(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Connecticut biography, genealogical-memorial; representative citizens;"

THE 



NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY 



PRESENTED BY 



Am e r i c an. . H i s t o r i c a 1 S o c i _e ty 
May 2,, 1923. 



Digitized by tine Internet Archive 

in 2007 witin funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



Iittp://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofco10amer 




Htt^riSi^yai 



'A- ^t>. v.tj 



Ml 




!W*vJk.^i 




ENCYCLOPEDIA 
—OP- 
CONNECTICUT BIOGRAPHY 

GENEALOGICAL— MEMORIAL 



REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



Compiled with the Assistance of a 

Capable Corps of Advisers and Contributors 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 

NEW YORK PUBLISHERS CHICAGO 

/ " 



THE NEW YuRX 
PUBLIC LIB.IARY 

911704 

ASTOR. LENOK AND 

TILDEM FOUNDATIONS 

R 1923 L 



Joreuiorb 



EACH one of us is "the heir of ah the 
ages, in the foremost files of time." 
We build upon the solid foundations 
laid by the strenuous efforts of the fathers 
who have gone before us. Nothing is 
more fitting, and indeed more important, 
than that we should familiarize ourselves 
with their work and personality ; for it is 
they who have lifted us up to the lofty 
positions from which we are working out 
our separate careers. "Lest we forget," 
it is important that we gather up the 
fleeting memories of the past and give 
them permanent record in well-chosen 
words of biography, and in such repro- 
duction of the long lost faces as modern 
science makes possible. 

S.^MUEL Hart. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 





''.^^a^H^yyi fr/C^^ 





ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



WILCOX, William Walter (3rd), 

Manufacturer. 

With many worthy ancestors for ex- 
ample, with a natural aptitude for busi- 
ness, and with the advantages of being 
reared in a good New England home, Mr. 
Wilcox began life under very favorable 
auspices. The family of Wilcox is of 
Saxon origin, and was seated before the 
Norman Conquest at Bury-St. Edmunds, 
Suffolk county, England. Fifteen gener- 
ations of this family prior to the year 1600 
are mentioned in the "Visitation of the 
County of Suffolk," going back to the 
year 1200, when the name was estab- 
lished as a surname and family title. 
Many spellings are found in early records, 
including Wilcocks, Wilcoxon and Will- 
cox, used interchangeably. 

(I) Among the early residents of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, was John Wilcox, who 
served as selectman in 1640, was chosen 
surveyor in 1643-44, and died in 1651. 
His name appears on the monument 
erected to the pioneers of Hartford in the 
Center Church burying-ground. His wife 
died about 1668. 

(H) John (2) Wilcox, eldest child of 
John (i) Wilcox, was born in England, 
came to Hartford with his father, and was 
one of the first proprietors in 1639. In 
1655 he removed to Middletown Upper 
Houses, now Cromwell, where he died, 
May 24, 1676. He made extended pur- 
chases of land there, having forfeited his 
grant through failure to settle there as 
early as 1653. Prior to November i, 1655, 
he had built a house and he was active 
in various departments of town manage- 
ment. He -narried for his fourth wife 



Esther Cornwall, born in May, 1650, died 
May 2, 1733, daughter of William and 
Mary Cornwall, pioneers of Middletown, 
Connecticut. By will of her father she 
received a whole lot east of the river in 
what is now Portland. She married 
(second) John Stow of that town. 

(HI) Ephraim Wilcox, eldest child of 
John (2) Wilcox, was born July 9, 1672, 
in what is now Cromwell, removed to 
East Middletown, now Portland, where he 
died January 4, 1713. He married Au- 
gust 23, 1698, Silence Hand, daughter of 
Benjamin Hand, who removed from Guil- 
ford to Middletown. 

(IV) Janna Wilcox, eldest child of 
Ephraim and Silence (Hand) Wilcox, was 
born September 20, 1701, prior to the 
removal of his parents to East Middle- 
town. He married, April 29, 1725, Rachel 
Boardman, born September 16, 1706, in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, daughter of 
Samuel and Mehitable (Cadwell) Board- 
man, who removed to Portland. 

(V) Aaron Wilcox, third son of Janna 
and Rachel (Boardman) Wilcox, was 
born June 13, 1745, in East Middletown, 
and died there March 6, 1820. He mar- 
ried Sarah Bell, born February 19, 1745, 
in Glastonbury, daughter of Isaac Bell, 
and died October 18, 1813. 

(VI) Asahel Wilcox, eldest child of 
Aaron and Sarah (Bell) Wilcox, was born 
May 9, 1771, in East Middletown, and 
died before his father, October 31, 1817. 
He married, October 2, 1791, Lucy Crit- 
tenden, born in 1772, died October 25, 
181 1, daughter of Daniel (2) and Rhoda 
(Tryon) Crittenden (see Crittenden VI). 

(VII) William Walter Wilcox, young- 
est child of Asahel and Lucy (Crittenden) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wilcox, was born May 20, 1803, and lived 
in Portland, Connecticut, where he died, 
November 6, 1824, shortly after his mar- 
riage. His wife, Mary Plum (Rand) Wil- 
cox, born in 1804, survived him but a 
short time, and died November 4, 1826. 
(VIII) William Walter (2) Wilcox, 
only child of William Walter (i) and 
Mary Plum (Rand) Wilcox, was born 
May 23, 1825 (after the death of his 
father), and was many years one of the 
most active and prominent citizens of 
Middletown, Connecticut, where he died, 
November 10, 1903. The public schools 
supplied such education as he was priv- 
ileged to receive and early in life he mani- 
fested exceptional capability. Having ac- 
cumulated a capital of $133.00 he estab- 
lished what grew to be a great industry, 
founded upon his inventions of ship 
chandlery articles. Previous to the age of 
six years he lived with his grandmother 
and was then taken into the family of his 
aunt, Mrs. Ira K. Penfield, of Portland, 
Connecticut. His home there was in the 
section of Chatham, now a part of Port- 
land, known as Gildersleeve. About the 
time of his majority he suffered a severe 
attack of measles which impaired his 
health and he went South, where he trav- 
elled extensively in the interests of a New 
York business house until 1847. Return- 
ing to Middletown, he entered the employ 
of Eldredge H. Penfield, who had just 
patented a brass eyelet or grommet, and 
had begun its manufacture with hand and 
foot presses in a small room in Middle- 
town. Mr. Wilcox's wages were five shil- 
lings per day and when his employer went 
out of business in 1849, ^e was indebted 
to Mr. Wilcox in the sum of $133.00. 
Forming a partnership with his uncle, Ira 
K. Penfield, under the business title of 
Penfield & Wilcox, the business was con- 
ducted with Mr. Wilcox as travelling 
salesman until June i, 1849. He visited all 



of the sail lofts along the coast from Nova 
Scotia to Texas, where he demonstrated 
the advantages of his manufactured goods 
over those previously in use and soon 
gave the business a great impetus. 
Shortly afterward, Mr. Wilcox invented a 
round edge sail thimble, made of malleable 
iron, which came into general use through- 
out maritime industry. 

Mr. Wilcox was the first in this country 
to introduce galvanized iron castings and 
forgings in ship construction. In 1859. 
after ten years of very successful business, 
Mr. Wilcox sold his interests to his part- 
ner and engaged in business on his own 
account. He leased space with water 
power at the south end of the city at a 
cost of $75.00 per year and soon admitted 
to partnership in his business Joseph 
Hall, of Portland, with whom he con- 
tinued some ten years, and then became 
sole owner by purchase of his partner's 
interest. At this time Mr. Wilcox formed 
a co-partnership with several gentlemen 
of Middletown, under the firm name of 
Wilcox, Crittenden & Company, a title 
which is now known throughout the mari- 
time world. Many of the goods manu- 
factured by his establishment are still in 
use in the English navy. He made im- 
provements on the original invention, re- 
sulting in an entirely new grommet, which 
was patented in 1884, a very great im- 
provement on anything heretofore used. 
Mr. Wilcox visited England, where he 
succeeded in introducing it to the English 
navy, and his establishment soon became 
one of the largest in this line of business 
in the United States. The plant at Mid- 
dletown was operated by both steam and 
water power and subsequently by elec- 
tricity generated by those same powers. 
Their goods are now used in all of the 
great navies and find a ready market in 
all harbors. In 1906 the establishment 
received a charter from the State of Con- 




aoC'i'^-^ 



'fn.-!.^ )rcZ. 



Q^^cic 



YSnS NE\? TORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOF, LENOX 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



necticut, and though its chief moving 
spirit has passed away, the business con- 
tinues to increase in volume. Mr. Wilcox 
was variously active in local affairs; he 
was made a director of the Middletown 
National Bank in 1883, served in both 
branches of the city government ; and was 
elected representative to the State Legis- 
lature in 1877 and 1879. He was a regu- 
lar attendant and liberal supporter of the 
South Congregational Church, in which 
Mrs. Wilcox has always been a prominent 
worker. 

Mr. Wilcox married, November 17, 
1853. Elizabeth Shepard Crittenden, (see 
Crittenden line), who was born March 5, 
1835. in Portland, daughter of George and 
Anne Eliza (Sellew) Crittenden, a de- 
scendant of an old time family of that 
section. (See Crittenden line). 

(IX) William Walter Wilcox (3rd), 
eldest child of William Walter (2) and 
Elizabeth Shepard (Crittenden) Wilcox, 
was born April 11, 1862, in Middletown, 
Connecticut, where he is now actively 
engaged as the successor of his father in 
a very extensive manufacturing industry. 
He grew up in his native city, received 
an excellent preliminary education, and 
graduated from Williams College, B. A., 
in 1885. Immediately on leaving college, 
he engaged in business under the training 
of his honored father, and was prepared 
upon the death of the latter to assume the 
full responsibilities of president of the 
Wilcox, Crittenden Company. 

Mr. Wilcox has always been active in 
furthering the best interests of his native 
city and State, and is recognized as a 
citizen of ability and worth. He is vice- 
president of the Middletown National 
Bank; a director of the Farmers and Me- 
chanics Savings Bank; and of the Con- 
necticut Industrial School for Girls ; and 
is secretary of the board of trustees of the 
Connecticut Hospital for the Insane. 



Though firm in his support of the political 
principles expounded by the Republican 
party, he steadfastly declined to be a can- 
didate for any public office until 1918, 
when he was elected representative to the 
State Legislature. In the session of 1919 
he served as chairman of the Committee 
on Railroads. He is a member of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and of 
numerous clubs, among them being: 
University Club of New York City ; 
Graduates' Club of New Haven ; Highland 
Country Club ; and the Sigma Phi frater- 
nity of Williams College. During the 
World War he was active in many organ- 
izations : Chairman of the Middlesex 
County American National Red Cross 
(with nineteen branches throughout the 
county); vice-chairman of the Middlesex 
County War Bureau; one of the public 
speakers of the Connecticut "Four-Minute 
Men ;" and member of the Connecticut 
State Guard. With his family, he is iden- 
tified with the South Congregational 
Church of Middletown. 

Mr. Wilcox married, in Hartford, No- 
vember 3, 1886, Mary Elizabeth Root, of 
that city, born August 23, 1865, only 
daughter of G. Welles and Pauline S. 
(Brooks) Root (see Root line). Mr. and 
Mrs. Wilcox are the parents of three chil- 
dren : I. Pauline Root, born August 3, 
1891, now the wife of Julian B. Smith, of 
Waterbury. 2. Elizabeth, born September 
10, 1896; married, June 15, 1921, Phelps 
Ingersoll, of St. Paul, Minnesota. 3. Wil- 
liam Walter (4), born December 27, 1901. 

(The Crittenden Line). 

Down through the generations the Crit- 
tenden family has been connected by mar- 
riage with many of the most prominent 
pioneer families of the State, including 
those of Kimberly, Bulkeley, Lord, 
Chauncey, Robbins, Hamilton and Pyn- 
chon. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) The founder of the Crittenden fam- 
ily in America was Abraham Crittenden, 
who came from Cranebrook, Kent, Eng- 
land, and was one of the founders of the 
Guilford Colony, of which he was made 
a trustee, and secretary at the time of its 
purchase in 1639. He was born about 
1609-10, and died in January, 1683, at 
Guilford, where he was often in public 
office and a large landholder. His first 
wife, Mary, who accompanied him from 
England, died in 1661. 

(H) Abraham (2) Crittenden, eldest 
son of Abraham (i) and Mary Crittenden, 
born about 1635, was a farmer in Guilford, 
Connecticut, and died September 25, 1694. 
He married, May 13, 1661, in New Haven, 
Connecticut, Susannah, daughter of 
Thomas and Jane Griegson ; she died Sep- 
tember 8, 1712. 

(HI) .Abraham (3) Crittenden, eldest 
son of Abraham (2) and Susannah (Grieg- 
son) Crittenden, was born March 8, 1662, 
in Guilford, where he had a two-acre home 
lot in 1716 and was assessed over £183. 
He married. May 6, 1686, Susannah Kirby, 
born March 8, 1664, in that part of Middle- 
town which is now West Cromwell, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Kirby ; 
she died in October, 1729, in Guilford. 

(IV) Daniel Crittenden, son of Abra- 
ham (3) and Susannah (Kirby) Critten- 
den, was born May 27, 1696, in Guilford, 
and became a physician of a somewhat 
roving disposition. He lived successively 
in New Haven, Middletown, and Milford, 
Connecticut, and Edgartown, Massachu- 
setts, where he died in 1751. He married 
Patience Bradley, probably a daughter of 
Benjamin and Elizabeth (Thompson) 
Bradley, of New Haven, who died August 
14, 1733, said to have been fifty-five years 
of age, more probably forty-five. 

(V) Dr. Hopesdale Crittenden, son of 
Dr. Daniel and Patience (Bradley) Crit- 
tenden, was a resident of New Haven in 
1741, of Haddam in 1745, and later of Mid- 



dletown, where his house is still standing. 
He married Mary Wetmore Bacon, born 
in 1719, daughter of Nathaniel and Han- 
nah (Wetmore) Bacon. They were the 
parents of fifteen children. 

(VI) Daniel (2) Crittenden, second son 
of Dr. Hopesdale and Mary Wetmore 
(Bacon) Crittenden, born in 1744, was a 
farmer living in what is now the town of 
Portland, and died in 1824. He married 
Rhoda Tryon, daughter of William and 
Sarah (Goodrich) Tryon, born about 1746, 
died in 1828, and their daughter, Lucy, be- 
came the wife of Asahel Wilcox as prev- 
iously noted. 

(VII) David Crittenden, son of Daniel 
(2) and Rhoda (Tryon) Crittenden, born 
about 1778, lived in Portland, where he 
died in 1859, and where his house is still 
standing. He was a lieutenant in the 
United States army in the War of 1812, 
and served at the defense of New London. 
He married, April 25, 1802, Elizabeth 
Shepard, who was born July lo, 1781, 
daughter of Lieutenant Daniel and Phebe 
(Strickland) Shepard, died August 19, 
1821. Lieutenant Daniel Shepard was a 
soldier of the Revolutionary' War. 

(VIII) George Crittenden, eldest son 
of David and Elizabeth (Shepard) Crit- 
tenden, was born April 23, 1808, in Port- 
land, where he was reared on the paternal 
farm and began life in the immediate 
vicinity of his birthplace, where he was a 
farmer, and died September 20, 1852. He 
married, November 12, 1832, in Glaston- 
bury, Anne Eliza Sellew, who was born 
March 7, 1806, in that town, daughter of 
Thomas and Lucy Bulkeley (Lord) Sel- 
lew, died May 10, 1891, at the home of her 
son in Middletown (see Sellew line). 
Their daughter, Elizabeth Shepard Crit- 
tenden, married William Walter (2) Wil- 
cox, as previously noted. 

(The Sellew Line) 

(I) The Sellew family is of French origin, 
and was founded by Philip Sellew (Salu. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Selu, and Seleu), a Huguenot. The pres- 
ent form of the name gives little clue to 
its original spelling. When a young man 
Philip Sellew settled at Edgartown, on 
Martha's Vineyard, and was a school- 
master for a period of fifty years there and 
at Hyannis, and died May 15, 1773. His 
second wife, Abigail Martin (Martain), 
was undoubtedly also of French origin. 

(II) Captain John Leland Sellew, son 
of Philip and Abigail (Martin) Sellew, 
was born in 1717 in Edgartown, and mar- 
ried there, September 20, 1739, Hannah 
Hamilton, born there July 18, 1721, 
daughter of James and Barsheba (Pease) 
Hamilton. 

(III) Philip (2) Sellew, son of Captain 
John and Hannah (Hamilton) Sellew, 
born about 1740, at Edgartown, and set- 
tled in Glastonbury, Connecticut. He was 
probably a soldier of the Revolution, as 
one of his name served in that struggle. 
He married, in Glastonburj% April 2, 1767, 
Elizabeth Kimberly Smith, daughter of 
Jonathan and Mary (Kimberly) Smith, of 
Suffield, and Wethersfield, respectively. 

(IV) Thomas Sellew, second son of Philip 
(2) and Elizabeth Kimberly (Smith) 
Sellew, was born in 1774, and lived in 
Glastonbury, where he died in 1862. He 
married, January i, 1800, Lucy Bulkeley 
Lord, born about 1775, died in 1816. 

(V) Anne Eliza Sellew, daughter of 
Thomas and Lucy Bulkeley (Lord) Sel- 
lew, was born March 7, 1806, and died in 
1891 ; she became the wife of George Crit- 
tenden, of Portland (see Crittenden line), 
and the mother of Elizabeth Shepard Crit- 
tenden, who became the wife of William 
Walter (2) Wilcox (see Wilcox line). 
She survives her husband and now resides 
in Middletown, where she has long been 
active in social life. She is a member of 
the Huguenot Society and was formerly 
regent of Wadsworth Chapter, Daughters 
of the American Revolution ; and vice- 



president for Connecticut of the Mary 
Washington Memorial Association. She 
is the mother of a son and daughter, the 
latter, Mary Crittenden Wilcox, born Au- 
gust 8, 1866, married, October i, 1890, 
Heman Charles Whittlesey, Yale 1880, 
now treasurer of the Wilcox, Crittenden 
Company. 

(The Root Dine). 

Mrs. Mary E. (Root) Wilcox is a de- 
scendant of one of the oldest Hartford, 
Connecticut families of English origin and 
was herself born in that city, where her 
father was an active business man. 

(I) The family of Root has been traced 
to John Root, a resident of Badbey Parish, 
Northamptonshire, England, who mar- 
ried, about 1600, Ann Russell. He appears 
to have been a resident of Farmington, 
Connecticut, and is supposed to have re- 
turned to England and died at Badbey. 
The baptisms of four of his children are 
recorded there. 

(II) Thomas Root, eldest son of John 
Root, was baptized January 16, 1605, in 
Badbey, Northamptonshire, England, and 
came to this country about 1637. He was 
among the first settlers of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, where he lived for about fifteen 
years and where all his children were 
born. His name appears on the Founders' 
Monument there, and in 1639 he is called 
a "considerable landholder." On May 9, 
1654, he removed with his family to 
Northampton, Massachusetts, and became 
one of the eight planters of what was then 
called Nonatuck, was selectman, a soldier 
of the Pequot War, and is supposed to 
have been a deacon of the church there. 
By occupation he was a farmer, and also 
a weaver of cloth. He died July 17, 1694, 
and left a will in which he mentioned all 
his children and the fact that he lived with 
his son, Jonathan, at the old homestead. 
His wife's nime is unknown. 

(III) Thomas (2) Root, son of Thomas 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(i) Root, was born about 1644, in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and lived in Northamp- 
ton until the death of his first wife, when 
he removed to Boston, Massachusetts, and 
subsequently to Lynn, and is described 
as a husbandman in that town. He mar- 
ried, July 3, 1666, Abigail Alvord, eldest 
daughter of Alexander and Mary (Voar) 
Alvord, born October 6, 1647, in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, died June 17, 1699, in 
Northampton. 

(IV) Deacon Thomas (3) Root, eld- 
est child of Thomas (2) and Abigail (Al- 
vord) Root, was born April 11, 1667, in 
Northampton, and in 1709 settled in Cov- 
entry, Connecticut, where he was the first 
town clerk, first deacon of the church, and 
died November 3, 1758. He married, 
IMarch 4, 1691, Thankful Strong, daughter 
of Jedediah and Freedom (Woodward) 
Strong, born in Northampton, died in 
1745, in Coventry. 

(V) Ebenezer Root, second son of Dea- 
con Thomas (3) and Thankful (Strong) 
Root, born November 5. 1693, in North- 
ampton, was in his sixteenth year when he 
removed with his father to Coventry, and 
there spent his life filling various civil 
offices and gaining the esteem of his fel- 
lows, and died January 30, 1760. He mar- 
ried, May 19, 1718, Sarah Strong, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Sarah (Allen) Strong, 
of Coventry, born in 1699, died. December 

13. 1784- 

(VI) Hon. Jesse Root, son of Ebenezer 
and Sarah (Strong) Root, was born Jan- 
uary 10, 1737, in Coventry, and died March 
29, 1822, in Hartford. He was a gradu- 
ate of Yale, and an eminent lawyer, lieu- 
tenant of militia, captain of volunteers 
during the Revolution, State's attorney, 
assemblyman, congressman, judge of the 
Superior Court, chief justice in 1789, presi- 
dential elector in 1808, honored by Yale 
with the degree of LL. D. and chosen to 
deliver the address of welcome when Gen- 



eral Washington visited Hartford. There 
was concentrated in him all the strong 
characteristics of his sires, and to his de- 
scendants he bequeathed the same rich 
legacy. He married. May 19, 1758, Mary 
Banks, of Newark, New Jersey, born 
about 1733, died December 5, 1813, in 
Coventry. 

(VII) Dr. James Banks Root, fifth son 
of Hon. Jesse and Mary (Banks) Root, 
was born May 20, 1770, and lived in 
Athens, New York, where he died, Febru- 
ary 25, 1813, at the age of forty-three 
years. He married, June 8, 1797, Martha 
Sargeant, of Stockbridge, Massachusetts, 
born 1773-1774, died March 15, 1821. 

(VIII) Erastus Sargeant Root, son of 
Dr. James Banks and Martha (Sargeant) 
Root, was born December 19, 1798, in 
Burlington, Vermont, and lived at Mount 
Morris, New York. He and his family 
were identified with the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. He married, April 7, 1822, 
in Augusta, New York, Dorcas Welles, of 
Winchester, Connecticut. 

(IX) George Welles Root, second son 
of Erastus Sargeant and Dorcas (Welles) 
Root, born April 26, 1826, in Mount Mor- 
ris, was for many years in business in 
Hartford as a member of the firm of 
Owen, Day & Root, dry goods commis- 
sion merchants. He was a Congrega- 
tionalist. He married, January 18, 1850, 
Pauline S. Brooks, of Hartford. Their 
youngest child, Mary Elizabeth Root, 
born August 23, 1865, became the wife of 
William Walter Wilcox, 3d. (see Wilcox 
line). 



BACON, John Plum, 

Undertaker, Public Official. 

Among the oldest families of Middle- 
town, Connecticut, is that of Bacon, and 
many of its descendants are still found in 
that town, pursuing worthily the various 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



industries which are important in the 
community. This is probably a place 
name, derived from the ancient seigniory 
in Normandy, whence the ancestors re- 
moved to England. The great Suffolk 
family of Bacon was founded by one 
Gremald or Grimaldus (a relative of the 
great Norman chieftain, William de War- 
renne), who came to England at the time 
of the Conquest, and settled near Holt, in 
Suffolk. His great-grandsons took the 
place name of Bacon for a sirname. The 
name is still in use in the North of France. 
In 1082 William Bacon endowed the 
Abbey of Holy Trinity at Caen. The Bat- 
tle Rolls of England in the eleventh 
century and the Hundred Rolls in the 
thirteenth century bear the name, with 
occasional variations in spelling, such as 
Bacun and Bachun, and occasionally as 
Beacon. Descendants of the family were 
very early in Virginia. The original site 
of the family was near Ipswich, in Suf- 
folk, but prominent representatives have 
been found in Durham, Hampshire, Nor- 
folk, Somerset and Yorkshire. William 
Bacon, born about 1608. lived in the par- 
ish of Stretton, County of Rutland, Eng- 
land, and had a numerous family. 

(I) Nathaniel Bacon, son of William 
Bacon (according to a doubtful tradition), 
was born about 1630, and came to New 
England when about nineteen years old 
and settled first with his Uncle Andrew 
Bacon, a deacon, at Hartford, Connecti- 
cut. In the fall of 1650 he joined the com- 
pany which founded Middletown and was 
afterwards a leading and influential man, 
a large landholder in that town. By the 
will of his Uncle Andrew he received con- 
siderable property. He married Anne, 
daughter of Thomas Miller, Sr.. and his 
wife, Isabella, who came from Rowley, 
Massachusetts, and settled in Middle- 
town ; she died July 6, 1680. 

(II) John Bacon, fourth son of Nathan- 



iel Bacon, was born March 14, 1663, in 
Middletown, where he made his home, 
and where he died November 4, 1732. His 
home was on his father's homestead, to 
which he succeeded on the death of the 
latter. He married, November 26, 1689, 
Sarah Wetmore, or Whitmore, baptized 
November 27, 1664, in Middletown, 
daughter of Deacon Thomas and Sarah 
(Hale) Wetmore, sometimes written 
Whetmore. She died February 14, 1698. 
(Ill) Lieutenant John (2) Bacon, son 
of John (i) and Sarah (Wetmore) Bacon, 
was born January 30, 1695, on the home- 
stead, which he inherited as the only sur- 
viving son, and became a large land- 
holder. He married, March 5, 1719, Sarah 
White, daughter of Joseph and Mary 
(Mould) White, a descendant of Robert 
White, a yeoman of Messing, County 
Essex, England, who was living in Shel- 
ford when he married, June 24, 1585, 
Bridget Allgar, baptized March 11, 1562, 
daughter of William Allgar. Robert 
White was buried June 17, 1617. His son, 
Elder John White, baptized in Shelford, 
married, December 26, 1622, Mary Levit. 
In 1632 they came in the ship "Lion" and 
settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
where Gore Hall, of Harvard University, 
now stands. In 1633 he was a freeman, 
in 1635 townsman or selectman, and in 
1636 moved to Hartford. His home lot 
was on what is now Governor street, ten 
rods south of the Park river. He was 
often selectman of the town. In 1635 he 
had grants of land in Middletown, but 
does not appear to have removed thither. 
In 1659 he settled at Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, where he was often in official sta- 
tion, and in 1670 returned to Hartford. 
Here he joined the Second Church, of 
which he was an elder until his death, 
which occurred between December 17, 
1683, and January 23, 1684. He lived to 
hold in his arms his great-grandchild. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His son, Captain Nathaniel White, born 
about 1629 in England, settled about 1650 
in that part of Middletown which is now 
Cromwell and was a prominent and in- 
fluential citizen. From 1651 to 1710 he 
represented the town in the State Legis- 
lature at least once each year, being 
elected eighty-five times in all. In 1669 
he was commissioner and magistrate, and 
in 1684 was magistrate for Middletown, 
Haddam, and the district of Meriden, an 
active member of the church at what is 
now Cromwell, organized in 1668. He 
was also captain of the "North traine 
band," was a promoter of schools, and 
died August 27, 171 1. His first wife, 
Elizabeth, died in 1690. Their youngest 
child, Joseph White, born about February 
20, 1667, inherited the east half of the 
homestead at Cromwell, was active in 
school and church work, and died Febru- 
ary 28, 1725. He married, April 3, 1693, 
Mary Mould, born July 26. 1665, died Au- 
gust II, 1730, daughter of Hugh and 
Martha (Coit) Mould, of Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, later of New London. Con- 
necticut. Their daughter Sarah, born 
about 1700. became the wife of Lieutenant 
John (2) Bacon, as above mentioned. 

(IV) Joseph Bacon, son of Lieutenant 
John (2) Bacon, was born May 11, 1728, 
in Middletown, and resided on the pater- 
nal homestead, where he died, December 

26, 1785. He married (second), November 

27, 1760. Rhoda Plum, who was born 
March i, 1738, in Middletown, daughter 
of Waitstill John and Rhoda (Curtis) 
Plum, the latter a daughter of Nathaniel 
Curtis of A\'allingford, Connecticut. She 
survived him many years, dying Septem- 
ber 22, 1822. 

(V) Captain John (3) Bacon, fifth son 
of Joseph Bacon, was born in 1776, in 
Middletown. He followed the sea, was 
master of a vessel in the coasting trade, 
and died in 1837. He married (second). 



November 22, 181 1, Martha Bales, of Dar- 
ien, Connecticut. 

(VI) John Plum Bacon, third son of 
Captain John (3) Bacon, was born Janu- 
ary II, 1814, on the west side of Main 
street, just north of Grand, in Middle- 
town. When a young man he went to 
New York City, where he continued sev- 
eral years in business, and returned in 
1842 to Middletown, where the remainder 
of his life was spent. In his day he was 
one of the best known citizens of the 
town, was associated for a time with his 
brother William, and later was head of 
the firm of J. P. Bacon & Sons. After 
nearly sixty years of active life, he re- 
tired, and passed away November 26, 1898, 
in his eighty-fifth year. For fifty-four 
years he was connected with the Middle- 
town Savings Bank as trustee and direc- 
tor, and at the time of his death was vice- 
president, being the eldest in point of ser- 
vice connected with that institution. He 
was a staunch supporter and one of the 
standbys of the Democratic party in his 
day and served several years as select- 
man, his administration being character- 
ized as the most economical in the town. 

Mr. Bacon married. May 14, 1838, in 
Middletown, Sarah E. Southmayd, who 
was born March 4, 1819, on Ferry street, 
Middletown, eldest daughter of John B. 
and Elizabeth (Perkins) Southmayd, of 
that town (see Southmayd, A. L.). 

(VII) Sherman Mitchell Bacon, fourth 
son of John P. and Sarah E. (Southmayd) 
Bacon, was born January 21, 1849, on 
Cherry street, in Middletown, and en- 
joyed the advantages of the excellent 
schools of his native town, including the 
Green street and Central schools and 
Chase's Academy, a noted preparatory 
school of the time. He early decided to 
devote himself to a business career and 
entered the store of Samuel Stearns, a 
dealer in furnishing goods, boots and 



10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shoes, where he continued one year. 
Later he was employed by A. M. Bidwell 
in what was known as the Union Store, 
and subsequently was in the service of 
Ward & Rutty, shoe dealers. Having be- 
come familiar with mercantile methods, he 
engaged in the meat market business in 
association with his father, succeeding his 
elder brother, Conrad G. Bacon, in the 
firm of J. P. Bacon & Sons. Subsequently 
he acquired an interest in this firm of J. 
Bacon & Son, shoe dealers, soon after re- 
selling his interest to W. K. Bacon. For 
some years he operated successfully in 
New York City and returned to Middle- 
town, where he embarked in business as a 
member of the firm of Fuller & Bacon, in 
a grocery store, at the corner of Green and 
Main streets. Some time after this he was 
in the service of the Valley Railway Com- 
pany, at Middletown, and was subse- 
quently agent of what is now the Air Line 
railroad. Following this he was instru- 
mental in forming the firm of Carroll, 
Fitzgerald & Bacon, which conducted a 
coal business. In time the firm became 
Carroll & Bacon, and later Mr. Bacon was 
sole proprietor. The business was finally 
consolidated with that of the Middletown 
Coal Company, of which Mr. Bacon be- 
came president. For a period of nine con- 
secutive years Mr. Bacon served as first 
selectman of the town of Middletown. 
He was for several years a member of the 
Common Council of the city of Middle- 
town, and for a long term a member of its 
school board. His political standards 
were those of the Democratic party. Both 
he and his wife were members of the Uni- 
versalist church ; for several years he was 
superintendent of its Sunday school and 
Mrs. Bacon was a member of the choir. 
Mr. Bacon was an active and enthusiastic 
member of several fraternal bodies, being 
a charter member of Apollo Lodge, No. 
33, Knights of Pythias, instituted Novem- 



ber 6, 1872. He was past grand chan- 
cellor of the State, and represented this 
State in the Supreme Lodge of the United 
States. He was a member of St. John's 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
Washington Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and Cyrene Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar. He was also a member of Sphinx 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine of Hartford. During 
most of his life his home was on Grand 
street, in Middletown, where he died Sep- 
tember 28, 1915. He was accounted 
among the most public-spirited citizens of 
Middletown and both he and his wife 
were socially popular in that city. 

Mr. Bacon was married, March 30, 

1870, at Irvington-on-the-Hudson, to Ari- 
anna Pauline Bailey, who was born June 
24, 1850, in Deep River, Connecticut, a 
daughter of Martin and Sarah M. (Stev- 
ens) Bailey. Martin Bailey was a mer- 
chant in Middletown, and died about 1864. 
Mrs. Bacon was the only child of her par- 
ents, and was four years of age when they 
settled in Middletown. Her mother was 
a daughter of Deacon Gilbert and Mari- 
etta (Clark) Stevens. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bacon were the parents of seven chil- 
dren : Matie Axtelle, born February 25, 

1 87 1, became the wife of Albro R. Car- 
penter, of Bloomfield, Connecticut ; Susie 
Marie and Sadie Martin, twins, were born 
May 15, 1873, and died in August and 
September of the same year; John P., of 
mention below; Rachie Morrow, born 
June 20, 1878, married Walter Varndell, 
and died August 9, 1900, at Orange, New 
Jersey ; Sherman Russell, born in 1880, 
died in 1881 ; Sophie Putnam, born June 
15, 1884. now the wife of Charles Kirwan, 
of Baltimore, Maryland. 

(VIII) John Plum (2) Bacon, only sur- 
viving son of Sherman M. and Arianna P. 
(Bailey) Bacon, was born October 14, 
1874, in Middletown, Connecticut, and 



II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was educated in the grammar and high 
schools of that city, where he has made 
his home from childhood. After a year or 
two in business he entered a private school 
at Hartford and was later engaged with 
his father in the office of the Middletown 
Coal Company. He subsequently at- 
tended the New York School of Anatomy, 
from which he was graduated in 1905, 
having perfected himself in embalming 
and undertaking, and has since been es- 
tablished in business as an undertaker in 
Middletown. He is a trustee of the Mid- 
dletown Savings Bank and is now serving 
in his third term as a member of the Board 
of Water Commissioners of Middletown. 
He has served many years as treasurer of 
the Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Bacon has been active in the fra- 
ternal work of the community, being iden- 
tified with the Knights of Pythias, a past 
chancellor of Apollo Lodge ; the Masonic 
fraternity, affiliated with St. John's 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Middletown ; and with the Shriners of 
Hartford ; he is past commander of Cyrene 
Commandery, and past high priest of 
Washington chapter. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and a communicant of Holy 
Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Bacon was married, June 7, 1904, in 
Portland, Connecticut, to Grace Louise 
Mitchell, a native of that town, daughter 
of the late Robert S. Mitchell, whose biog- 
raphy appears elsewhere in this work. 



BACON, Charles Ebenezer. 

County Conimissioiier, Legislator. 

A scion of the old Bacon family of Mid- 
dletown, which has been conspicuous in 
every department of activity from the 
early settlement of the town, Mr. Bacon 
sturdily maintains the reputation for in- 



telligence, integrity and industry which 
has characterized the family through all 
its generations. He is the present owner 
and occupant of a portion of the land 
owned by his ancestor, Nathaniel Bacon 
(see preceding sketch). 

(ID Nathaniel (2) Bacon, son of Nathan- 
iel (i) and Anne (Miller) Bacon (q. v.), 
born after April 5, 1655 (when a child of 
that name died), probably about 1674-76, 
lived in Middletown, where he died Jan- 
uary 6, 1759. He does not appear in the 
recorded list of his father's children, but 
the latter's will, dated February 24. 1698, 
gave to him land on both sides of the 
"great river" and also in Hartford. In 
1710 he purchased of Samuel Taylor land 
in Westfield, and received a deed, March 
24, 1727, from Benjamin Hand, of Guil- 
ford, conveying 200 acres of land adjoin- 
ing Farmington, now Berlin. On Septem- 
ber 31, 1727, he received from Thomas 
Stowe a deed of sixteen acres in New- 
field. He had four wives. He married 
(second), February 5, 1702, in Middle- 
town, Hannah Wetmore, born July 23, 
1677, ill that town, daughter of Francis 
and Hannah (Harris) Wetmore, died Sep- 
tember 7, 1722. 

(HI) Nathaniel (3) Bacon, eldest son 
of Nathaniel (2) and Hannah (Wetmore) 
Bacon, was born February 16, 1707, in 
Middletown. He married (first) Jane 
Bevin. He married (second), October 13, 
1742, Anna Harrison. 

(IV) Joel Bacon, third son of Nathan- 
iel (3) and Anna (Harrison) Bacon, was 
born November 12, 1751, in Middletown. 
He married there, July 7, 1776, Lydia 
Hubbard, born June 10, 1751, third daugh- 
ter of John Earl and Annah (AUin) Hub- 
bard. 

(V) Joel (2) Bacon, youngest child of 
Joel (i) and Lydia (Hubbard) Bacon, was 
born July 31, 1793, in Middletown. He 
married, April 14, 1817, in the West Sims- 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bury Church, Lucina Taylor, daughter 
of David and Lucina (Roberts) Taylor. 
David Taylor, who was descended from 
John and Elizabeth Taylor, of Middle- 
town, was the son of William Taylor, born 
September 2, 1722, in Middletown, settled 
in West Simsbury, now Canton, Connec- 
ticut, about 1756. and died there in 1777. 
His (second) wife, Ruth, was a Widow 
Higgins, and died in 1813, in Canton. 
Their son, David Taylor, born July 7, 
1764, in Simsbury, was a soldier of the 
Revolution, and died in 1840. He mar- 
ried Lucina Roberts, who was born Octo- 
ber 28, 1751, and died in 1816, daughter of 
William and Phoebe (Wilcox) Roberts, a 
descendant of John Roberts, who was 
granted ten acres of land in Sitnsbury, 
May 21, 1688. This was on the west side 
of the town near the Granby line. Later 
he purchased lands in what is now Bloom- 
field. His wife, Patience (Saxton) Rob- 
erts, born June 28, 1658, was a daughter of 
Richard and Sarah (Cook) Saxton. Rich- 
ard Saxton came from England on the 
ship "Blessing" and was in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, as early as 1643. William Rob- 
erts, son of John Roberts, died in Sims- 
bury, January 4, 1761. He married, 
March 12, 1728, Sarah Mills, and their 
third son, William Roberts, born Novem- 
ber 20, 1736, died about 1774. He was the 
father of William Roberts, who married 
Phoebe Wilcox, and was the father of 
Lucina Roberts, who married Joel Bacon. 
Harriet N. Bacon, daughter of Joel and 
Lucina (Taylor) Bacon, was born No- 
vember 29, 1823, and became the wife of 
Charles Bacon as hereinafter noted. 

(Ill) Benjamin Bacon, second son of 
Nathaniel (2) and Hannah (Wetmore) 
Bacon, was born November 28. 1 70S. in 
Middletown. where he made his home. 
He married, October 8, 1734, Rhod.q Mil- 
ler, who was born March 8, 171 7, si-cih 
daughter of Benjamin Miller, third daugh- 



ter of his second wife, Marcy (Bassett) 
Miller. The last named was born March 
8, 1649, in New Haven, daughter of Rob- 
ert Bassett, a pioneer there. Benjamin 
Miller, born July 10, 1672, was the fourth 
son of Thomas Miller, who came from 
Rowley, Massachusetts, and died in Mid- 
dletown in 1680. He married, June 6, 
1665. Sarah Nettleton, probably a daugh- 
ter of Samuel Nettleton, of Milford, died 
March 20, 1728. 

(IV) Phineas Bacon, second son of 
Benjamin and Rhoda (Miller) Bacon, was 
born October 19, 1744, and died in 1816. 
He was a tanner and shoemaker, also en- 
gaged in agriculture and owned a farm in 
Westfield. His later years were spent on 
the farm now occupied by Charles Eben- 
ezer Bacon. He conducted a tavern, was 
a prominent figure in the old days, and 
furnished a substitute as a soldier in the 
\\'ar of the Revolution. His body was 
laid to rest in the Miner Cemetery. He 
married, December 25, 1766, his cousin, 
Sarah Atkins, born December 27, 1745; 
daughter of Thomas and Martha (Miller« 
Atkins, the last named a daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Marcy (Bassett) Miller. Sarah 
Atkins was descended from Luke Atkins, 
who was in New Haven as early as 1639. 
and married there for his second wife. 
May I, 1651, Mary Piatt, daughter of 
Deacon Richard Piatt, of New Haven. 
Perhaps he moved to Middletown before 
his death, as there is no further record of 
him in New Haven. At any rate, his 
widow married, in Middletown, January 
3, 1667, Thomas Whetmore, or Wetmore. 
Josiah Atkins supposed to be a son of 
Luke Atkins by his first marriage, resided 
in Middletown, where he died September 
12, 1690, leaving seven minor children. 
He married, October 8, 1673, his step- 
sister, Elizabeth Whetmore, born 1648. 
daughter of Thomas Whetmore. Ephriam 
.'\tkins, fourth son of Josiah Atkins, born 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 9, 1685, died December 26, 1760. 
He married, June 16, 1709, Elizabeth 
Whetmore, born September 2, 1685, eldest 
child of Thomas and Elizabeth (Hub- 
bard) Whetmore. Elizabeth Hubbard, 
born January 15, 1659, in Middletown, 
was the youngest child of George Hub- 
bard, the patriarch of that family, who 
receives mention elsewhere in this work. 
She was married February 20, 1684, to 
Thomas Whetmore, and died December 6, 
1725. Thomas Whetmore was born Octo- 
ber 19, 1652, and died February i, 1689. 
Thomas Atkins, son of Ephraim Atkins, 
born April 5, 1710, married, August 6, 
1735, Martha Miller, who was born March 
28, 1705, daughter of Governor Benjamin 
Miller, above referred to, granddaughter 
of Thomas Miller, the first settler, and his 
second wife, Marcy (Bassett) Miller. 
They were the parents of Sarah Atkins, 
born December 27, 1745, who became the 
wife of Phineas Bacon, as before noted. 

(V) Benjamin (2) Bacon, eldest child 
of Phineas and Sarah (Atkins) Bacon, 
born November 17, 1767, died in 1840. As 
a young man he lived with his uncle, 
Ezenezer Bacon, who was noteworthy as 
one of the founders of the South Congre- 
gational Church in Middletown, and 
whose wife, Millicent (Cornwall) Bacon, 
gave valuable instructions to young 
Bacon. The latter married, December 22, 
1788, Abiah Cornwall, who was born 
February 18, 1763, in Middletown, 
seventh daughter of Lieutenant Nathaniel 
and Mary (Cornwall) Cornwall, of West- 
field, a sister of Millicent. 

(VI) Ebenezer Bacon, eldest child of 
Benjamin (2) and Abiah (Cornwall) 
Bacon, was born October 2, 1789, in the 
Westfield section, and when a young man 
lived with his grandfather, Phineas 
Bacon. After the death of the latter he 
returned to the paternal homestead, whose 
management came into his hands, and to 



which he gave a life of industry and in- 
telligent application. He was a gentle- 
man of the old school, whose honor was 
never questioned, who possessed a keen 
sense of humor, and was ever ready in 
retort and argument. Though somewhat 
gruff in manner, his kindness of heart 
made him many friends. Of sturdy and 
independent principle, he expected con- 
sistent and upright conduct from others. 
During the War of 1812 he was engaged 
in hauling produce with oxen from New 
Haven to Boston, the land route being the 
only one by which goods could be safely 
moved. Retaining his faculties until the 
last, he died December 20, 1881, in his 
ninety-third year. He married Lavinia 
Wilcox, born January 31, 1797, third 
daughter of Joseph and Miriam (Bacon) 
Wilcox. She was murdered by a robber, 
September 24, 1843. The guilty man was 
subsequently executed, being the last per- 
son hanged in Middlesex county. 

(VII) Charles Bacon, second child of 
Ebenezer and Lavinia (Wilcox) Bacon, 
was born October 27, 1819, in the house 
now occupied by his son. Previous to his 
marriage he continued upon the paternal 
homestead in whose cultivation he bore 
no insignificant part. He subsequently 
purchased an adjoining farm, on which he 
built the stucco house now standing there, 
in 1855. This was purchased from the 
heirs of his uncle, Seth Wilcox. There he 
continued to reside until his death, July 
13, 1896. He was noted as a progressive 
and capable farmer, and was the first man 
in the town to own thoroughbred Jersey 
cattle. He was ever anxious to promote 
the interests of the community, but was 
never in any sense a public man. He was 
always anxious to secure the selection of 
the most capable man for public office, and 
as an individual represented a high type 
of citizen. Continuing the principles 
maintained by his honored father, to 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



whom he bore a striking resemblance in 
personal appearance, the parental char- 
acteristics were also strong in him. and he 
numbered among his friends many of the 
prominent citizens of Middletown and 
Meriden, in both of which places he was 
wont to transact business. In religious 
connection he was affiliated with the 
Westfield Congregational Church, and his 
political principles were represented by 
the Republican party. Mr. Bacon was 
married, April 29, 1847, to Harriet N. 
Bacon, who was born November 29, 1823, 
daughter of Joel and Lucina (Taylor) 
Bacon, of Canton, Connecticut, the latter 
a daughter of David Taylor, soldier of the 
Revolution (see ante). 

(VIII) Charles Ebenezer Bacon, eld- 
est son of Charles and Harriet N. (Bacon) 
Bacon, was born February 4, 1851, in the 
house that occupied the present site of 
the stucco house built by his father four 
years later. In boyhood he attended the 
district school of Westfield Society, and 
was graduated from the Middletown High 
School in 1867, in a class of four, the first 
turned out by that institution, and the 
only male in the class, Henry E. Sawyer 
being the principal. His earliest efforts 
in self-sustenance were put forth as a 
teacher. He served three years in the 
schools of Middletown and one year in 
Southington, Connecticut. Subsequently, 
he pursued a course in engineering and 
was graduated from the Yale Scientific 
School with the degree of civil engineer 
in 1876. His second term of school was 
taught in his native district, and during 
the summers between terms he engaged in 
farming. After some travel in the West, 
during which he visited Texas, he soon 
after located on his present farm, which 
was that of his grandfather and which his 
father had purchased ; the son in turn pur- 
chased this from his father, and by various 
additions he has come into possession of 



180 acres, much of which is under cultiva- 
tion. In his farming operations he has 
given much attention to dairj-ing, and for 
many years maintained a herd of twenty 
registered Jersey cows. These have been 
graded by mixture with other bloods, and 
his herd now includes many high-grade 
Holsteins. Some of Mr. Bacon's Jersey 
stock formed the foundation of the famous 
herd maintained by C. I. Hood, of Lowell, 
Massachusetts. Of recent years, the man- 
agement of the farm has fallen into the 
hands of Mr. Bacon's son, while the father 
has been employed in the public service. 
Like his father, Mr. Bacon has endeavored 
to pursue modern and progressive meth- 
ods in agriculture, and his reward has been 
proportionate. He has been very active in 
the work of the Patrons of Husbandry, 
and is a member of the Mattabessett 
Grange, of Middletown, in which he has 
filled all the principal chairs, and was sec- 
retary of Central Pomona Grange, No. i, 
for more than a dozen years. From 1892 
to 1907, Mr. Bacon was secretary of the 
Patrons Fire Insurance Company, of 
Hartford. He is a charter member of Mid- 
dletown Lodge, No. 771, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, of which he was 
first acting esteemed lecturing knight, and 
in which lodge he has filled all the prin- 
cipal chairs. He is a member of Apollo 
Lodge, No. 33, Knights Pythias, of Mid- 
dletown, and enjoys the respect and es- 
teem of the members of this great fra- 
ternal order. Early in life he began to 
take an intelligent and active interest in 
political matters, giving his support to 
the Republican organization, and has been 
often called to the public service. After 
serving three years as assessor of the 
town, he was elected representative in 
1903, and filled an influential position in 
the State Legislature. Since 1889, for a 
period of thirty years, Mr. Bacon has been 
secretary of the Board of Town School 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Visitors, a position which brings to him 
considerable labor and responsibility 
under the modern system of school man- 
agement. In October, 1907, he was ap- 
pointed a county commissioner, and is 
now serving in his fourth term in that 
position, during all of which time he has 
been chairman of the board and has 
scarcely ever failed to make a daily visit 
to its office in the Municipal building. 
Mr. Bacon possesses the congenial and 
happy nature which has ever been char- 
acteristic of the famil}- in Middletown. 
He is courteous in manner and enjoys the 
friendship and esteem of the multitude 
who have been brought into contact with 
him socially and officially. 

He married, November 11, 1877, Geor- 
gianna T. Leach, who was bom July 14, 
1853, in Durham, Connecticut, daughter 
of Leverett M. and Lydia M. (Thayer) 
Leach, a granddaughter of Leverett 
Woodbridge and Deborah (Scranton) 
Leach, born in what is now North Mad- 
ison, formerly a part of the town of Guil- 
ford, Connecticut (see Leach). Mrs. 
Bacon, with her husband, attends the 
Methodist church, of Middletown, and is 
a member of Mattabessett Grange. She 
is also a member of the Women's Relief 
Corps, auxiliary to Mansfield Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic, of Middletown. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bacon have two children : 
I. Grace E., born July 11, 1879; gradu- 
ated from Northfield Seminary in the class 
of 1903, at Mt. Holyoke College, 1907, took 
past-graduate course in mathematics at 
Wesleyan ; she became the wife of Clar- 
ance Gould ; she died in Middletown. Con- 
necticut. 2. Charles Marsden, born Feb- 
ruary 22, 1881 ; graduated from Wilbra- 
ham Academy in 1900; he is now manager 
of the paternal farm in Westfield, on 
which he resides, and pursues the most 
modern and improved methods in its culti- 
vation ; he married Florence Brown, of 



Newton Center, Massachusetts, who was a 
classmate at Wilbraham Academy ; they 
are the parents of three children : Marion, 
Katharine and Charles Marsden 2nd. 



BACON, Curtiss Stow, 

Judge of Probate. 

A scion of one of the oldest Middle- 
town families, and a native of the town. 
Judge Bacon has long served his con- 
temporaries in official capacity, and is now 
in his seventh term as judge of the Court 
of Probate. The history of early genera- 
tions of the Bacon family appears in the 
preceding sketches. 

(IV) John (3) Bacon, eldest child of 
Lieutenant John (2) and Sarah (White) 
Bacon (q. v.), was born April 21, 1723. in 
Middletown, Connecticut. He lived in 
that part of the town known as Westfield. 
He married, March i, 1748. Rhoda Gould, 
daughter of John and Mabel Gould, of 
Cromwell. 

(V) John (4) Bacon, second child of 
John (3) and Rhoda (Gould) Bacon, was 
born January 22, 1751. He was a farmer 
on the paternal homestead. He married, 
December 28, 1774, Grace Griswold, of 
Wallingford. 

(VI) John (5) Bacon, eldest son of 
John (4) and Grace (Griswold) Bacon, 
was born December 15, 1779, and lived in 
what is now Middlefield, where he died 
December 6, 1859. He married, January 
27, 1803, Amy Coe, who was bom July 21, 
1779, in Middlefield, and died October 30, 
1865, daughter of Nathan and Abigail 
(Parsons) Coe, of that town. Elsewhere 
in this work (see William Coe-Bill) ap- 
])ears mention of the Coe family, which 
was founded in this country by Robert 
Coe. His son, Robert Coe, was the father 
of Captain John Coe, whose son. Captain 
Joseph Coe, was an early settler at Dur- 
ham, Connecticut, where he filled numer- 



16 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ous leading official positions. He married, 
in 1708, Abigail, daughter of David Rob- 
inson. Captain David Coe, son of Captain 
Joseph Coe, born 1717, lived in Middle- 
field, and was active in military affairs, 
becoming captain of militia in 1764. He 
married Hannah, daughter of Nathan 
Camp, and they were the parents of 
Nathan Coe, whose daughter Amy was 
the wife of John Bacon. 

(VII) Curtiss Bacon, son of John (5) 
and Amy (Coe) Bacon, was born April 
17, 1804, in what is now Middlefield, and 
was many years prominent in the public 
service. In early manhood he was a 
teacher in the public schools, and was very 
active in promoting the work of the Dem- 
ocratic party, the exponent of his prin- 
ciples. Being elected town constable, he 
moved to the city of Middletown, where 
he was soon appointed deputy sheriff and 
filled that office for several years. In 185 1 
he received his party nomination for 
sheriff, and was elected after a well-con- 
tested struggle by a very popular Repub- 
lican. At the end of his term he was ap- 
pointed United States marshal by Presi- 
dent Pierce and later reappointed by his 
successor, President Buchanan. Subse- 
quently he served as deputy sheriff, con- 
stable and county commissioner, and was 
a delegate to the last national Democratic 
convention preceding his death. His even 
temper and genial manners made him 
numerous friends, and his enemies were 
very few. He built the commodious home 
on Main street, Middletown, which is now 
occupied by his grandson, Judge C. S. 
Bacon, and here he died. He married, 
November 9, 1828, Ann Stow, who was 
born April 22, 1805, in Middlefield, 
daughter of Obed and Lucy (Kirby) 
Stow, of that town, descended from John 
Stow, who came from Kent, England, to 
Massachusetts, in 1634, arriving May 17 
of that year, accompanied by his wife 

Conn — 10 — 2 



Elizabeth and six children. He settled 
in Roxbury, which town he represented 
at two sessions of the General Court, and 
died October 26, 1643. His wife died Au- 
gust 21, 1638. Their eldest child, Thomas 
Stow, lived in Braintree and Concord, 
Massachusetts. He was a freeman of the 
Massachusetts colony in 1653, moved to 
Middletown, Connecticut, before 1669, and 
died there early in 1684. He married, De- 
cember 4, 1639, Mary Gragg or Griggs, 
who died August 21, 1680, in Middletown. 
Thomas Stow was admitted to the church 
at Middletown by letter from the Concord 
Church, November 14, 1669. At the same 
time his eldest son, John Stow, was ad- 
mitted with his wife. The said John Stow 
was born February 3, 1641, in Concord, 
and died October 18, 1688, in Middletown. 
He married, November 13, 1668, in Mid- 
dletown, Mary Wetmore, born 1649, 
daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Hall) 
Wetmore, pioneer settlers of Middletown. 
She owned the covenant with her husband, 
and was admitted to the church, Novem- 
ber 14, 1669, and died in Middletown, Au- 
gust 21, 1680. Their fourth son, Nathan- 
iel Stow, was born February 22, 1675, and 
baptized November 28 following, in Mid- 
dletown. He married, February 11, 1703, 
Sarah Sumner, and their second son, 
Eliakim Stow, was born March 2, 1708, in 
Middletown. He married, December 13, 
1732, Lydia Miller, born about 171 1, eld- 
est child of Benjamin and Mary (Bassett) 
Miller. Their eldest son, Elihu Stow, 
was born May 27, 1736, and married, 
March 11, 1760, Jemima Paine, of South- 
old, Long Island. Their third son, 
Obed Stow, born March 29, 1767, married 
Lucy Kirby, and was the father of Ann 
Stow, wife of Curtiss Bacon, as above 
noted. 

(VIII) Arthur William Bacon, son of 
Curtiss and Ann (Stow) Bacon, was born 
September 10, 1836, in the parish of West- 

17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



field, and enjoyed excellent educational 
advantages. After preparation at the 
famous Chase Academy in Middletown, he 
entered Wesleyan University, from which 
he was graduated in 1856. He studied 
law with Waldo P. Vinal and Moses Cul- 
ver, and was admitted to the bar. He 
began practice in Middletown and con- 
tinued with marked success until 1895. 
As both writer and speaker, he was dis- 
tinguished, and ranked as the ablest at- 
torney of the Middlesex bar. Blessed with 
fine literary taste and a sure command of 
language, he was greatly in demand in 
political contests, being among the most 
enthusiastic supporters of the Democratic 
party. In 1867-1869, 1870 and 1874, he 
represented Middletown in the General 
Assembly, the last session being the last 
in New Haven. Mr. Bacon married, No- 
vember 15, 1871, in Barnstable, Massachu- 
setts, Henrietta B. Parker, born there 
October 15, 1848, daughter of Frederick 
and Emeline (Howland) Parker, of 
that town. Mr. and Mrs. Bacon were 
the parents of children as follows : 
I. Anna Howland, died at the age 
of one year and six days. 2. Emma 
Howland, born September 28, 1874; mar- 
ried, August 8, 1900, General George A. 
Nugent, of the United States Army ; Gen- 
eral Nugent was promoted from colonel 
to brigadier-general while serving in 
France during the World War. 3. Cur- 
tiss Stow, of whom further. 4. Bertha 
Parker, born November 21, 1878; the wife 
of Robert W. Forbes, former Yale foot- 
ball star, now a lumber merchant at New 
London, Connecticut. 

Frederick Parker, father of Henrietta B. 
(Parker) Bacon, was a native of Barn- 
stable, in early life engaged in mercan- 
tile business in Boston. Returning to 
Barnstable, he was a merchant and farmer 
in West Barnstable until his death, a 
highly respected citizen. Mrs. Parker was 



descended from Humphrey Howland, a 
draper of London. England, whose will, 
made May 28, 1646, proved June 10 fol- 
lowing, bequeathed to sons Arthur, Henry 
and John. Among the items was a debt 
due him from Mr. Buck, then residing in 
Salem, New England. One of these sons, 
John Howland, born 1592, went from 
Scrooby, England, to Amsterdam in 1608, 
and a year later to Leyden. He was a 
passenger on the historic "Mayflower," 
and was the thirteenth to sign the com- 
pact made by the pilgrim band on board 
the "Mavflower'' in Provincetown harbor. 
.'Xfter filling many offices of trust and re- 
sponsibility in the colony, he died Febru- 
ary 26, 1673. He married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Tilley, of 
the "Mayflower" company. She died De- 
cember 21, 1687. Their son, John How- 
land, born February 24, 1627, in Ply- 
mouth, lived a short time in Marshfield, 
and removed to Barnstable in 1657, was 
selectman there in 1689. He married, 
October 26, 165 1, Mary, daughter of Rob- 
ert Lee, of Barnstable. Their second son, 
Shubael Howland. born September 30, 
1672, in Barnstable, resided in Sandwich, 
after 1715. He married, December 13, 

1700, Mercy Blossom, born October, 1678, 
daughter of Peter and Sarah (Bodfish) 
Blossom. Jabez Howland, eldest child of 
Shubael Howland, born September 16, 

1701, in Sandwich, lived in Barnstable, 
and married, in 1727, Elizabeth Percival, 
of that town. Their fourth son, Ansel 
Howland, born December 3, 1738, married 
Elizabeth Bodfish, who died October 4, 
1821, a firm believer in witchcraft. Her sec- 
ond son, Jabez Parker Howland, was bom 
May 31, 1775, in West Barnstable, where 
he made his home, and died January i, 
1848. He was a friend of the poor, and 
filled many offices, including that of rep- 
resentative, being the youngest at the 
first election and among the oldest at the 



18 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



last. He married, October i8, 1797, Han- 
nah Parker, born June 24, 1778, died July 
30, 1862, daughter of David and Mehitabel 
(Hall) Parker. Emeline Howland, sixth 
daughter of Jabez and Hannah Howland, 
was born February 27, 1819, was married, 
September 2, 1838, to Frederick Parker, 
of Barnstable. She is described as a 
woman of remarkably sweet disposition 
and great good sense. She died July 30, 
1873. Her second daughter and fourth 
child, Henrietta B. Parker, born October 
15, 1848, became the wife of Arthur W. 
Bacon, as above related. She was a mem- 
ber of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution and other patriotic societies, 
and died April 4, 1902. 

(IX) Curtiss Stow Bacon, only son of 
Arthur W. and Henrietta B. (Parker) 
Bacon, was born July 2, 1877, in Middle- 
town, Connecticut, and enjoyed the ad- 
vantages of a cultured home, supple- 
mented by the public school training. 
Graduating from the Middletown High 
School in 1896, he entered Wesleyan Uni- 
versity in the autumn of the same year, 
and remained until the end of the junior 
year. In the fall of 1899 he entered Yale 
Law School, from which he was gradu- 
ated in June, 1902, and was admitted to 
the Middlesex county bar at once. En- 
gaging immediately in the practice of his 
profession, he was appointed city attorney 
in 1906, serving until 1907. In November, 
1908, he was elected judge of the Court of 
Probate for the district of Middletown, 
and has served by continual reelection 
until the present time, a compliment to 
his ability and popularity, inasmuch as the 
district is normally Republican, while 
Judge Bacon adheres to the principles of 
the Democratic party. His majorities 
testify to his high standing in the com- 
munity. 

He is associated with many of the lead- 
ing organizations devoted to social wel- 



fare, among them the Church of the Holy 
Trinity; the Delta Kappa Epsilon frater- 
nity of Wesleyan ; Arrawanna Tribe, Im- 
proved Order of Red Men ; and Middle- 
town Lodge, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. In the last named body he 
has filled the principal chairs, was exalted 
ruler in 1908-09, and delegate to the grand 
lodge session at Los Angeles, 1909. He is 
a member of the Middletown Yacht Club, 
and the second company, Governor's Foot 
Guard, of Connecticut, and a trustee of 
the City Savings Bank, of Middletown. 
Of the kindly nature necessary to a good 
judge of probate, with genial manners and 
sound legal training, Judge Bacon enjoys 
the confidence and esteem of a large num- 
ber of persons. 



BACON, WaUace KeUum, 

Businesi Man. 

In the death of Wallace Kellum Bacon, 
which occurred July 26. 1919, there dis- 
appeared from the scene of earthly activi- 
ties one of the most substantial, respected 
and capable citizens of the town, a 
worthy descendant of one of the oldest 
families of Middletown, his lineage being 
traced in the preceding sketch. 

(V) Isaac Bacon, third son of Joseph 
and Rhoda (Plum) Bacon (q. v.), was 
born May 30, 1766, in Middletown, at the 
family homestead on North Main street, 
and he inherited a portion of the family es- 
tate. With little formal education, he was 
trained in the school of experience, pos- 
sessed unusual business sagacity, and ac- 
cumulated a competence. Independent in 
thought and action, he was a powerful 
force in the community. In early life a 
sailor, he later became the owner and 
commander of a vessel which carried stone 
from the Portland quarries to New York 
City, and which was destroyed during the 
War of 1812, near Saybrook. In later 



19 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



life he cultivated a large farm including 
meadows north of Little river. An orig- 
inal genius, his usual greeting was: 
"What do you design today?" His cider 
mill stood on the present location of the 
street railway barns. It was his habit to 
use ten cent pieces for buttons on his vest. 
He died March 5, 1856, at the age of 
ninety years. He married, December 14, 
1785, Dorothy Stowe, whose birth and 
parentage are not of record in Middle- 
town. She died nearly twenty years be- 
fore her husband, September 13, 1836. 

(VI) Jefferson Bacon, third son of 
Isaac and Dorothy (Stowe) Bacon, was 
born April i. 1802, on the paternal home- 
stead on North Main street, and early in 
life learned the shoemaker's trade at 
Westfield. While serving his apprentice- 
ship, his employer set him to work on his 
farm, which did not please him, and he 
returned to his native city and soon after 
moved to Norfolk, Virginia, where he 
gained valuable experience at his trade 
under the instructions of a skilled laborer 
who came from France. Returning to 
Connecticut on a sailing vessel he arrived 
at New Haven with a fifty cent piece, 
which he had unfortunately accepted as 
good money, but was counterfeit. He 
walked to Middletown, and subsequently 
worked at his trade in Durham and other 
places. Soon after 1830 Mr. Bacon estab- 
lished a small shoe shop on the lot where 
he resided at No. 39 Sumner street, and 
there produced shoes for the New York 
market. It was a small beginning and 
close application was necessary to achieve 
success. In time the business increased 
and he removed his shop to a site on Main 
street, where his progress was somewhat 
impeded by the instability of two suc- 
cessive partners. He continued alone 
until his boys were able to assist him. In 
1861 he moved to the store which now 
serves as nn entrance to the Grand 



Theatre on Main street, above Court, and 
there continued until his death, Decem- 
ber 9, 1877. In time his eldest son, Al- 
bert C, became associated with him under 
the style of J. Bacon & Son. Later he was 
joined by another son, Wallace K., and his 
business increased to very satisfactory 
dimensions and was continued by the sons 
after his death. Mr. Bacon was one of 
the founders of the Universalist Church 
Society, and aided in the construction of 
its house of worship in 1839. He was a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and in political matters sustained 
the Democratic party. He married (sec- 
ond), July 9, 1837, Jerusha S. Caswell, who 
was born May 28, 1813, in South Glaston- 
bury, daughter of John and Sally (Dick- 
inson) Caswell, died July 5, 1889. Mrs. 
Bacon was a member of the Congrega- 
tional church. 

(VII) Wallace Kellum Bacon, third 
son of Jefferson and Jerusha S. (Caswell) 
Bacon, was born June 28, 1846, in Middle- 
town, Connecticut, where he continued to 
reside, and with whose business affairs he 
was many years actively identified. In 
the public and private schools of the town 
he pursued his studies during early boy- 
hood. The first school he attended was 
a public school at the corner of Broad and 
William streets. Like most of the active 
men of Middletown, in his day, he was a 
student at the celebrated school of Daniel 
H. Chase. At the age of seventeen years, 
in the fall of 1863, he went to Meriden and 
entered the machine shop of Charles 
Parker to learn the trade of machinist. 
He was industrious and made rapid prog- 
ress as a mechanic, but did not continue 
in that connection because of the illness 
of his elder brother, which required his 
return to Middletown to assist in the 
management of his father's store. His 
compensation at first would not be consid- 
ered a liberal one today, being ten dollars 



20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a month in addition to his board and 
clothing. A year later his salary was in- 
creased to $15 a month and he clothed 
himself. As his tastes were simple and 
his wants few, he was enabled to save 
from this salary, and very early opened 
an account at the Farmers' & Mechanics' 
Savings Bank. Continuing as an em- 
ployee until 1867, he then became a 
partner with his father, the firm still being 
know as J. Bacon & Son. For two years 
he attended so closely to business that he 
was never out of town over night. This 
close attention seriously impaired his 
health, and he was obliged to give up busi- 
ness temporarily in order to recuperate. 
In 1870 he sold out his share in the busi- 
ness to his cousin, Sherman M. Bacon, 
and went to Briggsville, Wisconsin, where 
he spent nearly six months in out-door 
life and was restored to his usual vigor. 
Returning in the fall of 1870, he purchased 
from Sherman M. Bacon the business 
which he had sold and continued to con- 
duct it for many years. In 1877 his father 
died and the son became sole owner of the 
business. The cares and responsibilities 
again made inroads upon his health, and 
as a means of lightening his burdens he 
admitted James K. Guy as a partner, April 
I, 1879, ^nd the business was continued 
by Bacon and Guy until a comparatively 
recent period. Mr. Guy had already es- 
tablished a growing insurance business, 
and this was continued by the firm of 
Bacon & Guy in connection with the shoe 
store, and this branch of the business very 
soon overshadowed the mercantile feature. 
In 1887 they closed out the shoe business 
in order to devote their entire attention to 
insurance affairs, and handled a very large 
share of the business in Middletown. 
Their business was moved across the 
street in the store now occupied by the 
Middletown Coal Company. In 1901 Mr. 
Bacon retired from the business, selling 
his interest, and to the present day the 



business has been continued by Guy & 
Rice. After his retirement from this firm, 
Mr. Bacon continued to occupy a part of 
his time with business affairs of a general 
nature, such as collection of debts and 
administration of estates. He handled and 
settled many large estates to the entire 
satisfaction of heirs and those jointly re- 
sponsible with him. In 1885 he became a 
director of the Middlesex County National 
Bank, was later a director of the Middle- 
town National Bank, and at the time of his 
death was a trustee of the Middletown 
Savings Bank. 

Naturally, so capable and efticient a 
business man was sought for by his con- 
temporaries to aid in the management of 
public affairs, and Mr. Bacon served suc- 
cessively as a member of the Common 
Council and Board of Aldermen of the 
city. Like his forbears, he always adhered 
to the Democratic party in principle, and 
this was responsible for his defeat as a 
candidate for mayor in a city which is 
normally Republican by a considerable 
majority. In 1889 he was elected to rep- 
resent the town in the State Legislature, 
and during the succeeding session was 
clerk of the Railroad Committee. Mr. 
Bacon was a lifelong member of the Uni- 
versalist church, and was active in St. 
John's Lodge, No. 2, of the Masonic order 
in Middletown ; in Washington Chapter, 
No. 6, Royal Arch Masons ; and Cyrene 
Commandery, No. 8, Knights Templar, of 
Middletown, of which latter he was pre- 
late for thirty-four years. In 1897 the 
lodge presented him with a gold past 
master's jewel in appreciation of his long 
service in the order. He was a charter 
member of Middletown Lodge, Knights 
of Pythias, was its first chancellor com- 
mander, serving three years in that capac- 
ity. In 1890 he erected his home on Wash- 
ington street, near Pearl, and moved in 
on April 7, 1891. There he continued to 
reside until his death, which sad event 



21 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was mourned by a multitude of people in 
Middletown, besides his faithful wife. 

Mr. Bacon married, October 27, 1880, 
Alice J. Radcliffe, who was born October 
24, 1849, daughter of James and Mary 
(Byron) RadclifTe, at Greenfield, England, 
near Staley Bridge, in Yorkshire. She 
survives him and continues to reside in the 
Washington street home. James Rad- 
cliffe was a woolen weaver, skilled at his 
trade, and brought his family to America 
when Mrs. Bacon was a babe in arms. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bacon had a son, Edward 
Radcliffe, who died at birth. In 1897 Mr. 
and Mrs. Bacon visited Europe, sailing 
from New York to Glasgow, Scotland, and 
made an extended trip through the British 
Isles. While Mrs. Bacon visited at the 
home of her parents in Greenfield, her 
husband traveled on the continent, and on 
his return paid a visit to the ancestral 
home of his family in Stretton Parish, 
England. Mrs. Bacon, like her late hus- 
band, is a sincere adherent of the Uni- 
versalist church, to whose interest and 
welfare he devoted much time and effort. 
Its financial concerns were largely in his 
hands, and he served the Society in vari- 
ous capacities, where his sound judgment 
and unquestioned integrity were of great 
value, as it was also to the interests of 
the many estates which he handled. For 
some years he was chairman of the 
Church Society Committee and was long 
its treasurer. When the Society ceased 
its activities as such in Middletown, Mr. 
Bacon was instrumental in disposing of 
its assets to excellent advantage. 



HAINES, Frank David, 

Lawyer, Jnrist. 

From forceful and worthy sires, includ- 
ing many generations of Americans, Judge 
Haines inherits those qualities of char- 
acter, industry and public spirit which 



have been, and still are, notable elements 
in the development of New England. The 
original spelling of the name in England 
was Hayne and the family was long 
planted in Devonshire. 

The founder of the family in this coun- 
try was James Haines, who came from 
England in 1637 and settled at Salem, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was admitted a free- 
man in March, 1638. He removed to South- 
old, Long Island, where he died in March, 
1653, leaving an estate inventoried, in 
1655, at one hundred and twenty-three 
pounds, five shillings and two pence. The 
baptizmal name of his wife was Mary. 
Their third son, Benjamin Haines, bap- 
tized August 27, 1643, '" Salem, Massachu- 
setts, died at Southampton, in 1687. His 
wife's name was Joanna. Their third son, 
James Haines, born in 1673, lived in 
Bridgehampton, Long Island, with his 
wife Sarah. Their eldest child. Deacon 
James Haines, born in 1702, died between 
1779, when his will was made, and July 3, 
1782, when it was proved. His wife was 
Martha. 

Daniel Haines, the youngest son of 
Deacon James and Martha Haines, was 
born October 22, 1740, and inherited the 
paternal farm in Bridgehampton, but re- 
moved to East Hampton, Long Island. 
About the time of the Revolution he sold 
his farm there for eight thousand dollars, 
of which one-half was paid in gold and 
the balance in Continental money. He ex- 
changed the gold for Continental money 
and suffered heavy losses because of its 
depreciation. He removed to East Had- 
dam, Connecticut, and about 1786, to Leb- 
anon, Connecticut. His means having 
been greatly reduced by the depreciation 
of money, he purchased rather sterile land 
in Lebanon, on which was an old house. 
With the aid of his sons, be built a new- 
residence in which he died, November 16, 
1826, and was buried in the Exeter cem- 



22 




4v*VnJM^ W^^^^^^^^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



etery. He was long a prominent citizen 
in the Exeter section of Lebanon, adviser 
and leader of the inhabitants and highly 
respected for his intelligence and probity. 
He married (second), May lo, 1775, Eliz- 
abeth Howell, born March 8, 1745, died 
February 27, 1796, a scion of one of the 
oldest families of Southampton, New 
York. 

Daniel (2) Haines, the only son of 
Daniel (i) and Elizabeth (Howell) 
Haines, was born April 6, 1780, and was six 
years of age when the family removed to 
Lebanon. He continued to assist his 
father on the paternal farm until thirty 
years of age. He earned and came into 
possession of one hundred and seventy- 
five acres of land, which he tilled suc- 
cessfully, and died October 16, 1843. He 
was a man of fine physique, being six feet 
in height. He was a Congregationalist 
and a Whig. He married Amelia Porter, 
born December 29, 1788, and died June 6, 
1828. daughter of Increase anl Lydia 
(Woodworth) Porter, of Hebron, Connec- 
ticut. Both were buried in the Exeter 
cemetery. 

David Haines, third son of Daniel (2) 
and Amelia (Porter) Haines, was born 
May 25, 1825, in Exeter Parish, of Leb- 
anon, and was eighteen years of age at 
the time of his father's death. Within a 
few years he purchased the interest of the 
other heirs in the paternal farm, which 
he retained until 1858, when he removed 
to Colchester and purchased a timbered 
tract which he retained only one year. In 
1859 he removed to Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, where he engaged in business for a 
period of three years. He returned to 
Colchester in May, 1863, and soon after- 
ward purchased a large farm there and re- 
mained till 1883, when he removed to 
Middletown, Connecticut, where he died 
December 15, 1912. He married, in Col- 
chester, November 25. 1849, Amanda A. 



Taylor, who was born October 12, 1829, 
in that town, daughter of Daniel (2) and 
Harriett (Chamberlain) Taylor, of whom 
further. She died at Portland, Connec- 
ticut, January 5, 1916. Three sons were 
born of this union : Daniel T. Haines, a 
merchant at Maple Hill, near New Brit- 
ain, Connecticut ; Charles W. Haines, who 
graduated at Yale in 1880 and is now a 
prominent practicing attorney in Colorado 
Springs, Colorado ; and Frank D. Haines, 
the subject of this biography. A daugh- 
ter died in infancy. 

Daniel (2) Taylor was a descendant of 
Stephen Taylor, who was an early resi- 
dent of Hadley, Massachusetts, where he 
was buried September 3, 1665. It has 
been impossible to determine Stephen 
Taylor's parentage. He was possibly at 
Hartford or Wethersfield, whence most 
of the original settlers of Hadley came. 
He married Sarah White, who died Au- 
gust 10, 1702. She was a daughter of 
John and Mary White, who came from 
England in the ship "Lion," sailing from 
London, June 22, 1632, arriving Septem- 
ber 16, following, on the Massachusetts 
coast. They settled at Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, where John White was a free- 
man, March 4, 1633, and removed, in 1636, 
to Hartford, Connecticut, being one of 
the original proprietors. He was also one 
of the first settlers of Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, which he represented in the Gen- 
eral Court in 1664 and 1669. In 1670 he 
returned to Hartford, Connecticut, where 
he was an elder of the South Church, and 
died between December 17, 1683, and Jan- 
uary 23, 1684. His wife, Mary, was liv- 
ing in 1666. Stephen (i) and Sarah 
(White) Taylor were the parents of Ste- 
phen (2) Taylor who removed in 1713 
from Hadley, Massachusetts, to Col- 
chester, Connecticut, and died there Jan- 
uary 3, 1719. He married, November 27, 
1700, Patience Brown, of Deerfield, Mas- 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sachusetts, born about 1765, probably 
daughter of James and Remembrance 
(Brooks) Brown. Their only son, Ste- 
phen (3) Taylor, born August 4, 1708, in 
Hadley, lived in Colchester and had a wife 
whose baptismal name appears on the 
town records as Bennit. Josiah Taylor, 
undoubtedly the son of Stephen (3) and 
Bennit Taylor, born about 1740, lived in 
Colchester, where he married. November 
4, 1 761, Sibbel Northam, who was bap- 
tized, August I, 1736, at the First Church 
of Colchester, daughter of Jonathan and 
Mary (Day) Northam. Their son, Daniel 
Taylor, born October 5, 1765, in Col- 
chester, married there, October 28, 1792, 
Margaret Foote, who was born February 
27, 1769, daughter of Isaac and Mary 
(Kellogg) Foote. They were the par- 
ents of Daniel (2) Taylor, born October 
18, 1796, in Colchester, and died in the 
same town, October 11, 1877. He mar- 
ried Harriett Chamberlain, and they were 
the parents of Amanda A. Taylor, who 
became the wife of David Haines, and the 
mother of Frank D. Haines, as previously 
indicated. 

Frank David Haines was born January 
16, 1866, in Colchester, Connecticut, and 
spent his boyhood on the paternal farm in 
that town, where he was early made ac- 
quainted with labor and those principles 
of independence, stability and integrity, 
which characterized his father and all his 
ancestors. The public schools of his na- 
tive town supplied his early education, 
and he completed his schooling at Bacon 
Academy, a widely-known educational in- 
stitution at Colchester. He removed to 
Middletown with his parents in 1883 and 
during the same year entered the employ 
of a banking house in Middletown, where 
he was actively employed for a period of 
seven years. Having decided, in 1890, to 
take up the legal profession, he began its 
study, reading law in the office of M. 



Eugene Culver, and then entered Yale 
Law School, where he completed the 
course in one year, receiving the degree 
of Bachelor of Laws in the class of 1893. 
Upon admission to the Connecticut bar 
the same year, he formed a partnership 
with his former preceptor, and for several 
years the firm conducted a very success- 
ful legal business. During 1895 and 1896, 
he served as executive secretary with 
Governor O. Vincent Coffin, who was the 
first Middlesex county man to occupy the 
gubernatorial chair. This widely ex- 
tended the acquaintanceship of Mr. 
Haines, and enlarged the scope of his 
activity and usefulness. After his term 
as executive secretary, he opened a law 
office in Middletown, and for more than a 
quarter of a century continued a very 
active practice. 

During those years Mr. Haines was 
honored with various positions of trust 
and responsibility. He served as liquor 
prosecuting attorney for Middlesex 
county ; was corporation counsel for the 
city of Middletown ; clerk and treasurer 
of the First Ecclesiastical Society; a mem- 
ber and for several terms, the president 
of the Board of Education ; director of 
the Connecticut Industrial School for 
Girls ; a director in the Omo Manufactur- 
ing Company ; a director of the Middlesex 
County National Bank ; a trustee and a 
director of the Middletown Savings Bank. 
In recognition of his public zeal and abil- 
ity, he was honored by Wesleyan Univer- 
sity with the degree of Master of Arts. 
In 1910, he purchased a handsome resi- 
dence in Portland, in which he has since 
resided. In 1904 he succeeded John M. 
Murdoch as State's attorney for Middle- 
sex county, and continued to serve in that 
capacity until his appointment to the 
bench in 1918. He was for years a mem- 
ber of the State Bar Examining Commit- 
tee, and served by appointment by Gov- 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ernor Marcus H. Holcomb, as a member 
of the Statute Revision Board, which 
prepared the 1918 revision of all the stat- 
utes of the State. In the early part of 
1918, Mr. Haines was appointed by Gov- 
ernor Holcomb, to the bench of the Su- 
perior Court of the State, which position 
he now holds. It has been said by many 
of his friends that all the promotions 
received by Judge Haines were fairly 
earned by industrious application and by 
consideration for the rights of others. 

Mr. Haines is a Mason, being a mem- 
ber of Warren Lodge, No. 51, of Port- 
land. He is a member of the Graduates' 
Club of New Haven, of the American Bar 
Association and the Connecticut State 
Bar Association, and in politics is a Re- 
publican. He and his family are mem- 
bers of the Episcopal church of Portland. 
Judge Haines is fond of out-of-doors re- 
creation and, when privileged to relax 
from the various duties incumbent upon 
him, is wont to retire to the woods and 
mountains, where he delights in plying 
the streams for trout. 

He was married, March 8, 1887, at Mid- 
dletown, to Nellie Emeline Burke, daugh- 
ter of the late Robert Warren Burke of 
that town. Mrs. Haines is active in the 
church and in various local efforts for 
the improvement of social and municipal 
conditions. Two children were born of 
this marriage : Elmer Burke Haines, born 
May 8, 1892; and Warren Haines, born 
June 15, 1895. The latter attended Wes- 
leyan University and, at the opening of 
the World War, volunteered for service 
in the United States navy, but was re- 
jected for defective eyesight. He died 
October 8, 1918, and was buried in Trinity 
Cemetery at Portland. The elder son 
spent one year at Wesleyan University, 
two years at the Worcester Polytechnic 
Institute, and a like period at the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology, at Bos- 



ton. Having thoroughly prepared himself 
as an engineer, he volunteered, at the 
opening of the war, for service in the army 
of the United States. He was sent to the 
artillery school at Fortress Monroe, Vir- 
ginia, and after completing that course 
was made a master gunner and assigned 
for duty with the 53rd Coast Artillery. 
Soon after he was sent to France for duty 
at Army Artillery Headquarters, First 
Army, at Bar-sur-Aube, France. His work 
there consisted of maintaining a record 
of the allied artillery and the computation 
of artillery ranges and concentration. 
He was then assigned to the Saumur Ar- 
tillery School at Saumur, France, and 
after completing that course received a 
commission and joined the 146th Field 
Artillery in the Meuse-Argonne sector. 
He remained in active duty at the front 
till the armistice, and then entered Ger- 
many with the Army of Occupation, being 
stationed near Coblenz. After some 
months' service at this point, he was 
chosen to attend a course in French and 
French Customs, given by the United 
States Government at the University of 
Grenoble, Grenoble, France. Completing 
this course, he returned to the United 
States and was discharged at Fortress 
Monroe, August 2, 1919. He is now sales 
engineer with the S. K. F. Industries, In- 
corporated, New York City. 



GUY, James Knox, 

Bank Official. 

Among the earliest of the present day 
business men of Middletown, Mr. Guy 
has been conspicuously identified with 
affairs in that town since his boyhood. 

(I) Nicholas Guy, ancestor of James 
K. Guy, came to America in 1638, in the 
ship "Confidence," of London, being then 
fifty years of age, coming from Upton, 
Southampton, England. He was accom- 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



panied by his wife, Jane, aged thirty 
years. They sailed from Southampton, 
April 24, 1638, and in that year located 
in Watertown, Massachusetts, where he 
witnessed the will of Richard Carver. 
He was proposed for a freeman of the 
Massachusetts Colony, May 22, 1639, in- 
dicating that he was then a member of the 
church. He died July 6, 1649. The will 
of his widow, made August 16. 1666, 
proved December 22, 1669, mentions their 
three sons — Ephraim, John and Joseph. 
No further record of this family appears 
in Watertown, and the sons probably re- 
moved to some other part of the Colony. 
(II) John Guy, son of Nicholas and 
Jane Guy, born about 1645, is described 
in a deed recorded at Durham, Connec- 
ticut, as a trader. He received from John 
Sutlifif, of Branford, June 16, 1719, a deed 
of house, barn and home lot of seven and 
one-half acres, including one common 
right in the town of Durham, for which 
he paid £91 los. He removed to Bran- 
ford, probably in 1724. In 1723 he pur- 
chased a house lot of three acres abutting 
on the town street, and adjoining the lot 
of Governor Gurdon Saltonstall, in Bran- 
ford. June 17, 1724, John Guy, trader of 
Durham, sold the home lot and building 
above referred to in that town to Abner 
Newton, of Milford, for two hundred 
pounds. On January r6. 1725, he deeded 
to Daniel Merwin for three pounds his 
common right in Durham, formerly the 
property of John Sutlif?. In the Probate 
Court of Guilford, at a session held Au- 
gust 24, 1730, administration was granted 
to Anna, widow of John Guy, late of 
Branford. On January 12, 1734, the ac- 
count of Orchard Guy, only son and heir, 
with his mother Anna, executrix, pro- 
duced his will, which was then proven. 
Among the persons receiving bequests 
were his kinswoman. Mehitabel Green; 
his nephew. Jo?eph Pomeroy. who re- 



ceived twenty pounds ; Hannah Hitt, who 
received forty pounds ; Orchard Guy, five 
pounds ; and grandchild, Sarah Guy, who 
received all the residue of his estate. To 
the poor of the South Society of Bran- 
ford, he left five pounds. 

(Ill) Orchard Guy, only son of John 
and Anna Guy. born in 1702, died Janu- 
ary 30, 1774, in Branford. He married, 
December 5, 1733. Mary Foote, who was 
born September 2j, 1715, and died about 
1780, fourth daughter of Stephen and 
Elizabeth (Nash) Foote. She was de- 
scended from Nathaniel Foote, who was 
born in 1593, in England, and before 
1637 was a resident of Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, where he died in 1644. In 1640. 
he received a home lot of ten acres by 
grant of the town at the south end of 
Broad street, and by subsequent pur- 
chases became possessor of more than 
400 acres. His descendants have erected 
a handsome monument to his memory 
near the site where he first settled. He 
married, about 1615, in England. Eliza- 
beth Deming, a sister of John Deming, 
who was also a pioneer of Wethersfield. 
She married (second) Governor Thomas 
Welles, of Wethersfield. Her second son, 
Robert Foote, born about 1627, resided 
first in Wethersfield, later in Walling- 
ford, and in 1668 removed to Branford, 
where he died in 1681. He married, in 
1659, Sarah Potter, who was baptized 
August 22, 1641, in New Haven, daugh- 
ter of William Potter. In 1686, she mar- 
ried Aaron Blatchley, of Branford, and 
went to live in Guilford. Her two young- 
est children were twins — Steven and 
Isaac Foote. Steven Foote, born Decem- 
ber 14, 1672, in Branford. lived in that 
town, and died October 23. 1762, nearly 
ninety years of age. He married, in 1702. 
Elizabeth Nash, born April 15. 1681. died 
January 15, 1738, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth Nash. Her fourth daughter. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mary Foote, born September 27, 1715, in 
Branford, became the wife of Orchard 
Guy, as previously noted. His will, made 
April 10, 1772, mentions wife, Mary, who 
was to receive one-third of his entire es- 
tate and also his silver watch and negro 
man. Ham. His son John was bequeathed 
fifty acres in Killingworth, and to his 
daughter, Elizabeth Huggins, land in 
Sharon, Connecticut, and the rest of his 
estate was to be equally divided between 
his children. Orchard, William, Mary 
Gould, Anna Guy, Sarah Fowler, and 
Lydia Guy, his wife and son Orchard 
were made executors. The inventory of 
his real estate made May 17. 1774, placed 
its value at £804 6s. His personal prop- 
erty was vlaued at £111 19s. lod. 

(IV) Dr. Orchard (2) Guy, son of Or- 
chard (i) and Mary (Footel Guy, born 
July 27, 1744, was an eminent physician 
of Branford, and left a large estate. He 
married, August 20, 1767, Abigail Bald- 
win, born December 15, 1749, baptized 
March 25, 1750, in Branford, daughter of 
Noah and Rebecca (Frisbie) Baldwin, of 
that town. She was descended from John 
Baldwin, who came from Bucks county, 
England, and was among the earliest set- 
tlers of Milford, Connecticut. He was 
not a church member when the list of 
freemen in that settlement was made 
November 29, 1639, but was one of the 
proprietors. He joined the church, March 
19, 1648, and was buried June 21, 1681. 
He married (second) Mary Bruen, of 
Pequot, daughter of John Bruen, of Sta- 
pleford, Cheshire, England, a descendant 
of Robert Le Bruen, who received a land 
grant in 1230. He was undoubtedly of 
French extraction. Mary (Bruen) Bald- 
win died September 2, 1670. George 
Baldwin, eleventh child of John Baldwin, 
fifth child and second son of his second 
wife, Mary, was born in 1662, in Milford. 
settled at Branford in 1686, and joined the 



church there in 1693. He was a black- 
smith by occupation, a deacon of the 
church before 1715, and died October 26, 
1728. He married Deborah Rose, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Jonathan Rose, of Bran- 
ford. and their fourth son, Noah Baldwin, 
born March 20, 1710, in Branford, died 
there November 20, 1799. He married, 
March 21, 1733, Rebecca Frisbie, and their 
daughter, Abigail, became the wife of Dr. 
Orchard (2) Guy. 

(V) Orchard (3) Guy, son of Dr. Or- 
chard (2) and Abigail (Baldwin) Guy, 
settled in WalHngford, Connecticut. He 
married. May 29, 1794, Lois Hall, born 
February 28, 1769. in that town, daugh- 
ter of Giles and Thankful (Merriman) Hall. 
She was of the sixth generation in descent 
from John Hall, who came early to Bos- 
ton, was later at New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, and among the first settlers of Wal- 
Hngford in 1670. He was chosen select- 
man there in 1675, and died there ten 
}-ears later, a large land owner and prom- 
inent man. He married, in 1641, Jane 
\\'oolen, who died November 14, 1690. 
Samuel Hall, son of John Hall, born in 
1648, in New Haven, died in Wallingford, 
in 1723. In 1704 he was captain of the 
train-band. In May, 1668, he married 
Hannah, daughter of John and Grace 
Walker, born September 27, 1646. They 
were the parents of John Hall, born De- 
cember 23, 1670, died April 29, 1730. 
From 1722 to 1730 he was a member of 
the Upper House of the State Legisla- 
ture. In 1691 he married Mary Lyman, 
born in 1667, died in 1740, daughter of 
John and Dorcas (Plumb) Lyman. John 
Hall, son of John Hall, was born Septem- 
ber 13, 1697, and died June 18, 1773. He 
married, March 5, 1716, Mary Street, born 
1697, daughter of Samuel and Hannah 
(Glover) Street. Their son, Giles Hall, 
born February 18, 1733, died March 17, 
1789. His sixth daughter, Lois, probably 

27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the daughter of his second wife, Thankful 
(Merriman) Hall, became the wife of 
Orchard (3) Guy, of Wallingford. 

(VI) George W. Guy, youngest son of 
Orchard (3) and Lois (Hall) Guy, was 
born September 28, 1813, in Meriden, and 
received such education as the schools of 
the day afforded. Early in life he started 
out to sell various novelties and useful 
articles produced by the manufacturers of 
Meriden, after which he embarked in a 
small way in the grocery business in Mer- 
iden. Shortly before 1840, in association 
with his elder brother, Joel Hall Guy, he 
became proprietor of a general store in 
South Farms, near Middletown. Soon 
after the senior partner removed to Mer- 
iden and the original business at Middle- 
town was conducted by George W. Guy. 
who became sole proprietor upon the di- 
vision of the business. At the close of the 
Civil War, he sold out and retired from 
business. In 1857 he built the substantial 
house on Main street. South Farms, where 
he continued to reside until his death, and 
which is now occupied by his son. Mr. 
Guy was a regular attendant of the North 
Congregational Church, of Middletown, 
to whose support he contributed liberally. 
He served many years on the Board of 
School Visitors, and filled many positions 
of trust and responsibility. Politically, 
he was an earnest Democrat, and a warm 
admirer of James K. Polk, for whom he 
named his eldest son. A popular citizen, 
he was frequently called upon to serve 
the town, in which he held every office ex- 
cept that of assessor, and in 1856 and 
again in 1870 was a member of the State 
Legislature. He was a director of the 
Middlesex County National Bank, in 
which position he was succeeded by his 
son. His first wife, Elizabeth T. (Burr) 
Guy died soon after their marriage, leav- 
ing no issue. He married (second), No- 
vember 20, 1844, Nancy S. Brainard, who 



was born February 26, 1817, in Haddam, 
daughter of Captain Daniel and Fannie 
(Smith) Brainard. She was descended 
from Daniel Brainard, one of the found- 
ers of Haddam, who receives extended 
mention elsewhere in this work. He mar- 
ried Hannah Spencer, and their sixth son, 
Elijah Brainard, born about 1678, was a 
farmer on Candlewood Hill, Haddam, and 
died April 20, 1740. He married, Septem- 
ber 28, 1699, Mary Bushnell, born March 
10, 1675, died September 11, 1735. Their 
third son, Jabez Brainard, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1 71 5, was a very prominent cit- 
izen of Haddam, captain of the militia in 
1757, representative in the General Court 
and justice of the peace from 1772 to 
1776. He married, October 15, 1739, Han- 
nah Clark, born December i, 1713, in 
Haddam, daughter of John and Mehitabel 
(Lewis) Clark. Their third son, Daniel 
Brainard, was born January 9, 1752, lived 
in Higganum, served as justice of the 
peace, representative for thirteen sessions, 
and was colonel of the Seventh Regiment, 
Second Brigade of Connecticut Militia. 
He married, in June, 1773, Suzanna Clark, 
born March 23, 175 1, daughter of John 
Clark, probably his cousin. Their eldest 
daughter Betsey, born February 2, 1778, 
married John Arnold. Their eldest child, 
Daniel Brainard, was born November 16, 
1774, was a farmer in Higganum, justice 
of the peace, and captain of militia. He 
married, November 3, 1800, Fannie Smith, 
who was born January 17, 1780, in Had- 
dam, daughter of Captain Hezekiah and 
Elizabeth (Shailer) Smith, of that town. 
Their fourth daughter, Nancy Smith 
Brainard, born February 26, 1817, became 
the wife of George W. Guy. 

(VII) James Knox Guy, only son of 
George W. and Nancy Smith (Brainard) 
Guy, was born March 3, 1846, in Middle- 
town, and enjoyed the best educational 
facilities afforded by his native place. As 

28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a boy he attended what was known as the 
Miller's Farms District School, was later 
a student in the famous school of Daniel 
H. Chase, of Middletown, and attended 
the West Haven Institute one year. For 
two years he was a student at Williston 
Seminary, East Hampton, Massachusetts, 
and for a like period at Wilbraham Acad- 
emy in the same State. Subsequently he 
pursued a business course at the United 
States College of Business and Finance 
in New Haven. Before completing his 
twentieth year, Mr. Guy began his busi- 
ness career as a bookkeeper for the Hub- 
bard Hardware Company, manufacturers 
of edge tools in Middletown, where he 
continued some five years. Through close 
association with his honorable father, he 
became very much interested in political 
matters, and in 1874 was elected to rep- 
resent the town of Middletown in the 
State Legislature, receiving a plurality of 
534 votes, the largest received by any can- 
didate up to that time, and in passing, it 
may be remarked, that he was the young- 
est man that ever represented the town in 
the Legislature. During his term, he was 
a member of the Committee on Incorpora- 
tions, and its clerk. In the following 
year, without any effort on his own part, 
he was made a messenger in the State 
Senate. In 1876 he again turned his at- 
tention to business and entered the office 
of his uncle, Joel H. Guy, in Meriden, 
where he received his first training in the 
insurance business. Having become fa- 
miliar with its details, he returned to 
Middletown in 1878, and established an 
insurance office, in which he at once 
achieved a remarkable success. In April 
of the following year he formed a partner- 
ship with the late Wallace K. Bacon, of 
Middletown, who was then conducting a 
shoe store on Main street, and together 
they conducted both the shoe trade and 
insurance business. Under their pushing 



and intelligent management, the insurance 
business expanded rapidly, and after a 
short time the shoe store was disposed of 
and the partners devoted their time ex- 
clusively to the insurance business. Mr. 
Guy is still the head of the firm, which 
was formerly Bacon & Guy and is now 
conducted by Guy & Rice, Mr. Bacon hav- 
ing retired many years ago. In January, 
1882, Mr. Guy was elected a director of 
the Middlesex County National Bank to 
succeed his father, and in 1892 became its 
president. This institution was merged 
with the Middletown National Bank in 
January, 1916, and Mr. Guy continues as 
a director of that institution. Inciden- 
tally, it may be noted that in winding up 
the affairs of the Middlesex County Na- 
tional Bank the stock-holders received 
118 per cent, of their interest. He has 
long been a director of the Farmers' & 
Mechanics' Savings Bank, of Middletown, 
was elected a trustee in 1890, soon after 
became vice-president, and in 1907 suc- 
ceeded the late Samuel T. Camp as pres- 
ident of the institution. He has also been 
interested in many other business under- 
takings of the city, was one of the corpor- 
ators of the Middletown Street Railway 
Company, of which he was long secre- 
tary and treasurer ; is a director of the 
Middlesex Mutual Assurance Company, 
and of the New London Mutual Insurance 
Company of Norwich. He was long a 
director of the Simpson, Hall & Miller 
Company of Wallingford. For twenty- 
five years he has been chairman of the 
Town Board of School Visitors. He is a 
member of the Middlesex County Histor- 
ical Society, and of the committee of the 
First Ecclesiastical Society of Middle- 
town. Politically, Mr. Guy gave his al- 
legiance to the Democratic party, and 
was four years a member of its State Cen- 
tral Committee. At the time William J. 
Bryan became leader of the party, Mr. 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Guy withdrew his support, and has since 
acted independently on all political ques- 
tions. For more than thirty years he has 
been clerk of the Miller's Farms School 
District, also treasurer. He has long been 
identified with the Connecticut xA.ssocia- 
tion of Local Fire Insurance Agents. 
While he is rated as one of the ablest 
financiers of Middletown, Mr. Guy is one 
of the most democratic of citizens, easily 
approachable and always courteous and 
considerate. The paternal homestead in 
South Farms has been somewhat re-mod- 
eled and improved under his care, and 
now constitutes one of the most hospit- 
able and cheerful homes in the city's en- 
virons. Mr. Guy has traveled much, vis- 
iting all parts of the United States, and 
has made one trip to Europe. He spends 
considerable time in Florida, where he 
goes every February to remain until 
warm weather has arrived at Middle- 
town. He finds great pleasure in the 
transaction of business, and takes no 
vacations other than that involved in his 
avoidance of the rigors of our spring cli- 
mate. He is very fond of gardening and 
all farming interests, and devotes consid- 
erable time to raising chickens. 

Mr. Guy married (first), September 24, 
1871, in Wayland, Massachusetts. Eliza- 
beth A. Cooper, who was born September 
24, 1848, in that town, daughter of John 
and Elmira (Loker) Cooper, whose ances- 
tors were among the founders of the town 
of Sudbury. Elmira Loker was born Au- 
gust 27, 1804, in East Sudbury, now Way- 
land, daughter of Isaac and Betsey (Cut- 
ting) Loker, of that town. She was mar- 
ried, February 10, 1832, in Sudbury, to 
John Cooper, of Boston. Five children 
were born to Mr. and Mrs. Guy : i. George 
W., died in infancy. 2. James H., born 
May 5, 1874; was in the banking business 
in New York City, is now deceased. 
3. Alice Baker, graduated from Vassar 



College in the class of 1898 ; became the 
wife of William M. Titus; she died Au- 
gust 5, 1919. 4. Clarence Brainard, born 
October 29, 1881 ; is in business in New 
Haven, Connecticut. 5. Harold Seymour, 
born December 12, 1887; is engaged in 
the insurance business in Middletown, 
and is president of the Morris Plan Bank, 
of that city, and special agent of the Se- 
curity Insurance Company, of New Ha- 
ven. Mrs. Guy died March 3, 1918. Mr. 
Guy married (second), February i, 1919, 
Mrs. Rose (King) Bacon, widow of the 
late Augustus S. Bacon, of Middletown. 
She is a native of Stratford-on-Avon, Eng- 
land. Her father died during her child- 
hood, and she came to America with her 
mother when she was only seven years of 
age. Augustus S. Bacon was the son of 
John P. Bacon, elsewhere mentioned at 
length in this work, and was long en- 
gaged in business in Middletown as a 
carriage dealer. 



PALMER, Frederick Augustus, 

Manufacturer, Lecturer, Philanthropist. 

In a long life devoted largely to enhanc- 
ing the welfare of his fellows, Mr. Palmer 
has passed through many adventures and 
interesting experiences. He is the chief 
representative in Middletown of one of 
the oldest American families which has 
been identified with Connecticut from the 
first American generation. 

(I) Walter Palmer, tradition says, was 
born in some town or village in Not- 
tinghamshire, England, and died in Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, November 19, 1661. 
The first authentic record of him is found 
in Charlestown, Massachusetts, May 14, 
1634; Abraham and Walter Palmer, both 
citizens of Charlestown were made free- 
men by the Great and General Court of 
Massachusetts Bay. In the "Book of 
Possessions," compiled in 1638, the pos- 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sessions of Walter Palmer within Char- 
lestown are given as : "two acres of land 
in the east field putting south on the back 
street, with a dwelling house and other 
appurtenances, five acres of arable land, 
milch cow, commons six and a quarter, 
four acres more or less in the line field, 
eight acres of meadow lying in the Mystic 
marshes, four acres of meadow lying in 
the Mystic Meadows, five acres of wood- 
land in Mystic Field, five acres of meadow 
on the west of Mount Prospect, thirty 
acres of woodland, eighty-six acres of 
land situate in the waterfield.*' In the 
first division of lands on the Mystic side. 
Walter Palmer and his son John received 
their proportion about 1643. On the 24th 
day of the eighth month, the men who had 
agreed to found a new town met in Wey- 
mouth to prepare for the settlement of a 
place which was to be at Seacunke. Wal- 
ter Palmer and William Cheseborough, 
who were thereafter closely associated, 
were of these. In 1645 this settlement 
was assigned to jurisdiction of Plymouth 
Colony, and Walter Palmer was its rep- 
resentative in the General Court. The 
name Seacunke was changed to Rehoboth. 
At this time Walter Palmer gave the 
value of his estate as £419. In 1653 Wil- 
liam Cheseborough and Walter Palmer 
removed to the newly selected place of 
Wequetoquoc, afterward called Souther- 
ton and now Stonington. Connecticut. 
Here Walter Palmer became the owner of 
about 1200 acres of land, part of which 
lay on the eastern slope of Togwonk, 
crossing Auguilla brook. Walter Palmer 
made his will. May 19, 1658, which was 
approved by the General Court, May 11, 
1662. He married (first) in England, 
Ann, who is said to have been called 
Elisabeth to distinguish her from her 
mother. He married (second), probably 
in Roxbury, Massachusetts, Rebecca 
Short. She had been admitted a member 



of Rev. John Eliot's first church. She 
and her husband, and his daughter, Grace 
Palmer, together joined the first church 
of Charlestown in 1632. 

(II) Jonas Palmer, fourth child and 
third son of Walter and Ann (or Elisa- 
beth) Palmer, whose date of birth is un- 
known, came in 1628 with his father to 
Rehoboth, where he died June 22, 1709. 
By the terms of his father's will he in- 
herited one-half of the farm in Rehoboth, 
then in Plymouth county, now in Bristol 
county, Massachusetts. He married, in 
Rehoboth, May 3, 1655, Elizabeth Gris- 
sell. born about 1641, daughter of Francis 
and Mary Grissell, of Charlestown. for- 
merly of Cambridge, Massachusetts. She 
was buried in Rehoboth, February 11, 
1692. 

(III) Samuel Palmer, eldest son of 
Jonas and Elizabeth (Grissell) Palmer, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
November 20, 1659, and died in Wind- 
ham, November 18, 1743. He served 
under Major William Bradford in the 
Narragansett swamp fight in 1676. 
In 1 74 1, with others, he purchased 
land in that part of Windham, Connec- 
ticut, called "Scotland." On March 17, 
1702, he sold his house, barn and orchards, 
home lot, all of forty-three acres, together 
with six and one-half acres of his v^fest 
pasture and other parcels of land. His 
will, dated July 11, 1728, is on record at 
Willimantic. He married, in Rehoboth, 
December 29, 1680, Elizabeth Kinsley, 
born there January 29, 1662, daughter of 
Eldad and Mehitable (French) Kinsley, 
died in Windham, May 16, 1717. Their 
second son was Samuel, of whom further. 

(IV) Samuel (2) Palmer, son of Sam- 
uel (i) and Elizabeth (Kinsley) Palmer, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, 
January 4, 1683. He sold land in Wind- 
ham, December 7, 1741, and again in 1745 
to his son, Aaron. Subsequently he pur- 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chased from another son no acres in 
Windham and Canterbury. Samuel Pal- 
mer married, in Windham, April 8, 1707, 
Hepsibah Abbe, born February 14, 1689, 
in Salem Village, now Danvers, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Samuel and Mary 
CKnowlton) Abbe. She was a grand- 
daughter of John Abbe, who was born 
about 1613, in England, was founder of 
the American family of that name, and 
died about 1689-90, in Salem. His wife, 
Mary, who accompanied him from Eng- 
land, was born about 1615-20, and died in 
Wenham, Massachusetts, September 6, 
1672. Their son, Samuel Abbe, born 
about 1646, probably at Wenham, was an 
early resident of Windham. Connecticut, 
where he died March 16, 1698. He mar- 
ried, in Wenham, October 12, 1672, Mary 
Knowlton, born in 1653, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth Knowlton, of that 
town. They were the parents of Hepsi- 
bah Abbe, wife of Samuel Palmer, as 
above noted. 

(V) Rev. John Palmer, fifth son of 
Samuel (2) and Hepsibah (Abbe) Pal- 
mer, born March 6, 1721, in Windham, 
Connecticut, died in that part of the town 
now Scotland, August 13, 1807. He was a 
noted Separatist minister, a man of sin- 
gular strength and independence of char- 
acter. Because of his non-conformity to 
the established or Congregational order, 
he was imprisoned for a period of four 
months in Hartford. This simply in- 
creased his zeal, and he built up a very 
large and powerful church known as the 
Brunswick Church, located about one mile 
southeast of Scotland Village. He was 
ordained as its pastor. May 17, 1749, and 
continued in that capacity many years. 
He married. May 18, 1749, Ester Cleve- 
land, born November 5. 1727, in Canter- 
bury, Connecticut, died October 28, 1754, 
in Scotland, daughter of Benjamin and 
Anne (Church) Cleveland, granddaughter 



of Aaron Cleveland, great-granddaughter 
of IMoses Cleveland, founder of the family 
in this country. Her mother, Anne 
(Church) Cleveland, was a daughter of 
John and Sarah (Bradley) Church, of 
Hartford. 

(VI) Captain Levi Palmer, only child 
of Rev. John Palmer and his wife, Ester 
(Cleveland) Palmer, was born February 
7, 1750, in Windham, Connecticut, and 
lived at Bashan, in East Haddam, Con- 
necticut, where he was a very prominent 
citizen. He married, July 21, 1767, Eliza- 
beth Cone, born July 3, 1751, in East 
Haddam, daughter of Jonah and Eliza- 
beth (Gates) Cone, of that town. 

(VII) Aaron Cone Palmer, second son 
of Captain Levi Palmer and his wife, 
Elizabeth (Cone) Palmer, was born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1773, in Bashan, Connecticut, and 
died January 5, 1858. He married, May i, 
1796, Azubah Brainerd, born July 6, 1778, 
in Millington Society of East Haddam, 
third daughter of Enoch and Prudence 
(Hungerford) Brainerd, of that town, de- 
scended from Daniel Brainerd, one of the 
founders of the town of Haddam, who 
came thither from Hartford and is else- 
where mentioned at length in this work, 
with several of his descendants. 

(VIII) Levi (2) Palmer, son of Aaron 
Cone and Azubah (Brainerd) Palmer, born 
March 15, 181 8, at Bashan, Connecticut, 
died June 23. 1845, ^t the age of twenty- 
seven years, in Norwich, Connecticut. He 
married, August 8, 1838, Elizabeth Ann 
Flood, widow of Lorin Flood, born July 
29, 1820, in Lebanon, Connecticut, daugh- 
ter of James and Lois (Luomis) Bigelow. 

(IX) Frederick Augustus Palmer, son 
of Levi (2) and Elizabeth Ann (Bigelow- 
Flood) Palmer, was born June 13, 1839, in 
Westchester, in the town of Colchester, 
Connecticut, and there and in Bashan 
passed his early boyhood. He attended 
school in Greenville. Connecticut, and the 



32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



high school at Norwich. Following the 
death of his father, when he was but six 
years of age, he lived with Willard Bliss, 
whose wife was an aunt, a manufacturer 
of satinette warp at Lisbon, Connecticut. 
He also lived for a time with George 
Smith, of Norwich, whose wife was an 
aunt. When about fourteen years of age 
he started out to make his own way in 
the world, and became a clerk in a whole- 
sale drug store at Norwich, where he con- 
tinued about a year. Subsequently, for 
some five years, he was a clerk in the dry 
goods store of Ely & Company at Nor- 
wich. When about twenty years old, he 
began reading law with Jeremiah Halsey, 
of Norwich, but did not seek admission to 
the bar at that time. Later, while resid- 
ing m Hartford, Connecticut, where he 
was connected with a business house, he 
was oflfered the charge of a department 
store in Des Moines, Iowa, which he ac- 
cepted, and remained through the winter 
of 1860-61. 

In the spring of the latter year he re- 
turned to Connecticut, was active in re- 
cruiting, and enlisted as a soldier of the 
Civil War at Norwich, becoming a mem- 
ber of Company E, Eighteenth Connecti- 
cut Volunteers, and was commissioned by 
Governor Buckingham as first lieutenant. 
With his regiment he went to Perryville, 
Maryland, to guard the ferry between that 
point and Havre de Grace. Later he was 
stationed at Fort McHenry in Baltimore 
as a member of a General Court Martial, 
and thence proceeded to Winchester, Vir- 
ginia, where he was assigned to similar 
duty. Before this time he had been pro- 
moted captain, and was soon summoned 
to headquarters at Winchester, where he 
was appointed confidential aide on Gen- 
eral Milroy's staff. A warm friendship 
existed between these two officers. Soon 
after this command, the Second Division, 
Eighth Army Corps, preceding the battle 

Conn — 10 — 3 



of Gettysburg, was dispersed, and with- 
drew from Winchester, and Captain 
Palmer was ordered to report with Gen- 
eral Milroy to General Robert C. Schenk 
at Baltimore. General Milroy was ordered 
to Washington, and Captain Palmer ac- 
companied him. Young Palmer was 
found to be a valuable officer, and while 
in Baltimore he was sent by request to 
join his regiment at Martinsburg, Vir- 
ginia, where he spent the winter of 1863- 
64. Because of insufficient equipment of 
the camp at that point, he was taken ill 
and was quartered in the city of Martins- 
burg, and made provost marshal. Soon 
after his appointment as provost marshal, 
among the pleasant, but trying, duties 
which he performed in that position was 
the oversight of the family of the Rebel 
minister to France — Faulkner, and Mrs. 
Myra Clark Gaines, of New Orleans, who 
also came under his charge. One of his 
able aides was the noted spy. Belle Boyd. 
He was also active as judge advocate to 
the court martial in ousting the horde of 
gamblers who had gathered around the 
headquarters in Martinsburg. After 
sending part of them to the penitentiary 
he succeeded in driving the rest away. 
From Martinsburg he was sent to Har- 
per's Ferry, where he was appointed per- 
manent officer of the day. On account of 
his exposures while at Martinsburg he 
was taken with a severe attack of bron- 
chitis and was removed to a hospital at 
Frederick City, Maryland. After some 
time there he was sent to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and discharged on account of 
physical disability. 

In order to recover his health he pur- 
chased a farm in Andover, Connecticut, 
which he continued to till for one year, 
and then removed to Manchester, same 
State, where he owned in succession two 
different residences. From Manchester, 
he removed to Groton, Connecticut, oc- 



33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cupying the Stafford place, and in the fall 
of 1871 went to New York and was active 
in labor and other affairs of that city. In 
1873, while secretary of the United Labor 
party, he drafted the platform of that or- 
ganization, and before the close of that 
year went to Europe in an effort to secure 
patents on electric machines of his own 
invention and in the interests of his or- 
ganization. In this, however, he was only 
partly successful, and returning to New 
York be became secretary of the Keyser 
Stove Works. Because of its engage- 
ment on contracts with the Tweed admin- 
istration, this establishment failed in busi- 
ness and Mr. Palmer united with Mr. 
Keyser, who was also interested in phil- 
anthropical work, owning jointly several 
thousand acres of land near Aiken, South 
Carolina. They sought to establish a 
colony, known as New Hope, for the 
benefit of the freedmen and involuntary 
poor of New York, and while here Mr. 
Palmer in charge gained the love and de- 
votion of many of the colored people and 
local whites, but was not able to make a 
success of the Colony and this in time 
was abandoned. During this period, re- 
construction days, he was a member of 
the South Carolina Legislature in session 
at Columbia, and was very active in pro- 
moting the public interests, drafting sev- 
eral bills. While conducting his Colony 
he earned the enmity of the "Ku Klux" 
and their sympathizers, and his life was 
many times threatened and in danger, but 
he escaped by the Grace of God and 
through the devotion and loyalty of many 
friends, white and colored. 

In 1874 he returned from Europe, and in 
1878 organized the Palmer Galvanic Bed 
Company, which engaged in the manufac- 
ture of metal beds and is still, 1919, doing 
business under his sole control as presi- 
dent, and of which he has always been 
major stockholder. In 1863, while on re- 



cruiting duty in Connecticut, his admis- 
sion to the bar at Norwich was recorded 
by Chief Justice Parke, who convened 
Court in the evening for that purpose. Al- 
though he never engaged in practice, he 
found his knowledge of the law to be very 
useful on various occasions. Mr. Palmer 
is a man of versatile gifts, and has written 
and spoken much in the interests of 
humanity. While in South Carolina it 
was his custom to address the colored 
people on religious topics, and he was 
revered by them as an unselfish teacher. 
His first wife, Mary (Stafford) Palmer, 
daughter of Robert Stafford, of Cumber- 
land Island, Georgia, was a refined, culti- 
vated woman. His second wife, Mrs. 
Elizabeth (Daniels) Palmer, who died 
in 1892, was a woman of remarkable tal- 
ents, artist, lecturer and spiritualistic 
medium. Through her as his guide there 
developed in Mr. Palmer a great and mag- 
netic healing power. This he exercised free 
gratis for over a year at his office, Twenty- 
seventh street and Broadway, New York 
City, with great success. He has been 
a newspaper correspondent, and has de- 
livered many public addresses on spir- 
itualism and labor. Among the most 
noted of his addresses may be mentioned 
that at Columbia, South Carolina, on the 
One Hundredth Anniversary of American 
Independence. It has been preserved in 
a book devoted to famous orations on the 
occasion of the American Centennial, 
which is now found in all good libraries. 
This address was in extemporaneous 
verse and is well worthy of a place in 
American literature ; a copy of it closes 
this article. At the celebration of the 
Burns Anniversary' at Des Moines, Iowa, 
Mr. Palmer delivered the address of the 
occasion and so impressed John A. Kas- 
son, subsequently a noted public official 
and later Ambassador to Russia, that the 
latter offered Mr. Palmer his law practice 



34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



if he would remain there and engage in 
law work. Another warm friend with 
whom he became associated at Des 
Moines was J. C. Savery, later a very 
prominent citizen of the State, a partner 
in the firm of Nolan & Savery, of whose 
store he had charge at that time. While 
residing in New York he was invited by 
Henry Ward Beecher, pastor of the fam- 
ous Plymouth Church in Brooklyn, to de- 
liver an address on the situation in 1877, 
in that church, which he did, to a capacity 
audience. 

During his active career, Mr. Palmer 
has been the owner of many handsome 
homes. Two of these were at Manches- 
ter, Connecticut. At one time he owned 
the original homestead of Governor Jon- 
athan Trumbull (the brother Jonathan of 
Revolutionary times) at Lebanon. He 
also lived at Bayside and Flushing, Long 
Island, Norwalk and New Canaan, Con- 
necticut. In 1910 he took up his residence 
in Middletown, Connecticut, and for sev- 
eral years owned one of the fine old places 
on Washington street in that city. It is 
scarcely worth while to note that he has 
long been highly influential in the coun- 
cils of the Republican party, though he 
has never sought any office for himself. 
His acquaintance in his native State is 
very wide, as well as in New York and 
other states. Mr. Palmer spent many 
winters in Washington, and became in- 
timately acquainted with President Lin- 
coln during his war activities. He was 
also personally acquainted with Presi- 
dents Grant, Hayes and McKinley, and 
during the activities of the Electoral Com- 
mission in 1877 he wrote for President 
Hayes an account of the situation in South 
Carolina, during the campaign of the 
previous autumn when Mr. Palmer was 
active in the politics of that State. He 
was a member of the Niantic Club, of 
Flushing, New York, and the Knob Club, 



of Norwalk, Connecticut. He was long 
a member of the Larchmont Yacht Club, 
of New York, and was owner of the 
"Richmond," one of the famous vessels in 
its fleet. He was also interested in fine 
horses and kept at various times very 
speedy trotters. On going to Middletown, 
he joined the Middletown Club and the 
Middletown Yacht Club. He is a life 
member of Brainerd Lodge, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of New London, 
with which he became affiliated in early 
life, and in which at one time he filled an 
important office. Outside of any formal 
organizations, he numbers scores among 
his warm and appreciative friends. 

Mr. Palmer married (first), in i860, 
Mary Stafford, daughter of Robert Staf- 
ford, one of the greatest producers of Sea 
Island cotton. She was for many years 
an inmate of the family of the Hon. Lafay- 
ette S. Foster, a man long distinguished 
in the national public service. He mar- 
ried (second) Mrs. Elizabeth Daniels, of 
Boston, who died in 1892. His third wife, 
Adelaide L. (Moore) Palmer, of Brook- 
lyn, New York, died in 1916. Two 
daughters of the first wife died in girl- 
hood. His only surviving child is Fred- 
erick Levi, of whom further. 

(X) Frederick Levi Palmer, son of 
Frederick Augustus and Adelaide L. 
(Moore) Palmer, was born May 11, 1895, 
at Bayside, Long Island. He is now a 
member of the United States Naval Re- 
serve, at present on inactive duty, sub- 
ject to call. During the recent World 
War, he was in service at the naval base 
in New Haven, Connecticut, and at Pel- 
ham Bay, New York, as a motorist and 
otherwise. He enlisted May 17, 1917, for 
a period of four years, and is now at- 
tached to the Brooklyn Navy Yard. He 
is an enthusiastic motorist, and is thus 
qualified to render valuable service at 
headquarters. 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The following is the Centennial Ad- 
dress by Mr. Frederick A. Palmer, men- 
tioned heretofore: 

CENTENNIAL ADDRESS. 

A noble band of patriots with faces all aglow 
Stood in the Halls of Congress one hundred years 

ago ; 
Stood side by side, as they had stood upon the 

battle field, 
\\hen they compelled the troops of England s 

King to yield. 

The enemies of Liberty sat silent, pale and still 
While these brave men prayed God to know and 

do his will ; 
It was an hour when Justice was trembling in the 

SC3.1CS 

When God from man the future in tender mercy 
veils. 

These brave men knew that they must act for 
children yet unborn. 

They sealed the Nation's destiny upon that glori- 
ous morn. 

When each man pledged his all for Right, for 
Liberty and Peace 

I'orever sacred to our hearts shall be such men 
as these. 

'Tis true they left a stain upon our banner fold, 
But we have wiped it out with blood and paid for 

it in gold; , , , , 

These patriots fought for Liberty, and pledged 

themselves to stand 
For Freedom, Right, and Justice, a firm unbroken 

band. 

Hut while they threw their own chains off. they 

bound in bonds more strong. 
The bands that held the colored man in misery and 

wrong; ... , 

Rut soon or late all wrong comes right, for sucli 

is God's decree, 
And in His own good time He set the black man 

free. 

It was not some one favored State, North, South. 
East or West, 

That gave the tnie brave signers of that Declara- 
tion blest ; . 

No; each State gave her patriots who bore their 
noble share. 

And when the Nation's work was done, each State 
had proud names there. 

Let us clasp hands, to work as one. for all the 

Nation's good 
.\nd stand together as one man, as once our 

fathers stood ; 
Behold, how short the time has been, but one brief 

hundred vears. 
To plant the tree of Liberty and water it with 

tears. 

Brave men have fallen on the field, to guard that 

sacred tree. 
To save it from all vandal hands our aim shall 

ever be; 



.\ltho' we still have many faults, our Nation yet 

is young; 
And we will carry out the work which these brave 

men begun. 

We live in freedom; let us clasp each other by 
the hand ; 

In love and unitv abide, a firm, unbroken band ; 

We cannot live divided; the Union is secure; 

God grant that while men live and love, this Na- 
tion may endure. 

(The Bigelow Line). 

(I) The Bigelow family, from which 
Mr. Palmer descended, was founded by 
John Biglo, who was baptized February 
i6, 1617, in England, and was an early 
resident of Watertown, Massachusetts, 
where he died July 14, 1703. The name is 
found in both English and American 
Colonial records with a great variety of 
spellings, sometimes written "Boglo" 
"Beguley," and was written by John Bige- 
low, "Biglo." It is from the Anglo-Saxon 
"Biggan" (big), and "Hleaw"' or "Hlaw" 
(a hill, or barrow), the place of residence 
of the person who first assumed it as a 
surname. John Biglo married, in Water- 
town, October 30, 1642, Mary Warren, 
who was a native of England, and died 
October 19, 1691. 

(II) Joshua Bigelow, fifth son of John 
and Mary (Warren) Biglo, born Novem- 
ber 5, 1655, in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
served in King Philip's War, and received 
a grant of land in Narragansett No. 2, now 
the town of Westminster, Massachusetts. 
He passed most of his life in Watertown. 
and was executor of his father's will. In 
his eighty-seventh year he removed to 
Westminster, June 9, 1742, with his son, 
and died there February i, 1745- He 
married, October 20, 1676, in Watertown. 
Elizabeth Flagg, born there March 22, 
1657, died August 9, 1729, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary Flagg. They were the 
parents of twelve children. 

(Ill) Lieutenant John (2) Bigelow, 
third son of Joshua and Elizabeth (Flagg) 
Bigelow, born December 20, 1681, in 

36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Watertown, Massachusetts, lived for 
some years in Hartford, Connecticut, 
whence he removed to Colchester, same 
colony. There he built a house in 1710 
on Bulkeley Hill, at that time the most 
elegant house in the town, and a land- 
mark until recent years. There he died 
March 8, 1770. He married (second), in 
Hartford, November 4, 1709, his cousin, 
.Sarah Bigelow, daughter of Jonathan and 
Rebecca (Shepard) Bigelow, of Hart- 
ford. She was a tailoress and brought her 
husband a bushel of silver, which she had 
earned with her needle, and which fur- 
nished the means of building their elegant 
home in Colchester. There she died Octo- 
ber 13, 1754. 

(IV) Asa Bigelow, son of Lieutenant 
John (2) and Sarah (Bigelow) Bigelow, 
born September 3, 1720, in Colchester, 
Connecticut, lived there on the farm of 
his father, and died October 9, 1754, at the 
age of thirty-four years. While prepar- 
ing for college, he met Dorothy Otis and 
was so smitten that he was unable to pur- 
sue his studies and abandoned them. She 
was born in 1721, and died October 20, 
1794. They were married December 13, 
1737, when he was seventeen years of age 
and she sixteen. 

(V) Jonathan Bigelow, son of Asa and 
Dorothy (Otis) Bigelow, born August 10, 
1740, in Colchester, Connecticut, lived in 
his grandfather's homestead on Bulkeley 
Hill, and died January 13, 1823. He mar- 
ried. May 24, 1759, Elizabeth Otis, born 
in 1736, daughter of James and Sarah 
(Tudor) Otis. 

(VI) James Bigelow, son of Jonathan 
and Elizabeth (Otis) Bigelow, born 
March 16, 1764, lived in Colchester, Con- 
necticut, and died November 23, 1840. He 
married, November 13, 1783, Anna Day, 
who died October 25, 1825. 

(VII) James (2) Bigelow, son of James 
(i) and Anna (Day) Bigelow, lived in 
Colchester, where he married, March 20, 



1819, Lois Loomis, who was born Janu- 
ary 2, 1S04, daughter of Samuel and Bet- 
sey (Dunham) Loomis. 

(VIII) Elizabeth Ann Bigelow, daugh- 
ter of James (2) and Lois (Loomis) Bige- 
low, born September 9, 1820, became the 
wife of Levi Palmer, of East Haddam, as 
previously stated. 



STARR, General Elihu William Nathan, 

Faithful Public Servant. 

In various capacities, civil and military. 
General Starr served well his generation, 
and especially in his home town of 'Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, was he useful, 
faithful and indefatigable. His character 
was what might be expected from one 
inheriting the blood and disposition of his 
New England forbears. 

(I) The family of Starr is found of 
record in England as early as January, 
1584, at Cranbrook, County Kent. Dr. 
Comfort Starr, the progenitor of this fam- 
ily in America, was baptized at Cranbrook, 
July 7, 1589. He removed to Ashford in 
the same county before 1615, where he was 
a man of some means and professional 
skill, and whence he emigrated to Amer- 
ica in 1635, sailing from Sandwich in the 
ship "Hercules." He lived for a few years 
in Cambridge, his house being on or near 
the Harvard College grounds, removing 
to Duxbury and finally to Boston, where 
he spent the last years of his life and died 
January 2, 1660. The deed conveying 
his Duxbury home was witnessed by Cap- 
tain Miles Standish and is among the 
treasures preserved in Pilgrim Hall, 
Plymouth. The date of his marriage to 
his wife, Elizabeth, has not been discov- 
ered and her parentage and date of birth 
are unknown. She died in Boston, June 
25, 1658, aged sixty-three years. They 
were the parents of eight children, all 
born in England. 

(II) Dr. Thomas Starr, the eldest child 

37 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Dr. Comfort and Elizabeth Starr, was 
born about 1615, in Ashford. He lived in 
Scituate and Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
and on May 17, 1637, was appointed 
surgeon to the forces sent against the 
Pequot Indians. In 1654 he was clerk of 
the writs at Charlestown, where he died 
October 26, 1658. His widow, Rachel by 
name, removed to Hempstead, Long 
Island. 

(III) Comfort Starr, son of Dr. Thomas 
and Rachel Starr, was the first of the 
name to locate in Middletown. His resi- 
dence was at the south corner of the pres- 
ent High and Cross streets. He was born 
in Scituate, Massachusetts, where he was 
baptized June 7, 1646, and died October 
18, 1693, in Middletown, Connecticut. He 
married in Boston, before August, 1667, 
Marah Weld, baptized August 2, 1646, in 
Roxbury. daughter of Joseph and Barbara 
Weld. 

(IV) Joseph Starr, son of Comfort and 
Marah (Weld) Starr, was born September 
2^, 1676. He was a tailor residing in Alid- 
dletown, where he served as tax collector 
in 1705 and as constable in 1711-12, and 
died July 13, 1758. He married, June 24, 
1697, Abigail Baldwin, of Guilford, born 
December 14, 1678, died August 24, 1745, 
daughter of Samuel and Abigail (Bald- 
win) Baldwin, and they were the parents 
of ten children. 

(V) Joseph (2) Starr, eldest child of 
Joseph (i) and Abigail (Baldwin) Starr, 
was born September 6, 1698, in Middle- 
town, where he was a tailor. He served 
as constable in 1728 and as grand juror 
in 1745, and died March 23, 1781. He and 
his first wife were admitted to the church 
August 22, 1725. He married (second), 
February 25. 1742, Priscilla Roper, born 
about 1720, died May 15, 1796, daughter 
of Ephraim and Sibbel (Moore) Roper of 
Worcester, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Nathan Starr, eighth son of Jo- 



seph (2) Starr, and seventh child of his 
second wife, was born April 14, 1755. On 
June 20, 1776, he was commissioned by 
Governor Trumbull as armorer of a regi- 
ment, commanded by Colonel Comfort 
Sage, which went to the aid of the Ameri- 
can army around New York. He was a 
noted worker in iron and steel and a 
maker of scythes. Before 1800 he began 
the manufacture of swords and at that 
early date had contracts with the United 
States Government for his productions 
and was engaged in that business at the 
time of his death. He held various offices 
in the town and ecclesiastical society, and 
died July 29, 1821. He married July 5, 
1781, Polly Pomeroy, born September 22, 
1 761, died May 25, 1825, daughter of 
Adino and Lois (Strong) Pomeroy. The 
only son of this marriage to grow to 
maturity was Nathan (2) Starr, of 
further mention. 

(VII) Nathan (2) Starr, son of Nathan 
(i) and Polly (Pomeroy) Starr, was born 
February 20, 1784, in Middletown, and 
was for a few years a merchant in New 
York City. In 1813 he returned to his 
native place, and became engaged with his 
father in the manufacture of swords. This 
was discontinued in 1824, and the manu- 
facture of firearms was begun, principally 
for the United States Government, and 
was continued until 1845. During that 
period it was estimated about seventy 
thousand arms of various kinds were fur- 
nished for Federal use. Several valuable 
swords were made to order by them for 
distinguished officers of the War of 1812, 
among them being: one for Commodore 
Isaac Hull, by order of the State of Con- 
necticut, valued at one thousand dollars ; 
one for Colonel Richard Johnson, by order 
of Congress, valued at twelve hundred 
dollars ; and one each for General Andrew 
Jackson and General Edmund P. Gaines, 
by order of the State of Tennessee, cost- 



3S 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing nine hundred dollars apiece. Nathan 
(2) Starr represented Middletown in the 
State Legislature in 1817 and 1818. His 
death occurred August 31, 1852. He mar- 
ried, June 25, 1810, Grace Townsend, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Thankful S. 
(Barnard) Townsend, of New Haven, 
who was born August 28, 1789, and died 
October 16, 1856. Their children were: 
Mary E., died young; Elihu W. N., of 
further mention ; Mary E. ; Eben T. ; 
Henry, died young; Emily H.; Grace A., 
died young ; Grace A. (2) ; Henry W. ; 
Frederick B. ; and Edward P. 

(VIII) Elihu William Nathan Starr, 
second child and eldest son of Nathan (2) 
and Grace (Townsend) Starr, was born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, at the resi- 
dence of hi? maternal grandfather, Eben- 
ezer Townsend, August 10, 1812, and died 
in Middletown, Connecticut, June 14, 
1891. At the time of his birth his father 
was a resident of New York City, but 
soon after returned to his former home, 
Middletown, Connecticut, which became 
the permanent residence of the subject of 
this sketch. At the opening of the Mili- 
tary Academy at Middletown, in August, 
1825, he became one of the cadets and 
continued so until 1828. The winter of 
1828-29 he spent in New Haven attending 
lectures at Yale College. His father was 
a manufacturer of swords and firearms 
and about 1830 he became the bookkeeper. 
In 1837, he became interested with his 
father, under the firm name of N. Starr & 
Son, in the manufacture of muskets and 
rifles, which continued until 1845, when 
the government ceased giving out con- 
tracts. Under the name of E. W. N. Starr 
& Company he was, for a short time, en- 
gaged in the manufacture of plane irons. 
He was appointed postmaster of Middle- 
town by President Van Buren, February 
20, 1841, and held the position until Octo- 
ber I, 1842. In December, 1S50, he was 



appointed assistant town clerk, and in 
October, 185 1, was elected town clerk. 
This, with the office of registrar of births, 
marriages and deaths, to which he was 
elected in October, 1854, he held up to 
the time of his death, except from Octo- 
ber, 1865, to October, 1866. He was city 
clerk and treasurer from January, 1856, to 
January, 1864, and judge of probate for 
the district of Middletown for one year, 
from July 4, 1866, and from July, 1868 to 
July, 1872. 

In 1830 he enlisted in the State militia, 
and on September 14, 1831, was commis- 
sioned as sergeant-major of the Second 
Regiment of Light Artillery and later 
quartermaster and adjutant of the same 
regiment. In 1836 he organized the 
"Middletown Cadets" and was elected 
captain, being commissioned July 12, 
1836. The company was officially known 
as the First Rifle Company in the Sixth 
Regiment. On July 29, 1839, he was pro- 
moted to the lieutenant-colonelcy of this 
regiment and to the colonelcy, April 19, 
1841. This last position he held until his 
resignation, June 6, 1844. ^^ honor of his 
friend, Colonel King Fenno Mansfield, of 
the regular armj', he organized, in 1847, 
the "Mansfield Guards," the Seventh 
Company of Light Infantry of the Sixth 
Regiment. He was commissioned cap- 
tain, September 24, 1847, ^"^ held the 
office until again elected colonel of the 
Sixth Regiment, August 2, 1853, of which 
he was in command until July 10, i860. 
While captain of the "Guards," he was 
appointed adjutant general by his fellow 
cadet and lifelong friend. Governor 
Thomas H. Seymour, holding ofifice from 
May 2, 1850, to May 4, 1854. On July 10, 
i860, he was given a commission as brig- 
adier-general of the Second Brigade and 
held the rank until August i, 1861, when 
the militia were disbanded under an act 
of the State Legislature approved July 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



3, 1861. For a few weeks, from Septem- 
ber 10, 1861, he held the position of divi- 
sion inspector, but as the law of July, 
1861, disbanding the old and creating a 
new military force was not deemed ef- 
fective, he resigned his commission. Soon 
after the breaking out of the Civil War, 
Governor Buckingham ofTered him the 
command of the Third Regiment, Connec- 
ticut Volunteers. Owing to his delicate 
health he was obliged to decline, but he 
was well represented as, during the first 
year of the war, there were over thirty 
commissioned officers in the field, all con- 
sidered proficient men, who owed their 
knowledge of military tactics to his gra- 
tuitous instructions. Two companies 
from Wesleyan University were drilled 
by him, before leaving town, in the early 
morning before breakfast and after the 
close of the office for the day. For some 
weeks in 1862 he was in command of the 
Twenty-fourth Regiment, Connecticut 
Volunteers, which encamped at Middle- 
town before it left for the seat of war. 
This was the last military position held 
by him, ending a service in behalf of his 
State, extending over thirty years. He 
was five feet, ten and one-half inches tall, 
weighing about one hundred and forty 
pounds, and very erect, making him a 
marked figure. He was considered a good 
drillmaster and a very fine horseman. 

He married. May 27, 1840, Harriet Wet- 
more Bush, of Ogdensburg, New York, 
who survived him, and who was a great 
help to him in his varied clerical work. 
She was born April 25, 181 5. and died 
February' 20, 1904. There were six chil- 
dren of this marriage, namely : William 
E., who is living in Cranford, New Jersey ; 
Julia W., Robert W. and Henry B., all 
three deceased, the latter at the time of his 
death being cashier of the Central Na- 
tional Bank ; Frank F., a sketch of whom 
follows ; and Grace T., residing in Mid- 
dletown. 



STARR, Frank Famsworth, 

Genealogist. 

Mr. Starr, the fourth son of General 
E. W. N. Starr, whose sketch precedes 
this, was reared amid cultured sur- 
roundings, and, naturally, turned his at- 
tention to literary pursuits. In boyhood 
he was not robust. He was born Novem- 
ber II, 1852, in Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, and began his education in the public 
and private schools of that city, but was 
obliged to abandon preparation for college 
because of the frail state of his health. 
In the fall of 1869, he paid a visit to an 
uncle in Rochester, New York, and spent 
the winter there for the benefit of his 
health ; during this period he pursued a 
course in bookkeeping at a business col- 
lege. In 1870 and the winter of 1870-71, 
he was with the engineers in charge of 
construction of the Air Line railroad. In 
the spring of 187 1 he entered the town 
clerk's office, to assist in searching the 
records, and aided in the preparation of 
an index to one hundred volumes of the 
land records. At the age of about sixteen 
years he became interested in genealog- 
ical research, and traced the paternal line 
of his ancestry, also giving considerable 
attention to other lines, with little worldly 
profit. In 1871 he became acquainted 
with Burgis P. Starr, of Hartford, who 
took up with him the preparation of a 
complete genealogy of the Starr family. 
The subject of this sketch also employed 
much of his leisure in making searches 
for others, having now gained several 
clients for that work. On arriving at his 
majority, in 1873, he was appointed as- 
sistant town clerk, in which capacity he 
continued till the spring of 1891. From 
1883 to 1890, he spent much time in the 
employ of James J. Goodwin of Hartford, 
in preparation of a genealogy of the Good- 
win family, which went to press in 1890. 
In 1891 he resigned from his town duties, 



40 





cr^^^ 



.U. 



^ 




>^- 



^^Z-'^^^X^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in order to go abroad in the service of 
Mr. Goodwin to make researches in Eng- 
land, where he spent the summer and 
accumulated some very valuable data. 
Since that time he has done much gen- 
ealogical work for clients all over the 
United States, and is recognized as the 
best authority in Connecticut on the sub- 
ject. In his outdoor life, he has accumu- 
lated more than eleven thousand cemetery 
inscriptions in Middlesex county, a very 
valuable collection of data for the gen- 
ealogist. 

Mr. Starr is a life member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical Society ; 
of the Connecticut Historical Society, of 
which he has been a vice-president since 
1890; and of the Wisconsin Historical 
Society. He is among the organizers of 
the Connecticut Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution, and is also a mem- 
ber of the National Society. He has 
never participated actively in political af- 
fairs and is independent of party dictation 
in matters of public policy. 



BIRDSEY, Eldon Benjamin, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Among the most popular and efficient 
judges of probate, of whom Middletown, 
Connecticut, has had several, is the sub- 
ject of this biography, a descendant of 
one of the oldest American families, born 
July 26, 1848, in Hamburg, Connecticut, 
died December 6, 1917, at his home in 
Middletown. The history of the Birdsey 
family has been traced to Reading, Eng- 
land, at a date prior to 1600. John Bird- 
sey died there in 1649 and among his sons 
was John (2) Birdsey, born in 1616. At 
the age of twenty years he came to Con- 
necticut. For a short time he lived in 
Milford, removed in 1641 to Stratford, 
where some of his descendants continue 
to reside. He married Philippa Smith, 



daughter of Rev. Henrj- Smith, of Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and their eldest son, 
John (3) Birdsey, born March 28, 1641, 
in Milford, died July 9, 1697, in Stratford. 
He married, December 11, 1669, Phebe 
Wilcoxson, of Stratford, born about 1651, 
died September 20, 1743, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Margaret Wilcoxson of that 
town. Their eldest son, Abel Birdsey, 
horn November 30, 1679, died May 14. 

1747. He married, June 8, 1704, Comfort 
Welles, born about 1677, died June i, 
1717, daughter of John and Mary (Hol- 
lister) Welles, granddaughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Bourne) Welles, great-grand- 
daughter of Governor Thomas Welles, the 
distinguished and useful citizen of Weth- 
ersfield (see Welles). Abel Birdsey 
served as lieutenant in the French and 
Indian War. His eldest son, John (4) 
Birdsey, born September 26, 1712, was 
the first of the name to locate in that part 
of Middletown which is now Middlefield. 
He purchased a great amount of wild 
land, one tract of which lay in the south- 
western portion of what is now Middle- 
field, and the other in the northeastern 
portion. The greater part of the last- 
named tract was in the Westfield Parish. 
This tract included five hundred acres, 
for which he paid a price equivalent to 
two dollars per acre. It included a part 
of Bald's Falls Hill. He settled with his 
sons in the southwestern tract, and died 
June 5, 1798. He married (first) Hannah 
Smith, a widow of Long Island, who was 
the mother of his children. He had a 
second wife, Sarah, as shown by the Mid- 
dletown records. His eldest child, Ben- 
jamin Birdsey, born about 1732-33 was 
baptized at Middletown in May, 1734, and 
died August 28, 1789. He lived near Mid- 
dlefield Falls. For his second wife, he 
married. May 12, 1776, Abigail Merri- 
man, who was baptized November 27, 

1748, at the First Church in Middletown, 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Wilcher) 
Merriman, of Wallingford. Benjamin (2) 
Birdsey, third son of Benjamin (i) and 
Abigail (Merriman) Birdsey, was born 
in 1786, died in 1825, at the age of thirty- 
nine years, in Middlefield. He married 
Harriett P. Harris, born in 1785, who 
lived as a widow many years, and died 
April 16, 1881, at the age of ninety-six 
years. He purchased lands of his brother, 
John Birdsey, in Middlefield. on which he 
made his home. 

Frederick Birdsey, son of Benjamin (2) 
and Harriett P. (Harris) Birdsey, was 
born in 1820, was a blacksmith by trade, 
and for some time was associated with his 
brother in conducting a shop at Hamburg, 
Connecticut. About 1849 he removed to 
Middletown, where he continued to work 
at his trade, and in his later years was 
long in the service of the W. & B. Doug- 
las Company, leading manufacturers of 
that town. He was a regular attendant 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, and 
was politically a Democrat. 

Mr. Birdsey married Laura Miller, who 
was born in 1820, and died in 1865, daugh- 
ter of Valentine and Deborah (Sterling) 
Miller. Valentine Miller was born in 
1775, and his wife, Deborah (Sterling) 
Miller, was born October 3. 1778, in Lyme, 
Connecticut, daughter of Jacob and Edey 
(Tucker) Sterling. The founder of the 
family of Sterling was William Sterling, 
whose son. Captain Daniel Sterling, was 
born September 19. 1673, in Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, and became a very prom- 
inent citizen of Lyme, Connecticut, where 
he filled many local offices and was an 
extensive landholder. He married, June 
6, 1699, Mary, widow of Richard Ely and 
daughter of Lieutenant Reinold and 
Sarah Marvin. John Sterling, second son 
of Daniel, was born October 28, 1704, in 
Lyme, was a farmer in the locality still 
known as Sterling City, where he built a 



large house in 1740. This was occupied 
in 1907 by his great-great-grandson. He 
died October 8, 1790. He married (sec- 
ond), December 30, 1731, Jane Ransom, 
and the fifth son of this marriage, Jacob 
Sterling, born March 3, 1744, was a Rev- 
olutionary soldier, taken prisoner at the 
battle of Long Island, August 27, 1776, 
and kept a prisoner for some time at 
Milford, where he fortunately escaped 
the disease that destroyed so many of that 
unfortunate band of prisoners. He died 
October 9, 1818, in Lyme. He married, 
October 14, 1765, Edey Tucker, born in 
1740, died February 11, 1834. Their sixth 
daughter, Deborah Sterling, became the 
wife of Valentine Miller and the mother 
of Laura Miller, wife of Frederick Bird- 
sey, as above stated. 

Eldon Benjamin Birdsey, only surviv- 
ing child of Frederick and Laura (Miller) 
Birdsey, received his education in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, and prepared for 
college at Daniel H. Chase's famous 
school of that town. Subsequently, he 
entered W'esleyan University, from which 
he was graduated in 1871. and a year later 
was graduated from the Albany Law 
School at Albany, New York, and was at 
once admitted to the Middlesex county 
bar. He began practice in his native 
town, where he achieved a gratifying 
success and became popular with citizens 
and the courts. In 1882 he was elected 
probate judge and continued to fill that 
office for a period of twelve years, at the 
end of which time he retired. Judge 
Birdsey was especially fitted for the office 
of judge of probate by his kind and sym- 
pathetic nature and his sound sense of 
justice and fairness. For twenty-five 
years he was attorney for the Middletown 
Savings Bank, of which he was a director. 
On the establishment of the City Court in 
1879 he became prosecuting attorney and 
continued in that position four years un- 



42 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



til his election to the probate judgeship. 

About 1909 Judge Birdsey retired from 
practice and lived a somewhat secluded 
life because of a weakness of the heart 
which prohibited his participation in 
many events and movements with which 
he was in hearty sympathy. He was very 
fond of reading, was very hospitable, and 
delighted to entertain his friends. He had 
a beautiful home on High street, wherein 
was a valuable and comprehensive library 
and where he indulged his tastes for 
domestic life. He was a lover of nature 
and delighted in his garden. While not 
affiliated with any religious organization, 
he was a regular attendant of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church and lived a most 
exemplary life. One of Judge Birdsey's 
greatest joys was in helping others, and 
many have reason to remember with grat- 
itude the kindly word or act which en- 
couraged and aided in the battle of life. 

Judge Birdsey was married, October 
23, 1873, in Middletown, to Jeremine Eliz- 
abeth Chase, daughter of Daniel H. Chase, 
the noted educator of Middletown, who 
receives extended mention in the follow- 
ing sketch. The only child of this mar- 
riage, Laura Chase Birdsey, became the 
wife of Raemer R. Renshaw, a native of 
California, who is now a member of the 
stafif of the Harvard Aledical School in 
Boston, Massachusetts. They have two 
children : Birdsev and Reine Renshaw. 



CHASE, Daniel Henry, LL. D., 

Educator. 

Most of the men in active life in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, to-day, were pre- 
pared for college by this famous educator, 
and many of his students have become 
distinguished in life in widely separated 
localities of the United States. Mr. Chase 
was descended from several of the oldest 
New England families and exemplified in 



great measure the salient qualities of 
character which have distinguished the 
ofif-shoots of such blood. 

The founder of the Chase family in 
Southeastern Massachusetts was William 
Chase, among the pioneer settlers of Cape 
Cod (mentioned elsewhere at length in 
this work). Most of his descendants are 
the offspring of his son, William (2), 
whose children were associated with the 
Quakers and thus find very little space in 
the Puritan records. The Quaker rec- 
ords of Sandwich and Dartmouth give 
account of many of the descendants, but 
it has been impossible to identify one of 
these, John Chase, who was in Newport, 
Rhode Island, as early as September 20, 
1713, on which date he married Anne 
Arnold, of that town, who was born in 
Newport, a descendant of William Arnold, 
one of the earliest residents of the Provi- 
dence plantation. 

The ancestry of this Arnold family has 
been traced to the middle of the twelfth 
century, when Ynir, who was a descend- 
ant of Cadwaladr, last King of the Brit- 
ons, was King of Gwentland. The name 
is derived from "arn," an eagle, and 
"holt," a grove. Gradual modification in 
phrasing has made it Arnold. Richard 
Arnold, a descendant of Ynir, was born 
in Somersetshire, England, and became 
lord of a manor at Bagbere, in Dorset- 
shire. His name appears in the rolls of 
County Dorset, in 1549. and his manor 
house stood there until 1870. His son, 
Thomas Arnold, removed to Cheselbourne 
and married Alice Gully, daughter of 
John Gully, baptized September 29, 1553. 
Their third son, William Arnold, founder 
of the family in America, was born June 
24, 1587, in Cheselbourne, and sailed from 
Dartmouth, England, May i, 1635, arriv- 
ing in New England, on June 24 follow- 
ing. Eor a short time he resided at Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts, and removed to 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Providence, Rhode Island. April 20, 1636, 
residing in what is now Pawtucket. He 
had grants of land in Providence and 
Pawtuxet, Rhode Island, and removed, 
November ig, 1656, to Newport, where he 
died in 1676. He was a member of the 
Ilaptist church in 1639 and filled various 
important offices in the colony. His eld- 
est son. Governor Benedict .'\rnold, born 
in December, 1615, in England, was an 
early settler in Newport, and succeeded 
Roger Williams as president of Rhode 
Island. He was the first governor named 
in the royal charter, serving in 1663-66, 
and was four times subsequently reelected. 
During his administration, friendly rela- 
tions were established with the Provi- 
dence plantation. Governor Arnold mar- 
ried, December 17, 1640. Damaris West- 
cott. daughter of Stukely Westcott, of 
Salem, Massachusetts, long a prominent 
figure in Rhode Island. She was born in 
1592 and died in 1679. He died June 20, 
1678. His second son, Benedict (2) Ar- 
nold, bom February 10, 1642, died July 
4, 1727. Benedict (2) Arnold married 
(second) Sarah Mumford, born in 1668, 
died October 14, 1746, daughter of 
Thomas and Sarah (Sherman) Mumford. 
of Rhode Island. Their second daugh- 
ter, Anne Arnold, became the wife of 
John Chase, of Newport, as above related. 

John (2) Chase, son of John (i) and 
Anne (.Arnold) Chase, was born Novem- 
ber I, 1726, in Newport, Rhode Island. 
He was a miller by occupation and lived 
for many years at Nine Partners, New 
York. There he married, about 1750, 
Deborah Wing, who died in 1783, daugh- 
ter of Jedediah and Eliza Wing, repre- 
sentatives of old Quaker families. About 
1770 he removed to the town of Hoosick, 
New York, where he taught school and 
was employed as a miller, and in time 
owned a mill. He died about 1817. 

John Wing, founder of the Wing fam- 



ily in America, came from England and 
lived at Saugus or Lynn, in Massachu- 
setts, whence he removed to Sandwich, in 
1637. He married Deborah Batchelder, 
who was born in 1592, daughter of Rev- 
erend Stephen Batchelder, born in 1561, 
who came to .America in 1632, and settled 
first at Lynn, removing later to points 
further north on the coast. Daniel Wing, 
eldest son of John and Deborah (Batch- 
elder) Wing, came from England and 
settled at Sandwich, where he purchased 
land June 28, 1640. In 1654 he was a 
member of the church there. In 1658 he 
was fined six pounds for entertaining 
Quakers and refusing to take the oath of 
allegiance. This fine was repeated in 
three successive years. The first monthly 
meeting of Quakers was established in 
.America about 1660 and he was among 
its members. He died about 1664. He 
married, September 3, 1641, Hannah 
Swift, daughter of John Swift. She died 
December i, 1664. Their youngest son, 
Daniel (2) Wing, was born November 
28, 1664, and was a townsman in Sand- 
wich in 1691. He was a cooper by trade 
and lived on the outlet of the upper pond, 
where it enters the lower pond, where 
he was a landowner, and died in May, 
1740. He married, in 1686, Deborah Dil- 
lingham, daughter of Henry Dillingham, 
of another very old Quaker family of the 
Cape. Their eldest child, Edward Wing, 
born July 10, 1687, in Sandwich, settled 
in Dartmouth, where he was constable in 
1725-26. In 1698 he received deeds to one 
hundred acres of land in Dartmouth, from 
his father, and his descendants later re- 
ceived other deeds of land there. He 
married (second), in June, 1714, Sarah 
Tucker, daughter of Abraham and Han- 
nah Tucker, and they were the parents of 
ledediah Wing, who was a resident of 
the Oblong in 1735, and owned consider- 
able property there. His wife's name was 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Eliza, and their third daughter was Deb- 
orah Wing, who became the wife of John 
(2) Chase, as previously stated. 

Daniel Chase, son of John (2) and Deb- 
orah (Wing) Chase, was born March 4, 
1765, at Nine Partners, New York, died 
February 16, 1847, in Hoosick. He lived 
at Stillwater, New York, and married, July 
12, 1786, Esther Mosier, who was born 
November 2, 1766, and died September 
23, 1848. 

Henry Chase, eldest son of Daniel and 
Esther (Mosier) Chase, was born Sep- 
tember 10, 1790, about two miles west of 
the village of Hoosick, and was reared 
upon a farm, attending the rude district 
school of the time and period. He was 
possessed of a thirst for knowledge and 
supplemented the instruction which he 
received in school by private study. His 
parents, like their forebears, had been 
attached to the Society of Friends, but in 
time joined the Methodist church of the 
neighborhood. When Henry Chase was 
eighteen years of age he received a license 
to preach. While laboring throughout the 
week to sustain himself, he preached the 
gospel on Sunday and in the meantime 
pursued his studies in Latin, Greek, He- 
brew and mathematics. In time he gained 
considerable fame as a teacher and in 1818 
was invited to become a member of the 
faculty at Troy Academy, where he con- 
tinued two years, very successfully. Leav- 
ing there, he became a teacher in Wes- 
leyan Seminary, located on Crosby street 
in New York City. During all this period, 
he was accustomed to fill the pulpit on 
Sundays, and became very popular as a 
public speaker in New York City, where 
he was respected for his earnestness and 
zeal. He was offered and accepted the 
position of assistant pastor of the Mari- 
ners' Church on Roosevelt street, where 
he continued several years until the death 
of the pastor, when he succeeded him, and 



thus continued until his death, July 10, 
1853. He was a man of very strong and 
magnetic personality and drew about him 
multitudes of friends. While in New 
York, he married over five thousand cou- 
ples. In 1835 he received the honorary 
degree of Master of Arts. He married, 
September 10, 1809, Rachel Pine, who 
was born July 19, 1787, in Swansea, Mas- 
sachusetts, of W'clsh-Quaker descent. 
She died June 7, 1842, and, with her hus- 
band, reposes in Indian Hill Cemetery, 
Middletown, Connecticut. 

Daniel Henrj' Chase, eldest son of Rev- 
erend Henry and Rachel (Pine) Chase, 
was born March 8, 1814, in Hoosick, New 
York. In his youth he attended schools 
taught by his father and was a pupil in 
Troy Academy, when his father was a 
member of the faculty there. From 1820 
to 1830 he pursued his literary studies, 
beginning at Wesleyan Seminary, New 
York, subsequently at Balch's Private 
School and the grammar school of Colum- 
bia University, which institution he en- 
tered as freshman in 1830. In September 
of the following year he began the regular 
course at Wesleyan University at Middle- 
town, Connecticut, which he completed in 
1833, graduating as valedictorian of his 
class. All the members of this class have 
long since passed away. Following his 
graduation he was a teacher in Wesleyan 
Academy at Wilbraham, Massachusetts, 
after which he took the position of tutor 
at Wesleyan University, where he con- 
tinued one year. He then established the 
Middletown Institute and Preparatory 
School, which he conducted until 1870 
with remarkable success, drawing pupils 
from a wide extent of territory. In 1842 
he opened a female seminary, which he 
subsequently transferred to his brother. 
For two years, from 1838 to 1840, Dr. 
Chase studied in Paris, Berlin and other 
European cities, giving special attention 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to German, French, music, mathematics 
and philosophy. Before he returned he 
made a tour of Switzerland on foot and 
arrived in Middletown, Connecticut, on 
time for the fall opening of his school in 
1840. During his absence, this school was 
managed by his brother, Sidera Chase. 
Fitted by nature and by through training, 
Dr. Chase was very successful as a 
teacher, possessing a broad sympathy and 
a strong desire to develop the highest 
mental and moral possibilities of those 
who came under his care. During his 
forty years as an instructor he was never 
known to lose his self-control and was 
never censured for undue severity. 
Among the celebrated men who gained 
their early education under his direction, 
may be mentioned Rev. Dr. Minor Ray- 
mond, Professor of Greek at Evanston, 
Illinois ; Rev. Dr. Lindsay and Justice 
Brewer of the United States Supreme 
Court. Dr. George W. Burke, one of his 
pupils, said of him: 

The influence of such a man on the intellectual, 
moral and material interests of Middletown for 
so long a period can scarcely be estimated, the 
results deepening and broadening in all those who 
have received right impulses through his teaching. 
A little digression here to note some of those 
results may not be uninteresting. One of the 
first boarding pupils in 1835 was Daniel Ayers, who 
prepared in Middletown for Wesleyan. His late 
munificent gift of over three hundred thousand 
dollars has been one of the direct results of his 
school and will tend to increase the wealth as well 
as the city advantages of Middletown. Young 
Ayres was tired of the New York schools and 
about to abandon his purpose of obtaining a 
college education, when the friendship between the 
two families and the opportunity offered in Middle- 
town drew him to Dr. Chase's school and deter- 
mined his life work. Many years later when the 
son of Dr. Ayers was old enough for this school, 
he also went to Dr. Chase. 

While studying in Paris, Dr. Chase 
passed much time pleasantly in a literary 
and scientific club, and on his return sug- 
gested to the Wesleyan professors the 



formation of a similar club. This was 
founded in 1862 and Dr. Chase was al- 
ways one of its most valued members. 
After his retirement from teaching, he 
continued to be a student and wrote con- 
siderably in opposition to the Darwinian 
theories of evolution, in 1892. In 1858, 
Wesleyan University conferred upon him 
the degree of Doctor of Laws, which was 
most richly merited. Chase avenue in 
Middletown, now known as Grand street, 
was laid out by Dr. Chase, who built the 
first fifteen houses on that now crowded 
thoroughfare. His physical and intellec- 
tual preservation to a great age was re- 
markable. In public affairs, he joined the 
efforts of the Republican party in promot- 
ing the general welfare and, in 1852 he 
was elected, without his knowledge, to 
the State Legislature. Among college 
fraternities he was a member of the Phi 
Beta Kappa. On March 8, 1834, he united 
with the Methodist church and continued 
that relation until the end of his life. 

Mr. Chase was married, June 2, 1842, 
to Caroline E. Smith, who was born Au- 
gust 2, 1824, in Middletown, a daughter 
of John Lyon and Susan (Ward) Smith 
of that place. She was one of the pupils 
in the female seminary which he estab- 
lished in 1842. John Lyon Smith came 
from Edinburgh, Scotland, and was the 
first treasurer of Wesleyan University. 
Mrs. Chase died December i, 1891, as a 
result of a serious fall. Mr. and Mrs. Chase 
were the parents of four sons and three 
daughters, most of whom now reside in 
Middletown, Connecticut. 



MERRIAM, Joseph, 

Manufacturer. 

Among those who are devoted to the 
material and moral progress of the city of 
Middletown, Connecticut, Mr. Merriam 
stands foremost. Though not a native of 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Connecticut, he represents one of the 
earliest New England families, some of 
whose branches have been prominent in 
the State. 

(I) The family was founded in New 
England by Joseph Merriam, son of Wil- 
liam Merriam. The latter was of Hadlow 
in Kent, and by occupation was a clothier. 
His wife's name was Sara, and their three 
sons, Robert, George and Joseph, came to 
New England in 1638, settling at Concord, 
Massachusetts. Of these, 

(II) Joseph Merriam was born about 
1600. He married, about 1623, Sara Gold- 
stone, daughter of John Goldstone. Like 
his father he was a clothier. He joined 
the church and was made freeman, March 
14, 1638-39, but only lived a short time to 
enjoy the new found freedom. His death 
occurred January 11, 1640-41. Their son, 

(III) John Merriam, born July 9, 
1641, at Concord, was made a free- 
man. May 12, 1675. He married, in Con- 
cord, October 21, 1663, Mary Cooper, 
daughter of John Cooper, born in Cam- 
bridge, November 7, 1645, died March 5, 
1730. Their son, 

(IV) Joseph (2) Merriam was born 
August 20, 1677, in Concord. He mar- 
ried, March 24, 1705, Dorothy Brooks, 
born October 18, 1685, daughter of Noah 
Brooks, of Concord. Joseph Merriam was 
a locksmith, and lived in Concord. In as- 
sociation with others he purchased land 
of the Indians, March 19, 1727, at Grafton. 
Their son, 

(V) Josiah Merriam was born Febru- 
ary 13, 1726, and died April 23, 1809, at 
Concord. He married, June 17, I746, 
Lydia Wheeler, who died August 30, 
1802, aged seventy-eight years. Their 
son, 

(VI) Joseph (3) Merriam was born 
July 22, 1767, at Concord, and died March 
23, 1856. He married, at Lincoln, De- 
cember 12, 1799, Lucy Wheeler, born July 



23, 1777, daughter of Abner and Elizabeth 
(Hunt) Wheeler, died February 11, 1841. 
Their son, 

(VII) Adolphus Merriam was born 
August 23, 1820, and died November 27, 
1888. His early environment was that of 
farm life, and he attended the district 
schools of his neighborhood. He attended 
the Framingham Academy for one term, 
and at the age of seventeen years went to 
Southbridge, where he entered the office 
of the Hamilton Woolen Manufacturing 
Company. For twelve years he continued 
in their employ, and by his diligence and 
thrift was enabled to purchase a mill of 
his own at Springfield, Vermont. It was 
a small mill, but Mr. Merriam gave the 
best of his attention to its management, 
and after four years received an oppor- 
tunity to enter into partnership with some 
business men of Southbridge, to operate 
a woolen mill. He continued his interest 
in the business, and in 1864 went to South- 
Framingham, and there was associated 
with the industrial life of the town. He 
was also connected with others in the 
ownership of mills in Millbury, Corda- 
ville, Watertown, and Southbridge. He 
was a director and president of the Ameri- 
can Powder Conipany. 

Mr. Merriam found time from his many 
business duties to perform his share of 
the public service. He served as town 
assessor and as selectman, and during the 
War of the Rebellion he was active in 
completing the town quota of troops. A 
gentleman of the old school, he was held 
in the highest respect and had the friend- 
ship of all his fellow-citizens. He was 
very often looked to for counsel and ad- 
vice by many of the citizens, and he was 
a great favorite with the young people. 

Mr. Merriam married, January 19, 
1846, Caroline McKinstry, born at South- 
bridge, August 22, 1825, died March 16, 
1898, daughter of John and Kezia (Batch- 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eller) McKinstry. Their children were: 
Lucy, wife of L. B. Adams, of Boston; 
Joseph, of further mention ; Bernard F. ; 
Elizabeth; and John M. 

(VIII) Joseph (4) Merriam, eldest son 
of Adolphus and Caroline (McKinstry) 
Merriam, was born January 17, 1855, in 
Southbridge, Massachusetts. He attended 
the public schools of Framingham, and 
the Dean Academy. After completing 
his education he went West to Colorado, 
and was engaged there in prospecting and 
mining. His father was desirous that he 
should follow him in manufacturing, and 
for this purpose Mr. Merriam returned to 
the East to take a position in a mill at Cor- 
daville, Massachusetts. There he remained 
for seven years, giving care to all details 
of the business. He was tireless in his 
efforts to make a success, and in 1882 de- 
cided to engage in business on his own 
account. With the aid of some Boston 
capitalists and members of his own fam- 
ily he organized the Rockfall Woolen 
Company, of Middletown, Connecticut, 
and took up his residence in that city to 
manage its affairs. He has continued as 
its treasurer and manager to the present 
time. In the approximate four decades 
since coming to Middletown, Mr. Merriam 
has seen many changes in the industrial 
world. He has ever been keen and 
alert in introducing the very latest ma- 
chinery, and has endeavored in many 
other ways to make the business a flour- 
ishing and prosperous one. That he has 
succeeded is very evident. The industry 
has aided in the growth and development 
of the town. He has become identified with 
several manufacturing interests, was for 
sometime interested in the Kirby Manu- 
facturing Company, is now secretary of 
the Noiseless Typewriter Company, presi- 
dent of the Rogers Manufacturing Com- 
pany of Rockfall. which operates a bone 
mill, treasurer of the Middletown Silver 



Company, and a director of the W. & B. 
Douglas Company, pump manufacturers. 
He is vice-president of the Farmers' and 
Mechanics' Savings Bank, of Middletown, 
and a director of the Middletown National 
Bank. He was one of the organizers of 
the Middletown Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation, with which he has been identified 
for thirty years and is now its president, 
and is a member of the Middletown 
Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Merriam is 
a regular attendant and supporter of the 
North Congregational Church, of Middle- 
town. While a Republican in political 
principle, he is independent of party dic- 
tation, has always been a strong advocate 
of the prohibition of intoxicating liquors, 
but has steadfastly declined to be candi- 
date for any public office. Soon after com- 
ing to Middletown, Mr. Merriam built on 
Pearl street, south of Washington, a resi- 
dence, and subsequently purchased and 
remodeled a residence on the comer of 
Pearl and Washington streets, adjoining, 
where he now makes his home. 

Mr. Merriam married, April 30, 1878, at 
Southborough, Abbie Frances Willson, 
eldest daughter of Hubbard and Lydia 
(Sargent) Willson, born in Lowell. Their 
children are : i. Robert Willson, born De- 
cember 14, 1879; secretary of the Rockfall 
Woolen Company, and resides on Wash- 
ington street, Middletown. 2. Helen 
Lydia. born October 11, 1885; is the wife 
of Minn S. Cornell, Jr., of Middletown. 3. 
Alice Caroline, born March 22, 1888; is 
the wife of Charles W. Atwater, and re- 
sides at Port Washington, Long Island. 



SOUTHMAYD, A. Lincoln, 

Undertaker. 

From worthy forebears Mr. Southmayd 
has inherited his business ability and is 
contributing his share in the maintenance 
of what has long been a highlv honored 



48 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name in the annals of Middletown, Con- 
necticut. 

(I) The American founder of the South- 
mayd family was William Southmeade, 
who was born in England in 1615. Prior 
to 1620 six generations of the name are 
recorded in Kent, England, and all of the 
name in this country so far as known are 
descendants of William, who settled at 
Cape Ann, Gloucester, Massachusetts. 
The family stood high in Colonial days 
and was allied with many of the best 
families of New England by marriage. 
William Southmeade married, November 
24, 1642, at Gloucester, MilHcent Addez, 
eldest daughter of William Addez of that 
town. Mr. Southmeade was commander 
of vessels plying along the coast from 
Portland, Maine, to New London, Con- 
necticut, and removed from Gloucester to 
Salem, where his sons were born. His 
latest years were spent in Boston, where 
he owned a home and died in 1646. His 
elder son, John Southmayd, a mariner, 
died at sea, unmarried. 

(II) William (2) Southmayd, as the 
name is now spelled, youngest son of 
William (i) and Millicent (Addez) South- 
meade, was born September 17, 1645, in 
Salem, and commanded vessels in the 
West India trade. He was the first of the 
family to locate in Middletown, where his 
name first appears on the records in 1667, 
though it is pretty certain that he was 
there some years before that time. In 
1675 he purchased a house, and four acres 
of land covering the square extending 
from Court to Center streets and from 
Main street to the river. Afterward he 
made a large purchase at the corner of 
Main and Church streets. He married 
(second) about 1684, Margaret Allyn, 
born July 29, 1660, in Hartford, third 
daughter of Colonel John and Ann 
(Smith) Allyn. The last-named was a 
daughter of Henry Smith, of Springfield, 

Conn — 10 — 4 4g 



Massachusetts, whose wife, Ann, was a 
daughter of William Pynchon, founder of 
that town, and granddaughter of John 
Pynchon, of Springfield, Essex, England. 
Colonel John Allyn was born in England, 
a son of Matthew Allyn, and was among 
the most prominent citizens of Hartford. 

(III) Joseph Southmayd, fourth child 
of William (2) and Margaret (Allyn) 
Southmayd, was born May 15, 1695, in 
Middletown, was a farmer, shipmaster and 
shipbuilder. He resided on the home lot 
purchased by his father in 1675; in 1728 
was captain of the town company of mil- 
itia ; represented the town in the Colonial 
.\ssembly from 1750 to 1756. and from the 
latter date until his death was justice of 
the quorum. Through his mother, Mar- 
garet (Allyn) Southmayd, he inherited 
150 acres of land in Durham, formerly the 
property of Colonel John Allyn. Joseph 
Southmayd married, July 4, 1730, Abiah 
Douglass, born in 1710, daughter of Cap- 
tain Richard and Margaret (Abell) Doug- 
lass, granddaughter of William and .\biah 
(Hough) Douglass, great-granddaughter 
of William and Ann (Mattle) Douglass, 
who came from Scotland and located in 
New London. Captain Richard Douglass 
commanded the first train-band of New 
London and was also a sea captain. 

(IV) Daniel Southmayd, third son of 
Joseph and Abiah (Douglass) Southmayd, 
was born November 11, 1738, in Middle- 
town, died there, February 5, 1828, in his 
ninetieth year. He had a large farm west 
of High street, in Middletown, and en- 
joyed a high reputation in his time. Dur- 
ing the Revolutionary War he was a ser- 
geant's mate in the Connecticut troops, 
and in 1800 removed to Durham, occupy- 
ing lands which had formerly belonged to 
his father. On December 4, 1760, he mar- 
ried Hannah Goodrich, who was probably 
born in Middletown, a daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah Goodrich, wealthy people 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the day. Their eldest son, Daniel (2) 
Southmayd, was a sea captain and served 
in the Revolutionary army at the age of 
sixteen. 

(V) Joseph Southmayd, second son of 
Daniel and Hannah (Goodrich) South- 
mayd, was born March 2, 1768, in Middle- 
town, and died September 2, 1824. His 
active life was passed in Durham, where 
he was an extensive farmer and a pros- 
perous and generous man, a member of 
the Congregational church. He married 
Cynthia Freeman, born September 29, 
1769, in East Hampton,' Connecticut, died 
July 14, 1850. 

(VI) John Bulkeley Southmayd, eldest 
child of Joseph and Cynthia (Freeman) 
Southmayd, was born June 11, 1794, in 
what is now known as the "Haddam 
Quarter," in the town of Durham.. There 
he grew up and attended the district 
schools, removing to Middletown as a 
young man and there learning the trade of 
cabinet maker. For many years he was 
engaged in the furniture and undertaking 
business in a building on the site of the 
present Southmayd block, for the half 
century from 1815 to 1865, when he was 
succeeded by his son. He was a very 
enthusiastic military man and became 
colonel of the Light Artillery, a local or- 
ganization, and was many years known 
by his military title. He married, Novem- 
ber 28, 1815, Elizabeth Perkins, born July 
5, 1795, in Leigh-on-Mendip, Somerset- 
shire, England, died November 12, 1871, in 
Middletown, daughter of George and 
Grace (Moon) Perkins, of Bristol, Eng- 
land. Colonel and Mrs. Southmayd were 
the parents of eight children. The eldest 
daughter, Sarah Elizabeth, became the 
wife of John P. Bacon of Middletown 
(see Bacon, John P.). 

(VII) George Moon Southmayd, sec- 
ond son and fourth child of Colonel John 
B. and Elizabeth (Perkins) Southmayd, 



was born in 1825, in Middletown, and died 
April 8, 1909, at the age of eighty-four 
years, in New York City. He was reared 
in his native town, attended the public 
schools in youth, and learned the trade of 
joiner. For a time he was employed as a 
journeyman in Hartford. From 1847 to 
1853 he was employed by Decker & 
Brown, shipbuilders, located at the foot 
of Tenth street, on the East river, in New 
York. During this time he was engaged 
in finishing the yacht "America," one of 
the most famous crafts of its time. 

In 1853 Mf"- Southmayd settled at Dan- 
bury, Connecticut, where he engaged in 
the furniture and undertaking business, 
and thus continued until 1865. During 
this time his home and place of business 
was destroyed by fire, but the business 
men of the city came promptly to his aid 
and a new establishment was built upon 
the ruins. As an indication of his stand- 
ing it may be stated that a New York 
establishment sent him a carload of furni- 
ture with which to renew business at the 
old stand. Very shortly after the begin- 
ning of the Civil War he enlisted, Novem- 
ber 27, 1861, in one of five companies fur- 
nished by Danbury, Connecticut, becom- 
ing Company A, of the nth Regiment, 
formerly known as the Wooster Guards 
of Danbury. Even,- man of this company, 
with the exception of the captain, volun- 
teered for war service, and Mr. South- 
mayd was immediately elected captain of 
the company. After participating in the 
battle of Newbern, North Carolina, he 
was crippled, through exposure in camps 
and swamps, and was obliged to resign 
at the end of a year's service. He con- 
tinued, however, his interest in the cause 
of freedom and justice and was very active 
in the recruiting service. Returning to 
Danbury, he continued in business there 
until 1865, when he was called to Middle- 
town to succeed in the business of his 



50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



father. This he continued until his re- 
tirement in 1898, when he sold out to 
Henry S. Beers, formerly of Brookfield, 
Connecticut, who is still living in Middle- 
town. Mr. Southmayd was very active 
in Middletown affairs and participated 
especially in the social life of the com- 
munity. An earnest Republican in politi- 
cal principle, he labored for the success 
of his principles and in 1886 represented 
Middletown in the State Assembly, serv- 
ing as a member of the committee on 
Humane Institutions. He also served 
several years in the City Council and 
Board of Aldermen, and was instrumental 
in promoting the progress of the city in 
many directions. Among the results of 
his activities may be mentioned the estab- 
lishment of an electric lighting system in 
the city, the institution of street-cars, and 
the electrification of the city after the 
horse-cars had completed their era of use- 
fulness. At the celebration of the Cen- 
tennial of the city of Middletown, Captain 
Southmayd was chief marshal of the 
parade. 

Captain Southmayd was an active mem- 
ber of Holy Trinity Church of Middle- 
town ; was a member of St. John's Lodge, 
No. 2, Free and Accepted Masons, and a 
stockholder in the Masonic Temple of 
Middletown. He was identified with 
many other fraternal organizations, being 
made past sachem of Arrawanna Tribe, 
No. 17, Improved Order of Red Men, 
at its institution. He was a member of 
Apollo Lodge, No. 33, Knights of 
Pythias; of Mattabessett Council, No. 
704, Royal Arcanum ; and of the local 
body of the Knights of Honor. For some 
time he was also affiliated with Central 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
While serving as alderman, the citizens 
of Middletown presented to Captain 
Southmayd a beautiful gold watch and 
chain as a testimonial of appreciation of 



the valuable services he had rendered the 
city. 

Mr. Southmayd married, June 18, 1848, 
Caroline O'Neil, born February 14, 1827, 
in Middletown, New Jersey, died April 
19, 1902, in Durham, Connecticut, daugh- 
ter of John and Mary O'Neil, Presbyter- 
ians, natives of North Ireland. Six 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Southmayd grew 
to maturity: George A., the eldest, was 
engaged in business with his father, and 
died in January, 1899; Elizabeth Wild- 
man, became the wife of Dr. George A. 
McDonald, of Madison avenue, New York 
City ; Grace Dean, who is the wife of Wil- 
liam C. Hubbard, president of the Mer- 
riam Manufacturing Company of Durham, 
Connecticut ; Caroline Amelia, who is the 
wife of Ernest N. Robinson, now residing 
in New Haven, Connecticut ; A. Lincoln, 
of whom further; and John Franklin, a 
physician of Brooklyn, New York, who 
died March 12, 1918. 

(VIII) A. Lincoln Southmayd, second 
son of George M. and Caroline (O'Neil) 
Southmayd, was born April 20, 1865, in 
Middletown, and was educated in the city 
schools and St. John's Academy, a mili- 
tary school at Haddonfield, New Jersey, 
being a student at the latter institution 
from fifteen to seventeen years of age. In 
a game of baseball he received an injury 
which compelled him to leave school tem- 
porarily, and he then decided to engage 
in business and did not return to his 
books. Having inherited from worthy 
ancestors an active intellect, he has been 
an extensive reader and could not be 
classed among the uninformed of the day. 
He began his business career as a clerk in 
the ninety-nine cent store, which had been 
established by his father in Middletown 
and which ran a very successful career for 
several years. Subsequently, he became 
an assistant to his father in the under- 
taking business and later was a partner 



SI 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Henry S. Beers, who succeeded his 
father in the business. In April, 191 1, he 
purchased Mr. Beers' interest and is now 
continuing as a third generation of his 
family to conduct an undertaking busi- 
ness in Middletown. His time is amply 
occupied as a funeral director and he does 
not continue the furniture business which 
was conducted by his father and grand- 
father. Soon after he became sole owner 
he removed the establishment from the 
Southmayd block to the Arrigoni block, 
where he continued two years, and in 
1913 occupied the handsome building at 
No. 420 Main street, which was remodeled 
for his use. It had formerly been occu- 
pied as a furniture store. Mr. Southmayd 
enjoys the esteem of his contemporaries 
and has been prosperous in his business 
because of his unfailing courtesy and sym- 
pathy and the continued attention to the 
wants of his patrons. 

Air. Southmayd is a member of Holy 
Trinity Church, and is identified with 
many social organizations of Middletown ; 
he also is a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and the Middletown Yacht 
Club. He served his time as a volunteer 
fireman and is now a member of the Mid- 
dletown Veteran Firemen's Association. 
He is a member of the Sixth Infantry 
Band, the fourth organization of this kind 
with which he has been associated ; and 
is a member of the Musical Protective 
Union, No. 497. He also is a life member 
of Middletown Lodge, No. 771, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks ; a mem- 
ber of Apollo Lodge, No. 33, Knights of 
Pythias; and Mattabessett Lodge, No. 12, 
Order of United American Men. He is 
a member of Central Lodge, No. 12, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and of 
Sowheg Encampment, No. 6, and Pris- 
cilla Rebecca Lodge, No. 12, of the same 
order. He is a past sachem of Arrawanna 
Tribe, No. 17, Improved Order of Red 



Men, and was the first past dictator of 
Middlesex lodge. No. 1547, Loyal Order 
of Moose. In political matters Mr. South- 
mayd is an active and vigorous supporter 
of Republican principles, but does not 
seek to share any political honors. 

Mr. Southmayd married, September 18, 
1901, Florence, daughter of Theron C. and 
Almira (Banning) Markham, of Middle- 
town. Theron C. Markham was the 
youngest child of John and Polly (Clark) 
Markham, elsewhere mentioned in this 
work. (See Markham, Revilo Clark). 
The only child of Mrs. Southmayd, Dud- 
ley Russell, died at the age of twenty-five 
years. He was the assistant of Mr. 
Southmayd in the undertaking business 
and endeared himself to a multitude of 
Middletown people, who testified their 
appreciation of his character at his funeral 
which was very largely attended. 



BEACH, Francis Asbury, 
Banker. 

Identified with Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, from his boyhood, Mr. Beach is ac- 
tively connected with one of its leading 
industries and is also president of the 
Middletown National Bank. His ances- 
tors were located very earl}- in Southern 
Connecticut and the family of Beach has 
been prominent in many localities of the 
State and other states. 

(I) John Beach, the immigrant ances- 
tor of this branch of the family, was born 
in England, and died in 1667, at Stratford, 
Connecticut. He was an early settler of 
the latter town and also was among the 
original proprietors of Wallingford, Con- 
necticut. His inventory amounted to 
£92 19s. 

(II) Nathaniel Beach, fifth child of 
John I'each, was born in March, 1662, 
in Stratford, and died in 1747. In 
1686 he married Sarah Porter, born in 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1667, died in 1734, daughter of Nathaniel 
Porter. 

(III) Nathaniel (2) Beach, son of 
Nathaniel (i) and Sarah (Porter) Beach, 
was born December 29, 1696, and died in 
1734. He married, November 3, 1720, 
Sarah Burton, daughter of Solomon Bur- 
ton, and after the death of Nathaniel 
Beach, she married (second) William 
O'Dell. 

(IV) Thomas Beach, son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Sarah (Burton) Beach, was born 
in Stratford, and baptized in February, 

1733- 

(V) Thomas (2) Beach, son of Thomas 

(i) Beach, was born in 1770, and lived in 
Trumbull, Connecticut. Pie was the father 
of John Burton Beach, of whom further. 

(VI) John Burton Beach, son of 
Thomas (2) Beach, was born November 
4. 1797, in Trumbull, Connecticut, and 
died in Middletown, January 23, 1891. 
For many years he was identified with 
the New York Conference of the Metho- 
dist church, in which he was several years 
presiding elder. On his retirement from 
the ministry he lived for a few years at 
Derby, Connecticut, and about 1880 re- 
moved to Middletown, where he died in 
his ninety-fourth year. He married, in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, Emeline Haw- 
ley, who was born July 9. 1801, and died 
March 29, 1881, in Middletown. They 
were the parents of John Wesley Beach, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Rev. John Wesley Beach, D. D., 
son of John Burton and Emeline (Hawley) 
Beach, born December 26, 1825, in Trum- 
bull, Connecticut, died January 2, 1902, in 
Middletown. He graduated from Wes- 
leyan University in 1845, ^^^ for the next 
four years was a teacher and engaged in 
study at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In 
1850-51 he was a teacher in the schools at 
Amenia, Dutchess county. New York, and 
from 185T to 1854 was principal of the 



schools there. In the latter year he joined 
the New York Conference of the Meth- 
odist church, and in 1870 was subse- 
quently transferred to the New York East 
Conference, and in 1879-80 was presiding 
elder of that conference, after which he 
removed to Middletown to become presi- 
dent of Wesleyan University, in which 
position he continued until 1887, when he 
resigned. From that year until about 
1902 he was presiding elder at Middle- 
town. In 1872 Wesleyan University con- 
ferred upon him the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity, and in 1882 Northwestern Uni- 
versity at Evanston, Illinois, gave him the 
degree of LL. D. In 1854-55 he was pas- 
tor of the Methodist church at Pough- 
keepsie. New York ; in 1856-57, of the 
Eighteenth Street Church, in New York 
City; in 1858-59, at Newburgh, New 
York; in 1860-61 at Hudson, New York; 
in 1862 of the then Green Street Church, 
New York; in 1863-64 he was pastor at 
Sheffield, Massachusetts ; in 1865-67 at 
Kingston, New York ; in 1868-69 at White 
Plains, New York ; in 1870 he was trans- 
ferred to the New York East Conference, 
and from that year until 1872 was pastor 
at Mamaroneck, New York. In 1873-74 
he was pastor of the First Church at New- 
burgh, and in 1875 at Greenwich, Con- 
necticut, and again, in 1876-78, at Ma- 
maroneck, New York. Under his charge 
Wesleyan University gained considerable 
strength financially, and the institution 
was highly prosperous. He married Eliza 
Merritt Vail, of an old New York family, 
who died in Middletown, in April, 1909. 
(VIII) Francis Asbury Beach, son of 
Rev. John Wesley and Eliza M. (Vail) 
Beach, was born August 21, 1866, at 
Kingston, New York, and attended 
various schools in the towns where his 
father was situated. He attended Wilbra- 
ham Academy at Wilbraham, Massachu- 
setts, and at the age of twenty years, 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



turned his attention to business, becoming 
a clerk in the Middletown National Bank, 
with which he has ever since been iden- 
tified. In 1907 he organized the Bristol 
Trust Company, at Bristol, Connecticut, 
where he continued until 1910, when he 
became cashier of the Middletown Na- 
tional Bank. In 1917 he was made presi- 
dent of the bank, and in the same year, 
October ist, became vice-president of the 
Wilcox, Crittenden Company, a large 
manufacturing establishment of Middle- 
town. He is also vice-president of the 
Lyman Gun Sight Corporation of Middle- 
field. He is a member of Middletown 
Chamber of Commerce ; a director of the 
Middletown Homes, Inc., an undertaking 
to furnish homes for the people of the 
city ; and also of the Middletown Press 
Publishing Company. He has always 
been identified with the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, but is now an attendant at 
the South Congregational Church of Mid- 
dletown. He is a member of St. John's 
Lodge. No. 2, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Middletown ; of Central Lodge, No. 
12, Independent Order Odd Fellows. He 
is a member of Highland Country Club, 
and of the Hartford Automobile Club, and 
has served three terms as a member of 
the Middletown City District School 
Board, and two terms as an alderman of 
the city. His political affiliations are with 
the Republican party, of whose principles 
he is an ardent supporter. 

Mr. Beach married, April 9, 1891, Emma 
S. Conn, a native of Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, daughter of James and Sophia 
(Smith) Conn. 



SEARS. Cushman Allen, 

Physician. 

The surname of Sears has been found 
under numerous spellings. Among those 
more common are Sares, Scares, Saver, 



Sayers, Seers and Seir. It is believed that 
the family is of Norman origin. About 
1600 there were many families of this 
name resident in the eastern parishes of 
London. 

(I) Richard Sears, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the family, was a taxpayer in 
Plymouth Colony as early as 1632. He 
removed to Marblehead, Massachusetts, 
where he was a land owner in 1637, but 
the following year returned to Plymouth 
Colony and settled at Yarmouth, Massa- 
chusetts. He took the freeman's oath 
June 7, 1653. Commissioners were ap- 
pointed to meet at his house on Indian 
affairs October 26, 1647. He was among 
the settlers and founders of Yarmouth, 
and was buried August 26, 1676. His 
wife, Dorothy, was buried March 19, 
1678-79. 

(II) Captain Paul Sears, son of 
Richard and Dorothy Sears, was probably 
born at Marblehead, Massachusetts, in 
1637-38, and died at Yarmouth, February 
20, 1707-08. In 1657 he took the oath of 
fidelity. He was captain of the militia 
company at Yarmouth, and was in the 
Narragansett War. He was one of the 
original proprietors of Harwich, which 
was laid out between Bound Brook and 
Stony Brook. He married, at Yarmouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1658, Deborah Willard, 
baptized at Scituate, Massachusetts, by 
Rev. William Witherall, September 15. 
1645, died at Yarmouth, May 13, 1721. 
daughter of George Willard. 

(III) Paul (2) Sears, son of Captain 
Paul (i) and Deborah (Willard) Sears, 
was born at Yarmouth, Massachusetts. 
June 15. 1669. and died February 14, 1739- 
1740. He married, in 1693, at Harwich, 
Massachusetts, Mercy Freeman, born 
there October 30, 1674, died August 30, 
1747, daughter of Deacon Thomas and 
Rebecca (Sparrow) Freeman. 

(IV) Joshua Sears, son of Paul (2) and 

54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mercy (Freeman) Sears, was born No- 
vember 20, 1708, at Yarmouth, Massachu- 
etts, and died September 27, 1753, at Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut. In 1745 he served 
as constable at Harwich. In 1746 he re- 
moved to Middletown and purchased land 
on the east side of the river, in that por- 
tion later set off as Chatham. He was a 
man of large stature and of great strength 
and hardihood. He married, at Eastham, 
Massachusetts, February 10, 1731-32, 
Rebecca Mayo, born October 10, 1713, 
daughter of John and Susanna (Freeman) 
Mayo, of Eastham. She was admitted to 
the church at Harwich, May 27, 1739, and 
with her husband dismissed to the East 
Church at Middletown, February 5, 1748. 

(V) Elkanah Sears, son of Joshua and 
Rebecca (Mayo) Sears, was born April 
12, 1734, and died November 24, 1816. He 
came to Middletown with his parents and 
became one of the most prominent and 
influential men of his day, acquiring quite 
a competence. At his own expense he 
sent supplies to the soldiers of the Revolu- 
tionary army ; he equipped a vessel which 
he commanded, and went in pursuit of 
British vessels. Although he was cap- 
tured and had a narrow escape from 
death, he was undaunted, and on his re- 
turn home equipped a second vessel. He 
married, January 6, 1757, Ruth White, 
who died March 9, 1823, daughter of Jo- 
seph White. 

(VI) Willard Sears, son of Elkanah and 
Ruth (White) Sears, was born in Chat- 
ham, Connecticut, September 8, 1760, and 
died at East Hampton, Connecticut, Au- 
gust 23, 1838. He married, November 23, 
1785, Rhoda Bailey, bom in March, 1766, 
died February 17, 1794. For his second 
wife Mr. Sears married. May 22, 1796, 
Mrs. Betsey (Clark) Strong, who died 
January 9, 1 83 1. 

(VII) Stephen Griffith Sears, son of 
Willard and Betsey (Clark-Strong) Sears, 



was born September 27, 1803, in Chat- 
ham, Connecticut, and died there, October 
12, 1874. He was a farmer and also had 
a cooperage business. Mr. Sears was 
long a Whig in politics, but became af- 
filiated with the newly-formed Republican 
party. For many years he was a deacon 
of the Congregational church. He mar- 
ried. May I, 1831, Emily Veazie, born 
February 15, 1805, eldest child of Captain 
Eleazer and his wife, Elizabeth (West) 
Veazie, daughter of Lemuel and Desire 
(Markham) West. The Veazie family 
was established at Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, as early as 1643 by William Veazie, 
who was made a freeman there on May 
10, of that year, and died there June 16, 
1681. He married, in 1644, Eleanor 
Thompson, daughter of Rev. William 
and Abigail Thompson, who came from 
England in 1637. Mr. Thompson was 
ordained minister at Braintree in 1639. 
Solomon Veazie, son of William Veazie, 
was born May 11, 1650, in Braintree, and 
died there, February 26, 1731. He mar- 
ried, November 23, 1680, Elizabeth 
Sanders, who was born in October, 1663, 
daughter of Martin and Lydia (Hardier) 
Sanders. Eleazer Veazie, son of Solo- 
mon Veazie, was born August 22, 1689, in 
Braintree, and died there June 16, 1732. 
His wife's baptismal name was Lydia, 
and they were the parents of Eleazer (2) 
Veazie, born November 26, 1714. He 
married (first), August 23, 1739, in Dor- 
chester, Ann Gulliver, daughter of John 
and Margaret (Hunt) Gulliver, of that 
town. She died within a few years, and 
he moved to Windham, Connecticut. He 
married (second) in Middletown, January 
20, 1746, May Markham, of that town. 
Their eldest child, Eleazer (3) Veazie, 
was born September 4, 1748, recorded in 
Middletown. He married, February 18, 
1771, Mary Brown, and their son, Eleazer 
(4) Veazie, born December 18, 1778, set- 

55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tied in East Hampton, was a successful 
farmer, and died March 5, 1852. He mar- 
ried, December 2, 1801, Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Lemuel and Desire (Markham) 
West. Their eldest child, Emily Veazie, 
became the wife of Stephen G. Sears, as 
previously related. Their children were : 
Mary ; Clark ; Cushman Allen, of further 
mention ; and Caroline. 

(VIII) Cushman Allen Sears, son of 
Stephen G. and Emily (Veazie) Sears, 
was born September 26, 1838, in Chat- 
ham, and died at his home in Portland, 
Connecticut, October 20, 1919. His edu- 
cation was received in Chatham and at 
the Daniel Chase school in Middletown. 
A select school at East Hampton prepared 
him for entrance to Wilbraham Academy, 
from which he was graduated. The desire 
to take up the study of medicine had long 
been a favorite one with him and immedi- 
ately after his graduation he went to 
Glastonbury, Connecticut, where under 
the able preceptorship of Dr. Sabin Stock- 
ing he took up this study. The year i860 
was spent in attending medical lectures 
at Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and in 1861 
he went to New York City, where he be- 
came an associate and pupil of Dr. Abbott 
Hodgeman. The latter at that time was 
the attending physician and surgeon of the 
City Prison and the experience gained by 
Dr. Sears was invaluable. In 1862 Dr. 
Sears was enrolled as a student in the 
New York University Medical College, 
graduating after a year of study. 

Dr. Sears began the practice of his 
profession in East Haddam, Connecticut, 
but was soon called to take over the af- 
fairs of his early instructor, Dr. Stocking, 
who was among the surgeons of the 
Union army. After the close of the war 
Dr. Sears went to Portland, Connecticut, 
which place continued to be his home 
throughout his long, active and useful 
life. 



.\t the time of his death Dr. Sears was 
the oldest practicing physician of the State 
of Connecticut, and the oldest member of 
the Middlesex County Medical Associa- 
tion. For over three decades he held the 
office of medical examiner, and was long 
chairman of the school board. He was a 
member of the County and State Medical 
associations, and a director of the Free- 
stone Savings Bank, which institution he 
also served as vice-president. Dr. Sears 
was among the most active members of 
the First Congregational Church. 

Dr. Sears married, November 11, 1862, 
Evelyn Lay, daughter of Judge Oliver 
and Mary (Ingram) Lay. Their children 
were : Anna Belle, wife of William H. 
Selden, of Stambaugh, Michigan ; Dr. 
Walter Sears, of Detroit, Michigan ; and 
Bertha, Mrs. D. W. Robertson, of Brook- 
Ivn, New York. 



WILCOX, Ralph Mcintosh, 

Civil Engineer. 

A native of Middlesex county, Con- 
necticut, Mr. Wilcox is descended from 
one of the oldest families in this section, 
whose early generations are described 
elsewhere in this work (see Wilcox, Wil- 
liam \V.). The founder of the family, 
John Wilcox, settled early in Middle- 
town, Connecticut, where his son, 
Ephraim Wilcox, was born and located 
in East Middletown, subsequently Chat- 
ham, now Portland. His son, Janna Wil- 
cox, was the father of Aaron Wil- 
cox and grandfather of Luther Wilcox, 
who was born January 26, 1780, in what 
is now Portland. He was a farmer and 
miller, residing on the farm which his 
father had purchased from Jesse John- 
son, and where he carried on a grist and 
saw mill and also engaged in tanning 
leather. There he died, March 12, 1864, 
leaving six children. He married. No- 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember i6, 1816, Lucy Burt, who was 
born March 25, 1788, in Enfield, Connec- 
ticut, daughter of Elijah and Deborah 
(Colton) Burt (see Burt VI). 

Horace Burt Wilcox, eldest son of 
Luther and Lucy (Burt) Wilcox, was 
born July 14, 182 1, in the upper portion 
of Portland, Connecticut, where his senior 
son is now residing. He was reared on 
the farm, attending the Rose Hill district 
school and an academy at South Glaston- 
bury. Possessed of fine musical ability, 
he became proficient as an instructor in 
singing and for many years taught sing- 
ing school in Portland and nearby towns. 
He received thorough musical instruc- 
tion at Dr. Lowell Mason's Musical In- 
stitute, North Reading, Massachusetts, 
where George F. Root, subsequently one 
of the most noted musicians of Chicago, 
Illinois, was an instructor, as was also 
Mr. Wilcox. Under his direction the 
choir of the First Congregational Church 
became one of the finest in the State. His 
influence extended to every religious or- 
ganization in Portland and vicinity. 
Unlike many musicians, he was successful 
as a farmer and businessman, made great 
improvements in the family homestead 
and was a man of influence in the com- 
munity. A sturdy Abolitionist, he was 
among the staunchest supporters of the 
Republican party from its organization. 
His genial disposition and fine social gifts 
made him many friends, and his public 
spirit endeared him to the community. 

Mr. Wilcox married. May 21, 1843, 
Flavia C. Mcintosh, who was born June 
8, 1823, at East Long Meadow, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Robert and Philema 
(Blodgett) Mcintosh (see Mcintosh 
line), and died May 3, 1920, in Portland, 
having survived her husband many years. 
He died April 5, 1888, and was buried in 
the Center Cemetery at Portland. 

Ralph Mcintosh Wilcox, son of Horace 



B. and Flavia C. (Mcintosh) Wilcox, 
was born June 2, i860, on the homestead 
in Portland, Connecticut, and attended the 
public school near his home, the high 
school at Gildersleeve, and was two years 
a student at Wesleyan University. En- 
tering the Sheffield Scientific School, he 
was graduated in 1888 as Bachelor of 
Philosophy. Turning his attention to 
engineering, he was employed for some 
time as surveyor of the Central New Eng- 
land & Western railroad and was subse- 
quently employed as a draftsman by the 
Berlin Bridge Company. In September, 
1890, he went to Lehigh University in 
Pennsylvania as an instructor in civil 
engineering, where he continued for a 
period of ten years. In 1899 he came to 
Middletown, Connecticut, and in 1901 was 
elected city engineer, which position he 
continued to fill at various periods until 
1917. He now maintains an office as gen- 
eral engineer in Middletown, and is kept 
busily occupied proving his ability and 
serving in many ways. 

Like his father, Mr. Wilcox has always 
been interested in good government, is 
public-spirited, sustains the Republican 
principles in political matters, and has 
served several years as a member of the 
Middletown School Board. He is a mem- 
ber of the South Congregational Church 
of Middletown; a member of Warren 
Lodge, No. 51, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Portland ; and was formerly a member 
of Freestone Chapter, No. 34, Royal Arch 
Masons, of Portland (now extinct). 

Mr. Wilcox married (first), December 
24, 1889, Clara Clarke, daughter of 
Lucerne and Bessie (Fowler) Clarke. 
She died, leaving four children, April 
12, 1914. Children: Corporal Horace 
Lucerne Clark, born September 14, 1890, 
served in the 32nd Aviation Squadron for 
a period of seventeen months during the 
World War, and is now associated with 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his father in business ; Bessie, born March 
31, 1894, served as a Young Women's 
Christian Association secretary in France, 
and is now stenographer for the president 
at Wesleyan University ; Corporal Robert 
Mcintosh, born January 14, 1896, served 
in Company F, 102nd Regiment, 26th or 
Yankee Division, during the World War 
in France, where he gave his life for his 
country; Valeria Pitkin, born March 31, 
1898, is employed as a stenographer in 
Middletown. Mr. Wilcox married (sec- 
ond), November 15, 1916, Frances Stew- 
art, daughter of Lucius and Josephine 
(Rathbone) Stewart. 

(The Burt Line). 

The Burt family is an ancient one in 
England, recorded as early as 1199, in 
which year a manor in the Lordship of 
Homingtoft was granted to Sir Hamo De 
Burt. The surname is derived from the 
Saxon "Beart," which signifies illustrious. 
Traces of it are found in many Christian 
names, such as Albert, Egbert, Etherbert 
and Bertha. The English family contains 
many honorable names among the landed 
gentry, the clergy, in the army, and public 
life. 

(I) Henry Burt, the American ances- 
tor, came to Roxbury, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1638. In the following year he 
was a householder, and was allowed £8 
for losses by fire. He was one of the 
company which followed William Pyn- 
chon to the new settlement at Springfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1640, and because of the 
size of his family was given a larger allot- 
ment of land than others. He served ten 
years among the first selectmen, and from 
1649 up to the time of his death in 1662, 
was "ye Clarke of ye Writs." His signa- 
ture, still extant, shows him to have been 
a man of education. He was accompanied 
from England by his wife, Eulalia, who 
survived him twenty-eight years. 

(II) Nathaniel Burt, third son of Henry 



and Eulalia Burt, married January 15, 
1662, Rebecca Sikes, probably a daughter 
of Richard Sikes. 

(III) David Burt, son of Nathaniel and 
Rebecca (Sikes) Burt, was born in 1668, 
and died July 15, 1735. He lived in Long 
Meadow, Massachusetts. He married, 
June 27, 1706. Martha Hale, of Enfield, 
daughter of Deacon Thomas and Priscilla 
(Markham) Hale, of that town. 

(IV) David (2) Burt, eldest child of 
David (i) and Martha (Hale) Burt, 
was born August 20, 1709, and died 
April 13, 1777, in Long Meadow. Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, September 5, 
1732, Sarah Colton, who was born 
February 22, 1713, in Long Meadow, 
died August 17, 1763, second daughter of 
Captain George and Mary (Hitchcock) 
Colton. The Colton family was among 
the earliest of Long Meadow, descended 
from George Colton, who came from Sut- 
ton, Coldfield. eight miles from Birming- 
ham, England, and settled first in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, becoming later one of 
the pioneers of that part of Springfield, 
now Long Meadow. He is referred to in 
the records as Quartermaster Colton, and 
represented the town several years in the 
General Court, and has been often called 
"The Father of Long Meadow." George 
Colton married Deborah Gardner, of 
Hartford, Connecticut, and their eldest 
child. Isaac Colton. married Mary 
Cooper. Their son. Captain George Col- 
ton, married Mary Hitchcock, and was 
the father of Sarah Colton, wife of David 
(2) Burt, above mentioned. 

(V) Elijah Burt, fifth son of David -(2) 
and Sarah (Colton) Burt, was born Octo- 
ber 3. 1742, in Long Meadow, Massachu- 
setts, died there April 5, 1820. He mar- 
ried. December 3. 1767, Deborah Colton. 
born May 20. 1745. died April 28, 1792. 
third daughter of Ebenezer and Deborah 
(Chandler) Colton, granddaughter of 



58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Captain Thomas and Hannah (Bliss) 
Colton, great-granddaughter of George 
and Deborah (Gardner) Colton, above 
mentioned. 

(VI) Lucy Burt, fifth daughter of 
Elijah and Deborah (Colton) Burt, was 
born March 25, 1788, and became the wife 
of Luther Wilcox, as previously noted. 
She was one of the founders of the Sab- 
bath school connected with the First Con- 
gregational Church of Portland, was a 
woman of more than ordinary intelligence, 
and died February 2, 1855. 

(The Mcintosh Line). 

The Mcintosh family was of pure 
Scotch blood, and has been traced to Rob- 
ert Mcintosh, born about 1660, probably 
in the southwestern part of Scotland. 
After marrying a Miss Gordon he moved 
to County Antrim, Ireland, where three 
sons were born to him. 

(I) Andrew Mcintosh, the American 
ancestor, and second son, came to Amer- 
ica in 1715, locating first at Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, whence he moved to 
Boston, Massachusetts, and soon after to 
Stonington, Connecticut. At the age of 
sixty-four years, in 1754, he married Naomi 
Dethic, presumably of Scotch blood. In 
1777 he went to Willington, Connecticut, 
where he bought a farm and lived upon it 
till his death, March 26, 1793, at the age of 
one hundred and three years. He was in 
full possession of his faculties to the last 
moment. 

(II) Andrew (2) Mcintosh, son of 
Andrew (i) and Naomi (Dethic) Mcin- 
tosh, was born April 30, 1761, in Stoning- 
ton. He inherited the farm in Willington 
and some money, amounting to about one 
thousand dollars. He continued on the 
farm eighteen years after the death of his 
father, and then moved to Steuben, 
Oneida county, New York, then consid- 
ered the remote West. There he died, 
October 19, 1856, over ninety-five years 



old. In 1781 he married Hannah Lilli- 
bridge, who was born December 12, 1765, 
in Exeter, Rhode Island, daughter of Rev. 
David and Meriam (Moore) Lillibridge. 
Her father was a Baptist minister in 
Willington. 

(III) Robert Mcintosh, second child 
and eldest son of Andrew (2) and Hannah 
(Lillibridge) Mcintosh, was born Novem- 
ber 9, 1783, in Willington, and settled as 
a farmer in East Windsor, Connecticut, 
subsequently moving to Long Meadow, 
Massachusetts, where he purchased land, 
some one hundred acres, for which he 
paid $1,650, deed dated August 26, 181 5. 
Later he purchased more land, upon 
which he opened a quarry. He died at 
East Long Meadow, February 9, 1879, 
aged ninety-five years. He married, Sep- 
tember 17, 1809, Philena Blodgett, born 
September 17, 1787, in East Windsor, 
daughter of Phineas and Damherst 
(Loomis) Blodgett, of that town, the lat- 
ter a daughter of John Loomis. Philena 
(Blodgett) Mcintosh was a most indus- 
trious woman, a faithful wife and mother. 
During the last years of her husband's life 
he required her fullest care and devotion, 
because of a paralytic shock. Immedi- 
ately after his death, she took to her bed 
and died six days later, February 14, 1879, 
in her ninety-second year. 

(IV) Flavia C. Mcintosh, third daugh- 
ter of Robert and Philena (Blodgett) Mc- 
intosh, was born June 8, 1823, in East 
Long Meadow, and became the wife of 
Horace B. Wilcox (see Wilcox). Their 
eldest child, Frederick Wilcox, was en- 
gaged in business in Waterbury, where 
he died. The second child, Emeret Eliza- 
beth, married Deacon Franklin Payne, of 
Portland, and is now deceased. William 
Bartlett, the third child, died while a stu- 
dent at the Sheffield Scientific School in 
New Haven. Luther, the fourth child, is 
a farmer on the paternal homestead in 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Portland. The youngest child, Ralph Mc- 
intosh Wilcox, is the subject of this 
sketch. 



MEECH, George Thomas, 

Retired Business Man. 

For many years the name of Meech has 
been identified with Middletown business 
affairs and has always stood for sound 
and upright business methods, enterprise 
and progress. From various worthy an- 
cestors, Mr. Meech has inherited the pro- 
pensities which have controlled many of 
the leading business men of the United 
States. He is a scion of one of the oldest 
American families, being descended from 
Stephen Meech, who is said to have come 
to New England to escape religious per- 
secution abroad. The name is probably of 
French extraction. 

(I) Mr. Stephen Meech was a member 
of the ancient family of Walbridge and his 
mother's maiden name was Meech. He 
probably came from Devon, England, and 
the reason for assuming his mother's 
family name has never been made ap- 
parent. The records show that he was 
known soon after his arrival here as Wal- 
bridge, alias Meech. He settled in what 
is now North Stonington, Connecticut, 
some two miles east of the village of 
Preston, where he engaged in agriculture. 
There is no record of his wife, but he is 
known to have had sons, John and Daniel. 

(II) Daniel Meech, son of Stephen 
Meech, resided some years in the paternal 
home in Stoninglon, whence he removed 
to Canterbury, Connecticut. He was a 
loyal subject of the parent country, 
served as lieutenant in the British army 
and was killed, in 1759, in the vicinity of 
Quebec, Canada, leaving a widow and 
three children. His wife was Amy Wil- 
cox, a woman of extraordinary beauty and 
great physical vigor, and her descendants 
have inherited her desirable qualities. 



(Ill) Thomas Meech, son of Daniel and 
Amy (Wilcox) Meech, was born February 
22, 1749, in Preston, Connecticut, made 
his home there and died October 21, 1822. 
He married, October 5, 1768, Lucretia 
Kimball, who was born in 1750, and died 
in April, 1834, in Preston, and they were 
the parents of eleven children. 

The Kimball family is an old and hon- 
ored one in America and most of its male 
members have been distinguished for 
large and powerful frames and active and 
keen brains. The American progenitor 
was Richard Kimball, who embarked at 
Ipswich, Suffolk, England, April 10, 1634, 
in the ship "Elizabeth" and arrived at 
Boston, Massachusetts, whence he shortly 
removed to Watertown, and became a 
prominent and active member of that new 
settlement. By trade he was a wheel- 
wright. Soon after being made a free- 
man, in 1635, he was invited to remove to 
Ipswich, Massachusetts, which settlement 
needed a wheelwright. There he spent 
the remainder of his days and died June 
22, 1675. He married Ursula Scott, 
daughter of Henry Scott, of Rattlesden, in 
the county of Suffolk, England. Their 
third son, John Kimball, born in 1631, in 
Rattlesden, settled at Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, where he was a wheelwright and 
farmer, dealt quite extensively in lands, 
joined the church, March 8, 1673, and died 
May 6, 1698. He married, about 1655, 
Mary Bradstreet, born in 1633. Their 
third son, John (2) Kimball, was born 
March 16, 1668, in Ipswich, and lived in 
Preston, Connecticut, where he was a 
wheelwright and farmer, and died May 4, 
1761. In 1726 he removed from Ipswich 
to Stonington, Connecticut, and in the 
same year purchased two hundred acres 
in Preston for seven hundred pounds, and 
there settled in the following spring. He 
married, December 2, 1692, Sarah Good- 
hue, daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Whip- 
ple) Goodhue. Their sixth son, Jacob 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Kimball, was born October 12, 1706, in 
Ipswich, and lived in Preston, Connecti- 
cut, where he died May 4, 1788. He mar- 
ried Mary Parke, and probably had a 
second wife, Anna. His fourth daughter, 
Lucretia Kimball, born in 1750, died in 
April, 1834, became the wife of Thomas 
Meech, as previously noted. 

(IV) Shubael Meech, third child of 
Thomas and Lucretia (Kimball) Meech, 
was born November 4, 1773, and passed 
his active life as a farmer in Griswold, Con- 
necticut, where he died November 4, 1839. 
He married, November 16, 1798, Sarah 
Lord, who was born in 1775, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Abigail (Tyler) Lord, the 
last-named a daughter of John and Mary 
(Coit) Tyler. John Tyler was among the 
Revolutionary heroes, serving as captain 
of the Second Company from Putnam, 
Connecticut, in June, 1776. He was sub- 
sequently promoted lieutenant-colonel 
and again promoted colonel, August 12, 
1776. Later he was brigadier-general of 
the Third Brigade, Colonial troops. 

(V) John Tyler Meech, fifth son of 
Shubael and Sarah (Lord) Meech, was 
born July 30, 1814, in Preston, Connecti- 
cut, passed his early life on the paternal 
farm and received such educational train- 
ing as the local schools of his day afforded. 
He continued upon the paternal farm until 
he was twenty-eight years old ; in the 
autumn of that year rented a farm in Lis- 
bon, Connecticut, and was subsequently 
a tenant on other farms. He lived suc- 
cessively in the towns of Lisbon, Gris- 
wold, Lyme, Essex, Brooklyn, Montville, 
Groton and Ledyard, in Connecticut, and 
in West Chester, New York, an indus- 
trious man, who succeeded as a farmer 
and in time was able to purchase a farm 
located at Gales Ferry, Connecticut. 
There he passed his last years in comfort 
and prosperity, until his death, April 3, 
1895, in his eighty-first year. His out- 



door life was promotive of physical vigor 
and he was exceedingly well-preserved in 
his old age. Of large and commanding 
presence, he was among the most modest 
of men and enjoyed the respect of all who 
were privileged to know him. Mr. Meech 
was a religious man, long active in the 
Congregational church in whose choirs he 
was wont to sing. In the days of that 
party's prosperity, he was a Whig, and 
naturally joined its successor, the Repub- 
lican party. He did not seek any official 
station, but was earnest and steadfast in 
sustaining his principles. 

Mr. Meech was married, March 13, 
1842, at the home of the bride, in Lyme, 
Connecticut, to Rebecca Mather Waite, 
who was born May 30, 1816, in that town, 
daughter of William and Rebecca (Avery) 
Waite. She survived him and died at 
Gales Ferry, December 10, 1908. Her 
father, William Waite, was a farmer in 
Lyme, Connecticut. His father, John 
Waite, was born January 4, 1749, and his 
wife, Rebecca Mather, December 22, 1748. 
His brother, Remick Waite, was the 
grandfather of Chief Justice Waite of the 
United States Supreme Court. 

(VI) George Thomas Meech, only sur- 
viving son of John Tyler and Rebecca 
Mather (Waite) Meech, was born Decem- 
ber 22, 1843, '" Lisbon, Connecticut, and 
educated in the district school of the 
neighborhood. As a boy he was accus- 
tomed to perform those labors of which 
he was capable, in forwarding the inter- 
ests of farm life. The only son of his 
parents who grew to adult age, he as- 
sumed considerable responsibility and was 
an active and able assistant to his father. 

Before completing his nineteenth year, 
he enlisted, August 14, 1862, as a soldier 
of the Civil War, and became a member 
of Company C, Twenty-first Connecticut 
Volunteer Infantry. This regiment was 
organized at Norwich, Connecticut, pro- 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ceeded to Washington and was shortly 
ordered to Antietam, but did not arrive in 
time to participate in the bloody engage- 
ment there. It continued as a part of the 
Army of the Potomac, participating in 
all its engagements and trying experi- 
ences. June 3, 1864, while lying in the 
rifle pits at Cold Harbor, he was taken ill 
and removed on a stretcher to the field 
hospital, where he remained several 
weeks. He was ordered to leave the hos- 
pital, to rejoin his regiment, then in front 
of Petersburg, but before marching orders 
came, he was ordered to report to Surgeon 
Dwight Satterlee of the Eleventh Con- 
necticut Volunteers. Here he became 
clerk to the surgeon in charge of a con- 
valescing camp at Point of Rocks, Mary- 
land, and was later made private secre- 
tary to Surgeon H. B. Fowler in charge of 
the Point of Rocks hospital. Mr. Meech 
was discharged at Hampton, Virginia, 
June 10, 1865, having been sent thither in 
command of a squad of men in the hos- 
pital service. During his long service at 
the front he enjoyed no furlough. At one 
time a furlough was granted him, but he 
resigned it for the benefit of a comrade 
who had a wife and family at home. By 
his fidelity and careful attention to all 
matters placed in his charge, Mr. Meech 
earned the confidence and esteem of his 
comrades and commanding officers. Re- 
turning to the paternal home at Gales 
Ferry, Connecticut, he at once went into 
the hay-field and began farm labors where 
he had left off to go to the rescue of his 
country. He continued through the sum- 
mer to assist his father on the home farm, 
and in the fall of 1865, went to New 
Haven, where he attended a business col- 
lege for four months. 

His entering the army while still a 
minor had ended his cherished plan of 
pursuing an education, and he now sought 
to fit himself for business in order that 



he might sustain himself. He borrowed 
fifty dollars from his uncle, Dwight 
Meech, to carry him through the business 
college, and as soon as he had completed 
the course he joined an acquaintance, N. 
B. Allyn, in Middletown, Connecticut, 
where he accepted a position as driver of a 
delivery wagon for a grocer, receiving 
four dollars per week and his board as 
compensation. This establishment was 
located in the block where the large busi- 
ness of Meech & Stoddard is now con- 
ducted, and there Mr. Meech continued 
in business until his recent retirement. 
In association with his fellow clerk, he 
purchased the grocery store, which was 
conducted in a basement, their capital 
consisting of one thousand dollars, all of 
it borrowed. After fourteen months of 
business under the style of Allyn & 
Meech, the latter sold out his interest and 
accepted a position as bookkeeper for L. 
N. Barlow & Company, grain dealers, on 
the ground floor of the building. In 1869 
he became half owner in the firm, and, in 
1871, Orin E. Stoddard purchased the 
interest of the original proprietor, after 
which for thirty-two years, the business 
was conducted by Meech & Stoddard. In 
1904 it was incorporated under the same 
title, and George T. Meech was made 
president. Besides dealing in grain, the 
establishment has long conducted a mill- 
ing business and does both wholesale and 
retail trades throughout the New England 
territory and in other sections. 

Since 1888 Mr. Meech has been a trus- 
tee of the Farmers' & Mechanics' Savings 
Bank, and for thirty years a director. 
During this time the business of the es- 
tablishment had increased to six times 
the original. While it existed, he was a 
director of the Columbia Trust Company 
and was elected president, but declined to 
serve. For several years he was a direc- 
tor of the W. & B. Douglas Company, a 



62 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



large manufacturing establishment of 
Middletown. At the organization of the 
Young Men's Christian Association, of 
Middletown, Mr. Meech was made its 
president, and continued nine years in 
that capacity, during which time its hand- 
some and commodious building was 
erected, now free from debt. Owing to 
declining health, he resigned from this 
position. He was a member of the Busi- 
nessmen's Association, later called the 
Board of Trade of Middletown. In 1873 
he was affiliated with the South Church 
of Middletown, and fifteen years later be- 
came a deacon, which position he still 
fills, being the senior deacon of the 
society. During this time, five of his col- 
leagues on the Board of Deacons have 
passed away. For twenty years he was a 
teacher in the Sunday school, and has 
been for years chairman of the Ecclesi- 
astical Society. Always a Republican, he 
has sought to sustain his principles by 
voice and thought, and though never a 
seeker of official station, has accepted 
some offices as a matter of civic duty. He 
was a member of the Board of Selectmen 
during the time when the present com- 
modious municipal building was erected, 
and was also a member of the City Coun- 
cil. During the recent World War, he 
was active in many ways in forwarding 
those efiforts put forward to maintain an 
effective army in the field. He is a mem- 
ber of Mansfield Post, No. 53, Grand 
Army of the Republic, and has been de- 
partment commander of Connecticut in 
that order. 

Mr. Meech was married, June 11, 1873, 
at Middletown, to Ella Jean Burr, born 
August 3, 1849, at the old homestead of 
her father on Main street, a daughter of 
Dr. Ellsworth and Maria T. (Haling) 
Burr. She died May 4, 1913. Mr. and 
Mrs. Meech were the parents of four 
children : George Ellsworth, born No- 



vember 14, 1874, is now general manager 
of Meech & Stoddard, Incorporated ; 
Mabel Burr, born February 15, 1878, re- 
sides with her father ; Harold Marwick, a 
sketch of whom follows; John Tyler, died 
when about one year old. 

Mrs. Meech is of the eighth generation 
in descent from Benjamin Burr, one of the 
original proprietors of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut. The first evidence of his presence 
in America appears in the land division in 
Hartford, in 1639, where he is spoken of 
as an original proprietor and settler, 
which would indicate that he was here in 
1635. He was probably in Massachusetts 
before that time, as the settlers of Hart- 
ford came from the vicinity of Boston, 
Massachusetts. In the land division of 
1639, Benjamin Burr's allotment was six 
acres, and in 1658, he was admitted free- 
man. It is apparent that he was a thrifty 
and well-to-do man, as he owned more 
than one house lot in Hartford, besides 
houses and lands at Greenfield and Wind- 
sor. His name has been given to one of 
the streets of Hartford, where he died 
March 31, 1681. His name appears on 
the monument to original settlers in the 
First Church cemetery. His son, Sam- 
uel Burr, born in England, was a freeman 
of Hartford in May, 1658, and died there 
September 29, 1682, leaving a good estate, 
whose inventory value was £541 los. iid. 
He married Mary Baysey, daughter of 
John and Elizabeth Baysey, her father 
being one of the early settlers of Hart- 
ford. Their youngest child, Jonathan 
Burr, born in 1679, settled, after 1696, at 
Middletown, Connecticut, where he united 
with the First Church, and died January 
I, 1735. He married Abigail Hubbard, 
born February 16, 1686, in Middletown, 
Connecticut, daughter of Nathaniel and 
Mary (Earle) Hubbard, and granddaugh- 
ter of George Hubbard, founder of a num- 
erous family in America, and a pioneer of 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middletown. Nathaniel Burr, third son 
of Jonathan and Abigail (Hubbard) Burr, 
was born March 23, 1717, in Middletown, 
settled in Haddam, Connecticut, where he 
was a farmer and built a house on the 
present site of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and died September 12, 1802. He 
married (second), August 19, 1743, Sarah 
Porter, born October 28, 1724, died May 
21, 1797. Their fourth son, Jonathan 
Burr, born April 11, 1756, in Haddam, 
joined the Continental army, at the age of 
twenty-one years, and became corporal 
in the company of Captain Martin Kirt- 
land, in Colonel Erastus Wolcott's Regi- 
ment. After returning from the army he 
engaged in farming, was captain of the 
local militia company and died February 
10, 1804. He married Lydia Bailey and 
their third son, Stephen Burr, was born 
February 7, 1786 and died January 13. 
1837. Stephen Burr married Cynthia 
Hubbard, born March 31, 1786, died 
March 14, 1854, daughter of Moses and 
Mabel (Hopkins) Hubbard. Their sec- 
ond son. Dr. Ellsworth Burr, born De- 
cember I, 1813, was a man of great mental 
capacity, began the practice of medicine 
in Middletown, in 1838, and was subse- 
quently a professor of the Worcester 
Medical College. He was a representa- 
tive in the State Legislature during sev- 
eral sessions, and held other important 
official stations. He married Maria T. 
Haling, of Chatham. Connecticut, born 
November 2^, 1818. Their third daugh- 
ter, Ella Jean Burr, born August 3, 1849, 
became the wife of George T. Meech, as 
already noted. 



MEECH, Harold Marwick, 

Business Man, Legislator. 

A deserving successor of worthy sires, 
Harold Marwick Meech is busily engaged 
in Middletown business interests which 



have long been established there. He is 
the secon(l son of George T. and Ella Jean 
(Burr) Meech (q. v.), and was born Sep- 
tember 18, 1882, in Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, with which city he has since been 
identified. After passing through the 
grammar and high schools of his native 
city, he entered Yale University, from 
which he was graduated. Bachelor of 
Arts, in 1904. Immediately after leaving 
college he became associated with the 
business of Meech & Stoddard, which is 
now incorporated. Growing with the 
growth of the establishment, Mr. Meech 
is now secretary and treasurer of the cor- 
poration. While he is rated as a conserva- 
tive business man, he is also bright and 
aggressive and is contributing his share 
toward the prosperity of the establish- 
ment and of his home city. 

Mr. Meech has taken some interest in 
public affairs, and already commands 
some influence in the councils of the Re- 
publican party. He was elected council- 
man in 1910 and 1912, alderman in 1914, 
mayor of Middletown in 1916, and served 
during that year and the following. In 
November, 1918, he was elected a repre- 
sentative of the town in the State Legis- 
lature, as colleague of William W. Wil- 
cox, who is elsewhere mentioned in this 
work. He participates in the social life 
of the community, and is a member of 
the Middletown Yacht Club, Highland 
Country Club and University Club, of 
Middletown, and the Yale Alumni Asso- 
ciation of Hartford. With his family, he 
is affiliated with the South Congregational 
Church of Middletown. 

Mr. Meech was married, at Hartford, 
Connecticut, January 8, 1916, to Lucy 
Anderson Harbison, born February 0, 
1889, in Hartford, daughter of Hugh and 
Annie (Phelps) Harbison of that city. 
They are the parents of a daughter, Eliza- 
beth Harbison Meech, born April 16, 1918. 



64 





QlQx^A9k^.'^^^>km<^ _ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



DAVIS, Lewis Olcott, 

Head of Important Business. 

For many years identified with Middle- 
town and a contributor to its growth and 
development, Mr. Davis is enjoying in 
partial retirement the fruits of a life of 
industry. As a patronymic, Davis is of 
Welsh origin, and signifies David's son. 
From David's it easily became Davy's and 
then Davis. The characteristics of their 
Welsh ancestors are strongly marked in 
the family herein described. 

(I) Among the most active and useful 
of the founders of New England was Dolor 
Davis, who came from England and was 
settled at Cambridge, Massachusetts as 
early as August 4, 1634, when he received 
a grant of land. He was a carpenter and 
master builder, and moved about con- 
siderably as demand arose for his skill. 
He received grants of land, June 4, 1635, 
and subsequently, but before August 5, 
1639, removed to Duxbury, where he was 
made freeman on that date and received 
a grant of lands the next year. In 1643 
he was living in Barnstable, was made 
a freeman there June 2, 1646, and held 
various offices in that town. With his 
wife he was admitted to the church, Au- 
gust 27, 1648, by dismissal from the 
church at Duxbury. In 1656 he returned 
to the Massachusetts Bay Colony and 
purchased 150 acres of land in Concord. 
Ten years later he returned to Barnstable, 
where he died in June, 1673. He married, 
in County Kent, England, March 29, 
1624, Margery Willard, daughter of Rich- 
ard Willard, of Horsmonden, Kent, bap- 
tized there November 7, 1602, and died 
before 1667. 

(II) Samuel Davis, third son of Dolor 
and Margery (Willard) Davis, was born 
in America, lived in Concord. He mar- 
ried, January 11, 1665, at Lynn, Mary 
Meads (or Meadows), probably a daugh- 

Conn — 10 — 5 



ter of Philip and Elizabeth (Igglesden) 
Meads, of Roxbury. She died October 30, 
1710. 

(III) Daniel Davis, the second son of 
this marriage, was born March 26, 1677, 
in Concord, lived in the northeastern part 
of that town in what is now Bedford, 
where he died February 10, 1741. He 
married, April 27, 1699, Mary Hubbard, of 
Concord, born June 3, 1682, daughter 
of Jonathan and Hannah (Rice) Hubbard. 
She was descended from George Hubbard, 
born 1604. He was in Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1633, removed in 1635 to 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, where he lived 
on the west side of High street. He was 
representative in 1639. He married, in 
1636-37, in Windsor, Tare Cooper, who 
was then aged twenty-eight years, eldest 
child of John Cooper, who removed to 
Hadley in 1666 and was later a resident of 
Hartford, where he died before March, 
1706. George Hubbard's wife, Mary 
(Merriam) Hubbard, of Concord, Massa- 
chusetts, survived him. Their second 
son, Jonathan Hubbard, born January 3, 
1659, settled in Concord and died in 1728. 
He was the father of Mary Hubbard, wife 
of Daniel Davis. 

(IV) Nathaniel Davis, sixth son of 
Daniel and Mary (Hubbard) Davis, was 
born November 3, 1715, in what is now 
Bedford. He is recorded in the records 
of both Concord and Bedford, and was 
among the pioneer settlers of Rocking- 
ham, Vermont. According to family tra- 
dition, he came from Ware, Massachu- 
setts, to Rockingham, but must have been 
located there only a short time. The 
records of Ware have been lost. It is 
probable that he married there. He died 
in the latter town, October 28, 1802. His 
second wife, Mary, born in 1717, died July 
30, 1795. She was the mother of his chil- 
dren. 

(V) Nathaniel (2) Davis, son of 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Nathaniel (i) and Mary Davis, was born 
in 1754, died June 10, 1835. He was a 
farmer by occupation. He married Lydia 
Harwood, born in 1761, died March 10, 
1838. Lydia Harwood was a descendant 
of David Pulsifer, who was a member of 
Captain John Marcy's company, Colonel 
James Reed's regiment, which marched 
April 21, 1775, following the "Lexington 
Alarm," and participated in the battle of 
Bunker Hill. He did not return, and 
his fate is unknown. His second daugh- 
ter, Mary, married John Harwood, who 
was also a Revolutionary soldier, from 
Rockingham, under Captain William 
Simonds and Colonel Bradley, of that 
town. John Harwood's eldest child, 
Lydia, became the wife of Nathaniel (2) 
Davis, as previously noted. 

(VI) Charles E. Davis, son of Nathan- 
iel (2) and Lydia (Harwood) Davis, was 
born March 30, 1807, in the town of Rock- 
ingham, where he made his home and en- 
gaged in agriculture until April, 1874, 
when he moved to Westminster, Vermont. 
He was gifted with musical ability and 
for many years sang in the choir of the 
old church in Rockingham. He died May 
21, 1890, in Westminster, at the age of 
eighty-three years. He married, in Octo- 
ber, 1828, Marcia Albee, who was born 
April 17, 181 1, daughter of Eleazer and 
Hepzibah (Bancroft) Albee. She died, 
October 22, 1880, after a married life of 
fifty-two years. Their golden wedding 
was celebrated in 1878. Eleazer Albee 
was descended from Benjamin Albee, who 
was in Braintree, Massachusetts, in 1641, 
a freeman in 1642, and removed to Med- 
field in 1649. I" 1664 he was a proprietor 
of Mendon and lived in that town, where 
he erected a grain mill on Mill river. In 
addition to the original site of one acre, 
he was granted fifty acres of land in that 
town. He was also a surveyor and laid 
out the highways. He was one of the 



first selectmen chosen in 1677, and his 
mill and property was destroyed by the 
Indians in 1675. After that he resided in 
Medfield. His eldest child, James Albee, 
born 1648-49, in Braintree, received 
all of his father's property. He married, 
in Medfield, October 18, 1671, Hannah 
Cook, daughter of Walter and Catherine 
Cook, of Mendon. Their second son, John 
Albee, was born July 3, 1678, in Medfield. 
He married Deborah Thayer, born No- 
vember 4, 1687, daughter of Jonathan and 
Elizabeth (French) Thayer. Their sec- 
ond son, John (2) Albee. was born Feb- 
ruary 15, 1 72 1, in Mendon. He lived on 
the border of the present town of Mil- 
ford, whence he removed to Townsend, 
Massachusetts, where he lived with his 
wife, Abigail. Their son, Ebenezer Al- 
bee, born June 9, 1743, in Townsend, 
removed about 1770 to Rockingham, 
Vermont, where he cleared a farm, and 
was admitted to the First Church, Sep- 
tember 15, 1776, with his wife and sur- 
viving children. Later he became a dea- 
con of the church. He was a soldier of the 
Revolution from Rockingham, in Captain 
Jonathan Holton's company. Colonel 
Ebenezer Wood's regiment, enlisting 
October 17, 1780, and serving fifteen days 
on the alarm at the burning of Royalton, 
Vermont. He married, December 8, 1763. 
in Townsend, Rachel Avery, born 1745, 
died November 4, 1815. Their son, 
Eleazer Albee, was born June 19, 1785, in 
Rockingham, where he was a farmer north 
of Williams river. For many years he 
was a teacher; represented the town in 
the Legislature ; and was prominent in 
various capacities. Late in life he re- 
moved to Stanstead, Canada, where he 
died August 28, 1764. He married, July 
23, 1804, Hepzibah Bancroft, born Octo- 
ber I, 1785, in Nelson, New Hampshire, 
died March 22, 1833, in Rockingham, 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Captain James and Lucy 
(Whitney) Bancroft. 

The Bancroft family was founded 
in this country by John Bancroft, 
who came with his wife, Jane, in 
the ship "James," of London, sailing 
in April, 1632, arriving June 12, follow- 
ing; died about 1637. His son, Thomas 
Bancroft, born 1622, in England, lived in 
Dedham, Massachusetts ; moved about 
1650 to Reading; and later to Lynnfield, 
where he died, August 19, 1691. He mar- 
ried, September 15, 1648, Elizabeth Met- 
calf, daughter of Michael Metcalf. Cap- 
tain Ebenezer Bancroft, son of Thomas 
Bancroft, born April 26, 1677, probably in 
Reading, lived in that part of Lynn 
now Lynnfield. There he married. May 
19, 1692, Abigail Eaton, born August 17, 
1677, daughter of John and Dorothy 
Eaton, of Reading; died April 8, 1758, in 
Lynn, then a widow. Their son, Lieuten- 
ant Timothy Bancroft, was born Decem- 
ber 14, 1710, in Lynn, died November 21, 
1772, in Dunstable, Massachusetts. He 
married (intentions published April 3, 
1732, in Dunstable), Elizabeth Taswell,of 
that town, who died September 23, 1754. 
Captain James Bancroft, son of Timothy 
Bancroft, was born October 26, 1745, in 
Dunstable, and served through two en- 
listments in the Revolutionary War. He 
was first enrolled as a sergeant in Cap- 
tain John Mellin's company. Colonel 
Enoch Hale's regiment, June 28, 1777, 
recruited from Fitzwilliam, New Hamp- 
shire, and towns near, and was discharged 
July II, same year. This force was raised 
to reinforce the garrison at Ticonderoga 
on the alram of that year. He again en- 
listed as a private August 8, 1778, in Cap- 
tain James Lewis' company. Colonel 
Hale's regiment of volunteers, which 
marched from New Hampshire to join the 
Continental Army in Rhode Island, and 
was discharged August 28, service twenty- 



three days, including travel home. A pen- 
sion was granted on his account. He 
married Lucy Whitney, and they were the 
parents of Hepzibah Bancroft, who be- 
came the wife of Eleazer Albee, and they 
were the parents of Marcia Albee, who 
became the wife of Charles E. Davis, as 
previously noted. 

(VII) Lewis Olcott Davis, fourth son 
of Charles E. and Marcia (Albee) Davis, 
was born September 13, 1844, in Rocking- 
ham, and in boyhood attended the public 
school near his home. At the outbreak 
of the Civil War, before he was eighteen 
years of age, he enlisted, August 17, 1862, 
and became a member of Company I, 
Twelfth Vermont Volunteer Infantry, 
which was employed previous to the bat- 
tle of Gettysburg in the defenses about 
Washington. It was detailed to guard 
the baggage train of the First Corps, and 
thus was prevented from participating in 
the battle of Gettysburg. Later the regi- 
ment was detailed to guard prisoners on 
the way from the battlefield to Baltimore. 
He was discharged from the service, July 
14, 1863. After returning to his native 
place, he expended the bounty and wages 
he received in the army in furthering his 
own education. For some time he was 
a student at Kimball Union Academy, 
Meriden, New Hampshire, and also at the 
Chester, Vermont, Academy. Subse- 
quently he taught two winter terms at 
Bartonsville. He had inherited musical 
ability and was a singer in the old church 
choir at Rockingham. While walking on 
the street one day in Claremont, New 
Hampshire, he met Rev. E. S. Foster, then 
in charge of the Universalist church at 
Middletown, who had heard Mr. Davis 
sing in his native town. Mr. Foster at 
once urged him to remove to Middletown 
to sing in his church, and through this 
influence, in July, 1866, he took up his 
residence in Middletown, and for sixteen 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years was engaged almost every Sunday 
in singing in the churches of that city. 

As a daily occupation he took employ- 
ment with a carpenter as helper, and then 
became clerk in the store of E. B. & F. J. 
Chaffee, subsequently with Hubbard 
Brothers, dealers in lumber, continuing 
there from 1867 until 1875. In the latter 
year, in association with his younger 
brother, Eddie S. Davis, he dealt in sash, 
doors and blinds. Subsequently they be- 
came selling agents for J. W. Hubbard & 
Company, lumber dealers. To this busi- 
ness the Davis Brothers succeeded, and 
the business is now incorporated under 
the same name employed by the brothers, 
namely: "L. O. and E. S. Davis." Of 
this corporation, Mr. Davis is now the 
president and has been for many years. 
The concern handles all sorts of building 
supplies, and has enjoyed a fair degree of 
success. As a matter of curiosity, it may 
be noted in passing, that Mr. Davis was 
born on Friday, September 13, and started 
as clerk with Hubbard Brothers on the 
same day of the week. In political prin- 
ciple he has long adhered to the Demo- 
cratic party, but did not sustain its un- 
sound financial principles in 1896 and 
later. He is one of the most unassuming 
of men, and has never been a seeker after 
political preferment, although, as a matter 
of civic duty, he served on the Board of 
Education and was a member of the Com- 
mon Council for one term. He is past 
master of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; is a 
member of Washington Chapter, No. 6, 
Royal Arch Masons ; and of Cyrene Com- 
mandery. No. 8, Knights Templar. He 
was long active in furthering the interests 
of this great fraternity and while acting 
master enjoyed the privilege of conferring 
the Master Mason's degree on four of his 
sons. He originated and carried out the 
plan by which the Masonic building, on 



Court street, Middletown, was erected. 
His thought was concurred in by three 
brothers, Henry Woodward, Wilbur F. 
Burrows and George Bishop, at a casual 
meeting. Next day, after its inception and 
with no delay, the organization of a joint 
stock company was organized. Nearly all 
the subscriptions were secured by Mr. 
Davis, and the building was completed 
at once. 

Mr. Davis married, November 18, 1868, 
Helen T. Stillman, who was born May 25, 
1859, in Middletown, daughter of Edwin 
and Mary (Hopkins) Stillman, of that 
town, died August 6, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. 
Davis were the parents of the following 
children : 

I. Louis Eddy, a sketch of whom ap- 
pears on a following page. 2. Charles 
Edwin, a sketch of whom follows. 3. 
Marcia Albee, resides at the paternal 
home in Middletown. 4. Ernest Still- 
man, a sketch of whom follows. 5. Rod- 
ney O., died in infancy. 6. Martha Helen, 
resides in the paternal home in Middle- 
town. 7. Harold Whitney, a successful 
dentist in Middletown. 8. Frank Twit- 
chell, employed by Guy & Rice, real estate 
dealers of Middletown. 9. Marion May, 
the wife of Edwin Wagner, residing in 
Akron, Ohio. Mrs. Davis was a descend- 
ant of George Stillman, who was born 
about 1654, probably in Steeple Ashton, 
Wiltshire, England. The family name is 
of great antiquity, and branches of the 
family were known in England under 
various forms of the name including 
"Styleman" and "Stileman." In 1652 a 
coat-of-arms was granted to the Stillmans 
of Steeple Ashton as follows : 

Arms — Sable, an unicorn passant or; on a chief 
of the second three billets of the first. 

Crest — A. camel's head erased azure billettee, 
muzzled, collared, lined, and ringed or ; on the col- 
lar three hurts. 

Supporters — Dexter, a stag argent with a lion's 
four paws and tail, collared; sinister, a lion gules. 

Motto — A/i7it parta tueri. 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



George Stillman was by trade a mer- 
chant tailor, and was among the three 
men in the settlement of Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, who received the distinctive title 
of "Mr." He was educated, enterprising, 
and possessed of some means, and even- 
tually became the richest man in Hadley. 
Several times he was elected to the office 
of selectmen of that town, which he rep- 
resented in 1698 in the Massachusetts 
General Court. At one time he kept an 
inn, which was probably that owned by 
his wife's father. It was a stockaded 
house and in a hiding place behind the 
chimney the regicide judges, Goflfe and 
Whalley, were secreted during their stay 
in Hadley, at the time of King Philip's 
War. Becoming weary of the dangers 
and exposures of this frontier settlement, 
he removed to Wethersfield and became a 
man of considerable importance in that 
town. Here he established himself in 
mercantile business, which grew to large 
volume and was international in char- 
acter. He dealt largely in horses, rum and 
molasses, which were shipped to the West 
Indies, and his store was stocked much 
more completely than were the majority 
of country stores in those days, his stock 
including dress goods, silks, pins, and 
hardware. He owned Indian slaves 
which were presented to his daughters 
when they married. In 1705 he was juror, 
next year selectman, and died in 1728, 
leaving an estate of £4,436 12s. 6d. His 
second wife, Rebecca, was a daughter of 
Lieutenant Philip Smith, of Hadley. She 
died October 7, 1850, aged eighty-two 
years. 

Deacon Benjamin Stillman, fifth son of 
George and Rebecca (Smith) Stillman, 
was born July 29, 1705, in Wethersfield; 
graduated at Yale in 1724, and practiced 
law in Middletown from 1743 to 1754. He 
was previously a deacon of the Wethers- 
field church. He married, August 29, 



1727, Sarah Doty, born January 18, 1708, 
died October 4, 1732, daughter of Cap- 
tain Samuel and Anne (Buckingham) 
Doty, of Saybrook ; granddaughter of 
Edward and Sarah (Faunce) Doty; great- 
granddaughter of Edward and Faith 
(Clarke) Doty, progenitors of a large fam- 
ily, and early residents of Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

George Stillman, eldest child of Deacon 
Benjamin and Sarah (Doty) Stillman, 
was born November 24, 1729, and baptized 
the thirtieth of the same month, in 
Wethersfield. For a few years he lived 
in Essex, Connecticut, whence he removed 
to Portland, and there owned the land 
subsequently occupied by the large brown 
stone quarries of that town. He became 
a wealthy man for his day. He married 
(second) in March, 1772, Catherine Rob- 
erts, of New London. 

Captain John Stillman, eldest child of 
George and Catherine (Roberts) Stillman, 
was born 1772-73, lived in Middletown. 
where he died in May, 1828. The inven- 
tory of his estate made May 29 of that 
year, placed its value at $4,475.45. The 
liabilities as established by commissioners 
appointed for that purpose amounted to 
$1,502.34. 

Edwin Stillman, only son of Captain 
John Stillman, was bom August 26, 1806, 
died September 12, 1864. He lived in 
Middletown, where he was a rule maker. 
He married. May 22, 1828, Mary Hop- 
kins, daughter of Godfrey and Paulina 
(Freeman) Hopkins, of what is now East 
Hampton, Connecticut. The name, 
"Hopkins," is an anglicized form of the 
name of the Dutch immigrant, father of 
Godfrey Hopkins. Paulina Freeman was 
descended from Elder William Brewster, 
elsewhere mentioned at length in this 
work. 

Edmund Freeman, born about 1690, 
came from England in the ship "Abigail," 



6q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with his wife Elizabeth, in 1635, and lived 
a short time in Saugus, now Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was made a freeman of 
the Plymouth Colony, January 2, 1637, 
and was one of the original settlers of 
Sandwich, in that colony. He was one 
of the most conspicuous men of that town, 
had a larger interest in its lands than any 
other, and held many important offices in 
the colony. His wife died February 14, 
1676, and he died in 1682. Their second 
son, John Freeman, was born about 1627, 
in England, and lived in Sandwich. He 
married February 13, 1650, Mercy Prince, 
born 1630, died September 28, 171 1, 
daughter of Thomas Prince and his wife. 
Patience Brewster, daughter of Elder 
William Brewster. Lieutenant Edmund 
Freeman, fourth son of John and Mercy 
(Prince) Freeman, born in June, 1657; 
died May 18, 1720. He owned lands in the 
Connecticut Colony. His wife, Sarah 
Mayo, was a daughter of Samuel and 
Thomsine (Lumkin) Mayo. Their son, 
Edmund Freeman, was born August 30, 
1683, settled in Mansfield, Connecticut, 
where he died June i, 1766. He married 
Keziah Presbury, born 1687-88 ; died April 
20, 1764. They were the parents of Dr. 
Nathaniel Freeman, born March 31, 1718, 
settled in Middle Haddam. He married, 
in 1739, Martha Dunham, of Barnstable. 
Their son, Sylvester Freeman, was born 
April 16, 1740. He married, October 30, 
1758, Leah Brainard, born December 12, 
1740, at Haddam Neck, daughter of 
Abijah and Esther (Smith) Brainard; 
granddaughter of James and Deborah 
(Dudley) Brainard; and great-grand- 
daughter of Daniel Brainard, pioneer set- 
tler of Haddam, elsewhere mentioned at 
length in this work. Paulina Freeman, 
christened Philena, was born January 24, 
1771, daughter of Sylvester and Leah 
(Brainard) Freeman, and married, No- 
vember 8, 1796, Godfrey Hopkins. Their 



daughter, Mary Hopkins, was the wife of 
Edwin Stillman, as above noted. 



DAVIS, Louis Eddy, 

Bnsiness Manager. 

Louis E. Davis, eldest son of Lewis 
Olcott and Helen T. (Stillman) Davis 
(q. v.), was born May 24, 1870, in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, where he has con- 
tinued to reside to the present time. His 
education was supplied by the public 
schools of the city, and he left the high 
school at the age of sixteen to begin a 
business career, which has been most 
active and successful. Within a short 
time he was employed by L. O. & E. S. 
Davis in the yard, and subsequently in 
the office, by means of which he gained 
a thorough and practical knowledge of the 
business of the establishment. As the 
years went on, and his father relinquished 
much of the care of the business because 
of age, the management gradually fell 
upon the eldest son, who is now treas- 
urer and general manager of the corpora- 
tion, "L. O. & E. S. Davis." During his 
connection with the business, he has par- 
ticipated in its growth and development, 
and he is today esteemed as one of the 
substantial business men of Middletown. 
Like his father, he has sustained the 
Democratic party in general elections, but 
has paid little attention to politics, and 
has never sought for any official station. 

Mr. Davis married, June 7, 1898, Jennie 
Louise Tryon, who was born June 7, 1873, 
in Middletown, daughter of Charles C. 
and Martha S. (Prior) Tryon, of that city. 
Mr. and Mrs. Davis are the parents of 
the following children: Charles Elliott, 
born August 22, 1901, now serving in the 
United States Navy; Helen Charlotte, 
born February i, 1904, a student at the 
high school. 

Mrs. Davis is a descendant of William 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Tryon, who was born 1645-46, and was in 
Wethersfield as early as 1673, in which 
year he was taxed there, drew lands in 1694, 
and died October 12, 171 1, in his sixty-sixth 
year. The inventory of his estate placed 
its value at £309 8s. 8d. The baptizmal 
name of his wife appears to have been 
"Saint." She died December 7, 171 1. She 
was supposed to have been a daughter of 
Bezaliel and Saint Latimer. His eldest 
child, Abel Tryon, born 1685, settled in 
Middletown, where he had a grant of four 
acres on Mill Hill, January 12, 171 1, 
There is no record of his wife, but his 
children are recorded in Middletown. 
The eldest son, Thomas Tryon, born May 
7, 1708, baptized two days later in Mid- 
dletown, married, December 20, 1733, 
Mary Andrus, born May 5, 1708, eldest 
daughter of John and Rachel Andrus, of 
Middletown. The eldest child of this 
marriage was Abel Tryon, born October 
5, 1734, in Middletown. He married there, 
January 12, 1757, Lament Lindsey, born 
February 20, 1730, in Wethersfield, daugh- 
ter of Robert and Susanna Lindsey. His 
second son, Josiah Tryon, born Septem- 
ber 13, 1762, in Middletown, made his 
home in that town. He married. May 25, 
1788, Mabelle Johnson, who was born 
December 27, 1769, second daughter of 
Amassa and Eunice (Cooley) Johnson, of 
Windsor. Their eldest son, Josiah Tryon, 
born December i, 1790, in Middletown, 
was admitted to the first church there, 
March 4, 1810. He married, October 29, 
1823, Joanne Lucas, and they were the 
parents of Josiah Tryon, who married, 
April 5, 1846, Abigail Prout. They were 
the parents of Charles C. Tryon, born 
July 15, 1847, in Middletown, a black- 
smith in that town, who married, October 
4, 1869, Martha S. Prior, born January 19, 
1840, daughter of Daniel H. and Chloe 
(Hubbard) Prior, of Middletown. She is 
still living, residing at South Farms. 



The Prior family is descended from 
Humphrey Prior, who was one of the 
early settlers of Windsor, Connecticut, on 
the east side of the river, where he died 
September 29, 1682. He married, Novem- 
ber 12, 1663, Ann Osborn, who was born 
January 15, 1648. Their second son, Dan- 
iel Prior, born December 18, 1667, settled 
in 1696, at Middletown. He married, 
February 9, 1683, Sarah Eggleston, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Eggleston, of Windsor. 
She died April 6, 1708. Their third son, 
Daniel Prior, born April 5, 1701, died 
February 4, 1766. He married, May 22, 
1722, Sarah Gilbert, born 1694, probably 
the daughter of Jonathan and Dorothy 
(Stowe) Gilbert. She died October 27, 
1785, aged ninety-one years. Their third 
son, Josiah Prior, baptized June 8, 1735, 
at the first church in Middletown, mar- 
ried there, November i, 1759, Lucia 
Tryon. They were the parents of Wil- 
liam Prior, baptized October 19, 1777, 
who was a farmer in the Bow Lane 
district of Middletown, and died in middle 
life. He married, February 27, 1800, 
Sarah Harris, born in 1778, baptized Au- 
gust 25 of that year ; died at the age of 
sixty-four years, daughter of William and 
Millicent Harris, of Johnson Lane. Dan- 
iel Harris Prior, second son of William 
Prior, was born October 14, 1814, in the 
Bow Lane district, and attended the dis- 
trict school of that section until sixteen 
years of age, when he was apprenticed to 
a blacksmith. A few months before the 
completion of his apprenticeship, he pur- 
chased his liberty and went to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he was employed 
in the Government Armory, and was sub- 
sequently employed three years by Rich- 
ard Hoe, of New York, manufacturer oi 
the famous printing press known by his 
name. Mr. Prior was the first man in 
New York to weld steel. Returning to 
Middletown, he purchased a shop at South 

71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Farms, where he continued at his trade 
until 1868, following which he was en- 
gaged in farming. He died March 20, 
1893. He was a Universalist, a Democrat 
in politics, a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and served two 
years as selectman. He married, August 

23, 1837, Chloe Hubbard, daughter of 
Simeon and Chloe (Williams) Hubbard, 
died January 27, 1852. Chloe Williams 
was a daughter of Jehiel and Ann (Ed- 
wards) Williams, of Cromwell. Her sec- 
ond daughter, Martha S. Prior, became 
the wife of Charles C. Tryon, as above 
noted, and they were the parents of Jen- 
nie Louise Tryon, wife of Louis Eddy 
Davis, as previously related. 

Simeon or Simon Hubbard belonged to 
the numerous Hubbard family of Middle- 
town, descended from George Hubbard 
through his second son, Daniel Hubbard, 
who was baptized December 7, 1645, in 
Hartford, and died November 9, 1704, in 
Haddam. He was a soldier of the French 
and Indian War. and in 1700 removed to 
Haddam. He married, December 24, 
1670, May Clark, daughter of William 
Clark, of Haddam, who died December 

24, 1676. Their only child, Daniel Hub- 
bard, born December 16, 1673, settled in 
Haddam, where he was the owner of grist 
mills and large landed property, and died 
November 24, 1758. He married, Decem- 
ber 8, 1697, Susanna Bailey, daughter of 
John and Lydia Bailey, of Higganun. 
Their youngest child, Jeremiah Hubbard, 
born February i, 1716, in Haddam, made 
his home in that town, where he died, 
November 30, 1803. He married, No- 
vember II, 1736, Alice Shailer, born 
March 11, 1713, in Haddam, daughter of 
Captain Thomas and Catherine Shailer. 
Jeremiah Hubbard, second son of Jere- 
miah and Alice (Shailer) Hubbard, was 
born January 29, 1746, in Haddam, and 
settled in Cromwell, 1793-94. He died 



there August 23, 1808. Cromwell was 
then a part of Middletown. He joined the 
first church of Middletown in 1794, and 
was elected deacon, December 14, 1807. 
He married, February 11, 1768, Flora 
Hazleton, born November 16, 1747, 
daughter of James and Hannah Hazleton, 
granddaughter of James and Susanna 
(Arnold) Hazleton. James Hazleton was 
a soldier of the Revolution. Simeon Hub- 
bard, third son of Jeremiah and Flora 
(Hazleton) Hubbard, born 1773, lived in 
Cromwell, where he died April 10, 1838. 
He married, in 1799, Chloe Williams, 
daughter of Jehiel and Ann (Edwards) 
Williams, of Cromwell, a descendant of 
the ancient Williams and Edwards fam- 
ilies of Wethersfield. Chloe Hubbard, 
daughter of Simeon and Chloe (Williams) 
Hubbard, became the wife of Daniel Har- 
ris Prior, as above noted. 

The founder of the Williams family of 
Wethersfield was Thomas Williams, who 
lived in the Rocky Hill section of the 
town, and died February 5, 1692, leaving 
an estate inventoried at £132 15s. His 
land was on the river, near Rocky Hill 
landing. The baptizmal name of his wife 
was Rebecca. Jacob Williams, fourth son 
of Thomas and Rebecca Williams, was 
born March 7, 1665. He drew land in 
1695, lived near the landing, was a sea 
captain, and died September 26, 1712. He 
married, December 10, 1685, Sarah Gil- 
bert, born December i, 1661, daughter of 
Josiah and Elizabeth Gilbert. Stephen 
Williams, third son of Jacob and Sarah 
(Gilbert) Williams, was born March 19, 
1693, and died January 17, 1747. He mar- 
ried Abigail Butler, baptized August 6, 
1704, daughter of William and Hannah 
(Hill) Butler. Jehiel Williams, son of 
Stephen and Abigail (Butler) Williams, 
was born about 1734, in Rocky Hill; sold 
out his property there in 1761-62, and set- 
led in what is now Cromwell, where he 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



built a house, and died June 12, 1810. He 
married, January 6, 1757, Ann Edwards, 
who was baptized in 1735, daughter of 
David and Mary (Butler) Edwards, 
granddaughter of Josiah Edwards, who 
came from East Hampton, Long Island, 
and married Mary Churchill. Their 
daughter, Chloe Williams, was born 
about 1775, and became the wife of 
Simeon Hubbard, of Cromwell, as above 
related. 



DAVIS, Charles Edwin, 

Iiomber Dealer. 

Charles E. Davis, second son of Lewis 
O. and Helen T. (Stillman) Davis, (q. v.), 
was born June 25, 1872, in Middletown, 
Connecticut, and gained his education in 
the schools of that city. In 1889, at the 
age of seventeen years, he went to Water- 
bury, where he was employed in the office 
of Homer Twitchell & Sons, brass manu- 
facturers. After ten years in this estab- 
lishment, he took an office position with 
the Oakville Company, engaged in the 
same line of manufacture in a suburb of 
Waterbury, with whom he continued until 
1912, a period of thirteen years. In the 
last named year he returned to his native 
place to become secretary of L. O. & E. S. 
Davis, Inc., and has since continued in 
that capacity. Mr. Davis is thoroughly 
familiar with all kinds of office business, 
and is naturally able to contribute much 
to the advancement of the business with 
which he is now identified. He has at- 
tained the thirty-second degree in Free 
Masonry through the Scottish Rite, and 
is affiliated with St. John's Lodge, No. 2, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Washington 
Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, Knights 
Templar ; Columbia Council, No. 9, Royal 
and Select Masters, all of Middletown. 
While a Democrat in political principle, 



he is independent of partisan considera- 
tions in supporting the candidates for of- 
ficial station. In 1916 Mr. Davis con- 
structed a thoroughly modern house on 
Main street, Portland, Connecticut, which 
commands a fine view of the river and 
mountains, and is one of the most cosy 
and hospitable homes in that town. 

Mr. Davis married, October 9, 1893, 
Elizabeth Frances Wood, who was bom 
in Hartford, daughter of Charles J. and 
Helen (Dodd) Wood, a descendant of 
John Alden and other noted New Eng- 
land residents, having several ancestors 
who served in the Revolutionary War. 

Her immigrant paternal ancestor was 
William Wood, who came from Matlock, 
Derbyshire, England, with his nephew, 
Thomas Flint, to America, in 1638, and 
died May 14, 1671, at the age of eighty- 
eight years. His wife, Margaret, died 
September i, 1659, '" Concord, Massachu- 
setts. They were the parents of Michael 
Wood, born in England, who was made 
freeman of the Massachusetts Colony, 
May 13, 1640, and died May 13, 1674, in 
Concord. His widow, Mary Wood, pre- 
sented an inventory of his estate in the 
following month. Their youngest son, 
John Wood, born about 1655, married, 
November 13, 1777, Elizabeth Vinton, 
who was born in January, 1658, daughter 
of John and Anne Vinton, of Lynn, Mas- 
sachusetts. Abraham Wood, son of John 
and Elizabeth (Vinton) Wood, born Au- 
gust 17, 1682, died July 11, 1742, in Sud- 
bury. His wife's baptizmal name was 
Hannah, and they were the parents of 
Samuel Wood, born March 17, 171 1, in 
Concord, and lived in Sudbury, and later 
in Northboro, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried (second) Keziah Moore, born April 8, 
1713, in Sudbury, daughter of John and 
Abigail Moore. Their son, Abraham 
Wood, born July 30, 1752, in Northboro, 
was a soldier of the Revolution, drummer 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and minute-man in Captain Samuel 
Wood's company of General Webb's regi- 
ment. He married Lydia Johnson, born 
July 7, 1754, daughter of Eleazer and 
Elizabeth (Ball) Johnson, of Northboro, 
granddaughter of Edward Johnson, of 
Woburn. Samuel Wood, son of Abraham 
and Lydia (Johnson) Wood, was born 
February 22, 1799, in Northboro, where 
he was a cabinetmaker and carpenter, and 
in which town he died. He married Eliza- 
beth Bowman, born May 25, 1807, in 
Westboro, daughter of Joseph and Anna 
(Valentine) Bowman. Charles Johnson 
Wood, son of Samuel and Elizabeth 
(Bowman) Wood, born August 28, 1838, 
in Northboro, died November 30, 1883, in 
Hartford. He married, June 21 , 1866, Helen 
Dodd, who was born July 31, 1837, daugh- 
ter of Elisha and Frances (Bunce) Dodd. 
Their daughter, Elizabeth Frances Wood, 
became the wife of Charles Edwin Davis, 
as previously related. 

Elizabeth (Bowman) Wood, of West- 
boro, wife of Samuel Wood, of Northboro, 
was a descendant of John and Priscilla 
(Mullens) Alden, of Plymouth, through 
the following line: Captain John Alden, 
eldest child of John and Priscilla Alden, 
born about 1626, was a seaman, residing 
in Boston, a member of the Old South 
Church, and died March 14, 1702. He 
married, April i, 1660, Elizabeth (Everill) 
Phillips, daughter of William Everill, and 
widow of Abiel Phillips. Their eldest 
child, John Alden, born March 12, 1663, 
in Boston, married Elizabeth Phelps, and 
was the father of Nathaniel Alden, born 
July 6, 1700, in Boston, who had wife 
Mary. Their daughter, Elizabeth, born 
August 3, 1730, in Boston, became the 
wife of Anthony Jones, whose daughter, 
Elizabeth Jones, born January 26, 1751, in 
Hopkinton, Massachusetts, was married 
April 25, 1771, to William Valentine. 
Their daughter, Anna Valentine, born 



July 18, 1779, in Hopkinton, married, Au- 
gust 3, 1800, Joseph Bowman, of West- 
boro, and was the mother of Elizabeth 
Bowman, wife of Samuel Wood, and 
mother of Charles Johnson Wood, late of 
Hartford. 



DAVIS, Ernest Stillman, 

Manufacturer, Financier. 

Ernest S. Davis, third son of Lewis O. 
and Helen T. (Stillman) Davis (q. v.), was 
born September 6, 1876, in Middletown, 
Connecticut, and received his education in 
the public schools of that city, graduating 
from the high school in 1896. His gradu- 
ation was delayed two years by illness in 
each of two school years. During his va- 
cations he was employed about the lumber 
yard of his father, and during the last two 
years in school he sang in the choir of the 
Universalist church, of which he was at 
the same time janitor. He also sang for 
eight years in the South Congregational 
Church. After graduation he took em- 
ployment with Rogers & Hubbard as a 
clerk, and has been identified with this 
large manufacturing concern to the pres- 
ent time. In 1904 he acquired an interest 
in the establishment, was elected a direc- 
tor, and in 1908 was elected secretary. 
Three years later the duties of treasurer 
were also placed upon him. The estab- 
lishment is engaged in the manufacture 
of bone fertilizer and disposes of its stock 
over a wide range of country. Mr. Davis 
is especially marked in appearance, dis- 
position and business capacity as a de- 
scendant of worthy Welch ancestors. He 
has become interested in various business 
enterprises, is a director of the Central 
National Bank, of Middletown, and of the 
Middletown Trust Company, and a trus- 
tee of the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank 
of that city. 

Mr. Davis is a member of the First Con- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gregational Church, of Middletown, and 
is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity 
as a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Washington 
Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch Masons ; and 
Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, Knights 
Templar. He is a past master of St. 
John's Lodge. In political matters he is 
independent, gives his attention to busi- 
ness affairs, and does not seek any politi- 
cal preferment. Since his connection with 
Rogers & Hubbard, he has witnessed an 
extensive growth in the business of the 
establishment, to which he contributed in 
no small degree. In 1920 he purchased 
the Asaph Strong place on the west side 
of Main street, Portland, one of the hand- 
some and complete residences of that 
handsome street. During the World 
War, his home was in South Farms, Mid- 
dletown. He was a member of the Home 
Guard, and was chairman of the various 
drives conducted in that section for the 
vigorous prosecution of the war. 

Mr. Davis married, June 12, 1899, Ella 
Frances Roberts, born December 11, 1876, 
in Middletown, daughter of Jasper A. and 
Mary J. (Bidwell) Roberts, of that city, 
where she was educated in the high school. 
Mr. and Mrs. Davis are the parents of a 
daughter and son : Lucy, born June 26, 
1906, a pupil of the Middletown High 
School ; Ernest Stillman, Jr., born May 9, 
1912, a student at the Portland public 
schools. 

Mrs. Davis is a descendant of Samuel 
Roberts, who was probably born in Eng- 
land, was for a short time at Stratford, 
Connecticut, and later settled in Middle- 
town, where he died in 1726. He owned 
the covenant at the first church in Mid- 
dletown, August 21, 1692. His wife, 
Catherine (Leete) Roberts, died October 
13' 1693. John Roberts, who owned the 
covenant at the Middletown church, June 
23. 1695, was undoubtedly their son. He 



married, December 27, 1693, Sarah Blake, 
who was born October 15, 1675, second 
daughter of John and Sarah Blake, of 
Middletown. Their second son, John 
Roberts, born September 22, 1697, bap- 
tized four days later at the first church, 
was married November 18, 1718, to 
Martha Lucas, who was born in March, 
1699, second daughter of William Lucas 
and his second wife, Elizabeth (Rowley) 
Lucas. Giles Roberts, third son of John 
and Martha (Lucas) Roberts, was born 
October 3, 1724, was baptized November 
15, following, at the first church in Mid- 
dletown, and died September 20, 1773, 
from injuries received by a falling tree. 
He married, November 21, 1751, Patience 
Woodward, born about 1730, baptized 
November 2, 1735, at the first church in 
Middletown, daughter of Isaac Wood- 
ward, who removed to Middletown from 
Rhode Island. Fenner Roberts, third son 
of Giles and Patience (Woodward) Rob- 
erts, was born June 10, 1762, and was a 
shoemaker and farmer in Middletown. 
There he married, September 29, 1790, 
Mehitabel Barnes, who was baptized May 
7, 1770, in Middletown, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Thankful (Ward) Barnes, the 
latter a daughter of John and Thankful 
(Griswold) Ward. Abigail Roberts, sec- 
ond son of Fenner and Mehitabel 
(Barnes) Roberts, was born November 
10, 1799, on East Long Hill, and in early 
life worked as a painter and paperhanger. 
Later he engaged in agriculture on Farm 
Hill, and died November 4, 1880. He 
married, July 4, 1836, Fidelia Hubbard, 
who was born September 6, 1808, in 
Agawam, Massachusetts, died May 11, 
1890, in Middletown, daughter of Ansel 
and Rebecca (Hedges) Hubbard. Ansel 
Hubbard was born June 10, 1774, in Mid- 
dletown, died January 17, 1841, sixth son 
of George and Mary (Stocking) Hubbard. 
Jasper A. Roberts, second son of Abigail 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Fidelia (Hubbard) Roberts, born De- 
cember 12, 1839, iri Middletown, died 
there March 2, 1882. He married, Decem- 
ber 2, 1873, Mary J. Bidwell, and they 
were the parents of Ella Frances Roberts, 
wife of Ernest Stillman Davis. 



VINAL, Charles Green Rich, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

Among the prominent members of the 
Middlesex county (Connecticut) bar, and 
a descendant of one of the oldest Ameri- 
can families. Judge Vinal fulfills Ameri- 
can traditions and has given much of his 
long life to the service of his fellows. 

The name Vinal appears very early in 
England and has several forms in the 
records there, such as Vynaugh, Vynall 
and Vinall. It is undoubtedly derived 
from the English pronunciation of Vine 
Hall, which was the seat of the family for 
several generations in England before its 
transportation to America. John Vinal 
resided at Vine Hall in 1538, and his son 
Thomas was living there in 1550. The 
latter was the father of William Vinal, 
who lived in the time of Queen Elizabeth. 
His son, John (2) Vinal, flourished during 
the reign of James I., and had sons, John 
(3) and Stephen. The latter died in 1635, 
and his widow, with her children, Mary, 
John (4), and Stephen, came to Massa- 
chusetts, settled at Scituate in 1636, and 
died there in 1664. Their home was at 
the corner of Kent street and Meeting- 
house lane. 

John (4) Vinal, eldest son of Stephen 
Vinal, was born in 1632, in England, lived 
in Scituate, Massachusetts, where he died, 
August 21, 1698. He married, in 1664, 
Elizabeth Baker, born in 1635, daughter 
of Rev. Nicholas Baker, who was ordained 
pastor at Scituate in 1660. He was born 
in 1603, matriculated at St. John's College 
in 1628, graduating Bachelor of Arts in 



1632, and receiving the Master of Arts 
degree in 1635. In that year he came to 
Massachusetts, landing at Boston, and set- 
tled at Hingham, where he was made a 
freeman, March 3, 1636, and in that year 
represented the town in the General 
Court, continuing in that capacity until 
1638. He died in 1663, having survived 
his wife, Elizabeth, some two years. Their 
eldest daughter, Elizabeth, became the 
wife of John (4) Vinal, as above men- 
tioned. 

John (5) Vinal, son of John (4) and 
Elizabeth (Baker) Vinal, was born Octo- 
ber 7, 1665, in Scituate, Massachusetts, 
and made his home in that town with his 
wife Mary. 

Jacob Vinal, son of John (5) and Mary 
\'inal, was born December 19, 1691, in 
Scituate ; he was called Jacob, Jr., as there 
was an older man of the same name living 
in the town. He married, April 30, 1716, 
Elizabeth Simmons, born August 27, 
1686, daughter of Aaron and Mary 
(Woodworth) Simmons. 

Jacob (2) Vinal, son of Jacob (i) and 
Elizabeth (Simmons) Vinal, born April 
15, 1719, was baptized at Scituate, June 5, 
1737. He married (second), October 4, 
1764, Lydia Jenkins, who was baptized 
May 6, 1739, daughter of Thomas, Jr., and 
Sarah (Bailey) Jenkins. 

Captain Lot Vinal, son of Jacob (2) 
and Lydia (Jenkins) Vinal, was born May 
18, 1769, and baptized four days later at 
the First Church in Scituate. In early 
life he was a mariner, and became com- 
mander of sea-going vessels. He settled 
at Winterport, Maine, and married (sec- 
ond), in November, 1808, Nancy, widow 
of Joseph Hoit, and daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Low) Odell, born October 10, 
1784, in Nottingham, New Hampshire, 
died July 11, 1870. 

Waldo Pierce Vinal, son of Captain Lot 
and Nancy (Odell-Hoit) Vinal, was born 

76 




■^^'^ac^iiy, ^^^< /P'. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



June II, 1815, in Dixmont, Maine, and 
settled about 1849 in Deep River, Connec- 
ticut, where he continued to reside for a 
short time, removing in 1854 to Middle- 
town, where he continued to live until 
his death, March 7, 1866, at the age of 
fifty-one years, among the prominent and 
honored citizens of Middlesex. He was 
a man of very kindly nature and endeared 
himself to all with whom he came in con- 
tact. He engaged in the practice of law 
at Deep River and soon after his removal 
to Middletown was appointed clerk of the 
Superior Court. For a period of nine 
years he served as judge of the Probate 
Court and for four years was State's at- 
torney. He married, June 12, 1837, Almira 
Higgins Bangs Rich, who was born April 
21, 1816, in Chesterville, Maine, died Au- 
gust 8, 1896, a descendant of Richard 
Rich, a native of England, who settled 
very early at Dover Neck, New Hamp- 
shire. Later he removed to Eastham, 
Massachusetts, where he died in 1692. 
He married Sarah Roberts, daughter of 
Governor Roberts, and they were the par- 
ents of Richard Rich, born about 1640, 
who settled at Eastham, Massachusetts, 
where he was residing as early as 1665, 
was on the tax list in 1671, and the list 
of freemen, August 23, 1681. His son, 
Samuel Rich, bom in 1684, in Eastham, 
lived in Truro, Massachusetts, with his 
wife, Elizabeth ; he was tithingman there 
in 171 1, and died in 1752. His son, Lem- 
uel Rich, born in 1706, was baptized Sep- 
tember II, 1720, with six of his brothers 
and sisters at Truro church. About 1762 
he removed from Truro to Gorham, 
Maine, where he purchased sixty acres 
of land, including one-half of a mill on 
Little River, above Fort Hill. There he 
died, March 7, 1791. He married Eliza- 
beth Harding, born in 1716, died March 
18, 1 791. Their son, Amos Rich, born 
May 15, 1759, in Gorham, lived in China, 



Maine, and died March 12, 1847. He mar- 
ried, June 4, 1781, Eunice Woodman, of 
New Gloucester, Maine, and they were 
the parents of Moses Rich, born June 22, 
1783. He lived in Standish and Minot, 
Maine, and married, October 21, 1806, 
Dorcas Higgins, born April 12, 1785, in 
Gorham, died March i, i860, daughter of 
Captain Joseph and Mercy (Cook) Hig- 
gins of Gorham. Captain Joseph Higgins 
was born November 22, 1750, in East- 
ham, and died in January, 1804. His wife, 
Mercy, was born June 6, 1755. Almira 
Higgins Bangs Rich, daughter of Moses 
and Dorcas (Higgins) Rich, became the 
wife of Waldo Pierce Vinal, as before 
noted. 

Charles Green Rich Vinal, son of Waldo 
Pierce and Almira Higgins Bangs (Rich) 
Vinal, was born January 14, 1840, in the 
town of Monroe, Waldo county, Maine, 
and was a small boy when his parents 
settled in Middlesex county. He was 
fourteen years of age when the family 
removed to Middletown and in that city 
he received most of his education, grad- 
uating from Wesleyan University in 
1861. He immediately began the formal 
study of law as a student in his father's 
office, and in 1864 was admitted to the 
bar. In the same year he was appointed 
clerk of the Superior Court and for over 
half a century and until his resignation, 
July 10, 1919, filled this office in a most 
capable and faithful manner. He also 
engaged in the practice of law in Middle- 
town, and is still, despite his great age, 
found daily at his office, an active and 
useful citizen. His whole life has been 
one of activity and he has attained suc- 
cess because of the thoroughness and care 
applied to everything he has undertaken. 

A true patriot. Judge Vinal has endeav- 
ored to further the public interests, and 
has been an ardent worker in support of 
Republican principles. From 1867 to 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1868 he was judge of probate; in 1873, 
city recorder ; in 1879, town treasurer ; 
in 1882, an alderman of the city ; and 
from 1894 to 1895 was mayor of Middle- 
town. In 1897 and again in 1899 he rep- 
resented the Twenty-third District of the 
State in the Upper House of the Legisla- 
ture, and from 1901 to 1905 served as 
Secretary of State. In all of these offices 
he endeavored industriously to promote 
the general welfare and the prosperity of 
his own State. These services have been 
appreciated by his constituents and con- 
temporaries and he occupies an honored 
position to-day in the community. Mr. 
Vinal is a true optimist, and his sunshiny 
nature makes him a genial companion. 
His acquaintance with leading men of 
affairs is wide and he enjoys their uni- 
versal respect. His life is, and has al- 
ways been, a useful one ; his talents have 
been devoted to the service of the pub- 
lic, and the conscientious manner in which 
he has performed his various duties have 
gained for him the respect of his city and 
State. 

In the social life of Middletown, Judge 
Vinal and his accomplished wife are 
much esteemed. He is a member of St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Middletown ; of Mansfield Post, 
Grand Army of the Republic, of that city, 
by virtue of his service as first lieutenant 
of Company A, 24th Connecticut Volun- 
teer Infantry, in the Civil War. Mrs. 
Vinal is a member of Wadsworth Chap- 
ter, Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, of Middletown, by virtue of descent 
from five Revolutionary ancestors. In 
1875 the handsome and commodious man- 
sion of Judge Vinal, at the corner of High 
and Wyllys streets, was erected under the 
capable supervision of Mrs. Vinal. 

Judge Vinal married, October 19, 1865, 
Melissa Amelia Hotchkiss, who was born 
March i, 1842, in Waterbury, Connecti- 



cut, daughter of Hon. Julius and Melissa 
(Perkins) Hotchkiss, who descended 
from one of the oldest families of the 
State (see Hotchkiss line). 

(The Hotchkiss Line). 

The founder of the Hotchkiss family 
in America was Samuel Hotchkiss, sup- 
posed to have come from Essex, England, 
and was among the first to locate at New 
Haven, Connecticut, in 1641, where he 
died, December .28, 1663. He married 
there, September 7, 1642, Elizabeth Clev- 
erly, who died in 1681. 

Ensign Josiah Hotchkiss, son of Sam- 
uel and Elizabeth (Cleverly) Hotch- 
kiss, born September 6, 165 1, was an ac- 
tive and useful citizen of New Haven. He 
married, November 29, 1677, Mary Par- 
dee, born April 18, 1658, daughter of 
George and Martha (Miles) Pardee. 

Stephen Hotchkiss, eldest son of En- 
sign Josiah and Mary (Pardee) Hotch- 
kiss, born August 12, 1681, settled in that 
part of Wallingford which is now Che- 
shire, Connecticut, where he bought land 
in 1706, was thirty-one years deacon of 
the church, and died March 5, 1755. He 
married, December 12, 1704, Elizabeth 
Sperry, born January 17, 1683, in New 
Haven, Connecticut, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Post) Sperry, grand- 
daughter of Richard Sperry, who was in 
New Haven as early as 1643. 

Captain Gideon Hotchkiss, second son 
of Stephen and Elizabeth (Sperry) 
Hotchkiss, born December 5, 1716, was 
deacon of the church at Naugatuck, 
among the founders of the church at 
Prospect, Connecticut, and died there, 
September 3, 1807, leaving 105 grandchil- 
dren, 155 great-grandchildren, and four 
of the fourth generation of his descend- 
ants. He married, June 16, 1737, Anne 
Brockett, born February 2, 1715, died 
August I, 1762; she descended from John 



7S 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Brockett, who was born in England in 
1609 and came to America in 1637. In the 
following spring he located at New 
Haven. His fourth son, Samuel Brockett, 
born in 1652, in New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, was an original proprietor of Wal- 
lingford, where he was a prominent cit- 
izen, and died October 2"/, 1752. He mar- 
ried. May 23, 1682, Sarah Bradley, born 
June 21, 1665, ninth child of William 
Bradley, a pioneer of New Haven. Their 
third son, John Brockett, born November 
8, 1685, married March i, 171 1, Hulda 
Ells, who died March 29, 1757, and they 
were the parents of Anne Brockett, wife 
of Captain Gideon Hotchkiss, above men- 
tioned. 

Amos Hotchkiss, sixth son of Captain 
Gideon and Anne (Brockett) Hotchkiss, 
was born November 24, 175 1, in Pros- 
pect, Connecticut. He married, Decem- 
ber 24, 1772, Ann Scott, who was born 
June 9, 1744, daughter of Gershom and 
Mary (Fenton) Scott. 

Woodward Hotchkiss, eldest child of 
Amos and Ann (Scott) Hotchkiss, was 
born October 19, 1773, and married. May 
2, 1797, Mary Castle, who was born June 

24, 1770, daughter of Captain Phineas and 
Mary (Dickerman) Castle, who descended 
from Henry Castle, of Stratford, Connec- 
ticut, early removed to Woodbury, same 
colony, and died February 2, 1698. His 
wife's baptismal name was Abigail, and 
their youngest child, William Castle, bap- 
tized in July, 1688, in Woodbury, lived in 
that town. He married, February i, 171 1, 

Rebecca , whose family name has 

been lost. They were the parents of 
Phineas Castle, born March 25, 1731, bap- 
tized May 2 of that year, in Woodbury, 
who settled at Waterbury. He was cap- 
tain of the train-band there, was a soldier 
of the Revolution, and died September 

25, 1815. He married Mary Dickerman, 
of Hamden, Connecticut, born Septem- 



ber 2, 1743, died December 20, 1817. They 
were the parents of Mary Castle, wife of 
Woodward Hotchkiss, above mentioned. 

Julius Hotchkiss, third son of Wood- 
ward and Mary (Castle) Hotchkiss, was 
born July 11, 1810, and was an honored 
citizen of Waterbury, Connecticut, of 
which city he was the first mayor. He 
married, April 29, 1832, Melissa Perkins, 
born April 21, 1810, in Oxford, Connec- 
ticut, daughter of Enoch and Anna 
(Riggs) Perkins. 

Melissa Amelia Hotchkiss, daughter of 
Julius and Melissa (Perkins) Hotchkiss, 
was bom in Waterbury, Connecticut, and 
she became the wife of Charles Green 
Rich Vinal, as previously noted. She is 
an earnest adherent of the Swedenborgian 
or New Jerusalem faith, that of her father 
and family. In May, 1919, she was a del- 
egate from Connecticut to the New Jeru- 
salem church convention in Washington, 
D. C. 



WARD, Henry Chauncey, 

Retired Banker. 

A descendant of one of the oldest Mid- 
dletown families, Mr. Ward adheres to 
the principles and peculiarities of the old 
New England stock which he represents. 
The first of the family in this country was 
Ensign William Ward, born August 16, 
1632, in Northley, Oxfordshire, England, 
died March 23, 1690, in Middletown, Con- 
necticut. He was one of the original pro- 
prietors of that town in 1650, and was 
the father of John Ward, born May 12, 
1678, died July 8, 1761. The baptismal 
name of John Ward's wife was Margaret. 

John (2) Ward, youngest child of John 
(i) and Margaret Ward, was born Octo- 
ber 10, 1717, lived in Middletown, where 
he died November 4, 1817, in his one hun- 
dred and first year. He lived at what is 
now the northwest corner of Main and 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William streets, Middletown, was one of 
the largest land-holders of his day, and 
was familiarly called "Landed Ward." 
To each of his six grandchildren he gave 
a farm. He married Thankful (Griswold) 
Starr, born December 19, 1715, in Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, died November 16, 

1797, in Middletown, widow of 

Starr. She wias a descendant of Michael 
Griswold, who was a land-owner in 
Wethersfield as early as 1640 or soon after. 
(See Griswold, Frederick A). He was a 
Mason, filled various offices in Wethers- 
field, and died September 26. 1684, leaving 
an estate valued at about £628. His son, 
Jacob Griswold. born April 15, 1660, was 
probably the pioneer settler of the local- 
ity now known as Griswoldville. He in- 
herited land from his father there and 
also acquired some by purchase. He was 
a member of the First Congregational 
Church, of Wethersfield, and died July 
22, 1737. Jacob Griswold married, De- 
cember 10, 1685, Mary Francis, born Oc- 
tober II, 1665, daughter of Robert Fran- 
cis, a freeman of Wethersfield, in 1643. 
She died April 25, 1735, in her seventy- 
first year. John Griswold, son of Jacob 
and Marj' (Francis) Griswold, was the 
father of Thankful Griswold, who be- 
came the wife of John (2) Ward. 

John (3) Ward, son of John (2) and 
Thankful (Griswold-Starr) Ward was 
born April 28, 1757, and lived in Middle- 
town, where he died October 15, 1804. 
He married, November 17, 1783, Lucy 
Pierpont, daughter of Thomas and Mary 
(Hempstead) Pierpont, and a descendant 
of James Pierpont, who had a large estate 
estate in Derbyshire, England, and was 
engaged in trade between England and 
Ireland. The family is of Norman origin, 
planted in England by William the Con- 
queror. In many records this name is 
spelled "Pierpoint." The original sig- 
nificance of the name is Pierre's pont or 



bridge. James Pierpont had sons, Robert 
and John, whom he joined in this country, 
and died in Ipswich, Massachusetts. His 
wife, Margaret, died in London, in Janu- 
ary, 1664. Their son, Robert Pierpont, 
born in 1621, in London, settled in Rox- 
bury, Massachusetts, where he was a 
malster and miller. In 1657, he married 
Sarah Lynde, born in 1641, and they were 
the parents of James (2) Pierpont, born 
August 7, 1679, i" Roxbury, where he 
lived. James (2) Pierpont married, June 
3, 1709, Sarah Gore, and they were the 
parents of Thomas Pierpont, who mar- 
ried Mary Hempstead. They were the 
parents of Lucy Pierpont, baptized Janu- 
ary 20, 1754, died July 18, 1817, who be- 
came the wife of John (3) Ward, as 
previously stated. 

John (4) Ward, the eldest son of John 
(3) and Lucy (Pierpont) Ward, was born 
April 9, 1788, lived for many years on 
Long Hill, in Middletown, and removed 
in March, 1831, to Cayuga county. New 
York. He was not satisfied, however, 
with the new locality, to which he had 
journeyed in a covered wagon, and re- 
turned in the same way, in the spring of 
1832, and located in Durham. Connecti- 
cut. Two years later, however, he re- 
moved to Hunting hill. Middletown, 
where he died, November 24, 1869, after 
a sudden illness of fifteen minutes. He 
was a man of large physical strength, had 
a forceful personality, was keen and saga- 
cious and exercised a large moral influ- 
ence. He was a member of the North 
Church of Middletown and an old line 
Whig in political association. He mar- 
ried, December i, 1814, Parnell Newton, 
born July 25, 1791, in Hartland, Connec- 
ticut. 

Parnell Newton was a descendant of 
Rev. Roger Newton, an early resident of 
Hartford, Connecticut. He was a divin- 
ity student under Rev. Thomas Hooker, 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and was the first minister of Farmington, 
Connecticut, where he was located in 
1645. On August 22, 1660, he was in- 
stalled as second pastor of the church at 
Milford, and was there until he died, 
June 7, 1683. Rev. Mr. Newton married, 
at Hartford, Mary Hooker, daughter of 
Rev. Thomas Hooker, and she died Feb- 
ruary 4, 1676. Samuel Newton, their son, 
was born October 20, 1646. He was a 
famous fighter in all of the Indian wars 
and held the rank of captain. Captain 
Newton was also a man of affairs, prom- 
inent in civil matters, and served as rep- 
resentative to the General Court for fif- 
teen sessions. He married (first), March 
14, 1669, Martha Fenn, born in 1650, bap- 
tized July 7, 1650, daughter of Benjamin 
and Sarah (Baldwin) Fenn. He married 
(second) Sarah (Welch) Fowler, widow 
of John Fowler and daughter of Thomas 
Welch. Abner Newton, son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Welch-Fowler) Newton, was 
born May 14, 1699, and baptized on May 
16 of the same year. In 1724 he was 
settled in Durham, Connecticut, and mar- 
ried Mary Burwell in Milford. Burwell 
Newton, their son, was born July 20, 1729, 
and was a soldier in the Revolution. He 
was a member of Captain Norton's com- 
pany. Colonel Thaddeus Cook's loth reg- 
iment, Connecticut Militia, in 1779. He 
married Eunice Johnson and was the 
father of Abner (2) Newton, bom in Dur- 
ham, December 27, 1674. Abner (2) 
Newton was a deacon of the church and 
a leading citizen of Durham. When he 
was but fourteen years old, he enlisted as 
a minute-man in the Revolution, and was 
called into service whenever Connecticut 
was invaded, until peace was declared. 
Abner (2) Newton was a member of the 
' first temperance society in Durham, in 
1828 ; he died September 9, 1852. He mar- 
ried Abigail Fairchild, and they were the 
parents of Parnell Newton, who became 

Conn— 10— 6 8l 



the wife of John (4) Ward, as previously 
noted. 

George Newton Ward, eldest child of 
John (4) and Parnell (Newton) Ward, 
was born May 29, 1816, on Long hill, in 
Middletown, and was early accustomed 
to the labors of the farm. He attended 
school in the old stone schoolhouse on 
Long hill and in the Lancasterian School 
at William and Broad streets. Middle- 
town. At an early age he engaged in 
business on his own account, conducting 
a general store in South Farms. Pos- 
sessed of sound judgment and ambition, 
he was determined to extend his activi- 
ties. At one time he operated a grist mill 
on Pamechea pond. He built the Union 
mills at the foot of Union street. Middle- 
town, now occupied by the Coles Com- 
pany, and for a time conducted a mill on 
Staddle hill. He established a feed store 
on the site now occupied by Meech & 
Stoddard, extensive millers and grain and 
feed dealers. He subsequently began the 
manufacture of locks on Pearl street, 
which he discontinued upon the estab- 
lishment of breech-loading guns. Because 
of failing health, he was obliged to aban- 
don his many activities and after some 
years of retirement, died, October 18, 
1893. Fo'' some time he was the treasurer 
of the Farmers' & Mechanics' Bank, suc- 
ceeding Gov. O. V. Coffin in that capacity. 
He was considered an exceptionally ac- 
curate judge of real estate values, and his 
advice was often sought by the bank's 
commissioners. Like his father, he affil- 
iated with the Whigs in political move- 
ments, was a foe of human slavery and, 
after the formation of the Republican 
party, was among its most staunch sup- 
porters, though he was not a politician. 
At one time he was a member of the City 
Council. His first presidential vote was 
cast for Gen. William H. Harrison. He 
was a member of the society's committee 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the North Cong^regational Church and 
active in all its lines of endeavor. He 
married (second), May 24, 1853, Hulda 
Lucentia Loomis, a sister of his first wife, 
born December 2"], 1829, in Barkhamsted, 
Connecticut, daughter of Leister and 
Emily (Filley) Loomis, and granddaugh- 
ter of Luke and Ruth (Loomis) Loomis, 
of Barkhamsted. 

Henry Chauncey Ward, only surviving 
child of his mother, the second wife of 
George Newton Ward, was born August 
18, 1862, and was reared in Middletown, 
Connecticut, where he enjoyed good edu- 
cational privileges. In 1881 he graduated 
from the high school, and soon after en- 
tered upon a business career as a clerk in 
the office of the Stiles & Parker Company, 
manufacturers of power presses, where 
he continued two years. He then entered 
the employ of the People's Fire Insur- 
ance Company, of which he was secretary 
until its liquidation. For a few years he 
conducted a furniture business on Main 
street, Middletown, which was sold to 
Caulkins & Post, by whom it is still con- 
ducted. For a time he was bookkeeper 
at the First National Bank, of Middle- 
town, and subsequently entered the em- 
ploy of the Farmers' & Mechanics' Sav- 
ings Bank in a similar capacity. Soon 
after he became secretary, which position 
he continued to hold until 1918, when he 
retired from active business. 

A man of genial nature, Mr. Ward nat- 
urally enjoys the friendship of many Mid- 
dletown people. He is fond of outdoor 
sports and has been active in various 
associations. He is an active member of 
the North Church ; was for twenty years 
a member of the Huguenot Society of 
New York ; and is affiliated with the Sons 
of the American Revolution. He is a 
member of the Middlesex Historical So- 
ciety and other local organizations. Dur- 
ing the World War he was chairman of 



the War Bureau, was active in promoting 
the various liberty loans and in every way 
sought to fill the part of a patriot. He is 
a member of the Middletown Yacht Club 
and of the Highland Country Club. A 
Republican in political principle, he has 
abstained from activity in political move- 
ments because of his non-sympathy with 
ordinary political methods, and has re- 
fused to be a candidate for office when 
such candidacy seemed popular. 

Mr. Ward married, October 17, 1888, 
Cuba Independence Post, born December 
30, 1869, in Burlington, Vermont, young- 
est child of Charles Covel and Sylvia Cal- 
ista (Partch) Post. Mr. and Mrs. Ward 
have the following children : LeRoy Pier- 
pont, born August 13, 1889, now an archi- 
tect in New York City ; Marguerite, bom 
.\pril 16, 1891. is the wife of Wilbert A. 
Smith, of Syracuse, New York. 

Mrs. Henry C. Ward is a descendant 
of Stephen Post, patriarch of an ancient 
American family. He came from England 
and settled on the south side of the 
Charles river, near Boston, where he had 
twelve acres of land. He removed with 
Rev. Thomas Hooker to Hartford, Con- 
necticut, becoming one of the original 
proprietors of that town, whence he re- 
moved, in 1649, to Saybrook, Connecticut, 
and there died in 1659. His son, Abra- 
ham Post, made freeman in 1665, was an 
ensign two years later and afterward lieu- 
tenant. He married Marv Jordan and 
died in 1671. Stephen (2) Post, son of 
Abraham and Mary (Jordan) Post, was 
the father of Gideon Post, grandfather of 
Oliver Post. Oliver Post, born October 
21, 1746, in Saybrook, was an early resi- 
dent of Hinesburg, Vermont, where he 
died March 3, 1817. He married. May 26, 
1776, at West Hampden. Massachusetts, 
Experience Submit Hoyt, who was bom 
June 13, 1754. and died October 3, 1846, 
in Hinesburg. Their son, Alson Hoyt 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Post, was born September 28, 1793, in 
West Hampden, Massachusetts, and died 
May 3, 1881, in Hinesburg, Vermont. He 
married, February 26, 1820, Mercy Mi- 
randa McEwen, born May 31, 1802, in 
Hinesburg, and died January 17, 1882. 
They were the parents of Charles Covel 
Post, born January 18, 1831, in Hinesburg, 
died October i, 1899. He resided in Bur- 
lington, Vermont, and invented sap spouts 
and other equipment used in the manu- 
facture of maple sugar, which brought 
him a handsome income. He married, 
August 26, 1850, Sylvia Calista Partch, 
born June 18, 1835, in Hinesburg, died 
July 22, 1896, in Burlington. They were 
the parents of Mrs. Henry Chauncey 
Ward, as previously noted. 



BREWER, WUliam Baldwin, 

Basimess Man. 

The chief representative in Middletown 
of a family which has been identified with 
the business interests of the city for three 
generations, is William Baldwin Brewer, 
who was born November 15, 1856, in that 
city. The family was founded in this coun- 
try by Daniel Brewer, a native of London, 
England, who came from that city in the 
schooner "Lion" and arrived at Boston, 
Massachusetts, in September, 1632. He 
was accompanied by his wife, Joanna, and 
several servants, and his household con- 
sisted, in 1638, of nine people. He died 
between January 12 and May 12, 1647, 
the respective dates making his will and 
the filing of the inventory of his estate. 
His widow survived him many years and 
died in 1688, at the age of eighty-seven 
years. 

(II) Daniel (2) Brewer, son of Daniel 
(1) and Joanna Brewer, was born in 1624, 
in England. He was a member of the 
Ancient and Honorable Artillery Com- 
pany of Boston, in 1666, resided in Rox- 



bury and died in September, 1708. He 
married, November 5, 1662, Hannah Mor- 
rell, born September 12, 1636, died in 
1717, daughter of Isaac and Sarah Mor- 
rell, of Roxbury. 

(III) Rev. Daniel (3) Brewer, son of 
Daniel (2) and Hannah (Morrell) Brewer, 
was born January 7, 1668 ; joined the 
church, at Roxbury, April 20, 1684; grad- 
uated from Harvard in 1687; and was or- 
dained. May 16, 1694, as third minister of 
the First Church at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. He died in the fortieth year of 
his ministry, November 5, 1733. He mar- 
ried, August 23, 1699, Katherine Chaun- 
cey, born January 12. 1676, a daughter of 
Rev. Nathaniel and Abigail (Spring) 
Chauncey, the last-named a daughter of 
Elder John Spring, the famous patriarch 
of a very numerous American family. 
Nathaniel Chauncey was the son of 
Charles Chauncey, a president of Har- 
vard College. Katherine (Chauncey) 
Brewer, died May 15, 1754. 

(IV) Charles Brewer, youngest child 
of Rev. Daniel (3) and Katherine (Chaun- 
cey) Brewer, was born December 14, 
1717, in Springfield, and died May 12, 
1793. He married Anna Breck, born 
March 13, 1725, died March 24, 1798, 
daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Wain- 
wright) Breck, of Marlboro, Massachu- 
setts. 

(V) George Brewer, third son of 
Charles and Anna (Breck) Brewer, was 
born in 1747, in Springfield, and died at 
Pompey, New York, May 18, 1827. He 
married, February 16, 1775, Naomi Wool- 
worth, born August 10, 1751. died Novem- 
ber 8, 1821, daughter of Richard and 
Naomi (Wright) Woolworth, of Long 
Meadow, Massachusetts, and they were 
the parents of nine children. 

(VI) Captain Charles (2) Brewer, sec- 
ond son of George and Naomi (Wool- 
worth) Brewer, was born March 24, 1778. 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Springfield, Massachusetts. He learned 
the trade of silversmith and on reaching 
his majority, settled in Middletown, Con- 
necticut, where he was a manufacturing 
and merchant jeweler, attaining consider- 
able financial success. For many years 
he was a captain in the State Militia and 
was always known by his military title. 
He was instrumental in building the Uni- 
versalist church at Middletown, contrib- 
uting, jointly with his son-in-law, Edwin 
Stearns, the land for the site. A member 
of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, he contributed to that 
lodge silver of his own manufacture, 
which was used for many years. The 
family home at the corner of Pearl and 
Court streets was constructed by him, 
also two houses south of it, on the east 
side of Pearl street. He died May 10, 
i860. 

Captain Charles (2) Brewer married, 
February 18, 1801, Hannah Fairbanks, 
born September 28, 1776, died May 24, 
1855, daughter of Barachiah and Mary 
(Roberts) Fairbanks, of Middletown 
(see Fairbanks line). Captain Brewer 
and his wife are the parents of a large 
family: Charles (3), a jewelry merchant 
of New York, died there ; George, died in 
Middletown ; Edwin, dealt in art goods, 
and died in Middletown ; Henry B., a 
farmer, lived on Long Hill, Middletown; 
Maria, became the wife of Hon. Edwin 
Stearns ; Frederick, mentioned below ; 
William, died at the age of seven years ; 
Samuel, died in infancy; Samuel (2), 
lived and died in New Haven, Connecti- 
cut. 

(VII) Frederick Brewer, fifth son of 
Captain Charles (2) and Hannah (Fair- 
banks) Brewer, was born December 26, 
181 1, in Middletown, Connecticut, at the 
family home, on what was then known as 
Parsonage street, between Main and 
Broad streets. He attended the public 



schools of the day and Partridge's Mili- 
tary Academy, now known as Norwich 
Military Academy, of Northfield, Ver- 
mont. For some years, when a young 
man, he accompanied several friends on 
a trip to the South, and engaged in mer- 
chandising at Vicksburg, Mississippi. 
Before 1840, he was established in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, where he conducted 
a successful business, which has been 
brought down and enlarged in recent 
times. At first he was associated with 
Elliott Bradley, but Mr. Brewer soon 
purchased the interest of his partner, and 
became noted as a successful business 
man. He was the founder of the dry 
goods business now conducted by the F. 
Brewer Company, and left to his descend- 
ants not only a handsome competence, 
but a much more valuable inheritance, a 
reputation for integrity and sound busi- 
ness sense. He was active in the military 
organization of the State, and was com- 
missioned adjutant of the Sixth Regi- 
ment. A Democrat in politics, he was 
ever ready to sustain his principles, but 
would not consent to be a candidate for 
any office. A sincere Universalist, his ex- 
ample was worthy of emulation as a kind 
neighbor, a good friend, an honest citizen, 
a faithful husband and a kind father. He 
diligently applied himself to business and 
did not relax his activities until his death, 
which occurred December 19, 1885. 

Frederick Brewer married, September 
16, 1844, in Woodbury, Connecticut, Clar- 
issa Malvina Mather, who was born De- 
cember 15, 1824, in Utica, New York, 
daughter of Marshfield P. and Betsey 
(Sherman) Mather, and a descendant, in 
the ninth generation, of one of the most 
prominent families in New England 
(see Mather line). Her early life was 
passed in the town of Woodbury, Con- 
necticut, where her parents were estab- 
lished. Mr. and Mrs. Brewer had the fol- 



84 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lowing children : Frederick Sherman, 
died near the close of his second year ; 
Clara Maria, died in her fifth year; Fred- 
erick (2), born July 24, 1849, engaged in 
business in Springfield, Massachusetts ; 
Mary, born May 21, 185 1, became the 
wife of Frederick B. Chafee, long secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Farmers' & Me- 
chanics' Savings Bank, of Middletown ; a 
son, unnamed, died soon after birth ; 
Thomas B., died in his third year; Wil- 
liam B., is the subject of further mention. 

(VIII) William Baldwin Brewer, son 
of Frederick and Clarissa Malvina 
(Mather) Brewer, was born November 
15, 1856, in Middletown, Connecticut, 
where he grew to manhood and re- 
ceived most of his education in the 
city schools. For a time he was a student 
at Dean Academy, Franklin, Massachu- 
setts, but soon abandoned his books to 
embark in the mercantile business, fin- 
ally succeeding his father as owner and 
manager of the business. He filled 
various subordinate capacities until he 
had become familiar with the details of 
all its branches. The store now occupies a 
three-story building at the corner of Court 
and Main streets with an extended front 
on the latter, and is devoted exclusively 
to dry goods. Mr. Brewer has always 
desired to promote the welfare of his 
home city. He is generous and public- 
spirited, a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and was very active in sup- 
porting the war work of the recent World 
War. 

A Universalist in religious faith, he 
maintains a pew in the North Congre- 
gational Church. A Republican in polit- 
ical principle, he has always refused to 
accept public office, and has devoted him- 
self to the development of his business, 
which has steadily grown and prospered. 

Mr. Brewer married, June 15, 1892, 
Grace Arnold, born in Middletown, 



daughter of Charles G. and Betsey 
(Smith) Arnold, of that town. (See Ar- 
nold VII). 

(IX) Charles Frederick Arnold Brewer, 
only child of William B. and Grace (Ar- 
nold) Brewer, was born November 27, 
1894, in Middletown, Connecticut, and 
graduated from Williams College in 1916. 
In May, 191 7, he went to camp at Platts- 
burg. New York, and was commissioned 
a second lieutenant on the fifteenth of 
August. He immediately proceeded to 
Camp Devens, became a member of the 
76th Division and was transferred to the 
26th (Yankee) Division, September i. He 
sailed September 7, and landed at St. 
Nazaire, France. On February 6, 1918, 
he went to the front at Chemin des 
Dames, and later was in the Toul sector. 
He participated in engagements at Cha- 
teau Thierry, St. Mihiel and the Argonne. 
The signing of the armistice found him at 
the front. He was promoted first lieuten- 
ant, March 23, 1919, sailed from Brest, 
March 28, of that same year, arriving at 
Boston, April 6, following, and was dis- 
charged April 30, at Camp Devens. He 
received a citation from General Per- 
shing, dated March 27, 1919, for gallantry 
at Meuse-Argonne on October 27, 1918. 
Following is the citation as published by 
the War Department: 

During the entire time that the loist Infantry- 
was engaged in fierce attack with the enemy from 
October 23, 1918, to October 28, 1918, Lieutenant 
Brewer personally led every attack in the first 
wave which the company directed against the 
enemy. An officer of unquestionable bravery and 
courage, the many displays of which have made 
him one of the foremost officers of the American 
army. 

He was recommended for a commis- 
sion as captain, but the close of hostil- 
ities prevented its receipt. He entered 
the store July i, 1919. and is now engaged 
as his father's assistant in conducting the 
business in Middletown. 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Brewer married, December 30, 1920, 
at Meriden, Connecticut, Cornelia Dodd, 
daughter of the late Robert H. Dodd, of 
that city. 

(The Fairbanks Line). 

The Fairbanks family in this country 
was founded by Jonathan Fairbanks, of 
Dedham, Massachusetts. (See Fairbanks, 
William G.). Jonathan (2) Fairbanks, 
youngest son of Jonathan (i) Fairbanks, 
was born in England. He was admitted a 
townsman at Dedham, Massachusetts, 
January i, 1656, was a soldier of King 
Philip's War, and died January 28, 1712. 
He married. May 10, 1646, Deborah Shep- 
ard, daughter of Edward and Violet Shep- 
ard, who came from England to Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. She died Septem- 
ber 7, 1705. 

Jonathan (3) Fairbanks, youngest child 
of Jonathan (2) and Deborah (Shepard) 
Fairbanks, was born about 1677, and lived 
in the south parish of Dedham, Massa- 
chusetts, now Norwood. He married, 
February 3, 1702, Mary Hartshorn, born 
October 10, 1682, in Reading, Massachu- 
setts, died August, 1704-05, daughter of 
Benjamin and Mary (Tomson) Harts- 
horn. 

Jonathan (4) Fairbanks, eldest child of 
Jonathan (3) and Mary (Hartshorn) 
Fairbanks, was born March 2, 1704. He 
removed, about 1731, to Litchfield, Con- 
necticut, and five years later to Middle- 
town, where he died October 26, I743- He 
married, in Boston, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 25, 1728, Margaret Gay, born 
July 27, 1705, in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
died November 6, 1741, in Middletown, 
Connecticut, daughter of John and Mary 
(Fisher) Gay. 

Barachiah Fairbanks, third son of Jon- 
athan (4) and Margaret (Gay) Fairbanks, 
was born July 20, 1735, in Litchfield. 
Connecticut, and was an infant when his 
parents removed to Middletown, where he 



made his home. He married, August 27, 
1755, Mary Roberts, born November 23, 
1734, died January 22, 1798, third daugh- 
ter of Ezra and Mary (Atkins) Roberts, 
of Middletown. 

Hannah Fairbanks, youngest child of 
Barachiah and Mary (Roberts) Fair- 
banks, was born September 28, 1776, in 
Middletown, and became the wife of 
Charles Brewer (see Brewer VI). 

(The Mather Line). 

Clarissa M. (Mather) Brewer was a 
descendant of John Mather, through his 
son Thomas, grandson Rev. Richard, and 
great-grandson Timothy, who are men- 
tioned at length in this work (see Mather, 
Frank M.). Richard (2) Mather, second 
son of Timothy and Catherine (Atherton) 
Mather, was born December 20, 1653, in 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, and was a 
farmer in that town until 1687, when he 
removed to Lyme, Connecticut. In that 
year he purchased a tract of land in that 
town, but did not live long to cultivate it, 
dying August 17, 1688. He married, July 
I. 1680. Catherine Wise. 

Lieutenant Joseph Mather, youngest 
child of Richard (2) and Catherine (Wise) 
Mather, was born June 29, 1686, in Lyme, 
continued to reside there and died Sep- 
tember 30, 1749. His wife's baptismal 
name was Phoebe. 

Benjamin Mather, fifth son of Lieuten- 
ant Joseph and Phoebe Mather, was born 
.September 19, 1731, at Lyme. Connecti- 
cut, and settled in W^hately, Massachu- 
setts, where he died December 25, 1821. 
He as a soldier of the Revolution, being 
sergeant in a company which marched 
from Colchester. Connecticut, at the time 
of the Lexington Alarm. He married 
(second), March 14, 1763. Abigail Worth- 
ington, who was born March 10, 1740, in 
Colchester, seventh daughter of Daniel 
and Elizabeth (Lcxjmis) Worthington, 
granddaughter of William and Mehitabel 



86 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Morton) Worthington. of Hartford, and 
great-granddaughter of Nicholas and 
Sarah (Bunce) Worthington. of Hartford, 
Connecticut, and Hatfield, Massachusetts. 
The last-named was a daughter of Thomas 
Bunce, the ancestor of a numerous Con- 
necticut family. 

Marshfield P. Mather, youngest child of 
Benjamin and Abigail (Worthington) 
Mather, was bom June 26, 1782, in Col- 
chester, Connecticut, lived in Utica, New 
York, and died May i, 1839, in Middle 
Haddam, Connecticut. He married (sec- 
ond), November 17, 1821, Betsey Sher- 
man, born March 28, 1796, in Woodbury, 
Connecticut, daughter of Aaron and 
Anna (Curtiss) Sherman, and a descend- 
ant in the sixth generation of Samuel 
Sherman, who came from Dedham, Eng- 
land, and died at Stratford, Connecticut. 
Their daughter, Clarissa M. Mather, be- 
came the wife of Frederick Brewer (see 
Brewer VH). 

(The Arnold Line). 

Grace (Arnold) Brewer is descended 
from an early Haddam family, founded in 
this country by John Arnold, who was 
made a freeman, at Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, May 6, 1635. He was one of the 
original proprietors of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, in 1639, and died in 1664. His wife, 
Suzanne, was one of the original mem- 
bers of the Old South Church, of Boston, 
Massachusetts. 

(II) Joseph Arnold, second son of John 
and Suzanne Arnold, was a freeman of 
Hartford, in 1658. He became one of the 
twenty-eight original proprietors of the 
town of Haddam, Connecticut, in 1662, 
and died October 22, 1691. He married 
Elizabeth Wakeman, daughter of Sam- 
uel Wakeman, of Hartford. 

(HI) Jonathan Arnold, fifth son of 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Wakeman) Ar- 
nold, was born about 1679. ''"<i resided in 



Haddam, Connecticut, where he died Jan- 
uary 6, 1729. He married June 14, 1699, 

Elizabeth , whose family name is 

not preserved, born in 1680. 

(IV) Samuel Arnold, son of Jonathan 
and Elizabeth Arnold, was born Decem- 
ber 22, 1710. He married, September 20, 

1730, Sarah , whose surname is not 

preserved. 

(V) Samuel (2) Arnold, son of Samuel 
(i) and Sarah Arnold, was born in 1744, 
and died October 8, 1805. He married, 
March 31, 1768, Elizabeth Smith, born 
April 28, 1748, died January 11, 1825, 
daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Smith, 
of Haddam, Connecticut. 

(VI) John Arnold, son of Samuel (2) 
and Elizabeth (Smith) Arnold, was born 
December 5, 1770, and died February 7, 
1853, in Middletown. In 1801 he re- 
moved to Sufifield, Connecticut, where he 
was a merchant and later a farmer. He 
married, in 1799, Betsey Brainard, born 
February 2, 1777-78, died April 8, 1865, 
daughter of Daniel (2) Brainard, and a 
descendant of Daniel (i) Brainard, one 
of the founders of Haddam, Connecticut, 
who is described at lengfth elsewhere in 
this work. His sixth son, Elijah Brain- 
ard, born about 1678, was a farmer on 
Candlewood hill, in Haddam, and died 
April 20, 1740. He married. September 
28, 1699, Mary Bushnell, born March 10, 
1675, died September 11, 1735. Their 
third son, Jabez Brainard, was born Feb- 
ruary 19, 171 5. He was a representative 
in the General Court, captain of militia 
in 1757, and justice of the peace from 1772 
to 1776. He married, October 15, 1739, 
Hannah Clark, born December i, 1713, 
daughter of John and Mehitabel (Lewis) 
Clark. Their son. Elijah Brainard, was 
the father of Daniel (2) Brainard, whose 
daughter, Betsey, became the wife of John 
Arnold. 

(VII) Charles G. Arnold, son of John 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Betsey (Brainard) Arnold, was born 
August 27, 1815, in Suffield, Connecticut, 
and died October 11, 1864, in Middletown. 
He was long engaged in business as a 
painter in that town. He married, Sep- 
tember 21, 1841, Betsey Smith, who was 
born July 21, 1782, in Durham, Connec- 
ticut, and died October 15, 1864, in Mid- 
dletown, daughter of Jesse and Clarissa 
(Penfield) Smith, of that town. They 
were the parents of Grace Arnold, wife 
of William B. Brewer (see Brewer VIII). 



MITCHELL, Robert Selden, 

Pnblio Official. 

One of the most prominent and popular 
citizens of the town of Portland, Connec- 
ticut, Robert Selden Mitchell, was born 
there November 21, 1848, son of Robert 
A. and Susan (Brown) Mitchell. 

Robert A. Mitchell, his father, was 
born October 10, 1819, in the town of 
Chatham, Connecticut. At the age of 
nineteen years he removed to Portland, 
where he engaged in a combination of 
farming and meat business in which he 
made a great success. For over half a 
century he was a stockman and made 
journeys as far as Albany, New York, 
where he purchased cattle and drove them 
back to Portland, disposing of them on 
the road where possible. In early life he 
was a member of the Whig party, and 
later became associated with the Repub- 
lican party, in which he was very active. 
Mr. Mitchell was a well liked man in his 
community, and his career in the field of 
business was a most honorable one. He 
enjoyed the respect and esteem of all his 
townsmen. He was a member of the 
Freestone Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and served for many years 
as its treasurer. He married, in 1839, 
Susan Brown, who was born October i, 
1819, daughter of Samuel and Mary 



(Holmes) Brown, the former a native of 
Portland, and the latter of Glastonbury, 
Connecticut. 

Robert Selden Mitchell received his 
early education in the famous Portland 
"old stone school," subsequently attended 
the Bacon Academy at Colchester, Con- 
necticut, and completed at the Chase In- 
stitute, of Middletown. Until 1894 Mr. 
Mitchell was employed in various capaci- 
ties. He spent a few years in business 
with his father, and was also employed by 
the quarry company of Shaler & Hall. In 
the year above mentioned Mr. Mitchell 
was elected to the office of town clerk of 
Portland, and continued in that office until 
191 1, having occupied the office seventeen 
years. His affable manner and agreeable 
personality gained for him many friends, 
and it can be truthfully said that he was 
not only the most efficient but also the 
most respected and esteemed man in that 
office. He always gave to the perform- 
ance of his duties the best that was in him, 
and at all times was obliging and anxious 
to please. In addition to the office of 
town clerk, Mr. Mitchell also was honored 
with other positions of trust. He was 
justice of the peace, assessor and grand 
juror, and at one time registrar of births, 
marriages and deaths. He was affiliated 
with the Masonic fraternity, member of 
Warren Lodge, No. 51, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, which he became af- 
filiated with in 1871. He was the holder 
of many offices, among them secretary 
for almost a quarter of a century. He 
was also a member of Portland Lodge, No. 
35, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
since 1890, and held the office of recording 
secretary of that fraternity since 1895. 
From the opening of the Buck Library, of 
Portland, Mr. Mitchell was its librarian. 

On December 29, 1870, Mr. Mitchell 
married Jessie L. Andrews, born July 23, 
1850, in Portland, daughter of George 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Stevens and Louisa Hillard (Kellum) 
Andrews, and they were the parents of a 
daughter, Grace Louise, who married 
John P. Bacon, of Middletown, where 
they now reside. 

A touching tribute to the memory of 
Mr. Mitchell was shown at the funeral 
when the four lifelong friends of his boy- 
hood and manhood, all of whom were born 
in the same year, presented as an emblem 
of this friendship a floral tribute consist- 
ing in part of five roses with one rose in 
the center broken off, which signified the 
breaking of the quintet. 



COLES, Frank Augustus, 

Grain Merchant. 

One of the active business men of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, Mr. Coles, at a 
comparatively early age has become iden- 
tified with several of its leading industries 
and institutions. He belongs to a family 
long located in the vicinity and among the 
pioneer families of New England. 

The name appears under many forms in 
the early New England records, includ- 
ing : Coal, Coale, Cole, Coles, Cowles, and 
several other forms. The name is found in 
Salem, Massachusetts, as early as 1650; 
in Boston, twenty years earlier; in Ply- 
mouth, in 1634, and in Hartford in 1635. 

(I) Thomas Cole was recorded as hus- 
bandman at Salem, Massachusetts, in 
1650. He is probably the Thomas Cole 
who came to Massachusetts in the "Mary 
& John," in March, 1633, ^""^ was an orig- 
inal proprietor of Hampton, now in New 
Hampshire, where he was living as late 
as 1638. He died between December 15, 
1678, and April 27 following. His widow, 
Ann, made her will in November fol- 
lowing. 

(II) John Cole, son of Thomas and 
Ann Cole, was born previous to 1650, and 
was one of the inhabitants of Salem who 



protested against the imposts in 1668. 
He lived for some years in Salem and 
was subsequently in Boxford, and Lynn, 
Massachusetts. He married, after 1675, 
Sarah Alsbee, who was tried for witch- 
craft at Charlestown, and acquitted Feb- 
ruary I, 1693. 

(III) Samuel Cole, son of John and 
Sarah (Alsbee) Cole, was born December 
27, 1687, in Lynn, Massachusetts, and 
died in Boxford, January 20, 1765. In 
1717 he purchased a farm in Boxford, and 
on this farm his posterity continued to 
reside until about the time of the Civil 
War. His wife, Susanna, died July 29, 
1785, in Boxford, aged ninety-five years. 

(IV) John Cole, second son of Samuel 
and Susanna Cole, settled at Boston, 
Massachusetts, and lived in the adjacent 
suburb of Dorchester. There he mar- 
ried, January 19, 1740, Abigail Evans, 
also of Dorchester. Her birth is not re- 
corded in that town, where she died in 
December, 1772, advanced in years. 

(V) William Coles (as the name is now 
spelled), son of John and Abigail (Evans) 
Cole, was born August i, 1744, in Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, where he made 
his home, and there died, October 26, 
1810. He married, in Boston, April 12, 
1770, Sarah Cleveland, who was probably 
a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Rud- 
dock) Cleveland, of Boston. 

(VI) William (2) Coles, son of Wil- 
liam (i) and Sarah (Cleveland) Coles, 
was born January 21, 1772, in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts, and about the time of his 
majority settled in what is now called the 
Falls district of Middletown, Connecticut, 
where he was manager of a paper mill for 
a period of twenty-six years, and of which 
he was for some years a part owner ; he 
died October 20, 1839. He married Lois 
Miller, born March 31, 1772, in Middle- 
field, Connecticut, died December 5, 1855, 
daughter of William and Chloe (Clark) 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Miller, granddaughter of Ambrose Clark, 
an early resident of Middlefield, where 
the Millers also were pioneers. 

(VII) Augustus Coles, fourth son of 
William (2) and Lois (Miller) Coles, born 
July 16, 1810, in Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, lived in that city, and died there, De- 
cember 18, 1875. He was a blacksmith 
and ship iron-worker by trade ; a quiet, 
modest citizen, who sought no part in the 
management of public affairs; an ardent 
Democrat in political principles; and en- 
joyed the respect of his fellowmen. He 
married, April 14, 1837, Nancy Hubbard, 
daughter of Enoch and Alice Hubbard, of 
Middletown. They were the parents of 
two sons. 

(VIII) Roswell William Coles, second 
son of Augustus and Nancy (Hubbard) 
Coles, was born September 11, 1838, in 
Middletown, where he grew up, there 
attending the public schools, and in adult 
life became superintendent and general 
manager of a grain mill. During the Civil 
War he was employed in the Government 
Armory at Springfield, Massachusetts. 
He married, in July, 1869, Julia Augusta 
Morse, who was born April 28, 1847, '" 
Springfield, Massachusetts, died in Mid- 
dletown in 1910, daughter of Augustus 
Morse, of Springfield, Massachusetts, de- 
scendant of one of the oldest New Eng- 
land families. The immigrant ancestor, 
Samuel Morse, born in 1586 in England, 
sailed for New England in the ship "In- 
crease," in 1635. He settled at Dedham, 
Massachusetts, where he was admitted a 
freeman October 8, 1640, and was located 
in that part of the town which became 
Medfield. He was one of the proprietors 
of Dedham, served as a town officer, and 
died April 5, 1654. His wife, Elizabeth 
born in England about 1587, was the 
mother of Joseph Morse, born there in 
1615. Accompanying his parents to 
America, he settled in Dedham, where he 



began clearing land in what is now Med- 
field, preparing a home for his family, 
which was then located in Dorchester. 
Before the new home was completed he 
passed away, and the growing crops and 
unfinished log house were left for his 
widow and children to care for. He mar- 
ried, in 1638, Hannah Phillips, and after 
his death she married (second) Thomas 
Boyden. Captain Joseph Morse, second 
son of Joseph and Hannah (Phillips) 
Morse, was born September 26, 1649, ^"<i 
lived in Sherborn, Massachusetts, where he 
built the first mill in association with a 
partner. The first public worship in the 
town was held at his house and he was 
later representative to the State Legis- 
lature, and died February 19, 1717. He 
married, October 17, 1671, Mehitable 
Wood, born July 22, 1655, died Novem- 
ber 12, 1681, daughter of Nicholas and 
Mary (Wilkes) Wood. Their eldest son, 
Joseph Morse, born March 25, 1679, in 
Sherborn, Massachusetts, lived there until 
his death, April 18, 1734. He married, 
April 14, 1702, Prudence Adams, born 
April 10, 1683, died in 1772, daughter of 
Henry and Prudence (Frairy) Adams. 
Their fifth son, Jacob Morse, born Sep- 
tember 21, 1717, in Sherborn, Massachu- 
setts, lived in Douglass, Massachusetts, 
and died March 30, 1800. He married, in 
1753-54, Mary Merrifield, and they were 
the parents of Simeon Morse, born April 
I, 1760, in Douglass. He removed to Sut- 
ton, Massachusetts, where he died in 
1842. He married, December 15, 1785, 
Azubah Wheeler, born in 1761, died in 
1842. Their eldest son, Jason Morse, 
born April 11, 1788, in Sutton, Massachu- 
setts, married Abigail Waters, daughter 
of Samuel and Prudence (Winchester) 
Waters. They were the parents of Au- 
gustus Morse, who removed to Spring- 
field, and was the father of Julia Augusta 
Morse, wife of Roswell William Coles, 



90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



above mentioned. They were the parents 
of five children, four of whom were daugh- 
ters. 

(IX) Frank Augustus Coles, the only 
son of Roswell William and Julia A. 
(Morse) Coles, was born June 9, 1875, at 
Middletown, Connecticut, where his edu- 
cation was supplied by the public and 
high schools. He began his business 
career as a clerk in the office of the 
Schuyler Electric Company of Middle- 
town, and was a travelling salesman in 
1893-1894 in the interests of that concern. 
For a short time, beginning in 1895, he 
was interested in the boot and shoe trade. 
In that year he became a clerk in the fiour 
and grain establishment of his uncle, 
George A. Coles, with whom he became 
interested as a partner in 1898. With spe- 
cial faculties for commercial operations, 
Mr. Coles gained rapid promotion and 
now occupies the position of vice-presi- 
dent and general manager of the business, 
which is incorporated under the name of 
The Coles Company. At the time of in- 
corporation, Frank A. Coles was made 
secretary and treasurer. 

Mr. Coles has become interested in 
other institutions of the city, and for 
seven years was treasurer of the W. & B. 
Douglass Company, pump manufacturers. 
He is also a director and vice-president 
of the Central National Bank ; a director 
of the Middletown Trust Company, of 
the Middletown Savings Bank, and of the 
Frisbie Motor Company, a growing new 
industry of Middletown. 

Mr. Coles is not without patriotism and 
civic pride, and his interest in home affairs 
has led to his identification with the 
Twentieth Century Club, of which he was 
the first secretary and treasurer. He is a 
member and in 1908-9 was president of the 
Board of Education of the Middletown 
City School District, and is secretary of 
the board of trustees of the Young Men's 



Christian Association. His religious ac- 
tivities are carried on in connection with 
the work of the South Congregational 
Church. Politically a Republican, he is 
active in the promotion of good govern- 
ment ; he served as mayor of the city of 
Middletown in 1914-15, and has served six 
years as chairman of the Republican 
Town Committee of his city. 

Mr. Coles married, October 30, 1901, 
Estelle Norman Strong, who was born 
July 4, 1879, '" Middle Haddam, Connec- 
ticut, daughter of Frederick Alfred and 
Emma Jane (Hiney) Strong. Mr. and 
Mrs. Coles are the parents of a son and 
two daughters : Roswell Strong, born 
June 23, 1904 ; Marion, born April 13, 
1908 ; and Elizabeth, born December 9, 
1909. 



WELLS, Philip Patterson, 

Lanryer, Liiteratenr. 

A descendant of several early New 
England families, Mr. Wells has resided 
in other States and is a comparatively 
recent resident of Middletown, Connecti- 
cut. In the short time that he has lived 
there, he has become greatly interested 
in many matters of vital interest to the 
public welfare, and has devoted much 
time to their promotion. 

(I) The first American ancestor of 
Philip Patterson Wells was Governor 
Thomas Welles (mentioned at length else- 
where in this work), who was born in 1598, 
in Essex county, England. He was a mag- 
istrate at Hartford in 1637; was for five 
years deputy to the General Court ; from 
1655 to 1658, he was governor of the Con- 
necticut colony, and held other offices of 
trust and honor. He died January 14, 
1660, and was buried in Hartford. 

(II) John Wells, son of Governor 
Thomas Welles, was born in 1621, in 
Northamptonshire, England, removed. 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



soon after attaining his majority, to 
Stratford, Connecticut, and was admitted 
a freeman by the General Court, April 20, 
1645. He continued to reside at Strat- 
ford until his death August 7, 1659. He 
was deputy to the General Court in 1656- 
1657; in 1659 was magistrate and in 1658- 
1659 "^v^s also a judge of probate. He 
married, in 1647, Elizabeth Bourne, un- 
doubtedly a daughter of John Bourne, 
who was early in Wethersfield and later 
at Middletown, Connecticut. Elizabeth 
Bourne married (second), in March, 1663, 
John Wilcoxson, of Stratford. 

(III) John (2) Wells, eldest child of 
John (i) and Elizabeth (Bourne) Wells, 
was born in 1648. He lived in Stratford, 
where he died March 24, 1714. He mar- 
ried about 1669, Mary Hollister, second 
daughter of Lieutenant John and Joanna 
(Treat) Hollister of Wethersfield. Jo- 
anna Treat was the daughter of Richard 
and Joanna Treat, the former a prominent 
resident of Wethersfield. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Wells, son of 
John (2) and Mary (Hollister) Wells, was 
born in 1690. He was a deacon of the 
church at Stratford, and was otherwise 
prominent and useful as a citizen. He 
married, August 31, 1710, Sarah Stiles, 
born November 4, 1693, second daughter 
of Ephraim and Bathsheba (Tomlinson) 
Stiles, and granddaughter of Francis and 
Joanna Stiles. After the death of Francis 
Stiles, his widow married Robert Clark, 
of Stratford. 

(V) Thomas (3) Wells, second son of 
Thomas (2) and Sarah (Stiles) Wells, was 
born August 20, 1717. He lived in Strat- 
ford and married Sarah Laborie, probably 
a daughter of Dr. James Laborie, grand- 
daughter of Rev. James Laborie, a 
Huguenot clergyman, who located in 
Stratford about 1708. 

(VI) Elias Wells, youngest child of 
Thomas (3) and Sarah (Laborie) Wells, 



was born November 30, 1756. He mar- 
ried in Stratford, August 30, 1781, Pen- 
inah Wheeler, born March i, 1756, eldest 
child of Nathaniel and Rachel (Lewis) 
Wheeler, of Stratford, granddaughter of 
Deacon Elnathan and Martha (DeForest) 
Wheeler, great-granddaughter of Moses 
(3) and Ruth (Bouton) Wheeler, great- 
great-granddaughter of Moses (2) and 
Sarah (NichoUs) Wheeler, and great- 
great-great-granddaughter of Moses (i) 
Wheeler, born in 1598, who came from 
Kent, England, and settled in Stratford, 
Connecticut, where he died in 1698. He 
had an allotment of land in New Haven 
in 1643, and five years later was living in 
Stratford. His wife was Miriam Hawley. 

(VII) Elias (2) Wells, second son of 
Elias (i) and Peninah (Wheeler) Wells, 
was born October 19, 1793. He lived in 
Stratford, where he died in 1887. He 
married, November 6, 181 5, Maria Patter- 
son, who was born December 12, 1792, 
tenth daughter of Samuel and Esther 
(Rowland) Patterson, granddaughter of 
William and Anna (Burdon) Patterson, 
and great-granddaughter of Andrew Pat- 
terson, who came from Hamilton, Scot- 
land, in 1658, to Perth Amboy, New Jer- 
sey, whence he traveled on foot to Strat- 
ford, Connecticut. He married, February 
19, 1690, Elizabeth Peck, daughter of John 
Peck. 

(VIII) Lewis Wheeler Wells, eldest 
child of Elias (2) and Maria (Patterson) 
Wells, was born January 14, 1817, in 
Stratford. He removed to Savannah, 
Georgia, where he was a cotton merchant 
up to the time of the Civil War. He then 
removed to Baltimore, Maryland, where 
he died November 8, 1879. He was an 
active member of the Episcopal church. 
He married, September 3, 1840, Affa 
Maria Gray, born August 27, 1810, in 
Boston, Massachusetts, died in Baltimore, 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Maryland, December 7, 1884, daughter of 
Samuel and Joanna (Powers) Gray. 

(IX) Lewis Gray Wells, son of Lewis 
Wheeler and AflFa Maria (Gray) Wells, 
was born June 17, 1841, in Columbus, 
Georgia, and before attaining his majority 
went, by way of the Isthmus of Panama, 
to California and engaged in business 
with his uncle, Samuel C. Gray, of 
Benicia, California. He was a man of 
remarkable abilities and concentrative 
power, and achieved considerable suc- 
cess in life. He served in the quar- 
termasters' department of the United 
States army, at Benicia. He returned to 
the East, and, in 1866, engaged in mer- 
cantile business near Madison, Wisconsin. 
He removed thence to Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, and was later associated with 
his father as a commission merchant in 
Baltimore, Maryland, until about 1875. 
Following this, he was associated with 
Turner & Day, manufacturers of tool 
handles, and, in 1878, removed with them, 
as a partner, to Louisville, Kentucky, 
where he died, in 1913, and was buried. 
He was bred an Episcopalian, but united 
with the Congregational church, in Balti- 
more, and was later a deacon and elder 
of the Warren Memorial Presbyterian 
Church, of Louisville, Kentucky, at the 
time of his death. Politically, he was a 
Republican. 

He married, April 14, 1866, Mary Ellen 
Wetmore, born March 29, 1834, in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, died in 1874, in Bal- 
timore, Maryland, daughter of Chauncey 
and Rebecca (Hubbard) Wetmore (see 
Wetmore V). Rebecca (Hubbard) Wet- 
more, born December i, 1793, died Sep- 
tember 13, 1885, was a daughter of Nehe- 
miah and Sarah (Sill) Hubbard. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wells were the parents of four sons 
and a daughter : Hubert Wetmore, the 
eldest, born December 29, 1866, near 
Madison, Wisconsin, resides in New York 



City ; Philip Patterson, mentioned below ; 
Ernest Hubbard, born in 1870, at Balti- 
more, Maryland, is an attorney in New 
York City ; Chauncey Wetmore, born in 
1872, is professor of rhetoric at the Uni- 
versity of California, at Berkeley, Cali- 
fornia; Mary, born in 1874, in Baltimore, 
died there in infancy. 

(X) Philip Patterson Wells, second son 
of Lewis Gray and Mary E. (Wetmore) 
Wells, was born February 5, 1868, at 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, and received his 
primary education in Middletown, Con- 
necticut, and Louisville, Kentucky. In 
1889 he graduated from Yale College, 
Bachelor of Arts, and, in 1900, received 
from his alma mater the degree of Doctor 
of Philosophy. He pursued a law course 
at Yale University, and in what is now 
George Washington University, at Wash- 
ington, D. C. In June, 1893, he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in New Haven and 
engaged in practice there for several years, 
during which time, from 1896 to 1906, he 
was librarian of the law school. In 1898- 
1899 he was instructor on evidence at the 
Yale Law School, and gave lectures on 
history, at Yale, from 1902 to 1906. On 
February 1, 1910, he became law expert 
in the United States Forest Service, and 
from 1907 to 1910, was chief law officer 
in that service. From May i, 191 1 to 
March 31, 1913, he was chief law officer 
in the United States Reclamation Service, 
and is at present counsel for the National 
Conservation Association. 

Mr. Wells is a member of the American 
Political Science Association, and of the 
Society of American Foresters. He is also 
the author of many papers on conserva- 
tion, and legal and bibliographical sub- 
jects, published in various periodicals. He 
was joint author of "Annotated Titles of 
Books on English and American History," 
in 1903 ; edited "Literature of American 
History;" a supplement in 1902; "Colon- 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ies of the World," by E. J. Payne (re- 
vised and partly rewritten in 1907) ; and 
a work on South America, by Alfred 
D'Eberle, translated from the French and 
edited in 1907. He was joint editor of 
the "Young Folks' Library," in 1903, was a 
contributor to the American Library As- 
sociation Catalog, in 1904, also joint editor 
and reporter of sundry law reports. 
Among the prominent clubs with which 
he is associated are the Graduates' and 
Elihu, of New Haven, and the Cosmos, of 
Washington. In political principle, Mr. 
Wells is a Republican, but is independent 
of party dictation. He voted for Presi- 
dent Cleveland in 1892, and for ex-Presi- 
dent Roosevelt in the Progressive cam- 
paign, in 1912. He is a member of the 
Middlesex County Historical Society ; 
president of the Connecticut Forestry As- 
sociation ; and is now clerk of the First 
Church of Christ (North Congregational) 
in Middletown. In 1906, Mr. Wells pur- 
chased the interest of other kinsmen, in 
"Oak Hill," the home of his grandfather, 
Chauncey Wetmore, on Staddle hill, in 
Middletown, where he has lived since 
1917. 

Mr. Wells married, May 22, 1893, 
Eleanor Duncan Munger, born February 
2, 1868, in Haverhill, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Theodore Thornton and 
Elizabeth (Duncan) Munger, grand- 
daughter of Ebenezer Munger, who was 
born in North Guilford, was educated at 
Yale and the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of New York, and began the 
practice of medicine in Haddam, Connec- 
ticut. He married a daughter of Parson 
Selden, a conspicuous character in his day 
in Middlesex county. Theodore T. 
Munger, his son, graduated in Divinity, 
at Yale, and was a famous Congregational 
leader, writer and sermonizer. He was 
pastor of the church at North Adams, 
Massachusetts, and later at New Haven, 



Connecticut, where he died in January, 
1910. He was a doctor of divinity, a Fel- 
low of Yale and a member of its Pruden- 
tial Committee. Mr. and Mrs. Wells are 
the parents of Lewis Gray (2), and Eliza- 
beth Wetmore. The former was born 
June 9, 1896, in New Haven, and gradu- 
ated, Bachelor of Science, at Harvard, in 
1 92 1. During the World War he was a 
member of the Two-hundred Twelfth 
Regiment of Engineers, in the Twelfth 
Division of the National Army, but was 
not sent overseas. Elizabeth Wetmore 
W'ells, born September 3, 1902, in New 
Haven, is a sophomore student at Welles- 
ley College, Wellesley, Massachusetts. 

(The Wetmore Line). 

On the maternal side, Mr. Wells, 
through the Wetmore family, traces his 
descent from several prominent early resi- 
dents of New England, including Elder 
William Brewster of the "Mayflower" 
colony. The founder of the Wetmore 
family in this country was Thomas Wet- 
more, born in 1615, in England, came to 
America in 1635, and owned land in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1639-40. 
Later he left, and lived a short time at 
Hartford, and was among the first settlers 
of Middletown, his residence being at the 
north end of the town near the meeting 
house. His land included the square now 
enclosed by Main, Green and Ferry 
streets and the river. He was made a 
freeman. May 20, 1652, this requiring 
good standing in the church and the pos- 
session of a reasonable amount of prop- 
erty. In 1654-55 he was representative in 
the General Court, and, in 1670, was as- 
sessed a property valuation of £125 los. 
He died December 11, 1681. He married, 
December 11, 1645, Sarah Hall, daughter 
of John and Anna (Wilcox) Hall, of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, among the pioneer 
settlers there. 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(II) Izrahiah Wetmore, fourth son of 
Thomas and Sarah (Hall) Wetmore, was 
born March 8, 1656-57. He was a magis- 
trate of Middletown, a deputy to the 
General Court from 1721 to 1728, inclu- 
sive, and died at the age of eighty-six 
years. He married, May 13, 1692, Rachel 
Stow, born March 13, 1666-67, youngest 
daughter of Rev. Samuel and Hope 
(Fletcher) Stow. 

(III) Seth Wetmore, fifth son of 
Izrahiah and Rachel (Stow) Wetmore, 
was born November 18, 1700, in Middle- 
town, and died there April 10, 1778. He 
was a lawyer, was deputy to the General 
Court forty-eight times, magistrate from 
1738 to 1771, judge of the Hartford 
County Court from 1761 to 1768, and jus- 
tice of the quorum. His residence was 
on Staddle hill, and he appears to have 
been a very prominent and successful at- 
torney, accumulating a large estate. 
Among the students of law who were 
members of his family, were Pierpont Ed- 
wards and Aaron Burr. His property in- 
cluded several slaves, some of which were 
freed, and others passed on to his children. 
His body was laid to rest in the Washing- 
ton Street Cemetery. He married (third), 
March 15, 1746, Hannah Edwards, who 
was born February 8, 1713, and died June 

I. 1773- 

Hannah Edwards was the daughter of 
Rev. Timothy and Esther (Stoddard) Ed- 
wards and descended from Richard Ed- 
wards, who went from Wales to London, 
where he was long a clergyman in the 
time of Queen Elizabeth. Richard's 
widow married James Coles, with whom 
she came to Hartford, Connecticut, where 
she died. William Edwards, son of 
Richard Edwards, lived in Hartford, 
where he was a merchant. His wife, 
Anne, came from England. Their son, 
Richard (2) Edwards, born in May, 1647, 
in Hartford, lived there and was a prom- 
inent member of the Presbyterian church. 



He married Elizabeth Tuttle, baptized 
November 9, 1645, '^i New Haven, died 
April 20, 1718. She was the third daughter 
of William and Elizabeth Tuttle, founders 
of one of the largest New England fam- 
ilies. Rev. Timothy Edwards, son of 
Richard (2) and Elizabeth (Tuttle) Ed- 
wards, and a distinguished New England 
clergyman, was the father of Hannah Ed- 
wards, wife of Judge Seth Wetmore, as 
previously mentioned. Her mother, 
Esther Stoddard, born in 1672, was the 
daughter of Rev. Solomon and Esther 
(Warham) Stoddard, and granddaughter 
of Anthony Stoddard, who came from 
England to Boston, and his wife, Mary 
Downing. 

(IV) Deacon Oliver Wetmore, second 
son of Seth and Hannah (Edwards) 
Wetmore, was born in May, 1752, on Stad- 
dle hill, and baptized on May 24. He 
was fitted for college, but because of ill- 
health did not pursue a college course. 
He lived on a part of the paternal home- 
stead, which he inherited, and was a very 
generous, cheerful and amiable Christian. 
He joined the First Church, November 8, 
1772, and was deacon there from March 
4, 1784, until his death, December i, 1798. 
He was buried in Washington Street 
Cemetery. He married, October 13, 1773, 
Sarah Brewster, born November 20, 1754, 
died July 5, 1827, third daughter of Cap- 
tain Elisha and Lucy (Yeomans) Brew- 
ster, of Middletown, Connecticut (see 
Brewster VI). 

(V) Chauncey Wetmore, fourth son 
of Deacon Oliver and Sarah (Brewster) 
Wetmore, was born June 5, 1790, on Stad- 
dle hill, inherited part of the homestead 
of his grandfather, Seth Wetmore, and 
lived in the house built by the latter in 
"1746, where Philip P. Wells now resides. 
Chauncey Wetmore was an independent 
farmer, was long a member of the First 
Church of Middletown and died in 1872, 
widely regretted. He married, October 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



9, 1817, Rebecca Hubbard, and their 
youngest child, Mary Ellen Wetmore, be- 
came the wife of Lewis G. Wells (see 
Wells IX). 

(The Brewster Line). 

The Brewster family has been traced to 
William Brewster, who lived at Scrooby, 
Nottinghamshire, England, as early as 
1570-71, in which year he was assessed in 
that town on goods valued at three 
pounds. Five years later, he was ap- 
pointed, by Archbishop Sandys, receiver 
of Scrooby, and bailiff of the manor 
house in that place, belonging to the 
bishop, to have life tenure of both offices. 
Some dozen years subsequently, he was 
appointed postmaster under the crown 
and was known as the "Post" of Scrooby, 
and was master of the court mails, which 
were accessible only to those connected 
with the court. He died in the summer 
of 1590. His wife's name was Prudence, 
and they were the parents of Elder Wil- 
liam (2) Brewster. 

(II) Elder William (2) Brewster, son 
of William (i) and Prudence Brewster, 
was born during the latter part of the 
year 1566, or the first part of the year fol- 
lowing, as shown by an affidavit made by 
him at Leyden, Holland. The place of his 
birth is not known, but is supposed to 
have been Scrooby, whose parish registers 
do not begin until 1695. He was a mem- 
ber of the oldest of the fourteen colleges 
grouped in the University of Cambridge, 
December 3, 1580, but does not appear to 
have taken his degree. He is next found 
as a "discreete and faithfull" assistant of 
William Davison, Secretary of State to 
Queen Elizabeth, and accompanied that 
gentleman on his expedition to the Neth- 
erlands in August, 1585, and served under 
him at court until his downfall in 1587. 
Brewster returned to Scrooby, where he 
did much good "in promoting and further- 
ing religion." On the death of his father, 



in 1590, he was appointed administrator 
of his estate and succeeded him as post- 
master, which position he held until Sep- 
tember 30, 1607. He lived in an old manor 
house, where the members of the Pilgrim 
church were accustomed to meet on Sun- 
day. Brewster was among those impris- 
oned when they attempted to move to 
Holland, in 1607, and was the greatest 
loser financially. After reaching Hol- 
land, he endured many unaccustomed 
hardships, not being fitted for the hard 
labor which was their common lot. He 
increased his income there by teaching 
and by operating a printing press, which 
he set up in Leyden. He was chosen 
elder of the church at Leyden and was a 
member of the company which crossed 
the ocean on the "Mayflower" and landed 
at Plymouth, in 1620. He was accom- 
panied by his wife, Mary, and two sons. 
As is well known, he was a very important 
member of the colony, of which he was 
the spiritual leader and chief civil adviser, 
until his death, which occurred April 10, 

1644, in Plymouth. His wife, Mary, died 
April 17, 1627, at sixty years of age. Only 
two of his children were then living. 

(III) Love Brewster, son of Elder W'il- 
liam (2) and Mary Brewster, was the sec- 
ond of the two children living at the time 
of their mother's death. He was made 
freeman of the Plymouth Colony, March 
2, 1636. and lived on the paternal farm 
in Duxbury, of which he inherited a part. 
He was a soldier under Captain Miles 
Standish in the Pequot War, and was 
one of the proprietors of Bridgewater, in 

1645, but did not live there. The inven- 
tory of his estate, made January 30, 1650, 
placed its value at £97 7s. id. He mar- 
ried, in Plymouth, May 15, 1634, Sarah 
Collier, daughter of William Collier, who 
was one of the promoters of Massachu- 
setts colonies and came from England in 

1633- 

(IV) Deacon William (3) Brewster, 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



second son of Love and Sarah (Collier) 
Brewster, lived in Duxbury, Massachu- 
setts, where he died November 3, 1723, 
aged "near seventy-eight years." He was 
a large land-holder and was made free- 
man in 1689. He married, January 2, 
1672, Lydia Partridge, daughter of George 
and Sarah (Tracy) Partridge, who died 
February 2, 1742. 

(V) William (4) Brewster, second son 
of Deacon William (3) and Lydia (Part- 
ridge) Brewster, was born May 4, 1683, 
lived most of his active life in Duxbury, 
whence he removed to Wrentham, Mas- 
sachusetts, and soon after to Lebanon, 
Connecticut, where he died at the home 
of a son. He married, in Duxbury, May 
20, 1708, Hopestill Wadsworth, daughter 
of Deacon John and Abigail (Andrews) 
Wadsworth, and granddaughter of Chris- 
topher and Grace (Coe) Wadsworth. 

(VI) Captain Elisha Brewster, young- 
est child of William (4) and Hopestill 
(Wadsworth) Brewster, was born Octo- 
ber 29, 1715, removed from Duxbury, 
Massachusetts, to Middletown, 'Connecti- 
cut, before 1742, was an extensive mer- 
chant and inn-keeper, residing on the 
west side of Main street, a little north of 
Court street, where he died March 26, 
1789. He married, September 30, 1742, 
Lucy Yeomans, who was baptized Sep- 
tember 15, 1722, died August 15, 1775, 
daughter of Jonathan and Sybil (Harris) 
Yeomans, of Middletown. They were the 
parents of Sarah Brewster, who became 
the wife of Deacon Oliver Wetmore, of 
Middletown, Connecticut. (See Wetmore 
IV). 



EDGERTON, Francis Daniels, 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Among the successful and highly hon- 
ored physicians of Middlesex county the 
late Dr. Edgerton enjoyed a high reputa- 
conn — 10 — 7 97 



tion as a citizen as well as a healer, and 
was held in confidence and esteem by 
all his contemporaries, professional and 
non-professional. Dr. Edgerton was de- 
scended from a very old Connecticut fam- 
ily, which was founded by Richard Edger- 
ton, of Norwich, a first settler of that 
place. Richard Edgerton came from Eng- 
land and was located first in Massachu- 
setts, whence he removed to Norwich, 
and married, April 7, 1653, Mary Sylves- 
ter, and their eldest son, John Edgerton, 
was born June 12, 1662, in Norwich, and 
died there in May, 1692, near the close of 
his thirtieth year. John Edgerton mar- 
ried, March 20, 1690, Mary Renalls (Rey- 
nolds), who was born in April, 1664, a 
daughter of John Renalls, of Norwich. 
She married (second), December 30, 1697, 
Samuel Lothrop. 

John Edgerton, only child of John and 
Mary (Renalls) Edgerton, was born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1691, and married, December 
28, 1714, Ruth Adgate, who was born 
March 27, 1693, in Norwich, eldest child 
of Thomas and Ruth (Brewster) Adgate, 
the latter born September 16, 1671, third 
daughter of Benjamin and Anne (Adis- 
Dart) Brewster. Benjamin Brewster was 
born January 17, 1633, and died Septem- 
ber 14, 1710, in Norwich. His wife, Anne 
(Adis-Dart) Brewster, died May 9, 1709. 

Jonathan Brewster, father of Benjamin 
Brewster, was born August 12, 1593, in 
Scrooby, England, and died in 1659, in 
Connecticut. He married, April 10, 1624, 
Lucretia Oldham, of Darby, England. 
Jonathan Brewster was the eldest child of 
Elder William Brewster of the famous 
"Mayflower" emigration, the organizer 
and head of the Plymouth Pilgrims of 1620. 

The name of Brewster appears among 
the oldest families, in the reign of Ed- 
ward III., as ranking among the English 
landed gentry, and as early as 1375 John 
Brewster lived in the parish of Henstead 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



n Suffolk, England, and in the reign of 
Richard II. John Brewster was of God- 
wich, in the County of Norfolk. By mar- 
riage, the Norfolk branch was connected 
with several distinguished houses of 
Nolkham. One Robert Brewster owned 
lands in Henstead and, from the Suffolk 
branch, lines are established at Castle 
Hedingham of Essex, where it was con- 
nected with several knightly families. It 
is supposed that Elder William Brewster, 
probably of this connection, was born at 
Scrooby, in Nottinghamshire, where he 
was active in the organization of dissen- 
ters from the established church. In 1607 
he was imprisoned at Boston, in Lincoln- 
shire, for his activity against the estab- 
lished religious order. With great diffi- 
culty and expense his release was secured 
and he went to Leyden, whence he came 
with the Pilgrim band to Plymouth, Mas- 
sachusetts. In early life he held a respon- 
sible position in the service of William 
Davidson, one of Queen Elizabeth's em- 
bassadors, and after, a Secretary of State. 
From this service he went to Scrooby, 
which is supposed to have been his native 
village, and there aided in forming the 
company which first settled at Plymouth, 
Massachusetts. His eldest son, Jonathan, 
born at Scrooby, some thirteen miles dis- 
tant from Doncaster, in Yorkshire, came 
to Plymouth in 1621, and in June, 1636, 
had command of the Plymouth trading 
house on the Connecticut river. He gave 
notice to Governor John Winthrop of the 
evil designs of the Pequots. Later he set- 
tled at Duxbury, Massachusetts, which he 
represented in the General Court in 16,39. 
Before 1649 ^^ was a resident of New 
London, Connecticut, where he was select- 
man in that year, and where he died 
before September. His wife, Lucretia 
(Oldham) Brewster, was the mother of 
Benjamin Brewster. 

Benjamin Brewster, son of Jonathan 



and Lucretia (Oldham) Brewster, settled 
on his father's homestead at Brewster 
Neck, which he acquired by purchase, the 
former originally in the town of New 
London, now in Ledyard, then a part of 
the former town. He was much in the 
public service ; long deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court; lieutenant of the New Lon- 
don troop ; later, captain of the Norwich 
military company. He married, February 
28, 1660, Anne (Adis) Dart, who was 
probably the widow of Ambrose Dart, of 
Boston ; she was the daughter of Wil- 
liam Adis, of Cape Ann. 

Ruth Brewster, third daughter of Ben- 
jamin Brewster, became the wife of 
Thomas Adgate, and the mother of Ruth 
Adgate, who married John Edgerton, of 
Norwich. 

Her second son, Elisha Edgerton, was 
born February 28, 1727, in Norwich, and 
married there. May 9, 1753, Elizabeth 
Lord, born August 24, 1731, eldest daugh- 
ter of Ciprian and Elizabeth (Backus) 
Lord. 

Simon Edgerton, eldest child of Elisha 
and Elizabeth (Lord) Edgerton, was born 
December 14, 1753, in Norwich, and mar- 
ried there, February 7, 1792, Lucy Gris- 
wold, who was born February 26. 1765, 
second daughter of Abel and Ruth 
(Avery) Griswold, descendants of two 
prominent families of the New London 
section. 

Francis G. Edgerton, third son of Simon 
and Lucy (Griswold) Edgerton, was 
born March 23, 1797, in Norwich, and 
died at East Hampton, Connecticut, in 
1870. He began the study of medicine 
with Dr. Philomen Tracy, and was later 
with Dr. William P. Eaton, both of Nor- 
wich, and after attending courses of lec- 
tures at New Haven in 1824 and 1825, 
received his diploma. The death of Dr. 
Richmond, of East Hampton, left a va- 
cancy, and Dr. Edgerton located there, 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



where he continued in practice until the 
end of his life, becoming one of the best 
known physicians of his section. He was 
a man of commanding presence, standing 
over six feet in height, with weight in 
proportion, and by his intellectual force 
and personal probity gained the esteem 
and confidence of his fellow-citizens. 
He was a supporter of the Congregational 
church, one of the most public-spirited of 
citizens, and acted in political movements 
with the Republican party. Dr. Edger- 
ton married Marietta Daniels, probably a 
native of Norwich, though not recorded 
in that town. She was a woman of much 
independence and originality, and after 
the death of her husband she continued 
to manage the homestead farm for a 
period of thirty years, dying there in 1900, 
at the advanced age of eighty-nine years. 
Dr. Francis Daniels Edgerton, the only 
child of Dr. Francis G. and Marietta 
(Daniels) Edgerton, was born August 26, 
1838, at East Hampton. He was reared 
under intelligent direction, enjoying su- 
perior educational privileges, of which he 
made excellent use. At the age of twelve 
years he entered the celebrated prepara- 
tory school of Daniel H. Chase, in Mid- 
dletown, and was subsequently a student 
at Wilbraham Academy and the academy 
at East Greenwich, Rhode Island. In 
1857 he entered Wesleyan University at 
Middletown, Connecticut, and was grad- 
uated four years later from its classical 
course. His early life had been passed 
in the home of a busy physician, and after 
completing his college course he settled 
down to a systematic study of medicine 
under his father's instruction. Later, he 
attended the regular course of lectures at 
Berkshire Medical College in Massachu- 
setts, and in the medical department of 
the University of Vermont, from which 
institution he received his first diploma as 
a medical doctor. About this time the 



Civil War engaged his attention, and he 
passed an examination and became as- 
sistant surgeon to the Twenty-first Con- 
necticut Volunteer Infantry, and was 
duly commissioned. Circumstances over 
which he had no control prevented his 
entering active service, and during the 
winter of 1863-64 he attended a course of 
lectures at the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, a branch of Columbia Univer- 
sity, from which he was graduated in the 
spring of the latter year, receiving a sec- 
ond diploma. In April of that year he 
passed a competitive examination under 
the commissioners and continued eighteen 
months in the service of the city of New 
York, in Bellevue Hospital, and in the 
hospitals on Blackwell's Island. Having 
thus completed a very thorough prepara- 
tion, Dr. Edgerton located in Middletown, 
July 6, 1866, succeeding Dr. John Ellis 
Black, who had removed to New York 
City. Dr. Edgerton's superior qualifica- 
tions were soon manifest to the medical 
profession, as well as to a multitude of 
patients, and his practice extended rapidly 
until his time was very closely occupied. 
In fact, it is probable that his death, which 
occurred in 1905, was hastened by his 
close application to the demands of his 
numerous patients. For twenty-four years 
he was located on Washington street, and 
in i8go purchased the house which is now 
No. loi Broad street, and continued to 
reside there afterward. His success was 
the natural result of his intelligent appli- 
cation and industry. He was never idle, 
and when not actively engaged with pa- 
tients he was devoted to study or to some 
effort for the promotion of the public 
interest. His genial disposition and in- 
variable cheerful demeanor, coupled with 
his faithful attention to his patients, not 
only gained their confidence and love, but 
was a powerful element in aiding their 
recovery. His very courteous and gen- 



99 



9il70A 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



erous treatment of his contemporaries 
made him much sought after in consulta- 
tion, and it is probable that no other prac- 
titioner in Middlesex county had such an 
extensive list of patients or the ability to 
make a greater number of daily visits. In 
manner modest and quiet, his judgfment 
was ever ready, and his success was re- 
markable. In the various medical asso- 
ciations of the community he was active 
and useful, serving from 1873 to 1877 as 
clerk of the Middlesex County Medical 
Society, and from 1876 to 1882 as treas- 
urer of the State Medical Society, and 
under his administrations both these or- 
ganizations were greatly advanced in a 
financial way as well as in all other de- 
partments. On the organization of the 
State Industrial School for Girls at Mid- 
dletown. Dr. Edgerton was appointed at- 
tending physician, and continued in that 
service until the end of his life. In 1878 
he was chosen to deliver the annual ad- 
dress before the graduating class of Yale 
Medical School. For three years he was 
a member of the State Pharmacy Com- 
mission. In 1893 he was elected vice- 
president of the State Medical Society, 
and in the following year was made its 
president. Very active in the local medi- 
cal association, he was made president of 
the Middlesex County Hospital Society, 
whose project for the establishment of a 
hospital in Middletown was happily car- 
ried to success during his lifetime. He 
was seldom absent from the meetings of 
any of the societies with which he was 
identified, and contributed largely to the 
literature of the profession. Among his 
valuable papers was one read at the Cen- 
tennial of the State Society, May 27, 1892, 
at New Haven, in which he discussed his 
successful treatment of a case of diph- 
theric croup. His services were repeat- 
edly in demand on commissions appointed 
by the Governor to determine the mental 



soundness of State prisoners. As becomes 
every patriotic citizen. Dr. Edgerton en- 
tertained a lively interest in the conduct 
of public affairs. His first presidential 
vote was cast for Abraham Lincoln, and 
he continued a constant supporter of Re- 
publican principles, though never accept- 
ing a nomination for any civic office. In 
the midst of his great activities, Dr. 
Edgerton found temporary recreation in 
music, and made occasional trips to New- 
York City and Boston, where he was en- 
abled to hear some of the greatest per- 
formers of his day. This did not cause 
any neglect of patients, because he always 
returned on an early train and resumed 
without break his daily round of visits. 
About every third year he made a short 
summer trip to Europe and in this way 
crossed the ocean many times. In most 
of these trips he was accompanied by 
some member of his family, and during 
the later visits he placed his sons under 
favorable surroundings for the comple- 
tion of their professional equipment. Like 
his father. Dr. Edgerton was tall in stature 
and of heavy weight, but was quick and 
light of foot, due largely to his careful and 
correct living. He was a total abstainer 
from the use of stimulants, and always 
brought to bear upon cases in his charge 
a pure and strong mind in a healthy body. 
A contemporary physician once said of 
him: "I never heard him utter one word 
of detraction or disparagement of a 
brother practitioner." Of easy and agree- 
able manners, a pleasing speaker, choice 
in language and convincing in argument, 
his public addresses were highly appre- 
ciated. 

Dr. Edgerton married, November 5, 
1868, Amelia Dupont Cruger, a native of 
New Orleans, daughter of Henry C. and 
Henrietta (Cruger) Cruger, descended 
from some of the oldest and best families 
in New York. The children of Dr. and 



100 






\ <ni. 



jpitf 



?'®>- 





^^€r^.t-c/U^ eJ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mrs. Edgerton are justifying the promise 
of such excellent parentage, and the edu- 
cational opportunities afforded them, and 
are as follows: i. Henry Cruger, born 
May 21, 1870; graduated from Wilson's 
School on High street, in Middletovvn, 
and is now tilling the old family home- 
stead in East Hampton ; he married An- 
nie , who died, leaving one daugh- 
ter. 2. Francis C, who graduated from 
Trinity College, Hartford, in 1894, from 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
1898. and was for two years house sur- 
geon at Bellevue Hospital in New York ; 
he continued his studies under tutors in 
Berlin, Germany, and, returning to New 
York City, began practice there as a phy- 
sician. He was resident physician at the 
Sloane Maternity Hospital ; was subse- 
quently elected assistant surgeon of the 
Cornell University Medical Clinic, and is 
now established on Fifty-eighth street, 
near Fifth avenue. He married, June 
4, 1903, Edith Hopkins Arnold, whose 
mother was a sister of Senator Clarke and 
a descendant of Esek Hopkins, first com- 
mander-in-chief of the United States navy. 
Dr. and Mrs. Edgerton are the parents of 
a daughter, Frances Cruger Edgerton, 
born November 21, 1908, in New York 
City. 3. John Warren, who graduated 
from Trinity College in 1894, receiving 
the degrees of B. A. and M. A., subse- 
quently taking the latter degree from 
Yale. In the latter institution he com- 
pleted three years of post-graduate work, 
was graduated from Yale Law School in 
the class of 1900. with the degree of LL. 
B. cum laude. At the time of his gradua- 
tion he was a tutor, and also delivered lec- 
tures on legal subjects before the New 
York Bankers' Association. He was also 
engaged to lecture at the West Point Mil- 
itary .'\cademy, and in attempting to fill 
all these engagements broke down his 
health so that he was obliged to abandon 



much of his work. He married Marion 
Gallaudet, of Hartford, youngest child of 
the late Dr. Edward Miner Gallaudet, of 
that city, who receives extended men- 
tion in this work. Of the five children of 
John W. Edgerton, two sons and two 
daughters are now living. 



GOODRICH, Frederick Welles, 

Tobacco Groirer, Coal Dealer. 

Frederick W. Goodrich belongs to one 
of the oldest families of the State and his 
ancestry is treated at length in this work 
(see Goodrich, Charles C). The family 
is one of the oldest in Wethersfield and 
through intermarriages with families in 
that town, carries the blood of many 
pioneers. William Goodrich was among 
the early residents of the town, as was his 
son, William Goodrich, who married 
Grace Riley. 

Lieutenant Joseph Goodrich, son of 
William and Grace (Riley) Goodrich, 
married, December 23, 1714, Mehitable 
Goodwin, bom about 1690, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Mehitable (Porter) Good- 
win, of Hartford. Nathaniel Goodwin was 
a descendant of Ozias Goodwin, one of 
the pioneers of Hartford. Ozias Good- 
win was a resident of Hartford as early 
as 1639 and died before April, 1683. He 
was not among the original proprietors, 
but was granted privileges and became a 
permanent resident. His wife, Mary 
Woodward, was a daughter of Robert 
Woodward, of Braintree, England. Their 
eldest child, William Goodwin, born about 
1629, was a freeman at Hartford, May 21, 
1657. and was appointed sexton of the 
meeting house at a salary of £7 per 
annum, besides special fees for digging 
graves and ringing the bell on special 
occasions. He died October 15, 1689. 
Nothing can be learned concerning his 
wife, except that her maiden name was 



lOI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fruen. Nathaniel Goodwin, second son 
of William Goodwin, was born about 
1660, was a shoemaker by occupation, and 
was deacon of the First Church in Hart- 
ford from 1734 until his death, November, 
1747. He married Mehitable Porter, who 
was born September 16, 1673, in Hadley, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Samuel and 
Hannah (Stanley) Porter, a descendant of 
John Porter, who come from Warwick- 
shire, England, and was a resident of 
Windsor as early as 1639. He was prob- 
ably a member of the colony which organ- 
ized the Windsor Church, and came to 
Dorchester in ^630. In 1640 he had a land 
grant at Windsor, with various offices, 
including that of deputy to the General 
Court, and died April 21, 1648. His home 
was near the Little river (Tunxis), near 
its junction with the Connecticut river, 
and he left a large estate. He was of the 
sixteenth generation in descent from Wil- 
liam de la Grande, a Norman knight, who 
came with William the Conqueror to Eng- 
land in 1066 and acquired lands near 
Kenilworth in Warwickshire. His son, 
Ralph Porter, was "Grand Porteur" to 
Henry I. (1120-1140), hence the name 
"Porter."' John Porter's wife bore the 
baptismal name of Rose, and their second 
son, Samuel Porter, born in 1626, in Eng- 
land, was a merchant in Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died September 6, 
1689. He married, in 1659, Hannah Stan- 
ley, who was born in England and died 
December 18, 1702, in Hadley, daughter 
of Thomas Stanley, who came from Eng- 
land in the ship "Planter" to Lynn in 
1635. The next year he removed to Hart- 
ford, and in 1659 to Hadley, where he 
died. Their second daughter, Mehitable 
Porter, became the wife of Nathaniel 
Goodwin and the mother of Mehitable 
Goodwin, wife of Joseph Goodrich, as 
above noted. 

Nathaniel Goodrich, son of Lieutenant 



Joseph and Mehitable (Goodwin) Good- 
rich, married Martha Deming, born April 
15, 1726, eldest child of Lieutenant David 
and Martha (Russell) Deming, grand- 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Kirby) 
Deming, great-granddaughter of John 
and Honor (Treat) Deming, pioneers of 
W^ethersfield. 

Isaac Goodrich, son of Nathaniel and 
Martha (Deming) Goodrich, a native of 
Wethersfield, died at New London, Con- 
necticut, in 1813. 

Deacon Joshua Goodrich, son of Isaac 
Goodrich, was a farmer in Wethersfield, 
and married (second) Mary Ann Welles, 
who was born November 8, 1808, in 
Wethersfield, baptized April 25, 1813, and 
died March 23, 1873. She was descended 
from Governor Thomas Welles, one of 
the most distinguished citizens of Weth- 
ersfield (see Welles, Joseph Francis). 
John Welles, son of Governor Thomas 
Welles, lived in Stratford, Connecticut, 
and was the father of Captain Robert 
Welles, who was reared by his grand- 
father, the governor, and lived in Weth- 
ersfield. His third son, Joseph Welles, 
also a resident of Wethersfield, married 
Hannah Robbins, daughter of Captain 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Butler) Robbins, 
granddaughter of "Gentleman John" Rob- 
bins, who also receives extended mention 
in this work (see Merriam, Horace R.). 
Joseph (2) Welles, son of Joseph (i) 
and Hannah (Robbins) Welles, made his 
home in Wethersfield, and married Mary 
Robbins, third daughter of Samuel and 
Lucy (Wolcott) Robbins, granddaughter 
of John, and great-granddaughter of 
"Gentleman John" Robbins. The eldest 
child of this marriage was Joseph (3) 
Welles, born April 14, 1746, and lived in 
Wethersfield. He married Jerusha Hurl- 
burt, daughter of Charles and Martha 
Hurlburt, of Wethersfield, and was the 
father of Joseph (4) Welles, who lived in 
102 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wethersfield, and married, January 26, 
1803, Lucy Robbins, born in 1780, died 
September 6, 1875. Their daughter, 
Mary Ann Welles, born in 1808, became 
the wife of Deacon Joshua Goodrich, as 
previously noted. 

Frederick Welles Goodrich, second son 
of Deacon Joshua Goodrich and his sec- 
ond wife, Mary A. (Welles) Goodrich, 
was born April 23, 1848, in Wethersfield, 
where he grew up on the paternal home- 
stead. When a young man he removed to 
Portland, Connecticut, where he engaged 
through most of his active life in agricul- 
ture, and where he is now spending the 
evening of his days in the quiet enjoy- 
ment of the proceeds of his labor, indus- 
try and shrewd business management. 
In early life he lived on the paternal farm 
at Wethersfield and attended the district 
school nearby. He was subsequently a 
student at Williston Seminary. In the 
spring of 1870 he removed to Portland, 
and for a time engaged in farming on 
rented land, known as the Overton Farm. 
This he purchased and has since made 
several additions to the original home- 
stead. For some years he engaged in the 
cultivation of seeds and tobacco and pro- 
duced onions on a very large scale. Dur- 
ing one season he produced 3,000 barrels 
of onions, which were marketed in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania. About 1895 he 
became interested in the Middletown 
Coal Company, with whose management 
he was active until his retirement in 191 5. 
He is still a director and vice-president of 
the company. For many years he was a 
stockholder in the Hartford & New York 
Transportation Company, which operated 
steamers between Hartford and New 
York, but in recent years disposed of his 
stock. 

Mr. Goodrich is among the active mem- 
bers of the Congregational church of 
Portland and is not identified with any 



other organization, except the Republican 
party, with which he has acted through- 
out his life. A patriotic and public-spirited 
citizen, he has always been ready to ren- 
der any service for which he might be 
called upon by his fellow townsmen. For 
several years he was a member of the 
Board of Selectmen under both Demo- 
cratic and Republican town administra- 
tions, and in 1917-18 represented the town 
in the State Legislature, elected on the 
Republican ticket. 

Mr. Goodrich married, December 31, 
1874, Ella Louisa Welles, who was born 
April 15, 1852, in New Britain, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Israel S. and Mary 
Louisa (Hinsdale) Welles, descended 
from Governor Thomas Welles through 
the line above mentioned down to Joseph 
Welles, who was born in 1720, and mar- 
ried Mary Robbins, third daughter of 
Samuel and Lucy (Wolcott) Robbins, 
above mentioned. Joshua Welles, third 
son of Joseph and Mary (Robbins) 
(Welles) was born in September, 1726, in 
Wethersfield, in which town he lived. He 
married, in 1757, Experience Dickenson, 
born in 1736, died June 27, 1773, fourth 
daughter of Elihu and Lucy (Deming) 
Dickenson, granddaughter of Thomas and 
Hannah Dickenson, great-granddaughter 
of Nathaniel Dickenson, patriarch of a 
great New England family, mentioned at 
length elsewhere in this work. Levi 
Welles, second son of Joshua and Exper- 
ience (Dickenson) Welles, was born Oc- 
tober 17, 1762, and died January 16, 1814. 
He married. May 21, 1789, Sarah Dem- 
ing, baptized May 28, 1765, fourth daugh- 
ter of Moses and Martha (Welles) Dem- 
ing, the latter a daughter of Captain Rob- 
ert Welles, above mentioned. Rossiter 
Welles, second son of Levi and Sarah 
(Deming) Welles, was baptized October 
6, 1793, in Wethersfield, and lived in that 
town. He married Emily Butler, who 
103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was bom March 30, 1793, in Wethers- 
field, youngest child of John and Love 
(Smith) Butler. They were the parents 
of Israel S. Welles, who married, April 
II, 1849, ^lary Louisa Hinsdale, who was 
born January 30, 1830, daughter of Dea- 
con Oilman and Amanda (Ward) Hins- 
dale. They were the parents of Ella 
Louisa Welles, who became the wife of 
Frederick Welles Goodrich, as above 
noted. They are the parents of three 
children, the eldest, Nellie Louise, born 
July 5, 1876, in Portland, is now the wife 
of Daniel Wilkins, and mother of Mary 
Louise Wilkins, born July 15, 1918, and 
resides in that town. The sons, Herbert 
W. and Frederick R., receive further men- 
tion below. 



GOODRICH, Herbert WeUs, 

Bnsinesa Man. 

The elder son of Frederick W. and Ella 
L. (Welles) Goodrich (q. v.), Herbert 
Wells Goodrich, was born June 6, 1880, 
in Portland, Connecticut, and grew up on 
the paternal farm in that town. His edu- 
cation was supplied by the public schools 
of Portland and a business college in Mid- 
dletown. When about seventeen years 
old he became associated with the Middle- 
town Coal Company, with which he has 
been continuously identified to the pres- 
ent time. He now occupies the position 
of secretary and manager of this estab- 
lishment, which conducts the largest 
wholesale and retail coal business in Mid- 
dletown, and since 1907 has conducted 
also a general fire insurance business. 
While he entertains settled principles in 
public matters, and usually supports Re- 
publican party action, he has never taken 
any active part in political movements 
and gives close attention to his business 
undertakings. He is actively connected 
with the First Congregational Church of 



Portland, as is his family, and is esteemed 
as a substantial and upright business man. 
Mr. Goodrich was married, June 23, 
1904, to Alice Osterhout, born in Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania, daughter of Milo and 
Janet (Gillespie) Osterhout, the former of 
Dutch and the latter of Scotch lineage. 
Her paternal ancestor came from Hol- 
land to Pennsylvania about one hundred 
and fifty years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Good- 
rich are the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Janet Wells, born May 17, 1905; 
Burton Milo, born January 7, 1907; Her- 
bert Wells, born August 11, 1910; Stan- 
ley Osterhout, born November 26, 1914; 
and Richard Gillespie, born December 31, 
1918. 



GOODRICH, Frederick Rossiter, 

Tobacco Producer and Dealer. 

Among the leading industries of the 
town of Portland, Connecticut, is that of 
tobacco growing, and Mr. Goodrich ranks 
among the largest producers of the State, 
giving employment to a large number of 
people in growing and preparing the crop 
for the market. His warehouses present 
a busy season through the winter months 
and his fields are the theatre of very busy 
operations during the summer. 

Frederick Rossiter Goodrich, second 
son of Frederick W. and Ella L. (Welles) 
Goodrich (q. v.), was born May 8, 1882, 
in Portland, Connecticut, and attended 
the public schools of that town, includ- 
ing the high school. As a boy he man- 
ifested much energy and enterprise and 
was an able assistant to his father in gen- 
eral farming, and especially in the pro- 
duction of tobacco. For five years he was 
employed in the office of the Hartford & 
New York Transportation Company, at 
Hartford, until 1907, when he began the 
production of tobacco in Portland on an 
extensive scale, iv association with his 



104 




? Aj^^nzan ffistoncal Soaep/ 



i7w di/Fe Williams S Bro HY 



A«' 



10** 



te, .c tr^ 



pNj^i*^^ 



:^K^^ 



u&*°^^®^ 



if^'^: 



*6'S'f;-o*^ 



.•^* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cousin, Raymond M. Goodrich, and has 
continued in that line to the present 
(1922), gradually extending his operations 
until he has now more than three hun- 
dred acres of tobacco under cultivation 
annually and is very actively engaged in 
tobacco packing for the market ; he has a 
large warehouse near his home in Port- 
land. 

Mr. Goodrich is among the most pro- 
gressive and public-spirited citizens of 
the town ; he was very active during the 
World War in promoting all the interests 
tending to the successful prosecution of 
the war on the part of the United States. 
He was among the most prominent in the 
formation of the Portland Building and 
Loan Association, of which he is vice- 
president, and is ever found a ready con- 
tributor of time and means to the promo- 
tion of any undertaking calculated to ad- 
vance his native town. He is a member 
of the First Congregational Church, and 
of the Masonic order, affiliating with 
Warren Lodge, No. 51, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Washington Chapter, No. 
6, Royal Arch Masons ; Columbia Coun- 
cil, No. 9, Royal and Select Masters ; Cy- 
rene Commandery, No. 8, Knights Tem- 
plar; and the Mystic Shrine, a thirty- 
second degree Mason. He is a member 
of the Portland Club and Portland Board 
of Trade : was a member and chairman of 
the Portland War Bureau, and chairman 
of the Legal Advisory Board of District 
No. 22, during the World War. Both he 
and his wife were active in promoting the 
Red Cross drives and the United War 
Work drives, and all the other agencies 
for promoting the welfare of the Amer- 
ican soldier at the front, Mrs. Goodrich 
being a member of the Woman's Commit- 
tee of the Council of Defense. Politically, 
Mr. Goodrich is a Republican, but he has 
steadfastly declined to be a candidate for 
any political office. He is at present 



chairman of the Town Committee of his 
party. 

Mr. Goodrich was married, June 15, 
1907, to Bertha Wilson, born April 14, 
1883, in Thompsonville, Connecticut, 
daughter of Robert Bruce (2) and Mar- 
tha R. (Crossley) Wilson, of that town, 
natives of New Haven, and Enfield, re- 
spectively. The first of the Wilson fam- 
ily in this country was Robert Bruce Wil- 
son, who came from Scotland in 1830, and 
settled in Enfield. His wife, Manie Lyon, 
was a daughter of a Glasgow physician. 
Their son, William Lyon Wilson, was 
born in New Milns, near Glasgow, Scot- 
land, and was twelve years old when he 
came to America. He married Ann Allan, 
of Scotch lineage. They were the par- 
ents of Robert Bruce (2) Wilson, father 
of Mrs. Bertha (Wilson) Goodrich. 
Martha Roxanna (Crossley) Wilson, 
mother of Mrs. Goodrich, was a daughter 
of Thomas Crossley, an Englishman. 
Her mother was Ruth Francisco, daugh- 
ter of Delancey and Roxanna (Taylor) 
Francisco," of Spanish and English lin- 
eage, the latter a descendant of Rev. Ed- 
ward Taylor (see Taylor line). Mr. and 
Mrs. Goodrich are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Frederick Welles, 2nd, 
born May 24, 1909; Robert Bruce, born 
June 19, 1914: Norman Rossiter. born 
July 26, 191 5 ; Dorothy Wilson, born July 
6, 1916: and John Hinsdale, born August 
25, 1918. 

(The Taylor Line). 

(I) Rev. Edward Taylor was born 
about 1642, near Hinckley. Leicestershire, 
England. In early manhood he came to 
America, was graduated from Harvard 
College in 1671, and was ordained to the 
ministry July 5, 1671, at Boston, Massa- 
chusetts. He preached at various places 
and became the first minister of the Con- 
gregational church, Westfield. Massachu- 
setts, which was organized August 27, 



los 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1679. He continued in that capacity un- 
til his death, June 24, 1729, at the age of 
eighty-seven, a period of fifty years. He 
married (second), June 2, 1692, Ruth 
Wyllys, daughter of Samuel Wyllys, who 
died January 2~, 1730. 

(II) Eldad Taylor, fourteenth child of 
Rev. Edward Taylor, and son of his sec- 
ond wife, Ruth (Wyllys) Taylor, was 
born April 10, 1708, at Westfield, and died 
May 21, 1777, in Boston, Massachusetts, 
at the age of sixty-nine years. For 
thirty-six years he was deacon of the 
church at Westfield, from 1741 until his 
death. For eleven years he was select- 
man of the town, two years treasurer, 
thirty years town clerk, and also served 
as justice of the peace, and was a member 
of the Council of the Massachusetts Bay 
Colony. He married, November i, 1732, 
Rhoda Dewey, born July 10, 171 2, in 
Westfield, died June 22, 1740, daughter 
of Jedediah (2) Dewey of that town, 
granddaughter of Ensign Jedediah (i) 
and Sarah (^Orton) Dewey, great-grand- 
daughter of Thomas Dewey, founder of a 
very prolific American family, who came 
from Sandwich, County Kent, England, 
and was one of the original grantees of 
Dorchester in 1636. He came to America 
as early as 1633. was admitted a freeman 
in 1634, and in the following year sold his 
lands at Dorchester and removed to Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, where he was one of the 
first settlers. He married, March 22, 
1639, at Windsor. Frances, widow of 
Joseph Clark. She married (third), as his 
second wife, George Phelps, and died 
September 27, 1690. Their youngest 
child. Ensign Jedediah (i) Dewey, born 
December 15, 1647, at Windsor, owned 
land there, which he sold when he be- 
came of age. After living a short time in 
Farmington, Connecticut, he settled at 
Westfield, Massachusetts, where he died 
in May, 1718. He received grants of 



land in Westfield, being among the first 
settlers, and in association with Thomas 
and Josiah Dewey, erected mills on Two 
Mile Brook, where they received a grant 
of forty acres to encourage the establish- 
ment of the mills. Ensign Jedediah (i) 
Dewey subsequently received other 
grants, was admitted a freeman January 
I, 1680, joined the church September 28th 
of the same year, and was selectman many 
years. A wheelwright by trade, he lived 
on the east corner of what is now Silver 
and South streets. He married, about 
1670, Sarah Orton, baptized August 22, 
1652, at Windsor, Connecticut, daughter 
of Thomas and Margaret (Pell) Orton, 
of Farmington, died November 20, 171 1. 
Their eldest child, Jedediah (2) Dewey, 
born June 14, 1676, was the father of 
Rhoda Dewey, wife of Eldad Taylor, as 
above stated. 

(III) Eldad (2) Taylor, eldest child of 
Eldad (i) and Rhoda (Dewey) Taylor, 
was born in 1733, in Westfield, and was 
among the earliest settlers of Becket, 
Berkshire county, Massachusetts, where 
he was chosen a selectman at the organ- 
ization of the town July 15, 1765. He 
married, about 1753, Esther Day, born 
February 20. 1733, i" Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Ebenezer and Mary 
(Smith) Day. 

(IV) William Taylor, son of Eldad (2) 
and Esther (Day) Taylor, was born in 
1753, probably in Westfield. and lived in 
what is now Middlefield. Massachusetts, 
where he died, April 7, 1827, at the age of 
seventy-four years. He married (inten- 
tions published at Middlefield, May 31, 
1784) Priscilla Loveland, born in March, 
^755' in Hebron, Connecticut, died Sep- 
tember 25, 1834. in Middlefield, eldest 
daughter of Malachi and Priscilla (Nor- 
kott) Loveland. 

(V) Roxanna Taylor, born May 16, 
1799, in Middlefield, became the wife of 

106 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Delancey Francisco, and the mother of 
Ruth Francisco, who became the wife of 
Thomas Crossley, and the mother of 
Martha Roxanna Crossley, who married 
Robert Bruce (2) Wilson, and was the 
mother of Bertha Wilson, who married 
Frederick Rossiter Goodrich, as previ- 
ously related. 



MARKHAM, Revile Clark, 

Man of Affairs, Public Official. 

A descendant of one of the first fami- 
lies who settled in Middletown, Mr. Mark- 
ham has been nearly all his life identified 
with the banking interests of that city, 
and has acquired the esteem and respect 
of business men of the community. The 
ancestry of the Markham family has been 
traced for many generations in England, 
beginning with Claron, of West Mark- 
ham, a Saxon chief, who was rewarded 
with a grant of land for services rendered 
in the Conquest, although this land had 
been held by his father and grandfather 
before him. The name is a combination 
of two words, the last syllable being an 
old English word for '"home." "farm" or 
"possession." Claron's lands descended 
to his son, Roger, who subsequently 
acquired other lands in East Markham 
on the banks of the Idyl river. The name 
in those days had a Latin form, and 
Roger's son, Fulc de est Markham, was 
the father of Sir Alexander, known as 
Knight Castellane, of Nottingham Castle. 
He was born in 1130, and held prominent 
offices in the time of Henry III. His son, 
Sir William Markham, of Markham and 
Tuxford, succeeded to his father's estates. 
He married Cecilia, daughter of Richard 
de Lexington. Their second son, Rich- 
ard Markham, succeeded to the estate of 
his father, and his elder brother, who died 
young, but did not inherit the title, be- 
cause of the law in existence at the time 



of the elder brother's death. His son, 
John, Lord of East Markham, was a law- 
yer and King's sergeant, and lived during 
the reigns of the first three Edwards. His 
wife, Joanna, was the daughter and heiress 
of Nicholas Bottomsell. Their son, Sir 
Robert, also a lawyer and sergeant, mar- 
ried Isabell Caunton. They were the par- 
ents of Sir John Markham, barrister and 
judge, who committed Henry, Prince of 
Wales, to the fleet prison in London for 
a misdemeanor. He died on St. Sylves- 
ter's Day, 1409. His first wife was Eliza- 
beth de Cressi, and his second wife Milli- 
cent, daughter of Sir Thomas de Picker- 
ing. His son. Sir Robert de Markham, 
survived him only four years. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Burdon, and was the father 
of Sir Robert Markham, Knight, who mar- 
ried Sarah Joanna Daubeney, who brought 
him estates in Gotham. He died in 1496. 
His son, Sir John Markham, married 
Alicia Skipworth, who brought him an 
estate. He commanded a battalion at the 
battle of Stoke, one of the important 
engagements in the reign of Henry VIII. 
His son. Sir John, was lieutenant of the 
famous Tower of London, and one of his 
daughters was maid of honor to Queen 
Elizabeth. His first wife, Ann (Neville) 
Markham, was a great-granddaughter of 
the Earl of Somerset, who was the son of 
the Duke of Lancaster, son of King Henry 
III. Sir John Markham married (second) 
Marjory Langford, and (third) Ann 
Strelly Stanhope. It is said that the 
founder of the Markham family of Vir- 
ginia was his grandson. His son, John 
Markham, married Katherine Babbing- 
ton, and died when comparatively young. 
His only son, Robert Markham, was bom 
in 1536 in Sireton, Nottingham, and inher- 
ited his grandfather's estate. His second 
wife, Jane, daughter of William Bunnell, 
had five sons, two of whom were soldiers 
and writers. In 1601 Francis, the elder 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of these, published a pedigree of the 
Markhams of Markham, Cotham, Axton, 
Allerton and Sedg-brook. One son, Sir 
Robert Markham, of Cotham, married 
Ann Warburton. He was a man of sport- 
ing' proclivities and squandered the estates 
of Cotham and East Markham. His third 
son, Daniel, inherited only a small estate, 
and engaged in commercial pursuits, by 
which he regained a considerable portion 
of the family fortune, and died at Plum- 
stead, now known as Pirney, Norfolk, in 
1690. He was the father of the American 
ancestor of Markhams. His son, Daniel 
Markham, was born in Plumstead Manor, 
near Norwich, England, of which ancient 
city his brother, Matthew, was mayor in 
1634. The latter was the father of Daniel 
Markham, colonel of the British army, 
who came to New York with the Duke 
of York in 1664, and was ancestor of peo- 
ple of the name recently living in Inde- 
pendence, Iowa. Sir Clements Markham, 
of the Royal Geographical Society, is also 
a descendant of this ancestor. 

(I) Daniel Markham, the American 
immigrant, arrived in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1665, and two years later re- 
moved to Middletown, Connecticut. He 
was made a freeman in 1674, was one of 
the proprietors of the first bell that hung 
in the meeting house, November 18, 1679, 
and was deacon of the first church in 
1690. He died February 6. 1713, in Mid- 
dletown. He married, November 3, 1669, 
Elizabeth Whitmore, or Wetmore, born 
May 2, 1649, i" Cambridge, eldest child 
of Lieutenant Francis and Isabel (Park) 
Wetmore, who removed from Cambridge 
to Middletown. 

(II) Daniel Markham, eldest child of 
the immigrant, was born in November, 
1671, in Middletown, and died May 6, 
1760, in Enfield, Connecticut, leaving a 
family of ten children. He married, 
April 2, 1703, Deborah Meacham, born 



April 8, 1681, daughter of Captain Isaac 
and Deborah (Browning) Meacham, of 
Enfield. 

(III) Jeremiah Markham, third son of 
Daniel and Deborah (Meacham) Mark- 
ham, was born February 18, 1710, in Mid- 
dletown, and made his home in Enfield. 
He was a blacksmith, engaged in ship iron 
work, and died September 22, 1753. He 
married, in Enfield, in March, 1733 (inten- 
tions entered February 3), Sarah Hall, 
who was born about 1709, and died March 
30, 1787. They were the parents of twelve 
children, of whom the eldest was Jere- 
miah, of whom further. 

(IV) Jeremiah Markham, son of Jere- 
miah and Sarah (Hall) Markham, was 
born January 20, 1735, in Enfield, and 
was brought up to his father's trade. He 
was very active in the Revolution, serving 
as a sergeant in Cook's regiment under 
General Gates, and fought in all the 
battles from Ticonderoga to the second 
engagement at Bemis Heights. At the 
latter he was shot through the head, but 
recovered, and died November 17, 1827, 
at Plymouth, Connecticut. He married, 
April 20. 1769, Amy Deming, born Sep- 
tember 4, 1743, in Wethersfield, a daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer and Amy (Bunce) Dem- 
ing, and died March 11, 1825. 

(V) Jeremiah Markham, eldest son of 
Jeremiah and Amy (Deming) Markham, 
was born May 13, 1771, in Middletown, 
Connecticut. He was a blacksmith and 
miller, owner of Markham Mills, and died 
in 1853. He married, October i, 1795, 
Sally Clark, born in 1776, in Haddam, 
baptized October 14. 17S1, in Middletown, 
died February 19, 1866, daughter of Oli- 
ver and Sarah (Pelton) Clark. 

(VI) John Markham, eldest child of 
Jeremiah and Sally (Clark) Markham, 
born March 5, 1797, in Middletown, Con- 
necticut, succeeded his father as owner of 
the mills, was a blacksmith and gun- 

08 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



maker, and died August 24, 1874. He 
married, September 15, 1819, Polly Clark, 
born September 8, 1795, eldest daughter 
of Daniel and Abigail (Northup) Clark. 
Her father was a Revolutionary soldier, 
in Captain Van Dusen's company, Gen- 
eral Waterbury's brigade, was wounded 
in the service, and received a pension 
from the government. Polly (Clark) 
Markham died August 17, 1873. She was 
the mother of eleven children. 

(VII) Oliver Markham, third son of 
John and Polly (Clark) Markham, was 
born July 17, 1825, in Middletown, Con- 
necticut, and died February 7, 1902, at 
Jacksonville, Florida. Under the instruc- 
tion of his father, he became a gunsmith, 
and during the existence of Sharp's 
Armory at Hartford he was a contractor 
in that establishment, and designed and 
perfected parts of the famous Sharp's Rifle. 
While there he was elected a member of 
the City Council in 1862. On his retire- 
ment from active life he spent his sum- 
mers in Middletown and winters in Jack- 
sonville, Florida. At the time of his 
death he was a director and vice-president 
of the Central National Bank, of Middle- 
town, but led a retired life. He married, 
July 23, 1848, Sarah Ann Clark, born July 
8, 1825, eldest child of Ambrose and 
Minerva (Root) Clark, descended from 
John Clark, who was born in 1612, in Ips- 
wich, Suffolk, England. At the age of 
twenty-two years he came in the ship 
"Elizabeth" to Boston, Massachusetts, 
and before the end of 1634 was a resident 
of New Haven, among the first to form a 
civil government there. In 1648 he was 
clerk of the militia company. According 
to tradition, he married a daughter of 
Captain George Lamberton, of the ship 
"Phantom." His son, John Clark, born 
1637, settled at Middletown, and was 
known as "Plain John" to distinguish him 
from others of the name who bore vari- 



ous official titles. He married Abigail 
Cheney, probably a daughter of William 
Cheney, who represented Middletown in 
the General Court from 1660 to 1663, and 
several times subsequently. Ambrose 
Clark, second son of John and Abigail 
(Cheney) Clark, born March 25, 1696, in 
Middletown, owned a tract of land in the 
western part of that town, extending in 
width eighty rods, a little more than four 
miles northward from the Durham line. 
His dwelling on Long Hill was famous 
for its heavy timbers, and because of his 
large possessions and well known execu- 
tive ability, was known as "Lord Am," 
and died March 18, 1764. He married, 
April 21, 1715, Elizabeth Ward, born No- 
vember II, 1694, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (Rockwell) Ward. Lamberton 
Clark, fourth son of Ambrose and Eliza- 
beth (Ward) Clark, born August 24, 1731, 
married (second), August 29, 1759, Sarah 
Foster, born July 17, 1736, in Middletown, 
second daughter of John and Sarah 
(Eggleston) Foster. Her third son, Am- 
brose Clark, born December 2, 1763, lived 
in the Newfield District of Middletown, 
where he owned land now occupied by 
a brick yard. He married, March 26, 
1787, Alice Ransom, of Salisbury, daugh- 
ter of Peleg and Sarah (Foster) Ransom. 
The fourth son of this marriage was Am- 
brose Clark, born in 1793, who married, 
in 1823, Minerva Root, born in 1807, in 
Scipio, New Hampshire, daughter of Oba- 
diah and Suzanna (Wilcox) Root, the last 
named a daughter of Comfort and Con- 
sider Wilcox. Their eldest child, Sarah 
Ann, was the wife of Oliver Markham. 
Mr. and Mrs. Markham were the parents 
of two sons, Revilo Clark, of whom fur- 
ther; and Ernest Arthur, whose sketch 
follows. 

(VIII) Revilo Clark Markham, eldest 
son of Oliver and Sarah Ann (Clark) 
Markham, was born August 3, 1849, at 
log 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Windsor, Vermont, where his parents 
were then residing, and was four years of 
age when the family removed to Middle- 
town, and soon after to Hartford. There 
their son received his education and was 
a student at the high school when, at the 
age of seventeen years, he forsook study 
to take up a business career. For some 
time he was clerk in the bookstore of Wil- 
liam J. Hammersley, of Hartford, and in 
January, 1870, he removed to Middletown 
to take a position in the Central National 
Bank of that city, of which George W. 
Harris was then cashier. Most of the 
business was transacted by Harris and 
Markham. The latter was thus trained in 
all the various branches of the banking 
business. In 1879 he was rated as a clerk. 
In 1890 he became assistant cashier, in 
1894 cashier, and in 1898 was made presi- 
dent of the institution. During these 
years the business of the Central National 
Bank has been very greatly increased, and 
it now occupies a very handsome banking 
building recently completed on Main 
street, Middletown. At this writing, Mr. 
Markham has very nearly completed a 
half century of association with the bank, 
of which he has been the major part of 
that time a director. He has also been 
associated with other interests of the city, 
and since 1903 has been treasurer of the 
Middletown City School District. In 
1887 he was appointed to succeed George 
W. Harris as treasurer of Middlesex 
county, and still fills that responsible 
position. Since 1916 he has been chair- 
man of the Water Board Sinking Fund 
Commission of the city of Middletown. 
He is a director of the Springfield Web- 
bing Company, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and a director and vice-president of 
the Middletown Gas Light Company. Of 
liberal and progressive mind, Mr. Mark- 
ham has not attached himself to any re- 
ligious organization, and is independent 



of party lines in political connection. 
While he has often been invited to be- 
come a candidate for official station, he 
has invariably declined because of his in- 
dependent position. He has been a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Middletown, since 
1874 ; is a member of Washington Chap- 
ter, No. 6, Royal Arch Masons ; of Colum- 
bia Council, Xo. 9, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, Knights 
Templar ; and Sphinx Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He has attained to the thirty- 
second degree of Free Masonry, and in 
1894-95 was eminent commander of 
Cyrene Commandery, of which he was 
the leader at the Triennial Conclave at 
Boston in October, 1895. For some time 
he was a member of the Hartford Yacht 
Club, was one of the original members of 
the Middletown Yacht Club and its com- 
modore in 1901. 

Mr. Markham married, December 27, 
1875, Marion Eliza Palmer, born Decem- 
ber 6, 1849, '1 Waterford, Connecticut, 
second daughter of William Henry and 
Clarissa A. (Stanton) Palmer, of that 
town. She is a descendant of Walter Pal- 
mer, an early resident of Stonington, Con- 
necticut. Deacon Gershom Palmer, 
youngest son of Walter and Rebecca 
(Short) Palmer, born in Rehoboth, settled 
with his father in Stonington, and died 
there in 1719. He married Ann Denison, 
born May 20, 1649, died 1694, daughter of 
George and Ann (Borodel) Denison, 
granddaughter of William and Margaret 
(Chandler) Denison, and great-grand- 
daughter of John and Agnes Denyson, of 
Stortford, England. Her father was the 
distinguished soldier and citizen of the 
Connecticut Colony, elsewhere mentioned 
in this work. George Palmer, fourth son 
of Deacon Gershom and Ann (Denison) 
Palmer, born May 29, 1681, married, 
10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 24, 171 1, Hannah Palmer, who 
was born May 13, 1695, daughter of 
James and Frances (Prentice) Palmer, 
granddaughter of Nehemiah and Hannah 
(Lord) Palmer, and great-granddaughter 
of Walter Palmer, the pioneer. Gershom 
Palmer, youngest child of George and 
Hannah (Palmer) Palmer, born October 
23, 1723, lived in Stonington. { He mar- 
ried, November 5, 1747, Dorothy Brown, 
of Preston, born February 20, 1724, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Deborah (Holdredge) 
Brown, of Stonington, granddaughter of 
Thomas and Hannah (Collins) Brown, 
great-granddaughter of Thomas and 
Mary (Newhall) Brown, of Lyme, Con- 
necticut. Their only son, Reuben Pal- 
mer, was born June 12, 1759, and was 
ordained elder of the Baptist church at 
North Stonington, and pastor of the 
Montville Church of that sect, May 3, 
1788, continuing in that relation until 
April 22, 1822. He married, November 
16, 1780, Lucretia Tyler, daughter of 
Caleb and Hannah (Barnes) Tyler, of 
Preston, Connecticut. She died August 
^5' 1855. Their fourth son, Gideon Pal- 
mer, born October 23, 1793, lived in Mont- 
ville, where he died July 12, 1854. He 
was one of the most public-spirited citi- 
zens of the town, a strong supporter of 
temperance and the abolition of slavery. 
He married, July 11, 1813, Mercy Maria 
Turner, born January 29, 1795, died Sep- 
tember 17, 1870, youngest child of Isaac 
and Anna (Comstock) Turner. Their 
third son, William Henry Palmer, born 
October 14, 1821, lived in Montville, 
where he was engaged in the cotton busi- 
ness in association with his brother, 
Elisha. He was living in Middletown in 
1896. He married, December 25, 1842, 
Clarissa Alvira Stanton, born April 13, 
1820, in Belchertown, Massachusetts, died 
April 17, 1880, in Montville, daughter of 
Randall and Clarissa (Spicer) Stanton, a 
descendant of an old Connecticut family, 



founded by Thomas Stanton, who left 
London, England, January 2, 1635, on the 
ship "Bonaventure," and was a resident 
of Hartford in 1637. He married Ann 
Lord, daughter of Thomas Lord, of Hart- 
ford, lived at Southington, and died De- 
cember 2, 1676. His eldest child, Thomas 
Stanton, born in 1638, in Hartford, died 
April II, 1718, in Southington. He was 
an extensive owner of land in Preston, 
much of which was inherited from his 
father, which had been purchased from 
the Indians. He married Sarah Denison, 
born March 20, 1641, daughter of Captain 
George Denison and his first wife, Bridget 
(Thompson) Denison, died December 19, 
1 701. Their second son, William Stan- 
ton, baptized May 6, 1677, at Stonington, 
married, May 7, 1701, Anna Stanton, born 
October 26, 1684, daughter of Robert and 
Joanna (Gardner) Stanton, granddaugh- 
ter of Thomas Stanton, before mentioned. 
Joshua Stanton, youngest son of William 
and Anna (Stanton) Stanton, born June 
26, 1721, lived in Stonington, where he 
died October 25, 1819. He married, in 
1746, Hannah Randall, born January 13, 
1728, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
(Cottrell) Randall. Their third son, Rob- 
ert Stanton, born in 1751, died May i, 
181 1. He married, April 10, 1775, Eliza- 
beth Palmer, of Stonington, who died Au- 
gust 19, 1821. Their third son, Randall 
Stanton, born May 29, 1785, died Novem- 
ber 15, 1822, at Belchertown. He was a 
bookkeeper, teacher and farmer, married, 
in Groton, Connecticut, November 15, 
1807, Clarissa Spicer, who was born De- 
cember 30, 1785, died December 10, 1822, 
in Belchertown, youngest child of John 
and Mary (Park) Spicer. Their second 
daughter, Clarissa Alvira, became the 
wife of William Henry Palmer, as previ- 
ously noted, and the mother of Marion 
Eliza Palmer, wife of Revilo Clark Mark- 
ham. 



Ill 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



MARKHAM, Ernest Arthur, 

Physician, Legislator. 

Ernest Arthur Markham, junior son of 
Oliver and Sarah Ann (Clark) Markham 
(q. v.), was born October i6, 1853, in 
Windsor, Vermont, where his father was 
engaged for a time in the manufacture of 
firearms. When a small boy, his parents 
removed to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
there as a boy he attended the South 
School on Wadsworth street and the high 
school. Before he had completed the 
course in the latter, the family removed 
to Middletown, Connecticut, and in 1871 
he graduated from the high school in 
that city. An earnest student, a seeker 
after knowledge, he pursued special 
courses in physiological and agricultural 
chemistry, and the experiments of his 
class led to the establishment of the First 
State Agricultural Station. In 1875 he 
was graduated from Wesleyan Univer- 
sity, A. B., and subsequently attended the 
New York Eclectic Medical School, from 
which he was graduated two years later. 
In the following year he pursued a post- 
graduate course, and subsequently en- 
gaged in practice for a short time at Glas- 
tonbury, Connecticut. Before the close 
of the year 1878 he settled in Durham, 
where he has since engaged continuously 
in professional labors, and has endeared 
himself to many people by his unselfish 
interest in his profession, his kindness of 
heart, and his rare skill in the healing art. 
During the winter of 1885-86 he con- 
ducted a class in chemistry at the Eclectic 
Medical College in New York, returning 
to Durham in the spring of the latter 
year. Dr. Markham has established a 
reputation among physicians and scien- 
tific men, and has been identified with 
many associations of a medical character. 
Dr. Markham is a member of the New 
York City Eclectic Medical Society, of 



the National Eclectic Medical Society, is 
post surgeon of the Connecticut State 
Guard, holds the position of first lieuten- 
ant in the Medical Reserve Corps, is a 
member of the United States Medical Re- 
serve, and has long been an active mem- 
ber of the Red Cross Society. During 
the existence of Middlesex Lodge, Knights 
of Pythias, of Middlefield, he was r^ mem- 
ber of that body. He is a member of the 
Connecticut Historical Society, the Mid- 
dlesex County Historical Society, of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and a 
charter member of Coginchaug Council, 
No. 62, Order of United American Men. 
For many years Dr. Markham has been 
health official and medical examiner to 
Durham, is president of the Aqueduct 
Company, and a director of the Middle- 
town Trust Company. He aided ma- 
terially in compiling the recent history 
of the town of Durham, and has devoted 
much time to the preparation of a gene- 
alogy of the American family of Mark- 
ham, whose publication is contemplated 
at an early date, and is credited with most 
of the information herein given. In 1895 
he represented Durham in the State Leg- 
islature and was a member of the labor 
committee of that body. He has served 
as auditor and justice of the peace and in 
various local official stations, having been 
long a notary public. Dr. Markham and 
his wife are members of the Episcopal 
church, in which he is a warden. Dr. 
Markham is gifted by nature with those 
qualities which make the successful phy- 
sician, and his time is very fully occupied 
in the care of patients in his section of the 
State. 

Dr. Markham married, April 21, 1876, 
Anna Derring (Brown) Martin, a native 
of Sag Harbor, Long Island, daughter of 
Addison and Mary A. (Wilcox) Brown. 
Four children complete the family, 
namely: Oliver Irving, born February 
12 



YMS NBW TORI 
PUBLIC LIBRARY I 

-'SiOJ', LEWOX 




Eiv bu S G WiOUuna * 3rn HY 



G-O/^O c^^o^^^-r" 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



3, 1877, graduated from Yale Business 
College when twenty years of age, and is 
now conducting a jewelry business at 
Deep River, Connecticut; Leonard Bailey, 
born September i, 1878, graduated from 
Yale Business College in the same year 
with his brother, and is now connected 
with the Middletown National Bank ; 
Maud Minerva, born December 15, 1879, 
is a graduate of Coginchaug High School, 
of Durham, and is now the wife of Lester 
Edwin Markham, a teacher in the Boston 
Mechanic Arts High School of Boston, 
residing in Watertown, Massachusetts ; 
Ernest Arthur, Jr., died at the age of 
three years. 



BURR, Willie Olcott, 

Jonrnalist, Enterprising Citizen. 

Burr (Burre) Arms — Ermine, on a chief in- 
dented sable, two lions rampant, or. 
Motto — Virtus honoris janua. 

A vital personal force in the community 
in which he lived, Willie Olcott Burr, the 
dean of newspaper workers in Connecti- 
cut, and possibly of New England, de- 
veloped with noteworthy success the work 
started by his father, Alfred Edmund 
Burr. Mr. Burr was born in Hartford, 
September 27, 1843, and died there at the 
age of seventy-eight years, November 27, 
1921. At his death the city of Hartford 
lost one of its most useful citizens, and 
his associates of the Hartford "Times" ex- 
perienced the loss of "an esteemed asso- 
ciate, a wise counselor and a generous 
friend." 

(I) The Burr family was established in 
Hartford, Connecticut, by Benjamin Burr, 
who was one of the first settlers there. He 
was undoubtedly in Massachusetts previ- 
ously and while it is not definitely known 
where he came from, it is believed that he 
was one of those who came in Winthrop's 
fleet. In 1635 he was settled in Hartford, 
Conn — in — s I 



and was the first of his name in Connec- 
ticut; he was admitted a freeman in 1658, 
and in the original allotment of land re- 
ceived six acres. Later he acquired con- 
siderable property, and a street in Hart- 
ford to-day bears his name. Benjamin 
Burr served in the Pequot War, and his 
name appears among the founders of 
Hartford on the monument erected to the 
memory of these worthy men in the Cen- 
ter Church Burying Ground. He died at 
Hartford, March 31, 1681, 

(II) Thomas Burr, son of Benjamin 
Burr, was born January 26, 1645, ^"d died 
in 1733. He owned the covenant at the 
First Church in Hartford, March 15, 
1695-96, and his wife on April 16, 1693. 
Thomas Burr married Sarah Speck, 
daughter of Gerard Speck. 

(HI) Thomas (2) Burr, son of Thomas 
(i) and Sarah (Speck) Burr, was a re- 
spected citizen of Hartford, where he died 
November 7, 1761. He married Sarah 
Wadsworth, daughter of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Wadsworth. She died Septem- 
ber 5, 1750. 

(IV) Thomas (3) Burr, son of Thomas 
(2) and Sarah (Wadsworth) Burr, was 
born October 4, 1719, and died October 
27. 1777- He owned the covenant at the 
First Church, January 20, 1744. His wife, 
who was Sarah (King) Burr, daughter of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Barnard) King, 
was baptized January 9, 1725; her death 
occurred in 1799. 

(V) James Burr, son of Thomas (3) 
and Sarah (King) Burr, was born Febru- 
ar>' 18, 1766, and died March 16, 1848. He 
was engaged in mercantile pursuits, and 
was also the owner of several ships. Dur- 
ing his business career he amassed a con- 
siderable fortune for that period, but 
through some unfortunate East India in- 
vestments lost the major portion of his 
money. He married Lucretia Olcott, born 
at Hartford, January 29, 1784, died March 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



8, 1833, and they were the parents of Al- 
fred Edmund, mentioned below. 
The Olcott arms are as follows : 

Arms — Per saltire gules and azure, a lion's head 
erased to the sinister argent; on a chief of the 
third three fleurs-de-lis between eight mullets of 
six points each sable. 

Crest — -A cock to the sinister proper. 

(VI) Alfred Edmund Burr, son of 
James and Lucretia (Olcott) Burr, was 
born in Hartford, March 27, 1815, where 
he died January 8, 1900. At the age of 
twelve years, he began work in the office 
of the Connecticut "Courant" as appren- 
tice. Eight years later he was appointed 
foreman of the composing room, and a 
short time later was offered a partnership 
in the business on condition that he would 
become a Congregationalist and join the 
Whig party. These conditions were con- 
trary to the beliefs of Mr. Burr, and his 
strength of character was evidenced by 
his refusal and the manner in which he 
thus stood by his convictions. 

It became apparent soon after Mr. Burr 
entered the office of the "Courant" that 
he was naturally adapted to newspaper 
work, and in 1839 he secured a half owner- 
ship in the Hartford "Weekly Times," a 
paper established on January i, 1817. Mr. 
Burr's share of the work was the super- 
intending of the mechanical and business 
departments, and he bent his entire ener- 
gies to attaining success. At that time 
the plant was located at the corner of 
Main street and Central row, where it 
remained until 1854. Two years after be- 
coming a partner, Mr. Burr purchased the 
entire business and became sole owner of 
the paper, and on March 2, 1841, he began 
the publication of a daily morning paper, 
which continued for two months, and 
then changed to an afternoon daily, which 
arrangement continues to the present day. 
Under the capable management of the 
elder Burr the paper became a "mirror of 



public opinion," and he enjoyed the inti- 
mate acquaintance of leading men of the 
city and State. It was the custom of 
many of these men to come into the office 
in the afternoon and discuss the impor- 
tant questions of the day with Mr. Burr. 
With the passing years his failing health 
necessitated the passing of much of the 
responsibility of the business to his son, 
and in 1890 he deeded the entire property 
to Willie O. Burr, and the business was 
carried on under his sole ownership until 
1909. when the Burr Printing Company 
was incorporated. 

Franklin L. Burr, brother of Alfred E. 
Burr, was associated with him for many 
years as partner. In 1854 the second re- 
moval of the "Times" was made to the 
corner of Main and Grove streets, and the 
business was located there for sixty-six 
years. 

Alfred E. Burr was keenly interested 
in the furthering of welfare movements 
and his charitable deeds were many. Dur- 
ing the Civil War he aided the families 
of soldiers ; he was one of the founders 
of the Good Will Club, a boys' organiza- 
tion, and was an active worker in its inter- 
ests throughout his life. The work and 
achievements of Alfred E. Burr were ad- 
mirably eulogized by his son in his remi- 
niscences at the opening of the new Times 
building in 1920. an account of which fol- 
lows : 

The Hartford Times, I feel, is a monument to 
my father, and so in a sense will be the new home 
of the "Times." I myself have played a very 
humble part in the paper's development. Given 
to me by my father thirty years ago, I have tried 
to preserve the character of the paper as an expo- 
nent of toleration, which was the keynote of my 
father's life. He devoted his life to the paper for 
sixty-one years ; I have now been connected with 
the paper for fifty-nine years, and I imagine it is 
a unique record where father and son together 
have been connected with one business enterprise 
for eighty-two years. 



114 




lag bu F ff l^'ilUtum S Bj-c .'• 



^^^-'^^<^-^. 



lit 



i^ii^^-'- \ 



.«,t^°^o>^s; 



b^^ 




^urr 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Alfred E. Burr married, April i8, 1841, 
Sarah A. Booth, daughter of Abner Booth, 
of Meriden. Mrs. Burr's death occurred 
in 191 1. Mr. and Mrs. Burr were the 
parents of three children: i. Edmund 
L., died at the age of three years. 2. 
Willie Olcott, mentioned below. 3. Sarah 
Ella, became the wife of the late Dr. 
James McManus, and her death occurred 
in 1906. 

(VII) Willie Olcott Burr, son of .A.lfred 
E. and Sarah A. (Booth) Burr, obtained 
his education in the best schools the city 
afforded at that time, and he was prepar- 
ing for college at a private school con- 
ducted by Nicholas Harris, where the 
Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance build- 
ing is now located, when the outbreak of 
the Civil War and the subsequent loss of 
men in the business sections of the city 
necessitated the removal of Mr. Burr from 
school to the newspaper office of his 
father. There his assistance was needed, 
and at the time of entering this office he 
was just eighteen years of age. It had 
been previously planned that he would 
go abroad when he had finished college 
and there complete his education, but just 
as our more recent World War inter- 
rupted the plans of many of the young 
men of this day, so that conflict of over 
half a century ago changed the plans of 
Mr. Burr. 

From the beginning Mr. Burr was 
brought in contact with men of mark and 
learning, men of affairs in the State and 
city, of strong intellect, and in this school 
his career in journalism, which attained 
such a high degree of success, began. His 
duties were many and varied. He set 
type, gathered news notes and performed 
any other duty or task necessary. As 
time went on other and more important 
work was assigned to Mr. Burr, and 
gradually the editorial room claimed the 
greater part of his attention. However, 



he never lost his interest in the work of 
the composing room, and during his entire 
service with the paper until within a few 
years before his death, he was accustomed 
to spend a part of each afternoon in aiding 
in the work of making up the paper. As 
a reporter, Mr. Burr also had his experi- 
ences, and for a time he reported the news 
of the Legislature. As the years went on 
he did not write as much for his paper as 
formerly, but often dictated both news 
and editorials. 

The growth and development of the 
paper made it necessary to secure larger 
quarters, and a site was purchased and 
plans made for the erection of the hand- 
some building now numbered among the 
edifices which beautify the city of Hart- 
ford. The new building was opened to 
the public, December 4, 1920, and in his 
office, surrounded by floral expressions of 
the good wishes of his many friends, Mr. 
Burr greeted those who passed through 
on their tour of inspection. From this 
date until his last illness, Mr. Burr was 
to be found at his desk. 

In his political views, Mr. Burr was a 
staunch believer in Democratic principles, 
as was his father, and the "Times" re- 
flected these views. At the same time the 
paper repudiated the Free Silver heresy 
and always opposed William J. Bryan in 
his candidacy for President. Principles, 
not men, was the watchword of both 
father and son. One of the earnest sup- 
porters of Woodrow Wilson, Mr. Burr 
upheld his principles and always believed 
that Mr. Wilson was actuated by the 
highest motives of patriotism. While one 
of the most public-spirited citizens, Mr. 
Burr was not a seeker for public office. 
He was urged to accept the nomination 
for mayor of the city, but refused, and 
while it was generally understood that he 
could have had almost any office m the 
State, he would not consent to accept. 



11 = 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He believed that he could be of more 
assistance and perform more public serv- 
ice through the columns of his paper than 
in any other way. He served as a dele- 
gate to several conventions, and was 
named as delegate-at-large to the national 
convention in 1912, but through pressure 
of business was unable to attend. 

His business connections with several 
of the financial and industrial institutions 
of Hartford made heavy demands upon 
his time. He was a director of the State 
prison board for twenty-four years, and 
park commissioner from 1900 to 1902. He 
was president of the Burr Printing Com- 
pany ; a director of the Travelers' Insur- 
ance Company; director 'of the Hartford 
Electric Light Company ; director of the 
Connecticut Fire Insurance Company ; 
director of the Riverside Trust Company; 
director of the Connecticut Fair Associa- 
tion ; director of the Spring Grove Ceme- 
tery Association ; a trustee of the Hart- 
ford-Connecticut Trust Company ; trus- 
tee of the Good Will Club ; trustee of the 
Hartford Chamber of Commerce. Mr. 
Burr was also a member of the commis- 
sion in charge of erecting the State 
Library and the Supreme Court building, 
and he took much pride and pleasure in 
his work on this committee. He was a 
member of the Hartford Club and the 
White Hollow Fish and Game Club of 
Litchfield county, and as associate mem- 
ber of the Putnam Phalanx. His chief 
recreation was fishing. Although modest 
by nature and averse to personal mention, 
his many philanthropic deeds sometimes 
became known ; like his father, he was 
willing to aid those in need and many 
Hartford people could testify to the good- 
ness of his heart and his assistance. 

Mr. Burr married. May 21, 1874, Angie 
S. Lincoln, of Upton, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Gilbert Lincoln. Their only 
child, Florence Lincoln, was born April 
29, 1875, and died April 10, 1912. 



Mr. Burr served his business and the 
interests of his city, State and country 
long and well. He was a man who loved 
his work, and discussion of public ques- 
tions through the medium of his paper, 
and he had the respect and confidence of 
his fellow-citizens and business associates. 

(The Lincoln Line). 

Arms — Argent, on a cross vert an estoile pierced 
or. 

The ancient Britons founded a city on 
the summit of a hill, near the river Lindis, 
England, from which the surname Lin- 
coln was derived. Then came the Roman 
conquest, and the name was changed to 
Lindum Colonia. Subsequent races cor- 
rupted the name into Lindocolina, as used 
by Beda, the most venerable scholar of 
the seventh century, and into Lindkylne 
and Lincolle, as found in the Saxon 
chronicles of the twelfth century. Alured, 
the ancestor from whom the surname Lin- 
coln has been inherited, went from Nor- 
mandy to England with William the Con- 
queror in 1066. He established himself 
in the settlement by the river Lindis, be- 
came identified with the place, and be- 
came known as Alured de Lincoln. The 
name has since then become more com- 
mon in America than in England. Sixty 
years ago Guppy found only nine to every 
ten thousand persons in County Essex, 
and only ten in the County of Norfolk, 
England. Alured de Lincoln held a great 
barony in Lincoln and Bedford in 1086. 
Nicol is the Norman equivalent for Lin- 
coln, and Alured de Lincoln had his lands 
and titles preserved to him by having 
married a Norman woman. 

The line of interest in this record is de- 
scended from Thomas Lincoln, born in 
England in 1603, who died in Taunton, 
Massachusetts, in 1683. He came to 
America in 1636, settling at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, and in 1652 removed to 
Taunton. He married (first), in England, 
16 




l^inccfn 




1 Hiitoricat Scci 



Ena by EC Witltams & BrolfY 



o'X 



/-/ .y.j^Kcat'> 



ri 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and his wife died before his coming to 
America. He married (second) Elizabeth 
Harvey Streete, widow of Francis Streete, 
and he was the father of five children, 
probably of his first marriage. His de- 
scendants were identified with the town 
of Taunton, Massachusetts, where they 
were proprietors of iron works, and but 
few definite records of them remain, since 
the town records of Taunton prior to 1800 
were burned in 1838, although some were 
preserved with the proprietors' reports 
and a few extremely early accounts with 
the Plymouth Colony records. 

(I) Abijah Lincoln, descended from 
Thomas Lincoln, and a resident of Taun- 
ton, has his Revolutionary service given 
in "Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors 
of the Revolution," Vol. IX, p. 797, as fol- 
lows: "Abijah Lincoln, Ensign, Captain 
Josiah King's Company, Colonel Brewer's 
Regiment, later Lieutenant ; enlisted June 
16, 1775, discharged October 12, 1778." 
Heitman's "Register of Officers of the 
Revolution" outlines his record thus : 
"Abijah Lincoln, Ensign, May to Decem- 
ber, 1775 ; Second Lieutenant, Thirteenth 
Continental Infantry, January i, 1776; 
First Lieutenant, August lO-December 
31, 1776." 

Abijah Lincoln was born in 1738, and 
died June 20, 1812. His wife, Phoebe, 
was born in 1739, and died March 20, 
1821, aged eighty-one years. They were 
the parents of Abijah, born in 1766, died 
December 28, 1815, and Gilbert, of whom 
further. 

(II) Gilbert Lincoln, son of Abijah 
Lincoln, died June 17, 1844, aged seventy- 
three years. He married Vilatia West, 
born May 2, 1772, died September 25, 
1849, daughter of Captain Samuel (3) 
West, who served in the Revolution as a 
sergeant and was a pensioner of that war 
(see West VI). Issue: Charles, of whom 
further ; Horace, died aged eighty-two 



years; Vilatia (Mrs. Loomer), died aged 
eighty-eight years ; Phoebe, died aged 
eighty-six years. 

(III) Charles Lincoln, son of Gilbert 
Lincoln, was bom in 1793, and died De- 
cember 18, 1877. He married Abigail 
Kingsley, and they were the parents of: 
Gilbert, of whom further ; and Angeline 
A., died July 29, 1835, aged fifteen years. 

(IV) Gilbert (2) Lincoln, son of Charles 
Lincoln, lived in Columbia, Connecticut, 
later in Upton, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried Betsey Wheeler. Their children are: 
I. Angle S., married. May 21, 1874, Willie 
O. Burr (see Burr). 2. Charles Gilbert, 
married Ida Belden, and has three chil- 
dren : Richard Charles ; Helen C, mar- 
ried Robert B. Newell, and has two chil- 
dren ; Raymond G., married Eleanor 
Byorkman, and has two children : Charles 
Gilbert, and John. 

(The West Line). 

Arms — Quarterly, first and fourth argent, a 
fess dancette sable for West; second and third 
gules, a lion rampant argent armed and langued 
azure between eight crosses crosslet fitchee in 
orle, of the second, for Delawarr. 

Crest — Out of a ducal coronet or, a griffin's 
head azure, ears and beak gold. 

Suf porters — Dexter, a wolf coward, argent, 
gorged with a plain collar or; sinister, a cocka- 
trice or, shadowed and scaled azure. 

Motto — Jour de ma vie, (The day of my life). 

The family of West is of noted English 
ancestry, and among its early members 
was Thomas de West, of Warwickshire, 
Knight of the shire for Warwick in 1326, 
who was created a baron by Edward III. 
From him was descended Reginald, who, 
in the reign of Henry V., was summoned 
as Lord de la Warr, and in this line is 
traced an American family. 

(I) The founder of the line of record 
here was Francis West, born in 1606, who 
came from Salisbury, England, to Dux- 
bury, Massachusetts, before 1639. He 



117 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a freeman in 1656, surveyor of high- 
ways in 1658, constable in 1661, and mem- 
ber of the Grand Inquest, 1662-69-74-78- 
80-81. He died January 2, 1692. He mar- 
ried, in Duxbury, Margery Reeves. Issue : 
Samuel, of whom further; Dr. Thomas, 
born in 1646; Peter; Mary; Ruth, born in 
1651, died in 1741, married Nathaniel 
Skifif. 

(II) Samuel West, son of Francis and 
Margery (Reeves) West, was bom in 
1643, ^"d di^f^ May 8, 1689. He lived in 
Duxbury, where he was constable in 
1674. He married, September 26, 1668, 
Tryphosa Partridge, daughter of George 
and Sarah (Tracy) Partridge, of Dux- 
bury, Massachusetts. Issue : Francis, 
born November 13, 1669, died in 1731 ; 
Juen, born September 8, i67i,died young; 
Samuel, born December 23, 1672; Pele- 
tiah, born March 8, 1674, died in 1756; 
Hon. Ebenezer, born July 22, 1676; John, 
born March 6, 1679; Abigail, born Sep- 
tember 26, 1682 ; Bathsheba. 

(HI) Samuel (2) West, son of Sam- 
uel (i) and Tryphosa (Partridge) West, 
was born December 23, 1672, and died 
about 1763. He lived in Duxbury, and 
after 1723 in Lebanon, Connecticut, and 
was one of the organizers, in 1730, of the 
Goshen Church of Lebanon. He mar- 
ried, June 30, 1709, Martha Delano, 
daughter of John and Mercy (Peabody) 
Simmons, and widow of Ebenezer Delano. 
Her grandmother, Elizabeth (Alden) 
Peabody, was the daughter of John and 
Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, of the "May- 
flower." Issue of Samuel (2) and Martha 
West: Amos, born May 29, 1710; Na- 
than, of whom further; Sarah, born No- 
vember 8, 1712; Moses, born March 4, 
1716. 

(IV) Nathan West, son of Samuel (2) 
and Martha (Simmons-Delano) West, was 
born August 18, 1711, and lived in the 
parish of Goshen, Lebanon, Connecticut. 



He married, July 20, 1741, Jerusha Hinck- 
ley, daughter of Gershom and Mary 
(Buell) Hinckley, of Lebanon, Connecti- 
cut. Issue: Jerusha, born October 21, 
1742; Samuel, of whom further; Nathan, 
born May 26, 1746, died young; Mary, 
born June 7, 1747; Nathan, born June 8, 
1749; Lucy, born May 16, 1751 ; Walter, 
born May 12, 1753; Charles, born April 
22, 1755, died young; Charles, born July 
4, 1756, killed in battle during the Revo- 
lutionary War, 1778 ; Seth, born June 2, 
1758; Calvin, born June 11, 1761 ; George, 
born May 13, 1762. 

(V) Captain Samuel (3) W'est, son of 
Nathan and Jerusha (Hinckley) West, 
was born August 23, 1743, and died Janu- 
ary 10, 1835. He lived in Goshen parish, 
Lebanon, Connecticut, until 1778, when 
he removed to that part of Lebanon that 
later became Columbia. He was a ser- 
geant in the Revolutionary War, a pen- 
sioner at the age of ninety, and a repre- 
sentative of the town. He married (first), 
September 12, 1765, Sarah Hunt, daugh- 
ter of William and Sarah (Lyman) Hunt, 
of Lebanon; she was born in 1743, and 
died in 1816. He married (second) Sarah 
Porter, born in 1767, died November 8. 
1851. Issue, all by first wife: Rev. Joel, 
born March 12, 1767; Sarah, born June 
II, 1768; Parthena, born May 15, 1770; 
Vilatia, of whom further ; Submit, born 
December 26, 1773 ; Colonel Samuel, born 
February 11, 1776; Charles, born Novem- 
ber 10, 1777, died in the same year; 
Jerusha, born December 5, 1778, died in 
1781 ; Lydia, born May i, 1782, died in 
1866; Charles, born Alarch 11, 1784; 
Sophia, born April 13, 1786; Betsey, born 
June 21, 1789. 

(VI) Vilatia West, daughter of Cap- 
tain Samuel (3) and Sarah (Hunt) West, 
was born May 2, 1772, and married Gil- 
bert Lincoln (see Lincoln II). 

18 





e^t 



3i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



THAYER, George Gershom, 

Esteemed Citizen. 

The late George Gershom Thayer was 
a quiet citizen of Middletown, who never 
sought for public office, nor any sort of 
notoriety, but was widely respected for 
his sterling character. His ancestry was 
of the best, and in his life he exemplified 
the precepts handed down by those who 
preceded him. The name of Thayer is 
derived from an occupation, and was 
early spelled '"Tayer, Tawier and Taw- 
yer." It is a trade name for one who 
dresses skins, and there was no letter H 
in it until after descendants came from 
England. The English home of the fam- 
ily was at Thornboro, in the western part, 
of Gloucestershire, eleven miles north of 
Bristol, near the river Severn. The name . 
is now extinct at that place. The Thorn- 
boro Parish register begins in 1538, but 
there are several breaks subsequent"- to ■. 
that time in the records of baptisms and • 
other vital statistics. 

(I) Thomas Thayer, founder of the 
family in this country, was born in Thorn- 
boro, and came to America before 1639, 
in which year he had a grant of seventy- 
six acres at Braintree, Massachusetts. At 
that time there were nine persons in his 
family. He was a shoemaker by trade, 
was admitted a freeman in 1647, 3^"^^ "i'sd 
June 2, 1665. He married, in England, 
April 3, 1618, Marjory Wheeler, who died 
February 11, 1642. 

(II) Shadrach Thayer, third son of 
Thomas and Marjory (Wheeler) Thayer, 
was baptized May 10, 1629, and died 
October 19, 1678. He married Deliver- 
ance Priest, daughter of James and Lydia 
Priest, of Weymouth, Massachusetts, 
born in 1644, died January 17, 1723, the 
mother of a large family. 

(III) William Thayer, ninth child of 
Shadrach and Deliverance (Priest) Thay- 



er, was born August i, 1675, and settled 
in Braintree, Massachusetts, where he 
married, September 27, 1692, Widow 
Hannah Haywood. 

(IV) Jonathan Thayer, eldest son of 
William and Hannah (Haywood) Thayer, 
was born May 2, 1703, died in 1805, at the 
age of one hundred and two years. The 
baptizmal name of his wife was Tabatha, 
and they were married in 1728. They 
probably resided somewhere in Middlesex 
county. 

(V) Gershom Thayer, son of Jonathan 
and Tabatha Thayer, was born in 1747. 
He resided in Haddam, where he mar- 
ried, September 19, 1765, Susanna Hazel- 
ton, of that town. 

, (VI) Gershom (2) Thayer, son of Ger- 
shom (i) and Susanna (Hazelton) Thay- 
er,; was bom February 3, 1773, in Middle- 
town, and died November 25, 1834. He 
ntarried Sarah Arnold, born August 10, 
;; 1.779, daughter of Ambrose Arnold, of 
Haddam, and she lived to a good old age. 
In early life he was a Whig and took an 
active part in political affairs. 

(VII) Gershom (3) Thayer, son of 
Gershom (2) and Sarah (Arnold) Thayer, 
removed to Postenkill, Rensselaer county. 
New York, where he died. He married 
Mary Ann Wheeler, and they were the 
parents of George Gershom, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(VIII) George Gershom Thayer, son of 
Gershom (3) and Mary Ann (Wheeler) 
Thayer, was born June 19, 1854, in Pos- 
tenkill, New York, and died February 15, 
1920, in Middletown, Connecticut. He 
was educated in the public schools, and 
Eastman's Business College of Pough- 
keepsie. New York. Soon after coming 
to Middletown, he became a clerk in 
Gardner's grocery store, where he con- 
tinued several years. Later, he was a 
partner of Joseph B. Seers in the grocery 
business, subsequently conducting a store 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



alone, and after that with Wilbur F. Ack- 
ley, under the style of Ackley & Com- 
pany. At one time he engaged in farm- 
ing on Farm Hill, and retired about 1917. 
He was a prominent member of Christ 
Church, South Farms, was at one time a 
member of the Royal Arcanum, but with- 
drew from that order. A man of superior 
intelligence, he read much, was always 
actively interested in human progress, 
and was a strong adherent of the Repub- 
lican party in political affairs. Possessed 
of a good memory, he accumulated a large 
store of information, and was a most 
interesting conversationalist. 

Mr. Thayer married, October 18, 1876, 
Alice M. Sears, who was born April 23, 
1856, in Middletown, daughter of Joseph 
Badger and Adaline C. (Blatchley) Sears, 
of Middletown and Killingworth. Their 
children were six in number : Joseph 
Sears, employed by the Russell Manufac- 
turing Company ; Ethel May, died De- 
cember 29, 1921, at the home of her 
widowed mother ; Harry Smith, residing 
on Durham avenue, Middletown, is a 
painter by occupation ; George Gershom, 
a printer, employed in Middletown ; Rob- 
ert Edwin, a farmer, resides in that town ; 
and Alice Adaline, a telephone operator, 
resides with her mother. 

The Sears family is one of the oldest in 
Middlesex county, and was very early 
established in England. Thomas Sayre 
was born in 1590, in Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land, and was one of the eight "Under- 
takers" (promoters) who came from Eng- 
land to America in the early part of 1630. 
He and his son were allotted sixty acres 
of land in Lynn, Massachusetts, and he 
was among the large company which went 
from that town to settle. Southampton, 
Long Island. The dwelling which he 
erected there in 1648 is still standing and 
in possession of his descendants. He died 
in 1670. His second son, Daniel Seers, 



located at Bridgehampton, Long Island, 
where he died in 1707. He married (first) 
Hannah Foster, (second) Sarah Robin- 
son. Presumably his children were born 
of the first marriage. The youngest son, 
Daniel Seers, was a yeoman of Southamp- 
ton, Long Island, whence he removed to 
Middletown, Connecticut. On November 
25, 1720, he received from William Bailey 
a deed of one hundred and fifty (150) 
acres in the Maromas district of Middle- 
town, upon which he soon after made his 
home. About this time the spelling of 
the name was changed to Sears. He mar- 
ried Mary Atwood, and their fifth son, 
Stephen Sears, was baptized February 
29, 1724. in Middletown, and dwelt on the 
paternal homestead on the banks of the 
Connecticut river, extending from Maro- 
mas to Higganum. He married, July 10, 
1766, Marj^ Chapman, of East Haddam, 
and their eldest son was Stephen Sears, 
born December 11, 1768, died November 
16, 1807. He married Phoebe Knowles, 
who died in March, 1807. Their second 
son, Elisha Sears, born January 26, 1801, 
w^as reared upon the farm, and for many 
years in early life taught school in the 
Hubbard and South Farms districts of 
Middletown, and engaged in agriculture 
in later years. He married, November 28, 
1822, Esther Southmayd Hendley, born 
August 4, 1802, daughter of Henry and 
Esther H. Hendley. The eldest of their 
children was Joseph Badger Sears, born 
August 16, 1823. He attended school in 
the South Farms district and, later, the 
high school of ^Middletown. As a youth 
he passed several years before the mast 
at sea, made several trips to the East 
Indies and along the American coasts. 
Before attaining his majority, he assisted 
in the conduct of a grocery store operated 
by his father at South Farms, and later 
became a partner in the business, which 
was conducted several years under the 



120 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 

' --OR, LENOX 

; FBUNDATIONS 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name of Elisha Sears & Son. He next 
engaged in contracting for painting and 
paper hanging, and for a long time em- 
ployed a considerable force of men. Sub- 
sequently, he was a partner in the grocery 
of G. G. Thayer & Company, on Main 
street, Middletown. Late in life he dis- 
posed of his interest and spent his last 
days in retirement at his pleasant home 
on Farm Hill. He was a regular attend- 
ant and supporter of the South Church 
in Middletown, and though a staunch 
Democrat in politics, took no part in pub- 
lic affairs. He died August 7, 1892, after 
several years of declining health, and his 
body was laid to rest in Pine Grove Ceme- 
tery. He married, September 15, 1851, 
Adaline C. Blatchley, who was born Octo- 
ber 13, 1830, in Killingworth, daughter of 
Leander and Hulda (Wilcox) Blatchley. 
Her father was a joiner and contractor. 
Alice M. Sears, senior daughter of Joseph 
B. Sears, was born April 23, 1856, and be- 
came the wife of George Gershom Thayer, 
as above noted. 



CONNERY, James Francis, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Identified throughout his active life 
with business affairs of Middletown, Mr. 
Connery has gained the respect and 
esteem of his contemporaries, who have 
honored him with the highest office in the 
city, and his conduct of this office justifies 
the confidence placed in him. He was 
born February 28, 1870, in Rockyhill, Con- 
necticut, son of Michael and Catherine 
(McCarthy) Connery. Michael Connery 
was born about 1837, in County Water- 
ford, Ireland, and when a boy of eight 
years joined his uncles in America, resid- 
ing in Windsor. He married, in Hart- 
ford, Catherine McCarthy, a native of 
County Cork, Ireland. Previous to his 
marriage, he had purchased a farm in that 



portion of Wethersfield which is now 
Rockyhill, where he had been employed 
as a coachman by Silas Robbins, and his 
wife was employed in the family of 
Deacon Edward Robbins. The farm in 
Rockyhill, which he tilled from the time 
of his marriage, is still in possession of 
their children. Mr. Connery died March 
6, 1875, at the age of thirty-eight years, 
and his wife died in March, 1904, at the 
age of seventy-two years, in Rockyhill. 
They were the parents of a daughter and 
two sons. The daughter resides in Rocky- 
hill and the sons in Middletown. 

James Francis Connery attended the 
schools in Rockyhill and pursued a course 
at Huntsinger's Business College in 
Hartford. After leaving school he was 
employed for six years by the Pope 
Manufacturing Company, of Hartford, 
becoming thoroughly familiar with the 
manufacture of bicycles. In 1896 he made 
a contract with the Worcester Cycle Com- 
pany to build bicycles in its factory on 
Hamlin street, Middletown, where the 
Westinghouse Electric Company is now 
located. This continued for two years 
till March, 1898, when he entered into a 
partnership with William Campbell and 
purchased the business of Ryan, Barrows 
& Parker, and has since engaged in the 
sale and repair of bicycles. Within a few 
months Campbell retired and for many 
years Mr. Connery has conducted the 
business alone. He also deals in auto- 
mobile supplies, sewing machines and 
victrola graphophones, and conducts a 
very successful business, handling a large 
number of musical instruments. 

Of genial nature and social instincts he 
has become identified with many of the 
societies of Middletown, including Mid- 
dletown Lodge. No. 771. Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks; Forest City 
Council, No. 3, Knights of Columbus ; and 
St. Aloysius Total Abstinence and Benev- 

121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



olent Society, of Middletown. He is also 
a member of the Young Men's Christian 
Association and of the Middletown Yacht 
Club. He has ever been active in com- 
munity service, and is a member of the 
Social Service League and the Chamber 
of Commerce. He is a director of the 
Middletown Home Corporation and treas- 
urer of the Knights of Columbus Home 
Corporation. In political affiliation, Mr. 
Connery has always acted with the Demo- 
cratic party. In 1907-08 he was a member 
of the City Council, and in 1910-11, of the 
Board of Aldermen. In 1920 he was 
elected mayor of the city for a term of 
two years. 

James Francis Connery married, Octo- 
ber 4, 1893, Alice M. Botsford, who was 
born August 22, 1875, in Plainville, Con- 
necticut, youngest child of James and 
Frances (Barrows) Botsford. 

Mrs. Alice M. Connery is descended 
from Henry Botsford, who was in Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1639, and died there 
in 1686. His wife, Elizabeth, joined the 
church in 1640, and their eldest child and 
only son, Elnathan Botsford, was bap- 
tized August 14, 1641. He joined the 
church, February 17, 1669, and died Sep- 
tember 10, 1691. He married, October 
14, 1667, Hannah Baldwin, who was bai>- 
tized in August, 1644, in Milford, daugh- 
ter of Timothy and Mary Baldwin, of 
Guilford, later of Milford. Moses Bots- 
ford, born about 1680, was undoubtedly a 
son of Elnathan (since the latter was the 
only male of his generation in Milford), 
and was residing in Newtown in 1712, 
with his wife, Sarah. Their eldest son, 
Theophilus Botsford, was born March 23, 
1730. His son, Theophilus Botsford, born 
in 1758, died February 19, 1841. He mar- 
ried, April 10, 1781, in Middletown, Dolly 
Bidwell, born June 8, 1759, eldest daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Juana (Hubbard) Bid- 
well, of that town, descended from Rich- 



ard Bidwell, an early settler of \\'indsor, 
Connecticut, where he died December 25, 
1647. The name of Bidwell is of Norman 
origin, and had many forms in early Eng- 
lish records. One of the oldest castles in 
England is Biddulph Castle, in Norfolk, 
built about 1066. John Bidwell, son of 
Richard Bidwell, was born in England, 
and was an early settler of Hartford, 
where he had a house on the east side of 
Trumbull street, in 1640. He received 
lands in the allotment of 1639, and in 
1666 received an allotment in East Hart- 
ford. In association with Joseph Bull, he 
received two hundred acres in the com- 
mon lands, with privilege of cutting tim- 
ber on the common, to encourage them in 
the operation of a saw mill. His will was 
dated February 10, 1680, and mentions 
his wife, Sarah. She was a daughter of 
John and Mary Wilcox. John and Sarah 
Bidwell were members of the Second 
Church of Hartford, organized in Febru- 
ary, 1672. He died in 1687, and she, June 
15, 1690. Their son, Samuel Bidwell, 
born 1650, settled in Middletown, where 
he was married, November 4, 1672, to 
Elizabeth Stow, daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Stow. Thomas Stow was born in 
England, son of John and Elizabeth Stow, 
early in Middletown, coming from Con- 
cord, Massachusetts. Samuel Bidwell, 
son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Stow) Bid- 
well, was born June 10, 1677, in Middle- 
town, and died there .\pril 5, 1715. His 
second wife bore the baptizmal name of 
Abigail, but his marriage to her is not of 
record. Her eldest child and his second 
son, Moses Bidwell, born January 9, 1698, 
married. May 20, 1729, Dorothy Ward, 
born July 25. 171 1, fourth daughter of 
Sergeant William and Abigail (Collins) 
Ward, granddaughter of John and Mary 
(Harris) Ward, of Middletown. Samuel 
Bidwell, eldest child of Moses and Doro- 
thy Bidwell, born March 15, 1730, in Mid- 
122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dletown, married, January lo, 1754. Juana 
Hubbard, born February 24, 1738, second 
daughter of Samuel and Johanna (Judd) 
Hubbard, of Middletown, granddaughter 
of Samuel and Martha (Peck) Hubbard. 
Dolly Bidwell, child of Samuel and Juana 
Bidwell, became the wife of Thcophilus 
Botsford, as above related. Their second 
son, Samuel Botsford, born in 1783, lived 
in the copper mine district of Bristol, 
Connecticut, where he died November 6, 
1862. He married Betsey Clark, of Meri- 
den, who was born in 1782, and died De- 
cember 2, 1859. Their youngest child, 
Lorenzo Botsford, born in 1819, died July 

I, 1870. He married, June 12, 1842, Han- 
nah Norton, who was born in 1820, and 
died November 4, 1853. Their only sur- 
viving child, James Botsford, born May 

II, 1845, died November 15, 1889. He 
married Frances Barrows, born March 4, 
1845, ^^'^ they were the parents of Alice 
M. Botsford, wife of James F. Connery, 
as mentioned previously. The first child 
of Mr. and Mrs. Connery, a son, died at 
the age of seven years. The others are : 
Viola Agnes, born August 24, 1896; 
Arline Frances, born July 11, 1907; and 
James Frances, born March 16, 1912. 



CALEF, Arthur Benjamin, 

Lairyer, Public Official. 

The late Judge Arthur B. Calef, of 
Middletown, Connecticut, a descendant of 
an old Massachusetts and New Hamp- 
shire family, bore forward worthily the 
record of a family which has been distin- 
guished for integrity, industry and initia- 
tive. 

The founder of the family in this coun- 
try was Robert Calef, born about 1648 in 
England, who came to Boston, Massachu- 
setts, in 1688. In 1707 he removed to 
Roxbury, where he died April 13, 1719. 
He was active in opposition to the Witch- 



craft delusion, and in 1700 published a 
book entitled, "More Wonders of the In- 
visible World." He held various offices 
in Boston and Roxbury, and was recog- 
nized as a man of intellectual force and 
executive ability. His wife, Mary, died 
in November, 1719, surviving him less 
than a year. 

(II) Jeremiah Calef, son of Robert and 
Mary Calef, was born in Europe, and was 
early a settler at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, where he purchased land No- 
vember 30, 1707. He married, December 
2, 1708, Lucy Chadbourn. 

(HI) James Calef, son of Jeremiah and 
Lucy (Chadbourn) Calef, was a farmer 
in Exeter, New Hampshire, residing on 
the Hampton road, and later in life, with 
his son Oliver, removed to Sanbornton, 
where he died November 16, 1801. He 
married (first) Ruth Smith, daughter of 
Oliver Smith, of Exeter ; she died in 1759. 
Among their children was Jeremiah (2), 
of whom further. 

(IV) Jeremiah (2) Calef, son of James 
and Ruth (Smith) Calef, born January 
20, 1 75 1, was reared on the farm in Exe- 
ter. He married (first), December 13, 
1772, Molly Calef, born January 23, 1753, 
died 1795-96. He married (second) Han- 
nah (Brackett) Creighton. Among his 
children was Jeremiah (3), of whom fur- 
ther. 

(V) Jeremiah (3) Calef, son of Jeremiah 
(2) and Molly (Calef) Calef, was born at 
Sanbornton, New Hampshire, May 5, 
1782. He was a farmer, associated with 
his father until 1814, then farmed on the 
Smith lot. No. 71, first division, for about 
twenty years, and there built the Morri- 
son house. He removed to Loudon, New 
Hampshire, where he remained until 1841, 
when he settled again in Sanbornton, on 
the Batchelder place in Northfield (Shaker 
Road), and died there February 23, 1856. 
He married (second), September 2, 1824, 

123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Sally Eastman, daughter of Ebenezer 
Eastman. She died August 26, 1850, in 
Northfield, aged fifty-four. Among their 
children was Arthur Benjamin Calef, of 
whom further. 

(VI) Arthur Benjamin Calef, third son 
of Jeremiah (3) Calef and eldest child of his 
second wife, Sally (Eastman) Calef, was 
born June 30, 1825, in Sanbornton, New 
Hampshire, and until fifteen years old re- 
mai'ned on the paternal farm, attending 
the district schools of Sanbornton and 
Loudon. In the fall of 1840 he became a 
student at Woodman Academy in San- 
bornton, and in the spring of 1842 entered 
Gilmanton Academy. From 1843 to 1846 
he taught district schools during the win- 
ter, passing the summer in the labors of 
the farm and the autumn at Woodman 
Academy. He prepared for college at the 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary at 
Northfield, and in the fall of 1847 entered 
Wesleyan College at Middletown. While 
a student here he taught a district school 
for three winters as a means of defraying 
his expenses. In the fall of 1848 he be- 
came preceptor of Woodman Academy, 
and also taught private pupils. He grad- 
uated from Wesleyan University in Au- 
gust, 185 1, and in September following, 
entered the ofiice of Judge Charles Whit- 
tlesey, of Middletown, to begin the study 
of law. He continued to teach classes in 
the high school and was admitted to the 
bar October 30, 1852. In the autumn of 
that year he was a teacher in the Middle- 
town High School, resigning in December 
to open a law office. From February, 
1852, to June, 1861, he was clerk of the 
Middlesex county courts, and in the 
meantime built up a most excellent prac- 
tice as an attorney. In the former year 
he was elected to the Common Council of 
the city, and in the latter year was elected 
city treasurer before completing his thir- 
tieth year, being the youngest person to 
occupy that position. In 1858 he was 



city attorney, and throughout his long 
and active life was recognized as an able 
and useful lawyer. He originated the 
system of partisan registration, and in 
i86o drafted and secured passage of the 
law for registration of voters. He was 
also very active and influential in making 
the city schools free. In i860 and 1864 
Judge Calef was a delegate to the Na- 
tional Republican Convention, and was 
postmaster of Middletown from 1861 to 
1869. In the latter year he was tendered 
the Republican nomination for member 
of Congress, but declined to become a 
candidate. He was alderman in 1875, and 
judge of the City Court from 1884 to 
1895, when he was retired on account of 
the age limit. Judge Calef was the first 
treasurer of the Farmers' and Mechanics' 
Savings Bank, and a trustee from its 
incorporation in 1858. He founded the 
Calef Oratorical Prize at Wesleyan in 
1862, and was president of the Alumni 
Association from that year until 1880. In 
1878 he was lecturer on Constitutional 
Law at the university. From its found- 
ing in 1867 and for ten years he was 
president of the Eleventh Chapter, Psi 
Epsilon fraternity, of Wesleyan. 

Judge Calef enjoyed a very large prac- 
tice in State and United States courts. 
From 1871 to 1885 he had a partner, A. 
Ward Northrop, and this association was 
dissolved on the appointment of the latter 
to the position of postmaster. Subse- 
quently his son, Arthur B. Calef, was ad- 
mitted to partnership. For many years 
Judge Calef was president of the Middle- 
sex Gas Light Company, and he was a 
director in various financial institutions 
of Middletown. He was a member of St. 
John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and was grand junior warden of 
the Grand Lodge of the State. He died 
August 17, 1900, and his demise was very 
widely lamented. 

Judge Calef married, March ai, 1858. 

124 



f >:^MiK 







'^^HjM^'-k^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Canterbury, New Hampshire, Hannah 
Foster Woodman, of that town, born De- 
cember 31, 1827, in Nashua, died January 
14, 1892, in Middletown, a daughter of 
Caleb Morse and Lucy (Foster) Wood- 
man, and granddaughter of Colonel Asa 
Foster, a Revolutionary soldier. 



MILLER, James Raglan, 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

There were varied ways of deriving sur- 
names in the early days, but the most 
common way was from the occupation of 
the individual. The name of Miller is of 
this class and was early assumed by one 
who was a miller by trade. As with the 
name of Smith, there were many different 
families bearing the name, and the line- 
age of some of them is very difficult to 
trace. The family of which Dr. Miller is 
a descendant was early settled in Vir- 
ginia, and there his grandfather, James 
Quinn Miller, was born at Appomatox 
Court House. Subsequently he removed 
to Cadiz, Kentucky, where he was promi- 
nent in the civic life, serving as a member 
of the school board. He also conducted 
a general merchandise store. 

Ira Miller, his son, was born in Cadiz, 
Trigg county, Kentucky, April 22, 1848, 
and died in 1916. When the Civil War 
broke out he had an appointment at West 
Point and went into the Confederate 
army as aide-de-camp to General Forrest, 
who was at that time a colonel. Ira 
Miller was wounded four times ; he served 
all through the war, and at one time, 
while with Colonel Forrest's troops, 
escaped from Fort Donnelson before that 
fort was surrendered ; he also took part 
in the battles of Shiloh and Lookout 
Mountain. After the war he went into 
business for himself at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, as a wholesale dealer in dry goods. 
The same week the Chicago fire occurred, 
his store was burned, and being unable 



to collect his insurance, he was forced to 
discontinue his business. Soon after this 
time he removed to New York City, 
where he entered the employ of C. B. 
Smith & Company, of which the present 
firm of Smith, Worthing & Company, 
saddlery manufacturers, is the successor. 
Mr. Miller was in charge of the firm's 
store until 1887, in which year he re- 
moved to Westfield, Massachusetts, sub- 
sequently becoming general manager of 
the American Whip Company, and later 
president of the United States Whip Com- 
panies. These business activities held his 
interests until about 191 1, when he re- 
tired. Mr. Miller was a Mason, thirty- 
second degree, and was a member of the 
Christian church. He materially aided in 
the organization of the first Young Men's 
Christian Association in Louisville. He 
was also one of the organizers of the 
United States Whip Company, which was 
consolidated with the leading manufac- 
turers in the country. 

Mr. Miller married, in 1883, Frances 
Eliza Smith, daughter of Charles Board- 
man and Elizabeth Ann (Thayer) Smith. 
Mr. Smith was the senior member of the 
firm of Smith, Worthing & Company. Mr. 
and Mrs. Miller were the parents of four 
children: Charles B., of Portland, Ore- 
gon ; James R., of whom further ; Preston 
Thayer, of Westfield, Massachusetts ; and 
Susan Elizabeth, wife of Kent Wads- 
worth Clark, general manager of the Ori- 
ental Hotel in Kobi, Japan, where they 
make their home. 

James R. Miller was born in Hartford, 
February 7, 1886, and soon afterwards 
was brought with his parents to West- 
field. He was educated there and gradu- 
ated from the high school in 1903, and four 
years later from Yale University. In 
191 1 he received his degree of M. D. from 
Johns Hopkins University, and for the 
following two and one-half years trav- 
elled in Europe, spending considerable 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



time in Munich, Freiberg, and Vienna, 
where he followed post-graduate work in 
obstetrics and gynaecology. After his re- 
turn to America he was instructor in 
clinical obstetrics at his alma mater dur- 
• ing the year 1914-15, and in the fall of 
191 5 he located in Hartford, where he has 
since successfully engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession. Dr. Miller is assist- 
ant in obstetrics and gynaecology at the 
Hartford Hospital and is physician-in- 
chief at the Hartford Dispensary. He is 
a member of the Hartford, Hartford 
County and Connecticut Medical socie- 
ties, and of the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. His clubs are the University 
Club of Hartford and the Hartford Golf 
Club; he is also a member of several fra- 
ternities, among them being: Beta Theta 
Pi ; Alpha Omega Alpha, and while at 
Johns Hopkins he was a member of the 
Pithotomy Club. 

Dr. Miller married Elisabeth Wells, 
daughter of William and Katharine (Van 
Husen) Wells, of Detroit. Mr. Wells' 
mother was a Lee, connected with the 
Fitzhugh Lee family of Virginia. Dr. 
Miller and his wife are the parents of 
three children: Katharine Van Husen, 
Frances Thayer, and Elisabeth Raglan. 
They attend and aid in the support of 
Trinity Episcopal Church of Hartford. 

Charles Boardman Smith, father of Dr. 
Miller's mother, was born July 31, 1811; 
he married for his second wife, October 
3, 185s, Elizabeth Ann Thayer. His 
father was Norman Smith, born at Hart- 
ford, November 4, 1772, died May 20, 
i860. He married (first), November 23, 
1795, Mary Boardman, born at Westfield, 
October 31, 1772, died August 3, 1820, 
daughter of Captain Charles and Abigail 
Boardman. 

Captain Charles Boardman was born 
at Westfield, September 4, 1725, and died 
August 12, 1793. He was a mariner and 
master of vessels. He married, August 7, 



1753, Abigail Stillman, born March 2, 
1733, daughter of Deacon John and Mary 
(Wolcott) Stillman. 

Timothy Boardman, father of Captain 
Charles Boardman, was born July 20, 
1700, and died December 27, 1753. He 
married, December 21, 1721, Hannah 
Crane, born November 24, 1702, daughter 
of Israel and Lydia (Wright) Crane, and 
she died February 20, 1780. 

Daniel Boardman, father of Timothy 
Boardman, was born August 4, 1658, and 
died February 20, 1724-25. He married, 
June 8, 1603, Hannah Wright, daughter 
of Samuel and Mary Wright. 

Samuel Boreman, as the father of Dan- 
iel Boardman spelled the name, was born 
at Banbury, England, and was baptized 
there August 20, 1615. He went to New 
England and was a resident of Ipswich, 
Massachusetts, as early as 1639, when he 
had land recorded to him. By occupation 
he was a cooper. In 1641 he sold his 
house and land and removed to Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, at the time of his death 
being owner of about three hundred and 
fifty acres, which included an Indian 
grant. Samuel Boreman took an active 
part in public afifairs, and for eight years 
was selectman. He also served as rate- 
maker, juror and surveyor of highways, 
and held important offices in the church. 
In 1657 he was elected deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court, served for eighteen terms 
thereafter, and was one of those present 
when the famous charter of Connecticut 
was "first publiquely read" to the free- 
men. Samuel Boreman married Mary, 
daughter of John and Mary Betts, and his 
death occurred in April, 1673. He was 
the son of Christopher Boreman, grand- 
son of Thomas, great-grandson of 
Thomas. The latter was a son of Wil- 
liam Boreman, of Banbury, Oxfordshire, 
England, the earliest English ancestor of 
the name to whom the American ancestor 
can be traced. He was living in 1525. 

[26 






AST" 




^rc-^'^:^ 



"-^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CAREY, Frank S., 

Fubliiber, Esteemed Cltixen. 

To write of Frank S. Carey, when the 
years have begun their onward march 
from the time when his valued work and 
service were performed, is to be unfail- 
ingly impressed with the wise vision with 
which he chose the worthwhile things of 
life and by the devotion with which he 
strove toward the noble ideals they em- 
bodied. Thus it was that while his inter- 
ests can be summarized within a few 
words, from these as a center there ema- 
nated an influence far-reaching in its 
effect and a source of uplifting strength 
to the circle of his associates. His home 
and his work in the Hartford "Courant," 
with which he was identified for nearly 
forty-five years, represented the major 
relations of his life, and in the first he 
found inspiration, courage, and strength 
for the exhausting labors he gave to the 
latter, and which eventually wore down 
his health. The record of his life is here 
placed as that of one of Connecticut's 
sons, distinguished for long continued 
and vitally essential service, and to the 
facts thereof are added the tributes of his 
colleagues and friends. 

Mr. Carey was a descendant of proud 
American ancestry, tracing in direct line 
to John Carey, one of the founders of the 
town of Bridgewater, Massachusetts, who 
established his family in America in 1634, 
purchasing land from Miles Standish. An- 
other of his ancestors was Rev. John Rob- 
inson, minister of the Pilgrim band. 

Frank S. Carey was a son of George B. 
and Anne (Havens) Carey, and was born 
in Hartford, Connecticut, April 3, 1854. 
His formal education was obtained in the 
Arsenal School and the Hartford High 
School, and he left the latter institution 
before the graduation of his class, 1873, 
entering business life in the employ of 
the cloth brokerage firm of Collins & 



Fenn. After several years in this connec- 
tion he became bookkeeper for the firm of 
Hawley, Goodrich & Company, which 
later became the Hartford Courant Com- 
pany, publishers of the Hartford "Daily 
Courant." He found his work in the busi- 
ness and advertising departments, and 
upon the incorporation of the present 
company, in 1890, he was made secretary, 
later became secretary and treasurer, and 
then treasurer and vice-president, hold- 
ing the last-named office until his death. 
"Those were the days when journalism 
was in the transition stage, and it was due 
largely to his sure and guiding hand that 
the change from that earlier period to the 
present was safely made. Grouped with 
him were men whose names are written 
high and in illuminated letters in the 
annals of American journalism — and he 
was one of those of sufficient vision and 
strength to carry their visions into reality. 
Yet, in those days, vital to the future, 
when the newspaper was more like a daily 
letter to each individual subscriber than 
it can be to-day, and when subscribers 
and advertisers were personally known to 
the men behind the screens of the news- 
paper, Mr. Carey always found time to 
stop for a chat at the counter, or in the 
office, with those who came to praise or 
blame — and always was he ready to assist 
many of the younger members of the 
growing 'Courant'." 

From 1904 to 1910 Mr. Carey was water 
commissioner of Hartford, during the ad- 
ministrations of Mayors William F. Hen- 
ney and Edward W. Hooker. Much of 
the work that he accomplished during 
that time was in the nature of deep- 
seated, fundamental planning, which has 
since proved its value, as at that time pro- 
vision was being made for the future 
water supply of the city, and projects 
endorsed pointed directly to the present 
Nepaug system, which is to become the 
chief source of Hartford's water supply. 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



As this was his only public office, as the 
Hartford "Courant" was his only official 
business connection, so did he have but 
one social membership, and that in the 
Hartford Golf Club. "His was a quiet, 
constructive and well-rounded life — 
largely embraced and surrounded by his 
home and his newspaper desk. Few men, 
perhaps, gave more of themselves for 
those about them ; few were less known 
to the many whom, by the use of his 
ability and power, he had benefited either 
directly or indirectly. He came and went 
from home to office, and measurement of 
his actual achievement can be accurately 
made only by those who worked and 
labored with him in what was for them 
and the community a great cause." 

The following is the editorial note and 
tribute that appeared in the "Courant" at 
the time of Mr. Carey's death, December 

4, 1919: 

One of the choice men of his generation in 
Hartford died yesterday when the life of Frank 

5. Carey, vice-president of the Hartford Courant 
Company, went out. He was of a modest and 
quiet nature, and would be surprised at such an 
estimate of him, but those who knew him well 
were aware of his fine qualities. He was wise, 
straightforward, capable and safe, and as faithful 
and trusty as men are made. Everybody who 
came to know him was his friend. He was the 
sort of man that people took to when they met 
him. He entered the service of the "Courant" in 
the seventies, when the old firm of Collins & 
Fenn went out of business. That was in the days 
of General Joseph R. Hawley, Charles Dudley 
Warner, and Stephen A. Hubbard, but he was 
especially associated with General .\rthur L. 
Goodrich, who became an officer of the company 
at the same time with him. .All of these are now 
gone. 

Mr. Carey began work here in a small way, but 
soon was indispensable to the paper, and it is no 
exaggeration to say that his services at a critical 
time saved the concern from financial wreck. 
Fortunately that was long ago. He took hold of 
the business with a master hand and reorganized 
the office and became its ruling force. The wel- 
come progress of the paper has followed his 
advent to authority. His devotion to it was un- 



limited and, indeed, was the first cause of his 
break-down eight years ago. Personally Frank S. 
Carey was a lovable man, approachable, cempan- 
ionable, sympathetic, and in all ways trustworthy. 
There are few as choice men as he was. 

Mr. Carey married, in February, 1880, 
Ella Bissell, and they were the parents of: 
Hiram Bissell, Harold Dearborn, and 
Ruth Bissell, the last-named deceased. 

This memorial to one of Hartford's dis- 
tinguished citizens closes with the words 
spoken at his funeral by Rev. Dr. John 
Coleman Adams, pastor of the Church of 
the Redeemer, in which Mr. Carey was 
long active : 

We have spoken of him together many times 
since he went, but not in any terms of that body 
do we speak of Frank S. Carey. Not his weight, 
nor his height, nor his voice or his complexion, 
nor anything that is of the material. Those do 
not concern the self that we knew and loved. 
But we have spoken of this or that trait; it has 
all been in terms of the unseen and spiritual. We 
have spoken of his integrity, his industry and 
faithfulness in business when he was well and 
strong. All these are expressions of things intel- 
lectual and spiritual ; they all have reference to 
the inner, not the outer traits of the man. No- 
body would try to describe Frank S. Carey in 
terms of the outward and physical. .\11 such 
things are what the apostle calls the things of 
the unseen which are eternal. * * * For he 
was a man who began on earth the life that is to 
continue and last. He was a man who had a 
sense of spiritual values. He prized such things, 
and strove toward them. He was a man who 
knew what religion meant. Thank God for a man 
of faith in these days. Thank God for a man of 
Christian hope, who, in his daily life, shows that 
atmosphere of good will which is of the kingdom 
of Heaven. 

In these things and for these things we honor 
his memory. We love to think of him as carry- 
ing them forward, beyond the boundary of the 
seen. For him who has begun the life of the 
spirit on earth, in howsoever small and imperfect 
a way, life is simply carried forward into larger 
dimensions than here. Thank God we can think 
of him in these terms of high honor and spiritual 
appreciation. H we would pay him the highest 
tribute, let us live ourselves as we have seen him 
living. 

28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



RYAN, Leonard Osborne, 

Corporation Counsel. 

One of the young attorneys of Middle- 
town, who has made rapid progress in 
his profession is the present corporation 
counsel of the city of Middletown. Leon- 
ard Osborne Ryan was born December lo, 
1886, in Middletown, son of Arthur B. 
and Agnes M. (Sears) Ryan. His great- 
grandparents came from Ireland about 
one hundred years ago. They were iden- 
tified with the manufacture of crockery 
in Ireland, and were people of good blood 
and strong pride. All their children, ex- 
cept one, removed to Indiana and Cali- 
fornia. 

(II) The exception, Michael A. Ryan, 
was born in New York City, settled in 
Danbury, Connecticut, and was a hat 
maker there, where he died in 1867, at the 
age of thirty-seven years. He married 
Almira E. Carl, a native of Danbury. 
She was a daughter of Peter and Julia 
(Barber) Carl, the former prominent in 
the American Revolutionary activities in 
the vicinity of Danbury. 

(III) Arthur Benton Ryan, son of 
Michael A. and Almira E. (Carl) Ryan, 
was born March 2, 1855, in Danbury, 
where he grew up, attending the gram- 
mar and high schools. At the age of six- 
teen he removed to Hartford, where he 
began an apprenticeship at the jeweler's 
trade with Thomas Steele & Son. After 
five years he removed to Middletown, and 
in July, 1876, became associated with 
John L. Smith, jeweler of that city. Four 
years later he purchased the business 
and formed a partnership with C. Wy- 
man Barrows. Later the firm included 
three proprietors, Ryan, Barrows, and 
Parker, and this association continued 
about twenty years. At the end of this 
period, Mr. Ryan sold his interests and 
removed to Boston, Massachusetts, where 

Conn — 10 — 9 



for a period of twelve years he was en- 
gaged in the manufacture of baking 
powder. This business he sold out and 
for some years operated a commission 
business, dealing largely in grocers' sun- 
dries. This business he also sold in 1912, 
when he returned to Middletown. Mr. 
Ryan is an active member, and was for 
some years deacon of the First Baptist 
Church, of whose Sunday school he was 
superintendent for twenty years. For 
several years he was vice-president of the 
Young Men's Christian Association, of 
Middletown, during which period its pres- 
ent handsome building was erected. Be- 
fore removing to Boston, he served two 
years as an alderman in Middletown, and 
during the Progressive movement of 1912 
he was a candidate on that ticket for repn 
resentative. For a number of years he 
was a director of the Central National 
Bank, of Middletown. 

Mr. Ryan married, September 25, 1879, 
Agnes Maria Sears, who was born July 
15. 1855- in Hartford, third daughter of 
Hezekiah Kilbourn and Julia (Osborne) 
Sears, granddaughter of Calvin and Mar- 
tha (Chapin) Sears. (See Sears line). 
The children of Arthur Benton and Agnes 
Maria (Sears) Ryan are: Stetson Kil- 
bourn, secretary of the State Board for 
the Education of the Blind, and deacon 
of the First Baptist Church, of Middle- 
town ; Leonard Osborne, mentioned be- 
low ; and Arthur Benton, residing in 
South Farms, and now on the staff of the 
Middletown "Press." 

(IV) Leonard Osborne Ryan, son of 
Arthur Benton and Agnes Maria (Sears) 
Ryan, was educated in Middletown, grad- 
uating from the high school in 1904. He 
subsequently entered Wesleyan Univer- 
sity, from which he was graduated in 
1908, with the degree of Bachelor of Phil- 
osophy. He began the study of law in the 
Yale Law School, was graduated in 1912 ; 
129 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was at once admitted to the bar and began 
the practice of his profession in Middle- 
town, where he has continued to the pres- 
ent time, carrying on a very successful 
general practice. While at Yale he won 
the Philo S. Bennett prize for an essay on 
political science. He is a member of the 
Middlesex County Bar Association, and is 
quite active in leading fraternal orders. He 
is a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons; Wash- 
ington Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; and Columbia Council, No. 9, Royal 
and Select Masters. He is also a member 
of Central Lodge, No. 12, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; of Appollo Lodge, 
No. 33, Knights of Pythias ; and Matta- 
bessett Council, No. 12, Order of United 
American Men. Politically, he is a Dem- 
ocrat; served as clerk of the City Court 
in 1913-14; was appointed corporation 
counsel in February, 1920, and was reap- 
pointed in 1921. He is chairman of the 
Democratic Town Committee, and has 
been very active in promoting movements 
representing his political principle. For 
several years he has been a trustee of the 
First Baptist Church, succeeded his 
father as superintendent of its Sunday 
school, and was for some years a director 
of the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. While in college he engaged in 
newspaper work, and was for some time 
editor of the Middletown "Sun." 

Leonard Osborne Ryan married, Octo- 
ber 10, 1916, Edith Reeve Lowery, a na- 
tive of Chelsea, Massachusetts, daughter 
of William E. and Eunice (Bates) Low- 
ery, of that city. 

(The Sears Line). 

(I) The Sears family, of which Mrs. 
Arthur Benton Ryan is a descendant, was 
founded by Richard Sears, who lived in 
Yarmouth, Massachusetts, and concern- 
ing whom very little can now be discov- 



ered. He probably had more than one 
wife, and it is not known which was the 
mother of his son, Silas, of whom further. 

(II) Silas Sears, son of Richard Sears, 
died in Yarmouth, January 13, 1698. His 
wife, Anna, survived him, dying March 
4, 1726. 

(III) Captain Joseph Sears, third son 
of Silas and Anna Sears, born about 1675, 
in Yarmouth, died May 7, 1750, in that 
town. There he married, September 19, 
1700, Hannah Hall, born about 1680, died 
July 28, 1753, descendant of John Hall, 
one of the pioneers of Yarmouth. 

(IV) Roland Sears, fourth son of 
Joseph and Hannah (Hall) Sears, bom 
May 14, 171 1, in Yarmouth, lived in 
Greenwich, Massachusetts, where he died 
in March, 1784. He married Maria Free- 
man, who was born October 13, 1719, and 
died November 22, 1784, daughter of John 
and Mercy (Watson) Freeman, descend- 
ant of an early Cape Cod family. 

(V) Freeman Sears, eldest child of 
Roland and Maria (Freeman) Sears, was 
born July 20, 1740, in Hardwick, Massa- 
chusetts, and died June 30, 1807. He 
married, October 22, 1761, Mehitabel 
Haskell, born July 9, 1744, died April 6, 
1845, daughter of Andrew and Jane 
(Clark) Haskell. 

(VI) Andrew Haskell Sears, second 
son of Freeman and Mehitabel (Haskell) 
Sears, born March 29, 1765, in Hardwick, 
died April 4, 1846, in Greenwich. He 
married there, March 14, 1787, Rachel 
Stetson, born 1767-68, died August 2, 

1835- 

(VII) Calvin Sears, eldest son of An- 
drew Haskell and Rachel (Stetson) Sears, 
born October 30, 1789, in Greenwich, died 
in October, 1869, in Hartford. He mar- 
ried Martha Chapin, of Springfield, who 
died in Wethersfield. 

(VIII) Hezekiah Kilbourn Sears, sec- 
ond son of Calvin and Martha (Chapin) 

130 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Sears, born November 15, 1818, lived in 
Windsor and Hartford, and died in the 
latter place, March 15, 1871. He mar- 
ried Julia Osborne, and their daughter, 
Agnes Maria, became the wife of Arthur 
B. Ryan, as previously noted. 



TUTTLE FAMILY, 

Ancestral Hlatary. 

The name of Tuttle is derived from 
"Tothill," a place name common in Eng- 
land. It literally means a conical hill. 

(I) William Tuttle, the immigrant an- 
cestor of the family, came to New Eng- 
land in the ship "Planter," in April, 1635. 
On the records he is called a husbandman 
and merchant. His wife, Elizabeth, was 
admitted to the Boston church, July 14, 
1636. In 1635, William Tuttle was 
granted permission to build a windmill, 
and the following year he became a pro- 
prietor of Boston. In 1641 he was a land 
owner in New Haven, Connecticut, and 
was one of the first owners in East Haven. 
He became a prominent man in his com- 
munity, and was given a front seat in the 
church, which at that time was a high 
honor. In New Haven, William Tuttle 
served as fence viewer, and in 1646 did 
garrison duty. He served on many com- 
mittees in settlement of boundary dis- 
putes, and also served on the jury. He 
died in June, 1673, and his wife on De- 
cember 30, 1684. 

(II) John Tuttle, son of William and 
Elizabeth Tuttle, was born in 1631, and 
was brought to New England by his par- 
ents. From his father he received, in 
1661, a house and lot in East Haven, and 
at his death, November 12, 1683, the in- 
ventory of his property showed the value 
of £79. He married, November 8, 1653, 
Kattareen Lane, probably a daughter of 
John Lane, of Milford. 

(III) Samuel Tuttle, second son of 
John and Kattareen (Lane) Tuttle, was 



born January 9, 1660, and was a stone- 
mason and a large land owner. He mar- 
ried, in June, 1684, Sarah Newman, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Newman, and they joined 
the New Haven Church in 1692. 

(IV) Daniel Tuttle, the youngest child 
of Samuel and Sarah (Newman) Tuttle, 
was born August 23, 1702. He lived in 
North Haven. He married, April 26, 
1726, Mary Mansfield, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Hannah Mansfield. 

(V) Samuel (2) Tuttle, son of Daniel 
and Mary (Mansfield) Tuttle, was bom 
February 12, 1727, and died November 
23, 1784, in North Haven. He married. 
May 12, 1752, Sarah Humison, born Sep- 
tember 10, 1723, daughter of John and 
Hannah (Ray) Humison. 

(VI) Samuel (3) Tuttle, son of Sam- 
uel (2) and Sarah Humison Tuttle, was 
born in 1759 and died July 9, 1802. He 
removed from North Haven to Middle- 
town, Connecticut. Samuel Tuttle was a 
soldier in the Revolution, and was cap- 
tured by the enemy and confined on the 
famous prison ship "Jersey." He mar- 
ried Chloe Todd, daughter of Titus Todd. 

(VII) Lyman Tuttle, second son of 
Samuel (3) and Chloe (Todd) Tuttle, 
was born in North Haven, June 15, 1790, 
and died at the age of eighty-four years. 
He went to Middletown with his parents, 
but did not remain there long. As a 
young man he removed to Windsor, Con- 
necticut, and purchased a farm. This he 
conducted in connection with a brick 
manufacturing plant. Later he removed 
to Newfield, Connecticut, and there pur- 
chased from George Gaylord and John 
Cornwall, the brick yard formerly con- 
ducted by them. This was the beginning 
of the business which to-day bears the 
Tuttle name, and which has become fa- 
mous throughout the State for the excel- 
lence of the brick manufactured, and the 
uprightness of its manufacturers. 

Mr. Tuttle married Martha Tuttle, born 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Rowe, Massachusetts, March 7, 1794, 
daughter of Jude and Lovica (Smith) 
Tuttle, granddaughter of Captain Itha- 
mar and Rhoda (Barnes) Tuttle, great- 
granddaughter of Aaron and Mary (Mun- 
son) Tuttle. Aaron Tuttle was a son of 
William and Mary (Abernatha) Tuttle, 
grandson of Jonathan and Rebecca (Bell) 
Tuttle, of North Haven. Jonathan Tuttle 
was baptized July 8, 1637, in Charlestown, 
Massachusetts, a brother of John Tuttle, 
and son of William and Elizabeth, first 
above named. 

(VIIT) George Lyman Tuttle, son of 
Lyman and Martha (Tuttle) Tuttle, was 
born August 15. 1822, in Windsor, and 
died March 10, 1890, in Middletown. He 
lived in Windsor until 1842, in which 
year his father removed to Newfield, and 
the son naturally accompanied him. Af- 
ter the death of his father, Mr. Tuttle 
assumed the cares of the brick business, 
and established it on a firm business 
basis. He continued actively in the man- 
agement of this business until his sons 
became of age and were able to take some 
of the care from him. In April, 1896, the 
business was incorporated under the name 
of Tuttle Brick Company. The plant is 
the second largest in the State and the 
output is in comparison. 

Many of the finest buildings in Middle- 
town were built from bricks manufac- 
tured at this plant, and there are large 
shipments made to other points through- 
out New England. Three large yards are 
operated within the limits of the town of 
Middletown. and monthly shipments of- 
ten double the annual output of thirty 
years ago, at the time of Mr. Tuttle's 
death. The plant is considered the best 
equipped in Xew England, and its output 
grades the highest. Mr. Tuttle was a 
Democrat in politics, and was a member 
of the General Assembly in 1868. 

Mr. Tuttle married Lydia Nettleton, 



born January 8, 183 1, in Durham, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Esther (Bailey) Nettle- 
ton. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren : 

1. George Lyman Tuttle was born May 
31, 1854, in New^field, and there attended 
the public schools in summer only after 
the age of eleven years. From early boy- 
hood he was accustomed to make himself 
useful about the brick yard operated by 
his father, and is now superintendent of 
the Tuttle Brick Company. With his 
family he aids in the support of the North 
Congregational Church, of Middletown, 
and in politics, like all of his family, sup- 
ports the Democratic party. He is a 
member of Mattabessett Grange, of Mid- 
dletown. He married, April 12, 1882, 
Agnes A. Ross, who was born January 2, 
1855. in Middlefield, daughter of Abra- 
ham and Elizabeth (Steed) Ross, who 
came from Belfast, Ireland, and engaged 
in farming in the town of Middlefield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle are the parents of 
Belle Etta, Ernest Eugene, Lilla Edith, 
Arthur Richard, and George Howard 
Tuttle. 

2. Willis Tuttle, born December 29, 
1855. was actively associated in the oper- 
ation of the Tuttle brick yards until his 
death, March 28, 1910. He married. April 
2, 1881, Catherine J. Stone, born June 10. 
1859, daughter of John H. and Julia A. 
(Street) Stone, and they were the par- 
ents of children: Elmer L., Willis H., 
Harriett, Catherine, and Marion. 

3. Lilla Tuttle, became the wife of Wil- 
liam S. Bacon, a farmer of Newfield 
street. 

4. Wallace Monroe Tuttle, born July 
30. 1862, was educated in the Middletown 
public schools, which he left at the age of 
sixteen years to pursue the brick-making 
business, with which he has been iden- 
tified to the present time, and is now 
treasurer and general manager of the 



132 





^ 



^ yc-.ti^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Tuttle Brick Company. He has devoted 
himself assiduously to business with re- 
markable success, and has never attempted 
to partake of the management of public 
affairs, though a straightforward Demo- 
crat in political principle. He married, 
November i8, 1889, Jennie Bassett, who 
was born November 24, 1870, in North 
Haven, daughter of Manson A. and Ella 
M. (Terrell) Bassett, of that town. Their 
children are: Raymond M., deceased; 
Edna L., Monroe W., Warren B., and 
Leroy. 

5. Lewis Milton Tuttle was born Octo- 
ber 22, 1871, at Newfield, and there at- 
tended the public schools. During two 
winters he attended a business college in 
Hartford, and since sixteen years of age 
he has been actively connected with the 
business of the Tuttle brick yards. He 
was first employed in both yards and 
office, and thus became familiar with all 
branches of the business. At the present 
time he is president and secretary of the 
Tuttle Brick Company, in the success of 
which he has been partly instrumental. 
In his time the business has been im- 
mensely developed, as previously stated. 
He attends and supports the Baptist 
church, of Middletown, and is a member 
of Middletown Lodge, No. 771, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. Polit- 
ically a Democrat, he served several years 
on the Middletown Board of Relief. Mr. 
Tuttle married, February 13, 1896. Bri- 
zalla Rumley Clew, who was born in 
Cork, Ireland, daughter of Michael and 
Catherine Clew. At the age of fifteen 
years she came to America to join her 
brothers and sisters who had preceded 
her. Mr. and Mrs. Tuttle are the parents 
of the following children : George Byron ; 
Milton Lewis, died in infancy ; Mary 
Louise, Laura Isabelle, Willis Lyman, 
Clarence Raymond, Lewis Stanley, Ellen 
Lydia, and Wallace Walton Tuttle. 



WINCHESTER, Caleb Thomas, 

Educator, Anthor. 

Caleb Thomas Winchester's memory 
will long live in the hearts and minds of 
Wesleyan men. At his death he was 
mourned by all, as a teacher, as a scholar 
and as a friend. He was one of the two 
oldest and best known of Wesleyan's fac- 
ulty and also was one of those directly 
responsible for her primacy to-day. 

Professor Winchester was born in 
Montville, Connecticut, January 18, 1847. 
and died at his home in Middletown, 
March 24, 1920. He was a son of Rev. 
George F. Winchester, a Methodist min- 
ister ; his grandfather also was a min- 
ister. Soon after his eighth birthday the 
parents of Professor Winchester removed 
to Middleboro, Massachusetts, and the 
young man's college preparation was re- 
ceived at Wesleyan Academy, Wilbra- 
ham. In 1865 he graduated and the same 
year entered Wesleyan University, where 
his scholastic work was of the highest 
type. In 1869 he received his degree of 
B. A. with Phi Beta Kappa rank, and he 
received his degree of M. A. in 1872. 

Professor Winchester first served Wes- 
leyan University in an official capacity in 
1869 as college librarian. He was only 
twenty-seven years of age when he was 
elected to the professorship of rhetoric 
and literature. The years of 1880 and 
1881 were spent abroad in study at the 
University of Leipsic, Germany. On his 
return to Wesleyan, in the year 1890, he 
was made Olin professor of English lit- 
erature, the chair which he held until his 
death. This professorship was named in 
honor of Stephen Olin, the second presi- 
dent of Wesleyan University. 

From 1890 to 1900 Professor Winches- 
ter gave the Donavan lectures on English 
literature at Johns Hopkins University ; 
he lectured annually for twenty-five years 

133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Wells College. In 1892 the degree of 
L. H. D. was conferred on Professor Win- 
chester by Dickinson College, and in 
1919, commemorating his half century of 
devotion to his alma mater, he was hon- 
ored with the degree of LL. D. He con- 
tinued actively at work until he was 
stricken with illness some three months 
before his death. Several positions of 
distinction have been held by Professor 
Winchester; he was long president of the 
board of trustees of Wilbraham Acad- 
emy, and in 1904 was a member of the 
committee for the revision of the Method- 
ist hymnal. 

Much of Professor Winchester's best 
literary work has never been published. 
He has always wished to reserve the best 
that was in him for classroom and lec- 
tures. His few published works, how- 
ever, are of the highest merit. Among 
them are : "Five Short Courses of Read- 
ing in English Literature," published in 
1892; "Some Principles of Literary Crit- 
icism," 1899; "A Life of John Wesley," 
1906; "A Group of English Essayists," 
1910; "Representative English Essays," 
1914 ; "Addison's Roger de Coverly Pa- 
pers," 1914; "Wordsworth : How to Know 
Him," 1916. 

Professor Winchester married (first) 
Julia Stackpole Smith, of Middletown, 
Connecticut, December 25, 1872, and she 
died Jime 25, 1877. He married (second) 
Alice Goodwin Smith, of Fairhaven, Mas- 
sachusetts, who survives him. He is also 
survived by his son, Julian Caleb Win- 
chester, and his brother, George F. Win- 
chester, of Paterson, New Jersey, and a 
sister, Frances Winchester. 

Nothing could be more fitting to close 
this biography than the following from 
the pen of Professor William North Rice, 
for fifty years his colleague. "He was a 
useful and efificient member of the faculty 
in the general work of the college ; his 



usefulness has not been exclusively in the 
college ; he has been a faithful member of 
his church and a useful citizen in the 
community." Professor Winchester lived 
a long and useful life, and in the words 
of the poet whom he loved, his was 

An old age, serene and bright, 
And lovely as a Lapland night 



FAIRBANK, William Goodnow, 

Noted Educator. 

A man of much force of character, read- 
iness of mind and executive ability, Wil- 
liam G. Fairbank is widely known in 
educational endeavor throughout the 
United States. For over thirty years he 
was superintendent of the Connecticut 
Industrial School for Girls at Middle- 
town, and through his commendable work 
has brought honor to the name of Fair- 
bank, which is his by adoption, but one 
that he has upheld in a manner worthy of 
those who bore it before him or have lent 
it luster in other fields of activity. 

Previous to the year 1600, Jonathan 
Fairbank, founder of the family in this 
country, was bom in England. At the 
age of thirty-three years he came to Mas- 
sachusetts and located at Boston, with his 
family. One of the original proprietors 
of Dedham, he settled there soon after 
1636, and was one of the signers of the 
famous covenant of the settlers. There 
he was admitted to full communion in the 
church, August 14, 1646, and served as a 
town officer. His wife, Grace, survived 
him four years, and died December 28, 
1673. He died December 5, 1669. 

Jonas Fairbank, son of Jonathan and 
Grace Fairbank, was bom in England, and 
came to America with his parents. He 
was a "father" to the town of Lancaster, 
Massachusetts, in 1659, having settled 
there in 1657. A farmer and carpenter, 
he was killed by the warriors of King 

34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Philip, February lo, 1675. He married, 
May 28, 1658, Lydia Prescott, who was 
born August 15, 1641, in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, daughter of John Preston, 
who came from Halifax, England. 

Captain Jabez Fairbank, son of Jonas 
and Lydia (Prescott) Fairbank, was born 
January 8, 1670, in Lancaster, and died in 
that town, March 2, 1758. He gained dis- 
tinction by his exploits in the Indian wars. 
His wife, Mary Wilder, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Houghton) Wilder, 
died February 21, 1718. 

Deacon Thomas Fairbank, son of Jabez 
and Mary (Wilder) Fairbank, baptized in 
Lancaster in 1707, like his father per- 
formed brave and efficient service in the 
Indian campaigns. He married, April 24, 
1729, Dorothy Carter, born February 4, 
1711, died September 13, 1784, daughter 
of Samuel and Dorothy (Wilder) Carter. 

Oliver Fairbank, son of Deacon Thomas 
and Dorothy (Carter) Fairbank, was born 
April 25, 173 1, in that part of Lancaster 
now Sterling, and performed valiant serv- 
ice in the War of the Revolution. As a 
private he marched with the company 
commanded by Captain Daniel Robbins, 
in Colonel Asa Whitcomb's regiment, 
April 19, 1775, from Lancaster to Cam- 
bridge. In the Lancaster company that 
marched on the Bennington Alarm, Au- 
gust 21, 1777, he was a corporal. He 
married, March 3, 1772, Susanna Gates, 
daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth 
Gates, of Littleton, Massachusetts. 

Captain Paul Fairbank, son of Oliver 
and Susanna (Gates) Fairbank, was born 
in 1781, in Lancaster, Massachusetts, and 
died in Sterling, same State, July 12, 1859. 
He married, April 9, 1801, Catherine 
Phelps. 

Ephraim Fairbank, son of Captain Paul 
and Catherine (Phelps) Fairbank, was 
born June i, 1811, and died November 10, 
1892. He married Susan Stearns, born 
October 12, 1812. 



William Goodnow Fairbank, adopted 
son of Ephraim and Susan (Stearns) Fair- 
bank, was born February 24, 1840, in 
Sterling, Massachusetts, and received 
superior educational training. In i860 he 
graduated from the State Normal School 
at Bridgewater, Massachusetts, and im- 
mediately began the teaching career, 
which has brought him much honor and 
been of great service to humanity. He 
first taught in the Farm School of Bos- 
ton Harbor and was later associated with 
the faculty of the Lyman School for Boys, 
at Westboro, Massachusetts. At the end 
of six years in this position he resigned 
to become superintendent of the State 
Reform School of Vermont, where he 
gave valuable service for seventeen years. 
Its cessation brought gain to the Connec- 
ticut Industrial School for Girls, of which 
Mr. Fairbank was appointed superintend- 
ent in 1886. To this responsible position, 
so full of opportunities for good, he gave 
his entire thought and energy until his 
retirement, June 4, 1917, at the age of 
seventy-seven years, and the close of more 
than thirty years' continuous labors in 
this place, and fifty-four years in the same 
line of duty. 

This institution was incorporated in 
1868, and was formally opened June 30, 
1870. Coming to its charge within a few 
years, Mr. Fairbank, with the aid of his 
talented wife, practically shaped its scope 
and methods. It is not a State institu- 
tion, but a private charity, incorporated 
and employed by the State for the cus- 
tody, guardianship, discipline, and in- 
struction of girls. The State, as the com- 
mon parent and guardian of the commu- 
nity, treats them as minors and wards. 
The school was founded by private char- 
ity, and is under the control of a self- 
perpetuating board of directors, originally 
chosen by the donors to its funds, together 
with three ex-officio State officers. 

Its design is not that of a prison to 

35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which criminals are sent for punishment, 
but that of a temporary place of custody 
and instruction. Its object is prevention 
and reformation, by giving to the chil- 
dren that special physical, mental, moral, 
social, and industrial training necessary 
to fit them for life. Just as soon as this 
is accomplished, and they can be placed in 
suitable circumstances elsewhere, their 
connection with the school ceases. Hun- 
dreds of girls have gone from the depart- 
ments equipped for good housekeeping 
and home making. 

Fairbank Hall, of which Mr. Fairbank 
was the architect and builder, has always 
been a source of pleasure and profit. The 
piano in the hall was largely paid for by 
the graduate girls of the school. 

Hundreds of girls in every part of the 
State and many other states look back on 
years spent there as the best training they 
ever had. They are now happily mar- 
ried, for the most part, and have homes 
and daughters of their own, whom they 
are training in the same loving way that 
Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Fairbank, for thirty 
years heads of the school, trained them 
many years ago. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fairbank have led splen- 
did lives of service. Both were adopted 
children themselves and were brought up 
by kindly people who instilled in them 
the doctrine of the Good Samaritan — the 
gospel of Love. While working out this 
gospel their separate ways, in educational 
work, they met. Each was drawn to the 
other by their mutual interest in con- 
structive school work. It was a religion 
with them — for they saw education in the 
broadest light, not only for the instruction 
of the mind, but for the refinement of the 
moral perceptions. They were well qual- 
ified for the work of the school, taking 
young girls from discordant homes where 
the little ones were acquiring or had al- 
ready acquired the coarsened viewpoint 



that results in crime. By the wholesome 
influence of love and systematic instruc- 
tion in useful tasks the Fairbank's plan 
won the girls to better things. Under 
their supervision the school gained a fine 
reputation throughout the State and in 
neighboring states. 

Practically all of the institutions at the 
school were started and nurtured by Mr. 
and Mrs. Fairbank. For years they had 
dreamed of an honor home for the girls, 
and through the influence of Mr. Smith, 
the president of the board of directors, it 
was decided to build one. The Smith, or 
Honor, Home of the school has aided 
much in preparing girls for outside life. 
They were required in the different homes 
of the school to attain by good conduct 
the grade of trust before they were eligi- 
ble to Smith Home. Here more individ- 
ual responsibility was expected to be as- 
sumed by each girl in meeting and con- 
trolling the every-day experiences of life. 
They were called upon at times to assist 
in the various departments of the school. 
If an officer was ill or called away unex- 
pectedly, they filled the position tempo- 
rarily. They were expected to so carry 
themselves in the varied departments of 
work, study, and recreation as to be 
worthy members of Smith Home. Thus 
it was a valued test of character. 

If they continued to do well, they re- 
mained in the home until they left the 
school. If they were indififerent and de- 
served demerits, they were suspended for 
a time and sent to the home or cottage 
from which they came. The time of sus- 
pension might be one week, or longer, ac- 
cording to the offence. In this way the 
girls learned to conquer self and circum- 
stances, and they passed from one degfree 
of responsibility to another so gradually 
and so naturally that they found but little 
difference between the school and an out- 
side home. 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Middletown school was the first 
in the United States to have a cooking 
school, sewing school and an honor home. 
Now there are a number in different 
states. Mr. Fairbank is the oldest reform 
school superintendent in the United 
States. His one great aim was for all at 
the school to be as nearly as possible a 
well-regulated Christian family. 

Mr. Fairbank was married, December 
2, 1862, to Margaret Lefler, and to her a 
large amount of credit and praise is due 
for the success of his work since that 
time. A true and faithful coadjutor, she 
is equally beloved with him by all those 
with whom they have been brought in 
contact. Their son, William Ephraim 
Fairbank, born February 25, 1867, was 
also of great service in the conduct of 
the Middletown school. Gifted with rare 
musical talent, he was able to interest 
while leading in musical instruction, and 
was in charge of the four school 
rooms. He visited other schools and in- 
corporated new systems to keep his 
classes up to the standards of the time. 
He married Claribel Simonds, who died 
in March, 1914. They were the parents 
of two daughters: Jessie Margaret, born 
in 1895 ; and Dorothy Wilder, born in 
1897. The elder of these daughters grad- 
uated from Wellesley College and studied 
a year at Columbia University. The 
younger daughter studied the piano two 
years at Demarest's Musical School in 
New York. An adopted daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. W. G. Fairbank, Mabel Lucy, 
is now the wife of Dr. Frank O. Garrison, 
of Brooklyn, New York. 



HURLBUT, George Elmer, 

Mamnfactnrlng Executive. 

It is a source of great satisfaction to 
trace the ancestry of a family back to 
those early pioneers who contributed so 



much to the upbuilding of the beautiful 
country we enjoy today. But it falls to 
very few to number among their progen- 
itors as many of these men as does George 
E. Hurlbut, manager of the Vulcan Iron 
Works, of New Britain, Connecticut. Mr. 
Hurlbut traces his ancestry to no less 
than seventy-one immigrants who came 
to New England and settled in the 
Colonies there prior to 1690, among them 
as follows : W^illiam Brewster, and 
James Chilton, ''Mayflower" passengers, 
1620; William Ford, William Lathan, 
John Winslow, 1621 and 1623, settlers of 
Plymouth. Those who settled at Salem, 
Massachusetts, were : Samuel Edson, 
1628; Robert Adams, 1638; Thomas 
Tracy, 1636. At Braintree, Massachu- 
setts, there were: Samuel Allen, 1632; 
Thomas Bliss, 1635 ; Henry Flint, 1635. 
At Weymouth, Massachusetts, there 
were: Nicholas Byram, 1638; William 
Orcutt, 1664; Joseph Pratt, 1690. At 
Marshfield, Massachusetts, there was : 
Robert Carver, 1680. At Hingham, Mas- 
sachusetts, there were : Hugh Caulkins 
and Thomas Jones, 1638. At Scituate, 
Massachusetts, there were : Humphrey 
Turner, 1628; Rhodulphus Elmes, 1635; 
John Williams, 1643; Anthony Dodson, 
1650. At Watertown, Massachusetts, 
there were: John Whitney, 1634; John 
Dwight, 1635 ; Abraham Shaw, 1636. 
At Boston, Massachusetts, there were : 
Thomas Holcombe, 1630 ; Thomas Stough- 
ton, 1630; Robert Royce, 1631 ; Edward 
Elmer, 1632; William Douglas, 1640. At 
Newton, W'illiam Goodwin, 1632. At 
Ipswich, Launcelot Granger, 1648. At 
Gloucester, William Keeney, 1640. At 
Lynn, John Lay, 1638. At Newbury, 
Nathaniel Merrill, 1634. At Beverly, 
David Perkins, 1690. Thomas Spencer, at 
Cambridge, 163 1. Also at Cambridge, 
William W'adsworth and John White in 
1632. John Burbank, at Rowley, in 1640. 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Those immigrants who settled in Con- 
necticut were : Thomas Hurlbut, at Say- 
brook in 1635 ; Robert Hempstead, at New 
London in 1645; Miles More, at Milford 
in 1646; Thomas Sluman, at Norwich in 
1663, and Thomas Waterman there, five 
years later; Thomas Adkins, at East 
Hartford, in 1682. Among those who set- 
tled at Hartford were: John Crow, 1638; 
John Bidwell, 1639; Nicholas Desbor- 
ough, 1639; Thomas Burnham, 1639; 
Thomas Olcott, 1639; Balthasar De Wolf, 
1656; John Meekins, 1669; and William 
Partridge, the same year. 

(I) Thomas Hurlbut, the ancestor in 
direct line of descent, was one of the early 
settlers known for their courage and 
energy. He was born in 1610, and died 
after 1681. On August 11, 1635, he left 
London, England, in the ship "Bachelor," 
and was among those who settled at Say- 
brook, Connecticut. While at Saybrook, 
he was a member of a party of eleven 
men sent out, February 22, 1637, to burn 
leaves, weeds, and reeds upon the neck 
of land half a mile from the fort, and who 
while engaged in this work were attacked 
by Indians. Thomas Hurlbut was shot 
almost through the thigh, but escaped. 
After the Pequot War, he settled in 
Wethersfield, where he was the first 
blacksmith, an occupation which he had 
followed since coming to New England. 
For his services in the Indian wars, the 
Assembly voted him a grant of 120 acres 
of land, October 12, 1671. In 1640, 
Thomas Hurlbut served as clerk of the 
train-band ; was deputy to the General 
Court; juryman; constable in 1644; col- 
lector of taxes in 1647. The Christian 
name of his wife was Sarah, and their son 
was Stephen Hurlbut. 

(II) Stephen Hurlbut, son of Thomas 
and Sarah Hurlbut, was born about 1649, 
in Wethersfield. He was a mechanic by 
trade. He married, December 12, 1678. 



(HI) Thomas (2) Hurlbut, son of Ste- 
phen Hurlbut, was born January 23, 
1680-81, and died April 10, 1761. He was 
a tanner. He married, January 11, 1704- 
1705, Rebecca Meekins, daughter of John 
and Mary (Bidwell) Meekins. John Mee- 
kins was early in Hartford, and was a 
freeman in 1669. His will was dated No- 
vember 22, 1702. 

(IV) Amos Hurlbut, son of Thomas 
(2) and Rebecca (Meekins) Hurlbut, was 
born April 14, 1717, and died in 1777, pos- 
sibly February 28 of that year. He mar- 
ried (first), June 10, 1742, Hannah 
Wright, and she died in 1756. He mar- 
ried (second), March 3, 1757, Sarah Hills, 
and she died in 1764. His third wife 
whom he married, March 10, 1766, was 
Sarah Latimer. 

(V) Stephen (2) Hurlbut, son of 
Amos and Sarah (Hills) Hurlbut, was 
born December 12, 1760, and was baptized 
the twenty-eight of the same year. He 
died May i, 1807, at Winsted, Connecti- 
cut. Stephen Hurlbut was in the Revolu- 
tionary War. He enlisted in 1778, in the 
regiment of Colonel Samuel B. Webb. 
This regiment was present at the battle 
of Springfield, June, 1780, and during the 
following summer served with the main 
army on the Hudson. His service was 
continued in this regiment, reorganized in 
1 781 as the Third Regiment, Connecticut 
Line. Stephen Hurlbut married, about 
1786, at Salisbury, Connecticut, Abigail 
Meeker, born August 14, 1768, died May 
14, 1854, at West Hartford, Connecticut. 

(VI) Amos (2) Hurlbut, son of Ste- 
phen (2) and Abigail (Meeker) Hurlbut, 
was born February 13, 1792, died March 
26, 1873, at West Hartford. He married, 
September 15, 1827, at West Hartford, 
Eleanor Elmer, born June 7, 1797, died 
January 22, 1887, daughter of Joseph (3) 
and Ruth (Stoughton) Elmer. (See El- 
mer V). 

138 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VII) Amos W. Hurlbut, son of Amos 
(2) and Eleanor (Elmer) Hurlbut, was 
born September i, 1838, at West Hartford, 
and died May 3, 1903. Amos W. Hurlbut 
was engaged in railroad work in his 
younger days, part of the time in New 
Haven, where he was trainman for a 
number of years. Later he returned to 
West Hartford, where he followed farm- 
ing as long as he lived. He enlisted in 
Company D, 22nd Regiment, Connecticut 
Volunteer Infantry, and served nine 
months in the Civil War, and was a mem- 
ber of Robert O. Tyler Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic. 

He married, October i, 1861, Ellen 
Barbara De Wolf, born January 26, 1844, 
daughter of Judson Fox and Huldah 
(Carver) De Wolf, whose line is traced 
further. 

(VIII) George Elmer Hurlbut, son of 
Amos W. and Ellen B. (De Wolf) Hurl- 
but, was born in New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, Februarj- 15, 1867. He was educated 
in the grammar schools of West Hart- 
ford and Hartford, and the West Hart- 
ford High School. For a couple of years 
following, he worked at various things, as 
was the custom with boys of his age, and 
then attended the Cheshire Military 
Academy, graduating in 1886. For a 
short time following, Mr. Hurlbut was 
connected with the Holyoke Water 
Power Company. Before entering the 
employ of the Vulcan Iron W'orks, of 
which he is now general manager, Mr. 
Hurlbut spent six months with the 
American Pin Company, at Waterbury. 
His first position with the Iron Works 
was in the capacity of time keeper, and he 
consistently rose from one position to an- 
other, each new position carrj'ing more 
responsibility until he was made general 
manager in 1909. Subsequently, when 
the Vulcan Iron Works became a part of 
the Eastern Malleable Iron Company, Mr. 



Hurlbut was retained in his present posi- 
tion, sufficient warrant of his ability. On 
an average there are about 350 men under 
his management. 

Mr. Hurlbut is a Republican in politics, 
and served a year as a member of the 
New Britain Council ; three years on the 
Board of Public Safety, the last year as 
chairman. Fraternally, he is a member 
of Phoenix Lodge, No. 52, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of which he is 
past grand, and in 1909 was grand master 
of the Grand Lodge. He is past priest of 
Comstock Encampment, of New Britain, 
and is a member of the Uniform Rank. 
He holds the rank of captain in the Put- 
nam Phalanx. 

Mr. Hurlbut married Grace Caswell, 
a daughter of John N. Caswell, of Hart- 
ford, and they are the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Virginia Caswell. 

(The Elmer Line). 

(I) Edward Elmer, the ancestor, was 
born in England, and died in June, 1676. 
He came in the ship "Lion" to Boston, 
Massachusetts, in 1632, and was in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1636. He was also 
a first settler in Northampton in 1654, and 
returned again to Hartford, in 1660. He 
had a large tract of land east of the river 
at Podunk, now South Windsor, where 
he was killed by Indians in June, 1676, 
during King Philip's War. His marriage 
probably took place in Hartford, and the 
Christian name of his wife was Mary. 
Their son was John Elmer. 

(II) John Elmer, son of Edward and 
Mary Elmer, was bom in 1646, and died 
September 21, 1711. About October, 
1669, he married Rosamond Ginnuarie, of 
Hartford, and they lived in Podunk. 
They had a son, Joseph Elmer. 

(III) Joseph Elmer, son of John and 
Rosamond (Ginnuarie) Elmer, was born 
in 1678, and died at Windsor, Con- 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



necticut, July 24, 1758. He married, April 
4, 1700, Jane Adkins, born about 1678, 
died December 8, 1760, daughter of 
Thomas Adkins, of Hartford. The latter 
was born undoubtedly in England, and 
died in 1694. He was first in East Hart- 
ford in 1682, and the inventory of his es- 
tate amounted to £ 180. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Elmer, son of Joseph 
(i) and Jane (Adkins) Elmer, was born 
September 16, 1718, and died at East 
Windsor, July 14, 1769. He married 
Sarah Burnham, born July 19, 1727, died 
August 15, 1812, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Spencer) Burnham. She was a 
direct descendant of Thomas Burnham, 
born in 1617, died June 28, 1688. He came 
from Gravesend, England, in 1635, and 
later settled in Hartford. In 1629, he 

married Anna , born in England, 

died August 5, 1703. 

(V) Joseph (3) Elmer, son of Joseph 
(2) and Sarah (Burnham) Elmer, was 
born May 16, 1759, and died December 
t8, 1837. He married, probably about 
1780, Ruth Stoughton, born February, 
1760, died at West Hartford, December 
18, 1843, daughter of Oliver and Eleanor 
(Burbank) Stoughton. She descended 
from Thomas Stoughton, said to have 
come in the "Mary and John" in 1630, to 
Dorchester, Massachusetts. Mr. and 
Mrs. Elmer were the parents of Eleanor 
Elmer, who became the wife of Amos 
(2) Hurlbut, as above mentioned. 

(The DeWolf Line). 

Balthasar De Wolf was known to be 
alive in 1695. He was of Hartford in 
1656, and of Wethersfield in 1664. Four 
years later record is found of him in Lyme, 
Connecticut. 

(II) Simon De Wolf, son of Balthasar 
De Wolf, was born in 1648. He married, 
November 12, 1682, Sarah Lay, born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1665, daughter of John and Sarah 



Lay, and granddaughter of John Lay, who 
was of Saybrook in 1648. Their son was 
Josiah. 

(III) Josiah De Wolf, son of Simon and 
Sarah (Lay) De Wolf, was born in Lyme, 
in 1689, and died in 1767. He married 
(first) Anna Waterman, born in 1689, 
died December 21, 1752, daughter of 
Thomas and Miriam (Tracy) Waterman. 
The latter were married in Norwich, in 
November, 1668, and Thomas Waterman 
was propounded for freeman in 1671. 
Josiah De Wolf married (second) Abigail 
(Comstock) Lord, and she died in 1773. 

(IV) Simon De Wolf, son of Josiah and 
Anna (Waterman) De Wolf, was born in 
Lyme, in 1718, died there in 1755. He 
married, January 31, 1745, Lucy Calkins, 
born August 6, 1723, died in 1798, daugh- 
ter of Stephen and Sarah (Calkins) Cal- 
kins. The immigrant ancestor of this 
family was Hugh Calkins, whose line is 
traced later. 

(V) Elisha De Wolf, son of Simon and 
Lucy (Calkins) De Wolf, was born in 
Lyme, February 16, 1748, died in Deer- 
field, Massachusetts, March 7, 1838. 
Elisha De Wolf lived in Marlow, New 
Hampshire, and Deerfield, Massachusetts. 
He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War. He married Lydia More, born 
February 24, 1748, died September 21, 
1827, daughter of Abel More, of Lyme, 
Connecticut. 

(VI) Abel De Wolf, son of Elisha and 
Lydia (More) De Wolf, was born July 17, 
1778, and died March 26, 1825. He married 
(first), October 22, 1800, Polly Whitney, 
born November 22, 1779, daughter of 
David and Rachel (Ransom) Whitney, 
and a descendant of John Whitney, who 
was early in Watertown. 

(VII) Judson Fox De Wolf, son of 
Abel De Wolf, was born about 1805, and 
died August 17, 1871. He married, in 
March, 1827, Huldah Carver, born No- 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember 14, 1S08, died April 15, 1899, 
daughter of John and Bathsheba (Edson) 
Carver, a descendant of Robert Carver, 
born in 1594. Ellen Barbara De Wolf, 
their daughter, became the wife of Amos 
W. Hurlbut, as above mentioned. 

(The Calkins Line). 

Hugh Calkins, born in 1600, died at 
Norwich, Connecticut in 1690. He was of 
Hingham, Massachusetts, in 1638, and of 
Marshfield, Massachusetts, in 1640. In 
1642 he was a freeman of Gloucester, 
Massachusetts, held several public offices, 
among them being selectman, representa- 
tive, and other minor offices. The Chris- 
tian name of his wife was Ann, and they 
were the parents of a son, John Calkins, 
whose son, Hugh Calkins, married Sarah 
Sluman. Their son, Stephen Calkins, 
married Sarah Calkins, daughter of Jon- 
athan and Sarah (Turner) Calkins, also a 
descendant of the immigrant, Hugh Cal- 
kins. Lucy Calkins, daughter of Stephen 
and Sarah Calkins, became the wife of 
Simon De Wolf, as above mentioned. 



BLAU, Walter Alfred. 

Electrical Contraotor. 

Among the young business men of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, Mr. Blau has gained 
remarkable success through his initiative, 
industry, intelligence and integrity. He 
is a native of Connecticut, born March 
10, 1889, in New Haven, son of William 
Anton and Laura (Engel) Blau. His 
grandfather, Anton Blau, was born in 
June, 1822, in Baden, and died October 
25, 1890, at New Haven, Connecticut. He 
came from Germany and settled in Nor- 
wich. Connecticut, where he lived for 
many years. He was a soldier in the Rev- 
olution of 1848-49, and in the American 
Civil War, and thus acquired, by the best 
of rights, the privilege of enjoying Amer- 
ican citizenship. He was a book-binder 



by occupation and worked diligently at 
his trade until old age compelled its aban- 
donment. He married, about 1850, Kath- 
arine Koenig, born about 1831, in Hesse- 
Darmstadt, where her father was in the 
pottery business, died February 23, 1902. 

William Anton Blau, son of Anton 
Blau, born October 15, 185 1, in Norwich, 
Connecticut, lived in New Haven and was 
employed forty-two years as a book- 
binder and finisher by the O. A. Dorman 
Lithographing Company. On the dis- 
continuation of the business of this es- 
tablishment, Mr. Blau took charge of the 
binding and repairs in Yale Library, 
where he is still engaged. He married, 
Augusta Amelia Laura Engel, who was 
born May 2, 1853, in Berlin, Germany, 
daughter of Major Carl Gustave Engel, 
who was born March 11, 1824, in Cacp- 
nick, Germany. After coming to the United 
States, Mr. Engel enlisted in the New 
Haven City Guard, of which he was twice 
made captain. This office he resigned 
and became major of the 2nd Regiment. 
He also served as police commissioner, 
but was finally compelled to relinquish 
all activities on account of ill health. He 
participated in the attempted Revolu- 
tion of 1849 '" Germany and was driven 
into Switzerland. In 1854 he came to 
America, and died April 2, 1892, in New 
Haven. His wife, Fredericka Wilhel- 
mina Augusta Volker. was born October 
13, 1833, in Berlin, and died June 5, 1904, 
in New Haven. 

Walter Alfred Blau grew up in New 
Haven, where he attended the grammar 
school on Ferry street. Fair Haven, and 
the Strong School. After something less 
than a half year in the high school, he 
resigned his studies to pursue his natural 
bent for mechanics. Long before he left 
school he fitted up a workshop on the 
paternal premises and made special stud- 
ies and experiments in the use of elec- 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tricity. When about seventeen years old 
he was employed by the Harvey & Lewis 
Company in their New Haven store, 
where he was compelled to put in long 
hours for the princely salary of two and 
one-half dollars per week. By his in- 
dustry and capacity, young Blau soon 
gained an advance in salary and was em- 
ployed in the photographic department of 
another establishment. In the meantime, 
he pursued a course in electrical engineer- 
ing in the International Correspondence 
School of Scranton, Pennsylvania, and 
soon after secured a position with W. W. 
Gale & Company, electrical contractors 
of New Haven, where he was enabled to 
make practical application of the theories 
which he had imbibed by study. Here he 
was made stock clerk and was engaged in 
repair work and as salesman. In the 
meantime he built a very complete lab- 
oratory in his father's back yard from his 
own plans and there continued his exper- 
iments in all spare moments. After one 
and one-half years with Gale & Company 
he entered the employ of the New York. 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad Com- 
pany as a journeyman in its electrical 
department and was employed in install- 
ing electrical equipment on bridges, pas- 
senger and pumping stations and similar 
work. He installed the electrical equip- 
ment of the Lyme and Niantic lift-bridge, 
unassisted, which consumed a period of 
about three months. This was done when 
he was at the age of eighteen. This was 
pronounced by the officers and engineers 
to be the best equipment on the system 
and young Blau was soon given entire 
charge of the inspection and maintenance 
of practically all electrically equipped 
bridges owned by the New York, New 
Haven & Hartford railroad. He was em- 
ployed on the re-equipment of the double 
lift-bridge at Bridgeport, and the new pas- 
senger station at East Hampton, Connec- 



ticut, and on the installation of some ad- 
ditional ii,ooo volt apparatus at the Con- 
necticut Company's sub-station at Middle- 
town, Connecticut, etc. He was energetic 
and made himself useful to his employers 
and was able to save up the sum of $500.00 
with which to engage in business on his 
own account. 

When twenty years of age Mr. Blau 
observed what appeared a good opening 
in Middletown, and in 1909 he started 
business as an electrical contractor, em- 
ploying one helper and a bookkeeper. He 
occupied a small store on his present site 
(Main street, above Washingfton), and 
has built up a business which has required 
several enlargements since that time. 
Every year new space was secured, such 
as taking over the store next door, and in 
time his landlord built an extension on 
the rear of the two stores for use as a 
stock room and repair shop. This is of 
brick and is a safe and convenient loca- 
tion for Mr. Blau. His stafif now includes 
about twenty people, and he has equipped 
many prominent buildings, mills, and res- 
idences in Middletown and Middlesex 
county with electric lighting and power 
apparatus. For the past three years, in 
addition to the contracting department, 
he has carried a large stock of electrical 
appliances and his business in this depart- 
ment is continually growing. Within that 
short period he has disposed of an ex- 
ceedingly large number of electric wash- 
ers and more than three hundred vacuum 
cleaners, as well as many other labor- 
saving devices. When he began business 
in Middletown as a means of time-saving, 
he rode a motorcycle in the prosecution 
of his business, and now maintains two 
automobiles for the same purpose. His 
business extends down the Connecticut 
Valley to Saybrook and for a consider- 
able distance east and west of Middle- 
town. 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Blau has always found time in the 
midst of his growing activities to aid in 
promoting the public welfare, and for 
two years he was identified with the com- 
mittees on war work. He attends the 
North Congregational Church ; and is a 
member of Central Lodge, No. I2, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows ; and Saint 
John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted 
Masons. While sustaining well-estab- 
lished principles in political matters, he is 
independent of party control, although he 
usually sustains the Republican party. 
In 1918 he purchased what is known as 
the Morey residence on Lawn avenue, in 
Middletown, and in 1919 erected a cot- 
tage at Lake Pocotapogue, in East Hamp- 
ton, where his family resides during the 
summer months, and he finds recreation 
in canoeing, fishing, and the like. 

Mr. Blau was married, August 6, 1912, 
to Florence Elizabeth Bassermann, who 
was born August 14, 1893, in New Haven, 
and they are the parents of two sons : 
Walter Alfred, Jr., born July 2, 1913; and 
William Frederick, born September 19, 
1919. 



MOORE, De Marquis de Casso y Rujo, 
Fbysician, Surgeon. 

Dr. D. C. Y. Moore, successful physi- 
cian and esteemed resident of South Man- 
chester. Connecticut, graduate of a New 
York medical college, an interne of the 
leading homoeopathic hospital in New 
York State, and for twenty years in good 
practice in South Manchester and that 
district of Connecticut, was born July 24, 
1869, in New Boston, Massachusetts, the 
son of John Apollos and Irene Harriet 
(North) Moore, the former an educator 
most of his life, and the latter also in the 
teaching profession prior to her marriage. 

Dr. Moore's genealogy connects him 
with many old Colonial New England 



families, but, directly, he is a descendant 
of Andrew Moore, who was one of the 
first settlers of Windsor, Connecticut. 
Although it cannot be substantiated by 
existing records publicly filed, it is be- 
lieved to be more than probable that An- 
drew Moore was a son, or a near relative, 
of Deacon John Moore, who settled in 
Windsor, Connecticut, in 1630. How- 
ever, in the absence of authentic proof of 
that connection, Andrew Moore is placed 
as progenitor in America of the line to 
which Dr. D. C. Y. Moore, of the present 
generation, belongs. Andrew Moore is 
known to have been early of the Poquo- 
nock district of the town of Windsor, 
Connecticut, but the first town record re- 
garding him concerns his marriage, the 
entry being: "Andrew Moore & fara 
Phelpes yt was Dafter of famuell Phelpes 
ware married by capten Newberry, feb- 
ruary 15, 1671." In 1675, Andrew Moore 
was paid £1 17s. by Matthew Grant from 
town funds, on "warr account." This 
must have been for services against the 
Indians at about the time of the destruc- 
tion of Simsbury. On January 23, 1674, 
the town paid Andrew Moore, Nathaniel 
Pinney, and Joseph Griswold, by Matthew 
Grant, "for making a new ferry boat." 
They were paid £3 6s. 8d., in barter, and 
it seems that a tax levy was assigned 
before collection in the payment of debts 
at that time. It is, however, on record 
that Andrew Moore received all his share 
of payment for the boat in provisions. 
On August 24, 1678, he and thirty-four 
others were sued by James Cornish for a 
school bill of five shillings. His oldest 
child Sarah was then only six years of 
age. On December 20, 1680, he was paid 
by the town for labor on the church. He 
had a grant of land in Salmon Brook, now 
Granby, Connecticut, in 1680, in which he 
is called "Andrew Moore, the carpenter, 
of Windsor, Conn." At a later date An- 



143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



drew Moore bought land of John Gozard, 
on the "east side of the mountains, 
bounded easterly by Simsbury easterly 
bounds, southerly by John Pettybone, his 
lot (allias Jonathan Moore, his lot) the 
bredth of s'd lot westerly by the commons 
is fifty rods." On March 29, 1715, he 
deeded to his son, Benjamin Moore, "for 
divers good causes and considerations me 
thereunto moving, but especially in con- 
sideration of my fatherly love and affec- 
tion I have to my son Benjamin Moore," 
fifty acres of land in Turkey Hills, now 
East Granby. He lived in Windsor, 
where the births of all hi? children are 
recorded except William. He died No- 
vember 29, 1719. The inventory of his 
estate was made December 17, 1719, and 
amounted to £320. His widow Sarah 
was appointed administratrix. He had 
fifteen acres of land in Windsor, with 
house and barn, carpenter's tools, farm- 
ing implements, a cider mill, loom, spin- 
ning wheel, sw'ord and belt, and a library 
"prised at 8 shillings," besides two pieces 
of land in Simsbury. The distribution of 
the estate took place April 5, 1720, and 
each, of his nine children took a share of 
property, after the widow's share had 
been set apart. The direct line from 
Andrew Moore to Dr. D. C. Y. Moore, 
who is of the seventh generation, is 
through: William, 1684; James, 1716; 
William (2), 1740; Apollos. 1771 ; D. C. 
Y., September 18, 1804 ; and John Apollos, 
December 18, 1842. 

(I) In more detail, William Moore, son 
of Andrew and Sarah Moore, was born in 
1684, and died May 9. 1780, in Granby. 
Connecticut. His headstone is marked 
"Mr. William Moore," and, customarily 
in Colonial days, that designation was 
accorded to men of proven gentle birth or 
superior education only. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Case, who died in Gran- 
by, then Simsbury, September 29, 1739, 



when she was forty-nine years old. No 
record of this marriage can be traced, but 
he mentioned in his will a "piece of land 
he bought of his brother, William Case." If 
by brother he meant brother-in-law, then 
Elizabeth, daughter of William and Eliz- 
abeth (Holcomb) Case, born September, 
1689, was his wife. The second wife of 
William Moore was Damaris, daughter of 
Josiah and Sarah (Winchell) Phelps. 
"The aged William Moore" made his will 
November 7, 1773, and the distribution of 
the estate occurred October 30, 1781. Its 
value was £750, and the bequests in- 
cluded that to his "beloved wife Damaris," 
who by its provisions had right to "one- 
half the dwelling-house, one-quarter the 
cellar and well, one-quarter of the barn," 
and one-quarter of all his lands and mov- 
able estate, as long as she remained his 
widow. At that time she was eighty-one 
years of age. 

(II) James Moore, son of William and 
Elizabeth (Case) Moore, was born in 
Simsbury, June 6. 1716. He married 
Rachel, daughter of Matthew and Han- 
nah (Chapman) Grant, in Simsbury, May 
^S- 1737- She was born in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, and was of the family from 
which later sprang the illustrious Gen- 
eral U. S. Grant. James Moore died 
March 5, 1788, and was buried in East 
Granby. His will, dated December 19, 
1782, disposed of land in Mooretown, now 
part of Southwick, Massachusetts, and 
further land in Turkey Hills, now Granby. 
The will provided : "To my beloved wife, 
Rachel, the use of one half my brick 
house and home-lot containing about 44 
acres to use as long as she shall continue 
my widow, and to have ye liberty of ye 
use of my well, and to get Wood on my 
Mountain Lots during her Widowhood," 
and one-third of his movable estate. 

(HI) Of their eight children, their son, 
William (2) Moore, was their second 



144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born. He is of notable record, serving in 
the historic Bunker Hill engagement, un- 
der Captain Thomas Knowlton. He 
served three subsequent enlistments, and 
his final discharge was on May 5, 1780, 
from the Third Regiment, Connecticut 
line, Colonel Samuel Wyllis. He was 
born in Simsbury, it is believed about 
1740, and there took to wife Sarah, whose 
patronymic is believed to have been Hos- 
kins. They lived most of their life in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, where six of 
their eight children were born. 

(IV) Apollos Moore was their young- 
est child, and fourth son. He was born in 
1771, and settled in Barkhamsted, and 
died at Riverton, in the town of Bark- 
hamsted, Connecticut, in 1861, aged about 
ninety-one years. He owned considerable 
land, in fact the larger part of the site of 
the present village of Riverton. 

(V) His son, De Marquis de Casso y 
Rujo, was the third of his eight children 
bom to his wife, Candace (Beach) Moore. 
De Marquis de Casso y Rujo Moore was 
born on September 18, 1804, in Barkham- 
sted, Connecticut, and died in Colebrook, 
in 1889. In addition to a large agricul- 
tural estate, he owned a saw mill, and 
manufactured lumber on a large scale, 
being very successful. He married 
Thankful Roberts, born September 25, 
1808, died September, 1885, daughter of 
Judah and Mercy (Eno) Roberts, by 
whom he had nine children, including 
John Apollos, father of Dr. Moore, of 
South Manchester. 

(VI) John Apollos Moore, son of De 
Marquis de Casso y Rujo and Thankful 
(Roberts) Moore, was born in Colebrook, 
Connecticut, December 18, 1842, where he 
still lives. He was well educated, first 
attending the public schools of Cole- 
brook, from which he graduated to the 
Sufifield Literary Institute, later taking 
instruction at the Select School, Riverton, 

Conn — 10 — 10 145 



Connecticut, and eventually taking a com- 
mercial course in the Eastman Business 
College, of Poughkeepsie, New York, 
from which he graduated when twenty- 
one years old. Prior to his Eastman Col- 
lege course, however, he for three years 
was a teacher in schools of Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, and in others of 
Massachusetts. After deciding to forsake 
academic for commercial occupations, and 
graduating at Eastman College, John 
Apollos Moore for about a year lived in 
Winsted, Connecticut, where during that 
time he gained business experience as a 
hardware store clerk. During the suc- 
ceeding four years he engaged in inde- 
pendent business in New Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, as a general merchant. Since 
1872, he has lived in Robertsville, Con- 
necticut, where he again took up profes- 
sional work, within reasonable distance 
of his home. He has held appointments 
as educator in schools of New Hartford, 
New Boston, Tolland, and Colebrook, 
Connecticut, and in addition superin- 
tended, as best he could, the agricultural 
operations necessary each season upon 
the estate of which he was the owner, 
and since 1902 farming has been a hobby 
that has kept him in health, and from find- 
ing the days unduly long. Like many 
men of scholarly inclinations and acad- 
emic associations, Mr. Moore is very ret- 
icent, and has traveled but little, but he 
evidently has the respect of his town, for 
he was once elected to the State Legisla- 
ture, or General Assembly, as representa- 
tive of his district. He is a Republican 
in politics, and fraternally is a Mason, 
affiliated with a Winsted, Connecticut, 
lodge. And he has been an earnest church 
worker throughout his life, for many years 
having been deacon of the Baptist church. 
He married, March 3, 1866, Irene Har- 
riet North, born at Torrington (then 
Newfield). October 14, 1843, died May 20, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1905, daughter of Deacon Frederick and 
Harriet (Hoyt) North. She was de- 
scended from John North, who came to 
New England in 1635, in the ship "Susan 
and Ellen," disembarked in Boston har- 
bor, and eventually became one of the 
original proprietors and first settlers of 
the town of Farmington, Connecticut, the 
first offshoot from the church of the Rev. 
Thomas Hooker, founder of Hartford. 
Mrs. Irene Harriet (North) Moore in her 
maidenhood lived in Torringford, now 
Torrington, was educated there, and in 
the Winchester Free Academy, which 
school is now extinct, although the school 
building still stands. For some years 
prior to her marriage she was a school 
teacher ; in fact the family environment 
was distinctly academic, and one of her 
brothers, Frederick A. North, bachelor of 
science of New York University, came 
into national distinction as a lecturer on 
travel, the knowledge gained by world 
wide travels. He was reputed to have 
seven times circled the world, and he was 
in Peru, South America, in 1912, when he 
succumbed to an apoplectic seizure. To 
John Apollos and Irene Harriet (North) 
Moore were born the following children : 
I. Almira Ruble, born August 16, 1867; 
married Clayton H. Deming, of Tolland, 
Massachusetts, superintendent of the 
Tunis Club, to whom she bore five chil- 
dren : Arthur C, Harvey John, Lynn N., 
Allen M., and Vernera Deming. 2. De 
Marquis de Casso y Rujo, of whom fur- 
ther. 3. Frederick North, born Novem- 
ber I, 1871; a civil engineer; married 
Susie E. Bull, of New Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, who bore him six children : Al- 
thena Elizabeth, Richard Frederick, Al- 
faretta Irene, Ruby North, John Robert, 
Marion Marilla. 4. Harriet Thankful, 
born August 25, 1875 : she married Homer 
Deming, of Colebrook ; their children are : 
Bemice and Homer Deming. 5. Cicero 



John, born December 14, 1878; a dentist 
at Terryville, Connecticut; he married 
Lillian Tarr. 6. Irene Marilla, born May 
I, 1881 ; she was a school teacher; she 
married Grove \V. Deming. of Roberts- 
ville, professor of husbandry at the Moody 
School, Mount Herman, Massachusetts; 
two children : Irene and Grove. 7. Ira 
Winfield, born June 14, 1883; machinist, 
of Terryville, Connecticut; he married 
Iva Remington, and they have two chil- 
dren: Winfield R., and Ruth. 

(VII) De Marquis de Casso y Rujo (2) 
Moore (or in abbreviated form D. C. Y. 
Moore, as he is now known), was born 
July 24, 1869, and passed his boyhood in 
Robertsville, Connecticut, in which place 
his parents took up residence when he was 
only two years of age. He received his 
primary education in that village, attend- 
ing the common schools, eventually pro- 
gressing to the high schools of Winsted 
and Torrington, after which he matricu- 
lated at the New York University, taking 
the academic course thereat, and thus 
completing his general education. He 
had early resolved to enter professional 
life, in the medical branch and when only 
eighteen years of age had commenced his 
professional studies. He then became a 
student of medicine in the office of Dr. 
Walter Havens, then a resident of River- 
ton, Connecticut. Under his preceptor- 
ship he remained for three years, during 
the last two of which he was principal of 
an academy at New Greenwoods. Dr. 
Havens was an allopathic physician, and 
the principles of infinitesimals underlying 
the teachings of Hahnemann therefore 
necessarily had no place in the curriculum 
of the student of Dr. Havens. But he 
evidently was of independent mind, for 
it happened that young Moore eventually 
became a matriculate of the leading New 
York College of homoeopathy, the New 
York Homceopathic Medical College, with 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which was linked the extensive Flower 
Hospital, in the actual wards of which the 
undergraduates of the college received 
most of their scientific tuition, the fac- 
ulty of the college being also the medical 
staff of the hospital. Thus were the 
students of the New York Homoeopathic 
Medical College, when graduated, more 
than usually well fitted in practical under- 
standing of medicine. That institution 
also was one of the first medical colleges 
in New York State to adopt the present 
rigid pre-medical requirements, and the 
four-year course of medical study. How- 
ever, notwithstanding the exacting and 
extensive theoretical and practical course 
of medical study before graduation. Dr. 
Moore, after gaining his degree in May, 
1895, decided that before he entered pri- 
vate practice he would seek further prac- 
tical experience in the abundant clinical 
material present in the hospitals of the 
great metropolis. And he succeeded by 
competitive examination, and because of 
his place in the graduating class of his 
year, in gaining appointment to the resi- 
dent staff of Flower Hospital. There, 
and at Broome street, New York, Hos- 
pital, he served as interne for some 
months. He then, in September, 1896, 
was well equipped in knowledge of med- 
icine, theoretical and practical, to engage 
successfully in private practice. He re- 
turned to his native State, and opened an 
office for practice in South Manchester, 
where he has since remained, a period of 
twenty years of successful practice. Dr. 
Moore is well regarded professionally 
among his confreres of medicine through- 
out the State ; he specializes in physical 
diagnosis and general surgery, and was 
one of the first men in Connecticut to 
treat pneumonia with vaccine. Dr. Moore 
is said to be the only professional man 
in South Manchester to have performed 
an operation in New York City, after 



leaving his college hospital course. Dur- 
ing his interneship at Flower Hospital, 
Dr. Moore had much surgical practice, 
and subsequently, being invited to assist 
in giving a clinic in that institution, he 
performing two major operations. And 
Dr. Moore has aided very materially the 
Health Department of his adopted town, 
being chairman of the Board of Health 
since its organization in 191 3. The Board 
of Health of Manchester has a distinction 
unique in New England towns, in that 
with the exception of Brockton, Massa- 
chusetts, it has full control of all munic- 
ipal matters appertaining to sanitation. 
Dr. Moore is greatly interested in the de- 
velopment of the New Manchester Memo- 
rial Hospital, and is a member of its board 
of directors. 

Dr. Moore is identified with many pro- 
fessional, fraternal, and social organiza- 
tions. Among those to which he belongs 
are : Hahnemann Medical Society, the 
Hartford County Medical Society, the 
Surgeons' Club, of Rochester, Minnesota; 
the American Medical Association, and 
the Manchester Medical Association, of 
which he was president in 1914-15. Fra- 
ternally, he is affiliated with Phoenix 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of New Hartford ; and Manchester 
Lodge, No. 73, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Odd Fellows, Manches- 
ter Lodge ; Maccabees, Manchester 
Lodge ; and Knights of Pythias, of New 
Hartford. Socially, he is a member of 
the Manchester City and Country clubs, 
and although a professional man he shows 
his interest in town affairs by taking 
membership in the Manchester Chamber 
of Commerce. 

After gaining his medical degree, in 
1895, Dr. Moore married, on May 29 of 
that year, in New Hartford, Ida May 
Quilter, daughter of Thomas Joseph and 
Sarah (Tuttle) Quilter, of New Hartford. 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Quilter was born in England, and 
early gave military service ; he was as- 
signed to duty on board a warship, and 
eventually landed in India, where he re- 
mained for seven years, attached to a 
cavalry regiment, known as the "Gallop- 
ing Greys." Retiring from the army, he 
traveled extensively in the Orient and Far 
East, and when twenty-seven years of age 
came to America, where he remained. 
Locating in New Hartford, Connecticut, 
he became associated in responsible capac- 
ity with the Greenwood Manufacturing 
Company, superintending the plant in 
which was the widest loom in the district, 
some say, ever made. The firm manufac- 
tured sail cloth duck, and the sails for 
the famous American yacht "Vigilance," 
which held the United States in the lead 
in races against British vessels, were 
made under the supervision of Mr. Quil- 
ter. He married Sarah Tuttle, thus bring- 
ing the wife of Dr. Moore into the old 
Colonial New England house of Tuttle, 
headed by the brothers who came with 
their families to New England in the ship 
"Planter," in 1635. Mrs. Moore thus 
comes of Colonial and Revolutionary 
stock, as many of the Tuttles served mil- 
itarily during the Revolution ; and five of 
her uncles served during the Civil War. 
To the union of Dr. and Mrs. Moore 
there was issue, a son, Cedric Quilter, 
being born to them on April 2, 1900. Un- 
fortunately, this son died seventeen 
months later, on January 28, 1901, and no 
further children have been born to them. 



PARSONS, Fred A., 

Bniines* Man. 

The family name of Parsons is derived 
from Parson or Person, a term applied to 
those having dignity or authority, the 
final "s" being added to denote that the 
bearer of the name was a son in direct 



succession to the bearer of the title. The 
members of the family have always dis- 
tinguished themselves in their respective 
walks of life, and a worthy scion of this 
ancient name is Fred A. Parsons, a promi- 
nent business man of New Britain, Con- 
necticut. The oldest known Parsons of 
record was John Parsons, of Cuddington, 
A. D., 1284. In the roll of possessions in 
the Abbey of Malmsbury is the name of 
William le Parsons, in 1307. 

(I) The ancestor of the family. Cornet 
Joseph Parsons, sailed from Gravesend, 
England, July 4, 1635, in the "Transport." 
He was a son of Sir Thomas Parsons, of 
Great Milton, and was among the fol- 
lowers of William Pynchon's Colony of 
planters, who settled at Agawam, now 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in the spring 
of 1636. On July 15th of the same year, 
his name appears on a deed of cession 
from the Indians of the Connecticut valley 
to Pynchon's company. Joseph Parsons 
was a man of considerable importance in 
the Colony, and in 1642 he was one of the 
founders of the new plantation at North- 
ampton, and was one of the first pur- 
chasers of land from the Indians there in 
1645. He was a fur trader, and had the 
sole right of barter and traffic in furs in 
the valley, for which right he paid an- 
nually the sum of twelve pounds. He 
accumulated a large estate in land and 
goods. On November 26, 1646, he mar- 
ried Mary Bliss, daughter of Thomas and 
Margaret (Ford) Bliss, of Hartford. He 
died October 9, 1683. 

(II) Samuel Parsons, son of Joseph 
and Mary (Bliss) Parsons, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, January 23, 
1652, and in 1709 removed from North- 
ampton to Durham, Connecticut. About 
1691 he married as his second wife, 
Rhoda Taylor, daughter of Robert and 
Thankful (Woodward) Taylor, and in 
1709, under the leadership of Rev. Nathan- 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



iel Chauncey, they removed to Durham, 
as above stated. 

(III) Aaron Parsons, son of Samuel and 
Rhoda (Taylor) Parsons, was born April 
3, 171 1, in Durham, Connecticut. He 
married, February 6, 1732, Abigail San- 
ford. They made their home in Middle- 
field, Connecticut, and were the parents 
of Stephen Parsons. 

(IV) Rev. Stephen Parsons, son of 
Aaron and Abigail (Sanford) Parsons, 
was born September 5, 1748, and died at 
Denmark, now Lowville, New York, 
January 7, 1820. Rev. Stephen Parsons 
was of that branch of the Congregational 
church known as the Separatists. He 
was ordained a minister in 1788, and in- 
stalled as pastor at Middletown, where he 
remained for seven years. About 1794 he 
became a Baptist, and removed to White- 
stone, New York, where he organized a 
Baptist church. In after years he was 
the organizer of several churches through- 
out that section of New York State. He 
married (first), November 30, 1769, Eliza- 
beth Hambleton, born March 27, 1751, 
died February 11, 1777, and they were the 
parents of Aaron (2) Parsons. 

(V) Aaron (2) Parsons, son of Aaron 
(i) and Elizabeth (Hambleton) Parsons, 
was born December 13, 1770, at Middle- 
town, died at West Turin, New York, 
August 26, 1854. His wife, Jane, was 
born in 1773, and died in 1853. She was 
the mother of Aaron (3) Parsons. 

(VI) Aaron (3) Parsons, son of Aaron 

(2) and Jane Parsons, was born in 1801, 
died in 1870. He was a farmer in Ley- 
den, New York, and one of its most rep- 
resentative citizens. Mr. Parsons repre- 
sented the town in the Legislature, and 
was sheriff of Lewis county for many 
years. He was the father of Dwight 
Parsons. 

(VII) Dwight Parsons, son of Aaron 

(3) Parsons, was born in Leyden, New 



York, where he died in 1883. He learned 
the machinist trade, but followed it only 
a few years, and then established himself 
in business as a manufacturer of sash and 
doors. After a few years he gave up this 
business, and removed to Lakeville, Liv- 
ingston county. New York, and there kept 
a hotel for a few years. He removed in 
1875 to New Britain, Connecticut, and 
there entered the employ of the P. & F. 
Corbin Company, where he worked until 
his death, as foreman of the finishing de- 
partment. Mr. Parsons was a member 
of Harmony Lodge, Ancient Free and x\c- 
cepted Masons. He married Julia Good- 
rich, and their children were : Fred A., 
of extended mention ; Lina G., wife of 
James Bahom, of Bridgeport; Belle O., 
wife of Frank Ramsdell, of New Britain ; 
Clara, wife of George Shapleigh, of 
Springfield, Massachusetts ; Bertha C, 
wife of B. C. Merriman, of Bridgeport. 
With his family Mr. Parsons was an 
active member of the Congregational 
church of Leyden and New Britain. 

(VIII) Fred A. Parsons, eldest child of 
Dwight and Julia (Goodrich) Parsons, 
was born in Leyden, New York, January 
4, 1858, and attended the schools there and 
in Lakeville. For some years he worked 
as a bookkeeper, and then accepted a posi- 
tion with the H. R. Walker Company, in 
the trucking and warehouse business. Mr. 
Parsons started with this company when 
it was making its own start, and through 
faithful, diligent work he helped its in- 
terests and himself. Twelve years ago 
he became secretary, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the firm which is one of 
the largest concerns of its kind in Con- 
necticut. They operate sixty trucks, 
mostly horse-drawn, and employ about 
seventy-five or eighty men, the work for 
the greater part being for local business 
houses. Mr. Parsons is a member of the 
same Masonic Lodge as his father, and is 



149 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



also a member of Doric Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Ionic Council, Royal and 
Select Masters. He is past sachem of 
Mattabesett Tribe, Independent Order of 
Red Men ; past grand of Phoenix Lodge, 
No. 52, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows ; past chancellor patron of Comstock 
Encampment, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows; and a member of Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Parsons married Belle Gaylord, 
daughter of Edwin and Julia (Whaples) 
Gaylord, of New Preston, Connecticut. 



JACKSON, Francis Oliver, 

Agricnltarist, 

A descendant of an old Massachusetts 
family long identified with the leading 
business affairs of Middlesex county, 
Francis Oliver Jackson was born August 
8, i860, in the city of Middletown. The 
first known of the Jackson family was 
Christopher Jackson, who lived in Step- 
ney, a suburb of London, England. 

(I) Edward Jackson, son of Chris- 
topher Jackson, was born in Stepney, 
about 1602, and was baptized February 3, 
1604, at St. Dunstan's Church, Stepney. 
For some time he lived at White Chapel 
and was engaged in the manufacture of 
nails. In 1643 he set out for America, ac- 
companied by his wife, Frances, and in 
the same year purchased land in Cam- 
bridge village, near Boston. Three years 
later he purchased a farm of 500 acres in 
the same place, which had formerly been 
the property of Thomas Mayhew, of 
Watertown, who had purchased it from 
Governor Bradstreet. It extended west- 
ward, beginning near the present division 
line between Newton and Brighton and 
included what is now Newtonville. Some 
of this is still owned by the Jackson fam- 
ily with a homestead at No. 527 Wash- 
ington street, Newton. The original 



house was built before 1638, and stood 
until 1708. In 1645 Edward Jackson took 
the freeman's oath, and soon took rank as 
one of the leading men of Cambridge. 
For eighteen sessions he represented the 
town in the General Court, and in 1648 
was a member of a committee to revise 
the Articles of Confederation of the 
United Colonies. He filled various of- 
ficial stations of responsibility in Cam- 
bridge, and was a commissioner to end 
small causes for several years. He was 
constantly associated with Rev. John 
Eliot in his work in christianizing the 
Indians. He was a large owner of lands 
in Billerica and by will gave 400 acres to 
Harvard College. He was among the 
petitioners to set off Cambridge village 
from the town of Cambridge, and was 
probably the first slave holder in New- 
ton. He died, June 17, 1681, and his es- 
tate, which included over 1,600 acres of 
land, was appraised at £2,477 ^9^- 6d. 
Among his property were two man 
slaves valued at five pounds each. His 
wife, Frances, probably died on the 
voyage to America, as it appears that he 
married (second), in 1648, Elizabeth 
Oliver, widow of Rev. John Oliver, and 
daughter of John Newgate. 

(II) Sebas or Seaborn Jackson, fifth 
son of Edward and Frances Jackson, is 
said by tradition to have been born at 
sea on the voyage of his parents to this 
country. By the will of his father, he 
received the house in which the latter 
lived, with 150 acres adjoining his own 
homestead. The old house, built about 

1670, was eighteen by twenty-two feet in 
dimension, torn down in 1809. He died 
December 6, i6go. He married, April 19, 

1 67 1, Sarah Baker, born April 28, 1650, 
daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Baker, 
of Roxbury, died March 25," 1725, at 
nearly eighty-five years of age. By will 
of her husband, his entire estate was held 

50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for her maintenance, and was apportioned 
among their children in case of her re- 
marriage or death. 

(III) Edward (2) Jackson, son of 
Sebas and Sarah (Baker) Jackson, was 
born September 12, 1672, in that part of 
Cambridge, now Newton, and died March 
27, 1748. In 1734 he deeded to his son, 
Michael, sixty acres, which he had re- 
ceived from his father. His wife Mary, 
born about 1677, died March 5, 1753, in 
Newton. The records of that town give 
her age as eighty or eighty-six years. 

(IV) Michael Jackson, fourth son of 
Edward (2) and Mary Jackson, was born 
February 28, 1709, in Newton, was a 
tanner by occupation, and occupied the 
paternal homestead, where he died Au- 
gust 27, 1765, leaving an estate inven- 
toried at £453. He married, October 17, 
1733, Phoebe Patten, born December 2, 
171 1, in Cambridge, fourth daughter of 
Nathaniel and Deborah Patten, grand- 
daughter of Nathaniel and Rebecca 
(Adams) Patten, great-granddaughter of 
William and Mary Patten, who were 
among the earliest residents of Cam- 
bridge. 

(V) Michael (2) Jackson, eldest child of 
Michael (i) and Phoebe (Patten) Jack- 
son, was born December 18, 1734, in New- 
ton. He was very active in military af- 
fairs in which he gained the rank of gen- 
eral. He was lieutenant in the French 
and Indian War ; was a member of the 
famous "Boston Tea Party" who threw 
the tea into the harbor, previous to the 
Revolution. When the Revolution broke 
out, he was a private in a volunteer com- 
pany of minute-men in Newton, and on 
the alarm of April 19, 1775, because of 
the absence of commissioned officer, was 
elected captain for the day. He stepped 
from the ranks and at once led his com- 
pany to join the regiment at Watertown. 
When they arrived there the commis- 



sioned officers were holding a council in 
the schoolhouse and he was invited to 
participate. For a short time he listened; 
then took the floor, and in his speech 
said : "There is a time for all things, but 
the time for talking has passed, and the 
time for fighting come." It was "time 
now not for the wag of the tongue, but 
for the pull of the trigger." He left the 
council, took up the march, and was fol- 
lowed by a portion of his company, which 
came into contact with Lord Percy's Re- 
serves, near Comfort, and was soon scat- 
tered. Rallying south of the wood, they 
were joined by a part of a Watertown 
company and did effective work in har- 
rassing the retreating British. The New- 
ton company received the thanks of Gen- 
eral Warren for its bravery. 

Jackson was commissioned major June 
2, 1775, in the Continental army then in 
Cambridge, and on the first day of 1777 
was commissioned colonel of the Eighth 
Massachusetts Regiment. This body was 
distinguished throughout the war, and 
fought at Bunker Hill, where Colonel 
Jackson said he had forty-two fair shots 
at the enemy. In 1783 he was transferred 
to the command of the Third Massachu- 
setts, also of the Continental Line, and 
commissioned brevet brigadier-general 
under act of Congress, and served until 
November 3, 1783. In an action with the 
British near King's Bridge, above what 
was then New York, he received a severe 
wound from a musket ball, which shat- 
tered his leg below the knee, and from 
which he never entirely recovered. He 
died April 10, 1801, aged sixty-six years. 
The bearers at his funeral were all dis- 
tinguished officers of the Revolution. 
Five of his brothers and five of his sons 
were in the Revolutionary army. He 
married, January 31, 1759, Ruth Parker, 
of Watertown, Massachusetts, daughter 
of Ebenezer Parker. 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VI) Ebenezer Jackson, third son of 
General Michael (2) and Ruth (Parker) 
Jackson, was born December 18, 1763, in 
Newton. He was one of the five brothers 
holding commissions during the Revolu- 
tion, so that the family altogether com- 
manded six memberships in the Society 
of the Cincinnati. In 1792 he settled at 
Savannah, Georgia, was a planter and mer- 
chant, and late in life removed to Middle- 
town, Connecticut, where he died Octo- 
ber 31, 1837. He married, July 25, 1792, 
Charlotte (Fenwick) Pierce, born July 21, 
1766, widow of Major William Leigh 
Pierce, of the Continental Line, of 
Georgia, and daughter of Colonel Edward 
and Man,' (Drayton) Fenwick. 

The Fenwick family has been traced 
to Stanton, county of Northumberland, 
England, where Edward Fenwick mar- 
ried Sarah Neville, of Cheat, Yorkshire. 
Their third son, Robert Fenwick, born 
about 1640, married Ann Culcheth, of 
Northumberland, and was the father of 
John Fenwick, who settled in South 
Carolina, where he was king's counsellor 
and colonel of a regiment of Colonial 
troops. He died in London in 1747. He 
married Elizabeth Gibbs, and they were 
the parents of Edward Fenwick, born 
January 22, 1720, died July, 1775. He was 
king's counsellor also, and colonel in the 
South Carolina militia. He married, 
February i, 1753, Mary Drayton, born 
December 31, 1735. Their second son, 
John Roger Fenwick, was severely 
wounded and gained distinction in the 
War of 1812. Their seventh daughter, 
Charlotte, became the wife of Ebenezer 
Jackson as above related. 

(VII) Hon. Ebenezer (2) Jackson, 
second son of Lieutenant Ebenezer (i) 
and Charlotte (Fenwick-Pierce) Jackson, 
was born January 31, 1796, in Savannah, 
Georgia, and died August 17, 1874, at 
Middletown, Connecticut. At the age of 



fourteen years he entered St. Mary's 
College, near Baltimore, Maryland, from 
which he was graduated, and joined his 
parents at Middletown, Connecticut. He 
immediately took up the study of law at 
the Litchfield Law School in the class of 
1814, where he received a thorough pro- 
fessional training, and practiced law five 
years in Philadelphia, beginning in 1821. 
In 1826 he removed to his father's former 
residence at Walnut Grove, near Middle- 
town, which was his home for the re- 
mainder of his life. For several terms, he 
represented the town in the Connecticut 
Legislature, and in 1834-35 represented 
his district in the National Congress. He 
preferred the quiet life of a private citizen 
and repeatedly refused to be a candidate 
for office. His acquaintance was large, 
and he maintained a correspondence with 
statesmen and eminent men of his day. 
He continued to take an intelligent inter- 
est in the afifairs of the community in 
which he lived, was president of the In- 
dian Hill Cemetery Association, a mem- 
ber of the Church of the Holy Trinity, 
and was everywhere respected and es- 
teemed as a man of culture and ability. 
Hon. Ebenezer Jackson married Eliza- 
beth Harper, born July 28, 1801, in An- 
trim, Ireland, died May 28, 1838. 

(VIII) Arthur Harper Jackson, eldest 
child of Hon. Ebenezer (2) and Eliza- 
beth (Harper) Jackson, was born Novem- 
ber I, 1826, in Middletown, Connecticut, 
and died there March 9, 1869. In 1846 he 
graduated from Amherst College, being 
valedictorian of his class, and four years 
later graduated from the College of Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons in New York, where 
he studied especially under the celebrated 
Dr. Willard Parker. After the period of 
post-graduate college practice at Bellevue 
Hospital, New York, he settled at Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, and soon became 
interested in manufacturing, where he 



152 




^ 




T^^l 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continued until his death, March 9, 1869. 
He married, October 17, 1854, Mary- 
Thome, of Brooklyn, New York, bom 
October 4, 1825, died February 26, 1909. 
(IX) Francis Oliver Jackson, youngest 
child of Dr. Arthur Harper and Mary 
(Thorne) Jackson, was born August 8, 
i860, in Middletown, Connecticut, and 
lived for many years on the Jackson 
homestead at Walnut Grove. He was 
educated in the public schools of the 
town, and at Seabury Institute at Say- 
brook, Connecticut, from which he 
graduated in 1877. He then took up 
agriculture at Walnut Grove, where he 
remained some years, and subsequently 
spent eleven years in Kansas. In 1916 he 
removed to his present home in Portland, 
where he purchased a part of the old Gil- 
dersleeve estate, and is engaged quite ex- 
tensively in the production of tobacco. 
He also carried on general farming on 
leased lands. Mr. Jackson is a member 
of the Patrons of Husbandry, Mattabes- 
sett Grange, No. 42; of Middletown 
Lodge, No. 771, Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks ; and Apollo Lodge, No. 
3^. Knights of Pythias, of Middletown. 
He has never been very active in political 
movements, and is independent of party 
dictation in public matters. Like his an- 
cestors, he is identified with the Church 
of the Holy Trinity, Middletown. 



LYMAN, Abner Abiathar, 

Prominent Citizen. 

From the time of the earliest use of sur- 
names in England, the name of Lyman 
has existed. It is derived from the old 
Saxon personal name, "Leoman," and has 
been varied by different branches of the 
family, but Limas, Limon, Leamond, Ley- 
man, and Lyeman have been used. 

(I) Richard Lyman, the immigrant an- 
cestor, and son of Henry Lyman, was 



baptized at High Ongar, County Essex, 
England, October 30, 1580, and died in 
1640. In August, 1631, he sailed with his 
wife and children in the ship "Lion" for 
New England. This ship also carried 
Eliot, the famous Indian apostle. After 
landing at Boston, Massachusetts, Rich- 
ard Lyman proceeded to Charlestown, 
where he first settled, and there his wife 
joined the church of which Eliot was 
pastor. Richard Lyman was admitted a 
freeman, June 11, 1635, and in October of 
the same year joined the little band which 
formed the settlement of Hartford, Con- 
necticut. He was one of the original pro- 
prietors of Hartford, and received thirty 
parts of the purchase from the Indians. 
His house was located on the south side 
of what is now Buckingham street. His 
name is inscribed on the stone column in 
the rear of Center Church, in Hartford, 
erected in memory of the first settlers. 
Richard Lyman married Sarah Osborne, 
daughter of Roger Osborne, of Halstead, 
Kent, England, and they had one son, 
Richard (2) Lyman. 

(II) Richard (2) Lyman, son of Rich- 
ard (i) and Sarah (Osborne) Lyman, 
was born in England and baptized Feb- 
ruary 24, 1617. He and his two brothers 
were taxed in 1655 in Hartford for a rate 
assessed to build a mill. They probably 
removed the same year to Northampton, 
where in December, 1655, Richard Lyman 
was chosen one of the selectmen. In 1660 
he sold his father's homestead in Hart- 
ford. He married Hepsibah Ford, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Ford, of Windsor. He 
died June 3, 1662. 

(III) Richard (3) Lyman, eldest son 
of Richard (2) and Hepsibah (Ford) Ly- 
man, was born in Northampton. He mar- 
ried and was the father of Jonathan Ly- 
man. 

(IV) Jonathan Lyman, son of Richard 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(3) Lyman, married and was the father 
of Jacob Lyman. 

(V) Jacob Lyman, son of Jonathan 
Lyman, was born in Lebanon, Connecti- 
cut, May 4, 1721. He died in 1802. Jacob 
Lyman married, June 26, 1745, Mehitable 
Bushnell, of Lebanon, and it is probable 
that they removed soon after this time to 
Andover, Connecticut. 

(VI) Abiathar Lyman, son of Jacob 
and Mehitable (Bushnell) Lyman, was 
born January 15, 1758, and died Septem- 
ber 19, 1842. He was a tanner and cur- 
rier, and also cultivated rather a large 
farm. He married, December 25, 1782, 
Joanna Loomis, born October i, 1758, died 
July I, 1837. 

(VII) Eli Lyman, son of Abiathar and 
Joanna (Loomis) Lyman, was born in 
Andover, Connecticut, December 28, 1793, 
and died at Coventry, Connecticut, April 
21, 1856. He was a hatter by trade and 
followed this occupation many years. 
His wife was Hannah Darrow, and she 
died at the age of forty-four years, July 
31. 1854. 

(VIII) Abner Abiathar Lyman, son of 
Eli and Hannah (Darrow) Lyman, was 
born in Covington, Connecticut, January 
I, 1839, and died at New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, December 27, 1917. He was next 
to the oldest child in the family, and his 
mother died when he was but a boy. At 
the age of fourteen years his formal edu- 
cation was completed, and he went to 
work on a farm and was thus employed 
for the next four or five years in his na- 
tive town. In different places he contin- 
ued at farm work until 1874, in which 
year he went to New Britain and there 
was employed by Austin Brothers, whose 
sister he had previously married. They 
were plumbers, and Mr. Lyman learned 
the trade, and also the trade of tinsmith 
with them. Later they branched out into 
the sewer contracting business. Subse- 



quently changes were made in the busi- 
ness relations of the Austin Brothers, 
who finally left New Britain, and Mr. 
Lyman remained to look after the sewer 
contracting end of the work. In 1889 he 
engaged in this line of contracting on his 
own account, and was actively engaged 
in it until his death. For more than a 
quarter of a century he numbered among 
his constant patrons most of the larger 
industrial concerns of the city, and had 
almost a monopoly of that line of work 
in New Britain. At times he employed 
as many as twenty men, and he also dealt 
extensively in sewer pipe, cement and 
other materials used in sewer construc- 
tion. He superintended the laying of the 
first water pipes in the town of South- 
ington. He started in business with a 
capital of one dollar, and at the time had 
undertaken the expense incidental to a 
hospital operation on a daughter. But 
Mr. Lyman was a man of immovable de- 
termination, measureless ambition, inde- 
fatigable industry, and a reputation for 
honesty and square dealing that was un- 
questioned. He obtained his tools of a 
local dealer on credit, and never a week 
passed without his meeting his hospital 
bills and other obligations. Mr. Lyman 
was a man of great natural shrewdness, 
and possessed a memory most remarkable 
for its retentiveness. and a mind that re- 
tained its flexibility to the very end. 
Withal, he was extremely modest and 
unassuming, disliking anything that sav- 
ored of dogmatism, and seldom spoke 
positively, even concerning matters about 
which his knowledge was certain. But 
this habit of expression misled no one, 
for the uniform accuracy of his statements 
won the implicit confidence of all who 
had dealings of any kind with him. 

Mr. Lyman was a Republican in poli- 
tics, and his first presidential vote was 
cast for Abraham Lincoln. He always 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



took more than a passive interest in pub- 
lic affairs, and often was solicited to ac- 
cept nominations for public office, but his 
almost excessive modesty compelled him 
to decline the honors. 

Mr. Lyman married Harriet Eliza Aus- 
tin, daughter of Moses Seymour and 
Charlotte (Hale) Austin. Their children 
were: i. Jennie Charlotte, deceased; she 
was born at Windsor Locks, and died in 
Alarch, 1915, wife of Henry C. Talmadge, 
and mother of Marion Lyman, who mar- 
ried Frank R. Parker, principal of a school 
at Greenwich. Mr. and Mrs. Parker are 
the parents of three children: Frank R., 
Jr., Charlotte Serina, and Marion Tal- 
madge. 2. Ella M., who died young. 3. 
Ella Hale. 4. Addie B., who was closely 
associated with her father in the conduct 
of his business during the latter years of 
his life, becoming familiar with not only 
the accounting, but with the buying of 
materials ; after her father's death she 
continued and still continues to deal in 
sewer building supplies, and has retained 
the most important of the patrons who 
dealt with her father during his long busi- 
ness career. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lyman were members of 
the Baptist church in New Britain. He 
was a man who believed in showing his 
faith by his works rather than by boast- 
ful expressions of faith, and exemplified 
in his life that type which by general ac- 
ceptation has come to be called "the 
Christian gentleman." 



CAMPBELL, Arthur Joseph, 

Physician and Snrgeon. 

Among the oldest physicians of Mid- 
dletown, Dr. Campbell enjoys the esteem 
and confidence of his contemporaries and 
the general public, and has been the 
means of healing multitudes of the people 
of his home citv. He is a native of the 



Isle of Wight, England, born March 25, 
1856, a son of Patrick and Margaret (Far- 
rell) Campbell. His grandfather was a 
native of Ireland, and was in the foreign 
service in India, where he took a wife, 
whose name is not now known. Their 
son, Patrick Campbell, was born in 1816, 
in the parish of Toker, near Drogheda, 
County Louth, Ireland, and enlisted in 
the British military service at the age of 
twenty-one years. After faithful service 
of twenty-one years and twenty-eight 
days, he was discharged January 14, 1859, 
with the rank of sergeant. Before his 
promotion to that office he had received 
two good conduct crosses, and at his dis- 
charge he was awarded a medal and gra- 
tuity of £5 sterling, for long service and 
good conduct. This medal, beautifully 
engraved with military emblems and suit- 
ably inscribed, is now preserved by his 
son, Dr. Campbell, with justifiable filial 
pride. While in Australia, Patrick Camp- 
bell married Margaret Farrell, who was 
born in India, where her father was an 
officer of the British navy. Both her par- 
ents were of Irish birth. 

Dr. Arthur J. Campbell received an ex- 
cellent English education, graduating from 
a high school in Armagh, Ireland. After 
the death of his father, he brought the 
family, then including six persons, to 
America, arriving in 1870. They located 
at Thompsonville, Connecticut, where 
the son, Arthur J., labored in the mills 
until all were able to care for themselves, 
and there earned the funds with which to 
complete his medical education. In 1881 
he entered the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, at Baltimore, Maryland, and 
was graduated M. D. four years later. 
After one year of post-graduate work as 
interne at Bay View Hospital. Baltimore, 
he began practice in Portland, Connecti- 
cut, in March, 1886, and two years later 
removed to Middletown, v/here he has 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



since continued with gratifying success. 
Since the establishment of the Middle- 
town Hospital by Drs. Edgerton and 
Calef, Dr. Campbell has been a member 
of its stafT. This is a high testimonial to 
his ability and high character as a man. 
He is medical examiner for the Travel- 
ers', Aetna, and Northwestern life insur- 
ance companies, and much of his time is 
consumed in these duties. While devot- 
ing his life to the healing art. Dr. Camp- 
bell has naturally earned some of the 
emoluments of industry, and he is a direc- 
tor of the Middletown Trust Company. 
He is a member in good standing of St. 
John's Roman Catholic Church, the prin- 
cipal congregation of that faith in Mid- 
dletown, and one of its trustees ; and is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus, an 
organization which has done remarkable 
work in promoting the comfort and wel- 
fare of the United States Expeditionary 
Forces abroad during the recent war. 
For the last fifteen years Dr. Campbell 
has been a member of the Middletown 
School Board. In politics he has always 
acted with the Democratic party, but he 
is not a blind partisan and gives little 
attention to political matters. His patri- 
otic interest in the recent World War is 
shown by the fact that he is a first lieu- 
tenant of the Home Guard of Middletown. 
Dr. Campbell married, in that city, Oc- 
tober 15, 1890, Ellen Mountain, who was 
born in 1866, in Portland, Connecticut, 
daughter of John and Ellen (Lynch) 
Mountain, of that town, the latter a na- 
tive of Ireland. Dr. and Mrs. Campbell 
are the parents of three children: i. Ar- 
thur Thomas, born in 1891, is a graduate 
of the Middletown High School and has 
been a student successively of Wesleyan 
and Yale universities, and spent two years 
in a medical college in Baltimore. The 
World War interrupted his studies and 
he enlisted, in September, 1917, for serv- 



ice abroad. After five months of prep- 
aration at Oglethorpe, Georgia, he was 
attached to the medical department, went 
to France in March, 1918, and was as- 
signed to the 38th Infantry, Third Divi- 
sion. At Chateau Thierry, July 27, 1918, 
he was gassed, and was discharged in 
1919. 2. John Harold, born in 1894. 3. 
Marion Emelda, born in 1897. 



DOUGLAS, William Benjamin, 

Manufacturer, Business Man. 

The qualities of integrity and sagacity 
are admirably blended in the character of 
William Benjamin Douglas, one of the 
leading business men of Middletown, 
Connecticut, and his intellectual and bus- 
iness attainments are recognized by all 
who come in contact with him. Mr. 
Douglas bears a name which is one of the 
most famous in the annals of Scotland. 

The earliest known member of this 
family was Robert Douglas, who was 
born about 1588 in Scotland. He was the 
father of the immigrant ancestor. Deacon 
William Douglas. 

(I) Deacon William Douglas was born 
in Scotland in 1610. He married, at the 
parish church in Ringstead, Northamp- 
tonshire, England, in 1636, Ann Mattle, 
born in 1610, died about 1685, only 
daughter of Thomas Mattle. Four years 
later William Douglas, accompanied by 
his wife Ann, and two children, came to 
New England, settling first at Gloucester, 
Massachusetts, subsequently at Boston. 
In 1641, he removed to Ipswich, where 
he remained for four years, returning 
again in 1645 to Boston. He followed 
the trade of cooper. In 1659, he pur- 
chased property in New London, where 
he moved in the following year. He be- 
came one of the wealthiest and most prom- 
inent men of New London, and in 1670 
was chosen one of the first deacons of 

S6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the church there. His education and abil- 
ity were such as to cause his election to 
several of the town offices. He served 
as townsman, 1663 -1666- 1667, and in 1672 
was chosen deputy to the General Court 
at Hartford. His widow died in 1685. 
When she was sixty years of age she 
made the long journey to Boston on 
horseback in order to prove her right to 
her father's property. 

(II) Deacon William (2) Douglas, son 
of Deacon William (i) and Ann (Mat- 
tie) Douglas, was born in Boston, April 
I, 1645, and died March 9, 1724-25. He 
received by inheritance a farm of sixty 
acres in New London, which was origi- 
nally granted to his father, and in his 
own right he was subsequently granted 
land in Voluntown. He was admitted to 
the New London church in 1670, and he 
succeeded his father as deacon, in which 
capacity he served for about fifty years. 
On December 18, 1667, he married Abiah 
Hough, born September 15, 1648, died 
February 21, 1715, daughter of William 
Hough, of New London. 

(HI) Deacon William (3) Douglas, son 
of Deacon William (2) and Abiah 
(Hough) Douglas, was born February 19, 
1672-73, in New London, and died Au- 
gust 10, 1719. In 1698, he united with the 
church, and in the following year removed 
from New London to Plainfield, Connec- 
ticut, where land was granted him on the 
east side of the Quinneabaug river. Hav- 
ing assisted in organizing the church in 
that town, he was asked to officiate as its 
first deacon. He married Sarah Proctor, 
and they had a son, John Douglas. 

(IV) John Douglas, son of Deacon 
William (3) and Sarah (Proctor) Doug- 
las, was born July 28, 1703, in Plainfield, 
and died April 20, 1766. He was lieuten- 
ant-colonel of the Eighth Connecticut 
Regiment, under Colonel Jedidiah Hunt- 
ington. He married, January 13, 1724, 



Olive Spaulding, born January 17, 1709, 
died February 21, 1752, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Olive (Hall) Spaulding. 

(V) William (4) Douglas, son of John 
and Olive (Spaulding) Douglas, was born 
January 27, 1742-43, in Plainfield. He 
married, July 5, 1767, Hannah Mansfield, 
born November 17, 1747, died May 22, 
1825, daughter of Stephen Mansfield, of 
Northford. At the age of sixteen years, 
William Douglas took part in the French 
and Indian War. He was orderly ser- 
geant in the company commanded by 
Israel Putnam, and took part in the ex- 
pedition resulting in the surrender of 
Quebec in 1759. He removed to New 
Haven and engaged in seafaring business, 
commanding a merchant ship, sailing be- 
tween New Haven and the West Indies. 
At the outbreak of the Revolutionary 
War, William Douglas formed a military 
company in New Haven, of which he was 
commissioned captain. May 16, 1775. He 
proceeded to the North, and there Gen- 
eral Montgomery requested him to take 
charge of the flotilla on Lake Champlain, 
of which he assumed command. In 1776, 
Captain Douglas raised a regiment of sol- 
diers, and was commissioned colonel. June 
20, 1776, by Governor Jonathan Trumbull. 
He marched to New York and joined the 
Continental army under General Wash- 
ington, and took part in many engage- 
ments. This gallant and brave soldier 
died May 28, 1777. 

(VI) William (5) Douglas, son of Wil- 
liam (4) and Hannah (Mansfield) Doug- 
las, was born February 23, 1770, in New 
Haven, and died at Northford, Connec- 
ticut, September 14, 1823. While but a 
boy he served his country, and after peace 
prevailed, he returned to his native home 
and there took up agricultural pursuits, 
which he followed throughout his life. 
He married, January 28, 1797, Sarah Kirt- 
land, born March 19, 1778, died Novem- 



157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 28, 1842, daughter of Constant Kirt- 
land. 

(VII) William (6) Douglas, son of 
William (5) and Sarah (Kirtland) Doug- 
las, was born January 19, 1812, in North- 
ford, and died April 21, 1858. He received 
a fair education for his day, and very 
early showed the taste for things mechan- 
ical, which was later to make him famous. 
In 1832 he removed to Middletown, Con- 
necticut, and there became associated 
with W. H. Guild, as job machinist, and 
maker of small engines. 

In 1839, with his brother, he established 
the firm of W. & B. Douglas Company, 
which firm is now the oldest and most 
extensive manufacturers of pumps in the 
world. In the first years of the business, 
Mr. Douglas and his brother performed 
most of the work themselves, but gradu- 
ally its extent became so great they em- 
ployed several helpers. To-day the bus- 
iness is one of the leading industries of 
Middletown, and gives employment to 
many hundreds of the citizens of that city. 

Mr. Douglas married (first), April 12, 
1835, Grace Caroline Parker, daughter of 
Elias and Grace (Mansfield) Parker, who 
died February 19, 1840. He married (sec- 
ond) Catherine Creamer Riley. 

(VIII) Joseph William Douglas, son 
of William (6) and Grace Caroline 
(Parker) Douglas, was born January 29, 
1838, in Middletown, where he died May 
20, 1885. Mr. Douglas attained his edu- 
cation in the schools of that city, and at 
an early age became associated with his 
father in business. He applied himself 
to the mastering of all the details of pump 
manufacture and upon the death of his 
father he was able to assume the respon- 
sibilities of the business. Mr. Douglas 
continued at the head of the firm until his 
death, and despite the many demands 
upon his time he found opportunity to 
give the benefit of his experiences and 



executive ability to the welfare of his fel- 
low-citizens. Mr. Douglas was a Repub- 
lican in politics and was the choice of his 
party for mayor of Middletown, the af- 
fairs of which important office he admin- 
istered in a way which brought satisfac- 
tion to his constituents. He also served 
for some time as a member of the Board 
of Aldermen. With several of the finan- 
cial and industrial institutions of Middle- 
town he held a place on the directorate, 
and was a trustee of the Farmers and 
Mechanics Bank. 

Mr. Douglas married. June i, 1859, 
Julia Welles Dabney, of Middletown, 
Connecticut, who died July 14, 1920. 

(IX) William Benjamin Douglas, son 
of Joseph William and Julia W. (Dab- 
ney) Douglas, was born September 19, 
1863, in Middletown. At the public and 
high school of that city he attained his 
early education, and at the time of his 
father's death was a student at the Mas- 
sachusetts Institute of Technology. It 
was imperative that someone take charge 
of the manufacturing business in Middle- 
town, and Mr. Douglas relinquished the 
hope of finishing his course to take up 
this responsibility. The qualities of suc- 
cess which distinguished his father and 
grandfather have been inherited by him 
to a large degree, and among the business 
men of his native city, he holds an hon- 
ored place. Imbued with that public 
spirit which seems to be the natural trait 
of those whose lineage can be traced back 
to our earliest settlers, Mr. Douglas has 
ever taken an active part in the civic af- 
fairs of Middletown. He is a Republican 
and watchful of the interests of that party. 
During the World War, Mr. Douglas was 
a lieutenant in the Naval Battalion of the 
Connecticut State Guard, in command of 
the Second Division. He served as treas- 
urer of the War Bureau, and is now chair- 
man of the Shipping Committee of the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middletown Red Cross Chapter. Frater- 
nally Mr. Douglas is affiliated with Theta 
Xi, Middletown Lodge, No. 71, Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
Apollo Lodge, No. 33, Knights of Pyth- 
ias. He is a member of the Middletown 
Club, of which he is secretary, and of the 
Highland Country Club, and is a member 
of the Founders and Patriots of America. 
Mr. Douglas married, October 18, 1888, 
Sarah Ellen Camp, daughter of Daniel W. 
and Sarah (Walkley) Camp, of Middle- 
town, Connecticut. They were the par- 
ents of a son, William Wallace Douglas, 
who died in vouth. 



COMSTOCK, Lewis Bridgeman, 
CItU Engineer. 

The surname of Comstock has been 
derived from the little village of Culm- 
stock in Devonshire, England, which in 
turn took its name from the river. Culm, 
on which it is located. In the time of 
William the Conqueror the name was 
spelled Colmestock in the Domesday 
Book. 

(I) William Comstock, the ancestor of 
the family, came from England in 1635, 
and was settled in New London, Connec- 
ticut, at an early date. He held several 
public offices. He was the father of sev- 
eral children. 

(II) John Comstock, son of William 
Comstock, lived in Lyme, Connecticut, 
where he died in 1680. The Christian 
name of his wife was Abigail, and their 
son, John, is of further mention. 

(III) John (2) Comstock, son of John 
(i) and Abigail Comstock, was born Sep- 
tember 31, 1676, in Lyme, Connecticut, 
and died between 1747 and 1748. He mar- 
ried Mary Lee, daughter of John Lee, and 
their son, Christopher, is of further men- 
tion. 

(IV) Christopher Comstock, son of John 



(2) and Mary (Lee) Comstock. was born 
in 1726, and died October 30, 1808. He 
removed from Hadlyme to Chatham, 
Connecticut, and settled on the Salmon 
river near Colchester. He married Anna 
Wiley, and their son, Jabez, is of further 
mention. 

(V) Jabez Comstock, son of Christo- 
pher and Anna (Wiley) Comstock, was 
born in 1763, and died March 28, 1817. He 
married, January i, 1784, Almy Greene, 
born May 27, 1753, died April 5, 1837, 
daughter of James and Desire (Slocum) 
Greene, of Warwick, Rhode Island. James 
Greene and his wife were members of the 
Society of Friends, and the former was 
the founder of the cemetery at Center- 
ville, Rhode Island, now called the James 
Greene Cemetery. 

(VI) Franklin Greene Comstock, son 
of Jabez and Almy (Greene) Comstock, 
was born March 17, 1790, died August 6, 
1845. He married Tryphena Tracy, born 
October 27, 1791, died October 6, 1874, 
daughter of Gamaliel Tracy, who fought 
at Monmouth under General Washington. 
Franklin Greene Comstock was a man of 
unusual intelligence, and was the author 
of "Comstock's Digest of Probate Laws." 
He was also the youngest judge to sit on 
the bench of the Probate and Superior 
courts in Connecticut. 

(VII) William Greene Comstock, son 
of Franklin Greene and Tryphena (Tracy) 
Comstock, was born October 11, 1810, at 
Comstock Bridge, which was on the line 
between the towns of Chatham and Com- 
stock. He attended the district schools 
and a military school, finishing at Wil- 
braham Academy. When he was eighteen 
years of age, he began to teach school, 
continuing for five years, resigning to be- 
come associated with his father in the 
management of a "weekly" which the 
latter had purchased. The newspaper 
business held his interest until his father 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



disposed of the ownership, which was in 
1836 ; in the meantime the elder Mr. 
Comstock had become interested in the 
business of raising silk-worms, which had 
interested all farmers in Connecticut for 
the past few years. In his enterprise he 
was associated with Christopher Colt, 
father of Samuel Colt, and their success 
was astonishing. With headquarters in a 
large store building on Front street they 
grew and also purchased mulberry trees, 
raised the cocoons and reeled the silk. 
Mr. Comstock was every^vhere looked 
upon as the leading silk culturist in Con- 
necticut, and was also the publisher of a 
monthly magazine devoted to the inter- 
ests of silk culture. In 1837 William G. 
Comstock went to Cuba, bringing with 
him a large number of young mulberry 
trees which he planted on land purchased 
there for that purpose. Although the 
craze soon died out among the farmers in 
Connecticut, owing to the little success 
they had, Mr. Comstock and his partner 
met with success and amassed a consid- 
erable fortune for that period. Always a 
man of enterprise, Mr. Comstock now 
turned his attention to another line of 
industry and purchased the farm of James 
L. Belden, a seed-grower. Mr. Comstock 
formed a partnership with Butler Strong 
and they founded the first seed farm 
"worthy of the name" in New England. 
During all these years William G. Com- 
stock had been closely related with his 
father, and had several times proved him- 
self to be possessed of business acumen. 
He was the designer of the box for ship- 
ping seeds now in use throughout the 
country, and at the death of his father all 
the responsibility came upon him, but he 
had been preparing himself for years, and 
immediately began plans for enlarging 
the scope of the business. Five years later 
he formed a stock company under the 
firm name of Comstock, Ferre & Com- 



pany, with a capital of $40,000 and the 
dividend the first year was six per cent., 
and each succeeding six months ten per 
cent, was declared. For many years Mr. 
Comstock was the active head of this 
flourishing business, and was widely 
known throughout the country. 

Several years before his death, Mr. 
Comstock retired from active business 
cares and lived at his beautiful home in 
East Hartford, at that time among the 
finest residences in that town. In politics, 
Mr. Comstock was a Whig, and after the 
party went out he was not allied with any 
other. During his day he made the ac- 
quaintance of many famous men, and was 
the first to introduce the name of Wil- 
liam Henry Harrison to the public as a 
candidate for the presidency, which he 
did during the time he was associated 
with the "New England Review." The 
beautiful bridge which now connects 
Hartford and East Hartford, and where 
there is no toll charge, would indeed have 
been a pleasant sight to Mr. Comstock 
had he lived to see it. He was a most 
bitter enemy of the toll bridge owners, 
which structure preceded the present one, 
and he was untiring in his efforts to have 
free transportation over the bridge. No 
citizen of East Hartford held more land 
than Mr. Comstock, and with his sons he 
did more to improve and build up the 
town than any other man, adding to its 
progressiveness in many ways. 

Mr. Comstock married, July 3, 1837, 
Adeline Strong, born April 29, 1812, died 
January 3, 1880, daughter of Henry and 
Susannah (Cook) Strong, and a descend- 
ant of John Strong, of Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, and of Elder John Strong, of North- 
ampton, Massachusetts. 

(VIII) Frederick Comstock, son of 

William Greene and Adeline (Strong) 

Comstock, was born February 13, 1847, 

in Wethersfield, Connecticut, and died 

60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February 12, 1911. He was brought up 
on the home farm, and then formed a 
partnership with his twin brother, Wil- 
liam G. Comstock, under the firm name of 
W. G. & F. Comstock, continuing in busi- 
ness until the death of William G. Com- 
stock. At first they engaged in farming, 
and then were in the paint business, also 
raised about fifteen acres of tobacco. In 
1899 they built the Comstock block in 
East Hartford, which was considered a 
big innovation as it gave the town its first 
real hall for public meetings, and in front 
of the hall on the ground floor are stores 
and the second floor is divided into offices. 

Mr. Comstock married Nellie Howe 
Williams, daughter of Horace Williams, 
and she died in 1910. They were the par- 
ents of the following children : Tracy S., 
now a resident of Thomasville, North 
Carolina ; Frederick H., died unmarried ; 
Lewis Bridgeman, of further mention ; 
Donald C. S., married Mary Dahill, and 
has two children, Ellen E. and Donald C. 
S., Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Comstock were 
members of the First Congregational 
Church, of East Hartford, and the former 
served as trustee for many years. 

(IX) Lewis Bridgeman Comstock, son 
of Frederick and Nellie Howe (Williams) 
Comstock, was born in East Hartford, 
Connecticut, March 12, 1881. He attended 
the public schools and the Hartford High 
School, graduating in 1900. He then 
attended Sheffield Scientific School, grad- 
uating in 1903 with training as a civil 
engineer. The following year he entered 
the employ of the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford Railroad Company, and after 
another year was transferred to New 
Rochelle, New York. He worked on the 
Harlem River Branch of the New York, 
New Haven and Hartford railroad, and in 
1907 was with the Hudson & Manhattan 
Railroad Company as assistant engineer 
and designer of the tunnels then being 
Conn— 10— 11 161 



built. In 1908-11, was with the New York 
Central railroad as designer and assistant 
engineer in charge of masonry and de- 
signing between New York City and Buf- 
falo. In 191 1 he resigned his position and 
returned to East Hartford, Connecticut, 
where he has since engaged in the private 
practice of his profession. He is a mem- 
ber of the Connecticut Society of Civil 
Engineers, and the Yale Engineering As- 
sociation. His clubs are the City Club, 
of Hartford, the Yale Club, of New York 
City, and he is a member of the First 
Congregational Church, of East Hartford. 
In 1917 Mr. Comstock became a member 
of the Connecticut State Guard, and con- 
tinued in the service until it was mustered 
out. He started as first lieutenant and 
was promoted step by step, being ap- 
pointed captain in August, 1917, and 
major in March, 1921. 



TUCKER, George Eugene, 
Physician. 

George Eugene Tucker, medical director 
of the accident and liability department 
of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, 
and author of several important medical 
papers, was born May 6, 1879, in Genoa, 
Illinois, son of Eugene Adelmer and Al- 
faretta (Bristol) Tucker. Although born 
far from New England, Dr. Tucker is a 
scion of one of the oldest families of 
Colonial days, his ancestry tracing to 
Woodstock, Connecticut, where his great- 
grandfather, Perley Milton Tucker, is be- 
lieved to have lived at one time. 

(I) Perley Milton Tucker was also a 
resident of Cayuga, New York, where he 
was captain of a boat that sailed on Cay- 
uga Lake. He married Rebecca Lyon, 
born in Woodstock, April 26, 1741, died 
there, May 28, 1830, daughter of Jona- 
than and Rebecca (Corbin) Lyon, and 
they were the parents of a large family. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Perley Milton Tucker removed to either 
New Hampshire or Vermont, probably 
the latter State. 

(II) Pliny Hall Tucker, son of Perley 
Milton and Rebecca (Lyon) Tucker, was 
born in Rutland, Vermont, March 7, 1804, 
and died in Belvidere, Illinois, December 
6, 1880. He was a farmer and a pioneer 
settler of the Illinois town, where he 
served in many public offices. He was 
justice of the peace, county supervisor, 
president of the Township Board, and 
United States commissioner, under Pres- 
ident Abraham Lincoln. Mr. Tucker 
married (second) Delia Ann Stone, born 
July 30, 1825, died July 11, 1879, grand- 
daughter of Thomas and Rachel (Marsh) 
Stone, and daughter of Thomas Stone, 
Jr. and his wife. Desire (Wing) Stone. 

(III) Eugene Adelmer Tucker, son of 
Pliny Hall and Delia Ann (Stone) 
Tucker, was born May 13, 1856, in Homer, 
Cortland county. New York. His prep- 
aration for college was obtained in the 
schools of Belvidere, where his father had 
settled, and under the able preceptorship 
of Judge Button, of Trempelau, Wiscon- 
sin, he read law, graduating from the law 
school of the University of Wisconsin in 
1878. Mr. Tucker engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession in Genoa, Illinois, 
later removing to Humboldt, Nebraska, 
where he was successful as a lawyer, and 
one of the enterprising and progressive 
citizens. Like his father, he took a very 
active interest in public matters and was 
several times honored with offices of trust 
and responsibility. In politics, Mr. 
Tucker was a Republican, and served as 
city clerk, police judge, city and county 
attorney. For a term he served the city 
as mayor, and was subsequently elected 
State Senator. He was appointed asso- 
ciate justice of the Supreme Court of Ari- 
zona by President Theodore Roosevelt, 
and during his term became a resident of 



Globe, Arizona. Soon after this time Mr. 
Tucker became a resident of Los Angeles, 
and has since been engaged in practice 
there, and taken his place as one of the 
useful citizens of the community. Mr. 
Tucker is a past chancellor commander 
of the Knights of Pythias Lodge, at Hum- 
boldt, Nebraska. He married Alfaretta 
Bristol, born at Rock Prairie, Wisconsin, 
September 17, 1857, daughter of Ashel and 
Hannah (Foster) Bristol, and they were 
the parents of two children : George Eu- 
gene, of extended mention below ; and 
Blanche May, wife of Ray Gist, of Hum- 
boldt, and mother of Preston Gist. Mr. 
and Mrs. Tucker attend the Baptist 
church, of Los Angeles. 

(IV) George Eugene Tucker, son of 
Eugene Adelmer and Alfaretta (Bristol) 
Tucker, attended the public schools of Hum- 
boldt, and in 1895 graduated from the high 
school there ; the following three years 
he was a student at the University of 
Nebraska, and in 1898 received his degree 
of B. S. from the University of Chicago, 
and in 1903 graduated with an M. D. de- 
gree from Rush Medical College. The 
following year he spent in the Norwegian 
Hospital in Chicago, and then followed a 
year of practice in that city, removing in 
1906 to Riverside, California, where he 
engaged in general practice until 1916, 
and served as city and county health of- 
ficer. Possessed of natural ability, com- 
bined with determination and an entire 
devotion to his work. Dr. Tucker has 
achieved success in his profession ; he has 
made extensive research along specially 
directed lines, and is often called upon to 
lecture on the result of his research. He 
was secretary of the California Associa- 
tion for the Study of Prevention of Tuber- 
culosis, and while associated with the 
Riverside Portland Cement Company be- 
came greatly interested in industrial med- 
icine. He made an extensive and valuable 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



investigation of the cement industry, and 
is the writer of a paper read before vari- 
ous societies bearing on this subject: 
"Physical Examination of Employees En- 
gaged in the Manufacture of Portland 
Cement." During 1916 and 1917, Dr. 
Tucker was associated with the National 
Industrial Conference Board of Boston, 
making special investigation of the sub- 
ject of sickness insurance, and in Febru- 
ary, 1920, he was appointed to the office 
he now holds, medical director of the 
Aetna Life Insurance Company. 

Other important papers written by Dr. 
Tucker, of interest to the medical frater- 
nity, include the following: "Compul- 
sory Health Insurance;" "Has the Med- 
ical Profession Adequately Met its Res- 
ponsibilities?" "Health and Accident Haz- 
ards in the Cement Industry ;" "The Med- 
ical Administration of Workmen's Com- 
pensation Laws ;" "Sickness Insurance or 
Sickness Prevention." He is a member 
of the City, County and State Medical 
societies, and of the American Medical 
Association, the California Academy of 
Medicine, Southern California Medical 
Society, the American Public Health As- 
sociation, Association of Industrial Phy- 
sicians and Surgeons. His fraternal affil- 
iations are with the following organiza- 
tions and clubs: Tuscan Lodge, No. 126, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Washington Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; Connecticut Consistory, Valley of 
Norwich ; Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
of California ; Hartford Club, University 
Club, and the Get-to-Gether Club. He is 
a member and secretary of the Rotary 
Club, of Hartford, and is president of the 
Aetna Life Men's Club. By virtue of his 
ancestry, he is a member of the Sons of 
the American Revolution. 

Dr. Tucker married May Heller, daugh- 



ter of Edward Heller, of Freeport, Illi- 
nois, and they are the parents of two chil- 
dren : Mariana, born August 9, 1914, and 
Patricia, born January 30, 1916. While 
resident of Riverside, they attended the 
Congregational church of that place, and 
are now attendants of St. John's Episco- 
pal Church, of Hartford. 

A man of decided views. Dr. Tucker 
gives expression to his opinions with 
clearness and force, and is a citizen of 
real worth to his community. 



HAMERSLEY, William, 

LaTC^yer, Jurist, L>egisIator. 

Prominently identified with the public 
affairs of Hartford, Connecticut, during 
the last three-quarters of a century, the 
Hamersley family achieved an honorable 
reputation. 

(I) The first member of the family in 
this country was William Hamersley, 
who was an officer on board the British 
Man-of-War "Baleur." This ship was 
stationed in New York in 17 14, and it 
was at this time that the English ances- 
tor resigned his commission and married 
Lucretia, daughter of Andries Greven- 
redt, and granddaughter of Johannes Van 
Brugh. They subsequently took up their 
residence in New York City. 

(II) Andrew Hamersley, son of Wil- 
liam and Lucretia (Grevenredt) Hamers- 
ley, married Margaret (Gordon) Stelle, 
daughter of Thomas and Janet (Mudie) 
Gordon, of Montrose, Scotland. Thomas 
Gordon was one of the proprietors of East 
Jersey. 

(III) William (2) Hamersley, son of 
Andrew and Margaret (Gordon-Stelle) 
Hamersley, married Elizabeth Van Cort- 
landt de Peyster, daughter of James and 
Sarah (Read) de Peyster, and grand- 
daughter of Joseph Read, who was a 
member of the King's Council, and also 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



granddaughter of Abraham de Peyster, 
treasurer of the Province of New York. 

(IV) William James Hamersley, son 
of William (2) and Elizabeth Van Cort- 
landt (de Peyster) Hamersley, was a dis- 
tinguished resident of Hartford, and one 
of the most prominent men of his day. 
He married Laura Sophia Cooke, a daugh- 
ter of the Rev. Oliver Dudley and Sophia 
(Pratt) Cooke. They were of Puritan 
descent. The former was graduated from 
Yale College, and for some years follow- 
ing was a minister of the Congregational 
church. In 1800 he opened the publish- 
ing house of O. D. Cooke, which was one 
of the foremost of its kind in Hartford, 
engaged in bringing out valuable and 
standard works. The sons of the founder 
were later admitted as partners, and the 
firm name of O. D. Cooke & Sons Com- 
pany was taken. Subsequently the busi- 
ness passed into the control of Mr. Ham- 
ersley. As an auxiliary of the publishing 
business they also conducted a book store. 
In 1849 Mr. Hamersley engaged in the 
business of publishing many famous 
school books, among which were such 
books as "Swift's Natural Philosophy," 
Robbins "Outline of History," the "Prac- 
tical Spelling Book," Woodbridge's Geog- 
raphy, and Sophocles Greek books. He 
was also the publisher of many other fa- 
mous and standard works. For some time 
previous to his entrance into the publish- 
ing business, Mr. Hamersley had been the 
editor of the "American Mercury," and 
this paper was sold to the "Independent 
Press" of Hartland, of which Mr. Ham- 
ersley was also the editor. The first issue 
appeared July i, 1833. and the publication 
of it was continued for two years. Al- 
though at all times taking a keen and 
active interest in public affairs. Mr. Ham- 
ersley was never a seeker for public of- 
fice. Nevertheless, he was nominated 
and elected to the office of mayor of Hart- 



ford, and served from April 14, 1862, to 
April II, 1864. A man of upright char- 
acter, Mr. Hamersley held the entire con- 
fidence and esteem of his fellow-citizens. 
He died in May, 1877. 

(V) William (3) Hamersley, son of 
William James and Laura Sophia (Cooke) 
Hamersley, was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, September 9, 1838, and attended 
the old Hartford Grammar School. He 
was graduated from Trinity College in 
1858, and after studies at the Harvard 
Law School was admitted to the bar. He 
immediately entered upon the practice of 
his profession. He served as president 
of the Common Council, and as city at- 
torney of Hartford, and for twenty years 
was State's attorney for Hartford county. 
Mr. Hamersley represented his constitu- 
ents in the Legislature, and from 1893 ^o 
1894 was judge of the Superior Court. 
Governor Morris appointed him associate 
justice of the Supreme Court of Errors in 
1894, and he remained on the bench until 
1908. While in the Legislature, Mr. Ham- 
ersley was the framer of the Legal Prac- 
tices Act of 1878. and of the Rules of 
Court which brought the refreshment of 
simple common sense into the atmosphere 
of the law. His opinions while on the 
bench, noted for their depth of learning, 
clearness, and sound judgment, indeed 
merited the approval accorded them. 

For thirty-six years he was a familiar 
figure to all Trinity College men as a 
lecturer on constitutional law, and for 
thirty-seven years was a member of the 
board of trustees of the college. His alma 
mater was justly proud of his achieve- 
ments, and honored him with the degrees 
of M. A. in 1865 and LL. D. in 1890. 
Though formerly a member of old St. 
John's Church, and in 1868 junior warden 
there, he later became a communicant of 
Trinity Church. He was a member of the 
Society of Colonial Wars, the University 

64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Manhattan clubs of New York, and 
in Hartford and elsewhere in Connecti- 
cut he joined many clubs and was affil- 
iated with various organizations. 

In 1870 Mr. Hamersley married (first) 
Cynthia Williams, daughter of Henry 
Williams, of Painesville, Ohio, but she 
died the following year. On October 21, 
1882, he married (second) Jane Allen, 
daughter of John and Mary Ann (Phelps) 
Allen, of Old Saybrook, Connecticut. 
John Allen was a descendant of Roger 
Allen, treasurer of the New Haven Col- 
ony, and Mary Ann Phelps was descended 
from William Phelps, appointed by the 
Bay Colony one of the commissioners to 
govern Connecticut. Mr. and Mrs. Ham- 
ersley had one daughter, Jane de Pey- 
ster Hamersley, born in 1883, who died 
in 1910, and one son, William James, of 
whom further. 

(VI) William James (2) Hamersley, 
son of William (3) and Cynthia (Wil- 
liams) Hamersley, was born in 1887. He 
was graduated in 1909 from Trinity Col- 
lege — of the faculty of which he later be- 
came secretary — and from the Harvard 
Law School in 1912. Admitted the same 
year to the practice of law in Hartford, 
he began a career of great promise in his 
profession. Like his father a Democrat 
in politics, he entered actively into civic 
affairs as assistant corporation counsel, 
and became a member of the Connecticut 
House of Representatives. In 1917 he 
was retained in the legal department of 
the Connecticut General Life Insurance 
Company, where he was engaged until his 
active association with the Red Cross. He 
had always been interested in military 
affairs, having attended the First Military 
Training Camp at Plattsburg in August, 
191 5, and served on the Mexican Border 
with the Connecticut National Guard. 
After the entry of this country into the 
World War, he was commissioned major 



in the judge advocate general's depart- 
ment. Not being called into active serv- 
ice in that department, he participated 
most efficiently in local Red Cross work 
and organized its activities in the Civil- 
ian Relief in Hartford. So successful 
were his efforts in this direction that Mr. 
Henry P. Davison urged him to come to 
New York, where he was appointed to 
organize the Civilian Relief of the Atlan- 
tic Division of the Red Cross. While en- 
gaged in this work at Camp Devens, he 
contracted influenza, from which he died 
at his home, October 12, 1918. His life 
fully sustained the traditions of his illus- 
trious ancestry. 

On December 6, 1916, Mr. Hamersley 
married Emily Brace Collins, daughter of 
Atwood and Mary (Brace) Collins, of 
Hartford, and twin daughters were horn 
to them, of whom one, Jane Gordon Ham- 
ersley, now survives. 

Justice William Hamersley died at his 
home in Hartford, September 17, 1920. 
His judicial career was one of usefulness, 
satisfaction to the bar and litigants, and 
his legal opinions contributed materially 
to substantive law. He was patient, con- 
siderate, painstaking and conscientious, 
and in his personal relations kindly, gen- 
erous and loyal. His serenity of spirit, 
honorable ambitions, public conduct, and 
honest friendships dignified his life and 
brought to it the honor and esteem of 
hosts of friends. 



PARKER, Rienzi Belcher, 

Insurance Actuary. 

Among the men of mark of Connecti- 
cut who attained success in both their 
business and private life should be num- 
bered Rienzi Belcher Parker, who was 
born February 15, 1838, son of Lucius 
and Bathsheba (Belcher) Parker, and 



I6S 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died at Hartford, Connecticut, April 12, 
1912. 

(I) The ancestor of his family was 
James Parker, who came to America from 
England previous to 1640, settling first at 
Woburn, Massachusetts, where he is 
listed among the taxpayers of that town 
in 1645. Nine years later he removed to 
Billerica, in 1658 to Chelmsford, thence to 
Groton, Connecticut, in 1660. Through 
grants of land and subsequent purchases 
he became one of the largest property 
holders of Groton, and was rated among 
its wealthiest citizens. He was a man of 
influence and active in both town and 
church affairs ; he served as selectman 
from 1662 to 1699, served as town clerk, 
as representative to the General Assem- 
bly in 1693, and also held many other minor 
offices. He was captain of the Groton 
Company in service against the Indians. 
James Parker died at the age of eighty- 
three years in Groton. He married (first). 
May 28, 1744, in Groton, Elizabeth Long, 
a daughter of Robert Long, of Charles- 
town, Massachusetts 

(II) Eleazer Parker, son of James and 
Elizabeth (Long) Parker, was born No- 
vember 9, 1667, in Groton. The Christian 
name of his wife was Mary and they were 
the parents of seven children, the fourth 
of whom was Zachariah. 

(III) Zachariah Parker, son of Eleaz.er 
and Mary Parker, was born January 29, 
1699, in Groton. In later life he settled 
in Mansfield, Connecticut, and was twice 
married, his first wife being Rebecca 
Parks. They were married at Weston, 
Massachusetts, August 11, 1731, and she 
died June 11, 1748. 

(IV) Ephraim Parker, second son of 
Zachariah and Rebecca (Parks) Parker, 
was born in Newton, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober I, 1733, and was a small boy when 
his parents removed to Mansfield. He 



married Deborah Sargent, and they were 
the parents of Ephraim. 

(V) Ephraim (2) Parker, son of Eph- 
raim (i) and Deborah (Sargent) Parker, 
was born November id, 1770, in Mans- 
field, where he was educated and worked 
on the homestead during the vacation 
periods. He removed to Willington, 
Connecticut, and was engaged in the busi- 
ness of manufacturing clocks and spoons. 
In 1818 he was living in Dobsonville, Ver- 
non, Connecticut, where for many years 
he was proprietor of a hotel, and there 
died. He married Lucy Prior. 

(VI) Lucius Parker, son of Ephraim (2) 
and Lucy (Prior) Parker, was born in Wil- 
lington, Connecticut, November 27, 1807, 
and attended the district schools there. At 
an early age he entered the employ of 
Peter Dobson, a pioneer in the cotton mill 
business, coming to America from Pres- 
ton, Lancashire, England. Subsequently, 
Mr. Parker was in business on his own 
account, located at Hop River, Connecti- 
cut, and later at Manchester, where he 
founded the Mutual Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and also built the Pacific Knitting 
Mills at Manchester Green. Yarn, twine, 
cotton warps, and sheeting, were the 
goods manufactured by his mills, and the 
business was large and flourishing for 
many years, until his death in 1888. Mr. 
Parker married (first) Bathsheba Bel- 
cher, descended from an old East Wind- 
sor family. They were the parents of 
two sons : Rienzi B., of further mention ; 
and Adelbert C. 

(VII) Rienzi Belcher Parker, son of 
Lucius and Bathsheba (Belcher) Parker, 
graduated from the Ellington High 
School, and subsequently entered the 
mills of his father in Manchester. Seven 
years later he was engaged in similar 
business in Vernon, Connecticut, where 
he remained until 1890. In that year he 
removed to Hartford, Connecticut, and 

166 




^l^.-:f/r/3^aJ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRA H\ 



three years latei was elected to the presi- 
dency of the Hartford Life Insurance 
Company. Mr. Parker conducted the 
duties incumbent on this office in a most 
creditable manner until 1900, when he 
retired. He was a director in several of 
Hartford's financial institutions, a public- 
spirited citizen and respected member of 
the community. 

Mr. Parker married, in September, 
1865, Emma S. Dobson, daughter of Hon. 
John Strong Dobson, and granddaughter 
of Peter Dobson, previously mentioned. 
John Strong Dobson was the first Dem- 
ocratic Senator elected in the Twenty- 
first District, as it was then (1852) known. 
Mr. and Mrs. Parker were the parents of 
the following children : John D., Julia W., 
and Lucius R. 



BEATON, Captain Charles H., 

Retired Merchant, Civil War Veteran. 

The Beaton family was founded in 
America by Henry Thomas Beaton, father 
of Charles H. Beaton of New Britain, 
Connecticut. The name "Beaton" was 
originally derived from location ; that is, 
some remote ancestor's home was near a 
bee yard or apiary. This was a very 
common way of deriving a surname in the 
early days, as was also the derivation 
from the occupation of a man. The 
grandfather of Mr. Beaton was Alexan- 
der Beaton. He was a mason contractor, 
and lived in Edinburgh and Glasgow, 
Scotland. 

His son, Henry Thomas Beaton, was 
born in Edinburgh, Scotland, and after 
receiving a good grounding in the funda- 
mentals of an education, he learned the 
trade of mason. An older brother, Alex- 
ander, had emigrated to Canada, where he 
followed his profession of artist. Henry 
Beaton joined him there, and later went 
to Boston. After working at his trade 



for a time he engaged in his own busi- 
ness as a contractor, and was very suc- 
cessful. After a lapse of time, he removed 
to New York City and engaged in the 
same business. His home was at the cor- 
ner of Broadway and Bond street. In 
New York Mr. Beaton also did interior 
decorating, and made imitation Italian 
marble, specializing on fine residences. 
Among his patrons were numbered many 
of the leading citizens of New York at 
that time. Mr. Beaton's successful and 
active career was cut short by death in 
1857, while he was still in his early "for- 
ties." He married Margaret Wilkins, a 
native of St. John, New Brunswick, and 
they were the parents of three children : 
Allan J., a sketch of whom follows ; Nor- 
man W., resided in Washington, now de- 
ceased ; Charles H., of further mention. 

Charles H. Beaton was born in Boston, 
August 30, 1842, and was educated in pri- 
vate schools, including a military school 
at Peekskill, New York. The Civil War 
broke out when he was at school, and 
May 24, 1861, he enlisted in Hawkins' 
New York Zouaves. Mr. Beaton always 
regretted the interruption to his formal 
education caused by the Civil War, but 
by travel and wide reading, he has more 
than made up for the lack of a regular 
college training. He has a large and well 
selected library and has always been a 
deep reader. History, economics and 
sociology are his favorites, and these sub- 
jects enable him to keep abreast of mod- 
ern thought. 

On the tenth of the following June 
after his enlistment, Mr. Beaton was in 
the battle of Big Bethel and Lee's Farms, 
and not long after this time, he was 
stricken with typhoid fever, also suffer- 
ing a partial sunstroke. His condition 
was so bad that he was sent home and 
discharged. He had scarcely recovered 
his strengfth when his brother, Norman, 

167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



enlisted as a drummer boy in the 13th 
Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, and Mr. 
Beaton reenlisted in Company E, of that 
regiment. Just before they started away 
he was made orderly sergeant. This reg- 
iment was sent to New Orleans, and there 
Mr. Beaton was provost guard of Gen- 
eral Butler's personal guard He came in 
close contact with the General, and learned 
at first hand the many sterling quali- 
ties and great ability of the man, who 
afterwards was so much in the public eye 
and who has been much maligned. Shortly 
before the close of the war, Mr. Beaton 
was discharged as lieutenant. Upon his 
return to Connecticut, he organized Bat- 
tery E of New Britain, and was made cap- 
tain of the battery which was known as 
Sheridan's Light Artillery. It never 
reached the front. The statement in 
Camp's "History of New Britain," re- 
garding this, is not correct. 

During his service in New Orleans, 
Captain Beaton was wounded in the leg, 
and for sixteen years carried the ball. 
Captain Beaton has two mementoes of 
the war, which will be greatly valued by 
his descendants. In order that the state- 
ments may be preserved in case the pa- 
pers themselves should be destroyed, they 
are given herewith verbatim : 

Headquarters, Second Brigade, Second Division, 
19th Army Corps, October 25, 1864. 
Respectfully forwarded. Approved. 
Lieutenant Beaton has been mentioned in my 
report for bravery in the field. 

(Signed) E. L. Molineux, 
Commandant. 

Another by Homer B. Sprague : 

Madison, New Jersey, January 8, 1898. 
The Thirteenth, though intended by General 
Weitzel to operate in the rear of several other regi- 
ments in the general assault that day (June 14, 
1863), had with unspeakable difficulty worked its 
way past innumerable obstacles, and in the face of 
a heavy fire, to a small ravine lying almost directly 
tmder the enemy's breastworks. Some of our best 



men had fallen, among them several officers. The 
approaches to our practically shattered position 
were ploughed by shot and shell, and rendered well- 
nigh impassable by logs, gullies, tangled brush, 
trenches and every sort of obstruction the enemy 
had been able to devise. Yet, a goodly number of 
the Thirteenth had reached the spot, in compact 
though broken mass. About a thousand men in all, 
fragments of different regiments, were huddled in 
positions where the felled timber or the irregulari- 
ties of the ground afforded slight temporary shel- 
ter. The senior officer in command of the Thir- 
teenth being away for an hour or two, I was the 
ranking captain at the spot. I immediately got the 
Connecticut men by themselves, each company with 
its own commissioned or non-commissioned officer, 
as far as possible. During this rearrangement we 
were excessively annoyed by the rebel sharpshoot- 
ers from the long line of their fortifications, and 
particularly from a redoubt which we had come 
to know as the "Priest's Cap." There was need of 
brave men under a cool-headed daring officer to 
put a stop to that sharpshooting. 

Beaton was present, and I pointed out to him a 
partial shelter on high ground near us, and ordered 
him to take his company swiftly to that shelter of 
logs and silence the scattering fire of the enemy. I 
had known and admired Beaton before, though I 
sometimes thought he had too much of the dare- 
devil in his makeup. He with his company occu- 
pied the designated spot in the twinkling of an eye, 
and soon stopped the singing of bullets in our ears, 
and the irregular firing which sounded like explod- 
ing fire-crackers on the top of the enemy's ram- 
parts. 

Soon the ranking captain of our regiment. Cap- 
tain Comstock, arrived, and he withdrew Beaton 
from his dangerous post, though I think Beaton 
would have enjoyed staying there longer. 

The commanders of several regiments, whose 
broken and scattered ranks lay all about us within 
a few rods of the hostile breastworks, arrived, one 
after another, now that the fusillade had been sub- 
stantially suppressed. Colonels Gerard, Hubbard, 
Morgan, Day, Major Burt, Major De Forest, and 
other officers were among them. Hour after hour 
we lay under scorching sun. At least three times 
preemptory orders came from General Banks to 
the senior officer to move instantly upon the Con- 
federate works, and penetrate them at all haz- 
ards. But the two senior colonels disobeyed these 
commands greatly to the disgust of Beaton and 
myself, who thought it the duty of a soldier to 
obey orders. 



168 



THE MEVr TORX 
POBUC UBRARY 



ASTO.n, LENOX 
ni33SN FOUNDATIONS 





ES/feru. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"Their's not to make reply, 
Their's not to reason why." 

General Banks at last sent Lieutenant Francis, 
formerly adjutant of Wilson's Zouaves, calling for 
two hundred volunteers to form a storming col- 
umn to press with all speed and energy into the 
Confederate works at this point. The regimental 
commander present, still held aloof, knowing the 
terrible nature of the struggle that was required of 
them. Colonel Hubbard, brigade commander, pro- 
mulgated the order, however. I ventured to appeal 
to the officers and men of the Thirteenth Connecti- 
cut. Lieutenant Beaton leaped to his feet and in a 
loud voice declared his readiness to go in. The 
example was quickly followed by other members 
of our regiment and from other battalions. Every 
man present of my own company ("H"), Thir- 
teenth Connecticut Volunteers, promised to stand 
by me, Private Blackman being the first. In spite 
of the discouraging remarks of every regimental 
commander, the number of two hundred volunteers 
was nearly completed ; when an aide-de-camp came 
from General Banks countermanding the order for 
this forlorn hope. 

I have never heard a word in disparagement of 
Beaton's splendid bravery on that eventful day, nor 
on any other occasion. I have always believed that 
had the thousand officers and men at that critical 
time and place been animated by a like heroism, we 
should that day have carried the Confederate 
stronghold at the point of the bayonet. 

I wish that some suitable recognition, though 
tardy now, might come to show that his distin- 
guished services are not forgotten, not unappre- 
ciated. 

This is my only motive in making the fore-going 
statement. 

(Signed) Homer B. Sprague, 

Once Captain of the Thirteenth Connecticut 
Regiment, Volunteers. 

After the war, Captain Beaton became 
bookkeeper and clerk for the man who 
became his father-in-law, and was given 
charge of the hardware business until Mr. 
Bulkley died. He then retired from active 
cares, and has since been enjoying well- 
deserved rest. He has been very fond of 
travel and has been abroad four times 
and has also made a tour of Northern 
Africa. 

Captain Beaton is a Republican and has 
ever been keenly interested in public 



matters. He was water commissioner for 
six years, and during his term built the 
new dam for the water works. For over 
twelve years he was chairman of the Fire 
Board ; for some years he was a member 
of the Council and was a leader in the 
movement to reorganize the fire depart- 
ment, changing it from a volunteer force 
to a salaried one. He is a member of 
Stanley Post, No. ii. Grand Army of the 
Republic, of which he has been com- 
mander several times ; is a member of the 
Loyal Legion of Boston. He is affiliated 
with Harmony Lodge. Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Giddings Chapter, No. 
25, Royal Arch Masons ; Washington 
Chapter, Knights Templar ; Connecticut 
Consistory, and Sphinx Temple, Mystic 
Shrine. 

Captain Beaton married Mary Ann 
Bulkley, daughter of William J. Bulkley, 
of New Britain, and they were the par- 
ents of two children, of whom one is Min- 
nie L., born August 31, 1868, now the 
widow of Samuel Sloan, residing in Bran- 
ford, Connecticut, and she is the mother 
of two children, Grace Mabel and Wil- 
liam. Mrs. Beaton died in 1906, at the 
age of sixty-four years. 



BEATON, Allan J., 

Mannfacturer. 

Allan J. Beaton, son of Henry Thomas 
and Margaret (Wilkins) Beaton, whose 
ancestry precedes, was born in New York 
City, and was educated in the publit 
schools there. In 1862 he came to New 
Britain, Connecticut, and found his first 
employment with a manufacturer of 
spring needles. This business was later 
removed to New Jersey, and at this time 
Mr. Beaton formed a partnership with 
his brother. Captain Beaton, and they 
engaged in the manufacture of cigars, 
which they sold both wholesale and retail. 
After a few years Mr. Beaton sold his 



i6q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



interests to his brother, and engaged in 
business as a steam-heating contractor. 
He built up a large business for a town 
the size of New Britain at that time, and 
employed as many as thirty or forty men. 
While in this business, Mr. Beaton began 
the manufacture of steam heating sup- 
plies, and was also successful in this ven- 
ture. In fact his success was great 
enough to enable him to retire from the 
contracting work, and devote his entire 
time to the manufacturing business. The 
contracting work was sold to Samuel 
Beers, and the new business was con- 
ducted under the name of A. J. Beaton 
until Hezekiah Corbin was admitted a 
partner and the firm name became Bea- 
ton & Corbin. Subsequently Mr. Beaton 
withdrew, and formed a partnership with 
two brothers named Bradley, under the 
firm name of Beaton & Bradley. This 
company was engaged in the same line 
of manufacture, and carried on business 
in the neighboring town of Southington. 
For several years this arrangement con- 
tinued successful and prosperous, and 
then the Bradley interests were bought 
by William H. Cadwell, and at the same 
time the business was removed to New 
Britain. This new arrangement neces- 
sitated a change of the firm name which 
became Beaton & Cadwell. A factory 
was purchased and the business increased. 
In 1917 Mr. Beaton sold his stock in the 
company, of which he had long been presi- 
dent, and organized the company of which 
he is now the executive head, the A. J. 
Beaton Manufacturing Company. 

The product is steam heating and 
plumbing specialties, marketed all over 
the United States through jobbers, and 
also a large export trade. When Mr. 
Beaton was in the heating business as a 
contractor, he did work for practically all 
the New Britain manufacturers, and also 
for the city water works. Mr. Beaton is 



a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, of which he is past grand, 
and at one time was a member of the En- 
campment and Uniform Rank. 

He married Mary E. Boone, of New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, and they were 
the parents of two daughters: Jessie, 
married Harry Shibles, of Hartford, and 
has two children, Allen Beaton and Bar- 
bara Isabelle ; Belle, married Dr. W. W. 
Christian, of St. Paul, Minnesota, and they 
are the parents of a son, Stuart. Mr. and 
Mrs. Beaton are regular attendants of the 
Congregational church. 



PURNEY, John, M. D., 

Physician, World War Veteran. 

A native of Nova Scotia, representative 
of a family long resident there, Dr. Pur- 
ney left his Canadian home in young 
manhood and has, since the completion of 
his professional studies, been a practi- 
tioner of New Britain, Connecticut. Only 
once has this association been broken — 
when Dr. Purney returned to his Canad- 
ian home to offer his services with the 
sons of the Dominion against the com- 
mon enemy in the World War. 

Dr. Purney is a son of Dr. John Alex- 
ander Purney, and grandson of Captain 
John Purney. Captain John Purney was 
born in Sandy Point, Shelburne, Nova 
Scotia, and as a young man commanded 
a packet ship, later engaging in mercan- 
tile dealings. He was the leading busi- 
ness man of the community, and an in- 
fluential factor in political affairs. He was 
a devout Episcopalian, built the church 
for that denomination, and was its prin- 
cipal financial support throughout his life. 

Dr. John Alexander Purney, son of 
Captain John Purney, was born in Shel- 
burne, Nova Scotia, in 1845, ^"^ died in 
1 88 1. His preparatory studies were pur- 
sued at a collegiate academy of Windsor, 
70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Nova Scotia, and he was subsequently a 
student in the Harvard Medical School, 
after one year transferring to the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of New York 
City. Here he was graduated Doctor of 
Medicine in the class of 1865, and at once 
entered the Union service as a contract 
surgeon, a position he filled until the close 
of the Civil War. Then returning to his 
home in Nova Scotia, he was engaged in 
professional practice until his death at the 
early age of thirty-six years. He was a 
warden of the Episcopal church. In pol- 
itics he was a Liberal and throughout the 
period of sharp discussion concerning the 
annexation of Nova Scotia by Canada he 
favored annexation. He filled various 
local offices, but refused to become a can- 
didate for the provincial parliament. His 
fraternal affiliations were with Albert 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He 
married Amelia (Muir) Eraser, daughter 
of Samuel Muir, both natives of Shel- 
burne. Samuel Muir followed the chief 
industry of the town, shipbuilding, and 
was a man of standing in his community. 
Of the five children of Dr. John Alex- 
ander and Amelia Purney, four grew to 
mature years: Jessie Jameson, married 
Rupert Metzler, of Montreal, Canada ; 
Willard Parker, a resident of Halifax, 
Nova Scotia ; John, of whom further ; 
Gladys, married L. O. Fuller, M. D. 

Dr. John Purney, son of Dr. John Alex- 
ander and Amelia (Muir-Fraser) Purney, 
was born in Shelburne, Nova Scotia, De- 
cember 5, 1878. After attending Shel- 
burne Academy and the provincial normal 
school of Nova Scotia, he taught school 
for a time, then, following the course of 
his father, came to the United States for 
professional study. He was graduated 
Doctor of Medicine from the Baltimore 
Medical School in the class of 1906, and in 
that year established in professional 
practice in New Britain, Connecticut, the 



place of his present residence. Dr. Pur- 
ney is a member of the staff of the New 
Britain Hospital and the City Contagious 
Hospital, has an excellent practice, and 
is well and favorably known in medical 
circles. 

In the latter part of 1917 Dr. Purney 
enlisted in the medical corps of the Can- 
adian army and was commissioned cap- 
tain. Until August, 1918, he was detailed 
to transport duty, then being assigned to 
duty with different units in England and 
France. In September, 1919, after an 
honorable discharge from the army, he 
returned to New Britain, resuming his in- 
terrupted work. Dr. Purney holds the 
thirty-second degree in the Masonic order, 
affiliating with Hiram Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Yarmouth, Nova 
Scotia ; Giddings Chapter, No. 25, Royal 
Arch Masons, of New Britain ; Doric 
Council, No. 24, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters, of New Britain ; Washington Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, of Hartford ; 
and Connecticut Consistory, of Norwich ; 
Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and the 
Knights of Pythias. He is a member of 
St. Mark's Episcopal Church. Dr. Pur- 
ney has confined himself closely to the 
pursuit of his calling but, while he has not 
entered public life, has been interested in 
progressive movements and is a supporter 
of works of improvement. 

Dr. Purney married Mary Elizabeth 
Brandegee, daughter of William Sylvester 
and Elizabeth A. (Reed) Brandegee. Dr. 
and Mrs. Purney have two children, John, 
Jr., and Elizabeth Muir. William S. 
Brandegee is a prominent manufacturer 
and citizen of Berlin, Connecticut, well 
known as a sportsman. 

The surname Brandegee is spelled also 
Brundig, Brandig, Brandish, Brandiger, 
Brondigee, Brandigat, Brandisley, Bron- 
dish and Boundikee, and all these spell- 



171 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ings are found relating to John Brandigee, 
who was in Wethersfield as early as 1635. 
He was doubtless of English birth, 
though the name is possibly German or 
Dutch originally. He died before Octo- 
ber 27, 1639, the date of the inventory of 
his estate. He left a widow and five chil- 
dren. It is believed that he was killed by 
the Indians in the massacre of 1637. He 
was at Watertown for a short time before 
coming to Wethersfield and was a free- 
man there. His widow Rachel married 
Anthony Wilson. 

John Brandegee, probably a son, was a 
settler in Rye, New York, and signed the 
declaration of loyalty to Charles II., July 
26, 1662, spelling his name Brondish, but 
in January, 1663, he spelled his name 
Brondig. He was the first town clerk of 
Rye ; was deputy to the General Court in 
1677 and 1681 ; died in 1697. In the ac- 
counts of those days he is called "Stout 
Old John Brundig." He was in 1662 one 
of the original proprietors of Manursing 
Island, Rye, and of Poringoe Neck. He 
left four sons, John, Joseph, David and 
Joshua, and they have had many de- 
scendants in Westchester county. New 
York. 

Jacob Brandegee, believed to be son of 
John Brandegee, of Rye, grandson of 
"Stout Old John Brundig," of Rye, settled 
in Stepney, in the town of Wethersfield. 
According to family tradition he ran away 
from home. He is said to have been born 
in 1729, and to have come from Nine 
Partners, New York, to Great Swamp, 
when thirteen years old. He was by trade 
a weaver, and at one time kept a store in 
Great Swamp Village, now Berlin. He 
married, at Newington, Connecticut, 
October 11, 1752, Abigail Dunham. He 
owned the covenant in the Newington 
church, July 27, 1755. In later life he was 
engaged in the West India trade, sailing 
vessels from Rocky Hill, and died at sea 



on a return voyage from Guadaloupe, 
March 25, 1765. His widow married 
(second) Major Eells, son of Rev. Edward 
Eells, of Upper Middletown, Connecticut, 
now Cromwell. She died January 25, 
1825. 

Elishama Brandegee, son of Jacob 
Brandegee, was born in Berlin, Connecti- 
cut, April 17, 1754. He was also a sea 
captain and engaged in the West India 
trade and had a store at Berlin. He was 
a soldier in the Revolution, enlisting in the 
Second Company, under Captain Wyl- 
lys. He was recruited in Middlesex 
county, and took part in the battle of 
Bunker Hill, after which he was de- 
tached and assigned to Captain Han- 
chett's company, September i, 1775. 
taking part in the Arnold expedition 
against Canada. After the assault on 
Quebec he was taken prisoner. The Sec- 
ond Regiment was organized under 
Colonel Wyllys as a continental regiment. 
He married, March 10, 1778, Lucy 
(Plumb) Weston, widow of Jeremiah 
Weston, daughter of Samuel and Patience 
(Ward) Plumb. She died February i, 
1827; he died February 26, 1832. 

Elishama (2) Brandegee, son of Cap- 
tain Elishama (i) Brandegee, was born 
in Berlin, Connecticut, November 5, 1784, 
died April 10, 1854. He married (first), 
October 14, 181 1, Emily Stocking, born 
1792, died June 7, 1833, descendant of 
George Stocking, who came to Hartford 
with Hooker in 1636; married (second), 
November 28, 1835, Amna Booth Mygatt, 
born March 8, 1798. He was a large land 
owner and conducted a store on Main 
street, Berlin, near where the Town Hall 
now stands. He conducted a prosperous 
business, people coming from all the 
neighboring towns to purchase goods at 
his store ; it was like the large department 
store of today, because everything was to 
be found there, groceries, dry goods, 



172 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



medicines, ploughs, and also the post 
office. Twice a year he went to New 
York by stage coach to replenish his 
stock, and most of his buying of dry goods 
was done on Pearl street. He was a man 
of excellent ability and very public- 
spirited. 

John Brandegee, father of William S. 
Brandegee, aforementioned, was born Au- 
gust i8, 1826, in Berlin, and throughout 
his active business life engaged in mer- 
chandising in that town until about twelve 
years before his death. He died June 6. 
1881, and was buried in the South bury- 
ing-ground at Berlin. He married, in 
1845, Mary Ann Norris Bulkeley, of the 
same town, born March 18, 1822, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Sylvester Bulkeley. 



DAVIS, Stephen Brooks, 

Lawyer, Jurist. 

The surname of Davis is one of the most 
ancient. It dates back to the period be- 
fore the general adoption of surnames in 
Great Britain, when the Welsh people 
were accustomed to distinguish those 
bearing the same Christian name from one 
another, by adding the father's name with 
a possessive, as "Harry's," "David's," and 
these were in time shortened and slightly 
varied, thus forming the very frequent 
name among those people of Williams, 
Jones, Harris and Davis. Record of the 
name is found as early as 1590. 

Evan Davis was a native of Myrthyr 
Tydvyl, Wales, and came to America in 
1821, with his father, David Davis. The 
latter died in Brooklyn. Evan Davis was 
a merchant in New York, and in 1840 re- 
moved to Middletown, Connecticut, where 
he conducted a coal business until his 
death, in 1869. He married Rachel 
Brooks, whose ancestors were settled in 
New England in 1650. Mr. and Mrs. 
Davis were the parents of the following 



children: i. Newland David, born in 
Middletown; he served in the Twenty- 
fourth Connecticut Regiment in the Civil 
War. 2. Sarah, married Byron A. 
Brooks, and lived in Brooklyn, New York. 
3. Evan Rowland, died in Waterbury. 4. 
Carol H., died in childhood. 5. Katharine 
D., married William G. Murker, of New 
York City, and lives in Buffalo, New 
York. 6. Stephen Brooks, of further men- 
tion. 

Stephen Brooks Davis was born Au- 
gust 10, 1839, in Brooklyn, New York. 
He was an infant of six months when 
brought by his parents to Middletown. 
In that city he received his education, at- 
tending the Daniel H. Chase Private 
School, and graduating from Wesleyan 
University in 1859. While at college he 
became a member of the fraternities, 
Alpha Delta Phi and Phi Beta Kappa. 
Subsequent to finishing his college course, 
he took up the study of law under an able 
preceptor, and was admitted to practice 
in 1861. He located in Iowa City, Iowa, 
but hardly a year elapsed before he en- 
tered the Quartermasters' Department, 
Fourth Army Corps, as chief clerk of that 
department. Mr. Davis accompanied 
General Sherman from Chattanooga to 
Atlanta, and in 1865 the Fourth Army 
Corps was sent to Texas to watch the 
French, remaining until 1866, in which 
year he received his discharge. Return- 
ing to Middletown, he again took up the 
practice of his profession, and is today 
one of the oldest and most respected 
members of the Middlesex county bar. 

He has several times been honored with 
positions of trust and responsibility; 
since 1889 he has served as coroner of 
Middlesex county, and in 1896 was 
elected judge of probate, which office he 
held for twelve years. In politics Judge 
Davis is a Republican, and while vitally 
interested in all current matters, does not 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seek political preferment. Fraternally, 
he is a member of Central Lodge, No. 12, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and 
Middletown Lodge, No. 771, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Judge Davis married, December 8, 
1870, Harriet S. Woodward, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth (Southmayd) 
Woodward. Their children are: i. 
Clara, wife of Charles Guilford, of Provi- 
dence, and the mother of a daughter, 
Beatrice. 2. Stephen, married Mary La 
Rue ; they reside in East Las Vegas, New 
Mexico, and are the parents of Stephen 
B., Marion, and Jane Davis. 3. Rachel 
L., wife of Henri de Magnin, and their 
children are : Paul A., Marie Louise, and 
Lucie Adelaide. 



GADD, Robert Foster, 

Man of Varied Activities. 

Descendant of a Maryland family, and 
a native of that State, Mr. Gadd has for 
a large share of his active career been 
identified with New England interests, 
and is now New England manager in this 
territory for the Levering and Garrigues 
Company. He is a son of Abraham Jump 
Gadd, and a grandson of Thomas Gadd, of 
Caroline county, Maryland. 

Abraham Jump Gadd was born in 
Caroline county, Maryland, in 1831-32, 
and died in January, 1919. He was reared 
on a farm, and in young manhood entered 
business, engaging in building and con- 
tracting for many years and then retiring 
to farm life. He was an interested worker 
in political affairs, and in 1884 was a 
member of the Maryland Legislature, 
although he cared little for public life and 
never sought its honors for himself. He 
held various offices in his church, the 
Episcopal, and fraternized with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. His 
home was long in Denton, Maryland, but 



about the time of his second marriage he 
moved to Sudlersville, where his after life 
was spent. 

He married (first) a Miss Dixon. They 
were the parents of two sons, one of 
whom died aged thirty-three years, the 
other, Albert Sydney Gadd, of Center- 
ville, Maryland. He married (second) 
Mrs. Elizabeth Henrietta (Foster) Mor- 
gan, widow of William H. Morgan. 
Their children : Robert Foster, of whom 
further ; and Luther Lay, of New York 
City. By her former marriage Mrs. Gadd 
had four children: Mrs. Annie R. Sudler, 
Mrs. Addie Sudler, Mrs. Elma E. Gray, 
and William Walter Morgan. 

Robert Foster Gadd was born in Sud- 
lersville, Maryland, December 21, 1871, 
and prepared for college at Charlotte Hall, 
an institution established in 1774. In 
1893 he was graduated from Lehigh Uni- 
versity with the degree of civil engineer. 
After engaging in a topographical survey 
with Parker Black, of Asbury Park, New 
Jersey, Mr. Gadd was for about eighteen 
months associated with Purdy & Hend- 
erson, structural engineers of New York 
City. In 1896 he formed his present con- 
nection with the Levering and Garrigues 
Company, for two years travelling for 
them throughout the Eastern States, and 
in 1905 located in Hartford, Connecticut. 
Since then he has been a director of the 
company and their New England man- 
ager, contracting for and supervising all 
classes of construction in this district. 
Among the more important Hartford 
buildings which have been erected under 
his direction are the State Armory, the 
Supreme Court and State Library build- 
ings, the telephone company's building, 
Fox's department store, one of the finest 
of its kind in the New England States, the 
first building of the Travellers' Insurance 
Company, the new Hartford Times build- 
ing, and those of the Aetna Life Insur- 



174 




{^A^^C'M^ /j^/ji-7.^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ance Company, the Hartford Fire Insur- 
ance Company, and the American Indus- 
trial Bank and Trust Company. Two of 
his company's present contracts is for the 
erection of the new buildings of the Con- 
necticut Trust Company and the Trav- 
ellers' Insurance Company. Mr. Gadd 
has kept the Levering and Garrigues Com- 
pany in the foremost rank of construction 
engineers in New England, and has made 
his organization an instrument of valuable 
service to the district. 

During his Hartford residence Mr. 
Gadd has taken interested part in public 
affairs, and in April, 1920, was appointed 
a member of the Board of Water Com- 
missioners, now serving as president of 
the board. He is a member of the Na- 
tional Water Works Association, the 
American Society of Civil Engineering, 
and the Connecticut Society of Civil En- 
gineering. Since his college years he has 
held membership in the Phi Delta Theta 
fraternity. He is past master of Puritan 
Lodge, No. 333, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and took the chapter degrees at 
Jerusalem Chapter, No. 8, Royal Arch 
Masons. Mr. Gadd is a member of the 
Hartford Club, the Hartford Golf Club, 
the University Club, the Country Club, of 
Farmington, and the Tunxio Hunting and 
Fishing Club. Hunting, fishing, and golf 
form his chief recreations. He is a com- 
municant of Trinity Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Gadd married Kate P. Legg, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Legg, of Centerville, Mary- 
land, and they are the parents of Eliza- 
beth Henrietta, Robert Foster, Jr., Frank 
Willis, and Katherine Mackey. 



BREWSTER, Charles Huntington, 

Bnsiness Man. 

At a very early date in England, the 
name Brewster appears among the old 
families in the reign of Edward III., as 



ranking among the English landed gentry. 
The ancestry of the family in America 
dates from the life and time of Elder Wil- 
liam Brewster, the organizer and head of 
the Plymouth Pilgrims of 1620. 

(I) Elder William Brewster was born 
about the year 1560, and was well edu- 
cated at Cambridge. From there he en- 
tered the public service in the employ of 
William Davison, one of Queen Eliza- 
beth's ambassadors. Elder Brewster 
lived at Scrooby for about twenty years, 
and held the office of post of Scrooby for 
almost the same length of time. At the 
manor house, which he occupied, there 
was gathered the band which afterwards 
constituted the Plymouth Pilgrims. Mr. 
Brewster became a non-conformist and 
was imprisoned at Boston, Lincolnshire, 
in 1607. His liberation was secured at 
great expense and difficulty. Subse- 
quently he went to Leyden, where 
through the dishonesty of a ship captain, 
he lost almost all his treasures. He was 
forced to support himself by teaching 
English. He accompanied the pilgrims 
on the "Mayflower" and acted as their 
elder, preaching frequently, but not ad- 
ministering the sacraments. Until his 
death, April 16, 1644, he was the ac- 
knowledged leader of the Plymouth or- 
ganization and was greatly venerated. He 

married Mary , and their eldest 

son was Jonathan. 

(II) Jonathan Brewster, son of Elder 
William and Mary Brewster, was born at 
Scrooby, Nottinghamshire, August 12, 
1593. He was educated by his father in 
his youth, and for twelve years resided in 
Holland, where his father left him to care 
for two of his sisters. In 1621 he came to 
Plymouth in the "Fortune." In 1630 he 
was in Duxbury, Massachusetts, and was 
deputy to the General Court in 1639- 
1641-42-43. In 1649 he removed to 
New London, Connecticut, and there 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



served as selectman, and was deputy to 
the General Court in 1650-55-56-57-58. 
His death occurred before September, 
1659. Jonathan Brewster married, April 
10, 1624, Lucretia Oldham, of Darb}\ 

(III) Benjamin Brewster, third son of 
Jonathan and Lucretia (Oldham) Brew- 
ster, was born November 17, 1633, and 
died September 14, 1710, in Norwich, 
Connecticut, and was buried on Brew- 
ster's Plains. He settled upon the home- 
stead of his father, and was much in the 
public service. In 1668 and 1669 he 
served as deputy ; was lieutenant of the 
New London Troop in 1673 ; and was 
captain of the Military Company in 1693. 
He married, February 28, 1660, Ann 
Dart, who died May 9, 1709. 

(IV) Jonathan (2) Brewster, eldest 
son of Benjamin and Ann (Dart) Brew- 
ster, was born November 30, 1664, and 
resided at Brewster's Neck, where he died 
November 20, 1704. He inherited lands 
from his father, on condition that he care 
for him and his mother in their old age. 
However, the parents survived him. He 
married. December 18, 1690, Judith 
Stevens, of Norwich, Connecticut, who 
was undoubtedly a daughter of James and 
Sarah (Smith) Stevens. 

(V) Jonathan (3) Brewster, eldest son 
of Jonathan (2) and Judith (Stevens) 
Brewster, was bom April 21, 1694, in 
Preston, and lived there, where he died 
about 1754. He married (first) Ruth 
Morgan, born August 29, 1697, at Groton, 
who was also a descendant of Elder Wil- 
liam Brewster, through her grandmother, 
Ruth Brewster. 

(VI) Jonathan (4) Brewster, the eld- 
est child of Jonathan (3) and Ruth (Mor- 
gan) Brewster, was born November 5, 
1719, in Preston, and died at Worthing- 
ton, Massachusetts, April 13, 1800. He 
removed to the latter town in 1777, and 
was one of the most prominent citizens 



there during the remainder of his life. 
He held the offices of selectman, town 
clerk, and representative to the General 
Court. He was also deacon of the Con- 
gregational church of Worthington. On 
August 25, 1754, he married, at Preston, 
Zipporah Smith, daughter of Ephraim 
and Hannah (Witter) Smith, of Stoning- 
ton, born July 10, 1735, in Preston; died 
January 19, 1795, in Worthington. 

(VII) Elisha Brewster, eldest son of 
Jonathan (4) and Zipporah (Smith) 
Brewster, was born February 25, 1755, in 
Preston, and died in Worthington, Sep- 
tember 25, 1833. He held many offices 
of trust and responsibility in the town, 
and was representative to the General 
Court in 1806. He served as a soldier in 
the Revolutionary army, enlisting first in 
Captain Abijah Powell's company of a 
regiment of Light Horse Dragoons for 
and during the war, and ser\'ed a period of 
seven years and six months. His regi- 
ment was exercised in cavalry tactics by 
Count Pulaski, the distinguished Polish 
disciplinarian. During the time of Shays' 
rebellion, Elisha Brewster was one of the 
aids to General Shepard in suppressing 
the uprising at Springfield. He married, 
April 24. 1788, Sarah Huntington, of 
Windham, Connecticut, born about 1768, 
died November 22, 1841, daughter of Rev. 
Jonathan Huntington. 

(VIII) Elisha Huntington Brewster, 
only son of Elisha and Sarah (Hunting- 
ton) Brewster, was born August 5, 1809, 
in Worthington, where he died November 
2'j, 1878. The common schools afforded 
him his early education, and his early 
years were spent upon the paternal farm, 
assisting his father in the work. When 
he was thirty-three years of age, Mr. 
Brewster removed to the center of the 
town and there engaged in mercantile 
business, later taking his son into partner- 
ship with him under the firm name of 



176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



E. H. Brewster & Son. Mr. Brewster was 
a leading man of the community by 
reason of his strong mind and executive 
ability. 

In politics a Whig, he was the repre- 
sentative from his town in the State Legis- 
lature in 1853, and again in 1858. For 
sixteen years, from 1852, Mr. Brewster 
ably filled the office of county commis- 
sioner, serving most of the time as chair- 
man of the board. In recognition of his 
services, he was presented with a gold- 
headed cane, which has been left as a 
family heirloom and is now in the pos- 
session of E. H. Brewster, his grandson, 
in Springfield, Massachusetts. In 1871, 
he was representative to the Legislature, 
and served as a member of the Governor's 
Council in 1873. Mr. Brewster was a 
trustee and director of several financial 
and industrial institutions, and discharged 
his duties in a manner which brought him 
commendation. One who knew him well 
said : "He could not recall the time when 
he was other than the perfect gentleman." 

Mr. Brewster married, August i, 1831, 
Sophronia Martha Kingman, daughter of 
Isaiah and Lucy (Daniels) Kingman, of 
Worthington, who died March 14, 1879. 

(IX) Charles Kingman Brewster, sec- 
ond son of Elisha H. and Sophronia M. 
(Kingman) Brewster, was born June 11, 
1843, '" Worthington, where he died Sep- 
tember 30, 1908. He was a worthy son of 
his honored father, and held the office 
of county commissioner of Hampshire 
county. His business career began in his 
father's store, of which he subsequently 
became manager, and which he success- 
fully carried on for several years. Mr. 
Brewster had always taken a keen interest 
in matters relating to his home town, and 
was the author of a revised edition of 
Rice's "History of Worthington." In 
1889 he served as a member of the Legis- 
lature. He was trustee of the Northamp- 
Conn — 10 — 12 177 



ton Institute for Savings, and a director 
of the Hampshire Mutual Fire Insurance 
Compan3\ He married, at Worthington, 
February 22, 1866, Celina Sophia Baldwin, 
born in Windsor, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of Chauncey Baldwin. 

(X) Charles Huntington Brewster, sec- 
ond son of Charles Kingman and Celina 
Sophia (Baldwin) Brewster, was born 
February 14, 1877, in Worthington. He 
attended the public schools there and fol- 
lowed subsequent courses, continuing 
until he was twenty-five years of age. At 
that time he entered business in associa- 
tion with his father, which relation con- 
tinued until 1901. In the latter year, Mr. 
Brewster became interested in the auto- 
mobile business, and entered the employ 
of the Knox Auto Company. His work 
took him to several cities and it was in 
this way that he came to Middletown, 
Connecticut, where he now resides. 
There he entered the employ of a Mr. 
Caulkins, who was in the automobile busi- 
ness, and continued with him until 1909. 
Mr. Brewster had then acquired consid- 
erable knowledge, not only of the me- 
chanical side, but also of the dealing and 
selling end of the automobile trade, and 
in the above mentioned year started out 
on his own account. His first venture 
was on Washington street, Middletown, 
where he remained for five years. In 
1915, it became desirable to have larger 
quarters, and with this idea in mind Mr. 
Brewster moved to the rear of the Pythian 
building on Main street. He has an ex- 
tensive repair department and a large 
space for the storing of cars. In the 
repair department there are seven men 
employed, skilled mechanics. In addition, 
Mr. Brewster is a dealer in the Reo and 
Studebaker cars. He is highly respected 
as a citizen, and among the leading busi- 
ness men of Middletown holds a promi- 
nent place. With his family he attends 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Church of the Holy Trinity. In poli- 
tics he sustains the principles of the Re- 
publican party. 

Mr. Brewster married, in 1909, Jennie 
M. Johnson, daughter of August H. John- 
son, an old resident of Middletown. 
Their children are: Janet Huntington, 
born September, 191 1, and Charles Dart, 
born August, 1913. 



MILLER, WilUam Radley, 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

William Radley Miller, a leading physi- 
cian of Hartford, Connecticut, and a scion 
of an old family prominent in the annals 
of the history of the early colonies, was 
born March 18, 1873, in Schenectady, New 
York, son of John J. and Elizabeth (Rad- 
ley) Miller, grandson of Albert Miller, 
and great-grandson of John Miller. This 
Miller family originally came from Long 
Island. John Miller's wife was surnamed 
Boomhower. 

(II) Albert Miller, son of John Miller, 
was probably born at Rensselaerville, 
New York. He lived there for many 
years, and also resided at South Berne. 
He was a farmer by occupation. He died 
in 1900, at the age of eighty-four years. 
The name of his wife was Sophia Bo- 
gardus. 

(III) John J. Miller, son of Albert and 
Sophia (Bogardus) Miller, was born in 
Middlefield, New York, and died January 
28, 1919. He went to South Berne, where 
he attended school, and was brought up 
on a farm. He continued farming until 
his removal to Schenectady, where he en- 
gaged in the contracting business for two 
years, removing then to Albany and fol- 
lowing the same line of business, which 
he rapidly developed to large proportions. 
He was interested in several other lines 
of business, being the first agent of the 
New York & New Jersey Steamboat Com- 



pany, retiring from this position several 
years before his death. He also sers'ed 
on the directorate of a local bank, and was 
financially interested in other important 
interests. Mr. Miller married Elizabeth 
Radley, daughter of William Radley, of 
Vorheesville, New York, and Sarah (Van 
Dusen) Radley. 

(IV) William Radley Miller, son of 
John J. and Elizabeth (Radley) Miller, 
was educated in the public schools of 
Albany, New York. Subsequently he 
read medicine under the preceptorship of 
Dr. William Hailes, of Albany, then en- 
tered the Albany Medical School, gradu- 
ating in 1898 with the degree of M. D. 
For over two years following his gradu- 
ation Dr. Miller was with the Hartford 
Hospital, of Hartford, Connecticut, 
whence he removed to Southington, that 
State, and there he still makes his home, 
with his professional interests for the 
greater part in Hartford. Dr. Miller has 
always made a specialty of mental and 
nervous diseases, and he has made an 
enviable name for himself among the med- 
ical fraternity of Hartford county. He is 
a member of the staff of St. Francis Hos- 
pital, as neurologist and psychiatrist, con- 
sulting neurologist of Manchester Memo- 
rial Hospital, and to the New Britain 
General Hospital, and is associate med- 
ical director of the Aetna Life Insurance 
Company. He is a member of the Hart- 
ford, Hartford County, Connecticut, and 
American Medical associations, and a 
member of the American Society of Clin- 
ical Criminology. Of the above second 
named association Dr. Miller is an ex- 
president, and he is also an ex-president 
of the American Prison Official Associa- 
tion. For a period of five years he served 
as physician to the Connecticut Reforma- 
tory at Cheshire. These offices in them- 
selves are sufficient warrant of the high 
esteem in which Dr. Miller is held and 



178 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of his efficiency along the lines he has 
made his life's work. In March, 1918, 
Dr. Miller enlisted as a neurologist and 
psychiatrist in the World War, and was 
commissioned captain, serving in various 
camps, and was active in the service until 
May 28, 1919. Dr. Miller holds many 
fraternal connections, being past master 
of Friendship Lodge. No. 33, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Southington ; 
treasurer of the Triune Chapter, No. 40, 
Royal -Arch Masons ; member of Temple 
Council, No. 32, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters; St. Elmo Commandery, Knights 
Templar; Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine; 
member of the Past Masters' Association 
of Connecticut. His clubs are the Hart- 
ford Club and the Southington Club. 

Dr. Miller married Julia W. Andrews, 
daughter of Dayton I. Andrews, of South- 
ington. Her mother was Ida Elizabeth 
(Wheeler) Andrews. Dr. and Mrs. Mil- 
ler are the parents of a daughter, Eliza- 
beth Miller, born January 12, 1906. 



WILLIAMS, William, Jr., 

Mannfactnrer. 

The name Williams is of ancient 
Welsh origin and has become one of the 
most numerous names in Great Britain 
and America. In Wales, it was formerly 
Ap Williams, and it is worthy of note 
that Morgan Ap Williams, of Glamor- 
ganshire, gentleman, married a sister of 
Lord Thomas Cromwell, afterward Earl 
of Essex, who was an ancestor of the 
famous Puritan reformer, Oliver Crom- 
well. In this branch of the family herein 
described, the Christian name, William, 
has been given to each succeeding eldest 
son for many generations, and Wyken, a 
suburb of Coventry, England, has been 
the family seat of the family. 

William (3) Williams, Jr., whose name 
heads this sketch, was bom in Coventry, 



. England, November 20, i860, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Hannah (Lydall) Williams, 
and grandson of William (i) Williams. 
The latter was for many years general 
manager of the Wyken Colliery Com- 
pany, and died in that position between 
June and October, 1874. 

William (2) Williams, son of William 
(i) Williams, was born in Wyken, and 
died at the age of seventy-four years in 
1917. He remained in his native town 
until he was twenty-four year old, and 
was a coal miner. In 1865 he came to 
America, and in New Britain, Con- 
necticut, entered the employ of the 
Union Manufacturing Company, where 
he learned the trade of molder. In 
1874, at the request of his father, he re- 
turned to England to become under- 
ground manager of the Wyken Colliery 
Company, of which his father was gen- 
eral manager, as previously noted. The 
latter died the same year, and Mr. Wil- 
liams remained in Wyken until 1879, 
when he returned to America. On this 
occasion he located in Manchester, Con- 
necticut, but after two or three years, re- 
turned to New Britain and to his old 
employer, the Union Manufacturing Com- 
pany, where he continued until within 
two or three years of his death, making a 
total service with that concern of thirty- 
five years. He married Hannah Lydall, 
and they were the parents of eleven chil- 
dren, six of whom grew to maturity. 
They were: William, Jr., of further men- 
tion ; Thomas, of New Haven ; Henry, of 
New Britain ; the foregoing were all 
born in England, and the following in 
America : David ; Mary, wife of William 
J. Wedlake, of New Britain ; Frederick, 
of New Britain. The family attended the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

The educational opportunities of Wil- 
liam Williams, Jr. were very limited. He 
was the eldest of a large family, and bom 

79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at a time when educational qualifications 
were not esteemed as highly as in this 
day. He went to work as did most chil- 
dren of mechanics, at an early age. He 
was only nine years old when he entered 
the employ of the New Britain Knitting 
Company, and after his parents returned 
to England, he went to school for a short 
time. At the age of twelve years he went 
to work in a coal mine, and after consid- 
ering this part of his early history and the 
success which he has made of his life, it 
proves that a young man possessed of 
the right qualifications, can succeed 
through his own unaided efforts. 

Mr. Williams owes his success to no 
man ; he is self-made in the fullest sense 
of that phrase. Always an ambitious 
youth, honest in every fiber of his being, 
through indefatigable industry he has 
made a place for himself. His attribute 
of honesty found expression, not only in 
dealings with his fellow-men, but in the 
quality of his products. These were the 
foundation stones on which his success 
has been built. With scarcely a dollar 
spent for advertising, and after having 
had only one or two trips on the road as 
his own salesman to get trial orders when 
he began business, his business comes un- 
solicited from satisfied customers, who 
have ever found quality of product, prices, 
and personal dealings all that could be 
asked. 

When the family located in Manchester, 
Mr. Williams entered the employ of the 
Lydall & Foulds Needle Company of that 
city, Mr. Lydall being his uncle. Mr. 
Williams was in their employ from 1879 
to 1883, and in December of the latter 
year, established his present business in 
New Britain. He manufactures needles 
for the hosiery and underwear manufac- 
turers, and sells direct to customers all 
over the country. At times he has em- 
ployed as many as fifteen men. 



Mr. Williams married Celia Ann Case, 
daughter of Dudley and Ann Case of 
Windsor Locks, and has two children, one 
of whom is now living, Rebecca May, 
wife of William D. Braden, of New 
Britain. 



BENCE, Charles A., 

Business Man. 

One of the most enterprising citizens of 
New Britain, Connecticut, who, through 
his own industry and ability, has achieved 
the place he now holds in that commu- 
nity, Charles A. Bence,born in New Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, November 23, 1868, is 
a son of Gottleib and Katherine (Knell) 
Bence. 

Gottleib Bence, father of Mr. Bence, 
was born in Germany, and died in 1873, 
aged fifty-eight years. He came to Amer- 
ica when he was a young man and fol- 
lowed his trade of brass turner. He 
lived in that part of the town of New 
Hartford known as "Nepaug." Mr. Bence 
married Katherine Knell, and they were 
the parents of the following children : 
Hattie, married George Rice, and resides 
in California ; they are the parents of a 
daughter, Cora, wife of Archibald Mun- 
ger ; Fred, died unmarried ; Henry, a 
resident of New Britain; Charles A., of 
further mention. 

Charles A. Bence was educated in the 
public schools of New Hartford, and then 
for a number of years worked in the lum- 
ber woods until coming to New Britain. 
In the latter city he worked in the truck- 
ing business for a few years, and then 
went into business for himself. His start 
was a small one with one team, and he 
now uses ten horses. Besides his truck- 
ing business, Mr. Bence has a steam 
shovel which is used in excavating in 
connection with his trucks. He also has 
two auto trucks. At times there are as 



180 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



many as thirty-five men employed. About 
twelve years ago, Mr. Bence began to 
handle the Buick car, and now has a ter- 
ritory including New Britain, Berlin and 
East Berlin. 

Mr. Bence is held in high esteem by his 
business contemporaries, and outside of 
his business interests is much interested 
in the public welfare of his adopted city. 
Fraternally, he is a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity. He is a member of Har- 
mony Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons ; the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks ; and the Patriotic Order 
Sons of America. 

Mr. Bence married Orlean Louise Hol- 
combe, daughter of Deuel and Anna F. 
(Henderson) Holcombe. Mrs. Bence's 
ancestry traces to the early Colonial fam- 
ilies. Her father, Deuel Holcombe, was 
born in Bloomfield, Connecticut, July 4, 
1839, and died in Hartford, Connecticut, 
in November, 1917. He married, Decem- 
ber 17, 1867, Anna Floretta Henderson, 
born April 20, 1847, daughter of Shubael 
Henry and Anna (Merrell) Henderson. 
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Holcombe 
were : Anna K., deceased ; Orlean L., wife 
of Mr. Bence; Stanley Deuel; Essie 
Minna ; William Gordon ; Lislis E. ; Cadis. 
Mr. Holcombe was a farmer during his 
lifetime, and became a resident of Bur- 
lington, Connecticut, when a young man. 
He taught school at one time in his 
younger days, and later served as a mem- 
ber of the committee to examine teach- 
ers. In politics, he was a Republican, and 
served as tax collector. The family were 
members of the Congregational church in 
Burlington. Mrs. Holcombe survives her 
husband, and is remarkably well pre- 
served, despite her advanced years. 

The father of Deuel Holcombe was Milo 
Holcombe, born August i, 1799, in Bloom- 
field ; died December 6, 1867. He mar- 
ried January 2, 1837, ^or his second wife. 



Catherine Deuel. For many years he 
traveled as a salesman through the South 
and subsequently was employed in the 
treasury department of the Government. 
Originally a Whig in politics, Mr. Hol- 
combe later became a Republican. Mr. 
Holcombe spent the last years of his life 
on his home farm. His father was Abra- 
ham Holcombe. 

Abraham Holcombe was born October 
10, 1777, and died February 14, 1866. He 
married Rosanna Adams, July 10, 1798. 
The following curious epitaph is on the 
tombstone of Abraham Holcombe : 

"Here lies Abraham Holcombe, 

the eldest and most respectable 

of the Holcombe family." 

(The Henderson Line). 

Shubael Henry Henderson, whose 
daughter, Anna F., married Deuel Hol- 
combe, was born July 22, 1814. He mar- 
ried November 10, 1842, Anna Merrell. 
He was a farmer in what is now Nepaug, 
Connecticut, and represented his town in 
the Legislature of 1877. For twenty-one 
years Mr. Henderson was tax collector, 
and also served as constable for a long 
period. His father was Gordon Hender- 
son. 

Gordon Henderson, one of twins, was 
born December 7, 1785. He married in 
1808, Betsey Crow, of New Hartford, and 
she died in 1858. In 1843 and 1844, Mr. 
Henderson represented New Hartford in 
the Legislature. He died August 14, i860. 

John Henderson, father of Gordon Hen- 
derson, was born, probably in New Hart- 
ford. According to the records of St. 
George's Church, of Hempstead, Long 
Island, he was married July 17, 1726, at 
Oyster Bay, to Ann Prime. 

James Henderson, father of John Hen- 
derson, was born in New Hartford, prob- 
ably about 1675. He married January i, 
1701, Mehitabel, slaughter of John Graves 



181 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Susanna (Webster) Graves. She was 
great-granddaughter of Governor John 
Webster, of Connecticut. John Hender- 
son was a weaver, but he does not seem to 
have followed that trade, for the records 
show that he dealt extensively in real 
estate. In 1734-35, he purchased several 
parcels of land in New Hartford, of which 
town he was one of the original propri- 
etors, and in which he died, in 1745-46. 
His widow was living as late as February, 
1761. 

Research has thus far failed to disclose 
where James Henderson was born, or 
who was his father. On the old records 
the name is spelled "Henderson" and 
"Handerson." 



MARSH, Albert Palmer, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

Albert Palmer Marsh, a leading citizen 
of New Britain, Connecticut, is also of 
that same ancestry of those who founded 
New England. Although born in Eng- 
land, he needed no Americanization in the 
sense of learning our ideals, for his ideals 
are a heritage of the common ancestors 
who won the Magna Charta. In his 
American patriotism, Mr. Marsh sets an 
example to many native born, who have 
grown up in enjoyment of American priv- 
iliges and opportunities without suffi- 
cient appreciation of their significance. 
Mr. Marsh was bom July i, 1867, in Bir- 
mingham, England, son of William and 
Mary Ann (Palmer) Marsh. His father 
was a native of Birmingham, and a nat- 
ural genius. He grew up as a metal 
worker and there was nothing in connec- 
tion with the working of metals that he 
could not do. from the varying of the 
various ingredients necessary to produce 
different qualities in metals, to the finest 
work in the finished product. Withal, 
he was a sculptor of great natural talent, 



and some of the finer homes of New 
Britain are now adorned with beautiful 
bronzes made by himself from his own 
plaster models. Two notable examples 
are a fine relief portrait of Abraham Lin- 
coln, and a fine relief of a racing horse 
in action. 

Mr. Marsh came to America about 1867, 
and located for a time in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where he was joined by his fam- 
ily. For the next four or five years he 
worked in a large number of cities of the 
East, evidently seeking an environment 
that was exactly to his taste. He finally 
settled in New Britain and entered the 
employ of P. & F. Corbin. There he intro- 
duced "methods" which greatly improved 
the appearance of the finished metal prod- 
uct, and at the same time greatly lowered 
the cost of production. In 1872 he had a 
contract with that concern for an amount 
a day which was considered almost a fab- 
ulous salary. Mr. Marsh married Mary 
Ann Palmer, born in Birmingham, Eng- 
land, and a member of an old family in 
that city. They were the parents of the 
following children : Nellie L., wife of 
Henry Boehm, of Southington; Alice, 
wife of George Kron, of that city ; Albert 
P., of further mention ; Emily E., mar- 
ried Albert Skinner, of Waterbury, and 
is now deceased ; Charles H., of New 
Haven. 

The educational opportunities of Albert 
P. Marsh were exceedingly limited, but 
he has been a voracious reader, with a 
natural taste for the worth while litera- 
ture, and is the possessor of a naturally 
logical mind. His unquenchable thirst 
for knowledge, and his application and 
concentration of mind, have more than 
made up for his lack of formal training. 
He was only ten years old when he went 
to work in the Malleable Iron Works on 
Myrtle street in New Britain. He per- 
formed labor that was arduous for one of 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



such tender years. Later he had an op- 
portunity to attend a night school for a 
time. Until he was nineteen years of 
age, he worked in various factories in 
New Britain, and then decided to learn 
the painting and decorating business. Be- 
fore he had completed his apprenticeship, 
his employer failed in business, and Mr. 
Marsh had to take over the business and 
tools to cover the wages due to him. 
Nothing daunted by being thus thrown 
upon his own resources, he employed ex- 
perienced men and watched closely the 
financial side of the business, and was so 
successful that he continued in business 
for thirty years as the leading painter and 
decorator of New Britain. At times he 
had as many as twenty men in his employ. 
At that time New Britain was a much 
smaller city, so it will be seen that Mr. 
Marsh was an important factor in the 
business community. 

He has done a good deal of church 
work, and while his business naturally has 
been largely local, he has had contracts 
as far away as Brooklyn, New York, and 
many of the towns and cities of Connec- 
ticut. About three years ago, he sold his 
business with the intention of devoting 
his time to public service, but it was not 
long before certain influences induced him 
to go into the motor trucking business, 
and now Mr. Marsh has several trucks op- 
erating, and also does an extensive stor- 
age business in connection therewith. 
His trucking operations extend to Wash- 
ington, D. C, to Boston, New York City, 
and points farther west. 

Mr. Marsh is a member of the Sons of 
St. George, and is past worthy president 
of this organization. He has been espec- 
ially active in the Americanization work 
undertaken by the order, especially in 
showing its members the desirability of 
becoming citizens. Everything seems so 
natural to the average Englishman when 



he comes to this country, that he feels at 
home at once and does not take the trou- 
ble to assume the privileges and responsi- 
bilities of the voter. This attitude he 
tries to change. Mr. Marsh is also a 
member of the Knights of Pythias, Order 
of Owls, and Burritt Grange. 

He is actively interested in every phase 
of his community's life, and regardless of 
personal comfort, or convenience, is ever 
read}' to do more than an individual's 
share in work, necessary to forward pub- 
lic enterprises. He is eminently practical, 
and has the faculty of getting things done. 
For that reason he has come to be classed 
as a "pinch hitter," in the phrase bor- 
rowed from baseball. When something 
must be done in an apparently impossible 
limit of time, A. P. Marsh is the man 
called upon to do it, and it is said that up 
to the present time he has never failed to 
make good. 

Mr. Marsh has been credited as much 
as anyone else with the success of the 
Britain's Day celebration in New Brit- 
ain, for it was as a result of his powers 
of persuasion that the large firms were 
induced to prepare the wonderful display 
of floats that will make the parade on that 
occasion long remembered. He was also 
a leader in the preliminary work that 
made "Welcome Home" day such a suc- 
cess. Always a staunch Republican, Mr. 
Marsh has been an active party worker. 
Possessed of a wonderful voice, both as 
regards timbre and carrying power, he is 
a forceful and pleasing speaker, and while 
addressing an audience is fortunate in 
having at his command all that is apropos 
in the large fund of information garnered 
in his extensive reading and study. He 
was a member of the Legislative Com- 
mittee representing the Chamber of Com- 
merce of New Britain, attending numerous 
legislative hearings of importance during 
the 1921 session of the Legislature. He 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has also represented the Grange before 
Legislative committees. He has been a 
member of the town Republican commit- 
tee for three years, and recently com- 
pleted a term of about ten years as dep- 
uty sheriff for Hartford county. In this 
office, perhaps more than in any other 
one phase of his career, Mr. Marsh's qual- 
ity of human kindness has come to the 
fore. To him the duties of the office 
meant much more than the serving of 
legal processes. When it became his 
duty to arrest an individual, Mr. Marsh 
immediately sought means to alleviate the 
unpleasant features of the unfortunate's 
situation, and to help him or her to a 
happy solution of the difficulties. In 
these activities he was so successful that 
many times he won the lasting friendship 
and loyal regard of those upon whom he 
had to call as a representative of the law. 
Only once in all his years in this office, 
did he find it necessary to use force on an 
individual. With a knowledge of human 
nature and a power to influence men akin 
to that possessed by some famous men, 
he was enabled to peaceably serve legal 
processes. 

Mr. Marsh married Jennie E. Gilbert, 
daughter of Daniel W. and Ella (Kent) 
Gilbert, born in New Britain, of old Rev- 
olutionary stock, and they are the parents 
of: Gladys H., a graduate of the Willi- 
mantic Normal School, and a teacher at 
the present time at Fortress Monroe ; and 
Gilbert Palmer, a graduate of the Bliss 
Electrical School, at Washington, D. C. 
Mr. and Mrs. Marsh attend the Methodist 
Episcopal church and contribute to its 
support. 



RAMAGE, Ripley J., 

Retired Bnilding Contractor, 

Ripley J. Ramage, retired building con- 
tractor of New Britain, Connecticut, was 



born November 4, 1846, in Norwich, that 
State, son of Charles Thomas and Mary 
Ann (Smith) Ramage. His father, 
Charles Thomas Ramage, was born in 
London, England, March 20, 1812, and 
died March 30, 1891. He was only a boy 
when he began to go to sea, and followed 
the water until within ten or fifteen years 
of his death. His voyages before com- 
ing to America were in the old packet 
ships. He began as a cabin boy and 
worked his way up in that department 
until he became steward, and after com- 
ing to this country he was employed as 
steward on the steamboat line between 
Norwich and New York City, until he 
gave up seafaring life. Mr. Ramage made 
his home in Norwich, and the last ten or 
fifteen years of his life were spent ashore, 
and he worked intermittently at various 
things. In England Mr. Ramage joined 
the Manchester Order of Odd Fellows. 
He married Marj' Ann, daughter of Henry 
Smith, born in London, in 1814. She was 
the mother of sixteen children, including 
one set of triplets and two sets of twins. 
Of these children nine grew to maturity: 
Charles T., died in Uncasville, Connecti- 
cut ; Annie, married Alonzo H. Sherman, 
of Norwich ; John, now a resident of the 
Connecticut Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows Home ; Ripley J., of further men- 
tion ; Jennie, deceased ; Mary Ann, mar- 
ried Oscar Hildreth, now a resident of 
Norwich ; Alfred, of Montville ; Frederick, 
deceased, formerly a resident of Hartford. 
The family attended the Episcopal church. 
Ripley J. Ramage attended the public 
schools of Norwich in the winters, and 
assisted in the summers until he was six- 
teen years old. He then started and 
learned the mason's trade, which he fol- 
lowed as a journeyman for twenty years 
or more. He then engaged in the con- 
tracting business on his own account, and 
in 1872 became a resident of New Britain. 



184 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



A section of the Stanley works was built 
by Mr. Ramage, the part now used as a 
police station, and other public buildings, 
and a very large number of residences of 
the better class were also built by him. 
Before his retirement, he employed 
twenty-five men on the average. In 1919, 
Mr. Ramage retired from active business 
cares to enjoy well deserved leisure. 

Mr. Ramage is a member of the Hart- 
ford Lodge, No. 82, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; Comstock Encampment, of 
New Britain, of which he is past chancel- 
lor patron. He was initiated in Hartford 
Lodge, October 5, 1869, and November 4, 
1919, the Lodge presented him with a uni- 
versal badge with the figure "fifty" inlaid 
with diamonds, to commemorate the fif- 
tieth anniversary of his joining the order. 
This is the tenth badge to be issued. 

He married Josephine A. Griswold, 
daughter of George and Lucinda (Cheney) 
Griswold, born in Upton, Massachusetts, 
January 13, 1851 ; died October 30, 1904. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ramage were the parents of 
two children : Edward R., married Jean 
Baird ; and Bertha Griswold, who lives at 
home. With his family Mr. Ramage has 
been an attendant of the Congregational 
church for many years. 

He is a self-made man in the highest 
sense of that phrase, upright in his busi- 
ness dealings, and more than that, a lover 
of his fellow-man, always ready even at 
considerable personal sacrifice to do a 
favor, and among his townspeople he is 
held in universal esteem. 



FISHER, William Edwin, 

Physician. 

Among the members of the medical 
profession in Connecticut who have added 
dignity and honor to their profession, 
there is none more worthy of mention 



than Dr. William E. Fisher, of Middle- 
town, Connecticut. 

Dr. Fisher was born November 6, 1855. 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Susan (Haas) Fisher, and 
grandson of William (i) Fisher. The 
latter was a native of England and early 
settled in Pennsylvania. He served in the 
War of 1812. 

William (2) Fisher, son of William (i) 
Fisher, was born in Pennsylvania, and was 
long engaged in the business of contract- 
ing and building. He married Susan 
Haas, daughter of Jacob Haas, of Phila- 
delphia, a manufacturer of stockings. 

After completing his elementary edu- 
cation. Dr. William E. Fisher attended 
the University of Pennsylvania, from 
which he graduated in 1876, with his de- 
gree of M. D. For the ensuing year he 
was an interne of the Jefferson Hospital, 
and in 1878 removed to Middletown, Con- 
necticut, where he became a member of 
the staff of the Connecticut Hospital for 
the Insane of that city. For almost four 
decades he continued in this relation, and 
on May i, 1917, was assistant superin- 
tendent. Dr. Fisher also served as assist- 
ant to Dr. A. Ross Diefendorf, instructor 
in physics at Yale University. During 
the World War he served as a member of 
the Medical Advisory Board at Meriden, 
Connecticut. In 1917 he purchased a 
handsome house in Portland, Connecticut. 

A Democrat in political principle. Dr. 
Fisher has not been active in many out- 
side afifairs, although ever willing to aid 
in general welfare movements. He has 
never sought to hold public office, and has 
found his greatest interest in his profes- 
sion. He is a member of St. John's Lodge, 
No. 2, Free and Accepted Masons ; Wash- 
ington Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, Knights 
Templar, of Middletown ; and also is a 
member of the Connecticut Medical Asso- 



iS.-; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciation ; the American Medical Associa- 
tion ; and of the New England Psychi- 
atric Association. 

On March ii, 1897, Dr. Fisher married, 
at Middletown, Connecticut, Dr. Jessie 
Meyers Weston, born August 10, 1872, at 
Cherry Hill, Maryland, daughter of John 
Wesley and Laure Elizabeth (Jones) 
Weston. John Wesley Weston was a 
native of Maryland, and a Methodist min- 
ister; his wife, Laure Elizabeth Jones, 
was bom in Harrington, Delaware. Dr. 
and Mrs. Fisher are the parents of a son, 
William Weston Fisher, born June 5, 
1904, now a student in the Loomis Insti- 
tute, at Windsor, Connecticut. 

Dr. Jessie M. (Weston) Fisher gradu- 
ated at the Woman's Medical College of 
Philadelphia, and engaged in private prac- 
tice in that city. Subsequently, for some 
years, she was pathologist at the Connec- 
ticut Hospital for the Insane at Middle- 
town. She is now city bacteriologist of 
Middletown and pathologist of the Mid- 
dlesex Hospital and Cromwell Hall, of 
Cromwell, Connecticut. During the early 
years of the recent World War, she was 
a member of the Medical Advisory Board 
of Middletown, and served nine months 
with the Red Cross in France during the 
latter part of that struggle. 



HALSEY, Henry, 

Respected Citizen. 

The name of Halsey is of Saxon origin, 
and is formed from the two Saxon words, 
"hals" and "ey," meaning an island, water, 
the island neck. There were four early 
immigrants of this name in New Eng- 
land, and one of these, Thomas Halsey, 
was born in England, in 1591-92, and was 
one of the settlers at Lynn, Massachu- 
setts, in 1637. A few years later he re- 
moved to Southampton, Long Island, and 
it is through this line that Henry Halsey, 



for many years one of the useful and 
prominent citizens of the town of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, descends. 

(I) Philip Halsey, great-grandfather of 
Henry Halsey, was born at Southampton, 
Long Island, in 1760, and he was a son of 
Zebulon and Sarah (Sayre) Halsey. He 
died in 1846, and during his active life- 
time followed the occupation of tanner 
and shoemaker. During the Revolution- 
ary War he served his country, and with 
his regiment was on retreat from New 
York, after independence had been de- 
clared, and they were discharged at White 
Plains, New York. With some of his 
comrades he started for his home, but 
learned that a company of British dra- 
goons were in the vicinity, and so they 
crossed the island to Oyster Point, and 
then by boat crossed the sound and en- 
tered the Connecticut river. Eventually 
Philip Halsey came to Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, where he located, and it was thus 
that this family became established there. 
He married Esther Moore, daughter of 
Elisha Moore, and their second son, 
Henry, is of further mention. 

(II) Henry Halsey, grandfather of 
Henry Halsey, was born October 17, 1784. 
He followed the calling of sea captain. 
He was thrice married. His first wife 
was Abigail Allyn, daughter of Colonel 
Job Allyn, and their only child was Henry 
A., of further mention. 

(III) Henry A. Halsey, father of Henry 
Halsey, was born in Windsor. For the 
time he received a very excellent educa- 
tion, and subsequently learned the trade 
of shoemaker. In his later life he was 
engaged in farming, and as one of the 
foremost workers of the Democratic party 
he was often called upon to fill positions 
of trust and responsibility. For many 
years he ably discharged the duties of 
selectman, and was in many other ways 
active in working for the welfare of 

186 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Windsor. Mr. Halsey married Fanny 
Maria Ellsworth, daughter of Giles Ells- 
worth, and a descendant of one of the 
earliest Windsor families. 

(IV) Henry Halsey, son of Henry A. 
and Fanny Maria (Ellsworth) Halsey, 
was born in Windsor, in 1844, and died 
there March 24, 1919. His education was 
obtained at the Windsor Academy and at 
a private school. Upon completing his 
formal education, he worked with his 
father for a time, and in 1868 went to 
Long Branch, Nebraska, and for four 
years engaged in farming there. On his 
return to Windsor, Mr. Halsey also fol- 
lowed farming there, making a specialty 
of 'the raising of tobacco, and was highly 
successful in his undertaking. During his 
long residence in Windsor, Mr. Halsey 
was active in many public ways. He was 
among the highly esteemed men of the 
town, and through his industry and thrift 
contributed considerably to the upbuild- 
ing of Windsor. Just as his ancestor 
answered the call in 1776, so Mr. Halsey, 
in October, 1861, enlisted in Company B, 
22nd Connecticut Volunteers, and except 
for a short absence due to illness, remained 
with his company until his discharge, July 
7, 1862. He was a member of the Vet- 
eran Corps of this company. 

On Christmas Day, in 1878, Mr. Hal- 
sey married, in Hartford, Josephine C. 
Waterhouse, born in Chester, Connecti- 
cut, March 14, 1848, daughter of Albert 
and Catherine (Seymour) Waterhouse. 
They were the parents of two sons : Harry 
Allyn, and Howard Philip, both now re- 
siding in Windsor. 

Mr. Halsey's life was marked by many 
splendid qualities, and with the help of 
the product of his own work, and faithful 
application, he became a man of promi- 
nence and of influence in his community. 



WADSWORTH, Adrian Rowe, 

Civil Engineer, Legislator. 

A prominent and progressive citizen of 
the town of Farmington, Connecticut, 
Adrian Rowe Wadsworth was born there 
November 26, 1855, son of Winthrop 
Manna and Lucy Anna (Ward) Wads- 
worth. 

(I) The family of Wadsworth has long 
been a leading one in Connecticut annals, 
having been founded in America by Wil- 
liam Wadsworth, who was born about 
1600 in England and came in company 
with his brother, Christopher, in the ship 
"Lion," landing at Boston, Massachu- 
setts, September 16, 1632. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman of Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, November 6, 1633, ^^^ settled at 
Cambridge, that State. Upon the organ- 
ization of the town in 1634-35 he served 
as a member of the first Board of Select- 
men. He formed one of the company of 
Rev. Thomas Hooker, and was a founder 
of Hartford, Connecticut, where he died 
in 1675. He served as selectman, collec- 
tor, and took an active part in church 
afTairs, being one of the wealthiest pro- 
prietors of the town. 

(II) John Wadsworth, son of William 
Wadsworth, was born in England before 
November 6, 1649, and died in Farming- 
ton, where he had settled early in life. 
He was a prosperous and influential man. 
He appeared third on the tax list in i66g ; 
was sergeant of the militia company, and 
was a member of what later became the 
State Senate. John Wadsworth was a 
brother of Captain Joseph Wadsworth, 
who made the name immortal in Connec- 
ticut records by virtue of his valient deed 
in concealing the Charter of the Colony 
from emissaries of the King who sought 
to revoke the Charter. John Wadsworth 
married Sarah Stanley, daughter of 
Thomas Stanley, of Hartford, in 1636. 

St 



U^7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) William (2) Wadsworth, son of 
John Wadsworth, was born in 1671, and 
died October 26, 1751. He represented 
Farmington in the General Assembly 
from 1718 to 1740. He married (second), 
in 1707, Sarah Bunce, daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah Bunce, who was baptized Au- 
gust 14, 1670, and died September 8, 1748. 

(IV) William (3) Wadsworth, son of 
William (2) Wadsworth, was born De- 
cember 2, 1709, baptized March 16, 1710, 
died August 6, 1769. He lived in Farm- 
ington, where he married. May 15, 1740, 
Ruth Hart, born August 14, 1713, in Ken- 
sington, third daughter of Deacon Thomas 
and Mary (Thompson) Hart. 

(V) Asahel Wadsworth, son of Wil- 
liam (3) Wadsworth, was born in Ken- 
sington. December 20, 1743, died May 5, 
1817. He married (first), February 2, 
1769, Mercy Woodruff, born March 23, 
1741, died December 29, 1810, daughter of 
Matthew and Susanna (North) Wood- 
ruff. 

(VI) Thomas Hart Wadsworth, son of 
Asahel Wadsworth, was born August 25, 
1771, in Farmington, died there Septem- 
ber 28, 1853. He married for his second 
wife, January 9, 1812, Elizabeth Rowe, 
born in 1781, died July 29, 1870, daughter 
of Isaiah and Mary Rowe. 

(VII) Winthrop Manna Wadsworth. 
son of Thomas Hart Wadsworth, was born 
November 27, 1812, in Farmington, and 
died there November 24, 1891. He was 
educated in the public schools of that 
town, and when he reached manhood's 
estate engaged extensively in agricultural 
pursuits. He owned the old family home- 
stead, and was prominent among the 
leading citizens of his native town. He 
was president of the State Dairymen's 
Association, the Farmington Creamery 
Company and Union Agricultural Soci- 
ety, and represented Farmington in the 
General Assembly. Mr. Wadsworth mar- 



ried, December 21, 1853, Lucy Anna 
Ward, born 1820, died February 10, 1883, 
daughter of Comfort and Plumea Ward, 
of Middletown. 

(VIII) Adrian Rowe Wadsworth, son 
of Winthrop Manna Wadsworth, acquired 
his primary education in Deacon Hart's 
celebrated academy at Farmington, and 
was a student at Professor David Camp's 
school at New Britain, Connecticut, where 
he prepared for college. He was gradu- 
ated from the Sheffield Scientific .School 
of Yale University in the class of 1880. 
Mr. Wadsworth immediately took up the 
profession of engineering, and two years 
later held the office of city engineer of the 
city of Shamokin, Pennsylvania. He was 
subsequently in the employ of the Clark 
Bridge Company of Baltimore, and was 
engaged by it on important contracts in 
Virginia, Maryland and Minnesota. Upon 
his return to Farmington, Mr. Wads- 
worth continued the practice of his pro- 
fession and was one of the organizers of 
the Farmington Water Company, hold- 
ing the position of secretary and treas- 
urer. He held the same offices with the 
Farmington Creamery Company, one of 
the oldest organizations of its kind in 
New England. He was president of the 
State Dairymen's Association in 1897 ; 
secretary and treasurer of the Connecti- 
cut Association, Civil Engineers ; justice 
of the peace, first selectman of Farming- 
ton. Mr. Wadsworth is a Republican in 
political principle and was the represen- 
tative of his town to the General Assem- 
bly in 1897, at which time he was house 
chairman of the committee on contingent 
expenses. In 1899 and 1901 he served on 
the committee on roads, rivers and 
bridges, and in 1901 was chairman of the 
agricultural committee. Fraternally Mr. 
Wadsworth affiliates with Evening Star 
Lodge, No. loi. Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Royal Arch Masons, 
88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Royal and Select Masters, Knights of 
Pythias. 

Mr. Wadsworth married, April i6, 
1890, Charlotte B. Steel, daughter of Wil- 
liam C. and Mary W. Steel, of Hartford. 
She died November 7, 1918. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wadsworth were the parents of the 
following children: i. Helen B., born 
April ID, 1891. 2. Adrian Rowe, Jr., born 
February 25, 1895; was second lieutenant 
of artillery with the American Expedi- 
tionary Forces in France; is now at home. 
3. William Steel, born December 16, 1899; 
was formerly at the Central Officers' 
Training School at Camp Lee, Virginia ; 
is now at home. 



REYNOLDS, Hugh, 

Merchant, Business Man. 

During the seventeenth century there 
were many families from England who 
removed to Ireland, and this accounts for 
the great number of English names found 
in later generations in Ireland. One of 
these is the Reynolds family, whose sur- 
name has been thus derived. It is Saxon 
and is taken from "Rhein" and "hold." The 
first part of the name means sincere or 
pure, and the second part is from the old 
English word for love, consequently the 
name means pure love or sincere love. 

The first of the Reynolds family herein 
described to come to America was Pat- 
rick Reynolds, who was born in Ireland, 
and as a young man came to this country, 
settling at Cheshire, Connecticut. There 
he went to work on a farm, and through 
his industry and thrift was soon in a 
position to buy a farm of his own. Mr. 
Reynolds was the father of Hugh Rey- 
nolds. 

Hugh Reynolds, son of Patrick Rey- 
nolds, was born in Cheshire, Connecticut, 
and died March 17, 1918. He was brought 
up on a farm, and while yet a lad removed 



with his parents to New Haven, Connec- 
ticut, where he attended school and in 
spare time worked in a dry goods store. 
When he was about fifteen years of age 
the family moved to New Britain, Con- 
necticut, and there the boy, Hugh, went 
to work for Landers, Frary & Clark. Not 
finding the confined work of the factory 
to his liking, young Reynolds tried vari- 
ous kinds of employment until he found 
something more to his liking. He worked 
at the mason's trade with his uncle, who 
was a contractor, and later completed an 
apprenticeship at the carpenter's trade. 
His brother, John F. Reynolds, was a 
contractor, and together they put up the 
Reynolds block, and then formed a part- 
nership to go in the coal and wood busi- 
ness under the name of the Reynolds 
Coal Yard. Soon after this time Mr. Rey- 
nolds went West and traveled through 
that section for several years, following 
his trade as a carpenter and engaged with 
others in a building syndicate. Difficul- 
ties with bankers made this venture un- 
profitable, and upon his return East in 
1890. Mr. Reynolds established himself 
in the hay, grain, feed, and fertilizer busi- 
ness. This was the business which he 
followed for many years and in which he 
was very successful. At his death he was 
among the oldest merchants of New Brit- 
ain, and also among the most prominent 
citizens of that city. 

Mr. Reynolds married Theresa Haslip, 
of New Britain, and they were the parents 
of nine children, six of whom grew up. 
They are: i. Marguerite T., graduated 
from Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, New 
York, and also pursued a summer course 
at Columbia University. Subsequently 
she taught in New Britain and Hartford 
for several years, and is a member of the 
Business and Professional Women's Club 
of the former city. 2. Mary, a graduate 
of Columbia University, is now a teacher 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Scranton, Pennsylvania, and is a mem- 
ber of the University Club of Philadel- 
phia. 3. Hubert Conroy, born October 9, 
1894, educated in the public schools of 
New Britain, graduated from high school 
in 1914, and has since been identified with 
the business founded by his father. Upon 
the death of the latter, the business was 
incorporated as the Hugh Reynolds Grain 
& Feed Company, with the son as presi- 
dent, and his sister Marguerite T., as a 
member of the firm. During the World 
War, Hubert C. Reynolds served in the 
41st Coast Artillery for about fifty days. 
He is a member of the Knights of Colum- 
bus, the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; Kenilworth Club ; and the Young 
Men's Christian Association. 4. Thomas 
B. 5. James J. 6. Richard. The family 
are members of St. Mary's Roman Cath- 
olic Church, of New Britain. The mother 
of this family died in 1918. 



O'CONNELL. Daniel W., 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

Daniel W. O'Connell, prominent physi- 
cian and citizen of New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, was born in New Hartford, that 
State, May 25, 1881, son of John and 
Bridget (Duflfey) O'Connell. His father 
was a native of County Cork, Ireland, 
where he was born about 1816, and died 
in New Hartford, in 1898. He came to 
America as a young man, locating in New 
Hartford, where he was engaged in farm- 
ing during the active years of his life. 
He married Bridget DufTey, and they were 
the parents of ten children: Thomas, de- 
ceased; Margaret, wife of Patrick Smith, 
now deceased ; Patrick, of New Britain ; 
John, of New Britain ; Beatrice, wife of 
Charles Madigan ; Catherine ; Jeremiah ; 
Dennia ; Mary; Daniel W., of extended 
mention below. 

Daniel W. O'Connell attended the pub- 



lic schools, and the New Hartford High 
School, later becoming a student at Holy 
Cross College in Worcester. He gradu- 
ated from the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Baltimore in 1905, with his 
medical degree, and spent the year 1906, 
at St. Francis Hospital as an interne. 
Subsequently Dr. O'Connell was in New 
York City, where he was engaged in post- 
graduate work at the New York Post- 
Graduate Hospital, and four months in 
the Lying-in Hospital in that city. 

He has made a specialty of obstetric 
work, and has been singularly successful 
in developing a large practice. Since es- 
tablishing himself in New Britain, he has 
placed himself among the leading phy- 
sicians of that city, and is a member of 
both the New Britain General Hospital 
staff and of the staff of the City Hospital. 
In the interests of his profession. Dr. 
O'Connell holds membership in the Amer- 
ican Medical Association ; the Hartford 
County Association ; the Connecticut 
Medical, and the American Medical as- 
sociations. He is also active in the public 
life of New Britain, and although not 
seeking public office, desires to see the 
best interests of that city forwarded. 
Fraternally he is a member of the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks ; the 
Knights of Columbus, and of the For- 
esters. 

Dr. O'Connell married Helen May Cur- 
tin, daughter of James Curtin, of New 
Britain, and they are the parents of three 
sons: John, James, and William. 



BARRY, John Charles, 

Man of Many Activities. 

A native of Portland and one of its most 
progressive citizens, John Charles Barry 
has contributed in no small degree to the 
growth and prosperity of the town. Like 
most public-spirited men, he has received 



190 





/''Z— z^ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



both thanks and blame for his consistent 
course. He was born July 9, 1870, a son 
of James and Mary (Geary) Barry, both 
of whom were natives of Ireland. James 
Barry came to America in 1854 and lo- 
cated in Portland, where he found em- 
ployment in the quarries. Later he was a 
packer in the shops of the United States 
Stamping Company for many years, and 
died June 10, 1897, at the age of sixty- 
two years. A man of spirit and independ- 
ence, he was respected ; was a faithful 
member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic 
Church, and a Democrat of independent 
tendencies. It is said that he was dis- 
charged from the quarry, because of his 
independence of political dictation by the 
bosses, which never swerved him from 
the assertion of his manhood privileges. 
When well settled in Portland, he sent 
for his parents, whose last years were 
passed here in comfort. 

James Barry married, in Portland, Mary 
Geary, and they were the parents of four 
sons and five daughters, only four of 
whom are now living, four having died in 
infancy. Bessie, the eldest, resides in 
Hartford ; Margaret C, is the wife of 
Thomas F. Dooley, of Brooklyn, New 
York; James H., now living in Hartford, 
was secretary of the New England Enam- 
eling Company of Portland, later secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Portland Spec- 
ialty Company ; Catherine, now deceased, 
was the wife of Dennis J. McGrath, of 
Brooklyn ; and John C, of further men- 
tion. 

John C. Barry attended the schools of 
Portland, including a year and one-half 
in the grammar school. Being an ambi- 
tious youth, he strove to excel in his 
classes, and was also eager to begin a life 
of business activity. At the age of eleven 
years he entered the office of the Strong 
& Hale Lumber Company, as office boy. 
The date was April 25, 1882, and he still 



cherishes among his treasures, the soap 
box on which he stood in order to reach 
the desk. He was fortunate in having 
for a preceptor the late Asaph T. Hale, a 
kind and genial soul, and a master of 
mathematics. In time, young Barry rose 
to the position of bookkeeper, which he 
occupied ten years, and was long general 
manager of the lumber yards. For over 
thirty-nine years, until 1921, he has con- 
tinued in association with the establish- 
ment, which was incorporated and taken 
over by Mr. Barry, in association with 
John A. Dodd, in 1912, since which date 
Mr. Barry has been its president. Under 
the present management, the business has 
been greatly e.xtended and is now in a 
prosperous condition. In association with 
his other activities, Mr. Barry sold life 
insurance during a period of ten years. 
He has long been active in real estate 
operations ; is president of the Portland 
Homestead Company ; treasurer of the 
Portland Realty Company ; president of 
the Portland Board of Trade; and the 
Portland Building and Loan Association ; 
and is a director of the Connecticut Lum- 
ber Dealers' Association. He has served 
as town treasurer, and has been nine 
years a member of the school board, the 
last four years chairman of the Commit- 
tee on Teachers. A Democrat of rather 
independent standing, in a town with nor- 
mal Republican majority, he has won and 
retained the friendship and esteem of his 
fellows in all parties, as evinced by his 
continuous choice to fill important official 
stations. His fellow-citizens unite in fav- 
orable report on his activities during the 
recent World War ; his participation in 
every movement to further the policy of 
this Nation; and his efficient action in 
caring for the welfare of the men in the 
field and their families at home. As a 
member of the war bureau and in many 
other ways, he was especially useful and 



191 





/' / 



"Tz^^^-^^:::.^:^ 



■'•iuND^'^l^SSi 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



erine Shelley, of Durham, born October 
30, 1815, daughter of William and Polly 
(Chalker) Shelley, of that town. 

(VI) William Shelley Miller, son of 
Hiram and Catherine (Shelley) Miller, 
was born July 9, 1862, on the paternal 
farm in Middlefield, and attended the pub- 
lic schools of the vicinity. He remained 
with his father on the farm until man- 
hood, when he went to Rhode Island, and 
soon after to New York City, where he 
was for many years actively engaged in 
business. On reaching the city, he found 
employment in a straw-board factory, 
where he continued for some years and 
then for a time conducted a trucking bus- 
iness in New York. Later he established 
a paper box factory, and in time admitted 
one, Reissman, as a partner. Together 
they conducted the business about sixteen 
years, when Mr. Miller sold his interest 
to his partner and removed to Middle- 
town. On August 7, 1907, he purchased 
the Burdick plant on lower Washington 
street, and there continued the manufac- 
ture of paper boxes until his death, Au- 
gust 13, 1914. After his death the busi- 
ness was continued by his widow, who 
has doubled the capacity of the plant and 
greatly extended the business. Mr. Miller 
was a member of the Church of the Holy 
Trinity, and united with the Masonic fra- 
ternity in New York, affiliating with 
Eureka Lodge, and was also a member of 
Pyramid Lodge, of the Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows of that city, in which 
he passed the principal chairs. After re- 
moving to Middletown, he became a 
member of Apollo Lodge, No. 33, Knights 
of Pythias. In political principle, he was 
a Democrat, and was honored by his 
fellow-citizens with election to the City 
Council and Board of Aldermen. He took 
pleasure in gaining possession of the pa- 
ternal homestead which had been owned 
by his ancestors for several generations. 

Conn — 10 — 13 I 



and which he greatly improved. There 
his last days were spent. 

Mr. Miller married in New York City, 
June 3, 1895, Susan Irene Reid, a native 
of that city, daughter of Nathan and 
Louisa S. (Lenhart) Reid, granddaughter 
of Thomas and Jane (Applegate) Reid. 
The latter couple were of Scotch lineage 
and were born in Kansas. Louisa S. Len- 
hart was a descendant of an old Pennsyl- 
vania family of Dutch antecedents. Mr. and 
Mrs. Miller were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Ruth Louise, born Au- 
gust. 1897, in Jersey City, resides with 
her mother in Middletown ; William Wal- 
do, born February 5, 1900, is employed 
in the factory and resides at home. He 
was a soldier in the World War, serving 
twenty-two months. He entered the 
Motor Transport Corps and in 1918 was 
sent across the seas. There he held the 
rank of district sergeant, in charge of 125 
men, and was discharged with honors. At 
the time of his enlistment he was a stu- 
dent in the Middletown High School. 
The third child, Ralph Stanley, born No- 
vember 28, 1902, is now a student at 
school. Mrs. Miller and her children are 
communicants of the Church of the Holy 
Trinity in Middletown. She is a woman 
of much business capacity, as is demon- 
strated by her success in conducting the 
business and extending its volume. 



BULLARD, John Embree, 

Representative of Ancient Family. 

A representative of a very old New 
England family of the fourth generation 
in Connecticut, Mr. Bullard was born 
August 15, 1858, in Yalesville, Connecti- 
cut, son of Henry and Sarah Ann (Goff) 
Bullard. 

(I) Robert Bullard, ancestor of the 
family, was born in England in 1599, and 
died in Watertown, Massachusetts, a few 

93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years after he came over, June 24, 1639. 
His widow, Anne, and evidently his sec- 
ond wife, married (second) Henry 
Thorpe. She received a grant of land in 
Watertown in 1644, while the widow of 
Robert Bullard. Henry Thorpe was a 
proprietor of Watertown. 

(II) Benjamin Bullard, only son of 
Robert Bullard, was probably born in 
England in 1634, and was about five 
years old when his father died. One of 
his uncles in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
brought him up, and he was admitted a 
townsman there, January i, 1655. When 
he set out for himself it was in the wil- 
derness of Boggestow, or Bogistow, later 
Sherborn, about twenty miles from Ded- 
ham. In company with George Fair- 
banks he bought a large tract of land and 
built his home thereon. They also built a 
garrison, which was carefully preserved 
by his descendants until 1785. In 1662 
Benjamin Bullard signed the first peti- 
tion for the incorporation of a town. In 
1674 he signed a second petition for the 
incorporation of Sherborn, when their 
prayer was granted, and he with twelve 
other petitioners, and twenty more of 
such as they might consent to receive as 
inhabitants, constituted the proprietors of 
land now composing Sherborn, HoUiston, 
and large districts of Framingham and 
Ashland. He was one of six brethren to 
constitute the church at its formation. He 
was tythingman in 1688 and served on 
the committee to seat the meeting house. 
Benjamin Bullard acquired much land by 
purchase and grant, and at his death, Sep- 
tember 7, 1689, his estate was appraised 
at £235 i6s., besides the land and stock. 
Benjamin Bullard married (first), at Ded- 
ham, April 5, 1655, Martha Pidge, born 
at Roxbury, January 12, 1642, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary Pidge. He married 
(second), in 1677, Elizabeth Thorpe, 
daughter of Henry Thorpe. 



(III) Benjamin (2) Bullard, son of 
Benjamin (i) and Martha (Pidge) Bul- 
lard, was born March i, 1670, and died in- 
testate about 1760. He inherited the land 
that had been assigned to his father, 
southwest of Brush Hill, and built his 
house on the road to HoUiston. Subse- 
quently he received grants of land in 1715, 
1716, and 1730. He served as tything- 
man and was repeatedly surveyor of 
highways. He was a farmer, and his last 
years were spent with his son, Benjamin, 
in HoUiston. The Christian name of his 
wife was Tabitha. 

(IV) Jonathan Bullard, son of Ben- 
jamin (2) and Tabitha Bullard, was born 
October 24, 1706, and died in Barre, Mas- 
sachusetts, June 4, 1784. He was early 
admitted to full communion in the church 
in Sherborn, whence he removed to Wor- 
cester, in 1748. Later he removed to 
Holder and thence to Barre. He mar- 
ried (first) Sarah, and he was married a 
second time, but the name of his wife has 
not been preserved. 

(V) Isaac Bullard, eldest son of Jon- 
athan Bullard, was born about 1730, and 
died about 1764. He settled in Rutland 
district, Massachusetts, afterward called 
Barre, and married at the former town, 
December 14, 1753, Lucy Stephens, of 
Rutland, a descendant of an old and hon- 
ored family of Worcester county. 

(VI) Lemuel Bullard, youngest son of 
Isaac and Lucy (Stephens) Bullard, was 
born at Barre, Massachusetts, March 5, 
1762, and settled in Paxton, an adjacent 
town. He served in the Revolutionary 
War from Paxton, in July, 1780, at which 
time his age was given as eighteen years ; 
he served six months in Captain John 
Cutler's company, Colonel Luke Drury's 
regiment. He removed to Cheshire, Con- 
necticut, and there he married Lucretia 
Newton, of Kensington, Connecticut. 

194 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Both were buried in Cheshire, Connec- 
ticut. 

(VII) Timoleon Bullard, eldest son of 
Lemuel and Lucretia (Newton) Bullard, 
was born June ii, 1807, at Cheshire, Con- 
necticut, died February 9, 1862, and is 
buried in the Indian Hill Cemetery at 
Middletown, Connecticut. He lived at 
Hartford for fifteen or twenty years and 
owned property there. He married, Feb- 
ruary 5, 1827, Harriet Sage Belden, fifth 
child of Seth (2) and Sarah (Smith) Bel- 
den, of Cromwell (see Belden line). Mrs. 
Bullard was baptized February 14, 1807, 
and died July 2, 1887. With her hus- 
band she owned a burial lot in the North 
Main Street Cemetery at Hartford. 

(VIII) Henry Bullard, son of Timoleon 
and Harriet S. (Belden) Bullard, was born 
June 21, 1833, ^nd died October 25, 1910. 
In early life he founded a business of 
plating hollow ware, at Baltimore, Mary- 
land. The outbreak of the Civil War and 
the Baltimore massacre compelled him to 
abandon everything and flee in the hold of 
a vessel to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
Subsequently, for years, he lived at Yales- 
ville, Connecticut, and was employed in 
plating table ware. He founded the first 
silver plating company in Middletown, 
Connecticut, named the Middletown Sil- 
ver Plate Company, and this was later 
purchased by the International Silver 
Plating Company of Meriden, Connecti- 
cut. He served in the Civil War on staff 
as aide de camp. He married Sarah Ann 
Goff, born in Middletown, daughter of 
Allen W. and Phebe B. (Hubbard) Goflf. 

(IX) John Embree Bullard, son of 
Henry and Sarah A. (Goff) Bullard, was 
a small boy when his father removed to 
Baltimore, Maryland, and he attended the 
public schools there. On his return to 
Middletown, Connecticut, he entered the 
high school, and subsequently pursued a 
course at the Seabury Institute of Con- 



necticut. For five years after completing 
his schooling he was associated with his 
father in the factory ; after the business 
was sold, Mr. Bullard conducted a jewelry 
store for seven years, with marked suc- 
cess. Other interests attracting him, he 
removed to Mount Vernon, New York, 
and there was engaged in real estate busi- 
ness for some time. Since his return to 
his native home he has been practically 
retired from active business, but still con- 
tinues to engage in real estate to a small 
extent. 

Mr. Bullard is a Republican in politics, 
but is not desirous of political preferment. 
He has always been an upright and just 
citizen, willing to perform his share of 
public service. His fraternal association 
is with the Masonic order, being a mem- 
ber of St. John's Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and also a Knight 
Templar. 

Mr. Bullard married (first), in 1899, in 
New York City, Alice Jane Gilkinson, of 
that city. He married (second), August 
8, 1918, in Middletown, Connecticut, Hope 
Howard, daughter of Wingate C. How- 
ard, many years town clerk of Middle- 
town, Connecticut. With his wife, Mr. 
Bullard attends the Episcopal church of 
Middletown, and contributes to its sup- 
port. 

(The Belden Line). 

The Belden family, from whom Mrs. 
Harriet Sage (Belden) Bullard was de- 
scended, has been traced for many gen- 
erations in England before its arrival in 
this countr}^ In England the name is 
still written Bayldon, but most of the 
American descendants write it Belden. 
Some branches use the form Belding. 
The Manor of Baildon in Kippax, York- 
shire, England, was the ancestral seat of 
the Bayldon family, and the pedigree has 
been preserved from the end of the 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fifteenth century through five generations 
to the American immigrant. 

Walter Baildon, founder of the family, 
was the father of John Baildon, who died 
December 22, 1526. His son, George 
Baildon, born in 1520, is mentioned in 
the records of Methley in 1567, and in 
Hardwick in 1574. He was buried in 1588 
at Kippax. His son. Sir Francis Baildon, 
born there in 1560, became reeve of Kip- 
pax at the age of twenty-eight years, suc- 
ceeding his father, and was knighted July 
23, 1603. 

Richard Baildon, son of Sir Francis 
Baildon, born at Kippax, was baptized 
there May 26, 1591, and about the middle 
of the succeeding century removed to 
New England and settled in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, where the town records 
show him to have been the owner of eight 
pieces of property, part of which were 
granted by the town, and others pur- 
chased. He became an extensive land- 
holder and left a considerable estate to his 
children. His descendants have been 
marked by a keen business and commer- 
cial genius, sterling merits and mental 
force. His home lot, on Broad street, re- 
mained in the family for four generations. 
He held various town offices, was promi- 
nent in all local affairs, and died in 1655. 
The inventory of his estate showed him 
to be wealthy, according to the standards 
of his day. He was accompanied to 
America by his three sons. 

John Belden (as the name is now 
spelled) youngest son of Richard Baildon, 
born about 1631, was made a freeman in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1657. He 
was a trooper under Captain John Mason 
in the Indian wars, inherited considerable 
portion of his father's real estate, to which 
he added by purchase. He died June 2"], 
1677, leaving an estate valued at £911. 
He married Lydia Standish, daughter of 
Thomas and Susanna Standish. 



Samuel Belden, fourth son of John and 
Lydia (Standish) Belden, born in 1665, at 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, was the pro- 
genitor of the New London family of the 
name. He died December 27, 1738, leav- 
ing an estate valued at £381 i6s. id. He 
married, January 14, 1685, Hannah 
Hardy, daughter of Richard Hardy, 
whose wife was a daughter of John Elder- 
kin, a pioneer settler of Norwich, Con- 
necticut. She died January 20, 1742. 

Samuel (2) Belden, eldest son of Sam- 
uel (i) and Hannah (Hardy) Belden, 
born in 1689, in Wethersfield, was a na- 
tive citizen of the town, a large property 
owner, and died July 31, 1771. He mar- 
ried, April I, 1712, Mary Spencer, of Had- 
dam, born about 1691, died October 28, 

1751- 

Samuel (3) Belden, eldest child of 
Samuel (2) and Mary (Spencer) Belden, 
was born in 1713, in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, and settled in that part of the 
town now Rocky Hill, where he was a 
prosperous farmer, and died January 10, 
1789. His wife, Elizabeth, died February 

23. 1775- 

Seth Belden, third son of Samuel (3) 
and Elizabeth Belden, born in 1747, in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, was a soldier 
of the Revolutionary War, enlisting in 
November. 1775, as a private in Captain 
Ozias Bissell's company. Colonel Hunt- 
ington's regiment. He was killed in the 
battle of Long Island, August 27, 1776. 
Very little is known concerning this 
patriotic American, who made the 
supreme sacrifice for his country. His 
(second) wife. Christian Dickinson, born 
in 1756, died in 1836, at the age of eighty 
years. She received a pension from the 
government. They were members of the 
Congregational church at Rocky Hill. 

Seth (2) Belden, son of Seth (i) and 
Christian (Dickinson) Belden, was prob- 
ably their only child. He was baptized 



196 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



as an adult in the Rocky Hill Church, 
September 22, 1799. He was a shoemaker 
by occupation and lived in what is now 
Cromwell, Connecticut, where he was an 
active member of the Congregational 
church. He married (first), in 1797, 
Sally Thomas, who survived but a short 
time. He married (second), February 2, 
1800, Sarah Smith, who was baptized July 
4, 1779, in Cromwell, daughter of Edward 
and Sarah (Moore) Smith of that town. 
Harriet Sage Belden, fifth child of 
Seth (2) and Sarah (Smith) Belden, be- 
came the wife of Timoleon Bullard (see 
Bullard VII). 



MANGAN, William Francis, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

As one who has achieved success 
within his native city, William F. Mangan 
holds a prominent place among the legal 
fraternity of New Britain, Connecticut. 
The name of Mangan is of Irish deriva- 
tion, and in its original form was O'Man- 
gain, signifying a "descendant of Man- 
gan." 

Patrick Mangan, father of Mr. Man- 
gan, was born in County Limerick, Ire- 
land, and in his youth came to America, 
where for a few years he worked at vari- 
ous employments. Finally he located in 
New Britain, Connecticut, and engaged 
in farming there. Subsequently he 
learned the moulder's trade and until his 
retirement from active business was em- 
ployed in the foundries of New Britain. 
Mr. Mangan is a member of the Foresters 
of America and of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians. He married Nora Cremin, 
daughter of Lawrence Cremin. The lat- 
ter was a native of Tipperary, Ireland, 
and came to New Britain after his mar- 
riage. All his children were born in Ire- 
land ; three of them were physicians and 
one a priest. Mr. Cremin was well-to-do. 



and in the old country was of that class 
known as "gentlemen." Four children 
were born to Patrick and Nora (Cremin) 
Mangan : John J. ; Lawrence P. ; Wil- 
liam F., of whom further; and Catherine. 

William F. Mangan was born Febru- 
ary 8, 1886. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of New Britain, and also at- 
tended St. Thomas' Seminary at Hartford. 
He then spent two years at the Fordham 
Law School, and his final year of law was 
acquired at Yale College. In 1909 he re- 
ceived his degree of LL. B., and the same 
year was admitted to the bar and began 
practice in the office of W. F. Delaney. 

Like many young lawyers, Mr. Man- 
gan was irresistibly drawn into politics. 
He served two years on the Board of 
Health, and in 1913 was appointed judge 
of the City Police Court, which office he 
held for two years. Subsequently, Mr. 
Mangan served on the Public Amuse- 
ments Committee and on the Board of 
Compensation. For two years Mr. Man- 
gan was a member of the Democratic 
Town Committee, serving both as its sec- 
retary and president. 

Mr. Mangan's fraternal affiliations are 
as follows: Member of the Knights of 
Columbus ; Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians and the Foresters of America. 

Mr. Mangan married Laura Moran 
Pritchard, daughter of Charles F. Pritch- 
ard, a sketch of whom follows. Their 
children are : Mary Alice ; Patricia and 
Alice, twins ; Catherine ; and William, Jr. 
The family attend St. Joseph's Church 
and aid in its support. 



PRITCHARD, Charles F., 

Mannfactnrer, Inventor. 

Charles F. Pritchard, one of the lead- 
ing citizens of New Britain, Connecticut, 
has through his inventive genius brought 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



honor to a name old in the annals of the 
State. He is a son of Scoville N. Pritch- 
ard, and a grandson of Bennett Pritchard. 
The latter was born at Pritchard's 
Pond, in the town of Hopeville, now part 
of the city of Waterbury, Connecticut. 
He was a wire-drawer at the East Brass 
Mills, and later in life engaged in farming. 
Although not a politician, Mr. Pritchard 
took an active interest in public matters 
and served on the school committee. He 
married Laura Russell, and they were the 
parents of Scoville N. Pritchard. 

Scoville N. Pritchard was born in 
Hopeville, Connecticut, and for many 
years had charge of a department with 
the Plume Atwood Company. Some 
years before his death Mr. Pritchard re- 
tired from business. He married Emily 
Barnes, daughter of Captain Philo Barnes, 
of Southington, Connecticut, and they 
were the parents of Charles F. Pritchard. 

Charles F. Pritchard was born in Hope- 
ville, Connecticut, July ii. 1852, in the 
same house where his father was born. 
Mr. Pritchard was educated in the public 
schools and at Bassett's Academy. Then 
he learned the trade of printer in the 
office of the Waterbury "American" and 
in the office of Hutchins, in Hartford, 
Connecticut. Later he became assistant 
foreman on the Waterbury "Republican" 
for a year, and was with the Waterbury 
"American" for about three years. Mr. 
Pritchard's next employment was with 
the Naugatuck Malleable Iron Works, 
where he had charge of the various de- 
partments at different times during the 
period of thirteen years in their employ. 
Mr. Pritchard then removed to New 
Britain, where he was with the Vulcan 
Iron Works, in charge of their different 
departments, remaining in their employ 
for twenty-five years. 

In 1905 Mr. Pritchard invented a chim- 
ney cap made of concrete. He had his 



invention patented and began to manu- 
facture it. This cap is more durable than 
brick, and insures a draft at all times. 
In addition, the cap keeps the water out 
of the chimney and is an insurance 
against chimney fires. 

Mr. Pritchard married, January 6, 1882, 
Kathryn E. Moran, daughter of Henry 
and Margaret (Phelan) Moran, of Water- 
bury, and of their six children, two grew 
to maturity. One of these children, 
Laura Moran, became the wife of William 
F. Mangan (see preceding sketch). The 
other child, Frederick H., is a resident of 
New York Citv. 



COLES, Charles Hubbard, 

Bank Official. 

The Coles family of Middletown has 
been long identified with the city's lead- 
ing business interests, and the early an- 
cestry is shown elsewhere in this work 
(see Coles, Frank A.). Augustus Coles, 
born in 1810, as there shown, was a resi- 
dent of Middletown, and was the father of 
George Augustus Coles, one of the best 
known business men of the city in his 
time. 

George Augustus Coles was born in 
Middletown, October 20, 1836, in a dwell- 
ing on the banks of the Connecticut river, 
at the foot of Ferry street. Like most boys 
of his time he was early instructed in the 
importance of industry and positive plans 
for the future. Naturally inclined toward 
business affairs, he became identified with 
some of the leading interests of the city. 
As a boy he attended first the Green street 
school and later the high school. While 
still in his teens he went to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and entered the store of 
Emerson & Hubbard, where he fulfilled 
the duties which naturally fell to the 
youngest employe of the establishment. 
There he became convinced of the neces- 



198 




■t^: ^^M^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sity of further education and he returned 
to Middletown, where, for two years, he 
was a student at Daniel H. Chase's fa- 
mous school. He was especially inter- 
ested in mathematics and sciences and 
pursued their study with zest and suc- 
cess. About this time his father was com- 
pelled to resign much of his responsibil- 
ities on account of ill health, and George 
A. Coles was active in assisting him in his 
labors. After finishing at the Chase 
school, he again went to Springfield, 
where he learned the tinner's trade and 
became accustomed to the fitting of large 
and important buildings. One of his first 
works as a journeyman was the placing of 
a tin roof on the large railroad station at 
Springfield, and he was subsequently 
similarly employed in Troy and Bufifalo, 
New York, and Brantford, Ontario. 
Wishing to extend his experience and ac- 
quaintance, he went to Illinois, and while 
located in LaSalle, in that State, he as- 
sisted in tinning the large bridge of the 
Illinois Central railroad. An epidemic 
of cholera among the people employed on 
this work increased his burdens and his 
health became somewhat impaired 
through the labors thrown on his should- 
ers. Returning to Middletown, very 
greatly reduced in physical strength, he 
shortly recuperated and became a clerk in 
a grocery store, where he continued until 
1859, when he became secretary and 
treasurer of the Baldwin Tool Company 
of Staddle Hill, where he continued three 
years. He then resigned to become sec- 
retary of the Union Mills, the property of 
a corporation organized in 1854, and in 
association with H. H. Smith he took up 
the management of the large mill of this 
concern, at the foot of Union street, which 
is still operated by the Coles Company. 
In 1878, George A. Coles became the 
owner of this property and a short time 
afterward admitted to partnership his 



brother-in-law Charles S. Atkins, the 
business being continued under the name 
of Coles & Atkins. Two years later the 
latter sold his interest to Frank B. Weeks, 
and the firm became Coles & Weeks. In 
1885 the business was extended by taking 
over the milling property of E. I. Bell of 
Portland. In 1895 Mr. Coles purchased 
the interest of his partner and conducted 
the business for a time under the name 
of Coles & Company. In 1898 the Coles 
Company was incorporated with a capital 
stock of thirty thousand dollars and a 
surplus of like amount. The mill is con- 
veniently located to river navigation and 
railroad tracks, and a very large business 
is transacted in cargoes in transit, as well 
as in milling and milling grains and re- 
tailing the products. 

It was natural that the advice and co- 
operation of a successful business man 
like Mr. Coles should be sought by busi- 
ness interests, and in 1884 he became as- 
sociated with the Middletown Savings 
Bank, one of the strongest financial insti- 
tutions of the State, of which he was pres- 
ident from 1887 until his death, October 
2, 1916. He was one of the most active 
members of the Middletown Board of 
Trade, and in 1872 and 1875 served as a 
member of the Common Council. For 
many years prior to his retirement there- 
from, in 1900, he was a director of the 
Douglas Pump Company of Middletown. 
He was active in various social and phil- 
anthropical associations, was a director 
of the Keating Wheel Company, presi- 
dent of the Middletown Total Abstinence 
Society, and secretary of the Citizens' 
League. He was for some time commo- 
dore of the Middletown Yacht Club and 
was the owner of one of the finest private 
crafts on the Connecticut river. Very 
soon after attaining his majority Mr. 
Coles espoused the principles of the Re- 
publican party on its organization, and 
199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



continued as a supporter of that party in 
National and State elections with one ex- 
ception, when he voted for a Republican 
placed in nomination by the Democrats, 
for the office of president, Horace Greeley. 

Mr. Coles married, October ii, i860, 
Augusta Atkins, born August 22, 1840, 
daughter of William H. and Eliza (Pow- 
ers) Atkins, of Middletown, granddaugh- 
ter of Ithamar and Anna (Hubbard) At- 
kins. 

William Hubbard Atkins, born in the 
West Long Hill District of Middletown, 
January 11, 1801, was reared on the farm 
there and educated in the public schools. 
Early in life he settled in Middletown, 
where he conducted a hardware store un- 
til his death, which occurred January i, 
1865. He was a staunch Republican and 
filled several offices in the town as a 
young man. In later life ill health grad- 
ually curtailed all his activities. He was 
a bitter foe of slavery and lived to see that 
institution abolished as a war measure by 
the famous proclamation of Abraham Lin- 
coln. He was also a strong advocate of 
prohibition and temperance, and was a 
member of the Order of Sons of Temper- 
ance. He early united with the Method- 
ist church and enjoyed the esteem and 
respect of his fellow-citizens. He mar- 
ried, at Hartford, April 18, 1830, Eliza 
Powers, a descendant of one of the oldest 
American families, born May 23, 1808, 
died January 25, 1865, daughter of Josiah 
and Anna (Gilbert) Powers. 

The Powers family was established in 
this country by Walter Powers, who was 
born in Essex, England, in 1639, and was 
a pioneer settler of that part of Concord, 
Massachusetts, now Littleton, where he 
died Februar}' 22, 1709. He married, 
March 11, 1661, Trial Shepard, born De- 
cember 19, 1641, daughter of Deacon 
Ralph and Thanks Shepard, of Maiden. 
Their youngest son, Jacob Powers, born 



in Concord, February 15, 1680, was mar- 
ried, after 1705, to Edith Adams, bom in 
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, December i, 
1683, daughter of Jonathan and Leah 
(Gould) Adams of that town, grand- 
daughter of Lieutenant Thomas and 
Mary (Blackford) Adams, great-grand- 
daughter of Henry Adams, who came 
from Braintree, England, settled in Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, and was founder of 
the most numerous Adams family in 
America, which has produced two presi- 
dents of the country. Jonas Powers, eld- 
est son of Jacob and Edith (Adams) 
Powers, was born in Littleton, July 9, 
1719, and settled in Middletown, Connec- 
ticut, where he married, April 12, 1739, 
Mary Tryon, born in Middletown, Febru- 
ary 24, 1 7 17, fourth daughter of Abel and 
Abial Tryon, of that town. They were 
the parents of Edward Powers, born in 
Middletown, September 30, 1751, bap- 
tized October 6, of that year, died June 3, 
1809. He was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, enlisting May 7, 1775, in the Fourth 
Company of Militia, commanded by Cap- 
tain Jonathan Meigs, in the Second Con- 
tinental Regiment, commanded by Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel Joseph Spencer, later 
greatly distinguished in that war. Ed- 
ward Powers participated in the siege of 
Boston and Roxbury, and was discharged 
December 17, 1775. He again enlisted 
June 10, 1776, in Captain Jonathan John- 
son's Battalion, under Colonel Philip Burr 
Bradley and Brigadier-General James 
Wadsworth. During the summer of 
1776 he was active in the vicinity of Ber- 
gen Heights and Jersey City, and in Oc- 
tober went to Fort Lee, opposite the 
present 129th street. New York, under 
General Green. He participated in the 
defense of Fort Washington in Novem- 
ber. He married, November 3, 1778, Deb- 
orah Roberts, born in Middletown, Oc- 
tober 18, 1751, died June 27, 1841, eldest 



200 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Aaron and Esther (Stan- 
cliffe) Roberts. The last named was bom 
December 22, 1727, eldest daughter of 
William and Esther (Adams) StancliflFe, 
of Middletown, the latter a native of 
Hartford. William Stanclifife was born 
in Middletown, September 16, 1687, son of 
James and Mary Stancliffe. Josiah Powers, 
son of Edward and Deborah Powers, 
was bom in Middletown, July 21, 1780, 
and died March 16, 1827. He married 
Anna Gilbert, born in Middletown, Janu- 
ary 16, 1780, died February 25, 1816, eld- 
est child of Joseph and Anna (Bragg) 
Gilbert. Eliza Powers, daughter of Josiah 
and Anna (Gilbert) Powers, born in Mid- 
dletown, May 23, 1808, became the wife 
of William H. Atkins, as above related. 

Anna Gilbert, above mentioned, born in 
1780, was descended from Jonathan Gil- 
bert, who came to Hartford in 1640, and 
was probably a son of William Gilbert, 
of Windsor, who became a freeman of 
the Connecticut Colony in 1640. He mar- 
ried, in 1645, Mary White, who died some 
five years later, after which he married 
Mary, daughter of Hugh Wells. He was 
active in the management of town affairs 
and was deputy collector of customs and 
marshal of the colony. He died in 1682 
and was survived by his widow until 
1700. His son, Jonathan Gilbert, died in 
Hartford, February i, i6g8, leaving an 
estate appraised at £202 19s. 2d. He 
married Dorothy Stow, born in Middle- 
town, January 8, 1659, died July 4, 1698, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel and Hope 
(Fletcher) Stow. His will names his son, 
Ezekiel Gilbert, born about 1690, who 
married December 2, 1714. Patience Har- 
ris. Their son, Joseph Gilbert, born May 
9, 1731, married, June 13, 1753, Eunice 
Wilder, of Lyme, and their son, Joseph 
Gilbert, bom March 21, 1759, married, 
May 6, 1779, Anna Bragg, and was the 



father of Anna Gilbert, wife of Josiah 
Powers. 

Augusta Atkins, born in Middletown, 
August 22, 1840, daughter of William H. 
and Eliza (Powers) Atkins, became the 
wife of George A. Coles, as above noted, 
and died in Middletown, July 30, 1919. 

Charles Hubbard Coles, only child of 
George A. and Augusta (Atkins) Coles, 
was born in Middletown, February 7, 
1863, where he continues to reside at the 
present time and is recognized as a sound 
and substantial business man. He was 
educated in the public and private schools 
of Middletown, and was two years a stu- 
dent at North Granville, New York. Sub- 
sequently at the age of sixteen years he 
left his books to embark on a business 
career, at which time he became a book- 
keeper in the service of his father in the 
Union Mills in Middletown. The dust of 
the mills was so injurious to his throat 
that he was obliged to abandon this work 
and for a time he was employed in the 
office of Allison Brothers, large soap 
manufacturers, of Middletown. After one 
season in an insurance office in Boston, 
Massachusetts, he returned to Middle- 
town in the fall of 1883, and continued 
until June, 1887, in the freight offices of 
the railroad company there. At the last 
named date he entered the Middletown 
Savings Bank as a clerk, was later made 
assistant teller, succeeding subsequently 
to the position of teller, and for many 
years has occupied the responsible posi- 
tion of secretary. He succeeded his father 
as president of the Coles Company and 
as a director of the Union Mills. The 
active management of the milling business 
is now in the hands of his cousin, Frank 
A. Coles (q. v.). While not a member of 
any religious organization, Mr. Coles is 
among the active supporters of the South 
Congregational Church of Middletown 
and endeavors to support those interests 



20 r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



calculated to promote the welfare of his 
native city. He is a member of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce, and the Middletown 
Yacht Club, and is affiliated with St. 
John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Middletown. Though enter- 
taining settled principles as to the gov- 
ernmental policy of the nation, he has 
never accepted any office, but is a stead- 
fast supporter of the Republican party. 

He married, June 27, 1889. Helen E. 
Coe, of Portland, Connecticut, daughter 
of William W. and Helen Augusta (Gil- 
dersleeve) Coe, granddaughter of Wel- 
lington S. Coe, of that town, and a de- 
scendant of one of the oldest families of 
Middlesex county. Her father was presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Port- 
land, and her mother was the youngest 
child of Sylvester and Emily (Shepard) 
Gildersleeve, of that town. 

The Gildersleeve family came to what 
is now Portland, then a part of Chatham, 
Connecticut, about the beginning of the 
Revolution, and has been identified with 
shipbuilding at that location to the pres- 
ent time. The founder of the family in 
this country was Richard Gildersleeve, 
born in 1601, who first appears in Amer- 
ican records in 1636, at Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, where he was the owner at that 
time of 255 acres of land. Five years later 
he removed to Stamford, where he was a 
pioneer, and soon after represented that 
town as deputy to the General Court of 
the New Haven Colony. He was one of 
the company, led by Rev. Richard Den- 
ton, which settled Hempstead, Long 
Island, in 1644, and for nearly fifty years 
was one of the leading citizens of that 
community. Under the Dutch Governors 
he was magistrate from 1644 to 1664, was 
one of the first to acknowledge allegiance 
to the English King, and was admitted as 
a freeman in 1664. He was sergeant of 
the Hempstead Militia, and died in 1691. 



It is supposed that he came from Hemel- 
Hempstead, Hertfordshire, England, with 
Rev. Richard Denton's company to Wa- 
tertown, Massachusetts, whence he re- 
moved to Wethersfield. His wife, Dor- 
cas, born in 1601, was living in 1698. 
Their eldest child, Richard Gildersleeve, 
born in 1637, was town clerk at Hemj>- 
stead many years, served as constable, 
town drummer and lieutenant of foot in 
the militia. His wife's baptismal name 
was Experience, and they were the par- 
ents of Richard Gildersleeve, born in 
Hempstead, in 1659. ^^ removed to 
Huntington, Suffolk county. New York, 
where he purchased land in 1687, and re- 
ceived a grant of twenty-two acres from 
the town in the following year. Later he 
made other purchases and disposed of his 
land in Huntington, in 1699, and of his 
proprietor's rights of that town, in 1704. 
His son, Thomas Gildersleeve, born about 
1690, was a trustee of the town of Hun- 
tington, and a soldier in the town militia. 
His son, Obediah Gildersleeve, born in 
Huntington, in 1728, was baptized there 
May 26, of that year, and spent some time 
employed in the shipbuilding industry at 
Sag Harbor. In 1776 he removed to 
Chatham, Connecticut, where he estab- 
lished a shipyard in the near vicinity of 
the one now occupied by his descendants 
at Gildersleeve. He married, February 
14, 1750, Mary, daughter of Richard and 
Rachel (Arthur) Dinge. She died in 
1798, and he soon after removed to South 
Glastonbury, where he died January 5, 
1816. in his eighty-eighth year. His body 
now rests in Center Cemetery at Portland. 
His eldest son, Philip Gildersleeve, was 
born in Huntington, July 2, 1757, and 
succeeded to his father's business at Gil- 
dersleeve. In 1800 he was master car- 
penter of the United States ship "Connec- 
ticut," built in his yards. He was also a 
fuller and clothier, and died October 26, 



202 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1822, at the age of sixty-five years. He 
married. May 4, 1780, Temperance Gibbs, 
born April g, 1756, died September 22, 
1831, daughter of James and Temperance 
(Tryon) Gibbs, of East Windsor, Con- 
necticut. Their eldest child, Jeremiah 
Gildersleeve, married Lucy Ann Cone, of 
East Haddam. Connecticut. They .were 
the parents of Lucy Ann Gildersleeve, 
who was married, August 20, 1833, to 
William Goodrich, of Portland, and was 
the grandmother of John Quincy Good- 
rich. Sylvester Gildersleeve, fourth son 
of Philip and Temperance (Gibbs) Gil- 
dersleeve, was born at Gildersleeve, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1795, where he was reared and 
attended the local school. In 1814 he 
went to Sackett's Harbor, New York, to 
aid in the construction of a one hundred 
gun ship for the government. The war 
with Great Britain was brought to a close 
in that year and the vessel was never fin- 
ished. In his yards at Gildersleeve was 
constructed the ship "S. Gildersleeve," 
which was destroyed by the privateer 
"Alabama" in the Civil War. Mr. Gilder- 
sleeve was the first president of the First 
National Bank of Portland on its organ- 
ization in 1865. and of the Freestone Sav- 
ings Bank of that town until 1879; was 
a director of the Middletown National 
Bank and the Middlesex Mutual Assur- 
ance Company, also the Middlesex Quarry 
Company. In 1836, in association with 
others, he constructed the schooner, "Wil- 
liam Bryan," and started the first regu- 
lar packet line between New York and 
Texas, in which several other vessels 
were subsequently employed. In 1861 the 
firm of S. Gildersleeve & Sons built the 
United States government gunboat, "Cay- 
uga," which led the fleet up the river in 
the capture of New Orleans in the Civil 
War. Mr. Gildersleeve's benefactions 
were many and he otherwise served the 
public, acting from 1861 to 1864 as clerk 



of the town of Portland. He died March 
15, 1886, at the age of ninety-one years. 
He married (second), November 17, 1828, 
Emily, widow of George Cornwall, born 
July 21, 1804, daughter of Andrew and 
Deliverance (Leland) Shepard, of Port- 
land, died July 14, 1877. Helen Augusta, 
youngest child of Sylvester Gildersleeve, 
was born July 21, 1845, became the wife 
of William W. Coe, and died June 18, 
1887. 

Mrs. Charles H. Coles is a lineal de- 
scendant from an ancient English family 
whose coat-of-arms is described : 

Arms — Argent, three piles wavy, gules between 
twelve martlets sable. 

The first known in direct line was John 
Coe, of Gestingthorpe, County Essex, 
probably born about 1340, in that town, 
in the reign of Edward HI. In 1412, 
when about seventy years old, he settled 
his afifairs, dying in the following year. 
He was the father of John Coo, as the 
name was then spelled, born about 1375, 
died in 1425. His wife's baptismal name 
was Eleanor, and they were the parents 
of John Coo, born about 1400, lived at 
Gestingthorpe, and died after 1448. His 
son, Thomas, born about 1430, died in 
1507, and was the father of John Coe, 
born about 1460, will proved in 1520, at 
Gestingthorpe. He married Joane, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Golding, and was the 
father of John Coe, born about 1495, died 
''^ ^533> ^t Gestingthorpe. His wife, 
Margaret, was the mother of John Coe, 
born in 1523, lived in Maplestead and 
Wiston, married Dorothy, and their 
youngest son, Henry Coe, born in 1565, 
lived at Thorpe-Morieux, died in 1631. 
His wife, Mary, died the same year. They 
were the parents of Robert Coe, the 
American immigrant, born at Thorpe- 
Morieux, County Suflf^olk, baptized Octo- 
ber 26, 1596. Elsewhere in this work he 
is described at length, as are his lineal 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



descendants: Robert, baptized September 

19, 1626 ; Captain John, born in Stratford, 
May ID, 1658; and Ensign Robert, born in 
Stratford, September 21, 1684, married 
Deborah Parmalee. 

His sixth son, Jedediah Coe, was born 
in Middletown, August 4, 1725, where his 
descendants are still living. He settled in 
that part of East Guilford, now Madison, 
Connecticut, where he was a farmer, and 
died December i, 1803. He married, Jan- 
uary 15, 1753, Elizabeth Wilcox, bom 
September 17, 1728, died February 5, 
1777, daughter of Joseph and Hannah 
(Goodale) Wilcox. Their eldest son, 
Thomas Coe, born in East Guilford, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1759, lived on the farm there, and 
died July 7, 1827. He was a soldier of 
the Revolution, serving in Captain Daniel 
Hand's company. Colonel Talcott's regi- 
ment, and from October 6 to December 6, 
1777, at Peekskill, as a member of Cap- 
tain Bezaleel Bristol's company, Colonel 
Newbury's regiment. He was granted 
a pension. May 20, 1780. He married, 
January i, 1783, Submit Griswold, born 
May 9, 1762, died February 2, 1831, daugh- 
ter of Jedediah and Patience (Bates) 
Griswold. Their eldest son, Heman Coe, 
born in East Guilford, June 24, 1785. was 
a farmer there until his death, April 21, 
1869. He was a soldier in the War of 
1812 in Captain Medad Hotchkiss's com- 
pany, from September 13 to November 
17, 1813, and in Captain Abraham Rogers' 
company from September 13 to October 

20, 1814. He married, October 16, 1806, 
Polly Dowd, born about 1787, died Sep- 
tember 24, 1859, daughter of Joseph and 
Mary (Blatchley) Dowd. Their second 
son, Wellington Sebastian Coe, born in 
Madison, July 14, 1817, was many years a 
sea captain, and on his retirement settled 
in Portland, Connecticut, where he was 
a coal dealer, his death occurring May 5, 
1888. He married, December i, 1840, 



Elizabeth O. Wilcox, bom October 19, 
1817, died November 2, 1885, in Portland, 
daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Glea- 
son) Wilcox. Their eldest child, William 
Wellington Coe, born March 6, 1842, 
lived in Portland, where he was president 
of the bank, and died April 26, 1885. He 
married, May 16, 1867, Helen A. Gilder- 
sleeve, daughter of Sylvester and Emily 
(Shepard) Gildersleeve, prominent citi- 
zens of Portland, elsewhere mentioned. 
Their eldest child, Helen Elizabeth Coe, 
born November 10, 1869, was married 
June 27, 1889, to Charles H. Coles, of 
Middletown, as above noted. 



MURPHY, James, 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

The success of a man in any vocation 
depends upon character as well as upon 
knowledge, and in the career of Dr. James 
Murphy, of Middletown, we find the proof 
of this assertion. 

Dr. Murphy was born August 13, 1873, 
in Middletown, Connecticut, son of James 
and Mary (Higgins) Murphy. His father, 
James Murphy, was a native of County 
Cork, Ireland, where he was born in 1826 ; 
he died in Middletown. Connecticut, in 
1894. When a young man he came to 
America and settled in Quebec, Canada, 
where he lived for a few years. An elder 
brother had previously settled in Port- 
land, and this undoubtedly influenced him 
to choose that town as his new residence. 
In his native land he had learned the trade 
of tailor, and this occupation he continued 
to follow on his arrival in the new coun- 
try. James Murphy married Mary Hig- 
gins, a daughter of Edmond and Mary 
(McDonald) Higgins. Edmond Higgins 
and his wife were of Irish ancestry. The 
former first lived in Portland, removing 
thence to New London, Connecticut, 
where he assisted in the building of Fort 



204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Trumbull. After the completion of this 
work, he returned to Portland, and there 
lived until his death, which occurred in 
1879. 

Dr. Murphy attended the public schools 
of Middletown and the Middletown High 
School. He very early evinced a desire to 
study medicine, and during his junior and 
senior years in high school spent his 
spare hours in the office of Dr. A. J. 
Campbell, reading medicine. Immedi- 
ately on graduating, he entered the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, at Philadelphia, 
where he studied three years, graduating 
in 1895. He has had extensive experience 
in hospital work, in Brooklyn, New York, 
although never regularly attached. In 
1895, he began the practice of his profes- 
sion in Portland, where he continued for 
eight years, removing in 1903 to Middle- 
town. He has built up a large clientele 
and is well and favorably known in the 
medical fraternity of Middlesex county. 
Throughout his professional career, Dr. 
Murphy has ever been alert to new ideas, 
and has taken up post-graduate work, 
specializing in X-ray work at the New 
York Polyclinic Institute. Dr. Murphy 
now specializes in X-ray cases and con- 
ducts a general practice. In addition to 
his private work, he serves as assistant 
roentgenologist on the staff of the Middle- 
sex Hospital, and is secretary of the Med- 
ical Board of that institution. He is an 
instructor of the Middlesex Hospital 
Training School for Nurses. During the 
World War, Dr. Murphy served as a 
member of the Advisory Board on draft 
regulations, was a member of the War 
Bureau, and a member of the "four-min- 
ute"' speakers. Dr. Murphy is a member 
of the Central Medical Association of 
Middletown ; ex-president of the Middle- 
sex County Medical Society ; member of 
the Connecticut State Medical Society ; 
fellow of the American Medical Associa- 



tion ; ex-president of the Middlesex 
County Anti-Tuberculosis Society. Fra- 
ternally, Dr. Murphy affiliates with the 
Knights of Columbus, and is ex-president 
of the Alumni Association of the high 
school. 

He married, in 1904. Anna E. McKev- 
itte, daughter of William and Sarah 
(Bohle) McKevitte, and they are the par- 
ents of four children : Anna Gertrude, 
Mary Elizabeth, James Gardner, and Wil- 
liam M. Murphy. With his family. Dr. 
Murphy attends St. John's Roman Cath- 
olic Church, of Middletown. 



LOWRY, William Augustus, 

Enterprising Citizen. 

One of the influential citizens of the 
town of East Hartford, Connecticut, who 
gave freely of his time and finances in 
furthering the upbuilding of that flourish- 
ing community, was William Augustus 
Lowry. 

Mr. Lowry was born July 28, 1864, at 
Manchester, England, and died at East 
Hartford, Connecticut, June 30, 1915. His 
parents also were natives of Manchester, 
England, where they were married, later 
removing to Connecticut and settling in 
Hartford. There the father of Mr. Lowry, 
Patrick Lowry, died, and his mother, Ann 
Lowry, died in Brooklyn, New York. The 
former was a noted artist of his day. 

The grammar schools of New York 
City afforded Mr. Lowry his early educa- 
tion, and soon after this time Mr. Lowry 
came to Hartford, Connecticut, where he 
found employment in the drug store 
owned by L. H. Goodwin. With the ag- 
gressiveness natural to him Mr. Lowry 
applied himself to the mastering of the 
drug business, and so well did he suc- 
ceed that in due course of time he engaged 
in this line of business on his own account 
in the town of East Hartford. Starting 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in a modest way, he gradually enlarged 
his business, adding to the lines of goods 
carried until his drug store was the lead- 
ing pharmacy in the town. For a period 
of thirty-five years he successfully con- 
tinued there. 

A staunch Democrat, he was very active 
in the work of that party, and was ap- 
pointed by President Cleveland postmas- 
ter of the town of East Hartford, which 
office he filled in a most commendable 
manner for several years. He was also 
chairman of the Democratic Town Com- 
mittee, and previous to the time the pres- 
ent fire system was installed, he was in 
charge of all important fire matters. 
There was no citizen of East Hartford 
more active in the work of establishing 
the first trust company there than Air. 
Lowry, and a large amount of credit is 
due to him and to his efforts in this direc- 
tion. When the trust company was 
opened he was offered the office of presi- 
dent, but owing to ill health was obliged 
to refuse. Until the time of his death he 
took the keenest interests in the welfare 
of this institution, and served as a mem- 
ber of its directorate. 

Mr. Lowry was a great lover of horses ; 
was very fond of racing, and also of driv- 
ing, and at one time was president of the 
Gentleman's Driving Club. In his later 
life the automobile succeeded the horse- 
drawn carriage for pleasure use, and he 
became an enthusiastic owner of the more 
modern invention. 

Mr. Lowry 's fraternal affiliations were 
with the Woodmen of the World ; the 
Order of United Workmen, and the Royal 
Arcanum. He was a regular attendant of 
the Catholic Church (St. Mary's) of East 
Hartford, and was prominent in the soci- 
ety work of this church, being at all times 
willing to aid in any of the charitable 
works sponsored by the church, and no 
worthy appeal was turned away. 



Mr. Lowry married, at New York City, 
December 22, 1903, Florence Louise 
White, born at Niagara Falls, New York, 
daughter of Mark C. White, and grand- 
daughter of Berry Hill White. The for- 
mer was engaged in the real estate busi- 
ness with his father, and at one time this 
family owned practically all of Niagara 
Falls. Mark C. White served in the Civil 
War; he married Mary Curtis, and they 
were the parents of Florence L. White, 
who became the wife of William A. 
Lowry, as previously mentioned. 



JONES, Griffith Lloyd, 

ManufactnreT. 

Griffith Lloyd Jones was born June 5. 
1887. at West Pawlet, Vermont, son of 
Morris J. and Mary (Jones) Jones. The 
father is a native of Wales and now re- 
sides in Utica, New York. The mother, 
now deceased, was a native of Pawlet. 
When two years old, the son went with 
his parents to Utica, New York, and there 
grew up, receiving excellent instructions 
in the public schools of that city. Sub- 
sequently, he entered Wesleyan Univer- 
sity at Middletown, from which he grad- 
uated, A. B., in 191 2. After leaving col- 
lege he entered the employ of the Omo 
Manufacturing Company of Middletown, 
as chemist, where he continued four years, 
at the end of which time he was elected 
vice-president of the company. He has 
charge of the sales and advertising, which, 
naturally, keeps him busily engaged. 
Like most of the active citizens of Mid- 
dletown, Mr. Jones is affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity, being a member of St. 
John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Washing1:on Chapter, No. 6, Royal 
Arch Masons ; of Cyrene Commandery, 
No. 8, Knights Templar, of Middletown ; 
and Sphinx Temple, Ancient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Hart- 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford. Mr. Jones and his family are con- 
nected with the North Congregational 
Church of Middletown. 

He married, February 22, 1914, Mar- 
jorie L. Fisher, daughter of William C. 
Fisher, general manager of the Russell 
Manufacturing Company, of Middletown. 
Mr. and Mrs. Jones are the parents of the 
following children : Leeman Fisher, born 
November 27, 1914 ; Marjorie Fisher, born 
July 17, 1916; Lloyd Alan, born Septem- 
ber 2, 1917; and Robert Fisher, born Au- 
gust 3. 1919. 



HEWES, Thomas, 

liavryer. In World War Service. 

One of the foremost lawyers of the 
Hartford county bar, Thomas Hewes, of 
Hartford and Farmington, Connecticut, is 
also a public-spirited citizen, keenly in- 
terested in all that pertains to the welfare 
of his city and State. Mr. Hewes de- 
scends from a family of great antiquity in 
Wales and England, the ancestry of which 
is traced to Gwaithwoyde, Lord of Powis, 
who was son of Gwyde, Prince of Cardi- 
gan. The family coat-of-arms is : Azure, 
a lion rampant or. The crest: A lion 
couchant or. 

The first American ancestor of the 
family, William Hewes, was born in Som- 
ersetshire, England, in 1600, and emi- 
grated to London about 1649, owing to 
the disturbances under Cromwell. He 
had a son, William Hewes, who came in 
one of the first four ships with William 
Penn to America, in 1684, being a sub- 
scriber to the Delaware lands. He mar- 
ried Sarah Berger and their son, 

Joseph Hewes, born in 1709, married 
Annie, daughter of Joseph and Sarah 
(Giles) Worth, of Herefordshire, Eng- 
land. Aaron, brother of Joseph, was the 
father of Joseph Hewes, signer of the 
Declaration of Independence, from North 



Carolina, and member of the Continental 
Congress. 

Edward Hewes, son of Joseph and An- 
nie (Worth) Hewes, was born in 1741, 
and died in 1826. He married Mary 
Stubbs, born in 1751, died in 1830. 

John Hewes, son of Edward and Mary 
(Stubbs) Hewes, was born in Wilming- 
ton, Delaware, in 1781. About 1801-02, 
he went to Baltimore, where he settled, 
and was at first connected with what was 
at that time the "Federal Gazette," in 
connection with which a printing busi- 
ness was also carried on. This paper was 
the forerunner of the present "Baltimore 
American." In 1825 Mr. Hewes founded 
the Firemen's Insurance Company of Bal- 
timore, and was its first president, hold- 
ing this office until his death. He mar- 
ried Rachel Thomas Ellicott, daughter of 
Elias Ellicott, of the well-known Ellicott 
family of Maryland. 

James Elliott Hewes, son of John and 
Rachel Thomas (Ellicott) Hewes, was in 
his younger days employed in various of 
the Ellicott enterprises. Quite early in 
life he established himself in general 
merchandise business in Baltimore and 
later as a wholesale dealer, in butter and 
cheese. The breaking out of the Civil 
War crippled him financially, and the fa- 
mous "Black Friday" hit the business 
such a severe blow that it did not long 
survive. Mr. Hewes was then too far ad- 
vanced in years to attempt to establish a 
new business, and the remainder of his 
active business life was spent in business 
activities of minor importance. He mar- 
ried Gulielma Krebs Warner, daughter 
of Michael Warner. They were the par- 
ents of 

Meyer Lewin Hewes, born in Balti- 
more, June 14, 1861, whose education was 
received through public and private 
schools. His father's business adversi- 
ties cut short his college course and in 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1877, at the age of sixteen, he found em- 
ployment in the fire insurance office of 
Proud & Campbell in Baltimore. Later, 
in 1882, he was with R. Emory Warfield, 
who was then district agent of the Con- 
tinental Fire Insurance Company in Bal- 
timore, and later manager of the Royal 
Insurance Company in Baltimore. Sub- 
sequently Mr. Hewes was special agent of 
the Norwich Union Fire Insurance Com- 
pany of England, with headquarters in 
his native town, and later became secre- 
tary of the Howard Fire Insurance Com- 
pany of Baltimore, which, upon consoli- 
dation with the National Fire Insurance 
Company of that city, was known as the 
United Fire Insurance Company, Mr. 
Hewes continuing as secretary until 1901, 
when it was liquidated. The same year 
he removed to Hartford, Connecticut, as 
agency superintendent of the Scottish 
Union & National Insurance Company in 
which position he remained for almost ten 
years. In the winter of 1909, Mr. Hewes 
organized and founded the Standard Fire 
Insurance Company of Hartford, and be- 
came its first president, which office he 
continues to fill. Through his long ex- 
perience in his chosen field, Mr. Hewes is 
well fitted for the position he occupies, 
and the business of the Standard Fire In- 
surance Company has been carefully de- 
veloped under his supervision. His clubs 
are : The Hartford Club ; the Hartford 
Golf Club ; the Farmington Country Qub. 
He married, November 14, 1883, Virginia 
Sumter Smith, daughter of John D. and 
Mattie (Bias) Smith, and they are the 
parents of three sons : James Ellicott, 
Thomas, and Philip. 

Thomas Hewes was born in Baltimore, 
May 27, 1888, and attended the grammar 
school there. He attended the Hartford 
public high school, graduating in 1906, 
and four years later received his degree 
of B. A. from Yale University, in 1912 



that of LL. B. from Yale Law School. In 
the latter year he was admitted to the bar 
and became associated with the law firm 
of Robinson, Robinson & Cole, until 1917. 
In May, 1917, he was appointed secretary 
of the Connecticut State Council of De- 
fense, which position he resigned to en- 
list as a volunteer in the regular army on 
October 30, 1917. He was assigned to 
the 301st Artillery at Camp Devens, a 
draft regiment, in which he became a cor- 
poral, being later transferred to the Ord- 
nance Department, for the purpose of as- 
sisting in organizing the civilian person- 
nel of that department. About that time 
it was endeavoring to secure as officers 
all persons in the county with knowledge 
of civil service procedure. In pursuance 
of this purpose, being commissioned a 
second lieutenant, he was appointed to 
the head of the civilian personnel section 
of the Bridgeport district of the ordnance 
department, with entire charge of this 
task upon its completion ; in September, 
1918, he was commissioned second lieu- 
tenant in the Field Artillery, ranking 
from January of that year, and received 
his discharge at Fort Sill, Oklahoma, De- 
cember 14th following. Upon his return 
to Hartford he formed his present part- 
nership with Richard Phillips, under the 
firm name of Hewes & Phillips. The firm 
was subsequently enlarged and is now 
Hewes, Phillips & Lindsey. It special- 
izes in corporation and patent law and the 
law relating to labor disputes. 

In politics Mr. Hewes is a staunch 
Democrat and has been active in the work 
of that party, being a delegate to the Na- 
tional Convention in 1916. He was elected 
a member of the Legislature in 191 5, and 
served on the Committee on Corporations. 
He was a member of the Democratic 
State Central Committee for two years 
and was a member of the Connecticut 
Civil Service Commission from 1917 until 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



its abolishment in 1921. In 1915 he was 
appointed by the Legislature as a judge of 
the Borough Court of Farmington, and 
in 1917 was re-appointed to this office. 
This position was resigned by Mr. Hewes 
when he enlisted in the army. 

Mr. Hewes is a director of the Hart- 
ford Morris Plan Bank; vice-president 
and director of the Fenn Manufacturing 
Company; vice-president and director of 
the Children's Aid Society ; a director of the 
Travelers' Aid Society, the George Junior 
Republic, and the Charity Organiza- 
tion Society, and a governor of the Yale 
Publishing Association. His clubs are: 
The Hartford Club, Farmington Country 
Club, Hartford Golf Club, University 
Club of Hartford, and Yale Club of New 
York. He is a member of the Scroll and 
Key Society at Yale, Psi Upsilon, and is 
also a member of the American Legion. 

Mr. Hewes married Genevieve, daugh- 
ter of Charles E. Chase, of Hartford, and 
they are the parents of three children : 
Thomas Chase ; Helen ; Charles Ellicott. 
Mrs. Hewes attends the Congregational 
Church, and Mr. Hewes is a member of 
St. James' Parish Episcopal Church. 



of 



TURBERT, Edward J., 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

Edward J. Turbert, a physician 
Hartford, Connecticut, was born in 
Southington, same State, March 16, 1881, 
son of Edward J. and Maria (Bowen) 
Turbert. He attended the public schools 
of his native town, and the Lewis High 
School, of Southington, graduating in 
1898. Two years later he entered Balti- 
more Medical College, graduating in 1904 
with the degree of M. D. Subsequent to 
this time Dr. Turbert served as interne 
at St. Francis Hospital in Hartford, and 
then engaged in the private practice of his 
profession, in which he has met with well 

Conn— 10 — 14 



deserved success and has built up a large 
clientele. In addition to his regular work. 
Dr. Turbert has charge of many indus- 
trial surgical cases. 

Dr. Turbert is a member of the stafif of 
St. Francis Hospital ; is consultant to the 
city Contagious Hospital, and holds a 
similar office with the Manchester Hospi- 
tal. He is a member of the Hartford 
Medical Society; the Hartford County 
Medical Society ; the Connecticut Medical 
Society; the Hartford Surgical Society, 
and the American Medical Association. 
For three years he was a member of the 
Board of Education, and fraternally is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus. 
For recreation from his medical duties, 
Dr. Turbert indulges in golfing. He is also 
a collector of antiques and in his home has 
many pieces of rare, old furniture. 

Mr. Turbert married Eleanor Dillon, 
daughter of James H. Dillon, and they 
were the parents of two children : Ed- 
ward J., Jr. and Mary. With his family 
Dr. Turbert attends Our Lady of Sorrows 
Roman Catholic Church. 



LAWTON, James, 

Bnsiness Man. 

One of the most substantial and promi- 
nent business men of the city of Middle- 
town, Connecticut, Mr. Lawton owes all 
that he has achieved to his own unaided 
efforts, so that he deserves in its best 
sense, the appellation of a self-made man. 
He began with scarcely any thing, 
and has developed, not only in the matter 
of business, but in the public and private 
life of his community as well. The best 
asset in a community is its strong men, 
men of honor and integrity, the type of 
men who realize that success depends 
upon character as well as upon knowl- 
edge. 

Patrick Lawton, father of James Law- 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ton, was a native of County Cork, Ire- 
land. He came to America about 1833, 
settling at Portland, Connecticut, where 
he worked in the stone quarries. While 
in the prime of his life, Mr. Lawton was 
called by death, in November, 1859. His 
premature decease left a saddened family, 
consisting of the mother, who was 
Margaret Barry, also a native of County 
Cork, and five children. The only 
daughter of this marriage, Mary, died at 
the age of twenty years. Michael W., the 
eldest son, was a very active citizen of 
Middletown ; served several years as se- 
lectman, as member of the City Council; 
and as representative in the Legislature. 
He was appointed by the governor as 
trustee of the State prison at Wethers- 
field, and served faithfully and with 
credit. He was a member of St. John's 
Roman Catholic Church and of the 
Knights of Columbus. He married Mary 
Murray, daughter of Patrick and Mar- 
garet (Keogan) Murray, and sister of 
Mrs. James Lawton. She is now de- 
ceased. James, receives extended men- 
tion below. John, died in early manhood. 
The others died in infancy. 

The mother of this family came to 
America with her husband, and through 
the years of her widowhood was a faith- 
ful, loving mother, devoted to her chil- 
dren and their interests. She died in 
1898, having lived to see her sons suc- 
cessful business men. 

James Lawton, who is more particu- 
larly the subject of this review, was born 
August 12, 1842, in Portland, Connecticut. 
His elementary education was received in 
the public and parochial schools of Port- 
land, and Middletown. Upon leaving 
school, he secured employment in a cigar 
factory which was followed by a clerk- 
ship in a grocery store. In both of these 
positions Mr. Lawton devoted his energy 
to the business in hand, and was quick to 



perceive and learn. By his thrift and in- 
dustry he was in a position to engage in 
business on his own account in 1867, 
starting with a small grocery store. For 
thirty-five years, a really remarkable 
record, Mr. Lawton continued actively en- 
gaged in this business. The friends he 
gained through his uprightness and busi- 
ness integrity were legion. In 1902 he 
widened his scope of business, by pur- 
chasing the retail coal business and in- 
surance agency of his deceased brother, 
Michael W. Lawton. Mr. Lawton took 
into partnership with him at this time, his 
son, Walter F., and the business is con- 
ducted under the name "James Lawton & 
Son." 

Mr. Lawton married Katharine M. 
Murray, daughter of Patrick and Mar- 
garet (Keogan) Murray. Mr. and Mrs. 
Murray were also the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Margaret, died in 1919; 
Mary, wife of Michael W. Lawton, 
brother of the subject, James Lawton ; 
Josephine, married John Cox of Bos- 
ton. Mr. and Mrs. James Lawton are the 
parents of the following children: i. 
Mary E., an instructor in the Middletown 
public schools. 2. James A., a practicing 
dentist of Middletown. 3. Michael George, 
a graduate of Wesleyan University, Mid- 
dletown, now an expert accountant in 
New York City. 4. Walter F., associated 
in business with his father, above men- 
tioned. 5. Marguerite G., the wife of 
Patrick B. O'Sullivan, an attorney of 
Derby, Connecticut. Mrs. O'Sullivan is a 
graduate of Wesleyan University, and 
previous to her marriage was an instruc- 
tor, in the Norwich Free Academy, Nor- 
wich, Connecticut, and prior to that was 
at Newtown, Connecticut. She is the 
mother of two sons, Thomas JefTerson 
and James Lawton O'Sullivan. 6. Kath- 
arine, unmarried, an instructor in Middle- 
town public schools. 7. Joseph I., teller 



210 




/9^^<^OC^ cy^^^L^^<j^yi^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the Middletown National Bank. 8. 
Leo Paul, an expert accountant in New 
York City. Joseph I. and Leo Paul 
served their country in the World War, 
the former in the army, and the latter in 
the Naval Reserve Force. 

Mr. Lawton has been a life-long Dem- 
ocrat, and has several times been called 
upon to serve his city and State. He was 
a member of the Legislature for two 
terms, 1881 and 1882, discharging his 
duties in a manner which brought satis- 
faction to its constituents. For two de- 
cades he has been a member of the Water 
Board, and is a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce of Middletown. With his 
family he is a regular attendant of St. 
John's Roman Catholic Church, and is a 
member of Council No. 3, Knights of 
Columbus, and also a trustee of St. John's 
Parish Corporation. 

Despite his advanced age Mr. Lawton 
is active and exceptionally well pre- 
served. Time has dealt gently with him, 
and his hair, which is thick and heavy, is 
hardly tinged with gray. He is a familiar 
figure to many of the older residents, and 
wherever he goes he is welcomed for his 
geniality. To the youth who aspires, 
there is much in the life and career of Mr. 
Lawton, worthy of emulation. 



O'BRIEN, Dennis, 

Contracting Builder. 

Many of the principal buildings in 
Middletown and vicinity have been 
erected by this industrious worker, who 
has made his way entirely since coming 
to this country as a young man. He was 
born August 16, 1849, '" the town of 
Clonokeltz, county Cork, Ireland, a son 
of Patrick and Honora (Donovan) 
O'Brien. The father was a mason builder 
and died in Ireland, after which his widow 
with two sons and a daughter came to 



America. One daughter had married and 
came to this country before that and the 
family immediately located in Middle- 
town in 1871. Dennis O'Brien at that 
time was twenty-two years of age and 
had become master of the mason's trade 
under his father's instructions. Within a 
few years the mother died at the age of 
eighty years. The daughter, Mary, the 
eldest child, passed her last years with 
the brother, Dennis, and died in October, 
1918. The third child, Eugene O'Brien, 
lived in Philadelphia, where he died ; 
Catherine, widow of John Hennessey, re- 
sides in Middletown. 

Dennis O'Brien attended school until 
fourteen years of age, at which time he 
was given his preference of continuing or 
of going to work. His father admon- 
ished him that he would rue it if he did 
not continue in school, but he had no 
taste for books and entered keenly upon 
the task of mastering the mason's trade. 
After he had been in Middletown three 
years, he began taking contracts for 
mason work, and has since continued 
there with great success. In 191 1 he 
formed a corporation, including all his 
four children, of which the father is the 
president. One of his greatest operations 
was the construction of the various mod- 
ern mills of the Russell Manufacturing 
Company, including some sixteen acres of 
floor space. Other buildings constructed 
by Mr. O'Brien were St. Joseph's School 
and Convent Chapel, St. Mary's School of 
Portland, the handsome residence of T. 
M. Russell and that of Colonel Joseph 
Wadsworth of West Long Hill. He also 
constructed the factories of the Royal 
Typewriter Company and the Majestic 
Theatre in Hartford. These are only a 
few of the many buildings erected by Mr. 
O'Brien during his long and busy life. He 
is now chiefly retired from activity, but 
retains a keen interest in all the affairs 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the day. He and all the members of 
his family are members of St. John's 
Roman Catholic Church of Middletown. 
He is a member of the local lodges of the 
Knights of Columbus and Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. Politically, he 
is a staunch supporter of Republican prin- 
ciples, but has never desired nor accepted 
any nomination for office. In his busy 
life, there was no time for matters of this 
kind. Mr. O'Brien is a man of genial 
nature and affable manners and is popular 
among a wide circle of acquaintances. 
His life has been one of industry, sterling 
integrity and cheerful promotion of the 
public interests. 

Dennis O'Brien married, in 1882, Nora 
Murphy, born in the city of Cork, Ire- 
land, daughter of John Murphy. She is 
deceased. Their children are : Margaret, 
Patrick, Stephen, Dennis J., and Eugene 
John. The daughter makes pleasant the 
declining years of her father by caring for 
his household. The sons are all actively 
engaged in prosecuting the building busi- 
ness, and are among the esteemed resi- 
dents of Middletown. 



MUNSON, Edward Henry, 

Real Estate and Insurance Agent. 

A prominent citizen of New Britain, 
Connecticut, and a worthy scion of an 
old and honored family, Edward Henry 
Munson was born in Hamilton, New 
York, July 7, 1846, son of Edward Wales 
and Althea A. (Jones) Munson, and a 
direct descendant of the immigrant, 
Thomas Munson. 

(i) The latter was born in England 
about 1612, and his first appearance in 
this country was in 1637, when he is listed 
as a resident of Hartford, Connecticut. 
He performed valorous duty in the Pe- 
quot War in that year, and record is found 
of him on several occasions subsequent to 
this time in civil and military service. He 



was granted land for his services, and be- 
fore February, 1640, removed with others 
to Quinnipiac. In 1642 Thomas Munson 
served as sergeant of the train-band 
holding this office for nineteen years. He 
was very active in town affairs and held 
numerous offices. He also saw active 
service during King Philip's War, and 
was in command of the forces which 
marched to Northfield, and when it was 
decided that a standing army should be 
raised, he was appointed captain. He 
married Joanna, born about 1610, died 
December 13, 1678. Thomas Munson 
died May 7, 1685. He was buried on the 
Green, and his monument can be seen in 
the Grove street burial ground. 

(II) Samuel Munson, son of Thomas 
and Joanna Munson, was born the eldest 
son of the family. He was baptized Au- 
gust 7, 1643, ^"d died between January 
10 and March 2, 1693. In 1667 he was 
made a freeman of New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, and was one of the founders of the 
plantation of Wallingford, Connecticut, 
of which town, in 1679, he was the first 
schoolmaster. Samuel Munson also held 
several town offices and served in King 
Philip's War. In 1684, he was made rec- 
tor of the famous Hopkins Grammar 
School. He married, October 26, 1665, 
Martha Bradley, daughter of William and 
Alice (Pritchard) Bradley. 

(HI) Theophilus Munson, son of Sam- 
uel and Martha (Bradley) Munson, was 
born September i, 1675, and died Novem- 
ber 28, 1747. He was a locksmith, and 
lived at New Haven, Connecticut. He 
married Esther Mix, daughter of John 
Mix, and she died September 16, 1746. 

(IV) Daniel Munson, son of Theo- 
philus and Esther (Mix) Munson, was 
born January 12, 1708-09, and died June 
21, 1746. He was the first of the Amer- 
ican Munsons to become a physician, and 
graduated from Yale College in 1726, 



212 




5.7/ \ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with the degree of A. B., receiving his 
degree of A. M. three years later. Dr. 
Munson married, April 27, 1730, Mary 
Gorham, daughter of Joseph Gorham, of 
Stratford. 

(V) Daniel (2) Munson, son of Daniel 
(i) and Mary (Gorham) Munson, was 
born April 4, 1745, and died October 27, 
1827. As early as 1782 he was settled in 
Milford, Connecticut, and married. May 
22, 1766, Mary Sears, whose death oc- 
curred in October, 1833. 

(VI) Ransom Munson, son of Daniel 
(2) and Mary (Sears) Munson, was born 
June 8, 1789, in Milford, Connecticut, and 
died February 9, 1830, in Westville, Con- 
necticut ; he was a bootmaker, and in poli- 
tics a Whig. For many years he lived in 
Canton, Connecticut, and married, No- 
vember 24, 1810, Charlotte Jenneat Way, 
daughter of Jacob Way, of Westville, 
born April 4, 1789, died January 22, 1865, 
in Southbury, Connecticut. 

(VII) Edward Wales Munson, son of 
Ransom and Charlotte J. (Way) Munson, 
was born July 14, 1818, and died in Meri- 
den, Connecticut, July 13, 1889. His 
younger days were spent in the business 
of carriage and wagon building, and after 
his marriage he engaged in this business 
on his own account in Hamilton, New 
York. In 1856 Mr. Munson was ap- 
pointed a keeper at Sing Sing Prison, 
remaining there for seven years, and then 
engaged in business in the same town, 
although he only remained a year. In 
1864 Mr. Munson went to Waterbury, 
Connecticut, and there brought into play 
the mechanical skill he learned in earlier 
years and followed the trade of carpenter 
in Benedict & Burnham's factory. After 
about two years he entered the plant of 
the Smith Company, as carpenter, and in 
1872 became associated with Bradley & 
Hubbard, prominent carriage manufac- 



turers of that day, at Meriden, and there 
continued until his death. 

In politics Mr. Munson was a Republi- 
can, and was a member of the City Coun- 
cil for two years, 1878-1880. He was an 
ardent worker for his party, but not a 
seeker for office, and in early days had 
been a strong Abolitionist. Fraternally 
he was a member of the Masonic order in 
Hamilton, and of the Senior Order United 
American Mechanics, in Meriden, in 
which organization he was very promi- 
nent. 

Mr. Munson married, at Killingworth, 
Connecticut, July 9, 1837, Aletha Ann 
Jones, daughter of Daniel Jones, born in 
Essex, Connecticut, and they were the 
parents of the following children: i. 
Adelaide A., born September 15, 1841, at 
Oxford, New York ; married Thomas Ash, 
of Sing Sing, New York, and both are 
now deceased. 2. Emeline N., born De- 
cember 14, 1843, ^t Hamilton, New York; 
married, April 20, 1865, Theodore Mal- 
lory, of Southbury, Connecticut, and both 
are now deceased. 3. Edward Henry, of 
further mention. 4. Charlotte A., born 
October 12, 1848, at Hamilton, New 
York; married Miles L. Pritchard, of 
Waterbury, Connecticut, and both are 
now deceased. 5. Bertha A., born Sep- 
tember 13, 1851 ; married Amasa Mack, 
both deceased. 6. Mary A., born Septem- 
ber 22, 1853, at Hamilton, New York; 
married Henry C. Hennigan, of Meriden, 
Connecticut. 7. Harriet E., born June 7, 
1855; married, May 16, 1877, Herbert C. 
Frisbie, of Meriden. 8. Lillian, born at; 
Sing Sing, New York, August 31, 1858; 
married (first) Edward C. Hull, and at 
his death she married (second) Zachary 
T. Strong, of New Haven, Connecticut. 
9. Charles D., born August 25, i860, at 
Sing Sing; married Minnie H. Curtis, of 
New Haven. 10. Helen C, bom August 
23, 1862, at Sing Sing; married Harrie H. 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Munger, of Meriden. With his family 
Mr. Munson attended the Methodist 
Episcopal church of which he was a lay 
preacher. 

(VIII) Edward Henry Munson at- 
tended the public schools and after com- 
pleting his schooling drove a team for a 
time ; he had always been a great lover 
of horses and naturally turned to this line 
of work. The Civil War coming on at 
about this time caused him to leave and 
enlist ; he was a member of Company H, 
32nd New York Volunteer Infantry, serv- 
ing a little over a year, when he was 
transferred to the 121st Regiment; he was 
a member of the Grand Army of the Re- 
public Post in Meriden. 

Subsequent to the war, Mr. Munson 
went to work for Holmes, Booth & Hay- 
den, of Waterbury, Connecticut, where he 
learned the trade of machinist and tool 
maker, thence going to New York City, 
where he was a foreman in a shop there 
for some time. Mr. Munson next went 
to Meriden, Connecticut, where for 
twenty-two years he followed his trade 
with different concerns, part of the time 
as foreman and part of the time in busi- 
ness for himself. He manufactured a 
paper box covering machine. Mr. Mun- 
son came to New Britain in the early 
eighties and was employed by the Stan- 
ley Works for two years, when he formed 
a partnership with John M. Brady, under 
the firm name of Brady & Munson, this 
arrangement continuing about a year, 
when Mr. Munson withdrew to enter the 
real estate and insurance business on his 
own account and in which he has engaged 
with gratifying success, handling all 
kinds of insurance. 

In politics Mr. Munson is a Republican 
and keenly interested in all matters of 
public welfare ; he has played an influ- 
ential part in local party affairs, but is 
not a seeker for public office on his own 



account. He is a member of Harmony 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
New Britain. 

On March 25, 1866, he married (first) 
Emily Jane Tuttle, daughter of Philo 
Tuttle, of Woodbury, Connecticut, bom 
February 15, 1845, died July 7, 1870, leav- 
ing no children; he married (second), 
July II, 1878, Rebecca A. Hayes, daugh- 
ter of John Hayes, a native of England, 
and by this marriage there were two chil- 
dren : Edward J., assistant postmaster of 
New Britain ; and Alice, wife of William 
Cottrell, and the mother of two children. 



RILEY, DeWitt Atwater, 

Business Man. 

One of the younger business men of 
New Britain who has made a success of 
his chosen calling is DeWitt Atwater 
Riley, also a scion of two of the oldest 
families of that vicinity. He was born in 
the neighboring town of Berlin, February 
19, 1891, son of William H. and Carrie 
Isabel (Atwater) Riley, and grandson of 
William H. Riley. 

His father, William H. Riley, was born 
in Berlin, Connecticut, and died in 1895. 
He was engaged in business as a buyer 
of steel for the American Bridge Com- 
pany, and fraternally was a member of 
the Masonic order in Portland, and of the 
Royal Arch Masons Chapter there. He 
married Carrie I. Atwater, daughter of 
Mary Jane (Sage) and Bryan A. Atwater, 
born in Brooklyn, New York. The At- 
water residence in Berlin is a famous 
landmark, and was long known as the 
Fuller Tavern. Mr. and Mrs. Riley were 
the parents of three children: Pauline 
Sessions, wife of Norman Bigelow, and 
residents of Berlin, Connecticut ; Ann, 
married Albert Scripture and is the 
mother of Barbara Scripture ; DeWitt A., 
of further mention. Mr. Riley and 



JI4 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his family attended the Congregational 
church of Berlin. 

DeWitt Atwater Riley was educated in 
the public schools, and graduated from 
the New Britain High School, class of 
1912. He entered the employ of the 
Aetna Life Insurance Company for about 
one and one half years, and was then in 
the employ of Charles Gillin, of New 
Britain, who was in the insurance busi- 
ness also. After four months he left Mr. 
Gillin's employ, and started in for him- 
self as an agent to sell real estate, also 
engaging in all lines of insurance. Mr. 
Riley embarked on his venture with a 
very meagre knowledge of the real estate 
business, but with the basis of square 
dealing, and along these lines he has 
built up a most successful business, and 
has overcome every obstacle and handi- 
cap, by courteous and intelligent service. 

He is a member of Centennial Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
New Britain; and of Aziz Grotto. Mr. 
Riley married Helen Eaton, daughter of 
Bertha (Hamlin) and William S. Eaton, 
of Plainville. They are the parents of a 
son, William Eaton Riley, born Septem- 
ber 10, 1920. They attend the Congrega- 
tional church. 



DELANEY, William Francis, 

Lawyer, Public Official. 

It seems very fitting to find the holders 
of public office in a city the native sons of 
that city, as is the case with William 
Francis Delaney, postmaster of New 
Britain, Connecticut. He was born 
there August 23, 1870, son of Edward and 
Margaret (McMahon) Delaney, and 
grandson of Dr. James Delaney. The 
latter practiced medicine all his lifetime 
in Ballacolla, a profession which his an- 
cestors had followed for generations, this 



branch of the Delaney family being 
known far and wide as physicians. 

Edward Delaney, son of Dr. James 
Delaney, was born in Ballacolla Parish of 
Upperwoods, County Queens, Ireland, and 
died at the age of sixty years, in 1899. 
When a boy of fifteen or sixteen he came 
to America and located on Staten Island, 
soon removing to Waterbury, Connecti- 
cut, where he worked in a factory, mak- 
ing leather powder flasks. From there 
he removed to Farmington, and there en- 
gaged in farming until 1865, when he 
bought the homestead, which is now 
occupied by his daughter, Mrs. W. J. 
Farley, in New Britain, and during the 
remainder of his life was engaged in truck 
gardening there. Mr. Delaney married 
Margaret McMahon, and they were the 
parents of four children, of whom the 
three following grew to maturity : Wil- 
liam Francis, of further mention ; Maria, 
wife of George W. Moffatt, of New 
Britain ; and Sarah E., wife of W. J. Far- 
ley, of New Britain. The family have 
always been members of St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church of New Britain. 
Mrs. Delaney died in March, 1912, at the 
age of seventy-three years. 

William F. Delaney attended the pub- 
lic schools of New Britain, Connecticut, 
and graduated from the high school in 
1899. He then matriculated at the Uni- 
versity of Niagara Law School, which was 
changed in name to the University of 
Buffalo Law School, from which he was 
graduated LL. B. in 1902. After a year's 
clerkship in Connecticut, to comply with 
the legal requirements, Mr. Delaney was 
admitted to the bar in 1903. He was in 
the office of Judge Bernard F. Gaffney, 
and after two years there, opened an office 
of his own. Until 1912 he was engaged 
in general practice, and in the latter year 
became associated with William F. Man- 



gan. 



215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In politics Mr. Delaney is a Democrat 
and has been one of the most active citi- 
zens of New Britain in public affairs. In 
1896-97-98 he was a member of the Com- 
mon Council ; town auditor, 1897-99 ; clerk 
of the Board of Selectmen from October, 
1898, to May, 1906, when the town and 
city governments were consolidated. 
During all this time Mr. Delaney 
was associated with the Democratic 
Town Committee, either as secretary or 
chairman. In 1915 he was appointed 
postmaster by President Woodrow Wil- 
son, and in order to give his undivided 
attention to the duties of this office, Mr. 
Delaney temporarily gave up his law 
practice. 

Mr. Delaney served on all the Liberty 
Loan committees and was one of the 
"four-minute" speakers during the World 
War. He is a wide reader, a student of 
the best in literature, and is known as one 
of the best-read men in New Britain. 
This gift gives quality to his public 
speaking and writing, and he is always in 
demand at public gatherings. 

Mr. Delaney 's fraternal affiliations are 
with the following: He is past grand 
knight of Carmody Council, Knights of 
Columbus, which with Ferdinand and 
New Britain Councils were united to 
make Daly Council, of which he is now 
a member ; he was grand chief ranger of 
the Foresters of America from 1899 to 
1901, and was the first New Britain mem- 
ber to gain that recognition ; is past 
exalted ruler of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks of New Britain, 
which office he held from 191 1 to 1912. 
Mr. Delaney is also a member of a num- 
ber of local clubs. He is president of the 
Young Men's Total Abstinence and Ben- 
evolent Society. 

Mr. Delaney has always taken a keen 
interest in athletics, baseball and the run- 
ning track being his special interests in 



this line at school. Since that time he 
has frequently coached the local high 
school teams and represented the Ama- 
teur Athletic Union in his district for 
several years. 

Mr. Delaney married, October 9, 1900, 
Anna E. McCabe, daughter of Patrick 
and Catherine (Coogan) McCabe, and 
they are the parents of two sons : Fran- 
cis W., born July 15, 1902, now a senior 
in the New Britain High School ; and Ed- 
ward Patrick, born July 14, 1904. The 
family attend and aid in the support of 
St. Joseph's Parish of New Britain. 



ZIMMERMAN, Frank M., 

Business Man. 

The Zimmerman family, of which Frank 
M. Zimmerman, a leading New Britain 
business man, is a scion, was founded in 
Connecticut by the father, Matthias Zim- 
merman. The family, one of excellent 
standing, was long established in Bous, 
Rhine Province, Germany. The sur- 
name is derived from occupation, being 
formed from the two German words, zim- 
mer, meaning timber, and mann, meaning 
man, and was a name given to one who 
followed the trade of carpenter. 

Matthias Zimmerman was born in Bous, 
Rhine Province, Germany, April 2, 1839. 
He married in 1867 and came to America 
in 1870, locating in New Britain, Connec- 
ticut, where an uncle already resided. 
During all the years of his active working 
life Mr. Zimmerman was employed by 
the Stanley Works of New Britain, but 
was forced to discontinue his labors a few 
years before his death because of ill 
health. He took much interest in the pub- 
lic affairs of his adopted land and served 
as a member of the Common Council for 
two terms. 

Mr. Zimmerman was a member of the 
old German Benevolent Society ; of the 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Turner Society, and of St. Peter's Ro- 
man Catholic Church. He married Ma- 
tilda Rival, daughter of Franz Xavier 
Rival; she was born in Coblenz, and 
her father was a customs inspector 
in Hegenheim, on the Swiss border, for 
fifty years, after which he retired on a 
pension. Mr. and Mrs. Zimmerman were 
the parents of three children, two of 
whom grew up. Anna, bom April 19, 
1869, married Jacob Baumgaertner, of 
New Britain. For seven years previous 
to her marriage she was a teacher in the 
public schools of Meriden, and for twenty 
years taught the German language in pri- 
vate schools. The other child, Frank M., 
receives extended mention below. 

Frank M. Zimmerman was born in New 
Britain, Connecticut, January 3, 1871, and 
was educated in the public schools of his 
native city. His first employment was 
with J. D. Humphrey, a real estate agent, 
with whom he remained for five years, 
after which time he formed a partnership 
with him under the firm name of Hum- 
phrey & Zimmerman. Subsequently, Mr. 
Zimmerman bought his partner's interest 
and has since carried on the business 
alone. In addition to a general real es- 
tate business he also handles all kinds of 
insurance. 

In 1914 Mr. Zimmerman organized a 
corporation under the name of Hine, Mor- 
rin & Zimmerman, which took over the 
agency for the Ford automobile and about 
a year later Mr. Zimmerman became a 
member of the Charter Oak Automobile 
Company of Hartford, and handles the 
New Britain branch of the business. In 
1920 he sold his interests in the last- 
named business and took the agency for 
the Haynes car. His territory covers 
New Britain, Plainville, Bristol, Torring- 
ton, and Southington. 

In politics Mr. Zimmerman is a Demo- 
crat, and has served in the Common 



Council and as a member of the Board of 
Relief. He also has served as a member 
of the City Hall Commission and on the 
Democratic Committee. 

Fraternally Mr. Zimmerman is a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks, of which he was a charter 
member and first tyler of the lodge ; mem- 
ber of the Senior Order of United Amer- 
ican Mechanics ; the Knights of Colum- 
bus ; New Britain Rifle Club ; New Brit- 
ain Turner Society ; Foresters of Amer- 
ica ; Teutonia Maennerchor ; and of the 
American Mechanics' Association. He is 
a member of St. Peter's Roman Catholic 
Church, and sings in the church choir; 
formerly he sang with the Philharmonic 
Society. He is a director of the People's 
Bank. 

Mr. Zimmerman married Mary A. Her- 
mann, daughter of Peter Hermann, of 
New Britain, Connecticut, and their chil- 
dren are : Matilda, Emma, Matthias, Rea 
and Gretchen. 



FAULKNER, James F., 

Physician, Hospital Official. 

The name of Faulkner was originally 
derived from the occupation of Falconer. 
The falconer was the man who trained 
and cared for the falcon used in the King's 
Hunt in early English days. A falcon, 
hawk, was early known as Falk. Dr. 
James F. Faulkner, of New Britain, is a 
worthy scion of this old name ; he was 
born in Gardiner, Maine, November 3, 
1884, son of Joseph and Bridget Helen 
(Kealy) Faulkner. 

Joseph Faulkner, father of Dr. Faulk- 
ner, was bom near Dundee, Scotland, 
where his people were in the clothing bus- 
iness. When Joseph was a child his father 
removed to County Donegal, Ireland, and 
there he grew to the age of eighteen, at 
which time, with two older brothers, he 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came to America. They settled in Gardi- 
ner, Maine, and there Joseph learned the 
trade of steamfitter. For many years he 
was in charge of the steamfitting in the 
plant of the Hollingsworth & Whitney 
Paper Company, and later was in the 
spring water business on his own account. 
Mr. Faulkner married Bridget Helen 
Kealy, of Kilkenny, Ireland, and their 
children were : James F., of further men- 
tion : Joseph v., of Boston ; William E., 
of Bath, Maine; Madeline, wife of Eu- 
gene Pomerleau, of Gardiner. 

Dr. Faulkner prepared for college in 
Gardiner high school and graduated from 
Bates College in 1908 with the degree of 
B. A. Five years later he received his 
M. D. degree from the Harvard Medical 
School, and subsequently spent six months 
as an interne at the Free Hospital for 
Women in Boston, and for twenty-two 
months was at the Hartford Hospital. 

He was a member of the Harvard Unit 
which went to Europe, leaving the Unit 
at London to enter the Fourteenth Sta- 
tionary Hospital. In 1916, Dr. Faulkner 
returned to America and located in New 
Britain, where he began to practice. In 
the few years he has been practicing Dr. 
Faulkner has made rapid strides, having 
won and held the confidence of his clien- 
tele, which has rapidly increased with 
each passing year. He is public medical 
examiner of New Britain, and is a mem- 
ber of the stafif of the New Britain Gen- 
eral Hospital. He is also medical ex- 
aminer for the Civil Service Commission ; 
the Travelers' Insurance Company, in 
New Britain ; and the Knights of Colum- 
bus. Dr. Faulkner served thirty-one 
months in the regular establishment of the 
American Army in France, after being 
transferred from the British army. He 
still holds the commission of first lieu- 
tenant in the Royal Army Medical Corps 
for the British army. Dr. Faulkner is a 



member of the City, County, and State 
Medical societies; the Harvard Medical 
Society ; the Alpha Kappa Kappa ; the 
Harvard Alumnas Association, and the 
Knights of Columbus. 

Dr. Faulkner married Gertrude Clare, 
daughter of Hubert Dury, of New York 
City, and they attend St. Joseph's Roman 
Catholic Church. 



FLANNERY, Thomas P., 

Mannfactnrer, 

A native son of New Britain who has 
won success within the confines of that 
city, Thomas F. Flannery was born there 
December 27, 1878, son of Patrick J. and 
Bridget (McDonough) Planner)'. His 
father was born near the city of Limerick, 
in County Clare, Ireland, June 10, 1850, 
and died in New Britain, Connecticut, 
March 6, 1909. He was a son of Thomas 
Flannery, a prosperous inn-keeper in the 
old country. 

Patrick J. Flannery came to America 
when he was sixteen years of age, being 
at that time without father or mother. 
He located first in Norwich^ Connecticut, 
where he learned the trade of carpenter, 
and after his removal to New Britain, be- 
came a contractor and builder. When he 
entered business for himself, Mr. Flan- 
nery was only about twenty-one years of 
age, which is sufficient warrant of his 
ability. He resigned from the contracting 
work to become a member of the police 
force, and was the first uniformed police- 
man the town of New Britain had. For 
almost twenty years he guarded the ob- 
servance of the laws, resigning in 1891, 
having held the office of captain for many 
years. 

Mr. Flannery's business acumen found 
an outlet in his interest in the retail fur- 
niture business as a member of the firm 
of William J. Dunlay & Company. They 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



built two large five-story brick buildings 
on Main street. After the death of Mr. 
Flannery his sons closed out his interests 
there. About 1897 he organized the New 
Britain Brass Company, afterwards pur- 
chased by Hart & Cooley, of which he 
was vice-president and manager. They 
manufactured plumbing supplies, and suc- 
cessfully continued until 1900. Soon 
after this time Mr. Flannery started the 
business of which his son is now the 
head. From a small beginning the busi- 
ness has been developed until now it gives 
employment to about fifty people on the 
average, and the product of manufacture 
is sold through jobbers. Mr. Flannery 
married Bridget McDonough, and they 
were the parents of seven children: i. 
William J., a physician of Brooklyn, New 
York. 2. Thomas F., of further mention. 
3. Anna M., married George M. Rempp, 
of New Britain. 4. Grace, married Ed- 
ward Stevens, of New Britain. 5. James 
F., secretary of the P. J. Flannery Com- 
pany. 6. John H., vice-president of the 
company ; the latter enlisted October 4, 
1917, and was sent to Camp Devens. He 
went across with the 76th Regiment and 
was re-assigned to several different divi- 
sions. He was discharged from the 
Fourth Corps at Camp Devens and soon 
after his enlistment was made sergeant. 
He took part in the Meuse-Argonne of- 
fensive and in the Army of Occupation. 
7. Mary I., married Stephen J. Leo, of 
Jersey City. The family are members of 
the Roman Catholic Church of New 
Britain. 

Thomas F. Flannery was educated in 
the public schools of New Britain and 
with his brothers entered the business 
founded by his father as soon as leaving 
school. Since that time he has been 
identified with the manufacturing enter- 
prises founded by his father, and became 
president of the P. J. Flannery Company. 



Fraternally, Mr. Flannery is a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. 

Mr. Flannery married Theresa Casey, 
daughter of Patrick Casey, of New Lon- 
don, Connecticut, and they are the par- 
ents of two children : Margaret and Jane 
Flannery. 



WILLIAMS, Arthur Watson, 

Business Man, 

A scion of an old family, and a prom- 
inent citizen of New Britain, Connecti- 
cut, Arthur Watson Williams was born 
in the old homestead, which was recently 
torn down, on the land which he now 
owns, April 5, 1851, son of Henry and 
Caroline (Smith) Williams, and grand- 
son of Elisha and Rosetta (North) Wil- 
liams. The latter was born in 1773, and 
died in Norfolk, Virginia, March 9, 1809, 
aged thirty-six years. He was born in 
Berlin, Connecticut, and was brought 
back there and buried. Mr. Williams 
was troubled with asthma and went to 
Norfolk to escape the rigors of Northern 
winters. Mr. Williams owned several 
tin-peddler's wagons, quite common in 
that day, and engaged quite extensively 
in the tinware business. He married, in 
February, 1802, Rosetta North, daughter 
of Seth and Eunice (Woodford) North, 
born September 15, 1778, died October 6, 

1863. 

Henry Williams, son of Elisha and 
Rosetta (North) Williams, was bom in 
Kensington, and died in 1855, aged about 
forty years. He learned the trade of shoe- 
maker, which he followed many years, 
part of the time in Georgia. Upon his 
return to the North he took up his resi- 
dence on the place now owned by his son, 
which he had inherited with his brother. 
After a time Mr. Williams bought his 
brother's interest and engaged in gen- 
219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eral farming as long as he lived. He was 
one of the foremost citizens of his com- 
munity during his lifetime and was very 
active in public matters. Mr. Williams 
married Caroline Smith, daughter of 
Elisha Smith, of Burlington, Connecti- 
cut, and of their seven children, six grew 
to maturity. They were: Edgar, of Bris- 
tol, Connecticut ; Elisha, deceased ; Ly- 
man, deceased; Arthur W., of further 
mention ; Wilbur, deceased ; Rodman, de- 
ceased. Mr. Williams and his wife were 
members of the First Congregational 
Church. 

Arthur Watson Williams was educated 
in the public schools of New Britain and 
then worked in the shop of the Stanley 
Rule and Level Company for about three 
years. He then purchased a tallow busi- 
ness in New Britain and until two years 
ago was actively engaged in the making 
of tallow. His real estate holdings and 
interests had increased to such an extent 
that they required all of his attention. 
During the last twenty years Mr. Wil- 
liams was in the tallow business ; he also 
bought and sold hides. Some time ago 
he had the farm he resides on surveyed 
and plotted for house lots, there being 
about fifteen acres. He is a Republican 
in politics, and a member of Burritt 
Grange, of New Britain. 

Mr. Williams married (first) Sarah 
Hallan, daughter of George Hallan, of 
New Britain, and they were the parents 
of a daughter, Jessie, now deceased. Mr. 
Williams married (second) Mary Cook, 
daughter of Clarence Cook, of New Brit- 
ain, and their children are: Clarence, 
Hubert, Doris, Everett, and Frances. 
With his family, Mr. Williams attends 
the Congregational church. 



PARKER, Orville F., 

Head of Important Bnsiness. 

The name of Parker is one of the most 
ancient of surnames, and belongs to the 



class known as occupational. It is de- 
rived from "parcarius," a park-keeper or 
shepherd, and the following quotation il- 
lustrates very aptly the importance and 
significance of the name and also the 
character of those early ancestors who 
first bore it: "A Keeper of the King's 
Hunting Grounds must necessarily be 
active and enterprising. He must be a 
good hunter, and as well informed as the 
civilization allowed — a typical man of the 
early ages." 

In the Domesday Book the name of 
Parker appears (1086), and earlier than 
this there was a Geoffrey Parker, noted 
during the reign of King Edward (901- 
925). There were five immigrants early 
in this history of New England who bore 
the name of Parker and their progeny 
are very numerous throughout the coun- 
try. 

Orville F. Parker, a worthy scion of 
this ancient and honored name, was born 
in Brimfield, Massachusetts, October 27, 
1884, son of Orus Edward and Eva A. 
(Ward) Parker, grandson of Sumner 
Parker, and great-grandson of David 
Parker, who was of Willington, Connec- 
ticut, whence he removed to Brimfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1810. He married 
Hannah Curtis, and was the father of 
Sumner Parker, of whom further. 

Sumner Parker was bom October 15, 
181 5, at Brimfield, Massachusetts, where 
he engaged in farming for many years. 
He also held several town offices and was 
among the most prominent citizens. He 
married (first), November 30, 1837, Me- 
lina Parsons, and she died January 16, 
1875. He married (second), December 
30, 1875, Lovisa H. Parker. 

Orus Edward Parker, son of Sumner 
and Melina (Parsons) Parker, was born 
in Brimfield, Massachusetts, June 10, 
1846. He was brought up with the sur- 
roundings of farm life and in due course 
of time began to follow this occupation, 

220 




ClUiUiani M. i^enrp 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and now conducts a large dairy farm. 
Mr. Parker has been a strong Prohibi- 
tionist for many years, and in the town 
politics, party lines were not observed 
and he has held many public offices, 
among them being assessor and member 
of the school committee. He is very 
active in the Brimfield Grange and has 
served as master of the Grange for three 
terms. On February ii, 1873, ^^ married 
Eva A. Ward, daughter of Simon Blood 
and Augusta Ward, of Brimfield. They 
were the parents of nine children : Her- 
bert S., of Douglas, Connecticut ; Lewis 
Ward; Mabel A., wife of J. C. Brown, of 
East Dover, Vermont ; Bertha L., wife of 
J. W. Brown, of Brimfield ; Sumner S., 
of Amherst, Massachusetts ; Orville F., 
of further mention ; Orlo, of Brimfield ; 
Lester S., of Fair Oaks, Glencoe, Illinois; 
Stanley E., of West Brookfield, Massa- 
chusetts. With his family, Mr. Parker 
was a member of the Advent Church of 
Brimfield. 

Orville F. Parker was educated in the 
public schools of Brimfield. and at the 
Hitchcock Academy. Then he went to 
Springfield, Massachusetts, where he was 
employed in the cigar and tobacco busi- 
ness for about three years. For some 
time after this he traveled for Swift & 
Company, meat packers, and then for the 
H. A. Johnson Company, dealers in bak- 
ers' supplies. His territory covered Con- 
necticut and Western Massachusetts, and 
in all he spent ten years traveling over 
this wide area, making many friends in 
business because of his reliability and 
uprightness. His work as salesman 
opened to him the opportunity which he 
was quick to appreciate, and in January, 
1920, he formed a partnership with C. W. 
Buckey of New Britain, Connecticut, un- 
der the firm name of the Parker-Buckey 
Baking Company, and purchased the bak- 
ery formerly conducted by J. E. Murphy 



& Sons. The business is largely whole- 
sale, the territory taking in New Bri- 
tain, Bristol, Meriden, Plainville, South- 
ington, and part of Hartford. They have 
four auto trucks and four wagons which 
are necessary in the carrying on of the 
business, and twenty-five people are em- 
ployed. The bakery itself is equipped 
with the most up-to-date machinery, 
and the closest attention is given to 
the maintaining of the most hygienic 
and sanitary conditions and that high 
standard of quality which the use of the 
best materials afifords, combined with the 
latest discoveries in scientific baking. 
Mr. Parker lived for many years, while a 
salesman, in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and in 1917 moved to West Hartford, 
Connecticut, but now makes his home in 
New Britain. He is a member of Wyllys 
Lodge, No. 99, Free and ccepted Masons ; 
and Aziz Grotto. 

Mr. Parker married Harriet E. Day, 
daughter of Arthur E. Day, of Glencoe, 
Illinois, and they attend the Congrega- 
tional church. 



HENRY, William Kennedy. 

Prominent Citizen. 

In a large and high sense of the phrase, 
the late William Kennedy Henry was one 
of the most distinguished citizens of En- 
field, Connecticut, one of those who was 
closely identified with the town, and one 
in whose death it sufifered a distinct loss. 

Mr. Henry was born at Enfield, July 
14, 1856, where he died March 14, 1916, 
son of Samuel Kennedy Henry, a native 
of Ireland, born in 1827. He came to 
America when a young man and settled 
in Enfield, where he engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits. His wife was Sarah Mc- 
Adams, also of Ireland. 

As a boy William K. Henry attended 
the public schools ; his education, how- 



221 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ever, was limited, owing to an accident 
causing an impediment in his speech at 
the age of three. He apprenticed himself 
to the trade of blacksmith and after com- 
pleting his term of apprenticeship, worked 
at this occupation for several years. Later 
he engaged in farming, and eventually 
raised nothing but tobacco, except those 
crops needed for home consumption. In 
his business Mr. Henry was very success- 
ful and is deserving of high esteem for 
the large measure of material success he 
attained. 

He was a Republican in politics, and 
was often chosen by his party to fill posi- 
tions of trust ; he was a member of the 
Board of Relief of Enfield for three years, 
and in 1913 represented the town in the 
Legislature. In these offices Mr. Henry 
discharged his duties in a manner which 
brought the keenest satisfaction to his 
constituents. He was a member of the 
Enfield Grange, and an earnest worker in 
the welfare of this organization ; he was 
also a member of the Board of Trade of 
Thompsonville. 

Mr. Henry married, December 12, 1888, 
Harriet Elizabeth Sheldon, born at En- 
field. April 10, 1855, daughter of John 
Sheldon. The latter \yas born July 15, 
1815, at Staflford, Connecticut, and was a 
farmer. He married Charlotte Abbey, 
born October 23, 1815, a member of one 
of the oldest Enfield families. She was 
an artist of considerable ability, and 
sketches of her work are now among the 
most cherished possessions of her daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Henry. 

There is no doubt that Mr. Henry was 
one of the important men of the past gen- 
eration in the growth of the community 
in which he lived. He did much for the 
town of his residence in a concrete way, 
and perhaps the greatest boon he con- 
ferred was the example he set of broad- 



minded citizenship. He was a devout 
member of the First Congregational 
Church of Enfield. 



SPRAGUE, Theodore George, 

Automobile Dealer. 

A scion of one of the oldest American 
families is Theodore George Sprague. He 
was born July 25, 1875, '" West Stock- 
bridge, Massachusetts, son of George 
Egbert and Mary (Mclntyre) Sprague, a 
descendant of Francis Sprague, who 
came in the ship "Anne," to Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1623, accompanied by 
his wife, Lydia. He was taxed there in 
1633-34, and subsequently removed to 
Duxbury, where he was living in 1666. 
He was one of the original purchasers of 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts. He received 
a share of Plymouth lands in 1623, and 
was a freeman of the colony, June 17. 1637. 

(II) John Sprague, son of Francis and 
Lydia Sprague, lived in Marshfield and 
Duxbury, and died in the latter town, 
killed by the Indians, March 26, 1676. He 
married in 1655, Ruth Bassett. daughter 
of William and Elizabeth (Tilden) Bas- 
sett. 

(III) Lieutenant John Sprague, eldest 
child of John and Ruth (Bassett) 
Sprague, was born about 1656, in Dux- 
bury ; inherited one-half share in Dux- 
bury lands from the right of his grand- 
father ; and was a weaver by occupation. 
He removed to Lebanon, Connecticut, 
where he died March 6, 1728. He was 
constable of Duxbury in 1692; conspicu- 
ous in church affairs, and held various im- 
portant offices from 1684 to 1701. In the 
latter year he removed to Lebanon, 
where he was selectman from 1710 to 
1 714, often represented the town in the 
Legislature, and was lieutenant of militia 
from 1710 to 1720. On January 8, 1703, 
he deeded his land in Duxbury for the 



222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sum of £125, and subsequently became 
an extensive land holder in Lebanon. 
His first wife, Lydia, died July 18, 1725. 
Her family name is not of record. 

(IV) Benjamin Sprague, second son of 
Lieutenant John and (Lydia) Sprague, 
was born July 15, 1686, in Duxbury, died 
July 10, 1754, in Lebanon. He married, 
December 29, 1707, in Lebanon, Mary 
Woodworth,. probably a daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Deborah Woodworth of 
Scituate, Massachusetts, and Lebanon. 
She died July 10, 1725, in her forty-third 
year, in Lebanon. 

(V) Phineas Sprague, fourth son of 
Benjamin and Mary (Woodworth) 
Sprague, was born September 5, 1717, 
and lived in Lebanon, where he died in 
1772. He was a farmer and inherited 
from his father land including house and 
bam on the opposite side of the road 
from the paternal homestead. In time he 
became possessed of a large estate. His 
wife, Sarah, survived him. 

(VI) Dyre Sprague, also spelled "Dish," 
and in other ways, probably a corruption 
of "Obidiah," second son of Phineas and 
Sarah Sprague, was born in Lebanon, and 
in 1787 purchased lands in the town of 
Washington, Berkshire county, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1810, he sold two tracts in 
that town and probably removed about 
that time to Osterlitz, New York. He 
enlisted as a Revolutionary soldier May 
13, 1775, and was discharged December 
18 of the same year. He was a member 
of Captain John Clark's Company of Leb- 
anon, Colonel Israel Putnam's Regiment. 
This regiment in the July following, be- 
came a part of the Continental army. 

(VII) Heman Sprague, second son of 
Dyre Sprague, dwelt for a time in Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and in 1815, with 
his brothers, Ira and George, removed to 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts. Soon after 
this time, Heman Sprague settled in the 



town of Austerlitz, Columbia county, 
New York. He was the father of Heman 
(2) Sprague. 

(VIII) Heman (2) Sprague, son of 
Heman (i) Sprague. lived in Austerlitz, 
and was the owner of a farm of 370 acres 
near the Massachusetts line. His post 
office address was West Stockbridge. Mas- 
sachusetts. 

(IX) George Egbert Sprague, son of 
Heman (2) Sprague, was born January 
26, 1839. For some time he operated the 
iron furnace in West Stockbridge. Sub- 
sequently, he purchased a farm in Canaan, 
New York, where he died December 17, 
1879, at the age of forty years. He was 
a member of the Congregational church, 
and a Democrat in politics. He married, 
February 29, 1872, Mary Mclntyre, 
daughter of Daniel and Martha (Goff) 
Mclntyre, descended from a Scotch min- 
ister, who was located in New York. 
Mary Mclntyre was born January 17, 
1847, in Canandaigua in that State. 

(X) Theodore George Sprague, son of 
George Egbert and Mary (Mclntyre) 
Sprague, attended school in the village of 
East Chatham, New York, and the school 
at Chatham, New York. At the age of 
thirteen he entered the machine shop at 
the latter place, where he continued as 
an apprentice for one and one-half years. 
Then he removed to Schenectady, New 
York, where he entered the employ of the 
General Electric Company, and simultan- 
eously with his labors in the shops of that 
company, pursued a course in electrical 
engineering at Union College. After 
three and one-half years, at the age of 
eighteen, he was sent out by his em- 
ployers to install electric plants. It is 
thus apparent that he made the most of 
his opportunities. Few men on their 
eighteenth birthday are competent to as- 
sume the responsible position which was 
his. He continued with the General 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Electric Company until 1900, when he es- 
tablished himself in the automobile busi- 
ness at Pittsfield, Massachusetts. Later 
he was connected with the Pope Manu- 
facturing Company at Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, and was also for a time associated 
with the General Motors Company, as an 
automobile engineer. In June, 1914, he 
settled at Middletown. Connecticut, where 
he became a partner of Fred L. Caulkins, 
and has since continued as a dealer in 
automobiles and equipment, and in the 
operation of an extensive garage. They 
handle some of the best makes of cars, 
and transact annually a large amount of 
business. Mr. Sprague is identified with 
the Baptist church of Middletown, and is 
a member of Crescent Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Pittsfield, Massa- 
chusetts. He is also affiliated with 
Washington Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch 
Masons, and Cyrene Commandery, No. 8, 
Knights Templar, of Middletown, and with 
Sphinx Temple, .A.ncient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Hart- 
ford. He was affiliated with the Scottish 
Rite in Massachusetts, and the York Rite 
in Connecticut. While adopting the prin- 
ciples of the Republican party, Mr. 
Sprague is not controlled wholly by party 
action, and endeavors to support the best 
government obtainable through the good 
judgment of the electorate. 

He married, October 28, 1903, Janette 
Freebairn Mackie, who was born at 
Windsor Mills, Canada, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Isabella (Brand) Mackie, natives, 
respectively, of Scotland and Canada. 
Mr. and Mrs. Sprague are the parents of 
a daughter. Mary Isabelle, born March 
29, 1905, in Hartford, Connecticut. 



JOHNSON, August, 

Retired Business Man. 

The native American may well take 
lessons in industry, thrift and persever 



ance from many of our citziens of foreign 
birth. Most of the latter begin their ex- 
periences in this country with many han- 
dicaps, such as knowledge of only a for- 
eign language; new environment; and 
many new customs and theories to learn. 
In this class belongs August Johnson, 
who has earned and secured a place 
among leading business men of Middle- 
town. He was born January 26, 1862, in 
Haslos, Thramo, Sweden, a son of John 
A. and Magdalena (Samuelson) Johnson, 
who reared a family of fifteen children. 
After the son became established in this 
country he sent for his aged parents, 
who ended their days in quiet contentment 
in Middletown. Matthias, father of John 
A. Johnson, was a soldier, and bore the 
military name "Klaar," adopted from the 
place of his residence. 

August Johnson remained at home un- 
til eleven years of age, and received in- 
struction from his mother, a very intelli- 
gent woman. The demands of a large 
family of limited means prevented the son 
from attendance at school for any ex- 
tended period. At the age of eleven he 
went away from home to earn his liveli- 
hood, and he had no schooling at all after 
arriving at the age of fifteen years. At 
the age" of nineteen, he came to America, 
and at once found employment with 
the National Ice Company in Dutchess 
county, New York, where he continued 
nearly a year. Having acquired some 
knowledge of our language, and a small 
store of cash with which to help himself, 
he came to Middletown in April, 1882, 
following which he was employed five 
months by the Brainard. Shailer & Hall 
Quarry Company, of Portland. For two 
years, from 1882 to 1884, he worked at the 
fertilizer works of Rogers & Hubbard, in 
Portland. For two years he was an em- 
ployee of the National Hotel in Middle- 
town, and for over seventeen years oper- 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ated a similar establishment on Main 
street, Middletown. Since 1903 he has 
been engaged in real estate operations, 
and has improved and sold many resi- 
dences and other property. He is the 
present owner of a business block on 
Main street, a short distance above the 
post office, and his cosy and handsome 
home on Prospect street, vi^hich he erected 
in 1917. Mr. Johnson is actively associ- 
ated with several useful societies of the 
city, and has taken some part in its gov- 
ernment. He is a member of the Church 
of the Holy Trinity; of the Linnse Soci- 
ety ; of Court No. 14, Order of Vasa ; the 
Knights of Pythias ; and the Kronan Mu- 
tual Benefit Society. For seventeen 
years he was associated with the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men. A Republican 
in principle, he has served as a member 
of the City Council, and was for six years 
a member of the town Board of Relief, 
where he rendered very useful service in 
securing equitable adjustments of taxa- 
tion. 

August Johnson married, in 1885, Chris- 
tina Swanson, a native of Harlan, Swe- 
den. The children of Mr. and Mrs. John- 
son are : Jennie Matilda, now the wife 
of Charles H. Brewster; and Morris 
Herbert, who was an ensign in the United 
States navy during the World War, and 
is now an electrical engineer in the em- 
ploy of the New England Power Com- 
pany, of Worcester, Massachusetts. A 
daughter died at the age of three years. 



GILLETTE, Charles Howard, 

Fonnder of Antomobile Blue Book. 

There is something extremely gratify- 
ing in noting in the genealogical annals 
of New England, the perseverance from 
generation to generation within a family 
of certain staunch virtues and qualities of 
character, the possession of which entitles 

Conn — 10 — 15 225 



its members to a high place in the regard 
of the community. An example of this 
truth is found in the old and honorable 
Connecticut family of Gillette. 

(I) Jonathan Gillett, the American an- 
cestor of the family, came in the ship 
"Mary and John," March 20, 1630, in com- 
pany with several hundred Puritans. On 
May 30th following they landed at Nan- 
tasket, and later settled in Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. There Jonathan Gillett 
was admitted a freeman, May 6, 1635, and 
the following year he accompanied the 
Rev. John Warham, with other asso- 
ciates, to Windsor, Connecticut, where he 
was granted land and became one of the 
esteemed settlers. He died August 23, 
1677, and was survived for seven years by 
his wife, Mary, whose death occurred 
January 5, 1685. 

(II) Jonathan (2) Gillett, second son 
of Jonathan (i) and Mary Gillett, was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, in 1634-35, 
and the part of town in which he resided 
was later set off as Simsbury. He engaged 
in agricultural pursuits, and married, De- 
cember 14, 1676, Miriam Dibble, bom 
February 19, 1645, daughter of Thomas 
Dibble, a first settler of both the towns 
of Dorchester, Massachusetts, and Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. 

(III) Thomas Gillett, son of Jonathan 
(2) and Miriam (Dibble) Gillett, was 
born May 31, 1678, and died June 11, 
1708. On February 26, 1704, he married 
Hannah Clark, born August 15, 1686, died 
February 20, 1709, daughter of John and 
Mary (Crow) Clark. She was also a 
granddaughter of Daniel Clark, one of 
the prominent early settlers of Windsor, 
Connecticut, and the holder of several 
offices. 

(IV) Jonah Gillett, son of Thomas and 
Hannah (Clark) Gillett, was born Octo- 
ber 18, 1708, in Simsbury, Connecticut, 
and lived in that part of the town called 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wintonbury, which is now the town of 
Bloomfield ; he held the office of sergeant 
of militia. His wife, Elizabeth Hoskins, 
was born 1708-09, and died May 28, 1758. 

(V) Captain Jonah (2) Gillett, eldest 
child of Jonah (i) and Elizabeth (Hos- 
kins) Gillett, was born about 1728-29, 
in Bloomfield, Connecticut, where he died 
March 14, 1792. He served in the Revo- 
lutionary War, and was in command of 
the Second Company of the Second Com- 
mand, Colonel Gay's regiment, raised to 
reinforce General Washington's army at 
New York, and participated in the move- 
ments on Long Island and at White 
Plains. On November 9, 1752, Captain 
Gillett married Sarah Goodrich, born 
October 31, 1733, at Windsor, daughter 
of Jacob and Benedicta (Goodwin) Good- 
rich, a descendant of William Goodrich, 
an early settler of the town of Wethers- 
field, Connecticut. 

(VI) Jonah (3) Gillette, son of Captain 
Jonah (2) and Sarah (Goodrich) Gillett, 
was the first generation to add the "e," 
now universally used in the spelling of 
the name. He was baptized April 17, 
1757, in Wintonbury, Connecticut, and 
was a drummer boy in the Revolutionary 
War, enlisting July 6, 1775, and serving 
until December 8th following. He was 
drummer of the Fourth Company, which 
was in command of Captain Elihu Hum- 
phrey, Eighth Regiment, Connecticut 
Militia, colonel, Jedediah Huntington. 
Jonah (3) Gillette died September 18, 
1825, in Bloomfield, and his wife, Eliza- 
beth, born in 1764, died December 30, 
1825. 

(VII) Justus Gillette, son of Jonah (3) 
and Elizabeth Gillette, was born Septem- 
ber 28, 1783, in Bloomfield, Connecticut, 
baptized October 10, 1793, and died Octo- 
ber 17, 1825. He married Sylvia Hub- 
bard, born June 14, 1787, baptized Sep- 
tember 28, 1788, daughter of Oliver and 



Sylvia (Pennoyer) Hubbard, and a de- 
scendant of George Hubbard. 

(VIII) Norman Hubbard Gillette, son 
of Justus and Sylvia (Hubbard) Gillette, 
was born December 24, 1808, and was 
baptized September 3, 1815. As a boy he 
went to Hartford, Connecticut, to reside 
and in his early business life was a mer- 
chant there. In 1831 he was located in 
Russia, New York, and was a member of 
the mercantile firm of Stanton & Gillette 
for three years. Following this he was a 
merchant miller at Odgensburg, New 
York, doing business as Norman H. Gil- 
lette & Company. A few years later he 
was engaged in similar business in Brook- 
lyn, New York, and after five years there, 
disposed of his interests to locate in Syra- 
cuse, New York, where he kept an hotel 
for five years. On returning to Hartford, 
Mr. Gillette was engaged in the real 
estate business there, and in the summer 
of 1859 conducted the Fairfield House, at 
Fairfield. Connecticut. On July 10, 1861, 
he was appointed inspector of customs at 
New York City, continuing until 1876, in 
which year he was forced to retire, owing 
to ill health. His death occurred in Hart- 
ford. July 5, 1881. On April 28, 1831, he 
married Jane Shepard, born August 24, 
1808, daughter of Phineas and Mary 
(Webster) Shepard, a descendant of Ed- 
ward Shepard, an early settler of Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. 

(IX) Charles Stanton Gillette, the sec- 
ond son of Norman H. and Jane (Shep- 
ard) Gillette, was born at Ogdensburg, 
New York, and died at Hartford, Janu- 
ary 10, 1887. His education was obtained 
in the schools of Hartford, and for one 
year he attended the Hartford High 
School. When he was but seventeen 
years of age he was selected to fill a posi- 
tion in the Merchants' and Manufacturers' 
Bank at Hartford, and this institution 
later became the First National Bank. 



226 




J/j^^n^iTf^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



After twelve years his faithfulness to duty 
was rewarded by his ap{X)intment to the 
office of cashier. In 1883 he was ap- 
pointed president of the bank and had the 
distinction of being the youngest bank 
president in the city. His very promising 
career was shortened by his untimely 
death at the age of forty-four years. He 
made many friends among his business 
acquaintances, and was active in various 
forms of church work also. He was a 
member of the South Congregational 
Church, and was a junior deacon there. 

Mr. Gillette married, October 10, 1867, 
Emma Frances Tiffany, born December 
31, 1845, at Hartford, daughter of Edwin 
D. and Julia (Camp) Tiffany, and she 
died January 13, 1887. They were the 
parents of the following children : i. Har- 
riet, born April 27, 1869, resides in Hart- 
ford. 2. Edwin T., deceased. 3. Lucy, 
deceased. 4. Charles Howard, of extended 
mention below. 5. Norman. 6. Henry 
Camp. 7. Emma Tiffany, now Mrs. Mal- 
colm Moore. 

(X) Charles Howard Gillette, son of 
Charles Stanton and Emma F. (Tiffany) 
Gillette, was born at Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, December 17, 1875, and died in that 
city January 4, 1914. He was educated 
in the public schools of Hartford, and a 
boys' school at Great Barrington, and for 
one year was a student at Yale Univer- 
sity. His first business experience was 
with Dwight, Skinner & Company, and 
from there he went to the Pope Manufac- 
turing Company. He later owned a sport- 
ing goods store in Hartford, under the 
name of Gillette Brothers. Later he went 
to New York in the interest of the Pope 
Manufacturing Company, and from there 
he started the Columbia Lubricants Com- 
pany. Afterwards he left the Columbia 
Lubricants Company to start the Auto- 
mobile Blue Book, of which he was the 
organizer and founder. His activities 
were not confined to the realm of busi- 



ness, however, and he participated in 
many other departments of the commu- 
nity's life. His untimely death, coming 
as it did in his thirty-ninth year, cut short 
a useful life, and was felt as a real loss, 
not alone by the members of his family, 
but by a host of friends and his fellow- 
townsmen generally. He was a Repub- 
lican in politics, but not a seeker of office. 
His fraternal connection was with the 
Founders and Patriots Society of Amer- 
ica, and he was one of the founders of the 
Automobile Club of Hartford, and served 
as secretary of the American Automobile 
Association. Mr. Gillette was a member 
of the South Congregational Church of 
Hartford, and was active in various com- 
mittee work connected with this church. 

Mr. Gillette married, December 18, 
1896, at Hartford, Connecticut, Marion 
Pope, born at Boston, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 18, 1874, daughter of Colonel 
George and Annie Atwood (Rich) Pope 
(see Pope line). They were the parents 
of a daughter and four sons: i. Dorothy 
Pope, born October 18, 1898. married H. 
Holbrook Hyde, of Hartford. 2. George 
Pope, born November 19, 1900. 3. Charles 
Howard, Jr.. born December 17, 1901. 4. 
John Pope, born September 16, 1909. 5. 
William Pope, born February 17, 191 1. 

Mr. Gillette found recreation mainly in 
hunting, of which sport he was extremely 
fond, and he was the owner of several of 
the finest hunting dogs in the East. He 
was also fond of golf and camping. In 
connection with the latter pastime, he 
took considerable interest in photography, 
and made many excellent outdoor pic- 
tures. On several occasions Mr. Gillette 
was the official starter of the Vanderbilt 
auto races and the Ormond auto races at 
Florida. 

(The Pope Line). 

Colonel George Pope, father of Mrs. 
Marion (Pope) Gillette, was one of the 
pioneers in bicycle and automobile manu- 

i27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



facturing, and on five different occasions 
served as president of the National Asso- 
ciation of Manufacturers. He was born 
in Boston, Massachusetts, January 9. 
1844, son of William and Mary Pope ; his 
father was engaged in the importing of 
china. 

As a boy Colonel Pope attended the 
public schools of Brookline, Massachu- 
setts, and very soon after completing his 
education, enlisted in the Civil War, and 
was commissioned a captain of Lieuten- 
ant-Colonel Shaw's Fifty-fourth Regi- 
ment, made up of colored men, but offi- 
cered by whites. In one of the most 
famous engagements of the war, the 
attack on Fort Wagner, Colonel Pope was 
wounded. Colonel George Pope went to 
war at the age of eighteen and became 
lieutenant-colonel at the age of twenty- 
one. 

Upon his return to civil life he became 
interested in the export lumber business 
in Montreal, but in 1890 came to Hartford 
and became president of the Hartford 
Cycle Company, and five years later was 
made treasurer of the Pope Manufactur- 
ing Company. Other business connec- 
tions of Colonel Pope included : Vice- 
presidency of the Walker & Barkman 
Manufacturing Company ; honorary presi- 
dent of the Connecticut State Manufac- 
turers' Association ; treasurer of the Na- 
tional Automobile Chamber of Commerce. 

Among several distinguished honors 
tendered to him were the election to the 
Albany Burgess Corps, which is made up 
of world celebrities. Admiral Dewey was 
a member, as is ex-President Taft, and the 
latest chosen is General Joffre. At the 
close of the mammoth automobile meeting 
in New York City, Colonel Pope was pre- 
sented, January 9, 1914, with a handsome 
hall clock, the gift of 1,000 personal 
friends who had each contributed one dol- 
lar towards the purchase, each donor 



writing a personal letter, and the thou- 
sand letters were bound in a giant leather 
volume. 

Colonel Pope was a member of the Sons 
of the American Revolution ; the Found- 
ers and Patriots of America ; and the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion. He 
was affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, 
being a shriner. 

Colonel Pope married, November 24, 
1873, Annie Atwood Rich, of Watertown, 
Massachusetts, and their only child, 
Marion, became the wife of Charles How- 
ard Gillette, of Hartford (see Gillette X). 
Colonel Pope died at his home in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, April 19, 1918. In 
accordance with the order of the National 
Association of Manufacturers of the 
United States of America, of which Colo- 
nel Pop)e was a member, in convention 
assembled, a memorial service was held 
in the convention hall, Waldorf-Astoria 
Hotel, New York City, on the evening of 
Tuesday, May 21, 1918, at eight o'clock. 



OWEN, Major Charles Hunter, 

Lawyer, Litterateur, Civil War Soldier. 

Described by the title "veteran'" in his 
relation to many spheres of the life of his 
time. Major Charles Hunter Owen, in the 
spring of 1922, left the scenes that had 
known him for so long and in which he 
had labored in distinction and honor. He 
was not only a veteran of the Civil War, 
in which he won his rank through gallant 
bravery on the field, but he was one of 
Yale's oldest alumni, one of the deans of 
the legal profession in the State, an author 
and journalist with a record reaching sev- 
eral decades into the past, and a scholar 
whose ripeness of years and wisdom won 
for his interpretation of world events the 
attentive consideration of savants and 
scholars. When length of years are 
attended by such vigor of mind and rich- 



228 




^ajor Cl>irles J^. Otoen 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ness of spirit as were his, the failure of 
the body to bear their weight brings a 
regret that such shackles have their 
power. Major Owen, at eighty-five years, 
could have wielded his influence of half 
that sum of years had his physical 
strength been equal to the task, and when 
he joined the "innumerable caravan" it 
was still as one of Connecticut's distin- 
guished sons. 

Major Owen was a descendant of John 
Owen, one of the early settlers of Wind- 
sor, and was born in Hartford, March 15, 
1838, son of Elijah Hunter and Susannah 
(Boardman) Owen, his mother a daugh- 
ter of Thomas Danforth Boardman. His 
parents had the following children : 
George W., deceased ; Edward T. ; Henry 
Elijah, died in 1912; and Charles H., of 
whom further. 

Charles H. Owen began his education 
in the Hartford public schools, and was 
one of the eight graduates of the high 
school in the class of 1856, being the last 
survivor of the eight. Entering Yale Uni- 
versity, he there compiled a brilliant rec- 
ord both in scholarship and athletics, win- 
ning the third prize in English composi- 
tion and the second prize in declamation 
during his sophomore year, the third dis- 
pute appointment in his junior year, and 
the senior colloquy and a Townsend 
premium in his final year at Yale. While 
at college he captained the varsity crew 
and had among his classmates in the class 
of i860: Professor Alonzo B. Ball, Pro- 
fessor George Louis Beers, Dr. Francis 
Delafield, Charles Cleveland Dodge, Win- 
field Scott Keys, Marcus Perrin Knowl- 
ton, who became chief justice of Massa- 
chusetts, William Walter Phelps, and 
many others of note. Major Owen was 
graduated from Yale University a year 
after the late Rev. Dr. Joseph Hopkins 
Twichell, long pastor of the Asylum Hill 
Congregational Church in Hartford, Dr. 



Twichell, who was graduated in 1859, 
being a senior when Major Owen was a 
junior, and their friendship lasted until 
the death of Dr. Twichell, a few years 
later. Major Owen loved to recall the 
college achievements of Dr. Twichell, who 
was also a noted Yale oarsman. Major 
Owen won election to the Delta Kappa 
Epsilon fraternity and to the celebrated 
society. Skull and Bones. 

Receiving his A. B. in i860, Major 
Owen was awarded his Master's degree in 
1863, in that year also receiving the de- 
gree of LL. B. from Harvard Law School, 
having previously read law for one year 
in Hartford. After admission to the bar 
he became a member of the law firm of 
Towle & Owen, and subsequently prac- 
ticed in Connecticut and New York. His 
professional work was interrupted by his 
enlistment in the Union army in the Civil 
War, when he became first lieutenant in 
Company C, First Connecticut Heavy 
Artillery. For one month he was at Fort 
Ward and was then appointed aide-de- 
camp to Major-General Robert O. Tyler, 
at Fairfax Court House, Virginia, later 
being transferred to the Fourth Division 
of the Second Army Corps. His com- 
mand was in action in the battles of 
Spottsylvania and Cold Harbor, and he 
was severely wounded in the latter en- 
gagement, suffering throughout the re- 
mainder of his life from the effect of his 
wounds. He was promoted to captain's 
rank for gallant conduct and to major for 
bravery on the field at Spottsylvania, and 
after his honorable discharge from the 
army he resumed legal practice. 

Major Owen was one of the original 
members of the Hartford City Guard, and 
in his later years he was prominent in the 
activities of the Veteran Association of 
this organization which held annual 
meetings, and served as president of the 
association. During the World War his 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ardent patriotism caused him to chafe 
against the restrictions of his age, but 
although he could not enter active service, 
many of the boys in khaki and blue found 
inspiration from his writings on loyalty 
and devotion to country. During the final 
Liberty Loan campaign he took part in a 
spectacular parade in Hartford and car- 
ried the flag which was a replica of the 
original form of the American flag of the 
present day, the flag with its circle of 
stars. 

For many years Major Owen was lit- 
erary editor of the Hartford "Courant," 
and until a few weeks prior to his death 
it was his regular practice to send to the 
office of that journal timely articles of 
analysis on national and international 
topics. He was an omnivorous reader of 
newspapers and was always a newspaper 
man. One of his last published works 
was a poem printed in the "Courant" a 
few weeks before his death, a strong en- 
dorsement of the Salvation Army, of 
which he was an earnest supporter. 
Major Owen was a Republican in political 
faith, served in the State Legislature, and 
filled the chairmanship of three commit- 
tees of the State House of Representa- 
tives. Major Owen possessed what can 
best be described as an international 
mind, which viewed the effort and destiny 
of his country in its relation to the world- 
at-large, which he had seen grow into 
almost a unit through the influence of 
modern invention. During recent years 
he had closely followed events in Russia 
and China, had predicted some of the 
most important developments of the con- 
ference on the limitation of armaments, 
and believed that, although at present 
outside of the diplomatic breastworks, 
Russia would, in the near future, play its 
part in world affairs. During the year 
preceding his death he had spent much 
time in the study of developments in 



China. He was always ready to help 
natives of that country and on one occa- 
sion expressed his desire to receive the 
members of the Kuo Min Tang, the local 
branch of the Chinese Nationalist Party, 
in consequence of which a number of 
members spent several hours with him in 
his home. He offered them several books 
from his library, and strongly advised 
that they work for the modernization of 
China through greater cooperation with 
the world powers, his advice going far 
toward rekindling the enthusiasm of the 
Chinese Nationalist Party in the State. 

Major Owen was deeply interested in 
the work of the Connecticut Humane 
Society and was at one time its vice- 
president. He was in earlier life a breeder 
of Jersey cattle and was instrumental in 
the introduction of a fine Jersey strain 
among the dairymen of the State. He 
was one of the originators of correspond- 
ence resulting in the adoption at the Cen- 
tennial Exposition in Philadelphia in 
1876 of a rule now in force in milk and 
butter competitions, also being a member 
of the American Jersey Cattle Club. Gar- 
dening and fishing were his principal 
recreations and he was an expert in fly 
fishing for trout. He was formerly owner 
of a considerable part of Roaring Brook, 
a fine trout stream in Manchester and 
Glastonbury, fishing it frequently in sea- 
son, while in recent years he spent the 
summer at the family camp at Columbia 
Reservoir, devoting most of his time with 
rod and reel. His religious beliefs were 
those of a liberal Christian and were 
transplanted into good works in his every 
day life. 

Mr. Owen married, October 18, 1866, 
Esther Sargent Dixwell, born September 
19, 1843, daughter of Epes Sargent Dix- 
well, born December 27, 1803, died De- 
cember I, 1899, and Mary (Bowditch) 
Dixwell. They were the parents of: i. 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Arria Dixwell, born May i8, 1868. 2. 
Esther Boardman, born March 12, 1872. 
3. Katherine Bowditch, born July 4, 1875 ; 
married Arthur Brewer, son of William 
H. Brewer, of New Haven, and they are 
the parents of three daughters. 4. Elijah 
Hunter, born February 13, 1877; married 
Nina LeVerne Durstine, daughter of Dr. 
Frank Durstine, of Cleveland, Ohio, and 
they have three daughters. 

Major Charles Hunter Owen died April 
21, 1922. His writings, which include 
"The Justice of the Mexican War," pub- 
lished in 1905, remain to give a part of 
his scholarship and intellectuality to 
those who follow him. The generations 
who, as young and older men, were his 
associates in professional, journalistic, 
and civic affairs, have as their remem- 
brance of him the thought of a man of 
rare talents, of a student and scholar 
whose mind was stored with a wealth of 
knovi'ledge, of a logical, keen thinker 
whose spoken and written words carried 
conviction and sincerity. His literary 
work had as its source a well-sprmg of 
familiarity with the best in the world's 
literature and in inexhaustible historical 
information, the peerless background of 
authorship. He graced his time, received 
from it high recognition and honor, and 
left behind him a record of rare influence 
in many avenues of endeavor. 



OWENS, William Thomas, 

Phyaician, Officer in World 'War. 

There is something inspiring in the life 
of a successful man, particularly a suc- 
successful professional man, and one who 
has achieved a leading place in his chosen 
field of endeavor is William T. Owens, 
prominent physician of Hartford, Con- 
necticut, where he is now engaged in gen- 
eral practice of his profession. The 
factors of his success are to be found not 



in his environment but in the man's own 
sterling character and winning personal- 
ity. Dr. Owens was born in Newark, 
New Jersey, June 24, 1875, son of Albert 
Henry and Nancy Louise (Thomas) 
Owens, grandson of William and Ida 
Catherine (Van Lieuw) Owens. 

William Owens was born in New 
Brunswick, New Jersey, where he was a 
clothing merchant during his mature 
business life. He married (second) Ida 
Catherine Van Lieuw, a member of an old 
family in Lewistown, Pennsylvania. 

Albert Henry Owens, son of William 
Owens, and father of Dr. Owens, was 
born in New Brunswick, May 11, 1841, 
and there received his education. As a 
young man he entered the employ of Lord 
& Taylor, of New York City, and for ten 
years was employed in the silk dress 
goods department of this store. His next 
important business engagement was with 
John Shillito & Company, of Cincinnati, 
where he remained eight years as Euro- 
pean dress goods buyer, going abroad 
twice a year. Mr. Owens was next with 
Root & McBride Brothers, of Cleveland, 
remaining about four years, resigning at 
that time to engage in business for him- 
self at Cleveland, and at Collinwood, a 
suburb of Cleveland, opening a dry goods 
store in each place, continuing very suc- 
cessfully for five years. He removed to 
Englewood, New Jersey, where he be- 
came associated with Barrett, Palmer & 
Heal Company, of that city, as assistant 
superintendent, which position he held 
for three years, retiring at the end of this 
time owing to ill health, and purchased a 
farm in East Canaan, Litchfield county, 
Connecticut, where he resided until two 
years before his death, which occurred at 
Great Barrington, Massachusetts, March 
18, 1908. Mr. Owens was one of those 
gallant and brave men who eagerly 
offered their lives, if need be, in 1861 ; he 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



enlisted in Company F, Twenty-third 
Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, and also 
brought four other volunteers with him. 
Mr. Owens was commissioned a corpor 
at once and during his service, which was 
mainly in Louisiana, was wounded. He 
was a member of Forest City Post, No. 
556, Grand Army of the Republic, of 
Cleveland, and served as commander of 
this post. 

Albert Henry Owens married, October 
25, 1870, Nancy Louise Thomas, born in 
New York City, May 13, 1843, daughter 
of Charles M. and Lydia (Smith) Thomas, 
of New York City. Mr. and Mrs. Owens 
were members of the Euclid Avenue 
Methodist Episcopal Church and during 
their residence in Cleveland were faith- 
ful attendants. Mr. Owens served as an 
usher, trustee, and assistant superintend- 
ent of the Sunday school. He was always 
active in church affairs, excelling in all 
matters of a financial nature. Fraternally 
Mr. Owens was a Mason, being raised at 
Pleasant Ridge, Ohio. 

Dr. William T. Owens attended school 
at Cincinnati and Cleveland, and was a 
student of the University School in the 
latter city the year it was opened. After 
the family removed to Englewood he at- 
tended the Englewood Military School, 
and studied medicine under the precep- 
torship of Dr. Daniel A. Currie, of that 
city, later matriculating at the Univer- 
sity of Buffalo Medical School in 1895, 
continuing a student there until the mid- 
dle of the term in 1899, when he entered 
the University of Vermont, and gradu- 
ated the same year with the degree of 
M. D. The following three months he 
spent in Bellevue Hospital, being then 
obliged to discontinue on account of his 
health, and located in Canaan. Connecti- 
cut, where he practiced for three years. 
He developed a large practice almost from 
the beginning, and in October, 1902, he 
removed to Hartford. 



While in Buffalo, Dr. Owens enlisted 
in the Seventy-fourth Regiment, New 
York National Guard, as a private in the 
Hospital Corps, and this marked the be- 
ginning of a very active and useful career 
in military medical work. It is such men 
as Dr. Owens who have helped greatly to 
create and maintain the honor of the 
medical profession ; for years he has 
worked untiringly to aid those whom 
duty or necessity has placed in other than 
the ordinary walks of life, going into 
foreign countries and establishing hos- 
pitals for the care of men working in the 
construction of improvements in those 
countries. Throughout his professional 
life he has kept up an active interest in 
military affairs, being with the American 
soldiers, teaching them sanitation and the 
better way to live, and in times of peace 
preparing himself and others for war. 

In September, 191 1, Dr. Owens joined 
the Connecticut National Guard as first 
lieutenant, and was assigned to duty with 
Ambulance Company, No. i, serving three 
years, at the end of which time he was 
promoted to a captaincy, soon after, in 
October, 1914, being made commanding 
officer of the company. In June, 1916, he 
went to Plattsburg. New York, and was 
an instructor at the training camp, being 
recalled by the adjutant general of Con- 
necticut to Hartford for the purpose of 
mobilizing the company. He was sent 
to Niantic, Connecticut, and then to 
Nogales, Arizona, arriving July 4, 1916, 
remaining until October 14th. His resig- 
nation was accepted December 21, 1916, 
and on December 23d, he sailed for Peru, 
South America, as physician for the Cerro 
de Pasco Mining Company, remaining for 
eight months, returning to the United 
States for the purpose of entering the 
World War. Dr. Owens applied for a 
commission immediately, on October 8, 
1917, was commissioned captain. Medical 
Reserve Corps, and August 23, 1918, was 
232 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



promoted to the rank of major, Medical 
Corps, United States Army. He served 
in the Medical Department of the Air 
Service, his first appointment being to 
Camp Mead, where he was a member of 
the Physical Examining Unit and recruit- 
ing officer for the Air Service. He was 
then transferred to the Aviation Camp at 
Waco, Texas, where he was appointed 
sanitary inspector of the camp, remaining 
about four months, until the camp was 
moved, after which he went to Camp 
Greene, Charlotte, North Carolina, where 
he held a similar office, later being camp 
surgeon in charge of the medical work in 
the camp. From there Dr. Owens was 
transferred to Carnegie Institute, Pitts- 
burgh, where he served for five months 
as surgeon of the radio school, and was 
in charge of the hospital during the influ- 
enza epidemic. At his own request he 
was next sent to Garden City, Long 
Island, and served as camp inspector. He 
was also commanding officer of the medi- 
cal detachment of all the enlisted men on 
Long Island, was instructor in sanitation 
and hygiene, was in charge of lectures to 
the medical officers on sanitation, and was 
appointed on general court-martial ; he 
served as demobilization officer for the 
medical troops and organized the office 
force for this work. After nine months 
at that post he asked for a transfer to the 
border patrol and was sent to Eagle Pass, 
Texas, where he was flight surgeon and 
surgeon of the Ninetieth Aero Squadron, 
then on border patrol. Dr. Owens passed 
the flying examination and took his train- 
ing course, but was not located there long 
enough to qualify as a flyer, resigning No- 
vember 26, 1919. Soon after. Dr. Owens 
went to Columbia, South America, to 
establish a hospital for an oil company, 
and was there from January to May, 1920. 
During this time he contracted malarial 
fever and was compelled to return North. 



Since the summer of 1920 he has resumed 
the general practice of his profession in 
Hartford. 

Dr. Owens is a member of the Hart- 
ford, Hartford County and Connecticut 
Medical societies, and fraternally is a 
member of Hartford Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Pythagoras Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Wolcott Council, 
Royal and Select Masters : and Washing- 
ton Commandery, Knights Templar, all 
of Hartford. He is a member of Syria 
Temple, Mystic Shrine, of Pittsburgh ; 
Steadman Camp, Sons of Veterans, of 
Hartford ; Hartford Lodge of Moose, and 
Lincoln Lodge, Knights of Pythias. 

On October 11, 1905, he married Anna 
B., daughter of Franklin B. and Mary 
(Davis) Miller, of Bloomfield, Connecti- 
cut, and their children are: Anita Miller, 
born February 6, 1907, and Mary Althea, 
born October 27, 191 1. Dr. and Mrs. 
Owens are members of the Farmington 
Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
Hartford, Connecticut. 



CASE, Erastus Ely, 

Physician, Anthor. 

The qualities of manliness, frank man- 
ner, and sterling uprightness have won 
a place of high standing in his commu- 
nity and among the members of his pro- 
fession for Dr. Erastus E. Case, who was 
born at Canton, Connecticut, son of Nor- 
ton and Eliza (Case) Case. 

He is a lineal descendant from John 
Case, the immigrant ancestor, who came 
to America in 1635. He settled at Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, removing in 1656 to 
Windsor, thence to Massacoe (now Sims- 
bury), where he was an original propri- 
etor. He held a prominent place in the 
town's affairs, was a deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court in 1670, 1674, 1675, and in 
1691 ; constable in 1669. The bequests 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



contained in his will indicate that he was 
a man of wealth and a large landholder. 
He married (first) Sarah Spencer, daugh- 
ter of William and Agnes Spencer, first 
settlers of Hartford. They were the par- 
ents of John (2) Case, who married (sec- 
ond) Sarah Holcomb, daughter of Joshua 
and Ruth (Sherwood) Holcomb, of Sims- 
bury. John Case died there May 22, 1733. 
His son, John (3) Case, was born in 
Simsbury, and lived there his entire life. 
He married Abigail Humphrey, of that 
town. They were the parents of Noah 
Case, born in Simsbury, and later re- 
moved to West Granby, where he died 
December 17, 1797. He married Miriam 
Holcomb, of Simsbury. Their son, Noah 
(2) Case, was born in West Granby, 
where he spent his life, and died Septem- 
ber I, 1897. His wife, whom he mar- 
ried in North Canton, Connecticut, was 
Mary Adams. Noah (3) Case, their son, 
born in West Granby, died there April 
13, 1879. He married Olive Case, a 
daughter of Richard and Ruth (Case) 
Case, of that town. They were the par- 
ents of Norton Case, born December 26, 
1815, in West Granby. He removed in 
later life to Canton, where he resided un- 
til the close of the Civil War, thence re- 
moving to East Granby, where he died 
October 6, 1899. He married (first), No- 
vember 14, 1838, in North Canton, Eliza 
Case, a daughter of Anson and Rachel 
(Case) Case, born May 21, 1815, died 
September 22, 1859. They were the par- 
ents of two sons, Anson Miles and Eras- 
tus Ely Case. 

Erastus Ely Case was educated in the 
district schools of East Granby, and sub- 
sequently was a student at the Williston 
Seminary of East Hampton. Massachu- 
setts, where he prepared for entrance to 
Yale College. He graduated from the 
latter institution in the class of 1872, with 
the degree of B. A. Having decided to 



follow a medical career, he took a course 
of study at the New York Homoeopathic 
Medical College, receiving his degree of 
M. D. in 1874. The following year he 
engaged n the practice of his profession 
in Hartford, and until the time of his 
death ranked among its leading and best 
known physicians. He attained high 
standing among his contemporaries, and 
several times was honored with positions 
of trust and responsibility. The major 
part of his time being devoted to the in- 
terests of his profession, he held few out- 
side interests. He was a member of the 
Connecticut Homoeopathic Medical Soci- 
ety, of which he was president in 1888-89; 
the .'American Institute of HomcEopathy ; 
the International Hahnemannian .\ssoci- 
ation, of which he was president in 1900- 
1901, which association requested him to 
write a book, "Clinical Experiences," 
which had a large circulation here and 
abroad. He was also a member of the 
Durham Medical Club, of Hartford, and 
the Bayard Club, of New York City. 
Fraternally, Dr. Case was a member of 
the Masonic order with Templar Degree 
in Washington Commandery, No. i, of 
Hartford. Dr. Case spent his spare time 
for over twenty years preparing the Case 
genealogy, which work became his recre- 
ation. 

Dr. Case married (first), October 14, 
1874, Sarah Maria Griswold, daughter of 
James Monroe and Catherine Mary 
( Phelps) Griswold, born at East Granby, 
August 29, 1846, died at Hartford, Janu- 
ary 15, 1883. They were the parents of 
three children: i. Herbert Monroe, grad- 
uate of Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology : a consulting engineer, engaged 
in business in New York City. 2. Helen 
Eliza. 3. Clarence Norton, who lives on 
the homstead in East Granby, where he 
is engaged in agricultural pursuits. Dr. 
Case married (second), February 24, 



234 



■, ...iSS. ':..•- ■ ..»■■ ^' 



i 



• /! 



f 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1886, Emorette H. Case, daughter of 
Everett and Emily (Hoskins) Case, born 
at Granby. July 19, 1841. By this mar- 
riage there was a son, Everett Erastus 
Case, born September 9, 1888, graduate 
of Yale, an electrical engineer by pro- 
fession, now with the Automatic Refrig- 
erating Company, of Hartford. 



DEMING, Edward Hooker, Jr., 

Business Man. 

One of the oldest and most prominent 
of the early families of Connecticut, the 
Deming family, has to the present time 
upheld the prestige of its ancient and 
honored name. It was founded in Amer- 
ica by John Deming, an early settler of 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, who, in 1641, 
had a homestead in that town, and in 
1645 served as deputy. He was among 
the first to obtain a lot on the east side 
of the river, but it is probable that he 
did not live there. By grant and pur- 
chase he was the owner of considerable 
land and this was given to his sons be- 
fore his death. John Deming married 
Honor, daughter of Richard Treat, and 
their son, 

John Deming, Jr. was born in Wethers- 
field, September 9, 1638, where he died 
January 23, 1712. He is called Sergeant 
John Deming on the records and was a 
selectman in Wethersfield in 1662. In 
1669 he was elected to represent the town 
in the General Court and held this office 
until 1672. On December 12, 1657, John 
Deming married, in Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, Mary Mygatt, born about 
1637, daughter of Joseph and Ann My- 
gatt. Their son, 

Hezikiah Deming was bom in Weth- 
ersfield, about 1680, and lived in that part 
of the town which was afterwards called 
Nevvington. In 1725 he sold one hundred 
and four acres of land there, with man- 



sion and buildings, and settled on the 
north side of the river in Farmington, 
where he was occupied at the trade of 
carpenter. He married, at Wethersfield, 
November 22, 1700, Lois Wyard, bom 
August 2, 1682, daughter of John and 
Sarah (Standish) Wyard. They were the 
parents of: 

Samuel Deming, born at Plainville, 
Connecticut, July 26, 1724, died in Farm- 
ington, July 24, 1796. He owned land in 
Bristol, where his wife joined the church 
in 1793. This Samuel Deming is sup- 
posed to have been the one who served 
in Captain Edwin Shipman's company. 
Colonel Webb's regiment, in the Revolu- 
tion. His home was in Plainville, and 
there he inherited mills from his father. 
He married. May 4, 1749, Anna Hart, 
born September 25, 1724, died Novem- 
ber 23, 1796, daughter of Deacon Thomas 
and Anna (Stanley) Hart. 

John Deming, son of Samuel and Anna 
(Hart) Deming, was born October 9, 
1753, and died in Farmington, July 2, 
1810. He married, in that town, May 10, 
1775, Susanna Cowles, born September 
14, 1755, died March 7, 1824, daughter of 
James E. and Abigail (Hooker) Cowles. 

Samuel Deming, son of John and Sus- 
anna (Cowles) Deming, was born in 
Farmington, September 9, 1776, and died 
April 28, 1871. He was a farmer and a 
man of high Christian character, the foe 
of human slavery, and a most upright cit- 
izen. Mr. Deming married, in Farming- 
ton, January 18, 1821, Catherine Matilda 
Lewis, born August 22, 1801. died Octo- 
ber 12, 1884, daughter of Seth and Phoebe 
(Scott) Lewis. Their son, 

John Deming was born in Farmington, 
August 19, 1825, and died in Brookyn, 
New York, March 10, 1894. He made his 
home in Northampton, Massachusetts, 
and was there engaged in the manufac- 
ture of farming implements until 1858, 



235 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



when he returned to Farmington, and 
there continued the business for the fol- 
lowing eleven years. In 1869 he removed 
to Glen Eyre, Pike county, Pennsylvania, 
and engaged in mercantile business and 
in the manufacture of furniture. This 
led to the building up of a village there, 
of which he was the principal owner. Mr. 
Deming was a man of very substantial 
character, and in 1857 served as a mem- 
ber of the Massachusetts Legislature. 

He married Catherine Hooker Wil- 
liams, born in Middletown, Connecticut, 
October 26, 1826, daughter of Rev. Joshua 
and Catherine (Mix) Williams, of Crom- 
well, Connecticut. Mrs. Deming was 
descended from Thomas Mix, who was 
in New Haven as early as 1643, and died 
about 1691. Captain John Mix, grand- 
father of Mrs. Williams, was born in 
1720; he won distinction in the Revolu- 
tion, being an ensign in the Fifth Battal- 
ion of Wadsworth's Brigade under Colo- 
nel William Douglas. He was a member 
of the Society of the Cincinnati, serving 
as secretary of the Connecticut branch. 
He served thirty-two years as town clerk, 
twenty-six as representative to the Gen- 
eral Assembly, and ten years as judge of 
probate. 

Edward Hooker Deming, second son of 
John and Catherine Hooker (Williams) 
Deming, was born in Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, July 14, 1857, and was edu- 
cated in the school conducted by Dea- 
con Hart, in Farmington. Upon leaving 
school he became associated with his 
father in his business at Glen Eyre and 
there continued until 1883. in which year 
he returned to Farmington. In 1884 Mr. 
Deming purchased a store and conducted 
it alone for eight years, and then, in part- 
nership with F. L. Scott, until April i, 
1901. In the latter year he sold his in- 
terest to Mr. Scott, having become inter- 
ested in other propositions in the mean- 



while. Mr. Deming is now president of 
the Union Electric Light and Power 
Company, and of the Farmington Water 
Company. He is a Republican in politics, 
and has been called upon to fill various 
important positions. From 1896 to 1908 
he was probate judge of the district ; for 
nineteen years was chairman of the school 
board. From January i, 1884, until Jan- 
uary I, 1902, he was postmaster at Farm- 
ington, and was tendered the re-appoint- 
ment by President Roosevelt, but de- 
clined to serve further. For five years, 
from 1892 to 1896 inclusive, Mr. Deming 
was selectman. Since 1889 he has been 
interested in the Farmington Savings 
Bank ; in the latter year he was made 
trustee of this institution, in 1903 was ap- 
pointed assistant treasurer, and later was 
made its treasurer, which office he still 
holds. He is also a director of the State 
Bank and Trust Company, of Hartford. 

Mr. Deming is a member of the Con- 
necticut Society, Sons of the American 
Revolution, and of the Farmington Coun- 
try Club. He married. May 26, 1886, at 
Hawley, Pennsylvania, Isabelle Plum, 
born September 20, 1857, daughter of 
Morvelden and Jane (Miller) Plum. 
They are the parents of a son, of further 
mention, and of a daughter. The latter. 
May Atkinson Deming, was born June 
28, 1893, and attended Miss Porter's 
School at Farmington, and St. Margaret's 
School, at Waterbury, Connecticut. She 
married Charles Lucombe, and resides in 
Farmington. The family attend the Con- 
gregational Church of Farmington. 

Edward Hooker Deming, Jr., only son 
of Edward Hooker and Isabelle (Plum) 
Deming, was born in Farmington, May 
19, 1888, where he attended the public 
schools and the schools of Unionville. 
Subsequently he was a student at the 
Williston Seminary. After completing 
his formal education, Dr. Deming became 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



associated with his father in the Farm- 
ington Savings Bank, " remaining ten 
years. During this time he advanced 
himself to the position of assistant treas- 
urer. In June, 1919, he resigned his ofifico 
to form a partnership with Clayton A. 
Parker, to engage in the insurance and 
real estate business in New Britain. He 
also maintains an independent office in 
Farmington. Mr. Deming is a Repub- 
lican in politics and is keenly interested in 
all public matters. He is a member of 
Evening Star Lodge, No. loi, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of Collinsville 
Chapter and Council. He is also a mem- 
ber of Farmington Grange and of the 
City Club of Hartford. 

Mr. Deming married Aleta Hart, 
daughter of Henry W. and Jennie (Am- 
idon) Hart, and they are the parents of 
one son, John Mix Deming, born August 
20, 1920. 



MURRAY, Patrick Joseph, 

Business Man, 

The name of Murray has been derived 
from the Irish word, Murmhagh, mean- 
ing sea plain or marsh. The "mh" is 
silent and it can be readily seen how the 
name has been evolved into Murray. Mr. 
Murray was born in the parish of Mul- 
lagh. County Cavan, Ireland, February 

17. 1855- 

His father, John Murray, was born in 
the same parish, and died in 1867 at the 
age of forty-three years. During most of 
his lifetime he was engaged in business 
on his own account. He married Bridget 
King, daughter of Edward King, also a 
native of the same parish, and their chil- 
dren were: i. Margaret, deceased; mar- 
ried John Gerow, of Cambridge, Wash- 
ington county. New York. 2. Mary, mar- 
ried Daniel Hagan, of Hoosick Falls, New 
York, and there they are both buried. 3. 



James, died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 4. Patrick Joseph, of further men- 
tion. 5. Ellen, married John McGrath, 
of Hoosick Falls. 6. John, Jr., of Hoosick 
Falls. 7. Rose, deceased, married Thomas 
McGrath, of Hoosick Falls. 

Patrick J. Murray was educated in the 
National schools of his native land, and 
at the age of fifteen years, his parents 
having died, he came to America with 
three others of the family, all younger 
than himself. They located in Salem, 
New York, where an older sister already 
resided, and until he was twenty years 
of age Mr. Murray earned his living by 
working on farms in the vicinity. Thence 
he went to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and entered the employ of the old Mas- 
sasoit Hotel, then (1876) one of the lead- 
ing hotels in this section of New Eng- 
land. Mr. Murray remained there from 
1876 to 1892, and advanced from a bell- 
boy to the position of manager. Thus 
the youth who came to a new land, prac- 
tically alone and friendless, proved him- 
self to be worthy of the success which 
came to him through his own unaided ef- 
fort. There is much in the career of such 
a man worthy of emulation. In the spring 
of 1892, Mr. Murray removed to Torring- 
ton, Connecticut, and leased the Farn- 
ham House there, which he successfully 
conducted for twelve years. In April, 
1904, he retired from active cares and 
spent a well deserved rest in traveling. 
He made extensive trips through France, 
England, Ireland and Scotland. Upon his 
return he located in New Britain, Con- 
necticut, where he was engaged in the 
liquor business until 191 1. In the latter 
year he formed a partnership with Louis 
Edelson under the firm name of P. J. 
Murray & Company. They engaged in 
the real estate and insurance business, and 
handle all kinds of insurance, including 
life. 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In politics, Mr. Murray is a Democrat, 
and served on the Water Commission for 
a year. He is now a member of the Park 
Commission, and is a justice of the peace. 
Fraternally, he is a member of the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
w^as the first exalted ruler of the lodge in 
Torrington. Mr. Murray is past district 
deputy of the Grand Lodge in Connec- 
ticut. 

Mr. Murray married Johanna S. Dwyer, 
daughter of John Dwyer, of Webster, 
Massachusetts, and they attend St. 
Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, aiding 
in its support. 



KELLOGG, ClifTord Walcott, 

Physician, Frofeaalonal Instmctor. 

For six years a member of the Yale 
medical faculty, Dr. Kellogg has amply 
demonstrated in private practice his skill 
and sound character. From numerous 
able and worthy forbears he has inherited 
the stable qualities which has ever char- 
acterized the native of New England. 

(I) The American progenitor of the 
Kellogg family was Lieutenant Joseph 
Kellogg, who was baptized April i, 1626, 
in Great Leigh, Essex, England, and 
came to America about the time of his 
majority. He was a son of Martin and 
Prudence (Bird) Kellogg. One of the 
early residents of Farmington, Connecti- 
cut, he is of record there in 1651, and 
served the town often as selectman. With 
others of that town he was among 
the pioneers of Hadley, Massachusetts, 
where he was an original proprietor and 
operated the ferry between Hadley and 
what is now Hatfield. Active in the new 
town, he was long selectman, member of 
the school committee, and as sergeant, 
commanded the Hadley troops at the 
famous Turner's Falls fight which broke 
the power of the Indians along the Con- 



necticut river. From October 7, 1679, he 
was lieutenant of the Hadley company of 
"foot." He married (second) Abigail 
Terry, born September 21, 1646, in Wind- 
sor, daughter of Stephen and Elizabeth 
Terry, who came to Dorchester in 1630, 
removed to Windsor in 1637, about 1673 
to Hadley, where Stephen Terry was first 
constable. 

(II) Nathaniel Kellogg, son of Lieu- 
tenant Joseph and Abigail (Terry) Kel- 
logg, was born October 8, 1669, in Hadley, 
Massachusetts, and resided in Deerfield 
at the time of the Indian attack, June 6, 
1693, from which he escaped and gave the 
alarm to other settlers. In 1739 he settled 
in that part of Hadley now Amherst, was 
one of the largest taxpayers of Hadley, 
lieutenant of militia, many years select- 
man, and died October 30, 1750. He 
married, June 28, 1692, Sarah Boltwood, 
born October i, 1672, daughter of Samuel 
and Sarah (Lewis) Boltwood, the latter 
a daughter of Captain William Lewis, of 
Farmington. She was living in 1761. 

(III) Captain Ebenezer Kellogg, son of 
Nathaniel and Sarah (Boltwood) Kellogg, 
was born May 31, 1695, in Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, and died there (Amherst), Au- 
gust 17, 1766. In 1731 he was captain of 
militia ; was a member of the first church 
organized in Amherst; and in 1748 had 
twice as much cleared land in that town 
as any other resident. In 1745 he was on 
a committee to lay out the streets of 
Amherst, and kept the first inn in the 
town. He married, December 13, 1716, 
Elizabeth (Ingram) Panthorn, widow of 
Philip Panthorn, born March 15, 1691, 
daughter of John and Mehitable (Dick- 
inson) Ingram, of Hadley. Mehitable 
(Dickinson) Ingram was the youngest 
child of John and Frances (Foote) Dick- 
inson. 

(IV) Ensign Ebenezer (2) Kellogg, 
son of Captain Ebenezer (i) and Eliza- 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth (Ingram-Panthorn) Kellogg, was 
born about 1722, in Amherst, Massachu- 
setts, where he lived. In 1745 he was 
ensign in Colonel Choate's Eighth Massa- 
chusetts militia, and served in General 
Pepperell's expedition against Louisburg. 
As a Revolutionary soldier he served as 
corporal in Captain Dickinson's company. 
Colonel Woodbridge's regiment, at the 
"Lexington alarm," eleven days, and was 
in the same company from May i to Au- 
gust, 1775. He enlisted May i, 1776, in 
Captain Aaron Payne's company. Colonel 
Whitcomb's regiment, and died in the 
army at Ticonderoga, November 22 of 
that year. He married, January 13, 1751, 
Sarah Clapp, born October 4, 1733, 
daughter of Preserved and Sarah (West) 
Clapp, of Amherst. 

(V) Jonathan Kellogg, son of Ensign 
Ebenezer (2) and Sarah (Clapp) Kellogg, 
was born in Amherst, Massachusetts, and 
baptized there October 24, 1760. He was 
a cordwainer in his native town. In a 
draft for soldiers for nine months in the 
Continental army, 1778, he furnished a 
substitute, but later served in Captain 
Alvord's company. Colonel Murray's regi- 
ment, as private, from July 14 to October 
10, 1780. Later he lived in Brattleboro, 
Vermont. He married, June 5, 1783, 
Mary Holland, of Pelham, Massachusetts, 
probably a daughter of Hugh and Eliza- 
beth Holland of that town. She died 
March 5, 1823. 

(VI) Ira Kellogg, son of Jonathan and 
Mary (Holland) Kellogg, was born Janu- 
ary 27, 1786, in Brattleboro, Massachu- 
setts. He was a shoemaker and saddler, 
residing in Amherst and Montague, Mas- 
sachusetts, dying in the latter place No- 
vember 16, 1843. He married, January 25, 
1808, in Amherst, Ruth Dickinson, born 
June 18, 1790, in that town, died Septem- 
ber 18, 1875, in Springfield, same State, 
daughter of William and Thirza (War- 



ner) Dickinson, descendant of a very 
ancient family, long prominently identi- 
fied with Hadley (see Dickinson VI). 

(VII) Wright Dickinson Kellogg, eld- 
est child of Ira and Ruth (Dickinson) 
Kellogg, was born January 12, 1809, in 
South Amherst, Massachusetts, where 
he was a shoemaker, and where he 
died January 3, 1861. He married, 
December i, 1831, Roxana (Goodell) 
Dickinson, widow of Hosmer Dickinson, 
born March 13, 1804, daughter of Andrew 
Goodell, of Amherst, died November 2, 
1889, in East Chatham, New York. 

(VIII) Bela Haskell Kellogg, eldest 
child of Wright D. and Roxana (Goodell- 
Dickinson) Kellogg, was born September 
18, 1832, in South Amherst, Massachu- 
setts, and was a man of much inventive 
genius. In 1853 he moved to Hartford, 
Connecticut, and for fifteen years was 
superintendent of the Hartford Woven 
Wire Mattress Company. In November, 
1884, he went to New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, and his last days were spent in North- 
ampton, Massachusetts. He was the in- 
ventor of the National Type beds. Mr. 
Kellogg was married, in Springfield, Sep- 
tember 18, 1858, to Elizabeth Fitch Wal- 
cott, who was born February 18, 1834, in 
that town, daughter of Dr. George W. 
and Mary Fitch (Kinne) Walcott, de- 
scendant of several notable New England 
forbears. 

(IX) Clifford Walcott Kellogg, only 
son of Bela H. and Elizabeth F. (Wal- 
cott) Kellogg, was born July 27, i860, in 
Hartford, Connecticut, and has been iden- 
tified with his native State to the present. 
After passing through the schools of 
Hartford, including the high school, he 
entered the Medical Department of Yale 
University, from which he was graduated 
M. D. in 1896. Following his graduation, 
he continued on the staff of the depart- 
ment as instructor in histology and gynse- 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cology. Subsequently he became instruc- 
tor in obstetrics, which position he re- 
signed in igo2 to engage in private prac- 
tice. While at Yale he was a member of 
the Skull and Sceptre fraternity. Locat- 
ing in Higganum, Connecticut, he estab- 
lished a very successful career in medicine 
and minor surgery. In his practice he 
recognizes the value of genealogy as 
showing tendencies and characteristics. 
In 1917 Dr. Kellogg removed to Middle- 
town, where many of his old patients may 
easily and do reach his care, and is stead- 
ily extending a practice which is founded 
on true principles and sustained by care- 
ful study and observation. Of kindly and 
lovable nature, he readily draws to him- 
self sincere and true friends, and he is 
highly esteemed, both as man and healer. 
He is a communicant of the First Congre- 
gational Church of Middletown, and the 
friend and supporter of all civic progress. 
Dr. Kellogg married, in New Haven, 
Connecticut, October 30, 1895, Mary 
Edith Raymond, who was born July 11, 
1862, in New Canaan, Connecticut, daugh- 
ter of Samuel H. and Mary E. (Doty) 
Raymond. She passed away at her home 
in Middletown, September 22, igiS, in her 
fifty-seventh year. She is survived by 
four daughters, whose character honors 
her memory. The eldest, Elizabeth Wal- 
cott, born August i, 1896, graduated from 
the Middletown High School in 1914, and 
studied music two years at the Damrosch 
School in New York. Ruth Raymond, 
born February 5, 1898, graduated from 
the Middletown High School in 1915, and 
now resides in Hartford. Margaret Abbe, 
born Januarv- 12, 1904, and Dorothy Clif- 
ford, April 12, 1906, are now students at 
the Middletown High School. 

(The Dickinson Line). 

The Dickinson ancestry has been 
traced to one Ivar, a shepherd, who was 



carried ofif by Northmen and became a 
favorite at the Royal Court of Norway. 
He was given a daughter of the King in 
marriage, and was made general of the 
army in the year 725. Through various 
mutations, the name came to its present 
form in England. Walter de Caen, later 
known as de Kenson, had a manor in 
Yorkshire, England, and before the re- 
moval of the immigrant to New England, 
the name passed through many forms 
until it became Dickinson. 

(I) Nathaniel Dickinson, son of Wil- 
liam and Stacey Dickinson, was of the 
fifteenth generation in descent from Wal- 
ter de Kenson. He was born in 1600, in 
Ely, Cambridgeshire, England, and was 
an early resident of Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, where he appears on the record 
in 1637. In 1645 he was town clerk and 
represented the town in the General 
Court from 1646 to 1656. In 1659 he re- 
moved to Hadley, Massachusetts, where 
he was a freeman in 1661, was deacon of 
the church, and the first town recorder. 
His home was in what is now Hatfield, 
Massachusetts, but he died in Hadley, 
June 16, 1676. He married, at East Berg- 
holst, Suflfolk, England, in January, 1630, 
Anne Gull, widow of William Gull. 

(II) Nehemiah Dickinson, seventh son 
of Nathaniel and Anne (Gull) Dickinson, 
was born in 1643-4, in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, and removed to Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1690, when he was 
made a freeman there. He died Septem- 
ber 9, 1723. His wife, Mary Cowles, was 
born June 24, 1654, in Farmington, Con- 
necticut, daughter of John and Hannah 
Cowles, pioneers of Farmington and Hat- 
field, Massachusetts. 

(III) William Dickinson, son of Nehe- 
miah and Mary (Cowles) Dickinson, was 
born May 18, 1675, died June 24, 1742. 
His wife, Mary Marsh, was a daughter of 
Jonathan Marsh, whose wife, Dorcas, was 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the widow of Azariah Dickinson, killed in 
battle with the Indians. 

(IV) Josiah Dickinson, son of William 
and Mary (Marsh) Dickinson, was born 
August 8, 1724, in Hadley, Massachusetts, 
and died there October 29, 1772. He mar- 
ried, November 24, 1748, Sybil Partridge, 
born October 7, 1732, died October 19, 
1819, daughter of Cotton and Margaret 
(Cook) Partridge, of Hadley. 

(V) William (2) Dickinson, 3'oungest 
child of Josiah and Sybil (Partridge) 
Dickinson, was born in June, 1765. He 
was lieutenant, tythingman and deacon, 
and died March 15, 1849. He married, in 
Amherst, September 28, 1789, Thirza 
Warner, who was undoubtedly a daughter 
of William Warner, of Hadley, whose 
daughter, Dorothy, became the second 
wife of William (2) Dickinson. 

(VI) Ruth Dickinson, daughter of Wil- 
liam (2) and Thirza (Warner) Dickinson, 
was born June 18, 1790, in Amherst, Mas- 
sachusetts, and died in Springfield, Sep- 
tember 18, 1875. She married Ira Kel- 
logg (see Kellogg VI). 

(The Walcott Line). 

The Walcott family is descended from 
William Walcott, who came from Box- 
ford, Essex, England, to Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, as early as 1637, and was a large 
landholder in Manchester, that colony. 
He was a friend of Roger Williams, and 
was excommunicated for adherence to the 
teachings of the latter. He married Ann 
Ingersoll. 

(II) Jonathan Walcott, son of Wil- 
liam and Ann (Ingersoll) Walcott, was 
born in England, but later lived in that 
part of Salem, now Danvers, Massachu- 
setts, where he died, December 16, 1698. 
He married, January 26. 1665, Mary Sib- 
ley, who was baptized September 8, 1644, 
daughter of John Sibley, who came to 
Salem in 1629. 

Conn — 10 — 16 24 



(III) Jonathan (2) Walcott, son of 
Jonathan (i) and Mary (Sibley) Wal- 
cott, was born September i, 1670, settled 
in Windham, Connecticut, and bought 
land on Ban brook, in that town, January 
30, 1722. He died in Windham, May 25, 
1745. His will, made April 2, 1744. men- 
tions wife Priscilla and all his children. 

(IV) Joseph Walcott, eldest son of 
Jonathan (2) and Priscilla Walcott, was 
born about 1700, and married, April 27, 
1731, Sarah Walden, who was born June 
9, 1699, in Salem, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of John and Dorcas (Rise) Walden. 

(V) Nathaniel Walcott, son of Joseph 
and Sarah (Walden) Walcott, was born 
October 27, 1744, and married, November 
4, 1764, Lydia Flint, who was baptized 
September 29, 1745, in Salem, Massachu- 
setts, child of Jonathan Flint. 

(VI) Jonathan (3) Walcott, third son 
of Nathaniel and Lydia (Flint) Walcott, 
was born April 23, 1776, in Windham, 
Connecticut, and married, March i, 1798, 
Abigail Clark, of that town. 

(VII) George Washington Walcott, 
eldest child of Jonathan (3) and Abigail 
(Clark) Walcott, was born June 22, 1802, 
in Windham, and graduated from the 
Medical Department of Yale University 
in 1824. He settled in practice at Wind- 
ham, and died in 1854. He married Mary 
Fitch Kinne. 

(VIII) Elizabeth Fitch Walcott, daugh- 
ter of George W. and Mary Fitch (Kinne) 
Walcott, became the wife of Bela H. Kel- 
logg (see Kellogg VIII). She was de- 
scended from John Abbe (see Abbe VI). 

(The Abbe Line). 

John Abbe was born about 1616, in 
England, and was received an inhabitant 
of Salem, Massachusetts, January 2, 
1637. There he received land grants and 
probably lived in the part of the town now 
Wenham, where he was a prominent citi- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



zen, and died in 1690, aged seventy-four 
years. His first wife, Mary, died Sep- 
tember 9, 1672. 

(II) Samuel Abbe, son of John and 
Mary Abbe, was born about 1646, in Wen- 
ham, Massachusetts, and was admitted an 
inhabitant of Windham, Connecticut, in 
1697, and died there in March of the fol- 
lowing year. He was a member of the 
church in Wenham in 1674, and a free- 
man October 3, 1680. He married, in 
Wenham, March 12, 1672, Mary Knowl- 
ton, born in 1649, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth Knowlton,of Ipswich, Mas- 
sachusetts, and granddaughter of William 
Knowlton, who died on the voyage from 
London to Nova Scotia. 

(III) Ebenezer Abbe, third son of 
Samuel and Mary (Knowlton) Abbe, 
was born July 31, 1683, in Salem Village, 
now Danvers, Massachusetts, and pur- 
chased fifty-five acres of land near North 
Windham, Connecticut, in 1705, being 
then described as "of Norwich." His 
name appears frequently in land transac- 
tions in Windham, and he died at Wind- 
ham Centre, December 5, 1758. He mar- 
ried, in Mansfield, Connecticut, October 
28, 1707, Mary Allen, who died in 1766, 
daughter of Joshua and Mary Allen, of 
Mansfield. 

(IV) Joshua Abbe, second son of 
Ebenezer and Mary (Allen) Abbe, was 
born January 20, 171 1, and was a farmer 
in Windham, Connecticut, owning large 
tracts near North Windham, in what is 
now Chaplin, and was called "King 
Abbe," because of his large holdings. A 
man of strong religious convictions, with 
very liberal views, he was generous in 
spirit, and had many friends. He died 
January 13, 1807, a week short of ninety- 
six years old. He married, in Windham, 
April 14, 1736, Mary Ripley, born Novem- 
ber 16, 1716, died October i, 1769, daugh- 
ter of Joshua and Mary (Backus) Ripley, 



of that town, descended from Governor 
William Bradford of the Plymouth 
Colony through his son, William Brad- 
ford, whose daughter, Hannah, was the 
wife of Joshua Ripley, and mother of 
Joshua Ripley, whose daughter, Mary, 
married Joshua Abbe, as previously 
stated. 

(V) Elisha Abbe, fourth son of Joshua 
and Mary (Ripley) Abbe, was born May 
15- 1753. and died August 15, 1829. He 
enlisted, January 16, 1776, in the Revolu- 
tionary army, and served as a commissary. 
A large and independent farmer, he suf- 
fered much by depredations of the British 
forces in the Revolution, and was very 
active in support of the American cause 
in the War of 1812. He married, in 
Windham, October 27, 1774, Jerusha 
W^ebb, born May 19, 1747, died December 
28, 1828, daughter of Samuel and Deliv- 
erance (Davidson) Webb, of Windham. 

(VI) Emma Abbe, third daughter of 
Elisha and Jerusha (Webb) Abbe, was 
born April 18, 1785, and died in Wind- 
ham January 9, 1864. She married 
Elisha Kinne, and was the mother of 
Mary Fitch Kinne. who bacame the wife 
of Dr. George W. Walcott (see Walcott 
VII), and their daughter, Elizabeth F. 
Walcott, became the wife of Bela H. Kel- 
logg, and the mother of Dr. Clifford W. 
Kellogg (see Kellogg IX). 



DONAHOE, Daniel Joseph, 

IiCLvryeT, Anthor. 

Like most English and American 
names that of Donahoe has been evolved 
by various modifications coming down 
through the ages. Its signification is 
"the dark complexioned warrior, or hero." 
The ancestors of Mr. Donahoe at one 
time owned all the County of Kerry, Ire- 
land, and the descent has been traced to 
the Clan O'Donoghue Mor, whose chief 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



rampant, combatant, 
last an eagle volant 



resided at Ross Castle on an island in the 
Lakes of Killarney, County Kerry. He 
was called "Cas," son of Core, and is No. 
90 in the line of Heber, according to 
O'Hart's "Irish Pedigrees." The arms of 
the family are as follows : 

Arms — Vert, two foxes 
argent, on a chief of the 
sable. 

Crest — An arm in armor, embowed, holding a 
sword blade entwined with a serpent, all proper. 

From Cas. son of Core, who was King 
of Munster, the line has been traced di- 
rectly to Charles O'Donocho, of Lough 
Lein. County Kerry, Ireland. One of the 
latest well known members of this branch 
was Charles O'Donoghue, who was a 
member of Parliament in i860. Daniel 
O'Donahoe, who came from Ireland, 
married Mary Carey in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1849, 3nd resided for some 
years in Brimfield, Massachusetts. After 
coming to this country, the prefix letter 
and apostrophe were eliminated from the 
name. Daniel Donahoe was related by 
blood to the famous Irish agitator, Daniel 
O'Connell, as was also his wife. They 
removed to Middletown, Connecticut. 
Daniel Donahoe came to America about 
1840. was a blacksmith, and was employed 
in the construction of the New London & 
Northern railroad while residing in Brim- 
field. In 1853 he removed to Middletown, 
Connecticut, and was employed at the 
beginning of the construction of the air 
line railroad. This was abandoned for a 
time, and Mr. Donahoe continued to re- 
side in Middletown, where he was em- 
ployed at his trade, and where he died 
in 1893, surviving his wife by some ten 
years. They had several children. 

Daniel Joseph Donahoe was born Feb- 
ruary 27, 1853, in Brimfield, Massachu- 
setts, and was a small child when his 
parents brought him to Middletown. For 
a time he attended the public schools, but 



is largely self-educated. Having a desire 
for knowledge, he was a studious boy and 
maintained himself one year as a student 
at Wesleyan University. Subsequently 
he took up the study of law with the late 
D. A. McQuillan, of Portland, and was 
admitted to practice at Middletown, June 
4, 1875, when twenty-two years old. He 
has been very successful as an attorney 
and has been employed in many capital 
cases. One of the most noted civil cases 
brought by him was the now famous case 
of Brown Z's. Brown, which was carried 
to the Supreme Court, where Mr. Dona- 
hoe's contention was sustained, namely, 
that a wife may sue her husband in tort. 
As a general practitioner, Mr. Donahoe 
has won high standing and recommenda- 
tion from his contemporaries, but he is 
also widely known as a translator and 
author of considerable merit. He has paid 
especial attention to poetic literature and 
has published "Early Christian Hymns, 
Series i and 2 ;" "Idyls of Israel and 
Other Poems," 1888; " A Tent by the 
Lake and Other Poems," 1889; "In Shel- 
tered Ways," 1894; and "The Rescue of 
the Princess," 1907. Since 191 1 he has 
conducted a department, "The Councilor," 
in the "Catholic Transcript," of Hartford. 
In political afifairs he has always been 
identified with the Democratic party, and 
his appreciation by his fellow-citizens is 
shown by the fact that he was some 
twenty years an associate judge of the 
City Court, and was judge of that court 
from 1913 to 1915. From 1886 to 1893, 
also from 1903 to 191 1, he was attorney of 
the town of Middletown. For ten years 
Mr. Donahoe was president of the Middle- 
town Board of Education, and in that 
capacity rendered valuable service to his 
home city. He is now what is known as 
public defender. He is a communicant of 
St. John's Roman Catholic Church : a 
member of the Authors' Club of New 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



York; Middletown Lodge, No. 771, Ben- 
evolent and Protective Order of Elks ; and 
Council, No. 3, Knights of Colum- 
bus, of Middletown, of which he is a past 
grand knight. The stranger who meets Mr. 
Donahoe is at once impressed with his 
scholarly character and deep fund of in- 
formation. He is in every sense of the 
word a gentleman, and is not confined to 
any school under that term. 

Mr. Donahoe married (first), June 21, 
1877, Margaret Burnes, of Meriden, who 
died in 1888. He married (second), Octo- 
ber 7, 1891, Sarah A. D'Arsey, daughter 
of Martin and Mary (Dunnigan) D'Arsey, 
of Enfield. Connecticut. The family in- 
cludes three talented daughters: i. Julia 
T., is now employed in the office of the 
W. & B. Douglas Company, of Middle- 
town. 2. Margaret, a graduate of Wes- 
leyan University; taught English in the 
high schools of Middletown and Hartford ; 
is now the wife of George B. Crafts, an 
attorney of Boston, and the mother of 
two children, Donald and Roger Crafts. 
3. Claire, graduated at Trinity College, 
Washington ; in 1917 she entered the 
United States service as a yoewoman ; 
is now employed as a stenographer in 
Hartford. 



CULVER, Moses Eugene, 

Lawyer, Pnblie OfficiaL 

One of the most ancient English sur- 
names is Culver, which in its original 
form signified "dove," and in this form it 
is very often found in early English lit- 
erature. From the Colonial period the 
family has been prominent in the annals 
of Massachusetts and Connecticut. 

(I) Edmund Culver, the founder of the 
family in this country, was born in Gro- 
ton, England, about 1600, and died in 
Groton, Connecticut, in 1685. He came 
to America with John Winthrop, governor 



of Connecticut, in 1635, and assisted in 
the building of the fort at the mouth of 
the river. He settled in Dedham, Mas- 
sachusetts, and owned land there. He 
was granted two hundred acres of land 
for service in the Pequot War in 1652, 
and four hundred acres in 1654. In the 
latter year he removed to Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts. In 1650 he built a grist mill 
in New London for Governor Winthrop, 
and two years later purchased land there. 
Subsequently he removed to New London 
(now Groton), with his family, and was a 
baker and brewer. In 1664 he was living 
in Mystic, Connecticut, having received 
a grant of land there. In 1681 he is 
called "wheelwright of Mystic." He was 
a noted and gallant Indian fighter, and 
served in King Philip's War. In 1638 he 
married Ann Ellis, who was admitted to 
the Dedham church, September 17, 1641. 

(II) Joshua Culver, son of Edmund 
and Ann (Ellis) Culver, was born Janu- 
ary 12 (baptized January 29), 1643, in 
Dedham, Massachusetts, and died April 
2, 1713, in Wallingford, Connecticut. 
After 1667 he removed to New Haven, 
Connecticut, thence to Wallingford in 
1682-83, and was a first settler of the lat- 
ter town. He married, December 23, 1672, 
Elizabeth Ford, daughter of Timothy 
Ford, who was in Charlestown, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1637, and in New Haven, Con- 
necticut, in 1639, died there August 28, 
1684. 

(III) Samuel Culver, son of Joshua 
and Elizabeth (Ford) Culver, was born 
September 21, 1684, in Wallingford, Con- 
necticut. His first wife, Sarah, was the 
mother of Caleb Culver of whom further. 

(IV) Caleb Culver, son of Samuel and 
Sarah Culver, was born February 18, 
1723, in Wallingford, Connecticut, and 
died September 26, 1788, in Shoreham, 
Vermont. He later removed to Wells, 
Vermont. He married Lois Hall, born 



244 




^MA^..^^<^u^.^ 




/^f^#a^ &Ay-^Arty^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



October 26, 1727, daughter of Amos and 
Ruth (Royce) Hall, and a descendant of 
John Hall, first deacon of the Walling- 
ford church. 

The founder of the Hall family in this 
country was John Hall, who came from 
England to Boston in 1633, later removed 
to Hartford, and subsequently lived about 
thirty years in New Haven. In 1637 he 
was a soldier of the Pequot War, and re- 
ceived a grant of land in Hartford, which 
he forfeited by removal. In 1639 he was 
one of the free planters of New Haven, 
and signed the "foundamental agree- 
ment." He was one of the original pro- 
prietors and settlers of Wallingford, a 
signer of the original "Covenant," as were 
two of his sons. Born in 1605, in Eng- 
land, he died at Wallingford in 1676. 
In 1641 he married Jeanne Wollen, who 
died November 14, 1690. Their son, John 
(2) Hall, born about 1642, was the first 
deacon of the Wallingford church, select- 
man in 1675, deputy to the General As- 
sembly in 1687, and died September 2, 
1721. He married, December 6, 1666, 
Mary Parker, daughter of Edward 
Parker, of New Haven, Connecticut. She 
died September 22, 1725. Her second son, 
Nathaniel Hall, was born February 8, 
1677, and died August 16, 1757. In May, 
1699, he married Elizabeth Curtis, who 
died August 30, 1735, eldest child of Jo- 
seph and Bethiah (Booth) Curtis, of 
Stratford, Connecticut. Their eldest 
child, Amos Hall, born January 24, 1700, 
in Wallingford, died November 30, 1752. 
He married, June 8, 1720, Ruth Royce, 
born in September, 1700, died November 
2, 1775, daughter of Robert and Mary 
Royce, of Wallingford, and granddaughter 
of Isaac and Elizabeth Royce, great- 
granddaughter of Robert and Elizabeth 
Royce, who came from England to Bos- 
ton in the ship "Francis," in 1634, and 
were later in Stratford and New London. 



Lois Hall, second daughter of Amos and 
Ruth (Royce) Hall, born October 26, 
1727, became the wife of Caleb Culver 
(see Culver IV). Caleb Hall, second son 
of Nathaniel Hall, born January 3, 1703, 
in Wallingford, lived in that town, and 
died May n, 1766. He married Esther 
Umberfield, and they were the parents of 
Titus Hall, who was born August 16, 
1746, in Wallingford, and married, No- 
vember 26, 1767, Olive Barnes. Their 
second daughter, Lucy Hall, born De- 
cember 14, 1775, married Moses Culver 
(see Culver V). 

(V) Moses Culver, son of Caleb and 
Lois (Hall) Culver, was bom about 1765, 
in Wallingford, Connecticut, and married 
his cousin, Lucy Hall, born December 14, 
1775, daughter of Titus and Olive 
(Barnes) Hall, previously mentioned. 

(VI) Hon. Moses (2) Culver, son of 
Moses (i) and Lucy (Hall) Culver, was 
born June 30, 1817, in Wallingford, Con- 
necticut, and died October 21, 1884, in 
Middletown. He was one of the leading 
lawyers of his day and held in high re- 
spect by his contemporary brethren. 
After completing his common school edu- 
cation he entered the law office of Hon. 
Ely Warner, of Chester, Connecticut, and 
there, under the able preceptorship of 
Mr. Warner, studied law. In 1845, eight 
years later, he was admitted to the bar 
and took up his practice in Colchester, 
Connecticut, remaining a year. In 1846 
he removed to East Haddam, Connecti- 
cut, there succeeding to the clientele of 
Hon. E. A. Bulkeley of that town, and 
for ten years continued successfully, 
maintaining always the high standard he 
had set for himself. His townsmen were 
quick to appreciate his superior qualities 
and were eager to honor him with public 
office. He served in the Legislature and 
as judge of probate, in addition to many 
minor offices. In 1856 he removed to 

245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Middletown, Connecticut ; in 1865 he was 
appointed State's attorney, and in June, 
1875, judge of the Superior Court. By 
his high integrity and sincere manner he 
made and held many friends, and estab- 
lished a prestige of his name and family 
which has been ably upheld by his son, 
of further mention. 

Hon. Moses (2) Culver took an active 
interest in all matters pertaining to the 
government of his city and State ; he was 
a regular attendant of the Congregational 
church. He married, May 18, 1845, •" 
Chester, Connecticut, Lucinda Baldwin, 
born January 25, 1822, died August 23, 
1897, daughter of David and Cynthia 
(Snow) Baldwin, and a descendant of 
Richard Baldwin, an early settler in Mil- 
ford, Connecticut. 

Richard Baldwin was a son of Sylvester 
Baldwin, who died June 21, 1638, on the 
ship "Martin," during a voyage from 
England to America. Richard Baldwin 
was baptized August 25, 1622, in Parish 
Ashton, Clinton, Buckinghamshire, Eng- 
land, and was well educated and versed in 
the law. His handwriting, still preserved, 
is like engraved script. He settled in Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, joined the church May 
9, 1641, and had a homestead of three 
acres on the west side of the Wepawaug 
river in 1646. An intelligent and forceful 
man, he was active in many ways in the 
new colony, was representative in 1662 
and 1664, was sergeant of militia, kept an 
inn, and died July 23, 1665. He married 
Sarah Bryan, and their third son, Zach- 
ariah Baldwin, was baptized September 
22, 1660, in Milford, where he was a prom- 
inent and useful citizen, sergeant of 
militia, auditor in 1696, eighteen sessions 
a member of Assembly, and dignified in 
records with the title of "Mr." His will 
was proved April 6, 1733, indicating that 
he died early in that year. He married 
Elizabeth, widow of Ezekiel Sanford. 



Their eldest son, Zachariah (2) Baldwin, 
born in Milford, owned land in Water- 
bury, Connecticut, and purchased land in 
Stratford in 1714. He lived in that por- 
tion of the town now Huntington, on 
Walnut Tree Hill, and established a ferry 
in 1723, by leave of the General Court. 
He was a member of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church of Huntington, whose rec- 
ords show his death on November 6, 1766. 
He married, in Milford, August 25, 1708, 
Sarah Merwin. Israel Baldwin, fifth son 
of this marriage, was baptized August 12, 
1722, in Stratford, and died there Novem- 
ber 13, 1805. For some years he lived in 
Wolcott, Connecticut, and married Widow 
Chatterton of New Haven. Their son, 
David Baldwin, born May 27, 1787, in 
Wolcott, lived in Chester, Connecticut, 
where he died at the age of ninety-one 
years. He married, in Killingworth, 
Cynthia Snow, and they were the parents 
of Lucinda Baldwin, born January 25, 
1822, who became the wife of Hon. Moses 
(2) Culver. 

(VII) Moses Eugene Culver, the only 
son of Hon. Moses (2) and Lucinda 
(Baldwin) Culver, was born July 10, 1854, 
in East Haddam, Connecticut. He was a 
lad when he was brought by his parents 
to Middletown, Connecticut, and there he 
attended the public schools, preparing for 
Wesleyan University at the Middletown 
High School. He was graduated from 
the above-named institution in 1875, and 
for several months following traveled 
throughout the Western states. Return- 
ing to Middletown he took up the study 
of the legal profession under his father's 
instruction, and on March 13, 1878, was 
admitted to the bar. Immediately he en- 
gaged in the practice of law in Middle- 
town, and two years later was appointed 
prosecuting attorney of the City Court 
of Middletown. So well did he discharge 
the duties of this office that he was 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reelected ten consecutive terms, holding 
the office for twenty years. On July 20, 
1917, Mr. Culver was appointed to fill a 
vacancy as county health officer, caused 
by the death of Judge W. V. Pearne, and 
on July I, 1918, he was appointed for the 
full term of four years, and is now acting 
in that capacity. 

Other interests of Mr. Culver's include 
a directorship of the Middletown National 
Bank, which he has held since 1904, and 
of the Middletown Building and Loan As- 
sociation, of which he is a director and 
has been attorney since its institution in 
1889. His clubs are the University Club 
of Middletown, and the Twentieth Cen- 
tury. He is also a member of the Middle- 
sex, State and American Bar associations. 
He received the degree of A. B. in 1875 
and of A. M. from his alma mater in 1878. 
Mr. Culver attends the Congregational 
church and for thirteen years served as 
its clerk, and is again occupying that posi- 
tion at the present time. 

Mr. Culver married, June 10, 1896, Liz- 
zie Huntington Sparrow, of Mankato, 
Minnesota, daughter of Philip Bradford 
and Elizabeth (Isham) Sparrow. They 
are the parents of a daughter, Frances 
Baldwin Culver, born December 8, 1901. 



GREENE, Frederick William, 

Clergyman, Man of Fine Character. 

For many years pastor of the Second 
Congregational Church, of Middletown, 
Mr. Greene endeared himself to many 
people in the town, both in and out of his 
congregation. He was descended from 
several prominent New England families, 
and it may easily be understood that he 
partook of those qualities which have 
distinguished this section of United 
States, especially in literary and profes- 
sional labor. His ancestors numbered 
two American pioneers by the name of 



Green. The final letter on this name has 
been added in recent generations. 

Frederick William Greene, son of Theo- 
dore Phinney and Mary Minot (Ains- 
worth) Greene, was born November 29, 
1859, in Brattleboro, Vermont, where his 
boyhood was passed and his primary edu- 
cation acquired. Entering Amherst Col- 
lege he was graduated A. B. in 1882. He 
immediately began preparation at Hart- 
ford Theological Seminary, from which 
he was graduated in 1885, and September 
5, 1885, he was ordained as pastor of the 
West Church in Andover, Massachusetts. 
There he continued his labors more than 
nine years, until he resigned on January 
15, 1895, to become pastor of the South 
Church in Middletown, Connecticut, 
where he was installed January 29, 1895. 
Under his ministrations, the church has 
grown and expanded greatly in financial 
and moral strength, though its numbers 
have not been materially increased. By 
his lovable disposition and faithful labors, 
Mr. Greene endeared himself, not only to 
his congregation, but to the people of the 
city generally, and the number of his 
friends was limited only to those per- 
mitted to enjoy his acquaintance. While 
in Andover, he served as chairman of the 
School Board from 1889 to 1892, and in 
Middletown he shared widely in the 
labors incident to good citizenship, striv- 
ing in every way to foster the welfare and 
uplifting of the community. He was a 
director of the Missionary Society of Con- 
necticut, and a trustee of the Hartford 
Theological Seminary Fund for ministers. 
He was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi 
Club and the Conversational Club of Mid- 
dletown. Mr. Greene passed away Janu- 
ary 4, 1920, at his summer home in Jaf- 
frey, which was the original home of Rev. 
Laban Ainsworth. Ill health in the spring 
of 1919 had compelled him to lay aside 
his labors. His character is well de- 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



scribed in the following obituary notice 
prepared by his lifelong friend, Professor 
Williston Walker, provost of Yale Uni- 
versity : 

Mr. Greene made profession of his Christian 
faith while still in his boyhood home, and entered 
Amherst College in the Class of 1882, already 
determined to devote his life to the Christian min- 
istry. Graduation from college was followed by 
three years in Hartford Theological Seminary. 
Soon after the completion of his Seminary course 
in 1885, he was ordained to the pastorate of the 
West Parish Congregational Church in Andover, 
Massachusetts. That ministry he exchanged, in 
1895, after ten years of service, for the pastorate 
of the South Congregational Church of Middle- 
town, Connecticut, in which he continued till his 
death. These long ministries were noticeably 
marked by pastoral leadership. Mr. Greene was 
always a preacher of earnestness and scholarly 
preparation ; but his preeminence was in his inti- 
mate and affectionate interest in his people. He 
knew them in their joys and sorrows, and he 
loved them ; they in turn loved and respected him. 
His was what is sometimes called the "old-fash- 
ioned" relationship of pastor and people, — an inti- 
macy and understanding which only long walking 
together in Christian paths can produce. 

Mr. Greene's interest embraced the welfare of 
the community in which he lived and of the state 
of his ministry. His quarter of a century in Con- 
necticut brought him in intimate acquaintance with 
its religious concerns. He was greatly trusted by 
his ministerial associates. He served his old Sem- 
inary as a trustee. He was in constant demand 
for important commitee service in his Association 
and his State Conference. To all he undertook he 
gave self-sacrificing devotion, great patience, and 
a soundness of judgment that always commanded 
the confidence of his associates. 

To his friends he was always radiant of good 
cheer. His home in Jaffrey was the center of a 
wide group of classmates, to whom he was the 
chief attraction. His home life was marked by a 
natural, simple piety such as is far too seldom 
encountered. He exhibited an absolute unselfish- 
ness of spirit. No thought of self-seeking or of 
personal advantage apparently ever entered his 
mind. He impressed anyone who knew him as 
one whose fellowship was always with the abid- 
ing and eternal. He has entered on no unknown 
country. His citizenship has been there since 
boyhood. 



Mr. Greene married, June 4, 1885, in 
New Britain, Connecticut, Eliza Farrar 
Walter, born May 31, 1861, baptized 
March 30, 1862, at First Church, the 
youngest child of Henry and Anna Far- 
rar (Clar\-) Walter, natives of London, 
England, and Dover, New Hampshire. 
They were the parents of four sons and 
two daughters. Of his sons, the eldest, 
Theodore, is a minister of the Brick Pres- 
byterian Church in New York City. The 
second, Walter, was a teacher in the 
Syrian Protestant College in Beirut, 
throughout the war, and is now an assist- 
ant in Yale University. The two younger, 
Frederick and William Ainsworth, are 
students in Amherst College. Of his 
daughters, Anna Bancroft is a teacher of 
art in Norwood. Massachusetts, and Dor- 
othy, a teacher of Domestic Science in 
Delaware. Henry Walter, father of Mrs. 
Greene, was born June 23, 1812, a son of 
William and Jane (Thomas) Walter. He 
was a manufacturer of hardware in New 
Britain; he joined the church in 1851. He 
married (third), December 16, 1856, Anna 
Farrar Clary, bom February 6, 1822, in 
Dover, daughter of the Rev. J. W. and 
Anna (Farrar) Clary. She joined the 
church, October 3, 1858, by letter, from 
the church in New Ipswich, New Hamp- 
shire. 



WHITTLESEY, Heman Charles, 
Manufactnrer, Ideal Citizen. 

The surname of Whittlesey is of the 
class known as "names derived from 
locality." It was early assumed by fam- 
ilies living in the neighborhood of the 
Whittlesea Fens, Cambridgeshire, Eng- 
land. It is found as early as the tenth 
century, and includes an archbishop of 
Canterbury. 

(I) John Whittlesey, the English an- 
cestor of the family, was born July 4, 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1623, in Cambridgeshire, England, and 
died April 15, 1704. He was a son of 
John and Lydia (Terry) Whittlesey. In 
1635 he came to America with the Lords 
Say & Seal Company, and was at Boston, 
Massachusetts, for a time, subsequently 
was at Saybrook, Connecticut. In 1648 
he was located in Middletown, removing 
thence to a site on the bank of the river 
near Saybrook, where he was the keeper 
of the ferry across the river. In 1644 and 
1685 he was a representative to the Gen- 
eral Assembly, and again in 1696, 97, 98, 
1699. He served as collector of minister's 
rates in 1678; townsman in 1697. He 
married, at Saybrook, June 20, 1664, Ruth 
Dudley, born April 20, 1645, died Septem- 
ber 27, 1714, daughter of William and 
Jane (Lutman) Dudley, formerly of 
Sheen, in Surrey, England, who came 
from Guilford, Surrey, to Guilford, Con- 
necticut, in 1639, and died there. 

(II) Eliphalet Whittlesey, son of John 
and Ruth (Dudley) Whittlesey, born July 
24, 1679, died September 4, 1759. In 
1707 he removed to Newington, where he 
purchased land and engaged in farming. 
He was prominent in church and civil life, 
serving on many of the former's commit- 
tees and also served as treasurer. He 
married, December i, 1702, Mary Pratt, 
born May 24, 1677, eldest child of John 
and Mary (Andrews) Pratt, of Saybrook; 
she died March 22, 1758. 

(III) Eliphalet (2) Whittlesey, son of 
Eliphalet (i) and Mary (Pratt) Whit- 
tlesey, was born May 10, 1714, in New- 
ington, and died July 12, 1786. He was 
a farmer, and through his thrift acquired 
quite a competence. During the Colonial 
wars, he took an active part, was a brave 
soldier, and one of the most worthy citi- 
zens of his community. In 1761 he re- 
moved to Washington, Connecticut, and 
there united with the church, of which he 
was deacon. He was a member of the 



General Assembly from Kent in May, 
1775. He married, December 16, 1736, 
Dorothy Kellogg, born December 24, 1716, 
daughter of Martin and Dorothy (Ches- 
ter) Kellogg, and she died April 14, 1772 
(see Kellogg, Henry L.). She was a truly 
remarkable woman, noted for her strength 
and endurance. 

(IV) Eliphalet (3) Whittlesey, son of 
Eliphalet (2) and Dorothy (Kellogg) 
Whittlesey, was born July 2, 1748, and 
died January 25, 1823, in Newington. 
There he was engaged in farming until 
his removal to Stockbridge, Massachu- 
setts, where he was a member of Captain 
Ezra Whittlesey's company, Third Berk- 
shire Regiment. He married, December 
15, 1771, Comfort Waller, born November 
15, 1750, in Kent, died April 30, 1825. 

(V) Heman Whittlesey, son of Eli- 
phalet (3) and Comfort (Waller) Whittle- 
sey, was born December 6, 1788, in Stock- 
bridge, and died April 17, 1826. He lived 
at his father's home during his lifetime, 
and was a manufacturer of woolen cloths 
for men's wear. He has the distinction of 
being the first in America to make broad- 
cloths. He was a corporal in Captain 
Hunt's company during the War of 1812, 
rising to rank of captain. He married, 
June 7, 1818, at Newington, Electa Kel- 
logg, born there, December 24, 1793, died 
December 5, 1838, daughter of Martin and 
Hannah (Robbins) Kellogg, granddaugh- 
ter of Martin and Mary (Boardman) Kel- 
logg (see Kellogg, H. L.). 

(VI) Heman Alonzo Whittlesey, son 
of Heman and Electa (Kellogg) Whittle- 
sey, was born October 25, 1823, in Stock- 
bridge, and was a farmer in Newington, 
Connecticut. Late in life he removed to 
Middletown, and there made his home 
until his death. As a young man he re- 
moved to Newington, where he pur- 
chased a farm near the center of the town, 
consisting of 136 acres, where he engaged 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in general farming with success. He was 
active in both church and town affairs, 
was deacon of the church, treasurer of the 
town, and active in the grange, of which 
he was an officer. During the Civil War 
he served as selectman of the town. He 
was an earnest supporter of Republican 
principles, and was esteemed and hon- 
ored for his upright character. He mar- 
ried, at Newington, January 2i, 1847, 
Eunice Cordelia Lattimer, born Septem- 
ber 14, 1826, in Newington, daughter of 
Erastus and Seviah Hart (Webster) Lat- 
timer, of Newington. Their children 
were: Jane E., wife of George S. Dem- 
ing; Eunice C, deceased; Heman Charles, 
of further mention ; Georgianna, wife of 
G. W. Wilson. 

Eunice C. (Lattimer) Whittlesey, wife 
of Heman A. Whittlesey, was a descend- 
ant of John Lattimer, who probably came 
from England, presumably of French an- 
cestry, and was a resident of Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, as early as 1638. The 
records show that he made numerous 
purchases of homesteads in that town and 
also sold property. At the time of his 
death, in 1662, he was one of the wealth- 
iest landholders of the town. His will 
mentions his wife, Anne, and several chil- 
dren. 

His eldest son. Sergeant John Latti- 
mer, was born January 4, 1650, in Weth- 
ersfield, was constable in 1685, and col- 
lector in 1698. He inherited the dwelling 
house and buildings on the northern part 
of his father's homestead on the east side 
of Broad street, Wethersfield, and in the 
allotment of 1694 drew a share in the 
public lands. In February, 1704, his 
house was one of six ordered to be forti- 
fied against Indian attacks. In 1706 he 
was surveyor of highways. He married, 
April 29, 1680, Mary, whose surname is 
not preserved in Wethersfield records. 

Their fourth son, Luther Lattimer, was 



born May 22, 1692, in Wethersfield, and 
married there April 18, 1712, Elizabeth, 
whose surname was probably Wickham. 

Their youngest child, Wickham Latti- 
mer, was born December 15, 1720, in 
Wethersfield, and married, September 3, 
1 74 1, Sarah Gary, probably a daughter of 
Nathaniel and Sarah Gary, of Wethers- 
field. Only one of the children of Na- 
thaniel and Sarah Gary is recorded in that 
town. 

Luther Lattimer, second son of Wick- 
ham Lattimer, born October 17, 1744, in 
Wethersfield, married there, April 6, 
1767, Dorothy Smith. 

Their eldest child, Uzziel Lattimer, 
born November, 1769, married Lucy Tay- 
lor. 

Their son, Erastus Lattimer, born about 
1800, died in Newington, September 19, 
1876. He married, in Berlin, Connecti- 
cut, December 9, 1824, Sarah Hart Web- 
ster, who was born September 23, 1801, 
in Newington, died March 21, 1869, sec- 
ond daughter of John and Eunice (Dem- 
ing) Webster, of that town. She was a 
descendant of Governor John Webster, 
of Hartford, of the seventh generation, 
and also a descendant of John Deming, 
one of the early settlers of Wethersfield, 
one of those named in the famous charter 
granted to Connecticut by King Charles, 
He held many public offices, and was 
prominent in community affairs. 

Eunice Cordelia Lattimer, daughter of 
Erastus Lattimer, became the wife of 
Heman A. Whittlesey, as previously 
noted. 

(VII) Heman Charles Whittlesey, only 
son of Heman Alonzo and Eunice Cor- 
delia (Lattimer) Whittlesey, was born 
January 4, 1857, in Newington, Connecti- 
cut. As a boy he attended the public 
schools of his native town, and was later 
a student at the West Middle School, of 
Hartford. In 1876 he graduated from the 

^50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford High School. He immediately 
entered Yale and graduated in 1880, hav- 
ing made Phi Beta Kappa and received 
the degree of A. B. 

Shortly afterwards he was given an ap- 
pointment in the Customs Service of the 
Chinese Empire by the Inspector Gen- 
eral, Sir Robert Hart, K. C. M. G., and 
sailed to assume his ofifice in October, 
1880. He began duty on January i, 1881, 
and continued in the service for a period 
of eight years, during which time he was 
regularly promoted. He then returned 
home on two years leave of absence, and 
was married in Middletown on October i, 
1890. Returning to China with his wife, 
he continued for another year in the same 
service, and then resigned, and both re- 
turned to the United States, arriving in 
Middletown, in July, 1892. 

He at once became identified with the 
Wilcox & Crittenden Company, of Mid- 
dletown. The company was incorporated 
on January i, 1906, and since that date 
Mr. Whittlesey has filled the position of 
secretary and treasurer. Although not 
in vigorous health, he has continued to 
aid, to the best of his powers, in various 
movements calculated to advance the wel- 
fare of his home city. He is a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce, a deacon of 
the South Congregational Church, and 
first vice-president of the Middletown 
Savings Bank. For several years he was 
secretary and treasurer of the Middlesex 
County Historical Society. While main- 
taining a warm interest in the progress of 
events, he has persistently refused to ac- 
cept any nomination for office offered by 
the Republican party, of which he has 
been a most loyal supporter. 

Mr. W'hittlesey married, October i, 
1890, in Middletown, Mary W^ilcox, 
daughter of William Walter and Eliza- 
beth (Crittenden) Wilcox, elsewhere 
mentioned at length in this work. Mr. 



and Mrs. Whittlesey are the parents of 
two children : Percival Wilcox, born 
September i, 1891, at Foochow, China; 
and Winifred Hamilton, born October 30, 
1892, in Middletown, Connecticut. 

Their son, Percival Wilcox, graduated 
from Williams in 1913 with a degree of 
B. A., and then, after a year spent in 
study in Germany, was awarded the 
degree of M. A. in 1915. In 1916 
he received the same degree of M. A. 
from Harvard, where he was pur- 
suing a Ph. D. course in the Graduate 
School of Arts and Sciences at the out- 
break of the great war between Germany 
and the United States. Early in 1917 he 
went to Plattsburg, New York, for a 
course of training, but because of lack of 
weight, due to illness, he resigned and 
went on to Washington, where he passed 
an examination for an appointment in 
the Interpreters' Corps. Subsequently he 
went to New York, where he joined the 
Intelligence Corps of the United States 
Expeditionary Force in France. After he 
had sailed, he was notified of an appoint- 
ment in the Interpreters' Corps, but de- 
clined to take it up. During the war he 
was stationed in Paris, where, in the 
office of the Assistant Chief of Staff, he 
was in charge of the Passport Bureau, 
and was also very active in intelligence 
work, with the rank of sergeant. He 
passed the necessary examinations and 
was recommended for promotion, but the 
signing of the Armistice prevented the 
issuance of his commission. He returned 
to America in August, 1919. 

Their daughter, Winifred Hamilton, 
graduated from Lasell Seminary in 1912. 
She was married on May 26, 1917, to Wil- 
bur Clark Knowlton, of Akron, Ohio, who 
died suddenly as a victim of the influenza 
epidemic. He left a daughter, Aurelia 
Jane Knowlton, who with her mother is 
residing in Middletown, Connecticut. 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



DAVIS, Frank Talcott, 

Mechanical Englaeer. 

Throughout his adult life identified 
with Middletown, Mr. Davis has worked 
his way from meagre employment to that 
of a responsible position with the Con- 
necticut Power Company. He descended 
from a very old family of the State, and 
has demonstrated the Yankee qualities 
that produce successful men. 

(I) The founder of the Davis family 
appears to have been John Davis, who 
was first in Ipswich, Massachusetts, and 
in 1641 was master of a seagoing vessel. 
In that year he was a commoner in Ips- 
wich, and in the following year was resid- 
ing on the south side of the river in that 
town. In 1648 he sold out his property 
there, and appears as a planter at New 
London, Connecticut, in 1651. 

(II) Andrew Davis, son of John Davis, 
lived in New London, Connecticut, and 
there married Mary Bayley, born Febru- 
ary 14, 1657, eldest child of Thomas and 
Lydia (Redfield) Bayley. It is presum- 
able that they were the parents of Solo- 
mon, of whom further. 

(III) Solomon Davis, presumably son 
of Andrew and Mary (Bayley) Davis, 
born about 16S5-87, appears as a resident 
of Killingworth, Connecticut, where his 
descendants have been numerous down to 
the present day. He married there, De- 
cember 28, 1709, Sarah Hayton or Hay- 
den, undoubtedly a descendant of the 
Hayden family of Windsor, which sent 
representatives in early generations to 
Killingworth. 

(IV) Samuel Davis, youngest child of 
Solomon and Sarah (Hayton or Hayden) 
Davis, lived in Killingworth, and had a 
wife Elizabeth and five children, the eld- 
est born in 1753. 

(V) Lemuel Davis, youngest son of 
Samuel and Elizabeth Davis, born prob- 



ably after 1760, also lived in Killingworth 
with his wife, Jemima, and had five chil- 
dren, the eldest born in 1783. This child 
died in infancy, and the second child bore 
the same name, Peter, of whom further. 

(VI) Peter Davis, son of Lemuel and 
Jemima Davis, was a farmer, residing on 
Pea Hill, Killingworth. He married Polly 
Kelsey, and their eldest child was Alvin, 
of whom further. 

(VII) Alvin Davis, son of Peter and 
Polly (Kelsey) Davis, was born Decem- 
ber 14, 1807, on Pea Hill, where he grew 
to manhood, and passed his life engaged 
in agriculture. He was a man of intelli- 
gence and independent mind, industrious 
and economical, and became quite pros- 
perous. Too broad-minded to be an in- 
tense partisan, he was still a staunch sup- 
porter of Democratic principles. He died 
December 14, i860, and was buried in the 
Stonehouse Cemetery. He married, No- 
vember 28, 1827, Julia Wright, who was 
born June 3, 1807, daughter of Jesse and 
Nancy (Strong) Wright. Jesse Wright, 
born 1786, was a farmer in the Pine 
Orchard district of Killingworth, and died 
in 1878. He was a son of Ashur and 
Beulah (Strong) Wright, the former a 
Revolutionary soldier, born in 1755; died 
in 1833. 

(VIII) Sidney Talcott Davis, fourth 
child and eldest son of Alvin and Julia 
(Wright) Davis, was bom June 24, 1837, 
on Pea Hill, where he grew to manhood, 
receiving the education which the com- 
mon schools of the neighborhood afforded. 
By inheritance he became owner of the 
paternal farm, which in time he sold and 
purchased another farm in the same town. 
In 1 891 he removed to Middletown, Con- 
necticut, where he purchased a home on 
Grand street. During his last years he 
was employed at the Indian Hill Ceme- 
tery, continuing active up to a short time 
before his death, which occurred October 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



27, 1919, in his eighty-third year. For 
some years in early life, after leaving 
home, he was employed as a farm hand for 
what would now be considered extremely 
moderate wages. He was active and en- 
terprising, burned charcoal and engaged 
in any occupation that promised a return 
for industry. For some eight years he 
was employed in a factory at Winthrop, 
Connecticut, and later became a member 
of the firm of Bogart, Davis & Company, 
which cut out timber to be used in the 
construction of wagons. After some five 
years of successful business, he was 
obliged to abandon it because of a crip- 
pled hand. He sold out his interest and 
returned to his native town, where he 
purchased the interest of other heirs in 
the paternal farm, which he continued to 
till for several years. After selling out his 
interests in Killingworth, he invested in 
tenement houses in Middletown. Like 
his forebears, he was attached to the Dem- 
ocratic party in politics, and filled various 
minor offices in his native town. Among 
these were those of selectman and repre- 
senative in the State Legislature, where 
he served in 1880-81, and was a member 
of the Committee on Agriculture. At the 
time of his removal from Killingworth, 
he was selectman of the town. He was 
among the founders of Killingworth 
Grange and continued his membership as 
long as he lived in the town. He was a 
member of the Church of the Holy Trinity 
in Middletown, as was also his wife. 

Mr. Davis married, January 28, 1858, 
Mary Augusta Nettleton, who was born 
March 19, 1840, in Barton, Tioga county. 
New York, daughter of Heman and 
Jerusha (Norton) Nettleton. Heman 
Nettleton was born November 16, 1802, 
in Killingworth, and died September 25, 
1882, in Killingworth, having returned to 
that town after his retirement from active 
life. Jerusha (Norton) Nettleton, born 
August II, 1799, died March i, 1867. 



(IX) George Brighton Davis, eldest 
son of Sidney Talcott and Mary Augusta 
(Nettleton) Davis, was born February 27, 
1863, in Killingworth, and passed his early 
years in that town attending the district 
schools. A youth of enterprise and cour- 
age, he left home before attaining his 
majority, and went to Durham, Connecti- 
cut, where he was employed for some 
years on a farm. In 1887 he purchased a 
farm in Middlefield and continued to make 
his home in that town until his death, 
March 12, 1896. For many years previous 
to his death, he was engineer at the Trap 
Rock quarry between Middlefield and 
East Wallingford. 

He married, June 23, 1887, Ida Abigail 
Wolcott, a native of Wallingford, and 
they were the parents of five children. 

(X) Frank Talcott Davis, eldest child 
of George Brighton and Ida Abigail 
(Wolcott) Davis, was born May 6, 1888, 
in Middlefield, Connecticut, and attended 
the public schools of that town and the 
grammar school of Meriden, Connecticut. 
At an early age he left school and learned 
the trade of machinist in Middletown. 
For some three years he was employed as 
a locomotive fireman on the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford railroad, and 
about 1910 became associated with the 
Middletown Electric Light Company. 
Subsequently he was nearly three years in 
the service of the Noiseless Typewriter 
Company, of Middletown, and about 1913 
entered the employ of the Connecticut 
Power Company, which he is now serving 
as chief engineer at its Middletown plant. 
Mr. Davis' home is in South Farms, a 
suburb of Middletown, and he is con- 
nected with Christ Episcopal Church of 
that section. He is also a member of the 
Knights of Pythias, and, unlike his an- 
cestors, adheres to the Republican party 
in political matters. 

Mr. Davis married, April 28, 1915, 
Sarah Ann Stannard, daughter of Newton 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Elizabeth (Stewart) Stannard, of 
Middletown. descendant of an old Con- 
necticut family. Mr. and Mrs. Davis have 
two children : Olive Elizabeth, born 
March 28, 1917, and Leah Ida, born April 
3. 1919- 



TAFT, Charles Ezra, M. D., 

Man of Many Professional ActlTities. 

Charles Ezra Taft, M. D., graduate of 
Harvard, Fellow of the American College 
of Surgeons, and of the New York 
Academy of Medicine, was a surgeon of 
wide experience and research in the 
branch of medical science relating to the 
diseases of women, and became well re- 
garded, both professionally and as a cit- 
izen, during the almost three decades in 
which he practiced in the city of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He was born in Ded- 
ham, Massachusetts, July 11, 1863, the 
son of Josephus Guild and Anna Eliza 
(Shaw) Taft, and a descendant of Robert 
Taft, progenitor in America of a leading 
branch of the ancient Irish family of that 
name, which has had place in colonial 
and Republican American records since 
1678. 

Robert Taft was born in Ireland, but 
in the northern part, and, being a Protes- 
tant, it is doubtful whether the family 
was originally Irish ; more probably it was 
Scottish, as Sir William Taaffe, or Taft, 
a knight of the Protestant faith, was 
among the grantees at the time of the 
Scottish emigration and settlement in 
Ulster province, Ireland, by order of King 
James. In 1610 he received a grant of 
one thousand acres of land in the parish 
of Castle Rahen, in County Cavan. The 
total grants in this parish amounted to 
3990 acres, of which Sir Thomas Ashe 
held 1500 acres; in 1619 he also held this 
grant of Taft's, and 1500 in the adjoining 
parish of Tullaghgarvy. On Taft's land 



there was "an old castle new mended, and 
all the land was inhabited by Irish." It 
seems reasonable to suppose that Sir Wil- 
liam Taft's sons settled on this grant. 
Perhaps Sir William remained in Louth, 
but his is the only Taft family identified 
with the Scotch-Irish settlers with whom 
Robert Taft's parents were connected. 
County Louth, the Irish home of the 
Tafts, is on the northern coast, bounded 
by Armagh and Ulster, on the east by the 
St. George's Channel, and on the south 
by the Boyne. 

(I) Robert Taft, progenitor in Amer- 
ica, was born in Ireland, about 1640, and 
died in Mendon, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 8, 1725. He was first at Braintree, 
Massachusetts, where he owned a lot in 
1678. This he sold November 18, 1679, to 
Caleb Hobart, and almost simultaneously 
purchased land in Mendon, where he 
eventually acquired a considerable estate. 
Apparently he was possessed of means at 
the outset, and was a leading pioneer of 
Mendon, for colonial records of that place 
show that Robert Taft was a member of 
the first board of selectmen at its organ- 
ization in 1680. He was a housewright 
by trade, and in 1680 was a responsible 
member of a committee constituted to 
build a house for the minister. He and 
his sons also built the first two bridges 
that spanned the river Mendon. the sec- 
ond being built in 1729. He was one of 
the purchasers of the tract of land 
v^-hereon the town of Sutton was located 
later. He and his wife, Sarah, had five 
sons: Thomas, born 1671, died 1755; 
Robert, of whom further ; Daniel, died 
August 24, 1 761 ; Joseph, born 1680, died 
June 18, 1747; Benjamin, born 1684, died 
1766. 

(II) Robert (2) Taft, son of Robert 
and Sarah Taft, was born in 1674. He 
was apportioned a part of the paternal 
estate, his section being where Uxbridge 



254 




^""^"C^UL^-^ ^<^lA^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



later developed. He lived there until his 
death, and was a man of consequence in 
the community. He was chosen select- 
man in 1727, at the first March meeting, 
and was reelected many times. In his 
will, dated February 17, 1747-48, he makes 
reference to his wife Elizabeth and chil- 
dren. The children born in Mendon 
were: Elizabeth, January 18, 1695-96, died 
young ; Robert, December 24, 1697 ; Israel, 
of whom further; Mary, December 21, 
1700; Elizabeth, June 18, 1704 ; Alice, June 
27, 1707; Eunice, February 20, 1708-9; 
John, December 18, 1710; Jemima, April 
I, 1713 ; Gideon, October 4, 1714 ; Rebecca, 
March 15, 1716. 

(III) Israel Taft, son of Robert (2) 
and Elizabeth Taft, was born April 26, 
1699. His will was made in 1752, and 
allowed September 19, 1753. He married 
Mercy Aldrich, daughter of Jacob and 
Huldah (Thayer) Aldrich. Children: 
Huldah, born January 28, 1718; Priscilla, 
August 15, 1721, married Moses Wood; 
Israel, April 23, 1723; Jacob, April 22, 
1725; Hannah, November 16, 1726; 
Elisha, May 3, 1728; Robert, February 14, 
1730; Samuel, February 18, 1731 ; Mercy, 
April 7, 1733; Stephen, August 21, 1734, 
died September 14, 1741 ; Samuel, of 
whom further; Mary, January 23, 1737, 
died June 12, 1738; Margery, May 14, 
1738; Silas, December 13, 1739, died May 
10, 1741 ; Stephen, April i, 1741 ; Rachel, 
June 18, 1742, died December 30, 1747; 
Silas, November 5, 1744; Amariah, April 
18, 1746, died September 9, 1746; Phila, 
died young. 

(IV) Samuel Taft, son of Israel and 
Mercy (Aldrich) Taft, was born Septem- 
ber 23, 1735, died August 16, 1816. He 
married (first), Mary Murdock, born Jan- 
uary 3, 1743. daughter of Benjamin and 
Mary (Hyde) Murdock, and granddaugh- 
ter of Robert and Hannah (Stedman) 
Murdock; (second), January 9, 1806, Ex- 



perience Humes, born May 27, 1750, died 
January 14, 1837. He was a noted tavern- 
keeper in his day, during and after the 
Revolution. He had the honor of enter- 
taining Washington and his staff on one 
of his journeys north, and so pleased was 
"The Father of His Country" with the 
attention he received at Uxbridge during 
his stay, that he sent to Mr. Taft's two 
daughters each a handsome dress, as a 
token of his appreciation of their kindness 
and attention. Samuel Taft was the 
father of twenty-two children, and avail- 
able records give the names of seventeen : 
Frederick, of whom further; Lyman; 
Sybil; Mercy, died in youth; Willard ; 
Mercy ; Porter ; Washington, died in 
youth; Parla ; Merrett ; Otis; Phila; 
George Washington ; Danbridge ; War- 
ner ; Experience ; and Polly ; the four last 
named being the children by his second 
wife. 

(V) Frederick Taft, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Murdock) Taft, was born in 
Uxbridge, June 19, 1759, and died there 
on February 10, 1846. He was a surveyor 
by profession, and executed most of the 
principal commissions in the southern 
part of Worcester county. For twenty 
years he was a deputy sheriff of the 
county, and was a popular and respected 
citizen. He lived to the advanced age of 
eighty-seven years, and his wife attained 
the age of ninety. In 1782, he married 
Abigail, born August 29, 1761, daughter 
of Ezra and Ann (Chapin) Wood. The 
Chapin line traces to Deacon Samuel 
Chapin, "the Puritan," a Huguenot, who 
is believed to have come from England 
in 1631, or 1632, in the "Lyon," was a con- 
temporary of Pyncheon in the settlement 
of Roxbury, Massachusetts, later de- 
scribed as "Pynchon's right-hand man," 
and was one of the "founders of Spring- 
field." The Wood line traces to Thomas 
Wood, who came to New England prob- 



2^- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ably soon after 1650, from Yorkshire, 
England, and married Ann Todd (or 
Hunt), in 1654. The generations to that 
of Abigail, wife of Frederick Taft are: 
Ebenezer, son of Thomas and Ann 
(Todd or Hunt) Wood, born in Rowley, 
December 29, 1671, married, April 5, 
1695, Rachael Nichols, died in Mendon in 
1736; Jonathan, son of Ebenezer and 
Rachael (Nichols) Wood, born in Row- 
ley, November 2, 1701 (1702 in pri- 
vate records) married (first) Margaret, 
surname unknown, (second) Dorothy 
Crosby ; Ezra, son of Jonathan and Mar- 
garet Wood, born in Mendon, about 1725, 
married Anna Chapin, of Uxbridge. Ezra 
Wood was a Revolutionary soldier, cap- 
tain of the Upton Company, Worcester 
Regiment. Of his ten children, Abigail 
was his sixth born, and his fifth daughter. 
She bore to her husband, Frederick Taft, 
ten children : Samuel, Murdock, Calista, 
Frederick Augustus, Naba, Harriet, Parla, 
Ezra Wood, of whom further, Mary Anna, 
and Margaret. 

(VI) Ezra Wood Taft, son of Freder- 
ick and Abigail (Wood) Taft, was bom 
August 24, 1800, died September 26, 1885. 
After a public school education obtained 
in Uxbridge, his native place, he became 
associated in business with his brother, 
Frederick A., owner of the Dedham Man- 
ufacturing Company, with mills at Ded- 
ham, Massachusetts. When he was 
twenty years old he hired a small mill in 
the adjacent town of Walpole, and began 
business independently. Within three 
years he had manufactured forty thousand 
yards of "negro" cloth, for the southern 
trade. In 1823 he went to Dover, New 
Hampshire, where he aided in establish- 
ing the Cocheco Mills, in a department of 
which for three years he was overseer. 
He then returned to Dedham, and for six 
years thereafter was agent for the Ded- 
ham Manufacturing Company. In 1832 



he took similar capacity with the Norfolk 
Manufacturing Company of East Ded- 
ham. He built the stone mill which still 
stands, and for thirty years thereafter con- 
tinued at the head of the Norfolk Manu- 
facturing Company's East Dedham plant, 
of which he became principal owner. 
When Mr. Taft began to manufacture it 
was customary to spin only the yam at 
the mills, this product being delivered to 
the weavers to be woven into cloth by 
hand at their homes. But with the ad- 
vent of power looms, the weaving became 
an important department of the mill, and 
during his long connection with the spin- 
ning and weaving industry, Mr. Taft wit- 
nessed the development of cotton and 
woolen mills from small spinning mills 
into great cloth factories employing many 
thousands of hands in various parts of 
New England. He was one of the leaders 
in the development of the industry. In 
1864 he retired from business, and the 
remaining twenty-one years of his life 
were mainly devoted to participation in 
public affairs. He held honored place in 
the civic affairs of Dedham ; for more 
than forty years he was justice of the 
peace ; for thirty years he was a member 
of the school committee, and did much to 
elevate the standard of education ; for 
thirty-one years he was a director of the 
Dedham Bank, and from 1873 until his 
death was its president. He was prom- 
inent among the organizers of the Ded- 
ham Institution for Savings, and for 
many years was a trustee and member of 
the investment committee. No citizen of 
Dedham in his time was more prominent 
in business, financial affairs and public 
life. For fourteen years, consecutively, 
he was a selectman, and for twelve years 
chairman of the board ; for four years he 
represented his district in the General 
Court. He was one of the organizers of 
the old Norfolk Insurance Company, and 



, 256 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a director of the Dedham Mutual Insur- 
ance Company. Politically a Republican, 
and religiously a member of the Orthodox 
church, he always labored zealously to 
advance the interests of the town of Ded- 
ham, whether along material, religious, 
or educational lines, and was a prime 
mover and leader in matters of public in- 
terest. 

He married (first). May 2, 1825, Min- 
erva Wheaton, born May 2, 1801, died 
January 26, 1829; (second), September 8, 
1830, Lendamine Draper Guild, born Sep- 
tember 29, 1803, died October 24, 1897, 
daughter of Calvin and Lendamine 
(Draper) Guild, and descendant of John 
Guild, who came to America in 1636, and 
was admitted to the church at Dedham 
July 17, 1640, in which year he purchased 
twelve acres of upland in that locality. He 
married June 24, 1645, Elizabeth Crooke, 
of Roxbury, and the succeeding genera- 
tions of the particular line connecting 
with the Taft genealogy were : Samuel, 
son of John and Elizabeth (Crooke) 
Guild, born in Dedham, November 7, 
1647, rnarried, November 29, 1676, Mary, 
daughter of Samuel and Ann (Herring) 
Woodcock, of Dedham, served in King 
Philip's war, was freeman at Salem in 
May, 1678, subsequently selectman, and 
deputy to General Court; Joseph, son of 
Samuel and Mary (Woodcock) Guild, 
born at Dedham, September 13, 1694, be- 
came wealthy, married (first), October 
31, 1723, Abigail Fisher, of Dedham, 
(second), December 4, 1732, Hannah, 
daughter of Jonathan and Sarah Curtis, 
granddaughter of John and Rebecca 
(Wheeler) Curtis, and of Samuel Lyon 
(third), October 17, 1745, Beulah Peck; 
Joseph (2), son of Joseph and Hannah 
(Curtis) Guild, born in Dedham, May 11, 
1735, died December 28, 1794, was cap- 
tain of minute men during the Revolution, 
married, June 28, 1758, Miriam Draper, 

Conn— 10— 17 257 



born March 26, 1739, died September 26, 
1831, daughter of Ebenezer and Dorothy 
(Child) Draper, granddaughter of James 
and Abigail (Whiting) Draper, and of 
Joshua and Elizabeth (Morris) Child. 
Elizabeth Morris was the daughter of 
Edward and Grace (Betts) Morris; 
Joshua Child was son of Benjamin and 
Mary (Bowen) Child; Abigail Whiting 
was daughter of Nathaniel and Hannah 
(Dwight) Whiting; James Draper was 
son of James and Miriam (Stansfield) 
Draper. Joseph (2) and Miriam (Draper) 
Guild had seven children; among them 
Calvin. Calvin, sixth child of Joseph and 
Miriam (Draper) Guild, born in Ded- 
ham, July 6, 1775, was a hatter, merchant, 
auctioneer, and eventually county sheriff. 
He married (first) Lendamine Draper, 
born March 30, 1780, died October 26, 
1823, daughter of Major Abijah and De- 
sire (Foster) Draper, granddaughter of 
James and Abigail (Child) Draper, and of 
Ebenezer and Desire (Cushman) Foster. 
Desire Cushman was a daughter of Sam- 
uel and Fear (Carver or Corser) Cush- 
man, granddaughter of Thomas and Abi- 
gail (Fuller) Cushman. Ebenezer Fos- 
ter was a son of John and Margaret 
(Ware) Foster, grandson of John and 
Mary (Stewart) Foster, and of Robert 
and Sarah (Metcalf) Ware. Lendamine 
Draper Guild, daughter of Calvin Guild 
by his first wife, Lendamine (Draper) 
Guild, became the second wife of Ezra 
Wood Taft. 

The children of Ezra Wood Taft by his 
first wife were : Ezra Josephus and 
Edwin Wheaton, both of whom died in 
infancy; by second wife: Josephus Guild, 
of whom further ; Edwin Wheaton, Cor- 
nelius Abbott, Minerva Lendamine, 
Louisa Adelaide, Ezra Fletcher. A not- 
able family gathering was held on Sep- 
tem 8, 1880, when Ezra "W^ood and Len- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



damine (Guild) Taft celebrated their 
golden wedding. 

(VII) Josephus Guild Taft, son of Ezra 
Wood and Lendamine D. (Guild) Taft, 
was born in Dedham, June i8, 1831. He 
received public and high school education 
in Dedham, and early in life engaged in 
business as a saddler. Later he was ap- 
pointed cashier of the Shawmut National 
Bank of Boston. Politically a Republi- 
can, fraternally a Mason, and religiously 
a Congregationalist, Mr. Taft was a con- 
scientious man, whose upright life gained 
him much respect in the communities in 
which he lived. He married, in Uxbridge, 
May 17, i860, Anna Eliza Shaw, born 
January ig, 1834, died January 8, 1899, 
daughter of Franklin King and Catherine 
(Pollock) Shaw. The Shaw family was 
from Ware, Massachusetts. Her father 
was born November 23, 1S05, died May 
22, 1845 ; her mother was born July 14, 
1804, died aged sixty-nine. Catherine 
Pollock was a daughter of John Pollock, 
born April 6, 1770, died November 8, 1843, 
who married Anna Lynd, born October 
25, 1770, died July 14, 1857. The children 
of Josephus Guild and Anna Eliza (Shaw) 
Taft were : Charles Ezra of whom 
further; Adelaide Shaw, born June 21, 
1865, died December 10, 1867 ; Arthur 
Guild, born July 12, 1869, died in 18S9. 
Josephus Guild Taft died March 5, 191 1. 

(VIII) Dr. Charles Ezra Taft, son of 
Josephus Guild and Anna Eliza (Shaw) 
Taft, was born in Dedham, July 11, 1863, 
and died February 10, 1922. He was 
graduated from the Dedham high school 
in 1880, and then for further preparatory 
tuition went to the Chauncey Hall 
School, Boston. The next year he became 
a medical student at Harvard College, 
from which he was graduated in the class 
of 1886, with the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. As an undergraduate he ob- 
served clinical work in Boston hospitals, 



and in 1885 became an interne in the 
Boston City Hospital. He was house 
physician of that institution for eighteen 
months, during which time he gained con- 
siderable practical knowledge, and much 
special understanding of the branch of 
medicine he hoped to follow, eventually 
becoming an authority of the diseases of 
women. For gynecological research. Dr. 
Taft left the Boston City Hospital, and 
took a position as house surgeon at the 
Women's Hospital in New York City, 
where he remained until 1888, when he 
took a post-graduate course in obstetrics 
and gynecology, in order to become a spe- 
cialist in those subjects. Also while in 
New York City, Dr. Taft, by competitive 
civil examination, secured appointment, 
in 1887, as medical inspector to the Board 
of Health of New York City. After com- 
pleting the course at the Women's Hos- 
pital of New York, in March, 1888, Dr. 
Taft opened an office for private practice 
in general medicine and surgery, in the 
city of Hartford, Connecticut, where for 
eight years he was associated in practice 
with Dr. Jarvis. His research in connec- 
tion with the treatment of diseases of 
women and abdominal surgery continued, 
and in due course of time it became well 
recognized that he was master of his 
specialty. 

Dr. Taft also held professional connec- 
tion with many public institutions ; he 
was visiting surgeon at St. Francis Hos- 
pital, Hartford, for many years ; was as- 
sistant surgeon of the First Infantry 
Regiment, Connecticut National Guard, 
during the years 1894-96; and was county 
examiner and medical director of Hart- 
ford county for the New England Mutual 
Life Insurance Company; also medical 
director for the Mutual Life Insurance 
Company of New York ; the Northwestern 
Life Insurance Company, and the Provi- 
dent Life and Trust Company. He was 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



identified with several leading profes- 
sional organizations, including the New 
York Academy of Medicine, of which he 
was a Fellow ; the State Medical Society ; 
the American Medical Association ; and 
the alumni associations of the Boston 
City, Hartford City, and the New York 
Women's hospitals. He was secretary, 
vice-president and president, and one of 
the censors of the Hartford City Medical 
Society and was a Fellow of the American 
College of Surgeons. 

Dr. Taft affiliated with the Republican 
party, but did not enter actively into its 
affairs ; he was a communicant of Trinity 
Church. He was a member of the Twen- 
tieth Century Club, the Hartford Golf 
Club, and the Harvard Club. 

On November 22, 1892, Dr. Taft mar- 
ried Martha Louise Jarvis, born February 
26, 1869, daughter of Dr. G. C. Jarvis, of 
Hartford, Connecticut. They were the 
parents of : George Jarvis, born Septem- 
ber 9, 1893, educated at Berkshire School, 
Sheffield, Massachusetts, and Yale Col- 
lege, New Haven, Connecticut ; Elizabeth, 
born June 12, 1895; married John R. 
Larus, Jr.; Eleanor, born January i, 
1901, educated at the Ethel Walker 
School, Simsbury, Connecticut, and Vas- 
sar College. 



ACKLEY, WUliam K., 

Tobacco Grower and Packer, 

The name of Ackley has held an hon- 
ored place in the annals of Connecticut 
from the earliest days of settlement there. 
It is a surname, derived from the location 
of the ancestral home, being formed of 
two words : "ack," old form of oak, and 
"leigh," meaning land, so that the name 
literally translated is "Oakland," and thus 
signifies that an early ancestor lived in or 
near land where many oak trees grew. 

The founder of the American family. 



Nicholas Ackley, was a native of Wales, 
and was among the early settlers of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut. In 1655 he was 
one of the shareholders of the town mill 
of Hartford, Connecticut. In 1666 he 
agreed to settle his family at Thirty Mile 
Island, Haddam, Connecticut, which he 
did in 1667, and died in Haddam April 29, 
1695. Thomas, his son, died January 16, 
1703, but there is no record when his son 
Job, died, but Stephen, his son. died Jan- 
uary 3, 1823, and his son, Elijah, died 
February 14, 1807, and his son, Elijah, Jr., 
died July 11, 1829, living in Providence, 
Rhode Island, at the time of his death, 
leaving a son, Elijah (3), the father of 
William. 

The widow of Elijah, Jr., with the 
young son, then but six months old, came 
to East Hartford, Connecticut, to live 
with her brother, Jonah Williams. Elijah 
(3) there attended school and made a life 
business of general farming, starting early 
in life in the tree nursery business, and 
many trees in East Hartford and Hartford 
to-day came from his nursery. Later he 
took up the growing of tobacco and con- 
tinued growing it until he died in May, 
1901. He was very active in public af- 
fairs, a public-spirited citizen, and repre- 
sented the town of East Hartford in the 
Legislature, serving in the same session 
with the late P. T. Barnum. He also 
served as an assessor, and was chairman 
of the First Ecclesiastical Society of East 
Hartford for many years, and was active 
in the Grange, having served as its treas- 
urer many years and up to the time of 
his death. His wife, Mary Jane Kil- 
bourne, daughter of Alfred and Jerusha 
W. (Roberts) Kilbourne, died six weeks 
previous to his death, and left two chil- 
dren : Jennie, wife of L. D. Greene, of 
New York City; and William K. 

William K. Ackley was born in East 
Hartford, Connecticut, March 6, 1868, and 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was educated in the public schools and 
attended the Hartford High School for 
two years, also Hannum's Business Col- 
lege. 

In his younger days, he was in the rail- 
road business, working for the New York 
& New England railroad, and later was 
assistant cashier of the Hartford freight 
station of the New York, New Haven & 
Hartford railroad, again returning to the 
New England station at East Hartford to 
become chief clerk of the freight depart- 
ment, which not only cared for the local 
freight and passenger ticket office, but 
managed the large freight transfer sta- 
tion, which was the only one between 
Boston and Fishkill-on-the-Hudson. When 
he resigned his position with the railroad 
company, he was urged to reconsider his 
resignation and to become the agent for 
East Hartford station, which covered not 
only the freight department but the pas- 
senger and yard agency. Having tired of 
the railroad, he returned to the farm and 
took up tobacco growing with his father, 
and specialized on "Broad-leaf" tobacco. 
He also added to his tobacco growing the 
agricultural implement business, and was 
for several years the transfer agent for the 
International Harvester Company of 
America, of Chicago, Illinois, and sup- 
plied their local agents in Connecticut 
and Western Massachusetts with a full 
line of machines and repairs, which were 
the McCormick, Deering and Osborne 
lines. Later he dropped the implement 
business and took up the packing and 
sweating of tobacco, which he is now 
doing, representing a large tobacco 
packer, with offices in New York City. 

Mr. Ackley has been a member of the 
New England Tobacco Growers' Associa- 
tion for many years and has been its sec- 
retary since 1909. He also appeared as a 
member of a committee before the Ways 
and Means Committee in Washington, 



D. C, in January, 1921, asking for an addi- 
tional tariff on wrapper leaf tobacco. Fra- 
ternally, Mr. Ackley is a member of Orient 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; a life 
member of Pythagoras Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; W'olcott Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Washington Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, of Hartford, 
Connecticut ; and a member of the Con- 
necticut Consistory of Norwich, Connec- 
ticut; also a member of Sphinx Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mys- 
tic Shrine ; and Syria Grotto, Masonic 
Order, Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted 
Realm, of Hartford, Connecticut. 

Mr. Ackley married Helen M. Roberts, 
daughter of George W. Roberts, of Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, and they have four 
children: Miriam K., who is connected 
with Putnam & Company, stock brokers 
of Hartford ; Mary E., a graduate of 
Mount Holyoke College, and now an in- 
structor of English in the Manchester 
High School ; Frances, a graduate of Til- 
ton Academy, and now with the Connec- 
ticut Mutual Life Insurance Company ; 
Frederick R., now in the East Hartford 
High School, a member of the 1922 class. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ackley are members of 
the First Congregational Church, and Mr. 
Ackley served as a trustee and as clerk 
of the Ecclesiastical Society and was as- 
sistant treasurer for many years. 



WARNER, Howard Humphrey, 

Financier. 

The career of this individual illustrates 
the benefit of American institutions under 
which any man may advance himself by 
industry and fidelity, characteristics 
highly essential in a banker. Mr. Warner 
is descended from an early Connecticut 
family and his ancestry has been traced 
to Abraham Warner, who is said by tra- 
dition to have been a native of New 



260 



/ 



'"^'Si*$^- 



/■'^O-Jir.l^^yr^-^'-. 









•fr^ 



'.V. 



/ 







( 




Oi,yu\J . 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Haven, though he is not found in the vital 
records of that town. He was engaged 
in the meat business in New Haven and 
died in that city. His second son, Isaac 
Warner, is said to have been born in New 
Haven and came to Middletown when a 
young man. In 1796 he bought for $405, 
a lot on the south side of Ferry street. 
Here he erected a large brick shop, in 
which he conducted an extensive black- 
smithing business, operating four forges. 
With the earnings of this business, he 
purchased from John Ward, a farm at 
Long Hill, and when he retired from me- 
chanical pursuits, he continued in the 
cultivation of this farm. In response to a 
large demand, he also operated a black- 
smith shop on his farm, and fitted out 
irons for schooners. In his later years, 
his entire time was devoted to farming 
until an accident destroyed his health and 
unbalanced his mind. He married (first) 
Dianna Waterman Crosby, born in Port- 
land. Their third son, Isaac Henry 
Warner, was born February 19, 1825, in 
Middletown, and died December 19, 1884, 
in Cromwell. For many years he engaged 
in the manufacture of hammers in associa- 
tion with William M. Noble and Marvin 
R. Warner. His father, Isaac Warner, 
originated the claw hammer. He was a 
charter member of Washington Lodge, 
No. 81, Masonic Fraternity, of Cromwell; 
a public-spirited citizen and served the 
town of Cromwell as first selectman and 
representative in the State Legislature, 
holding the latter office in 1878-79. He 
married (second), June 18, 1872, Julia A. 
Ranney, of Cromwell, born November 3, 
1847, daughter of Timothy and Maria 
(Mildrum) Ranney. 

Howard Humphrey Warner, son of Isaac 
H. and Julia A. (Ranney) Warner, was 
born January 14, 1877, in Cromwell, where 
his boyhood was spent and where he at- 
tended the public schools. He was sub- 
sequently a student at the Highland Mili- 



tary Academy, Worcester, Massachusetts, 
where he graduated in 1894. For three 
years subsequently he was employed by 
the J. & E. Stevens Manufacturing Com- 
pany at North Cromwell, Connecticut, 
where he was assistant bookkeeper. Subse- 
quently he became a teller in the Colum- 
bia Trust Company of Middletown, and 
in May, 1900, became associated with the 
Central National Bank of Middletown, 
where he began as a bookkeeper, was sub- 
sequently a teller ; in 1907 became cashier ; 
and in 1916 a director. He was among 
the active organizers of the Middletown 
Trust Company and is a director and 
treasurer of the same. He is also a direc- 
tor of the East Hampton Bank & Trust 
Company, and trustee of the Middletown 
Savings Bank, and a director and at one 
time president of the Morris Plan Com- 
pany of Middletown Connecticut. He is 
one of the corporators and a trustee of 
the Cromwell Dime Savings Bank; a di- 
rector and vice-president of the Arrigoni 
Coal Company ; and in these various 
responsibilities finds plenty of occupation 
for his time. Mr. Warner is numbered 
among the progressive citizens of Middle- 
town, is highly esteemed in its social cir- 
cles ; and respected and trusted as a busi- 
nessman. He is a member of the Con- 
gregational Church of Cromwell, of St. 
John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Accepted 
Masons, and Washington Chapter, No. 6, 
Royal Arch Masons of Middletown. Mr. 
Warner married, January 21, 1898, Nellie 
C. Bliss, of Cromwell, daughter of Frank 
W. and Mary L. (Edwards) Bliss, of that 
town. They have one daughter, Helene 
Bliss Warner. 



REGAN, Francis J., 

Man of Great Usefalneu. 

Manufacturing life holds many of the 
ablest and most representative men in its 
grasp, and Francis J. Regan, one of the 



261 



EXO'CLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



most prominent and progressive manu- 
facturers in Connecticut, acquired marked 
success in his line. He was born in Rock- 
ville, Connecticut, February 25, 1861, the 
eldest son and second child of James J. 
and Mary Jane (Wilbur) Regan. 

Francis J. Regan was educated in the 
schools of Rockville. When eighteen 
years old he became associated with his 
father, entering the factory as an em- 
ployee to learn the business. He made a 
thorough study of all the details of manu- 
facture, and then went on the road as 
salesman for part of the time. In this 
manner he was able to better secure an 
insight into the wants of his customers. 
By personal contact he made many last- 
ing friends for the firm because of his 
upright business dealings and pleasing 
personality. Following the death of his 
father, August 6, 1897, Francis J. Regan 
became general manager of the business. 
Heretofore it had been under the firm 
name of James J. Regan, and in June, 
1898, it was incorporated as The James J. 
Regan Manufacturing Company, each of 
the children of the founder receiving an 
equal share of stock. At this time Mr. 
Regan became president and treasurer of 
the company, and a younger brother, Her- 
bert J. Regan, vice-president and assistant 
treasurer. 

Mr. Regan immediately began plans for 
the development of the business and to 
widen its scope of operations. That he has 
been successful in this respect is evident. 
In 1900 the firm purchased the Fitch 
Mills, where forty looms were established 
and a line of woolen goods added to the 
knitting business. This increased greatly 
the volume of business, and four years 
later a new mill was built on Brooklyn 
street, where the looms from the Fitch 
Mills were placed. A further purchase 
was made in 1913 of the Hockanum Mills 
Company on West street, and additional 



machinery installed therein. The woolen 
looms now number one hundred. During 
these years of growth an excellent name 
had been attained by the firm for its high 
quality of goods and workmanship, as 
well as integrity in business dealings. 
They sell direct and do not operate 
through any middlemen, maintaining a 
salesroom in the Fifth Avenue building. 
New York City. In 1917 the capital stock 
was increased from $240,000 to $600,000, 
and the volume of business equals $2,500,- 
000 annually. There are about four hun- 
dred expert workmen employed. A 
specialty of the firm is woolens for men's 
wear, suitings, and overcoatings. Sixty- 
five per cent, of the woolen production of 
the firm are United States government 
orders, goods suitable for uniforms. For 
many years fleece lining was manufac- 
tured at the plant of The James J. Regan 
Manufacturing Company. A large quan- 
tity of this product was used by the manu- 
facturers of rubber footwear in this coun- 
try and Canada. This business, together 
with the machinery, was recently sold. 

At the death of Colonel Francis J. 
Regan, which occurred October 10, 1919, 
Rockville lost a rare citizen, and Tolland 
county and the State of Connecticut an 
honored man of affairs, who had the con- 
fidence and respect of all who knew him. 
When measured by the standards of 
worth and success, which after all are the 
only true standards, he approximated the 
ideals of superb manhood. He was the 
friend of all who were willing and 
worthy. He spared not himself and his 
departure was from the ranks of the 
active, not the retired. It seems strange 
that Providence should take away from 
the activities of life this man of strong 
character, who was able to do so much 
good, be of so much service, and do so 
much kindness to his fellowmen. His 
death left a keenly felt vacancy and 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



brought a sharp pang to many hearts. 
Such a man is hard to spare. No man in 
Rockville will be missed or mourned 
more. "God touched him and he slept." 
There are hundreds of men and women in 
Rockville whose lives were brightened 
and whose days were gladdened because 
Mr. Francis J. Regan went in and out 
among them. To his heart there was ever 
an open window that enabled all who saw 
him to look into his soul, from which 
emanated those splendid qualities he dis- 
played in his daily association with his 
fellowmen. He wrote his name with 
love, mercy and kindness on the hearts of 
those about him. Mr. Regan's record in 
Rockville was one which many men 
might covet and which he regarded with 
becoming modesty. Indeed, he shrank at 
commendation justly earned and honestly 
bestowed. Those who knew him inti- 
mately could say most gently, "Your 
great nature was too large to be little and 
too good to be mean." 

The story of Francis J. Regan's life for 
twenty-five years preceding his death is 
closely interwoven with the history of the 
city of Rockville, to which he was loyal 
to the core. He had an integral part in 
the upbuilding of his community. He did 
not wait upon success ; he achieved it. A 
leader in his business. Colonel Regan, as 
he was known to many, stood at the very 
forefront. He had a remarkable capacity 
for work and just as remarkable executive 
ability. He conducted his business on a 
broad and humane basis. He was just, 
generous and honest. He did what he 
thought was right and then clung to it. 
He was wise in counsel, cool in judgment 
and vigorous in action. His ideals were 
pure and lofty. He trod with firm and 
unfaltering step the paths which led to 
rectitude and honor. Among all Rock- 
ville's citizens no man stands higher in 
his character, his work and the opinions 



of his fellowmen. He was a man of varied 
and marked abilities who accomplished a 
most important work in much less than 
the full span of human life. 

While Colonel Francis J. Regan was 
distinctively and preeminently a captain 
of industry and gave himself primarily to 
his business, he was a man of broad 
brotherhood and service, of clear public 
vision and true democratic ideas. It is 
not strange that a man of his qualities 
became identified with numerous enter- 
prises and various institutions, business, 
financial, civic and charitable. In all his 
relations in life, he was a good, clean- 
souled gentleman. A man of modest re- 
serve, he did not thrust himself immod- 
estly into afifairs. In all the attributes of 
his character, he was frank, open, positive. 
His judgment was always sought on 
weighty matters. What he advised al- 
ways went a long way, because he always 
thought out things. He served as a direc- 
tor of the Savings Bank of Rockville, and 
of the First National Bank of Rockville, 
and was its president at the time of his 
death. For several years he was presi- 
dent of the Rockville Water & Aqueduct 
Company. He was a trustee of the Rock- 
ville City Hospital and the Rockville Pub- 
lic Library. He was one of the best 
friends the Rockville Visiting Nurse As- 
sociation had, and also served as vice- 
president of the association. The visiting 
nurses miss the interest he had in their 
work and the means he took to lighten 
it. They are mentioned not as an excep- 
tion, but in illustration of many thought- 
ful ways he had of doing good. He was 
ever generous and thoughtful of others. 
Lovable in his character, tender in his 
sympathies, he gave freely of his material 
substance to every worthy" cause. His 
charity, gentleness and kindness were like 
flowers blooming by the wayside of life. 
The lowliest among his employees could 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seek him at any time and be assured 
of every courtesy and consideration. 
Throughout his entire life he gave his best 
to those who worked with and for him in 
an effort to build up the concern of which 
he was the directing genius and to con- 
tribute to their mutual progress and pros- 
perity and the progress and prosperity of 
Rockville. 

In religion. Colonel Francis J. Regan 
was a devout Catholic and a member of 
St. Bernard's Church. He was also a 
member of the Rockville Chamber of 
Commerce, a charter member of Rock- 
ville Lodge. No. 1359, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and a trustee 
at the time of his death. He also be- 
longed to the Hartford Club and the Hart- 
ford Golf Club. Although a Republican 
in politics, Mr. Regan never sought public 
office. He attended the Republican Na- 
tional Convention at Chicago in 1912 as a 
delegate from the Second Congressional 
District of Connecticut, and at the time of 
his death was serving his fifth year on the 
staff of Governor Marcus H. Holcomb. 
as quartermaster general, with rank of 
colonel. Governor Marcus H. Holcomb 
and Colonel Francis J. Regan were close 
personal friends. It can be said of Mr. 
Regan that he gave to his church, his busi- 
ness, his city, his home, the best there 
was in him. There was no selfish pur- 
pose in his makeup. His home life was 
ideal. He possessed those domestic vir- 
tues which stand for the integrity of the 
home. Within the sheltering privacy of 
the family circle were revealed those lov- 
able traits of his sterling character that 
will ever endear his memory to his friends. 
No one who enjoyed access to that circle 
could fail to approximate him at his true 
worth. At his death all hearts went out 
to his sweet wife, Mary (Burke) Regan, 
who graces Rockville with her splendid 
accomplishments and her beautiful life. 



The city of Rockville has gained much 
through Colonel Francis J. Regan. It 
would have gained more had he lived 
longer. The immortelles of memory, 
which fade not in a day, will cluster 
around this man's kind deeds and noble, 
useful life until memorv itself is no more. 



REGAN, Herbert J., 

Mannfactnrer. 

One of the most prominent manufac- 
turers of Eastern Connecticut, and a lead- 
ing man of affairs in his native town of 
Rockville, Connecticut, Herbert J. Regan 
is held in high esteem as a citizen and 
business man. 

He was born in Rockville, Connecticut, 
February 9, 1867, second son of James J. 
and Mary Jane (Wilbur) Regan. His 
father, James J. Regan, was a gentle- 
man of the old school and believed in 
young men starting to work at an early 
age, beginning at the bottom and learn- 
ing the business. Consequently when 
Herbert J. Regan finished his primary 
schooling, he immediately began work in 
his father's mills, although only a lad of 
twelve years. There has been no phase 
of the business that he has not performed, 
and by applying himself diligently to his 
work he rapidly progressed upward so 
that upon the death of his father he was 
competent to take an active part in the 
management of the affairs of the com- 
pany, and for several years past has held 
the office of vice-president and assistant 
treasurer of the concern. A Republican 
in politics, Mr. Regan has never been a 
seeker for office, although ever interested 
in all public movements. A real lover of 
the great out-doors he finds pleasant 
recreation from the arduous duties of 
business life in the pastime of baseball, 
hunting and fishing. The genial, pleas- 
ant personality of Mr. Regan makes it a 



264 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pleasure to know him and greet him ; the 
years of his youth spent in hard work 
have developed the fine physical strength 
which he naturally possesses, and the 
qualities of the man of ability and power 
are present in abundance in his character. 
Mr. Regan married, in 1899, Mary Jane 
Eccles, daughter of Thomas Eccles, of 
Rockville, Connecticut. Mr. and Mrs. 
Regan are the foster parents of a son, 
Thomas E., whom they are liberally edu- 
cating and fitting to become a useful cit- 
izen. They are bringing up two daugh- 
ters, Catherine E. Eccles and Helen Ger- 
trude Eagan, giving them the comforts 
of a pleasant home and a good education, 
fitting them for their place in the world. 
These are only a few of the kind acts per- 
formed by Mr. Regan and his wife, to 
whom "kindness of heart is second nature 
itself." 



RUSSELL, Thomas Macdonough, 
Mechanical Engineer, Manufacturer. 

The Russells of New England came of 
distinguished English ancestors. The name 
has been prominent in Connecticut, and is 
numerous in all of the New England 
States. As early as 1826. there were 
forty-seven of the family graduated from 
New England colleges. 

The name is compounded of two Nor- 
man-French words, roz, castle, and el, a 
synonym for eau, water. The name was 
first given to a castle in Lower Nor- 
mandy, in 1045, and implied, later, to any 
tower or castle by the water. Hugh, son 
of William Bertrand, was invested with 
this stronghold and took its name, call- 
ing himself Hugh Rozel, from which 
came Rosel, Rousel, and, finally, the pres- 
ent Russell. 

The immigrant ancestor of the family 
herein under consideration was William 
Russell, who came, in 1638, from Eng- 



land, and died January 2, 1664, at New 
Haven, the death of his wife, whose 
maiden name was Sarah Davis, occurring 
December 3 of the same year. Their son. 

Rev. Noadiah Russell, was born July 
22, 1659, in New Haven, and in 1681 
graduated from Harvard College. For a 
time after his graduation he was a tutor 
there. He was one of the founders of 
Yale College, and one of the original trus- 
tees of that institution, serving in that 
capacity from 1701 to 1713. Rev. Noa- 
diah Russell was also one of the framers 
of the famous Saybrook platform. For a 
quarter of a century he was the revered 
and beloved pastor of the First Church of 
Middletown, and it was written of him 
at that time that "He was accounted a 
man of wisdom and weight throughout 
the colony." So well did he win the 
hearts of his congregation and fellow- 
citizens that, after his death, his son was 
asked to succeed him. He married, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1690, Mary Hamlin, born Feb- 
ruary II, 1662, daughter of Honorable 
Giles and Hester Hamlin, of Middletown. 
Their son. 

Rev. William Russell, was born No- 
vember 30, 1690, and in 1709 was gradu- 
ated from Yale, where subsequently he 
was a tutor. From 1745 to 1761, he 
served as trustee, and was offered the po- 
sition of president or rector of Yale Col- 
lege, being the first of the alumni to be 
thus honored. He did not accept, how- 
ever, accepting instead, the pastorship of 
the First Church of Middletown, succeed- 
ing his father, which charge he held until 
his death, June i, 1761, a period of forty- 
six years. He married, August 19, 1719, 
Mary Pierpont, born November 23, 1703, 
in New Haven, died June 24, 1740, in Mid- 
dletown, daughter of Rev. James and 
Mary (Hooker) Pierpont, of New Haven. 

James Pierpont was one of the original 
founders of Yale University and a trus- 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tee from 1701 to 1714. His wife, Mary 
Hooker, born July 3, 1673, in Farmington, 
was a daughter of Rev. Samuel and Mary 
(Willett) Hooker, of that town, and 
granddaughter of Rev. Thomas Hooker, 
one of the founders of the Hartford 
Colony. 

Samuel Russell, son of Rev. William 
and Mary (Pierpont) Russell, was born 
July 7, 1727, in Middletown, where he 
made his home. There he married, Au- 
gust 29, 1757, Ruth Wetmore, born Au- 
gust II, 1737, youngest child of Daniel 
and Dorothy (Hale) Wetmore, of Mid- 
dle-town, descended from Francis Wet- 
more, a pioneer of that town, formerly of 
Cambridge, Massachusetts. Samuel Rus- 
sell and wife were the parents of: 

John Russell, who was born August 19, 
1765, died December 7, 1801. He mar- 
ried, June 29, 1788, Abigail Warner, who 
was born December 4, 1759, died July 11, 
1846, daughter of Joseph and Alice 
(Ward) Warner, of Middletown. Their 
son, 

Samuel Russell, was born August 25, 
1789. He was the founder of the house 
of Russell & Company, in partnership 
with other gentlemen, in Canton, China, 
in 1824. He married, October 6, 1815, 
Mary Cotton Osborne, a descendant of 
Cotton, Increase and Samuel Mather, 
born December 29, 1796, died September 
4, 1819. She was the mother of 

George Osborne Russell, who was born 
July 5, 1816, in Middletown, and married 
(first), May 16, 1843, Augusta Harriet 
Mather, born July 17, 1824. She died 
April 8, 1844, and he married (second) 
Amelia Charlotte Mather, daughter of 
Thomas and Sally A. (Williams) Mather, 
of Middletown, and sister of his first wife. 

Samuel Mather, son of Richard and 
Catherine (Wise) Mather, was born Jan- 
uary 3, 1684, in Lyme, and died there 
July 12, 1785. He married, January, 1712, 



Deborah S. Starr, and their eldest son, 
Richard Mather, was born December 22, 
1712, in Lyme, where he lived. He mar- 
ried. May 18, 1742, Deborah Ely, and 
their eldest son, Samuel Mather, born 
February 22, 1745, married, November 14, 
1765, Lois Griswold. Their eldest son, 
Thomas Mather, born October 10, 1768, 
in Lyme, died March 6, 1849, in Middle- 
town. He married (second) Sally A. 
Williams, daughter of Benjamin Wil- 
liams. Their daughter, Amelia Charlotte, 
became the wife of George O. Russell, as 
previously noted. To his second mar- 
riage were born two children : Samuel, 
of further mention ; and George Osborne 
Russell. 

Samuel Russell, son of George Osborne 
and Amelia Charlotte (Mather) Russell, 
was born September 8, 1847, in Middle- 
town, and educated at the Russell School 
in New Haven, and in the Phillips Acad- 
emy, Andover, Massachusetts. He spent 
two years in an architect's office in New 
York City, for twelve years he served as 
vice-president and a member of the board 
of directors of the Russell Manufacturing 
Company, and from 1918 to the present 
has again served as vice-president. He 
was a director of the Bombay Tramway 
Company of India; and vice-president of 
the Middletown Savings Bank, and is 
now (1922) trustee of the Connecticut 
Hospital for the Insane, of the Connecti- 
cut Industrial School, of the Russell Li- 
brary, and of St. Luke's Home. His clubs 
are the Union and Lenox, and the Car- 
rituck Shooting Club. Mr. Russell is 
an independent in politics, and a member 
of the Episcopal church of Middletown. 
He married Lucy Macdonough Hubbard, 
born November 6, 1846, died February 2, 
1876, daughter of Henry G. Hubbard, and 
a descendant of George Hubbard, who 
was settled in Hartford in 1639. 

George Hubbard, born in 1601, in Eng- 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA Ol" BIOGRAPHY 



land, was in Hartford as early as 163x5, and 
in the following year married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Richard and Elizabeth Watts. 
In the same year he was assigned a home 
lot on the east side of the river and in 
March, 165 1, was one of the band which 
settled Middletown. He was admitted as 
a freeman in 1654, and owned much land 
on both sides of the river, with a home on 
what is now Main street. He was one of 
three who contributed land for the Sec- 
ond Meeting House, and died March 18, 
1684. His widow, Elizabeth, died in 1702. 
His eldest son, Joseph Hubbard, born De- 
cember 10, 1643, iri Hartford, died in Mid- 
dletown, December 26, 1686. The inven- 
tory of his estate, made in December, 
1686, included one hundred forty-six acres 
of land, live stock and tools, and other 
property valued at one hundred forty 
pounds. He married, December 29, 1670, 
Mary Porter, born February 5, 1655, died 
in Middletown, June 10, 1707, daughter of 
Dr. Daniel and Mary Porter, of Farming- 
ton. Their second son, Robert Hubbard, 
born October 30, 1673, in Middletown, 
died there June 19, 1740. He married, 
March 4, 1703, Abigail Atkins Ward, born 
September 11, 1676, died April 23, 1735, 
daughter of Josiah and Elizabeth (At- 
kins) Ward, of Middletown. The only 
son of this marriage, Robert Hubbard, 
born July 30, 1712, in Middletown, died 
there January 29, 1779. About 1730 he 
settled on East Long Hill, where he en- 
gaged in agriculture. He married, Octo- 
ber 9, 1735, Elizabeth Sill, born Novem- 
ber 20, 1707, in Lyme, second daughter of 
Captain Joseph and Phoebe (Lord) Sill, 
granddaughter of Joseph and Jemima 
(Belcher) Sill, and great-granddaughter 
of John Sill, born in England, who came 
with his wife, Joanna, to Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1637, and was made a free- 
man the following year, both he and his 
wife being members of the Cambridge 



church. Elijah Hubbard, fourth son of 
Robert, born in 1745, in Middletown, died 
May 30, 1808, while attending a session of 
the State Assembly in Hartford. In May, 
1777. he was appointed commissary and 
superintendent of stores for the Connecti- 
cut Revolutionary troops. He was a mer- 
chant engaged in the West India trade, 
and in banking, and left an estate valued 
at $144,971.91. He married, January 5, 
1772, Hannah Kent, born March 7, 1746, 
in Middletown, died December 9, 1778, 
daughter of John and Abigail (Dicken- 
son) Kent. Their youngest child, Elijah 
Hubbard, born July 31, 1777, graduated 
at Yale in 1795, was justice of the peace, 
mayor, president of a bank, and died De- 
cember 4, 1846. He married, December 
26, 1810, Lydia Mather, born August 11, 
1790, died March 5, 1850, eleventh and 
youngest child of Samuel and Lois (Gris- 
wold) Mather. Their second son, Henry 
Griswold Hubbard, born October 8, 1814, 
in Middletown, attended the Norwich 
Military Academy, at Norwich, Vermont ; 
and the Ellington High School and Wes- 
leyan University. Early in life he was 
associated with Jabez Hubbard, a dealer 
in woolen goods in New York City, and 
in 1833, when nineteen years of age, he 
became a partner of Jesse G. Baldwin in 
the dry goods business, at Middletown. At 
the age of twenty-one years, he became 
general manager of the Russell Manufac- 
turing Company of Middletown, and in 
1844, at the age of thirty years, was made 
a director of the Middletown National 
Bank and president of the Middletown 
Savings Bank. In 1866, he was elected 
to represent what was then the Eighteenth 
Senate District of Connecticut, but did 
not continue in politics, as he preferred to 
devote his entire attention to his exten- 
sive business interests. Quick in deci- 
sion, energetic and able, he was notably 
successful and became wealthv. He was 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



generous, kind to his employees, a man of 
fine presence, widely esteemed, and died 
July 29, 1891. He married, June 19, 1S44, 
Charlotte Rosella Macdonough, daughter 
of Thomas and Lucy Ann (Shailer) Mac- 
donough, descended from an early Mary- 
land family, granddaughter of Commo- 
dore Macdonough, the hero of Lake 
Champlain. 

The first known ancestor of the Mac- 
donough family was Thomas Macdon- 
ough, who lived about twelve miles from 
Dublin, at a place called "Salmon Leap." 
He married Julia Coyne and they were 
the parents of Joseph Macdonough, 
born 1712, at "Salmon Leap," on the Lif- 
fey river. County Kildare, Ireland, who 
came to America in 1730 and settled in St. 
George's Hundred, Newcastle county, 
Delaware, where he died January 18, 1792. 
He married, in 1746. Lydia, daughter of 
Peter Laroux, also of St. George's Hun- 
dred. Their eldest child, Major Thomas 
Macdonough, was born in 1747, at a 
place called the "Trap," Newcastle county, 
and died November 10, 1795. He was 
educated as a physician, enlisted at the 
outbreak of the Revolutionary War, was 
commander of a battalion under General 
Washington in the Long Island cam- 
paign, and subsequently during the Revo- 
lution. He was prominent in civil and 
church affairs and married, in 1776, Mary, 
daughter of Samuel Vance, born in 1751, 
died November i, 1792. Their second 
son, Thomas Macdonough, was born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1783, at the "Trap" and was 
very active during the War of 1812, com- 
manding the fleet which defeated a greatly 
superior British force at the famous bat- 
tle of Lake Champlain. After the Revo- 
lution, he settled at Middletown and mar- 
ried Lucy Ann Shailer, of the Haddam 
family. They were the parents of Char- 
lotte R. Macdonough, who became the 
wife of Henry G. Hubbard, as previously 



noted, and mother of Lucy Macdonough 
Hubbard, wife of Samuel Russell. 

Thomas Macdonough Russell, son of 
Samuel and Lucy Macdonough (Hub- 
bard) Russell, was born April 11, 1874, in 
Middletown, where he has achieved dis- 
tinction as an engineer and as a business 
man. Although the heir to wealth, he 
early in life set about marking out his 
own career and is still industriously pur- 
suing business and performing his mis- 
sion as a leading citizen of Middletown, 
to the best interests of which city he is 
devoted. As a boy he attended the public 
schools and Wilson's Private School in 
Middletown, and subsequently was a stu- 
dent at St. Mark's Preparatory School, 
Southboro, Massachusetts, from which he 
was graduated in 1893. He aftervi^ard 
pursued a course of engineering at the 
Shefifleld Scientific School of Yale Uni- 
versity, and in 1895 entered the machine 
shop of the Russell Manufacturing Com- 
pany of Middletown, where he gained a 
practical experience, fitting him for fur- 
ther usefulness. After four years in this 
establishment, he opened an office in Mid- 
dletown and from 1900 to 1910 engaged 
in general engineering, civil, mechanical 
and electrical. In 1910 he became chief 
engineer of the Russell Manufacturing 
Company, having charge of its extensive 
plant, and for the succeeding four years 
was treasurer of the company. In 1916 
he became president of the company, 
which position he still holds. Mr. Russell 
is actively identified with other interests 
of Middletown, being director of the Mid- 
dletown Savings Bank and of the Central 
National Bank, and a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce. He is a vestry- 
man of Holy Trinity Church, a member 
of St. John's Lodge, No. 2, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; of Washington Chapter, 
No. 6, Royal Arch Masons, and of Cyrene 
Commandery, No. 8, Knights Templar, 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which latter body he has served as com- 
mander. For eighteen years he has been 
a member of the Board of Education of 
Middletown ; in 1908-09 was mayor of the 
city, and in 1902 represented his district 
in the State Legislature, serving as a 
member of the Committee on Finance. In 
1898 he enlisted as a member of Company 
H, Second Regiment, Connecticut State 
Guard, was promoted to the rank of cap- 
tain in 1902, resigning this position in 
1908 to become paymaster of the regi- 
ment, in which capacity he served for two 
3^ears. In 1909 he was major on the 
staff of the Governor, and is now lieuten- 
ant-colonel of the Sixth Regiment. Con- 
necticut State Guard. In all the various 
activities in promotion of the recent 
World War, Mr. Russell bore his part, 
and he is everywhere recognized as a citi- 
zen devoted to duty wherever it may call 
him. 

Colonel Russell was married, Novem- 
ber I, 1899, to Henrietta Ingersoll, who 
was born August 2, 1874, in New Haven, 
daughter of Jonathan and Grace (Skin- 
ner) Ingersoll, of that city, a descendant 
of John Ingersoll, who was early at Hart- 
ford, and subsequently at Northampton 
and Westfield, Massachusetts. .She is a 
member of Wadsworth Chapter, Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution, and ac- 
tive in all patriotic and social works of 
the community. 



ANDERSON, Carl Frederick, 

Lawyer, Jnrist, World War Soldier. 

A native of Portland, Mr. Anderson is 
a grandson of Jonas Anderson, who came 
from Uddevalla, Sweden, to America, and 
settled in Portland, in 1874. Two years 
later he engaged in farming in the section 
of the town known as Bucktown, where 
he continued until his death. His son, 
Ferdinand Anderson, was born near Ud- 



devalla, Elfsborg's Lan, Sweden, and was 
an infant when he came with his mother 
to join the father in Portland. For a 
period of forty-three years he was con- 
nected with the grocery trade in Portland 
and Middletown, during the last twenty 
years of his life being a joint owner with 
Oscar Thompson of O. Thompson & 
Company, in Middletown. His death oc- 
curred February 22, 1921. He married 
Hannah Sophia Bengtson, who was born 
in the parish of Akstolna, Halland's Lan, 
Sweden, daughter of Bengt Johan Nilson 
and Severina Anderson. 

Carl Frederick Anderson, son of Ferdi- 
nand and Hannah Sophia (Bengtson) An- 
derson, was born July 7, 1888, in Port- 
land, where he attended the grammar and 
high schools, graduating from the latter 
in 1906. Subsequently, he attended the 
Connecticut Business College of Middle- 
town, and on leaving that institution was 
employed in the treasurer's office of the 
Corbin Cabinet Lock Division of the 
American Hardware Corporation, at New 
Britain, Connecticut. After three years 
in this employment, having saved much 
of his earnings, he entered Augustana 
College, at Rock Island, Illinois, from 
which he was graduated Bachelor of Arts 
in 191 3. Entering the Yale Law School, 
he was graduated Bachelor of Laws in 
1916. While pursuing his law course, he 
also took special courses at Columbia 
University, in 1915. Immediately after 
leaving the law school, he became asso- 
ciated with Judge Gustaf B. Carlson, of 
Middletown, which association still con- 
tinues. On June 19, 1919, he was com- 
missioned by Governor Holcomb as asso- 
ciate judge of the City Court of Middle- 
town, being reappointed by the General 
Assembly at the 192 1 session. Mr. An- 
derson entered the United States service, 
May I, 1918, as a member of the infantry, 
but was soon transferred to the quarter- 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



master's department, being a sergeant in 
the Headquarters Detachment and also 
in Company C of the 104th Supply Train 
of the 29th Division (National Guard). 
While in the service in France he pursued 
a course in law in the Sorbonne, at Paris. 
He was discharged May 31, 1919, and 
immediately returned to practice in Mid- 
dletown, where he now resides. He is a 
member of the Zion Lutheran Evangeli- 
cal Church of Portland. While at Yale, 
he was a member of Book & Gavel, and of 
Calhoun Chapter of Phi Alpha Delta. He 
is a member of Warren Lodge, No. 51, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Portland ; 
of Washington Chapter, No. 6, Royal 
Arch Masons, of Middletown ; Columbia 
Council, No. 9, Royal and Select Masters, 
of Middletown ; Cyrene Commandery, 
No. 8, of Middletown ; Sphinx Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mys- 
tic Shrine, of Hartford. Mr. Anderson 
has been very active in the formation of 
the Middletown Service Men's Club, 
which is composed of veterans of the 
World War, serving first as adjutant and 
later as commander. In political princi- 
ple, he is a Republican. 



MONTEITH, Henry Ruthven, 

Talented Educator. 

It has been well and truly said that the 
teacher's desk and the pulpit represent 
the palladium of the finest attainments of 
civilization throughout the ages. It was 
in the former place that Henry Ruthven 
Monteith labored for many years of de- 
voted and splendidly rewarded service, 
absorbed in his work, inspired by high 
ideals, and regardless of distinction or 
credit if the ends he sought were reached. 
Thus it was that, whether in high school 
or college, he came into relation with stu- 
dents not as a teacher of facts found in 
uooks but as an interpreter of life's 



truths, as the medium through which they 
glimpsed the possibilities and opportuni- 
ties of the future. The weight of years 
that burdened his body were powerless to 
affect the youth of his spirit, and so, even 
when the conferring of the title "profes- 
sor emeritus'' marked the laying aside of 
his more arduous duties, his place in the 
hearts of his associates, students and 
faculty, was his, and his alone, to the end. 
And beyond, for in that treasure house of 
memory where life's purest gold is kept, 
the influence and uplift of his work and 
example will be eternally guarded. 

Son of William Ruthven and Isabel 
(Gilchrist) Monteith, the former born in 
Aberdeen, Scotland, and a professor and 
farmer of Vermont, Henry Ruthven Mon- 
teith was born at Mclndoes Falls, Ver- 
mont, April 12, 1848, where he attended 
public school and Mclndoes Falls Acad- 
emy. After college preparation he ma- 
triculated at Dartmouth College, where 
he became a member of the Psi Epsilon 
college fraternity, and whence he was 
graduated in the class of 1869. He then 
left his Vermont home and went to New 
York City, where for two years he was 
a student with a well-known law firm. 
Admitted to the bar in New York, in 1871, 
he spent six or seven years in professional 
practice in that city, with the exception of 
a brief period as a teacher in the Mcln- 
does Falls Academy, of his native place. 

In 1879 the sudden resignation, because 
of ill health, of Principal L. L. Clapp, of 
the Unionville, Connecticut High School, 
caused Mr. Monteith to be sought as his 
successor and thus he entered upon the 
work that, in various phases, occupied 
him until the close of his life. 

Here his natural ability as a teacher 
and his tireless efforts brought about, in 
1882, the first graduating exercises of the 
Unionville High School, Judge Joseph P. 
Tuttle, of Hartford, being a member of 



270 




^. A^ i^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



this class. For twenty years Professor 
Monteith served this school as principal, 
resigning to accept the professorship of 
history and English in the Connecticut 
Agricultural College. In the larger insti- 
tution, as in the smaller, he won his way 
to the hearts of the student body and to 
the admiration and respect of all who 
came in contact with him. In 191 1 he 
was given a year's leave of absence from 
the Connecticut Agricultural College, and 
at this time a group of his former stu- 
dents at Unionville joined to give an ex- 
pression of their high esteem which took 
the form of payment of his expenses on a 
three months' tour through France, Ger- 
many, Switzerland and Italy. There was 
no branch of school or college work that 
did not hold his sincere interest as affect- 
ing the welfare and development of the 
students, and his counsel and suggestions 
had unusual weight, not as from a profes- 
sor alone, but as from a proved friend. 

In 1919 Professor Monteith was made 
professor emeritus at the Storrs institu- 
tion, where he habitually made the jour- 
ney from his home three days a week to 
lecture, and was serving thus at the time 
of his death. A tribute paid him while he 
was living in itself speaks volumes for his 
standing in the college. The students 
wished his portrait for the school library 
and, none being available, they raised a 
fund to have Mr. Monteith's portrait 
painted, commissioning Robert B. Bran- 
degee, of Farmington, to supervise the 
work, which was done in his studio in 
Farmington by one of the students, Har- 
old Green, of Hartford. 

IMr. Monteith was a member of the 
Church of Christ (Congregational), and 
fraternally, affiliated with Evening Star 
Lodge, No. loi. Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, also with Masacope Tribe, 
No. 23, Improved Order of Red Men. 

He married, in 1873, in New York City, 



Ella Ryder, who survives him with two 
daughters: Isabel, a talented violinist 
and teacher of Hartford ; and Marjorie, 
who married Robert K. Vibert, a mer- 
chant of Panama City, Panama, and has 
three sons and one daughter. 

This record of one of Connecticut's 
honored educators closes with the fol- 
lowing tribute from one of his intimate 
colleagues, Marshall Dawson, chaplain of 
Connecticut Agricultural College: 

Let us now praise famous men. 
By whom the Lord hath wrought great glory. 
Such as did bear rule in their kingdoms, 
And were men renowned for their power, 
Giving counsel by their understanding. 

There is a Western college which annexed a 
mountain, and added it, by student tradition, to 
the faculty, decreeing that no student should 
graduate from the institution until he had climbed 
to the top and seen the horizon from that van- 
tagepoint. 

It was the good fortune of the students of the 
Connecticut Agricultural College to have had the 
friendly compulsion to climb, brought to them, not 
indeed by a mountain of granite, but by the pres- 
ence on the faculty of that institution of Henry 
Ruthven Monteith. 

He was a man above the average in stature and 
in mental attainments. His presence among the 
student body was that of one "giving counsel by 
(his) understanding." A classical scholar thrust, 
by Fate or Providence, into the classrooms of a 
vocational school, his presence was a living re- 
minder of attainments which provoke wonder, if 
not emulation in our minds. It is the presence 
oi such men, in the lecture room, that constitutes 
a university. There were things in Professor 
Monteith which his students could not compre- 
hend ; but to the magnitude of which their hearts 
were responsive. His attainments and person- 
ality made them conscious of the presence of a 
mountain, and constantly reminded them of 
reaches of scholarship that challenge us to climb, 
seeking the wider horizon. 

We are told that the power of the law of gra- 
vitation, over an object, is in proportion to the 
mass of that attracting body and also upon the 
ratio of its nearness. In these two things we 
find the secret of Professor Monteith's power as 
a teacher, which operated more as influence than 
as the direct and measurable imparting of facts. 
Indeed, as Mr. Monteith would say with playful 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seriousness, "Nature has wisely provided that the 
mind of youth is absolutely immune to ideas." 
Meaning, of course, to classroom ideas. Aware 
of that competition which the present day teacher 
faces in the effort to impart ideas. Professor Mon- 
teith relied, first, for success in educating young 
men, upon the power of his scholarship itself, 
plus his nearness to his students. He made his 
role that of a scholar moving familiarly among 
growing minds. The sun of his scholarship shone 
amongst us. 

Hence, those who could learn from him grew 
in scholarship; and those who cared little to learn, 
grew, nevertheless, to some measure, in respect 
for scholarship because they could not but love 
the Scholar. The reaHzation of Professor Mon- 
teith's importance to his students grew upon them 
with the passing years. In the heydey of their 
thoughtlessness, he was simply a grand old man, 
a noble lion of which the campus was proud. 
But, in the days after graduation, when the once 
rollicking student came back, year after year, to 
revisit his alma mater he thought, more and more. 
With that growth in apprehension which life 
brings, the day would inevitably come when the 
graduate would say, "Professor Monteith meant 
more to me than anything else in my college 
experience." 

In his teaching method. Professor Monteith 
broadcasted his ideas; he did not cramp them to 
the narrow and exact lines of drills or squares. 
His faith was that of the sower of old time; that 



petuate, as a tradition among the students of 
coming generations, the place and influence of 
Mr. Monteith as one of the builders of the Con- 
necticut Agricultural College. Thus there will 
be a visible reminder amongst us of his love for 
the college and its students, and of their devotion 
to him. In his latter years Mr. Monteith's life 
became merged more and more completely in the 
college ; and, through his portrait, painted at the 
instance of his students, he will be amongst us as 
one who, "being dead, yet speaketh." 



MASLEN, Stephen, 

Man of Enterprise. 

The story of the Hfe of Stephen Maslen, 
for almost half a century engaged in the 
monumental and statuary business in 
Hartford, Connecticut, is the story of 
steady, persistent efforts towards worthy 
ambitions and of the success which step 
by step was won by his industry and tal- 
ent. For many years he occupied a recog- 
nized and enviable position among the 
well known citizens of Hartford. 

Mr. Maslen was born September 6, 
1845, at Strowbridge, England, and died 
at Hartford, Connecticut, May 28, 1909. 
His father, James Maslen, was born Janu- 



some seed would fall among thorns, some on stony ^ „ r. , , ■ , a rr- \ 

J J „ ■ i„ii o„;i K„f *v,nf ^.i,», ary 10, 1808, and his mother, Ann (Larr) 
ground, and some m shallow soil, but that other j ' > > v 

seed would fall upon fertile loam, and bring Maslen, November 12, 1805. His educa- 
tion was obtained in the schools of Strow- 
bridge. He came to America, April 24, 
1864, settling first at Sturbridge, Massa- 
chusetts, later removing to Springfield. 
He learned the trade of stone-cutter, and 
in 1870 came to Hartford, where he en- 
gaged in the monumental and statuary 
business on his own account. 

Mr. Maslen directed his most earnest 
eiTorts to the development of his business, 
and in 1902 it was incorporated as the 
Stephen Maslen Corporation, the corpo- 
rators being: Stephen Maslen; H. L. 
Maslen, and Charles C. Maslen. During 
the active years of his life, Mr. Maslen 
was the president and treasurer of this 
company, the son succeeding to the re- 



forth a hundredfold. Hence the prodigality with 
which this scholar cast, to right and left, the 
treasures of his mind, "things new and old," 
things piquant and things profound, things of this 
world and things of the "outermost rim and be- 
yond." To talk with him was an education in 
itself; and to be with him was to catch the man- 
ner of gentlemen and thinking folk. 

Thus, Mr. Monteith's place, in the minds of 
student and graduate, came to be unique. As the 
common saying went, he was "popular." It would 
be truer to say, he was loved. As a beautiful 
testimony of this, the students of the college dur- 
ing the last year undertook the responsibility of 
raising funds for having Mr. Monteith's portrait 
painted. This portrait, finished by Mr. Green a 
few days before Mr. Monteith's death, is said to 
be of a high order, and permission has been asked 
for exhibiting it. 

By this means the students of to-day will per- 



272 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sponsibility at his death. The latter had 
been associated in the business since 1891. 
Under Mr. Maslen's personal direction 
many commemorative monuments were 
designed and executed for both public 
and private use. 

Mr. Maslen v/as a member of the Put- 
nam Phalanx; and the Hartford Busi- 
ness men's Association. Fraternally he 
was a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Pythagoras 
Chapter, No. 17, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Wolcott Council, No. i. Royal and Select 
Masters ; Washington Commandery, No. 
I, Knights Templar; Sphinx Temple, An- 
cient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. His church membership was 
with the South Baptist Church, and he 
was an earnest worker in the causes of 
religion. He was the founder of the mis- 
sion in Parkville, which developed into 
the Olivet Baptist Church. He was one 
of those comparatively rare individuals 
to whom religion is not a matter of pro- 
, fession pure and simple, but a practical 
guide for the problems and difficulties of 
every day life and labor. 

Mr. Maslen was gifted with a particu- 
larly fine singing voice and was a musi- 
cian of ability. He sang in several 
churches throughout the city, and was 
also a member of the male quartet of 
which Ludlow Barker was the head. Dur- 
ing his years of singing in churches and 
other places Mr. Maslen would never ac- 
cept a cent of recompense ; he freely gave 
the pleasure of his talent to the public, 
finding pleasure in pleasing others. 

Mr. Maslen married, September 4, 1872, 
Harriet L. Brown, of Kingston, Khode 
Island, daughter of Jeremiah S. and Mary 
(Conley) Brown, and a descendant of 
Chad Brown (see Brown line). 

Mr. and Mrs. Maslen were the parents 
of the following children : Charles C. ; 
Carrie L., wife of Frederick Kenyon ; 
Mary E. ; and George S. 

Conn — 10 — 18 273 



A man of rather retiring disposition, 
Mr. Maslen was devoted to the society 
of his own family, including eleven grand- 
children, and found his greatest happi- 
ness in this gentle intercourse. He was a 
devoted husband, father and friend, and 
throughout life displayed a noble disin- 
terestedness in connection with his own 
happiness, being always ready and will- 
ing to sacrifice it if by so doing that of 
others whom he loved could be assured. 

(The Brown Line). 

Chad Brown, the American ancestor of 
the Brown family from which Mrs. Har- 
riet L. (Brown) Maslen is descended, 
came with his wife, Elizabeth, and his 
children, to Boston, Massachusetts, in the 
ship "Martin," in July, 1638, and the 
same year removed to Providence, Rhode 
Island, where he became the first settled 
minister of the First Baptist Church in 
1642. The college buildings of Brown 
University are built on the site of the 
original homestead of this ancestor, the 
land being repurchased by John and 
Moses Brown, great-great-grandsons of 
Chad Brown. The burying place was 
originally near the northwest corner of 
the old courthouse, and in 1792 the re- 
mains were removed to the North Bury- 
ing Ground. 

Jeremiah Brown, son of Chad Brown, 
was of Newport, Rhode Island, in 1671, 
and of Kingston in 1690. The Christian 
name of his wife was Mary, and they 
were the parents of Samuel Brown, of 
whom further. 

Samuel Brown was born in March, 
1680, and died in 1762. He married (first), 
October 22, 1702, Mary, whose surname 
is not on record ; he married (second) 
Mercy Weeden Carr, daughter of Edward 
and Hannah (Stanton) Carr, of James- 
town. His grave was located near his 
house. He was the father of Jeremiah 
Brown, of whom further. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Jeremiah (2) Brown was born October 
29, 1707, and died August 30, 1796. He 
married, December 9. 1742, Hannah Sher- 
man, born October 28, 1713, died October 
9, 1804, daughter of Abiel and Dorcas 
(Gardiner) Sherman. His will was dated 
January 22, 1795, and was proved Sep- 
tember 27, 1796. They were the parents 
of Jeremiah (3) Brown, of whom further. 

Jeremiah (3) Brown was born January 
7, 1747, and died June 28, 1829. He mar- 
ried, September 29, 1776, Ellenor Lilli- 
bridge. born in 1755, died February 16, 
1831, daughter of John and Susannah 
(Segar) Lillibridge. They were the par- 
ents of Benjamin Brown, of whom fur- 
ther. 

Benjamin Brown was born June 6, 1777, 
and died April 10, 1855. His first wife 
was Elizabeth Watson, born June 24, 
1790, daughter of Elisha and Susannah 
(Perry) Watson; he married (second) 
Prudence Rose, of New Shoreham. Ben- 
jamin Brown was the father of Jeremiah 
S. Brown, of whom further. 

Jeremiah S. Brown married Mary Con- 
ley, and they were the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Harriet L., who became the wife of 
Stephen Maslen, as above noted. 



HOWARD, Wingate Chase, 

Manufacturer, Liong a Public Servant. 

For some twenty-four years, the effi- 
cient and obliging clerk of the town of 
Middletown, Mr. Howard, made many 
friendships by the faithful performance 
of his duty, by his uniform courtesy and 
by his untiring industry in serving the 
community. His paternal ancestor, Lloyd 
Howard, was among the recent immi- 
grants from England and settled in Cats- 
kill, Greene county. New York, where 
Lyman Howard, the son, was born and 
spent the first twelve years of his life. 
Lyman Howard then went to New York 



City and was for some time employed on 
the Connecticut river steamers. With a 
gift for mechanical operations, he soon 
became a fireman and after a time was 
employed in the same capacity on an 
ocean steamer. At the end of three 
years he became first engineer, and within 
a brief time thereafter was made inspec- 
tor of the Morgan Line of sea-going 
steamers, with office in New York. In 
time he formed a partnership with Rich- 
ard Peck, and founded the Washington 
Iron Works, located on West street. New 
York, which was conducted under the 
name Peck, Howard & Company. An 
extensive business was built up in the 
manufacture of steam engines and boil- 
ers, and the fitting out of ocean steamers 
with power machinery. During Presi- 
dent Cleveland's first administration, he 
was made local inspector of Government 
steam boilers and steam vessels, with an 
office in the Post Office Building in New 
York. Owing to declining health, he re- 
signed this position in December, 1901, 
and removed to Middletown, where he 
made his home with his son, Wingate, 
and where he died, March 25, 1902. Mr. 
Howard was a self-made man, achieving 
honorable and responsible positions by 
his own force of character. He was a 
close student of men and affairs, and was 
respected for his sterling honesty and 
faithful industry. He married, July 2, 
1855, at Deep River, Connecticut, Han- 
nah Brockway, who was born in that 
place, daughter of Roswell and Catherine 
(Tyler) Brockway, and granddaughter of 
Elijah and Sarah (Avery) Brockway. 
Her maternal ancestors were prominent 
in the Revolutionary War, as were also 
those of Mr. Brockway. 

The Brockway family is descended 
from Wollston Brockway, who, born 
about 1638, was settled at Lyme, Connec- 
ticut, as early as December 3, 1659, ^^ 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which time he purchased land on the east 
side of the river, opposite Saybrook. In 

1703, he purchased forty acres near the 
present site of Brockway's Ferry, and in 
1688 was assessed on property valued at 
103 pounds. He was often in the public 
service, and was a useful citizen. He 
married Hannah Brig-gs, widow of John 
Harris, of Boston, born August 28, 1642, 
in that town, daughter of William and 
Mary Briggs, died February 6, 1688. 
Their eldest son, William Brockway, born 
July 25, 1666, in Lyme, received from his 
father a deed of land, June 8. 1697, and in 
1709 was living at Brockway's Ferry, 
where he died March 29, 1755. He estab- 
lished the ferry, in association with Wil- 
liam Pratt, who lived on the west side of 
the river in 1724. He married, March 8, 
1692, Elizabeth, whose family name has 
not been preserved. Their fourth son, 
Ebenezer Brockway, born October 29, 

1704, in Lyme, married, February 11, 
1735, Sarah Buckingham, born August i, 
1712, descendant of Thomas Brockway, 
of Milford, who arrived at Boston, June 
26, 1637, removed next year to New Ha- 
ven with Rev. John Davenport, and in 
1639 settled at Middletown. His first 
wife, Ann, died June 28, 1646, closely fol- 
lowing the birth of her son. Rev. Thomas 
Brockway, who was baptized November 
28, 1646, and died April i, 1709, at Say- 
brook, where he was long pastor of the 
church. He married, September 20, 1666, 
Hester Hosmer, daughter of Thomas 
Hosmer, of Hartford. She died June 3, 
1702. They were the parents of Heze- 
kiah Brockway, born June 21, 1622, lived 
in Saybrook, and died in 1752. He mar- 
ried, December 15, 1703, Sarah Laye, and 
their eldest daughter, Sarah Buckingham, 
became the wife of Ebenezer Brockway, 
as previously noted. Their third son, Eli- 
jah Brockway, born November 29, 1744, at 
Saybrook, lived opposite Brockway's 



Ferry, where he was a farmer. He mar- 
ried Sarah Avery, a descendant of Chris- 
topher Avery, a weaver, of Devonshire, 
England, who married there, August 26, 
1616, Marjorie Stevens. Their only son. 
Captain Joseph Avery, born about 1620, 
in England, came with his father to Glou- 
cester, Massachusetts, and received a 
grant of land in New London in 1650. 
The following year he settled there. He 
married, November 10, 1643, Joanne 
Greenslade, of Boston. Their third son. 
Captain John Avery, born February 10, 
1654, in New London, was living Novem- 
ber, 1727, when he was listed among the 
members of the church. He possessed 
large tracts of land lying in several towns 
about New London, and deeded land to a 
son in 1724. He married, November 29, 
1675, at Stonington, Abigail Chesebrough, 
daughter of Samuel and Abigail Chese- 
brough. She was living in 1714. Their 
eldest son, John Avery, baptized April i, 
1683, in the First Church at New London, 
who inherited land from his father and 
also acquired lands by purchase, was 
often an officer of the town and died in 
October, 1762. He married, August 23, 

1705, Sarah Dennison, born April 14, 
1689, died August, 1774, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Stanton) Dennison. Her 
eldest child, John Avery, born May 14, 

1706, in Groton, was a member of the 
First Church there with his wife. They 
removed to Franklin, where he died about 
January, 1766. He married Lydia Smith, 
born January 24, 1713, daughter of Nehe- 
miah and Dorothy (Wheeler) Smith. 
Their daughter, Sarah Avery, became the 
wife of Elijah Brockway. Their son, Ros- 
well Brockway, was born July i, 1785, in 
Saybrook, where in early life he engaged 
in the coasting trade, transporting pro- 
duce from Connecticut river ports to the 
city of New York, and becoming the 
owner at different times of several schoon- 



^75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ers and sloops. The last which he owned 
was the sloop "Hero," and shortly after 
disposing of this vessel he was fatally- 
injured by a falling tree on his farm, his 
death occurring June 7, 1827. He mar- 
ried, November 18, 1810, Catherine Tyler, 
who was born March 27, 1792, in Had- 
dam, daughter of Nathaniel and Hannah 
(Bushnell) Tyler. She died at the home 
of her daughter, in Essex, April 14, 1875. 
Their daughter, Hannah Brockway, mar- 
ried Lyman Howard, and became the 
mother of Wingate Chase Howard. 

Wingate Chase Howard, son of Lyman 
and Hannah (Brockway) Howard, was 
born September 25, 1865, in the village 
of Deep River, and, when eight years of 
age, went with his parents to Essex, Con- 
necticut, and later, to New York City. 
While in Essex, he attended the public 
school, and after the family began spend- 
ing the winters in New York, was a stu- 
dent at the Thirteenth Street School. 
Later he attended the Weston Military 
School at Weston, Connecticut, and after 
the family removed to Jersey Cjty, com- 
pleted his preparation for Yale at Has- 
brouck Institute, a business school near 
Jersey City. When he was about to enter 
college, a very desirable business oppor- 
tunity was presented and Mr. Howard 
decided to accept it. In association with 
his brother, William P. Howard, he began 
the manufacture of ivory and bone novel- 
ties at Ivoryton, Connecticut. After three 
years of successful business, they sold out 
and the subject of this sketch removed to 
Hartford, where he engaged in newspaper 
work, first on the Hartford "Times," 
later on the "Telegram," of which he was 
city editor for two years. In 1887 he 
removed to Middletown, to take the posi- 
tion of assistant bookkeeper for the Mid- 
dletown Plate Company, which con- 
nection he maintained for eight years. In 
1897 he was elected town clerk of Mid- 



dletown, with a majority of two hundred 
and fifteen, and two years later was re- 
elected with a majority of nearly one 
thousand. As the town is normally Re- 
publican, this is good evidence of the 
character and standing of Mr. Howard. 
He is a staunch Democrat, and while liv- 
ing in Essex, began his political activi- 
ties by serving as a delegate to the con- 
vention which nominated Washington F. 
Wilcox for Congress. Immediately after 
his retirement from the office of town 
clerk, early in 1920, he assisted in the 
organization of the Frissell Fabric Com- 
pany in which he is a stockholder and of 
which he is treasurer and office manager. 
From the beginning, this organization 
achieved a success which, in no small 
measure, is due to Mr. Howard's superior 
business ability. He has long been asso- 
ciated with the leading fraternal organi- 
zations of the town, being a member of 
Central Lodge, No. 12, Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows ; of St. John's Lodge, 
No. 2, Free and Accepted Masons; of 
Washington Chapter, No. 6, Royal Arch 
Masons ; and of Cyrene Commandery, 
No. 8, Knights Templar, of Middletown. 
He is a charter member of Middletown 
Lodge, No. 771, Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, and a member of the 
Middletown Yacht Club, of which he is 
ex-commodore. He is also a director of 
the Russell Library and of the Middle- 
town Building and Loan Association ; sec- 
retary of the Middletown Board of Fire 
Underwriters ; and was long secretary of 
the Middletown Silver Company. 

Mr. Howard married, in 1890, Grace A. 
Perry, of Lowell, Massachusetts. She is 
a member of the South Congregational 
Church, of Middletown, and is eligible to 
the Society of Daughters of the American 
Revolution. Mr. and Mrs. Howard have 
an agricultural hobby, having always had 
a fondness for out-of-door life. In 1912 
76 






lYOBliC 



T TtMOX 




^ 7..WAMMES., 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



they purchased the Captain Barry farm of 
more than sixty acres, in the Westfield 
District. This farm is situated on the 
"Ridge" road, from which is had a pano- 
ramic view of the city of Middletown, the 
winding Connecticut river, the hills of 
Portland, and the Meriden mountains. It 
is about five hundred feet higher than the 
city of Middletown. The old colonial 
house is provided with every convenience, 
and the premises are equipped with pri- 
vate gas, sewer, heating and water sys- 
tems. The picturesque old colonial house 
of sixteen rooms, with its five large open 
fireplaces, together with its large old- 
fashioned barns and other buildings, and 
its spacious grounds, is one of the show 
places of Middletown. 

Mr. and Mrs. Howard have two chil- 
dren : Hope, who married John E. Bul- 
lard, of Middletown, in 1918. and resides 
in that city ; and Rae, who married Cole- 
ridge W. Hart, of Peekskill, New York, 
where they reside at the present time. 



WARNER, Samuel Larkin, 

Lawyer, Legislator. 

The memory of the eminent career of 
this able man will long be cherished by 
the bar of Middlesex county. He was 
universally esteemed and respected as a 
citizen, and especially regarded by his 
contemporaries and successors in the 
legal fraternity. His family is among the 
oldest of Connecticut, founded by Wil- 
liam Warner, who came from England, 
and was in Ipswich, Massachusetts, as 
early as 1637, when he had a house-lot 
there. The surname Warner appears in 
the Domesday Book and thus it will be 
seen that it is one of the oldest of English 
names. It seems to have been similar in 
origin to the old high German word 
zvarjan, meaning "to defend." The Eng- 
lish significance of the name seems simi- 



lar, owing to the practice of people in 
the southwestern section of England of 
protecting themselves by sending out dis- 
creet men to give warning of the ap- 
proach of an enemy, hence the name 
"Warner." The arms of the family are : 
A bend engrailed between six roses, three 
and three, gules, and the motto : Nan 
nobis tantum nati. This is found carved in 
several parts of the ceiling of the south 
aisle of the Church of Great Waltham, 
England. Burke gives the significance of 
the motto as : "We are not born for our- 
selves alone." William Warner was the 
son of Samuel Warner and was born Oc- 
tober 20, 1594, at Braxted, in the county 
of Essex, England. He died, probably, 
before 1648, as his name disappears from 
the tax list at that time. 

Daniel Warner, son of William War- 
ner, born about 1618, in England, was a 
freeman in Ipswich, June 2, 1641, and 
died there September 9, 1683. His first 
wife, Elizabeth Denne, died November i, 
1659, daughter of Dr. John Denne, an 
early resident of Ipswich. Among the 
children of Daniel and Elizabeth (Denne) 
Warner, was William. 

William Warner, lieutenant of militia 
and deacon of the church, born about 
1645, ^t Ipswich, settled in Wethersfield, 
Connecticut, in 1660, was made a free- 
man in 1669, lieutenant of the Train-Band 
1689, served for many years as a deputy 
to the General Court and, with his wife, 
was a member of the Wethersfield church. 
He died in Wethersfield, February 28, 
1 714, in his sixty-ninth year. His epitaph 
describes him as "Deacon-elect, pious, 
grave, modest and true." He married, 
November i, 1667, Hannah Robbins, born 
April 10, 1643, died March 3, 1714, daugh- 
ter of "Gentleman John" and Mary 
(Welles) Robbins, and they were the par- 
ents of Daniel. 

Daniel Warner, third son of Deacon 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William and Hannah (Robbins) Warner, 
born January i, 1680, in Wethersfield, in- 
herited the homestead on Broad street at 
the lower end. His will was made March 
24, 1750, and the inventory of his estate 
was made May 28th following, and in- 
cluded five negroes and amounted to about 
20,000 pounds. He married, October 3, 
1706, Mary Boardman, who was born No- 
vember 3, 1683, eldest child of Samuel and 
Sarah (Steele) Boardman, and grand- 
daughter of Samuel Boardman, of Ips- 
wich and Wethersfield, founder of a very 
numerous family. She died in 1770, leav- 
ing a son, William. 

William Warner, only son of Daniel 
and Mary (Boardman) Warner, was born 
in 1715, and died May i, 1790. Fie mar- 
ried (second), March 25, 1752, Prudence 
May, who was born February 26, 1727, 
and died October 14, 1807, second daugh- 
ter of Hezekiah and Anna (Stillman) 
May, the former long deacon and many 
years representative from Wethersfield. 
Among their children was John. 

John Warner, youngest child of Wil- 
liam and Prudence (May) Warner, was 
born October 6, 1762, and died November 
ID, 1838. By his father's will he received 
lands in Wethersfield, and there he con- 
tinued to reside. He married, December 
22, 1784, Abigail Hale, who was born 
May I, 1758, and died November 11, 1840, 
second daughter of Bennezer and Anne 
(Woodhouse) Hale, representatives of 
two of the oldest families of Wethersfield. 

Levi Warner, youngest child of John 
and Abigail (Hale) Warner, was born 
December 26, 1800, in Wethersfield, 
where he was an industrious and pros- 
perous farmer, and died October 17, 1872. 
He married, May 22, 1823, Sally Larkin, 
who was born August 25, 1803, of Isaac 
and Abigail (Warner) Larkin, grand- 
daughter of Christopher Warner and 
Elizabeth Adams. Their second son re- 
ceives extended mention below. 



Samuel Larkin Warner was born June 
14, 1828, in Wethersfield, and in his early 
years attended the common schools of 
that town, subsequently preparing at Wil- 
braham, Massachusetts, for entrance to 
college. After teaching school for four 
years, he turned his attention to the study 
of law in the ofifice of Judge William N. 
Matson, of Hartford. Later he was a 
student at a law school in New Haven. In 
1852 he entered the Harvard Law .School, 
from which he was graduated, being ad- 
mitted to the bar of Suffolk county, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1854. It was his intention 
to take up the practice of law in Hart- 
ford, but through the influence of an old 
friend of the family, an ex-Governor of 
the State, he was appointed executive sec- 
retary to Governor Pond, who was then 
quite ill, and much of the business of the 
office was despatched by young Warner. 
Here he displayed such ability and judg- 
ment that he won the approval of the citi- 
zens and officials. Before the close of the 
year, 1854, he located in Portland, Con- 
necticut, where he began the practice of 
law and very rapidly acquired business. 
He continued to reside there some years, 
but the press of business soon made it de- 
sirable to open an office in Middletown. 
He was a close student all his life, made 
very careful preparation of his cases, and 
was able to gain a strong foothold at the 
Middlesex bar, where his competitors at 
the time included many of the ablest at- 
torneys. In 1858, he represented Port- 
land in the State Legislature, and in 1862 
was elected mayor of Middletown, in 
which city he had settled the previous 
year. He served four years in the mayor- 
alty and during this time succeeded in 
establishing an efficient system of water 
works for the city, the first municipal 
establishment of the kind in the .State. In 
1S62 he was nominated for Congress, 
but was defeated by his Democratic com- 
petitor, Governor English. Two years 

78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



later he was again a candidate and was 
elected to the Thirty-ninth Congress by 
a majority of 1,700 in a district which 
was normally Democratic at that time. 
He was nominated to succeed himself in 
this office, but declined to accept and de- 
voted himself industriously to his large 
legal practice. He was a member and one 
of the secretaries of the National Repub- 
lican Convention in i860, when Abraham 
Lincoln was nominated for the office of 
president. Mr. Warner made memorial 
addresses on Presidents Lincoln and Gar- 
field, and at the centennial celebration of 
the city of Middletown, held July 14, 1884, 
he made the principal address, which has 
been described as one of the ablest his- 
torical addresses ever made in the county. 
In nature generous, Mr. Warner drew to 
him many warm personal friends. In the 
trial of cases he had great influence with 
juries and he was especially noted for his 
cross-examination of witnesses. In 1861 
Mr. Warner purchased the Nehemiah 
Hubbard homestead, on the west side of 
Main street, Middletown, in which he 
continued to reside and maintained his 
office until his death, which occurred Feb- 
ruary 6, 1893. 

At a meeting of the Middlesex Bar As- 
sociation, following the death of Mr. War- 
ner, the presiding officer, Judge Silas T. 
Robinson, paid the following tribute to 
his character: 

To say that in the death of our Brother Warner 
the bar of the State has met with a great loss, 
expresses but weakly my feelings. The bar of 
this county, to a man, I think, feels the loss more 
sensibly than they can express. It seems but 
yesterday that we saw him in this room, earnest, 
active and vigilant in the cause of a client. Our 
brother died, so to speak, with the harness on. 
I think he perf erred it so; with the restless activ- 
ity of mind which he possessed, a life of enforced 
idleness or a lingering death, would have been 
well nigh intolerable. He has gone direct from 
the activities of his profession into the rest which 
eternity affords. I think he had almost no doubt 



as to the future life. He always talked of it 
calmly, and never believed, at least in later years, 
that the growth and development of the human 
mind, the soul, ceased with this existence. He 
believed that the present was but a preparatory 
school for the grander education to begin at 
death ; and always said that he had no fear of the 
change. His faith in the wisdom and goodness 
of God was profound. 

I think those who knew him best admired him 
most. No one who knew him well could retain 
anything but kindness for him. He had the 
frank, impulsive nature and sympathies of a boy, 
with the strong will and the strong intellect of a 
man. In many respects Brother Warner was a 
remarkable man. He came of an ancestry of hard 
sense; people who thought, and thought seriously; 
people who read and remembered ; people to 
whom it was not the sole problem of life how to 
be fed and clothed ; people who believed in char- 
acter and character-building; an ancestry of hard, 
rugged sense, who believed in work and the ben- 
efits of work more than in the inspiration of 
genius. Born and bred in a New England atmos- 
phere, with the education of the common school, 
the academy, and the law school, he, a boy from 
a farmer's home, rose to an enviable position at 
the bar of this state. Brother Warner was one of 
the best fruits of such an ancestry. Our friend 
had exceedingly bright talents, but he was a tre- 
mendous worker withal. He had a genius for 
work. He seemed to let go of work when obliged 
to, and take it up again with a facility that to me 
was astonishing. It seemed as if in the interim, 
whatever he may have been about, the unfinished 
work was carried right along in his mind. It 
seemed as if it never left him. He thoroughly 
believed in work, and in the efficacy of work; and, 
as a worker, as an industrious, thorough preparer 
of cases, he has through his entire career been an 
example for the whole bar. No man ever sat 
down at the counsel table to try a cause with Mr. 
Warner for his antagonist who did not appreciate 
this, and who did not arise from it with a pro- 
found respect for his sagacity, his quickness, his 
learning, and his masterful strength. He was a 
hard antagonist, but he was a generous one. No 
one ever knew him to take a mean advantage of 
his opponent. 

He was invariably kind to the young men in the 
profession. He seemed never to have forgotten 
his own timidity and sense of weakness as a 
young and inexperienced advocate, and it seemed 
to give him pleasure to offer encouragement to 
younger men. 



279 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Our brother was also one of the most gener- 
ous men towards the weaknesses and faults of 
those of our profession. He was loyal to the 
profession. If any one spoke of the faults or 
weaknesses of a brother lawyer he would say — 
"Who has not his faults and his weaknesses? I 
have mine. We must take men as we find them. 
There is good in ever>'body, if we get close to 
them and get to know them well." He tried to 
think well of his brethren and threw the mantle 
of charity over their shortcomings. I think I 
never knew a man whose sympathies responded 
so quickly to the voice of one oppressed or in 
suffering as his did; and his defense of such was 
always vigorous ; and his assistance, pecuniary or 
otherwise, on such occasions, was rendered in 
such a way as to show that what he did was a 
real pleasure to him. Ten years and more we sat 
at the same desk, and in the same office, and I 
never knew him to refuse to espouse the cause of 
a man or woman because they lacked means to 
pay him. 

He married, May 30, 1855, Mary E. 
Harris, daughter of John Harris, of 
Norwich, and of Preston, Connecticut. 
She traced her ancestry to several pio- 
neer New England families and was 
descended through seven different lines 
from William Denison, early of Rox- 
bury, through his son. Colonel George 
Denison, of Stonington, one of the most 
distinguished early citizens of Connecti- 
cut, in both civil and military affairs. Mr. 
and Mrs. Warner were the parents of two 
sons : Samuel Harris, of further men- 
tion ; and Charles Winthrop, also of fur- 
ther mention in this work. 



WARNER, Samuel Harris, 
City Judge. 

The senior son of the late Samuel L. 
Warner (q. v.), Judge Warner was born 
October 26, 1858, in Portland, and was a 
small child when his parents removed to 
Middletown. Here he attended the Dan- 
iel H. Chase School, the high school and 
Hopkins Grammar School in New Haven, 
and was subsequently a student for two 



years at Wesleyan University, after 
which he entered Columbia University 
Law School, from which he graduated in 
1881. In the following year he was ad- 
mitted to the New York bar, later being 
admitted to the Connecticut bar, and was 
for several years engaged in legal work 
at the New York law office maintained by 
his father and a partner. Here he had 
excellent opportunities, of which he made 
the most. On February i, 1890, he was 
appointed postmaster at Middletown by 
President Benjamin Harrison, and in this 
capacity he served for nearly five years, 
until the appointment of his successor by 
Grover Cleveland. On leaving the post- 
office, he formed an association with his 
uncle, Levi Warner, of Norwalk, and with 
Washington F. Wilcox, for the practice 
of law. After a year or so, the senior War- 
ner withdrew from the firm, and for sev- 
eral years the firm was Warner & Wilcox, 
conducting a general law practice. Later, 
Judge Warner spent much time in the 
West in the collection of defaulted bonds 
and securities and was also one of the pro- 
prietors of a large ranch in Idaho, which 
was ultimately sold to some railroad and 
bank men, who constructed a raiload over 
the property. For the last eighteen years 
he has conducted a general law practice, 
independently, at Middletown. For many 
years he served, by appointment of the 
State Legislature, as associate judge of 
the City Court, and in 1919 was advanced 
to the position of judge of the same court, 
which office he now fills. Judge Warner, 
from the organization until the muster- 
ing out of the Sixth Regiment, Connecti- 
cut State Guard, served with the rank of 
captain, and during the recent World 
War he was military instructor in the 
service of the State. His devotion to mil- 
itary and patriotic interests is testified 
during peace times by his membership in 
the Sons of the American Revolution ; and 
2S0 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his religious interest is evidenced by the 
fact that he holds a pew in the South Con- 
gregational Church of Middletown. 

S. Harris Warner was married, Novem- 
ber i6, 1903, in Seattle, Washington, to 
Catharine (Gray) Niblock, a former resi- 
dent of Chicago, and daughter of James 
Gray Niblock and Mary Elizabeth Nib- 
lock, the latter, late of that city, now 
deceased. 



WARNER, Charles Winthrop, 

Mannfacturer. 

The junior son of the late Samuel Lar- 
kin Warner, of previous mention, Charles 
W. Warner, is a native of Middletown, 
born November 20, 1863. He was reared 
under most favorable auspices in a cul- 
tivated family, receiving instruction from 
a private teacher and pursuing special 
courses at Wesleyan University. Ow- 
ing to impaired health he was sent abroad 
to recuperate and there attended a uni- 
versity at Munich, Germany. Return- 
ing to Middletown, he was placed in 
charge of the quarries in Haddam, in 
1887, and thus continued until 1892, when 
he was appointed receiver for the W. H. 
Chapman Company, a manufacturing 
establishment in Middletown. In 1894, 
after the affairs of the concern had been 
placed in good order by Mr. Warner, the 
company was reorganized and Mr. War- 
ner was elected treasurer and general 
manager. This position he has main- 
tained to the present time. The establish- 
ment is engaged largely in the manufac- 
ture of brass goods. Mr. Warner is active 
in the leading circles of Middletown and 
was its representative in the State Legis- 
lature in 1898. His political principles 
are represented by the Republican party. 
For sixteen years he has been a vestry- 
man of the Church of the Holy Trinity in 
Middletown, and he is a member of the 



Sons of the American Revolution and of 
the Chamber of Commerce of his home 
city. 

He married, June 17, 1891, Mary Lor- 
ing, a native of Great Harrington, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Almon and Amelia 
(Reasoner) Loring, and granddaughter of 
Almon Loring, of Salisbury, Massachu- 
setts, whose wife was a daughter of Abi- 
jah Savage, of Cromwell. Mr. and Mrs. 
Warner are the parents of a son. Win- 
throp Loring Warner, born May 17, 1900, 
who is a student at the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology. 



CORNELL, Minna Suydam, 

Manufacturer. 

The head of one of the oldest indus- 
tries in Middletown, Mr. Cornell is rated 
among the enterprising and successful 
business men of the city. He is descended 
from one of the oldest New York families 
and has been identified with business in 
Middletown since 1905. 

Thomas Cornell, first of the family in 
America, was born about 1595 in Essex, 
England, and died about 1655. He came 
to America in 1638, and was first at Bos- 
ton, where he kept an inn. He was ad- 
mitted a freeman in August, 1640, at 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and was con- 
stable the same year. In 1642, he was 
ensign and during the same year removed 
to New Amsterdam. He was very friendly 
with Roger Williams. Following some 
trouble with the Indians, he returned to 
Portsmouth and was granted land there, 
August 29, 1644, and again in 1646. He 
married Rebecca Briggs, born in 1600, 
died February 8, 1673. 

Richard Cornell, son of Thomas and 
Rebecca (Briggs) Cornell, was born 
about 1625, in England, and died in 1694. 
Before 1656, he was settled in Flushing, 
Long Island, and in 1663, was sent to con- 



281 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fer with the Governor on the "matter of 
tithes." In 1666, he was justice of the 
peace ; and was granted a permit to sell 
liquor and powder to the Indians. His 
will, dated November 7, 1693, was proved 
October 30, 1694. His marriage occurred 
about 1655, the Christian name of his 
wife being Elizabeth. Their son, 

Richard Cornell, was born about 1656, 
and died after 1725. He was executor of 
his father's will, in 1694, and lived in 
Flushing, at Success, a little hamlet, now 
called Lakeville, partly in Flushing and 
partly in Hempstead. Before 1692 Rich- 
ard Cornell was married to Sarah, whose 
surname is not known. Their son, 

Richard Cornell, was born before 1685, 
and died in 1772-78. In 1722 he served as 
fence viewer. He married, July 8, 1712, 
Miriam (or Marcy) Mott, and their son, 

James Cornell, was born May 9, 1721, 
and died July 19, 1802. He received one- 
fifth of his father's lands and married, 
February 7, 1758, Margaret Hicks, born 
January 29, 1737, probably a daughter 
of Isaac Hicks. Their son, 

Hallett Cornell, was born January 23, 
1771, and died May 20, 1866. His will 
was dated in 1865 and was proved in 1867. 
He lived about three-quarters of a mile 
east of the court house in Mineola and, 
with his wife, is buried in St. George's 
churchyard, in Hempstead. He married, 
January 22, 1792, Elvira Hicks, born May 
10, 1771, died September 10, 1841, daugh- 
ter of Jeffrey and Mary (Cornell) Hicks. 

James Gilbert Cornell, their son, was 
born January 6, 1805, and died May 25, 
1875. He inherited the homestead farm 
from his father, and in 1865 removed to 
Brooklyn, New York, where he engaged 
in the ship-building business. He mar- 
ried (first), July 7, 1828, in New York 
City, Ellinor Wood, who died August 7, 
1829. Their son, 

James Elwood Cornell, was born Au- 



gust 7, 1829, and died in July, 1886. He 
married, October 22, 1850, Anna Priscilla 
Suydam, daughter of Minne and Eliza- 
beth W. (Smith) Suydam, born January 
27, 1832, in Brooklyn. Mr. Cornell was 
a real estate agent and was much inter- 
ested in the genealogy of his family. He 
had in his possession many old wills and 
deeds relative to the ancestry of the 
family. 

Minne Suydam Cornell, his son, was 
born April 6, 1854, and died November 6, 
1913. He was long engaged in the manu- 
facture of hats in New York City, making 
his home in Brooklyn, New York. He 
was a Methodist in religious belief and 
led a most exemplary life. Politically, he 
was a Republican, but gave no attention 
to practical politics, refusing at all times 
to become a candidate for office. 

Mr. Cornell married Margaret J. Mc- 
Cormick, who is still living, and they were 
the parents of the following children : 
Herbert S., born May i, 1876, died young; 
James A., deceased; Minne Suydam, of 
further mention; and Elwood North, born 
August 3, 1889. 

Minne Suydam Cornell, son of Minne 
Suydam and Margaret J. (McCormick) 
Cornell, was born AugTJSt 19, 1883, in 
Brooklyn, and received his primary edu- 
cation in the public schools of that city. 
He was subsequently a student at Wil- 
braham Academy, Wilbraham, Massa- 
chusetts, and graduated from Wesleyan 
University, Middletown, in 1905. Imme- 
diately after leaving college he entered 
the factory of the Middletown Silver 
Company, in which concern he now holds 
the office of president and the position of 
general manager. In January, 1910, he 
was made secretary and general manager, 
and was elected president in 1913. Pre- 
vious to 1910, the business has deterio- 
rated, but with Mr. Joseph Merriam, of 
Middletown, as treasurer, and Mr. Cor- 



282 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



nell as general manager, it rapidly ex- 
panded. Under the present management 
the business has been very greatly devel- 
oped, and is now doing the largest direct 
export business of any manufacturing 
plant in Middletown. Besides his inter- 
est in this plant, Mr. Cornell is also inter- 
ested in the Kirby Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of Middletown, of which he is sec- 
retary, and he is president of the Middle- 
sex Hudson Company; treasurer of the 
Frisbie Motor Company ; and treasurer 
of the Mermaid Dishwasher Company. 
He is interested in everything calculated 
to promote the development of Middle- 
town as a community and as a manufac- 
turing center, and has contributed no 
small share toward such development. 
Politically, he is a Republican, but gives 
his entire attention to business and pays 
little attention to political activities. He 
married, June 19, 1906, Helen S. Mer- 
riam, daughter of Joseph Merriam, of 
Middletown (q. v.). Mr. and Mrs. Cor- 
nell have a daughter, Margaret Eleanor, 
born August 7, 191 1. 



WALSH, Thomas Patrick, 

Physician, Medical Official. 

A native of Middletown, Dr. Walsh has 
passed all of his active life in and about 
that town, and has established a large 
medical practice, gaining recognition from 
the profession, as well as from the public. 
He was born, September 12, 1876, a son of 
Thomas Walsh, who was for many years 
located in Middletown. The family had 
lived for several generations near Middle- 
ton, County Cork, Ireland, and held 
landed property there. Thomas Nicho- 
las Walsh, a son of Richard, married 
Catherine McKenna, who died in 1844, in 
Ireland. In 1850 he came to America and 
settled in Portland, where he was em- 
ployed for many years in the quarries. 



later removing to Middletown. Connecti- 
cut, where he lived for twenty years, until 
his death, which occurred, in 1801, when 
he was in his eighty-ninth year. He had 
sons: Joseph, Nicholas, Thomas, and 
John. 

Thomas Walsh, son of Thomas Nicho- 
las Walsh, conducted a grocery store in 
Middletown for many years, and died in 
1914. He married Mary Joseph Gartley, 
daughter of Patrick and Mary Gartley, 
of Mount Savage, Cumberland county, 
Maryland, and among their children was: 
Dr. Thomas Patrick Walsh, of this review. 

Dr. Thomas Patrick Walsh graduated 
from the Middletown High School in 
1896, and in 1898 entered the medical de- 
partment of Yale University. He was 
subsequently a student at the University 
of Vermont, where he was graduated, in 
1902, with the degree of M. D. For more 
than a year he was connected with St. 
Francis Hospital, in Hartford, as interne, 
and there gained much practical experi- 
ence. In the fall of 1903, he located in 
Middletown, where he has continued in 
general practice to the present time. Hav- 
ing thoroughly prepared himself for the 
practice of the healing art, he very soon 
acquired an excellent practice and in 1908 
purchased a house at the corner of Main 
and Grand streets, in Middletown, one of 
the ancient landmarks of the town, in 
which he established his office. This build- 
ing he remodeled and improved at the 
time of purchase, and again in 1919 made 
many improvements in his home, which 
is now one of the handsome structures 
occupying the main street of the town. 
Dr. Walsh is the senior member of the 
medical faculty of Middlesex Hospital. 
He is a member of the American Medical 
Association, of the Hartford Medical So- 
ciety ; and of the Connecticut State, Mid- 
dlesex County, and Central Medical so- 
cieties. He is also identified with the 



283 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and with the Knights of Columbus. Po- 
litically, of Democratic sympathies, he is 
independent of party domination, and 
supports candidates according to their 
merits, in his judgment. Under the ad- 
ministration of both leading parties, he 
has served twenty years in the Health 
Department of Middletown. His reli- 
gious affiliation is with St. John's Roman 
Catholic Church, one of the largest church 
organizations in the State. Of genial 
nature and courtly manners. Dr. Walsh 
impresses all with his native ability and 
general culture, and his professional skill 
has been amply demonstrated, and recog- 
nized. 

He married, at Burlington, Vermont, 
July, 1902, Lucille Julia Meron, who was 
born December 19, 1880, in Montpelier, 
Vermont, daughter of Joseph and Julia 
(Jandrau) Meron, of that city, of which 
Mr. Meron is a native. His wife was 
born in Elmira, New York, but both are 
of Canadian-French ancestry. Dr. and 
Mrs. Walsh are the parents of two daugh- 
ters, Mary Lucille, born November 14, 
1908; and Agnes Elizabeth, born March 
7. 1914. 



ODELL, William Francis, 

Clergyman, in World War Service. 

Rev. William Francis Odell, pastor of 
St. Bridget's Roman Catholic Church, of 
Elmwood, Hartford county, Connecticut, 
was born in New Britain, a nearby town. 
May 28, 1880, son of William J. and 
Catherine (Kelley) Odell, and grandson 
of William J. Odell. 

William J. Odell was in the jewelry 
business on his own account on Patrick 
street, in the city of Cork, Ireland, and it 
was his claim that he belonged to the 
royal house of Ireland. He was a man of 
great superiority, a typical old country 



gentleman. Mr. Odell came to New Bri- 
tain to spend his later years and died 
there in the early "eighties." He married 
Catherine Fitzgerald, who came from a 
suburb of Cork. The Fitzgerald family 
is of Italian origin ; they came from Nor- 
mandy with William the Conqueror to 
England. Later one of the family, a 
noted fighter, was sent to Ireland to put 
down a rebellion against the King of 
Leinster. Large territory was granted to 
him for his success. At that time the 
family were known as Geraldines. They 
adopted the Norman prefix, Fitz, which 
corresponds to the Gaelic Mc, and founded 
a numerous family in Ireland. 

William J. Odell, son of William J. and 
Catherine (Fitzgerald) Odell, was born in 
the city of Cork, in 1847, ^-""^ "^i^d •'^ 1901. 
When he was sixteen years of age he 
came to America and settled in New Bri- 
tain, Connecticut, where he followed his 
occupation of watchmaker, which he had 
learned from his father in Ireland. Mr. 
Odell then entered the employ of the 
P. & F. Corbin Company as timekeeper. 
When the electric light plant was started, 
which was when electrical knowledge was 
possessed by few persons, his fine knowl- 
edge of mechanics made him valuable in 
repairing light machinery. He remained 
with the lighting company until his death, 
many years of this time as foreman of 
construction. Mr. Odell was a Republi- 
can in politics, served on the town com- 
mittee, and was a charter member of the 
Knights of Columbus Council of New 
Britain. He married Catherine, daughter 
of John Kelley, of County Kerry, Ire- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. Odell were the par- 
ents of eight children, four of whom grew 
to maturity. They are : i. Rev. William 
Francis, of further mention. 2. Grace. 3. 
Catherine, of Hartford. 4. Aloysius, a 
graduate of Holy Cross College at Wor- 
cester, and now with the United States 



284 




^^^^^^^i.^C^^i^^^e^^:^/' 7^ 




ENCYCIOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rubber Company. The family attended 
St. Mary