, and an ardent sup- 
porter of the temperance cause. He mar- 
ried, November 22, 1848, Fidelia Parker, 
daughter of Daniel and Ruth (Hull) 
Parker, of Meriden, granddaughter of 
Jesse Hull, a Revolutionary soldier, and 
his wife. Hannah (Preston) Hull, daugh- 
ter of Sergeant Jehiel Preston, also a 



Revolutionary soldier. On November 22, 
1898, Mr. and Mrs. Smith celebrated the 
golden anniversary of their wedding day 
and four years more they journeyed life's 
pathway together ere the bond was 
broken by the death of her husband. 
Mrs. Smith survived him until December 
6, 1905. They were the parents of four 
daughters and two sons : Nettie, married 
Julius Augur, of Meriden ; Frank D., of 
Meriden ; Edward Wier, mentioned be- 
low ; Ella Isabel, of Meriden ; Jennie I., 
of Meriden ; Frances E., died October 27. 
1898. 

Dr. Edward Wier Smith was born in 
Meriden, October 17. 1854, and there yet 
resides. After completing public school 
courses in Meriden, he prepared at Hop- 
kins' Grammar School in New Haven, 
and in 1874 entered Yale University, 
whence he was graduated A. B., class of 
'78, a member of that class being William 
H. Taft. later President of the United 
States. He attained class distinction at 
Yale, took a lively interest in athletics, 
was a member of the varsity baseball 
team and prominent in other phases of 
university life. Having decided upon the 
medical profession, he again chose Yale 
and for a year was a student in the medi- 
cal department. His study was inter- 
rupted by circumstances beyond his con- 
trol, and another year was spent in teach- 
ing. He then resumed study in the medi- 
cal department of McGill University, 
Montreal, Canada, and two years later, in 
1882, was graduated wtih the degree of 
M. D. Ten years later he supplemented 
his study by a course at the Post-Gradu- 
ate Medical School, New York City. After 
graduating from McGill University in 
1882, Dr. Smith located in Meriden, be- 
gan practice, and has won high standing 
as an honorable, skillful physician and 
surgeon, his clientele large and influential. 
He is senior member of the medical and 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



surgical staffs of Meriden Hospital, is an 
honored fellow of the American College 
of Surgeons, member of the American 
Academy of Medicine, the American 
Medical Association, Connecticut State 
Medical Society, and ex-president of the 
New Haven County Medical Society. His 
interest is deep in all that pertains to his 
profession, and no advance in treatment 
or method is allowed to pass without its 
virtues being closely tested. He is held 
in high regard by his professional brethren 
and is constantly sought in consultation. 
In the medical societies named he holds 
honorable rank, his election as a fellow 
of the American College of Surgeons 
coming as well deserved appreciation 
from that distinguished body of surgeons. 
In Free Masonry Dr. Smith holds all de- 
grees of the York and Scottish rites up 
to and including the thirty-second. He is 
a master mason of Meriden Lodge. No. 
JJ, a Companion of Keystone Chapter, 
a Sir Knight of St. Elmo Commandery, 
of the York Rite, and belongs to all bodies 
of Lafayette Consistory, Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite. Through his Revo- 
lutionary ancestors he has gained admis- 
sion to the patriotic order, Sons of the 
American Revolution ; is a Republican 
in politics, and a member of the First 
Congregational Church. 

Dr. Smith married, October 14, 1885, 
Helen B. Caldwell Rice, of Meriden, 
daughter of Oliver and Abbie C. (Cald- 
well) Rice, her mother a daughter of Cap- 
tain John Caldwell, of Ipswich, Massa- 
chusetts, of Welsh ancestry, and his wife, 
Eunice (Stanwood) Caldwell, daughter of 
Isaac and Eunice (Hodgkins) Stanwood. 
Oliver Rice was a descendant of Robert 
Royce, who was made a freeman of Bos- 
ton in 1634, but later came to Connecticut, 
living in Stratford and Ne.w London. His 
son, Samuel Royce, settled with his sons 
at Wallingford, where he died in 171 1. 
He was succeeded by his son, Samuel (2) 



Royce, and he by his son, Ezekiel Royce, 
a farmer, large landowner and officer in 
the French and Indian War. His com- 
mission as lieutenant was derived from 
King George II. and is one of the oldest 
documents preserved in the State. He 
died September 4, 1765, aged sixty-six. 
His son, Ezekiel (2) Royce, was born on 
the homestead in Wallingford, October 
15, 1739, became a large landed proprietor 
and a well known citizen. He was a 
soldier of the Revolution, fought at Lex- 
ington, Bunker Hill and Long Island, and 
all through the struggle for liberty bore 
an active part. He died September 3, 
1808. He married Lydia Hough, and was 
succeeded on the homestead by his son, 
Ezekiel (3) Rice (modern spelling), born 
October 8, 1777, died September 14, 1849, 
a farmer all his life. He married (second) 
Bethiah, widow of Dr. Theophilus Hall. 
Oliver Rice, son of Ezekiel (3) Rice, was 
born in the Rice homestead in the Han- 
over district of Windsor, November 17, 
1819, died February 26, 1886. After a 
brief period spent in Ohio, he returned to 
the old home and there spent his life, a 
farmer and a citizen highly esteemed. He 
married, August 27, 1846, Abbie C. Cald- 
well, a lady of rare culture and refinement. 
They were the parents of three sons and 
two daughters, the younger, Helen B. 
Caldwell Rice, the wife of Dr. Edward 
W. Smith. 

Dr. and Mrs. Smith have a daughter, 
Marion Rice Smith, and a son. David 
Parker Smith, born May 7, 1889, a gradu- 
ate of Yale, A. B., class of 1910, Yale 
Medical School, M. D., 1912, married 
Evelyn Lewis, and has a son, Edward 
Rice Smith. 



SMITH, Frank Daniel, 

Merchant, Financier. 

The ancestry of Frank D. Smith ap- 
pears in the preceding sketch of his 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



brother, Dr. E. W. Smith. It is sufficient 
to say here that the promise of a worthy 
ancestry has been fulfilled in the life of 
Mr. Smith, who has been a useful and 
successful citizen of Meriden throughout 
his active life. 

He was born July 22, 1852, at Litch- 
field, Connecticut, son of David and Fi- 
delia (Parker) Smith, and was about two 
years of age when his parents removed to 
Meriden, where they settled, and where 
the son has made his home and achieved 
a high standing while gaining success in 
business. The public schools of his day 
furnished him with a meagre education, 
and when sixteen years of age he set out 
to make his way in the great commercial 
world. His first employment was with 
the firm of Bowditch & Company, furni- 
ture dealers of Meriden, with whom he re- 
mained nearly ten years, during which 
time, by diligent attention and industry, 
he was enabled to master all the details of 
the business as conducted by that firm. 
In 1878 the firm was dissolved, and Mr. 
Smith associated with himself Mr. J. C. 
Twitchell, and they took over the busi- 
ness, under the firm name of F. D. Smith 
& Company. After some years of very 
successful trade, the name of the firm was 
changed to Smith & Twitchell, and the 
partnership continued twenty years. At 
the end of that time, in 1898, Mr. Smith 
purchased the interest of his partner, and 
continued the business under his own 
name until his retirement from active life 
in 1913, the business now being conducted 
by his son-in-law, William E. Graham. 
Besides building up a large business in 
Meriden, Mr. Smith extended his interests 
by investment elsewhere, and is now 
president of the Smith, Tompkins Com- 
pany, house furnishers of Torrington, 
Connecticut. He is also a director of the 
Puritan Trust Company, and trustee of 
the Meriden Savings Bank of Meriden. 



Mr. Smith has ever been active in pro- 
moting the social life of the community, 
and has been very active in the fraternity 
of Free Masons, in which he has acquired 
all the degrees of the York and Scottish 
rites up to and including the thirty-sec- 
ond degree. He is a master Mason of 
Meriden Lodge, No. ~j, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; a companion of Key- 
stone Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; a 
sir knight of St. Elmo Commandery, of 
the York Rite ; and is affiliated with all 
the bodies of Lafayette Consistory, An- 
cient Accepted Scottish Rite. Through 
his Revolutionary ancestors he has gained 
admission to the patriotic order. Sons of 
the American Revolution, and is a mem- 
ber of the Colonial Club of Meriden. He 
is a member of the First Congregational 
Church of Meriden, and is one of the 
active and progressive supporters of the 
Republican party in political matters. He 
is popular among his associates, and en- 
joys the friendship of a wide sphere of 
acquaintances. 

Mr. Smith married (first) October 12, 
1875, Florence J. Powers, born October 
31, 1856, daughter of Luther A. and Libbie 
J. (Clark) Powers, of Meriden. Mr. and 
Mrs. Smith are the parents of a daughter. 
Edna W., now the wife of William E. 
Graham, and the mother of a daughter, 
Lorraine S. Graham. Mrs. Florence J. 
Smith died September 29, 1909. Mr. 
Smith married (second) June 25, 1911, 
Mrs. Ida Booth Wilcox, daughter of Wil- 
liam M. and Lois W. (Hall) Booth. 



OAKEY, Peter Davis, 

Congressman, 

The career of the Hon. Peter Davis 
Oakey, of Hartford, Connecticut, has 
been a most varied and successful one, 
and exhibits a noteworthy union of char- 
acteristics and abilities, the factors in a 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



personality at present exerting a marked 
influence upon tlie public life of the com- 
munity. Although not a native of Hart- 
ford, Mr. Oakey has resided in that city 
for upwards of thirty years and identified 
himself most closely with every depart- 
ment of its life. 

The Oakey family is of Huguenot ori- 
gin, and was founded in this country by 
two brothers who came to the American 
colonies, as did thousands of their co-re- 
ligionists, to escape the oppression which 
they suffered at home following the revo- 
cation of the Edict of Nantes by Louis 
XIV. The name was spelled differently 
in those days, the form used by the 
brothers being Oukey, apparently. The 
records of these progenitors of the Ameri- 
can Oakeys are very meagre, their first 
names even being unknown. It is known, 
however, that one of them settled on 
Long Island and that he was the ancestor 
of Oakey Hall, while the other made his 
way to Albany, New York, and from 
there to New Brunswick, New Jersey. 
This brother was the great-grandfather 
of Peter D. Oakey and it has come down 
as a tradition that he served for six 
months in the Revolutionary army as a 
drummer boy. This the present genera- 
tion has from Philip Oakey, a son of the 
gentleman in question, who told it di- 
rectly to his grandson, Peter Davis 
Oakey. An exhaustive search of the 
records of that time, however, fails to dis- 
close anything of the sort but it is be- 
lieved that this may be explained by the 
fact that he was so young at the time of 
service that his enlistment was somewhat 
irregular and that no entry of any sort 
was made of it. However this may be, 
there is no doubt that he lived most of 
his life in the New Jersey town of New 
Brunswick, and was prominent in the life 
of the community. With the next gener- 
ation all the uncertainty vanishes, how- 



ever, and the life and career of Philip 
Oakey is recorded in detail. 

He was born in Albany, New York, 
but accompanied his father when a mere 
child to New Brunswick, New Jersey, and 
there grew to manhood. He learned the 
trade of cabinet maker and followed that 
occupation for the remainder of his life. 
He was married to a Miss DeMott, and 
died about 1864. 

His son, John L. Oakey, was a native 
of New Brunswick, New Jedsey, where 
he was born about 1837, and lived to the 
age of sixty-three years. He was a man 
of considerable enterprise and carried on 
a number of separate occupations, rising 
to a position of prominence in the com- 
munity. He was educated in the local 
public schools, and later in life became a 
farmer. He also engaged in a mercantile 
venture and owned a mill which he oper- 
ated successfully. He entered politics 
while still a young man, and eventually 
became a power in local affairs and repre- 
sented his district in the New Jersey Leg- 
islature, in 1880. He was married to 
Sarah E. Wilson, of Millstone, New Jer- 
sey, a daughter of John Wilson, of that 
place, and to them were born three chil- 
dren as follows : John W., now deceased ; 
Peter Davis, the subject of this sketch : 
and Ella C, now Mrs. John Remsen, of 
Millstone. 

Peter Davis Oakey was born February 
25, i860, at Millstone, Somerset county, 
New Jersey. He received his name from 
his paternal uncle, the Rev. Peter Davis 
Oakey, a graduate of Rutgers College, 
and a Presbyterian clergyman who was 
located for some thirty years at Jamaica, 
Long Island. His nephew, the Mr. Oakey 
with whom we are concerned, passed the 
early years of his life in his native place, 
engaged in the characteristic occupations 
and pastimes of childhood, chief among 
the former being the acquirement of an 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



education. This he obtained at the local 
public schools, and upon completing it 
engaged in the milling business with his 
father until the year 1882. He was then 
twenty-two years of age, and about the 
same time his father purchased a large 
farm in the eastern part of Maryland on 
the coast. This the young man and his 
brother were put in charge of and re- 
mained upon it for about two years, bring- 
ing it to a state of cultivation. Mr. Oakey 
then returned to New Jersey and there 
occupied himself upon the family farm 
until the year 1886. The young man, 
however, was ambitious to take part in 
the affairs of a larger community than 
that of the rural region of his birth, and 
accordingly sought a connection with 
some mercantile concern. In this he was 
successful, and at the age of twenty-six 
years was given charge of the New Eng- 
land branch of the Mapes Fertilizer Com- 
pany, coming to Hartford to establish his 
headquarters. This was the beginning of 
his long and close association with that 
city in business and politics, and from 
that time it became his permanent home. 
The post was a most responsible one for 
a man of Mr. Oakey's years, the Mapes 
concern being one of the largest in that 
line of business in the country, but he 
proved himself fully equal to the task and 
remained in charge for five years, de- 
veloping the business in his territory to 
great proportions. So successful was he 
that the attention of other mercantile 
concerns were drawn to him, and in 1891 
he was offered the managership of the 
Hartford Lavine Company, which he ac- 
cepted and continued to hold until that 
large business was sold four years later. 
It was at this time that Mr. Oakey en- 
tered an entirely different line of busi- 
ness, which eventually proved the door 
through which he entered politics. He 
had considerable ability as a writer and 



secured a position with the Hartforc 
"Courant," which he held four years. This 
work threw him into contact with gov- 
ernment circles to a great extent, and iii 
1895 he was appointed city collector. He 
held this position for three years, until 
1898, when he became city assessor. 

In taking the step from business mto 
politics, Mr. Oakey may be said to have 
found the proper department for his 
talents. Successful as he was in his 
former field, it was here that he really 
was at home. From early youth he had 
always had a keen interest in the conduct 
of public affairs, and was a staunch sup- 
porter of the principles and policies of the 
Republican party. His activity and ability 
soon made him a leader in the local coun- 
cils of his party, and in 1914 he became 
the candidate for Congress from the First 
District of Connecticut. In the campaign 
which followed he was a most effective 
exponent of the issues that his party stood 
for and was successfully elected. On the 
fourth of March he resigned from the 
assessorship of Hartford, an office he had 
held for seventeen years, to take his seat 
in the august body to which he had been 
elected. Mr. Oakey's record in Congress 
is a most creditable one, and he is even 
now performing an invaluable service to 
his constituency, to his party, and to the 
community-at-large. His first speech in 
the House was well received by membtrs 
of his own party, who called for an x- 
tension of his time when the limit fixed 
for that occasion (four minutes) had "x- 
pired. The speech was on the ShacHe- 
ford federal highway bill, which was op- 
posed by Mr. Oakey on the general 
ground that those who have already s.ip- 
plied themselves with good roads at tleir 
own cost should not be compelled to 
build roads for others who have neglected, 
or been unable, to do the same. Perh 'ps 
he did not make sufficient distinction )e- 



16 



THE NE\v YORK 

PUBLIC library! 

ASTOR. LENOX 
TILDEN fCJi.DAT... 




^^s^..,^^?-^^'.:^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tween neglect and inability, but he made 
plain the progress that had been accom- 
plished in his own State in road building. 
The following are extracts therefrom: "I 
am not particularly concerned that this 
bill is reputed to be a plank in the Balti- 
more platform, for that somewhat re- 
markable document has already been rele- 
gated to the realm of political action by 
executive order." He declared himself 
little interested in the constitutionality of 
the proposition, because, in his own 
words : "In the first place I do not know 
whether it is constitutional or not, and in 
the second place, that ancient document 
has become irrelevant among friends." "I 
do not believe that her (Connecticut's) 
taxpayers who now feel in some sense the 
burden of home, State or local road im- 
provements will feel kindly in being taxed 
for the rural highways of those which have 
not taken, or do not seem inclined to take, 
the initiative in this great improvement." 
Besides his more special activities Mr. 
Oakey has been a conspicuous participant 
in the general life of the community, espe- 
cially in social and club circles. He is a 
member of Lafayette Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Norwich, Con- 
necticut ; Consistory, Knights 

Templar; and the Sphinx Temple, An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is also a member of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and an ex-ruler of Hartford Lodge there- 
of, also a member of the Knights of 
Pythias and the Ancient Order of For- 
esters. Besides these orders, Mr. Oakey 
is a member of many prominent clubs, 
among which should be mentioned the 
Hartford Club, the Republican Club of 
Hartford, the Thames Club and the Union 
League Club of New Haven, and the Na- 
tional Press Club of Washington, D. C. 
He is a Presbyterian in religion, and a 
prominent member of the First Presby- 
terian Church of Hartford. 

Conn— S~2 jy 



Mr. Oakey married Mrs. Ada H. Garde, 
the widow of William H. Garde. 

A career as brilliant as that of Mr. 
Oakey, which has resulted in his reach- 
ing a place so high in the trust of the 
people at an age when his powers are at 
their zenith, certainly holds forth a most 
tempting prospect to him for the future, 
and to the community the promise of 
faithful and effective service in ever 
higher and more responsible capacities. 



BILL, William Coe, 

Manufacturer and Importer. 

The Bill family of England has an an- 
cient and honorable record, extending 
back almost to the beginning of the use 
of surnames in that country. The name 
means a kind of weapon, and the progeni- 
tor doubtless took his surname from his 
occupation in war, a bill-man. A bill was 
a kind of battle-ax. The family came 
originally from Denmark, according to 
the best authority and located in Shrop- 
shire, England, where for some five cen- 
turies it has been numerous and promi- 
nent, and also in Wiltshire and Stafford- 
shire. Dr. Thomas Bill, born 1490, a 
prominent physician, was an attendant of 
Princess Elizabeth. John Bill, born 1576, 
was a well-known publisher of London, 
"publisher to King James I., Alost Ex- 
cellent Majestic" in 1613, and one of the 
first books that he published was written 
by the king. After he received his royal 
license his place of business became 
known as Printing House Square, by 
which it is still known. John Bill mar- 
ried Anne Mountford, authoress of a book 
entitled "Mirror of Modestie," published 
in 1621. She died May 3, 1621, aged thir- 
ty-three years. He married (second) Joan 
Franklin, of Throwley, County Kent. He 
made his will in 1630; was buried at St. 
Anne's, Blackfriars, London. He left a 
legacy to the parish of Much Wenlock, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



where he was born. Children by first 
wife : John, mentioned below ; Anne ; 
Charles, who succeeded his father as pub- 
lisher ; Henry ; Mary. 

The Bill coat-of-arms is described: Er- 
mine two wood-bills (battle-axes) sable 
with long handles proper in saltire a chief 
azure, a pale or, charged with a rose gfules 
between two pelicans' heads erased at the 
neck, argent. There was a William Bill 
buried at Westminster Abby and the 
coat-of-arms are engraved on his tomb. 

(II) John (2) Bill, son of John (i) Bill, 
was the immigrant ancestor, according to 
the researches of the author of the Bill 
genealogy. With his wife Dorothy he 
came to this country before 1635. Their 
children, John, aged thirteen, and Marie, 
aged eleven years, came to Boston in 1635, 
John in the ship "Hopewell' and Marie in 
the ship "Planter." John Bill died in 1638, 
and a month later Richard Tuttle became 
responsible to the town for Dorothy Bill, 
widow, "sojourner at his house" and "for 
anything about her." It is believed that 
she was Tuttle's sister. From John Bill 
all of the surname in this country are de- 
scended. Children : James, born in Eng- 
land in 1615; Thomas, born about 1618; 
Philip, mentioned below ; John, born 1622 ; 
Mary, 1624. 

(III) Philip Bill, son of John (2) Bill, 
■was born in England about 1620. He 
lived at Pulling Point in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where his mother Dorothy and 
brother James also settled. He moved 
to Ipswich, Massachusetts, and in 1667 
or 1668 to New London, Connecticut, 
after spending some months visiting rela- 
tives at Pulling Point. He settled on the 
east side of the Thames river in that part 
of the town that was incorporated as 
Groton, in 1705, and became the owner 
of a large amount of real estate. He died 
July 8, 1689, of throat distemper, and his 
daughter Margaret died the same day. 



His widow Hannah married (second) 
Samuel Buckland, of New London, and 
died in 1709. Children: Philip, born 
about 1659; Mary, about 1661 ; Margaret, 
about 1663 ; Samuel, about 1665 ; John, 
mentioned below ; Elizabeth ; Jonathan, 
baptized November 5, 1671 ; Joshua, born 
October 16, 1675. 

(IV) John (3) Bill, son of Philip Bill, 
was born about 1667. He went with his 
father to New London. He married (first) 
Mercy Fowler; (second) Hannah Rust. 
He finally located in Lebanon, and was 
highway surveyor there. He died in 1739. 
His will was dated April 21, 1736, proved 
January 28, 1739. Children: John, bap- 
tized December 16, 1696; Abigail, No- 
vember I, 1702; born at Lebanon: James, 
mentioned below ; Laurana ; Benajah. 

(V) Lieutenant James Bill, son of John 
(3) Bill, was born at Lebanon, Connec- 
ticut, September 20, 1703, and died No- 
vember 9, 1781 (gravestone). He mar- 
ried, in 1727, Kezia French, daughter of 
John French. He resided in the village 
of Goshen, part of Lebanon ; was high- 
way surveyor, grand juror. He and his 
wife quitclaimed their rights in land of 
John French at Norwich. His will was 
dated March 20, 1781, proved November 
27, 1781. Her will was dated May 20, 
1783, proved March 13, 1786. They lived 
in later life in Exeter, part of Lebanon. 
Their gravestones are standing in the old 
burial ground there. Children : Lurania, 
bom August 29, 1728; Amos; Peleg, 
mentioned below ; James, born February 
20, 1736; Oliver, October 27, 1737; Lucy; 
Kezia, March 14, 1741-42; Betty, Septem- 
ber 5, 1746. 

(VI) Peleg Bill, son of Lieutenant 
James Bill, was born in Lebanon, Con- 
necticut, January 8, 1733. He lived in 
Colchester, and was a soldier in the 
French and Indian War in the campaign 
near Lake George, and presumably died 



18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the service. His widow Jerusha mar- 
ried Lemuel Clark, of Mansfield, Connec- 
ticut, March 9, 1763. Children: Jerusha, 
baptized July 25, 1756; Abiel, mentioned 
below. 

(VII) Abiel Bill, son of Peleg Bill, was 
born at Colchester, Connecticut, June 18, 
1758. He owned land in Lebanon and 
probably lived in the village of Exeter. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution and 
in 1832 was a pensioner on account of his 
service. (Page 655, "Revolutionary Rolls 
of Connecticut.") He was then living in 
New London county. Children: Chester; 
Peleg, gave deeds of land to William Bliss 
in 1820; Hosea, mentioned below; daugh- 
ter. (See p. 202, "Bill Genealogy" for 
part of the family.) 

(VIII) Hosea Bill, son of Abiel Bill, 
was born in Exeter, Connecticut, part of 
Lebanon. He was a scythe manufacturer. 
He married Clarissa Lyman, who died at 
Colchester, April 2, 1869, aged seventy- 
two years. Children : William H., men- 
tioned below ; Lydia ; Ruth. 

(IX) William H. Bill, son of Hosea 
Bill, was born in Exeter, Connecticut, a 
small hamlet, half-way between Columbia 
and Hebron, in 1826. W^hen a young man 
he removed to New London. He learned 
the mason's trade and followed it for 
many years, taking contracts and making 
a specialty of fancy plastering and all 
kinds of brick-work, both interior and ex- 
terior, and employing a number of men. 
About 1852 he removed to Norwich, and 
afterward to Hebron, where he continued 
in the same line of business. In politics 
he was a Democrat ; in religion a Metho- 
dist. He married Elizabeth Foote. Chil- 
dren : Erastus F., born at New London, 
September 3, 185 1 ; Edward Willis, men- 
tioned below. 

(X) Edward Willis Bill, son of Wil- 
liam H. Bill, was born at Norwich, Con- 
necticut, June 16, 1854. He attended the 



public schools in Hebron and Bacon 
Academy at Colchester. When he was 
about eighteen years old, he left home and 
found employment as clerk in a hat store 
in Hartford. Afterward he was traveling 
salesman for George H. Clark & Com- 
pany, dealers in hats, and a few years 
later was admitted a partner in that firm. 
The firm at that time did a large whole- 
sale and jobbing business in hats. He 
finally became the sole owner of the busi- 
ness, and in 1884 he removed to New York 
City. The firm of Bill & Caldwell was 
formed November 15, 1886, and succeeded 
to the business of George H. Clark & 
Company. Mr. Caldwell died January 
18, 1908, and a year later Mr. Bill became 
the sole proprietor, but the old name is 
retained. Bill & Caldwell are importers 
of men's stiff, soft and straw hats, with 
stores at Nos. 743-45 Broadway, New 
York City. In addition to the importing 
business, the firm has in recent years 
manufactured a large variety of hats. The 
salesmen of the firm cover the entire 
country, and the firm is the largest im- 
porters of men's hats in this country. Mr. 
Rill is a Republican in politics. He is a 
member of the Republican Club of New 
York; the New York Athletic Club, the 
Merchants' Association, the New York 
Credit Clearing House, and of various 
other commercial and social organiza- 
tions. He is a communicant of the Prot- 
estant Episcopal church. He married, 
January 25, 1878, Minnie Agnes Coe, 
daughter of William Gilmore and Jeanette 
Todd (Lee) Coe (see Coe XVII). They 
had one son, William Coe, mentioned be- 
low. Minnie Agnes Coe died April 13, 
1917. 

(XI) William Coe Bill, son of Edward 
Willis Bill, was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, July 14, 1880. He was educated 
in Columbia Institute, New York City. 
After leaving school he was for one year 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.A.PHY 



a clerk in a retail store in Winsted, Con- 
necticut. He then entered the employ of 
his father's firm, as traveling salesman, 
and continued for a period of four years. 
In 1903 he started in business on his own 
account with a retail hat store in Hart- 
ford, and has conducted it with great suc- 
cess to the present time. In 1913 he 
opened another hat store at Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Besides these two stores, 
he has an interest in his father's business 
in New York, the firm of Bill & Caldwell. 
Mr. Bill served for twelve years in the 
Governor's Foot Guard and retired with 
the rank of sergeant. He was appointed 
by the mayor of Hartford to represent the 
city at the San Francisco Exposition on 
Hartford Day. He is a thirty-second de- 
gree Mason, having taken all the degrees 
in the Scottish Rite. He is a member of 
St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Alasons ; of Pythagoras 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar ; Sphinx Temple, Order of the Mystic 

Shrine ; Consistory, Sovereign 

Princes of the Royal Secret. He is also 
a member and past exalted ruler of Hart- 
ford Lodge. No. 19, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks; of the Hartford 
Club ; the Rotary Club ; the Kinwanis 
Club ; the Nyassett Club of Springfield ; 
the Thames Club of New London ; the 
New York Athletic Club ; Founders and 
Patriots Society, and Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. 

He married, August 5, 1913, Marion 
Shirley, daughter of Francis B. Cum- 
mings, of Hartford. 

(The Coe Line). 

The English ancestry of the Coe family 
has been traced in the "Coe Genealogy" 
by J. Gardner Bartlett. The coat-of-arms 
is described: Argent, three piles wavy 
meeting near the base gules, between 



twelve martlets sable. The family in Eng- 
land descends from John Coe, of Gesting- 
thorpe, County Essex, who was probably 
born in Essex about 1340, in the reign of 
Edward III., a prominent man. In 1412, 
then about seventy years old, he settled 
his affairs, leaving a large part of his 
estate to found the Hawkwood chantries. 
He died about 1415. 

(II) John (2) Coe or Coo, as the name 

was spelled, married Eleanor . He 

was born about 1375, and died about 1425. 

(HI) John (3) Coe, son of John (2) 
Coe or Coo, was born about 1400, and 
died after 1448. He was also of Gesting- 
thorpe. 

(IV) Thomas Coe, son of John (3) 
Coe, was born about 1430, and died about 

1507- 

(V) John (4) Coe, son of Thomas Coe, 
was born about 1460; his will was proved 
in 1520. He was of Gestingthorpe ; mar- 
ried Joane Gelding, daughter of Thomas 
Golding. Children : John, the elder, of 
Gestinsjthorpe ; John, the younger ; Thom- 
as, of Halstead, County Essex. 

(VI) John (5) Coe, the younger, son 
of John (4) Coe, was of Gestingthorpe, 
born about 1495. died in 1533; married 

Margaret , who married (second) 

Richard Garrard. Children: John, the 
elder; John, the younger. 

(VII) John (6) Coe, the elder, son of 
John (5) Coe, was born in 1523, died in 
1558; lived in Maplestead and Wiston ; 

married Dorothy , who married 

(second) Robert Turner, and (third) 
Oliver Dixon. Children of John Coe: 
John, Robert, William, Thomas, Henry, 
mentioned below. 

(VIII) Henry Coe, son of John (6) 
Coe, was born in 1565, and died in 1631. 
He lived at Thorpe-Morieux ; married 

Mary , who died in 1631. Children: 

Robert, mentioned below ; William, born 
1598; Thomas, born 1601. 

(IX) Robert Coe, the American immi- 



20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



grant, son of Henry Coe, was born at 
Thorpe-Morieux, County Suffolk, Eng- 
land, and baptized there, October 26, 1596. 
In 1625 he was living at Boxford, County 
Suffolk, whence he came to this country 
in 1634. He was elected overseer of cloth 
at Boxford, April 18, 1625, and was quest- 
man of the Boxford church in 1629. He 
sailed from Ipswich, County Suffolk, Eng- 
land, in 1634, in the ship "Francis" with 
his wife and children, and settled at 
Watertown, Massachusetts. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman, September 3, 1634. In 
June, 1635, he went with others to settle 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, being dis- 
missed from the Watertown church. May 
29. 1635, and remained there about five 
years. In November, 1640, he was one of 
the founders of Stamford, Connecticut, 
where he became a leading citizen ; magis- 
trate ; deputy to the General Court. Later 
he went to Hempstead, Long Island, 
where he was elder of the church, living 
there eight years ; magistrate there under 
the Dutch government. In 1652 he lo- 
cated in Newtown, Long Island, and 
again was elder of the church. In 1653 
he went to Boston, Massachusetts, as 
deputy to get protection from the In- 
dians, and in the same year for the same 
purpose to New Amsterdam. In 1656 he 
was one of the founders of Jamaica, Long 
Island, and in 1658 was appointed magis- 
trate there by the Dutch and he held this 
office until 1664. In 1663 the town trans- 
ferred allegiance from the Dutch to Con- 
necticut, and in May, 1664, he was deputy 
to the General Court at Hartford. When 
the English captured New Amsterdam 
and Jamaica again came under the juris- 
diction of that colony, Robert Coe was 
made judge of the Courts of Oyer and 
Terminer, 1669, and high sheriff of York- 
shire. He died about 1689, aged about 
ninety-two years. 

He married (first) in England, about 



1623, Mary 



-, mother of his children, 



who was buried October 27, 1628, in Box- 
ford, England. He married (second) April 
29. 1630, in Assington, County Suffolk, 
Hannah Dearsley, who came hither with 
him. He married (third) (license dated 
February 15, 1674-75) Jane Rouse, widow 
of Edward Rouse, and formerly widow of 
John Smith, of Taunton. Children, born 
in Boxford : John, born 1625 ; Robert, 
mentioned below ; Mary, 1627 ; Benjamin, 
1628. 

(X) Robert (2) Coe, son of Robert (i) 
Coe, was born at Boxford, baptized there 
September 19, 1626. He remained in Con- 
necticut when the remainder of the family 
went to Long Island in 1644, and lived at 
Stratford. He died intestate about Sep- 
tember, 1659, aged thirty-three years. He 
married, about 1650, Hannah Mitchell, 
who was baptized at Halifax, Yorkshire, 
England, June 26. 163 1, daughter of Mat- 
thew and Susan (Butterfield) Mitchell. 
She came to this country with her 
parents, who located in Wethersfield. 
She married (second) Nicholas Elsey. of 
New Haven, and died there, April 2, 1702. 
Children, born at Stratford: Hannah, De- 
cember 14, 1651, probably died young; 
Susanna, August 16, 1653; Sarah, about 
April, 1656; John, mentioned below. 

(XI) Captain John (7) Coe, son of 
Robert (2) Coe, was born at Stratford, 
Connecticut, May 10, 1658. He lived in 
New Haven with his mother and step- 
father until he came of age. His mother 
deeded to him his father's estate at Strat- 
ford, and in 1685 he exchanged the home- 
stead for another lot on which he built a 
house and lived the remainder of his life. 
The house has been in the family for 
six generations. He was well-to-do and 
prominent ; a farmer, land speculator, mer- 
chant, miller and innkeeper. He held 
various town offices ; commissioned en- 
sign. May 25, 1698; was deputy to the 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



General Assembly in 1701 and 1715; lieu- 
tenant, May 20, 1706, and captain, Octo- 
ber 13, 1709; served in the French and 
Indian War in 1708. His will was dated 
January 29, 1740, and proved May 5, 1741. 
He married, December 20, 1682, Mary 
Hawley, born at Stratford, July 10, 1663, 
died there September 9, 1731, daughter 
of Lieutenant Joseph and Catherine 
(Birdsey) Hawley. He died April 19, 
1 741. Children, born at Stratford: Rob- 
ert, mentioned below ; Joseph, February 
2, 1686-87; Hannah, April 14, 1689; Mary, 
August II, 1691 ; John, December 5, 1693; 
Sarah, March 26, 1695 ! Ephraim, Decem- 
ber 18, 1698: Catherine, September 23, 
17CO; Abigail, November 11, 1702; Eben- 
ezer, August 18, 1704. 

(XII) Ensign Robert (3) Coe,son of Cap- 
tain John (7) Coe, was born at Stratford, 
Connecticut, September 21, 1684. When 
he came of age his father gave him a 
tract of land in Durham, of which he was 
a pioneer, and was chosen lister of the 
first town meeting; commissioned ensign, 
October, 1718. In 1721 he moved to what 
is now Middlefield, Connecticut, where he 
lived the remainder of his days. He died 
there, February 2, 1762. His will was 
dated February 21, 1761. proved February 

20, 1762. He married, December 21, 1708, 
Barbara Parmalee, born in Guilford. June 
23, 1689. daughter of Sergeant John and 
Mary (Mason) Parmalee. She died in 
Bristol. Connecticut, September 26, 1774, 
aged eighty-five years. Children, second 
to seventh born at Durham, eighth to 
thirteenth at Middlefield : John ; Jona- 
than, mentioned below ; Martha, March 

21, 1712-13: Ebenezer, August 21, 1715; 
Mary, April 4 or 11, 171 7; Robert, June 
II, 1719; Hannah, April 12, 1721 ; Robert, 
baptized June 17, 1723; Jedediah, August 
4, 1725; Thomas, May 18, 1727; Reuben, 
November 17, 1728; William, April 29, 
1730; Rachel, September 6, 1732. 



(XIII) Jonathan Coe, son of Ensign 
Robert (3) Coe, was born in Durham. 
Connecticut, about February, 1710-11. He 
bought land in the wilderness in what is 
now Torrington, Connecticut, and became 
the first permanent settler there, remain- 
ing until 1784, when he went to Winches- 
ter, Connecticut, where he spent his last 
jears, and died April 23, 1795. He was 
one of the founders of the Torrington 
church ; deputy to the Connecticut As- 
sembly in 1762, 1764 and 1765. He mar- 
ried, September 23, 1737, Elizabeth Elmer, 
born 17x0, died June 28, 1794, daughter of 
Deacon Jonathan and Mary Elmer, of 
Windsor. Children, born at Torrington : 
Oliver, born September 3, 1738; Robert, 
March 28, 1740; Jonathan, mentioned be- 
low; Elizabeth, September 15, 1743; Jeru- 
sha, March 2"], 1746; Martha, January 15, 
1749; Ebenezer, December 2, 1750; Lu- 
cretia, June 9, 1755. 

(XIV) Ensign Jonathan (2) Coe, son 
of Jonathan (i) Coe, was born at Tor- 
rington, Connecticut, August 20, 1742. 
He bought of his brother Robert a farm 
at Winchester, whither he removed and 
lived until 1796. when he settled in that 
part of the town now Winsted. and died 
there August i, 1824. He was the founder 
of Methodism in W^inchester. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution, ensign in Cap- 
tain John Hill's company, in New York, 
1778 ; also on a committee of army supply. 
He married (first) April 15, 1767, Eunice 
Cook, born March 5, 1746, died April 12, 
1818, daughter of Deacon John and Rachel 
(Wilson) Cook, of Torrington. He mar- 
ried (second) Sarah (Cook) Hurlburt, 
born October 31, 1750, sister of his first 
wife. Children by first wife, the first born 
at Torrington. the others in Winchester: 
Lavinia, February 11, 1768; Jonathan, 
mentioned below ; Eunice, March 23, 1772 ; 
Roger, July 27, 1774; Rhoda. March 27, 
1777; Huldah, January 3. 1779; David. 



22 



T!;E lilY 



Yi 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February ii, 1781 ; Daniel, February 2, 
1783; Eben, July 9, 1785. 

(XV) Jonathan (3) Coe, son of Ensign 
Jonathan (2) Coe, was born in Winches- 
ter, Connecticut, March 23, 1770. He set- 
tled on a farm in Winsted in that town, 
where he built a brick house on what is 
known as Meadowbrook Farm, and lived 
there to the end of his life. He was select- 
man, 1819 to 1825; representative in the 
Legislature, 1822-23-25-28, and was justice 
of the peace. He died at Winsted, May 
31, 1849. He married (first) October 3, 
1792, Charlotte Spencer, born at Say- 
brook, April 4, 1773, died July 15, 1842, 
daughter of Thomas and Phebe (Grin- 
nell) Spencer, and a descendant of John 
and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, who came 
in the "Mayflower." He married (third) 
November 30, 1848, Betsey (Miller) Wet- 
more, of Wolcottville, Connecticut, born 
a-t Torrington, November 8, 1770, daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer and Thankful (Allin) 
Miller, and widow of Ebenezer L. Wet- 
inore. She died September 18, 1850, aged 
eighty years. Children, born at Winches- 
ter: Jehiel, mentioned below ; Chloe, born 
February 24, 1797; Wealthy, March i, 
3799; Charlotte, August 24, 1801 ; Asahel, 
April 4, 1804; Sylvia, August 12, 1806; 
Huldah, April 6, 1809; Jane, August 14, 
;8i2; Ruth, April 5, 1814. 

(XVI) Jehiel Coe, son of Jonathan (3) 
(3oe, was born at Winsted, in Winchester, 
Connecticut, October 5, 1794. He suc- 
ceeded to his father's homestead. Meadow- 
brook Farm, and lived there all his active 
life. He died April 15, 1875. He mar- 
ried (first) September 4, 1816, Amanda 
Betsey Case, born in Simsbury, Connecti- 
cut, April 28. 1797, daughter of Luke and 
Betsey (Adams) Case. She died in Win- 
sted, February 18, 1855. He married (sec- 
ond) September 25, 1856, Harriet E. Sage, 
widow of Hiram Sage. Children by first 
wife, born at Winsted : Charlotte, De- 



cember 21, 1817; Luke Case, June 13, 
1821 ; Spencer Wallace, October 15, 1827; 
William Gilmore, mentioned below ; Mary 
Jane, June 20, 1831. 

(XVII) William Gilmore Coe, son of 
Jehiel Coe, was born at Winsted, Connec- 
ticut, September 10, 1829. He studied 
law and was admitted to the bar in 185 1 ; 
after a few years of practice in New 
Britain, Connecticut, he returned to Win- 
sted in 1857 and practiced there. He was 
an organizer and officer of the Western 
Connecticut Railroad ; served two terms 
in the Assembly ; was postmaster of Win- 
sted from 1858 to 1872; active in the 
church. He was president of the com- 
mittee in charge of the Centennial in 1871. 
He died at Winsted, May 31, 1872. He 
married (first) September 15, 1852, Mar- 
tha Amelia Williams, born at Ballston, 
New York, daughter of Uriah and Jane 
(Scribner) Williams; She died October 
6, 1854, at Jonesville, New York. He mar- 
ried (second) May 27, 1856, Jeanette Todd 
Lee, born at New Britain, March 9, 1834, 
died February 4, 1910, daughter of Lo- 
renzo P. and Jeanette Todd (Hills) Lee; 
a talented woman, especially in music and 
art. Child by first wife: Martha Jane, 
born at Jonesville, September 17, 1854, 
married Pliny Garnsey Brooks. By sec- 
ond wife : Minnie Agnes, at Winsted, Oc- 
tober 31, 1857, married Edward W. Bill 
(see Bill X) ; Alice Lee, at Winsted, Au- 
gust 12, 1859. 



COLLINS, Benjamin White, 
Bnsiness Man. 

The Collins coat-of-arms is as follows : 
Vert, a grififin segreant or, beaked, legged 
and ducally gorged argent. Crest: A 
demi griffin or, beaked, legged and ducally 
gorged argent. Since 1663 descendants of 
John Collins, of Boston, Massachusetts, 
have been identified with the State of 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, John (2) Collins, son of the 
founder, settling in Middletovvn, in that 
year. Meriden soon became the family 
seat of this branch, and they have been 
important factors in business and civic 
life. Benjamin White Collins, a twentieth 
century representative, has long been an 
important factor in corporative enter- 
prises in association with his honored 
father, Aaron L. Collins, in agriculture 
and business, and his successor as presi- 
dent of the Meriden Grain & Feed Com- 
pany. The name is an honored one in 
Connecticut, and in the present, as in the 
past, is borne by men of public spirit and 
enterprise. John Collins, of Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, brother of Deacon Edward 
Collins, probably came from England a 
few years earlier than his brother. He 
was admitted to the church at Boston, 
April 4, 1646, and took the freeman's oath 
the following May 6. Like his brother 
he led an active life, was a shoemaker and 
tanner, and in 1640 had a grant of land at 
Braintree. He was a member of the An- 
cient and Honorable Artillery Company of 
Boston. He died March 29, 1670. By his 
wife Hannah he had sons, John (2) and 
Thomas; daughters, Susannah and Eliza- 
beth. 

John (2) Collins may have been born 
in England, and come to New England 
with his parents. This, however, is con- 
jecture. In Boston he learned his father's 
trade, tanner and shoemaker, and worked 
with him until 1663 when he went to 
Middletown, Connecticut, at about the 
same time as did his cousins, Samuel and 
Rev. Nathaniel Collins. In 1664 he moved 
to Saybrook with Samuel Collins, signed 
the New Plantation Covenant of Bran- 
ford, and in December, 1669, was at Guil- 
ford, Connecticut. In 1682 he was ap- 
pointed to teach the grammar school for 
a quarter of the year on trial. This serv- 
ice must have proved satisfactory, as he 



taught the school for several years there- 
after. His will was proved January i, 
1704-05. His first wife Mary died in 1667. 
He married (second) June 2, 1669, Mary, 
daughter of John Stevens, and widow of 
Henry Kingsworth. He married (third) 
March 6, 1699, Dorcas, daughter of Sam- 
uel Swain, and widow of John Taintor, 
who survived him and married a third 
husband, William Wheeler. By his first 
wife he had a daughter, Mary, and sons, 
John and Robert. 

Robert Collins was born in 1667, died 
August 20, 1745. He resided in Middle- 
town and Meriden, Connecticut, had a 
house and listed in Guilford in 1690, 
joined the church in Meriden, October 
22, 1729, and was in Wallingford in 1735 
and 1740. His will, dated January 2, 1741, 
was proved September 2, 1745. His first 
wife, Lois (Bennett) Collins, of South- 
ampton, Long Island, died in 1704. He 
married (second) June 3, 1707, Eunice, 
daughter of Edward and Elizabeth Foster. 
By his second wife he had a daughter, 
Mary, and sons, Robert and Edward. Ed- 
ward Collins, son of Robert Collins and 
his second wife, Eunice (Foster) Collins, 
was born at Meriden, Connecticut, August 
7, 171 1, died there. January 2, 1802. He 
married, August 29, 1738, Susanna Peck, 
and had a daughter, Molly, and sons, 
Daniel and Samuel. 

Daniel Collins, eldest son of Edward 
and Susanna (Peck) Collins, was born in 
Meriden, February 16. 1741, and there 
died November 10, 1819. He was a soldier 
of the Revolution, always known as Cap- 
tain Dan Collins. He was a member of 
the Second Company, Captain Havens, 
serving as sergeant from May 6 to June 
10, 1775. He reenlisted in 1777 and re- 
signed in 1778. He again was in the serv- 
ice in 1779, was a captain in 1780. and in 
1818 was granted a pension. He married, 
May 17. 1774, Susanna Lyman, daughter 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Captain Aaron Lyman, of Wallingford. 
Children: Molly, married Benjamin Cur- 
tis ; Susanna, married Jonathan Edwards ; 
Lucy, married a Mr. Moran ; Aaron ; Ly- 
man, of further mention; Betsey, married 
Colonel Stephen Seymour. 

Lyman Collins, son of Edward and Su- 
sanna (Lyman) Collins, was a soldier of 
the War of 1812. He married Elizabeth 
(Betsey) Carter, daughter of Salmon Car- 
ter, of Wallingford, and had children: 
Aaron Lyman, of further mention ; Charles 
H., a manufacturer and merchant, mar- 
ried Sarah C. Brooks ; Lucy A., married 
N. P. Ives. 

Aaron Lyman Collins, son of Lyman 
and Elizabeth (Carter) Collins, was born 
at the Collins homestead. East Main street, 
Meriden, December 20, 1820, and there re- 
sided until his death, March 28, 1903. He 
attended the public school, and remained 
his father's farm assistant until coming of 
legal age, then with his brother, Charles 
H. Collins, started a grocery business in 
Meriden "Center." This partnership was 
dissolved in 1856, and then he became an 
employee of the cutlery firm of Pratt, 
Ropes & Webb, a business established in 
Meriden in 1846. The same year the busi- 
ness was incorporated as the Meriden 
Cutlery Company, Mr. Collins continu- 
ing in constantly increasing positions of 
responsibility until 1878, when he was 
elected president of the company, a posi- 
tion he held until his death. He also held 
official relation with other important busi- 
ness enterprises of Meriden ; was presi- 
dent of the Wilcox Silver Plate Company 
until its absorption by the International 
Silver Company; president of the Meri- 
den Grain & Feed Company ; director of 
the Home National Bank and trustee of 
the City Savings Bank. He was a man of 
high business quality and sterling char- 
acter, a natural leader, a loyal friend and 
neighbor. He married Sylvia White, 



daughter of the Rev. Benjamin White, of 
Middlefield, Connecticut. Sons: Charles 
Lyman, Edward John and Benjamin 
White Collins. 

Benjamin White Collins, son of Aaron 
Lyman and Sylvia (White) Collins, was 
born at the Collins homestead. East Main 
street, Meriden, Connecticut, May i, 1859. 
He attended the old Center street school, 
and until 1895 was associated with his 
father in the cultivation of the home farm 
and in the raising of blooded horses and 
cattle. In 1895, still in association, they 
assumed the ownership and management 
of the hay, grain and feed business of A. 
S. Russell, located on South Colony street, 
Meriden. They conducted that business 
as a firm until December, 1897, then in- 
corporated it as the Meriden Grain & 
Feed Company, Aaron L. Collins, presi- 
dent; Benjamin W. Collins, manager, and 
since his father's death he has been presi- 
dent and treasurer. Thanks to his early 
training and association with his honored 
father, he has continued business enter- 
prises along both agricultural and manu- 
facturing lines, and in addition to his in- 
terests in the Meriden Grain & Feed Com- 
pany is an important stockholder in one 
of the largest potato dealing companies 
in all New England, and a large owner of 
real estate. He is an excellent business 
man, a good friend and neighbor, genial 
and friendly, highly esteemed in his com- 
munity. He is a member of the State 
Agricultural Society (ex-secretary) ; Meri- 
den Agricultural Society (ex-president) ; 
ex-treasurer of the Cattle Breeders' Asso- 
ciation, and a member of the Boston 
Chamber of Commerce. He has, in ad- 
dition to the interests named, acquired 
important holdings in Meriden corpora- 
tions and is closely identified with their 
management. He is president of the Meri- 
den Braid Company ; director of the 
Meriden Cutlery Company ; and a direc- 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tor of the Home National Bank. Hardly 
yet in the prime of life he has accom- 
plished much, but with his broad vision 
and business ability he may aspire to any 
position in the business world. In the 
Masonic order he is popular and promi- 
nent, holding the thirty-second degree of 
the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite, 
and all the degrees of Center Eodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Keystone Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Hamilton Council, 
Royal and Select Masters ; and St. Elmo 
Commandery, Knights Templar. He is 
also a member of Pyramid Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine. In political faith he 
is a Republican, and served for years on 
the Meriden School Board. His clubs are 
the Masonic, Home, and Highland Coun- 
try. 

Mr. Collins married, March 5, 1895, 
Sophy Lowell Northrop, daughter of Lu- 
cius Northrop. They are the parents of 
a daughter Betsey, born October 9, 1901. 



COWLES, Walter Goodman, 

Laxryer, Insnrance. 

John Cowles, immigrant ancestor, was 
born in the west of England, it is thought, 
about 1598. He came from there to this 
country in 1635, locating in Massachu- 
setts. He came to Hartford, Connecticut, 
1635-39, in 1640 he removed to Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, and in 1652 was one of 
the organizers of the church there. He 
purchased land at the north end of Farm- 
ington village, which he later sold, and 
purchased three lots just south of the 
present meeting house and erected a 
house there. He was deputy to the Gen- 
eral Assembly in 1653-54. He removed 
to Hadley, Massachusetts, about 1663, but 
was probably not among the first settlers. 
His remains were interred in the cemetery 
at South Hadley. He was one of the com- 
mittee that laid out a burying place for 



the town, February 14, 1669, and there 
was no other cemetery there until 1848. 
He spelled his name Cowles in order to 
distinguish himself from another man 
named Cole of the same town ; and from 
that time to the present the descendants 
of his eldest son Samuel have spelled the 
name Cowles and those of the youngest 
son John, until the beginning of the nine- 
teenth century, favored the spelling Cowls. 
His widow, Hannah Cowles, went to live 
with her son-in-law, Caleb Stanley, of 
Hartford, where she died, March 16, 1683, 
and was buried there. Her will was dated 
October 27, 1680, and in it she states that 
her husband's last will was dated Decem- 
ber 11, 1674. Children: Samuel, mentioned 
below ; John, born 1641 ; Hannah, 1644, 
married Caleb Stanley, of Hartford ; Sarah, 
1646. married Nathaniel Goodwin ; Esther, 
1649, married Thomas Bull; Elizabeth, 
1651, married Edward Lyman; Mary, 
June 24, 1654, married Nehemiah Dickin- 
son. 

(II) Samuel Cowles, eldest son of John 
and Hannah Cowles, was born in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1639, and died in 
Farmington, Connecticut, April 17, 1691. 
He resided at Farmington practically all 
his life, his parents removing there in 
1640, and was one of the eighty-four pro- 
prietors of the town in 1672. He became 
the progenitor of the Connecticut branch 
of the family, his brother John being the 
ancestor of the Massachusetts branch. 
He married, February 14, 1660, Abigail, 
daughter of Timothy Stanley, one of the 
leading men of Hartford, who came from 
County Kent, England, in 1634, and was 
a member of the Rev. Hooker's company 
that went from Cambridge to settle Hart- 
ford in 1636. Children, born at Farming- 
ton : Samuel, March 17, 1661 ; Abigail, 
January, 1663, married Thomas Porter; 
Hannah, December 10, 1664; Timothy. 
November 4, 1666; Sarah, December 25, 



26 



Ti'" T'EV "Cr.K 
PUBUC LIBi.ARY 



ASTOR, LErrox. 
TII-D-EN tOUyP'ATtOlStS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1668, married Stephen Hart ; John, Janu- 
ary 28, 1670; Nathaniel, February 15, 
1673; Isaac, March 23, 1674-75; Joseph, 
January 18, 1677-78; Elizabeth, March 17, 
1680; Caleb, mentioned below. 

(III) Caleb Cowles, youngest son of 
Samuel and Abigail (Stanley) Cowles, 
was born at Farmington, Connecticut, 
June 20, 1682, and died November 15, 
1725. He settled in Kensington, then 
called the "Great Swamp," and was one 
of the original "seven pillars" of the 
church formed there, December 10, 1712. 
He married, August 8, 1710, Abigail, 
daughter of Joseph Woodford. She died 
in 1736. Children: Hezekiah, born 1711, 
died 1736; Daniel, mentioned below; 
Caleb, Jr., born 1719, died 1753. 

(IV) Daniel Cowles, son of Caleb and 
Abigail (Woodford) Cowles, was born at 
Kensington, Connecticut, December 14, 
1717, and died in 1798. Previously he had 
disposed by sale of his property in Ken- 
sington and removed to Worthington, lo- 
cating on Lovely street (now West Avon), 
where he spent the remainder of his days. 
He married Martha Powell, who died in 
1810, aged ninety years. Children: Dan- 
iel, mentioned below; Selah, died 1821 : 
Ziba. 

(V) Daniel (2) Cowles. son of Daniel 
(i) and Martha (Powell) Cowles, was 
born in 1741, and died in Worthington 
(West Avon) in 1809. He was a soldier 
in the Revolution. He removed from 
Kensington to Lovely street, Worthing- 
ton (West Avon), in 1779, and there spent 
the remainder of his days. He married, 
April 25, 1765-66, Esther Rhodes, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Rhodes. She died in 1815. 
aged seventy-three years. Children: Dan- 
iel, born 1767; Lemuel, mentioned below; 
W^illiam, born 1781. 

(VI) Lemuel Cowles, son of Daniel 
(2) and Esther (Rhodes) Cowles, was 
born in 1776, and died in 181 5. He mar- 



ried Esther Gridley, daughter of Seth 
Gridley, who was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion. Children: Walter H., born in 1802, 
died same year; Walter Hamilton, men- 
tioned below ; Edward, born in 1806. 

(VII) Walter Hamilton Cowles, son of 
Lemuel and Esther (Gridley) Cowles, was 
born at the old homestead on Lovely 
street, West Avon, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 15, 1803. When he was twelve years 
of age his father died. He had an invalid 
mother and one brother, then nine years 
of age. After the death of his mother, 
the home farm was divided between the 
brothers, and Walter H. sold his part and 
opened a country tavern. At one of the 
country fairs he exhibited a working 
model of a railroad train, then a most 
decided curiosity, and this demonstrated 
that he possessed inventive genius. Later 
he occupied and conducted a large farm 
known as the Gridley Farm in Unionville 
(a village in Farmington). About 1850 
he, with his son Samuel, began the manu- 
facture of soap. The start was made with 
a rough iron kettle bought at a junk shop 
for thirty-five cents and some wood ashes 
and "soap grease" picked up in the neigh- 
borhood. The sole product was "soft 
soap," so common in those days. The 
soap was traded for more ashes and 
grease, also for the necessities of life, and 
rarely was there any sold for money. The 
father was the practical soap maker and 
the son was the salesman. He made long 
wagon trips and rapidly increased the 
volume of business. A factory became 
necessary and was built in Unionville on 
what is now called Water street. The old 
factory, altered and divided into two tene- 
ment houses, is still standing. Here the 
father developed the process of making 
"bar soap," and a little later the manu- 
facture of candles was added. In 1859 
they removed their factory to Hartford, 
locating at the foot of Talcott street, 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vhere the factory still stands. A Mr. 
Gridley was admitted as a partner and 
the firm name was then Cowles & Grid- 
ley. In 1864 the Cowles interest was 
bought by Lemuel T. Frisbie, who after- 
wards acquired the Gridley interest. 
Walter H. Cowles was considered an ex- 
pert practical soap maker and was paid 
a large sum by Mr. Williams, the now 
famous soap manufacturer of Glaston- 
bury, Connecticut, for some of his formu- 
lae and personal instruction in the soap 
maker's art. After this he was engaged 
in a general and successful real estate 
business in Hartford. The partnership 
between father and son was strictly gen- 
eral. There was never a balance sheet or 
a division. They always lived together 
and all earnings or profits of either from 
any source were put into a common fund. 
Walter H. Cowles was one of the founders 
and ardent supporters of the Windsor 
Avenue Congregational Church and was 
one of its deacons for many years. Mr. 
Cowles married, July 10, 1822, after the 
death of his mother, Azuba Steadman, 
a daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Watts) Steadman, the latter named a 
relative of Isaac Watts, the well known 
hymn writer. Mrs. Cowles was a tailoress 
of much skill. Their children were : Lem- 
uel W., born 1823, died 1878; James P., 
born 1825, died 1895 ; Samuel W., men- 
tioned below: Marietta, born 1828, died 
1831. Walter H. Cowles died February 
7, 1888, and his wife died October 22, 1872, 
aged seventy-eight years. Both are buried 
at Hartford. 

(VIII) Samuel W. Cowles, son of 
Walter Hamilton and Azuba (Steadman) 
Cowles, was born in Avon, Hartford 
county, Connecticut, November 10, 1826, 
and died at his home on Windsor avenue, 
Hartford, Connecticut, February 14, 1900. 
He engaged in business with his father, 
as aforementioned, and in 1864, when the 



business was disposed of by sale, he be- 
came identified with life insurance in- 
terests, and as a member of the Board of 
Trade was also prominently connected 
with the material growth and prosperity 
of his adopted city. He was a well in- 
formed man. being especially interested 
in historical research, and he was a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Historical Society 
from April. 1891, until his decease. He 
was one of the founders of the Windsor 
Avenue Congregational Church of Hart- 
ford, in which he took a keen interest, and 
was a member of St. John's Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; the Connecticut 
Society, Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion ; and the Putnam Phalanx, of which 
he was an honorary member. He was the 
owner of the Peregrine White Bible. He 
was highly regarded in commercial circles 
as a man of the strictest honor and in- 
tegrity, and his demise was sincerely 
mourned by a wide circle of friends and 
acquaintances. He married. December 31, 
1851, Harriet Sophia Goodman, born in 
West Hartford, June 20, 1829, died April 
24. 1896, daughter of Childs and Sarah 
(Porter) Goodman (see Goodman line). 
They were the parents of two children : 
Walter Goodman, mentioned below ; and 
Arthur James, born October 31, 1861, died 
January 29, 1904; he was the senior part- 
ner of the firm of Cowles vt Howard, 
grocers, of Hartford. 

(IX) Walter Goodman Cowles, son of 
Samuel W. and Harriet Sophia (Good- 
man) Cowles, was born in Farmington, 
Connecticut, April 4, 1857. Two years 
after his birth his parents removed to 
Hartford. Connecticut, and from that date 
to the present time (1917) he has been a 
resident of that city save as the require- 
ments of his business have made other 
residence temporarily necessary. His edu- 
cation, begun in the public schools of 
Hartford, was continued at the Connecti- 



28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cut Literary Institute, located at Suffield, 
where he completed preparatory study. 
He prepared for the profession of law at 
Yale Law School, from which he was 
graduated with the degree of LL. B., class 
of 1879, and the same year was admitted 
to the Connecticut bar. He began prac- 
tice in Hartford and in Bristol, but in 1882 
withdrew from private practice to become 
private secretary to J. G. Batterson, of 
the Travelers' Insurance Company. On 
July I, 1884, he entered the employ of the 
company to look after the company's land 
titles and legal matters, having previous 
to that date performed this work in the 
evenings during his tenure of the office of 
private secretary to Mr. Batterson, and 
thereafter devoted his entire time to that 
branch of the business for many years. 
There was trouble in Kansas, through a 
land agent, and in May, 1885, Mr. Cowles 
went to that State, expecting to remain 
only a short period of time, but he re- 
mained nearly ten years in that State and 
in Colorado looking after the company's 
interests, investments and litigation. In 
December, 1894, he returned to Hartford, 
Connecticut, and was made attorney of 
the liability department, in charge of the 
adjustments. On January 2, 1904, he was 
elected secretary of the company, and on 
January 24, 1912, was elected vice-presi- 
dent of the company, still retaining charge 
of the liability department. He was the 
organizer of the liability claim depart- 
ment of this company. He has specialized 
liability and workmen's compensation in- 
surance lines, has originated many of the 
current practices, has written extensively, 
and is an interesting and forceful public 
speaker, his services of this sort being 
much in demand. Mr. Cowles is a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Historical Society; 
Casualty, Acturial and Statistical Society ; 
St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Washington Com- 



mandery, Knights Templar ; Connecticut 
Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal 
Secret; Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; is 
past master, past high priest and past 
eminent commander of Masonic lodges in 
the West ; member of the Hartford Club, 
Hartford Golf Club, and Country Club of 
Farmington. He is a member of the 
Windsor Avenue Congregational Church, 
and was chairman of the committee for 
many years. He is a member of the Vet- 
eran Corps, Governor's Foot Guard. He 
is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Cowles married (first) June 9, 1886, 
in Cambridge, Illinois, Nellie Francis, 
born in Cambridge, April 10, 1862, died 
October 12, 1905, daughter of Morrison 
and Mary C. (Moor) Francis, the former 
named, now deceased, having been a 
farmer, stock raiser and miller. Mary C. 
(Moor) Francis was a descendant of John 
Moor (1683-1774) and his wife, Janet 
Moor (1687-1786); through their son. 
Elder William Moor (1717-1784), and his 
wife, Mollie (Jack) Moor ; their son, John 
Moor (1746-1839), and his wife, Betsey 
(Miller) Moor; their son, Captain John 
IMoor (1790), and his wife, Deborah 
(Sherman) Moor, the»latter named daugh- 
ter of Reuben Sherman, and they were the 
parents of Mary C. Moor, aforementioned. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cowles were the parents of 
three children : Francis Walter, born Oc- 
tober 28, 1888, educated in the public 
schools of Hartford, entered the Naval 
-Academy at Annapolis, Maryland, now 
engaged in business ; Donald Buford, 
born July 26, 1895, educated in the Hart- 
ford public school, Holderness School, 
Plymouth, New Hampshire, and the New 
York Military Academy at Cornwall-on- 
the Hudson, from which he was gradu- 
ated in June, 1915 ; and Richard Good- 
man, born June 18, 1900, died October 7, 

1905- 

Mr. Cowles married (second) Novem- 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 2, 1907, Mrs. Elgitha (Wyckoff) Mills, 
widow of Hiram R. Mills, of Hartford. 
Mrs. Cowles had one son by her first mar- 
riage, Hiram WyckoiT Mills, who graduated 
from Harvard College. Mrs. Cowles was 
born in Bloomfield, Connecticut, at the 
summer home of her parents, June 11, 
1859. She was the daughter of Amos 
Dayton Wyckoff, a large and successful 
importer of rubber in New York City, 
and Julia (Davis) Wyckoff. Mr. Wyckoff 
died in New York City, August 5, 1871, 
and Mrs. Wyckoff died in Hartford, June 
12, 1913. Both are buried in Bloomfield. 

(The Goodman Line). 

(I) Deacon Richard Goodman, born in 
England, 1609, settled at Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1632, removed to Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1639, where he was one of 
the original proprietors. He owned "a lot 
on Main street north of the meeting house 
yard." He was a builder and constructed 
several buildings in Hartford including 
the jail. He was elected a constable, per- 
haps the first in Hartford. He was con- 
cerned in the church dissensions and left 
with a large party of dissenters. He set- 
tled in Hadley, Massachusetts. He was 
made captain of a militia company organ- 
ized to protect the town from the Indians. 
On April 3, 1676, while walking alone in 
a field near town, he was shot by the In- 
dians from ambush. On December 8, 
1659, he married Mary Terry, daughter ot 
Stephen Terry, of Windsor. She was 
born December 31, 1635. died in 1692, and 
buried at Deerfield, ^Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren: John, born 1661, died 1725; Rich- 
ard, mentioned below ; Stephen, born 
1664; Mary, born 1665; Thomas, born 
1668, died 1670; Elizabeth, born 1671 ; 
Thomas, born 1673, died 1748; Samuel, 
born 1675. 

(II) Lieutenant Richard (2) Goodman, 
son of Deacon Richard (i) and Mary 



(Terry) Goodman, was born March 23, 
1663, and some time after 1678 he re- 
turned to Hartford, where he became 
a wealthy, influential citizen, his death 
occurring May 14. 1730. He married 
Abigail Pantry, born January 11, 1679, 
daughter of John Pantry (1650-1736) and 
his wife, Abigail (Mix) Pantry, of W^est 
Hartford, and granddaughter of John 
Pantry and his wife, Hannah (Tuttle) 
Pantry (1632-1683), and of Thomas and 
Rebecca (Turner) Mix. Six children. 

(III) Timothy Goodman, son of Lieu- 
tenant Richard (2) and Abigail (Pantry) 
Goodman, was born September 22, 1706, 
died March 12, 1786. He married. May 

7. 1735, Joanna Wadsworth, born in 1715, 
died March 10, 1768. daughter of Joseph 
Wadsworth (born 1682, died 1778) and 
his wife, Joanna (Hovey) Wadsworth, 
granddaughter of Captain Joseph Wads- 
worth (1650-1729). of Connecticut Char- 
ter memory, he having stolen the charter 
and hid it in the Charter Oak, and his 
wife, Elizabeth (Barnard) \\'adsworth, 
daughter of Bartholomew Barnard, 
and great-granddaughter of William 
Wadsworth (1632-1675) and his wife, 
Eliza (Stone) Wadsworth. Joanna (Ho- 
vey) Wadsworth was a daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Thomas Hovey (1648-1739) and 
his wife. Sarah (Cooke) Hovey (1662), 
and granddaughter of Daniel Hovey. 
Sarah (Cooke) Hovey was a daughter of 
Captain Avery Cooke (1640-1746) and his 
wife, Sarah (Westwood) Cooke (1644- 
1730). Mr. and Mrs. Goodman had nine 
children. 

(IV) Richard (3) Goodman, son of 
Timothy and Joanna (Wadsworth) Good- 
man, was born April 14, 1748, died April 

8, 1834, a resident of West Hartford. He 
married, in 1771, Nancy Seymour, born 
February 16, 1751, died January 27, 1792, 
daughter of Timothy and Lydia (Kel- 
logg) Seymour. They were the parents 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of thirteen children, of whom Childs was 
the youngest ; there were two pairs of 
twins. 

(V) Captain Childs Goodman, son of 
Richard (3) and Nancy (Seymour) Good- 
man, was born November 7, 1791. He 
was a farmer and miller of West Hart- 
ford. He married, April 10, 1822, Sarah 
Porter, born April 10, 1796, daughter of 
Jesse Porter (1758-1823) and his wife, 
Sibyl (Steele) Porter (1763-1814), daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Martha Steele, grand- 
daughter of John and Chlorinda (Whit- 
man) Porter, and great-granddaughter of 
William and Mary (Smith) Porter. Chlo- 
rinda (Whitman) Porter was a daughter 
of Solomon and Susannah (Cole) Whit- 
man, granddaughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Stoddard) Whitman, and great-grand- 
daughter of Zachariah and Sarah (Al- 
vord) Whitman, the former named the 
son of John Whitman, the latter named 
the daughter of Dr. John Alvord. Sarah 
(Stoddard) Whitman was a daughter of 
the Rev. Solomon and Esther (Warham) 
Stoddard. Captain Childs and Sarah 
(Porter) Goodman lived in the old home- 
stead on West Hartford street, and their 
granddaughter resides there at the pres- 
ent time. Children of Captain and Mrs. 
Goodman: Amelia S., born September 14, 
1824, married, April 10, 1843, Noadiah F. 
Emmons, whom she survived until 1910; 
Chester, born February 16, 1827, died 
June 12, 1885, married Maria Flagg; Har- 
riet Sophia, who became the wife of Sam- 
uel W. Cowles (see Cowles VIII) ; and 
Jennie L., born October 18, 1831, living at 
the present time (1917), married, June 28, 
i860, Henry C. Andrus. 



BRADLEY, Nathaniel Lyman, 

Mannfactnrer, Enterprising Citizen. 

The year 1852 marked the inception of 
a great Meriden enterprise, one with 



which the Bradley name has been inti- 
mately connected until the present day, 
although the humble Bradley Hatch & 
Company of 1852, with a capital of five 
thousand dollars, bore little relation to 
the great Bradley & Hubbard Manufac- 
turing Company, now enploying in their 
Meriden works over one thousand hands. 
In 1854 the Hatch Brothers withdrew, 
Walter Hubbard purchasing their stock, 
and from that time the business has been 
a Bradley and Hubbard concern, no stock 
having been sold out of that name since the 
incorporation of the Bradley & Hubbard 
Manufacturing Company in 1875, when C. 
P. Linsley acquired his interest. As treas- 
urer of the company since its organization 
and as a member of the original firm for 
twenty-three previous years, Mr. Bradley 
may justly be called its founder, a fact rec- 
ognized in the prominence given his name 
from the beginning. But the develop- 
ment of the immense business which 
bears his name is but one of the many 
activities of a long and busy life, as in 
many corporations, in civic life, church 
and society, he proved the depth of his 
interest and the generosity of his nature. 
He was a grandson of Daniel Bradley 
who, driven from his farm in Vermont by 
the British operations during the Revolu- 
tionary War, settled first in Hamden, New 
Haven county, Connecticut, and later in 
Cheshire, where he died, leaving a son 
Levi. 

Levi Bradley was born in Cheshire, No- 
vember II, 1792, died in Meriden, Con- 
necticut, March 18, 1877. His early life 
was spent on the home farm, but in his 
eighteenth year he purchased the right 
from his father to go where he liked. He 
loaded a one-horse wagon with tinware 
bought on credit, and started south, not 
offering his stock for sale until reaching 
Atlanta, Georgia. There he sold out to 
such good advantage that on his return 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



home eight months later he was able to 
pay for the goods he had sold, repay to his 
father the sum agreed upon, and to finance 
a second trip the following winter. For 
nine years he made a similar business 
journey through the south each winter, 
but after his marriage he settled perma- 
nently on his farm in Cheshire, there be- 
ing known as one of the thriftiest and 
best of farmers. He was the first man in 
his day to attempt to raise wheat in 
Cheshire, bringing the seed from New 
York. His crop of growing wheat was a 
great curiosity in the town and attracted 
many visitors. His farm was a model of 
neatness, his products invariably winning 
premiums wherever entered. He was the 
discoverer of the fact that Cheshire was 
rich in barytes, and the first to open a 
mine to take out that mineral. He ob- 
tained an option on the farm on which he 
found his first specimen, later completed 
the purchase, and after mining for a time 
sold out at a handsome profit. The pur- 
chasers worked the mine for years very 
profitably, retaining Mr. Bradley as man- 
ager, but after two years he resigned and 
again gave his sole attention to his farm. 
He was a representative in the State Leg- 
islature from Cheshire, and was a man 
highly regarded for uprightness of life 
and sound judgment. 

Levi Bradley married, September 30, 
1819, Abigail Ann Atwater, born October 
17, 1800, died May 25, 1897, daughter of 
Samuel and Patience (Peck) Atwater, of 
Cheshire, a descendant of David Atwater, 
the founder of the family in America. 
Daniel Atwater came from London, Eng- 
land, in 1638, and was one of the signers 
of the New Haven Covenant in 1639. 
The line of descent to Mrs. Bradley was 
through the founder's son Jonathan, a 
prominent merchant of New Haven, who 
married Ruth Peck, daughter of Rev 
Jeremiah and Joanna (Kitchel) Peck: 



their son, Jonathan Atwater, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, and his wife, Abigail 
Bradley ; their son, Abraham Atwater (a 
drummer boy in the American army at 
the age of fifteen ye?irs, with his father 
and brother Isaac), and his wife, Patience 
Peck ; Abigail Ann, their eighth child, and 
her husband, Levi Bradley. Mrs. Levi Brad- 
ley was a well informed woman, a wide 
reader, and until her death at the age 
of ninety-seven read without the aid of 
glasses. After their children had settled 
in Meriden, she and her husband left the 
farm and made that city their home, she 
continuing her residence there until her 
death twenty years after being left a 
widow. She was a member of Susan Car- 
rington Clarke Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. Levi and Abigail 
A. Bradley were the parents of: Em- 
meline Amelia; Samuel Atwater; Wil- 
liam Lambert ; Nathaniel Lyman, to 
whose memory this tribute of respect is 
offered ; Abby Ann, married Walter Hub- 
bard. 

Nathaniel Lyman Bradley was born at 
the home farm in Cheshire, Connecticut, 
December zj, 1829. He was reared to 
habits of industry and right living by his 
religious parents, attended public school, 
and at the age of fifteen was graduated 
from old Meriden Academy. For one year 
after graduation he was clerk in a New 
Haven hardware store, then returned 
home and remained his father's assistant 
until twenty-one. He then placed his 
little capital in a Southington clock fac- 
tory, and himself worked in the factory 
at a daily wage of one dollar and twenty- 
five cents. Later he was awarded a con- 
tract for making clocks, but clocks not 
selling as rapidly as they were being 
made, the works were shut down, and Mr. 
Bradley set out to find customers. He 
visited New York. Philadelphia, Balti- 
more and Washington, meeting with such 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGEAPHY 



success that upon his return he was made 
a director of the company and placed in 
charge of the sales department. 

In 1852, with the Hatch Brothers, his 
own brother, William Lambert Bradley, 
and his brother-in-law, Walter Hubbard, 
Mr. Bradley organized the firm of Brad- 
ley, Hatch & Company, with five thou- 
sand dollars joint capital. Two years 
later, more capital was a necessity, but 
Hatch Brothers not being able to supply 
their share, Walter Hubbard sold his dry 
goods business, bought the Hatch in- 
terest, and with the Bradleys reorganized 
as Bradley & Hubbard, and took over the 
interests of Bradley, Hatch & Company, 
establishing on the site of the present 
plant. In 1862 William L. Bradley re- 
tired, N. L. Bradley and Walter Hubbard 
continuing the partnership most success- 
fully until 1875. The business was then 
incorporated as the Bradley & Hubbard 
Manufacturing Company, the two part- 
ners selling an interest to C. L. Linsley, 
and later shares were sold to Clarence 
Peck Bradley, the four men long continu- 
ing the only stockholders and officials of 
the company — Walter Hubbard, presi- 
dent; Nathaniel L. Bradley, treasurer; 
C. L. Linsley, secretary; Clarence P. 
Bradley, his father's private secretary and 
assistant treasurer. 

The history of this business has been 
one of rapid development, due to the great 
energy and ability of Nathaniel L. Brad- 
ley and Walter Hubbard, the original 
founders. In 1852 they started in a small 
two-story wooden building and a small 
foundry. In 1870 the first large brick fac- 
tory was built, and in 1900 the plant 
covered eleven acres and employed one 
thousand hands, the subsequent growth 
having been in proportion. The company 
are the leaders in the manufacture of 
chandeliers, gas fixtures, lamps, electric 
fixtures, fancy hardware, bronzes, sta- 
tioner's supplies and architectural metal 

Coon— 3— 3 ?2 



work, the last named a department started 
in 1895. Artists, designers, modelers and 
skilled artisans are employed, artistic 
beauty being as earnestly striven for as 
excellence of quality, and New England, 
that home of manufacturing wonders, has 
few corporations which for so long have 
remained under the control of their 
founders. 

Mr. Bradley was also a director of the 
First National Bank of Aleriden; of the 
City Savings Bank; of the Meriden Fire 
Insurance Company (vice-president) ; of J. 
D. Bergen & Company, manufacturers of 
the finest grade of cut glass ; of the Meri- 
den Trust and Safe Deposit Company; of 
the Meriden Horse Railroad Company ; 
of the Republican Publishing Company, 
and had many other important business 
interests. He was a liberal supporter of 
every good cause, but was particularly 
generous to the Young Men's Christian 
Association and the First Congregational 
Church, his contributions toward the build- 
ing funds of both virtually insuring their 
success. For many years he was chairman 
of the committee of the Congregational So- 
ciety, and a strong pillar of support. He was 
a trustee of the State School for Boys, and 
president of the board of managers of 
Meriden Hospital for several years. His 
first presidential vote was cast in 1852 in 
the basement of the Cheshire Congrega- 
tional Church for the Whig candidates, 
but in 1856 and ever thereafter he voted 
the Republican ticket. He served Meri- 
den as alderman, and acting mayor, and 
gave especial attention to the improve- 
ment of the physical features of his city 
— streets, parks, and cemeteries — and as 
president of the Meriden Park Company 
accomplished a great deal. He traveled 
extensively in Europe and America, and 
many of his ideas on city beautifying 
came from his travels to the cities of the 
old and new world. 

Mr. Bradley married, October 25, 1859, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Harriet Peck, daughter of Selden and 
Lucy Hooker (Hart) Peck, of Kensing- 
ton, Connecticut. They were the parents 
of a son, Clarence Peck Bradley, his 
father's business associate and successor. 



ATWOOD, Henry Stanwood, 

Agriculturist, Public Official. 

While in point of ancestry Henry S. At- 
wood has been singularly blessed, his own 
achievement has been such that he can 
well stand upon his own merits. He be- 
gan his business life with a huge in- 
debtedness incurred by the purchase of 
the homestead farm, but his energy and 
thrift soon dissipated that black cloud, 
and in a few years he was rated among 
the substantial men of his community. 
The story of such lives cannot too often 
be told, and aside from their interest are 
to the young men both a lesson and an in- 
spiration. Self made in the truest sense, he 
has attained his success through energy, 
enterprise and integrity. He has ever been 
keenly alive to the responsibilities of citi- 
zenship, and as his sires aided to erect, so 
he has labored to maintain that political 
division known to all men as the United 
States of America, but to those born with- 
in its border as "My Country." 

His ancestry in the paternal line traces 
to Dr. Thomas Atwood, a captain of 
horse, under Cromwell "the Protector." 
He fought in the four great battles of the 
"First Civil War," including the memo- 
rable engagement at "Marston Moor," 
July 2, 1644. After retiring from the 
army. Dr. Atwood came to Massachu- 
setts, settling at Plymouth, in 1647, later 
moving to Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
where he died in 1682. He married late 
in life, his wife one whom he had first 
seen in the cradle at the first home he 
entered after landing in the New World. 
The marriage occurred in 1667, he then 



being fifty-nine years of age. He settled 
in Wethersfield, in 1663, and after his 
marriage built a brick house, to which he 
took his bride, Abigail, a girl of seven- 
teen. As a doctor he rode a wide circuit 
from Saybrook on the east, to Woodbury 
on the west, also engaging in business as 
a trader with the West Indies. Dr. Thom- 
as and Abigail Atwood were the parents 
of three sons and two daughters, the line 
of descent being through Josiah, the 
youngest son, born October 4, 1678, died 

1753- 

Josiah Atwood inherited the brick manor 
house built by his father, and also en- 
gaged in the West India trade. He pros- 
pered for a time, but the loss of a ship and 
valuable cargo so affected his fortune that 
he was obliged to surrender the manor 
house to his creditors. He was succeeded 
by his son, Ashur Atwood, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1729, died April 21, 1808, who left 
a son, Ezekiel Atwood, born August 19, 
1764, who married Hannah Francis, born 
March 22, 1770. Their youngest son. 
Francis Atwood, married Eunice E. 
White, and they were the parents of 
Henry Stanwood Atwood, to whom this 
review is dedicated. Francis Atwood was 
born August 27, 1803. He married, Janu- 
ary 14, 1840, Eunice E. White, born Janu- 
ary 18, 1805, eldest daughter of Samuel 
and Abigail (Day) White, of Granby, 
Massachusetts, further mention below. 
Francis and Eunice E. (White) Atwood 
had three sons : Herman W., born No- 
vember 22, 1840, a prominent druggist of 
New York City, died October 22, 1897 ; 
Oliver E., born September 14, 1843, died 
in Chicago, Illinois, February 11, 1888; 
Henry Stanwood. 

Henry Stanwood Atwood was born 
June I, 1847, in Hartford. After complet- 
ing courses of study in the public schools, 
he attended the Bryant & Stratton Com- 
mercial Business College at Hartford. He 



34 





'-^-^^^"-^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



began business life at the age of eighteen, 
first connecting with a mercantile house 
in New York City, where he remained one 
year. His father, then in faihng health, 
needed him at home, and in response to 
that need he resigned his position, re- 
turned home in 1867, and assumed the 
management of the paternal acres, then 
numbering one hundred and fifty. In 1868 
he attained his majority, and became the 
owner of the homestead farm by pur- 
chase, the transaction leaving him in debt 
to the extent of twenty-one thousand 
dollars. But he had carefully calculated 
the extent of the farm's producing ca- 
pacity, and with perfect confidence in 
himself he shouldered that burden, with 
a courage equal to that of his Revolu- 
tionary sires. He was blessed with a 
strong physical body, a stout heart and 
a strong mentality, qualities in combina- 
tion with industry and definite plan which 
carried him to success. He operated his 
farm as a dairy and stock proposition, 
dealt as a wholesaler in milk for five years, 
and for fifteen years dealt heavily in cattle, 
purchasing in Connecticut and New York, 
killing them for market, when necessary, 
at his own farm. His sales of milk reached 
five thousand dollars annually, while his 
cattle purchases often reached in a single 
day eighty head. He also dealt in fine 
horses, and to some extent was a breeder, 
but his principal business was buying and 
selling. The debt on the farm was lessened 
each year, and within an incredibly short 
time was totally extinguished. From time 
to time, as was profitable, he disposed of 
portions of his farm until but half of the 
original one hundred and fifty acres re- 
mained in his possession. But they were 
the most valuable and sufficient for his 
purposes. 

Mr. Atwood has taken a lively interest 
in public affairs, and although averse to 
political ofTice holding, he met the wishes 



of his many friends, consenting in 1899 to 
become a candidate for Common Council 
from the Eighth Ward of Hartford. At 
llie ensuing election he received most 
gratifying evidence of the high esteem in 
which he was held, his vote being the 
largest ever cast for a candidate running 
for that office, his majority, five hundred 
and fifty-three, being considered a re- 
markable expression of public confidence. 
He also served as treasurer of the South- 
western School District for several years, 
and since 1912 has held the office of street 
commissioner. He has a deep and abid- 
ing interest in all good causes, the public 
school system in particular. In politics 
he is a Republican; is a member of the 
South Congregational Church, of Wylleys 
Lodge, No. 99, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of West Hartford, and of the Re- 
publican Club. 

Mr. Atwood married Hattie M. Brewer, 
born in Unionville, Connecticut, daughter 
of Joshua B. Brewer. Children: Louise 
E., born July 27, 1887; Florence, born 
November 25, 1892, died March 19. 1895; 
Shirley, born March 31, 1896. 

(The White Line). 

The White family from which Mr. At- 
wood is descended was very early estab- 
lished in Connecticut by Elder John White, 
born about 1600, in England, died Janu- 
ary I, 1684, in Hartford, Connecticut. He 
sailed, about June 22, 1632, in the ship 
"Lion.'' and landed at Boston, September 
16. of that year, accompanied by his wife 
Mary, and at least two children. Settling 
in Cambridge across the Charles river 
from Boston, he was allotted a home lot 
of about three-quarters of an acre, on a 
street then called Cow Yard Row, and 
about thirty acres of outlying farmland. 
Another three-quarters of an acre near his 
home lot was granted August 5. 1633. for 
a cow yard. Harvard Library is located 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



on or near this piece of land. John White 
was a prominent man in the settlement, 
was a member of the first board of select- 
men of Cambridge, but soon joined the 
company which formed a new settlement 
at Hartford. His home lot in Hartford 
consisted of about two acres on the east 
side of Governors street, some ten rods 
south of Little river, and his outlying 
farm land consisted of two hundred and 
thirty acres. In Hartford he was promi- 
nent in town affairs, and was again in- 
strumental in forming a new settlement 
on account of the dissensions in the Hart- 
ford church. A party of sixty persons 
left Hartford, April i8, 1659, John White 
being one of the leaders, and located at 
Hadley, Massachusetts. Here John White 
had a house lot of some eighty acres on 
the east side of Hadley street, and a large 
area of outlying land. About 1670 he re- 
turned to Hartford, and was soon after 
elected an elder in the South Church, 
which had shortly before been formed by 
seceders from the first church. His eldest 
son was Captain Nathaniel White, born 
about 1629, in England, one of the origi- 
nal proprietors and first settlers of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, where he died, Au- 
gust 27, 171 1. In this new community he 
took a very prominent position, was 
elected to the Legislature many times, 
being eighty-one years of age when last 
chosen. His first wife, Elizabeth, was 
the mother of Deacon Nathaniel White, 
born July 7, 1652, in Middletown, who 
settled on the homestead of his grand- 
father. Elder John White, in Hadley, 
about 1678. There he died February 15, 
1742. He was a large landowner, promi- 
nent in both church and town affairs, took 
the oath of allegiance in February, 1679, 
and served on the committee to seat the 
meeting house. He married, March 28, 
1678. Elizabeth Savage, born June 3, 1655, 
died January 30, 1742, daughter of John 



Savage. Their sixth son and youngest 
child was William White, born August 
15, 1698, in Hadley, where he was select- 
man in 1750, and died May 30, 1774. He 
married, March 22, 1728, Mary, widow of 
John Taylor, and daughter of John and 
Sarah (Harrison) Selden, born September 
27- 1703, died August 10, 1735. Their 
eldest son, William White, was born Oc- 
tober 4, 1732, and was something of a 
rover, residing successively in Hinsdale, 
New Hampshire ; Bernardston, North- 
field and Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
died at Hadley in December, 1810. He 
married, in April, 1757, Lydia Patterson, 
born September 2, 1737, in Northfield, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Eleazer and 
Lydia (Moore) Patterson, died before 
1765. Samuel White, son of William and 
Lydia (Patterson) White, was born about 
1758-63. The traditions and Revolution- 
ary military rolls dififer widely about this. 
According to the family tradition he was 
but fifteen years old when he entered the 
Revolutionary army. One record of his 
service makes him twenty years old at 
enlistment, and other records place his 
age differently. It is probable that he 
exaggerated his age on the first enlist- 
ment in order to secure admission to the 
ranks. All records of his Revolutionary 
service agree in this that his stature was 
five feet, six inches, and most of them 
that his complexion was dark. His first 
enlistment was at Salem, Massachusetts, 
where he was credited to Chester, New 
Hampshire. He was a member of a com- 
pany raised in Salem to serve in the Con- 
tinental army on the resolve of April 20, 
1778, is described age twenty ; stature five 
feet, six inches ; complexion dark, eyes 
light. His enlistment was for nine 
months, from arrival at Fishkill, and this 
date was June it,. He lived for a time 
in Chester, Massachusetts, whence he re- 
moved to Belchertown, in the same colo- 



3t 



TRE ^^EW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



-1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ny, and there again entered the Revolu- 
tionary army. He marched to camp at 
Springfield, August i6, 1780, in a com- 
pany raised to reinforce the Continental 
army for six months, agreeable to the 
resolve of May 5, 1780, and the return 
was dated at Springfield, August 16, of 
that year. He is described as five feet, 
six inches in stature, with dark com- 
plexion, no age given. He was also a 
private in Lieutenant-Colonel William 
Hull's company. Colonel John Greaton's 
(Third) regiment, as shown by muster 
roll of November, 1780, was discharged 
February 16, 1781, after service of six 
months and nineteen days, including eight 
days' (one hundred and fifty miles) travel 
home. After this service he seems to 
have removed to Granby, Connecticut, 
which was then a part of Massachusetts, 
and there enlisted, April 24, 1781, for 
three months' service. He is described 
as aged twenty-one years, stature five 
feet, six inches, complexion fresh, a 
farmer. He was a private in Captain 
David Holbrook's company, Colonel Wil- 
liam Shepard's (Fourth) regiment rolls 
of August and September, 1781 ; was re- 
ported on horse guard in September, 1781, 
dated York Hutts ; was reported on 
fatigue duty in October and November, 
1781 ; was transferred to Captain Webb's 
company, December i, 1781, and was also 
in Captain George Webb's company of light 
infantry. Colonel Shepard's regiment, in 
December, 1781, and January and Febru- 
ary, 1782, roll sworn to at West Point. 
Samuel White continued to reside in 
Granby until his death. Family tradition 
says that he was twice married, but rec- 
ord of only one marriage has been found. 
This occurred March 12, 1801, the bride 
being Abigail Day, born August 24, 1763, 
daughter of John (3) and Rhoda (Chapin) 
Day, of Ireland Parish, West Springfield, 
granddaughter of Tohn (2) and Abigail 



(Bragg) Day, great-granddaughter of 
John (i) and Mary (Smith) Day. John 
( I ) Day was a son of Thomas and Sarah 
(Cooper) Day, grandson of Robert Day, 
born 1604, who came to America from 
Ipswich, England, in April, 1634, arriving 
at Boston, and settled early at Hartford. 
Nothing is known of his first wife. He 
married (second) Editha Stebbins. sister 
of Deacon Edward Stebbins, of Hartford, 
and she was the mother of Thomas Day, 
above noted. There is. a record in Ches- 
ter, Massachusetts, of the death of Cap- 
tain Samuel White, September 6, 1830, 
at the age of seventy years. If this is 
the Samuel White who lived in Chester, 
and whose Revolutionary record is given 
above, it would indicate that his birth 
took place in 1760. His daughter, Eunice 
E. White, became the wife of Francis At- 
wood, as above related. 



EGAN, Thomas Francis, 

Superintendent of State Police. 

Thomas Francis Egan, one of Connec- 
ticut's leading citizens, who is now serv- 
ing as superintendent of State police, 
was born January 10, 1854, in Southing- 
ton, son of William E. and Catherine 
(Gorry) Egan, both natives of Kings 
county, Ireland. The father came to 
America in 1849, locating in southeastern 
Southington, where he was at first em- 
ployed as a farm hand. The following 
year his parents, Thomas F. and Cather- 
ine (Tracy) Egan, also crossed the At- 
lantic, and took up their residence in 
Southington. Connecticut, Thomas F. 
Egan being engaged in farming in the 
southeastern part of the town. His chil- 
dren were : Michael ; Ann, wife of Thom- 
as Mahon ; William E., Thomas, James, 
Patrick and John. The maternal grand- 
parents of Thomas Francis Egan were 
Daniel and Mary (Kelly) Gorry, of Kings 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



county, Ireland. During the Civil War, 
William E. Egan, father of Thomas P". 
Egan, enlisted in Company G, Ninth Con- 
necticut Volunteer Infantry, and was 
mustered into the United States service 
as a private in October, 1861. He died at 
New Orleans, Louisiana, in August, 1862, 
from disease contracted in the army. In 
his family were five children who reached 
maturity: Thomas F., Daniel D., Joseph 
A., James C, and William E. 

The early life of Mr. Egan was passed 
in Southington, and he received a common 
school education. On attaining his ma- 
jority he began an apprenticeship to the 
culter"s trade, serving three years, and 
later he worked as a journeyman at that 
trade for four years. He entered the em- 
ploy of Peck, Stow & Wilcox Company 
in 1881, in the box department of their 
works, and has continued his connection 
with them up to the present time. In 
1884 he was elected constable of South- 
ington. which office he held continuously 
until June, 1895, when he was appointed 
deputy sheriff, from which position he 
resigned in 1904. He held that office con- 
currently with his present office, to which 
he was appointed July 13. 1903, at which 
time the department was established. Sub- 
ject to call by the Governor, any State's 
attorney, coroner or any regularly ap- 
pointed prosecuting officer in all criminal 
matters throughout the State have the 
same authority as sheriffs, but the activity 
of the department is confined to criminal 
matters. Under the supervision of the 
State police commissioner and direction 
of Mr. Egan, the department has been 
built up and a high degree of efficiency 
developed. He has been connected with 
many of the important criminal cases in 
the State since his office was created. In 
July, 1905, the State fire department hav- 
ing been abolished, Mr. Egan became 
State fire marshal by legislative enact- 



ment. In 191 1 the Legislature established 
the office of State Superintendent of 
Weights and Measures, and provided that 
it should be held by the superintendent 
of State police. In this department the 
equipment is complete and up-to-date. 
Mr. Egan and his family are members of 
the Cathedral Roman Catholic Church, 
and he is also a member of the Knights 
of Columbus ; Ancient Order of Hiberni- 
ans ; Ancient Order of United Workmen ; 
Trumbull Camp, Sons of Veterans, and of 
the .Southington Fire Department, Hook 
& Ladder Company No. i, of which he was 
foreman from 1897 until October, 1899. 

Mr. Egan married. February 18, 1878, 
Ellen M. White, a daughter of John and 
Mary (Fox) White, of Ireland. Their 
children, all born in Southington. are: 
\\'illiam Edward, whose sketch follows ; 
Catherine, born 1881, married Michael J. 
Sullivan, of New London, Connecticut ; 
Thomas F., born September i, 1882, mar- 
ried Annie Sullivan, of Hartford ; Anna 
T.. born September 22, 1884; John B., 
born April 20, 1889, of Hartford ; Joseph 
P., born June 13, 1893, a student in 
Georgetown Law School, class of 191 7. 



EGAN, William Edvrard, 

Sncceisfnl Lavryer. 

William Edward Egan. whose profes- 
sional ability and personal energy have 
won him an acknowledged standing at 
the Connecticut bar, is a representative 
citizen of Hartford, and he wields a force- 
ful mastery by the sheer force of his firm 
and decided character. 

William Edward Egan was born in 
Southington, Connecticut. May 6, 1880. 
He was educated in the Lewis High 
School, from which he was graduated in 
1897. He began preparation for an active 
career by apprenticing himself to learn 
the trade of tool maker in the factorv of 



38 




%M. 



tr- 



rppp Ki-V-J '^'jCK 
PUBLIC LlBPAR'f 



A5TOr 



!.'-•'■>■"■ 



-TILD-I^ FC -_^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Peck, Stow & Wilcox, after which he 
worked in various large plants in Hart- 
ford, among them Pratt & Whitneys, 
Pope Manufacturing Company, also in 
the Corbin Motor Vehicle Company of 
New Britain and the International Paper 
Company, of Bellows Falls, Vermont. 
Having a decided preference for a profes- 
sional career, he began his preparation 
by becoming a student in the Yale Law 
School, from which he was graduated in 
1908. After successfully passing a com- 
petitive examination, he was admitted to 
the bar of his native State in June, 1908, 
and has been engaged in active practice 
since that time, gaining the esteem of the 
members of the bar and laymen alike. 
His practice, which has steadily grown to 
large and important proportions, is gen- 
eral in character, he gaining the confi- 
dence of his patrons by the care which 
he exercises in handling the cases en- 
trusted to him, and the litigation with 
which he has been identified has been 
handled with a skill and effectiveness that 
have won him enviable prestige. He is 
a man of marked intellectual strength and 
congenial nature, is public-spirited, and 
he can be depended upon to contribute 
and heartily cooperate in any movement 
tending to advance the general interests 
or promote the material welfare of his 
adopted city. Hartford. He held mem- 
bership in the Governor's Foot Guard for 
four years, and at the present time (1917) 
is a member of Putnam Phalanx, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, 
Knights of Columbus, Automobile Club 
of Hartford and member of its board of 
governers; the Eyelet Club, Phi Delta 
Phi. Kau Tau Kappa of Yale. 

Mr. Egan married. September 16, 1909, 
May G. Noonan. daughter of James J. 
Noonan, of Hartford, Connecticut. Chil- 
dren : William Edward, Jr., born April 4. 
1912; James N., born January 11, 1916. 



WINSLOW, Fred Gideon, 

Business Man. 

When John Winslow came from Eng- 
land, about 1846, he brought with him his 
infant son, Gideon D. Winslow, who be- 
came a prominent man in the State of 
Connecticut, and was a long time resident 
of Hartford. At the time of his death he 
was president of the Spring Brook Ice 
Company, a position now held by his son, 
Fred Gideon Winslow, a native son and 
rising young business man of Hartford. 
When the family first came from England 
settlement was made at Broad Brook, 
Hartford county, Connecticut, and there 
the boy, Gideon D. Winslow, attended the 
public schools, supplementing that study 
by a course at Eastman's Business Col- 
lege, Poughkeepsie, New York. After 
completing that course he established in 
business in Hartford, eventually owning 
a prosperous grocery business located at 
the corner of Front and State streets. 
There he continued until appointed State 
dairy commissioner by Governor Bulke- 
ley. an office he held until 1897. He then 
became president and treasurer of the 
Spring Brook Ice Company, continuing 
as head of that company until his death in 
September, 1914. He was a member of 
the old board of Hartford fire commis- 
sioners for about ten years : member of 
the Board of Aldermen, member of Com- 
pany F, old City Guard, affiliated with 
St. John's Lodge. Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, a man of high character and ability. 
He married Clara J. Charter, daughter of 
William M. Charter, of Hartford. Mr. 
and Mrs. Winslow were the parents of 
two daughters and a son : Florence, mar- 
ried A. Hayden Arnold, and resides in 
New York City ; Fred Gideon, of further 
mention : Elsie W., widow of George W. 
Rowley, of Hartford. 

Fred Gideon Winslow, onlv son of 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Gideon D. and Clara J. (Charter) Wins- 
low, was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
January 20, 1879. Until eighteen years 
of age he attended the grade and high 
schools of Hartford, beginning his busi- 
ness career in 1897 as an office employee 
of the ^Etna Life Insurance Company. 
Twenty years have since elapsed and the 
association still continues, many different 
positions, each one of greater importance, 
having been held before reaching his 
present post, cashier. Upon the death of 
his father, Mr. Winslow succeeded him as 
president of the Spring Brook Ice Com- 
pany, one of the most important ice com- 
panies in the State of Connecticut. He 
fills his dual positions with satisfaction 
to those concerned and neither suffers 
through his connection with the other. 

Through his maternal ancestry, Mr. 
Winslow has gained membership in the 
patriotic order. Sons of the Revolution ; 
is a Republican in politics, representing 
his ward in Common Council ; member 
of Hartford Chamber of Commerce, the 
Hartford City, Republican, Automobile 
and Yacht clubs of Hartford, popular so- 
cially and highly esteemed as a business 
man. He married Katherine, daughter of 
Henry C. Forbes, of Manchester, Ver- 
mont. 

Mr. W^inslow, through his mother. Clara 
J. (Charter) Winslow. traces descent to an 
ancient English family and to the "May- 
flower" passenger and signer of the Com- 
pact, Edward Fuller. Through his ances- 
try he is eligible to membership in the 
Society of Mayflower Descendants, the 
Society of Colonial Wars and the Sons 
of the Revolution. 

A pedigree of the Robinson family in 
the British Museum (Harleian H. S. S. 
No. 1350) goes back to the year 1208, and 
names as the founder, John Robinson, of 
Domington, a market town in Lincoln- 
shire, seven miles southwest of Boston, 



who married a daughter of Thomas Paule. 
Two pedigrees are recorded in the "Vis- 
itations of Lincolnshire, 1502-04," by 
Robert Cooke, Cestor Herald at Arms and 
may be found at pages 104-05 of the 
edition 1881. 

I. Nicholas Robinson, born at Boston 
in Lincolnshire, in 1480. He was the first 
mayor appointed in 1545 by King Henry 
VIII. II. Nicholas Robinson, born 1520. 

III. Rev. John Robinson, born 1610, came 
to America in the ship "Lyon" in 1631. 

IV. Lieutenant Peter Robinson. born 1655. 

V. Lieutenant Peter Robinson, born 1697, 
married Ruth Fuller (see No. 5 "May- 
flower" record). VI. Captain Abner Rob- 
inson, married Mehitable Palmer. VII. 
Mehitable Robinson, their daughter, mar- 
ried Elizer Smith. VIII. Abner Smith, 
their son, married Clara Tracy. IX. Char- 
lotte A. Smith, their daughter, married 
^^'illiam M. Charter. X. Clara Josephine 
Charter, their daughter, married Gideon 
D. Winslow. XI. Fred Gideon Winslow. 
their son, married Katherine May Forbes. 

Abner Robinson (VI.) was ensign of 
the Fourth Company of a regiment raised 
at the first call for troops by the Connec- 
ticut Legislature at special session in 
April-May, 1775. It was recruited in 
Windham county: He was commissioned. 
May, 1775. This regiment was stationed 
in camp near Boston during the siege, in 
Putnam Center Division at Cambridge 
until expiration of service, December 10, 
1775. He reentered the service in 1776 
and served as second lieutenant in Colo- 
nel Mott and Swift's battalion, to reen- 
force the Continental forces at Fort Ti- 
conderoga. and served under General 
Gates. He afterward was captain for one 
year in Colonel McClellan's regiment, re- 
cruited March. 1778, served in Tyler's 
brigade under General Sullivan in Rhode 
Island in August-September, 1778. 



40 



U T-' r? r- - ' 



" ----- 1 



ILDi.iJ i-Coi-D iiCNSj 




S-^ A-^^A*".*fc-w ^^™ jv:y 




iM^ 



/^^'T^n^T /fft^-i-a-a/^^.-vrV^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Mayflower Line). 

I. Edward Fuller, of the "Mayflower," 

married Ann . II. Matthew Fuller, 

born about 1610, their son, lieutenant in 
Captain Miles Standish's company and 
surgeon-general. III. Captain Samuel 
Fuller, their son, died March 25, 1676; 

married Mary . IV. Samuel Fuller, 

born 1678, their son, married Elizabeth 
Thatcher, October 8, 1700; their daugh- 
ter: V. Ruth Fuller, born April 12, 1706, 
died January 8, 1795 ; married Peter Rob- 
inson, June 30, 1735 ; their son : VI. Cap- 
tain Abner Robinson, of the Revolution, 
born February 22, 1738, died November 
24, 181 5 ; married Mehitable Palmer, April 
7, 1763; their daughter: VII. Mehitable 
Robinson, born January 29, 1768, died Oc- 
tober 31, 1856; married Elizer Smith, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1790 (see Robinson VII). 



ATKINS, Frederic Cunningham, 

Manufacturer. 

The success that has attended Mr. At- 
kins, of the Taylor & Atkins Paper Com- 
pany, is most gratifying to him, not more 
for the personal benefit that he has de- 
rived than for the opportunity it gives 
him to carry out the theories of coopera- 
tion between employer and employee, 
which he believes should exist. It was 
in 1916 that the Taylor & Atkins Paper 
Company was put among the profit shar- 
ing companies of New England, and men 
long identified with the company had the 
opportunity to acquire an interest, par- 
ticipate in profits and reap more than 
weekly reward, which comes to them 
through the medium of the pay envelope. 
This spirit of cooperation and mutuality 
of interest now permeates every depart- 
ment, and is the fruition of a hope long 
cherished by Mr. Atkins, president and 
treasurer of the Taylor & Atkins Paper 
Company of East Hartford, Connecticut. 



Mr. Atkins descends from Josiah At- 
kins, who early came from England to 
New England, but did not appear in 
Middletown. Connecticut, until 1650. In 
March of that year he was a member of 
a committee to explore lands in Connec- 
ticut, and in Middletown he remained un- 
til his death, September 12, 1690. He was 
succeeded by his son, Solomon Atkins, 
born in Middletown, in 1678, died there in 
1748. Solomon Atkins married Phoebe 
Edwards and had a large family. He was 
a man of influence in Middletown, serv- 
ing for many years as deacon of the 
church. 

Solomon (2) Atkins, son of Deacon 
Solomon (i) and Phoebe (Edwards) At- 
kins, was born at Middletown, August 
II, 1720, died February 26, 1804, at 
Whately, Massachusetts, having moved 
to Whately about 1778. He married, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1748, Thankful Lee, born 1727, 
died April 7, 1806. They were the par- 
ents of: Thankful, born January 14, 1749, 
married, April 29, 1786, John Crafts; 
Sybil, born February 19, 1750; Chloe, 
March 16, 1752; Abia, March 30, 1756, 
married William Cone; Solomon (3), of 
further mention ; Giles, born April 4, 
1765; Elijah, January 26, 1769. 

Solomon (3) Atkins, fifth child of Solo- 
mon (2) and Thankful (Lee) Atkins, was 
born at Middletown, May 4, 1762. In 
1778 the family moved to Whately, Mas- 
sachusetts, and there resided until 1825, 
when he moved to New York State, where 
he died. The house he built in Whately 
was later used as a parsonage, and near 
there he built a shop in which he con- 
ducted a shoe manufacturing business. 
He built a tannery on Gutter Brook and 
long continued business there, being a 
man of forty-seven years when he sold 
his properties and moved to New York. 
He married, March 9, 1787, Electa Graves, 
born December 27, 1764, daughter of Dea- 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



con Oliver Graves. They were the par- 
ents of seven children : Enoch, born Au- 
gust 28, 1788; Henry, June 16, 1789; 
Electa, November 20, 1793, died young; 
Chloe, April 18, 1798, married John El- 
well; Joel, September 7, 1800; Hannah, 
July 14, 1803, married a Mr. Talmadge; 
Solomon (4), of further mention. 

Solomon (4) Atkins, youngest child of 
Solomon (3) and Electa (Graves) Atkins, 
was born at Whately, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 8, 1805, died in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, and is buried in South Deerfield. 
He learned the tanning and shoe manu- 
facturing business with his father, and 
while still a young man joined his brother 
in Columbus, Georgia, the brother having 
established there a factory for the manu- 
facture of boots and harness sold to the 
planters thereabout, tanning the leather 
in his own tannery. Solomon Atkins was 
soon made manager of the business, 
and there remained twelve years, losing 
his money once through a bank failure, 
but having won the confidence of the 
planters by his straightforward, honorable 
methods, was able to make a fresh start 
and eventually rebuild his fortunes. Upon 
his return North he located in Conway, 
Massachusetts, established the tannery 
business of Clapp & Atkins and there con- 
tinued for several years. In 1850 he re- 
tired from the firm and moved to South 
Deerfield, Massachusetts, where most of 
his later years were passed. He was an 
active Whig, later a Republican, and he 
and his wife and daughters were active 
members of the Congregational church. 
Solomon (4) Atkins married, June 16, 
1833, Wealthy Arms, born January 23, 
1804, died March 17, 1870, daughter of 
Thomas and Hannah (F>oyden) Arms, ot 
South Deerfield, Massachusetts. They 
were the parents of three children: i. 
Mary Jane, born September 8, 1835 ; mar- 
ried. October 16, i860, Andrew Dutton. 



2. Fidelia R., born August 25, 1839, died 
July 26, 1905; married, May 19, 1864. 
Eurotas Morton, born at Whately, July 
6, 1S28, died August 27, 1905; they had 
two sons: Gilbert E. and William A. 
Morton, the latter killed in a railway ac- 
cident, September 18, 1891, aged seven 
teen years. 3. Frederic Cunningham, ol 
further mention. 

Frederic Cunningham Atkins, only 
son of Solomon (4) and Wealthy (Arms) 
Atkins, was born in Conway, Massachu- 
setts, January 23, 1849. He was educated 
in the public schools of South Deerfield 
and old Deerfield Academy, being em- 
ployed during vacations and out of school 
hours by Charles Arms, a manufacturer 
of pocket books. The manufacture of 
pocket books was rather an inherited 
taste with the young man, as his grand- 
father, Thomas Arms, and his brother, 
Dennis Arms, were both engaged in that 
line, being pioneers in the pocket book 
manufacture in South Deerfield. Mr. At- 
kins became manager for Houghton & 
Clarke, of Worcester, Massachusetts, con- 
tinuing as such until about 1870, when he 
purchased the business. He bought out 
the Cobb & Johnson business of Lan- 
caster. Massachusetts, and added to his 
line of pocket books their line of old 
fashioned farmers' wallets. He moved his 
plant to Lancaster, Massachusetts, and 
prospered until the panic of 1873 caused 
severe losses which resulted in his clos- 
ing out and retiring from the manufactur- 
ing field for a time. 

About 1886, Mr. Atkins reentered the 
business field as a paper broker in New 
York City. At his ofifice on Broadway he 
handled the output of five mills on a com- 
mission basis, the product of the mills 
varying in grade and purpose. He trans- 
acted a large and prosperous wholesale 
business for thirteen years, then came to 
East Hartford, Connecticut, where in 1897 



42 



r 



THE KEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LEITOX 

ILDEiJ FCJKDATIONS 







ei^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Taylor & Atkins Paper Company was 
organized for the manufacture of writing 
papers, tablets, papeteries, envelopes and 
stationery supplies. A feature of the busi- 
ness is that the paper is made on the 
premises from raw material, the printing 
is all done in their own shops from their 
own forms, and this is probably the only 
plant in the country where from pulp to 
finished product every operation is per- 
formed. The product goes through 
jobbers to every part of the country. 
Mr. Atkins was president of the com- 
pany until 1916, when the death of his 
partner occurred. He then purchased that 
interest from the estate and added to his 
duties the office of treasurer. His life 
from boyhood until the present has been 
spent in these two lines of manufacture. 
leather goods and paper, excepting the 
thirteen years as a commission paper mer- 
chant in New York which gave him ex- 
perience in the selling field that has been 
of great value to him. His knowledge of 
the business covers every phase of mill 
and ofifice, and he is thoroughly qualified 
for the management of his important busi- 
ness. He is a man of broad, liberal mind, 
conducts his business along the line of 
mutuality, and takes a deep interest in 
the welfare of those who labor with him. 
Integrity and uprightness distinguish 
him, and he has the highest esteem of 
his community. 

The social side of life and the obliga- 
tions of religion are not neglected. He is 
a member of Orient Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of West Hartford; Wyllis 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Wash- 
ington Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, and of Connecticut Consistory, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, in which 
he has attained the thirty-second degree. 

Mr. Atkins married Cora Isabelle Par- 



sons, daughter of Charles Theodore Par- 
sons, of Northampton, Massachusetts, of 
Revolutionary ancestry. Mr. and Mrs. 
Atkins are the parents of three daughters : 

Florence S. ; Perle, married Blom- 

quist ; Ruth. 



BILL, Frederick Roswell, 

Enterprising Business Man. 

Frederick Roswell Bill, president of 
The Bill Brothers Company, of Hartford, 
is in the ninth generation of direct lineal 
descent from John Bill, who in 1635, or at 
some time earlier, became a member of 
the Massachusetts Colony, and was pro- 
genitor of American branches of a family 
which has held prominent place in the 
records of many states since Colonial 
days, and has in the branch to which 
Frederick Roswell Bill, of Hartford, be- 
longs, been identified with Connecticut 
history for about two hundred and fifty 
years. 

The patronymic. Bill, is of ancient ori- 
gin, and although of early English asso- 
ciation, it is asserted to have been un- 
questionably of Norman origin. In the 
time of the Norman Conquest, the Nor- 
man soldiers were of three distinct classes, 
as are our own ; we have artillery, cavalry 
and infantry ; they had knights, who were 
all clad in full armor and mounted ; then, 
battle-axe, or bill, men ; then, the archers ; 
these classes ranking in the order given. 
Milton uses the word as meaning a sword, 
or a battle-axe. Hall says : "There were 
sent into France hundreds, and some not 
able to draw a bow or carry a bill" (axe). 
The name was also carried into Denmark. 

In the county of Shropshire, England, 
the name of Bill has been traced for five 
hundred years. Dr. Thomas Bill, the first 
of the name of whom any especial ac- 
count has been preserved, was born about 
1490, in Bedfordshire. He was a learned 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



physician, and an attendant of the Prin- 
cess Elizabeth in 1549. Much genealogi- 
cal data is extant of the Bill family of 
England, but authentic records of the di- 
rect antecedents of the immediate ances- 
tors of John Bill, immigrant ancestor of 
the American branches of the family, are 
not at the present ascertainable. The 
American records, however, authenticate 
the arrival in Boston, of a boy named John 
Bill, aged thirteen, who disembarked from 
the ship "Hopewell" in 1635 ; also that 
one Mary Bill, aged eleven, came in the 
ship "Planter" about the same time. 
There is little reason to doubt that these 
children were the children of John and 
Dorothy Bill (who were already of the 
colony and must have arrived in Boston 
prior to 1635), for we find the girl, Mary 
Bill, apparently a member of the Tuttle 
household, her name following theirs on 
the list of passengers. On Januarj' 21, 
1638-39, Richard Tuttell became respon- 
sible to the town of Boston for "one 
Dorothie Bill, widdowe, a sojourner in 
his house." It is presumed that she was 
his sister, the widow of John Bill. The 
name of Bill is first mentioned in the 
records of the town of Boston, the refer- 
ence being: "John Bill died, tenth month, 
1638." No record has been preserved of 
the death of his widow. They had a num- 
ber of children, and Philip Bill is believed 
to have been their third child and son. 
He was born in England, about 1620. In 
1660, there is trace of him as a debtor to 
the estate of William Burnell, of Pulling 
Point, then a part of Boston. On May 11, 
1663, he was a resident of Ipswich. Miss 
Caulkins, in her "History of New Lon- 
don," places him among the arrivals in 
that town at "about 1668." He settled on 
the east side of the Thames river, in that 
portion of the town of New London in- 
corporated in 1705 as the town of Groton. 
His near neighbors were Robert Allvn 



and George Greer, and eventually he be- 
came possessed of considerable land. He 
died on July 6, 1683, and his widow, Han- 
nah, later married Samuel Bucknall, of 
New London. She died in 1709. 

Samuel Bill, their son, was born about 
1665, and came with his father to New 
London. His first wife was Mercy, 
daughter of Richard Haughton, of New 
London, and both Samuel Bill and his 
wife were admitted to the church in New 
London on the same date, September 3, 

1693- 

James Bill, fourth child of Samuel and 
Mercy (Haughton) Bill, was born in New 
London, Connecticut, about 1694, and mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of William Swodel, 
of Groton. It is supposed that soon after 
his marriage he removed to Lebanon, 
where his father and several other rela- 
tives had already settled. In 1719 he 
bought a farm in the adjoining town of 
Hebron, and resided there twelve or four- 
teen years. In 1743 he returned to Leb- 
anon, where he remained until at least 

1751- 

Jonathan Bill, the youngest of the six 
children born to James and Mary (Swodel) 
Bill, was born August 3, 1731, in Hebron ; 
married Esther Owen, August i, 1749. 
After a brief residence in Lebanon, he re- 
moved to Salisbury, Connecticut, where 
he died. 

Captain Roswell Bill was the younger 
of their two children. He was born De- 
cember 29, 1753, in Salisbury; married, 
November 20, 1777, Rebecca, daughter of 
William and Eunice (Putnam) Burgess, 
and cousin of General Putnam. Early in 
life, he settled in that part of Hampton, 
Connecticut, now known as Chaplin. He 
served in the Revolutionary War, and 
afterwards was commissioned captain of 
the State militia. He died October 13, 
1830, and his widow died in Braintree, 
Vermont. January 17, 1834. 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Roswell Bill, youngest of seven chil- 
dren ot Captain Roswell and Rebecca 
(Burgess) Bill, was born May 25, 1797, 
in Chaplin, and married Olive Ross, De- 
cember 31, 1820. She was born in 1800, 
and died June 13, 1870. As an educator, 
Roswell Bill was esteemed in the district 
where, for thirty-two winters consecu- 
tively, he taught school, going from one 
school to another in Chaplin and towns of 
the vicinity. And his personality and in- 
tegrity also brought him into judicial 
ottice as justice of the peace. He died 
October 17, 1866. Of his nine children 
(seven sons and two daughters) six in 
later years located in Hartford, and three 
of the sons established the firm of Bill 
Brothers, in 1850, the senior partner being 
the eldest son, Francis Putnam Bill, 
father of Frederick Roswell Bill. 

Francis Putnam Bill, first-born of Ros- 
well and Olive (Ross) Bill, was born in 
Chaplin, April 15, 1823. He attended the 
public schools of Windham county, and 
when he had attained his majority, went 
tc Hartford where for a short time he 
took employment as team-driver. Soon, 
however, he was in a position to purchase 
a team and establish himself in Hartford 
as an independent drayman. Later, he 
joined the firm of Smith, Blodgett & Com- 
pany, carmen, but the partnership was 
not of long duration, and when Mr. Bill 
withdrew his proportion of the assets of 
the firm, he again entered independently 
into the drayage business. Expansion of 
the business caused him to call to his 
assistance his younger brother, George, 
who in 1850 was admitted into partner- 
ship, thus establishing the firm of Bill 
Brothers. Another brother came into the 
business, and in 1856 Francis Putnam 
Bill, the eldest, went into Illinois, the 
drayage business being continued, in his 
absence, by his brothers, who acquired 
his interest. In Illinois, in which State 



he remained for seven years, Francis Put- 
nam Bill took up a homestead and en- 
gaged in farming. During that period his 
son, F'rederick Roswell, was born the ex- 
act date and place being September 15, 
1863, in Amboy, Illinois. About two years 
later the family returned to Hartford, and 
Francis Putnam Bill repurchased an in- 
terest in the Bill Brothers business. In 
1872 he again disposed of his interest to 
his brothers, and having purchased a farm 
in Enfield, again took to farming pursuits. 
Later, after his two sons had grown to 
manhood, and were in business in Hart- 
ford, Francis Putnam Bill again returned 
to Hartford, and again purchased an in- 
terest in the drayage business, connected 
with which he remained until his death, 
in June, 1894. 

He married Sarah A., born September 
12, 1830, the daughter of John North, of 
Portland, Connecticut, of a family long 
resident in Connecticut. They had five 
children, only two of whom however 
reached adult age : Frederick Roswell, of 
whom further; and Dwight H., now de- 
ceased. Mrs. Sarah A. (North) Bill died 
October 10, 1906, aged seventy-six years. 

Frederick Roswell Bill, son of Francis 
Putnam and Sarah A. (North) Bill, re- 
ceived most of his schooling in Enfield, 
eventually graduating from the Enfield 
High School. After the lapse of a year, 
young Frederick R. Bill went to Hart- 
ford, to continue his schooling. He at- 
tended the high school there, but ex- 
hibited much interest in the drayage busi- 
ness of Bill Brothers, which was at that 
time under the direction of his uncles. 
Frederick R. Bill was wont to pass his 
noon hours, during the school period, in 
his uncles' office, where he usually ate his 
luncheon, and where, during the two hour 
interval between morning and afternoon 
sessions of school, he would render some 
clerical assistance to his uncle. In that 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



way ne became conversant with the rou- 
tine of the business, and when, during one 
school vacation, one of his uncles' clerks 
became ill, Frederick R. spent his vacation 
in energetic usefulness in his uncles' office, 
manifesting such promise that his father 
was prevailed upon to allow him to close 
his schooling and enter his uncles' em- 
ploy. He has been connected with the 
business ever since. A few years later, 
his younger brother, Dwight H., having 
closed his schooling, wished to come to 
the city, therefore his father returned to 
Hartford and, as before stated, purchased 
an interest in the drayage business. After 
a period of salaried service, Frederick R. 
was admitted a member of the firm, and 
on the death of his father he became pos- 
sessed of a larger interest, so that when, 
in 1908, the company was incorporated, 
Frederick R. Bill was elected its president 
and treasurer, which executive capacities 
he has since held. At the present the 
business of the company is of consider- 
able volume, and while the firm under- 
takes some heavy erecting contracts, its 
main business is that of hauling goods for 
Hartford manufacturers and merchants. 
To what extent may be estimated from 
the fact that the company employs about 
one hundred men, and owns sixty horses. 

In December, 1884, Frederick R. Bill 
became a member of the Governor's Foot 
Guard, and passed through the several 
grades until he became major command- 
ing, on March 16, 1903. He is still a mem- 
ber of the honorary staff of the Foot 
Guard, and is president of the board of 
trustees. He also is a member of St. 
John's Lodge, No. 4, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons. 

He married Minnie, daughter of Alonzo 
"Warner, of Hartford, descendant of a 
family prominent in central Massachu- 
setts in Colonial days. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Frederick R. Bill were born five children : 



I. Francis Putnam, born May 22, 1894, 
whose tragic end, through contact with 
sixty-six thousand volts of electricity, 
while he was engaged with three other 
students of the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology in doing certain revaluing 
work for the Charles H. Tenney Company 
of Boston, was an almost overwhelming 
blow to the parents, and brought to a 
sudden end, August 12, 1916, a career 
which promised well, the young man hav- 
ing ably aided the desire of his parents to 
afiford him a superior education ; he was 
a student within a year of graduation at 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technol- 
ogy, Boston, and of the class of 1917; he 
was a young man of much promise and of 
unusual character, bound to win a high 
place in the profession for which he was 
fitting himself; he was a great favorite 
with his college associates, and well 
spoken of by the faculty ; interment was 
in Cedar Hill Cemetery, and the pall 
bearers were his classmates at the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology. 2. Mar- 
jorie, died in infancy. 3. Ruth Almeda. 
4. Dorothy. 5. Roswell Warner. 



WISE, John, 



Contractor. 



John Wise, respected and responsible 
citizen of Hartford, Connecticut, and 
senior partner of the Hartford firm of 
Wise & Upson, general contractors, was 
born in Cheshire, England, June 20, 1869, 
the son of Lundie and Isabella (Graham) 
Wise. 

The Wise family is of Scottish origin, 
and both father and paternal grandfather 
of John Wise were shipwrights in Scot- 
land. Lundie Wise was born in Dun- 
barton, Scotland, in 1839, and followed 
his father into the shipbuilding business 
there, and subsequently, until his mar- 
riage, in different shipbuilding centres of 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England. In i86g, he crossed to Amer- 
ica, locating soon afterwards in Chicago, 
where he remained for three years. Then, 
following the decease of his wife, he re- 
turned to England, where he has re- 
mained ever since. His years of man- 
hood have been passed in honest labor, 
well-directed and remunerative, so that 
he now is able to enjoy comfortable 
leisure in his retirement from active 
work. He resides in Birkenhead, 
Cheshire, England. 

His son, John Wise, the Hartford resi- 
dent respecting whom this article is 
chiefly written, received the customary 
good education provided in the public 
schools of England, and when old enough 
was apprenticed to the trade of cabinet- 
making. His apprenticeship was to be of 
seven years' duration, but after serving 
five years, John Wise resolved to come to 
America. Arriving in New York City, he 
soon found employment as journeyman 
carpenter. He followed carpentry for 
many years, but had been in the country 
only a short time when he became fore- 
man, and in that position of responsibility 
was busily occupied superintending the 
execution of contracts, which brought 
him at different times into temporary res- 



building constructions. Note may herein 
be made of the following structures 
erected during recent years by the firm of 
Wise & Upson : Deep River High School ; 
Federal Hill School, Bristol, Connecticut; 
Wooster Memorial Building, Deep River; 
Jacques Memorial Building, Buckland, 
Connecticut; Weathersfield Avenue Par- 
ish House, Hartford ; the Joseph Kirth 
Apartment House, Hartford; Fleisch- 
mann Office Building ; Hartford Apron 
and Towel Supply Building; three build- 
ings for Dr. C. G. F. Williams ; the 
F. Manross Garage and Service Station, 
Forestville, Connecticut ; Havey Building, 
Southington, Connecticut ; Rye Street 
School, South Windsor, Connecticut. 
Much credit is due these two enterprising 
and alert residents of Hartford for the 
manner in which they have developed 
their business in the brief period of their 
association. It may be stated that the 
firm now finds regular employment for an 
average of about forty men, pressure of 
work sometimes also requiring them to 
greatly exceed this number. This meas- 
ure of expansion within five or six years 
gives one an indication of the personality 
and initiative of the members of the firm. 
In 1916 Mr. Wise was appointed by 
Mayor Hagarty, of Hartford, as one of 



idence in many widely separated sections a commission to draft a suitable building 



of the country. Thus employed, he con- 
tinued to extensively travel until 1896, 
since which time the city of Hartford has 
been his main place of abode. As fore- 
man and superintendent for different 
Hartford firms he remained in service 
there until 191 1, when he ventured into 
independent business, establishing in his 
own nam,e a contracting business which 
soon assumed substantial proportions. 
Later, he formed business association 
with Warren W. Upson, the firm name 
then becoming Wise & Upson. As such 
they have undertaken many important 
contracts in the various branches of 



code for the city of Hartford. Mr. Wise 
applies himself very closely to his busi- 
ness, but for two years has been a mem- 
ber of Putnam Phalanx, and he also be- 
longs to St. John's Lodge, No. 4, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; Wash- 
ington Commandery, Knights Templar ; 
Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine. 

In October, 1896, Mr. Wise married 
Nellie Cornelia Jerdo, the daughter of 
Joseph Jerdo, of Essex county. New 
York. They have one son, Allan Lundie. 
The family attends Christ Episcopal 
Church, of which Mr. and Mrs. W^ise are 
members. 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



FULLER, Alfred C, 

Manufacturer. 

It is always a satisfaction to peruse the 
life stories of such men as have led the 
way in some special path to greater effi- 
ciency and comfort in life, who have 
devised new customs or invented new 
mechanical contrivances for our comfort 
and convenience. Of such original men 
New England has had its full share, and 
from the very dawn of its existence has 
upheld her sons as pioneers, breaking a 
way, first into the heart of the physical 
wilderness, then the promised land of 
political freedom, independence, and then 
the descendants of these, with undimin- 
ished enterprise, showing the way to a 
new industrial era which should one day 
render the region as rich as it was inde- 
pendent and give it a place among the 
greatest peoples of the world. The names 
of these leaders is legion and there is a 
satisfaction in noting the records of those 
families which have throughout the en- 
tire history of the region taken an active 
part in the development of the general 
life. Such a family is that of Fuller, 
which, from the very earliest period of 
Colonial history, has made its home in 
New England, its members distinguish- 
ing themselves throughout the centuries 
to the present time. The Fuller family 
was one of high standing in the mother 
countrj', as is proved by its possession of 
a coat-of-arms with the motto semper pra- 
tus. 

The founder of the name in this coun- 
try, one Edward Fuller, was among that 
splendid band of men who, placing their 
religious convictions and love of freedom 
before security and comfort or the love 
of home, left England at the time of per- 
secution. He was a Puritan and pos- 
sessed all the stern virtues of that won- 
derful sect. He was born September 4, 



1571, in the Reddenhall Parish, Norfolk- 
shire, England, and appears to have been 
a son of Robert Fuller, a butcher in that 
locality. The probability is that Edward 
Fuller joined the Holland Pilgrims on the 
"Speedwell's" arrival in England. He was 
one of those who signed the "compact" 
which was drawn up in the cabin of the 
"Mayflower" immediately before the land- 
ing of the Pilgrims at Cape Cod in No- 
vember, 1620. It is not known positively 
whom he married, but according to Gov- 
ernor Bradford, Edward Fuller and his 
wife died shortly after they came on 
shore, probably between January 11, and 
April ID, 1621. 

Their son and only child, Samuel Ful- 
ler, was also a native of England and 
came over during his childhood with his 
father in the "Mayflower." There has 
been found no record of his birth or bap- 
tism, our only information concerning it 
being that it was some time in 1612 and 
somewhere in England. After the death 
of his parents, Samuel Fuller was placed 
in charge of an uncle, another Samuel 
Fuller, at Plymouth. At the time of the 
division of lands between the settlers in 
1623, he was allotted three acres, and 
about 1640, shortly after the town of 
Barnstable was founded by the Rev. John 
Lathrop and members of his church, he 
and his family went to live in that place. 
His wife was the daughter of the Rev. 
Mr. Lathrop. Samuel Fuller was a con- 
stable at Scituate, Massachusetts, in 1641, 
and the records show that he served as 
juryman on the committee to settle In- 
dian difficulties. Of the "Mayflower's" 
passengers, Samuel Fuller was the only 
one to permanently settle in Barnstable 
and he was also among the late survivors 
of that company. There is no gravestone 
to mark his burial place which is believed 
to be in the old burial ground at Lathrop's 
Hill, Barnstable. He died between Oc- 



4« 





(2jf7U.^^, 



THE i:lv/ -'jr'K 



T;LD/;J ; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tober 31, and November 10, 1683. Sam- 
uel Fuller was married, April 8, 1635, to 
Jane, a daughter of the Rev. John Lath- 
rop, of Scituate, and it is of interest to 
note that the wedding was performed by 
Captain Miles Standish. Jane (Lathrop) 
Fuller survived until the year 1683, but 
the exact date of her death is unknown. 

Their son, John Fuller, was born about 
1656, at Barnstable, and was known as 
"little John" in order to distinguish him 
from a cousin, Dr. John Fuller. He re- 
sided on his father's estate until 1694, 
when he removed to East Haddam. By 
all accounts John Fuller prospered in his 
new home, for in 1721 he gave to his 
seven sons large tracts of land, together 
with all the implements for working them. 
His death occurred at East Haddam, be- 
tween February 28 and May 20, 1726. 
John Fuller married, about 1678, Mehit- 
able Rowley, who was born at Barnsta- 
ble, January 11, 1660-61, and died at East 
Haddam about 1732. 

Their son, Thomas Fuller, was born 
about 1679, in Barnstable, and died at 
East Haddam, April 9, 1772. He married 

Elizabeth , born about 1689, and 

died November 5, 1784, at East Haddam. 

Their son, Nathan Fuller, was born at 
East Haddam, Connecticut, April 20, 
1719, and there is an old date on record 
at Middletown which shows that Nathan 
Fuller was the son of Thomas Fuller and 
lived near the Haddam line at Middle- 
town. He was married to Abigail , 

who died in 1750, and in 1756 Nathan 
Fuller was appointed guardian of the old- 
est seven children. He went to Nova 
Scotia not long after this date. 

For a number of generations the Fuller 
family has resided in Nova Scotia, and 
some time about the middle of the nine- 
teenth century we find living there Lean- 
der Joseph Fuller, a son of William Ful- 
ler and his wife, Jane (Collins) Fuller. 

Conn— 3 — 4 



The date of Leander Fuller's birth in 
Welsford, near Berwick, King county. 
Nova Scotia, was November 26, 1841. 
He died November 12, 1914, at the age of 
seventy-three. He was a farmer all his 
life in this region. His wife was the 
daughter of Robert Collins, of Berwick. 
They were the parents of the following 
children: Robert, of Somerville, Massa- 
chusetts ; Bessie, twin of Robert, who 
married Alfred C. Adler, of Los Angeles, 
California ; Annie Rebecca, who became 
the wife of Frank Adler, a brother of Al- 
fred Adler, and of Walter L. Gleason, of 
West Somerville, Massachusetts ; Wil- 
liam, of Tunnel City, Wisconsin ; Dwight, 
deceased ; Harvey R., of West Somer- 
ville, Massachusetts; Douglas B., who 
lives on the homestead at Welsford ; 
Georgie B., who married Charles R. Cal- 
kin, of Welsford; Jennie M., twin of 
Georgie B., who married Ashley W. Pa- 
tridge, of West Somerville, Massachu- 
setts ; Chester G., of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut ; Alfred C, the subject of this sketch ; 
and Harry L., of Dilley, Oregon. Wil- 
liam Fuller, the grandfather of these chil- 
dren, went to the western States at the 
time when Leander J. Fuller, his only 
son, was three years of age, and was 
never heard of again. 

Alfred C. Fuller was born January 13, 
1885, at Welsford, Kings county, Nova 
Scotia, and lived in his native region for 
the first eighteen years of his life. He 
received his education at the public 
schools of Welsford, and after complet- 
ing his studies there came to Boston, 
Massachusetts, at the age of eighteen. 
He remained in Boston for about three 
years, and worked for some eighteen 
months of this time on the elevated rail- 
road there. He then secured a position 
as salesman for the Somerville Brush 
Company, and thus became interested in 
an industry with which he was later 

49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



destined to become associated on so large 
a scale. For nearly two years he re- 
mained with the Somerville concern, and 
in April, 1907, established his own busi- 
ness at Hartford, Connecticut, whither he 
had moved and was making his home. 
The beginnings of the company were 
small and Mr. Fuller employed for a time 
about three or four hands, but there are 
now one hundred employees and his busi- 
ness is one of the largest of its kind in 
New England. The Fuller Brush Com- 
pany is a very well known concern and is 
the manufacturer of a type of brush de- 
vised by Mr. Fuller, which is very largely 
capturing the market, as it possesses 
many obvious advantages over the older 
types. The company at present manu- 
factures a brush for practically every 
household purpose, and they are all cal- 
culated to give the maximum, of service, 
because instead of the bristles or wire 
being held in by some adhesive, they are 
twisted into a metal frame which holds 
them in complete permanency. Another 
great advantage due to this character is 
the fact that they may be cleansed as 
often and as thoroughly as is desired 
without any danger of loosening the bris- 
tles, which is highly beneficial from the 
hygienic standpoint. Another advantage 
which the Fuller Brush Company pos- 
sesses is that this form of manufacture is 
very much cheaper than the old and they 
can thus put a superior brush on the mar- 
ket at a lower fignre. It is no wonder, 
therefore, that it has already developed 
to large proportions and that there seems 
a still more brilliant future in store for it. 
Mr. Fuller's management has been of the 
most capable kind, and he combines great 
conservatism with a progressive willing- 
ness to adopt new methods and styles, as 
is proved by his own invention. He never 
departs from the use of the very best ma- 
terials which the trade offers in the manu- 
facture of his brushes, and the firm has 



the reputation of being absolutely depend- 
able in all its transactions. 

Mr. Fuller is very active in the general 
life of the city of Hartford, particularly in 
connection with its general business de- 
velopment, and has done much to encour- 
age industrial enterprise there in his 
capacity as member of the Hartford 
Chamber of Commerce. He is also active 
in fraternal and club circles there and is 
a member of the Charter Oak Club, Rotary 
Club, City Club, Automobile Club, Put- 
nam Phalanx and Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He is a member of the 
Emanuel Congregational Church, and 
takes a prominent part in the work of the 
congregation. 

Mr. Fuller was married to Evelyn W. 
Ells, a daughter of Rupert Ells, of Corn- 
wallis. Nova Scotia. To them have been 
born two children : Alfred Howard, 
March zj, 1913, and Avard Ells, March 
17, 1916. 

The conditions which surrounded the 
beginnings of New England's industrial 
growth were of such a kind as to reflect 
a sort of double glory upon the names of 
the men whose efforts were responsible 
for its success. Not only were the un- 
usual obstacles which beset the paths of 
all originators and innovators there in 
full force to be overcome, but a very espe- 
cial difficulty existed in the undeveloped 
financial condition of the country, and the 
comparative poverty of the communities, 
which were largely self-dependent, win- 
ning what was needful for their own sup- 
port by their own efforts, but setting 
little aside, so that capital was extremely 
hard to come by. Yet, against all these 
difficulties, did such men as Mr. Fuller 
struggle, cheerfully accepting conditions 
as they found them, and patiently devis- 
ing means for their overcoming. The 
question of capital was unanswerable in 
any direct sense, but these men solved it 
by the simple quality of patience, making 



l^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their beginnings on a scale so small that 
practically no capital was needed, and 
then through years of toil and effort 
gradually fostered them sometimes to 
gigantic proportions. Tall indeed were 
the oaks which sprang from the acorns 
sowed by their hands. However huge and 
lofty the structures which our modern 
financiers build at such great pains, they 
are only possible because the foundations 
were so laboriously and successfully con- 
structed by those who came before, who 
were the real architects, the real designers 
of our modern industrial system. Their 
works and their tasks would have dis- 
couraged many of the most conspicuous 
figures in finance to-day, who would have 
been incapable of the slow perseverance 
which they of necessity must exercise, for 
those who made haste to get rich in those 
days inevitably met with disaster. A 
combination of qualities was thus re- 
quired for success, a combination well 
illustrated in the character of Mr. Fuller, 
and typical of a large class of New Eng- 
landers, though in a less degree, where 
may be seen united a high class of ideal- 
ism, strong, imaginative powers, with a 
curious knack for detail and a perfectly 
unlimited capacity for work. Along with 
these invaluable qualities, Mr. Fuller also 
possesses a keen insight into the work- 
ings of the human mind and a deep under- 
standing of its motives. There are, in- 
deed, but few needs of the community 
which Mr. Fuller does not consider with 
the deepest attention and concern, and 
which he does not give generously of his 
means and efforts to supply. Hartford 
has every reason to honor his name. 



FAULKNER, Thomas David, 

Real Estate, Insurance. 

Among the varied and diverse elements 
which go to make up the complex fabric 
•of our American citizenship and which 



are drawn from wellnigh ever}' quarter of 
the globe, there are few larger and none 
more important and valuable in propor- 
tion to its size than that formed by the 
great Irish population in our midst. There 
are many of that race conspicuous among 
the earliest Colonial settlers here, and 
from that time down to the present a 
steady tide has set from their oppressed 
land to this region and comparative free- 
dom and opportunity. From first to last 
they have brought with them those vir- 
tues peculiar to the race and engrafted 
upon the Anglo-Saxon stock the more 
brilliant Celtic qualities of ready wit, 
imagination and a remarkable blend of 
the keenest practical sense with a vivid 
appreciation of the most subtle and illu- 
sive forms of beauty. When that hypo- 
thetical thing, the future American race, 
is at least accomplished and rises new and 
glorious from this great witches' cauldron 
where it is now brewing, it will owe many 
of its best qualities to the Irish blood 
within its veins. A fine example of the 
best Irish type in this country is Thomas 
David Faulkner, who is descended from 
Irish parents, and who is one of the most 
successful dealers in real estate and in- 
surance, and a citizen of energy and pub- 
lic spirit. 

Born July i8, 1887, at South Manches- 
ter, Connecticut, Thomas David Faulk- 
ner is a son of Samuel J. and Annie 
(Weir) Faulkner. His father was born 
in County Armagh, Ireland, and came as 
a boy to America, locating at South Man- 
chester, Connecticut, where he found em- 
ployment in the Cheney Mills. He mar- 
ried Annie Weir, a daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah Weir, who, like himself, was a 
native of County Armagh, Ireland. They 
were the parents of five children, three of 
whom grew to maturity as follows : 
Thomas David, with whose career this 
sketch is principally concerned ; Alice and 
George. 



51 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas David Faulkner received his began a real estate and insurance agency 



education in the public schools of his 
native town of South Manchester, Con- 
necticut. Although his youthful advan- 
tages in this direction were somewhat 
meager, Mr. Faulkner has supplemented 
them since that time in every way possi- 
ble, not only by extensive reading in a 
wide field of subjects, which he has con- 
ducted independently, but also by means 
of correspondence instruction which he 
has carried on with several institutions of 
this kind. After completing his formal 
instruction, he entered the furniture store 
of Ezekiel Benson, of South Manchester, 
for whom he had already done som.e work 
while still at school. The death of his 
father was the event which rendered it 
necessary for him to abandon his studies 
and devote his entire time to the task of 
earning his livelihood, and it was then 
that he secured a permanent position m 
the furniture store. Here he remained for 
about three years, at the end of which 
period Mr. Benson's business was closed, 
and young Mr. Faulkner found it neces- 
sary to seek employment elsewhere. The 
three years following were spent as the 
driver of a laundry wagon in South Man- 
chester. In the meantime, however, both 
as a clerk in the furniture store and as 
driver, Mr. Faulkner had been consist- 
ently laying by a portion of his earnings, 
being only enabled to do so by the exer- 
cise of the most praiseworthy thrift. By 
this means he had accumulated a small 
capital which enabled him to start in busi- 
ness for himself, his initial enterprise 
being as a dealer in tea and coffee. He 
continued in this occupation for three 
years, during which time he met with so 
considerable a success that he felt justi- 
fied in adding other lines to them and 
establishing a regular grocery store at 
South Alanchester. For two years he re- 
mained in this line of business, and then 



at South Manchester. In this he was ex- 
tremely successful, and in 1914 he sold 
out his business there ; he came to Hart- 
ford and established in that city his pres- 
ent business. From that time up to the 
present he has met with an enviable and 
well-deserved success, and is now re- 
garded as one of the rising young busi- 
ness men of the city. Mr. Faulkner is 
prominently connected with many clubs 
and other organizations of a similar 
nature, and is a member of Charter Oak 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows : the Sons of Temperance, the City 
Club, the Charter Oak Ad Club, and the 
Young Men's Christian Association. He 
has always been interested in military 
matters, and since 1916 has been a mem- 
ber of the Governor's Foot Guard. He 
and his wife are members of St. Mary's 
Episcopal Church, of South Manchester, 
and are active in the work of the parish, 
while Mr. Faulkner has been an officer of 
the Sunday school about twelve years. 
One of the strongest tastes possessed by 
Mr. Faulkner is that for the art of music, 
and he is a musician of no small accom- 
plishments. For about twelve years he 
has acted as soloist in the choir of St. 
Mary's Church. 

Mr. Faulkner married, September 16, 
1914, Zella Lillian Bunce, a daughter of 
Charles Edwin and Ina (Chafifee) Bunce, 
old and well known residents of South 
Manchester. To Mr. and Mrs. Faulkner 
two children have been born : Ina Anna, 
June 15, 1915, and Thomas David. Jr., 
September 15, 1916. Mrs. Faulkner at- 
tended the Manchester schools and grad- 
uated from the South Manchester High 
School in 1908. She then entered the 
New Britain Normal School and after 
graduating, in 1910, taught school for four 
years. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(The Bunce Line). 

The Bunce family, of which Mrs. Faulk- 
ner was a member, has for long been asso- 
ciated with industrial and business enter- 
prise in the State of Connecticut, her 
father, Charles Edwin Bunce, having been 
one of the most prominent and successful 
farmers of Hartford county. He was born 
August 6, 1851, in his father's house, and 
continued to live there during his entire 
life. He secured his education at the local 
district schools and later at the high 
schools of Manchester and Hartford. On 
completing his studies, he returned to his 
home, where he continued to live during 
the remainder of his life and where he de- 
voted himself to farming during a similar 
period. His farm became one of the larg- 
est and best cultivated in Hartford county 
and he was known far and wide as a 
strong and attractive personality, a 
straightforward man in all his business 
dealings and a true friend. He married, 
June 8, 1882, Ina Chaffee, a daughter of 
Peter and Hannah Chaffee, of East Wood- 
stock, where her father and brothers car- 
ried on business as wagonmakers. They 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Myrtis, born April 15, 1883, died 
July 30, 1883 ; a child, born April 19, 1884, 
who died in infancy; Gertrude M., born 
May 29, 1885 ; Edwin C, born August 15, 
1887; Zella Lillian, born August 5, 1889, 
who became the wife of Mr. Faulkner; 
Rena, born February 5, 1891 ; Florence, 
born September 15, 1893; Louis, born 
July 19, 1897; Lawrence, born March 10, 
1902. 

Charles Edwin Bunce's father was Ed- 
win Bunce, a native of South Manchester, 
where he received his early education at 
the local public schools, and then attend- 
ed Wilbraham Academy. Upon complet- 
ing his education he began his life's work 
in a paper mill, his father having been 
closely identified with the development of 
this industry in the region, and continued 



actively engaged in this business until 
near the close of his life, when he retired 
to the farm of his son, Charles Edwin 
Bunce, where he finally died at the early 
age of fifty-four years. In the year 1843 
he was married to Lucinda Tryon, a 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mary (Strick- 
land) Tryon, of East Glastonbury. Mrs. 
Bunce died November 20, 1891. 



HEALEY, Patrick, 

Lavryer. 

Born in Waterbury, August 23, 1887, 
son of John and Catherine (Slavin) 
Healey, whose other children are : Fran- 
cis, born July 8, 1897; Catherine, born 
May 27, 1900; and Helen, born January 
24, 1903. 

He graduated from Waterbury High 
School, 1905 ; Yale College, Bachelor of 
Arts, 1909; Yale Law School, Bachelor 
of Laws, 191 1 ; admitted to practice of 
law in Connecticut, June, 191 1. 

Married to Kathleen Coughlan, daugh- 
ter of James and Lucy (Loughlin) Cough- 
lan, of Waterbury, September 16, 1913. 
Two children : Patricia, born June 26, 
1914; and Robert, born October 22, 1915. 

His father, eldest son of Patrick (died 
at Waterbury, 1893) and Mary (Breen) 
Healey (died at Waterbury, 1892), was 
born in County Kerry, Ireland, 1857, and 
came to Waterbury in 1859. He is a 
machinist by trade. 

His mother, daughter of John (died at 
Waterbury, 1902) and Bridget (Bergen) 
Slavin (died at Waterbury, 1887), was 
born in Waterbury, 1861. 

Religion, Roman Catholic. Politics, 
Democrat. Societies : Elks' Club, Knights 
of Columbus, Chi Tau Kappa. Public 
office : Representative from Waterbury 
to General Assembly of Connecticut, 1917, 
wherein he served as a member of the 
committee on cities and boroughs and as 
house chairman of the committee on un- 
finished business. 



S3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



COOGAN, John William, 

Attorney-at-I/aw. 

One of the oldest practicing lawyers in 
the city of Hartford, where he has been 
in continuous practice since 1879, Mr. 
Coogan has so kept abreast of the times 
that he was choice of the last mayor of 
Hartford, Joseph H. Lawler, for corpora- 
tion counsel, retiring from that office with 
that official in April, 1916. His pubHc 
service has been of a high order, extend- 
ing to legislative halls, while his practice 
has included some of the most celebrated 
cases tried at the Hartford bar. He is of 
the first American born generation of the 
family, the Coogans being an ancient fam- 
ily of Ireland, from whence came the 
grandfather, Daniel Coogan, bringing 
with him his son, James Coogan, father 
of John W. Coogan, of this review. 

Daniel Coogan, grandfather, was a 
paper maker by trade, and upon his 
arrival in this country located at Lee, 
Massachusetts. His death occurred in 
the town of Windsor Locks, Connecti- 
cut, at the great age of ninety-six years. 
Among the many children of Daniel Coo- 
gan was James Coogan, born in Ireland, 
a paper maker by trade, who later became 
superintendent of a paper mill in Windsor 
Locks, Connecticut, and for many years 
prior to his death successfully conducted 
a store. He was active in civic matters 
and held various town offices, serving as 
member of the Legislature in 1865 (first 
Catholic to fill position in Connecticut), 
and member of Board of Selectmen at 
Windsor Locks for a number of years. 
He married Eliza Byrne, a native of Ire- 
land, who died at Windsor Locks, in 1867, 
aged forty-nine years. They were the 
parents of eight children : Edward D ; 
James T. ; Timothy C. ; Joseph A. ; Eliza- 
beth, became the wife of James B. Ben- 
son, of Windsor Locks ; John William, of 



whom further ; Mary J., a Sister of Mercy 
known as Sister M. Laurentia ; and one 
child, deceased. The sons of James Coo- 
gan all became men of prominence in their 
community ; Dr. Joseph A. Coogan was 
the only male member of the family who 
did not sit in the State Legislature as a 
duly elected member, and he could have 
borne the same distinction but his pro- 
fession was to him a higher obligation 
and he steadily devoted himself to its 
duties in Hartford and Windsor Locks. 
Timothy C, an eminent member of the 
bar, served three times as State senator 
in Connecticut and later moved to San 
Francisco, California, where he was 
equally prominent in the law. As his 
father in the Lower House of the Legis- 
lature of the State of Connecticut, so 
Timothy C. Coogan was the first adherent 
of the Catholic faith to serve as State 
Senator in Connecticut. 

John William Coogan, fifth son of 
James and Eliza (Byrne) Coogan, was 
born in Windsor Locks, Connecticut, 
June 3, 1855. After public school courses 
at Windsor Locks, where his early years 
were passed, he entered Fordham Univer- 
sity, New York, where he pursued a full 
course, terminating with his graduation 
in the class of 1876 with the degree of 
A. B. The brother, Timothy C. Coogan, 
then in successful law practice at Thomp- 
sonville, admitted him as a law student, 
and he afterwards entered the law office 
of Hon. William C. Case at New Haven 
and while there entered the Yale Law 
School. In 1878 Fordham University con- 
ferred on him the degree of Master of 
Arts, and in 1912 the degree of L. L. D. 
In 1879 he was graduated from the Yale 
Law School with the degree of LL. B. 
He was at once admitted to the Hartford 
county bar, and from that time has been 
continuously in practice in the city of 
Hartford, transacting a large business in 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



all State and Federal courts of the dis- 
trict. He has gained an enviable promi- 
nence in his profession and has ably and 
successfully conducted some of the most 
celebrated cases recorded in the annals of 
the bar with which he is connected. He 
is a member of the various bar associ- 
ations, and is highly regarded by his pro- 
fessional brethren, while the public-at- 
large regard him with particular favor. 
His law library is said to be one of the 
most extensive in the State. Always a 
student, he has surrounded himself with 
the best of law authorities, references and 
histories. Genial and courteous in man- 
ner, he has a host of friends, his person- 
ality and his ability combining to produce 
a strong and lovable character. 

Mr. Coogan inherited the family taste 
for participating in political affairs, and 
from youthful manhood has borne a lead- 
ing part in party and city affairs. For 
two years he was prosecuting attorney 
for the city of Hartford ; for many years 
was a grand juror; was a member of the 
State Legislature in 1882, serving on the 
committee of cities and boroughs ; was a 
member of the Board of Street Commis- 
sioners, 1900-03 and 1903-06, and during 
the administration of Mayor Lawler was 
corporation counsel for the city of Hart- 
ford. A Democrat in his political faith, 
he has ever been potent in party councils, 
and was a delegate to innumerable city, 
county and State conventions. In 1900 
he was a candidate on the Democratic 
ticket for presidential elector. He is a 
past grand knight of Charter Oak Coun- 
cil, Knights of Columbus; past exalted 
ruler of Hartford Lodge, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and past grand 
trustee of the National Order. He holds 
membership in several other organiza- 
tions, fraternal, social and religious. He 
is a member of the Roman Catholic 
church, attending the services of St. Jo- 



seph's Cathedral, this being the faith of 
his forefathers. 

Mr. Coogan married, December 28, 
1898, Susan O. Nolan, born in Albany, 
New York, daughter of Murtha T. Nolan, 
an old resident of that city. Children, 
born in Hartford, Connecticut : John Wil- 
liam, born October 23, 1899, ^"d Murtha 
T., born February 28, 1902. 



KING, Joseph Harrington, 

Financier. 

Joseph Harrington King, president of 
the American Industrial Bank and Trust 
Company, has attained his position in the 
financial world entirely as a result of his 
own industry and well directed efforts. 
He has been advanced step by step in 
recognition of service well performed and 
his mastery of the details of the banking 
business. He is one of Connecticut's na- 
tive sons, having been born in East Hart- 
ford, July 28, 1855. His father was George 
Walter King, a well known business man 
of Hartford ; and his mother, before her 
m-arriage, was Julia Burnham. 

Mr. King's paternal grandfather, Walter 
King, was a native of Glasgow, Scotland, 
born September 11, 1780. In early man- 
hood he served as aide to Sir John Moore, 
in the British army, and later resided in 
Lancashire. He came to the United States 
from there in 1818. He remained here for 
a short time, then returned to England, 
but came back again to the United States 
in 1822. After being for a brief period in 
New York City, he removed to Paterson, 
but died in New York City in 1863. Mr. 
King was married three times. His first 
wife was a young widow. Mrs. Ann (Hes- 
keth) McCandlish, whom he married in 
1807. She died in 1819 or 1820. 

Their son, George W. King, was born 
in Lancashire, England, February 16, 
1817. He was educated in the public 



5S 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



schools of Paterson and New York, and 
then acquired the trade of jeweler with 
Wilmot, Moffit & Curtis. After this he 
passed some time in Virginia, and then 
came to East Hartford, Connecticut, 
where he found employment with W. & 
O. Pitkin, silversmiths. After a time he 
started in business for himself on State 
street, Hartford, and continued success- 
fully until his death in 1881. He married 
Julia Burnham, daughter of George and 
Nabby (Hills) Burnham, and they had 
the following children : Mary Jane, de- 
ceased : James Walter, of East Hartford : 
Alice C. Burnham, deceased ; Emma 
Louisa, married John N. Bidwell, of East 
Hartford ; George Burnham, deceased ; 
Joseph Harrington, of further mention ; 
Annie Kate, of East Hartford ; and Ed- 
ward Everett, of East Hartford. The 
mother of these children passed away in 
1893, at the age of seventy-three years. 

Joseph Harrington King, the sixth child 
in this family, was graduated from the 
Hartford High School in 1873, after which 
he became a clerk in the American Na- 
tional Bank. He soon gave evidence of 
possessing those qualities that mark the 
successful banker, dependability, indus- 
try, intelligent initiative, diplomacy and 
courtesy. He was advanced rapidly, and 
in 1883 became cashier, Mr. John G. Root 
resigning, and he was at that time the 
youngest bank officer in Hartford. Upon 
the death of Mr. Rowland Swift, the first 
president, he was elected president of the 
bank, holding that position when it was 
consolidated with the Phoenix National 
Bank, in May, 1912. Mr. King soon set 
about organizing the new institution of 
which he is now the executive head, the 
American Industrial Bank and Trust 
Company, being elected its president, 
September i, 1913. 

He is a man of strong character, pro- 



gressive without being visionary ; and 
cautious, but having the courage of his 
convictions when his mature judgment 
approves a given course of action. He 
takes a very keen interest in those move- 
ments and measures that promise to en- 
hance the general welfare ; and is a direc- 
tor of the Hartford Morris Plan Com- 
pany, an institution which is doing a 
splendid work among those worthy citi- 
zens who find themselves temporarily em- 
barassed in financial matters, and not so 
circumstanced that they can be helped 
by regular banks. Mr. King is also presi- 
dent of the Allen Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of Hartford ; vice-president of the 
Henry & Wright Manufacturing Comr 
pany : and a director in the Austin Organ 
Company. 

On the 8th of October, 1878, Mr. King 
was married to Mary E. Loomis, daugh- 
ter of Walter A. Loomis, of East Hart- 
ford. Mrs. King's father, Walter Adams 
Loomis, was born May 24, 1823, in East 
Hartford, and was married, October 8, 
1845, to Margaret E. Clark. Mrs. King is 
the ninth generation by direct descent 
from Joseph Loomis, a woolen draper of 
Braintree, Essex county, England. He 
was born about the year 1530, and sailed 
from London in the ship "Susan and 
Ellen," April 11, 1638, arriving in Boston 
July 17th of the same year. He came to 
Windsor, Connecticut, with five sons and 
three daughters, in 1639, and became the 
owner of several tracts of land. His home 
was situated at the mouth of the Farm- 
ington river, or thereabouts. He died 
November 25, 1658. and his wife died 
August 23, 1652. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph 
H. King are the parents of three children : 
Edwin Loomis, born August 18, 1880; 
George Walter, born February 8, 1886; 
and Lester Hazen, born March 11, 1887. 



56 



THE IIE'vV YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AvrO.T, LENOX 
TILDLN rC JiND TiONS; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HALL, Eugene Ashley, 

Banker, Merchant. 

The subject of this biography inherits 
from many generations of sturdy New 
England ancestry the sound mind, body 
and principles necessary to usefulness in 
the world. The name is one of the oldest 
in America, and was established at sev- 
eral points in New England at almost 
simultaneous dates. 

John Hall (styled, "ist., of Walling- 
ford") lived with his family in New 
Haven about thirty years, and in Walling- 
ford about six or seven. He came from 
England to Boston, 1633, thence to Hart- 
ford, where he received a grant of land 
from the town, which he forfeited by re- 
moval. He served in the Pequot war in 
1637. In 1639 he was one of the free- 
planters of New Haven and signed "The 
foundamentall agreement." In 1670, with 
three of his sons, John, Samuel and Ser- 
geant Thomas, he joined the company that 
settled Wallingford. becoming one of the 
original proprietors and was a signer of 
the original "Covernant" as were two of 
his sons. He was born in England, in 
1605, and died at Wallingford, in 1676. 
Dr. Lyman Hall, Governor of Georgia 
and signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence, was a descendant of this John 
Hall. In 1641 he married Jeanne Wollen, 
who died November 14, 1690. Their fifth 
son was Thomas Hall, born March 23, 
1649, in New Haven, and lived in Wall- 
ingford, Connecticut, where he died Sep- 
tember 17, 1731. His marriage, June 5, 
1673, to Grace Watson, was the first cel- 
ebrated in Wallingford. She was born 
1653, a daughter of Edward and Grace 
(Walker) Watson, and died May i, 1731. 
Their third son was Joseph Hall, born 
July 8, 1681, died November 3, 1748. He 
married, November 13, 1706, Bertha Ter- 
rell, who died December 28, 1753. They 
were the parents of Ephraim Hall, who 



was born April 25, 1723, and made his 
home in the section of Wallingford known 
as North Farms, his house standing on 
the east side of the road in the present 
meadow, and the well on his farm is still 
in use. He married, October 13, 1763, 
Chloe Moss, born December 6, 1739, 
daughter of David and Mindwell (Doolit- 
tle) Moss. They were the parents of 
Comfort Hall, who was born February 
25, 1773, and lived in Wallingford until 
about 1797, when he removed to the town 
of Middletown, in the Westfield section, 
and purchased a large tract of land, on 
which he resided until his death. He was 
one of the early Methodists of the sec- 
tion, and one of the original trustees of 
the Methodist church at Middlefield, Con- 
necticut, an earnest, zealous and devoted 
Christian, his home always open for the 
entertainment of Methodist preachers. 
Like most men of his time, he was a Dem- 
ocrat in political principle. He died No- 
vember 20, 1855, in Westfield. He mar- 
ried, February i. 1796, Jemima Bacon, 
born February 2, 1775, daughter of 
Phineas and Sarah (Atkins) Bacon, and 
died February 24, 1847. Their second 
son was Harley Hall, born March 21, 
1799, in Westfield, and lived in Middle- 
field, where he died April 24, 1874, at the 
age of seventy-five years. He married, 
June 8, 1828, Martha Cone Hall, born 
April 3, 1805, in East Haddam, Connec- 
ticut, died in Meriden, April 20. 1880. She 
was a daughter of William Hall, a direct 
descendant of John Hall, "of Middle- 
town," born in county of Kent, England. 
1584, came to Boston, 1633, Hartford, 
1635, original proprietor of Middletown, 
1650. Her mother, Martha (Cone) Hall, 
was a daughter of Sylvanus Cone, of East 
Haddam, a Revolutionary soldier, and a 
direct descendant of Daniel Cone, who 
was an original proprietor of Haddam in 
1662. 

Rufus Hall, second son of Harley and 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Martha Cone (Hall) Hall, was born Oc- 
tober 3, 1839, in Middlefield, and grew up 
on the paternal homestead, assisting from 
a very early age in the labors of the farm. 
He acquired habits of industry and 
thrift, and received from his parents a 
high moral training. His education was 
supplied by the district schools, and at 
the early age of nineteen years he set out 
to make himself independent in the world. 
For some years he dealt in meats in Port- 
land, Middlefield and Wallingford, and 
in i860 moved to Meriden, Connecticut, 
where he continued to be one of the most 
active citizens during his life. In 1861, 
in association w-ith his brother, the late 
Norman C. Hall, he engaged in the gro- 
cery business, the name of the firm being 
Norman C. Hall & Company. After nine 
years he sold out his interest to his 
brother, and in association with Charles 
Grether established a meat market under 
the name of Grether & Hall. After a few 
years, Mr. Hall became sole proprietor of 
the business, which he conducted several 
years, after which he sold it to his former 
partner, and engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness with his brother. In 1884 he again 
engaged in the meat business, and the 
establishment which he then founded is 
still conducted by his son, the business 
being incorporated under the name of 
The Hall's Market Company in 1909. Mr. 
Hall continued to conduct this establish- 
ment until his death, from pneumonia, 
February 3, 1901. His body was laid to 
rest in Indian Hill Cemetery, Middle- 
town. Air. Hall did not aspire to partici- 
pate in political afifairs, but was ever a 
model citizen, industrious and straight- 
forward in business methods. 

He married, at Middletown, April 25, 
1859, Esther Asenath Grover, a direct 
descendant of Thomas Grover, of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts, 1642 ; she was born 
in Middletown, January 2. 1837, died in 



Meriden, December 18, 1891. She is 
buried beside her husband in Indian Hill 
Cemetery. She was a daughter of Arden 
and Sarah Maria (Clark) Grover, a grand- 
daughter of Oliver and Asenath (Eaton) 
Grover, great-granddaughter of John and 
Abigail (Flint) Grover. Asenath Eaton 
was a descendant of William Eaton, who 
was in Watertown. Massachusetts, in 
1642, and Abigail Flint was descended 
from Thomas Flint, of Salem, Massachu- 
setts, in 1650. Sarah Maria (Clark) 
Grover, mother of Mrs. Hall, was a 
daughter of Daniel Clark, a Revolution- 
ary soldier. Mr. and Mrs. Hall were the 
parents of two children : Effie Maria, 
born March 13, i860, died March i, 1862, 
and Eugene Ashley, of further mention. 
Eugene Ashley Hall was born August 
7, 1865. in Meriden, where he has con- 
tinued to be identified with business and 
social life to the present day, prominent 
among financiers and business men. He 
attended the district schools until he had 
attained the age of fifteen years, and leav- 
ing school he was employed by the firm of 
J. Cook (S; Company, manufacturers of 
printing presses, the Bradley & Hubbard 
Manufacturing Company, The IMeriden 
Britannia Company and in the stationery 
and toy store of William Hagadon, enter- 
ing the employ of the Meriden Savings 
Bank, May, 1883, as office boy, he won 
rapid promotion in that institution by his 
industry and business aptitude. At the 
time of his father's death he was teller 
of the bank, and resigned his position in 
order to take care of the business estab- 
lished by his father. He continued to 
serve the Meriden Savings Bank as trus- 
tee, director and auditor, and in 1914 
was elected its president, in which posi- 
tion he has continued to the present time. 
He is president and treasurer of The 
Hall's Market Company. From 1899 to 
1907 he was treasurer of the town of 



58 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Meriden, and has been actively interested 
in the Meriden Board of Trade and the 
Meriden Chamber of Commerce. For 
several years he served as trustee, secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Connecticut 
School for Boys, and was also treasurer 
of the Connecticut State and Meriden 
Agricultural societies. 

For many years Mr. Hall has been 
prominently identified with Free Masonry 
in Connecticut, presiding over Meriden 
Lodge, Keystone Chapter, Hamilton 
Council, St. Elmo Commandery of Meri- 
den, the Grand Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, and Grand Comanandery. Knights 
Templar, of Connecticut; is a member 
of the Scottish Rite bodies of New Haven. 
LaFayette Consistory, Scottish Rite, and 
Pyramid Temple, Mystic Shrine, of 
Bridgeport, and the Masonic Charity 
Foundation of Connecticut. He is a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Society and Cap- 
tain John Couch Branch, Sons of the 
American Revolution, a member of St. 
Andrew's Protestant Episcopal Church, 
Home Club and Colonial Club of Meriden. 
In political principle he is a Republican, 
and is always active in promoting the 
best government for the city and State. 

Mr. Hall married, December 15, 1897, 
Edna Adele Mix, daughter of ex-Senator 
John Walter and Kate Urana (Wallace) 
Mix, of (Yalesville) Wallingford, Con- 
necticut, a direct descendant of Thomas 
Mix, who was in New Haven as early as 
1643, granddaughter of John and Eliza 
(Merriman) Mix, the last named a daugh- 
ter of Albert Merriman. a Revolutionary 
soldier. Mrs. Hall's mother was a daugh- 
ter of Franklin and Fanny (Hall) Wal- 
lace, of Cheshire, Connecticut, the latter 
a daughter of Lyman and Milla Hall, both 
direct descendants of John Hall, of Wall- 
ingford. Benjamin Hall, father of Lyman 
Hall, was a soldier of the Revolution. 
Mr. and Mrs. Eugene A. Hall are the par- 



ents of three children : Fanny, born No- 
vember 15, 1898; Edna, February 3, 1900, 
and Eugene Mix, June 27, 1903. 



WILLIAMS, Charles Merriam, 

Superintendent of Connecticut School for 
Boys. 

In 1874, Mr. Williams, then a young 
man of twenty-three, entered the teaching 
profession, as principal of the Railroad 
District School in Meriden. Twenty-one 
years later the boys and girls who had 
sat under his instructions during those 
years had become the voters and custo- 
dians of the city interests, including the 
oversight and management of the public 
schools. When it was deemed the part 
of wisdom that the schools be consoli- 
dated and placed under the care of a gen- 
eral superintendent, their thoughts with 
one accord turned to their former prin- 
cipal, and Mr. Williams was chosen for 
the post. A few years later, in 1898, per- 
haps some of his former pupils were 
members of the board of trustees on 
whom devolved the duty of choosing a 
superintendent for the Connecticut Boys 
Home, but whether or not, the reputation 
won during a quarter of a century was 
well known to the board and Mr. Wil- 
liams was declared the choice of the 
board. Nineteen years have elapsed since 
he first assumed the duties of his ofifice, 
but he is still the honored head of the 
institution, a longer term than any pre- 
vious superintendent ever served. Length 
of service implies peculiar fitness for the 
position filled, and this holds true of the 
veteran educator, who had not only the 
problems of the teacher to solve but those 
of the reformer, the philanthropist and 
the humanitarian. How well he has 
solved those problems the records of the 
School for Boys show. Minds have been 
trained, talents developed, genius encour- 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



aged and lives of usefulness opened to 
boys whose mornings were darkened by 
error. As the guiding head of the insti- 
tution, Mr. Williams has been placed in 
the most responsible position to which a 
man can be called, and to his credit is 
placed the fact that he has shirked no 
issue, evaded no responsibility, but with 
an eye single to the best interests of those 
placed under his care has labored untir- 
ingly and intelligently. Thousands of 
boys have passed out into the world from 
under his guidance, from both the public 
school and the School for Boys, and thou- 
sands testify to the influence for good he 
has been in their lives. 

Mr. Williams is a descendant of Thomas 
Williams, who bought land in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, in 1661, and in the 
same year was granted river lands at 
Rocky Hill. His son, Jacob Williams, 
born in 1664, a sea captain, died at Rocky 
Hill in 1712. He married Sarah Gilbert, 
and their son, Ephraim Williams, was a 
merchant of Wethersfield, trading with 
New York and the West Indies until his 
death in 1761, aged seventy-one. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Russell, a great-grand- 
daughter of John Russell, founder of his 
line in New England, and of Stephen 
Terry, one of the first settlers of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. 

Captain Ephraim W^illiams had a son. 
Captain Elias Williams, born in Wethers- 
field, in 1719, who was a man of promi- 
nence there and in Stepney Parish both 
before and during the Revolution. He 
served on various committees in aid of 
the Colonial cause, and in 1777 was a 
captain in the Sixth Connecticut Militia. 
He died in 1798. He married Prudence 
Robbins, a great-granddaughter of John 
Robbins. the early settler, son of John 
Robbins, who is believed to have come to 
Wethersfield with his son and died soon 
after coming. 



Captain Elias Williams was the father 
of Corporal Eliel Williams, born in Step- 
ney Parish, January 30, 1746, died there 
August 2, 1819. He was one of the four 
corporals enrolled under Captain John 
Chester, and sent from Wethersfield on 
the Lexington Alarm and fought at 
Bunker Hill. He married Comfort Mor- 
ton, a maternal descendant of Governor 
Thomas Welles, and her great-great-pa- 
ternal grandmother. Honor Treat, was a 
sister of Governor Robert Treat, and wife 
of John Deming, one of the first settlers 
of Wethersfield. 

Merriam Williams, son of Corporal 
Eliel Williams, was born in Stepney 
Parish, July 3, 1785, and died May 10, 
1857. He was a tanner and currier and 
shoe manufacturer of Rocky Hill, also a 
landowner and farmer. He married Eliza- 
beth Danforth, daughter of Thomas Dan- 
forth, a manufacturer and merchant of 
Rocky Hill. 

Thomas Danforth Williams, son of 
Merriam \\'illiams, was born at Rocky 
Hill, Connecticut, December 4, 1819, died 
there December 4, 1881. He was a farmer 
all his life, a deacon of the Congregational 
church for thirty years, and for twenty 
years (not consecutively) town assessor. 
He married, April 6, 1842, Mary Jane 
Boardman, born at Rocky Hill, March 20, 
1820, died August 7, 1888, the last sur- 
vivor in the town of the twelve children 
of Captain Jason Boardman. who for fifty 
years was a shipbuilder, owner and cap- 
tain of vessels. Her father. Captain John 
Boardman, owned vessels sailing and 
trading with the West Indies and was 
lost at sea. Captain John Boardman was 
a son of Jonathan Boardman, son of Na- 
thaniel Boardman, son of Samuel Bore- 
man (the original spelling), who came to 
New England in 1638, and settled at 
Wethersfield about 1641. Thomas Dan- 
forth and Mary Jane (Boardman) Wil- 



60 



THE KEV/ VQRK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TILDEN fOlJt;DATIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hams were the parents of two sons and 
two daughters : Luther Boardman, a 
prominent agriculturist of Rocky Hill and 
an ex-member of the Legislature ; Caro- 
line Elizabeth, of Rocky Hill ; Charles 
Merriam, of further mention; Anna Jane, 
died at the age of nineteen years. 

Charles Merriam Williams was born at 
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, November 13, 
185 1. His youth was spent at the home 
farm and in attendance at the public 
school, after which he completed his 
studies at Williston Seminary, Easthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts. Choosing the profes- 
sion of teaching he became principal of 
the Railroad District School in Meriden 
in 1874, he establishing so good a reputa- 
tion that he was advanced later to the 
principalship of the Center School and 
finally to the same post in the West Dis- 
trict School which included the Lewis 
Avenue School and the control of about 
five hundred pupils. In these three schools 
twenty-one years were passed, years of 
wonderful expansion and improvement in 
the schools and equal development in the 
educator. As principal he won the loyal 
support of his teaching staff, and the full 
confidence of his pupils who, as they 
passed on into high school, bore testi- 
mony to the thoroughness of their prepa- 
ration. In 1895 the schools of the city 
were consolidated and brought under the 
general management of a superintendent 
appointed by the Board of Education. 
Kis long experience and the high reputa- 
tion ]\Ir. Williams held as an educator 
eminently fitted him for the position, a 
fact recognized by the board by his ap- 
pointment. He retained the office of 
superintendent until 1898, when he with- 
drew to accept the appointment of super- 
intendent of the Connecticut School for 
Boys, a State institution. This office he 
has new (1917) held for nineteen years 
with great acceptability. 



In the profession he adopted when a 
young man, he has attained prominent 
position and is numbered with the strong, 
capable and devoted men of that profes- 
sion. He is a member of several societies 
dealing with the problems which are his 
and also is interested in fraternity and 
social organizations. He is a member of 
Meriden Lodge, No. ']'], Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Chapter, Royal 

Arch Masons ; Hamilton Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; St. Elmo Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar; the Sons of 
the Revolution ; and the Home and High- 
land Country clubs. In politics he is a 
Republican. 

Mr. Williams married, June 17, 1881, 
Emeline McFarland, daughter of Joseph 
and Emeline (Bulkeley) McFarland. They 
are the parents of a son, Stanley Thomas 
\\'illiams. born October 25. 1888, a gradu- 
ate of Yale University, A. B., 191 1 ; A. M., 
1912; Ph. D., 1914; now an instructor at 
Yale. 



WHEELER, Frederick James, 

Merchant. 

As the oldest merchant in Meriden, not 
only in years, but in the period engaged 
in business, and as a citizen of highest 
integrity, great industry and commercial 
success, Mr. Wheeler has earned a place 
in the annals of the people in the State. 
His ancestors, both paternal and maternal, 
have been long established in the State, 
and have borne no mean part in promot- 
ing its development and progress. The 
founder of the Wheeler family in Connec- 
ticut was Moses Wheeler, born 1597-98, 
in Kent, England, who came, with others, 
from London, England, and settled in 
New Haven in 1638. There is a tradition 
that he lived in London during the prev- 
alence of the plague in that city, which 
caused many people to flee. According 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to this tale, Moses Wheeler was stricken 
and, supposing he was about to die, dug 
his own grave and lay down in it. His 
neighbors, believing him to be dead, were 
about to bury him but, discovering evi- 
dences of lite, desisted. After this narrow 
escape from being buried alive, he de- 
cided to leave the country, and thus be- 
came a pioneer of Connecticut. At New 
Haven he was granted an allotment of 
land in 1643. Subsequently he removed 
to Stratford, where the family has been 
prominent for many generations, ranking 
among the most influential citizens of 
the town. In 1648 Moses Wheeler was 
granted the ferry across the Housatonic 
river, in Stratford, and in 1670 he received 
a lease of the ferry and lands adjoining, 
for a period of twenty-one years, at a 
rental of six pence per year. This indi- 
cates the great confidence felt in him by 
the citizens of the town, and the impor- 
tance of maintaining a reliable ferry. He 
gave most of his property to his children 
ten years before his death. His will was 
made February 16, 1690, and he probably 
died very soon thereafter. His descend- 
ants have occupied conspicuous places for 
two hundred and seventy-five years in the 
territory now comprising the counties of 
Fairfield, New Haven and Litchfield. He 
married Miriam Hawley. a sister of Jo- 
seph Hawley, and their second son was 
Moses W^heeler, born July 5, 1651, in 
Stratford, died there January 30, 1725. 
He was one of the wealthiest citizens of 
the town, and the inventory of his estate 
amounted to £1463 5s. and 6d. He mar- 
ried, October 20, 1674, in Stratford, Sarah, 
daughter of Caleb and Anne (Ward) 
Nichols, born December i, 1651, in Strat- 
ford. Their son, Elnathan Wheeler 
(known as Nathan), was born January 
31, 1681, in Stratford, where he was a 
large landowner, and died 1765-66. By 
his will each of his four sons received a 



tract of land. His third wife, Elizabeth, 
surname unrecorded, was born 1688, and 
died 1739. Their youngest child was 
Ephraim Wheeler, baptized in July, 1723, 
and resided in Stratford. He married, 
]\Iarch 7, 1743, Sarah Wilcoxson, born 
June 6, 1719, daughter of William and 
Hester (Brinsmade) Wilcoxson. Samuel 
Wheeler, third son of Ephraim and Hester 
(Wilcoxson) Wheeler, was born October 
4 1757, in Stratford, and lived there. He 
married (second) November 26, 1781, 
Hannah Hawley, daughter of Matthew, 
Jr., and Bethiah Hawley. Her eighth 
child and his sixth son and eleventh child 
was Everett Wheeler, born in September, 
1796. His home was in Stratford, where 
he was a large farmer and prominent citi- 
zen, and died February 22. 1878. In 1847 
he was elected on the W'hig ticket as a 
member of the Legislature, and acquitted 
himself well in that body. He married, in 
December, 1825, Mary Curtis, born about 
1796-97, daughter of Dr. Ezra and Anna 
(L^fiford) Curtis. Their children were: 
Henry Gould, born January 21, 1827, re- 
sided in Stratford ; Caroline, August 4, 
1829, married Curtis W^ells ; Frederick 
James, of further mention; Thomas Ever- 
ett, born October 18, 1836, died 1857. 

The Curtis family, from which Mary 
(Curtis) Wheeler was descended, was 
founded by William Curtis, who lived in 
England and probably died there. His 
widow Elizabeth and sons John and W^il- 
liam settled in Stratford, Connecticut, in 
1639. The Curtis family was a prolific 
one in England, and had many repre- 
sentatives in Kent, where several were 
mayors of Tenterden, and in County Sus- 
sex, England. The ancient coat-of-arms 
is thus described : Argent, a chevron 
sable, between three bulls' heads ca- 
boshed, gules. Crest: A unicorn passant, 
or, between four trees proper. John Cur- 
tis, son of William and Elizabeth Curtis, 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born 1613, came to Stratford, and died 
there December 2, 1707, aged ninety-four 
years. His wife Elizabeth died in March, 
1682. His eldest son and namesake set- 
tled in Newark, New Jersey. The fourth 
son, Joseph Curtis, was born November 
12, 1650. He married, November 9, 1676, 
Bethiah, daughter of Richard Booth, and 
their eldest son was Ephraim Curtis, born 
December 31, 1684, in Stratford, died in 
1776. He married, June 26, 1706, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Ephraim Stiles. She 
died in October, 1775. Their eldest child 
was Stiles Curtis, born March 18, 1707, in 
Stratford, during the lifetime of his great- 
grandfather. He married, November 7, 
1730, Rebecca Judson. Their fourth son 
was Silas Curtis, baptized June 14, 1743, 
in Stratford, lived at Oronoke, in the 
northern part of the town of Stratford, 
where he died January 15, 1816. He mar- 
ried, February 17, 1765, Hannah Birdsey, 
born December 15, 1746, died November 
25, 181 1, daughter of Rev. Nathan and 
Dorothy (Hawley) Birdsey, of Stratford. 
Their eldest child was Ezra Curtis, born 
August 26, 1765, in Stratford, was edu- 
cated as a physician, engaged in practice, 
and died at Litchfield, Connecticut, No- 
\'ember 17, 1797, in his thirty-eighth year. 
He married Anna, daughter of Samuel 
and Abigail (Gold) Ufford, of Stratford, 
born October 24, 1772. After the death 
of Dr. Curtis she married (second) John 
Wells. Mary, daughter of Dr. Ezra and 
Anna (Ufford) Curtis, born about 1796- 
97, became the wife of Everett Wheeler, 
as previously noted. 

Frederick James Wheeler, second son 
of Everett and Mary (Curtis) Wheeler, 
was born March 4, 1834, in Stratford, and 
was reared upon his father's farm, sharing 
in its labors, and receiving his education 
in the neighboring district school. While 
his educational opportunities were some- 
what limited, he was always of an observ- 



ant nature, and by study and experience 
was fitted for the contest in which every 
man must work out his own destiny. 
When sixteen years of age he went to 
Seymour, Connecticut, where he learned 
the trade of tinsmith, and following this 
was employed for seven years as a jour- 
neyman in Waterbury. As a young man. 
Mr. Wheeler did not fritter away his time 
or his earnings in dissipation, and he was 
soon enabled to establish himself in busi- 
ness. In 1862 he located in Meriden, 
where he established himself as a tin- 
smith, and in time added to his industries 
those of plumbing, heating and ventila- 
tion. He was a skillful workman, honest 
and persevering, and rapidly built up a 
profitable business. In time his store in- 
cluded general hardware, cutlery, stoves, 
crockery and woodenware, and for many 
years he has operated one of the largest 
and best stocked establishments in the 
city. He has ever been a conscientious 
and upright dealer, has enjoyed the con- 
fidence and respect of his neighbors, and 
has gained a competence by his own 
energy, industry and courteous consider- 
ation for the welfare of his patrons. Mr. 
Wheeler is a member of the First Con- 
gregational Church of Meriden, and is 
ever ready to further any good work or 
any undertaking calculated to promote 
the interests of the community and of the 
world at large. 

Mr. Wheeler married, July 17, 1866, 
Mary Elizabeth Bennett, born October 
27, 1838, died December 24, 1907, daugh- 
ter of William Lewis and Mary A. (Ben- 
jamin) Bennett, of Huntington, Connec- 
ticut, and they were the parents of one 
son, William Bennett, born September 15, 
1868, died September 10, 1882. 

Isaac Bennett, the progenitor of the 
branch of the Bennett family of which 
Mrs. Wheeler was a member, was a na- 
tive of England, from whence he came to 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



this country in 1650, and settled in Strat- 
ford, Connecticut. He married Elizabeth 
Rose. The line is descended through their 
son, Captain Nathan Bennett, who mar- 
ried Deborah Curtis. Their son, Nathan 
^2) Bennett, married Elizabeth Lewis. 
Their son, Nathan (3) Bennett, a farmer 
of Huntington, Connecticut, married 
Nancy Beard. Their son, William Lewis 
Bennett, born in Huntington, Connecti- 
cut, July 3, 181 1, died there, September 25, 
1871. He was reared on his father's farm, 
attended the district schools of his native 
town and the high school at Huntington 
Center, and followed agricultural pursuits 
for a number of years, first with his 
father, and on his marriage purchased a 
farm adjoining his father's farm, and there 
resided for the remainder of his days, 
achieving a large degree of success in his 
undertaking. He was active in public 
affairs, served as selectman of his town, 
as a member of the House of Representa- 
tives one term, as senator from the Tenth 
Connecticut Senatorial District in 1863- 
64, and again served as representative in 
1866-67. He was a man of singular ability 
and merit, possessed a clear head, honest 
heart and sound judgment, also of un- 
bending integrity and Roman firmness, 
and was an off-hand debater, having no 
equal in the House of Representatives. 
He married, November 16, 1837, Mary A. 
Benjamin, born May 8, 1810, in Derby, 
Connecticut, died September 30, 1881, in 
Huntington, Connecticut. Children : Mary 
Elizabeth, aforementioned as the wife of 
Frederick J. Wheeler, and Frances Sarah, 
born February 2, 1845, at present residing 
in ]\Ieriden, Connecticut. 



SEELEY, George Simeon, 

Public Official, Real Estate Dealer. 

The late George S. Seeley, of Aleriden, 
held a high place in the esteem of the 



people as an upright and incorruptible 
official, a faithful and earnest worker in 
promoting the welfare of his home city. 
He was descended from good ancestry. 
The first authentic record of this name, 
which has been variously spelled Seely, 
Sealy, Sealey, Seelye, Seeley, appears in 
Froude's "History of England,'' vol. viii, 
p. 452, as follows: ''In the year 1563 the 
following petition was addressed to the 
Lords of Elizabeth's Council: 'In most 
lamentable wise showeth unto your hon- 
ors, 3-our humble Orator Dorothy Seeley 
of the City of Bristol, wife of Thomas See- 
ley of the Queen's Majesty's guard, that 
where her said husband upon most vile, 
slanderous, spiteful, malicious, and most 
villainous words spoken against the 
Queen's Majesty's own person by a cer- 
tain subject of the King of Spain, here 
not to be uttered ; not being able to suffer 
same, did flee upon the same slanderous 
person and gave him a blow. So it is 
most honorable Lords that hereupon my 
said husband, no other offense in respect 
of their religion then committed, was 
secretly accused to the inquistion of the 
Holy House, and so committed to most 
vile prison, and there hath remained now 
three whole years in miserable state with 
cruel torments." 

A son of the aforesaid Thomas Seeley 
is mentioned as captain in command of 
the "Minion," accompanying Drake in his 
famous voyage to the West Indies in 
1685-86. The name Seeley is associated 
with the early history of England, Shakes- 
peare, in his play "Richard II.," represent- 
ing Sir Bennet Seeley as having been be- 
headed by the followers of Bolingbroke 
for his loyalty to Richard, who was de- 
throned in 1399. 

Robert Seeley came to America with 
Governor Winthrop, landing at Salem, 
June, 1630, and bringing with him his wife 
Marv and sons. Nathaniel and Obadiah. 



64 




^yM-CA^a^^T^ 



o^i^/^^i^^^^'^^^^'ZX:?^ 



TK?: i-':' "■^'^'■'^ ' 
PUBL'CLIBFARY 



A=TO^. L'' O- 



TILD^iJ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



From thence he proceeded with Sir Rich- 
ard Saltonstall, Rev. George Phillips and 
others up the Charles river four miles 
from Charlestown, commencing a settle- 
ment, which was called Sir Richard Sal- 
tonstall's plantation, and afterward named 
Watertown. Homesteads averaging five 
or six acres were assigned, Robert Seeley 
receiving the maximum allotment of six- 
teen acres, near the north bank of the 
Charles river. This homestead was later 
sold to Simon Erie, and is easily located 
at the present day by reference to "Bond's 
Map of Ancient Watertown.'' In July, 
1630, upon the formation of the Water- 
.town Church, which was the second 
church in the Massachusetts Bay Colony, 
the first being that at Salem, Robert See- 
ley was one of the forty who entered into 
covenant; in 1631 he was one of the first 
twenty-five, together with Rev. George 
Phillips, R. Saltonstall, Jr., and Captain 
Patrick, to be made freemen. In 1635 
Robert Seeley, with Rev. John Sherman 
and others, removed from Watertown and 
formed a settlement in Connecticut, which 
they also named Watertown, this name 
being later changed to Wethersfield. 
There he was made sergeant in command 
of the military organization, and when 
war was declared against the Pequots in 
1637, Captain John Mason and Lieutenant 
Robert Seeley led the combined forces of 
Hartford, Windsor and Wethersfield in 
an expedition which resulted in the anni- 
hilation of Fort Mistick and three hun- 
dred Indians, and eighteen days later in 
the complete overthrow of the Pequot 
tribe in the swamp of Unguowa, subse- 
quently called Fairfield. Captain John 
Mason's "A Brief History of the Pequot 
War" says: "Lieutenant Seeley was shot 
in the eyebrow with a flatheaded arrow, 
the point turning downward. I pulled it 
out myself." At the close of the Pequot 
War Captain Robert Seeley withdrew 

Conn— 3— 5 



from Wethersfield, and with John Daven- 
port, pastor; Theophilus Eaton, subse- 
quently governor for twenty years, and 
others, held their first meeting, April 18, 
1638, under a branching oak, and entered 
into a covenant by which the New Haven 
Colony was formed and its first form of 
government constituted and established, 
being made permanent in 1639. Captain 
Seeley was a prominent and respected 
member of the New Haven Colony, occu- 
pying the fourth seat in church (seats be- 
ing arranged in order of prominence, the 
governor occupying the first). He was 
marshal of the colony, commander of the 
militia, on the committee of the General 
Court and other judicial committees, rep- 
resenting the colony in times of peace, 
leading its forces in times of war, at all 
times a wise counsellor and an efficient 
public servant. In addition to Water- 
town, Wethersfield and New Haven, he 
was one of the founders of Fairfield and 
Stamford, Connecticut ; Huntington, Long 
Island, and Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 
He died October 19, 1667, leaving a wife 
and one son, Nathaniel, his other son, 
Obadiah, being then deceased. 

Obadiah Seeley, son of Robert Seeley, 
died in Stamford in 1657. He married the 
widow of John Miller, and they were the 
parents of Obadiah Seeley, who had chil- 
dren : John, Nathaniel, Mercy, Obadiah 
and Susanna. The eldest of these, John 
Seeley, born August 25, 1693, lived in 
Stamford with his wife Abigail. Their 
eldest son, John Seeley, born June i, 1727, 
resided in Stamford with his wife Ann. 
Their eldest son was John Seeley, born 
May 16, 1756, and married, March 31, 
1783, Rhoda Scofield, perhaps a daughter 
of Jonah and Mary (Smith) Scofield, of 
Stamford. Their eldest son was William 
Seeley, born November 15, 1790. He 
lived with his wife Patty in Waterbury, 
Connecticut. They were the parents of 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Charles Seeley, born 1821, whose earher 
years were passed in farming in Water- 
bury. Subsequently he became a stone 
mason contractor, located in Meriden, 
Connecticut, as early as 1858, and died 
there, November 25, 1890, at the age of 
sixty-nine years. He married, December 
25, 1843, in Waterbury, Amy Pritchard, 
who was born in that town, daughter of 
Roger and Chloe (Nichols) Pritchard. 
Roger Pritchard was a soldier of the War 
of 1812, a son of Roger Pritchard, born 
March 7, 1782, in Waterbury, who was a 
son of Amos Pritchard, a soldier of the 
Revolution, who died in that town, July 
25, 1813. Amos Pritchard was born Au- 
gust 27, 1739, in Waterbury, and married 
there, August 20, 1777, Mary, widow of 
Samuel Adams, born March 11, 1743, in 
Waterbury, daughter of Edward and Han- 
nah Tompkins. Roger Pritchard, father 
of Mrs. Seeley, lived in the town of 
Waterbury, where he was a farmer. 
Charles Seeley had six children, of whom 
five lived to reach maturity. The second 
of these receives further mention below. 

George Simeon Seeley was born Febru- 
ary 2, 1846, in Waterbury, where he re- 
mained until twelve years old, removing 
then with his parents to Meriden. His 
education was supplied by the common 
schools, and when nineteen years of age 
he set out to maintain himself. He im- 
mediately began an apprenticeship at the 
metal turner's trade, and this continued 
to be his occupation for a quarter of a 
century. He was industrious and saved 
his earnings, and in time was able to en- 
gage in business on his own account. He 
established a real estate and rent col- 
lecting agency, in which he was more 
than usually successful because of his 
industry, faithfulness and high rectitude. 
The confidence in which he was held by 
the people of the city is shown by his re- 
peated elections to the Board of Select- 
men of the town, and to the office of 



mayor of the city, in which position he 
served two terms. Mr. Seeley was a man 
of very pleasing manners, and his candor 
and sincerity were at once made apparent 
to any who came in contact with him. He 
was very active in many organizations 
calculated to benefit society. With his 
family he was affiliated with St. Andrew's 
Episcopal Church, of which he was fifteen 
years a vestryman, and served as treas- 
urer from April 4, 1899, until his death, 
November 11, 1914, and was highly 
esteemed by his associates in that body. 
He held membership in several fraternal 
orders, was a Mason and Knight Tem- 
plar, a member of Silver City Lodge, No. 
3, Ancient Order of United Workmen, 
and Meriden Center Lodge, No. 68, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, of which 
he was treasurer from March 17, 1888. A 
sincere and consistent adherent of Repub- 
lican principles, he was one of the workers 
of his party in the city, was chairman of 
the Republican town committee from 
May, 1900, and served as alderman and 
councilman from the Third Ward. In 
December, 1901, he was elected mayor of 
the city, was installed in that office in 
January, 1902, and continued in its in- 
cumbency for two terms. 

Mr. Seeley married, November 24, 1867, 
Anna G. Lee, daughter of Melvin C. and 
Esther (Guy) Lee, of Meriden, and they 
were the parents of three children: i. 
Frank Guy, married, November 20, 1890, 
Nettie M. Pendexter and they have two 
sons : Guy Pendexter and Lee Stevens 
Seeley ; they reside in Mt. Vernon, New 
York. 2. Candora Anna, became the wife 
of James H. Guernsey, of Ansonia ; they 
have one son, James Seeley Guernsey. 3. 
Arthur Deshon, married, April 24, 1913, 
Jennie Pauline Miller, daughter of Charles 
B. and Emily (Downing) Miller, of Meri- 
den ; they are the parents of two children : 
Warren Miller and Anna Downing See- 
ley. 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ROCKWELL, Charles Francis, 

Business Man, Financier. 

The family of Rockwell is one of the 
oldest in Connecticut and has furnished 
many distinguished and useful citizens, 
people in every walk of worthy endeavor, 
and several representatives have been 
prominently identified with the business 
interests of the city of Meriden. Savage 
says the family is descended from Wil- 
liam Rockwell, who was one of the dea- 
cons of the church formed at Plymouth, 
England, March 20, 1630, and sailed on 
the ship "Mary and John," May 30, of 
that year. He was one of the first select- 
men of the town of Dorchester, where he 
had land grants, and moved, in 1636, to 
Windsor, Connecticut, where he was dea- 
con of the First Church, and a leading 
man until his death, May 15, 1640. Re- 
cent investigation, however, would seem 
to indicate that Savage is in error, as the 
John Rockwell, son of William Rockwell, 
does not seem to be identical with the 
pioneer of this family in Connecticut. 

John Rockwell, one of the first settlers 
of Stamford, Connecticut, was there De- 
cember 7, 1641, and resided there until 
1669, when he sold his property and re- 
moved to Rye, New York, where he died 
in 1676. By vote of the town of Stamford, 
February 19, 1668, he had liberty to mow 
Norton Island. He married Elizabeth 
Weed, and their eldest child was John 
Rockwell, who died in Stamford in 1673. 
The inventory of his estate was made 
March 10 of the following year. His sec- 
ond son, Thomas Rockwell, born about 
1667, in Stamford, died in June, 1712. He 
married, at Norwalk, December 9, 1703, 
Sarah, daughter of John Resco. Their 
son, Thomas Rockwell, born December 
13, 1708, in Norwalk, settled in Ridge- 
field, Connecticut, where he died Novemr 
ber 4, 1789. He married, May 18, 1732, 



Ruth Benedict, born December 3, 171 1, 
died June 22, 1807. They were the par- 
ents of James Rockwell, born June 9, 1750, 
in Ridgefield. He was a lieutenant in the 
Revolutionary army, and his commission, 
signed by Jonathan Trumbull, is now pre- 
served by his descendant, Charles Lee 
Rockwell, of Meriden. He lived in Ridge- 
field, and married, October 17, 1769, Abi- 
gail Hawley, born October 24, 1749, died 
January 6, 1821. Their eldest son and 
fourth child, Thomas Hawley Rockwell, 
was born May 21, 1776, and was a cabi- 
netmaker, residing in Ridgefield, where 
he died September 25, 1865, at the age of 
eighty-nine years. He married, July 20, 
1800, Polly Smith, born October i, 1783, 
died February 27, 1869. Their eighth 
child and seventh son, Francis A. Rock- 
well, was born April 12, 1818, in Ridge- 
field, where he was a manufacturer, and 
died September 24, 1881. He married, 
October 6, 1840, Mary Lee, born October 
7, 1816, daughter of Captain Aaron and 
Lucy (Smith) Lee, of Ridgefield. Cap- 
tain Aaron Lee was a soldier of the Revo- 
lution. 

William Francis Rockwell, second son 
of Francis A. and Mary (Lee) Rockwell, 
was born January 12, 1845. i" Ridgefield, 
and at the time of his death was president 
of the Miller Brothers Cutlery Company 
of Meriden, one of the leading establish- 
ments of its kind in this country. His 
education was supplied by private schools 
and the Fort Edward Collegiate Institute 
of Fort Edward, New York. At the age 
of eighteen years he embarked upon a 
business career, in the office of the for- 
warding and commission house of Miller 
Brothers, in New York, and subsequently, 
during the Civil War, held an important 
position as a representative of that firm 
at Norfolk, Virginia. In 1868 he located 
at Washington, New Jersey, and in asso- 
ciation with a partner engaged in the mer- 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BICGR.-\PHY 



cantile business, under the style of Cum- 
mings, Rockwell & Company. Six years 
later he returned to his native State, and 
became treasurer of the United States 
Shear Company. In 1876 Mr. Rockwell 
participated in the reorganization of the 
Miller Brothers Cutlery Company of Meri- 
den, and became treasurer and general 
manager. Mr. L. J. Curtis was the first 
president of this company, and at his 
death, in 1893, was succeeded by Isaac C. 
Lewis, one of the foremost business men 
of Meriden. On the death of Mr. Lewis, 
Mr. Rockwell became president of the 
company, which position he retained until 
his death, January 5, 1901. He was one 
of the organizers and first president of 
the American Pocket Cutlery Manufac- 
turers' Association, an organization 
formed to further the interests of the 
trade in the matter of tariffs. Mr. Rock- 
well was a forceful and energetic busi- 
ness man, as evidenced by his business 
success, and was highly esteemed among 
his associates in ]Meriden. He was promi- 
nently identified with the Republican 
party in both State and National affairs ; 
was a personal friend of President Mc- 
Kinley, and closely associated with Sena- 
tor O. H. Piatt, in State politics. He was 
a Knights Templar Mason, and a member 
of the Sons of the American Revolution. 
He married, September 26, 1876, Louise 
Taylor, of Washington, New Jersey, 
daughter of James Davidson and Sarah 
(Bird) Taylor, of Washington, New Jer- 
sey. They were the parents of one child, 
Charles Francis, of further mention in the 
next paragraph. 

Charles Francis Rockwell was born 
April 26, 1878, in Meriden. He has proved 
himself one of the most progressive and 
successful business men of his native 
town. After passing through the public 
schools of that town, he entered Wesle- 
yan University in the class of 1899, and 
after graduation entered the office of the 



Miller Brothers Cutlery Company as pay- 
master. He did not cease his effort at 
self-improvement on leaving college, and 
gave close attention to the business with 
which he was associated. Becoming 
gradually familiar with its details, he was 
made secretary, treasurer and general 
manager of the concern, and following the 
death of his father in 1901 he took entire 
charge of the plant. Under his adminis- 
tration the business was highly success- 
ful, and in 1912 Mr. Rockwell was made 
president of the company, which position 
he still retains. Like his honored father 
he occupies a high position in the com- 
munity, and is active in its social and 
political life. He is an earnest Republi- 
can in principle, and for seven years, from 
1902 to 1909, was a member of the Board 
of Aldermen in Meriden. From 1912 to 
1917 he was a member of the Board of 
Public Works, and is at present president 
of the Board of Education. He is presi- 
dent of the Meriden Industrial Company, 
and a trustee of the Meriden Savings 
Bank. He is actively affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity, being a member of 
St. Elmo Commandery, Knights Temp- 
lar; is a member of the Alpha Delta Phi 
of New York City, of the Home and High- 
land Country clubs of Meriden. and of 
the Connecticut Chapter, Sons of the 
American Revolution. 

Mr. Rockwell married, October 7, 1903, 
Ada Louise Coe, daughter of John W. and 
Sarah (Williams) Coe, of Meriden. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rockwell are the parents of 
three children : William F., born Septem- 
ber 28, 1904; Bradley T., died in infancy, 
and Louise West, born September 20, 1912. 



SOMERS, George Edwin, 

Captain of Industry. 

The life work of George E. Somers is 
a record of achievement as a captain of 
industry, of a life devoted to upbuilding 



68 



e did not ceas' 
ement on lea 
ittentiof '^" 
v/as a 
iiniliar with 



1912 M' 

it ot the CO; 
retains. I- 



, ana i- 
,i life. .. 
irinciple, an' 
1909, was a 
.rmen in M- 
■ 7 -he was a 
blic Works, . 
the Board o; 
it of the Meridt; 
d a trustee of 
ink. He is acti^ 
Masonic fraternitv 



.ege, and 

aess with 

Becoming 

lis, he; wah 

■: 1 general 

owing the 

ook entire 

~ adminis- 

■ / success- 

iiich posiLnjii 
mored father 

the com- 

h social and 

aest Republi- 

n years, from 

■/ the Boarr] 

a 1912, to 
the Board of 



■,r\ ui.i!: 


.1. ar.fi ('1 


Client v.. 


^^ of the 


Revolut ■ 




kwell m 


' '^r 7, 1903, 


.■ Cr^i. d 


nnW. and 




Meriden 


Lvockw 


le parents - 


>--i'. v;- 


., born Septen. 




in infancy. 


UlSc V\ Cil, lit;. 


!'. oepteiiiberao, 191^ 



SOMERS, George Edwin, 

Captain at Indnsti-y. 

The life work of George E. Soiners is 
a record of achievement as a 
ir;di,stiv. of a life devoted to 




59^^£ 7_J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and development. A young man of nine- 
teen when he entered the industrial world, 
at his death the veteran of many years, 
there was never a time when he was not 
one of the world's workers, either as an 
employer, superintendent or executive of 
great corporations. When from the 
serene heights of old age and competence, 
this self-made man reviewed a life of use- 
fulness, it was in a world that was the 
better for his having lived in it. He gave 
to young men this word : "Good regular 
habits are the first essential to success," 
and "Don't expect complete success on 
eight hours a day, and remember that 
good things cost much labor of hand and 
head." , 

Mr. Somers traced his descent in the 
paternal line through six generations to 
Henry Somers, who is recorded as a land- 
owner in Stratford, Connecticut, March 
27, 1668. The line is traced through the 
founder's son, "Sergeant" Samuel Somers ; 
his son, "Ensign" Samuel (2) Somers ; 
'his son, John Somers: his son, David 
Somers ; his son, Rufus Somers ; his son, 
George Edwin Somers, the octogenarian 
of Bridgeport. Through his mother, 
Esther (Peck) Somers, Mr. Somers de- 
scended from Joseph Peck, who came 
from England and located in New Haven, 
Connecticut, as early as 1643, later mov- 
ing to Milford. The line follows through 
his son, Joseph (2) Peck ; his son, Joseph 
(3) Peck ; his son, Moses Peck ; his son, 
Enos Peck ; his son, Abraham Peck ; his 
daughter, Esther Peck, married Rufus 
Somers. 

George Edwin Somers, third child and 
second son of Rufus and Esther (Peck) 
Somers, was born in Newton, Fairfield 
county, Connecticut, January 21, 1833, 
died in Bridgeport, December 18, 1915. 
He was educated in the public schools. 
He left home at the age of nineteen, and 
after service in Naugatuck, Waterbury 



and Ansonia shops as a skilled mechanic 
spent four years in the shops of the Gor- 
ham Manufacturing Company at Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island, his particular serv- 
ices there being as a maker of tools re- 
quired by that well known manufacturing 
firm of silversmiths. He then returned to 
Ansonia, where he had formerly been em- 
ployed by the brass manufacturing firm 
of Wallace & Sons, and remained with 
them another year. He removed to 
Waterbury in January, 1865, was for one 
year in the employ of the Army and Navy 
Button Company, later and until 1881 
being master mechanic and superintend- 
ent for the Benedict & Burnham Com- 
pany, of Waterbury. While in the em- 
ploy of Benedict & Burnham he was sent 
to Europe in the interest of the company, 
and upon his return possessed the knowl- 
edge upon which the manufacture of 
seamless brass and copper tubing and 
copper wire in the Naugatuck Valley be- 
came an assured success. One or two 
other concerns in New England were 
making the same materials, but not in a 
satisfactory manner, and their manufac- 
ture did not become a genuine success, 
until Mr. Somers first introduced the 
m,ethods that made them so. The busi- 
ness he there introduced is now a most 
important line of manufacture. 

In 1881 Mr. Somers came to Bridge- 
port as superintendent of the plant of the 
Bridgeport Brass Company, and from 
that year his connection with the com- 
pany continued as superintendent, direc- 
tor and executive. He was elected presi- 
dent of the company, and under his wise 
management the company, ever a prosper- 
ous one, has advanced to still greater 
heights and has become one of the lead- 
ing industrial corporations of Bridgeport, 
employing over a thousand hands in the 
manufacture of brass and copper wire, 
tubing and sheets, seamless brass and 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



copper tubing and a great variety of brass 
and copper goods. The company was the 
first to manufacture "Hard Drawn" cop- 
per wire now in general use by telegraph, 
telephone and railway companies. His 
connection with the upbuilding of so vast 
an enterprise and its executive manage- 
ment would be the worthy achievement of 
a lifetime, but President Somers comes 
by this title in other ways. He was long 
connected as director and president with 
the Bridgeport Electrical Manufacturing 
Company, the Bridgeport Crucible Com- 
pany, and the James M. Somers Com- 
pany, and also served the First National 
Bank as a director. The years he carried 
granted him exemption from the heavier 
burdens of business life, but until the last 
he was the able, wise man of affairs, hon- 
ored, respected and referred to. 

He was a Republican in politics, and 
served well both cities in which his resi- 
dence was permanent, Waterbury and 
Bridgeport. In Waterbury he served sev- 
eral years as fire commissioner and in 
Bridgeport as a member of the board of 
public works gave valued service. In 
1896 he was elected by a very large ma- 
jority to represent Bridgeport in the Con- 
necticut House of Representatives and 
served faithfully on the committee on 
manufactures. He was a member of Park 
Street Congregational Church, the Sea- 
side, Bridgeport Outing and Boys clubs, 
the last named one of Bridgeport's most 
commendable institutions of helpfulness 
to the boys of the city. He was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order of long and 
honorable standing, took all degrees of 
lodge, chapter, council and commandery, 
held many of their offices, and as a char- 
ter member of Clark Commandery of 
Waterbury aided in the organization of 
that body of Knights Templar, and served 
as its eminent commander. In Scottish 
Rite Masonry he attained the thirty- 
second degree. 



Mr. Somers married (first) in Novem- 
ber, 1858, Sarah J. Noble, who died in 
August, 1863, daughter of David Noble, 
of South Britain, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried (second) December 6, 1865, Mrs. 
Fannie Elizabeth (French) Clark, born 
January 21, 1840, daughter of Miles and 
Elizabeth (Sperry) French, of Bethany, 
Connecticut. Mrs. Somers is of the eighth 
generation of the family founded in Amer- 
ica by William French, who came from 
England to America in the ship "De- 
fense" in 1635. The line is traced from 
William French through his son, Fran- 
cis French ; his son, Francis (2) French ; 
his son, Israel French ; his son, David 
French, a Revolutionary soldier ; his son, 
Adonijah French ; his son, "Squire" Miles 
French ; his daughter, Fannie Elizabeth, 
married George Edwin Somers. Air. and 
Airs. Somers were the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Jennie S., wife of William T. Rawlins, 
of English descent, a leading lawyer of 
Honolulu, Hawaii. They twice traversed 
the wide expanse of land and sea that 
separated them, from their daughter and 
granddaughter, Elizabeth French Raw- 
lins, making the last visit in 1909. Mrs. 
Somers survives her husband and con- 
tinues her residence at No. 365 East 
Washington street, Bridgeport. 



WILCOX, George Horace, 

President of International Silver Company. 

It has been the privilege of two genera- 
tions of the Wilcox family, Horace C. and 
George H. Wilcox, father and son, to 
have an intimate relation with a great 
business, one that has fastened upon 
Meriden, Connecticut, the name Silver 
City. It was the work of the father to 
found, organize and develop this great 
business through the medium of difTer- 
erent companies, a task he grandly per- 
formed, and it has been the work of the 
son to gather these conflicting silver pro- 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ducing companies into one, and first as 
vice-president and then as president of 
the International Silver Company he has 
welded into one great corporation former 
business rivals with beneficent results to 
all. 

The Wilcox family is of Saxon origin, 
and v^^as seated at Bury St. Edmunds, 
County Suffolk, England, before the Nor- 
man Conquest. Sir John Dugdale, in the 
visitation of the county of Suffolk, men- 
tioned fifteen generations of this family 
previous to the year 1600. This traces 
the lineage back to the year 1200, when 
the surname came into use as an inherited 
family name. On old records the spell- 
ings Wilcox, Wilcocks, Wilcoxson and 
Willcox are used interchangeably. Coat- 
of-arms : Argent, a lion rampant gules, on 
a chief azure, the front elevation of a 
fortification or. Crest : An eagle dis- 
played proper accompanied on the dexter 
side by a rose, and on the sinister side 
by a fleur-de-lis argent. Motto: Fidiis ct 
audax ("Faithful and bold"'). 

John Wilcox lived in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, was chosen surveyor in 1643-44, 
and surveyor of the jury in 1645. He 
served first as selectman in 1640, and died 
in 1651, his will being dated July 24, 1651. 
He was buried in the Center Church 
burying ground in Hartford, and his name 
is on the monument with that of the other 
first proprietors. His wife died about 
1668. His son, John Wilcox, was born 
in England, and came to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, with his father, where he was 
one of the first proprietors in 1639. In 
1655 he removed to Middletown Upper 
House, where he died May 24, 1776. He 
had agreed to settle in Middletown, but 
failing to do so promptly, the General 
Court voted in 1653 to compel him to 
occupy his grant or to find a substitute. 
On March 10, 1657, he bought the home- 
steads of Joseph Smith and Matthias 



Treat and afterwards sold them to his 
cousin, Samuel Hall. In 1659 he was a 
member of the committee on roads, and 
June 30, 1660, he was granted lands at 
Wongunk. It has been claimed that he 
removed to Dorchester, where he resided 
for a few years. He purchased land and 
built a house pridr to November i, 1665, 
on land occupied by the Beaumont-Ham- 
mer House. He married, as his fourth wife, 
Esther Cornwall, born May, 1650, died 
May 2, 1733, daughter of William Corn- 
wall, and their son, Ephraim Wilcox, 
born July 9, 1672, in Middletown, removed 
to East Middletown, where h^ died Janu- 
ary 4, 1713. He married, August 23, 1698, 
Silence, daughter of Benjamin Hand, who 
had moved from Guilford to Middletown. 
John W'ilcox, son of Ephraim and Silence 
(Hand) Wilcox, was born August 8, 1712, 
in Cromwell, where he made his home, 
and died October 21, 1795. He married, 
July 6, 1738, Hannah Wilcox, probably a 
daughter of Samuel W'ilcox, of Crom- 
well. Their son, Joseph Wilcox, was 
born March 29, 1746, in Cromwell, lived 
in Westfield Parish of Middletown, and 
died October 23, 1838. He married, No- 
vember 30, 1785, Miriam Bacon, born Feb- 
ruary 7, 1762, died March 19, 1825, daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Sybil Bacon. Elisha 
Bacon Wilcox, son of Joseph and Miriam 
(Bacon) Wilcox, was born June 29, 1795, 
in Westfield Parish of Middletown, and 
made his home there. He married, Janu- 
ary 26. 1818, Hepsebah Cornwell, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Lucy (Hamlin) Corn- 
well, of Middletown, later of Charlestown, 
New Hampshire, and they were the par- 
ents of the late Horace C. Wilcox, of 
Meriden. 

Horace C. Wilcox was born in West- 
field Parish. Middletown, Connecticut, 
January 24! 1824, died August 29, 1890. 
His first important business connection 
was as traveling salesman for James 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Frary, a manufacturer of Britannia ware, 
an association which began in 1850, but 
in 1852 Mr. Wilcox with others formed 
the Meriden Britannia Company, he be- 
coming the first secretary-treasurer of 
that company and succeeding to the presi- 
dency in 1866, a position he filled with 
great ability until his death. The com- 
pany soon ceased the manufacture of Bri- 
tannia ware and began making plated sil- 
verware, becoming the leading concern 
of its kind in the world, a position yet 
maintained. The world became its mar- 
ket and large factories to supply the de- 
mand were built in Meriden, Connecticut, 
and Hamilton, Canada. The executive 
management of so vast an enterprise was 
but one of the tasks to which Horace C. 
Wilcox addressed himself with marvelous 
energy and success. He was the founder 
and president of the Wilcox & White 
Organ Company ; a director of the Meri- 
den Silver Plate Company. Manning, 
Bowman & Company, ^olian Organ & 
Music Com.pany, Meriden Street Railroad 
Company, Rogers Brothers of Waterbury, 
R. Wallace & Sons Company of Walling- 
ford, William Rogers Manufacturing 
Company of Hartford, Meriden Fire In- 
surance Company, Home National Bank, 
Republican Publishing Company, Wal- 
nut Grove Cemeter}- Association, and a 
trustee of the City Savings Bank. He 
organized the Meriden, Waterbury & 
Connecticut River Railroad Company, in- 
vesting in that enterprise a vast sum 
from his private fortune, although at the 
time there was little hope of an adequate 
return. 

To these vast business engagements he 
added public service of a high order. He 
was an alderman from the time of the 
incorporation of Meriden as a city ; was 
fifth mayor of the city, 1875-76 ; State 
Senator in 1877, and but for his refusal to 
accept could have had other and higher 



elective offices. He was a member of the 
First Congregational Church, was a mem- 
ber of the committee in charge of the 
erection of the present church edifice and 
until 1884 served upon various commit- 
tees of the church. Thus his life was 
passed, and countless monuments to his 
tireless energy and business sagacity arise 
on every hand. He brought prosperity to 
his city and to the individual worker, but 
above all he left an honored name. 

Mr. Wilcox married (first) August 3, 
1849, Charlotte A. Smith, who died in 

1864, daughter of Jabez Smith, of Middle- 
town. He married (second) May 31, 

1865, Ellen M., daughter of Edmund 
Parker. 

George Horace Wilcox, son of Horace 
C. Wilcox and his first wife, Charlotte A. 
(Smith) Wilcox, was born in Meriden, 
Connecticut, August 22, 1856. After 
courses of study at Washington, Connec- 
ticut, a private preparatory school at 
Ithaca, New York, and at Hopkins Gram- 
mar School at New Haven, he entered 
Sheffield Scientific School, Yale Univer- 
sity, whence he was graduated Bachelor 
of Philosophy, class of '75. He at once 
began business life with the Meriden 
Britannia Company, advanced to higher 
position, and in 1893 became its presi- 
dent. W^hen in 1898 the Meriden Britan- 
nia Company and several other com- 
panies engaged in the silver business con- 
solidated as the International Silver Com- 
pany, Mr. Wilcox was chosen vice-presi- 
dent, and in 1907 was elected president, 
an important office he now holds. The 
interests founded by his honored father 
have been conserved and developed by 
the son, and the same spirit of fairness to 
all and consideration for even the hum- 
blest employee marks his administration. 
He is a director of the Meriden National 
Bank, Wilcox & W'hite Company, Meri- 
den Trust & Safe Deposit Company, trus- 



72 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tee of the City Savings Bank, and is a 
business man of the highest quality. His 
interest in all that concerns the welfare 
of his city is visible on every hand. He 
is president of the Curtiss Memorial Li- 
brary, a member of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, lodge, chapter, council, 
commandery of the Masonic order and 
also is a noble of the Mystic Shrine. He 
is a member of the executive committee 
of the National Civic Federation, and in 
political faith a Republican. His clubs 
are the Home, Colonial and Highland 
Country of Meriden. 

Mr. Wilcox married, January 24, 1884, 
Nettie B. Curtis, of New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, daughter of Lucius W. and Olive 
(Hotchkiss) Curtis. Mr. and Mrs. Wil- 
cox are the parents of three sons, all now 
associated in business with their father : 
Harold Curtis, born January 7, 1889, Yale, 
1912; Roy Cornwell, born December 24, 
1891, Yale, 1916; Horace, born October 7, 
1893, Yale, 1916. 



BLISS, William Edgerton, 

Jeirelry Manufacturer. 

One of the oldest and most notable 
families of New England is that of Bliss, 
which seems to be descended from the 
Norman family of Blois, gradually modi- 
fied to Bloys, Blyse, Blysse, Blisse, and 
in America finally to Bliss, dated back to 
the time of the Norman Conquest. The 
name is not common in England. The 
coat-of-arms borne by the Bliss and Bloys 
families is the same : Sable, a bend vaire. 
between two fleur-de-lis or. Crest : A 
hand holding a bundle of arrows. Motto: 
Semper suruni. The ancient traditions of the 
Bliss family represent them as living in the 
south of England and belonging to the class 
known as English yeomanry or farmers, 
though at various times some of the fam- 
ily were knights or gentry. They owned 



the houses and lands they occupied, were 
freeholders and entitled to vote for mem- 
bers of Parliament. In the early days, of 
course, they were faithful Roman Catho- 
lics, but later, after England had become 
Protestant, they became Puritans and be- 
came involved in the contentions between 
Charles I. and Parliament. The Blisses 
who settled in New England in 1636 had 
dwelt in Daventry, Northamptonshire, 
England, for one hundred and fifty years 
before the emigration. Daventry is 
twelve miles from Ecton. from which 
came the ancestors of Benjamin Franklin, 
and twenty-five miles from Stratford-on- 
Avon, where Shakespeare was born, and 
close by the battlefield of Naseby, where 
the forces of Cromwell crushed the army 
of Charles I. The early Daventry ances- 
tors of the Bliss emigrants were mercers 
or linen drapers, and since 1475 they were 
blacksmiths. The religious controversies 
of the times leading up to the overthrow 
of King Charles were partly responsible 
for the departure of the Blisses, who were 
non-conformists, but the hunger for land 
had probably more to do with the emigra- 
tion. 

Thomas Bliss, the progenitor, lived in 
Belstone parish, Devonshire, England. 
Very little is known of him except that 
he was a wealthy landowner, that he be- 
longed to the class stigmatized as Puri- 
tans on account of the purity and simplic- 
ity of their forms of worship, that he was 
persecuted by the civil and religious au- 
thorities under the direction of Arch- 
bishop Laud, and that he was maltreated, 
impoverished and imprisoned and finally 
ruined in health, as well as financially, by 
the many indignities and hardships forced 
on him by the intolerant church party in 
power. He is supposed to have been born 
about 1550 or 1560. The date of his death 
was 1635 or about that year. When the 
Parliament of 1628 assembled, Puritans 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



or Roundheads, as the Cavaliers called 
them, accompanied the members to Lon- 
don. Two of the sons of Thomas Bliss, 
Jonathan and Thomas, rode from Devon- 
shire on iron grey horses, and remain- 
ed for some time in the city — long 
enough at least for the king's officers and 
spies to learn their names and condition, 
and whence they came ; and from that 
time forth, with others who had gone to 
London on the same errand, they were 
marked for destruction. They were soon 
fined a thousand pounds for non-conform- 
ity and thrown into prison, where they 
remained many weeks. Even old Mr. 
Thomas Bliss, their father, was dragged 
through the streets with the greatest in- 
dignity. On another occasion the officer? 
of the high commission seized all their 
horses and sheep, except one poor ewe 
that in its fright ran into the house and 
took refuge under a bed. At another time 
the three brothers, with twelve other 
Puritans, were led through the market- 
place in Okehampton with ropes around 
their necks, and fined heavily, and Jona- 
than and his father were thrown into 
prison, where the sufferings of the son 
eventually caused his death. The family 
was unable to secure the release of both 
Jonathan and his father, so the younger 
man had to remain in prison and at Exe- 
ter he suffered thirty-five lashes with a 
three-corded whip, which tore his back 
in a cruel manner. Before Jonathan was 
released the estate had to be sold. The 
father and mother went to live with their 
daughter who had married a man of the 
Established Church, Sir John Calcliffe. 
The remnant of the estate was divided 
among the three sons, who were advised 
to go to America, where they might 
escape persecution. Thomas and George 
feared to wait for Jonathan, who was still 
very ill, and left England in the fall of 
1635 with their families. Thomas, son of 



Jonathan and grandson of Thomas (i), 
remained with his father, who finally died, 
and the son then came to join his uncles 
and settled near Thomas. At various 
times their sister sent from England 
boxes of shoes, clothing and articles that 
could not be procured in the colonies, and 
it is through her letters, long preserved, 
but now lost, that knowledge of the 
Devonshire family was preserved. Chil- 
dren : Jonathan, mentioned below ; Thom- 
as, born in England, about 1585, at Bel- 
stone ; Elizabeth, married Sir John Cal- 
cliffe, of Belstone; George, born 1591, 
settled at Lynn and Sandwich, Massa- 
chusetts, and Newport, Rhode Island ; 
Mary or Polly. 

Jonathan Bliss, son of Thomas Bliss, of 
Belstone, was born about 1580, at Bel- 
stone, died in England, 1635-36. On ac- 
count of his non-conformitv he was per- 
secuted, and sulTered heavy fines, eventu- 
ally dying at an early age from a fever 
contracted in prison. Four children are 
said to have died in infancy, and two grew 
up: Thomas and Mary. Thomas (2) 
Bliss, son of Jonathan Bliss, of Belstone, 
F'ngland, was born there, and on the 
death of his father, in 1636, he went to 
Boston, Massachusetts, and from there 
to Braintree. same State. He next went to 
Hartford, Connecticut, and finally to 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, whence, in 
1643, he joined in making a settlement 
at Rehoboth. He was made freeman at 
Cambridge, May 18, 1642, and in Plym- 
outh Colony, January 4, 1645. ^^ June, 
1645, he drew land at the Great Plain, 
Seekonk; in 1646 he was fence viewer; 
surveyor of highways in 1647. He died 
at Rehoboth, in June, 1649, and is buried 
in the graveyard at Seekonk, Massachu- 
setts, now Rumford. East Providence, 
Rhode Island. His will was proved June 
8. 1649. His wife's family name was Ide. 
Jonathan (2) Bliss, son of Thomas (2) 



74 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Bliss, was born about 1625, in England, 
and in 1655 ^^as made freeman of the 
Plymouth Colony. He was "way wardon" 
at the town meeting in Rehoboth, May 
24, 1652, and May 17, 1655, was on the 
grand jury. He was a blacksmith, was 
made a freeman in Rehoboth, February 
22, 1658, drew land June 22, 1658, and was 
one of the eighty who made what is 
known as the North Purchase. He mar- 
ried, 1648-49, Miriam Harmon, probably 
a daughter of Francis Harmon, born 
1592, and came to Boston in the ship 
"Love" in 1635. Jonathan Bliss died in 
1687. The inventory of his estate was 
sworn to May 23, 1687; the magistrate 
was the famous governor. Sir Edmund 
Andros. Jonathan (3) Bliss, fourth son 
of Jonathan (2) and Miriam (Harmon) 
Bliss, was born September 17, 1666, and 
died October 16, 1719. His name was 
sometimes recorded Timothy. He was a 
man of standing and influence in Reho- 
both and held various town offices. It is 
said that he gave the land for the old 
cemetery about two miles south of Reho- 
both Village, whereon a church was 
built. He married, June 23, 1691, Miriam 
Carpenter, born October 26, 1674, died 
May 21, 1706, daughter of William and 
Miriam (Searles) Carpenter. Daniel Bliss, 
son of Jonathan (3) and Miriam (Car- 
penter) Bliss, was born January 21, 1702, 
ill Rehoboth, died August 25, 1782. He 
married, January 26, 1726, Rev. David 
Turner officiating, Dorothy Fuller, of Re- 
hoboth. born July 12, 1706, in Rehoboth, 
died there January 7, 1778, daughter of 
Samuel and Dorothy (Wilmarth) Fuller. 
Daniel (2) Bliss, son of Daniel (i) and 
Dorothy (Fuller) Bliss, was born No- 
vember 16, 1726, in Rehoboth, died June 
30, 1815, in Leyden, Massachusetts. He 
married, November 16, 1752, Sarah Allen, 
of Warren, Rhode Island, born June 2, 
1734, in that town. 



Peter Bliss, fifth son of Daniel (2) and 
Sarah (Allen) Bliss, was born August 2, 
1765, in Rehoboth, lived for some time 
in Leyden, Massachusetts, whence he re- 
moved to Truxton, Cortland county. New 
York, and died there February 17, 1853. 
He married, December 7, 1787, Molly 
Perry, born April, 1772, in Rehoboth, 
daughter of Ezra and Jemima Perry, of 
that town. Their third son was George 
Bliss, born September 11, 1799, in Ley- 
den, Massachusetts, died May 11, 1871, 
in that town. He was a farmer and en- 
ergetic business man, who was successful 
and respected as a citizen. He married, 
in Leyden, September, 1821, Charlotte 
Charity Ames. 

Their ninth and youngest child, Edger- 
ton Ames Bliss, was born October 25, 
1846, in Hornellsville, New York, and for 
several years conducted a jewelry store 
at No. 182 Broadway, New York City, 
making his home at Jersey City Heights. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Cortland, New York, and at the age of 
sixteen years went to New York City, 
where he became identified with the 
jewelry business, and in time engaged in 
the manufacture of jewelry in association 
with his uncle, Eliakim Rice. This asso- 
ciation continued until 1878, when Mr. 
Bliss became the sole owner of the busi- 
ness, which was conducted under the 
name of the E. A. Bliss Company. Manu- 
facturing was carried on in North Attle- 
boro, Massachusetts, and the main office 
maintained in New York City until 1890, 
when the entire plant was transferred to 
Meriden, Connecticut, and some forty 
families of the employes removed with 
it. The business has experienced a re- 
markable growth, and its output, com- 
prising novelties for personal adornment, 
made in nickel, silver, gold and silver 
plate, combined with enamel, leather and 
comb-making material, is very widely 



/3 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



used. The Meriden establishment is 
known as the "Tiffany of the Plated 
Novelty Trade," a sobriquet justly ap- 
plied, as it leads in that trade in the 
United States. Mr. Bliss was an exten- 
sive traveler, and was known to the trade 
everywhere. He died suddenly at Mag- 
iiolia Beach, Massachusetts, July 26, 191 1. 
He was a member of the Home and High- 
land Country clubs of Meriden. While 
in New York he was a member of Com- 
pany A, Seventh Regiment, National 
Guard, State of New York, and for thirty 
years was a trustee and vestryman of St. 
John's Episcopal Church of Jersey City. 
He married. June 27, 1871. in Jersey City, 
Margaret Emma Jones, daughter of John 
and Phebe (Morgan) Jones, of Jersey 
City. Mr. and Mrs. Bliss were the par- 
ents of ten children, four of whom are 
now living: William Edgerton, men- 
tioned below ; Florence Jones, born July 
12, 1875, married Samuel Van Dusen 
White, of New York; Adeline Burdett, 
wife of Dr. Alexander Nicoll, a member 
of the staff of Fordham Hospital in New 
York : and Hazel Y. Bliss. 

William Edgerton Bliss was born May 
19' 1873, in Jersey City, and received his 
education in the schools of that city, in- 
cluding the high school. On the comple- 
tion of his studies he became associated 
with his father in the jewelry business 
at Meriden, where he gradually advanced 
by promotion until 1906, when he was 
made vice-president of the company. On 
the death of his father, in 191 1, he became 
president of the company, and under his 
management it has continued to grow and 
prosper. The output has been largely in- 
creased, new lines of manufacture de- 
veloped, and Mr. Bliss has earned a place 
among the leading business men of the 
United States. Besides being a compe- 
tent business man, he is well known as 
a citizen, active in promoting the social 



and moral interests of the community, 
and is reckoned among the most progres- 
sive citizens of the thriving city of Meri- 
den. He is a member of the Home and 
Highland Country clubs of that city, and 
has passed through the various grada- 
tions in Free Masonry, attaining the thir- 
ty-second degree. He is a member of St. 
Andrew's Episcopal Church of Meriden, 
and of the Republican Club of New York 
City. For ten years he was a member of 
Company G, Seventh Regiment, National 
Guard of the State of New York, for three 
years a member of the First Artillery of 
that body, and was subsequently captain 
of Company I, Second Regiment, Connec- 
ticut National Guard, of Meriden. Mr. 
Bliss was married, June 6, 1902, to Eliza- 
beth B. Cochran, daughter of Richard 
Ellis and Annie (Bockius) Cochran, of 
Englewood, New Jersey, and they have 
two children : Elsa Anne and Richard 
Ames Bliss. 



MILLER, Isaac Burton, 

Mannfactnrer. 

In his rise from office boy to that of 
vice-president of a great corporation, Mr. 
Miller illustrates the possibilities of the 
American nation. While few achieve 
these results, it is not for lack of opportu- 
nity, and it is only the individual with 
force of character and perseverance who 
succeeds in overcoming obstacles and ob- 
taining a position of importance in the 
world. 

The Miller family is one of the oldest 
in Connecticut, having been founded in 
America by Thomas Miller, of Birming- 
ham, England, who came to Rowley, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was made a freeman 
in 1639, removing thence to Middletown, 
Connecticut, where his name appears in 
the records as early as 1654. He was a 
carpenter by trade, was in Rowley as 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



late as 165 1, and was admitted to the 
church in Middletown through letter 
from Rowley after 1654. He built the 
first grist mill in Middletown on Miller's 
Brook, where one of the factories of the 
Russell ^Manufacturing Company now 
stands, at the "Farms." His first wife, 
Isabel, was the mother of one child, Ann, 
who became the wife of Nathaniel Bacon, 
in 1653. At the age of fifty-six years 
Thomas Miller married (second) Sarah, 
aaughter of Samuel Nettleton, of Bran- 
ford, Connecticut. They were the par- 
ents of eight children, of whom the fourth 
son was Benjamin. 

Benjamin Miller, born July 20, 1672, 
was one of the first three to settle in 
what is now Aliddlefield, and located in 
the southern part of the town, on the 
east side of the Coginchaug or West 
river, not far from the Durham line. Tra- 
dition has it that the title of "governor" 
was conferred upon him, partly because 
of his influence with the Indians, partly 
on account of his being a large land- 
owner, and partly on account of his domi- 
lant disposition. He was not, however, 
exempt from the action of the law, as 
will be seen. He was greatly annoyed 
at the frequent loss of his pigs, and sus- 
pected that they were devoured by bears ; 
he accordingly kept watch, and one Sun- 
day morning caught Bruin m the act, and 
shot and killed the animal. For this he 
was arrested on the charge of desecrating 
the Sabbath. He married (first) Septem- 
ber 18, 1695, in Woodstock Connecticut, 
Mary Johnson, born in 1676, daughter of 
John and Margaret Johnson, of that town. 
His first child, Rebecca, was born Decem- 
ber 5, 1698, in Woodstock. He married 
(second) Mercy Bassett, of North Haven, 
born 1677, presumably a daughter of John 
and Mercy (Todd) Bassett, of that town. 
There were seven children of the first 
marriage, and eight of the second. 



The eldest child of the second wife was 
Ichabod Miller, born December 15, 1709, 
in Middlefield, where he passed his life, 
and died August 9, 1788. He married 
(first) a Miss Stow, of Middletown, prob- 
ably a daughter of John Stow, and (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth, widow of Jeremiah Ba- 
con, daughter of Captain Joseph and Abi- 
gail (Harris) Cornwall, of ^vliddletown, 
born March 7, 1716, died August 22, 1787. 
He had sons, Ichabod, Jesse and Jere- 
miah. 

Lieutenant Ichabod Miller, son of Icha- 
bod Miller, died in Middlefield, Septem- 
ber 20, 1794. He married Elizabeth Ba- 
con, of Newfield, probably a daughter of 
John Bacon, of Westfield. She survived 
him. 

They were the parents of Captain Icha- 
bod Miller, born January 25, 1771, in Mid- 
dlefield, resided in the northern district 
of that town, where he died in November, 
1829, at the age of fifty-eight years. He 
was a vigorous, active man, always at 
work, and probably shortened his life by 
his severe exertion. He married Sarah 
E. Birdsey, born January 18, 1776, sup- 
posed daughter of John (5) Birdsey, of 
Middletown, son of John (4) Birdsey, 
grandson of Abel Birdsey. The Birdsey 
family is among the earliest, planted in 
Connecticut by John Birdsey, a native of 
Reading, Berkshire, England, who came 
to Boston, Massachusetts, in 1636. with 
his adult sons, settled at Milford, Connec- 
ticut, in 1639, was one of the first settlers 
there, and died in 1649. His son, John 
Birdsey, born in 1616, died at Stratford, 
Connecticut, April 4, 1690. His wife, 
Philippa, was a daughter of Rev. Henry 
Smith, and they were the parents of John 
(3) Birdsey, born March 28, 1641, died 
July 9, 1697. He married, December 11, 
1669, Phebe Wilcoxson, and they were 
the parents of Abel Birdsey, born No- 
vember 20, 1679, in Stratford, died June 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



8, 1704, in that town. He married Com- 
fort, a daughter of John Wells, grand- 
daughter of John Wells, and great-grand- 
daughter of Thomas W^ells. who was Gov- 
ernor of the Connecticut Colony during 
the years 1655 and 1658, whose ancestors 
included Simon de Welles, one of the cru- 
saders in Palestine, who was in the siege 
of St. Jean d'Acre during the year 1191, 
with Richard Couer de Lion. A copy of 
the arms granted to him by the king i.'? 
now preserved by his descendant in Meri- 
den. John (4) Birdsey. son of Abel 
Birdsey, of Stratford, was born Septem- 
ber 26, 1712, and lived in Middletown, 
Connecticut, where he died June 5, 1798. 
Middletown records give the name of his 
wife as Sarah. Their second son was 
John (5) Birdsey, born March 16, 1736, 
lived in Middletown. 

The eldest son of Captain Ichabod 
Miller and his wife, Sarah (Birdsey) 
Miller, was David B. Miller, born ^larch 
5, 1805, in Middlefield, where he was a 
farmer, and died. He was twice married, 
one of his wives bearing the family name 
of Bowe, and the other of Hale. His 
wife, Cornelia (Hale) Miller, died in Sep- 
tember, 1844. The death of one child is 
recorded in Middlefield : Nancy, died Oc- 
tober I, 1835. 

Hezekiah H. Miller, known to be a 
son of David B. Miller, was born Octo- 
ber 22, 1829. in Middlefield, was reared 
on the paternal farm there, where he re- 
mained until he attained his majority. 
Subsequently he became one of the most 
prominent citizens of Meriden, where he 
located, January 13, 1815, having traveled 
over the mountains intervening through 
the snow. His first employment was with 
Jedediah Wilcox, where he was engaged 
in making carpet bags. He was industri- 
ous and saved his earnings, so that when 
his year's contract was ended he was 
ready to engage in business on his own 



account. He entered into partnership 
with his uncle, \Villiam Hale, and for a 
period of four years they engaged in the 
manufacture of carpet bags. In 1856 Mr. 
Aliller accepted a partnership with Mr. 
\\'ilcox, his former employer, and con- 
tinued in this association a period of 
seventeen years, until 1873. ■ They built 
a large plant, their products were steadily 
increased, and included leather belts, 
hoop skirts and corsets. Looms were set 
up for weaving tape for hoop skirts and 
for the general trade. They also manu- 
factured balmoral skirts, and in one year 
their profits on this single line of goods 
amounted to seventy-five thousand dol- 
lars. The tape mill was burned in 1865. 
In July of that year the foundations were 
laid for the J.Wilcox & Company Woolen 
Mill, then one of the finest structures of 
the kind in the State. The mill was of 
brick and stone, four hundred feet in 
length and five stories in height, and fully 
equipped with machinery. In 1873 this 
establishment passed into new hands, and 
Mr. Miller formed a partnership with 
Charles H. Collins, and established a 
grocery store on Colony street, where the 
Byxbee Block now stands, opposite the 
railroad station. They began business, 
February 4, 1874, and after a few years 
removed to the Palace Block. In 1887 
Messrs. Collins and Miller built a store 
for their own use, at the corner of Colony 
and Brooks streets, where they continued 
to conduct a very prosperous trade until 
May 30, 1905, when Mr. Collins died. His 
partner then wound up the business and 
retired from active life. He died Octo- 
ber 22, 191 1, at his home in Meriden. Mr. 
Miller was active in promoting the in- 
terests of the community, and served as 
a member of the first City Council in 
Meriden under Mayor Charles Parker. 
He was a regular attendant of the First 
Baptist Church, and was ever ready to 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



support any proposition calculated to be 
of value to the community. He married, 
November 27, 1861, Harriet Atwood, of 
Meriden, who died October 18, 1905. 
They were the parents of three children : 
Charles B. and Isaac Burton Miller, of 
Meriden, and Nettie M., wife of Edwin 
W. Kirschner, of New Haven.- 

Isaac Burton Miller, second son of 
Hezekiah H. and Harriet (Atwood) 
iMiller, was born April 24, 1868, in Aleri- 
den. He received his education in the 
public schools of that city, graduating 
from the high school. When a youth of 
some eighteen years he began his busi- 
ness career as an employee of the Wilcox 
Silver Plate Company of Meriden. In 
1887 he became office boy of the Edward 
I^Iiller Company, one of the largest manu- 
facturers of lamps and lighting fixtures 
in the United States. As a wide-awake 
youth he was attentive to everything go- 
ing on about him, and gradually mastered 
the details of the business, rising through 
successive promotions until, in 1915, he 
was made vice-president of the company. 
For some time previous he had been a 
director. To-day Mr. Miller is esteemed 
among the business men of his native 
State as one of its most reliable, progres- 
sive and capable citizens, whose success 
in life is fully due to his own industry, 
capacity and upright conduct. He is 
active in promoting the various social 
and moral influences of the city ; is a 
member and past president of the Home 
Club ; one of the board of governors of 
the Highland Country Club, and a trus- 
tee of the ^leriden Savings Bank. Under 
its present management, the Edward 
Miller Company fully maintains the pres- 
tige gained many years ago, and no small 
part of its success is due to the energetic 
efTorts of Isaac Burton Miller. He mar- 
ried, September 25, 1894, Effie Spencer 
Hotchkiss, daughter of Frederick M. and 



Nellie (Spencer) Hotchkiss, of Meriden. 
Mr. and Mrs. Miller are the parents of 
two sons : Spencer Hotchkiss, born April 
21, 1901, and Atwood Hale, March 19, 
1908. 



NETH, David B., 

Electrical Engineer. 

There is doubtless much to be said in 
favor of Carh'le's opinion that the man 
of ability can find expression for himself, 
for his talents and powers, in almost any 
direction, and that the fact of his doing 
so in this or that medium is largely de- 
termined by circumstances and that 
whether he be a poet or a politician, a 
scientist or a soldier, is of comparatively 
little significance, so the genius lies be- 
hind. He goes on to say that it is inter- 
esting to consider how supremely great 
a man Shakespeare, for instance, might 
have been in any one of many callings 
had only fate called his attention or 
moulded his early tastes in that way in- 
stead of towards the writing of plays. But 
this idea, although it be correct in a cer- 
tain degree and in certain instances, may 
easily be carried too far, for certainly we 
can all call to mind cases within our own 
experience of men whose thoughts seemed 
to lie so exclusively in certain channels, 
that however brilliant might be their 
achievement therein we felt doubtful if 
they might even rival the average man in 
other directions. Of course these are both 
extremes and, as a matter of fact, we find 
the vast majority of unusually able men 
to lie somewhere between the two, able, 
that is, to do one thing better than any- 
thing else, but able also to do all things 
better than their neighbors. Nevertheless 
we find that they lean towards one or the 
other extreme and so it is in the case we 
are particularly considering. 

David B. Neth, the distinguished citi- 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



zen of Waterbury, Connecticut, whose 
name heads this brief sketch, is undoubt- 
edly a man of very broad abilities, a man 
who by turning his efforts consistently in 
any one of many directions could excel 
in what he took up, yet it is equally un- 
deniable that he has one talent which 
overbalances all the rest and that would 
probably make work of any other kind 
more or less burdensome to him. This 
particular talent lies in the direction of 
mechanics, and into this line he has forced 
himself against many obstacles, the re- 
sult amply justifying the wisdom of his 
choice. Mr. Neth comes of a race noted 
for its scientific and mechanical triumphs, 
his father having been a native of W^ur- 
temburg, Germany, in which part of the 
world his ancestors have resided from re- 
mote times. 

The father, John Neth, was a son of 
parents who both lived and died in the 
ancient city, but he came to the United 
States at the age of eighteen years. The 
disturbances and distresses incident to 
the unsuccessful revolution of 1848 and 
the following year were the main impulse 
of the youth in coming to this country, 
but his enterprising nature felt strongly 
the lure which new and growing commu- 
nities exert upon the peoples of a more 
settled social status, and it was for more 
freedom and more opportunity that he 
made the voyage. For a time he made 
the city of Troy, New York, his home, 
but after a few years went on to Win- 
chester, Connecticut, where he purchased 
a fine farm and followed farming as an 
occupation during practically his entire 
remaining life. He was successful and 
finally retired, going to Torrington. Con- 
necticut, where he died at the advanced 
age of eighty-three years. He married 
Hannah Bidwell, a native of Winchester, 
and they had four children, all living, 
born to them of whom the Mr. Neth of 



this sketch is the eldest. The others are 
John, a resident of Tarrytown, New York, 
who holds the position of superintendent 
of the gas works there ; George, a resident 
of Chicago, an electrician and represents 
the Electric Storage Battery Company of 
America there, as its western manager ; 
Annie, the wife of Frederick E. Lattimer, 
of Torrington, Connecticut. 

David B. Neth was born August 8, 
1868, in Winchester, Connecticut, where 
his father was farming at that time, and 
the first eleven years of his life were 
spent in his native township. His child- 
ish associations were thus formed with 
the charming old Connecticut town and 
with that rural life that has bred so many 
of our strongest men. There, also, he 
gained the rudiments of education at the 
local schools, from the first showing him- 
self to be a quick and responsive pupil. 
When he was eleven years of age, his 
parents took him with them and removed 
to the city of Hartford, and there he en- 
joyed the advantage of the unusually fine 
schools for two years, and then, at the 
age of thirteen, began on the business 
career that has not even yet reached the 
zenith of its achievement. His talent for 
all things mechanical had already mani- 
fested itself with no uncertainty, and it 
became his task to seek for some occupa- 
tion which might involve his beloved me- 
chanics. His first position was distinctly 
a success, viewed from this standpoint, 
and the thirteen year old youth found 
himself installed as a hand in the Hart- 
ford Machine Screw Works. But al- 
though the work led him in somewhat 
the direction he desired, it was, as a mat- 
ter of fact, much too heavy for him at that 
period of his life, and his health gradually 
broke down imder the strain. It was a 
great hardship for the young man to be 
obliged to give up, for his heart was set 
on winning success in this particular de- 



80 



j " THE I'EV/ ■ .IK 

'public library 

ASTOR, LENOX 
i TILDEN FOUND 



1 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



partment, but the necessity was impera- 
tive and he was obliged to resign his posi- 
tion and return to Winchester to the home 
farm and work there. He was nineteen 
years of age at the time and with his 
characteristic philosophy took the matter 
calmly enough and proceeded to perform 
a task to the best of his ability for which 
he had no real love. This obstacle, that 
looked so unsurmountable at first sight, 
did not prove to be permanent, and he 
was not finally debarred from carrying 
out his wishes. For his health, although 
much impaired, had the happy elasticity 
of youth and quickly responded to the 
more wholesome out-of-doors life which 
he led on the farm. Two years saw his 
health and strength rewon, nor from that 
time to this has it ever deserted him to 
the same extent, nor forced him to aban- 
don his business. It was in 1888 that he 
came to the city of Waterbury and there 
once more began work, this time in the 
employ of the Standard Electric Time 
Company. This was in 1888 when he 
was but just of age, so that, as it was, he 
was rebeginning at an age when most 
young men start their careers for the 
first time. The work, too, was much more 
in line with his desires and inclination 
than even the first, and he rapidly ad- 
vanced both in knowledge and in position 
with the firm. In 1900, however, he had 
an offer from the United Electric Light 
and Water Company to accept a position 
in the concern as superintendent, an offer 
which he promptly accepted and which 
well illustrated how remarkable had been 
his achievement, since he had come off 
the farm but twelve years before, strong 
and healthy, but with little expert knowl- 
edge of the work he was now called upon 
to superintend. From June, 1900, until 
May, 1914, he held this responsible post 
and was then appointed chief electrical 
engineer of the concern. He is well known 

Conn— 3— 6 



as an authority on electrical engineering, 
both theoretical and practical, and now 
enjoys what he had so great a desire in 
the past for, the opportunity to express 
his mechanical and scientific faculties in 
work. 

Air. Neth is active in many aspects of 
the community's life quite outside of his 
business interests. Socially and frater- 
nelly he is prominent and he belongs to 
many orders and clubs in the city among 
which should be mentioned the local 
lodges of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men 
and the Waterbury Country Club, the 
first for twenty-five years and the second 
since its organization. In his religious 
belief, Mr. Neth is a Congregationalist 
and for some years has been a singer in 
the choir of the First Church, and attends 
the First Church of that denomination in 
Waterbury. He is markedly philanthrop- 
ic and liberally supports the activities of 
the congregation of which he is a mem- 
ber. 

At Waterbury, on February 5, 1902, 
Mr. Neth was united in marriage with 
Elizabeth Mallory Blair, a native of that 
city, and a daughter of John and Mary 
Winchester (Butcher) Blair, the latter a 
native of Baltimore, Maryland. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Neth have been born three chil- 
dren : Marshall Winchester, born July 18, 
1904; Paul, died at age of four months; 
and Katherine Blair, born November 13, 

1913- 



KILMARTIN, Thomas Joseph, M. D., 

Eminent Physician. 

There is something that appeals to the 
popular imagination as intrinsically noble 
about the adoption of a profession the 
object of which is the alleviation of 
human suffering, such, for instance, as 
medicine, especially where, as in this case. 



81 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the sacrifice of so many of the comforts 
and pleasures of life which men count so 
highly is involved. When, in addition to 
this, the task is not merely voluntarily 
chosen, but is carried out in a spirit of 
altruism worthy of the profession, the 
sincerest admiration of all is claimed. 
Such, in a high degree, is the case in the 
career of Dr. Thomas Joseph Kilmartin, 
of Waterbury, Connecticut, who is ren- 
dering to his fellow citizens and to the 
community an invaluable service, not 
only in the carrying out of his private 
practice on a high ethical plane, but as a 
public officer who has in his charge the 
safeguarding of the public health. 

The family of which Dr. Kilmartin is a 
member had its origin in County Tipper- 
ary, Ireland, where in the early part of 
the nineteenth century Thomas Kilmar- 
tin, his grandfather, was living. He was 
a man of influence and prominent in the 
community where he resided, conducting 
the county store and the postoffice there. 
His son, Thomas Kilmartin, Jr., father of 
Dr. Kilmartin, was born in County Lim- 
erick, Ireland, but came to the United 
States as a young man to seek the greater 
freedom and opportunity to be found 
here. He came alone and located in 
Waterbury, Connecticut, where he had 
no friends to lend assistance, yet with the 
courage and enterprise that is so marked 
a characteristic of his race, he set to work 
to make his way in this strange land and 
succeeded so admirably that he soon found 
himself at the head of a small grocery 
establishment and conducting an inde- 
pendent business, which was successful, 
and for a quarter of a century, or up to 
the time of his death, he continued so en- 
gaged. He married, in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, Margaret Hennesy, a native of 
County Limerick, Ireland, now deceased. 
They were the parents of seven children, 
as follows : Thomas Joseph, of whom fur- 



ther; two daughters, both bearing the 
name of Mary, who died in infancy ; Mar- 
garet, deceased, who was the wife of 
James Courtney, of Waterbury ; Kather- 
ine, a teacher in the Driggs School in 
Waterbury ; James, an assistant steward 
at the Elks Club ; and Ella, who resides 
in the old Kilmartin home in Waterbury. 
Dr. Thomas Joseph Kilmartin was born 
in Waterbury, Connecticut, November 3, 
1872, and has made that city his home up 
to the present time (1916) with the excep- 
tion of a brief period when he was away 
at college. The preliminary portion of 
his education was gained in the public 
schools of his native city and he gradu- 
ated from the high school in 1889. He en- 
tered Niagara University at Niagara 
Falls, New York, in the same year, and 
by his marked talents as a scholar secured 
for himself the favorable regard of his in- 
structors and masters. It was during his 
course at Niagara University that he defi- 
nitely decided to take up as a career the 
profession toward which he had felt im- 
pelled from early youth, and upon his 
graduation with the class of 1892, he en- 
tered the medical school of the University 
of New York, where he pursued his stud- 
ies with distinction until the year 1895 
and then graduated with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. A year and six 
months spent at the hospital on Black- 
well's Island, New York, and at Ford- 
ham Hospital, gave him the necessary 
practical experience. He then returned 
to Waterbury, and in the autumn of 1896 
began the active practice of his profes- 
sion. For the first twelve years or more 
Dr. Kilmartin confined himself to his pri- 
vate practice and in that time built up a 
very extensive and lucrative one and es- 
tablished an enviable reputation as a most 
able physician and a man of the highest 
ideals. His greatest interest was in sur- 
gery, however, and in that he specialized 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as far as his practice permitted. He has 
had a wide experience with that dread dis- 
ease, small-pox, having on three or four 
occasions been highly successful in his 
treatment of patients during epidemics of 
the scourge, having made a careful study 
of it, and is recognized as an expert and 
an authority on the subject, not only in 
his own State but throughout the entire 
country, and his services have been called 
into requisition many times by the State 
Board of Health, to whom he has ren- 
dered valuable service which is highly 
appreciated. At the time of the founding 
of St. Mary's Hospital in Waterbury in 
1909, Dr. Kilmartin was requested to be- 
come its attendant surgeon, a position 
that he more willingly accepted as it 
offered him greater opportunities for his 
specialty, surgery. He has fully availed 
himself of these advantages and now 
stands very high in that branch of his 
profession. He is now serving in the 
capacity of State examiner for the John 
Hancock Life Insurance Company and 
the Phoenix Life Insurance Company. He 
was appointed president of the Water- 
bury Medical Society in 191 1, is president 
of his Alumni Class of New York Univer- 
sity Riedical School, and holds member- 
ship in the State and County Medical soci- 
eties. 

But Dr. Kilmartin has not confined his 
services even to the semi-public type of 
work which he performs at St. Mary's : 
he has turned his attention to the large 
and intricate problem of conserving the 
public health. For the proper handling 
of this problem two qualifications are 
essential, neither of them any too com- 
mon. The first and most obvious being 
that of a large experience and high techni- 
cal skill in medical things. The second, 
scarcely, if any, less important is a clear 
grasp of democratic principles and a pro- 
found sympathy with them. Both of 



these it is the good fortune of Dr. Kil- 
martin to possess, and not alone his good 
fortune, but that of the community over 
whose hygeia he presides, for he pos- 
sesses that most rare of combinations, the 
definite knowledge of the specialist and 
the tolerance of the average man. It is 
thus that he knows both what are the best 
regulations to enforce and the place where 
personal liberty should properly begin 
and regulations should not be enforced at 
all. Dr. Kilmartin's experience in public 
life began as early as 1898, only two years 
after he had returned from his studies and 
taken up practice in Waterbury. He was 
then elected a member of the Board of 
Education and served two years. His 
service in that office was of so high a 
quality, both for ability and disinterested- 
ness, that the following year he was ap- 
pointed city health officer and from that 
time to the present, with a single break 
of two years, he has continued to hold 
that office. The satisfaction he has given 
and is still giving his fellow-citizens is 
indeed great, and their best interests in 
this important province demands that he 
be continued therein. For nearly twelve 
years Dr. Kilmartin was a member of the 
State Militia, having joined the Second 
Regiment of Infantry, Connecticut Na- 
tional Guard, as a private. He gradually 
worked his way into a higher rank and 
finally resigned, as regimental surgeon 
with the rank of captain of the Seventh 
Connecticut Regiment. In social and club 
circles Dr. Kilmartin is as active as one 
with such exacting demands upon his 
time can be, and is a member of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and of the Waterbury Country Club. In 
his religious belief he is a Catholic, as 
hare been his forebears from the begin- 
ning, and he is a member of the Church 
of the Immaculate Conception in Water- 
bury. 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Kilmartin was married in Water- 
bury, November 5, igoo, to Mary C. 
Coughlan, a native of Waterbury, daugh- 
ter of James and Lucy (Loughlin) Cough- 
lan, life-long residents there. To Dr. and 
Mrs. Kilmartin six children have been 
born as follows : Thomas, now a student 
in the Waterbury High School; Lucy, a 
student in the Grammar School; James, 
also a student there ; Rosemary, Margaret 
and Katherine. 



LAWLOR, James Richard, 

Lawyer, Pnblic Official. 

Among the active, public-spirited citi- 
zens, so many of which Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, can boast among her sons, there 
is none more worthy of comment and re- 
spect than James Richard Lawlor, whose 
name is already, and is becoming more, 
closely identified with the various activ- 
ities of the city. There is scarcely an 
aspect of the life of the community in 
which he is not a conspicuous figure, al- 
though, of course, it is in the direction 
of his own profession and in the political 
situation that his influence is most potent- 
ly felt. Although himself a native of this 
country, having been born in Waterbury, 
Connecticut, September 17, 1875, ^^r. 
Lawlor is of Irish descent on both sides 
of the house and inherits those marked 
qualities of his race which seem to fit 
its members particularly for professional 
callings, wheresoever they may go or 
under whatsoever conditions they may 
live upon the surface of the earth. 

His family originated in Queens coun- 
ty, Ireland, and there, in the first half of 
the century just past, lived Peter Lawlor, 
the grandfather of the Mr. Lawlor of this 
sketch. This worthy gentleman lived and 
died in his native place and there reared 
a family of eleven children, all of them, 
like himself, deceased. One of them, who 



bore the same name of Peter, was born 
in County Queens, Ireland, but came to 
this country while still a ver>' young man, 
his enterprise and energy making a way 
for him in this land of strangers until he 
reached a good position, both in his busi- 
ness and in the regard of his neighbors 
and fellow citizens. Upon first arriving 
in this country he went to Farmington, 
near Hartford, Connecticut, where he 
made his home for a short period. He 
then removed to Waterbury and this city 
remained his home until the time of his 
death in 1902, his residence there cover- 
ing a period of about forty years. During 
most of this time he was employed by the 
Waterbury Brass Company and was one 
of their most trusted men. He was mar- 
ried, in \\'aterbury, to Mary Kilbride, like 
himself a native of County Queens, Ire- 
land, who survives him and still resides 
in Waterbury at the age of seventy-five 
years. Mr. and Mrs. Lawlor, Sr., were 
the parents of nine children as follows: 
John, now a resident of Troy, New York ; 
Lawrence, now connected with the police 
force of Waterbury ; Joseph W., a resident 
of Bridgeport, Connecticut; Bridget, de- 
ceased, who married Thomas J. Dough- 
erty, of Waterbury; Mary, now Mrs. 
Thomas G. Smith, of Waterbury ; Anna 
C, now Mrs. Joseph E. Smith, of Water- 
bury ; Catherine F., now Mrs. M. F. Mc- 
Grath, of Waterbury ; and James Rich- 
ard, who forms the subject of this sketch. 
James Richard Lawlor, the youngest 
son of Peter and Mary (Kilbride) Law- 
lor, was brought up in his native city of 
\\'aterbury, which has remained his home 
up to the present day and has been the 
scene of all his busy activities. He was 
educated in the excellent public schools 
of the place and also attended night 
school, as he was of an extremely am- 
bitious nature even while still a mere lad. 
The circumstances of his family were 



84 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



such that he was not able to attend the 
regular schools as long as most boys, but 
had to turn to aid with the support of the 
family. He was only fourteen years of 
age when this became necessary, and in 
order to supplement his somewhat scanty 
advantages in this direction he attended 
night school for a considerable period, 
notwithstanding the great additions to his 
work this involved. At the age of four- 
teen he left school and sought and found 
employment among the great industrial 
concerns that play so prominent a part in 
the business life of Waterbury. His first 
position was with Rogers & Hamilton, 
the great silverware manufacturing con- 
cern. The lad remained no very great 
time with the Rogers people, but it was 
long enough to win the friendship and 
regard of his superiors on account of his 
intelligence and willingness to do hard 
work. He then secured a better position 
with the Waterbury Watch Company and 
there remained for six years, rising rapid- 
ly until he held a post of responsibility 
in those great works. During this time, 
however, his ambitions were wide awake 
and urged him into an entirely different 
Ime of work, for which he found himself 
possessed of a much stronger inclination. 
He desired, in short, to follow some pro- 
fessional calling and finally settled upon 
the law as that to which he felt the 
strongest impulse. In pursuance of this 
intention, he gave up his position with 
the Waterbury Watch Company and en- 
tered the Law School of the South West- 
ern Baptist University at Jackson, Ten- 
nessee. He graduated there in 1902 with 
the degree of LL. B. and then went to 
the Catholic University of America at 
Washington, D. C, and there took an- 
other year of work at the splendid law 
school of that institution, winning the 
degree of LL. M.. and the same year was 
admitted to the Connecticut bar and be- 



gan his active practice. He chose his na- 
tive city as the scene of this new activity 
and the result since has well justified the 
choice. Right from the outset he made 
his personality felt in the life of the com- 
munity and in the autumn following the 
opening of his office he was elected to 
the Board of Education. For two years 
he served most adequately in this ca- 
pacity and then received the appointment 
to the office of assistant city clerk. This 
was in the year 1906 and he continued to 
hold this position until 191 1 when he was 
elected tax collector of the city, a post in 
which he is still serving his fellow towns- 
folk. In the meantime his legal practice 
has kept full pace with his political pre- 
ferment, and he is already regarded as 
one of the leaders of the bar in the county. 
Much important litigation is entrusted to 
him and he handles it with an ability and 
sense of the highest standards of legal 
ethics that at once give great satisfaction 
to his clients, and prove how well founded 
were his hopes and expectations as to his 
success in this profession. 

In other directions, also, Mr. Lawlor is 
a force in the city's affairs. He is espe- 
cially prominent in social and fraternal 
circles and is a member of a number of 
important orders and other organizations 
of the same kind. Among these should 
be mentioned the Loyal Order of Moose, 
the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Foresters of America. In his re- 
ligious belief Mr. Lawlor is a Catholic, as 
have been his ancestors before him for 
unnumbered generations, and he is a 
member of the Church of St. Patrick in 
^^^aterbury, where he is a prominent 
figure in the work of the parish. 

It was on November 14, 1907, that Mr. 
Lawlor was united in marriage with Mary 
A. Farrell, of Waterbury, a daughter of 
Terrence and Ellen (Delaney) Farrell, 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eld and highly honored residents of that 
place. To Mr. and Mrs. Lawlor have 
been born three children as follows : 
Mary Kilbride, July 30, 1909 ; Rosalind 
Farrell, October 18, 1910: and Richard 
James, Jr., October 20, 1915. 



STURGES, Everett Judson, 

Banker, State 0£BciaI. 

A faithful public servant, a capable and 
efficient business man, Mr. Sturges has 
earned a place among the leading men of 
his State. He is a descendant in the 
eighth generation of one of the oldest 
families of the Commonwealth, a family 
that did its share in winning our coun- 
try's independence, that has given the 
State public officials, able and incorrupti- 
ble, and whose members in the quieter 
walks of private life have contributed to 
its upbuilding as successful and honor- 
able business men. From this worthy 
ancestry Mr. Sturges has inherited those 
qualities which make men preeminent 
among their fellows. He was born No- 
vember 30, 1866, in Charleston, South 
Carolina, son of Everett and Emeline P. 
(Beers) Sturges. The first mention of 
the name Sturges was in a French volume 
published by Abbe MacGroghegan, which 
reads: "About the year 815, during the 
reign of Conor, who reigned fourteen 
years, Turgesius, a son of a king of Nor- 
v/ay, landed a formidable fleet on the 
north coast of Ireland : and again, about 
the year 835, a fleet commanded by the 
same man landed on the west side of 
Lough Lea, where he fortified himself, 
and laid waste Connaught, Meath and 
Leinster, and the greater part of Ulster, 
and was declared king. He reigned about 
thirty years. Finally the people revolted, 
and under the lead of Malarlin, Prince of 
Meath, he was defeated by a strategem 
and put to death." The first authentic 



mention in English history shows that 
William de Turges had grants of land 
from Edward I., in the village of Turges, 
county of Northampton, afterwards called 
Northfield. The coat-of-arms : Azure, a 
chevron fitchee or, a border engrailed of 
the last. Crest : A talbot's head or, eared 
sable. Motto: Esse quanividcrc. ("To be, 
rather than to seem"). 

In 1650 there were at least three dis- 
tinct branches of the Sturges family in 
England. The antecedents of the Con- 
necticut family of that name have not 
been traced. The progenitors of the 
Sturges family in New England were 
Edward Sturgis, of Yarmouth, Massa- 
chusetts, and John Sturges, of Fairfield, 
Connecticut. There have been many con- 
jectures as to the relationship between 
these immigrants, but whether or not 
they were related has never been deter- 
mined. The same Christian names were 
kept in both families for many genera- 
tions. There are many variations in the 
early spelling of the name, but this holds 
true of the spelling of most family names 
of that day. 

John Sturges was born 1623, in Eng- 
land, and came to Fairfield, Connecticut, 
in 1660, in his thirty-seventh year. His 
name is often spelled Sturge and Sturgee. 
He bought Richard Fowles' homestead and 
various other property from time to time 
until he became one of the large property 
holders there, was admitted a freeman, 
May 14, 1669. and was a selectman the 
same year. His will, dated March 4, 1697, 
bequeathed to his son Jonathan the home- 
stead, his sword and various parcels of 
land ; to Joseph his fowling piece, long 
gun and land ; to John his little gun ; to De- 
borah, wife of James Redfield, several lots 
of land and his negro woman Jenny ; to his 
grandson Christopher, son-in-law, Rich- 
ard Stratton, and children by his daughter 
Sarah ; to daughter Abigail, wife of Simon 



86 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Couch, his negro boy Jack ; the remainder 
of his movables to be divided between his 
daughters Deborah and Abigail ; to his 
absent son Thomas. His home was on 
the northwest side of the highway to Mill 
Plain. He married Deborah, daughter of 
John Barlow, Puritan. Joseph Sturges, 
their second son, was born 1653, ^"^ died 
May 9, 1728. On September 15, 1692, one 
Mercy Disborow was tried for witchcraft, 
and a manuscript account of the trial 
states that Joseph Sturges and another 
young man labored mercifully to press 
the poor woman under the water when 
she, bound hand and foot, was being 
tested in Edward's pond, and "swam like 
a cork," a sure evidence of guilt. His 
gravestone and that of his widow are 
among the oldest in Burial Hill Cemetery, 
Fairfield. He married (first) Sarah Jud- 

son. and (second) Mary . Solomon 

Sturges, son of Joseph and Sarah (Jud- 
son) Sturges, was born 1698, and was 
killed at the burning of Fairfield by the 
British in July, 1779. He married Abigail 
Bradley and they were the parents of 
three sons: Hezekiah, Joseph and Judson, 
all of whom were Revolutionary soldiers. 
Hezekiah, of further mention, survived 
the war, but lost all his possessions dur- 
ing the burning of Fairfield by the British 
in July, 1779; Joseph, the grandfather of 
Captain Judson Sturges, died on a prison 
ship in New York harbor ; Judson was 
wounded and taken aboard a British ship 
on Long Island Sound and died there. 
Hezekiah Sturges, born 1725, married 
Abigail Dimon. Their daughter, Mary 
Sturges, born 1771, became the wife 
of Barnabas Lothrop Sturges, who was 
a direct descendant of John and De- 
borah (Barlow) Sturges. aforementioned, 
through their son, Jonathan Sturges, born 
1650, married Susanna Banks, daughter 
of John Banks. Their son, Peter Sturges. 
born 1685, married Hannah Jennings. Their 



son, Samuel Sturges, born 1712, married 
Ann Burr, daughter of Colonel Andrew 
Burr. Their son, Jonathan Sturges, born 
1740; a graduate of Yale College; judge of 
the Supreme Court ; a member of Congress 
of the Confederation of the United States 
and served for two years; in 1776 was 
elected a member of one of the Upper 
Houses of the State Legislature and 
served until 1789, when he was again sent 
to Congress, the first congress of the 
United States ; was presidential elector in 
1797 and in 1805; received the honorary 
degree of Doctor of Laws from Yale Col- 
lege in 1806; married Deborah Lewis 
and they were the parents of Barnabas 
Lothrop Sturges, aforementioned, who 
married Mary Sturges. Their daughter, 
Abigail Dimon Sturges, born 1805, a rep- 
resentative of an old Fairfield family, be- 
came the wife of Captain Judson Sturges, 
born in Fairfield, Connecticut, March 31, 
1796. Among their children was Everett, 
of whom further. 

Captain Everett Sturges was born in 
Fairfield, Connecticut, in July, 1838, and 
died in January, 1894. After completing 
the public school course in his native 
town, he went to sea and gradually 
worked his way upward until he became 
commander. He possessed business in- 
stinct, was thrifty and prudent, and in 
association with his brother. Captain 
David Judson Sturges, became the owner 
of vessels engaged in freight traffic. In 
1869 he retired from the sea, and pur- 
chased the interest of William J. Whiting 
in the firm of Allen & Whiting, of New 
Milford, dealers in dry goods, clothing 
and groceries. The firm name was 
changed to Allen & Sturges, and Mr. 
Sturges remained a member until 1876, 
when he retired from active business to 
enjoy a well earned relaxation and free- 
dom from business cares. Captain Sturges 
was a radical Republican, and an earnest 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



worker in the ranks of the party, but was 
never an aspirant for political honors. 
However, as the duty of a good citizen, he 
filled several local offices in the town. He 
married, October 26, 1865, Emeline Perry 
Beers, daughter of David and Mabel 
(Perry) Beers, and granddaughter of 
Levi and Mabel (Gold) Perry, and a de- 
scendant of Major Nathan Gold, Hon. 
Nathan Gould, Onesimus Gold and David 
Gold. Captain and Mrs. Sturges were the 
parents of one child, Everett Judson, of 
whom further. 

Everett Judson Sturges was born in 
Charleston, South Carolina, in 1866. He 
was reared in New Milford, Connecticut, 
receiving his primary education in the 
public schools of that town. At the age 
of seventeen years he laid aside his formal 
studies to begin a business career as sales- 
man in a clothing establishment in South 
Norwalk. He has throughout his life 
been a reader and student of men and 
events, and is among the best informed 
citizens of the State. In 1885 he entered 
the employ of the New Milford Savings 
Bank in the capacity of bookkeeper and 
teller. The banking business proved con- 
genial, and young Sturges determined to 
make it his life's work. He was no time- 
server, but took an eager interest in per- 
forming his various tasks to the best of 
his ability. He was diligent, observing 
and studied the principles and details of 
the business. In 1891 he became book- 
keeper and teller in the First National 
Bank of New Milford, and was promoted 
successively to the positions of assistant 
cashier and cashier. After thirty years of 
continuous connection with that bank he 
resigned to become bank commissioner. 
On April i, 1915, he was appointed to this 
office to complete the three months re- 
maining of the term of Fred P. Holt, who 
had resigned. At the expiration of that 
period Mr. Sturges was appointed for a 



full term of four years. Thoroughness 
and carefulness have ever characterized 
his work, and these qualities, combined 
with an habitual adherence to the highest 
ethical ideals, gave him a special fitness 
for the work in which he is engaged. 
While actively devoted to business for a 
long period, Mr. Sturges has not neglected 
the social side of life and those interests 
which tend to broaden one's sympathies 
and usefulness. He is a past master of 
St. Peter's Lodge, No. 21, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of New Milford ; 
a member of Ousatonic Chapter, No. 33, 
Royal Arch Masons ; and is a member of 
numerous commercial clubs. He has al- 
v.ays been an active worker in the Repub- 
lican party, and his encouragement and 
support can be counted on for every 
movement or cause that will promote the 
common good. Mr. Sturges and his fam- 
ily are identified with St. Jo'nn's Episcopal 
Church of New Milford, of which his par- 
ents were also members. 

Mr. Sturges married. September 8, 1890, 
Florence Canfield, daughter of Charles F. 
Canfield, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, who 
was also a descendant of one of the pio- 
neer settlers of Connecticut. Mr. and 
Mrs. Sturges are the parents of a daughter, 
Ethel P. 



CUSHMAN, Eugene L., 

Business Man. 

Eugene L. Cushman, president of the 
Cushman Chuck Company, is a worthy 
representative of one of New England's 
oldest and most illustrious families. It is 
more than half a century since the busi- 
ness was established and its success has 
contributed materially to the industrial 
prosperity of the city. Eugene L. Cush- 
man was born December 9, 1854, son of 
Austin F. and Harriet (Fairman) Cush- 
man. 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Robert Cushman, the ancestor of all the 
Cushmans in the United States, was born 
in England between the years 1580 and 
1585. He was a Puritan, and a member 



the "Mayflower" could not carry the en- 
tire party. In London, Robert Cushman 
acted as agent of the Pilgrims who had 
emigrated and as leader of those who were 



of the church of Rev. John Robinson, who compelled to remain behind. The follow- 



emigrated to Holland during the years 
1607 and 1608. After residing in Amster- 
dam about a year they removed to Ley- 
den, where during the succeeding years 
the congregation grew to about three 
hundred communicants. In 1617 Robert 
Cushman and Deacon John Carver were 
selected to go to London and open nego- 
tiations with the Virginia Company for 
liberty to settle in North America, and 
"to see if the King would give them liberty 
of conscience there." The history of those 
negotiations is familiar to all. They found 
their mission a difficult one : but after 
great procrastination and long and tedi- 
ous negotiation, a patent was finally ob- 
tained by which they were permitted to 
settle in America. .\s it finally turned 
out, this patent was never used ; but the 
Pilgrims were determined to emigrate to 
America. Friends finally supplied the 
financial aid necessary. Deacon Carver 
and Robert Cushman were sent to Eng- 
land to receive the money and provide for 
the voyage. Again the delays were many 
and vexatious. The "Speedwell' was ob- 
tained in Holland, a ship, of only sixty 



ing year Robert Cushman secured the 
"Fortune," a small vessel of fifty-five tons, 
and a party of thirty-six, including the 
Cushmans, set sail for America, arriv- 
ing of? Cape Cod, November g, 1621. 
Robert Cushman remained in the colony 
only about a month, it being necessary 
for him to return to England to look after 
business affairs of the colony. He was 
allotted an acre of land in the first allot- 
ment which was made in 1623, but at that 
time was in England and was destined 
not to return to America. In 1623, in con- 
nection with Edward Winslow, Robert 
Cushman negotiated the charter for the 
settlement of what is now Gloucester, 
Massachusetts. Robert Cushman died in 
January or February, 1625. He "was one 
of the most distinguished characters 
among the collection of worthies who 
quitted England on account of their re- 
ligious difficulties." "He was one of the 
first movers and main instruments of the 
Puritan dissent of England, their pil- 
grimage to Holland, and their final set- 
tlement in America," and history has 
given him a high place among the leaders 



tons, smaller than the average fishing of the Pilgrim Fathers. 



smack that goes to the Grand Bank. In 
the meantime, Robert Cushman had hired 
in London a larger vessel, the "May- 
flower," of about one hundred and eighty 
tons, and had sent her to Southampton to 
meet his comrades from Holland. When 
the two vessels sailed from Southampton 
on August 5, 1620, Robert Cushman and 
his family were among the passengers, 
but when it was decided that the "Speed- 
well" should be abandoned, the Cush- 
mans, greatly disappointed, were among 
the number returned to London because 



Elder Thomas Cushman, born in Eng- 
land in February, 1608, accompanied his 
father to America. He was left in the 
care of Governor Bradford when his 
father returned to England. On January 
I, 1633, Thomas Cushman was admitted 
to the freedom of the society. He served 
as juryman in 1635, and in that year, or 
1636, he married Mary, the third child of 
Isaac Allerton, who came in the "May- 
flower." In 1637 he received a grant of 
land, and later he removed to what is now 
Kingston, where he spent the remainder 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of his life. In 1645 he purchased Prince's 
farm. In 1649 he was appointed ruling 
elder of the church at Plymouth, and con- 
tinued in the office until his death. He 
was the principal witness to Governor 
Bradford's will, and inventoried his estate. 
Thomas Cushman died December 10 or 
II, 1691. From the records of the First 
Church at Plymouth the following quota- 
tion is made: "* * * he was grave, 
sober, holy and temperate, very studious 
and solicitous for the peace and prosperity 
of the church and to prevent and heale all 
breaches." He left quite an estate for 
those days, indicating that he was pros- 
perous and thrifty. After the dismissal of 
Rev. Mr. Rayner, in 1654, and until the 



Austin F. Cushman, son of William 
Cushman, was born June 18. 1830, in Bel- 
chertown, and received his education in 
the public schools of his native town. 
When a young man he went to Stafford, 
I'olland county, Connecticut, where, in 
1850, he married Harriet Fairman, of that 
place. He learned the trade of carriage 
maker, and soon changed from that to 
the occupation of pattern maker, as he 
was of a mechanical turn of mind. With 
his wife he came to Hartford, in 1859, and 
in 1862 started in business for himself in 
a small way, having no one in business 
but himself. After the troubles incident 
to the launching of a new enterprise in a 
practically strange city, the business be- 



settlement of Rev, Mr. Cotton in 1757, gan to prosper, and in 1885 it was incor- 



he conducted the religious services twice 
on every Sunday, and during that time 
was the only preacher the church had. 
He was a participant in the making of 
the first treaty with Alassachusetts and 
Samoset. Alary Allerton, his wife, was 
about eleven years of age when she came 
over in the "Mayflower." She was the 
last survivor of that Pilgrim band, dying 
seven or eight years after her husband, at 
the advanced age of ninety. They reared 
a family of seven children, all of whom 
married. Their son, Eleazer Cushman, 
born February 20, 1657, married, January 
12, 1688. Elizabeth Combes, and lived in 
Plympton, Massachusetts. Their son, 
William Cushman, was born October 27, 
1710, in Plymouth, lived in Mansfield, 
Connecticut, and died at Willington, same 
State, December 27, 1777. He married 
Abigail Lee, born April 9, 1713, died 1803. 
They were the parents of eleven children. 
Their son, William Cushman, born June 
24, 1738, lived in Stafford, Connecticut, 
and died in 1820. His son, William Cush- 
man, was born in Stafford, but later be- 
came a resident of Belchertown, Massa- 
chusetts, where he followed the trade of 
carriage maker. 



porated as the Cushman Chuck Company. 
In 1870 his son, Eugene L. Cushman, was 
taken into the business. The first loca- 
tion was in the old O. D. Case Building 
on Trumbull street. It was later moved 
to the Howard Building on Asylum street, 
and the building on Cushman street was 
erected in 1872, the street being named 
after the firm. In January, 1915, they 
purchased the plant formerly owned by 
the L^niversal Machine Screw Company, 
which covers about seventy-five thousand 
square feet of land. They handle on an 
average of two hundred and fifty people, 
and their product is sold all over the 
world. Mr. Cushman was also an in- 
ventor and took out many patents. About 
fifteen years prior to his decease, Mr. 
Cushman's eyes began to fail, and from 
that time he was practically blind, so that 
while he was still interested in the busi- 
ness he was unable to give his personal 
attention to most of the details. In politi- 
cal principle he was a Republican. Mr. 
Cushman died of troubles incident to old 
age, November 29, 1914, at St. Francis' 
Hospital, where he had been confined sev- 
eral months. He was eighty-four years 
of age, and left a wife and son. 



90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Eugene L. Cushman was reared in Hart- 
ford and received his education in the pub- 
he schools of that city. In 1870 he be- 
came associated with his father in busi- 
ness, which he learned in a practical way, 
in both the shop and office. He is a direc- 
tor of the American Industrial Trust & 
Banking Company; treasurer and direc- 
tor of the Cushman Music Shop, and a 
member of Charter Oak Lodge, Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows, and the City 
Club of Hartford. While a Republican in 
politics, he has neither sought nor held 
office. At one time he was a member of 
the Governor's Foot Guard. He married, 
1S82, Mary, daughter of Robert and Ann 
Wilson. They are the parents of two 
sons: I. Arthur E., born November 4, 
1885, is president of the Cushman Music 
Shop; a director in the Cushman Chuck 
Company, Cushman Music Shop ; mem- 
ber of the City Club, the Rotary Club and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks; he married, 1909, Mary Bradley, of 
Baltimore, and they have three children : 
Henry Bradley, born 1910; Eugene L., 
born 1914; Arthur Bernard, born 1915. 
2. Richard, born October 9, 1888; was 
educated in the public schools of Hart- 
ford and a private school in New York 
City, on completing his education he 
started to learn the chuck business in the 
Cushman Chuck Company's plant, where 
he worked in the shipping room, factory 
and office ; he was made treasurer in 1913 : 
he is a member of the Hartford Golf Club, 
City Club of Hartford ; associate member 
of Troop B, and a director of Cushman 
Chuck Company; he married Louise, 
daughter of Henry James Cogswell, of 
Hartford ; she was born there. 



SWETT, Paul Plummer, M. D., 

Orthopedic Surgeon. 

From time immemorial the professions 
have appealed to the cultured instincts of 



the descendants of John Swett, the Amer- 
ican ancestor of Paul Plummer Swett, M. 
D., orthopedic surgeon of Hartford, Con- 
necticut. John Swett was one of the nine- 
ty-one grantees of Newbury, Massachu- 
setts, in 1642. The line of descent is 
through the founder's son, Benjamin, his 
son John, his son Joseph, his son Samuel, 
Harvard, 1800; his son. Dr. John B. ; his 
son Samuel ; his son. Rev. Josiah ; his 
son. Dr. Josiah ; his son. Dr. Paul Plum- 
mer Swett, of the tenth American genera- 
tion. The family is of English origin, and 
bore arms : Gules, two chevrons between 
as many mullets in chief and a rose in 
base argent, seeded or and barbed vert. 
Crest : A mullet or, pierced azure between 
two gilly flowers proper. 

Rev. Josiah Swett, D. D., was an emi- 
nent minister of the Gospel, a man of 
high intellectual attainment, the author of 
many books, and at one time acting presi- 
dent of Norwich University. He was pas- 
tor over several Vermont churches during 
his earlier career, and at the time of the 
birth of his son. Dr. Josiah Swett, was 
located at Bethel. He also taught private 
schools at some of the towns in which he 
was stationed and prepared young men 
for college. 

Dr. Josiah Swett was born in Bethel, 
Vermont, died in New Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, January 13, 1916. He prepared for 
the medical profession at the University 
of Vermont whence he was graduated M. 
D., class of 1877, also did post-graduate 
work in Bellevue Hospital, New York, 
and for a time practiced in that city. He 
then located at Granville, Massachusetts, 
where he practiced successfully ten years 
prior to his coming to New Hartford, 
where he continued until his death. He 
was a member of the Hampden County, 
Connecticut State and American Medical 
associations, and was highly regarded as 
a physician of skill and honor. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and while in Gran- 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ville was clerk of the town and filled other 
offices. He married Bertha Huddleston, 
born in Granby, Connecticut. 

Dr. Paul Plummer Swett, son of Dr. 
Josiah and Bertha (Huddleston) Swett, 
was born at Granville, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 23, 1882, and there attended public 
school until the removal to New Hartford, 
where his studies were resumed. He 
finished preparation in the Gilbert School, 
Winsted, Connecticut, then entered Belle- 
vue Hospital Medical College, New York 
City. He received his M. D. from Belle- 
vue, class of 1904, having during his 
course served a term of six months as 
interne in Hartford Hospital. After be- 
ing awarded his degree, Dr. Swett prac- 
ticed for a year with his honored father 
in New Hartford, after which until 1910 
he was associated as assistant with Dr. 
Ansel G. Cook, of Hartford. In 1910 he 
began practice alone in Hartford and has 
advanced to honorable position among 
the professional men of the city. He has 
specialized on children's deformities and 
since 1909 has been orthopedic surgeon to 
the Hartford Hospital, is orthopedic sur- 
geon to the Hartford Dispensary and con- 
sulting surgeon to the New Britain Gen- 
eral Hospital. His standing is high in 
this branch of surgical practice, and upon 
the organization of the American College 
of Surgeons in 1914 he was elected a fel- 
low. He is a member of the Hartford 
City. Hartford County, Connecticut State 
and American Medical associations, mem- 
ber of the Eastern States Orthopedic 
Club, and in all takes an active interest. 
He has won the respect and regard of the 
members of his profession, is called fre- 
quently in consultation and is one of the 
rising young surgeons of the State. His 
fraternity is Upsilon Phi ; his clubs, the 



Anna Howard Poole, daughter of George 
Poole. They are the parents of three sons, 
Paul Plummer (2), Josiah Dodge and 
Norris Poole Swett. 



JACKSON, Thomas Francis, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Thomas Francis Jackson, a prominent 
business man of Waterbury, born in 
Waterbury, Connecticut, September 29, 
1858, is of Irish ancestry. The earliest 
ancestors of which there is record came 
to the North of Ireland from Dumfries, 
Scotland, in the latter part of the eight- 
eenth century. His paternal grandfather 
was Timothy Jackson, who married Cath- 
erine Curry, and they were the parents 
of five children, all of whom are now 
deceased. Among their children was 
Charles Jackson, father of Thomas F. 
Jackson, who was born near Tipperary, 
Ireland, October 17, 1835. His parents 
died when he was a mere youth and he 
was but sixteen years of age when he 
emigrated to the United States. His first 
home in the new land was in the city of 
Albany, New York, where he learned the 
trade of stone cutting and carving, and 
later continued his apprenticeship in 
Washington, D. C, in which city he at- 
tended the Evening School of Art at the 
Smithsonian Institution, and several capi- 
tals in the present Senate room of the 
capitol were carved by him. In 1857 he 
took up his residence in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, and there, in 1859, established 
the business that has been enlarged and 
continued by his son down to the present 
time. He married, August 17, 1857, Brid- 
get Walsh, a native of Ireland and one of 
the eight children of Michael and Alice 
(Hennessy) Walsh, of Ireland. Mrs. 
Harvard Golf and Twentieth Century ; his Jackson is residing in Hartford, Connec- 
church, Trinity Episcopal. ticut, at the present time, aged eighty-five 

Dr. Swett married, October 3, 1906, years. To Charles and Bridget (Walsh) 

92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jackson were born eight children, six of 
whom are as follows : Thomas Francis, 
of whom further ; Joseph A., an architect 
in New York City ; Jerome A., engaged in 
a stone contracting business in New York 
City; Charles A., who conducts a stone 
business in W'aterbury, Connecticut ; Wil- 
liam H., a graduate of the Yale Law 
School and now in the publishing busi- 
ness in New York City ; and Frederick 
S., graduated in the academic course at 
Yale University with the class of 1896, 
and from Yale Law School in 1899, and 
now engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession in New York City. 

Thomas Francis Jackson passed the 
years of his life in his native city, attend- 
ing the local schools, including the high 
school. He abandoned his studies, how- 
ever, when he was but fifteen years old 
and began work in his father's stone cut- 
ting establishment, where he learned the 
trade. He managed the business of the 
Plymouth Granite Company at Thomas- 
ton, Connecticut, until the year 1887 and 
then, at the age of twenty-nine was ad- 
mitted as a partner in the business which 
was then conducted under the name of 
Charles Jackson & Son. Mr. Jackson at 
once entered with energy into the conduct 
of affairs, and the name of the business 
was changed in 1901, when he became the 
sole owner, to Thomas F. Jackson. The 
concern has enjoyed a steady increase in 
size and importance and gradually in- 
cluded all kinds of stone contracting 
work, exterior and interior construction, 
slate and tiling work. The business at 
length became of such size that in 1912 
Mr. Jackson incorporated it and it now 
bears the name of the Thomas F. Jackson 
Company, with offices in the Lilley Build- 
ing, No. Ill West Main street, Water- 
bury, and extensive works at Nos. 215 to 
271 South Leonard street. But the promi- 
nence that Mr. Jackson holds in the busi- 



ness world of Waterbury does not depend 
alone upon his connection with this con- 
cern. He has become associated with a 
number of the most important financial 
institutions in the neighborhood and is 
now a director in the Citizens' National 
Bank and the West Side Savings Bank of 
Waterbury. He has been a director of 
St. Mary's Hospital since its organization. 

Air. Jackson"s influence is not confined 
to the realm of business and finance, how- 
ever, and he is a well known figure in 
many other departments of the city's 
life. His service in the conduct of public 
affairs, for instance, has been consider- 
able and he has held several appointive 
positions in W'aterbury. He was a mem- 
ber of the Board of Public Works during 
the administration of Mayor Elton, and 
on Mayor Hotchkiss taking office he was 
appointed to the Board of Finance and 
has continued on that board with Alayors 
Reeves and Scully. In the social world 
Mr. Jackson is a member of the Water- 
bury and Country clubs. The faith of Mr. 
Jackson is that of the Catholic church 
and he attends St. Margaret's Church, 
Waterbury. 

Mr. Jackson married, June 9, 1885, Alary 
Elizabeth Balfe, of Waterbury, a daughter 
of Alichael A. and Catherine (Gallagher) 
Balfe, both deceased. Airs. Jackson died 
December 29, 1909, at the age of forty-six 
years, after having borne her husband six 
children, as follows: i. Charles Balfe, a 
graduate of Yale University in 1907, and 
now vice-president and assistant treasurer 
of the Thomas F. Jackson Company. 2. 
Andrew Jerome, attended the Sheffield 
Scientific School at Yale University, and 
now secretary and superintendent of the 
Thomas F. Jackson Company. 3. Kath- 
arine Alice, a graduate of Trinity College, 
\\'ashington, D. C, in 1915. 4. Cecelia 
Elizabeth, now a student at Trinity Col- 
lege, Washington, D. C, class of 1918. 5. 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wilfrid Anthony, now a student in the 
Crosby High School at Waterbury. 6. 
Pauline Agnes, now at the Convent of 
Notre Dame. 



GUILFOILE, Joseph Clement, 
Lawyer. 

There is always something of interest 
in the phenomenon of a family in which, 
from generation to generation, there is 
handed down certain virtues and abilities, 
so that the qualities that distinguish the 
father reappear in the sons and but few of 
its members do not win places for them- 
selves in the community. It is interesting 
for one reason because it throws so much 
light upon the reasons that must have 
induced our ancestors to establish and 
perpetuate some of the institutions of 
aristocracy such as the descent of titles 
and estates, believing as they felt they 
had good reason to that the chief's 
son would inherit the strength and 
talent of the chief. But although it was 
doubtless from some such cause as this 
that these institutions arose, it is only in 
the midst of a democracy that the thing 
may be seen to the best advantage, when 
men of talent, without respect to what 
their ancestors may have been, rise to just 
the height that their abilities warrant 
and no more. A better example of such a 
family it would be difficult to find than 
that furnished by the Guilfoiles of Mount- 
rath, Ireland, and Waterbury. Connecticut. 
The beginning of this capable line of men 
was in that charming district of "Erin" 
to the southeast of the Slieve Bloom 
Mountains in Queens county. Here 
Mountrath lies and here during the first 
half of the nineteenth century William 
Guilfoile lived and prospered. He was 
engaged in farming and was sufficiently 
enterprising to undertake the marketing 
of his fellow farmers' produce as well as 



his own and in course of time built up a 
large commission business. It was in the 
person of his son, Michael Guilfoile, that 
the family found its way to the "New 
World" and the United States. 

Michael Guilfoile, the father of Joseph 
Clement Guilfoile, with whose career this 
sketch is chiefly concerned, was born at 
Mountrath about the year 1840 and re- 
ceived the training of the average boy of 
the better class whose father is possessed 
of means. There was one factor in his 
training, however, that was not enjoyed by 
most of his comrades and that was the 
experience gained by him while still a 
mere youth in his father's commission 
brokerage house which stood him in good 
stead when a few years later he left the 
parental roof and sought his fortune in 
the great republic across the sea. Mr. 
Guilfoile, Sr., was two and twenty years 
of age when he took his momentous step 
in 1862, a step which he never had cause 
to regret. He came at once to the State 
of Connecticut and made his way first to 
Norwalk, from there to Hartford and 
finally to Waterbury, which became his 
permanent home thenceforth. He had 
found employment in a woolen house in 
Norwalk and in the great plant of the 
Colt people in Hartford. His arrival in 
Waterbury, however, was marked by his 
engaging in business on his own account, 
a business for which his training in his 
native land had well prepared him. This 
was in the line of beef and provisions in 
which he was highly successful and in 
which he continued until about 191 5 when 
he withdrew altogether from active life. 
His wife, Kate (Lawlor) Guilfoile, was like 
himself a native of Ireland, born in that 
country in 1847. She was a daughter of 
Peter and Mary (Little) Lawlor. and with 
them came to this country in 1848, when 
but a year old. Her father engaged in the 
manufacture of woolen goods in Water- 



94 





^^Jlf^yjLoo 



Ipubj: -ID 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury during the remainder of his life here 
and was highly successful. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Guilfoile eleven children were born, 
and of this large family eight are now 
alive as follows : Francis Patrick, a sketch 
of whom appears elsewhere in this work ; 
Louis Peter, now a resident of Dayton, 
Ohio ; Mary Frances and Sarah Louise, 
who reside in Waterbury; Margaret Ce- 
celia, now Sister Mary Catherine, in con- 
vent at Providence, Rhode Island; Ger- 
trude, now Mrs. McEvoy ; Joseph Clem- 
ent, the subject of this sketch ; and Vin- 
cent G. 

Joseph Clement Guilfoile, son of Michael 
and Kate (Lawlor) Guilfoile, was born 
November 22, 1885, at Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, where with the exception of brief 
periods spent away at various institutions 
of learning, he has made his home ever 
since. For the early portion of his edu- 
cation he attended the public schools of 
Waterbury and he then matriculated at 
St. Louis College in Montreal, Canada, 
where he graduated with the class of 1907. 
It had been Mr. Guilfoile's intention to 
follow the law as a profession and in pur- 
suance of this purpose he entered the law 
school in connection with Georgetown 
L^niversity, Washington, D. C. In 1910 
he was admitted to the bar of the District 
of Columbia. He graduated from the uni- 
versity in 191 1, passed his bar examina- 
tions and was admitted to the Connecti- 
cut bar in the same year. He now has a 
law office in the Guilfoile Building, Water- 
bury, and has, in spite of his youth, al- 
ready established a practice to say nothing 
of a reputation as one of the most capable 
of the rising young lawyers in that city. 
In religious faith Mr. Guilfoile is, like his 
ancestors before him, a Catholic. He at- 
tends the Church of the Blessed Sacra- 
ment in Waterbury and is an active 
worker for the advancement of the in- 
terests of the parish. He is a member of 



the Order of Eagles and the Order of 
Moose and is prominent in the social life 
of the city generally. 

On April 15, 1915, in New York City, 
Mr. Guilfoile was united in marriage with 
Louise Peloso, a native of that city, born 
August 5, 1892, a daughter of Dominick 
and Mary (Leroy) Peloso, both natives 
of Italy. Mr. Peloso is a successful con- 
tractor in New York. 



BOBBIN, Edward Gregory, 

La^pyer. 

A member of the Connecticut bar since 
1907, coming to Waterbury from his na- 
tive State, Pennsylvania, Mr. Bobbin has 
won honorable standing as a lawyer, firm- 
ly established himself as a citizen and 
formed many warm friendships. He is of 
Polish parentage, his father, John J. Bob- 
bin, having come to the United States 
from that far-away land, a youth of 
eighteen years, unaccompanied and friend- 
less, trusting to his own powers of body 
and mind to win a livelihood. That he 
did not overrate his own abilities nor the 
opportunities America offers to the in- 
telligent worthy emigrant, the result has 
amply proved. The friendless boy of 
eighteen is now the honored prosperous 
banker and merchant, the extensive land- 
owner, the trusted bank director and 
prominent citizen of the town of Shenan- 
doah, Pennsylvania, his seven children 
young men and women of education and 
good standing in their communities. 

On coming to the United States, John 
J. Bobbin went to the coal mines at Ma- 
hanoy Plane, Schuylkill county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he worked as a miner for 
several years. He was both industrious 
and thrifty, careful in his expenditures, 
ambitious to rise and willing to make any 
personal sacrifice in order to sooner reach 
his goal. In course of time he accumu- 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lated sufficient capital to engage in mer- 
cantile business, his first venture being 
made at Shenandoah, Schuylkill county, 
Pennsylvania, where he had moved some 
time before. Plis first start as a grocer 
was a modest but successful one and as 
business increased he enlarged his quar- 
ters and extended his lines. The years 
brought richly deserved and earned pros- 
perity and to-day he is one of the honored 
men of Shenandoah, still in business as a 
banker and grocer but with other large 
interests. He brought to the United 
States all the foreigners' love of land 
ownership and in the investment of sur- 
plus revenue always sought out a piece of 
land to purchase, in that way finally ac- 
quiring a large real estate holding. He is 
also a stockholder and a director of the 
Merchant's National Bank of Shenandoah, 
is interested in civic afYairs and one of the 
public-spirited men of his town. 

John J. Bobbin married Mary Jane 
Janasky, born in Shamokin, Pennsylva- 
nia, and to them nine children have been 
born : Edward Gregory, of further men- 
tion ; Blanche B., wife of Maximilian J. 
Spotanski, a druggist, residing in Nanti- 
coke, Pennsylvania; Adolph C, a hard- 
ware merchant, located at New Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania ; Clara M., wife of An- 
thony Rogers, a bank cashier of Shenan- 
doah ; Isabel H., residing at home; Clay- 
ton, deceased ; Raymond D., a student at 
Lehigh University ; Alberta, deceased ; 
Mary V., residing at home. 

Edward Gregory Bobbin, eldest son of 
John J. and Mary Jane (Janasky) Bobbin, 
was born at Shenandoah, Schuylkill coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, March 12, 1882. He 
passed through all grades of the Shenan- 
doah public schools and after graduation 
from high school, class of 1899, entered 
the famous Wyoming Valley institution 
of learning at Kingston, Wyoming Semi- 
nary, there completing his classical studies 



and graduating, class of 1901. He had 
now arrived at that critical point in a 
young man's life when he must decide 
upon a career. He was then nineteen 
years of age, and had he elected a busi- 
ness career could have at once associated 
with his honored father in his prosperous 
mercantile enterprise. But the }'Oung man 
decided upon a professional career, choos- 
ing the law. He entered the law depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania, 
at Philadelphia, there pursued a full 
course and was graduated LL. B., class 
of 1906. He spent nine months in Phila- 
delphia after graduation, during which 
time he was employed by the city of Phil- 
adelphia doing special investigating for 
one of the important departments in the 
city government. In August, 1907, he 
located in Waterbury, Connecticut, where 
he has practiced without a partner and 
most successfully until the present time. 
Mr. Bobbin is a member of the New 
Haven County and Connecticut State Bar 
associations, is a past grand knight of the 
Knights of Columbus, member of the Be- 
iievolent and Protective Order of Elks and 
the Fraternal Order of Eagles. He is a 
member of St. Thomas' Roman Catholic 
Church, belonging to the Holy Name So- 
ciety. He is also a member of a number 
of church and beneficial societies through- 
cut the city. 

Air. Bobbin married, in Waterbury, 
April 25, 191 1, Mary Cruse Fay, born in 
Waterbury, a graduate of the Convent of 
Notre Dame, daughter of the late John S. 
Fay, who was a prosperous tea merchant 
in this city, and his wife, Catherine Louise 
(Cruse) Fay. John S. Fay was born in 
Pawling, New York., while Mrs. Fay was 
born in New York City. Mrs. Fay now 
resides in Waterbtiry. 

Air. Bobbin is highly regarded in his 
adopted city, his business as a lawyer at- 
testing the approval of the public he 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



serves. If the progress made in the few 
years he has practiced at the Connecticut 
bar is indicative of his future, coming 
years have in store for him nothing but 
success. Temperamentally he is well 
fitted for the profession he has chosen, 
while his manly personality assures him a 
wide circle of friends. 



SMITH, Rev. Terence Bernard, 

Clergyman. 

It is a mistaken corollary from the 
great and true proposition that the world 
is growing more virtuous, to suppose that 
therefore of any two epochs the later 
must be the better. It is true that we are 
moving, however slowly, towards what 
we believe shall prove to be the Millen- 
nium, but we move as do the waves of the 
sea and trough must follow crest as well 
as the contrary. It would probably be a 
difficult matter, however, to persuade 
anyone that the present time occupies 
any such ignominious position as that of 
trough between two crests of develop- 
ment, and doubtless most men would 
point indignantly to the marvelous m,e- 
chanical achievements of to-day and ask 
when the world has approached them in 
the past. But there are other and surer 
ways of judging of the worth of a period 
than by its mechanical inventions, nota- 
bly by the amount of religious enthusi- 
asm existing, and it is a fact that to call a 
period in history at once the "Dark Ages" 
and the "Ages of Faith" is a contradiction 
in terms. That to-day there is less of re- 
ligious belief than in the times that have 
preceded it is hardly susceptible of denial 
and this, according to the above criterion, 
marks it as in some degree a retrogres- 
sion. To carry us through such times of 
disbelief, however, there are several great 
factors to which men of more faithful in- 
stincts may turn for support and refuge. 

Conn— J~7 y/ 



One of the greatest of these is undeniably 
the Roman Catholic church, in the shelter 
of whose institutions so many find secur- 
ity. It is among the priests and more de- 
voted members of the church that we 
shall still find something that approxi- 
mates the simple faith of those old times, 
a faith which approached the moving of 
mountains. Typical of those who thus 
seem to perpetuate in their own persons 
the splendid tradition of the past is Father 
Terence Bernard Smith, rector of the 
Church of the Blessed Sacrament in 
Waterbury, Connecticut, he having estab- 
lished and built up the parish to its pres- 
ent size and importance and made it the 
factor that it is in the religious life of the 
community. Father Smith comes of a 
family such as he might have been ex- 
pected to have been a scion of, his fore- 
bears having been members of the simple, 
yet capable Irish country folk. County 
Cavan, Ireland, was their home from the 
time that the records of them extend, and 
although Father Smith was himself born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, he inherits 
the simple, sterling qualities of his ances- 
try. 

County Cavan during the early part of 
the past century was the home of Terence 
Smith, the grandfather of Father Smith, 
who was himself a man of parts and a 
well-known figure in the community. To 
him and his wife, who was Nancy Tor- 
mey, also of that region, were born ten 
children, now all deceased. Their par- 
ents came to America rather late in life 
and their deaths occurred in New Haven. 
One of the children, Bernard Peter 
Smith, was the father of Father Smith, 
and was one of the most enterprising 
members of his family. He was born 
March 31, 1836, in County Cavan, Ireland, 
but came to this country alone at the age 
of thirteen. In spite of the terrible handi- 
cap of his extreme youth and the strange 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



environment, he made his way onward 
and upward until he found a very con- 
siderable business success and a high 
place in the regard of his fellow citizens. 
He was a surveyor of lumber for above 
thirty-five years, and he also was elected 
as a councilman of his ward in New 
Haven. His death occurred August 5, 
1912, he being the last to die of his nine 
brothers and sisters. He married Cath- 
erine E. McGinn, a native of the city of 
Poughkeepsie, New York, and she sur- 
vives him, still residing in New Haven 
at the age of seventy-five years. Eleven 
children were born to them and of these 
seven are still living as follows : Terence 
Bernard, with whose career this sketch 
is particularly concerned: James, a resi- 
dent of New Haven, where he is em- 
ployed as a foreman in the great Win- 
chester Arms Company ; Edward, who is 
employed in the New York office of the 
New York Central Railroad Company; 
Walter, who resides in Des Moines, Iowa, 
where he represents the Atlas Cement 
Company ; Mary, now the wife of John 
T. Smith, of New York City ; Lucy, who 
lives with her mother in New Haven ; 
Sister Mary, of St. Bernard's Convent of 
the Sisters of the Good Shepherd. 

Terence Bernard Smith was born April 
25, 1863, at New Haven, and it was there 
in his native town that the years of his 
childhood were spent. At a very early 
age he showed a keen religious nature, his 
thoughts turning spontaneously to re- 
ligious things, and he also showed him- 
self an intelligent and industrious student 
and one with a strong ambition to excel. 
His first studies were pursued at the ex- 
cellent public schools of New Haven and 
in 1880, having completed his studies 
there, although he was only seventeen 
years of age, he matriculated at St. 
Charles' College at Ellicott City, Mary- 
land. Here amid the traditions of piety 



and learning which form so marked an 
atmosphere at this venerable institution, 
he remained a couple of years, his re- 
ligious feelings crystallizing and becom- 
ing definite and his half formed desire to 
enter the priesthood taking shape until it 
had become a firm conviction of his call. 
He then went to St. Bonaventure College 
at Allegany. New York, and there spent 
eight years in pursuance of the arduous 
studies that the Catholic church pre- 
scribes for her votaries. On June 20, 1889, 
Father Smith was ordained to the priest- 
hood by Bishop Ryan, of Buffalo. He was 
ordained for the Hartford diocese. His 
first appointment was as assistant to St. 
Joseph's Church at Bristol, Connecticut. 
Here his ministry began, but here he did 
not remain more than two years, and he 
was then transferred to Bridgeport, East 
Hartford and Newtown, Connecticut, suc- 
cessively. In each of these he was assist- 
ant, but in 1905 he was given his first 
pastorate in the parish of St. Bernard, at 
Sharon, Connecticut, and here he re- 
mained six years until 191 1, greatly im- 
proving the general condition of the par- 
ish there. His organizing and managing 
ability being very obvious, he was chosen 
to be the priest to take charge of the for- 
mation of a new parish in Waterbury, and 
it was thus that he first became associ- 
ated with the parish of the Blessed Sacra- 
ment in Waterbury. He was exceptiona- 
bly successful in doing the difficult work 
attendant upon the bringing into being of 
the new parish and from that time to this 
has tended and developed it in every way 
possible and made himself very well be- 
loved by his congregation. Among his 
parishioners his work has been most note- 
worthy and of such a character in reliev- 
ing distress and comforting sorrow that 
few men in the city are equally beloved. 
The condition of the parish itself has 
always been prosperous and besides the 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



handsome church structure a new paro- 
chial residence is now in process of erec- 
tion. 

Besides his immediate priestly duties, 
Father Smith takes an active part in the 
lives of his parishioners and especially 
interests himself in the aflfairs of the 
young- men. He is a member of the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of 
the Knights of Columbus and of the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians. 

Father Smith has had two assistants 
since he entered upon the duties of this 
parish, the first being Father Thomas 
Molloy, who came there in September, 
1914, and died there January i, 1916. 
Eighteen days afterwards the present as- 
sistant. Father John H. Landry, was as- 
signed to the post. Father Landry was 
born at Bristol, Connecticut, a son of 
Joseph N. and Annie Agnes Landry, the 
former born in Canada and the latter in 
Bristol, where they both reside at present. 



THOMPSON, John Henry, 

Insurance OfScer. 

John Henry Thompson, the capable 
and successful general agent of the Con- 
necticut Mutual Life Insurance Company 
at Hartford, is a member of an old New 
Jersey family, but was himself born in 
the west, at Pella, Iowa, February 20, 
1873. He is a son of the Rev. Abraham 
and Anna (Westfall) Thompson, his 
father having been a native of Reading- 
ton, New Jersey, born in December, 1833. 
The Rev. Mr. Thompson was graduated 
from Rutgers College, New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, and then from the New 
Brunswick Theological Seminary. He 
was ordained as a preacher of the gospel, 
and in his young manhood went west to 
Iowa, where he was pastor of a church in 
Pella for a few years. He then returned 
to the east and took charge of the Rut- 
gers Preparatory School at New Bruns- 



wick, in the capacity of head master. In 
the year 1876 he became pastor of the 
Knox Memorial Church, in New York 
City, and held that important post until 
his death in 1886. He married Anna 
Westfall, a daughter of Simon Van Etten 
Westfall, a native of New York State, 
born in the neighborhood of Schenectady. 
They were the parents of four sons, as 
follows : Maurice J., deceased ; James 
Westfall, A. M., Ph. D., now professor of 
history at the University of Chicago; 
John Henry, with whose career this 
sketch is particularly concerned ; and 
Wayne H., who makes his home in Chi- 
cago. 

Mr. Thompson's grandfather was Judge 
Joseph Thompson, of Readington, New 
Jersey, a prominent man in the commu- 
nity, where he was occupied as a farmer, 
a staunch Republican and judge of the 
County Court of Hunterdon county. His 
wife before her marriage was Ann Post, 
a native of the same region in New Jer- 
sey. Judge Thompson's grandfather was 
possibly the original John Thompson, 
who came from the North of Ireland some 
time early in the eighteenth century and 
settled in this country. Although of this 
fact we cannot be positive, the balance of 
evidence seems to be in favor thereof. 

John Henry Thompson did not remain 
in his native town or State for many 
years, but accompanied his parents to 
New Jersey when the Rev. Mr. Thomp- 
son became head master of the Rutgers 
Preparatory School at New Brunswick 
in that State. Here it was that the lad 
received his education, and after prepar- 
ing for college he matriculated at Rutgers 
College in 1890. Here he took the custo- 
mary academic courses and was gradu- 
ated therefrom in 1894 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. It was Mr. Thomp- 
son's intention at that time to follow in 
his father's footsteps and enter the minis- 
try, and with this end in view he entered 



99 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Union Theological Seminary of New 
York City, from which he was graduated. 
He did not, however, enter the ministry, 
his taste impelling him to a business 
career, and upon graduation he at once 
became identified with the Connecticut 
Mutual Life Insurance Company, being 
employed in New York City as a solicitor 
for three years. On January i, 1901, how- 
ever, he was appointed general agent of 
the company for the city of New Haven 
and remained in that post for nearly four 
years. In 1904 he went to Detroit, Michi- 
gan, as agent for the same company, being 
later made general agent for Western 
Michigan. On January i, 1909, however, 
he returned to the east and received the 
appointment to the general agency for 
Southern and Western Connecticut. On 
January i, 1913, he came to Hartford and 
entered upon the duties of his present 
position, in which he has met with the 
highest degree of success. Mr. Thomp- 
son is at the present time regarded as one 
of the conspicuous figures in the insur- 
ance world of Hartford, and is a man well 
known in business circles generally 
throughout the region. He is also promi- 
nent in other aspects of the city's life, is a 
member of the University Club, Hartford 
Golf Club of Hartford, and of the Grad- 
uate Club of New Haven. 

John Henry Thompson was united in 
marriage with Katharine E. Stone, a 
daughter of M. H. and Mary (Gilmour) 
Stone, of Burlington, Vermont. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Thompson one child has been 
born, a son. Hay ward S., March i, 1902. 
Mr. Thompson and his family are mem- 
bers of the Center Congregational Church 
of Hartford. 



TWITCHELL, Walter Henry, 

Business Man. 

Robert Twitchell, of ancient Connecti- 
cut family, came to Naugatuck, Connec- 



ticut, in early life and there resided until 
his death, attaining distinction as a pub- 
lic official. His son, Walter Henry 
Twitchell, is a native son of Naugatuck, 
and there has spent his entire life. For 
twenty-three years he gave his individual 
interests to an employer, then began busi- 
ness for himself, and is one of Nauga- 
tuck's honored merchants, well known, 
prosperous and highly esteemed. Robert 
Twitchell was born in Oxford, Connecti- 
cut, but early in life located in Nauga- 
tuck. He was collector of taxes for many 
years and also served as sheriff of New 
Haven county. He married Jeanette 
Clark, born at Prospect, Connecticut. Mr. 
and Mrs. Twitchell were the parents of 
three children : Edward, who died at the 
age of fifty years, proprietor of the Union 
City market ; Walter Henry, of further 
mention ; Robert C, deceased. 

Walter Henry Twitchell, son of Rob- 
ert and Jeanette (Clark) Twitchell, was 
born in Naugatuck, Connecticut, October 
17, 1858, and there still resides. He ob- 
tained his education in the public schools, 
and when his school years were over, en- 
tered the employ of Colonel F. W. Tolles, 
with whom he remained for twenty-three 
years, leaving with the proud record of 
not having been absent from his work 
even one day during that entire period. 
After that long term of service with an- 
other he decided to enter business for 
himself and purchased the business of F. 
W. Tolles. He conducts a very success- 
ful business in furniture, carpets, paper 
hangings, stoves, ranges, trunks and bags, 
also carries a line of undertaker's supplies 
and has an undertaking establishment. 
He operates this under his own name, 
Walter H. Twitchell, and requires the 
services of eight men to transact the busi- 
ness which has more than trebled under 
his able management. Mr. Twitchell has 
attained all the degrees of Scottish Rite 
Masonry, for eighteen years has been 



100 



THE NEW YORK j 
PUBLIC library! 

I 

ASTOR, LENOX \ 

TILDEN FOUiNDATIONsj 





^y 




&1^<U.??7.^. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



treasurer of Sheperd's Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and for five years has 
held the office in Alton Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons. He is also a member of 
the Improved Order of Red Men and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
Lodge No. 967, of Naugatuck. In politi- 
cal faith he is a Republican. 

Mr. Twitchell married, in Naugatuck, 
Adelaide M. Richards, born in South 
Hartford, Connecticut, who died in 1913, 
without issue. 



ENGELKE, Charles, M. D., 

Physician. 

There is something intrinsically ad- 
mirable in the profession of medicine that 
illumines by reflected light all those who 
practice it. Something that is concerned 
with its prime object, the alleviation of 
human suffering, something about the 
self-sacrifice that it must necessarily in- 
volve that makes us regard, and rightly 
so, all those who choose to follow its diffi- 
cult way and devote themselves to its 
great aims with a certain amount of re- 
spect and reverence. It is true that at 
the present time there has been a certain 
lowering on the average of the standards 
and traditions of the profession, and that 
there are many within its ranks who have 
proposed to themselves selfish or un- 
worthy objects instead of those identified 
with the profession itself, whose eyes 
are centered on the rewards rather than 
the services, yet there are others also who 
have preserved the purest and best ideals 
of the calling and whose self-sacrifice is 
as disinterested as that of any who have 
preceded them. A man of this type is 
Dr. Charles Engelke, of Waterbury, 
whose work in that city in the interests of 
its health, both as a private practitioner 
and in his capacity as health officer, has 
done the public an invaluable service. 
Henry Engelke, grandfather of Dr. 



Charles Engelke, and a soj oi Conrad and 
Sophia Engelke, was bom in Meutzen, 
Germany, April 4, 1812, and died Decern^ 
ber 10, 1894. He married, in Bremen, 
Germany, June 24, 1836, Christine Ber- 
nadina Von Eckle, born in Elsflath, Ger- 
many, February 5, 181 5, died January 20, 
1882. She was a daughter of Christian 
Bernhardt and Katrina (Schultze) Von 
Eckle, the former named born in Ovel- 
germe, Germany, and the latter named in 
Elsflath, Germany. Henry and Christine 
B. Engelke sailed from Bremenhaven, 
Germany, to the United States, October 
17, 1836, and settled at first in New York 
City, where they resided for two years, 
then removed to Pine Plains, New York. 
Their children were: i. Frederick, born 
in New York City, 1837, died in infancy. 
2. Bernhardt Henry, born in Pine Plains, 
August 24, 1839, died 1909 ; married (first) 
Susan Newcomb, and (second) Elizabeth 
Lovejoy Brandt. 3. Sophia Marie, born 
1841, died in infancy. 4. Niles Justus, of 
whom further. 5. Angelina Davis, born 
August 2. 1845, now the widow of Miller 
Pulver, residing in Pine Plains, New 
York. 6. Stephen Vail, born April 2, 
1847 ; married Harriet Harrison ; divorced ; 
now residing in Pine Plains, New York. 

7. Henry, born July 10, 1849, died in 1893. 

8. Milton, born 1851, died in infancy. 9. 
Dorathea. born April 18, 1853 ; became 
the wife of Joseph B. Holmes, residing in 
New York. 10. Theodore Hegaman, born 
March 29, 1855 ; residing in Pine Plains, 
New York. 11. Marie Elise, born April 
30, 1857; widow of William M. Sayres ; 
residing in Red Hook, New York. 12. 
Clara Amelia, born April 27, 1859: be- 
came the wife of Charles Wilson Mastin ; 
residing in Millbrook, New York. Chris- 
tian B. Von Eckle, father of Mrs. Engelke, 
was disowned by his father, Baron Von 
Eckle, for marrying beneath him in social 
position. 

Niles Justus Engelke, father of Dr. 

I CM 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Charles Engelke, was born October 7, 
1843, ^^ Pine Plains, New York. He en- 
listed, before the age of eighteen years, 
in the Forty-seventh New York Volun- 
teers and served over four years to the 
end of the war; he was promoted to the 
rank of second lieutenant. He married, 
October 7, 1868, Elizabeth Brusie, born 
in Copake, New York, 1849, now residing 
in Waterbury, Connecticut. She is a de- 
scendant of Francis Bruzee, born in Hol- 
land, April 2, 1714, and of Fitie (Halin- 
beck) Bruzee, his wife, born in 1729. 
Their son, Andreas Bruzee, was born 
January 24, 1752, married Elshe Bruisie, 
born March 14, 1754. Their son, Francis 
Brusie, was born at Copake, New York, 
January 23, 1779, one of six children. He 
married his cousin, Caroline Bruzee, and 
their son, Jeremiah Brusie, born Novem- 
ber 28, 1813, married Samantha Lester, 
born November 3, 1822, a granddaughter 
of Jacob F. and Phemia Decker, of Co- 
pake, New York. They were the parents 
of five children: Warren, born 1842, re- 
siding at Copake ; Mariette, born 1846, 
widow of Lyman Loomis, residing at Co- 
pake ; Elizabeth, born 1849, aforemen- 
tioned as the wife of Niles Justus En- 
gelke, residing at Waterbury ; Frank, de- 
ceased ; Abbie, deceased. Descendants of 
Andreas Bruzee are among the prosper- 
ous agriculturists of Columbia and Dutch- 
ess counties, New York. Two children 
were born to Niles J. and Elizabeth 
(Brusie) Engelke: Charles, of whom fur- 
ther ; Clay, who died in 1876, aged five 
years. 

Dr. Charles Engelke was born at Copake, 
New York, July 20, 1869. At a very early 
age he accompanied his parents to Pine 
Plains, New York, so that the greater part 
of his youthful associations were with the 
latter place, and it was there that he also 
began his schooling. After a residence 
of ten years at Pine Plains his parents 



moved to Waterbury, Connecticut, and 
this city has remained his home ever 
since with the exception of the time 
spent in the study of his profession. He 
attended the public schools of Water- 
bury, graduating from the high school in 
1888. He then secured employment with 
the "Waterbury Republican," a paper of 
standing and influence in that region. He 
did not remain with this paper long, how- 
ever, but secured a position in the mills 
of the Benedict & Burnham Manufactur- 
ing Company and remained in this em- 
ploy for some time. His youthful am- 
bition was to study medicine and he did 
not forget this as the years advanced, but 
was always seeking a way whereby he 
could gratify his ambition. In 1898, ten 
years after leaving school, having accu- 
mulated some capital by dint of persever- 
ance and economy, he matriculated at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons con- 
nected with Columbia University of New 
York, pursued the regular course and was 
graduated with the degree of M. D. in the 
class of 1902. The following two 3'ears 
and over he spent as an interne in the 
Methodist Episcopal Hospital in New 
York City, thus gaining the requisite ex- 
perience for his responsible calling. In 
1904 he returned to Waterbury, and there 
established himself in a practice that has 
continued to grow rapidly ever since that 
time. His reputation has spread outside 
the city limits and he has become well 
known in the surrounding region. In 1910 
he was appointed city health officer by 
the mayor of Waterbury and served most 
efficiently in that office for two years. He 
is a member of the W^aterbury Medical 
Society, the State Medical Society, the 
American Medical Association and the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Dr. 
Engelke is a Baptist in his religious belief 
and attends the church of that denomina- 
tion in Waterbury. 
02 



THE KEW YORK 
T^IIBLIC LIBRARY 



. or. Lmox 

.D_iJ fCJt^DATlONSj 




^t(^-ff^jfci^i^v&t-€^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Engelke married, in Waterbury, 
October 19, 1912, Bertha Murray Hart, 
born in Waterbury, Connecticut, October 
II, 1876, daughter of Jay Hiscox and Ber- 
tha Louise (Piatt) Hart, of Waterbury, 
Connecticut. Jay Hiscox Hart was born 
in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, De- 
cember II, 1847, son of Jay Hiscox Hart. 
He engaged in business in Great Barring- 
ton, Massachusetts, and New Haven, 
Bridgeport and Waterbury, Connecticut. 
He was secretary of the Patent Button 
Company and treasurer of Piatt Brothers 
& Company. He was tax collector of the 
city of Waterbury, and member of the 
Board of Fire Commissioners and of the 
Common Council. Bertha L. (Piatt) 
Hart was born in Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, and traced her ancestry to Deacon 
Richard Piatt, who settled at New Haven, 
Connecticut, in 1638, and was one of a 
party of sixty-one who formed a church 
settlement at Milford, November 20, 1639. 
He was chosen deacon at Milford in 1669 
and bequeathed a Bible to each of his 
nineteen grandsons. In August, 1889, a 
memorial stone, suitably inscribed, was 
placed to his memory in the new bridge 
over the Mapawaug. The line of descent 
is traced through his son, Josiah Piatt, 
born in Milford, 1645, married, at Alilford, 
December 2, 1669, Sarah Camfield. Their 
son, Josiah (2) Piatt, born in Milford, 
January 12, 1679, married, January 8, 
1707, Sarah Burwell. Their son, Josiah 
(3) Piatt, born October 13, 1707, married 

Sarah . Their son, Josiah (4) 

Piatt, born 1730-35, married, November 
13, 1758. Sarah Sanford. Their son, Na- 
than Piatt, born at Newtown, March 3, 
1761, died at Wallingford, 1845, and was 
buried in Waterbury ; he was a soldier in 
the Revolution ; he married Ruby Smith. 
Their son. Alfred Piatt, was born in New- 
town. April 2, 1789, died December 29, 
1872 ; he was one of the earliest members 



of the firm known as A. Benedict, after- 
ward the Benedict & Burnham Manufac- 
turing Company, and he was the first to 
manufacture brass and copper wire in 
Waterbury; he married, June 8, 1814. 
Irene Blackman, daughter of Nimrod 
Blackman, of Brookfield, Connecticut. 
Their son. Clark Murray Piatt, was born 
at Waterbury, January i, 1824, died De- 
cember 20. 1900; he devoted his attention 
to the manufacture of buttons, etc., in the 
firm of Piatt Brothers & Company, and he 
invented many useful and valuable de- 
vices and machines used in the manufac- 
ture of buttons ; he married, May 20, 1849. 
Amelia Maria Lewis, daughter of Sel- 
den Lewis, of Naugatuck, Connecticut. 
Among their children was Bertha Louise, 
mother of Mrs. Charles Engelke. Chil- 
dren of Dr. and Mrs. Engelke: Christine, 
born December i, 1914; Jean, born July 
II, 1916. 



HAVILAND, William Thorn, 

Lavryer, Clerk of Superior Conrt. 

With Isaac Haviland, son of Jacob and 
Amy (Gilbert) Haviland, the Bridgeport 
history of this branch of the family be- 
gins, William Thorn Haviland, clerk of 
the Superior Court of Fairfield county, 
being a prominent twentieth century rep- 
resentative of the family, son of Isaac 
Haviland, and grandson of Jacob Havi- 
land. Isaac Haviland, born October 20, 
1820, spent the greater part of his life in 
Fairfield county. Connecticut, although 
for several years he was engaged in busi- 
ness in New York City as a manufacturer 
of tobacco. In 1866 he retired to a com- 
fortable home in Bridgeport, Connecticut, 
where he ended his useful life at a well 
advanced age. He married Mary Augusta 
Thorn, born May 20, 1831, died January 
8, 1881, daughter of Walker W. and Em- 
meline (Fanton) Thorn. Mr. and Mrs. 
103 



EX'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Isaac Haviland were the parents of three 
sons: Isaac F., William Thorn, of fur- 
ther mention, and Ernest Clififord Havi- 
land. 

William Thorn Haviland, second son of 
Isaac and Mary Augusta (Thorn) Havi- 
land, was born at Ridgefield, Fairfield 
county, Connecticut, March 29, 1856, but 
in boyhood his parents moved to Brook- 
lyn, New York, where his education be- 
gan. Later they returned to Connecticut, 
purchased a fine farm in the Pembroke 
district of the town of Danbury, Fairfield 
county, their residence until 1868, when 
the family moved to Bridgeport where 
William T. Haviland completed his 
studies. Mr. Haviland graduated from 
Yale College in 1880, and at the Yale Law 
School in 1882. He was admitted to the 
bar at New Haven, June 28, 1882, and 
practiced at Bridgeport. He was asso- 
ciated with Goodwin Stoddatd and Wil- 
liam D. Bishop, Jr., until May 11, 1891, 
when he was appointed clerk of the Court 
of Common Pleas of Fairfield county, and 
assistant clerk of the Superior Court in 
said county, and in June, igo8, he was 
appointed clerk of the Superior Court, 
which position he still holds. 

Mr. Haviland married Mrs. Pauline 
Swords Stevenson, of South Xorwalk, 
June 4, 1902. Children : Tallmadge 
Downs, born June 14, 1903, died August 
26, 1913; Paul, born September 6, 1905; 
Louise, born March 17, 1907. 



MORGAN, William D., M. A., M. D., 

Physician. 

William D. Morgan, M. A., M. D., 
highly regarded physician of Hartford, 
Connecticut, graduate of the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons (which is the 
medical department of Columbia Univer- 
sity) and a medical scientist who in the 
early years of his professional efTort 



undertook much research in European 
universities and centres of medicine, to 
the subsequent material benefit of those 
who became his patients, is in direct lineal 
descent from one of the old Colonial fam- 
ilies of Connecticut, the family having 
been prominent in the community of New 
London, Connecticut, almost from its 
earliest days of settlement. 

Celtic in origin, the name Morgan, Mor- 
ganwg, Ap Morgan, and various other 
variations of the root, is frequently en- 
countered in British history, of early 
times especially. In the principality of 
Wales, to which part a considerable por- 
tion of the Britons retired before the in- 
roads of the Saxons and Anglos, the name 
holds honored place. The derivation has 
not been conclusively determined, but 
Dixon, an English authority on surnames, 
says that it signifies "by sea, or by the 
sea." This, to an extent, is substantiated 
by the allied Scotch (also Celtic) words 
"ceann mor," meaning "big head,'' or, 
perhaps, "big headland." Another feas- 
ible derivation is from the Welsh "more 
can," which, translated, is "sea burn," and 
therefore essentially ranges with the 
former interpretation, "by the sea." At 
the time of the Norman Conquest (1066), 
the Morgan family, or clan, was appar- 
ently great in numbers, as the name ap- 
pears prominently in the Domesday 
Book, and in the Battle Abbey Roll. 
Records trace the name to very early 
Welsh history, several sovereign princes 
and other potentates of the Morgan pa- 
tronymic appearing in the archives of so 
far back as A. D. 300 or 400. Of this line 
of princes was Morgan, or Ap Morgan, of 
Gla Morgan, through instrumentality 
trial by jury was established, as the prac- 
ticed procedure of the dominion, he under- 
standing it as "the apostolic law," which 
demanded that "as Christ and the twelve 
apostles will finally judge the world, so 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



therefore should human tribunals be com- 
posed of the king and twelve wise men." 

The progenitor of the American 
branches of the Morgan family, which 
now reach into every State of the Union, 
was James Morgan, who was born in 
Wales in 1607. The exact locality of his 
nativity cannot be stated with authentic 
assurance, but has been stated to have 
probably been the city of Llandafif, Gla- 
morganshire. Since the coming of the 
Normans, Cardiff, or Caerdydd, has been 
the principal governmental centre of 
South Wales, but the importance of 
LlandafT (which adjoins Cardiff and now 
is one of the smallest cities of Britain) 
to the native Welsh, or Britons, arose 
from its holy associations. It is claimed 
for Llandafif that within its confines was 
established, in the fourth century, the 
first Christian church organized in Great 
Britain, and that to it St. Augustine once 
came. And among the Lord Bishops of 
Llandaff, the name Morgan appears. In 
further support of the presumption that 
James Morgan was born in Llandaff, is 
that one of the early American branches 
of the family held the tradition, corrobo- 
rated by a small volume, the property of 
James Morgan, and dated before 1600, in 
which book was inscribed the name of 
William Morgan, of Llandaff. The con- 
nection of William Morgan with the 
James Morgan family is also authenti- 
cated by some antique gold sleeve-buttons 
stamped "W. M.," which finally came, as 
a family heirloom, into the custody of the 
late James Morgan, and other instru- 
ments state these buttons to have be- 
longed to William Morgan, of Llandaff. 

In 1636 James Morgan, with two 
younger brothers. Miles and Thomas (?), 
left the port of Bristol, England, and in 
April, 1637, reached Boston, Massachu- 
setts. His name does not come into Colo- 
nial records until 1640, when he married 



Margery Hill, of Roxbury, Massachusetts. 
Three years later, he was made a freeman 
in Roxbury, and was a freeholder there 
until 1650, when he removed to what is 
now New London, Connecticut, and 
there was assigned a house-lot, the record 
stating that "James Morgan hath given 
him about six acres of upland." He ac- 
quired land where now is the third burial 
ground, in the western suburbs of the city 
of New London, but sold it in 1656, and 
later took up land on the eastern side of 
the settlement, now the southern part of 
Groton. He was an extensive land- 
owner, "distinguished in public enter- 
prise," and of marked administrative 
ability, his adjudication of civil and ec- 
clesiastical differences and difficulties 
bringing him general esteem. "He was 
a good neighbor, and a Christian in whom 
all appear to have reposed a marked de- 
gree of confidence and trust." He was 
for several years a selectman of New 
London, and was one of the first deputies 
sent to the General Court at Hartford, in 
1657. He was eight times reelected, his 
last term being in 1670. Named by New 
London and accepted by the General 
Court, his decision, as arbitrator, deter- 
mining the controversy between the two 
bodies, regarding the delineation of boun- 
daries and jurisdiction, was deemed "to 
have satisfied all parties." In 1661, he 
was of the committee which, at the behest 
of the General Court, surveyed and de- 
lineated the true boundaries of New Lon- 
don, "on the east side of the Great River." 
He died in 1685, aged seventy-eight years. 
His son, Captain John Morgan, who 
was born March 30, 1645, married, for his 
second wife, Elizabeth Williams, a widow, 
daughter of Lieutenant-Governor William 
Jones, and granddaughter of Governor 
Theophilus Eaton. About 1692 he re- 
moved to Preston, and died in 1712. He 
took prominent part in public affairs ; was 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Indian commissioner and adviser, deputy 
to the General Court in 1690 from New 
London, and in 1693-94 from Preston. 

His son, William Morgan, was born in 
1693 ; married, July 3, 1716, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Captain James Avery, Jr., of Gro- 
ton ; died October, 1729. His widow's de- 
mise did not, however, occur until 1780, 
fifty-one years after his death. 

Their son, William Morgan, was born 
June 17, 1723; married, July 4, 1744, 
Temperance, daughter of Colonel Chris- 
topher Avery, of Groton. Captain Wil- 
liam Morgan resided in Groton, and there 
died April 11, 1777. His widow survived 
him until October 7, 1801. 

Their son. Captain William Avery 
Morgan, was born November 24, 1754. 
He married (first) Lydia, daughter of 
Nathan Smith, of Groton, May 4, 1776. 
She died January 4, 1804. He settled 
first in Groton, but later removed to Col- 
chester (now Salem), where he resided 
from 1796 until March, 1814, then taking 
up his residence in Lebanon, Connecticut, 
where he died on March 22, 1842. He 
held the military rank of sergeant during 
the Revolutionary W'ar, and was present 
at the battle of Bunker Hill. He is re- 
puted to have been a man "of good 
natural ability and of some reading." 

His son by his first wife, Denison 
Morgan, was born October 29, 1790; mar- 
ried, October 10, 1815, Ursula, daughter 
of John Brainard, of Haddam ; died in 
1854. He was a successful wholesale 
merchant of Hartford, and was a con- 
scientious church worker. Mrs. Ursula 
(Brainard) Morgan was born May 22, 
1793, and died July 13, 1866. 

Their son, Henry Kirke Morgan, was 
born December 15, 1819. His primary 
education was obtained in the public 
schools of Hartford, from which he 
graduated to a boarding school in Ell- 
ington, and later he entered his father's 



business as a member of the firm, which 
was known as D. Morgan & Company, 
wholesale grocers, of No. 35 State street, 
Hartford. After his father's demise in 
1854, he continued in business until i860, 
when he retired, handing over the direc- 
tion of the business to his associate, S. G. 
Farnham. Henry Kirke Morgan sought 
not political office, but was much inter- 
ested in public affairs, and undertook 
some public offices. He was on the Board 
of Relief for many years, and was first 
lieutenant of the Governor's Foot Guard. 
He passed away on March 5, 191 1, his 
remains being interred in Spring Grove 
Cemetery, Hartford, Connecticut. 

On April 14, 1846, he married Emily 
AI., daughter of George Brinley, of Hart- 
ford. George Brinley was a native of 
Boston, in which city his daughter, the 
mother of Dr. William D. Morgan, was 
born, and in that city his business was 
that of glass manufacturer. Succeeding 
well, he retired in middle life, spending 
his leisure years in Hartford, where he 
died. His wife was Catherine, daughter 
of Colonel Putnam, and granddaughter 
of Israel Putnam. To Henry Kirke and 
Emily M. (Brinley) Morgan were born 
the following children : George Brinley, 
a doctor of divinity, deceased : William 
D., of whom further; Henry K., now of 
Morristown, New York; Edward B., who 
died in February, 1874; Emily M., of 
Brooklyn, Connecticut. 

William D. Morgan, son of Henry 
Kirke and Emily M. (Brinley) Morgan, 
was born in Hartford, Connecticut, No- 
vember 20, 1850. Educated at the Hart- 
ford public schools, and at Hopkins 
Grammar School, New Haven, he subse- 
quently entered the Episcopal Academy 
in Cheshire, in which collegiate institu- 
tion he remained for more than three 
years, and supplemented his extensive 
classical knowledge by instruction from 



106 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



private tutors, but when he applied, well 
qualified in knowledge, for admittance to 
Trinity College, he was not allowed to 
matriculate, being about one year younger 
than the minimum fixed by the college as 
requisite for entrance. Consequently, his 
parents sent him to St. Paul's School, 
Concord, New Hampshire. There ill- 
health pursued him, and he was forced to 
temporarily relinquish his studies, and on 
the advice of the family physician was 
sent to join his uncle, George D. Morgan, 
who was at that time travelling in Europe, 
with his family. William D. Morgan 
joined his relatives in London, and their 
travels took them through France, Swit- 
zerland, Italy, Egypt, to Palestine; thence 
to Beirut, Isle of Rhodes, Smyrna, Con- 
stantinople, Palermo, Naples and various 
cities of Italy back to Paris and London, 
returning home by the packet, "American 
Congress." 

With regained strength, he then re- 
sumed his studies, entering Trinity Col- 
lege, from which he graduated in 1872, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, sub- 
sequently gaining the major degree. De- 
termined to enter medicine, he, after 
gaining his minor letters, registered as a 
student with Dr. Sands, of New York 
City, and concurrently attended the lec- 
tures at the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, graduating as Doctor of Medi- 
cine with the class of 1876. During his 
studentship, however, he made another 
trip to Europe, in 1874, accompanying 
his father, who was ill. After becoming 
entitled to enter practice, he wisely deter- 
mined to first obtain considerable prac- 
tical knowledge, and for that purpose 
passed a year of keen observation i 
various New York City clinics, after 
which he received, by competitive exam- 
ination, appointment to the house staff 
of New Haven Hospital. One year later 
he went to Germany, for post-graduate 



research, taking a year's course at the 
University of Leipzig, where he devoted 
himself to special research work in dis- 
eases of the ear. Returning to America, 
and to his native town, Hartford, Con- 
necticut, in 1878, he decided to there 
enter general practice, where he has since 
almost continuously practiced, internal 
medicine occupying him mainly. 

He has held many appointments; in 
1888 he became medical examiner for the 
Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany ; in 1893 was appointed associate 
medical director; on January i, 1896, he 
became medical director ; for about ten 
years he held the position of trustee for 
Hartford county, of the Connecticut Hos- 
pital for the Insane, Middletown ; has 
been chairman of the executive committee 
of the Hartford Hospital, and has been a 
member of the board of trustees for many 
years ; he is a member of the City, County 
and State Medical societies, the American 
Medical Association, the Medical Direc- 
tors' Association, and for many years was 
a physician of the Orphan Asylum and 
Church Home. His appointments and so- 
ciety memberships indicate his profes- 
sional standing adequately, and his social 
connections may be inferred by the read- 
ing of the list of social clubs, etc., to 
which he belongs. They are : Hartford 
Club, Hartford Golf Club, Country Club 
of Farmington, Union League Club of 
New York City, Hatchett's Reef Club and 
Iota Kappa Alpha. 

Dr. Morgan married Gabriella, daugh- 
ter of Theodore Sengstak, of Washing- 
ton, D. C, and to them has been born a 
daughter, Gabriella, July 28, 1914. 



HINMAN, George Elijah, 

Journalist, Ijaxryer. 

Few of the old New England families 
can claim, an earlier advent or a longer 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



term of residence in this country than that 
of Hinman, which was founded here, 
probably about 1649, '^ut possibly even 
earlier, by Sergeant Edward Hinman, the 
first immigrant of that name in the coun- 
try. The family was already prominent 
in England, where it was entitled to the 
following coat-of-arms : Vert on a chev- 
ron or, three roses gules, slipped and 
leaved of the first ; crest, on a mount a 
wivern proper ducally gorged and lined 
or. 

There is a tradition, which originated 
with Sergeant Edward Hinman himself, 
that he, the founder of the family in Amer- 
ica, had been a member of the bodyguard of 
King Charles I. of England, and that he 
had held the office of sergeant-at-arms 
therein ; that after the deposition of his 
royal master and the coming into power 
of the Parliamentary forces under Oliver 
Cromwell, he fled from his native land to 
escape the vengeance which was meted out 
against royalist sjmpathizers and sought 
a haven in the new world. If this tradi- 
tion is true, and there is no reason to 
doubt it, it is quite ample proof that Ser- 
geant Edward Hinman was a man of dis- 
tinction and position in England before 
his migration here, for only men of this 
quality were admitted to the king's life- 
guard, to which position also the most 
assured loyalty was necessary. Upon his 
arrival in America, Edward Hinman ap- 
pears to have gone directly to Stratford, 
where he is recorded to have received 
land about 1650. Unfortunately the early 
records of Stratford, covering the first ten 
years of its existence as a community, 
were destroyed by fire in 1649, so that 
there is no way of knowing definitely 
whether he had settled there before this 
date. It is recorded in the early records 
that his house stood on the west side of 
Main street, Stratford, not far from the 
old Episcopal church, an edifice which, 



on account of its dignity and the simpli- 
city of its design, has been held up as a 
type of the best Colonial architecture. 
Sergeant Edward Hinman was also the 
recipient of other grants of land and be- 
cam,e in course of time the owner of an 
extensive tract in and about Stratford. 
Here he carried on the occupation of 
farming and milling and was indeed the 
first owner of the old Tide Mill, between 
Stratford and the site of what is now 
Bridgeport. In the year 1681 he sold his 
homestead at Stratford to Richard Bryan, 
of Milford, and evidently planned to re- 
move to Woodbury, as he drew a will 
about this time in which he speaks of 
himself as of that place. It appears, 
however, that his death must have oc- 
curred before he was able to make the 
move contemplated as it is not recorded 
at Woodbury and is at Stratford, and his 
will was proved in Fairfield. His death 
occurred November 26, 1681. Sergeant 
Edward Hinman was a man of parts, very 
intelligent and essentially loyal, pos- 
sessed of all the essential qualities of the 
best soldier, a trait which has been in- 
herited from him by many of his descend- 
ants. 

Sergeant Edward Hinman married 
Hannah Stiles, a daughter of Francis and 
Sarah Stiles, of Windsor, Connecticut, 
and they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children : Sarah, born September 10, 
1653, who became the wife of William 
Roberts, of Stratford ; Titus, born June, 
1635, and resided in Woodbury; Samuel, 
born in 1658, also of Woodbury; Benja- 
min, born February, 1662-63, of Wood- 
bury: Hannah, born July 15, 1666; Mary, 
born 1668 ; Patience, born in 1670, married 
John Burroughs, January 10, 1694 ; and 
Edward, Jr., mentioned below. 

Edward (2) Hinman, son of Sergeant 
Edward (i) Hinman, was born at Strat- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1672. According to 



108 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a provision in his father's will, he was 
apprenticed to one Jehial Preston, and 
was brought up to a trade by that gentle- 
man, remaining with him until he had 
attained his majority. At that time he 
drew an allotment of eighteen acres at 
Woodbury, but it seems improbable that 
he ever lived there and it is quite certain 
that most of his life was spent at Strat- 
ford, where his children were born, and 
his death occurred, and where some of his 
descendants are living at the present day. 
Others of his descendants have, in the 
intervening time, wandered far and wide 
and are now found all over the United 
States. Edward Hinman, Jr., was mar- 
ried to Hannah Jennings, a daughter of 
Joshua, Jr. and Mary (Lyon) Jennings. 
They were the parents of twelve children, 
as follows : Jonah or Jonas, born No- 
vember 5, 1700, settled at Newark, New 
Jersey ; Hannah, born March 3, 1702 ; 
Zachariah, born January 27, 1704; Samuel, 
mentioned below; Justus, born December 
28, 1707; Ebenezer, born August 16, 1709, 
died in infancy ; Sarah, born October, 
171 1 ; John, born November, 1713 ; Rachel, 
born December 4, 1715; Ebenezer, born 
August 16, 1717; Amos, born October 18, 
1720; and Charity, born June 6, 1723. 

Samuel Hinman, better known as Cap- 
tain Samuel Hinman, son of Edward (2) 
Hinman, was born in Stratford, Connec- 
ticut, in the year 1705. He was by pro- 
fession a surveyor, and removed while a 
young man to Litchfield, Connecticut, and 
there became one of the first proprietors 
of Goshen. He served this community in 
a number of dififerent capacities, and was 
one of the proprietors there who was 
commissioned for laying out most of the 
early divisions of land. He surveyed a 
large part of the surrounding country, and 
we have an interesting document in his 
first bill for service as a surveyor to the 
community, which is dated December 7, 



1738. Captain Samuel Hinman was sev- 
enty years of age at the outbreak of the 
Revolution, yet he enlisted and served as 
a soldier in the Continental army during 
that momentous struggle. His death oc- 
curred at Goshen, in the year 1784. We 
are not acquainted with the name of the 
wife of Captain Samuel Hinman, but we 
have records of their ten children, who 
were as follows : Lois, who became the 

wife of Norton ; Sarah, born July 

5, 1731 ; Wilkinson, born June 8, 1733; 
Samuel and Mary, twins, born July 26, 
1736; Joseph, mentioned below; Phineas, 
born March 21, 1740; Ascher, born March 
13, 1742; Lewis, and Wait, born in 1748, 
married Mary Howe. 

Joseph Hinman, son of Samuel Hin- 
man, was born March 7, 1738, at Goshen, 
Connecticut, but eventually removed to 
Canaan, that State. Not a great deal is 
known regarding his career, but it was in 
the latter place of abode that his children 
were born. 

Samuel (2) Hinman, son of Joseph 
Hinman, was born at Canaan, Connecti- 
cut, and made that place his home during 
his entire life. He appears to have been 
very active in the community, and played 
a considerable part in the life thereof. 

Henry L. Hinman, son of Samuel (2) 
Hinman, was born April 24, 1817, at 
Canaan, Connecticut. Early in life he be- 
came associated with the marble indus- 
try in that region. He spent about a year 
in California, in 1851 and 1852, but re- 
turned to the East and continued to en- 
gage in the marble business, devoting 
most of his time and energy to taking 
charge of the great marble quarries at 
Canaan, Connecticut, and Sheffield, Mas- 
sachusetts. Henry L. Hinman married 
Nancy A. Loomis, a native of Sheffield, 
Massachusetts, born July 27, 1823. She 
was a daughter of Phileder Loomis, who 
was born at Egremont, Massachusetts, 

09 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and a granddaughter of Andrew Loomis, 
a native of the same place. Phileder 
Loomis married Eunice Boardman, a na- 
tive of Shefifield, born June 26, 1802, and 
died May 10, 1880. Eunice (Boardman) 
Loomis was a daughter of Charles and 
Ruth (Noble) Boardman, her father hav- 
ing been born at Sheffield, May 22, 1770, 
removed to Indiana in 1830, and died 
there December 4, 1851, and her mother, 
born December 7, 1777, and died in Shef- 
field, May 28, 1862. Nancy A. (Loomis) 
Hinman survived her husband many 
years ; his death occurred September 25, 
1867, while she lived until September 12, 
1910. 

William C. Hinman, son of Henry L. 
Hinman, was born at Sheffield, Massachu- 
setts, November 10, 1846. He was edu- 
cated at the "Little Red School House" 
of his time. Upon completing his studies 
there, he removed from Sheffield to Al- 
ford in 1866, where he engaged in the 
occupation of farming and continued con- 
sistently thereat until the year 1889. In 
the latter year he removed to Great Bar- 
rington, where he now resides. William 
C. Hinman has been very prominent in 
the life of the community, and has held 
a number of local offices. He was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Great Barrington 
on October i, 1892, and served continu- 
ously until February i, 1914. He married 
Mary A. Gates, a native of Louisa, Vir- 
ginia, born January 28, 1846. She is a 
daughter of Elijah M. Gates, of New Leb- 
anon, New York, where he was born De- 
cember 4, 1817, and died October 8, 1887, 
at Alford. He was in turn a son of Eli- 
jah Gates, Sr., and a grandson of Ezra 
Gates, who was born near Norwich, Con- 
necticut. Ezra Gates was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary arm}-, and in early life he 
and his young wife went on horseback 
from Connecticut to Deerfield, Massachu- 
setts, and thence over the now famous 



"Mohawk Trail" to New Lebanon, New 
York, where they established a home and 
spent their lives. Elijah M. Gates, Jr., 
the grandfather of George E. Hinman, 
removed the year following his marriage 
to Louisa, Virginia, where he spent 
eighteen years. He returned to Alford 
in 1859, where he purchased the farm 
upon which his wife had been born and 
spent the remainder of his life there. Wil- 
liam C. Hinman was, during the first 
three years of his residence at Great Bar- 
rington, prominently associated with the 
"Berkshire Courier," and for a time was 
its editor. He has been a prominent Re- 
publican in the district and has served 
several years on the board of selectmen. 
George Elijah Hinman, only son of 
William C. and Mary A. (Gates) Hin- 
man, was born May 7, 1870, at Alford, 
Massachusetts. He attended the district 
school in Alford, and was graduated from 
the Great Barrington High School with 
the class of 1888. He then began work 
for the "Berkshire Courier," remaining 
for about three years, and in September, 
1891, removed to Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, where he became connected with the 
"Middletown Herald." In October of the 
same year he came to Willimantic, where 
he has ever since resided, and there en- 
gaged as editor of the "Willimantic Her- 
ald." About one year later he became 
editor of the "Willimantic Journal," in 
which position he served with success for 
three years. In December, 1895, having 
determined to take up the law as his 
career in life, he entered the law office of 
William A. King, one of the prominent 
members of the Willimantic bar, and who 
suljsequently became attorney-general of 
the State of Connecticut. Under his able 
preceptorship and later in Yale Law 
School, Mr. Hinman obtained his legal 
education. He was admitted to the Con- 
necticut bar in March, 1899, and engaged 



110 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the general practice of his profession 
at Willimantic. In the same year he be- 
came assistant clerk of the Connecticut 
House of Representatives, and two years 
later was made clerk of the House. In 
igo2 he was appointed assistant clerk of 
the Constitutional Convention, in 1903 
became clerk of the Connecticut State 
Senate, was clerk of bills in 1905 and 
1907, engrossing clerk in 1909, and clerk 
of bills in 191 1. In politics he has always 
been a consistent and active Republican, 
was elected secretary of the Republican 
State Central Committee in 1902 and 
served continuously and efficiently in 
that capacity until 1914, in November of 
which year he was elected attorney-gen- 
eral of the State of Connecticut for a 
term of four years, expiring in January, 
1919. 

Mr. Hinman has also been active and 
prominent in the life of the community 
in which he resides. He was for several 
years a member and secretary of the town 
school committee, and served as a mem- 
ber of the Common Council. He was also, 
from January, 1903, until January, 1915, 
county health officer for Windham coun- 
ty. He is a member and former presi- 
dent of the Willimantic Chamber of Com- 
merce, a director of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, and a member of 
the State Bar Association. He is a mem- 
ber of Cincinnatus Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Great Barrington ; 
Trinity Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Olive Branch Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; and St. John's Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Willimantic, and an 
officer of the Grand Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Connecticut, also a 
member of Sphinx Temple, Ancient Ara- 
bic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
and the Consistory of Norwich, Scottish 
Rite Masons. He is also a member of 
Natchaug Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of 
Willimantic. 



On September 26, 1899, Mr. Hinman 
was united in marriage with Nettie P. 
Williams, a native of Pomfret, who later 
resided at Willimantic, a daughter of 
Ralph J. Williams, of the latter place. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Hinman two children have 
been born : Russell William, January 30, 
1907, and Virginia Gates, August 23, 1909. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hinman are members of the 
First Congregational Church of Willi- 
mantic ; Mr. Hinman has served as a su- 
perintendent of the Sunday school and 
president of the Church Brotherhood, and 
Mrs. Hinman is a member of various 
women's organizations connected with 
the church, and of the Willimantic 
Woman's Club. 



SMITH, Guilford, 

Financier, Public Official. 

The branch of the Smith family, repre- 
sented in the present generation by Guil- 
ford Smith, a leading citizen of South 
Windham, traces to Jacob Smith, of Had- 
dam and Colchester, Connecticut, who 
was a resident of the latter town at the 
time of his death, and his remains were 
interred in a cemetery there. It is sup- 
posed that he w^as an organ builder by 
trade. He married, and was the father 
of three sons : Simon ; Frederick ; and 
Joshua, mentioned below. 

Joshua Smith, son of Jacob Smith, was 
born in Lebanon, Connecticut, near the 
Windham line, and became a resident of 
the latter town in early manhood. He 
was a weaver by trade, and also a farmer. 
During the War of 1812 he made cloth 
for soldiers' uniforms. In 1818 he was a 
representative from Windham in the Gen- 
eral Assembly. He married (first) Laura 
Allen, daughter of Amos and Anna (Bab- 
cock) Allen. He married (second) Anna 
Barodell Allen, sister of his first wife. 
The Allen lineage is traced to William 
Allen, of Salem, Massachusetts, who died 

u 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in i665. Amos Allen was the son of Amos 
and Anna (Dennison) Allen, both of 
whom died in 1770. He served three 
years as a corporal in the Revolution, and 
died in 1778. His mother, Anna (Denni- 
son) Allen, was a direct descendant of 
Colonel George Dennison, who served in 
Cromwell's army, and was afterwards a 
noted Indian fighter in Stonington. Colo- 
nel Dennison's second wife was Anna, 
daughter of John Barodell, who nursed 
him back to health after he had been 
severely wounded in the battle of Naseby. 
Child of the first wife of Joshua Smith : 
Myra, became the wife of Colonel George 
SpafJord ; children : Marvin, Charles, 
Laura, Lora, died in youth. Children of 
second wife : Mary, became the wife of 
Alfred Kinne, child, Alfred, who settled 
in Spafifordville, now South Windham ; 
Emily, became the wife of Harvey Win- 
chester, children : Arthur S., Edgar C., 
both now in the Smith & Winchester 
Company, of South Windham ; Charles, 
mentioned below ; Lydia, died unmarried, 
at the age of eighty ; Chandler, married 
Jane Robinson, child, George, resided in 
South Windham. 

Charles Smith, son of Joshua Smith, 
was born in South Windham, Connecti- 
cut, September 14, 1807, and died April 
6, 1896. He received his education in the 
district school in South Windham. At 
the age of thirteen he was left an orphan, 
and for the following three years lived 
with his uncle, Frederick Smith, of Col- 
chester, who was an expert mathema- 
tician and became his instructor. He 
learned the trades of wheelwright and 
millwright in Windham with George 
Spafford, and in 1835 was placed in charge 
of a force of men employed at Stafford in 
building a machine for making paper. 
This was the duplicate of a machine im- 
ported for papermaking and set up at 
North Windham, and was built by Mr. 



Spafford and Mr. James Phelps. The 
machine proved a success and was sold to 
Amos Hubbard, of Norwich. Phelps & 
Spafford then established a factory at 
South Windham, and retained Mr. Smith 
as superintendent. The panic of 1837 
crippled the owners, and the business was 
purchased by Mr. Smith and Hervey 
Winchester, and continued under the 
name of Smith, Winchester & Company 
until the death of Air. Smith. Since that 
time it has been operated by the incor- 
porated concern known as the Smith & 
Winchester Manufacturing Company. Mr. 
Smith was always a very active and ener- 
getic business man, and continued in per- 
sonal charge of his affairs and the works 
until a few years before his death. He 
was then succeeded by his son, Guilford 
Smith. He was a leading citizen in every 
way, and was universally respected for his 
industry, sound judgment and upright 
character. Upon the formation of the 
Republican party he became one of its 
members, and continued so throughout 
his life. He served as first selectman of 
the town, represented it in the General 
Assembly, and was always ready to ful- 
fill every duty of a patriotic citizen. He 
was one of the incorporators of the Wind- 
ham National Bank, and continued to be 
a director until his death. He attended 
the Episcopal church at Windham Centre. 
He married, November 3, 1835, at North 
Windham, Marietta Abbe, born August 
14, 1816, died April 10, 1901. Children: 
Guilford, born May 12, 1839, mentioned 
below ; Mary, became the wife of P. H. 
Woodward, of Hartford, child, Helen, be- 
came the wife of the Rev. Stephen Henry 
Cranberry, rector of St. Barnabas' Epis- 
copal Church, Newark, New Jersey, and 
had children: Helen and Mary Emeline. 
Guilford Smith, son of Charles and 
Marietta (Abbe) Smith, was born May 
12, 1839, in South Windham, Connecticut. 



112 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He received his education in the public 
schools of his native town and in Hall's 
School at Ellington, Connecticut. At the 
age of nineteen he entered the of¥ice of 
Smith, Winchester & Company as a clerk, 
and passed through all the departments. 
Upon the death of his father he succeeded 
to his position as treasurer and secretary 
of Smith, Winchester & Company, and 
has always manifested good business abil- 
ity. He is president of the present cor- 
poration, the Smith & Winchester Manu- 
facturing Company. He is also president 
of the Windham National Bank of Willi- 
mantic, and has been since 1900, and the 
successor of his wife's father as director 
of the New London & Northern railway. 
He is a leading citizen of South Wind- 
ham, is active in civil and church affairs, 
and represented his town in the General 
Assembly in 1883, 1907-11, in addition to 
filling various local offices. Both he and 
his wife are members of the Ecclesiastical 
Society of the Congregational Church of 
South Windham, and have contributed 
largely to the support of the church. 

Mr. Smith married, December 16, 1863, 
Mary Ramsdell, born September 5, 1837, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary Elizabeth 
(Lathrop) Ramsdell, granddaughter of 
Isaiah and Clarissa (Collins) Ramsdell, 
and great-granddaughter of Abijah Rams- 
dell, of Salem, Massachusetts. Thomas 
Ramsdell was an active business man, 
president of the Windham National Bank, 
director of several enterprises, and died 
at the great age of ninety-one years. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ramsdell were the parents of 
two daughters : Anna, born May 18, 1834, 
became the wife of Richard Goodwin 
Watrous, and Mary, aforementioned as 
the wife of Mr. Smith. Mary Elizabeth 
(Lathrop) Ramsdell was the daughter of 
John and Sybil (Backus) Lathrop. John 
Lathrop was the son of the Rev. Benja- 

Conn— 3-« I 



min Lathrop, a Baptist minister, who 
located early in Windham and was noted 
for his kindness and charity. He pur- 
chased the house erected by John Gates, 
the first settler of Windham, and resided 
in it for many years. He was a descend- 
ant of John Lathrop, who was the second 
pastor of the first Congregational church 
in England, and was imprisoned for seced- 
ing from the Established Church. The 
church edifice in which he and his fol- 
lowers worshipped is still standing in Low- 
throppe, county of Kent, England. He 
came to New England in 1634, and was 
the first minister of Scituate, Massachu- 
setts. He was the common ancestor of all 
of the name in this country, and among 
his descendants are many noted clergy- 
men of New England. Sybil (Backus) 
Lathrop was the daughter of John and 
Sybil (Whiting) Backus. John Backus 
was the son of John Backus, who with his 
brother William was among the first six- 
teen settlers of Windham, coming from 
Norwich. John Backus, Jr., was a brother 
of Mary Backus, through whom Mrs. 
Guilford Smith traces her ancestry to 
Governor Bradford. Mary Backus mar- 
ried, December, 1712, Joshua Ripley, born 
May 13, 1688, in Windham, son of Joshua 
and Hannah (Bradford) Ripley, of Wind- 
ham, and the latter named was the daugh- 
ter of William Bradford, second deputy 
governor, who was a son of Governor 
William Bradford. Sybil (Whiting) 
Backus was the daughter of the Rev. 
Samuel Whiting, first pastor at Wind- 
ham, and a son of the Rev. John Whit- 
ing, a pastor of the first church at Hart- 
ford. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Smith are members 
of the Society of Mayflower Descendants, 
and the latter is identified with the 
Daughters of Colonial Governors and 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CHASE, Charles Edward, 

ActiTe Factor in Insurance Circles. 

The Chase family, of which Charles 
Edward Chase, chairman of the board of 
directors of the Hartford Fire Insurance 
Company, and a prominent public offi- 
cial, is a worthy representative, is of Eng- 
lish origin, being among the ancient and 
highly honored families of England, the 
name being derived undoubtedly from 
the French word, Chasser, to hunt. They 
are one of the families entitled to bear a 
coat-of-arms, described as follows: Gules 
four crosses patence argent (two and 
two), on a canton azure a lion rampant or. 

(I) Thomas Chase, a resident of Ches- 
ham, Buckinghamshire, England, the an- 
cestral seat of the family from which de- 
scends the line herein followed, was active 
in community afifairs, married and among 
his children was a son, John, through 
whom the descent is traced. 

(II) John Chase, son of Thomas Chase, 
was also a resident of Chesham, there 
spent his entire active career, married and 
among his children was a son, Matthew, 
of whom further. 

(III) Matthew Chase, son of John 
Chase, also spent his life in Chesham, 
honored and respected by his fellow-citi- 
zens. He married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Richard Bould, and they were the par- 
ents of eight children, as follows: Rich- 
ard, married Mary Roberts; Francis, 
John, Matthew, Thomas, of whom fur- 
ther; Ralph, William, Bridget. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Chase, fifth son of 
Matthew and Elizabeth (Bould) Chase, 
was of Hundrich, in Parish Chesham. 
where his active and useful life was spent. 
He married and was the father of five chil- 
dren, born at Hundrich : John, baptized 
November 30, 1540; Richard, of whom 
further; Agnes, baptized January 9, 1551 ; 
William ; Christian. 

(V) Richard Chase, second son of 



Thomas (2) Chase, was born in Hundrich, 
Parish Chesham, England, and baptized 
there, August 3, 1542. He was one of the 
prominent men of that community, active 
and public-spirited, performing well the 
duties that fell to his lot. He married, 
April 16, 1564, Joan Bishop, who bore 
him nine children, born at Hundrich, bap- 
tismal dates given : Robert, September 2, 
1565 ; Henry, August 10, 1567; Lydia, Oc- 
tober 4, 1573 ; Ezekiel, April 2, 1575 ; Dor- 
cas, March 2, 1578; Aquila, of whom fur- 
ther; Jason, January 13, 1585; Thomas, 
July 18, 1586; Abigail. January 12, 1588; 
Mordecai, July 31, 1591. 

(VI) Aquila Chase, fourth son of Rich- 
ard and Joan (Bishop) Chase, was born at 
Hundrich, Parish Chesham, England, and 
baptized there. August 14. 1580. He was 
prominent in community affairs, and 
was highly regarded by all with whom 
he was brought in contact. He married 
and was the father of two children : 
Thomas ; Aquila, of further mention. 

(VII) Aquila (2) Chase, youngest son 
of Aquila (i ) Chase, was a native of Eng- 
land, born in 1618, and died in Newbury, 
Massachusetts, December 27, 1670. He 
was the emigrant ancestor of the family, 
but the date of his coming to the New 
World is not here recorded ; he was a 
resident of Hampton, New Hampshire, 
in 1640, from whence he removed to New- 
bury, Massachusetts, in 1646, where he 
was granted four acres for a house lot, 
and six acres of marsh on condition that 
he go to sea and do service in the town 
with a boat for four years. He was a 
mariner, and shipmaster, and the supposi- 
tion is that he was employed by his uncle 
or brother, Thomas Chase, who in 1626 
was part owner of the ship, "John and 
Francis." He married Anne, daughter of 
John Wheeler, and she bore him nine 
children, as follows : Sarah, became the 
wife of Charles Annis; Anna, born July 
6, 1647; Priscilla, March 14, 1649; Mary, 

14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February 3, 165 1 ; Thomas, July 25, 1654; 
John, November 2, 1655 ; Elizabeth, Sep- 
tember 13, 1657; Ruth, March 18, 1660; 
Daniel, December 9, 1661 ; Moses, of 
whom further. After the death of her 
husband, Mrs. Chase married (second) 
June 14, 1672, Daniel Mussiloway. Her 
death occurred in May, 1688. 

(VIII) Moses Chase, youngest son of 
Aquila (2) and Anne (Wheeler) Chase, 
was born in Newbury, Massachusetts, 
December 24, 1663. He was a man of 
thrift and enterprise, and provided well 
for the necessities of his family. He mar- 
ried (first) November 10, 1684, Ann Fol- 
lansbee, and (second) December 13, 1713, 
Sarah Jacobs. Children, all of first mar- 
riage : Moses, born September 20, 1685, 
died young ; Daniel, twin of Moses, of 
whom further; Moses, January 20, 1688; 
Samuel, May 13, 1690; Elizabeth, Septem- 
ber 25, 1693; Stephen, August 29, 1696; 
Hannah, September 13, 1699; Joseph, 
September 9, 1703 ; Nenoni. 

(IX) Daniel Chase, one of the twin 
sons of Moses and Ann (Follansbee) 
Chase, was born in Newbury, Massachu- 
setts, September 20, 1685, and died May 
28, 1769. Prior to March 26, 1733, he 
removed to Sutton, same State, his corn 
mill being mentioned in the town records 
then, and he is credited with having built 
the first corn mill at Pleasant Falls, and 
was known as "Miller" Chase. His home- 
stead was on the present site of the Sut- 
ton Manufacturing Company property. 
He married Sarah March, whose death 
occurred in December, 1771, aged eighty- 
eight years. Mr. and Mrs. Chase were ad- 
mitted to the church in 1736 by letter 
from the Littleton church, and in 175 1 he 
and his wife were among the Separatists 
from the Sutton church. Children : Sam- 
uel, born September 28, 1707, married 
Mary Dudley ; Daniel, of whom further ; 
Joshua, born November 9, 171 1 ; Ann, No- 



vember 13, 1713, became the wife of David 
Lilley, May 25, 1736; Sarah, April 22, 
1716; Nehemiah, June 27, 1718; Judith, 
September 7, 1720, became the wife of 
Thomas Hall, September 15, 1737; Valeb, 
November 29, 1722, died October 2, 1808; 
Moody, September 3, 1723, married, Jan- 
uary 17, 1749, Elizabeth Hall; Moses, 
March, 1726, married Hannah, daughter 
of Jonas Brown. 

(X) Daniel (2) Chase, second son of 
Daniel (i) and Sarah (March) Chase, was 
born September 18, 1709, in Newbury, 
Massachusetts, and died in Sutton, Massa- 
chusetts, in May, 1799. He accompanied 
his parents to Sutton upon their removal 
thither, and there spent his active and 
useful life. He married (first) Hannah 
Tuttle, of Littleton, Massachusetts, and 
(second) January 24, 1782, Martha 
Fletcher, of Grafton. Children of first 
wife, born at Sutton : Hannah, October 
15, 1733, died December 11, 1733: Paul, 
of whom further ; Hannah, born January 
II, 1737, became the wife of Eliakim Gar- 
field, July 3, 1759; Lucy, January 30, 1739, 
became the wife of Benjamin Garfield, 
November 15, 1764; Anne and Judith, 
twins, May i, 1741, Anne died November 

I. 1745- 

(XI) Paul Chase, eldest son of Daniel 

(2) and Hannah (Tuttle) Chase, was 
born in Sutton, Massachusetts, March 13, 
1735, and died there in 1789. He spent 
his entire lifetime in his native town, and 
was honored and respected in the commu- 
nity. He married, at Sutton, April 17, 
1758, Lucy Richardson, who bore him 
three children, whose births occurred in 
Sutton, namely : Joshua, of whom fur- 
ther ; Thaddeus, born February 10, 1763; 
Lucy, born May 18, 1766, became the 
wife of Daniel Greenwood, Jr. 

(XII) Joshua Chase, eldest son of Paul 
and Lucy (Richardson) Chase, was born 
in Sutton, Massachusetts, November 26, 



115 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1760, and he there spent his entire life- 
time. He married, August 23, 1787, Lydia 
Prentice, a resident of Sutton, and their 
children, born at Sutton, were as follows : 
Nancy, February 15, 1789; Paul Cushing, 
of whom further; Betty, born February 
22, 1792; Hannah Prentice, March 27, 
1795. He died at Sutton, Massachusetts, 
January 6, 1842. 

(XIII) Paul Cushing Chase, only son 
of Joshua and Lydia (Prentice) Chase, 
was born at Sutton, Massachusetts, 
March 6, 1790, and died in Millbury, for- 
merly part of Sutton. In addition to the 
duties of his daily occupation, he was 
chosen by his fellow townsmen to serve 
in the offices of highway surveyor, as- 
sessor and selectman, and he frequently 
served as chairman of the Board of Se- 
lectmen. He married, at Millbury, De- 
cember 9, 1819, Sally, daughter of Aaron 
and Hannah Pierce, and their children, 
born at Millbury, were as follows: Leon- 
ard Pierce, September 5, 1820; George 
Cushing, September 18, 1824, died August 
3, 1827; Lewis Stow, August 6, 1826; 
George Lewis, of whom further ; Daniel 
Moody, July 25, 1832. He died at Mill- 
bury, Massachusetts, June 26, 1871. 

(XIV) George Lewis Chase, fourth of 
the five sons of Paul Cushing and Sally 
(Pierce) Chase, was born in Millbury, 
Massachusetts, January 13, 1828, and 
died in Hartford, Connecticut, January 
7, 1908. He attended the Millbury Acad- 
emy and thus acquired a practical educa- 
tion. His first experience in business life 
was as agent of the Farmers' Mutual Fire 
Insurance Company of Georgetown, Mas- 
sachusetts, whose service he entered at 
the age of nineteen years, and later was 
elected a member of its board of directors. 
At first his labors were confined to the 
southern section of Massachusetts and 
the eastern section of Connecticut, but 
after a short period of time his agency in- 



cluded four companies transacting busi- 
ness on the mutual plan, one of which, 
the Holyoke Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, of Salem, remained in business for 
many years. In 1848 he was appointed 
traveling agent for the People's Insurance 
Company of Worcester, in which capacity 
he served until 1852, in which year he 
accepted the position of assistant superin- 
tendent of the Central Ohio Railway 
Company, which necessitated his removal 
to the State of Ohio, and later, owing to 
his ability and judgment, was advanced 
to the position of general superintendent 
of the road, and thus served until i860. 
He was one of the organizers of the first 
association of railroad superintendents in 
the United States, the meeting for the 
purpose being held in Columbus, Ohio, in 
1853. Upon his resignation from the rail- 
road business, in i860, Mr. Chase again 
entered his former line of work, becoming 
the western general agent for the New 
England Fire Insurance Company of 
Hartford; in 1863 was assistant general 
agent of the Hartford Fire Insurance 
Company, and in 1867 was advanced to 
the position of president of the company, 
succeeding Timothy C. Allyn. This com- 
pany is one of the oldest in the United 
States, and during its existence of more 
than a century there has only been six 
presidents, Mr. Chase exceeding all in his 
length of service — forty-one years — dur- 
ing which long period he managed its 
affairs in a highly commendable manner, 
gaining for the company and himself a 
widespread popularity. When Mr. Chase 
assumed the presidency of the company, 
the office was located on Main street, but 
as the accommodations were inadequate 
to the volume of business, Mr. Chase sug- 
gested the purchase of the property on 
the corner of Pearl and Trumbull streets, 
and after acquiring the same a handsome 
granite building was erected thereon, 
16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



equipped with every convenience and at 
that time the finest building devoted to 
the insurance business in Hartford. The 
company took possession of the building 
in 1870, and in 1897 the building was en- 
larged by the erection of an addition 
which doubled their accommodations, 
thus providing the necessary space for the 
increase of the business, which was five 
times greater than when Mr. Chase as- 
sumed the management. He was the first 
to employ stenographic and typewriter 
service in the insurance business, and he 
was the first to suggest the use of the 
telephone for communication between the 
Hartford, ..^tna and Phoenix offices, this 
being the first telephone service in Hart- 
ford. In 1892, on the celebration of the 
twenty-fifth anniversary of his presi- 
dency, he was presented with a silver lov- 
ing cup by his associates in the Hartford 
Fire Insurance Company, and in June. 
1898, the general and special agents of 
the company, located in various cities in 
the United States, presented him with a 
Jurgensen watch. In 1876 he was elected 
president of the National Board of Fire 
Underwriters, and served many years as 
chairman of the committee on legislation 
and taxation, was also a trustee and vice- 
president of the Society for Savings of 
Hartford, trustee of the Connecticut Trust 
and Safe Deposit Company, director of 
the American National Bank, and was a 
leading member of the Hartford Board of 
Trade. Mr. Chase was a member of the 
Asylum Hill Congregational Church, and 
was five times chosen to fill the office of 
president of the Connecticut Congrega- 
tional Club. 

Mr. Chase married (first) January 8, 
1851, Calista Mendall Taft, born at Sut- 
ton, Massachusetts, May 10, 1826, died 
at Hartford, Connecticut, December 9, 
1897, daughter of Judson and Sarah B. 
(Keyes) Taft. He married (second) Feb- 



ruary 14, 1899, Mrs. Louise J. R. Chap- 
man ; she died February 2, 1904. He mar- 
ried (third) June 21, 1905, Susan DeWitt 
Fairbairn, widow; she died May 27, 1916. 
Children of first wife: Sarah Isabel, born 
June ID, 1852, died December 23, 1893 ; 
Charles Edward, of whom further : Nellie 
Taft. born November 27, 1859. died April 
16, 1866. 

(XV) Charles Edward Chase, only son 
of George Lewis and Calista Mendall 
(Taft) Chase, was born in Dubuque, 
Iowa, March 29, 1857. His preparatory 
education was acquired in the Haven 
Grammar School in Chicago, Illinois, to 
which city his parents removed when he 
was about six years of age, and he was 
a pupil there until 1867 ; he then attended 
the West Middle Grammar School in 
Hartford, Connecticut, and subsequently 
the Hartford High School, from which he 
was graduated in 1876, being then presi- 
dent of his class. In 1877 he became an 
employee of the local agency of the Hart- 
ford Fire Insurance Company, and three 
years later entered the home office of the 
company, serving in various clerical posi- 
tions until 1890, a period of ten years. In 
July, 1890, he was promoted to the posi- 
tion of second assistant secretary, and his 
faithful service was rewarded by promo- 
tion to the office of vice-president, and in 
1908 to the presidency of the company, in 
which capacity he served until August, 
1913, when he resigned the presidency of 
the company and was elected chairman of 
the board of directors and still occupies 
that position (1917). For thirteen years, 
from 1894 to 1907, he was president of 
the Hartford Board of Fire Underwriters, 
and is a member of the board of directors 
of the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 
Company, the Hartford-/Etna National 
Bank, also holding the office of chairman 
of board of directors of that bank, the 
Society for Savings, the Hartford Fire 

17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Insurance Company, and the Hartford 
Board of Trade, is president of the Citi- 
zens Insurance Company of Missouri, and 
president of the Sanborn Map Company 
of New York. He is a Republican in 
politics, takes an active interest in munici- 
pal affairs, and served as a member of the 
board of councilmen from the old First 
Ward in 1892, and of the board of alder- 
men from 1893 to 1895, also as clerk of 
the W'est Middle School District. In Feb- 
ruary, 1879. ^^ enlisted as a charter mem- 
ber of Company K, First Regiment, Con- 
necticut National Guard, and occupied 
the positions of corporal, sergeant and 
first sergeant of the company ; he was 
honorably discharged in February, 1888. 
He is a member of the Asylum Hill Con- 
gregational Church, the Hartford Club, 
Hartford Golf Club, Farmington Country 
Club, Twentieth Century Club, Bolton 
Fish and Game Club, and was formerly a 
member of the Republican Club. 

Mr. Chase married, in Hartford. June 
9. 1886, Helen Smith Bourne, born in 
Hartford. January 10, i860, daughter of 
Benjamin Alger and Mary (Stannis) 
Bourne. Children: i. Genevieve, born 
March 4, 1887; attended the Hartford 
Grammar School, Miss Barbour's Private 
School, Dana Hall, Wellesley College, 
being president of the class in the junior 
and senior years. 2. Porter Bourne, born 
May 27, 1896. 



THE TAIT FAMILY, 

Manufacturers. 

From far away Scotland came Andrew 
Tait, founder of the Bridgeport straw- 
board manufacturing industry with which 
his son, William Tait, and his grandsons, 
William Franklin and Andrew Tait, have 
had lifelong connection, the firm being 
the well known Tait & Sons Paper Comr 
pany of Bridgeport. The founder has 



long since gone to his reward ; his son, 
William Tait, long retired from active 
participation in the business, yet resides 
in Bridgeport, an honored nonogenarian ; 
while the grandsons, William Franklin 
and Andrew Tait, are the capable heads 
of the business which has been located in 
North Bridgeport since 1895, previous to 
that year and from 1856, in Trumbull, 
Fairfield county, Connecticut. 

Andrew Tait, the founder, was born near 
Edinburgh, Scotland, January 2~, 1799, 
died in Trumbull, Connecticut, January 
2"/, 1891, full of years and honors. From a 
race of papermakers he inherited a genius 
for the business, and through an appren- 
ticeship covering a period of seven years 
he gained e.xpert knowledge of every de- 
tail connected with papermaking. In 
1820, on arriving at legal age, he left his 
Scottish home and came to the United 
States, locating in Morris county. New 
Jersey, where for one year he followed 
his trade. He then came to Connecticut, 
and was in Hartford and other localities 
until his marriage in 1822 when Trum- 
bull, Fairfield county, became his perma- 
nent home. He was engaged by D. & P. 
N. Fairchild to erect their paper mill in 
Trumbull, fit it with machinery and start 
it in operation, but soon after that task 
was completed he left their employ and at 
Trumbull Center began in a small way to 
make paper for bookbinders' use under his 
own name. In 1856 he built "Tail's Mill" 
in Trumbull, and inaugurated the box- 
board or strawboard manufacturing in- 
dustry which has flourished under the 
Tait name over sixty years. He affiliated 
with the Whig party after acquiring citi- 
zenship, later joined the Republican party, 
and for several terms served Trumbull as 
town clerk. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Congregational church, 
their lives models of industry, frugality 
and uprightness. 



118 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Andrew Tait married, June 14, 1822, 
Bella Ronaldson, who crossed the ocean 
to become his bride, the voyage occupy- 
ing forty-six days. She died May 22, 
1875, and five years prior to her death the 
aged couple celebrated their golden wed- 
ding day at the Tait mansion in Trum- 
bull, many relatives and friends being 
bidden to aid in making it a joyous occa- 
sion. The husband survived his wife six- 
teen years, and died at the age of ninety- 
two. They were the parents of two sons 
and four daughters : Nancy, married 
Plum,b Hoyt, of New York; William, of 
further mention; Mary E., married J. M. 
Prindle, of Bridgeport; John, a physician 
of Meriden, Connecticut; Bella, died in 
1851 ; Fannie. 

William Tait, eldest son of Andrew and 
Bella (Ronaldson) Tait, was born in 
Scotland, Hartford county, Connecticut. 
He was educated in Trumbull public 
schools, and thereafter was taught paper- 
making by his father. He continued in 
business with his father until 1848, then 
the reports of a gold discovery in Cali- 
fornia lured him to that State, but two 
years as a gold seeker sufficed and he re- 
turned to Trumbull. He was then ad- 
mitted to a partnership with his father 
and together they continued the manu- 
facture of strawboard until 1872. Andrew 
Tait, the founder, then withdrew and a 
representative of the third generation was 
admitted. William Franklin Tait, son of 
William Tait. Later another son, Andrew 
Tait, was admitted and the business was 
continued in Trumbull until 1895, when 
the plant was located at North Bridge- 
port and there remains. The business 
was reorganized in 1896 under its present 
name. The Tait & Sons Paper Company ; 
William F. Tait, president ; William Tait, 
vice-president ; Andrew (2) Tait, treas- 
urer. Air and steam dried strawboard 
was the chief product of the plant, later 
boxboard exclusively. The concern again 



reorganized in 1916 with William, F. Tait, 
president; William Tait, vice-president; 
Andrew Tait, treasurer, and Andrew 
Clifford Tait, secretary. 

William Tait is a veteran of the Civil 
War, having served as corporal of Com- 
pany D, Twenty-third Regiment, Connec- 
ticut Volunteer Infantry, and later as 
orderly sergeant of Company C, Fourth 
Regiment, Connecticut National Guard. 
He is a member of Elias Howe, Jr., Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of Bridge- 
port, and of the Congregational church. 
He is now the honored veteran of ninety- 
two years, a man loved and respected 
wherever known. 

William Tait married. May 31, 1848, at 
Milford, Connecticut, Grace Camp, born 
there September 4, 1831, died January 6, 
1917. In 1898 they too celebrated the 
golden anniversary of their wedding in 
the presence of many friends, children 
and grandchildren. Children of Mr. and 
Mrs. William Tait: William Franklin, of 
further mention ; Andrew, died aged two 
years ; Andrew, of further mention ; Eliza- 
beth, married Frank Plumb, and has a 
daughter Verna. 

William Franklin Tait, eldest son of 
William and Grace (Camp) Tait, was 
born October 27, 1852, in Trumbull, Con- 
necticut. He there obtained his early edu- 
cation. After completing his studies in 
Stratford Academy, he began learning 
the papermaking trade with his father 
and grandfather in their Trumbull mill, 
and in 1872, although yet a minor, he was 
admitted to a partnership, his grand- 
father retiring. Father and son conducted 
the business in Trumbull until 1895, when 
they removed to North Bridgeport, the 
present location of the plant. Upon the 
organization of the Tait & Sons Paper 
Company, William F. Tait was made 
treasurer, and upon the retirement of his 
father succeeded him as president. The 
business has ever been a prosperous one, 



iig 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and under the executive management of 
the capable grandson of the founder its 
place in the manufacturing world has not 
become less important. He is a member 
of several business and other organiza- 
tions, and is a deacon of Olivet Congre- 
gational Church. 

Mr. Tait married (first) June 6, 1876, 
Mary Lattin, who died February 3, 1878, 
daughter of Lyman Lattin, of Hunting- 
ton, Fairfield county, Connecticut. She 
left a daughter, Mary Frances, born Janu- 
ary 16, 1878. Mr. Tait married (second) 
September 26, 1883, at St. Paul's Church, 
Bridgeport, Laura Frances Morris, daugh- 
ter of William and Mary Louise Morris, 
of Bridgeport. Children : William Cros- 
by, born July 31, 1893, died July 14, 1894; 
Natalie Crosby, born February 13, 1898. 

Andrew Tait, youngest son of William 
and Grace (Camp) Tait, was born in 
Trumbull, Connecticut, September 21, 
1866. After completing his education in 
public schools and Park Avenue Institute, 
Bridgeport, he became associated with 
his father and brother, learned the paper- 
making business in all the details there 
employed, in 1896 was admitted to a part- 
nership, and upon the incorporation of the 
business as the Tait & Sons Paper Com- 
pany became its secretary. He has con- 
tinued in the same business until the pres- 
ent and is now treasurer of the company. 
He is a member of Olivet Congregational 
Church of Bridgeport. 

Mr. Tait married, October 9, 1889, 
Laura Wilson, born April 15, 1868. They 
are the parents of Eloise, Andrew Clifford, 
Grace Elizabeth and William Malcolm. 
Andrew Clififord is secretary of the com- 
pany. 



LAKE, Everett John, 

Legislator, Lfientenant-GoTernor. 

Educated in the classics and in law at 
Harvard University, Mr. Lake chose a 



business instead of a professional career, 
the wisdom of his choice being attested 
by his success in a chosen field. Yet 
there are many of his friends that believe 
he would have been even a greater success 
as a lawyer, a profession for which he 
studied for a time. In public life, Mr. 
Lake has been highly honored and in re- 
turn has given to city and State valuable 
service, as legislator and lieutenant-gov- 
ernor. 

Mr. Lake is of the fifth recorded Amer- 
ican generation of his family, a descend- 
ant of Thomas Lake, who came from Eng- 
land in 1748. Portsmouth, England, is 
believed to have been his birthplace, the 
date 1734. On coming to this country at 
the age of fourteen years, he made his 
way to Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 
later going to Rye in the same State. In 
1785 he located with his family on a farm 
near Chichester, New Hampshire, on the 
road to Pittsfield Village. He married 
Mrs. Eunice (Seavey) Davis, who bore 
him five sons and three daughters. The 
line of descent from Thomas Lake is 
through William Lake, his youngest child, 
his son, John Lake, his son, Thomas Alex- 
ander Lake, father of Everett John Lake, 
of Hartford, president of the Hartford 
Lumber Company. 

Thomas .Alexander Lake ran away from 
home at the age of fourteen years to join 
the Union army, but only succeeded in 
getting into a lot of trouble, although he 
reached the front and attached himself to 
Company G, Eighteenth Regiment Con- 
necticut Volunteer Infantry, as waiter. 
His cousin was captain of Company G. 
He served as orderly for Captain Warner, 
later enlisted in same company, was cap- 
tured at Winchester, June 15, 1863, but 
escaped and made his way home. Later 
he enlisted and served until the war closed. 
He was a member of the Connecticut 
Legislature as Assemblyman in 1885, and 



120 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



State Senator in 1897. He held various 
public positions, was energetic, progres- 
sive and successful in business, an ex- 
tremely useful, public-spirited citizen. He 
married, in Woodstock, Connecticut, Mar- 
tha A. Cockings, who bore him two 
daughters. Sarah M. and Margaret B., and 
a son, Everett J. 

Everett J. Lake, only son of Thomas 
Alexander and Martha A. (Cockings) 
Lake, was born in Woodstock, Windham 
county, Connecticut, February 8, 1871. 
and there received his early public school 
education. In 1885 his parents moved to 
Stromsburg, Nebraska, where he was 
graduated from high school, class of 1887. 
He then returned east, entered Worcester 
Polytechnic Institute, whence he was 
graduated Bachelor of Science, class of 
1890. He then entered the junior class of 
Harvard University, there receiving the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts, class of '92. 
He spent the next year at Harvard Law 
School, but discontinued legal study in 
1893 to engage in business. At Harvard 
he played on the "Eleven" and for years 
after his graduation always devoted con- 
siderable time each season in coaching 
the football teams, as he is a football en- 
thusiast and a lover of all athletic sports. 
He became associated with his father in 
the Hartford Lumber Company immedi- 
ately after leaving law school, and in 1896 
was elected treasurer of the company. In 
1901 he was elected president and still 
continues the able executive head of a 
very prosperous company. From 1903 
until 1908 he was president of the Tun- 
nel Coal Company, and is a present direc- 
tor of the Hartford-^tna National Bank 
and director of the Riverside Trust Com- 
pany. His business life has been one of 
honor and success, his reputation in the 
business world unsullied by any ignoble 
deed of his. 

Mr. Lake had ever taken an active in- 



terest in public affairs as a Republican, 
and in 1900 he began his official career as 
a member of Hartford's board of school 
visitors. In 1902 he was elected to repre- 
sent Hartford in the Lower House of the 
State Legislature, there serving as chair- 
man of the important committee appro- 
priations. In 1904 he was elected State 
Senator from the First Senatorial Dis- 
trict, was chairman of the committee on 
incorporations, served on other commit- 
tees and was an effective worker on the 
Senate floor. In 1906 he was the candi- 
date of his party for Lieutenant-Governor, 
was elected and served his term with 
honor. At Harvard he was a member of 
the Hasty Pudding Club, the Institute of 
1770, and Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. 
He is affiliated with St. John's Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Pythagoras 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Washing- 
ton Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine ; Consistory, Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite, thirty-second degree ; Lin- 
coln Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; and 
Charter Oak Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Lake married, September 5, 1895, 
at Rockville, Connecticut, Eva Louise, 
daughter of George Sykes. Children : 
Harold Sykes, and Marjorie Sykes. The 
Lake home is a handsome mansion at No. 
1090 Prospect avenue, from which an ex- 
cellent view of Hartford and the distant 
hills is unfolded. The grounds are fine 
examples of the landscape gardener's art, 
while the mansion is a striking example 
of Colonial architecture, quite distinct 
from the Georgian style known in New 
England as "Colonial." Mr. Lake is a 
student of Connecticut history, and in his 
fine library has about every worth-while 
volume which is of value as a reference 
work on the history of his native State. 



121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HART, Harold Gross, 

InTestment Broker. 

Harold Gross Hart is a member of the 
old and distinguished Hart family of Con- 
necticut, and a son of A. E. Hart, who is 
the subject of extended mention else- 
where in this work. An account of the 
Hart ancestry is to be found in the sketch 
of the elder Mr. Hart, to which the reader 
is referred for facts concerning the early 
progenitors of the family. 

Mr. Hart was born November 4, 1881, 
in the city of Hartford, Connecticut, and 
was educated in the public schools of that 
city. After completing his studies in these 
institutions, he attended the New York 
Military Academy for a period of three 
years and was graduated therefrom in 
1899. He followed this with a similar 
period spent at the Phillips-Andover 
Academy, where he was prepared for col- 
lege, and he then entered Trinity College, 
Hartford. Here he remained two years 
and then entered the employ of the firm 
of E. H. Rollins & Sons, of Boston, as a 
bond salesman. For nine months Mr. 
Hart continued with the firm, and then re- 
signed to accept a position with Redmond 
& Company, of New York City, with whom 
he remained in a similar capacity for three 
years. In the year 1908 he severed his 
connection with this firm and became 
salesman with the J. S. Farlee & Com- 
pany concern, and shortly afterwards 
opened their branch office at Hartford. 
He remained in charge of this office until 
191 1, when he withdrew with the inten- 
tion of engaging in business on his own 
account. Mr. Hart had long desired to 
be independent of the business world, and 
he now saw his opportunity to establish 
himself successfully as an investment 
broker in Hartford. This plan he put into 
effect, and is now regarded as one of the 
most successful men in this line in the 
city as well as a substantial citizen and 



public-spirited man. He does not con- 
fine his activities, however, to his private 
business interests, but is associated wi'h 
many departments of the community's 
life. In so far as the business world goes, 
he has even there extended his interest 
beyond that of his personal aflfairs and is 
now a trustee for the Society for Savings 
of Hartford. He is a prominent figure in 
the social and club circles of the commu- 
nity, is a member of the Society of Trinity 
College, of the Hartford Club, the Hart- 
ford Golf Club, the Sachem's Head 
Yacht Club, the Pine Orchard Club, Calu- 
met Club of New York City, the Collec- 
tors' Club, the Hartford Gun Club and the 
Alumni Association of Trinity College. 
Mr. Hart is devoted to outdoor sports and 
pastimes as may well be seen from the 
list of clubs with which he is associated, 
and he takes his recreation in this whole- 
some and healthful manner. He was one 
of the first members of Troop B, Con- 
necticut National Guard, in which he held 
the rank of corporal, but was later trans- 
ferred to the First Regiment, and held 
the rank of first lieutenant and quarter- 
master of the Third Battalion. He is now 
a member of the Troop B. Association. 

On October 21, 1907, Mr. Hart v/as 
united in marriage with Helen C. \\'hit- 
telsey, a daughter of Edgar C. Whittel- 
sey, an old and highly respected resident 
of Hartford and a member of a distin- 
guished family of that region. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Hart one son has been born, 
John Robinson Hart. Mr. Hart and his 
family are Episcopalians in their religious 
belief and attend the Trinity Episcopal 
Church in Hartford. 

Mr. Hart is that typical American prod- 
uct, the self-made man. He has the self- 
confidence and ready resource of the man 
who has had to care for himself from child- 
hood, a familiarity with the world and its 
aflfairs that springs from the same thing 



122 



THE KEVf vijrK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LENOX 
jTILDEI-1 FOUKDATIONS 




(fC^^-^ ^'h^t^c/^^6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and a long course in the stern school of 
experience. Yet his sophistication has in 
no wise the effect upon him that it does 
on small minds of making him cynical, but 
touches his large nature only to enrich it 
with all the varied vivid tones of life. He 
has always kept his mind and spirit pure 
and his sense open to new impressions. 
At home he is in all environments, the 
great and the small alike, a good man, 
and he has that democratic outlook, the 
shrewd, humorous insight that strips the 
mask of pretence from all men and sees 
the underlying fact. His is an essentially 
friendly nature, vet he is not averse to a 



of forty years with Fairchild & Shelton, 
the largest soap manufacturing company 
of the State of Connecticut. He was em- 
phatically the business man, never seek- 
ing nor accepting political office, but fond 
of the social features of club life, very 
genial, friendly and companionable. 

He was of early Colonial ancestry, of 
the eighth American generation of the 
family founded in Stratford, Connecticut, 
in 1639 by Thomas Fairchild, a merchant, 
who came to New England from London, 
England. He died December 14, 1670. 
There is on file in the State Library at 
Hartford a copy of the marriage contract 



bit of an argument and when such arises executed prior to his marriage to his sec- 
can very well hold his own with the best. ond wife, Katherine Craig, of London, in 
He has a way of pointing his remarks which he binds himself to convey to said 
with illustrative tales from his own well Katherine a life estate in his lands at 
stocked experience and while these are Stratford or in the event of his death 
generally of a humorous "character they before his arrival in New England to cause 
are very apt to be so much to the point as to be paid to her two hundred and fifty 



pounds sterling. This contract made in 
London, December 22, 1662, would indi- 
cate that he returned to England for his 
second bride. Eight children were born 
by his first wife, a daughter of Robert 
Seabrook, three by his second wife, Kath- 
erine Craig, including a son, Joseph. 

Joseph Fairchild was born in Stratford, 
Connecticut, April 18, 1664, and died July 
whose thoughts are ever busy with the ^5- ^7^3- He married Johanna Willcox- 
welfare and happiness of his family. sen, who died August 15, 1713. They 

were the parents of ten children, the line 

of descent being through Timothy Fair- 
child. 

Timothy Fairchild was born December 



to end discussion. Despite his great 
popularity and his own strong taste for 
the society of his fellows, he is possessed 
of the strongest domestic instincts and 
spends as much time as he can manage 
in the home, surrounded by his immediate 
household and the familiar intimates that 
are very near to forming a part of it. He 
is a loving husband and a devoted father. 



FAIRCHILD, Henry Charles, 

Manufacturer. 



For half a century identified with the 9, 1687, died November 23, 1726. He mar- 



business interests of Bridgeport and one 
of the oldest manufacturers in the city, 
Henry C. Fairchild, senior member of 
Fairchild & Shelton, was an invalid dur- 
ing the last few years of his life, spend- 
ing a part of each winter in Florida. Four 
years prior to his death he retired from 
business, thus terminating a connection 



ried, November 15, 1715, Sarah Thomp- 
son, of New Haven, and they were the 
parents of four children, including a son, 
Daniel. 

Daniel Fairchild was born February 18, 
1719, died May 9, 1807. He was one of 
the first settlers at North Stratford (now 
Trumbull) and lived at Nichols Farms. 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was a school teacher, merchant, jus- 
tice of the peace for many years, and dur- 
ing the Revolution an ardent, prominent 
patriot, influential in State as well as 
town affairs. He married, December 6, 
1743, Hepzibah Lewis, daughter of Sam- 
uel Lewis, of Old Mill, in the town of 
Stratford. They were the parents of 
nine children including a son Lewis. 

Lewis Fairchild, of the fifth generation, 
was born March 14, 1747, died May 10, 
1817. He was an influential, substantial 
farmer, his farm at Messha Hill in Trum- 
bull. He was an ardent patriot during 
the Revolution and aided the cause of 
liberty in many ways. He married, Sep- 
tember 2,2, 1768, Mary UfToot. and one of 
his six children was a son Reuben. 

Reuben Fairchild was born in 1782, 
died October 5, 1855, a resident of Trum- 
bull most of his life. He learned the 
cabinet maker's trade and was not only 
a skilled wood worker but an inventive 
genius, several patents being taken out 
in his name. In 1810 he took apart an 
old saddletree, and after improving it 
made a dozen of the new style, had them 
ironed and took them to New York City 
where they found a ready sale. This so 
encouraged him that he took his brother 
Eben as a partner, erected a factory at 
Nichols Farms and made saddletrees on 
a large scale. In May, 1817, the brothers 
bought a store and dock property near 
the foot of Dock street, Bridgeport, and 
operated a line of packets between New 
York and Boston, also conducting the 
store at the dock. About 1818. they be- 
gan the manufacture of saddles in Bridge- 
port, associating with them Hanford 
Lyon and Lemuel Coleman, under the 
firm name, Fairchild, Lyon & Company. 
Nine years later the Fairchilds sold out 
to their partners, and in 1826 built the 
Trumbull paper mills and it was here that 
Reuben Fairchild was the first to manu- 



facture in America newspaper from wood- 
pulp, but was discouraged from continu- 
ing to use it by the fears of his business 
associates as to its practicability ; he con- 
tinued in business until 1835, when he 
sold out to his brothers and retired with 
a competence. But he found no pleasure 
in idle retirement and he next became a 
member of the firm Haight, Keeler, Fair- 
child & Company, carriage manufacturers 
of Bridgeport. He continued so engaged 
until 1840, when he again retired to his 
farm in Trumbull and there resided until 
his death. He married, in Trumbull, in 
1813, Anna Hawley, daughter of Robert 
Hawley, and one of their children was 
Cliailes Nichols 

Charles Nicht Is Fairchild was born in 
Trumbull, Connecticut, October 27, 1818, 
died September 6, 1891. He was edu- 
cated in public schools, grew to manhood 
at the Nichols Farms homestead, and 
though as a young man he learned and 
followed carriage building for a few years, 
returned to Nichols Farms and was en- 
gaged in agriculture until his death. He 
was a man of sound judgm,ent and ability, 
thoroughly trusted by his community and 
often called to public offices of trust and 
honor. He was a selectman in 1856-60, 
and in 1876 represented Trumbull in the 
State Legislature. He was a strong 
Democrat, and one of the leaders of his 
section. He married (first) Louisa 
Beach, who died August 13, 1845, aged 
twenty-four, daughter of Alfred Beach, 
of Trumbull Centre. He married (sec- 
ond) Mary B. Banks, of Easton, Connec- 
ticut. By his first marriage two sons 
were born: Henry C, of further men- 
tion, and Alfred Beach, of Bridgeport. 
By his second marriage a daughter, Laura 
Frances, and a son, Ervvin Starr. 

Henry Charles Fairchild, eldest son of 
Charles Nichols and Louisa (Beach) 
Fairchild. was born in the village of 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Nichols Farms, town of Trumbull, Fair- 
field county, Connecticut, July 17, 1842, 
died at his home, No. 258 Golden Hill, 
Bridgeport, February i, 1917. He was 
educated in the public schools of Trum- 
bull, and at the age of seventeen he left 
school to learn the trade of carriage mak- 
ing with J. Mott & Company, of Bridge- 
port. He remained in their employ for 
nearly three years, after which he worked 
for The Wheeler & Wilson Company 
until he was twenty-one years of age. 
In 1863, he was established in a general 
store in Bridgeport as proprietor and 
continued a successful merchant until 
1872, his brother Alfred B. being in his 
employ as clerk from 1863 until 1865. In 
1872, Henry C. Fairchild formed a part- 
nership with his brother-in-law, John C. 
Shelton, in Bridgeport, under the firm 
name, Fairchild & Shelton, soap manu- 
facturers, chemists and perfumers, whose 
excellent products were used all over the 
country and whose extensive plant was 
operated in a most sanitary and progres- 
sive manner. The up-to-date methods in 
which the business was conducted was 
largely due to the ingenuity and inven- 
tiveness of the Fairchilds, inherited from 
their progenitor, Reuben Fairchild. Mr. 
Fairchild's son, the late Frederick S. 
Fairchild, invented and patented the first 
soap canister ever made which is one of 
the most useful devices on the market for 
promoting economy and cleanliness in the 
use of toilet soap. Frederick S. Fairchild 
died December 20, 1902, at the age of 
thirty-eight years. He was a man of 
strong business quality, as the Fairchilds 
have ever been. In 1913, Henry C. Fair- 
child retired, the business passing into 
other hands. Mr. Fairchild was a direc- 
tor of the City National Bank, trustee of 
the Farmers' and Mechanics' Savings 
Bank, and had large land interests in 
Florida. He was a trustee of Bridgeport 



Hospital, of the order, "Founders and 
Patriots of America," senior warden of 
Christ Episcopal Church, and formerly a 
member of several clubs. 

Henry C. Fairchild married, December 
30, 1863, Mary L. Shelton, daughter of 
Joel and Louisa (Mallett) Shelton. Joel 
Shelton was a farmer by occupation, and 
a natural born mechanic. They were the 
Huntington, Fairfield county, family, 
founded by Daniel Shelton, of Stratford, 
prior to 1690. Daniel Shelton married, 
April 4, 1692, Elizabeth Welles, daughter 
of Samuel Welles, of Wethersfield, and 
granddaughter of Thomas Welles, one of 
the Colonial governors of Connecticut. 
Fifty years later, December 30, 1913, Mr. 
and Mrs. Fairchild celebrated their golden 
wedding day with a reception to their 
many friends. They were the parents of 
a son, Frederick S., born October 19, 1864, 
died December 20, 1902. In his will Mr. 
Fairchild left a sum of money to the city, 
the proceeds to be used as an annual 
prize to be awarded to the high school 
student showing the best progress and 
highest efliciency in chemistry. "This be- 
quest in loving remembrance of my son, 
Frederick S. Fairchild, who was a gradu- 
ate and valedictorian of his class and I 
direct that the prize flowing from the said 
fund shall be known as the Fairchild 
Prize." Mrs. Fairchild, a lady of educa- 
tion and womanly grace, survives her 
husband, a resident of Bridgeport. 



SHELTON, John C, 

Manufacturer, Public Official. 

The late John C. Shelton, who ranked 
among the enterprising and successful 
business men of Bridgeport, and who was 
a leading spirit in some of the important 
movements for the benefit of the com- 
munity, was a native of Huntington, Con- 
necticut, born July 8, 1853, son of Joel and 



12: 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Louisa (Mallett) Shelton, and a descend- 
ant, on the maternal side, of an old Fair- 
field county family, the members of which 
trace their ancestry to French Huguenots, 
who settled in this country early in its 
history. 

John C. Shelton was reared and edu- 
cated in his native town, and at the age 
of fifteen took up his residence in Bridge- 
port, in which city he resided for the re- 
mainder of his days. His first employ- 
ment was with his uncle, in whose service 
he acquired a good knowledge of busi- 
ness methods and principles. In 1872 he 
form,ed a copartnership with Henry C. 
Fairchild, his brother-in-law, under the 
firm name of Fairchild & Shelton, manu- 
facturers of soap, and he was a member 
of that firm at the time of his decease, 
which occurred in Bridgeport, Connecti- 
cut, November 7, 1902. In 1887 the firm 
suffered a serious loss by fire, which de- 
stroyed their entire plant which was lo- 
cated on Thompson street, but, both part- 
ners being possessed with pluck, perse- 
verance and the faculty of making the 
best of conditions, they continued their 
operations, and in the following year 
erected a factory on Housatonic avenue, 
Bridgeport, equipped with everything 
needful for the successful conducting of 
their line of trade. Success crowned their 
efforts, and they were classed among the 
successful industries of that thriving city. 
In addition to his business pursuit, Mr. 
Shelton took an active interest in public 
affairs, and served in the capacities of 
selectman, park commissioner, member 
of the Board of Aldermen, Board of Ap- 
portionment and Taxation, and Board of 
Education, in all of which he rendered 
signal service. He was a staunch adher- 
ent of the Republican party, believing 
that its policy was for the best form of 
government. The Shelton School in the 
northern part of Bridgeport was named in 



honor of Mr. Shelton's father, and the 
Mr. Shelton of this review donated the 
Seth Thomas clock which ornaments the 
tower of the structure. Mr. Shelton was 
a thirty-second degree Mason, and a mem- 
ber of various other associations. 

Mr. Shelton married Jennie Watson, a 
daughter of James Watson, and her death 
occurred in 1898. They were the parents 
of the following named children : Jean, 
Anna and Philo. Mr. Shelton was a man 
of jovial disposition, and when those 
about him were depressed or in trouble 
he could be relied upon to relieve the 
situation with jocose remarks or humor- 
ous stories. He was kind-hearted, philan- 
thropic, and always ready to assist in 
cases of distress, rnd his decease was a 
great loss to his family, his friends and 
the community in which he took so active 
an interest. 



HOWES, William T., 

Business Man. 

A man of quiet modesty and unassum- 
ing manner, yet withal a man of forceful 
character and strong will, William T. 
Howes, of Bridgeport, acted well his part, 
built up an important commercial enter- 
prise and for half a century gave his 
strength to its upbuilding and develop- 
ment. Forty-six of his sixty-nine years 
were spent as a member of the great coal 
dealing firm, Wheeler & Howes, and at 
his death he was president of the corpora- 
tion. While Wheeler & Howes was a 
household name in Bridgeport, they 
gained State and National fame through 
their determined and finally successful 
fight against the oppression of the New 
Haven railroad in the day when that 
corporation was all powerful and reckless 
in the use of its power. In John W. 
Wheeler and William T. Howes, kindred 
spirits, the railroad company found two 



126 




/pMif-f' III -7 ■/O^'tfeAy 



1 -■f&i'jrsri"' S£":isfif 



Plj. 






ASTor. L'---o^ 



iTlLDi^iJ fC 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



men who would fight to the last ditch in 
the defense of their rights as they saw 
them and who when beaten at almost 
every point in the then subservient Con- 
necticut courts gathered their resources 
and carried their cause to the last tri- 
bunal, the Supreme Court of the United 
States. Before that august body the cor- 
poration was powerless, determination 
and justice prevailing easily over cor- 
porate greed and injustice. This was not 
only a great victory for Wheeler & 
Howes but a great moral victory and 
marked the final turning of the tide of 
public opinion, ending the subservience 
of the courts and legislative bodies to cor- 
porate influences. 

There were other things in the life of 
William T. Howes besides the founding 
and development of a great commercial 
enterprise, but not so well known to the 
general public. Few knew of the kindly 
assistance he rendered to the struggling, 
for it was all done in his usual unostenta- 
tious way, only the recipients knowing 
of his benefactions. He took a quiet in- 
terest in city affairs, but never was iden- 
tified with political life. His advice was 
freely sought and as freely given, and he 
could have been easily elected mayor, yet 
he steadily refused that honor, though 
often pressed, but what he gained in free- 
dom from political turmoil and strife 
meant the city's loss in honest business- 
like administration. 

William T. Howes was born at Sag 
Harbor, Long Island, New York, son of 
Captain William B. Howes and Harriet 
(Thorpe) Howes. His life from his 
twelfth year was spent in Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, where he died July lo, 1914, 
aged sixty-nine years and seven months, 
one of the best known veterans of busi- 
ness life. In 1868 he became a partner 
in the newly formed firm, Wheeler & 
Howes, and from its feeble start was one 



of the active members and hardest work- 
ers. Success attended his efforts and 
Wheeler & Howes became the leading 
concern of its kind in the city. While the 
leading specialty was coal, Wheeler & 
Howes branched out into different lines 
and were also wholesale and retail dealers 
in flour, feed, mason's building materials, 
blue stone, drain pipe and fertilizers. 
Their warehouses, coal shutes and docks 
covered three acres, and a trade was es- 
tablished with all parts of Bridgeport and 
with surrounding localities. Their coal 
yards and large river frontage were on 
Sterling and Noble streets, a four-story 
brick building at the corner of Knowlton 
and Crescent streets was used for grain, 
flour and building materials, and a 
branch office maintained on Main street. 
All this did not come at once, but was 
the culmination of forty-six years of hard 
work by the two men whose names be- 
came familiar ones in Bridgeport, 
Wheeler & Howes. At the time of his 
death Mr. Howes was the honored head 
of the corporation, although he had sur- 
rendered many of the heavier burdens to 
his capable son, William E. Howes, vice- 
president of the company, and since his 
father's death treasurer. 

This was the lifework of William T. 
Howes and well was it performed, a work 
that did not crumble and pass away, but 
founded on the rock, public confidence, 
was enduring in its nature. He was a 
man who with singleness of purpose 
pressed forward to the realization of his 
ambition and allowed nothing to divert 
him. He was emphatically a business 
man and of the best New England type, 
yet he was not a man of sordid views or 
sordid nature, but freely as he received 
freely he gave and his benefactions were 
many although little known. He won a 
host of friends among the worthiest and 
all admired the quiet, forceful man, who 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



while strictly attending to his own busi- 
ness was never so much engrossed in his 
own affairs that he would not stop to aid 
a friend with advice if it was asked for. 
His judgment was sound and his advice 
valued, but he never obtruded his views 
upon others, neither did he ever refuse 
them to one who sought them. He was 
honorable and upright in all his dealings, 
mindful of the rights of others and cour- 
ageous in the defense of his own. The 
lesson of his life is plain, and teaches 
that industry and singleness of purpose 
lead to success. Mr. Howe enlisted (on 
a call of one hundred days) July lo, 1864, 
in Company B, Twenty-eighth Regiment, 
New York State Militia, served his full 
time, and was honorably discharged, No- 
vember 13, 1864. 

Mr. Howes married, in 1871, Ida F. 
Hinckley. Mrs. Howes died June 10, 
1905. They were the parents of two 
daughters and a son : Harriet F., mar- 
ried Dr. D. C. DeWolfe, and A. Florence 
Howes, an artist, both residing in Bridge- 
port ; William E. Howes, his father's 
business associate and successor, married 
Fannie Elizabeth Pierce, and they also 
live in Bridgeport. 



IVES, WUliam Birdsey, 

Business Man. 

The passing of William Birdsey Ives, 
of Meriden, Connecticut, marked the re- 
moval of the last of the children of Wil- 
liam Jackson Ives from scenes with which 
the Ives family has been prominently 
associated for more than two centuries. 
Ives, one of the time-honored of New 
England names, was brought to the Mer- 
iden section by John Ives, son of William 
Ives, the latter born in England in 1607, 
and a settler in New Haven, Connecticut, 
in 1639. John Ives, son of William Ives, 
seems to have been the first of the family 



born in New England. He was among 
the early settlers in that part of the town 
of Wallingford, now Meriden, Connecti- 
cut, and devoted his life to farming. His 
eight children were all born in Walling- 
ford. John (2) Ives, son of John (i) Ives, 
was born at the home farm in what is now 
Meriden, November 16, 1669, and died 
there in 1738. He married, Decem.ber 
6, 1693, Mary Gillette, and had a family 
of eleven sons and daughters, the sixth 
child a son, Lazarus Ives, born in what is 
now Meriden, February 19, 1703, married 
(first) January 5, 1740, Mabel Jerome. 
The given name of his second wife was 
Isabella, who was the mother of Amasa 
Ives, born in what is now Meriden, 
March 14, 1743, and there resided all his 
life. He married Rebecca Ward, who 
bore him a son, Watrous Ives, who mar- 
ried, September 15, 1809, Polly Yale, a 
descendant of Captain Thomas Yale, and 
reared a family of ten children, the last 
two, twin daughters, born February 28, 

1833- 

William Jackson Ives, third child of 
Watrous and Polly (Yale) Ives, was born 
in Meriden, Connecticut, July 28, 1815, 
died in the city of Meriden, May 16, 1887, 
and was buried in East Cemetery. Reared 
on the home farm, and educated in the 
public school, he passed an uneventful 
early life, but upon attaining manhood he 
forsook the farm and became a salesman 
for Parker & White, traveling by team 
through the South. That he was a good 
salesman may be inferred from the fact 
that he received $100 monthly and all ex- 
penses as compensation. Later he in- 
vested in a plant in Meriden and manufac- 
tured suspender webbing until burned 
out. He next established a general store 
in Benton, Alabama, which he conducted 
successfully alone, later admitting his 
brother. Stephen Ives, and William Sayre 
as partners. He spent most of his time 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the North purchasing goods and man- 
aging his farm, the Southern business 
being well managed by the partners. The 
Civil War wrecked their business, and in 
addition Mr. Ives sustained a personal 
loss of $80,000 caused by the burning of 
the town by Union troops. Thereafter 
he confined his operations to Meriden and 
developed his farm as a stock raising 
property. He was a lover of fine horses, 
and during his career bred and reared 
many fine blooded animals which were 
sold at high figures. He was very charit- 
able, gave liberally to church and philan- 
thropy, was of such well known ability 
and integrity that he was called upon to 
administer many estates, and in his home 
life was a devoted husband and father. 
He was a Democrat in politics, served 
his city as councilman, alderman and 
street commissioner, declining the nomi- 
nation for mayor. He married, Septem- 
ber I, 1841, Lucy Julia Birdsey, born in 
Meriden, a woman of great force of char- 
acter and the embodiment of every Chris- 
tian virtue. She was a daughter of Ger- 
shom (2) and Lucy (Coe) Birdsey, and 
grandaughter of Gershom, and Hannah 
(Bartlett) Birdsey, he the son of John 
(i) Birdsey, born in Reading, Berkshire, 
England, who came to New England in 
1636, settling at Milford, Connecticut, in 
1639. In the maternal line Mrs. Ives also 
traced descent to Thomas Welles, a Colo- 
nial governor of Connecticut. William 
Jackson and Lucy Julia (Birdsey) Ives 
were the parents of five children : Wil- 
liam Birdsey, of further mention ; Ellena 
Lucy, deceased; Elizabeth, died young; 
Carrie, died young; George W., deceased. 
William Birdsey Ives, eldest son of 
William Jackson and Lucy Julia (Bird- 
sey) Ives, was born in Meriden, Connec- 
ticut, October 27, 1843, died at the Ives 
homestead on Broad street, Meriden, 
January 9, 1917. His education was be- 
Conn— 3-9 I 



gun in the old East Side public school, and 
completed in old Meriden Academy, Suf- 
field School, Suffield, Connecticut, and 
Eastman's Business College, Poughkeepsie, 
New York. His first venture in business 
was as a groceryman in partnership with 
R. T. Cooke, the store conducted by Ives 
& Cooke now being known as the F. L. 
Yale store on East Main street, Meriden. 
After retiring from the grocery business, 
he purchased the Meriden House block, 
and for a number of years made his home 
in the Meriden House, but spent a great 
deal of time in travel, accompanied by his 
wife. He owned the Meriden House and 
block for thirty years, but in May, 1915, 
he sold it and thereafter resided in the old 
Ives homestead on Broad street. In his 
earlier years, Mr. Ives was fond of the 
sports of forest and stream, and being a 
member of the Metabechowan Fish and 
Game Club he spent many of his summer 
seasons hunting and fishing in Canada. 
He was a member of the Masonic order, 
a charter member of the Highland Coun- 
try Club and a member of the Home Club. 
In later years he spent his summers at 
Crescent Beach in East Lyme, Connecti- 
cut, where he owned a summer home, 
"Meer-Heim." He was an attendant of 
the First Baptist Church of Meriden, and 
in his will generously remembered that 
church. He is buried in Walnut Grove 
Cemetery. 

Mr. Ives married (first) S. Clarissa 
Rutty, of Meriden. He married (second) 
Rhoda J. Birdsey, who survives him (see 
Birdsey). 

(The Birdsey Line). 

The Birdsey family is among the earl- 
iest implanted ,in Connecticut. John 
Birdsey, a native of Reading, Berkshire, 
England, came to Boston, Massachusetts, 
in 1636, bringing or accompanying his 
adult sons. He settled at Milford, Con- 
necticut, in 1639, and was one of the first 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGIL^PHY 



planters there; died 1649. It is supposed 
that he had sons, Edward, Joseph and 
John (2). The last named was born 1616, 
and died in Stratford, Connecticut, April 
4, 1690. He married Philippa, daughter 
of Rev. Henry Smith, and their son, John 
(3) Birdsey, was born March 28, 1641, 
died July 9, 1697. His will is found in 
Fairfield. He married, December 11, 
1669, Phoebe \\'ilcoxson, and they were 
the parents of Abel Birdsey, born No- 
vember 30, 1679, died May 14, 1747. His 
first wife, Comfort, daughter of John 
Welles, granddaughter of John Welles, 
great-granddaughter of Thomas Welles, 
died June 29, 1717, and was the mother of 
John (4) Birdsey, born September 26, 
1712, died June 5, 1798. It is probable 
that John (4) Birdsey was twice married, 
as the Stratford records speak of his wife, 
Hannah, while the Middletown records 
give her name as Sarah. His will was 
proved September 24, 1798, at Middle- 
town. His son, Gershom Birdsey, born 
November 21, 1734, died November 17, 
1789. His marriage, according to the 
family records, was to Hannah Bartlett, 
on November 12, 1772, although the Mid- 
dletown records place it one year earlier. 
Gershom (2) Birdsey, son of Gershom 
(i) and Hannah (Bartlett) Birdsey, born 
December 29, 1776, resided in Middle- 
field and Meriden, and died in the latter 
place, March 13, 1865. He married Lucy 
Coe, born March 7, 1779, died 1863, 
daughter of Captain Eli Coe. Their 
daughter, Lucy Julia Birdsey, born Feb- 
ruary 6, 1824, became the wife of William 
Jackson Ives, of Meriden (see Ives). 
Edwin Birdsey, third son of Gershom (2) 
and Lucy (Coe) Birdsey, born April 3, 
1816, in Middlefield, Connecticut,died De- 
cember 21, 1888, in Meriden, Connecticut. 
At the age of one year he removed with 
his parents to Meriden, where he was 
reared on the old Birdsey homestead and 



followed agricultural pursuits the better 
part of his life ; he was a Democrat in 
politics, and sheriff of Meriden for many 
years. He married Lavinia Maria Bailey. 
They were the parents of Rhoda J. Bird- 
sey, who became the wife of William 
Birdsey Ives, of Meriden (see Ives). 



BUCKINGHAM, Edward T., 

La^ryer, Pnblic OfBcial, 

From his first coming. Mr. Buckingham 
so strongly impressed his individuality 
upon the electorate of his adopted city as 
a lawyer and city official that in 1909 he 
was elected chief executive, being one of 
the youngest mayors in the country to 
govern a city of the size and importance 
of Bridgeport. The office at that time 
carried unusually heavy responsibilities, 
and although he did not escape criticism 
— as what public official does — he gained 
many new friends, retained his old ones 
and left the mayor's chair higher in public 
esteem and confidence than when he en- 
tered it notwithstanding the trying con- 
ditions under which his administration 
labored. This test of character and 
ability passed with honor, he returned to 
the practice of his profession, and has be- 
come one of the leading members of the 
Fairfield county bar. 

Mr. Buckingham is of the ninth gener- 
ation of the family founded in America by 
Thomas Buckingham, who sailed from 
London, England, and arrived at Boston, 
June 26, 1837. The following year he was 
in New Haven, Connecticut, and later 
settled in Milford. From Thomas Buck- 
ingham, the founder, the line of descent 
follows through his son, Samuel ; his 
second son, Samuel (2) ; his son, Samuel 
(3); his son, Jared; his son, John; his 
son, Lucius E. ; his eldest son, Walter T. ; 
his son, Edward T. Buckingham, of 
Bridgeport. 



130 




iLCiuhfiM /. ff X^^^cdi^^'f'^^ 






I ■' J 



riT" 



:bfar^ 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Walter T. Buckingham was born in 
Dover, Dutchess county, New York, Oc- 
tober 25, 1841, died in Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut. His business career was varied 
by frequent change of location and line 
until 1881, when he settled in Bridgeport. 
He was an expert accountant, was the 
first clerk of the city of Norwalk in 1869, 
and for eight and a half years was deputy 
collector of customs for the port of 
Bridgeport. He was an ardent Democrat, 
and a member of Connecticut's oldest 
Masonic Lodge, King Solomon, No. i, of 
Woodbury, of which he was secretary as 
long as he remained in that city. In 
Bridgeport he was affiliated with St. 
John's Lodge, No. 4, and held in high re- 
gard by his brethren. He married, No- 
vember 8, 1865, Helen E. Tolles, daughter 
of Robert Tolles, of Plymouth, Connecti- 
cut. They were the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Ida E., wife of T. W. Joyce, of Bridge- 
port, and of a son, Edward T., of further 
mention. 

Edward T. Buckingham was born in 
Metuchen, New Jersey, May 12, 1874, his 
father at that time being superintendent 
of railroad construction in that section. 
In 1881 his parents moved to Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, where he attended Grand 
street grade and Bridgeport High schools, 
graduating from the latter with the class 
of 1891. A strong and healthy boy, he 
developed under the best home influences 
both the intellectual and physical sides of 
his nature, and there being no obstacle to 
prevent, he pressed steadily forward 
toward the goal of his ambition, a legal 
education and a life of public service. 
He was equally interested in books and 
athletics, played hard and studied hard, 
learned considerable of history and biog- 
raphy, and entered college well developed 
mentally and physically. He entered Yale 
University in 1891, taking the academic 
course, received his Bachelor of Arts de- 



gree in 1895, entered Yale Law School, 
and was graduated Bachelor of Laws, 
class of '97. The following year he be- 
gan practice in Bridgeport, where he has 
continued in his profession until the pres- 
ent time (1917). He is a member of the 
County and State Bar associations, has a 
large practice and serves an influential 
clientele. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Bucking- 
ham has ever taken a keen interest in 
public affairs and has realized another 
ambition in the prominent part he has 
played in city affairs. He was elected 
justice of the peace in 1898, reelected in 
1900, was elected city clerk in 1901 and re- 
elected in 1903 by a majority of 2,535, 'the 
largest ever given a city clerk. Reelec- 
tions followed in 1905 and 1907, his ad- 
ministration of the city clerk's office giv- 
ing complete satisfaction. At the expira- 
tion of his term in 1909 he was "called 
higher" and by the largest majority ever 
given a candidate for that office, 3,034, 
was chosen mayor of Bridgeport. He 
was mentioned as a candidate for gov- 
ernor in 1910, but withdrew his name and 
seconded the nomination of Hon. Simeon 
E. Baldwin, the successful candidate. He 
was appointed, October i, 1913, by Gov- 
ernor Baldwin, Workmen's Compensation 
Commissioner for the Fourth Congres- 
sional District of Connecticut, a position 
he still holds (1917). He is one of the 
strong men of his party in the city, and 
has gained influential position among 
State leaders. 

In fraternal orders he has attained 
many honors, being past master of St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and is a thirty-second degree Mason of 
the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite : past 
sachem of Wowopon Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men ; past great sachem of 
the State order, elected in May, 191 1; 
member of Bridgeport Lodge, Benevolent 

31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Protective Order of Elks ; Samuel H. 
Harris Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; the Fraternal Order of Eagles ; 
the Foresters of America ; and the 
Knights of Pythias. He is a member of 
the Arion Society, the Germania Society 
and the Young Men's Christian Associ- 
ation, taking an active interest in all. In 
religious faith he is a Congregationalist. 
The love of athletic sports which distin- 
guished his youth was continued through- 
out his college years, and out-of-door life 
still has a deep attraction for him. At 
college he was pitcher on the Law School 
team, and in the various City Hall teams 
he was always in demand. He is also an 
expert at tennis, and displays several 
trophies won in city and State tourna- 
ments. 

Mr. Buckingham married, June 3, 1910, 
Bessie R. Budau, daughter of John and 
Annie (Russell) Budau, of Bridgeport, 
and granddaughter of John Diederick 
and Louise Jane (French) Budau, her 
grandfather born in Lubeck, Germany, 
October 14, 1817, came to the United 
States in 1833, finally settled in Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, where he lived to an 
honored old age. He died November 2, 
1888, and was buried with Masonic 
honors. His wife, Louise Jane (French) 
Budau, who died in very old age, was a 
daughter of Wheeler French, and grand- 
daughter of Gamaliel French, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier whose name is inscribed 
upon the tablets erected by the Daughters 
of the American Revolution at the gate- 
way of the old Stratfield burying ground 
in Bridgeport. Mr. and Mrs. Bucking- 
ham are the parents of two sons, Russell 
B. and Edward T. (2). 

From his own experiences and observa- 
tion, Mr. Buckingham has this advice to 
give young men to which class he as yet 
belongs: "Be moderate and temperate, 
but do not try to be too prominent, mingle 



and rub elbows with successful men and 
get their ideas. Relax — wherever it is 
possible and be ready at all times to listen 
to reason and profit by the experience of 
others. Make your dealings with men 
open and fair, be honest with yourself 
and you will be honest with others. Re- 
tain old friendships when you make new 
ones, remembering that most of the suc- 
cesses of life are attained by assistance 
from others and that by yourself and 
your own strength little can be accom- 
plished." 



WHEELER, George Wakeman, 

Jurist. 

Prior to 1883, change of scene and en- 
vironment marked the life of Judge 
George W. Wheeler, justice of the Su- 
preme Court of Errors of Connecticut, 
the State of Mississippi claiming him as 
a native son, the State of New Jersey the 
home of his youth, Connecticut educating 
him for his profession, and then adopting 
him, as one of her eminent sons. The city 
of Bridgeport was the scene of his early 
professional endeavor, and there his par- 
ticular talents developed and he won a 
name which justified his appointment to 
the Superior Court of the State at the 
age of thirty-two, the youngest judge to 
ever sit in that august body. His ances- 
try accounts for a predilection for a pro- 
fession, as the same scholarly instincts 
have appeared in the three preceding 
generations. Stephen Wheeler, of Eas- 
ton, was a judge of the Fairfield County 
Court ; his son, Charles Wheeler, was a 
member of the Connecticut House of As- 
sembly, a man of education and worth ; 
his son, George W. Wheeler, was a grad- 
uate of Amherst College, class of '56, 
principal of a large school at Woodville, 
Mississippi, 1857-68, and a judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas of Bergen coun- 
32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ty, New Jersey, residing in Hackensack lawyer's problem — "where and how to be- 
from 1868 until the present time (1917). gin practice." Mr. Wheeler solved his 
Judge George W. Wheeler married Lucy problem by selecting Bridgeport, Con- 
Dowie, daughter of Henry Dowie, of necticut, as his location, and a partnership 
Andes, New York, they the parents of as a manner of obtaining an introduction. 
Judge George Wakeman Wheeler, of He joined with Howard J. Curtis in form- 
Bridgeport. Granting the influence of ing the law firm of Wheeler & Curtis, and 
heredity and environment, so much re- for ten years that firm continued a suc- 
mained for individual eiifort to accom- cessful existence, only dissolving when 
plish that it has been only by close appli- both partners were "called higher," Mr. 
cation and deep study that Judge Wheeler Curtis to the Comm.on Pleas bench, Mr. 



has won his way to high position. As a 
lawyer he was noted for the careful pre- 
paration of his cases and during his ten 
years of practice in Bridgeport that qual- 
ity, more than his talent, learning and elo- 
quence, won him several notable cases. 
His career as a jurist has been marked by 
the same quality, his decisions and opin- 



Wheeler to the Superior Court of Connec- 
ticut. 

During the years 1890-92, Mr. Wheeler 
was city attorney of Bridgeport, and on 
February 28, 1893, was appointed a judge 
of the Superior Court of Connecticut by 
Luzon B. Morris, Democratic Governor 
of the State. Although Judge Wheeler 



ions only being issued atter convincing was the youngest man ever appointed to 



proof that they are in accord with the 
law. Fairness, courtesy and considera- 
tion distinguish his official intercourse 
with every member of the bar who ap- 
pears before him, and his love of justice 
amounts to a passion. 

George Wakeman Wheeler, eldest son 
of Judge George W. and Lucy (Dowie) 
W^heeler, was born in Woodville, Missis- 
sippi, December i, i860, and there the 
first four years of his life were passed. In 
1868 his parents returned North, settling 
in Hackensack, New Jersey, where he at- 
tended public schools and Hackensack 
Academy, receiving a diploma from the 
Academy in 1876. The following year 
was spent at Williston Seminary, where 
he was graduated with the class of 1877. 
He entered Yale Academy in 1877 '^"^ 
graduated in the class of 1881. He chose 
the law as his profession, entered Yale 
Law School in 1882, after a course of 
study under Garret Ackerson, of the Ber- 
gen county. New Jersey, bar, and was 
graduated Bachelor of Laws, class of '83. 
He was then confronted with the young 



the Superior bench of the State, his choice 
gave general satisfaction to the bar, and 
the press of Connecticut favorably com- 
mented upon the Governor's action. Re- 
publican Governors have confirmed the 
wisdom of the appointment by renaming 
him, and until September 28, 1910, he 
ably filled his high office, only to leave it 
to become upon that date a justice of the 
Supreme Court of Errors, his present 
ofifice. He is held in the highest esteem 
as a learned, just and upright judge by 
the profession and possesses the perfect 
confidence of the public. Judge Wheeler 
had been an active, ardent Democrat 
prior to his elevation to the bench, and is 
yet strong in the faith, but with the as- 
sumption of judicial position his activity 
ceased. He is a member of the various 
bar associations, and scientific societies, 
and gratifies the social side of his nature 
in association with his many friends 
through the medium of club membership 
in Bridgeport and elsewhere. He retains 
his residence at Bridgeport, his home No. 
115 Park avenue. 



133 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Judge Wheeler married, July 5, 1894, 
Agnes M. Alocy. They have a daughter, 
Helen Lucy, a student in Vassar, 1919, 
and a son, George Mocy Wheeler. 



GOODSELL, Zalmon, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

There are few men of the present day 
whose activity has found more varied 
ways of expression or who have lived a 
more useful life than Zalmon Goodsell, 
of Bridgeport. While his early inclina- 
tion was for a business career, he has 
from boyhood been connected with 
Bridgeport's business life, and is the head 
of a prosperous concern. Mr. Goodsell 
has been associated with all movements 
of a public nature, and in fraternity, 
Board of Trade, Builders' Exchange, he 
has freely used his personal influence and 
his ability as a speaker and writer to fur- 
ther the interests of each. As president 
of the Board of Trade, his administration 
was characterized by unusual activity, 
and the board became a useful and thor- 
oughly progressive body. While presi- 
dent of the Builders' Exchange, the mem- 
bership increased from ten to over eighty, 
while his year as president of the Master 
Plumbers' Association marked one of the 
most prosperous periods of its existence. 
In brief, he is one of the men who can be 
depended upon to do all in his power to 
aid every worthy cause, and freely to 
give of his time and his influence. 

Mr. Goodsell is a great-grandson of 
Sergeant Epaphras Goodsell, a soldier of 
the Revolution, who was a son of the Rev. 
John Goodsell, son of Thomas Goodsell, 
the first of the name in New England. 
Rev. John Goodsell was born in East 
Haven, Connecticut, December 21, 1706, 
and was ordained May 18, 1726, pastor of 
the church at Greenfield, Fairfield county, 
Connecticut. There he labored for the 



spiritual uplift of his people for thirty 
years, and died December 26, 1763. He 
married, July 20, 1725, Mary Lewis, 
daughter of Captain James Lewis, of 
Stratford, Connecticut, a descendant of 
Governor Thomas Welles. 

Epaphras Goodsell, son of the Rev. 
John and Mary (Lewis) Goodsell, was 
born in 1742. and in 1776 enlisted with his 
three brothers in Captain Dimon"s com- 
pany of Fairfield. On January i, 1777, he 
enlisted in Captain Mills' company, Sec- 
ond Regiment, Connecticut Line, fought 
at Monmouth and sufifered at Valley 
Forge. Zalmon Goodsell, son of Sergeant 
Epaphras Goodsell, was the father of 
Epaphras B. Goodsell, who, for eight 
years, 1853-61, was postmaster of Bridge- 
port and mayor of the city in 1871-72-73. 
He married Eliza Butts. 

Zalmon (2) Goodsell, son of Epaphras 
B. and Eliza (Butts) Goodsell, was born 
in South Kent, Connecticut, March 19, 
1845, but spent many years of his boy- 
hood at the home of his grandfather, Zal- 
m.on Goodsell, at Brookfield, where he 
attended the public schools. Later he at- 
tended high school in Bridgeport, and fin- 
ished his studies at the private school of 
Rev. Mr. Noble, at Brookfield. It was his 
father's wish that his son enter the min- 
istry, but his inclination was all for a 
business career, and his own wishes pre- 
vailed. His first position was as clerk in 
the grocery of Andrew Nash, in Bridge- 
port, his next at the railroad station, 
where he was in charge of the newsstand. 
At the newsstand he made the acquaint- 
ance of many of the city's business men, 
among them Nathaniel Wheeler and Wil- 
liam D. Bishop, both of whom took a 
deep interest in the boy. Through Mr. 
Wheeler's influence he obtained a good 
position in the Wheeler & Wilson factory, 
but left it to go into business with 
\\"heeler Beers. At the end of a vear. 



134 






c>^^i.,e_^^ 



PUB'":nBFARY| 



[TILD •■ 



I OX I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with the financial aid of his friend, Wil- 
liam D. Bishop, he bought out Mr. Beers, 
and continued in the same business until 
1875, part of that time as a member of 
the firm of Bradbury, Goodsell & Wilmot. 
After withdrawing from that firm in 1875, 
he resumed business independently, first 
on Fairfield avenue, later on Main street, 
then locating on Water street. There he 
conducted a prosperous steam heating 
and plumbing business, built up a large 
fire insurance agency, and dealt largely 
in real estate. He has ably conducted his 
private business, and in its various 
branches has won material success. 

Mr. Goodsell's connection with the 
bvisiness world has extended far beyond 
the limits of his private affairs. From 
the date of his own membership he took 
a deep interest in the work of the Bridge- 
port Board of Trade, of which he is a 
charter member. He was also a member 
of the State Board of Trade, acting as 
vice-president under Lieutenant-Governor 
Dewell, and when the latter resigned, Mr. 
Goodsell was elected president, which 
ofifice he held two years. He served on 
the "good roads" committee, and repre- 
sented the board at the Pan-American 
Conference held in Philadelphia. In be- 
half of "good roads" he appeared several 
times before a committee of the Legisla- 
ture to advocate the improvement of pub- 
lic highways and other matters in which 
the board was interested. As a repre- 
sentative of the Bridgeport Board of 
Trade, he attended State and national 
conventions, and his address "Boards of 
Trade, Their Uses and How to Conduct 
Them," has been delivered in many New 
England cities. 

His connection with the Builders' Ex- 
change of Bridgeport began when it was 
a weakling. He infused new life into its 
ten members, and finally the exchange be- 
came a strong, effective organization, with 



a membership including men engaged in 
every branch of the building trades. As 
president, Mr. Goodsell represented the 
Bridgeport body as a delegate to the 
meeting of the National Association of 
Master Builders, held in Baltimore. He 
was also president of the Master Plumb- 
ers' Association, and one of the founders 
of the State Association of Master Plumb- 
ers, calling the first meeting in Bridge- 
port. He was also a delegate to the na- 
tional meetings of the association in Bos- 
ton and Milwaukee, and served on the 
legislative committee of both the State 
and national association. In 1910 Mr. 
Goodsell was nominated for secretary of 
the State of Connecticut by the State 
Convention. This came as a great sur- 
prise to Mr. Goodsell, as he had not been 
consulted on the subject, and it was a 
great compliment to him personally. 

His activity in private and public busi- 
ness affairs gained him a wide acquaint- 
ance, and as his reputation spread he had 
enormous demands made upon his time. 
He became a fluent, eloquent public 
speaker, filled many public appointments, 
presided at mass meetings and many ban- 
quets, his gracious, witty manner as 
toastmaster being so appreciated that he 
was often called upon for such duty at 
banquets given by the Board of Trade 
and the many organizations of which he 
is a member. At presentations, flag rais- 
ings, awarding of school prizes, celebra- 
tions and other occasions of civic interest, 
he is frequently the orator, and in all that 
means progress his interest has ever been 
intense. 

A Democrat in politics, he served four 
years as a member of the Board of Public 
Works, by appointment of Mayor DeFor- 
rest; was a candidate of his party for 
mayor of Bridgeport and for State Sena- 
tor, and when the issue became acute be- 
tween the followers of President Cleve- 



135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



land and William J. Bryan, he adhered to 
the former, and was a delegate to the 
Indianapolis convention of Gold Demo- 
crats which nominated a ticket in oppo- 
sition to the "Free Silver" candidate. 

In the Masonic order he has attained 
all the degrees of the York and Scottish 
Rites up to and including the thirty-sec- 
ond degree, and is a past official of many 
of the separate bodies of these Rites, and 
was commander of the Hamilton Com- 
mandery in 1900. He had delved deep 
into the "mysteries," and as a lecturer on 
the "Origin of Masonry" has appeared 
before several lodges. He is a member 
of the Masonic Veterans' Association of 
Connecticut, and of that social branch of 
Masonry, the Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. His fraternal affiliations also in- 
clude the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, Improved Order of Red Alen, An- 
cient Order of United Workmen, Royal 
Arcanum, Heptasophs, Woodmen, and 
Foresters. The Boys' Club has in him a 
generous friend, as has the Young Men's 
Christian Association, and in both the 
Bridgeport Scientific and Historical soci- 
eties he has long been active and inter- 
ested. His eloquent speech is frequently 
requisitional by these various societies 
and lodges, and he never refuses their 
call, giving lavishly of his time and means 
to aid every good cause. 

The services of his great-grandfather, 
Sergeant Epaphras Goodsell, entitle him 
to membership in the patriotic order. Sons 
of the American Revolution, and he early 
became a member of the State chapter, 
being a delegate to Chicago in 1893. In 
1894 he was elected a member of the 
State board of managers, and has ever 
been active in the order which has done 
so much to preserve the traditions of the 
Revolution, and mark its places of historic 
interest. He was one of the organizers of 
General Gold Selleck Silliman Chapter in 



Bridgeport, and its chief executive officer 
for several years. He is a charter mem- 
ber of the Seaside Club, and a member of 
those other social organizations of Bridge- 
port, Algonquin, Outing, Country, Park, 
City Yacht, Brooklawn Country, Bridge- 
port and Athletic club. He was president 
of the Bridgeport Athletic Club, and pres- 
ident of the Pequonock Social Club. He 
was long a trustee and vice-president of 
the Bridgeport branch of the Connecti- 
cut Cooperative Saving Society. 

Mr. Goodsell married Caroline E. Fox, 
in 1868, daughter of Charles Fox. They 
are the parents of three children: Zalmon 
(3), died in infancy: Elizabeth Jane, mar- 
ried Joel Sellick, she died in June, 1914, 
leaving two boys named Joel and Zalmon 
Goodsell Sellick; Mary Caroline, married 
George H. Graves, of New Haven, and 
they are the parents of a daughter, Caro- 
line. 



CHAMBERLAIN, Frederick S., 

Financier. 

Frederick S. Chamberlain, cashier of 
the New Britain National Bank, and 
treasurer of the State of Connecticut, is 
in the eighth generation of one of New 
England's oldest families, and one that 
has for many years been prominent in 
Connecticut. Mr. Chamberlain was born 
August 19, 1872, in New Britain, son of 
Judge and Captain Valentine B. and Anna 
I. (Smith) Chamberlain. 

The Chamberlain family is an ancient 
one in England, having been established 
there by the Count de Tankerville, of 
Tankerville Castle, in Normandy, who 
came to England with William the Con- 
queror in 1066. His son, John, was Lord 
Chamberlain to Henry I. of England in 
1 125. His son, Richard, held the same 
office under King Stephen, and was at one 
time mayor of London. From his posi- 



136 



ExNCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tion in the royal household he assumed 
the patronymic of Chamberlaine, retain- 
ing the Tankerville coat-of-arm,s. A de- 
scendant of Richard Chamberlaine took 
the Earl of Leicester prisoner, for which 
act he had permission from the king to 
quarter the arms of Leicester with those 
of Tankerville, and from that time they 
are to be interpreted together. The crest, 
an ass's head, indicates in the art of 
heraldry, honest, dogged perseverance, 
and true worthiness, characteristic of the 
founder and first of the name, and the 
motto, "Stubborn in the Right," a very 
suitable one for a family ever noted for 
its firmness. 

The immediate ancestry of W^illiam 
Chamberlain, the American immigrant, 
from whom our subject is descended, has 
not been traced. He was born about 1620. 
He was admitted an inhabitant of Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts. January 6. 164S, and 
removed to Billerica in 1654, where he 
lived until his death. May 31, 1706. His 
name first appears on the records in Octo- 
ber. 1654, on a petition to enlarge the 
boundaries of the town and to change the 
name from Shawshin to Billerica. He 
married Rebecca , who died Sep- 
tember 26, 1692, in the prison at Cam- 
bridge, where she was held under the pre- 
posterous charge of witchcraft. 

Their fifth child was Jacob Chamber- 
lain, who was born January 18, 1657-58, 
in Billerica. It is very difficult to distin- 
guish the records of the various members 
of this family bearing the name of Jacob 
in the second and third generations. Ac- 
cording to the researches of George W. 
Chamberlain for the Chamberlain Asso- 
ciation, however, the Jacob of Newton, 
who was our subject's ancestor, married 

Experience . Jackson himself, 

author of the "History of Newton," 
altered the town records by inserting the 
name of Susanna as the wife of this Jacob 



in the copy of the birth record of Jason 
and Ebenezer. Jacob Chamberlain re- 
moved from West Cambridge to Newton 
about 1699. He was admitted a freeman 
in 1690. 

Their son, Jason Chamberlain, was born 
February 21, 1701, in Newton, and mar- 
ried Hannah Clark. He was a man of 
ability, and took an active part in pub- 
lic affairs. 

Their son, Colonel Jason Chamberlain, 
represented the town of Holliston in the 
State Convention that adopted the fed- 
eral constitution, and was often a repre- 
sentative to the General Court. 

Samuel Chamberlain, son of Colonel Ja- 
son Chamberlain, was born July 18, 1734, 
at Holliston, then part of Sherborn. He 
married Margaret Bullard, of Mendon, 
Massachusetts, and about 1765 removed 
to Sandisfield, Massachusetts. There he 
enlisted in Colonel Ashley's regiment, the 
muster returns being dated January 25, 
1778, at Valley Forge. 

Their son, Samuel Clark Chamberlain, 
was born May 25, 1765. at Sandisfield. He 
lived there and at Colebrook. Connecti- 
cut, where he died November 30, 1835. 
He married for his second wife, Hannah 
Conklin, born October 30, 1772, died May 
2, 1846. 

Their son, Abiram Chamberlain, our 
subject's grandfather, was born October 2, 
1799. He was educated in the common 
schools, and acquired a knowledge of 
surveying and civil engineering. Some 
years after his marriage he removed to 
Colebrook River. Litchfield county. Con- 
necticut, and thence in 1856. to New 
Britain, where the remainder of his life 
was spent. He was much occupied with 
the profession of surveyor, and for some 
years was surveyor for the borough of 
New Britain. The preliminary surveys 
and plans for supplying water from Shut- 
tle meadow to the borough were made by 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



him, and the work of instalHng the sys- 
tem was in his charge a number of years. 
He married, May 6, 1829, at Sandisfield, 
Massachusetts, Sophronia Burt, born Jan- 
uary 9. 1805, in Tolland, Connecticut, 
daughter of Caleb and Anne (Murray) 
Burt, and a descendant of Henry and 
Eulalia Burt, pioneers of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Abiram Chamberlain died 
October 14, 1876. In an obituary notice 
the "New Britain Record" said: "As a 
civil engineer he was accurate and care- 
ful. The city has occasion to remember 
the great service which he so unostenta- 
tiously and faithfully rendered. As a pub- 
lic officer he was courteous and unremit- 
ting in his conscientious efforts faithfully 
to discharge the duties entrusted to him. 
Ill health compelled him to resign his 
duties as surveyor and water commis- 
sioner some years since, and since that 
time continued ill health has kept him 
from engaging in active work. Deacon 
Chamberlain is mourned by his neigh- 
bors, townsmen and church brethren, who 
knew him as a kindly man, an upright 
citizen and an earnest and sincere Chris- 
tian." Mrs. Chamberlain died October 4, 
1889, aged eighty-four years. She was 
a member of Center Church, New Britain. 
She was strong, healthy and vigorous 
until her last illness, which lasted about 
four months. She was the last of ten 
children to pass away, all living to old 
age. 

Their son, Valentine B. Chamberlain, 
was born April 13, 1833, at Colebrook 
River, and died June 25, 1893. He was 
prepared for college at the Connecticut 
Literary Institute, Suffield, and was grad- 
uated from Williams College in 1857. He 
read law under the preceptorship of S. E. 
Case, of New Britain, and was admitted 
to the bar in 1859. In 1861 he was clerk 
of the House of Representatives. During 
the Civil War he was lieutenant and cap- 



tain in the Seventh Connecticut Regi- 
ment, Volunteer Infantry. He was se- 
lected to command the picked battalion 
of the Seventh Regiment, which made the 
assault at Fort Wagner in 1863, and was 
one of the handful of men who scaled the 
parapet of the rebel fort and was captured 
inside. He was kept a prisoner at Co- 
lumbia, South Carolina, until March, 
1865. For several years after the war. 
Captain Chamberlain was in business in 
the South. He then returned to New 
Britain, and soon afterward was elected 
judge of the City Court, and reelected to 
this office from time to time as long as he 
lived ; was alderman 1875-76. In 1880 he 
was elected judge of probate for the dis- 
trict ; in 1884 was elected State Treas- 
urer ; for a short time was assistant pen- 
sion agent ; was president of the Me- 
chanics' National Bank, and a director in 
various industrial corporations, including 
Stanley Works and the Union Manufac- 
turing Company. As a public speaker he 
had few rivals in the State, and his serv- 
ices were especially in demand on Memo- 
rial Day. He married, November 17, 
1870. Anna I. Smith, daughter of, Elizur 
Smith, of New Britain. Their children 
were : Frederick Stanley, mentioned be- 
low ; Louise, married Walter H. Hart, of 
New Britain : Ruth, married James S. 
North ; Grace, married Frank G. Vib- 
berts : Cornelia ; Anna, married Dr. Fred- 
erick C. Ferry, president of Hamilton Col- 
lege ; Bertha; Valentine B., Jr., superin- 
tendent of rolling mill of Stanley W^orks, 
and an alderman of the city of New 
Britain ; Margaret, married Russell C. 
Germond ; Rodman W., second lieutenant 
of Company I, First Connecticut Infan- 
try. 

Frederick Stanley Chamberlain, son of 
Judge Valentine B. and Anna I. (Smith) 
Chamberlain, and a nephew of former 
Governor Abiram Chamberlain, was born 



138 



THE NEW YOr.X 1 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTO;7. LEf'OX I 

: :i_D.:iJ FC -i.D t;;->:^ I 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



August 19. 1872, in New Britain, and re- 
ceived his education in the public schools. 
In 1889 he entered the employ of the 
Mechanics' National Bank, where, by dint 
of struggling effort, he rose to assistant 
cashier in 1905. In 1907 he was elected 
cashier and a director of the New Britain 
National Bank ; was also a director of 
Stanley Works. Mr. Chamberlain was 
connected with the city government of 
New Britain for four years as council- 
man. 1904-05-06-07. He resigned in 1908, 
when he was elected city treasurer, and 
in 1915 became State Treasurer. He also 
served as president of the Board of 
Finance and Taxation. He is affiliated 
with the Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks, and is a member of the New 
Britain Club, Hartford Golf Club, New 
Britain Golf Club, Chamberlain Council, 
Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics, and is also president of the Con- 
necticut Bankers' Association. Mr. Cham- 
berlain married, November 19, 1896, Irene 
B. Robinson, daughter of Henry C. Rob- 
inson, and they have one son, James R., 
born March 25, 1900. 



GOODRICH, Elizur Stillman, 

State Senator. 

Association and environment were very 
likely potent in determining the choice 
made by Mr. Goodrich when determining 
upon his career in life. His father was a 
civil engineer, surveying and aiding in 
the construction of steam railroads. While 
still young the Hartford, Providence & 
Fishkill railroad was in course of con- 
struction, therefore, with inherited taste 
and opportunity combining, his choice 
was quickly made. From his entrance, 
while quite young, into the office of the 
chief engineer in charge of the construc- 
tion of the railroad named until the pres- 
ent, he has been connected with steam, 



street and steamboat transportation, win- 
ning executive position and high personal 
reputation. 

He is of the seventh American genera- 
tion of the family founded in Connecti- 
cut by William Goodrich, of Wethers- 
field. In England, the name Goodrich is 
very ancient, found there as Godric as 
early as 870, but not as a surname. Good- 
ridge was a common form of the name 
until a comparatively recent date. Famous 
Goodrich Castle, a typical fortified castle 
of medieval Saxon style with Norman 
additions, dates back to the era before the 
Norman Conquest. It was dismantled 
and all but destroyed by order of Parlia- 
ment during the Civil War, dated Alarch 
I, 1647. I^s ruins stand on an eminence 
near the southwestern extremity of Here- 
fordshire, on the eastern bank of the river 
Wye. 

\\'ethersfield, Connecticut, has been the 
seat of this branch of the Goodrich family 
since the settlement by William Good- 
rich, and his marriage is there recorded to 
Sarah Marvin, of Hartford, October 4, 
1648. He was deputy to the General 
Court in 1662. member of the grand jury 
and ensign of the train band. The line of 
descent is through his son, William (2) 
Goodrich : his son. Lieutenant Joseph 
Goodrich ; his son, Nathaniel Goodrich ; 
his son, Simeon Goodrich ; his son, Elizur 
Goodrich ; his son, Elizur S. Goodrich, all 
born in and lifelong residents of Wethers- 
field except the last named, who is a resi- 
dent of Hartford, but born in Wethers- 
field. 

Elizur Goodrich, born February 20, 
1798. died February 10, 1854; was a civil 
engineer. He married, July 16, 1832, 
Jerusha Stillman, born December 18, 1803, 
died January 2, 1835, daughter of Captain 
George and Martha (Deming) Stillman, 
a descendant in the sixth generation of 
George Stillman. 

139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Elizur Stillman Goodrich was born at 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, December 28, 
1834, only son of Elizur and Jerusha 
(Stillman) Goodrich. He attended pub- 
lic schools at Wethersfield and Williston 
Seminary at Easthampton, Massachu- 
setts, then at the age of twenty years, in 
1854. secured his first position. This was 
in the office of the chief engineer of the 
Hartford, Providence & Fishkill railroad, 
then in course of construction. He grad- 
uated from the engineering to the busi- 
ness department of the road, and at the 
end of his ten years' connection had mas- 
tered the details of both departments to 
a large degree. In 1864 he resigned his 
position in the office of the general ticket 
agent to become manager of the Hartford 
& Wethersfield Horse Railway Company, 
organized the previous year. He was 
chosen president of the company in Janu- 
ary, 1864, and under his direct manage- 
ment the road began its successful career 
that only terminated forty years later, 
when the name of the company was 
changed to the Hartford Street Railway 
Company. During those forty years Mr. 
Goodrich was president of the company 
and its manager, responsible for its ex- 
pansion and its success. The company of 
which it is now a part controls a system 
completely traversing the streets of Hart- 
ford, and connecting the capitol city with 
a number of adjacent towns. 

In 1885 Air. Goodrich became president 
of the Hartford & New York Transporta- 
tion Company, then practically bankrupt, 
with an old, worn out fleet of steamboats. 
W'ith characteristic vigor he injected new 
life into the concern, scrapped the old 
boats, replacing them with steamers of 
modern construction and design. The 
company was placed upon a sound finan- 
cial basis, and as its executive head Mr. 
Goodrich is guarantee of its stability. He 
has not given his entire time to transpor- 



tation problems, although that has been 
his important life work and the activity 
that has most benefited by his ability as 
organizer and executive. He has other 
interests of importance and has aided all 
efforts to bring Hartford into prominence 
as a business center. 

A Republican in politics he represented 
Wethersfield in the General Assembly in 
1895, serving on committees of incorpora- 
tion and judiciary. In 1897 he was elect- 
ed State Senator from the second dis- 
trict, serving as chairman of the commit- 
tee on cities and boroughs. His legisla- 
tive work satisfied his constituents and he 
was returned to the Senate in 1899 and 
again in 1901. Mr. Goodrich was "made 
a Mason" in St. John's Lodge, later be- 
coming, by demit, a charter member of 
Lafayette Lodge. He is also a Royal 
Arch Mason, a Capitular Mason and a 
Knights Templar, holding his Templar 
membership in Washington Comxnand- 
ery, and is a member of Sphinx Temple, 
Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Goodrich married, October 19, 1859, 
Mary A. Hanmer, and has two children : 
I. James R., married (first) Elizabeth 
Judd. who died July 12, 1901, leaving two 
children, James Stillman and William 
Judd Goodrich; he married (second) Jan- 
uary 17, 1906, Ella E. Reed, of Worcester, 
and has a daughter, Mary Hanmer Good- 
rich. 2. Mabel E., married George Hills 
Gilman. of the law firm of Hyde, Joslyn, 
Gilman & Hungerford. 



HUBBARD, Charles Edward, 

Business Man. 

It is an old tradition in the Hubbard 
family in England, that the name was 
derived from Hubba (Ubba or Ubbo), 
the Danish sea king, who in the fall of 
866 with an immense fleet and twenty 
thousand warriors landed on the coast of 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



East-Anglia or Kent to avenge the death 
of his father, Ragnar Lodbrog. The lat- 
ter, whose invasions had made his name a 
cause for terror on the shores of the Bal- 
tic and the British Isles, after taking pos- 
session of Paris, planned an invasion of 
England. His expedition was wrecked on 
the coast of Northumbria, but Ragnar 
with a band of his followers who reached 
the shore, heedless of their numerical in- 
feriority, began their usual career of dep- 
redation. At the first news of the descent 
of the Norsemen, the Northumbrians flew 
to the coast, fought the invaders, making 
Ragnar a prisoner. He was put to death 
at once, and is said to have consoled his 
last moments with the hope "that the 
cubs of the boar would avenge his fate." 

Having spent the winter in fortifying 
his camp and equipping his followers, 
Hubba, in February, 867, seized York. 
Though the Northumbrians gave battle 
with desperate fury, Hubba's forces tri- 
umphed. They killed Osbert in battle, 
but took prisoner Aella, his erstwhile 
rival chieftain, but now compatriot in 
fighting the common foe. Hubba and his 
followers now gave themselves the pleas- 
ure of torturing to death the men who 
had thrown King Ragnar Lodbrog into a 
cage of snakes to be devoured. 

This victory gave Hubba and his 
brother Hingua undisputed possession of 
all the country south of the Tyne and 
north of Nottingham. They continued to 
increase their dominions by victorious in- 
vasions of the surrounding country, their 
exploits forming one of the most thrilling 
chapters in early British history. Hubba 
was finally slain in his camp with twelve 
hundred of his followers by Odyn. Scat- 
tered across Britain and Wales have stood 
seven historic eminences each known as 
"Hubba's Hill." 

It is common knowledge that there was 
great confusion in spelling names during 



several centuries following the adoption 
of family surnames, and that of Hubbard 
was no exception to the rule, more than 
fifty diiTerent spellings of what is ap- 
parently the same name being found on 
record. Even in America the forms Hub- 
bard, Hubbert, Hubard, Hubert, Hobart, 
and Hobert are common. 

Several branches of the family in Eng- 
land have borne coats-of-arms. The im- 
mediate antecedents of George Hubbard, 
the immigrant ancestor of the branch of 
the family herein followed have not been 
identified. He was born in the southeast- 
ern section of England, possibly in Essex 
or Surrey. Traditions say he came to 
Watertown, Massachusetts, about 1633. 
If this is true, he was there but a short 
time. He married Mary Bishop, who 
died in Guilford, September 14, 1675, a 
daughter of John and Anne Bishop. In 
1639 John Bishop removed from Wethers- 
field to Guilford, Connecticut, of which 
town he was one of the seven pillars or 
proprietors. He died there in February, 
1661. 

George Hubbard was a member of that 
band of about sixty men, women and chil- 
dren who left Watertown, Massachusetts, 
on October 15, 1635, and came through the 
wilderness to Connecticut. In 1636 he 
and Samuel Wakeman were appointed by 
the General Court to make certain surveys 
relating to the bounds of Windsor and 
W^ethersfield. He represented Wethers- 
field at the first Colonial General Court, 
under the constitution of 1639, an office to 
which freemen only were eligible. He is 
referred to as "a prominent surveyor" and 
did much work in that line. He drew lot 
No. 14 of the "three mile lots," which con- 
tained one hundred and ninety-five acres 
and was located in North Glastonbury. 
After three years residence in W^ethers- 
field, he removed to Milford, being as- 
signed Milford Island as his grant. He 

41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was admitted to the church there, Janu- 
ary 15, 1644. Before 1650 he sold the 
Island and removed to Guilford. On Sep- 
tember 22, 1648, he bought the property 
of Jacob Sheafife. George Hubbard was 
a deputy magistrate during the years 
1652-55-57-58-60-62-65-66. In 1666-67 he 
was a member of the Assembly at the 
union of the Hartford and New Haven 
colonies. In May, 1670, the court gave 
him authority to "joyne persons in mar- 
riage." It is said of him, "He was a man 
of high standing and prominent in the 
politics of his times." He died in Guil- 
ford in January, 1683, leaving an estate 
appraised at five hundred and sixty-four 
pounds eight shillings and six pence, 
showing him to be prosperous, thrifty 
and well off for his day. 

His son. John Hubbard, was born in 
England about 1630. It is claimed that 
he lived at Concord for a time with rela- 
tives of his wife. He married Mary Mer- 
riam, and became a resident of Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, where his first four 
children were born. He was one of the 
company that removed to Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1659. He was made free- 
man, March 26, 1661. After 1672 he re- 
moved to Hatfield, and died there at the 
home of his son, Isaac, in 1702. 

His son, John Hubbard, was born in 
Wethersfield, April 12, 1655. He lived in 
Glastonbury and died there about 1748. 
He married, about 1676, Mary, widow of 
John Elson and a daughter of Thomas 
Wright. He received the "Hubbard 
Lots" from his father and purchased sev- 
eral other tracts, becoming a large land- 
owner. In 1692 he and Samuel Smith 
each donated five acres of land on which 
was located the old cemetery and meeting 
house green. The site of the church is 
now occupied by the town hall. In 1704 
he was called sergeant, was a member of 
the school committee, and was authorized 



to erect a mill on Roaring brook. He was 
a member of the Legislature from 1700 to 
1724. 

His son, David Hubbard, was born in 
Glastonbury in 1685, and died there Oc- 
tober 13, 1760. He married Prudence, 
widow of Judah Holcomb and a daughter 
of David and Prudence (Churchill) Good- 
rich. He received land from his father in 
Glastonbury in 1720 ; was a member of the 
Eastbury School Society whose records in 
1749 mention him as "Captain D. Hub- 
bard, 2w, 3d and boarding himself £12. 5s." 
In the same year there was "liberty 
granted to Captain David Hubbard to 
erect a corn-mill over Blackleach River." 
He served eight terms in the Legislature 
between 1724 and 1734. He served in the 
army under General Wolfe at Montreal. 

His son, Nathaniel Hubbard, the great- 
grandfather of the Mr. Hubbard of this 
sketch, was born in Glastonbury in 1758 
(perhaps 1755). He lived at Bolton, and 
was married four times, our subject being 
descended from Ruth Hale, the last wife, 
whom he married in 1805. He engaged 
in farming on a large scale. 

His son. Dr. Denison Hubbard, was 
born in Bolton, Tolland county, Connec- 
ticut, in 1805. His education was re- 
ceived in the common schools and also at 
Bacon Academy at Colchester. In addi- 
tion to these advantages, his father pro- 
vided him with a private tutor from whom 
he learned Latin and the higher branches 
of mathematics. His mind was bent on 
the study of medicine from an early age, 
but his first actual tuition in this subject 
was under the preceptorship of Dr. Tal- 
cott, of what was then Killingworth, Con- 
necticut, now Clinton. Thereafter he en- 
tered the Yale Medical School, where he 
completed his studies and was graduated 
with the class of 1829, taking his degree 
of Doctor of Medicine. At first Dr. Hub- 
bard located at Glastonbury, but he later 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



removed to Bloomfield, Connecticut, 
where for a time he carried on a success- 
ful practice. Eventually, however, he re- 
turned to Clinton, where for forty years 
he was a conspicuous figure in the com- 
munity's life and was well known and 
generally beloved, both in his profes- 
sional capacity and as a man throughout 
the entire region. It was here that his 
death eventually occurred in the year 
1864. an event which caused great grief 
to the entire community. Dr. Hubbard 
was at first united with the Abolitionist 
party in politics, but eventually joined the 
Republican party. He was an ardent ad- 
mirer of William Lloyd Garrison and 
Wendell Phillips, and was himself very 
eloquent in the anti-slavery agitation of 
those years. In spite of his prominence 
in the movement, however, he consist- 
ently refused to hold public office of any 
kind, preferring to exert what influence 
he could from the more disinterested posi- 
tion of the private citizens. He was a 
Congregationalist in his belief and for 
many years attended the church of that 
denomination at Clifton, taking an active 
part in its affairs and serving as a trustee. 
Dr. Hubbard married Pamela A. Hub- 
bard, a native of Glastonbury, where she 
was born in 181 1, a daughter of David E. 
and Pamela (Hollister) Hubbard, and a 
granddaughter of Eleazer and Lois 
(Wright) Hubbard. David E. Hubbard, 
her father, was an important figure in 
the life of Glastonbury, representing that 
town in the State Legislature a number 
of times and serving as judge of probate 
for many years. He was a farmer during 
the early part of his life, but later resided 
in the town of Eastbury, where he en- 
gaged in a mercantile line of business. To 
Dr. and IMrs. Hubbard the following chil- 
dren were born : Charles H., mentioned 
below ; Edward D., who died in July, 
1864, at the Cumberland Hospital, where 



at the time he was serving as a medical 
interne ; and Alary ]., deceased. 

Their son, Charles H. Hubbard, was 
born July 31, 1836, at Bloomfield, Hartford 
county, Connecticut, during the period in 
which his parents lived at that place. He 
returned with them, however, to Clinton, 
Connecticut, when about eight years of 
age, and it was there that the elementary 
portion of his education was received at 
the local public schools. Upon complet- 
ing his studies at these institutions, he 
entered Williston Seminary at Easthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, a very well known in- 
stitution, and graduated therefrom with 
the class of 1853. About this time, how- 
ever, his health failed him and he was 
obliged to abandon for a time his studies. 
After a considerable rest, however, his 
health apparently having been entirely 
restored, he engaged in the profession of 
teaching and secured a position with the 
Massachusetts Reform School at West- 
boro in that State. Here he remained for 
a number of years, and it was while thus 
engaged that his attention first became 
definitely directed towards medicine as a 
possible career in life. He had, of course, 
the strong inducement afforded by the 
consideration that his father had achieved 
such a notable success in the same line, 
but his own tastes were in the main re- 
sponsible for his taking up its study. For 
a time he pursued his subject alone, while 
still employed at the Reform School, but 
later gave up his work there and returned 
to Clinton, where he began to work under 
the preceptorship of his father. Later he 
entered the Yale Medical School, from 
which he graduated in January, i860, with 
his degree of Doctor of Medicine. In the 
month of July in that same year, young 
Dr. Hubbard began the practice of his 
profession in the town of Essex, where 
he succeeded to the practice of Dr. Shep- 
hard, whose death had occurred the pre- 



143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ceding April. Here he rapidly estab- 
lished himself in the good opinion of his 
fellow citizens and built up the largest 
and most high class practice in the entire 
region. For many years he was consid- 
ered the leading physician in that vicin- 
ity and indeed remained active in the life 
of the place until his death, which oc- 
curred at the venerable age of seventy- 
eight or seventy-nine years. He was a 
director of the Essex Savings Bank, much 
interested in educational work there and 
took a very active part in local affairs 
generally. Dr. Hubbard was a lifelong 
Republican, but although he felt strongly 
on all the issues of his time, the demands 
made upon him by his professional tasks 
were of so onerous a nature that he found 
it impossible to take the active part in 
politics to which his tastes impelled him 
and for which his talents fitted him so 
eminently. He did, however, find it pos- 
sible to serve on the Board of Education 
and remained a member thereof for twen- 
ty-five years, acting during much of this 
time as school visitor and for many years 
as health officer and medical examiner. 
Dr. Hubbard, like his father before him, 
was a Congregationalist, and was very 
active in the support of the Congrega- 
tional church of Essex. He was a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order. He was also 
a member of both County and State 
Medical societies. Dr. Hubbard was 
united in marriage with Cherrilla G. 
Conklin, a native of Essex, born in the 
year 1838, a daughter of George and Mary 
(Griswold) Conklin. They were the par- 
ents of the following children : Mary P., 
who became the wife of Charles R. 
Bishop, of New Haven ; Jennie D. ; Car- 
rie C, deceased ; and Charles Edward, 
who is mentioned at length below. 

Charles Edward Hubbard was born June 
24, 1868, at Essex, Connecticut. His early 
education was received in the local pub- 



lic schools, and he later attended Wes- 
leyan Academy at Wilbraham, Massachu- 
setts. Upon completing his course at the 
latter institution, he at once took up the 
serious business of life and secured a 
position in the old Mercantile Bank of 
Hartford, where he remained for a short 
time. He then entered the employ of the 
E. Taylor & Sons Lumber Company, but 
did not remain a great while with this 
concern either. Being of an ambitious 
and enterprising disposition, he decided 
to follow the advice given by Horace 
Greeley to the young m€n of his day and 
go West. Accordingly, he traveled to 
Chicago and there entered the employ of 
the B. F. Goodrich Rubber Company, 
with which concern he remained for three 
or four years. In 1893, however, he re- 
turned to the East and for a short time 
held a position in the accounting depart- 
ment of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford Railroad Company. It was 
shortly afterwards that he came to Hart- 
ford, which has since been his perma- 
nent home and where he resided unin- 
terruptedly for nine or ten years. He 
was employed by the Farmington Street 
Railway Company. In this concern he 
worked his way well up, until he was 
chosen to the double ofifice of secretary 
and manager of the company. He eventu- 
ally resigned this position, however, to 
become purchasing agent for the Mahon- 
ing & Shenango Railway and Light Com- 
pany of Youngstown, Ohio. He went to 
that western city and there remained for 
about eighteen months, after which he 
returned to Hartford, which has been his 
home ever since. By this time Mr. Hub- 
bard had reached a point where he felt 
justified in starting in business on his 
own account, and accordingly, upon com- 
ing to Hartford, he purchased from Mr. 
S. B. Bosworth his present business, 
which has rapidly grown in size and im- 

144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



portance up to the present time. His con- 
cern deals in cement and sewer pipe in 
both wholesale and retail trades and is 
now the largest business of its kind be- 
tween New York and Boston. Mr. Hub- 
bard has played an exceedingly prominent 
part in the general life of the community, 
and although in no sense of the term a 
politician is regarded as a powerful factor 
in local affairs and has held a number of 
public offices. He served as a member 
of the police commission from 1914 to the 
beginning of 1917, and during this time 
performed an invaluable service for the 
community. He is also a conspicuous 
figure in the social and club life of Hart- 
ford, and is a member of the local lodge 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks and of the Rotary and City clubs. 
He was also a member of the old Hart- 
ford Wheel Club, having been an enthusi- 
astic bicyclist, and served on its board of 
governors. He is now a member of the 
Wethersfield Country Club, and is still 
devoted to outdoor pastimes of all kind. 

Mr. Hubbard was united in marriage, 
on October 19, 1898, with Mary Chamber- 
lain, of Hartford, a daughter of Samuel D. 
Chamberlain, a highly respected resident 
of that city. Two children have been 
born to them as follows : Sarah, Septem- 
ber 6, 1908, and Charles H., February 11, 
1910. 

A word is here appropriate concerning 
the Griswold family, from which Mr. 
Hubbard is descended through his ma- 
ternal grandmother and which for many 
years has occupied a distinguished posi- 
tion in various sections of Connecticut. 
This lady was the wife of George Conk- 
lin and the mother of Cherrilla G. (Conk- 
lin) Hubbard. The immigrant ancestor 
of the family was Mathew Griswold, 
who with his brother Edward came from 
Warwick, England, in 1639, in company 
with the Rev. Mr. Hunt's party, who 



came to Windsor, Connecticut, that year. 
Mathew Griswold married Anna Wolcott 
in 1646, removed to Saybrook as agent 
for Colonel Fenwick, speedily assumed 
prominence, and was largely instrumental 
in the movements which led up to the 
settlement of Lyme ; he became the lead- 
ing and wealthiest man in that town, 
which was set off from Saybrook in 1665, 
establishing near the mouth of the Con- 
necticut river "Blackball," since the fam- 
ily seat of the Griswold family. His 
death occurred in 1698. He left a son, 
Mathew Griswold, who married and had 
a family; Mathew Griswold died in 1715. 

Selah Griswold, the grandfather of 
Samuel Griswold, was born in the north- 
eastern part of Killing-worth. Having 
been left an orphan at an early age, he 
was bound out to a farmer until he waf 
sixteen years old, coming then to Essej^ 
which was then a part of Saybrook, and 
there learning the trade of shoemaker of 
a Mr. Starkey, who later became his 
father-in-law. Following his trade for 
a number of years, he later purchased a 
small farm and erected a house thereon, 
this farm being located about two miles 
south of Essex on the Bokum road. There 
he followed his trade and farming for the 
remainder of his active life, his death oc- 
curring when he was eighty-three years 
old. He married Mary Ann Starkey, and 
their children were : Daniel, Selah, Asel 
P. and Mary Ann. 

Daniel Griswold, the father of Samuel 
Griswold, was born in March, 1780, in 
what is now Essex, where he grew to 
manhood. Like his brothers, he learned 
the trade of shoemaker, which he fol- 
lowed during the winters, and each sum- 
mer for forty consecutive years he fol- 
lowed fishing, particularly for shad, in 
the Connecticut river, leaving both these 
occupations later in life to engage in 
farming. His estate near his beloved 



C!onn— 3— 10 



145 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



river was in Essex, and there he peace- 
fully passed away when almost ninety- 
one years old. For many years he was a 
surveyor of town roads. He was a man 
of superior mental faculties, had a won- 
derful memory, was a constant reader, 
and possessed sound judgment, ambition 
and energy. He was gifted in many di- 
rections, had great physical strength, and 
was a most excellent manager. Though 
a staunch Democrat, of the Jefifersonian 
type, he never accepted office, but was 
always interested in the success of his 
party. Daniel Griswold married Fanny 
Babcock, of Old Saybrook, daughter of 
William Babcock. She lived to the age 
of eighty. The children born to Daniel 
and Fanny (Babcock) Griswold were: 
Maria, who married Fordes Dennison ; 
Alfred, who married (first) Mary Ives, of 
Middletown, and (second) a lady named 
Joslyn ; Cherrilla, who married Giles O. 
Clark, of Chester ; William, who married 
Laura Tucker; Edwin, who married Eliz- 
abeth Griswold ; Mary, who married 
George Conklin ; Rachel, who married 
(first) Albert Pratt, and (second) George 
Pratt ; and Samuel. For his second wife 
Mr. Griswold married, late in life, Mrs. 
Spencer; they had no children. 



GLOVER, Charles, 

Business Man, Inventor. 

It is the glory of a self-made man that 
his boyhood was one of hardship and pri- 
vation, and that the more trying the con- 
ditions the greater the determination to 
overcome them. When such men gather 
and compare experiences all agree that 
none started life under greater disadvan- 
tages or were more heavily handicapped 
than Charles Glover, a hired farmer's boy 
at the age of ten, now president, vice- 
president and director of corporations of 
national importance. Of English birth 



and parentage, but living in the United 
States since the age of two years, he has 
all the love and devotion for his adopted 
State and Nation that a native son could 
have. His parents, George and Rebecca 
(Wood) Glover, came to the United 
States with their children in 1849, settling 
in the town of Enfield, Connecticut, where 
George Glover operated a small machine 
shop. The family is an old one in Not- 
tingham, England. 

Charles Glover was born June 16, 1847, 
in Nottingham, England, and when two 
years of age was brought to Enfield, Con- 
necticut. He attended public school until 
ten years of age. He then hired out to a 
farmer, living between Enfield and Haz- 
ardville. He worked for that farmer until 
he was fourteen, then was taken home by 
his father, who needed his help in the 
machine shop, his elder brothers all hav- 
ing enlisted in the Union army. The boy's 
tastes were decidedly mechanical, and he 
set about learning the machinist's trade 
with great satisfaction and diligence. He 
realized his need of further education, and 
as his days were fully occupied, his nights 
were devoted to study, his entire educa- 
tion beyond the rudiments having been 
acquired by night study. He rapidly ac- 
quired a good knowledge of the machin- 
ist's trade and when, in 1864, the family 
moved to Windsor Locks, he was able to 
secure and hold a position with the Medi- 
cott Knitting Company, as machinist. In 
1867 he entered the employ of the Na- 
tional Screw Company. He rated him- 
self an expert, and in the next year be- 
came foreman and contractor for the Na- 
tional Screw Company of Hartford, Con- 
necticut. He held that position until the 
business was sold to the American Screw 
Company of Providence, Rhode Island, 
then, in 1876, located in New Britain. P. 
and F. Corbin at that time were about 
adding a screw manufacturing depart- ^ 

46 ! 



7 : !" 


ViB 


H!^;. 

-ARY 


,' - 


, ... 





THE NEW YOl^X 
PUBLIC LIBRARY i 

J ASTOR, LENOX 

I ilLDEN FOUi\DATI0NS 




^// 





'ayu\ 




1^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment to their plant, and they secured the 
services of Mr. Glover to design and in- 
stall the necessary machinery for the new 
plant. After this was done he was placed 
in charge of screw manufacturing busi- 
ness, becoming noted for rare skill and 
ability as a mechanic and for his inven- 
tive genius. He found screw making and 
other machines used by hardware manu- 
facturers could be greatly improved, and 
there stands in his name more than twen- 
ty-five patents of great variety, chiefly 
devices to be used on screw making ma- 
chines and in manufacturing hardware 
specialties. He followed his own advice 
to young men, "Work hard and never 
give up," finally gaining recognition as 
one of the leading authorities on screw 
manufacture and screw mill operation. 
When the P. and F. Corbin Company 
consolidated with the Russell & Erwin 
Manufacturing Company, as the Ameri- 
can Hardware Corporation, there were 
two screw factories in New Britain, and 
one in Dayton, Ohio, involved in the deal. 
In 1903 these three factories were con- 
solidated as the Corbin Screw Corpora- 
tion (Inc.), Charles Glover, president. He 
continues the executive head of that cor- 
poration and its general manager ; is pres- 
ident of the D. C. Judd Company of New 
Britain ; vice-president of the American 
Hardware Corporation ; was a director of 
the Corbin Cabinet Lock Company; and 
a director of the P. and F. Corbin Com- 
pany, now part of the American Hard- 
ware Corporation ; president of the Cor- 
bin Motor Vehicle Corporation ; director 
of the New Britain National Bank; and 
president of the Skinner Chuck Company, 
the H. R. Walker Company of New 
Britain, of North & Judd Company, and 
of the /Etna Nut Company. 

These corporations are all factors in 
the manufacturing world, and in their di- 
rection Mr. Glover, when not the forceful 



executive and managing head, takes a 
keen and active interest as a director. He 
holds no sinecures, but is an untiring 
worker, the habits of early youth having 
become the constant practice of his ma- 
ture years. He is a life member of Lafa- 
yette Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Hartford, a Republican in poli- 
tics, and a member of the New Britain 
Club, the Farmington Country Club and 
the Hartford Club of Hartford. 

Mr. Glover married Margaret Sophia 
Wainwright, a daughter of Francis Wain- 
wright. Of the three children born to 
them but one survives, Ida M., widow of 
Walter P. Peterson, of New Britain ; her 
children, Margaret and Glover, the latter 
deceased. 



CAULKINS, Willis Eugene, 

Contractor and Builder. 

Willis Eugene Caulkins, the well known 
contractor and builder of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, is a member of a good old New 
England family, tracing its ancestry to 
Lemuel Caulkins, born 1752, died 1845. 
He served as a Revolutionary soldier, 
drafted August 24, 1777, discharged Octo- 
ber 30, 1777, a member of Captain Jona- 
than Caulkins' company. The following 
is taken from "Connecticut Men in the 
Revolution :" "Two large regiments of 
militia composed of detachments from all 
the brigades were ordered to reinforce 
General Gates at Saratoga in the summer 
of 1777- They were assigned to General 
Poor's Continental brigade in Arnold's di- 
vision, and fought in both battles with the 
enemy, September 19 and October 9, 1777. 
In the first battle they lost more men than 
any other two regiments in the field. 
Upon their dismissal, after the surrender 
of General Burgoyne, General Gates spoke 
of them as two excellent militia regiments 
from Connecticut. They were commanded 

47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



by Colonel Jonathan Latimer, of New 
London, and Thaddeus Cook, of Walling- 
ford." Lemuel Caulkins married, 1781, 
Lucretia Chappel, who bore him nine chil- 
dren. 

Ezekiel Caulkins, eldest child of Lem- 
uel and Lucretia (Chappel) Caulkins, was 
born 1782, and resided for many years by 
the side of the lake at Waterford, Con- 
necticut, where he was a well known 
figure and prominent in local affairs. He 
married, in 1814, Polly Darrow, who bore 
him eight children. 

John F. E. Caulkins, youngest child of 
Ezekiel and Polly (Darrow) Caulkins, 
was born 1832, died December 13, 1862. 
He resided in the old family residence, 
where his birth occurred, and was the re- 
cipient of an excellent education, which 
placed him in such a position that he was 
able to follow the profession of school 
teaching for several years. Believing, 
however, that a larger opportunity awaited 
him in the line of business, he abandoned 
this occupation and learned the trade of 
mason, which he followed as a journey- 
man for a time. Shortly afterwards he 
began to engage in the same line on his 
own account, and it was not long ere he 
succeeded in building up a large and 
lucrative business, and continued so en- 
gaged during the remainder of his life. 
He went West, where he remained for a 
number of years, but returned to the East 
a short time prior to the Civil War. Upon 
the outbreak of hostilities, he enlisted in 
the Fourteenth Regiment, Connecticut 
Volunteer Infantry, as a member of Cap- 
tain Davis' company, and it was not long 
before he was sent to the front and saw 
active service, receiving a shot wound, of 
which he died, on the battlefield of Fred- 
ericksburg. He married, in 1852, Sarah 
A. Ames, daughter of Moses Ames, of 
Waterford, and they were the parents of 
three children : Willis Eugene, of whom 



further; Clarence M., of New London, 
Connecticut ; and Minnie E., who has 
taught school at the same place for more 
than thirty years. All these births oc- 
curred in Waterford, Connecticut. Mr. 
and Mrs. Caulkins were members of the 
Baptist church. 

Willis Eugene Caulkins, eldest child of 
John F. E. and Sarah A. (Ames) Caul- 
kins, was born in Waterford, Connecticut, 
February 17, 1853. During his infancy his 
parents removed to New London, Connec- 
ticut, and it was with the latter place that 
his early associations were formed, and it 
was there that he received his education, 
attending the local public schools for this 
purpose until he had attained the age of 
ten years. The family then removed to 
the town of East Lyme, Connecticut, 
where they remained for a period of about 
two years, and from there they returned 
to New London. Here Willis E. Caul- 
kins remained until he had attained the 
age of eighteen years, when he took up 
his residence in Hartford, Connecticut, 
and there learned the trade of carpenter 
with Deacon Edwin Mosely. For a num- 
ber of years thereafter he followed this 
trade as journeyman, but in 1891 engaged 
in business on his own account in partner- 
ship with Stephen B. Stoddard, under the 
firm name of Stoddard & Caulkins. This 
business connection continued until about 
1905, when the partnership was dissolved, 
the ownership of the concern passing to 
Mr. Caulkins, who then admitted his elder 
son into the business with him, which 
then took the name of W. E. Caulkins & 
Son, and later the second son also became 
a member of the firm. Among the impor- 
tant work in the city carried on under the 
direction of Mr. Caulkins should be men- 
tioned the following: The Fourth Con- 
gregational Church of Hartford ; the re- 
modeling of the AUyn House ; the Corn- 
ing Building of Trumbull street; the 



148 



'the 'i^^' 
PUBLIC Lid- ■ 

astop!. lemo:-. 





yp^yit-iryT. 




^^/^ 



XeuiiS-Bisco'-ical SiTo. i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Porter Memorial at Farmington, and the 
remodeling of the Senate Chamber in the 
State House. Of recent years the busi- 
ness has increased on a very large scale, 
and he has done a large amount of work 
in constructing new and artistic store 
fronts, specimens of the firm's handicraft 
being in evidence in some of the impor- 
tant retail stores on the business streets 
of Hartford. The firm does its own mason 
work as well as the carpentry, and oper- 
ates a mill in which is produced the fine 
interior finish for stores as well as store 
fronts. The cabinet work turned out in 
this mill is equal in elegance and finish to 
that put in the best furniture, and many 
expensive woods are used, especially ma- 
hogany. Mr. Caulkins has been much in- 
terested in military circles in the commu- 
nity, and is an ex-major of the veteran 
corps of the Governor's Foot Guard. He 
is at the present time (1917) lieutenant in 
the Putnam Phalanx. He is past com- 
mander of the G. A. Stedman Camp, Sons 
of Veterans, and he is prominently affili- 
ated with the Masonic order, being a 
member of Lafayette Lodge, No. 100, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; Pytha- 
goras Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Wol- 
cott Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar, and Sphynx Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He 
is also a member of the Charter Oak 
Lodge, affiliated with that body for more 
than thirty years, and is a charter member 
of the original tribe of the Improved Or- 
der of Redmen, which has since been dis- 
banded. He is past president of the Mas- 
ter Builders' Association, and is a member 
of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce, 
the Employers' Association, Automobile 
Club, City Club and of the Board of Com- 
missioners of the Municipal Building. 

Mr. Caulkins married, in 1883, Emily 
L. Bacon, of Bristol, daughter of Erastus 



and Adaline (Sessions) Bacon, of Bur- 
lington. Her father fought in the Civil 
War as a member of the Eighth Connec- 
ticut Volunteer Infantry, and died in the 
rebel prison at Charleston. Her mother 
was a sister of the well known hardware 
manufacturer, John Sessions, of Bristol. 
Through the services of Captain Sessions, 
Mrs. Caulkins holds membership in the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, 
and is also a member of the Womens' Re- 
lief Corps and the Daughters of Veterans. 
Mr. and Mrs. Caulkins are the parents of 
two children : John A., born in Hartford, 
May 20, 1884, married Louisa Norris, who 
bore him three daughters : Marion, Helen 
and Jean ; Clififord W., born in Hartford, 
August zj, 1887, married Claire A. Moore. 
Both of these sons graduated from the 
Hartford High School, then took courses 
in a Hartford Business College, since 
which time they have been identified 
with their father in his contracting busi- 
ness. 

The gaining of material wealth for 
himself and a position of power and con- 
trol in the business world of Hartford, 
Connecticut, has been in no wise incom- 
patible in the case of Willis Eugene 
Caulkins with the great service rendered 
by him to the community of which he is 
a distinguished member. Preeminently 
a man of affairs, he makes his enterprises 
subserve the double purpose of his own 
ambition and the welfare of his fellows. 
Hartford has been the scene of his life- 
long labors in connection with the many 
enterprises with which his name is asso- 
ciated, and he is a highly respected citi- 
zen in this and the surrounding region. 



LAKE, Simon, 

Naval Architect, InTcntor. 

In December, 1898, there entered the 
harbor of New York, after a cruise of two 



149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thousand miles in Chesapeake bay and 
along the Atlantic coast, a strange craft, 
resembling nothing ever before seen on 
land or sea, the "Argonaut," the first sub- 
marine boat to operate successfully in the 
open seas. Five men composed her crew, 
and in her voyage up the coast they had 
run on the surface, submerged, and ex- 
acted every test from the wonderful boat, 
during fierce storms which destroyed hun- 
dreds of vessels along the Atlantic coast. 
When this strange craft successfully 
met the tests imposed and safely landed 
her crew, the boyhood and manhood 
dream of her inventor and builder, Simon 
Lake, was realized, a dream inspired, per- 
haps, by the reading, when a boy of ten 
years, of Jules Verne's "Twenty Thou- 
sand Leagues Under the Sea." It was the 
trip of the "Argonaut" and her work dur- 
ing the following winter which brought 
from Jules Verne a special cable message 
of particular interest now, in the light of 
recent events. The cable read : 

While my book, "Twenty Thousand Leagues 
Under the Sea," is entirely a work of the imagi- 
nation, my conviction is that all I said in it will 
come to pass. A thousand-mile voyage in the 
Baltimore submarine boat is evidence of this. The 
conspicuous success of submarine navigation in 
the United States will push on under-water navi- 
gation all over the world. If such a successful 
test had come a few months earlier, it might have 
played a great part in the war just closed. The 
next great war may be largely a contest between 
submarine boats. 

Simon Lake, whose inventions are many 
and valuable, inherited mechanical and in- 
ventive genius from his father, who was 
an anomaly in his family, three of his 
brothers being well known ministers of 
the Methodist Episcopal church. The 
family had been prominent in now At- 
lantic county, Xew Jersey, from the time 
of W'illiam Lake, a son of John Lake, 
who was one of the patentees and set- 



tlers of Gravesend, Staten Island, now 
South Brooklyn, in 1643. In 1694 Wil- 
liam Lake moved to Great Egg Harbor, 
then Gloucester county. New Jersey, and 
prior to 1702 purchased one hundred acres 
of land, and there died in 1716, leaving a 
large estate. From William Lake there 
sprang a large and influential family, 
noted for their devotion to the cause of 
temperance and to the church. Three 
towns in New Jersey were founded by 
Simon Lake, of the fifth generation, and 
his ministerial sons, towns in which the 
sale of liquor is forever tabooed and the 
religious sentiment made paramount — 
Ocean City, Atlantic Highlands and Na- 
tional Park, all in New Jersey. 

The line of descent to Simon Lake, the 
inventor, to whom this sketch is dedi- 
cated, is through Daniel Lake, son of 
William Lake. He died in Great Egg 
Harbor in 1772, leaving a son, Daniel (2) 
Lake, who married Sarah, daughter of 
Captain Simon Lucas, of Burlington coun- 
ty, New Jersey. Daniel (2) Lake was a 
soldier of the Revolution, as was his 
father-in-law, Simon Lucas. 

John Lake, son of Daniel (2) and Sarah 
(Lucas) Lake, lived at Lakeville, just 
across the meadows from Atlantic City, 
but his brother, Daniel (3) Lake, a sur- 
veyor, laid out the shore road and had the 
village given its present name, Pleasant- 
ville. He married Abigail Adams, and 
had nine children, all born at Pleasant- 
ville. 

Simon Lake, eighth child of John and 
Abigail fAdams) Lake, was one of the 
leading men of his day and a large owner 
of beach, meadow, farm and timber land. 
He was one of the founders of Ocean 
City, now a populous summer and winter 
resort of the Atlantic coast, and with his 
sons owned nearly the entire island on 
which it is built. He was United States 
internal revenue collector, State Assem- 



150 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



blyman and prominently identified with 
his section. He married Sarah Blake, 
who bore him nine children, three of his 
four sons becoming ministers and noted 
for their success as community builders. 

John Christopher Lake, eighth child of 
Simon and Sarah (Blake) Lake, was born 
at Pleasantville, Atlantic county. New 
Jersey, September 2, 1847. He was an 
inventive, mechanical genius and broke 
away from home and family traditions. 
He invented a number of improvements 
in window shade rollers, and in Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, and in Aurora, Illi- 
nois, manufactured lock and balance shade 
rollers in great numbers. Later he estab- 
lished a foundry and machine shop at 
Toms River, and at Ocean City, New Jer- 
sey, but after his retirement from manu- 
facturing located his residence in Bridge- 
port, Connecticut, where he continued 
work as an inventor only, and experi- 
mented with heavier-than-air flying ma- 
chines. He married (first) Miriam Alary 
Adams, daughter of Captain Elisha Adams, 
a sea captain and a direct descendant of 
Jeremy Adams, who was one of the foun- 
ders of Hartford, Connecticut, in 1636. 
He married (second) Margaret Corson. 

Simon Lake, only son of John Christo- 
pher Lake and his first wife, Miriam Mary 
(Adams) Lake, was born at Pleasantville, 
New Jersey, September 4, 1866, and there 
spent the first eight years of his life. From 
eight until fourteen years of age, he at- 
tended the public schools of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, the family home, next at- 
tending Clinton Liberal Institute at Fort 
Plain, New York. He then returned to 
Philadelphia, completing his school years 
with a course in mechanics at Franklin 
Institute. He was of a decidedly mechani- 
cal turn of mind and as soon as his school 
years were finished he began working 
with his father in his Ocean City foundry 
and machine shops. The practical work 



of the foundry and machine shops de- 
veloped him rapidly, and with the en- 
larged opportunities that plant gave his 
genius, he forged rapidly forward and 
when, shortly afterward, his father went 
to Aurora, Illinois, to open a shade roller 
factory, the son, Simon, was left in full 
charge of the Ocean City shops and foun- 
dry. 

His inventive genius early asserted it- 
self, and when but fifteen years of age he 
had conceived an idea of a submarine boat 
and had made some progress. This idea 
never afterward lay dormant, but other 
ideas crowded his brain, and in 1888 he 
was in Baltimore, selling and installing 
steering gears he had invented for use on 
vessels. He continued fully employed in 
his particular field, finally working out his 
plans for a submarine on what is known 
as the "even keel'' type, a boat designed 
to travel on the surface, submerged or on 
the ocean bed, a type of which he is the 
inventor. 

In 1894, having secured his patents, he 
located at Atlantic Highlands, New Jer- 
sey, and during the winter of 1894-95 
built (principally with his own hands) the 
"Argonaut, Jr.," a small submarine, four- 
teen feet in length, four and one-half feet 
in width and about six feet between keel 
and deck. The small size of the boat was 
made necessary by the fact that he was 
limited in capital, nobody being willmg 
to advance him money to build a large 
boat, his idea being considered a "crazy" 
one. So he used his own money and 
worked along slowly until he did succeed 
in finding a friend in William T. Malster, 
president of the Columbian Iron Works 
and Dry Dock Company of Baltimore, the 
first man to appreciate the possibility of 
Mr. Lake being a genius instead of a "fool 
inventor." 

During the spring, the little craft that 
was destined to revolutionize modern 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



methods of warfare — and, eventually, 
modern methods of peaceful transporta- 
tion — was completed, and during the 
months of July and August, 1895, ^^'^^ 
thoroughly tested, remaining submerged, 
under one test, for one hour and fifteen 
minutes at a depth of sixteen feet. Air. 
Lake, in his submerging tests, had two 
companions, S. T. and B. F. Champion, 
of Atlantic Highlands. 

These successful tests, made in New 
York bay, were witnessed by many, and 
when, in November, 1895, the Lake Sub- 
marine Company was organized, sufficient 
capital was secured to build a larger boat, 
but not enough to permit one the size the 
inventor wanted. But he did as he did 
with the first, — built according to his 
means, the result being the "Argonaut, 
I.,'' thirty-six feet in length. It was that 
craft that successfully navigated two 
thousand miles of Chesapeake bay and 
Atlantic ocean coast, demonstrated that 
she could navigate the surface, travel 
along the bottom or submerge at any 
depth and outride any storm, the first sub- 
marine to navigate the ocean. The dem- 
onstration ended December, 1898, when 
the "Argonaut, I.," entered New York 
harbor, after weathering the fierce winter 
storms. 

In 1901, another boat was built, by the 
Lake Torpedo Boat Company, of which 
Mr. Lake was president, named the "Pro- 
tector," a boat superior to its predeces- 
sors. With proverbial slowness to adopt 
new naval or military inventions, the 
L^nited States Government delayed action 
in securing the "Protector" and she went 
to Russia, then at war with Japan. Mr. 
Lake accompanied his boat to Russia, in- 
structed her purchasers how to operate 
her and built a shipyard in Russia in 
which he later built four other submarines 
for the Russian Government. He also 
sold several, built in the United States, to 



Russia and Austria. It was not until 1910 
that he obtained an order for three boats 
of the "even keel" type from the United 
States Government. 

The value of the submarine is now too 
well known to require argument. The 
idea borne in the fertile brain of Jules 
Verne found lodgment in the receptive 
mind of a ten-year old boy of New Jer- 
sey, who never abandoned that idea, but 
through the years that followed, planned, 
studied, suffered and labored under the 
discouragement of lack of means, lack of 
human sympathy in the face of derision of 
his neighbors, and through the apathy of 
his own government was deprived of 
much of the glory to which he was en- 
titled as the inventor and builder of the 
first submarine to navigate the ocean. 
To far-away Russia goes the honor of be- 
ing the first to recognize the value of this 
product of the brain of an American boy, 
for he was but twenty-nine when he per- 
fected "Argonaut, Jr." and sank beneath 
the waters of New York bay to emerge 
triumphantly one hour and fifteen minutes 
later. 

Mr. Lake has spent several years abroad, 
in Russia, Germany and England, design- 
ing, building and acting in an advisory 
capacity in the construction of submarine 
torpedo boats, and has also built many 
submarines for the United States and for- 
eign countries. He is president of the 
Lake Submarine Company, the Lake Tor- 
pedo Boat Company and the Merchant 
Submarine Company. His inventions 
cover a wide range and his fame as an 
inventor is not solely based upon the sub- 
marine torpedo boat. He is the inventor 
of an apparatus for the locating and re- 
covery of sunken vessels and their car- 
goes ; of a submarine apparatus for use 
in sponge and pearl fishing; of a heavy 
oil internal combustion engine for marine 
purposes and of other important devices 



152 



]-. t lV ' .^ I I 



THE NEV •■ 
PUBLIC II- 



==1 



TlLDLiJ 




nfiMujz 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and machines. He is a member of the 
Society of Naval Architects and Marine 
Engineers, American Society of Mechani- 
cal Engineers, American Society of Naval 
Engineers, Institute of Naval Architects 
(London), Schiffsbautechnische Gesell- 
schaft (Berlin), and other scientific so- 
cieties. 

He has resided for several years at Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, where he purchased 
and remodeled the Judge Fowler mansion, 
filling it with rare paintings and artistic 
treasures gathered abroad and in his na- 
tive land. He has been president of the 
Milford Village Improvement Association, 
is a member of the Milford Board of Fi- 
nance, member of the Masonic order and 
the Knights of Pythias. His principal 
business and office is in Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut, where he is a member of the 
Manufacturers' Association. He, also, has 
an experimental laboratory at Milford, 
and takes a deep interest in the material 
prosperity and moral uplift of both com- 
munities. His clubs are the Engineers', 
of New York ; the Seaside Outing and 
Algonquin, of Bridgeport. He is also a 
member of The Society of Patriots and 
Founders of America, Society of Colonial 
Wars and Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion. 

Mr. Lake married, June 9, 1890, Mar- 
garet Vogel, born in Baltimore, Maryland, 
daughter of John Vogel and granddaugh- 
ter of John Vogel, the latter coming from 
Nuremberg, Germany, to Baltimore, in 
1845. Children of Simon and Margaret 
(Vogel) Lake: Miriam, Thomas E., and 
Margaret. 



BUCKINGHAM, WiUiam Alfred, 

AVar Governor, Statesman. 

In the annals of Connecticut, the name 
of William Alfred Buckingham will ever 
Iiold a preeminent place. He was a pa- 



triot true to the best traditions of his na- 
tive State, whose destiny he guided dur- 
ing the most trying period of the nation's 
history. Always a hearty supporter of 
the abolitionist cause, he disregarded pri- 
vate interests, and without taint of per- 
sonal ambition he gave himself so whole 
heartedly to the work of preserving the 
nation that he inspired his fellow citizens 
to emulate his devotion to the public good. 
He was placed in the Governor's chair 
for eight terms, serving twice as long as 
any other Governor ; only five others of 
Connecticut's sixty-four Governors have 
served as many as four years. This fact, 
more than any statements that might be 
made, indicates the unfaltering confidence 
and high esteem in which he was held by 
the people ; and he received no honors 
that were not justly his due. 

Governor Buckingham was in the 
seventh generation of one of Connecti- 
cut's oldest families. Thomas Bucking- 
ham, the progenitor of the family in 
America, was a native of England, and 
came to America in 1637 as one of the 
company that sailed with the ministers 
Davenport and Pruden and the merchants 
from London, Hopkins and Eaton. In 
1638 they settled in New Haven. At that 
time he had four sons in his family, and 
as his share in the enterprise amounted 
to £60 sterling, he was allotted land in the 
first division. In 1639 he removed to Mil- 
ford, and was one of the Rev. Peter Pru- 
den's company. Thomas Buckingham was 
one of the seven charter members of the 
church organized at New Haven, August 
22, 1639, and his name appears on a list 
of the free planters in Milford, November 
29, 1639. His will was dated September 
22, 1657. His wife Hannah, whom he 
married in England, joined the New 
Haven church February 9, 1639. 

Their son, Rev. Thomas Buckingham, 
was baptized November 29, 1646. He be- 

■53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gan his career as a preacher in 1665 at 
Saybrook. He was ordained in 1670, and 
remained over the church there until his 
death on April i, 1709. He was one of 
the founders and fellows of Yale College 
from 1700 until his death. Rev. Thomas 
Buckingham was a member of the synod 
which convened at Saybrook in 1708, and 
formed the platform for government of 
the churches. His first wife was Hester, 
daughter of Thomas Hosmer, of Hart- 
ford ; they were married September 20, 
1666, and she died June 3, 1702. 

Their son, Daniel Buckingham, was 
born October 3, 1673. He was justice of 
the peace for many years, and held other 
important town offices. He was promi- 
nent in church affairs, and owned a large 
acreage in Lebanon. He died March 25, 
1725. On May 24, 1693, Daniel Bucking- 
ham married Sarah Lee, of Lyme, Con- 
necticut. 

Their son, Daniel Buckingham, was 
born April g. 1698; he married Lydia 
Lord, on March 3. 1726. 

Their son, Samuel Buckingham, grand- 
father of Governor Buckingham, was born 
in May, 1740, and died December 30, 1815. 
He married Lydia Watrous, who died 
June 12, 1833. 

Their son. Deacon Samuel Bucking- 
ham, was born at Saybrook in 1770, and 
resided there until after his first child 
was born. In company with some others 
he built two fishing piers at the mouth 
of the Connecticut river for catching shad. 
He retained his interest in these fisheries, 
which later became very valuable. In 
1803 he removed to Lebanon and engaged 
in farming, marketing his products in 
Hartford, raising large quantities of the 
choicest fruits of his day. Deacon Buck- 
ingham was enterprising, industrious, 
methodical, and possessed of unusually 
good judgment, through the exercise of 
which traits he acquired what was con- 



sidered a large property in his time. In 
181 5 he represented the town in the Leg- 
islature, using his influence and personal 
resources toward the maintenance of the 
town schools. He was a deacon in the 
church and a liberal supporter of church 
endeavor and reform, being one of the 
first to espouse the cause of temperance 
reform. Such was his hospitality that his 
house was known as "The Minister's 
Tavern." On March 8, 1798, he married 
Joanna, daughter of Nathaniel and Dinah 
(Newton) Maston, of Colchester. She 
was a superior woman, of great executive 
ability and good judgment. She had six 
children, of whom William Alfred Buck- 
ingham was the second. 

Like Abraham Lincoln, whom he loved 
and knew intimately and who loved him 
well, William A. Buckingham spent his 
youth on a farm, receiving his education 
in public and private schools of Lebanon, 
his native town, and at Bacon Academy 
in Colchester. After being graduated he 
became a land surveyor for a short time, 
but not finding this work congenial, he 
returned to the farm, where he assisted 
his father for three years. At the age of 
twenty he entered the employ of an uncle 
who was engaged in the dry goods busi- 
ness in Norwich. This business he deter- 
minted to master, and after two years 
with his uncle he secured employment in 
a wholesale house in New York, but re- 
mained there only a short time. Return- 
ing to Norwich in 1826, he established 
himself in the dry goods business, and 
four years later began the manufacture 
of ingrain carpets, in addition to his other 
business. This enterprise proved success- 
ful. In 1848 Mr. Buckingham lent money 
to a friend who desired to begin the manu- 
facture of rubber shoes, and became so 
interested in the undertaking that with a 
few other men he organized the Hayward 
Rubber Company, of which he was treas- 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



urer from the beginning. The venture 
proved so profitable that he gave up his 
other business interests to devote his 
whole attention to the manufacture of 
rubber goods. Under his management 
the enterprise developed into one of the 
leading industries of the State. He was 
a man of splendid poise, keen perceptions, 
accurate in his conclusions, and possessed 
of an initiative and an indomitable will 
that enabled him to overcome every diffi- 
culty and surmount every obstacle in the 
accomplishment of his purposes. These 
qualities carried him successfully through 
several financial panics and enabled him 
tc build a large fortune. 

William A. Buckingham was a public 
spirited citizen, and naturally took a keen 
interest in the questions and problems of 
his day. He was not a politician, how- 
ever, and never aspired to public office to 
such a degree that he would seek it for 
personal preferment. His fellow citizens, 
recognizing the need for abilities such as 
his in public service, repeatedly elected 
him mayor of Norwich, his terms of office 
covering the years 1849, 1850, 1856 and 
1857. He served the city with the same 
industry and regard for the people's wel- 
fare that he gave his own afifairs, at the 
same gaining an insight into the problems 
of a public official that was to be of great 
value to him in the trying years in which 
he was to serve his State as its chief ex- 
ecutive. During 1857 he was a presi- 
dential elector. 

In 1858 the new Republican party made 
him its candidate for Governor. It will 
be remembered that this was a time of 
commercial disaster and political unrest. 
Mr. Buckingham was then almost un- 
known to the voters outside his own sec- 
tion of the State, yet he received a ma- 
jority of 2,449 votes at his first election. 
Already the controversy with the South- 
ern States over the question of slavery 



was acute, and Governor Buckingham's 
first message to the General Assembly 
showed plainly his strong opposition to 
the slaveholding power. His administra- 
tion was so satisfactory to the people of 
Connecticut that he was reelected in 1859 
and i860. In the latter year every voter 
in the Union had positive convictions as 
to the momentous issues at stake, and the 
political contest was nowhere sharper 
than in Connecticut. Governor Bucking- 
ham's opponent was the Democratic "war- 
horse," Thomas Hart Seymour. Abra- 
ham Lincoln was sent to aid in the cam- 
paign, and he made six speeches in the 
State. The Governor was Lincoln's com- 
panion during his travels here, and usual- 
ly made the speech introducing Lincoln 
to the audience. Thus began a warm 
friendship that ripened through the few 
remaining years of Mr. Lincoln's life. The 
contest was close, and the result was 
awaited with feverish anxiety. Mr. Sey- 
mour was given majorities in the larger 
cities, while Governor Buckingham was 
the choice of the smaller cities and towns, 
and he won by a majority of only 541 
votes. In 1861 he received a majority of 
more than 2,000 votes. 

In 1858 the total number of militiamen 
in the State was only 2,045 ; so that when 
Lincoln issued his first call for troops 
(April 15, 1861) there was scarcely a regi- 
ment of organized militia in the State. 
W'ithout authority under the law. Gov- 
ernor Buckingham, acting on his own in- 
itiative and with characteristic wisdom, 
issued a proclamation on April i6th for 
troops to meet Lincoln's call for a regi- 
ment from Connecticut. Men enough for 
ten companies were called for, but fifty- 
four companies enlisted ; and when the 
Legislature was convened on the first 
\\'ednesday in May it validated the Gov- 
ernor's action and appropriated $2,000,000 
for military expenses. It also authorized 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the enlistment of ten thousand men. A 
subsequent Legislature removed the re- 
striction as to the number of men, and 
gave the Governor authority and means 
to enlist and equip as many soldiers as 
the President might call for. Under this 
authority and with the cooperation of his 
fellow citizens. Governor Buckingham 
raised 54,882 men, which was 6.089 more 
than the State's quota. At that time the 
population of Connecticut was 461,000 
people, of whom approximately 80,000 
were voters, and of these there were esti- 
mated to be about 50,000 capable of bear- 
ing arms. The Connecticut troops were 
the first sent from any State fully 
equipped for service. Connecticut's rec- 
ord during the Civil War is one of which 
her sons may ever be proud. Governor 
Buckingham was especially concerned 
that no State should send better troops 
to the front, and that none should be 
better equipped. He was constantly solic- 
itous for the welfare and comfort of the 
soldiers. "Don't let any Connecticut man 
suffer for want of anything that can be 
done for him. If it costs money, draw on 
me for it," and "Take good care of the 
Connecticut men." are examples of the 
messages he frequently sent to the front. 
As his eighth term drew toward a close. 
Governor Buckingham declined to be a 
candidate for reelection, it being his in- 
tention to retire to private life for a much 
needed rest. But during the troublous 
days of the reconstruction period, men 
were needed at Washington who had 
breadth of view, who were not swayed by 
prejudice, but arrived at conclusions after 
calm, dispassionate consideration. His 
fellow citizens decided that they needed 
Governor Buckingham as their represen- 
tative in the United States Senate, and he 
accordingly took his seat in that body on 
March 4, i86g. He was chairman of the 
committee appointed by the Senate to in- 



vestigate the Custom House frauds in 
New York, and chairman of the Senate 
Committee on Indian Affairs. His death 
occurred before the completion of his 
term, on February 5, 1875. 

Governor Buckingham was a warm 
friend of the cause of education. He gave 
liberally to Yale College, and with one ex- 
ception contributed more than any other 
individual to endow the Norwich Free 
Academy, of whose board of trustees he 
was president. He was an active worker 
in the temperance cause, and served as 
president of the Connecticut State Tem- 
perance Union. He was an earnest mem- 
ber of the Broadway Congregational 
Church of Norwich. In 1865 he was 
moderator of the National Council of 
Congregational churches in Boston, and 
was a corporate member of the American 
Board of Foreign Missions. 

Some of the most distinguished men in 
the country attended his funeral, and his 
loss was widely mourned, for he had won 
the lasting love of all who knew him. On 
February 27, 1875, eulogies were delivered 
in his memory in the United States Sen- 
ate. Among those who paid eloquent 
tributes to his life and character were 
Senators Eaton and Ferry, of Connecti- 
cut ; Frelinghuysen, of New Jersey ; Ste- 
venson, of Kentucky ; Wright, of Iowa ; 
Bayard, of Delaware ; Pratt and Morton, 
of Indiana, and Thurman, of Ohio. 

On September 27, 1830, Governor Buck- 
ingham was married to Eliza, daughter of 
Dr. Dwight Ripley, who was a famous 
merchant of Norwich in the early years 
of the nineteenth century. She died April 
ig, 1868, aged sixty years. Eliza Coit, 
born December 7, 1838, was the only child 
from the union which grew to maturity; 
she was married to General William A. 
Aiken. 

In the western end of the Capitol at 
Hartford, the State of Connecticut has 

156 



THE ^^'J^lU 
PUBLIC LIBP.^HY 





^::i^^Z--:^ 



C-. t^fe^-^^^cV^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



placed a statue of the famous "War Gov- 
ernor." It represents him in a sitting 
posture. Olin L. Warner, of New York, 
was the sculptor. The statue cost $10,000, 
and $6,000 was appropriated for the un- 
veiling ceremonies, which took place on 
June 18, 1884. The statue was unveiled 
by Governor Waller, and an address was 
delivered by United States Senator Or- 
ville H. Piatt. 

No encomium could do justice to the 
splendid personality and achievements of 
Governor Buckingham, and in this brief 
review it has been possible to touch only 
the most striking features in his notable 
career. The following quotation from the 
"Norwich Bulletin" will give to the pres- 
ent and coming generations, who were 
not privileged to know Governor Buck- 
ingham, a brief description of a character 
worthy of emulation by all : 

In private life. Governor Buckingham was char- 
acterized by great sweetness of disposition and an 
urbane courtesy in his social relations which won 
the sincere regard of all with whom he was per- 
sonally in contact. He possessed that polished 
dignity of manner which we of this day character- 
ize as the gentility of the old school, and the re- 
finement of its minor details was strongly marked 
in all his habits of life. * * * He was great 
in his probity, patriotism and purity of life, and 
he wielded a vast influence for good. In public 
and in private life, like him who was loved of 
God, he walked uprightly before men. And with 
a full remembrance of all the honors which had 
been pressed upon him, of all the great successes 
of his life, no better or truer epitaph can be pro- 
duced over his grave than that which he himself 
would have desired: "A man of honor, and a 
Christian gentleman." 



SKINNER, Colonel William Converse, 

Mannfactarer, Financier, 

A man of pleasing personality, kindly, 
considerate and courteous to all, a level 
headed, finely poised man of affairs, quick 
and decisive of action, conservative but 
determined. Colonel William C. Skinner, 



president of the Colt's Patent Fire Arms 
Manufacturing Company, is the capable 
executive of that corporation of world 
wide fame. His personal desire was for 
a professional career, but a throat trouble, 
which developed during his term at Al- 
bany Law School, thwarted that ambition 
and gave him to the business world in 
which he is so conspicuous a figure. He 
is of distinguished Colonial and Revolu- 
tionary ancestry, descending in direct line 
from Thomas Skinner, who came to 
America from England about 1650; from 
Samuel Roberts, an early settler of Strat- 
ford, Connecticut ; from John and Pris- 
cilla (Molines) Alden, of the "May- 
flower;" from Deacon Edward Converse, 
of Charlestown and Woburn ; from Sir 
Thomas Billing, of Rowell, England. His 
collateral lines are many, his membership 
in the Society of Colonial Wars being 
based on nine ancestors with seven addi- 
tional lines, and admission to the Sons 
of the American Revolution was gained 
on the service of Calvin Skinner and five 
additional lines. 

(I) Sergeant Thomas Skinner, the 
American ancestor, was born in England 
in 1617, and came to New England be- 
tween the years 1649 and 1652, accom- 
panied by his wife Mary and two sons : 
Thomas (2) and Abraham. He settled at 
Maiden, where in 1652 he was granted 
"libertye and license to keepe an ordinary 
there." He only kept the inn for a short 
time, but in 1654 bought a lot of fifteen 
acres with house, of Rowland Lahorne. 
He was admitted a freeman, May 18, 
1633, and March 3, 1678-79, he with seven 
other proprietors and those interested in 
the destruction of property by the Indians 
during King Philip's War were present 
at a meeting of a committee of the Gen- 
eral Court held in Cambridge. In 1680 
he was chosen selectman and given direct 
oversight of the town of Maiden. The 

157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



same year he was made sergeant of the 
Maiden Company of the First Regiment, 
and in 1693-94, being then nearly eighty, 
he deeded the old homestead at the south- 
east corner of Cross and Walnut streets, 
Maiden, to his son Abraham in consider- 
ation for the future maintenance of him- 
self and wife Lydia. Mary, his wife, died 
at Maiden, and he married a second wife 
Lydia (Shepherdson) Call, widow of 
Thomas Call, and resided in the house 
above mentioned. The old house stood 
until torn down before 1798, but a large 
rock on the lot known as Skinner's Rock 
was not removed until 1887, it standing 
as a monument of the olden time and 
preserving the name of its former owner 
for two centuries after he first became its 
owner. Lydia Skinner died December 
17, 1723. 

(II) Abraham Skinner, son of Sergeant 
Thomas and Mary Skinner, was born in 
Chichester, England, came to New Eng- 
land with his parents, and died in Maiden, 
Massachusetts, prior to 1698. His wife 
Hannah died January 14, 1725. He 
served in the Mt. Hope campaign against 
the Indians in 1675, and was in the Nar- 
rangansett Fort in 1676. 

(III) Abraham (2) Skinner, son of 
Abraham (i) and Hannah Skinner, was 
born in Maiden, Massachusetts, April 8, 
1681, and died in Woodstock, Connecti- 
cut, December 24, 1776. He married, 
prior to 1718, Tabitha Hills, born in Mai- 
den in 1690, and late in life they moved 
with their son William to Woodstock, 
where Tabitha (Hills) Skinner died July 
13, 1771. They were the parents of Abra- 
ham, William, Isaac, Tabitha, Abigail, 
twin with Tabitha, Benjamin, Hannah, 
Ebenezer and Jonathan. 

(IV) Deacon William Skinner, son of 
Abraham (2) and Tabitha (Hills) Skin- 
ner, was born in Maiden, Massachusetts, 
July 16, 1720, and died in Woodstock, 



Connecticut, January 30, 1807. When a 
young man he settled with his parents in 
Woodstock, and throughout his long after 
life was a pillar of the church and re- 
garded as one of the most useful and re- 
spected citizens of that community. He 
was elected deacon of the South Church 
in 1763, in which capacity he served with 
"singular discretion, wisdom and fidel- 
ity," for more than forty-three years. 
William Skinner serv-ed at the siege of 
Louisburg, in 1745, and in 1757 was com- 
missioned ensign in the Fifteenth Com- 
pany, Eleventh Connecticut Regiment. 
William Skinner responded to the call 
from Boston, Lexington Alarm, was a 
member of Captain Ephraim Manning's 
company, Woodstock (Connecticut) 
Militia, and also a private in Captain 
Paine's company. Eleventh Regiment, 
Connecticut Militia, in September, 1776, 
serving at New York. He married, in 
1744-45, Thankful Mascraft, born Janu- 
ary 23, 1721, and died in Woodstock, 
April i6, 1805. They were the parents 
of Calvin, William (2), Bethesda, Thank- 
ful, Salva, Salva (2), Tabitha, Isaac and 
Luther. 

(V) Calvin Skinner, son of Deacon 
William, and Thankful (Mascraft) Skin- 
ner, was born at Woodstock, Connecticut, 
October 12, 1746, and died at Thompson, 
Connecticut, July 15, 1777, from the 
effects of fever contracted in the camp at 
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania. He was a 
private in Captain Joseph Elliott's com- 
pany, Killingly (Connecticut) Militia, 
marching, on the Lexington Alarm of 
April, 1773, and a corporal in Lieuten- 
ant Paine Converse's company. Eleventh 
Regiment, Connecticut Militia. He 
served around New York, went into camp 
with General Washington's army at Val- 
ley Forge, and endured the sufferings of 
that terrible period until stricken with 
fever. He married, at Thompson, Con- 



f58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



necticut, February 12, 1775, Eleanor 
Porter, born there March 19, 1753, and 
died at Royalton, Vermont, September 
15, 1813. They were the parents of two 
children, Sally and Calvin (2). 

(VI) Calvin (2) Skinner, posthumous 
son of Calvin (i) and Eleanor (Porter) 
Skinner, was born at Woodstock, Con- 
necticut, November 23, 1777, and died at 
Royalton, Vermont, August 23, 1843. 
When a boy he was taken by his mother, 
sister, and stepfather, Lieutenant Zebulon 
Lyon, to Royalton, Vermont, and when 
he cam.e of age made an indenture with 
his stepfather to care for him and his 
wife and his two half-brothers until they 
reached legal age. He later in life, by 
careful saving and industry, acquired con- 
siderable property. In 1809 Lieutenant 
Lyon deeded him a large farm on White 
river in Royalton, which has since been 
known as the "Skinner" farm and home- 
stead. He married, November 13, 1803, 
Sally Billings, a woman of keen intelli- 
gence and ready wit, who died in Royal- 
ton, April 25, 1850 (see Billings XIV). 
Both were devout members of the Con- 
gregational church, giving generously to 
the church of their means and personal 
service. They were the parents of Eliza, 
Susan, William, Lucretia, Lewis, Eleanor, 
Calvin, died young; Calvin, of further 
mention ; Martin and Richard. 

(VII) Dr. Calvin (3) Skinner, son of 
Calvin (2) and Sally (Billings) Skinner, 
was born in Royalton, Vermont, May 22, 
1818, and died in Malone, New York, Sep- 
tember 24, 1903. He began his education 
in the public schools at Royalton, Ver- 
mont, and he prepared for college at the 
Royalton Academy, later attending the 
University of Vermont. In 1837, he be- 
gan the stud}^ of medicine and graduated 
from Dartmouth Medical College in 1840, 
soon after taking a special course at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons in 



New York. He began active practice at 
Rochester, Vermont, but in 1842 removed 
to Malone, New York, where he built up 
a wide and lucrative practice, with special 
success in surgery for which he had a 
natural aptitude. In 1861, he was con- 
tract physician for the Ninety-eighth 
Regiment, New York State Volunteers, 
recruited at Malone, New York, and in 
1862 was appointed by General Morgan 
one of the corps of volunteer surgeons to 
assist the regular surgeons on the Penin- 
sula. The same year, 1862, he was regu- 
larly commissioned surgeon of the One 
Hundred and Sixth New York Regiment, 
and was with that command in Virginia 
until disability compelled him to resign 
in 1864 and return home. The disease 
thus contracted gradually crippled him, 
finally forcing him to retire from active 
practice and confining him to the house 
for the last ten years of his life. 

In politics, Dr. Skinner was a Repub- 
lican. His first vote was cast for Presi- 
dent Harrison in 1840, and his last vote 
for President McKinley in 1896. He, with 
eleven others, organized the Republican 
party in Franklin county. New York, in 
1850, and in i860 he was an alternate dele- 
gate to the National Convention that 
nominated President Lincoln. He held 
many responsible positions. He helped 
to secure funds for St. Mark's, the first 
Episcopal church in Malone, and was one 
of the vestrymen for nearly fifty years ; 
postmaster fourteen years, 1861-75 ; mem- 
ber of the Board of Education, 1872-90; 
one of the organizers of the Malone 
Water Company and a director for over 
forty years ; one of the original trustees 
of the Northern New York Deaf Mute 
Institution and attending physician as 
long as he was able; for sixty years 
member of the Franklin County Medical 
Association, and a charter member of the 
Northern New York Medical Association, 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and its first treasurer. He belonged to 
the Grand Army of the Republic, and 
during the last years of his life was a 
member of the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion of the United States. 

Dr. Skinner married at Royalton, Ver- 
mont, September 15, 1842, Jane Blodgett, 
born at East Randolph, Vermont, March 
21, 1818, and died at Malone, New York, 
May 2, 1893, daughter of Samuel and 
Hannah (Converse) Blodgett, the latter a 
daughter of Jude and Abigail (Alden) 
Converse, and a descendant of John and 
Priscilla (Molines or Mullins) Alden, of 
the "Mayflower," and of Lieutenant Jo- 
siah Converse, Captain Josiah Converse, 
Major James Converse, Lieutenant James 
Converse and Edward Converse. Jane 
(Blodgett) Skinner inherited many of the 
sterling qualities of her New England 
forebears, and by her extraordinary intel- 
ligence, tact and sympathy proved her 
husband's helpmeet in every sense of the 
word. The gentleness, sweetness and 
kindliness that permeated everything that 
she said or did will ever be remembered 
by her family and her friends. Dr. Calvin 
and Jane (Blodgett) Skinner were the 
parents of Eleanor Porter, Samuel Blod- 
gett, Henry Carroll, Alice Leland, Wil- 
liam Converse, Elizabeth Caroline, and 
Emma Catherine, twin with Elizabeth. 

(VIII) Colonel William Converse 
Skinner, son of Dr. Calvin (3) and Jane 
(Blodgett) Skinner, was born in Malone, 
New York, January 26, 1855, and there 
completed courses of grade and high 
school study, graduating with the high 
school class of 1872. He then entered 
Trinity College, whence he was graduated 
Bachelor of Arts, class of "76," later re- 
ceiving from his alma matter the degree of 
Master of Arts. During the next session 
of the New York Legislature, he was 
appointed clerk of the judiciary commit- 
tee of the House, and while in Albany 



attended lectures at Albany Law School. 
He was deterred from further progress in 
legal study by a serious throat trouble 
and spent a year in Colorado to effect its 
cure. After his return he located in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, there forming in 1882 
a partnership with General Henry C. 
Dwight, which connection continued for 
eighteen years, Dwight, Skinner & Com- 
pany becoming one of the best known 
firms in the State in the wool trade. In 
May, 1899, Colonel Skinner withdrew 
from the firm and has since been con- 
nected with the Colt's Patent Fire Arms 
Manufacturing Company in official capa- 
city. He was elected a director and vice- 
president of the company, July 2, 1901, 
and January 5, 1909, was elected president 
of the company to fill the vacancy caused 
by the death of President Grover. Presi- 
dent Skinner resigned the office of presi- 
dent, January i, 191 1, becoming chair- 
man of the board of directors, holding 
that position until the death of President 
Charles L. F. Robinson, when he was 
again elected president of this company, 
July 13, 1916, whose position and import- 
ance in the industrial and business world 
is so well known. 

In addition to his executive duties. 
Colonel Skinner is a director of the Con- 
necticut Mutual Life Insurance Company, 
Hartford Fire Insurance Company, Phoe- 
nix National Bank, Fidelity Trust Com- 
pany and Smyth Manufacturing Com- 
pany, director and vice-president of the 
Society for Savings and of Jay O. Ballard 
& Company, and trustee of Trinity Col- 
lege. He served for years upon the staff 
of Morgan D. Bulkeley, Governor of 
Connecticut, with the rank of colonel, and 
in political faith is a Republican. His 
clubs are Farmington Country, Hartford, 
Hartford Golf, the University and Union 
League of New York City, the Metro- 
politan and Army and Navy clubs of 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Washington, the Princess Anne of Vir- 
ginia and Republican of Hartford. His 
fraternity is I. K. A. of Trinity Col- 
lege, and he is affiliated with St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Free and Accepted Masons. 
From his father he inherits membership 
in the Military Order of the Loyal 
Legion ; through his descent from John 
Alden and other Colonial ancestors 
membership in the Society of the May- 
flower Descendants and the Society of 
Colonial Wars, and from Calvin Skinner 
membership in the Sons of the American 
Revolution. 

Colonel Skinner married, October 25, 
1880, Florence Clarissa Roberts, born in 
1857, died in 1904, daughter of Ebenezer 
and Clarissa (Bancroft) Roberts, her 
father a prominent business man of Hart- 
ford, grandson of Samuel Roberts, an 
officer of the Revolution, a descendant 
of Samuel and Mercy (Blake) Roberts, 
who settled in Middletown, Connecticut, 
as early as 1691. William C. and Flor- 
ence C. (Roberts) Skinner are the parents 
of three children : Marjorie Roberts, born 
August 6, 1881, married Walter S. Trum- 
bull, a grandson of Lyman Trumbull, and 
resides in New York City; Roberts 
Keney, born October i, 1886, educated at 
Trinity College, married Marion, daugh- 
ter of Harry Stedman, of Hartford, and 
has a son, Roberts Keney (2), and a 
daughter, Florence ; William Converse 
(2), born October 27, 1889, married 
Edith King, of Hartford, and has a son, 
Calvin Converse, and a daughter. 

(The BiUings Line). 

(I) The word Billing is Saxon, mean- 
ing "place by the meadow." The family 
name was originally de Billing, and in 
England is traced to John Billing, of 
Rowell, a patron of the Church of Colly- 
Weston, also owning lands in Rushden. 
He had two sons, John and Sir Thomas. 

Conn— 3— 11 l6l 



(II) Sir Thomas Billing, of Rowell, 
was of the Inns Court and was called to 
the bar. He was made sergeant-at-law 
in 1453, and knighted in 1458 for taking 
a prominent part with the Lancastrian 
party. When the right to the crown was 
argued (1466) he appeared at the bar of 
the House of Lords as counsel for Henry 
VI., leading the attorney and solicitor- 
general. He was the principal law ad- 
visor to Edward IV., and in 1465 was 
made justice of the King's Bench, and in 
1468 lord chief justice of the King's 
Bench. In the spring of 1481 he was 
stricken with apoplexy and expired in a 
few days, after a tenure of office and 
seventeen years in the midst of the civil 
wars and revolutions. He was buried in 
Bittlesden Abbey in Oxfordshire, where a 
large blue marble slab was placed over 
his body, having on it the figures in brass 
of himself and lady. He is represented 
in his official robes. This slab, and the 
slab that covered his son Thomas, were 
taken from the Abbey after the dissolu- 
tion of monasteries, and placed at the 
upper end of the center aisle of Wappen- 
ham Church, where they now remain. 

Sir Thomas, by his first wife, Catherine 
GifTord, daughter of Roger Gififord, of 
Twyford in Buckinghamshire, became 
possessed of Gififord's Manor in the ham- 
let of Astwell and parish of Wappenham 
in Northamptonshire, afterwards called 
"Billing's Manor," where he took up his 
residence. The ancient manor house, 
although curtailed in size, is still stand- 
ing and now occupied as a farm house. 
The eight children of Sir Thomas Billing 
were all by his first wife, Catherine (Gif- 
ford) Billing. 

(Ill) Nicholas Billing, fifth and young- 
est son of Sir Thomas Billing, was of 
Middletown Malzor in Northamptonshire. 
He died in 15 12, providing in his will for 
masses of requiem to be celebrated in 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Bittlesden Abey for five years on each 
anniversary of his death. 

(IV) William Billing, fourth and 
youngest son of Nicholas Billing, died at 
Middletown Malzor in 1526. 

(V) William (2) Billing, son of Wil- 
liam (i) Billing, died in Middletown 
Malzor in 1557, his wife Joan surviving 
him. 

(VI) Roger Billing, son of William (2) 
Billing, inherited lands in Somersetshire 
from his father, moved from Middletown 
Malzor to Baltonsborough, where he died 
December 16, 1596. From a parchment 
document containing the names of the 
principal landowners in the parish, pre- 
served in the great chest in the Baltons- 
borough Church, it appears that he was 
possessed of considerable property there. 
By his first wife Katherine, who was 
buried at Baltonsburg, February 12, 
1566-67, he had three children: Richard, 
called in his father's will "the elder;" 
Elizabeth and John. 

(VII) Richard Billing, eldest son of 
Roger Billing, moved to Taunton, Eng- 
land, from Baltonsburg, England, and 
was possessed of landed property. He 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Ebenezer 
Strong, of Taunton. 

(VIII) William Billing, youngest son 
of Richard Billing, had by his father's 
will a house and land in Taunton, Eng- 
land, which passed to his son William 
who came to New England, and was sold 
by William to his brother Ebenezer, of 
Glastonbury. 

(IX) W'illiam (2) Billing, son of Wil- 
liam (i) Billing, of Taunton, England, 
was of the ninth recorded English gener- 
ation and the founder of this branch of 
the family in New England. He was born 
in Taunton, England, and died in Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, March 16, 1713. He 
disposed of his lands in Taunton, came to 
New England about 1650, and is credited 



with being one of the original proprietors 
of Lancaster, Massachusetts, in 1654. He 
was married at Dorchester, JNIassachu- 
setts, February 5, 1658, the record thus 
attesting: "William Billing was married 

unto Mary by ]\Iajor Atherton, 5, 

12.57." I" the year 1658 he joined the 
company of William Cheeseborough at 
Stonington, Connecticut, where he be- 
came one of the largest land proprietors 
in that and neighboring towns. His wife 
Mary died in Stonington in 1718. 

(X) William (3) Billing, son of Wil- 
liam (2) Billing, died in Preston, Con- 
necticut, and had by his wife Hannah a 
son Joseph. 

(XI) Joseph Billings, son of William 
(3) and Hannah Billing (the "s" being 
added by Joseph), was born January 28, 
1692. He was a magistrate of Preston, 
Connecticut. His wife Sarah was a 
daughter of Nathaniel Larrabee, of Nor- 
wich, Connecticut. 

(XII) Samuel Billings, son of Joseph 
and Sarah (Larrabee) Billings, was born 
about 1718, and gave his life for his coun- 
try, being killed in action at Groton 
Heights, Connecticut, September 6, 1781. 
He enlisted as a private for three years 
service from Stonington, Connecticut, 
joining Captain James Eldridge's com- 
pany. First Regiment, Connecticut Line, 
Colonel Jedediah Huntington, and served 
his full term from January 15, 1777, to 
January 15, 1780, when the British, under 
command of Benedict Arnold, burnt the 
towns of New London and Groton ; 
Samuel Billings was one of the number of 
Connecticut militia who hastened to the 
defense of Fort Griswold and was one of 
the brave defenders of the fort massacred 
by the British, September 6, 1781. He 
married, October 14, 1744, Grace, daugh- 
ter of Henry Minor, of Montville, Con- 
necticut. 

(XIII) John Billings, son of Samuel 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Billings, the Revolutionary martyr, was 
born at Alontville, Connecticut, Novem- 
ber lo, 1751, and died at Royalton, Ver- 
mont, August 22, 1832. He was also a 
soldier of the Revolution, serving from 
May 7, 1775, to December 10, 1775, in the 
Fifth Company, Captain James Chapman, 
the Sixth Regiment, Continental Line, 
Colonel Samuel Parsons. The Sixth 
Regiment was raised at the first call for 
troops in April-May, 1775, and on June 
17, was ordered into camp at Boston. 
They were posted at Roxbury, forming 
part of General Spencer's brigade, there 
remaining until the term of enlistment 
expired December 10, 1775. In 1776 the 
regiment was reorganized, John Billings 
leaving the service in 1778. He married, 
in New London, Connecticut, about 1754, 
Olive Noble, who died at Royalton, Ver- 
mont, May 14, 1843. 

(XIV) Sally Billings, daughter of 
John and Olive (Noble) Billings, was 
horn in Royalton, Vermont, January 21, 
1782, and died there, April 25, 1850. She 
married, in Royalton, November 13, 1803, 
Calvin Skinner (see Skinner). Their son. 
Dr. Calvin Skinner, married Jane Blod- 
gett, and they were the parents of Colonel 
William Converse Skinner, of the six- 
teenth recorded generation of the Billings 
family in England and America. 

(The Converse Line). 

(I) Deacon Edward Converse, the 
founder of this line, was born in Wakerly, 
England, January 30, 1590, and died in 
Woburn, Massachusetts, August 10, 1663. 
He was trial justice for many years in 
Woburn, and in 1660 was a deputy to the 
General Court. He married, in England, 
before 1617, his first wife, Jane Clarke. 

(II) Their son, Lieutenant James Con- 
verse, born in England, 1620, died 1715. 
He was a resident of Charlestown and 
Woburn, Massachusetts, lieutenant of the 



Woburn Company during King Philip's 
War, and in 1679-83-84-85-86 and 8g 
deputy to the General Court. He mar- 
ried, October 24, 1643, ^t Charlestown, 
his first wife, Anne Long, who died Au- 
gust 10, 1691, at Woburn, daughter of 
Robert Long, of Charlestown. 

(III) Major James Converse, son of 
Lieutenant James Converse, was born in 
Woburn, Massachusetts, November 16, 
1645, and died there July 8, 1706. For 
his gallant defense of Storer's Garrison, 
1691-92, he was promoted to the rank of 
major and placed in command of all the 
military forces of Massachusetts — in 
Maine. He represented Woburn in the 
General Court in 1679-92, 1699, 1702 and 
1703, serving as speaker of the house dur- 
ing his last three terms. He married, 
January i, 1668, at Woburn, Hannah 
Carter, born January 19, 1650. 

(IV) Captain Josiah Converse, son of 
Major James Converse, was born in Wo- 
burn, Massachusetts, September 12, 1684, 
and died in Brookfield, Massachusetts, in 
1771. He was captain of the Woburn 
Military Company, resided also in Leices- 
ter and Brookfield, Massachusetts, repre- 
senting the last named town in the State 
Legislature in 1740-42-43-45-47 and 1750. 
He married, December 30, 1706, at Wo- 
burn, Hannah Sawyer, born November 
25, 1689, and died June 18, 1747, at Brook- 
field. 

(V) Lieutenant Josiah (2) Converse, 
son of Captain Josiah (i) Converse, was 
born in Woburn, March 2, 1710, and died 
September 11, 1775, in Stratford, Connec- 
ticut. He was a resident of Woburn and 
Leicester, Massachusetts, prior to his re- 
moval to Connecticut; was lieutenant of 
the Leicester military company, and rep- 
resented that town in the State Legis- 
lature in 1730. He married, at Leicester, 
December 27, 1732, Eleanor Richardson, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born in Woburn in 1712, and died in 
Stratford, Connecticut, August 6, 1785. 

(VI) Jude Converse, son of Lieuten- 
ant Josiah (2) Converse, was born in 
Stratford, Connecticut, June 11, 1750, and 
died in East Randolph, Vermont, October 
23, 1816. He was a drummer boy at the 
Lexington Alarm and rendered nine days 
service under Captain Paul Blodgett, 
marching from Stratford in April, 1775. 
He was a private in the Third Company, 
Second Continental Regiment, under 
Captain Rogers Enos, Colonel Joseph 
Spencer, May 9 — October 16, 1775. This 
regiment was raised at the first call for 
troops by the Connecticut Legislature, 
marched to the camps around Boston, 
took part at Roxbury and served during 
the siege. He married, about 1772, 
Abigail Alden, born in 1750 at Stratford, 
Connecticut, and died in May, 1814, a de- 
scendant of John Alden, of the "May- 
flower." 

(VII) Hannah Converse, daughter of 
Jude and Abigail (Alden) Converse, was 
born in Stratford, Connecticut, August 2, 
1786, and died in Forestdale, Vermont, 
June 10, 1855. She married in Randolph, 
Vermont, March 9, 1805, Samuel Blod- 
gett, born in Stratford, November 15, 
1777, and died in Forestdale, Vermont. 
May 2, 1859. 

(VIII) Jane Blodgett, daughter of 
Samuel and Hannah (Converse) Blod- 
gett, was born in East Randolph, Ver- 
mont, and died in Malone, New York, 
May 2, 1893. She married, September 15, 
1842, in Royalton, Vermont, Dr. Calvin 
Skinner, and they are the parents of Colo- 
nel William Converse Skinner, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. 

(The Alden Line). 

(I) John Alden was born in England in 
1599, and died in Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, September 12, 1687. He was one 



of the signers of the "Compact," a docu- 
ment drawn up and signed by the passen- 
gers on the "Mayflower" for their gov- 
ernment : was a member of the little army 
of Pilgrims commanded by Captain 
Myles Standish ; member of the Duxbury 
Company in 1643 ! assistant to all the 
governors of the colony, 1650-86; repre- 
sentative to the General Court, 1641-49; 
member of the Council of War, 1646-60; 
acting deputy governor, 1664-77. He 
married, in 1622, Priscilla, daughter of 
William Molines (Mullins). 

(II) Captain Joseph Alden, son of John 
and Priscilla (Molines) Alden, was born 
in Bridgewater, Massachusetts, in 1624, 
and died there February 8, 1697. In 1643 
he held the rank of captain in the com- 
pany commanded by Captain Myles 
Standish. He married Mary, daughter of 
Moses Simmons, Jr., of Duxbury. 

(III) Joseph (2) Alden, son of Captain 
Joseph (i) Alden, was born in Bridge- 
water, Massachusetts, in 1667, and died 
there December 22, 1747, He married, 
in 1690, Hannah Dunham, born in 1670, 
and died in Bridgewater, January 14, 

1747- 

(IV) Daniel Alden, son of Joseph (2) 
Alden, was born in Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts, January 29, 1691, and died in 
Stratford, Connecticut, May 3, 1767. He 
married, in 1717, Abigail Shaw, born in 
1694, and died July 12, 1755. 

(V) Daniel (2) Alden, son of Daniel 
(i) Alden, was born in Bridgewater, 
Massachusetts, September 5, 1720, and 
died in Lebanon, New Hampshire, May 
18, 1790. He was a deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court from Stratford, Connecticut, 
twelve times, 1760-71, also justice of the 
peace for Hartford county from May, 
1766, to May, 1777. He married, in 1747, 
Jane Turner, born in Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, March 30, 1725, and died in 
Lebanon, New Hampshire, May 6, 1817. 

64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Abigail Alden, daughter of Daniel 
(2) and Jane (Turner) Alden, was born in 
Stratford, Connecticut, in October, 1750, 
and died in May, 1814. She married, 
about 1772, Jude Converse. Their daugh- 
ter, Hannah Converse, married Samuel 
Blodgett. Their daughter, Jane Blodgett, 
married Dr. Calvin Skinner. Their son 
was Colonel William C. Skinner. 

(The Roberts Line). 

Samuel Roberts, American ancestor of 
Florence Clarissa (Roberts) Skinner, is 
believed to have been born in England. 
He settled in Stratford, Connecticut, and 
married Sarah, daughter of Edward Hin- 
man, who was also the first of his family 
in America. Their son, Samuel (2) 
Roberts, was undoubtedly born in Eng- 
land, lived in Middletown, Connecticut, 
and died in 1726. He married Catherine 
Leete, who died October 13, 1693. Their 
son, Deacon Samuel Roberts, resided in 
Middletown, Connecticut, as early as 
1691, and died there in 1739. He mar- 
ried, September 22, 1691, Mary Blake, 
daughter of John Blake, of Maiden, Eng- 
land, born January 16, 1673, and died De- 
cember 16, 1724. Their son, Ebenezer 
Roberts, born October 29, 1697, married, 
March 17, 1721, Mary Johnson, and had 
issue. Their son, Ebenezer Roberts, was 
an officer of the Revolution, serving with 
General Washington at New York, Tren- 
ton and Yorktown. He married and had 
a son, Ebenezer Cornwall Roberts, who 
married and had a son, Ebenezer Roberts, 
father of Mrs. William C. Skinner. 

Ebenezer Roberts was born at West- 
field, Connecticut, October 28, 1819, and 
died in Hartford, Connecticut, March 7, 
1896, and in collateral line was also a de- 
scendant of Rev. Peter and Rev. Gershom 
Bulkley and Charles Chauncey, second 
president of Harvard College. He at- 
tended public school until fifteen, then 



entered the employ of N. and W. Keney, 
advancing rapidly until 1855, when he 
was admitted to a partnership. Later the 
firm became Keney, Roberts & J. N. 
Goodwin, later Roberts & Keney, later 
Keney, Roberts & Company, finally 
Roberts, Tucker & Goodwin. The house 
was the oldest wholesale grocery concern 
in the State and one of the most success- 
ful, the Keneys and Mr. Roberts all 
accumulating substantial fortunes. The 
house established and ever maintained an 
enviable reputation for integrity, fair deal- 
ing and progressive spirit, Mr. Roberts 
being also well known in Hartford for his 
kindly manner, charity and activity in all 
good works. He was a director of the 
Hartford National Bank, Travelers In- 
surance Company, National Fire Insur- 
ance Company, Collins Company, For- 
sythe Manufacturing Company, Andros 
Paper Company, and trustee under the 
will of Henry Keney. He never sought 
nor held public office, and was a member 
and regular attendant of the Park Con- 
gregational Church. 

Mr. Roberts married, January 18, 1843, 
Clarissa Bancroft, who died January 12, 
1883, daughter of Bela and Clarissa 
(Root) Bancroft, of Granville, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. and Mrs. Roberts were the 
parents of an only daughter, Florence 
Clarissa Roberts, who married Colonel 
William C. Skinner. 

On the day of the funeral of Mr. Rob- 
erts the wholesale houses of Hartford 
were closed from two until four p. m., 
and at a meeting of the board of directors 
of the Hartford National Bank held 
March 10, 1896, the following resolution 
was adopted and ordered placed upon the 
minutes of the board : 

Mr. Ebenezer Roberts died at his home on the 
seventh instant in the seventy-seventh year of his 
age and since fifteen years old a resident of the 
city. In him departed a good citizen, an honest. 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



deservedly successful merchant, leaving a good 
name. Mr. Roberts has been a useful, conservative 
director of this bank since 1870. To the members 
of the board it is the loss of an honored associate. 
With some of the older members he had longer 
and more intimate relations, and these deeply feel 
the absence of an old familiar friend. 

U. S. Bridgman, 
Cashier. 



TUTTLE, Hon. Joseph Parsons, 

Lawyer, Jnrist. 

The legal profession of Hartford has 
many representatives, yet none who are 
more devoted to their profession, or any 
more earnest in the discharge of profes- 
sional duties than the Hon. Joseph P. 
Tuttle, whose thorough knowledge of all 
branches of law has enabled him to main- 
tain a foremost position. Judge Tuttle is 
a member of one of the oldest families in 
New England, a family noted for its pa- 
triotism, the members thereof having won 
positions of prominence in political, pro- 
fessional and mercantile circles. 

(I) William Tuttle, the pioneer ances- 
tor of the branch of the family here under 
consideration, crossed the ocean from 
England, accompanied by his wife Eliza- 
beth, in 1635, and located in New Haven, 
Connecticut, he then being twenty-six 
years of age. It was said of him that "he 
was a man of courage, enterprise, intelli- 
gence, probity and piety, and that none of 
the colonists stood higher socially than 
he." 

(II) Joseph Tuttle, son of William and 
Elizabeth Tuttle, was baptized in New 
Haven, Connecticut, 1640, and died there 
in 1690. He married, in 1667, Hannah, 
daughter of Captain Thomas Munson. 

(III) Joseph (2) Tuttle, son of Joseph 
(i) and Hannah (Munson) Tuttle, was 
born in New Haven, Connecticut, in 1668. 
He married, in 1691, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Sanford, of Milford, Connecti- 
cut. 



(IV) Noah Tuttle, son of Joseph (2) 
and Elizabeth (Sanford) Tuttle, was 
born in New Haven, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 12, 1694. He married, December i, 
1720, Rachel Hoadley. She died April 7, 

1749- 

(V) Joseph (3) Tuttle, son of Noah 
and Rachel (Hoadley) Tuttle, was born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, July 18, 
1734. He resided on that part of the 
paternal estate known in recent years as 
the Townsend farm. During the Revolu- 
tionary War his house and barn were 
burned by the British. In 1799 he re- 
moved to Durham, Connecticut. He mar- 
ried, in 1761, I\Iary, daughter of Daniel 
and Abigail (Denison) Granger, of Suf- 
field, Connecticut. 

(VI) Joseph (4) Tuttle, son of Joseph 
(3) and Mary (Granger) Tuttle, was born 
in East Haven, Connecticut, July 4, 1769, 
and died in Durham, Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 16, 1857. He purchased his father's 
estate in East Haven. He enlisted his 
services in the War of 1812 and became a 
member of the Sixth Company, Connec- 
ticut State Troops, under Captain Butler. 

He married (first) -, and (second) 

Phebe Smith. 

(VII) Joseph Nelson Tuttle, son of 
Joseph (4) and Phebe (Smith) Tuttle, 
transformed his given names and always 
wrote his signature as Nelson J. Tuttle. 
He was born August 5, 1836, and died in 
Hartford, Connecticut, January 18, 1910. 
In 1886 he became a resident of Hartford, 
and engaged in the carriage business 
there until 1898, in which year he retired 
from active pursuits. He was a staunch 
adherent of the principles of the Demo- 
cratic party, took an active interest in 
public aiifairs, and served for six years 
as a judge of probate. He was a member 
of Evening Star Lodge, No. loi. Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Union- 
ville. He married Antoinette Clara Par- 



166 



TEE r^'-' ''^ 



PUBLIC LIBFARY 

ASTOR. LENOX 
TILDEN r-OUiNDATLONSj 




S-^ ipS-iSit^/A.^^r ^Bfff. /^/T 




H^ 



'^^}WC^^^ 



'■* ^'■Jrv:Af% /^trr^^f Srerrfo 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons, of Unionville, Connecticut, who 
bore him three children, two of whom 
attained years of maturity, namely, Jo- 
seph Parsons, and Antoinette Frances, 
who became the wife of J. Arthur Smea- 
ton, of Springfield. 

(VIII) Joseph Parsons Tuttle, son of 
Nelson J. and Antoinette Clara (Parsons) 
Tuttle, was born in Unionville, Connec- 
ticut, June 12, 1865. He prepared for col- 
lege in the high school of his native tovv^n, 
and was graduated from Yale University 
in 1889. Such was his industry and 
capacity, that in addition to the regular 
studies of his college course, he advanced 
himself sufficiently in the study of law 
so as to pass the examination for the 
senior class of the Yale Law School, after 
his graduation from the classical course. 
He remained in the law school but a short 
period of time, and then entered the law 
office of Judge William F. Henney, under 
whose competent instruction he pro- 
gressed rapidly. On January 6, 1891, he 
was admitted to the bar of his native 
State, and immediately afterward began 
the active practice of his profession. On 
December i, 1893, he formed a partner- 
ship with Albert C. Bill, under the firm 
name of Bill & Tuttle, and this connec- 
tion continued for two decades, when it 
was dissolved at the time of Mr. Tuttle's 
appointment to the bench. The partner- 
ship was ideal in its warm friendship, 
harmony of thought and action, both 
partners being men of the highest integ- 
rity, well versed in the law and its appli- 
cation, and they enjoyed an extensive 
patronage. On February 25, 1913, Mr. 
Tuttle was appointed judge of the Su- 
perior Court, his term to expire in 1921. 
Previous to this, in 1891, he became a 
member of the City Council, and served 
until 1894. He was president of the lower 
board during the first year. He also 
served as clerk of the Hartford Police 



Court from 1891 to 1893. He casts his 
vote for the candidates of the Democratic 
party, to which he has given his allegi- 
ance since attaining his majority. Judge 
Tuttle is a member of Hartford Lodge, 
No. 88, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Washington Commandery ; Knights 
Templar ; Connecticut Consistory, Sov- 
ereign Princes of the Royal Secret ; Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He also holds mem- 
bership in Crescent Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias. 

Judge Tuttle married, March 21, 1894, 
Edith A., daughter of Walter S. and Ade- 
laide (Phelps) Mather. They are the 
parents of two children : Rubena and 
Marion. The family is identified with the 
Asylum Hill Congregational Church. 

Judge Tuttle is a careful student, a 
keen observer and an accurate thinker. 
In all his professional duties he acquits 
himself as is befitting the well equipped 
man of affairs, being quick in grasping 
the fundamental point involved in a ques- 
tion, and he states his opinion in a lucid 
manner, and as briefly as is consistent 
with making his position clearly under- 
stood. Personally he is popular, and 
socially occupies as high a position as he 
does professionally, and that is in the 
front ranks. 



DAVENPORT, John G., 

Clergyman, Historian, Antiqnarian. 

The Rev. John Gaylord Davenport, D. 
D., was born in Wilton, Fairfield county, 
Connecticut, November 24, 1840, son of 
Charles Augustus and Sarah Maria (Gay- 
lord) Davenport, and is a descendant in 
the eighth generation from, the Rev. John 
Davenport, first minister of New Haven, 
1638. His father, a farmer, and who 
served in various school and militia 
offices in W^ilton, died at the early age of 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



forty-one. He is a descendant in the sev- 
enth generation from Deacon William 
Gaylord, of Windsor, Connecticut. 

Dr. Davenport passed from the public 
school of his native place to the W^ilton 
Classical Academy, and thence to Wil- 
liams (Massachusetts) College, from 
which he was graduated in 1863 with high 
honors, being salutatorian and class day 
poet ; and he received the master's degree 
from his alma niatcr in 1866. For a year 
he taught in a classical academy at Jewett, 
New York. He was a student in the 
Union Theological Seminary in 1865-66, 
and for two years following served as a 
tutor in Williams College, during the 
same period studying divinity under the 
distinguished Dr. Mark Hopkins. He 
was ordained to the Congregational min- 
istry in Bridgeport, Connecticut, on July 
I, 1868, and served as pastor of Park 
Street Church in that city for thirteen 
years, 1868-1881 ; in the latter year going 
to the pastorate of the Second Church of 
Waterbury, with which he yet remains, 
having been made pastor emeritus in 
191 1. He is an old and valued member 
of the Naugatuck Valley Association of 
Congregational Churches and Ministers, 
was Moderator of the General Associa- 
tion of Connecticut in 1897; for fourteen 
years was a corporate member of A. B. C. 
F. M. and is still an honorary member of 
the same. 

Dr. Davenport has been a lifelong de- 
votee of literature and history. His pub- 
lished volumes include "The Fulfillment," 
1900; "Something Beyond, and Other 
Poems," 1914; and "Life of Moses 
Stuart ;" besides numerous historical arti- 
cles for the periodical press, and many 
addresses and poems for anniversary 
occasions. He is at present preparing an 
autobiographical volume which will prove 
rich in local historical material. He is 
a member of the Mattatuck, Connecticut 



and National historical societies ; the 
National Geographical Society ; the 
Founders and Patriots of America, was 
a governor of the Connecticut Society 
and now for ten years is its chaplain ; was 
also chaplain of the General Court, and 
deputy governor during the governor- 
generalship of the late Admiral Dewey ; 
a member of the Civil Service Reform 
Association of Connecticut, and the 
American Hygiene Association. He is 
a past grand worthy patriarch of the Sons 
of Temperance; is a holder of Phi Beta 
Kappa honors, and in 1893 received from 
Williams College the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity. 

Dr. Davenport married, at Wilton, Con- 
necticut, November 29, 1866, Alice, 
daughter of George Burwell and Arethusa 
Lincoln Westcott. Of this marriage were 
born children: i. Clarence Gaylord, born 
April 21, 1868; died in the service of his 
countrj' during the Spanish-American 
War, at Ponce, Porto Rico, 1898. 2. 
Lilian Louisa, born June 23, 1874; now 
wife of William A. Jones, of Wilton, Con- 
necticut. 3. Mary Lindley, born March 
12, 1877; now wife of Herbert J. Wilcox, 
of Waterbury, Connecticut. 



FULTON, William Shirley, 
Man of Affairs. 

William S. Fulton, a representative cit- 
izen of W'aterbury, has won the regard of 
the community in which his entire life has 
been passed. He has worked his way 
upward to responsible position with one 
of the leading manufacturing establish- 
ments of Waterbury, and has proved his 
public spirit and interest in many of the 
movements calling for the aid of all loyal 
friends of the city by active participation. 

William Edwards Fulton, father of 
William S. Fulton, was born August 8, 
1852. in Brooklyn, New York. It was 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



here that he passed his childhood and 
early youth until he had reached the age 
of thirteen, when his parents removed to 
New York City, after which he made his 
home there for a number of years. He 
had begun his education in the Brooklyn 
public schools and continued it in those 
of Manhattan, attending the Thirteenth 
Street Grammar School for a time. He 
completed his education at the College of 
the City of New York, from which he 
graduated, and immediately entered the 
woolen commission business in New 
York. His unusual ability in the realm of 
business was early apparent, and was 
noted by no less a man than A. S. Chase, 
the great Waterbury manufacturer, with 
whom the younger man was acquainted. 
The latter did not remain long in business 
in New York, but was persuaded by Mr. 
Chase to abandon it, and he therefore 
removed to Waterbury, Connecticut, in 
1873. Since that time he has been asso- 
ciated with the various interests in the 
city, and held many important posts in 
that great establishment. But Mr. Ful- 
ton's ability is of so large an order, and 
his powers of organization and manage- 
ment so unmistakable, that it was not 
long before he became an important 
figure in the financial and industrial 
world irrespective of his connection with 
the Chase concerns, and he is now iden- 
tified with a number of the most impor- 
tant institutions of the city, such as the 
Manufacturers' Bank of Waterbury, of 
which he is vice-president, the Colonial 
Trust Company, of which he is director, 
and the Dime Savings Bank, of which he 
is a trustee. 

Mr. Fulton is not one of those men who 
are wholly wrapped up in business inter- 
ests, although in his case the demands 
made upon his time and energies are 
exacting in the extreme. His viewpoint 
is too broad, however, to permit him to 



forget the other aspects of the life of his 
community, and he is consequently active 
in many of the movements undertaken 
for the general advancement of the city. 
An Episcopalian in religious belief, he is 
a member of St. John's Church of that 
denomination and most prominent in the 
affairs of the parish, being a vestryman 
and a liberal supporter of its philanthropic 
work. He is a member of the Republican 
party, but does not take an active part 
in local politics, and is unambitious of 
anything like political preference or pub- 
lic office. Mr. Fulton is a member of the 
local lodge of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

He married, October 23, 1877, Ida 
Eleana Lewis, daughter of Edward C. 
Lewis, a sketch of whom follows. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Fulton three children have been 
born as follows : Lewis Edwards ; Wil- 
liam Shirley, of whom further ; and 
Irving Kent, engaged in farming at Sal- 
isbury, Connecticut, married Elizabeth 
Warner, a daughter of Judge Donald T. 
Warner, of that place. 

William Shirley Fulton, son of William 
E. Fulton, was born in Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, November 23, 1880, and there 
has ever resided. After preparatory study 
he entered the Hotchkiss School, whence 
he was graduated in 1899. In September 
of the same year he entered Yale Univer- 
sity, there completed the academic course 
and was graduated with the class of 1903. 
He then began a connection with the 
Waterbury Machine Company and its 
successor, the Waterbury Farrell Foun- 
dry & Machine Company, which has 
never been interrupted. He began as a 
worker in the shop, but soon passed to a 
position of office responsibility, and stead- 
ily advancing he became in 1905 assistant 
treasurer, and in 1906 treasurer. He con- 
tinued in the last named position until 
191 1, when the Waterbury Machine and 



169 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Farrell Foundry companies consoli- 
dated under the corporate title, The 
Waterbury Farrell Foundry & Machine 
Company. With the merging of the two 
interests, Mr. Fulton was returned to his 
former position, assistant treasurer, but 
in 1914 was again elected treasurer, serv- 
ing until 1916, when the additional dis- 
tinction of vice-president was accorded 
him by the board of directors. His decade 
of service in the treasurer's ofifice has 
given him a wide experience in corpora- 
tion finance, and he has served the com- 
pany faithfully and well, contributing to 
its general prosperity by a wise adminis- 
tration of his office. He has other and 
varied business interests, among which 
being a member of the board of directors 
of the Colonial Trust Company, but gives 
to the duties of his office the majority of 
his interest and time. He is a member 
of the Waterbury Club and the Country 
Club of Waterbury, and seeks relaxation 
from business cares in the recreations they 
offer as well as in their social enjoyments. 
Mr. Fulton married, January 10. 1906, 
Rose Henkly Hayden. daughter of Ed- 
ward Simon and Elizabeth Gilder (Kel- 
logg) Hayden, former highly esteemed 
residents of Waterbury, now deceased, her 
father having been an inventor of a proc- 
ess of separating metals by electricity. 
Mr. and Mrs. Fulton have two children : 
William Hayden, born March 12, 1907, 
and Elizabeth, January 14, 1910. 



LEWIS, Edward C, 

Manafactnrer, Financier. 

There are few men of the many who 
have been connected with Waterbury's 
manufacturing interests who started with 
a feebler prospect of ever reaching the 
eminent position to which he rose, and 
fewer still who more richly deserve the 
success attained. His life from the age of 



ten years was devoted to some form of 
manufacturing and in practical foundry 
work, and in executive ability nor in the 
art of managing men had he any superior. 
The Bridgeport Iron Works, in which he 
learned his trade, he afterward controlled, 
and in Waterbury and surrounding towns 
he had large manufacturing interests. He 
came to this country a child of four, began 
v.'ork at ten, yet such was his native in- 
telligence, so keen his powers of observa- 
tion and absorption that he became a well 
informed man, managing with rare skill 
the large interests committed to his care. 
For forty years he was associated with the 
Farrell Foundry & Machine Company, of 
Ansonia, and in all that period there was 
nc act committed against the welfare of 
an employee, nor was an unkind word 
spoken by any of the principals of that 
corporation intended to wound or annoy, 
or in any way mar the relations which 
ever existed. In these davs of self as- 
sertion and intense rivalry, such a record 
is most unusual and reflects the greatest 
credit upon Mr. Lewis and the Farrells, 
father, son and grandson. 

Edward C. Lewis, son of John and Mary 
Lewis, was born at Welsh Pool, North 
Waters, Great Britain, September 23, 
1826, and died at Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, in 1901. When four years of age 
he was brought to the United States by 
his parents, who settled at Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, where his father, a master 
spinner, secured employment in the cotton 
mills operated by Thatcher & Burnell. 
The lad attended public school until ten 
years of age. then began working in the 
same mill as his father, continuing until 
eighteen years of age. He then became 
an apprentice in the Bridgeport Iron 
Works, learning the moulder's trade and 
becoming an expert in all that pertained 
to foundry work, moulding, casting and 
superintending. The skill and knowledge 



170 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he there acquired was the stepping stone 
to his later success, and was won by hard 
work and industrious application. 

In 1847, being then twenty-one years 
of age, he went to Birmingham, Connec- 
ticut, as foreman in the foundry of Col- 
burn &. Bassett, a prominent firm of iron 
masters in their day. In 1847 he first 
entered the employ of Almon Farrell, 
superintending the erection and starting 
of his original foundry and machine shop 
at Ansonia, Connecticut, from which grew 
one of the largest businesses of its kind 
in the United States. Mr. Lewis returned 
to Bridgeport in 1849, and for about a 
year worked in the Bridgeport Iron 
Works, the plant in which he learned his 
trade. In 1850 he was again in Birming- 
ham for a time in charge of the Birming- 
ham Iron Foundry. He came to Water- 
bury in 1852 as foreman of the Water- 
bury Foundry Company, then controlled 
by the Messrs. Farrell, of Ansonia. He 
was in virtual charge of the Waterbury 
plant and soon gave tangible evidence to 
both his employers and his employees of 
his fitness for the position. He soon ac- 
quired an interest in the company, the 
Farrells recognizing the fact that they 
had secured the services of a superior 
manager as well as a practical workman. 
In a short time he became the active man- 
ager and head of the Waterbury concern, 
and later became treasurer of the Farrell 
Foundry & Machine Company, of An- 
sonia, a further testimonial to his ability. 
It is also worthy of remark that from 1857 
until his death he was a director of that 
company. 

The Farrell interests in Ansonia and 
Waterbury were united until 1880, when 
Mr. Lewis, wishing to become head of his 
business that he might thereon indelibly 
stamp the impress of his own individual- 
ity, purchased the Farrell stock in the 
Waterbury plant, became head, and ever 



lemained the chief executive of the 
Waterbury Foundry Company, in which 
his was the controlling interest. He asso- 
ciated with him as stockholders and direc- 
tors young and virile men, whose quality 
he had tested, namely: William E. Ful- 
ton, George B. Lamb and W. Curtiss, 
upon whom later the business of manage- 
ment fell. 

The years brought him prosperity and 
high reputation, his interests extending to 
many other manufacturing corporations 
in Waterbury and other towns, his ac- 
knowledged ability making him a desir- 
able addition to any corporation. He was 
? director of several financial institutions, 
president of the Oakville Pin Company, 
president of the Capewell Horse Nail 
Company of Hartford, director of the 
Manufacturers" National Bank and of the 
Dime Savings Bank of Waterbury, and 
regarded as one of the ablest and most 
successful business men of his section of 
the State. The term "self made" is a 
hackneyed one and often misapplied, but 
no other so well fits Mr. Lewis. While 
he was endowed by his parents with su- 
perior intelligence, a strong frame and a 
stout heart, he had none of the advan- 
tages of higher education, and his only 
influential friends were those he won by 
his own demonstration of ability to serve 
them. His knowledge was practical, 
gained by contact with men in the shop 
with whom he worked shoulder to shoul- 
der, and with men of high rank with 
whom he sat in conclave around the direc- 
tors' table or in executive session. He 
was liberal and just in his dealings, pro- 
gressive in his business methods, public- 
spirited in his citizenship, popular with 
all classes of men. Often his fellow citi- 
zens persuaded him to serve them in pub- 
lic office, but he was essentially a busi- 
ness man and had little taste for office. 
He served as a Republican in the State 



171 



EX CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Legislature, elected from the Democratic 
city of Waterbury in 1883, running 
against an able Democratic opponent, and 
in 1888 was the Republican nominee for 
Congress from, the Second Connecticut 
District. His opponent was Carlos 
French, a popular Democrat of the Nau- 
gatuck \'alley. by whom he was defeated, 
Mr. Lewis, even with his great personal 
popularity, not being able to overcome the 
normal Democratic majority. 

Mr. Lewis married, October 29, 1850, 
Harriet M. Phippeny, of Hartford. They 
were the parents of seven children, four of 
whom are living: Edward F., born Au- 
gust 10, 1862; Truman S., September 15, 
1866; Ida E., married William E. Fulton ; 
Mary S., married William J. Schlegel. 



COOK, Charles Banister, 

Mannfactnrer, Financier. 

Charles Banister Cook, vice-president 
and factory manager of the Royal Type- 
writer Company of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, has arrived at the position which he 
holds through sheer force of knowledge 
and understanding of the compelling 
forces which actuate every wheel and cog 
in the plant which is under his super- 
vision. Such knowledge cannot be gained 
in a course of technical training. The 
modern craving for efficiency has made 
the mistake in its rapid haste toward 
reform and its desire to conserve the 
energy wasted under old methods, of put- 
ting into executive positions in factories 
men fresh from the technical courses of 
colleges. The value of the college train- 
ing must not, of course, be underesti- 
mated, but it is more often than not, over- 
estimated. Charles B. Cook is not a col- 
lege trained man. He has traveled every 
step of the way from apprenticeship to the 
position which he now holds over a road 
which has not been made smooth by any 



efforts other than his own. To the grad- 
uates of large universities, the condition 
of hunting a job is practically unknown. 
Mr. Cook walked the streets of New York 
City for many months seeking a job, often 
finding as many as one hundred and fifty 
applicants at six o'clock a. m. for a posi- 
tion which had been advertised for nine 
o'clock. It is only by actually experi- 
encing conditions that true and adequate 
understanding of them can be gained. 
Mr. Cook has a practical knowledge of 
everything required of a man in the shop, 
and knows what it is fair to expect of a 
man in any position which is under his 
management. Because he has worked 
among them, he knows the psychological 
conditions that affect men in their rela- 
tions toward their work, toward their 
subordinates, and toward each other, and 
through intelligent handling of the prob- 
lem which this presents has been able to 
bring about the most friendly relations 
between his subordinates and himself. 
Content among workmen and goodwill 
toward the company is of prime impor- 
tance in increasing the efficiency of a plant. 
Every comfort and convenience that the 
most advanced students of factory con- 
ditions recommend for better conditions 
of working, health and happiness of em- 
ployes has been installed in the plant. 

Mr. Cook has profited by every step in 
his career, turning every situation with 
which he has had to cope to advantage ; 
he has turned to his advantage the mis- 
takes of other employers and superiors in 
their attitude toward the men under them. 
The result is that he is always accessible 
to his men, and is sought as a sort of high 
tribunal in affairs of importance. He 
shows them that their advancement not 
only benefits themselves, but is of advan- 
tage to the factory. He believes in build- 
ing up from material recruited inside the 
plant, and a cause of his popularity with 



172 





^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his men is his application of this principle 
in the fact that he does not bring men 
from outside the establishment to fill 
higher and better positions. Mr. Cook's 
motive in keeping in touch with his men 
springs not only from a desire to promote 
friendly feelings toward the company and 
himself, but from a genuine desire to 
encourage and educate his men in the art 
of making the most of themselves, and 
achieving the full possibilities of their 
talents. It is an instinctive desire to lend 
a helping hand to every fellow creature. 
He was born a leader among men, and by 
thoughtful observation and the study of 
nearly all that has been writen on the 
subject, has made himself masterful, ex- 
ecutive, forceful, progressive and aggres- 
sive, but without that disagreeable qual- 
ity of pugnacity. His rule is one of reason 
and persuasion, and he leads men to see 
that their own self interest leads in the 
direction in which he wants them to go. 
Courtesy, thoroughness and system are 
guiding principles in Mr. Cook's life. His 
career is an example of the opportunities 
which American industry presents to 
every man who has the keenness to see its 
possibilities and the courage to grasp 
them in whatever form they are offered. 
Despite the fact that he spent the long 
working hours of the day in manual labor 
in the shop, he studied at night to acquire 
a thorough knowledge of the scientific 
principles underlying his work, and to 
keep abreast with the latest developments 
in the mechanical world. He is a preacher 
and exemplar of optimism, and has a con- 
tagious enthusiasm for his work which he 
imparts to all who come in contact with 
him. He has endeavored, not by preach- 
ing, but by an appeal to their reason to 
set before his men the value of clean, up- 
right living, and the advantage in mate- 
rial things which results from it. 

Charles Banister Cook, son of William 



and Sarah (Sewell) Cook, was born at 
Sydenham, England, October 14, 1875. 
His father was the son of Samuel Roberts 
and Ann (Carrier) Cook, residents of 
Rochford, England, and was born in that 
town, October 4, 1839. He attended the 
Rochford National School, and was a 
member of the Congregational church. 
He married, at Runwell, Essex, March 29, 
1867, Sarah Sewell, who was born at Bil- 
lericary, Essex, England. He has been 
an enthusiastic horseman all his life, and 
has had charge of some of the famous 
hunting stables of England. 

Charles B. Cook was educated in the 
parochial school of the Episcopal church 
until he reached the age of nine years, 
after which time he attended the Hazel- 
tine Road Board School until he was 
eleven years old. Then his formal educa- 
tion ceased, and the excellent training 
which he has since then acquired has 
been the result of burning the midnight 
oil into the "wee sma' hours" of the morn- 
ing. He was ambitious and willing to 
pay the price of the sacrifice which this 
meant. As is always the case, those who 
have bought education at a dear price, 
appreciate it to an extent impossible of 
conception to those who have taken it 
casually. Mr. Cook has, therefore, ever 
since been an active and ardent supporter 
of every movement having for its objec- 
tive the bringing of educational oppor- 
tunities within the reach of those who in 
early life have been denied them. At the 
age of eleven years he went to work as 
a gardener, and from that time until he 
was fourteen found employment in such 
unskilled labor as a child of his years 
could perform. Upon reaching fourteen 
years he became a messenger in the tele- 
graph service of the government. (Tele- 
graph is a government monopoly in Eng- 
land). At seventeen he went into the 
electrical department of the General Post 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Office, the first position in which his work 
was mechanical. 

Mr. Cook came to America at the age 
of nineteen years, and went to Albany, 
New York, where he was employed in a 
large commercial house for two years. 
He then decided to enter upon a mechan- 
ical line of work and went to New York 
City in search of work, searching for 
many months before he finally secured a 
position in the factory of the Underwood 
Typewriter Company at Bayonne, New 
Jersey, as stock boy. When he left that 
company in 1907, he was one of the lead- 
ers, in charge of eighteen hundred men, 
and his rise was by no other forces than 
his natural aptitude for the work, indus- 
try, initiative and ambition to succeed, 
qualities which win success wherever and 
by whomever they are exercised, and 
without which success by honorable 
means is impossible. In 1907, Mr. Cook 
became assistant factory manager for the 
Royal Typewriter Company, then located 
in Brooklyn, New York. The factory was 
brought to Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1908, and he had an important part in the 
colossal task of transplanting a large 
manufacturing plant. In Hartford the 
difficulties experienced in Brooklyn from 
a large floating working population have 
been reduced to a minimum of about three 
and one-half per cent. Manufacturers 
have come to realize the expense involved 
in training a workman, and that the in- 
vestment is totally lost when the worker 
leaves his job. Factories, therefore, which 
have instituted departments for scientific 
study of conditions have become alive to 
the desirability of locating their plants 
where workers are not drawn from a con- 
stantly shifting population. In 191 1, Mr. 
Cook was made factory manager, and on 
January 6, 1913, was elected vice-presi- 
dent and a director of the company which 
now employs about two thousand hands, 



and is excelled by no factory of its type, 
as regards equipment. As has been men- 
tioned before, it has all the latest appli- 
ances for safe-guarding the life and 
health of the employes, including an 
emergency hospital and a trained fire 
company. The factory also has a dining 
room, a magnificent library, and a Mutual 
Benefit Association. 

Mr. Cook is connected in an advisory 
and executive capacity with several finan- 
cial and commercial organizations. He is 
president of the Midwood Theater, Inc., 
of Brooklyn, New York, and a director of 
the Hartford Morris Plan Bank. He has 
always been deeply interested in educa- 
tional affairs, and is a director of the 
Young Men's Christian Association, and 
of Hillyer's Institute, in the educational 
departments of these institutions. He 
was chairman of the building committee 
that erected the present Young Men's 
Christian Association Building, which is 
one of the handsomest, most convenient, 
and best equipped to be found in any city 
of Hartford's size in the entire country. 
Mr. Cook is vice-president of the Hart- 
ford Chamber of Commerce. He is also 
vice-president of the Rotary Club. He 
is a Republican in politics, but has no fur- 
ther connection with the political world 
than that of the ordinary man of affairs, 
interested in the political issues of his 
day. He has, however, served on the Re- 
publican town committee. He is now a 
member of the Board of Education, in 
which capacity he has done some very 
valuable work for the city of Hartford. 
He was the originator of the continuation 
work of the High School, which provides 
vocational training for young men. The 
introduction of this form of training into 
the high schools was the successful termi- 
nation of a six years' battle against con- 
servatism by Mr. Cook and those inter- 
ested with him in the issue. 



174 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Cook is a member of the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers ; of the 
Society for Industrial Education ; of the 
Hartford Lodge, No. 88, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons; of Summit Lodge, 
No. 44, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows; and the Hartford Club. 

Mr. Cook married Eliza, daughter of 
Joseph Johnston, of Albany, New York. 
Their children are : Dorothy Lansing, 
Charles B., Jr., and Alan Sewell. The 
family are members of Trinity Episcopal 
Church. 

Because of the fact that he is thor- 
oughly conversant with every phase of 
factory life, Mr. Cook is regarded as an 
authority on it, and has written many 
articles on efficiency, factory manage- 
ment and allied subjects for technical 
journals. He is the author of a book that 
has had a very wide sale, entitled, "Fac- 
tory Management." This covers factory 
accounting and the human element of the 
plant. The following excerpt gives in the 
form of a resume Mr. Cook's ideas and 
theories on the subject of cooperative in- 
dustrial education, for which he has 
labored unceasingly for several years: 

After a great deal of time and thought in regard 
to some way of procuring additional education for 
our shop boys, it has strongly forced itself upon 
me that a system of technical training, under 
proper tutorage, and under the apprenticeship 
system is what the manufacturers of Hartford 
need to-day. Our shop boys, good and bad, as 
far as ability goes, are being put into positions 
whereby they are simply cogs in the wheel of a 
great system, becoming specialists in a meagre 
capacity, and the time comes when, too late to 
turn themselves, advancement is out of the ques- 
tion, due to their restricted experience. The boy 
of well-to-do parents escapes this condition as he 
can make changes without interference of the 
stoppage of pay that goes to the needy family, 
and who has a better educational foundation. 
What we want in Hartford, and please let us 
emphasize this, is an educational course, followed 
and endorsed by most or all factories of this city 
for the boys who are ambitious and have ability. 



Under the present system of our factories, impor- 
tant position are filled by men from outside, and 
you will, I think, agree with me, that most of 
them could have been filled from the ranks if the 
employees had had the advantage of cooperative 
education. 



WELCH, Archibald Ashley, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Through the work of actuaries, life in- 
surance has been reduced to an exact 
science. In the earlier days of the busi- 
ness complete reliance was placed upon 
a single table of mortality rates, but now 
that there are companies in our country 
whose life has passed the half century 
mark, such companies rely more upon 
their own actuarial departments, and the 
lesult of their own experience. This has 
given those departments an added impor- 
tance, and to-day no company can suc- 
ceed that is weak in actuarial strength, 
for the actuary is the mathematical sheet 
anchor of his company, and on his exact- 
ness in preparing the different tables of 
figures hangs the weal or woe of that 
company. For a quarter of a century Mr. 
Welch has been an actuary, and that he 
is to-day actuary and vice-president of the 
Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company, 
and has been chosen president of the 
Actuarial Society of America is all the 
proof that is needed to establish the high 
value of his attainment. The four gener- 
ations of his ancestors, beginning with 
Rev. Daniel Welch, of the third gener- 
ation, have been students or graduates of 
Yale College, and there he entered but 
did not graduate with his class, leaving 
at the end of his junior year, but later re- 
turned and received his degree. 

Rev. Daniel Welch was a son of Thom- 
as Welch, a large landowner of Windham 
county, Connecticut, son of James Welch, 
the American founder of the family, who 
was a soldier in King Philip's War in 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1676. He received land for his services 
in that war at Voluntown, Connecticut, 
and leaving Rhode Island, he settled upon 
his land at Voluntown, where he died 
prior to 1726. In 1702 he was living in 
Plainfield, Connecticut. Rev. Daniel 
Welch was a graduate of Yale, class of 
1749, was ordained minister over the 
church at North Mansfield, June 29, 1752, 
and continued its pastor until his death, 
April 29, 1782. 

His son, Rev. Moses Cook Welch, D. 
D., was a graduate of Yale, class of 1772, 
taught school, studied law, but in defer- 
ence to his father's wishes discontinued it, 
served for a time in the Revolutionary 
army, illness ending his service, then 
studied divinity and succeeded his hon- 
ored father as minister of the church at 
North Mansfield, being ordained June 2, 
1784. He continued in the ministry until 
his death, April 21, 1824, having been 
pastor of the same church forty years. 
He was a member of the Yale College 
Corporation, 1822-24, and received in 1824 
the degree of Doctor of Divinity from 
Dartmouth College. Many of his ser- 
mons, addresses and essays have been 
published. 

His son, Dr. Archibald Welch, attended 
medical lectures at Yale College, and was 
licensed to practice in September, 1816, 
but not until 1836 did he receive his de- 
gree of M. D. from Yale, having then 
been in successful practice at Mansfield 
and Wethersfield, Connecticut, for twenty 
years. He practiced at Mansfield, 1816- 
32; at Wethersfield, 1832-48, and at Hart- 
ford from 1841 until his death, 1853. For 
ten years he was in charge of the medical 
department of the Connecticut State 
Prison, was secretary, vice-president and 
president of the State Aledical Society. 
He represented his district in the State 
Assembly, was a strenuous advocate of 
the temperance cause, well informed on 



all questions of public interest, and a for- 
midable antagonist in discussion or de- 
bate. He was highly esteemed, was a 
skillful physician, very hospitable, witty, 
lively and entertaining in speech, gener- 
ous with his wealth and freely helped 
those in need. He met his death in the 
disaster at Norwalk, Connecticut, when 
ihe train upon which he was returning 
with other prominent physicians from a 
meeting of the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, in New York, went into the river 
through an open drawbridge. 

His son, Henry Kirk White Welch, was 
born at Mansfield, Connecticut, January 
I, 1821, and died in November, 1870. He 
was a graduate of Yale, class of 1842, 
studied law, became a law partner of 
Judge Nathaniel Shipman, was highly 
rated as a lawyer, and was a director of 
the old Continental Insurance Company. 
He took a keen interest in public aflrairs, 
filled many offices of public trust, repre- 
sented Hartford in the General Assembly, 
and was chairman of the high school com- 
mittee. He was a man of high ideals, cul- 
tured tastes, and the soul of honor. Mr. 
Welch married, October 5, 1858, Susan 
Leavitt Goodwin, of Hartford, daughter 
of Edward and Eliza Amy (Sheldon) 
Goodwin. Children: Archibald Ashley, 
of whom further ; Edward G., born Janu- 
ary 14, 1861, died in 1894; Frances G., 
born March 7, 1864, became the wife of 
Bernard T. Williams ; Henry Kirk White, 
born December 4, 1865, associated offi- 
cially with the J. B. Williams Company, 
of Glastonbury, Connecticut; Lewis S., 
born July 19, 1867, graduate of Yale, class 
of 1889. and the first editor of "Yale Alum- 
ni Weekly." 

The Goodwin family, of which Mrs. 
Henry Kirk White Welch was a represen- 
tative, was founded in America by Ozias 
Goodwin, who came with his brother. 
Elder William Goodwin, and settled in 
176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford, Connecticut, where Ozias Good- 
win in 1639-40 had a house and lot "on 
the highway leading from Seth Grant's 
house to Centinal Hill." From Ozias 
Goodwin and his wife, Mary (Woodward) 
Goodwin, whom he married in England, 
the line of descent was through their son, 
Nathaniel Goodwin ; his son, Samuel 
Goodwin ; his son, Samuel (2) Goodwin ; 
his son, George Goodwin ; his son, Ed- 
ward Goodwin, father of Mrs. Welch. 
George Goodwin, born January 7, 1757, 
died May 13. 1844. At the age of nine 
years he became office boy to Thomas 
Green, who founded the Flartford "Cou- 
rant," October 29, 1764. From that time 
until 1836 George Goodwin was connected 
with the "Courant" as office boy, appren- 
tice, editor and owner, and when in 1836 
the paper was sold to J. L. Boswell one of 
the stipulations of the contract was that 
Mr. Goodwin should have the privilege 
of working in the "Courant" office when- 
ever he pleased, and until very neai the 
close of his life he availed himself of this 
light. Edward Goodwin, ]:is son born 
December 7, 1800, was a graduate of Yale, 
class of 1823. He entered the law school 
of Judge Reeve at Litchfield, but at the 
solicitation of his father gave up the study 
of law and became editor of the "Cou- 
rant." When his father retired from the 
"Courant" in 1836, Edward Goodwin asso- 
ciated with his father and brothers in the 
firm of Goodwin & Company, publishers 
and paper manufacturers, and in the firm 
of H. & E. Goodwin until going out of 
business in 1861. He was later deputy 
collector of internal revenue, but from 
1861 was practically retired from public 
life. He was a man of strong natural 
ability and cultivated literary tastes, a 
student of classics and a. fine Latin 
scholar. He married (second) Novem- 
ber 3, 1820, Eliza Amy (Lewis) Sheldon, 
born in Goshen, Connecticut, December 

Conn— S— 12 



29, 1798, died January 7, 1887, daughter 
of Elihu and Clarinda (Stanley) Lewis, of 
Onondaga county, New York, and widow 
of Henry Sheldon, of Litchfield, Connec- 
ticut. Edward Gooidwin died October 25, 
1883, nearly three years after celebrat- 
ing the golden anniversary of his second 
wedding day. Children of second mar- 
riage: Edward, married Annie S. Conk- 
lin; Susan Leavitt, born March 31, 1834, 
married Henry Kirk White Welch, of 
previous mention ; Sheldon, born July 7, 
1836, married Emma S. Messenger. 

Archibald Ashley Welch, eldest son of 
Henry Kirk White and Susan Leavitt 
(Goodwin) Welch, was born at Hartford, 
Connecticut, October 6, 1859, in which 
city he has since resided. He passed 
through all grades of the North School 
and the high school, graduating in the 
class of 1878. He then entered Yale Col- 
lege, completing his junior year, then left 
college to engage in business life. He 
spent the years until 1890 as clerk in the 
actuary's office of the Travelers' Insur- 
ance Company of Hartford, resigning to 
accept the office of actuary of the Phoenix 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of Hart- 
ford. In 1891 he completed his senior 
year course at Yale, and was awarded his 
degree of Bachelor of Arts, class of 1882. 
He has continued as actuary of the 
Phoenix until the present time (1917), 
and in 1904 was elected second vice-presi- 
dent, receiving the appointment of vice- 
president in January, 1915. He is also 
a trustee of the Society for Savings, and 
a director of the Hartford Retreat, one of 
the United States trustees for the Prus- 
sian Life Insurance Company, and a 
director of the Chamber of Commerce. 
I'or fifteen years he served as chairman 
of the high school committee, and is ex- 
secretary and now vice-president of the 
American School for the Deaf. He is an 
ex-president of the Actuarial Society of 

77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



America, a member of the Hartford, Hart- 
ford Golf, University, Farmington Coun- 
try clubs, the Graduates Club of New 
Haven, the University and Yale clubs of 
New York City, and Delta Kappa Epsilon 
and Delta Kappa fraternities. In religious 
affiliation he is a member of the Christian 
Science church, and in politics a Repub- 
lican. 

Mr. Welch married, October 24, 1889, 
Ellen Bunce, daughter of James M. and 
Elizabeth (Chester) Bunce. James M. 
Bunce was a wholesale grocer of Hart- 
ford, and vice-president of the Hartford. 
Providence & Fishkill Railroad Company. 



TRAUT, George Washington, 

Manufacturer, Finaucier. 

Three generations of this ancient Ger- 
man family have contributed to the in- 
dustrial and commercial greatness of New 
Britain, Connecticut: Frederick A. Traut, 
the founder; Justus A. Traut, his son; 
George W. Traut, his grandson, all men 
of education, mechanical genius and 
wealth. Frederick A. and Justus A. Traut 
have now passed to their reward, having 
borne well their part in life's activities. 
After over half a century of life in his 
adopted city, Justus A. Traut thus ex- 
pressed his sentiments as a proud and 
loyal citizen of the United States: "A 
man's nationality remains part of him al- 
ways, and this is as it should be. I can- 
not help feeling a double sense of loyalty 
as if the roots of my life-tree were divided, 
one-half still growing in the Vaterland, 
while the other is thriving in the gener- 
ous atmosphere of this glorious republic, 
I'.nd more closely confined in the atmos- 
phere and circle of my friends and busi- 
ness associates of a lifetime in whose 
midst I hope to enjoy many a year of 
active and therefore happy usefulness." 

Frederick A. Traut acquired a large 



estate near Berlin, Germany, his fortune 
arising from the invention of a wood ve- 
neering machine which came into univer- 
sal use. The political upheavals of his 
period caught him in their meshes, caus- 
ing him to sell his estate and remove to 
the city of Berlin. Later he came to the 
United States, located in New Britain, 
Connecticut, where he was identified with 
the firm of Hall & Knapp. 

Justus A. Traut, son of Frederick A. 
Traut, was born in Pottsdam, Germany, 
m 1839, died in New Britain, Connecticut, 
in 1909. He completed a course of study 
in the gymnasium at Berlin when but 
fifteen years of age, being the youngest 
member of his class. His father in the 
meantime had gone to the United States 
and in 1854, after graduation, the son 
joined his father in New Britain, that 
"City of Inventions." He also obtained 
a position with the firm of Hall & Knapp, 
continuing until that company was ab- 
sorbed by the Stanley Rule & Level Com- 
pany in 1856. He then transferred his 
services to the new owners, and for over 
half a century contributed to its great- 
ness. He inherited his father's inventive 
genius and added to the family fame 
through his many inventions, numbering 
over three hundred, for which patents 
were issued. The special line which occu- 
pied the genius of this "king of inventors" 
was the invention and perfection of tools 
and instruments used by carpenters and 
wood workers, also instruments of pre- 
cision used by constructive mechanics 
and engineers the world over. These, 
v.'hen placed upon the market, with the 
style and finish characteristic of every 
tool and instrument which bore the trade 
mark of the Stanley Rule i!v Level Com- 
pany, gained the instant attention of the 
trade and when placed in actual use quick- 
ly demonstrated their practical value to 
mechanic and engineer, ^^'hile tools and 
78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



■instruments gave him his fame as an in- 
ventor, he went far afield, and there are 
man)' inventions used in the home and 
elsewhere which bear his name. He did 
not confine himself strictly to the Stanley 
Rule & Level Company, but was identified 
with other manufacturing corporations as 
director, and in 1888 organized the Traut 
& Hine Manufacturing Company, of 
which he was president until his death. 
He was a great lover of out-of-door life 
and a devoted student of nature. He 
served on the board of directors of New 
Britain General Hospital from its organi- 
zation, and held many city and town 
offices. 

Air. Traut married Louisa B. Burck- 
hardt, daughter of Christian B. Burck- 
hardt, of Giessen, Upper Hesse Province, 
Germany. They were the parents of two 
sons who grew to adult years : George 
W., of further mention, and Frank L., 
vice-president of the Traut & Hine Com- 
pany. Mrs. Traut died in 1887. 

George Washington Traut, elder son of 
Justus A. and Louisa B. (Burckhardt) 
Traut, was born in New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, February 22, 1869. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and at the 
completion of his high school course in 
1888 at once began work in the line of 
activity in which his father and his grand- 
father had won such enviable reputation. 
He was endowed with their love of me- 
chanical and manufacturing operations, 
and had not his path led along the line of 
executive and managerial responsibility, 
he would have been as great a success in 
the mechanical department. In 18S8 his 
career as a manufacturer began with the 
establishment of the Traut & Hine Manu- 
facturing Company, of which his honored 
father was founder and head. George W. 
Traut was chosen treasurer of the com- 
pany, and from 1888 until 1909 was also 
general manager. The company has had 



a most successful career and holds honor- 
able position among the industrial enter- 
prises of New Britain. On the death of 
his father in 1909, Mr. Traut succeeded 
him as president of the company, also 
holding in connection with the executive 
management the office of treasurer. He 
is also a director of the Savings Bank of 
New Britain, the New Britain National 
Bank and the United States Fastener 
Company of Boston. This record of the 
business activities of three generations is 
one of unusual interest, and stands as an- 
other proof that in the transplanting 
process German efficiency does not lose 
its potency, but in this free soil and gen- 
erous atmosphere gains additional force 
and strength. 

He has long taken a deep interest in the 
New Britain General Hospital, of which 
his father was one of the founders, and is 
now a member of the board of directors. 
He is a Republican in politics, and as a 
member of Common Council rendered 
valued service to the cause of good gov- 
ernment. For twelve years he has been 
a member of the Board of Education and 
a warm friend of the public school system. 
He is a member of the South Congrega- 
tional Church ; Harmony Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Giddings 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Doric 
Council, Royal and Select Masters, of 
New Britain ; Washington Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and Sphinx Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. His clubs 
are the New Britain. Farmington Coun- 
try and Turn Verein of New Britain. 
From, his own experience and as a guide 
to true success in life, Mr. Traut empha- 
sizes : "Absolute honesty and faithful- 
HL'Ss, perseverance in business afifairs and 
fair treatment to every one." These are 
the principles by which his own career 
has been guided and from the fullness of 
his success their value is proven. 



179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Traut married. May i, 1895, Amalie 
A. B. Sternberg, daughter of A. C. Stern- 
berg, of West Hartford. They are the 
parents of five children : Justus A., died 
in infancy; Elizabeth, Francesca I., Am- 
alie L. and Anna C. The family home is 
"Traut Lodge," New Britain. 



BURRALL, John Milton, 

Manufacturer. 

The Burrall family in this line is of 
pure English descent, the family one of 
worth and influence in England from an 
early period, and it has been represented 
in this country for several centuries, its 
members in the various generations rank- 
ing among the prominent and progressive 
citizens of this Commonwealth. 

(I) The earliest known ancestor of the 
line of the Burrall family herein followed 
was William Burrall, a native of England, 
a chemist and refiner of metals, who was 
induced to come to America in 1715 by 
the owner of copper mines in Simsbury, 
Connecticut. The headquarters were 
located in Boston, Massachusetts, where 
Mr. Burrall resided for a time, removing 
to Simsbury, Connecticut, about 1720. 
He married (first) Joanna Westover, who 
remained in England, and shortly after 
his arrival here she died at Redworth, 
England. He married (second) Hannah, 
widow of Thomas Welton, of Waterbury, 
to whom she was married March 9, 1714; 
he died in Waterbury, April 9, 171 7. She 
was born March 12, 1694, daughter of 
Josiah and Hannah (Westover) Allford, 
of Simsbury. William Burrall died in 
Connecticut, 1723. 

(II) Colonel Charles Burrall, son of 
William Burrall, was born February 21, 
1720, in Simsbury, Connecticut, and died 
October 7, 1803. He settled in Canaan, 
Connecticut, of which town he was one 
of the grantees, probably before 1750, and 



was its representative in the General 
Court in 1760-61-62-63, 1766, 1769, 1770- 
71-72-73-74, 1778-79, 1781-82-83, 1785-86- 
87-88. In 1769 he was styled captain, 
1770 major, and in 1778 and thencefor- 
ward colonel. He received his commis- 
sion as colonel from Governor Trumbull, 
and led the troops of that State in the bat- 
tle of Ticonderoga. His regiment was 
the Fourteenth Connecticut Militia, which 
did such good service under General 
Gates in New York in 1777, and later at 
Bennington, Vermont. He married for 
his second wife, December 25, 1746, Abi- 
gail Kellogg, born September 28, 1728, 
and died January 28, 1789. 

(III) Captain Charles (2) Burrall, son 
of Colonel Charles (I) Burrall, was born 
February 18, 1751, and died January 17, 
1820. He also represented the town of 
Canaan, Connecticut, in the State Legis- 
lature in 1789-90, 1792-93-94-95. He mar- 
ried Anna Beebe, of Canaan, Connecticut. 

(IV) Charles (3) Burrall, son of Cap- 
tain Charles (2) Burrall, married Lucy 
Beach, and among their children was 
John Milton, of whom further. 

(V) John Milton Burrall, son of Charles 
(3) and Lucy (Beach) Burrall, was born 
in Canaan, Connecticut, January 8, 1817. 
He was educated in the schools of Canaan 
and Hartford Academy, and after com- 
pleting his studies he served an appren- 
ticeship at the trade of cabinetmaking in 
Hartford, of which city he was a resident 
four years. He then engaged in business 
in Plymouth and conducted the same 
until October, 1849, '" which year he 
formed a partnership with George Root, 
of Waterbury, and they established a fur- 
niture store on East Main street, Water- 
bury, under the firm name of J. M. Bur- 
rall & Company. In 1852 a building was 
erected at No. 60 Banks street, where the 
partners conducted a furniture and un- 
dertaking business under the name of 

;8o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Burrall & Root, and later the business 
was conducted under the names of J. M. 
Burrall & Sons and J. M. Burrall & Com- 
pany. Mr. Burrall was one of the oldest 
business men in Waterbury, also one of 
the most successful, conducting his busi- 
ness along honorable and straightforward 
lines, winning and retaining the respect 
and esteem of all with whom he had busi- 
ness relations. He was also one of the 
oldest directors of the Waterbury Na- 
tional Bank, a director of the Waterbury 
Savings Bank, a member of the Common 
Council, a member of the Board of Relief, 
a member of the District School Com- 
mittee in 1859, in which work he took an 
active interest, and was one of the orig- 
inal members of the Citizens Engine 
Company, No. 2, of Waterbury. Mr. Bur- 
rall married (first) July 8, 1841, Mary 
Louise Coley, born in Plymouth, Connec- 
ticut, and died January 29, 1889. Their 
children are : Charles Homer, who died 
in Plymouth, Connecticut, October i, 
1842 ; Lucy Marion, born May 8, 1844, 
died March 9, 1866; Edward Milton, born 
May 24, 1848, died November 4, 1901, 
married. May 17, 1877, Mary Eunice 
Booth, daughter of John C. Booth, men- 
tioned at length in following sketch ; and 
Charles William, of whom further. Mr. 
Burrall married (second) April 9, 1894, 
Mrs. Mary J. Bunnell. 

(VI) Charles William Burrall, son of 
John Milton and Mary Louise (Coley) 
Burrall, was born in Waterbury, Connec- 
ticut, April 10, 1850. He acquired a prac- 
tical education in the schools of his native 
city, and for many years thereafter he 
was successfully engaged in business pur- 
suits, having been a member of the J. 
M. Burrall & Company, established by 
his father, which was a very thriving 
establishment, engaged in the furniture 
trade. He is now (1916) living retired at 
Union City, near Waterbury. He mar- 



ried, October 2, 1872, Cora LeRoy Pritch- 
ard, born in Waterbury, Connecticut, died 
aged forty-three years, daughter of 
George and Frances Jeannette (Scott) 
Pritchard. Three children were born of 
this marriage: John Milton, of whom 
further ; Lucy Beach and Mary Frances, 
both living unmarried in Waterbury. 

(VII) John Milton (2) Burrall, only 
son of Charles William and Cora LeRoy 
(Pritchard) Burrall, was born in Water- 
'bury, Connecticut, August 13, 1873. He 
was educated in the local schools and a 
business college. At the age of twenty- 
one years he entered the works of the 
American Ring Company, where he in 
time mastered all the details of the busi- 
ness and rose gradually to the positions of 
secretary and general manager, in which 
capacities he has served since 191 1. He 
is possessed of personal qualities that 
make him popular, and is very well 
known in the city of Waterbury, in all of 
whose interests he takes advanced 
ground. He is a member of St. John's 
Protestant Episcopal Church, and of the 
Waterbury and Country clubs of Water- 
bury. Politically he acts with the Repub- 
lican party, and has filled important posi- 
tions in the city government, among them 
that of a member of the Board of Public 
Safety, and alderman from the Third 
Ward under the administration of Mayor 
Hotchkiss. He has been very active in 
promoting the interests of the State 
Militia of Connecticut, and is a charter 
member of Company H, Second Infantry. 
In this he filled the offices of first lieuten- 
ant, battalion adjutant of the Second Bat- 
talion, and was very popular among his 
comrades. Mr. Burrall is still a young 
man and gives promise of further activi- 
ties in promoting the advancement of 
various interests of the city of Water- 
bury, of which he is justly proud. 

Mr. Burrall married in New York City, 



i«i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May 20, 1905, Inez Hart, born in Newark, 
New Jersey, daughter of Era Thomas 
Hart, a prominent manufacturer of that 
city. Mr. and Mrs. Burrall are the par- 
ents of three children: John Milton, 
born April 3, 1908; Henry Driggs, No- 
vember 15, 191 1 ; Stephen Hart, February 
21, 1913. 



BURRALL, John Booth, 

Business Man, Financier, 

There is a very appropriate admiration 
in this country for the type which we 
most aptly term the self-made man, for 
the man who has started from humble 
beginnings and worked his way up to a 
place of prominence in the community. 
The admiration is appropriate because, 
beyond question, these men are the most 
characteristic of American types, the type 
to which we owe the great material de- 
velopment which this country has en- 
joyed in the few centuries of its existence. 
Yet we should not forget, because of our 
admiration, that, although of rarer occur- 
rence, although less typical, there is an- 
other class that, as individuals, are 
deserving of an equally great meed of 
praise and approval. These are the men 
who have started as children of wealth 
and yet made themselves important and 
worthy factors in the life of the com- 
munity. For the temptations of wealth 
are not less than those of poverty, nay, 
rather more for in the latter case the sting 
of necessity adds a compelling impulse to 
our good resolutions to succeed, which, 
in an environment of ease and plenty, 
must undertake our salvation unaided. 
The feeling of discouragement at having 
to face the world without assistance is 
doubtless bitter, yet it is not more diffi- 
cult to overcome than the temptation not 
to face it at all which those who are born 
with silver spoons must contend against. 



And then, too, that bracing and strength- 
ening of the moral tissues that comes 
with the necessity to labor from an early 
age is lacking in the lives of those who, 
in popular phrase, are called the for- 
tunate, who must, if they would make 
themselves laborers in the great fields of 
human endeavor, make a conscious effort 
to perform much that, with the other, 
has become a mere habit. So it is that 
we must yield an equal credit to those 
who, having overcome the difficulties of 
good fortune, are become a part of the 
active portion of the community, who 
have made their lives significant in the 
general sum of human efTort. Such a man 
is John Booth Burrall, of Waterbury, 
Connecticut, one of the youngest, yet 
most prominent, figures in the industrial 
and financial world of that flourishing 
city. 

Mr. Burrall's father was Edward Mil- 
ton Burrall, one of the most prominent 
manufacturers of Waterbury during the 
last generation, and president of the 
American Ring Company, manufacturers 
of artistic brass goods and other metal 
work. He was a member of the Water- 
bury Board of Hope, an early organiza- 
tion connected with the church and Sun- 
day school. IVIr. Burrall, Sr., met his 
death on November 4, 1901, in New York 
City, and is survived by his wife, who was 
Mary Eunice Booth, of Waterbury, 
daughter of John C. Booth, to whom he 
was married May 17, 1877, and who is 
now residing with her son, the Mr. Bur- 
rall of this brief sketch. 

John Booth Burrall was born on Octo- 
ber 14, 1879, in Waterbury, Connecticut, 
and received the earliest portion of his 
education in the local private schools. 
In the year 1884, having reached the ag6 
of fifteen years, he was sent to the Taft 
School at Waterbury, where he prepared 
himself for a college course. In 1898, 



I«2 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



after four years spent in this institution, 
he matriculated at Yale University, where 
he distinguished himself as an apt and 
industrious scholar, and graduated with 
the class of 1902. Shortly after Mr. Bur- 
rail entered the employ of the American 
Ring Company, of which his father had 
recently been president, and thus began 
his career in the business world in which 
he was soon destined to become so impor- 
tant a figure. The American Ring Com- 
pany is one of the oldest concerns in 
Waterbury, having been established as 
early as the year 1810 and incorporated 
in 1852. It has known over a century of 
well nigh uninterrupted prosperity, and 
of comparatively recent years under the 
able management of the Burralls, father 
and son, has grown to very large pro- 
portions. For Mr. Burrall did not long 
remain in a subordinate position, but be- 
came treasurer of the corporation, and 
president in 1914, an office which he holds 
at the present time. But although he is, 
perhaps, more closely identified with the 
American Ring Company than with any 
other concern, his business interests are 
by no means limited to it and he is asso- 
ciated with a great number of important 
institutions, financial and industrial in 
various official capacities. He is a mem- 
ber of the executive committee of the 
Colonial Trust Company, a trustee of the 
Dime Savings Bank and a director of the 
Morris Plan Bank, all of Waterbury. He 
is also president of the Plume and At- 
wood Manufacturing Company of Water- 
bury, and a director in the following con- 
cerns : The American Pin Company, the 
Waterbury Castings Company, the 
Homer D. Bronson Company and the 
Waterbury Hotel Corporation. 

Even for a man who had spent a long 
lifetime in control of great business inter- 
ests such tasks, as involved by the various 
offices held bv Mr. Burrall, might well 



prove an exacting burden which would 
leave but little time for taking part in 
any other aspects of the community's life. 
It is all the more surprising, therefore, 
to note in so young a man the ability to 
discharge these tasks adequately and yet 
reserve time for other occupations and 
pastimes. For Mr. Burrall is a conspicu- 
ous figure in the social life of Waterbury 
and a member of many prominent clubs. 
Among these should be mentioned the 
University Club and the Yale Club of 
New York City, the Graduates Club of 
New Haven, the Waterbury, the Home 
and the Country clubs of Waterbury and 
the Country Club of Farmington, Con- 
necticut. Mr. Burrall is an Episcopalian 
in religion and a member of St. John's 
Church in Waterbury. 

The career of Mr. Burrall is as yet but 
beginning, but it is a beginning of a kind 
that promises brilliant things for the 
future. To a man of his talents and ver- 
satility very few doors are closed and his 
many friends and admirers are not un- 
warranted in looking forward to a large 
accomplishment. For not the least of 
Mr. Burrall's achievements is that he has 
many friends, adding, as he does, to his 
other talents that of winning and retain- 
ing the affection of his associates. 

On May 20, 1916, Mr. Burrall married 
Margaret Fallon Barber, daughter ol 
William Hassett and Agatha (Ottman) 
Fallon, of New York City. 



HAMPSON, Robert William, 

Merchant. 

Robert William Hampson, one of the 
successful merchants of Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, is a descendant of an excellent 
English family, the seat of the family for 
a number of generations being the city of 
Manchester, which is the great center of 
the cotton manufacture of the northwest 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of England, also a depot for all kinds of 
textile fabrics, and does a very large 
export trade. 

Thomas and Sarah (Knight) Hampson, 
grandparents of Robert William Hamp- 
son, lived and died in Manchester, Eng- 
land, and their son. Thomas Hampson, 
father of Robert William Hampson, was 
born in Manchester, in which city he 
spent the greater part of his life, sub- 
sequently emigrating to the United 
States, making his home in New Haven, 
Connecticut. He was accompanied by 
his wife, Sarah (Aucock) Hampson, who 
was of Smaith, Yorkshire, England, and 
four of their five children, all of whom are 
now living in the United States. Their 
children are : Ada, the wife of Amos H. 
Osborne, of Waterbury, Connecticut ; 
Lewis, a resident of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts ; Phillip Henry, a resident of 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania ; Robert Wil- 
liam, of whom further ; Charles Goodwin, 
born in Hartford, Connecticut, and now 
a resident of New York City. Thomas 
Hampson (father) died in New Haven, in 
1872. 

Robert William Hampson was born in 
Manchester, England, July i, 1868. He 
was brought by his parents to this coun- 
try, where he resided until he was four 
years old, when, upon the death of his 
father, he was sent back to England, 
having relatives in Manchester, and in 
the schools of that city he received his 
education. At the age of fifteen years he 
returned to the United States and at once 
secured employment in the shipping room 
and office of the Waterbury Button Com- 
pany, Waterbury, Connecticut, where he 
remained five years. He then entered the 
employ of the L. F. Haase Company, who 
conducted a retail wall paper, carpet and 
drapery establishment. Shortly after- 
ward he became secretary of the com- 
pany, with whom he remained for eight 
years. In 1900 he engaged in the furni- 



ture business, forming the stock company 
known as the Hampson-Sellew Furniture 
Company, which continued until 1909, 
and then, after erecting a new building 
on the south side of Waterbury's Green, 
the present firm of Hampson, Mintie & 
Abbott, Incorporated, was formed. The 
new corporation's success in the furniture 
business has been phenomenal up to the 
present time (1916) and promises still 
better for the future. Its trade has 
grown enormously and the partners have 
established for it a reputation for integ- 
rity and straightforward dealing second 
to none in the city. Mr. Hampson now 
occupies a prominent place among the 
merchants and business men of the city 
and is regarded by them as a leader. He 
is an ex-president of the Waterbury Busi- 
ness Men's Association now absorbed by 
the new Chamber of Commerce. Mr. 
Hampton is a conspicuous figure in the 
general life of Waterbury, a thirty-second 
degree Mason and a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. He at- 
tends the First Congregational Church of 
Waterbury. 

Mr. Hampson married, October 18, 
1893, ^^ Waterbury, Connecticut, Annie 
Russell, a native of that city, daughter of 
Dr. Isaac N. and Flora (Sackett) Russell. 
Dr. Russell died in 1902, having been for 
many years one of the leading dentists of 
Waterbury, and Mrs. Russell, a native 
of Warren, Connecticut, resides at the 
present time in Waterbury. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hampson are the parents of one child, 
Edmund Russell, born July 26, 1894. now 
a student at Trinity College, Hartford, 
Connecticut, class of 1918. 



HULL, Hadlai Austin, 

Liaxryer, Legislator, Soldier. 

The Rhode Island Hull family which 
descends from the Hulls of Somerset- 
shire, England, is one of the oldest in 



184 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New England, and members of this fam- 
ily have been prominent in business, 
political and military circles for gener- 
ations. In Hadlai Austin Hull, of New 
London, Connecticut, a descendant of Jo- 
seph Hull, an early settler of Rhode 
Island, and his wife, Hannah (Perry) 
Hull, a cousin of Oliver Hazard Perry, 
the hero of the "Battle of Lake Erie," is 
found a worthy representative. 

Hadlai Austin Hull was born in Ston- 
ington, New London county, Connecticut, 
August 22, 1854, son of Joseph and Mary 
Ellen (Fish) Hull, the former named 
having served in the capacity of school 
teacher, also actively engaged in the sea- 
faring and whaling industry, and grand- 
son of Hadlai Fish, a representative of a 
family who were among the early settlers 
of Stonington and Groton, Connecticut, 
in the development and improvement of 
which localities they took an active and 
prominent part. On the maternal side 
]Mr. Hull is a lineal descendant of John 
P. Babcock, who was killed by General 
Arnold at Groton Heights, Connecticut, 
September 6, 1781. 

Hadlai Austin Hull spent the early 
years of his life amid rural surroundings, 
gaining health and strength from the 
various pursuits connected with the con- 
duct of a farm, and considerable of his 
time was also spent in a grist mill, thor- 
oughly mastering the details of that line 
of work. His preparatory education was 
obtained by attendance at the Natchaug 
High School in Willimantic, after which 
he pursued a course of study in Amherst 
College, which he attended for one year. 
The following three years were spent as 
a teacher, for which profession he was 
well qualified, and then, having decided 
upon the profession of law for his life- 
work, he entered Yale Law School, from 
Avhich institution he was graduated in 



1880. In August of that year he began 
the active practice of his chosen line of 
work in his native town, and there re- 
mained for a number of years, removing 
thence to New London, where he con- 
tinued his practice and made his home, 
and the interest he displays in every case 
entrusted to him, together with his ability 
and thoroughness in every detail, is the 
secret of the success which has attended 
his efforts. During President Cleveland's 
administration, Mr. Hull acted as collec- 
tor of the port of Stonington; in 1884 
represented that town in the State Legis- 
lature ; was a member of the Stonington 
Board of Education in 1884 ; for twelve 
years served as prosecuting attorney of 
the Criminal Court of Common Pleas of 
New London county ; and on March 3, 
1906, was appointed State's Attorney. 
Mr. Hull displayed his patriotism by 
offering his services to the government 
of his country in time of need, which was 
the period of the Spanish-American War, 
when he recruited and became captain of 
Company H, and later major of the Third 
Battalion, Third Connecticut Volunteer 
Infantry. He also organized the First 
Company, Coast Artillery, in the Con- 
necticut Militia, and is now a retired 
major. Coast Artillery. He is a member 
of the First Baptist Church of New Lon- 
don, a thirty-second degree Mason and a 
Shriner, and an adherent of the principles 
and policies for which the Democratic 
party stands, but casts his vote for the 
candidates best qualified for office, irre- 
spective of party affiliation. He is an 
enthusiastic advocate of out-door sports, 
his favorite pastime being baseball. 

Mr. Hull married (first) March 31, 
1878, Mary J. Jencks, by whom he had 
one son, Hadlai. Mr. Hull married (sec- 
ond) June 26, 1906, Ellen Brewster, by 
whom he has one daughter, Eleanor. 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



RUSSELL, Thomas Wright, 

Insnrance Broker. 

Thomas Wright Russell, of the firm of 
Allen, Russell & Allen, general insurance 
brokers, of Hartford, Connecticut, was 
born in that city, September i, 1880, son 
of Thomas Wright and Ellie (Fuller) 
Russell. In him are focused the strains 
of many of New England's old families, 
families whose members have distin- 
guished themselves as founders and 
patriots, serving their day and generation 
in those useful occupations that contrib- 
uted to the material upbuilding of the 
various communities in which their lots 
were cast ; others served efficiently and 
honorably in legislative bodies and in 
town offices; while in times of local or 
national danger there were those who 
proved their courage, loyalty and patri- 
otism on the field of battle. Among the 
names to which Mr. Russell traces his 
lineage we may mention Stephen Terry, 
of Windsor; Thomas Graves, of Hart- 
ford ; Thomas Wright and Benjamin 
Crane, of Wethersfield ; Elder John 
Strong and Thomas Xash, of Boston and 
New Haven. 

According to Lower, a leading author- 
ity on the origin of names, it is claimed 
by the Duke of Bedford that the name of 
Russell is derived "from the Lords of 
Rosel, an ancient fief in the neighborhood 
of Cherbourg in Normandy, who were a 
younger branch of the barons of Brique- 
bec. Hugh de Rosel, a benefactor of the 
Abbey of Caen, accompanied the Con- 
queror to England, and was rewarded 
with possessions in County Dorset, the 
principal of which were Kingston, after- 
ward called Kingston Russell, and Ber- 
wick.'' The name is a compound of two 
Norman and French words, "roz," a 
castle, and "el," synonym for "eau," 
water. The name was first given to the 



tract of land, then to the castle and fam- 
ily inheriting it. "Le Rozel" implied a 
bold tower by the water. The name 
originated with Hugh Bertrand, second 
son of William, Baron of Briquebec in 
Lower Normandy — Hugh being invested 
with the castles of Bannerville and Le 
Rozel about 1045. In the earlier gener- 
ations in England the name was spelled 
Rozel, Rosel and Rousell, the first being 
used by the oldest son and the latter by 
the younger members of the family. 
Many branches of the family bear coats- 
of-arms. The ancient armorial bearings 
found in the Connecticut family are iden- 
tical with those of the Earl of Bedford, 
except the crest. 

Three brothers, sons of the Duke of 
Bedford, came to this country, but the 
date of their coming and the location of 
their settlement cannot be ascertained. 
The members of the Russell family of 
this sketch are direct descendants of one 
of these. 

Families of the name of Russell are 
numerous in England. The following 
English ancestry of John Russell, the 
founder of the family in America, is from 
a chart by J. R. Hutchinson, a distin- 
guished English genealogist. While 
some question has been raised as to the 
relationship between the first William 
Russell, of Ipswich, and the William, Rus- 
sell who married Anne Arnold, Mr. Hut- 
chinson after months of research became 
convinced that he had established the 
correct line of descent. 

(I) Richard Russell was a yeoman of 
Ebbeston, County Suffolk, England, 
whose will was dated October 10, 1452, 
and proved December 12, 1452. His wife 
Joan died at Laxfield, and her will was 
proved November 12, 1465. Their son, 

(II) William Russell, a yeoman of 
Laxfield, married Joan . He re- 
ceived, after his mother's death, lands in 



186 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ebbeston and Laxfield devised to him in 
his father's will. Their son, 

(III) William Russell, of Laxfield and 
Ipswich, received his father's lands after 
his mother's death. He was dwelling as 
an apprentice in Ipswich in 1521. His 
son, 

(IV) William Russell, was baptized at 
St. Margaret's, Ipswich, March 17, 1537- 
38. For many years he was sergeant and 
mace for the borough of Ipswich. He 
became a freeman in October, 1574, and 
died prior to May, 1609. He married 
(first) July 20, 1557, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Thomas Whiting, a merchant, of Ips- 
wich. William Russell was buried at St. 
Margaret's, February 5, 1567-68. His son, 

(V) William Russell, of Ipswich, mar- 
ried, June 23, 1596, Anne Arnold. Their 
son, 

(VI) John Russell, was baptized in 
April, 1597. He was made a freeman 
August 6, 1623. He was a draper and 
tailor. He left England in the ship "De- 
fence,'' with his sons Jonathan and Philip, 
and arrived in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
October 3, 1635. As no record of his wife 
is found in this country, it is probable 
that she died in England. John Russell 
was made a freeman March 3, 1636; sur- 
veyor of arms, 1638; custodian of lost 
goods, 1639; was elected a surveyor in 
1641 ; selectman, 1642-43; was chosen one 
of three land recorders in 1644; clerk of 
the writs in 1645, and constable in 1648. 
His son, Rev. John Russell, was chosen 
pastor of the church at Wethersfield, 
1648-49. John Russell, Sr., came to that 
town about 1651. He became a freeman 
in Connecticut, May 17, 1655, and was 
made a freeman in Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, March 26, 1661, at which time he 
was a resident there. In the following 
May the Massachusetts General Court 
appointed him to be "Clarke of ye writs 
for Hadlev," and he held that office until 



1681. He was a juryman in Northamp- 
ton in 1662 and 1665 ; in 1663 he was 
chosen clerk of the train-band, and was 
selectman of Hadley in 1670. He was a 
glazier, a trade that required some skill 
in the days of diamond glass. He died 
May 8, 1680. 

(VII) Philip Russell, son of John Rus- 
sell, Sr., was born in England. He went 
to Wethersfield, Connecticut, with his 
father and brother, and located in Hadley, 
Massachusetts, a few years after his 
father removed there. He followed the 
same trade as his father, and took an 
active part in town aiifairs. He was 
chosen rate-maker, January 17, 1677-78; 
was selectman the following year and 
again in 1686; constable in 1683, and in 
March, 1690, was appointed "Clarke of 
ye writts" for Hatfield. He died May 19, 
1693. He married, January 10, 1666, for 
his second wife, Elizabeth, born January 
14, 1642, daughter of Stephen and Eliza- 
beth Terry, of Windsor. She was killed 
by the Indians, September 19, 1677. Ac- 
cording to Savage, Stephen Terry came 
to this country in 1630, probably in the 
"Mary and John ;" settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts ; was admitted freeman 
there. May 18, 1631, and held the office of 
constable ; about 1636 he removed to 
W'indsor, and there served as juryman 
and constable ; about 1660 removed to 
Hadley, was one of the first settlers, 
served as constable and selectman, and 
no man paid more taxes there than he. 
His wife, whose name is unknown, died 
in Windsor, Connecticut, in June, 1647. 
Their son, 

(VIII) Sergeant John Russell, was 
born January 2, 1667, and died January 
16, 1746. He married (first) April 9, 
1691, Martha, born July 15, 1667, died 
July 15, 1740, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Martha (Betts) Graves, of Wethersfield. 
Nathaniel Graves was born in England.^ 



187 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



about 1629, settled in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut; made freeman there. May 21, 
1657; surveyor, 1661 ; fence viewer, 1669; 
drew lands, 1670 ; married, January 16, 
1655, Martha, daughter of "Goody Bets, 
the school dame," a widow who main- 
tained herself by keeping a school in 
Hartford: he died September 28, 1682, 
and his widow died April 13, 1701. His 
father. Thomas Graves, was born in Eng- 
land, before 1585, and came to New Eng- 
land with his wife and five children prior 
to 1645. His name is first found on the 
records in Hartford in 1645. when the 
family located there, and there he took an 
active part in local affairs. He was one 
of the promoters and organizers of the 
town of Hadley, though well advanced 
in years. He died there in November, 
1662. His widow, Sarah Graves, survived 
Tiim four years. The Graves family is a 
numerous and old one in England, dating 
back to the Conquest, and many of its 
branches bore coats-of-arms. 

(IX) Hezekiah Russell, son of Ser- 
geant John Russell, was a farmer by occu- 
pation, and settled in the State of Con- 
necticut. His son, 

(X) Hezekiah Russell, was born Feb- 
ruary 13. 1739, and died August 2, 1816. 
His birth occurred in Wethersfield on the 
Connecticut river, where he resided until 
be was sixteen years of age and then re- 
moved to Northampton, Massachusetts. 
He was a carpenter, and served as col- 
lector. His name appears among a list 
of officers of Massachusetts militia as 
second lieutenant in the Third Northamp- 
ton Company, Second Hampshire County 
Regiment, commissioned April 5th, 1776 
(vol. 28, 108) : appears with rank of lieu- 
tenant on muster and pay roll of Captain 
Oliver Lyman's company ; time of enlist- 
ment, August 17, 1777: time of service 
seven days ; residence Northampton, 
marched to East Hoosac on an alarm 



(vol. 21, 22); appears with rank of first 
lieutenant on muster and pay roll of Cap- 
tain Jonathan Wales' Company, Colonel 
Ezra May's regiment ; time of enlistment, 
September 22, 1777; time of discharge, 
October 15, 1777; service, twenty-eight 
days. Marched to Stillwater and Sara- 
toga. Service against the insurgents by 
order of Elisha Potter, sheriff of North- 
ampton, May 6th to June iSth, i6th and 
17th, 1782. At Springfield, June 12, 1782, 
and at Hadley, June 13. 1782 (vol. 9, 429). 
Appears with the rank of captain on pay 
roll of Second Company, Second Hamp- 
shire County regiment, September 27, 
1784. The above is from the State records 
of Massachusetts, and signed by William 
L. Olin, secretary of the commonwealth. 
Hezekiah Russell married, in Northamp- 
ton, January i, 1767, Abigail Clark, who 
died December 12. 1819, in her seventy- 
eighth year. Children: Hezekiah and 
Seth, twins ; Asa, Seth, Thaddeus. John 
and Martha, twins : Abigail, and Nancy. 

(XI) Thaddeus Russell, son of Heze- 
kiah Russell, was born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, September 4, 1774, and 
died when about fifty years old from 
apoplexy, having been a stoutly built man. 
He was a carpenter by trade. He mar- 
ried, June 23, 1796, Mary Wright, who 
died November 30, 1836, aged sixty-three 
years. Their son, 

(XII) Charles Russell, was born in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, May 26, 
1797, and died in Colerain, Massachusetts, 
May 5 or 6, 1871. He removed from his 
native place to Greenfield, Massachusetts, 
from whence he removed to Colerain, and 
there spent the remainder of his days. 
He was a tailor and clothier. He was a 
member of the ^Methodist Episcopal 
church, and for a number of years had 
charge of the choir. He married, January 
I, 1823, Adeline Nash, born in Greenfield, 
July 9, 1805, died in Colerain, September 



188 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



23, 1882, daughter of Daniel Nash, who 
was born in Greenfield, January 18, 1780, 
married, September 7, 1802, Mary Mar- 
shall, who was born May 9, 1782; they 
settled in Duxbury, Vermont. His father, 
Daniel Nash, was born November 4, 1742, 
spent his life on or near the family home- 
stead in Greenfield. Tradition says that 
he and his brother Sylvanus, in company 
with their father, built Nash's mills on 
Mill river. He married Anna Atherton, 
who died June 14, 1804; he died Febru- 
ary 22, 1819. His father, Daniel Nash, 
was born in Great Barrington, Massachu- 
setts, September 13, 1715, and died in 
what is now Greenfield, July i, 1790. He 
settled in that part of Deerfield that is 
now Greenfield, but it was probably about 
the time of his marriage. When Green- 
field was organized, July 3, 1753, he was 
one of three men chosen as selectmen and 
assessors, and was again elected in 1758. 
In September, 1774, he was elected repre- 
sentative to the Provincial Congress of 
the Massachusetts Bay Colony, and 
served on the Committee of Safety. He 
was a blacksmith. He married (first) in 
1741, Abigail Stebbins, who died Novem- 
ber 26, 1749. His father, Daniel Nash, 
was born in 1676, and died March 10, 
1760. He was a blacksmith. In 1626 he 
sold out in Northampton, and we next 
find him in what is now South Hadley, 
where he engaged in business as a black- 
smith. From there he moved to Great 
Barrington in 1739. He is mentioned in 
the church records of that town as Deacon 
Daniel Nash, a title which he must have 
brought from some other church. He 
married, June i, 1710, Experience, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan and Mary (Strong) 
Clark, and granddaughter of Elder John 
Strong, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work. Jonathan Clark mar- 
ried, March 20, 1679, Mary Strong. He 
was the son of William and Sarah Clark, 



who came to Dorchester, Massachusetts, 
between the years 1636 and 1639. They 
removed to Northampton about 1660, 
where he became a leading citizen, hold- 
ing many offices. He died July 18, 1690, 
aged eighty-one years. Lieutenant Timo- 
thy Nash, father of Daniel Nash, was 
born in England, or at Leyden, Holland, 
in 1626. His name is found for the first 
time in the New Haven records under 
date of December 3, 1645. He was made 
freeman, March 4, 1654. The last men- 
tion of him in the New Haven records is 
dated April 23, 1660, and on February 11, 
1660-61, he was given permission by 
Hartford to come in as an "inhabitant 
with us." On June 22, 1663, we find him 
allotted land in Hadley, the town to "be 
at the charge to bring up his Iron, Tooles, 
and Household stufl:'e at this time now he 
hath for his remouvall." He had prob- 
ably been trained to his father's vocation 
of gunsmith, but had probably changed it 
into that of an ordinary blacksmith, one 
of the trades most valued by the settlers. 
He was an important citizens of the town, 
a lieutenant in the militia, and represented 
the town at the Massachusetts General 
Court in 1690-91-95. He married Rebekah 
Stone, probably in 1657. He died March 
13, 1698-99, and his widow in March or 
April, 1709. His father, Thomas Nash, 
came to Boston, July 26, 1637, in Rev. 
Jonathan Davenport's company. He was 
a gunsmith. His name appears in the 
Book of Records of the colony that settled 
in New Haven. He was probably well 
advanced in years when he came to Amer- 
ica. Family tradition says he came from 
Lancaster or Lancashire, England. He 
was admitted freeman at New Haven, 
May 19, 1651. He married Margery,, 
daughter of Nicholas Baker, of Hertford- 
shire, England. She must have died be- 
fore he did, as she is not mentioned in 
his will, which is dated 1657. He died 
189 



E>:CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May 12, 1658. Children of Charles and 
Adeline (Nash) Russell: Thomas 
Wright, mentioned below ; Charles N., 
George A., Mary J., Franklin C, Susan 
E., John J., \\'illiam N., Leroy C, 
Nancy E. 

(XIII) Thomas Wright Russell, son 
of Charles and Adeline (Nash) Russell, 
was born in Colerain, Massachusetts, 
May 22, 1824, and died in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, April 23, 1901. He received his 
formal education in the public schools of 
his native town and a course of two years 
in an academy. He was always a student, 
however, and a lover of books. Reading, 
travel and close observation made him a 
man of culture and refinement. He be- 
gan his business life by entering a dry 
goods store in Mystic, Connecticut. He 
remained there six years, and then re- 
moved to Hartford and entered upon his 
long career in the insurance business. 
For a year and a half he traveled as gen- 
eral agent of the Charter Oak Life Insur- 
ance Company. In November, 1857, he 
was chosen vice-president of the com- 
pany, and continued in that office until 
October, 1864, when he entered the serv- 
ice of the Connecticut Mutual Life Ir 
surance Companj- of Hartford. While he 
was with the last named company its 
directors obtained a charter for The Con- 
necticut General Life Insurance Com- 
pany, which was organized primarily with 
the view of insuring at adequate rates 
those persons who might be declined by 
other companies as not being first class 
risks. Mr. Russell was requested to take 
the management of the new company, 
which he did, after enlarging its scope so 
as not to be limited to impaired risks. 
For ten years he was secretary of the 
Connecticut General Life Insurance Com- 
pany, and then for a period of twenty- 
three years and until his death, was its 
valued and respected president. Under 



his direction the company steadily 
advanced and developed and took rank 
as one of the safe, conservative and re- 
liable institutions in the country. 

Air. Russell took an active and promi- 
nent part in the military, political and 
religious life of his day. He was a Re- 
publican with independent inclinations. 
When he was a resident of Mystic he 
represented the town of Stonington in the 
State Legislature ; he served three terms 
as a member of the Hartford Common 
Council ; and was a member of the First 
Company, Governor's Foot Guard, tak- 
ing a special interest in the Veteran 
Corps of that organization. For thirty- 
three years he was a member of the Hart- 
ford City Mission Society, and furthered 
its interests materially by his wise coun- 
sel. He was a deacon of the Park Con- 
gregational Church for more than thirty 
years. He became a member of the Colo- 
nial Club at its organization. He was of 
quiet disposition, afifable and courteous, 
winning and holding many friends by 
these attractive qualities and command- 
ing their respect and confidence by his 
unswerving devotion to truth and right. 
He was a man of strong determination 
and had the courage of his convictions. 
Having, after careful consideration, deter- 
mined upon a certain procedure as right 
he permitted no obstacle to defeat the 
accomplishment of his purpose. Mr. 
Russell married twice, and by his first 
marriage had no children. He married 
(second) Ellie F. Fuller, of Boston. 
Among their children was Thomas 
Wright. Jr., of whom further. 

(XIV) Thomas Wright Russell, Jr., 
attended the public schools of his native 
city, Hartford, and graduated from the 
Hartford High School in 1897. He then 
entered Yale University, from which he 
was graduated in 1901 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts. His first business 



190 



TKE I"'E'^' Yor.K 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



■' LENOX 

ioKDATIONSj 




^-^ Ji^J" S »rAl;.^-tS ^ 



^ 



o^^Z-Ci-t^ii^ ryf\ /l^iA^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



experience was gained in the employ of 
the Connecticut General Life Insurance 
Company, with which he was connected 
for about one and a half years, resigning 
then to engage in the insurance business 
on his own account. He continued alone 
until 1908, in which year his present part- 
nership was formed — Allen, Russell & 
Allen, general insurance brokers, the 
company conducting a local business in 
Hartford and vicinity. Mr. Russell is a 
director of the Connecticut General Life 
Insurance Company. He has always 
taken an active interest in public affairs ; 
he served for some years as a member of 
the Republican town committee ; was a 
member of the Common Council for three 
years, holding the office of president for 
the year 1906 ; and served for two years 
on the Board of Aldermen, one year as 
president of that body. He served one 
term as member of Troop B, Connecticut 
National Guard. He is an ex-president 
of the Connecticut Life Underwriters' 
Association, president of the Hartford 
Golf Club, and a member of the Hartford 
Club, Yale Club of New York, Graduates' 
Club of New Haven, New Britain Club, 
Waterbury Club, and Phi Beta Kappa 
fraternity of Yale. 

Mr. Russell married, January 16, 1912, 
Dorothy Mason, daughter of Frederick 
and Clara (Davol) Mason, of Bridge- 
port, Connecticut. Children : Dorothy, 
born August 13, 1914; Thomas Wright 
(3), born July 19, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. 
Russell are members of Immanuel Con- 
gregational Church of Hartford. 



BARBOUR, Lucius Albert, 

Financier, Business Man. 

Lucius Albert Barbour needs no intro- 
duction to the readers of this work, as 
his position as a leading financier and 
business man of Hartford, as an authority 



on military matters, and one of the most 
distinguished ofificers in the militia of 
Connecticut, make his name a familiar 
one to a very wide circle that far over- 
laps the boundaries of either city or State. 
He is a member of a fine old Connecticut 
family whose members have been closely 
associated with the affairs of the region 
from the earliest colonial times, and 
whose strong and manly virtues and 
abilities he has inherited. 

In the direct line he traces his descent 
from the immigrant ancestor, Thomas 
Barber (as the name was then spelled), 
who came from England to the American 
colonies in the good ship "Christian," as 
early as 1634, arriving in this country 
March 16, 1634. Full of the splendid 
spirit of enterprise that possessed so 
many of his countrymen in that age and 
which has been the determining element 
in the character of our New World civili- 
zation, Thomas Barber, then but twenty 
years of age, pushed on into the wilds and 
made his way to the settlement that 
formed the germ or nucleus of the present 
town of Windsor, Connecticut. Here he 
settled in 1635, and took an active part 
in the stirring events of that time, fight- 
ing in the Pequot War and otherwise dis- 
tinguishing himself. He married, Octo- 
ber 7, 1640, Jane ; their married 

life continued for twenty-two years, and 
their deaths occurred but one day apart, 
September 10 and 11, 1662. 

Lieutenant Thomas Barber, son of 
Thomas and Jane Barber, was born July 
14, 1644, and died May 10, 1713. He was 
a prominent citizen of Simsbury, Con- 
necticut, where he followed the trade of 
carpenter and built the first meeting 
house. He married. December 17, 1663, 
Mary Phelps, daughter of William and 
Mary (Dover) Phelps. She died in 1687. 

Samuel Barber, son of Lieutenant 
Thomas and Mary (Phelps) Barber, was 



191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born May 17, 1673, and died December 
18, 1725. He married, December 17, 1712, 
Sarah Holcomb, born 1691, died 1787, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mary (Bliss) 
Holcomb. 

John Barber, son of Samuel and Sarah 
(Holcomb) Barber, was born December 
4, 1719, and died December 27, 1797. He 
married, January 22, 1746-47, Lydia Reed, 
born December 18, 1726, died October i, 
1806, daughter of Jacob and Mary (Hill) 
Reed. 

John (2) Barber, son of John (i) and 
Lydia (Reed) Barber, was born Novem- 
ber 29, 1749, died November 3, 1825. He 
married, in 1773, Elizabeth Case, born 
April 20, 1752, died May 26, 1817, daugh- 
ter of Captain Josiah and Esther (Higley) 
Case. 

John (3) Barbour (the modern spelling 
being adopted in his time), son of John 
(2) and Elizabeth (Case) Barber, was 
born February 18, 1783, died November 
24, 1865. He married, October 13, 1803, 
Delight Case, born October 15, 1773, died 
April 13, 181 1, daughter of Elisha and De- 
light (Griswold) Case. 

Lucius Barbour, son of John (3) and 
Delight (Case) Barbour, was born in 
Canton, Connecticut, July 26, 1805, and 
died February 10, 1873. He passed the 
first fourteen years of his life in his native 
town, and then accompanied his parents 
to the town of Sheldon in the western part 
of New York State. Upon attaining man- 
hood he left the home of his parents and 
traveled through the south and west as 
a salesman, representing a dry goods 
house. He was very successful in this 
line of work and amassed a considerable 
amount of money, a large portion of 
which he invested in western real estate, 
and he temporarily located at Madison, 
Indiana, where a large portion of his prop- 
erty was located. Here he engaged in the 
dry goods business on his own account 



and was successful from, the beginning. 
He became a wealthy man owing to the 
great rise in value of his real estate invest- 
ments, in the selection of which he dis- 
played rare judgment. After disposing 
of his dry goods business in Madison he 
removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, and there 
engaged in the same line of business, once 
more prospering greatly. Subsequently 
he returned to the east, taking up his 
residence in Hartford, Connecticut, and 
there spent the remainder of his da3's. 
He still continued to hold his western 
possessions, and up to the time of his 
decease derived a handsome return from 
the same. Mr. Barbour was a man of 
many excellent qualities, prudent and con- 
servative, but possessing the kindest of 
hearts, and always willing to aid every 
enterprise that had for its object the 
alleviation of distress. He was highly re- 
spected in the community, and left an un- 
blemished reputation as a heritage to his 
successors, in addition to a large share of 
this world's goods. 

Lucius Barbour married, April 23, 1840, 
Harriet Louise Day, born February 2, 
1821, a daughter of Deacon Albert and 
Harriet (Chapin) Day, formerly of West- 
field, Massachusetts. Deacon Albert Day 
was a very prominent Hartford business 
man, and served as Lieutenant-Governor 
of the State of Connecticut from 1856 to 
1857. He was descended in the seventh 
generation from Robert Day, of Ipswich, 
England, where he was born in 1604, 
approximately, from whence he came 
accompanied by his wife and family to 
New England on the ship "Elizabeth," 
settling in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
into which community he was admitted a 
freeman, May 6, 1635. Four children 
were born to Lucius and Harriet Louise 
(Day) Barbour, as follows : Harriet 
Louise, who died in childhood ; Lucius 
Albert, of whom further ; Mary Adelia, 
[92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who died in infancy ; Hattie Day, who 
became the wife of Richard Storrs Barnes, 
of New York City; he died December 25, 
1914. 

Lucius Albert Barbour, only son of 
Lucius and Harriet Louise (Day) Bar- 
bour, was born in Madison, Indiana, Jan- 
uary 26, 1846. His parents removed to 
Hartford, Connecticut, shortly after his 
birth, and his associations are entirely 
connected with that city. There he re- 
ceived his education, graduating from the 
high school with the class of 1864. He 
gained his first experience in business life 
as clerk in the Charter Oak Bank of Hart- 
ford, was promoted from one position to 
another, and at the expiration of two 
years was promoted to the position of 
teller, in which capacity he served for 
about five years, resigning for the purpose 
of making an extended tour of Europe in 
order to supplement his studies. His 
career in the banking world was but 
temporarily interrupted, however, his 
connection with the Charter Oak Bank 
being renewed upon his return to the 
United States, of which he became the 
president in 1910. This office he con- 
tinued to hold until the absorption of the 
bank by the Phoenix National Bank in 
1915, and in that year he was elected 
president of the Colonial National Bank 
of Hartford, an office which he holds at 
the present time (1917). But his influence 
in the business world is not by any means 
confined to banking circles, his interests 
extending into other departments, not- 
ably, industrial and insurance. He was 
formerly connected with the Willimantic 
Linen Company, serving that concern as 
president and treasurer for many years, 
and is a director of the National Fire In- 
surance Company of Hartford, and of the 
firm of Landers, Frary & Clark of New 
Britain. 

But great as is his influence in the 
business world, it is not in that connec- 

Conn— 3— 13 1 93 



tion that he is best known to his fellow 
citizens and the people of the State, but 
rather as a public officer, especially a 
military officer and as a master of military 
science. His first connection with the 
Connecticut militia was in 1865, when, on 
September 9, he enlisted in the Hartford 
City Guard, which was at that time a 
part of the First Regiment, and known 
as Battery D. It was obvious from the 
first that he possessed unusual aptitude 
in the work, an aptitude that amounted to 
a great talent, and was combined with the 
utmost devotion which impelled him to 
continual labor in the cause of his regi- 
ment's advantage and indeed of the entire 
service. It was not long before promotion 
followed his efforts, but this advance, 
like that in business, was checked for a 
time by his travels in Europe, which 
caused him to tender his resignation. His 
knowledge of the details of military 
affairs, to which he had applied himself 
most diligently, was too great to permit 
his associates to forget him, and in 1875, 
after his return home from Europe, he 
was elected major of the First Regiment. 
In this position another ability made itself 
apparent in addition to the others that 
rendered him, a good soldier. This was 
his natural ability to lead and direct men, 
which soon told in the splendid discipline 
of the troops under his charge. His skill 
as an officer had the natural result in 
securing his further promotion and he 
rapidly advanced to the rank of lieuten- 
ant-colonel, December 28, 1876, and , to 
colonel of the First Regiment, June 26, 
1878. Under his capable command the 
regiment became a model one, its splendid 
discipline and the perfect manner in 
which it went through its drills and the 
various field manoeuvers exciting admi- 
ration everywhere. It appeared in the 
review of troops at the Yorktown Cen- 
tennial held in 1881 under the command 
of Colonel Barbour, and its appearance 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



there gave to his reputation as an officer 
a national character. Nor was this all, for 
the well known English military critic 
who was present as correspondent for 
one of the great London dailies, paid him 
a remarkable tribute of praise in his 
articles. On November 12, 1884, he re- 
signed as colonel of the First Regiment, 
but later was appointed to the office of 
adjutant-general of the State. His choice 
to this office was highly approved by all 
who were acquainted with the man, and 
he amply fulfilled the expectations of his 
admirers by the manner in which he 
administered affairs. 

While thus active in military matters, 
General Barbour has been connected with 
politics in a prominent manner in his 
State, and has held many responsible 
offices. He is a staunch Republican in 
political belief, and has always supported 
that party at the polls, being firmly con- 
vinced that it stands for sound economic 
principles and the most rapid progress 
consistent with safety. In 1879 he was 
elected to the State Legislature, and 
served during the following term, making 
a reputation for sincerity and unimpeach- 
able probity in all his actions there. He 
was a member of the committee of the 
house that instituted "Battle Flag Day," 
and was very active in making prepara- 
tions for its appropriate and adequate 
celebration. Among the many interests 
of General Barbour is that which he takes 
in the local history of the region, illus- 
trated by his membership in the Connec- 
ticut Society of Colonial Wars, in which 
he holds the office of secretary. 

General Barbour married, February 8, 
1877, Harriet Elizabeth Barnes, daughter 
of Alfred Smith and Harriet Elizabeth 
(Burr) Barnes, of Brooklyn, New York. 
Mr. Barnes was the founder of the large 
and well known publishing house of A. S. 
Barnes & Company of New York City. 
Mrs. Barbour, who was born in Brook- 



lyn, New York, December 2, 1849, died 
November 8, 1899, at the Barbour home 
in Hartford, Connecticut. To General 
and Mrs. Barbour two children were 
born: Lucius Barnes, of Hartford, and 
Harriet Burr, who became the wife of 
George Alexander Phelps, of Pelham 
Manor, New York. 

General Barbour has for long been a 
potent influence for good, not merely in 
the business world, but in the general life 
of the community. There is probably no 
city in the world with higher and more 
honorable business traditions than Hart- 
ford, among whose merchants and finan- 
ciers have appeared some of the best and 
strongest men in the history of the State, 
and to the best of these he has adhered in 
an age which has, perhaps, not been too 
strict in its observance of the more exact- 
ing standards of the past. A conservative 
in his instincts and feelings, he neverthe- 
less is wholly in favor of that prudent 
progress which is the most rapid because 
devoid of haste. He thus occupies that 
important place among his fellows that 
is perhaps best described as keeping the 
balance between the extremes of con- 
servatism and radicalism, throwing his 
influence at once against stagnation and 
dangerous advance. His personality is a 
pleasing one, especially to men, who 
recognize in the frank, open manner the 
sterling type of manhood which is at once 
strong and flexible. 



BEECHER, William J., 

Iiaipyer, Jurist. 

The name Beecher belongs to that class 
of English surnames, which were origi- 
nally derived from the names of the 
localities in which the first of the family 
to adopt the name resided. The author- 
ity Bardsley assign Beecher to a local 
source, "one who lived by some promi- 
nent beech tree." The name is a very 



194 




i^^-taru-a^j'Al'trJ-icv/Secfrfif 



toJ'^ »f/^„'ra £■ Si-^ . AT Z'" 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ancient and honorable one, and is found 
in authentic records as far back as the 
middle of the thirteenth century. The 
Beecher coat-of-arms is as follows : 

Arms : Vaire, or and gules, on a canton or, a 
stag's head cabossed sable. Crest : A demi-Iion 
erased or, girded around the waist with a ducal 
coronet or. 

Many of the name of Beecher have been 
distinguished in England, and since its 
establishment in the New World, Beech- 
ers have played prominent parts in the 
affairs of the country. Henry Ward 
Beecher, the famous preacher, was one of 
the most famed of the Beechers, and in 
the character of the great men of a gener- 
ation past was to be found the character- 
istics of the family — stern and rugged 
honesty, a love of liberty, independence, 
a broad tolerance, love of country, and of 
family honor. 

The late Judge William J. Beecher, a 
member of a branch of the Beecher fam- 
ily which has been established in Con- 
necticut since the time when that now 
flourishing State was a small and strug- 
gling but infinitely brave and independent 
colony, was born in Bridgeport, Connec- 
ticut, March 5, 1859, the son of John and 
Margaret Beecher. His parents later 
removed to Easton, Connecticut ; there he 
received his early education in the local 
elementary schools, finishing at the 
Staples Academy in Easton, where he 
prepared for college. Having decided 
upon the law as his profession, he entered 
the Yale Law School to study to that 
end, and was graduated from that insti- 
tution in the class of 1880. On July i, 

1880, he was admitted to the bar in New 
Haven, and in August of the same year 
he opened an office for practice in the city 
of Bridgeport. Judge Beecher removed 
to Newtown, which he made his home for 
Ihe remainder of his life, on January 10, 

1881. He is said to have been influenced 



in this move by the late High Sherifl 
Aaron Sanford. Upon coming to New- 
town he had slight difficulty in securing 
an office, and located temporarily in the 
small rooms over the old tin shop of the 
late Daniel Camp, later removed to suit- 
able quarters over the present store o! 
Robert H. Beers. 

His maiden case, in so far as the qual- 
ities in Judge Beecher which prompted 
him to bring about its extraordinary de- 
nouement were concerned, was character- 
istic of his whole legal career. In the 
course of his first case, circumstances 
came to such a head that he found it 
necessary to cause the arrest of his own 
client, an event which shows clearly the 
impeccable integrity and honesty of the 
man. In October, 1892, he opened an 
office in Bridgeport, retaining at the same 
time his office at his residence in New- 
town. In October, 1894, he formed a 
partnership with Frank M. Canfield, 
under the firm name of Beecher & Can- 
field. The firm had offices in the Sanford 
Building in Bridgeport, and in the sub- 
sequent years Judge Beecher's success in 
his profession became widely known 
throughout the country, his victory in 
several noted legal cases bringing him an 
enviable reputation for legal acumen. 
His practice was one of the largest in the 
city in his day, and perhaps there could be 
no truer indication of his worth than the 
fact that he was deeply respected and 
honored by his associates of the Fairfield 
county bar. In this number were in- 
cluded Justice George W. Wheeler, of the 
Connecticut Supreme Court, and many 
other men of note. 

Judge Beecher was connected with a 
large number of important and well re- 
membered cases. He was chief counsel 
for the late C. H. Peck, executor of the 
estate of Elon Booth. Mr. Peck was re- 
moved as executor by the late Judge M. 
J. Bradley. This action was the cause 

195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of a widespread antagonism, and it was 
generally felt at the time that it was 
flagrantly unfair and a miscarriage of jus- 
tice. The Superior Court, on an appeal 
of the action, decided in favor of Mr. 
Peck, and he was reinstated forthwith. 
As chief counsel, Judge Beecher was asso- 
ciated in his work on this famous case 
with the late Attorney Samuel Fessenden, 
of Stamford, and ex-Congressman De 
Forest, of Bridgeport. The firm of 
Beecher & Canfield were also employed 
as counsel for the contestants of the will 
of the late Horatio Lake, who cut off his 
relatives and left the bulk of his property 
to Yale University. Before the attorneys 
on the other side of the case had fully 
awakened to the situation, Messrs. 
Beecher & Canfield made a house to house 
canvass in Bethlehem, securing sworn 
testimony taken before witnesses con- 
cerning the ability of the late Mr. Lake 
to execute a valid will. The direct result 
was, that just before the case came to 
trial at Litchfield the late Judge Hunt- 
ington, of Woodbury, and the New Haven 
and Hartford attorneys associated with 
him, consented to a compromise whereby 
Mr. Lake's heirs secured a substantial 
amount. 

Judge Beecher was very prominent in 
the local affairs of Newtown, and 
espoused every issue which he felt would 
be to its ultimate advantage. He was un- 
restrained by party lines, and gave his 
support without prejudice to what he 
thought right. He was eminently a fair 
man, and was recognized as such. In 
November, 1886, he was elected judge of 
probate for the district of Newtown, and 
served in that office for two terms. By 
an unfortunate complication in the Demo- 
cratic caucus. Judge Beecher was defeated 
for renomination by a man who later 
thoroughly demonstrated his incompe- 
tence. Several warm contests were made 
to defeat the man, but these failed. In 



1906, however, Judge Beecher was named 
on the Republican ticket. His value to 
the community in the office was so gen- 
erally recognized and acknowledged that 
he was supported by the best elements in 
the town, irrespective of party lines. He 
was elected, as was the case in later elec- 
tions when he ran on the Democratic 
ticket. He commanded a very large vote 
among the independent voters of the 
town. Under his administration the office 
was brought to a very high standard of 
efficiency, and the arrangement and con- 
dition of the probate records is said by 
probate experts to be ideally perfect. 

In addition to his connection with the 
political life of Newtown, Judge Beecher 
also took a keen interest in its business 
life. He was intensely public-spirited. 
The establishment of the Newtown Water 
Company, an improvement which brought 
material comfort and advancement to the 
community, was largely due to his earnest 
and persistent efforts in its behalf. After 
much labor in the interest of the work, 
he and one other citizen finally contrib- 
uted a very large sum to complete the 
project, which has been a beneficent one 
to the residents of the borough. Judge 
Beecher was also an ardent champion of 
the cause of education, and gave much of 
his time and attention to it in Newtown. 
For ten years prior to his death he pro- 
vided the sum of forty dollars in gold at 
each annual commencement of the high 
school, to be used as prizes awarded for 
scholarship. Until his death, this fact 
was not known to more than half a dozen 
people in the entire town, so unostenta- 
tiously was the gift made. For several 
years Judge Beecher was a member of 
the Borough Board of Burgesses, and for 
two years prior to his death he was a 
member of the Democratic State Central 
Committee. He was well known in 
Democratic and legal circles throughout 
96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the State of Connecticut, and had many 
friends among the Democratic leaders. 

In 1901 he was chosen a director of the 
Newtown Savings Bank, and remained in 
that capacity until his death, serving the 
last two years as a member of the loan- 
ing committee. Judge Beecher was also 
attorney for the bank, and was deeply 
interested in the success of the institution, 
of which the late Henry Beers Glover, his 
wife's father, was the first president. 

Judge Beecher was of that silent, reti- 
cent type of men whose capacity for deep 
feeling and friendship is very great. He 
was intensely loyal to his friends, and 
generous almost to a fault, refusing very 
few appeals for aid. His counsel was 
both sought and followed among the old 
and young men of the town, and many 
young men owe their start on a success- 
ful career to him. He was a warm'- 
hearted, sympathetic man, but withal re- 
served, and often misunderstood because 
of the forceful independence of his 
nature. To the world in general he pre- 
sented a cold and impassive front, and 
only to those who knew him well was the 
true depth and worth of his nature ever 
revealed. Nevertheless he was a popular 
man, and one thoroughly loved and re- 
spected in the entire community. 

Judge Beecher died on December 3, 
1915, at his home in Newtown. Excerpts 
from some of the resolutions passed by 
the several large organizations of which 
he was a member are appended hereto: 

The following is taken from the reso- 
lutions of the Fairfield County Bar Asso- 
ciation : 

Mr. Beecher came to the bar when Edward W. 
Seymour, Lyman D. Brewster, Samuel Fessenden 
(all of them now gone) were at the zenith of their 
power. With such as these, associated or opposed, 
he eagerly exerted his young and ardent energies ; 
and from them he drew inspiration and learned 
lessons which made him in his best days a trial 
lawyer of no mean ability. 

Though aggressive in the conduct of his cases, 



he was singularly devoid of that form of self- 
assertion which is based on conceit. Rather did 
his strength as an advocate come from his intense 
will to prevail in any legal cause which he deeme/ 
just. 

He had a high ethical sense of his profession 
As an officer of the Court, his fidelity was in fuA 
accord with his attorney's oath. Good faith actu- 
ated him in all his relations with the Court, and 
the presiding judge might implicitly trust any 
statement made by him as to matters of personal 
knowledge or opinion. For pettifogging methods 
he had nothing but contempt. 

His fidelity to his client was equally worthy ol 
note. He did not accept a case primarily because 
there was a fee in it, but because he saw some 
wrong to be righted, or some justice to be done. 
The case he liked the most of all was where he 
saw an opportunity for the strong to assist the 
weak ; then he lavished his time and talents with- 
out stint. 

Judge Beecher was a man of public spirit. It 
was but natural that a lawyer of his strong nature 
should be foremost in the affairs of his town; 
and for a score of years no important measure 
was adopted in the town of Newtown without the 
endorsement of his clear and positive mind. 

The resolutions passed by the Board of 
Trustees of the Newtown Savings Bank, 
with which Judge Beecher was connected 
for over fourteen years, contain the fol- 
lowing : 

During his long period of service he took a deep 
interest in the welfare and growth of the bank 
and gave his time and advice freely to promote its 
best interests. He was a man of generous im- 
pulses, a public-spirited citizen, and an able attor- 
ney, an honored Judge of Probate for many years 
and will be sadly missed in this community. In 
his death we have suffered a great loss and the 
depositors a friend and wise counselor * * *. 

Judge F. F. Addis, friend of Judge 
Beecher for over thirty years, said of 
him : 

For a period of more than thirty years I have 
known Judge Beecher. During that time I have 
always found him in the practice of his profession 
to be always jealous in protecting the interests of 
his clients. As an associate he was willing to take 
the laboring oar, while as an opponent he was 
forceful and skillful, but always just to his oppo- 
nent. A hard fighter but a fair one. In my nearly 
four years of contact with him in the deliberations 

97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Democratic State committee I always found 
his conception keen and his judgment ripe. In his 
social intercourse he was genial, whole hearted 
and generous. He is one of the men the town 
and State can ill afford to lose, and to converse 
with him for any extended length of time seemed 
to give to those around him an inspiration. 

Judge Eugene D. Dempsey, in speak- 
ing of Judge Beecher said : 

There is not a lawyer in Fairfield county who 
would be unwilling to speak a word of praise of 
Judge Beecher. His career as a member of the 
bar and as a probate judge was a chain of con- 
scientious application to the interest of his clients 
and to the just administration of his judicial 
duties. His political life was not tempered by 
conciliation and brought to him small comfort or 
gain, yet he always believed in his position and 
thereby gained the confidence of his party and 
measured personal satisfaction. He thought deep- 
ly of life and was prone to discuss its inequalities, 
but consistently refrained from giving expression 
to his ultimate conclusions. For those who 
achieved in the practice of law, he had profound 
respect and veneration, well knowing the trials 
and difficulties attending such distinction. Always 
realizing the value of exactness as applied to the 
requirements of his profession, he became ac- 
cepted as a draftsman of legal documents. Judge 
Beecher will long be remembered as a loyal 
lawyer, competent judge, and a worthy citizen. 

Judge Beecher was married, on April 3, 
1891, to Mary Blakeslee Glover, of New- 
town, a daughter of Henry Beers Glover, 
one of the most prominent citizens of the 
town of his day, and first president of the 
Newtown Savings Bank. The children of 
Judge and Mrs. Beecher were : i. Florence 
Glover Beecher. 2. Henry Glover Beecher, 
who died at the age of four years. 3. Mar- 
guerite Kathryn Beecher. 

The Misses Florence G. and Marguerite 
K. Beecher reside in the old family home 
in Newtown, which was built by their 
grandfather, Henry Beers Glover. Mrs. 
Beecher died in Newtown on September 
23, 1916, at the age of sixty-two years. 

(The Glover Line). 

fl) The Glover family has been promi- 
nent in Connecticut from the earliest 



Colonial days, and traces its descent to 
the immigrant, Henry Glover. The Glover 
coat-of-arms is as follows: Sable, a bend 
argent, between three herons' heads erased 
of the second. Henry Glover emigrated 
fiom England, and located in the Massa- 
chusetts Colony, in the town of Boston. 
He is thought to have been about twenty- 
four years of age when he arrived in 
America, and shortly after his arrival he 
journeyed to New Haven, where he set- 
tled and remained for the rest of his life. 
According to old records "he became rec- 
onciled to the Church" in New Haven, 
June II. 1644, and took the oath of allegi- 
ance to the Colony, on July i, of the same 
year. He died in New Haven, September 
2, 1689, and his wife, Helena, died there, 
March i, 1697. 

(II) John Glover, son of Henry and 
Helena Glover, was born in New Haven, 
Connecticut, October 8, 1648, and died 
January 29, 1679. He married Joanna 
Daniels, on December 7, 1671. 

(III) John (2) Glover, son of John (i) 
and Joanna (Daniels) Glover, was born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, November 
20, 1674. He later removed to Stratford, 
Connecticut, and resided there for about 
sixteen years. He died June 30, 1752, and 
is buried at Newtown, where the family 
has since flourished. He married (first) 
November 27, 1700, Margaret or Marjory 
Hubbard, who died at Stratford, Connec- 
ticut, March 14, 1704. On July 14, 1707, 
he married (second) Mrs. Bathiah Beach 
Bickley. 

(IV) John (3) Glover, son of John (2) 
and Margaret (Hubbard) Glover, was 
born in New Haven, December 30, 1701, 
was married on July 12, 1724, to Eliza- 
beth Bennett, of Stratford. Although at 
the time of the outbreak of the American 
Revolution, John (3) Glover, was seven- 
ty-six years of age. he enlisted in the 
Dragoon Artillery, Third Troop, Connec- 
ticut Militia, under Colonel Elisha Shel- 



198 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



don, and served from the year 1777 until 
the close of the war in 1783. 

(V) John (4) Glover, son of John (3) 
and Elizabeth (Bennett) Glover, was born 
February 11, 1732, and died on July 2, 
1802. He married Elizabeth Curtis. 

(VI) Josiah Glover, son of John (4) 
and Elizabeth (Curtis) Glover, was born 
November 27, 1762, and died November 
I, 1840. He married, September 4, 1792, 
Rebecca, daughter of Abel Booth. 

(VII) Abiel Booth Glover, son of Jo- 
siah and Rebecca (Booth) Glover, was 
born January 16, 1797, and died October 
13," 1825. He married, May 5, 1822, Maria 
Nichols, daughter of David Nichols. Their 
children were : Mary Eliza, born May 5, 
1823, died September 5, J 825; Henry 
Beers, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Henry Beers Glover, son of 
Abiel Booth and Maria (Nichols) Glover, 
was born in Newtown. Connecticut, De- 
cember 8, 1824. He prepared for college 
in the local school of the town, and en- 
tered Yale University, from which he was 
graduated with the class of 1820. After 
leaving college he spent some time in 
Cleveland, Ohio, but later returned to 
Newtown, where he became one of the 
most prominent citizens of the commu- 
nity, a financial leader, successful mer- 
chant, and eminent churchman. Mr. 
Glover engaged in farming also on a large 
scale, and for several years kept a store 
on the site of the residence of the late 
Charles H. Peck. 

Mr. Glover was the principal organizer 
and founder of the Newtown Savings 
Bank, and its first president. For a num- 
ber of years he served as a member of the 
board of directors of the First National 
Bank of Bridgeport. Although always 
active in behalf of any issues which would 
benefit the community, Mr. Glover was 
never engaged in politics. He was a 
staunch supporter of the Republican 
party in questions of national importance. 



but voted independently on local affairs. 
He was for many years connected with 
the Trinity Episcopal Church of New- 
town, and gave liberally to its support, 
being one of the most generous of the 
contributors to the building fund for the 
new church. He died at his home in New- 
town, March 6, 1870. 

Henry Beers Glover married Eliza 
Blakeslee. She died May 17, 1875, aged 
forty-nine years. Their children were : 
William Booth born September 15, 1850; 
Mary Blakeslee, born October 31, 1853, 
married Judge William J. Beecher (see 
Beecher) ; Florence Stanley, born July 
28, 1854, married Abel Clark, died April 
3, 1892; Maria Nichols, born May 7, 1859, 
died May 15, 1859. 

The death of Henry Beers Glover was 
deeply felt in Newtown. The board of 
directors of the First National Bank, of 
Bridgeport, at a special meeting, held on 
March 28, 1870. passed the following reso- 
lutions : 

Whereas, It has pleased an All-wise Provi- 
dence to remove by death our late friend and as- 
sociate, Mr. Henry Beers Glover, who for many 
years was a prominent and efficient director of 
this bank. 

Resolved, That we sincerely deplore the loss of 
our esteemed friend, endeared to us as he was by 
his superior business capacity and his many social 
virtues, and whose manly deportment has com- 
manded our highest regard. 

Resolved, That we tender to the family and 
relatives of the deceased our sympathy in their 
affliction, knowing that the bank and the com- 
munity in which he lived, as well as his deeply 
afflicted family, have experienced an irreparable 
loss. 

Resolved, That the President, Cashier, and 
Messrs. Tomlinson and Nichols be appointed a 
committee to attend the funeral services of our 
deceased friend at his late residence in Newtown, 
to-morrow at 2 o'clock P. M. 

Resolved, That a copy of the foregoing resolu- 
tions be transmitted to the friends of the deceased, 
be entered upon the records of this bank, and pub- 
lished in the papers of the city. 

199 



Ex\CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CUTLER FAMILY. 

The name Cutler is of that class of pat- 
ronymics which were originally derived 
from the trades or occupations of their 
bearers. Others of this class are Cooper, 
Smith, Miller, Gardner, etc. When the 
adoption of surnames became prevalent, 
the first member of the Cutler family to 
adopt the name was in all probability a 
cutler by trade, or a maker of knives or 
other cutting instruments. 

Arms: (Stainborough Hall, County York, de- 
scended from John Cutler, standard bearer of the 
War of the Roses, temp. Henry VI.) Azure, 
three dragons' heads erased, within a bordure or. 
Crest : A wivern's head erased or, ducally collared 
azure. 

The English bearer of the name of Cut- 
ler to whom the American family traces 
its ancestry was Sir Admiral Gervase Cut- 
ler, who was killed in 1645 in defense of 
the Castle of Pontificiato. Sir Gervase 
Cutler was a son of Thomas Cutler, who 
was buried at Silkton, January 21, 1622. 
Thomas Cutler was a descendant of Sir 
John Cutler, standard bearer during the 
War of the Roses, who was knighted in 
the reign of Henry VI. Sir Gervase Cut- 
ler married for his first wife, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Sir John Bently. The child 
of this marriage was Margaret, who mar- 
ried Sir Edward Mosely ; there was also 
a son, Gervase, who died young. Sir Ger- 
vase Cutler married a second time Lady 
Magdalen, the ninth daughter of Sir John 
Egerton, Duke of Bridgewater, and of this 
marriage there were nine children. 

The New England ancestors of the Cut- 
ler family in America were James, Robert 
and John Cutler, immigrants from Eng- 
land, who settled in Massachusetts in 
1634. James Cutler came to \\'atertown, 
Massachusetts, in 1634. The name of 
Robert Cutler first appears on the records 
of Charlestown, in 1636, where it is re- 



corded that he was married. John Cutler, 
Sr., with a family, was settled at Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, in 1637. 

(I) James Cutler, born in England, set- 
tled as early as 1634 in Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, where the first record of the 
family name in New England, in America 
in fact, is to be found. He was one of the 
original grantees of land in the northerly 
part of the town on the road to Belmont. 
He married Anna Grout, a sister of Cap- 
tain John Grout, and tradition says that 
they were both so opposed and persecuted 
in England for their Puritanism that they 
resolved to seek their fortunes in New 
England, and accordingly came to Amer- 
ica tmaccompanied by friends or near 
relatives. There is no authentic record 
by which to fix the year in which James 
Cutler arrived here. His first child, James, 
was born "Ye 6th day, 9th month, 1635." 
He had that year passed all necessary pro- 
bation and been received an inhabitant of 
Watertown, having a house lot assigned 
him. The lot contained eight acres, 
bounded on the east by the lot of Thomas 
Boylston, west and north by a highway, 
i. e. by Common street and Pond road, 
and south by the lot of Ellias Barron. In 
the first "great divide," July 25, 1636, he 
was assigned twenty-five acres, and three 
acres in the further plain (now W^altham) 
next to the river. In 1642 he had assigned 
to him eighty-two acres in the fourth di- 
vision, and four other farms. On October 
2, 1645, he was one of the petitioners "'in 
1 elation to Nashaway plantation, now 
Weston." On December 13, 1649, James 
Cutler and Nathaniel Bowman, for £70 
bought of Edward GofTe, two hundred 
acres in Cambridge Farms. James Cutler 
sold his share of one hundred acres to 
Bowman for £39, on March 4, 165 1. This 
land was adjoining Rock Meadow and 
near to or adjoining Waltham. About 
ibis time he settled at Cambridge Farms 



200 







T 



T::E r_V' ' uiK 
PUB.'C LIBRARY 

A ~-0P. LEWOX 
IILD^K rc Jt:DATIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(now Lexington), on what is known as 
Wood street, and not far from the Con- 
cord (now Bedford) line, a part of which 
farm remained in the family until the heirs 
of Leonard Cutler sold it. James Cutler 
is supposed to have built one of the first 
houses at the Farms. Vestiges of the 
cellar of his house still remain. The house 
was located some thirty rods from the 
i:.resent highway, on an elevation com- 
manding an extensive view. He made his 
will on November 24, 1684, at Cambridge 
Farms, at the age of seventy-eight years, 
and died May 17, 1694, aged eighty-eight. 
James Cutler buried his first wife, Anna, 
September 30, 1644, and married (second) 
on March 9, 1645, Mary, widow of Thomas 
King. She died December 7, 1654, and he 
married for his third wife, Phoebe, daugh- 
ter of John Page, in 1662. His children 
were: i. James, born September 6, 1635, 
mentioned below. 2. Hannah, born May 
26, 1638, married John Winter, and died 
January 18, 1690. 3. Elizabeth, born No- 
vember 28, 1640, and died October 30, 
1644. 4- Mary, born March 29, 1644, mar- 
ried John Collar, and removed to Sudbury. 
5. Elizabeth, born May 20, 1646, married 
John Parmenter, of Sudbury. 6. Thomas, 
born 1648, and died at Lexington, July 13, 
1722. 7. Sarah, born 1653, married, in 
1673, Thomas Waight, settled in Weston, 
Massachusetts, and died January 17, 1744. 
aged ninety-one years. 8. Joanna, born 
1660, married Philip Russell, and died No- 
vember 26, 1703. 9. John, born May 19, 
1663, and died September 21, 1714. 10. 
Samuel, born November 18, 1664. 11. 
Jemima, who married, September 22, 1697, 
Zerubabel Snow. 12. Phoebe, died un- 
married in 1684. 

(II) James (2) Cutler, son of James (i) 
and Anna Cutler, was born in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, September 6, 1635. He 
was a farmer, residing at Cambridge 
Farms, near Concord line, and was a 



soldier in King Philip's War. He made 
his will on the 28th and died on the 31st 
of July, 1685. 

He married, June 15, 1665, Lydia, daugh- 
ter of John Moore, of Sudbury, and widow 
of Samuel Wright. She died in Sudbury 
on November 23, 1723. Their children, 
born at Cambridge Farms, were : i. James 
(3). born May 12, 1666, and died Decem- 
ber I, 1690. 2. Ann, born April 20, 1669, 
married, September 26, 1688, Richard Bel- 
vis, of Watertown. 3. Samuel, born May 
2, 1672. 4. Joseph, twin of Samuel. 5. 
John, born April 14. 1675, and died at Kil- 
lingly, Connecticut, after 1727. 6. Thom- 
as, born December 15, 1677, mentioned be- 
low. 7. Isaac, born in 1684, at Killingly, 
Connecticut and died there. June 18, 1758. 

(HI) Thomas Cutler, son of James (2) 
and Lydia (Moore-Wright) Cutler, was 
born December 15, 1677, at Cambridge 
Farms (now Lexington), where he re- 
sided the greater part of his life. He was 
constable in 1719, and selectman in 1729, 
1731. 1733 and 1734. About the year 1750 
he bought a farm in Western (now War- 
ren), where he then went to live. Here 
he made his will, September 15, 1759, and 
died December 23, 1759. 

He married (first) Sarah, daughter of 
Samuel and Dorcas (Jones) Stone, who 
joined the church in Lexington, July 4. 
1708, and died January 10. 1750, aged 
sixty-nine. He married (second) Lydia 
Simonds, April 10, 1750, and with her was 
dismissed to the church of Western, May 
17, 1752, having owned the covenant at 
Lexington, June 6, 1703. Children of first 
wife, born at Lexington, were: I.Abigail, 
born June 2. 1703. married Joseph Bridge, 
of Lexington, November 18, 1722, and died 
November 11. 1778. 2. David, born Au- 
gust 28, 1705. mentioned below. 3. Amity, 
born December 19, 1707. married John 
Page, of Bedford. 4. Sarah, born January 
19, 1710, married Israel Mead. 5. Mary, 



201 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born November 8, 1714, married Seth 
Johnson, of Nottingham, New Hamp- 
shire. 6. Hannah, born May 13, 1717, 
died March 2, 1724. 7. Thomas, born Sep- 
tember 30, 1719, died November 28, 1760. 
8. Millicent, born July 29, 1722, and died 
January 2, 1741. 

(IV) David Cutler, son of Thomas and 
Sarah (Stone) Cutler, was born August 
28, and baptized September 9, 1705, at 
Lexington. He joined the church in Lex- 
ington, April 14, 1728. He resided in the 
family homestead near the Bedford line. 
He was surveyor of the township during 
the reign of King George III.; served as 
constable in Lexington in 1746, and as 
selectman in 1749, 1750 and 1751. He 
made his will, September 13, 1758, in 
which is mentioned his wife Mary. He 
left personal property inventoried at £573 
iSs. 

He died December 5, 1760, of small-pox, 
which was particularly fatal in those days 
because of the fact there was no known 
way to combat its onslaughts. His wife 
survived him, and died May 25, 1797, aged 
ninety-three years. Their children, born 
at Lexington, were: i. Abigail, born May 
31, 1728, married Samuel Hodgman, of 
Warren, May 7, 1755. 2. David, born July 
15, 1730, and died probably at Bennington, 
Vermont. 3. Joseph, born May 31, 1733, 
mentioned below. 4. Isaac, born June, 
1736, and died January, 1737. 5. Mary, 
born April 12, 1738, married, September 
15, 1757, John Page, of Hardwich, Massa- 
chusetts, and died there. May 3, 1812. 6. 
Solomon, born May 15, 1740, and died at 
Rindge, New Hampshire. 7. Thomas, 
born May 9, 1742, and died July 3, 1812. 
8 Elizabeth, born August 4, 1744, mar- 
ried. May 3, 1768, Benjamin Moore, of 
Lexington. 9. Amity, born July 15, 1748. 
married, November 17, 1766, Nathan 
Leonard. 

(V) Joseph Cutler, son of David and 



Mary Cutler, was born at Lexington, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 31, 1733, in the second 
house which was built on the Cutler farm. 
His residence in Warren was on the west 
side of the river, and it was here that he 
died February 7, 1816, aged eighty-three 
years. 

He married (first) May 6, 1755, Rebecca, 
daughter of John and Esther (Prince) 
Hoar, of Lincoln. Massachusetts, born 
July, 1735, and died September 16, 1758. 
He married (second) Mary, daughter of 
]\Iajor Reuben Reed, of Warren, IMassa- 
chusetts, on September 20, 1759. She was 
born January 30, 1740, and died March 
28, 1792. The children of Joseph Cutler 
were: i. Converse, born March 3, 1756, 
and died at Hardwich, Massachusetts, be- 
fore 1815. 2. Joseph, born March 9, 1757, 
and died February 23, 1857. 3. Rebecca, 
born August 23, 1760, and married Dr. 
William Cutler, November 2, 1780; she 
died November 20, 1820. 4. Mary, bori* 
March 23, 1762, married Joseph Batchel- 
der. and died in 1784. 5. Anna, born Jan- 
uary 3, 1764, married Joseph D wight in 
1786. 6. Sally, born January 30, 1767, 
married, January i, 1793, George Bur- 
bank, and died October 14, 1833. 7. Lydia, 
born December 2, 1769, married Artemas 
Brigham, and died January 16, 1798. 8. 
P.ethia.born May 15, 1773, married, March 
2. 1794, Isaac Tyler, and died August 11, 
1848. 9. Reuben, born May 29, 1775, and 
died unmarried on September 14, 1838, in 
Warren. 10. Hon. Nathan, twin of Reu- 
ben, mentioned below. 

(VI) Hon. Nathan Cutler, A. M., son 
of Joseph and Mary (Reed) Cutler, was 
born at Western (now Warren), Massa- 
chusetts, May 29, 1775, and died June 8, 
1861. He was graduated from Dartmouth 
College in 1798, and was preceptor at 
Middlebury Academy for one year there- 
after. He then studied law with Judge 
Chipman, of Vermont, and later at 



202 




y^^/,Li.-j i£.iv-_- .\'yr 



^^^^^ 




Jflaru tLitluiulnu ^'iitlrr 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Worcester, Massachusetts, and in the last 
mentioned city he was admitted to the 
bar in 1801. For a time he practiced in 
his native town, but in 1803 removed to 
Farmington, Maine, where he resided for 
the remainder of his life. For about thir- 
tv-five years he was engaged in the active 
pursuit of his profession, and was deeply 
interested in the educational and political 
affairs of his town and State. He was 
several times a member of the Legislature 
of Massachusetts, before its separation 
(1810-1811-1812-1819-1820). He was ap- 
pointed Judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas by Governor Berry in 1812, and de- 
clined to accept the office. In 1819 he was 
a member of the Convention that framed 
the Constitution of the State of Maine, 
and many times a member of the Legisla- 
ture of that State. Upon the death of 
Governor Lincoln, early in the year 1829, 
by virtue of his office as President of the 
Senate, Hon. Nathan Cutler became Gov- 
ernor of the State of Maine. In 1829 he 
was one of the presidential electors. He 
was one of the incorporators of Farming- 
ton Academy, and during his lifetime 
president of the board of trustees. Gov- 
ernor Cutler was much interested in clas- 
sical studies, of which he was a lifelong 
student, and he did much to inculcate a 
love of learning in his associates. 

He married (first) Hannah, daughter of 
Isaac Moore, of Warren. Massachusetts, 
on September 10, 1804. She died Febru- 
ary 20, 1835. Seven of the nine children 
of Governor and Mrs. Cutler grew to ma- 
turity. He married (second) in 1856, 
Harriet, widow of William Weld, and 
daughter of Colonel Easterbrooks, of 
Brunswick, Maine. The children of Hon. 
Nathan and Hannah (Moore) Cutler 
were: i. Mary Reed, born March 13, 
1806; married, November 15, 1827, Robert 
Godnow, of Hiram, Maine, and later re- 
moved to Farmington, Maine ; she was 



the mother of five children. 2. Nathan 
Moore, born August 2, 1808, mentioned 
below. 3. John L., born August 31. 1810, 
and died April 8, 1814. 4. Elbridge Gerry, 
born May 14. 1812, at Farmington, Maine, 
and died at Reading, Pennsylvania, April 
28. i84('i; he was graduated from Harvard 
University in the class of 1834, and later 
continued his studies at the Divinity 
School at Andover, Massachusetts, and 
at Yale Lhiiversity at New Haven. Con- 
necticut ; after completing his studies he 
was ordained a minister of the Congre- 
gational church, and served in Belfast, 
Maine, until his death. 5. Reuben, born 
October 20, 1815, and died January 12, 
1816. 6. John Lewis, born December 15, 
1816. 7. Reuben, born December 13, 1819. 
8. Hannah Moore, born October 16, 1821 ; 
married. July 12, 1843, Philip Sidney 
Page ; they resided at Maiden. Massachu- 
setts, where she died March 10, 1855. 9. 
Isaac Moore, born November 3. 1823, was 
a sticcessful merchant of Portland, Maine, 
but later removed to Maiden, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VII) Nathan Moore Cutler, son of 
Hon. Nathan and Hannah (Moore) Cut- 
ler, was born August 2. 1808. At the 
age of sixteen years he entered Phillips 
Academy at Exeter, New Hampshire. 
After graduating from that institution 
he attended Bowdoin College, but was 
obliged to discontinue his studies on ac- 
count of poor health. He then entered a 
business career, first at Warren, Massa- 
chusetts, and later at Bangor, Maine. 
Under the administration of President 
Martin Van Buren, he held the office of 
debenture clerk in the Boston Customs 
House. The collector of the port at the 
time was George Bancroft. This position 
he held until the time of his death on Oc- 
tober 30, 1849. 

He married, September 12, 1836. Colum- 
bia Shearer, of Palmer, Massachusetts, 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who died in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 
Their children were: i. Mary Columbia, 
born February 7, 1839, residing in Maiden, 
Massachusetts. 2. Martha Jane (Jennie), 
born Alay 5, 1846, mentioned below. 3. 
Hannah Moore, born September 21, 1848, 
died March 31, 1870. 

(VIII) Jennie Cutler, daughter of Na- 
than Moore and Columbia (Shearer) Cut- 
ler, is of the eighth generation in direct 
-descent from James Cutler, who settled in 
Watertown, Massachusetts, as early as 
1634. She married John McClary, of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, a sketch of whose 
life is appended hereto. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. McClary were born in Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts. 



McCLARY, John, 

McClary Arms : Or, a chevron azure, between 
three roses gules. 

There is a duty which every .'American 
owes the land which gives him his oppor- 
tunity and fortune, a duty which, unless 
embellished and ornamented by unusual 
inducements, it is the custom of the aver- 
age citizen to overlook. On every hand 
one finds men whose talents and inclina- 
tions fit them preeminently for public 
service, but who shun this duty of patri- 
otism because of the greater benefits, pe- 
cuniary and of other natures, which accrue 
to them from the field of business. The 
country has its statesmen, but it needs in 
the ranks of its servants and advisors the 
trained and analytical mind of the busi- 
ness man to solve the problems which face 
the nation to-day — the problems within 
its own borders. The talents of the ordi- 
nary business men do not run to un- 
ravelling the intricacies of international 
law, but rather do they apply to and excel 
in the management of questions of com- 
merce, labor, reform, etc., which agitate 
the public to-day. For men so endowed 
to reject office and government service 



because of selfish reasons is a blot upon 
their citizenship. No man can truly up- 
hold the ideals and standards of America, 
who, being capable, refuses the high honor 
of public service. It may with truth and 
conviction be said of the late John Mc- 
Clary, of Hartford, Connecticut, that he 
did his duty to its full extent, in the long 
years in which he faithfully served the 
Government of the United States, sub- 
serving every personal wish to its de- 
mands, because of a high standard of pa- 
triotism and honor which put country be- 
for self. 

Mr. McClary was of Scotch parentage, 
the son of John and Ellen (Reilly) Mc- 
Clary, natives of the tremendous ship- 
building city of Glasgow, Scotland. The 
Scotch are among the most intensely pa- 
triotic people in the world, a people whose 
love of home and country is a fire un- 
quenchable, as is amply attested by his- 
tory. The allegiance which his parents 
brought to the land of their adoption was 
equally strong in their son, and was the 
moving factor in Mr. McClary's devotion 
to his service in the offices of the govern- 
ment, despite the fact that he was emi- 
nently fitted for success in a field of busi- 
ness which, when he finally entered it, 
comparatively late in life, proved lucra- 
tive and successful. 

Shortly after their marriage, John Mc- 
Clary, Sr., came to America with his wife, 
settling in the city of Boston, where John 
McClary, Jr., was born. When he was 
quite young his parents moved to Wake- 
field, Massachusetts. It was here that he 
received his early education, attending 
school until he reached the age of fifteen 
years. While young McClary was still 
in his thirteenth year, 1861, the Civil 
War broke out, sweeping the country like 
a fever, and drawing men to the colors in 
a burst of enthusiasm which, to put it 
tritely, was no respecter of age. Youth 
and age stood side by side eagerly await- 



204 



IIBPARY 



0-. I.'-' o.-. 

, • , ,,D TiONS 




*itfv 



*>» 



.% 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing the chance to serve their country. All 
the willingness and eagerness which he 
could master did not stand Mr. McClary 
in the stead which additional years would 
have, and he found that enlistment was 
barred to him because of his age. Two 
years later, however, in 1863, he left 
school, and was admitted to the army as a 
member of the signal corps. From that 
time until the close of hostilities he saw 
active service with a branch of the army 
which is constantly exposed to greater 
danger than any other. To a man of spirit 
and courage, to live through the soul- 
stirring events of a great war is one of the 
greatest fortunes which can befall him. 
Mr. McCIary came into close contact with 
many of the great events of those days, 
wonderful yet terrible, and was one the 
audience in the Ford Theatre in Washing- 
ton, on the fateful night of the assassina- 
tion of Abraham Lincoln, the genius who 
had safely guided the country through the 
storms of Civil War, by John Wilkes 
Booth. Mr. McClary did not give up his 
position in the Signal Service at the end 
of the war, but retired for a period, and 
leturning north, went to live with his 
sister, Mrs. Mary Wetherby, in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, living with her for 
a number of years. 

During his residence in Springfield, he 
became associated with Colonel Bartholo- 
mew and James L. Thompson in the 
American Express Company, with whom 
he was connected for several years. Short- 
ly after his marriage, Mr. McClary again 
entered the Signal Service and went west 
with his wife. The work to which he was 
then assigned was in connection with the 
Weather Bureau, and involved consider- 
able sacrifice of personal wishes and in- 
clinations, because of the fact that they 
had constantly to be moving from one 
section of the country to another. They 
have resided all over the United States. 



Mr. McClary's last post was in California, 
where they were stationed about 1890. 
In 1891 he gave up active service and they 
returned to the east, making their home 
in Hartford, Connecticut. Here he bought 
out a woodworking factory and from that 
time until his death devoted himself to 
his business interests. In this enterprise 
he attained a high degree of success, and 
became known as one of the substantially 
successful business men of the city of 
Hartford, despite the fact that he had en- 
tered the field of business at a time of life 
when the majority of men are fairly estab- 
lished in it. 

Mr. McClary was keenly interested in 
the political issues of the times, as an 
observer, and as a member of the body 
politic, but he never entered the political 
field as a candidate for public office. He 
was very active in the social and club life 
of Hartford from the time of his first 
residence in the city, and was a member 
whose presence was counted upon and 
whose voice was reckoned with in the 
council of many important and influential 
organizations in the city. He was a mem- 
ber of the Grand Army of the Republic, 
the Army and Navy clubs. He had at- 
tained the thirty-second degree in the 
Masonic order, and was a member of the 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar, and also of the Mecca Temple, 
Mystic Shrine. 

On September 28, 1868, while a resident 
in the home of his sister in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Mr. McClary married Miss 
Jennie Cutler, of Boston, a daughter of 
Nathan M. and Columbia (Shearer) Cut- 
ler, of that city. (See Shearer, on fol- 
lowing pages). Mr. Cutler was a native 
of Farmington, Maine, where his father 
had established himself. The genealogy 
of the Cutler family of which Mrs. Mc- 
Clary is a descendant in the eighth gener- 
ation is given at length on the preceding 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pages. Mrs. McClary's grandmother was 
Sarah (King) Shearer, a daughter of 
Jesse King (3), of Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, of an early and prominent family in 
that neighborhood. Jesse King (3) mar- 
ried Mary Graham, a daughter of Rev. 
Mr. Graham, of Pelham, Massachusetts. 
Both Mrs. McClary's parents died when 
she was verj- young, and she was brought 
•up by her aunt, Mrs. A. V. Blanchard, of 
Palmer, Massachusetts. She resides in 
the beautiful McClary home at No. 56 
Highland avenue, Hartford, where all her 
dearest associations are centered. She is 
<leeply interested in charitable and philan- 
thropic work, to which her late husband 
devoted a large portion of his time. She 
is active in community welfare work and 
takes an unusual interest in the current 
topics of the day. IMrs. McClary's home 
engenders a charm of good feeling and 
hospitality which is felt alike by the oldest 
friend and the most casual visitor to it. 
Mr. and Mrs. McClary had no children. 
They were members of Christ Episcopal 
Church in Hartford, in the parochial in- 
terests of which she is still a figure of im- 
portance. 

Mr. McClary died on July 7, 1909, and 
in his death Hartford lost a man who 
meant much to its interests, a man whose 
place was a truly enviable one in the com- 
mercial life of the city, in its social life, 
and in the estimation of scores of friends, 
whose opinion of him is adequately ex- 
pressed in the famous "Take him for all 
in all, we shall not look upon his like 
again." 



SHEARER FAMILY. 

According to Bardsley the surname of 
Shearer is of the occupative class, and 
signifies "the shearer," that is one who 
sheared the nap of cloth, or a cloth shear- 
man. ' The name is found in Lincolnshire, 
England, as early as 1273. 



Anns: Argent a fesse gules between three 
torteaux, each charged with a mullet of the field 
argent. Crest: On a chapeau a dexter hand 
holding up by the band a garb, all proper. 

The Shearer family herein dealt with is 
of ancient Irish origin, and was founded 
in the American colonies in the early part 
of the eighteenth century. The progeni- 
tor, James Shearer, was a native of Coun- 
ty Antrim, Ireland. 

(I) James Shearer, founder of the fam- 
ily in America, was born in County An- 
trim, Ireland, in 1678. In 1720 he emi- 
grated to the New World, and settled in 
the town of Union, Connecticut. He re- 
mamed in Union for a period of six years, 
and in 1726 his family and that of the 
Nevins removed to Elbows, near the town 
of Palmer, Massachusetts. He occupied a 
central location in the district, his farm 
being laid out east from Cedar Swamp 
brook and south of Deacon Sedgwick's 
farm. He was a man of considerable 
prominence in the early community and 
several localities in the vicinity were 
named after him and his family. His 
home was frequently used by the proprie- 
tors of the town for their business meet- 
ings. The children of James Shearer were : 
I. John. 2. James, Jr. 3. Williams. 

(II) John Shearer, son of James Shear- 
er, was born in 1710, and accompanied his 
parents to America in 1720. He later set- 
tled in Brimfield, in the easterly part of 
what is now Three River village. His 
children were: i. Joseph. 2. John, born 
March 22, 1746; married, I774- Jane 
White. 3. William, married Jerusha 
Perry. 4. Thomas. 5. David, married 
Kate King, 1791. 6. Jonothan, born 
March 29, 1762; married Hannah Dick- 
inson. 7. Noah, married Terza Merrick 
in 1791. 8. Daniel, mentioned below. 9. 
Jane, married Wallace Little. 10. Betsey, 
married William White. 

(HI) Esquire Daniel Shearer, son of 



206 



THE r:LV' ■ jF'K 

PUBL'CI'BP^.KY 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



John and Jane Shearer, was very promi- 
nent in the local affairs of the town of 
Palmer, Massachusetts, during- his entire 
lifetime. He was active in the judicial and 
political life of the place. He married 
Sarah King. Their children were: i. 
Elvira, married A. V. Blanchard, October 
25, 1827. 2. Jane, married William Blanch- 
ard, August 23, 1831. 3. Columbia, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Columbia Shearer, third daugh- 
ter of Judge Daniel and Sarah (King) 
Shearer, married on September 12, 1836, 
Nathan Moore Cutler, son of the Hon. 
Nathan and Hannah (Moore) Cutler. 
(See Cutler VII.) 

(King). 

Among the pioneer settlers of the town 
of Palmer, Massachusetts, and the imme- 
diate vicinity, was John King, Esq., the 
progenitor of the King family herein 
under consideration. The theory has been 
advanced that John King, Esq., was a 
resident of the town of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, prior to his coming to Palmer, 
as were many of the original settlers of 
the place. There has, however, been no 
proof to substantiate the theory. The 
King family of Palmer, in subsequent 
generations became large landowners, and 
were numbered among the most promi- 
nent and influential citizens of the town, 
active in civic and religious affairs, office 
holders, and public servants of ability. 

Arms : Sable on a chevron, or, between three 
crosses crosslet of the last, three escallops of the 
first. An esquire's helmet surmounts the shield. 

(I) John King, the progenitor of the 
family and the immigrant ancestor, was 
born in England in 1681. The date of his 
coming to America is not known. Prior 
to his emigration he was married in Eng- 
land to Sarah , born in 1691. He 

became the first settler of the Elbow dis- 



trict, Hampshire county, Palmer, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was the first to build 
a crude log cabin, camping out, tradition 
says, near the site of the old cemetery 
during the first few days there. He finally 
located near the small stream which after- 
wards became known as King's brook. 
The noted Tamor spring divided his prop- 
erty from that of his neighbors. Richard 
Combs, of Springfield, and Ebenezer jNIi- 
rick, of the same place. 

The following mention of the original 
John King and his family is found on the 
flyleaf of the first volume of the Rochester 
Church Records : 

On the i8th of May, 1729. then John King and 
Sarah, his wife, who lived at a place called the 
Elbows, in Hampshire Co., owned the covenant, 
and their children were baptized, viz. : William, 
Thomas, Joseph, Benjamin, Aaron and Sarah, by 
me, who was sent by the proprietors of the land 
to minister to them. Timothy Ruggles. 

Had the visit been six months later, the result 
might been different. — Hardwick History, per 
Lucius Page, D. D. 

The children of John and Sarah King 
were: i. John, Jr., born in Boston, in 
1715; married Margaret . 2. Jo- 
seph, born in 1716. 3. Thomas, born in 

1719; married Jemima . 4. Aaron, 

mentioned below. 5. Benjamin, born in 
1722; died June 7, 1756. 6. William, born 
in 1720. 7. Sarah, born in 1723. S.Moses, 
died April 26, 1729. 9. Hannah, born Au- 
gust 8, 1729; died September 4, 1729. 10. 
Mary, born December 30, 1730; married 
Captain Sylvanus W^alker. 11. David, 
born in April, 1733 ; married Mary 
Graham. 12. Jonathan, born January 17, 

1736. 

(II) Aaron King, son of John and 
Sarah King, was born in 1725. He was a 
resident of Elbow District, Palmer, Mas- 
sachusetts, all his life, and was a promi- 
nent citizen of the place. 

He married Sarah Kibbe. of Connecti- 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cut. Their children were : i. Sarah, born 
September 7, 1747 ; married Thomas Bliss, 
April 25, 1765. 2. Aaron, born July 2, 
1750; died October 22, 1754. 3. Joseph, 
born August 20, 1752 ; died October 8, 
i754. 4. Myrane, born September 7, 1755 ; 
married Charles Eddy. 5. Isaac, born 
June 20, 1757, returned to England. 6. 
Jesse, mentioned below. 

(III) Jesse King, son of Aaron and 
Sarah (Kibbe) King, was born in El- 
bow District, Palmer, Massachusetts, on 
March 5, 1759. He was one of the most 
prominent citizens of the town during the 
greater part of his life-time, and was ac- 
tively identified with local affairs. He 
was also prominent in the militia and bore 
the rank of captain. 

He married, February 24, 1781, Mary 
B. Greyham, daughter of Rev. Mr. Grey- 
ham, of Pelham, Alassachusetts. Their 
children were: i. Aaron, born October 
15, 1782; married Eliza Ketchum. 2. 
Sarah, mentioned below. 3. Myrana, born 
July 7, 1786; married Timothy Ferrell. 
4. Nabbie, born August 11, 1788, married 
Gursham Makepeace, of Warren, Massa- 
chusetts. 5. Mary L., born August 9, 
1790; married Daniel King, of Palmer. 6. 
Jesse, born August 8, 1792. 7. Isaac, born 
July 2, 1795 ; married Abby Cutler, of 
Warren, Massachusetts. 8. Joseph, born 
November 19, 1798 ; married Mary E. 
Chamber, and removed to Mobile, Ala- 
bama. 

(IV) Sarah King, daughter of Captain 
Jesse and Mary (Greyham) King, was 
born in Elbow District, Palmer, Massa- 
chusetts, October 22, 1784. She married 
Judge Daniel Shearer, Esq., of Palmer, 
Massachusetts. 



SMITH, Emor Armington, 

Telephone Company Manager, Legislator. 

Emor Armington Smith, District Com- 
mercial Manager of the Southern New 



England Telephone Company at Hart- 
ford, is identified not only with the busi- 
ness interests of his city, but also with 
its political life, having served as a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Legislature. 
Through his maternal ancestry, Mr. 
Smith is numbered among the lineal de- 
scendants of Roger Williams. 

Emor Armington Smith was born Au- 
gust 17, 1864, in Providence, Rhode 
Island, and is a son of Jencks Appleby 
and Harriet James (Medbury) Smith. 
The ancestral record of Mrs. Smith is 
appended to this biography. Emor Arm- 
ington Smith was educated in the public 
schools of his native city, and afterward 
served an apprenticeship to the manufac- 
turing jewelers' trade. He then spent 
some time in the service of the Liver- 
more Stylographic Pen Company, and in 
1882 became chief operator of the Provi- 
dence Telephone Company. This posi- 
tion Mr. Smith retained until October, 
1884, when he entered the service of the 
Southern New England Telephone Com- 
pany. Remaining in his native city until 
he attained his majority, he has since 
then, filled various positions in different 
parts of Connecticut, each change bring- 
ing with it increased responsibility. On 
April I, 1904, he was appointed to his 
present position as commercial manager 
of the Hartford and Waterbury District, 
and under his aggressive methods the 
number of telephones in use has been 
greatly increased. Not only this but the 
business in general has received an added 
impetus and has been brought into a 
highly flourishing condition. 

When in Providence, Mr. Smith served 
five years in the United Train of Artillery, 
and since coming to Hartford he has 
taken an active interest in public afifairs. 
For five years he was a member of the 
Common Council and Board of Aldermen, 
serving for one year as president of the 
board and ex officio acting mayor during 



208 





rAtji'ntneai^Msferica/Sfra^ 



-[.-- Y'~\'' "OP-"^ 

--•j: l'bpary 



"ilONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the absence of Mayor Henney in Europe. 
In 1905 Mr. Smith became a member of 
the Connecticut Legislature, serving on 
the committee on cities and boroughs, 
and holding the position of chairman of 
the committee on assignment of seats. 
During his term many acts were passed 
for the city of Hartford which were due 
largely to his efforts. The most useful 
of these was the law establishing the 
Hartford Board of Finance. Another 
important board created was the Board 
of Contract and Supply, A seat in the 
Chamber of Commerce is occupied by Mr. 
Smith. He affiliates with St. John's 
Lodge, No. 6, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Norwalk ; the Royal Arch 
Chapter, of Norwalk, and Hamjlton Coun- 
cil, of Meriden. He is a charter member 
of A. H. Hall Council of the Royal Ar- 
canum,, of which he is past regent. His 
clubs are the Republican, City and Hart- 
ford, and in the last named he holds the 
office of secretary. He is a member of 
the Institute of Electrical Engineers of 
New York City. He is a member of St. 
Andrew's Protestant Episcopal Church, 
of Meriden. 

Mr. Smith married, June 10, 1891, Anna 
C, daughter of James and Catherine 
(Morgan) Murray, of Norwich. 

The record of Mr. Smith is that of an 
able and useful citizen — an enterprising 
business man and a disinterested public 
official. 

(The Medbury Line). 

(I) Josiah Medbury was born Septem- 
ber II, 1776, and married Phoebe Rhodes 
(see Rhodes line). Twelve children were 
born to them. 

(II) Thomas, son of Josiah and Phoebe 
(Rhodes) Medbury, was born April 25, 
i8or, and married. June 18, 1826, Eliza- 
beth J. Armington, who was born No- 
vember 12, 1806. 

(HI) Harriet James, daughter of 



Thomas and Elizabeth J. (Armington) 
Medbury, was born June 7, 1836, and be- 
came the wife of Jencks Appleby Smith, 
as stated above. 

(The Rhodes Line). 

(I) John Rhodes was born in 1658, and 
married, February 12, 1685, Waite Water- 
man (see Waterman line). The death of 
John Rhodes occurred August 14, 1716. 
He and his wife were the parents of eight 
children. 

(II) John (2), son of John (i) and 
Waite (Waterman) Rhodes, was born 
November 20, 1691, and married, April 
29, 1714, Catharine Holden, who died 
July 25, 1731, leaving nine children. John 
Rhodes survived his wife many years, 
passing away in 1776. 

(III) Charles, son of John (2) and 
Catharine (Holden) Rhodes, was born 
September 29, 1719, and married, Janu- 
ary 31, 1739, in Warwick, Deborah 
Greene, who was born February 4, 1721. 
They were the parents of eleven children. 
Charles Rhodes died early in 1777, at 
Cranston, Rhode Island. 

(IV) Peter, son of Charles and De- 
borah (Greene) Rhodes, was born Feb- 
ruary 24, 1742, and married, March 22, 
1761, Hester Arnold, who was born Octo- 
ber 23, 1740. Nine children were born to 
them. The death of Peter Rhodes 
occurred March 16, 1823. 

(V) Phoebe, daughter of Peter and 
Hester (Arnold) Rhodes, was born Feb- 
ruary 14, 1768, and became the wife of 
Josiah Medbury (see Medbury line). 

(The Waterman Line). 

(I) Resolved Waterman was born in 
1638, and married, in 1659, Mercy Wil- 
liams (see Williams line). Resolved 
Waterman died in 1670, and the death of 
his widow occurred in 1703. 

(II) Waite, daughter of Resolved and 



Conn— ■)— 14 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mercy (Williams) Waterman, was born 
in 1668, became the wife of John (i) 
Rhodes (see Rhodes line), and died in 
1711. 

(The Williams Line). 

(I) Roger Williams, founder of the 
colony of Rhode Island, was born in 1599, 
in Wales, and was a clergyman of the 
Church of England. In 163 1 he arrived 
in Boston, accompanied by his wife Mary, 
and about 1636, being driven from the 
colony on a charge of heresy, he jour- 
neyed through the wilderness with a num- 
ber of his adherents and founded the town 
of Providence. After half a century of 
usefulness he died, in 1683, in Rhode 
Island. 

(II) Mercy, daughter of Roger and 
Mary Williams, was born in July, 1640, 
and became the wife of Resolved Water- 
man (see Waterman line). 



ANDERSON, Joseph, S. T. D., 

Clergyman, Antiquarian, Historian. 

The Rev. Dr. Joseph Anderson, an 
eminent New England clergyman of the 
Congregational faith, an antiquarian, and 
an author of note, came of ancestry rep- 
resenting several Scottish clans. His 
paternal forebears resided in the North 
Highlands, while on the maternal side he 
was lineally descended from the families 
of MacBain, Cameron, and Grant. He 
was born at Broomton, Easter Ross, 
Scotland, December 16, 1836. The only 
child of William and Mary (Rose) An- 
derson, he came with his parents to the 
United States in 1842, spending his child- 
hood in Delaware county. New York, and 
in Astoria, Long Island. 

As a lad he was much given to out-of- 
doors sports, which may account for his 
exceptionally robust constitution. He 
was naturally inclined to books and 
study, however, and at the age of five 



years could read the Bible easily. When 
he was thirteen years of age the family 
removed to New York, the father having 
been for many years a manufacturer of 
fine paints in that city. The early edu- 
cation of the son, begun in Scotland, was 
now continued in one of the New York 
public schools, and from the latter Dr. 
Anderson entered the College of the City 
of New York, then known as the Free 
Academy. He was graduated from that 
institution in 1854 as valedictorian of his 
class, and from the Union Theological 
Seminary in 1857. He was a member of 
Phi Beta Kappa. After completing his 
seminary course he returned to the Col- 
lege of the City of New York as tutor in 
Greek and Latin. In 1874 he declined 
an offer of the chair of English Litera- 
ture in Michigan University. He re- 
ceived the degree of RIaster of Arts from 
his alma water in 1857, and enjoyed the 
distinction of being the first alumnus to 
be invited to deliver the baccalaureate 
address at commencement. In 1878 Yale 
College conferred upon him the honorary 
degree of Doctor of Sacred Theology. 
Elected a fellow of Yale University in 
1884, for several years before his death 
being the senior member of the corpora- 
tion, he served that institution for more 
than thirty years, and was recognized as 
a champion of liberal studies. He also 
did much to lay the foundation for educa- 
tional progress at Yale. 

Dr. Anderson was ordained to the Con- 
gregational ministry in 1858, and became 
successively the pastor of three "first" 
churches in Connecticut cities : The First 
Church of Stamford, 1858-61 ; the First 
Church of Norwalk, 1861-64; and the 
First Church of Waterbury, 1865-1905. 
He began his work in Norwalk on the 
first Sunday of the Civil War, while his 
pastorate in Waterbury dated from April, 
1865, and continued for four decades, his 



210 




W7-^^ 



(1 




W^ 



i>W lUciev, 



At'Vv 




"-TOR. LENOX 
IJLDLN PCUr--DATIONSJ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



resignation having been tendered on the 
fortieth anniversary of his settlement. 
He became pastor emeritus in 1905, and 
was succeeded by the Rev. Charles A. 
Dinsmore, D. D., the present pastor. As 
clergyman and preacher, Dr. Anderson 
won distinction, showing catholicity of 
spirit and a "wide humanness." In creed 
he was a liberal Congregationalist, hav- 
ing been among the first of New England 
ministers to advocate the so-called New 
Theology. He did valuable work in be- 
half of church federation, and in 1885 was 
leader in a movement to establish the 
American Congress of Churches. His in- 
terest in missions was lifelong and keen, 
and during a summer vacation in semi- 
nary days he labored as a missionary of 
the American Sunday School Union in 
Northern Illinois, in this pioneer work 
traveling more than a thousand miles on 
foot. He was moderator of the General 
Association of Connecticut in 1877 and 
again in 1890, and moderator of the Gen- 
eral Conference of Congregational 
Churches of Connecticut in 1878: dele- 
gate to the International Council of Con- 
gregational Churches held in London in 
1891 ; president of the Connecticut Bible 
Society during the years 1884-1904; direc- 
tor of the Missionary Society of Connec- 
ticut, 1885-1906; and a corporate member 
of the American Board of Commissioners 
for Foreign Missions. 

As a scholar. Dr. Anderson was ver- 
satile and thorough. His interests were 
wide, but he gave special attention to 
history and philology, selecting as his 
jiarticular field of research the relics and 
history of the North American Indians. 
In collaboration with the Bureau of Eth- 
nology at Washington, he also specialized 
in the languages of the Algonkian family. 
In connection with this work he accu- 
mulated a valuable library of books and 
pamphlets and a representative collection 



of stone implements. Although he left 
no original volumes of importance, he 
gained considerable reputation as a 
writer, and was the author of a number 
of valuable papers on local history. In 
pddition to these he published various 
poems and sermons, as well as articles in 
nagazines. He also delivered many 
addresses, several of which have appeared 
ir. print. An incomplete list of his pub- 
lications may be found in the Annual Re- 
port of the American Historical Associ- 
ation for 1889, pages 174-176. In 1872-73 
he was the editor of the "Waterbury 
American," one of the leading news- 
papers of New England. In 1892 "The 
Churches of Mattatuck" was published 
under his name as editor. He was like- 
Vvise the editor and joint author of "The 
'('own and City of Waterbury, Connec- 
ticut," a work of exceptional historical 
interest, appearing in three volumes in 
1896. lie was a member of the American 
Historical Association, the American Phil- 
ological Association, the American Anti- 
quarian Society, the National Institute of 
Social Science, the Connecticut Historical 
Society, and the New Haven Colony His- 
torical Society. 

During his last years his interests 
centered in The Mattatuck Historical So- 
ciety of Waterbury, of which he was one 
of the charter members. Following the 
bicentenary of the town of Waterbury, 
when special enthusiasm was aroused 
concerning local history, this society was 
founded on the evening of Forefathers' 
Day, 1877, under the leadership of the 
late Hon. Frederick J. Kingsbury, who 
was its first president and its chief offi- 
cer for nearly thirty-three years. When 
the society was reconstructed in 1902, 
Dr. Anderson became one of its vice- 
presidents, holding that office until the 
death of Mr. Kingsbury in 1910, when he 
succeeded to the presidency, thus becom- 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing its second chief officer. He was ap- 
pointed curator of the collections of the 
society in 1902, and chairman of the 
Memorial Committee in 1915, holding 
these various offices until his death. 

Through the generosity of friends, the 
Indian relics and other stone implements 
accumulated by Dr. Anderson were pur- 
chased and presented to The Mattatuck 
Hij^torical Society, and served as the 
nucleus of its museum exhibit. The 
books and pamphlets used in connection 
with these relics were purchased by the 
late Elisha Leavenworth, the benefactor 
to whom the society owes its present 
staca-i. and this gift forms the nucleus of 
a valuable library, as these works espe- 
cially relate to the races of men, the stone 
age in Europe and America, and the 
American Indians. 

Di. Anderson made his first visit to his 
native land in 1863. After resigning his 
pastorate in Waterbury, he with his wife 
spent a winter in Porto Rico with his 
son. On returning to Connecticut in the 
sprin^^ of 1906, he made his home in 
W'oodmont on Long Island Sound, a 
summer colony of which he was the pio- 
neer settler in 1874. He was warden of 
this borough from 1904 to 1908. In 1891, 
after attending the Internationa! Council 
of Congregational Churches in London, 
he made a trip through England and 
Scotland and in some of the more north- 
erly countries on the Continent. He 
traveled more extensively in 1907, when 
he visited Italy, Egypt and the Holy 
Land. After the death of Mrs. Anderson, 
he closed his home at Woodmont and 
Hgain took up his residence in Water- 
bury. During previous years spent in the 
latter cit-^, he served several sessions on 
the Roard of Education. In National 
prlitic-;. he usually voted the Republican 
ticket. 

On January 24, 1859, Dr. Anderson was 



married to Anna Sands, daughter of 
Thomas Jefferson and Dorothy (Hamil- 
ton) Gildersleeve, of Brooklyn. After a 
long illness, Mrs. Anderson died at 
'"Winnituxit,'' the home in Woodmont, 
April 6, 1914. Five children were born to 
them : William, whose death followed a 
brief illness in 1884; Mary Rose, who 
died November 25. 1889, a year after her 
marriage to Dr. Carl E. Munger; Joseph, 
Jr., who died early in 1917, leaving a 
widow and two young daughters ; and 
Isabel Hoyt and Anne Sands, twins, the 
former dying in infancy, and the latter 
being the sole survivor of the family. 

Increasing ill health made the last year 
of Dr. Anderson's life one of depression 
and sufifering. The hope of deriving 
benefit from a more northerly climate led 
his physician to consent to his attendance 
on the Congregational Conference at Star 
Island, or Isles of Shoals, in August, 1916. 
After a short stay, however, symptoms 
so alarming appeared that he started at 
once for home. He was only able to 
reach Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 
where he was hurried to a hospital, his 
death taking place there August 18, 1916, 
in the eightieth year of his age. Funeral 
services in charge of the Rev. Dr. Dins- 
more were held in the First Congrega- 
tional Church, Waterbury, on August 23, 
and were largely attended. Interment 
followed in the Riverside Cemetery, 
Waterbury, beside his wife, in the lot 
belonging to the church with which he 
was so long associated. 



BULKELEY, Morgan Gardner, 

Soldier, Statesman. Man of Affairs. 

In the long list of eminent men who 
have borne the name Bulkeley since 
Baron Robert de Buclough, who flour- 
ished during the reign of King John of 
England, down through the centuries to 



212 




<^^:.^^(^^c 







.T'ONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the present, no man has more worthily 
borne it than Morgan Gardner Bulkeley, 
ex-soldier, mayor. Governor, United 
States Senator; a banker, public-spirited 
citizen ; now and for thirty-eight years 
past president of one of the great Amer- 
ican corporations, The Aetna Life Insur- 
ance Company. 

From the coming of Rev. Peter Bulke- 
ley, fellow of St. John's College, Cam- 
bridge, minister of the Gospel, non-con- 
formist, who came to Massachusetts in 
1634, the lineal descent to Morgan G. 
Eulkeley is through a line of most emi- 
nent ministers, lawyers and business 
men. In the second American generation, 
Rev. Gershom Bulkeley, son of Rev. 
Peter Bulkeley, was one of the intellec- 
tual giants of his day ; a graduate of 
Harvard in 1655, he had no superior in 
.'scholarship, none as a minister, a con- 
troversialist or linguist. He was further- 
more a brave soldier, a skilled surgeon 
for his day, and a leader in public affairs. 
He was minister at New London and 
Wethersfield and first of the name in 
Connecticut. 

Rev. John Bulkeley was first settled in 
1703 over the church at Colchester, of 
which he was one of the first settlers and 
minister. He was a graduate of Harvard, 
class of 1699, and ranked exceedingly 
high among the clergy of his day. He 
wrote and published much, and in the 
strength of his intellectuality equalled if 
he did not surpass his father. He was 
classed by Rev. Dr. Chauncey in 1768 as 
one of the three men most eminent for 
strength of genius and power of mind 
that New England ever produced. 

His son, "Hon. Judge (John) Bulkeley, 
of Colchester, who for a number of years 
was a great honor to an uncommon vari- 
ety of exalted stations in life." was a 
graduate of Yale, class of 1725. He was 
eminent in the legal profession, assistant 



of the province, judge of superior and 
probate courts, and colonel of his regi- 
ment. 

His son. Colonel Eliphalet Bulkeley, 
responded to the Lexington Alarm as 
captain of Colchester troops, and in 1780 
was commissioned lieutenant-colonel. 
He served as a captain of volunteers at 
the siege of Boston under Colonel James 
Wadsworth. 

His son, John Charles Bulkeley, mar- 
ried Sally Taintor, and they were the 
parents of Eliphalet Adams, father of 
Morgan G. Bulkeley. 

Eliphalet Adams Bulkeley was a grad- 
uate of Yale, class of 1824, a lawyer of 
East Haddam, president of the East Had- 
dam Bank, assemblyman and State Sen- 
ator. In 1846 he moved to Hartford, 
where he practiced law, was elected to 
the State Legislature in 1857, was first 
Republican speaker of the house, 1857, 
and one of the founders of the Repub- 
lican party in his State. His later years 
were given wholly to the development of 
the life insurance business, the business 
that has made Hartford famed the world 
over. He was the first president of the 
Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Com- 
pany, and one of its organizers; in 1846 
the organizer of the Aetna Life Insur- 
ance Company, and its president from 
1850 until his death, stricken at his desk 
in the Aetna offices. He was possessed 
of a marvelous memory, and prompt in 
keeping every engagement ; for eighteen 
years he never failed to preside at the 
meetings of the Pearl Street Ecclesias- 
tical Society ; regularly attended the 
school meetings in his district ; never 
failed to vote, and urged others to never 
neglect so important a duty. He won 
fortune in his many business enterprises, 
possessing a sagacity in investment and 
a sound judgment that rendered him in- 
valuable to the Aetna companies — bank- 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing, fire and life insurance. His splendid 
capacity and unimpeached character won 
for him the highest respect of his fellow- 
men, and although during his last years 
he was almost blind, literally "died in the 
harness," being stricken at his desk in the 
president's office of the Aetna Life In- 
surance Company. He died February 13, 
1872, aged sixty-nine years. 

He married, January 13, 1830, Lydia 
S Morgan, of Colchester, a woman of 
strong character and high ideals, possess- 
ing those womanly graces that enabled 
her to exert a beneficial influence over not 
only her own family but over the com- 
m.unity. Their sons all became promi- 
nent in law, business and public life, the 
eldest. Captain Charles Edwin Bulkeley, 
giving up his life during the Civil War, 
and in command of Battery Gareshe, Vir- 
ginia, February 10, 1862. William 
Henry, a younger son, was Lieutenant- 
Governor of Connecticut, and a highly 
connected business man. Their first born, 
a daughter, died in infancy ; their last 
born daughter, Mary J., married Lever- 
ett Brainerd ; the youngest child, Eli- 
phalet Adams (2), died in infancy. 

From so eminent an ancestry comes 
Morgan Gardner Bulkeley, of the twen- 
tieth recorded generation of his family 
and of the eighth American generation. 
That he measures up to the full Bulkeley 
standard is the greatest praise that can 
be bestowed upon him. Now almost an 
octogenarian, with a record of achieve- 
ment in public and business life either of 
which would dignify the record of any 
man, he is yet the active forceful man of 
afifairs, the interested citizen, and the pro- 
jector of new enterprises. A history of 
the last half century of his life is almost 
a history of the Aetna Life Insurance 
Company, a political history of the city 
of Hartford, and the State of Connecticut. 
To determine the mainspring of so 



wonderful a life, after passing by and 
giving due credit to heredity and environ- 
ment, one is led irresistibly to the con- 
clusion that resourcefulness and decision 
have led him triumphantly from office 
boy to president, from the soldier boy of 
1861 to a seat in the United States Sen- 
ate, from the timid voter of 1858 to the 
executive chair of his native State in 1889. 
Those traits, resourcefulness and decision, 
have made him the sound financier, the 
able executive, the wise legislator and 
the valuable citizen. That he possesses 
all the sterling qualities of manhood, a 
strength of character that still shines 
brightly, is but natural ; but resourceful- 
ness and decision have been the qualities 
that have accentuated his others, and 
have placed his name at the very top of 
Connecticut's Roll of Fame. 

]\Iorgan Gardner Bulkeley was born at 
East Haddam, Connecticut, December 26, 
1837, his home being in that village until 
he was nine years of age. His parents 
then moved to Hartford, where he at- 
tended the public schools until fourteen 
years of age. He then in 185 1 entered 
the employ of the Aetna Life Insurance 
Company in perhaps its humblest posi- 
tion, office sweeper, at a salary of one 
dollar weekly. After a short time he left 
that job to become bundle clerk in the 
Brooklyn mercantile house of H. P. Mor- 
gan & Company. There he started his 
upward way, proved his mettle, and in 
seven years was admitted a partner. This 
brought him to the Civil War period, and, 
true to example of his race, he quickly 
decided to bear his part in the conflict to 
decide whether a government "of the 
people, for the people and by the people" 
should be destroyed. He enlisted in i86i 
in the Thirteenth Regiment, New York 
Volunteer Infantry, went to the front, and 
served with credit during the period lead- 
ing to and including the Peninsular cam- 



214 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



paign of the Army of the Potomac. He ticns, there have been crises when only 

then returned to his Brooklyn business, the skill of the pilot could save the ship 

there continuing until the death of his from being swept from her moorings and 

father, president of the Aetna Life Insur- dashed to pieces upon the rocks of finan- 

ance Company, on February 13, 1872. cial disaster. But in such times, now 

As soon as possible he returned to happily passed, the qualities that distin- 

Hartford and assumed the management guish Mr. Bulkeley only shone the 

of the family estate. He m,et all the de- brighter, and never has he been obliged 

mands made upon him, and soon im- to surrender the helm to another. Sa- 

pressed himself upon the business life of gacious, keen, high principled and able, 

Hartford, an impression that has been he has ever and does command the re- 



deep, lasting and most beneficial. The 
earliest monument to his business saga- 
city and enterprise stands in the United 
States Bank, which he founded and con- 
ducted as its executive head from 1872 
until 1879. There he displayed the abil- 
ity of the financier with the sound judg- 



spect of the leaders of the financial world, 
and ranks with them, in every phase of 
ability. 

His corporate interests further include 
directorships in the Aetna Fire Insur- 
ance Company, the United States Bank 
which he founded, and the Hartford Elec- 



ment of the capable business man, that trie Light Company, while his private 
made him a desirable acquisition to other business is widely extended. 



and greater corporations. 

In 1879 Thomas O. Enders, who had 
succeeded Eliphalet A. Bulkeley as presi- 
dent of the Aetna Life Insurance Com- 
pany, retired from that of^ce and was 
succeeded by Morgan G. Bulkeley. With 
the exception of the seven years term of 
President Enders, the Aetna has been 
under the Bulkeley executive manage- 
ment since 1850. The only criterion by 
which to estimate the strength and value 
of that management is the last annual 
report of the Aetna, an institution that 
stands as a model of solidity, progress 
and liberal construction of its contracts 
with the insuring public. 

Thirty-eight years Mr. Bulkeley has 
guided the destinies of the Aetna, his 
powers of organization, managerial and 
executive skill and able financiering per- 
vading every chapter of the company's 
history. There have been times of severe 
trial in the Aetna's historv — times when 



On this record alone the fame of Mr. 
Bulkeley might securely rest, but to it 
he has added a long term of public serv- 
ice of exceptional honor. Three years 
after his return to Hartford (1872) he 
was elected councilman, and the follow- 
ing year alderman. Men knew that he 
was in public life, his city legislative 
"light" not "hidden under a bushel,'' and 
in 1880, when there was a demand for a 
strong man in the executive chair, he 
was chosen mayor and held in that office 
for eight years. Perhaps those eight 
years brought him closer to the lives and 
hearts of his people than has any other 
public service he has performed. He con- 
scientiously and ably filled every require- 
ment of the office, exercised vigilant care 
over city finances, but, as afifecting the 
welfare and happiness of the people at 
large, his administration was exceptional. 
Each year he spent many times the 
amount of his salarv in benevolences 



the resourcefulness and decision of its afifecting Hartford's poorer classes, in 
executives were tested to their utmost ; utilizing the opportunities afforded by the 
and, in common with all financial institu- Connecticut river, and in improvements 

215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



along the river ; free excursions, fresh 
air for the babies and the feeble, were 
fully paid for from his purse, and no 
sanitary or work of uplift neglected. 

This period of his public life ended in 
1888, and in even the most distant part 
of the State there was a call for him to 
"come up higher." When the Republican 
State Convention of 1888 met, he was 
nominated for Governor by acclamation. 
The verdict of the polls was intensely 
gratifying to him, and he assumed the 
duties of his office in January, 1889, with 
the knowledge that he possessed the 
entire confidence of the people over whom 
he was to preside. He met the expecta- 
tions of that people, and as Governor 
lidded fresh evidence of his wisdom, pub- 
lic-spirit and executive ability. Then 
came the trying situation of 1891, when, 
there being under Connecticut's peculiar 
law no choice by the people, and later a 
deadlocked Legislature, grave questions 
arose, not only affecting a successor in 
the Governor's chair, but State appropri- 
ations and State finances. In this crisis 
Governor Bulkeley displayed that re- 
sourcefulness and decision that never was 
more in evidence than then. He held the 
Governor's office until a successor was 
chosen in 1893; advanced from the funds 
of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, on 
his own guarantee of repayment, all 
moneys needed to maintain the State 
institutions, the Legislature having failed 
to make any appropriation, and by his 
tact, judgment and loyal devotion, saved 
State honor, and brought order out of 
political chaos. 

In 1893 he was named for United States 
Senator, but withdrew in favor of Gen- 
eral Hawley, whom he succeeded in that 
high office in 1905. He represented Con- 
necticut in the United States Senate until 
lOii, and during that time displayed in 
full earnestness and eflfectiveness his 



great public spirit, his political acumen, 
his opposition to corporate influences, and 
his great ability. With the expiration of 
his senatorial term in 191 1, he retired from 
active political life, having received the 
highest honors his State could bestow. 

There is one monument to Mr. Bulke- 
ley that it was his privilege to inspire, 
follow to completion, and dedicate — the 
great bridge at Hartford spanning the 
Connecticut river. After the burning of 
the old bridge in 1895, he saw in his 
vision the great structure as it now 
stands : and when in 1897 he was chosen 
president of the board of bridge commis- 
sioners, he began in deadly earnest a 
work that did not cease until the com- 
pletion in 1908 of that unrivaled bridge 
that spans the Connecticut at its most 
important point. So deeply did the com- 
pletion of this great work, the result of 
his inspiration and largely the result of 
his efforts, affect Mr. Bulkeley. that he 
conceived, largely planned and made pos- 
sible by his generosity, those three won- 
derful days devoted to its dedication in 
October, 1908. Hartford gave itself to 
festive and triumphant celebration — his- 
torical pageant, patriotic jubilee, and 
every form of rejoicing marking the com- 
pletion of a wonderful, useful, enduring 
structure, the symbol of a new chapter 
opened in municipal and State progress. 

That the city realized to whom "honor 
was due," a memorable meeting held in 
Parson's Theatre, December 3, 1908, tes- 
tifies. That gathering was held expressly 
to do homage to Morgan G. Bulkeley for 
his great service to his fellowmen. At 
its close the hearty enthusiasm, displayed 
in a truly New England manner, culmi- 
nated in the presentation to the guest of 
honor of a magnificent silver service com- 
prising one hundred and fifty-six pieces. 
In 191 1 further appreciation of his suc- 
cessful efforts in improving Connecticut 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



river landings was shown in the presenta- 
tion of a silver loving cup. The broad 
boulevard, the park on the east side, to- 
gether with the great bridge, will yield 
benefit, pleasure and profit to coming 
generations, and keep the memory of his 
great public service ever green. He was 
also president of the State Commission to 
erect the State Library, and also of the 
Town Commission to erect the Soldiers' 
Memorial monument in Bushnell Park. 

For forty years Mr. Bulkeley has been 
a guest at Fenwick and Fenwick Hall, 
and has given freely time and money to 
its improvement. He and a few associ- 
ates working for an ideal family sea- 
shore resort, secured a special charter 
from the Legislature, making the one 
hundred acres of the peninsula a separate 
borough. They bought up the hundreds 
of building lots, withdrew them from the 
market, and converted them into fine golf 
links. Recently a fine State road was 
built to connect Fenwick with Saybrook 
village. 

With such an ancestry as his, there is 
scarcely a patriotic or Colonial society 
to which he is not eligible. Those whose 
privileges he has availed himself of are: 
The Society of the Cincinnati, Sons of 
the Revolution, Society of Foreign Wars, 
Society of Mayflower Descendants. So- 
ciety of Colonial Wars, Society of the 
War of 1812, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, and the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion. He is a member of the 
Masonic order, the Congregational 
church, and the Hartford Club and other 
social organizations. There is no subject 
affecting the welfare of his fellowmen in 
which he is not interested ; no charity, 
philanthropy or institution of his city re- 
quiring public support, but has but to 
indicate their need no friend to whom he 
will not extend a helping hand. Great as 
is his past achievement, he does not live 



in retrospect, but in the great present, 
with its opportunities, responsibilities 
and possibilities — a man of yesterday, a 
man of to-day, planning for the work of 
to-morrow. 

Mr. Bulkeley married, February 11, 
1885, Fannie Briggs, daughter of James 
and Caroline A. Houghton, of San Fran- 
cisco, California. They are the parents 
of Morgan Gardner (2nd), Elinor Hough- 
ton, and Houghton. 



ST. JOHN, Howell WiUiams, 

Actnary Aetna Iiife Ininrance Company. 

Howell Williams St. John, of Hartford, 
Connecticut, actuary of the /Etna Life 
Insurance Company, is a descendant of 
a number of the old colonial families of 
New England, families that have been 
true patriots, withholding no service or 
sacrifice in time of war, and proving their 
sterling character and worthy citizenship 
in the less trying times of peace, by ex- 
emplifying the highest ethical ideals in 
personal conduct. 

The name of St. John in early days was 
also spelled Sension and Sention, the lat- 
ter two styles being evidently a phonetic 
representation of a very short pronuncia- 
tion of St. John. Who were the imme- 
diate antecedents of Matthias St. John, 
the immigrant ancestor of the family 
herein followed, has not been ascertained. 
In volume liv, page 341, of the "New Eng- 
land Historical and Genealogical Regis- 
ter," an English writer says : 

I believe these families (St. John, Throckmor- 
ton, Willoiighby. and Sands) are the four great 
pillars of Elizabethan England, replacing the 
great feudal earls. 

The St. John family was essentially English, 
and brethren of the royal family of Tudor by the 
half-blood, hence their powerful position. In the 
first generation they were divided into two sec- 
tions — the senior line at Bletsoe in Bedfordshire; 
and the junior line at Lidiard Tregoze, in Wilt- 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shire. Both these locahties were hotbeds of puri- 
tanism, and many of our early pioneers were con- 
nected with the two St. John houses. In the 
struggle for reUgious and political liberty, two 
St. Johns, a cadet of either house, were especially 
prominent. From the Bletsoe line came Oliver 
St. John, the terrible solicitor-general (Cromwell's 
"black lanthorn'O, who brought successively to 
the block the heads of Thomas VVentworth, Wil- 
liam Laud and Charles Stuart by his sledge-ham- 
mer logic drawn from the constitutional practice 
of England. Sir Oliver St. John attracted over 
to Ireland many of the most ardent spirits of 
Puritanism and many of his own cousenry, and 
the trumpet of the court faction on St. John's 
recall doubtless drove many of these adventurers 
into Ireland to cross the ocean to New England. 
At least we know that many of our early settlers 
had been in Ireland. Viscount Grandison was the 
second son of Nicholas St. John and Elizabeth 
(Blount) St. John. His younger brother Richard 
was ancestor of the Irish St. Johns, and, I think, 
possibly of our Matthew St. John, who, by the 
way, lived in St. Botolph, Bishopsgate, London, 
before going to Connecticut. 

Matthias St. John (Sension or Sen- 
tion), who is the first of the family found 
in America, arrived in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, 1631-32, and was made a free- 
man there on September 3 of the follow- 
ing year. On January 14, 1635, he re- 
ceived a grant of twenty acres "at the 
bounds betwixt Roxbury and Dorches- 
ter." Subsequently he became possessed 
of other lands. In 1638 he sold his house, 
and two years later removed to Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. Soon after his arrival 
in 1640 he was granted a lot in the Pali- 
sades containing ten roods. As late as 
1890 this was occupied by Mrs. Anson 
Loom,is. "Mathewe Sension" was a 
grand juror, November 19, 1643, and in 
December, 1644. The name of Matthias 
Sension appears on a list of settlers in 
Wethersfield between the years 1636 and 
1645. He was a juryman at Hartford on 
March 28, 1650, and again on May 7 of 
that year. On June i, 1654, "Matthias 
Sension of Wethersfield" was brought be- 



fore a particular court at Hartford be- 
cause "he had sold syder to Indians by 
which they was Drunke." He was also 
both plaintiff and defendant in a number 
of small civil cases. In 1654 he removed 
to Norwalk, Connecticut. His name ap- 
pears in a list of freemen of Norwalk 
dated October 11, 1669. He was chosen 
townsman, February 15, 1660. He died 
in Norwalk, in October or November, 
i66g. 

His son, Matthias St. John, was born 
in 1630, and died in December, 1728-29. 
He served as selectman of Norwalk; was 
fence viewer in 1659, and we find his 
name in connection with various town 
affairs. He married Elizabeth . 

His son, Matthias St. John, was bom 
in Norwalk, Connecticut, 1667-68. His 
name appears in connection with a num- 
ber of town proceedings. On February 
21, 1700-01, he or his son was appointed 
to beat the drum on Sabbath days. His 
name also appears on record in connec- 
tion with a number of real estate transac- 
tions. In 1712 he received a grant of 
home lot No. 16 from, the proprietors of 
Ridgefield. In 1714 he was a grand juror, 
and in 1717 served as sexton of the church 
for an annual stipend of thirty-five shil- 
lings. In 1716 he received a grant of fif- 
teen and a half acres in Ridgefield. He 
married, about 1690, Rachel, born Decem- 
ber 16, 1667, daughter of Jonathan and 
Abigail (Marvin) Bouton. Matthias St. 
John died in Wilton, Atigust 17, 1748. 

His son, Benjamin St. John was born 
in Norwalk, Connecticut, about 1700. He 
was fence-viewer, 1726-40; surveyor of 
highways, 1730-36; grand juror in 1732; 
tythingman, 1749. He married (first) 
Mary , born in 1708, and died De- 
cember 3, 1774. He removed to New 
Canaan in 1744, and he and his wife 
joined the church there by letter that 
year. He died in 1782. 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His son, Matthias St. John, was born 
in Norwalk, Connecticut, in 1734, and 
died in New Canaan, March 20, 1819. He 
was surveyor of highways, 1773; grand 
juror, December 7, 1778; was corporal in 
Lieutenant Curtis's company. Ninth Regi- 
ment Connecticut Militia, from October 
25, 1776, to January 25, 1777; ensign of 
the Ninth company alarm list. Ninth 
Regiment, in October, 1779. He served 
sixteen days in Captain Samuel "Hand- 
ford's" company of militia, Colonel Jona- 
than Hart's regiment, in alarm for relief 
of Fort William McHenry. He married 
(first) June 28, 1758, Naomi, born in 
1734, died August 27, 1780, daughter of 
Abraham and Naomi (Pond) Weed, of 
New Canaan. Matthias St. John and wife 
were admitted to the church, March 25, 

1759- 

His son. Colonel Enoch St. John, was 
born in New Canaan, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 14-15, 1765, and died there, April 23, 
1846. He was surveyor of highways, 
1790-99; lister. 1793; was pensioned at 
forty dollars, March 4, 183 1. He mar- 
ried, in Norwalk, November 17, 1788, 
Sibyl Seymour, born August 3, 1765, died 
July 22, 17 — , daughter of Thomas and 
Sarah (Rockwell) Seymour. 

His son, Samuel St. John, was born in 
New Canaan, Connecticut, August 25, 
1793, and died at Hartford, Connecticut, 
July 21, 1866. For many years he en- 
gaged in the cotton commission business 
at Mobile, Alabama, and at New Orleans. 
Louisiana. He left the south long before 
the Civil War, retiring from active busi- 
ness life with a competence somewhere 
in the thirties. He resided at Newport, 
Rhode Island, and subsequently in New 
Canaan and Bridgeport, Connecticut. 
"He was the first man to write letters 
upon the Government being the only au- 
thority and power for creating a currency 
and supplying it to the people. From this 



originated the 'Greenbacks,' so-called, 
and the National Banking System. To 
him was issued the first insurance policy 
in the United States, not, however, on his 
own life. He furnished the $10,000 to 
Texas to accomplish her Independence." 
He married, in Baltimore, in November, 
1826, Sophia Jenkins, born in Brooklyn, 
Connecticut, August 19, 1798, and died in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, December 27, 
1855, daughter of Howell and Dorothy 
(Wheat) Williams, of Brooklyn, Connec- 
ticut. Of their five children, three grew 
to maturity, namely: William Henry, 
born in October, 1829, and died January 

26, i860; Howell Williams, of whom fur- 
ther ; Caroline Grosvenor, born August 

27, 1832, married James Campbell, and re- 
sided in Pasadena, California. 

Their son, Howell Williams St. John, 
was born in Newport, Rhode Island, near 
the old stone mill, April 3, 1834. He was 
prepared for college under private tutors, 
was for some time a pupil of Stiles 
French, a noted educator, and later grad- 
uated from Sheffield Scientific School, a 
mem,ber of the class of 1855, under Pro- 
fessor William A. Norton, in the civil 
engineering course, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Philosophy. He then fol- 
lowed engineering in Central Texas and 
Iowa. His maternal uncle, Samuel May 
Williams, planted the first American 
colony in Texas, in association with 
Stephen F. Austin, and the land appor- 
tioned them was termed the Austin and 
Williams grant. Mr. St. John located the 
line of the Houston & Texas Central rail- 
road, and after following his chosen vo- 
cation, civil engineering, in Texas for a 
number of years, removed to Iowa, where 
he associated with Mr. T. A. Wilcox, who 
later became his brother-in-law, and they 
there engaged in locating railroads. Dur- 
ing this period the panic of 1857 occurred, 
and their business was deferred in conse- 



21Q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



quence. Mr. St. John then went to Clear- 
water, Minnesota, where he engaged for 
a number of years in the manufacturing 
business with his brother-in-law, James 
Cambell. He also served as private in 
the Kandiyohi Rangers ; they were 
mounted, and patrolled the frontier to 
guard against Indians ; in the State serv- 
ice under Captain Nelson ; that was in the 
early sixties. 

During the latter years of the Civil 
War, Mr. St. John returned to Connec- 
ticut and in October, 1867, entered the 
employ of the ^tna Life Insurance Com- 
pany in the capacity of actuary under the 
presidency of the father of Morgan G. 
Bulkeley, the present president and chief 
executive of the company. Mr. St. John 
was the first incumbent of that office, and 
has preformed the duties op to the pres- 
ent time (1917) and is probably the old- 
est actuary now active in the profession. 
He is ex-president of the Actuarial Soci- 
ety of America, in the founding of which 
he was one of the prime movers, and 
served as its second president. He is a 
member of the Connecticut Historical 
Society ; the American Economic Society ; 
and formerly of the American Statistical 
Society, of which he was one of the early 
members ; the University Club of Hart- 
ford : was made a Mason in St. Mark's 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Granby, Connecticut, also took 
chapter degrees there ; became a member 
of the Council, Royal and Select Masters, 
while a resident of Mobile ; he was the 
only northern man then given the de- 
grees in that lodge. 

Mr. St. John married Elizabeth E., 
daughter of Justus Wilcox, M. D., of 
Granby, Connecticut. They have one 
son, William Henry St. John, of Hart- 
ford. 

(The Winiams Line). 

The Williams family is undoubtedly of 
Welsh origin, though the immediate ante- 



cedents of Robert Williams, the immi- 
grant ancestor, have not been traced. A 
memorandum found among the papers of 
an early member of the family gives the 
following description of the coat-of-arms : 
"He beareth sable — a lion rampant — ar- 
gent — armed — and langued gules" — by 
the name of Williams, of Flint, in Wales, 
and in Lincolnshire, and Matthew, of 
Yorkshire ; which families are indeed now 
one and the same, for John Williams, 
Esq., in the time of Edward IV., married 
the daughter and heiress of Jonathan 
Matthew, Esq. His son assumed the sur- 
name of Matthew, which he retained ever 
since. Their crest is a moor cock. This 
pedigree is from Thoresby's Ducatua, etc. 
"This coat belongeth to the family of 
Williams." The engraving accompany- 
ing the above description in the book re- 
ferred to shows a common cock instead 
of a moor cock, and subsequent investi- 
gation indicates the correctness of the en- 
graving, and with this the side motto, 
Cognosce occasioiicni ("Watches his op- 
portunity" — agrees). The motto of the 
family is Y fyno Dwy Y fydd, meaning 
"What God willeth, will be." 

It has been generally believed that Rob- 
ert Williams, the immigrant ancestor of 
the family, came from Roxbury to Amer- 
ica. He was admitted freeman in Rox- 
bury in 1638. He evidently sympathized 
with the Puritans in England, and no 
doubt emigrated to escape the persecu- 
tions to which they were subjected. He 
married (first) Elizabeth Stratton, who 
bore him four sons. She died July 28, 
1674, aged eighty years. He died at Rox- 
bury, September i, 1693. There is some 
discrepancy of opinion in relation to his 
age, but as he survived his first wife for 
nearly twenty years, and she was eighty 
at her death, the presumption is that he 
lived to be nearly if not quite one hun- 
dred years old. 

His son, Samuel Williams, was bom in 



220 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1632, probably in England, the eldest of 
the four sons. He settled in Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, where he became a free- 
man in March, 1658. He was a man of 
considerable repute, and was deacon of 
the church for many years. He married 
Theodosia, daughter of Deacon William 
Park, who was a man of note and prop- 
erty in Roxbury and was a representative 
to the General Court for many years. 
Deacon Park died May 11, 1685, aged sev- 
enty-five years. Deacon Samuel Williams 
died September 28, 1698, aged sixty-five 
years. His widow married Stephen Peck, 
and died August 26, 1718, aged eighty-one 
years. 

His son, Samuel Williams, born April 
15, 1655, died August 8, 1735. He mar- 
ried for his first wife, February 24, 1679, 
Sarah May, who died December 29, 1712. 

His son, Samuel Williams, born April 
6, 1681, died August 13, 1751. He mar- 
ried Deborah Scarborough, who survived 
him ten years, and was killed by the over- 
throwing of her chaise. 

His son, William Williams, was born 
April 24, 1698, died June 21, 1766. He 
married, October 20, 1720, Sarah Stevens, 
of Roxbury, and moved to Pomfret in the 
same year. She died June 6, 1786, in her 
eightieth year. Mr. Williams was dea- 
con of the first church in Roxbury. 

His son, Samuel Williams, died Febru- 
ary 4, 1805, aged eighty-nine years. He 
was married three times ; by his first wife 
he had four children, and by his second 
wife three who grew to maturity. 

His son, William Williams, married 
Martha Williams, of Roxbury. 

His son, Howell Williams, was born 
June 24, 1769, died July 18, 1819. He 
married Dorothy Wheat, born February 
4, 1768, died July 14, 1823. They were 
the parents of Sophia Jenkins Williams, 
born August 19, 1798, who became the 
wife of Samuel St. John. Jr., and the 
mother of Howell W. St. John. 



HYDE, William Waldo, 

liavrycT, Enterprising Citizen. 

Beyond argument one of the foremost 
men of the Connecticut bar, Mr. Hyde in 
ability and achievement was comparable 
with the best lawyers of any period of the 
State's history. A keen intellect, allied 
with the judicial temperament, force of 
character, and poise of judgment, pro- 
duced the able lawyer; a charming per- 
sonality won him warm friendships ; 
while his courage, independence and pub- 
lic spirit won the respect and confidence 
that gave his leadership force. His vision 
rose above the needs and aspirations of 
his home city, Hartford, though they 
never ceased to concern his great heart, 
and in a large sense and wholly through 
his own impressive personality he be- 
longed to the State. In all gatherings of 
men, large or small, which had the good 
fortune to number him among them, his 
force, poise and quality were instinctively 
felt. He did not have to argue himself 
into the good graces of men, his mental 
and emotional attitude being convincing 
of themselves, where his conclusions did 
not always win the sympathy of his 
hearers. One knew that he was striking 
at what he believed to be the truth, and 
the idea of his ever faltering in the line 
of conduct he had adopted for his guid- 
ance, was never expressed. 

Few men have ever so succeeded in 
winning the affection of a community, an 
afTection that came not because he sought 
for popularity, but because it was his 
due. He never sought office, nor did he 
ever shirk a public duty. No man was 
more independent in forming opinions or 
more ready in expressing them. He was 
incapable of currying favor ; his warm 
heart, his genial sympathetic disposition, 
his public spirit, combined to win that 
favor. Great as were his legal attain- 
ments, great as was his public service. 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



they pale before the fact that men loved 
him. and that: 

None knew him but to love him, 
None named him but to praise. 

Mr. Hyde traced his paternal ancestry 
in America to William Hyde, born in 
England, one of the founders of Hartford, 
also of Norwich, Connecticut — a gentle- 
man of wealth and importance. The line 
of descent is through Samuel, the only 
son of William Hyde, born 1637, died 
1677, a leading citizen of Norwich W'est 
Farms ; he married Jane Lee. Thomas, 
son of Samuel Hyde, born in July, 1672, 
died April 9, 1755, married Mary Backus. 
Their son. Captain Jacob Hyde, born 
January 20, 1703, married Hannah Kings- 
bury, who bore him Ephraim. April 23, 
1734; he married Martha Giddings. 

Nathaniel, son of Ephraim Hyde, was 
born at Stafford, Connecticut, March 7, 
1757, and was an iron founder. His first 
wife, Sarah Strong, bore him a son Alvan, 
who succeeded his father in business, and 
was for many years an iron manufac- 
turer of Stafford. He married Sarah 
Finney, whose second child, Alvan Pin- 
ney Hyde, married, September 12, 1849, 
Frances Elizabeth Waldo, daughter of 
Judge Loren P. Waldo, with whom his 
son-in-law was associated in legal prac- 
tice. Their eldest son was W'illiam 
W^aldo Hyde, to whose memory this trib- 
ute of respect is dedicated. 

The Waldo ancestry traces in America 
to Cornelius Waldo, first mentioned in 
Salem (Massachusetts) records July 6, 
1647. He married Hannah, daughter of 
John Cogswell, who came from England 
on the ship "Angel Gabriel." Their son. 
John Waldo, a soldier of King Philip's 
War, married Rebecca Adams. Their 
son, Edward Waldo, teacher, farmer, dea- 
con, deputy and lieutenant, built a house 
in that part of Windham, now Scotland, 



about 1 714, that is yet standing, occupied 
by a descendant. He married (first) 
Thankful Dimmock. Their son, Edward 
(2) Waldo, married Abigail Elderkin. 
Their son, Zachariah. an eminent citizen, 
was a soldier of the Revolution from 
Canterbury. Zachariah married (first) 
Elizabeth Wright. Their son, Ebenezer 
Waldo, born in Canterbury, died in Tol- 
land, Connecticut, a man of prominence ; 
he married Cynthia Parish. Their son, 
Loren Pinckney Waldo, born February 
2, 1802, died 1881, became one of the 
leading lawyers of Connecticut, filled 
many offices in State and Nation, member 
of Thirty-first Congress, judge of the 
Superior Court of Connecticut, one of 
the leading Democrats of his day. He 
married Frances Elizabeth Eldridge, a 
granddaughter of Charles Eldridge, se- 
verely wounded in the massacre at Fort 
Griswold, and of Captain Elijah Avery, 
killed in the same massacre. Their 
daughter, Frances Elizabeth Waldo, mar- 
ried, September 12, 1849, Alvan Pinney 
Hyde. Their son was William Waldo 
Hyde. 

From such distinguished paternal and 
maternal ancestry came William Waldo 
Hyde. He was born in Tolland, Connec- 
ticut, March 25, 1854, died in Hartford, at 
the Charter Oak Hospital. Saturday, Oc- 
tober 30, 191 5. When he was ten years 
of age his parents removed to Hartford, 
where in connection with Judge Loren 
P. W^aldo and Governor Richard D. Hub- 
bard. Alvan P. Hyde became a member 
of one of the leading law firms of the 
State, that of Waldo, Hubbard & Hyde. 
Until 1872, William W'aldo Hyde at- 
tended the public schools of Hartford, 
finishing with the high school graduating 
class of 1872. He then entered Yale Uni- 
versity, whence he was graduated with 
the Bachelor of Arts degree in the class 
of '76, a class distinguished in the qual- 

!22 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ity of its members. Among his class- 
mates were Arthur Twining Hadley, 
president of Yale ; Otto T. Barnard, and 
General Theodore A. Bingham, of New 
York; Dr. E. J. McKnight, of Hartford; 
and Elmer P. Howe, the widely known 
Boston lawyer. 

Logically, he was destined to become a 
lawyer, heredity and environment almost 
compelling that profession. Fortunately 
his personal inclinations agreed with the 
logical view, and after two years' study 
under his honored father and a year at 
Boston University Law School, he was 
in 1878 admitted to the Connecticut bar 
at Hartford. His first experience in law 
practice was as clerk in the office of 
Waldo, Hubbard & Hyde. At Judge 
Waldo's death in 1881 the firm reorgan- 
ized as Hubbard, Hyde & Gross, the part- 
ners being Governor Hubbard, Alvan P. 
Hyde and Charles E. Gross, but later 
William Waldo Hyde and Frank E. Hyde 
were admitted. On Governor Hubbard's 
death the four remaining partners re- 
organized as Hyde, Gross & Hyde. When 
the death of Alvan P. Hyde again dis- 
rupted the firm, Charles E. Gross, Wil- 
liam Waldo Hyde and Arthur L. Shipman 
formed the firm of Gross, Hyde & Ship- 
man. Later, Charles Welles Gross, a son 
of the senior partner, and Alvan Waldo 
Hyde, a son of William Waldo Hyde, 
were admitted to partnership. 

Mr. Hyde was identified with muc'n 
important litigation in the State and Fed- 
eral courts, appearing before State and 
United States Supreme Courts in cases of 
unusual importance and involving mo- 
mentous issues. For twenty-five years he 
was general counsel of the board of water 
commissioners, and was the leader in the 
passage of the special act of General As- 
sembly legalizing the acquisition of the 
Nepaug property. From April, 1910. to 
May, 191 2, he was corporation counsel. 



and in March, 1914, was appointed by 
Mayor Cheney a member of the city char- 
ter revision committee, and to present the 
revised charter to the General Assembly 
of 1915. His last appearance in the Su- 
preme Court was early in the m.onth of 
October, 191 5, when he argued the case 
of the Hartford Board of Water Commis- 
sioners against property owners, on de- 
fendants' appeal from a decision by Judge 
Case, of the Superior Court. 

Another important work of his last 
two years was as trustee of the Connec- 
ticut Company, appointed with four 
others to take over that company. To 
this work he brought wide experience and 
ripened judgment that rendered him a 
most valuable addition to the board. He 
declined many oflfers of financial trust, 
devoting himself to his large and weighty 
practice, though always responding to 
every call to the public service. 

From 1885 to 1899 he was actively iden- 
tified with civic affairs other than legal. 
From 1885 to 1891 he was a member of 
the board of school visitors, and acting 
school visitor, or superintendent of 
schools during that period. In that capa- 
city he labored earnestly to bring the 
schools to a higher plane of efficiency, a 
work in which he succeeded. From 1888 
to 1891 he was a m.ember of the board of 
street commissioners, also from 1897 to 
1899, and president of the board in 1890, 

1891 and 1899. In 1895 and 1896 he was 
a member of the board of health. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Hyde in 

1892 as candidate for mayor carried Hart- 
ford for the Democracy for the first time 
in a decade in an important city election. 
He had as an opponent on the Repub- 
lican ticket. General Henry C. Dwight, 
who polled 3.828 votes against Mr. Hyde's 
4,607. He is yet spoken of as "one of the 
best mayors Hartford ever had." 

Neither legal life, to which he brought 

23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



an inherited and personal love; nor pub- 
lic life, which he met as a duty of good 
citizenship — filled the measure of his 
activity. He was a trustee of the Con- 
necticut Hospital for the Insane, and a 
director of the Dime Savings Bank. As 
a member of South Congregational 
Church he met the responsibility of a 
churchman as he met every other obliga- 
tion of life. In social intercourse he m,et 
his fellowmen in club, fraternity and so- 
ciety, and with them pursued the highest 
objects of each. His clubs were the Hart- 
ford, Hartford Golf, Country, University 
(New York), Yale (New York), Gradu- 
ates (New Haven), and Nayasset of 
Springfield, Massachusetts. His patriotic 
and Colonial ancestry rendered him 
eligible to about every organization of 
note based on Colonial residence and Rev- 
olutionary service. He was affiliated with 
the Society of Mayflower Descendants in 
Connecticut, the Colonel Jeremiah Wads- 
worth Branch of the Connecticut Society, 
Sons of the American Revolution, and of 
the Society of Colonial Wars in Connec- 
ticut. In fraternity, his affiliations were 
entirely Masonic, and included all de- 
grees of the York Rite and of the Scot- 
tish Rite up to and including the thirty- 
second. He was a Master Mason of St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; a companion of Pythagoras Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; a cryptic Ma- 
son of Wolcott Council, Royal and Select 
Masters ; a sir knight of Washington 
Commandery, Knights Templar ; and a 
noble of Sphinx Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine. In Scottish Rite, he held 
the fourteen degrees of Charter Oak 
Lodge of Perfection ; the degrees of Hart- 
ford Council, Princes of Jerusalem ; Cyrus 
Goodell Chapter of Rose Croix ; and of 
Connecticut Consistory, Sovereign Princes 
of the Royal Secret, Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite. 



This necessarily brief review of the life 
activity of a great man would be incom- 
plete did it not refer to that under side 
of his nature, not so well known to the 
public as his legal and civic greatness. 
His love of fun, his genial good nature, 
and the charm of his social qualities, were 
known and appreciated only in fullest 
measure by those privileged to call him 
friend. He had a quick sympathy which 
lesponded instantly to the good fortune 
or misfortune of his friends ; and the 
warmth of his congratulations made suc- 
cess sweeter ; while his word of consola- 
tion lightened the heaviness of sorrow, 
and he was always ready to help the weak 
one or aid the discouraged. His cour- 
tesy to young lawyers was unfailing, and, 
while an opponent at the bar to be 
dreaded, he was always willing to extend 
any courtesy to opposing counsel, consist- 
ent with the proper conduct of his case. 

There was another element of his char- 
acter worthy of special note — his courage 
and adaptability. It was said of his 
father, that "as a rough and tumble fighter 
in court he had no superior. All cases 
were the same to him. Cases involving 
bookkeeping, patents, contracts, the usual 
run of disputes of all kinds, and criminal 
cases, he could try with equal facility, and 
his courage never failed him." The son 
inherited many of his lawyerlike charac- 
teristics from that father, and men called 
him a man of "indomitable courage," 
pursuing what he believed a proper 
course in the face of all obstacles and 
any opposition. A quiet man, yet, when 
aroused, one of the most eloquent. 

Mr. Hyde married, December i, 1877, 
Helen Eliza Watson, his classmate in 
high school, daughter of George W. Wat- 
son, of Hartford, who survives him, with 
two children — Elizabeth; and Alvan 
Waldo Hyde, the latter his father's part- 
ner in the firm of Gross, Hyde & Ship- 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



man ; he married (first) Helen Howard, 
who bore him two children: Helen 
Waldo and Elizabeth Howard ; he mar- 
ried (second) Theresa MacGillivray, and 
has two children : Jeannette jMacGilli- 
vray, and William Waldo Hyde (2nd). 



ENGLISH, Joel L., 

liife Insurance Official. 

The English family is one of the oldest 
in New England, its progenitor, Clement 
English, who was the first of the name in 
America, living in Salem, Massachusetts, 
as early as 1667, and being married there 
on August 27 in that year to Mary 
W^aters, like himself a resident of the 
town. He is spoken of as a wealthy mer- 
chant, who stood high in the esteem of 
his fellow citizens, and his death occurred 
there December 23, 1682. 

Benjamin English, son of Clement 
English, was born in Salem, October 19, 
1678, and removed to New Haven, Con- 
necticut, about 1700. He married (first) 
at Salem, June 8, 1699, Sarah Ward, who 
died December 9, 1700. He married (sec- 
ond) April 21, 1703, Rebecca Brown, of 
East Haven, who died May 6, 1768. By 
his first wife a son was born, May 19, 
1700. The children of the second wife 
were: Sarah, born February 7, 1704-05; 
Benjamin, October 8, 1705; Mary, Febru- 
ary 10, 1707-08; Joseph, 1709; Mary, 
1714; Clement, October, 1716. 

There is little doubt that one of the 
sons just mentioned was the father of 
Richard English, who was the great- 
grandfather of Joel English, the subject 
of this sketch. 

Richard English married, in 1762, Free- 
dom, born in Hebron, Connecticut, 1747, 
a daughter of Captain John Strong. She 
died October 6, 1839. Captain Strong was 
born September 5, 1723. Until 1769 he 
was probably a resident of Hebron, Con- 



necticut. From 1769 to 1772 he engaged 
in farming at Hartford, Vermont. Dur- 
ing this period we find his name on rec- 
ords as town clerk and as a surveyor. In 
1773 he and a few others began the set- 
tlement of W'oodstock, Vermont. He and 
his son-in-law, Benjamin Burtsch, erect- 
ed a log house and opened the first tavern 
in the town. In 1775-76 he was one of 
the Council of Safety for Cumberland 
county, and in the following year served 
as captain of a company of rangers under 
General Schuyler. He was a member of 
the Vermont Legislature, 1777-78-79-82, 
and held various town offices. He also 
rendered valuable service in connection 
with public fairs, and enjoyed a high 
place in the esteem of his fellow citizens. 
In 1778-79 he built a saw mill and grist 
mill, which he conducted at the same 
time that he kept the tavern. He was a 
man of great enterprise and his ventures 
were uniformly successful. In the year 
1804 he removed with his grandson, Ben- 
jamin Burtsch, Jr., to Argenteuil, Can- 
ada, where he died two years later. His 
first wife, whose name is not known, died 
at Woodstock, January 15, 1784, at the 
age of sixty years. 

His father. Lieutenant Jedediah Strong, 
was born January 15, 1700, and was a 
farmer at Lebanon, Connecticut, all his 
life. On December 4, 1722, he married 
Elizabeth Webster, a daughter of Captain 
John and Elizabeth Webster, who was 
born February 26, 1700-01. Captain Web- 
ster was born at Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, September 11, 1672 (also given 
as February 26, 1673). He was one of 
the original proprietors of Lebanon, Con- 
necticut, and it was there that he died 
November 3, 1735. 

His father, Thomas Webster, married 
June 16, 1663, Abigail Alexander, a daugh- 
ter of John Alexander, of Northampton, 
Massachusetts. Before his marriage 



Conn— 3— 15 



225 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Webster was a resident of Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, where several sales 
of land by him are recorded, between Oc- 
tober, 1651, and 1656. He was a resident 
of Northampton as late as 1670, but we 
find him in Northfield, Massachusetts, 
soon after that. He was driven from 
there by the Indian attacks in 1675, and 
resided at Hadley from 1676 to 1682. 
After the close of King Philip's War, 
however, he returned to Northfield, where 
his death occurred. His estate was in- 
ventoried October 20, 1686, and his wife 
Abigail died before 1690. 

His father. Governor John Webster, 
the immigrant ancestor of the most nu- 
merous family of Websters in America, 
was a native of Warwickshire, England. 
He came to Massachusetts probably dur- 
ing the period between 1630 and 1633, and 
lived for a time at Newton. From there 
he went to Hartford, Connecticut, prob- 
ably with the Hooker Company, which 
founded the city. He was one of the 
eleven out of the one hundred and fifty- 
three original settlers of Hartford who 
■received the distinction of "Mr." From 
1639 to 1659 he was continuously in pub- 
lic office, and was elected Governor of 
Connecticut in 1656, holding that office 
during the year. Besides this he also 
held the office of deputy to the General 
Court, chief magistrate and deputy gov- 
ernor. He was one of the most impor- 
tant men in the colony, and a more de- 
tailed account of his career is to be found 
elsewhere in this work. On April 5, 1661, 
"the Puritan and Pilgrim of two Hemis- 
pheres, the Faithful Judge, the Deputy 
Governor and Governor of an Incipient 
American State, the public-spirited citi- 
zen and public servant, in old age an 
exile for conscience ***** closed his 
labors." His widow, Agnes Webster, 
died in 1667. 

Jedediah Strong, Jr., father of Lieuten- 



ant Jedediah Strong, was born August 7, 
1667, and married, November 8, 1688, 
Abiah Ingersoll, born August 24, 1663, a 
daughter of John and Abigail (Bascom) 
Ingersoll. He was a farmer at North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, until August 24, 
1696, when he removed to Lebanon, Con- 
necticut. His name frequently appears 
in the records of that town as a member 
of committees having in charge impor- 
tant public affairs. He met his death at 
the hands of the Indians, being killed by 
them at Wood Creek, New York, October 
12, 1709. His widow died November 20, 

His father, Jedediah Strong, was born 
May 7, 1637. He was twice married, his 
first wife with whom he was united No- 
vember 18, 1662, being Freedom Wood- 
ward, a daughter of Henry and Elizabeth 
Woodward, of Dorchester and North- 
ampton, Massachusetts. Mr. Strong was 
engaged in farming at Northampton until 
1709, when he removed with his family to 
Coventry, Connecticut, where he died 
May 22, 1733. His wife had already died 
May 17, 1681. 

His father, Elder John Strong, was 
born at Taunton, England, in 1605, and 
came to this country in 1630, arriving in 
Massachusetts on May 30 of that year. 
In 1635 he was one of the founders of 
Dorchester, and on March 9, 1636, was 
admitted a freeman at Boston. On De- 
cember 4, 1638, we find him a resident 
proprietor of Taunton, Massachusetts. 
He was a prominent man in the com- 
munity, and held the office of deputy to 
the General Court at Plymouth in 1641- 
43-44-45. He next removed to Windsor, 
Connecticut, where he was one of a com- 
mittee appointed "to superintend and 
bring forward the settlement of that 
place." In 1659 he was active in found- 
ing and settling Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, where he engaged in business 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as a tanner, was one of the most pros- 
perous citizens and ruling elder of the 
church there. He married, in December, 
1630, for his second wife, Abigail Ford, 
who died July 6, 1688. He died April 14, 
1699. A more detailed account of his life 
is to be found elsewhere in this work. 

Joel English, son of Richard and Free- 
dom (Strong) English, was born Decem- 
ber 9, 1766, at Andover, Connecticut. 
When about the age of twelve years, he 
was bound out as an apprentice to Ben- 
jamin Burtsch in Woodstock, Vermont, 
and was sent to work tending the saw and 
grist mill of Strong & Burtsch. During 
these years his fare was meager and very 
plain, and the growing boy, possessed of 
a healthy appetite, often found it neces- 
sary to appease his hunger to take the 
meal made at the mill, mix it with water 
and bake it at the fireplace there. At the 
home of ■Mr. Burtsch the young man be- 
came acquainted with his cousin, Tri- 
phena, who was born June 12, 1770, a 
daughter of Benajah Strong, and they 
were married July 25, 1788. They made 
their home with Mr. Burtsch for about 
two years after their marriage, but in 
1789 Mr. English purchased a farm of one 
hundred acres, and in 1793 bought a saw 
mill, which had been built a few years 
before on a hundred acre lot just below 
his first purchase. Two years later, in 
partnership with a Mr. Bennett under the 
firm name of Bennett & English, he 
bought the Davis Grist Mill. Both these 
m.ills were enlarged and improved and 
from that time on the place was known 
as English's Mills. Joel English and 
wife first occupied a log house, but in 
1804 they began the erection of a frame 
hL'use in which he lived during the re- 
mainder of his life. He also laid out a 
road which branched from the Bridge- 
water road and ran south of this house, 
and which later became the established 



line of travel. Triphena (Strong) Eng- 
lish died December 28, 1846. She was a 
member of the Christian church at Wood- 
stock for thirty-nine years. Her father, 
Benjamin Strong, born January 17, 1734- 
35. was a son of Lieutenant Jedediah 
Strong, who has already been referred to 
in this article. Benajah Strong was 
twice married, his first wife having been 
Polly Bacon, of Lebanon, Connecticut. 
He removed to Hartford, Vermont, in 
1764, where he was one of the first set- 
tlers, and in the following year held the 
office of town clerk. In 1774 he was con- 
stable and commissioner of highways. 
His first wife died August 8, 1790, and 
after his second marriage he removed to 
Bethel, Vermont, and resided there until 
his death in March. 1815. 

Henry W. English, son of Joel and 
Triphena (Strong) English, was born 
January 27, 1805, at Woodstock, Ver- 
mont. He was a justice of the peace for 
over forty years, held other important 
town offices and served as selectman for 
a considerable period. He inherited his 
father's saw and grist mjll and was en- 
gaged in operating them all his life. He 
also had a fifty acre farm. He married 
Eliza A. Steele, a daughter of Stephen 
and Chloe (Hubbard) Steele, and they 
were the parents of six children, five of 
whom grew to maturity. The children 
were as follows : Hiram S., deceased ; 
Caroline Louisa, deceased ; Charles H., 
of Woodstock, Vermont ; Joel Lathrop, 
with whose career this sketch is particu- 
larly concerned ; Chloe T., who became 
the wife of Charles' Adams, of Peacham, 
Vermont. Henry W. English died April 
2 1887, and his wife November 11, 1880. 

Joel Lathrop English, son of Henry W. 
and Eliza A. (Steele) English, was born 
October i, 1843, ^^ Woodstock, Vermont. 
He received his education at the local 
public schools, at Randolph Academy and 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Woodstock Academy, located respec- 
tively in the towns of the same names. 
He was one of the first men in the country 
to learn shorthand, and in 1867 became 
stenographer and general clerk to Thomas 
O. Enders, secretary of the Aetna Life 
Insurance Company. He continued in 
this position until 1872, when he was 
elected secretary of the company to suc- 
ceed Mr. Enders. This position Mr. 
English held until February, 1905, when 
he was elected to his present responsible 
position as vice-president of this great 
concern. Mr. English is at the present 
time one of the oldest and best known 
life insurance men now actively connected 
with the business. He is a member of 
the Hartford Club. 

On November 20, 1878, Mr. English 
was married to Mabel B. Plimpton, born 
February 18, 1861, a daughter of Andrew 
Seabury Plimpton. Mr. Plimpton was 
born February 21, 1823, and married, in 
February, 1855, Lucinda F. Bacon, a 
native of Norwich, Connecticut, born 
June 3. 1830, and a daughter of Edmond 
Bacon, of that place. For many years 
Andrew Seabury Plimpton was a promi- 
nent hotel keeper in Hartford, and he 
later built the Plimpton House at Watch 
Hill, which he conducted for a number of 
seasons. At the same time he managed 
the Dixon House at Westerly, Rhode 
Island. He was one of the best known 
hotel men in Connecticut and Rhode 
Island, and died at the age of seventy 
years. 

His father, Chauncey Plimpton, was 
born May 5, 1796, and died May 21, 1837. 
He married, December 3, 1817, Calista 
Bacon, a daughter of Deacon Daniel 
Bacon, of Charlton. She died in the 
month of May, 1878. 

His father. Esquire Oliver Plimpton, 
was born September 7, 1758, and died 
April 26, 1832. He was a prominent 



farmer in Sturbridge, Massachusetts, and 
it was said of him that "his farm, garden 
and buildings exhibited discreet manage- 
ment, good taste and convenience. The 
visitor always enjoyed a pleasant and 
social interview in his accomplished fam- 
ily. His appearance was dignified and 
commanded respect." He was active in 
local affairs of a public nature and served 
several terms as a member of the General 
Court, besides holding the office of magis- 
trate for many years. He possessed a splen- 
did intellect and quick perception, and 
although not formally trained in the law, 
he was noted for the accuracy of his de- 
cisions. He was thrifty and prudent, and 
his land, exclusive of buildings, was ap- 
praised in 1798 at three pounds, eleven 
shillings, the central portion of what is 
now Globe Village now occupies what 
was originally his farm. He was active 
in the afifairs of the community, and 
served in the Revolutionary War. 

His father, Lieutenant Gershom Plimp- 
ton, was born January 14, 1734-35, and 
died January 27, 1808. He married, 
March 2, 1758, Martha Marcy, born Au- 
gust 27, 1740. died January 15, 1825, a 
daughter of Colonel Moses Marcy, of 
Sturbridge. Lieutenant Plimpton had 
great skill in hunting and fishing, and in 
1753 he traveled on foot from Medford to 
Sturbridge, carrying his pack, gun and 
ammunition. In 1759 he bought at Stur- 
bridge ten acres of land from his father 
and built a fulling mill at what is now 
Globe Village. He was the first to use 
the water power at that location, and he 
later built a grist mill there in partner- 
ship with his son, Gershom, Jr. 

His father, William Plimpton, was 
born May 26, 1700, and died April 29, 
1770. He married, in 1725, Keziah 
Dwight, a daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Dwight, born September 8, 1705, and 
died November 11, 1776. In 1724 the 



228 



THE flLV '''OPK 
PUBL'C LIBRARY 

ASTOP. L- OX . 
TTLDLN rC ,i D T iONS 






i /Jf?^^^^C^>^' 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



town of Medfield gave permission to Wil- 
liam Plimpton to dam the brook near the 
meeting house to meet the requirements 
of a fulling mill. He took a prominent 
part in the establishment of the Baptist 
church at Medtield. and was one of the 
proprietors of Sturbridge. 

His father, Joseph Plimpton, was born 
March 18, 1677, and died October 21, 
1739. He married (first) in 1699, Pris- 
cilla Partridge, who died in 1738. He 
was a farmer and a prominent citizen, 
was member of the General Court from 
1720 to 1721 and 1731. He was commis- 
sioned lieutenant by Governor Drummer 
in 1723, was one of the proprietors and 
took an active part in the settlement of 
New Medfield, or Sturbridge, and was 
moderator of ten meetings of the proprie- 
tors. 

His father, Joseph Plimpton, was born 
October 7, 1653, and died June 22, 1702. 
He married, November 3, 1675, Mary 
Morse, a daughter of Samuel Morse. He 
worked as a weaver. In 1681 he received 
a grant of land from, the town of Medfield. 

His father, Sergeant John Plimpton, 
was born about 1620. He was well edu- 
cated and became a Puritan, which led to 
much persecution from his family who 
were zealous Catholics. He dared not 
register, but left his native land secretly, 
and landed in New England penniless 
and in debt for the expense of his passage. 
He became a member of the Dedham 
church, January 20, 1643, was admitted a 
freeman the same year, and also joined 
the organization now known as "The An- 
cient and Honorable Artillery Company 
of Boston." On March 13, 1644, he mar- 
ried Jane Dammin. He was one of the 
original proprietors of Medfield, but did 
not remove there until 1652. We find 
him referred to as "Goodman Plimpton." 
His name appears on a list of contribu- 
tions to Harvard College. He held num- 



erous offices such as surveyor, constable 
and fence viewer, and rendered valuable 
service in connection with other public 
matters. In 1673 he removed to what is 
now Deerfield. There he was appointed 
sergeant and rendered much important 
service in King Philip's War. He was 
among the prisoners captured and taken 
to Canada at the time of the Deerfield 
massacre. When the Indians and their 
captives reached Chamblee, Sergeant 
John Plimpton was burned at the stake. 
To Joel L. and Mabel B. (Plimpton) 
English was born one son, Robert Bacon, 
whose birth occurred July 27, 1884; he 
graduated at Yale in 1908, and is at pres- 
ent employed in the office of the Aetna 
Life Insurance Company ; he married 
Emily Gildersleeve, daughter of Ferdi- 
nand Gildersleeve, of Gildersleeve, Con- 
necticut. Mr. English is a Republican 
in politics, but has never aspired to office. 
He has always taken an active interest 
in public afifairs, and has given his support 
to those movements and enterprises that 
promise to enhance the public welfare. 



SPENCER, Alfred, Jr., 
Banker. 

In studying the lives and character of 
prominent men, we are, naturally, led to 
inquire into the secret of their success and 
the motives that prompted their action. 
Success is a question of genius, as held 
by many, but is it not rather a matter of 
experience and sound judgment? For 
when we trace the career of those who 
stand highest in public esteem, we find 
in nearly every case that there are those 
who have risen gradually, fighting their 
way in the face of all opposition, as was 
the case of Alfred Spencer, Jr., who 
advanced from the position of messenger 
to bank president, with only one change 
of employers in a career covering a period 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of forty-four years. Self reliance, con- 
scientiousness, energy, honesty, these are 
the traits of character that insure the 
highest emoluments and greatest success. 
To these may we attribute the success 
that has crowned the efforts of Mr. 
Spencer. 

The Spencer family is one of the oldest 
in Connecticut, and has been traced back 
through eleven generations to Michael 
and Elizabeth Spencer, who were resi- 
dents of Stratford, in Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land, in the middle of the sixteenth cen- 
tury. Their son, Jared Spencer, was bap- 
tized in Stratford, May 20, 1576. He 
came with his wife Alice and five sons to 
America, in 1632, and located at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. One of the sons, 
John, returned to England, one remained 
in Cambridge, two settled at Hartford, 
and one in Haddam, Connecticut. 

Thomas Spencer, the eldest, known as 
Sergeant Thomas Spencer, the progenitor 
of the Suffolk branch of the family, was 
born March 27, 1607, in Stratford. In 
1635 he and his brother William came to 
Hartford with Rev. Thomas Hooker's 
company. He was an inhabitant of Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, as early as 1633, 
and is supposed to have been the Thomas 
Spencer who took the freeman's oath, 
May 14, 1634. In 1639 he had become a 
resident of Hartford, Connecticut, owned 
land there, and was chosen a sergeant of 
Hartford, March 7, 1650. He was chim- 
ney-viewer in 1650; constable, 1657; and 
surveyor of highways in 1672. He owned 
land in Soldier's Field, indicating that he 
had served in the Pequot War in 1637, 
and in 1671 was granted sixty acres of 
land by the General Court "for his good 
service in the country." His will was 
dated September 9, 1686, and he died Sep- 
tember II, 1687. Nothing is known of his 
first wife. 
She was the mother of Thomas Spencer, 



born in Hartford, settled in Suffield in 
time to be a voter at the first town 
meeting. There he engaged in farming 
until his death, July 23, 1689. He mar- 
ried Esther, daughter of William An- 
drews. She died in SufHeld, March 6, 
1698. 

Their second son, Samuel Spencer, was 
born in Sufheld, where he was a farmer, 
and died November 23, 1743. He mar- 
ried, March 18, 1700, Elizabeth, daughter 
of Daniel Mascroft, of Roxbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and they had two sons, Thomas 
and Daniel. 

The senior son, Thomas Spencer, was 
born January 13, 1702, in Suffolk, was a 
farmer, served as lieutenant in the French 
and Indian War, and died February 4, 
1754. He married, December 15, 1720, 
Mary Trumbull, a relative of Governor 
Jonathan Trumbull, of Connecticut. She 
was born December 2, 1701, in Suffolk, 
and died in 1755. 

Their youngest son, Hezekiah Spencer, 
born December 16, 1740, was a farmer in 
Suffolk, and died August 3, 1797. He 
married, March 4, 1762, Olive Nott, born 
October 11, 1735, in Wethersfield, and 
died February 2, 1771. 

Hezekiah (2) Spencer, their son, was 
born April 30, 1766, and died October i, 
1820. He was a farmer, and a leading 
member of the Congregational church. 
He married, June 5, 1793, Jerusha Nelson, 
born December 17, 1771, in Suffolk, and 
died August 17, 1854. 

Their second son, Alfred Spencer, was 
born July 12, 1801, on the homestead, and 
died October 17, 1838. He married, Octo- 
ber 16, 1823, Harriet King, born Septem- 
ber 30, 1802, in Suffield, died December 
15, 1844. 

Their son, Alfred Spencer, born Janu- 
ary 21, 1825, in the Spencer homestead, 
died December 30, 1891. He was edu- 
cated in the district school and at the 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut Literary Institute, became a 
large land owner, and dealt extensively in 
tobacco. He married, March 26, 1846, 
Caroline Frances Reid, of Colchester, 
born October 22, 1827, died August 31, 
1898. They had children : James P., 
Harriet A., Alfred, mentioned below ; 
Mary Reid, Clinton, Carrie E., Jennie, 
Samuel Reid. 

Alfred Spencer, Jr., was born October 
29, 1851, and his youth was spent in much 
the same way as that of other boys reared 
in a rural environment. He was educated 
at the Connecticut Literary Institute, and 
at the Edwards Place School at Stock- 
bridge, Massachusetts. In 1872 he entered 
the employ of the First National Bank 
of Suffield, and rose during the twenty 
years he was with that institution through 
the various positions to cashier. In 1891 
he was offered and accepted the position 
of cashier of the Aetna National Bank of 
Hartford, and eight years later, in 1899, 
was elected president, and continued as 
president when that bank and the Hart- 
ford Bank (which was established in 
1792) were combined. Mr. Spencer is a 
very active member of the Masonic frater- 
nity, whose broad and generous principles 
and practices are in accord with his 
nature. He is a member of Apollo Lodge, 
No. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Suffield : of Washington Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Sufifield Council, 
Royal and Select Masters ; Washington 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, of which he is treas- 
urer; Scottish Rite bodies of Hartford. 
of which he is treasurer; and Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, of which he has been treasurer since 
its organization. Mr. Spencer takes an 
active interest in politics, and is identified 
with the Republican party, believing that 
it stands for sound economics, but he has 
never been an aspirant for political office. 



He married, in 1879, Ella Susan 
Nichols, of Suffield. Children: Alfred 
Francis, born February 21, 1881 ; Herb- 
ert, January 13, 1883. 

There is nothing phenomenal in Mr. 
Spencer's rise in the banking world. It 
is the natural result of adhering to his 
resolution formed at an early date to 
master the banking business. He has 
allowed nothing to swerve him from the 
path. The business community has con- 
fidence in the soundness of his judgment, 
and his sterling character and genial per- 
sonality have won universal respect and 
a host of friends. 



ATTWOOD, William Elijah, 

Financier. 

American history teems with the deeds 
of men who, without the advantageous 
aids of advanced education or- influential 
friends, have through sheer force of char- 
acter developed along some particular line 
and won the highest position in that par- 
ticular business or profession. But no- 
where can a more striking illustration of 
the power of the individual to rise above 
his circumstances or surroundings be 
found than is afforded by the life achieve- 
ment of William E. Attwood, president 
of the New Britain Trust Company. It 
was fortunate for Mr. Attwood that he 
found his true sphere so early in life, and 
that when found he recognized that op- 
portunity had "knocked at his door." 
Fifty-four years have now passed since 
he made his advent into the world, and 
all but thirteen of them have been spent 
in actual business. Six of those years 
were spent in another line of business, 
but at the age of nineteen he "found him- 
self" and from that time his rise was 
rapid, but no promotion found him, unpre- 
pared for the advanced position, as he 
aimed high and fitted himself accordingly. 

William E. Attwood was born at East 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Haddam, Middlesex county, Connecticut, 
February 24, 1864, son of William Henry 
and Josephine (Bishop) Attwood, and 
grandson of Whiting Attwood, who was 
born in East Haddam in 1787. At the 
age of thirteen he completed his attend- 
ance at public school, and became clerk 
in the East Haddam postofifice, a part of 
his duty being to keep the books for a 
coal and lumber yard business operated 
by the postmaster, W. C. Reynolds. For 
six years he filled this dual position of 
postoffice clerk and bookkeeper, continu- 
ing with Mr. Reynolds until 1883, becom- 
ing an expert accountant and familiar 
with the systematic methods of the post- 
office department. In 1883 he resigned to 
take a position as bookkeeper in the Na- 
tional Bank of New England at East Had- 
dam, a position he held four years, adding 
to his commercial knowledge the experi- 
ence that can only be obtained in a bank- 
ing position. He did not content himself 
with merely performing the duties 
assigned him, but went out for other and 
more advanced work, always being able 
to take a higher position when it offered. 
In 1887 his first important call came and 
found him ready, the promotion necessi- 
tating a removal from his native village 
to New Britain, which has since been his 
heme. He became cashier of the Me- 
chanics' National Bank of New Britain 
in 1887, and in that position spent thirteen 
years, winning well earned reputation as 
an efficient, thoroughly reliable, well in- 
formed bank official. In 1900 he was 
elected vice-president, and in 1905 reached 
the president's chair, as thoroughly fur- 
nished and equipped for executive control 
as he had been to fill his previous posi- 
tions. He continued president of the Me- 
chanics' National Bank until 1907, com- 
pleting a term of service as cashier and 
executive, covering a period of twenty 
years, years of broadening growth in the 
man, years of prosperity and success for 



the institution. In 1907 the Mechanics' 
National Bank liquidated its business, 
combined with the Hardware City Trust 
Company and formed the New Brit, 
Trust Company, Mr. Attwood being 
elected president of the last named, an 
office he fills at the present time. Since 
1893 he has also been treasurer of the 
Burritt Savings Bank of New Britain, 
thus completing the cycle of banking 
corporations, national trust and savings, 
each operating under entirely different 
laws, each having different fields of oper- 
ation, with which Mr. Attwood has held 
intimate relation as financial manager and 
executive. This versatile banking ability 
does not, however, carry him beyond 
financial institutions, all his energy and 
ability being confined to his own spe- 
cialty. He holds intimate relation with 
all classes of business men as their banker 
and financial adviser, but has no connec- 
tion with other corporations. He is a 
member of the Bankers' associations, both 
State and National ; belongs to Middlesex 
Lodge, No. 3, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of East Haddam ; is a member 
of the New Britain Club, its president 
1909 and 1910; is a communicant of St. 
Mark's Protestant Episcopal Church, 
vestryman, 1905-08, and in politics is a 
Republican. He responded to the call 
of his fellow citizens, serving them in 
public capacity as a member of the Board 
of Education, 1899-1910; member of the 
General Assembly, 1901-03, and State 
Senator in 1905-07; he rendered valuable 
service, serving in both houses as chair- 
man of the committee on banks. 

Mr. Attwood married (first) October 
II, 1887, Alice Belden Seward, of East 
Haddam, who died in 1905. Their only 
child died in 1900. He married (second) 
June 2, 1906, Fannie Canfield Wetmore, 
of Meriden, Connecticut. Children of 
second marriage: William E., Jr., and 
Margaret Wetmore. 



232 



. :li,', ij I c Ji:D..T.ONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BROADHURST, Leon Parker, 

Banker, Man of Affairs. 

In the promotion of Leon P. Broad- 
hurst to the position of president of the 
Phoenix National Bank of Hartford, 
which occurred in November, 1915, was 
registered the recogniton of merit. He 
is the youngest bank president in the 
State, and has gained a prominent posi- 
tion in the financial world, through those 
qualities which inspire confidence and 
esteem wherever found. His advance- 
ment is the result of unflagging industry, 
close and studious attention to details, 
high moral principle and sound judgment. 
His ancestors were English, those on the 
paternal side of comparatively recent 
immigration to this country. 

His grandfather, John Broadhurst, was 
a native of Macclesfield, England, and 
started for America to take charge of the 
weaving department of Cheney Brothers, 
silk manufacturers of Manchester, Con- 
necticut. In those days it was customary 
for the boss weaver to provide his own 
help, and nearly all the passengers on the 
ship were on the way to work under Mr. 
Broadhurst's directions in the mill. An 
epidemic of typhus fever broke out on the 
ship, and was fatal to many of the pas- 
sengers, including all of John Broad- 
hurst's family except two sons and a 
daughter. In their usual open-handed 
way, the Cheney Brothers took charge of 
this family. John Broadhurst was placed 
in the Hartford Orphan Asylum, and 
Thomas and the sister were taken into 
one of the Cheney families ; the latter died 
at the age of fifteen years. John Broad- 
hurst grew to manhood and settled in 
California. 

Thomas Broadhurst, father of Leon P. 
Broadhurst, remained in the Cheney fam- 
ilv for a number of years, and was appren- 
ticed to Hubbard & Broadhead, a firm of 



tanners in Glastonbury, Connecticut, with 
whom he remained until he was nearly 
twenty-one years old, after which he 
entered the employ of the Cheney Broth- 
ers as a machinist, with whom, he con- 
tinued some twenty years. After leaving 
the employ of this firm he located in Hart- 
ford, where he continued at his trade until 
his death. He was a member of the 
Knights of Pythias of Hartford. 

Mr. Broadhurst's maternal ancestors 
were among the earliest of the Connec- 
ticut colonists, and have been traced back 
in England to Thomas Lyman, or Leman, 
as the name was sometimes spelled. Like 
other ancient names, this one was spelled 
in various ways by the earliest recorded 
generations of the family. Thomas Ly- 
man lived in the reign of Henry HI. In 
1275 he was fined twenty pence by Walter 
de Sterteslegh, sherii? of Wilts, for default 
in attending a certain inquisition to which 
he had been summoned. The generations 
have been traced from him consecutively 
to Thomas Lyman (the great-great- 
grandfather of Richard Lyman, the orig- 
inal American immigrant), who married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Lambert. 
She was the great-granddaughter of Sir 
William Lambert and Johanna de Um- 
freville. The Lambert genealogy has 
been traced back without a break to Sir 
Radulphus Lambert, knight, grandson of 
Lambert, Count of Loraine and Mons, 
who came to England with his kinsman, 
William the Conqueror, and was present 
at the battle of Hastings. He had a grant 
of lands and manor in the county of York, 
his chief seat being at Skipton, in Cravin, 
county of York. He married Alidnora, 
daughter of Sir Ralph de Torey, a Nor- 
man nobleman, who came into England 
with William the Conqueror, and was one 
of his chief generals at the battle of Hast- 
ings in 1066. Johanna de Umfreville's 
genealogy has been traced back to Sir 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Robert de Umfreville, knight, Lord of to Northampton, where, in December of 
Tours and Vian in Normandy, who came that year, Richard Lyman was chosen as 
to England with William the Conqueror, one of the selectmen. He sold his father's 
and became possessed of manors, lands household in Hartford in 1660. He was 
and castles. She was also a descendant baptized February 24, 1617, at High 
of Alfred the Great, King of England. Ongar, and died June 3, 1662, at North- 
Thomas Lyman, above referred to, was a ampton. He married Hepzibah, daughter 
resident of Navistoke, County Essex, in of Thomas Ford, of Windsor, and resided 
the time of Henry VII. His son, Henry for some time in East Windsor, near the 
Lyman, of Navistoke, was the father of Hartford line, on part of the Ford estate. 
John Lyman, of High Ongar, whose son, Their eldest son, Richard (3) Lyman, 



Henry Lyman, lived with his wife Eliza- 
beth at High Ongar. Their son, Richard 
Lyman, was born in High Ongar, Essex 
county, England, and was baptized there 
October 30, 1580. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Roger Osborne, of Halstead, 
in Kent, England, and came to America 
with her husband and four children in 
1631. She died in Hartford, Connecticut, 
about 1640. soon after the death of her 
husband. The family embarked for Amer- 



was born in Windsor, Connecticut, in 
1647, ''"d married, in Northampton, May 
26, 1675, Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Coles, of Hatfield. They resided in 
Northampton until 1696, when they re- 
moved to Lebanon, Connecticut, where 
he died November 4, 1708. Their second 
son, Richard (4) Lyman, was born in 
April, 1678, in Northampton, and re- 
moved to Lebanon with his family in 
1696; married, April 7, 1700, Mary 



ica in the ship "Lion." about the middle Woodward ; died June 6, 1746. Their son, 
of August. 1631. They settled first in Deacon Thomas Lyman, was born July 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, and united 6, 1704, in Lebanon Crank, now Franklin. 



with the church in Roxbury. Richard 
Lyman became a freeman, June 11, 1635, 
and in October, 1635, he and his family 
formed part of a company of about one 
hundred persons, who started through the 
wilderness to Connecticut. The trip was 
made in fourteen days. The Lymans 
located in Hartford, where he was one of 
the original proprietors, and died in Au- 



He married Mary Guile, a woman of 
estimable character and consistent, Uni- 
term and religious life, who died July 4, 
1797, in the ninetieth year of her age. 
1 homas Lyman was deacon for many 
years. He was a tanner and died from 
injuries received by a fall in the bark 
mill of his tannery. Their son, Deacon 
Joseph Lyman, was born in Lebanon, 



gust, 1640. Richard Lyman is reported July 6, 1744, married, April 9, 1767, Sarah 
to have begun life in the New World as Ldwards, born March 28, 1746, daughter 
a man of "considerable estate, keeping of Thomas and Rebecca Edwards. He 



two servants." He lost many of his 
cattle on the journey to Connecticut, and 
also suffered illness owing to the expos- 
ures incident to the journey. From the 
death of their father until their settlement 



settled in what is now Manchester, was 
a farmer and tanner ; deacon in the 
church. He died February 20, 1820. His 
wife died April 2, 1814. Their eldest child, 
Dpniel Lyman, was born January 5, 1768, 



in Northampton, little is known of the died in December, 1854 ; settled a few rods 

sons, Richard, John and Robert. They east of his father's place on the Hartford 

were assessed in Hartford in 1655, and and Providence turnpike, ten miles from 

they probably removed in the same year Hartford. He married Lydia Martha 

234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Brewster, of Lebanon, about 1794, born 
May 7, 1772, daughter of Wadsworth 
Brewster, and a direct descendant of 
Elder William Brewster, of the "May- 
flower." Their third child. Deacon Milton 
Lyman, was born November 15, 1795, in 
Manchester, Connecticut, was a wagon 
maker, resided at Marshall, New York, 
for about fifty years, and died there Octo- 
ber 16, 1870. He married for his second 
wife, November 15, 1820, Olive Parker, 
of Marshall, Oneida county, New York. 
Their third child was Daniel Parker Ly- 
man, born May 17, 1823, at Marshall, 
married at Manchester, Connecticut, 
March 31, 1846, Mary Jane, second 
daughter of Deacon Daniel Russell, of 
Ellington, Connecticut. Ellen Maria, 
their second child, was born July 28, 1851, 
and married, January 25, 1870, Thomas 
Broadhurst. They had two children : 
Leon Parker and Mildred. The latter be- 
came the wife of Richard T. Huntington, 
Jr., of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 

Leon Parker Broadhurst was born June 
14, 1871, in South Alanchester, Connec- 
ticut, and removed with his parents to 
Hartford in 1880. Here he attended the 
grammar and high schools, and after lay- 
ing aside his books became a clerk in the 
Charter Oak National Bank, where he 
continued some six months, and then en- 
tered the employ of the State Bank in a 
similar capacity. On the first of October, 
1890, he severed his connection with the 
State Bank, and entered the employ of 
the institution of which he is now execu- 
tive head. With the determination to 
advance himself he early set about the 
study of the principles and practice of 
banking, and was keenly observant of all 
that went on about him. By intelligent 
application and diligence, he attracted the 
attention of his superiors, and his work 
was observed and approved by the man- 
agement. Through successive promotion 



he came to be made teller of the bank in 
February, 1899; was made assistant 
cashier in January, 1901 ; cashier in Octo- 
ber, 1904; vice-president in January, 1913, 
and upon the death of Frederic L. Bunce, 
Mr. Broadhurst was advanced to his pres- 
ent position, president. November 19, 
1915. The Phoenix National Bank was 
organized in 1814, and is one of the four 
largest banks in the State of Connecticut, 
and has the largest deposits of any com- 
mercial bank of the State. It is apparent 
that Mr. Broadhurst has been honored 
and that the promotion is a tribute to 
exceptional ability. He is a typical mod- 
ern business man, progressive and aggres- 
sive, yet with sufficient caution and con- 
servatism in his makeup to safeguard him 
against visionary or speculative ventures. 
His splendid executive ability has already 
been demonstrated. Modest, quiet, and 
unassuming in manner, he is cordial and 
unfailingly courteous to all — qualities that 
are of prime importance in the chief 
executive of a large financial institution. 
While Mr. Broadhurst's life has been a 
very busy one, he has found time to take 
an active part in the conduct of other 
important enterprises. He is a director 
of the Glazier Manufacturing Company, 
the Atlantic Screw Works, C. H. Dexter 
& Sons Company, Incorporated, of Wind- 
sor Locks. While in no sense of the word 
a politician, Mr. Broadhurst has always 
been actively interested in those move- 
ments and measures that promise to en- 
hance the public welfare, and when the 
call came, he has not sought to evade his 
duty as a citizen in official position. He 
served four years as a memljer of the 
Council and two years as a member of 
the Board of Aldermen of Hartford, serv- 
ing four years as a member of the Board 
of Finance. He is a member of the Re- 
publican Club of Hartford, the Hartford 
Club, the Hartford Golf Club, and the 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford x\utomobile Club. He has been 
active in promoting military interests, and 
served five years as a member of Com- 
pany F, First Regiment, Connecticut Na- 
tional Guard, known as the Hartford City 
Guard. 

On May 22, 1895, Mr. Broadhurst mar- 
ried Alice, daughter of George Best, of 
Hartford, and his family includes three 
children: Katharine L., Nellie T. and 
Grace A. Mr. Broadhurst and family are 
connected with the Asylum Hill Congre- 
gational Church of Hartford. 



PRIOR, Charles Edward, 

Financier, Musical Composer. 

Charles Edward Prior was born Janu- 
ary 24, 1856, at Moosup, in the town of 
Plainfield, Windham county, Connecticut, 
the son of Erastus L. and Sarah Ladd 
(Burleson) Prior. When he was about 
four years old, his parents moved to 
Jewett City, Connecticut. In his youth- 
ful home he was surrounded by the best 
influences, his father having been a man 
of strong moral and religious character, 
a deacon in the Baptist church, and his 
mother a woman of more than average 
intellectual and spiritual force. 

He received a good education in the 
Jewett City schools, and at an early age 
developed a marked fondness for the 
study of nature and for the art of music. 
This taste is sometimes supposed to indi- 
cate a lack of talent for practical things, 
but it was not so in his case, for while he 
has devoted much time to the study and 
enjoyment of nature, poetry and music, 
this predilection has never interfered in 
the least with his interest in practical 
afiFairs. When but fourteen years of age, 
he became the organist of the Congrega- 
tional church at Jewett City, and held the 
position for more than eight years, during 
a portion of which period he studied at 



the Worcester Conservatory of Music. 
He resigned to become organist and choir 
lender at the Jewett City Baptist Church, 
of which he became a member in early 
life. 

He worked for a number of years in 
the railroad station and express office in 
Jewett City, and in 1873 entered the em- 
ploy of the Norwich & Worcester Rail- 
road Company in their Norwich office, 
where he remained one year. In 1875 he 
became bookkeeper and paymaster for the 
Ashland Cotton Company at Jewett City, 
and in 1883 he was elected secretary and 
treasurer of the Jewett City Savings 
Bank. Two years later he became a 
member of its corporation, and four years 
later was made one of its directors. A 
new bank building was erected during his 
term of service, and his management of 
the aflfairs of the bank was highly compli- 
mented by the State Bank Commis- 
sioners. In January, 1895, he resigned his 
offices in the Jewett City Bank to accept 
the position of assistant treasurer of the 
Security Trust Company of Hartford, 
then known as the Security Company. 
In March, 1896, he was promoted to the 
responsible position of secretary and 
treasurer of the company, and in Novem- 
ber, 1904, he was elected vice-president 
and treasurer, which offices he continues 
to hold at this date, 1917. 

Mr. Prior has been a man of tireless 
energy, and has evidently enjoyed being 
active and useful. For eighteen years 
(from 1898 to 191 7) he was a member of 
the auditing committee of the Connecti- 
cut Mutual Life Insurance Company. In 
July. 1910. he was elected a trustee of the 
State Savings Bank of Hartford, and for 
several years past has been a member of 
its finance committee. He has held many 
offices in religious and kindred organiza- 
tions, having been treasurer of the Con- 
necticut Sunday School Association for 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



several years, and later its auditor ; treas- 
urer of the Connectictit Peace Society ; 
president of the Hartford Baptist Union 
from 1901 to 1907; vice-president of the 
Connecticut Baptist Convention from 
1905 to 1907, and treasurer of the con- 
vention from 1907 to date. For four 
years he was superintendent of the Sun- 
day school and president of the Young 
People's Society of the Asylum Avenue 
Baptist Church, Hartford. He has also 
served as treasurer of the Baptist Young 
People's Union of Connecticut, as treas- 
urer of the Twentieth Century Club of 
Hartford, and as a member of the board 
of managers of the Hartford Young Men's 
Christian Association. Mr. Prior enjoys 
the rather unusual honor of being con- 
nected with two theological seminaries, as 
he is a trustee of the Hartford Seminary 
Foundation and of the Newton Theolog- 
ical Institution. He is also a trustee of 
the Ministers' and Missionaries' Benefit 
Board of the Northern Baptist Conven- 
tion, and president of the George M. Stone 
Brotherhood of the Asylum. Avenue Bap- 
tist Church, Hartford. 

In 1883, in collaboration with the Rev. 
C. W. Ray, D. D., of Philadelphia, one 
of his former pastors, he published his 
first musical work, "Spicy Breezes," a 
book of Sunday school songs. In 1890 he 
edited "Sparkling and Bright," in connec- 
tion with J. H. Tenney. This work was 
enthusiastically received and won for him 
wide renown as a composer of Sunday 
school music. In 1892, in association with 
Professor W. A. Ogden, he issued a third 
successful book of songs entitled, "Our 
Best Endeavor." In politics Mr. Prior 
is a Republican with independent tend- 
encies. He was for several years treas- 
urer of the town of Lisbon. In fraternal 
circles he became affiliated with several 
Masonic bodies early in life. He is a 
past master of Mt. Vernon Lodge, No. 75, 



Free and Accepted Masons, of Jewett 
City ; a member of Franklin Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; of Franklin Coun- 
cil, Royal and Select Masters, and of Co- 
lumbian Commandery, Knights Templar, 
all of Norwich ; and of Hartford Chapter, 
Order of Eastern Star. Perhaps next to 
Mr. Prior's love of music may be men- 
tioned his passion for poetry and good 
literature. He has a fine library, selected 
with intelligent discrimination, and a 
large number of scrap books upon which 
he has bestowed much labor, and in which 
he takes pardonable pride. 

Mr. Prior is a member of the Twen- 
tieth Century Club, of Hartford, the Con- 
necticut Historical Society, the Hartford 
Bird Study Club, the Stam.p Collectors' 
Club of Hartford, and has been for many 
years an honorary member of the Wor- 
cester County (Massachusetts) Musical 
Association. 

Mr. Prior was married in 1875 to Mary 
Eleanor Campbell. Of the four children 
born to them, three daughters died in 
infancy. Their son, Charles Edward 
Prior, Jr., is secretary of the Security 
Trust Company, and treasurer of the Con- 
necticut Bible Society. Mr. Prior, Jr., is 
widely known as an accomplished tenor 
soloist, having sung in the Hartford 
churches for twenty years or more. 



LINSKEY, John Joseph, 

Man of Enterprise. 

Mr. Linskey is a native son of Connec- 
ticut and well known in the State, in fact 
all over New England, as a promoter and 
developer, specializing in land and build- 
ing improvement. He has developed 
tracts in many parts of New England, and 
in both Waterbury and Bridgeport, "Fair- 
lawn Manor" is evidence of his efficient 
handling of properties. 

Mr. Linskey is a son of Martin Linskey, 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born in County Galway, Ireland, where 
his youth was passed. When a young 
man he came to the United States and 
found his way to Guilford, Connecticut, 
where he became an iron molder, and yet 
resides, aged seventy-three years. He 
married Ellen Hannon, also born in Gal- 
way, who died at Guilford, aged fifty-five 
years, the mother of seven sons and seven 
daughters, all living save a son William, 
who died in infancy. Children: i. John 
Joseph, of further mention. 2. Mary, 
twin with John J., married (first) Daniel 
O'Leary, of Bridgeport, now deceased ; 
(second) Charles Noemeyer, of New 
Haven, Connecticut. 3. Kate, married 
Matthew Lahey, of New Haven. 4. 
Dennis, married Nora Keefe ; residing in 
Naugatuck, Connecticut. 5. Theresa, mar- 
ried Benjamin Parker, of New Haven. 6. 
Martin (2nd), residing in Naugatuck, 
Connecticut, married Elizabeth Clyne. 7. 
Thomas, married Margaret Skinner ; re- 
sides in New Haven. 8. Nicholas, married 
Daisy Larkins ; resides in Guilford, Con- 
necticut. 9. Daniel, married Annie Ma- 
line ; also of Guilford. 10. Elizabeth, mar- 
ried John Flannigan, of Brooklyn, New 
York. 1 1. Jennie, married Daniel O'Neill, 
of Guilford. 12. Lillian, married Joseph 
Brennan, of New Haven. 13. Ellen, mar- 
ried William Brown, of Brooklyn, New 
York. 

John Joseph Linskey, eldest son of Mar- 
tin and Ellen (Hannon) Linskey, was born 
at Guilford, Connecticut, April 24, 1862, 
and there resided until he was eighteen 
years of age. He was educated in the 
public schools and at Guilford Academy, 
being an apt pupil and a good student. 
At the age of eighteen he began work as 
a wage earner, going to Naugatuck, Con- 
necticut, where for two years he was an 
employe of the Naugatuck Malleable Iron 
Company. He had then attained his ma- 
jority, and being able to command suffi- 



cient capital opened a grocery store. He 
was energetic and capable, public-spirited 
and progressive ; his store soon gained 
popular favor and support; he prospered, 
and in course of time opened a second 
store in Naugatuck, of which his brother 
was manager. For seventeen years he 
continued in successful business as a gro- 
cer, and during four years of President 
Cleveland's second term served as post- 
master of the Union City office. About 
1905 he retired to engage in the real estate 
business at Naugatuck, a line of activity 
in which he has been very successful, be- 
ing sole owner of same. From a local 
business he became interested in the de- 
velopment of land areas in other parts of 
New England, many important land de- 
velopments of suburban properties having 
been carried to a successful issue under 
his management. On March 20, 1916, he 
moved his office to Waterbury, where he 
is well known through his development of 
the "Fairlawn Manor" tract. 

Mr. Linskey is essentially a business 
m.an, and has not taken active part in 
public afi'airs. He won success as a mer- 
chant, and is an authority on land promo- 
tion and suburban values, sound in his 
judgment, upright and honorable in his 
methods. He is a Democrat in politics, a 
member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic 
Church at Union City, and a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

He married, at Naugatuck, October 23, 
1888, Louise Theresa Clancy, born there 
in 1868, daughter of Thomas Clancy, born 
in Ireland, died in Naugatuck, Connecti- 
cut, at the age of sixty years. Mr. and 
Mrs. Linskey are the parents of a family 
of nine as follows : i. Ellen A., a graduate 
of Monroe Business College in Water- 
bury ; now her father's assistant as sten- 
ographer and clerk. 2. Thomas F., mar- 
ried Agnes Wallace and has two daugh- 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tcrs : Constance, and Rose Marie. 3.-4. 
Louise, a graduate of the Naugatuck 
High School ; and Marie R., both residing 
at home. 5. Madeline R., a student at 
Naugatuck High School. 6. John Joseph 
(2nd), attending Salem School. 7. Wil- 
liam L., attending Salem School. 8. Mar- 
garet, died in infancy. 9. Francis, attend- 
mg Oak street school, Naugatuck. 



BENNETT, Charles Joseph, 

Public Official, Author, Civil Engineer. 

The record of a busy life, a successful 
life, must ever prove of interest and profit 
to those who look at it carefully, who 
attempt an analysis of character and trace 
back to the fountain head the widely di- 
verging channels which mark the onward 
flow. Among the men who have led busy 
and successful lives must be mentioned 
Charles J. Bennett, State Highway Com- 
missioner at Hartford, whose career has 
been characterized by fidelity, honesty 
and enterprise, and as a public official, 
citizen and Christian gentleman he com- 
mands the respect and admiration of all 
with whom he is associated. 

The paternal ancestors of Charles J. 
Bennett were residents of Yorkshire, 
England, where they lived for many 
years, tracing back to the days of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror. Joseph William 
Bennett, great-grandfather of the Mr. 
Bennett of this review, was a manufac- 
turer of woolen goods at Leeds, England, 
a prosperous and influential resident of 
that thriving city. His son, Joseph Wil- 
liam Bennett, Jr., was a dyer by trade, 
proprietor of a dye shop at Leeds, which 
he conducted in a successful manner. His 
son, William T. Bennett, was a native of 
Leeds, England, and died in 1894, aged 
fifty years. He was reared in his native 
land, studied in Belgium and Flanders, 
and prior to his marriage resided in 



Frome, England, remaining there for a 
number of years. He studied chemistry 
in the shop of Reed, Holliday & Company, 
making a specialty of dye stufi^s and 
colors. In the year 1880 he emigrated to 
this country. He first located in the city 
of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he 
was employed in a manufacturing plant 
as a dyer, in which line of work he was 
highly proficient. Later he located in 
Amsterdam, New York, where he con- 
ducted a dye house and also engaged in 
the manufacture of shoddy. He married 
Lydia R. Perkins, a native of Road, Eng- 
land, daughter of William Perkins, who, 
as also his ancestors, conducted a mill 
there, a woolen mill run by water power. 
Two children were born of this marriage, 
William, a resident of Toronto, Canada, 
and Charles Joseph. Mr. and Mrs. Ben- 
nett were members of the Episcopal 
church. 

Charles Joseph Bennett was born in 
Frome, England, February 9, 1878. He 
accompanied his parents to the United 
States, attended the public schools of 
Amsterdam, was graduated from the 
Amsterdam High School in 1897, then 
entered Union College, from which in- 
stitution he was graduated in 1901 with 
the degree of B. E. He is a member 
of the Beta Theta Pi fraternity of that 
college. After his graduation he entered 
the employ of the city engineer of Am- 
sterdam, but in the following year, 1902, 
entered the employ of the Metropolitan 
Street Railway Company of New York 
City. In 1903 he changed to the New 
York Central Railroad, and in 1905 came 
to Hartford, Connecticut, with the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railway 
Company. In 1909 he entered the employ 
of the State of Connecticut, working on 
the Saybrook Bridge. In 1910 he was 
appointed superintendent of streets in 
Hartford, and in 1913 was appointed State 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Highway Commissioner by the Governor 
of Connecticut, in which capacity he is 
serving at the present time (1917)- Prior 
to his assuming the duties of this office 
the highway department was a political 
machine, covering every town in the State 
of Connecticut politically. The highway 
department was made an issue in the first 
campaign of Governor Baldwin. He won 
the election on his promise to reform the 
highway department. He failed to re- 
form it because a partisan Senate rejected 
his nomination of a new highway com- 
missioner. Two years the people re- 
turned him to office and gave him a 
Senate controlled by his own party. 
Commissioner Bennett was then placed at 
the head of the highway department. In 
the session of 1915 Commissioner Bennett 
came up for reappointment. The Gov- 
ernor was urged to reappoint him, which 
he accordingly did, and as long as he 
remains in that office the interests of the 
State will be carefully subserved. His 
honesty and integrity have never been 
questioned by any one and his compe- 
tency is evidenced by the improvements 
in the roads during his tenure of office. 

Commissioner Bennett has written a 
section for a handbook on "Highway 
Engineering" published by Wiley & Sons. 
He has written to some extent for tech- 
nical journals ; has lectured at Columbia 
and Sheffield Scientific School at Yale, 
and has delivered popular lectures 
throughout Connecticut and other States 
or road questions and engineering topics, 
which have been largely attended and 
which have proven of benefit to those 
interested in such matters. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Society of Civil Engi- 
neers, the International Permanent Con- 
gress de la Rute. a director in the Massa- 
chusetts Highway Association, and a 
member of the American Highway Asso- 
ciation, American Road Association, Na- 



tional Highway Association, National 
Society of Civil Engineers, Connecticut 
Society of Civil Engineers, Rotary Club, 
and the University Club. 

Mr. Bennett married, in August, 1905, 
Marguerite Balch, daughter of Dr. W. V. 
Balch, of Galway, New York, and a de- 
scendant of John Balch, an early settler 
of Massachusetts. They are the parents 
of four children: Elizabeth J., Alison 
Margaret. Charles William and Gordon. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bennett are members of St. 
John's Episcopal Church, West Hartford, 
in which he has served as vestryman for 
a number of years. 



ABRAMS, Alva E., M. D., 

Physician. 

An honored physician of the city of 
Hartford, Connecticut, since 1884, Dr. 
Abrams holds prominent position among 
the men who are recognized as leaders of 
the medical profession in Connecticut. In 
business and public life men are often 
assisted to positions of prominence by 
fortuitous circumstance, apparently quite 
apart from their own personal endeavor. 
There is but one way to gain recognition 
in the medical profession and that is by 
results actually accomplished in relieving 
the ills of mankind. The price is a life- 
time of devotion to the profession, and 
constant, conscientious study that ability 
may be gained to observe phenomena 
accurately, to correlate and interpret facts 
intelligently, and with wisdom to apply 
to the individual case the knowledge thus 
acquired. These are the means coupled 
with a natural aptitude for his work by 
which Dr. Abrams has earned his present 
position as a leading practitioner and 
authority. 

The branch of his family to which Dr. 
Abrams belongs springs from Benjamin 
Abrams, a farmer and early settler of 



240 



Ti;>; Y.V<' ^-"^ 
y\-'-r LIBRARY 



J. .. 




'1 


■ TOP LENOX 


r .1 


^;_ ,; fCUr^DATIO' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Greene county, New York. His son, 
Benjamin (2) Abrams, was also a farmer 
of Greene county, his sons settling in 
Greene, Albany and Schenectady counties, 
New York. Elnathan Abrams, son of 
Benjamin (2) Abrams, located in Duanes- 
burg, Schenectady county, was a farmer 
and there died in 1861, aged sixty-one. 
He married Anna Strong. 

J. Danforth Abrams, son of Elnathan 
and Anna (Strong) Abrams, was born in 
the town of Duanesburg, Schenectady 
county, New York, in 1836, and gave up 
his life in his country's service in 1865 
at Fortress Monroe, Virginia. He was 
engaged in farming until his enlistment 
in Company I, One Hundred and Thirty- 
seventh Regiment New York Volunteer 
Infantry. He married Susan Ladd, of the 
seventh generation of the family founded 
in New England by Daniel Ladd, who 
took the oath of supremacy and allegi- 
ance in London, England, March 24, 1633, 
prior to taking passage on the ship "Mary 
and John" for New England. He was 
granted land in Ipswich, February 5, 1637. 
He died in Haverhill, July 27, 1693, his 
widow Ann, February 9, 1694. The line 
of descent is through the founder's son, 
Ezekiel Ladd; his son, Nathaniel Ladd; 
his son, Ezekiel (2) Ladd; his son, Wil- 
liam Ladd ; his son, Lemuel Ladd ; his 
son, Elijah Ladd, born October 22, 181 1, 
married Harriet Bently ; their daughter, 
Susan Ladd, who married J. Danforth 
Abrams. They were the parents of two 
sons: Alva E., of further mention; and 
Elijah. 

Dr. Alva E. Abrams was born in 
Duanesburg, New York, June 28, 1856. 
After public school attendance, he pre- 
pared at a school in Little Falls, New 
York, after which he entered Cornell 
University, continuing there until his 
junior year. He then taught school for 
two years, in the meantime studying med- 
icine under the preceptorship of Dr. Delos 



Braman, of Duanesburg. He continued 
study in the medical school of the Univer- 
sity of New York and in Albany Medical 
School (Albany, New York), receiving his 
Doctor of Medicine degree from the latter 
institution with the class of 1881. After 
a term of service as interne at St. Peter's 
Hospital, Albany, he began the private 
practice of his profession in Duanesburg, 
continuing until 1884. With the year 
1884, Dr. Abrams was introduced to Hart- 
ford professional life as an associate of 
Dr. J. A. Stevens, with whom he prac- 
ticed for three years. He then spent a 
year in private practice in CoUinsville, 
Connecticut, returning to Hartford upon 
the death of Dr. Stevens, in 1887, resum- 
ing the practice they had jointly con- 
ducted until Dr. Abrams' withdrawal. He 
has gone steadily forward in public favor, 
his continually growing practice having 
attested the confidence reposed in him as 
a physician of skill and a citizen of high 
repute. He is a member and ex-president 
of the Hartford City Medical Society, the 
Hartford County Medical Society, the 
Connecticut State Medical Society, mem- 
ber of the American Medical Association, 
the American Laryngological, Rhinolog- 
ical and Otological societies, and in 1897 
was sent as a delegate to the International 
Medical Congress which met in Moscow, 
Russia. He is medical examiner for a 
number of leading insurance companies, 
belongs to the Hartford Scientific Society 
and the Twentieth Century Club. Both 
he and his wife are members of Immanuel 
Congregational Church, he having served 
that body as deacon for many years. 

Dr. Abrams married, July 26, 1877, 
Jessie Davis, daughter of Rev. D. Cook 
and Euphemia (Murray) Davis, of Brook- 
lyn, New York. They are the parents of 
three daughters: Mabel, married R. La 
Mott Russell ; Efifie, married Professor 
Walter Clark; Jessie, married Warren 
Currier. 



Conn— S— 16 



241 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



OLDS, Alfred Allen, 

Leader in Tobacco Industry. 

There are few families that can claim a 
more honorable antiquity than that of 
Olds, represented at the present time by 
Alfred Allen Olds of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and by many branches in both the old 
world and the new. The origin of the 
name is undoubtedly to be found in the 
nickname "The Old,"' and in the faculty 
such nicknames have of adhering to the 
children and descendants of him who is 
first so designated. The present Mr. Olds 
can trace his descent uninterruptedly from 
a period so remote as that of the end of 
the twelfth century, from an ancestor 
who flourished during the reign of Rich- 
ard the Lion Hearted. The name, as is 
the case with so many names that have 
descended to us from early times, was 
found in a great variety of spellings, such 
as Old, Olds, Ould, Wold and many 
others. The Olds arms are thus de- 
scribed : Gules, on a mount in base vert 
a lion sejant guardant. Crest: A lion 
sejant guardant proper, supporting an an- 
tique shield gules, charged with a fesse or. 

The founder of the family so far as our 
records extend was one Roger Wold, of 
Yolthorpe, Yorkshire, who is described 
as a thane, and who lived on his estate in 
that country between the years 1189 and 
1 199. The title of thane is comparatively 
well known to modern ears from the fact 
that one of Scott's chief characters in the 
story of "Ivanhoe," Cedric the Saxon, 
held it. It is an ancient Saxon title, and 
after the advent of the Normans suffered 
a decline which placed it among the low- 
est of those who held feudal estates. 
Roger Wold, of Yolthorpe, was not only a 
contemporary of Cedric the Saxon, but a 
neighbor, their estates being at no very 
great distance from one another. Both 
from the name and the title we draw the 



knowledge that this same Roger was of 
good old Anglo-Saxon ancestry, and it 
was he and such as he who formed the 
foundation upon which the later English 
race was built up. We possess no record 
of this worthy thane, but we are acquaint- 
ed with the names of his children, as fol- 
lows : Agnes, who married Godfrey Eme- 
bf.rg, a son of William, Emeburg, of Flix- 
tune, Yorkshire ; William, who is men- 
tioned below ; Roger, a chaunting monk 
of Whitby, and John, a minstrel to the 
king, who appears to have been a man of 
considerable talent and was the author of 
a miracle play "St. Cuthbert," which was 
performed at York on the twentieth of 
March, probably of the year 1223. 

His son William married Alice Eme- 
burg, a daughter of William Emeburg, of 
Flixtune, Yorkshire, and lived during the 
reigns of John and Henry III. We find 
his seal appended to a deed now in the 
possession of the British Museum, but we 
know very few details concerning his life. 
They were the parents of the following 
children : John Le Olde, who is men- 
tioned below ; Roger Wold, of whom very 
little is known; Thomas, who married a 
lady of the name of Christiana, and who 
accompanied his brother Robert to the 
south ; Robert Old, who went south from 
his native Yorkshire with an unknown 
destination, but whom we find was ob- 
liged to stop at Cambridge for lack of 
means to carry him farther, and there 
entered the service of Lord Granteste, 
"for villeinage, socage," or "as a free- 
man." 

John Le Olde, son of Thomas Le Olde, 
lived at Liddington, near Cirencester, 
where he was a manucaptor for Sir John 
de Langleye, knight of the shire for Glou- 
cester. This position of manucaptor was 
one of considerable consideration, and 
from it we learn the fact this representa- 
tive of the family had amply maintained 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



its original dignity. John Le Olde lived 
to a great age, and we know of three of 
his children, though no record comes 
down to us of his marriage. The three 
children were Richarde, Christian and 
Agnes, who became a nun. 

His son Richarde was born in 1250, and 
his name appears first on the pedigree of 
the Old family of Rowton in Shropshire, 
v.here it was the origin of the numerous 
branches bearing this name in that coun- 
ty. Richard Old lived himself at Rowton, 
but we know little concerning him and 
have no record of his marriage. His chil- 
dren were as follows : William, of Momr 
ersfield, county of Salop, where he was 
living in 1331 ; Agnes Wold, who married 
Henry de Rowton, and Roger Wold, who 
is mentioned below. 

There seems to have been a return to 
the original name of the family in this 
generation, Richarde Old's son Roger 
taking the old form of Wold. He pur- 
chased the old estate of SheriiT Hales, 
County Salop, in the year 1350, and was 
the father of two children of whom we 
have record : Galfridus, who is mentioned 
below ; and Walter Holde, of Stokestown, 
Salop. 

His son, Galfridus Wold, came into 
possession of Sheriff Hales, his father's 
old estate, and lived there during his life. 
He married a cousin, Alice de Rowton, 
and they were the parents of three chil- 
dren : William, who is mentioned below ; 
John ; and Robert, who was sub-prior of 
Cern Abbey, as we learn from the records 
concerning the election of Abbot God- 
manston, when he held that position. 

William Wold, son of Galfridus Wold, 
lived at Rowton in 1406. Very little is 
known concerning his life, but we are 
acquainted with the names of two chil- 
dren — Roger, who is mentioned below ; 



and Agnes, who married a member of the 
old Benthall familv. 



His son, Roger Wold, married Mary 
Talbot, a relative of the famous Sir John 
Talbot, and went to France in the year 
1436 on some military service, probably 
connected with the wars which were rag- 
ing at that time between England and 
France. He was bailif? and receiver of 
rents for the manors of Cowley, Coten 
and Burghall, in 145 1. 

Their son John married Jane Eyton, 
and they were the parents of three chil- 
dren, as follows: i. John, a priest, who 
became a reformer and was disinherited 
by his father ; he was a friend of the 
famous Bishops Latimer and Cranmer, 
and we find full particulars concerning 
him in the archives of the Royal Histori- 
cal Society, volume ii, page 198 (1572). 
2. Agnes, who like her brother, was a re- 
former and was disinherited. 3. William, 
who is mentioned below. Not a great 
deal is known of John, the father, and it 
seems doubtful whether he continued to 
bear the name of Wold or had altered it 
to Olde, the form in which it appears in 
the next generation. 

Their son, William Olde, lived at Staun- 
ton, and married his cousin, Elizabeth 
Eyton, a daughter of Hez. Eyton, Esquire. 
His name appears in the Salopian Ex- 
chequer subsidies from 1522 to 1545. 
There was evidently a strong religious 
bias in the Wold or Olde family, and we 
find that they were frequently connected 
with the church in one way or another. 
They were evidently men of strong con- 
victions, who would adhere to their be- 
liefs even in the face of loss or danger. 
In the case of William Olde, this fidelity 
on the part of his brother John redounded 
to his own worldly advancement, as he 
succeeded to the old family estate from 
which the aforesaid John was disinher- 
ited. To him and his wife three children 
were born: Thomas, Richard, and John. 

Their son Richard we know compara- 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tively little concerning, but his death oc- 
curred at Broseley in the year 1599, when 
nearly ninety years of age. He married 
Agnes Courtenay and was bailiff of Wen- 
lock corporation. To him and his wife 
three children were born as follows: Wil- 
liam, who is mentioned below ; Richard ; 
and Edward. 

Their son, William Olde, married Ann 
(Eleanor) Courtenay, and with his wife 
went to Sherborne, Dorsetshire. The 
strong religious convictions of the Oldes 
again come to the surface in the record 
of William Olde, although this time they 
were manifested on the other side of the 
controversy. By this time the Protestant 
element in England had become dominant 
and it was dangerous to profess Catho- 
licism. William Olde, however, evidently 
had leanings toward the Catholic church, 
and got into trouble in Dorsetshire for 
harboring in his house there a Jesuit 
priest, who, according to the old records, 
when the house was searched, was found 
hiding in a large oaken chest under a cur- 
tain. Probably the danger of continuing 
in his belief was too great for William 
Olde's prudence, and he was baptized ac- 
cording to the rites of the Church of Eng- 
land in 1566. An amusing turn is given 
to the matter by the old record, which re- 
counts that he was fined for not attending 
the Anglican Church, and his wife for per- 
sistently sleeping during the sermons 
which were preached there. The persecu- 
tion of the Catholics at that time was so 
violent that they were obliged to conform 
to the Church of England, however, and 
profess its tenets in pul^lic. whatever their 
private beliefs may have been. His death 
occurred December 18, 1566, before that 
of his father. He and his wife were the 
parents of three children : Thomas, Bar- 
tholom,ew, who is mentioned below ; and 
John. 

Their son, Bartholomew Olde, was liv- 



ing at Sherborne, in 1594, his name being 
mentioned in the old records January 10 
that year. He married, June 21, 1574, 
Margaret Churchill, and thus became con- 
nected with one of the most distinguished 
families of England, his wife being the 
great-aunt of the famous Duke of Marl- 
borough. Bartholomew Olde appears to 
have inherited his father's predelictions 
for the Catholic faith, and we find in an 
old record the following words in regard 
to him : that he "aided and abetted his 
brother Thomas in hiding Father Eustace, 
a priest of the Order of Jesus." He and 
his wife were the parents of two children : 
William, who is mentioned below; and 
Sibell, born December 16, 1576, at Sher- 
borne, and married, July 3, 1592, Hugh 
Exall, of Yeovil. 

Their son, William Olde, was born at 
Sherborne, January 18, 1575, and married 
Elizabeth Greensmith, at St. Stephen's 
Church, at Coleman street, London. They 
were the parents of three children : Bar- 
tholomew; John, who is mentioned be- 
low ; and Avis. 

John Olde. their son, was born at Sher- 
borne in the year 1615, and married 

Gatherest. Not much is known concern- 
ing the life of John Olde, but the names of 
five children are recorded: Andrew, who 
went to Ireland and from whom the Ould 
family of that country is descended ; Rob- 
ert, the progenitor of the American fam- 
ilies, who is mentioned below ; John ; 
Hanibal and Francis. 

Their son, Robert Ould (Old), was born 
at Sherborne, Dorsetshire, in 1645, ^^'^ 
came to the New England colonies at an 
unknown date. He is found at Windsor, 
Connecticut, as early as 1667, however, 
where he was apprenticed to one Jacob 
Drake. He appears to have prospered 
well, and was granted fifty acres of land 
in 1670, the records reading that the grant 
was made to Dr. Robert Ould. This tract 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was situated on the corner of High street, 
Suffield, on the corner of the New Haven 
road. Dr. Ould was one of the five pro- 
prietors of Suffield, and took a prominent 
part in the life of that community and was 
given the title of doctor. He was agent 
for the town before the General Court of 
Boston, being commissioned to make a 
plea for the remittance of the town's taxes 
which the community was too poor to 
pay. This he was successful in accom- 
plishing, and was paid by the town a sum 
of something over seven pounds for his 
services. Robert Ould was twice married, 
the first time December 31, 1669, when 
he was united with Susanna Hanford, by 
whom he had the following children : 
Robert, Jonathan, Mindwell, Handford, 
William, William (2nd), mentioned be- 
low; Ebenezer and Susanna. His second 
marriage was with Dorothy Granger, and 
of this union the following children were 
born : John, Ebenezer, Josiah, Jonathan, 
Nathaniel and Joseph. 

William Old was born at Suffield, Con- 
necticut, August 28, 1680, and died at 
North Brookfield, Massachusetts, Septem- 
21, 1749. He was captain of the colonial 
forces at the siege of Lewisburg, in Queen 
Anne's War in 1747, and his home was 
situated on the west side of the river, near 
Mason's brook, at North Brookfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married Elizabeth Walk- 
er born November 20, 1691, and died May 
10, 1782, and they were the parents of the 
following children: Elizabeth. William, 
Hannah, Abigail, Josiah, Deborah, Com- 
fort, mentioned below ; and Ezekiel. 

Their son. Comfort Olds, was born May 
24, 1724, at Brookfield, Massachusetts, 
and died July 29, 1779. He was a soldier, 
and served both during the French and 
Indian wars and later in the Revolution. 
He married, May 23, 1745, Abigail Barnes, 
and they were the parents of the follow- 
ing children : Hannah, Ezra, Samuel, 



Eunice, Levi, mentioned below; Abigail, 
Rachel, John, Comfort, Mercy and Abel. 

Levi Olds, their son, was born January 
8, 1741, at Brookfield, Massachusetts, and 
served in the Continental arm.y during the 
Revolutionary War. In 1778 he moved 
to Goshen, Massachusetts, and there mar- 
ried Sabra , by whom he had the 

following children : Levi, Rufus, Zenas, 
and Archibald, mentioned below. 

Archibald Olds, their son, died in the 
year 1857, there being very little else of 
importance in his life of which there is 
record, with the exception of his mar- 
riage to Webb, who bore him the 

following named children : Nathan, men- 
tioned below; Hannah, Betsey, Melissa. 

Nathan Olds, their son, was born at 
Canterbury, Connecticut, in December, 
1812. He worked on his father's farm 
while a boy, and upon attaining young 
manhood secured a position in the foun- 
dry operated by his future father-in-law, 
Nathan Allen. He later removed to Dan- 
ielson, Connecticut, and there engaged in 
the foundry business in partnership with 
his brother-in-law, Nathan Allen, Jr., 
under the firm name of Allen & Olds. 
The product of their factory was stoves 
and other hardware devices for household 
use. Mr. Olds was a prominent man in 
the community, and held the position of 
first selectman of Danielsonville for a 
number of years. He m,et his death in 
i860, in a railroad accident. He married, 
September 30, 1838, Lois Allen, daughter 
of Nathan Allen, of Canterbury, where 
she was born, and granddaughter of 
Parker and Lois (Backus) Allen (see 
Backus). Mr. and Mrs. Olds were the 
parents of the following named children : 
Nathan, born August 16, 1839, married, 
about 1861, Mary Robinson; Edward 
Payson. born June 12, 1841, died in in- 
fancy; Albert Hinckley, born June 11, 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



i8zJ4, died September 30, 1874; and Al- 
fred Allen, mentioned below. 

Alfred Allen Olds was born January 16, 
1852, at Danielsonville (now Danielson), 
Connecticut, and there spent the years of 
his childhood, and it was there that he 
began his education in the local district 
schools. When about nine years of age 
he accompanied his mother to New 
Haven, and made his home in that city 
with his elder brother, Nathan Olds. In 
the year 1865 the family came to Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and this city has re- 
mained Mr. Olds' home and the scene of 
his active career ever since. He con- 
tinued his education in the public schools 
of New Haven while residing in that city, 
and upon coming to Hartford he attended 
the schools there. Later he secured a 
position with the Old Merchants' Insur- 
ance Company and remained with that 
concern for some time, becoming familiar 
with the insurance business in particular 
and general business methods, which 
were to be of value to him in later life. 
Subsequently Mr. Olds entered the em- 
ploy of Allen & Willard, which firm was 
then engaged in the stove, furnace, agri- 
cultural implements and fertilizer business, 
and later with C. L. Willard, successor to 
Allen & Willard. This was his last ex- 
perience as an employee, however, for on 
November 15, 1877, he entered into part- 
nership with Frank H. Whipple, purchas- 
ing the interest of C. L. Willard, suc- 
cessor to the firm of Allen & Willard, and 
the new firm became known as Olds & 
Whipple. The business had originally 
been founded by Charles Allen, an uncle. 
All the lines of trade above mentioned 
were developed largely, but the fertilizer 
business is now the largest department. 
Later the firm of Olds & Whipple began 
the growing of tobacco; their plantations 
at the present time (1917) are located in 
Hartford county, and they have an inter- 



est in about five hundred acres of shade 
grown tobacco. Some idea of the large 
size of their operations may be gained 
from the fact that they are the largest 
dealers in fertilizers in Connecticut, and 
handle some twenty-five thousand tons 
annually. For a time they also carried a 
line of steam heaters' and plumbers' sup- 
plies, but this has now been abandoned in 
order that they might concentrate more 
entirely on the other departments of their 
business. Mr. Olds is president of the 
New England Tobacco Corporation, treas- 
urer of the Windsor Tobacco Growers' 
Corporation, treasurer of Steane, Hart- 
man & Company, Incorporated, treasurer 
of the Connecticut Leaf Tobacco Associa- 
tion, and is associated with numerous 
large and important concerns. Mr. Olds 
is a member of the Asylum Hill Congre- 
gational Church, where he and his family 
are consistent attendants at divine service. 
Mr. Olds married, March 2t„ 1875, Liz- 
zie M. Whipple, sister of Frank H. W^hip- 
ple, his partner, and daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Whipple, of New Braintree, 
Massachusetts. Children: i. Edith Wil- 
lard, born February 2, 1876. 2. Alfred 
Whipple, born Alarch 3, 1877; a resident 
of Windsor, Connecticut ; married, in 
1903, Mary McKee. of New Castle, Penn- 
sylvania, daughter of John McKee, M. D., 
of New Castle, and they have children : 
John McKee, Lois Allen, Mary Alfreda. 
3. Frank Albert, born October 28, 1879; 
a resident of Hartford : married, January 
5, 1909, Annette Mabel Hills, of Hartford, 
daughter of C. S. Hills, of that city. 4. 
Edna Allen, born November i. 1881 ; mar- 
ried, June 20, 1906, F. B. Pease, of Guil- 
ford, Maine, and they have children : 
Allen Franklin, died March, 1915; Fran- 
ces Barber, Elizabeth Whipple. 5. Her- 
bert Vincent, born ]May 23, 1883, died De- 
cember 2, 1913; married Mary Lovejoy, 
daughter of Dr. Lovejoy, of Lynn, Massa- 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, and had one son, Herbert, born 
December 19, 1913. 

(The Backus Line). 

The Backus family is and has been for 
many generations very prominent not 
only in New England but throughout the 
northern and eastern portions of the 
United States. It was founded in this 
country by Stephen Backus, a native of 
England, who settled in the year 1638 at 
Saybrook, Connecticut. In 1660. an aged 
man, he removed to Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, where he was one of the original pro- 
prietors of that town, and he was admit- 
ted a freeman there in 1663, the year pre- 
ceding his death. He married (first) 

Sarah Charles, and (second) Ann , 

to whom he was united some time before 
1660. He was the father of children as 
follows : Stephen, married, and had chil- 
dren who settled in Canterbury, Connec- 
ticut; William, mentioned below; Sam- 
uel, died unmarried ; Sarah ; Mary. 

William Backus, son of Stephen Bac- 
kus, is spoken of in the old records as 
Lieutenant Backus. He was one of the 
early settlers and one of the most enter- 
prising citizens of Norwich, Connecticut, 
and he later became one of the proprietors 
of Windham in the same colony. He was 
one of the legatees of Joshua Uncas, from 
whose estate he received three shares of 
a thousand acres each. His death oc- 
curred about 1721. He married twice, but 
there is record of only one marriage, to 
Elizabeth Pratt, a daughter of Lieutenant 
William and Elizabeth (Clark) Pratt. By 
the first marriage he had Samuel and 
John, who settled in Windham, where 
they left posterity. By the second mar- 
riage he had : Sarah, born in 1663 ; Sam- 
uel, 1665 ; Joseph, mentioned below ; Na- 
thaniel, born in 1669; Elizabeth, died in 
1728, and Hannah. 

Joseph Backus, son of Lieutenant W^il- 



liam Backus, was born at Norwich, Con- 
necticut, in 1667, died in December, 1740. 
He married, April 9, 1690, Elizabeth 
Huntington, born in 1669, died August 24, 
1762. They were the parents of the fol- 
lowing named children: i. Joseph, born 
in March, 1691, died March 30, 1761 ; edu- 
cated at Yale College ; married Hannah 
Edwards, aunt to President Edwards, by 
whom he had two sons and two daugh- 
ters, who all died prior to his death, and 
his family is now extinct. 2. Samuel, 
mentioned below. 3. Ann, born January 
27, 1695, died August 24, 1761 ; became the 
wife of Nathaniel Lothrop ; they were the 
parents of a number of children. 4. 
Simon, born February 11, 1701 ; educated 
at Yale College, was a minister of the 
gospel and served at Wethersfield ; mar- 
ried Eunice Edwards, sister of President 
Edwards ; he went to Cape Breton in the 
fall of 1745 to preach there, and died there 
in February, 1746; his widow died June 
I, 1788. 5. James, born August 14. 1703, 
died October 15, 1753; married and was 
the father of several children. 6. Eliza- 
beth, born October 27, 1705, died 1787; 
married Cypran Lad, and had children. 
7. Sarah, born in July, 1709, died 1791; 
married Jabez Bingham, and had chil- 
dren. 8. Ebenezer, born March 30, 1712, 
died November 5, 1768; married three 
times and was the father of several chil- 
dren. 

Samuel Backus, son of Joseph and Eliz- 
abeth (Huntington) Backus, was born at 
Norwich, Connecticut, January 6, 1693, 
died November 24, 1740. He married, 
January 18, 1716, Elizabeth Tracy, born 
April 6, 1698, died in 1769. a daughter of 
John and Elizabeth (Leffingwell) Tracy, 
and granddaughter of John and Mary 
(Winslow) Tracy and of Thomas and 
Mary (Bushnell) Lefifingwell. John Tracy 
(grandfather) was born August 15, 1642, 
and died in August, 1702; married, June 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



17, 1670, Mary Winslow, born at Marsh- 
field, January 31, 1649, died July 31, 1721. 
Their children: Josiah, born August 10, 
1671, died January 27, 1672; John, men- 
tioned below; Elizabeth, born July 7, 
1676; Joseph, born April 20, 1682, died 
1765, married and had children: Wins- 
low, born February 9, 1689, died 1768. 
John Tracy (father) was born January 
19, 1673; married, May 10, 1697, Elizabeth 
Leffingwell, born in September, 1676, and 
died 1737. Their children: Elizabeth, 
born April 6, 1698, aforementioned as the 
wife of Samuel Backus ; John, born June 
17, 1700. died August, 1786; Hezekiah, 
born August 30, 1702, died 1792, unmar- 
ried; Josiah, born February 27, 1705, died 
April 28, 1705: Isaac, born May 25, 1706, 
died January 25. 1779; Ann, born Novem- 
ber 29, 1708, died April 20, 1762: Ruth, 
born September 13, 171 1, died October 15, 
1773; Ann and Ruth were married the 
same day, in November, 1730, to Richard 
and Elijah Hide, and both had children. 
Thomas Leffingwell (grandfather) mar- 
ried Mary Bushnell, of Norwich, and their 
children were: Thomas, born March 4, 
1674: Elizabeth, born in September, 1676, 
became the wife of John Tracy, afore- 
mentioned ; Ann, born January 25, 1680, 
became the wife of Captain Caleb Bush- 
nell; Mary, born March 11. 16S2, became 
the wife of Simon Tracy ; Zerviah, born 
October 17, 1686, became the wife of Cap- 
tain Benajah Bushnell ; John, born Febru- 
ary 2, 1688, captain; Abigail, born Sep- 
tember 14, 1691, became the wife of Dan- 
iel Tracy; Benajah, born August 9, 1693. 
Children of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Tracy) Backus: 

I. Samuel, born January 11, 1717, died 
October 2, 1778; married (first) Decem- 
ber 14, 1743, Phoebe Calkins; children: 
i. Phoebe, born October 28, 1744, died 
October 5, 1786, married and had children, 
ii Elizabeth, born August 26, 1746. iii. 
Samuel, born January 20, 1749. iv, Han- 



nah, born February 23, 1751. died Novem- 
ber 24, 1827; married. May 5, 1778, Elder 
William Nelson, born July 18, 1741, died 
in April, 1806; children: Samuel, born 
April 21, 1779; Sarah, April 27, 1781 ; 
William, June 13, 1784, died February 13, 
1787, and Margan, born October 25, 1787. 
V. A daughter, born and died March 8, 
1755. The mother of these children died 
April I, 1755. Samuel Backus married 
(second) July 2, 1755, Elizabeth Wedge; 
children: vi. Ann, born June 25, 1757. 
vii. William, born August 28, 1758, died 
December i, 1774. viii, Rufus, born May 
12, 1 761. 

2. Ann Backus, born June 10, 1718, died 
December 29, 1756. She married, July 22, 
1742, Captain Joshua Abell, who died Jan- 
uary 17. 1788, aged eighty-two years. Chil- 
dren : i. Isaac, born May 17, 1743; died 
June 3, 1783. ii. Ann, born 1745, died in 
eorly life. iii. Ann, born June 22. 1747 
iv. Elizabeth, v. Abigail, born May 19 
1752. vi. Roger, born September 30, 1754 
died May 7, 1759. vii. Rufus Backus 
born December 12, 1756. 

3. Elizabeth, born February 9, 1721 
married Jabez Huntington, Esq., whose 
death occurred October 5, 1780 (or 1786) 
Children: Jedediah, born in July, 1743 
and .Andrew, born in June, 1745, died July 

I. 1745- 

4. Isaac Backus, born January 9, 1724, 
died November 20, 1806. He married, 
November 29, 1749, Susanna Mason, born 
January 4, 1725, died September 19, 1805, 
Children: i. Hannah Backus, born No- 
vember 8, 1750. ii. Nathan Backus, born 
June 18, 1752, died March 24. 1814: mar- 
ried, November 18, 1784, Bethiah Leon- 
ard, born May 8, 1755, died September 
19, 1806 ; children : Olive, born August 9, 
1785; Bethiah, March 4, 1787; Sybil, Jan- 
uary 30, 1789; Polly, November 2, 1791 ; 
Nathan. January 24, 1705, died August 
24, 1797; a daughter, still-born, January 
4, 1799. iii. Isaac Backus, born Febru- 
ary 21, 1754, died .April 16, 1814: married, 
September 21, 1786, Esther Shepard, born 
September 17, 1756, died June 9, 1832; 
children: Samuel, born September 16, 
1787; Isaac, November 27, 1789; Mason, 
August 27, 1792, died September 22, 1813. 
iv. Eunice Backus, born October 23, 1755, 
died September 16, 181 5; married, Octo- 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 13, 1795, Isaac Dean, born May 31, 
1744, died in July, 1819 ; children : Eunice, 
born February 20, 1797; Susana, February 
9. 1801. V. Susana Backus, born October 

13, 1758. vi. Lois Backus, born August 3, 
1760; married, December 17, 1786, Parker 
Allen, born December 25, 1761, died No- 
vember 26, 1823; children: (a) Nathan 
Allen, born April 3, 1787, died February 
26, 1880; married, December 17, 1812, 
Nancy Hinkley, born in August, 1788, 
children : Lois Allen, born January 23, 
1815, died May 30, 1895; Hannah Allen, 
June 22, 1818; Charles Allen, May 25, 
1820; Parker Allen, January 5, 1822, died 
July 21, 1823; Nathan Allen. November 
28, 1824; Samuel Allen, June 10, 1827; 
Nancy Allen, January 28, 1829; Waity 
Allen, June 25, 1831. (b) Eunice Allen, 
born July 7, 1790, died July 28, 1878; mar- 
ried, April 2, 1823, Thomas Whipple, born 
January 14, 1790; children: John Curtis 
Whipple, born May 20, 1825 ; twins, born 
September 6, 1826, one still-born, the 
other died aged three days ; Nancy Eliza- 
beth Whipple, born August 21, 1829. (c) 
Susanna Allen, born June 13, 1794, died 
November, 1885. vii. Lucy Backus, born 
April 13, 1763, died March 4, 1837; mar- 
ried, April 13, 1788, Alpheus Fobes, born 
June 30, 1756, died in April, 1839; chil- 
dren : Isaac, born February g, 1789 ; Sybil, 
March 17, 1791 : Josiah, June 14, 1793; 
Alpheus, November 24, 1795; Aretas, 
April 9, 1798; Lucy, January 9, 1802. viii. 
Simon Backus, born March 7, 1766, died 
July 20, 1833; married (first) November 
8, 1789. Hannah Alden, born February 2, 
1765, died in January. 1816; married (sec- 
ond) March. 1820, Ruth Hatheway. a 
widow ; children of first wife : Andrew. 
born October 3, 1790 ; Ebenezer, born July 

14, 1792, died September 13, 1815; a 
daughter, born March 28, 1795, died April 

15, 1795; Eunice, born February 27, 1796; 
Isaac, born October 22. 1797, died July 
14, 1819 ; Joseph Alden, born August 29, 
1799; Hannah, born October 11, 1801. ix. 
Sybil Backus, born February 17, 1768, 
died March 23, 1788. 

5. Elijah Backus, born March 14, 1726, 
died suddenly, September 4, 1798; mar- 
ried (first) January 9, 1753, Lucy Gris- 
wold, who died December 16, 1795; mar- 
ried (second) October 30. 1796, Margaret 



Tracy, a widow ; children of first wife : 
Elijah, born February 17. 1754, died 
March 8, 1755; a daughter, born January 

11, 1756, died February 21, 1756; Lucy, 
born January 31, 1757, became the wife 
of Dudley Woodbridge, and moved to the 
Ohio; Elijah, born May 2, 1759; James, 
born July 10, 1761, died January 17, 1762; 
a daughter, born March 18, 1763, died 
April 21, 1763; James, born July 14, 1764; 
Matthew, born September 24, 1766; Clar- 
ina, born August 7, 1769. 

6. Simon Backus, born January 17, 
1729, died February 16, 1764. 

7. Eunice, born May 17, 1731, died Au- 
gust ID, 1753: married. January 4. 1753, 
John Post ; their daughter, Eunice, was 
born July 27, 1753. 

8. Andrew, born November 16. 1733, 
died November 20. 1796; married. Febru- 
ary 8, 1759. Lois Pierce, born August 14, 
1732; children: Stephen, born November 
27, 1759; Thomas, May, 1762; Simon, 
April 12, 1765, went through college, and 
died, unmarried, September 19, 1788; Syl- 
vanus, born June 3, 1768; Eunice, June 
14, 1770, died July 7, 1792; Mary, born 
January 8, 1773; Lucy. March 14. 1777; 
Stephen. Thomas, Sylvanus and Mary 
had families ; Lucy died unmarried. 

g. Asa Backus, born May 3. 1736. died 
July 23. 1788; married. May 12, 1762, 
lEstherParkus; children: Asa, born May 

12, 1763; Esther, October. 1765; Mary, 
August 29. 1767, died October 10, 1785; 
Joseph, February 3, 1770, died April 22, 
1771 ; Eunice, February 23. 1772; Lucy, 
ATarch 26, 1774; John, July 17, 1777; Sam- 
uel, October, 1780; Asa married and had 
a family, the remainder of the children 
died unmarried. 

10. Lucy Backus, born April 18, 1738, 
died May 20, 1808; married. August 16. 
1764. Benajah Leffingwell. born January, 
1738. died September. 1804. Children: 
Benajah. born June 22. 1765; Lucy, born 
January 31, 1767, died June 27. 1797, mar- 
ried and had children; Elizabeth, born 
October 8, 1768; a daughter, born January 
31. 1 77 1, died February 21. 1771 ; Richard, 
born October 3, 1773 ; Mary, born Novem- 
ber 21. 1775; Oliver, born October 28, 
1778, died in New York. October, 1798. 

11. John Backus, born October 16. 1740, 
died unmarried : he served as a selectman 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and a representative of Norwich, and was 
an active and useful citizen. His brothers, 
Elijah and Andrew Backus, also served as 
representatives and both served as jus- 
tices of the peace, one at Norwich and the 
other at Plainfield. 

Samson Mason, ancestor of Susanna 
(Mason) Backus, aforementioned as the 
wife of Isaac Backus, was a soldier in 
Cromwell's army, but after the death of 
Crom.well he came to America and settled 
in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, where his 
sons resided. His sons were : Noah, Sam- 
son, James, John, Samuel, Joseph, Isaac, 
Pelatiah. and Benjamin, and perhaps his 
posterity are now as numerous as those 
of any man who emigrated to this coun- 
try. Peletiah married and was the father 
of four sons, Joseph, Job, Russell and 
John, all of whom were ministers of the 
Gospel, Joseph for many years pastor of 
the second church in Swansea, and all 
lived to above eighty years of age. Samuel 
Mason, son of Samuel Mason, son of Sam- 
son Mason, was born in June. 1683, died 
June 3. 1772. He married (first) a Miss 
Reed, in Rehoboth. and their children 
were as follows : Rabina, became the wife 

of Chaffee, and was the mother of 

Deacon John Chaffee, of New Bedford ; 
Elizabeth, became the wife of Gideon 
Franklin, and died at Cheshire, May, 
1795, aged above eighty years: Sarah, 
died young; Hannah, died young; Sam- 
uel, married, had a family, and died De- 
cember I, 1786, in his seventy-third year, 
St rvived by his widow; Moses, married, 
had a family, and died July 2. 1798, aged 
seventy-eight years ; Mary, became the 
wife of Ichabod Ide ; Lydia, became the 
wife of John Mason: Susanna, liecame 
the wife of Isaac Backus ; and a child that 
died in infancy. Samuel Mason married 
a second wife, who bore him three chil- 
dren: John, Sarah and Hannah, all of 
whom married and had families. 



WHIPPLE, Frank Herbert, 

Business Man. 

Frank H. Whipple is a member of an 
old and distinguished New England fam- 
ily. It was founded in this country by 
Captain John Whipple, of Providence, 
Rhode Island, who came to that region 
at an early period in colonial history from 
some part of England. It is now repre- 
sented in various parts not only of New 
England but of the United States gen- 
erally, but nowhere more worthily than 
bv the distinguished gentleman whose 
name heads this brief sketch, who is re- 
garded as one of the most public-spirited 
citizens of Hartford, Connecticut, and ex- 
hibits in his own person and character the 
talents and virtues of a long line of worthy 
ancestors. 

Mr. Whipple's grandfather was Thomas 
Whipple, who resided at New Braintree, 
Massachusetts, where he owned a valu- 
able farm. He also made his home for a 
time at Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire. He 
married for his third wife Miss Susan 
Allen, a member of a very old family 
which is the subject of extended mention 
elsewhere in this work. The children of 
this marriage were : John C. Whipple, the 
father of the subject of this sketch : and 
Nancy, who became the wife of Daniel 
Bartlett. John C. Whipple had two half- 
brothers by his father's first and second 
marriages — Francis and F'rederick. 

John C. Whipple, the son of Thomas 
and Susan (Allen) Whipple, was born 
May 20, 1825. at Canterbury, Connecticut. 
\\'hen he was about four years of age his 
parents removed to- New Braintree, Mas- 
spchusetts, where they owned the farm 
already referred to. The early life of 
John C. Whipple was that of the typical 
farmer's lad of that period, and he grew 
up in the midst of a healthy rural environ- 
ment there. Indeed, he continued to live 



250 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



on the farm formerly owned by his father 
until he had reached the age of forty 
years, and then went to Springfield, Mas- 
sachtisetts. In Springfield he became a 
successful dealer in milk, and ran a milk 
route in the city and surrounding region. 
Still later he came to Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, where he worked in the store of Olds 
& Whipple. While residing at New 
Braintree, Mr. Whipple, Sr., took a prom- 
inent part in the general life of the com- 
munity, and held the post of first select- 
man of the town for many years. He was 
overseer of the poor there, and a staunch 
and active Republican. He married Miss 
Elizabeth Ouimby, a daughter of Isreal 
Allen, and a native of Spencer, Massachu- 
setts, where she was born May i, 1825. 
The death of Mr. Whipple, Sr., occurred 
at Hartford, December 22, 1898, and that 
of his wife in the same city, January 27, 
igo8. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren, two of whom grew to maturity, as 
follows : Lizzie, who became the wife of 
Alfred A. Olds, the partner of our subject, 
a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in 
this work ; and Frank Herbert, with 
whose career we are especially concerned. 
Frank Herbert Whipple, son of John C. 
ai.d Elizabeth Ouimby (Allen) Whipple, 
was born April 23, 1856, on his father's 
farm at New Braintree. He received his 
education in the public schools of New 
Braintree, at Worcester Academy, and 
Eastman Business College at Poughkeep- 
sie, New York. He then went to Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, at the same time his 
father moved to that city, and there se- 
cured a position in the employ of Hoiuer, 
Foot & Company, dealers in hardware, 
iron and steel. The concern was a large 
one and did a very extensive business at 
that time, and there Mr. Whipple laid the 
foundation of his thorough knowledge of 
business and business methods generally. 
He remained for three years with Homer, 
Foot & Company, and then withdrew from 



that concern to take the position of head 
bookkeeper for J. S. Carr & Company, 
which did a large cracker baking busi- 
ness. After one year there, he formed his 
present partnership with Mr. Olds and 
came to Hartford, Connecticut, where 
they now operate a very successful busi- 
ness under the name of Olds & Whipple. 
Besides this concern, Mr. Whipple is as- 
sociated with many others, among them 
being the Windsor Tobacco Growers' 
Corporation of which he is the president ; 
the New England Tobacco Corporation of 
which he is the treasurer ; and Steane, 
Hartman & Company, a large corporation 
in Hartford. The firm of Olds & Whipple 
is a very old one and deals now on a large 
scale in agricultural implements, stoves 
and furnaces, fertilizers and seed, and of 
recent years has taken up extensively the 
growing of tobacco. It is at present one 
of the largest dealers in fertilizers in the 
region. 

Mr. Whipple was united in marriage, 
on the first day of November, 1888, at 
Huntington, Massachusetts, with Miss 
Clara Williams, a daughter of Augustus 
Williams, of Springfield, Massachusetts ; 
she was born on the 21st of June, i860, at 
Ashfield, Massachusetts. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Whipple three children have been 
born, as follows : Frank A., who is con- 
nected with the Hampton Institute of 
Hampton, Virginia ; Merle W., who is 
now a student at Yale University, class of 
1917; and Marion E.. of the class of 1919, 
of Wellesley College. Mr. Whipple and 
his wife are members of the Asylum Hill 
Congregational Church, of which he is a 
deacon. 



GILBERT, Charles Edwin, 

Secretary Aetna I<ife Insurance Company. 

He comes from ancient English ances- 
try, it being written of the Gilbert fam- 
ily, that they are "ancient and honorable." 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In Volume IV of the "New England His- 
torical and Genealogical Register," J. 
Wingate Thornton says of the Gilbert 
family: "It stands conspicuous among 
the illustrious names of Raleigh, Drake, 
Cavendish, Gosnold, Hawkins, and a host 
of naval worthies, and with singular hap- 
piness is joined with the three first named 
in lineage as well as in the less tangible 
but generous relationship of mind. The 
name Gilbert is Saxon, signifying, it is 
thought, 'Bright or brave pledge,' from 
the fact that it is written in 'Domesday 
Book,' 'Gislebert,' and that 'Gisle' in old 
Saxon signifies a pledge. It is written on 
the Roll of Battle Abbey, T. Gilbard. 
Richard Fitz Gilbert, a kinsman of the 
Conqueror, and a principal personage, was 
for his services advanced to great honors 
and possessions. 'The name is eminent 
in the annals of the church, state and 
learning of England, through several cen- 
turies. Its early and principal home is in 
Devonshire, and from this stock, distin- 
guished in naval and commercial history 
and geographical science and discoveries, 
issued many branches, planted in other 
portions of the country.' Arms — 'Argent, 
on a chevron sable three roses of the first. 
Crest — A dolphin, naivant embowed'." 

The English history of the family has 
been traced to that Gilbert of Compton, 
parish of Marldon, County Devon, Eng- 
land, who was succeeded by his son 
Thomas Gilbert and his wife Amy. The 
line of descent is through their son Jef- 
frey Gilbert, married Jane or Joan, daugh- 
ter and coheir of William Compton. Esq., 
of Compton ; their son, William Gilbert, 
of Compton, married Elizalieth, daughter 
and coheir of Oliver Champernon. Esq., 
by his first wife Egelina, daughter of 
Hugh Valetort, Esq., of Tamerton ; their 
son, William Gilbert, of Compton, mar- 
ried Isabel, daughter of William Gambon, 
Esq., of Mareston; their son, Ortho or 



Otes Gilbert, sheriff of Devonshire under 
Edward IV., 1475, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John (or Robert) Hill, Esq., 
of Shilston in Modbury ; their son, Wil- 
liam Gilbert, of Ridge Rule, in Cornwall. 

married Carlisle. Richard Gilbert, 

of the eighth generation, son of William, 
was of North Fetherwin, Devonshire, 
moved to Norfolk, and became lord of 
the manor of Waldcote in North Burling- 
ton, where he died in 1545. He married a 
second wife, Elizabeth, and was succeeded 
by their son, Thomas Gilbert, lord of the 
manor of Waldcote, who married Aubray, 
daughter of Thomas Brooks, in Norfolk. 
The American history of the family be- 
gins with Jonathan Gilbert, son of Thom- 
as and Aubray (Brooks) Gilbert, of the 
manor of Waldcote. Jonathan Gilbert is 
on record as of Hartford in 1645, ^^'^'^ ^^'^^ 
then a bachelor landholder aged about 
twenty-seven. No doubt he arrived in 
New England at a much earlier date, for 
in April, 1646, he was sufficiently familiar 
with the language of the Indians to act as 
interpreter between them and the govern- 
ment officials. This ability, coupled with 
personal bravery, enabled him to render 
valuable service. He was generally se- 
lected as a leader in emergencies, and 
was a man of eminent respectability and 
enterprise, engaged in mercantile busi- 
ness and coasting trade of the young colo- 
nies, possessed of great wealth for that 
day. He held various civil offices; was 
collector of customs at Hartford ; served 
as marshal of the colony ; office corres- 
i;ondent to the high sheriff; representa- 
tive to the General Court ; and by govern- 
ment grants and purchase became pos- 
sessed of large tracts of land. He mar- 
ried a second wife, Mary Welles, born 
1626, died July 3, 1700, a sister of Gov- 
ernor Thomas Welles, and daughter of 
Frances Colman, by her first husband, 
Hugh Welles. Jonathan Gilbert died De- 
252 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cember lo, 1682, and his tombstone is yet 
to be seen in the burying ground in the 
rear of the Center Congregational Church, 
Hartford. 

Samuel Gilbert, son of Jonathan, "the 
founder," was one of the proprietors of 
the town of Colchester, Connecticut, set- 
tling about 1698 and there residing until 
his death in 1733. 

His son, Samuel (2) Gilbert, settled in 
Gilead, Connecticut, and was a member of 
the church there from the date of the or- 
ganization of the parish in 1748. 

He was succeeded by his son. Captain 
Samuel (3) Gilbert, of Gilead, born Octo- 
ber 16, 171 1, died in Lyme, New Hamp- 
shire, October 16, 1774. He served in the 
French and Indian wars as ensign of the 
North Company of Hebron in May, 1745 ; 
captain of the Gilead Company in 1749; 
and as captain of the Seventeenth Com- 
jmny, Third Connecticut Regiment, for 
the expedition against Crown Point in 
1755. He is said to have left an estate 
inventoried at i6,ooo. He married (first) 
February 17, 1732, Elizabeth Curtice. One 
of his sons, Sylvester Gilbert, from whom 
Charles Edwin Gilbert also descends in a 
maternal line, was a graduate of Yale Col- 
lege, a lawyer of Hebron, Connecticut, 
judge of Tolland county court for many 
years, member of the State Legislature 
eighteen semi-annual sessions, member of 
the commission which made the sale of 
the Western Reserve lands, and all his 
life conducted a farm. 

Samuel (4) Gilbert, half-brother of 
Judge Sylvester Gilbert, and son of Cap- 
tain Samuel (3) Gilbert, was born in 
Gilead, Connecticut, June 3, I734- ^^ 
settled in Hebron, Connecticut, April 21, 
1818. He was employed on the farm until 
reaching legal age, but in the mean time 
had acquired a good preparatory educa- 
tion. He then entered Yale College, was 
graduated in the class of 1759. admitted 



to the bar, became eminent as lawyer and 
judge, serving as judge of the Court of 
Common Pleas for twenty-one years. He 
was a member of the Connecticut House 
of Assembly in 1790-92-93-99; also held 
many important civil offices, and the mili- 
tary rank of lieutenant, serving in the 
Twelfth Regiment in 1775 In his judicial 
capacity he proved the high quality of his 
mentality and uprightness of character, 
and all through his life was a man held in 
the very highest esteem. The end of life 
saw him in full possession of his lofty 
mind, and with perfect composure he 
passed to that "bourne from which no 
traveler ever returns." He married (sec- 
ond) September 3, 1775, Deborah Cham- 
pion, born May 3, 1753, died November 
20, 1845, youngest daughter of Colonel 
Henry and Deborah (Brainard) Cham- 
pion, granddaughter of Lieutenant Henry 
Champion, son of Thomas Champion, son 
of Henry Champion, the American foun- 
der of the family. Henry Champion, born 
in England, settled in Saybrook, Connec- 
ticut, as early as 1647 ^^'^ i" i6jo moved 
to Lyme, Connecticut, and there died, 
February 17, 1708, aged ninety-eight 
years. His grandson. Lieutenant Henry 
Champion, settled in East Haddam, where 
he bought fifty acres in the first division 
of land. He is described as "a man of 
more than medium height, square and 
compactly built, all his joints seemingly 
double, and possessed of great strength." 
His son. Colonel Henry Champion, born 
1723, died 1797, began his military career 
at the age of eighteen as ensign of the 
East Haddam South Company; was cap- 
tain of a company serving in the French 
and Indian War in 1758; captain of the 
Fifth Company of the Second Regiment 
in 1759. and transferred to the command 
of the Twelfth Company in 1760. He was 
appointed major of the Twelfth Regim.ent 
of Colonial Militia, May 14, 1772: com- 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



missary to supply Washington's troops 
until March, 1776; colonel of the Twenty- 
fifth Regiment, 1775; and after the army 
began to assemble at New York, was in 
charge of the commissary. In April, 1780, 
he was appointed sole commissary-gen- 
eral for the Eastern Department of the 
Continental army, and relieved the army 
at Morristown, New Jersey, largely from 
his own resources. He resigned in May, 
1780. He was many times elected to the 
Connecticut Legislature, and ftom 1775 
until his death in 1797, was deacon of 
the Westchester church. His first wife, 
Deborah Brainard, who was the mother 
of all his children, was born June 20, 1724, 
died March 17, 1789. daughter of Captain 
Joshua and Mehitable (Dudley) Brainard. 

Peyton Randolph Gilbert, son of Judge 
Samuel (4) and Deborah (Champion) Gil- 
bert, did not follow the professional lead 
of his father, but was a substantial farmer 
of Gilead all his life, also an eminent citi- 
zen of Tolland county, serving in the 
House of Representatives and in the State 
Senate. He married Anna, daughter of 
Elisha and Mary Gillett Porter. 

Rev. Edwin Randolph Gilbert, son of 
Peyton Randolph Gilbert, was born in 
Gilead, Connecticut, February 10, 1808, 
died in April, 1874. He prepared in 
Gilead public schools and Monson Acad- 
emy (Massachusetts), and entered Yale 
College, whence he was graduated, class 
of 1829. He then pursued studies in divin- 
ity at Yale Theological Seminary, was 
graduated in the class of 1832, ordained 
pi'stor of the Wallingford, Connecticut, 
Congregational church the same year, and 
continued its pastor forty-one years. He 
knew no other pastorate than Walling- 
ford, his connection with that church end- 
ing with his resignation two months prior 
to his death. He was dearly beloved by 
his people and townsmen ; was a man of 
deep piety and intellectuality, serving well 



the cause of Christianity. For twenty-five 
years he was a member of the corporation 
of Yale College, his alma muter. He mar- 
ried Ann Langdon, born 1809, died 1841, 
daughter of Reuben Langdon, of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, a descendant of George 
Langdon, who came from England to 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, about 1636. 
The line of descent from George Lang- 
don was through his son John, a deputy 
to the General Court from Farmington, 
Connecticut, in 1668 ; his son, Joseph 
Langdon, of Farmington ; his son Joseph 
(2), of Farmington and Southington ; his 
son Giles, of Farmington and Southing- 
ton ; his son Reuben, of Farmington, New 
London and Hartford. 

Reuben Langdon was born in Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, in 1777, was engaged 
in business in New London until about 
1817, when he moved to Hartford, there 
establishing a dry goods business which 
under varied ownerships yet continues. 
After his withdrawal from the dry goods 
business he became treasurer of the Soci- 
ety for Savings, popularly known as the 
Pratt Street Bank, and was a director of 
the Phoenix Bank. He died in Hartford 
in 1849. Reuben Langdon married, in 
1803, Patience Gilbert, daughter of Judge 
Sylvester Gilbert and niece of Judge Samr 
uel (4) Gilbert, grandfather of Rev. Ed- 
win Randolph Gilbert, both he and his 
wife, Ann Langdon, being great-grand- 
children of Captain Samuel (3) Gilbert. 

From such distinguished ancestry 
comes Charles Edwin Gilbert of the eighth 
Gilbert American generation, son of Rev. 
Edwin Randolph and Ann (Langdon) 
Gilbert. He was born November 8, 1836, 
in Wallingford, Connecticut, and received 
his education in the schools of that town 
and Farmington. For some years he was 
engaged in mercantile pursuits in Hart- 
ford and New York. In 1868 he entered 
the office of the ^tna Life Insurance 



254 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Company, in Hartford, and his adapta- 
bility to insurance business soon became 
manifest. He served successively as ac- 
countant, cashier, assistant secretary and 
secretary, being elected to the latter posi- 
tion in 1905. 

While for nearly a half century his 
identity has been merged with that of the 
^tna Life Insurance Company, Mr. Gil- 
bert has taken an active part in city 
affairs, and has been prominent in many 
of its most important organizations. He 
was an original member of the old City 
Guard, and for several years was a mem- 
ber of the Governor's Foot Guard, hold- 
ing rank as adjutant ; and is yet an hon- 
ored member of its Veteran Corps, and a 
trustee of the Foot Guard Armory. He 
was an original Republican in politics, 
and was one of the thirty organizing 
members of the famous "Wide-Awake" 
marching club of Hartford in 1861, an 
organization which spread throughout the 
entire North, and whose advocacy of Lin- 
coln for the Presidency was an all-impor- 
tant factor in bringing that great man to 
his mission as the Savior of the Union. 
Mr. Gilbert is a member of the Hartford 
Club, the Hartford Golf Club, the Repub- 
lican Club, the Twentieth Century Club, 
the Sons of the American Revolution, the 
Connecticut Historical Society, and is a 
trustee of the Good Will Club. He and 
his wife are both members of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church, in which he 
has served as deacon, and also as chair- 
man of the society's committee. Mr. Gil- 
bert's life has been one of continued activ- 
ity from youth. He has borne well his 
part in the development of one of the 
greatest insurance corporations of the 
world, and has uninterruptedly enjoyed 
the confidence and highest personal re- 
gard of his official associates — men who 
are best qualified to judge of the value 
of his business abilities and the worth of 
his personal character. 



Mr. Gilbert married Virginia Ewing 
Crane, daughter of Aaron G. Crane, of 
New York City, and they are the parents 
of three sons — Albert Waldron Gilbert, 
an insurance broker, of Hartford ; Edwin 
Randolph Gilbert, a business man of Chi- 
cago; and Charles Allan Gilbert, a well 
known illustrator and artist of New York 
City. 



GROSS, Charles Edward, 

Attorney, President of Connecticnt Hiatori- 
cal Society. 

By his personal efforts and through his 
qualities of industry, perception and 
steady application, Mr. Gross has attained 
a high position at the bar of the State. 
He is among the most public-spirited 
citizens of Hartford, has given freely of 
his time and services to the city, and is 
interested in several of its most important 
business enterprises. From early New 
England ancestors, Mr. Gross has drawn 
the qualities that make for success and 
that constitute good citizenship. 

It is supposed that his first American 
ancestor, Isaac Gross, was born in or near 
Cornwall, England. He settled in Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and there his name 
appears under a variety of spellings such 
as Groce, Grose, Grosse and Growse. He 
was accompanied to this country by his 
brother, Edmond Gross, who was a sea- 
faring man and a proprietor of Boston as 
early as 1639. Isaac Gross was a brewer 
by trade, but seems to have engaged in 
agriculture after his arrival in America. 
He was admitted to the Boston church 
April 17, 1636, but accepted the teachings 
of Wheelwright, and was dismissed from 
that church to Exeter, New Hampshire, 
January 6, 1638. He had a grant of land 
in 1636 in the great allotment at what is 
now Brookline, and after his dismissal 
to Exeter he returned again to Boston, 
where his will was proved June 5, 1649. 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



It is probable that he was possessed of 
some means when he crossed the ocean, 
for he left one of the largest estates of 
his time at his death. His wife's bap- 
tismal name was Ann, and after his death 
she married (second) August 15, 1658, 
Samuel Sheere, of Dedham. 

Clement Gross, son of Isaac and Ann, 
born in England, accompanied his father 
to Boston, where he lived, and was also 
a brewer by trade. His first wife Mary 
was the mother of Simon Gross, born 
about 1650 in Boston, died at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, April 26, 1696. He had 
settled there as early as 1675, and married 
there, October 23rd of that year, Mary, 
daughter of John Bond, born December 
16, 1657. Simon Gross was a boatman, 
and had a residence on Scituate street, 
Hingham. His estate was valued at £198 
5$. 3d. His second son, Simon Gross, 
was born February 4, 1678, in Hingham, 
lived in that town and Eastham^ Massa- 
chusetts. He married, October 13, 1709, 
Experience Freeman, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Edmund and Sarah (Mayo) Free- 
man, granddaughter of Alajor John and 
Mercy (Prence) Freeman. The last named 
was the daughter of Governor Thomas 
and Patience (Brewster) Prence, and 
granddaughter of Elder William Brew- 
ster, of the "Mayflower" colony. She 
was also descended from Edmund Free- 
man, the pioneer, and Rev. John Mayo, 
the pioneer clergyman. Her eldest child 
was Freeman Gross, born about 1710-11, 
at Eastham, or Truro, died in 1742. Two 
of his uncles removed from Hingham to 
Hartford, Connecticut, and he joined them 
there. He was admitted to the first 
church of Hartford. October 15, 1732, and 
married Susannah Bunce. They were the 
parents of Thomas Gross, born in 1738, 
died .\ugust 26, 1773. He married. May 
I 1762, Huldah Seymour, born January 
la. 1745, died January, 1836, daughter of 



Richard Seymour, a descendant of Rich- 
ard Seymour, an original proprietor of 
Hartford in 1639. After the death of her 
husband she removed with her children to 
Litchfield, Connecticut, and there married 
Ashbel Catlin, with whom she removed 
to Shoreham, Vermont. Her son, Thomas 
Freeman Gross, born November 30, 1772, 
in Hartford, died at Litchfield, March 3, 
1846. In 1773 he married Lydia, daughter 
of John Mason, born April 14, 1773, died 
July 23, 1864. They were the parents of 
Mason Gross, born 1809, in Litchfield, 
died in Hartford, March 10, 1864. At the 
age of seventeen years, he located in Hart- 
ford and there became in time a success- 
ful wool merchant. For several years he 
was captain of the Light Infantry Com- 
pany of Hartford. He married, in 1832, 
Cornelia Barnard, daughter of John (2) 
and Sallie (Robbins) Barnard, of Hart- 
ford, and granddaughter of Captain John 
Barnard, a soldier of the early French 
wars, also of the Revolution, and one of 
the founders of the Society of the Cincin- 
nati. Their youngest child is the subject 
of this biography. 

Charles Edward Gross was born Au- 
gust 18, 1847, in Hartford, where his boy- 
hood was passed receiving instruction in 
the public schools of the city. Entermg 
Yale University, he became a member of 
the Alpha Delta Phi, was one of the lead- 
ing members of the Phi Beta Kappa, and 
was graduated in 1869. After leaving 
Yale he spent one year in teaching in 
Hall's School at Ellington, Connecticut. 
In 1870 he began the study of law under 
the instruction of Hon. Charles J. Hoad- 
ley. State Librarian, and later in the office 
of Waldo, Hubbard & Hyde, leading 
attorneys of the city. Mr. Gross was 
admitted to the bar of Hartford county in 
September, 1872, but continued four years 
as a law clerk with Waldo, Hubbard & 
Hyde. In January, 1877, he was admitted 



256 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to partnership in the firm, and on the 
death of Judge Waldo in 1881 the name 
of the firm became Hubbard, Hyde & 
Gross. After the death of Governor Hub- 
bard in 1884 it was changed to Hyde, 
Gross & Hyde. Following the death of 
Hon. Alvin P. Hyde, the firm became 
Gross, Hyde & Shipman, and has thus 
continued to the present time. Among 
the members of the firm is now included 
Charles Welles Gross, a son of its head. 

Mr. Charles E. Gross has given especial 
attention to corporation affairs, has 
handled a very extensive practice as insur- 
ance lawyer, has conducted many import- 
ant cases with remarkable skill, and 
stands among the first of the State in his 
profession. In his long and active career 
he has become identified with various 
undertakings ; has been director and coun- 
sel of the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance 
Company since its reorganization in 1889 ; 
is the director and counsel of the Aetna 
Insurance Company; and has been at 
times a director of the New York & New 
England Railroad Company, and of The 
Connecticut River Railroad Company. 
He is the president of the Society for 
Savings, of Hartford, the largest institu- 
tion of its kind in the State, having assets 
of over $42,000,000; since 1898 has been 
president of the Holyoke Water Power 
Company, which owns the large dam 
across the Connecticut river, furnishing 
the hydraulic power used at Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. As attorney for Mrs. 
Samuel Colt, for many years he repre- 
sented her in the board of directors of the 
Colt's Patent Fire Arms Manufacturing 
Company. He has also acted as a director 
in many manufacturing companies. 

While deeply absorbed in his practice 
and in business matters. Mr. Gross has 
not neglected the literary and other inter- 
ests of life. He is the vice-president of 
the Wadsworth Atheneum, which has 



charge of the beautiful Morgan Memorial 
erected by the late J. Pierpont Morgan in 
memory of his father. In 1917 Mr. Gross 
was elected president of the Connecticut 
Historical Society to succeed the late Dr. 
Samuel Hart, of Middletown, who so long 
filled that position with eminent satis- 
faction to the people of the State. Mr. 
Gross has served as president of the Yale 
Alumni Association of Hartford, is a 
member of the Society of the Cincinnati, 
and of many of the patriotic organiza- 
tions, two of which he has served as gov- 
ernor. For many years he was vice-presi- 
dent and since March, 1917, has been 
president of the Hartford Bar Association, 
and for eighteen years was a Park Com- 
missioner of the city, serving twice as 
president of the board. One of the organ- 
izers of the Hartford Board of Trade and 
a member of its board of directors since 
its organization, he was several years its 
president. In 1885 he became secretary 
of the committee of twenty appointed to 
arouse public interest to the importance 
of action on liquor licenses and other 
public questions. In this work Mr. Gross 
was deeply interested, and he strove to 
promote action which should best serve 
the general welfare. In 1891 a committee 
or five was appointed by the town, headed 
by Professor John J. McCook, on outdoor 
alms, and Mr. Gross was one of the most 
active and useful members of this comr 
mittee. Its investigations divulged the 
fact that the United States expended more 
per capita in outdoor alms-giving than any 
other nation, that Connecticut led all the 
other States, and that Hartford led in 
Connecticut. The advantage to this 
committee, and others on which he 
served, of Mr. Gross's great legal knowl- 
edge and perception, was very great, and 
the report of the McCook committee pro- 
duced a sensation in the city and was the 
direct means of abating various abuses. 



Conn— 3— 17 



257 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



This report has been established as a 
textbook in colleges on charity work on 
account of its great statistical value. Mr. 
Gross was made president at the creation 
of the City Club, organized for municipal 
reform, and has shown in multitudes of 
ways his interest in the welfare of the 
city and the State. The medical prac- 
titioners of Connecticut have shown 
great appreciation of the public services 
of Mr. Gross, who has invariably declined 
to accept any fee for services to the so- 
ciety. In speaking of this, the "Hartford 
Courant" said : 

The doctors, however, have taken another way 
to testify their appreciation of his assistance, and 
yesterday the society, through its officers, pre- 
sented him with a unique and very choice testi- 
monial. It is in the shape of a beautiful hand- 
made volume, bound in white morocco, and en- 
closed in a rich, silk case. The book, on open- 
ing, is found to consist of a number of parch- 
ment pages on which are exquisitely engrossed the 
resolutions of thanks passed by the society. The 
illuminated lettering in colors is worthy the old 
monks, and the whole work is noticeably beauti- 
ful. * * * Xhe resolutions which were printed 
in the volume are as follows : In recognition of 
the distinguished service rendered to the people 
of Connecticut by Charles E. Gross, Esq., in con- 
nection with the recent passage of the Medical 
Practice Bill by the Legislature, and in view of 
the fact that this service has included many scores 
of conferences with the members of the committee 
which represented this society in securing such 
legislation : the drafting of the bill and subse- 
quent modifications of it; the presentation of the 
most cogent of arguments in favor of its enact- 
ment ; which latter has covered some years and 
all of which has been done without compensation, 
and often with great personal inconvenience and 
sacrifice of business interests, and with such de- 
votion to the welfare of all concerned as to render 
it almost if not quite unique in character; there- 
fore, "Resolved, That the Connecticut Medical 
Society hereby expresses its high appreciation of 
these services of Mr. Gross, and begs to extend 
to him in behalf of its members and its constitu- 
ency its thanks and congratulations, that this reso- 
lution be spread upon the records of the society, 
and that a copy be suitably engrossed for presen- 
tation to him." 



Mr. Gross was married, October 5, 
1875, to Miss Ellen C. Spencer, of Hart- 
ford, daughter of Calvin and Clarissa M. 
(Root) Spencer, and they have had two 
sons and a daughter: Charles Welles; 
William Spencer, who died in infancy, 
and Helen Clarissa Gross. The elder son 
married, in 1905, Hilda Welch, of New 
Haven, and has two sons — Spencer 
Gross, and Mason W. Gross, and one 
daughter, Cornelia Gross. 



DWIGHT, Gen. Heru-y Cecil, 

Man of Affairs, Civil War Veteran. 

The Dwight family, represented in the 
present generation by General Henry 
Cecil Dwight, ex-mayor of Hartford and 
president of the Mechanics' Savings 
Bank of Hartford, also for many years 
identified with important mercantile and 
financial interests, is one of the oldest in 
New England, and has contributed an 
unusually large number of men who 
have achieved signal success in various 
walks of life, educators, public men, 
judges, lawyers, journalists, business and 
military men. The State of Connecticut 
is indebted to the Dwight family for some 
very able men who have been largely 
instrumental in its upbuilding, and prom- 
inent among these were the Rev. Timo- 
thy Dwight, former president of Yale 
University, and Major Timothy Dwight. 

(I) John Dwight, the immigrant ances- 
tor, came to the New World late in the 
year 1634 or early in 1635, from Dedham, 
England, and settled first at Watertown, 
Massachusetts. He came not to better 
his fortune, but to seek the religious free- 
dom denied him in the land of his birth. 
The records of Dedham, Massachusetts, 
which began September i, 1635, when the 
first town meeting was held, shows that 
John Dwight was one of the twelve per- 
sons there assembled. He was one of the 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



original grantees of the town, and it is 
said that he with others brought the first 
water-mill to Dedham, in September, 
1635. He was one of the founders of the 
church which was established there in 
1638, and the town records speak of him 
as "having been publicly useful," and 
again as "a great peace-maker." He 
served as selectman from 1639 to 1655. 
He died January 24, 1659 (old style), and 
his widow, Hannah Dwight, the mother 
of all his children, died September 5, 
1656. 

(II) Captain Timothy Dwight, son of 
John and Hannah Dwight, was born in 
Dedham, England, in 1629. He was 
brought to this country by his parents, 
and although there were no schools at 
Dedham, Massachusetts, at that early 
day, his career plainly demonstrates that 
he was well trained at home, his mother 
having been a woman of superior intelli- 
gence and character. He was made a 
freeman in 1655 ; served ten years as town 
clerk; and from 1664 to 1689 as select- 
man ; and was a representative to the 
General Court in 1691-92. He was one of 
the agents who negotiated with the In- 
dians for the purchase of their title to the 
lands comprising the town of Dedham. 
In his younger years he was cornet of a 
troop, went out ten times against the 
Indians, and held the rank of "Captain of 
Foot." It was said of him "he inherited 
the estate and virtues of his father, and 
added to both." He was married six 
times. The line herein followed is traced 
through the second child of his third 
wife, Anna (Flint) Dwight, born Sep- 
tember II, 1643, daughter of the Rev. 
Henry Flint, of Braintree (now Ouincy) 
Massachusetts, and his wife, Margery 
(Hoar) Flint, a sister of President Hoar, 
of Harvard College. She married (first) 
November 15. 1662, John Dassett, and 
(second) January 9, 1665, Captain Timo- 



thy Dwight. Of her it was said, "she 
was a gentlewoman of piety, prudence, 
and peculiarly accomplished for instruct- 
ing young gentlewomen — many being 
sent to her from other towns, especially 
from Boston." Captain Dwight died 
January 31, 1717, and his third wife, 
above mentioned, died January 29, 1685- 
86. 

(III) Nathaniel Dwight, son of Cap- 
tain Timothy and Anna (Flint) Dwight, 
was born November 20, 1660, and died 
November 7, 171 1. He removed from 
Dedham to Hatfield, Massachusetts, and 
from there, about 1695, to Northampton, 
where he resided until his death. He was 
a trader, farmer, and surveyor of land on 
a large scale. He held the office of jus- 
tice of the peace. He married, December 
9, 1693, Mehitable, daughter of Colonel 
Samuel and Mehitable (Crow) Partridge, 
of Hatfield, Massachusetts. Mr. Dwight 
died November 7, 1711, and the death of 
his widow occurred October 19, 1756. 

(IV) Colonel Timothy (2) Dwight. 
son of Nathaniel and Mehitable (Part- 
ridge) Dwight, was born at Hatfield, 
Massachusetts, October 19, 1694, and died 
December 15, 1763, leaving an estate 
valued at nine thousand pounds. He was 
a lawyer by profession, and was noted 
for his disposition to discourage litiga- 
tion, persuading litigants to settle their 
differences before referees. He was 
looked up to as one of the leading men in 
the community, was very successful in 
his undertakings, and acquired consider- 
able wealth. He was selectman of the 
town for a number of years ; was judge of 
probate, 1737-41 ; judge of the County 
Court, 1748-57, a portion of the time 
serving as chief justice ; for many years 
represented Northampton in the General 
Court, and was colonel of a regiment. 
He superintended the building of Fort 
Dummer in Vernon (now Brattleboro), 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Vermont, in 1724; he was first com- 
mander of the fort, and occupied that 
position until 1726. In 1724 he also super- 
intended the building of another fort at 
Northfield. He was largely employed 
also in surveying and platting towns in 
that section of the country. He married, 
August 16, 1716, Experience, daughter of 
Lieutenant John King. Jr., of Northamp- 
ton, and his wife, Mehitable (Pomeroy) 
King. Mrs. Dwight died December 15, 

(V) Major Timothy (3) Dwight, son 
cf Colonel Timothy (2) and Experience 
(Jsling) Dwight, was born at Fort Dum- 
mer, Vermont, May 27, 1726. He was a 
graduate of Yale University in 1747. His 
father had planned for him a career in the 
legal profession, but that did not appeal 
to him and he became a merchant at 
Northampton. He filled the office of 
selectman from 1760 to 1764; was town 
recorder from 1760 to 1765; register of 
probate and judge of the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas from 1758 to 1774, succeeding 
his father who resigned that position in 
1757; and was a representative to the 
General Court for a number of years. He 
conceived the idea of founding an indus- 
trial and religious colony at Natchez, and 
he accordingly purchased largely of the 
crown grant made to General Lyman at 
that place. In the spring of 1776 he set 
out for the southwest with his sons, 
Sereno and Jonathan, and his sister, Mrs. 
Eleanor Lyman, and her children. His 
health, which previously had been good, 
gave way within a years' time to the 
severe strain put upon it, and his death 
occurred June 10, 1777. the death of his 
sister Eleanor having occurred two 
months previously. He married, No- 
vember 8, 1750, Mary, daughter of the 
Rev. Jonathan Edwards, by whom he had 
thirteen children. She was "uniformly 
described as a lady of uncommon beauty, 
intellisrence and excellence." 



(VI) Colonel Cecil Dwight, son of 
Major Timothy (3) and Mary (Edwards) 
Dwight, was born June 10, 1774. During 
his young manhood he served as deputy 
sheriff and a colonel of militia, and he 
was also an auctioneer. In 1812 he was 
a member of the State Legislature, and 
served in an acceptable manner. In 1824 
he retired to his farm comprising three 
hundred acres, which he cultivated and 
im!iroved. Like his progenitors he was 
a sincerely religious man, and he was dis- 
tinguished for the positiveness of his 
moral convictions and conduct, and for 
his simplicity, modesty, gentleness, indus- 
try and energy. He was largely employed 
as an arbitrator, and actively promoted 
the material interests of the town. He 
married, in June, 1798, Mary Clap, born 
February 12, 1774, died May 16, 1844. 
She survived her husband a number of 
years, his death occurring at Moscow, 
New York, November 26, 1839. 

(VII) Rev. Henry Augustus Dwight, 
son of Colonel Cecil and Mary (Clap) 
Dwight, was born at Northampton, 
March 7, 1804. After completing his 
studies, he accepted a position as clerk in 
a hardware store at Petersburgh, Vir- 
ginia, owned by James Dwight, a son of 
President Timothy Dwight, of Yale, ind 
remained in that service for a number of 
years. He then entered Williams College, 
from, which he was graduated in 1829, 
after which he studied theology at New 
Haven and at East Windsor. Connecti- 
cut. For twenty years he taught the 
classics in various parts of the south — 
at Tuscaloosa and Demopolis, Alabama, 
and at Norfolk and Richmond, Virginia, 
and from i860 until his death, which 
occurred May 24, 1879, he resided at 
Northampton, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried, December 4, 1838, Elizabeth Brint- 
nell, born in 1S08, died October 20 1843, 
daughter of Captain William Brintnell. 
of New Haven, Connecticut. She was 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



survived by two sons: Charles Au- 
gustus, who died in Chicago, Illinois, Oc- 
tober 8, 1862, aged twenty-three years, 
and Henry Cecil, of whom further. 

(VIII) General Henry Cecil Dwight, 
son of the Rev. Henry Augustus and 
E'izabeth (Brintnell) Dwight, was born 
in Northampton, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 19, 1841. He acquired a practical 
education in the schools of his native 
town, and his first employment was as 
clerk in a dry goods store there. At the 
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 he 
enlisted in a three months' regiment, but 
Northampton's quota being filled, he was 
unable to go at once to the front. In 
September, 1861, he was largely instru- 
mental in organizing Company A, 27th 
Massachusetts Regiment, and was ap- 
pcjinted sergeant-major of the command, 
which went with the Burnside expedition 
to North Carolina. Three months later 
he was appointed second lieutenant of 
Company H, and in April, 1862, was 
transferred to his original company and 
promoted to first lieutenant. On July i 
of the same year he was made captain, 
having just attained his majority. He 
was stationed with his regiment in North 
Carolina until the fall of 1863, and was 
then assigned to provost duty in Norfolk, 
Virginia. Captain Dwight was returned 
to his regiment in the spring of 1864, and 
participated in the campaign on the James 
river under General Butler. In Novem- 
ber, 1863, he was appointed recruiting 
officer of the 27th Regiment, and was suc- 
cessful in reenlisting three hundred and 
forty-three men. On May 16, 1864, he 
was transferred from the 27th Regiment 
to stafif service as assistant commissary 
of subsistence under special order from 
headquarters, and he continued in that 
branch of the service until his term of 
enlistment expired, September 28, i86jI. 



Shortly after his return from the war. 
Captain Dwight became a resident of 
Hartford, Connecticut, and has resided 
there from that time to the present. He 
entered the employ of E. N. Kellnt^g &: 
Company, dealers in wool, and later was 
with Austin Dunham & Sons. He i'nally 
decided to engage in business on his own 
account and formed a partnership with 
Drayton Hillyer under the firm name of 
H. C. Dwight & Company. Afterwards 
the firm became Dwight, Skinner & Com- 
pany, which continued for a number of 
years. Then Messrs. Hillyer and Skinner 
withdrew, and the firm became H. C. 
Dwight & Company, Mr. Dwight being 
the controlling factor. The venture was 
a success from the beginning, and the 
firm conducts an extensive wool business 
throughout New England and have con- 
nections in all the Western and South- 
western States. 

General Dwight's patriotism did not 
exhaust itself on the field of battle. He 
believes that the paths of peace afford 
unlimited opportunities for devotion to 
the common good, and it was but natural 
that his active interest in public affairs 
should lead him into political life. In 
1871 he was elected a member of the 
Common Council from the Fourth Ward ; 
in 1875 he was elected to the Board of 
Aldermen ; was appointed, December 27, 
1880, by Mayor Bulkeley, a member of 
the Board of Street Commissioners and 
served continuously until 1890; in April, 
1890, he was elected mayor of Hartford, 
and in this position he had a wider scope 
for the exercise of those talents and char- 
acteristics that had hitherto marked his 
activities in the various public offices he 
had been called upon to fill. During his 
administration the organization of the fire 
department was greatly improved and 
new and up-to-date equipment was in- 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stalled, greatly adding to the efficiency 
of the department. The administration 
of the police department was strength- 
ened and improved, and the street service 
of the city was given due prominence and 
attention, and the first steps were taken 
to give the city an increased water sup- 
ply. He demonstrated his capacity for 
large affairs, giving the city a business- 
like administration, effecting many im- 
portant economies. He never played 
petty politics, but conducted matters in 
consonance with a high ideal of public 
service, and his untiring and unselfish 
devotion won for him universal esteem 
and the commendation even of those who 
were opposed to the party he represented. 
He has also taken a very active interest 
in educational matters, having served for 
many years as chairman of the South 
School District, with about one hundred 
and fifty teachers under his control, and 
one of the schools has been named in his 
honor. 

General Dwight is also prominently 
identified with a number of the important 
financial institutions of the city, having 
been an official of the Mechanics' Savings 
Bank for many years and its president 
for a considerable period of time, and he 
is also a director of the American Bank- 
ing and Trust Company and of the Phoe- 
nix (Fire) Insurance Company. He has 
been a member of the Hartford Hospital 
Corps for a quarter of a century, and has 
always been ready to aid in any way in 
his power enterprises and measures in- 
augurated to help the unfortunate. 

His interest in military affairs has 
never abated. In January, 1885, he was 
appointed paymaster-general on the staff 
of Governor Henry B. Harrison. This 
brought him into intimate contact with 
the National Guard of Connecticut, which 
added to his already great popularity in 



State military circles. He commanded 
the Union Veteran Battalion on the 
memorable Battle Flag Day. He is a 
charter member of Robert O. Tyler Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, member of 
the Loyal Legion, ex-president of the 
Society of the Army of the Potomac, and 
president of the Ninth and Eighteenth 
Corps Society of the Army of the James. 
He is an ex-president of the Roanoke 
Association, founded to perpetuate the 
memory of the Burnside expedition. He 
is also a member of the Army and Navy 
Club of Connecticut. 

General Dwight married, October 3, 
1865, Annie Maria Wright, daughter of 
William Lyman Wright, of Hartford. 
She was born September 4, 1844, died 
April 29, 1915. They had the follow- 
ing children : Major William Brintnell 
Dwight, of New York City, who served 
in the war with Spain ; Charles Augustus, 
deceased ; Annie Maria, died in infancy ; 
Henry Cecil, of San Antonio, Texas ; 
Grace V. R., who became the wife of 
Daniel R. Morgan, of New York City. 

No citizen of Hartford stands in 
higher popular esteem than General 
Dwight. His disinterested public serv- 
ice, performed at considerable sacrifice of 
personal interests, won the approval of 
all classes in the community and indicates 
his breadth of mind. He is a man of posi- 
tive convictions, with executive ability 
and force of will to carry to a successful 
conclusion any plan that his mature 
judgment approves. His generous nature, 
genial disposition and sterling character 
have made him one of the recognized 
leaders of his day, and stamp him as the 
worthy representative of a family that 
since the earliest Colonial days has 
wielded a powerful influence for good in 
moulding the moral character and institu- 
tions of New England. 



262 



THE 1^;; 



i 




l.eU'l-i Historical Pi^l Co 






^"A^i/^UflACu^ /o/^l^O 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CLARK, Charles Hopkins, 

Journalist, Public Worker. 

Charles Hopkins Clark, of Hartford, 
director of the Associated Press, and 
since 1871 closely connected with the 
leading Connecticut State journal, the 
"Hartford Courant," — at present, as its 
editor-in-chief and president — has been 
prominent in public movements within 
the State of Connecticut for very many 
years. A native of Hartford, Mr. Clark 
has become an influential factor in the 
public life of that city, and has been ever 
ready to use his powerful medium to the 
limit of its capacity and sphere of in- 
fluence, to further any project that in his 
estimation promised good to the city or 
State. That Charles Hopkins Clark has 
in matters of city betterment, industrial 
advancement, State and National politics, 
and community welfare, followed with 
energy and ability the example set by his 
public-spirited father, who did so much 
for the city of Hartford, has been gener- 
ally conceded ; and his commanding per- 
sonality and the high standard of his 
public work have earned him a well- 
recognized place among the present lead- 
ing citizens of the State. 

Charles Hopkins Clark is in direct 
lineal descent from Lieutenant William 
Clark, who came to America from Eng- 
land in 1630, in the ship "Mary and John," 
settled in Dorchester, Massachusetts, and 
eventually, in 1659, at the invitation of 
the Rev. Eleazer Mather, removed to 
Northampton, Massachusetts, journeying 
thither afoot, leading his only horse, 
which carried his whole family — his wife 
in the saddle, a child in each of the side 
panniers, and a third in its mother's lap. 
William Clark, on June i, 1659, was 
allotted land at Northampton — a home lot 
which his descendants still retain, of 
twelve acres, located where now stands 



Elm street, on Mill river, including the 
Judge Dewey or President Seelye place. 
Thereon, William Clark built a log house 
which was their habitation until de- 
stroyed by the incendiary act of a negro 
slave. In its place he then erected a sub- 
stantial frame house which remained a 
landmark until 1826, and became known 
as the Elihu Clark house. He was a man 
of worthy characteristics, and became 
prominent in the governmental affairs of 
the colony ; was selectman for twenty 
years after 1660, and deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court after 1665, gaining place also 
in Colonial church history as one of the 
famous "seven pillars'' of the church at 
Northampton. His military title came by 
service during King Philip's War as a 
member of the military company of North- 
ampton. Anterior to his removal to 
Northampton, William Clark was in 
1646-47 selectman of the town of Dor- 
chester, and after his reentry to civilian 
life following the military campaign, 
again became prominent in the local 
administration ; he was appointed com- 
missioner to terminate small causes, and 
subsequently became associate judge of 
Hampshire county, enjoying that dignity 
for many years, and attaining the vener- 
able age of eighty-one years, which he 
reached in the year 1690. 

Twice married, his first wife died on 
September 6, 1675 ; his second, whom he 
married November 15, 1676, was Sarah, 
the widow of Thomas Cooper, of Spring- 
field. She died May 8, 1688. The nine 
children of William Clark were all born 
to his first wife, seventh among them 
being his son John, who was born at Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1651, and died 
at Northampton, September (or Novem- 
ber) 3, 1684. John Clark was elected 
deacon of the Northampton church in 
1691 ; was sergeant of the military com- 
pany ; deputy to the General Court for 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fourteen sessions after 1699; and died "of Eleven years later, in 1820, he sold his 

fatigue and a cold taken in a violent snow drug business and removed to Hartford, 

storm, on returning from Boston in 1704," Connecticut, vi^here he acquired a part- 

at Windsor, Connecticut. He married, nership in the firm of David Watkinson 

July 12, 1677, Rebecca, daughter of & Company, iron and steel merchants and 

Thomas Cooper, of Springfield, and, in manufacturers. He prospered in that con- 



the year following that of her demise, 
married, on March 20, 1679, Mary, the 
thirteenth child of Elder John Strong. 
Lieutenant Ebenezer Clark, son of 
Deacon John and Mary (Strong) Clark, 
was born at Northampton, October 18, 



nection, and in course of time became 
principal member of the firm. With expan- 
sion and time came many changes in the 
constitution of the firm, with correspond- 
ing changes in name, successively as 
Clark. Gill & Company, Ezra Clark & 



1683 ; became lieutenant of the Northamp- Company, Clark & Company, and, finally, 
ton company, and attained prominence in L. L. Ensworth & Company. Ezra (2) 
the local administration. He was elected Clark married Laura Hunt, and their 
selectman in 1731, and lived to be nearly third son, Ezra (3), who was born on 
one hundred years old, and father of September 12, 1813, in Brattleboro, Ver- 
eight children by his wife, Abigail Par- mont, was eventually admitted to the 
sons, of Springfield, whom he married in firm of which his father had become 
1712. His second son, Ezra, was born in principal owner, the admission being the 
Northampton in 1716, and had an event- cause of the first change in the firm name 
ful life. From the first alarm in August, from that of David Watkinson & Com- 
1777, Ezra Clark gave national military pany to that of Clark, Gill & Company, 
service during the Revolution. Prior to A period of serious trade depression in 
that, he had entered actively into public 1857 brought financial disaster to Ezra 
afifairs, and had occupied many town and Clark, Jr. However, in course of time. 
Colonial offices ; was delegate from he returned to Hartford, and redeemed 
Northampton to the Congress at Stock- every legitimate liability in full. A man 
bridge, September 22, 1774; was member of convincing presence and strong per- 
of the committee of inspection in 1774-75 ; sonality, he became a director of the Ex- 
was member of the Committee of Safety, change Bank, and president of the Na- 
and a selectman in 1776; and generally tional Screw Company of Hartford, which 
was esteemed in his community. Among corporation later consolidated with the 
his ten children was Jonas, who was born American Screw Company, of Providence, 



in Northampton in 1 75 1, and who, with 
his father and brothers, served the nation 
during the Revolution, his service being 
of particular note, in that he was present 



Rhode Island. In public activities he 
took prominent part ; was at one time a 
member of the Comm£in Council of Hart- 
ford, advancing to the Board of Alder- 



at the battle of Bunker Hill. Eventually men, and subsequently was appointed 
Jonas Clark, having inherited the ances- judge of the city court. He held numer- 
tral homestead, applied himself to the ous other offices of importance in Hart- 
responsibilities of its upkeep. His son, ford affairs, and came into National and 
Ezra (2). was born in Northampton, but State distinction as representative from 
when a man removed to Brattleboro, Ver- the Hartford Congressional District to 
mont, where he became a druggist, and the National House of Representatives, 
gained the courtesy title of "doctor." He was elected to the Thirty-fourth 

264 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



United States Congress, and reelected to 
the Thirty-tifth. In local administrative 
office he, as president of the Hartford 
Water Board, was responsible for the 
establishment of the greater part of the 
original system of water works of the 
city, and later of the West Hampden 
reservoirs. He also laid out Reservoir 
Park, connecting the several reservoirs 
of the city by a picturesque driveway 
through the woods. The large Tumble- 
down Brook Reservoir was planned and 
built under his supervision. He also for 
many years was president of the Young 
Men's Institute of Hartford. On October 
14, 1841, he married Mary, daughter of 
Daniel P. and Mary (Whiting) Hopkins, 
of Hartford, and their older son was 
Charles Hopkins Clark, of whom further. 
The Hon. Ezra (3) Clark died at Hart- 
ford, on September 26, 1896, and his wife, 
]\Iary (Hopkins) Clark, on May 28, 1866. 
Charles Hopkins Clark, son of the Hon. 
Ezra (3) and Mary (Hopkins) Clark, 
was born in Hartford, on April i, 1848. 
His primary education was obtained in 
the public schools of Hartford, and at the 
Free Academy in New York. Later, he 
attended the Hartford Public High 
School, from which he was graduated in 
the class of 1867. He then proceeded to 
Yale College, graduating in 1871. Appar- 
ently he had decided to enter upon a 
journalistic career, for very soon after 
leaving Yale he joined the staff of the 
"Hartford Courant," known as "the old- 
est newspaper of continuous publication 
in the country." With that journal he 
has since held close and responsible con- 
nection. He did good work, and steadily 
advanced in the esteem of his employers, 
Hawley, Goodrich & Company ; so much 
so that in 1887 he was admitted to the 
firm, and, when it took corporate powers 
as the "Hartford Courant Company," he 
was chosen secretary. After the death 



of Stephen A. Hubbard, for many years 
managing editor of "The Courant," Mr. 
Clark became editor-in-chief of that in- 
fluential and widely-circulated journal. 
The editorial direction of that important 
organ of Republicanism has since re- 
mained with him. The paper's policies, 
which of course are in the main his own, 
give indication of his broad conception of 
responsible government, and of his readi- 
ness and ability to act forcefully when 
necessary in the public interest. Mr. 
Clark, while in service of "The Courant," 
worked under distinguished men, among 
them Charles Dudley Warner and United 
States Senator Joseph R. Hawley, who 
were part owners of the newspaper. 
Later, when he became president. General 
Arthur L. Goodrich was made treasurer, 
and Frank S. Carey, secretary. A genea- 
logical sketch of the Clark family written 
for and included in the "Genealogical and 
Family History of the State of Connec- 
ticut" (Lewis Historical Publishing Com- 
pany, 191 1 ) records the following regard- 
ing Charles Hopkins Clark and the Hart- 
ford "Courant:" 

Under the administration of Mr. Clark, the 
newspaper has gained in prestige and influence, 
even as it has grown in circulation. Its plant has 
more than kept pace with the progress of the art 
of printing and the enlargement of the scope and 
usefulness of the modern daily newspaper * * * 
It is one of the few newspapers that have been 
likened to the Bible in the confidence accorded by 
its readers, and in hundred of families this news- 
paper has been a regular and welcome visitor, 
generation after generation. 

In Volume I, page 233, of "Men of 
Mark in Connecticut" (1906), is a bio- 
graphical sketch of Mr. Clark, edited by 
the late Samuel Hart, D. D.. president of 
the Connecticut Historical Society ; it 
opens: 

Personal accomplishment is one measure of a 
man's life. The influencing of others to achieve- 



26s 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ment is another, hardly secondary, and if in fact 
less appreciated, it is because it is not always fur- 
nished by those influenced, and is of itself more 
difficult of apprehension by the world at large. 
Both measures are invited by the life of Charles 
Hopkins Clark, of Hartford. And one is as 
readily applied by the reviewer as the other, since 
the result of his endeavor with and through others 
is as clear to the public mind as is his one "life 
work," the editorship of the Hartford "Courant." 
As editor of such a journal, through a consider- 
able period of years, he naturally would have 
great influence in a wide circle of most intelligent 
readers; that is the function of every worthy 
editor, and that— the public has often learned— 
is what Mr. Clark prizes above all other honors. 
But there is another source and method of his in- 
fluence, as of his achievement, and that is to be 
found in the versatility of his genius, his quick 
grasp of a situation in its entirety, his frankness 
and keenness as an adviser. The question put, the 
answer comes like a flash, sometimes convulsing 
one with its wit, but always unerringly straight to 
the point. 

Among the noteworthy public activities 
of Mr. Clark may be stated the following: 
He was a delegate to the Connecticut 
Constitutional Convention in 1901 ; prior 
to that "his business acumen had been 
requisitioned by the State when the Tax 
Commission made its exhaustive investi- 
gation and published its valuable report ;" 
he was a member of Secretary (later 
President) Taft's party in the expedition 
to the Philippines, in 1905. And in execu- 
tive capacity, he is identified with the 
following: The Associated Press, direc- 
tor; the Connecticut Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, director ; the Phoenix 
Fire Insurance Company, director ; Wads- 
worth .Xtheneum and Watkinson Library, 
Hartford, treasurer; the Collins Company, 
vice-president ; the State Reformatory, 
director ; and with several other institu- 
tions. 

In 1910 Mr. Clark was elected to a 
fellowship of the Corporation of Yale 
University, and at that time Trinity Col- 
lege conferred on him the degree of L. H. 



D. He has meinbership in the Univer- 
sity, Century, and Yale clubs of New 
York, in the Hartford Club, and the 
Graduates' Club, of New Haven, and 
others. He is a member of the Asylum 
Hill Congregational Church. 

In December, 1873, Charles Hopkins 
Clark married Ellen, daughter of Elisha 
K. and Matilda (Colt) Root, the former 
prominent in Connecticut industrial 
circles in his capacity of president of the 
Colt Firearms Company. Mrs. Ellen 
(Root) Clark was born November 6, 1850, 
and died February 28, 1895. About five 
vears later, in November, 1899, Mr. Clark 
married Matilda C. Root, sister of his 
first wife. To his first wife were born 
two children; i. Horace Bushnell. who 
was born June 22, 1875; graduated at 
Yale in 1898; became associated in editor- 
ial capacity with his father, being now 
secretary of the "Courant," and has 
taken good part in the public activities of 
Hartford, coming into public note as the 
president of the Hartford Board of Fire 
Commissioners. 2. Mary, who was born 
May 13, 1878, and married Henry K. W. 
Welch. 



HATCH, Edward Buckingham, 

Man of Affairs. 

Edward Buckingham Hatch, one of the 
representative business men of Hartford, 
attaining his present high position by the 
exercise of industry, perseverance, ability 
and aptitude for detail, is a descendant 
of a family that has for several gener- 
ations been prominently identified with 
the general business interests of the com- 
munities wherein they resided. For 
many years the name has been esteemed 
and honored in the State of Connecticut, 
and closely associated with straightfor- 
ward methods and all that is character- 
istic of honorable industry. 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Edward Buckingham Hatch is of the 
eighth American generation, a lineal de- 
scendant of Nathaniel Hatch, who came 
to this country from England in 1635 ^"d 
settled at Falmouth, Massachusetts. His 
son, Zephaniah Hatch, was a sea captain, 
and the founder of the Connecticut branch 
of the family, residing at Guilford. His 
son. Major Timothy Hatch, enlisted in 
the Revolutionary army when a mere 
lad, was taken prisoner at White Plains, 
was a major of the Connecticut State 
militia after the war, and in 1804 settled 
in Hartford, Connecticut. His son, Tim- 
othy Linus Hatch, was a man of sub- 
stance, active in the afifairs of the com- 
munity. His son, Walter S. Hatch, was 
also identified with the varied interests 
of the section wherein he made his home. 
His son, George E. Hatch, was a mer- 
chant of Hartford, and a prominent citi- 
zen. He married, June 4, 1855, Laura 
Stanley Stiles, and they were the parents 
of Edward Buckingham Hatch, of this 
review. Mrs. Hatch died March 14. 1870. 

The Stiles family is of Anglo-Saxon 
origin, and resided in the southeastern 
part of England long before the Con- 
quest. The family coat-of-arms is as 
follows : Sable, a fesse engrailed, fretty 
of the field or and sable, between three 
fluers-de-lis or and a border, or. John 
Stiles, the immigrant ancestor, was bap- 
tized in St. Michael's Church, Milbroke, 
Bedfordshire. England, December 25, 
1595. He married Rachel , in Eng- 
land, and came to America in 1634, and 
was forty years of age when he settled 
in Windsor. Connecticut, where he died, 
June 4, 1662-63, aged sixty-seven years, 
and his widow died September 3, 1674. 
Their son, John Stiles, was born in Eng- 
land about 1633, died December 8, 1683. 
He settled at Windsor, Connecticut. He 
married Dorcas, daughter of Henry Beers, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, October 28, 



1658. She was born in 1638. Their son, 
John Stiles, was born December 10, 1665, 
died May 20, 1753. He settled at Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, and was the first of the 
name to settle on the east side of the 
Great River, then known as Windsor 
Farms ; that was probably in 1699 or 
1700. His first wife was Ruth, daughter 
of Samuel Bancroft, of Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, who died in 1714. Their son, 
the Rev. Isaac Stiles, was born at East 
Windsor, Connecticut, July 30, 1697, O. 
S. He worked as a weaver until he was 
nearly twenty years of age. He then 
prepared for Yale under a private tutor, 
was graduated Bachelor of Arts in 1725, 
and was given the Master of Arts degree, 
being the first of the name and blood in 
America who had a liberal education. 
He was a good classical scholar, especially 
in Latin, and gave considerable attention 
to the study of oratory and the Bible all 
his life ; his valedictory oration made in 
1722 is a piece of elegant Latin. After 
his graduation he studied theology for a 
time, preached for a short time in the 
"Jerseys," returned to New England, and 
conducted a school at Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, also preaching there on proba- 
tion. While a resident of that place he 
married Keziah, daughter of the Rev. 
Edward Taylor. He was ordained, No- 
vember II, 1724, at what is now North 
Haven. He is thus described by his son. 
President Stiles: "He was of above 
medium stature (the largest of the fam- 
ilv) upright, alert and active, unbowed to 
the day of his death. Had a small pierc- 
ing black eye, which at times he filled 
with flame and vengeance. Quick in his 
temper and passionate to the last degree. 
On occasion none could be more cheerful 
and merry in company, but when alone, 
or with his family only, he was gloomy or 
perpetually repining. His discourses were 
in the declamatory way. None could give 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



more animated descriptions of Heaven 
and Hell, the joys of the one and the 
damnation of the other." He was of a 
very high strung temperament, very 
changeable in his moods, passing quickly 
from one extreme of pleasurable emotion 
and cordial sociability to the other of 
petulance and taciturnity. This was 
largely due to a physical constitution none 
too robust. He was a celebrated preacher, 
a powerful controversialist and one of the 
most influential clergymen of his time. 
In public ecclesiastical affairs of the 
colony of Connecticut he was much en- 
gaged and esteemed for his sound views 
and judgment. In October, 1728, he mar- 
ried for his second wife, from whom Ed- 
ward B. Hatch is descended, Esther, 
daughter of Samuel Hooker, Jr., of Farm- 
ington, Connecticut. He died May 14, 
1760, in the thirty-sixth year of his minis- 
try, and his widow died January 2, 1779, 
aged seventy-seven years. Their son, 
Ashbel Stiles, was born at North Haven, 
Connecticut, September 11, 1735, died at 
Huntington, in October, 1810. He inher- 
ited the family mansion and a comfort- 
able property, but lost all through endors- 
ing a note for a friend. He removed from 
New Haven to Windsor, and then to 
what is now Huntington, Massachusetts. 
He served in the Revolutionary War, and 
was at Horse Neck from May, 1781, to 
March, 1782. In February, 1759, he mar- 
ried his cousin, Hannah, daughter of 
Lieutenant Samuel Stiles, of Windsor. 
She died one month before her husband. 
Their son, Samuel Stiles, was born De- 
cember 3, 1762, died at Windsor, October 
15, 1826. He lived at Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, Windsor, Connecticut, Ches- 
ter, Massachusetts, and returned to Wind- 
sor. He served as a private in a Windsor 
company in the War of 1812, and was at 
Fort Trumbull in February. 1813. He 
married, in 1787, Hannah Ellsworth, of 
Windsor, Connecticut, and she died at 



Chicopee, Massachusetts, January 12, 
1828. Their son, Benjamin Stiles, born at 
Chester, Massachusetts, August 3, 1799, 
married Mehitable Booth, born January 
13. 1790, daughter of Nathan and Fanny 
Booth, and they were the parents of 
Laura Stanley (Stiles) Hatch, aforemen- 
tioned. 

Edward Buckingham Hatch was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, December 20, 
1861. He completed the courses of study 
in the public school, then attended the 
high school, after which he entered Trin- 
ity College in 1882 and was graduated 
Bachelor of Arts, class of 1886. He then 
entered the employ of the Johns-Pratt 
Company, then recently formed by Henry 
W. Johns, of New York, president, in 
association with Rufus X. Pratt, of Hart- 
ford, secretary. The company, capitalized 
at $100,000, began business in 1886 as 
manufacturers of "Vulcabeston" packings 
and electrical insulating materials. Mr. 
Hatch began in the capacity of clerk, but 
quickly began to ascend the ladder of 
promotion. He applied himself assidu- 
ously to the task in hand, filling each posi- 
tion so well that he was soon called to a 
higher one. The company expanded 
rapidly and in 1892 increased their capital, 
taking on new lines of manufacture. In 
1893 Mr. Hatch was elected secretary and 
manager of the company, thus becoming 
a m.uch more important factor in the man- 
agement. In 1898 the manufacture of 
"Noark" fuses and electric protective de- 
vices was begun, and in the same year 
Mr. Hatch was elected president and 
treasurer. From that time he has been 
the executive head, and to his ability, 
judgment, progressive spirit and energy 
the growth and prosperity of the company 
is largely due. In 1905 the capital stock 
was doubled and facilities for manufac- 
ture and distribution largely increased. 
In addition to their line of "Vulcabeston" 
packings, which include all classes of 
268 



: library: 
I 

ASTOR. LCMO\ 
TILDEN FCU;:D..TiONS 





I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



engine room packings, the company 
manufactures a variety of electric protec- 
tive devices, etc., their patents covering 
a wide range. The H. W. Johns-Manville 
Company of New Jersey are sole selling 
agents, and through the many branches 
maintained by that company the special- 
ties manufactured by the Johns-Pratt 
Company are distributed to the world. 

Mr. Hatch has grown and expanded in 
executive and managerial strength as 
greater responsibilities have been imposed 
and is one of the strong men of the city. 
He is a director of the Hartford Aetna 
National Bank, the Dime Savings Bank, 
the Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and 
Insurance Company, and has other busi- 
ness interests. He is a trustee of the Colt 
Bequest, in charge of the large estate left 
by Samuel Colt and his widow, and is a 
trustee of Trinity College, his alma mater. 
He is a director of the Holyoke Water 
Power Company, the Standard Fire In- 
surance Company of Hartford, and the 
Hartford County Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company. 

Mr. Hatch is a warden of Trinity Prot- 
estant Episcopal Church, and in politics 
a Republican. His fraternal connection 
is with the Masonic order as a member 
of St. John's Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott Coun- 
cil, Royal and Select Masters ; Washing- 
ton Commandery, Knights Templar; and 
Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. His college 
fraternity is Alpha Delta Phi, his clubs, 
the Hartford, Hartford Golf, Farmington 
Country, Twentieth Century, Republican, 
University, Church of Connecticut, and 
Alpha Delta Phi of New York. In early 
life he gave five years' service in the Con- 
necticut National Guard, as a member of 
Company K, First Regiment. 

Mr. Hatch married, at Hartford, Sep- 



tember 12, 1889, Georgia, daughter of 
George W. Watson, of Hartford. Chil- 
dren: Helen, James Watson, Edward 
Watson. 



HUNT, Henry H., 

Attorney. 

A descendant of Governor John Web- 
ster, of Connecticut, and other worthy 
pioneers of New England, Mr. Hunt has 
manifested the traits which are naturally 
inherent in most of the descendants of 
such ancestors. The Hunt family is a 
very ancient one, beginning with John 
Hunt, who came late in life to Connec- 
ticut, and died before 1659. He married, 
ir England, Mary Webster, probably eld- 
est daughter and perhaps eldest child of 
Governor John and Agnes Webster of 
Warwickshire, England. About 1633, 
John Webster came to Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, and was a member of Rev. 
Thomas Hooker's company which settled 
Hartford three years later. After filling 
many official stations of importance in 
the colony, he was elected Governor in 
1656, and served for several years in that 
capacity. 

Deacon Jonathan Hunt, son of John and 
Mary (Webster) Hunt, was born about 
1637, in Sudburrow Thrapstone, North- 
amptonshire, England, and came to Con- 
necticut in 1658. He was a malster by 
occupation ; removed about 1660 to North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, where he was 
made freeman of the Massachusetts 
colony in 1662; was deacon from 1680 to 
1691 ; representative, 1690; and died Sep- 
tember 29, 1691. He married, September 
3 1662, Clemence Hosmer, born about 
1642, daughter of Thomas Hosmer, who 
was in Cambridge as early as 1632, made 
freeman May 6, 1635, was among the first 
settlers of Hartford, where he served as 
constable, selectman, representative and 
died leaving a good estate. 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ebenezer Hunt, fifth son of Deacon 
Jonathan, was born February 5, 1675, in 
Northampton, and about 1723 settled at 
Lebanon, Connecticut, where he died 
February 23, 1743. He married. May 27, 
1698, Hannah Clark, born May 5, 1681, 
died June 10, 1758, daughter of William 
and Hannah (Strong) Clark, of North- 
ampton, the latter a daughter of Elder 
John Strong, a prominent New England 
pioneer, who left a numerous prodigy. 

William Hunt, third son of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (Clark) Hunt, was born Oc- 
tober 12, 1705, in Lebanon, and lived in 
Lebanon Crank, now the town of Co- 
lumbia. He married, in 1734, Sarah Ly- 
man, who was born January 24, 1713, died 
1746, daughter of Lieutenant Jonathan 
And Lydia Loomis Lyman, of Lebanon. 
Their fifth son was Eldad Hunt, born 
October 21, 1742, in Lebanon, lived in 
Columbia, and died 1822. He married, 
December 9, 1778, Hulda Benton, born 
July 15, 1752, died April 24, 1814. Her 
seventh son was Dr. Orrin Hunt, born 
January 12, 1793, in Columbia, a very suc- 
cessful physician, a man of high Chris- 
tian character, sympathetic nature, and 
widely beloved and esteemed both as a 
physician and citizen. After passing 
several years in Bolton, he removed to 
Glastonbury, but returned to Bolton and 
died there August 24, 1850. He read 
medicine under Dr. Fuller, of Columbia, 
and was among the most capable and 
skillful physicians in his day. He mar- 
ried (first) Louisa Little, who died April 
14, 1824; married (second) September 
II, 1826. Adeline Cone, who was born in 
February, 1803. She was the mother of 
Henry Hale Hunt, who was born about 
1827, and lived in Glastonbury, then 
moved to Clinton, Connecticut, where he 
engaged in paper manufacturing, he died 
in Vernon. Connecticut, in 191 1. He 
married, in 1849, Charlotte N. House. 



Wilton Hale Hunt, son of Henry Hale 
Hunt, was born May 12. 1854, in Glaston- 
bury, where he was actively engaged for 
many years in the meat business, and is 
now living retired at Lynn, Massachu- 
setts. He married, January 12, 1877, 
Sarah A. Stafford, daughter of John and 
Eva (Lowe) Stafford. Children: i. 
Henry H. 2. Herbert W., married Nellie 
A. Goodale, 1901 ; one child. Faith Louise. 

Henry Hale Hunt, son of Wilton H. 
and Sarah A. (Stafford) Hunt, was born 
May I, 1878, in Glastonbury, where his 
home has continued throughout his life. 
The public schools of the neighborhood 
supplied his early education, which has 
been supplemented by private study and 
the training which goes with a keen per- 
ception and a studious disposition. While 
yet a boy he was employed in Glazier's 
woolen mill of Glastonbury, and continued 
there until his nineteenth year. Follow- 
ing this, four years were spent as clerk in 
a grocery store, after which he entered 
the office of the National Fire Insurance 
Company of Hartford. Here opportunity 
for further study was opened to him. and 
while continuing his clerical labors his 
leisure hours were devoted to the study 
of law under the preceptorship of Judge 
Harrison B. Freeman, now deceased. 
Though somewhat handicapped by the 
lack of a college training, he was persist- 
ent and made such diligent application 
that in 1912 he was admitted to the Hart- 
ford county bar. For one year he con- 
tinued in the office of Harrison B. Free- 
man, son of his preceptor, and since 1913 
has conducted an independent practice 
with flattering success. In 1915 he suc- 
ceeded to the practice of the late Joseph 
Barbour, who died in that year. Am- 
bitious, earnest, capable, industrious and 
possessing a pleasing personality, he has 
made many friends and is rapidly winning 
his way to eminence in his profession. In 



270 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1915, Mr. Hunt purchased a handsome 
country residence at Glastonbury, where 
he makes his home throughout the year. 

He represented the town of Glaston- 
bury in the Connecticut Legislature, 1913- 
14; represented the Fourth Senatorial 
District in the State Senate, 1917-18, and 
is chairman of the committee on insur- 
ance and state prisons. He is interested 
in some of the business affairs of his 
native town. He was formerly president 
of the H. E. Olcott Company, which con- 
ducted an extensive mercantile business 
in Glastonbury until its establishment was 
recently burned out and the business dis- 
continued. He is a director of the River- 
side Paper Company, which is conduct- 
ing a prosperous business. Mr. Hunt is 
a member of the State and Hartford 
County Bar associations, and enjoys the 
regard of his brethren of the profession. 

In May, 1898, he enlisted for service 
during the war with Spain, and was mus- 
tered as a member of Company I, First 
Regiment, Connecticut Volunteer Infan- 
try. This body was stationed for some 
time on Plum Island, and later was 
ordered to Camp Alger, Virginia, but was 
not called to active service. Mr. Hunt 
was detailed as regimental commissary 
clerk. Afterward he became a member 
of the Governor's Footguard of Connec- 
ticut, in which he served two years, clos- 
ing in 1916. He is a past master of Co- 
lumbia Lodge, No. 25, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of South Glastonbury ; and also 
of Elm Lodge, No. 31, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, of that town. He is also 
affiliated with Hartford Lodge, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, of 
Hartford; and Charles F. Burdette Camp, 
Veterans of the Spanish War; and is a 
member of the City and Hartford clubs 
of Hartford. Both he and his wife are 
communicants of St. Luke's Episcopal 
Church, of South Glastonbury. 



Mr. Hunt married, June 2-/, 1900, Anna 
J Goodale, daughter of Henry A. Goodale, 
of Glastonbury, and they are the parents 
oi a son and daughter: Donald H. Hunt, 
born February 12, 1907; and Barbara 
Elizabeth, born November 11, 1912. 



PARKER, Francis Hubert, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Mr. Parker descends from Edward Ful- 
ler, John Howland and John Tilley, of the 
"Mayflower" Pilgrims ; James Avery, 
John Elderkin, and William Lyon — all 
early settlers of Connecticut and Massa- 
chusetts. Three of his great-grand- 
fathers, John Parker, Nathan Avery and 
Josiah Lyon, were soldiers of the Revolu- 
tion. So much for heredity. 

His environment was in keeping. His 
father, Ozias H. Parker, was a representa- 
tive in the General Assembly in 1851, 1854 
and 1877 ; selectman for several years, 
first selectman for seven years ; town 
auditor; official school visitor; a man 
faithful to many trusts, a strict sense of 
honor, independent judgment, and strong 
common sense. His mother, Maria M. 
(Ayer) Parker, was a woman of strong 
character whose moral influence was 
exerted for the good of her son, as were 
the splendid qualities of the father. His 
home was a Connecticut farm whose acres 
he helped to cultivate, and there he built 
up the sound body that, as well as the 
clear brain, was needed for a strenuous 
life. 

Francis Hubert Parker was born at 
East Haddam. Middlesex county, Connec- 
ticut, September 23, 1850, son of Ozias 
H. and Maria M. (Ayer) Parker, and a 
descendant of William Parker, Hartford, 
1636; Saybrook, 1645. He exhausted the 
advantages of the public school, then in 
the intervals of farm work prepared for 
college by private study with Rev. Silas 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



W. Robbins, pastor of the First Congre- 
gational Church in East Haddam. He 
worked hard, and when fully prepared 
entered Wesleyan University at Middle- 
town, Connecticut, and in 1874 was gradu- 
ated with the Bachelor's degree. The law 
was the ultimate goal of his ambition, and 
his next step toward the fruition of his 
hopes was to enter Yale Law School, and 
in 1876 he was graduated Bachelor of 
Laws. He taught school one term during 
his college and two terms during his law 
course. 

He was admitted to the Connecticut bar 
and began practice in Hartford the year 
of his graduation from law school, and 
has there continued steadily and success- 
fully in his chosen profession. He has 
preferred the independence of a single 
ofifice, and has practiced alone even when 
not filling positions that forbade a part- 
ner. He was prosecuting attorney for the 
city of Hartford, 1887-91. and again 1894- 
95, and in 1915-17. He was referee in 
bankruptcy, 1898-1900, a position he re- 
signed when appointed United States At- 
torney for the District of Connecticut in 
1900 by President McKinley, serving 
until 1908. For two years, 1908-10, he 
was corporation counsel for the city of 
Hartford. He thoroughly understands 
the law and his joy is to elucidate its 
principles. His estimate of justice and of 
the law to establish and enforce it is based 
upon the belief that justice, being the 
supreme interest of mankind the law is a 
most worthy object of labor and study. 
As a speaker he is clear, logical and 
forcible, using nice distinctions and strong 
illustrations. His public professional 
service has been valuable and he has 
retired from every office with the entire 
respect of bench and bar. His private 
practice is conducted in all State and 
Federal courts of the district, his clientele 
of the best. An ardent Republican, Mr. 



Parker has neither sought political ofifice 
nor declined it when offered. He has 
pursued the path of duty, met every 
obligation of citizenship, squarely and 
fairly, sidesteps no responsibility. He 
represented East Haddam in the General 
Assembly in 1878 and 1880, and Hartford 
in 1909. He has been a delegate to many 
county, district and State party conven- 
tions. From 1896 to 1900 he was chair- 
m.an of the Hartford Republican Town 
Committee. 

Many-sided are his interests, and in his 
desire to be of service he has assumed 
official responsibilities in many organiza- 
tions. He was president of the board of 
trustees of the Connecticut School for 
Boys, 1899-1909; is chairman of the 
library committee of the Connecticut His- 
torical Society; registrar of the Connec- 
ticut Society of the Sons of the Revolu- 
tion ; member of the American Historical 
Association, the National Geographical 
Society, and the Phi Beta Kappa frater- 
nity. In religious preference he is a Con- 
gregationalist. 

Mr. Parker married, December 9. 1891, 
Mrs. Adelaide (Leeds) Fowler, of New 
London. Connecticut. 



WOODWARD, P. Henry, 

Federal Official, Author, Banker. 

P. Henry Woodward, of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, son of Ashbel and Emeline 
(Bicknell) Woodward, was born in 
Franklin. Connecticut, March 19. 1833. 
He is eighth in descent from. Richard 
Woodward who embarked in the ship 
"Elizabeth" at Ipswich, England, April 
10, 1634, and settled in Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts. Ashbel Woodward, M. D., a 
physician of great skill, was also deeply 
versed in the antiquities and genealogies 
of New England : a sketch of him may be 
found in the "New England Historical 



272 




Q_J ixru^' "i / ^^.t-t^-c 



Y 



f^L^ CJ^^Cc.^^^^ 




/"t, /in 



T".E r!EV^ YORK | 

"j?ljC library 

r.--JOP.. LEIIOX ! 

:LDl:n fou;;dations j 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Genealogical Register'' for April, 
1886. 

The subject of this sketch graduated at 
Yale College in 1855, studied law in part 
at Harvard, and in i860 opened an office 
in Savannah, Georgia, in company with 
William Robert Gignilliat, Jr., of that 
State. A few months after the outbreak 
of the war he returned north and never 
resumed the practice of law. 

From September, 1862, to September, 
1865, he was on the editorial staff of the 
"Hartford Courant." In September, 1865, 
he was appointed special agent of the 
Postoffice Department for Georgia. He 
reconstructed the service of that State so 
successfully that he was chosen to estab- 
lish the system of distribution of mails in 
railway post offices. By gradual exten- 
sions his field covered the country from 
the Ohio river to the Gulf of Mexico, and 
eastward to South Carolina and Georgia. 
The choice of routes and clerks was left 
entirely to him. The workers were picked 
from many States, solely for fitness, politi- 
cal influence being wholly debarred. Dur- 
ing his superintendency not one was dis- 
placed for any cause. Throughout merit 
was the only test. 

With change of administration he was 
transferred to general duties, with head- 
quarters at Augusta, Georgia. Wide op- 
portunity for travel, work, adventure, and 
observation followed. In February, 1873, 
he was called to investigate the affairs of 
the post office in New York City. The 
discoveries then made put an end to an 
era of pillage. In the upturn, Thomas L. 
James became postmaster and introduced 
a radical reform. In 1874 President Grant 
appointed Hon. Marshall Jewell Post- 
master-General, and then Mr. Woodward 
was made chief of the corps of special 
agents. Only about a quarter of the force 
was highly competent, and upon this frac- 
tion devolved all matters of importance 



Governor Jewell reconstructed the corps 
on the basis of efficiency, lopping off dead 
wood and bringing in the best material 
available. The body became so eflfective 
that other departments of the govern- 
ment, in difficult cases, invoked its aid. 
In correcting abuses the Postmaster-Gen- 
eral and Secretary of the Treasury acted 
in unison. Before the nominating con- 
vention of 1876 both became candidates 
for the presidency, and in due time Gen- 
eral Grant, disappointed in aspirations for 
a third term, dismissed both from his 
cabinet. Mr. Woodward went at the same 
tim.e. 

Shortly after the inauguration of Presi- 
dent Garfield in 1881, Thomas L. James, 
his appointee as Postmaster-General, tele- 
graphed Mr. Woodward to meet him in 
New York. At the interview he asked 
Mr. Woodward to become his confidential 
agent in Washington, and especially to 
investigate alleged star route frauds. As 
a result, he took charge of the task of un- 
earthing and arranging the evidence. By 
cunning manipulations, about two mil- 
lions of dollars per annum were added to 
the pay of the conspirators above the 
sums at which the contracts were origi- 
nally let. As the inquiry proceeded, 
fraudulent increases were cut off and the 
original figures restored. As these had 
been made purposely low to crush compe- 
tition, the restoration of the original rates 
was a severe punishment in itself. Pro- 
ceedings were instituted against the con- 
spirators, but, through bribery of jury- 
men, the guilty escaped conviction. An 
exhaustive account of the methods of the 
culprits and of the debauchery of the 
juries is contained in the records (which 
fill seven large volumes) of the two trials, 
and also in the testimony taken by a com- 
mittee of the House, znde the "Forty- 
eighth Congress, 1st Session, House of 
Representatives, Misc. Doc. 38, Part 2." 



Conn— 3-18 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In his testimony before the said commit- 
tee, Attorney-General Brewster declared : 
"I think without Mr. Woodward these 
cases never could have been instituted. 
I think he was, to use one word, invalu- 
able. He is a man of remarkable intelli- 
gence ; he is a man of great purity of char- 
acter ; he is an educated gentleman. In 
al! my life, in an experience of over forty- 
six years of legal practice, I never have 
met with a man who could assist a lawyer 
better than Mr. Woodward." With the 
advent of President Cleveland, Mr. Wood- 
ward left the service of the government 
permanently. 

In 1888, discouraged by the local out- 
look, Hartford organized a Board of 
Trade, with Mr. Woodward as secretary. 
Leading men of the city became actively 
interested in the enterprise. Facts col- 
lected and published revealed the latent 
strength of the situation, and were fol- 
lowed by a rapid change from distrust to 
confidence. In the next ten years the city 
gained fifty per cent, in population, and 
the fame of her institutions, both finan- 
cial and industrial, has become world- 
wide. 

Mr. Woodward is now (1917) president 
of the Dime Savings Bank ; vice-president 
of the Connecticut General Life Insur- 
ance Company; secretary of the board of 
trustees, Trinity College ; and director in 
several other corporations. He wrote: 
"Guarding the Mails," 1876 (later edition 
entitled "Secret Service of the P. O. De- 
partment"); "Hartford, its Institutions 
and Industries," 1889; "Centennial His- 
tory of the Hartford Bank," 1892 ; "Insur- 
ance in Connecticut," 1897 ; "Manufac- 
tures in Hartford," 1897; also historical 
addresses, sketches, etc. Mr. Woodward's 
"Manufactures in Hartford" was included 
in "The New England States" (D. H. 
Hurd & Company, 1897) ; so also was his 
"Insurance in Connecticut," which later 



was published separately in bookform, 
and is now a standard, placing into perma- 
nent printed record important historical 
facts that but for his research would prob-- 
ably never have been preserved in authen- 
tic detail. He delivered the address at 
the unveiling of the statue of Colonel 
Thomas Knowlton on the State Capitol 
grounds, in November, 1895. The honor- 
ary degree of Master of Arts was con- 
ferred upon Mr. Woodward in 1900 by 
Trinity College. 

He married, September 11, 1867, Mary, 
daughter of Charles Smith, of South 
Windham, Connecticut. Children: Helen, 
wife of Rev. Stephen H. Cranberry; 
Charles Guilford, financial secretary of 
Connecticut General Life Insurance Com- 
pany. 



MITCHELL, Charles Elliott, Ph. B., 
LL. B., 

Attorney, United States Commissioner. 

Charles Elliott Mitchell, a native of 
Bristol, Connecticut, and for many years 
in legal practice in New Britain and New 
York City, gained many honors during 
his noteworthy life. By his brilliancy in 
the courts and by his profound under- 
standing and masterful interpretation of 
the law, especially in relation to patents, 
he attained national distinction, being 
acknowledged as one of the nation's ablest 
authorities on patent law. He conducted 
the prosecution or defence of many cele- 
brated causes involving patents of inter- 
national importance, and so convincingly 
made manifest his preeminence in that de- 
partment of law that President Harrison 
in 1889 invited him to take office under 
the federal administration as United 
States Commissioner of Patents. 

Charles Elliott Mitchell was born in 
Bristol, Connecticut, on May 11, 1837, the 
son of George H. and Lurene (Hooker) 



374 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mitchell, the former a merchant, and at 
one time postmaster of Bristol, and the 
latter a direct descendant of Thomas 
Hooker, the famous Puritan preacher, 
pastor of the First Church at Hartford, 
and popularly regarded as the founder of 
Connecticut. Ira Hooker, maternal grand- 
father of the late Charles Elliott Mitchell, 
was another of his distinguished ances- 
tors ; he was a manufacturer at Bristol, 
and for several sessions sat in the State 
Legislature as representative from Bris- 
tol. In the paternal line, Charles Elliott 
Mitchell was the descendant of one Wil- 
licim Mitchell, who came from Scotland 
and settled in Bristol, Connecticut, shortly 
before the Revolution. His paternal 
grandfather was George Mitchell, a man 
of strong personality and upright life, a 
leading manufacturer and at one time a 
State Senator. Mrs. Lurene (Hooker) 
Mitchell, mother of Charles E. Mitchell, 
was a lady of much refinement and con- 
siderable intellectual attainments, and she 
exercised much influence over the intellec- 
tual life of her son, who early gave indica- 
tion of studious inclinations. This desire 
for knowledge his mother encouragingly 
fostered, arid although the boy to some ex- 
tent engaged in business activities in con- 
nection with his father's mercantile busi- 
ness, he received every encouragement to 
fit himself for more responsible undertak- 
ings ; and having exhibited an innate tal- 
ent for research, especially into the intri- 
cacies of the law, it was decided to point 
his studies in that direction. The litera- 
ture within his reach, and also in con- 
sonance with his desire, was for the most 
part masterpieces of English composition, 
such as "Macaulay's Essays," and seri- 
ous works of inspiring moment, such as 
biographies of statesmen. The youth in- 
dustriously performed the business duties 
set for his accomplishment, but his mo- 
ments of leisure were few, as most of his 



spare moments from business were given 
to close study, so as to prepare himself for 
entry to college. His power of elocution 
was strengthened by his practice of "re- 
citing sometimes to the principal of the 
high school, and at other times to one of 
the clergymen of the village." In course 
of time, he was sent to WilHston Semi- 
nary, where he remained for a year. In 
1858 he became a matriculate at Brown 
University, and there followed the course 
which gained him in 1861, when he gradu- 
ated, the degree of Bachelor of Philoso- 
phy. Having by that time definitely re- 
solved to qualify for admittance to the 
legal profession, Charles Elliott Mitchell 
then became a student of law, although he 
was not then able to do more than to 
enter upon private researches into its 
fundamentals, as his days were fully occu- 
pied by the responsibilities of the educa- 
tional position to which he had been ap- 
pointed, that of principal of the Bristol 
High School. However, at the first op- 
portunity, he proceeded to the Albany 
Law School, and there graduated in 1864, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. 

Mr. Mitchell was admitted to the bar 
of Hartford county, and immediately 
opened a law office in New Britain, some 
years later forming partnership with the 
late Judge Frank L. Hungerford, and 
thus establishing the firm of Mitchell & 
Hungerford. The firm had historic con- 
nection with the city of New Britain, its 
members having been entrusted with the 
drafting of the city's original charter, and 
later for many years acting as its coun- 
sellers in law. To Mr. Mitchell belonged 
the honor of being the first city attorney 
of New Britain. Another distinction 
which influenced the whole trend of his 
subsequent professional activities soon 
came to Mr. Mitchell. Having a native 
interest and pride in the industrial prog- 
ress of the State of Connecticut and in the 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



standing of its inventors in the world of 
mechanics, he undertook exhaustive re- 
search into the bases of patent law, and 
decided to place his knowledge at the dis- 
posal of those having inventions they de- 
sired to protect. Eventually, this depart- 
ment of law practice occupied his whole 
time. It has been stated that he was the 
first attorney in Connecticut to make pat- 
ent law his specialty, and he soon came 
into prominence by his able conduct of 
patent and trademark cases ; in fact, it 
gained him a national reputation, strength- 
ened by his frequent presence before the 
Supreme Court of the United States. Mr. 
Mitchell's life achievements are referred 
to in "Men of Mark in Connecticut,'' and 
particular reference is therein made to his 
accomplishments in executive capacity in 
the United States Patent Office. Into 
that record has been placed the statement 
that his appointment to the office of 
United States Commissioner of Patents 
in 1889 by President Harrison, was "in 
response to the general desire of the pat- 
ent lawyers of the country," who un- 
doubtedly knew his worth. It was also 
stated that Mr. Mitchell conducted the 
affairs of the Patent Office "on sound 
business principles," introduced several 
reforms, and "brought the work of issuing 
patents into a condition equal to the pres- 
sure of the incoming applications, a most 
important step." During his national 
service, Mr. Mitchell's private practice 
suffered, and finally, in 1891, he was com- 
pelled, by the demand for his services in 
his private professional capacity, to re- 
sign from the federal administration. He 
immediately thereafter resumed his pri- 
vate practice at New Britain, and in con- 
nection with his New Britain office found 
it necessary to open a law office in New 
York City. He practiced assiduously 
until 1902, gaining added prestige in pat- 
ent law by his handling of the important 
cases placed with him. His New York 



City practice brought him into promi- 
nence in litigation involving the inven- 
tions of such eminent inventors as Edison, 
Tesla and Thomson, and among the cele- 
brated cases with which during his active 
practice he was connected as attorney, 
may be noted the Tucker Bronze, the 
Rogers Trade Mark, and the Brush Stor- 
age cases. While in New York, Attor- 
ney Mitchell was principally retained by 
the General Electric Company, and did 
good work in many cases relating to Edi- 
son's incandescent lamp, and other elec- 
trical inventions. 

It is believed that his retirement from 
New York practice was because of failing 
eyesight, and after again taking up per- 
manent residence in New Britain he lived 
in semi-retirement, allowing himself to 
become concerned in only the more im- 
portant problems of patent law set before 
him for elucidation. 

Mr. Mitchell was too fully occupied 
with his professional duties to be able to 
devote much time to political questions 
and activities. However, in his early 
years of practice, having more unoccupied 
moments than latterly, he to some extent 
entered into public and political life. Dur- 
ing the years 1880-81 he sat in the Con- 
necticut General Assembly as representa- 
tive from New Britain ; in 1880 he was 
appointed to the chairmanship of the 
State committee on corporations ; and in 
1881 was an influential member of the 
judiciary committee. He also took ener- 
getic and forceful part in the presidential 
campaigns of 1884 and 1888, taking the 
public platform enthusiastically in the 
interests of the Republican party. His 
understanding of many important phases 
of industrial affairs brought him into 
executive office in many industrial cor- 
porations, among them the presidency of 
the Stanley Rule and Level Company, of 
New Britain. 

Mr. Mitchell was thorough in all his 



276 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



actions, and succeeded in life because he 
made no move or utterance until he had, 
by research and study, become convinced 
that the basis was sound and logical. 
Among the professional, academic, and 
social organizations with which Mr. 
Mitchell was affiliated were : The Amer- 
ican Bar Association ; the Association of 
the Bar of New York City ; the Hartford 
County Bar; the Century Association; 
the University Club, New Britain Club, 
New England Society, and the Phi Beta 
Kappa Alumni Association of New York 
City. 

After his death, some friends of Mr. 
Mitchell placed into permanent printed 
record the more important of the ad- 
dresses he had delivered during the course 
of his active life. The volume not only 
emphasizes the profundity of his research 
and the diversity of his knowledge, but it 
indicates the classical trend of his mind, 
and also makes clear that which was 
probably the characteristic most evident 
in him — his strict adherence to the right, 
as the fundamental of all things worth 
while. 

Charles Elliott Mitchell married, in 
1866, Cornelia A., daughter of Abiram and 
Sophorina (Burt) Chamberlain, and sis- 
ter of ex-Governor Chamberlain. Mr. 
Mitchell died on March 17, 191 1, at New 
Britain, where his widow still resides. 
Their children were: i. Robert C, who 
entered the legal profession, and is now 
in practice in New York City. 2. Charles 
H., who is clerk of the city and police 
courts of New Britain. 3. George Henry, 
in legal practice in the City of New York. 



STANLEY, Walter Henry. 

Agrlcultiirist, Capitalist. 

In the death of Mr. Stanley, which oc- 
curred August 3, 1916, the town of New 
Britain lost one of its generous and most 



kindly citizens. The Stanley family has 
been established in New Britain for many 
generations, and has ever been foremost 
in promoting the town's moral and mate- 
rial interests. The Stanley family is very 
ancient in England, and there are many 
branches in various counties. The Ameri- 
can branch is thought to have sprung 
from the family of the name in County 
Kent, descended through a younger son 
of the great Lancashire family of Stan- 
leys. The arms of the Kentish family are 
described : Argent on a band azure, three 
bucks' heads cabossed or, a chief gules. 
Crest : A demi-heraldic wolf, erased ar- 
gent, tufted or. 

John Stanley was born in England, and 
embarked for. New England in 1634-35, 
but died on the voyage. Captain John 
Stanley, son of John, was born 1624, in 
England, and after his father's death was 
placed in care of his uncle, Thomas Stan- 
ley, until he came of age. In 1636 he 
removed with his guardian to Hartford, 
Connecticut, and when only thirteen years 
old went as a soldier in an expedition 
against the Pequot Indians. He settled 
at Farmington, Connecticut, at the time 
of his marriage, and became one of the 
most important men of the town ; was 
deputy to the General Court almost con- 
tinuously for thirty-seven years, from 
1659 to 1696. In King Philip's War he 
was lieutenant and captain ; was con- 
stable of the town in 1654; sergeant, 1669; 
ensign, 1674; captain, 1676. He had a 
grant of one hundred and twenty acres of 
land in 1675 and another two years later, 
and died December 19, 1706 (gravestone 
record). He married (first) December 5, 
1645, Sarah Scott, who died June 6, 1661, 
daughter of Thomas and Anna Scott, 
of Hartford. Their second son, Thomas 
Stanley, was born November i, 1649. at 
Farmington, died there, April 14, 1713. 
He was one of the petitioners for liberty 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to plant a colony at Waterbury, but ap- 
pears not to have gone there. He mar- 
ried, May I, 1690, Ann, daughter of Rev. 
Jeremiah and Joanna (Kitchell) Peck, of 
Waterbury. Their only son, Thomas 
Stanley, was born October 31, 1696, at 
Farmington, died October 13, 1755. He 
resided at Stanley Quarter in New Britain, 
Connecticut, and for his day he was a 
wealthy and prominent citizen. He mar- 
ried in Farmington, January 2, 1718, 
Esther, daughter of Samuel Cowles, of 
Kensington, Connecticut, died July 22, 
1776. The eldest son of Thomas and 
FIsther (Cowles) Stanley, was Thomas, 
born November 27, 1720, in New Britain, 
died in 1775, leaving an estate valued at 
£710. He married, May 22, 1740, Mary 
Francis, born February 5, 1722, in New- 
ington, Connecticut, daughter of James 
and Elizabeth (Howard) Francis. Their 
third son. Lot Stanley, was born ]\Iarch 
3, 1752, in New Britain, where he was a 
hatter, one of the first makers of fur hats 
in Connecticut, and died March 8, 1807. 
He married Rhoda Wadsworth, born Sep- 
tember 22, 1754, daughter of Timothy and 
Mary (Cowles) Wadsworth, of Farming- 
ton, died May 13, 1819. 

Amon Stanley, second son of Lot, was 
born March 10, 1778, and learned the 
trade of hatter from his father, with 
whom he was some years a partner, and 
whose homestead in New Britain he pur- 
chased. In later life he was a prosperous 
farmer, was a member of the standing 
committee of the church, which he joined 
December 2, 1821, and died February 2, 
1846, leaving an estate valued at $7,925.36. 
He made annua! trips to "the West" 
(State of New York), where he exchanged 
hats for furs, and also operated a distillery 
for making cider-brandy, from his large 
orchards. Becoming convinced that the 
latter business was not reputable, though 
assured by his pastor that it was, he sold 



out the distillery. In order to be rid of 
the hard characters tolerated by the new 
owners, he repurchased the property at 
a great advance in price and at the sacri- 
fice of a valuable piece of woodland, and 
broke up the stills, selling the metal to 
a factory in New Britain, where it was 
made into useful articles. Amon Stan- 
ley married, October 10, 1802, Abi North, 
born November 21, 1784, daughter of Cap- 
tain James and Rhoda (Judd) North, of 
New Britain. She joined the church De- 
cember 2, 1810, was one of its most faith- 
ful members, "a kind and watchful 
mother," and active in persuading her 
husband to abandon the distillery. They 
were the parents of eleven children. 

Henry Stanley, second son of Amon, 
was born September 24, 1807, in New 
Britain. He was an ambitious and indus- 
trious youth, and left the paternal farm at 
an early age. Before attaining his major- 
ity he became a partner with Alvin North 
in the manufacture of plated ware. This 
was a successful undertaking, and later 
Mr. Stanley was associated with Seth J. 
North and John Stanley, under the style 
of North, Stanley & Company, subse- 
quently North, Smith & Company, and 
Henry Stanley & Company. The last 
firm comprised three brothers — -Henry, 
Augustus and Timothy W^ Stanley, and 
was merged in the Russell & Erwin 
Manufacturing Company, in which Henry 
Stanley was a large shareholder and di- 
rector until his death. May 3, 1884, in his 
seventy-seventh year. He was among 
the founders of several other industries, 
one of which is the New Britain Knitting 
Company, of which he was long president 
and manager. Others are the American 
Hosiery Company and Stanley Rule & 
Level Company, of both of which he was 
president. After the death of F. T. Stan- 
ley, he was president of the Stanley 
Works. A large stockholder and director 



278 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Willimantic Linen Company, and 
interested in other manufacturing enter- 
prises, Mr. Stanley gave a great impetus 
to the industrial life of Connecticut. He 
was distinguished for his admirable poise, 
high integrity and firmness of character. 
Of genial manner, though somewhat 
reticent nature, he possessed a fine taste, 
as shown in his beautiful mansion and 
grounds on South Main street. He gave 
judiciously and liberally of his wealth 
in promoting philanthropical, educational 
objects, and was ever an enterprising 
agent in advancing the material interests 
of the community. On March i, 1829, he 
united with the church, continued among 
its faithful members until 1842, when the 
South Church was formed, and found him 
among its constituent members, continu- 
ing to his death. He married, June 10, 
1829, Eliza Stanley North, born Novem- 
ber 2-j, 1807, daughter of Seth J. and 
Elizabeth (Stanley) North, died April 18, 
1837. She was the mother of two chil- 
dren. The junior, Theodore Augustus, 
was second lieutenant of Company F, 
Fourteenth Regiment Connecticut Volun- 
teers, in the Civil War, led his company 
in the battle of Fredericksburg, where 
he was mortally wounded, and died De- 
cember 31, 1862, in hospital at Washing- 
ton. He was buried with military honors 
at New Britain, January 5, 1863. 

Walter Henry Stanley, eldest child of 
Henry and Elizabeth (North) Stanley, 
was born June 25, 1830. in New Britain, 
in whose public schools he received his 
early educational training. After gradu- 
ating at Williston Academy he engaged 
in agriculture on the paternal acres, which 
had come down through several gener- 
ations of his forbears. He became inter- 
ested in several of the local industries, 
and was widely esteemed as a useful citi- 
zen of pleasing manners and most kindly 
disposition. For many years he was a 



member of the South Church, but was not 
active in church or civil matters. His 
kindly acts were many and his memory 
long will be cherished by his contempo- 
raries, as well as by a filial family. 

He married, September 7, 1853, Mary 
Jane Peck, of New Britain, born there, 
daughter of Elnathan and Mary (Dewey) 
Peck, a descendant of Joseph Peck, of 
Milford, Connecticut, who was born in 
England, and settled at New Haven, Con- 
necticut as early as 1643, removing thence 
to Alilford in 1649. where he was a mem- 
ber of the church in 1652. He is thought 
to be a brother of Henry Peck, of New 
Haven, and probably came with him. His 
home was near the residence now or lately 
occupied by Captain Cornelius B. Peck, 
and he died in 1701. He married (first) 
Alice Burwell, who died December 19, 
1666. Their son, Joseph Peck, born 1653, 
settled in Milford. He settled his own 
estate by deeding his property to his chil- 
dren. He married, in Milford, Mary 
Camp, probably born 1660, daughter of 
Nicholas (2) and Katharine Camp, grand- 
daughter of Nicholas (i) Camp, born be- 
fore 1630, in England, who came from 
Nasing, County Essex, to this country in 
1638. The fourth son of Joseph and Mary 
(Camp) Peck, was Samuel Peck, who 
lived in Milford, and there married Mar- 
tha Clark. Their eldest son, Samuel 
Peck, was born May 21, 1716, in Milford, 
where he lived. He married Hannah or 
Anna Jennings, born about 1718, in Fair- 
field, daughter of John J., granddaughter 
of Joseph and Abigail (Turney) Jennings, 
great-granddaughter of Joshua Jennings, 
who was in Hertford in 1647, and Fair- 
field 1656. Samuel Peck, eldest child of 
Samuel and Hannah, was born .August 
22, 1736, in Milford, and died there, June 
T2, 1S22. He commanded a company in 
the Revolutionary army, and was promi- 
nent in civil affairs. He married. July 7, 



279 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1762, Meliitable Smith, born 1740, died 
January i, 1826. Their fifth son was 
Michael Peck, born August 12, 1773, in 
Milford, where he was a builder, and died 
December 27, 1861. He married, Janu- 
ary I, 1797, Mary Marshall, and they 
were the parents of Elnathan Peck, born 
August II, 1803, in Milford. died Decem- 
ber 28, 1865, in New Haven. As a 
builder's apprentice he went to New 
Britain to aid in building a church, and 
continued in building operations there 
some years. He was among the first to 
manufacture hardware specialties, and re- 
moved his business to New