(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of genealogy and biography of Lake County, Indiana, with a compendium of history, 1834-1904 : a record of the achievements of its people in the making of a commonwealth and the founding of a nation"

Gc M. L. 

977.201 

L14ba 
1818644 



REYNOLDS HISTORICAL 
QENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLI 

liiiiiiiiiiHiiiiiiiiir 



3 1833 02300 1453 




-r^ £..j&^. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA 

OF 

Genealogy and Biography 



OF 



LAKE COUNTY. INDIANA, 

WITH A COMPENDIUM OF HISTORY 
J834— J904 



A Record of the Achievements of Its People in the Making of a 
Commonwealth and the Founding of a Nation. 



REV. T. H. BALL 

OF CROWN POINT, EDITOR-IN-CHIEF 



ILLUSTRATED 



CHICAGO NEW YORK 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

1904 



The reproduction of this book has been 
made possible through the sponsorship of 
the Historical Association of Lake Coun- 
ty, Indiana, Inc., Crown Point, Indiana. 



A Reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc. 

1401 North Fares Avenue 

Evansville, Indiana 47711, 

Nineteen Hundred Seventy Four 



Binding by 

Modern Prb.Binding Corporation 

Portland, Indiana 



1S18S11 

INDEX. 



Ackerman, William W 395 

Adams, James 95 

Address to Children 45 

Agnew, David ' ig 

A Golden Wedding 156 

Ainsworth Made a Station 34 

Allman, Amos 296 

Allman, Mary 298 

Allman, Walter L 205 

Ames, Samuel 122 

An Old Landmark 154 

Artesian Wells 49 

Artesian Well at Crown Point 37 

Asche, Henry 614 

Atkinson, David C 229 

Ausley, Robert 543 

A West Creek Settlement 12 

Ayers, Alexander E 493 

B 

Babbitt, W. S 60 

Bacon, E. R 528 

Bader, Callus J 216 

Bailey, Charley T 512 

Bailey, George B 498 

Bailey, Josiah B 526 

Bailey, Levi E 196 

Baker, Charles M 263 

Ball, Amsi L 107 

Ball, Charles 57 

Ball, Hervey 6g 

Ball, James H 576 

Ball, John 107 

Ball, T. H 667 

Banks, N. P 388 

Baptist Organization II 

Barker, Louis 555 

Barr, Herbert S 213 

Barrett, Edward F 649 

Batterman, Edward 382 

Batterman, Henry C 331 

Batterman, Herman A 621 

Bauer, Carl E 299 

Beattie, Joseph A 320 

Beckman, Herman C 109 

Beckman, John N 592 

Bell, Benjamin L. P 484 

Bell, Samuel A 655 

Belman, William C 454 

Belshaw, George 77 

Belshaw, Henry 77 

Belshaw, William •]■} 



Belshaw, William E 368 

Berg, Joseph B 405 

Biggs, Mrs. T. Norton 552 

Black, John i8c 

Blakeman, John 179 

Bliss, M. G 102 

Bohling, John G 194 

Borger, Charles A 418 

Borger, John H 626 

Borman, Otto C 524 

Bothwell, Charles C 271 

Boyd, Eli M 317 

Boyd, George 401 

Bradford, James M 176 

Brandenburg, Elmer D 656 

Brandenburg, Oliver C 657 

Brandt, Henry 421 

Brannon, Amos , 442 

Brannon, James 360 

Brennan, John J 192 

Brick Blocks at Crown Point 32 

Bridge, William F 278 

Bridges Across the Kankakee 37 

Brown, Alexander F iii 

Brown, George 112 

Brown, John 168 

Brown, Mathew J 202 

Brownell, F. E 605 

Bryant, David 118 

Bryant, Elias 119 

Bryant, E. Wayne 119 

Bryant, John -. 392 

Bryant, Samuel D 119 

Bryant, Simeon 119 

Buckley, Fred W 595 

Buckley, William 521 

Buczkowski, John 189 

Buse, Fred T 524 

Butler Cabins of 1834 i 

Business Men of Crown Point 27 



Campbell, Cyrus W 658 

Capturing Timber Thieves 7 

Carlin, Bernard F 529 

Castle, Fred 352 

Castle, George L 435 

Cedar Lake Incidents 162 

Chartier, Fred S 567 

Cheney, Byron M 595 

Chester, Henry 280 

Children at World's Fair 40 

Chipman, A. B 451 

Church, Richard 81 



Churches, School Houses, Banks 48 

Claims Made in 1834 2 

Clark, Alexander 89 

Clark, Judge 88 

Clark, Sanford D 117 

Clark, Thomas 8g 

Clark, Wellington A 538 

Cleveland, Ephraim 103 

Cleveland, Timothy 103 

Cochran, Henry 175 

Cochran, William 174 

Conrad, August 356 

Conroy, Joseph H 501 

County Officers of 1847 17 

County Organized '. 6 

County Purchased from Indians I 

County Seat, Efforts to Remove 39 

County Seat Location 13 

County Set Off from Porter 4 

County Surveyed I 

Cox, Arthur T 324 

Cox, Lawrence 215 

Creston Made a Station 35 

Crovifn Point Telephone Co 41 

Crumpacker, Peter 662 

D 

Dickinson, William T 485 

Dinwiddle, John W 73 

Dinwiddle, Oscar 568 

Doescher, Herman 86 

Dwyer, John 437 

E 

Earle, George 64 

Early Mail Routes 9 

Early Railroad Stations 27 

Early Religious Meetings 8 

Early Sawmills g 

East Chicago Commenced 38 

Eddy, Russell 91 

Eder, George M 267 

Edgerton, Alfred 124 

Edgerton, Amos 124 

Edgerton, George W 57 

Edgerton, Horace 124 

Ege, Francis X 664 

Einsele, Sebastian 607 

Einspahr, Frederick H 411 

Einspahr, Mrs. Katharina 420 

Electric Lights at Crown Point sg 

Electric Railway at Hammond 41 

Exploring Parties in 1834 2 

F 

Fancher, Reuben 461 

Fancher, Richard 90 

Fancher, Thaddeus S 362 

Farley, Benjamin 116 

Farrineton, Dr 99 

Farwell, Major C 92 



Fieler, Christian 183 

Fiester, John L 349 

First Bridges Built 10 

First Census of the County 14 

First Church Buildings 15 

First Court House (Log) 8 

First Justice of the Peace 5 

First Meeting of Commissioners 6 

First Minister at Crown Point 15 

First Postoffice 6 

First Railroad Through Crown Point. 29 

First Regular Physician 8 

First Resident Methodist Minister 15 

First Store 6 

First Term of Circuit Court 7 

First Townsliips 5 

Fisher, David A 254 

Fisher, John 220 

Fisher, John in 

Fisher, Thomas in 

Foster, Albert 425 

Foster, John M 59 

Foster, William M 353 

Fowler, Luman A 91 

Franz, Balzer 222 

Friedrich, Charles A 292 

Friedrich, Charles W 223 

Fry. Alfred 58 

Frysinger, Miles C 45S 

Fuller, James 125 

Fuller, Richard 197 



Ga vit, Frank A 616 

Gavit, John A 559 

Gerlach, Adam J 283 

Gerlach, George F 327 

Gerrish, Abie! 121 

Gibson, Charles C 431 

Gilbert, Edwin S 541 

Gill, James A 572 

Glover, William J 328 

Golden Wedding, A 156 

Grant, Thomas 424 

Gravel and Rock Roads 42 

Gravel Road Through Hobart 41 

Graves, M 58 

Greene, Joseph 98 

Greenwald, Charles E 237 

Griffin, Charles F 98 

Griffin. Elihu 97 

Griffith Becoming a Town 40 

Griffith, David D 346 

Griffith Made a Station 34 

Grimmer, Michael 193 

Gromann, Charles 589 

Growth at Tolleston 28 

Growth of Lowell 30 

Growth up to 1847 16 

Gruel, Charles 383 

Guyer, E. H ! 650 

Guyer, James 399 



INDEX. 



Hack, John 83 

Hack, Mrs. Angelina 84 

Haie, William F 172 

Halfman, William 654 

Halls Opened 32 

Halsted, James M 291 

Halsted, Melvin A 560 

Hammond in 1894 41 

Hammond, Superior Court 41 

Hammond, Walter H 212 

Harrison, Elizabeth 500 

Hart, A. N.. 83-552 

Hathaway, Mahlon 440 

Hathaway, Peter 116 

Hayden, Albert L 519 

Hayden. Cyrus 481 

Hayden. Edgar 496 

Hayden, Jacob 516 

Hayden, John K 459 

Hayden, Joseph 497 

Hayden, Lewis 522 

Havden, Nehemiah 116 

Hayden, William N 468 

Hayes, Benjamin F 550 

Hayhurst, Eldon N 517 

Hay ward, Charles 113 

Hay ward, Thomas 113 

Hay ward, Warren H 574 

Herlitz, Lewis 86 

Herlitz, Louis W 628 

Hershman, William H 557 

Hess, Frank 242 

Higgins, John lOO 

Higgins, John 344 

Highland Made a Station 35 

Hill, James 96 

Hill, Rufus 120 

Hillman, John , 359 

Hipsley, Reuben 248 

Hobart, Founding and Growth of 28 

Hobart Public Schools 404 

Holmes, Charles J 597 

Holton, J. W 89 

Holton, W. A. W 90 

Horner, Amos 105 

Hornecker, George M 240 

Hoskins. George H 184 

Huber, Albert C 58S 

Humphrey, Augustine 126 

Hunting Wild Hogs 160 

Hurlburt, Jacob 79 

Hutton, Levi 211 



Ihach, Benjamin F 563 

Iddings, H. L 319 

Indiana City Named 5 

Indiana Harbor 43 

Irish, J. Floyd 569 



J 

Jackson, Joseph 115 

Jackson, L. D 659 

Johnson. Charles A 304 

Jones, David 107 

Jones, George W 284 

Jones, Herbert E 256 

Jones, J. D 77 

Jones, Levi D 107 

K 

Kammer, Andrew 282 

Keilman, Henry L 335 

Keilman, John L 191 

Keilman, Leonard 250 

Keilmann, Charles 249 

Keilmann, Francis P 233 

Kelly, P. J .• 463 

Kelsey, James J 414 

Kenney, Jerry M 208 

Kimmet, John A 507 

Kitchel, John 1 16 

Klaas, Henry A 635 

Knotts, Armanis F 571 

Koehle, August 255 

Kolb, Michael 638 

Kopelke, Johannes 225 

Kozacik, Michael 316 

Krinbill, Oscar A 661 

Krost, John 87 

Krudup, John 591 

L 

Lake County Crow Roosts 152 

Lake County's Semi-centennial 35 

Land Sale 12 

Landmark, An Old 154 

Landscapes 150 

Large Land Holders 53 

Larson, Louis .' 423 

Lash, Frederick 258 

Lauerman, Mathias M 6l'8 

LeRoy 29 

Little, James H 467 

Little, Jesse 472 

Little, Joseph A 121 

Little, Lewis G 514 

Liverpool Made a Town 5 

Livingston, Robert no 

Livingston, Samuel no 

Log Court House Built 8 

Love, James H 536 

Love, John E 491 

Love, Samuel A 534 

Luther, James H 94 

Luther, John E 276 

Lynch, Danie! 504 

Lyons, Frank H 637 

M 

Mandernach, Frederick W 623 

Marvin, Charles 114 



INDEX. 



Marvin, Mrs. Eliza L 386 

Mason, Cyrus M 79 

McAleer, William J 343 

McCarty, Benjamin 65 

McCarty, Miles F 57 

McDonald, Alexander 102 

McGIashon, W. G 108 

McKnight, David 127 

McMahan, W. C 288 

Meeker, Charles H 239 

Meeker, Hiram H 232 

Meeker, J. Frank 236 

Meeker, Nathan B 301 

Meikle, Hugh F 206 

Merrill, Dudley 78 

Merrill, John P 60 

Merrill, William 78 

Melcalf, Ozro 54-t 

Methodist Organization 11 

Meyer, John H 610 

Meyer, LeGrand T 599 

Meyer, Mrs. Johanna 456 

Meyers, Stephen 432 

Mexican War Company 17 

Michael, Edwin 375 

Michael, William H 4/8 

Miller, H. F. C 506 

Miller, Samuel 119 

Miller's Station 31 

Morey, Mrs. Susann 397 

Muenich, Gottlieb 334 

Murphey, William C 584 

Muzzall, Edwin J 639 

Muzzall, Thomas 114 

N 

Names of One Hundred and Twenty 

Women 129-142 

Names of Soldiers Who Fell in the 

War 61 

Nelson, F. E 503 

New Brick Blocks in Crown Point 34 

Nichols, Charles E 364 

Nichols, Horatio R 366 

Nichols, Mrs. Sarah E 445 

Norwegian, A Young 21 

Number of Families in Crown Point, 

Lowell, Hobart, in 1897 42 

Number of School Children in 1895... 41 
Number of School Children in 1897... 42 

Number of Votes in 1876 34 

Number of Votes in 1884 35 

Number of Votes in 1896 42 

o 

Old Settler and Historical Association. 45 

Our Dead Soldiers at Nashville 58 

Our Soldiers 54 

Owen, W. B 350 

P 

Palmer, Dennis 336 



Palmer, H. D 66 

Palmer, James 124 

Palmer Made a Station 35 

Patlee, Wesley 371 

Patten, John H 117 

Patterson, James A 332 

Patton, James 295 

Palton, Joseph 246 

Patton, Seymore 294 

Pearce, John 641 

Pearce, Michael 75 

Pearce, Seth L 289 

Pelton, H. S 88 

Pettibone, Harvey 100 

Peltibone, Henry 100 

Pierce, Floyd M 245 

Pierce, Marion F 218 

Pioneer Children and Nature 146 

Pioneer Period, Review of 18 

Pixley, Chester P 47° 

Plummer, Abiel G 488 

Phimmer, Frank B 4^7 

Politics of Lake County 29 

Population in 1900 44 

Pratt, A. J 99 

Pre-historic Man 53 

Presbyterian Churcli Organized 15 

Pulver, David C 53^ 

R 

Railroad Through Merrillville 44 

Red Cedar Lake 51 

Reiland, John S 185 

Reilley, Patrick 565 

Review of Pioneer Period 18 

Rhodes, Jonas 113 

Richards, Frank 475 

Rifenburg, William H 494 

Rimbach, Jacob '. . . 272 

Robbins, Stillman A 56 

Robinson, Clifford C 642 

Robinson, John G 447 

Robinson, Milo 88 

Robinson, Solon 63 

Rockwell, T. C 81 

Rockwell, W. B 81 

Rockwell, William 81 

Rowins, James F 604 

S 

Sanders, William 127 

Sasse, Henry, Sr 85 

Sasse, Herman E 85 

Sauerman, Andrew A 188 

Sauerman, J. C 86 

Saunders, Gilbert C 643 

Sawyer, Daniel F 60 

Saxton, Ebenezer 75 

Schaaf, F. Richard, Jr 264 

Schaaf, F. Richard, Sr 452 

Schaefer, John P 244 

Sciiafer, Nickolas ■ Sio 



INDEX. 



Scharbach, Frank C 368 

Scharbach, William 36? 

Scherer, Nichols 308 

Schmal, Adam 84 

Schmal, Alfred 630 

Schmal, Joseph 84 

School Grove, now Oak Grove, and Its 

Sportsmen 33 

Schrage, Henry 274 

Schrage, Heinrich C 303 

ScofFern, Isaac H 646 

Scritchfield, Hiram H 127 

Seehausen, Henry 609 

Servis, Orlando V 199 

Settlers of 1833...; 3 

Settlers of 1834 and 1835 3 

Settlers of 1836 5 

Settlers of 1837 6 

Sharrer, Harry E 546 

Sheerer, George B l8t 

Shelby Village Commenced 35 

Sherart, Frank P 378 

Sherman, William 97 

Sickness of 1846 16 

Sigler, Samuel 76 

Sigler, William 76 

Smith, Andrew J 384 

Smith, Clarence C 269 

Smith, Cyrus E 323 

Smith, Fred J 200 

Smith, Joseph P 88 

Smith, William C 5SI 

Smith, William E 347 

Soldiers Enlisting 29 

Soldier's Monument 62 

Soldiers at Nashville, Our Dead 58 

Soldiers, Our 54 

Some Lake County Miscellany 146 

Some Sheep Brought In 14 

Some Sad Occurrences 19 

Some Suggested Pictures 22 

Spear, Robert 266 

Spalciing, Heman M' 117 

Spalding, N 116 

Spring and Wells of Water 49 

Spry, John 449 

Squatters' Union Organized 5 

Stark, John 401 

Stark, Joseph S8i 

State Line Slaughter House 31 

Steam Dredges on the Kankakee Marsh 37 

Stearns, Thomas J 429 

Stephens, Francis E 653 

Stephens, John 260 

Sternberg, Mathias G 647 

Stuppy, Philip 480 

Sturtevant, Daniel B 374 

Summers, Zerah F 108 

Sunderman. Fred L 380 

Suprise, Henry 445 

Sutton, Emerson 464 

Sutton, Festus P 408 

Sutton, Gabriel 466 

Swanson, Albert J 433 



Swartz, Henry P 227 

Sykes, William N 72 

T 

Tabular View of Railroads 26 

Take, John F 650 

Taylor, Adonijah 124 

Taylor, Albert 124 

Taylor, Charles A 476 

Taylor, DeWitt C 124 

Taylor, Horace 124 

Taylor, Obadiah 124 

Templeton, Charles L 82 

Thiel, John M 234 

Thompson, Alexander C 358 

Thompson, D. H 204 

Thompson. Lyman 97 

Torrey, Henry 116 

Tovvle, Marcus M 306 

Township Organizations 4Q 

Traptow, Ernest 407 

Turner, A. M 341 

Turner, David 73 

Turner, Samuel ^2 

Turner, Samuel R 310 

U 

Underwood, John 80 



Valuation of Taxable Property in 1895. 41 

VanDewalker. James G 579 

Van Home, Willard B 178 

VanLoon, D. M •. 348 

Vansciver, William H 253 

Village and Town Life at Hammond.. 32 

Vilmer, W. E loi 

Voltmer, August 391 

VonHoUen, Henry 85 

W 

Wagonblast, Gotfried W 170 

Walsh, Redmond D 312 

Warriner, Lewis ^0 

Warwick. William E 322 

Wason, H 122 

Wason, T. A 473 

Wells, Henry 72 

Wells. Rodman H 548 

West Creek Settlement, A 12 

Wheeler, Harold H 252 

Wheeler, John 54 

Wheeler, John J 577 

Wheeler, Oliver G. . , 601 

Whiting Commenced 39 

Wiggins, Jeremiah 123 



INDEX. 



Wille, H. Ph 339 

Willey, George 123 

Wise, Jacob 125 

Wood, James A 98 

Wood, John 67 

Wood, Martin 102 

Wood, Thomas J 632 

Wood, WiUiam H 330 

Woods, Bartlett 92 

Worley, John L 127 



Yeoman, S. B 99 

Youche, J. W 104 

Young, George W 224 



Zumbuelte, Mathias 612 



HISTORY 

OF 

LAKE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER I. 
Outline History of Lake County. Indiana. From 1834 to 1850. 

Indiana Territory was organized May 7, 1800. 

Indiana was admitted into the Union as a State in December, 1816. 
At that time, and for several years after tliat date, the northwestern part 
was a true American wild. In 1820 the county of Wabash had an area 
of 8000 square miles with a population, according to the census, (.)f 147. 
The entire north part of the State, about ijne-third of its area, had not then 
been purchased from the Indians. A \ery small part uf what became Lake 
county was purchased in 1826, the little fractions north of the Ten Mile 
Line, but the main part, it might be saitl all, of Lake county was purchased 
in 1832. In 1834 the land was laid out liy United States surveyors into 
townships and sections. 

A rumor of the desirableness of this region soon went southward into 
the Wabash \'alley and far below tlie Wabash River into Jennings county. 
From those older settled parts of the State explorers and persons seeking 
new locations came, and some from the eastward, in the summer and fall 
of 1834. There is evidence that some came from the eastward in the sum- 
mer by the name of Butler, and that claims were made by them and some 
cabin bodies erected, probably no roofs put on, where is now the town of 



2 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Crown Point; but for some reason these made no settlement there then or 
afterward. The log walls were found there by those who came later, but 
who came to stay. 

In September of 1834 a party of five men came from Attica on the 
Wabash and camped on the bank of the Red Cedar Lake. These were 
Richard Fancher, Charles Wilson, Robert Wilkinson, afterwards known as 
Judge Wilkinson, and with him two nephews. Richard Fancher and Charles 
Wilson w^ere well mounted, the other three men had a wagon and team, 
and these two rode extensively over the central parts of the county. If they 
could appreciate nature's beauties those lonely rides must have been delight- 
ful. Lonely, these rides are called, as there were no settlers, no human 
beings to be seen in their explorations, (the Indians were probably then on 
the Calumet and the Kankakee), and these two men had the open ])rairies, 
the groves, and the woodland to themselves. They had first choice of the 
locations. Richard Fancher selected that little lake, which still bears his 
name, and the land around it, which is now the Lake County Fair Ground. 
Charles Wilson selected his location on the west side of that lake, on the 
shore of which was their camping ground, of which mention will hereafter 
be quite fully made. To that same lake in October of 1834 came another 
party from the Wabash, Dr. Thomas Brown, David Hornor, and, probably, 
Thomas Hornor. These men selected locations for settlement, made several 
claims, according to pioneer or squatter usage, and returned to their shel- 
tered homes for the winter. These were the explorers of what became the 
Hornor settlement on the west side of that lake. But .settlers as well as claim- 
seekers came in that summer and fall of 1834. 

EARLY SETTLERS. 

According to the best authority now accessible, the l^est, indeed, now 
in existence, the Claim Register, claims were made or locations selected, in 
1834, by the following named persons or for them: in June, William S. 
Thornburg, Thomas Thornburg, William Crooks, Samuel Miller ; in October, 
Robert Wilkinson, who becaiTje Probate Judge and made his selection of a 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 3 

home spot on that stream called West Creek, Noah A. Wilkinson, Noah B. 
Clark, R. Fancher, Thomas Childers, Thomas Hornor, Solon Robinson, Milo 
Robinson; in November, T. S. Wilkinson, Robert Wilkinson of Deep River, 
B. Wilkinson, Thomas Brown, Jacob L. Brown, claim bought of Charles 
Wilson, Thomas H. Brown, William Clark, J. W. Holton. H. Wells, David 
Hornor, L. A. Fowler, J. B. Curtis, Elias Myrick, Thomas Reed: in Decem- 
ber, W. A. W. Holton. Harriet Holton, then a widow, Jesse Pierce, David 
Pierce, John Russell, William Montgomery. 

Persons made claims, — that is the form used by the pioneers, — or 
selected locations, lor their friends as well as for themselves, and there is 
no evidence tliat many of these named above actually made settlements in 
1834. Those who did settle in this year were: Thomas Childers and family 
in School Giove, on "section 17," in October; William Crooks and Samuel 
Miller, probably in the summer; Solon Robinson and family on the last day 
of October, claim dated November, and spending that winter with him two 
young men, Luman A. Fowler and J. B. Curtis: Robert Wilkinson of Deep 
River and family in November. 

In January of 1835 settlers were, Lyman Wells and John Driscoll; in 
February, William Clark, known afterwards as Judge Clark, and family, 
W. A. W. Holton with his mother and sister, and J. W. Holton w^ith wife 
and child. 

In the spring Richard Fancher with his family came to settle on the 
shore of the little lake which he had selected on section 17, a noted section 
for several years, but to his great disappointment he found out before long 
that on that section had been laid an "Indian float." .\s the year of 1835 
advanced settlers came in quite rapidly. In April the "Bryant Settlement" 
was commenced. The names of these Bryants were, Wayne. Da\id, Elias, 
and Samuel D. ; and with them in this settlement was a sister. Mrs. Agnew. 
They called their location Pleasant Grove. 

In May the "Myrick Settlement" was made by Elias Myrick, William 
Myrick, and Thomas Reed : and Centre Prairie was settled by S. P. String- 



4 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

liam and J. ]"oIey. Roljert Wilkinson of West Creek also settled on iiis 
clioice location, and north of him. in what became known as the West Creek 
woods, Thomas Wiles and Jesse Bond. In the fall of 1835 the large Hornor 
family came. Da\ id Hornor and fonr sons. Thomas, George, .\mos. Levi, 
a daughter. Ruth, and other children, and Jacob L. Brown, a son-in-law. 
In this year also John Wood from Massaclnisetts made a claim, Robert Ham- 
ilton settled, Milo .Robinson came from New York city, and Henry Wells 
of Massachusetts began his long residence in what became Crown Point. 

The settling of a new region is always a rich, an interesting, sometimes 
a tr_\ing and a dangerous experience, whether in planting colonies like those 
earl\- tlurteen on the Atlantic coast a few hunilred years ago. or commencing, 
as thousands did in the nineteenth century, in what was called for many 
years the West, new settlements of white people among Indians and wild 
animals, the native dwellers on our prairies and in our forests. 

The experiences of the pioneers in the prairie belt was different, m some 
resi3ects, from the earlier life of the settlers in the large forests of Ohio and 
of southern and central Indiana, for although they built their first cabins in 
the edges of woodlands or in groves where they ha<I the shelter of trees, 
instead of being obliged to make clearings in hea\y timber thus opening up 
at first a very small farm, these ]5rairie settlers started at once the large 
"breaking plows," with six or more yoke of oxen attached, and could sow 
and plant the first summer after their arrival. And they put up free of any 
expense all of the grass for hay wdiich they could find time to mow. I-'rom 
a large amount of hea\'y labor in what is called clearing land they were thus 
relieved. They had at first rails to split for fences, making as they did the 
Virginia worm fence, and this was their heaviest work. 

It is to be remembered that these early prairie settlers, — one family, 
that of William Ross, in 1833, but not a permanent family, these others in 
1834 and 1835, — were what were called squatters on newly surveyed Gov- 
ernment lands, before Lake county had any civil existence. The legislature 
of Indiana in the winter of 1835 and 1836 divided the territory north of the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 5 

Kankakee Ri\er. extending from the iirganip^ed CDnnty of Lar<irte to the Illi- 
nois line, into two portions, one to heeonie Porter eonnty antl the other Lake. 
Porter was organized and the territr.ry that was to he Lake was attached 
to it to hring it under civil government. It was divided into three townshi])^ 
and a justice of the peace was elected in each. These were, Amsi L. Ball. 
Solon Robinson, and Robert Wilkinson of West Creek. In 1836, the year 
of the first justice courts, when tin^ee or four cases only were tried, settlers 
came in rapidly. The names of one hundred and thirteen "settlers in 1836" 
ha\-e been found on tlie Claim Register. 

As many of these names are likely to appear in the biographical sketches 
they are not gi\en here. It will be sufficient to state that in this year there 
came the Taylor and Edgerton and Noidyke families, the families of James 
Farweil and Charles Marvin, the Church and Culler families of Prairie West. 
William Merrill and Dudley ^.lerrill. and in September George Earle. 'i'hese 
commenced new centers of settlement. 

The town of Liverpool, which became Lake county's first county seat, 
was laid out as a town in May proba])ly or in June of this year. The sale of 
lots there in July amounted to sixteen thousand dollars. Lot number 107 
sold for eighty dollars. The men concerned in this town were John B. 
Chapman, Henry Fredrickson. and Nathaniel Davis. A tru^ "paper city" 
was laid out, probably this year, at the mouth of the Calumet River, by a 
company of men from Columbus, Ohio. It was called Indiana City, and 
was designed no doubt to compete, with the then young Michigan City and 
Chicago, for the commerce of Lake Michigan. It was sold in 1841, the tra- 
chtion is, for fourteen thousand dollars. There is no evidence that it had 
any inhabitants, and actually it was valueless. 

July 4, 1836, there was organized at the house of Solon Robinson or 
in his gro\e. The Squatters" Union of Lake County. A constitution of four- 
teen articles was adopted, and attached to that four hundred and seventy-si.x 
signatures have been counted. Some of them, however, held claims in Porter 
countv. 



6 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

In Marcli of Ihis same year a postoffice was established called Lake 
Court House, Solon Robinson, postmaster, bringing the mail himself or by 
a deputy from Michigan City and for which he was to have the proceeds 
of the ofiice. Although letters in those days, coming any long distance, cost 
twenty-five cents each, paid by those who received them, the proceeds of this 
office, up to October i, 1836, were only fifteen dollars. 

In this same year was opened the first settlers' store by Solon and Milo 
Robinson, brothers, who sold, before the spring of the next year, about three 
thousand dollars' worth of goods, selling the largest amount to the Indians, 
buying from them fur and cranberries. 

COUNTY ORGANIZATION. 

By an act of the Indiana Legislature Lake was declared to be an inde- 
pendent county, separated entirely from the jurisdiction of Porter, after Feb- 
ruary 15, 1837. March 8, 1837. Henry Wells was commissioned Sherifif. 
and an election was duly held at the house of Samuel D. Bryant, E. W. 
Bryant Inspector, at the house of A. L. Ball. \Y. S. Thornburg Inspector, 
at the house of Russel Eddy, William Clark Inspector, for the purpose of 
electing a Clerk of the Circuit Court, a Recorder, two Associate Judges, and 
three county Commissioners. Solon Robinson was elected Clerk, William 
.\. W. Holto'.i Recorder. William B. Crooks and William Clark Judges, 
Amsi L. Ball. Thomas Wiles. S. P. Stringham. Commissioners. 

April 5, 1837. the Board of Commissioners held their first meeting. 
They transacted, as one might e.xpect. a large amount of business in starting 
all the departments under their jurisdiction in a newly organized county. 
Some of their acts it will be of interest to notice. 

They adopted a county seal. They divided the county into three town- 
ships and three commissioner's districts, these having the same geographical 
limits. The number of districts is still three. They appointed J. W. Holton 
county treasurer arid fixed the amount of his bond at two thousand dollars. 
They appointed Milo Robinson trustee of what was then called the Seminary 
I'und. the amount of his bond as trustee to be two hundred d<)llars, and they 



HISTORY Oi- LAKE COUNTY. 7 

appointed him also agent of tlie Three Per Cent. Fund, fixing his bond as 
agent at tin^ee tliousand dollars. The}' instructed the sheriff to prevent any 
person from taking pine timber from the pubhc land or school lands of the 
count}-, and to bring such offenders to justice. It was found on trial much 
easier for the commissioners to give these instructions than for the sheriff 
to carry them out. It is an old saying, catch before hanging, and the catch- 
ing part was what the sheriff found to be difficult. 

An amusing instance of an attempt to capture some timber thieves is on 
record. When the young Chicago was beginning to grow and pine timber 
was needed, a report readied the county officers that men were stealing valu- 
able trees from off our northern sand hills. A posse was summoned and 
an independent military company was taken into the service. The party 
took dinner at Liverpool, and proceeded, it is said, with drum and fife sound- 
ing, — how could military men march without martial music? — to the place 
where men had been cutting down the grand pines. But the men had dis- 
appeared. Knowing that they were trespassers they did not propose to face, 
not only the civil but the military authorities of Lake county. It was cer- 
tainly a no\el way to secure the capture of thie\-es. The county commis- 
sioners finally paid the amount of the different Ijills, and perhaps they and 
the sheriff learned wisdom from experience. The pine timl:)er went to 
Chicago. 

Solon Robinson, who is good authority for those times, wrote in 1847 
about Lake county, that the sand ridges along Lake Michigan were "orig- 
inally covered with a valuable growth of pine and cedar, which has been all 
stript oft' to build up Chicago." So, according to this statement, the instruc- 
tions given by the county commissioners in 1837 amounted to very little. 

CIRCUIT COURT. 

In October of 1837 was held at Lake Court House, in the Robinson log 
building, the first term of the Lake Cnxuit Court, Judge Sample presiding 
and Judge Clark associate. The other associate. Judge Crooks, does not 
seem to ha\e been present. There were nine lawyers, and thirty cases for 



8 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

this first term were on the docket. It is reported to liave been a very quiet 
session. The majesty, as sonietinies manifested, of human law, coming 
for tlie first time into the wild magnificence of nature ought to have quieted 
human passion. 

In this \ear of the organization of the county, mail facilities were poor 
while letters were costl\-. John Russell was sent from Lake Court House to 
Indianapolis to obtain the sheriff's appointment and he went and returned 
on foot before a letter could go and return. The postoffice eastward, from 
which the mail was lirought, was then Michigan City, distant about forty 
miles, and the next ones west, in Ilhnois, were Chicago and Joliet, each also 
distant about forty miles. 

There was in the county at this time one regular physician. Dr. Palmer. 
A quite large log building was put up in the summer by tl;e two brothers, 
Solon and Milo Robinson: it was made later in the year or in 1838 a two- 
story building, and a few frame buildings were in this summer erected. Many 
new settlers came in, and log cabins were becoming quite abundant, with 
their stick and clay chimneys, their puncheon floors, clay plastered walls, 
'and roofs made without nails. Of the eighty-one whose names are on record 
as "Settlers in 1837," the Claim Register for that year not being entire, the 
following names are quoted as having been at one time grouped together: 
"Bartlett Woods and Charles Woods, natives of Winchelsea, England; 
Hervey Ball and Lewis \\'arriner of .Xgawam, Massachusetts; George Flint, 
Benjamin Farley. Henry Torrey, Joseph Jackson: Henry Sanger, Ephraim 
Cleveland, William Sherman, A. D. Foster, and, first of the German settlers 
on Prairie West, John Hack." These were prominent settlers in different 
parts of the county and their names, with many others of that year, must 
continue to live in Lake county history. 

Religious services were held several times this year at Solon Robinson's 
house and in the log building at Lake Court House, and at Pleasant Grove, 
where probably the Methodists commenced a formal organization, the first 
on record in the county. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 9 

These eaiiv \eavs. m_) im]K'itaiU in laying foundations for the future, 
passed rapidlx- aluui; witii their excitements, their adventures, and, to some 
extent, with their privations, and the date soon came of 1838. 

As early as 1833 had heen opened along the beach of Lake Michigan 
a route foi tra\-el. and another road opened not long after a few miles inland, 
and four-horse coaches had been put upon the road by Hart, Steel and 
Sprague. for conveying passengers and mail from Detroit to Fort Dearborn 
which became Chicigd. But this, except furnishing a ta\ern-stand or two 
on the lake shore and a ferry across the Calumet, had little to do with the 
settlement or growth of Lake county. But in the winter before the summer 
of 1838 Congress established some mail routes through the county, two of 
which were of considerable l>enefit. One was from LaPorte to Joliet, pass- 
ing through Lake Court House, which was taken l^y H. S. Pelton. and the 
other was from Michigan City to Peoria, this also passing through Lake 
Court House, now Crown Point, and then southwest, passing near the present 
town of Creston. 

S.WV MILLS AND BRIDGES. 

Lumber is a necessar}' article for any impnn'ement in building beyond 
the primitive log cabins, and enterprising pioneers soon commenced erecting 
saw mills. They seem to have found considerable difficulty in making their 
mill-dams sufficiently strong to gi\'e them water in a dry season and then 
to resist the pressure of a freshet. Four of these earliest mills are accredited 
to the year 1838. called Irom the names of their builders, Walton's, Wood's, 
Dustin's, and Tax'lor's. The Wood mill, where is now, at Woodvale, a large 
flouring mill, furnish.ed the most lumber. 

One mill had been put into successful operatif)n before this year, built 
by \\'ilson S. Harrisdn. which in the spring of 1837 furnished oak lumber 
for fifteen dollars for a thousanrl feet. The great market place was Michigan 
City, afterwards Chicago, from which places pine lumlier could be oljtained. 
Pine trees grew in the northern part of Lake county, but this was mostly 
stolen and taken to the market in Chicago. 



10 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Bridge-building commenced in tliis year of 1838. for whicli work lumber 
was a necessity. One who looks o\er the county now, especially in the sum- 
mer time, seeing here and there a ditch, but very little flowing water, can 
have no correct idea of our streams in the early days, when free and bridge- 
less, in the spring and often in mid-summer, the Calumet and Turkey Creek, 
Deep River and Deer Creek, Eagle Creek, Cedar Creek, and West Creek, 
were sending ofif their full flow of water to the distant Atlantic, some through 
Lake Michigan, and some southward through the Kankakee to the Missis- 
sippi and the Gulf. The stream called West Creek, with its wide marsh, its 
springs, its quicksands, formed, until bridges were built, an impassable bar- 
rier for any thing like travel. The horseman was in danger in many places 
if be tried to urge his horse across. Two bridges were built, in this year 
of lumber, across Deep River, a short distance northeast of Lake Court 
House, costing five hundred dollars. These were built by Daniel May and 
Hiram Nordyke. That bridges were needed across this river then was evi- 
dent, for in the mid-summer of 1837 a very large horse drawing a buggy, 
in an attempt to ford the marshy stream, went down, probably into quick- 
sand, leaving only his head out of water, and only by rapid exertion of his 
driver wiio plunged at once mto the water, was separated from the buggy 
and helped up<jn his feet, regaining the dry prairie on the further' side. 

Over West Creek, near the Wilkinson home, a bridge costing four 
hundred dollars was built by X. Hayden. Across Cedar Creek, called some- 
times the Outlet, near the home of Lewis Warriner, now the Esty place, the 
bridge cost only two hundred dollars, erected by S. P. Stringham and R. 
Wilkinson. The one across Deep River at B. Wilkinson's crossing near the 
Porter county line, built by Amsi L. Ball, cost four hundred dollars. 

Thus, in the first year of bridge-building it appears that for five very 
needful bridges the anicjunt of fifteen hundred dollars was laid out. The 
money came from what was known then as "the three per cent, fund." 

FIRST B.APTIST CMfRCH. 

June 17. 1838, was constituted, according to their denominational usage. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 11 

with nine Baptist members tmni the two states of Massachusetts and New 
York, Elder French of Porter county present and acting as Moderator, .what 
was called tlie Cedar Lake Baptist Churcli. The meeting for organization 
was held in the large log schoolhouse which was not then quite completed. 
Besides this center two other places were selected for holding Sabbath meet- 
ings, Prairie West and Center Prairie, but these two other places were soon 
given up. It may be added that at the schoolhouse of this first Baptist 
center, public, formal recognition services, according to usage, were held 
May 19, 1839. 

METHODIST ORGANIZATION. 

Says an old manuscript, referring to the summer of 1838. "The Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church mav be considered as regularly organized in the 
county from this time, forming with Porter county a circuit, and supplied 
with preaching at stated times." According, however, to Conference Min- 
utes the circuit which comprised Porter and Lake was not formed till 1840, 
but there was c. Kankakee Mission formed in 1839, and a Deep River Mission 
formed in 1835, so that it is probable, as was stated in regard to Pleasant 
Grcve, that there was a lieginning of Methodist organization in the county 
earlier, but not much earlier, than the Baptist organization. 

These two bodies of Christians, the Methodist and Baptist, were the 
strong religious forces in the early years until the Presbyterians made a 
beginning in 1840, and many more Methodist than Baptist pioneers came 
into the county. They were successful also in establishing themselves in a 
few centers which did not change as did the Baptist center, until it became 
only a pleasure resort. Befoie, however, that first Baptist church was com- 
pelled to disband bv the changes which were taking place, it had on its 
record book the names of nearly one hundred members, forty -two of whom 
had been baptized in accordance with their usage in the crystal water of their 
beautiful lake. 

Of the earliest Methodist centers, four at least, at one of wdiich a bishop 
once preachetl, would not now be recognized as places where people ever 
met for worship. 



12 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Tins summer of 1838. at the religious orgauizatious of which a glance 
has been taken, was one of "continued distressing sickness." It is quite 
sure that, in proportion to the number of inhabitants, more deaths took place 
than in any other summer of the county's history. It was a very dry sum- 
mer, called a summer "of exccssi\-e drouth." 

Yet many impro\ements were made this year, and other settlers came 
in. One party came from the state of New York in four wagons drawn by 
horses, making the journey in four weeks. Among these were the families 
of Solomon Burns and George Willey, also Harry Burns. They settled on 
the west side of West Creek, where a little neighborhood was formed com- 
prising the families bearing the names of Rankin, Hitchcock, Gordinier, Mar- 
vin, Burns, Fuller, Farwell, Willey, and later of Graves, Irish, also Blayney, 
which was an almost inaccessible neighborhood from the eastward until the 
construction of the Hanover bridge. 

THE LAND S.\LE. 

March 19, 1839, came that event for which the settlers had l>een looking 
and waiting, and yet for which many of them were not ready. The sale of 
United States lands, including the public lands in Lake county, commenced 
on that day in the (own of LaPorte. The, so called, squatters of Lake were 
there in large numbers, some of them hardy pioneers, accustomed to frontier 
life, some of them but recently from New England and New York, who 
had been taking their first lessons in frontier life, and some of them sturdy 
Germans, lately removed from the thronging life of Europe into the new 
freedom and abundant room of this western world, all determined to stand 
by each other in seeing that no speculator should bid upon a claimant's land. 
The event in view of which they had organized the Squatter's Union, Jul_\' 
4, 1836, had now come, and they were prepared to fulfil its agreeiuents and 
its pledges. The impression was strongly made that no speculator should 
overbid a squatter, and the moral force of the fact that five hundred deter- 
mined men had decided upon that question, was sufficient. Men were chosen, 
according' to their agreement, to do the bidding, Solon Robinson for one 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 13 

township, William Kinnison lor another, and A. McDonald, whose name 
appears here for the first tmie in these records, who was afterwards a promi- 
nent lawyer, the fn'st one at Crown Point, whose date of settlement is 1839, 
was the bidder for tlie third township. Xo speculators interfered. The 
record is : "'I'he sale passed ofY quietly, and the sons of Lake returned peace- 
fully to their homes." 

COUNTY SEAT LOCATION. 

.\nother ])rominent event took place this year, in May, the location of 
the county seat. The Luliana Legislatiu^e apiiointed the commissioners. 
'J'he\', It is to he supposed, looked over the county. Three places sought the 
location. These were, the town of Lixerpool where so many town lots were 
sold in 1830, the village of Lake Court House, where already a log court 
house was huilt and where Commissioners' Court and Circuit Court had heen 
held, and where the comity oflicers were residing, antl Dr. Cahin Ldley's 
"place at the now well known lake. 

Bv some means or hy some influence the Commissioners selected Liver- 
pool, (ircat dissatisfaction resulted from their decision, and the citizens 
determined to ask for a re-locntion. Their request was granted. The Legis- 
lature again ;i])iiointed commissioners. These were, "Jesse Tomlinson and 
Ivlward Moore r.i Marion county, Henry Barclay of Pulaski. Joshua Lind- 
sev of \\ hite, and Daniel Doale of Carroll county." The same localities were 
in competition .as l.cfore, (ieorge Karle for (Hic, .Solon Robinson for one, 
and, instead of Dr. Lillev, Judge Benjamin T^IcCarty for the third, having 
bought the Luley place, laitl out town lots and named it West Point. The 
Commissioners came in June, 1840. Donations, large for those days, were 
ottered 1)\' the friends of each localitx . I""inally, Lake Court House W'as 
selected as the proper place for the county seat of Lake county, those five 
men wlio ha\e heen named located it there, and there for si.\ty-four years 
it has remained. Solon Rohinson and Judge Clark, the former setting apart 
fort\- acres and the latter sixty in section 8 for the town that was soon to he. 
laid out seventy-five town lots, donated a large public square, and gave an 



14 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

acre of grouinl besides the sfiuare for a court house and other public Inuld- 
ings, also an acre for school purposes. The two men named were considered 
the proprietors of the town. The\- di. rated one-half of the lots and ga\e 
additional land. Kussel Eddy, who became a pmminent resident in iS_^S. 
donated ten acres of land and J. W. Hultc^n fifteen. Other donations, some 
in ninney. some in work, were also made, deorge Earle of Li\erpool was 
appointed County Agent. He and the two ])roprietors re-named the place 
and called it Crowx Point. The County Agent and the ]iroprietors sold lots 
at auction Xnveniber U). i8_|0. The prices varieil from eleven dollars up 
to one hundred ami l\\enty-se\eu and a half for a lot. 

The census taken this year l)\- Lewis Warriner ga\e for the population 
of the county, when Crown Point as a town commenced its existence. 14O3 
inhabitants. 

EVENTS FROM 184O TO 185O. 

Without minute details such as an annalist migh.t gi\'e. the more im- 
portant exents in these ten years of rather slow growth ma)' be briefly noticed. 

Politically, the county was now largely Democratic and in favor of re- 
electing Martin Wan P.uren; but there were some, then called Whigs, among 
these were especiall\- Solon Robinson and Leonard Cutler, who went to the 
great political gathering at the Tippecanoe Battle Ground, jcjining in the log 
cabin and hard cider cam])aign of 1840, and helping to elect (ieneral Harri- 
son. The two men named were decidedly in fax'or of temperance and took 
no part, their friends were \ery sure, in the hard cider part of the celebratit)n> 
of that year. 

Health had prevailed at Crown Point from 1834 to 1843, but in the 
spring of this latter year scarlet fever came in a very malignant form. A 
spot was now chosen for a cemetery and soon there were eight buiials. 

Many sheep were brought in from Ohio this same year, and for a time 
Lake county was (piite a wool-growing region. A few sheep had been 
among the domestic animals of the early pioneers. Their great enemy was 
the ])raine wolf, .\fter the large flocks came disease spread among them. 
A few good flocks are still in the county. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 16 

In 1844 the wheat crop was injured by rust. The wheat crop of 1845 
was considered very good. But for several years in this decade the average 
price was not more than sixty cents a bushel. It was a trying time for 
farmers. Man\' l^ecame discouraged. There is evidence from different 
sources that in these years of depression as many as one-half of the earliest 
settlers passed out of tiie county seeking iiomes in the then distant West. 

But some improvements in tliis trying time were made. Gospel min- 
isters came, churclies were organized, buildings erected. Almost as soon 
as the county ?eat question was settled and Crown Point was named, so that 
Solon Robinson felt sure .'f the growth of his town, he secured the residence 
of Rev. N. Warriner, a Baptist minister who had been recently ordained at 
Cedar Lake, built a house for him near his own home, and helped to provide 
for his supix)rt. 

In 1843 Rev. M. Allman. a Methodist minister, settled in Crown Point. 
Two church ijuildings were erected : one for the Methodist congregation at 
the crossing of W'est Creek, the other a Roman Catholic chapel on Pijirie 
West. And, this same year or the next, was built a Methodist church at 
Hickory Point, on the county line, but in Lake county. 

April 27, 1844. was organized, by Rev. J. C. Brown of Valparaiso, the 
Presbyterian cluuch at Crown Point with eighteen memljers. The two prom- 
inent women of this church at this time were, Mrs. Harriet Warner Plolton 
and Mrs. Richard Fancher. Elias Bryant and Cyrus M. Mason were the 
first elders. In 1846 Rev. William Townley became the first resident pastor 
of this church. A church building was soon erected at a cost of three thou- 
sand dollars, .-\bout the same time, l)etween 1845 and 1847, the Methodists 
also erected a cliurch building. Cost not now known. 

In 1846 sickness again came, and other calamities befell the struggling 
inhabitants of the new county. The summer was very dry, the weather 
was very hot. This is part of a record : "Sickness was almost universal. 
There were few to relieve the wants of the sick or to administer medicine." 
There were no trained nurses to be obtained in those days, and no money 



16 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

\o pay tor traincil iiur^ins- if it cmild lia\'e been obtained. So the members 
of eacli family ilui for themselves the best that was possible. Physicians 
were few. 'rhi> is another record: "The summers of 1838 and 1846 are 
the twr most noted for sickness in the annals of Lake. Both were very dry 
seasons." Bc-ldcs the sickness of 1846 fields of grain went to waste, for 
there were no men to do the harvesting. The men and the boys who were 
able to work were taking care of their sick and performing the needful house- 
hold work. Only those who passed through that trying year can know how 
great the trials were. Tn the present conditions of the county such a time 
can not come again, even if extensive sickness should again prevail. Increas- 
ing the privations of that memorable year, much of the wheat that some did 
succeed in harvesting was hardly fit for market or for bread, and half the 
jjotato cro]i raised was destroyed by disease. In those years spring wheat 
was quite extensively raised in the county, and potato bugs were destroyers 
unknown. 

That summer of 1846 passed: a number had died, some, perhaps all, 
sadly missed in what had been bright homes; but the living prepared again 
to liopc on and live on. A very favorable fall and a mild winter followed. 

In 1847 there were in the county se\en postoffices, five saw mills in oper- 
ation furnishing oak lumber, two grist-mills, "Wood's mill," which did grind- 
ing for the farmers of Ixitb Lake and Porter counties, and \\'ilson and Saun- 
der's. George Earle of Liverpool was also erecting a third at what became 
Uobrirt. There wefe then in the countx' about fifty frame houses, fi\'e church 
buildings, two brick dwelling houses, and five stores. Two of these were 
at Crown Point, one kept by H. S. Pelton and one by William Alton. One 
was ,it Pleasant (n'ove, one at Wood's mill, one at St. John. There were 
in the county two lawyers, six, perhaps seven, physicians, fifteen justices of 
the i)eace. There were five local Methodist ministers, one circuit preacher, 
and one Presbyterian pastor. The I!a])tist pastor, the first minister of the 
(ios])cl residing in Crown Point, had remo\ed to Illin(iis. 

The county officers for 1S47, \vhen were completed ten vears of organ- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 17 

ized county lite, were the following named men: "Henry Wells, Sheriff; 
H. D. Palmer. Associate Judge: Hervc\ i;;\ll. Probate Judge; D. K. Petti- 
bone, Clerk: Joseph Jackson. Auditor: .\l;ijor Allman, Recorder: William 
C. Farringion, Treasurer: Alexander McDonald, Assessor; S. T. Green, 
H. S. Pelton, Robert Wilkinson. Commissioners." 

OUR MEXICAN WAR COMPANY. 

Lake county liaving made so grand a record in that fearful conflict for 
the life of the nation between 1861 and 1865, it would not be just to omit 
some mention of the deeds of her earlier sons in a very different contest. 

May II, 1846, there was declared by our Go\ernment war, stern, and 
ever fearful war, upon the country called Mexico. Fifty thousand volunteers 
were called for by the President. Many young men were ready to offer 
their services, and to join the forces that were expected to reach — there was 
an air of romance in the expression — the "Halls of the Montezumas." 

Joseph P. Smith, a business man of Crown Point, who had been a mili- 
tan,' man in New York city, was at this time captain of an independent mili- 
tary company at Crown Point, and he with twenty-five or thirty of these 
men, and others from outside of the county, started for the war. This com- 
pany joined the army in Mexico in 1847. They saw little of what some 
call the glory of war, little of the glitter of Montezuma halls. They were 
in no battle. They did that needful but wearing work, guard duty. They 
were six months at Monterey. Forty-seven of the company died amid the 
burning heats or on the trying march, and in the fall of 1848 they returned, 
as Tennyson said of the Light Brigade, "all there were left of them." One 
of them who had lived through the sickness and death of so many comrades, 
afterward lived through the sufferings of the Libby prison, and returned a 
second time, safe from the perils of war, to his home in Crown Point. In 
that later war record his name will appear. 

The year 1849, ten years after the Land Sale, and with it the year 1850, 
closed up in I^ke county the true pioneer mode of life, a life that had its 
enjoyments and its privations, a life which has been many times described 



18 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

on written and printed pages, but wliich by tlie younger people of this gener- 
ation can be but sHglitly understood or api^rcciated ; yet wliicli made possible 
for them and those coming after them the great advantages wiiich are now 
enjoyed. 

Lord Bacon assigned the highest meed of earthly fame to the founders 
of States, called in the Latin tongue conditorcs iiiipcriorum. The Pilgrims 
and the P'uritans. the Quakers and Covenanters, the Cavaliers and Hugue- 
nots, with many others from the kingdoms of Europe, helped to found the 
first thirteen states of this Union. Our pioneers founded a county, not a 
large division of country, but twice as large as that noted region, the ancient 
Attica, a division of the old Greece, which contained once a large population, 
seven times as many as we yet have. And these men and women who laid 
the foundations here are justly entitled to a fair meed of fame, and their 
pioneer life, up to 1850, is worthy of consideration and of due appreciation. 
Some of its peculiarities are in detail yet accessible to the present inhabitants 
of the county. Memorial sketches of many of these pioneers will be found 
in this work. According to the United States census there were in the 
county in 1850 seven hundred and fifteen families. 

Beautiful, exceedingly Ijeautiful, as this region was in its native wild- 
ness, the prairies, the groves, the woodlands, showing very little indication 
that man had ever been here, only some trails, some dancing floors made of 
earth, some burial places, it did not prove to be an Eden after the white man's 
presence began to be felt in its most choice localities. Virtuous in general 
as the pioneers were, there was so little of society restraint, of civil restraint 
over them, that sometimes the temptations to do wrong proved too strong 
for a feeble virtue. But these were rare cases, only a few dark siK>ts, in a 
generally moral, upright, virtuous community. 

When one considers the crimes that are so numerous in these later years. 
not only in towns and cities, but often in country neighborhoods, it is pleasant 
to look back si.xty years ago ujion the quiet, yet active home life, that was 
spreading out upon the [irairies, and to see how secure life and property were, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 19 

and how fearlessly the young maidens could roam into the wilds in search of 
flowers and fruits, before tramps had an existence; and if they met some 
hunter youth, he was sure to Ije a friend. Now a lone man is to be dreaded 
and shunned. It was not so then. 

SAD OCCURRENCES. 

In the course of years, and in any community, as human life is, there 
will always be some events of more than ordinary sadness. At least two of 
such events may fittingly be recorded here. The first is the death by freez- 
ing of David Agnew, whose wife was a Bryant, on the night of April 4, 
1835. As one of the Bryant family making the settlement at Pleasant Grove, 
it fell to his lot to take an ox team across from Morgan prairie in Porter 
county to the new settlement. 

The weather had been mild with some rain, and snow and cold were no 
longer expected; but on that April day there came "a most terrible snow- 
storm." Circumstances had separated David Agnew with the ox team from 
others of the party, but as t!ie storm became very severe Simeon Bryant 
stopped at Hickory Point, built a fire, and waited for their coming. They 
came not as expected, and at about four in the afternoon, Simeon Bryant, 
thinking that David Agnew had concluded not to come on in that storm, 
building a large fire of logs for a camping place if he should come, started 
on foot for the settlement, distant ten miles west. He was "a remarkably 
strong, robust man," said one of that family, but was very thorough!; chilled 
when at dark he reached the cabin of E. W. Bryant. David Agnew was not 
a very strong or healthy man, and no one thought of his undertaking that 
perilous trip of ten long miles on such a fearful night. The next morning, 
when the storm was over, an April fog coming on. as Simeon Bryant, David 
Bryant, and E. W. Bryant went out to look over the land, they saw some 
object lying in the snow, and E. W. Bryant said, "It looks like a dead man." 
David Bryant took a closer look and said, "It looks like Agnew." And the 
body of David Agnew it proved to be, beside which those three stout-hearted 
men stood aghast. What that night had been to him in sufif^ring and in 
struggle none could fully know» 



20 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

1 quote now from tlie Bryant narrative: "Upon looking round- they 
found Ijealen paths where Agnew had at first run round in a circle to try to 
keep from perishing, anfl then, as if strength had failed so as not to he able 
to do that, he had supported himself with his arms around the trunks of the 
trees, running around them till there was quite a path worn and leaving the 
lint of his coat sticking in the bark. He finally got hold of a pole about 
seven or eight feet long, and placing one end on the ground and leaning on 
the other ran round in a circle, until, as it would appear, his strength was 
entirely exhausted and he fell across his support, leaving no sign of having 
made a struggle after." 

We can see in this account how heroically he struggled for life, and that 
he should have perished so near to a home and a shelter seems doubly pit- 
iable. It was found that he had reached Hickory Point with his oxen and 
wagon, but instead of trying to camp there with them by the fire, had drawn 
out the keys from the ox bows, dropped them with the yokes all chained 
together upon the ground, thrown out a few unlx)und sheaves of oats from 
his wagon as food for the oxai, and had started immediately to follow Simeon 
Bryant across the ten miles of prairie and marsh. 

The Bryant narrative says that there was an Indian trail passing by 
Hickory Point and through Pleasant Grove, but that the night was very 
dark, although the snow-storm was followed by almost incessant lightning. 
Somehow Agnew made his way across, but perished almost within reach 
of help. 

There have been a few deaths in Lake county the circumstances of 
which have made them exceedingly pitiable, but none much more so than the 
death by freezing of David Agnew. 

The other of these occurrences is the death of Peder Olsen Dijsternd. 
a young Norwegian, who was passing through the county in a buggy, with 
one companion, on his way to a settlement of his countrymen across the 
Kankakee River south of where is now Momence. Before reaching his des- 
tination he was taken sick, and was left by his traveling companion at a home 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 21 

near tlic Red Cedar Lake to recover or to die. Of (lie conipaiiioii who left 
liim uotliiiig is here i<no\\ii. Isiiiorant as lie was of tlicir laiig;iia,ne tlic family 
learned not much from Iiim. Init s^axe him such care as their home aflforded. 
He .soon died. Tlie hurial w.is witnessed hy the writer of this record soon 
after his finding a home at the hike, and to him it was exceedingly sad. No 
kinsman of the dead man i)rcscnt, no countryman present, no one lo shed 
one tear or sjieak one pitying word. A few pioneers gathered, undertakers 
in those days were not, and tlie rude coftin was conveyed to a little mound 
near the lake shore and the hody of the line-looking young stranger was laid 
away to rest. The Ixiy who witnessed with a sad heart all the proceedings 
has in the years of his manhood conducted very many hurial services, he 
has heard the voice of wailing and has witne.s.sed bitter weeping, as tender 
earth-ties have been severed, hut the burial of the young Norwegian stranger 
remains fixed in his memory as the one exami^le of a burial of an unknown 
,stranger, alone in a foreign land. Nearly thus was the body of Henry Mar- 
tyn, the missionary, committed to the dust; and of our stranger's death it 
might be said as of Henry Martyn's, 

"no sister's hand. 
No ninthcr's tender care liis piilnw smoothed. 
AH, all lie loved on earth were far away." 

But soon there came in search of this Norwegian an uncle, Peter Sather, 
a cjuite wealthy exchange broker, from the city of New York. He learned 
from the Ball family such facts as were known in the neighliorhood, be 
found the burial place of his nephew, he paid to the owner of the claim five 
dollars for the little mound, (he could get no title, as all the land of Lake 
county then belonged to the Government or to a few Indians), and returned 
to his cily lionic. In the Commissioners' Records of Lake county, Jann.nry, 
1838, that nephew is called a "pauper" whose burial cost the county of Lake 
thirty-one dollars: but in the city of New York and in his childhood's lunne 
in Norway he was evidently far from being penniless. What money or its 
ef|uivalent he took with him fmm bis uncle's home, ,'uid \\li;il becnnic of it, 
probably no one now living knows. He had not livcil "a i)aui)er",if indred 
thus he (lied. 



22 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

PICTURES SUGGESTED FOR SOME ARTIST. 

At least three beautiful scenes might he placed on canvas showing some 
few of the many interesting events in Lake county history. 

One is an event in Lidian life here, and Indian custom; a custom, prob- 
ahly, learned from French missionaries. 

The locality is Big White Oak Island in the Kankakee Marsh. The 
time is January i, 1839. The witnesses and narrators are Charles Kenney 
and son of Orchard Grove. The circumstances are these: On that Island 
a French trader named Laslie, who has an Indian wife, has a store. The 
two Kenneys were looking up some horses, and the night of December 31, 
1838, came upon them. They staid at Laslie's place all night. Mrs. Laslie, 
the Indian woman, kind and thoughtful, treated them well, gave them clean 
blankets out of the store on which to sleep, and would receive from them 
no pay. 

I cjuote now from "Lake County, 1872," a book out of print : "The 
morning dawned. The children of the encampment gathered, some thirty in 
number, and the oldest Indian, an aged venerable man, gave to each of the 
children a silver half-dollar as a New Year's present. As the children re- 
ceived the shining silver each one returned to the old Indian a kiss." Surely 
a beautiful picture could be made from this historic scene, the broad marsh 
spreading out on each side, southward the line of timber skirting the unseen 
river, the encampment, the two white visitors, the joyous Indian children, 
the aged Pottawattomie, who had years before been active as a hunter, now 
bestowing the half-dollars, the money of civilization, and bending gracefully 
down to receixe the gentle kisses from the children's lips. 

T'v second of these events is a very different scene. It is the turning 
over of the first furrow on the prairie where was afterward to be the Main 
street of Crown Point. The time is spring, the year 1835. I quote now 
from "Lake County, 1884," also out of print : 

"A large lireaking plow with a wooden mold Ijoard had been provided, 
four yoke of oxen were attached to the plow, and the women and children 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 23 

came out from the cabins to see the first furrow turned in the green-sward of 
the prairie. Judge Clark held the plow, Thomas and Alexander [his sons] 
guided the oxen. W. A. W. Holton walked behind to aid in turning over 
any refractory turf, himself then young and vigorous with that jet black 
hair, that cares little for exposure, which has characterized the Holton young 
men; while in front of all, to enable the oxen and boys to keep the line, 
walked the tall, spare form of Solon Robinson, even then as white-haired 
as Christopher Columbus when he stood on the deck of the Santa Maria." 

The third of these historic events is a widely different scene. It may 
be called a sacred scene. It is peculiar to Christianity. It is the public 
recognition, the first in this county, of a Christian church. The time was 
Ma)' 19, 1839. The locality was the Red Cedar Lake, a few rods south of 
the present Cedar Lake schoolhouse. 

The recognition services were on Sunday, the Christian Sabbath, and 
were held in the grove or the lake woodland, with the shade of the young 
and thrifty oaks over the heads of the assembled people, and far above the 
leaf crowned treetops the blue May sky, the bright water of the Lake of the 
Red Cedars sparkling in the sunlight not far eastward, all the jcircumstances 
combining to add beauty to the picture. Two aged, venerable ministers 
of the Gospel were present, the stout built, rugged form of Elder French of 
Porter county is in full view and the more slender, less vigorous, but y t 
manly form of Elder Sawin of LaPorte. Elder Sawin has just preached to 
the attentive congregation, and now, as the camera is adjusted, the brethren 
and sisters rising from their seats form a circle in the center of the assembly, 
join their hands, and Elder French in the name of the council of churches 
there represented gives to them the right hand of church fellowship. 

They are seated. Our picture is taken. Other exercises follow. That 
little band, among them the three pioneer men, Richard Church, Lewis War- 
riner, and Hervey Ball, other men in the prime of life, some young mothers, 
and some elderly women, now a recognized church, there in that woodland 
which gave little evidence that liuman footsteps had been on the ground 



£1 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

before, celebrated for the first time together what is called the Lord's Supper. 
They "took the sacred emblems of blood stained Calvary." But the picture 
for the painter's brush is the group of men and women so lately members of 
large Eastern churches, as they join hand to hand in the open air of the 
almost untrodden western woodland, to act thenceforth together as a church 
of Christ. 

These three suggested pictures, painted as this writer would paint them 
were he an aitist, taking in the natural beauty that was then around the 
human actors, would be treasures on the wall of the Old Settler Historic 
Hall that is to be. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER n. 

The Railroad Period. Outline History from 185 i to 1904. 

When the first lialf of the nineteentli century closed, the frontier or pio- 
neer method of living, of working, of making sure, but slow progress. Was 
coming, in Lake county, to a sudden end. For, eastward, in the distance, 
and not far a\va\-, could be heard the sound of the railroad whistle. The 
railroads were coming; the swift passenger cars, the long lines of freight 
cars, with all the changes which these meant to the quiet life of the settlers, 
were coming to help build up a mighty city on the Lake Michigan shore 
just outside of the county of Lake. Of necessity, from its geographical situ- 
ation, every railroad entering Chicago, which in 1850 was just commencing 
its remarkable growth, must, coming from the east or southeast, cross the 
northwestern corner of Indiana. And rapidly they came after a t>eginning 
had been made. So, when the families in the central part of the county, 
waking one early morning in the springtime, besides the sounds, to which 
they were accustomed, of the sand-hill cranes and wild geese in the marshes 
and of the thousands of the grouse on the prairies near them, heard far up 
among their northern sand hills, the shrill whistle of the steam engine, they 
knew that a new agricultural and commercial life was near at hand. The 
very deer were startled by the sound, unaccustomed as they had Ijeen even 
to the sound of horns and the baying or trailing of dogs, hearing only some- 
times a cowbell in the woodlands. Wild life, so abundant as then it was, at 
length grew wary. The railroads came. The Indians had gone. The deer 
followed them or were exterminated. 

It has always been stated in Lake county history that the first road to 
enter Lake counl\' was the jMichigan Central, and the date assigned has been 
1850. And this date is found in a paper prepared by Rev. H. Wason, one 



26 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

of the best statisticir.iis cif the county, for tlie Senii-Centennial of 1884. He 

sa\'s : "Inr statistical ptiipcses. I ai)pen(l the report of the State Board of 

Efiuahzaticii 1.11 Raih-oads for 1884." one column in that report is headed, 

"Time w'len roads commenced running," and the time for the Michigan 

Central is given, 1850. This authority is good. .\nd \et the writer of tiiis 

Outline, from some information gleaned in the last few years, hesitates now 

to claim that date, Iielie\ing himself to have been responsible for it at first, 

and he thinks the date ought to be 185 1, the same year in which the Michigan 

Southern came into the county. 

From the iiest eviilence to be obtained two other dates, as given in that 

State Board re])ort are here changed, and tlie following are Ij^lieved now 

to be the certain dates of these various roads wiien trains commenced running 

in the county : 

Michigan Central 185 1 

Michigan Southern 185 1 

Joliet Cut Off 1854 

Pittsburg, Fort Wayne, & Chicago 1858 

"Pan Handle" road 1865 

Baltimore & Ohio 1874 

Chicago & Grand Trunk 1880 

Chicago & Atlantic (Erie) ■ 1882 

New York, Chicago, & St. Louis (Nickel Plate) ' 1882 

Louisville, New Albany & Chicago (Monon) 1882 

Indiana, Illinois, & Iowa (the Three I's) 1883 

Later roads : 

Elgin, Joliet. & Eastern (Belt Line) 1888 

Chicago & Calumet Terminal 1888 

Wabash 1892 

Griffith & Northern ( Freight) 1899 

Chicago, Cincinnati, & Louisville ^903 

These sixteen roads, taking the whole railroad period of fifty years, arc 
placed together here, near the beginning of this Outline, for convenience of 
reference, and that the readers may see at a glance what have so largely 
helped to make Lake county, in the last few years, first in rapid growth among 
all the counties of Indiana. 

On these roads are now three cities, Hammond, East Chicago, which 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 27 

includes Indiana Harljor. and Whiting; lliree incorporated towns, Crown 
Point, Hobart, and Lxiwell : and seventeen towns and villages, these having 
a population of one hundreil and less up to four hundred and five hundred. 

That Lake county stands first among the counties of the State in the 
number of miles of railroad might naturally lie expected, Marion, .Allen, 
LaPorte, and Porter, coming next in number of miles of road-l)ed. Three 
of the best roads of the State, which are "great thoroughfares in the nation," 
the Michigan Central, Michigan Southern, and Pittsburg & Fort Wayne, 
pass across the county. These were assessed for taxation in 1884, "at twenty 
thousand dollars for each mile of road-bed." 

Having looked over the railroads which have been built in tliis period 
of new life and more rapid growth, it will be instructive to look at some of 
the stages of advancement. The first place for shipment of grain and for 
obtaining freight from cars was Lake Station, distant from Crown Point 
fifteen miles. This gave no great impetus to farming or to building. The 
next stations were Uoss and Dyer, and the latter soon became a large ship- 
ping point. Ross Station gave facilities lor a daily mail at Crown Point, 
a little stage which carried passengers running up and back daily. This 
town, the only one in the county, in fact only a village itself for several years, 
had been slowly improving in the latter part of the pioneer period. The log 
huts had been gradually disappearing, shade trees and fruit trees were taking 
the place of the native growth, business houses were increasing in numbei', 
and in 1849 ^he frame court house was erected, "George Earle architect ; 
Jeremy Hixon builder," so the statement on the building said; and from 1850 
to i860 a large amount of business was done for a small inland town. In 
these vears some enterprising and excellent business men were building up 
the town. Some of these were: J. S. Holton, J. W. Dinwiddle. Joseph P. 
Smith, William Alton, A. H. Merton, David Turner. James Bissel, E. M. 
Cramer, J. C. Sauerman, H. C. Griesel, and J. G. HofTman. There were 
also the firms of Nichols & Nichols, Luther & Farley, Lewis & Dwyer, then 
Lewis & Pratt. Also, business men, Fred J. HofYman, Levi Tarr, and W. G. 



28 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

McGIashon. The railroad stations from whicli good? were hauled were 
Lake and Ross and at length Hobart. The roads were dirt roads, some- 
limes (lusty, sometimes very muddy, some of the way deep sand. Brick build- 
ings as well as frame dwellings were erected. In 1858 were built the brick 
dwelling houses of Z. P. Farley, of J. Wheeler, of J. G. Hofifman. and a three- 
story business house; in 1859 two brick county offices and the brick school- 
hciuse, the Sons of Temperance donating to the schoolhouse one thousand dol- 
lars: and in i860 was erected the present Methodist church building. In its 
steeple was placed a laell, and since that time the families of Crown Point 
ha\-e been able to hear for these last forty years in their i>eaceful homes "the 
sound of the church-going bell." 

The completion of the Pittsburg & Fort W a\ne road enabled Hobart, 
founded in 1847, to become a prosperous manufacturing town. The mill- 
dam was completed and a sawmill started in 1846, and soon a grist mill 
was busy grinding wheat and corn. Town lots were laid out in 1848. But 
there was little to bring business or inhabitants until the railroad passed 
through to Chicago. Then busy life commenced. Making brick Ijecame a 
great industry, followed by making what is called "terra cotta luniljer and 
fire-proof products." Hobart has continued year after year to improve, 
having as citizens some very enterprising and energetic business men. and 
of terra cotta alone, the State Geologist has said that from Hobart "sixty 
carloads a month are shipped to all parts of the United States." Hobart 
has good, brick buildings and is a thriving little city. 

Another village or town owing its growth if not its origin to that same 
railroad is Tolleston, between the two Calumets, twelve miles due north 
of Crown Point. Its date as a village is 1857. The Michigan Central road 
also runs through it. and the Wabash touches its northeastern corner. The 
inhabitants are for the most part German Lutherans and the men work 
on the railroad. It has a large Lutheran church and parsonage and school, 
and the population has reached five hundred. 

For several years no new road crossed the county, and from i860 



HISTORY 01' LAKE COUNTY. 29 

t.i iS'^s xhe interest nf tlic inliahitaiits of tlie central and Sduthern parts was 
concentrated on the events tlint were tlireatening- the destruction of the 
nation. The mhahitaiits north nf tlie Little Calumet were then few. Lake 
county ha\in£^ been stronoi_y Democratic in its earlier years, became, when 
thrise troublnu-- times came on, intensely Republican, and sent to the war, 
as mer. were needed. compan\- after company of her brave and patriotic 
'sons, until, so far as can he determined, fully one thousand had joined the 
regiments of Indiana and Illinois to hcli) decide the great question then at 
issue over all the land. The population of Lake county in 1860 was 9,145. 
This number, of course, includes men. women and children, also men too 
infirm or too far advanced in life to perform a soldier's duty, and leaving 
these all out, it w'ill appear that Lake county sent a large proportion of men 
into the fierce conflict. Some of them returned, but not nearly all of the one 
thousand. 

Much money was sent back to their h(5mes by the soldiers on the field, 
and in a new form; what were called "greenbacks" then came into circu- 
lation, and many improvements in the county were thus made. 

It was not a time for building railroads, and yet. in 1865. a road came 
up from the southeast, passing directly through Crown Point onward to 
Chicago. It has had several names but is now generally known as the Pan 
Hanrlle. For this the business men had been wishing long. They had for 
alx)tit fifteen \ears felt the great disad\-antage of being "inland;" of bringing 
all their goods and sending ofY their butter, eggs, and prairie chickens, 
immense numi)ers of which they shipped, on wagons that went back and 
forth to Ross and Lake and Hobart. To them and to all Crown Point the 
railr(iad was a cause of new life. Xew growth liegan and kept steadily on. 

In the s]iring of 1868 the town was incorporated. 

This road gave two nthei" stations, one at Le Roy. which though a small 
village became a large shi])ping point, and one called Scherer\ille. a larger 
\-illage. mostly German families, and a place for some shipments. As the 
road left the county south of the Calumet it gave no growth to the northern 
townships. • 



30 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Tlie year 1870 came with no otlier new road. But without a road, 
without much prospect of one. a town of no httie importance liad been grow- 
ing up in the south part of the county in these eventful years from i860 
to 1870. Its commencement may be placed as early as 1850. Its founder 
was Melvin .\. Halsted. It is called Lowell. It is located in the best agri- 
cultural portion of the county. West of it lies the southern portion of Lake 
Prairie, and east of it knd south of it the rich farming belt skirting the 
Kankakee marsh lands. As early as 1836 it was selected as a "mill seat on 
Celar Creek" by John P. Hoff, of New York City. He purchased the 
claim from Samuel Halstead, who had selected and claimed it in August, 
1835. In November, 1836, the New York man having forfeited his right, 
it was transferred lor two hundred and twelve dollars to James M. AVhitney 
and Mark Burroughs. It came at length into the possession of Meh'in A. 
Halsted, whose name is not written as was the first Halstead. He com- 
menced his long residence there in 1850 in a brick house, built a flouring 
mill in 1852, laid out town lots in 1853, and secured the erection of a brick 
church Ixiilding in 1856, a small brick schoolhouse, used as a church, liaving 
been built in 1852. About 1853 Lowell's first store was opened by Jonas 
Thorn, and alxjut 1857 William Sigler's store and soon after Viant's store 
were opened for business. These tw'o were for some time the two principal 
stores of Lowell. The growth oi Lowell was also advanced in these \ears 
before i860 by a settlement made in 1855 and 1856 by a group of families 
from New Hampshire, who made their homes near the heart of Lake Prairie. 
This was known for some years as the New Hampshire Settlement. 

The citizens of Lowell were not behind others in the war period, from 
i860 to 1865, in showing their loyalty to the flag and in sending men to 
the conflict. Their deeds as patriotic citizens lielong to a later portion of 
this Outline. 

In going on along this railroad period from 1870 to 1880, it will be 
interesting to notice yet further the enterprise and growth at Lowell. One 
lesson might here be learned, the benefit for a town to be situated in a grow- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 31 

ing and rich tanning cnmmunity. In 1S69 and 1870 new church buildings 
were erected, making in Lowell four churches. In 1872 Lowell had the 
largest and best school building in the county, built of brick, a two-story 
structure, costing, with the furniture eight thousand dollars. The other 
largest building at that time in the county was also at Lowell, a brick build- 
ing of three stories, built for a factory, eighty feet long and fifty feet wide, 
also costing eight thousand dollars. At that time there were in Lowell one 
hundred and six families. For some years Lowell was the strongest tem- 
perance town in the county. It had a Good Templars Lodge with one hun- 
dred and sixty members. 

In 1874 there came yet another railroad, the Baltimore & Ohio, but it 
kept so \ery close to the shore line of Lake Michigan that it added very little 
as to an_\' growth iii the county. It gave one station called Miller's, among 
the sand hills of the northeast township now called Hobart. alxiut one mile 
and a half from the Lake Michigan shore. The ^Michigan Southern had 
passed along among those sand ridges in 1S51. 

The ice business formed for years the principal business at Miller's 
Station, to which v.as afterwards added shipping sand, both profitable indus- 
tries, and requiring no large amount of capital on the part of the nien who 
carry them on. A gravel road h.as been made from Lake Michigan through 
this village to the town of Hobart. and there is a good church building and 
good public school building. The inhabitants are mostly Swedish Lutherans. 
There is one large store. 

About 1869, perhaps 1870, a small industry was commenced on the 
Calumet River and the early Michigan Central Railroad near the Illinois 
State line. T!ie place was called the State Line Slaughter House. About 
eighteen men were employed, and three or four carloads of beef packed in 
ice were shipped each day to Boston. It was understood that George H. 
Ham.mond of Detroit was the head of the company who' started this line of 
business. The men worked seven days in the week for a long time, never 
stopping for Sunday. As the business increased village life started. In 



32 HISTORY OV LAKE COUNTY. 

187J tliere \va^ one store, one boarding Iiouse. After a few families moved 
in Ijesides the early settler- families (the Hohman, Sohl, Drecker, Dutcher, 
Booth, Miller, Goodman, Olendorf and Wolf families, of that corner of the 
county), a Sunday-school was proposed, organized, and carried on, and 
then regular Sunday work ceased. Sending beef to Boston soon assumed 
quite large proportions The \illage was becoming a town, and to the town 
was gi\en the name of 'Hammond. Could the founders, men from New 
England, have thought that on those sand hills or ridges and those marshes 
of 1870 in a few years a city would be flourishing with only an air line 
between it and the southeast corner of the city of Chicago, they would 
probably have laid foundations with more care. It seemed far enough away 
from any Christian civilization in 1870. For a footman on a cloudy day 
to have undertaken to cross, then, from the slaughter house to the little 
station called Whiting on the Michigan Southern road, would have been 
very risky. The distance in a straight line is about five miles ; but the swampy 
underbrush then w-as well called impenetrable. This writer tried crossing 
there once, years after 1870. He failed, and he had l:)een in many a wild. 

Hammond continued to grow. The first plat of the town as so called 
was recorded at the office in Crown Point in the spring of 1875. A growth 
had already commenced there which soon made Hammond the first place 
in the county for manufactures, for shipments, for population. 

In these years, from 1870 to 1880, there was growth elsewhere also in 
the count}-. In 1873 the building of brick blocks of business houses com- 
menced in Crown Point. The first three large halls were in that year 
opened. These were : The Masonic Hall, Cheshire Hall, now Music Hall, 
and the Odd Fellow Hall. In 1874 was organized the First National Bank 
of Crowm Point. 

In 1872, nn an island in the Kankakee Marsh, a singular enterprise 
was commenced. The island, called School Grove, as it was on section six- 
teen, afterward Oak Grove, a beautiful grove surrounded by marsh and 
water, was an early home for a trapper known as John Hunter. Heath 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 33 

& Milligan of Chicago afterward Ixiught some land on this island, and with 
eight other Chicago men huilt in the grove a hunters' home in 1869. It 
was called Camp Milligan. The entries in their Hunters' Record Book 
show that no shooting was done there on Sundays, and that eight men in 
a few days shot five hundred and thirteen ducks. The one who kept this 
camp, G. M. Shaver, has the record of shooting in 1868 eleven hundred 
ducks. In 1871 there visited this camp a young man from England, William 
Parker, said to be a member of a family belonging to the nobility of England 
and heir to the title of an English peer. With him, in some relation, was 
an older man called Captain Blake. These were so well pleased with the 
island and the abundance of wild fowl that, after visiting England, they 
returned in 1872, laid out quite an amount of money in lands and buildings 
and stock. The buildings comprised a quite large dwelling house, barns 
and kennels. Thev imported from England "some sixteen of the choicest 
blooded dogs known to sportsmen," and some choice .Alderney cows and 
some horses. Other choice stock they imported or purchased. They had 
a black bear and some foxes. The establishment was called Cumberland 
Lodge. A younger brother of William Parker came with the others in 
1872, who was for a time a very pleasant member of Crown Point .society. 
Captain Blake seemed quite communicative to the writer of this sketch, 
who visited th.e Lodge and was much interested in examining the kennels 
rtnd in seeing all the animals that came from England, but the real reason 
for such a singular investment, which was soon passed into other hands, 
remains to this day unknown in Lake county. Lord Parker, if that is now 
his title, if now living, could give the real reasons. Short as was the resi- 
dence of these English visitors in the county, they laid out quite an amount 
of money and so aided the business interests of Lowell. And Lowell ii' 
these years was steadily improving, as also was Hobart. The increasing 
productions and wealth of the farmers were building up Lowell ; manufac- 
turing was building up Hobart. 

In 1875 was organized at Crown Point the Old Settlers' Association ; 



34 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

in 1876 quite an interest was manifested in collecting si^ecimens of mineral, 
agricultural, and manufactured products for the Centennial at Philadelphia. 
A number of the citizens visited Philadelphia that summer, among whom 
was Wellington A. Clark. Esq., who spent twenty-four days viewing that 
great exposition. 

The votes. of the county this year as cast for governor were 3,187, 
showing that there must ha\e been at that time as many as thirty-two hun- 
dred voters. In this same year a large brick business house was erected by 
Geisen. Fancher & Groman. And in 1878 a brick block costing about fifteen 
thousand dollars was built by Hartupee, Griesel, and J. D. Clark. Sqiteml:)er 
15, 1879, is the date on record for the beginning of the occupation of the 
new court house, the corner stone having been laid in the presence of a large 
assembly of citizens September 10, 1878. It cost fifty-two thousand dollars. 

The year 1880 came and cars began to run on a new road, the Grand 
Trunk. This road gave a station at Ainsworth which grew into a small 
village, passed through what became Grifiith, and helped to build up no 
town. But it did what was probably better. It sent a morning milk train 
■over its line of road, stopping at every place convenient for the farmers, 
to receive their cans of milk. These stopping places, called milk 'stands, 
were very convenient for the farmers and their families who wished to spend 
the day in Chicago, as the train would stop in the evening to put of¥ the 
empty cans. 

in 1880 was erected the central Crown Point brick school building at 
a cost of twenty thousand dollars. In 188 1 brick buildings forming a block 
or part of a block were put up by John Griesel, Conrad Hoereth, and the 
National Bank; and another brick building in 1882 by J. H. Abrams; and 
yet another in 1883 by Warren Cole. The year 1881 was the great year 
for railroad building in the county, and in 1882 cars were running on three 
new roads, called the Erie, the Nickel Plate, and the Monon. The Erie 
passed through Crown Point or near it, and enlarged its business and its 
bounds; it passed through Hammond and helped that to enlarge; it gave 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 35 

milk stands along its line, and two of its stations. Palmer and Highland, 
are xillages. Highland has a factory and two good church buildings. The 
Xickel Plate helped Hobart and Hammond. It did little good for Hessville. 
The Alonon made a village of Shelby and gave to Lowell communication by 
rail and telegraph with all the outside world. It furnished a name and a 
place for shipment in a neighborhood now known as Creston, where descend- 
ants of Red Cedar Lake pioneers yet live; and passing along the western 
shore of that lake it made of it a great pleasure resort, visited by thousands 
each summer. It passed northward making a station and a town of St. John, 
and helped Dyer and Hammontl. It also sent through the county a morning 
milk train. It has proved to he for many interests a very imjxjrtant road. 

In 1883 ^ road passed across the south end of the county, as Rev. H. 
Wason said, "came quietly creeping up the Kankakee marsh," commonly 
known as the three I's (the I. I. I.), which probably added some business 
life to Shelby. 

In 1883 Decoration day began to be publicly observed in Crown Point. 
James H. Ball, Esq., now Judge Ball of Kansas, delivered the oration. In 
1884 Judge E. C. Field, now of Chicago, gave the oration. 

At the presidential election in 1884, there were cast for four candidates 
4,145 votes, showing that there were then, in the fiftieth year of the county's 
growth, about forty-one hundred and fifty \oters. 

THE SEMI-CENTENNIAL. iSiSS'l'l 

A semi-centennial celebration of the beginning of permanent settlement 
of the county was held on the Fair Ground September 3d and 4th, 1884. Con- 
siderable preparatio-.i was made for this event through the Old Settlers' Asso- 
ciation, and by a large number of citizens much interest was taken in pre- 
paring for the proceedings and in carrying them out. A volume of 486 
pages containing a full account of the proceedings was soon afterward." 
published, and to that the reader is referred for full details. It is called 
"Lake County. 1884." It has been for many years "out of print," but is in 
the libraries of many citizens of the county, and in some large public libraries. 



36 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

It will be sufficient, probaljl), to state here that a large general committee 
of arrangements was appointed, thirty subjects named and assigned to writers 
for historical papers, and six special committees appointed. Of those who 
were on these different committees eleven are not now living. Also, that 
an oration was delivered by previous appointment, which by the special influ- 
ence of the chairman of the committee, George Willey, Esq., was assigned to 
T. H. Ball, who occupied one hour of time in its delivery; that an address 
was given to the members of the Association of Pioneers and Old Settlers 
"by Congressman T. J. Wood" : and that a sem.i-centennial poem was read 
comprismg twenty-five stanzas of eight lines each. The oration, address, 
also the poem, can be found in full in "Lake County, 1884." Also, that 
seventy-one relics and antiquities of various kinds, historic and prehistoric, 
were presented for inspection. Not numbered among these were also twelve 
either old or curious coins, making the full number eighty-three. Most of 
these rare, curious, valuable relics and heirlooms are supposed to be still 
in the county, and some of them can probably be secured for the Association 
when a suitable room is found in wliich they can be preserved. 

Besides the exercises at the Fair Ground on the two days of Wednesday 
and Thursday, literary exercises were held on Wednesday evening at Hoff- 
man's Opera House in Crown Point, the Crown Point Band, that then 
was, furnishing some excellent music ; Willie Cole and Miss Allie Cole giving 
a flute and piano duet; singmg also by a quartette, Benton Wood, Cassius 
Griffin. Miss Ella Warner, Miss Georgie E. Ball, Mrs. Jennie Young, pianist. 
On the first day of the celebration the opening hymn was the well known 
one, "My Country 'Tis of Thee," on the second day the new hymn was sung 
called "Our Broad Land." 

Further features of this celebration cannot here be given, but this writer 
hopes that thirty years from now, in 1934, a still larger gathering will be 
found upon the Lake County Fair Ground, when a took now in the Recorder's 
office is then to be opened, a book presented to the Association by Hon. 
Joseph A. Little, and which contains very many signatures of persons present 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 37 

at Lake County's semi-centennial in 1884. A special committee, to 1)e 
appointed thirty xxars iience. is to open tliat at present sealed book. To he 
called for and to he ojiened at that same time, by that same committee, there 
is now sealed up in the Recorder's office a quite large map of Lake county 
On this map are the names of many children some of whom, as men and 
women, it is expected will be present then. 

On Saturday, Septemljer 17, 1887, at four o'clock in the afternoon, the 
real work began of boring an artesian well on the south side of the public 
square in Crown Point. One half of the cost was to be paid by the town and 
one half by the county. The work was carried diligently on, into an immense 
mass of rock which seemed to underlie the town, until the fall of 18S9, when 
work was given up, as there was no reasonable hope of obtaining flowing 
water without an outlay of more money than it was considered wise to ex])end. 
The depth reached was about 3,100 feet. In the summer of 1887 two steam 
dredges were busily at work cutting ditches in the Kankakee Marsh. At- 
tempts to drain that wet land by ditching had been made by state legislation 
soon after 1852, some large flitches had been dug, but the methods emjiloyed 
were costly and slow in attaining results. The newly employed steam 
dredges worked busily in 1888 and 1889, and in the latter year, by means of 
the ditching through the marsh, a road was opened from the Orchard Grove 
postoffice to \\'ater Valley, on the east line of the town lots laid out that 
year by the Lake Agricultural Company and called "the village of Shelb ." 
It was found that the sand brought up by the dredge made a good road-bed, 
and so bridges were built across the ditches that went westward, and a bridge 
for wagons over the Kankakee River, and at last there was a good wagon- 
road leading from Lake county over into Newton. Soon there was another 
road passing by Cumberland Lodge in Oak Grove, and another bridge, and a 
road running directly south to Lake Village in Newton. It was a new and 
a pleasant experience, after so many, many years, to be able to ride in a car- 
riage down to that long line of blue which had ended the view southward 
in Lake county, and to pass that great barrier of marsh and river, and visit 



38 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the citizens of Newton county. While as to (hstance in miles they had been 
neighbors, as to access to their homes they had been for more than fifty years 
strangers. 

Returning to the history proper of the railroad period in this Compendium 
or Outline, five other roads are yet to be noticecF. 

In 1888 the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern road commenced running cars across 
the county from Dyer to Hobart, but as a belt line, a freight line, adding not 
much to business or agricultural interests. In the same year, 1888, several 
miles were built and used of a road called the Chicago & Calumet Terminal. 
This must have aided much in building up a city the first family in which 
commenced a residence in 1888. The name East Chicago was given to the 
locality, and the name of the first resident family was Penman. This locality 
was truly "in the woods" or the wilderness state in 1888. Sand ridges, and 
marshes, long and narrow, parallel with the ridges, and thick underbrush 
(if a swampy and not an upland growth, characterize that strip of land north 
of the Grand Calumet for some miles eastward. It was not an attractive spot 
on which to build a city. But it was near a great city, and work commenced. 
The swampy growth was cleared out of the way. Sand ridges were quite 
easily transferred into the low, wet places. Dwelling houses were erected, 
manufactured articles were produced soon in the factories, a saw mill fur- 
nished a large quantity of lumber, various industries were soon starting into 
e.xistence, and in a little time, almost as if by magic, there were long streets 
lined with city-like buildings, there were stores filled with goods, there were 
scliool Iniildings and churches and waterworks and electric lights, social or- 
ganizations, clubs and lodges, a well conducted newspaper, an electric railway 
line jiassing through, and the needed adjuncts of a modern city. East Chicago 
was for a short time an incorporated town, and then, not waiting long there, 
it became an incorporated city. The Penman family of 1888 soon had around 
them some three thousand neighbors. Aluch was done in building up this 
cit\- by the Terminal railroad. 

.Another city soon started. There had been for several vears a station 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 39 

village called Whiting, on the Michigan Southern road, which in 1872 con- 
tained fifteen families. Railroad work was the main employment. In 1889 
some larfd was there bought, according to popular report, for one thousand 
dollars an acre, and nine hundred men were soon employed in erecting a 
large brick building for what it was claimed would be the largest oil refinery 
in this country. The- estimate was for twenty millions of brick to be used 
in the construction of the first large building. 

This was the beginning of the work of the Standard Oil Company in 
Lake county. In 1890 about seventy-five votes were cast. In 1895 the town 
was incorporated. In 1900 about fifteen hundred votes were cast. The town 
is a city now. 

Starting as a town and to become a city in 1899, its growth, like that of 
East Chicago, has been remarkable. It is located on quite level land on the 
first low ridge of sand that here skirts Lake Michigan, with no sand hills east- 
ward for several miles and none westward between it and Chicago. Whiting 
has some fine resident and business streets, but not much room for territorial 
growtli, being surrounded by Lake Michigan, East Chicago, and Hammond. 

In the winter of 1890 and 1891 there was much excitement in Lake 
county on account of a strong efifort on the part of some citizens of Hammond 
to secure the passage of a bill by the State Legislature which would lead to 
the removal of the county seat from Crown Point to Hammond. For fifty 
years the question of the county seat location had been at rest ; but this winter 
restless and ambitious men were determined it should rest no longer. The 
citizens of Crown Point and citizens of other counties fought against the bill 
and its passage was defeated. 

In the summer of 1891 Main street and some other streets of Crown 
Point were paved with cedar blocks. September 10, 1891, at about 6:30 
o'clock, electric lights first flashed out in Crown Point. The date of the 
first electric lights at Hammond is not at hand. In fact Hammond, East Chi- 
cago, and Whiting have grown so rapidly from nothing to cities, that to keep 
trace of their improvements is almost bewildering. 



iO HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

In 1891 was founded the town of Griffith. Its location was excellent, 
on the Cut Off and the Belt Line, on the Erie and the Grand Trunk. It made 
a promising begintiing. In 1892 it had four factory buildings, one church 
edifice, two Sabbath congregations, two Sunday-schools ; and in these schools 
were eighty members. Two years before the family of the station agent lived 
alone in the woods and the undergrowth. It is not yet a city, bright as its first 
promise was. It has two schoolhouses, some stores, and a good many dwell- 
ing houses. It has an abundance of room for growth. It needs enterprise and 
capital. 

In 1892 the Wabash line of road was completed across the county. It 
scarcely touched Tolleston, but passed through East Chicago and Hammond. 
It added not much to the growth of either of these places. 

The year 1893 was one ever to be remembered in Lake county, as the 
inhabitants so largely had the opportunity of attending the Columbian E.x- 
position at Jackson Park. Their locality was favorable; the number of rail- 
roads running near so many of their homes, passing in the morning and re- 
turning in the evening as the passenger cars did, gave them excellent oppor- 
tunities for spending the days at the expositon and the nights at home, and 
well did they impro\e their opportunities. An effort was made to obtain the 
exact number of school children that visted Jackson Park, but only a part of 
the teachers made any report. So the whole number can never be known. 
There were reported, through the kind consideration of quite a number of 
teachers, pupils from Hobart graded school 250, from Ross township 47, from 
Hanover 24, from Crown Point 375, from Eagle Creek township 83, from 
Cedar Creek 53, from West Creek township 84, making, with a few other 
small numbers reported, 973. Certain!}- never before did so many thousands 
and hundreds of thousands of people cross Lake county as in that very 
pleasant summer of 1893. 

The year 1894 was a very different year. It was noted for great stagnation 
of business in mining and manufactures, the year of the Pullman boycott, the 
Debs strikes, and the miners' strikes, and railroad communication with Chi- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 41 

cago for a time ceased. In Hammond the civil officers were unable to main- 
tain order and enforce law and United States troops and about eight hundred 
Stale militia of Indiana were sent in to secure railroad transportation and the 
passage of the mails through the city. A gatling gun stood on the platform 
at the Erie station and the passenger room could be reached only by passing the 
sentry and the corporal of the guard. The tents, the soldiers on duty with 
their arms gave to Hammond the appearance of a city under real martial law. 
Cars on the electric railway were running in the summer of 1894 so that pas- 
sengers could go into Chicago from Hammond on the electric and elevated 
roads. 

The year in Lowell was noted for much building. Thirty-one dwelling 
houses and four business houses were erected within the year. Cedar-block 
paving was laid on nine more streets in Crown Point at a cost of over forty- 
five thousand dollars. 

The Superior Court at Hammond dates from 1895. 

Some interesting figures are here inserted, obtained from the County 
Auditor, then A. S. Barr. The valuation of the taxable property of the 
county for 1895, without railroad, telegraph, and telephone property, was 
$15,224,740. The numlDer of polls in 1895 was in North township 1,929, 
and the number of men over twenty-one years of age was 4,309; numl^er 
of polls in the county 4,265, and of men 8,2iC. The trustees reported for the 
same year school children in North township 4,068, and in the county 9,38c. 
The United States census gave the population of the county in 1890, 23,886. 

In May, 1896, was opened for public use the electric railway from 
Hammond direct to South Chicago between Lake George and Wolf Lake, 
thus enabling one to go for three fares only into the heart of Chicago. In 
August of this year the Crown Point Telephone Company began erecting 
poles and putting up wires. The road improvement for the year was in 
Hobart township, the road leading from the south line of the township 
through Hobart and Lake to Lake Michigan. 

November 3d of this year, a presidential election, there were votes cast 



42 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

in the county, for Congressman. 8.300; for President, 8.267; o^ these 3,384 
were for Bryan, 4,883 for McKinley. Also some Prohibition votes. In 
the county probably 8.400 voters. In 1884 tliere were about 4,200. The 
number cif voters was doubled in twelve years. Of the 8,300 votes in Novem- 
ber of 1896 there were in North township 4,328 ; in Center township 842. 

February 16, 1897. made the sixtieth year of the existence of Lake 
as an independent county, and it happened to be the four hundredth anniver- 
sary of the birth of the noted Melancthon of the Reformation. 

The numljer of children of school age enumerated this year was 9,834. 
Of these, in North township were 4,512, Hammond having 3,106, and East 
Chicago 547. Crown Point had 689, and Lowell 356. Hobart. town and 
county together, 859. North township, including Whiting then and the 
county, had the same number, 859. These figures from the official reports 
are given that the growth and the nature of the population may be more 
readily seen. In th.e manufacturing cities there will naturally be more men 
and more voters in proportion to the children than in the country towns. 

In 1898, according to a quite careful count, there were in the three older 
towns of the countv the following number of families : In Crown Point 
580: in Lowell 290: in Hobart 315; in even hundreds 600. 300. 300. It 
has been already stated that in 1850 there were in all Lake county 715 fam- 
ilies. No attempt was made to count the families of Hammond, East Chicago, 
and Whiting. 

l-'or the year 1899 the great improvement going on in the county was 
road-making. Some of the roads were called gravel, and others stone roads. 
Before this year eleven miles of gravel road had been made in Hobart town- 
ship. 

Die following paragraph is quoted : "Cost of different roads : In 
Hobart township, ist gravel road, $36,990, 2d, $21,990, 3d, $36,990, mak- 
ing in all for Hobart. $95,970. In North township, the Bradford roads. 
$124,500. In Ross, $71,485. In Cedar Creek. $47,540. In Calumet, $42,988. 
In St. Johns and Center, $167,500, and in Center, the Jenkins road, $12,900, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 43 

in all for St. Johns and Center roads, $180,400. Grand total for roads in 
the seven townships, $562,883, or a little more than half a million of dollars." 

These were not all completed till 1900. Around the public square in 
Crown Point was laid a walk of sandstone, the stone ten feet in length, five 
in breadth, and six inches in thickness, the walk costing $11,000. 

The Nineteenth Century closed upon a certainly prospering, enterprising 
community in this county of Lake. 

In 1899 O"^ more railroad was constructed running from Griffith to 
Lake Michigan and then westward, called the Griffith & Northern. This is 
a freight road and made no towns. 

In June, 1901, work waff commenced in the northeast part of the limits 
of East Chicago, miles away then, however, from its factories and stores 
and dwellings, for new industries, especially for a large, independent steel 
mill, which was to furnish employment, when in full operation, for one thou- 
sand men. In July, when the locality was first visited by this writer, about 
one hundred and fifty men were at work grading the ground for streets and 
for buildings, and breaking the ground for a new city. It was an interest- 
ing sight. This record was made in August, 1902 : "A large mill building 
has been erected called The Inland Steel Mill, and on Monday, 'August 11, 
1902, 'the wheels of the big mill were started to receive the first iron of 
the rolls.' A well sunk by the Inland Mill people 276 feet deep will furnish 
abundance of good water. Indiana Harbor is already a town, almost a 
city of it.self. Its future none can foresee, but it promises now, when its mill 
work is all in operation and its harbor constructed, to make East Chicago 
one of the great lake cities of Indiana." 

Indiana Harbor, as this part of East Chicago is called, is rapidly making 
good the promise of 1902. Since February 20, 1904, electric cafs have 
been running between the two divisions of the city. To one who saw cities 
try to grow m northern Indiana si.xty-seven years ago, and saw them fail, 
it is amazing to see how cities now spring up and grow. Electricity is a 
great agent now. Money and energy, steam and electricity, are doing 



H HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

much for Lake county in its rapid advance among the counties of the State. 

In 1903 )et another road was completed as far as Gritifith, the Chicago, 
Cincinnati & Louisville road, which promises to be an important thorough- 
fare when its trains can reach Chicago. It has made tlie village of Merrill- 
ville, which had waited long, a railroad town, and may yet add quite a little 
prosperity to Griffith. 

Besides tiie sixteen roads named, most of them important rnads of the 
country, there are six short lines within the county as gi\en by the State 
Board of Tax Commissioners for 1903. These are: Chicago Junction, 
length three miles, fractional parts omitted; East Chicago Belt, five miles; 
Indiana Harbor, nearly five miles; South Chic'ago & Southern, seven miles; 
Standard Oil Company, fourteen miles; Chicago. Lake Shore & Eastern, 
eight miles; making, according to that report of the State Board, miles of 
main track in Lake county, 324.28. and of side tracks, 194.55. Lake county 
has man)- more miles of railway than any other county in Indiana. 

According to the United States census the population of Lake county 
in 1900 was 37,892; the population of Hammond was 12.376; of Whiting 
3,983; and of East Chicago, 3,411. The population of Whiting may still be 
placed, in round numl^ers. at 4,000 ; and that of East Chicago, which includes 
within its limits that new locality called Indiana Harbor, may also be placed 
at 4,000. It thus appears, by consulting a county map, that more than 
twenty thousand of the inhabitants of the county live within five miles of 
the southeast limits of Chicago. According to a state authority the number 
of voters in the county in 1901 was 11,162, of these 16 being colored men. 

AN ASSOCI.\TION. 

The Old Settlers' Association, of which mention has been made, was 
organized at the court house in Crown Point, July 24, 1875. The first 
public meeting was held at what was the old Fair Ground, September 25. 
1875. September 14. 1876, the annual meeting was held at the same place. 
September 15, 1877, on account of rain, the meeting was held in Cheshire 
Hall. September 10. 1878. after the public exercises connected with laying 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 45 

tlie corner stone of tlic new court liouse. the fourth meeting was held at the 
old Fair Ground. In 1S79 the Association met in the then new Fair Ground. 
In 1880. met again in Cheslnre Hall. In 188 1 and 1882, met in Hoffman's 
Opera House. In 1883 and 1884 at the Fair Ground. Since 1884 the annual 
reports of the Historical Secretary have heen i^rinted every five years for the 
ir.embers of the Association and other citizens of the county. Sixteen of 
these reports are now in print, four more will this year be in writing, and 
these, if continued on, will furnish, it is supposed, quite an amount of in- 
formation for the historian, whoever he may be, of 1934. It is probable that 
no other county in Indiana has so full historic records. 

At the annual meeting in August, 1903, the name of the Association 
was slightly changed. The "s" was dropped from the word "Settlers" and 
the word "Historical" was added, so that the name now is The Old Settler 
AND Historical Association of Lake County, Indiana. It is expected that 
the Association will have a room before long in which to preserve records 
and relics. 

An account has been given of the anniversary meeting of 1884. At the 
annual meeting in 1889, when East Chicago and Whiting, now thriving 
cities, were starting into existence, the following address was delivered to 
the children present at the Fair Ground ; and believing it to be of interest to 
the children of the families where this book will come, it is repeated here : 

"Beloved children, representatives of the descendants of the pioneers 
of Lake, some of you grandchildren and great-grandchildren of those pioneer 
settlers whose names have already, in the annals of Lake, become historic, — 
representatives also to-day of some three thousand children in our county, — 
it is my privilege to speak to you for a few moments in regard to the heritage 
which those pioneers and early settlers, with others who have come among 
us, I'ave left and will leave for you and those whom to-day you represent. 

"My subject is, Our Heritage to the Children. I am to represent 
therefore those men and women, venerable in age, a few of whom yet remain 
among us, who have come down to us from a former generation. As in 
their name and in their behalf, and in behalf also of pioneer children, who 
are now between sixty and seventy years of age, I am to speak to you to-day. 

"We are leaving, we are to leave you, this county of Lake with its 
present great resources. We found it almost a wild. We shall leave it to 
you a wealthy portion of this great commonwealth of Indiana. 



46 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

"Whether or not tlie Indians succeeded the Mound-Builders here, I 
do not certainly know. But 1 do certainly know that we took possession of 
Indian hunting- grounds: ot Indian homes. When the pioneers came they 
found here Indian trails and dancing tloors. Indian gardens and hurial 
grounds, Indian ponies and Indian life. I have been in an Indian canoe on 
the Lake of Red Cedars. ha\e seen them eat and trade; and there are those 
yet among us who have seen them in their wig'\vams and on their hunting 
grounds. We came ne.xt to the Indians here. And almost a wild, so soon 
as they were gone, were these fi\e hundred square miles of land and water. 
We found here the prairie and the woodland, the lakes, the marshes, and 
t!ie streams. These were then free and bridgeless streams. We have put 
bridges over them all. The only obstructions, the only dams then were 
made by the beaver. We have built dams and erected mills. The musk- 
rats made their homes in the marshes. We have turned many of these into 
meadows and corn-fields. On the southwest of Cedar Lake, where over 
a large area the sand-hill cranes waded, where the largest boats of the lake 
passed, and the best fishing ground was found for the large pike, we have 
made dry land. 

"Through the great Kankakee Marsh, where lived the muskrats and 
the mink, where the wild geese made their nests, we have cut long ditches 
with steam dredges and have ojiened up thousands of acres for pasturage 
and farming. We have fenced up all the once wild prairie, and now, where 
the deer bouncled and the wolves galloped leisurely along, where the cranes 
'danced' on the high areas and the prairie hens had their nests undisturbed, 
where the wild flowers of such rich beauty grew, there are orchards and 
gardens and iwrnyards and dwelling houses, and the wild life of the prairie 
is no more. W'e have planted twenty-five towns and villages where were 
only Indian wigwams and gardens. We have built forty-eight churches and 
one hundred schoolhouses. We have dug some three thousand wells of 
water. In the earlv times, in a dry season, it became sometimes needful 
to steal water. One sjiring on the west side of Cedar Lake supplied at one 
time neaily all the families around the lake. What the Indians did for 
water in the dry season I know not. They left very little. We found 
only nature here: but we shall leave to you the marks of white men on this 
soil which no coming- years will erase. Lake county has been made first in 
the state of Indiana in railroads, first in exporting beef to foreign markets, 
first in the great oil refinery now in process of erection at Whiting, first 
in organized Sunday-school work. And it has been placed among the first 
in exporting hay, raising horses, in the general prosperity and intelligence 
of the people. There are now^ some eighteen thousand people, aliout one-half 
living in the twenty-five towns and villages, and the other half, nine tlinusand, 
on the rich and well cultivated farms. 

"Xow, all these farms and orchards and pasture lands, all these towMis 
and villages, all these manufacturing- interests and industrial pursuits, all 
the material results in our public school and Sunday-school w-ork, all this 
civilization and prosperity attained since the moccasined Indians ceased here 
to tread, we shall leave as a heritage to you, the children of this generation. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 47 

Instead of succeeding Indians, who left only trails and dancing floors and 
burial places, you will succeed a generation of busy workers, of intelligent 
white people, who will leave you wagon roads and railroads, bridges and 
fences, and the results of the outlay of a large amount of money and labor 
making what we call fixed capital in the land. The property in Lake county 
was assessed for taxes in 1888 at nearly nine and one-half millions of dol- 
lars. Do you see how differently you will enter upon life compared with 
your pioneer ancestry? You will have no court-house, no public buildings 
to erect, few churches and few schoolhouses to build, no prairie sod to 
•turn over and subdue, few fences to make, few houses to build. All these 
things have been done for you by those who struck the first blow here with 
the axe, erected the first log cabin, built the first bridge, constructed the firsi 
mill, made the first brick, sowed the first wheat and oats, and reaped the first 
harvest. 

"Can you see. beloved children; and through you I speak as to the 
three thousand, can you see how much has been done for you by the two 
generations that have gone before you here? Some have worked in one 
line, some in another. They have all helped to furnish for you a rich, a valu- 
able, and, as earth is, even a glorious inheritance. Soon it will all be yours, 
for rapidly we are passing away. 

"Snow YOURSELVES WORTHY OF THIS INHERIT.NNCE." 

Since this address was delivered to the children in 1889, those who 
have read a few preceding pages have seen that the heritage for the children 
has very largely increased, more than half a million dollars having been 
invested in improved roads, a hundred thousand dollar court house having 
been built and furnished at Hammond, the assessed value of the property 
in the county having reached the sum of twenty-one and a half million, and 
the county auditor's report for January ist, 1904, showing recipts for 
1903 with balance then on hand of about one million dollars. 

And now the question comes up: Who were the men of the past gen- 
eration who seventy years ago began to lay foundations here, and who for 
twenty, thirty, forty years, toiled on, amid privations and discouragements, 
to furnish for us the inheritance which we all now enjoy? Shall we not 
honor their efforts, and count their names worthy of lasting remembrance? 
For the names of some of these men, all of whom have passed from the 
activities of life, see in another chapter short memorial sketches. 



48 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

INTERESTING ITEMS. 

Cliurches, School Houses, Banks. 

The first churcli buildings erected in the county were a Methodist clnirch 
on West Creek and a Roman Catiiolic chapel near the present St. John, date 
of both, 1843. I" 1^7- there were twenty-three churcli buildings, one only 
being north of the Calumet, the Lutheran church at Tolleston. There are 
now : In West Creek township three ; in Cedar Creek five ; in Winfield four ; 
in Center eight; in Hanover three; in St. Johns four; in Ross two; in Hobart 
niiie; in Calumet two; and in North twenty-six. In all sixty-six. 

Of schoolhouses there are one hundred and twenty, and of teachers two 
huivlred. 

Of banks there are: In Crown Point two; Lowell has two; Dyer one; 
Hobart two; Hammond three; East Chicago two; Whiting two. Total num- 
ber fourteen. The capital invested in most of these banks is owned by resi- 
dents of the county. 

Of the Lake County State Bank of East Chicago. Potter Palmer, Jr., is 
a director, vice president, and cashier, and probably a large owner of the 
capital, which is advertised to be fifty thousand dollars. 

A FEW MORE P.\RTICULARS. 

Water. 
So far as surface water was concerned the county was originally well 
watered. While not a region of rocks and rills, of springs and streams of 
crystal water, there were marshes in abundance and some flowing springs, 
which in the pioneer days usually furnished a supply for all the domestic 
animals. In these hundreds of marshes usually lived some muskrats, some 
little fishes, and one or two pair of wild ducks. Shallow wells were dug near 
the marshes or in low places which furnished drinking water for the families. 
Piut dry seasons came, marshes began to be dry, the muskrats, even, were 
driven by thirst and hunger to the houses and stables of the settlers, and the 
cattle were driven to the central lake and to the large streams once a day 
for water. The surface wells also gave out. as dry seasons came and the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 49 

draining of marshes was commenced, and deeper wells were dug and walled 
up with brick; and at length wells were driven or bored, so that now on 
every large farm there is a well of some depth, a windmill to work the 
pump, and a good-sized tank to hokl the water. These windmills are pic- 
turesque as well as useful. Without them it would seem almost impossible 
for the farmers to keep such large numbers, as now they do, of domestic 
animals. There are yet a few, comparatively, of valuable living springs in 
the county, four or five of these furnishing a large flow of water; and there 
are a very few artesian wells. The cities of the county can obtain water 
in pipes from Lake Michigan; and the larger inland towns have "water- 
works." Many of the town families have their own wells and cisterns. The 
water in every part of this county, where they who use the water have wells, 
is generally good. 

In regard to wells of water, there have been found some peculiar and 
interesting facts in the county. Along the line of the Grand Trunk Rail- 
road west of Ainsworth is the Adams' neighborhood. I quote a sentence : 
"There is a strip running across that neighborhood, about three miles long and 
eighty rods wide, where good water can be obtained at a depth of from 
sixteen to eighteen feet. On each side of this narrow strip it is needful to 
go about forty feet to obtain water."" Other peculiarities have been found. 

TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATIONS. 

The county now known as Lake was "erected out of the counties of Por- 
ter and Newton" January 28, 1836, and by act of the Legislature, January 
18, 1837, it was declared to be an independent county on and after February 
16, 1837, the day on which the writer of this was eleven years of age. 

At the first meeting of the first board of County Commissioners the 
county was divided into three townships. North. Center and South, each ex- 
tending across -the county from east to west. This meeting was in April, 
1837. 

May 9, 1839, the Commissioners divided the original south township into 
three townships called West Creek, Cedar Creek, and Eagle Creek townships, 



50 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

from tlie names of the creeks running through them from north to south. 

In 1843 ^^ infield township was set off from the orginal Center, named, 
it is supposed, after General A\'infield Scott. 

June 8, 1848, the Commissioners took off a large strip from the north 
part of Center township, and organized St. Johns township and Ross town- 
ship, the latter taking its name from our earliest farmer settler, William Ross, 
a. settler in 1833, and the -former, probably, from John Hack, the first German 
settler. 

Whatever may have been the boundary lines of the original north town- 
ship of the county, boundaries were fixed September 5, 1849, for North town- 
ship, which boundaries give that township as laid down on the map of Herljert 
S. Ball in "Lake County, 1872." That map shows the ten townships as they 
were from 1853 until the Calumet township was organized. 

June 8, 1853. Hanover was taken off from Center liy the Commissioners 
and made a separate township. The present Center township was therefore 
left as it now is, in June, 1853. 

Hobart township was at first formed September 5, 1849, b^t 'ts bound- 
aries were slightly changed December 6, 1853, and the township then included 
the sections as shown in the county map in "Lake County, 1872," the north 
part not extending beyond the Little Calumet River. March 9. 1883, its terri- 
tory was again changed, sections i and 2 in township 35 being given to it 
from Ross township and its west line, running on the west side of section 2, 
was extended up to Lake Michigan, its east boundary line following the county 
line up to the lake. It was thus made five miles in width and eight miles long. 

A strip five miles in width, on the west side of the old North township, 
was then made a new division of the county, called North township ; and be- 
tween that and the new township of Hobart, a strip of territory six miles in 
width extending from the north line of township 35 to Lake Michigan, was 
made a new township and called Calumet. .As this took three sections away 
from Ross, the village of Ross is no longer, as it originally was, in Ross 
township. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 51 

The tliree original townships of the county have now become eleven, 
there having been no other changes since 1883. 



Red Cedar Lake or the Lake of the Red Cedars, or as more commonly 
called in Lake county and by the railroad officials, plain Cedar Lake, has some 
interesting special history. In its original wildness it was beautiful. Job 
• Worthington of Massachusetts, who spent a summer and a winter there in 1837 
and 1838, said years afterwards that he had thought of it by day and dreamed 
of it by night, as one of the most beautiful places that he had seen ; and as late 
as 1879 Colonel S. B. Yeoman, of Ohio, who was deciding upon a line of 
railroad to run across Lake county, is reported to have said that whatever 
interests in other parts of the county might he affected by the location to be 
made. Cedar Lake was "too beautiful to be left out, promising too much as 
a pleasure resort." So the proposed road was laid on the west side of the 
lake, adding nothing, however, to its beauty, and a pleasure resort it did 
indeed become. 

Solon Robinson spoke of the lake as being in 1834 very attractive to 
claim-seekers. Charles Wilson in that summer laid a claim on the west side, 
on section 27. This soon passed into the hands of Jacob L. Brown,. and by 
him the claim was transferred to Hervey Ball for $300. So says the Claim 
Register, date July 18, 1837. The family tradition adds, "in gold." This 
was much more than the claim was worth, but it was then considered one of 
the most desirable locations in the county. For some twenty-three years ♦'his 
place remained in the possession of the Ball family and was one of the prom- 
inent religious, educational, and literary centers until the pioneer days had 
ended. Its church, its school, its Sunday-school, its two literary societies, 
were second in influence to none in the county. After the first settlers, the 
Brown, Cox, Nordyke, and Batton families sold their claims, the neighbor- 
hood which was to continue for many years was formed in 1838 by the four 
families of H. Ball, H. Sasse, Sr., H. Von Hollen, and Louis Herlitz; and of 
these, the last, of the older members of the households, known as Mrs. H. 



52 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

\'an Hollen. has lately passed away, eighty-seven years of age and having 
lived in the old home for sixty-five years. Younger members of the Herlitz 
family vet remain on what was at first the Nordyke claim, Ijought from that 
genuine pioneer sixty-five years ago. 

On the east side of this lake claim? were located and settlements made 
in 1836 by members of the large Taylor families, of whom the men then in 
active life were four, Adonijah and Horace Taylor, brothers, and Dr. Calvin 
Lilley and Horace Edgerton, sons-in-law of the father, Obadiah Taylor, then 
quite an aged man. Records of this family will be found among memorial 
sketches. These families gave considerable attention to saw-mill building and 
to fishing. 

On the southwest side of the lake were the two regular fisherman fam- 
ilies of Lyman Mann and Jonathan Gray. They soon left that side of the 
lake. 

A PLEASURE RESORT. 

From the very first of the settlements in the county this lake had been a 
favorite place to visit for fishing and recreation by small parties from the 
growing neighborhoods ; but after cars commenced running on the new road 
in the spring of 1881, that it would become a large pleasure resort was evident. 

In April, 1881, Captain Harper, a I^ke county man, who had learned 
to manage a boat on Lake Michigan, put a small sailing vessel on this lake. 
It would carry about twenty passengers. Excursion trains soon commenced 
running, many row boats were put on the lake, many improvements to accom- 
modate pleasure seekers followed, a seven hundred dollar steamer was put on 
the lake in 1883, and one worth twelve hundred dollars in 1884. Other sail 
boats also came into use. As early as 1884 about two hundred boats of diflferent 
kinds were on the waters of this lake, and from three to five thousand people 
would sometimes be visiting the lake in the same week. Since then build- 
ings have been erected on both sides of the lake and every summer there are 
thousands of visitors. Almost entirely in these later years has that Lake of the 
Red Cedars been given up to the devotees of pleasure in the summer time, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 5d 

and in the winter to the ice business when busy men fill the Armour and other 
large ice houses. 

REMAINS OF MAN. 

Before taking final leave of this lake there is one more item of interest 
to be recorded. On the first day of October, 1880, two young men, Orlando 
Russell and Frank Russell, commenced excavations for a mill foundation. 
The spot they had selected was a beautiful grassy knoll, a very sunny spot, a 
few feet higher than the sandy lake beach, sloping slightly in every direction. 
It had been, the summer before, a camping ground for many days and nights 
of a pleasure party, who did not dream as they reposed upon that turf, what 
dust was slumbering a very few feet beneath their heads. 

When on that October mornmg the work of excavation commenced an 
unexpected discovery was made. It was found that the top of that mound 
was artificial, so soon as the surface soil was removed, and as the plow- 
share cut into the second layer of earth it struck a mass of human bones, 
evidently entire skeletons, until the plow reached them, of human beings and in 
a good state of preservation. As many as twenty skeletons were taken out 
from a small space of ground, and a tree, under the very roots of which some of 
them were found, gave evidence that they were buried there, apparently in 
one promiscuous heap, two hundred years ago. 

LARGE LAND HOLDERS. 

In 1872, about twenty years after railroads began to cross Lake county, 
the following areas of land were held by the following named persons : Non- 
residents of the county: Dorsey & Cline, about 12,000 acres; Forsyth, 8,000; 
G. W. Cass, 9,577; J. B. Niles, about 1,800; Dr. Hittle, 1,200; D. C. Sco- 
field. 1,000. Residents: A. N. Hart, 15,000; J. W. Dinwiddie estate, alxiut 
3,500; Wellington A. Clark, 1,320. In all, 53,500 acres. 

Calling the area of the county, wet land and all, five hundred sections, the 
Claim Register says : "This county contains 508 sections of land, about 400 
of which are dry, tillable ground" — and considering each section to contain 
640 acres, there are, then, in the county 320,000 acres; and. according to the 



54 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

figures gi\en aljove, in 1872 tlie representatives oi only ten families hel>I one- 
sixth part of the area of the county. Thirty years ha\'e made f|uite a change 
in those ten families, and all those tracts of land have lieen more or less divided 
up. The Lake Agricultural Company, President \V. R. Shelby of Michigan, 
^till holds quite a portion of the G. ^^'. Cass land, and William Niles. Esq., of 
La Porte, still holds quite a' large amount of the J- B. Niles land. The other 
tract of land now held by non-residents lies on Lake ^Michigan cornering on 
Tolleston, comprising about 4,000 acres. Real owners unknown. 
Soldiers of L.\ke County. 

Some mention is justly due, beyond what has yet been made, of the men 
and young men. some of them scarcely more than lx5ys, who so readily left 
their homes, 

"To march o'er field and to watch in tent." 
to fight for their country, and perhaps to die. But of the more than a thou- 
sand that probably went from the "Homes of Lake," and of the two hundred 
or more that never returned, of only a few can memorials be recorded here. 

There are on one Lake county roll, taken from Volume VHI of the Ad- 
jutant General's Report, the names of nineteen who died, members of Coni- 
pany G of the Twelfth Cavalry; nineteen who were members of Company B 
of the Twentieth Regiment; of twenty who were in Company A, Seventy- 
third Regiment; and twenty members of Company A of the Ninety-ninth 
Regiment. 

The following are some records concerning a few. Were the material 
ample it is evident that some .selection must be made or the war record alone 
would make a quite large volume. 

Colonel John Wheeler. — Born in Connecticut, February 6, 1825, 
spending the years of youth and early manhood in Ohio, married in 1846 to 
[Miss Ann C. Jones, a daughter of John D. Jones, himself the son of Johnson 
Wheeler, who was the father of seven children, in 1847 the Wheeler and Jones 
families becoming residents in Lake county, the home of John Wheeler was 
for about six vears in \\'est Creek township. Tn 1853 he was appointed or 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 65 

elected county sui\eyor, liolding the office for three years. For the next four 
years he was associated with Zerah F. Summers in editing and publishing the 
Crown Point Register. In 1861 he raised a company of one hundred men, 
was chosen Captain, his company becoming a part of the Twentieth Regiment 
of Indiana Volunteers. February 16, 1862, he was commissioned Major, and 
in March. 1863, Colonel. "In July, as Colonel of the Twentieth Indiana Regi- 
ment, he led his vete'ran troops on that bloody and decisive field of Gettys- 
burg, and there fell on July 2d in the slaughter of that terrible conflict." 

Colonel Wheeler's line of genealogy, traced backward, is the following: 
His father, Johnson Wheeler, who removed from Connecticut to Ohio in 
1824, and who became a resident of Lake county in 1847, was born in 1797' 
and was the son of Johnson Wheeler, born in 1754, who was a son of Samuel 
Wheeler and Ruth Stiles Wheeler, born in 17 12, who was a son of John 
Wheeler, born in 1684, who was a son of John Wheeler, of Woodbury, who 
died in 1704, date of birth not known, who was a son of John Wheeler, who 
settled in Fairfield, Connecticut, in 1644, and had resided in Concord before 
1640, Date of migration from England not known. 

Ruth Stiles, wife of Samuel Wheeler, and so the great-grandmother of 
Colonel Wheeler, was a daughter of Benjamin Stiles, of which New England 
Stiles family Dr. Stiles of Yale College was a member ; and as Dorcas Burt, 
of the noted Burt family of Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1658 was married 
to John Stiles of this same family of which Dr. Ezra Stiles was a member, 
the probability is that Ruth Stiles was a descendent through Dorcas Biu't of 
Henry and Eulalia Burt, who came from England also "before 1640." 

To one who traces lines of genealogy, it is singular how many of the 
earliest New England families have been, in some generation, connected by 
marriage. And that those first early families should have intermarried is 
natural. One line from that same Henry and Eulalia Burt goes down to 
that noted man, Grover Cleveland. It is certain that there were eight Burt 
daughters who were married and had many descendants, and it is claimed that 
there were eleven sons. No man can choose his ancestry ; and no man can be 
sure of what sort will be his descendants. 



56 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Stillman a. Robbins. — In marked contrast with the foregoing record 
of one who had led veteran troops in brilliant and bloody battles, is placed a 
memorial of a soldier youth. It is copied from a publication of 1864. 
"Died. In Huntsville, Alabama, July 18, 1864, Stillman A. Robbins, of 
Company G, Twelfth Indiana Cavalry, aged 22 years and 8 months. There 
are those who recollect, a few years ago, a bright little boy, deeply interested 
in mastering that key to knowledge, the magic alphabet ; then, in early boy- 
hood, leaving the sports of other children, and stealing away by himself with 
his favorite books, treasuring with care a neglected Sunday-school library; 
then in tlie academy the attenti\'e scholar, winning the love of teachers and 
classmates by obedience and politeness; and soon again in the business of 
life with a mechanical taste becoming a skillful engineer; and they saw in the 
child, the boy, and the man, a characteristic nobleness, manliness, and energy, 
that ever attracted attention, and won respect and love. 

"In November, 1863, when returning after a five months' absence, the 
young engineer finding a cavalry company recruiting in his neighborhood, 
after spending but a few hours under his parents' roof, enrolled himself as a 
volunteer. 

"Soon after the organization of the regiment he was detailed as clerk in 
the adjutant's ofifice, where he soon won the confidence and esteem of all the 
officers in the regiment by his attention to business and soldierly conduct. At 
Huntsville he was again detailed as chief clerk in the provost marshal's 
office, which position he filled for a month with great credit, when he was 
taken with a fever from which he was just recovering, when a hemorrhage 
suddenly closed his career. 

"He sleeps where 'southern vines are dressed above the noble slain,' none 
the less a martyr to his country than if he had wrapped his colors round his 
breast in some blood-red field of battle; and there is no nobler grave than 
that of a patriot soldier. His loss was deeply felt by all the regiment — 'talk 
not of grief till you have seen the tears of warlike men' — but who shall speak 
of the loss to those parents who had given up tiieir two brave boys, their all, 
without a murmur, to their country? — C. Ball." 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 57 

The writer of the record just copied was Lieutenant Charles Ball, him- 
selit a member of the Twelfth Cavalry, who "was detailed to serve as a staff 
officer, and was appointed sergeant-major," a position which "kept him gen- 
erally at the headquarters of the regiment." 

He sent to his Cedar Lake home very interesting letters, but they are too 
lengthy to be reproduced here. Some of them are in a publication called 
■"The Lake of the Red Cedars." 

One incident only will be given here of his many experiences. There was 
assigned to him at Huntsville a somewhat dangerous duty. He had taken 
from his home the best horse for cavalry service that he could find, a good 
and easy traveller and very hardy. "Mounted on this hardy and faithful ani- 
mal the sergeant-major started from the headquarters and passed out of 
Huntsville alone to carry orders. He knew not what moment the aim of a 
concealed foe would be upon him, but proceeding upon a gentle gallop, he 
slacked not rein nor did his trusty steed break his pace, till a ride of about 
twenty miles was accomplished." It had not the excitement of Sheridan's 
famous ride, but perhaps it was more dangerous. 

Miles F. McCarty. — Another member of the Twelfth Cavalry was 
Miles F., usually called Franklin, McCarty. He was the third son of Judge 
Benjamin McCarty. of West Point, a member of a pioneer family of La Porte, 
of Porter, and of Lake counties. He was talented and ambitious. He had 
capabilities which would have developed nobly under favorable circumstances, 
but by some means he was not in the line of promotion. He was taken sick 
at Nashville, or on the way there: and died at Nashville, May 27, 1864. His 
death was more than usually sad. Four members of Company G died at 
Nashville. 

George W. Edgerton. — Of two members of Company B who fell at 
Gettysburg with their Colonel on that Ijluody field, July 2, 1863, one was 
George W. Edgerton, a member of a true pioneer family and a young patriot 
soldier. He was a son of Amos Edgerton, a grand.son of Horace Edgerton, 
and was connected with the large Taylor family of pioneers of East Cedar 



58 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Lake. He was a promising youtli. and liis loss, like that of thousands of 
others, was a great grief to a fond mother wiio has herself long since passed 
to the peaceful shore. Her son fell in one of the greatest decisive battles of 
the world. 

M. Gr.wes. — Another youth whose life was given for his country was 
M. Graves, son of Orrin W. Graves, of West Creek. He was a member of 
Company A, Seventy-third Regiment, and died at Nashville, December i6, 
1862. He was a mild and pleasant boy, too young to bear the exposures of a 
soldier's life. 

Nashville seems to have been a fatal place for our soldiers. The record 
states that of the Seventy-third there died at Nashville Lewis Atkins, Novem- 
ber 22, 1862; Eli Atwood, November 29, 1862: E. Woods, November 29, 
1862; Albert Nichols, December i, 1862; John Childers, December 3, 1862; 
William Frazier, December 15, 1862; A. Lamphier, January 7, 1863; James 
Roney, February 8, 1863: L. Morris, April 30, 1863: T. W. Loving, Sep- 
tember 30, 1863: of the Twelfth Cavalry, W. M. Pringle, November 4, 1864; 
William Harland, January 8, 1865; William Stinkle. February i, 1865; be- 
sides M. F. McCarty and M. Graves, specially named. 

Captain Alfred Fry. — Among those who returned from Mexico in 
1848 was Alfred Fry of Crown Point, fifteen years older than when he first 
became a soldier, who enlisted as a private July 26, 1862, and was mustered 
into the service of the L^nited States as Orderly Sergeant of Company A, 
Seventy-third Regiment of Indiana Volunteers, August 16, 1862. September 
1st of the same year at Lexington, Ky., he was commissioned Second 
Lieutenant of Company .\. The regiment returning to Louisville he was as- 
signed to the position of Brigade Commis.viry. December 2d he was com- 
missioned First Lieutenant and engaged in the battle of Stone River. He 
was under fire for six days. January 19. 1863, he was commissioned Cap- 
tain of Companv .\. His regiment was assigned to Colonel Streight's brig- 
ade and surrendered in May, 1863. in that disastrous attempt of about fifteen 
hundred men to pass through North Alabama to Rome, in Georgia. Cap 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 59 

tain Fry's narrative of the treatment the officers of the Seventy-third Regi- 
ment received, after they had surrendered on honorable conditions, was pub- 
lished in full in "Lake County, 1872," and presents a very dark picture of 
man's inliumanity to man. 

For one year they endured the horrors of Libby Prison, and for about 
one more year were removed from one prison pen to another. Finally they 
were paroled, February 14, 1865, and in March entered the Union lines. 
Captain Fry was in a few weeks exchanged, returned to his company, then 
in Alabama, was discharged in the summer with his regiment, and became 
again a resident of Crown Point, where he continued to live, engaged in the 
peaceful pursuits of life, until 1873, 

Captain John M. Foster. — Of Company G, Twelfth Cavalry, John M, 
Foster became Captain, promoted from First Lieutenant. His brother, Al- 
mon Foster, was the first captain. They were sons of Frederick Foster, of 
Crown Point, and brothers of Mrs. John Pearce, of Eagle Creek. Unlike 
the infantry regiments, the Twelfth Cavalry was sent into no great battles 
and the officers and men had no opportunity to gain promotion through 
deeds of valor; but the regiment performed a large amount of cavalry ser- 
vice. Colonel Karge, of the Second New Jersey, who commanded in the 
course of the war several different regiments, is reported, in a letter written 
June II, 1865, to have said that the Twelfth Indiana was the best regiment 
he ever commanded. 

After the war closed. Captain Foster returned to Crown Point and en- 
gaged again in the peaceful pursuits of business life. Sons and daughters 
grew up in his home. He was a worthy citizen; was quite successful in 
business; and lived until February, 1893, rejoicing in the prosperity of a 
united nation. 

As this cavalry regiment gained no distinguished war honors, as the in- 
fantry regiments did, it seems just to quote a few statements from the report 
of the Adjutant General of Indiana, see Vol. Ill, showing that its members 
accomplished a large amount of soldier work in various ways, in North Ala- 



60 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

bama, in Tennessee, in Soutli Alabama and IHorida. and over many lunidreds 
of miles of sonthern territory. Out from Huntsville as a center the men 
"were employed very extensively in fighting and ridding the country of guer- 
rillas and 'bushwhackers,' in which numerous skirmishes and engagements 
were fought." In September, 1864, the regiment was removed to TuUa- 
homa, Tennessee, and there constantly employed against General Forrest's 
forces. They went to South Alabama and into Florida, fighting, skirmish- 
ing, doing different duty from what infantry could do. "The regiment was 
highly and specially complimented by Major General Grierson, in a letter to 
Governor Morton, for its gallant conduct and military discipline." No one 
reading the full report of the Adjutant General could reasonably think that 
the members of Company G failed to do their duty. As to what to do a sol- 
dier has little choice. 

Captain Daniel F. Sawyer. — Officers as well as men in the ranks fell 
victims to the sickness incident to camp life and to climate. Daniel F. Saw- 
yer, the first captain of Company A, of the Ninety-ninth, was taken sick and 
died in Mississippi, and was succeeded in command by K. M. Burnliam. Cap- 
lain Sawyer was from Merrillville, and his body was brought home nnd laid 
away to sleep in the Merrillville cemetery. 

Lieutenant John P. Merrill. — One of the sons of Dudley Merrill, of 
Merrillville, John P. Merrill was born October 13. 1843. ^'^ August. 1862. 
he enlisted in Company A, of the Ninety-ninth Regiment, and in October. 
1864, was promoted from the office of Sergeant to that of First Lieutenant. 
He returned home in June, 1865, and became a merchant. In 1867 he was 
married to Miss Martha T. Randol])h. He was for many years Trustee of 
Ross township, and at length, having been elected County Treasurer, he re- 
moved to Crown Point. Spending several years of life as an active, useful 
citizen of Crown Point, he died there suddenly "at 5 o'clock Sunday evening, 
February 21," 1897. 

Imniediatelv following the record of his death is the following record: 
"Caiitain W. S. Babbitt was born in Vermont, December 19, 1825. When 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 61 

eleven years of age he went to sea. Sailed five times around Cape Horn and 
made three voyages on a whaling vessel. Came to Ross township in 1854. 
Was a soldier in our army in that great conflict, and died, at Crown Point, 
on the next day, February 22, one of our national anniversary days. Age, 71 
years." The "next day" in tlie record here quoted means the day after the 
death of Lieutenant Merrill. Like him he was Lieutenant in Company B, of 
the Twentieth, but was transferred to Company C and was promoted Captain. 
He also removed to Crown Point, where he spent with his family the later 
years of his life. He did not forget God in the days of peace, of whom he 
could say as king David once said, "Thou hast covered my head in the day 
of battle," but was an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Such are a few brief memorials of our loyal and 'gallant soldier dead. 
There were many others, perhaps not quite so well and widely known as 
J:hese; who were equally dear to their special kindred and friends, and of 
these others a small volume of memorials might be collected. 

Of the Twelfth Cavalry there fell in battle or died, at New Orleans, 
Henry Brockman and Sidney W. Chapman; at Kendallville, Charles Croth- 
ers, Fred Kable, and Albert Moore; at Vicksburg, Jacob Deeter; at home, R. 
L. Fuller, F. S. Miller, William Stubby, and Ezra Wedge; at Starkville, 
Ephraim E. Gofif; at Huntsville, M. Hoopendall; at Michigan City, A. Mc- 
Millen ; making with those elsewhere named sixteen of whom no memorials 
are here given. But their names will live and their deeds are on record. 

- Of the Twentieth, Company B, there fell in battle or died, Horace Ful- 
ler, Wilderness; Lawrence Frantz, Spottsylvania; John Griesel, David Island; 

M. Hafey, Pittsburg; C. Hazworth, ; William Johnson, Petersburg; 

Albert Kale, Camp Hampton; William Mutchler, Camp Smith; P. Mutch- 
ler. Washington; James Merrill, Wilderness; S. Pangbuni; Andersonville : 

C. Potter, ; D. Pinkerton, ; J. Richmond, Gettysburg; John F. 

Farr, Washington ; Isaac Williams, Charles Winters, City Point. Seventeen 
names without memorials. 

Of the Seventy-third, Company A, the names not already given in the 



62 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Nashvi'.le list are these : John H. Easley, Stone River ; R. W. Fuller, Indi- 
anapolis; J. M. Fuller, Gallatin; I. W. Moore, M. Vincent, Gallatin; John 
Maxwell, Scottsville; C. Van Burg, Bowling Green; E. Welch, Stone River; 

5. White, Blount's Farm. Nineteen names in all, of this company, with no 
memorial sketch. 

Of the Ninety-ninth, Company A, the names are: O. E. Atkins, D. T. 
Burnham; J. Bartholomew and H. H. Haskins at Andersonville ; J. D. 
Clinghan at Huntsville; H. A. Case at La Grange; James Foster and James 
Horton at Atlanta ; R. T. Harris and T. C. Pinnel at La Grange ; John Lorey, 
Adam Mock, N. Newman, at Black River; Corydon Pierce at Washington; 
Albert Robbins, a brother of Stillman Robbins of the Twelfth, dying August 

6, 1864; J. Schmidt, Indianapolis; and J. Stickleman, A. Vandervert, and 
M. Winand, the last one dying "at home," December 11, 1864. Of this com- 
pany are also nineteen names. 

Seventy-one names are thus here given following the eleven memorial 
sketches. Patriot soldiers all. 

This writer gives no sketches of the living. 

A soldier's monument. 

In 1903 the citizens of the three southern townships. Eagle Creek, 
Cedar Creek, and West Creek, including as quite central the town of Lowell, 
determined to erect a monument to perpetuate on lasting' stone the names, if 
not all the deeds, of their brave sons who engaged in the great conflict which 
commenced in 1861. 

It is understood that the monument is to cost three thousand dollars, the 
money mostly, perhaps all, raised by the efiforts of the public-spirited women 
of those townships. It is to stand on the public square at Lowell. 




SOLON ROBINSON 



J NOAH ^^^"^ NOBLE, 




y haat). aad c»u»e(l lo be aSiicd j 



SOLON ROBINSON'S COMMISSION 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 63 



CHAPPTER III. 

Memorial Sketches of Early Settlers. 

Note. — I propose not to arrange these in alphabetical order, although that 
order is very convenient for a reader if there is no index; nor yet alto- 
gether in chronological order; but rather in an order in which one name 
seems to suggest another. — T. H. B. 

There is much material for memorial sketches of some of the early resi- 
dents of Lake county, those who are called its pioneer settlers ; there is scanty 
material for biographies of others. Some men have written their names in a 
bold hand, like the name, John Hancock, on the Declaration of Independence, 
within the history and across the history of Lake county. 

Among these is the name, Solon Robinson. He was born in Connecti- 
cut, October 21, 1803. And the more closely one studies the biographical 
liistory of Lake county, Indiana, so much the more fully he will see that Lake 
county, like many other portions of this Union, owes very much, for its intelli- 
gence and enterprise, to New England blood and New England training. Of 
the earlier life of Solon Robinson, of his education and his experiences, not 
inucli is now known. He left liis native State rather early in life, and from 
wliich of tlie larger Robinson families he was descended does not seem to be 
known, but in May, 1828, he was married in Cincinnati, Ohio, and not long 
after became a citizen of Indiana, first at Madison, and then in Jennings 
county, at a place called Rock Creek. What business pursuits he followed 
seems to be also unknown. In October, 1834, in a conveyance drawn by 
oxen, having one extra wagon or more to convey the household goods, he 
came with his wife and two young children, and probably two young men, 
Jerome Curtis and J. B. Curtis, over that long line of road that was then 
leading up into Northwestern Indiana. The road way, except Indian trails, 
ended in Porter county ; but he found there Jacob Hurlburt to guide him to 



64 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

tlie newly surveyed land lying yet further west. Just before sunset October 
31, 1834, this leader of migration with his party, having crossed, what was to 
him and to them a wonderful sight, a beautiful belt of prairie, reached some 
skirting woodland. The next morning he concluded to locate there his future 
home, and from that November morning until about 1850 his name is quite 
closely interwoven with all that followed in the settlement and growth. So 
.fully was he concerned in the affairs of the young county that he was called 
the Squatter King of Lake. He made a map of the county, showing, be- 
sides other features, what was prairie and what was woodland, he secured the 
organization of the Squatters' Union, July 4, 1836, and was elected the first 
Register of claims. [That old Claim Register is now in my possession ; also 
a copy of the Robinson map, probably the only copy now in Lake county. — 
T. H. B.] He was an early Justice of the Peace, was the first postmaster in 
the county, was elected the first County Clerk, and, with his brother Milo 
Robinson, opened the first settlers' store in the county. He secured the loca- 
tion of the county seat at Crown Point in 1840. He was fond of writing and 
had quite an agricultural turn of mind. He commenced writing for the Culti- 
vator, at least as early as 1837. In 1838 he proposed the organization of an 
"American Society of Agriculture." In 1841 he sent out an address to the 
farmers of the United States, through the columns of the Ciiltivatof. The 
journeys which he took over the country in behalf of his plan cannot be de- 
tailed here. His efforts probably led on to the Grange movement. He also 
wrote stories, such as "The Will," "The Last of the Bufifaloes," "Hot Corn," 
"Green Mountain Girls," and others. He was connected for a time with the 
New York Tribune. He went at length to Florida and there died in 1880. 
His older daughter, Mrs. Strait, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, re- 
side in Crown Point, and, like him, have talent and intelligence, and, like 
him, some of them hold office. 

George Earle was born in Falmouth, England, date of birth not 
known. He became a resident of the city of Philadelphia, and came to the 
town of Liverpool, on Deep River, in 1836. That once noted town was on 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 65 

land selected under an Indian float. President Andrew Jackson, in Jime, 
1836. — see copy of patent in the county Recorder's office — conveyed to John 
B. Chapman one section of land. George Earle was talented like Solon Rob- 
inson. He was a cultivated Englishman. He had means. He did not be- 
come a squatter. He soon l>ecame prominent among the settlers. He began 
to secure Indian lands. He sought for the location of the county seat at Liv- 
erpool in 1840, but in this was not successful. After the location at what 
Solon Robinson had named Lake Court House, he, with Solon Robinson, 
named the place Crown Point, a name which he evidently suggested. He 
was appointed immediately County Agent and i^erformed well the duties as- 
signed to him in that relation. He continued for a time to improve his town 
of Liverpool, lx)ught more land, securing at length in that part of the county 
some ten or twelve sections. He commenced building a mill, at what became 
the town of Hobart, in 1845, removed with his family, a wife and one son, to 
that place in 1847. Laid out the town in 1848. In 1854 he returned to 
Philadelphia, leaving his son. John Earle, now considered a millionaire in 
Chicago, to manage the interests in Lake county. He returned to England, 
for a visit, in 1855, again in 1865, and yet again in 1868. He caused to be 
erected there a home for the poor and aged of his native town, which cost 
thirty thousand dollars, and this he gave to the town. He also visited Lake 
county, erected an art gallery in Hobart in 1858, and placed upon the walls 
about three hundred pictures which he himself had painted in Philadelphia. 
It was said of him in 1872 : "He is tall in person, dignified and courteous in 
manners, manifesting the bearing of an American and English gentleman." 
His name is fully written in the early history of the county, and his influence 
will long be felt. 

Benjamin McCarty. The third competitor for the county seat in 1840, 
may well be named next. His individuality was as marked and distinct as was 
that of the other two. Like theirs his family influence in the county yet re- 
mains. The place of his birth, the time of his 1>irth, his lineage, are alike un- 
known. He is first found, having come from an older county in Indiana, as 



66 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the acting sheriff of La Porte county in 1832. As Probate Judge he solem- 
nized marriages there in 1833 and 1834. In 1836, having cliosen in Porter 
county a central position, he secured there, on his land, the location of the 
Porter county seat. Not satisfied to remain there he came with his large fam- 
ily into Lake county, obtained what was known as the Lilley place, where had 
been a hotel and a store, laid out a town, named it West Point, and, in 1840, 
made effort to secure the Lake county seat. In this he failed. He was not in 
the geographical center, as, very nearly, Solon Robinson was. His oldest son, 
E. S. McCarty, reopened the store and also, in 1840, made brick, putting up 
the first brick kiln burned in the county. Changes in population took place 
and Judge McCarty removed to the prairie a few miles south, bought what is 
now the Hill place, and became a farmer. He had six sons, E. Smiley, Wil- 
liam Pleasant, Franklin, Fayette Asbury, Morgan, Jonathan, and two daugh- 
ters. Hannah and Candace. He had for his older sons some of the finest 
saddle horses then in the county. His home at West Point was a center in 
1840 for religious meetings, and, for a short time, for a literary society. 
Some of his sons were teachers in the pulilic schools. Until his death the 
family influence was large, but after that the family scattered, one son only 
remaining in the county. Some of his descendants are living in Creston. 

Judge McCarty was friendly, intelligent, a man who knew something c^ 
frontier life before he reached Lake county, and was a man of good position 
in social life. Of those who knew him intimately none are living now. 

Dr. H. D. P.\LMER is considered to have been the first graduate or regu- 
lar phvsician of the county. He w^as a graduate of a medical college in Fair- 
field, New York, in 1834, and in the winter of 1836 he located as a physician 
two miles west of the present town of Merrillville. He also commenced farm- 
ing life, combining the two very successfully. He did yet more. He was elected 
Associate Judge in 1838, and held this office with Judge Clark and afterward 
with judge Samuel Turner for about thirteen years. It is said that twice in 
th.is term of years, in the absence of the presiding judge, he conducted the en- 
tire luisiness of the court. Ordinarily the associate judges of those years did 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 67 

\erv little real court business. They were not e.xpected to be thorouglily 
\ersed in law. Their judgment was consulted on matters between man and 
man. In 1841 Dr. Palmer erected the first frame dwelling house in that part 
of the county. As a physician his rides extended from Dyer to Hobart and 
I^ke Station. His most extensive practice was in the years between 1850 
and i860. He continued his farming life and in connection with Solon Rob- 
inson brought the first Berkshire pigs to Crown Point. 

He was twice married. After the death of his first wife, who was the 
mother of one son and one daughter, he was married to Miss Catherine Under- 
wood, a sister of John Underwood, the poet of Lake county. Miss Hattie 
Palmer, druggist at Hebron, is one of her daughters, and the other is Mrs. 
Alice Feiler, of \\'infield. Both share in the Palmer and Underwood talent. 
Mrs. Palmer lives at Hebron with her daughter. Dr. Palmer built a fine 
country residence on his farm about 1870. 

In this home of intelligence and of abundance was brought up an adopted 
son. Dr. S. W. Johns, the son of J. V. Johns, the latter elected Sheriff in 
1839, a young pioneer from Philadelphia as early as 1836, who possessed an 
excellent counting-house education. His name soon disappears from the 
early records, and it is supposed that he had but little opportunity to use his 
good abilities. But the son, S. W. Johns, studied medicine in Dr. Palmer's 
office, settled as a physician at Dyer, was prosperous in his practice, and, in 
the midst of his life of usefulness, was unexpectedly called away from the ac- 
tivities of life, leaving a wife. ^Irs. Johns of Dyer, and a young daughter. 
Katie Johns, now residents of Zion City. 

John Wood came into this region. looked over the land, and made a 
claim in 1835. He spent one night, in making examination of land, with Dr. 
Ames, of ^Michigan City, and three or four others, in the cabin of Jessie Pierce 
on the bank of Turkey Creek. His visit thus affording evidence that Jesse 
Pierce was a settler there as early as 1835. John Wood was a native of east- 
ern Alassachusetts. He returned home and came with his family in 1836, 
leaving Michigan City on July 4th of that year. "He found that during his 



68 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

aljsence General Tipton of Fort Wayne, United States senator, had laid a float 
upon his claim in the name of Indian Ouaslima." The land was suitable for 
a mill seat, and so according to law or nsage was not properly subject to an 
Indian float. But the float had been laid and laid by a senator; the location 
was very much wanted by the claimant, and so he purchased the land from the 
Indian, paying him for the quarter .section one thousand dollars, instead of 
paving to the Government, as he had exjiected, two hundred dollars. The 
deed with Quashma's signature must still l)e in the possession of some of the 
Wood family. In 1837 a saw mill was erected there, and in a year or two 
more a grist mill, which for some years did a large amount of grinding for 
the farmers of both Lake and Porter counties. Tlie place was soon known 
as Wood's Mill, but its proper name now is Woodvale. The Wood family 
home, at first on the east side of the river (where also the family cemetery 
now is), but in a few years removed to the west side of that river, was a very 
pleasant home for the cliildren that grew up there, and for friends who visited 
there. 

The founders of that home have passed away, but a large flouring mill 
is still where the Indian float was laid, and in Woodvale, in Hobart, and in 
\'alparaiso, are many descendants to show the results in character and busi- 
ne^^s life of the Wood family of Massachusetts. 

W'hile genuine pioneers they never liecame "squatters," as they located 
in 1836, three years before the Land Sale, not on Government land, but on 
land purcha.sed from an Indian. Not many "floats" were located in Lake 
county, but there were a few that caused to white settlers considerable dis- 
appointment. The line of descent of this family, goes back to Moses Wood, 
born in 1748, who had three sons and eight daughters, the youngest of the 
eleven children being John Wood, Ixjrn October 28, 1800, and then to 
Nathan Wood, born in 1721, and then to Jacob Wood, the date of whose 
birth is not exactly known. He was probably the second of the line torn in 
.Vnierioa. One of the nine children of Nathan Wood, son of Jacob Wood, 
wa? named Sarah, and two dates are found for her birth. The one is 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 69 

October 7th, the other October 21st, of 1750. As New Style commenced 
in England in 1752 the 3d of September of that year being called by Act of 
Parliament the 14th day, the change from Old Style to New may have led 
to some confusion in the Wood family record. The 7th of October O. S. 
would properly have been October i8th N. S. No child was bom in Old 
England or New between September 3d and September 14th, in 1752, as 
no such days existed in English records and history. 




Hervey Ball, a descendant of Francis Ball, of West Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, of Jonathan Ball, bom in 1645, oi Benjamin Ball, 1689, of 
Charles Ball, 1725, of Lieutenant Charles Ball, 1760, was born in the old 
town of West Springfield, now Holyoke, October 16, 1794. He was a 
graduate of Middlebury College, Vermont, of the year 18 18, studied law in 
Vermont for two years, and in 1820 made his first home in Columbia county, 
Georgia, a member of what was called the Augusta Bar. Here he practiced 
law till 1834, and was for a time Colonel of a cavalry company and attended 



70 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the musters of the Georgia state militia, liaving always fine horses in his 
possession. 

In 1836 he was at City West in Porter county, Indiana, laying out town 
lots as surveyor for a company who were proposing to start a city. In the 
spring of 1837 he brought his family from Massachusetts to City West; 
but in July he bought a claim at the Red Cedar Lake in Lake county, and 
before the year 1837 closed the family settlement had there been fully made. 
Through the remainder of his life, now forty-three years of age and a retired 
lawyer, he gave much attention to farming and to keeping honey bees and 
raising some choice domestic animals. He held for some time the office 
of County Surveyor, also of Probate Judge, and in his later years was Jus- 
tice of the Peace. He was Clerk of the Cedar Lake Baptist church, Super- 
intendent of the Sabbath school at the lake for many years, Clerk and also 
Moderator of the Northern Indiana Baptist Association, and a trustee of 
Franklin College. In his college and in his professional life he had mingled 
to quite a large extent with the gay, and the busy, and the cultivated, was 
familiar with leading men of Georgia, and knew what life was among the 
wealthy planters of that day. The results of his New England training 
and of his Southern professional life were of large benefit to his children 
and the young people connected with them; and his home became and con- 
tinued to be for several years a religious, an educational, a literary, and a 
social center. Ministers of different denominations found there a welcome, 
and the home was always full of healthful life. The Puritanic and the true 
\\'estern spirit blended well together. The family library was.quite large, 
large for pioneer days, and periodicals, agricultural and political, literary 
and religious, found their way to the home in abundance, so that the seven 
children and llieir classmates and visitors all were readers. Judge Hervey 
Ball lived thirty years m Lake county, building up good institutions, and 
died on his farm October 13, 1868. 

Lewis \\'.\rriner was hnrn in West S])ringficl(l, .Massachusetts, in the 
south parish, now the town of .Agawam, in June. 1792. He was a member 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 71 

of an old and well established INIassacluisetts family, the line running back 
through several generations. Coming from the same town as did the Ball 
famil}- and in the same }ear, he settled on a claim on the southeast side of 
the same l^eauiiful lake, November 9, 1837. 

He had represented his native town four times in the Massachusetts 
Legislature and had filled other positions of honor and trust in his native 
state. 

In that sickly season of 1838 much of the light and joy departed from 
his home in the persons of his wife and young daughter; but the father, 
two sons and a daughter, older than the other yet only a child herself, still 
kept up their frontier home with courage and with hope. In this same year 
a postofiice was established at this home, Lewis Warriner postmaster, the 
second or third one in the county, and this position he held till 1849. I" 
1852 he was re-appointed and held the office till 1856. In 1839 he was 
elected a member of the Indiana Legislature; he took the- United States 
census of the county in 1840; and was again elected representative in 1848. 

He was one of the constituent members of the Cedar Lake Baptist 
church in June, 1838, he and his wife having both been members of the 
Agawam Baptist church in Massachusetts. It was said of him that "as a 
man he always commanded the highest respect and confidence of his neigh- 
bors and acquaintances in all the walks of life, both public and private, ind 
was always ready to give his influence and support for every object tend- 
ing to benefit or improve his fellow-man;" and that "as a Christian he was 
active and sincere, both in his church duties and in his every-day life and 
examples, the influences of which were felt and acknowledged by his neigh- 
bors and associates." 

He lias no children living, but some grandchildren and great-grand- 
children are yet active in this busy world. He himself died in Arkansas, 
May 14, 1869, almost seventy-se\en years of age. 

He acted at one time as literary critic of that once noted organization, 
the Cedar Lake Belles Lettres Societv, of whicli his daughter and one son 



7-2 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

were members, to whicli Society Solon Robinson gave one of his ciiarac- 
teristic addresses; and probably no better, no more judicious literary critics 
have since been in the county than were Judge Hervey Ball and Hon. Lewis 
Warriner. Their work in that line, as in many others, will never die. 

Henry Wells was another native of Massachusetts who passed a long 
and active life m Lake county. His name stands among the earliest inhab- 
itants of Crown Point. He held office as Sheriff for many years, and was 
for eight years County Treasurer, and was also Swamp Land Commissioner. 
Four of his sisters also became residents of Crown Point, Mrs. Russel Eddy, 
Mrs. Olive Eddy, Mrs. Sanford, and Mrs. Gillingham. He lived to be 
quite an aged man and to see many changes. His two sons are Rodman 
H. Wells and Homer Wells, and one daughter is yet living, Mrs. S. Qark. 

William N. Sykes is a name that was prominent in what are known 
sometimes as the squatter records, as early as 1836. He who bore that name 
was a man "of fine appearance, neat in dress and person, gentlemanly in 
bearing, intelligent, and possessing a native refinement of mind." He was 
a descendant of an ancient English family, some of whom had been Quakers 
or Friends since the days of that noted man known as Fox. He was, him- 
self, a native of New Jersey. Circumstances brought him at different times 
to the home of the Ball family at the lake so that he became to them quite 
well known. He was appointed County Surveyor in May, 1837. He was 
afterward one of the County Commissioners. His active life was cut short 
by death in 1853. He was never married. His burial place is in the Merrill- 
ville Cemetery. There is one monument to his memory, and here is another ; 
that one erected by his kindred, this one written by his once young friend. 

Samuel Turner, of Scotch-Irish descent, was born in County Tyrone, 
Ireland, in March, 1782. He was married at Gettysburg in 18 10, came to 
LaPorte county in 1833, selected a location on Eagle Creek in 1838, and 
became there a permanent settler of Lake county in 1839. Other settlers 
near him at thai time were, D. Sarjeant, John Moore, A. D. McCord, George 
Smith, A. Goodrich. INIrs. Marv Dilley. 




DAVID TURNER 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 73 

Samuel Turner was sium elected Justice of the Peace, and about 184J 
Associate Judge. The following statement is quoted: "For several years 
there was no cabinet shop nearer than Valparaiso, and having learned the 
use of carpenter tools he was called on to make all the coffins used in the 
neighborhood, frequently taking lumber from the chamber floor of his cabin 
for that purpose, and always without any cbarge." His residence in the 
county was biief. Kind and obliging, useful, respected, and lionored in the 
new community which he was helping to shape, he died in 1847. His wife 
and children remained to carry on the grand work of building up a \irtuous 
community. 

D.wiD Turner, a son of Judge Samuel Turner, having held several 
public jxisitions in Lake county, may himself well be classed among the ])io- 
neers. He was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, in December, 1816; came 
from Pennsylvania with the family to LaPorte county; was one of the 
"young people" who held the Eagle Creek claim in the winter of 1838; and 
was married to Miss Caroline Bissell in 1844. He l>egan early in life to 
hold office. He was elected Justice of the Peace to succeed his father about 
1842. He was elected Probate Judge in 1849, State representative in 1S54, 
State Senator m 1858, and was appointed United States Assessor by Presi- 
dent Lincoln in 1862. As would be expected from his Scotch-Irish lineage 
on both his father and his mother's side, he was a man of firm principle, 
a member of the United Presbyterian church, an earnest supporter of Sun- 
day-schools, a friend to all public virtue. His was a very active and useful 
life for many }ears m the town of Crown Point, and no one has )-et come 
forward to make good his vacant place. Two sons are living, and five 
daughters, and several grandchildren. The name Turner is securely writ- 
ten in the county history. 

Joii.x W. DiNWiDDiE was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, October t, 
1813. and the family tradition is, that, on the day of his l.»irth, his father 
killed fifteen wild turkeys, four deer, and one bear. As that father was 
Thnmas Dinwiddle, a well known early settler in Porter county, and as it is 



74 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

on a reliable record that one of the Lake county marksmen in 1882 shot 
fifty-nine wild geese in one day, no one should stop to question that family 
tradition. 

John Wilson Dinwiddie's family line goes back through Thomas Din- 
widdle, his father, and David Dinwiddle, his grandfather, to David Din- 
widdie, his great-grandfather, a Scotch-Irish settler at Marsh Creek, Penn- 
sylvania, about 1740. Members of the old Dinwiddle family of Scotland 
were pioneers in Pennsylvania, in Ohio, in LaPorte county, Indiana, in 
Porter, and in Lake. J. W. Dinwiddle lived for some time with his father 
and sister at Indian Town, but afterward made his home at Plum Grove, 
where he obtained quite a large tract of land. He spent a few years in 
business life at Crown Point, but as the pioneer days closed and the railroad 
period of new life commenced he made his final home upon his Plum Grove 
farm and commenced farming work there on quite an extensive scale. His 
prairie land ai'.d marsh land consisted of about three thousand and five hun- 
dred acres. He was married August 19, 1844, to Miss M. J. Perkins, of 
Rome, New ^'ork. They had three sons and two daughters. Their home 
was well supplied with material comforts and with books and periodicals, 
and in that home was done a large amount of reading. 

The father held for some time the office of township trustee, and built, 
for that day three large, good frame schoolhouses. It was said of him 
in a memorial record : He "was recognized as one of the most energetic, 
and prudent, and thorough business men and farmers in the county, an 
excellent manager, firm in principle and successful in carrying out his plans, 
and was rapidly advancing in the accumulation of property, when sickness 
came unexpectedly upon him and then death. He died April 12, 1861, being 
forty-seven years of age." 

The descendants of his sons and daughters are many, and his influence 
through them will live long in northwestern Indiana. They are members, 
active and enterprising, of two large organizations, the Dinwiddie Clan of 
Lake and Porter counties and the Old Settler and Historical .Association 
of Lake "county. 




JOHN W. DINWIDDIE 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 75 

Michael Pearce, of Eagle Creek township, was a quite early settler. 
He located a claim about 1838, before the Land Sale. He was born in Ohio, 
February 20, 1808. He was married in 1840 to Miss Margaret Jane Din- 
widdle. He was a farmer, but held the offices of Justice of the Peace and 
of School Trustee. He died April 4, i86t, of typhoid pneumonia, and his 
death, at that exciting time in the history of the country, made, with that 
of his wife's brother, J. W. Dinwiddie, a great loss to the community. He 
has three sons now living and four daughters. Also many grandchildren. 

The attentive reader may notice that one cluster of families in the 
county have tlie name w ritten Pierce ; the other, these Eagle Creek families, 
write Pearce. 

Ebenezer Saxton, a native of Vermont, who had resided in Canada 
for some time, in the year of the Patriot War, 1837, sold his farm in Canada 
on credit, and in a wagon drawn by oxen started with his family for Detroit, 
distant four hundred miles. That journey was safely made. Following 
the westward movement, in that year of very large migration, the Saxton 
family passed onward from Detroit toward Fort Dearborn, or the young 
Chicago, taking no doubt the then well traveled stage road, till they reached 
Deep Ri^'er at the new town of Liverpool. Here they found a ferry boat, 
and eight families, it is said, went on board with their ox teams. The boat 
sank. The families were at length taken across the river, the boat was 
raised, refitted for service, and the ox teams were ferried over. 

The Saxton family started southward into the new Lake county, their 
means now reduced to five dollars in gold. Reaching Turkey Creek the 
oxen for the first time on that long journey were stuck fast with their load 
in the deep mud. Two dollars was the sum of money paid here to some 
man for helping them out. He ought not to have taken anything. [It is 
in the knowledge of this writer that the streams of Lake county were full 
of water and mud, or perhaps quick-sand, in the spring and early summer 
of 1837. He b.ad abundant reason to know.] 

The Saxton family, with three dollars remaining, passed on to what 



76 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

was the old McGwinn Indian village and burial ground and dancing floor, 
then known as Wiggins Point, where they found the Wiggins cabin and 
sought shelter and rest; and where at length, for many years, they made 
their abode. 

This family brought into the county a sea shell called a conch, which 
according to family tradition came over with Ebenezer Saxton in the May- 
flower, and has been handed down from one generation of Ebenezer Saxtons 
to another till it reached the one who came to Wiggins' Point. He met 
with more than the ordinary trials and disappointments of frontier life, but 
passed through them as became a descendant of a Mayflower family, was 
a prominent citizen of what became the village of Merrillville, and lived to 
a good old age. He has left at Merrillville some worthy descendants. 

SiGLER. — Samuel Sigler chose, in 1837, a location, as some others 
did, on the sandy soil north of the prairie belt. His log cabin remained for 
many years on a "sand hill north of the Sykes' place." He was another of 
the early settlers who had reached middle age. He had four sons, Samuel, 
Eli, Daniel, and William, all of whom became merchants. He had three 
daughters, one of whom became the wife of Hon. Bartlett Woods. The 
father of these seven children, the living one of whom is aged now,. died at 
Hebron about forty years ago. 

William Sigler was a merchant for many years at Lowell. He was 
born December 31. 1822, in Clarksburg, which is now in West Virginia, 
and so was fifteen years of age when the Sigler family settled in this county. 
In May, 1848, he was married to Miss Margaret Lee. In 1881 he removed 
from Lake county to Englewood and afterward to La Grange, where he died 
in 1902, nearly eighty years of age. 

Of the nine members of the Sigler family of 1837 one only is now 
living, Mr. Eh Sigler, of Hebron, for many years one of the principal busi- 
ness men of that town. He has a son in Crown Point, Mr. E. Sigler, jeweler, 
and a daughter, Mrs. W. B. Brown: and William Sigler has a son in this 
county, Charles Sigler, tlie hotel builder at Cedar Lake. Samuel Sigler, the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 77 

pioneer, has in the county other grandchildren. His descendants are to be 
found in other family lines. 

Belsh.wv. — George Belshavv came from England, with quite a large 
family, in 1834. The family located for a short time on Rolling Prairie 
in LaPorte county, where the older daughter, Mary, was married. The 
family soon came to the south part of Lake Prairie, that beauty of the In- 
xliana prairie belt, and -there settled on farms in this county of Lake. The 
sons were George, William, Henry, Charles, and Samuel. The daughter 
who came to Lake Prairie was named Ann. She died in 1846 when eighteen 
years of age. Her memorial is in the "Lake of the Red Cedars." 

This family, with the exception of two sons, removed to Oregon in 
1853, where George Belshaw, who .had married the younger daughter of 
Judge McCarty, became a large and noted wheat-raiser. 

William Belshaw, who remained in this county, had visited England 
in 1846 to see once more his birthplace, and in 1847 had been married to 
Miss Harriet A. Jones, continuing to live on his Lake Prairie farm, died 
there in November, 1884, seventy-one years of age. Of his three sons, one, 
Edward Belshaw, now lives at Lowell. His daughters are, in number, also 
three, all married and well settled in life. 

Henry Belshaw, the other son remaining in this county, married Miss 
Mary Smith. He resided for many years on his pine grove farm and then 
removed to Lowell, where he died a few years ago. He had two sons and 
five daughters. One daughter is Mrs. Simeon Sanger, of Lowell, and the 
youngest, Candace, was married, October 22, 1884, to E. W. Dinwiddie, of 
Plum Grove. 

J. D. Jones came to this county in 1847. He was born in Massachu- 
setts. January 9, 1808, was married, January 7, 1829, to Miss Polly Calkins, 
who \\as born June 9, 1809. This wife died April 10, 1856. One of her 
daughters. Miss Ann C. Jones, was married in 1846 to John Wheeler, after- 
ward Colonel Wheeler, who fell in battle oti the bloody but decisive battle- 
field of Gettysburg. Another of her daughters was Mrs. Burr Judson, now 



78 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

living in Crown Point. And the third was married to William Clark, grand- 
son of the pioneer Judge William Clark. 

April 4, 1857, one year after the death of his first wife, J. D. Jones, 
then thirty-nine years of age, was married to a widow woman, Mrs. Nelson, 
who had two young sons, one of whom became the well known banker, now 
living at Lowell, Frank Nelson. He is therefore a stepHbrother of Mrs. 
Judson, of Crown Point. The father and step-father of these two well 
known citizens was a West Creek farmer, living many years on his farm in 
the Belshaw or Pine Grove neighborhood and died April 23, 1893, eighty- 
five years of age, for about forty-six years a citizen of Lake county. 

Merrill and Merrillville. — In 1837, when according to the Claim 
Register eighty-one men became settjers in the newly organized county, 
Dudley Merrill bought a claim which had been made by Amsi L. Ball 
or by his son, John Ball, settlers of 1836, located on Deep River south of 
"Miller's Mill." But he soon obtained land at Wiggins' Point and made 
there a permanent home. William Merrill, his brother, came with him 
in 1837 as a settler. He also obtained land at Wiggins' Point, and at length 
erected a quite large frame dwelling house on the north side of the old 
Indian trail, opposite the Indian dancing floor where the Saxton family had 
located, that trail becoming the mail route to Joliet from LaPorte and a 
great thoroughfare for "western travel. 

Soon village life commenced. A hotel was opened and a store, and 
then a blacksmith shop, and the name of Wiggins' Point was changed to 
Centerville. A postofifice was needed before long, and the name was changed 
to Merrillville. Both the brothers had sons, and around the Saxton and 
Merrill families quite a community grew up. Dudley Merrill started into 
operation a cheese factory, having also for a time the hotel, and carrying 
on a farm. Only one of his sons, Charles L. Merrill, is now living; Dr. 
Wallace Merrill is a son of William Merrill; and one of his daughters be- 
came a good teacher. There were two other brothers of this Pennsylvania 
Merrill family who settled in this county, John Merrill and Lewis Mer- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY, 79 

RILL, both of these I>eing: for some time citizens of Crown Point. Two sis- 
ters also became residents of the county; and of the descendants of WiUiam 
and Dudley and John and Lewis AJerrill, and of the sisters, there are many 
to represent still their Pennsylvania ancestors, though not all bearing the 
Merrill name. 

Jacob Hurlburt was a young man in Porter county in 1834. He was 
with the United States surveyors, as an assistant in some capacit}-, in the 
summer of that year, while they camped where afterward Crown Point grew 
up; and in Octoljer of that year he guided Solon Robinson with his party 
to that same locality. He at length settled in the eastern part of Lake county 
and gave name to what has long been known as Hurlburt Corners. He was 
a good citizen. He lived to be quite an aged man and died in February, 
1881. 

Cyrus M. Mason was born in Otisco, Onondaga county. New York, 
January 27, 181 1. He was the son of Josiah Mason. When he was ten 
years of age the family removed to Berry township and there remained for 
some years. In the spring of iS^2. then twent}-one years of age, he went 
with his father s family into Michigan Territory, a member of a true pioneer 
family in that newly settled region, a large tract of land in Indiana and 
Michigan having that year been purchased from the Pottawottamie Indians. 
He remained some time with his father in Michigan and learned the art of 
brickmaking. In 1838. about December, he went into LaPorte county, 
Indiana, and cultivated a farm there in the summer of 1839. In 1840 he 
came into Lake county and settled en a farm a mile east of Crown Point, 
where he lived through the remainder of a long, active, useful life. 

In 1 84 1 he commenced making brick according to the slow and labori- 
ous process of those days, and made one million before he discontinued the 
business. He was a constituent member of the Crown Point Presbyterian 
church, one of its first Elders, and from his official position was widely known 
as ]:)eacon Mason. He lived to be eighty-six and a half years of age, a 
highly valued and \aluable memljer of the church and of the community. 



80 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

His father died in Michigan about 1850, seventy-five years of age, and his 
motlier, born in 1777. died in 187 1, wanting only six years of filling out a 
century. 

Before Deacon Mason's death, feeling that he would soon pass away, 
he rec|uested the writer of tliis memorial to take down from his dying' lips, 
while his mental faculties were still good, the foregoing outline of a long 
life. Surely no one ntore richly than he deserves the name of a zwrthy pio- 
neer. Such men lay good foundations as builders of states or counties or 
neighborhoods; and many such helped to make Lake county as virtuous as 
still it is. Let their names be honored. 

John Underwood was one of three brothers. Harmon Underwood and 
Daniel Underwood, the other two, who had farms, one, two, and three miles 
east from Merrillville. His sisters now living are Mrs. Harper, Mrs. Joy, 
and Mrs. Palmer. He carried on a farm for many years. He was County 
Commissioner in 1858, and a debt of gratitude is due to him for preventing 
by his tact a proposed loss of territory from the county. 

Unknown, perhaps, to many of his neighbors, he was decidedly a poet. 
This writer calls him the poet of Lake county, and he knows of nothing 
written in Indiana, of the same style of poetic composition, to excel "El 
Muza" and "Lindenwald" written by the plain farmer, John Underwood. 
His style of writing is very dififerent from that of James Whitcomb Riley. 
It is not humorous. It is not pathetic. It may not be called popular. But 
it shows much historic reading and a vivid fancy, good descriptive powers 
and a love for beauty in scenery and nobleness and greatness in human 
action. 

"El Muza" is a Spanish tale of love and war in nine cantos, pages 148, 
and one who can read witii interest Sir Walter Scott's "Vision of Don 
Roderick," ought to read with interest "El Aluza." 

"Lindenv.ald" is a larger work, pages 165, also nine cantos, and deals 
also with war and human love. It is historic. Is called a "Tale of the 
Siege of Vienna." The author says in his preface, "The year 1683 will ever 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 81 

be memorable in Austrian liistory as tbe last invasion by the Turks and the 
siege of Vienna." That the author had read European history to some pur- 
pose is evident, and a cultivated mind, interestetl in historic poetry in which 
facts are interwoven with poetic fiction, will find interest in this. Lake 
county has no writer who can equal these poems now. 

PRAIRIE WEST PIONEERS. 

Among a few v-ery early residents who were considerably advanced in 
life was one of the settlers on Prairie West in 1836, Richard Church. 
Some of his children, even then, had families of their own. He had lived 
in Michigan Territory for a time, but before that became a state he made 
his last home in Lake county, Indiana. He was one of the pioneer Baptists 
of the county, taking an active part in the organization of the first Baptist 
church. He had a large family of sons and daughters, nearly all of whom 
were men and women in 1837. His home, the home of his son, Darling 
Church, those of his son-in-law, Leonard Cutler, of his near neighbor, W. 
Rockwell, of Mrs. Owen, a widow woman from Wales, of Mrs. Leland 
with several sons, of John Bothwell, were the early homes of what was 
called for a few years Prairie West, all of which prairie is now thickly cov- 
ered over with the homes of the German settlers who have spread out from 
the Hack and Schmal center at St. John. 

The work of that very worthy citizen, Richard Church, was done more 
through his children than by himself, as only a few years of active life were 
assigned to him here. 

Another of the early settlers well advanced also in life, was William 
Rockwell, a near neighbor to the Church families of Prairie West, one of 
whose sons, W. B. Rockwell, was born in 1813 or 1814, and the other, 
T. C. Rockwell, in 1817. The Rockwell family orignally came from Con- 
necticut, residing for a time in Xew York state, where these sons were born. 
The Church family came from New York, stopping for a time in Michigan. 
A son of the Church family, Darling, the father of Edwin Church, had mar- 
ried a daughter of the Rockwell family. There were other daughters of the 



82 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Rockwell family. The father. Williain Rockwell, wa.s for some time County 
Commissioner. Th.e date of his election is given as 1840. His date of set- 
tlement is 1837. He (lieil in 1855. when about se\ent)-four years of age. 
He must therefore ha\e iiecn aliout fifty-six in 1837. 

Both the sons left the farm and became citizens of Crown Point. Will- 
iam B. Rockwell, commonly called by his familiar friends Commodore, was 
twice married. Both his \\i\cs died, one in 1866, the second in 1876, and 
left no children. He still kcjit u]) his interest in life and in the town. He 
was for some time a town Trustee. Many years ago he bought for two 
hundred dollars fort\- acres of land which contained a cranberry marsh. 
The yield that }ear pro\ed to be large, the price was high, and he cleared 
on the one crop fifteen hundred dollars. His own time to die came in 1896. 

T. C. Rockwell, the other son, was married in 1845 to Miss Malinda 
Brown. He bought hotel property in Crown Point which was well known 
for many years as the Rockwell House. He retired at length to private life, 
occupying a neat residence on Court street. Two daughters, Mrs. Ward 
and Mrs. Raasch, reside in Crown Point, and three sons have been in busi- 
ness life for many years. These all have families, but not so large as was 
their grandfather's family who had the honor of being one of the' last asso- 
ciate judges of Lake county, elected a little time before the office was abol- 
ished in 185 1. 

[Note. — The name Commodore, so generally given to William B. Rock- 
well, is said to have been applied to him from Commodore Perry, who in 
September, 18 13, achieved so great a victory on Lake Erie; and as William 
B. was born in September, it seems much more natural that the title of Com- 
modore should have been applied to the babe then born, than to one born 
a whole year after that noted victory.] 

Charles L. Templeton was born December 2, 1816, and became a 
resident of this county in 1840. and died January 15, 1899, eighty-two years 
of age. He was an active and useful citizen in different lines of efYort, as a 
farmer and promoting the Grange movement and interests, as a friend of 
Sunday-schools, encouraging the early celebrations, and aiding through 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 83 

almost sixty active years things that were good. His wife was a daughter 
of W. Rockwell, of F'rairie West, and sister of W. B. Rockwell and T. C. 
Rockwell, of Crown Point. 

A. X. H.\RT. the large land owner and business man of Dyer, came to 
Lake county from Philadelphia about 1855. He had been interested in Ixwk 
publishing. .A large work in four richl} bound volumes is in the possession 
of this writer. It is' called "The Xational Portrait Gallery of Distinguished 
Americans, with Biographical Sketches." Publish.ers, D. Rice & A. N. 
Hart, 1854. It is a grand work, massiA-ely bound, richly gilded, with many 
portraits, and although it is fifty years since these volumes passed from the 
hands of the binder they look as though just issued from the press. With 
all the modern improvements of the last fifty years, no better portraits or 
more substantially bound books can easily be found now. That the man who 
was engaged in publishing such books should come with his family to the 
sand ridge of Dyer, and should acquire possession of so much of the wet 
land eastward included in the original Lake George, is one more of the facts 
that show how fortunate Lake county was in having among her settlers such 
capable men as those that came from New England, New York, Ohio, and 
Pennsylvania. 

GERMAN PIONEERS. 

There began to come, in the early period of the settlement of this county, 
immigrants from the old kingdom of Prussia, from Hanover, from Wiir- 
temberg, and different principalities now united in the great German Em- 
pire, to find homes on these then open prairies and to make farms in the 
then untenanted woodlands. 

Since that early period th.ere have followed them families from Sweden 
and Norwav, from Holland and Poland, from Bohemia and Italy, and other 
European countries, making a mixture of languages and nationalities resem- 
bling the great mixture in the city of Chicago. Some memorials of German 
settlers will follow here. 

John Hack was born in 1787, in a Rhine province that passed from. 



84 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

France to Prussia, and came into this county witli a quite large family in 
1837. He was the first German settler so far as known. He established 
a home on the western limit of what was called Prairie West. 

Receiving- the hospitalities of that family one August night in 1838, the 
writer of this memorial made the following record : "In the summer even- 
ings the family would gather around an out-of-doors fire, the smoke of 
which would keep off the mosquitoes, and sing the songs of their native 
Rhine region, presenting a scene at once picturesque and impressive." Their 
two guests, while ignorant of the language, could enjoy the music of those 
beautiful evening songs of the "father-land." Those early Germans did 
much singing in the evening and when out from home in the still night 
hours. The night music is no longer heard. Another record of John Hack 
is this : "Tall and dignified in person, patriarchal in manner, clear and keen 
in intellect, he was well fitted to be a leader and a pioneer." He had large 
views of government and looked closely into the genius of our institutions." 

In 1838 the four families of Joseph Schmal, Peter Orte, Michael Adler, 
iMatthias Reder, came from Germany together and settled near the Hack 
family, and others soon followed. In 1843 on the Hack land was erected 
and consecrated a Roman Catholic chapel and regular religious services were 
held. The founder of the settlement, near whose early home spot is now the 
town St. John, lived to see great changes in the land of his adoption. Greater 
ones, of w hich he never thought, his descendants in Crown Point now behold. 
Times change. 

Joseph .Schmal, one of the four who crossed the ocean in 1838, had 
quite a family of sons and daughters. He was not a young man and did 
not become very fully americanized ; but one of his sons, Adam Schmal, 
became prominent in political life, and held for two terms the office of county 
Treasurer. Another son. bearing his father's name, Joseph Schmal, 
became a prominent farmer at Brunswick. One daughter, marrying a son 
of the Hack family, Mrs. Angelina Hack, was for many years an active, 
energetic, well known, and much respected woman in the life of Crown 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 85 

Point. One of lier sons. Jtihn Mack, two miles east of CrcAWii Point, is 
one of the noted dairymen of Lake connty. George Sclimal, another grand- 
son of the pioneer of 1838. is a town officer of Crown Point. The descend- 
ant? of good immigrants become in two generations, some even in one. goo<l 
Americans. Tlie descendants of some foreigners ne\er become good citizens. 

Henry S.\sse. Sr.. the pioneer of tlie Lutheran Germans, came from 
Michigan in 1838. with a small family, and brought the Cox claim and Chase 
claim on the northwest of the Red Cedar Lake. He was a man of much 
native ability, he had much intelligence, and had gained quite a knowledge 
of our language and of American ways after leaving his native Hanover. 
He came with means and accumulated property in this country. Circum- 
stances lefl him to \'isit three times his native land, so that at least seven times 
he crossed the Atlantic Death was quite a frequent visitor in his home, 
and few remain to represent his early Hanover township family circle. .\ 
granddaughter, Mrs. Groman, resides in Crown Point, and she has one son 
and one daughter and one granddaughter. A son, also living, Herman E. 
Sasse, is now one of the prominent business men of Crown Point. Unlike 
the name of Hack, there is little promise for the Sasse name to go into 
future generations. But the results of the life here for so many yars of 
Henry Sasse, Sr.. and the results of the much shorter life of his oldest son, 
Henry Sasse. Junior, will go on into future years. 

Henry Von Hollen was another of those very intelligent, energetic 
Lutheran Gerr.ians who came to the lake neighborhood in 1838. He had 
received in his European home quite a drill in the line of cavalry soldiers 
and in the care of their equipments. He was a quite tall, strong man, one to 
make at least a shov.}' soldier. 

Unlike his neighbor, H. Sasse, he came with very little means with 
which to open and improve a farm, but he soon, purchased some wild land 
on which there had been found a large cranberry marsh, and this investment 
made him in a few years comparatively rich, so that when he died he left 
his wife in possession of ample means, and at her death she was able to rank 



86 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

as one of the wealtliy women of Lake connty. She lived for sixty-fi\e years 
where they two as young housekeepers settled in 1838, and of that small 
household there is no descendant left. But circumstances will cause the name 
Von Hollcn, or Van Hollen, as more generally called, for some time yet in 
Hanover township to continue to live. 

Lewis Herlitz was the third of that little band of Protestant Germans 
of 1838. He was a native of Pyrmont, a part of the principality of Wal- 
deck. He bought what was known as the Nordyke claim north of the lake, 
his wife and ]\Irs. H. Sasse were sisters. He built a new residence on that 
early claim, secured a good title from the Government for the land, and a 
pleasant family home in a few years was his. Three sons and some daughters 
grew up in that home, a home noted for intelligence and politeness, and in 
1869 the father died. In the home and at Crown Point the children and 
grandchildren yet live. 

Another of the well known early German settlers was Herman 
DoESCHER, who came into the west part of Hanover township in 1842, with 
one son and some more than ordinarily fine-looking and polite young daugh- 
ters. He died in December, 1886, having lived in the county forty-four 
years, himself eighty-four years of age, and leaving si.x children, thirty- 
seven grandchildren, and twenty-one great-grandchildren. 

J. C. Sauerman. Coming from Bavaria in 1846, then fourteen years 
old, J. C. Sauerman had a home in Chicago for three years, he visited liis 
old home in Europe, returned to this country, and. in 1851, became a resi- 
dent of Crown Point. In 1853, then about twenty-one years of age, he was 
married to Miss Strochlein, a daughter of John Strochlein, who became a 
resident in the county in 1852. He opened a harness store and factory in 
Crown Point, employed workmen in the harness-making business, and was 
successful as a salesman and manufacturer. Success resulted in the accu- 
mulation of property. About 1873 ''^ sold his harness business, was elected 
countv Treasurer, and at length retired from business and ])ublic life. In 
person he was of about luedium height, rather slender in form, quick, active 



^ 


^ > 




'# 



JOHN KROST 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 87 

in !iis movements. In social (]unlilies lie was kindly, gentlemanly, gen- 
erously disposed, urbane. He was a member of the Lutheran church, a 
useful, worthy citizen, a noble Christian man. 

His two children are residents of Crown Point. A. A. Sauerman, Cash- 
ier of the First National Bank of Crown Point, and Mrs. Henry Pettibone. 
His grandchildren are in number four, among them one young man to bear 
and perhaps transmit the Sauerman name and virtues! 

John Krost. One more of many citizens of favored Lake county who. 
by means of talent and intelligent effort became prominent was John Krost. 
Born in Germany in 1828, he became a resident in Hobart in 1853, where 
for one year he was clerk in a store; then for about six }ears a clerk at Mer- 
rillville. and a farmer for two vears; and then he made his final home in 
Crown Point. 

He was elected county Treasurer in 1862 and continued in of^ce till 
1867. In 1868 he was elected county Auditor and held that office for eight 
years. He was accommodating and very courteous, he was kind and gen- 
erous to the poor, the needy, and the unfortunate or the unsuccessful. He 
was an exemplary member of the Roman Catholic church. He accumulated 
quite an amount of property, and his home on Main street was one of com- 
forts, of social advantages, of cultivation and refinement. 

His children have been educated. He died in March, 1890, not only 
one of the wealthy, but one of the most kindly and gentlemanly of Crown 
Point's many cultured citizens. 

One of his sons is a physician in Chicago, and one a medical student at 
Rush. One is a dentist in Crown Point, gentlemanly and kindly as was his 
father. One has been county Recorder, and one is in Germany, learning 
the ways of his father's native land. Three daughters are living, educated 
and cultivated, and the sixth son is a student at Notre Dame, South Bend. 

The names of several early citizens of Crown Point are placed in this 
group with only short notices or brief records, as of some their residence 
here was brief, and of others not much is now fully known. 



88 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

MiLO RoBiNSOX, a brother of the founder of Crown Point, joined his 
brother here in i\'o\eniber, 1835. He came from New York city, was with 
his brother in the first store, he kept the first hotel, was a Justice of the 
Peace, and, as did his brother Solon, solemnized marriage, but died in 1839. 

H. S. Pelton, an early resident, came into possession of the Robinson 
store about 1840. An active business man in Crown Point for a few years, 
he lUed May 26, 1847, and his goods passed into the ownership of Carter 
& Carter of New York, and soon after into the possession of J. W. Din- 
widdie, who for a lime was a merchant in Crown Point. 

Joseph P. Smith came from New Y'ork and "settled July 5," 1836, 
in Crown Point. For several years he was a leading business man, and 
also the principal military man. He led a company of men to the Mexican 
war and returned with some of them. He was the second county Clerk 
holding office from 1843 to 1847. After some years he went into the then 
wild and yet new \\'est, and was shot at and was killed by those noiseless 
but often deadly weapons, Indian arrows. Captain once of the Monroe 
Blues in the city of New York, a man quite fond of military life, it seemed 
strange that he should fall while at work in his field by the hand of an 
unseen American Indian. 

Judge Cl.\rk. William Clark was born about 1788, probably in New 
York or New England, in what was called "the East," and became a quite 
early settler in Jennings county, Indiana. His wife was Miss Ann Campbell, 
for wliom inquiry was made at Crown Point a few years ago in order to 
fill up a genealogical record. In February, 1835, the Clark family came 
with ox teams from Jennings county to Lake county. They came with three 
sons, Thomas, Alexander, and John F., and two daughters, Margaret, who 
was married to an early settler at Crown Point, W. R. Williams (a descend- 
ant according to family tradition, of Roger Williams, founder of Rhode 
Island), and Mary M., v.ho was married to Benjamin Kellogg. 

Judge Cl.irk was acti\e and prominent, along with Solon Robinson, 
as one of the proprietors of Crown Point, where his log cabin remained for 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 89 

some years near the present East and South streets. He afterward lived 
two miles east on a farm. He died in 1869. He had a stout, vigorous frame, 
but was not tall in person. 

Thom.\s Clark, his oldest son, was married by Judge H. D. Palmer, 
January 23, 1839, to Miss Harriet Lavina Farwell, whose home was on the 
west side of West Creek, south of the present village of Brunswick. The 
marriage party, some on foot and some on horseback, which passed up the 
next day to Lake Court House, was, for those days, quite an event. The 
writer of this is probably the only living witness. They were active members 
of society in their day, keeping for a time the hotel known as the Mills and 
then as the Rockwell house, and for a time living on the farm two miles east 
where Mrs. Farwell, Mrs. Clark's mother, died, and a burial procession passed 
over that same road back to the cemetery south of Brunswick. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Clark closed up life many years ago. Some of their descendants yet live 
in Crown Point. 

Alexander Clark, Judge Clark's second son, born in Jennings county, 
November 4, 1822, was married to Miss Susan Wells (a pioneer child of De- 
cember, 1835), November 5, 1848. He became an enterprising and prosper- 
ous farmer, living two miles east of Crown Point, where he died in 1879. 
Mrs. Susan Clark and her daughter, now Mrs. John M. Hack, still, reside on 
the farm, near a cluster of grand oak trees which must have seen more than 
one generation of Indians pass away before the white settlers came. 

HoLTON. Associated with the Clark and Robinson families in Jennings 
county, and associated w'th them here in starting a settlement and a village 
and at length a town, were the members of the Holton family of 1835. The 
two sons were, J. W. Holton, commonly called Warner Holton, and W. A. 
W. Holton, usually called William Holton. 

The following is their line of descent from their English ancestor: i. 
William Holton came from England in the ship Francis in 1634. He died in 
1691. 2. John Holton, his son, died in 1712. 3. William Holton oi the 
third generation died in 1757. 4. John Holton of the next generation died 



90 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

in 1797. 5. Joel Holton was born in 1738. 6. Alexander Holton, the 
lawyer, tlie father of Warner and William, was born in 1779. 7. J. W. Hol- 
ton (Warner) was born in 1807. The two brothers became, with their 
mother, of whom in another chapter a record will be found, and with their 
sister, members of the little hamlet formed in the center of Lake county in 
1835. They were connected with learned and cultivated men of the Holton 
line, and, of their mother's seven sisters, — that mother was Harriet Warner 
of New England — one was Mrs. Robinson, wife of the wealthy governor of 
Vermont, one was Mrs. Stuart, wife of the wealthy Judge Stuart of Vermont, 
one was Mrs. Bradley, wife of a Vermont lawyer, one was Mrs. Brown, wife 
of a Massachusetts lawyer, and yet another, Mrs. Hitchcock, was also wife of 
a Massachusetts lawyer. With such family connections and in such a line, the 
Holtons would be expected to be intelligent, if they were early Indiana 
pioneers, and intelligent they all were. 

W. A. W. Holton was the first Recorder of Lake county. He was also 
School Examiner and could examine a candidate for a teacher's license in 
fifteen minutes, finding out very readily whether one was intelligent or ig- 
norant. Prominent and useful citizens of the county in its earlier years, 
Warner Holton at length removed to Arkansas and there died, and W. A. W. 
Holton closed his quite long life in Oakland. California. His father and 
mother both born and spending their early years not far from "the Bay 
where the Mayflower lay," and into which the ship Francis sailed, he spent 
his last years where the great Pacific dashes its waves upon our golden West. 

Jonathan Warner Holton (J. W.) v.as the first white owner of the land 
where is now the Crown Point public school building, making his claim on 
the southeast quarter of Section 5. Thirty years after his settlement, in 1835, 
when the ground was secured for the Crown Point Institute, in 1865, the old 
orchard was standing. 

RiCH.\RD F.\xcuER, an explorer here in 1834, a settler in 1835, Hved for 
a short time on the bank near the little lake where he first made his claim, but 
finding an Indian float on all of Section 17. he was soon counted in with the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 91 

families nf tlie village. He was liorn in 1800. He had' five daughters, and 
these became Mrs. J. C. Xicliolsoii, Mrs. Alton, Mrs. Sanford Clark, Mrs. J. 
Clingan, and Mrs. Harry Church. Excepting himself the family were Pres- 
byterians. He lived to a good old age and died at the home of his daughter, 
Mrs. Clingan, in 1893. 

Russell Eddy, born in Pittstown, New York, in April, 1787, son of 
General Gilbert Eddy who commanded some of the New York troops in the 
war of 1812, himself at the same time a paymaster in the army, afterward a 
merchant in the city of Troy, married to Miss Ruth Ann Wells, of Massa- 
chusetts, coming to Michigan City in 1836, became a resident of Lake Court 
House in 1837. His was one of the first if not the very first frame dwelling 
house, and it is probable that in his home was the first piano in the county, one 
being there in 1838. He was for many years an influential citizen, the family 
having, for those years, abundant means, his wife a leader in the Presbyterian 
church and her home a resting place for ministers, a home for some time for 
the first resident Presbyterian pastor. Rev. \V. Townley; and in that home a 
young, beautiful, and refined daughter, Ruth Ann. She married young and 
died young, leaving no children. And neither in Lake county, nor yet out of 
Lake county, are there any bearing the name of Eddy to claim descent 
through Russell Eddy from General Gilbert Eddy of New York, and hold the 
position in society that once was theirs. Some families have a large increase 
in members and in wealth, in two or three generations : some fail to keep up 
their ancestral position : some lose the ancestral name. 

Fowler. Another true pioneer, and in fact one of the earliest dwellers 
in the hamlet that grew into the county seat was Luman A. Fowler. He 
was Ixirn in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, October i, 1809. He came 
with Henry Wells in the fall of 1834 and spent one night with some explorers 
on the wooded bank of the Lake of Red Cedars. He returned to the camp of 
Solon Robinson and with his small company, six in all, himself making seven, 
he spent the winter. There were two other families before the winter closed, 
twenty-one persons in all, that made up the hamlet. In 1835 Luman A. Fow- 



92 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ler went to Michigan, then a territory, and in October was married to Miss 
Eliza Cochran, Iwrn in New York October 2-j, 1816. In Decemljer tliey came 
to the hamlet wliere he had spent the last winter. Travelling in those days 
was more expensive than it is now. for the Fowler record of expenses for the 
first year has this item at the head of th.e list: "Amount of money paid out 
from the time of starting to the landing on Robinson's Prairie is $83.00." 
Their first child was born in October, 1836, Harriet Ann, and eight other 
children, four sons and four daughters, followed her into the household. 
These eight all married and their descendants are many, some in Lake county, 
some are out of the county. 

Luman A. Fowler became fully a public man. He was elected Sheriff of 
Lake county in 1837, in 1847, 1849, i" 1859, i86r, thus holding the office for 
ten years. One of his sons, born in Crown Point and still residing in Crown 
Point, has held the ofifice of town or city marshal. 
A Manufacturer. 
M.vjoR C. F.^RWELL, a son of James Farwell, an early settler 
on the west side of West Creek, while not among the earliest was quite 
an early settler and resident of Crown Point. He had learned to work iron 
and soon left his father's home, went into School Grove, put up a blacksmith's 
shop and made plows. In 1841 he moved into Crown Point, then the new 
county seat, and in 1842 built a hewed log shop, stocked plows, and began to 
make wagons. He also made a few buggies and some cutters. About 185 1 
he sold his establishment and went "westward" on the direction which it is 
said "the star of empire takes." Somewhere on the other side of the Missis- 
sippi, it is probable his dust is sleeping. He spent some five years in Colorado 
and Idaho and Montana, and afterward resitled in Carthage. Missouri. He 
may be called Crown Point's first plow, wagon, and buggy maker. 

Bartlett Woods. No history of Lake county could be complete, no 
meinorial records of the founders and builders of Lake county would be suf- 
iicientl)- full, without some mention cf one known in later years as Hon. 
Bartlett Woods. Born July 15, 18 18, in Winchelsea, England, brought up in 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 93 

that noted cinque-town called Hastings, where his father was postmaster for 
some forty years, in 1837 he crossed the ocean with a brother, Charles Woods, 
and came to this newly organized county, being then nineteen years of age. 
He little knew then what was before him, but events proved that until May, 
1903, Iiis life was to \ye closely interwoven with the growth and the interests 
of the county of Lake. He became a farmer. He was married to Miss Ann 
Eliza Sigler, who was born in 1827, and who died October 6, 1900. He re- 
sided for many years on his farm between Merrillville and Ross, and at length 
retired with his wife and youngest daughter to Crown Point. 

He had received in England an education such as became a postmaster's 
son, but had not taken a Rugby or an Oxford course of study. He was 
through his life here a reader and a thinker, and became a public speaker and 
a writer. His public, political life commenced in the fall of 1848, when he 
was thirty years of age. The event was "the first free soil meeting in Lake 
county." The following influential and then active citizens are named as 
having been present : "Judge Clark, Alexander McDonald, Wellington Clark, 
Alfred Foster, Dr. Pettibone, Luman A. Fowler, William Pettibone. John 
Wood, of Deep River, Bartlett Woods, Jonas Rhodes, Samuel Sigler, David 
K. Pettiljone, and Dr. Wood of Lowell." Besides these who are named there 
was an audience filling the room of the Log Court House. Judge Clark was 
chosen to preside and W. A. Clark and Bartlett Woods were Secretaries. 
After this quite enthusiastic meeting held September 16, 1848, Mr. Woods 
made arrangements to go out with Alexander McDonald, the lawyer of Crown 
Point, and deliver free-soil speeches. Lito this campaign he entered heartily, 
and he wrote in 1884, "From this time on, Lake county's free-soil idea grew 
in strength. It was the germ from which the Republican Party sprung." 
(Lake county had been strongly Democratic rather than Whig). He adds: 
"Its large Republican vote attests this. Its vote for Fremont, for Lincoln, and 
for Grant and Colfax, and for Colfax all through his congressional course, 
gained for it the honor of being one of the banner Republican counties of the 
State." In 1861 and in 1865 he was elected State Representative. 



IH HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Besides his interest in pdlitical affairs, lie took a large interest as a tarniei" 
in the Grange movement and in farmers' institutes. As a pioneer whose date 
of residence here went hack to the year of the organi/atioii of the county he 
was thoroughly interested in tlie Association of the early settlers, and was an 
officer for many years of tliat organization. .\nd as a friend of what he re- 
garded as right, the older supporters of law and order passing one hy one 
away, he came more an<i more to the front, in conflicts of opinion or of inter- 
est, ready to confront what he thought was wrong and to advocate what he 
believed was right, until he became for Lake county wdiat John Ouincy 
Adams became for Massachusetts, "the Old Alan Eloquent." And not only 
With his voice Ijut with his pen, which he freely used, he set forth the \iews 
which he held and advocated until he was about eighty-four years of age. 
He h.as four sons living and three daughters, and a number of grandchildren. 

J.\j!ES H. Luther. While not at first a resident within the area that 
became Lake county, James H. Luther passed "back and forth" along the 
Lake jNIichigan beach as early as 1835 ^"'l 1834, his father's home then l)cing 
in Porter or La Porte county, himself being nineteen years of age when he 
made his first trip around the south lx)rder of the great lake. Pie came into 
Lake county in 1840 and became a resident or a visitor long enough, to be- 
come deeply interested in a Lake county girl, Miss P. A. Flint, a member of 
that large Methodist Flint family, yet to be mentioned, of South Fast Grove, 
whom he married, two Methodist ministers selecting wives also from that 
large cluster of attractive girls. He went hack with his young wife to Porter 
county but became a resident of Crown Point in 1849. That young wife sr)on 
passed away from him and went over the unseen river, leaving him with 
some young boys that needed care and training. Abciut 1852 he married a 
widow, Mrs. M. AI. Mills, and until 1834 kept the hotel then known as the 
Mills and afterwards as the Rockwell hou.se. The second wife proved to lie 
a good mother for his own and for other motherless children. 

In i860 he was elected county Auditor and held the office for eight 
years. His material interests prospered year by year and he at length became 





^■1 


^^P'^^m^ 


^Sl^ J^^^^^l 


^K *~^ 


f^^^H 


K ""''^' 


J^^ 


i^^^^P'' 


JU 




B 



JAMES H. LUTHER 



HISTORY OF LAKE COL'XTV, 95 

one of tlie capitalists of Crown Point. He was a generous, kind-hearted man, 
of refined feelings and sympathies, a man also of good judgment, a man to 
make an excellent memher of any organization, and one to \x selected as a 
good neighhor and friend. For some reason or for no reason that could be 
named, from the first time that they met as strangers to each other in 1853, 
when he did a large kindness, until the very last year of his life in 1803. he 
seemed to take, amid all the changes of forty years, a large and peculiar in- 
terest in the welfare of the writer of this memorial record. And this friend- 
ship as marked by deeds was the more singular on account of the great differ- 
ence between the two in their religious lieliefs. 

An earnest, active member of the Old Settler and Historical .\ssocia- 
tion, for some years its Treasurer, James Henry Luther was in his eightieth 
year when he passed to the unseen world. He has one son yet living, John 
E. Luther, and a sister, Mrs. Allman, both having homes in Crown Point. 

Another citizen of the county, who like Mr. James H. Luther, passed 
around the south shore of Lake Michigan in early days, was J.\mfs Adams, 
of Rose township. His name is given to a schoolhouse east of Merrillville 
toward Hobart. He was a stage driver on the line from Detroit to Fort 
Dearborn, on the road opened in 1833. He was born in Manlius, New York, 
September 11, 1814. In 1837 he was sent from Detroit to Fort Dearborn, 
now Chicago, in the month of January, by Governor Mason and General 
Brady, as a messenger to have the soldiers from the fort sent to Detroit. It 
was the time of the Patriots' War in Canada. The sleighing was then good. 
Warmly clad, furnished by General Brady with good fur gloves, carrying in- 
structions to have the l)est horse furnished for him at each stage house, he 
was to make the distance. 284 miles, in twenty-four hours if possible. The 
stopping places where he could change horses were from twelve to fourteen 
miles apart. He gave the attending hostlers only a few moments to change 
horses, requiring each time the best horse in the stable, and he reached Chicago 
or the fort in twenty-eight hours, leaving Detroit at 4 o'clock in the afternoon 
and reaching the fort at 8 o'clock on the next afternoon. Ten miles an hour 
for stage horses was very good speed. They were not race horses. 



96 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Ill 1842 this experienced <Iii\er. hurse-nian. in a good sense of the word, 
he quite surely was, settletl on a farm in Ross townsliip. and there lived a use- 
ful fanner life till July 31, 1896. then nearly eighty-two years of age. A 
daughter with her mother, her hushand. and two children, still hold the 

.\dams farm. 

.\n Early Explorer. 

J.\.MES Hill, born in Kentucky. May 2g. 1810. was not one 
of the earliest settlers, but he was an early, a very early visitor and 
explorer in this region, and his name is entitled very justly to a place among 
these memorials of a past generation. He was one of the few of our citizens 
horn south of the Ohio River. His father, William Hill, was a Captain of 
militia in the State of Kentucky and died in 1822. The young James Hill 
soon after made his home with the family of James Lloyd, and in 1827 they 
removed to Decatur county, Lidiana. Here, in 1838, James Hill was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary Skinner of the State of New York, and here he l^ecame 
acquainted with William Ross, a resident in Decatur county. 

In February of 1834, then twenty-three years of age. four years l)efore 
his marriage, James Hill made an exploring expedition into the new Indian 
Purchase, this Northwestern Indiana. He found a few white families, he 
saw the Indians in their wigwams, and, coming intcj what l:>ecanie Lake 
countv. he found, already settled, William Ross and family, who as early as 
1833 left Decatur county and had established a home among the Indians and 
amid the wild denizens of the Deep River woodlands and the not distant 
prairie. But finding the snow-covered prairies and the leafless oaks and the 
Indian wigwams not sufficiently inviting to induce a lone young man to settle 
then, he returned to Decatur county, was married, commenced farm life, and 
deferred his actual settlement in Lake county till 1853, when the delightful 
pioneer years had passed. In Cedar Creek township, near what is now called 
Creston, he bought three hundred and twenty acres of land and there lived 
for many years, a prosperous, useful, faithful citizen. He was a very noble- 
hearted man, patient amid many trials, kindly and true and generous in the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 97 

different relations of life. One daughter is living, Mrs. Henry Surprise, a 
kindly and a noble woman, and two sons, William J. Hill of Oregon for 
some years, a great wheat-raiser, and now in the mining region of the West, 
and Dr. Jesse L. Hill of Creston. both possessing some of their father's excel- 
lent traits of character. Of promising grandchildren there are more than 
a few 

Into that same Creston neighborhood, then called Tinkerville, a name 
which if not classic does not need to be forgotten, there came from the South- 
ern part of Indiana, before the railroad period began, another very useful and 
worthy family, Lym.\n Thompson, his wife Lucinda Thompson, a daughter, 
Laura, and two sons, Orrin and Amos Thompson. They came about 1847. 
The father and mother and daughter were active and valuable members of 
the Cedar Lake Baptist church, but the father did not live long enough to do 
a large work in building up the community. The two sons yet live, one at 
Lowell, one at Creston, good and useful men. Lyman Thompson died May 
9, 1852. 

Sherm.^n. — WiLLi.\M Sherman, who was married at Saratoga, New 
York, in November, 1807, to Miss Calista Smith, a native of Vermont, came 
into Lake county in 1837. He was evidently an Eastern man, a native prob- 
ably of New England. He was the father of thirteen children and died in 
1843. jell's- Sherman, who will be elsewhere mentioned, lived in Crown 
Point until October. 1884. Some one is preparing the Sherman Biography, 
which, it is expected, will soon be published. 

The li\ing descendants of these Lake county Shermans numbered, a few 
years ago, fifty-two. Some have gone, some have come, and there are prob- 
ably more now. It is a lesson which genealogic records teach over and over 
that some families increase and some Vjecome extinct. 

Griffin, .\nolher name, although not nf an early settler, claims a place 
on this page. Elihu Griffin came to Cnnvu Point as a lawyer. He was 
working well up in his profession when the war of 1861 commenced. He en- 
tered the L'Uion Army. He was ajipointed a ])a\'master. This gave him the 



98 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

title of Major. He returned to Crown Point, olrtained a lucrative position 
in locating what was called the \'incennes, Danville, and Chicago Railroad. 
Disease came upon him. For man_\- months he was laid aside entirely from 
the business affairs of life. He after some time resumed his office life, but 
never regained health. He had three sons, Horace, Charles P., and Cassius. 

Charles F. Griffin, brought up in Crown Point, adopted his father's 
profession, studied law. began piactice in the office with his father, and from 
1887 to 1891 was at Indianapolis having been elected Secretary of State. 
After his term of office expired he located as a lawyer in the young city of 
Hammond, and after a prosperous course of business and sharing other hon- 
ors, honors connected with the Sons of the Veterans, his life ended at Ham- 
mond on Saturday, December 20, 1902, while he was only in the prime of life, 
alxjut forty-six years of age. "Ambitious and successful in obtaining several 
desired positions, never having vigorous health, he passed rapidly through a 
comparatively short life." No other Lake county boy has yet reached so high 
a position in civil or political life. His wife, who was Miss Edith Burhans 
of West Creek township, and a son and daughter, still live in Hammond. His 
form was laid away in the Crown Point Cemetery. He had Ijeen Superin- 
tendent of the Crown Point Presbyterian Sunday-school and was. a member 

of the Presbyterian church. 

Physicians. 

Doctor and Judge H. D. Palmer has been named as the first 
or earliest physician of the county who had graduated from a medical col- 
lege. There was one, perhaps quite as early, but who probably had no 
diploma, who administered medicine to 'the sick in what is now Hanover 
township, who was also a good deer hunter. Dr. Joseph Greene. As a phy- 
sician in treatmg the ague, called .sometimes malarial fever, he was quite suc- 
cessful. His brother. Sylvester, also practiced. 

The next early phvsician was Dr. J.\mes A. Wood. His home was at 
first in Porter countv. but his rides often extended into Lake. He rode a 
s-erv fine-looking Indian or French pony, thick set, with a heavy mane, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 99 

sagacious, hardy, an animal to delight a frontier hoy. and one day h.e was near 
the Cady Marsh and a patient needing" a physician on the otlier side. Dr. 
Wood had heen told that no white man liad ever riilden across. It was implied 
that an Indian had. Time was precions. He concluded that if an Indian had 
crossed he could. He \entured and succeeded. .\ wagon roatl crosses now. 
Dr. Wood soon rgmoxed from Porter count}- to the east side of Cedar Lake. 
He had an extensi\e practice. 

With J. \'. Johns, Amsi L. Call, and John Sykes, lie was appointed a 
committee to make a report on the Michigan Central road when at its open- 
ing a free ride was given from Lake Station to Michigan Cit}'. I'^rom !iim. 
without much doubt the date of that event has been given as 1850; but it 
probably really was 185 1. 

After several years Dr. Wood removed to Lowell. He was for eighteen 
months Regimental Surgeon in the Twelfth Lidiana Cavalry. He had in Lake 
county a long practice. He was an excellent singer, a very pleasant, kind 
friend. 

Dr. S. B. Yeoman is one other physician to be named at Lowell, a good 
physician, an excellent man, who died in January, 1865. 

.Among the physicians at Crown Point one of the earliest was Dr. Far- 
RiNGTON (W. C. or W. F.), from 1840 to 1856. He had quite an extensive 
ride, and was planning as an enterprising man quite an improvement to 
Crown Point as th.en it was when tleath Ijroke up all his plans. His proper 
successor was Dr. A. J. Pratt, who came as a young practitioner in 1854. 
After some time he married Mrs. Farrington, who had two children, a son 
and a daughter. The children were not vigorous and in young manhood 
and womanhood they passed away, and the mother also passed out from 
tliis life, leaxing Dr. Pratt with the then lonesome, lonely iiome. He at 
length again married, and three daughters, one after another, came into the 
liome. The children grew into womanhood, and one is the wife of Dr. 
(ienrge I). Brannon. Dr. Pratt for many years had a large practice. Accu- 
mulations increased. He became a member of the Presbyterian church, he 



100 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

was very kin(!l\' in his ministrations in the ronnis of sickness, lie had brouglit 
relief to many through his knowledge of the healing art, but in November, 
1893, soon after the close of the great Columbian Exixjsitiou, his own time 
came to die. For nearly forty )-ears he had been one of the principal phy- 
sicians of the county and had done much good. He was born in 1825. 

Older than he as a resident physician was Dr. Harvey Pettibone, 
whose date of location at Crown Point is 1847. He was in the medical line. 
His father was a physician before him and his son after him. The Pettibone 
family came from the East, the father and three sons, Dr. Harvey, D. K., 
and Williani Pettibone, all for many years inhabitants of Crown Point. Dr. 
Pettibone married Mrs. H. S. Pelton and entered amid favorable circum- 
stances upon a long and successful course of medical practice. He entered 
into political life once, sufficiently long to represent Lake county in the State 
Legislature. Years. 1882- 1884. He was born in Naples, New York, No- 
vember 28, 1821, he commenced the practice of medicine there about 1842, 
and his life ended here August 19, 1898, when he was nearly seventy-seven 
vears of age, having been a physician for fifty-five years. 

Dr. Henry Pettibone, a son of Dr. Harvey Pettibone, may, like 
Charles F. Griffin, be properly mentioned after his father. He was born in 
Crown Point JLiy 31, 1850, was a student with Henry Johnson at 'the Crown 
Point Institute, went with him to Hanover College, Indiana, graduated there 
in the scientific course, returned to Crown Point, studied medicine, secured 
quite a laige practice, his father gradually retiring, married Miss M. Sauer- 
nian, and died very unexpectedly at a hospital in Chicago, June 26, 1902. 
He has two sisters, both living, and two daughters. 

Dr. John Higgins is the third of the physicians of Crown Point who 
were associated together for so many years. He was born in Perry, New 
York, I\Iay 29, 1822. He was a descendant of Pilgrims and Puritans, be- 
tween whom some persons make no distinction. His Pilgrim ancestor was 
i\icliard Higgins, who landed at Plymouth Rock in 1621. His Puritan 
ancestor was Simon Sackett. who came to the Boston Colony in 1632. His 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 101 

father was David Higgins and his mother in her girlhood was Eunice Sackett 
from which family was named Sackett's Harbor on Lake Ontario. 

Graduating at an Indiana Medical college in 1846, Dr. Higgins was 
married in 1847 to Miss Diantha Tremper, a member of a Lake county 
family of earlv settlers. Dr. Higgins did not enter fully upon practice In 
Crown Point till 1859. In 1861 he entered the Union Army as a physician 
and surgeon, did much hospital work, became an expert surgeon, and resumed 
practice at Crown Point in 1865. Like his two contemporaries his practice 
extended over considerable territory, and having a good start financially, 
like them he continued to accumulate. One daughter came to his home, 
and as the years passed on a son-in-law came, a young lawyer, J. W. Youche. 
and in the course of time a grandson came, and then for a few years the 
domestic happiness seemed complete. The young lawyer rose rapidly in 
his profession, became a State Senator, a large dwelling house was erected, 
the Higgins- Youche mansion, and made a home of elegance without and 
within, and the grandson soon became an intelligent, promising youth. Dr. 
Higgins was growing aged. He retired from practice. He rode very much 
in his buggy, having some fine horses, but not to visit patients. Sometimes 
one member of the family would be with him, sometimes another. But 
changes come to all. They came to him. In November, 1895, the wife 
who had been with him for forty-eight years passed away from earth. In 
January, 1901. the son-in-law, Hon. J. W. Youche, still in the prime of 
manhood, was cut down by the sharp sickle of death. And in the early morn- 
ing of April 7, 1904, when nearly eighty-two years of age. Dr. Higgins' 
own time came to die. 

The three had all been respected and honored as men and as physicians, 
and all had met with financial success. 

Before leaving this record and these memorials of early physicians two 
more names are placed on this page. One is the name of W. E. Vilmer, a 
German, whose dates of residence are from 1853 to 1861. Dr. Vilmer mar- 
ried a daughter of Mr. Lewis Herlitz, of Cedar Lake. His school of medi- 



102 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

cine was different from the others who have been named. His professional 
life was short. He fixed up a pleasant home and left in it, when he went 
from earth, besides his wife, two sons and one daughter. 

The other name is that of Dr. M. G. Bliss, coming here as a retired 
physician, opening and carrying on for some little time a drug store which 
was at length destroyed by fire, causing to him a great loss, and then taking 
a new course of lectures in Chicago, opening an office and acquiring consid- 
erable practice as a physician of the Eclectic school. He had nothing on 
which to start and, unlike the others, he did not, he could not, accumulate; 
but he was for some thirty years here a kind, good-hearted, successful phy- 
sician, a very pleasant, kindly man, and a school Trustee for many years. 
He has in Crown Point two sons and two daughters. 
A Lawyer's Record. 

The first lawyer of the county has been named in different connections, 
Alexander McDonald, whose home for some years was on East street, who 
died in that home in 1866, one of whose daughters is Mrs. Belle Lathrop of 
Florida, and one Mrs. H. S. Holton, and one is the wife of Dr. Poppe, a 
physician settling here in 1870 and after some years removing to Chicago, 
all now living. Lawyer McDonald's date of location in Crown Point is 1839. 
Before that time he had a residence at or near what became Lowell.' 

But the next lawyer, and the one whose record was here to be given, was 
Martin Wood. He was an earlier resident in Crown Point than Major 
Griffin. The record is, "April 4, 1848, he came among us." The pioneer 
modes of living were soon to end, but he was well adapted to help on the 
ending and to press forward into the new. As many a young man had done 
before his day and as many have since done, he taught for a time in a public 
school. He opened a law office. His next step was to secure a partner, not 
for business but for life, and he wisely selected a minister's daughter. Miss 
Susan G. Taylor, of Pleasant Grove, to whom he was married August 26. 
1849. Besides being a lawyer and looking after the interests of his clients, he 
secured a small farm of fifty-five acres close to the town, having a taste for 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 103 

agricultural or horitcultural pursuits. Ten acres he enclosed with ornamental 
trees, as many as twenty varieties he put on his grounds, some of them quite 
rare varieties, and he set out ahout eight hundred evergreens, including arbor 
vitae, red cedar, Norway spruce, Scotch pine, white pine, yellow pine, silver 
spruce, Austrian pine, Weymouth pine, Siberian arbor vitae, balsam fir, and 
juniper. He set out fruit trees to bear apples, pears, quinces, and peaches. 
He gave attention tp small fruit. He did not neglect his law business nor 
political life while doing all this. It will probably be long before Crown 
Point has such another citizen lawyer as was he. There was force, energy 
in his voice and movements. He spread a quantity of ink on paper when 
he wrote. His frame, as to his body, was stoutly built, compact, but not 
above medium height, and his manner, to a stranger, might have seemed 
slightly brusk. But he was the very man to contend earnestly for the cause 
he believed to be right, and was in reality of a kind and gentle disposition. 
His speeches were not polished, but in them and through them there was 
force. He acquired a large law practice and entering to some extent into 
political life he represented Lake county for two terms in the State Legis- 
lature. 

Hon. Maitin Wood was born in Ohio, November 26, 1815. He died at 
his pleasant home Monday morning, September 5, 1892, being nearly seventy- 
seven years of age. He had four sons and three daughters who are all now 
living and active in the busy world, making money, gaining honors, doing 
good. 

Cleveland. Among the lawyers of Crown Point forty years ago was 
one who came as a child into this county in 1837, a son of Ephraim Cleve- 
land, whose family were active Methodists and Sunday-school workers at 
Pleasant Grove in the very beginning of Sunday-school organization in the 
county. This child, Timothy Cleveland, was born November 22, 1829, in 
the state of New York, and so was about eight years of age when the family 
came to Lake county. He passed the years of boyhood and youth at Pleasant 
Grove, settled at Crown Point as a lawyer in 1863, gave sqme attention to 



104 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

journalism and some to farming, pubiislied a paper, the Herald, for a short 
time, and lived to be seventy years of age. He was a man of strong Chris- 
tian principle, and manifested, when it was called out, a rare Christian spirit. 
His older daughter, Miss Helen Cleveland, was for several years a prominent 
teacher in the Crown Point public school and is now the wife of Professor 
Weems of Valparaiso. The younger daughter, Miss Cynthia E., was married 
July 17, 1898, to Mr. Joseph Baker, of Valparaiso. One son, Ch.a.rles A. 
Cleveland, is carrying on a printing office at Hammond, and Walter W. 
Cleveland is a printer in the Star office at Crown Point. Another son, 
Otis W. Cleveland, married a daughter of J. S. Holton and is living in 
Crown Point. 

The Cleveland family of the east and south is large, but where the Lake 
county family connects back in the old ancestral line is not here known. 

Another genuine Christian lawyer was James B. Turner, a member 
also of one of the true and substantial pioneer families of 1838, himself then 
a youth seventeen years of age. He was a son of Judge Samuel Turner 
of Eagle Creek and a brother of Judge David Turner of Crown Point. He 
left the Eagle Creek farm, studied law, settled as a lawyer at Crown Point 
in 1861, established a reputation as "a very refined and a Christian man," and 
died in August, 1866. He was married in 1848 to Miss Austria C. Lindsley. 
They had no children, but adopted a boy who was called Walter Turner. 

Hon. J. W. Youche. A later resident than these that have just been 
named, and a much younger lawyer, was Julius W. Youciie. He was 
born March 4, i8-|8, m Saxony, the son of Frederick William and Wiliiel- 
mine Pfeifer Yonche. He was brought across the Atlantic when two years 
of age, and the liome of his childhood and youth was in the state of Ohio. 
The Youche family were Lutherans. In that faith he was brought up. He 
came into Indiana and completed a course of literary studies at the State 
University at Bloomington. He then came to Crown Point as a teacher; 
was principal of the Crown Point public school in 1870, then twenty-two 
years of age. He went to Ann Arbor in Michigan, graduated at that uni- 





m^'^^^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 105 

versity as a law student in 1872. He returned to Crown Point and com- 
menced the practice of law. January i, 1873, he was married to Miss 
Eunice Higgins, the only child of Dr. Higgins, of Crown Point, and in 
that home, which became the Higgins- Youche mansion, one of the costly and 
spacious and beautiful residences of Crown Point, he resided for twenty-eight 
years. He was a model son-in-law ; a good citizen ; an exemplary and devoted 
husband and father; a man of refined feelings and of cultivated taste. He 
was scholarly in different lines. As a talented young lawyer he had risen 
rapidly in his profession. He was a state senator, was vice president of the 
Crown Point National Bank, was a trustee of the State University, and "was 
for many years," as said one of the best and most cultivated lawyers of the 
county, "easily the leader at the bar of this county, and a leader in north- 
western Indiana." He died January 2, 1901, nearly fifty-three years of age. 

Unlike one of our older lawyers he had not opened a little farm and set 
out trees and shrubbery; but his love for nature was large, and his enjoy- 
ment of geologic and historic research was keen He had accumulated in 
his professional life quite an amount of property, and had collected a large 
and valuable library. 

He has left one son, Julian Higgins Youche, now a college student, 
talented and ambitious, climbing up toward fame and success. To him and 
to his mother, to Crown Point and to Lake county, the loss of such a man 
and such a lawyer, in the prime of manhood, has been great. Of him it was 
said when he first came to Crown Point, that he was an unusually con- 
scientious and inoffensive young man, and this noble trait, to avoid giving 
offense, he retained through life. 

Of those representing the earliest pioneer times no one retained the 
peculiarities of a few settlers more fully than one well known in all Old 
Settler meetings, Amos Hornor. 

Hie Honior lamily came from the Wabash region. In the eyes of 
the New England and New York children they were in api)earaiice, in dress, 
in language, genuine "Hoosiers." Most of that family in a very few years 



106 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

returned to the Wabash, and the otliers from that locality, as the large Nor- 
dyke family, Wiles, Bond, and others, returned or went westward to other 
frontier regions. But Amos Hornor remained. He was born May ig, 
1813. He was of Quaker descent. His father, David Hornor, continued to 
use the Quaker forms of speech. 

In 1834 a few members of the family came up and made claims in Octo- 
ber and November on the west side of the Red Cedar Lake. In the summer 
of 1835 "lore members of the family came up, and Amos Hornor, then 
twenty-two years of age, came with them. They cut grass for hay, put up 
some cabins, and returned once more to Tippecanoe county. In November, 
1835, the Hornor and Brown families removed to Lake county, and this 
date estaljlisbed by documentary evidence, the Claim Register, marks the 
commencement of Amos Hornor's residence in the county. He was quite 
desirous at one time of being considered the first or one of the first settlers 
in the county only second to Solon Robinson and a very few others. But no 
man can go back of the testimony of the Claim Register, on whatever points 
it gives testimony. 

After the return of his father's family tc the Wabash Amos Hornor 
resided for some time at Crown Point. Soon he was married to Miss Mary 
White, one of the young belles of Crown Point, daughter of Mrs.' Sally 
White, afterward Mrs. Wolf, of Porter county. The marriage took place 
in Porter county, July 4, 1844. She lived less than a year. And he was 
again married, June 24, 1849, to a widow woman now, and not a young girl, 
Mrs. Sarah R. Brown. He made his final home at Ross, and with her he 
lived many peaceful years. They had two daughters. One is not now living. 
Mrs. Sarah Horner at length died, and a third wife, Mrs. Amanda M. Co- 
burn, January 10, 1892, took the vacant place. 

In a few vears his own time came, and Amos Hornor, of RoSs, the last 
representative of the Hornor and Brown families of 1835, departed from 
among the living August 25, 1895, nearly eighty-two years of age. For al- 
most sixtv vears he had trodden the soil of Lake county and amid all the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 107 

changes of the last half of the Xineteenth Century he retained to a large 
extent the characteristics of his youth, in all Old Settler meetings at Crown 
Point and at Hebron he took a large interest and was always ready to rehearse 
the experiences of early years. 

B.JiLL. — The name. Amsi L. Ball, occurs quite frequently in the earliest 
history of Lake county. He was one of the more mature men active and 
prominent in laying the foundations of civil and social institutions. He 
came with his son, John Ball, from the State of New York in 1836. To 
which band of the large family of Balls emigrating from England between 
1630 and 1640 he belonged is not known. In March, 1837, an election was 
held at his house, also at the house of Russell Eddy and at the house of 
Samuel D. Bryant, at which election, having received seventy-eight votes 
for county Commissioner, he was elected for three years ; but he resigned 
this office in the summer in order to be a candidate at the August election 
for Representative to Indianapolis. Lake county voted for him, but Porter 
county, with which Lake for some years was united in electing a Repre- 
sentative, did not. He gave up a certainty for an uncertainty and so lost 
both offices. He was rather tall in person, a fluent speaker, a man capable 
and ambitious. He was, as the political parties of those days were desig- 
nated, a Democrat, and Solon Robinson, who had been the "Squatter King" 
of Lake, was a strong Whig. Politically these two, both ambitious men, 
were not friendly, and each had the credit in those days of defeating to 
some extent the political aspirations of the other. Amsi L. Ball, while not 
holding office, conlinued to be an influential and prominent citizen, but, 
about 185 1 or soon after, he returned to the State of New York after a resi- 
dence here of about fifteen years. Of his son's sojourn here but little is 
known. 

Jones. — Levi D. Jones, whose name is on record as a grand juror at the 
first term of the Lake Circuit Court, in 1837, must have been an early settler, 
but further records concerning him have not been found. 

David Jones v^^as an early resident in Porter county and then near the 



108 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Hurlburt Corners, and, retiring from liis farm life at length, he lived for 
many years on East street in Crown Point, an exemplary church member 
and a quiet citizen, where he died in 1895. He had several children, of whom 
one son and one daughter live in Crown Point. 

W. G. McGlashon, who came to Crown Point in 1846. was very closely 
identified with the business interests of the town for many years. He was 
some of the tmie clerk or salesman, and his positions will indicate some of 
the business houses of former years. In 1850 he became clerk for William 
Alton, then a leading merchant. Afterward he was clerk for Turner & 
Bissel, successors to J. W. Dinwiddie; then for D. Turner; for Turner & 
Cramer; and for Strait. He was in these stores for four years. Then he 
was in the store of A. H. Merton, successor to Turner & Cramer; then 
clerk for John G. Hoffman. In the.se two stores for three years. It was 
now 1858 and he went into business for himself. In i860 he bought a stock 
of goods in Boston and then took in as a partner M. L. Barber. 

He kept the postoffice, and when the railroad came through the town 
he did the express business. He next bought out M. L. Barber, and at 
length closed out his business and in 1867 retired to a farm about four miles 
south of town. In 1871 he returned to the town and to business life. He 
at last went to the West and died there, a very aged man. 

He was rather low in stature and quite portly. A true man. He was 
born in Quebec, October 19, 1814, was married in Vermont in 1833, and 
lived to be eighty-two years of age. That Vermont wife, Mrs. McGlashon, 
is still living with an unmarried daughter in the West. Her great-grand- 
children live at Hammond, the children of Dr. Turner. 

Summers. — Among those who have aided largely in building up Crown 
Point and the county the name of Zerah F. Summers is prominent. He 
\vas a son of Judge Benjamin Summers, of Ohio, and was born in Ver- 
milion, Erie county. Ohio, July 16, 1829. He came to Crown Point, where 
he had several relatives, in November, 1854. He had received a good 
business education, which included also surveying and civil engineering. 




HERMAN C. BECKMAN 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 109 

In 1855 and 1856 he assisted the county surveyor, John Wheeler, who was 
one of his relatives, and with him in 1857 bought out the Crown Point 
Herald and issued. August 4, 1857. the first number of the Crown Point 
Register. He was elected county Clerk in 1859 and held that office till 
1867. He also held other offices, as school Examiner, town Trustee, and 
was appointed real estate appraiser for the county. In 1865 he erected a 
warehouse near the railroad depot and commenced shipping grain. He also 
erected a grain building at Le Roy, then called Cassville, and bought and 
shipped grain. In this grain business he continued until his death in 1879. 
He bad spent several months, probably in 1869 and 1870, as surveyor and 
civil engineer, on the line of what was then called the Vincennes, Danville, 
and Chicago Railroad, a business for which he was well fitted. About one 
half of his life, nearly twenty-five years, was given to different interests in 
Crown Point and the region around, and the results of his work and influence 
will long remain. 

He took a large interest in the North Street Baptist church, of which 
he was a Trustee and where his daughters attended Sunday school, and for 
which, had lie continued to live, he would have no doubt done much more. 

He came to Crown Point when twenty-five years of age. August 2, 
i860, he was married to Miss Margaret M. Thomas, a daughter of Ambrose 
S. Thomas, Esq., of New York. One son, an only son, Wayland Summers, 
is living in the West, and a daughter, Mrs. Jennie Webster, lives in Chicago. 

In a somewhat lengthy memorial in "The Lake of the Red Cedars" he 
is v^ell called an active, upright, useful, honorable citizen; a kind, obliging, 
faithful friend; a loving, generous, tender husband and father; with a very 
refined and noble nature. In his official and business life he enjoyed very 
largely the confidence of his fellow citizens throughout the county. 

Beckm.vn. — The principal merchant in Hanover township, first at Han- 
over Center and then at Brunswick, was Herman C. Beckman. He was 
born in 1822, he came to America in 1846, he was married in 1852, he com- 
menced lousiness as a merchant in 1853, he was elected county Commis- 



110 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

sioner in 1867. he was postmaster at Brunswick for twenty-nine years, he 
accumulated a good amount of property, and died at Brunswick in 1894, an 
upright, kindly, highly respected citi;^en. He had several children who 
became estimable members of society and are living now. 

Livingstone or Livingston. — Near the beginning of the railroad period 
there came from Europe to Lake county Samuel and Jane Livingston. 
There were nine sons, Robert, John, Sam, Joseph, James, William, Hart- 
ford, Thomas, ami Moses. Six of these sons went as soldiers in the Union 
Army. There were three daughters, in all twelve children, making another 
quite fair-sized family in the county. The mother, Mrs. Jane Livingston, 
died in February, 1879, and the father in March of tlie same year. 

Robert Livingston, who was married fifty or more years ago, had 

ten children, two sons called Sam and Moses, and eight daughters. Many 

of the daughters became teachers in the public schools of the county, and 

at length married and became active women in domestic and social and 

religious life. Robert Livingston, living for many years on a farm a mile 

west of Crown Point, died October 13, 1895, nearly eighty-six years of age. 

He was born near Belfast in Ireland, of Scotch-Presbyterian descent, and 

was a member of the Twentieth Regiment of Indiana Volunteers in our 

Civil war. 

Family Lines from Scotland. 

While many of our early settlers were descendants of Pilgrims and 
Puritans and Quakers or Friends, and of Scotch-Irish, who had lived for 
several generations m New England and New York and Pennsylvania, there 
were others whose ancestors came from Scotland but a few generations ago. 
Three of these closely connected families bear the names of Fisher, Brown, 
and Wallace, and for the genealogy here given I am much indebted to 
"Lake County, 1884," a book containing many valuable records, but now 
"out of print." 

Fisher. — Alexander Fisher was born in Ayr, Scotland, in 1801, and 
came to Montreal in 18 18, and soon after went into Schenectady county. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. HI 

New York, and there, in 1819, was married to Miss Agnes Brown, who was 
born at Paisley, in Scotland, and was a daughter of Alexander Brown, who 
came to tlie United States in 1805. 

Alexander Fisher and Agnes Brown were commencing American life 
almost in their youth. They had eight children. Three of their sons and 
one daughter became residents of Lake county, Indiana. One of these, 
VVii.UAM Fisher, born in 1825, is now living at Hebron in Porter county. 

Thomas Fisher became a resident here in 185 1. He was married to 
Miss Mary Brown, daughter of another Alexander Brown, a settler at South- 
east Grove. He was for many years engaged in the manufacture of brooms 
at Crown Point. He became quite wealthy. He had no children. 

John Fjsheu, the third of these three sons of Alexander Fisher from 
Scotland, was born in Schnectady county, New York, in 1832, became a 
resident in this county in 1855, and was married in 1865 to Miss Joanna 
Willey, a daughter of Mr. George Willey, of Hanover township. He was 
a surveyor and held the office of county surveyor for many years. He had 
many excellent traits of character. He was a generous friend. He took a 
large interest, as did the Willey family, in the Association of Old Settlers. 
He became a member, in his later life, of the Presbyterian church. He died 
March 7, 1897, leaving one son, George W. Fisher, to occupy his place in 
the Masonic lodge and as county surveyor, in the activities of life, and, per- 
haps some day, in the church. 

Brown. — Alexander Brown, who came to the United States in 1805, 
has been already mentioned. Besides his daughter Agnes, who also has 
been mentioned, he had a son named John. This John Brown, bearing a name 
that is noted in the martyr history of Scotland and England, had si.x sons 
and two daughters. One of his sons, Alexander F. Brown, was born in 
1804, August 25th, before his grandfather, Alexander, came to America, 
was married in 1835, and became a resident of this county, at Southeast 
Grove, in 1840. He was going on prosperously, with his Scotch enterprise 
and industry, when his life was unexpectedly terminated in 1849. He left 



112 HISTORY Ol- LAKE COUNTY. 

tliree sons and two daughters, two of tlie sons and the daughters are now 
hving in Crown Point. The sons and one daughter are among tlie wealthy 
citizens. 

There canie also to Southeast Grove in 1840 a brother of Alexander 
F. Brown, another of the six sons of John Brown of Scotland, who was 
known as Joiix Brown, Jr. He was never married. He made his home for 
many }-ears with the Crawford family west of the Grove, which home was 
near his farm. He was quite a prominent citizen. 

Yet another of those six sons, William Brown, the youngest probably 
of the six, also came to Southeast Grove, but as he is still living his record 
does not come in here. 

George Brown, the youngest son of A. F. Brown, was born May 5, 
1849, the year in which his father died. He was married in 1869 to Miss 
Turner, of Eagle Creek township, a sister of Mrs. T. Pearce; he continued 
farm life at the Grove; became interested and active in Sunday-school life; 
and died June 21, 1878, leaving three sons, Alexander, William, and Herbert. 

The record of the two living sons, John Brown and William Barringer 
Brown, of Crown Point, is to be found elsewhere. 

W.\LLACE. — This name, so fully interwoven in the history of Scotland, 
calls to mind the old days of Robert Bruce and Sir William Wallace and the 
heroes and patriots of that age. 

Lyman Wallace, the first of the Lake county Wallace family in Amer- 
ica, was born in Washington county, New York, in 1800. His first wife 
was a native of Vermont, and had one son, William Wallace, and three 
daughters. His second wife was also a native of Vermont. She was born 
May 4, 1798. She became the mother of five daughters. He came with his 
wife and these daughters to Southeast Grove in 1843 from Genessee county, 
New York. He died at Southeast Grove in 185 1. Four of the daughters 
became mistresses of families, Mrs. John Dinwiddle, Mrs. Starr, Mrs. William 
Brown, and Mrs. Parkinson. 

The influence of these closely connected families has been large on the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 113 

material interests of Lake county, extending through more than sixty years. 

Some of its members have been active also in church and educational lined, 

and they have all taken a commendable interest in the Association of early 

Settlers. 

English Settlers. 

Jonas Rhodes was one of those early settlers, tiie Woods brothers, the 
Hayvvards, the Muzzall family, and a few others, who from among the "cot- 
tage homes" and the "stately homes" of fair old England, of which Mrs. 
Hemans has so beautifully written, came to found for themselves new homes 
as beautiful as they might make them, in this, if not a fairer, yet certainly 
a broader, a much more roomy land, this land we call America. 

Jonas Rhodes made his settlement in 1837, not on the border of one of 
those prairies which were to the New Englanders generally so beautiful and 
so attractive, but on the sand ridge and amid the wooded growth of what 
is now Calumet township; and a little place that has lately sprung up, 
called Glen Park, is near what was his early home. Without knowing what 
would take place in a few years he selected a location near which more than 
one railroad line now passes. The years passed with him as with others 
busily and pleasantly engaged. Children grew up in his home. He did his 
part in developing the resources of the county, aiding enterprises that were 
good, prospering in his activities of life, and reaching a good age. He 
was a pleasant man with whom to meet. He was much interested in the 
first published history of Lake county, and once remarked that he thought 
the weather record it contained was worth the whole price of the book. He 
has in this county a number of descendants. 

Hayward. — Five brothers by the name of Hayward, and not the tra- 
ditional three, came over from England and settled, in 1837, in Lake county, 
Indiana. These were called in their father's home Charles, Thomas, Henry, 
Alfred, and Edwin. 

Charles Hayward settled a little distance from what is now the stone 
church of Ross township. His brother, Thomas Hayward, settled not far 
eastward towards Hobart. The other three brothers, settling in the same 



114 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY, 

part of tlie county, not far from the claim of Barllett \\'oods. are still living in 
the West. 

A son of Charles Hayward is Edwin Hayward, the second in this 
county to bear that name, and two sons, George Hayward living near Hobart, 
and 01i\er Flayward. are the two sons of Thomas Hayward, wiio died in 
March; 1904, after a residence in the county of sixty-six full years. 

Thomas jMuzzai.l, also from England, with a mother and two sisters, 
residing a short time in Canada, became also a settler in the same neighbor- 
liood in 1837. All these English families became good Americans and valu- 
able citizens. They all selected the same part of the county a little north 
of the prairie belt. Their descendants are now among the prosperous and 
enterprising cit!^c-:s of Crown Point and Hobart and the far West. 




Charles Marvin, a pioneer of 1836, was born August 4, 181 1, in 
Norwich, Connecticut. In his young manhood he spent about two years in 
South Carolina, visited New Orleans, went up to Alton and then to Lx)ck- 
port in Illmois, in 1833. In 1835 he was married to Miss Charlotte Perry, 
and with her mother came into -the western edge of Indiana in 1836. He and 
Mrs. Perry located claims, and those claims were included in Lake county 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 115 

when that was organized. He sold his first farm, now in Hanover, near 
Brunswick, to Henry Sasse. Sr.. about 1839. In 185 1, then a widower, he 
was married to Miss EHza Fuller, a daughter of Air. H. S. Fuller, of West 
Creek. About 1881 he sold his second large and valuable farm and bought 
the old Judge Wilkinson place, where he built a stately residence. He there 
died in 1892, nearly eighty-one years of age. He was a noble example of 
true manhood and was noted among. Lake county pioneers for the urbanity 
of his manners. He was a true gentleman. He had no children. He had 
some kindred at L "'' ■ ' ^\i(^ diere his body was taken for burial, although 
for fifty-six years he tvdu been a citizen of Lake. 

Jackson, Farley. — Two New York or New England families, that be- 
came closely connected by marriage, came in the true pioneer days to the 
southwestern part of the county, and helped to form what became known 
as the West Creek neighborhood. 

Joseph Jackson, coming here from Michigan in 1837, was born in 
1793, probably in New England, but lived for some time in New York State, 
and then in Michigan. In the spring of 1837 ^^ came and located his claim, 
in the summer he came again with his son, Clinton Jackson, and his son's 
famil}-; and removed with his own family in October, 1837, from Monroe 
county, Michigan, to Lake county, Indiana. They came with teams, and 
were nearly three weeks on the way. There was an early snow that fall, 
and on the first morning of their journey they found the ground covered 
with snow. They had started on a warm, bright, October afternoon. Mr. 
Jackson took with him some dry goods and groceries and opened the first 
store in that part of the county. 

In 1838 a schoolhouse was built, and one of the family. Miss Ursula 
Ann Jackson, became teacher of the first school in what is now West Creek 
townshi]). ".Xfter several years of farm life the family remo\«* to Crown 
Point, put up buildings, kept hotels, and the father, J. Jackson was for one 
term the fir=t county Auditor. After a residence in this county of nearly 
twenty years, an active, useful, very substantial citizen, in the spring of 1857 



110 HISTORY OF LAKl-: OOL'XI^'. 

lie remo\e(l to Iowa. He was for two terms of otitice Mayor of the city of 
Wapello, and lived to be nearly ninety-five years of age. 

Benjamin Farley came with his family to the West Creek neighbor- 
hood also in 1837. He was born in 1781, in New York, and came to this 
county from the State of New York, and was when he settled here well on 
in middle age. He had five sons and two daughters. He lived here only a 
few years. His tornbstone is in the West Creek cemetery. One of his sons, 
Zebulon Pierce Farley, was married to Miss Amarilla Valeria Jackson, 
daughter of Joseph Jackson. Z. P. Farley, born April 14, 1821, is still 
living, but not now in this county. In our civil history and in our Masonic 
history the name of Farley will remain. 

Hathaway. Hayden. — Into this same West Creek neighborhood there 
came two other families having now many living descendants and repre- 
sentatives. Peter Hathaway was the head of one of these families and 
Nehemiah Hayden of the other. Peter Hathaway, a native of New Jersey, 
was born, according to one record, in March, 1782, was married in New 
Jersey, came into New York and about 1839 became a citizen of this county. 
Three sons are named in the early Sunday-school history of the county, Silas, 
Abram, and Bethuel ; and there were probably several other children. Indeed, 
one record says there were twelve in all, of sons and daughters. • The mem- 
bers of this large, pioneer family were active church and Sunday-school work- 
ers; and worthy successors of such a valuable family reside in the same 
neighborhood now, members of the third and fourth generation. 

Nehemiah Hayden was a pioneer settler of 1837. 

Some other early settlers of this same neighborhood were Henry Tor- 
REY, in 1837, — a bridge across West Creek in 1838 was called the Torrey 
bridge; John Kitchel. settling probably in 1836, of whom not much is 
now known; Adin Sanger, a settler of 1838; and N. Spalding. 

This West Creek or Hathaway and Hayden neighborhood soon became 
a \ery prosperous portion of the county, and a flourishing religious center. 
Here was erected one of the earliest church buildings of the county. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 117 

Spalding. — Hf.man AI. Si-aldixc, one of nine children of Henian 
Spalding of New England, settled in Lake county in August. 1837. in the 
Hathaway and Hayden neighborhood. He had five sons and four daughters. 
One of tlie sons is Joshua P. Spalding, of Orchard Grove, and one is Dr. 
Heman Spalding, of Chicago. The father was Ijorn in 1809. He was a good 
citizen. 

Sanford D. Ci.akk. — For many years one of the nolile. useful, exem- 
plary citizens of Crown Point, Sanford D. Clark, was not a pioneer settler. 
In our earlier years of settlement he was a prosperous merchant in Ohio, 
and in the spring of 1839, before the land sale, he came to this connt\- on 
horseback, and furnished some relatives and acquaintances with money for 
entering several claims. For himself, so far as land was concerned, he 
seems to have made no provision. Near the beginning of the railroad jteriod 
he became a resident of Crown Point; from 1864 to 1872, he was county 
Recorder; he took a deep interest in the war for the Union, and es]>ecially 
in the discourses of the three resident pastors, J. L. Lower, T. C. Stringer, 
and T. H. Ball, being himself what was called an "abolitionist" in those 
days of conflict of opinion, and approving of "the underground railroad." 
thoroughly religious, a member with his wife of the Presbyterian church, 
very unselfish, true-hearted. 

He at length removed to a western state and li\ed to be ninety or more 
years of age. Valuable in the society of Crown Point was his life for the 
many years while he remained here, and in these memorials of useful citizens 
it well deserves a place. 

Patten or Patton. — John H. P.vttex, as he wrote the name. lM)rn 
January 10. 1801. came to Lake county from the East in July, 1852. after 
the real pioneer days had ended and much of the foundation work in Iniilding 
up society had been done. \et his family found sufficient work for them iti 
the railroad period then coming on. He had nine sons and seven daughters, 
but only seven of the sons became residents here for much length of time 
and five of the daughters. 



118 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Of the third and fourth generations there are now many members of 
this large family and they write the name Patton. The father, J. H. Patten, 
died in November, 1865, and Mrs. Patten, his wife, born in 1799, died in 
Alay, 1867. She was probably the mother of more children than any other 
woman who has lived and died in this county. 

Three of the sons, Seymour Patton, James Patton, and Joseph Patton, 
are still living in the .county, and one of the seven daughters, Mrs. Colby, 
lives in Crown Point with her daughter, the wife of the lawyer, J. Frank 
Meeker. The Christmas and New Year's family dinners have been in years 
past large and interesting gatherings. 

Bryant. — Tiie Bryants, Bryant Settlement and Pleasant Grove, have 
been mentioned in the Outline History. D.wid Bryant made a settlement 
in 1835 at Pleasant Grove, but was not a permanent resident. His wife 
died in March, 1836, and, although he was married again, in the spring of 
1838 he removed to Bureau county, Illinois, and staid some years. He then 
went to Missouri and lived there a few years, returned to Illinois, then went 
to Ohio, probably to his earlier home and staid five years, and then again, 
in 1853, became a resident of this county. In 1854 he brought into the 
county one thousand and sixty-three sheep. He went again to Illinois for 
a short time, and returned, and again made visits there. He made his last 
Lake county home with his daughter, Mrs. William Fisher, then living at 
Eagle Creek, now in Hebron. A younger daughter, a Lake county girl for 
a number of years, is still living in this state, Mrs. Ora Doddrige. 

Mr. Bryant was a very sociable, friendly man, of religious principle, 
and a church member. Born about 1797. It was said of him when seventy- 
five years of age, "He is growing feeble, but retains the use of his mental 
faculties."' His memorial belongs to this county of Lake. 

Of the five Bryants who commenced in 1835 the Bryant Settlement, 
and some of whom gave to the grove the name Pleasant, Simeon Bryant, 
David Bryant, E. Wayne Bryant, Samuel D. Bryant, and Elias Bryant, who 
joined the others in the fall of 1835, few of them seem to have made it a 
permanent home. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 119 

Si.MEOX Brvant staid about one year and removed to Indian Town, 
over tlie line in Porter county, soutli of the present town of Hebron, and 
there made his permanent home as a citizen of Porter. 

Samuel D. Bryant returned to the original home in Ohio and staid 
a few years, then came again to Lake county ami bought at length, in 1854, 
a farm south of Southeast Grove, near what is now the Center School House, 
and there spent the' remainder of his days, living to be more than eighty 
years of age. 

Elias Bryant, according to a Porter county history, died on the Pleas- 
ant Grove farm, but a son, Robert Bryant, in 1854, settled in Porter county, 
south of Hebron, where many Bryant families now reside. They have 
crossed over from Lake into Porter. 

E. Wayne Bryant, who had a brother, Jacob Bryant, living in LaPorte 
county, a pioneer of that county, arranged for a family home in the Grove. 
As early as the fall of 1836 he provided a room for a school, where the 
children of the Settlement were taught by Mr. Bell Jennings, "a very excel- 
lent man." He also aided in starting a Sunday school for the children in 
1838 or 1839. He was a valuable pioneer. He bought some hand mill- 
stones of Lyman Wells, another early settler, and in the winter of 1836 and 
1837 had them arranged to be run by horse power, and ground corn and 
buckwheat for all the neighlx)rs. This little mill continued to grind for two 
or three years, and at one time there were in the mill, so says one of the 
family, o\er three hundred bushels of grain waiting to be ground. 

Miller. — There was beyond any room for doubt an early mill seat 
found and a mill built on Deep River. The Claim Register, which is author- 
ity, says: "^\'illiam Crooks and Samuel Miller in Co. Timber and Mill 
Seat." Claim made in June, 1835, but settled in November, 1834. Locality, 
Section 6, Township 35, Range 7. W. Crooks from Montgomery county. 
This William B. Crooks was elected, in 1837. .Associate Judge, and a "Per- 
mit" Vvas granted, July 31. "to Samuel Miller to retail foreign merchandise 
at his store on Deep Kiver." That he had a mill and a store is certain; but 



120 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

of himself very little is known. It is said, and this is tradition and not 
history, and for its accuracy no good authority can be named, that his wife 
was part Indian, that he had sold property at Michigan City for eighty thou- 
sand dollars in gold and silver, and that much whiskey, as well as other 
articles of "foreign merchandise," was sold at his store. This last particular 
is no doubt true. If the gold and silver tradition is true, he must have been 
the most wealthy adventurer who came into the county in those early years. 
He made no long stay at that store but sold it to A. Hopkins, who soon sold 
it to H. Young, and he sold the mill irons to a mill builder, and for himself 
opened a gun shop which he kept for several years. 

A gravel road crosses Deep River now at this locality and a few years 
ago some of the old timbers of Miller's mill could still be seen in the waters. 
Somewhere there may be descendants of this Samuel Miller. 

Note. — Since the above was written there has come into my hands a 
little book of autobiography by Dr. James Crooks, a son of Judge William 
B. Crooks, who it seems was also a physician, and Dr. James Crooks says 
that his father settled at Michigan City in the spring of 1834. This James 
Crooks was then eight years of age. He says that Samuel Miller was then 
the principal business man of that place, that he "owned considerable real 
estate, houses, a store, warehouse, and a schooner." He also says that his 
father, Dr. W. B. Crooks, removed into what Isecame Lake county in Novem- 
ber, 1834. and that in the spring of 1835 his father and Samuel Miller com- 
menced building a mill on Deep river. After narrating many interesting 
recollections of his childhood in Lake county he at length says that his 
father sold out, in the spring of 1838, "his possessions in Lake county to 
Samuel Miller of Michigan City," for one thousand dollars, and that five 
hundred dollars was paid "in gold." So Miller must have had some gold. 
He further adds that "Miller failed a short time afterwards." In June of 
1838 the Crooks family left Lake county. 

RuFUS Hill, an early resident in Pleasant Grove, perhaps as early as 

1839, is noted for having one of the very largest families in the county. 

Credible authority gives the number of his children to be twenty-two. These 

were not all the children of one woman. The names of six of his older sons 

were Welcome, \\'illiain, John, Charles, Martin, and Richard. There were 

six daughters of coiresponding age, and then younger sons and daughters 

that made up the numljer. He lived to be o\er eighty years of age. 




JOSEPH A. LITTLE 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 121 

New Hampshire Settlement. 

Joseph .\. Little, son of Captain Thomas Little, was the seventh in 
descent from George Little who came from London to Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1640. The given names of his ancestors were, George, Moses, 
Tristam, Enoch, Jesse, Thomas. The names of sixty-five hundred descend- 
ants of George Little have been collected. 

The family of Thomas Little came into the then open and wild and 
beautiful center of Lake Prairie, and with the Gerrish, Ames, Peach, Plumer, 
and Morey families, formed what was known as the New Hampshire Settle- 
ment. The Wason family was soon added to the number. 

Joseph A. Little was born in Merrimack county, New Hampshire. May 
24, 1830. In 1859 he was married to Miss Mary Gerrish. He became a suc- 
cessful farmer and large wool-grower, keeping large flocks of fine wool sheep. 
He represented Lake count}- in the Indiana Legislature in 1886 and 1887, 
secured excellent farms for his sons in the Kankakee lowlands, and was laid 
aside from a life of activity and usefulness by the messenger, death, February 
19, 1892. In the records of the Association of Old Settlers his name is in- 
erasibly written. He had three sons and three daughters. 

Abiel Gerrish, one of those men of mature age who came from New 
Harripshire to Lake county, was also the seventh in descent from Captain 
William Gerrish, who settled in Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1639. The given 
names of the men in this line are : William, Moses, Joseph, who had thirteen 
children, and who was accustomed to swim across the Merrimack River near 
its mouth every year till he was over seventy years of age, Stephen, Henry, 
Henry, Jr., and Abiel, who came to Lake Prairie. He was born March 7, 
1806. at Boscawen, Xew Hampsliire. His mother was Mary Foster, daughter 
of Hon. Abiel Foster, of Canterbury, and her mother was Mary Rogers, 
daughter of Rev. Daniel Rogers, of Exeter, New Hampshire, who was the 
sixth in descent from John Rogers, nf London, who was burned at Smithfield, 
February 14. 1555, the first martyr in the reign of the "I)loo(ly Queen Mary." 
The first was one of those "small childien," as re|)rescnte(l in that pictured 



122 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

group upon wiiicli so many Xew England cliiidien have looked, who on that 
dark day in England's history stood with their mother near the martyr's stake. 
The second was Rev. John Rogers, of Dedham. who died in H139. The third 
was Rev. Nathaniel Rogers, who came to America in 1636. The fourth 
was John Rogers, President once of Harvard College. The fifth was Rev. 
John Rogers, of Ipswich. The sixth was Rev. Daniel Rogers, of Exeter. 
The seventh, in this line, was liis daughter ^lary Rogers. The eighth was 
Mary Gerrish, wife of Henry Gerrish, who had five daughters and two sons. 
And the ninth was the younger of these sons, Abiel Gerrish. who became 
a citizen of the county of Lake, a descendant of a noted martyr and also of 
a long line of worthy ancestors. His wdfe, a very devoted Christian woman, 
died in September, 1881, the two having celebrated in 1880 their golden 
wedding anniversary, and he died in June, 1884. They had one son and 
five daughters. One daughter became the wife of Hon. Joseph A. Little, 
and still lives in the prairie home. 

The head of another of these seven Xew Hampshire families was S.\muel 
Ames. His descent is from Jacob .\mes. of Canterbury, New Hampshire. 
His son was Samuel Ames, born in 1724. His oldest son w-as Joseph Ames, 
born in 1771. One of his six sons was Samuel Ames, who came to Lake 
Prairie, who was born July 14, 1813, in New Hampshire. He represented 
Lake county in t!ie Legislature some years ago. His son, Edward P. Ames, 
lives in Hammond. He died a few years ago at Elkhart, where Mrs. Ames 
and his only daughter now reside. 

Rev. H. Wason, who spent many active years in pastoral life in \\'est 
Creek township, after retiring from the responsibilities of a pastor's duties, 
gave quite a little attention to farming along with his one son, and he too 
was chosen by the voters of the county to represent them at Indianapolis. It 
was certainly creditable to the majority of the citizens of the county that 
they sent three such thoroughly religious men, in the course of a few^ years, 
from the same'iiot large neighborhood, men of New England birth and New 
England training, to represent them in the Legislature. Such men as citizens 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 123 

are eveivwliere valuable. The readers of these memorials must have noticed 
Iiow many of the earlier settlers were of New England and so of English 
descent. 

W'lLLEv. — Another pioneer from the State of New York was George 
W'lLLEV. He was born in Connecticut, April 3, 1814, but when four years 
of age his home was removed to the State of New York. His father was 
Jeremiah Willey, of Connecticut, born in 1777, and his grandfather was David 
Willey, both bearing Bible names, as did so many of the children of New 
England. 

George Willey, brought up in the State of New York, receiving the train- 
ing of the New York schools, well informed in regard to some of the higher 
institutions of learning in that State, was married in 1835 ^^ ^^^s Cynthia 
Nash, and came with her and a party of settlers in 1838 to the western limit 
of Lake county. He made his home near the present Klassville, in what 
was West Creek township but is now in Hanover. George Almeron Willey, 
the one living son, has a home now in St. Louis. His oldest daughter, Mrs. 
John Fisher, resides in Crown Point. Two other daughters are living, but 
not in Indiana. The faviiily removed from the farm many years ago, and 
Mr. Willey erected a spacious dwelling house near Crown Point, where his 
life closed April 5, 1884, while he was Chairman of the Committee of Ar- 
rangements for the Semi-Centennial celebration of the county. He was 
seventy years of age. He had taken a good interest in the jubilee celebration, 
and would have enjoyed it had he lived. 

Jeremi.^h Wiggins was an early settler where is now Merrillville, but 
the exact date of his settlement seems not to be known. He gave name to 
the Avoodland where he made his claim, which for some time was known as 
Wiggins' Point. Southwest from it, across the prairie, was Brown's Point, 
and at the south, across the prairie about five miles distant from Wiggins' 
Point, there grew up in the edge of the woodland, Crown Point. 

J. Wiggins probably came in 1836. In 1837 his. claim passed into the 
hands of E. Saxton. Pie was with Mr. Saxton in 1838 and soon disappears 



124 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

from any of tl'.e county records. He seems to have been a lone man witliout 
much connection with any one, but that he was Vw'mg in 1838 is abundantly 
certain. 

Taylor, Edgerton, Palmer. — In 1836 a quite large family connection 
commenced a settlement on the east side of the Red Cedar Lake where were 
then many cedar trees. The head of this family was Obadiah Taylor, born 
in Massachusetts, who removed to New York, afterward to Pennsylvania, 
and came at last to Lake county, an aged man, where he died in 1839. 

A son, Adonijah Taylor, born in New York in 1792, was one of these 
early settlers; Horace Taylor, another son, born in 1801, was also one of 
this group; Horace Edgerton, a son-in-law, having lived for some years 
in Pennsylvania, was a third of these men; each of these having several chil- 
dren, and all, with the family of Mrs. Miranda Stillson, a daughter of Obadiah 
Taylor, and the family of James Palmer, a son-in-law, born in Connecticut, 
a soldier in the War of 1812, but coming later than the others into this 
county, forming the large Cedar Lake and then Creston community. These 
who have been named, active and useful in their day, have passed away, 
and some of their children, as Albert Taylor, Obadiah Taylor, Amos Edger- 
ton and Alfred Edgerton, have grown old in this county and followed their 
fathers into the unseen world. Also DeWitt Clinton Taylor, born in 1826, 
died some years ago, not very aged then. But there remain grandchildren and 
great-grandchildren, members sufficient in these lines to hand these names 
down to other generations. Those wdio ha\'e gone will be remembered by 
what they have done. Of New England stock, they were not idlers in the 
world's great workshop. 

Many family lines have been traced back for several generations by the 
inhabitants of this county. Among others is the line of Wise or Weise. 

Before 1750, the date not known, the ancestors of the ])resent Wise family 
came to Pennsylvania. John George Weise and his wife, Mrs. Eve Weise, 
were living in tliat State in Philadelphia county, where was born, Decemtjer 
23. 1751, a son, .\dam Weise. For a given name his parents coukl go no 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 125 

further back in the world's Iiistory. The family were members of the E\an- 
gelical Lutheran church. 

Adam Weise was married Fel>ruary _', 1772, to Margaret Elizabeth Win- 
gard. February 1, 1799, lie was commissioned by the Governor Justice of the 
Peace, one sentence in the rather lengthy and peculiar commission l^eing "To 
have and to hold this Commission, and the Office hereby granted unto you the 
said Adam Wise so long as you shall Miave yourself well." .As "he remained 
in office," so the record says, "thirty- four years, or until his death in 1833," 
it is evident that he did behave himself well. 

It appears also that the Governor gave to his name at that time the 
English form which most of the family have since retained. Adam Wise 
was, when he died, October 5, 1833, in the eighty-second year of his age, 
and had eleven children, si.xty-three grandchildren, and one hundred and 
tliirly-three great-grandchildren, and it is claimed that his descendants are 
now in nearly every state of the Union. The Wise family is not one to 
become extinct. 

Jacob Wise, a grandson of this Adam Wise, a son of John George 
Wise, became a citizen of this county in 1849. His father, John George 
Wise, died at his home in Winfield township in 1859. John George was 
born in 1786. He had six sons. Jacob Wise, the Lake county settler, was 
born January 20, 18 17. In his Winfield home he was a farmer, a brick- 
maker, a teacher of vocal music, a township Trustee, a very useful, upright, 
valuable citizen. He spent his last years as a retired farmer in Crown Point, 
he and his wife both interested in the Association of Old Settlers, in the meet- 
ings of the North Street Baptist church, near which church building was his 
home, and in the general good of society. He died November 9, 1895, about 
eighty years of age, and his wife died in March, 1904, a very kindly, noble 
woman. Many children and grandchildren are living. 

Fuller. — Another large family must have some mention here. James 
FvLLER, with more means than many of the early .settlers had, came to the 
county about 1840. He had nine s.ms and one daughter, j^erhaps more than 
one. Tlic daughter was married to .Vbrani Xichols. 



126 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Names of sons and number of their children : — OHver Fuller, four sons 
four daughters. James Fuller, one son. Aaron Fuller, six children. Archi- 
bald Fuller, four sons and four daughters. Frank Fuller, two sons and seven 
daughters. Benjamin Fuller, one son and two daughters. Richard Fuller, 
five sons and six daughters. Woodbury InUler, two sons. John jNI. Fuller, 
five sons and three daughters. In all fift}-six. 

Three of the nine sons named above are now living in the count)-. How 
many descendants there are now of James Fuller of 1840 has not been reck- 
oned up. The great-grandchildren would make of themselves alone quite a 

group. 

Brief Records. 

The following are names of, worthy citizens who did their parts well in 
making Lake county what now it is, but of whom there is very little to place 
on this page as memorials. The first one to lie named might have well said, 
in the words of Dr. Bonar's "Everlasting Memorial," a very different jioem 
from Tenn}-son's "In Alemoriam" : 

"So let my I'ving be, so be my dying: 
So let my name lie, unblazoned unknown : 
Unpraised and unmissed, I shall still be remembered, 
Y'es — but remembered by what I have done." 

Augustine Humphrey settled on Eagle Creek Prairie, now Palmer, as 
early as 1837, probably in 1836. He was from New England, he and his 
wife both devoted and \-ery useful members of the Presbyterian church, his 
children intellectual and well brought up, his nldcit son, Henry Humphrey, 
graduating at the University of Michigan in 185 1, and at Princeton Theo- 
logical Seminary in i860, but dying in a few years, other sons following soon 
to the unseen world, and then the noble. Christian mother, and, except one 
daughter-in-law. he was left l)efore many years quite alone in life. He was 
county Commissioner in 1847 ^"tl again in 1856. His family genealogic rec- 
ord went back to the Norman Conquest, through, according to the family 
tradition, the old Duke Hnrtnn of England, but no copy of it was brought to 
this county. He died many years ago, the last of his household except the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 127 

dauglUer-in-Iaw's family w liu renimed to Coloradu, and the l.mrial of his Ixidy 
was one of tlie most lonely hnrials ever in this county. In that world, where 
such a spirit as his would go. there is no lack of life and love. 

Another of these names is John L. ^^'oRLEY, born in Indiana April 28, 
1820, settling in Lake county in 1839, President for nine years of the Lake 
County Sabbath School Convention, residing south of Lowell, an active church 
member, who lived to be over eighty years of age. 

Another name is that of \\'illiam Sanders, of West Creek township, 
whose name was given to one of the cemeteries of that townsliip, the oldest 
member of the As.sociation of Old Settlers, who died October 16, 1898, nearly 
ninety-seven years of age. 

And yet another name is Hiram H. Scritch field, another settler from 
the State of Kentucky probably, as his wife was torn near Le.xington, Ken- 
tucky, January 4. 1812, and he was born in 1811. They were married in 
1832, and were the parents of fourteen children. A few years ago their 
lix'ing descendants numbered eighty-two, and would now quite certainly 
number more than a hundred. 

The last name in this group is that of David McKnigiit. He was the 
father of six sons and three daughters. His first settlement was at Hickory 
Point in 1845. About 1864 the family removed to the neighborhood of 
LeRoy. Four of the sons went into the L^nion Army and two o'f rhem re- 
turned. The father went to the West some years ago and there died. The 
family in church relations were what is now called Reformed Presbyterians, 
valuable members of any community. A son, a daughter, and grandchildren 
are still in the county working on the side of virtue and righteousness. 

That 'iome other names might ha\e ]iro])erly l>een placed upon this list is 
certain. There are limitations to all human efforts. There are physical im- 
possibilities, mental impossibilities, and moral impossibilities, and to reach 
perfection in this line of writing may well be called a mental ini]i<issibi]ity. 
No one could give of our most worthy early settlers a perfect list. Some names 
are added here of those whom a few may vet remember. Daniel May, Peleg 



128 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

S. Mason. William Hodson, Robert Wilkinson, of Deep River, James West- 
brook, Jonathan Brown, Royal Benton, Edmund Brown, Jabez Rlioades. David 
Gibson, Jacob Alendenhall, S. J. Cady, Horace Wood, John Russell, Peyton 
Russell, William Myrick, Jesse Pierce, David Pierce, these last two, accord- 
ing to the Claim Register in December, 1834, and in 1836, Jacob Van Volken- 
burg, John J. Van Volkenburg, and M. Pierce, from the State of Xew York. 
Lorenzo D. Holmes became a resident alxiut 1838 and died at Ross in 1883. 

Buildings as well as men disappear. About this time three old landmarks 
in Crown Point were removed. The first Methodist church building was 
taken down in the fall of 1882. It stood on East street. The Crown Point 
bakery was taken down in July, 1883. The first Baptist church building, 
which was also on East street, was taken down in August, 1883. 

And so with these twenty-one added names and the mention of three 
old buildings this memorial chapter ends. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 129 



CHAPTER IV. 
Names of Women of Whom Honorable Mention Should Be Made- 
Note. — In presenting and recording under this heading the names of 
quite a number of pioneer women, and appending, as I propose to do, to 
some of them special statements, I am well aware that some fault may be 
found with this otherwise interesting and important chapter. For I expect 
that some one will say, after looking over all these names, "The name of 
my mother (or grandmother) is not here, and she too was entitled to an 
honorable mention. Why is not her name on this list?" I have considered 
this criticism, this question, and have endeavored to weigh it well. Of 
course my reply to the question would be, Because the name of that mother 
or that grandmother was not in the range of my knowledge, or did not 
come to mind in my effort to recall the names of our pioneers ; certainly 
not because it was intentionally omitted. So now I ask myself: Shall I 
omit entirely this list of names of so many of our noble mothers and grand- 
mothers because I cannot make it a full and perfect list? And I answer, 
No. I will get what help I can; I will do the best I can; (surely no one 
without the personal knowledge which I possess could begin to do as well 
as this will be done) ; and then I will trust to the good sense of our citizens, 
trusting that very little fault will be found. T. H. B. 



Mrs. Harriet Warner Holton is the first name recorded here. She 
came into the county in February, 1835, with her son W. A. W. Holton, 
a daughter, and with William Clark and family, from Jennings county, 
Indiana. She was born in Hardwick, Massachusetts, January 15, 1783, a 
daughter of General Warner. She commenced her active life as a teacher in 
the town of Westminster. She married a young lawyer, Alexander Holton, 
about 1804, and leaving New England in 1816 for what then were true 
Western wilds, in March, 18 17, they settled at Vevay in the new State 
of Indiana, four years after Vevay had been laid out as a town. In 1820 
the Holton family remoVed to Vernon, in Jennings county, where Mrs. Hol- 
ton again became a teacher. In 1823 her husband died leaving her with two 
sons and one daughter. In the early winter of 1834 tidings came to Vernon 



130 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

from Solon Robinson concerning the beautiful prairie region he had foiuid 
far up in the northwest corner of the State, and the Clark and Holton 
families determined to join him there. They started in midwinter with 
ox teams. The weather in February. 1835. was se\erely cold, but they 
came through, crossing the Kankakee IMarsh with their ox teams on the ice. 

In some respects Mrs. Holton was the most remarkable woman ever 
in Lake county. She was Lake county's first teacher. Her mother lived 
to be about ninety-four years of age. She had seven sisters in New England 
and all died of old age, two while sitting in their chairs. All the eight were 
members of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Holton, a true Indiana pioneer, 
at Vevay and Vernon and in the county of Lake, lived on, active in church 
and Sunday-school and social life till old age came upon her. She died 
October 17, 1879, then nearly ninety-seven years of age. From a record in 
"The Sunday Schools of Lake" the following sentence is taken: "Such a 
woman, in such a long life, the daughter of an army leader, with her native 
intelligence, her New England training, her granite-like, Presbyterian prin- 
ciple, her devotion, her meekness, her love, must in various ways have ac- 
complished no little good." 

The second name to be placed on this list is that of Mrs. Maria Rob- 
inson, wife of Solon Robinson, the first white woman to live where is now 
Crown Point. She came to the spring that was, to the grove or woodland 
that still is, the last day of October, 1834. She was born November 16, 
1799, near Philadelphia. She was married in Cincinnati, May 12, 1828, 
to Solon Robinson, and in a few years they became residents in Jennings 
county, Indiana. In 1834 she came with her husband, one assistant, and 
two small children, in a wagon drawn by oxen, to the spot where they settled 
November i, 1834. She was not an ordinary woman, although very differ- 
ent in training and character from Mrs. Holton. She had much "executive 
ability;"" she is described by one wlm knew her well as "always cheerful and 
vivacious,"" attending to the needs of the sick and the poor, aiding, as her 
means permitted, churches and Sunday schools and benevolent organizations. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 131 

She died February i8. 1872. Two daughters are now living, one of whom, 
Dr. L. G. Bedell, is now a noted physician of Chicago. Her older daughter, 
Mrs. Strait, who has children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, now 
lives in Crown Point, the oldest resident and only original resident of the 
town. 

Two names should follow here on this list of worthy pioneer women, 
but of whom little by this writer is known, Mrs. Childers, the wife of 
Thomas Childers, the first white woman, so far as known, after Mrs. Will- 
iam Ross, to settle in the county, and Mrs. Clark, wife of Judge William 
Clark, who came to Lake Court House in February, 1835, which was then 
known, as the guide boards on the trails testified, simply as Solon Robin- 
son's. Mrs. Clark had sons in her household, two of whom, Thomas Clark 
and Alexander Clark, were for many years active citizens in Lake county. 

Other active pioneer women whose names belong on this page were 
Mrs. Henry Wells, the mother of Mrs. Susan Clark, of Rodman Wells and 
Homer Wells; Mrs. Richard Fancher, one of the first Presbyterian women 
in Crown Point, the mother of Mrs. Nicholson, Mrs. Clingan, and Mrs. 
Harry Church, and the mother who brought up such daughters certainly 
deserves to be remembered ; Mrs. Russel Eddy, who became a very active 
Presbyterian woman, a leader for many years in that church ; Mrs. 'Luman 
A. Fowler, one of the few resolute pioneer women, who came as a young 
wife in December of 1835 to Solon Robinson's hamlet, born in Madison 
county. New York, in October, 1816, married October 18, 1835, her maiden 
name Eliza Cochran, and who, as mother and grandmother led in Crown 
Point a long and useful life; and one more name, that of Mrs. Henry 
Farmer, coming with her husband from Bartholomew county in 1836, whose 
daughters became wives of well known citizens, completes this group. To 
nearly all the women yet named Crown Point as now it is owes very much. 

Another group of our noble pioneer women, of whom Lake county 
had a goodly number (and few of their names have ever until now been 
on a printed page), were these, not grouped in alphal^etical order, but as 



]32 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

tliey are associated in the mind of the writer: Airs. Richard Church. Mrs. 
Leonard Cutler, Mrs. Rockwell, Mrs. Darling Church, mother of Edwin 
Church, a grocer for many years at Crown Point, Mrs. Bothwell, Mrs. 
Owens, Mrs. Benjamin Farley, Mrs. N. Hayden, an active Sunday-school 
woman in the West Creek neighborhood, active also in the same work. Mrs. 
Spalding, mother of J. P. Spalding, Mrs. Fisher, and Mrs. Cooper Brooks; 
• also in the same neighborhood, Mrs. Peter Hathaway, the mother of Silas, 
Abram, and Bethuel Hathaway, Mrs. Lyman Foster, Mrs. Jackson ; in an- 
other neighborhood, Mrs. Fuller, mother of Mrs. Marvin, Mrs. Blayney, 
Mrs. Graves, all mterested in Sunday-school and church work, also Mrs. 
Gordinier, who with only one hand accomplished the work done by ordinary 
women with two hands, Mrs. George Willey, mother of Mrs. J. Fisher, of 
Crown Point, Mrs. James Farwell, the first white woman known to have 
set foot on the site of Crown Point, who with her family camped there 
July 4, 1833, a more than ordinary woman from Vermont, the mother of 
six sons and one daughter, that daughter becoming the wife of Thomas 
Clark and the mother of Mrs. Oliver Wheeler, the grandmother of Miss 
May Brown, of Crown Point; Mrs. Mercy Perry, mother of the first Mrs. 
Marvin, and Mrs. Solomon Burns. East of there was a small group of 
1837 and 1838, the first Mrs. Henry Sasse, Mrs. Herlitz, Mrs. Van Hollen, 
these by birth Germans and Lutheran by training, and Mrs. Jane A. H. 
Ball. Mrs. Ball was from Massachusetts, the only daughter of Dr. Timothy 
Horton of West Springfield, had been educated in the best schools of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and Ix^gan as early as 1838 to teach in the small neigh- 
borhood, pu]Mls coming from Prairie West, three miles away. As early 
as 1840 she commenced a boarding and academic school, the first in the 
county, which continued in some form for many years. She had brought 
from her father's home Cjuite a chest of medicines and some surgical instru- 
ments, which she thought would he needed, and she soon became, not in 
name, hut in fact, the physician and dentist of the neighborhood, her den- 
tistrv, however, extending no further than extracting and cleaning teeth. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 133 

For extracting teeth and for medicine she took some pay, but not any for 
her time, and she was called from home sometimes in the night as well as 
in the day. Besides Ijeing the first academic teacher, she also was the first 
who might be called a woman physician of the county. Her own se\en 
children were all educated and two sons and one daughter yet li\e to cher- 
ish her memory. 

In another group are placed the following names: Mrs. John Wood, 
also from Massachusetts, a cousin of the noted missionary, Mrs. Sarah B. 
Judson, born October 13. 1802, married November 16, 1824, the mother 
of eight children, the oldest of whom, Nathan Wood, is yet living at Wood- 
vale, and dying September 27, 1873. A fine granite monument, about fifteen 
feet in height, marks the burial place, on which is inscribed, "A true, faith- 
ful, loving wife; a kind and affectionate mother; ever toiling for the good 
of all ; and this is her memorial." Mrs. Wood was another of those superior 
New England women, like Mrs. Holton and Mrs. Earwell of Vermont, and 
others who are yet to be named, with native endowments and a Puritanic 
training, which fit their possessors so well for frontier life and for laying 
the right foundations for an enduring civilization. The comfort and hos- 
pitality of her home were not excelled by any in those early years. She 
was one of our unselfish women, and well does her memorial say, "toiling 
for the good of all." 

In this group, though living in another part of the county, may be 
fittingly named Mrs. Augustine Humphrey, one of the very early residents 
on Eagle Creek Prairie, now called Palmer. She was also from New 
England and besides caring for her children and attending to home duties 
she was much interested in church work, a devoted Presbyterian woman. 

Mrs. Woodbridge was yet another of these well trained New Englantl- 
ers. an earlv resident also at Palmer, the wife of Rev. George A. Wood- 
liridge, and near neighbor to Mrs. Humphrey, the two families l)eing cnn- 
nected bv ties of kindred as well as by a cnnimon religious faith. At their 
homes was Prc^hvtcrian preaching bv Rev. T. C. Brown and by Rev. W. 



134 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Townley. Atler some }ears the AX'oodljridge family lommcd to Uoss and 
here Airs. W'oodbndge became the Superinteiuleiit of tlic Sunday school. 
.\n active, truly noble, intelligent, Christian winiian, she spent ])art of her 
later years of life, sometimes with her son at Ross, sometimes in Joliet. She 
lived on, a pleasant and peaceful life allotted to her, until .\ugust. 1902, 
having reached eighty-eight years of age. 

The name of Mrs. Nancy Agnew may 1)e placed by itself here as be- 
longing to a resolute, earnest woman. A sister of those Bryants who found, 
and bore back to her m Porter county for burial, the body of her husband 
who perished from exhaustion and exposure iu_ the stormy night hours of 
April 4, 1835, she did not yield to her bitter trial, but .soon came herself to 
the new settlement, and on the settler Register for that year stands among 
the claimants the name Nancy Agnew, widow. To her son, born not long 
after her husband's death, she gave his father's name, David Agnew. 

]\Irs. Margaret Pearce, who was Alargaret Jane Dinwiddle, sister -of 
J. W. Dinwiddie, of Plum Grove, manifested some of her heroic (jualitics 
in her girlhood in her experiences with the Indians, then living near lier 
cabin home. Two of the young Indians about her own age were sometimes 
quite amioying. One day, seizing an opportunity to frighten her at least, 
they sprang up and threatened her with their tomahawks. Instead of cry- 
ing out, as they perhaps expected, or turning pale with fright, she simply 
stood still and laughed at them. .Ash.amed, it may be they became, at the 
idea of injuring that bold, defenseless, laughing white girl, and let her 
pass on unharmed. Well ihey knew that a blow inflicted uixjii her would 
brmg upon themselves swift punishment. She was married in 1840 to 
]\Iicliael Pearce, and was the mother ot ten children. She was born June 
5, 18 18, and died in 1894. She was a worthy member of the United Pres- 
byterian churcii, and exemplified many excellent qualities besides courage 
m her long home life in Eagle Creek township. A good likeness of this 
excellent woman, who was of Scotch-Irish descent, is to be found in the 
Dinwiddie Clan Records. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 135 

The name of Mr^. Margnret Jeanette Uinwicldie comes next on this 
page. A member of the Perkins family, she was born near Rome, New 
York, May 5, 1818, was married to J. W. Dinwiddie August 19. 1844, and 
died March 15, 1888. She was one of the true and successful Sunday- 
school workers of the county. Educated at Rome, New York, accustomed 
to teaching, an experienced teacher, for about twenty-five years she carried 
on with some others the Plum Grove school, herself generally the Super- 
intendent. To her more than to any other one woman in the county the 
County organization for twenty-five years was indebted for its success. She 
was a member of the first Baptist church in Lake county and a member of 
the North Street Baptist church in Crown Point at the time of her death. 
In the "Lake of the Red Cedars," and in the "Sunday Schools of Lake," 
may be found her memorials. 

Some names are again grouped. Mrs. Sarah Beadle, Mrs. Sarah 
Wells, Mrs. Sarah Childers, these three Sarahs with their husbands and with 
J. L. Worley, were the constituent members of the first church in the county 
called "Christian" or Disciple church with no other designation. This 
church is located now at Lowell, where there are three Christian churches, 
one Roman Catholic, one Presbyterian, one Methodist. The Methodist pio- 
neer women were: Mrs. E. W. Bryant, Mrs. Ephraim Cleveland, Mrs. 
Kitchel, Mrs. Taylor, mother of Mrs. S. G. Wood, Mrs. Wood, wife of Dr. 
James A. Wood, ]Mrs. Viant, women all of character and note. 

Other women among early and active and useful residents in the county 
were, Mrs. Wallace, born in Vermont, the mother of Mrs. W. Brown, of 
Crown Point, ]\Jrs. Brown, of Southeast Grove, mother of John Brown 
and W. B. Brown, ]\Irs. Crawford, mother of Mrs. Matt. Brown, and Mrs. 
E. Hixon, ^Irs. McCann, of Plum Grove, and Mrs. Hale, Mrs. E. M. Rob- 
ertson, mother of ]\Irs. O. Dinwiddie, Mrs. "Ruth Barney, widow," whose 
name stands thus as a claimant on the Register for the year 1836, Mrs. Sig- 
ler. the mother of several sons, :\Irs. Servis, mother of O. V. Servis, and 
I\Irs. George Earle. Some of these women were Presbyterians, most of 
them in fact, :\Ietho(ii?ts and Baptists being also represented. 



136 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

There are yet oilier names. Airs. Bank.s. two of wliose sons are well 
known at Hobarl and Crown Toint : Mrs. Sykes, mother of a large family 
of well known sons and daughters, a woman wlu^ has hut lately gone from 
among the living, ha\ing spent in this county a large part of a long, active, 
and useful life, and who like the other women named has left her impress 
upon this generation; Mrs. Rhodes, wife of Jonas Rhodes, whose daughters 
are active women now ; Mrs. Abraham Muzzall ; Mrs. Henry Hayward, 
younger than some of the others; Mrs. Bartlett Woods; Airs. Kenney and 
Mrs. Woodruff, of Orchard Grove; some from New England, some from 
Old England; and Mrs. Winslow, mother of A. A. Winslow, Consul to 
Guatemala. Mrs. J. C. Kinyon and Mrs. Henry Sanger both died in 1881. 

There are yet other names. Five earnest Christian women of West 
Creek township for a time, wh.o did much to make the central part of Lake 
Prairie, that gem of the prairie region, "bud and blossom like the rose," 
were Mrs. M. L. Barber, spending her latest years in Kansas, her sister, 
Mrs. Burhans, who closed her life in Hammond, Mrs. Little, mother of 
Hon. Joseph A. Little, and Mrs. Gerrish, and Mrs. Wason ; the last three 
from the Granite State, and all five with granite-like principle. 

A little group comes in here now of women of foreign birth, who had 
crossed the broad Atlantic, who had much to learn in regard to language 
and institutions, hut whose well trained children proved them to be true 
mothers, known )ears ago among us as Mrs. John Hack, Mrs. Giesen, Mrs. 
Dascher, Mrs Beckley. Mrs. Hack, so far as known, was the first German 
woman to find a home in the county. The sturdy sons and tall husliand that 
came with her are gene, but grandchildren and great-grandchildren live at 
Crown Point. Mrs. Gcisen is represented at Crown Point by two furniture 
dealers and undertakers, son and grandson. Mrs. Dascher came from the 
old countrv with a cluster of blooming, well trained girls around her, and 
one son. Her descendants yet live among us, and some of them are bloom- 
ing girls now. budding into womanhood. The descendants of Mrs. Beckley, 
that fervent, sensible, courteous, German Methodist woman, are somewhere 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 137 

in the world, living in a way, it is to be hoped, to do her memory honor. 

Here are the names of a very different group: Mrs. Calista Sherman, 
born in Vermont, dying in Crown Point when more than ninety-five years 
of age, one of our oldest women, who shared largely in the respect and 
esteem of the community; and connected with her may be named two 
daughters, Mrs. Farrington and Mrs. J. H. Luther. It is recorded of Mrs. 
Luther, who had no children of her own, that she was "a mother to some 
motherless girls, and one of our noblest women in relieving suffering hu- 
manity, in avoiding injurious gossip, in kindly deeds of friendship and 
neighborly regard." The next in this group is the name of Mrs. Rosalinda 
Holton, a sister of Mrs. Sherman, the youngest of thirteen children of the 
Smith family of Friends of Shrewsbury, Vermont, born July l8, 1795, dying 
m Crown Point when nearly eighty-nine years of age, at the home of Mrs. 
R. C. Young, where she had resided for many years. Next to her name 
belongs the name of her daughter, Mrs. R. Calista Young, mother of Charles 
H. Young, of Chicago, who has herself closed up a life not short, a life 
marked by large unselfishness, by untiring efforts for the good of those con- 
nected with her, by a steadfast Christian faith and hope. Five such women 
are not found in every community as were these two aged sisters and their 
daughters. 

Other names : Mrs. Vinnedge, head of a large family, a Methodist 
when sixteen years of age, an earnest church member through a long life; 
Mrs. Frank Fuller (Hannah Ferguson), mother of nine children; Mrs. 
Sarah R. Brown, who became the second wife of Amos Homor; Mrs. 
Mary M. Mason, daughter of Henry Farmer, becoming a resident in 1836, 
second wife of Deacon Cyrus M. Mason; Mrs. Martin Vincent (Mercy 
Pierce), married in 1837, the head of a well-known family, that is, the 
womanly head, the mother; Mrs. William Belshaw, born in 1824, a mem- 
ber of the Jones family, and who, then Miss Jones, was a teacher in two 
of the early log schoolhouses, one near Lowell, one near Pine Grove; Mrs. 
Lucy Taylor, wife of Adonijah Taylor, born in Connecticut, brought up in 



138 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Vermont, born in 1792, the mother of nine children, dying in 1869, "a highly 
respected and estimable Christian woman"; Mrs. Ebenezer Saxton of Wig- 
gins Point and Merrillville, a woman who had a fearful experience with a 
drunken Indian in the absence of her husband, the Indian, surly and cross, 
threatening the death of an infant in the cradle, she at length, when the In- 
dian slept, pouring out the remainder of the whiskey from his jug, watching 
the children through that long night, relieved at last of the presence of 
the Indian by Dr. Palmer, who came along some time in the morning of 
the next day. The girls and the mothers of that day had fortitude and 
courage. 

A few more names, for this is a grand list, including the names of many 
who were among the excellent of the earth. Mrs. McCarty, wife of Judge 
Benjamin McCarty, the mother of six sons and two daughters, was not only 
an early settler in Lake county but in Porter and La Porte, having a home 
in the latter county in 1832, 1833, and 1834. She was not young when 
coming into Lake county, some of her sons were young men, her daughters 
were young women, intelligent and cultivated all, and at Creston, in a 
little private cemetery her dust reposes. 

Mrs. Belshaw. an English Baptist, a mother of sons and daughters, also 
came from La Porte county, in middle age, to become an early resident in 
Lake. Hers was for a time a bright home. But death came, and her young 
daughter, eighteen years of age, was taken away from earth, and she with 
many of the large family found another home in the then distant Oregon, 
where one of her sons, who had married Candace McCarty, became a noted 
wheat raiser in that great wheat state. Other members of the Belshaw 
family yet remain in Lake county, and her name belongs of right among 
our worthy mothers and grandmothers. 

In a different part of the county, in the woodland north of Hanover 
Center, where was a great resort for deer, was the first home of another 
worthy woman, a Presbyterian church member, Mrs. Hackley. She was the 
mother of Mrs. W. A. Clark and Mrs. Pettibone, of Crown Point, and at 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 139 

length she and her husband had tlieir residence at Crown Point with Mrs. 
Clark. 

Other names are: Mrs. Robbins, of Brunswick and Lowell, both of 
whose sons fell as members of the Union Army; Mrs. Dudley Merrill, of 
Merrillville; Mrs. Krost, of Crown Point, the mother of four sons and two 
daughters; Mrs. Sohl, of Hammond, an early resident in the old North 
township, before Hammond was; Mrs. Payne, Mrs. Foley, Mrs. Stringliam, 
the earliest residents on Center Prairie, who did not long remain, but who 
helped to start civilization before their husbands removed; Mrs. Jones, a 
later resident than they, mother of Perry Jones, born in October, 1804, who 
lived among us to be almost ninety-six years old. One of our very aged 
women. "She retained her faculties well, enjoyed reading, and in her re- 
lations in life was an estimable woman." 

Mrs. Allman, the wife of Rev. M. Allman, spending many useful years 
in Crown Point, closed her days in Michigan. 

Mrs. Mary Hill, mother of Dr. Hill, of Creston, and of Mrs. Henry 
Surprise, a motherly woman indeed, of rare patience and untiring love, lived 
to complete eighty-four years of life. 

Mrs. Gibson, an early resident of the old North township of the county, 
closed her life in Chicago, eighty-seven years of age. 

The name of Underwood is prominent in Lake county and Mrs. Under- 
wood's name must be recorded here. She was the mother of five daughters, 
three of whom are yet living; Mrs. Harper and Mrs. Joy, of Hobart, and 
Mrs. Palmer, of Hebron. She was also the mother of several sons, of whom 
one is living east of Merrillville. She died many years ago at the home of 
her daughter, Mrs. Palmer, wife of Dr. Palmer, and was over ninety years 

of age. 

Three Later Residents, Not Pioneers. 

Another of our excellent women was Mrs. Reuben Fancher, who was in 

girlhood and young womanhood Mary Elizabeth Hawkins. She was born 

in Genoa, Cayuga county. New York, March 4, 1835. She was baptized 



140 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

February 17, 1856, and became a member of the Methodist Episcopal church 
September 28, 1856. She spent several years of life in Buffalo, and was 
active there in Sunday-school work, having charge of a mission class num- 
bering from fifty to one hundred members, which she taught for several 
years, thus gaining much experience in that grand work. 

August 17, 1859, she was married in Buffalo to Reuben Fancher, and 
they soon after came as permanent residents to Lake county, Indiana. She 
became before long a teacher in the Methodist Sunday-school, and her Chris- 
tian character and rich experience in that work made her a very valuable 
teacher to whom that school is largely indebted for the good done in the 
past. She was in Buffalo and Crown Point engaged in. that work for about 
twenty-five years. She kept a diary as some others in the county have done. 
January 11, 1897, when nearly sixty-two years of age, she passed from 
earth, leaving two daughters to follow in her footsteps and do good. 

The following is one of the resolutions adopted by Lake Lodge, of 
which her husband and son were members : "Resolved, That by her death 
Crown Point has been deprived of a highly respected Christian woman, 
whose character was beautiful, sincere, and pure, and whose home influence 
merited the emulation of all." Signed, James C. Gibbs, Edward A. Krost, 
Herman J. Lehman, Committee. 

Mrs. Lydia F. Flint, a member in girlhood of the large Smith family, 
was born July 16, 1825, in Franklin county. New York. She was married 
in Delaware county, Ohio, August 5, 1846, to William Flint. A son, 
James, was bom December 15, 1847. In the fall of 1859 the family came 
into Lake county, Indiana, where in 1862 her husband and son both died, 
leaving her a childless widow. She died May 22, 1903, having had a home 
for thirty years with her sister, Mrs. C. N. Morton. With no descendants 
to perpetuate her name and cherish her memory, as a good and true Chris- 
tian woman, her name deserves a place among our honored women. 

A third one of these later residents was Mrs. Hart, wife of A. N. Hart, 
of Dyer, mother of Malcolm and Milton Hart and Mrs. Biggs, of 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 141 

Crown Point, the family coming from Philadelpliia about 1855, and settling 
on the State Line at Dyer, while that part of the county was still quite new 
and wild. Mrs. Hart was not a frontier woman. Accustomed to the life 
of a city, she was retiring in her habits, and did not feel the necessity that 
women who had very young children did feel to enter very actively into 
the work of building up society around her. To her three sons and one 
daughter she gave mu.ch care, and to her diligent training they were much 
indebted. She had a strong native sense of justice, wishing to see all per- 
sons treated justly, without partiality. She loved beauty, and, brought up 
as she had been, she prized the true refinements of life. 

She spent the later years of her life at Crown Point, where she had an 
elegant residence built to suit her taste for beauty in architecture, now the 
residence of Mrs. Malcolm Hart. While not so widely known as were many 
other mothers the name of Mrs. A. N. Hart (one son and her one daughter, 
Mrs. F. N. Biggs, and some intimate friends yet living to cherish her 
memory) will stand here to represent a very cultivated, refined, and worthy 

woman. 

"Aunt Susan."' 

The next name to be recorded here is the name of a very motherly 
woman, who was not herself a mother, who was never married, but of whom, 
as doing a mother's part, it may truthfully be said, that many would rise 
up to do her honor. Susan Patterson Turner was born in Pennsylvania, 
February 27, 18 13. Her father's family were genuine pioneers. As the 
oldest child and the only daughter of the family of Samuel Turner of Eagle 
Creek, she was left in charge of the household through the winter of 1838, 
while the father and mother returned to La Porte county to find a more com- 
fortable winter abode. She and her brothers passed safely and well through 
the privations of that winter; and when, in 1871, her aged mother died, the 
care of the household, in which she as an only daughter had large experience, 
devolyed very fully upon her. To her brothers' children, who delighted to 
visit the old homestead, she was Aunt Susan, and as years came on, and her 



142 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

motherly capabilities and excellent qualities continued to be brought out 
she was known as "Aunt Susan" by a large community who highly appre- 
ciated her nobility of character. She died July 24, 1899. 

Mrs. Higgins, coming into Lake county as Diantha Tremper in 1844, 
was born near Niagara Falls in 1824. She became well acquainted with 
the families of the early settlers in both Lake and Porter counties. In 1847 
she was married to- Dr. J. Higgins, who in 1859 settled as a physician in 
Crown Point. In the earlier years of her life in Crown Point she was an 
active woman in the life around her. She trained up carefully her only 
child, now Mrs. Youche, and her one grandson, but in later years impaired 
health kept her more closely in her home. As a Christian woman her 
examples and influence were for good on those around her. She died in 
1895. In a printed memorial of her it was said: "A woman broad-minded, 
not taking narrow views in the great interests of humanity, cherishing 
warmly the domestic virtues, she will have a right to be remembered as one 
of those connected with our many pioneer women who have finished up their 
threescore years and ten of life, and have passed on before to the rest 
and the activities of the unseen world." 

And here may be added the names of faithful mothers who have lately 
[lassed from among us, Mrs. Jacob Wise and Mrs. Seymour Patton, both 
quite aged women, faithful to duties in their generation, both members of 
well known and substantial families. Grouped with these also may be the 
name of Mrs. James Patton, of Winfield, the mother of Mrs. Vansciver, of 
Crown Point. 

Mothers of Many Children. 

Among the mothers of large Lake county families must be placed, first, 
the name of Mrs. Flint, of Southeast Grove. Among the first settlers of 
that beautiful Grove were the members of this noted Methodist family. One 
daughter was the first wife of James H. Luther, one became the wife of 
Rev. D. Crumpacker, and one, the eighth child, Olive L., was the wife of 
Rev. Robert Hvde. There were, in all, fifteen children, and Mrs. Hyde en- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 143 

joyed the distinction of having seven brothers and sisters older and seven 
younger than herself. Mrs. Hyde died in Chicago, September 3, 1901, 
about seventy-five years of age. Of her mother, Mrs. Flint, not much is 
now known, but it is enough for this record that she brought up so large 
a family on firm religious principles, fitting them for stations of usefulness 
and honor. 

As the second among these mothers may be placed the name of Mrs. 
Scritchfield, of Creston, the mother of thirteen children, having very many 
grandchildren and great-grandchildren yet living. 

l"he third of these mothers is Mrs. Julius Demmon, in girlhood Nancy 
Wilcox, member of a pioneer family, married in 1850, the mother of six sons, 
and six daughters, and who in less than fifty years had sixty-one living 
grandchildren in Lake county. 

The attentive reader has noticed that many of the earlier mothers had 
from six to eight or ten children, and it was a pleasant thing to find in those 
cabin homes wide-awake boys, and cheerful, lively girls. Each of those 
large homes was a little world of itself. Home then was more like the old 
patriarchal times than is much of what is called home life now. Some be- 
lieve it was richer, purer, better than now. 

A place must be found on this roll of honor for the name of Mrs. 
Samuel Turner, of Eagle Creek, who was Jane Dinwiddle, born January ig, 
1783, a woman of Scotch-Irish blood, of Scotch Presbyterian principle, who 
was married to Samuel Turner at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, in February, 
1810, and with him came to a choice location on Eagle Creek, in Lake 
county, in 1838, becoming a permanent resident in 1839, then fifty-six years 
of age. Not many now live who knew her in the home circle, but her like- 
ness in the "Dinwiddle Clan Records" shows her to have been an estimable 
woman, and her grandchildren and great-grandchildre.i in Iowa and In- 
diana show that through her they inherited the blessing of having been "well 
born," a privilege to which it has been said all children have a right. 

The very close observer may notice that the first woman whose name 



144 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

is on this list was born January 15, 1783. and that the last one was born 
January 19, 1783, both born in the year that gave peace after the Ameri- 
can Revolution. They were our oldest pioneers. For the most part the 
women, as well as the men, who came to share privations here and lay 
foundations were rather j'oung, or in the prime of life. 

It is claimed as a saying of Napoleon Bonaparte, that what France 
most needed was mothers. That the mothers have much to do with what 
the children are and what they became is a well accepted fact. Mothers 
that were mothers had homes in Lake county two generations ago. And the 
names of at least some of them have been placed upon these pages. 

They could make bread and butter and cheese; they could wash and 
iron; they could sew and knit and spin wool into yarn, and some of them 
could weave that yarn into cloth ; they had spinning wheels and looms ; they 
could mold and dip candles; they could cut out garments and make them 
up ; they could keep domestics, girls and women to help them in their work, 
having no trouble in trying to reduce them to the position of "servants," 
for they gave them seats at the family table and places around the fireside, 
treating them as they would wish their own daughters to be treated; they 
were mothers indeed, and looked well after all the wants of their households, 
carrying out well in their living the instructions given to women, and imi- 
tating well the model placed before women, in the Bible. 

They were not what is called in this day "society women"; they were 
not members of any Clubs or of Secret Orders ; they knew nothing of mod- 
ern "functions." They made visits and had dinners together and some- 
times suppers; they had apple-paring bees, and quilting bees, and donation 
parties; they had much social life, attending camp-meetings and associations 
and other religious meetings. They were largely keepers at home, yet 
were they sociable, friendly, hospitable. Such were our mothers and grand- 
motjiers, the early settlers here sixty years ago. And when the time came 
for a thousand of the sons of Lake to go forth, from eighteen hundred homes, 
containing about nine thousand people, to join the mighty American Army 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 145 

in fighting for the lite of the nation, this thousand went from homes where 
there were mothers with loyal as well as loving hearts. 

Of our little army of noble pioneer women, probably three or four hun- 
dred in number, there are living descendants now in the county to carry out 
in the life of this generation the rich results of their influence and their 
virtues. 

I am not claiming for any of them, those named and those not named, 
great brilliancy of intellect, fascinating social endowments, or remarkable 
talents, but I do claim that so long as there is a county of Lake, so long 
the influence of our noble women will endure. 

That women have done a large work in the county in promoting educa- 
tion is beyond any question. A deep and lasting impression on education 
and literature, in this county and outside of its borders, was made by the 
school carried on for so many years by Mrs. J. A. H. Ball. And from the 
day that Miss Ursula Ann Jackson, of West Creek, commenced to teach a 
public school in Pleasant Grove the first Monday of May, 1838, until this 
present time, women, and even quite young girls, have done a large part 
of the teaching in the public schools. Rev. Mr. Townley, who conducted a 
large school in Crown Point from about 1848 till 1856, speaking of his 
school which furnished many teachers for the public schools, stated in 
November, 1852, that he had had up to that time nearly five hundred scholars, 
and that not five young men had gone out as teachers. In later years teach- 
ers have received higher wages and more young men have accordingly been 
willing to engage in teaching. The women in all these years have been 
prominent in church work, in temperance work, in mission work; and when 
the time came in 1861 and in the following years to provide relief and com- 
forts for sick and suffering soldiers, then the homekeeping women imme- 
diately formed aid societies and sent relief to the hospitals and camps. Two 
of their number, of pioneer families, Mrs. Sarah Robinson and Miss Eliza- 
beth Hodson, went forth from their homes in Lake to the hospitals at Mem- 
phis, and there helped to care for the sick, the wounded, the dying. It is 



146 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

no more than justice, it is not courtesy, that tlie names, the deeds, the 
memorials, of our pioneer women should find some room and place along 
with the memorials of their husbands and their sons. 

Lake county has been represented by one Christian missionary in dis- 
tant India. Mrs. Annie Morgan, a daughter of Judge Turner of Crown 
Point, a member in her childhood of the Crown Point Presbyterian Sunday 
school, becoming a Baptist and having been married to Rev. Freeman Mor- 
gan, a Baptist minister, left her native land with him in October, 1879, 
bound for Southern Asia, and there both entered upon mission work among 

the Telugus. 

Lake County Miscellany. 

By T. H. Ball. 

THE PIONEER CHILDREN AND NATURE. 

Each generation has, to some extent, privileges, opportunities, and ad- 
vantages, not bestowed, in the same degree, on other generations. 

In this short paper the writer proposes to notice the superior advantages 
which the pioneer children enjoyed in teholding natural beauty, and so, if 
their opportunities were improved, in securing the two great benefits to be 
derived from the cultivation of a love for nature, the refinement of the dis- 
position, and the increase of the means of happiness. 

That a true love for natural beauty, as seen on the earth and in the sky, 
is refining and may increase largely life's enjoyment, will be taken at present 
as granted. The proofs, if needed, are to be found abundantly in human 
observation and experience. And so, realizing and recognizing that some 
beautiful landscape views may yet be seen in this county, especially in the 
southern townships, some beauties peculiar to the pioneer times will now be 
named. 

First of all among these were the wild prairies, the prairies with their 
native vegetation and their native inhabitants. Before a furrow had been 
turned, a shrub or tree planted, a house or fence constructed, in the spring 
and early summer the carpet of green grass, with a few early flowers scattered 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 147 

here and there, was charming to the eye ; but when the warm summer came, 
with its ever glorious sunshine, and the polar plant, which the children called 
rosin-weed, attained the height of six or seven feet, the grass then thick 
and tall, the beds of phlox, as rich as in an Eastern garden, covering large 
areas, the meadow lilies open to the sunshine, the broad leaves of the prairie 
dock having attained full growth, and rich colored, true prairie flowers in 
great abundance, of many varieties, open on every side, — then was the beauty 
of the prairie enchanting. There were no real weeds till man's plowshare 
turned over the prairie sod, and richer in color, greater in variety, more 
abundant even to profusion the flowers became as the summer approached the 
golden autumn. Then, as one would be riding on horseback amid the green 
verdure and tall polar plants, for roads and buggies were not then, and only 
a few venturesome children went out any distance on foot into the wilder- 
ness of beauty that lay in its bewildering extent of area before them; here 
and there would suddenly start up, as from under the very feet of the horse, 
the pinnated grouse, the chickens of the prairie, the true denizens of all this 
prairie region, and both horse and rider would be startled as one after another, 
in quick succession, from ten to twenty of those beautiful wild fowls would 
fly up On every side and sail away and soon sink down out of sight in that 
abundant verdure, amid which for many and many a summer their progenitors 
had been so secure. In that thick, rank, tall vegetation, no eye was likely to 
see them. 

Again, sometimes the rider would see not far away some of those other 
true tenants of the wilds, perhaps two or three prairie wolves, or one alone, 
seldom only one, on that apparently slow lope or gallop, which nevertheless 
took them through the grass- and over the flower beds quite rapidly, and soon 
they too would be out of sight. Perhaps, again, the horseback rider would 
see, on some distant grass covered eminence, forty or more sandhill cranes 
going through some kind of evolution which the pioneers called a dance. 

None of these beautiful and entertaining sights which delighted the 
pioneer children can the children of this generation behold. All that rich 
beauty, and wild life from our prairies has forever gone. 



us HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Then there were other sights not pecuHar to the prairies, the bounding 
iPfl-.ieer of tiie woodlands and the wild pigions in prodigious numbers, which 
the children of Lake can here never more see. Tliose pigeons, perhaps, gone 
fore\er froi all our land, were, in form, in color, in motion, rich embodied 
beauty. The eyes of none of us will see those thousands of wild pigeons 
again as once they were in these woodlands, on our few grain fields, and some- 
times passing, by hundreds of thousands, in the sky above us. 

And yet again, the children of those days saw natural streams of water. 
Cedar Creek and Eagle Creek, winding amid their grassy banks along narrow 
valleys, were then beautiful streams. They have been turned into ditches 
now. And so have West Creek and Turkey Creek, and other once pretty 
water courses, and who ever saw much beauty in a ditch? Doubtless there 
are children in this county now who never saw one of those ever beautiful 
objects in nature, a real, purling brook. And how can they appreciate such 
gems of poetry as this : "The noise as of a running brook in the leafy 
month of June, Which to the sleeping woods all night singeth a quiet 
tune." Instead of winding brooks, of which at Plum Grove a part of one 
is left, our water courses, like our roads and railroads, must now be made, 
as far as practicable, to go in straight lines. Utility takes the place of beauty. 

There is beauty yet left on the clouds, and on the morning and evening 
sky. but houses and barns and orchards and shade trees and shrubbery so 
obstruct the \iews that few children now observe or have a chance to see a 
fair, clear sunrise gilding the prairie and the woodlands with its rich hues 
of ruby or of gold ; or those magnificent sunsets which some of us as children 
were privileged to enjoy, when huge masses of vapor like distant moun- 
tains seemed to be piled up in the west, and the setting sun, seeming to sink 
down into their fleecy folds, painted on them for a time golden, or purple, 
or crimson hues, or violet and ruby, the richest coloring, — unless some- 
times, once or twice in a lifetime the same may be seen at night on the 
inTtliern sky, — that nature ever presents to our view. Such sunsets as were 
seen in this county in the years long past no artist can paint. Such coloring 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 149 

man does not mix. But sometimes, with all the western horizon and blue sky 
cloudless, the sun would seem to touch the edge of the horizon, and on 
the line of prairie or hehind a few trees, like a large red or golden globe of 
fire, almost too bright even then for the eye steadily to rest upon, would slowly 
yet soon disappear from sight, seeming to leave an open doorway into a world 
of dazzling glory. The rich beauty of pure, unstained light, could at such 
times be felt. 

And there was more, much more of animated nature full of beauty then, 
at which there is no time now to glance. The children of the pioneer days 
did see what our eyes never can behold. 

Even the prairie fires, too grand, too magnificent, and sometimes too de- 
structive, to give that sense of delight which beauty gives, were sometimes 
very pleasing to the eyes of childhood. Into the mouth of one of Ossian's 
heroes these words are put : "The columns of smoke pleased well mine eyes ; 
I knew not then wherefore the maidens wept." And when there was no 
feeling of destruction children saw with delight the long lines of flame and 
the columns of smoke when after sweeping through the tall grass of the 
Kankakee Marsh the flames spread northward upon the prairie. 

Truly, the children of the pioneer years saw earth and sky with little 
to obstruct their range of vision. 

And this region was then, amid all its wild beauty a very fitting great 
temple in which to worship God. 

In these our days, much is said of art, something is taught of art. An 
evening lecture was given not long ago to the assembled teachers of Lake 
county and the subject was. Art in familiar things. And that was well. 
But who teaches the children to love natural l:)eauty? Who teaches, "There's 
beauty all around our paths, if but our watchful eyes could trace it mid 
familiar things, and through their lowly guise?"' Who teaches the children 
now, as many pioneer children learned, amid the delightful opportunities 
and privileges which they enjoyed, to look through nature up to nature's 
God? To many of the pioneer children, in their great wilds of nature, before 



150 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

there were cities or towns, or temples for worship as made with men's 
hands, God was very near. 

LANDSCAPES. 

I am unwilHng that this large volume of biographical sketches should 
go out among the later inhabitants of the county, (a county now containing 
a population of about forty thousand, many more than half of them residing 
in cities and towns or in villages), without some mention being made in 
it of our beautiful country views. And so in this chapter headed "Miscel- 
lany," is placed a paper concerning our landscapes. 

Webster gives as his first definition of the word landscape, "A portion 
of land or territory which the eye can comprehend in a single view, including 
all the objects it contains." Of course a prairie region, a moderately level 
region such as is Lake county, can have nothing of the grandeur of moun- 
tain scenery. The writer of this has stood on the summit of the New Hamp- 
shire Mount Washington ; has passed through Dixville Notch ; has crossed 
the Cumberland and the Alleghany Mountains; and he knows and admires 
mountain scenery. But he is sure there have been beautiful views in this 
sand ridge and woodland, prairie and marsh region of Lake. Some of 
these he will name. 

Near the village of Lake Station, from the top of a large sSnd hill, 
the northward view, on a clear summer afternoon, is full of interest to a 
lover of natural scenery. "The eye rests upon a part of the valley of Deep 
River; and just beyond is the village of Lake, surrounded by hills and woods, 
the fans for raising water reminding one of Don Quixote's windmills, and 
the vegetation giving evidence of the beds of sand from which it derives its 
nourislimeiit." The railroad grounds in this village are large and neat, 
the finest in the county, and the distance is sufficient to give to the buildings 
a fine effect. 

From various hill tops in the north part of the county beautiful views 
could be enjoyed a few years ago, "the sweep of vision from these taking 
in a portion of Lake Michigan's blue waters, and the pines, and sand hills, 
and valleys of the shore. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 161 

Some very pretty \ie\vs are found along a ridge of land which separates 
the Turkey Creek and Deep River localities and valleys, and especially near 
the once Red School-house or Vincent neighborhood. Looking northward 
one can see the woodland ridges which run parallel with the Little Calu- 
met River, and southward and westward one can look over a broad area of 
undulating prairie, the first breadth of prairie upon which Solon Robinson 
and his party looked, October 31, 1834, the emotions produced by which he 
called "indescribable." 

From this ridge also, looking across the prairie and Deep River valley, 
Crown Point presents, at the right time of day, a very pretty picture standing 
forth in the sunlight on its prairie eminences with the woodland height for a 
rich background. Another fine view of the town may also be obtained 
from an eminence near the eastern limit of the county, the distance being 
sufficient to give to the woodland on the west that beautiful hue of blue. 

The main prairie portion of Lake county is in two divisions. The one 
south of Crown Point is Robinson Prairie; the one in Hanover and West 
Creek townships is Lake Prairie. The small ones have borne the names 
of Eagle Creek, Bostwick, Prairie West, and Center. On Robinson Prairie, 
south of Crown Point, are eminences from which one can look over some 
miles of prairie, then across five or six miles of Kankakee valley Jand, once 
called marsh, and at length the vision ends along a line of blue which marks 
the course of the Kankakee River, beyond which from no prairie height 
can the eye see over into Jasper and Newton counties, unless sometimes 
the steam from an engine may be seen far down on the Monon Railroad. 

There is yet left a beautiful landscape which one beholds when coming 
northward from the Lowell and Hebron road, on the west side of the 
Eagle Creek valley, when emerging from the shrubbery and the grove, sud- 
denly there spreads out before one the prairie and valley courses of Deep 
River and Eagle Creek as once these were, and the village of Le Roy as 
now it is, and the open view far northward, once a green prairie in sum- 
mer, but now dotted over with fields, and houses, and barns, and orchards. 



152 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

But the landscape is Ijeautiful still, and it comes so unexpectedly upon one 
who has not gone that way before. 

LAKE PR.MRIE VIEWS. 

Mis. Nannie \X. Ames, a daughter of Rev. H. Wason, of New Eng- 
land descent and training, a cultivated woman, wrote the following at the 
time of Lake County's Semi-Centennial : 

"Lake Prairie has been called the 'Gem of the county,' and certainly 
it well deserves the fair name. Twenty-five years ago, Professor Mills, of 
Wabash College, stood on a knoll on Mr. Peach's farm, and looking around 
till his eye met the woods that encircle the gently rolling land, said : 'I 
have been thirty years in the West and have Ijeen in every county in the 
State, and never but once ha\e I seen so beautiful a view.' Other strartgers 
from the East. South, and West have said the same thing." Mrs. Ames 
continues: "The scene has changed in this quarter of a century but has 
only gained in beauty. Now. as far as the eye can reach, may be seen com- 
fortable houses and farm buildings, orchards and shade trees, with here and 
there a bordering of deep green osage : while still farther in the distance the 
tall windmills point out the homes beyond the range of vision." This writer 
may be more than commonly fond of the wildness of nature, and, perhaps, 
partial to Lake Prairie as once it was, and so he will only add here, that he 
prefers the beauty of sixty years ago, which he knew so well, to the more 
improved beauty of the present. 

Also it may be added, that from other eminences, further north than 
the one mentioned by Mrs. Ames, some beautiful views may be obtained, the 
range of vision taking in all of that rich prairie, about ten miles from north 
to south, bounded on the west by the West Creek woodlands, by the Cedar 
Creek woods on the east, on the south, five miles beyond the prairie limit, 
extending over groves and marshland, reaching to the long line of blue that 
marks the course of the Kankakee River. 

LAKE COUNTY CROW ROOSTS. 

The early settlers of Lake county, Indiana, found crows here, and they 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 153 

have been liere ever since. Tliey are probably more numerous now than 
they were in 1837, for they can now find a greater variety of food and they 
find it in greater abundance. Tlie Indians no doubt helped them to some 
food, but the whites help them to much more. 

Among our black-birds there has been seen a real white one, a true 
Candida meriila, but so far as known all our crows have been black, like those 
of whom that poem was written called "The Three Black Crows." The 
main roosting places of our crows in these latter years have l->een, in num- 
ber, two. One of these is nine miles northwest from Crown Point ; the other 
is five miles south. 

The one south is in an evergreen grove which covers an area of about 
four acres, set out for a wind-breaker in the center of the broad Robinson 
Prairie many years ago, the trees Scotch pine, Austrian pine, and some 
larch. This grove, the trees being very close together, makes a grand shelter 
for any of our birds, and the crows gather there at night by the hundreds, 
and have been estimated at fully one thousand. 

The roosting place, northwest of Crown Point, is by the side of the 
Pan Handle Railroad, on land formerly owned by Mr. A. N. Hart, who 
would not allow the first crows that came there to be disturbed. They sought 
near him a quiet resting place and they found it. He allowed no shooting 
near them. The tract of land came next into the possession of Mr. Malcolm 
T. Hart, one of the wealthy men of the county, and he followed his father's 
example, and the numljer of the trusting crows increased. 

That large estate is now in the hands of Mrs. M. T. Hart and her daugh- 
ter. Marguerite M. Hart, and they also are friendly toward the crows. Those 
that come here for night shelter and rest probably number thousands. They 
leave in the early morning, going westward and southward and return from 
their Illinois foraging grounds from sunset time till quite late in the evening. 
Ever since the raven went out from Noah's ark the black-feathered birds 
of the raven and crow kinds seem to have been successful in procuring food. 



154 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

AN OLD LANDMARK. 

As tlie niontli of October, 1902, was drawing to a close an old land- 
mark in Crown Point began to disappear. A building on Court Street, 
northwest of the northwest corner of the present public square, bad been 
standing on that spot of ground Ijeyond the reach of memory of most of 
the present inhabitants of the town. The oldest locust tree of the town stood 
in front of it, back of it was in 1834 an Indian garden spot, and near by was 
then a spring of water. There, October 31, 1834, Solon Robinson and 
family pitched their tent, the Robinson record says, "by the side of a spring." 

The next day, November i, 1834, work commenced with axes for erect- 
ing a log cabin, and in four days the family left the tent and moved into 
what they called their new house. New it certainly was, made of the logs 
of trees that w^ere standing in that grove or woodland four days before. 
Additions to that first cabin were evidently made in 1835, but whether any 
portion of the log structure which was afterwards covered with siding and 
which had been on that spot, in 1902, more than sixty years, contained the 
first pile of logs is somewhat uncertain. Perhaps the south part of the entire 
structure, which was removed in November, 1902, to make room for a 
large livery barn, was the cabin of 1834, and, if so, had been standing for 
sixty-eight years. Of the part that for a time was left standing, a two- 
story building, the lower part of logs, the upper story of frame work, no one 
now living can tell when it was erected. Probably not, at least not com- 
pleted, till after the log court house was built in 1837, certainly not till after 
some sawed lumber could be obtained and nails came into use. In the con- 
struction of Lake county's first buildings no nails were used. 

Two only are living who were residents in Crown Point in 1837, and 
thev were then girls too young to know alx)ut the building of the Robinson 
home or the log court house. Three are yet living, who may have seen those 
buildings in 1837. Mr. William A. Taylor, Mr. Nathan Wood, and Mr. J. 
Kenney; and one other is living, the writer of this, who was in what is 
now Crown Point, five or six times in 1837. He probably knows as much 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 155 

about the buildings of that year as any one now living. But whenever 
built, this oldest house in Crown Point when 1902 closed, some oart of 
the tenement as it was November 5, 1902, dating back to 1835, possibly to 
1834, it has an interesting history. And as the home of the founder of 
Crown Point that history should be preserved. 

At this home spot, quite certainly not inside of the log walls, was 
organized "The Squatters' Union of Lake County," the first action here of 
American citizens in exercising their right of governing themselves. The 
record which is beyond question as to its accuracy says, this was done "at a 
meeting of a majority of the citizens of Lake county held at the hou.se of 
Solon Robinson on the fourth of July, 1836." The record says at the house, 
but it does not say in the house, and one who was present said the meeting 
was in the open air, in the grove. 

In 1837 this home was opened several times by its hospitable owners 
for religious worship, probably the first dwelling thus used in Crown Point, 
among the first thus used in all of Lake county. 

This building was for many years the bright home of the Robinson 
family, where were born Dr. L. G. Bedell, now a noted physician of Chicago, 
and her brother Charles, and where with these an older brother and sister 
spent the sunny years of childhood and of youth ; and where -sometimes 
for visiting, sometimes for dancing, would meet the youth and beauty of 
Crown Point. They who still dance among the young ladies of Crown 
Point dance in larger rooms now and not on puncheon floors. 

Marriages and changes took place and the ne.xt of our historic families 
to make that house a bright living home was a member of the Holton family, 
Mrs. Calista Young, where her son Charles Young, now of Chicago, grew 
up to manhood; where, in 1884, her aged mother died, and in the same 
year, after a residence in Crown Point of about five years, her mother's sis- 
ter's son, Mr. Clement Brown; and where Solon Robinson, with his Florida 
wife, made a short sojourn on his last visit to Crown Point. 

After Mrs. Young went to Indianapolis to live with her son, then Deputy 



156 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Secretary of State, one more representative of one of our historic families 
found there a home. Mr. Wilham Clark, a grandson of Judge \Mlliam 
Clark, the Clark family having heen intimately associated with the Robinson 
family ;n the pioneer days. Mrs. William Clark opened a millinery store in 
the log building, which was then becoming old. Some tenants occasionally 
occupied it afterwards. 

Thus it has gone through its changes. An inviting home place for one 
connected family for more than half a century; at last furnishing an office 
room for Mr. J. S. Holton in a part of the year 1902. Before that year 
closed the south part, the logs eighteen feet long (in one room of which 
this writer, then a youth, remembers to have slept as one of the guests of 
the Robinson family), was all removed, the north part, the logs also eighteen 
feet long, and apparently all solid, then left standing. 

One only is known to be living who was in the log cabin of 1834, and she 
was too young to know nnich difference Ijetween a cabin or a palace. 
It was enough for her that it was home. 

The next record for this page is: March 2, 1903, Monday. To-day 
the remaining portion of the Robinson house was removed to make way 
for the printing office soon to be erected on this spot by J. J. Wheeler, whose 
wife is a granddaughter of the old log house builder. And so' the spot 
where for many years was a pioneer htime, where ministers of the Gospel 
ha\e preached, where young people have often met, where births and deaths 
ha\e been, is soon to be, probably for many years to come, the home of 
journalism, the abode of printing presses, and the day home lor those who 
do type setting and ])ress work, and who thus will help to enrich with 
printed thought thousands of living homes. But for the historic page, few 
would know, in the years that are expected to come, that in this locality 
was erected one of Lake county's earliest log cabins. 

1843. .\ GOLPEN WEDDING. 1893. 

Fiftv vears, as we forward look. 

Seem as years slow moving and long; 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 157 

Fifty years, as we backward look. 

From grayliaired age to cliildhood's song, 
Seem only as yesterdays gone far by. 

Yesterday ! Yesterday ! How the days fly ! 

Fifty full years have passed away since that marriage ceremony took 
place in the northwestern home of the Cedar Lake community whose golden 
anniversary brings -us together to-day. 

It will be fitting for me, a youth at Cedar Lake then, an inhabitant here 
now. and having for many years been giving some close attention to the 
times that go over us, to the history which we are making, to the changes 
which every year brings, to place before you, among the thoughts of this 
hour, some facts connected with that locality and the half century now past. 

Then, fifty years ago, in this northwestern corner of Indiana, across 
which so many thousands have this year passed, this year of 1893, going in 
crowded cars to reach the White City, settlements, homes, institutions, as 
e.stablished by descendants of Europeans, were not only comparatively but 
actually new. Nine years had seen quite a number of families making homes 
in the woodlands on lands which the Pottawatomie Indians had but lately 
vacated. 

In 1843 ^^'^ '"'^'J '" ^^^ Lake county about as many inhabitants as are 
now in St. John townsliip alone, or alwut sixteen or seventeen hundred; 
we had a few schoolhouses, mostly built of logs; there was a Catholic chapel 
on the Hack place and a Methodist church building in the Hayden and 
Hathaway neighborhood; there were three or four postoffices; there were a 
few stores, a few frame buildings, and one piano. 

Pioneer families had erected cabins and made homes from the border 
of the Kankakee marsh northward, in the edge of what became known as the 
West Creek woods, extending to the head waters of that little stream known 
as West Creek. Landmarks along that line of settlements were the pioneer 
homes that bore the names of Torrey, Wilkinson, Wiles, Bond, Hornor, and 
Greene. That West Creek stream was just called little, but it formed, be- 



158 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

cause of the wide marsh}- valley through which it flowed and the quick- 
sands along its course, an impassable barrier between the families on the 
west side and those on the east. As a necessity for travel the Torrey bridge 
was built, and afterward the bridge on the road running west from Cedar 
Lake. 

Of about a dozen pioneer families forming the Cedar Lake neighbor- 
hood of the west side of the lake, already, in 1843, some had returned to the 
Wabash, some had gone westward to the new frontier, — it was becoming 
too thickly settled for them, — and some had changed their localities. Of 
these the Greene family, consisting of Dr. Joseph Greene, the early physician 
of the neighborhood and an expert deer hunter, Sylvester Greene and his 
wife and children, and a young brother, Edward Greene, had left their home 
near the head waters of the eastern branch of West Creek, and had settled 
on the north bank of Cedar Lake; and' in their place had come into the 
woodland, to a cabin home, roswell hackley, then in middle age, with his 
wife, his son, Edwin, and two daughters, then entering womanhood, Miss 
Mary and Miss Eliza, healthy, vigorous, enterprising, entering heartily into 
the few varieties of social life which were enjoyed by that little neighbor- 
hood of resolute pioneers. 

At that time the West Creek woods were alive with deer, beautiful 
American red deer, browsing in the winter and then lying down on their 
snowy beds in the rich, sheltered hazel copses, finding water in those ever 
flowing springs that helped to feed the marshy stream, and in the summer 
enjoying the fine pasture range of twelve miles of woodland valleys and 
ravines, of sunny glades and sheltered nooks. Fifty years ago those woods 
were beautiful, well fitted to be the home of the red deer, the squirrels, the 
rabbits, and the quails, or of wood nymphs and fairies of the older days. 
At that time also, while all our native wild game was abundant, civilization 
was advancing and the conveniences of life were on the increase. Oxen 
were still largely used as domestic animals, and sometimes the ox teams 
would convey the families to the places of Sabbath worship. Carriages, cov- 
ered buggies, or buggies without covers, were few indeed. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 159 

The members of the Ball and Hackley families would sometimes go 
up to Crown Point to church together, the place of meeting being then and 
for years afterwards the log court house. 

The winter of 1842 and 1843 ^^'^s a severe one and was called the "hard 
winter." It commenced in the middle of November and on the eighth of 
the next May cattle barely found sufficient grass on which to !i\e. Many had 
perished for want of food. 

In the spring of 1843 the scarlet fever in a malignant form visited 
Crown Point, and for the first time the inhabitants found it needful to select 
a place for the burial of their dead. 

Fifty years, therefore, takes us far back in our life upon this soil as a 
civilized community of white settlers. 

So far as appears in any of our records we celebrate to-day, of those 
married in Lake county, the first Golden Wedding. 

In the summer of 1843, o" the east side of Cedar Lake, on Cedar Point 
blufif, a campmeeting was held. Then, how many times before I know not, 
Mr. Wellington A. Clark met Miss Mary Hackley. He met her several 
times afterwards. And December 7, 1843, they were married. 

Judge Wilkinson, the first probate judge of Lake county (around whom 
had been, not helping but laughing Indians, when in raising the logs for 
his cabin walls a heavy one would slide back upon his wife and son and 
himself), came up along that belt of woodland to the northern home, to con- 
duct the ceremony, "to solemnize" the marriage. He took his rifle along 
with him, and shot one of those red deer before he reached the Hackley 
home. Besides the family of five and the bridegroom and the Judge, there 
were present three guests, making ten in all that day within the cabin walls. 

Over the fifty years of sacred family history between then and now, 
with its lights and its shadows, its joys and its griefs, its successes and re- 
verses, I am not to glance. But I may safely and appropriately say that 
the difference is very great in this county of ours, with its more than one 
hundred schools, its sixty churches, its dozen railroads, its manufacturing 



160 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

establishments, its many towns and villages, its twenty-five thousand in- 
habitants, between this \\'orld's Fair year of 1893 ^'i*^! t^^^t year of 1843 to 
which we have cast a glance backward to-day. Xot only is the difference 
very great here, but great over all the civilized and all the savage world. 

Golden weddings should remind us of securing a home in the Golden 
City. 

HUNTING WILD HOGS. 

How deer were hunted is quite well understood, but not many now in 
Lake county know anything about hunting up wild hogs. .\ very short ac- 
count of how this was done ought to be of interest to the boys of the 
county who may have some of the hunter instincts but have little game to 
hunt except wild rabbits. 

The word "up," used above, was inserted for a purpose. Wild hogs, as 
this writer knew them, were not hunted like deer, to be shot and killed; but 
were hunted up when autumn came, by those who claimed them, that they 
might ha\e food and care in the winter. It will appear at once that these 
hogs were not wild in the same sense in which the deer were wild, for they 
had clainiers. they had nominal owners. 

In those early \ears of the settlement of this county all domestic animals 
were allowed a free range in the woodlands and on the prairies. They had 
no right to go into the settler's gardens and small grain fields, but some- 
times they would do even that. Hogs were to be marked, and this was 
done by clippings in their ears, and each owner's mark was to be recorded in 
a book kept at the county seat. While a hog had only two ears it was 
curious how many marks, all different of course, could be made on the 
ears, some marking the right ear, some the left, some marking both ears, 
perhaps one unlike the other, some cutting a little notch, some making a 
slit, some marking on the top with a little notch cut off and some marking at 
the bottom, and so in various ways that each man might prove his own. If 
one hungry family stole a hog the first thing to do was to dispose of the 
ears. Having this matter understood, that hogs going out from their win- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 161 

ter homes, some of them not to be seen again till the next winter was near 
at hand, carried their marks with them, the readers of this are better pre- 
pared to understand what is meant by hunting them up. 

The readers should also recall to mind the fact that the hogs of those 
days were not Berkshires, nor Poland China, nor any of the modem im- 
proved breeds; but the long bodied, long limbed racers, that could run 
rapidly, turn on their sides and go through a small opening in a worm fence, 
and that knew well how to look out for themselves. 

One illustration now of hunting: A colony of these had lived on the 
Bond place, in what in different connections has been called the West Creek 
woods. Some of these were transferred by purchase to the west side of Cedar 
Lake. They spent the winter contentedly at their new home. In the spring 
they left, and there was no doubt in the owner's mind that they had crossed 
Lake Prairie and had gone back to their old haunts in the woods of West 
Creek. Autumn came. It was now 1840, and the owner, with a young 
man twenty-one years of age and a youth of fourteen, proposed to hunt 
them, up, those runaway hogs, and bring them back to their new home. 
Each hunter was quite well mounted. They were all New Englanders and 
had little experience with such animals. They took corn in their saddle 
bags with their lunch. The weather was then delightful and to them all. 
those woods, so new to them and wild, were charming. Along in the 
afternoon, after a quite long search, some hogs were seen. The horses were 
tied. The young man and the youth were instructed to keep hid, that is, 
behind trees out of sight, and the owner, taking some ears of corn, advanced 
cautiously towards the acorn eating hogs, keeping as much as possible a row 
of trees between him and them. At length he threw part of an ear of corn. 
The hogs looked up. It was evident that besides those that had gone away 
in the spring were many young animals with unmarked ears that had never 
tasted corn nor seen a man. And they were wild. Wild as young deer or 
wolves. Tlie older ones were wild too now, so far as coming near to a 
man. Some more corn was thrown. The younger ones tasted it. They 



162 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

seemed to like it well. Slowly the man came out from behind his tree. 
The young animals were very wary, but they continued to eat corn while 
the man who threw it to them drew quite near. Then, unfortunately, the 
young man thought he could safely come out from behind his tree. The 
young hogs saw him, they gave a peculiar sound, it was not ? squeal nor a 
grunt, it was more like a bark, there may be some yet living who have heard 
such a sound, and immediately, not in a minute but almost in a second, 
there was no hog, no pig in sight. They were seen no more that day, and 
the disappointed hunters mounted their horses and went home, being sure 
that they had learned some lessons in hunting and treating wild hogs. 

It was not considered needful to give up that fine drove of pigs and 
hogs, for one failure. It would not l>e good stock-raising. So another visit 
to the woods was made by the same three hunters. In the course of the 
day the drove was again found. The same caution and e.xtra caution was 
used in feeding them. They were more hungry and they liked the corn. 
They at length came up close to the one who fed them. He reached and at 
length mounted his Imrsc and kept feeding those young, now trusting shoats. 
starting eastward fur the prairie. The drove followed quite close to the 
heels of the horse. They went out of the woods, crossed the prairie quite 
rapidly, the two young hunters on their horses bringing up the rear. They 
reached their home liefore nightfall, gave the trusting animals that followed 
the corn a gootl place for sleeping and for winter quarters, and the three all 
felt that they knew something about hunting up wild hogs. 

SOME CEDAR LAKE INCIDENTS. 

About 1680 the first white man of whom any trace has been found near 
the shore of this once beautiful lake, stood upon the well wooded height of 
the northeastern bank. It is high and wooded now. It must have been high 
and wooded then. Huw is it known that a white man was there then? 
for of his presence there are no written records. Who was he? What could 
he have lieen doing there, only some sixty years after the landing of the 
Mavllower at Plvmouth Rock? One question at a time, please, and listen to 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 163 

the answers. We know a man was there at some time because he left 
his mark. 

A man sinks into the great ocean and leaves no trace. A man, espe- 
cially a white man, steps into one of our forests called primeval, and he 
may only sink his sharp axe an inch or two into a tree and for years its im- 
press is left. He camps for a night upon the wide prairie and he may leave 
there a tin dish or a tent-pin made of iron, and years afterwards the ob- 
servant pioneer says, as his plowshare touches it, this is not an Indian relic. 
A white man made it and no doubt a white man left it here. And so we 
read in the forest or on the prairie the presence once of a white man. 

The historic fact is this: About 1850 a large oak tree was cut down 
which had grown upon that wooded height, and near the very heart of the 
tree was found a piece of steel, a little instrument an inch and a quarter in 
length, with a round shaft the size of a clay pipe stem, the head, on the top 
flat and very smooth, and having twelve sides each smooth and well wrought, 
and the point end not a point but having an edge like an axe. For what 
use this was made no one knows, but that it did not grow of itself in the 
tree is very certain. Even an evolutionist could not believe that. Some 
one drove it into an oak sapling and the wood and bark formed year by 
year, and as the wood could not crowd the steel out it grew over it, covered 
it from human view, protected it from rain and frost, and there at length 
it was found in the heart of a majestic oak. According to the woodmen 
count and estimate, that tree had been growing nearly two hundred years. 
The instrument itself, now in the possession of Mrs. M. J. Cutler, a sister 
of T. H. Ball, shows that it was not the work of an Indian. It came most 
probably from some European workshop. And almost surely a white man, 
himself from Europe, placed it, for some purpose, in that young oak. Who 
was that white man? Knowledge on that point there is none; but con- 
jectures may lawfully be offered. 

About the time when that large Cedar Lake oak was young and thrifty, 
men from France were in this then thoroughly wild region, the first white 



16-t HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

men. so far as is known, that ever were here. Tlie names of two of these 
are well known in early American history. One was called Hennepin and the 
other La Salle. 

Louis Hennepin was not a Jesuit but a Franciscan. He accompanied 
La Salle's expedition of 1679. Passing through the lakes Erie, Huron, and 
Michigan, these with the men who were with them passed in canoes up to 
a portage on the St. Joseph River, then across to the Kankakee River, and 
down that river to the Illinois River, and down that river to a place near ihe 
present Peoria. 

In February of 1680 Hennepin, as instructed by La Salle, started in a 
canoe on a voyage of discovery. He made an eventful voyage. Returned to 
France, and published in 1683 an account of his explorations. There is no 
probability that he ever saw the Red Cedar Lake. But there is a record that 
La Salle started on foot with three Frenchmen and an Indian hunter, March 
2, 1680, to return to his fort on Lake Ontario, distant about twelve hun- 
dred miles. He had gone down the Kankakee in Deceml>er, 1679, with 
thirty-two men and eight canoes. He was now returning on foot with 
four companions. If there is any record of tliat land journey this writer 
has not found it. and so he conjectures that La Salle and his four com- 
panions passed between the Kankakee River and Lake Michigan and camped 
for a night on that wooded high bank of the Red Cedar Lake. It is recorded 
that before leaving the portage in December of 1679 La Salle caused some 
letters to be fastened to trees to convey information to others who might 
pass that way. Possibly then, probably, one might almost say, this little in- 
strument of steel, now in the possession of one who was born at Cedar 
Lake, was used by La Salle to fasten a letter high up on the little oak. 

The incident, in connection with which the foregoing was written, was 
the finding of a curious little steel instrument, by Mr. Ames of Lake 
Prairie, in the heart of a large oak tree, and his giving it to a teacher of the 
Lake Prairie school. Miss Mary Jane Ball. 

In the winter of 1837 and 1838, quite certainly in the latter year, a wild 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 165 

animal of the cat family was chased into a swamp which was then at the 
head of Cedar Lake. There were no real trees in the swamp, hut an almost 
impenetrable mass of what was called black alder bushes, the water being 
two or three feet in depth. In the summer these bushes would lie covered 
luxuriantly with wild roses. The swamp was many years ago cleared out and 
drained, until wdiich time it was known as the wildcat thicket. It took its 
name from the wild animal that Job Worthington of Massachusetts, then a 
member of the Ball family, succeeded in capturing and killing, with the as- 
sistance of others, in January probably of 1838. Of its dimensions there 
are no records, but in the eyes of children it was large, and was surely a 
savage looking animal. There were reports in those early years of other 
animals of this family, catamounts, perhaps, having been heard at night, mak- 
ing their peculiar cry; but there are no records as yet found of any other 
having been killed in the county. 

Two black bears were seen in Lake county in early times, stragglers 
from the thick woods of La Porte and Porter counties, and in the southeast 
part of this county have been some large timlier wolves; but the native ani- 
mals of Lake county w-ere seldom dangerous. 

The bald eagles often visited the Lake of Cedars, and they were grand 
birds ; but they were looking for fish, and not for little children nor for lambs. 

One lake incident, probably known now, only to this writer, illustrates 
well the power of imagination. To enable the reader to understand it better 
it may be needful to state that in 1837 the morns imilticoulus or mulberry 
speculation was at its height in Massachusetts, and that Mr. Lewis Waniner 
brought some plants or cuttings with him. Cuttings would grow, but needed 
protection in the winter. 

Two of the quite young men of East Cedar Lake found one day a 
little mound of sand at the south end, called the foot, of the lake. They said 
to themselves, a little Indian has been buried here. Their curiosity was ex- 
cited. Rather strangely they proposed to dig into it and see. They went 
to work, digging down into the sand, and my informant reported that soon 



166 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

one of tlieni grew sick. Tlie nearness of the decaying; l)0(lv was too much 
for liim to endtn-e. He qm't work and retired to l)reathe some fresli air. Tlie 
otlier young man said lie percei\cd nothing, and ke])t at work. S(ion he 
readied, buried in tlie sand for protection from tlie cold of winter, a Inuich 
of Mr. W'aniner's mulberry cuttings. The other youth soon recovered from 
his nausea. This incident came to the writer so direct that he does not like 
to question it, knowing as he did so well the actors and the informant, and 
knowing that one of them had a strong emotional nature. 

One more incident, slight in itself and yet instructive, presses itself for- 
ward for some notice. It is connected with that Cedar Lake Belles Lettres 
Society which has been named, which Solon Robinson visited, quite sur- 
prised to find there some of what Sprague calls "the anointed children of 
education," instead of the Indians whom not long Ijefore he had met there 
in a conference. 

There was a youth of the community, somewhat older than the mem- 
bers of the Society who had shown a disposition to make light of their 
writing everything out, even their discussions and addresses. He did not 
think he had any need of writing in order to present his thoughts to others. 
So they invited him to give them an address. He came prompt to the 
hour, as he no doubt supposed well prepared. He had done no writing. At 
least he had no manuscript before him. He took his place gracefully upon 
the floor and opened his address nicely. He proceeded about as far as the 
off-hand young lawyer who was invited to speak at the opening of a bridge, 
about two sentences, and then, while all were giving a respectful attention, 
e.xpecting to hear some oratory, he hesitated, he stopped, he thought, and 
finally, after one desperate effort, he concluded that undelivered address with 
the brief peroration, "My thoughts have flown," and sat down. The mem- 
bers were too polite and considerate to show their amusement while he 
was present, their usual exercises went on, and he made no more fun of 
those young writers. 

.An attornev-general of the United States once said : "There is no ex- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 167 

cellence witliout great lalxir. It is the fiat of fate from which no power 
of genius can absolve you." Children learn to skate by trying to skate; 
they learn to swim by trying to swim; and they learn to speak and write by 
trj'ing to speak and write. The power to do any of these things well is worth 
an effort. A man, now no longer living, who was a power for good in 
Chicago a few years ago, said in substance, that to appreciate beautiful lan- 
guage was partly to command it, and that to command beautiful and forcible 
language was to have a key, with which no man who wished to rule through 
opinion could dispense, to the mind and to the heart of man. 

The Bible itself says, "Words fitly spoken are like apples of gold in 
pictures of silver." 

The after life of my young friend, whose thoughts forsook him in his 
hour of need, was not what man calls a success. And his death, some forty 
years ago, Avas peculiarly sad. 

He had good capabilities, but in times of need they seemed to be of 
no avail. I certainly will not disclose his name, through my regard for 
what is due to the living and the dead, but I would here tenderly lay a 
wreath of mingled respect and grief upon his nameless grave. 



168 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

JOHN BROWN. 

John Brown, for many years one of the forceful and honored factors 
in financial circles in Lake county and one whose influence has not been a 
minor element among- the financiers of northwestern Indiana, has attained to 
prominence through the inherent force of his character, the exercise of his 
native talent and the utilization of surrounding opportunities. He has 
become a capitalist vvhose business career excites the admiration r.nd has won 
the respect of his contemporaries, yet it is not this alone that entitles him to 
rank as one of the foremost men of his day in Lake county. His connection 
with the public interests of Crown Point is far-reaching and beneficial, and 
he has aided largely in promoting community affairs which have for their 
object the welfare of the general public. He is now the president of the First 
National Bank of Crown Point and he has extensive landed possessions, his 
realty holdings comprising six thousand acres. 

Moreover, Mr. Brown is entitled to mention in this volume from the 
fact that he is one of the native sons of Lake county, his birth having occurred 
in Eagle Creek township, on the 7th of October, 1840. The family is of 
Scotch lineage, and the grandfather, John Brown, was a native of New York 
and took a very active and prominent part in public afifairs. He served as 
a major in the war of 1812 and lived to the very advanced age of ninety- 
three years. Alexander F. Brown, the father of our subject, was born in 
Schenectady county. New York, in 1804, and there remained until 1837, 
when he removed to Lake county, Indiana, settling in Eagle Creek township. 
There he secured land from the government and developed and improved a 
farm. He was widely recognized as one of the leading and influential residents 
of this county, and his influence was a marked element in shaping the public 
policy. He became a recognized leader in forming public thought and opin- 
ion, and all who knew him respected him for his loyalty to his honest con- 
victions and his devotion to the general welfare. In his political views he 
was a stanch Whig and he held membership in the Presbyterian church, hold- 
ing office therein, taking a very helpful part in its work and contributing 
liberally and generously of his time and means to various church activities. 
He was killed in a runaway accident in 1849 when forty-five years of age. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Eliza M. Barringer, was a native of 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 1C9 

Schenectady county. Xew York, and there ^pent the days of b.er girlhood. 
She !i\ed to he seventy-three years of age and died in Lake county. Indiana. 
On her liusband's death she was left to care for a family of five children, one 
of whom was born after his demise. The eldest, a daughter. Mary, now the 
deceased wife of Thomas Fisher, was but twelve years of age at the time of 
the runaway accident which terminatetl the active and useful career of the 
husband and father, John was the second of the family. William B., the 
third, is a resident' of Crown Point. Anna is the wife of William C. Nichol- 
son, of Crown Point. George, the youngest, died when twenty-nine years of 
age, leaving a widow and three sons. Mrs. .Alexander Brown reared her 
family of five children and much credit is due her for their success in life. 
She desired that they should have good educational privileges and thus lie 
well fitted to meet life's practical and responsible duties, and she put forth 
every effort in her power to thus qualify them. She was one of the noble 
pioneer women of Lake county and all praise is due her from her children 
and friends. 

John Brown remained with his mother assisting her in the work of the 
home farm until, feeling that his first duty was to his country, be enlisted as 
a member of Company I, Fifth Indiana Cavalry. He joined the army as a 
private in 1861, was promoted to the rank of sergeant and was captured with 
his regiment at Sunshine church in Georgia when on the Stoneman raid. He 
was held a prisoner for seven months. He was in many hard-fought battles. 
He took part in the entire Atlanta campaign until captured with Stoneman at 
Sunshine church, near Macon. Georgia. At Indianapolis, June 27, 1865, he 
was mustered out, haxing served for three years, during which time he was 
ever faithful to his duty, following the old flag in many a hotly contested battle, 
where he displayed marked \-alor and loyalty. 

Mr. Brown at the close of the war returned to Lake county, where he 
began farming, following that occupation until 1870, wiien he was elected 
county treasurer upon the Republican ticket. He discharged the duties of the 
position so faithfully that in 1872 he was reelected, and in 1876 
he was chosen for the office of county auditor. In 1880 he 
was once more elected to that position and served for eight years, 
retiring from the office as he had entered it — with the confidence 
and good will of all concerned. He served for four years as county treasurer 



170 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

and was township treasurer for a number of years, and in all these different 
public positions he displayed marked business and executive ability as well 
as unfaltering fidelity to the trust reposed in him. In the meantime he had 
become actively identified with financial interests of the county, having in 
1874 established the First National Bank at Crown Point. He was one of the 
charter members and stockholders of this institution, which was capitalized 
for fifty thousand dollars. Its first president was James Burge, who was 
succeeded by David Turner, and Mr. Brown became the third president and 
is now acting in that capacity. He also has other business interests in the 
county, including a fine stock farm of about six thousand acres located in Eagle 
Creek and Cedar Creek townships. On this place he keeps about one thousand 
head of cattle and his annual sales of stock are very extensive and add materi- 
ally to his income. In business affairs he is far-sighted and energetic, his 
judgment is correct and his plans are carried forward to successful comple- 
tion. 

Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Almira Clark, and there 
were three children, a son and two daughters, born to them : Neil, who is now 
residing upon his father's extensive ranch; Mary Alice; and Grace Almira, 
who is the wife of E. S. Davis, of Chicago. For his second wife Mr. Brown 
chose Myrtle E. Ashton, and his present wife bore the maiden name of Jennie 
E. Northrup. 

Mr. Brown is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, identified 
with John Wheeler Post No. 149. He is also connected with the Masonic 
fraternity of Crown Point and holds membership with the Knights Templar 
at Valparaiso. In politics he is a stanch Republican, and it was upon that 
ticket that he was elected to the different positions which lie has so capably 
filled. He has indeed been a prominent factor in community interests, and 
although he has conducted important and extensive business affairs he has 
never been remiss in citizenship, but on the contrary has contributed in large 
degree to the general welfare and progress. 

GOTFRIED W. WAGONBLAST. 

G. W. Wagonblast, wlio is now living a retired life m Center township, 
is numbered among those wlio have long been residents of Lake county, and, 
moreover, is entitled to mention in tliis volume because he was one of the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 171 

"boys in blue" of tlie Civil war. His life history began in Germany more 
than seventy years ago, his natal day being the nth of November, 1833. 
He acquired his education in the fatherland and remained a resident of that 
country until eighteen years of age, when, hoping to enjoy better business 
opportunities than were afforded in his own country, he made arrangements 
to come to America. Bidding adieu to home, family and friends, he crossed 
the Atlantic and went first to Crawford county, Ohio, where he remained 
for about two months. He then came to Lake county, Indiana, in 1853, 
and worked by the month as a farm hand for six dollars per month. When 
he had become acquainted with the English language and was able to make 
his service of more value, his wages were correspondingly increased, and he 
thereby laid the foundation for his later success. 

Mr. Wagonblast was employed as a farm laborer until 1863, when he 
left the plow and shouldered the musket in order to protect the Union cause, 
enlisting as a member of Company G, Twelfth Indiana Cavalry. He became 
a private and thus served until the close of the war, taking part in many 
engagements, including the battle of Stone River and others in that part of 
the country. He sustained an injury by falling on a rock, w'hich broke some 
of the ribs on the left side, and from this he has never fully recovered. He 
was in the hospital for about eight months and afterward received an hon- 
orable discharge and returned to his home. He then resumed farming in 
Lake county, and has since been identified with its agricultural interests. 

In 1867 Mr. Wagonblast was united in marriage to Miss Victoria 
Schuster, and to them have been born twelve children ; John, Cynthia, Sophia, 
Rose, Mary and Lizzie are living. John, at home with his parents and a 
practical farmer and stockman, was educated in the common schools and is 
a member of the Foresters, Court No. 4, at Crown Point; Cynth.ia was 
educated in the common schools and is at home: Sophia is the wife of John 
Rettig. a farmer in Center township: Rose is the wife of Joseph Walz, a 
farmer of Ross township: Mary is the wife of Peter Mitch, nt Center town- 
ship : and Lizzie is at home. 

i\Ir. Wagonblast owns one hundred and ten acres of rich land, which 
he has acquired through his own labors. His son John now carries on the 
home farm, while he is largely living a retired life, merely giving his atten- 
tion to the supervision of the farm. His life has been a busy and useful 



172 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

one. and energy forms the keyn(ne of his character. He realized in youtli 
that labor is the hasis of all success, and. working indefatigahly. he accumu- 
lated the capital that enahled him to invest in land, which he dc\elo'pe<! into 
one of the fine farms f)f his adopted county and ec|ui])pcd with modern 
iniprovements. Prior to the Ci\il war he was dcciily interested in the ([ues- 
tion of slavery, and when the Republican party was formed he joined its 
ranks and voted for John C. Fremont, its first candidate. He has since sup- 
ported its standard bearers and is deenly interested in its success, but has 
never wanted ofifice for himself. He belongs to John Wheeler Post, 
G. A. R., at Crown Point and is well known in the county as a man of. worth. 
His life stands in exemplification of the phrase the "dignity of labor," and 
he has never had occasion to regret his determination to make the United 
States his home. 

WILLIAM F. HALE. 

William F. Hale, for a number of years one of the forceful and honored 
factors in cominercial circles in East Chicago and one whose influence has 
not been a minor element among the business men of his porfion of the state, 
has attained to prominence through the inherent force of his character, the 
exercise of his native talent and the utilization of surrounding opportunities. 
His business career excites the admiration and has won the respect of his 
contemporaries, yet 'it is not this alone that entitles him to rank among the 
foremost men of his adopted city. His connection with the public interests 
here has been far-reaching and beneficial, for he has aided in shaping the 
munidipal policy and in promoting many interests for the general good. His 
patriotic citizenship and his interest in community afifairs has taken tangible 
form in his zealous labors for the improvements instituted through aldermanic 
measures, and as mayor of the city he is giving a practical, business-like 
administration that is of marked benefit. 

Mr. Hale was born in London, Canada. March i, 1866. and is a son of 
Levi and Robena (Robertson) Hale. In the paternal line he is a representa- 
tive of a New England family. His grandfather, William Hale, a native of 
Vermont, was a contractor engaged in the building of railroads and public 
works. Leaving his native state he removed to London, Canada, where he 
died when more than sixty years of age. He wedded Mary Robinson and 




7r:^^£^r-^^-^^y( ^'^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 173 

tliey reared a large familv, including Levi Hale, wlio was also born in Ver- 
mont. He became a farmer by occupation and removed from the Green 
Mountain state to Canada, but in 1877 returned to his native country, residing 
for a time in Cleveland, Ohio. Subsequently he went to Missouri, settling at 
Columbia, that state, but later he returned to Cleveland and afterward estab- 
lished his home at Lima, Ohio. He ne.xt took up his abode at North Balti- 
more, that state, and thence came to East Chicago in the summer of 1903, 
living now a retired life at this place. He was united in marriage to Miss 
Robena Robertson, who was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and is a daughter of 
James Robertson, also a native of the land of the hills and heather. He was 
a very religious man and a colporteur. He owned a farm r.ear London, 
Canada, and there spent his remaining days, dying at an advanced age. His 
wife, Mrs. Jane Robertson, has also passed away. To Mr. and Mrs. Levi 
Hale were born se\en children, four sons and three daughters, of whom six 
are now living: William F. : James R., of Hallsville, Missouri; Margaret, 
who died aged twenty-three years; Charles L., of Cleveland, Ohio; Aurilla, 
the wife of Samuel Henderson, of Cygnet, Ohio; Rolla P., of East Chicago, 
Indiana; and Miss Hallie Hale, of East Chicago, Indiana. 

William F. Hale was a young lad when taken by his parents from Canada 
to Cleveland, Ohio. He attended the public schools of that city and after 
putting aside his text books he learned and followed the hammersmith's trade, 
devoting several years to that business. He afterward entered the employ of 
the Brownell Improvement Company in Lake county. Illinois, in the capacity 
of superintendent, and in 1900 he entered into partnership with C. D. Moon, 
of East Chicago, as dealers in wood, coal, ice and building materials. They 
still conduct the business under tiie firm style of Moon & Hale, and have 
established a leading cnnimercinl enterprise of tlie town, securing a good 
patronage which is constantly growing in volume and importance. Their 
business methods are found to Ije thoroughly reliable, and they have never 
been known to take advantage of the necessities of their fellow men in any 
trade transactions. 

On the I2th of October, 1891, Mr. Hale was united in marriage to Miss 
Elizabeth Williams, a daughter of James and Jane Williams. The circle of 
their friends in East Chicago is almost co-extensive with the circle of their 
acquaintances. Mr. Hale is a valued representative of the Masonic fraternity, 



174 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

holding membership in East Chicago Lodge No. 595, F. & .\. AL ; Hammond 

Chapter, R. A. M. ; and Hammond Commandery No. 41, K. T. He is also 

connected witli the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Modern 

Woodmen of America and the Knights of the Maccabees. 

Politically he has always been a Republican, unswerving in his advocacy 

of the principles of the party. He was first called to public office to serve as 

clerk of East Chicago, which position he filled for two years, and then in 

May, 1898, he was elected mayor and by re-election has since been continued 

in the ofifice. In May, 1904, he was again elected mayor for a term of two 

years. No citizen of East Chicago is more thoroughly representative or more 

devoted to the promotion of her welfare than Mr. Hale, whose name is widely 

known for the prominent part he has taken in local affairs. Without doubt, 

he is one of the most progressive and public-spirited men of Lake county, and 

his means and influence have been used unsparingly in advancing enterprises, 

industries and improvements in this place, now one of the most flourishing 

towns in Indiana. 

WILLIAM COCHRAN. 

William Cochran, who, with his brother Henry, carries on successful 
farming operations at Section 2 of Eagle Creek township, is to be counted 
among the oldest of the native sons of Lake county, for the births of sixty 
years ago in this county were very few in number and the country was 
sparsely settled as compared wiih its present populousness. Mr. William 
Cochran followed the flag of an Indiana regiment during the Civil war, but 
otherwise his life pursued the quiet walks of peace in the occupation of 
farming in Lake county, and he has never married. He and his brother 
have conducted their farm together, and are among the progressive and 
public-spirited men of their township, esteemed and honored in all their 
relations with their fellows. Henry is a man of family, and is likewise a 
veteran of the great rebellion. 

Mr. William Cochran was born at Crown Point, Indiana, December 31, 
1845, ^ ^on of John and Mary Ann (Fisher) Cochran. His father was 
born in either New York or Connecticut, and came to Lake county, Indiana, 
about 1840, locating first at Crown Point, but in 1847 moved to Southeast 
Grove, where he improved a farm and lived till his death, in his eighty-first 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 175 

year. During his residence at Crown Point he served as city councihnan, 
and he was a Hfe-long Republican. His wife was born in London, England, 
and her first marriage was with George Fry, by whom she had two children, 
and William and Henry Cochran were the issue of the second marriage. She 
died at the age of sixty-four. 

William Cochran, who is the younger of the two sons, was about three 
years old when his father moved to Southeast Grove, and he was reared on 
the farm in Eagle Creek township. In Aug^ist, 1862, he enlisted in Com- 
pany I, Fifth Indiana Cavalry, being a boy of sixteen at the time and the 
youngest member of the regiment. He served three years as a private, and 
participated in several hard battles during the campaigns through Tennessee, 
Georgia and other states. He was captured at the battle of Resaca, Georgia, 
and then spent four and a half months in the prison pen of Andersonville, 
after which he was confined at Charleston, South Carolina, for a month, and 
for two months at Florence, South Carolina, where he was finally paroled. 
On account of disability he received his honorable discharge at Camp Chase, 
Ohio, in 1865, and then returned home to Lake county and engaged in 
farming. He and his brother conduct a well unproved farm of two hundred 
and sixty acres in Eagle Creek township, and have always enjoyed their 
share of prosperity. 

Mr. Cochran is a Republican in politics, and on that ticket was elected 

township trustee in 1890, taking office November 19, and has held it to the 

present time. He is a member of the John Wheeler Post No. 161, G. A. R., 

at Crown Point. 

HENRY COCHRAN. 

Henry Cochran, brother of William, was born in Crown Point, 
February 25, 1844, being the elder son of John and Mary Ann Cochran. 
He was reared and educated in Eagle Creek township, and during the first 
part of the Civil war he remained with his parents while his brother was 
away. In November, 1864, he enlisted in Company A, Seventeenth Indiana 
Mounted Infantry, and served as a private till the close of the war. He was 
under General Wilson most of the time. He received his honorable discharge 
at Indianapolis in 1865, and then returned to Lake county and took up the 
farming pursuits with his brother v.'hich have been continued so successfully 



1T6 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

to the present time. They do general farming and stock-raising, and are 

industrious and excellent managers. 

Mr. Henry Cochran is also a stanch Republican, and is a member of 

the John Wheeler Post No. i6i, G. A. R.. at Crown Point. He was married, 

December 5, 1873, to Miss Mary George, who was a daughter of Thomas 

George, and who was born in Cornwall, England, and at the age of seven 

years came to America with her parents. Four children have been born to 

this marriage: Adell, single and at home; Frank, at home; Myrtle, wife of 

Ernest Dickinson, of Lowell, Indiana; Alma, attending high school at 

Crown Point. 

JAMES M. BRADFORD. 

James M. Bradford has been prominently identified with the business 
interests and public afifairs of Hammond. Indiana, for over twenty-five years, 
and is thus one of the old settlers, having come here when the town was in 
its early stages of development and progress, which it has been hifprivilege 
and lot to further and advance in many ways. He is everywhere recognized 
as a man of great public spirit and enterprise, equally energetic in private and 
public affairs, and willing to sacrifice time and money for the Ijetterment of 
the civic welfare and the institutions of the city which has for so many years 
been the center of his activity. 

Mr. Bradford was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, July 6, 1852, 
being a son of William T. and Sarah (Gardner) Bradford, natives, re- 
spectively, of Bradford county and of Scranton, Pennsylvania. The Bradford 
family goes back to the famous William Bradford who came over in the May- 
flower. William T. Bradford, the grandfather of James M. Bradford, was 
a native of Connecticut, but settled in Pennsylvania at an early day. He ran 
sawmills in Bradford county. He had four children. 

William T. Bradford, Jr., was a millwright, and moved from Bradford 
county to Tompkins county. New York, where he followed his trade for 
some years, and then moved to Wheeling, West Virginia, where he entered 
the regular army and served fi\-e years, and for two years in the home guard. 
He was state major drummer for the state of Pennsylvania about 1834. He 
died at Blair, Ohio, on Christmas day, 1888, at the age of eighty-two years, 
and his wife died in 1885, aged seventy-eight years six months and twenty 





•^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 177 

days. Both ^vere jMethodist,s. The fatlier of Mrs. Sarah Bradford was 
Abraham Gardner, who was a native of Pennsylvania, his father having come 
there from Massachusetts. He was a farmer, and afterv.ard moved to New 
York, where he died, in Danliy, Tompkins county. He was poormaster of 
the county for a number of years, and was also justice of the peace and held 
other public offices. He was eighty-seven years old at the time of his death, 
and had been twice married and had seven children. The name was originally 
spelled Gardiner, -and the family record goes back to Richard Gardiner, who 
came to Massachusetts with the Pilgrims. William T. and Sarah Bradford 
had ten children, five sons and five daughters, and the five now living are: 
Lydia Ann, widow of Thomas Geddis, of Dryden, New York; John F., of 
Cortland, New York; Charles E.. of Harvey, Illinois; Delphine, wife of Orn 
S. Cornelious of Dryden, New York; and James M., of Hammond. 

Mr. James M. Bradford lived in Tompkins county. New York, from the 
age of two till twenty-seven. He attended the public schools of Danby, and 
in the interims worked on a farm. At the age of thirteen he began learning 
the painter's trade, which he followed as a journeyman until he was twenty- 
one, and then^began doing contract painting. In 1878 he came to Hammond, 
and from then until 1901 did contract work and at the same time conducted a 
general merchandise store. He owns city property in addition to his nice 
home at 358 South Hohman street. 

December 31, 1879, Mr. Bradford married Miss Martha Jane Watts, a 
daughter of James and Mary Watts. There are three children of this union, 
Anna May, James Franklin and Pearl. Anna May is the wife of Ray Wells. 
Mrs. Bradford is a member of the Methodist church. Mr. Bradford affiliates 
with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., and with Calumet Lodge No. 601, 
L O. O. F. In politics he is a Republican. A number of years ago he served 
the city as water trustee. He was afterward appointed city commissioner by 
the circuit judge, and was elected county commissioner in 1894, and re-elected 
in 1896, serving six years in all. during which time he originated the move- 
ment for putting the new court Iiouse in Hammond and was very instru- 
mental in the successful outcome of that movement. He was also at the head 
of the movement for securing the splendid gravel and stone roads of the 
county, and has always been willing to give his assistance to any like enter- 
prises for the benefit of town or county. 



178 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

\VILL.\RD B. \'AX HORXE, 

Amniio the enterprisiiis: and ambitious young- men of Indiana Harbor 
who Iiave already attained crechtable and gratifying success is Willard B. 
\'an Home, who is engaged in the practice i>f law and has secured a clientage 
which many an older practitioner at tlie bar might well envy. He is .1 native 
of Illinois, his birth having occurred at his parents' home in Grant Park, 
on the 4th of June, 1879. He is a son of Dr. George Washington and Sarah 
(Mather) Van Horiie, who were also natives of Illinois. His paternal 
grandfather, Matthew Van Home, born in York state, was of Dutch descent 
and as a means of livelihood followed the occupation of farming. He and 
his wife reached an advanced age and they reared a large family. The 
.maternal grandfather of Mr. Van Home was Samuel Mather, who was born 
in the state of New York and was of English lineage. He, too, followed 
agricultural pursuits and had passed many milestones on life's journey ere 
he was called to his final rest. He wedded Mary Snapp, for his second wife, 
and they had three sons and two daughters, one of whom was Mrs. Sarah 
Van Home. By a former marriage he had one daughter. 

Dr. George Washington Van Home is now engaged in the practice of 
medicine and surgery at Grant Park. Illinois, where he has lived for many 
years, and he has not only been a leader in his profession there but has also 
been an active factor in community interests and has e.xerted considerable 
influence in moldtng public pi licy, thought and opinion in his town. He 
has been mayor of the village and was also township treasurer for several 
years. In 1SS6 he was called iqion to mourn the loss of his first wife, who 
died in March of that year, when tbirty-rme years of age. She was a devoted 
member of the Mctlmdisi church. By her marriage she had one son and 
two daughters: Mabel, the wife of George McGoveny, of Mokena, Illinois: 
Willard B.. of Indiana Harljor: and Delia. After the death of his first 
wife Dr. Van Home married Miss Cora Parish, of Kentucky, and they had 
one .',on and two daughters: Robert R., now deceased; Agnes, who has alsu 
passed away; and Zella Eslclle. 

Willard B. Van Home spent his Ijoyhood days in his father's home, 
attending the public schools there, and when be bad completed his preliminary 
education be entered Greer College at Hoopeston, Illinois. In 1897 he 
engaged in teaching school and the following year resumed his studies in 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 179 

tlie Valparaiso College at \'alparaiso, Indiana, where he was gradnated with 
the class of 1899. on the completion of the scientific course. He was thus 
well equipped by a more specifically literary training to enter upon the study 
of law, which be began in the law department of the Valparaiso College, 
completing the course by graduation in 1901. In June of that year he was 
admitted to the bar of th.e su]iremc court of Indiana and also to the United 
States circuit court for Indiana He then went to Chicago, where he accepted 
a position requiring his services through the day. and in the evenings he 
pursued post-graduate work at the night sessions of Kent College of Law, 
a department of Lake Forest University, being graduated from that institu- 
tion in June. 1902. He came to Indiana Harbor in the following Septem- 
ber, and has since been engaged in practice here. In Deceml^er of that year 
he was admitted to the bar of the state of Illinois. In his practice he has 
won very gratifying success, having already gained a good clientage, and 
his business is continually growing in volume and importance. He is a 
young man of strong mentality, laudable ambition and firm determination, and 
his success will undoubtedly increa.se as the years pass by. He belongs to 
the Knights of the Maccabees, Knights of Pythias and Royal League, and in 
his political views is a Republican. 

He married, April 27, 1904, Miss Laura E. Winslow, of Whiting, 

Indiana. 

JOHN BLAKEMAN. 

John Blakenian is an old settler of Winfield township, and is still resid- 
ing on the place which he bought over fifty years ago, when he was siill 
struggling to get a foothold in life in order to reach a substantial and com- 
fortable position in material circumstances. He has gained unusual success 
in his life endeavors, has prospered by his constant industry, and among the 
citizens with whom he has been associated so many years he bears a reputa- 
tion for sterling worth and personal integrity that are in themselves ample 
rewards for a long career of daily toil and high purposes. 

Mr. Blakeman is a native of England and was born in old Warwick- 
shire, November 12, 1824. being a son of Job Blakeman, who lived c^nd died 
in the same shire and same house. John was reared and received a very little 
school training in his native place and worked at day labor there until he 



180 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

was twenty-tliree vears old. He tlien came to .\nierica. ami worked for 
mnnthlv wages on a farm in Wyandotte county. Ohio, until 185 1. when he 
came to Lake county, Lidiana, which has been the central field of his 
endeavors ever since. He bouglit eighty acres of the farm wliere he still 
resides, and gave his un.stinted efforts to its improvement and cultivation. 
He has added to this original tract until he now owns two hundred and ten 
acres, and all the well-kept fences, barns and countless other conveniences 
\vhich mark the farm out as a model have been placed there l)y himself. He 
has been a resident on the same place so long that no other place could seem 
like home, and now that he has reached the advanced age of eighty years he 
intends to spend the rest of his peaceful days on the homestead which his early 
lalxjrs made and adorned. 

Mr. Blakeman is a believer in the ]5olitical faith of the old Greenback 
party, and he has always given a proper share of his attention to the affairs 
of the world and his locality. He has been married twice. His first wife, 
whom he married in Ohio, was Roxie L. Williams, and she died having been 
the mother of five children, three of whom are living: Caroline, Olive and 
Charles. Mr. Blakeman was married in i(?66 to his ])resent wife, Hannah 
J. Miller, and they had one daughter, Amanda, who is the wife of Jacob 
Steinhilber. The latter is a farmer, and. manages Mr. Blakeman's farm. 

JOHN BLACK. 

John Black, a retired farmer and an old settler of Lake county, now 
residing in Crown Point, has had a career to which he may point with justi- 
fiable pride. He landed, a stranger, in America fifty years ago, fifty dollars 
in debt, and with only a vigorous manhood and determined will for capital. 
Nearly all these subsequent years have been, spent in Lake county, and his 
early labors caused steady material progress until he is now the owner of 
one of the best farming estates of the county, besides much other property and 
business interests. He is an ex-county commissioner and in other ways has 
shown his public-spirited interest in the (leveli)])nient and welfare of the 
county where he has so long made his home and built his own substantial and 
prosperous career. 

Mr. Black was born in Sa.xony, Germany, July 24, 1832, and lived there 
the first twenty-two years of his life He attended the public schools during 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. ISl 

the required period to fourteen vears of age, and the other years spent in 
the fathei'land were devoted to farm work, wliere frugahiess and tln-ilt in 
management were virtues so inculcated as to he a permanent part of his 
character and to fie responsililc fnr mucli of his future success. He came 
to America in 1854. After a shurt time sjient in Buffalo, New' York, he 
came to Chicago and at Blue Island did railroad work for the Grand Trunk 
for about a year and a half. He was in Porter county, Indiana, for alxjut 
six months, and then located permanently in Lake county, wliere he began 
his career by working by the month. After getting considerable saved up 
he bought land in Eagle Creek township, and subsequent additions and con- 
tinued prosperity have caused his landed possessions to swell to the amount 
of five hundred and eighty acres. He was a resident of Eagle Creek town- 
ship until 1894, in which year he retired and moved into Crown Point, where 
he built his present fine residence. He is a director of the Commercia! Bank 
of Crown Point, and owns considerable property in the city. 

Mr. Black has never voted for any but Republican principles and candi- 
dates, and he has taken as much interest in public matters as his busy life 
would permit. He was elected and filled the office of county commissioner 
for five years, and his administration was so satisfactory that he might have 
retained the office longer had he been willing to serve. He is a member of 
the Lutheran church. 

Mr. Black was married in 1859 to Miss Caroline Beaders, and they 
have seven children living: Henry, William, Anna, Ella, Eddie, Hannah 
and John. 

GEORGE B. SHEERER. 

George B. Sheerer, a prominent attorney-at-law of Hammond, Indiana, 
has gained a successful position in the legal profession by his own merits. 
He is of the type of self-made men of whom this country is so proud. It 
is certainly no mean achievement for a boy to start to earning his own 
way at the age of eleven, afterwards as a result of his labor attend school 
and make up in an educational way what he had been retarded in getting 
when a boy, take a law course and gain admission to the bar, and then rise 
to a place of prominence among his fellow-practitioners in the great profession 
of law. Mr. Sheerer has been engaged in practice in Hammond since 1892, 
and is held in high esteem in the city and surrounding countrv 



182 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Sheerer was born in Shickshinny, Pennsylvania, December 24, 
1866. a son of Benjamin F. and Elizabeth (Fritz) Sheerer. His paternal 
grandfather, John M. Sheerer, was the original Sheerer who came from 
southern Scotland to America, locating in Wayne county. Pennsylvania, 
wliere he spent most of his life. He was a canal and railroad contractor, 
and was a very wealthy man, at one time owning all the land on which the 
present city of Scranton .stands. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. 
He died at the age of eighty-eight years, having Ijeen a man of remarkable 
constitution and manly vigor. He was never sick a day in his life, never 
took a dose of medicine. When he was eighty-four years old he was physi- 
cally very active. He died from the result of an injury, his back having 
been wrenched while he was mowing. His wife lived still longer, passing 
away at the age of ninety-two years. Her maiden name was Susan Stitely. 
They had a large family. 

Benjamin. F. Sheerer, the father of George B. Sheerer, was a Baptist 
minister, and has made home missionary work the principal object of his 
endeavors all his life. He came out west to Illinois in an early day, and 
bought one hundred and fifty acres of land where the Chicago business center 
now is, but he afterwards sold out and went back east. He is now living 
at Waterton, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, being in his eighty-eighth year. 
His wife, Elizabeth (Fritz) Sheerer, is in her seventy-ninth year. Her 
father, Lucius Fritz, came from Germany when a young man and located 
in Pennsylvania, where he was a farmer. He had been a soldier in a 
German war, and was also in the war of 1812. He married Miss Mary 
Gorman, and they had eleven children. He died at the age of sixty-se\-en, 
and she when about seventy-three. 

Eight children were born to Benjamin F. and Elizabeth Sheerer, and 
the six now living are: Friend B., of Town Hill, Pennsylvania: Alfred N., 
of Burwick, Pennsylvania; Marion M., of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin; 
George B., of Hammond; Matilda, the wife of R. Gregory, of Muhlenberg, 
Pennsylvania: and Millard, of Miners Mills, Pennsylvania. The two deceased 
children were Layton L., who was president of the Colfax Seminary, at 
Colfax.. Washington; and Celinda, the wife of Rev. James R. Wilson, of 
.^vrricu'^e, Xew York. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 183 

George B. Sheerer lived at home in Waterton, Pennsylvania, until 
eleven years of age, and received his first schooling there. He then started 
out to make his own way, working during the summer at three dollars a 
month and board, and going to school during the winter. He taught school 
in the east for some time, beginning when he was seventeen years old. In 
1884 he came west to Indiana and entered the normal school at Valparaiso, 
where he was graduated in the law department in 1889. In the same year 
he was admitted to the bar of the state. After his graduation he at once 
set to work to pay up his debts contracted in his efforts to school himself. 
In the fall of 1892 he opened his office for practice in Hammond, and has 
enjoyed an increasing patronage to the present time. 

November 16, 1892, Mr. Sheerer married Miss May E. Wertman, a 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Wertman. They have two children, Ger- 
trude and Mildred. Mrs. Sheerer is a member of the Baptist church. They 
reside at 50 Warren avenue, where he built a good home in 1900. Mr. 
Sheerer affiliates with the Calumet Lodge No. 601, I. O. O. P., and with 
Hammond Lodge No. 210, K. of P. He is independent in voting, but his 
general political cleavage is Democratic. He is treasurer of the board of 
education, and has been a member of the board for the past six years. 

CHRISTIAN FIELER. 

Christian Fieler, a prominent and well-known farmer of Center town- 
ship. Lake county, is a native son and a life-long resident of 'the county, 
and has enjoyed a prosperous career devoted to the agricultural interests in 
this fine farming section. He is likewise one of the public-spirited men of 
this part of the county, performing his share of the duties of society, and is 
held in high esteem both for bis own personal character and for what he has 
accomplished in the world of material things. 

Mr. Fieler was liorn in Hobart township, Lake county, Indiana, July 10, 
1861 His father, Jacob Fieler, was a native of Wiirtemberg, Germany, 
and came to America and to Lake county in the year 1854. He was one of 
the early settlers and bought a farm in Ross township, where he continued 
his vocation of farmer until his death in 1877, when in his fifty-eighth year. 
He was a member of the German Methodist church, and a well-known and 
representative citizen of the county. His wife was Catharine Kelver, a 



1S4 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

native of the same province of Germany from which he came, and she died 
at the age of sixty-nine years, having heen the mother of five children. 

Mr. Christian Fieler vas th.e only son and the youngest child. He 
was reared in Hobart township, and was educated in the public schools of 
Ross township and also of Chicago. He was sixteen years old when his 
father died, and he tlien took the mantle of manly responsibility and carried 
on the work of the farm, in which his father had trained him. His mother 
died in 1884, and he then bought the interest of the other heirs in the old 
homestead and continued his farming there until 1898. He then sold and 
moved to Center township, where he bought his present place on Section 3, 
consisting of one hundred and twenty acres, fertile, well improved and highly 
cultivated. He also has sixty-three acres in Winfield township and two 
hundred in Ross township, so that altogether he is the possessor of three 
hundred and eighty-three acres of first-class Lake county soil. Besides his 
general farming work he buys and ships stock, and has carried on his exten- 
sive concerns with much individual success and profit. 

Mr. Fieler was married in 1901 to Miss Alice Palmer, a daughter of 
H. D. and Catherine (Underwood) Palmer, one of the prominent families 
of Lake county. Mrs. Fieler was born and reared in Ross township, and 
was educated in the Crown Point schools. Mr. Fieler has always been a 
stanch Republican since casting his first presidential vote for Blaine in 1884. 

GEORGE H. HOSKINS. M. D. 

Dr. George H. Hoskins, who has attained prominence as a representa- 
tive of the medical fraternity and is now serving as coroner of Lake county, 
making his home in Whiting, is a native of New York, his birth having 
occurred in Essex, Essex county, on the i8th of October, 1872. His father 
was Henry E. Hoskins, a native of Montreal, Canada. Tn early life, how- 
ever, he was taken to New York, was reared in the Empire state and there 
spent his remaining days, but died on the eve of his departure for the west 
in the year 1875. His widow then came with her two children, a son and 
daughter, to the Mississippi valley, locating at Grant Park, Illinois. She had 
previously learned the milliner's trade, and for about fifteen years was engaged 
in that business at Grant Park. Illinois, thus providing for her children. She 




(t;^^^^M%S, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 185 

was quite successful in the conduct of iicr Inisiness entcrinise antl secured a 
liberal patronage. 

Dr. Hoskins was but four yi?ars of age when he arrived in Grant Park, 
and there he acquired his early education which was supplemented by one 
year of study at Valparaiso, Indiana. In 1894 he took up the study of medi- 
cine in Northwestern University at Chicago, Illinois, and was there graduated 
in June, 1898. In July of the same year he located at Whiting, where he has 
since been in constant practice. He was the first health officer here, and in 
1902 he was elected county coroner, entering upon the duties of the office in 
January, 1903. He has secured a large private practice which is indicative 
of tlie confidence and trust reposed in him by the public. He is a thorough 
and discriminating student, constantly broadening his knowledge and i)ro- 
moting his efficiency by investigation and research. He is thoroughly in 
touch with modern ideas concerning medical science and practice, and his 
professional duties make heavy demands upon his time and energies. 

On the 24th of October, 1900, was celebrated the marriage of Dr. George 
H. Hoskins and Miss Bertha E. Dewey, a daughter of George H. and Celesta 
L. Dewey. They now have two interesting little sons. George H. an<l 
Harley D. Socially Dr. Hoskins is connected with the Masonic fraternity at 
Whiting, and he was a member of the Baptist church at Grant Park. He 
belongs to the Lake County Medical Society, and his attention is chiefly de- 
voted to his profession, wherein he has won a creditable name. He closel}' 
follows the ethics of the medical fraternity and enjoys the entire confidence 
and esteem of his professional brethren as well as of the general public. As 
a citizen, too, he is progressive and has been a co-operant factor in many 
movements for the general good. In politics he is a Republican, and in 
March, 1904, he was nominated by that party for bis second term as coroner 
of Lake county. He completed his new residence on Sheridan avenue, near 
One Hundred and Nineteenth street, in the fall of 1903. For 1903 Dr. Hos- 
kins was worshipful ma.ster of Whiting Lodge No. 613, F. & A. M. He is 
also a m.ember of the Owls Club. 

JOHN S. REILAND. 

In an analyzation of the character and life work of John S. Reiland 
we notice manv of the salient traits which have marked the German nation 



186 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

for many centuries, tlie perseverance, reliability, energy and unconquerable 
determination to pursue a course that has been marked out, and it is these 
sterling qualities which have gained to Mr. Reiland success in life and made 
him one of the substantial and valued citizens of East Chicago. He is now 
living a retired life, for througli his energy and capable management in 
former years he gained a comfortable competence that now enables him to 
put aside further business cares and to enjoy the fruits of his former toil. 

Mr. Reiland was born in Prussia, Germany, on the 17th of March, 1834. 
His paternal grandfather. Dominicus Reiland. was long in public life, holding 
office for twenty-four years in the city of Berlin and discharging his duties 
with a promptness and fidelity that won him the highest commendation and 
respect. His death occurred when he had attained an advanced age. His 
family numbered four children, including John Reiland, the father of our 
subject. He, too, was born in Germany, became a trader of that country 
and died in the fatherland at the age of seventy-three years. He had wedded 
Miss Mary Thomas, also a native of Germany and a daughter of Stephen 
Thomas, who was an active factor in industrial circles in the community in 
which he made his home, operating a distillery and twenty-four lime kilns. 
He died at the ripe old age of eighty-two years. In his family were four 
children, two sons and two daughters. Mr. and Mrs. John Reiland became 
the parents of five children, four sons and one daughter, but only two are 
now living, the sister of John S. being Annie, who is the widow of -Mathias 
Jones and is living on the old Reiland homestead in Germany. The father 
died at the age of seventy-three years, wdiile his wife passed away at the 
age of eighty-nine years. Both were communicants in the Catholic church. 

John S. Reiland spent the days of his boyhood and youth in Germany, 
continuing a resident of that country until nineteen years of age, during 
which time he acquired a good i)ractical education in the public schools. He 
also learned tlie carpenter's trade and was thus qualified to earn his living 
as an artisan. In the year 1854 he crossed the Atlantic to America, having 
heard very favorable reports concerning the new world and its business oppor- 
tunities. He located in V/illiamsport. Pennsylvania, and there took out his 
naturalization papers, for he had made his way to this country to become 
a ci<-izen of the United States. Believing that he might have still l>etter 
business privileges and advantages in the middle west, he made his way to 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 1S7 

Illinois in 1861. settling" in Peru, tb.at state, in the month of October. Tliere 
he li'.ed for about fi\e years ("ir until 1866. since which time he has made 
his home in Lake county. Indiana. On rcnii-iving to this locality he secured 
a tract of land and was engaged in farming until \^JJ. after \\liicli he became 
proprietor of a hotel in South Chicago, ccMichicting the same until 18S8. 
Since that time he has lived in East Chicago and is now enjoying a well 
merited rest from further business cares. 

"On the 6th of August, 1856, !Mr. Reiland was married, the lady of his 
choice being Miss Henrietta Meisenbach, a daughter of Jacob and Margaret 
Meisenbach. They Ijecame the parents of the following children : Jacol) C, 
born September 8. 1857: John, liorn .\ugust 27, 1859: I\fary, deceased, born 
January 17, 1862; Lena, born October 17, 1864: Antony, l)orn February 17, 
1866; Nicholas, born January 27, 1868; William, born November i, 1869; 
Frank, born October 30, 1872; George, torn August 18, 1876; Carrie, born 
August 6, 1881; Albert, born October 31, 1883. Of these Jacob is street 
commissioner and water inspector in East Chicago. He married Miss Mary 
Mahr, and they have three children, William, John and Mollie. John, who 
is a carpenter by trade, and is following his vocation in East Chicago, married 
Lena Smith and has one daughter. Pearlie. Mary died January 10. 1893. 
was the wife of John D. Williams and had one daughter. Pearl. Lena is 
the present wife of John D. \\'illiams and they make their home in East 
Chicago. Antony, who is a bricklayer, is married and has three children, 
Grace, George and Henry. Nicholas follows the pursuit of boiler-making. 
William is serving as city judge of East Chicago. Frank is an electrical 
engineer of Cleveland, Ohio, and is married. George is an attorney of East 
Chicago. Carrie is the wife of A. C. Huber. and they ha\e a daughter. 
Helen Ruth. Albert is now a student in the University of Michigan at 
Ann Arbor. 

Mr. and Mrs. Reiland and their family are members of the Catholic 
church, and politically he is a Rcpul'lican. deeply interested in the success of 
his party. He served as alderman for several years, and during that time 
exercised his official prerogati\-es in support of every measure that he 1ie- 
lieved would contribute to the general improvement and upbuilding. In 
1903 he built a beautiful home in East Chicago at the corner of One Hundred 
and Fortv-eighth street and Whiteoak avenue, where he is now living retired. 



188 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

The liope tliat led him to leave his r,ati\e land ar.d sock ;; hdinc in \nierica 
has been more than realized. He found the oiiixM-tunities he sought, which. 
by the way, are always open to tlie ambitious, energetic man. and making the 
best of these Mr. Reiland has steadily worked his way upward. He jios- 
sessed the resolution, perseverance and relialiility so characteristic of people 
of the fatherland, and his name is now enrolled among the best citizens of 
East Chicago.. 

ANDREW A. SAUERAIAX. 

Andrew A. Sauerman, wh(ise interests are thoroughly identified with 
those of Lake county so that he is at all tnues ready to lend his aid and 
co-operation to any movement calculated to benefit this section of the state 
or advance its substantial de\elopment. is a natixe son of Crown Point, his 
birth having occurred on the 22(\ of Februarv. 1858. Tlie family comes of 
German lineage and was founded in America by Nichols Sauerman, the 
grandfather of our sul»ject. who was born in (icnnany and cros.sed the A.tlantic 
to America. He possessed strong ])urpose and laudable ;mibition. and as the 
years progressed won a fair measure of iirosjierity. His son. John C. Sauer- 
man. was torn in Eaxaria. Germany, and when fourteen years of age crossed 
the .\tlantic. locating in Chicago. There he learned the harness-maker's 
trade, and in 1851 he removed to Crown Point, where he engaged in business 
as a manufacturer of iiarness, continuing in that line for aliout twenty-four 
years or until 1875, when he put aside pri\-ate business interests in nrder to 
perform public service, having been elected county treasurer of Lake county. 
He filled the f)ffice for four years and then retired to private life, .'"pending 
his remaining days in the enjoyment of a well-earned and richly merited rest. 
He died in the year i886. at the age of fifty-four years, and his value as a 
citizen and friend made his death the cause of general sorrow in his com- 
munit}-. He was a life-king I\ci)ul)lican. e\er acti\-c in the lncal circles of 
the ])arty. and in religious faith was a Lutheran. His wife bore the maiden 
name of Pauline Stroehlein and was likewise a nati\e of P.axaria. ( icrmany. 
where she was reared. .She came to .\nierica in early womanhood and for 
many vears she tra\eleil life's journey as the wife of John C. Sauerman. 
Her tleath occurred in i(;oo. when she was se\enty-one years of age. This 
worthy couple were the parents of fimr children, one of whom die<l when 
only a year old. while I'lora died in 1888. Margaret T. is the widow of 
Dr. Henrv Pettibone. of Crown Point. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. ISO 

Andrew A. Saucrman. the secoml in order of birth of this family, was 
reared at Crown Point, attended the pnlihc schools tlicre and after acqniring 
his elementary eihication attended coUcye at X'alparaiso. Indiana, the insti- 
tution being known as the Northern Indiana Normal School. He was gratl- 
uated in the business department and after returning to his home he fol- 
lowed the harness-maker's trade, which he had previously learned, following 
that pursuit until 1876. In that year he eritered the office of the county 
recorder as deputy, acting in that capacity for two years, and in 1878 he 
became assistant cashier of the First National Bank, which position he 
filled until January, 1896, when he was elected cashier of the bank. This 
has been his connection with the institution to the present time, and the 
success of the bank is attributable in no small degree to his efticier.cy ami 
fidelity. He is a popular cashier, his oljliging manner and unfaltering- 
courtesy Ijeing greatly appreciated by the patrons of the institution, while at 
the same time he is most loyal to the interests of the corporation which he 
represents. Since 1884 Mr. Sauerman has been a member of the board of 
directors of the First National Bank. 

In 1880 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Sauerman and Miss An- 
toinette Aurich, of Hancock, Michigan, a daughter of Michael and Mag- 
dalena (Diem) Aurich. She was born in Sheboygrn, Wisconsin, and was 
reared in Hancock, Michigan, and she died on the loth of March. 1903, 
leaving two children : Harvey A., who is engaged in the drug business at 
Valparaiso; and Pauline M., who is attending school at Crown Point. Mr. 
Sauerman is a member of the Lutheran church, of which he is serving as a 
trustee, and he is well known throughout the county as a stanch ReiTublican, 
having considerable influence in local political circles. He is a representa- 
tive of our best type of American manhood and chi\-alry. r>y ]ierseverance, 
determination and honorable effort he has o\erthrown the obstacles wdiich 
barred his path to success and reached the goal of prosperity, while his 
genuine worth, broad mind and public-spirited interest ha\e made him a 
director of public thought and action. 

JOHN BUCZKOWSKI. 

The prosperity and progress of every community depend upon its busi- 
ness activity, its commercial interests and industrial development, and those 



lyo HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

who are foremost in the puhlic life are tlic men wlio are controlling the 
vein? and arteries cf traffic. Mr. Bnczkowski has become well known in 
connection with mercantile circles in Whiting, where he is now condncting 
a grocery and confectionery establishment. He deserves great credit for the 
success he has attained as it has Ijeen Wdu entirely through his rnvn well 
directed efforts guided by sound business judgment and permeated bv trust- 
worthy methods. 

yir. Buczkowski is a nati\e of Germany, his birth having occurred on 
the 14th of June, 1857. He was but a small boy when he came to America 
with his parents, the family home being first established in LaPorte county, 
Indiana, near Westville. The father \\as a farmer by occupation, and John 
Buczkowski was reared upon the home farm, early becoming familiar with, 
the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist, in connection 
with the cultivation of the fields. He remained a resident of LaPorte county 
until about thirty-three years of age, and in his boyhood days attended the 
common schools, thus becoming equipped for life's practical and responsible 
duties. After entering upon his business career he had charge of a depart- 
ment for the street car company for a time and later was in charge of the 
convicts of the state prison at IMichigan City for one year. In 1889 he 
came to Whiting, where he opened a saloon, which he conducted for five 
years at one location. He then removed to Robertsdale or North Ham- 
mond, where he continued in the same business for about five years. He 
then retired from active business for a time, but indolence and idleness are 
utterly foreign to his nature and he afterward entered trade circles. He 
erected three buildings in North Hammond, and he now owns four buildings 
there. He also bought and sold land and speculated to a considerable extent 
in real estate, doing a business which has resulted profitably. He is now 
connected with the firm of Smith & Bader in the real estate business, oper- 
ating under the name of the Whiting Land Company. He has assisted 
materially in the upbuilding and improvement of North Hammond and of 
\\'hiting, having erected two houses here, and he is known as one of the 
most enterprising and progressive men of the town. As proprietor of a 
grocerv and confectionery store he is conducting a large and growing busi- 
ness; and in the different fields of trade with which he has been connected 
he has met with creditable success. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 191 

Mr. Buczkowski was elected justice of the peace at tlie same time that 
Judge Jones was elected to represent North Hammond, Whiting and East 
Chicago in North township. ]\Ir. Buczkowski has taken quite an active part 
in public affairs, and is a Democrat in his political views where national 
questions are involved, but at local elections casts his ballot independently of 
party ties, supporting the candidates whom he thinks best qualified for oflice. 
May 17, 1904. he was appointed by the corncil as street commissioner of 
Whiting. 

In 1881 was celebrated the marriage of John Buczkowski and Miss 
Mary Przyblinski, and they now ha\c tliree children, two sons and a daughter, 
namely: Harry, Frank and Vangeline. Mr. Buczkowski is well known in 
Lake and LaPorte counties, where he has many friends, and his consecutive 
endeavor, strong purpose and laudable ambition have formed the foundation 
upon which he has buildedhis business success. As the architect of his 
own fortunes he has builded wisely and well, and may justly be called by 
the somewhat hackneyed but very expressive title of a "self-made man." 

JOHN L. KEILMAN. 

John L. Keihnan. general merchant and a director in the First National 
Bank at Dyer, is an influential and progressive young business man of Lake 
county, where he has had his life-long residence. He early marked out 
business pursuits as the object of his career, and he has been steadily advanc- 
ing to greater success in his enterprises since he took up active life some 
fifteen years ago. He is well known throughout the county, not only for his 
connection with commercial and financial affairs but also as the bearer of a 
family name that will always be entitled to honor and esteem in Lake county, 
with whose growth and material development the first American Keilman 
became identified in the pioneer epoch, and the family influence and resources 
have been increasing to the present time. 

Mr. Keilman is the youngest son of Leonard and Lena (Austgen) 
Keilman, who have lived in Lake county for sixty years and whose history, 
together v. ith other facts concerning this prominent family, will be found on 
other pages of this volume. John L. Keilman was born in St. John town- 
ship. Lake county, August 21, 1867, and was reared in his native place. 
After receiving a common school training he spent two years at the Catholic 



1^2 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

seminary at St. Francis, near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where lie took n busi- 
ness course. After his return home he engaged ii: the general mercantile 
business, in 1890, in partnership with his father. In i8(jj he sold out his 
interest to his father, and spent the following nine months sight-seeing in 
California and the Pacific coast. He returned once more to engage in busi- 
ness with his father, under the name of L. Keilmnn & Son, and this firm is 
still doing business at the old stand which was established nearly fifty years 
ago. They have a -large stock of general merchandise and do a large busi- 
ness with the surrounding district. Mr. Keilman was one of the men who 
organized the First National Bank in Dyer, in 1903, and is now one of its 
directors. 

Mr. Keilman married, October 3, 1895, Miss Emma Scliaefer, who was 
born October 3, 1871, and is also a native of Dyer, St. John township, a 
daughter of Jacob Schaefer. They have no children. 

JOHN J. BRENNAN. 

For ten years John J. Brennan has been a resident of Roby, where he 
has large property interests and where in public circles he is well known, his 
influence having been a strong element in shaping public policy here during 
the decade in which he has been identified with the city. He is a typical busi- 
ness man of the present time, energetic and enterprising, who quickly recog- 
nizes business possibilities and also is cognizant of the fact that the present 
and not the future holds his opportunity. He knows that the moment for 
action is not to come, but uses his powers daily to the best advantage, and his 
life, therefore, has been crowned with successful accomplishment. 

Mr. Brennan is a native of Ohio, his birth having occurred in Urbana, 
Champaign county, on the 8th of August, i860. He is a son of Edward and 
Bridget (Ryan) Brennan both of whom were natives of Ireland, and having 
crossed the Atlantic to America they became residents of the Buckeye state. 
Mr. John J. Brennan was reared in the city of his nativity, and pursued his 
education in the public schools. After putting aside his text books he en- 
tered upon his business career in a grocery store in the capacity of a shipping 
clerk and for about a year he remained in that establishment, which business 
w as carried on along both wholesale and retail lines. In 1876 he went south 
and completed his education in the Southwestern Presbyterian University. 




^:UiniuC^-'^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 193 

He afterward became registered letter and money order clerk in the postoffice 
at Clarksville, Tennessee, where he remained tor fonr years. He then re- 
turned to Ohio, again locating in his native city, and was engaged in the coal 
business with his father for about two years. In 1S87 he removed to Chicago, 
where he accepted the position of bookkeeper with the United States Rolling 
Stock Company, doing business at Hegewisch, Illinois. He continued as 
accountant with that company for seven years and came to Roby in 1894, 
since which time he has been a resident of this city. Here he is engaged in 
the saloon and restaurant business. He is also one of the principal land- 
holders of Roby, and likewise owns ))roperty iri Illinois. 

Mr. Brennan has been very active and influential in ]5olitics antl is a 
stanch supporter of the Democratic party, believing that its ))rinciples contain 
the. best elements of good government. In igoi he was elected a meiuber of 
the Hammond city council from the Fourth ward. He is one of the active 
members of that body, progressive and public-spirited in his citizenship and 
taking an active and helpful interest in everything that pertains to the general 
welfare. Viewed in a personal light, he is a man of excellent judgment, 
fair in his views and highly honorable in his relations with his fellow men. 
His life has been kindly, his actions sincere, his manner unaffected, and his 
example is well worthy of emulation. 

MICHAEL GRIMMER. 

Michael Grimmer, who is serving for the second term as county auditor 
of Lake county and is a resident of Crown Point, was born in Ross township, 
this county, on the 18th of July, 1853, and his entire career has been such 
as to command the confidence, good will and respect of his fellow-citizens. 
His father, Michael Grimmer, made his way to Chicago in 1841, and after 
residing in the embryo city for a number of years took up his abode in Lake 
county, Indiana, in 1849. He was one of the pioneers of this section of the 
state, and he devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits until his death, 
which occurred in 1853, when b.is son IMichael was but eight weeks old. 
He left beside his widow four children, two daughters and two sons, the 
eldest being then but little more than twelve years of age. The mother 
afterward married again, and Michael Grimmer remained at home with his 
step-father until aljout sixteen years of age, assisting in the operation of the 



ll»i HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

home farm. He then started nut in life on liis own account, and thougli 
he had l)ut limited school privileges to ec|uip him for the duties of the business 
world he possessed energy and determination, and resolved to win advance- 
ment. By working as a farm hand he earned the money that enabled him 
to attend school in the winter months, and later he began teaching in the 
district schools, being connected with that profession for ten years. In 1880 
he embarked in general merchandising at Schererville, where he continued 
for seventeen yearS. H's business was capably conducted, and his enter- 
prise and fair dealing formed the substantial foundation upon which he 
builded his success. 

In the meantime Mr. Grimmer had been called to public ofifice He is 
a stanch Republican in his political views and has taken an active interest in 
the work of the party throughout the period of his majority. While engaged 
in merchandising at Schererville he served for eight years as trustee of 
St. John township, and in 1897 he was elected auditor of Lake county, .serving 
so faithfully during the succeeding three years that in 1900 he wa.s re-elected 
and is now the incumbent in that office. He discharges his duties with 
marked promptness and fidelity, and his public career is one which has gained 
for him unabating confidence and respect. 

In 1879 Mr. Grimmer was united in marriage to Miss Lena Newman, 
a daughter of Joseph and IMary Newman, and they have two children : 
Frances, who is in the office with her father; and Fred, who .is attending 
school. Mr. (irimmer is one of the leading citizens of Lake county, where 
he has spent his entire life. He is a self-educated as well as a self-made man. 
Starting out in life for himself ere he had attended school to any extent, he 
became imbued with a laudable ambition to attain something better, and has 
steadily advanced in those walks of life demanding intellectuality, business 
ability and fidelity. To-day he commands the respect and esteem not only 
of his community but of peojile throughout the stale. 0\ er the record of his 
public career and his private life there falls no shadow of wrong, for he has 
ever been most loyal to the duties of friendship and of citizenship, and his 
history well deserves a place in the annals of his native county. 

JOHN G. BOHLING. 

John G. Bohling. a prominent farmer of St. John township, has resided 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 195 

in this part of Lake county all his life aiul carries on his extensixe agricuU- 
ural operations on tlie same farm on wliich he was b(M-n, and which his 
father settled in tlie early days of the county's existence. He has always 
been known among his neighhors and fellow-citizens as a man oi ability 
and energy and progressive spirit, and he has so managed his affairs as to 
gain a substantial place in the world and surround himself with comfortable 
circumstances. 

Mr. Bohling was born in St. John township, Lake county, Octoljer ii, 
1855, a grandson of Andrew and a son of John Bohling, both well known 
men in the early settlement of Lake county. His father was born in Ger- 
many, November 26, 1823, and was reared there to the age of fifteen, when 
he was brought by his father to America. They lived in Joliet, Illinois, for 
two years, and in 1841 came to Lake county, Indiana. Here John Bohling 
married, in 1843, Anna Mary Shillo, who was also born in Germany and 
came to America in 1842. She died at the age of seventy years After their 
marriage they locaited on a tract of unimproved land in St. John township, 
and he gave his attention to its improvement and cultivation for many years, 
and still resides on it, with his son John. He is now past eighty years of 
age, and is revered as one of the sterling pioneers of Lake county. Of his 
seven children only four are now living, as follows: Magdalen, wife of Bart 
Schaefer, of Center township, Lake county ; Susanna, wife of Nick Maginot, 
of St. John township; Joseph P., of Hammond; and John G. 

Mr. Bohling, the youngest of the family, was reared on the farm where 
he still lives, and received his early education in the schools of St. John 
township. On his fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres he raises general 
crops and stock, and has been able to extract more than a good livirig from 
his fertile soil, so that he ranks among the progressive and representative 
farmers of the t(jwnship. In national affairs he has always given his alle- 
giance to the Democratic party, but votes for the man in local affaiis. He 
and his family are members of the Catholic church in St. John, the patron 
saint St. John's. 

April 2j. 1880. Mr. Bohling married Miss Lillosa Schmal, who was 
born in the village of St. John, Lake county, h'ebruary 4, 1857, and is a 
daughter of .\dam Schmal. Five children ha\x' been Ixirn to Mr. and Mrs. 
Bohling: Clara, the wife of Frank .\. Beiker, of Crown Point: William, at 
home; Eleanor; Xorbert: and Joseph A., deceased. 



I'.Hi HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

LEVI E. BAILEY. 

On the roster of county officials of Lake county appears the name of 
Levi E. Bailey, who is the present treasurer and is a most faithful custodian 
of the public exchequer. He is living at present in Crown Point, and through- 
out this portion of the state he is widely and favorably known. By birth, 
training and preference he is a western man, imbued with the spirit of enter- 
prise and advancement which is characteristic of the middle west and has 
led to its rapid growth and development. 

Mr. Bailey was born in Yellowhead township, Kankakee county, Illi- 
nois, January 9, 1858. It is known that his ancestors lived at one time in 
North Carolina, afterward in Pennsylvania and still later in Ohio. His 
paternal grandfather, John Bailey, became one of the pioneer settlers of 
LaPorte county, Indiana, locating there during the early boyhood of Josiah 
B. Bailey. On leaving LaPorte county Josi.nh B. Bailey took up his abode 
in Lake ct)unty with his parents, and was here reared. He was also married 
here, the lady of his choice being Miss Nancy Kile, who was Ixirn in Lake 
county, Indiana. Immediately after their marriage they removed to Kanka- 
kee county, Illinois, where the father followed the occupation of farming until 
1866 He then returned with his family to Lake county, locating in West 
Creek township, where he spent his remaining days, his death occurring when 
he was sixty-seven years of age. He was a very public-spirited man, took 
an active and helpful interest in the building of roads and gave a generous 
and zealous support to the measures for the public good. In politics he was 
a very stanch Republican. His wife died at the age of thirty-eight years. 
In the family were four children, three sons and a daughter, all of whom are 
now residents of West Creek township, Lake county. 

Levi E. Bailey is the eldest and was but six years of age when the family 
returned to Lake county, so that he was reared here. He attended the com- 
mon schools, worked on the home farm and remained under the parental roof 
until twenty-two years of age, when he st.Mrted out in life on his own account. 
He engaged in farming in Kankakee county. Illinnis. where he remained fi)r 
three vears. and then again came to Lake county, settling in West Creek town- 
ship. There he carried on general agricultural pursuits until .\ovemher, 1902, 
when he was elected county treasurer. On the ist of Seplemher. 1903, he 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. IJiT 

took up Iiis abode in Crown Point. He tool; possession of tlie dfticc on tlic 
1st of January. 1903, and is now capalily discliargi!\Q the duties tliercnf. He 
owns a farm of four Inindred and twenty acres m West Creek townslii]). which 
is now rented. He is also a stockholder in the Lowell National Bank. March 
19, 1904, Mr. Bailey was re-nominated for a second term as treasurer. 

In 1880 occurred the marriage of Mr. Bailey and }^Iiss Emma Hayden, 
a native of West Creek township, Lake county, and a daughter of Daniel and 
Louisa Hayden, who were pioneer settlers of this county. I'our children 
graced this marriage: Nancy, the wife of Loren Love, of West Creek town- 
ship; Murray; Merritt : and Ben.nett. 

Mr. Bailey takes a veiy active interest in local political affairs and is an 
unfaltering advocate of Republican principles, believing firmly in the prin- 
ciples of the party and endorsing the various planks of its jilatform. He is 
identified with the Knights of Pythias fraternity and the Indejjeiulent Order 
of Foresters, at Lowell, and he is well known in fraternal, political and agri- 
cultural circles throughout the county. 

RICHARD FULLER. 

Richard Fuller was for some years one of the extensive farmers of 
Lake county, operating one thousand acres, and his name has been a prom- 
inent and honored one in connection with agricultural interests and' with 
the dealing in hay, grain and stock. He is now proprietor of the Fuller House 
at Shelby, and few men of this part of the state ha\-e a wider or more fr.vorable 
acquaintance tliani has Richard buller. Moreover, he is entitled to distinc- 
tion as a self-made man. whose success is attributable directly to his own 
efforts 

Mr. Fuller was born in Athens county, Ohio, February 12, 1829, and 
has, therefore, passed the seventy-fifth milestone on life's journey. His 
parents were James and Lydia (Dodge) Fuller, both of whom were natives 
of Maine. His maternal grandmother, however, was born in Scotland and 
was brought to America when a little maiden ot sex'en summers. The 
paternal grandfather was born in Maine and was of English descent, the 
family having been founded in America in early cnlnnial days, ^\■hen the 
colonists attempted to throw off the yoke of British opjiression ho joined 
the continental army and fought for the inde]ienflence of tlie n;'.tion. Ilotli 



li^« HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. and Mrs. James Fuller were reared and educated in llie Pine Tree state, 
and their marriage was there celebrated. They became the parents of eleven 
children, of whom Richard Fuller is the tenth child and ninth son. 

Richard Fuller was in his tenth year when he came to Lake county, 
Lidiana, with his father and mother. The family home was established in 
Cedar Creek township, where his father entered land from the government 
and improved a farm, spending his remaining days thereon, his death oc- 
curring when he was in 'his seventy-first year. His wife passed away when 
about the same age. They were pioneer settlers of Lake county and actively 
assisted in the early development and progress of this portion of the state. 

Richard Fuller pursued his education in one of the old log school houses 
of Lake county, attending through the winter months, while during the 
remainder of the year he assisted in the arduous task of cultivating new land 
and developing the home farm. He gave his father the benefit of his services 
until he had attained his majority, and then engaged in farming on his own 
account in Cedar Creek township. He later removed to West Creek town- 
ship, w here he remained until 1888, when he came to Shelby, and here carried 
on general agricultural pursuits. At one time he operated over a thousand 
acres of land where he now resides. He was extensively engaged in dealing 
in hay, grain and stock until about ten years ago, when he purchasecf his 
present place, the Fuller House, which he is now conducting. 

In 1854 Mr. Fuller was united in marriage to Miss Deborah Hale, a 
natixe of oMaine, who was reared, however, in Lake county, Indiana. She 
died in 1875, leaving eleven children, all of whom reachecf adult age, and 
nine are li\ing at this writing. Cyrus Julian, who finished part of the high 
school course, is married and a farmer at Rose in Woodson county, Kansas. 
Clara Adelia was educated in the grammar schools and is now a resident of 
Shelby, this county. James Franklin, a contractor and builder of Canyon 
City, Colorado, is a very successful man. and has erected many fine buildings 
in Kansas as well as in Canyon City. Naomi Adeline is the wife of Henry 
Parsons, of New Haven. Connecticut, who is an artist by profession and 
was educated in the city where he now resides. Richard Edwin is married 
and is a successful restaurateur at Monon, Indiana. Hannah Ann is at 
home with her parents. Joseph Allen, a farmer at Shelliy, was educated in 
the common schools and is a Democrat in politics. Laura Jeannette is the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 199 

\vife of James Block, a prosperous stock tanner of Orcliard Groxc. Indiana. 
Agnes Deborah, the youngest of the children, is the wife of Jolm Borg, wlio 
is editor of tiie .Vi'7>."j- Rcz'ici,.' at Thayer, IncUana. 

.\t the time of tiie Civil war Mr. Fuller served for six montlis as a 
member of Company E, Fifty-fifth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was 
then honorably discharged by reason of the cessation of hostilities, July 27, 
1865. He is a Democrat in his political \iews and a supporter of \Y. J. 
Bryan. He has been a resident of Lake county for sixty-fi\'e years, and few 
of its citizens have longer witnessed its progress and improvement. His 
life has been characterized by untiring activity and perseverance and he is 
well known and highly respected because of his many sterling traits of 
character. 

ORLANDO V. SERVIS. 

Orlando V. Servis, a prominent and well-known farmer of Section 25, 
Eagle Creek township, has made Lake county the scene of his quiet and 
successful endeavors ever since beginning his active career, and the township 
where he now resides is also his birthplace, so that sixty odd years of resi- 
dence has made Lake county the most particular and dearest spot of the inhab- 
ited globe to him. The most strenuous part of Mr. Servis's life, however, 
was passed a\\ ay from the peaceful limits of Lake county, in the daily marches 
and battles of the great Rebellion, in which he was one of the faithful soldiers 
of the Union and gave over four years' of conscientious service for its 
integrity. 

This veteran soldier and successful farmer was born in Eagle Creek 
township, Lake county, September 12. 1843, being the sixth of the eight 
children, four sons and four daughters, born to Orlando V. and Eliza (Flint) 
Servis, both natives of New York state. His father came to Lake county 
in the thirties, and located on a tract of land near Southeast Grove in Eagle 
Creek township, where he improved and developed a fine farm. He died 
at Hebron, in Porter county, when about seventy-five years old. He was 
a prominent member of the ^Methodist Episcopal church, for some years being 
the most influential supporter of his church. He was a Whig and Repub- 
lican in politics, and held various local offices, such as township trustee, etc. 
His wife also died at Hebron at the age of seventy-five. Four of their chil- 
dren died when young. 



200 I^STOR^" of lake county. 

Mr. Serxi? wa^ rcarcil in hi? iialixe townsliip. receiving his schoolinsf 
at Southeast riiM\c. In iSru lie enlisted in Company E. Ninth Indiana 
Infantr}-. and served two years as private and was then made first duty 
sergeant of his company. At the end of his first term of three years' enhst- 
ment he re-enlisted in the same company and served till the end of the war. 
He participated at the siege of Corinth, at Pittshurg Landing, Stone River 
and Chickamauga. and was with Sherman until wounded at Pine Mountain, 
Georgia, a gunshot wound keeping him in Hospital Xn. i at Nashville for 
three months, after which he was sent home for tliirty days, and rejomed his 
regiment at Pulaski, Tennessee. He was under Thomas at the battles of 
Nashville and Franklin. He had also been wounded at the battle of Resaca, 
a cannon ball passing between his knees and inflicting a severe injury to his 
left knee. In all he ser\ed four }ears and two months, and received his 
honorable discharge at Camp Stanle}-, Texas, and was mustered out at 
Indianapolis, Indiana. 

On his return from the army he Ijought the farm of one hundred and 
sixty acres where he now resides, and where he carries on general farming, 
being one of the most progressive and successful men of his class in the 
vicinity. He affiliates with Burnham Post, G. .-\. R.. at Lowell, and is a 
stanch Republican, although he never allows his name to l)e presented for 
office. He married, in 1870, Miss Nancy A. Pearce, a daughter of Michael 
and Mary J. Pearce, extended mention of which worthy couple will be found 
in the liiography of their son, John Pearce. Mr. and Mrs. Servis have one 
child, IMabel, at home, who has completed the eighth grade of the public 
schools and has taken instruction in music. 

FRED J. SMITH. 

Varied and extensixe business interests have claimed the attention, en- 
ergy and business foresight of Fred J. Smith, who is now the senior meml^er 
of the firm of Smith & Eader, real estate and land agents of \Miiting. He is 
also identified with other financial and commercial interests here, and his 
labors have contributed in no small degree to the u])buil(liirg of the town, for 
the advancement of any commun.it}- is dependent in large measure upon its 
business men. Mr. Smitii is a native son of Indiana, his birth having occurred 
in LaPurte countv on the 2^xh of March, i86j. 




^^l<:2^^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 201 

His father, Louis Smith, was born in Europe, and when a young man 
crossed the Atlantic to the new world. He married Miss Sophia Hider. who 
was also of European birth, but was brought to the new world when but two 
years old. Mr. and Mrs. Louis Smith became residents of LaPorte county, 
Indiana, at an early period in the development of that portion of the state, 
and the subject of this review is their eldest son and second child. He was 
reared under the parental roof and is indebted to the public schools of LaPorte, 
Indiana, for the educational privileges he enjoyed. After putting aside his 
text books he learned the baker's trade and subsequently, in 1890, he caiiie to 
Whiting, where he became a menilier of the firm of Smith & Bader as pro- 
prietors of a bakery and restaurant. While in that business they began pur- 
chasing real estate and laid out several additions to the town, the fiist being 
what is known as the Smith & Bader Addition. They afterward laid out the 
Sheridan Park addition, and in this way have contributed much to the im- 
provement and substantial upbuilding of the place. They organized the 
Whiting Land Company, formed under the state laws of Indiana, Mr. Smith 
becoming its president. This company now owns and controls much of the 
best residence property of Whiting in the western part of the city. This has 
been greatly improved, involving the investment of one hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars. The first addition has all been sold. Sheridan Park has 
also been improved, some of the best streets of the city have been laid there 
and many of the finest residences have been there built. The lots are forty 
feet front; and some of the houses have been erected at a cost of forty-five 
hundred dollars. Mr. Smith has perhaps been more closely identified with 
the upbuilding and improvement of Whiting than any other man, and while 
conducting his private business affairs he has also contributed in full measure 
to the general welfare. He is one of the directors of the First National Bank 
and is now treasurer of the Petrolene, Paint & Roofing Company of Whiting. 
He is continually studying so as to introduce improved methods for the bene- 
fit of the town, and is now president of the Business Men's Association. 

In 1888 Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Helen Maas, and to 
them have been born three sons. Russell, Walter and Lawrence. In his political 
views Mr. Smith is a Democrat and was one of the first aldermen of Whiting 
and one of the first trustees of the town after its organization. He has also 
been president of the board of education, and he is a trustee of the Lutheran 



202 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

cluirch. in which he holds membership. He belongs to the little group of 
distinctively representative business men who have been the pioneers in inau- 
gurating and building up the chief industries of this section of the country. 
He early had the sagacity and prescience to discern the eminence which the 
future had in store for this great and growing city, and, acting in accordance 
with the dictates of his faith and judgment, he has garnered in the fullness of 
time the generous harvest which is the just recompense of indomitable indus- 
try, spotless integrity and marvelous enterprise. He is now connected with 
many extensive and important business interests. 

MATHEW J. BROWN. 

Mathew J. Brown, who is popularly and extensively known throughout 
Lake and Porter counties as "Matt" Brown, has agricultural, live-stock and 
commercial interests perhaps as important as those of any other man in the 
county of Lake. He resides on section 19 of Eagle Creek township, where 
he has one of the beautiful homes of the vicinity. He has spent his life smce 
birth mainly in this township, and has made himself by capacity for business 
transactions and integrity of personal character one of the influential factors 
of industrial and social activity. 

Mr. Brown was born in Eagle Creek township, October 31, 1857, being 
the third child of William and Mary J. (Wallace) Brown, whose individual 
history will be found on other pages of this work. He was rearfd and edu- 
cated in his native township, attending first the country schools and after- 
ward the Northern Indiana Normal School at Valparaiso. He began his 
career of activity by teaching in the winter and farming in the summer, 
continuing this manner of living until he was twenty-nine years old and 
meanwhile making his home with his father. At that time he took unto 
himself a wife, and then located on a farm about one mile east of his present 
residence. He rented eleven hundred and twenty acres for ten years, and 
carried on very extensive operations in general farming and stock-raising. At 
the same time he bought and sold much land, his transactions involving over 
two thousand acres altogether. At one time in his career he was engaged 
in farming two thousand acres. In 1900 he built his present residence at a 
cost of about eight thousand dollars, it being one of the model country homes 
of Lake county. He owns about a thousand acres, not a foot of which does 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 2C3 

he rent out to other parties. He pays out tliousands of dollars for help and 
carries on all his extensive operations under his own direct supervision. He 
also has an extensive mercantile husiness at Hebron, in Porter county, and at 
one time he was a merchant of Lowell. He has a general store of his own 
at Hebron and also a half interest in a store with his brother. He has spent 
nearly all of the years of his active career in the hay and grain and live-stock 
business, and in fact will deal in nearly everything subject to barter, exchange 
or purchase. He is. also senior member of the Hebron Lumber and Coal 
Company, which has extensive trade in its lines. Mr. Brown, on his farm, 
makes a specialty of raising fine Hereford cattle, and keeps about one hun- 
dred head of this beautiful stock. He has been highly prospered in all his 
enterprises, and for about twenty years has been recognized as one of the 
men of power and ability in trade and agricultural circles of eastern Lake 
county. Besides the multifarious duties and husiness interests of Mr. Brown, 
we may add that he has been extensively engaged as a thresher for twenty- 
five years in Eagle Creek and adjacent territory, and has met with his usual 
degree of success. He introduced the first steam thresher in Eagle Creek 
township and even at the present time (1904) has two or three outfits 
at work. 

He has been a stanch Republican since casting his first presidential 
ballot, and has not been content to sit idle while others performed the duties 
of citizenship. He was elected to the office of county commissioner in 1902, 
and is the nominee for a second term. He was serving as township trustee 
just before election to his present office. He is a member of the Masonic 
order at Hebron, Lodge No. 502, and also of the Knights of Pythias, Lodge 
No. 405, at the same place. 

March 31, 1886, Mr. Brown married Miss Mary A. Crawford, who was 
born in Eagle Creek township of Lake county, being a daughter of John 
and Adaline (Staley) Crawford. She was educated in the home schools 
and at the Female Seminary at Oxford, Ohio. There were eight children 
born of this union : Joseph E., who is attending the Crown Point high school; 
Harry also in the Crown Point high school; William Jay, John Crawford, 
Rubv A., Kenneth D., Bessie and Mary H. 



204 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

D. H. THOMPSON. 

D. H. Tliompson, of section 26. Center townsliii), has been a prominent 
Lake connty farmer for tlie past twenty-five years, lias clone Iiis sliare in the 
work of progress and development of the county's material, social, intellectual 
and moral affairs, and in all the relations of a very busy and successful life 
has been found true to his best ideals and has retained the confidence and 
esteem of his fellow citizens. 

Mr. Thompson was born in Mercer county. Pennsylvania, August 4, 
1846. His father. Anthony Thompson, was a native of Ireland, but his grand- 
parents were born in Scotland. He came over to America when seventeen 
years old and followed the occupation of farming in Pennsylvania during the 
rest of his life. He was married in the same state to Rebecca McClure, whose 
father was one of the first school teachers in western Pennsylvania. She died 
at the age of sixty-seven, having lieen the motlier of twelve children, of whom 
D. H. is the youngest, and his oldest brother is still living in Lawrence 
county, Pennsylvania, past the age of eighty. 

Mr. D. H. Thompson was reared in his r.ative coimty, and obtained his 
early literary training in the country schools, completing his education in the 
Iron City School at Pittsburg. In 1863, when seventeen years old, he enlisted 
in Company D, Fifty-fifth Pennsylvania Militia, and served as a private for 
sixty days during the invasion of the southern forces into the state. He then 
returned home and for a number of years followed the occupations of farm- 
ing, carpentering and bridge-building in Pennsylvania. In March, 1879, he 
came out to Lake county, Indiana, and entered upon his career as farmer in 
Center township. He has a fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres, and its 
well improved and highly cultivated acres are valuable in themselves and 
return large profits from their skilful culture under the direction of Mr. 
Thomps(^n. 

He is a firm adherent of the Republican party in matters of national 
importance, but pays little attention to the party tag affixed to the candidate 
for local oftice. He is a memlier of the United Presbyterian church and is 
ser\'ing as treasurer of the same. 

March 25, 1879. ^Mr. Thompson married Miss Margaret A. McKnight, 
who was born December 11, 1847. '" Porter county, Indiana, near the Lake 




M). 7(^.(^J^>-^^/i<^^^^ 




_^AA)-^^>->^ . \^^/^)-''^-^^^-»i^^->-^O^^X-AJi_^s^y.^_> , 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 205 

county line, and was reared for tlie most part in Lake county. Slie liad four 
brothers in the war of the Rebellion, one of whom was killed at the battle of 
Kenesaw Mmuitain and another died in the hospital. ]\lr. Thompson also 
had a l)n)ther John, who served in the Seventh Kansas Regiment during the 
war. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson have three children living: Samuel A., James 
W. and William R. Samuel resides with his parents and is an agriculturist. 
James \\'.. at Charlottsville, Indiana, and a telegrapher on the Pan Handle 
Railroad, was educated in the normal college at Valparaiso. William R., the 
youngest, is at home. 

Mrs. Thompson's parents are both deceased: her lather died aged eighty- 
three, and mother about seventy-five. They were memlx'rs of the Reformed 
Presbyterian church. Mrs. Thompson is a member of the United Pres- 
byterian church. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson are citizens who are held in high 
esteem. 

WALTER L. ALLMAX. 

Walter L. Allman, \ice-president of the Commercial Bank and senior 
partner of the abstract firm of Allman Brothers, figures prominently in luisi- 
ness circles in Crowri Point, and while his life history contains no exciting 
chapters it yet demonstrates the force of consecuti\e endeavor, guided by 
sound business principles and supplemented by laudable ambition. 

Mr. Allman is a native son of Crown Point, where his birth occurred 
on the 6th of October, 1861. He is the eldest son of Amos aiul Mary A. 
(Luther) Allman, and is of English lineage. His grandfather. Major 
Allman, was the first Methodist minister at Crown Point and was closely 
identified with the early develojiment and moral advancement of the county. 
The name of Allman has since been closely associated with the history of 
Lake county, and its various representatives have been worthy and \-aluable 
citizens. z\mos Allman was but an infant when brought to the county and 
he spent almost his entire life here. I""or a long period he was engaged in 
the abstract business. 

In taking up the personal history of Wrdter L. .XUman we present to 
our readers the life record of one who is widely and favorably known in 
Lake county, where his business activity has led to success and prominence. 
He has always lived in Lake county with the exception of about a year spent 
with his parents in Niles, Michigan. The greater part of his education was 



206 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

obtained in tlie select school taught by the Misses Knight. At the age of 
eleven years he began to learn the trade of typesetting in the office of the 
Crown Point Herald, and devoted about two years to that occupation. When 
about fifteen years of age he entered liis father's abstract business, and when 
twenty-one years of age he was admitted to a partnership. Upon his father's 
death he became the senior partner in the business, in which he is associated 
with his brother, and they have a good clientage in this regard. Walter L. 
Alln.an also became cashier of the Commercial Bank of Crown Point upon 
its organization in 1895 and served in that capacity until 1904, when he was 
elected vice-president of said bank. He is therefore well known in financial 
circles, and his business ability and executive force have contributed in large 
measure to the successful conduct of the bank, which has become recognized 
as one of the strong, safe and reliable financial institutions of the county. 

Mr. Allman has been married twice. In 1892 he wedded Miss Arvilla 
E. Sings, who died in 1894, and in 1900 he was again married, his second 
union being with Miss Eva Dyer, a daughter of Tliomas Henry and Alta 
(Smith) Dyer, of Kankakee. Illinois. Mrs. Allman was born in Kankakee 
county, Illinois, but acquired her preliminary education in the publii; schools 
of Crown Point and was graduated in the Chicago Female College, at 
Morgan Park, Illinois. She afterward engaged in teaching school for several 
years, and is a 'ady of superior culture and refinement, presiding with gracious 
hospitality over her pleasant home, which has been blessed with one son. 
Amos Dyer, born April 8, 1901. 

In his fraternal relations Mr. Allman is a Knight of Pythias, and politi- 
cally is a Republican who keeps well informed on the questions and issues 
of the day and gives earnest support to the principles and candidates of the 
party. His life history is as an open book to his fellow-townsmen, who 
have had intimate knowledge of his career from his early boyhood. His 
has been an honorable career, in which he has been active in business, loyal in 
citizenship, faithful in friendship, and as a representative of one of the most 
prominent pioneer families of the county and as a business man whose record 
will bear the closest investigation, he well deserves mention in this volume. 

HUGH F. MEIKLE. 

Hugh F. Meikle, dealer in coal, lirick, wood, lime and cement, at Ham- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 207 

mond, has been well known in (he business circles of this city for the past 
seven or eight years, and for the past five years has been established in his 
present business, which he conducts w ith satisfactory success, and witli such 
fair and square dealing and enterprise that he enjoys a good patronage. He 
is a man of proved ability, having been a salesman and in business for him- 
self for a number of years, and has long since found his proper sphere of 
usefulness in the world. 

He was born in Louisville, Kentucky. October 17, 1863, being now 
the only survivor of two sons and one daughter born to Thomas and Mar- 
garet (Fulton) Meikle, both natives of Scotland. Mr. Meikle's forefathers 
have resided for generations in Scotland. His great-grandparents were 
James and Elizabeth Meikle. His grandfather, also James Meikle, was a 
contr.Hctor of Scotland and was also mayor of Muir Kirk. He died in 
Scotland when about seventy-two years old. and his wife, Mary (Brown) 
Meikle, was also past seventy at the time of her death. They had a large 
family of children. 

Thomas Meikle was a blacksmith, learning the trade in his native 
country. He came to America about 1858, locating in Louisville, Kentucky, 
where he began the manufacture of agricultural implements. He died in 
Chicago while on a visit to his son Hugh F., in 1897, at the age of seventy. 
He and his wife were Presbyterians, and the latter still survives, making her 
home in Louisville. She was one of a large family of children b6rn to Hugh 
and Agnes (Stuart) Fulton, both natives of Scotland, and the former a 
shoe merchant of Kilmarnock. Hugh Fulton was eighty-four years old 
when he died, and his wife lived to the patriarchal age of ninety-six, so it 
seems that all branches of the family liave been very long-lived and endowed 
with Scotch hardihood and strength. 

Hugh F. Meikle was reared in Louisville. He Iiad a good public school 
course, graduating from the high school in 1880. He then began work in 
his father's plow factory and afterward was advanced to the superintendency 
of the factory. He held this position until 1888, and from then until 1896 
was on the road as a plow expert. He was called to Hammond in the latter 
year in order to install the machinery for what was known as the Chicago 
Ax Company's plant. After that was accomplished he was on the road for 
ei^^hteen months longer, and in May. 1899, engaged in the wood and coal 



20S HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

business in Hammond, wliicli enterprise he has continued, witli enlarged facil- 
ities, to the present time. 

July 2 2. 1885, Mr. Aleikle married Miss Emma E. Korh, a daughter of 
Jacob and Caroline (Steinage) Korb. Two daughters have been born of 
this marriage, Agnes and Eunice. Mr. Meilcle is a member of the Presby- 
terian church, and is also a Mason of high standing. He is master of Gar- 
field Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., and a member of Hammond Chapter No. 
117, R. A. M., and Hammond Commandery No 41, K. T. He also has 
fraternal membersliip with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
In politics he is a Republican. He is prominent and well known in the 
business and social circles of his city. He was elected president of the 
Hammond school board, February 26, 1904. 

JERRY M. KENNEY. 

For eighty-one years Jerry M. Kenney has traveled life's journey, and 
through a long period has lieen a resident of Lake county. He came here 
when this was a pioneer section, the work of progress and improvement hav- 
ing been scarcely begun, and through the intervening years he has watched 
with interest the advancement that has here l>een made and has given his 
co-operation to many mo\-ements for the public good. He is a native of the 
Pine Tree state, his birth having occurred in the town of Hollowell, Kennebec 
county, Maine, on tht loth of November, 1823. 

The family is of Scotch lineage and was founded in Ameri'ca in colonial 
days. Charles Kenney, the father of our subject, was a native of Maine and 
was there reared and married. By occupation he was a lumberman in early 
life. In 1807 he removed to Ohio, where he remained for three years, and 
then returned to Maine, where he continued to reside until 1837, when he came 
to Lake county, Indiana, estaljlishing his home in Eagle Creek township. He 
cast in his lot with its early settlers and bore his full share in the work of 
reclaiming the wild land for the purposes of civilization. There he made his 
home throughout his remaining days, passing away at the age of sixty-six 
years. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Detorah Rollins, was also a 
native of iMaine and died in Lake county, Indiana, when more than seventy 
vears of age To this worthy couple were born four sons and a daughter, all 
of whom reached adult age, but Mr. Kenney, who was the fourth child, is now 
the only one living. 




^"PWl. 



-t/nnAy^ ^ 




ilr^y&^ XC- 



^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 209 

Jerry M. Kenney spent the tir>t I'ourteen years of his life in the state of 
liis iiati\ity and then accompanied his parents on tlieir removal to Lake county, 
Indiana. He liad previously attended the public schools of Maine and after 
coming- to this state he assisted in openinq- u;; a new farm, the family being 
the first to settle on the prairie in Eagle Creek township. He i)erformed much of 
the arduous tasks incident to the development of a new farm, and to his father 
gave the benefit of his services until twenty-one years of age. He then went 
to Door Prairie, wdiere he worked for two years as a farm hand at ten dollars 
per month. On the expiration of that period he rented land of his father for 
two years, and then with the capital which he had actiuircd through his own 
energy. perse\erance and econoiuy lie purchased eiglity acres of land and began 
its improvement. He broke tlic sod. planted crops, set out an orchard and 
made other substantial impro\ements until his highl_\- cultivated farm l»re 
little resemblance to the wild tract which had, come into his possession. He 
added to his land from time to time luitil lie is now the owner of alx)ut five 
hundred acres, and he was successfully engaged in general fanning until 
1854. when he purchased a store at wdiat is called Orcliard (Irove. There he 
carried on general merchandising for twenty-se\en years in conuet^'tion with 
agricultural pursuits. In 1900 he sold his ■-^ore and retired from business, 
to enjoy a rest which, he had truly earned and richly descr\cs. 

In 1848 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Kenney and Miss Phoebe 
Woodrufif, a native of Oliio. who was brought to Lake county by her parents 
when a maiden of ten years, the fan.iily being early settlers of this portion of 
the state. They became the parents of six children, four sons and two daugh- 
ters : George \\'.. Lucinda. J. C, Joseph D., Schuyler C. and Effie L. All 
were born in Lake county and are yet living, with the e.xception of Joseph D. 
Kenney. 

In early life Mr. Kenney was a stanch advocate of Whig principles and 
at the dissolution of that party he became a stalwart Republican, and has since 
voted the ticket of that party organization, where state and national ques- 
tions are involved. At local elections, however, he votes independently, sup- 
porting the candidate whom he thinks best qualified for office. He served for 
twenty-seven consecutive years as postmaster at Orchard Grove, and he has 
been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church since twenty-five years of 
age, while his wife united with the same denomination at the age of sixteen. 



210 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

They have taken a \erv active and helpful part in churcli work, and Mr. 
Kenney has ser\ed as class leader and as .Sunday-school superintendent. As 
one of the pioneers of the county he has witnessed its development from an 
early day and has borne his full share in the work of progress and improve- 
ment. .\t the same time he has carved out a fortune for himself. He started 
out in life empty-handed, but he possessed strong determination and by his 
unfaltering labor and honorable dealing he has gained a handsome property 
and is justly accounted one of the self-made men of Lake county. 

Mrs. Kenney was born June 26, 1830, and she was educated in the com- 
m.on schools. For fifty-six years or over a half century have Mr. and Mrs. 
Kenney traveled the journey of life, sharing alike the joys and sorrows. She 
is the onlv survivor of the Woodrufif family. Mr. and Mrs. Kenney attended 
the pioneer school of the early day when the window was of greased paper, 
and the liouse was heated by the old-fashioned fireplace. The roof was of 
"shakes." He has swung the old-fashioned cradle in the harvest field many 
a day. Mr. Kenney's grandfathers were both in the Revolutionary war and 
figured in different battles, and Mr. Kenney's grandfather's wife was killed 
by the Indians when in a block house, througli the port hole; this was in the 
war of 1^12. 

?\Ir. and Mrs. Kenney have one of the old deeds which was executed 
April 10, TS43, 'I'ld signed by President John Tyier, the eighth deed of the 
kind found in Lake county. They have three other of these documents dated 
June 25, 1841, and April 10, 1843, by President Tyler, and another dated 
April 10, 1848, and signed by President James K. Polk, — four of these deeds 
in this one household. It was as late as 1848 when Mr. Kenney's father went 
to Wabash, Indiana, to get supplies, such as meat and flour, and took two 
four-horse teams. He has seen Chicago when most all of the business was 
done on Lake street and the ox teams were turned loose in the common. 

Mr. Kenney has always taken an active part in the old settlers' meeting, 
at Crown Point. When he first knew Lake county there was not a railroad 
in the entire county, where now fourteen or fifteen great trunk lines cross the 
county. The first railroad built in the county was the Michigan Central. 
Mr. and Mrs. Kenney have seen many of the Indians in their vicinity, and 
Mr. Kenney says he has played with the Indians, and at one time there were 
about five hundred camped near Shelby, in Cedar Creek township. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 211 

LEVI HUTTON. 

Levi Hutton, a prominent and snccessful farmer of W'infield township, 
is a business man and agriculturist of Ijroad experience and training, and lias 
done well at various occupations in the course of h.is fifty-eight years of life. 
He began early to achieve a place in the world, and from early years spent 
in an industrial establishment of the east he later branched out into farming 
and commercial pursuits in the middle west. He is held in high esteem 
throughout Winfield township and Lake county, and is reliable and sub- 
stantial in all his dealings. 

Mr. Hutton was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in the part of the 
city now known as Fairmount Park, on July 26, 1846. His father, also 
named Levi, was born in Delaware, and began his career to success bv work- 
ing as a driver on the Susequehanna canal, and also acted as cook on a passen- 
ger boat. He afterward worked in a mill in Philadelphia, and finally began 
the manufacture of carpets. He is supposed to have been the first man to suc- 
ceed in making a shoddy ingrain carpet. He was in the carpet manufactur- 
ing business at Philadelphia for some time, and then engaged in the same 
line and also in farming in Maryland, and in 1861 returned to Philadelphia, 
where he was superintendent of a woolen factory for four years. In March, 
1865, he moved out to Lake county, Indiana, and began farming near Hobart, 
where he remained until his death, in March, 1872, at the age of forty-five. 
His wife was Maria Lord, a nati\-e of England, but who was reared in 
America, coming to this country at the age of seven years. She died in Lake 
county at the age of forty-five. She was of a Quaker family. She and her 
husband had six children that grew up, their son Levi being the eldest. 

Mr. Levi Hutton was reared and educated in Philadelph-.a for the most 
part, and in 1865 came out to Lake county, where he remained with his 
parents until he was of age. He then returned to Philadelphia and became 
foreman in a bobbin room of a cotton factory, in the "Good Intent Mills." 
He had begun in this factory at an early age, at wages of si.x dollars a week, 
and had steadily ad\-anced to a forcmanship in another department, learning 
every detail of the business. He was receiving a salary of eighty-five dollars 
a month when he left. On his return to Lake county he began farming near 
Hobart, but in 1871 sold out and went to Chicago, where he was employed as 



212 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

a helper in tlie carpenter trade. At his father's deatli he returned to Holjart 
and was appointed administrator to settle up the estate, after the completion 
of which task he returned to Chicago and engaged in the saloon business, 
continuing it for eight months. His next enterprise was the buying of milch 
cows and disposing of them in Chicago, laeing thus engaged for two years. 
He then rented a farm near Hobart for two years, and in 1877 bought a small 
farm in Winfield township. In 1886 he bought the farm of one hundred and 
eighty acres where he still resides, and all the fine improvements and excellent 
features of this farmstead are the result of Mr. Mutton's own industry and 
management. From 1894 to 1901 he was engaged in the grocery business 
at Fast Chicago, in partnership with W. R. Diamond, and their monthly 
sales ran up to a high figure. 

Mr, Hutton is one of the influential Republicans of his township, and is 
the present nominee for the trusteeship of Winfield township. He has served 
as road supervisor of this township. He was treasurer of the East Chicago 
Republican committee, and has been delegate to various Republican conven- 
tions. 

Mr. Hutton married, in 1868, Miss Gertrude R. Fieler, a daughter of 
Jacob and Catherine (Schrage) Fieler. She was born in Germany and came 
to America when seven years old. Her brother, Christian Fieler, is sketched 
else\\here in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Hutton lost three children in child- 
hood, and the three living are: Ida C, wife of L. A. Phillips, of Porter 
county, Indiana; Lydia M., wife of Albert Lewis, of East Chicago; and 

Tames P., at home. 

WALTER H. HAMMOND. 

Walter H. Hammond, who is one of the prominent real estate ani insur- 
ance men of Hammond, has spent almost his entire life in this city, and has 
for several years been accounted one of its most progressive and enlightened 
business men. He is a son of one of the pioneers of this city, and is con- 
nected with the family which gave Hammond its name and its greatest in- 
dustry. 

Mr. Hammond was born in Detroit, Michigan, October 26, 1873, being 
a son of Thomas and Helen (Potter) Hammond, natives of Massachusetts. 
His paternal grandfather was a native of Massachusetts, of English descent. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 21:5 

and had a large family. His maternal prandi'allicr was a native nf the same 
state. Thiimas Hammond was a carpenter hy trade, and fullowed that i)nr- 
suit in the east. He came to Detroit. Michigan, when a young man, and was 
engaged in the meat Inisiness there imlil 1873. in which year he came to 
Hammond. Indiana, and hecame connected with C'.eorge H. Hammond 
& Company. This well-known packing company at the l>eginning employed 
a force of ahout fifty men. hut later increased it to nearly two thousand. The 
business was carried on in Hammond until Ma_\-. 1903. when it was moved 
to Chicago. Thomas Hammond is novv iiresidcnt ot the Commercial Bank 
of Hammond, and is also engaged in tlie real estate business. He was con- 
gresstnan from this district for one term during the Cleveland regin.en. and 
also served as mayor of Hammond for six years and as alderman for four 
years. He was originally a Methodist, and his wife is a Baiitist. They bad 
five children, two sons and three daughters: Elizabeth E., deceased; Carrie, 
wife of W. A. Hill, of Hammond; \^'alter H. ; I-"rank; and Edith. 

Mr. Walter H. Hammond was aljout four years old when he came to 
Hammond, and has Hved here the rest of bis life. He graduated from the 
high school in 1892, after which he attended Oberlin College. He then took 
a business course in the Metropolitan Business College in Cbicagi.i. and 
shortly afterward engaged in the real estate and insurance business, which 
he has continued with increasing success to th.e present time. He is president 
of the Home Building and. Loan and .Savings .Association of Lake county, 
and is the owner of considerable city ijrojiert)- in addition to his nice resi- 
dence at 704 -South Hobman street, which he built in 1902. 

June 17, 1896, y\r. Hammond married Miss Miami J. Laws, a daughter 
of John and Eliza Laws. The)' ba\e three children, Harold W., Florence E. 
aiid Kenneth H. Mr. and Mrs. Hammond are members of the First Bajiti.st 
church, and he is a church trustee. He affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569. 
F. & A. M.. with Hammond Chaiiter No. 117, R. .\. M., and with Hammond 
Commandery, K. T. In politic^ he is a Democrat. 

HERBERT S. BARR. 

The true measure >.)f ^uccess is detcinuned liy what (jue has accom- 
plished, and. as taken in contradistinction to the old adage that a prophet is 
not without honor sa\'e in bis own countrv. there is i)articular iritere^t 



214 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

attaching to the career of tlie subject of tliis review, since he is a native son 
of the place where he lias passed his active life, and has so directed his ability 
and efforts as to gain recognition as one of the representative citizens of Lake 
county. He is actively connected with a profession which has important 
bearing upon the progress and stable prosperity of any section or community, 
and one which has long been considered as conserving the public welfare by 
furthering the ends' of justice and maintaining individual rights. 

Mr. Barr was born in Crown Point, March 4, 1865. His paternal grand- 
father was Samuel Barr and his father S. A. Barr. The latter, a native of 
Pennsylvania, came to Lake county in 1866, was prominent and influential 
in public afifairs and was widely recognized as one of the leading, honored 
and respected citizens of his community. He served his country as a soldier 
of the Civil war and was wounded at the battle of Peach Tree Creek by a 
minie ball, and the injury that he there sustained caused his death thirty- 
four years later. In politics he was a stanch Democrat and filled the office 
of county auditor for four years. He was likewise a worthy representative 
of the Masonic fraternity and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
in all life's relations was found true and loyal to every trust reposed in him 
and to high ideals. He married Miss Emma Standish, a direct descendant of 
Miles Standish. Mr. S. A. Barr passed away in 1898, but his widow still 
survives. They were the parents of five children, all of whom are yet living. 

Mr. H. S. Barr was the second child of the family, and in his early 
youth attended the public schools of Crown Point. He afterward became a 
student in the Northwestern Law School, and his reading for his profession 
was also directed by J. W. Youche for several years. Later he was asso- 
ciated in practice with Mr. Youche for about seven years, and since 1893 he 
has been successfully prosecuting his profession at Crown Point. He lived 
for about one year in Chicago, but with this exception has remained continu- 
ously in his native city, where he is now numl^ered among the leading law- 
yers. 

In 1899 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Barr and Miss Jessie Hill, a 
daughter of Charles J. Hill, and they Iiave two children, Harold and Ruth. 
Mr. Barr affiliates with the Masonic fraternity and the Independent Order of 
Foresters, and in politics is a supporter of Democratic principles. His life 
has been one of untiring activitv crowned with success, vet he is not less 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 215 

esteemed as a citizen than as a lawyer, and his kindly impulses and charm- 
ing cordiality of manner have rendered him exceedingly popular among all 
classes. 

LAWRENCE COX. 

Lawrence Cox, superintendent of the Metropolitan police of Hammond, 
has been connected with the public life and business interests and as a private 
citizen of Hammond for over fifteen years, and there is perhaps no better 
known resident of the city nor any more interested in the welfare and gen- 
eral development of both city and county. He has been in some important 
official position for the past seven years, and has been found efficient, ener- 
getic and painstaking in all his performances. 

Mr. Cox was born in the province of Ontario, Canada, near Kingston, 
June i6, 1866, a son of John and Mary (Kane) Cox, both natives of Canada. 
His paternal grandfather was the founder of the family in America. He 
was born in Ireland, and about the beginning of the nineteenth century he 
and his wife Isabella emigrated to Canada, and their four daughters and one 
son were all born on this side of the waters. 

John Cox has been a life-long and prominent farmer of Canada, and 
now resides on Howe Island, in Ontario. He has been prominent in the 
public affairs of his community, being now county commissioner of F'ron- 
tenac county. He was reeve of his township for a number of ye^rs, p.nd was 
fishery overseer for some years under Sir John McDonald. He is a member 
of the Catholic church, as was also his wife. She died in 1894, at the age 
of fifty-one years. Her father was Thomas Kane, a native of county Water- 
ford, Ireland, and who emigrated to Canada about 1836, settling on Howe 
Island, where he was a farmer. His wife was Catharine (Powers) Kane, 
and they had a family of twelve children. 

John and Mary Cox had thirteen children in their family, and nine are 
still living, as follows : Kate, the wife of W. J. Collins, of Hillsville, Penn- 
sylvania : Lawrence, of Hammond: Maggie, the wife of R. J; Patterson, of 
Danville, Connecticut; Matthew J., of Ontario, Canada; Miss Marian, a 
teacher of Howe Island, Ontario ; John, of Scranton, Pennsylvania ; Miss 
Lillian, of Montreal, Quebec; Agnes, the wife of William Beaubien, of 
Howe Island : and Vincent, of Hillsville, Pennsvlvania. 



216 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Lawrence Cox was reared on liis father's farm to the age of four- 
teen years. He received his education in the district schools, the Kingston 
Collegiate Institute, and also in the night school of the Dominion Business 
College at Kingston. He was a bookkeeper for a time, and in 1884 made a 
trip to the United States. In 1888 he came to Hammond as his permanent 
location. He was first employed with the G. H. Hammond & Company for 
two years, and from 1891 to February, 1897, w^as in the fire and life insur- 
ance business. At tlje latter date he became deputy sheriff under B. F. 
Hayes, and then held the same position under the latter's successor until May 
I, 1901, which was the date of his appointment to the office of superintendent 
of the Metropolitan police, which office he has filled to the eminent satisfac- 
tion of all concerned for the past three years. 

August 8, 1899, Mr. Cox married Mrs. Mary Nelson, the widow of 
R. H. Nelson and a daughter of William W. Reece and Anna E. (Dowdi- 
gan) Reece. Her parents were pioneers of the Calumet river region, and 
for many years were the only residents between the Indiana state line and 
South Chicago. Mrs. Cox is their only child, and her father died when she 
was about three years old, but her mother still lives and makes her home 
with Mrs. Cox. She has considerable property interests in Chicago. Mrs. 
Cox had two children by her former marriage, Alfaretta and Mae. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cox are members of the Catholic church, and he affiliates with the 
Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is 
also a charter member of the Hammond Club. His politics are Republican. 
He owns his nice home at 517 South Hohman street, and he and his wife 
have hosts of friends in the city and vicinity. 

CALLUS J. BADER. 

Callus J. Bader, prominent as a representative of the business and finan- 
cial interests of Whiting, is now the president of the First National Rank at 
that place. A man of great natural ability, his success in business from the 
beginning of his residence in Whiting has been uniform and rapid. As has 
been truly remarked, after all that may be done for a man in the way of giving 
him early opportunities for obtaining the advantages which are found in the 
schools and in books, he must essentially formulate, determine and give shape 
to his own character, and this is what Mr. Bader has done. He has perse- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 217 

vered in the pursuit of a persistent purpose and has gained the most Fatisfac- 
tory reward, and his name is a strong one on commercial paper and an honored 
one in all business transactions. 

Mr. Bader was born in LaPorte, Indiana, on tlie 2d of November, 1864, 
and is a son of Callus J. and Magdalene (Mantel) Bader, both of whom were 
natives of Baden, Cermany, whence they emigrated to America, settling in 
LaPorte county, Indiana, at an early period in the development and upbuild- 
ing of this portion of. the state. The father was engaged in the hotel business 
and conducted what was called the Washington House. 

Callus J. Bader, his namesake and the immediate subject of this review, 
is the youngest in a family of six children, all of whom reached adult age. 
His education was acquired in the public schools of LaPorte, and his boyhood 
days were spent under the parental roof. At the age of twenty-one years he 
began business as a dry-goods merchant of LaPorte, where he continued until 
1890, when he came to Whiting and entered into partnership with Fred J. 
Smith in the conduct of a bakery and restaurant. Subsequently he turned his 
attention to the electric light business, and in this enterprise was associated 
with James A. Cill. They organized a company and erected a plant, of which 
Mr. Cill was the president, while Mr. Bader was the secretary and treasurer. 
This enterprise prospered and enabled him at a later date to extend hii labors 
into financial circles. The First National Bank of Whiting was organized on 
the 1st of December, 1902, and capitalized for fifty thousand dollars. Mr. 
Bader is now president, while John M. Thiele is the cashier and W. E. War- 
wick is vice-president. These gentlemen are members of the board of di- 
rectors together with James A. Cill, Richard F. Schaaf and Frank H. Morri- 
son, the last named of LaPorte, and F. J. Smith, of Whiting. 

In 1893 occurred the marriage of Callus J. Bader and Miss Elizabeth 
Wagner, who was born in 1870 and was reared in Michigan City, LaPorte 
county. This marriage has been blessed with one child, a son, Clarence. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Bader are well known in Whiting and tliis portion of 
Indiana, and have gained many warm friends who entertain for them high 
regard and extend to them tlie hospitality of the best homes of Wliiting. 

In liis political views Mr. Bader is a Republican, having joined tlie rank.-, 
of the party in 1896 on account of the money question. He had formerly 
supported the Democracy, but could not endorse the "free and unlimited 



218 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

coinage of silver at the ratio of i6 to i." Fraternally he is connected with the 
Knights of Columbus. He has been a very successful business man and one 
whose life history should serve as a source of encouragement and inspiration 
to others, showing what may be accomplished by determined purpose and 
capable management. He began with a very small amount of money. His 
father died when the son was but thirteen years of age, and from that time 
forward the boy had to depend upon his own resources for a living. He 
entered upon his business career as a salesman in a dry-goods store, and in 
order to perfect his education attended night school for two winter seasons. 
He remained for two years in the employ of the man whose service he had 
first entered, and then went to Chicago, where he became an employe of the 
Crane Elevator Company, continuing for three years in the machinist depart- 
ment. He then returned to LaPorte and engaged in business for himself, 
and for five years he was numbered among the merchants of that place. On 
the expiration of that period he sold his business there in order to remove to 
Whiting, where he has since been located and where he has made for himself 
an honored name, gaining at the same time a very creditable success. 

Since 1900, the firm of Smith & Bader have been engaged extensively in 
the real estate business, after having been in the bakery business for ten years. 

Mr. Bader possesses untiring energy, is quick of perception, forms his 
plans readily and is determined in their execution, and his close application to 
business and his excellent management have brought to him the high degree 
of prosperity which is to-day his. He thoroughly enjoys home life and takes 
great pleasure in the midst of his family and friends, to whom he is always 
courteous, kindly and affable, and those who know him personally entertain 
for him warm regard. 

MARION F. PIERCE. 

Marion F. Pierce, merchant and well-known business man of Merrill- 
ville, Ross township, is one of the oldest native sons of Lake county still 
engaged in the active pursuits of life. Three generations of the Pierce 
family have been identified with the industrial and commercial affairs of the 
county, covering a period of seventy years, and extending from the time 
when the alternate stretches of woodland and prairie in Lake county offered 
habitation to few white men, until now there is not a square foot anywhere 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 219 

not in private possession or devoted to ])ul)lic use. Myie! Pierce, tlie grnnd- 
fatlier: Marion Pierce, the father; and Moyd M. Pierce, tlie son, are the three 
men who have wrouglit out tlieir success and advanced tiie welfare of tlie 
county during the years of their Hves spent liere. and to the second of the 
three is due the distinction of sixty-three years of residence in the township 
where his business interests are still located. 

Mr. M. F. Pierce was lx)rn in Ross township, Lake county, August i, 
1 84 1. His father, Myiel Pierce, was born about 1800 in Erie county, New 
York, and as a pioneer among the pioneers arrived in Lake county, Indiana, 
June 25, 1835. He was a farmer and hotel-keeper and in September, 1842, 
erected the old and well-known Merrillville Hotel, which after sixty-two 
years of use still stands as a monument to its founder and builder. He sold 
this hotel property after running it two years, and then bought the farm on 
which he died in 1847. He was county assessor for a time, and was well 
known throughout the surrounding country. His wife was Marcia Ann 
Crawford, a native of Erie county, New York, and who died in January, 
1897. i" 'i^r seventy-eighth year. There were six children in their family: 
Corydon, Angelina, Sidney, Marion F., Myiel, and Myron, who died about 
1848. 

Marion F. Pierce was about six years old when his father died, and 
he never enjoyed many days of pleasant boyish recreation, nor yet had he his 
full complement of schooling. His mother was compelled to go into the 
hayfield and do a man's labor in order to maintain her family and home, 
and Marion was never behindhand in assisting her, and in each succeeding 
year did a larger share of tlie farm duties. He thus remained on the home 
farm until he was twenty-one, and on August o, 1862, enlisted in Company 
A, Ninety-ninth Lidiana Infantry, serving in the ranks for nearly three 
years, until his discharge after the close of the war, on June 16, 1865. He 
was in thirty battles altogether, taking part at Vicksburg, Jackson, Resaca, 
Lookout Mountain, Atlanta, Jonesboro, Fort McAllister, was all through 
the campaign to the sea, and thence to Washington, where he participated 
in the grand review. He returned to Ross township and resumed farm work, 
remaining at home till his marriage, in 1867. In 1873 he engaged in the 
mercantile business at Merrillville, and has been in that for over twentv years, 
now ranking as the premier merchant and business man of the town. 



220 HISTORY OF LAKE O Xl V. 

Mr. Pierce is one of tlie intiuential Deni. ts of the county, and has 
taken an active part in local afYairs. He was "••-fee of Ross township for 
nine years, served as postmaster of Merrillvilk- f 'ur years, and was in the 
internal revenue service five years under ClevoKind's administration. He 
affiliates with the John Wheeler Post, G. A. R.. at Crown Point, and in the 
Masonic Lodge No. 551, at Merrillville. lias filled all the cliairs but one, 
senior deacon. 

He was married, October 27, 1867, to Miss Maggie B. Randolph, 
daughter of Cyrus and Allie (Meade) Randolph. They are the parents of 
three children: Floyd M., Cora B. and Ralph M. 

JOHN FISHER. 

John Fisher, now deceased, was a respected and honored resident of 
Crown Point, who had many friends in Lake county, and whose death, there- 
fore, was deeply regretted. He was born in Schenectady county. New York, 
September 7, 1832, and was of Scotch parentage and ancestry. His father, 
Alexander Fish.er, was born in Ayr, Scotland, and in 1818 crossed the At- 
lantic to the new world, settling first in Montreal, Canada. The following 
year, however, he removed to Schenectady, New York, where he spent his 
remaining days. He was a millwright and farmer, following the dual pur- 
suits as a life work. 

In his native county John Fisher was reared, spending his boyhood days 
under the parental roof, where he w^as trained to habits of industry and 
economy. The west, with its business possibilities, attracted him, and in 1855 
he came to Lake county, Indiana, locating at Southeast Grove in Eagle Creek 
township. There he was engaged in the broom manufacturing business and 
soon after his arrival in Lake county he was elected county surveyor, which 
position he filled for many years. He knew every foot of the county, his 
business making him thoroughly familiar with every locality. It also brought 
to him a wide acquaintance, and he became one of the most prominent and 
influential men in this part of the state, taking an active and helpful interest 
in public afifairs. He was one of the civil engineers who worked on the con- 
struction of the Panhandle Railroail, assisting in the survey of the road from 
Columbus, Ohio, to Chicago. This work was done about 1864. Mr. Fisher 
also carried on agricultural pursuits, owning a farm two miles southeast of 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 221 

Crown Point, and he thoroughly understood the best methods of caring for 
the fields and producing good crops. Whatever he undertook he "carried for- 
ward to successful completion, for he was a man of unfaltering energy and 
strong purpose. 

Mr. Fisher was united in marriage to Miss Amelia J. Willey, who was 
born in Lake county. The Willey family is of English lineage and was estab- 
lished in America in early colonial days by David Willey, the great-grand- 
father of Mrs. Fisher. His son, Jermiah Willey, was born in Connecticut, 
July 28, 1777, and there resided for many years, hut eventually removed to 
the Empire state. Her father, George Willey, was born in Connecticut and 
was four years of age when he removed to Madison county. New York, with 
his parents. In August, 1838, he arrived in Lake county, Indiana, locating in 
Hanover township. He removed to a farm about a mile east of Crown Point 
in 1865, and there he spent his remaining days, devoting his energies to agri- 
cultural pursuits until his death, which occurred on the 5th of April, 1884. 
He was one of the pioneers of this county and did much for its early develop- 
ment and improvement. He was ever actively interested in public affairs, 
was zealous in his advocacy of all measures that tended to promote the gen- 
eral welfare and was widely known as an influential and valued citizen. His 
wife bore the maiden name of Clynthia Nash and was a native of Madison 
county, New York, and a daughter of Thomas Nash. Mr. and Mrs. Willey 
became the parents of seven children, four sons and three daughters, but 
three of the sons died in infancy. The only surviving son is George A. Willey, 
a resident of St. Louis, Missouri. The sisters are Mrs. Alice Granger, of 
Fort Dodge, Iowa, and Mrs. Adella C. Griffin, of Oklahoma. Mrs. Fisher is 
the eldest of the seven children and was born in Hanover township, Lake 
county, Indiana, April 30, 1841. She pursued her early education in the 
district schools and afterward continued her education in Crown Point. She 
gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Fisher on the 7th of November, 1865, and 
by this marriage there have been born two children, Agnes May, who died 
when twenty months old, and George W., who is now a resident of Crown 
Point. 

In his political views John Fisher was a life-long Republican, and polit- 
ical questions had for him great interest. He was a Royal Arch Mason and 
was a consistent and faithful member of the Presbyterian church. He died 



222 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Marcli 7, 1897, and because of his honorable, upright hfe he left to his family 
an untarnished name as well as a comfortable competence. He gained the 
respect of all with whom he had been associated, and his loss was therefore 
deeply deplored by his many friends as well as by his widow and son. Mrs. 
Fisher has spent her entire life in Lake county, Indiana, and is well known. 
She has been a resident of Crown Point for ten years, where she has a wide 
circle of friends. For many years she has been a member of the Presbyterian 
church. 

BALZER FRANZ. 

Balzer Franz, of section 8, Ross township, came to this township as a 
boy of twelve, some fifty-five years ago, and when he began doing for him- 
self he had only his industry and strong constitution for his capital stock. 
He has been a hard worker and good manager all his life, and does not even 
now remit much of his former diligence, although the success that he has 
won gives him freedom from care and necessary business activity. He has 
proved himself an influential factor in the development of the agricultural 
interests of Lake county, and through his own material prosperity and good 
citizenship has enriched the community in which he has passed so many 
years of his life. When he was a boy in the county there was not a railroad 
in operation through the county, from which fact it is evident that he has 
been a personal witness of all the great development that has resulted in 
making Lake county a network of railroad lines, and six acres from his own 
farm have been taken for railroad rights of way. 

Mr. Franz was born in Bavaria, Germany, March 21, 1836, so that; 
he is now within the shadow of the age of threescore and ten. He remained 
in the old country until he was twelve years old, and then accompanied his 
mother and step-father to America, the family coming directly to Ross town- 
ship, Lake county. He was reared and has spent all his subsequent years in 
this county, and during his boyhood attended for several years the township 
schools. He remained at home and worked for his mother and step-father 
until he was twenty-three years old, and for several years thereafter was 
engaged in various pursuits connected with farming, working en farms by 
the month, driving cattle to Chicago markets, hauling cord wood, etc. He 
was all the time getting a more substantial vantage ground in material worth, 
and was soon engaged in the operation of his own farm, from which time 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 223 

he has continued with increasing success in agricultural pursuits until he is 
now the owner of a fine farm of five hundred acres, well improved, highly 
cultivated and productive of as good all-around crops as are raised anywliere 
in Ross township. 

Mr. Franz has been married twice. In 1865 he wedded Miss Elizabeth 
Geibe, who died without issue. He then married Anna Shello, and they 
have nine children: George, Helen, Nora, Maggie, Elizabeth, Cecilia, Grace, 
Mary and Balzer. They were all born in Ross township, and all are well 
educated, Cecilia and Grace having finished the country schools and being 
now students in Merrill vi lie. 

CHARLES W. FRIEDRICH. 

Charles W. Friedrich, the miller at Dyer, has been successfully con- 
ducting the mill at this place for the past ten years, and has followed that 
line of business almost continuously since he was fifteen years old, when he 
became an apprentice to the trade in his native Germany, r.nd where he 
learned all the details of the work in the thorough manner so much in 
vogue in the fatherland. He came to America during his young man- 
hood, and has had a very successful career in different parts of the middle 
west since that time. He is counted among the influential citizens at Dyer, 
and is enterprising and public-spirited in all that he undertakes, whether 
for personal advantage or for community interest. 

Mr. Friedrich was born in Germany, December 24, 1846, and was 
reared and educated in his native country. He attended the public schools 
during the required limit up to his fourteenth year, and then became a 
miller's apprentice, continuing his work faithfully for three years and gradu- 
ating as a master at the trade. He followed his chosen occupation in Ger- 
many until 1872, when he embarked and crossed the ocean to America. For 
some time he was engaged in the express, grocery and saloon business in 
Oak Park, Illinois. In 1881 he moved to North Judson, Starke county, 
Indiana, and bought a mill, which he operated until 1893. He then sold 
out, and in the following year came to Dyer and bought the flouring mill at 
this place. He has improved the plant in many ways, and increased its pro- 
ductive capacity to fifty barrels a day besides adding to the quality of its 
output and building up an extensive trade and demand for all his products. 



22-1 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Friedrich has been a Democrat e\er since entering the ranks of 

Amens;in citizensliip. and is loyal and pnblic-spirited in his attachment to 
his adopted land. He is a member of the Lntheran chnrch. and also af- 
filiates widi the ^lasonic fraternity at Hammond. 

He was married in 1870 to Aliss Mary H. Xess, also a native of der- 
many. They are the parents of three children : William H., who is at 
home, and who married Miss Ida Ross, of North Jndson ; Dr. L. M.. of 
Hohart : and Jacob O., of Berwyn, Illinois. 

GEORGE W. YOUNG. 

George W. Youno:, a prominent fanner on section 7,2, Ross township, 
has lived in Lake county most of his life. He is almost a native son of the 
county since he was born very close to the line between this and Porter 
county. Outside of eleven years spent in business in Chicago, he has devoted 
most of his active years to farming, with such success that he is numbered 
among the representative men of that class in this section of Lake county. 
He is a man of ability in whatever enterprise he undertakes, and has more 
than once been influential in community affairs, having a public-spirited de- 
sire to further the material and social welfare of the county which has so 
long been his home. 

He was horn just across the line in Porter county, Indiana, February 
25, 1852, a son of D. L. and Lovina (Guernsey) Young, the former a native 
of Pennsylvania and the latter of Canada, whence she came to Lake county 
in young womanhood. His father came to Lake county about 1850, and died 
here in his sixty-second year. He followed the occupations of farming, 
carrying the mail and keeping hotel in Holiart. He was a well known old 
citizen, both of Lake and Porter counties, owning land in both counties. He 
carried the mail between Lake station and Crown Point. He was a life-long 
Republican. His ancestors were German. Flis first wife died at the age of 
thirty, having been the mother of two daughters and four sons, of whom four 
died young. George W., the oniy living son, has a sister, Emma L., wife of 
Henry Cunningham. Mr. D. L. Young, by his second marriage, had three 
children, and the two living are D. L. and Malicla, the latter the wife of 
Charles Miller. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 225 

Mr. Young was reared aiul educateil in Lake and Porter counties, and for 
several years after taking up acti\e work remained at home assisting his 
father on tlie farm. Li 1876, after liis marriage, lie \\ent to Chicago, where 
for eleven years he was engaged in the ice business, l^eing located on Twelfth 
street near Union. He sold out in 1887 and returned to Lake county, 
where he has since followed farming. He has a well-improved farm of two 
hundred and fifty acres, and he raises general products, stock, and does dairy- 
ing, making it all a very profitable enterprise. 

Mr. Young has been a life-long Rciniblican and cast his vote for Playes, 
and at one time held the ot¥ice of supervisor of the tnwnshi]). He is a mem- 
ber, at Hobart, of the Independent Order of Odd I'ellows. Xo. 333. and the 
Independent Order of Foresters. Xt). 141, at Hobart. 

He married, in 1876. Miss Susan S. Cunningham, who died October 3, 
1890, having been the mother of six children: Carrie L. ; George .\. ; Del- 
bert E. ; Harry L. ; Louie L. : and Joseph \\'., tleceased. The three eldest 
were born in Chicago, and the others in Lake county. Mr. Young was mar- 
ried in Lake county, Lrdiana, in 1892, to Mrs. O. M. Young, and one son 
was born, Isaac Lane, aged eleven, in the fourth grade. Mrs. Ytiung is a 
native of Ohio, born in 1855 and was reared in Ohio and Indiana and edu- 
cated in the latter state. 

HOX. JOHANNES KOPELKE. 

Hon. Johannes Kopelke, of Crown Point, is a lawyer of established 
reputation for ability and legal learning in northwestern Indiana, is an ex- 
senator of the state and has taken a prominent part in local and state politics, 
and throughout his career in this city of nearly thirty years has been a leader 
of public opinion and prcjifess and more than once has been the aggressive 
spirit in carrying out reforms and suppressing abuses and in promoting and 
supporting the higliest interests of social and institutional life. 

He was born at Buchwald, near Neustettin, Prussia, June 14, 1854. 
His father, Ferdinand Kopelke, was an Evangelical Lutheran minister. His 
mother was Sophia Erbguth, and her grandmother was a sister of the famous 
Prussian General York, who took the first step leading to the final overthrow 
of Napoleon in 181 3, and was afterward made a count and field marshal by 
the king of Prussia. 



226 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Air. Kopelke gained Iiis early education in tlie people's schools of 
Germany, and from these entered a gymnasium, wher he continued the 
education which in America is offered hy tiie high schools and colleges. 
From 1865 to 187 1 he had a thorough grounding in the literary hranches, 
especially the languages, in this typical German educatitinal institution, and 
in the latter year, when seventeen years old. he came to the United States. 
He obtained his professional training in the law at the University of Michi- 
gan, which he attended from 1874 to 1876, graduating in the spring of the 
latter year. He has been fond of study from his boyhood days to the 
present, and while in the gymnasium he gained many prizes for scholarship, 
and was also a member of the society called "Thought Chips," com])c)sed of 
the members of the first class or "Prima." 

In April, 1876, Mr. Kopelke came to Crown Point and entered upon 
the career which has since been productive of so much honor to himself 
and benefit to the community. His German scholarship attracted the atten- 
tion of Hon. Thaddeus S. Fancher, a distinguished meml>er of the bar at 
Crown Point, wdio offered young Koi>elke a partnerslii]i in his large practice, 
which the latter accepted and continued until 1879. and since then he has 
managed his increasing legal interests alone. He has enjoyed a large jirivate 
practice, and his connection with litigation of a public nature has won him 
no small degree of fame in this part of the state. One of his cases to attract 
the most attention was the one involving the constitutionality of the fee and 
salary law, in 1891. He was also, as the assistant of Attorney General 
Ketcham. connected with the famous fight made to suppress racing and 
gambling institutions at Rohey. For a number of years he has had all the 
professional business he could well manage, and his time and energies have 
often been called to other matters. For a time he held the rank of major 
on the staff of Governor Gray. 

Mr. Kopelke allied himself with the Republican party when he first 
began casting his vote, Init in 1882 he found his opinions to consist more 
harmoniously with those of the Democracy, and he has been a stanch advo- 
cate cjf that party ever since. In 1884 he was chosen presidential elector 
from the Tenth Indiana district, and thus cast one of the votes which placed 
Grover Cleveland in the presidential ufficc. In 1891 he was elected to 
represent Lake and Porter counties in the state senate, and his career as a 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 227 

legislator was especially noteworthy in its results. He served on the 
judiciary and other important committees during both sessions of his term 
of office. He became prominent as the originator and promoter of measures 
for the welfare of the state, and he also carried through some remedial legis- 
lation regarding matters of practice ami procedure. He was active in pro- 
curing the new charter for the city of Indianapolis, and his influence was 
strongly felt in behalf of the tax law which redeemed the state from bank- 
ruptcy. Senator Kopelke was the Democratic nominee for the ofifice of 
appellate judge in 1898, but the state went strongly Republican that year. 

Mr. Kopelke is an Episcopalian in religious faith. He has never mar- 
ried. His long identification with Crown Point makes him one of the most 
highly esteemed citizens, and his life has been praiseworthy and fruitful in 
good results from whatever standpoint it is regarded. 

HENRY P. SWARTZ, M. D. 

For thirty-three years Dr. Henry P. Swartz was engaged in the practice 
of medicine and the conduct of a drug store at Crown Point, and is now 
closely and actively identified with business interests as president of the 
Commercial Bank. Thus, for many years he has been one of the forceful 
and honored factors in professional and financial circles, and his influence 
has not been a minor element in public affairs in northwestern Indiana. He 
has attained to prominence through the inherent force of his character, the 
exercise of his native talent and the utilization of surrounding bpportiuiities, 
and he has become a capitalist whose business career has excited the admira- 
tion and won the respect of his contemporaries. 

Dr. Swartz was born at Spring Mills, Center county, Pennsylvania, 
July 12, 1841. The family is of German lineage and was founded in 
America by the grandfather of Dr. Swartz, who settled in the Keystone 
state. There the father, Jacob Swartz, was born and reared, and by occupa- 
tion he became a stonemason. He also followed farming and on leaving 
the east he removed to DeKalb county, Illinois, where he worked at farming. 
He also became the owner of a tract of land and carried on general agri- 
cultural pursuits. Politically he was a Democrat, and was a member of the 
Lutheran church. His death occurred \\hen lie was sixty-three years of 
age. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Catherine Mosser, was also a 



228 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

native of Pennsylvania anil died in Freeport, Illinois, in January, 1903. in 
her eighty-eighth year. They were the parents of ten children, three daugh- 
ters and seven sons, all of whom reached adult age, and with the exception of 
the eldest, who died at the age of si.xty-six years, all are yet living. 

Dr. Swartz is the tliird child and third son of the family, and was 
reared in the place of his nativity until thirteen years of age, during which 
time he attended the public schools of Pennsylvania. On going to Illinois 
he became a student in the public schools of that state and assisted his father 
in farm work until twenty years of age. August 4, 1861, he enlisted as a 
member of Company A, Fifty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, l>ecoming 
a private in the ranks of the Union army, with which he served until the 
close of the war. In the meantime he re-enlisted in the same company and 
regiment in 1863, and thus as an honored veteran he continued with the 
boys in blue. He was promoted to the position of commissary sergeant of 
his regiment, and after his re-enlistment he was made quartermaster, but 
this position was conferred upon him so near the close of the war that he 
was mustered out as commissary sergeant. He participated in all of the 
battles with Sherman's forces and also made the celebrated march to the 
sea. His regiment brought the prisoners frbm Ft. Donelson to Chicago and 
returned by way of Paducah, Kentucky, and Shiloh. Mr. Swartz was witii 
the regiment at the grand review in Washington, D. C, the most celebrated 
military pageant ever seen on the western hemisphere, and in July, 1865, 
he received an honorable discharge. At the battle of Shiloh Dr. Swartz 
was severely wounded, being shot through the body by a minie ball. Tliis 
occurred in April, 1862, and October had arrived ere he was able to rejoin 
his regiment at Corinth. The succeeding morning he entered the Iwttle at 
that place and was slightly wounded on the right side, which caused him 
to remain for four weeks longer in the hospital. 

When the country no longer needed his services Dr. Swartz took up his 
residence in Freeport, Illinois, and pursued a two years' course of study in 
Rush Medical College of Chicago. He then engaged in the drug business 
as a clerk for his brother in Freeport. Illinois, where he remained until 1871, 
when in the month of December of that year he located in Crown Point, 
Indiana. Here he established a drug store, which he conducted in connec- 
tion with the practice of medicine. He has here been engaged in practice 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 2-29 

for more than thirty-two years and has always maintained a position in the 
foremost ranks of tlie representatives of the medical fraternity in this portion 
of tlie state. Reading, experience and observation liave continually iM-oad- 
ened his Iniowledge and kept him in touch with the progress of the times. 
Dr. Swartz is also president of the Commercial Bank of Crown Point, and 
as chief executive officer of the institution his sound judgment and business 
ability are frequently called into use and have contributed in large measure 
to the successful conduct of the institution. 

In 1868 Dr. Swartz was united in marriage to Miss Mary Frances Bell, 
a daughter of William and Mary (Atkins) Bell. She was bom in Elmira, 
New York, and during her infancy her mother died so that she was reared 
by an aunt, Mrs. Kimball, of Freeport, Illinois. She was a graduate of 
the high school there and pursued a literary course at Aurora, Illinois. She 
was afterward employed in the postoffice department at Freeport, Illinois. 
by her uncle, General S. T. Atkins. To Mr. and Mrs. Swartz have been 
Ixjrn four children: Carrie Belle, at home; Harry D., who is assisting his 
father in the drug store; Mamie G., the wife of Walter I. Coble, of Chicago; 
and Catherine C, the wife of Alonzo D. Shoup, of Chicago. 

Dr. Swartz is a charter member of Lake Lodge No. 152, F. & A. M., 
and has been a life-long Republican. He served as township trustee for a 
number of years, was president of the Commercial Club for two -years and 
has taken an active interest in all public matters — social, political and educa- 
tional. He is a man of distinct and forceful individuality, of broad men- 
tality and most mature judgment, and has left and is leaving his impress 
upon professional and financial interests in northwestern Indiana. He has 
contributed to the advancement of the general welfare and prosperity of the 
city in which he makes his home, and at the same time has so conducted his 
private business interests as to win gratifying success. 

DAVID C. ATKINSON. 

David Clarence Atkinson, attorney-at-law at Hammond, is one of the 
young members of the bar of Lake county, and during his fi\e years' practice 
in Hammond has gained a most creditable degree of success. He has also 
some business interests in the city and various properties in the county. He 



230 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

is a public-spirited man. capable and standi in his citizenship, and tli(iron-;lily 
representative of the best interests of liis city. 

Mr. Atkinson was born near O.xford. Benton county, Indiana, .\pril 8. 
1870. a son of Robert M. and Nancy E. (McClimans) .\tkinson. W>l\\ 
natives of Ohio. The family history goes back to the English Quaker 
settlement of Pennsylvania in 1682, Avhen tlie first Atkinson ancestors settled 
there. Of such forefathers were Joseph and Susanna (Mills) Atkinson, both 
natives of Pennsylvania, and who were married there, becoming the parents 
of eleven children. They were the great-grandparents of David C. Atkin- 
son. Joseph was a weaA-er by trade, but later came to Ohio and took up 
farming. He bought two hundred acres of land in Clinton county, but 
fifteen years later, through a defective title, lost his purchase money and all 
his effects, and after that farmed the place on the shares until his death in 
1830. He was one of the pioneers of the state. 

Thomas M. Atkinson, the tenth child in the family of Joseph and 
Susanna Atkinson, was born in Pennsylvania, but came to Ohio in early 
youth. He was educated in a log schoolliouse, and mainly by his own 
efforts secured a good education. He was an eager and intelligent reader, 
and possessed a fine library. At the age of twenty years he married Miss 
Frances Head, and then moved to Greene county, Ohio, where he bought 
two hundred acres of military land and engaged in farming. He afterwards 
became one of the pioneers of Benton county, Indiana, where he herded 
cattle, and drove them to market at Philadelphia. He was a vigorous and 
active man, and when he had already rounded the si.xtieth turn on life's 
journey he walked all the way from Benton county to Philadelphia to attend 
the Centennial celebration of 1876. He had also planned to walk to the 
World's Fair in Chicago in 1893, but died the preceding winter at the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-three. He was first a Quaker in religious faith but 
later espoused the Spiritualistic faith. He was a prominent man in his 
community. He was one of the first commissioners of Benton county, and 
in 1865 he represented Benton and White counties in the lower house of 
the Indiana legislature. He was an abolitionist and later a Republican. In 
1830 he traded a horse worth fifty dollars to Luke Conner for two thousand 
acres of what were known as the "lost lands" in the south part of Benton 
county. He soon afterward sold this claim for one hundred dollars, but 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 231 

in 1848 purchased part ot it back at thirteen dollars an acre, and moved his 
family to the land, on which he lived until a few years before his death. 
The land became very valuable and most productive farming property. He 
and his sons subsequently bought up nearly all the original two thousand 
acres, and also owned twelve hundred acres besides. His wife also lived to 
a good old age, passing away when eighty-one years old, and they were 
the parents of twelve children, six sons and six daughters. Nine of these 
sons and daughters likewise attained to length of years, and they were all 
farmers or farmers' wives. 

Robert M. Atkinson, tiie son of Thomas M. Atkinson, was a farmer 
and stock-raiser in Benton county, and one of the county's most highly 
esteemed citizens. He served several terms as commissioner of Benton 
county. He died tliere in February, 1881, at the age of fifty-six years. 
His wife survived liim until August, 1889, at which time she was fifty-five 
years old. She was a Methodist. They were the parents of six children, 
five sons and one daughter, as follows: Morton C, of O.xford, Indiana; 
Thomas L., of Toledo, Ohio; Wilbert M., of Benton county; David C, 
of Hammond; Alice, wife of William Forsythe, of Indianapolis; and Curtis, 
of Oxford, Indiana. Nancy E. Atkinson, the mother of these children, 
was a daughter of William and Nancy (Pearson) McClimans, who were 
parents of twelve children. Her father w-as of Irish descent, and her mother 
of German ancestry. Her father lived in Ohio, and died there past middle 
life, in 1840. 

David C. Atkinson was reared on his father's farm in Benton county. 
He received his early education in the district schools and then at the 
Oxford. Indiana, high school. He later entered the preparatory department 
of the State University, took the regular course in the university, graduating 
in 1893. In the following year he was a student in the University of 
Chicago, and received the degree of Master of Philosophy. His law studies 
were pursued at the Northwestern University Law School, where he was 
graduated in 1S96 with the degree of LL. B. He was admitted to the bar 
of the supreme court of Illinois, and on moving to Indianapolis was admitted 
to the Indiana liar in September, 1896. He carried on active practice in 
Indianapolis until March, 1S99, and then opened his office in Hammond, 
which he has made the scene of his activities ever since. 



232 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Atkinson is a member of Hammond Lodge No. 210, K. of P., also 
of Royal League Council No. 38. He is a member of the Hammond Club. 
In politics he is a Republican, and he and his wife have church membership 
with the Plymouth Congregational church at Lidianapolis. In addition to 
his pleasant home at 368 South Hohman street, he is interested in farm 
property. He is secretary of the Dermicilia Manufacturing Company. Mr. 
Atkinson married, in June, 1895, Miss Lillian Knipp, a daughter of Fred 
and Pauline (Youche) Knipp. They have one daughter, Helen. 

HIRAM H. MEEKER. 

Hiram H. Meeker, the well known nurseryman and fruit grower of 
Crown Point, has been idaitified with this town for thirty-five years, com- 
prising the latter half of a very busy and useful life, and his energies have 
been directed along several different lines of activity. He is one of the sur- 
viving veterans of the Civil war, in which he served until he was disabled, 
and it was only a few years after that conflict that he took up his residence in 
Crown Point, where mercantile interests, farming and tree culture and small 
fruit growing have at various times taken up his attention. 

Mr. Meeker was born in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, March 10. 
1835, a son of Joseph and Anna (Bronson) Meeker, the former a native of 
New Jersey and the latter of Connecticut. He is the third child and second 
son of the family of six children, all of whom grew to adult year?. 

Mr. Meeker was reared on a farm in his native place and was educated 
in the common schools, remaining with his father until the outbreak of the 
Rebellion. In October, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, Fifty-seventh Penn- 
sylvania Infantry, as a private, and served until he was disabled during a 
forced march, near Poolville, Maryland. During the battle of Fredericks- 
burg he was acting steward in the hospital. He received his honorable dis- 
charge in the spring of 1863, having served for nearly two years. He re- 
turned home and remained in his native state for a few months and then came 
to Indiana and located in Carroll county. In 1869 he came to Crown Point 
and for two years was engaged in the mercantile business, after which for the 
same period he followed farming. He then bought the stock in the same 
store and continued merchandising for several years, when he sold out and 
has since then conducted a nursery which has become one of the important 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 233 

institutions of Crown Point and h'ls maintained a reputation for tlie nuality 
of its products. He makes a specialty of growing small fruit for the market, 
most of it being consumed in toivn. He has about seven acres within the city 
limits, and also forty acres near by. and also owns one of the nice residences 
of Crown Point. Mr. Meeker is one of the Ijest posted men in Indiana on 
the subjects of the growth of small fruits, shrubl^ery, shade trees and all 
nursery stock. 

Mr. Meeker is a member of the John Wheeler Post No. i6i. G. A. R.. 
and a member of the Masonic fraternity. He has been a life-long Republican 
in politics. He was married January 7, 1864. to Miss Mary A. Bryant, 
who was born in Coshocton county, Ohio, September 3, 1837, being a 
daughter of John and Susan (Graves) Bryant, of the William Cullen Bryant 
branch. There were three daughters born of this union ; Addie is the wife 
of Julius Rockwell, of Crown Point; Alta is the wife of William Thompson, 
of South Chicago; and Josephine is a popular teacher in the public schools 
of Crown Point. Mrs. Meeker and her daughter Josephine are leading 
members of the Presbyterian church. 

FRANCIS P. KEILMANN. 

Francis P. Keilmann, of St. John, has the distinction of being the longest 
established merchant of Lake county. He began business in St. John nearly 
fifty-five years ago, and a continued record of success has been his lot to 
the present time, when, as the dean of Lake county business men, he enjoys 
along with his material prosperity the esteem and thorough confidence of 
all his old friends and associates. He and the family of which he is a member 
have been identified with Lake county and St. John township since pioneer 
times, for a period of sixty years, and their enterprise and personal influence 
have always been reckoned as important factors in the various affairs of 
the county. 

Mr. Keilmann was born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, November 25, 
183T. His father was Henry Keilmann, a native of the same place. He 
left the fatherland and brought his family to America in 1840, his first loca- 
tion being in Portage county, Ohio, but in 1844 he moved to Lake county. 
Indiana, and settled on a farm in St. John township. His life occupation 
was farming. He lived to the advanced age of eighty-five years. His wife 



234 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

was IMary Elizabeth Ofenloch, who was born in tlie same province of Ger- 
many as he, and died in Portage county, Ohio, when thirty-eight years old. 
They were parents of seven children, and all reached maturity. 

Mr. F. P. Keilmann, the fourth son and the fifth child of the family, was 
nine years old when he landed on American soil, and had already begun his 
education in his native land. He remained with the family in Portage county 
for two years, and then, at the age of eleven, went to Chicago with his 
• older brother, Henry. ' He attended school in that city for some time, and 
then joined his father on the latter's removal to Lake county. Two years 
later, however, he returned to Chicago and clerked in a store for four 
A^ears. He then came to St. John township and became a clerk in his brother 
Henry's store at St. John. The brothers soon formed a partnership, and 
the firm of Henry and F. P. Keilmann continued to do business in St. John 
until 1865, having the premier mercantile establishment of the village. In 
1865, after fifteen years' connection, Francis bought the interest of his 
brother, and then took George F. Gerlach, another well known merchant 
of St. John, into partnership, continuing thus until 1885. Since that time 
Mr. Keilmann has carried on his business alone, and no other man in the 
county has a record for such long connection with mercantile enterprises. 
He has a large store and a fine general stock valued at about ten thousand 
dollars. He owns Lake county real estate to the amount of over a thou- 
sand acres, and also has property in other places. He has always -affiliated 
with the Democratic party, and from 1856 to 1885 was postmaster of 
St. John. 

In 1857 Mr. Keilmann married Margaret Schaefer, who was born in 
Germany and came to America in childhood with her parents. There are 
nine living children of this marriage: Susan, who is the wife of Joseph 
H. Gerlach, of Chicago; Francis B., of Chicago; John, of Crown Point; 
William F., of St. John; Elizabeth, wife of Edward Schmal, of Chicago; 
Margaret, unmarried; George; Lena, wife of Frank Thiel, of St. John; and 
Peter. All these children were born in the same house and in St. John town- 
ship, and they are now all capable and worthy men and women. 

JOHN M. THIEL. 

John M. Thiel, the genial old "village blacksmith" of St. John, came to 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 235 

Lake county as a German lad of ten years old. and has been numbered among 
the citizens of the county for all the subsequent sixty odd years. He 
learned his trade in the county, and established his shop in St. John forty- 
seven years ago, so that his place of business is the oldest of its kind in the 
county, and he himself holds the palm for long continuance at his trade. 
At the age of seventy-three, he is still hearty and strong, does a day's work 
that he need not be ashamed of, and is respected and honored through- 
out the township not only because he has so long been a factor of its in- 
dustrial enterprise but also because of his personal character and genuine 
worth of citizenship. 

Mr. Thiel was born in Prussia, Gtrmany, May 15, 1832, a son of John 
.and Mary (Klassen) Thiel, who emigrated from their German fatherland 
in 1842 and settled in Lake county, Indiana, about a mile and a half from 
St. John. His father devoted himself to the improvement and cultivation 
of a farm, and lived there till his death, when he was atout eighty-two 
years of age, and his wife died in the same place at the age of seventy-.seven. 
They were parents of twelve children, and seven of them grew to man- 
hood and womanhood. 

John M. Thiel is the fourth son. He was ten years old when he came 
to Lake county, where he was reared and received his English education. 
At the age of twenty he left his parents' home and went to Crown Point, 
where he served his time at learning the blacksmith trade. After his ap- 
prenticeship of two years he worked at his trade in Crown Point for three 
years, and in 1857 came to St. John and opened his own shop, which he has 
conducted from that year to this, always giving satisfaction to his large 
patronage and at the same time being on good terms with every person 
in the community. Besides this business, which he still carries on, he owns 
a fifty-acre farm in the town of St. John, and this is managed by his son 
Joe. In politics Mr. Thiel has always been a Democrat, and he and his 
family are all members of the Catholic church in St. John. 

In 1857, the same year in which he located in St. John, Mr. Thiel mar- 
ried Miss Susan Davis, who was born in the same province of Germany 
as Mr. Thiel, but preceded him to America by two years. They are the 
parents of seven children, all of whom were born in St. John: Jacob mar- 
ried Lena Thiesen, who died, and he now lives in Whiting; George mar- 



236 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ried Flora Sneider and lives in Chicago: Elierliard married Mary Sclieidt. 
and works in the shop with liis father: Joe, mentioned above, is the only 
one of the children who has not married : l-'rances, who married John Dietz. 
died in 1894: Clara, also deceased, was the wife of Jacob Keilmann: Thresia, 
wife of Henry Neibling. resides in St. John. 

J. FRANK MEEKER. 

J. Frank Meeker, county attorney of Lake county, is one of the younger 
members of the bar at Crown Point, but during the twelve years of his 
practice he has acquired an extensive clientage and in the later years found 
himself in possession of as much business as he can consistently manage. He 
is thoroughly identified with the interests of Lake county, lia\ing known 
it all his life, and he has the distinction of being" one of the youngest of the 
log-cabin children of northwestern Indiana, to which favored class some of 
the most prominent men of the present belong, but whose day and genera- 
tion are of the past in the populous and highly developed state of Indiana. 

Mr. Meeker was born December 11. 1868, and his birthplace was in 
Center township, five miles east of Crown Point, in the primitive and pioneer 
log cabin that his father had made his home place on first coming to the 
county. His parents are Sherman B. and Elizabeth (Cress) Meeker. lx)th 
natives of Pennsylvania and now living retired from the active duties of life 
at Crown Point. His father, on emigrating to the west, first established his 
home in Illinois, afterwards located in Michigan, and in 1866 came to Lake 
county, Indiana, settling in Center township, where he followed the occupa- 
tion of farming for a numl>er of years. He and his wife were the parents 
of four children : Nathan Brewster, who is engaged in farming on the 
old homestead; Charles H., conducting an implement business at Crown 
Point; Henrietta, the deceased wife of Elliott Bibler; and J. Frank. 

Mr. J. Frank Meeker, the youngest of the family, spent his early boy- 
hood days upon the old homestead in Center township, attending the dis- 
trict schools. He came to Crown Point at the age of thirteen, and con- 
tinued his education here until graduated from the high school. Later he 
took up the study of law with ^Ir. Peterson, under whose direction he con- 
tinued his reading for aljnut two years, and he afterward entered the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, where he was graduated in the law 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 237 

department witli tlie class of 1S92. In tlie same year he made the beginnings 
of his practice at Crown Point, was tlien at Hammond for one year, after 
which lie returned to Crown Point, which has been the center of his activity 
ever since. He was in partnership w ith Judge McMahan for two years, but 
since then has practiced alone and built up a very fine patronage. He served 
as deputy prosecuting attorney for two terms, covering four years, and in 
February, 1901, was appointed county attorney, which office he still fills. 

Mr. Meeker since taking his place among the legal fraternity at Crown 
Point has taken considerable interest in Republican politics, and has done 
much for the organization and influence of that party in Lake county. He 
is vice chairman of the county central committee. He is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity at Crown Point, of the Knights of Pythias, the Inde- 
pendent Order of Foresters and the North American Union. 

On March 24, 1894, Mr. Meeker was united in marriage with Miss 
Stella S. Colby, a daughter of Mrs. Catherine Colby. She is also a native 
of Lake county, and has the distinction of being the only woman who has 
qualified and obtained admission to the bar of Lake county. Mr. and Mrs. 
Meeker have one daughter, Stella. 

CHARLES E. GREENWALD. 

Endowed by nature with peculiar qualifications that combine to make 
a successful lawyer and possessing the energy and determination without 
which advancement at the bar can never be secured, Charles E. Greenwald 
has won for himself a prominent position as a representative of tlie legal 
fraternity in Lake county. Patiently persevering, possessed of an analytical 
mind and one that is readily receptive and retentive of the fundamental prin- 
ciples and intricacies of the law. gifted with a spirited devotion to wearisome 
details, quick to comprehend the most subtle problems and logical in his 
conclusions, fearless in the advocacy of any cause he may es]>ouse and the 
soul of honor and integrity. Mr. Greenwald has achieved a ])osition of prom- 
inence that is most creditable and is a recognized leader of ])ublic thought 
and opinion in the community in which he resides. 

A native of Ohio, his birth occurred in the city of Cleveland on tlie 
2ist of January, 1876. He is a son of Joseph and Mary (Mack) Green 
wald, and he began his education in the public schools of Cleveland and 



238 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

aftenvard continued his studies in tlie high school of South Chicago. He 
took up the study of law in 1895. having determined to make its practice 
his life work, and was graduated from the law department of the University 
of Michigan at Ann Arbor with the class of 1898. He then located for 
practice at Whiting, opening an office here. Although professional advance- 
ment is proverbially slow and he had to demonstrate his skill in handling 
intricate legal problems, he won a good clientage in a comparatively short 
space of time, and in 1902 he was elected city attorney of Whiting. He has 
been deputy prosecuting attorney since i8g8, and is now the candidate on 
the Republican ticket for prosecuting attorney of the district composed of 
Lake and Porter counties. In this connection one of the Republican papers 
of. Whiting said : 

"Attorney Charles E. Greenwald of our city has announced himself as 
a candidate for the Republican nomination for prosecuting attorney. For 
months many influential lawyers and politicians have insisted that he should 
be a candidate, but until this week failed to get his consent that his name 
might be used. Mr. Greenwald has served six years as deputy prosecuting 
attorney here, and his conduct of the office during this time justifies his 
friends in their claim that he has shown himself well qualified to fill the posi- 
tion. He is regarded by the lawyers as one of the most promising young 
men at the bar, and the number of lawyers who are supporting him is the 
best possible evidence of his ability to fill the position. He is a strong favorite 
with the politicians and other men interested in the success of the Republican 
party in this county, recognizing the loyal services rendered for his party in 
previous campaigns. The active Republicans of Lake county are quick to 
remember and repay those who have rendered valiant service to the party, 
and this sentiment will enure to Mr. Greenwald's advantage as against any 
opponent who may contest with him for the nomination." 

In his private practice Mr. Greenwald has shown great care in the 
preparation of his cases, and as a public official in courtroom he has lieen 
unfaltering in the performance of his duty in furthering the ends of justice 
and right. He is one of the stockholders of the First National Bank of 
Whiting. 

In the year 1900 Mr. Greenwald was united in marriage to Miss Christine 
Michaely of Michigan City and they have on little daughter, Dorothy. They 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 239 

are well known in Whiting and ha\e gained a wide circle of warm friends. 
Mr. Greenwald is a scholarly gentleman who speaks fonr different languages 
— the Polish, Slavonian, Bohemian and English. In politics iie is a stanch 
Republican, and has taken a very active and influential part in the work of 
the organization, doing all in his power to promote its growth and insure 
its success. He organized the National Slavonian Political Club, which has 
been in existence for two years and is now one of the prominent organiza- 
tions in this part of Indiana, composed of about two hundred men. The 
object of the club is to teach political economy and civil government. He 
is well fitted for leadership and his opinions carry weight and influence in 
political and other circles in Whiting. 

CHARLES H. MEEKER. 

Charles H. Meeker, who is energetic and notably reliable in business 
affairs, is now dealing in agricultural implements in Crown Point. He has 
never sought to figure before the public in any light save that of a business 
man and in his chosen field of labor he has won confidence and respect and 
at the same time has gained a fair measure of success. He was born in 
Calhoun county, Michigan, on the 2d of November, 1857, and is the second 
son and third child of Sherman and Elizabeth A. (Cress) Meeker. His 
father was born in Pennsylvania and on emigrating westward established 
his home in Illinois. He afterward located in Michigan and in 1867 came 
to Lake county, Indiana, settling in Center township, where he followed the 
occupation of farming for a number of years. He now lives retired in Crown 
Point. His wife bore the maiden name of Elizabeth Cress, who is also a 
native of Pennsylvania, and a resident of Crown Point. They are the parents 
of four children: Nathan Brewster, who is engaged in farming on the old 
homestead; Charles H., who is conducting an implement business at Crown 
Point; Henrietta, the deceased wife of Elliott Bibler; and J. Frank, an 
attorney of Crown Point. 

When only about a year old Charles H. Meeker was taken by his 
parents to White county, Indiana, while the family home was afterward 
established in Carroll county when he was six years of age. In the fall of 
1867 he removed to Lake county, where he attended the district schools of 
Center township. He was reared in the usual manner of farmer lads, early 



240 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

becoming familiar with the duties and labors that fall to the lut of the agri- 
culturist, and he continued to assist his father up to the time of his marriage. 

It was on the 22d of September, 1880, that Mr. Meeker was joined in 
wedlock to Miss Rose A. Sweeney, a daughter of James and Elizabeth 
(Johnson) Sweeney, who was lx)rn in Center township, Lake county, 
Indiana, and was educated in the same school that her husband attended. 
The young couple located on a farm lying in Center and Ross townships, 
and there Mr. Meeker engaged in farming for ten years. In 1891, how- 
ever, he retired from that department of labor and established an agricultural 
implement business in Crown Point, since w-hich time he has dealt in farm 
machinery of all kinds. He also handles buggies and wagons, and he draws 
his patronage from almost every section of the county. He is one of the best 
known men in this line of business, and has secured a liberal patronage which 
is constantly growing. His business methods are such as will bear the closest 
investigation and scrutiny, and his earnest desire to please his i>atrons com- 
bined with strong and honorable purpose has been the foundation upon 
which he has builded his prosperity. 

Mr. Meeker keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the 
day and gives a stalwart support to the principles of the Republican party. 
In 1904 Mr. Meeker was nominated for the ofifice of township trustee' of 
Center township. He belongs to the Independent Order of Foresters and to 
the fire company at Crow-n Point. He is well known throughout this por- 
tion of the state, liis business taking him to all parts of the county, and he 
has thus t(M-med a wide acquaintance and gained the warm regard of many 
friends. His residence in Lake county covers thirty-seven years and there- 
fore he has been a witness of much of its development, progress and ad- 
vancement. 

GEORGE M. HORNECKER. 

George M. Hornecker is tlie proprietor of the Fair, a general department 
store at ^^'hiting and in this connection has met with very creditable success. 
In viewing the mass of mankind in the varied occupations of life, the con- 
clusion is forced upon the o). server that in the vast majority of cases men 
have sought employment not in the line r.f their peculiar fitness, but in those 
fields where caprice or circumstances have placed them, thus explaining the 
reason of the failure of ninety-five per cent of those who enter commercial 




Au>0./^£^i^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 211 

aiul professional circles. In a tew cases it seems that men witli a pccnliar 
fitness tor a certain line have taken it np. and marked snccess has followed. 
Such is the tact in the case of the subject of this liiography. 

yiv. Honieeker is a native 'ion of Illinois, his hirlh h:i\ing occurred in 
Henry county, that state, on the 3d of Oetoher. 1S73. He i.s a son of G. J. 
and Catherine (Ernst) Hornecker. who were natives of Germany, whence 
they came to America in early life. Here the\- were married and established 
their home in Illiiwis. They became the parents of nine children, of whom 
George M. Hornecker is the fifth in order of birth. He was reared and 
educated in his native county, attending the i)ublic schools, and when not 
engaged with the duties of tiie schoolroom lie devoted his attention to agri- 
cultural pursuits. After putting aside his text-books he followed farming 
until 1896, when he came to Whiting and began working for the Standard 
Oil Company. He also engaged in clerking in a hardware store for about 
two years, and on the 8th of August, 1897, 'i^ I)egan business on his own 
account by purchasing and opening up a small stock of hardware. He 
received a good patronage and within a short time was enabled to extend 
the scope of his business by adding other departments. His trade has 
rapidly increased along substantial lines, and he now has the largest store 
in Whiting. It is called the Fair and is a credit to the town. He makes 
careful selection of his goods, sells at prices which are fair alike to pur- 
chaser and to merchant and by his honorable dealing has won the uni;ualified 
confidence of the public. He is also a member of the Chicago Telephone 
Company at Whiting and the office of this company is in his building. He 
is likewise a stockholder in the First National Bank, and his influence has 
been a potent factor in commercial and financial circles of this city. 

In 1897 Mr. Hornecker was united in marriage to Miss Clara M. S. 
Wille, and to them have l)een born three children who are yet living, while 
their second child, Gertrude \., is deceased. Those who .survive are 
Laura C, Martin G. and Robert A. Mr. and Mrs. Hornecker are rejire- 
sentative memibers of the German Lutheran church, of which her father, 
Rev. H. Ph. Wille, is now minister. 

Through his business interests Mr. Hornecker has contributed in no 
small degree to the upbuilding of the town. He erected his first business 
building in 1901, and has also added another of the same size — twenty-five 



242 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

by seventy-five feet. In tlie second building he occupies three floors with 
his large line of general merchandise. He is treasurer of the Whiting volun- 
teer fire department. In politics he is a Republican, and, May 2, 1904, he was 
elected to represent the Second ward in the City Council of Whiting. He 
is a member of some of the most important committees. Mr. Hornecker 
entered upon his business career with very limited capital, yet his efforts 
have been so discerningly directed along well defined lines of labor that he 
seems to have realized at any one point of progress the full measure of his 
possibilities for accomplishment at that point. A man of distinct and forceful 
individuality, broad mentality and most mature judgment, he has left and 
is leaving his impress upon the mercantile world, and at the same time his 
business is of such a nature that it promotes the commercial prosperity of 
the town and thus contributes to its general benefit and growth. 

FRANK HESS. 

Frank Hess, treasurer of the city of Hammond and otherw ise prominent 
in the pubHc and business life of his city and county, is a native son of 
Lake county and lias lived here all his life, for over half a century. For 
fifteen years he lias taken a leading part in the official matters of his county, 
has been the incumbent of some place of trust during this time, and in what-- 
e\er relation he has met his fellow-citizens has won their entire confidence 
and esteem. 

Mr. Hess was born in North township. Lake county, Indiana, Novem- 
ber 17, 1853, being the only son and child of Joseph and Marv Ann (Sack- 
ley) Hess. His mother was a native of Canada and a daughter of William 
Sack'Iey. She died in i860, when Frank was seven years old. Joseph Hess 
was a native of France, and was one of three sons and one daughter, children 
of a life-long resident of France. Joseph Hess was a baker by trade. He 
came to .\merica about 1846, and worked at his trade in Syracuse, New 
York, for a time, and in 1848 moved west to Chicago. About 1852 he 
settled at \\'est Point, or Gibson station, in Lake county, Indiana, having 
come to North township. Lake count\-. in 1850. That place was then the 
western end of the ^Michigan Central line of railroad, pas.sengers lieing carried 
by stage from there into Chicago. He conducted an eating house there for 
a "iliort time, and then moved to the place which was named in his honor. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 243 

Hessville. He was in tlie cattle and stock business there for a time, and then 
conducted a general store. He held the office of trustee of North township 
for twenty-two years, and was also postmaster of Hessville f-or nearly forty 
years, his second wife having the place after his death. He died in August, 
1895, past seventy-one years of age. He was recognized as one of the most 
prominent citizens of that part of Lake county, and in many ways was identi- 
fied with the progress and development of the community. He was a devoted 
member of the Catholic church. He married for his second wife Elizabeth 
Natke, and they had eleven children, nine of whom are now living : Edward ; 
Alice, deceased, who was the wife of Fred Scheuneman, dlso deceased; 
George ; William ; Julius ; Gustave, deceased ; Albert ; Joseph ; Emma, who 
was the second wife of Fred Scheuneman, and after his death married 
William Bundy; John, and Lydia. 

Mr. Frank Hess was reared on a farm in Lake county, and secured 
his edtication by attendance at the district schools. He remained with his 
father and assisted in his business until he was married at the age of twenty- 
six. He early took a prominent part in the public affairs of his township, 
and served as assessor of North township for thirteen years. He was city 
councilman of Hammond for three years, was city clerk for four years, and 
in 1892 was elected city treasurer, which position he has held, and whose 
responsible duties he has discharged most faithfully to the present time. He 
has always been an advocate of the principles and policies of the Republican 
party. He is vice-president and also a director of the Lake County Trust 
and Savings Bank. He built his good home at 443 North Hohman street 
in 1886, and besides has other business interests and property in the city 
and county. 

Mr. Hess married, May 24, 1879, Misss Emma Haselbach, a daughter 
of August and Mary (Grabo) Haselbach. Ten children were born of their 
union, but all died when young. Mrs. Hess died February 12, 1894. On 
October 10, 1895, Mr. Hess married Miss Martha Karsten, a daughter of 
John and Mary Karsten. They have one daughter, Emma C. Mrs. Hess is a 
member of the Lutheran church. Mr. and Mrs. Hess have an adopted 
daughter, Lydia Hess, born ]\Iay 13, 1895. 



244 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

JOHN P. SCHAEFER. 

John P. Schaefer, of Section ^^, St. John township, is a life-long 
resident of Lake count}', and for many years has been one of its prominent 
farmers and representative citizens. He has been frugal, industrious and 
a good manager all through his career, and at the prime of his years has 
acquired a competence in a fine landed estate. He farms the small place 
wliere he resides, and. rents out most of his other property. He has also 
identified himself with various community interests, and as an all-round 
successful man is a fine example of sterling American citizenship. 

Mr. Schaefer was born in Center township of Lake county, on October 
9, 1854. His father, Jacob Schaefer, a native of Germany, is counted among 
the early settlers of Lake county, and lived to be eighty-three years old, having 
spent his life as a farmer. His wife was Maggie Willeni, also a native of 
Germany, and she died at about the age of sixty-five years. There were 
nine cliildren in the family and all of them reached manhood and womanhood. 

]Mr. John P. Schaefer was the youngest of the family. He was nine 
years old when the family moved over into St. John township, and he was 
reared and received most of his education here. He remained at home and 
assisted his father in the cultivation of the farm until the latter's death, 
and he has continued farming to the present, gradually adding to his estate 
interests as he was prospered. He now owns four hundred acres where the 
old homestead is situated, and seventy-three acres where his present resi- 
dence is located. He does general farming and stock-raising. He located 
on his present farm in 1901, having lived in section 35 previous thereto, 
and gives most of his own labors and attention to the seventy-three acres 
"at his home, renting nearly all the rest of his land. 

Mr. Schaefer is a Democrat as far as concerns national jxilitics. hut in 
local affairs tries to vote for the iDest man, regardless of what party tag he 
bears. He has church membership w ith the St. Joim's Catholic church.. 
He was married in 1883 to Miss Sv.san Jordan, who was horn in St. John 
township, Lake county, October 5, 1864, a daugiiter c^f John A. and JoJianna 
(Klassen) Jordan, old settlers of Lake county. Mr. and Mrs. Schaefer have 
six children : Maggie, Edward, Carrie, Zelie, Mary and John A. 




^ii^ nrim^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 245 

FLOYD M. PIERCE. 

Floyd M. Pierce is the eldest child of Marion F. and Maggie (Ran- 
dolph) Pierce, whose biographies as prominent citizens of Lake county are 
given on other pages of this history. The son has himself found a broad 
field of usefulness in his native county, and Ross township has especial reason 
to be proud and grateful for his sterling and public-spirited citizenship and 
his loyalty to all that concerns the general welfare. Both now and in later 
years his work for the educational interests of the township will be cherished 
and held up as one of his most important achievements. As trustee of the 
township he has given a far more than ordinary or perfunctory attention to 
the practical matters of education, and every child of school age is receiving 
more or less benefit from the enlarged educational opportunities which have 
been so largely the result of his endeavor and ambition along these lines. 

This leading young business man and public official of Ross township 
was born in the township and county of his present residence, on May 25, 
1873. He was educated in the public schools and the Northern Indiana 
Normal School at Valparaiso, after which he taught school for two years, 
from which experience his later work for the schools has received the greater 
stamp of practicality and effective direction. He was also appointed to the 
office of postmaster of Merrillville for a term of four years, and at llie present 
time is successfully engaged in the coal business at this town. 

Politically Mr. Pierce follows his fatlier in adhering stanchly to Demo- . 
cratic principles. He was elected to tlie office of trustee of Ross township 
in 1900, and still holds that important office. During his term he has had 
the oversight of the construction of three schoolhouses and has otherwise 
been a leader in local affairs. He was directly concerned with the erection 
of the beautiful high school building at Merrillville. which is an honor to die 
town, the township and county, and shows how thoroughly this section of 
northwestern Indiana is living up to the reputation for high educational 
ideals established for the entire state of Indiana. The high school is seventy- 
four feet front and thirty-six feet wide, has two stories and a seven-foot 
basement, is built of stone and pressed brick, is heated Ijy two furnaces, con- 
tains four large rooms, and is finished throughout after the most modern 
.style of school architecture and educational equipments. The total cost of 



246 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

this permanent and model structure was seven thousand dollars, and its dura- 
bility and thoroughness of construction are its chief points of economy, and 
it is altogether a credit to the taxpayers of the community. The rooms are 
seated with desks of the most approved and hygienic pattern, there are 
genuine slate blackboards, speaking tubes, and many other points of equip- 
ment which would astonish the old-time educator of half a century ago. In 
1903 the Merrillville high school held an exhibition of the work done by the 
pupils of the manual training department, and the products of their youthful 
skill and handiwork were of such high grade that the photos of the diflferent 
articles have been sent to St. Louis and are now on exhibition there at the 
World's Fair. Prior to the erection of the high school building the school 
contained only eight grades, but since Mr. Pierce's administration the full 
twelve grades have been instituted and now afiford the children of Ross 
township unequalled opportunities for pubhc school education. Another act 
of his administration has been the discontinuing of three small rural schools 
and their consolidation with the central school, the pupils being transported 
at the public expense to the school daily, and this has been done with de- 
creased expenditure for maintenance and with much increased efficiency in 
the character of work accomplished. 

Mr. Pierce has fraternal affiliations with the Masonic lodge No. 551 
and with Hobart Tent No. 65 of the Knights of the Maccabees. He was 
married, February 16, 1895, to Miss Lillie M. Niksch, and they have three 
children, Vida, Myra and the baby. Vida is now in the second grade of her 
school work. Mrs. Pierce was born January 25, 1876, and was reared in 
this county and educated in the common schools. Her father passed away 
March 2, 1903, at the age of seventy-seven, but her mother is still living at 
the age of seventy-two. 

JOSEPH PATTON. 

Joseph Patton, who for some years has been living retired from active 
life at Crown Point, is a pioneer farmer and settler of Lake county, with over 
fifty years of continuous residence to his credit. During most of this long 
period he has made farming his vocation, and still retains the farm on which 
he laid the basis of his prosperity. He has also given time and energy to the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 247 

promotion of the general welfare of liis community, and now at the age of 
three score and ten ranks among the men of intluence and ahiHiy and excel- 
lent personal character and reputation in this part of Lake county. 

Mr. Patton was born in Trumbull count}-, Ohio, October 17. 1S34. Ills 
father, John H. Patton, was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, and came 
to Lake county in 1852 from Trumbull county, Ohio, locating and improving 
a farm in Winfield township, where he died in 1865 at the age of sixty-five 
years. He married Eliza Jane Dixon, who was born in Ireland and came to 
America when about fourteen }-ears old. and who died at tlie age of sixty- 
seven years. They were the parents of sixteen children, and all of these grew 
up and married (except the oldest, who never married) and lived to be past 
thirty-five years of age. Some of them still live, being from seventy to 
eighty years old. 

Mr. Joseph Patton, the seventh son and twelfth child, was reared in 
Trumbull county, Ohio, up to his eighteenth year, receiving most of his 
education in the old-time log schoolhouse, and in 1852 he accompanied bis 
parents to Lake county. That was an early year in the history of Lake county, 
and there were but three stores in Crown Point at the time, in 1855, after 
he had married, he located on land of his own in Winfield township, where 
he cleared and improved a good farmstead of one hundred and sixty acres, 
building the houses and barns and completing the last of the important im- 
provements in 1882. This is one of the model places of the township, and 
he still owns it and finds it a steady source of revenue, although in 1S82 he 
retired from its active and personal management and moved into Crown 
Point, where he also has a fine property. He deserves the comforts of 
retired life, and as one of the old settlers has reaped his share of the profits 
accruing to those who place themselves in the van of progress and lielp 
develop a new country for the uses of civilization. 

He has also been identified with the public life of Lake county, and is 
one of the life-long and influential Republicans of the county. During the 
Civil war he enlisted and serxed as a member of Company E, One Hundred 
and Fifty-first Indiana Infantry, his record to the end of the war having been 
most creditable. He is now a member of the John Wheeler Post, G. A. R., 
at Crown Point. He has Ivcn a niember of the Methodist Episcopal church 
for forty-five years, and has filled all the offices and is devoted to its work. 



248 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

He Avas trustee for about twenty years and is now class leader and also treas- 
urer. He has handled all the money for the erection of the church at Crown 
Point, and has contributed much of his own to the various departments of 
church work. 

Mr. Patton married, in 1854, Miss Phebe Folsom, who was born in 
Trumbull county, Ohio, and who became the mother of two daughters: 
Olive, the wife of William Pardington, of Chicago ; and Ida May, the widow 
of Lincoln S. Blakman. In 1867 Mr. Patton married his present wife, Mrs. 
Eliza (Foster) Patton, who also had two daughters: Hattie, who died at the 
age of one and a half years; and Jennie, the wife of Edward Muzzall, and 

they have four children. 

REUBEN HIPSLEY. 

Reuben Hipsley, retired farmer and ex-county commissioner, residing 
at Palmer, Winfield township, has lived in Lake county for over fifty years, 
and most of that time has been spent in farming He retired a few years 
ago and moved into Palmer, but still supervises his farming operations and 
takes active part in business affairs. His career throughout has been one 
of integrity and upright dealings, and besides being successful in his life 
work he has found time to devote to public affairs and has been honored with 
the most important county office. 

Mr. Hipsley was born in Knox county, Ohio, August 22, 1846. His 
grandfather, Joshua Hipsley, was born in Maryland, of German descent, 
followed for a life occupation farming, and was one of the pioneers of Knox 
county, Ohio. Jonathan Lewis Hipsley, the father of Reuben, was born 
twenty miles from Baltimore, Maryland, March 4, 1820, and died January 2, 
1895. At the age of fourteen he accompanied his parents to Knox county, 
Ohio, and was reared and lived there until 1853, when he located in Lake 
county, Indiana, and bought and improved a farm of one hundred acres in 
Winfield township, on which he was living at the lime of his death. He 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, was a stanch Whig during 
the existence of that party, and afterward became an equally ardent Repub- 
lican. He married Eliza Phillips, who was born in Jefferson county. Ohio, 
was reared in Kno.x county of the same state, and now makes her home at 
Mt. Vernon, Ohio. She is eighty years old, having been born August i, 
1824. Her father was Reuben Phillips, probably born in Pennsylvania. 




y/fjAJo. JLu^i./^^ 





/T^^i^t:^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 240 

Jonathan Hipsley and his wife had five children: John, deceased; Rcnljcn ; 
Charles, of Broken Bow. Nebraska ; Sarah, wife of J. J. StofYer, of Knox 
county, Ohio; and Phebe, deceased. 

Mr. Reuben Hipsley w-as about six years old when he moved with the 
family from Knox county, Ohio, to Lake county, so that his schooling was 
received in this county. He remained at home and assisted his father until 
his marriage, in 1870, and he then located in Winfield township on a farm 
that he still owns. He was engaged in farming there until 1900, when he 
built a residence in Palmer and moved to town. He has one of the nicest 
residences in this part of the county. He owns about three hundred acres 
of land, and still does farming on one hundred acres comprising the home 
place. 

Mr. Hipsley has Ijeen a life-long Republican and voted for Grant, and 
has done much local work for the party. He was elected to the office of 
county commissioner in 1894 and was re-elected in 1898, so that he was in 
office for six years altogether. All the gravel roads of the county, costing 
in the aggregate six hundred thousand dollars, were constnicted during his 
administration. He is a stockholder in the Commercial Bank of Crown 
Point. He affiliates with the Masonic Lodge No. 502 at Hebron, 

Mr. Hipsley married, December 18, 1870, Miss Marilda Dittrick. who 
was born in Lapeer county, Michigan, October 12, 1849, ^ daughter of 
Walton and Sarah (Wells) Dittrick. Six children have been born to them: 
Carrie D., deceased; Alice A., deceased; Sherman J., deceased; Ida F., at 
home; and Lucile M. and Rillia Blanche. Ida was educated in the Con- 
servatory of Music at Valparaiso. Lucile is in the eighth grade, Blanche in 
the sixth. Mrs. Hipsley was four years of age when she came with her 
parents to Marshall county, Indiana, and was reared and educated in that 
county. Her parents are both deceased, and she is the only survivor. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hipsley have in their possession an old parchment deed dated 
August I, 1844, and executed under the hand of President John Tyler. This 
is the eleventh deed of the kind found in the county of Lake. 

CHARLES KEILMANN. 

Charles Keilmann of St. John township is one of the oldest living mem- 
bers of a family which has been prominently identified with the agricultural 



250 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

and business affairs of Lake county since pioneer times. He has himself 
always followed farming, and is still residing on and operating a farm which 
he located upon after his marriage, over a half century ago. He has been a 
man of industry and good business habits, has now, at the age of seventy-five, 
a successful career behind him and much to show for his past efforts, and at 
all times and in all circumstances has enjoyed the respect and high esteem 
of his friends and neighbors. 

Mr. Keilmann was born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, August 29, 
1829, being the fourth child of Henry and Elizabeth Keilmann, who in 1845 
left their native fatherland and came to Lake county, Indiana, becoming early 
settlers in this portion of northern Indiana. Charles was about sixteen years 
old when he came to this county. He was reared to farm work, and re- 
mained at home and assisted his father until several years after he was 
grown. He was married in 1852, and in the same year located on his present 
farm. He now owns one hundred and twenty acres, and has had a long and 
continued record of success in his operations at farming. He is well known 
throughout the county, and is a truly representative citizen. He is a Demo- 
crat in politics, and served as road commissioner for three terms. He and 
his family are members of the Catholic church in St. John. 

In 1852 Mr. Keilmann married Miss Anna Mary Orr, who was born in 
Germany and was a young girl when she came to Lake county. She died in 
1884, having been the mother of twelve children, ten of whom are living: 
George, deceased; Susanna, wife of Adam Bohling; Frank, of Chicago 
Heights, Illinois; Phillip, of Nebraska; Henry, of Lowell, Indiana; Leonard, 
of Hammond: Michael, who lives at home and married May Dahlkamp; 
Charles, of Dyer, Lake county: John, who died aged five years; Mary, wife 
of Jacob Spanier, of St. John; Peter, of Hammond; and Jacob, of Chicago 
Heights. All these children were born and reared in St. John township. 

LEONARD KEILMAN. 

Leonard Keilman, agriculturist, merchant and general business man of 
Dyer, St. John township, is the foremost man of affairs in this town, and 
has been identified with its commercial prosperity and general development 
for over forty-five years. He belongs to the family which is perhaps the 

most prominent in the industrial and commercial history of St. John town- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 251 

sliip. and its members have i)layed their various parts in Lake county for 
the past sixty years, from the primitive pioneer times to the progressive 
present. Mr. Keihnan has numerous interests, from tliose purely agricult- 
ural to financiering and banking, and throughout his career he has been to a 
high degree successful and at tlie same time has used his influence and 
elYorts for the advancement of the community along lines of material, social 
and intellectual good. 

As were the rest of the family, he was born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Ger- 
many, on May 4, 1833, being the youngest of the seven children of Henry 
and Elizabeth Keilman, further mention of which worthy jjioneer couple 
will be found in the sketches of the various other members of the family 
appearing in this work. When Leonard was seven years old the family 
came to America, and for a little more than four years lived in Portage 
county, Ohio, coming to Lake county in 1844. He was between eleven and 
twelve years of age when he arrived in this county, and for several years 
more attended the early schools of the county. He remained at home with 
his parents until twenty years of age, and then started out for himself by 
engaging in farming. In 1854 he was married, and then at once located 
on the farm where he has ever since made his home, and where he continued 
his farm operations exclusively for several years. Li 1858 he branched out 
into the mercantile enterprises which have since occupied so much of his 
attention. He established a store in Dyer and at the same time added a 
lumber yard. About i860 he began the buying and shipping of hay and 
grain, and later took up the milling business at Lowell, where he still owns 
the mill and also the lumber and grain yards and elevators. In 1903 he was 
one of the organizers of the First National Bank at Dyer, and is one of its 
stockholders. His son Henry is its president and a director, and John L. 
Keilman is also a director. Henry Batterman is a director and vice-presi- 
dent. William F. Keilman and John :\. Kimmet are the other directors, and 
Augustus Stumel is cashier. The capital stock is twenty-five thousand 
dollars, and it is already one of the important financial institutions of this 
part of the county. Besides all the enterprises just mentioned, Mr. Keilman 
owns about seven hundred acres of Lake county land. He has taken a good 
citizen's part in the public affairs of his community, and in national affairs 
has always \(ited the Democratic ticket. He and his family are meml)ers 
of the Catholic church. 



252 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

In 1854 Mr. Kcilmaii married Mi.^.s Lena .Xu.'^tgen. wlm was born in 
Germany and came lo .\merica when about twelve years old. locating with 
her family in Lake county during the same year. Mr. and Mrs. Keilman 
are the parents of eight children : Henry, who is a farmer and also men- 
tioned in connection with the bank; Margaret, wife of J. .\. Kimmet, of 
Lowell; Catherine, Mary, both single; Frank, a farmer: Ellen, a sister in 
St. Joseph's order; John L.. a merchant and in partnership with his father; 
and Lizzie, single. All the children were born in Dyer. 

HAROLD H. WHEELER. 

Pi MTiinent among the energetic and ca])able your.g men of Lake county 
is numbered Harold H. Wheeler, who is now clerk of the circuit court and 
a resident of Crown Point. This is his native city, his birth having occurred 
on the 28th of December, 1871. He is the great-grandson of Solon RoI>- 
inson, who was the first county clerk of Lake county and was the founder of 
Crown Point. He became one of the very earliest settlers of this ])ortion of 
the state, locating here when much of the land was still in its primitive con- 
dition, when the forests were uncut, the prairies uncultivated. 

John J. Wheeler, the father of our subject, is represented elsewhere in 
this work. In his family were four children, of whom Harold H. Wheeler 
is the eldest son. The latter was educated in the high school of Crown 
Point and immediately after leaving school he accepted the position of 
deputy clerk under George I. Maillet, under whom he served for three years. 
He was then deputy clerk for George M. Eder for eight years and at the end 
of that time was nominated without opposition at the Republican primaries 
for the position of clerk of the circuit court, in 1900. His election followed 
and he discharged the duties so acceptably that in 1902 he was re-nominated, 
and he now has five years to serve. His second term began in January, 1904. 
His connection with the office has been of long duration, so that he is thor- 
oughly familiar with the business transactions therein and he has instituted 
many reforms and improvements, which have l)een of value in the system 
of conducting the work of the ofhce of the clerk of the circuit court. 

Mr. Wheeler is identified with several fraternal organizations. He 
belongs to the Independent Order of Foresters, the Benevolent and Protect- 
ive Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias fraternity and is a prominent 




JoWdJOioL 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 253 

Mason, always true and loyal to the teacliings of tlie craft. He belongs 
to the blue lodge, chapter, council and commandery, also to the lodge of 
Perfection of the Rose Croix and has attained the thirty-second degree of 
the Scottish Rite. He is likewise identified \\ ith the Mystic Shrine, and is 
very active in the work of the fraternity, while in his life he exemplifies the 
beneficent spirit of the craft. 

In 1891 he was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Ward, a daughter 
■of Henry R. Ward, and they h.ave one son, John Ward \\' heeler. Mr. 
Wheeler has a very wide acquaintance throughout the county in which his 
entire life has been passed, and his election to office was a tril^ute to his per- 
sonal worth as well as to his business ability. 

WILLIAM H. VANSCIVER. 

William H. Vansciver, a retired farmer residing in Crown Point, was 
l"!orn at Beverly, New Jersey, December 25, 1852, and is of Holland lineage. 
His paternal grandfather was William Vansciver, his father, Barnet Van- 
sciver. The latter was a native of New Jersey, acquired his education in the 
schools of that state and was married there to Miss Anna Horner, who was 
born and reared in Pennsylvania. Their only child, William H. Vanscivcrt 
was a year old when in 1853 they came to Lake county, Indiana, settling on 
a farm in Winfield township, where the father carried on agricultural pursuits 
until sixty-eight years of age, when his life's labors were ended in death. 

Upon the old family homestead AV'illiam H. Vansciver spent the days 
of his boyhood and youth, and bis education was acquired in the common 
schools. As soon as old enough he assisted in the work of field and meadow. 
and later he took charge of the home farm, continuing its cultivation and 
management for many years. In fact, tiu-oughout his entire Inisincss career 
he has carried on agricultural pursuits, and he is now the owner of two hun- 
dred and twenty-eight acres of valuable land in Winfield townsliip, which he 
rents, this bringing to him a good income. He is now practically living 
retired from active business life, although occasionally he assists in selling 
agricultural implements. 

Mr. Vansciver was united in marriage to Miss Kate Patton. who was 
born in Ohio and was a daughter of James Patton. She was reared in Lake 
county, Indiana, and by this marriage there were four children, but two 



254 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

died in early life. Tlie others are Delia and Dana. Bodi Mr. and Mrs. Van- 
sciver are well known in this county and have a large circle of warm friends. 
He exercises his right of franchise in support of the men and measures of 
the Republican party, has taken an active interest in political work in his 
locality and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He 
served as township trustee of Winfield township for nine years, and he has 
always been interested in public progress and improvement. He is identified 
with the Masonic lodge and with the Foresters at Crown Point, and he con- 
tributes generously to different churches, although he is not identified with 
any denomination through membership relations. His life has been quietly 
passed, yet it contains many elements that are well worthy of emulation, for 
he has always been active and honorable in business, loyal in citizenship and 
faithful in friendship. 

DAVID A. FISHER. 

David A. Fisher, of Section 29, Eagle Creek township, has Ixeu among 
the leading farmers of this part of Lake county for the past twenty years, and 
carries on his operations on an unusually extensive scale. He is a native son 
of the county and township, and most of the years of a \'ery busy and suc- 
cessful business career have been spent here. Besides farmi\ig, he has at 
various times branched out into commercial lines, where he has likewise been 
prosperous, and in citizenship and matters of community interest he performs 
his part in a public-spirited and generous manner. 

Mr. Fisher was born in Eagle Creek township. Lake county, March 13, 
1855, and was reared and educated in the county. From the public schools 
he went to Valparaiso and took a course in the Northern Indiana Normal 
School. For two years he was engaged in the hardware and implement busi- 
ness at Hebron, during 1882-83. In 1884 he returned to the farm, where 
he has found his pleasantest and most profitable scene of work. He has done 
general farming and stock-raising, and has the management of five hundred 
and ninety-five acres, with four men in his employ. During 1902 and 1903 
he was once more in the implement business, selling binders, mowers and 
other farm machinery manufactured by the Piano Company. For some 
months in 1879-80 he was in Colorado for his health, and during the winter 
was engaged in freighting from Colorado Springs and Leadville, and he also 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 255 

spent a part of the same winter in New Mexico. Mr. iMsher is one of the 
influential Republicans in local affairs, and served his townsliip as trustee 
from 1886 to 1890. He affiliates with the ^Masonic lodge No. 502 at Hebron 
and the Independent Order of Foresters at Hebron. 

In 1876 Mr. Fisher married i^Iiss Elizabeth Bliss, and for their wedding 
journey they attended the Centennial at Philadelphia. Mrs. Fisher was born 
in New York state and was reared in Pulaski county, Indiana. They are the 
parents of two sons: Kenneth William and Winford B. Kenneth has re- 
ceived his diploma from the public schools in the class of 1902 and will take 
an extended course in schools of higher instruction. Winford married, June 
II, 1903, Miss Lilly B. Volkee, of Eagle Creek township. 

AUGUST KOEHLE. 

August Koehle, proprietor of the Spring Hill resort at St. John, was 
born in Germany on the 3d of October, 1853, and came to America in 1871, 
being at that time eighteen years of age. He settled first in Chicago, where 
he was employed by a brewing company, remaining in that city for about 
five years or until 1876, when he went to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. There 
he visited tlie Centennial Exposition and later returned to Chicago, but the 
same year came to Lake county, settling first at Crown Point. There he 
worked for the Crown Point Brewing Company and was made foreman of 
the plant, for his previous experience and comprehensive knowledge of the 
business well qualified him for this position, which he filled in an acceptable 
manner for about four years. On the expiration of that period, with the 
money which he had saved from his earnings, he established a saloon in 
Crown Point, conducting it foi six months. On the expiration of that 
period he came to St. John, where be erected a building and carried on a 
saloon for some time. Later, however, he sold out and established his 
present resort called the Spring Hill Gro\-e. Tliis is a summer resort, con- 
tains fine buildings and all modern equipments to promote the pleasure of the 
general public. Everything is in first-class condition and the place was 
built at a great expense. He has good bowling alleys here and has a resort 
which is well patronized and brings to him a good financial return upon his 
investment. 



256 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

On tlie I3tli of June, 1878, l\Ir. Koelile was united in marriage to Miss 
Anna Sniitli, and to tliem has l^een born a son, William. In his political 
affiliations Mr. Koehle is a Democrat, active in support of the party, and he 
now has charge of the stone roatls in St. John township. He is well known 
in this part of the county and is deeply interested in its welfare and sub- 
stantial upbuilding. He and his family are members of the Catholic church 
of St. John. He has never had occasion to regret his determination to seek 
a home in America, for here he has found the business opportunities which 
he sought, and through close application, energy and untiring efifort he has 
passed from humble surroundings and has become one of the well-to-do 
citizens of his community. 

HERBERT E. JONES. 

Herbert E. Jones, who is serving for the third term as city clerk of 
East Chicago, was bom in Knoxville, Tennessee, on the 23d of July, 1866, 
his parents being John T. and Mary (Jones) Jones, both of v.'liom were 
natives of Wales. The paternal grandfather, John Jones, was also born in 
Wales, was an iron worker by trade and coming to America was identified 
with the iron industry of Pennsylvania. He died in Pittsburg, that state, 
when more than eighty years of age. The maternal grandfather of Mr. 
Jones, also a native of Wales, spent his entire life in that little rock-ribbed 
country, dying in middle life. He had made farming his occupation. His 
widow married again, becoming the wife of a minister. 

John T. Jones followed in the business footstqos of his father and 
became an iron worker. He emigrated to America about 185 1 and located 
in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, making his home in that state until 1866. when 
he went to Kno.xville, Tennes.see, continuing to reside there and in the 
neighborhood of Chattanooga until 1873, ^vhen he removed to Portland, 
Maine. About sexen years were passed in that city, at the expiration of 
which period he took up his abode in Chicago, Illinois, where he continued 
until 1889, when he removed to East Chicago. Here he spent his remaining 
days, passing away in 1897, when seventy-one years of age. His wife hafl 
departed this life about six months before, in July, 1896, at the age of sixty- 
nine years. They were members of the Congregational church. Their 
family numbered ten children, five sons and five daughters, of whom four 




3 




\S^^^5-^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 257 

are now living: John A., a resident of East Chicago: Mary, tiie wife of 
John P. Hickman, of jMilwaukee, Wisconsin; Herbert E., of East Chicago; 
Daniel, who is also living in East Chicago. 

In taking up the personal history of Herbert E. Jones we present to 
our readers the life record of one who is now widely and favorably known in 
East Chicago. Born soon after the removal of his parents to Knoxville, 
Tennessee, he spent the first seven years of his life in that state and then 
accompanied his parents to Portland, Maine. His education was acquired 
in the public schools. When he was thirteen years of age he began to earn 
his own living by working in a rolling mill, thus following the occupation 
which had been the life labor of his ancestors through several generp.tions. 
He continued in that pursuit for a number of years, and in the meantime 
had become a resident, first of Chicago and then of East Chicago. Finally, 
however, he abandoned the iron industry to accept the position of city clerk, 
in 1898, and by popular franchise he has been continued in the office for 
three terms. His re-elections are certainly indicative of his methodical, 
systematic and accurate work in the office and of his unfaltering fidelity to 
duty. In March, 1904, he was nominated for the office of recorder of Lake 
county. 

On the 1st of September, 1896, occurred the marriage of Mr. Jones 
and Miss Mary Jenkins, a daughter of Richard and Mary Jenkins, and they 
are now the parents of two children — Agnes and Herbert. Mr. and Mrs. 
Jones are consistent members of the Congregational church. The)' reside 
at 4222 Magoun avenue, where he has recently erected a comfortable home. 
Fraternally he is connected with East Chicago Lodge No. 595, F. & A. M., 
was formerly its master and is now filling the position of secretary. He 
also belongs to East Chicago Lodge No. 677, I. O. O. F., to the Benevolent 
Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of the Maccabees and the Modern 
Woodmen of America. His political allegiance is given to the Republican 
party, his study of the questions and issues of the day and of the attitude of 
the two parties respecting these leading him to give a loyal support to Repub- 
lican principles, and it was upon the ticket of that party that he has been 
three times chosen to the position of city clerk. 



358 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

FREDERICK LASH. 

Frederick Lash, the popular and successful proprietor of the Erie Hotel 
and Restaurant at Hammond, Indiana, has been numbered among the busi- 
ness men of this city since 1890. He has lived in the state of Indiana since 
the late sixties, taking up his residence here after a brilliant record as a 
soldier in both the volunteer and regular forces of the United States, and in 
his private career since that time he has been as successful, as enterprising 
and public-spirited as when he followed the flag of the nation. He has a 
permanent place in the regard of the citizens of Hammond, and has never 
been known to shirk the responsibilities of private, social or public life. 

Mr. Lash was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, December 19, 1843, 
being the only son of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Hummel) Lash, natives of 
Germany. His paternal grandfather, John Lash, was a native of Germany, 
was a baker by trade and also served in the regular army, and died in that 
country at the age of ninety-five years, having been the father of a good-sized 
family, mostly sons. Benjamin Lash was also a baker by trade, and followed 
that pursuit after emigrating to America and taking up his residence in 
Berks county, Pennsylvania. He died there in 1849. ^S^^^ seventy-five years. 
His wife's father Hummel died in Germany, and that part of the family 
history is lost. 

Mr. Frederick Lash was reared in Berks county, Pennsylvania, on a 
farm, and the school which he remembers having attended was in a log cabin. 
He was at home until the summons of war went out through the land, and 
as a boy of about seventeen he enlisted, in 1861, in the First New York 
Artillery. He was in the conflict from almost the very beginning to the 
end, and entered as a private and was gradually promoted to the captaincy 
of his company, being of that rank at the close of the v/ar. He was in the 
battles of Lookout Mountain, Fredericksburg, Vicksburg, Missionary Ridge 
and the Wilderness, and was all through the Atlanta campaign. He was 
slightly wounded at Vicksburg. After the war he served three years in the 
regular army, being stationed most of the time in the eastern states, princi- 
pally in New York. 

Following his army service, he came to Indiana and engaged in the 
restaurant busines in Lafayette for some years. He conducted a restaurant. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 259 

bakery and confectionery establishment at Attica, Indiana, until 1890, and 
in that year came to Hammond, where he has been in the restaurant and 
hotel business ever since, for the past twelve years having had charge of the 
Erie Hotel, one of the most popular public houses of the city, owing all its 
prosperity to the excellent management of Mr. Lash. 

Mr. Lash was married in March, 1869, to Miss Elizabeth Lahr, a 
daughter of Ulrich and Julia Lahr. There were two children of this union, 
William and Frederick, the former being a clerk in Hammond and a married 
man, while the latter is single. Mrs. Elizabetli Lash died April 8, 1899. On 
May 2, 1900, Mr. Lash married Miss Elizabeth Mclntyre, a daughter of 
James P. and Eliza Jane (Forrest) Mclntyre. Mr. and Mrs. Nash are Epis- 
copalians in faith, although not identified with any chinch. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, and is alderman from the Third ward. He aiifiliates with 
Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., with Hammond Chapter, R. A. M., and 
Bethlehem Temple of the Mystic Shrine in Chicago, and he and his wife 
are members of the Eastern Star. He also belongs to Moltke Lodge, 
I. O. O. F., and to the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He is a member 
of the William H. Calkins Post No. 549, G. A. R. For ten years he was 
commander of the Indiana State Guard, and was elected colonel of the Lake 
County Brigade, G. A. R.. in 1900. He is the owner of several houses and 
lots in Hammond, and his material prosperity has come to him as the results 
of his own efforts. He is a self-made man, and well deserves 'the place of 
esteem which he has gained by a life of endeavor. 

Mrs. Lash's grandfather, James Mclntyre, was of Irish lineage, but 
was born in the north of Scotland. He married Mary Booth, of pure Eng- 
lish stock, and they had eleven children. He came to America in young man- 
hood and settled in \'erniont, where he died at the age of seventy-three years. 
His father, also named James, died in Ireland. Mary (Booth) Mclntyre died 
in Vermont at the age of sexcnty years. 

The parents of Mrs. Lash were natives of Vermont, and lived at St. 
Albans Bay. They had two children: Elizabeth and Edgar Forrest Mc- 
lntyre. James P. Mclntyre, her father, was a molder by trade, and had a 
business of his own. He settled in Jackson, Michigan, at an early day, and 
thence moved to Athens, and from there to Three Rivers, in the same state, 
where he had a large plow factory. He returned to Vermont, but later came 



260 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

to Baldwin, Wisconsin, and from tiiere to Stillwater, and thence to Eau 
Claire, Wisconsin, where lie had extensive plow works. He later took up 
his residence in Chicago, which is his present home. His wife died in 1869. 
She was a member of the Methodist church. Her father, William Forrest, 
came to Vermont from Canada, and he and his wife Eliza had a large family. 
Mr. jMcIntyre was a soldier in the Civil war. belonging to Company I, Ver- 
mont Infantry, and served four years, having been enlisted as a private and 
mustered out as a colonel. He was once wounded in the forehead by a shell. 
He married for his second wife Louisa Amelia Stannard, and they had nine 
children, five sons and four daughters, the five now living being Frank E., 
James H., Archie R., Sarah J. and Belle, all of Chicago. 

JOHN STEPHENS. 

John Stephens, as superintendent of the Inland Steel Company at Indiana 
Harbor, is a prominent factor in the industrial development and substantial 
growth of northwestern Indiana, and his career is one which excites th.e 
admiration and awakens the respect of all who know aught of his life history. 
To a student of biography there is nothing more interesting than to examine 
the life history of a self-made man, and to detect the elements of character 
which have enabled him to pass on the highway of life many of the com- 
panions of his youth who at the outset of their careers were more advan- 
tageously equipped or endowed. Mr. Stephens has through his own exertions 
attained an honorable position and marked prestige among the representative 
men of this state, and with signal consistency it may be said that he is the 
architect of his own fortunes, and one whose success amply justifies the 
application of the somewhat hackneyed but most expressive title of "a self- 
made man." 

!\lr. Stephens was Ijorn in Lydney, Gloucestershire. England. Dcccmljcr 
2, 1844, and is a son of John and Charlotte (Hawkens) Stephens, I'oth of 
whom were natives of Lydney. The paternal grandfather also bore the name 
of John Stephens, and he too was born in Lydney. He was a mill worker, 
connected with the tin industry, and be died at the advanced age of ninety- 
two years, while his wife, ?ilrs. Hannah Stephens, flierl at the age of seventv- 
four years. They were the parents of three sons and four daughters. The 
maternal grandparents of our subject were Samuel and Sarah Hawkens, and 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 261 

were native residents of Lydney. where the latter died at the age of forty-two 
years, while the former reached the venerable age of eighty-nine years. He 
was a shipping contractor, loading and unloading vessels as they came into 
the canal and dock, or preparing them for passage at sea. To him and his 
wife were born a son and a daughter, the latter becoming the wife of John 
Stephens, the father of Mr. Stephens of this review. John Stephens, 2d, 
was a hammerman and lived and died in his native town of Lydney, where 
his death occurred in 1899, when he was seventy-seven years of :ige. His wife 
departed this life in March, 1902, when seventy-six years of age. Both were 
members of the Methodist church. They had but two children, the daughter, 
Sarah, being the wife of Lot Malsom, of Sharon, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. John Stephens spent the days of his boyhood and youth in Lydney, 
England, and acquired his education in the public schools there. When six- 
teen years of age he became identified with the industry which he has made 
his life work, securing" employment in an iron foundry. There he became 
familiar with the business in every department, and in detail as well as prin- 
ciple. He worked in both the tin and sheet-iron departments, gaining a most 
practical and comprehensive knowledge of the trade, and thus he was well 
equipped for advancement along that line when he came to America. 

Believing that the new world offered better business advantages, Mr. 
Stephens, on the 22d of February. 1872. left England for America, landing 
in New York city on the 9th of March. The same day he went to Oxford, 
New Jersey, arriving there at half past six o'clock in the evening. He con- 
tinued in Oxford until the follow ing August, when he removed to Catasauqua, 
Pennsylvania, where he remained for ten months, and then located at Sharon, 
Pennsylvania, where he resided for ele\en years, actively connected with the 
iron industry at that place. His next home was in Greenville, Pennsylvania, 
and two years later he went to Newcastle, in the same state, where he lived 
for five years. On the expiration of that period he returned to Sharon, where 
he remained for seven years longer. For eighteen years he was in the 
employ of P. L. Kimberly & Company, and during the last seven years with 
the Sharon Iron Company, lieing its superintendent. On leaving Pennsyl- 
vania, be removed to Muncie, Indiana, where he took charge of the plant of 
the Midland Steel Company, witJi which he was connected for six and a half 
years. From Muncie he came to Indiana Harbor, on the ist of March, 1902, 



262 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

and in company with R. J. Beatty, John McGrath, John G. Dauks, R. W. 
W'ick and some Chicago capitalists, including L. E. Block, P. D. Block and 
others, built the Inland Steel Mill, which now employs about nine hundred 
and fifty men, and this number will be increased as the work progresses. 
The output of the plant has reached very extensive proportions and it is 
destined to become one of the leading industrial concerns of the middle west. 
Throughout his business career Mr. Stephens has been connected with great 
productive industries, in which he has gradually worked his way upward 
through efficiency, skill and practical knowledge, until he stands today as 
one of the foremost representatives of the iron industry in Indiana. More- 
over, throughout' the entire period of his business career he has ever sus- 
tained a reputation which is unassailable, and while fully guarding the inter- 
ests of his company he has also been most just and fair in his dealings witlf 
those who have worked under him, and no better proof of both statements 
can be given than the fact that he has received from both employers and 
fellow-employes substantial tokens of their trust and esteem for him. 

When Mr. Stephens left Newcastle, Pennsylvania, the employes of the 
mill there made him a present of a handsome gold watch and chain, a set of 
gold cuff buttons and a pair of fancy slippers, while the company gave him 
a purse of twenty-seven dollars and a rocking chair. When he left Sharon, 
Pennsylvania, the employes gave him a full set of the Encyclopedia Britan- 
nica and a rocking chair for himself and one for his wife. When he left 
Muncie the employes gave him a three-hundred-dollar silver set, and these 
tokens of kindly regard and good will he justly prizes highly. 

On the 14th of October, 1865, Mr. Stephens was united in marriage 
to Miss Hannah Jones, a daughter of Herbert and Hannah Jones, and to 
them have been born the following children, five sons and five daughters: 
Emily, Caroline Charlotte, Frederick J. H., Lillie Hannah, Minnie Maude, 
William Charles, Francis Eusebius, Mabel, Harold and Clairmont. Emily 
is now the wife of Edwin Hoke, of Indiana Harbor, and they have two chil- 
dren, Emma and Beulah. Frederick J. H. Stephens married Miss Laura 
Halstock, of Muncie, Indiana. Lillie Hannah is the wife of Walter Dang, 
of Indiana Harbor. 

Mr. and Mrs. Stephens are prominent, influential and active members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, and he is serving as a member of the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 263 

board of trustees and also as superintendent of the Sunday school. He is a 
local minister, having been licensed to preach thirty-four years ago. Politi- 
cally he is a Republican. He built in 1902 the largest residence in Indiana 
Harbor, on the lake front. Possessing strong domestic tastes, his interest 
largely centers in his family, and he counts no sacrifice on his part too great 
that will enhance the welfare or promote the happiness of his wife and 
children. The church, too, claims considerable of his attention, and while in 
his business career he has steadily advanced, he has always found time to 
discharge his duties to his fellow-men and his obligations of citizenship. 

CHARLES M. BAKER. 

Charles M. Baker, who is proprietor and successfully conducts a large 
livery, feed and sales stable at Crown Point, is a business man who can 
point with much pride and satisfaction to his career of self-achievement cul- 
minating in a substantial place in the business circles of Crown Point and 
in the esteem of his fellow-citizens and associates. He has practically hewn 
out his own destiny and been the architect of his own fortune since he was 
a lad of few years and with little preparation such as most boys enjoy. From 
various experiences in varied lines of activity he has progressed gradually 
but surely, and is now able to claim one of the very best establishments of 
its kind in Lake county, with a constantly growing patronage as eyidence of 
the excellence of his team.s and equipments and methods of doing business. 

Mr. Baker was born in Porter county, Indiana, March 26, 1866, a son 
of Justice and Eunice (Allen) Baker, the former a native of New York 
state. He was four years old when he lost his mother, and five years old 
when he lost his father, and their individual histories are not easily recalled. 
Mr. Baker has one brother, George, of Boone Grove, Porter county, and 
three sisters: Lydia, wife of Noah Merriman, of Marion, Indiana; Jennie, 
wife of James Lewis, of Champaign, Illinois ; and Emma, who is the widow 
of Alfred T. Coffin and lives in Crown Point. 

Mr. Baker, thus left an orphan before he was of an age to attend school, 
was deprived of many circumstances of rearing that most children have. At 
the age of nine he was bound out to a man with whom he remained three 
years, and then started out on his individual career. He worked by the day 
and month at anything he could find. He clerked in a store in Crown Point 



264 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

for some time, and also spent two years as a clerk for the H. P. Stanley 
Fruit Company in Chicago. For several years after that he was engaged 
in various lines of enterprise in Crown Point, which has been the scene of 
most of his efforts since arriving at years of manhood. In 1900 he bought 
the livery stock of Charles Wilson, and in 1903 he built his present barn, 
thirty-eight by one hundred and forty feet. He keeps twenty-six head of 
good horses, and has the reputation of sending out the best rigs in town. 

Mr. Baker is one of the public-spirited citizens of Crown Point, and 
has served on the town board and as one of the trustees of Crown Point. 
He is stanch in his adherence to the Republican party. He affiliates with the 
Independent Order of Foresters. In connection with the livery business he 
also buys and sells horses, and up to 1902 he was engaged in the hay business. 

Mr. Baker married, in 1887, Miss Adah Holton, the daughter of Janna 
S. and Catherine J. (Eddy) Holton, who were Lake county pioneers. Mrs. 
Baker was bom in this county, September 14, 1867, and was educated at 
Crown Point, finishing in the high school. She died February 16, 1904, 
when in her thirty-seventh year. There are three sons and one daughter 
of the family : Harry J., born in 1889; Fay M., born in 1892 ; Lewis C, bom 
in 1895 ' ^"<^ Howard H., born in 1897. 

F. RICHARD SCHAAF, Jr. 

F. Richard Schaaf, Jr., is filling the position of bookkeeper with the 
Standard Oil Company and is an expert accountant. He also owns valuable 
real estate in Robertsdale, and is a director of the First National Bank of 
Whiting. While his life history is characterized by no exciting incidents, it, 
nevertheless, proves the value of activity, energy and reliability in the affairs 
of life and shows that the young man may occupy positions of great trust 
and responsibility. 

Mr. Schaaf was born on the 15th of April, 1878, in Hamburg, Ger- 
many. His father F. Richard Schaaf, Sr., was a native of Saxony, Ger- 
many, was reared and married there, Miss Catherine Schlueter becoming his 
wife. Her birth occurred near Hamburg. In the year 1880 they left the 
fatherland and with their family sailed for the new world, taking up their 
abode in Chicago. Mr. Schaaf, Sr., is a blacksmith by trade, but in Chicago 
engaged in the hotel business. In 1890 he removed to Whiting, where he 




^^^^ ^r^Xc^^yJb^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY, 265 

also established a hotel, which he conducted for about five years. On the 
expiration of that period he went to Robertsdale, a suburb of Hammond, 
Indiana, where he engaged in the grocery business and also became a real 
estate and insurance agent. Both he and his wife are still living in North 
Hammond and are well known there. They are the parents of seven chil- 
dren and with one exception all are yet living. 

F. Richard Schaaf, Jr., is the eldest child and was only about two years 
of age when brought to the United States. His education was acquired in 
the public schools of Chicago and in Bryant & Stratton's Business College 
of that city. In 1898 he became an employe of the Western Newspaper 
Syndicate of Chicago, continuing in that service for about seven months, 
when he was offered the position as bookkeeper by the Standard Oil Com- 
pany at Whiting. His efficiency won him promotion to the position of head 
bookkeeper of the paraffin department six months after he had become an 
employe of the corporation. He is likewise a director of the First National 
Bank at Whiting and he owns a large amount of real estate in Robertsdale, 
having made judicious investments in property, from which he has already 
realized good returns. 

Mr. Schaaf is well known in political circles in northwestern Indiana, 
and when he was but twenty-one years of age he was elected a delegate to 
the Republican state convention held at Indianapolis in 1900. He was also 
elected a member of the county central committee and made vice chairman 
of the city central committee of Hammond, Indiana. In the spring of 1904 
he was nominated for trustee of North township. He is also president of 
the Robertsdale fire department, having filled this position for six years. 

On the 1 2th of June, 1901, Mr. Schaaf was united in marriage to Miss 
Mary A. Roberts, a daughter of Mrs. Agnes Roberts of Robertsdale, and 
they are well known in Lake county, where they have many friends. Fra- 
ternally Mr. Schaaf is connected with the Masons, belonging to Whiting 
Lodge No. 613, F. & A. M., of which he is now treasurer. He is also a 
member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a man of considerable 
influence, aiding in molding public thought, action and opinion. The inter- 
ests which have made claim uixm his time and attention have been such as 
tend to the betterment of the conditions of mankind and for the stimulus 
of material progress or the improvement of the city. 



266 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ROBERT SPEAR. M. D. 

During the seven years which mari< the period of his professional career 
Dr. Robert Spear has met with gratifying success. Throughout this time he 
has made his home in East Chicago, where he has won the good will and 
patronage of many of the best citizens. He is a thorough student and 
endeavors to keep abreast of the times in everything relating to the dis- 
coveries in medical science. Progressive in his ideas and favoring modern 
methods as a whole, he does not dispense with the time-tried systems whose 
value has stood the test of years. 

Dr. Spear was born in Cobourg, Ontario, Canada, January 23, 1868, 
and is of Scotch lineage. His paternal grandfather, Thomas Spear, was 
a native of Scotland and thence emigrated to Canada, where he followed the 
carpenter's trade. He was twice married and by the first union had one son, 
William, who reached mature years, wliile the three other children died in 
their teens. For his second wife he chose Miss McComb, and they had one 
daughter who died in childhood. William Spear, a native of Ontario, Canada, 
learned and followed the wagon-builder's trade in early manhood and after- 
ward turned his attention to farming. He, too, was twice married, first 
wedding Miss Sarah Davidson, by whom he had four children, of whom 
three are now living, namely: Thomas, of Cobourg, Canada; William K., 
also of Cobourg; and David, of Pipestone, Manitoba. Their daughter, 
Elizabeth, is deceased. After the death of his first wife William Spear 
married Miss Margaret Brown, also a native of Ontario, and they became 
the parents of nine children, three sons and six daughters, of whom eight 
are now living, as follows: James, of Cobourg; Annie, also of Cobourg; 
Agnes, of Virden, Manitoba; Dr. Robert Spear; Andrew, of Cobourg; 
Margaret, of Rochester, New York; Christina, of Cobourg; and Isabell, of 
Wilton, North Dakota. Jennie died at the age of twenty-one years. The 
father of this family passed away at Cobourg, Canada, in 1901, at the age of 
seventy-five years, and is still survived by his widow, who is a devoted Chris- 
tian woman, holding membership in the Presbyterian church, to which her 
husband also belonged. She was a daughter of Robert Brown, a native of 
Scotland, who crossing the Atlantic took up his abode in Canada, where he 
followed the occupation of farming. He married a Miss Miller, and they 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY., 267 

reared a large family of nine children. His death occurred when he was about 
eighty years of age. 

Dr. Robert Spear spent his boyhood days in the usual manner of farmer 
lads, remaining under the parental roof near Cobourg. In the summer 
months he assisted in the work of the fields and in the winter seasons attended 
the district school. Later he continued his education in the collegiate insti- 
tute at Cobourg, and subsequently entered Queen's University at Kingston. 
In order to prepare for the practice of medicine he became a student in the 
Trinity Medical College, of Toronto, from which institution he was grad- 
uated with the class of 1897. He then began practice in East Chicago, estab- 
lishing his home in this city on the ist of May of that year. Here he has 
remained continuously since, and his skill and ability are indicated by the 
patronage which is accorded him. He has always been a close and earnest 
student of his profession and his efforts are beneficially put forth for the 
alleviation of human suffering. 

On the 6th of October, 1897, Dr. Spear was united in marriage to Miss 
Minnie Cook, a daughter of John and Martha (Sykes) Cook. Two children 
have been born of this union, Wilfred Garnet and Helen Gladys. Dr. and 
Mrs. Spear are Presbyterians in their religious faith, and in politics he is 
somewhat independent. In May, 1904, he was elected to represent the First 
ward in the City Council of the city of East Chicago. His professional con- 
nection is with the Lake County Medical Society, the Kankakee Valley 
Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Association and the American 
Medical Association. He resides at No. 4530 Forsyth street, where he 
erected a good home in 1901. 

GEORGE M. EDER. 

George M. Eder, cigar manufacturer at 205 South Hohmar. street, Ham- 
mond, has been a successful business man in Lake county for a number of 
years, having learned his tratle when a boy and having begun the manu- 
facture of cigars in Crown Point about thirty years ago. There is a large 
and steady demand for all the goods that he can produce, and his output has 
gained him quite a reputation. Before coming to Hammond he held a number 
of important local offices, and his public-spirited interest in general afifairs 
and his loyalty to home, city and state mark him out as a representative 



268 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

citizen as he is "also a man of highest integrity and sterling personal worth. 

.Mr. EWcr was born in Landau, Bavaria, Germany, April 22, 1855. His 
paternal grandfather, Martin Eder, was a farmer and died in Germany when 
an old man. By his wife, IMary Eder, he had seven sons and one daughter. 
Mr. Eder's maternal grandfather died in Germany during middle life, and 
his wife, Theressa Ruber, li\ed to the great age of ninety-six years, they 
having been the parents of only one child, the mother of Mr. Eder. 

Mr. Eder's parents were John B. and Theressa (Huber) Eder, both 
natives of Germany. His father was a laborer in the fatherland, and later 
served for twelve years in the Bavarian army. He came to America in 1855, 
locating in Chicago, where he followed various pursuits. He was burned out 
at the Chicago iire in 1871, and in 1873 moved to Crown Point, Indiana, 
where he died February 3, 1877, aged sixty-nine years. His wife survived 
him and died at the age of eighty-two. They were both Catholics. There 
were three sons and one daughter in their family, and the two now living are 
Joseph, of Crown Point, and George M., of Hammond. 

Mr. George M. Eder was in infancy when his parents crossed the ocean 
to America. He w'as reared in Chicago, where he attended the public and 
parochial schools and learned the cigarmaker's trade, and hved there until 
1873, when he accompanied the rest of the family to Crown Point. He 
engaged in the manufacture of cigars at the county seat until his election, 
in 1890, to the ofifice of county clerk, which position he occupied for two 
terms, or eight years. In May, 1903, he moved to Hammond and resumed 
the manufacture of cigars. He owns his nice home at 205 South Hohman 
street, where is also located his factory. Mr. Eder is a stockholder in the 
Commercial Bank of Crown Point, and for five years was vice-president 
of the bank. 

Mr. Eder was town clerk and treasurer of Crown Point for six years, 
and was tw ice elected township trustee, resigning that office after three years 
in order to accept the county clerkship. He has fraternal affiliations with 
the Catholic Order of Foresters and the Independent Order of Foresters. 
He and his wife are members of the Catholic church. 

September 24, 1878, Mr. Eder married Miss Frances M. Scherer, a 
daughter of Peter and Catherine (Young) Scherer. There are seven chil- 
dren of this union, George J., Edward J., Clarence M., Louis G., Rose M., 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 269 

Daniel and Florence. George J. is in the employ of the American Express 
Company; Edward J- is a lawyer in Hammond; Clarence M. clerks in a 
grocer}- store in East Chicago; Louis G. is attending college in Chicago; 
and the other three are in the public schools of Hammond. 

CLARENCE C. SMITH. 

Clarence C. Smith is a member of the firm of Smith & Clapper Brothers, 
li\erymen at East Chicago, Indiana, and was born in Mason, Michigan, on 
the 5th of October, 1863. His paternal grandfather was a native of New 
^'ork and was a farmer by occupation, but aside from that little is known 
concerning the ancestry of the house in the paternal line. Gideon Smith, 
the father of C. C. Smith, was born in the Empire state and became a boot 
and shoe maker. He followed that occupation in the east for a time and 
then abandoned it and removed to the middle west, locating in Michigan 
about 1862. He took up his abode at Mason, that state, where he remained 
until 1864, when he came to Lake county, Indiana, and settled one mile west 
of Deep Ri\er ijostoffice, where he purchased what was known as the Ed 
Chase farm There he carried on agricultural pursuits and also worked at 
his trade to some extent. He lived a life of untiring activity and industry, 
and whatever success he achieved was due solely to his own labors. He 
married ]\Irs. Anna L. Hanna, ucc Marble, who was the widow of Thomas 
Hanna and a daughter of Simeon Marble, who was born in Vermont, which 
was alsd her birthplace. Mr. Alarble followed the occupation of farming in 
New England and on emigrating westward about 1858 he Located a mile 
and a half west of Deep River postoftice. where he purchased what was 
known as the Booth farm. There he carried on the work of tilling the soil 
throughout h.is remaining days, and his death occurred when he was .seventv- 
five years of age. He was married h\e tmies. his first union being with a 
Miss Imes. He had Init three children, all born by liis first wife: Ann L.. 
who became Mrs. Smith: Horace Marble, who is living at Crown Point and 
AMieatfield, Indiana: and une that has now departed this life. Both Mr. 
and !Mrs. Gideon Smith were members of the Methodist church and lived 
earnest, consistent Christian lives. Her death occurred in Hobart. Indiana, 
about 1880. when she was thirt_\-nine years of age. and Air. Gideon Smith 
passed away in December, 1902. in East Chicago, at the age of eighty-two 



270 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

years. Mr. and Mrs. Gideon Smith were the parents of six children, three 
sons and three daughters, of whom five are now Hving: Eva, the wife of 
Henvv Hanson, of Chicago: Clarence C, who is living in East Chicago; 
Flora, the wife of George Green, also of East Chicago: Simeon, who makes 
his home in Hammond. Indiana: and Alice, the wife of S. G. Carley, of 
Hammond. 

Clarence C. Smith was reared in the usual manner of farmer lads, partly 
■spending his boyhood days on the old homestead place west of Deep River. 
As soon as old enough to handle the plow he took his place in the fields and 
assisted in their cultivation from the time of early spring planting until 
crops were harvested in the late autumn. His education was acquired in the 
district schools, which he attended mostly through the winter months. When 
he was quite young his parents removed to Jasper county, where he remained 
until he was nine years of age, when he returned to Lake county and lived 
with his grandfather until he started out upon an independent business 
career. He was first employed as a farm-hand by the month and continued 
thus to serve until twenty-one years of age. At that time 'le took up the 
study of telegraphy, and in 1885 entered the employ of the Pennsylvania 
Railroad Company, working as telegraph operator until 1888. In that year 
he came to East Chicago as assistant station agent, and in March, 1889, he 
was appointed agent at Hammond, Indiana. On the 27th of January, 1891, 
he was appointed agent at East Chicago and served in that capacity until the 
29th of December, 1903, \\hen he resigned in order to engage in business for 
himself. He then joined the Clapper Brothers in forming the present firm 
of Smith & Clapper Brothers, liverymen, of East Chicago. They have a 
well equipped barn and do a good business, which is constantly increasing. 
Mr. Smith is also agent for the East Chicago Company, a real estate firm 
which is developing one of the good sections of the city, and he also owns 
three valuable properties there, his home being located at 4414 Magoun 
avenue. In March, 1904, Mr. Smith was appointed agent for the United 
States Express Company at East Chicago. 

On the 2 1 St of May. 1893, Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss 
Maude Holmes, a daughter of Milton D. and Helen (Turner) Holmes. 
Four children have been born of this union: Leonard C. (deceased), Beulah, 
Irene and Rolland. Both Mr. and Mrs. Smith hold membership in the Con- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 271 

gregational church and take an active part in its work and contribute liber- 
ally to its support. He is now serving as a member of the board of church 
trustees. He is also deeply interested in the cause of education and is serving 
his second term as treasurer of the city school board. Politically he is a 
Republican, and is a progressive and public-spirited man and takes an active 
and helpful interest in every movement that he believes will contribute to the 
general progress and improvement. 

CHARLES C. BOTHWELL. 

Charles C. Bothwell, stock farmer, buyer and shipper, of Section 5, 
Ross township, has spent his life of successful effort in Lake county, and is 
numbered among the highly esteemed and prosperous citizens of the county. 
He has given the best in him to his life work, which occounts for the results 
he has gained, but he has also perforrned his share of public duties and 
responsibilities as a friend and neighbor and a citizen of the community. 

Mr. Bothwell was born in Ross township, Lake county, June 11, 1852, 
being a son of John A. and Nancy (Button) Bothwell, the former a native 
of Vermont and the latter of New York. His father came to Lake county in 
1839, thus being one of the earliest settlers, and located first in St. John's 
township, later in Ross township, and for about five years lived in Porter 
county, after which he returned to Lake county and lived here till hi? death, 
at the advanced and venerable age of eighty-three years. He followed farm- 
ing all his life. He and his wife are both buried in Ross township. They 
were the parents of eight children, of whom Charles was the third. 

Mr. C. C. Bothwell was reared in Ross township with the exception of 
the five years spent in Porter county, and he finished the education begun in 
the common schools at the Crown Point high school. As soon as his school 
days were ended he engaged in farming and the buying and shipping of 
cattle, which he has made the chief lines of his pursuit ever since. He has a 
farm of two hundred and eighty-three acres with excellent improvements, 
and besides the large crops of hay and grain, he keeps and feeds a large 
number of cattle and hogs. He also carries on a considerable dairy business. 

Mr. Bothwell is one of the influential Republicans of his township. He 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He was married, October 
26, 1884, to Miss Anettie Stone, who was born in Elkhart, Indiana, Sep- 



27-i HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

tember i6, 1857-. They have had five children: Cora; Walter; Charles 
Benjamin; Lillie May; and Lottie, who died in infancy. Mrs. Bothwell 
was reared and educated in Elkhart, Indiana, and she was educated in the 
common schools and then a course in the Elkhart high school, after which 
she obtained her teacher's certificate, having attended the Valparaiso Normal 
and taken the teachers' course. She taught five terms in Lake and Porter 
counties. Her father was a native of Vermont and was reared as an 
agriculturist. He was well educated. He was a Republican in politics. 
He died at the age of seventy-five years in Elkhart. Mother Stone was 
reared in Vermont and she died in Elkhart county, aged about forty years. 
There are four of the Stone family yet living: Benjamin Stone, a resident of 
Elkhart county; Amanda, widow of Richard Berritt, of Hartline, Wash- 
ington ; Hubert Stone, a resident of Elkhart ; and Mrs. Bothwell. The 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Bothwell have received good educational training. 
Cora received her diploma in the class of 1903, and she was a student at the 
Valparaiso Normal School. She has taken music and also elocution. 
Walter is in the fourth grade, Benjamin is in the eighth grade of the public 
schools. He is a gifted penman and he is taking up the art of photography. 
He also takes music. Lillie May is in the sixth grade, and has taken music. 

JACOB RIMBACH. 

Jacob Rimbach, a prominent retired citizen of Hammond residing at 
78 West Sibley street, has been a resident in the vicinity of Hammond for a 
longer period perhaps than any other present inhabitant of the city. In 
fact, when he first came here, a half century ago, no town was here, and the 
name and the town did not come into existence until nearly a quarter of a 
century later. He has lived a life of industry, good business management 
and foresight, and high and noble integrity, and is esteemed at the present 
not only because he is one of the largest property owners of the city, but 
also because of his own personal worth and character and for the part he has 
played in advancing the progress and welfare of his adopted city. What he 
has accumulated in the way of worldly wealth has been done so by diligence 
and sagacity in investment, and he deserves the credit of having achieved his 
own success and of being a self-made man. 

Mr. Rimbach was born in the province of Eisenach, Germany, December 




y-iod^ (Jlj(/m£3L/!jL, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 273 

3, 1832, being one of two sons and the only one now living born to Christopher 
and Elizabeth (Hassar) Rimbacli. His mother's father lived and died in 
Germany, and his history is lost in consequence of his having died when his 
children were small. Christopher Rimbach's parents were Jacob and Chris- 
tina Rimbach, both of whom died in Germany, and they had one son and two 
daughters. Christopher Rimbach was a shoemaker by trade, and died in 
Germany about 1835. .His wife survived him till 1893, and was about 
seventy-two years old at the time of her death. They were Lutherans. She 
was married a second time, her husband being Frederick Schroeder, and 
their two daughters are now both deceased. 

Mr. Jacob Rimbach was reared in the land of his forefathers, receiving 
a common school education. He had a farm training, and knew the value 
of honest endeavor long before he came to this country. In 1854 he accom- 
panied his mother to America and settled on the present site of Hammond, 
before the town had been started. He and his brother Frederick began work 
on the Michigan Central Railroad, which road had been built through the 
county only three years before. Two years later he was made foreman of a 
section, and continued in the employ of that company for twenty-four years, 
filling the position of foreman for twenty-two. After -leaving the service of 
tlie railroad he started the M. M. Towle lumber yard in Hammond, being 
its manager for two years. He owned ten acres of land within the present 
confines of Hammond, and when he quit the lumber business he devoted his 
time to flower gardening. He divided his land into town lots and gradually 
sold them off, and also built a number of cottages on them. He now owns, 
in addition to his good home at 78 West Sibley street, a block of business 
buildings, including the Lion Store building, and also about fifteen tenant 
cottages. He is now living retired in the main, being occupied only by the 
oversight of his extensive property interests. 

In 1858 Mr. Rimbach married Miss Mary Hillman, and they have four 
daughters: Emma, who married Morris Champaign, and has two daughters. 
May and Emma; Henrietta, who married Fred Champaign, and has two 
children, Mvrtle and Fred ; Francisca, who married Frank Hanson, and has 
two children. Jacob and May; and Louise, who wedded Otto Marback, and 
has a daughter, Anna. Mrs. Rimbach's parents, August and Christina 
(Feidel) Hillman, were natives of Germany and came to America in Decem- 



274 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ber, 1854, settling at New Buffalo, Michigan. Her father followed various 
occupations. He died in Chicago in January, 1898, at the age of eighty-four 
years, followed in death a week later by his wife, at the age of eighty-one. 
They were both Lutherans in religion. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren : Mrs. Mary Rimbach ; Caroline, deceased, who was the wife of Andrew 
Burman; Sophia, the wife of Adolph Foin, of Los Angeles, California; and 
August, of Hammond. 

Mr. and Mrs. Rimbach are members of the Lutheran church. At the 
time of the Civil war he paid fourteen hundred dollars for a substitute in the 
army. He is a stanch Republican in politics, and is a member of the county 

council. 

HENRY SCHRAGE. 

Honored and respected by all, there is no resident of Whiting who occu- 
pies a more enviable position in public regard than does Henry Schrage, the 
president of the Whiting Bank and one of the early settlers of Lake county. 
His position of influence is not due alone to his success, but is the result of 
the honorable, straightforward business policy he has ever followed, his entire 
career being such as will bear the closest investigation and scrutiny. More- 
over, he is an active factor in public life and one whose influence has been 
exerted toward general progress, reform and improvement. 

Mr. Schrage is a native of Germany, his birth having occurred in 
Auhgen, Hessen, on the 21st of January, 1844. The first ten years of his 
life were spent in the fatherland, and he then came to America with his 
parents, Chris and Fredericka Schrage, who on crossing the Atlantic took 
up their abode in Chicago, whence they removed to Lake county in October, 
1854. The subject of this review was reared where the town of Whiting 
now stands. He attended the public schools of Chicago and remained at 
home until about twenty years of age, when in response to the call of his 
adopted country he enlisted in 1863 as a member of Company K, Thirteenth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, as a private. He thus served until the close of 
the war and did active duty with his regiment, which was assigned to the 
Seventeenth Army Corps under the command of General Sherman. When 
hostilities had ceased and his aid was no longer needed to defend the Union, 
the preservation of which was an established fact, he received an honorable 
-discharge, in July, 1865. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 275 

Mr. Schrage "then returned to Wliiting and entered tlie railroad service 
as a section hand, being- thus employed until 1868. The following year he 
engaged in business on his own account, opening a small general store, which 
he continued to conduct with fair success until about 1890. He then retired 
from active business and enjoyed a brief period of rest, but in 1895 he 
opened the Whiting Bank, a private banking institution. He also owns the 
East Chicago Bank, which he purchased in 1902. and he is therefore well 
known in financial circles in Lake county. These institutions have become 
recognized as strong financial concerns, and he is now conducting a large 
and prosperous banking business. He is at the same time a representative of 
that class of American citizens v\ho, while promoting individual success. 
also advance the general welfare and prosperity. As his financial resources 
have increased he has made judicious investments in real estate, and he now 
owns much property in Whiting, in East Chicago, Hammond, South Chicago 
and in the city of Chicago. He has been identified in large measure with 
the upbuilding of Lake county, few men having contributed in greater degree 
to the substantial progress and upbuilding of his section of the state, in which 
he has spent the greater part of his life. 

Mr. Schrage was united in marriage to Miss Caroline Wustenfelt. who 
was born in the province of Hessen, Germany. This marriage was cele- 
brated in 1868, and has been blessed with six children: Harry C, who is 
cashier of the Whiting Bank; Mary, the wife of August Tresen; William C, 
who is cashier of the East Chicago Bank; Herman; Sophia C, at home; and 
^Valter E.. who is employed in the bank in Whiting. The family is well 
known in that city and its members are prominent in local circles there. In 
the front rank of the columns which have advanced civilization and improve- 
ment in this portion of Lake county stands Mr. Schrage, and has been among 
those who have led the way to the substantial development and progress of 
Whiting, being particularly active in the growth of the city, in which he 
still makes his home. His memory goes back to the time when this was an 
undeveloped region, but when the town was founded he had the business 
foresight to recognize possibilities here and to utilize them for the benefit of 
the public as well as his individual interests. As a business man he has been 
conspicuous among his associates not only for his success, but for his probity, 
fairness and honorable methods. In everything he has been eminently prac- 



276 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

tical. and this has been manifested not only in his business undertakings, but 
also in social and private life. 

JOHN E. LUTHER. 

John E. Luther, who has been a resident of Lake county since seven 
years of age and has a wide acquaintance within its borders, the vice-presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Crown Point, is a veteran of the Civil war 
•and a citizen whose active co-operation in public afifairs has led to substantial 
improvement in northwestern Indiana. He is a native son of this state, his 
birth having occurred in Porter county three miles from Valparaiso on the 
22d of November, 1840. His paternal grandfather was James Luther. 

His father, James H. Luther, was born in Chazy, New York, in 18 14, 
and when eighteen years of age went to the west. A year later he became a 
resident of Porter county, Indiana, where he followed farming until 1849. 
In that year he arrived in Lake county, locating at Crown Point, and he 
carried on agricultural pursuits on a tract of land that embraces the site of 
the two railroad depots and the public-school building of this city. He was 
honored with public office, being chosen county auditor for two terms or 
eight years. He carried on merchandising from 1855 until 1859 as a mem- 
ber of the firm of Luther, Holton & Company, and the firm then became 
Luther & Farley, while subsequently John G. Hoffman succeeded the firm of 
Luther & Farley. Prominent and influential, his efforts in behalf of his com- 
munity were efifective, and he was recognized as one of the leading men of 
Lake county. His aid in behalf of general progress was never sought in vain, 
but was given with a cheerfulness that made his work of much value in public 
affairs. He was a Whig until the dissolution of the party, when he became 
a stanch Republican and continued to march under the banners of that party 
until his demise. During the period of the Civil war all of the money that 
came to the county from the government was given to him for distribution 
among the families of the soldiers. He was reared in the Presbyterian doc- 
trine, but for many years was a spiritualist. He died at the advanced age of 
seventy-nine years and five days. His wife, who bore the maiden name of 
Phoebe Ann Flint, was a native of Vermont and lived to be alxjut twenty- 
seven years of age. They were the parents of four sons, all of whom reached 
manhood, namely: John E., Amos O., Albert W. and Henry E. 





^, (Y^^^^^C^:^^ 



HISTORY OI' LAKE COUXTY. 277 

Jolin E. Lutlier. tlie eldest smi, is now the r.nly li\ing- representative of 
the family. He was but eight years of age when he came to Lake county, 
and here he attended the district schools, his first teacher being Martin Wood. 
\\'hen about nine years of age he went to Valparaiso, where he worked for 
five years in the printing oftice with his uncle, Judge W. C. Talcott. On the 
expiration of that period he came to Crown Point, and later he went to Min- 
nesota with a drove of cattle, walking all the way. He was eleven weeks on 
the road, receiving ten dollars for the trip. Mr. Luther remained in Minne- 
sota for about two years, driving a stage for a year and a half and during 
the remainder of the time working in a livery stable. On the e.xi)iration of 
that period he returned to Crown Point and accepted a clerkship in a store 
owned by John G. Hofifman. When a little more than a year had passed he 
offered his services to the governn:ent, enlisting A])ril 19, 1861, under ^Lu-k 
L. Demotte, l>eing the first man to enlist from Cnnvn Point. He became a 
member of Company B, Twentieth Indiana Vohmteer Infantry, and after 
serving for two years as a private he was commissioned first lieutenant and 
adjutant, continuing in that rank until October 10, 1864, when he was mus- 
tered out as a supernumerary officer. He took part in twenty-seven imix)rtant 
engagements and was three times wounded, but he has ne\er appliec' for a 
pension. He was mustered out because of the consolidation of the Seventh. 
Fourteenth and Nineteenth regiments with the Twentieth Indiana Regiment, 
and as all of the officers could not be retained in their rank Mr. Lutlier was 
among those who was retired, for he had already ser\ed for three years and 
a half. He is life president of his regimental association. 

In November, 1864, Mr. Luther returned to Crown Point, and on the 
28th of December following he was united in marriage to Miss Addic Wells, 
a daughter of Henry Wells. She was 1x)rn in Crown Point, was educated in 
the public schools there and was well known in the city. Her death occurred 
August 25, 1875. at Indianapolis, and she left one son, Harry W., who died 
in San Francisco of blood poisoning, July 15, 1896. 

In 1868 Mr. Luther entered the employ of the McCormick Reaper Com- 
pany and went to Galesburg, Illinois, where he remained through that season. 
He afterward continued with the company as bookkeeper and traveling sales- 
man until 1879, when he removed from Indianapolis to Troy, Ohio, where 
he was engaged as bookkeeper for the firm of Beadle & Kelly. He spent 



278 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

several years in Ohio, and in 1882 went to California, where he remained 
for one year, and since 1886 he has resided continuously in Crown Point. 
He has heen vice-president of the First National Bank since 1900 and is one 
of the oldest stockholders of that institution. He also owns a farm of about 
three hundred and twenty-five acres and has valuable city property. He is 
now living retired from active business, giving supervision merely to his 
invested interests. 

Mr. Luther is a member of John Wheeler Post No. 161, G. A. R., of 
which he is a past commander. He is also a member of the Union Veteran 
Legion, Encampment No. 84, of Indianapolis. He did his duty to his coun- 
try willingly and with marked loyalty because of his love for the Union, and 
he does not ask to be reimbursed for the sacrifice which he made in behalf of 
the stars and stripes. In politics he has been a life-long Republican. He 
certainly deserves great credit for what he has accomplished, as he started 
out in life in early boyhood without capital. As a business man he has been 
conspicuous among his associates not only for his success but for his probity, 
fairness and honorable methods. In everything he has been eminently prac- 
tical, has discharged every public duty with ability and fairness. 

WILLIAM F. BRIDGE. 

William F. Bridge, city engineer of Hammond and county surveyor of 
Lake county, has lived in Hammond since 1890 and is a proficient member of 
the civil engineering profession and is popular in both business and social 
circles. 

Mr. Bridge was born at Delphi, Indiana, April 11, 1864, being the only 
son and child of Jacob C. and Emma. (Witherow) Bridge, both natives of 
Indiana. His paternal grandfather, John Bridge, was a native of Ohio, was 
a farmer there, and afterwards came to Carroll county, Indiana, at an early 
day, where he bought land of the government and improved it and added to 
his property until he had a large estate of five hundred acres. He was of 
Scotch descent. He died in Carroll county when about seventy years old. 
His wife, Rosanna Carr by maiden name, died at about the same age, and 
they had two children. Mr. Bridge's maternal grandfather, James Witherow. 
married a Miss Filson, and they were early settlers of Carroll county. He 
was an elder in tlie Presbyterian church, and died in middle age, having had 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 279 

four children. Jacob C. Bridge was a bookkeeper for many years. He lived 
in Delphi, Indiana, until 1886, was then in Colorado for four years, and 
since then he and his wife have been residents in Hammond. His wife 
is a member of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. William F. Bridge was reared at Delphi, Indiana, graduating from 
the high school there in 1884, and later took a special course in Wabash 
College. He then took up the study of civil engineering, and has followed 
that profession ever since, having gained a most creditable position in its 
ranks. He spent the years from 1886 to 1890 in Colorado, and since then 
has been a resident of Hammond. He was elected city engineer of Ham- 
mond in 1893, ^"<^' with the exception of four years, has been in that office 
since. He was elected county surveyor of Lake county in 1902, and assumed 
the duties of that office in January, 1903. He has given entire satisfaction 
in both offices. In the spring of 1904 Mr. Bridge was nominated for a 
second time as surveyor of Lake county. 

Mr. Bridge is a member of the Presbyterian church, and his wife is a 
Baptist. He affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., with Ham- 
mond Chapter, R. A. M., and with Hammond Commandery, K. T., and is 
also a member of the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He belongs to the Sigma Chi college fraternity. In politics 
he is a Republican, and is city chairman of the Republican committee. 

December 23, 1885, Mr. Bridge married Miss Lillian Sharrer, a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Wilbur and Catharine (Moore) Sharrer. Four children were 
born of this union, Edgar, Grace, Norman and Helen. Mrs. Lillian Bridge 
died in January, 1900. She was a member of the Presbyterian church. On 
August 19, 1903, Mr. Bridge married Miss Bertha C. Watkins, a daughter 
of Rev. W. G. and Ruth (Evans) Watkins, the former a native of Wales 
and the latter of Pennsylvania. 

Mrs. Bridge's paternal grandfather, William Watkins, was a native of 
Wales, whence he came to the United States and settled in Pennsylvania. 
He was a Baptist minister, and died in middle life. His wife was named 
Mary. The maternal grandparents of Mrs. Bridge were Robert and Susan 
(Todd) Evans; the former was a son of David Evans and was a native of 
Wales, and died when a young man ; the latter lived to ah advanced age, and 
was the mother of four children. Mrs. Bridge's father waS a Baptist minis- 



280 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ter, a graduate of Bucknell University, of which she is also a graduate, and 
he now Hves in" Scranton, Pennsylvania, in which state he has done most 
of his ministerial work. He has always been in public life, and for a num- 
ber of years taught music. He and his wife were the parents of six children, 
one son and five daughters: Bertha C. (Mrs. Bridge), Susie, Lillian, Ethel, 

Earl and Ruth. 

HENRY CHESTER. 

Henry Chester, of section 17, Ross township, is one of the well known 
old settlers and prominent agriculturists of Lake county, having spent over a 
half century in his one township. He spent his youthful days among the 
rather crude and primitive conditions of that time, and has ever since been 
identified with the progress and advancement that have raised Lake county 
from an unprofitable wilderness to one of the banner sections of the state. 
He recalls many of the interesting experiences of that early day. His oppor- 
tunities for literary accomplishment were meager, and as he had to work 
during the daylight hours he did his reading by the light of a rag dipped in 
a saucer of grease or by the flickering firelight of the old-fashioned hearth 
and chimney. And when he clad himself in his best and went forth to attend 
one of the balls of the countryside, he and his best girl rode in a wagon drawn 
by an ox team. From this primitive conveyance to the modern automobile 
graphically represents the progress of Lake county and the world in general 
since Mr. Chester was a carefree boy on his father's Lake county farm. 

Mr. Chester was boi'n in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, October 15, 
1834. His grandfather, John Chester, was a native of England, whence he 
came at an early day to Pennsylvania, and for seven years fought in the ranks 
of the patriots in the Revolutionary war, becoming an officer in the Con- 
tinental army. He saw and talked with General Washington and was a 
prominent man. His son Charles, father of Henry, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, and came out to Lake county, Indiana, as a pioneer in 1847, living 
here until his death in 1874. He married Mary E. Price, a native of Penn- 
sylvania and of German descent, and they were tlie parents of two daughters 
and one son that reachetl maturity. 

Mr. Henry Chester was about twelve years old when he came to Lake 
county with his parents, and his subsequent rearing and early training was 
in Ross township, where, indeed, he has spent the rest of his life. When the 




qJUcu^ ^-i^Aiji^AX\ 




"Hjyn^^ Cy^M2M\ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 281 

war came on he enlisted on September lo, 1861, in Company G, Ninth IIH- 
nois Cavalry, and served until his honorable discharge, October 31, 1865, 
after giving four years and three months of his youth and strength to the 
defense of the Union cause. From choice he remained a private through all 
this time. He was in many battles in Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, and 
the various campaigns of the middle west. He returned home to engage in 
the farming pursuits which have ever since employed him so profitably. He 
operates over a thousand acres of as fine land as lies in Lake county, and his 
agricultural enterprises mark him as one of the most progressive and success- 
ful farmers of his vicinity. He has also taken part in local affairs, and is 
well known throughout the county as a representative and public-spirited 
citizen. 

Mr. Chester was first married, in 1859, to Miss Harriet Perry, who was 
born in Porter county, Lidiana, a daughter of E^ekiel Perry. They had one 
child, Mary, wife of Henry Merchant. Mr. Chester's second wife was Har- 
riet L. Hanks, of New York state, and at her death she left five children: 
Ella, wife of Charles Olson; Lovisa, wife of Charles Nelson; Carrie, wife of 
William Raschka, a merchant of Ainsworth, Indiana; and Charles E. and 
James H. Mr. Chester married for his present wife Mary E. Baird, and they 
have three children : Jerome, John and Daisy. The children have received 
good and practical educations, and Miss Daisy has taken instruction in music. 
Mrs. Chester was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, November 
8, 1854, being the eldest of the ten children, four sons and six daughters. 
born to Samuel and Jane (Oakes) Baird. When she was a girl of twelve 
years her parents moved west to Bureau county, Illinois, where she com- 
pleted the education begun in her native state. 

Mr. Chester is a member of Earl Lodge No. ^;^^, I. O. O. P., at Hohart, 
and his wife belongs to the Rebekahs at the same place. Mr. and Mrs. 
Chester are both church members, their respective denominations bemg the 
Methodist Episcopal and the Baptist. 

From this brief review of the main facts of his career, is indicated the 
prominent position that Mr. Chester holds in his community and in L;<kc 
county. His individual enterprise and success and his strength of character 
are marked in still bolder outlines when it is remembered how he has l»cen 
the architect of his own fortunes, and is a truly self-made man. At the 



282 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

beginning of his active career he worked for wages, receiving only thirteen 
dollars a month. Yet with this seemingly scant hold on prosperity's coign 
of vantage he continued to climb higher to success, and during his useful 
career has accumulated a large estate and made his life a factor for good 
throughout Lake county. 

ANDREW KAMMER. 

Andrew Kammer, postmaster at St. John, has been a well known man 
of afifairs in this town for a number of years. He has held his present office 
almost continuously for seventeen years, which in itself shows his popularity 
with the community and his prestige as a public-spirited and energetic 
citizen. The first few years of his life were passed in his native land of 
Germany, but he was practically reared and has been identified with Amer- 
ican institutions all his life. He has followed various lines of business, and 
during his connection with Lake county affairs has acquired property interests 
in several places. He is an influential citizen, and a hearty worker in any 
cause that he takes up and believes to be for the general welfare of the 
community. 

Mr. Kammer was born in Hesse-Darnstadt, Germany, September 2, 
1838, and at the age of eight years accompanied his parents to America, 
landing at Baltimore. He remained in that city until i860, gaining his- 
education and learning the tailor's trade. He followed that business in 
Cumberland, Maryland, until 1868, and then returned to Baltimore, where 
he continued in business for a year. In 1869 he came out to Lake county, 
Indiana, locating at St. John, and for the first six years taught school during 
the winter seasons. For ten years he was traveling in the interests of the 
Catholic V olksseitung, Baltimore, Maryland, and did much business for that 
paper. He was also on the road eight years as the representative of a liquor 
house. In December, 1887, he was appointed to the office of postmaster of 
St. John, and with the exception of eight months has held the office con- 
tinuously to the present time. Some years ago he built three tenant houses 
in Whiting, being one of the first to make that kind of investment in that 
town, and he still owns this property and rents it. 

May 3, i860, Mr. Kammer married Miss Katherine Wagner, who was 
born in Germany and came as a girl to America, having lived in this country 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 283 

since she was fourteen years old. Mr. and Mrs. Kammer have seven children 
living: Elizabeth; Mary; Nicholas; Michael; Theodore A., a teacher in 
the public schools of St. John ; Andrew ; and Catherine. The family are 
members of the St. John Catholic church. 

ADAM J. GERLACH. 

Adam J. Gerlach, with residence and farm on section 30, Center town- 
ship, has been identified with the most important interests of Lake county 
for over forty years. He passed part of his boyhood in this county, after 
which he was one of the popular and leading workers along educational lines 
for many years, and the latter part of his career has been devoted most suc- 
cessfully to the life insurance business and to farming, so that his years have 
been both varied in their activity and prosperous in their fruits. 

Mr. Gerlach was born at Harper's Ferry, Virginia, March 8, 1848, 
being a son of Michael and Catherine (Wirtheim) Gerlach, both natives of 
Bavaria, Germany. His father, on coming to America, located at Harper's 
Ferry, and in 1857 brought his family to Lake county, Indiana, settling in 
St. John township. He improved his first farm and also was the owner of 
two other farms, being during his lifetime one of the leading citizens. He 
taught school for some time and for many years was assessor of his township. 
He died at the age of seventy-five, and his wife in her seventy-sixth year. 
They were the parents of seven children, four sons and three daughters,- and 
all but one are living and married at the present time. 

Mr. Adam J. Gerlach, who is the third child and third son, was about 
nine years old when he came to Lake county, where he continued the educa- 
tion he had begun in Virginia. He graduated from the Crown Point high 
school, and from that time has made his own way in the world. He began 
by clerking in a store, but at the age of seventeen entered upon his career 
as school teacher, which he continued, altogether, for twenty-one years. One 
term was in Cook county, Illinois, but all the rest was in Lake county. He 
taught different branches, English and German being favorites, and he also 
made a specialty of musical instruction, both vocal and instrumental. He 
is an accomplished musician, and at the present time is organist in St. Mary's 
Catholic church at Crown Point. 

He now resides on his farm of two hundred and forty-five acres situated 



284 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

three and a half miles south of Crown Point, where he owns dne of the fine 
farmsteads of this part of the county. But he devotes most of his time to 
soliciting life insurance for the Aetna Life of Hartford, having been agent 
in this business for twenty-one years. He has written many thousands of 
dollars in this time, and his work has extended to all parts of the county. 
One of his chief industries on the farm is a large dairy, and in this connec- 
tion he has become one' of the directors of the Chicago Milk Shippers' Union, 
which comprises many thousand dairies of Lidiana, Illinois and Wisconsin. 
He is also interested in a company organizing, at Crown Point, a jelly manu- 
facturing business. About eighteen farmers of the surrounding country will 
r^iise currents for this enterprise. 

Mr. Gerlach is one of the well known Democrats of Lake county, and 
for some years served as justice of the peace. He is a member and a trustee 
of the Catholic church at Crown Point. He was married, August lo, 1874, 
to Miss Margaret Scherer, the daughter of Nicholas and Frances Scherer, 
who were among the early settlers of Lake county, where Mrs. Gerlach was 
born. Mr. and Mrs. Gerlach have had thirteen children, and all are living 
but one, who died in 1903, the others being as follows: Adam M. ; Amelia, 
wife of Theodore Stech ; George F. ; Frances; Agnes; Michael; Joseph; 
Richard ; Philip ; Susan ; Josephine ; and Lillie. Adam and Agnes graduated 
in the Crown Point public schools, and the former and George F. ate mem- 
bers of the Crown Point brass band. Mr. Gerlach, being so proficient in 
music, has given his children fine instruction in music, and at gatherings, 
assemblies and farm institutes they take a prominent part. 

JUDGE GEORGE W. JONES. 

Active in community affairs which have had important bearing upon 
public progress and improvement, Judge G. W. Jones is numbered among the 
leading and representative men of Whiting, Indiana, where he is now filling 
the office of justice of the peace. He has also been closely associated with 
educational affairs there and has done much for the upbuilding of the schools. 
In an official connection he has been largely instrumental in securing the 
attendance at school of a greater percent of pupils than had hitherto been 
enrolled. His labors have always been of a practical character, attended by 
results that are far-reaching and beneficial. 




% 




HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 285 

Judge Jones is a native of Ohio, Iiis birth having occurred in Butler 
county on the 23d of May, 1844. He is a son of Dr. Caleb H. and Beulah 
(Staggs) Jones, the former of Welsh descent and the latter of English 
lineage. His paternal grandfather, Jonas Jones, was a native of New Jersey, 
and was a civil engineer by profession. Removing westward he surveyed 
a large part of southern Ohio and was one of the promoters of pioneer devel- 
opment in that portion. of Ohio. His son, Dr. Caleb H. Jones, was also a 
native of Butler county, Ohio, prepared for the practice of medicine in early 
life and continued active in the prosecution of his profession up to the time 
of his death, which "occurred in 1848. His wife was a native of North Caro- 
lina. On her father's side she was of English lineage and on the maternal 
line her ancestry could be traced back to John Smith, whose life was saved 
by the Indian maiden Pocahontas. 

Judge Jones was the seventh in a family of nine children born to Dr. 
and Mrs. Jones. He spent his youth in the county of his nativity, and his 
early boyhood was a period of earnest and unremitting toil, for when he was 
only four years of age he was left an orphan. He earned his living during 
the greater part of the time until he had attained the age of sixteen years, 
but the elemental strength of his character was thereby developed and he be- 
came a self-reliant, courageous young man who bravely faced life's duties 
and made the most of his opportunities. In 1861 he offered his services to 
the government as a defender of the Union, enlisting in Company D, Fifth 
Regiment of Ohio Cavalry. He served for tiiree years and seven months in 
the arm.y as a private, but was promoted to the rank of sergeant. He took 
part in the battles of Shiloh, the siege of Corinth and the battle at that city, 
the siege of Vicksburg and the engagement at Lookout Mountain, where was 
displayed one of the most daring military feats of the great war. He was 
also with Sherman on the celebrated march to the sea. 

When the war was over and he was mustered out of service. Judge 
Jones returned to his native county in Ohio and there served a term of 
apprenticeship as a machinist. In 1867 he made a business trip to Europe, 
being gone about six weeks, during which time he visited Liverpool and 
other points in England, beside going to France. After his return to his 
native land he removed to Middletown, Ohio, where he remained until 1869. 
and in the fall of that year he came to Indiana, locating at Kentland. He 



286 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

afterward removed to Sheldon, Illinois, where he engaged in the manufacture 
of carriages and wagons for a short time. He next went to California, 
afterward to Australia and subsequently to Japan and China, looking for a 
location and a better country than America. He remained in Australia for 
three months and visited Hongkong, China, and Yokohama, Japan. His 
travels, however, convinced him that there was no better country on the 
face of the globe than his own United States, and upon once more reaching 
this country he located in Sheldon, Illinois, where he remained for two years. 
During that time he was married and later he went to Nebraska, settling at 
Tone Tree. There he secured a homestead claim and continued its cultiva- 
tion and development until the grasshoppers entirely destroyed his crops. He 
next returned to Iroquois, Illinois, and afterward went to Sheldon, while in 
January, 1884, he located in Hammond, Indiana, where he entered the emploj 
of the Tuthill Spring Company and the Chicago Carriage Company, being 
thus engaged until he entered the services of the Hammond Packing Com- 
pany as a machinist, filling that position until 1890, when he came to Whiting. 
Here Judge Jones entered the employ of the Standard Oil Company as a 
machinist and foreman of the compound press house, and later was sent to 
the round house in the switching department. During the last four years of 
his connection with the Standard Oil Company he had charge of the repairs 
on locomotives, and was regarded as one of the most capable and trusted 
representatives of the corporation in Whiting. 

In the meantime Mr. Jones had become recognized as a prominent and 
influential factor in public life, exerting strong influence in behalf of measures 
for the general good. In 1898 he was elected justice of the peace of Whiting 
and has served in that capacity continuously since, disLharging his duties 
in a prompt and able manner, his decisions being strictly fair and impartial. 
He was also elected city clerk of Whiting and is now filling that office. He is 
likewise engaged in the insurance business, having time to devote to these 
interests as well as his official duties. He is now vice-president of the board 
of children's guardians of Lake county, Indiana, and since taking his place 
as a member of the board he has made strenuous and effective efforts to keep 
children out of the saloons, and more children are now attending school than 
ever before in Whiting. He is the only Democrat that has been elected to 
public office in the town, and this fact is indicative of the confidence and trust 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 287 

reposed in him by his fellow citizens. He is not bitterly aggressive in politics, 
for while he believes in Democratic principles he casts his ballot indepen- 
dently at local elections where no issue is involved. Since 1867 Judge Jones 
has been an exemplary member of the Masonic fraternity and has filled all 
the chairs in the local lodge. He is also a Knight of Pythias, holds mem- 
bership relations with the Knights of the Maccabees and Colonel Robert 
Heath Post, G. A. R., of Hammond, in which he has filled all of the posi- 
tions with the exception of that of quartennaster. 

In 1870, while living in Sheldon, Illinois, Judge Jones was united in 
marriage to Miss Margaret Markley, and to them were born two sons and 
one ' daughter : Harry, who is an engineer for the Standard Oil Company; 
Guy, a switchman in the employ of the same company ; and Annie, at home. 
The Judge and his family are well known in Whiting, where they occupy an 
enviable position in social circles and have many warm friends. He has taken 
a very active and helpful part in public affairs, and in his life record has dis- 
played many commendable characteristics. His benevolent spirit has 
prompted generous assistance to the borough, and he has the reputation of 
giving more liberally than any other man in Whiting according to his means. 
No one in need seeking his aid is turned away from his door empty-handed, 
and while he does not believe in the indiscriminate giving that fosters va- 
grancy and idleness, he does everything in his power to help those who are 
willing to help themselves. Judge Jones attended school for only about ten 
months, and his knowledge has all been acquired through practical experience 
and by reading and study at night. He has made the most of his oppor- 
tunities as the years have advanced, and to-day he is a well-informed man, 
widely and favorably known throughout the community, his abilities well 
fitting him for leadership in political, business and social life. The terms 
progress and patriotism may be considered the keynotes of his character, for 
throughout his career he has labored for the improvement of every line of 
business or public interest with which he has been associated and at all times 
has been actuated by a fidelity to his country and her welfare. 



288 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

JUDGE W. C. McMAHAN. 

Judge W. C. McAIahan, in 1902 elected to his present office of circuit 
judge, has been one of the leading members of the bar at Crown Point for the 
past twenty years, and his legal talent and learning, his wholesome and 
genial personality, and his loyalty to the public welfare have been recognized 
in an extensive law practice and a large personal and party following who 
have honored him with various public offices, the last being the circuit judge- 
ship. Since taking his- seat on the bench he has fully preserved the judicial 
dignity of the office and has made a most commendable record by his ex- 
peditious yet thorough handling of the numerous cases on his docket. His 
career has been typical of those of many successful lawyers, he having entered 
upon the law after a period of experience in school teaching and having 
passed the usual novitiate of hard study and early trials in gaining recogni- 
tion from the people. His past record proves his success, and he has reached 
his present prominence at the bar and bench while in the prime of manhood, 
being a man of forty-six and with many years of useful work before him. 

Judge McMahan was born in Carroll county, Indiana, August 2, 1858, 
being of Scotch-Irish lineage. His grandfather, Robert McMahan, was an 
Indian trader, and served as aide-de-camp to General Washington. He was 
later one of the first settlers in the old town of Chillicothe, Ohio, where he 
located during the Indian wars. During the pioneer epoch of Ohio history 
and throughout the remainder of his life he was actively identified v'ith the 
development and upbuilding of that state and of Indiana. 

Judge McMahan's father is Robert McMahan, who was born in Darke 
county, Ohio, and when a small boy went with his parents to Tippecanoe 
county, Indiana, where he was reared to the occupation of farming, passing 
his youth among frontier scenes. He became a farmer of Carroll county, 
where he has devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits to the present 
time, although he is now seventy-nine years old and one of the honored 
patriarchs of his community. By his first wife he had one son. He was 
afterward married in Carroll county to Miss Martha White, who was bom 
in Ohio and is still living. Her father, Zenas White, was a native of Ohio, 
and settled in Carroll county, Indiana, in 1832. Of this second union six 
children were born, four sons and two daughters. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 289 

Judge McMaliaii. tlie elde'^t of liis brothers and sisters, was reared in 
Carroll county. Indiana, obtaining his early education in the country and 
village schools. He later attended the normal school at Ladoga, Indiana,- 
and for four years engaged in teaching school. With his ambition set for 
the profession of law, he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, 
and studied there one year. He spent another year in reading law with a 
firm in Logansport, and in 1883 was admitted to the bar at Delphi Carroll 
county, Indiana. In April of the following year he located in Crown Point 
and began the practice which he has continued with so much success during 
the last twenty years. He has almost continuously been in some oiifice de- 
manding his professional services. He was town attorney for sixteen years, 
was prosecuting attorney of the county from 1890 to 1894, and in January, 
1902, was appointed to the position of circuit judge and in the fall of the 
same year was elected to that office. He has for a number of years l^een one 
of the influential Republicans of this part of the state, and as far as his duties 
permit he takes an active part in politics. His only fraternal affiliations are 
with the Knights of Pythias. 

In 1888 Jude McMahan married Miss Irene Allman, a daughter of 

Amos and Mary (Luther) Allman. She was born in Crown Point, and by 

her marriage became the mother of three children: Claudia, Mary and 

Maurine. 

SETH L. PEARCE. 

Seth L. Pearce, of section 19, Eagle Creek township, is a life-long resi- 
dent of this fertile portion of Lake county, and has been prominently identi- 
fied with its farming and stock-raising interests during nearly all his years 
since attaining manhood. Very little time has been spent away from the 
scene of his childhood joys, and his career has been worked out to a suc- 
cessful degree of fulness among the people and in the environments that 
he has known since he first became conscious of the great world about him. 
As the head of a happy home and as a factor in the social and business life 
of his community he has borne his share of responsibilities and become 
known everywhere in his township as a man of integrity and industrious 
habits. 

Mr. Pearce was born in Eagle Creek township, Lake county, July 29, 
1854, being the eighth child and the third son of Michael arid Margaret J. 



290 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

(Dinwiddle) Pearce. His father, who was one of the pioneer settlers of 
Lake county, was horn in 1808 and died in 1861, and his mother was born 
in 1818 and died August 8, 1894. Besides Seth L., there are six children 
living : John, in whose biography on another page further details of family 
history will be found; Harriet, wife of Isaac Bryant, of Hebron, Indiana; 
Nancy Ann, wife of O. V. Servis, also written of in this volume; Mary J., 
wife of W. T. Buchanan, of Eagle Creek township; Susanna, wife of G. H. 
Stahl, of Eagle Creek township; and Thomas, on the old homestead. 

Mr. Seth L. Pearce was reared in his native township, and after attend- 
ing the local schools went to the Crown Point high school and then to 
the Northern Indiana Normal School at Valparaiso. He spent a year and 
a half in Oregon and California, but returned to his native township to 
take up the agricultural pursuits which have ever since formed his chief 
occupation and given him his livelihood. After his marriage he located 
on the farm where he still resides, consisting of one hundred and sixteen 
acres, well improved and under his capable management producing good 
general crops and stock. Mr. Pearce is a stanch Republican, and in church 
matters is a member of the United Presbyterian church at Hebron, taking a 
useful part in its work. 

March 16, 1886, Mr. Pearce married Miss Sarah G. Patterson, a native 
of Kosciusko county, Indiana, where she was born July 16, 1859, the daugh- 
ter of John and Margaret (Kirkpatrick) Patterson. Her father wAs born 
in Pennsylvania, September 15, 179Q, and died April 7, 1864, and her mother 
in Ohio, August 21, 1819, and died December 12, 1900. She is the only 
child of their marriage. She was reared and educated in her native county. 
Father Patterson was reared as an agriculturist in Pennsylvania, and edu- 
cated in the log-cabin school of "ye olden days." In his early life he was 
a Whig, and at the birth of the Republican party took up its principles. He 
came to Ohio from Pennsylvania and afterwards to Kosciusko county, In- 
diana, in 1843, ^nd there had purchased one hundred and twenty acres of 
land in Plain township. He and wife were members of the United Pres- 
byterian church. Mother Patterson was born in Clarke county, Ohio, and 
was seventeen when she became a resident of Indiana. Mrs. Pearce was 
educated in the common schools, was also a student in the Warsaw high 
school three years. She is a lady of genial, cordial bearing, and her cosy, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 291 

hospitable home is a haven for friend or stranger. Mr. and Mrs. Pearce 
have one daughter, Margaret E., born March 6, 1887, and who graduated 
from the Crown Point high school in 1904. She expects to enter a universitv 
of high rank, and take the classical course. 

JAMES MONTGOMERY HALSTED. 

James Montgomery Halsted, of section 11, Ross township, is a life- 
•long resident of Lake' count}-, and has found in agricultural pursuits the 
best employment for his energies and a means of gaining a comfortable 
livelihood and a substantial place in the world of material circumstances. 
He is a son of one of the very earliest pioneers to the county, so that the 
Halsted family has figured in the industrial and social life of Lake county 
from its earliest years to the present, and, furthermore, have always retained 
the esteem and high regard of their fellow citizens and business associates-. 

Mr. Halsted was born in Ross township, September 12, 1852. His 
father, James Halsted, was a native of Oneida county, New York, and about 
1838 came out to Lake county, Indiana, locating in a very sparsely settled 
community and playing the part of the doughty pioneer in clearing the 
ground and making way for civilization. He was a farmer all his life, and 
lived to the advanced age of eighty-seven years. He was a member of and 
helped to build the Unitarian church at Hobart. In politics he was a Demo- 
crat from the time of casting his first vote to the last. His wife was Mary 
Woodhouse, who was born and reared in New York city, a daughter of 
Edwin Woodhouse. She is still living at the age of seventy-six, and has 
been the mother of six children, four sons and two daughters, all of whom 
grew up and married, and five are living at the present writing. 

Mr. James M. Halsted is the eldest son and the second child. He was 
reared in Ross township, being educated in the public schools, and he 
remained at home and assisted his parents until his marriage, in 1877. In 
the same year he located on the farm where he has since made his home. 
This consists of one hundred and fifty-seven acres of well improved and 
highly cultivated land, and is devoted, under his skillful management, to 
general farming and stock-raising. Mr. Halsted is also interested in public 
afifairs, and in 1904 was the Democratic candidate for the ofifice of trustee of 
.Ross township. 



292 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

He married, in 1877. Miss Emma Brown, the daughter of James and 
Jane Brown. She was born in Michigan City, LaPorte county, Indiana, 
and was reared there. Mr. and Mrs. Halsted have five children: Albert, 
Ura, Roy, Mam.ie and Ethel. 

CAPTAIN C. A. FRIEDRICH. 

Captain Charles A. Friedrich is the proprietor of the Harbor Hotel at 
Indiana Harbor and is ofte of the upbuilders of the town, which has had an 
existence of but a very few years, but in this brief space of time has made 
rapid strides, enjoying a marvelous yet substantial growth. The hostelry 
of which Captain Friedrich is proprietor is the leading one of the town, and 
in addition to its conduct he is also engaged in real estate operations. 

The Captain is descended from a distinguished family of Germany, 
prominent in public life there. His grandfather Friedrich was commander 
of and had supervision over all the fortifications in central Germany, and at 
his death was buried under the monument which he had erected at Coburg, 
Germany. He married a Miss Demuth, and among their children was 
Charles E. Friedrich, the father of Captain Friedrich. He, too, was a native 
of Germany, and was in the government service throughout his entire life. 
He lived for a time in Saerbricken. He became a prominent officer, and the 
emperor voluntarily placed a medal upon his breast — the medal of the order 
of the Red Eagle. He was twice married, his first union being with Miss 
Leopoltina Miller, also a native of Germany and whose father spent his entire 
life in that country,, where he conducted a hotel. To Mr. and Mrs. C. E. 
Friedrich were born three children, who are still living: Charles A.; Emelia, 
the wife of Ernst Gross, of Rheinholz, Germany ; and Julius, of New York. 
After the death of his first wife the father married Katharina Dawald, and 
they had four sons — Ernst, Robert, Rudolph and Carl, all in Germany. 
Charles E. Friedrich died in the year 1899, at the advanced age of seventy- 
nine years, while the mother of our subject died of cholera in 1866. Both 
were consistent members of the Lutheran church. 

Captain Charles A. Friedrich was reared in the fatherland and acquired 
his education in that country. When lie had completed the high school 
course he attended college and afterward entered a sailors' school at Ham- 
burg, Germany, known as the German Seamen's School, where he pursued a 




ifX^t^^^ ^'^ S^^<^jLA^^^€^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 293 

thorough course. Subsequently lie entered the merchant marine service, 
which claimed his time and energies until 1901. His first trip to America 
was made in 1865, he landing at New York in April on the day that Presi- 
dent Lincoln was assassinated. He continued to follow the ocean until 1869, 
when he began sailing on the Great Lakes, and was captain of various ves- 
sels until 1901, when he determined to abandon the vocation which had so 
long occupied his attention, and came to Lidiana Harbor. 

Captain Friedrich was the first man who slept in his own bed in the 
town. He opened the Harbor Hotel, renting the building when it was but 
partially finished, and the first night he had sixty-six boarders. There was 
not a bedstead in the house at the time, although he had four thousand dollars' 
worth of furniture upon the way, it being almost impossible to get the furni- 
1-ure from the cars by wagon, because of the swampy and stumpy condition 
of the ground, almost making hauling impossible. As rapidly as possible, 
however, he provided for the comfort of his guests, and the Harbor Hotel 
has ever maintained the first place among the leading hostelries of the town. 
He has a good patronage and his success is assured because of the enter- 
prising methods he follows, and his earnest and untiring efforts to please 
his patrons. He is also interested in the real estate business and has handled 
considerable property here. 

The condition of Indiana Harbor at the time of the opening of the hotel, 
contrasted with its present condition, indicates the rapid growth of the town, 
which now contains a population of three thousand and is still rapidly grow- 
ing. The wise system of industrial economics which has been brought to 
bear in the de\e]opment of Indiana Harbor has challenged uniform admira- 
tion, for while there has been steady advancement in material lines there 
has been an entire absence of that inflation of values and that erratic "boom- 
ing" which have in the past proved the eventual death knell to many of the 
localities in the central west, where "mushroom towns" have one day smiled 
forth with "all modern improvements" and practically on the next have been 
shorn of their glories and of their possibilities of stable prosperity until the 
existing order of things shall have radically changed. In Indiana Harbor 
progress has been made continuously and in safe lines, and in the healthful 
growth and advancement of the town Mr. Friedrich has taken an active part. 

On the 14th of May, 1898, Captain Friedrich was united in marriage 



29-i HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

to Miss Nellie T. Burke, a daughter of John and Theressa Burke. He belongs 
to several fraternal organizations, including the Odd Fellows, the Knights of 
Pythias and the Improved Order of Red Men, and has attained the uniformed 
rank in the K. of P. He is a member of the Indiana Harbor, Columbia and 
Jackson Park Yacht clubs. Politically he is a Republican, but his attention 
has never been directed toward office-holding, as he prefers to perform his 
duties of citizenship in other ways. While on the water he had some thrilling 
experiences, and now he is living the more quiet life of a hotel proprietor, 
ably ministering to the wants of the traveling public and by his genial, oblig- 
ing manner making many friends. 

SEYMORE PATTON. 

Seymore Patton is one of the oldest citizens of Lake county, both in 
years of his age and in length of residence, and his honorable and active 
career as a farmer here for over forty-five years is one of the important 
items of the history of Center township. He came here in the strength and 
vigor of his young manhood and settled on the land which has ever since 
formed part of his homestead, and from the wild prairie and woodland he 
developed a farm whose continued cultivation has afforded him a most honor- 
able occupation and a means of livelihood, resulting in comfortable circum- 
stances for his old age and in grateful esteem and regard from all his fellow 
citizens and associates. 

Mr. Patton was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, December i8, 1828, 
a son of John and Eliza Jane (Dixon) Patton, the former a native of Butler 
county, Pennsylvania, and the latter of Ireland, whence she came to America 
at the age of fourteen. His parents were married in Butler county, Penn- 
sylvania, where his father followed the occupation of farming, but spent his 
last years in Lake county, Indiana,, where his death occurred at the age of 
sixty-four years. His mother died in this county at the age of sixty. There 
were sixteen children in the family, and all but one grew up and married 
and reared families. 

Mr. Patton, the fifth child of the family, was reared in Trumbull county, 
Ohio, and was educated in that county's public schools. He was married 
there in 1852, and in the same year he came to Indiana, for the first two years 
being located in the south part of the state, in Morgan county. In 1855 he 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 295 

came to Lake county, but two years later moved to LaPorte county, whence 
two years later he moved back to Lake county. He then bought the farm 
where he now lives, and has continued his home and habitation thereon 
during all the subsequent years. He found the place a raw prairie, but he 
has placed and replaced many improvements since the day of his arrival. 
The present home place consists of eighty acres besides fifteen acres of tim- 
.ber tract. 

In 1852 Mr. Patton married Miss Sarah Ann Beber, who was bom 
near Allentown, Pennsylvania, and died May 8, 1904. Five children were 
bom of this union of over fifty years, and four are now living: Anna M., 
the wife of Freeland Price, of Norton county, Kansas; Sarah, unmarried; 
William H., at home and performing most of the active work of the farm; 
and Vina, at home. Anna was a successful teacher in Lake county and also 
in Kansas. Mr. Patton has long been one of the Democratic voters of the 
county, and has always given his influence to the work of progress and devel- 
opment of his community. 

JAMES PATTON. 

James Patton, retired farmer of Winfield township, is a representative 
citizen of Lake county, entirely deserving of the substantial place he has 
gained in the esteem and high regard of his fellow citizens. His life of 
more than threescore and ten years has been fruitful in many ways.- From 
early years he devoted himself industriously to his duties as a farmer, and 
only within the last few years has he remitted the diligence and constant 
effort which gained him prosperity in material circumstances and influence 
in affairs of citizenship. He made his first acquaintance with Lake county 
over fifty-five years ago, and some fifteen years later returned to this fertile 
agricultural section of northern Indiana and made it the field of his 
endeavors for his subsequent active career. He is accordingly well informed 
as to the various epochs in Lake county's industrial and political history, 
and is one of the honored old-timers. 

Mr. Patton was bom in Trumbull county, Ohio, April 26, 183 1, being a 
son of John and Eliza Jane (Dixon) Patton, the former a native of Butler 
county, Pennsylvania, and the latter of Ireland, whence she came to America 
at the age of fourteen. His parents were married in Butler county, Penn- 
sylvania, where his father followed the occupation of farming, but spent 



296 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

his last years in Lake county, Indiana, where his death occurred at the age 
of sixty-five. There were sixteen children in the family, and all but one 
grew up and married and reared families. 

Mr. James Patton, the eighth of this large family, was reared in Trum- 
bull county, and during his boyhood attended a log-cabin school for several 
years, drinking in such knowledge as this primitive fountain of learning 
afforded. In 1848, when aged seventeen, he started out in life" for himself, 
comiftg to Lake county, Indiana, where he remained and gained a good 
acquaintance with the country for three years. He returned to Trumbull 
county, where he was married, and remained in his native county until 1864, 
when he went to Williams county, Ohio, and in 1868 came and took up his 
residence in Winfield township of Lake county, where he continued his suc- 
cessful farming operations until 1901, when he moved to his present resi- 
dence in the same township and resigned most of his former business cares. 
Mr. Patton has always adhered to the Democracy in his political views. 
He is .a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married, in 1858, 
Miss Mary Earl, who was bom and reared in Trumbull county, Ohio, and 
died in Lake county, April 9, 1894. There were eleven children born of 
this marriage, but six are deceased. Those living are: Euthema, the wife 
of David Booth, of Chicago; Kittie, wife of William Vansciver. of Crown 
Point; Orwillie, wife of Michael Hefron, of Chicago Heights. Illinois; Flora 
Unora, at home; and James, unmarried. 

AMOS ALLMAN. 

Amos Allman is numbered among the honored dead of Lake county, 
whose memory is yet enshrined in the hearts of many of those who enjoyed 
his friendship. His life was so straightforward, his conduct so manly and 
his actions so sincere and unaffected that he won the warm regard of all with 
whom he was associated and he left behind him an untarnished name. 

Mr. Allman was born at Alwick, in Yorkshire. England, February 17, 
1825. His parents were Major and Margaret (Haxby) Allman, wlio were 
also natives of England, and there the mother spent her entire life. She 
passed away in 1826, leaving six children, of whom Amos was the youngest. 
Four years later, in 1830, the father bade adieu to friends and native country 
and with his children sailed for the new world, at first settling in Canada. In 
1843 he became a resident of Crown Point. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 297 

Amos Allman accompanied his fatlier on the emigration to the new 
world when but five years of age and Hved in Toronto and Whitby, Canada, 
residing with his eldest sister. In 1842 when about seventeen years of age 
he entered upon an apprenticeship to the tailor's trade in Sturgis, Michigan, 
and the following year he removed to Crown Point, where he worked at his 
trade, but was soon obliged to abandon this vocation because of the partial 
failure of his eyesight. Several years later he returned to Sturgis, Michigan, 
and there embarked in merchandising, continuing in business at that place 
until 1855. In the latter year he once more came to Lake county to look 
after his father's business and with the exception of one year spent in Niles, 
Michigan, he remained continuously a resident of Crown Point from 1855 
until his death. His father had served as county recorder up to the time of 
his death in 1856 and in that year Amos Allman was elected to the position, 
which he filled for eight consecutive years, having been re-elected. He was 
also for eighteen months, beginning in 1856, deputy revenue collector at this 
port. After his retirement from office Mr. Allman turned his attention to 
the abstract and real estate business, in which he continued for a long period, 
becoming widely known in that way. He handled much valuable property, 
negotiated many important real estate transfers and did a large abstract busi- 
ness, so that his clientage in both departments brought to him a good financial 
return and as he carefully husbanded his resources he was eventually enabled 
to retire from active business life and spend his remaining days in the enjoy- 
ment of a well-earned rest. He erected a number of buildings in Crown 
Point, including his own beautiful home, and thus he contributed in sub- 
stantial "measure to the improvement of the city. 

Mr. Allman was twice married. On the 26th of November, 1857, he 
was joined in wedlock to Miss Olive Wilcox, who died on the ist of June, 
1859. On the 22d of March, i860, he was again married, his second union 
being with Miss Mary A. Luther, and they became the parents of five chil- 
dren, who survive the father, whose death occurred at his home in Crown 
Point January 14. 1897, when he was nearly seventy-three years of age. 
Mr. Allman held membership with no church, but lived a most upright, hon- 
orable life, was always temperate in his habits and generous in his support 
of religious and benevolent enterprises. Indeed his career was in many 
respects most exemplar}'. He was always deeply interested in the growth and 



298 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

progress of the city and his co-operation could always he counted upon to aid 
in the advancement of any movement which promised to be of lasting benefit 
to Crown Point. He possessed a strong love of nature and was never happier 
than when he could find time to get away from his office and spend some 
hours nearer to nature. He was a man whom to know was to respect and 
honor. Numbred among Crown Point's pioneers his entire life to his fellow 
townsmen was as an open' book which all might read. He possessed strongly 
domestic tastes and while he accomplished much in the business world and 
ratified his friendships by kindly sympathy and thoughtful consideration for 
others, his greatest depth of love was reserved for his family. 

MRS. MARY ALLMAN. 

Mrs. Mary Allman, the widow of Amos Allman, of Crown Point, whose 
sketch is given above, was born in Concord, New Hampshire, October i8, 
1832, and is a daughter of James and Irena (Ransom) Luther. Her father 
was also a native of the old Granite state and in the year 1834 he emigrated 
westward to Indiana, becoming one of the pioneer settlers of the state. He 
took up his abode in Porter county and there secured a tract of wild and unim- 
proved land, which he transformed into a good farm, carrying on agricult- 
ural pursuits on that property up to the time of his death, which occurred 
when he was in his sixty-second year. His wife survived him for some time 
and passed away in her sixty-ninth year. This worthy couple were the parents 
of ten children, seven sons and three daughters, all of whom reached years 
of maturity, but Henry, Maria, John, Amos, Caleb, Charles and Martha A. 
are all now deceased. Those still living are Martin, who makes his home in 
Colorado, and Mary A. 

Mary Luther was but two years old when brought by her parents to 
Indiana. She was reared in Porter county and after attending the common 
schools of those early days she became a student in Valparaiso. When about 
sixteen years of age she began teaching and was thus engaged until twenty 
years of age. On the 22d of March, i860, she gave her hand in marriage to 
Amos Allman, whose life record is given above. By her marriage she be- 
came the mother of two sons and three daughters: Walter L., who is repre- 
sented elsewhere in this volume; Mary I., the wife of Judge McMahan, 
whose life history is also given in this work; Claude W., who is with his 




^'Pt^^vUA Co^ Citf^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 299 

brother Walter in business: Jessie May. at honie; and Nellie L., the wife of 
J. B. Neal. of Joliet, Illinois. All were born in Crown Point. Mrs. Allman 
has spent almost her entire life in Indiana and has long been a resident of 
Crown Point. She is one of the pioneer women of this portion of the state 
and has witnessed the wonderful transformation that has occurred as Lake 
and Porter counties have emerged from frontier conditions into a high state 
of civilization. She has a wide acquaintance in northwestern Indiana and 
to-day many friends entertain for her the warmest regard. Mrs. Allman is 
a lover of flowers and among the beauties of nature she enjoys many happy 
hoi:rs. 

CARL EDWARD BAUER. 

Carl Edward Bauer, secretary of the Simplex Railway Appliance Com- 
pany at Hammond, is one of the practical and progressive business men of 
the city. As a mechanical expert and contriver he is especially proficient, 
and as such has been a valuable member of his company. He has been an 
American citizen for over twenty years, and owing to his ability he has 
been constantly engaged in useful activity and has filled a worthy niche in 
the world of industry. He is one of the highly esteemed citizens of Ham- 
mond, where he has lived for the past six years, and in both business and 
social and civic affairs his personal integrity and worth of character have 
made him a man of influence. 

Mr. Bauer was born in the village of Langenholzhausen, province of 
Lippe-Detmold, Germany, on November 5, 1857, being a son of Ferdinand 
E. and Minna (Bock) Bauer, both natives of the fatherland. His mother 
was a daughter of Christian Bock, who was a farmer and brewer and also 
ran a bakery at Varenholz, in the province of Lippe-Detmold. He had an inn 
in that place, and was a prominent burger of the town, serving as its mayor. 
He died at the age of fifty-five years, and his wife survived him a number 
of years. They had three children. 

The paternal grandfather of Mr. Bauer was Frederick E. Bauer, who 
was a German miller, and was also mayor of his home village. He lived 
to be about seventy years of age. His wife, who attained the age of seventy- 
six, was named Wilhelmina Mello, whose father was a Hollander and later 
a German settler. 

Ferdinand E. Bauer was one of a good-sized family. He followed in 



300 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the footsteps of his father and made niihing his occupation until veiy 
recently. He is now living retired at the advanced age of eighty-seven 
years, being one of those sturdy Teutons who never grow old and who retain 
their vitality to the last. He resides in his old home at Langenholzhausen. 
He is still able to read without glasses. He has been a prominent man in 
his community, having been mayor of the village a number of times, and 
also a deputy to the provincial diet. In his younger days he traveled all 
over Europe, and is a well-informed and most intelligent old gentleman. 
His wife is also living, and well and hearty at the age ot "e igh t y - three, "fliey 
belong to the Reformed church. They were the parents of four sons and 
two daughters: Leopold; August; Johanna, wife of Rev. Koriif; Emil; 
Carl E. ; and Helen, who died at the age of six years. 

Mr. Carl E. Bauer was reared and educated in Germany, and served 
his full time in the cavalry branch of the regular army, being a non-com- 
missioned officer during his service, and at the time of his departure from 
the coimtry he was a lieutenant of the army reserve. His education was 
received in the gymnasium and his technical training at the polytechnic 
school, so that he had the thorough and careful German equipment for life's 
duties. 

He came to America in 1882, locating first at Terre Haute, Indiana, 
where he was in the employ of the Terre Haute Car Manufacturing Com- 
pany as a mechanical engineer. He was there until 1887, and then took a 
similar position at Muskegon, Michigan, with the Muskegon Car Company, 
with whom he remained until 1892. From that time until 1895 he was in 
the employ of the Indiana Car and Foundry Company at Indianapolis, and 
for the following two years was with the Illinois Car and Equipment Com- 
pany. In 1897 he began his connection with the Simplex Railway Appliance 
Company, which in the following year located its shops at Hammond. He 
is now secretary of the company. From three to four hundred persons are 
employed by this concern, and their large annual product consists of various 
kinds of car and railway appliances. 

Mr. Bauer has fraternal affiliations with Hegewisch Lodge No. 766, 
I. O. O. F., and also with Crystal Lodge No. 258, K. of P. His politics 
are Republican. He iias a nice home on Hohnian street, and he and his 
family stand high- in the social circles of the city. He was married in April, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 301 

1887, to Miss Olga Witlenberg, a daughter of Otto and Charlotte (Sachs) 
Wittenberg. There were four sons and two daugliters born of their union : 
Walter; Gretchen: Carl; Minnie, who died at the age of six years; Ernest, 
who li\ed only a little over a year; and Emil. 

NATHAN B. MEEKER. 

Nathan B. Meeker, who has been a well-known and prosperous fanner 
of Center township on the old Meeker homestead for over a quarter of a 
century, is a member of an influential and long established family of Lake 
county, his brothers, J. Frank and Charles H., being worthy and successful 
representatives of the professional and business life of the county as he him- 
self is of the agricultural interests. He has devoted his best efforts and 
endeavors to farming since arriving at years of manhood, and these thirty 
odd years have been prosperous from a material and individual standpoint 
and of eminent usefulness to the social and industrial development and 
progress of the community in general. 

Mr. Meeker was born in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, November 4, 
1850, being the eldest son of Sherman B. and Elizabeth (Gress) Meeker, 
whose history is further detailed in the sketches of their above mentioned 
sons, to be found on other pages of this work. 

Mr. Meeker, when four years old. was brought from his native place to 
Illinois, about a year later to Calhoun county. Michigan, at the age of nine 
to White county. Indiana, and thence to Carroll county, and in 1865 to Lake 
county, where his home has been ever since. He was educated in the public 
schools of the last three mentioned counties, and was reared to farm life 
and remained at home assisting his parents until his marriage in 1873. 

Mr. Meeker married, April 29, 1873, Miss Isadore Craft, and they 
have one son, Thomas C, who is studying in the pharmacy department of 
the Northern Indiana Normal at Valparaiso. Mrs. Meeker was torn in 
Ohio, April 23, 185 1, and came with her parents, Thomas and Lucinda 
(Forsha) Craft, to Lake county when she was about two years old, and she 
was reared and educated at Orchard Grove, Cedar Creek township. There 
were twelve children in the Craft family, seven sons and five daughters, and 
there are seven now living: Morgan, who is married and is engaged in the 
furniture and undertaking business in Monon, White county, this state; 



302 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Cassander, wlio is married and is a farmer at Momence, Kankakee county, 
Illinois : Mrs. Meeker ; James, a farmer of Lake county ; Jennie, who was a 
Lake county teacher and is now the wife of George Norton, a farmer of 
Lake county ; Adelbert, who is married and is farming at Lowell ; and Elza, 
a farmer in this county. 

Mr. and Mrs. Meeker began their married life as renters in Kankakee 
county, Illinois. They located in Center township in 1878, on the homestead 
■farm of one hundred and sixty acres, where they have resided ever since 
and conducted a farming and stock-raising business. They are citizens of 
high standing socially and personally, and are held in high esteem throughout 
their home township. 

Mr. Meeker has been a life-long Republican and first voted for General 
Grant. He and his wife are members of the Grange, and he has fraternal 
affiliations with the Knights of the Maccabees at Crown Point. 

Mrs. Meeker's parents are both deceased, and the following paragraphs, 
taken from the local press, give the details of their useful and well-spent lives 
and add to the completeness of this biography : 

"Thomas Craft, the subject of this week's half-tone illustration, is now 
a resident of Lowell, where he moved a short time ago to spend his remain- 
ing years. 

"He was born in Pennsylvania on July 24, 1826. At the age of five 
years he moved with his parents to Ohio, in which state he received his early 
education in a day when school facilities were not of the best and school 
hours few and far between. On arriving at manhood he first started to 
work for his father at one hundred dollars per year, but at the end of the 
first year found that this was earning money too slow, so he cleared about 
four acres of timber land and started into the cultivation of tobacco and 
made considerable money m raising and handling this product. 

"He was married November 30, 1848, to Lucinda Forsha, with whom 
he lived happily for forty 3'ears, when death claimed her in 1888. In 1854 
he moved with his family to Orchard Grove, where he first purchased one 
hundred and fifty acres of land, to which he added other purchases from time 
to time until at last his total holdings were over four hundred acres of well 
improved real estate. 

"He has eight children, all of whom with the exception of one are 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 303 

married and living upon farms, with the exception of the oldest son, Morgan, 
who is in business at Monon, Indiana. 

"He was married again in 1894. 

"He has recently sold his entu'e farm to James Black, of Momence, 
for sixty dollars per acre, the tract bringing him twenty-four thousand dol- 
lars, and a public sale of his personal property netted him two thousand 
dollars, thus leaving him sufficient means to provide for his welfare in his 
old age and enable him to live in peace and comfort." 

"Passed Away — Mrs. Lucinda (Forsha) Craft was born in Marietta, 
Monroe county, Ohio, January 16, 1830. Died at her residence in Orchard 
Grove, Indiana, January 31, 1888, aged fifty-eight years and sixteen days. 
She was married to Thomas Craft, November 30, 1848, in Fredericktown, 
Ohio. In the fall of 1854 she with her husband moved to Lake county, In- 
diana, where she lived till her death, then crossing the bright river. She 
was the mother of twelve children, three in their heavenly home, nine on earth. 
She lived happily forty years with her husband. January 25 she was taken 
very ill, and after six days of intense sufifering, she gave up life on earth for 
a brighter home above. She has passed away and left us with nothing but a 
pleasant memory. A break has been made in our hearts by that casket, open 
grave and silent mound, which can never be healed. 

"Dearest mother, thou hast left us. 
And gone to that better land; 
Would that you could have remained with us 
But the voice of God you heard. 

"Oh! mother, thou hast left us, 
To jom that heavenly band. 
Nevermore to return to your loved ones — 
Left us here, on this desolate plain." 

HEINRICH C. SCHRAGE. 

Heinrich C. Schrage is filling the position of teller in the Bank of 
Whiting and is a son of Henry Schrage, the president of the institution, 
who is mentioned on another page of this work. Heinrich C. Schrage was 
born on the 2d of July. 1869, pursued his education in the public schools 



304 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

here and in tlie Liitlieran school at Colehoiir. Illinois, where he spent one 
year. He entered upon hi? business career as a clerk in the general store 
owned by his father at Whiting, and served in that capacity until he took 
charge of the postoffice in 1892. He remained there until 1896. since which 
time he has been largely connected with banking interests. He was, how- 
ever, appointed postmaster in January, 1899, and filled that position for two 
and a half years, when he resigned in order to accept the position of teller 
m the Whiting Bank. In this capacity he is now serving, and he has thor- 
ough and practical knowledge of the banking business that has resulted 
in making him one of the strong and influential representatives of financial 
interests in Lake county. The bank has a capital and a surplus of sixty 
thousand dollars and a large business is conducted. The management of 
the institution devolves in marked measure upon Mr. Schrage. who is well 
qualified for the onerous duties. 

Mr. Schrage has spent most of his life in Whiting and is well known 
here. He is the owner of considerable real estate in Schrage avenue, having 
houses there which he rents, and these bring to him a good income. In politics 
he is a stanch Republican, and he belongs to the Lutheran church. In Whit- 
ing he is well known, and his social qualities have made him jxipular with 
a large circle of friends, and the fact that many of his stanchest friends are 
those who have known him from early boyhood is an indication that his 
salient characteristics are those which command respect, confideiKC and 
good will. 

CHARLES A. JOHNSON. 

Charles A. Johnson, nominee for county auditor and who is engaged in 
the undertaking business in Whiting and is also agent for the Adams Express 
Company, was born in Chicago, Illinois. June 5. 1866, his parents being 
Andrew M. and Margaret Johnson, lx)th of whom were natives of Sweden 
and who on emigrating to the new world established their home in Chicago. 
On the i8th of July, 1866, Andrew M. Johnson removed with his family 
from that city to Lake county, Indiana, his son Charles being then only but 
six weeks old. The boy was reared in this county, pursued his early education 
in the public schools and afterward attended Augustana College at Rock 
Island, Illinois, where he completed his school work. He then returned to 
his father's farm and for some four or five years remained with his parents. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 305 

Being the youngest of the family he assumed charge of the liome farm after 
the otliers had left and continued its management u]) tn the time of iiis mar- 
riage. He liad early been trained to hahits of industry and economy upon the 
old homestead jjlace, anti was familiar with tlie work of fieUl and meadow 
when he relieved his father of the care and labor of the farm. 

In 1888 Charles .A. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Matilda 
Wild, who died April 19, 1894. She was the mother of four children, of 
whom two are now living: Charles E. and Herljert T. On the 3d of March, 
1899, ■'^''- Johnson was again married, his second union being witli Mrs. 
Charlotte Beck, and they are now well known in Whiting, where they have 
an extensive circle of friends. 

Mr. Johnson took up his abode in this city on the 5th of March, 1892, 
and embarked in the imdertaking business He also established a livery 
stable and has continued in both lines to the present time. He holds three 
diplomas for efficiency in embalming, having attended and graduated from 
the United States School of Embalming at St. Louis, conducted by Professor 
Sullivan; the Boston School of Embalming, under Professor Dodge, and 
the Embalming School of Professor Myers at Springfield, Ohio. He has a 
well equipped undertaking establishment, carrying everything in his line, 
and he is also receiving a liberal patronage in the livery business. He is like- 
wise agent for the Adams Express Company and is thus well known in the 
business circles of Whiting. 

Mr. Johnson is quite active and influential in local political circles and 
has been chosen for a number of public offices. He served as trustee of his 
town for two years, has been president of the town board, and, March 19, 
1904. received the nomination for county auditor of Lake county on the Re- 
publican ticket. For many years Mr. Johnson has taken a leading part in 
Republican politics of Lake county, and ever since he gamed his majority he 
has earnestly supported the principles and policies of that party and without 
question has fully earned the nomination for the office of county autlitor. 
Socially he is connected with the Knights of Pythias fraternity, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and with the Knights of the Maccabees. 
Almost his entire life has been passed in Lake county, and the circle of his 
acquaintances has continually grown. By perseverance, determination and 
honorable effort he has overthrown the obstacles which barred his path to 



306 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

success, and through untiring activity has reached the goal of prosperity. He 
is recognized in his comanunity as a man of broad mind and pubhc spirit, 
and his genuine worth has won him high esteem. 

MARCUS M. TOWLE. 

Marcus M. Towle, the well-known business man of Hammond, has the 
distinction of being one of the founders of this now thriving city in extreme 
northwest Indiana. H-ammond is best known to the outside world for its 
dressed beef industries, and it is a matter of history that Mr. Towle took part 
in the establishment of the first packing house in this place, as it was one 
of the first in the country, and was one of the energetic and enterprising, 
members of the firm that sent some of the first consignments of beef abroad. 
He was not only thus active in giving birth to the city, but has since been 
vitally interested in the material development and progress of the city. 
While he has been successful in his own affairs, he has never neglected the 
welfare of his city, and with unselfish devotion to its good has participated 
in many enterprises, both in the capacity of an official and as a private citizen, 
and for that reason is regarded by his fellow citizens as one of the most 
public-spirited and progressive of men. 

Mr. Towlg was born in Danville, New Hampsliire, January 14, 1843, 
a son of Amos G. and Mary P. (Page) Towle. His grandfather, Nehemiah 
Towle, was a native New Hampshire farmer, and died when about- eighty 
years old. His wife survived him some years, and they had only one son, 
Amos G. The latter was also a native of New Hampshire, and was a mer- 
chant, first in Danville and then in Haverhill, Massachusetts, where he re- 
mained up to the time of his death, in i860, when forty-four years old. He 
was postmaster at Danville under President Taylor, having been one of the 
eight men of the town who voted for Taylor. He and his wife were both 
Universalists. His wife, Mary (Page) Towle, who survived him until 
1900, being seventy-six years of age, was a native of New Hampshire and 
a daughter of Thomas Page, who was a New Hampshire farmer, a soldier 
in the war of 1812, was the recipient of several offices in his township and 
the owner of considerable property, and lived to be a very old man, having 
been the father of several sons and daughters. Amos and Mary Towle were 
vhe parents of sixteen children, seven sons and nine daughters, nine of whom 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 3q7 

are living now : Marcus RI. ; Mrs. Mary Flanders, of Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts; Charles, of Haverhill; Porter, of Hammond, Indiana; Amos, of Ham- 
mond; Olive, of Haverhill; Mrs. Henrietta Ladd, of Haverhill; Elizabeth; 
and Clara. 

Mr. Marcus M. Towle lived in Danville until the age of twelve, and 
then moved with the family to Haverhill, in which two towns he received 
most of his education. He learned the butcher's trade, and followed it for 
many years. He was in Boston for some time, and then came to Detroit, 
Michigan, where he lived for six years, and then returned to Boston. In 
1869 he came out to where the present city of Hammond is situated, for 
there was no town there at the time. In partnership with George H. Ham- 
mond, Caleb Ives and George W. Plumer, he established the dressed Ijeef 
business, which was the real foundation of the town. He also laid out the 
town and named it in honor of Mr. Hammond. The beef business was 
started as the Hammond, Plumer & Company, and at the death of Mr. 
Plumer in 1874 the business was incorporated as the George H. Hammond 
& Company, with Mr. Hammond as president and Mr. Towle as vice-presi- 
dent. Mr. Towle continued his connection with the company until 1884. 
They originated the dressed beef business in this country, and shipped the first 
cargo of dressed beef tO' England, Mr. Towle going on the first trip and 
making arrangements in England for the handling of the product. The 
enterprise was started on a small scale, but eventually employed two thousand 
men. The firm has recently been removed to Chicago. 

On withdrawing from the meat business Mr. Towle engaged in various 
enterprises in the city. He organized the First National Bank in 1886. In 
1902-3 he built the fine new opera house known as the Towle Opera House, 
with a seating capacity of fourteen hundred persons. For the past ten years 
he has given his attention to the greenliouse and florist business, having 
now an area of twenty-five thousand square feet under glass, and carrying on 
an extensive trade in this and surrounding cities. 

December 25, 1865, Mr. Towle married Miss Irena Dow, a daughter 
of Jacob and Mrs. (Stevens) Dow. They have six children: Marcus M., 
Jr., who is a clerk in the First National Bank, and who married Miss 
Matilda Gherke; George Hammond, who is assistant manager of the opera 
iiouse; Fred Cheney, who is a locomotive engineer on the Erie Railroad; 



3US HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Annie l\Ia\- ; Birdie : and Ida ^Mai y. }.Irs. Towle is a member of the Meth- 
odist cliurch. Mr. Towle afliliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., 
and was the first master of the lodge; also with Hammond Chapter, R. A. M., 
and Hammond Commandery, K. T. In politics Mr. Towle is a Republican, 
l)ut has been interested in party affairs only so far as it would help his city. 
He was the first mayor of Hammond, serving for two terms, and was town- 
sliip trustee two terms, and has also been a delegate to several state con- 
v'enticns. He owns a beautiful residence, which he erected in 1885, and also 
lias other city property. 

HON. NICHOLS SCHERER. 

• Hon. Nichols Schcrer has for many years figured prominently in public 
affairs and business circles in northwestern Indiana, and his history is a 
notable one in that he came to this state empty-handed and in humble capacity 
entered business life. If those who claim that fortune favors certain indi- 
viduals will but examine into the life record of such men as Mr. Scherer 
they will learn tliat it is not circumstance or environment, but indefatigable 
energy and industry that form the basis of all success. Mr. Scherer, recog- 
nizing that each day held its duty and its opportunity, worked on steadily, 
performing to the best of his ability each task that came to him, and now 
after many years of residence in Indiana he is numbered among the sub- 
stantial citizens and leaders in Lake county. He makes his home at Scherer- 
ville, which was named in his honor, and of which town he is the founder 
and promoter. 

Mr. Scherer was born in Prussia, Germany, on the 29th of June, 1830, 
and came to America with his parents, John and Mary Scherer, in 1846. 
They landed a1 New York city, where they remained for about four weeks, 
and thence proceeded westward by steamer and canal boat to Chicago, and 
on to St. John township. Lake county, settling in the town of St. John. 
The father died about 1865, aged one hundred and three years and the mother 
died about 1870, aged ninety-nine years. The father died in Dyer and the 
mother died in Schererville, and both parents are interred in St. John's cem- 
etery in one grave. 

Mr. Scherer began working for tlie state of Indiana as swamp-land 
ditcher and was afterward appointed land commissioner, which position he 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 309 

held until he became ccnnected with railroad interests. He went from St. 
John to D3er in the capacity of landlord, and in tlie latter place was engaged 
in the hotel business, as well as railroading. He remained there for alxjut 
nine years, op the expiration of which period he was engaged on the con- 
struction of the Panhandle Railroad, then called the Chicago & Great East- 
ern. He was head boss on the road from Richmond, Indiana, to Chicago, 
having charge of the building and the repairing and also running all kinds of 
trains. He located at what is now Schererville in 1865, being at that time 
connected with the Great Eastern Railroad, and he remained with the com- 
pany for twelve years. 

In the meantime he purchased the land upon which. Scliererville now 
.stands, laid out the town, and it was named in his honor. He has 1)een a 
resident here for almost forty years. He was with the Pan Handle Railroad. 
Avhich is now a part of the Pennsylvania Railroad system, and during that 
time he also built a part of the Michigan Central Railroad at Union City. 
Michigan, and a part of the Eastern Illinois Railroad, of the Wabash Rail- 
rod, and the Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, also constructing what is known 
as the Joliet cutoff, now a part of the Michigan Central Railroad. At the 
same time he was engaged in the sand business, shipping sand from Scherer- 
ville. and in this he still continues. He likewise dealt in real estate, and car- 
ried on farming, and thus extending his energies to many lines of Inisiness 
activity he conducted important interests, which pro\ed to him lucrative and 
made him one of the substantial citizens of northwestern Indiana. 

Mr. Scherer has been a resident of Lake county for fifty-eight years, 
and is well known in this part of the state, his labors being of a character that 
have contributed to ihe development and improvement of the state, as well as 
to his individual prosperity. Outside of the strict path of business he has 
also proved a helpful factor in interests for the general good, and has co- 
operated in many movements which ha\e for their object the welfare of the 
general public. His political allegiance has always been given to the Democ- 
racy, and he has served as road superintendent and as constable. He was 
also swampland commissioner and for une term represented his district in 
the state legislature, where he gave loyal support to all bills which he be- 
lieved contained measures fur Ijenefit to the CMmmonwealtb. 

While residiiig in St. John Mr. Scherer was united in marriaee to Miss 



310 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

FraiK-isco I'lilenlirock.' \\1ici was lu.rii in Geniiaiiy Octnl>cr lO, 1833. They 
becnnie tlie parents of seven eliililren. l>ut mily three arc now livino- : Anna, 
the wife of Xicliolas Schaefer ; Maggie, the wife of Adam Gcrlacli. wlio is 
mentioned elsewhere in tliis \ohimc : and Teressa, tlie widow of Jacob Aust- 
gen. There are now thirty-tliree grandchildren and two great-grandchil- 
dren Mr. Scherer and his family are memhers of the St. Michael's Catho- 
lic church. No history of this community would be complete without men- 
tion of Mr. Scherer, for, coming to this section of the state at an early 
period in its development, he is now numbered among the honored pioneers, 
his mind bearing the impress of the historic annals of the county. He can 
relate many interesting incidents of those primitive times as well as of the 
later-day progress and improvement, and moreover he has played so prom- 
inent and helpful a part in the substantial upbuilding of the county that his 
name is inseparably interwoven with its history. 

DR. SAMUEL R. TURNER. 

Dr. Samuel R. Turner, a leading physician and surgeon at 107 First 
National Bank Building, Hammond, has gained a good practice and taken 
a foremost position among the medical fraternity of this city and Lake 
county since taking up his residence here alxiut three years ago. He is a 
man of ability both in his profession and in the performance of his duties 
as a man and citizen, and his career has been most creditable from his early 
years, during which he had to make his own way and earn the means for 
his professional education. 

Dr. Turner was lx)rn in Stephenson county, Illinois, near Freeport, May 
13, 1858, a son of Samuel and Jane E. (McGlashon) Turner, natives, re- 
spectively, of Trumbull county, Ohio, and of the state of Vermont. His 
paternal grandfather, Samuel Turner, was a native of Ireland, though of 
Scotch descent, and a son of a life-long Irish citizen. He came to America 
about 1797 and located near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He was a carpen- 
ter and cabinet-maker by trade. He came to Indiana about 1833 .and set- 
tled in LaPorte county, and four years later came to Lake county, where 
he settled on a land claim and to which he brought his family in 1838. He 
improved a farm, and was b(jth a jirosperous and influential citizen. He died 
there in 1846 at the age of sixty-four. His wife was Jane Dinwiddie, who 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 311 

was born in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, January i8, 1783, and died in 1870, 
aged eighty-seven years. Tliey had seven children who grew to maturity. 

Samuel Turner, the father of Dr. Turner, was a farmer by occupation, 
and was a young man at the time of his removal to Indiana in 1833. He 
followed farming there up to the breaking out of the Mexican war, and then 
enlisted and served as quartermaster in the American army. He returned 
to his Indiana farm, then moved to Illinois and lived in Stephenson county 
for a few years. In January or February of 1859 he returned to Lake county, 
and lived on a farm in Eagle Creek township from then until his death, 
which occurred April 24, 1864, when he was forty-six years old. His wife 
survived him until October, 1884, when she was fifty years old. They were 
members of the United Presbyterian church. They had two sons, Dr. Turner, 
and William M., of Denver, Colorado. Mrs. Jane E. Turner's father was 
W. G. McGlashon, a native of Canada and of Scotch parents who moved to 
Vermont from Canada. He was a tailor in his younger years, and after 
coming to Indiana among the early settlers engaged in merchandising in 
Crown Point for several years. He afterward lived on a farm near Crown 
Point. In 1876 he moved to Ottumwa, Iowa, and died there in 
1897, when eighty-one years old. His wife was Ann Duffy, a native of 
Ireland and still living. They had five children. 

Dr. Samuel R. Turner was brought to Lake county when about a year 
old, and was reared on a farm in Eagle Creek township. He attended the 
district school, and later the high school in Hebron, Porter county. For 
several years he was engaged in teaching during the winter and farming 
during the rest of the year. He then took up the study of medicine, and in 
1888 graduated from the medical department of the University of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky. He has since been engaged in practice for varying periods 
of time at Dyer, Hobart, in Lake county, in Wheatfield, Jasper county, in 
Lansing, Illinois, and about three years ago took up his residence in Ham- 
mond, where he has enjoyed an increasing practice to the present time. 

December 13, 1883, Dr. Turner married Miss Henrietta Burgess, a 
daughter of Henry and Eliza (McCay) Burgess. Six children have been 
born of this union, three sons and three daughters : Albert, who died at the 
age of two years and tliree months ; Susan E. ; Mary Edna ; Harold B. ; 
James Samuel, who died aged five years nine months ; and Wilma Jane. 



312 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Dr. Turner affiliates with Garfield Lodge Xo. 569, ¥. & A. M., and also 
with the Maccabees and the Modern ^^■oodlnc^ oi America. He is a mem- 
ber of the Lake County Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Society, 
the Kankakee Valley Medical Society and tlie American Medical Association. 
He is a stanch Republican in politics, and has served four years as county 
coroner, his term expiring January i. 1904. 

COLONEL REDMOND D. WALSH. 

Canada has furnished to the United States many bright, enterprising 
young men, who have left that country to enter the business circles of the 
United States with its more progressive methods, livelier competition and 
advancement more quickly secured. Among this number is Colonel Walsh. 
He has somewhat of the strong, rugged and persevering characteristics de- 
veloped by his earlier environments, which, coupled with the livelier impulses 
of the Celtic blood of his ancestors, made him at an early day to seek wider 
fields in which to give full scope to his ambition and industry — his dominant 
qualities. He found the opportunities he sought in the freedom and appre- 
ciation of the growing western portion of this country. Though born across 
the border he is thoroughly American in thought and feeling, and is patriotic 
and sincere in his love for the stars and stripes. His career is largely identified 
with the history of railroad building in the middle west, and in more recent 
years he has been a prominent and influential citizen of East Chicago, -where 
he is now engaged in real estate operations. 

Colonel Walsh was torn in the county of Pcterljoro, Ontario, Canada, 
and is of Irish descent. His paternal grandfather, William Walsh, was born 
on the Emerald Isle and died there at an advanced age. He married a Miss 
Murphy and they had a large family, including Richard Walsh, whose birth 
occurred in county Cork, Ireland. He was a farmer by occupation and in 
1818 he emigrated to Canada, spending his remaining days in that country 
with the exception of a brief period which was passed in the United States. 
He always engaged in the tilling of the soil, making that a source of income 
whereby he provided for his family. He served in the Patriot war in Canada 
in 1837 and died there at the age of sixty-six years. In early manhood he 
had married Elizal^eth Ford, likewise a native of county Cork, Ireland. Her 
father, Dennis Ford, was born in Ireland and died in that country at an 




^ ^'^^^^Z^lty^. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 313 

advanced age. He reared a large family upon his home farm, where his 
industry and enterprise in the cultivation of the fields brought to him a com- 
fortable living. His grandson, Ted Ford, now lives upon the old home place, 
which comprises two hundred acres of rich land and which has continuously 
been in possession of the family from the eleventh century. It was at one 
time a very extensive tract, but during the reign of Queen Elizabeth it was 
confiscated, although two hundred acres were afterward restored to the 
•family. By the marriage of Richard Walsh and Elizabeth Ford thirteen 
children were born, twelve of whom reached adult age, while six are now 
living: Colonel Redmond D. ; Richard, of the Soldiers' Home; Bridget L., 
the widow of James Haynes, of Corry, Pennsylvania ; John, who lives on the 
old homestead in Ontario; Elizabeth, the wife of James Fyfe, also of On- 
tario ; and Ann, the wife of David Kelley, of the same place. 

Colonel Walsh was reared on the old homestead farm in Canada and also 
followed lumbering in his early life. His business career has been charac- 
terized by intelligent and well-directed efforts, and he may well be called a 
self-made man, a representative of the progress and advancement which have 
been a manifest factor in the history of America in the nineteenth century. 
His success has not been the result of genius but of individual and continued 
effort. He acquired a common school education and also received instruction 
from a private teacher for some time. While in Canada he followed lum- 
bering, taking his timber to the Quebec market. He made several trips to 
the United States in search of a location which he regarded as favorable, 
and in 1862, accompanied by his wife, he went to Corry, Pennsylvania. 
There he entered upon a contract to build the Oil Creek Railroad, which he 
completed in 1862, and afterward entered the services of the Pennsylvania 
Railroad Company, assisting in the construction of its line from Franklin to 
Meadville, Pennsylvania. He was superintendent of construction and for 
some time held that position after the completion of the road. Subsequently 
he built the Allegheny Valley Railroad fromi Warren to Pittsburg, and was 
thus engaged in railroad construction work at the time the Confederate army 
made its way into Pennsylvania. He then enlisted in order to defend this 
state and after participating in the battle of Gettysburg, following which 
time tlie rebels were forced to retreat, he resumed the pursuits of private life. 

In 1865 Mr. Walsh took a prominent part in organizing the Fenian 



314 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Brotherhood. The following year he went west and was engaged as a con- 
tractor and superintendent of work on the Union Pacific Railroad, his time 
heing thus occupied until the completion of the line in 1869. In 1870 he 
entered into business relations with the Central Pacific Railroad Company, 
with which he continued for a year, after which he went to Kansas, where 
he was superintendent of the work for the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Rail- 
road. The period of his connection with that company covered three years, 
during which time the line was constructed to connect with the Houston & 
Texas Central road. He afterward became associated with the latter com- 
pany, with which he continued for three years, and then he returned to Penn- 
sylvania, where he built a coal road from Larabee to Bunker Hill. Subse- 
quently he went to the Buckeye state, where he assisted in the building of 
the Scioto Valley Railroad and later he was engaged in the construction work 
of the Springfield, Jacksonville & Pomeroy Railroad, then the St. Clairsville 
& Bellaire Railroad, and afterwards a railroad extending from! Youngstown, 
Ohio, to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Returning to Ohio he built the valley 
railroad from Canton to Cleveland, and then went to Colorado, where he 
engaged in the construction of the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad over Mar- 
shall Pass, connecting it with the Denver, Rio Grande & Western Railroad 
at Junction City. Another important contract which was awarded him and 
which he faithfully and capably executed was the building of the Alpine 
tunnel, a work which covered two years. He then embarked in mining in 
Colorado, being interested in several diggings. Returning to St. Louis he 
was associated with a partner, Michael Coffey, in the construction of the 
standard gauge road from East St. Louis to Cairo, and later he went to 
Nebraska and built the approach to the United Railroad bridge nt Rulo, 
Nebraska. There he moved more dirt than any other contractor in the same 
length -of time, three hundred thousand yards being taken away in ninety 
days. His next work was the construction of twenty miles of the Atchison, 
Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad from Galesburg west. He built the Elgin, 
Joliet & Eastern Railroad, and then came to East Chicago, Indiana, where 
he built the Chicago, Calumet & Terminal Railroad, the contract being 
awarded him by General Joseph T. Torrence, now deceased. At tiiat time 
Generfil Torrence promised to make a present of a town lot to the first child 
born in the town. Not long afterward there were born to Mr. and Mrs. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 315 

R. W. O'Brien, the former a nephew of Colonel Walsh, twin boys. It seemed 
.'.ecessarv that two lots should be given, one to each child, and General Tor- 
rence gave one lot, while Colonel Walsh gave the other. The boys are now 
young men. 

During his railroad construction work on the site of the present city of 
East Chicago Colonel Walsh became convinced of the advantages which 
might be derived from establishing a home here, and he took up his abode 
here in 1888. It was he who first used an ax in cutting down a tree on the 
present site of the city. He assisted in laying out the town, being the con- 
tractor for all the street work. He also erected ten of the first buildings of 
this city, and he has continued an active factor in the work of improvement 
and progress to the present time. 

In the year 1893 East Chicago was changed from town to a city 
government. The city council of that date made a contract with a contract- 
ing company to build water and light plants. The city council accepted the 
plants before they were half completed and issued the city bonds for the full 
amount of the contract. The water works were useless and cost more to keep 
it in repair than it was worth. Three hundred and thirty thousand dollars 
of bonds were turned over by the city council to the company. R. D. Walsh 
took the company into the courts and knocked out two hundred and ninety- 
six thousand dollars of bonds, and the supreme court of the state of Indiana 
granted a perpetual injunction against ever collecting either interest or prin- 
cipal on these two hundred and ninety-six thousand dollars of bonds. Then 
the city council sold, or rather gave the plants back to the bogus bondholders. 
R. D. Walsh again went into court and took the plants away from the bond- 
holders for the city. All this at his own expense. The plants are now in the 
city's possession. 

In 1889 the residents of the town had an election and incorporated East 
Chicago, and Colonel Walsh at that time was elected the first president of the 
town board. He has also been treasurer of the city and trustee, and he is 
a well known and representative resident of this thriving place. Perhaps no 
man is better known in the county than he, because of his great activity in 
business. By his strength of character and mental power he has acquired a 
handsome competence and by his genial social manner has won many warm 
friends. 



316 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

Colonel Walsh was married in Ontirio, Canada, to Miss Hanna Curtain. 
\vho died in 187 1. 'idiey became the parents of eight children. l)ut all have 
passed away. 

Many and eventful iMve heen the experiences which have conic to Mr. 
Walsh in the course of his acti\'e business career. While executing !iis con- 
tract in connection with tlie building of the Union Pacific Railroad he at one 
time Ijecame engaged in battle with the Indians on Rock Creek, Wyoming, 
.and sustained a gunshot wound in the instep, which forced him to go upon 
crutches for two years. He is now living a retired life in East Chicago. To 
him there has come the attainment of a distinguished position in connection 
with the great material industries of the country, especially in the line of rail- 
road construction — a work the value of which cannot be over-estimated. He 
is a man of distinct and forceful individuality, of broad mentality and mature 
judgment, and he has left an impress for good upon the industrial world. 
He earned for himself an enviable reputation as a careful man of business 
and in his dealings became known for his prompt and honorable methods, 
which win for him the deserved and unbounded confidence of his fellow men. 
For the entire length of his life he has been in sympathy with the indepen- 
dence of Ireland and has always taken an acti\'e part in all movements tend- 
ing toward lessening the oppressed sons of Erin. 

MICHAEL KOZACIK. 

Michael Kozacik is a self-made man who is now the possessor of valu- 
able property interests and who at the outset of his business career was 
empty-handed. He had no inheritance or influential friends to aid him, but 
by determined purpose and perseverance he has gradually accumulated a 
handsome competence. He is now engaged in business as a retail liquor 
dealer at Whiting. A native of Austria, he was torn on the 29th of Sep- 
tember, 1873, and was reared in his native country until more than eigh- 
teen years of age. during which period he acquired his education in attend- 
ance at the public schools. He entered upon his business ca'/eer as a day 
laborer in Austria, receiving but twenty-five cents per day. Not content 
with business conditions, howe\er, in that country, he resohcd to test the 
favorable reports which he had heard concerning opportunities in the new 
worlfl. and making arrangements to leave Europe when about eighteen years 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 317 

of age he sailed for America and came from the Atlantic coast to the 
Mississippi valley, establishing his home at Blue Island, Illinois. There he 
remained for but two months, but not succeeding in finding work there he 
removed to Whiting and entered the employ of the Knickerbocker Ice Com- 
pany. His position necessitated his working ten hours per day at a salary of 
one dollar and a quarter. Strong resolution and untiring purpose, however, 
were numbered among his salient characteristics, and he continued to work 
thixiugh the ice-cutting period. He afterward entered the employ of the 
Standard Oil Company at a salary of one dollar and a half per day, and 
continued in the service of that corporation for seven and a half years. He 
was fireman and did various other kinds of work, and during the period 
of his. service with the company he managed to save from his earnings the 
sum of thirteen hundred dollars. In the meantime he had also married 
and furnished his home. With the capital he had acquired through his labor 
and economy he invested his money in Whiting property and also established 
a small saloon in a little frame building, where he conducted a retail liquor 
business for a few years. During that period he erected a building at In- 
diana Harbor at a cost of six thousand dollars, but becoming convinced of 
the fact that Indiana Harbor was not a desirable place he sold his property 
there, and erected the building in Whiting that he now occupies, at a cost of 
ten thousand dollars. 

Although Mr. Kozacik had but six dollars when he landed m the United 
States lie is to-day in good circumstances. He is a lilaeral man, who -has 
given generous assistance to the poor, and he is a public-spirited citizen, 
who takes a deep and active interest in p^eneral progress and in the material 
development of Whiting. The hope that led him to leave his native country has 
been more than realized for in the new world he has won prosperity, gained 
a comfortable home and has also found many friends. In politics, he is a 
strong Democrat and always does all in his power for the interests of that 
party, and. May 3rd, 1904, he was elected to represent the first ward in the 
Whiting city council. 

To the union of Mr. Kozacik and wife have been born four sons, viz: 
Michael, Peter, John and Paul. 

ELI M. BOYD. 

Eli M. Boyd, prominent farmer of Ross township, is one of the very 



318 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

oldest living settlers of Lake county, where he and his well known twin brother 
located over fifty-five years ago. when the country was largely wild and 
much of it still belonging to the government. Their subsequent career is 
a part of the agricultural history of the county, for in time they became 
and still are ranked among the largest farmers of the county. Furthermore, 
they are men of eminent public spirit, interested in the welfare of the county, 
and their efforts and influence have been felt in diverse ways for the benefit 
and unbuilding of industrial and .social institutions. 

Mr. E. M. Boyd was born in Lucus county, Ohio, Septeml>er lo. 1837, 
so that he is now near the limit of threescore and ten. His father, Ale.xnnder 
Boyd, a native of Pennsylvania, died when Eli was seven years old. and little 
is known of his history. He married Elizabeth Kelley, a native of West- 
moreland county, Pennsylvania, and slie lived to be seventy-si.x \ears old 
and was married a second time. They had three children, a daughter and 
the twin sons, Eli M. and Levi, who are the principal characters with whom 
this sketch is concerned. 

Mr. Boyd and his brother made their own way from an early age. al- 
though they lived with their mother and step-father for some time. They 
came out to Michigan and thence settled in Lake county, Lidiana. in 1848, 
working on their step-father's farm about nine months of thv.- year and at- 
tending school for three months. They were industrious and frugal and 
enterprising in their habits and methods of management, and were not 
long in getting started in the world. Farming has always been the work 
in which they have found the best field for their endeavor, and they are 
now the owners of six hundred acres of land in Ross and Hobart townships, 
containing some of as good soil as is to l^e found in the county. Mr. E. M. 
Boyd is a member of the advisory board. 

Mr. E. ]\L Boyd was married, January 6. 1874. to Miss Agnes Hyde, 
and five children were born to them: George, who is married and lives on 
one of his father's farms: Alexander, single; Warren, who is married and 
follows farming: Charles, at home: Alice, aged fifteen, at home. Warren 
was a student at Valparaiso normal. Alice is in the eighth grade in the 
public school and has taken musical instructions. Mrs. Boyd was born on 
Wabash avenue. Chicago, September 8, 1850, a daughter of Michael and 
Mary (Mclntoller) Hyde. Her parents are dead. There are six sisters liv- 
ing at present, of her family. She was educated in the common schools. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 319 

The Boyd brothers are ardent supporters of the Republican party, and 
have always advocated strongly the principles of the platform. The first 
presidential vote they cast was for Lincoln, and they cast their votes for 
Grant, Garfield, Blaine and McKinley. Mr. Eli Boyd has yet in his pos- 
session a vest made in the year 1856, the year that General Fremont was 
the first nominee of the Republican party. The Boyd brothers and wives are 
attendants of the Methodist Episcopal church, and give to the benevolences, 
and all needy are w-ell remembered. 

Mr. and Mrs. Boyd are among the leading people of Ross township, and 
we are pleased to present this sketch. 

DR. H. L. IDDINGS. 

Dr. H. L. Iddings, of Merrillville, Ross township, has been the leading 
medical practitioner of Ihis town for the past twenty years. He had already 
attained to considerable prominence in his profession before locating here, 
and since then he has not only found in Merrillville and the surrounding 
country a large field for his life work, but has also taken an active part in 
various matters pertaining to the general welfare of the community, filling in 
all respects the niche of a broad-minded, public-spirited and enterprising 
citizen. 

Dr. Iddings was lx)rn in Kendallville, Noble county, Indiana, January 
22, 1852, being the eldest of the seven children, four of whom are now de- 
ceased, born to Warren and Hester (Newman) Iddings. Warren Iddings 
was a son of Henry Iddings, a native of Pennsylvania and of Scotch and 
Welsh descent. He was born in Summit county, Ohio, where he remained 
till he was eleven years old, and during the rest of his life followed agri- 
cultural pursuits mainly in Noble county, Indiana, where his 'death occurred 
in his seventy-ninth year. His wife was also a native of Ohio, and of Irish 
and German descent. 

Dr. Iddings was a student in the high school at Kendallville, Indiana, 
spent one year in the Fort Wayne Methodist Episcopal College and one 
year at Ann Arbor in the State University. He gained his early training 
mostly by his own efforts, and before taking up the study of medicine taught 
school for three years. He read medicine with Dr. Gunder Erickson at 
Kendallville, and in 1876 graduated from the Detroit College of Medicine, 



320 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

at Detroit. Foi' four years lie was located in practice at Swan, Noble county, 
Indiana, and was then apixjinted to the office of physician to the state peni- 
tentiary at Michigan City, discharging the duties of that position for two 
years. He came to Merrillviile in 1883, and has been in constant and suc- 
cessful practice here ever since. He is examining surgeon for the New York 
Life Insurance Company, the Equitable Life Insurance Company, and is 
district examiner for the Catholic Order of Foresters. 

Dr. Iddings affiliates with the Knights of Pythias at Crown Point. He 
is a strong Republican in politics, and on the ticket of that party was elected 
to the trusteeship of Ross township, which office he held for seven years 
and a half. 

Dr. Iddings married, in 1878, Miss Mary E. Clark, the fourth in num- 
ber of the seven children of Jonathan and Polly (Skinner) Clark. She was 
born in Noble county, Indiana. There are six children of this marriage : 
John, who is a student in the medical department of Northwestern Uni- 
versity at Chicago ; Harold and Harry, twins : Morris, Eva and Fred. 

JOSEPH A. BEATTIE. 

Joseph A. Beattie, who resides on section 34, Center township, and is 
filling the position of township trustee, was born in Winfield township. Lake 
county, Indiana, July 5, 1862. His father was William Beattie, a native of 
Ireland, in which country he was reared and married. His wife "Lore the 
maiden name of Rebecca Ross and was also a native of the Emerald Isle. 
Crossing the Atlantic, they became residents of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
and thence removed to Lake county, Indiana, locating in Winfield township, 
where Mr. AVilliam Beattie carried on agricultural pursuits throughout his 
remaining days. He passed away April 9, 1899, 2nd his wife also died in 
Lake county, the date of her death being June i, 1899. I" their family were 
nine children, three sons and six daughters, of whom three died in infancy, 
while six reached years of maturity and four are now living. 

Joseph A. Beattie. the eighth niemlicr of the family and the only sur- 
viving son, was reared on the old family homestead and is indebted to the 
district schools for the early educational privileges he enjoyed. He after- 
ward attended the high school at Crown Point, and when not engaged with 
the duties of the schoolroom he gave his father the benefit of his services by 




L^Oi^coz^f 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 321 

assisting in the cuitixation ami iniproxement of the home farm. He remained 
under tlie parental roof until his marriage, which important event in his life 
occurred on the 27th of Xo\ember, 1890, the lady of his choice being Miss 
Gertrude C. Holton, a daughter of Charles V. and Margaret Jane (Cochran) 
Holton, who were early settlers of Lake county. Mrs. Beattie was born in 
this county and was here reared and educated. At the time of his marriage 
Mr. Beattie became a resident of Crown Point, but in 1891 he took charge 
■ of the Willowdale stock farm, comprising four hundred and twenty acres. 
He has since remained as its superintendent, filling the ixisition for twelve 
years in a most acceptable manner. This is the property of William J. Davis, 
of Chicago. In 1892, in connection with Mr. Davis, Mr. Beattie purchased 
three hundred acres of land on section 18, Center township, and this farm is 
also conducted by Mr. Beattie, it being dexotcd to pasturage and to the rais- 
ing of hay for the stock. He liandles about one hundred and fifty head of 
cattle and horses and feeds all of the grain raised. There is a fine creamery 
upon the place and the cream is shipped principally to the Wellington and 
the Stratford hotels and the Chicago & Alton Railway for use on dining 
cars. Mr. Beattie is recognized as a most enterprising and progressive busi- 
ness man, conducting his farming interests along modern lines, and his 
capable direction of his business afifairs and untiring energy have brought to 
him a creditable and gratifying measure of success. 

In his political views Mr. Beattie is a stanch Republican, and in 1900 
he was elected upon that ticket to the position of township trustee of Center 
tOAViiship for a term of four years, receiving a majority -of more than two 
hundred, aiid recei\ed sixty-si.x more votes in the township than were cast 
for the presidential ticket, a fact which indicates his personal popularity 
among the people with whom he has been acquainted from early boyhood. 
He has been the president of the Lake County Agricultural Society for six 
years and was re-elected in 1903. His efiforts as the head of this organization 
have been effective in promoting the welfare of the farming class of this 
county. He has taken an active part in all public measures contributing to 
the general good, and is a most progressive and enterprising citizen. Fra- 
ternally he is connected with the Independent Order of Foresters. He has never 
lived outside the borders of Lake county, his interests centering here, and 
among the residents of this portion of the state he has many warm friends. 
He is one of the leading and popular men of Lake county. 



322 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

HON. WILLIAM E. WARWICK. 

Hon. William E. Warwick, who for a number of years has been one 
of the forceful and honored factors in public life and business circles in 
Whiting, has attained to prominence through force of his character, the 
exercise of his talent and the utilization of opportunities. By education and 
training he was well qualified for the important position which he is now 
filling, that of first assistant superintendent for the Standard Oil Company, at 
Whiting, where is located the largest plant of the kind in the world. He is 
also the vice-president of the First National Bank of Whiting, and his busi- 
ness career has won the respect of his contemporaries and excited their warm 
admiration. It is not this alone, however, that entitles him to rank as one 
of the foremost men of his city, for his connection with its public interests 
has been far-reaching and beneficial. He has aided in shaping the municipal 
policy, and his patriotic citizenship has taken tangible form in his zealous 
labors for the improvements instituted through aldermanic measures. He is 
now the mayor of Whiting, and as its chief executive is giving an admin- 
istration characterized by a business-like spirit and by substantial upbuilding 
and progress. 

Mr. Warwick was born in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, on the 13th of January, 
1862. His father, William P. Warwick, was born in Dahlonega, Georgia, 
but was partially reared in New York city. He became a lumberman of 
A\'isconsin, where he has resided for many years, still making his home in 
that state. He wedded Miss Mary Palmer, a native of Waukegan, Illinois, 
but her death occurred when she was thirty-five years of age. In the family 
were two daughters, but one is now deceased. 

Hon. William E. Warwick, the only son, was reared in the place of his 
nativity until seventeen years of age, and from the age of six years he 
attended the public schools, thus acquiring a good practical education. On 
leaving Wisconsin he went to Bedford, Iowa, where he lived two years with 
an uncle, who was engaged in farming there. Then he began teaching in the 
country schools of Iowa, and in the meantime he had begun preparation for 
college, wisliing to gain a more advanced education, the value of which he 
realized. He attended the Iowa State Agricultural College, and during the 
periods of vacation engaged in teaching school in order to meet the expenses 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 328 

of his college course. He was graduated in 1888, and the following year he 
came to Whiting, where he accepted the position of mechanical draftsman 
for the Standard Oil Company, acting in that capacity for about two years. 
He was then made assistant master mechanic, and thus served until the 1st 
of December, 1893, when he was transferred to the paraffine department as 
its superintendent. For almost ten years he acted in that capacity, and in 
November, 1903, he was made first assistant superintendent of the works, 
which position he is "now filling. Tliis plant is the largest in the world of 
its kind, two thousand men being employed, and the position of Mr. War- 
wick is therefore a most important and responsible one. He is yet a com- 
paratively young man, his thorough practical training, his close application 
^nd his sound business judgment well qualify him for the onerous duties 
that devolve upon him. He is likewise the vice-president of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Whiting. 

In October, 1902, Mr. Warwick was united in marriage to Miss Ella 
Fredenberg. They have a pleasant home in Wheeling which is noted for its 
gracious and warm-hearted hospitality. Fraternally he is a Mason, having 
taken the three degrees of the blue lodge. In his political views Mr. War- 
wick is a gold Democrat, and after the incorporation of Whiting as a city 
in 1903 he was elected its first mayor and is still its chief executive. He came 
to Whiting when the town was being laid out by the Standard Oil Company, 
which built its extensive works here, and with the growth and progress of the 
place he has since been identified, doing all in his power for its substantial 
improvement and upbuilding. He is a public-spirited citizen, has wrought 
along modern lines of progress, both in his business and his public life, and in 
Whiting he commands the respect and confidence of the great majority of 
those with whom he has come in contact. 

CYRUS E. SMITH. 

Cyrus E. Smith, a prominent farmer on section 18, Ross township, and 
ex-county commissioner, has been identified with the various interests of 
Lake county for over forty years, and is a representative citizen in every 
sense of tlie \\ ord. He has found in farming a profitable and pleasant vocation, 
whicli at the age of sixty-fi\e has surrounded him with comfortable circum- 
stances for approaching old age, and his interest and work for the public 



324 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

welfare and his high personal integrity and character have gained him the 
esteem and well thinking of his fellow citizens and business associates 
throughout the county. 

Mr. Smith was born September 29, 1839, in Springfield township, Erie 
county, Pennsylvania, on the farm which his grandfather settled in 1801, 
and on which his father, Amos Smith, was also born and reared. His father 
followed farming, and dies at a young age, in 1852. He married Harriet 
Ellis, a native of Massachusetts, and who died in 1858, leaving four children, 
one daughter and three sons. 

Mr. Smith, the eldest of the children, was reared and educated in his 
native place, growing up on the old homestead farm. He continued farming 
in Pennsylvania for two years after his marriage, and in 1863 came out to 
Lake county and located on the farm which he has ever since cultivated and 
owned. He placed countless improvements on the place during the subse- 
quent years, and his farm of one hundred and sixty-five acres will now com- 
pare favorably with any in the township. He carries on a general farming, 
stock-raising and dairy business, and has made his operations pay steady 
profits. For about eight years he taught school during the winter seasons 
in Ross township. 

Mr. Smith' was married in Erie county, Pennsylvania, October 6, 1861, 
to Miss Ellen Harper, a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio, and a daughter of 
Benjamin and Ruth (Underwood) Harper. The son born of this marriage 
is deceased, and they have an adopted daughter. Pearl. Mr. Smith, as a 
stanch Republican, first voted for Lincoln, and has taken an active part in 
public affairs. He was elected county commissioner in 1884 and held that 
important county office from 1885 to 1891. He was also appointed trustee 
of Ross township to fill out a vacancy. 

ARTHUR T. COX. 

Arthur T. Cox, treasurer and manager of the Wisconsin Luml:)er and 
Coal Company, at E^st Chicago, is an enterprising young man who in his 
active career has followed modern business methods and wrought along lines 
which have resulted in gaining for him a very desirable position in the busi- 
ness world, one that brings to him a good financial return. 

He was born near Westfield in Hamilton county, Indiana, December 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 326 

9, 1863, and is the oldest of four living children of Stephen and Julia A. 
(Rich) Cox. In the family, however, were seven children, four sons and 
three daughters. The family was established in the south at an early day, 
and the grandfather, Hugh Cox, was a native of North Carolina, where he 
always made his home, passing away in that state when in middle life. 
Through his business career he followed the occupations of farming and mill- 
ing. His wife, Mrs. Rebecca Cox, has also been called to her final rest. They 
were the parents of two sons and four daughters. They held membership in 
the Friends church, and their lives were in harmony with their religious faith. 

Stephen Cox, father of Mr. Cox, was born in North Carolina, was reared 
to the occupation of farming and followed that pursuit throughout his active 
business career. He came to Indiana in the spring of 1861 and. settled near 
Westfield, where he continued to engage in the tilling of the soil until 1901. In 
that year he retired from business life and is now enjoying a well-earned 
rest in Westfield. He married Miss Julia A. Rich, who was born in Indiana 
and was a daughter of Peter Rich, also a native of this state. Her father 
was a farmer by occupation, and lived at Westfield, where he died at a ripe 
old age. He was vety prominent and influential in his community, and 
various local positions were conferred upon him. His wife, who bore the 
maiden name of Amy Jessup, also died at an advanced age. In their family 
were a son and three daughters. Mr. Rich was a most earnest and untiring 
worker in the Friends church, and he and his wife were recognized as leaders 
in the congregation of their home locality. Both Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Cox 
were also ardent workers in the Friends church, likewise took an active 
interest in the temperance cause and did all in their power to promote tem- 
perance legislation. In the year 1899 Stephen Cox was called upon to mourn 
the loss of his wife, who died in the month of July when about sixty years 
of age. Of their family of four sons and three daughters, those now living 
are Arthur T. ; Erwin, who makes his home near Westfield, Indiana ; Nietha, 
the wife of E. L. Foulke, of Kansas City, Missouri; and Elsie, who is the 
wife of Charles Baldwin, of Westfield. 

In retrospect one can see Arthur T. Cox as a farm boy, working in the 
fields as he assisted his father in the cultivation of the crops, or attending the 
district schools. After he had largely mastered the branches of study taught 
in the local school he entered the Union high school, and subsequently pur- 



326 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

sued a collegiate course and was graduated on the completion of the scien- 
tific course in Earlham College, at Richmond, Indiana, with the class of 1890, 
at which time the Bachelor of Science degree was conferred upon him. The 
following year he entered upon his business career in connection with the 
lumber trade. He was employed first in his home town and afterwards in 
the county seat at Noblesville, Indiana, where he remained for two years. 
On the expiration of that period he entered the employ of the Nordyke and 
Marmon Company, of Indianapolis, being in their office for a few months. 
Later he was sent out by the firm as collector to diflferent towns in Indiana. 
A year later he entered the employ of the Paxton Lumber Company of Ham- 
mond, in 1894, and was located there until 1897, when he went to Rensselaer, 
where he continued for about a year. He next secured a position in Morocco, 
Indiana, and afterwards went to Lowell, where he accepted the management 
of the Wilbur Lumber Company, of Milwaukee, filling that position in a 
manner entirely satisfactory to the company for three years. He was next 
offered and accepted the position with the Greer-Wilkinson Company at 
Russellville, Indiana, and in February, 1903, he came to East Chicago to act 
as manager of the lumber yards of the same company at this place. In 
February, 1904, the Greer-Wilkinson Lumber Company sold its interests 
in East Chicago to the Wisconsin Lumber and Coal Company, of which 
concern Mr. Cox became treasurer and manager and one of the stockholders 
and has continued in these relationships up to the present time. In 1964 the 
company erected a two-story lumber warehouse, sixty by one hundred and 
fifty feet, in which is carried an extensive and varied line of building ma- 
terials, and the establishment is one of the flourishing business enterprises 
of East Chicago. 

June 20, 1 90 1, occurred the marriage of Mr. Cox and Miss Laura LuElla 
Fuller. Mr. Cox is a member of the Society of Friends, while his wife is 
identified through membership relations with the Methodist Episcopal 
church. Fraternally he is connected with Colfax Lodge No. 378, F. & A. M., 
at Lowell, Indiana, and belongs to Renssalaer Lodge No. 82, Knights of 
Pythias. His political endorsement is given to the Republican party, but 
the honors and emoluments of office have had no attraction for him, as he 
has preferred to give his time and attention to his business interests and to 
the enjoyment of home life. The Cox household is noted for its hospitality, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 327 

which is generous and cordial, and both Mr. and Mrs. Cox have won many 
friends during their residence in East Chicago. 

GEORGE F. GERLACH. 

George F. Gerlach, the prominent and well-known merchant of St. John, 
Lake county, is a self-made and successful business man. He began life for 
himself at an early age, finding in school teaching the first stepping stone of 
progress, and at the same time acquainted himself with the details of mer- 
cantile affairs. He is and has been for some years an important factor in 
business circles of St. John township, and is always found identified with 
the side of progress and general advancement in material, social and educa- 
tional movements. 

Mr. Gerlach was born in Bavaria, Germany, January 24, 1841. His 
father, Michael Gerlach, was a native of the same country, and in 1846 
emigrated with his family to America. He settled at Harper's Ferry, West 
Virginia, where he followed his trade of carpenter for about eleven years. 
In 1857 he emigrated further west, locating in St. John township. Lake 
county, Indiana, where he turned his attention to farming pursuits. He 
bought eighty acres of land, improved it, and for the remainder of his life 
made farming a successful enterprise. He died at the age of seventy-four 
years. His wife was Agnes Catherine Wartheim, a native of Germany, and 
who also attained the age of seventy-four years. They were highly' respected 
in Lake county, and are to be counted among the early settlers who opened 
up and developed the farming regions. They were the parents of seven 
children, one of whom died young, but the others, four sons and two daugh- 
ters, are still living. 

Mr. George F. Gerlach, the eldest of the family, was about five years 
old when he crossed the ocean to America, and about sixteen when the 
family came to Lake county. He began his education in Virginia, and later 
attended the St. Vincent's College in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. 
After coming to Lake county he began his independent career by teaching 
school, beginning at tlie age of seventeen and continuing the profession for 
about three months of the year during the following ten years, in St. John 
and Hanover townships. What time he was not teaching he employed by 
acting as clerk in the store of Henry and F. P. Keilmann, at St. John. In 



328 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

1867 he married and in the same year began business in partnership with Mr. 
F. P. Keilmann. They carried on a general merchandise business until 
1885, when the partnership was dissolved, and since then Mr. Gerlach has 
been conducting his store alone and at his present location. He has a long 
established and prosperous business, carrying a stock valued at about sixteen 
thousand dollars, and is recognized as one of the foremost business men of 
the county. He also buys and ships grain and live-stock. This position in 
the world of affairs is the more creditable when it is remembered that Mr. 
Gerlach commenced his career with nothing except his own ambition and 
industrious habits. 

He has also performed his part in public affairs. He has been a Demo- 
crat since the casting of his first vote, but maintains an independent attitude 
in local aflfairs, voting for the best man. He has been a justice of the peace, 
and is now a notary public. He is also interested in the agricultural develop- 
ment of Lake county, for he owns about nine hundred acres of land in dif- 
ferent parts of the county. 

Mr. Gerlach married, in 1867, Miss Margaret Keilmann, and they are 
the parents of nine children: Katie, wife of Peter Schmidt; Frank, in his 
father's store; Joseph M., also in the store; Maggie, wife of John Stoltz, 
who is employed in Mr. Gerlach's store; Lizzie, wife of Michael Weis, of 
Ross township; George and Charles, who are in their father's store; and 
Lena and Clara, who are still in school. The children were all born in St. 
John township. Lake county. 

WILLIAM J. GLOVER. 

William J. Glover has almost completed his second term as recorder of 
Lake county, and during an eight years' incumbency of that office has set a 
standard of efficiency and administrative ability which is a matter for pride 
to himself and for profit and good to the county. Like most of the worthy 
citizens of Lake county, Mr. Glover has spent his years in labor providing 
for t!ie material wants of himself and family, and is therefore a popular man 
ill the true sense of that word. He first became known to Lake county as an 
employe of the iron mills of East Chicago, and for the past fifteen or more 
years has been an upright, public-spirited and hard-working citizen, always 
steadily progressing toward a higher goal of endeavor. As a public official 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 329 

in various places of trust he has shown himself worthy of honor and con- 
fidence and an excellent depositary of the county's administrative affairs. 

Mr. Glover is a Pennsylvanian by birth and rearing. He was born at 
Bolivar, January 26, 1856, and is of Scotch lineage in only the third genera- 
tion from the original American progenitor. His paternal grandfather, 
James Glover, was born in the city of Edinburg, Scotland, and came to the 
United States something over seventy years ago. He settled in Maryland, 
and died at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, at ninety-two years of age. Robert 
Glover, the father of the Lake county recorder, was born in Maryland, and 
is now seventy-one years old, residing in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. He has 
been a stationary engineer nearly all his life. His wife is also living at the 
age of sixty-seven, and her maiden name was Clara Corsin. 

Mr. William J. Glover was taken to Pittsburg in childhood, and was 
educated there in the public schools. He found employment at different 
Hues of work before he entered the iron mills, and for some twenty-two years 
he was employed in the iron mills in Pittsburg and in East Chicago. He came 
to Chicago, Illinois, in 1882, and in 1888 settled at East Chicago. The latter 
was a mere town at that time, and he was one of the first settlers. In addi- 
tion to his daily work he became identified with the public life of the place, 
and before long was taking an active part in Republican politics. He was 
elected and served one term as treasurer of East Chicago, and was elected 
to the city council for two terms. While serving in the latter position he was 
elected, in 1896, to the office of recorder of Lake county, and then severed 
his connection with affairs in East Chicago and moved to Crown Point, where 
he has since made his home. He was chosen for a second term as recorder 
in 1900, so that he has served nearly eight years. He has always been a 
Republican, and is a man of popular and genial manners, just such a one as 
the people of a community pick out as a representative citizen and choose for 
their various administrative offices. 

Mr. Glover has affiliations with the Masons, the Elks, the Foresters, the 
Maccabees, and the Amalgamated Association of Iron, Steel and Tin Work- 
ers. He was married in June, 1881, to Miss Elizabeth Owens, of Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania. They have five children: Robert S., Edward C, Florence M., 
Willi.im T-. Ti'-. and Helen. 



330 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

WILLIAM HENRY WOOD. 

William Henry Wood, general merchant at Deep River, has been the 
leader m the business afifairs of this community for many years. In fact, 
the Wood family, grandfather, father and sons, have been closely identified 
with industrial and commercial interests of Ross township as long as any 
other family still existing in the county, and they have kept fully abreast 
of the tide of progress and development which has advanced Lake county 
from a wilderness to one of the richest and most prosperous counties of the 
state. 

The pioneer of the family was John Wood, grandfather of the above 
named, who came out from the east to Lake county, Indiana, before the 
official separation and organization of the counties of Porter and Lake. He 
was a miller by occupation, and by building and operating the old grist and 
saw mill at Deep River supplied the early settlers with commodities abso- 
lutely essential to civilization and modest comfort. His mill was one of the 
first in the county, and he carried on his business here for many years. He 
was of English and Scotch descent. 

George Wood, the father of William H. Wood, was born in Massa- 
chusetts, and in boyhood came out to Lake county with his parents, being 
reared, educated and married in this county. He engaged in general mer- 
chandising and milling at Deep River during most of his active career, and 
was a prominent and influential man in the surrounding country. He was 
a member of the Unitarian church at Hobart. His death occurred when he 
was fifty-nine years old. He married Mary J. Digerd, who was born in 
Bufifalo, New York, of Irish descent, and is still living. They were the 
parents of six children, four of whom reached adult age. 

William Henry Wood, the fourth child and third son of this family, 
was born in Deep River, Lake county, July 2, 1865, and was reared and has 
spent all his life at this place. After attending the common schools he 
entered tlie business department of the Northern Indiana Normal School at 
Valparaiso, where he was graduated in two years, and then returned to Deep 
River. He was with Iiis fatlier in the creamery business for two years, and 
then he and his Ijrother Eugene bought out their father and carried on the 
general store and creamery in partnership for six years. Mr. Wood then 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 331 

bought out his brother, and has been very successfully conducting the mer- 
cantile business ever since. He is also vice-president of the Ohio Standard 
Oil Company, at Amsterdam, Ohio, and has various other business interests. 

As a life-long Republican he has taken much interest in pubHc afifairs. 
He is now candidate for township trustee, and was at one time on the ad- 
visory board. He has been the postmaster of Deep River for the past ten 
years, the office being located in his store. He is a Mason affiliating with 
Hobart Lodge No. 357. He is well known in business and social circles, and 
his store is up to date and a large one for a place the size of Deep River. He 
carries about four thousand dollars' stock, and has a large trade from all the 
surrounding country. 

Mr. Wood married, in 1894, Miss Martha Battia, of Middle Falls, New 
York. They have two children, Olive and Raymond. 

HENRY C. BATTERMAN. 

Henry C. Batterman, prominent in the industrial, mercantile and finan- 
cial afifairs of Dyer, St. John township, began his career at this place some 
thirty years ago, with his trade and his character as his principal capital, 
and during the intervening period has come to be one of the most influential 
business men of this part of Lake county. He has been prominently identi- 
fied with nearly all the afifairs of Dyer, whether of a business, social or polit- 
ical or whatsoever nature, and is an all-round worthy citizen whom all 
esteem and hold in highest regard. 

Mr. Batterman is a brother of Edward Batterman, the well known 
business man of Hobart, and in whose personal history on other pages of 
this work will be found the parental and ancestral records. Mr. H. C. Batter- 
man was born in Will county, Illinois, October 10, 1855, and was reared 
and educated there. He learned the harness-making business, and at the 
age of twenty, in 1875, came to Lake county, where he continued to work at 
his trade, following it altogether for twenty-two years. He prospered from 
the first, and has been on the up-grade ever since he started out on his own 
hook. In 1894 he established a livery business in Dyer, and has carried it on 
very successfully to the present time. In 1900 he opened his machine and 
blacksmith shops and agricultural implement house, and in these lines does 
a large and steadily increasing business. He took a leading part at the 



332 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

organization of the First National Bank at Dyer, and is a director and the 
vice-president of that substantial financial institution. He also owns stock 
in the creamery at Dyer, and is secretary and treasurer of the Horse Breed- 
ers' Association at Dyer. He has had an annual trade in his implement and 
shops enterprise amounting to over ten thousand dollars, and his business 
push and energy are continually increasing his hold on the commercial and 
mdustrial affairs of the county. In public matters and political questions he 
has always adhered to the principles and policies of the Republican party. 
He has served as superintendent of roads and was on the township advisory 
board. He has also been active in religious afifairs, and is an official member 
of the Dyer Union church. 

Mr. Batterman has been married three times. His first wife was Mary 
Richart, by whom he had one son, Joe B. The second marriage was with 
Maggie Young, and his present wife was Miss Helen Richart, a sister of his 
first wife. They have two living children, Carrie and Johanna. Fraternally 
he is a member of the Order of the Foresters of America, Council No. i6, 
at Dyer, and he was a member of the High Order of Foresters. 

JAMES A. PATTERSON. 

James A. Patterson, an attorney at law engaged in practice in Indiana 
Harbor since the summer of 1902, was born in Sharon, Pennsylvania, on the 
31st of August, 1867, and is one of a family of eight children, four sons and 
four daughters, whose parents are William and Mary (McAlpin) Patterson. 
His paternal grandfather, William Patterson, Sr., was born in Scotland, 
belonging to one of the old families of that country. Emigrating to America, 
he spent his last days in Canada, where he died at the very advanced age of 
ninety-two years. He had long devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits 
and in that way had provided for his family, numbering his wife and four or 
five children. 

William Patterson, Jr., was born in Catron, Scotland, and after arriving 
at years of maturity he married Miss Mary McAlpin, a native of Kilmarnock, 
Ayrshire. She belonged to a family numbering several daughters and her 
father died in Scotland when he had attained a venerable age. William 
Patterson followed mining during much of his life. When a young man he 
left Scotland and went to Australia, where he was engaged in mining gold. 




<^;^^^S^^^L.^t^^^^^^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 333 

He afterward emigrated to Canada, locating in a pioneer district, and tliere 
he carried on farming for three or four jears, at tlie end of which time he 
went to Pennsylvania. On leaving that state ahout 1876 he journeyed west- 
ward to Illinois, settling at Coal City, where he engaged in mining coal, but 
his last years were sjient in the Indian Territory, where he died in 1885, ^^ 
the age of fifty-eight years. His wife still sur\ives him and is now seventy- 
six years of age. Like her husband she is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and through many }'ears has shaped her life by its teachings and 
precepts. To this worthy couple were born four sons and four daughters, 
and six are yet living: Margaret, who is the wife of D. \V. Frye, of Coal 
City. Illinois; Helen, the wife of David H. Wilson, also a resident of Coal 
City; William M., who is living in St. Louis, Missouri; Robert J., a resident 
of Moberly, Missouri; James A.; and Elizabeth, the wife of Cornelius Clark, 
of Coal City, Illinois. 

James A. Patterson was a lad of about nine years when with his parents 
he removed tn Coal City, Illinois, where the days of his youth were passed 
and his early education was acquired. He afterward pursued a business 
course in a commercial college at Lea\enworth. Kansas, and later he occupied 
a position as bookkeeper for four or five years. He then went to Valparaiso 
College and was graduated from the scientific and literary departments, so 
thnt he gained a broad general knowledge to serve as an excellent foundation 
upon which to rear the superstructure of professional learning. Following 
the completion of his normal work at X'alparaiso. he took up the study of law 
in the Chicngo Law School of Chicago, from which he was graduated in 
i8y8, and the s;une }-ear was admitted to the l)ar. He has since eng.-fged in 
practice, covering a jieriod of six years, ami on the ist of April. 1002, he 
opened an otlice in Indiana Harbor, where he has since been localetl. His 
clientage is continually growing and has connected him with much of the im- 
portant litigation tried here, lie is thorough and painstaking in the prepara- 
tion of a case, clear and coiici-^c in argument, cogent and logical in his reason- 
ing, and has attained a creditable position among the younger members of 
the Lake county bar. 

On the 24th of June. 1898, occurred the marriage of Air. Patterson and 
Miss May A. Wiles, a daughter of Truman B. and Abigail E. Wiles. Abigail 
E. Wiles died June 17, 1904, at Mabel. Minnesota. They reside at 3729 



334 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Grapevine street, where Mr. Patterson erected a good home in the summer 
of 1903. Pohtically he is a Republican. He Ijelongs to the Knights of Pythias 
and Modern Woodmen fraternities, and his wife is connected with the ladies' 
auxiliaries of Iwth. She, too, is a graduate of Valparaiso College, and they 
both occupy an enviable jjosition in the social circles where culture and intel- 
ligence predominate. 

GOTTLIEB MUENICH. 

Gottlieb Muenich deserves to be numbered among the old settlers of 
the city of Hammond, for he has resided here for twenty-five years, which 
time covers almost the entire period of the city's growth and development to 
its present thriving proiwrtions. At the age of nearly eighty years, he is 
also one of the patriarchs of the city, and his character and person are vener- 
able and respected in the eyes of all citizens of Hammond, who esteem him 
lx)th for bis length of years and also for the useful part he has taken in the 
affairs of city, county, state and nation since becoming a naturalized citizen 
upwards of fifty years ago. 

Pie was born in the province of Brandenburg, Germany, in 1825, and is 
now the only surviving one of the four children, one son and three daughters, 
born to Christian and Christiana (Hartneck) Muenich, the former of whom 
was a German farmer and died in the fatherland about 1863, followed a 
short time after by his wife. They were lx)th Lutherans. The paternal 
grandfather of Mr. Muenich died in Germany when close to sixty-eight years 
old, and the maternal grandfather was a farmer and died in Germ.any. 

Gottlieb Muenich was reared in Germany and received a good education 
in the common schools. He took up life's duties by learning the weaver's 
trade. He was a soldier in the royal armies for five years, being a sergeant, 
and also for several years was overseer and guard of a large estate. He 
was maiTied before leaving the old countiT, which important move of his 
life he made in 1857. For the first year he lived in Chicago, and then went 
to Hessville, Indiana, where he bought a small farm and devoted himself 
to agricultural pursuits for twenty-one jears. In 1879 he left the farm to 
take up his residence in Hammond, which was then in its stages of begin- 
ning and progress toward a prosperous city. He has lived here ever since. 
He first built a large frame house on South Hohman street, adjoining his 
present residence, and after living there several years sold it to his son 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 335 

Gustav. In 1897 he built his present substantial brick residence at 216 South 
Hohman, street. 

Mr. Muenich is a veteran of the Civil war in this country, having en- 
listed in 1862 in Company I, Seventy-second Illinois Infantry, and served 
about a year, after which he returned to his home at Hessville. Mr. and Mrs. 
Muenich are both members of the Lutheran church, and in politics he has 
always adhered to Republican principles and policies. 

August 8, 1853, Mr. Muenich was married to Miss Anna Natke, a 
daughter of Qiristian and Maria (Wannock) Natke. Both her paternal and 
her maternal grandfathers died so long ago that no knowledge of their his- 
tory is obtainable, but the name of the former's wife was Maria CRockhill) 
Natke, and that of the latter's Katharina Wannock. Mrs. Muenich's father 
was a farmer, and in 1857 he emigrated with his wife and family from Ger- 
many to America, and after a short residence in Chicago located at Hessville, 
where he remained till his death, in 1887, at the age of eighty-one. His 
wife died in 1877, aged seventy-four. They had three children: Anna, the 
wife of Mr. Muenich ; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Hess ; and Martin Natke. 

Four sons and one daughter were born to Mr. and Mrs. Muenich : Carl 
( justav is a contractor in Hammond ; he married Miss Maria Bellof, and they 
have one daughter, Etta. Gustav Adolph Muenich died at the age of five 
and a half years. Rudolph is a paperhanger; he married Alvina Zachholz, 
and their three children are George, Ida Anna Alvina and Bertha. Maria 
married Henry Huehn, now deceased, and they had five children, Emma, 
William. Henry, Myrtle and Arthur. Edward Muenich follows the trade of 
carpenter: by his wife, Alice Benedict, he has five children, Rebecca, Elmer, 
Lola, Rov and Arthur. 

HENRY L. KEILMAN. 

Henry L. Keilnian, president of the First National Bank of Dyer and a 
prominent farmer of St. John township, has spent all his life in Lake county 
and is of the third generation of the well known family who located in this 
county sixty years ago. He has spent most of his active years in farming 
pursuits, which he has followed for over thirty years, and he has resided 
on his present fine farmstead for twenty-five years. Outside of his financial 
and agricultural interests he has concerned himself in a public-spirited manner 
with the administrative affairs of his county and township, and is everywhere 



336 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

known as a good citizen, a good neighlxir and a man of unusual energy 
and business capacity. 

Mr. Keilnian was l>orn in St. John township, September 22, 1856, being 
the eldest son of Leonard and Lena (.\ustgen) Keilman, who in childhood 
came from their native land of Germany. His father, who is still among 
the active and enterprising business men of St. John township, is written of 
elsewhere in this work, and various details of family history are to be found 
under the name Keilman in various portions of the history. 

Mr. Keilman was reared in his native township, and was educated in 
the district school and then attended, in 1872, Pionono College, near Mil- 
waukee, Wisconsin. On his return home he at once took up farming, and 
after his marriage, in 1879, located on the farm where he still resides. He 
owns three hundred acres, and does general farming, stock-raising and 
dairying. At the time of the organization of the First National Bank in 
Dyer, in 1903, he was elected its president, which office he still holds, and 
his direction of the bank's affairs has been most satisfactory to the stock- 
holders and is resulting in giving the institution considerable prestige among 
the business interests of St. John township. 

Mr. Keilman was elected, on the Democratic ticket, to the office of 
trustee of St. John township, in 1894, and he held that office for five years 
and three montlis. He and his family are memlaers of the Catholic church, 
St. Joseph's church at Dyer. 

In 1879 Mr. Keilman married Miss Maggie Schaefer, who is also a 
native of St. John township. They have eight children, all born on the 
old homestead farm in St. John township, as follows: William H., Frank 
L., Emma, Frances, Raymond. Leonard, Verna and Helen. 

DENNIS PALMER. 

Dennis Palmer, old settler and man of affairs of Lake county, has been 
for many years a leading spirit in the commercial and industrial development 
of Lake county and particularly of that portion where the town of Palmer 
is situated, which was founded on his land and named as a lasting memorial 
to his life and services in behalf of the community. He was one of the influ- 
ential residents who contributed of their own means and lent their vigorous 
efforts for railroad building in this county. Many enterprises of private 




^-l^ifeZ.^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 337 

business and public nature ha\e engaged his attention during a long life of 
over seventy years, and Iiis place in the county is one of honor, high esteem 
and most public-spirited and useful performance of his part in life. 

Mr. Palmer was born in Lorain county, Ohio, August 21, 1830. His 
father, also named Dennis, was born in Massachusetts, whence he moved to 
New York state, and from there to Ohio, .settling first in Lorain county, then 
in Crawford county, and about 1834 came to Lake county, Indiana, where 
he passed his declining years and died at the age of eighty-two years. His 
wife, Olive Terril, was a nati\e of Connecticut, l)ut was reared in the early 
times of Lorain county, Ohio, and died in that state at the age of eighty. 

Mr. Palmer was the only son of his parents' five children. He was seven 
years old when he moved to Crawford county, Ohio, where he was reared. 
His education was acquired in one of the primitive old log-cabin schools. He 
remained in that county for two years after his marriage, and in 1854 moved 
to Mason county, Illinois, but after six months came to Lake county and took 
up his first residence in Winfield, Winfield township. He was there six years 
and then came to the place where he has ever since made his place of residence, 
for over forty years. During his more active career he engaged in various 
kinds of business, in the raising and shipping of stock, merchandising and 
farming. A town was laid out on his land in 1882 and named in his 
honor. At present he owns only one hundred and seventy acres in this 
vicinity, but once was possessor of six hundred. Much of the growth and 
prosperity of this region is due to his active efforts. He has one son, Richard, 
who is in the real estate business in Kansas City, Missouri. He owns lands 
in Kansas, but these are under the control of this son and his grandson. 

Mr. Palmer started out in life without a dollar, and the story of his life 
is one of self-achievement, industry and capable business management. He 
therefore deserves the esteem which is accorded him in Lake county, ?nd the 
weight of his opinions has in many ways been felt throughout the county. 
He has in the main retired from active pursuits, and confines most of his 
attention to lending money and dealing in securities. He has been a strong 
Republican since the organization of the party, and has served as township 
trustee one term, and was justice of the peace for twenty years. He was an 
old-line .Whig and at the birth of the Republican party espoused its prin- 
ciples and voted for Fremont, then Lincoln, Garfield, Blaine and McKinley. 



338 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

He helped in getting the Hnes of the Pennsylvania and the Erie railroads run 
through Crown Point, which resulted in much of the subsequent prosperity 
of that town as a commercial center. He was the first man to sign the right 
of way and give a mile of his own land to the Erie road, doing this with the 
understanding that the line should be constructed through Crown Point. He 
also assisted in taking up subscriptions for the Pennsylvania Railroad, signing 
his own name for one hundred dollars. Through many such enterprises he 
has made his influence felt for good in Lake county, and is one of the best 
known and truly successful men of the county. 

Mr. Palmer was married. May 12, 1852, to Miss Mary Wilson, and of 
the two children, both sons, born to them, one is living, Richard, also men- 
tioned above. Richard Palmer was born February 17, 1853, and was reared 
in this county, being educated in the comm.on schools. He has been engaged 
in the stock, real estate and the banking lines of business, and for some time 
he resided in Monona county, Iowa, and carried on stock, banking and mer- 
cantile enterprises. He married, November 4, 1875, Miss Mary E. Fargo, 
by whom he had one son, Mark S. D., who was educated in the common 
schools and at the Valparaiso College, and is now postmaster at Eskridge, 
Kansas ; at the time of receiving his official notice he was the youngest post- 
master in the United States. This grandson of Mr. Palmer was married on 
August I, 1899, to Miss May E. F. Parsonage, who was born in Wabaunsee 
county, Kansas, June 17, 1879, her parents being still living and farmers in 
Wabaunsee county, and she received a high school education and for some 
-time was a teacher. The one daughter of this marriage, Lois Zoe, is thus 
a great-grandchild of Mr. and Mrs. Palmer, so that there are four genera- 
tions alive at the present time. Mark S. D. Palmer is a Republican, having 
cast his first vote for McKinley, and fraternally he is associated with Tent 
No. 79, of the Maccabees, at Eskridge, and with the Ancient Order of United 
Workmen No. 165. 

Mr. Richard Palmer's first wife died December 10, 1880, and by his 
second wife he has six children, as follows : John R. ; Alice, who is in the 
high school ; Maude, in school ; Fayette, Lucile and Katie On February 27, 
1902, Mr. Richard Palmer married Mrs. Mary E. (Hatterly) Luth, who was 
born iit Harrison county, Iowa, November 5, 1866, being a daughter of 
James and Hannah Hatterly. She was educated in the common schools, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 339 

finishing at the Shenandoah high school, and she taught in Iowa for a year 
and a half. By her marriage to Henry Luth one son, Leslie' E., was born, 
he being now fifteen years old and a student in the public schools of Kansas 
City, where his parents reside. Richard Palmer moved to Kansas City in 
June, 1903, and engaged in the real estate business. He is a Republican, 
having cast his first vote for Hayes, and he has always supported those prin- 
ciples. His wife is a member of the Christian church, and they are generous 
in regard to the benevolences. 

Mrs. Dennis Palmer was born in Wyandotte county, Ohio, February 
19, 1833, and was a daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Taylor) Wilson. She 
was one of thirteen children, and six are yet living. She was reared in her 
native state, and her first school was a log cabin, with a mud and stick chim- 
ney, with benches of slabs resting on four pins for legs, and the desk for the 
older scholars a long board resting on pins driven into the wall. She used 
the goosequill pen, usually fashioned out with the knife of the master, who, 
for a portion of her school days, was none other than her future husband, 
Mr. Palmer. Much more might be related of those early pioneer days. 

For half a century have Mr. and Mrs. Palmer traveled the journey of life 
together, sharing the joys and sorrows as they have followed one close on the 
other. And now at the eventide of life, when the sun of their careers is fast 
setting, they can look back over the past years as over a golden harvest field 
where the garnered sheaves of golden deeds lie before God and man as proofs 
of their noble characters and generous endeavors, so that all — son, grand- 
children and all who come after them — may rise up and call them blessed. 

REV. H. PH. WILLE. 

Rev. H. Ph. Wille has been pastor of the First Lutheran church of 
Whiting since 1891 and was the first minister regularly located here. Dur- 
ifig the years which have since come and gone he has succeeded in build- 
ing up a strong religious organization and one which has had potent and 
far-reaching efifect in the moral development and progress of this part of 
the state. Widely known and respected by all with whom he has come in 
contact, the life record of Rev. Wille cannot fail to prove of deep interest to 
many of our readers. He was born in Hamburg, Germany, on the i8th 
of December, 1843, when his parents were en route for America. His father, 



340 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Philip Wille, was a native of Prussia and was a farmer by occupation. He 
came to the United States in tlie spring of 1844, locating near Milwaukee 
Wisconsin, and he lived to enjoy the privileges and opportunities of the new 
world for forty years, passing away in 1SS4, when seventy-four years of 
age. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Charlotte Tews, was aLo a 
native of Prussia and is still living at the very advanced age of eighty- 
eight years. They became the parents of nineteen children, but only six 
reached adult age. 

Rev. H. Ph. Wille is the only surviving son, and was but three months 
old when his parents arrived in America. He was educated in the public 
and parochial schools near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and in Martin Luther 
College at Buffalo, New York. He also attended Concordia Seminary at 
St. Louis, Missouri, where he was graduated with the class of 1870 on the 
completion of a theological course which prepared him for the active work of 
the ministry. His first charge was at California, Missouri, where he re- 
mained for about four years. He then removed to Concordia, Missouri, 
where he acted as pastor of the Lutheran church' for twelve years, and on the 
expiration of that period he accepted a call for the church at Geneseo, Illinois, 
where he continued his ministerial labors for five years. In 1891 he arrived 
in Whiting. It was then but a mere village and he became the first regular 
pastor in this place. He began here with a membership of only forty, but 
his labors have resulted in great and substantial growth in the church, which 
now has an enrolled membership of over three hundred. He is also inter- 
ested in the building up of a congregation at Indiana Harbor. His active 
connection with the ministry covers thirty-four years, during which time he 
has not I>een denied the full harvest nor the aftermath. With conscientious 
zeal he has devoted his time and energies to his holy calling, and his pulpit 
addresses, his pastoral labors and his personal influence and example have 
been strong and forceful elements for the betterment of mankind and the 
upbuilding of the church in the various localities in which he has resided. 

On the ist of September, 1864, Rev. Wille was united in the holy bonds 
of matrimony to Miss Minnie Henning. who was born and reared in Buf- 
falo, Kew York, and is a daughter of G. and Minnie (Voelker) Henning. 
They have becoriie the parents of ten children, five sons and five daughters: 
Edward, a farmer now residing in Nebraska; Lillie. the wife of Paul A. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 341 

Scholz, who follows farming near La Porte, Indiana; Herman C, who is 
proprietor of a grocery store in Chicago; Emma, who is engaged in dress- 
making in Whiting; Otto, who died at the age of thirty years; Clara, the 
wife of George Hornecker; Julius, who is engaged in the tinner's business in 
Whiting; Ella, the wife of William Clock, of Whiting; Rudolph, who is 
employed as a salesman in a grocery store in Chicago ; and Mollie, at home. 
The family is well known in Whiting, where they have resided for twelve 
years, and the hospitality of the best homes is very cordially extended to 
them. Mr. Wille commands the respect of people of all denominations, and 
while he is firm in his advocacy of what he believes to be right he is also 
charitable in his opinions and of kindly, generous spirit. 

A. MURRAY TURNER. 

A. Murray Turner, president of the First National Bank of Hammond, 
is a life-long resident of Lake county, and for some years has been prom- 
inently identified with its business and financial affairs. He has shown great 
ability in promoting and organizing enterprises whose results are for the 
welfare of the community and people at large, and his influence and work 
in this direction have been of great benefit to Lake county. He is essentially 
a business man, but has also directed some of his energies to politics and 
social matters, and is a representative citizen of the city of Hammond. 

He was born in Crown Point, Indiana, October 3, 1859, being a son of 
David and Caroline (Bissell) Turner. The family is one of the oldest of 
Lake county, and the business and agricultural interests of the county have 
felt the stimulating control of three generations of the name. Grandfather 
Turner was a native of the north of Ireland, whence as a small boy he 
came to America with a family to whom he had been bound out for a term 
of years. He grew to manhood in Trumbull county, Ohio, and in 1837 
came to Lake county. Indiana, where he spent the remainder of his sixty 
years in farming pursuits. His wife, named Patterson, died w. Eagle Creek 
township, Lake county, at the age of eighty-seven years, and they had a 
large family. 

David Turner, the father of the Hammond banker, was bom in Ohio, 
and during the early years of his manhood followed farming. He came to 
Lake county in 1837. For some years he was the only merchant in the town 



342 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

of Crown Point. He served as state senator from 1858 to 1862, and was 
then appointed United States assessor by President Lincoln, holding that 
office until its abolishment. He was president of the First National Bank 
of Crown Point for a number of years and died in February, 1890, at the 
age of seventy-tliree years. He was a Republican in politics, and a Pres- 
byterian. His wife, who still survives and resides with her son, A. Mur- 
ray, is a native of Ohio. Mrs. Mary Brunot, of Greensburg, Pennsylvania, 
is a sister of Mrs. David Turner, and they two are the only survivors of 
the family. David Turner and wife had seven children, all of whom are 
still living: John Bissell Turner, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Sarah J., wife 
of Thomas W. Monteith, of Port Huron, Michigan; Emma, wife of I. C. 
Emory, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa ; Annie T., widow of Freeman Morgan, of 
Chicago; Mary T., widow of Charles A. Holm, of Hammond, Indiana; A. 
Murray; and Austria T., wife of Charles A. Ross, of Austin, Illinois. 

Mr. A. Murray Turner was reared in Lake county, and received his 
education in the Crown Point schools. He was engaged in farming and 
stock-raising until 1888, at which time he was elected sheriff, and served 
four years. He came to Hammond in 1893 and joined a syndicate formed 
to build the first street railway of the city. He was president of this com- 
pany until 1900. He was engaged in various other enterprises, and in 
1901 organized the First National Bank of Hammond, becoming its presi- 
dent, in which office he has effected much in making the First National one 
of the soundest and most reliable financial institutions of the county. Mr. 
Turner is a stanch Republican, and was a delegate to the national conven- 
tion that nominated McKinley for president in igoo. 

December 31, 1890, Mr. Turner married Miss E. Lillian Blackstone. 
They enjoyed a most happy marital union for ten years, during which one 
daughter was born, Margaret Caroline Turner. Mrs. Turner passed away 
in November, 1900, at the age of thirty years. She was a memVier of the 
Presbyterian church, and a woman of many social graces and accomplish- 
ments, thoroughly devoted to her home interests and thoughtful and careful 
of her husband's best interests. 

She was a daughter of Dr. John K. and Margaret J. (Bryant) Black- 
stone, of Hebron, Indiana. Her paternal grandfather was abo a physician, 
and her maternal grandfather, Simeon Bryant, was a native of Ohio and 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 343 

a farmer. She had three brothers and was the only daughter. Her mother 
was a native of Hebron, and her father of Athens, Ohio. Her father was 
a soldier in the Mexican war, being the youngest commissioned officer in 
that conflict, and in the Ci\-il war he served as surgeon with the rank of major. 

WILLIAM J. McALEER. 

William J. McAleer, a prominent lawyer of Hammond and prosecuting 
attorney of the thirty-first judicial circuit of the state of Indiana, has had 
seven years of creditable and successful practice at the law, all in Hammond, 
and his popularity in the city and county is shown by his election and re- 
election to the important administrative office which he now holds. He 
was a teacher a number of years, and also followed other occupations before 
taking up the law, and all in all he has had a career of which he may well 
be proud. 

Mr. McAleer was born in Gray county, Ontario, Canada, July 31, 1867, 
a son of John and Frances (Burchill) McAleer, both natives of Canada. 
His mother was one of the fourteen children born to Jason Burchill, a 
native of Ireland and a Methodist preacher, who emigrated to Canada about 
1840, and died there when eighty-four years of age; his wife was Isabell 
Brown, and she lived to be eighty-three years old. The father of John McAleer 
was William McAleer, who was born in Ireland and emigrated thence to Can- 
ada, where he spent the remainder of his long life of ninety-seven years, being a 
farmer by occupation. His wife, Nancy (Brown) McAleer, attained the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-si.x years. 

John McAleer, the father of William J. McAleer, was a Canadian 
farmer all his life. He held the office of reeve for many years, and also other 
minor offices. He died in 1901, at the age of sixty-two years. His wife 
survives him, and is now sixty-three years old. They were both Methodists. 
They were the parents of five children : Edith, the wife of R. T. McGirr, of 
Maford, Canada ; William J. ; Martha, the wife of David Berridge of Thes- 
salon, Algoma, Canada; Annie, the wife of Thomas Brooks, of Thessalon; 
and Robert, of Thessalon. 

Mr. William J. McAleer was reared on a farm in Canada, and after 
a course in the district schools graduated from the Owen Sound Business 
College, in 1886. He then came over into the United States, and for six 



344 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

years was engaged in teaching in Sauit Sic. Marie. Michigan. From there 
he went west to the state of Wasliingtnn. and was employed by the govern- 
ment in the Indian service for two years at Granville, Chehalis county. He 
resigned his position and came to Valparaiso. Indiana, and entered the col- 
lege there. In 1897 he graduated with the degrees of B. S. and LL. B., and 
in the same year was admitted to the bar and commenced the practice of 
law at Hammond. In November, 1900, he was elected to the office of 
prosecuting attorney, leading the Republican ticket in that election, as he 
also did in the election of 1902. He is one of the professors in the law de- 
partment of the Valparaiso Normal College. 

Mr. McAleer has been in the Republican ranks ever since attaining man- 
hood, and is an interested political worker. He afifiliates with Garfield Lodge 
No. 569, F. &. A. M., and also with the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. His residence is at 368 State street. He was married May 21, 1892. 
to Miss Ethelia Hembrofif, a daughter of Joseph and Harriet (Grady) Hemb- 
roff, They have two children, Leoda and Vema. 

JOHN HIGGINS, M. D. 

Dr. John Higgins, who for some time before his death, on April 7, 
1904, lived as a retired physician, was one of the early settlers of Crown 
Point, and in community afifairs was prominent and influential, so tliat his 
life record forms an important chapter in the history of the city in which he 
made his home. He was born in Perry, Wyoming county, New York, May 
28, 1822. Ebenezer Higgins, his grandfather, was born in Connecticut, the 
family having continuously remained in that portion of the country. David 
Higgins, the father, was also born in Connecticut and became a civil en- 
gineer. He married Miss Eunice Sackett, a natixe of Vermont, and his death 
occurred in New York. In their family were ten cliildren, of whom Dr. 
Higgins was the seventh in order of birth He was only about four years 
old when his parents removed from Wyoming county to Osborn, New York, 
where he remained until fourteen years of age. The family home was then 
established at Seneca Falls, where he remained until sixteen years old, when he 
came with his mother to the west, arriving at Chicago, Illinois, on the 2d of 
July, 1838, After a brief period passed in that city he removed to Vermilion 
county, Illinois, where the following winter he was engaged in teaching 




C7%r^.^^' 



/ / 



-i^j<7^y9(^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 345 

school He afterward worked on a farm tlirough the summer months and 
in the winter seasons continued teaching until 1843. \vhen he took up the 
study of medicine. In the winter of 1843-44 lie came to Lake county, In- 
diana, and in May of the latter year establislied his liome at Crown Point. 
where he began studying medicine with Dr. W. C. Farrington, who directed 
his reading for about two years. 

In the year 1850 he went to California, crossing the plains to Sacra- 
mento, and spent a year in the mountains. On the expiration of that 
period he returned to Frankfort, Illinois, and in February, 1859, he estab- 
lished his home at Crown Point, Indiana. There he continued in practice 
until 1861, when he was appointed surgeon of the Twelfth Illinois Cavalry, 
but was employed mainly as a brigade surgeon and in general hospitals in 
Chicago and \\^ashington. where he remained for three years and four months, 
rendering active and efficient aid to tlie wounded soldiers. He made a most 
creditable record as an army surgeon, his aid being of great value to those 
who needed professional services. 

In 1865 Dr. Higgins returned to Crown Point and located where he now 
lives. He was in active and continuous practice until 1900, and he had a 
large patronage, his efiforts being very effective in alleviating human sufifer- 
ing. He kept in touch with modern progress in the line of his profession 
and through broad study maintained a foremost position among the repre- 
sentatives of his calling. He was examiner for different life insurance com- 
panies, and in the early days of his practice he rode for long distances across 
the country, even traveling from twenty-five to forty miles to attend a 
patient, his practice extending into Porter county, Indiana, and into Illinois. 

In 1847 Dr. Higgins was united in marriage to Miss Diantha Tremper, 
who was born in Lewiston county, New York, and died in 1898. They 
had one daughter, Eunice A., who is now the widow of Julius W. Youche. 
Dr. Higgins was a Mason for many years and in early life was a Whig, 
casting his ballot for William Henry Harrison, although he had not then 
attained the age of twenty-one years. He continued to affiliate with the 
Whig party until the organization of the Republican party, after which time 
he was one of its stalwart advocates. He was at the time of his death the 
only surviving member of his father's family of ten children, one of wliom 
died when forty-four years of age, three between the age of sixty and seventy, 



346 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

two between seventy and eighty and two between the ages of eighty and 
ninety. In his practice he was connected with the Indiana Medical Society, 
and was at one time a delegate to the American Medical Association. He 
long maintained a creditable position as a leading representative of the 
medical fraternity of northwestern Indiana, and his prominence in his pro- 
fession was well deserved and his succcess was justly merited. He was 
very widely known throughout this portion of the state because of his active 
connection with the profession, which is of the greatest possible value to 
humanity, and was ever accounted one of its foremost members on account 
of his skill and also because of his fidelity to the ethics of the profession. 

DAVID D. GRIFFITH. 

David D. Griffith is filling the position of city treasurer of Whiting, 
and is one in whom his fellow townsmen have had confidence because his 
ability and fidelity have been tested in business and social life. He was born 
in South Wales on the 20th of March, 1844, and is a son of David and Ann 
(Jenkins) Griffith. The days of his childhood and youth were passed in 
his native country and his education was acquired in the schools there. He 
came to America m 1870, when about twenty-six years of age, attracted to 
the new world by the hope that he might find improved business conditions 
and greater opportunities here. He located first in Hubbard, Ohio, but 
soon removed to Pennsylvania, establishing his home in Oak Hill, that 
state, where he remained for about three years. On the expiration of that 
period he removed to Churchill, Ohio, near Youngstown, and subsequently 
he resided at New Straitsville, Ohio. On leaving there he came to Whiting, 
Indiana, in 1895, and entered the employ of the Standard Oil Company, with 
which he was connected continuously for eight years or until 1903, when, 
following the incorporation of Wliiting as a city, he was elected the first city 
treasurer and is now acting in that capacity. He was chosen to this position 
on the Republican ticket and since coming to America he has been a stanch 
advocate of Republican principles. He keeps well informed on the questions 
and issues of the day and warmly espouses the party by which he was chosen 
lo office. 

In 1865 Mr. Griffith was united in marriage to Miss Annie Owens, a 
native of South Wales, and they are now the parents of six living children, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 347 

three sons and three daughters, namely: William. Sarah. Thomas, Gomer, 
Margaret and Amelia. They also lost one son, David, who was killed hy an 
explosion in a mine in British Columhia, and was under ground for five 
months before discovered. 

Mr. Griffith is quite well known in fraternal circles, being a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias Lodge, of 
which he is now financial secretary; the Whiting Mutual Benefit Association, 
of which he is secretary, and Ivorites Lodge, a Welsh organization. He is 
a very public-spirited man and takes an active interest in all things pertain- 
ing to the welfare and upbuilding of his community. No citizen of Whiting 
is more thoroughly representative or more devoted to the promotion of her 
welfare than Mr. Griffith, whose name is widely known for the prominent 
part he has taken in local mterests. He has never regretted the step which 
he took when he left his native country and came to the new world, for he 
has thorough sympathy with the free institutions and the governmental policy 
of the United States and there is no more loyal American than this adopted 
son. He has lieen connected with the Baptist denomination the most of 
his days, in this and the old country. 

WILLIAM E. SMITH. 

William E. Smith, present incumbent of the office of assessor of Ross 
township, has been identified with the farming interests of Lake county and 
at present owns a farm on section i8. He has lived in this county for over 
forty years, so that he is familiar with most of its history subsequent to 
the real pioneer epoch. During all this time he has had a busy career, devoted 
mainly to agriculture, but has also found time to gi\-e to the management 
of the affairs of his comnnmity, in which he has been esteemed and honored 
throughout his life. 

Mr. Smith was born in Erie count}-. Pennsylvania, June 6, 1847, o" 
the old homestead where his father, .\mns Smith, was born, and where he 
followed farming until his death in young manhood, in 1852. Mr. Smith's 
mother was Harriet (Ellis) Smith, who died in 1858, lea\'ing four orphaned 
children. 

Mr. Smith has a brother. Cm'us. who is a jirominent farmer also in 
section 18 of Ross township, and w li(_ise life history is given 'in other pages. 



348 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. \V. E. Smith \vas renrcil dh the old rennsyKania homestead to tlie age 
of sixteen, receiving his education in the ])ul)lic schools. He came to Lake 
county, Indiana, in 1863, and for a time also attended the pubhc schools 
here. Farming has been his princii)al occupation since arriving at man- 
hood, and his nice farm of fifty acres is well impro\ed and highly cultivated. 

Mr. Smith is a steadfast Republican, and takes considerable interest in 
local politics. He was appointed to the office of assessor, holding it four 
years by appointment, and was then elected for one year, and in 1900 was 
re-elected for a full term, discharging its duties at the present time and hav- 
ing given a most painstaking and satisfactory administration for nine years. 
For several years he also held the office of township supervisor. 

He was first married in 1870, to Miss Cassie Booth, who had one daugh- 
ter, Mabel, now the wife of Frank F. Peterson, a farmer of Ross township. 
Mrs. Smith died in 1874, and in 1881 Mr. Smith married Miss Caroline 
Harper, a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio. There are no cliildren by this 

marriage. 

D. M. VANLOON. 

D. M. Vanloon is one of the revered patriarchs of Hobart. who has 
attained the age of seventy-seven years and who for fifty-seven years has 
been a resident of this part of the state. For a long period he was identified 
with building interests, and has contributed in no small degree to the progress 
and improvement of the community. He is now living retired, and he 
enjoys in high measure the respect and good will of his fellow men, who 
have long been familiar with the history of his upright career. 

Mr. Vanloon was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, December 
18, 1827, his parents being Everett and Elizabeth S. (Miller) Vanloon, wdio 
were natives of Pennsylvania. He remained at home until about twenty-five 
years of age, assisting in the work of the home farm. In the year 1846 he 
became a resident of LaPorte county, Indiana, and the following year arrived 
in Lake county, settling about three miles south of Hobart, where he devoted 
his energies to agricultural pursuits. When twenty-five years of age, how- 
ever, he began learning the carpenter's trade, which he followed for a long 
period, being closely identified with building interests in this portion of the 
state. 

In 1861 Mr. Vanloon responded to his country's call, enlisting as a 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 349 

member of Company H, Ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which he 
served for three months. He was then honorably discharged on account of 
disability. He was one of the first men to enlist from Lake county, but was 
unable to endure the hardships and rigors of war. He then returned to 
Hobart and again took up work at the carpenter's trade, which he followed 
continuously until 1896. In that year he retired from active business life 
and is now enjoying a well merited rest. 

In 1864 Mr. Vanloon was united in marriage to Miss Johanna Switzer, 
and they have become the parents of four children, of whom two are now 
deceased, Elizabeth and James Justin. Those still living are Rudolph D. and 
Lawrence F. 

Mr. Vanloon holds membership with the Hobart Post No. 411, G. A. R., 
and in politics he is an earnest Republican and is now filling the office of 
justice of the peace, being strictly fair and impartial in the discharge of his 
duties. A review of his life record shows that at all times he has been loyal 
to principle, faithful in the performance of every task assigned him, honor- 
able in his business relations and straightforward in all his dealings with his 
fellow men. Moreover, he is entitled to distinction as a pioneer settler of 
Lake county, having been an interested witness of its growth and develop- 
ment for fifty-seven years. Great changes have occurred in that time, and 
Mr. Vanloon has endorsed every measure which he believed would contribute 
to the county's progress, and in his community has aided materially in ad- 
vanctng the substantial upbuilding and development of Hobart. 

JOHN L. FIESTER. 

The business interests of Hobart find a worthy representative in John 
L. Fiester, a general merchant of the town. He has always lived in this sec- 
tion- of the country, and early became imbued with the enterprising spirit 
which has been the dominant factor in producing the wonderful and sub- 
stantial development of the middle west. His birth occurred in Chicago on 
the 28th of November, 1858, his parents being Jacob and Mary (Thering) 
Fiester, both of whom were born in Switzerland. Coming to America in 
early life they were married in this country. The father was employed as a 
fireman in steamboats on the Mississippi river for about ten years, and in 
1854 he went to Chicago, where he secured employment in a rolling mill. 



350 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

His last days, however, were passed in Hobart, where he died in igoo and 
where his widow is still living. They were the parents of thirteen children, 
six of whom yet survive, three sons and three daughters. 

John L. Fiester, the third of the living children, was reared and educated 
in the city of his nativity, where lie remained until eighteen years of age, 
when he secured employment on a farm in Lake county, Indiana, being thus 
employed for five years. He came lo Hobart in 1883, and was engaged in 
the butchering business for five years in partnership with James Roper. He 
then sold out and formed a partnership with Lewis Passow, this relation 
being maintained for two years, at the end of which time Mr. Passow died. 
Mr. Fiester then took entire charge of the business, but a year later admitted 
John Killigrew, and they were together in business for eleven years, when 
Mr. Fiester sold out. He then turned his attention to the hardware trade, 
conducting a store for about six months, and his next venture was in the 
line of jewelry merchandising, becoming proprietor of the store which he 
now owns. He carries a well selected line of general merchandise, and by 
reason of his earnest efforts to please his patrons, his reasonable prices and 
his straightforward dealing, he has secured a patronage that is constantly 
growing and has assumed profitable proportions. 

The home life of Mr. Fiester is very pleasant. He was married June 28, 
1883, to Miss Amanda Passow, a daughter of Ernst and Mamie Passow. 
This union has been blessed with three sons: Frank, Edward and Walter. 
Mr. Fiester is a member of the Independent Order of Foresters, and politic- 
ally is a Democrat. He has been a representative of Hobart's business inter- 
ests for twenty-one years, and his enterprise has contributed to the com- 
mercial activity of the town and at the same time has made his own career 
one of signal success, in which he has risen from a humble financial position 

to one of affiuence. 

W. B. OWEN. 

W. B. Owen, superintendent 01 the National Fire Roofing Company at 
Hobart, Indiana, is a young man whose responsible business position indi- 
cates his marked capability and enterprising spirit. He is numbered among 
Indiana's native sons, his birth having occurred in Porter county on the 
31st of October, 1882. His father, William B. Owen, was born in Crown 
Point, New York, in 1835, and about 1878 became a resident of Porter 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 351 

county, Indiana. He was a prominent brick manufacturer of Porter and 
Lake countits, establishing his home in the latter about 1886. There he 
founded a brick manufacturing plant, which he conducted until his death in 
1901. This became a leading industrial enterprise of the county and was a 
factor in the business prosperity of the community in which it was located. 
Mr. Owen's father was well known in temperance circles, took an active part 
in the work of suppressing the liquor traffic and gave his political allegiance 
to the Prohibition party. He served as town trustee of Hobart for about 
twelve years and was greatly interested in the development and progress of 
the town. He was also a prominent Mason and was an active and zealous 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church, his life being in consistent 
harmony with his professions. He married Miss Annie Pride, a native of 
Glasgow, Scotland, who came to America with her parents when but six 
years old. She was a resident of Chicago for some years, and she died in 
Lake county, Indiana, in November, 1897. Mr. and Mrs. William B. Owen, 
Sr., were the parents of four children, three sons and a daughter: William 
L., who is studying medicine in Chicago; Jessie and Robert, who are de- 
ceased ; and W. B. 

W. B. Owen, the youngest of the family, pursued his early education 
in the public schools of Hobart and afterward attended the Chicago Manual 
Training school for three years. He was then associated with his father in 
business, and in 1902 was made superintendent of the National Fire Roofing 
Company, which position he now holds. He has a thorough and accurate 
knowledge of the business in both principle and detail, and combined with his 
executive force and keen discernment he has been enabled to so control the 
affairs of the company as to make its interests very profitable. He now has 
in his employ one hundred and five men, and the enterprise of which he is 
the head is one of the most important productive industries of the county. 
Fifteen hundred car-loads of the products were shipped in the year 1903. 
The company also owns a large plant at Twin Bluff, Illinois, near Ottawa, of 
which Mr. Owen is superintendent, and there they do about one-half the 
amount of business transacted at Hobart. 

In 1902 Mr. Owen was jomed in wedlock to Miss Eva May Kitchem, 
a daughter of Albert Kitchem. They have one child, Jessie. Like his father, 
Mr. Owen is a most stalwart advocate of temperance principles and gives his 



352 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

political allegiance lo the party which embraces his views on this question. 
He is a memljer of tlie Methodist Episcopal church, and liis has been an 
upright and honorable career. In all of his business life he has never been 
known to take advantage of the necessities of his fellow men, but places his 
dependence upon the sure and safe qualities of energy, good workmanship 
and honorable dealing — which always prove an excellent foundation upon 
which to rear the superstructure of prosperity. 

FRED CASTLE, M. D. 

Dr. Fred Castle, who was formerly engaged in the practice of medicine, 
enjoying a large and lucrative practice and rendering valuable assistance to 
his fellow-men, is now living retired in Lowell. He is a native of Franklin, 
Franklin county, Vermont, his natal day being August 9, 1840. His father, 
Stanley Castle, was also born there and was a farmer by occupation. He 
left New England, however, in 1847, 3"<i made his way westward to Lake 
county, Indiana, locating in Cedar Creek township, where he secured a tract 
of land, which he developed into a rich and productive farm. Prospering 
in his undertakings, he added to his possessions from time to time until his 
realty holdings aggregated about seven hundred acres. 

Dr. Castle is the elder of two children, and was a lad of seven summers 
when brought by his parents to Lake county. His early education was ac- 
quired in an old log schoolhouse, such as was common in pioneer days of 
this portion of the state. He afterward attended Valparaiso College, and, 
while there pursuing his study, enlisted in response to the country's call, 
becoming a member of Company G, Twelfth Indiana Cavalry, in 1863. He 
joined the army as a private, but was made orderly sergeant and did active 
service until the close of the war, when he received an honorable discharge 
from the hospital in which he had been for six months on account of 
rheumatism. 

When the country no longer needed his services Dr. Castle returned 
to Lowell, where he remained for a year and a half, ere he had sufficiently 
recovered his health to engage in active business. At the -end of that time 
he began teaching in the public schools and also taught vocal and instrumental 
music. Later he retired from the field of public-school education in order 
to devote more time and attention to music. He also took up the study of 











3ll«.fe 


r"? ■" 






1^ 


|M|^Kj 


^^ 


^^1 




ijTj^ 


k^l 


T V A 


^N 


yf 



eymo <^^Q,ci^^3/tc6 "^^^^t^^ 




FRED CASTLE 



HISTORY Ol" LAKE COUXTY. 353 

medicine, and after pursuing Iiis reading; fur fi\e }ears lie was grailuated 
from the medical department t>f the University ui Michigan at An.n Arbor 
with the class of i86g He practiced medicine for ten years in Minnesota, 
being located at Caledonia. Huuston county. He was forced to abandon 
the practice, however, on account of riicumatism. and tlien returned to In- 
diana, after whicli he dcxnted Iiis lime to farming for a numljer of years. 
At length he divided his land among his chiUh-en. liut still continues the 
supervision of the property. Dr. Castle owned at one lime about three 
hundred and fifty acres, and he still has control of two hundred and 
fifty acres. 

He was married to his present wife in 1878. She bore the maiden 
name of Rachel EUingsen, and to them have been born three children: 
Carrie M., who is now the wife of Cecil M. Johnson, who resides upon one 
of her father's farms : John ; and Nellie M. 

Prior to the Civil war Dr. Castle was a Democrat, but at that time he 
joined the Republican part)- and has since l^een unfaltering in support of 
the party and its platform. He is a member of Burnham Post, G. A. R., 
and is a Royal Arch Mason. Coming to Lake county in early boyhood days, 
he has witnesed the greater part of its growth and improvement as it has 
emerged from pioneer conditions to take its place among the leading counties 
of this great commonwealth. Whatever has been accomplished here in the 
way of progress and improvement has been to him a matter of deep interest, 
and inasfar as possible he has co-operated in the work for the general good. 

WILLIAM M. FOSTER. 

William M. Fester is the efficient and popular agent of the Pittsburg, 
Fort Wayne and Chicago Railroad at Hobart, and his relations in a business 
and personal way with this city have been most pleasant and profitable. He 
was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, September 16, 1861. His 
father, James Foster, was a native of Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, and 
was of Scotch-Irish descent. He followed the occupation of farming in early 
life, and at one time was engaged in the operation of a sawmill and the manu- 
facture of lumber. At the time of his death, however, he was connected with 
the steel industry in Pittsburg, where he died in 1880. His wife and the 
mother of Mr. Foster was Charlotte Benton, also a native of the Keystone 

2S 



354 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

state, wheie much of her hfe has been passed, but she is now hving in Hobart, 
Indiana, at the age of seventy-five years. Her parents were English born, 
and some of their children were also born in England. James and Charlotte 
Foster had five sons and two daughters: Sarah Antoinette, who died in 
December, 1897; John Benton, who is a foreman in the Edgar Thompson 
Steel Works at Braddock, Pennsylvania; Henry Albert, who was engaged 
with a publishing company at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and was formerly 
train dispatcher at Fort Wayne for the Pittsburg, Fort Wayne and Chicago 
Railroad; William M., who is the fourth child and third son; Marian A., 
who died in infancy; James Alexander, who is a foreman in the machine 
shops of the Pittsburg, Fort Wayne and Chicago Railway, at Fort Wayne, 
Indiana, where he entered as an apprentice, in 1886, and has occupied posi- 
tions in several other machine shops since then, returning to the Pennsylvania 
Company's shops in 1901, and was promoted to his present position of fore- 
man in 1903; and Richard Franklin, a telegraph operator at Liverpool, In- 
diana, with the Pennsylvania system, who was born in Westmoreland county, 
Pennsylvania, July 28, 187 1. This son, the youngest of the family, is an 
especially proficient musician and performer on the mandolin, possessed of 
much artistic skill, besides being so capable in his serious line of work. 

Mr. William M. Foster was reared and educated in Pennsylvania, at- 
tending school at Pittsburg for one year. He was a traveling man for four 
years, representing different lines of business. In 1887 he took up the study 
of telegraphy at Fort Wayne in the office of the Pittsburg. Fort Wayne and 
Chicago Railroad. He had completed his temi of apprenticeship in one year, 
and then served a year as extra operator. In December, 1889, he was given 
a regular position, and in 1892 was appointed relief agent. In 1895 ^^ ^''<is 
transferred from the latter capacity to the post of station agent at Hobart. 
which position he is still filling to the entire satisfaction of iiis company. 
He is a very capable man, and his courtesy in the treatment of the patrons 
of the road has won him high commendation and been a chief factor in his 
success. Mr. Foster is a true-blue Republican, and fraternally is affiliated 
with Camp No. 5202, M. W. A., and with the M. L. McClelland Lodge 
No. 357, of the Masonic order at Hobart. He and his wife are members 
of the Unitarian church at Hobart. 

Mr. Foster's wife^ to whom he was married on June 24, 1896, was 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 355 

Miss Julia C. Butler, a daughter of William M. and Elizabeth (Johnson) 
Butler. The history of her father, a pioneer of Chicago and of Lake countv, 
is detailed below. Mrs. Foster was born in Chicago. July 4, 1871, and she 
spent some of her ^rlhood days in Hobart. She received her education in 
the grammar schools and in th.e Hobart high school, and she completed her 
education in the Valparaiso Normal College. Her own educational qualifica- 
tions led her into teaching, and before her marriage she was known as one 
of the successful teachers in the public schools of Hobart and Liverpool. 
Her interests are still afforded as far as possible to literary affairs, and she 
is a member of the Woman's Reading Club of Hobart. She is among the 
most highly esteemed ladies of Hobart, and her social relations are with the 
best people of the city. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have two children : The son, 
James Moulton, was born July 8, 1897, ^^'^ Helen Virginia was born 
April 30, 1900. 

Shortly after their marriage Mr. Foster purchased a comfortable and 
commodious modern residence on Cleveland avenue in Hobart, really ex- 
changing for it his residence property in Fort Wayne. Mr. Foster takes 
great pride in his nice home, and gives attention to the adornment of the 
nice grounds about the house, while Mrs. Foster does her part so well for 
interior comfort and beauty. 

There follows the obituary of Mrs. Foster's father, as clipped from an 
issue of the local press dated in December, 1895. 

Died, December i, William M. Butler, Sr., one of Hobart's oldest 
residents. He was a native of Watertown, New York, where he was born 
January 22. 1824. He came to Chicago in 1837, and was one of the far- 
sighted pioneers who watched the ' frontier trading post develop, like the 
fairy castles of a single night, into the representative commercial metropolis 
of a continent. Mr. Butler was engaged in the hardware business there 
until the great fire. He then mo\ed to Hobart, where he has ever since 
resided. He leaves a wife and ten children, an interesting family, to whom 
the sincere sympathy of this community is extended in their bereavement. 
The funeral services were held Wednesday forenoon from the home. 

•"We see but dimly through the mists and vapors." — .And perhaps most 
dimly on this earth can we penetrate the veil which covers the inmost heart 
and impulses of our fellow men. We see the puppets play upon the boards ; 



356 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

l)ut of the liand beliind the curtain which contruls and impels them, we knuw 
nothing. 

Mr. Butler'.s was a unique character — rugged, and strong of purpose 
and will. All-sufficient unto himself, he possessed his hopes and his ambi- 
tions, and he fought and struggled for them with a silent determination 
which was only the stronger because its ordinary indications were repressed. 
He had many accjuaintances, yet the number of men who really knew him 
was very few. Those who were permitted to see beneath the stern and 
rugged exterior found something, within the inner self of the man, to under- 
stand and look upon with no little admiration. He had had his troubles 
and his disappointments; and out of them he had brought one strong 3esire 
to provide for the children whose happiness and worldly welfare was, as a 
matter of fact, his highest wish. Taciturn he was, and not given to revealing 
his inner emotions to those about him. And yet he had moments when he 
unbent, when his grim silence seemed to relax; and in those moments, which 
were seldom seen by any except his family, there could be read the better 
nature which dominated his life's hard and really unselfish struggle. 

He possessed in an exceptional degree the refined education and dee]) 
mental grasp which might have made him a highly known student and thinker 
had he chosen. His ideal of life was a plain and far from idyllic one. He 
was faithful to his religious tenets to the end, and in accordance with a 
prevously expressed desire, the funeral address was made by the eloquent 
Cora L. V. Richmond, of Chicago, one of the most brilliant leaders of the 
Spiritualistic exponents in America. Appropriate music was pleasingly ren- 
dered by the quartette choir of the Unitarian church. 

AUGUST CONRAD. 

Perhaps no one business enterprise or industry indicates more clearlv 
the commercial and social status of a town than its hotels. The wide-awake, 
enterprising villages and cities must have pleasant accommodations for vis- 
itors and traveling men, and the foreign public judges of a community by the 
entertainment afforded to the strangers. In this regard the Conrad Hotel, 
of which Mr. Conrad is proprietor, is an index of the character and advan- 
tages of Tolleston, for the hostelry will rank favorably with those of many a 
larger place, and its genial proprietor neglects nothing that can add to the 
comfort of his guests. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 357 

Mr. Conrad is a native of Germany, his birtli lia\ing occurred in tlie 
fatherland on the 9th of September, 1841. He was there reared, his Ixjvhood 
days being quietly passed, and the public schools of Germany afforded him 
his educational privileges. After putting aside his text-lxioks he began 
preparation for life's practical duties by serving an apprenticeship to the 
cabinet-maker's trade. He began when fourteen years of age and worked on 
that way until twenty years of age, when, in accordance with the laws of the 
fatherland demanding military service from every able-bodied son. he joined 
the German army and served for three years. 

Desirous of benefiting his financial condition Mr. Conrad resolved to 
come to America, having heard much of its superior business opportunities 
and possibilities. Accordingly he bade adieu to home and friends and in 
1866 sailed for the new world, landing eventually at New York. He did 
not tarry in the eastern metropolis, however, but made his way at once into 
the interior of the country, locating in Chicago, where he followed his trade 
as an employe until 1870. In that year he removed to Clarke Station, where 
he entered the employ of the Washington Ice Company, but later returned 
to Chicago, although he still remained in the service of the Washington Ice 
Company. In 1879 he came to Tolleston, where he embarked in the hotel 
business, in which he has continued to the present time, covering a period 
of twenty-five consecutive years. As hotel proprietor he is well known. 
being a genial landlord, and has made it his study to understand the needs 
and wishes of his guests and to meet these inasfar as is possible. He has 
obtained a good patronage and has made the Conrad Hotel a credit to the 
town. 

In 1870 was celebrated the marriage of August Conrad and Miss 
Harmena Ratzlow, who died in 1898 leaving four children, namely: Otto. 
Emma. Minnie and Paul, all of whom are yet under the parental roof. 

Mr. Conrad has been quite active and influential in public affairs in his 
community and is a recognized leader of public thought and action in Tolles- 
ton, where his worth and ability have been recognized by election to public 
office. In 1892 he was chosen by popular suffrage to the position of town- 
ship trustee, in which capacity he served in a most acceptable manner for 
four ypars. He then was appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the death 
of Henry Seegers in the office of trustee. He was also supervisor for two 



35S HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

terms, or four years. Mr. Conrad cast his first presidential vote for General 
Grant, but sinre'that time has been a Democrat and is a stanch advocate 
of the party, believing that its platform contains the best elements of good 
government. Mr. Conrad is well known in his part of the county and has 
been identified with its upbuilding and progress through a quarter of a 
century. In every office that he has been caJled upon to fill he has discharged 
his duties with promptness and fidelity so that over the record of his public 
career as well as his private life there falls no shadow of wrong or suspicion 
of evil. He came to America empty-handed, but the strong and salient 
characteristics of the German people have been manifested in his career, and 
the hope that led him to come to the United States has therefore been more 
than realized. As time has passed he has made financial progress and has 
also gained in addition to his material success the good will and confidence 
of those with whom he has been associated. 

ALEXANDER C. THOMPSON. 

Alexander C. Thompson, formerly identified with agricultural interests 
in Hobart and now living a retired life, was born in the town of Streetsboro, 
Portage county, Ohio, on the loth of July, 1838, and is the third son in a 
family of eleven children, whose parents were John and Ehzabeth (Cock- 
bum) Thompson. The father was a native of Edinburg, Scotland, and the 
mother was born in Dalkeith, Scotland. They were married in that country, 
and two of their children were born there, but the others were born in Ohio. 

Alexander C. Thompson was reared in the county of his nativity, pur- 
sued a common school education, and afterward spent one year in Hiram 
College when General James A. Garfield was a teacher there. He was reared 
to farm labor and continued upon the old homestead until 1861, when he left 
the plow and donned the blue uniform in defense of the stars and stripes. 
He enlisted in Company E, First Ohio Volunteer Infantry, as a private, in 
response to President Lincoln's first call for troops. He served for one year 
and then returned to Portage county, Ohio. Later he visited dififerent states 
of the Union and finally located in Ford county, Illinois, at Paxton. There 
he was engaged in farming for four years, after which he came to Lake 
county, Indiana, in 1865. He then bought a farm in Ross township of 
partly improved land, and devoted his attention to its further cultivation and 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 350 

development until 1897. He placed the fields in excellent condition so that 
they returned to him large crops. He made substantial improvements upon 
his land and conducted his farm interests according to the most approved 
plans and progressive ideas. Year by year his financial resources were in- 
creased through the sale of his harvests, and in 1897, with a very desirable 
competence, he retired from business life and took up his abode in Hobart. 

In 1862 Mr. Thompson was united in marriage to Miss Mary J. Wat- 
son, a native of Lorain county, Ohio, and a daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Watson. This marriage has been blessed with three children: Frederick, 
William and Hugh. The family is widely and favorably known in Hobart, 
and their circle of friends is extensive. Mr. Thompson has figured quite 
prominently in public affairs, and his worth and ability have been recognized 
by his fellow citizens, who have frequently called upon him to serve in public 
office. He was county assessor for two years, previously he was assessor of 
Ross township for eighteen years, and in all matters of citizenship has been 
progressive and helpful. His political allegiance is given the Democracy, 
and he is a Mason, belonging to the Hobart Lodge. He has a pleasant home 
in Hobart and other property there, and in addition he owns his valuable 
farm of two hundred acres in Ross township, which he now rents. He has 
one of the old deeds executed by President Fillmore, which is a rare docu- 
ment. 

JOHN HILLMAN. 

In the field of political and commercial life in Hobart John Hillman 
is well known and is numbered among the leading and influential citizens of 
the town. A young man, he possesses the enterprising spirit of the west, 
which has been the dominant factor in producing the wonderful development 
of this section of the country. He is the chief executive officer of Hobart 
and is giving to the town a progressive and business-like administration. 

Mr. Hillman was born in Elgin, Illinois, on the 7th of May, 1870, and 
IS a son of Frederick and Hannah (Moss) Hillman, both of whom were 
natives of Germany, where they spent their childhood days and were mar- 
ried. John Hillman is their youngest son. His mother was twice married 
and has one daughter and two sons by her last marriage. 

In his early boyhood Mr. Hillman was brought to Lake county and was 
reared upon the home farm in Hobart township, pursuing his education in the 



360 HISTORY OV LAKE COUNTY. 

common schools. He remained with his step-father until he started out in 
life on his owh account, and then engaged in the saloon business, which he 
conducted continuously since 1889. He is also a stockholder and director in 
the First State Bank of Hobart, and is thus connected with financial in- 
terests in his part of the count}-. He has also taken an active part in public 
affairs, and is now serving for the third year as a member of the town board 
and at this writing is president of that body. In fact, he has continued as its 
chief executive officer throughout his connection therewith, and his efforts 
in behalf of Hobart have been practical, effective and far-reaching. He is 
chairman of the township central committee of the Republican party, and 
does all in his power to secure Republican successes. Fraternally he is con- 
nected with the Independent Order of Foresters of America. September 27, 
1889, Mr. Hillman was united in marriage to Miss Mary Neiman, and to 
them has been born a son, Fred. They have many warm friends in Hobart 
and throughout the surrounding district, and their own home is noted for 

its gracious hospitality. 

JAMES BRANNON. 

James Brannon, now deceased, was a well-known and highly respected 
citizen of Lake county, and his life record should form a place in the history 
of this section of the state. He was born in Boston, Summit county, Ohio, 
July 31, 1819, and was a son of \Villiam Brannon, a native of Pennsylvania 
and of Irish descent. The father died in Boston, Summit county, Ohio, 
when his son James was but nine years of age. The boy afterward lived 
with an uncle until sixteen years of age, when he started out in life on his 
own account. He worked by the month for two years and never lost a day 
during that time. When living in Ohio he belonged to an independent mili- 
tary company and took part in the drills which were common at that time. 
Although he earned but eight dollars per month at farm labor, he managed 
to save most of the amount, and with the money which he had acquired he 
came to Indiana in 1843, establishing his home in Lake county. Here he 
preempted a tract of land, first owning a farm of eighty acres, to which he 
afterward added forty acres. Later he sold that property and bought a 
soldier's land warrant, wherewith lie secured one hundred and sixty acres of 
land in West Creek township, becoming owner of this property in 1850. 
As a farmer he was energetic, practical and progressive. He worked hard 




Mb^ (SAs.-^^^ /^yta.,^,.,*.!*^ 




^[^k^-^/yxjgji /OAgurt, 



/i^un^X^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 361 

year after year, and as his financial resources increased he extended the 
boundaries of his farm by additional purchases until at the time of his death 
in 1898 he was the owner of seven hundred and fifty acres of very valuable 
land, which had been accumulated through his own industry, perseverance 
and capable management. 

Mr. Brannon was very well known in the county as an honored pioneer 
settler and enterprising agriculturist, and as a citizen he favored public 
progress and improvement along material, social, intellectual and moral lines. 
He served as a trustee of West Creek township for twenty years, and was a 
life-long Republican, heartily endorsing the principles of the party. He 
held membership in the Presbyterian church, in which he served as an elder 
for a number of years and he was very liberal in his contributions to the 
cause of Christianity. His life was at all times actuated by honorable and 
manly principles. 

Mr. Brannon was united in marriage to Miss Eleanor Foster, on the 
17th of May. 185 1. She was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, March 
25, 1832, and was a daughter of Elijah D. and Jemima (Nichols) Foster. 
Her father was born in Brookfield, Massachusetts, and came to Lake county 
in 1843, locating on a tract of land in West Creek township, where he en- 
gaged in general farming throughout his business career. He passed away 
at the advanced age of eighty-three years and his wife lived to be fifty-six 
years of age. Both parents of Mrs. Brannon had been married before, and 
the father had two sons by his former marriage, who were early settlers of 
Lake county, A. D. Foster coming to Indiana in 1837, while George S. 
Foster arrived in 1838. There were but two white families in this part of the 
county at that time. The mother of Mrs. James Brannon was Jemima 
Nichols, and she was lx)rn near Chelsea, Orange county, Vermont, February 
7, 1792. She married first Amos Loveland. He was a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war, entering the ranks at the age of fourteen. He was pres- 
ent at the execution of Major Andre. His occupation was that of an agri- 
culturist. He was a Democrat in his political affiliations. The grandfather 
Nichols was also a soldier in the Revolutionary war. Mrs. Brannon's grand- 
mother was a niece of the celebrated Cotton Mather of historic fame. The 
parents of Mrs. Brannon had ten children, and she was but eleven years of 
age at the time of the removal of the family to this state. She has since 



362 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

lived in Lake county, making her home here from a time in whicli there 
were no frame houses in the county, all the dwelHngs being built of logs. 
She has, therefore, witnessed the greater part of the growth and develop- 
ment of this portion of the state and can relate many interesting incidents 
concerning pioneer life and experience here. To Mr. and Airs. Brannon 
were born five children: Lucina, the wife of M. E. Belshaw ; Julia, the de- 
ceased wife of T. A. Wason; Perry, who lives in North Dakota; George D., 
who is a practicing physician at Crown Point ; and Melvin, who has charge 
of the Biology Department in the State University at Grand Forks, North 
Dakota. 

Mrs. Brannon is the owner of a valuable farm of one hundred and 
seventy-one acres, which she rents. She holds membership in the Presby- 
terian church at Lowell and is well known throughout the county, being a 
representative of one of the honored pioneer families. 

HON. THADDEUS S. FANCHER. 

Hon. Thaddeus S. Fancher has been an attorney at Crown Point, In- 
diana, for over thirty years, and has been interested in the draining and im- 
provement of the swamp land of southern Lake county. He has depended 
on his own efiforts for the advancement made in his profession, having de- 
frayed his early expenses for education by teaching school. He has had a 
very successful career, both from his individual standpoint and for the gen- 
eral welfare, and his services to the county and state as a legislator and 
promoter of public improvements indicate his worth as a citizen. 

His grandfather, Thaddeus S. Fancher, was of French descent, a native 
of Connecticut, and was a pioneer to Huron county, Ohio, where his son, 
T. S. Fancher, was born in 1809. The latter lived all his life on one farm 
in Greenwich township, Huron county, and was a prosperous farmer, living 
to be eighty-four years old. He was a member of the Methodist church. 
He married Amy Chapman, who was born and reared in Richland county, 
Ohio, and is now living in Huron county at the age of eighty-seven. Her 
father, Cyrus Chapman, was of Scotch descent and a pioneer of Richland 
county. These parents had ten children, eight sons and two daughters, and 
five are living at present. 

Hon. Thaddeus S. Fancher, who is the seventh child and fourth son. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 863 

was born in Huron county, Ohio, August 31, 1848, and was reared there. 
His schooHng was received in the familiar Httle red schoolhouse, which was 
situated a mile from his home, and which contained the primitive equip- 
ment of the temples of learning of that day, such as hard slab seats, board 
writing desk, etc. After leaving the district school Mr. Fancher began at- 
tending Oberlin College, teaching school during the winter to pay expenses. 
He came to Crown Point in 1868, and for the following two years read law 
with Major Griffin and taught school. In 1870 he went to the Michigan 
State University at Ann Arbor, and in 187 1 graduated in the law depart- 
ment. He had been admitted to the bar in Crown Point in 1870, and im- 
mediately on his return from Ann Arbor took up practice. He lost no time 
in gaining a client or patronage of some kind, for eighty cents was the entire 
capital to tide him over the initiatory stages of practice. In the same year 
he was married and settled down to the career of usefulness which has 
been continued to the present. In 1873 he was elected county superintendent 
of schools for a term of two years, and was re-elected, but served only a short 
part of this term, resigning to lake up practice. He was prosecuting attorney 
of the county for four years, and in 1879 was elected to the state legislature 
by the Republican party. In 1881 he was returned to his seat by the largest 
majority ever given any candidate in the county up to that time. He was 
eighty-one days in the first session and one hundred and one in the second, 
two of the longest sessions on record. The state statutes were revised at the 
time, and he was one of the revision committee. Since 1881 he has been con- 
tinuously engaged in practice and also in dealing in land. 

Mr. Fancher owns a large tract of land in Lake county, and for the 
past fifteen years has made a specialty of constructing ditches and draining 
marsh land. He has had the legal business involved in the construction of 
over one hundred and fifty miles of ditching, authorized under the law of 
1 88 1 passed while he was a member of the legislature, and which has cost 
the landowners up to this time two hundred thousand dollars, and has re- 
sulted in untold benefit to the citizens of Lake county. This land in the Calu- 
met district was formerly worth c<imparatively nothing, but now sells for 
sixty, seventy and eighty dollars per acre. The first ditch which he con- 
structed in the Kankakee marsh in 1885 is known as the Singleton ditch, and 
is seventeen miles long and cost seventeen thousand dollars. 



364 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Fancher married, in 187 1, Miss Ardelle Washborn, a daugliter of 
Charles A. and Marietta (Griffin) Washborn. The}- have one son, Thad- 
deus Milton Fancher, who is attending the schools of Crown Point. Mr. 
Fancher is a member of the Masonic order and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

CHARLES E. NICHOLS. 

Charles E. Nichols, a representative of the business life of Lowell, is 
engaged in dealing in hay, grain and seeds. He has lived in Lake county 
throughout his entire life, his birth having occurred in West Creek township, 
on the 14th of December, 1861. His grandfather, William Nichols, was 
born in New York and was of French and English descent. His father. 
H. R. Nichols, was born in Madison county, New York, and came to Lake 
county in 1836, casting in his lot among the pioneer settlers of this portion 
of the state. He first located in Crown Point, afterward lived in Cedar 
Creiek township, and subsequently in West Creek township, Lake county ; 
he entered land from the government and developed the wild tract into richly 
cultivated fields, continuing his active connection with farming intere.sts 
throughout the period of his business career. He lived to be seventy-nine 
years of age and spent sixty-two years of that time in Lake county. His 
early political" allegiance was given to the Whig party, and upon its dissolu- 
tion he joined the ranks of the new Republican party, with which he con- 
tinued to affiliate until his death. He was well known in this portion of 
Indiana, and as a pioneer settler he aided in laying broad and deep the 
foundation for the present development and progress of the state. The 
mother of our subject bore the maiden name of Phoebe Eliza Kenyon, and 
was a native of Rhode Island, whence she was brought to Lake county, 
Indiana, in 1838, when but twelve years of age. Her father, John C. Kenyon, 
was one of the earliest settlers of Lake county and made his home at Pleasant 
Grove from the time of his arrival in this state until his death, which occurred 
in 1888. Mrs. Nichols still survives her husband, and now resides in Lowell 
in her seventy-eighth year. She has been a resident of Lake county for sixty- 
five years, and has, therefore, been a witness of the greater part of its 
growth, development and upbuilding. She can relate many interesting inci- 
dents of pioneer days and is familiar with its history from the period of 
early settlement here down to the present time. To Mr. and Mrs. H. R. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 365 

Nichols were born six children, three sons and three daughters, all of whom 
were natives of Lake county, while five are still living, namely : " William C, 
a resident of Lowell ; Irving, who died at the age of thirty-one years ; 
Hannah N., the wife of Mortimer Gragg, of Topeka, Kansas; Ella M., the 
wife of Cyrus Dickenson, of Lowell ; and Alma, the wife of Edson Foster, 
of Chicago Heights, Illinois. 

Charles E. Nichols, the youngest member of the family, was but six 
years of age when his parents removed from the farm to Lowell and there 
he began his education in the public schools. No event of special importance 
occurred to vary the routine of life for him in his boyhood. When nineteen 
years of age he entered business life as a dealer in hay and grain, being asso- 
ciated with his father and brother from 1880 until 1886. In the latter year 
he went to Chicago, where he was engaged in the same line of business for 
about seven months, and from 1887 until 1890 he was a grain dealer of 
Crown Point. He again went to Chicago, in 1890, where he remained 
for about a year and while there was a member of the board of trade. In 
1891 he returned to Lowell, since which time he has engaged in dealing in 
hay, grain and seeds at this place. He makes large purchases and sales, and 
his well conducted business interests have brought to him very gratifying 
success. He has now a very large patronage, and his annual sales reach 
an extensive figure. He is a stockholder and director in the Lowell National 
Bank and is well known in business circles as one whose success is the 
legitimate outcome of his energy, determination and honorable dealing. 

In 1888 Mr. Nichols was united in marriage to Miss Edna May Smith. 
a daughter of T. M. Smith, of Hammond, Indiana, and they have one child. 
Stella. Mr. Nichols belongs to Colfax Lodge No. 378, F. & A. M., and to 
Lowell Lodge No. 300, K. of P. In politics he has ever been a stanch 
Republican, has served as a member of the school board, and takes an active 
interest in the cause of education and in everything pertaining to the welfare 
and upbuilding of his native county. With the exception of the brief inter- 
vals passed in Chicago, he has always resided within the borders of Lake 
county, and his life record is therefore well known to his fellow-citizens here, 
while the fact that many of his stanchest friends are numbered among those 
with whom he has been acquainted from boyhood is indicative of the fact 
that his career has ever been such as to command respect and confidence. 



366 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

In July, 1904, Mr. Nichols was appointed by the President of the National 
Hay Association, chairman of the Arbitration National Committee. At the 
ronvention at St" Louis, Missouri, Mr. Nichols attended and it was subse- 
quently that he was appointed to tliis responsible position. 

HORATIO R. NICHOLS. 

Horatio R. Nichols was l)orn in Fenner, Madison county. New York, 
January 25, 1818, and died in Lowell, April 13, 1897, leaving to mourn him 
a devoted wife, five children, four sisters and one brother, one son, three 
sisters, and one brother having preceded him to the Spirit Land. His age 
at the time of death was seventy-nine years, two months and seventeen days. 

Mr. Nichols worked upon his father's farm, following the usual routine 
of a farmer boy's life; that is, laboring on the farm duriiig the summer, 
attending the district school in winter, until he had reached his eighteenth 
year. At this time a tide of emigration set in towards the great and grow- 
ing west. A strong desire took possession of Mr. Nichols to see the western 
cinmtry, and, although yet in his teens, he, in company with his brother, 
bade adieu to the old homestead and set upon their journey towards the 
setting sun. They reached LaPorte, Indiana, June 2, 1836. Here he sought 
and obtained work on a farm, where he remained until December following, 
when he again started west, arriving in this county the same month. Liking 
the appearance of this part of the country he concluded to settle here. A 
man by the name of Nolan who preceded Mr. Nichols about two years to 
this county, lived in a little cabin near where the brickyard of H. J. Nichols 
was, which is now Washington street on the west side. The Nichols brothers 
purchased Nolan's claim, which then included a large share of the site of 
Lowell, for which they paid two hundred and fifty dollars. Mr. Nolan moved 
farther west. In the following May Mr. Nichols moved onto his claim, 
where he and his brother continued to live alone for several years. They 
were known by the neighbors as "the old bachelors." After having "batched 
it" for five years Mr. Nichols concluded it was not "good for man to be 
alone." So he wooed, :Won and wedded Miss Phoebe E. Kenyon, January 
23, 1845. Fifty years from that date a golden wedding was given in their 
capacious west side home. Mr. Nichols was converted and united with 
the Methodist Episcopal church at the age of thirteen years and reunited 




&l0u '%^Mmu, 




/^/t ^/yf&^t^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 367 

with the church in Lowell under the ministry of J. F. McDaniel. His first 
vote for president was cast for Martin Van Buren in 1840. Thus you see 
he identified himself with the Democratic party, but being of philanthropic 
turn of mind and believing that all men should be free he Iwcafne a Free 
Soiler. Since 1856 he has voted with the Republican party. At the time 
Mr. Nichols settled here his nearest neighbor on the west was Robert 
Wilkinson, who lived where Mrs. Marvin now lives. Jacob Mendintball 
lived where Captain J. L. Manning now lives; Samuel Bryant, Duane 
Bryant and Elias Bryan lived on the Perry Jones farm, Ross Sanger farm, 
and John Nichols farm, respectively. Although Mr. Nichols was not one of 
the oldest settlers here he lived to see this part of the country reclaimed and 
made to blossom and bloom as the rose. 

Funeral services, which were attended by a large concourse of sorrow- 
ing friends, were held at the Methodist Episcopal church, the Rev. J. B. 
Sites, assisted by Rev. E. P. Bennett, officiating, after which the mortal 
remains of the beloved man were interred in the Lowell cemetery, there to 
rest until the great judgment day comes. 

WILLIAM SCHARBACH, SR. 

Numbered among the leading business men of Hobart is William Schar- 
bach, a dealer in lumber and building materials. He is a native son of Ger- 
many, and in his career has manifested many of the strong and sterling traits 
of the people of the fatherland. His birth occurred in Sophienhofif bei 
Demmin, Stettin, October 15, 1843, l^'s parents being William and Mary 
(Stoll) Scharbach, both of whom are now deceased. His father came to the 
United States in 1867, locating in Chicago. 

In taking up the personal history of William Scharbach we present to 
our readers the life record of one who is widely and favorably knov^rn in 
Hobart and Lake county. His education was acquired in Germany, and he 
remained there until after he had attained his majority. He was but twenty- 
four years of age, when in 1867 he bade adieu to friends and native land and 
sailed for the United States, hoping that he might find better business oppor- 
tunities in the new world. He did not tarry long on the Atlantic coast, but 
made his way at once into the interior of the country, locating in Chicago, 
where he was engaged in the lumber business. He came to Hobart in 1893 



368 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

and established the lumber yard which he is now conducting. He deals in 
all kinds of lumber and building materials, and has developed an enterprise 
which has reached extensive and profitable proportions. Ernestly desiring 
to please his patrons, he has through his obliging manner, honorable dealing 
and reasonable prices won a large share of the public trade. He also con- 
ducts a planing mill in connection with the lumber trade. 

In 1868 Mr. Scharbach was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Hagen, 
who was born in Germany and came to America in 1867. They have five 
children: Frank, William, Emil, Bernhard and Frederick. 

Mr. Scharbach is recognized as a stalwart Republican and has been 
town trustee for one term, but his time and attention are chiefly devoted to 
his business interests, in which he has met with signal success. 

Frank C. Scharbach, the eldest son of William Scharbach, was born in 
Chicago, January 31, 1873, ^"^ was largely reared in that city, attending 
German schools. He was also a student in Concordia College at Milwaukee, 
Wisconsin, for three years, during which time he made a special study ot 
languages. After completing his education he joined his father in the lum- 
ber business. He was twenty years of age when he came to Hobart, and 
he is now a well known factor in commercial circles. He, too, is a stanch 
Republican and is very active in the work of his party, serving as chairman 
of the township central committee. He is now precinct committeeman of the 
second precinct of Hobart township. On the 29th of September, 1895, he 
wedded Miss Mary Schumacher, a daughter of John Jeremiah Schumacher, 
and they have one daughter, Gertrude. Both Mr. Scharbach and his son 
are well known, and the business enterprise and laudable ambition of the 
young man, supplementing the sound judgment of the senior partner, render 
this firm a very strong one in Hobart. 

WILLIAM EDWARD BELSHAW. 

William Edward Belshaw, formerly identified with agricultural and 
horticultural interests in Lake county and now living a retired life in Lowell, 
manifested throughout his business career those sterling traits of character 
which lead to honorable and satisfactory success. He was resolute and 
energetic and these qualities were resultant factors in winning him the pros- 
perity that he now enjoys. He was born in West Creek township, Lake 




4^0 



^(K-^^^n^l<X^(A^ 



AZi^?^^'^.^?.-/^/ 




^^/^^^ 



^--JjJJ^-'it/^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 369 

county, September 28, 1848. His father, William Belshaw,. was a native 
of England and when a young man came to America, locating at Door 
Prairie. LaPorte county, Indiana, whence he came to Lake county about 
1836. Few settlements had been made within the borders of this county 
at that time. Much of the land was still in possession of the government, 
and in consequence was uncnlti\ated and unimproved. The streams had 
not been bridged and the forests were uncut, and it remained to such ejiter- 
prising and progressive citizens as Mr. Belshaw to reclaim the wild district 
for the purposes of civilization. He secured a tract of land from the gov- 
ernment and developed a good farm in West Creek township, whereon he 
spent his remaining days, his life labors being ended in death when he was 
seventy-one years of age. pis religious views were in harmony with the 
doctrines of what is known as the Church of God. He married Harriet 
Jones, a native of Ohio, in which state she was reared until eight years of 
age, when she came to Lake county, Indiana, with her father, Harry Jones, 
the family home being established in West Creek township amid the condi- 
tions of frontier life. Mrs. Belshaw lived to be about sixty-eight years of 
age. By her marriage she became the mother of seven children, three sons 
and four daughters, of whom one daughter died in infancy. The others are 
all living, as follows : William Edward, of this review ; Mrs. Mary Cath- 
cart, of LaPorte, Indiana ; Florence, the wife of James Chitwood, of Lowell ; 
Charles, who is a resident of Oregon; Lucy, the wife of Sherman Hayden, 
of Los Angeles, California; and John, a farmer, of Eugene, Oregon. 

William Edward Belshaw was reared under the parental roof upon the 
old homestead farm in West Creek township. His education was acquired 
by attending the common schools for about two months in the winter season, 
and throughout the remainder of the year he worked upon the home farm, 
doing such service as his age and strength permitted. As the years ad- 
vanced he gained in proficiency and he continued to assist his father until 
twenty-four years of age. 

On Christmas day of 1874 Mr. Belshaw was united in marriage to 
Miss Lucina Brannon, daughter of James and Eleanor (Foster) Brannon, 
who are mentioned on another page of this work. Mrs. Belshaw is their 
oldest child and was born and reared in West Creek township, Lake county. 
Mrs. Belshaw received her primary education in the district schools and 

24 



370 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Lowell high school and then she was a student in the Western Female Sem- 
inary at Oxford, Ohio, for two years. She was a successful teacher in her 
native county for six years. Religiously she is a memher of the Presbvterian 
church, and was also a teacher in the Sunday schools. 

She is the mother of six children, three sons and three daughters, and 
five are living, as follows : J. W. Belshaw is a scccessful attorney-at-law in 
Lowiell; he graduated in the class of 1892 in the Lowell high school and 
afterwards was a student in the Normal at Valparaiso. He was a teacher 
one year in the Lowell high school and a number of years in his native 
county. He read law with Attorney R. C. Wood and upon his bein^ ad- 
mitted to the bar began the practice of his profession at Lowell. He 
wedded Miss Maud Holshaw, in July, 1898, and one little daughter graces 
this union, by name Ernestine. He has an attractive residence in Lowell, 
and is one of the representative citizens of the village. Lewis D., a resident 
of West Creek township and a farmer, wedded Miss Emma Stuppy, and has 
two daughters, Mabel and Edith. Lewis graduated from the teachers' course 
in Valparaiso Normal and taught four years in Lake county. His wife was 
also a teacher in the same county. Albert B., also a resident of West Creek 
township and a practical farmer, wedding Miss Matilda Hadders. Julia, 
at home with her parents, was educated in Lowell high school, but her 
chosen profession is music. She was educated in music at Steinway Hall at 
Chicago, and is a successful teacher in west Lake county. She is a member 
of the Presbyterian church. Edith, the youngest, is in the fourth grade of 
the public schools. Mrs. Belshaw's progenitors were heroes in the Revolu- 
tionary war and the direct descendants are eligible to become members of 
the society of Sons and Daughters of the Revolution. Mrs. Belshaw went 
with her husband as a bride to a part of the old Belshaw homestead in West 
Creek township, and there Mr. Belshaw was engaged in general farming 
until 1895. In that year he built his present brick residence in Lowe'!, took 
up his abode thereon and is now engaged in fruit-growing. His life has 
been characterized by unfaltering industry and good management, and suc- 
cess has attended his efforts. He is now the owner of a farm of one hun- 
dred and thirty-six acres, on which his son resides. He is also a stockholder 
in the State National Bank, of Lowell, and his wife is the owner of a farm 
of one hundred and thirty acres in West Creek township, to which Mr. 
Belshaw gives his personal supervision. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 371 

Mr. Belshaw gives his political allegiance to the Democracy and has 
been chairman of the township central committee. He takes an active interest 
in the work of the party, and his efforts in its behalf have been effective and 
far-reaching in the locality where he resides. He is at the present writing 
nominee for county treasurer on the Democratic ticket. He keeps well 
informed on the questions and issues of the day antl also has a broad general 
knowledge of matters touching the general interests of society and the 
welfare of the country. Having spent his entire life in Lake county, he is 
well known to its citizens, and the fact that many of his friends are num- 
liered among those who have known him from boyhood is an indication that 
his career has been honorable, straightforward and worthy of resjject. 

WESLEY PATTEE. 

Wesley Pattee, of West Creek township, belongs to that better class 
of citizens whose lives form the truest history of any portion of country, 
national or local, and his genealogical and personal record has many points 
of interest and worth to add to the value of this history of Lake county. 

He is a native of northwestern Lidiana, having been born in the county 
of LaPorte, May 22. 1836. He was the fifth of a family of eight children, 
six sons and two daughters, whose parents were Lewis and Susan (Mun- 
ger) Pattee, and he is the youngest of the three yet living, the otlier two 
being. Cjrus, married and a retired farmer of Lowell; and Soplironia, wife 
of X'olney Dickey, of Grant Park, Illinois. Two of the sons were in the 
Ci\il war as members of Company B. Twentieth Indiana Infantry, and were 
taken prisoners at the battle of Gettysburg and starved in the prison pens of 
Libbv and Belle Isle. Mr. Pattee's father was born in Montreal, Canada, in 
1803, and died aged seventy-three in 1876, He lived in Canada until he was 
of age. then came to Huron county. Ohio, where he remained till after bis 
marriage, and took up his abode in LaPorte county. Indiana, at the fi'-st 
years of that county's history. From there, after a few years" residence, he 
moved over to West Creek township in this county, and twenty years later 
became a resident of Kankakee county, Illinois, where he passed the rest 
of his life. He purchased four hundred acres of land in this latter county, 
and in his later years enjoyed very comfortable circumstances. He was a 
successful man in business affairs, was known for his decided and strong 



372 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

character, and made his influence felt wherever he lived. His ancestry was 
traced back to France, while his wife was of Scotch lineage. His wife, 
Susan Munger by maiden name, was born in Seneca county. New York, in 
1803, and she attained the great age of ninety-two years. She was a Pres- 
byterian in faith. 

Mr. Pattee was reared in LaPorte county during the first twelve years 
of his life, and then in Lake and Kankakee counties. He is one of the men 
of the present who can look back to a log cabin school as the scene of their 
first educational experiences. The building which he recalls having attended 
in West Creek township was constructed of hewn logs and was about twelve 
by twenty feet in dimensions. He did his writing on a long board placed 
aslant on pins driven into the wall, and he sat on a rough bench with no 
back. The teacher's place of honor was a mere stool. Light and ventilation 
came through the apertures left by the removal of two logs, filled in with 
panes of glass. He studied the elementary spelling book and Smith's arith- 
metic, while seated around the big box stove that occupied the center of 
the room. Subscription schools were the only kind known at that time, and 
twenty dollars was looked upon as a munificent salary to pay a teacher each 
month. During his own lifetime and in this very township of West Creek 
Mr. Pattee has witnessed a progression and even revolution of educational 
methods and equipment such as were not brought about in all the centuries 
before the time of his youth. And not alone in education has Mr. Pattee 
seen and been a part of progress. He and his wife well remember when 
not a railroad crossed the bounds of Lake county, while now fifteen lines 
network the county in every direction. He has been in Chicago when the 
teams would mire down on the State street thoroughfare; Lowell was not 
thought of in his youth, and while he was growing up the now rich agri- 
cultural region of West Creek township was mainly a marsh. 

When Mr. Pattee was twenty-six years old, on December 13, 1862, he 
married Miss Elizabeth Pattee, and they have lived and plied their daily 
tasks side by side now for over forty years. During this time six children, 
three sons and three daughters, were born to them, and thi-ee are living. 
Hattie i$ the wife of Richard Sailor, a prosperous farmer of Eagle Creek 
township; this county, and they have seven children, all living, Walter, Mun- 
ger, Elmer, Chester, Mabel, Cirilla and Mildred, of whom Walter and Mun- 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 373 

ger have reached the eighth grade in school ; Mrs. Sailor was a teacher for t\\ o 
years in her home county. Miss Cora, who was educated in the Lowell 
high school, is noted for her special proficiency as an artist m crayon and 
oil, and some of her finely wrought crayon pieces hang on the walls of the 
Lowell National Bank and attract attention from all visitors, while her 
exhibits at the county fair ha\e always won the ribbons. Cyrus, the only 
son living of Mr. and Mrs. Pattee, took two years' work in the Lowell high 
school and completed the course in the Vories Business College at Indian- 
apolis in 1902. He is a member of the Lowell band, affiliates with the 
Knights of Pythias, lodge No. 300, at Lowell, and with the Knights of 
Columbia Council No. 37. and is a stanch Republican and an ardent supporter 
of "Teddy" and his party. 

Mrs. Pattee was hnn on Door prairie, Scipio township, LaPorte county, 
February 13, 1837, and was the second in a family of twelve children, six 
sons and six daughters, she being the oldest of the five survivors; Melvina 
is the wife of C. C. Pattee, a retired farmer of Lowell ; Emily is the widow 
of Israel Koplin, of Kansas; George is married and farming in LaPorte 
county; and James is married and residing on the old homestead in LaPorte 
county. Mrs. Pattee's father was born in Canada and came to Huron county, 
Ohio, at the age of twelve, growing to manhood there. He was a carpen- 
ter and joiner by trade, and was also a sailor on the great lakes, having put 
into the port of Chicago when there were but two houses there. He came 
to LaPorte county and purchased land of the government, being among the 
very early settlers of that county, and his son James has in his possession 
the parchment deed to the land. He was an old-line Whig and later a 
Republican. He and his wife were members of the Baptist church at Dour 
Village, and he helped erect the edifice there. His wife was born in Huron 
county, Ohio, and was seventy years old at the time of her death. 

Mr. and Mrs. Pattee began their domestic life in Yellowhead township 
in Kankakee county, Illinois, and lived for a time in a little log cabin home, 
but prosperity soon came to them and gave them a good home and com- 
fortable circumstances. They resided in Kankakee coimty until i88j. when 
they took up their home a half a mile from the postoffice of Lowell in West 
Creek township. They remodeled the house into a pretty country residence, 
put up various good buildings on the farm, and their estate is now known 



374 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

as one of the valuable and model farm properties of the township. They 
have one hundred and six acres lying in West Creek and Cedar Creek town- 
ships, and of this twenty-si.x acres lie within the corporation of Lowell. 
One of their valued possessions is a parchment deed executed April i, 1848, 
under the signature of President Polk, and this is one of the few docu- 
ments of the kind in west Lake county. 

Mr. Pattee is a Republican, having cast his first presidential vote for the 
first Republican nominee. General Fremont, and he has never deviated in his 
support of the Grand Old Party. Mrs. Pattee is a member of the Chris- 
tian church. 

DANIEL BEAUMAN STURTEVANT. 

Daniel Beauman Sturtevant, of section 28, Ross township, has li\ed in 
this vicinity all his life, and from his boyhood days of sixty years ago to 
the present almost the entire development of Lake county has taken place, so 
that few men are better informed by actual personal experience of the ma- 
terial history of this portion of the county. He has lived continuously on 
one farm for over fifty-five years, and all the associations and interests of his 
life are bound up with it, and there it is his good pleasure to pass the re- 
maining days of his busy and prosperous career and await the summons 
from an activity that has borne much fruit and been worthy and beneficial 
to the community in general. 

Mr. Sturtevant was born in Porter county, Indiana, just three miles 
east of the farm where he has lived so long, on April 27, 1840. His father, 
John Sturtevant, was born in the town of Bartor>, Vermont, in 1806, and 
was reared, educated and married there. He came to LaPorte county, In- 
diana, in 1833, being one of the first carpenters to follow his craft in that 
now populous county. In 1836 he moved to Porter county, locating on 
the farm where he remained until 1848, when he settled on the old farm 
in Lake county now owned by his son, and where he died on January i, 
1858. He belongs to the list of early settlers of the county, and was also 
successful in his general career. He married Miss Louise Cass, who was a 
native of New Hampshire and a cousin of Dr. Lewis Cass, who was one of 
the pioneers and foremost men of Lake county. She died at the age of 
thirty-eight years, having been the mother of three sons and three daughters. 

Mr. D. B. Sturtevant, who was the second child and eldest son, was 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTV. 375 

eight years old when he went with iiis parents to Lake county, so that most 
of his boyhood was spent on tlie farm which as a man he has tilled and made 
the source of his livelihood. He is now the owner of about five hundred 
acres, some of it in Porter county, and on this he is still actively engaged in 
general farming and stock-raising. He has about a hundred and fifty head 
of cattle and a good lot of hogs. His farm is one of the model places of the 
township, and he has made it so mainly by his own labors and most efficient 
management. Mr. Sturtevant was a raiser of the registered Herefords for 
a number of years, but has now retired from that business. He has given 
his best years and efforts to this life work, but has also taken an intelligent 
interest in the world about him, co-operating in community affairs and regu- 
larly casting his ballot at national elections for Democratic principles. 

Mr. Sturtevant was married in 1866 to Miss Eugenie Wood, who was 
born in Iowa, but came to Lake county in girlhood. They are the parents 
of four children, John, Judson, Flora and Carrie. John was a student of 
Valparaiso College. Mrs. Sturtevant was born in Keosauqua, Iowa, Octo- 
ber 31, 1844, a daughter of John and Caroline (Brown) Wood. Her father 
was a native of Vermont and her mother of Virginia. Her great-grand- 
father, David Wood, was a hero in the Revolutionary war, and the gun he 
carried in the war is yet in the family as a souvenir. 

Mrs. Sturtevant was reared and educated in Ohio. She came from a 
family of teachers. Mrs. Sturtevant is a member of the Christian church of 

Deep River, Indiana. 

} EDWIN MICHAEL. 

Edwin Michael is one of the native born citizens of Lake county and 
one who has an honored place in the county as an upright man and citizen. 
He is one of the oldest of those still living who were born in this county of 
Lake. He was born September 17, 1840, being the older of the only two 
living children of John J. and Wealthy Ann (Green) Michael, his brother 
being William H. Michael, who is a prosperous farmer in this county and 
a raiser of blooded Durham cattle, and whose personal history will be found 
on other pages of this work. 

His father was a native of New York state, was born March 22, 18 11, 
and cfied about 1898. He was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and in the 
after years of his career followed farming. He was reared to the age of 



376 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

twenty-eight in New York state, receiving his education in the old-fashioned 
pubhc schools of that early epoch. About 1839 he came to Lake count), 
Indiana, having been married to Miss Green in the state of Michigan. He 
was a poor man when he came to this county, and liis first purchase of real 
estate was one hundred and sixty acres of state land, at- a cost of about a 
dollar and a half an acre. His first habitation was a litle log cabin, in which 
his son Edwin and the other children were born. He added to his land until 
his estate at one time comprised three hundred acres of choice land. He 
was in politics an old-line Whig, merging later into a Republican, the cardinal 
tenets of which parly he advocated all his life. He and his wife were Bap- 
tists. His wife, who was a native of Michigan, died at the age of about 
twenty-six years, when her son Edwin was about six years old. 

Mr. Edwin Michael was reared in Lake county, with the exception of 
fouf years spent in Westville, LaPorte county. He received a good com- 
mon school education and had the benefit of attendance at the well-known 
Westville high school. He also took the literary course at the old University 
of Chicago, when that institution was located on Cottage Grove avenue. He 
taught school for two years in Haskell station in LaPorte county, and for 
two years in Lake county. He is a man of more than ordinary intellectual 
attainments, and as a farm.er and as a business man has been noted for his 
progressive ideas and energetic activity. 

When this country was in the throes of war and civil strife he bravely 
oflfered his ser\'ice?, and his life if need be, to the Urtion and the honor of 
the old flag. He enlisted at Lowell, August 12, 1862, in Company A, 
Ninety-ninth Indiana Infantry, and his regiment rendezvoused at South 
Bend. The first captain was Daniel F. Sawyer, but before the company re- 
turned from the front there were three other captains, namely, K. M. Burn- 
ham, R. H. Wells and Alfred H. Heath. His regiment was assigned to the 
western department under General Sherman, and he was with this intrepid 
commander on his most memorable campaign. He participated at the siege 
and capture of Vicksburg, was at the battles of Lookout Mountain, Chatta- 
nooga and Missionary Ridge, being in the charge up the east end of Mission- 
ary Ridge. Then he was under fire for one hundred continuous days during 
the Atlanta campaigh. At the battle of Resaca he was in the hottest fight of 
his career, one of his comrades being shot down at his side and he himself 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 377 

narrowly escaping the storm of death. He was on the skirmish line at the 
fierce engagement at Dallas. He made tlie famous march to the sea across 
the state of Georgia, in which Sherman's men cut a swath sixty miles wide. 
From the sea he was on the long march up through the Carolinas on to 
Washington city. Two dates in his soldier's life he will never forget — the 
surrender of Lee and the assassination of Lincoln. He was at Raleigh, 
North Carolina, when the glad intelligence of the former reached the tired 
army, bringing joy and hope of home and friends to the poor soldiers. And 
five days later the death of the martyr president cast a gloom over the entire 
army previously so happy. On reaching Washington he participated in the 
grand review of Sherman's battle-scarred and tattered veterans, and on June 
5, 1865, he received his honorable discharge, after having served his country 
faithfully for three years. He then went home and donned the peaceful garb 
of a civilian, to participate for the rest of his life in the work and public 
activity of his home community. 

Mr. Michael married, January i, 1866, Miss Thirza H. D3'er, and five 
children, a son and four daughters, have graced this union : Margaret A. is 
the wife of H. D. Gerrish, who is engaged m mining in Bay Horse, Idaho, 
and they have one child, Karlton. Earl J., who is a general merchant and 
dealer in mining supplies in the same locality of Idaho, married Miss Roles 
and has one daughter. Miss Ida L., who was educated in the common 
schools and at the Valparaiso Normal, has been a successful teacher in the 
city schools of Hammond for the past three years, and also taught four years 
in her home township. Miss Julia M., who was educated in the Hammond 
high school and at Valparaiso, is at home with her father; is a teacher in her 
home township, and taught for two years in Idaho. Miss Edna R. was 
educated in the Hammond high school and is a teacher in Bay Horse, Idaho. 
Mr. Michael m.ay well feel a large degree of pride in his children's enviable 
record in the field of active life. 

Mrs. Michael was bom in Wheaton, Illinois, February 4, 1844, and for 
some time was a successful teacher in that state. She is now an invalid. 

Mr. Michael was old enough to cast a vote for Lincoln's second election, 
but was not permitted, to vote because of being in the ranks. However, he 
has actively supported every candidate of the Grand Old Party ever since. 
He was elected in 1888 to the office of trustee of his township, this being 



378 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the most onerous public office in the county. During his incumbency he 
supervised the erection of three schoolhouses and had to look after the wel- 
fareof twelve schools. He is a man well fitted by intelligence, experience 
and personal integrity to fill any office his fellow-citizens may give him, and 
he is public-spirited and thoroughly interested in everything pertaining to 
the growth and advancement of the county. His farm comprises one hundred 
and seventy-four acres of fine land all in West Creek township, and in the 
summer of 1903 he erected one of the most beautiful and modern residences 
in the township. Fraternally Mr. Michael is a member of Burnham Post 
No. 2j6, G. A. R., he being past commander. There are about sixty-five 
active members of the post at this writing, which is a large body considering 
the fact that the Grand Army is the only organization which never increases 
in number. 

FRANK P. SHERART. 

When the tocsin of war sounded in 1861 and men from all stations and 
walks of life flocked to the standard of the country to uphold the Union 
cause. Frank P. Sherart was among the .number who donned the blue uni- 
form and went to the south in defense of the nation's starry banner, and in 
all matters of citizenship he has Ijeen equally loyal even though he has not 
worn the dress of the soldier. A native of Erie county, Ohio, he was born 
on the 28th of December, 1836, and is a representative of an old Pennsyl- 
vania family of German lineage. His father, George Sherart, was born in 
Pennsylvania in 1800 and in 1809 accompanied his parents on their removal 
to Erie county, Ohio, where he was reared, educated and married. He then 
located on a farm, removing afterward to Allegan county, Michigan, where 
he lived until 1853, when he came to Lake county, Indiana. He located in 
the southern part of this county and spent his remaining days upon his farm 
in West Creek township, where lie died at the age of sixty-three years. He 
was a Whig in his political affiliation in early manhood, and upon the dis- 
solution of that party he joined the ranks of the new Republican party. His 
religious faith was indicated by his membership in the Presbyterian church. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary Cuddeback, was born in New 
York in 1799 and died in 1892 at the very advanced age of ninety-three 
years. She was of Holland descent. In the family of Mr. and Mrs. George 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 379 

Sherart were seven children, three sons and four daughters, all of whom 
reached adult age. 

Frank P. Sherart, now well known in Lowell and Lake county, was 
the fifth child and third son of that family. He came to Lake county in 
1854, when but seventeen or eighteen years of age. His education, was 
acquired in the public schools of Michigan, Ohio and Indiana, and about 
1858 he went from the last named state to Caldwell county, Missouri, where 
he was engaged in teaching in the district schools for four terms. About 
1861 he returned to Lake county and began farming in West Creek town- 
ship, but the same year he responded to his country's call for aid to preserve 
the Union, enlisting as a member of Company B, Twentieth Indiana Volun- 
teer Infantry. He served as a private of that company for two years and 
was then honorably discharged on account of physical disability. He re- 
turned to his home, but as soon as he had sufficiently recovered his health he 
re-enlisted, this time becoming a member of Company C, One Hundred and 
Thirty-eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He joined the regiment as a 
private and was afterward commissioned second lieutenant of Compainy C, 
with which he served for three months, after which he returned to Indian- 
apolis, Indiana. His next enlistment made him a member of Company K, 
One Hundred and Forty-second Indiana Infantry, but though he joined this 
command as a private he was soon made second lieutenant and was afterward 
promoted to the rank of adjutant of the regiment. He served until after the 
close of the war when, in July, 1865, he was honorably discharged. He was 
a brave and loyal soldier and gallant officer and he never faltered in the 
performance of any duty throughout his military experience. 

On returning to private life Mr. Sherart engaged in farming in West 
Creek township, Lake county, but in 1865 removed to Lowell, where he 
began merchandizing, carrying on that pursuit for a number of years. He 
was also for several years engaged in contracting and bridge building, but 
is now living retired, having acquired a competence which enables him to put 
aside his business cares and spend his remnining days in the enjoyment of the 
fruits of his former, toil. 

On the 23d of September, 1868, Mr. Sherart was united in marriage 
to Miss Sarah Craft, a daughter of H. W. and Mary R. (Beach) Craft, 
who came from Fredericktown, Knox county, Ohio, to Lake county, Indiana, 



380 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

in March, 1857. They settled at Crown Point. The Craft family traces its 
ancestry back to 1050. About that time the spelling of the name was changed 
from Croft to its present form. H. W. Craft, the father of Mrs. Sherart. 
was a miller and millwright by trade and built a mill at Crown Point and 
also one at Lowell. He also became a large landowner and was prominent 
and influential in industrial circles in this part of the state. To him and 
his wife were born seven children, two sons and five daughters, of whom 
Mrs. Sherart is the third child and third daughter. By her marriage she 
has become the mother of two children: Maude, the elder, is the wife of 
Theodore Henry, who is assistant manager of the Denver Republic, pub- 
lished at Denver, Colorado, and they have one son, Sherart, who is now 
four months old. Charles, the younger child, is an electrician located at 
Hammond, Indiana. 

Mr. Sherart has voted for each presidential candidate of the Repub- 
lican party since casting his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln in 
i860. He has been a trustee of the town of Lowell, but has never been verj' 
active in seeking public office, preferring to do his duty as a private citizen. 
His business interests have largely claimed his time and attention, and 
through their careful conduct he has eventually won a very gratifying 

measure of prosperity. 

FRED L. SUNDERMAN. 

Fred L. Sunderman is one of the representative citizens and agri- 
culturists of West Creek township, and a man who, by his industry, honesty 
and integrity, has proved himself worthy of the confidence of the public. 
He is a fine type of the young and progressive farmer, and has been ven,' 
successful in this line of work, but he is also well remembered in the township 
for his excellent work as an educator, and his influence and efforts are still 
cast strenuously for higher ideals in all departments of civilization. 

He is a native son of the township in which he has played so important 
a part since arriving at manhood. He was born April 9, 1866, and is the 
third of the eight children, three sons and five daughters, born to Simon and 
Lena (Moeller) Sunderman. Seven of the children are yet living, three in 
West Creek township, and the others are as follows : Simon is a farmer of 
Vinemont, Alabama, and is married; August, who is a successful rancher 
at Pilot Rock, Oregon, having a wife and family, is also a minister of the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 381 

Christian church, and after his education in the public schools he took a 
theological course at Berea College; Margaret, who is a resident of Chicago, 
is a successful teacher in the city schools ; Lena is a resident of Lowell, and 
wife of Peter Danstrom. 

The history of father Sundennan is most edifying to this generation, 
and shows what German- pluck and perseverance can do in this country. 
He was born in Lippe-Detmold, Germany, in 183 1, and is still living in 
West Creek township, being the owner of the estate of one hundred and 
thirty-four acres which his son Fred now conducts for him. He was reared 
and educated in his native land, and was there married to the good woman 
who so nobly assisted him through many subsequent years. While in young 
manhood he emigrated to America, embarking on a sailing vessel at Bremer- 
haven, and being on the ocean six weeks before he landed at New York. 
He came at once to Lake county, Indiana, and about forty dollars in cash was 
all the worldly possessions he had at the outset of his career. He began 
wage-earning at thirteen dollars a month, and after continuing this for a 
year came to West Creek township, where for three years he worked on the 
shares. He finally purchased eighty acres, going in debt for it, but by indus- 
try he cancelled the indebtedness and continued adding to his landed estate 
until he now has one hundred and thirty-four acres, with all its excellent 
improvements, forming a monument to his former diligence and prosperity 
from small beginnings. He has never aspired to office, but is a stanch 
Republican and supports the doctrines of his party. He is a member of the 
German Methodist denomination at Cedar Lake. His good wife, who was 
born in the same part of Germany as he, died in 1890, and she was an indus- 
trious and frugal woman. While in Gennany she worked for a money con- 
sideration of four dollars per year, which in itself is a graphic illustration of 
the difference in economic conditions on the two sides of the Atlantic. 

Mr. Fred L. Sunderman was reared in his home township. After he 
had completed his training in the common schools, in the fall of 1885 he 
entered the Valparaiso Normal, where he took the teachers' course, and 
came home from there to engage in the teaching profession, which he fol- 
lowed in his home township with great success for eight years. Besides his 
work in the teachers' course at Valparaiso, he also graduated in the pharmacy, 
scientific and classical departments of this well-known school. He still 



382 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

retains his enthusiasm for the education of the masses and the increasing and 
broadening of the individuality of every girl and boy in America. 

May 12, 1898, Mr. Sunderman married Miss Angeline Fleming, and 
a son and a daughter have been born to them, named Ruth Bernice and 
Charles Fleming. Mrs. Sunderman was born in Tazewell county, Illinois, 
December 12, 1868. Her father, William Fleming, is still living, being a 
prosperous retired farmer residing in Delavan, Illinois. Mrs. Sunderman 
was reared in Illinois, and received a fine higher training at the Normal 
University of Illinois, also at a normal in Ohio, and finished the scientific 
course at the Valparaiso Normal in the class of 1896. She was a very suc- 
cessful teacher for ten years before her marriage, one year of the time being 
spent at Geneva, Indiana, and the other years in Illinois. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Sunderman are lovers of good literature, and in the busy activity of life 
have not forgotten how to study and apply their minds and thoughts to the 
things of the mental and the spiritual domains. They are both attendants 
of the Lake Prairie Presbyterian church, and contribute in accordance with 
their means to the benevolences. Mr. Sunderman by his uprightness in 
conduct and integrity in all of life's relations has gained the confidence of 
his fellow-citizens to an unusual degree, as is attested by the fact that he 
received the nomination for trustee of West Creek township and, at the 
present writing, is a candidate with absolute certainty of success at the 

hustings. 

EDWARD BATTERMAN. 

E. Batterman, proprietor of a blacksmith and machine shop at Hobart. 
was born in Will county, Illinois, March 5, 1858. and is a son of Charles 
and Johanna (Dasher) Batterman, both of whom were natives of Germany, 
the father having been born in Hanover and the mother in Hamburg. They 
came to America, establishing their home in Illinois, and there the subject of 
this review was reared, pursuing his education in the common schools of 
Will county. After putting aside his text-books he learned the trade of a 
blacksmith, serving a two years' apprenticeship in Hobart, Indiana. He 
began work in this line at the age of twenty-two years, and on the com- 
pletion of his apprenticeship was employed in the railroad shops of the 
Nickle Plate road for about six months. In 1880 he opened a shop of his 
own at Hobart, this establishment being only sixteen by twenty feet. Here 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 383 

he has since remained, and has built one of the finest blacksmith and machine 
shops in the county. The building is forty by one hundred feet, two stories 
in height, and is constructed of brick. There is a wagon shop, twenty-four 
by forty feet, in addition to the other department. He is now recognized 
as one of the leading business men of the town, a prominent representative 
of its industrial interests. In his chosen field of labor he has become an 
excellent workman, and his capability and reliable business methods have 
formed the strong elements in his successful career. 

In 1882 Mr. Batterman was united in marriage to Miss Carrie Richards, 
and they have one daughter, Lena, who is now the wife of Plin Trusdale, of 
Chicago. Mr. Batterman has been a life-long Republican, and upon the ticket 
of that party was elected town treasurer, which position he now holds. He 
belongs to the Independent Order of Foresters, Lodge No. 141, and the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Lodge No. 144, and in the latter has 
taken the degrees of the encampment. He is well known in northwestern 
Indiana, his business extending largely over Lake and adjoining counties. 
His shop is one of the leading industries of the kind in this part of the state, 
and in addition to the work which he does as an artisan he handles all kinds 
of agricultural implements and sells directly to the farmers. As a citizen 
he has contributed in no small degree to the upbuilding and development of 
Hobart, and whatever tends to benefit the community receives his endorse- 
ment and co-operation. 

CHARLES GRUEL. 

The German-American element in our citizenship has long been recog- 
.nized as an important one, for from an early age the Teutonic race has 
carried civilization into pioneer districts of the world and has introduced the 
progress made in the fatherland. Mr. Gruel is a worthy representati\-e of the 
German people, and in his life record has shown many of the commendable 
traits of the men of his nationality. He was bom in Pomerania, Germany, 
October 9, i860, and when eleven years of age was brought to America, be- 
coming a resident of Chicago. He attended school there during the two 
years of his residence in that city, and in 1873 he came to Hobart. Here he 
worked in a brickyard for a time, and was afterward engaged in the saloon 
business there for about ten years. In 1893 he established a meat market 
and also began dealing in live-stock. He feeds, sells and ships stock, and 



384 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

operates quite extensively in this line at the present date. He has also built 
some business blocks in Hobart and has thus contributed in appreciable 
manner to the substantial development of the town. 

In 1884 Mr. Gruel was united in marriage with Miss Emma Krieger, a 
native of Porter county, whence she removed to Lake county, Indiana. 
Her father was Frederick Krieger, an early settler of Porter county and of 
German lineage. Mr. and Mrs. Gruel have one daughter, Matilda. Mr. 
Gruel is one of the leading business men of Hobart, and his private affairs 
are capably and successfully conducted, while his co-operation in public 
measures has been a factor in the development and improvement of the town. 
He is a most earnest and stalwart Republican, and he belongs to the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias fraternity. He 
was reared in the Lutheran faith, and at all times his life has been actuated by 
honorable principles, which have formed the basic element in his success. 

ANDREW J. SMITH. 

Andrew J. Smith, editor of the Hobart Gazette, at Hobart, Indiana, 
has been numbered among the enterprising citizens of this Lake county 
town for nearly twenty years, and for the past fifteen years has been identified 
with the Gazette. This is the only newspaper of the town, liaving always 
maintained its own against several ephemeral rivals that have for varying 
periods set up and then struck their editorial tents in this town. Like all 
newspapers, the Gazette has not traveled a continuous "primrose path," nor 
yet has it had many vicissitudes or crises in its existence, but under the con- 
servative and business-like management of its publishers, who have always 
given the people a sheet worth reading, it has enjoyed a continually increas- 
ing success, and is now numbered among the substantial, permanent and 
prosperous institutions of Hobart. The Gazette was founded in Hobart in 
August, 1889, by George Narpass and G. Bender, and under foreclosure 
sale and at the instance of a number of citizens was bought by Mr. Smith 
in the following December. The plant is up-to-date and complete for a town 
of the size, having a large power cylinder press, and in circulation and gen- 
eral patronage the paper ranks among the foremost of the county. The 
Gazette is conducted on independent lines, the two publishers being of 
opposite political tendencies, and thus their paper is unbiassed and practical 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 385 

in treating all questions and probl&ms of community and county concern. 
While their endeavors are most successfully directed toward making their 
publication a weathervane to indicate the direction of public opinion and a 
mirror of current events, their columns also always show a public-spirited 
interest in the welfare of town and county and their editorial influence is 
ever for the progress and upbuilding of the community's institutions and 
interests. 

Mr. Smith, most of whose adult life has thus been identified with 
Hobart, was born ' at Mottville. St. Joseph county, Michigan, March 20, 
i86t, being one of five children, two boys and three girls, born to John A. 
and Emeline (Shellenberger) Smith. His father died in February, 1900, 
but his mother is still living on the home farm of three hundred acres in 
Elkhart county, Indiana. 

Mr. Smith had the wholesome rearing and training of a farmer boy, 
living from the age of five to eighteen on the farm in Elkhart county. He 
had taught one term of school before he was eighteen, and from the time 
he attained that age until he entered newspaper work in 1890 he was almost 
continuously engaged in that profession, the last four years of the time 
having been spent as principal of the Hobart schools, so that his residence in 
this town dates from August, 1886. In the interims of his teaching he 
studied at the Northern Indiana Norrrtal School at Valparaiso, and in 1885 
graduated in the scientific class of that institution. During three summers 
before 1890 he conducted normal classes in Elkhart county, and had a 
reputation in that county as one of the best instructors engaged in that line 
of work. By his purchase of the Gazette plant late in 1889 his energies were 
directed to newspaper work, and he has made that his principal vocation to 
the present. He was sole owner of the plant until the fall of 1891, when 
he sold a half interest to Mr. Nevin B. White, and the firm has since been 
Smith & White. They also carry on a general real estate, loan and insur- 
ance business. 

July 7, 1884, Mr. Smith married Miss Elva L. Stiwaid, of Lorain 
county, Ohio. There are no children of this marriage, and after twenty 
years of happy wedded life Mr. Smith lost his wife on February 2, 1904. 

Mr. Smith has never held office, but has been nominated for county 
auditor of Lake county in 1904 on the Democratic ticket. He has at various 



386 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

times had nominations to local offices urged upon him. In his individual 
political beliefs he is a Democrat of the old-time, conservative, sound-money 
stamp, and as a private citizen is interested in the success and growth of his 
party.. He has been a Mason for the past seventeen years, was master of his 
lodge for seven years, and has since been secretary. He affiliates with 
M. L. McClelland Lodge No. 357, F. & A. M., at Hobart; Valparaiso 
Chapter No. 79, R. A. M., at Valparaiso; Valparaiso Commandery No 28, 
K. T., at Valparaiso; is a member and past chancellor commander of Hobart 
Lodge No. 458, Knights of Pythias; a member of Hobart Tent No. 65, 
K. O. T. M. He is secretary and treasurer of the Hobart Gun Club, and 
is an active member of various social organizations. He was christened and 
reared in the faith of the Dutch Reformed church, of which his mother 
is still a member. 

MRS. ELIZA L. MARVIN. 

Mrs. Eliza L. Mar\'in, who passed from among the living July 31. 1904, 
was a foremost representative of the remarkable pioneer women so few of 
whom remain in Lake county from the days gone by. All history shows how 
conspicuous a part the wives and daughters have played in the national 
development and material, social and intellectual welfare of the country, and 
the pioneer class to which Mrs.* Marvin belonged is especially worthy of 
honor when the annals of a section of country like Lake county are under 
consideration, as in this volume of historical and biographical -nacrative. 
The women were often no less forward than the men in blazing the way of 
civilization and making the wild country produce of the fruits necessary to 
mankind. Mrs. Marvin had been a resident of Lake county since 1847, ^nd 
she could look back to the time when this part of Indiana was in its vir- 
ginity, and she had witnessed the wonderful development which has trans- 
formed a profitless section of country into as rich an agricultural and indus- 
trial community as can be found anywhere in the state. In her time the 
great trunk lines of railroad have been thrown across the county, the manu- 
facturing plants of colossal size and importance have been established in the 
Lake cities, and all the institutions of learning, religion and charity have 
grown up. 

Mrs. Marvin was born in Wayne county, Michigan, August 13, 1827, 
so that her life has spanned, with its seventy-seven years, the gulf from the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 387 

most primitive times of the middle west to the present phenomenal develop- 
ment of civilization in the same territory. She was the eldest of seven chil- 
dren, four sons and three daughters, born to Hiram S. and Mary W. 
(Holley) Fuller, and of these she had just one brother living, Charles Fuller, 
who is married and resides at Salida, California. Hiram Fuller was born in 
the old Green Mountain state of Vermont in 1801, and died in July, 1878. 
He was reared in his native state till he had almost reached manhood, and 
his common school education was finished off at a seminary. His parents 
moved to Whitehall, New York, and he resided there for eight or ten years. 
From New York he came west to Michigan and settled at Northville, in the 
pioneer days, and purchased some timber land and began his career as a 
farmer. In those early days he often drove an ox team to Detroit for pro- 
visions. He sold his one hundred and sixty acres in the fruit belt of Michi- 
gan and in 1847 came to Lake county, Indiana, and located on a previous 
purchase of four hundred acres of wild land in West Creek township. Their 
settlement in the county was at an early enough date that the deer were still 
plentiful, and Mrs. Marvin remembers having seen as many as ninety at a 
time in the vicinity of the homestead. Mr. Fuller was for many years a 
Whig in politics, but from the birth of the Republican party espoused its 
principles till his death. He was a man of much decision of character, was 
a friend of education and all interests conducive to the welfare of his com- 
munity, was domestic in his tastes and a lover of home and children, and 
his beneficent influence continued to live in the noble womanhood of his 
daughter. He and his wife were members of the Presbyterian church, 
and he helped found the church in West Creek township and assisted in the 
building of the church edifice. Mrs. Marvin's mother was a native of York 
state, and was born in the Genesee valley in September, 1808, and died in 
1878, having been reared and educated in New York state. She was a kind 
and affectionate mother, and the spirit of her teachings and her character is 
still potent in the world. 

Mrs. Marvin was a young lady of about twenty-one years when she 
came to Lake county, and her education had already been completed in the 
common schools and an academy in Michigan. She was an assistant in the 
Northville public schools for about two years and also followed the profes- 
sion of teaching after she came to Indiana. 



388 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

On December 6, 185 1, she was united in marriage with Mr. Charles 
Marvin. He was born in the state of Connecticut, and died June 16, 1892. 
He was reared by his uncle and aunt and received a good education. His 
younger years were spent in the capacity of a salesman in the south, being in 
New Orleans for six months, after which he came north. Much of his life 
was spent as a merchant, but after his marriage he became an agriculturist. 
He was thrifty and a good financial manager, and at the time of his mar- 
riage he owned about six hundred acres of land in West Creek township. He 
was a strong anti-slavery advocate, and followed the banner of the Republican 
party until his death. He was a very successful stock-raiser and farmer, 
and was known and admired throughout Lake county for his firm integrity 
and prominence in the afifairs of citizenship. He was reared in the Pres- 
byterian faith. 

At her husband's death Mrs. Marvin had to assume a large business 
responsibility in the management of the estate left her, and during the sub- 
sequent years she displayed an acumen and sagacity rarely found in those 
of the gentler sex. She was a genial and cordial lady, and had many friends. 
Her bright mind delighted to wander among the scenes of early days, and on 
the page of her memory was written a record of many events and scenes of 
the first half of the past century. She had seen the city of Chicago when 
teams were stalled along the business thoroughfares of Lake street on account 
of the mud and mire, and she also knew the city with its population of 
nearly two millions. She was a woman of charitable and generous instincts, 
and never failed to respond to benevolent causes worthy of her consideration. 

Mr. and Mrs. Marvin had no children of their own, but in the goodness 
of their hearts they adopted a boy and a girl, named Edward Prosser and 
Ellen Rollins, and reared and educated them, surrounding them with the 
best of influences and comforts. The former died after reaching young 
manhood, and the latter married Philip Stuppy, a farmer of West Creek 
township. Mrs. Marvin retained until the last the active management and 
oversight of the estate of three hundred acres, part of which is located in 
Illinois, and she had a beautiful home in which to pass the final years of so 
useful and noble a career as had been vouchsafed to her. 

N. P. BANKS. 

N. P. Banks, one of the practical and progressive farmers of Hobart 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 389 

township, resides on Section 6, and for many years has been a resident of the 
county. He was born in Lake county, Ohio, September 25, 1845, and in 
the paternal Hne is of Holland-Dutch lineage. His great-great-grandfather 
was born in Holland and, coming to America, served as a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war. Orin Banks, the father of N. P. Banks, was born in 
New York and was reared and married there, the lady of his choice being 
Miss Olive Brown, whose birth occurred in the Empire state and who was 
of English descent. He emigrated to Ohio in an early day, settling in Lake 
county, whence in 1845 he removed to LaPorte county, Indiana, establishing 
his home just within the boundary limits of LaPorte city. He afterward 
lived in Scipio township, that county, and in 1852 he came to Lake county, 
settling in Ross township, where he carried on fanning. His last days, how- 
ever, were passed in Hobart township, where he died at the age of fifty- 
seven years. He was a very public-spirited man, and was justice of the 
peace for a number of years. He also belonged to the Baptist church, was 
very active and zealous in its work, filled the office of deacon and did every- 
thing in his power to advance the cause of Christianity in his community. 
His life was honorable, his actions manly and sincere and he left to his family 
the priceless heritage of an untarnished name. His wife, a most estimable 
lady, lived to be about seventy-two years of age. In their family were 
twelve children, of whom two died in infancy, while ten reached manhood 
or womanhood and eight are now living. 

N. P. Banks is the youngest son and eleventh child of the family, and 
was but six weeks old when he landed in LaPorte county, Indiana, with his 
parents. Seven years later he came with them to Lake county, and was 
largely reared in Hobart township, acquiring his education in the public 
schools. He was but sixteen years of age when in 1862 he enlisted in 
Miller's Chicago Battery for three years' service. He was No. 4 on the gun, 
and was afterward corporal chief of the caisson and gunner. During the 
last year of his service he held the rank of sergeant and received an hon- 
orable discharge in 1865, after having been a member of the army for almost 
three years. He was the youngest man in his company, and he took part in 
seventeen important "battles and thirty-four skirmishes, including many of the 
most hotly contested engagements of the war. Among the number were the 
battles of the Atlanta campaign, and though he was often in the thickest of 



390 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the fight he did not receive even a scratch in all of his service. When the 
country no longer needed his aid he was honorably discharged at Chicago 
in 1865, and returned to his home in Lake county with a most creditable 
military record. 

Desirous of enjoying better school advantages Mr. Banks then attended 
high school for one term, and later he engaged in teaching school through 
four winter seasons, while in the summer months he worked for wages on 
the farm. 

On the 14th of February, 1869, occurred the marriage of Mr. Bank.- 
and Mi.ss Clara E. Chandler, a daughter of T. P. and Betsey (VVoodmansee) 
Chandler. The parents were natives of Vermont and in their family were 
four children, of whom Mrs. Banks is the youngest. Her birth occurred 
in the Green Mountain state January i, 1850, and by her marriage she has 
become the mother of six children : Mary, the wife of J. M. Sholl ; Carrie E., 
who is attending college at Oberlin, Ohio; Myrtle L., who is engaged in 
teaching in the schools of Hobart; Bessie, the wife of Rev. Dunning Idle, a 
celebrated minister of the Methodist Episcopal church ; Flora, who is attend- 
ing school in Hobart; and Marian, deceased. 

After his marriage Mr. Banks located upon a farm in Hobart township 
and has since been engaged in general agricultural pursuits. He now has 
two hundred and forty acres of land, which is a well developed property, the 
fields being highly cultivated, while upon the farm are good buildings and 
all modern equipments. This constitutes one of the attractive features in 
the landscape, and a glance indicates to the passer-by the care and super- 
vision of an enterprising, progressive owner. Mr. Banks is a stockholder 
and also a director in the First State Bank of Hobart. Mr. Banks is a 
director of the Lake County Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company, organ- 
ized some years ago on a small scale, and now embracing the whole county. 
There are 1,310 policies and the insurance in force is about $2,150,000.00, 
which exists amongst the best farmers of the county. There are five direct- 
ors, four of them being N. P. Banks, Albert Foster, Star A. Brownell and 
John Borger. In public afifairs he has also been prominent and influential, 
and his influence is always given on the side of right, reform and improve- 
ment. He was township trustee of Hobart for five years, and he has always 
been a stanch Republican, putting forth strenuous effort in behalf of the 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 391 

party. He maintains pleasant relations with his old ariny comrades throug^h 
his membership in Hobart Post No. 411, G. A. R., and he also belongs to the 
Odd Fellows society, No. 333, at that place. In matters of citizenship he is 
as true and loyal as when he followed the nation's starry banner upon the 
battlefields of the south. 

AUGUST VOLTMER. 

August Voltmer is a representative of that fine class of German-Ameri- 
can citizens who have been such an important factor in the development of 
the material resources and in the social and intellectual life of Lake county. 
He is himself still a young man in point of years and vigor, but for the past 
twenty or more years has been making his influence felt for good and ad- 
vancement in this county, and is also prosperous to an unusual degree in his 
own affairs. 

.He is a native of Will county, Illinois, where he was born October 28, 
1861, being the fifth in a family of seven children, three sons and four 
daughters, born to Henry and Mary (Rabe) Voltmer. These children are 
all living, and there are three others who are residents of Lake county, 
namely: Henry, Lizzie, and Mary, who is the wife of William Neidert, a 
farmer of West Creek township. The father of the family was born in 
Germany, in the province of Hanover, and he is still living at the age of 
eighty years. He was a mechanic until he came to America, and since then 
he has given his attention to farming. He emigrated to this country when 
a young man, and from New York came to Will county, Illinois, being a 
poor but honest and industrious man, and in the course of his active career 
he accumulated one hundred and sixty acres in Will county, and also pur- 
chased two hundred and eighty acres in West Creek township of this county, 
where he still makes his home. He received his education in both the 
German and English tongues. He is a Republican, and is a member of the 
Lutheran church, as also was his good wife, who died about 1896. 

Mr. August Voltmer was reared and educated in Will county, Illinois, 
and by early training is familiar with both the German and the Englisli lan- 
guages. He was reared to farming life, and has giveji principal attention 
to stock-raising. He has a number of pure-blooded Chester White swine, 
and his cattle are of high-grade Durhams. 

He was married. May 2, 1897, to Miss Lena Balgemann. and of this 



392 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

union three children have been born, Martha, Hilda and Lydia. Mrs. Volt- 
mer was born in Kankakee county, Illinois, and was reared in that state, her 
parents both being alive and residents of the county of Kankakee. 

Mr. Voltmer and his brothers own two hundred and seventy-nine acres 
of good land in West Creek township, and he is classed as a prosperous 
agriculturist and a stable citizen of the county, being always interested in 
anything that will advance the interests of Lake county. He is a Republican 
in politics, and cast his first vote for James G. Blaine, since which time he 
has zealously upheld the principles of his party. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of the German Lutheran church in Kankakee county, Illinois, and con- 
tribute of their means to all benevolences worthy of their consideration. 

JOHN BRYANT. 

Numbered among the early settlers and prominent farmers of Lake 
county, John Bryant well deserves representation in this volume, for in 
business life he has been active, diligent and trustworthy, and in citizenship 
has championed the various measures which have led to the substantial im.- 
provement and upbuilding of this portion of the state. He was born in Rich- 
land county, Ohio, July 20, 1833, and comes of the same family to which 
William Cullen Bryant, the poet, belonged. His grandfather was David 
Bryant, a native of New Jersey. His father, Elias Bryant, also a native of 
New Jersey, accompanied his parents on their removal to Washington 
county, Pennsylvania, when he was twelve years of age. and there he was 
reared and educated. He was also married in that county, and afterward 
removed to Knox county, Ohio, about 1820. He followed farming in the 
Buckeye state until the fall of 1835, when he came to Lake county, Indiana, 
settling at Pleasant Grove, in Cedar Creek township. He was one of the 
first settlers here, and he entered land from the government for which he 
paid a dollar and a quarter per acre. This he placed under the plow, trans- 
forming the raw tract into richly cultivated fields, and there he carried on 
general farming until his death, which occurred September 10, 1850, when 
he was sixty-six years of age. He was a zealous and active member of the 
Presbyterian church, in which he served as a deacon. He gave his political 
support to the Whig party and during the early years of his residence in 
Lake county was a school director. He contributed to the pioneer progress 




jf-A.i^ y 




HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 393 

of the county, and his enterprise and energy made him a valued citizen of 
the frontier district. He married Miss Ann Vance, who was born in Wash- 
ington county, Pennsylvania, and was a daughter of Robert Vance, one of 
the pioneer settlers of that state and a native of Ireland. Mrs. Bryant died 
in Lake county. Indiana, February 6, 1847, when fifty-five years of age. By 
her marriage she became the mother of six sons, of whom four grew to 
manhood, while one died in infancy in Ohio and the other was killed by 
a rattlesnake bite when thirteen years of age. Arthur V., now in his eighty- 
second year, resides in Lafayette, Indiana. David died in 1900, at the age 
of seventy-six years. Robert, seventy-seven years of age, is extensively 
engaged in farming in Porter county, Indiana. 

John Bryant is the youngest of the family. He pursued his education 
in one of the primitive log schoolhouses found in the frontier settlements, 
attending through the winter months until eighteen years of age. In the 
summer seasons he worked upon the home farm, gaining practical knowl- 
edge and broad experience concerning the best methods of promoting agri- 
cultural interests. In 1852 he crossed the plains to California with a horse 
team, traveling north of Salt Lake City on the old Kit Carson route. He 
went first to Grizzly Flats, in Eldorado county, and there on the 15th of 
August, 1852, he was taken ill. The only shelter he had until the following 
December was a pine tree, and he was not able to do any w^ork until the 
following March, when he took a contract to build a ditch to lead the water 
to what was called the dry diggings. After executing this contract he began 
prospecting and was engaged in prospecting and mining until December, 
1856, when he went into the valleys, where he remained until 1857. He 
then returned to the east by way of the Panama and Aspinwall route to 
New York, spending two days on the island of Cuba while en route. 

Mr. Bryant continued his journey to Lake county. He went to Hebron 
to visit his brothers David and Robert, and afterward engaged in farming 
until 1858, also bought and sold stock. In January, 1859, he came to Lowell, 
where he engaged in merchandising with his brother, Arthur V.. this part- 
nership continuing for two years, at the end of wliich time John Bryant 
purchased his brother's interest, and soon afterward traded tiie store for 
eighty acres of land in Cedar Creek township. He remo\ed to the farm 
and continued the work of cultivation and improvement there until 1865, 



394 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

when he sold that property and bought anotlier farm, whereon lie carried 
on general agricultural pursuits until 1869. In that year he purchased 
a stock of merchandise at Hebron, where he remained in business until 1874. 
when he sold his property there and returned to his farm in Cedar Creek 
township, making it his home until 1880, when he also sold there. He 
located then upon the farm which is now his home. In February, 1882, he 
again went to California, this time making the journey by rail, to visit his 
relatives who had crossed the plains with him in 1852 — thirty years before. 
He remained in the Golden state until April, when he returned to Lowell, 
and in May of the same year he removed to South Chicago and engaged in 
the grocery busines.=, in which he continued for about tiiree years. On the 
expiration of that period he again came to Lowell and resumed farming, 
which he has since followed. He has a valuable tract of land of one hun- 
dred and seventy acres, and the land is arable and highly cultivated, while 
many substantial improvements have been made on the farm and indicate 
his enterprising, progressive spirit. 

On the 2ist of February, i860, Mr. Bryant was united in marriage to 
Miss Mary A. Lawrence, a daughter of George W. and Julia C. (Haskins) 
Lawrence. Mrs. Bryant was lx)rn in Michigan, Deceml^er 28, 1840, and 
was brought to Lake county when only two years old. She died September 
25, 1893, and her many excellent traits of character caused her death to be 
deeply regretted by many friends as well as her immediate family. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Bryant had been torn six children : Bertha A., born February 20, 
i86i, is the widow of C. C. Phelps, and has been for a number of years a 
clerk in the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad office at South Chicago. Luella C, 
born August 22, 1S62. also resides at South Chicago. Marie Vance, torn 
July 21, 1867, is now filling the position of stenographer with the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad at South Chicago. John D., torn at Hebron. April 13, 
187 1, died March 6, 1874. Winefred Clair, born in Lowell, January 17, 
1875, died on the 6th of September of that year. Julia .A., born Septemtor 
17, 1876, is the wife of Ernest Hummel, a son of Ernest Hummel, Sr., city 
treasurer of Chicago. 

Mr. Bryant has toen a life-long Republican, acti\e in the work of his 
party and deeply interested in its success, yet never seeking or desiring office 
as a reward for party fealty. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity at 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 395 

Lowell, Lodge No. 378, and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at 
South Chicago, Lodge No. 245, and he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal 
church. His has been an eventful, useful and interesting life history, for 
he has been familiar with pioneer e.xperiences in Indiana and in the far west, 
and his mind is stored with many interesting reminiscences of his sojourn in 
the Golden state during the early days of its mining development. 

WILLIAM WALLACE ACKERMAN. 

William Wallace Ackerman, whose farming interests, capably managed 
and carefully conducted, result in bringing to him splendid success, is now 
living retired in Lowell. He has attained the advanced age of seventy-seven 
years and in the evening of life is enabled to enjoy a comfortable com- 
petence won through his diligence and honorable dealing. He was born in 
Oakland county, Michigan, February 24. 1827, and represents an old family 
of Holland-Dutch ancestry that was established in New York in colonial 
days. His paternal grandfather, James Ackerman, was born in Truxton, 
New York, and became one of the pioneer residents of Michigan. John 
H. Ackerman, the father, was a native of Dutchess county. New York, and 
there spent his early boyhood days. He, too, was one of those who lived in 
Oakland when it was a frontier district, accompanying his parents on their 
removal to the west. After arriving at years of maturity he married Ann 
Wallace, who was born in New York and was a daughter of William Wal- 
lace, a native of Connecticut. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. John H. 
Ackerman was celebrated in the Empire state, and they located in Oakland 
county, Michigan, about 1822, spending their remaining days there. His 
first home was a typical pioneer house in the midst of an undeveloped region, 
where the work of progress and improvement had scarcely been begun, and 
J. H. Ackerman did his full share in paving the way for the further develop- 
ment of the county. He died at the age of sixty-three years, having long 
survived his wife, who passed away in 1829. He was twice married, his 
second union being with Miss Amelia Kyes, and to this marriage were born 
seven children, while of the first marriage there were three children. 

William Wallace Ackerman is the youngest and the only one living of 
the family born to John H. and Ann (Wallace) Ackerman. He was but a 
year and a half old when his mother died. He started out in life for himself 



396 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

at the age of eleven years, going to Erie county, Ohio, where he worked at 
any employment that he could secure. There he remained until his nine- 
teenth year, when his patriotic spirit was aroused and he ofifered his services 
to the country then engaged in war with Mexico. He enlisted in Com- 
pany G, Third Ohio Regiment, under Colonel Samuel R. Curtis, and was 
with the command for fourteen months as a private. On the expiration of 
that period, as the country no longer needed his aid, he returned to his 
home in Ohio, where he remained until the fall of 1848, when he came to 
Lake county, Indiana. 

Here Mr. Ackerman located a land warrant in West Creek township and 
began the development and improvement of a farm. Later he sold tliat 
property and bought another farm in the same township. Upon the second 
place he made excellent improvements, but eventually he sold that and again 
purchased a farm in West Creek township, which he still owns. Thus he 
has improved three fanr.s in the townshijj, and his labors have resulted 
beneficially in the agricultural development and progress of this portion 
of the state. 

Mr. Ackerman was united in marriage in April, 1853, to Miss Mar)' 
Pulver, who died leaving a family of seven children: John H. and Alonzo D., 
both deceased; Theodore L. ; William H., who has also passed away; Ida 
Ann; Jasper L. ; and Charles D. On the 9th of November, 1867, Mr. 
Ackerman was again married, his second union being with Betsey Sanders 
Graves, the widow of William F. Graves and the daughter of William and 
Emma (Harris) Sanders. She was born in West Creek township, Lake 
county, Indiana, May 8, 1844. and her parents were pioneer settlers of Lake 
county, coming to this state from Erie county, Ohio, in 1838. They settled 
in West Creek township, where they reared their family of tv;elve children, 
three of whom were born in this county. Mrs. Ackerman is the tenth child 
and third daughter, and was reared in the place of her nativity and has spent 
her entire life in Lake county. She had one son by her first marriage, 
William M. Graves, and by the second marriage there are four children : 
Linden S., now deceased; Vessie E. ; Zada M. ; and Zella A. Zada is a 
graduate of the high school and has engaged in teaching for over three years. 
Vessie E. is the wife of S. A. Mulliken, of Chicago. Zella is also a graduate 
of the Lowell high school, was a student in Valparaiso College and was a 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 397 

teacher in the Valparaiso kindergarten, and on June 15, 1904, was married 
to Otto DeRoy Mitchell, a druggist in Eaton, Indiana. Thfe following chil- 
dren are of the first marriage of Mr. Ackerman : Theodore S. is extensively 
engaged in the raising of cattle in South Dakota, where he owns a large 
ranch; Jasper is filling the position of auditor in White county, Indiana; 
Charles D. is a builder and contractor of Los Angeles, California; and Ida 
is the wife of S. S. Brandon, of Mobile, Alabama; while William M. Graves, 
the son of Mrs. Ackerman, is a resident of Lowell. 

Mr. Ackerman is the owner of four hundred acres in West Creek town- 
ship and also has property in Lowell. The farm is well improved, and he 
continued its cultivation until 1881, when he removed to Lowell and engaged 
in the agricultural implement business, continuing in commercial pursuits 
for eight years. In 1889 he was appointed postmaster under President 
Harrison, and filled that position for four years. Since the expiration of 
his term he has lived retired from active business, save the supervision of 
his property. Mr. Ackerman has always been a supporter of the Republican 
party since its organization, and was county ditch commissioner for several 
years, during which time he did much toward improving the county through 
the extension of its ditches. This drained the land and, therefore, greatly 
increased its value. He takes an active and helpful part in all measures 
which are of practical benefit in the community, and is widely and favorably 
known throughout the county. He and his wife and children belong to the 
Christian church. His career has ever been honorable and straightforward, 
so that he enjoys in large measure the respect and confidence of his 
fellow-men. 

MRS. SUSANN MOREY. 

The ladies of the nation play a most conspicuous part in the true, 
authentic record of a state and county as well as nation, and in the leading 
records of the citizens of West Creek township none is more worthy of 
representation that Mrs. Morey. She was born in Boscawen. New Hamp- 
shire, March 2, 1826, the third in a family of four children, one son and three 
daughters, born to Dr. Thomas and Sukey (Gerrish) Peach. Mrs. Morey 
is the only survivor. Her father. Dr. Thomas Peach, who was a physician 
and surgeon,, was a native of the old Bay state, Massachusetts, and was born 
in 1784, fifteen years before the death of General Washington, and died 



398 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

February 8, 1882. During the early years of his life he resided and was 
reared on a farm. He received a good practical education for those times, 
and between the years of twenty ar.d thirty of his life he sought the medical 
profession. He studied under the direction of Dr. McKinster, of Newbury, 
Vermont, where his parents had moved when he was about seven years of 
age. He practiced according to the allopathic school, and was reasonably 
successful, most of his practice being in New Hampshire. He was a surgeon 
in the war of 1812. 

It was about 1858 when he emigrated to West Creek township, and here 
he resided till his death. Politically he was a Republican, and in a religious 
sense he and his wife were members of the Congregational church and ardent 
supporters of the doctrines of his church. He was very emphatic in his 
advocacy of temperance, and was one of the prime movers in the great tem- 
perance reform. His remains are interred in the Lake Prairie cemetery, 
where a beautiful stone marks his last resting place. His wife was a native 
of Boscawen, New Hampshire, and born June 15, 1797, and died December 
6, 1871. She traced her ancestry to England, as Gerrish is an English name. 
Mrs. Susann Morey was born, reared and educated at Boscawen, New 
Hampshire. Her home was contiguous to the home of the celebrated Daniel 
Webster. She attended the academy at Boscawen and was a teacher in her 
native state. She wedded Ephraim Noyes Morey, November 26, 1846, and 
four children, two sons and two daughters, were born, and three are living 
at present. The eldest is Thomas Morey, a resident and farmer of Moun- 
tain View, Missouri, who received a common school education, and married 
Miss Eliza Ann Peach, by whom he has five living children. Mary is the 
wife of W. H. Michael, a prosperous farmer of West Creek township, and 
whose personal history also appears in these pages. William H. Morey, the 
third living child, is principal of the Lowell high school. He received his 
primary training in the common schools and was a student at the normal at 
Terre Haute, Indiana, after which he took a course in law personally and 
was admitted to the bar of his native county of Lake. He graduated in the 
teachers' and scientific course at Valparaiso. He is well known as an edu- 
cator of this county. He married, December 27, 1898, Miss Rhoda L. Smith, 
and two daughters were born to this marriage, Emehne Gertrude and Helen 
Alice. Mrs. William Morey was born in Greenville, Illinois, January 18, 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 399 

1870, and is a daughter of T. Newton and Emeline (Castle) Smith, her 
father still living. Her mother was a native of Darke county, Ohio. Mr=:. 
W. H. Morey was educated in the common schools, and she and her husband 
reside on the old homestead with his mother, and they are members of the 
Lake Prairie Presbyterian church and he has been chosen superintendent of 
the Sunday school at different times. 

Mr. Morey, the deceased husband of Mrs. Susann Morey, was born in 
Lisbon, New Hampshire, June 6, 1819, and died March 9, 1902. He was 
reared in the early part of his life as an agriculturist, but was afterwards 
engaged in construction work for different railroads in the states of Rhode 
Island and New Hampshire, and then on the Pittsburg and Fort Wayne 
Railroad as far as Crestline, Ohio, and was reasonably successful. He 
located in Dubuque, Iowa, in 1857, and was there till the war opened. He 
purchased one hundred and forty-five acres of ratiier wild land in West 
Creek township when this county was in its virgin condition. There was 
hardly a fence to be seen, and Lowell was a mere hamlet. He erected all 
the buildings on the farm, and the lumber from which the house was built 
was hauled from Michigan. Politically he was a stalwart Republican, and 
he and his wife were devout members of the Congregational church. When 
Mr. Morey died the township of West Creek lost a valuable citizen and an- 
upright and honorable man. 

Mrs. Morey yet resides en her homestead, aged more than three- 
quarters of a century, and her mental faculties are still clear and bright. 
She is known in her community as a kind and warm-hearted mother and 
friend, and her cordial and genial manner of greeting the stranger and 
friend makes her home a welcome haven of rest. She is possibly the oldest 
living citizen in West Creek township to-day. This authentic review of 
father and mother Morey will be read and cherished by many hundreds of 
the people of Lake county, and will be held sacred by their children when 
they themselves have passed to the great beyond. 

JAMES GUYER. 

Among her native, sons that Pennsylvania has furnished to Lake county 
is numbered James Guyer, now engaged in the livery business in Hobart. 
He was bocn in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, his natal day being Decem- 



400 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

ber 30, 1841, and he is the eldest son of Andrew and Mary Ann (Royce) 
Guyer, who came to the west when James was but eight years of age. They 
settled in Calhoun county, Michigan, and he was reared upon the home farm, 
working in the fields during the summer months, while in the winter seasons 
he attended the public schools. At the age of eighteen he left the parental 
roof, in order that he might earn his own living and went to Branch county, 
Michigan, where he learned the trade of brick-making. He was there em- 
ployed at the time of the outbreak of the Civil war in 1861. He had watched 
with interest the progress of events in the south, and when an attempt was 
made to overthrow the Union his patriotic spirit was aroused and he enlisted 
as a member of Company H, Eleventh Michigan Volunteer Infantry, as a 
private. He thus served for about two years, and was then honorably dis- 
charged on account of disability, but in the meantime he had participated in 
sbme important battles. 

After being mustered out Mr. Guyer returned to Branch county, Mich- 
igan, where he remained for about six months, and then went to Nashville, 
Tennessee, where he was employed by the government as a painter, working 
in that way until 1865. He then again came to the north, locating at Cold- 
water, Michigan, where he was engaged in the manufacture of brick for 
about two years. He next located at LaPorte, Indiana, where he conducted 
a similar industry, and since that time he has traveled quite extensively, 
vi.?iting Iowa, Texas, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois and various parts of In- 
diana. He came to Hobart in 1872 and established a brick manuafcturing 
industry, doing the first work where the National Fire Proofing Company 
plant is now located. He was there for about four years, after which he 
went to Lowell, Indiana, and afterward to Michigan. Later lie returned to 
this state and in 1893 he again came to Hobart, where he established the 
livery barn that he now conducts. 

In 1869 Mr. Guyer was married to Miss Sarah Ann Hutchins, who was 
born in Ohio, and there are four children of this union: Mary, deceased; 
Burton ; William ; and Philip, who has also passed away. Mr. Guyer is con- 
nected with Hobart Post No. 411, G. A. R., of which he is now commander, 
and he is likewise a faithful follower of the teachings of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, belonging to Earl Lodge No. 357, F. & A. M. In his political vie^.vs 
he is a Democrat. He is quite well known in this county, and he possesses 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 401 

many traits of character wliich have gained for him the regard and friendship 
of his fellow-men. 

GEORGE BOYD. 

George Boyd, of Ross township, is of the second generation of the 
family who have been so conspicuous in the agricultural history of Lake 
county from its early history to the present. He is himself one of the younger 
class of farmers of his township, and is of the energetic and progressive sort 
that takes farming out of its ruts and empirical methods of the past and 
furnishes it a smooth course and adapts scientific processes to soil culture. 
Mr. Boyd has also taken his place among the public-spirited citizenship of 
the county, and to social, material and intellectual progress gives his interest 
and co-operation. 

Mr. George Boyd is the eldest son of Eli M. and Agnes (Hyde) Boyd, 
the former of whom has lived in Lake county ever since 1848 and is one of 
the old and well known farmers and useful citizens, having been identified 
with the making of Lake county in many of its pre§ent essential features. 
The son George was born in Ross township. Lake county, October q, 1877. 
He was educated in the common schools of Ross township and at the Northern 
Indiana Normal College at Valparaiso, finishing his literary training at 
Northwestern University, at Evanston. He then engaged in farming in his 
native township, and has continued at it with great success to the present 
time. He does general farming and stockraising, operating a farm of three 
hundred acres, a part of the large estates of the Boyd brothers. 

Mr. Boyd is a leading young Republican of his township, and as far 
as his business interests permit concerns himself with public affairs both of 
national and local importance. He was married, Februan,- 5, 1901, to Miss 
Addie Guernsey, the daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Guernsey, well-known 
citizens of this county. Two children have been born to them, I.enore 
and Lucile. 

JOHN STARK. 

Lake county can boast of no finer class of citizens than the German- 
Americans who have settled in such number within its boundaries, and, 
whether born in the fatherland or children of German-born parents, these 
men and women have proved their substantial and solid qualities in all the 
relations of life. The farming communities have been especially benefited 



402 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

by them, and without their industry and excellent management it is doubtful 
if this county could so rapidly have progressed to a front rank in the agri- 
cultural communities of the state. One of the most representative of the 
men with the blood of German parents coursing in their veins is Mr. John 
Stark, of West Creek township, who belongs to a family which has been 
identified with Lake county since its pioneer epoch. His father and mother, 
like so many others, came to the county years ago, poor but honest, and 
with their industry accumulated a good estate before their years of activity 
were past. 

Mr. John Stark was born in St. John township, Lake county, Septem- 
ber 30, 1855, and is the third in age of the eleven children born to Joseph 
and Mary Ann (Merrick) Stark. A more detailed history of this worthy 
couple and family will be found in the sketch of their son Joseph, who is 
represented elsewhere in this work. 

Mr. Stark was reared on a farm and spent fourteen years of his life in 
the threshing industry. He received both an English and a German educa- 
tion, and in all the essential successes of his life he has been the architect 
of his own fortunes. He began life for himself at the age of twenty-six, 
when he was imited in marriage with Miss Susan Portz, on April 26, 1881. 
in St. John township. Ten children have been born of this happy union, and 
all are living at the present writing: Rosa, at home, who was educated in 
the public schools; Emil J., v/ho went through the common schools and i? 
fond of farming and all kinds of mechanical work; Mary E., who after the 
•common schools attended the Lowell and Crown Point high schools; 
Minnie E., who is in the eighth grade of school work; Adeline B., also 
in the eighth grade; Martha, in the sixth grade of the St. John schools; 
Anna M., in the fourth grade; Frankie, who has been to school one year 
and has never missed a day nor once been tardy; Leonora M. and Johnnie, 
who are the youngest of the family. 

Mrs. Stark was born in St. John township, Lake county. May 2, 1859, 
and was one of the ten children of Peter and Susan (Kraus) Portz. Seven 
of her brothers and sisters are living, as follows : Katie is the wife of Jacob 
Scherer, a carpenter of St. John, and has six children living; Peter, proprietor 
of the St. John's Hotel at St. John, married Miss Susan Bohr and has five 
^children living; John, a prosperous resident of Hammond and for eighteen 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 403 

years in the packing houses of tliat city, married Susan Giehring. who died 
July II, 1904, and lias four living children; Joseph, wlio resides with his 
mother at St. John, was educated in the high school at Milwaukee, Wiscon- 
sin, and for fourteen years was a teacher in his home school; Barbara is 
the wife of Joseph Jeurgens, a farmer of Juniata, Adams county, Nebraska, 
and has five children living; Mrs. Stark is the ne.xt in order of age; Lizzie is 
the widow of Jacob Lauermann, of St. John, and has five living children; 
Leo, a prosperous farmer of Adams county. Nebraska, married Miss Anna 
Beiriger and lias nine living children. All the children of this family were 
bright and intelligent in the work of the schools as well as in after life. 

Peter Portz, the father of Mrs. Stark, was born near the beautiful Rhine 
river in Germany, in 1819, and died in 1885. He was reared and well edu- 
cated in his native land, and was a teacher for some time after coming to 
America. By trade he was a miller. He was married in Germany, and 
after living there for some years he emigrated across the Atlantic with the 
intention of l^ettering himself financially. When he landed m New York 
he had almost no money, and he came out to Lake county and by a life of 
industry and good management accumulated an estate of two hundred and 
si.xty acres of fine land. He and his wife were devout members of the 
Catholic church at St. John, and all the children were confirmed in the 
church. Mrs. Stark's mother was born in 1821 and is still living at this 
writing, eighty-three years of age, and bright and healthy for one so old. 

Mr. and Mrs. Stark purchased two hundred and eighty acres of land in 
West Creek townsliip. and two years later added forty acres more. Their 
present home estate consists of one hundred and si.xty acres, on which they 
Jiave erected a nice countr)- residence, and the entire beautiful farmstead 
is a monument to their lives of industry and worth. Mr. Stark is a lover of 
fine stock, and finds the best grades to be the most profitable, his favorite 
grade of hogs being the Chester Whites. He is a Democrat in politics, and 
has voted the ticket since the candidacy of S. J. Tilden. He and his wife 
and some of the children are members of St. Edward's Catholic church at 
Lowell, of which Father F. Koenig is pastor, and Mrs. Stark is a member 
of the married ladies' sodality and the girls are members of the young ladies' 
sodality of St. Mary's. 



404 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

HoDAKT Pup.Lic Schools. 

Twelve teachers are employed in the Hobart Public Schools, including 
a superintendent and supervisor of music. Of these, two besides the super- 
intendent are engaged in high school work. The remainder give their entire 
time to work in the grades, one teacher being assigned to each grade. 

The course of study includes eight years' work in the elementary branches, 
reading, writing, number, spelling, language, geography, English history, 
American history, physiology and drawing — the first five subjects being 
studied during the entire eight years, except number, which is not begun 
until the second year, and four years" work in secondary branches. Special 
work in music under a special teacher is carried on throughout the entire 
twelve years. Special work in manual training is done during the first six 
years of the course. 

The present system of schools is the result of a gradual growth extend- 
ing over a period of many years. The development of the schools has kept 
pace with the best educational thought of the times ; while the school policy 
of the community has been conservative enough to insure thoroughness and 
avoid waste of time and money, the school authorities have always been eager 
to introduce methods and make changes which were prompted by progressive 
thf ught in educational matters. Becau.se of the demonstrated importance 
and value of construction work in elementary education a course in manual 
training has lately l^een introduced and plans are under contemplation for 
the further elaboration and organization of this work into the curriculum. 

The present school building is a commodious structure erected at a total 
cost of about thirtv thousand dollars, which contains eleven classrooms 
besides a lalioratorv in the basement. The building has been built in sections. 
two additions having been erected since the original structure was built. 
The original building, built in 1877 by Trustee M. J. Cook, contained but 
four rooms. In 1892 the increased school population made it necessary to 
erect an addition of two rooms, and another addition of five rooms became 
necessary in 1894. 

The high school was first established by Superintendent A. J- Smith 
daring the administration of Trustee James Reper, Jr., by introducing two 
years' work in general history and advanced work in the common branches. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 4U5 

This course was lengthened to three years and enriched d.uring the admin- 
istration of Trustee Seward Lighter, while P. J. Gristy was superintendent. 
In 1896 the course was further enriched and lengthened to four years, and 
in 1898 it was examined and commissioned by the State Board of Educa- 
tion in the name of A. R. Hardesty, who was superintendent at that time. 
The high school was re-examined and re-commissioned in 1901 in the name 
of the present superintendent, W. R. Curtis, who was first elected in 1901. 
In the last three years much attention has been given to enriching the high 
school life. The course has been made flexible, athletic and oratorical organ- 
izations have been carefully encouraged, and the equipment has been greatly 
increased. The first material equipment for high-class high school work, 
which was purchased by Trustee N. P. Banks in 1898, has l>een nearly 
doubled by the present incumbent, Trustee A. J. Swanson. 

A special supervisor of music was employed for the first time in 1903. 
This step has proved to be so satisfactory that special work in music is 
assured for the future. 

The schools are a part of the township system and the high school is,- 
therefore, a township high school. Pupils from outlying districts are trans- 
ported to the high school at public expense; also transportation is furnished 
for children in the elementary schools who live in districts where the paucity 
of population renders the maintenance of a separate school impracticable. 

Since the high school was first commissioned in 1898 the enrollment 
has increased from about 60 to 82. The fact that the percentage of pupils 
enrolled in the high school is now larger than ever before as compared with 
the total enrollment in the school is especially interesting because it shows 
that an increasing number of citizens are realizing the importance of better 
education for their children. 

For years it has been the will of the taxpayers and the ambition of 
trustees to add something each year to the equipment of the schools. This 
policy is a safeguard and a security of the future social condition of the 
community. 

JOSEPH B. BERG. 

Joseph B. Berg is one of the stanch German-Americans who stand so 
high in the ranks of citizenship in Lake county, and who are known for 
their energy, honesty and efiiciency in all of life's relations. Industry is a 



406 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

keynote in his succesful career, and as lie has accnmplislied mucl: for liiniself 
so likewise has he done his sliarc in the upbuikHng and development of the 
county. To no one class of citizens does Lake county owe more of its sub- 
stantial iirogress and prosperity than to the fine German-American element 
which will he found there in such numbers. 

Mr. Berg was born in West Creek township, Lake county, December 22, 
1862, and is the third in a family of four children, two sons and two daugh- 
ters, born to Bernhard and Katharine (Lang) Berg. He has a sister older 
than himself, named Elizabeth, who is the wife of Anton Huseman, a pros- 
perous farmer of West Creek township ; and a younger sister, Mary, who is 
the wife of Philip Fetsch, a resident of Chicago. His only brother is de- 
ceased. Bernhard Berg, the father, was born in Westphalia, Germany, in 
1834, and died in Crown Point in 1889. He received his education in the 
German language, but also learned English after coming to America. He 
was a young and comparatively poor man when he took passage on a sailing 
vessel and made the long and tedious voyage of weeks' duration to reach this 
land of opportunity and freedom. He came to Lake county and began as a 
wage-earner. He later purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land in 
West Creek township, going in debt for most of it, but before his useful 
career came to a close he had been the possessor of six hundred acres of the 
fine land of Lake county, which indicates how successful was his work. He 
was a Democrat in politics, and he and his wife were Catholics, with mem- 
bership in the St. Anthony's church, which he had helped :o build. His 
wife was also a native of Germany, and at the present writing makes her 
residence in Crown Point, being a bright and vigorous old lady of sixty- 
four years. 

Mr. Joseph B. Berg spent his youth as well as his later career in West 
Creek township, and his early education was obtained in the parochial 
schools. He was confirmed in the Catholic church at the age of thirteen. 
He is a practical farmer and stockman, and has given his best efforts and 
years to that honorable industry. He spent one year in Kankakee and 
Will counties, Illinois, engaged in the grain and live-stock business, but after 
that returned to his estate. 

March 4, 1889, he was married to Miss Louisa Cloidt (but the original 
spelling of the name in Germany was Kloht). Three children have been 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 407 

born to this happy union, and all are living: Fred Joseph, who is in the sixth 
grade of school work and last year attended the parochial scliool of Crown 
Point, his intellectual fondness being especially for arithmetic; Elizabeth T. 
and Clara M., both in school, and the former in the fourth grade. Mrs. Berg 
was born in Kankakee, Illinois, November 2, 1866, a daughter of Joseph 
and Louisa (Klein) Cloidt, and she was educated in the English schools. 
Both her parents were natives of Germany, and after coming to this country 
her father participated in the Civil war. He was wounded in the hip at the 
battle of Gettysburg, and he cut out the bullet with his own pocket-knife 
and still preserves the shot as a memorial of his brave soldier life. He had 
a brother Anton who was killed in the war. For a long time he was in 
the grain business at Beecher, Illinois, but is now living retired at Sollitt, 
Illinois. He is a Democrat in politics. His wife was born i-i Westphalia, 
Germany, and there were nine children, two sons and seven daughters, in 
their family, five of whom are living and all in Illinois except Mrs. Berg. 
Mrs. Berg is a quick, smart and energetic woman, an able assistant to her 
husband, and an esteemed member of the social circles of this community. 

Mr. and Mrs. Berg have five hundred and sixty-seven acres of good 
land in West Creek township, and in 1893 they erected their beautiful resi- 
dence, followed in the next year by a commodious new barn. Their farm- 
stead is a model in appearance and productivity, and there is not a better 
one in the township. They have a fine lot of Hereford cattle, besides some 
excellent horses, and Mr. Berg is known throughout this part of the county 
for his excellent judgment on the points of stock. He owns stock in a brick 
and tile company at Eagle Lake, Illinois. Mr. Berg is a Democrat, but has 
usually cast his vote according to his independent opinions. He and his wife 
and eldest children are members of St. Anthony's Catholic church at Klaas- 
ville. Indiana. Mr. Berg is a stockholder and the vice-president of the Crown 
Point Pure Food Company, which was incorporated to raise currants and 
manufacture jellies and preserves, this being an enterprise of much value 
to the farming district of Lake county. 

ERNEST TRAPTOW. 

Ernest Traptow is filling the position of township trustee in Calumet 
township, and no more capable official can be found in Lake county or one 



408 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

who is more loyal to the public interests and welfare. He resides in Tnlles- 
ton and he has a wide acquaintance in this portion of the state, for he is a 
native son of Lake county, his I}irth having occurred at Clarke on the 29th 
of December, 18G3. His parents, Frederick and Caroline ( Kurth ) Trap- 
tow, were natives of Germany and on crossing the Atlantic to ihe new world 
they made their way into the interior of the country, settling in this county 
about 1861. They established their home in Calumet township, where the 
father spent his remaining days, his death occurring in 1897. His widow 
still survives. Their family numbered five children, three sons and two 
daughters, and those still living are Ernest, Reinhart and Bertha. 

Mr. Traptow is the second child. He was reared on the old home farm 
in Calumet township and pursued his education in the schools of Tolleston 
and in the district schools. When he had put aside his text books he learned 
the carpenter's trade under the direction of his father, who was a carpenter 
and joiner as well as an agriculturist and built most of the houses in Tolles- 
ton. After the death of his father Mr. Traptow continued to engage in 
carpentering, and has erected many of the houses in Tolleston and Clarke. 
He continued to engage in contracting and building until he was elected trus- 
tee of Calumet township in 1900, since which time he has given his full at- 
tention to the duties of the ofifice and has thus largely promoted the welfare 
of his community. He was elected to this position on the Democratic ticket, 
and he has always been found as a stalwart advocate of Democratic prin- 
ciples, keeping well informed on the questions and issues of the day and doing 
all in his power to advance the interests of his party in this community. 

With the exception of two and a half years spent in Minnesota Mr. 
Traptow has passed his entire life in Lake county and is well known as a 
leading and influential citizen here, whose worth is widely acknowledged in 
public affairs and in private life. 

FESTUS P. SUTTON. 

Festus P. Sutton is a prominent and well known agriculturist in West 
Creek township, where he has a nice homestead of one hundred and twenty 
acres. He is the oldest child of one of the most prominent and worthy fam- 
ilies in the western portion of Lake count)-, a family which has always been 




"Ttt^ll-s TT St>iXXV»^^^ 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 409 

recognized for its integrity and the personal excellence of its individual 
members. The Suttons are of English origin, and those of the name have 
the advantage of a well knit and wholesome ancestry, with reputation 
throughout for substantiality and solidity. 

Mr. Sutton was born in Rush county. Indiana, October 9, 1846. There 
were eight children in the family, four sons and four daughters, seven of 
whom are living, and more detailed mention is made of them in the history 
of Mr. Otto Sutton to be found elsewhere in this volume. The parents were 
Gabriel F. and Almeda (Hall) Sutton. The father was a man who stooct 
four-square to the world, and is one of the most worthy characters that 
figure in the history of Lake county. He was an exemplary citizen, and set 
a good example to his children and famih', who in turn have honored him. 
He began life as a poor man in Rush county of this state, and when he died 
a few years ago in Lake county he was reckoned as a man of affluence, and 
left a fine property to his children, besides the rich heritage of his own name. 
He was a lover of relics and antiquities, and had in his possession many 
articles and papers connected with the earlier history of the Sutton family. 
His aged widow is still living a contented and peaceful life on the old home- 
stead not far from her children. 

Mr. Festus Sutton was reared in hi? native county ot Rush until he was 
aliout fifteen or sixteen years old, and since then he has been a resident of 
Lake count)-. He !iad already gained most of his education before coming 
to Lake county, but also here continued his schooling for a time in the public 
institutions of learning of the county. Self-application has been the ground 
for most of his success in life, and in his life work of farming he has made 
a A-ery cretlitable success. He has also been engaged for the past thirty 
years in grain-threshing in northwest Indiana, and is one of the best known 
men in this part of tlie state in this line of industry. 

Mr. Sutton lived at home with his parents until he was over forty years 
old. On June 20. 1889, he was united in marriage with Miss Altie L. Cover, 
and since then they iiave resided on their pleasant and profitable homestead 
in West Creek township. I\Irs. Sutton was born in Belmont county, Ohio, 
June 28, 1868. being- a daughter of George X. and Harriett (Jar\is) Cover. 
When she was finn- xears old she came to Jasper county, Indiana, where she 



410 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

was reared and received licr education in tlic puhlic schools. She is very 
fond of good literature as of all (jtlier tiling-, llial enhance tlie beauty, com- 
fort and pleasure of iionie. Mr. and .Mrs. Sutton have one daughter. Altie 
Almeda. 

Mrs. Sutton's father still h\es in Jasper county, where he is a well 
known farmer. She was one of ele\en children, five sons and six daughters, 
and in this family there were four pairs of twins. Ten of these children are 
living, and Mrs. Suttoii is the only one in Lake county; two are residents 
of Oklahoma, and the rest of Jasper county. The following is the obituary 
of Mrs. Sutton's mother : 

Harriett (Jarvis) Cover was born in Noble county, Ohio, June 25, 1839; 
died at her home in Union township, Jasper county, Indiana, January 10, 
1890, aged fifty years, six months, and sixteen days. Moved with her parents 
when three years old, to Belmont county, Ohio, and was there married to 
George N. Cover, December 15, 1859. She was the mother of eleven chil- 
dren, six girls and five boys, all of whom survive her. Among these eleven 
children are four pairs of twins. She was a teacher in the public schools for 
eleven terms, and a teacher and worker in the Sunday schools for many years. 
She joined the Christian church in 1853 and was a faithful and zealous 
memlier until the end. Her husband and all her children were present at 
the funeral, and also Mrs. Sarah E. Johnson, a sister, from Belmont county, 
Ohio. The funeral was held Sunday, January 12, and was conducted by 
Elder E. D. Pierson. The interment was in Prater graveyard. 

The sorrowing husband and children desire to express, through these 

columns, their sincere thanks to the many friends for aid and sympathy in 

their affliction. 

'"A precious one from us has gone, 

A voice we loved is stilled; 
A place is vacant in our home. 

Which never can be filled. 
God in His wisdom has recalled 

The boon His love had given; 
And though the body moulders here. 

The soul is safe in heaven." 

Mr. Sutton cast his first vote for General Grant, and as far as consistent 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 411 

witli his personal activity has nc\ei- failed to supixjrt with enthusiasm the 
principles of the Grand Old Party. He has hecn selected as a delegate to 
the district and county conventinns at \arious times. Fraternally he is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias. Lodt;e Xo. 300. at Lowell, and Mrs. 
Sutton is a charter member of the Rathbnne Sisters at the same place. "Sir. 
and Mrs. Sutton are both adherents nf the Christian church, and contribute 
according to their means to the benevolences. 

FREDERICK H. EINSPAHR. 

Frederick H. Finspahr. of West Creek township, is an enterprising, 
energetic, public-spirited agriculturist and citizen, and his career and achieve- 
ments in every department of life are an honor and credit to his county. 
Lake county as much as any comity in the state is indebted to the fine class 
of German-Americans who have taken up their abode within its boundaries 
and devoted themselves to the development of its interests, ^\'herever this 
class of citizens have settled there one may look for the highest degree of 
agricultural enterprise, as would be apparent to even a casual observer or 
traveler in Lake county. As a rule these settlers came to America poor but 
honest and industrious, and these qualities of character provel to be among 
the most important factors in the improvement of the great west and also 
resulted in individual prosperity and influence. As a class they also believe 
in the education of their children and the training of them in proper habits 
of living and morality, so that all institutions of society have profited and 
been elevated by the coming of the men of the Teutonic race. 

Mr. Einspahr was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, August J5, 
1852, a son of Frederick and Anna Kathrine (Claussen) Einspahr. He 
was the fourth of their seven children, five sons and two daughters, and fi\e 
are yet living: Lizzie, who is the wife of Jacob Buehler, a farmer of Ode- 
bolt, Iowa: Anna, wife of Adolph Kuehl, a prosperous farmer at Crown 
Point: Mr. Einspahr: Martin, married and a farmer of \\'est Creek town- 
ship; and John E., who is married and is a wagon-maker at Odebolt. Iowa. 

Frederick Einspahr. the father, was born in the same part of the fath.er- 
land as his son, on March 13. 1816, and died October 29. 1875. He was a 
tailor by trade. He was educated in the German language, and was a man 
of more than ordinary intelligence. As a journeyman tailor he traveled 



412 HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 

throughout Germany, and continued tliat husine^^ in his nati\e land iijv a 
number of years. He finally concluded tn leave his fatherland and find in 
America a place for his family and better opportunities for gaining a for- 
tune. In the spring of 1853 he embarked his little family on a sailing vessel 
at Hamburg and thence by way of England crossed tlie Atlantic and after 
a long voyage of ninety days landed in Quebec, Canada, lieing there amid 
a strange people and in a f(M-eign land. Blue Island, Illinois, was their first 
permanent destination, and the father remained there some years, following 
his trade in the winter ar.d farming in the summer. In 1867 he brought his 
family to West Creek township and purchased eighty-five acres of land. The 
little log cabin which served as their humble habitation for the first few years 
still stands on the farm, as a memorial of the past w ith its privations and 
primitive ways. He went in debt for his property, but his diligence and 
good management paid for it and also enabled him to buy eighty acres more. 
He was a man of honest and upright character, was a stanch Republican in 
political beliefs, and he and his wife were reared in the faith f>f the German 
Lutheran church and after coming to Indiana became German INIethodists. 

Mr. Einspahr's mother survived her husband for over a quarter of a cen- 
tury, and passed away at the home of her son Fred, February 8, 1903, aged 
eighty-five years eleven months and six days. She was born at Xeuminster, 
Schleswig-Holstein. March 2. 181 7. June 7. 1842, she was united in mar- 
riage to Frederick Einspahr, and at her death, besides her own five children, 
there were forty-eight grandchildren and twenty-one great-grandchildren and 
a large circle of relatives and friends to mourn her loss. Funeral services 
were held at the German Methodist church February 10, 1903, Rev. Dis- 
myer conducting the obsequies, after which her remains were laid to rest in 
the cemetery adjoining the church. She had resided in America for nearly 
half a century, and for the last forty-five years had been a faithful member 
of the German Methodist church and always lived a true and Christian life. 
She was always a true and loving mother, a good friend and obliging 
neighbor. 

Mr. Einspahr was not a year old when the voyage to the new world 
was- undertaken, and he was about fourteen or fifteen when he became a resi- 
dent of West Creek township. During his active lifetime he has witnessed 
this beautiful agricultural region impro\ed from a bare prairie or marsh into 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. 413 

the most productive part of the county. Within his remembrance the coun- 
try was largely unfenced, and Lowell, now a beautiful town of sixteen hun- 
dred, contained only two stores. Wolves were also plentiful during his boy- 
hood. Every two weeks during the season it was the custom to haul their 
grain to the Chicago market, and Fred always accompanied the wagon each 
time. Mr. Einspahr is a more than ordinarily well educated man, having 
been trained in both the German and English languages. He began earning 
wages at the age of fourteen years, giving the money to his parents. And 
when he started out for himself at the age of twenty-one he had not five 
dollars to his name. He went to Chicago and was a coachman for two years, 
and then in the ice business one year, after which he returned to Lake county 
and took up his permanent career as a farmer. 

November 17, 1878, he married Miss Dorathea Frederick, and during 
their felicitous marriage union, lasting twenty-two years, nine children were 
born, all of whom are li\ing at the present time, as follows: Christena, 
who finished the eighth grade of school and can read and speak the German 
language, has, since her luother's death, taken full charge of the home, and 
is a young lady who has many friends and acquaintances throughout the 
township; Peter F., who finished the eighth grade and is a farmer in West 
Creek township, married Miss Lottie B. Hayden and has a little daughter, 
Mabel Lucy : W'ilhelmina, who is in the eighth grade of school ; Frederick 
J., in the eighth grade: Laura, who graduated in 1902 from the grammer 
schools at the age of thirteen: Anna, in the sixth grade; Clara, in the fourth; 
Irvin, in the first; and Martha, who is the baby of the home. 

The full re\icw of the life of Mrs. Einspahr is gi\-en in the following 
published obituary: Dorathea I'rederick was born near Blue Island, Illinois. 
August 17, 1859, and died at her home in West Creek township after a 
brief illness, December 17. 1900, at the age of forty-one years and four 
months. In infancy she came with her parents from Blue Island to Dyer. 
Indiana. November 17, 1878. she was united in marriage to Frederick 
Einspahr. To this union nine children, three boys and six girls, were born; 
all of which survi\-e their mother, their dearest and truest friend on earth. 
At the age of fifteen years she joined the Lutheran church, and ever lived the 
life of the true Christian ; being ever ready to assist in any good work, ever 
thinking more of the happiness of others than of her own. She was a true 



414 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

and faithful wife; a kind and indulgent mother and an obliging neighbor, 
and will be greatly missed and sincerely mourned by the whole community 
in which she lived. The seventeenth day of the month seemed to be the day 
upon which the epochs in her life were to occur, for upon that day of the 
month she was born, married and died ; rather a strange fatality. She leaves 
her husband, nine children, two brothers : John Frederick, of Dyer, Indiana, 
and Peter Frederick, of Lowell, Indiana ; and four sisters : Mrs. Joseph Sons, 
of Dyer, Indiana, Mrs. John Harms, of Dalton, Illinois, Mrs. Albert Ger- 
ritsen, of Fernwood, Illinois, and Mrs. William Einspahr, of West Creek. 
Indiana; an aged mother-in-law, together with a large circle of friends, to 
mourn the departure of a true, noble and loving wife, mother and friend, 
to that higher sphere of life. Her funeral occurred from the German Metho- 
dist church in West Creek township, Thursday, December 20, at 2 p. m. 
Rev. Dismyer. of Crown Point, preached the funeral discourse. She was 
laid away in the cemetery near the church, there to rest in quiet slumljer 
until the morning of the first resurrection, then to come forth into immortal 
life to enjoy the companionship of the dear friends she has left behind 
throughout an endless eternity. To the sorely bereaved family the Tribune 
extends its sincere sympathy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Einspahr Ijegan on the old homestead, which he had 
purchased from the other heirs. He went in debt, but by industry and honest 
toil and careful economy cleared off all incumbrances and gained a com- 
fortable and valuable estate. His farm of eighty-five acres lies in \\'est 
Creek township, and he is looked upon as one of the most progressive farmers 
of the community. By his upright life before God and man he has won 
the respect and confidence of all who know him, and can bear his part with 
dignity and honor wherever he goes. As a Republican xottr he cast his 
first ballot for R. B. Hayes. He has represented his township in the county 
conventions of the party at various times. He has been road i-uperintendent 
time and again for twenty years. He fraternizes with Council No. 13 of the 
Order of Foresters at Lowell, and he and the family attend the German 

Methodist church. 

JAMES J. KELSEY. 

.The pioneers of the country, those who blazed the way to civilization 
and made the wilderness to bloom and blossom like the rose, are as a class 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 415 

rapidly passing away, and it is a pleasure to be able to record while some 
of them are yet living their' achievements and their place in society and the 
world. Mr. Kelsey is one of this worthy class of citizens in northwestern 
Indiana, and has passed many years in this vicinity and in eastern Illinois. 

He was l)orn in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, February J5. 1842, and 
is the second of the three children, being the only son, of John D. and 
Eunice (Johnson) Kelsey. His sister iSIary is still living, being the widow 
of Otis Townsend and a resident of Duluth, Minnesota. John D. Kelsey was 
born in Vermont about 1809, and died in 1876. He was a farmer by occupa- 
tion He was reared to young manhood in Vermont, thence moved to Penn- 
sylvania, some years later to New York, and then to Lake county. Indiana. 
where he passed away. He had enjoyed a common school education in his 
youth, and was a man of superior intelligence and capability. In politics 
he was a Whig and then a stalwart Republican, with pronounced anti-slavery 
sentiments. Fraternally he was a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and he and his wife were members of the Christian church. His 
remains a-e buried in the Lowell cemetery. 

Mr. Kelsey lost his mother when he was three years of age, and it was 
about the same time when- the family moved to New York state, where he 
was reared to the age of eighteen. Part of his education was obtained in an 
old-fashioned hewn-log cabin school with slab seats resting on four wooc^en 
pins, and with the desk for the big boys and girls a broad boar.l running part 
way round the room and resting on pins driven into the wall. The room was 
heated by a lx).x sto\'e. for which the big boys by turn cut the wood used as 
fuel. His pen was a goosequill, and he conned his lessons from Davies 
arithmetic, the Rhetorical reader, and the Sanders speller, ;'.nd the school 
was supported on the subscription plan. From these facts it will be seen 
what a change has laeen wrought in educational matters since Mr. Kelsey's 
youth. 

Mr. Kelsey began life at the bottom of the ladder. He \vorked out at 
nine dollars per month in order to earn money with which to bring his par- 
ents to Indiana. And when they arrived at Cedar Lake in this county they 
had twenty dollars only. He began working at wages as low as fifty cents 
a dav, from wdiich it is seen that he has made great progress in this county. 
His father rented a farm in West Creek township in the spring of i860, and 



416 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

the son began witli Iiim and remained there two years, and then his father 
gave him liis time. He did not have enough to buy his winter clothing, and 
he began to earn wages by chop])ing wood. From Lake county he went to 
Momence, IlHnois, where he found employment in a distillery, and then hired 
out to a farmer at thirteen dollars a month. This continued until August, 
1862, at which date he joined Company K, One Hundred and Thirteenth 
Illinois Infantry, and was in service as a part of the Army of the Tennessee 
until February, 1863. Part of the time he served as guard for the provision 
train, and for about a month was in the hospital at Keokuk, Iowa. On re- 
ceiving his honorable discharge he returned home and resumed his farming 
operations. 

September 18, 1863, he married Miss Nancy J. Kile, and their three 
children, two sons and one daughter, are all living, as follows : Laura E. 
is the wife of A. B. Chipman, whose history is given elsewhere in this 
volume. Merritt, the elder son, is the popular liveryman at Lowell, where 
he has a splendid business and a pretty home; by his wife, Catherine Stubbs, 
he has two daughters. Vernal Nancy, in the seventh grade of the public 
schools, and Ethel Pauline. Leroy Elkin, the younger son, is a machinist, 
residing in Lowell, and he married Miss Mary Ponto, by whom there is a 
son. Cecil Glenn. 

Mrs. Kelsey was born in Yellowhead township, Kankakee county, 
Illinois, January 3, 1842, being a daughter of Reason C. and Nancy Jane 
(Hayden) Kile, and she was reared and educated in that county. She is a 
kind and loving wife and mother and has always stood by her husband in 
his life work. The first land that they purchased was one hundred and forty 
acres in Yellowhead township, and Mr. Kelsey w'ent in debt for it, but with 
characteristic energy and with the aid of his good wife and children paid 
ofif every dollar. And to that original tract he has subsequently added, first 
one hundred and twenty acres, and then one hundred and eighty-two acres, 
all of which lies in Yellowhead township, and the improvements on the old 
homestead are of the very best. This is an admirable record for a man who 
began life without twenty dollars to his name, and he has prospered de- 
servedly. At one time he was paying as high as sixteen per cent interest on 
his indebtedness. 

Mr. Kelsey and his wife came to Lowell in 1899 and purchased a pretty 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 417 

and comfortaWe residence w liere tliey are living a retired life. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and cast his first vote for the Rail-Splitter President 
Abe Lincoln, since which time he has always supported that party's prin- 
ciples. For twelve years lie ser\ed as a public school director in Kankakee 
county. Fraternally he is a member of Burnham Post No. 226. G. A. R. He 
and his wife are kind. lo\ing" jjcople. i-csjiecters of Christianity, and have 
many friends in Lowell and in Kankakee county. 

The following ])aragrai)hs, which appeared in the local jiress, indicate 
further facts anent the life and character of Mrs. Kelsey's parents; 

Reason C. Kile died at his home one and one-half miles northeast of 
Sherbnrnville, on Friday, February 10, 1899. The funeral was held at the 
residence on Sunday, and interment took place at ^Vest Creek. ]\Ir. Kile 
was born August 10, 181 7, in Knox county, Ohio. He came to Kankakee 
county in 1837, and located on section 36, Yellowhead township, where he 
cleared a farm, and remained there about seven years. He then remoxed 
to the location which was bis home when he died. He was married in 1840 
to Miss Nancy Hayden, daughter of Nebemiah Hayden, one of the pioneer 
settlers of Lake county, Indiana. Five children came from this union, three 
of whom are still living — Nancy, wife of James J. Kelsey; Mary Ellen, wife 
of George W. VanAlstine; and Flora, wife of William Hatton. Mr. Kile 
commenced for himself without anything, but through industry and economy 
has acquired a comjietency. 

Mrs. Nancy Jane Kile died at her home in Yellowhead township, Kan- 
kakee county, Illinois, last Sunday morning, after a prolonged illness of 
about four years, her nialndv being in the form of a gradual decline, but for 
the past four weeks before her death she was confined to her bed and was 
as helpless as a babe. The best of care and attention was bestowed upon 
her by relati\-es and friends during her long period as an invalid. The fun- 
eral services were held from the West Creek Methodist church Monday fore- 
noon at 10 o'clock, at wdn'ch services a very large concourse of relatives and 
friends were in attendance, and the expressions of sorrow and sympathy 
were sincere and heartfelt for the bereaved. The services were conducted 
by Elder John Bruce. The remains were laid to rest in the West Creek 
cemetery, Funeral Director Clifford Stowell conducting this part of the 



418 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

serxice. Edgar, Jake, Lute. John, Cyrus and \\'illiam Hayden, brothers of 
the deceased, acted as pall-liearers. 

Nancy Jane Hayden was Ijorn in the state of Pennsylvania. April 27, 
1823, and when Init a child her parents, Neliemiah and Harriet Hayden, 
moved to Knox county, Ohio, where she spent her early childhood. In 
1836 she came with her parents to Lake county, Indiana, they l>eing among 
the first pioneer settlers of this county. She was united in marriage 
to Reason C. Kile. To this union five children were born, three of whom 
are living, namely: Nancy, wife of James Kelsey, Mary E.. wife of George 
VanAlstine, and Flora, wife of William Hatton. .\fter her marriage to 
Mr. Kile in 1841 they settled on the farm near Sherljurnville, which has 
been the home of the deceased until death, preceded by a long and severe ill- 
ness, took her away on October 19, 1902, at the age of 79 years, 5 months 
and 22 days. Mrs. Kile was well known and highly esteemed by all. Her 
many relatives and friends mourn her loss. 

CHARLES A. BORGER. 

Prominent and influential in the business and public life of Hobart, 
Charles A. Borger is now engaged in the manufacture of harness there, and 
is also a member of the town board, and while successfully conducting his 
private business affairs he is at the same time ably assisting in getting com- 
munity interests which affect the entire town. His wide accpiaintance and the 
esteem in which he is uniformly held renders it imperative that his life his- 
tory be given a place in this \olume. 

He was born in Hanover township, Lake county, October 5, i860, and 
is a son of John and Metta (Meyer) Borger, the former born in Hanover. 
Germany, and the latter in Bremen, Germany. It was after their emigra- 
tion to the new world that they were married, the wedding ceremony being 
performed in Lake county. They then took up their alx)de in Hanover town- 
ship, and the father carried on agricultural pursuits until his life's labors 
were ended in death, when he was but fifty-six years of age. He had been 
a resident of the county since 1842 and during the greater part of that period 
was a factor in agricultural circles. His wife died when but fifty-four yeirs 
of age. They were the parents of nine children, all born in Lake county. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 419 

and eight of the number are still living, Mr. C. A. Borger being the fourth 
son and fifth child. 

Upon the home farm in Iiano\ er tow nship. Charles A. Borger spent the 
days of his boyhood, remaining with his uKjther until nineteen- years of age, 
when he entered upon an apprenticeship to the harness-maker's trade in 
Dyer, Indiana. He served for a term of four years and then went to Chi- 
cago, where he worked for one year. On tlie expiration of ihat period he 
came to Hobart in 1885 and here began the manufacture of harness. He 
received a little aid from his parents in the beginning of his business career. 
In 1893 he built his present place of business, which is a two-story brick 
structure, in which he is now conducting one of the leading productive in- 
dustries of the city. He has secured a liberal patronage, owing to the ex- 
cellence of the goods which he manufactures and to his honorable treatment 
of his patrons. 

Mr. Borger was married in October, 1885, the lady of his choice being 
Miss Henrietta Batterman, who was born January 3, 1864, in Will county, 
Illinois, being a sister of E. Batterman, who is represented elsewhere in this 
work. They are the parents of two daughters, Sena and Edna. Sena was 
born July 3, 1886; she graduated in the class of 1903 in the Hobart township 
high school, and is now one of Lake county's successful teachers, at Miller's 
Station. Edna was born March 15, 1893. and is in the sixth grade of the 
Hobart schools. Mr. Borger exercises his right of franchise in support of 
the n-en and measures of the Republican party and has firm faith in its prin- 
ciples and in their ultimate triumph. He is now a member of the town board. 
Fraternally he is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
^'*^- 33.3- ^^'t'l the Knights of Pythias Lodge, No. 458, and with the Knights 
of the Maccabees, Tent No. 65, and also a member of the Masonic fraternity, 
No. 357. He enjoys the warm esteem of his brethren of these orders, for he 
is true to their teaching and the beneficent principles upon which they are 
founded. He has in his business career made consecutive progress, and his 
course has been marked by desirable accomplishment, but when he started 
out in life for himself he possessed little capital, nor did he receive any ad- 
vantages from influential family connection. He has worked persistently and 
has gained prosperity as the result of earnest labor, in which keen discrimina- 
tion and sound business judgment have formed a part. 



420 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Ml^S. KATHARIXA EIXSPAHR. 

The women of a community are ofttimes the most enterprising factors 
in its activity, and extend their influence far beyond their supposedly legiti- 
mate sphere of worlc. Tliere is no citizen of West Creek township more 
highly esteemed fur enterprise and wcnlli in tlie business and industrial de- 
partments of Lake county as well as for large qualities of heart and mind, 
than Mrs. Einspahr, who resides on the fine estate in this township which 
she and her husband by indefatigable labor and honest industry and wise 
management built up to extensive ruid valualjle proportions. 

This worthy reprcscnlati\e of the ladies of West Creek township was 
born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, June 26, 1852, being the eldest of three 
children, all daughters, and her two sisters being: Christine, wife of George 
Walker, a retired resident of Chicago, and who has one child : and Mary, 
wife of James Nott, engaged in real estate business in Chicago. The par- 
ents of these three daughters were T. Baldanzer and Maggie (Albus) Frank. 
Her father was born in Frankfort on the Rhine in 1823, and died in 1887. 
He was educated in the German tongue, and followed farming throughout 
life. In 1857 he set sail from Germany with his family, the port of departure 
being Bremen, and, on account of the heavy storms which the sailing vessel 
encountered, they were three months and nine days in reaching this side of 
the .Atlantic. He at once brought the family out to Blue Island, Illinois, 
where he began his active career as a farmer, poor but honest, and at his 
death could say that he had always made his own way and had enjoyed the 
high regard of his neighbors and friends. For a time he was a watchman 
in the Union Depot at Chicago, and he died in that city. He v.as a Republi- 
can in politics, and he and his wife were members of the Lutheran church. 
His wife was born in Nassau, Germany, in 1817, and died in 1895, having 
lived, after her husband's death, with her daughter. 

September 20, 1871, Miss Katharina Frank was married to Mr. August 
Einspahr, and the ten children born of tliis union are all living at the present 
writing, as follows : Fred, who is a farmer of Odebolt, Iowa, and is mar- 
ried ; William, a prosperous farmer of AVest Creek township, and a married 
man; August, a farmer of the same township; Maggie, wife of Otto Sutton, 
one 'of the prosperous men of W^est Creek township whose histories appear 
in this volume; Martin, who resides with his mother and conducts the farm; 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 421 

Emil, who is a farmer of the same township; Emma, wife of Joseph Carl, 
who is in a greenhouse at Crown Point; Walker, a farmer of West Creek 
township; Alfred, who makes his home with his mother; and Katie, the 
youngest, who is in the sixth grade of school. 

Mr. Einspahr was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, May 2, 1843, 
and died February 11, 1894. He was ten years old when he accompanied 
his parents to America, their residence from the first being at Blue Island, 
Illinois. He was thus trained and educated in both the German and Eng- 
lish languages. His parents were Frederick and Anna K. Einspahr, both 
deceased. Mr. Einspahr gave almost a year of loyal service as a soldier 
to the Union during the Civil war, and then received his honorable discharge. 
After his marriage he and his wife began life on eighty acres of land in West 
Creek township, the property being incumbered with twenty-two hundred 
dollars' debt. But they were industrious, shrewd managers, and had early 
learned the lesson of making both ends meet, so that it was not long before 
the indebtedness was cleared off and they were free to add more to their 
estate. 

Mr. Einsphar was a stanch Republican, and all his sons follow his ex- 
ample. He was a solid man, reliable and of unflinching integrity, and all 
men respected him for his sterling worth. He and his wife were both mem- 
bers of the German Methodist church. Since her husband's death Airs. Ein- 
spahr has erected her comfortable residence in the township, and has super- 
vised the placing of the many improvements and the tiling of the land. She 
is a lady who is held in the highest esteem by all her acquaintances, and lier 
hospitable home is a place of rest and comfort for all who enter therein. 

HENRY BRANDT. 

Henry Brandt, the prosperous and well known farmer and stockman of 
West Creek township, belongs to that fine class of German-American citizens 
who have been such praiseworthy factors in the upbuilding of the material and 
intellectual resources of Lake county. He is a native son and a life-long 
resident of the county, and therefore his interest in the county is deep-rooted 
and sincere. The history of his career shows that he has accomplished a 
more than ordinary success, and it may be said that in every relation of life 
he has merited the esteem of his fellow citizens. 



422 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

Mr. Brandt was born in Lake county, April 2, 1856, and is the fifth in 
a family of nine children, four sons and five daughters, born to Dietrich and 
Anna (Bischop) Brandt. Eight of this family of sons and daughters are 
still living, as follows: John, who is a farmer of Benton county, Iowa; 
Mary; wife of David Locker, a farmer of Greeley county, Nebraska; Will- 
iam, a farmer of Lyon county, Iowa, and married; Henry; Anna, wife of 
George Sautter, a Nebraska farmer; Lena, wife of William Bahr, a farmer 
of Lyon county, Iowa ; Emma, wife of Casper Gross, a tile manufacturer of 
Benton county, Iowa ; and Herman, a farmer of Lyon county, Iowa. 

Dietrich Brandt, the father of these children, was born near the free 
city of Bremen, in Hanover, Germany, was educated in the German lan- 
guage, and followed farming pursuits throughout the active part of his life. 
He was married in Germany, and three of their children were born in the 
fatherland. ' About the year 1848 he decided to come to America to seek his 
fortune, and he accordingly embarked his own on board a sailing vessel at 
Bremen, and after thirty-six days arrived in New York. He came out to 
Lake county, thus being among the early settlers, and purchased one hun- 
dred and sixty acres of rather wild land. The first home was a log cabin, 
and the hazel bushes were standing thick around and over the present highly 
cultivated place. He was a successful man in his work, and besides provid- 
ing well for his family he accumulated two hundred and ninety acres in West 
Creek township, his estate containing some of the choicest land in the com- 
munity. He was a Republican in politics, and he and his wife were memberi 
of the Evangelical church in West Creek township, he having assisted in 
the building of the church edifice. His death occurred about 1880, and his 
wife, who was also born in the vicinity of Bremen, passed away in 1893. 

Mr. Henry Brandt received an education in the English public schools 
of West Creek township, and from his earliest years of active labor to the 
present time has been identified successfully with farming and stock-raising 
pursuits. He remained at home with his parents until he had reached his 
majority, and when he started out independently he was possessed of a capi- 
tal of fifteen hundred dollars. 

January 18, 1882, he married Miss Emma Sastrow, and of this happy 
marriage eight children have been born, seven of whom are living. Ernest, 
the eldest, received his diploma for completion of the common school course 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 423 

in 1900, ^nd is at home; Elsie, a graduate of the class of 1902, has also 
taken music; George is a graduate in 1903; Dora is in the fifth grade; and 
Harry, the youngest, is in the second grade of school. Mrs. Brandt was 
born in Cook county. Illinois, June 28, i860, being a daughter of Charles 
and Henrietta (Steiner) Sastrow. She has one sister, Carrie, wife of Will- 
iam Brandt. Her parents came from Prussia, her father being a native of 
Pomerania and her mother of Holstein, and her father is still living, being 
a resident of Lyon county, Iowa. 

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs, Brandt settled on a farm of one 
hundred and sixty acres within half a mile of their present homestead. They 
have been thrifty and good managers, and as the years have gone by their 
prosperity has manifested itself by an accumulated estate of three hundred 
and ninety-nine acres, all finely cultivated and as good land as lies within the 
confines of West Creek township. They also ovvn three hundred and twenty 
acres in South Dakota, near Salem, the county seat of McCook county. Mr. 
Brandt is a good judge of fine stock, and keeps good grades of Norman 
horses, Durham cattle and Chester White hogs. He has the best of improve- 
ments on the farrn, consisting of large and commodious barns, granaries and 
other outbuildings, and in 1896 he erected a comfortable country residence 
which is a credit to the community. He is a Republican in politics, and, 
from the time of casting his first presidential vote for James A. Garfield, he 
has been a loyal upholder of Republican principles. Fraternally he is a mem- 
ber of Lodge No. 14, of the Independent Order of Foresters at Brunswick, 

Indiana. 

LOUIS LARSON. 

Louis Larson is a prominent and enterprising farmer of Lake county, 
residing on section 17, Ross township, where he has a well improved property 
that in its beautiful appearance indicates his careful supervision. A native 
of Sweden, he was born on the 20th of November, i860, and was a son of 
John Larson, who was also born in that country, whence he came to America, 
landing in New York in 1866, and then spent two years in Chicago. Two 
years afterward he came t'o Lake county, Indiana, establishing his home in 
Hobart township in 1868. There he remained for seven years and then 
removed to Ross township, but later he returned to Hobart township, where 
his death occurred in 1898, when he was in his sixty-sixth year. He was a 
life-long Republican, having firm faith in the principles of the party and 



424 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

giving to it his stalwart support. Both he and his wife are members of the 
Swedish Lutheran church at Hobart, and he was deeply interested in all that 
pertained to the moral and educational advancement as well as to the material 
upbuilding of his community. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Ellen 
Olson, is also a native of Sweden. She still survives her husband and now 
makes her home with her son Louis. She has been twice married, and by the 
first union she had two daughters, while the children of the second marriage 
are two .sons. 

Louis Larson, the younger son, was but five years of age when his 
parents left Sweden and came to the new world, while since seven years of 
age he has made his home in Lake county, Indiana. Here he was reared and 
educated, attending the Hulj.irt schools and also the Ainsworth school in 
Ross township. To his father he gave the benefit of his services through 
the period of his minority, .working in the fields throughout the summer 
months or from the time of early spring planting until crops were har- 
vested in the late autumn. He rem.ained at home to the time of his mar- 
riage, which occurred on the 3d of January, 1885, the lady of his choice 
being Miss Hilda Strom, a native of Sweden, who came to the United States 
when fourteen years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. Larson have been born three 
children: William, Edwin and Herbert. 

After his marriage Mr. Larson rented his father's farm for about four 
years and then purchased the place upon which he has since carried on 
general agricultural pursuits and stock-raising. He now has eighty acres 
of good land here, well improved with substantial buildings. There is a 
comfortable house and large barn, and other modern improvements which 
indicate the owner to be a man of progressive and practical spirit. His land 
is arable, and the well-tilled fields yield to him a good return for his labor. 
In his political views he is a stanch Republican, and his religious faith is 
indicated by his membership in the Swedish Methodist Episcopal church at 
Hobart. Almost his entire life has been passed in Lake county, and those 
who have known him from boyhood esteem him highly because his life has 
been honorable and upright. 

THOMAS GRANT. 

Thomas Grant, numbered among the wide-awake and progressive busi- 
ness men of Lake county, Indiana, is now engaged in merchandising in 




/C^^^i!^7<yi^<^^^ .--'^^i'l^^^/^— 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 425 

Lowell and is also filling the position of township trustee, being active and in- 
fluential in community affairs. He was born in Lowell on the 13th of Sep- 
tember, 1865, and is a son of Thomas Grant, who was born in Scotland and 
came to America when a young man, locating in Chicago. Subsequently 
he removed to this county, settling in Lowell in i860. He assisted in build- 
ing the mill here, but his business career was early terminated by death. 
He died in the south when his son Thomas was but nine months old. 

Thomas Grant was early thrown upon his own resources, for when a 
youth of only nine years he began working by the month as a farm hand. 
He also worked as a section hand for three years on the Monon Railroad, 
after which he learned the carpenter's trade and followed that pursuit for ten 
years. As time passed he prospered in his undertaking because of his 
economy and diligence, and on retiring from active connection with carpen- 
tering he invested the capital he had acquired in a mercantile enterprise in 
Lowell, becoming a partner of his brother James. This business connec- 
tion was formed in 1900, and they now carry a large and well selected line of 
general merchandise. Mr. Grant of this review is also a stockholder in the 
Lowell National Bank and his efforts are an important factor in promoting 
commercial activity and prosperity in his town. 

In 1893 Mr. Grant was united in marriage to Miss Gracie Nichols, a 
daughter of W. C. and Mary Nichols. They have one son, Byrl. Mr. Grant 
is a stanch Republican, taking an active interest in the work and success of 
his party, and in 1900 he was elected township trustee, which position he 
is now filling. Fraternally he is connected with the Knights of Pythias 
lodge No. 300, at Lowell, and with the Masonic order. Having spent his 
entire life in Lowell he is well known in this portion of the county, and his 
life history is as an open book which all may read. His friends entertain 
for him warm regard, for he has ever commanded their respect and confi- 
dence, and I^ecause of his prominence in public and business affairs he well 
deserves mention as one of the representative citizens of this pari of the state. 

ALBERT FOSTER. 

Albert Foster, ' ex-trustee of West Creek township, for many years 
actively engaged in agricultural affairs and now a resident of Lowell, belongs ^ 
to the w-ell-known Foster familv which for two-thirds of a centurv have 



426 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

been conspicuous in the development of the county's material resources. 
The landed possessions in the Foster name are among the largest single 
estates in the county. Besides being accumulators of property, they have 
been producers of wealth, and from the time of the father who located here 
during the pioneer days the influence and works of the family members have 
always been on the side of progress in social, intellectual and institutional 
affairs. What has been accomplished by this family will always remain 
as a test and mark of their merit and worth as citizens, and Mr. Albert 
Foster has not been one of the least of the name in conferring great good 
upon the county of his nativity. 

Mr. Foster was born in West Creek township on Christmas day of 
1856. His parents were George L. and Lucy Jane (Hathaway) Foster, 
and he was the fifth of their ten children, five sons and five daughters, nine 
of whom are still living, as follows : Edwin L., who is married and engaged 
in the oil business at Jacksonville, Illinois; Volney, married and a farmer 
in prosperous circumstances in West Creek township; Edson, married and a 
resident of Chicago Heights, Illinois; Albert; Eliza, wife of Arthur Farley, 
a farmer of Lowell; Emeline, wife of F. E. Nelson, the banker at Lowell; 
Martha, wife of Frank L. Smart, who is; principal of the Dubuque, Iowa, 
high school, and who was educated at Valparaiso and in Harvard College; 
Mariilia, wife of S. A. Richards, of Valparaiso; and Julia, wife of George 
Bailey. 

George L. Foster was born in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, April 10, 
1821, and died in Kansas, May 12, 1877. He was a farmer and stockman 
and for some time was a cattle drover. He was a self-educated man, gifted 
with a retentive memory, and had great individuality and force of charac- 
ter. His active career began at the early age of fifteen, when he left his 
father's home and went to work on the Erie canal. He came home at the 
end of nine months and gave his parents, in addition to his regular wages, 
twenty dollars that lie had picked up as extras. His father returned to him 
this twenty dollars, and thus capitalized he started out on foot for the distant 
destination of Lake county, Indiana. When he arrived in this county, in 
1836 or '^j, he had eleven dollars in cash, so that he began at the foot of 
life's ladder. For ten years he was a wage earner. About 1841 he entered 
a tract of eighty acres in .section 7, West Creek township, consisting of pure 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 4-27 

virgin soil, and his first domicilium was a log cabin, the material for which 
was cut from the Kankakee swamp trees. Not to enter into details, he pnis- 
pered to the extent that he owned o\er one thousand acres of land in this 
county, all in one bod), liesides eleven hundred acres in Kansas. This land 
has never passed from the family, and the descendants insteatl of selling 
any of it have added much more to it. 

Mr. George L. Foster was a very remarkable man in many wa)s, and he 
was uniformly successful in all his undertakings. During the California 
gold excitement he started for the Eldorado, but got only as far as Pike's 
Peak. Later, however, he went on to the coast, returning by way of the 
Isthmus. Politically he was an old-line Whig and then joined the Re- 
publican party at its birth, being a warm admirer of Abe Lincoln. In official 
capacities he served as county commissioner of Lake county during the war, 
1861-65, and was a strong supporter of the Union. He had a decision of 
character and a firmness that elevated him above the rank and file and gave 
a distinctive stamp to both word and action. He and his wife were both 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and he assisted in the erection 
of both houses of worship of that denomination in West Creek township, 
the last one being built in 1867. His wife, Lucy (Hathaway) Foster, was 
born in the Hudson river valley of New York, April 20, 1828, and she died 
November 30, 1876. Both the Foster and Hathaway families were of pure 
English stock, and grandfather Elijah Dwight Foster was one of the famous 
minute-men of the Revolution. 

Albert Foster was reared in western Lake county, and his early educa- 
tion stopped with the common schools, after which he trained himself mainly 
by personal application. He was only twelve years old when he left the 
parent nest and tried his young wings in independent flight. He was im- 
bued with the desire that comes to all vigorous-minded boys, to tra\el and 
see tiie world. As he says, when he should have been at home under his 
mother's care, he was far in the west in New ]\lexico and Arizona, and 
spending two years in the silver mines of Colorado. He later returned antl 
had already got quite a start in life by the time he reached his majority and 
was in the mind of settling down in life. 

On December 30, 1877, just after he had passed his twenty-first birth- 
day, he was married to Miss ALary E. Sponsion They have been happily 



428 HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 

wedded for more than t\venty-fi\e \cars. and six children, three sons and 
three daughters, have heen born to tliem. Clyde D.. the eldest; gradnated in 
the class of 1896 from the Lowell high school, secured his teacher's cer- 
tificate, taught in his home townsJTip two years, was principal at Shelby one 
year, principal of the Franklin school at Hammond two years, and then 
entered the literary department of Northwestern University and is still 
carrying on his studies; he is a menil)er of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fra- 
ternity and is a member of the Masonic lodge at Lowell; during the present 
scholastic year of the university he was unanimously elected president of the 
class, which honor conferred on him was graciously yet modestly received. 
Emma Stella graduated in 1901 from the Lowell high school and is now 
taking the teacher's course at the Ypsilanti (Michigan) Normal, being espe- 
cially interested in elocution. Hattie L., a graduate from the high school 
in 1903, is also at Ypsilanti. Arthur Lyman graduated from the Lowell 
high school in 1904 and pursuing normal studies at the Valparaiso College 
is now a teacher in Lake county. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have not spared 
means or effort in giving their children the best of training and educational 
advantages, and they should be congratulated on the excellent results already 
apparent. 

Mrs. Foster was born in Hardin county, Ohio, December 29, 1852, 
and was reared in that state and educated in the ladies" seminary at West 
Geneva. She was a teacher for a number of years in her native state and 
also in Kansas. Her parents, both now deceased, were Jacob and Mar- 
garet (Slonacker) Sponslor, and she has five brothers living. 

For twenty-one years after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Foster resided 
upon their homestead in West Creek township, where they have a fine estate 
of three hundred and ten acres, besides some property that Mrs. Foster owns 
in Ohio. In 1898 they moved into Lowell, where they erected one of the 
most pretentious homes of the town, and have been citizens there ever since. 
Their home is finished in hardwood and Georgia pine, is heated by furnace, 
is prettily furnished, and, best of all and its chief charm, is the abode of 
hospitality and a place of welcome for their many friends. 

Mr. F"oster has been prominent in civic affairs in his township, and is 
one 6i the leaders in matters pertaining to the general welfare. He is a 
stalwart Republican, having cast his first vote for Garfield. In August. 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUXTY. iiO 

1895, he accepted the office of trustee of West Creek township, and during 
the five years and three months of iiis tenure of this office many of the most 
important public improvements effecting the people and material progress 
were brouglit about. He caused the erection of several of the fine modern 
school buildings in the township, which would be a credit to any community, 
and during his official career, also, the West Creek high school was organ- 
ized, and education in general received a most stimulating influence in all 
directions. In 1900 he was appointed by Judge Gillette as drainage commis- 
sioner in Lake county. He has often been selected as delegate to his party's 
county, district and state conventions. Fraternally he affiliates with Colfax 
Lodge No. 378, F. & A. M., and served as worshipful master one year. He 
is also a member of the Knights of Pythias, No. 300, at Lowell, and belongs 
to the uniform rank of that order. 

THOMAS J. STEARNS. 

From an early period in the development of Lake county Thomas J. 
Stearns has resided in this portion of the state and is now living at Lake 
Station. His interest in public affairs has been manifested in active co-oper- 
ation in all movements for the general good and he has long been a witness 
of what has been accomplished in this county as it has emerged from pioneer 
conditions to take its place with the leading counties of the commonwealth. 

Mr. Stearns was born February 28, 1842, upon a farm in Porter county, 
Indiana, about six miles west of Valparaiso. His father, Joseph Stearns, 
was a native of Rhode Island and was reared in New York, whence he went 
to Porter county, Indiana, about 1838. In 1852 he came to Lake county, 
casting in his lot with the early settlers of Hobart township, where he per- 
formed the arduous task of developing a new farm from wild and unbroken 
land. He served for several terms as trustee of Hobart township and in 
public affairs took an active and helpful part. He was also an interested and 
zealous member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and his labors promoted 
the cause of Christianity in his neighborhood. He died when in his seventy- 
ninth year and left behind an untarnished name and a most honorable record. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Rhoda Wilson, was a nati\e of Ohio 
and was of Irish descent, while Mr. Stearns was of English lineage. She 
was reared in the Buckeye state and lived to be about sixty-nine years of 



430 HISTORY OF LAKli COUXTY. 

age. To them were l)orn tliirteen children, nine of whom readied years of 
maturity, while two are yet living, Thomas J., and Mrs. Rhoda Toothel, 
of Hobart. 

Thomas J. Stearns was the next to the youngest in the family, and he 
was brought to Lake county. Indiana, when but ten years of age. His edu- 
cation was acquired in the old time district schools, and in the summer months 
he worked at farm labor until he had gained broad and practical knowledge 
concerning every department of agricultural work. He continued at home 
with his parents until 1861, when, feeling that his first duty was to his 
country, he donned the blue uniform and enlisted in the Fourth Indiana 
Battery as a private. He served for three years and one month, and six 
months of that time was spent in a rebel prison. He was first incarcerated 
at Libby and afterward at Belle Isle. He took part in the battles of Shiloh, 
Stone Ri\er. Lookout Mountain, Perry ville and many other engagements, 
but never received a wound, although he was often in the thickest of the fight. 

After being honorably discharged at Indianapolis, Indiana, Mr. Stearns 
returned to Hobart, Lake county, since which time he has continuously re- 
sided in this part of the state, living a part of the time in Hobart, where he 
was engaged in conducting a hotel and also in the grocery business. He has 
likewise followed farming, and he was a guard in the Northern prison for 
a year. He has manifested energy and enterprise in every work that he has 
undertaken, and he is now engaged in the real estate and insurance business 
at Lake Station. 

In 1864 Mr. Stearns was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth 
Crow thers. They became the narents of two children, but botli are now de- 
ceased. In 1871 Mr. Stearns married his present wife, who bure the maiden 
name of Ella Stillwell. and was a native of New York. Her birth occurred 
in Schoharie county, August 3, 1845, '"'"' she is a daughter of Smith T. and 
Hannah (Banks) Stillwell. She was nineteen years of age when she came to 
Lake county and here she has since resided. Mr. Stearns has firm faith in 
the principles of the Republican party and is a recognized leader in its local 
ranks. He is now serving as township assessor, and for tweb.e years he was 
ju.stice of the peace. He is also notary public and has acted in that capacity 
for twelve years. He belongs to Hobart Post, No. 411, G. A. R., and to 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. During fifty-one years he has made 



HISTORY OF LAKE COUNTY. 431 

his home in Lake county, so that lie is very familiar witli its history and lias 
been a witness of nearly all of its growth and development. 

CHARLES C. GIBSOX. 

Charles C. Giljson, who is acting postmaster of ToUeston and is pro- 
prietor of the Hotel Gihsoii, was born in Chicago, September 25, 1835. His 
father, Thomas Gibson, was a native of Columbus, Ohio, and became a resi- 
dent of Chicago in 1834, three years before the incorporation of the city. 
It was then but an embryo village, and the most farsighted could not have 
dreamed of the marvelous de\elopment and growth which awaited it. 
Thomas Gibson conducted a hotel on the beach called the Lake House. He 
remained there until 1838, when he removed to Lake county, Indiana, and 
here again engaged in the hotel business at what was then known as Grass 
Ridge. He was one of the first settlers of that place and kept a stage house, 
for there was no railroad through this part of the country at that time and, 
in fact, few wagon roads had been laid out. Mr. Thomas Gibson afterward 
opened a hotel one mile east of where Tolleston now stands, and he there re- 
mained until his death, which occurred in the year 185