(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical;"

NYPL 



RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08253665 1 



^\5^W 



50^\Vi>s5^vX^ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2007 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofma01amer 




Americ an Historical Sec 



0^^__O^^Bfe.. 



^!? 



Ettcyrinpebfa of massachusetts 



Biographical — Genealogical 



Compiled with Assistance of the Following 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



WILLIAM RICHARD CUTTER 

Former Librarian of Woburn Public Library; 
Historian of New England Historic-Genea- 
logical Society; Author of "History of Arling- 
ton," "Bibliography of Woburn," "History of 
the Cutter Family," etc. 

EUGENE C. GARDNER 

Member of American Institute of Architecture, 
etc.; Author of "Homes and How to Make 
Them," and other popular works; Lecturer, 
and frequent contributor to leading magazines 
and newspapers. 

HARLAN HOGE BALLARD, A. M. 

Librarian of Berkshire Athenaeum and Mu- 
seum; Secretary of Berkshire Historical Soci- 
ety; Author of "Three Kingdoms;" "World of 
Matter;" "Translation into English, Hexameters 
of Virgil's Aeneid;" Joint Author "American 
Plant Book;" "Barnes' Readers;" "One Thou- 
-sand Blunders in English." 

REV. JOHN H. LOCKWOOD, A. M. 

Member of Connecticut Valley Historical Soci- 
ety, and Western Hampden Historical Society; 
Author of "History of the Town of Westfleld, 
Mass." 



HON. ELLERY BICKNELL CRANE 

Charter Member, ex-President and for fifteen 
years Librarian of Worcester Society of Antiq- 
uity, and Editor of Its Proceedings; Author of 
"Uawson Family Memorial," "The Crane Fam- 
ily," in two volumes, "History of 15th Regi- 
ment In the Revolution," and Compiler of a 
Number of Genealogies of the Prominent Fam- 
ilies of Massachusetts. Member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical and other His- 
torical Societies. 

CHARLES FRENCH READ 

Clerk and Treasurer of Bostonian Society; 
Director of Brookline Historical Society; Sec- 
ond Vice-President of Mass. Soc. S. A. R.; 
Chairman Membership Com. Mass. Soc. Colo- 
nial Wars; Member Board of Managers, Mass. 
Soc, War of 1812; Treasurer of Read Soc. for 
Genealogical Research. 

ROBERT SAMUEL RANTOUL 

Ex-President of Essex Institute; Member of 
Massachusetts Historical Society; ex-Repre- 
sentative and ex-Mayor of Salem. 

E. ALDEN DYER, M. D. 

President of Old Bridgewater Historical Soci- 
ety; President of Dyer Family Association. 



t \J > \ :i> 



LLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 



1916 

THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 
BOSTON 
Re 



CHICAGO 



w^^ ^f!i- 



UBRi-i 



fS. 



36^877 




Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



or 



MASS.— 7— I. 



'f'^fi f 






/ ... 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SMITH, C. Fayette, 

Banker. 

Dean of the banking fraternity of Hol- 
yoke, C. Fayette Smith reviews a Hfe of 
fifty years spent in the banking business. 
The institution of which he is the honored 
head and in which he began as cashier 
holds a commanding position among West- 
ern Massachusetts financial concerns and is 
regarded as Holyoke's leading bank. Its 
phenomenal growth since his connection 
began may be justly attributed in a large de- 
gree to his clear vision, modern progressive 
management and to his personal reputation 
as one of the foremost financiers of his 
State. With the exception of three years 
passed in the employ of the George W. 
Prentiss Company, wire manufacturers, he 
has been engaged in the banking business 
from the time he was sixteen until the pres- 
ent, beginning as clerk in the Hadley Falls 
Bank. In 1897 he had reached his present 
position, chief executive of the City Na- 
tional Bank of Holyoke, and for twenty 
years has ably guided the destinies of that 
institution. He is a descendant of William 
Smith, born in England, who with four 
brothers and a sister settled in Connecticut, 
William settling later in Wethersfield in 
that State, where he died in January, 1670, 
leaving nine children by his wife, Elizabeth 
(Starling) Smith, whom he married in 
1644. 

The line of descent from William Smith, 
the founder, is through his son, Benjamin 
Smith, born in Farmington, Connecticut, in 
1658, a farmer and saw mill owner of West 
Springfield, Massachusetts. He died in 
1738, at the good old age of eighty, leaving 
sons and daughters by his wife, Ruth 



(Loomis) Smith. The line continued 
through Jonathan Smith, son of Benjamin 
and Ruth (Loomis) Smith, who was born 
at West Springfield, and there lived a strict 
and pious Hfe until his death, February 9, 
1772. He married Margaret, a daughter of 
Samuel Ball, who bore him sons and daugh- 
ters, including a son, Jonathan (2) Smith, 
born about 1725. He inherited the Ball 
homestead at West Springfield, through his 
mother, and there resided until death, leav- 
ing among his seven children a son, Jona- 
than (3) Smith, who also resided at West 
Springfield, married and left a son, Jon- 
athan (4) Smith, grandfather of C. Fayette 
Smith, of Holyoke. 

This Jonathan (4) Smith was born at 
West Springfield, August 27, 1790, and re- 
sided in that part of the town now Holyoke. 
There he followed his trade of cooper until 
his death, February 27, 1845. He married, 
February 27, 1816, Martha, daughter of Jo- 
seph Ely, of West Springfield, a descendant 
of Nathaniel Ely, through his son, Samuel 
Ely ; his son. Deacon Joseph Ely ; his son, 
Joseph (2) Ely; his son. Captain Joseph 

(3) Ely, an officer of the French and In- 
dian War; his son, Joseph (4) Ely, a sol- 
dier of the Revolution, who married Mar- 
tha Smith, and they were the parents of 
Martha, born May 29, 1793, died March 24, 
1867, married, February 27, 1816, Jonathan 

(4) Smith. 

Jonathan Moseley Smith, eldest son of 
Jonathan (4) and Martha (Ely) Smith, was 
born at South Hadley, Massachusetts, 
March 20, 1817, died March 13, 1867. In 
early life he was a farmer, but later and for 
many years he operated the swing ferry. 
He married, March 30, 1843, '" "^^est 
Springfield, Lucinda Warren, born Novem- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 3, 1823, died in Holyoke, November 
13, 1908, daughter of Oliver and Esther 
(Dickinson) Warren, of Amherst, Massa- 
chusetts. They were the parents of four 
children : Emily M., deceased, was the wife 
of F. L. Seaver; Ellen S. ; Charles Fay- 
ette, of further mention; Herbert M. 

Charles Fayette Smith, elder son of Jon- 
athan Moseley and Lucinda (Warren) 
Smith, was born at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, August 24, 1 85 1. Until sixteen years 
of age he attended the public schools, and 
at that age he became a clerk in the Hadley 
Falls Bank, a connection which existed for 
fourteen years, the boy becoming a man of 
banking experience and teller of the bank 
for a number of years. At the age of thirty 
he resigned his banking position to enter the 
employ of the George W. Prentiss Com- 
pany, but three years later returned to his 
first love, the banking business, as cashier 
of the City National Bank of Holyoke, serv- 
ing in that position from his election in 
1884 until 1897, when he was elected presi- 
dent of the bank, a position he now holds. 
In 1900 he was appointed receiver for the 
Glasgow Manufacturing Company, and af- 
ter closing up all the affairs of the old com- 
pany he organized a new corporation, the 
Hadley Mills, of which he was chosen treas- 
urer, serving ten years. The mills of the 
old company after being closed four years 
were reopened by the new company and 
have since been in successful operation. He 
was also president of the Holyoke Ice Com- 
pany, and is deeply interested in all that 
tends to promote the welfare of his city. In 
political faith he is a Republican, his clubs 
the Bay State, Holyoke Canoe, Holyoke and 
Mt. Tom Golf. 



TOWNE, James Weld, 

Printer and Business Man. 

Of the ninth American generation of his 
family, Mr. Towne, although born in Cali- 



fornia, has spent the years of his life since 
1 881 in Massachusetts, the State in which 
his American ancestor lived from the date 
of his coming from England, about 1635, 
until his death. The surname Towne is an 
ancient English surname, but not of fre- 
quent occurrence. It is found as early as 
1227, and again in the reign of Henry IV. ; 
the coat-of-arms of the Towne family and 
the family name are found on a memorial 
window in a church at Kensington, County 
Kent. The arms are thus described: "Ar- 
gent on a chevron sable, three crosses cross- 
let, ermine." 

(I) William Towne, the founder of the 
family in America, was born in England in 
1600, and baptized May 21, 1603. He mar- 
ried, at Yarmouth, Norfolkshire, England, 
March 25, 1620, in the Church of St. Nich- 
olas, Joanna Blessing, and there six of his 
children were baptized. He came to New 
England about 1630, settled first at Salem, 
Massachusetts, where he had a grant of 
land in 1640, residing in that part of the 
town called Northfields until 1651. In 1652 
he sold his Salem property and bought land 
in Topsfield where he died about 1672. His 
widow died in 1682. They were the parents 
of ten children, two of whom were put to 
death during the infernal "witchcraft de- 
lusion," which left so black a spot on the 
history of Massachusetts. Children : Re- 
becca, baptized February 21, 1621, executed 
for witchcraft in Salem, July 19, 1692, wife 
of Francis Nourse ; John, baptized Febru- 
ary 16, 1624; Susannah, baptized October 
20, 1625; Edmund, baptized June 28, 1628; 
Jacob, baptized March 11, 1632; Mary, bap- 
tized August 24, 1634, executed for witch- 
craft at Salem, September 22, 1692, wife of 
Isaac Estey ; Sarah, baptized September 
3, 1648; Joseph, of further mention. 

(II) Joseph Towne, son of William and 
Joanna (Blessing) Towne, was born about 
1639, baptized September 3, 1649, resided in 
Salem until March 22, 1690, then moved to 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Topsfield, where he was a member of the 
church, and died in 1713. He married Phebe 
Perkins, daughter of Thomas Perkins, of 
Topsfield. Children: Phebe, born May 
4, 1666, died young; Joanna, born January 

22, 1668, married Thomas Nichols, Decem- 
ber 15, 1694, lived in Sutton; Mary, born 
March 27, 1670; Susannah, born December 
24, 1 67 1, married John Cummings, January 

23, 1688, died September 13, 1776; Joseph, 
of further mention ; Sarah, born December 
30, 1675, died November i, 1760; John, 
born February 20, 1678; Martha, born May 
19, 1680, married Isaac Leach ; Phebe, born 
July 23, 1685, married Mr. Newhall, he 
died June 10, 1736. 

(III) Joseph (2) Towne, son of Joseph 
(i) and Phebe (Perkins) Towne, was born 
at Topsfield, Massachusetts, March 22, 
1673, died May 28, 1757. He married (first) 
Margaret Case, of Salem, November 9, 
1699; married (second) Abigail Curtis, 
November 5, 1707; married (third) Mary 
Mower, February 21, 1730. Children of 
first wife: Margaret, born August 6, 1700, 
died January 5, 1757, married Samuel Per- 
kins, August 22, 1723; Joseph, born De- 
cember 26, 1701 ; Archelaus, August 31, 
1703; Israel, of further mention. By his 
second wife Joseph Towne had ten children 
and by his third wife one child. 

(IV) Israel Towne, son of Joseph (2) 
Towne and his first wife, Margaret (Case) 
Towne, was born at Topsfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 24, 1705, died at Amherst, 
New Hampshire, in 1791. He was one of 
the early settlers of Narragansett, after- 
ward named Souhegan, and incorporated 
as Amherst in 1760. The first settlement 
was made there in 1734, and September 22, 
1 741, when the church was organized, the 
name of Captain Israel Towne appeared. 
He married. May 23, 1729, Grace Gardner, 
of Middletown, who died in 1803. Chil- 
dren: Thomas, born 1732; Archelaus, 
1734; Israel, of further mention; Moses, 



born May 6, 1739; Gardner, born June 6, 
1 741, married Abigail Hopkins, no issue; 
Elizabeth, born May 28, 1745, died July 16, 
1794; Susannah, born May 28, 1748, mar- 
ried Timothy Nichols, October 2, 1779; 
Mary, born April 20, 1751, died August 29, 
1781. 

(V) Israel (2) Towne, son of Israel (i) 
and Grace (Gardner) Towne, was born at 
Topsfield, Massachusetts, November 16, 
1736, died at Stoddard, New Hampshire, 
April 28, 181 3. He went with his parents 
to Amherst, New Hampshire, and there 
married, July 31, 1760, Lydia, daughter of 
Benjamin Hopkins. Children : Israel, of 
further mention; William, born July 21, 
1763; Gardner, May i, 1765; Benjamin, 
March 23, 1767; Andrew, July 11, 1769; 
Lydia, April 11, 1772, died August 28, 1777; 
Daniel, born August 20, 1774; Hannah, 
August 28, 1776, died October, 1872, aged 
ninety-six, married Ebenezer Bancroft, of 
Dunstable. 

(VI) Israel (3) Towne, son of Israel (2) 
and Lydia (Hopkins) Towne, was born at 
Stoddard, New Hampshire, June 14, 1761, 
and died May 2, 1848. He married Han- 
nah Abbott, of Stoddard, who died March 
9, 1847. Children: Lydia, born Septem- 
ber II, 1 78 1, died June 28, 1878, married 
Oliver Hodgman ; Archelaus, born No- 
vember 29, 1782; Israel, of fvirther men- 
tion; Hannah, born October 9, 1786, died 
July 28, 1864, married Asa Copeland, April 
2, 1809; Esther, born June 24, 1788, died 
August 23, 1871, married Isaac Howe, of 
Milford, New Hampshire, October 15, 
1809; Grace, born March 24, 1790, killed 
by a falling tree ; Gardner, born February 
16, 1792; Ebenezer, August 3, 1795; Lucy, 
born August 16, 1797, died February 11, 
1888. 

(VII) Israel (4) Towne, son of Israel 
(3) and Hannah (Abbott) Towne, was 
born at Stoddard, New Hampshire, Novem- 
ber 22, 1784, or 85, died at Amherst, New 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hampshire, October 25, 185S. He married 
(first) June 14, 181 2, Clarissa Weld, of 
Boston, bom December 3, 1795. died Jan- 
uary 13. 1815; married (^second) July 2^, 
181 5, Sarah L. Brazier, bom June 11, 1796, 
died May 22, 1874. Children by first wife : 
Sarah, bom Februar)- 8, 181 3. died April 
15, 1813; Clarissa Weld, bom October 9, 
1814. married Elijah Bagnall, of Chelsea. 
Children by second wife : Maria B., bom 
August 7. 1817; Pamelia C. bom May i, 
1822. died 1887. married Zephaniah Bas- 
seit ; Hannah C. bom April 5, 1825, died 
1887. married W. Weston Wilson, July 2, 
1856; Betsey Elizabeth B.. bom March 29, 
1827, married William J. Weston. February 
14. 1850; James Weld, of further men- 
tion; Emily R., born June 14. 1832; Wil- 
liam Henn»', May 2j, 1835 : Charles G.. 
July 12, 1838. 

(VIII) Janies Weld Towne, son of Is- 
rael (4) Towne and his second wife, Sarah 
L. (Brazier) To\\'ne, was bom at .Amherst, 
New Hampshire, May 29, 1829. His boy- 
hood was spent in Amherst and Milford, 
New Hampshire, and he learned the print- 
er's trade in the office of the "Farmers Cab- 
inet," of Amherst. For a short time he was 
a journeyman printer in Boston, but in 1852 
he journeyed to San Francisco and engaged 
in the printing business very successfully, 
being a member of the pioneer printing firm, 
\\'hiton, Towne & Company, later a mem- 
ber of the firm, Towne & Bacon. In 1868 
his health failed and he returned East, lo- 
cating at East Orange, New Jersey, acting 
as New York resident partner of the San 
Francisco paper house of Blake, Moffitt & 
To\s"ne. 

He married (first) May 29, 1855. C\-n- 
thia Go wing, who died July 8, 1875, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Gowing. of Amherst, Mr. 
Towne coming from California to claim his 
bride and taking her back with him. He 
married (second) October 3. 1877, Rebec- 
ca Fames, of Wilmington, Massachusetts. 



Children, all by his first wife: i. Arthur 
G., bom May 12, 1856; married. May 14, 
1885, Alice Wolcott Nichols and has James 
Wolcott and Arthur Wolcott Towne ; re- 
sides in San Francisco. 2. Emma, bom Au- 
gust 18, 1858: married Hugo Richards and 
moved to Prescott, Arizona. 3. Carrie, 
bom December 18, 1861 ; married Frank 
W. Wilson, of East Orange, New Jersey. 4. 
Frank Beckwith, bom Januan.- 7, 1865 ; 
married, at Lock Haven. Pennsylvania, 
June 21. 1894, Harriet A. Peale, daughter 
of S. Richard and Harriet ^^ Alter) Peale; 
child, Richard Peale, bom in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 5, 1899. an adopted 
daughter, Barbara Boynton, bora August 5, 
1904. 5. Edward S., bom April 18, 1866; 
married at Richmond, Indiana, September 
14. 1893, Joanna Maude Hogan. daughter 
of John D. and Mar}- E. (Sands) Hogan; 
they reside in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
have a son, Herbert Sands Towne, bom Oc- 
tober 9. 1899. at Holyoke. 6. Charles, bom 
in 1868, died in infancy. 7. William, bom 
1870, died in infancy. 8. Bessie, bom De- 
cember 8, 1871, died 1886. 9. Joseph M., 
bom July 7. 1875. 



MOORE. Philander, 

Retired Business Man. 

Philander Moore, a well-known and high- 
ly respected citizen of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, comes of a family whose name ap- 
pears in national history, both in the annals 
of peace and war. 

Major John Moore, great-grandfather of 
Philander Moore, fought in the battle of 
Bunker Hill, and a handsome monument 
erected to his honor is to be seen at Nor- 
ridgewock, Maine, the place of his birth. 

Goii Moore, son of Major John Moore, 
was bom in Maine about the year 1761, 
and there spent most of his life of ninety- 
one years, his death taking place there in 
185 1. He was a patriot like his father and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



served his country during the Revolution- 
ary War, at the termination of which he 
returned to his home at Norridgewock, 
Maine, and there followed agricultural pur- 
suits and hunting. He was twice married, 
and was the father of the following chil- 
dren by his first marriage : Samuel, John, 
GofT, Jr. ; of second marriage : Moses, 
Daniel, Robert. 

GofT (2) Moore, son of GoflF (i) Moore, 
by his first marriage, and father of Phi- 
lander Moore, was born at Norridgewock, 
Maine, February 23, 1791. He rose to dis- 
tinction in the State, both in military and 
civic activities. He was the proprietor of a 
saddlery and harness business of substantial 
importance in the town of North Anson 
and later in Madison, Maine, where his 
personality brought him much power and 
prestige. He had inherited the martial spir- 
it, and entered enthusiastically into the op- 
erations of the State militia, eventually ris- 
ing to the rank of colonel. He also partici- 
pated energetically and forcefully in local 
and State politics, and at one time held the 
postmastership at Madison, Maine. To 
church afifairs he gave much of his time 
and substance, his hospitable entertainment 
of the dignitaries of the church being note- 
worthy. Twice he married, his first wife 
having been Alice Patten, and his second 
Mrs. Mary Spaulding, nee Mary McLaugh- 
lin, of Stark, Maine. To the first marriage 
were born eight children : Albert, James, 
Philander, Jane P., Goff A., Maria E., 
Alice P., and Olive S. ; and to the second 
marriage two children: Philander, who is 
the subject of main reference herein, and 
James. Philander Moore is the only one 
living of the entire family at the present 
time. 

Philander Moore, son of GofT (2) and 
Mary (McLaughlin-Spaulding) Moore, 
was born in Madison, Somerset county. 
State of Maine, July 19, 1844. In due 
course he passed through the public schools 



of his native town, and received further ed- 
ucation at North Anson Academy, after 
which he became associated in business with 
his brother, who was a printer in North An 
son, Maine, remaining with him for four 
years. During the next two years he filled 
the capacity of clerk in a store at Anson, 
Maine, and then, coming to Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, was for six months employed in 
the store of the well-known grocery firm 
of Carter & Spaulding. His next commer- 
cial activity was in the city of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he entered the em- 
ploy of E. B. Haskell & Sons, grocers, 
serving that company until October i, 1865, 
then came to Holyoke, which city has since 
been his home. For a year or so he was a 
clerk for W. C. Carter, and then pur- 
chased an interest in the business of Mr. 
Tuttle, the firm becoming known as Tut- 
tle & Moore. Mr. Moore continued in the 
partnership for three years, at the expira- 
tion of which time he acquired Mr. Tuttle's 
interest. Some time later he formed a part- 
nership with Mr. Glover, the firm name 
then changing to Moore & Glover. His 
place of business was situated at the corner 
of High and Dwight streets, where the 
Holyoke National Bank now stands, and 
which corner Mr. Moore owned at that 
time. Three years later he purchased Mr. 
Glover's interest and again became sole pro- 
prietor of the business, which he continued 
to operate successfully until 1891 when he 
decided to retire. That was many years 
ago, while Mr. Moore was still able 
to appreciate and find pleasure in things 
other than business, consequently he has 
been able to spend the intervening time 
profitably in pleasure, chiefly in travel. He 
has been once around the world ; has 
crossed the Atlantic to Europe a number of 
times, and has traveled the length and 
breadth of the United States upon different 
trips. 

Although now retired, Mr. Moore still 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



takes an interest in the affairs of institu- 
tions with which he is associated. He has 
been a director of the Hadley Falls Na- 
tional Bank for thirty-five years ; is a mem- 
ber of the Mount Tom Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Holyoke, in which he 
has taken an interest, and for several years 
w^as treasurer of the lodge. He has attended 
the Second Congregational Church of Hol- 
yoke for fifty years. Mr. Moore has seen 
Holyoke grow from a little rural commu- 
nity of four thousand to a thriving city of 
seventy thousand population in the years he 
has resided in it. 

In 1872 he married (first) Ida A. Gro- 
ver, who was born at Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, but at the age of two years was 
brought by her parents to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, where her father, William Grover, 
had been appointed agent for the Hadley 
Mills. Her mother was Anna P. (Bailey) 
Grover. Two children were born to Phi- 
lander andjda A. (Grover) Moore: Emily 
S., who died at seventeen, and Helen P., 
who is married to Aaron C. Bagg, of Hol- 
yoke, son of E. P. Bagg. Mr. Moore's one 
grandchild was christened Aaron Moore 
Bagg. Mrs. Ida A. (Grover) Moore died 
in 1901, and in 191 1 Mr. Moore married 
(second) Lydia M. Hardy, a native of Ver- 
mont. 



LYMAN, Charles Perry, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Back into the centuries, Charles Perry 
Lyman, of Holyoke, traces his ancestry 
through eight American generations to 
Richard Lyman, the patriarch of all the Ly- 
mans of America of English descent, and 
through ten generations of English ances- 
tors to Thomas Leman, who held land in 
County Wilts during the reign of King 
Henry HI. of England. The name con- 
tinued as Leman until early in the 
eighteenth century, when it became Ly- 



man, its present form. The Lymans were 
of the landed gentry, owned large estates, 
bore the title of "gentleman" and intermar- 
ried with leading families of their section of 
England. They bore arms distinguished by 
a ring within a triangle quartered with the 
Lambert armorials. Although the name 
Leman occurs in the Book of Domesday 
and is traced in male and female line to 
xA-lfred the Great, the authentic male line 
begins two centuries later with Thomas 
Leman, of County Wilts, in the reign of 
Henry III. in the last half of the thirteenth 
century. 

Richard Lyman, the American ancestor, 
sold his lands in the parish of Ongar, Es- 
sex county, England, in August, 1631, and 
sailed for America with his wife and chil- 
dren on the ship "Lion." Among the pas- 
sengers on the ship was the wife of Gov- 
ernor Winthrop, and John Eliot, afterward 
known as the apostle to the Indians. Ten 
weeks later, on November 2, the ship ar- 
rived in Boston, Richard Lyman settling at 
Charlestown. Later he joined Rev. Hook- 
er's party and went to Connecticut, where 
his name appears on a list of the original 
founders of Hartford, 1636. He married, 
in England, Sarah Osborne. 

Lieutenant John Lyman, son of Richard 
Lyman, the founder, settled in Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, where he died August 
20, 1690, aged sixty-seven years. He was 
in command of Northampton troops at the 
famous Falls fight above Deerfield, May 
18, 1676. He married Dorcas Plumb. 

Moses Lyman, son of Lieutenant John 
Lyman, was born in Northampton, ]\Iassa- 
chusetts, and there died February 25, 1701, 
aged thirty-eight years, his wife, Ann, sur- 
viving him. 

Captain Moses (2) Lyman, son of Mos- 
es ( i ) Lyman, was born in Northampton, 
^Massachusetts, February 27, 1689, died 
March 24, 1762. He married M indwell 
Sheldon. 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Deacon EHas Lyman, son of Captain 
Moses (2) Lyman, was born in Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, September 30, 1715) 
died in Southampton, February 18, 1803. 
He was a deacon of the church, member of 
the Provincial Congress, 1768, 1775, deputy 
to the General Court, member of the Com- 
mittee of Safety, and a soldier of the col- 
onies, 1745. He married Anne Phelps. 

He was succeeded by his son. Deacon 
Stephen Lyman, born in Chester, Massa- 
chusetts, September 8, 1742, died December 
8, 181 1. He married (first) Anna Blair; 
married (second) Mrs. Anna Clark. 

His son. Deacon Samuel Lyman, born in 
Chester, Massachusetts, May 2, 1787, died 
in 1876. He was a colonel of state militia 
and served in the War of 1812. He was a 
farmer of Southampton, where he died. He 
married (first) October 20, 1809, Miriam 
Tinker, born August 8, 1790, died Janu- 
ary 14, 1847. He married (second) JuHa 
A. Marble, and had issue. 

Samuel Tinker Lyman, son of Deacon 
and Colonel Samuel Lyman and his first 
wife, Miriam (Tinker) Lyman, was born 
at Charlestown, IMassachusetts, August 5, 
1824, died October 3, 1901, at Holyoke. 
He was educated in public schools and 
Chesterfield Normal School, and for a short 
time was in business in Boston. Later he 
taught school at Agawam and had a store in 
Huntington. In 1861 he was appointed 
postmaster at Huntington, an office he held 
until removing to Holyoke in 1872. There 
in connection with his son, Charles P. Ly- 
man, he founded the mercantile business of 
S. T. Lyman & Son, continuing in success- 
ful business operation until 1886, when he 
retired. He was an active member of the 
First Congregational Church, a man of high 
character and purity of life. He married, 
in 1849, Augusta, daughter of Thomas 
Kirkland. They were the parents of Eu- 
gene K. ; Charles Perry, of further men- 
tion; Cassius S., superintendent of schools. 



Hudson, Massachusetts ; Robert H., journ- 
alist, and editor of the "New York World." 

Charles Perry Lyman, son of Samuel 
Tinker and Augusta (Kirkland) Lyman, 
was born inAgawam, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 25, 1850. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Huntington, at Ripon Col- 
lege (Wisconsin) and Wesleyan Academy 
at Wilbraham, Massachusetts. In 1872 he 
joined with his honored father in the hard- 
ware business at Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
under the firm name of S. T. Lyman & Son. 
In 1886 Samuel T. Lyman retired, Charles 
P. Lyman continuing the business most suc- 
cessfully until the present time (1916). He 
has built up a large business, dealing in fur- 
niture, stoves and hardware, also conduct- 
ing a plumbing department. He is a man 
of strong business ability, progressive, hon- 
orable and upright, worthy of the honored 
name he bears. For two years Mr. Lyman 
represented his ward in the Holyoke City 
Council and takes a deep interest in all that 
pertains to the welfare of his city. He is a 
member of the Second Congregational 
Church, and affiliated with Connecticut Val- 
ley Lodge, No. 25, Knights of Pythias, of 
Holyoke. 

Mr. Lyman married, July 16, 1878, Jen- 
nie E., daughter of Samuel A. and Clarissa 
Louise (Smith) Judd, of Grand Rapids, 
Michigan, her father a captain in the Union 
army, killed at the battle of Fair Oaks (see 
Judd family). 



V/HITE, Hon. John J., 

Mayor of Holyoke. 

Among those whose rise in station is due 
solely to their own unaided efforts is the 
Hon. John J. White, the present mayor 
(1917) of Holyoke, who is regarded by his 
fellow townsmen as one who in his life 
exemplifies the spirit of highest citizenship, 
of honor in public life and of fidelity to pub- 
lic duty. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hon. John J. White was born in Lee, 
Massachusetts, January 13, 1866, son of 
Martin and Winifred (Keyes) White, na- 
tives of Ireland, the former named coming 
to this country in young manhood, the lat- 
ter named in childhood. Martin White lo- 
cated first in Lee, Massachusetts, where he 
resided until 1869, then removed to Hol- 
yoke, same State, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his days, his death occurring in 
1896 at the age of fifty- five years. He was 
a papermaker by trade and followed that 
line of work during his active years, there- 
by earning a good livelihood for his family. 
He and his wife were the parents of nine 
children, three of whom were living in 
1916: Maria L., who makes her home with 
her brother, John J. ; John J., whose name 
heads this sketch ; George J., superintendent 
of the White Paper Box Company. The 
mother of these children died in 1901. 

John J. White was educated in the 
schools of Holyoke, completing his studies 
at the age of fourteen years, when he ac- 
cepted a position as bellboy in the Windsor 
Hotel, later in the old Holyoke House, a 
well known hostelry in those days, and for 
a number of years he gave his entire time 
and attention to the hotel business, advanc- 
ing from his first humble position to that 
of clerk, the result of ability and efficiency, 
and served in that capacity in various ho- 
tels in Holyoke, Greenfield and other places, 
finally removing to Amherst where he be- 
came clerk of the Amherst House, which 
position he filled for one year to the satis- 
faction of the proprietor and patrons. His 
next position was as traveling salesman, his 
route covering the New England States, 
and in this he was also successful, but his 
ambition was to conduct a business on his 
own account, and accordingly, in 1885, he 
inaugurated the White Paper Box Com- 
pany, in which he has since, a period of 
more than three decades, been successfully 
engaged, and is now serving in the capaci- 



ties of president and treasurer. The con- 
cern does a large business in the manufac- 
ture of a fine line of stationery boxes, about 
thirty hands being employed in the factory, 
which is thoroughly equipped with the latest 
improved machinery and everything needful 
for the comfort and safety of the em- 
ployees. He has directed his business in- 
terests in a careful and conservative man- 
ner, his success being the outcome of his 
well directed labors and energy. His ca- 
reer demonstrates what may be accom- 
plished through the possession of these 
qualities, qualities which may be cultivated 
by all. 

Mayor White entered the political arena 
in 1903, when he was elected an alderman 
to fill out the unexpired term of J. J. Far- 
rell, and was again elected in 1904-08-09-10, 
serving in all five years as alderman from 
the Fifth Ward. His conscientious and 
faithful performance of every duty that de- 
volved upon him, and the interest he dis- 
played in serving his fellow townsmen to 
the best of his ability, led to his nomina- 
tion as mayor of Holyoke, to which high 
office he was elected in 191 1- 12-13, and 
again in the fall of 191 5 to serve during the 
year 1916. During his mayoralty, in addi- 
tion to a vast amount of improvements 
along all lines, a large number of public 
buildings have been erected, notable among 
which are the High School Gymnasium of 
the Metcalf School and the Central En- 
gine House, one of the best in the country, 
and an addition to Police Headquarters. His 
political career has been such as to warrant 
the trust and confidence of his constituents, 
and his devotion to the public good has been 
unquestioned. Such was his record and the 
satisfaction that he gave that in 191 6 he 
was again elected to serve his fifth term, 
1917. 

Mayor White is equally popular in fra- 
ternal and social circles, holding member- 
ship in numerous organizations and socie- 



10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ties, including the Royal Arcanum, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Order 
of Eagles, Improved Order of Red Men, 
Knights of Columbus, Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, Holyoke Club, Holyoke Golf 
Club, Holyoke Country Club and a number 
of others. He has been a member of the 
Royal Arcanum for two decades, and for 
the greater part of that period he gave free- 
ly of his time to promote the interests of the 
organization, in which he has held all the 
offices. He represented Nonotuck Council 
of Holyoke at many Grand Councils, and he 
has also officiated as district deputy of this 
district. 

Mr. White married, in 1894, Rose A. 
Charest, a native of Canada. They are 
the parents of three children : Gertrude, 
Muriel, John J., Jr. 



KNIGHT, Homer Lincoln, 

Business Man. 

The ability of a man to rise above the 
ranks and attain a position of prominence 
in the business world presupposes a 
strength above the average, a stability of 
character that will endure all discourage- 
ment and disappointments and in the end 
triumph over every impediment that ob- 
structs the pathway to success. Mr. Knight 
is among this class, the success he has at- 
tained being the reward of personal merit, 
integrity of character and a strict adherence 
to the highest standard of principles. 

Horace B. Knight, grandfather of Hom- 
er Lincoln Knight, was one of the pioneers 
in Mayville, Chautauqua county. New 
York, and there spent the greater part of 
his days, prominent in community affairs. 

He married Susan , who bore him 

four children, as follows : Horace West, 
mentioned below ; Joseph, for many years 
a resident of Troy, New York; John F., 
a resident of St. Louis, Missouri; Freder- 
ick L., a resident of Akron, Colorado. 



Horace West Knight, father of Homer 
Lincoln Knight, was born at Mayville, 
Chautauqua county. New York, 1839, and 
died in December, 191 5. After completing 
his studies in the schools adjacent to his 
home, he turned his attention to business 
pursuits, and in due course of time became 
a manufacturer of metallic letters and fig- 
ures in Seneca Falls, New York, in which 
town he resided during the greater part of 
his active life. He took a keen interest in 
all that pertained to the welfare of his 
adopted town, contributing liberally of his 
time and means to worthy enterprises, was 
a charter member of the Congregational 
church, and a staunch Republican in poli- 
tics. He married Sophia Elizabeth Taylor, 
born in 1839, died in 1902, aged sixty-three 
years, daughter of Samuel Taylor. They 
were the parents of five children, as fol- 
lows : Charles H., deceased ; Horace D. ; 
Willis Grant ; Homer Lincoln, mentioned 
below ; Robert, a physician, practicing at 
Seneca Falls, New York, now city phy- 
sician and county coroner. 

Homer Lincoln Knight was born at 
Seneca Falls, Seneca county. New York, 
March 15, 1876. He attended the public 
schools of his native town and of Ithaca, 
New York, this course of study thoroughly 
equipping him for the duties of an active 
career. He learned the art of photo-en- 
graving, at which he became highly pro- 
ficient, and followed his trade for one year 
in the city of Bufifalo, New York, from 
whence he removed to the city of Roches- 
ter, same State, where he followed the same 
line of work for a period of three years. He 
then entered the employ of the United 
States government and in the year 1902 was 
sent to the Philippines by the bureau of 
public printing to teach photo-engraving to 
the natives, he being well qualified to serve 
in that capacity. At the expiration of three 
years, having faithfully fulfilled his mis- 
sion, he returned to the United States by 



II 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



way of Europe, completing a trip around 
the world and visiting in his journey the 
principal points of interest, from which 
he derived both pleasure and profit. Upon 
his return to his native land he secured em- 
ployment in New York City, and subse- 
quently was employed at his trade in Illi- 
nois ; at Toronto, Canada ; at Akron, Ohio, 
and at Grand Rapids, ^Michigan, his work 
meriting the approval of his superiors, he 
giving to it the best of his skill and effort. 
In the year 191 5 he established at Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, the Holyoke Electrotype and 
Photo-Engraving Company, of which he 
was made president, and he continued his 
connection with that concern until }vlarch, 
1916, when he disposed of his interest there- 
in and established the Knight Engraving 
Company of Holyoke, of which he is the 
sole owner, and which is one of the many 
successful enterprises of that thrifty and 
energetic city, his close application to busi- 
ness and his earnest purpose securing him a 
Hberal patronage which promises to in- 
crease in large measure in the near future. 
He is not lacking in that honorable ambi- 
tion which is so powerful and useful as an 
incentive to activity in public afiFairs and he 
regards the pursuits of private life as be- 
ing in themselves abundantly worthy of his 
best efforts. 

]Mr. Knight married, August 19, 191 1, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Dymond, nee Elizabeth 
Cain, of Piqua, Ohio. She had one daugh- 
ter by her former marriage, Ruth Dy- 
mond, born July 31, 1907. 



WEBSTER, WilHam Elroy, 

Representati've Business Man. 

William Elroy Webster, well-known 
throughout New England as a general ad- 
vertising agent, has been since a young man 
a resident of Holyoke, Massachusetts. In 
a profession requiring special gifts and in- 
dividual training he has met with a high de- 



gree of success. Not only in his present 
business, but as a merchant, he has demon- 
strated his ability to meet the requirements 
and difficulties and solve the problems of 
the present day. He belongs to the class 
of selfmade men, like the majority of the 
substantial merchants, manufacturers and 
other men of affairs of Holyoke. His fath- 
er was an officer of distinction in the Civil 
War, and he gave his life to his country, 
leaving his widow and son of three years 
without an income. During the years that 
followed Mr. W'ebster owed everything to 
the ministering care and love of his mother. 

The Websters are of English stock. Mr. 
Webster's ancestry is traced to Colonial 
days in the same family as that from which 
the famous Daniel ^^'ebster was descended. 
As a family it has no superior in point of 
character, in the number of great men bear- 
ing the name, in all the substantial virtues 
that have been cultivated for ten genera- 
tions in New England. 

John Webster, the immigrant ancestor 
of William Elroy Webster, was born in 
England. As early as 1634, however, he 
had made his home among the early set- 
tlers and proprietors of Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts. He died soon. He married Mary 
Shatswell, sister of John Shatswell, who 
made her a legatee in his will. After the 
death of John \\'ebster, his widow married, 
October 29, 1650, John Emery, Sr., of New- 
bury, and removed with him and her chil- 
dren to Haverhill. Her husband and his 
son, John Emery, were appointed guardians 
of her children, Israel Webster, aged 
eighteen years, and Nathan Webster, aged 
sixteen, at their request, November 26, 
1662. The estate of John Webster was di- 
vided among his children, who were as fol- 
lows : John, born 1632; Hannah, married 
Michael Emerson, and their daughter, Han- 
nah, who married Thomas Dustin, was the 
famous woman who slew her Indian cap- 
tors and became an immortal figure in 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



American history; Israel, born 1634; Na- 
than mentioned below ; Stephen, born 1637 ; 
Elizabeth, married Samuel Simonds ; Abi- 
gail, married Abraham Morrill. 

(II) Nathan Webster, son of John Web- 
ster, was born in 1636, and died in 1694. 
He married IMary Haseltine, born Septem- 
ber 10, 1648, died March 27, 1735. Chil- 
dren, all born in Haverhill : Nathan, born 
March i, 1678-79; Joanna, August 26, 
1682; Abigail, March 3, 1684-85; Israel, 
August 9, 1687; Samuel, mentioned below; 
John, October 5, 1694; Mary. 

(III) Samuel Webster, son of Nathan 
Webster, was born at Haverhill, Massa- 
chusetts, September 25, 1688, and died in 
1769. He was an early settler at Chester, 
New Hampshire. He married, August 13, 
17 1 3, Mary Kimball, who was born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1694, at Hampstead, New Hamp- 
shire, a descendant of Richard Kimball, the 
pioneer of the Kimball family in this coun- 
try and one of the first settlers in New Eng- 
land. Children, born at Haverhill : John, 
mentioned below ; Mary, born September 
9, 1716; Rev. Samuel, August 16, 1718; 
Jonathan, August 31, 1720; Ebenezer, 
March 6, 1724; Thomas, December 2, 1726; 
Ephraim, May 13, 1730; Nathan, May i, 
1732; Sarah, March 27, 1734; Asa, May 
31, 1736, at Chester. 

(IV) Colonel John (2) Webster, son of 
Samuel Webster, was born at Haverhill, 
Massachusetts, August 9, 1714, and died at 
Chester, September 16, 1784. In 1735 he 
removed to Chester and settled on Lot No. 
76, soon afterward opening the first general 
store in the town. Afterward he bought 
land on the present site of Bachelor's Hotel, 
building a house and store there. It is said 
that he also kept a tavern. He was survey- 
or of highways in 1743, selectman in 1744, 
and for several years represented the town 
of Chester in the State Legislature. Dur- 
ing the Revolution he was an active and ar- 
dent patriot, serving as muster master and 



often advancing money to the government 
for the pay of recruits. He married (first) 
November 29, 1739, Hannah Hobbs, who 
died November 20, 1760. He married (sec- 
ond) November 17, 1762, Sarah Smith, of 
Hampton, New Hampshire, a widow. She 
had by her first marriage two daughters: 
Hannah and Sarah Smith. She died April 
30, 1795. Children of Colonel John Web- 
ster by his first wife : Mary, born June 2, 
1741 ; Hannah, 1743; Sarah, November 14, 
1745; Anna, February 4, 1749; Elizabeth, 
1752; John, March 13, 1754; Samuel, men- 
tioned below. By second wife : Toppan, 
July 22, 1765; Mary, May 6, 1768; Eliza- 
beth, 1771 ; Edmund, 1773, succeeded to 
the homestead of his father. 

(V) Samuel (2) Webster, son of Colonel 
John (2) Webster, was born in Chester, 
New Hampshire, January 15, 1757. Early 
in life he removed to Goffstown, New 
Hampshire, and thence in 1795 to Newport 
in the same State, locating in the westerly 
part of the town on what was later known 
as the Samuel Crowell place. He was a 
lieutenant in the service during the Revolu- 
tionary War and served with distinction. 
He married Anna Roby, born October, 
1757, died March 26, 1814, a daughter of 
John Roby, of Chester. Their children 
were: John, born March 23, 1774, died 
November, 1775; Harriet (or Hannah as 
given in the Newport history), born June 
23, 1776; Samuel, December i, 1778, died 
in 1853; John, mentioned below; Anna, 
born September 25, 1783; Ebenezer, May 
30, 1786; Jesse, June 26, 1788, died Feb- 
ruary, 181 1 ; Thomas, born October 31, 
1790; Sally, May 12, 1793; Wingate, July 
23, 1796; Anna (given Asa in the Newport 
history), March 20, 1799; Betsey, April 
26, 1 801. 

(VI) John (3) Webster, son of Samuel 
(2) Webster, was born in Goffstown, New 
Hampshire, April 14, 1781, and died in 
Newport, New Hampshire, October i, 1839. 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He went to Newport with his father and 
later followed farming in the northwest 
part of the town. The town history makes 
mention of his relationship to the famous 
Daniel Webster. He married, July 26, 
1807, Deborah Dow (another record gives 
the name as Robie). She died February 25, 
1833, aged fifty years. Family records give 
her birth as January 2, 1783. Children, born 
at Newport: i. Elizabeth Ann, born May 
2, 1808, married, in 1826, Captain Obed 
Stannard, and they lived on the A. Hall 
farm. She was the mother of Edward O. 
Stannard, of St. Louis, of flour fame, later 
Governor of Missouri. 2. Samuel C, born 
September 11, 1809, died in 1841 ; married 
Elizabeth Tilton. 3. Jesse, born June 7, 
181 1, a tailor at Henniker, New Hamp- 
shire; married, July, 1834, Susan C. New- 
ell; their son, Newell Webster, was the 
third American to settle in Helena, Mon- 
tana. 4. Sally Marietta, born December 13, 
1813; married Sherburne Lakeman, of 
Goshen, New Hampshire ; their son, Dan- 
iel, resides in Nashua, New Hampshire. 

5. Almeda, born November 8, 181 5. 6. Me- 
lissa, born May 21, 1817, died in 1848. 7. 
Emeline P., born February 25, 1819. 8. 
John Robie, mentioned below. 9. Eluthera 
D., born July 29, 1825 ; married Rufus Un- 
derbill, of Nashua, New Hampshire ; lived 
at Billerica, Massachusetts. 10. Zerviah 
K., married Professor I. S. Whitney and 
lived at Manchester, New Hampshire ; died 
at Riverdale, New Hampshire. 11. Al- 
phonso, born March i, 1827, died August 

6, 1827. 12. Clarissa, born October 2, 
1828. 

(VII) Corporal John Robie Webster, son 
of John (3) Webster, was born February 
17, 1822, in Newport, New Hampshire. He 
received his education in the public schools 
of his native town. He learned the trade of 
beltmaking. At the beginning of the Civil 
War he was living in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, and from that city he enlisted in the 



Fourteenth Regiment of Connecticut Vol- 
unteers, Company K. He entered the ser- 
vice with the rank of corporal, and for 
bravery and distinguished service at the 
battle of South Mountain he was to be pro- 
moted, but in the battle of Antietam, the 
next day, September i, 1862, he was mor- 
tally wounded. He was removed to the mil- 
itary hospital at Frederick, Maryland, 
where he died October 10, 1862. He mar- 
ried, in 1850, Ann Margaret Houston, who 
was born in Bedford, New Hampshire, 
1826, a daughter of William and Sarah 
(Kimball) Houston. She died in August, 
1895. (For her ancestry, see the sketch of 
the Houston family of Holyoke in this 
work). Children: Elroy Houston, de- 
ceased ; William Elroy, mentioned below. 

(VIII) William Elroy Webster, son of 
Corporal John Robie Webster, was born at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, where his 
parents were then living, January 30, 1859. 
After his father was slain in the Civil War, 
his mother made her home in Northampton 
and he was educated there in the public 
schools. He entered the employ of the gov- 
ernment as a letter carrier in Holyoke and 
held the position for a period of eighteen 
years. The thorough knowledge of the city 
and the people of Holyoke acquired while 
handling the mail became highly useful to 
him afterward. He resigned from the post- 
al service to engage in business on his own 
account. He conducted a retail grocery 
business in Holyoke during the next seven 
years, originating and developing during 
that time many of the ideas that have 
proved valuable in the general advertising 
business to which he has devoted his atten- 
tion exclusively for the past twelve years. 
He has studied the subject of publicity in a 
practical school and has applied his knowl- 
edge most successfully in conducting his 
advertising business. His offices are at No. 
236 Maple street, Holyoke, Massachusetts. 
In politics Mr. Webster is a Republican. He 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is a member of Camp No. 60, Sons of Vet- 
erans, and of the Congregational church. 

Mr. Webster married, in 1884, Minnie 
E. Thorpe, who was born in Northampton, 
an adopted daughter of her uncle, Lyman 
L. and Eliza M. (Barnard) Thorpe. Mr, 
and Mrs. Webster have no children. 



SMITH, Josiah R., 

Head of Mercantile House. 

As executive head of the J. R. Smith 
Company of Holyoke, Massachusetts, Mr. 
Smith manages one of the largest retail 
grocery businesses in Western Massachu- 
setts, a business for which he is mainly re- 
sponsible. Thirty-two years ago he laid 
aside his duties as clerk to be a partner with 
R. W. Sanderson and the business they be- 
gan in a small store at No. 405 Main 
street is now established on the first floor 
of the eight-story building, Nos. 274 and 
276 High street, erected by Mr. Smith in 
1906, he having been sole proprietor since 
1886, and since December, 1908, when the 
J. R. Smith Company was incorporated, has 
been its president and treasurer. The high 
standing he has attained in the business 
world has been fairly won through energy 
and unusual ability, there never having been 
a time when he was not familiar with every 
necessary detail of the business and its 
propelling force. Now in the full prime of 
life and in a position allowing him the 
greatest freedom, he keeps his hand on the 
helm and displays the same devoted interest 
in the corporation as he did when it was his 
own private business. He is one of the 
world's workers, and has ever pursued a 
definite course of action and compelled suc- 
cess by deserving it. He is a son of Tim- 
othy P. and Louisa (Caswell) Smith. 

Timothy P. Smith was born in 1828 in 
Vermont, and after a life of activity in 
many localities died in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, October 25, 191 5. He learned the 



trade of pattern maker and in early man- 
hood accompanied Zenas Field, a contrac- 
tor, to Northampton, Massachusetts. Later 
he moved to Sedalia, Missouri, thence to 
the State of Kansas, where he built a resi- 
dence, but only remained a few months. On 
his return to Massachusetts he lived in Wil- 
limansett and later at South Hadley Falls, 
following his trade of pattern maker with 
the Hadley Thread Mill Company for about 
ten years. He then purchased a farm in 
Ashfield, which he managed until 1914, 
then removed to Holyoke, where he died. 
He married Louisa Caswell, daughter of 
Doctor Caswell, who moved from the 
United States to Canada, settling in the 
Province of Quebec, where he was the mov- 
ing spirit in the upbuilding of the town of 
Caswellton, named in his honor. Timothy 
P. and Louisa (Caswell) Smith were the 
parents of six children : Carrie L., wife of 
Ellsworth Keach, of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut ; Josiah R., of further mention ; Al- 
bert Burton, a merchant of Haverhill, Mas- 
sachusetts ; James A., an advertising spe- 
cialist of Beverly, Massachusetts ; W. R., 
of the J. R. Smith Company, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts; and James A. The moth- 
er of these children died at the age of sev- 
enty-five. Both she and her husband were 
members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. 

Josiah R. Smith was born at Stanslead, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, August 19, 
1857. He there began his education in the 
public schools and later he attended the Bay 
State and Holly grammar schools in North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, but at quite an 
early age became a wage earner employed 
in the Bay State Cutlery Works at North- 
ampton. He spent three years with that 
concern, then went with his father to Mis- 
souri, where he was employed at farming. 
He later returned to Massachusetts and for 
a time was employed in the Hadley Thread 
Mills. Then entered the employ of the 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wholesale and retail grocery firm of Rich- 
ards & Thayer in Holyoke, with whom he 
remained in a clerical capacity for ten years. 
His connection with that house was of the 
utmost value to the young man and was the 
turning point in his hitherto undecided ca- 
reer. Richards & Thayer conducted a very 
large business, both wholesale and retail, 
and operated that business along the best 
modern lines and in accordance with the 
highest code of business ethics. In such a 
school Mr. Smith developed his latent busi- 
ness talent and became thoroughly impreg- 
nated with the spirit of progressiveness and 
fair dealing which permeated the establish- 
ment. In 1884 he had reached a point 
where he felt his best interests called for in- 
dependent action, and in association with 
R. W. Sanderson he started in the retail 
grocery business at No. 405 Main street, 
Holyoke. In 1886 he purchased his part- 
ner's interest and assumed the entire bur- 
den of ownership and management. He ap- 
plied to the business all his energy and 
adopted as his the law of square dealing 
upon which alone a real success can be 
founded. To those principles he strictly 
adhered and in a short time had secured a 
fine trade of satisfied customers. In 1892 
the volume of business had so increased 
that he sought enlarged quarters, locating 
on High street, where he continued his suc- 
cessful career. He erected a large eight- 
story building of reinforced concrete and 
steel, trimmed with Ohio sandstone, next 
the City Hall on High street, fitting up 
the basement and first floor for his own bus- 
iness purposes. The building is one of the 
largest in Holyoke and the seven upper 
stories are used for office purposes, the en- 
tire eighth floor being occupied by the 
Chamber of Commerce and the Board of 
Trade. It is fifty by one hundred feet in 
size and modern in its every appointment. 
In 1906 Mr. Smith moved to his new quar- 
ters, the business fully justifying the su- 



perior accommodations the building aflFord- 
ed. He continued sole owner until Decem- 
ber, 1908, when the J. R. Smith Company 
was incorporated, Josiah R. Smith as presi- 
dent and treasurer. While a corporation 
provides a means of a greater division of 
labor and responsibility, Mr. Smith keeps 
in closest touch with every important de- 
tail of his large business, no department be- 
ing overlooked. The high quality of all 
goods handled is maintained as always, and 
the superior class of trade to which the 
store caters is drawn not only from Hol- 
yoke's best families, but from the surround- 
ing towns. Thirty-five clerks are employed, 
all being keyed to the highest point of ef- 
ficiency. Mr. Smith has won the proud 
title of "successful merchant," and there is 
none to dispute the fact that it is justly 
borne. His only important interest beyond 
his business is his real estate holdings, con- 
sisting of about one thousand acres, consti- 
tuting four farms, one of them the one 
formerly owned by his father in Ashfield, 
known as the F. G. Howe farm, and the 
Otis Bassett farm, in Ashfield, and the Ty- 
ler F. Clark farm in Hawley. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and a member of the 
Holyoke Club. 

Mr. Smith married, in December, 1913, 
Mrs. Lu H. Parker, daughter of Mr. 
Brown, of Orange, New Jersey, who for 
several years was a resident of Holyoke, 
engaged in the wire weaving business. Mrs. 
Smith by her former husband (Mr. Park- 
er) had two children who make their home 
with her: Sybil H. and J. Lloyd. 



SNELL, Samuel, 

Inventor, Mannfactnrer. 

For a decade more than half a century 
an active participator in the development 
of the wonderful manufacturing city of 
Holyoke, the death of Mr. Snell, which 
occurred IMay 31, 191 1, in that city, caused 



16 




^a^^yy^.yy^^ (3^^^^<^^X^_ 



l^nTiH YORK 
'G LIBRARY! 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wide-spread mourning and regret. Mr. 
Snell was of English birth and Hneage. 
His grandfather, John Snell, lived on what 
was known as the West North Farm, in 
Doubwalls, near Liskeard, England. Two 
of his brothers, Samuel and Edward, came 
to America about the time of the Revolu- 
tion, and are supposed to have settled some- 
where in New England. John Snell's first 
wife, Mary (Stevens) Snell, was the moth- 
er of his son, John Snell, born at the home- 
ntead in Doubwalls, England. He was nine- 
teen years old at the time of his father's 
death. About 1830-31 he removed to the 
United States, and made his home near 
Honesdale, Wayne county, Pennsylvania. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Jona- 
than and Alma Werry, baptized December 
I, 1794. They were the parents of eight 
children, the first five born in England. 

Samuel Snell, the fourth of these, and the 
fourth son, was born May 4, 1828, in Eng- 
land, and was a small child when he came 
with his parents to this country. His edu- 
cation was supplied by the common schools 
in Wayne county, Pennsylvania, and at the 
age of sixteen years he began working out 
on farms. At nineteen years of age he 
commenced an apprenticeship at the trade 
of carpenter, working wnth Nettleton, Bart- 
lett & Ferry in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
in which city he lived about two and one- 
half years. About this time an effort was 
being made to develop the wonderful wa- 
ter power in the Connecticut river at what 
is now the city of Holyoke, and Mr. Snell 
was attracted thither. While working there 
as a journeyman carpenter he assisted in 
the erection of the Lyman Mills and other 
large structures built by the Holyoke W^a- 
ter Power Company. In time he came to be 
a foreman and was employed as such by 
Wigginson & Flagg, a building firm of Hol- 
yoke. Soon after 1870 he engaged in busi- 
ness for himself with a partner, under the 
style of Samuel Snell & Company, manu- 
MASS.— 7— 2. 



facturers of cement pipe. Later, in asso- 
ciation with John Jarrish, he engaged in the 
manufacturer of drain and sewer pipe, until 
the partnership was dissolved. During this 
time he was engaged in perfecting an in- 
vention of his own, a drainer bottom to be 
used for paper mills, and about 1878 he be- 
gan their manufacture. As soon as the in- 
vention became fairly introduced, the de- 
mand increased very rapidly, and the busi- 
ness, begun in a small way, grew to great 
dimensions. Mr. Snell continued at the 
head of this industry until he retired and 
sold out his interest to James J. Delaney. 
He was an enterprising and industrious 
man, and early in his residence in Holyoke 
became interested in various enterprises. In 
1862 he was one of the owners and oper- 
ators of the" Holyoke Swing Ferry. He 
was the first man to build a tar walk in Hol- 
yoke, and for some time was the owner of 
the business of constructing these walks. As 
a boy, before his removal to Springfield, he 
spent some time in New York City, and 
aided in the construction of the First Quak- 
er Church in Brooklyn, New York. He was 
a most exemplary citizen, and endeavored 
to promote the cause of good government, 
and to further every movement to improve 
the condition of his fellow men. During his 
long residence in Holyoke he was active in 
public affairs, and served in various capaci- 
ties in the city government, being in the fire 
department for four years, and a member 
of the board of engineers about the same 
length of time. He was a communicant in 
the Protestant Episcopal church, and in pol- 
itics was a Republican. While in New York 
City he became a member of the Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, and after his 
removal to Holyoke transferred his mem- 
bership to the lodge there, in which he was 
very active. For twenty-five years he served 
as treasurer of the lodge, and at the time 
of his retirement held the record for con- 
tinuous service in that office in the order 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the State. He was also affiliated with the 
great Masonic fraternity, being made a Ma- 
son in New York City at the same time he 
joined the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He was one of the most earnest sup- 
porters of St. Paul's Episcopal Church in 
its early days, when influence and help were 
needed to establish the now prosperous par- 
ish. A memorial window to commemorate 
the devotion of Mr. Snell was presented to 
St. Paul's Church by his widow, and un- 
veiled on Sunday, October 21, 191 5. This 
memorial is a most fitting one, as he was 
vefv deeply interested in the construction 
of t: : present church building. It is Goth- 
ic in form, is of antique glass, and rich in 
colors, the work of the D'Ascenzo studios 
of Philadelphia. It is situated over the 
main entrance to the church, is about nine 
by twelve feet in dimension, and represents 
the Apostle Paul preaching to the Atheni- 
ans on Mars Hill. Mr. Snell possessed 
English traits of common sense, stability of 
character, and was an honest and practical 
citizen, always willing to help where help 
w-as needed. He was broad and generous in 
his charities, devoted to his home, and the 
city of Holyoke was richer and better for 
his having lived in it. A further indication 
of the kindness of Mr. Snell is found in the 
fact .hat in order that his sister and her son 
might be more comfortable he built them a 
beautiful house in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, 
where they resided up to the sister's death, 
since which time the nephew has resided 
there. 

Mr. Snell was married, October 15, 1866, 
to Phebe Ann Streeter, born February 5, 
1836, daughter of Benjamin Arnold and 
Mary (Green) Streeter, of Vernon, Ver- 
mont. In February, 191 6, the members of 
St. Martha's Guild of St. Paul's Church, 
of which Mrs. Snell is a member, celebrated 
her eightieth birthday. The whole affair 
was arranged as a surprise to Mrs. Snell, 
and when she was escorted to the dining 



room she beheld a huge birthday cake, elab- 
orately frosted, with the year 1836 inscribed 
across the top in fancy icing, and lighted 
with eighty candles in dilTerent colors. The 
table was beautifully adorned with flowers 
and other decorations, and a delicious 
spread was served. All joined in extending 
congratulations to Mrs. Snell, who is one 
of the most popular members of the guild. 
She has been a member of St. Paul's Church 
during all her residence in Holyoke, having 
joined when it was first founded, and is a 
member of Robert Morris Chapter, Order 
of the Eastern Star, in which she has for 
many years taken an active part and filled 
all the chairs, including that of worthy 
matron. 

Mrs. Snell is descended from one of the 
oldest New England families, which was 
founded by Stephen Streeter, born in 
Gourdhurst, Kent, England, about the year 
1600, and was living there until the time of 
his departure for America in 1639-40. He 
first appears in the old town of Gloucester, 
on Cape Ann, Massachusetts Bay Colony, 
where he took the freeman's oath. May 20, 
1644. He and his wife Ursula united with 
the church there on March 21, 1652. He 
died soon after the date last mentioned. As 
shown by his will he was a cordwainer, or 
shoemaker, by trade. Stephen Streeter, 
son of Stephen Streeter, lived in Charles- 
town, Watertown, Muddy River ( Brook- 
line j and Cambridge. He inherited from 
his father one-half of his homestead in 
Charlestown, which he and his wife Debo- 
rah, then living at Muddy River, sold in 
1679. In 1 681 they also sold lands in 
Charlestown, formerly the property of his 
father, to Richmond Russell. He died in 
Cambridge in 1689, and his widow w^as ad- 
mitted to church communion there in 1701. 
John Streeter, son of Stephen and Deborah 
Streeter, was born in Brookline, and after- 
ward lived at Cambridge, from whence he 
removed about 1706 to Attleboro and set- 



18 




j>^l/<. Cl Ji^t^^M, 




^ #£-• 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tied in that part of the town now known 
as Cumberland, where he died April 5, 
1729. The record shows that he bought 
lands there in 1705 and at various times af- 
terward. He owned the covenant in Cam- 
bridge in 1700, and evidently was a man of 
piety and industry. He married Mary 
Whitcomb, and their son, James Streeter, 
was born March 26, 1707, in Attleboro. He 
died in Cumberland, before 1760, for his 
son Jonathan, who made his will on May 
23 of that year, mentions his mother, broth- 
ers and sisters, but not his father. He mar- 
ried, at Rehoboth, August 8, 1734, Jemima 
Staples, who survived him. James Streeter, 
son of James and Jemima (Staples) Street- 
er, was born January 16, 1741, in Cumber- 
land. He was a grantee of lands in Cum- 
berland in 1 77 1, but later removed to Ver- 
non, Vermont, where, February 14, 1804, 
he and his wife Hannah deeded to their son 
James lands in Hillsdale, New Hampshire, 
and he takes in return to himself a lease 
to improve the same during the lifetime of 
himself and his wife Hannah. He married, 
October 21, 1764, Hannah Tower. Their 
son, Paul Streeter, was born November 9, 
1778, in Cumberland, and died in Vernon, 
Vermont, November 6, 1857. He was a 
farmer (yeoman), and spent the greater 
part of his life in Vermont. He married, 
January i, 1800, Anna Dresser. Their son, 
Benjamin Arnold Streeter, born July 14, 
1810, died July 10, 1864, married Mary 
Green, and they were the parents of Phebe 
Ann, who married Samuel Snell, as above 
related. The portraits of Mr. and Mrs. 
Snell found in these pages will it is felt be 
a source of pleasure to their many friends. 



WHITE, Edward Nelson, 

Manufacturer of Paper. 

As the treasurer of the White & Wyc- 
koff Manufacturing Company of Holyoke, 
manufacturing the finest of paper and sta- 



tionery, Edward Nelson White is well 
known throughout the country as well as 
in the community in which he lives. Not 
only as a paper manufacturer but as a man 
of business, interested in municipal govern- 
ment and civic welfare, director of a steam- 
ship line, and of the Cowan Truck Com- 
pany, and as a banker, he takes rank as 
one of the most progressive and influential 
citizens of Holyoke. His ancestry has been 
traced to one of the early settlers of Taun- 
ton, Nicholas White, one of the first man- 
ufacturers of iron in America. 

(I) Nicholas White, a native of Eng- 
land, located first at Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts, before 1643, when he was admitted a 
freeman. About the same time he married 
Susanna Humphrey, daughter of Jonas and 
Frances Humphrey, of Dorchester. He was 
then about twenty-five years old. In 1647 
he bought of Henry Wolcott a tract of land 
in Uncaty, now Milton, Massachusetts, 
cleared part of it and built his house, but 
the title to his land proved defective. Hutch- 
inson, the prior claimant, proved his claim 
and White was ousted. White sued Wol- 
cott and obtained judgment, but whether 
White ever collected his claim against Wol- 
cott, we are left in doubt. (See State 
Archives, Nicholas White Genealogy, pp. 
6-7). While this litigation was pending, 
Nicholas White moved to Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts, some time between 1652 and 1655, 
and became one of the owners of the Taun- 
ton Iron Works, in the operation of which 
he was prominent for a number of years. 
He also owned a quarter share in a saw mill 
on Mill river. In 1661 he was one of six- 
teen purchasers of Block Island, but he 
soon sold his interests. In 1668 he and his 
son Nicholas and son-in-law, Samuel Hall, 
were of a company that bought a tract north 
of Taunton, called Taunton North Pur- 
chase and including the present towns of 
Easton, parts of Mansfield and Norton, and 
in 1672 they were of the company that ac- 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



quired what was afterward known as Taun- 
ton South Purchase, comprising Dighton 
and part of Berkley. 

"Nicholas White was not a prominent 
figure in church nor in public affairs, but 
an industrious and enterprising citizen, who 
in a quiet way did his full share in convert- 
ing the forests and wild lands into fertile 
fields and laying the foundations of a city 
in the wilderness. He was an active partic- 
ipant in promoting the prosperity of Taun- 
ton and a large owner in its industries. By 
energy, industry and frugality he acquired 
a large property amounting to about three 
hundred pounds cash value, as appears 
from the inventory of his estate, taken at a 
time when money was scarce and property 
held at a low valuation." He died in 1697 
and his estate was divided the following 
year among his children, Nicholas, John, 
Joseph, and Elizabeth. Children : Eliza- 
beth; Nicholas; John, born 1649; Joseph, 
mentioned below ; child, died young. 

(II) Joseph White, son of Nicholas 
White, resided in Taunton on the westerly 
side of Scaddings pond. He was a soldier 
in King Philip's war, and was wounded in 
the Swamp Fight. He is mentioned in the 
Plymouth colony records as one of those 
who received bounties for killing wolves. 
His wife Mary died in 1724. His eldest 
son, Joseph, was appointed administrator 
of his estate, November 16, 1724. Children, 
all born in Taunton: Lydia, born August 
17, 1682, married Samuel Fisher; Joseph, 
February 13, 1683-84; Edward, March 2"], 
1686; Mary, July 19, 1688; Susanna, Au- 
gust 8, 1690, probably died young; Wil- 
liam, October 28, 1692; Nathaniel, April 
25, 1695, died young; Ebenezer, September 
13, 1697; Ephraim, mentioned below; Eliz- 
abeth, married Thomas Story. 

(III) Ephraim White, son of Joseph 
White, resided in the north precinct of 
Norton, now Mansfield, April 26, 1753, 
when he sold a part of the homestead to 



his son John. He deeded another part to 
his son David, April 4, 1763, and to his 
two daughters, Ruth and Mary, one-half of 
his dwelling house at Mansfield, June 18, 
1788, and on the same day the other half 
to his son Eliab. He died before 1791, as 
his estate was divided April 22 in that year 
among his heirs, Eliab, heirs of Ruth White, 
Mary White. He married Ruth Grover, of 
Norton, who died November 22, 1772, in 
her seventy-second year. Children, born at 
Norton: Ephraim, born February 25, 1729; 
John, mentioned below ; Ruth, April 27, 
1732; Mary, June 2, 1734; David, June 26, 
1736; Eliab, January 29, 1738-39; Lydia, 
July 17, 1741 ; Abiel, August 26, 1745, died 
January i, 1750-51. 

(IV) John White, son of Ephraim 
White, was born at Norton, August i, 1730. 
He resided in Norton, North Precinct, 
where he had part of the old homestead. 
He was a cooper by trade. He moved 
late in life, perhaps to New Hampshire, 
where some of his children settled. He mar- 
ried, September 5, 1751, Mary Grover, of 
Norton. Children: John, born May 13, 
1752, died December 6, 1752; Mary, Octo- 
ber 17, 1753; Susanna, August 11, 1755; 
John, mentioned below ; Abiel, August 18, 
1759, soldier in the Revolution; Rachel, Ju- 
ly 18, 1 761 ; Azubah, May 23, 1763, mar- 
ried William Greenwood, of Dublin, New 
Hampshire; Lemira, July 11, 1765; Asa, 
September 25, 1767, probably died young; 
Lucy, February 3, 1770; Otis, May 6, 
1772; Calvin, February 9, 1775, died April 
26, 1782. 

(V) John (2) White, son of John (i) 
White, was born in Mansfield, formerly 
North Precinct of Norton, September 18, 
1757, and died in Nelson, formerly Packers- 
field, New Hampshire, December 21, 1846, 
aged eighty-nine years (town record). He 
was a soldier in the Revolution from Mans- 
field. The Revolutionary records show that 
of the three men named John White, then in 



20 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mansfield of proper age to serve in the war, 
all probably took part, but it is impossible 
to distinguish the records one from another. 
In 1 781 John White left Mansfield and lo- 
cated in Nelson. 

(VI) John (3) White, son of John (2) 
White, was born at Nelson, October 24, 
1782, and died September 26, 1856, aged 
seventy-four years. He was a farmer in 
Claremont, New Hampshire, and was buried 
in that town. He married, September 3, 
1805, Esther Wheeler, born January 15, 
1 781, died August 29, 1865, daughter of 
Jacob Wheeler. Children : Abial, Lyman, 
Relief, Elmira, Leafy, Lurie (?), Jonas, 
mentioned below. 

(VII) Jonas White, son of John (3) 
White, was born at Nelson, November 11, 
1822, and died at Worcester, Massachusetts, 
in 1901. During most of his life he was a 
merchant. He was prominent in public 
afifairs and was sheriff of Sullivan county. 
He removed to Worcester in 1868 and was 
active in mercantile life there until he re- 
tired in the eighties. He was a dealer in 
fancy goods, toys and notions, with a store 
at 214 Main street. In 1871 his house was 
at 5 Quincy street, Worcester. He was a 
man of exemplary character, pious, earnest 
in purpose, and active in religious work. He 
was one of the founders of Plymouth Con- 
gregational Church, Worcester. He took 
a prominent part in municipal affairs and 
served the city as a member of the board 
of health until he was past eighty years 
of age. He was a charter member of the 
Worcester Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation. He married, June 17, 1851, Cla- 
rissa Maria Prentiss, who was born in 
Claremont, New Hampshire, in 1826, a 
daughter of Deacon Samuel and Clarissa 
(Whiting) Prentiss. Children: i. George 
Francis, born 1854; resides in Worcester; 
married Belle Perry; children: Mildred 
and Belle. 2. Nellie M. 3. Charles S. 4. 



Edward Nelson, mentioned below. 5. Mary 
Jane, resides in Worcester. 

(VIII) Edward Nelson White, son of 
Jonas White, was born at Claremont, New 
Hampshire, July 6, 1863. Coming to Wor- 
cester when he was but five years old he 
entered the public schools of that city and 
attended the high school there for one and a 
half years. He began his business career at 
the age of seventeen in the offices of the 
Prentiss Wire Mill in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. From time to time he was advanced 
to positions of larger responsibility. In 
1889 he started in business on his own ac- 
count as the junior partner of the new firm 
of Smith & White, in the manufacture of 
stationery. The firm began on a small scale, 
limited in capital, making ruling and bind- 
ing paper, but in a short time the business 
grew to a place of importance among the 
paper industries of Holyoke. In 1891 Mr. 
White, with J. L. Wyckoff, acquired the 
interests of Mr. Smith and organized the 
White & Wyckoff Manufacturing Company 
to continue the business, making a specialty 
of high-grade stationery and correspon- 
dence paper. The business has scored a 
phenomenal success. The product of Mr. 
White's company has a world-wide reputa- 
tion for style, finish and beauty, and is in 
demand in all the stationery stores of this 
country and many foreign countries. From 
time to time the plant has been enlarged 
and the output has been increased from 
year to year. Mr. White has been treasurer 
of the corporation from the beginning. The 
company has established a reputation not 
only for the quality of its goods, but for its 
progressive methods, its model plant and 
excellent relations with its employees. It 
is one of the great industries of which the 
city of Holyoke is proud, one of the pillars 
of the city's growth and prosperity. Mr. 
White has not confined his attention to the 
manufacture of paper. He is an owner and 
director in various other industries and cor- 



21 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



porations. For many years he has been a 
director of the Palmer Navigation Com- 
pany, which operates a fleet of coasting ves- 
sels, having offices at Portland. Maine. He 
is also treasurer of the Cowan Truck Com- 
pany of Holyoke. He is a director also of 
the City National Bank of Holyoke and of 
the Morris Plan Bank, of that cit>% re- 
cently established for the benefit of small 
borrowers, and is highly respected in bank- 
ing circles. His interest in civic affairs is 
keen and his influence and support have 
been given to every project designed to im- 
prove the city and the welfare of its peo- 
ple. He has been active in the work of 
the Holyoke Chamber of Commerce and is 
at present its vice-president and one of its 
board of directors. As a member of the 
school committee of the city he has de- 
voted much time to the cause of public ed- 
ucation. He was also at one time a member 
of the city council of Holyoke. As a mem- 
ber of the new cir\- planning board of Hol- 
yoke, he has given his time freely to study- 
ing the future needs of the municipality 
and its people. Perhaps no city office re- 
quires men of greater foresight, keener ob- 
servation, common sense and loyalt}'' than 
membership in the planning board. Through- 
out the country these boards are at work 
on the problems of various American cities 
and the future will undoubtedly show the 
wisdom and value of their labors. 

From early life Mr. White has been ac- 
tive in the church. He is a member of the 
Second Congregational Church of Holyoke, 
and has served for a ntmiber of years on 
its parish committee and in other offices of 
the parish and church. He is a director of 
the Young Men's Christian Association and 
a generous supporter of the various chari- 
ties of the city. 

Popular in social life, respected and hon- 
ored in business and public life, Mr. White 
has been primarily a useful citizen. The 
same qualities of character that have made 



him of great value to the community have 
wrought for him the rewards of a success- 
ful and growing business. He possesses 
a wide circle of friends not only in the city 
of his home, but throughout the country. 
He is a member of the Holyoke Club, the 
Mount Tom Golf Club and the Holyoke 
Canoe Club. His chief recreations are 
golf, canoeing and other outdoor sports. 

He married (first) 1889, Alice L. Web- 
ber, bom 1866, died 1890, daughter of Joel 
I. and Maria ( Beebe) Webber, of Holyoke. 
He married (second) 1906, Letitia J. 
Smyth. Child by first marriage, Dorothy 
Alice. By his second marriage two chil- 
dren : Constance, bom 1908, and Edward 
P.. bom 1909. 



WHITING, Hon. William. 

Paper Mannfactnrer, Public Official. 

Among the many families that can boast 
of a long and noteworthy connection with 
the history of New England, none is more 
conspicuous than the Whiting family, mem- 
bers of which have been associated with 
both public and private affairs of import- 
ance for more than three centuries. The 
line of ancestr}- is traced back to James 
\\'hiting, who was one of the early settlers 
of Hingham, Massachusetts. He came 
thither from an English town of the same 
name, and was doubtless a son of Thomas 
Whiting (W}^on, or Whiton) a yeoman of 
Hooke Norton, Oxfordshire. One of his 
children was Joseph, bom at Hingham in 
1686. Joseph Whiting married Martha 
Tower, in 171 3, and their oldest son, Elijah 
Whiting, was bom at Hingham the follow- 
ing year. This son became the father of 
Whitfield Whiting, bom about 1750, and 
the latter was the father of Daniel Whiting, 
who was bom at Abington, Coimecticut, in 
1778. Daniel Whiting married Elizabeth 
Potter, and among their children was Wil- 
liam B. Whiting, born at Willington, Con- 



22 




^y?^^- "y^^^^ 



r^^^'^C LlBRARYi 



h^^-^:^^:^^!^ 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



necticut, in 1817. William B. Whiting's 
oldest son was Hon. William Whiting, of 
this sketch. 

Hon. William Whiting was born at Dud- 
ley, Massachusetts, May 24, 1841. While 
he was still a young boy his parents moved 
to Holyoke, and then he attended the public 
schools. His father's religion was hard 
work. When young William was between 
eight and nine years of age his father in- 
formed him at the supper table one night 
that he had been thinking the matter over 
and concluded the boy ought to begin to 
earn his living. He had been talking to a 
farmer who offered to give the lad his board 
and clothes if he would work for him even- 
ings and vacations. On the following day, 
after school, young Whiting as he went 
home joined a group of boys playing at the 
junction of High and Dwight streets. One 
of the boys informed him that he had giv- 
en up his job of peddling papers for Mr. 
Baker, the newsdealer, and that his em- 
ployer was looking for a boy to take his 
place. Accordingly William called on the 
newsdealer, who offered to pay him a dollar 
and a half a week. This appealed to the 
boy more than the farmer's offer, and he 
accepted the position. This did not prevent 
his keeping on with his school work, and at 
length he entered the High School. It was 
his intention to continue his education at 
Amherst College, but circumstances altered 
his plans. He was very quick with his pen 
and expert at figures. This led to his be- 
ing frequently employed in offices to help 
in bookkeeping. On one occasion he was 
called in to straighten out the books of a 
paper company, and in that way he entered 
the paper business. From his early youth 
he was a person of keen intuitions, and the 
combined promptness and wisdom of his 
decisions at critical times had much to do 
with the success he achieved. While hold- 
ing the position of bookkeeper and agent for 
the Hampden Paper Company he had a dif- 



ference with the head of the concern anu 
at once withdrew from its employ, bought 
a mill, and began the manufacture of paper. 
He had been receiving a salary of about 
five thousand dollars a year, the greater 
part of which he had saved, and this enabled 
him to finance the venture. The mill he 
purchased was one that had been used in 
the manufacture of wire. This has beeii 
known as the Whiting No. i Mill since 
1865. Mr. Whiting remodeled the structure 
and installed a paper-making plant which 
had a daily capacity of six tons of fine writ- 
ing paper. From a small beginning his 
trade increased until greater manufacturing 
facilities were needed. Then he purchased 
land on Dwight street, and erected on it the 
large mill known as Whiting No. 2, which 
had a writing paper capacity of fifteen tons 
a day. The business was incorporated in 
1865, as the Whiting Paper Company, with 
a capital of one hundred thousand dollars. 
From time to time the capital has been in- 
creased, and now is thrice the original 
amount, but the investment in the plant and 
business represents a much larger sum. The 
writmg paper and stationery of the Whit- 
ing mills are known all over the country. 
No finer paper is made, and no paper com- 
pany has maintained a better reputation for 
quality. Mr. Whiting was president and 
general manager of the company from its 
organization nearly all his life, as long 
as he took an active part in business. He 
employed between six and seven hundred 
hands with a monthly payroll of about 
twenty-five thousand dollars. His business 
activities were not confined to the company 
that bore his name. He was president and 
manager of the Collins Manufacturing 
Company with a large paper mill at North 
Wilbraham. The management of this busi- 
ness was assumed by him when the affairs 
of the company were in a critical condition, 
and from a losing venture it became under 
his care very profitable, a dividend being 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



paid to the stockholders the first year. Mr. 
Whiting was president also of the Whit- 
more Manufacturing Company, of Hol- 
yoke, manufacturing Hthographic paper, and 
of the National Blank Book Company, also 
of Holyoke, the annual product of which 
amounted to half a million dollars in value. 

Mr. Whiting was a leading figure in the 
financial affairs of this section of the State 
for many years. In 1872 he organized the 
Holyoke National Bank, and was its presi- 
dent until 1891, when he resigned. He was 
president of the Holyoke Savings Bank and 
a member of its finance committee ; director 
in the Chapin National Bank of Spring- 
field ; trustee of the Washington Trust 
Company of New York ; director of the 
Holyoke Warp Company ; president of the 
Connecticut River Railroad ; vice-president 
of the Holyoke & Westfield Railroad ; di- 
rector of the Boston & Maine Railroad 
Company. 

During his boyhood he often heard the 
idea of a public library for Holyoke dis- 
cussed, but no active measures were adopt- 
ed to start it until 1866, when a meeting 
was called which all the prominent men of 
the town attended. After considerable dis- 
cussion, Mr. Whiting was called on to 
speak, although he was only twenty-five 
years of age. He told his hearers that if 
they meant business they should draw up 
a paper and subscribe to it then and there, 
and if they did not mean business to drop 
the matter once for all. This brought im- 
mediate action. A paper was made out and 
passed to him and he subscribed five hun- 
dred dollars, an amount that no later signer 
equalled. From that start has grown the 
Holyoke Library of today. For many years 
Mr. Whiting was president of its board of 
trustees, and his life-size painting occupies 
a conspicuous place in the beautiful edifice 
that houses the collection of books. 

In public life Mr. Whiting won the high- 
est distinctions. He was always a Repub- 



lican, influential in the councils of his 
party, and earnestly supporting its policies 
and candidates. In 1873 ^^ ^^s elected to 
the State Senate, and was appointed to im- 
portant committees in that body. He was 
city treasurer of Holyoke in 1876 and 1877, 
elected by large majorities, though the city 
was normally strongly Democratic. He was 
mayor of the city in 1878 and 1879, with 
the almost unanimous support of both par- 
ties at the polls. His administration was 
highly creditable and satisfactory. He was 
a delegate to the Republican National Con- 
vention at Cincinnati in 1876 when Ruth- 
erford B. Hayes was nominated for 
President. From 1883 to 1889 ^^ was 
representative of his district in Con- 
gress, and was a prominent member of 
the House in the forty-eighth, forty- 
ninth and fiftieth congresses. At that 
time his party was in the minority, how- 
ever, and his opportunities for service were 
limited on that account. He was a member 
of the committee on banking and currency. 
In his first term he served on the commit- 
tee on pensions, bounties and back pay, and 
at that period the work of the committee 
was onerous, to say the least. He was also 
a member of the committee on education 
and took part in framing the legislature 
affecting the education of the negroes. He 
spoke on the tariff and silver questions with 
convincing logic and common sense. At the 
close of his third term he declined re-elec- 
tion. The "Holyoke Transcript" said at the 
time : "Congressman Whiting authorizes 
the statement that he will not be a candidate 
for re-election to congress. He does it thus 
early so that his constituents may have am- 
ple time to discuss the matter and settle 
upon his successor. Mr. Whiting's with- 
drawal is perhaps not surprising, for the 
position is one not always pleasant and 
agreeable, but his retirement will be at- 
tended with regret. Our congressman has 
been faithful to his public duties, and 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



though he has not cut a large figure as a 
debater, he has won his way to a position 
of great influence among his associates of 
the house. It is his business-Hke way that 
has made him conspicuous in the minds of 
so many as a candidate for gubernatorial 
honor, and to that exalted station we hope 
to see him elevated. Many of our gover- 
nors have taken the congressional course 
of training before being called to take the 
chair of state, and that training has fur- 
nished a good equipment. Mr. Whiting's 
would prove no exception." 

The "Springfield Republican" said : "Mr. 
Whiting's withdrawal will be a serious loss 
to the Republican delegation from Massa- 
chusetts. He has not during his three 
terms taken a conspicuous part in debate, 
but his views have been received with great 
respect in committee, where his penetration 
and sound judgment have been appreciated 
by his fellow-members." 

While in Washington Mr. Whiting be- 
came a close friend of William McKinley. 
He was a delegate to the St. Louis Repub- 
lican Convention and assisted in the nomi- 
nation of Mr. McKinley for President. Pres- 
ident McKinley had a niece at Mount Hol- 
yoke College, and while on a visit to her 
was a guest of Mr. Whiting for four days. 
Mr. Whiting also entertained James A. Gar- 
field before he was elected to the presidency, 
also Thomas B. Reed, United States Sen- 
ator Lodge, of Massachusetts, and others. 
His public services earned for him in a 
greater degree than ever the confidence of 
his fellow citizens. 

No citizen in Holyoke took a keener in- 
terest in the welfare and progress of the 
city than Mr. Whiting. He co-operated in 
every movement and assisted every project 
designed for its benefit. He did his utmost 
as a manufacturer, public officer, and citizen 
to build up the city and make it better as 
a place of residence and business. The "Pa- 
per World" said of him in 1896: "His in- 



terest in the city of Holyoke has been broad 
and generous ; none of her citizens has 
given more liberally of their best thought 
and effort for the upbuilding and credit of 
the municipality. During all the years of 
the city's existence he served in whatever 
capacity his fellow citizens might direct, 
and his fertile mind was active in devising 
measures for the advancement of the in- 
terests of the people, industrially, ment- 
ally, and morally." 

He was one of the founders of the Hol- 
yoke Board of Trade, and was its president 
until 1892 when he declined a re-election. 
Through his warm personal friendship for 
President Seelye, Mr. Whiting came to take 
an active interest in Amherst College, and 
in 1877 he was given an honorary degree of 
A. B. at commencement. He was keenly 
interested in public education, and earnestly 
advocated the best possible school system. 
He was one of the board of trustees of 
Mount Holyoke College. The first sub- 
scription for the Holyoke Hospital was 
made in his house, and he w^as later its pres- 
ident. In 1877 he erected on his Dwight 
street property a fine opera house, and a 
large hotel known as the W'indsor House, 
both of brick and stone. He was a member 
of William W'hiting Lodge, Free Masons. 

The career of Mr. Whiting amply dem- 
onstrates how a poor boy, unaided by in- 
fluential friends or capital, but with a de- 
termination to succeed, and possessing the 
characteristics of diligence, economy and 
thrift, can make for himself a name and 
gain a position of which anyone might well 
be proud. 

Mr. Whiting married, June 19, 1862, An- 
na Maria Fairfield, of Holyoke, a native of 
that place, daughter of Luther M. Fair- 
field, a farmer. Mrs. Whiting died July 26, 
1914. Their children were: William Fair- 
field and Samuel Raynor. 

Mr. and Mrs. William Whiting attended 
the Congregational church and gave gener- 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ously to its benevolent work and many char- 
ities. His residence was at the corner of 
Elm and Appleton streets. One of the most 
attractive features was a library, an exten- 
sion of the dwelling, oval in shape, with a 
glass roofed dome to let in the light. The 
beautiful room v/as filled with choice 
volumes. Mr. Whiting was very fond of 
books of history, a liking that dated back 
to his early boyhood, when he was pre- 
sented with Macauley's History. When Mr. 
Whiting died January 9, 191 1, the entire 
city mourned the loss of its benefactor and 
leading citizen. 

William Fairfield Whiting, eldest son of 
Hon. William and Anna Maria (Fairfield) 
Whiting, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, July 20, 1864. He graduated from 
Williston Seminary and Amherst College. 
He was for years associated with his father 
in many varied business interests, and is 
now president of the Whiting Paper Com- 
pany. He married Anne Chapin, and their 
children are : William, Edward Chapin, 
Fairfield, Ruth. 

Samuel Raynor Whiting, second son of 
Hon. William and Anna Maria (Fairfield) 
Whiting, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, January 20, 1867. He was educated at 
Williston Seminary, later held important 
positions in his father's mills, and is now 
president of the Collins Manufacturing 
Company. He married Gertrude L. Greel- 
ey, and their children are : Anna Fairfield, 
Margaret, Samuel Raynor, Jr., James 
Greeley. 



SMITH, George Rumrill, 

Representative Citizen. 

The career of George Rumrill Smith, of 
Holyoke, who is now retired from active 
business pursuits, enjoying to the full the 
reward of years of earnest and faithful ef- 
fort, illustrates in no uncertain manner 
what it is possible to accomplish when per- 



severance and determination form the key- 
note to a man's life. Depending upon his 
own resources, looking for no outside aid 
or support, he was able to provide a com- 
fortable home for his family and to amass a 
competence for his declining years. 

The first ancestor of George Rumrill 
Smith, of whom we have definite informa- 
tion, was Philip Smith, a resident of South 
Hadley, Massachusetts, a man of energy 
and enterprise, who gained the confidence 
and good will of all with whom he had been 
associated, either in public or private life. 
He married and among their children was 
a son, Philip, of whom further. 

Philip (2) Smith, son of Philip (i) 
Smith, was also a resident of South Hadley, 
Massachusetts, and was engaged in the till- 
ing of the soil, from which occupation he 
derived a comfortable livelihood and an in- 
dependence not gained in any other line of 
work. He was interested in community af- 
fairs, and performed well all the duties 

which fell to his lot. He married , 

who bore him three children, namely : Phil- 
ip, Luther, of whom further, and Statira. 

Luther Smith, second son of Philip (2) 
Smith, was born in South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, about the year 1793, and died in 
Willimansett, Massachusetts, in the year 
1858, aged sixty-five years. He gained a 
practical education by attendance at the 
common school in the neighborhood of his 
home, after which he assisted with the 
work of the home farm, and throughout 
his active years devoted his attention to ag- 
ricultural pursuits, having been the owner 
of a small farm in Willimansett, whereon 
he resided until his death, and which he had 
brought up to a high state of perfection. He 
was quiet and reserv^ed in manner, deriving 
his greatest pleasure from the family circle, 
doing all in his power to contribute to the 
happiness and welfare of those dependent 
upon him. He was not unmindful of the 
interests of the community, and was al- 



26 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ways ready and willing to respond to any 
call for assistance to the extent of his abil- 
ity. He married Susan Rumrill, a native of 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, born in 1800, 
died in 1875, daughter of Asa and Rhoda 
Rumrill. Among their children was George 
Rumrill, of whom further. 

George Rumrill Smith, son of Luther and 
Susan (Rumrill) Smith, was born in Wil- 
limansett, Massachusetts, December 5, 1835. 
He attended the schools of his native town, 
thereby securing an education which pre- 
pared him for the activities of life. During 
his boyhood he assisted with the work of 
the farm and in this manner built up a ro- 
bust constitution, the greater part of his 
time being spent in the open air, a plan 
highly essential to good health. Later he 
served an apprenticeship at the trade of 
brick mason, with a concern in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, but during the panic of 1857 
he went to the State of Pennsylvania and 
there secured employment in the lumber 
regions, his employer being his cousin. In 
the following year, 1858, the times having 
once more become normal, Mr. Smith re- 
turned to Holyoke and once more engaged 
in the work for which he had prepared 
himself, and for the long period of forty 
years and three months worked continuous- 
ly at his trade in that city, never being ab- 
sent from his post during that long stretch 
of years but for two days, that being the oc- 
casion of his daughter's marriage, a most 
remarkable record, one deserving of espe- 
cial mention. He had charge of the con- 
struction of the Linden Mills, the plant of 
the Merrick Thread Company, the Flat Iron 
Block, in the vicinity of the depot, and the 
erection of many tenement blocks, always 
having a large force of men under his con- 
trol and supervision. He was energetic and 
progressive in his ideas, active and industri- 
ous, and well merited the success which at- 
tended his efforts. Throughout his manhood 
years he has been thoroughly alive to all 



that pertains to good citizenship, and, al- 
though entirely devoid of all political as- 
pirations, is interested in whatever has a 
tendency to permanently benefit his local- 
ity. Since 1877 he has held membership in 
Holyoke Lodge, No. 134, Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows, has passed through all 
the chairs, served as noble grand for two 
different terms, was treasurer and trustee 
for about eighteen years, and held office 
continuously for thirty-two years in the or- 
der. He is also a member of the Encamp- 
ment and of the Daughters of Rebekah 
Lodge. He is a man of many sterling char- 
acteristics, with high standard of citizen- 
ship, and with social qualities which render 
him popular with his circle of friends. 

Mr. Smith married, September 12, i860, 
Eunice A. Day, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
born September 12, 1839, daughter of New- 
ton and Laura (Morgan) Day. They are 
the parents of one daughter, Louise, who 
became the wife of Homer J. Stratton, Oc- 
tober, 191 1 ; he was a traveling salesman 
for the Regal Paper Company, of New Jer- 
sey, but died October 31, 191 1. 



DWIGHT, William George, 

'Well Knovrn Journalist. 

Among the men who have carved out for 
themselves an enviable place in the newspa- 
per world should be mentioned William G. 
Dwight, editor and proprietor of the "Hol- 
yoke Transcript," a man who stands high 
in public esteem. Self reliance, conscien- 
tiousness, energy and honesty being the 
traits of character that have insured him 
the highest emoluments and greatest suc- 
cess. The family name was Monk, but this 
patronymic was changed by the father of 
William G. Dwight to Dwight, the form 
now in use, that being his middle name. 

William George Dwight comes of a very 
old English family, its name having first 
been Monk, or Monck, a name conspicuous 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



even prior to the seventeenth century, but 
it was during the time of Cromwell and 
Charles II. that it was most distinguished. 
George Monk, the first Duke of Albemarle 
and second son of Sir Thomas Monk, had 
a brilliant military career, serving his king 
under many and varied circumstances. As 
a mark of appreciation for his service he 
was buried in Westminster Abbey and a 
contemporary report in speaking of his 
death says: "He died like a Roman gen- 
eral with his officers about him." In this re- 
mark there is contained a worthy tribute. 
Although his dukedom expired at the death 
of his son, the Monk family did not be- 
come extinct and their name is a common 
one in England. 

George Monk was born in England, in 
1759, and came to America in his youth. 
Records do not give any account of his 
activities immediately after his arrival, and 
the first that is known of him is his active 
participation in the Revolutionary War as 
a member of the Continental army. It is 
quite probable that he enlisted in Massachu- 
setts. His regiment was an important one 
as he served with Mad Anthony Wayne at 
Stony Point, New York, near Ticonderoga, 
and under General von Steuben at Valley 
Forge. He was also present at the surren- 
der of General Cornwallis at Yorktown, at 
which time he held the commission of cap- 
tain. His career can be traced quite ac- 
curately on account of these few definite 
and prominent points. To such men, dar- 
ing and reliable in encounter and loyal to 
commanders, the credit must be given for 
the spirit and courage shown in this war. 
After hostilities ceased and the discharged 
armies returned to take up business pur- 
suits again, Mr. Monk located in Massachu- 
setts. At that time, before the day of rapid 
traveling railroads, the stage coaches mate- 
rially aided the hotel business and Mr. 
Monk undertook to conduct a hotel at 
Windsor, Massachusetts, which was one of 



the over-night stops of a popular stage 
route, and this delightful place is now the 
property of Mr. Murray Crane. In addi- 
tion to the convenience of the location, the 
charm and hospitality of the hotel was an 
important factor in its success. Mr. Monk 
married Amy Ball, who bore him two sons : 
George, who died in Fulton, New York, and 
William Dwight, of whom further. 

William Dwight Alonk, later known as 
William Dwight, was born in Windsor, 
Massachusetts, in 1822, died at North Am- 
herst, Massachusetts, in 1892. After attend- 
ing the elementary schools of the town until 
he had completed the courses offered by 
their curriculum he entered college to takeup 
the study of medicine and matriculated at 
the Berkshire Medical College at Pittsfield. 
This institution has not been in existence for 
many years, but was one of the foremost 
medical schools of the East a century ago. 
Prior to receiving his medical degree he de- 
cided to change his name from Monk to 
Dwight, his middle name. Chester Vil- 
lage, now Huntington, was the scene of his 
first professional work, but as his confidence 
increased he decided to move to a larger 
field and soon established his office in Ber- 
nardston, and this town was his home for 
twenty years, during which time he became 
a popular and highly esteemed citizen. His 
interest in politics and education was made 
quite evident by the fact that he was ap- 
pointed to the office of postmaster and also 
one of the original trustees of the Cushman 
Library, the former a position gained only 
through personal popularity and as a recog- 
nition of party service, and the latter a posi- 
tion of honor given to those who have 
worked for educational advantages for a 
community. In the Franklin County Me- 
dical Association he was a prominent mem- 
ber, and he also held membership in the Uni- 
tarian church. The last twenty years of 
his professional life were spent at North 
Amherst. He received an honorary degree 



28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



from Amherst College. He married Helen 
Clark, daughter of the Rev. Eber L. and 
Mary (Starkweather) Clark, the former a 
graduate of Williams College, class of 1811. 
Helen Clark attended Mount Holyoke Sem- 
inary in the class of 1841, coming under the 
direct personal training of Mary Lyon. She 
taught later in the Maplevvood Institute in 
Pittsfield, one of the very famous schools 
of the day. She was a most remarkable wo- 
man, a leader in the community life in the 
several towns in which she made her home. 
She died in Holyoke, in 1910, at the age of 
ninety-three. Dr. and Mrs. Dwight were 
the parents of five children: Mary E., 
who became the wife of Edward H. Per- 
kins, of Hartford, and they have two sons : 
Professor Henry A. Perkins, acting presi- 
dent of Trinity College, and Edward C. 
Perkins, a graduate of Yale and Columbia 
University, and now engaged in hospital 
work in China ; three who died in child- 
hood ; William George, of whom further. 
William George Dwight was born at Ber- 
nardston, Massachusetts, September 21, 
1859. In boyhood he attended the public 
school in his preparation to enter Powers 
Institute, also at Bernardston. After his 
graduation from that institution he became 
a student at Amherst College, in 1877, and 
received the degree of B. H. in 1881. De- 
sirous of starting upon an active career at 
once, he located in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
in the September following his graduation 
from college and immediately took uo news- 
paper work, a profession in which he has 
gained considerable success. For a short 
time he acted as correspondent for the vari- 
ous Springfield papers, but in 1882 he form- 
ed a partnership with W. S. Loomis, who 
owned the "Holyoke Transcript," then a 
weekly paper. Under the new partnership 
it was immediately brought out as a daily 
paper, and during the six years of this con- 
nection the standing of the paper greatly in- 
creased. In 1888 Mr. Loomis felt com- 



pelled to discontinue his connection with 
the paper on account of the urgent demands 
made upon his time by his extensive street 
railway holdings, and from that time Mr. 
Dwight has been sole owner and manager 
of the paper. It is gratifying to have a 
paper in the control of a man who is fully 
aware of the responsibilities of the press. 
There is no more potent influence in our 
civilization today and it is now, as ever, the 
prime mover in progress and improvement. 
The value of the local press is always con- 
ceded and it is usually expected that supe- 
rior towns have good papers, but the fact 
is frequently overlooked that perhaps the 
good paper is in a large degree responsible 
for the favorable growth of the town. Hol- 
yoke knows that in the "Daily Transcript" 
it has a paper which not only reports the af- 
fairs and interests of the community, but al- 
so plans for future civic, state and national 
development. Mr. Dwight is a member of 
the Canoe Club, Mt. Tom Golf Club and 
Piquot Club. In politics he gave his sup- 
port to the Republican party for many 
years, but became identified with the Pro- 
gressive wing of that party in 191 2. 

Mr. Dwight married (first) Anna, daugh- 
ter of David Bush, of Burke, New York, 
and to them one child was born, Henry, 
January 16, 1891. Mrs. Dwight's death oc- 
curred in the same year. Mr. Dwight mar- 
ried (second) in 1896, Minnie A. Ryan, 
daughter of Patrick and Catherine (Riley) 
Ryan, of North Hadley, Massachusetts, 
and granddaughter of James and Ellen 
(Powers) Ryan, of whom further. They 
are the parents of three children : Helen 
M., born 1897, a student of Wellesley Col- 
lege ; Laura S., born 1899, ^ student at Vas- 
sar; William, born 1903. 

James Ryan, grandfather of Minnie A. 
(Ryan) Dwight, was a native of Ireland, a 
representative of one of the old and hon- 
ored families of Ireland, entitled to bear a 
coat-of-arms. He came to the United States 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the year 1851, and located in Whately, 
Massachusetts, from whence he removed 
to North Hadley, Massachusetts, where his 
death occurred at the advanced age of nine- 
ty-six years. His wife. Ellen (Powers) 
Ryan, bore him thirteen children, all but 
t^vo, who died in infancy, lived to be over 
seventy years of age. 

Patrick Ryan, son of James and Ellen 
(Powers) Ryan, and father of Minnie A. 
(Ryan) D wight, was born in County Wa- 
terford, Ireland, July 15, 1839, and at the 
present time (1917) is residing in North 
Hadley, Massachusetts, aged seventy-eight 
years. He received his preliminary educa- 
tion in the schools of his native town, and 
when twelve years of age accompanied his 
parents to this country. He resided with an 
old New England family in Whately, Mas- 
sachusetts, and during this time attended 
public and select schools, being for a time 
a pupil under James H. Newton, now a 
banker of Holyoke. Later he devoted his 
attention to agricultural pursuits, and is 
now the owner of a farm of one hundred 
acres or more in North Hadley. one of the 
most productive farms in that section of the 
State, one of the show places of the region, 
which he has occupied since his marriage in 
1869. His product consists principally of 
tobacco and onions at the present time, but 
in the past he conducted extensive dairying 
operations, also raised com, hay and pigs. 
Mr. Ryan is a great reader and student, 
particularly on political topics, and is the 
possessor of a wonderful memory'. He is a 
Democrat in politics, and has served as reg- 
ister of voters and as a member of the va- 
rious town committees. He has always been 
an earnest advocate of Home Rule for Ire- 
land. 

Mr. Ryan married. May 5, 1869, Cather- 
ine Riley, bom in County Tipperary, Ire- 
land, daughter of Patrick Riley, who lived 
to the advanced age of ninety-eight years. 
Children : Ellen, became the wife of John 



Dwyer ; Minnie A., aforementioned as the 
wife of William G. Dwight ; Bridget Ag- 
nes, an educator ; James, deceased ; Wil- 
liam ; Henry ; Arthur, city editor of the 
Holyoke "Daily Transcript," married Bes- 
sie O'Connell, and has children : James 
Arthur, Elizabeth and Catherine. 



JUDGE, Martin Joseph, 

Paper ManufactareT. 

Martin Joseph Judge, one of the repre- 
sentative business men of Holyoke, is a 
descendant of a fine old Irish family, the 
members of which have always occupied 
positions of honor and regard in the com- 
munities where they have made their homes, 
being industrious and enterprising, willing 
to sacrifice their own interests, if needs be, 
in order to promote the welfare and de- 
velopment of their respective places of res- 
idence. 

John Judge, grandfather of Martin J. 
Judge, was born, lived and died in Ireland, 
his death occurring in the late seventies, at 
the advanced age of eighty-four years. He 
married Ellen Dunbar and among their 
children was Anthony, of whom further. 

Anthony Judge, father of Martin J. 
Judge, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, 
about the year 1803, and died at South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, in 1903, al- 
most a centenarian. He followed the occu- 
pation of farming, as his forebears had 
done for centuries, but the times were very- 
hard in Ireland, owing to the excessive op- 
pressions wrought upon the people by the 
British government, and Mr. Judge, like so 
many of his fellow countrj'men, had a dif- 
ficult time in making a livelihood. He was 
of an extremely independent character, 
however, and could ill brook the injustices 
to which he was necessarily subject there, 
and eventually, rebelling altogether against 
them, he joined the great body of Irishmen 
who sought a haven in the Republic of the 



30 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Western Hemisphere and set sail for the 
United States in the year i860. Arriving 
in this country, he located in South Hadley 
Falls, Massachusetts, where he spent the 
remainder of his days. Before coming to 
this country he married Barbara Loftus, a 
native of County Mayo, Ireland, a daugh- 
ter of Patrick and Mary (Gallagher) Loft- 
us. Ten children were born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Judge, as follows : John, Thomas, 
Patrick, Michael, Anthony, Martin Joseph, 
John, James, Mary, and Edward Loftus, a 
priest in the Catholic church at North 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, who died Octo- 
ber 4, 1 91 6. Of the others only Thomas, 
Patrick, Martin Joseph and Mary are liv- 
ing. 

Martin Joseph Judge was born at South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, October 14, 
1865. He was educated in the public 
schools of his native town and proved him- 
self an apt and diligent student. His first 
employment was in the Glasgow Mills at 
South Hadley Falls, with which concern he 
was identified for a considerable period of 
time, becoming thoroughly proficient in the 
details of the cotton business. Later he was 
employed as a bookkeeper in the great Al- 
bion Mills conducted by E. C. Foft and 
while there mastered the details of the pa- 
per business, and by the time he had at- 
tained his majority he was an expert in pa- 
per manufacturing. It had been his ambi- 
tion to engage in business on his own ac- 
count, and accordingly he severed his con- 
nection with the Albion Mills and entered 
the wholesale and retail paper business, 
opening his establishment at No. 149 Main 
street, Holyoke, Massachusetts. For twen- 
ty-eight years Mr. Judge remained at that 
location, his business increasing steadily in 
volume and importance and finally, in 1914, 
fairly outgrowing its original quarters. He 
then moved his establishment to No. 137 
and 139 Main street, where he is located at 



the present time (1918) his quarters being 
commodious enough for the great expan- 
sion of his business, which is continuing 
to grow at an even accelerated rate. Mr. 
Judge has become one of the influential 
figures in the paper trade in that city, and 
in addition to this interest is actively identi- 
fied with the Eureka Blank Book Company, 
which is a large consumer of paper sup- 
plied through Mr. Judge's original concern, 
he serving in the capacity of treasurer 
therein. He was one of the incorporators 
of the Hadley Falls Trust Company in 
1916. 

Mr. Judge has always made his home in 
his native town of South Hadley Falls and 
has taken an active part in the public af- 
fairs of that community. He is the treas- 
urer of the fire district; has served on the 
Board of Selectmen five years in all, two of 
which he held the office of chairman of the 
board ; and is a member of the Prudential 
Committee and of the Board of Water 
Commissioners. He is a Roman Catholic 
in his religious belief and attends St. Pat- 
rick's Church at South Hadley. He is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus, and 
takes a prominent part in the social and club 
life of the town. 

Mr. Judge married on Christmas Day, 
1895, Joanna B. Long, of Richmond, Vir- 
ginia, daughter of Thomas and Joanna 
(Kennedy) Long, old residents of that 
place. Mr. and Mrs. Judge are the parents 
of six children, all of whom are living, 
namely: Elizabeth Mary, Gerald Anthony, 
Martin Loftus, Lawrence Clement, Fred- 
erick Street, and Esther Louise. The home 
life of Mr. Judge is an extremely happy 
one. He finds his chief pleasure in the so- 
ciety of his family, by his own hearth, and 
his home is noted throughout the neighbor- 
hood for the gracious hospitality which it 
extends to all. 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SEARS, Lemuel, 

Business Man, Financier. 

The death of Lemuel Sears, which occur- 
red at his late home in Holyoke, March 17, 
191 2, removed from that city a man who 
from the time he began his business career 
until his decease constantly manifested abil- 
ity in one phase or another, displaying un- 
limited possibilities, his activities showing 
his belief that there was nothing too great 
to grasp and master, and the extensive bus- 
iness he built up and with which he was 
prominently connected owed not a little to 
his masterful power. He was a man who 
believed that faithfulness to duty and 
strict adherence to a fixed purpose in life 
would do more to advance a man's interests 
than wealth or advantageous circumstances. 
Lemuel Sears was a descendant in the 
eighth generation from Richard Sares, as 
the name was then spelled, the immigrant 
ancestor, who appeared in the records of 
the Plymouth colony tax list in 1633, and in 
the Salem tax lists of 1637-38. The line 
from the immigrant to Lemuel Sears was 
through Captain Paul Sears, whose birth 
occurred in Marblehead. Massachusetts, 
and his death at Yarmouth ; his son, Paul 
Sears, born and died in Yarmouth, Massa- 
chusetts ; his son, Daniel Sears, also born 
and died in Yarmouth ; his son, Enos Sears, 
a native of Yarmouth, later removed to 
Ashfield, Massachusetts; his son, William 
Sears, born and died in Ashfield, Massachu- 
setts ; and his son, Nathan Sears, father of 
Lemuel Sears, was born and died in Ash- 
field. He was a successful business man, an 
agriculturist and dealer in wool, a Con- 
gregationalist in religion, and an old line 
Whig in politics. His wife, Abigail (Bates) 
Sears, bore him two children: Lemuel, 
see next paragraph ; and Eliza. The latter 
was born March 2, 1839, died March 23, 
1901 ; she was the wife of Duane Lilly. 
Lemuel Sears was born in Ashfield, Mas- 



sachusetts, February 17, 1835, on his fath- 
er's farm, whereon he resided until he was 
about twenty years of age, the early years 
of his life being spent in attending the dis- 
trict school and in assisting with the varied 
labors which fall to the lot of a farmer's 
son. His tastes and inclinations did not lie 
in that direction, however, he possessing 
a natural genius for mechanics, inherited 
doubtless from his grandfather, and while 
he was still in his "teens" he rebuilt an old 
mill and built a new sugar house, laying out 
the frames and performing the work with 
his own hands, and when the new meeting 
house in Ashfield was completed and there 
yet remained the horse sheds to be erected, 
he laid out the frames for men far older in 
years and experience than himself, and 
greatly to the surprise of Captain Chapin, 
who, observing the young fellow's work, ex- 
claimed '"Lemuel can do it as well as I." 
Shortly before attaining his manhood, he 
became a dealer in wool, purchasing and 
selling quite extensively, traveling over the 
greater part of the surrounding country, 
and this proved a profitable means of live- 
lihood for a number of years. Subsequent- 
ly, about the year 1866, he changed his 
place of residence to Holyoke and there 
purchased a small grocery and provision 
store, which was an entirely diflferent line 
from those hitherto followed by him, and 
in which he had no previous experience, but 
it proved a successful undertaking, expand- 
ing to mammoth proportions under his ca- 
pable management, and in due course of 
time was conducted as a wholesale and re- 
tail establishment, being classed among the 
most extensive and highly prosperous places 
in Holyoke, furnishing employment to 
many hands and this he carried on up to 
the time of his death. 

Mr. Sears was a thoroughly progressive 
business man and deserved great credit for 
the success which he achieved in life. He 
was the architect of his own fortune and 

32 



r Tris «s^' York' ^ 
•PUBLIC LiBRi-RYj 






^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



builded wisely and well, gaining a comfort- 
able competence through diligence and en- 
terprise. He took an active interest in all 
projects that had for their object the wel- 
fare of the community, and his services 
were sought by other concerns who realized 
the rare judgment displayed in the manage- 
ment of his own business, namely, the City 
Bank of Holyoke, of which he was one of 
the incorporators, and which he served for 
two decades as a member of its board of di- 
rectors, and which he assisted in building 
up to a very prosperous condition, and at 
the time its present new building was erect- 
ed was on its building committee and took 
an active part in its construction. He was 
also actively interested in the Mechanics' 
Savings Bank, of which he was elected a 
member of the corporation in 1873, trustee 
in 1888, auditor in 1892 ; he was elected a 
member of its investment committee in 1885 
and served until 1893; in 1891 was elect- 
ed vice-president, and in 1894 was elected 
president, which position he held for 
eighteen years, up to the time of his death. 
During all his residence in Holyoke, nearly 
fifty years, he took a great interest in its 
affairs and did all in his power to advance 
those interests. For a quarter of a century 
he was a member of the city sinking fund 
commission, serving in this capacity longer 
than any of his predecessors. He was fre- 
quently called upon to fill public office in 
the city of Holyoke, but he declined the 
honor, preferring to devote his entire time 
and attention to his business pursuits. He 
was a member of the Bay State Club, in 
which he took considerable interest, and 
was for a number of years a member of the 
Mercantile Exchange of New York City. 

Mr. Sears married, November 27, i860, 
Martha M., daughter of Deacon Ephraim 
Ford, of Cummington, Massachusetts, and 
they were the parents of two children: i. 
Jennie E,, born August 31, 1871, now the 
wife of Franklin M. Street, of Holyoke, 
MASS.-7-3. 33 



and they are the parents of one daughter, 
Florence, born March 4, 1897. 2. Arthur 
L., died November 9, 1880. 

Mr. Sears was highly respected by his 
friends and business associates, and his 
death was very widely mourned. The fol- 
lowing was said of him in an editorial 
in the Holyoke "Transcript:" "It is 
with a keen sense of loss and regret 
that we add the name of Lemuel Sears, mer- 
chant, banker and a good Holyoke citizen, 
to those who have passed to the Great Be- 
yond. His career was one which should 
serve to inspire young men with a desire to 
make the most of their opportunities. Start- 
ing at the bottom of the ladder, his capital 
being mainly perseverance, frugality and a 
determination to succeed, he, by an appli- 
cation of these characteristics, reached a 
commanding place in the commercial and 
banking circles of Holyoke, and his exam- 
ple is one which young men desiring to suc- 
ceed can emulate with pleasure and profit ; 
the work which he performed has left its 
impress upon the community, and the name, 
Lemuel Sears, will be revered, respected 
and remembered for many generations. 



WHEELOCK, William Franklin, 

Merchant. 

When a young man of eighteen, William 
Franklin Wheelock located in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and until his death, forty- 
seven years later, was an honored resident 
and one of the substantial business men of 
the city. Perhaps the period of his great- 
est success and prominence in the business 
world was between the years 1873 and 1894 
as a member of Dean & Wheelock, paints, 
oils, wall paper, etc., although later he con- 
tinued his successes as head of the W. F. 
Wheelock Company in similar lines. He 
was a man sometimes very stern in manner, 
positive in his convictions, but possessed a 
kind and tender heart, was actuated by the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



purest of motives and in his home was the 
ideal husband and father. He was highly 
regarded by his associates for his upright, 
manly life, the close attention he paid to his 
business and for his force of character as 
manifested in his business and private life. 
He was very popular in Grand Army circles 
and all through life he retained the deepest 
interest in his comrades of army days. 

He came from an old New England fam- 
ily, his American ancestor. Rev. Ralph 
Wheelock, A. M., a graduate of Cambridge 
University, who came from England in 
1637. Of him it was written, "It is highly 
probable that he was a descendant of Hugh 
de Wheelock, who, in the reign of Henry 
II., received from Roger Maine Warring 
a title to all the latter's claim to the vil- 
lage of Wheelock, Cheshire, England, which 
he had previously held." His great-grand- 
son, Rev. Ebenezer Wheelock, was the 
founder of Dartmouth College, and through 
all the American generations there has run 
an element of stability and firmness of char- 
acter, a heritage from the Puritan ancestor. 
Rev. Ralph Wheelock, who sought Ameri- 
can shores as a refuge from religious per- 
secution. William Franklin Wheelock was 
of the seventh American generation, son of 
Moses Wheelock, born at Brimfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 20, 1803, married, July 3, 
1828, Mary Bliss, born July 29, 1802, 
daughter of Ithamar and Mary (Mack) 
BHss. 

William Franklin Wheelock was born in 
Florida, Massachusetts, May i, 1842, and 
died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, October 
27, 1907. His early life was passed in Flor- 
ida and South Hadley Falls, his residence in 
Holyoke beginning in i860. He was vari- 
ously employed in Holyoke until December 
7, 1863, when he enlisted in Company A, 
First Regiment, Massachusetts Cavalry. 
He served with credit throughout the re- 
maining year of the war, saw hard service 
and received an honorable discharge, June 



26, 1865. After the war he returned to 
Holyoke and was there employed until 1873, 
when he began his career as a merchant. In 
that year he formed a partnership with W. 
T. Dean and as Dean & Wheelock they 
opened a paint store. They dealt in all that 
pertained to such a business, operated very 
successfully for twenty-one years, both 
partners being men of ability, energy and 
force. In 1894 they dissolved, Mr. Whee- 
lock then becoming senior member of the 
W. F. Wheelock Company, the new firm 
continuing the same line of business at No. 
147 Main street, Mr. Wheelock remaining 
its active head until his death in 1907. 

Although essentially a business man, al- 
lowing nothing to detract from the main 
purpose of his life, he was not unmindful 
of his duties as a citizen, but ever mani- 
fested a deep interest in all that pertained 
to the welfare of his city. He affiliated with 
his old comrades in membership in Kilpat- 
rick Post, Grand Army of the Republic, 
also was a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and an active 
member of the First Congregational Church. 
In political faith he was a Republican. He 
met every responsibility of life squarely, 
evaded no issue and pursued a straightfor- 
ward, manly course through life, treating all 
men justly and when he passed from earthly 
scenes, one of the "Old Guard" among Hol- 
yoke's business men, he left to posterity an 
honored name and the record of an up- 
right life. 

Mr. Wheelock married, November 5, 
1883, Cornelia E. Dean, who survives him, 
daughter of George B. and Caroline 
(Clark) Dean, of Constableville, Lewis 
county. New York. Children: i. Bertha 
C, born February 16, 1885, at Holyoke, 
graduate of Holyoke High School ; married 
Lucius Bradford Cousins, and has a son, 
Bradford Wheelock Cousins, born April 22, 
191 5. 2. William Earle, whose sketch fol- 
lows 



34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



WHEELOCK, William Earle, 

Business Man. 

William Earle Wheelock, a representa- 
tive in the eighth American generation of 
the Wheelock family, which traces its origin 
to England, is one of the enterprising and 
successful business men of Holyoke, who 
has commanded the respect of all by his 
uniform courtesy, while his reputation for 
fair dealing and honorable transactions has 
gained him the confidence, good will and re- 
spect of business men throughout the sec- 
tion in which he conducts his business and 
wherever he is known. 

William Earle Wheelock was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, June 12, 1887, son 
of William Franklin and Cornelia E. 
(Dean) Wheelock. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Holyoke, including the High 
School, from which he graduated, class of 
1908. He began his business career im- 
mediately after his graduation, in the em- 
ploy of the W. F. Wheelock Company, of 
which his father was the senior member, 
the concern dealing in paints and everything 
pertaining to that line of business. Wil- 
liam E. Wheelock became thoroughly fa- 
miliar with every detail, and in due course 
of time was a valuable adjunct, relieving his 
father of many of the burdens and respon- 
sibilities, and upon the death of his father, 
in 1907, succeeded him as head of the busi- 
ness and has so continued to the present 
time (1917), continuing along the same hon- 
orable lines as laid down by his honored 
father. The business has increased with each 
succeeding year, and Mr. Wheelock, being 
one of the younger business men of the city, 
has a bright future in prospect. For three 
years, from 1908 to 191 o, he was a mem- 
ber of the State Militia, in which he took 
a keen interest. His religious affiliations are 
with the Congregational church, and in poli- 



tics he adheres to the principles of the Re- 
publican party. 

Mr. Wheelock married, June 8, 1913, 
Maud A. Porter, of Clapham, Province of 
Quebec, Canada, daughter of William and 
Charlotte (Moore) Porter. Children: Wil- 
liam Franklin, born March 21, 191 4, and 
Lila Jean, born July 13, 1916. 



BUCKLEY, George Chittington, Jr., 
Valued Citizen of Holyoke. 

The family of Buckley, other forms of the 
name being Bulkeley,Bulkley, Bulkly, repre- 
sented in the present generation, the twenty- 
first, by George C. Buckley, a well known 
resident of Holyoke, is of ancient English 
origin and traces back to the twelfth century 
to the time of King John, when lived Baron 
Robert de Bulkeley, whose son. Baron Wil- 
liam de Bulkeley, married a daughter of 
Thomas Butler. Their son. Baron Robert 
de Bulkeley, married Jane, daughter of Sir 
William Butler. Their son. Baron William 
de Bulkeley, married, 1302, Maud, daughter 
of Sir John Davenport. Their son. Baron 

Robert de Bulkeley, married Agnes . 

Their son, Baron Peter de Bulkeley, mar- 
ried Nicola, daughter of Thomas Bird. 
Their son. Baron John de Bulkeley, a resi- 
dent of Houghton, married Arderne Fitley. 
Their son, Baron Hugh de Bulkeley, mar- 
ried Helen, daughter of Thomas Wilbra- 
ham. Their son. Baron Humphrey de 
Bulkeley, married Grisel Moulton. Their 
son. Baron William de Bulkeley, a resident 
of Oakley, married Beatrice, daughter of 
William Hill. Their son, Baron Thomas de 
Bulkeley, married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Randelle Grosvener. Their son, the Rev. 
Edward de Bulkeley, was a native of Ware, 
Shropshire, England, and his death occur- 
red at Odell, Hundred of Willey, Bed- 
fordshire, England. He was a student at 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



St. John's College, Cambridge, admitted 
April 6, 1560, pursuing the course in divin- 
ity. He served as curate of St. Mary's 
Church, Shrewsbury, appointed in 1 565 ; 
prebend of Chester ; prebend of Litchfield, 
about 1580; and rector of All Saints 
Church, Odell. He married Almark Irlby, 
or Islby, of Lincolnshire, and among their 
children was Peter, of whom further. 

(XIII) Rev. Peter Bulkeley, son of the 
Rev. Edward de Bulkeley, was born at 
Odell, Bedfordshire, England, January 31, 
1582-83. He attended the same college as 
his father, St. John's, at Cambridge, matric- 
ulating at the age of sixteen, March 22, 
1604-05, became a fellow, 1608, with degree 
of Master of Arts, and "said to have pro- 
ceeded Bachelor of Divinity." He suc- 
ceeded his father as rector of All Saints 
Church, Odell. He was known to be a non- 
comformist, but "the Lord Keeper Wil- 
liams, formerly his diocesan, and his per- 
sonal friend, desired to deal gently with his 
non-conformity" and connived at it, as he 
had at his father's for twenty years, but 
when Loud became primate of England in 
1633, Mr. Bulkeley was silenced and with 
no hope of reinstatement. He therefore 
sold his estate and emigrated for the New 
World, leaving his native land in 1635, at 
the age of fifty-two years, accompanied by 
his wife and children, taking passage on the 
ship, "Susan and Ellen." There is a tradi- 
tion in the family that while on the voyage, 
his wife apparently died. Unwilling to have 
her body buried at sea, the husband pleaded 
with the captain to keep it until they reached 
port. As no signs of decay appeared, he 
consented, and on the third day symptoms 
of vitality appeared, and before land was 
reached animation was restored. Though 
carried from the ship an invalid, she re- 
covered and lived to a good old age. Rev. 
Peter Bulkeley chose Cambridge as his first 
place of residence, but the following year, 
with twelve others, began the settlement of 

36 



Concord, and he was always spoken of as 
the first minister of Concord. He was teach- 
er of the church of Concord, of which the 
Rev. John Jones was pastor, and was in- 
stalled pastor, April 6, 1637. He was among 
the first to instruct the Indians, and the 
supposition is that the Indians, being grate- 
ful to him for his efforts in their behalf, 
spared the town of Concord from Indian 
depredation. He contributed largely of his 
time and means toward the upbuilding of 
the colony, being an active factor in every 
movement toward that end. He was a well 
educated man, wrote several Latin poems, 
and in 1646 published a volume in London 
entitled "The Gospel Covenant," made up 
of sermons preached at Concord, and an 
elegy on his friend, the Rev. Mr. Hooker. 
Rev. Peter Bulkeley married (first) 
about 1 61 3, Jane, daughter of Thomas Al- 
len, of Goldington, and her death occurred 
at Odell, England, in 1626. He married 
(second) about 1634, Grace Chetwoode, 
born 1602, died at New London, Connec- 
ticut, at the home of her son, April 21, 
1669. She was the daughter of Sir Rich- 
ard and Dorothy (Needham) Chetwoode, 
of Odell. Children: i. Edward, born June 
17, 1 61 4, came to New England with his 
father, died January 2, 1696. 2. Mary, bap- 
tized August 24, 161 5, died young. 3. Thom- 
as, born April 11, 161 7, married Sarah 
Jones, settled in Fairfield, Connecticut. 4. 
Nathaniel, born November 29, 1618, died 
1627. 5. Rev. John, born February 11, 1620, 
graduated at Harvard with the first class. 6. 
Mary, born November i, 1621, died 1624. 
7. George, born May 17, 1623. 8. Daniel, 
born August 28, 1625. 9. Jabez, born De- 
cember 20, 1626, died young. 10. Joseph, 
born 16 — . I I.William, a resident of Ipswich 
in 1648. 12. Richard. 13. Gershom, of 
whom further. 14. Elizabeth, born prob- 
ably 1638, became the wife of the Rev. Jo- 
seph Emerson. 15. Dorothy, born August 
2, 1640. 16. Peter, born August 12, 1643. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Rev. Peter Bulkeley died at Concord, 
March 9, 1658-59, and a large tablet to his 
memory was erected near the^open square 
at Concord. His will, dated April 14, 1658, 
with codicils of January 13 and February 
26, 1659, was proved June 20, 1659. Prior 
to his death he gave many books to the 
library of Harvard College. 

(XIV) Rev. Dr. Gershom Bulkeley, son 
of the Rev. Peter and Grace (Chetwoode) 
Bulkeley, was born at Concord, Massachu- 
setts, December 6, 1636. He pursued a 
course of advanced studies at Harvard Col- 
lege, graduating from that institution in 
1655, as fellow. Six years later, in 1661, 
he was installed as minister of the Second 
Church at New London, Connecticut, and 
there remained until 1666-67, when he was 
appointed pastor of a church at Wethers- 
field, whither he removed, and served in 
that capacity until 1676, when failing 
health compelled him to abandon his pas- 
toral duties. The year prior to his resigna- 
tion, 1675, during King Philip's War, he 
was appointed surgeon to the Connecticut 
troops, and placed on the council of war. 
At one time the party to which he was at- 
tached was attacked by a number of Indians 
in the vicinity of Wachusett Hill, Massa- 
chusetts, and in the fight he received a 
wound in the thigh. He was an earnest stu- 
dent of medicine, surgery, chemistry and 
philosophy, actively practicing the first two 
branches for a number of years after re- 
tirement from the ministry, was also an ex- 
pert surveyor, and a linguist, proficient in 
several languages. Rev. Dr. Bulkeley mar- 
ried, October 26, 1659, Sarah Chauncey, 
born at Ware, England, June 13, 1631, 
daughter of the Rev. Charles Chauncey, 
president of Harvard College. Children : 
I. Catherine, born about 1660, became the 
wife of Richard Treat. 2. Dorothy, born 
about 1662, died 1757; she married, July 
5, 1693, Lieutenant Thomas Treat. 3. Dr. 
Charles, born about 1663. 4. Peter, mar- 



ried, March 21, 1700, Rachel Talcott; he 
was lost at sea. 5. Edward, born 1672. 6. 
John, of whom further. Rev. Dr. Gershom 
Bulkeley died at Wethersfield, Connecti- 
cut, December 2, 171 3. His will was dated 
May 28, 1 71 2, and proved December 7, 
1713. Inscribed on his monument in the 
WethersfieldCemetery is the following :"He 
was honorable in his descent, of rare abili- 
ties, excellent in learning, master of many 
languages, exquisite in his skill, in divinity, 
physic and law, and of a most exemplary 
and Christian life." He survived his wife 
many years, her death occurring June 3, 
1699. 

(XV) Rev. John Bulkeley, son of the 
Rev. Dr. Gershom and Sarah (Chauncey) 
Bulkeley, was born in Wethersfield, Connec- 
ticut, in 1679. He attended the same col- 
lege as his father. Harvard, and graduated 
from its School of Divinity in 1699, at the 
age of twenty. He was a classmate of Jere- 
miah Dummer, and later they were account- 
ed the greatest geniuses of their day, pref- 
erence being given to Dummer in regard to 
quickness, brilliancy and wit, to Bulkeley in 
regard to solidity of judgment and strength 
of argument. On December 20, 1703, he 
was ordained pastor of the church at Col- 
chester, Connecticut, served in that capacity 
for many years, and attained eminence 
among the brethren of his profession. Dr. 
Chauncey, in 1768, classing him among the 
three most eminent for strength of genius 
and powers of mind which New England 
had produced, the other two being Jeremiah 
Dummer, aforementioned, and Thomas 
Walter. Rev. John Bulkeley was one of 
the largest land owners in Colchester, 
among his possessions being a mill and the 
appurtenances, a large amount of real es- 
tate, a negro man, Caesar, and a library. As 
he died intestate, his estate was divided 
July 17, 1733. He was the author of sev- 
eral volumes. He wrote "A Preface to R. 
Wolcott's Meditations;" an election ser- 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tnon in 1713, entitled, "The Necessity of 
Religion in Societies;" in 1724 he pubUshed 
an "Inquiry into the Right of the Aborig- 
inal Natives to the Land in America;" in 
1729 he published "An Impartial Account 
of the Late Debate at Lyme, upon the fol- 
lowing points: Whether it be the Will of 
God that the Infants of Visible Believers 
should be baptized ; Whether Sprinkling be 
Lawful and Sufficient; and Whether the 
Present Way of Maintaining ]Ministers by 
a Public Rate or Tax, be Lawful." 

Rev. John Bulkeley married, in 1701, Pa- 
tience, daughter of John and Sarah Pren- 
tice. Children: i. Sarah, bom April 8, 
1702, married (first) Jonathan Trumbull, 
(second) John Wells. 2. Daughter, born 
and died May 6, 1704. 3. John, born April 
19, 1705, married (first) October 29, 1738, 
Mary Gardner, (second) April 16, 1751, 
Abigail Hastings. 4. Dorothy, born Feb- 
ruary 28, 1706. 5. Gershom, of whom 
further. 6. Charles, born December 26, 
1710. 7. Peter, born November 21, 1712. 
8. Patience, born May 21, 1715. 9. Oliver, 
born July 29, 171 7, died January i, 1779. 
10. Lucy, born June 29, 1720. 11. Irene, 
born February 10, 1722, died February 20, 
1722. 12. Joseph, twin of Irene, died Feb- 
ruary 25, 1722. 

(XVI) Gershom Bulkeley, son of the 
Rev. John and Patience (Prentice) Bulke- 
ley, was born in Colchester, Connecticut, 
February 4, 1709, and there spent his entire 
lifetime. He was educated in the schools 
of his native town, and upon arriving at 
manhood years was chosen by his fellow 
townsmen to fill a number of the public 
offices, the duties of which he performed to 
the satisfaction of all concerned. He mar- 
ried, November 28, 1733, Abigail Robbins. 
Children: i. Sarah, born January 10, 1735, 
married, January 17, 1765, Joseph Isham. 
2. John, of whom further. 3. Joshua, born 
February 24, 1741, married, November 9, 
1761, Lois Day. 4. Daniel, born May 13, 



1744, married, August 16, 1764, Dorothy 
Olmsted. 5. Eunice, bom May 14, 1747, 
married. May 25, 1767, Elisha Lord. 6. 
David, born July 18, 1749, married Hannah 
Beckwith. 7. Roger, born September 14, 
1 75 1, married Jerusha Root. 8. Ann, born 
May II, 1758. 

(XVII) John Bulkeley, son of Gershom 
and Abigail (Robbins) Bulkeley, was born 
in Colchester, Connecticut, August 23, 1738. 
He married, January 11, 1759, Judith 
Worthington. Children: i. John, born Oc- 
tober 7, 1759, married Theodore Foote. 2. 
William, born August 30, 1761, married 
Mary Champion. 3. Gershom, of whom 
further. 4. Elijah, born January- 29, 1766, 
married Pamelia Loomis. 5. Nabby, born 
December 30, 1769, became the wife of Rog- 
er Taintor. 6. Joshua Robbins, born No- 
vember 2, 1771, married Sally Taintor. 7. 
Mary, born February 2, 1774, became the 
wife of Aaron Buckland. 8. Judith, born 
January 30, 1775, married Solomon Taint- 
or. 9. Gurdon, born March 15, 1777, mar- 
ried (first) Fanny Wright, (second) Nan- 
cy Porter. 10. Gad, bom February 20, 
1779, married Orra Barstow. 11. Lydia, 
born April 25, 1781, married (first) John 
Worthington, (second) Dr. William Ma- 
son. 12. Dan, born March 20, 1784, mar- 
ried Phebe Burnet. 13. Harriet, born Jan- 
uary 22, 1787, became the wife of Samuel 
Moseley. 

(XVIII) Gershom Bulkeley, son of 
John and Judith (Worthington) Bulkeley, 
was bom in Colchester, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 3, 1763. He married a Mrs. Noble, a 
widow, and removed to Williamstown, 
Massachusetts. Children: i. James, of 
whom further. 2. George, lawyer, resided 
in Kinderhook. New York. 3. William, 
whose death occurred in New York. 4. 
Gershom. 5. Harriet, died unmarried. 6. 
Judith, became the wife of Piatt Talcott, of 
Lanesborough. 7. Mary, died unmarried. 

(XIX) James Bulkeley (or Buckley), son 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Gershom and 



(Noble) Bulkeley, 



was bom at Williamstown, Massachusetts, 
about 1785-87, and died at Lee, Massachu- 
setts. He was reared and educated in his 
native town, and during his young man- 
hood was a resident of Catskill, Troy and 
Kinderhook, New York, returning from 
that State to Massachusetts about 1821, lo- 
cating in Lee, where he spent the remainder 
of his days. He learned the trade of paper 
making and followed it in various mills 
of Western Massachusetts and New York. 
He adopted the spelling Buckley, though 
others of the family for a generation or 
two also used it. Probably through the 
town clerk's error, the name is spelled Buck- 
land in the birth records of Lee, but is 
Buckley in the marriage records. He 
had the births of all his children re- 
corded at Lee, with the places of birth in- 
dicated. He married Clarissa Bell. Chil- 
dren: I. Hiram, born November 27, 1807, 
at Catskill, New York. 2. Jane Anne, born 
September 27, 1809, at Troy, New York. 3. 
Lucius G., born June 28, 181 1, at Kinder- 
hook, New York. 4. William, born July 
2, 1813, at Kinderhook. 5. Abigail, born 
July 24, 181 5, at Kinderhook. 6. John, born 
November 20, 181 7, at Kinderhook. 7. 
George Chittington, of whom further. 8. 
Martha, born April 9, 1822, married, at 
Lee, December 11, 1845, Reuben O. Brown. 
9. Ann, born about 1824, married, at Lee, 
June 24, 1846, Nathan Allen. 

(XX) George Chittington Buckley, son 
of James and Clarissa (Bell) Buckley, was 
born in Kinderhook, New York, April 27, 
1821, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
October 31, 1888, at the age of sixty-seven. 
He was reared in the town of Lee, where 
his parents removed during his infancy, at- 
tended the public schools thereof and upon 
arriving at a suitable age served an appren- 
ticeship at the trade of hatter, but later 
served an apprenticeship at the same 
trade as his father, paper making, be- 



coming a skillful workman in both. 
During his early manhood years, he re- 
turned to his native State, New York, 
locating in Kingston, where for a num- 
ber of years he followed the trade of a 
hatter, at which he achieved a well merited 
success. In 1849 he returned to Lee, taking 
up his permanent residence there, and once 
more turned his attention to the business 
of making paper, continuing along that line 
until coming to Holyoke in 1859, where he 
also followed his trade, continuing until his 
death which occurred while in active service 
in a most tragic manner. It was his custom 
at noon to smoke and he was found by his 
fellow workmen, shortly after one o'clock, 
sitting upon the steps of this building dead, 
death being due to heart disease, a most 
terrible shock to his family and friends. He 
was a Whig in politics, and a Liberal in 
religion, and ranked among the represen- 
tative citizens of the various communities in 
which he resided. Mr. Buckley married 
Julia, daughter of Lawrence Keefer and 
Hannah (Von Steinberg) Felter, of Kings- 
ton, New York, the former named an iron 
worker by trade. Children, born at Kings- 
ton, New York: i. Icedor, born September 
I, 1846. 2. James Collier, born July 4, 1848, 
married, July 4, 1870, Roxana M. Dorman. 
3. George Chittington, of whom further. 4. . 
Clara H., born February 2, 1856. 5. Frank 
E., born December 5, 1861. 6. Fred E., 
born May 24, 1863. 

(XXI) George Chittington Buckley, Jr., 
son of George Chittington and Julia (Fel- 
ter) Buckley, was born in Lee, Massachu- 
setts, May 20, 1852. He received his edu- 
cation in the schools of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and having decided to follow the 
same line of work as his father, he secured 
employment in the Whiting Paper Mill, in 
whose employ he remained fifteen years, 
after which he became an employee of the 
Union Paper Company's Mill, now the Riv- 
erside Mill, No. 3, his term of service ex- 



39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tending over a period of six and a half 
years. He then entered the employ of the 
Paper Mill in Mittineague, and after a ser- 
vice of twenty years' duration, he changed 
his line of work, becoming connected with 
the Holyoke Water Power Company, hav- 
ing charge of the No. 4 Overflow, in which 
capacity he is serving at the present time 
(1917). He has given conscientious and 
faithful service in all these various places, 
gaining and retaining the good will of those 
higher in authority. He is an attendant of 
the Baptist church, and a member of the 
Pequot Fishing Club. He takes an active 
interest in all projects that have for their 
object the improvement and welfare of his 
adopted city, and displays the characteris- 
tics so well defined in the lives of his an- 
cestors. 

Mr. Buckley married, October 4, 1874, 
Emma Gaylord, born in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Edwin and Prusba 
(Farr) Gaylord. Children: i. Frank Eu- 
gene, born March 11, 1876, married Matil- 
da Hayes, and they have one daughter, 
Frances Gaylord, born November 10, 1899. 
2. William, born December 31, 1878, mar- 
ried Anna Hartling, and they have one son, 
George. 



HITCHCOCK, Dexter B., 

State Senator. 

The changes time has made in Holyoke 
localities has perhaps driven from the mem- 
ory of many, even elderly persons, what 
was known as "Ireland Parish," now that 
fine residence thoroughfare, Northampton 
street. In that section the father of Dex- 
ter B. Hitchcock owned considerable prop- 
erty, which in course of time passed to his 
son, Dexter B. Hitchcock, who here spent 
most of his life, which ended in 1885. The 
older men and women of Holyoke recall with 
pleasure the quiet, openhearted, hospitable 
farmer, whose sterling worth so impressed 



his contemporaries that he was sent to legis- 
lative halls as State Senator. As such Mr. 
Hitchcock served his term with honor. He 
possessed that rare power of inspiring con- 
fidence and men implicitly trusted him. 
That trust was never misplaced and he well 
merited the title bestowed upon him of "an 
honest man." That did not mean honest in 
money affairs alone, but honest in thought, 
deed, action and speech. He was true to 
every obligation of friendship or citizen- 
ship, and held his personal honor inviolate. 

Dexter B. Hitchcock, son of Warren and 
Fidelia M. (Elder) Hitchcock, was born 
on the home farm in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, September, 1837, and died there, 
June II, 1885. He was educated in the 
public schools and at the Sufifield Institute, 
Suffield, Connecticut. His father died when 
he was about fifteen, and his mother mar- 
ried Alexander Day, and the boy spent his 
life on this farm until about nineteen years 
of age when he returned to the homestead 
where he was born, which had been be- 
queathed to him by his father, and he con- 
tinued in the successful conduct of this 
farm up to the time of his death. He took 
a deep interest in political affairs and was 
ardent in his support of Democratic princi- 
ples. In 1883 he was the choice of his 
party for State Senator, and one year of his 
life was spent in that responsible ofiice. His 
death in the very prime of life was not only 
a deep sorrow to his legion of friends, but 
a distinct loss to the State, as he possessed 
those sterling qualities of character so 
needed in public life and he would without 
doubt have been long retained in the pub- 
lic service. 

Senator Hitchcock married, in 1858, 
Frances Ashley, daughter of Daniel and 
Diadene (Day) Ashley, of West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. Daniel Ashley was a 
farmer and also operated a ferry between 
Chicopee and West Springfield. Diadene 



40 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Day was a daughter of Edmund Day, of 
West Springfield. 

There was a peculiar frankness and a ge- 
nial spirit possessed by Senator Hitchcock, 
which is found only in the man who lives 
close to Nature's heart and is intimate with 
the soil, the woods and the birds, and sees 
the great Creator in all out-of-doors life. 
This spirit rendered him beloved of all who 
knew him and inspired that confidence 
which all gave him. 



IVERS, Rev. John C, 

Priest. 

Of the third American generation, but he 
the first American-born son of the family. 
Rev. John C. Ivers, pastor of Holy Cross 
Church of Holyoke, is held by association 
close to the traditions of the family whose 
home for several generations was in Coun- 
ty Carlow, an agricultural and dairy coun- 
ty in Leinster, Ireland. Although his own 
life has been spent in preparation for and 
in service as a priest of the church, he is 
one of those broad-minded public-spirited 
men who look on life from a practical stand- 
point, and labors for the temporal as well 
as the spiritual good of his people. He is 
also interested in all that pertains to the 
welfare of his city as a whole. His great- 
grandfather, Joseph Ivers, never left the 
"Old Sod," but his son John did and spent 
the last twenty-seven years of his life in 
Springfield, Massachusetts. 

John Ivers, born in Tinreyland, County 
Carlow, Ireland, came to the United States 
in 1870, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, in 1897. He married, in Ireland, 
Bridget Murphy, also born in Tinreyland, 
daughter of Richard Murphy. They were 
the parents of Richard, of further mention ; 
John, James, Charles, Mary, Kate, married 
(first) a Mr. Foley, (second) George Gil- 
more ; Bridget, married Francis Foley ; 
the foregoing all deceased. The first of the 



family to come to the United States was 
Mary, Richard came next, then Kate, who 
was followed by her sister Bridget, after 
the children came John Ivers, their father. 

Richard Ivers, the eldest son of John 
and Bridget (Murphy) Ivers, was born at 
Tinreyland, County Carlow, Ireland, in 
1 83 1, and died in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 14, 1896. He was twenty 
years of age when he came to the United 
States, and until his death he was connect- 
ed with the livery business in Springfield, 
first as an employee, then a partner with 
James O'Keefe, then, after the destruction 
of their place by fire, as sole proprietor of 
a new establishment on Stockbridge street. 
His forty-seven years' residence in Spring- 
field brought him a wide acquaintance and 
in the entire city there were few men bet- 
ter known or more highly esteemed. His 
friends were legion and he never forfeited 
the esteem of the public he served for so 
many years. He married Mary Houlihan, 
born in Kilkenny, Ireland, who died in 
Springfield, 1898. They were the parents 
of Rev. John C. Ivers, of further mention; 
James, deceased, married Josephine Bas- 
sett, and was the father of four children, 
Annie, Francis, Mary and Dorothy; Rich- 
ard, deceased ; Maria ; Catherine. 

Rev. John C. Ivers was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, September 22, 1863. 
After his graduation from Springfield 
High School in 1881, he entered the Intern- 
al Revenue Office at Springfield, where he 
remained two years. He entered, in 1883, 
Ottawa University, Canada, whence he was 
graduated class of 1886. After this he spent 
three years at St. Mary's Theological Sem- 
inary in Baltimore, Maryland, and on Oc- 
tober 15, 1889, he was ordained a priest of 
the Roman Catholic church. He attended 
the Catholic University as one of the mem- 
bers of the pioneer class to receive the de- 
gree S. F. B. He served as assistant at St. 
Stephen's Church, Worcester; St. Francis' 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Church, North Adams ; and St. Jeromes' 
Church, Holyoke. He was appointed pas- 
tor of St. Patrick's Church, Williamstown, 
where he remained one year. From thence 
he returned to Holyoke and was appointed 
pastor of Holy Cross Church, 1896, where 
he has since been continuously located. Here 
he has built a new church, and added large- 
ly to the realty of the parish by purchases 
from the Water Power Company, from Mr. 
Lynch and from the Casper Ranger Estate, 
the present parsonage which Father Ivers 
occupies being the old Casper Ranger resi- 
dence. The spiritual growth of the parish 
has been quickened under his ministration 
and he possesses not only the love of his 
own people but the respect and confidence 
of all who know him for the work he has 
performed. 



MAXFIELD, George Arthur, D. D. S., 
Prominent Dental Practitioner. 

Since his graduation from the dental de- 
partment of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1881, Dr. Maxfield has practiced 
his profession in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
with the exception of two years spent in 
Chester, Pennsylvania. He is one of the 
eminent men of his profession, having writ- 
ten many papers on dental subjects which 
were duly published in the dental journals, 
and he has received the highest honors in 
the gift of his profession. He was elected 
as the thirty-first president of the Massa- 
chusetts Dental Society in 1895, and as 
first vice-president he was one of three 
members who planned the reorganization of 
that society into seven districts and the 
drafting of the then new Constitution and 
By-Laws. For eleven years he was secre- 
tary of the Connecticut Valley Dental So- 
ciety until it was merged with the New Eng- 
land Dental Society (of which he was also 
a member) into the present Northeastern 
Dental Association in 1895. He served as 



first vice-president of this Association for 
1913 and 1914, and as president in 1915. 

His practice in Holyoke is large, and as 
a citizen he is held in high esteem. He is 
a son of Arthur Livermore Maxfield, of 
New Hampshire, who was a son of Sam- 
uel and Betsy (Huntoon) Maxfield. On his 
mother's side he was a direct descendant of 
Samuel Winsley, who was one of the 
twelve who obtained the grant to begin a 
plantation at Merrimack, Massachusetts, in 
1638. 

Arthur Livermore Maxfield was born in 
Gilmanton, New Hampshire, August 31, 
1818, died in Ashuelot, New Hampshire, 
August 24, 1890. He was educated in Gil- 
manton, and resided there until he was sev- 
enteen years of age when he left the farm 
and began working in the cotton mills of 
Lowell, Massachusetts. His first employ- 
ment was in the weaving room of the Boot 
Corporation. By his ability he was ad- 
vanced in less than ten years to the post of 
overseer. While he was in this position he 
taught the first Irish girls in this country 
the art of weaving. About 1845 ^^ became 
overseer in a cotton mill in Hallowell, 
Maine, but after a few months he returned 
to Massachusetts to accept a similar po- 
sition in the mills of the Chicopee Manu- 
facturing Company at Chicopee Falls. Here 
he remained about ten years, and in 1854 
went to Holyoke as paymaster at the Hamp- 
den Mills, remaining ten years, when he or- 
ganized the Holyoke Warp Mill, of which 
he was agent for several years. Then he 
became superintendent of the Stratton Mills 
at West Swanzey, New Hampshire, and 
while there introduced the manufacture of 
cotton warps. His last business connec- 
tion was with the Ashuelot Warp Com- 
pany, w-hich he organized and of which he 
was sole proprietor at the time of his death. 
He was a thorough, able and efficient cotton 
manufacturer, and was held in high esteem 
among the manufacturers of New England. 



42 




-^, d, yhag^J.^^AS. 



TH£ WSW YORK ; 




t » 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married Orissa Anderson, who was 
born April 8, 1821, and died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, February 21, 1910. Nine 
children were born to them, two of whom 
died young. Two of their sons, Samuel W. 
Maxfield and Fred G. Maxfield, succeeded 
their father in the management of the Ash- 
uelot Warp Mills. 

Their oldest son, George Arthur Max- 
field, was born at Chicopee Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, October 29, 1848. His early edu- 
cation was obtained in the public schools of 
Holyoke, and on leaving school he went into 
the office of his father as bookkeeper and 
paymaster at the Holyoke Warp Mill. In 
1869 he left the office and learned the ma- 
chinist's trade, which he followed for sev- 
eral years before deciding to prepare for 
the practice of dentistry. In 1878 he en- 
tered the dental department of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, there 
continuing until he was graduated with the 
degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery in 
1881. 

He spent the first two years after gradua- 
tion at Chester, Pennsylvania, then located 
in Holyoke, where he has since been in suc- 
cessful practice. The years he spent in the 
machine shop gave him a decided advantage 
in the mechanical side of his profession, 
and he soon gained an enviable reputation 
for excellence of work. He has invented 
many dental appliances and was joint in- 
ventor with Dr. Morgan, of Springfield, of 
the Morgan-Maxfield Disk Mandrel, which 
for its simplicity and utility has become one 
of the standard dental appliances. 

He is an honorary member of the New 
Hampshire Dental Society, Vermont Dental 
Society and Connecticut State Dental As- 
sociation, also of several dental societies 
outside of New England. He is also a 
member of the National Dental Association, 
a corresponding member of the American 
Medical Association, and for many years 
was an associate member of the New York 



Institute of Stomatology. He was appoint- 
ed a member of the Massachusetts Board of 
Registration in Dentistry by the late Gov- 
ernor Roger Wolcott in 1897, and had 
served over sixteen years on said board 
when he retired in June, 191 3. Dr. Max- 
field has worked industriously and intelli- 
gently to elevate the standard of profes- 
sional life by hard work in the various 
dental societies of which he is a member. 
He is a member of the Second Baptist 
Church for which he served as clerk for 
several years, and in political faith is a Re- 
publican. 

Dr. Maxfield married (first) Elizabeth 
R. Bennett, of Holyoke, in 1871, who died 
in 1882. He married (second) in 1885, 
Martha H. Currier, a daughter of the late 
Andrew J. Currier, of Norwich, Connecti- 
cut, who was a prominent woolen manufac- 
turer. Their only child, Arthur Currier, 
was born December 10, 1890, and died 
March 30, 1900. 



DILLON, John Aloysius, M. D., 

Physician. 

A member of the Hampden county bar 
since 191 5, Mr. Dillon came upon the scene 
of action nearly half a century after his 
honored father, Thomas Dillon, located in 
Holyoke, one of the men who made the 
early industrial and commercial history of 
Holyoke a record of courageous, brainy ef- 
fort reinforced by right living. Many of 
the young men of half a century ago came 
from Ireland and among them was Thomas 
Dillon, one of a trio with Daniel and John 
O'Connell, who survived all others, all now 
passed away. Thomas Dillon was a man 
of rigid habits and tireless energy, possess- 
ing a keen business mind and a genius for 
finance, which placed him at the head of the 
group. In his passing, Holyoke lost a man 
who for half a century had been a leader 
in its civic and business expansion. A man 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of vision, he had the courage to undertake 
a hard task and men willingly followed his 
leadership. 

Thomas Dillon was born in Ballyduff, 
County Kerry, Ireland, in 1835, and died 
at his home, corner of Chestnut and Ap- 
pleton streets, in Holyoke, June 3, 1916. 
He was the son of Thomas and Ellen (Car- 
roll) Dillon. He spent the first seventeen 
years of his life in his native land, com- 
ing to the United States in 1852. His first 
employment was in the United States Ar- 
mory at Springfield, Massachusetts. At 
this time his home was in Chicopee, and in 
later years he used to recall with pride and 
pleasure that he walked daily to and fro 
between his home and the armory, a dis- 
tance of over five miles. He was variously 
employed until 1868, locating in Holyoke, in 
that year, and was quickly admitted to the 
group of leading citizens who constituted 
the commercial backbone of the town. He 
entered the grocery business in a store in 
the Doody block at Maple and Lyman 
streets, and here he quickly evidenced his 
marvelous grasp of business details, a fac- 
ulty which was soon to win success for him. 
In course of time he admitted his brother 
John, and as Dillon Brothers they long op- 
erated. They purchased the undertaking 
business of John Dower, and also operated 
the grocery, and when an opportunity of- 
fered to become manager of the Hampden 
Brewery, Thomas Dillon added that re- 
sponsibility to his other interests. In 1875, 
only eleven years after coming to Holyoke, 
he built the Dillon block at the corner of 
Maple and Lyman streets, Holyoke, a mam- 
moth structure for that period, and even to- 
day one of the largest resident blocks in 
Holyoke. Later he took advantage of 
another opportunity when he founded the 
Union Coal & Wood Company, which later 
he sold to William A. Chase. He also be- 
came a director of the Holyoke Savings 
Bank, and continued a valued member of 



the board until his death. He became one 
of the most prominent of the group of men 
then known as leaders in the city, and, be- 
cause of his wonderful grasp of finances, 
became head of the group. A Democrat in 
politics, Mr. Dillon served in the Common 
Council, and was later alderman from ward 
4 in 1 88 1, 1882 and 1883. He was an inti- 
mate friend of Governor "Billy" Russell, 
both men deriving mutual pleasure from the 
close acquaintance. Mr. Dillon was emi- 
nently a home man, a devout Catholic, and 
a regular attendant at the services of the 
church, and a generous supporter of all its 
institutions. He was also generous in his 
donations to new parishes, and St. Jerome, 
Holy Rosary, Blessed Sacrament and Mater 
Dolorosa parishes all were aided in their 
church building by his donation. In the 
Polish church he placed four beautiful win- 
dows as well as giving sums of money, and 
in referring to his death, Father Civiklinski, 
pastor of Mater Dolorosa Church, at all of 
the three Sunday masses spoke of Mr. Dil- 
lon's death as a "grievous and personal 
loss." 

Thomas Dillon married (first) a Miss 
Dougherty, of Holyoke. He married (sec- 
ond) Ann Kennedy, who survives him with 
three sons and two daughters, namely : John 
A., of further mention; Mary M., married 
James J. O'Donnell, of Holyoke ; Thomas 
A. Dillon, D.D.S., of Holyoke; Alice A., 
married Daniel F. Doherty, of Springfield; 
William T., of further mention. 

Dr. John Aloysius Dillon, eldest son of 
Thomas and Ann (Kennedy) Dillon, was 
born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 30, 1878. After preparation in public 
school and Holy Cross parochial school, he 
entered Fordham University, New York, 
whence he was graduated A. B. Deciding 
upon the profession of medicine, he entered 
the medical department of the University 
of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, there re- 
ceiving his M. D. with the class of 1906. He 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



then spent eighteen months abroad studying 
in the hospitals of London, BerHn and Vi- 
enna, returning to the United States in 
1908. The same year he located in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, in ear, nose and throat 
practice, and there continues one of the 
honored and successful physicians of the 
city. Dr. Dillon is a member of many pro- 
fessional and social organizations, and is 
highly regarded in all. 



DILLON, William Thomas, 

Laxp^yer. 

William Thomas Dillon, youngest son of 
Thomas and Ann (Kennedy) Dillon (q. v.), 
was born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 17, 1891. He was educated in the public 
schools, Worcester Academy, Cornell Uni- 
versity, (three years) and Boston University 
Law School, receiving his degree LL.B., 
class of 191 5. He at once began practice in 
Holyoke as junior member of the law firm, 
O'Neil & Dillon, and the same year he was 
appointed assistant district attorney of 
Hampden county, an office he yet most sat- 
isfactorily fills. He is a member of the 
bar associations of the district, the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Knights 
of Columbus, the Holyoke Club, County 
Club, and Ancient Order of Hibernians. In 
politics he is a Democrat. 



RIDER, Claudius W., 

Active Factor in Community Affairs. 

Beginning business life in a modest posi- 
tion with the Merrick Thread Company, 
and coming to Holyoke in 1867, in responsi- 
ble position with the company at the time a 
change of location was made, Mr. Rider 
with that and its successor, the American 
Thread Company, spent his entire busi- 
ness life, forty-four years. Joseph Rider, 
his ancestor, married and was the father of 
Talmund Rider, who, according to tradi- 



tion, was a resident of Mansfield, Connecti- 
cut, where he followed the occupation of 
farming. He married Marcia Dexter, and 
they were the parents of six children : Jo- 
seph G., of further mention ; Wallace, re- 
sident of Albany, New York; Warham; 
Jane, wife of R. O. Fenton ; Eunice, wife 
of Alfred Curtis; Mariette, wife of Soly- 
man Taylor. 

Joseph G. Rider, father of Claudius W. 
Rider, was born about the year 181 5, in 
Connecticut, and died in the year 1902 in 
Sandy Creek, New York. He followed the 
same occupation as his father, farming, con- 
ducting his operations both in Connecticut 
and New York, and in addition learned the 
trade of shoemaker, which he followed dur- 
ing the earlier years of his life, the latter 
years of his life being confined exclusively 
to agricultural pursuits. He held member- 
ship in the Baptist church, and was a Whig 
and Republican in politics, at one time be- 
ing the candidate of his party for the Leg- 
islature. * He married, about 1837, Lovina 
M. Merrick, and they were the parents of 
two children : Claudius W., of further 
mention; Jane E., born March 10, 1852, in 
Orwell, New York, married J. R. Potter, 
of Orwell, they the parents of Claudius, 
Paul M. and Madeline Potter. Lovina M. 
(Merrick) Rider was a daughter of Colonel 
Joseph Merrick, and a sister of Rev. Sam- 
uel Merrick and of Timothy Merrick, the 
last named the founder of the Merrick 
Thread Company, an eminent man of af- 
fairs. She was a descendant of Thomas 
Merrick, born in 1620, (see Merrick sketch). 

Claudius W. Rider was born in Willing- 
ton, Connecticut, August 14, 1843. He ob- 
tained a practical education in the public 
schools. In 1862 he enlisted in his coun- 
try's defense, answering President Lincoln's 
call for volunteers for three years' service 
and became a private in Company C, One 
Hundred and Tenth Regiment, New York 
Volunteer Infantry, and served in the De- 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



partment of the Gulf. Upon his return from 
war, he resumed his studies. In 1866 he 
became an employee of the Merrick Thread 
Company, their plant then in Mansfield, 
Connecticut, being moved the following 
year, 1867, to Holyoke, Massachusetts. At 
the time of the removal of the business he 
was serving as bookkeeper and paymaster, 
later as secretary, until the death of Mr. 
Merrick, when Mr. Rider was appointed 
treasurer and general manager of the com- 
pany, positions from which he retired in 
1910. In 1899 the Merrick Thread Com- 
pany was absorbed by the American Thread 
Company, one of the largest companies of 
its kind in that section of the country. 

Mr. Rider has been affiliated with the 
Republican party casting his first presi- 
dential vote for Abraham Lincoln in 1864. 
He was chosen clerk of the Common Coun- 
cil of Holyoke and served four years. He 
is a member of the Baptist church of Hol- 
yoke, was treasurer of the church twelve 
years and chairman of the Society. For ten 
years he has been treasurer of the City 
Library and member of the library commit- 
tee. He has long been affiliated with Kil- 
patrick Post, Grand Army of the Republic. 

Mr. Rider married, June 12, 1872, Jose- 
phine A. Lee, daughter of Roswell T. Lee, 
of Cape Vincent, Jefferson county, New 
York, and his wife, Delia (Esselotyn) Lee. 
Mrs. Rider died in Holyoke, March 28, 
1914. 



MADDEN, Rt. Rev. John Thomas, 
Monsignor and Vicar General. 

In his history of the Springfield diocese, 
Rev. J. H. McCoy said of Rev. John T. 
Madden, then and for seven years pastor of 
the Cathedral congregation: "Father Mad- 
den is one of the best known and most re- 
spected priests of our diocese. He is ac- 
knowledged as being a very scholarly man 
even among the most learned of our priests. 



He has excellent judgment, is gentle and 
sympathetic." The years that have since 
intervened have but added to the wisdom, 
piety and gentle graces of Father Madden 
and the honors of the church which have 
been bestowed upon him find an answering 
echo in the hearts of the more than five 
thousand members of St. Jerome's Par- 
ish, Holyoke, of which he is pastor. His 
churchly titles, Monsignor and Vicar Gen- 
eral, give him authority over the priests of 
the diocese in the absence of the bishop, but 
it is his gifts of mind and soul which en- 
dear him to both clergy and laity. The his- 
tory of St. Jerome's began with the devoted 
labor of Rev. Jeremiah O'Callahan, found- 
er, builder and pastor of the church he built 
in 1856. The parish then numbered less 
than one thousand members and included 
all of Holyoke, South Hadley, Granby, and 
the outlying districts. Today Holyoke alone 
has six English speaking congregations of 
the Roman Catholic faith, three French 
speaking congregations and one Polish. St. 
Jerome's Parish has a membership of 5491. 
The history of St. Jerome's from 1866 until 
1908 is the history of the devoted and em- 
inent priest, Rt. Rev. Monsignor P. J. Har- 
kins, who gave his life to the service of the 
church in Holyoke, his record of forty- 
four years' rectorship not being surpassed 
in the history of the Springfield diocese. 
Father Harkins died December 4, 1910, 
revered and respected by all classes, and it 
was as his successor as rector of St. Je- 
rome's Parish that Father Madden came to 
Holyoke. 

Father Madden is a son of Thomas and 
Julia (McCormick) Madden, his father 
born in Kildare, Ireland, in 1822. About 
1843 Thomas Madden came to Canada, 
thence to the United States, living for a 
time in Hinsdale and Leicester, finally 
about 1858 locating in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, his home until his death in 1905. 
In 1845 Thomas Madden married Julia 



46 




^ 



"H^"-^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



McCormick, they the parents of two sons, 
Michael J. and John Thomas, the latter of 
further mention, and daughters, Mary Eliz- 
abeth and Catherine, both deceased. 

Rt. Rev. John Thomas Madden was born 
in Leicester, Massachusetts, March 9, 1851, 
his parents moving to Worcester about 
1859. There he attended the graded and 
high schools, completing his preparatory 
studies with graduation from high school in 
1869. He successfully passed the entrance 
examinations to Harvard University, but 
remained at this University only three 
months, having decided to prepare for the 
priesthood of the Roman Catholic church. 
He then entered Holy Cross College, Wor- 
cester, and there completed the academic 
course in 1872. He began his studies in 
theology at Grand Seminary, Montreal, 
Canada, in the fall of 1872, a classmate be- 
ing the present bishop of the Springfield 
diocese, Rt. Rev. Thomas D. Beaven. In 
1873 his seminal^ course was interrupted 
by his appointment to the professorship of 
French and mathematics at Holy Cross Col- 
lege, but in 1874 he went abroad and re- 
sumed his studies in theology at Aix, a city 
of France, and there at the University of 
that interesting city of handsome public 
buildings, monuments, Cathedral of St. 
Sauver, and the old church of St. Jean, with 
the tombs of the counts of Provence, he 
spent four years. He was ordained to the 
priesthood in 1878 and returned to the 
United States. 

For three years, 1878-1881, he was cu- 
rate at Uxbridge, Massachusetts, then was 
transferred to Turner's Falls, remaining 
there three years. He was then located at 
Northampton for a time prior to his ap- 
pointment to the parishes of Stockbridge 
and West Stockbridge as pastor. He re- 
mained in Northampton until 1892, leaving 
the parishes which he found heavily encum- 
bered with debt in a most prosperous, finan- 
cial and spiritual condition. In 1892 he 



was appointed pastor at Warren and West 
Warren, going thence in 1893 to Webster, 
Massachusetts, as rector of St. Louis Par- 
ish succeeding Father Quan. In 1903 Fath- 
er Madden was appointed rector in charge 
of the Cathedral Parish, Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, there remaining until appointed 
pastor of St. Jerome Parish, Holyoke, to 
succeed the Rt. Rev. P. J. Harkins, deceas- 
ed, where, as noted above, he has one of the 
largest parishes in Holyoke of over five 
thousand members, in addition to which he 
has a large school for girls, presided over 
by the Sisters of St. Joseph, and also St. 
Jerome's Institute for boys, superintended 
by priests, assisted by the Sisters of St. Jo- 
seph ; also a large convent at the corner 
of Hampden and Elm streets, the church 
buildings covering almost an entire square. 
While in charge of St. Louis parish at 
Webster, Father Madden was appointed in 
March, 1903, Vicar General, and in 1906 
was raised to the dignity of Monsignor, 
both of which positions he still re- 
tains. His record as a priest is one of ef- 
ficiency as a business manager, every par- 
ish he has ever served having been left in 
a much better material condition than he 
found it. As a minister of the gospel and 
as a pastor he is devoted, zealous and earn- 
est, a quickened, religious life following his 
ministration of his holy office in every par- 
ish. He is beloved by his people, ranks 
high in the councils of the church in his dio- 
cese, and holds the esteem of men of all 
classes and creeds. 



DESMARAIS, Joseph Albert, 

Druggist. 

Among the well known druggists of Hol- 
yoke should be mentioned the gentleman 
whose name heads this article, the treas- 
urer and manager of the Desmarais Drug 
Company, which is the oldest in the city, 
now in operation under one name. His an- 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cestry is traced back to Charles Desmarais, 
his great-great-grandfather, who came from 
France to Canada prior to 1769. 

(II) Charles (2) Desmarais, son of 
Charles (i) Desmarais, was born in 1769, 
in Canada, and all his life followed his trade 

of wood-carver. He married Vad- 

nais, and their children were : Eupheme ; 
Agate ; Henry, mentioned in next para- 
graph ; Edward ; Joseph ; Essac, killed in 
the Civil War; and Peter, died young. 
Charles Desmarais, the father, died in 1866, 
at the great age of ninety-seven years. 

(III) Henry Desmarais, son of Charles 

(2) and (Vadnais) Desmarais, was 

born in 181 7, at St. Jean Baptiste, and as 
a millwright, lived in Chambley, Province 
of Quebec. In politics he was a Conserva- 
tive. He married Essail, daughter of 
Charles and Judie (Lavoise) Masse, and 
the following children were born to them: 
Philomina, married Louis Madelin, of 
Montreal ; Pierre, mentioned in next para- 
graph ; Joseph, a physician in Bristol, Con- 
necticut ; Henry, died at the age of ten 
years; and one who died in infancy. Mr. 
Desmarais died in 1895, and his widow, 
who was born in 1822, died in 1901. 

(IV) Pierre Desmarais, son of Henry 
and Essail (Masse) Desmarais, was born 
May 18, 1847, at St. Matthias, Rouville, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, and received 
his education in various schools and at the 
College of Chambley, Canada. He learned 
the millwright's trade and followed it for 
two years and a half. In 1870 Mr. Desma- 
rais came to the United States, settling in 
Burlington, Vermont, where he was em- 
ployed in the house furnishing shop of Kil- 
burn & Gates. In 1878 he came to Hol- 
yoke, where, after being employed for a 
time at his trade, he conducted a grocery 
business. Eventually he learned the drug 
business and went into it on his own ac- 
count under the firm name of Desmarais & 
Company. In 1909 the business was incor- 



porated under the name of the Desmarais 
Drug Company and for a time Mr. Desma- 
rais served as president and treasurer of 
the organization. In 1914 he withdrew 
from the corporation to devote himself to 
his real estate interests. He owns, the Des- 
marais Block in which the drug store is 
situated, on High street, and is also the 
possessor of property at Chambley Basin, 
Canada. Mr. Desmarais married, Septem- 
ber 2, 1867, Arthemise, born in St. Mat- 
thias, Canada, daughter of Francis and 
Priscilla (Lacomb) Meunier, and they be- 
came the parents of the following children : 
Arthur; Joseph Albert, mentioned in next 
paragraph; Lora, Sarah, and Mary. Of 
these all are deceased with the exception of 
Joseph Albert. 

(V) Joseph Albert Desmarais, son of 
Pierre and Arthemise (Meunier) Desma- 
rais, was born April 25, 1875, in Burlington, 
Vermont, and was about three years old 
when his parents removed to Holyoke. He 
was educated at the Chestnut street gram- 
mar school and St. Cesaire Commercial Col- 
lege, Canada. While attending the gram- 
mar school the boy was employed in his 
father's drug store, in 1888, he was taken 
into partnership, and since then the father 
and son have been associated together in 
business. When the Desmarais Drug Com- 
pany was incorporated, Joseph Albert Des- 
marais became treasurer and manager of 
the concern, positions which he still retains 
and which he fills in the most competent 
and satisfactory manner. His early and 
thorough training has equipped him with a 
complete knowledge of the business in all its 
branches, and his executive ability has en- 
abled him to conduct it on lines which have 
been productive of the best results. The 
success which Mr. Desmarais has achieved 
is the fruit of complete educational training 
and equipment, combined with innate abil- 
ity and strict adherence to the methods and 



48 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



principles of executive wisdom and true 
business integrity. 

Mr. Desmarais married (first) May 29, 
1895, Laura, daughter of Alphonse Trem- 
bly, of St. Heloise, Canada, and they be- 
came the parents of one child, Roswell Jo- 
seph Henry, born May 29, 1896, died in in- 
fancy. Mrs. Desmarais died June i, 1900. 
Mr. Desmarais married (second) December 
31, 1902, Margaret A., daughter of William 
and Catherine (Nolan) Hurley, of Hat- 
field, Massachusetts. 



JUDD, William D., 

Manufacturer. 

The surname Judd is one of the oldest of 
English surnames and is identical withjude, 
an old and now almost obsolete personal 
name, from which the surname was derived. 
Judson and Judkins are derived from the 
same name. Henry Judde, of County 
Kent, and John Judde, of Oxfordshire, are 
mentioned in the Hundred Rolls of the 
year 1275, and the family has been prom- 
inent in Kent down to the present time. Sir 
Andrew Judd, a dealer in skins and furs, 
in London, a son of John Judd, of Turn- 
bridge, County Kent, was mayor of Lon- 
don in 1550, a man of wealth and influence. 
He endowed a grammar school in Turn- 
bridge. It is likely that all the branches 
of the Judd family trace their origin to the 
old family in Kent. The Judd coat-of-arms 
is described : Gules a fesse raguly between 
three bears' heads couped argent. The 
Judds, of Middlesex, bear a similar ar 
morial : Gules a fesse raguly between three 
boars' heads erased argent. Crest : On a 
ducal coronet or a cockatrice, wings dis- 
played proper. The family has also been 
numerous and prominent in County Es- 
sex. 

(I) Deacon Thomas Judd, immigrant an- 
cestor, came from England in 1633 or 1634, 
and settled in Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
MASS.— 7— 4. 49 



where he had a home lot granted in 1635, 
and was admitted a freeman, May 25, 1636. 
He removed to Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1636, and had two acres granted for a home 
lot near the famous old Charter Oak. He 
was one of the first proprietors and early 
settlers of Farmington, Connecticut, whith- 
er he moved about 1644. His home lot was 
on the main street and he was a man of sub- 
stance and influence. He served the town 
as deputy to the General Assembly several 
sessions ; was charter member of the church 
and its second deacon. He died Novem- 
ber 12, 1688, aged about eighty years. His 
first wife died in Farmington, and he mar- 
ried (second) December 2, 1679, Clemence, 
widow of Thomas Mason, of Northampton, 
where he spent the last of his life. He was 
selectman of Northampton in 1682. Chil- 
dren : Elizabeth ; William ; Thomas ; 
John ; Benjamin ; Mary ; Ruth, baptized 
February 7, 1647; Philip, baptized Sep- 
tember 2, 1649; Samuel, mentioned below. 

(II) Samuel Judd, son of Thomas Judd, 
was born about 1651, and died January 10, 
1 72 1. He was admitted a freeman in Mas- 
sachusetts in May, 1684. After the death 
of his father he cared for his mother and 
she deeded her property, the Mason home- 
stead on Pleasant street, Northampton, to 
him. He also owned land in Farmington 
given him by his father. He married Ma- 
riah Strong, who died May 18, 1751, aged 
nearly eighty-eight years, a daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Hewet) Strong. Chil- 
dren, born at Northampton : Mary, born 
October 12, 1682; Samuel, October 15, 
1685; Clemence, November 14, 1688; 
Thomas, January 28, 1691 ; Elizabeth, July 
8, 1693; Margaret, February 16, 1697; 
Ruth, March 27, 1700; Eunice, February, 
1702; Rachel, November 2, 1705; William, 
mentioned below. 

(HI) William Judd, son of Samuel 
Judd, was born at Northampton, in 1708, 
and died there May 6, 1755. He married 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(first) February i6, 1732, Ann Harmon, of 
Suffield. She died November 29, 1746, and 
he married (second) July 4, 1753, Submit 
White, daughter of Nathaniel White, of 
South Hadley. His widow Submit married 
(second) December 4, 1760, Deacon John 
Clark. Children by first wife : William, 
mentioned below ; Ann baptized July 4, 
1736; Sarah, baptized December 10, 1738; 
Eunice, born June 4, 1743. By second wife: 
Eunice, born August 5, 1754; Submit, bap- 
tized November 2, 1755. 

(IV) William (2) Judd, son of William 
( I ) Judd, was born at Northampton, May 
18, 1733, and died there November 3, 1807. 
He resided at Horse Mountain or North 
Farms in Northampton, and his sons lived 
there also until the two youngest removed 
to Ohio. He was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion, a private in Captain Hezekiah Rus- 
sell's company (Second) of Volunteers, 
Hampshire county, serving against the in- 
surgents at Hadley, June 13, 1782, and at 
Northampton, June 15 and 16, 1782, three 
days, by order of Elisha Porter, sheriff (see 
Soldiers and Sailors of Massachusetts, Vol. 
VIII, p. 1025). He married (intention dat- 
ed April 25, 1759) Susanna Gilson, daugh- 
ter of Michael Gilson, of Westmin- 
ster, Vermont. Children, born at North- 
ampton : Eunice, baptized March 23, 
1760; Susanna, baptized August i, 1762; 
Salome, baptized February 10, 1765; Irene, 
baptized July 12, 1767; Warham, born 
1769; Mary, baptized February 9, 1772; 
Levi, baptized July 21, 1774; Asenath, bap- 
tized December i, 1776; William, baptized 
April 21, 1779; Eli, mentioned below; 
Nancy, baptized May 2, 1784. 

(V) Eli Judd, son of William (2) Judd, 
was born at Northampton, in 1781, baptized 
September 13, 1781. He was a prosperous 
farmer in his native town and conducted a 
farm of two hundred acres until 1837, when 
he and his brother removed to Huntsbury, 
Ohio. He married (first) December 15, 



1810, Lydia Field, of Whately. She died 
December 23, 1825, aged thirty-seven years. 
He married (second) May 10, 1826, Electa 
Tilton, of Goshen, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren by first wife: Almira, born June 15, 
1812 ; Gilson, mentioned below ; Zenas, Au- 
gust 12, 1816; David, November 9, 1818; 
Ansel, July 26, 1821 ; Eliza L., March 16, 
1824. By second wife : Levi West, Sep- 
tember 27, 1827; Frances, January 4, 1830; 
Sylvester, December 30, 1831. 

(VI) Gilson Judd, son of Eli Judd, was 
born at Northampton, May 24, 1814, and 
was educated in the public schools there. 
He went west w-ith his father and remained 
in Ohio for eight years. Returning to 
Northampton he took charge of a farm for 
Hon. William Clark, resigning in 1848 to 
become superintendent of a large tract of 
timber land owned by Mr. Clark on Mt. 
Tom. Afterward he resided in Westhamp- 
ton, where he purchased considerable real 
estate, which he sold afterward at a profit. 
In politics he was a Republican in later life. 
He held the offices of selectman and asses- 
sor, and was a man of prominence in the 
community. He married (first) October 
16, 1838, Jerusha W. Clark, daughter of 
Hon. William Clark. She died November 
21, 1842, and he married (second) April 
25, 1848, Mary Ann Jepson, of Goshen, 
daughter of Joseph and Mary Jepson. She 
died March 30, 1853, aged thirty years. He 
married (third) September 27, 1854, Cli- 
mena C. Lyman, of Westhampton. Chil- 
dren by first wife, born at Huntsbury; 
Frederic Arthur, born July 24, 1839, died 
November, 1892; D wight Ogden, mention- 
ed below ; daughter, born and died at 
Northampton, November 21, 1847. Child 
by second wife: Charles C, who was for 
many years general agent of the Traders In- 
surance Company of Chicago and now a 
member of the firm of Judd & Parsons, fire 
insurance agents and brokers, of Holyoke. 

(VII) Dwight Ogden Judd, son of Gil- 



50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son Judd, was born in Huntsbury, Ohio, 
December 15, 1843. His early education 
was received in the public schools of North- 
ampton, Westhampton and Holyoke, and in 
the Boys School in Long Meadow. He was 
but seventeen years old when he enlisted, in 
May, 1861, in Company I, Tenth Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, and went to the front in 
the Civil War. He was wounded in the left 
breast at the battle of Fair Oaks, and a 
thigh bone was broken by a Confederate 
bullet at the battle of Salem Heights. He 
took part in many engagements, and not- 
withstanding his youth took rank among the 
best and bravest men of his company. He 
was detailed, September 4, 1863, to the pro- 
vost guard and sent to Sandusky, Ohio, Sep- 
tember 25, continuing in this service until 
January 3, 1864, when he returned to the 
field of battle in Virginia. He was again 
wounded in the battle of the Wilderness, 
May 5, 1864, losing a finger of his left hand. 
He was mustered out July i, 1864. Three 
years later he organized Company G, Sec- 
ond Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer 
Militia, and in that company and Company 
D of Holyoke in the same regiment, he was 
an officer until he resigned in 1881, being at 
that time captain. One of the early mem- 
bers of Kilpatrick Post, No. 16, Grand Ar- 
my of the Republic, of which he was com- 
mander, he was appointed on the staff of 
the Department Commander of the Grand 
Army in 1893 and 1894, and in 1904 was 
elected Department Commander of Massa- 
chusetts, being well known and highly hon- 
ored throughout the State and wherever 
Grand Army men were gathered. In addition 
to the above, he was also a member of the 
Massachusetts Commandery of the Military 
Order of the Loyal Legion. For twelve 
years he was treasurer of the Tenth Regi- 
ment Association, and in 1900 was its pres- 
ident. Mr. Judd came to Holyoke from 
Castleton, New York, where he lived for a 
few years after leaving the service. From 



1876 to 1884 he was in the employ of the 
United States postal department in charge 
of the postal card agency at Springfield and 
New York City. He resigned to engage in 
the insurance business in Holyoke, where 
for a quarter of a century he continued suc- 
cessfully. Mr. Judd was one of the incor- 
porators of the Holyoke Co-operative Bank, 
of which he was secretary from 1880 to 
1883, '^"d treasurer from 1883 until his 
death. He discharged the duties of this of- 
fice with exceptional ability and faithful- 
ness. As a citizen of Holyoke he performed 
his part with zeal and honor, being active 
in the councils of the Republican party, 
which he joined when a young man. In 
1881 he served in the City Council of Hol- 
yoke, after which he served for three years 
as assessor. In 1887 he was representative 
to the General Court from his district, and 
proved an able and conscientious legislator, 
serving on various important committees of 
the house. Mr. Judd was well known in Ma- 
sonic and fraternal circles. He was a mem- 
ber of Springfield Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Morning Star Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar ; Ancient and 
Accepted Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and 
the Massachusetts Consistory. He was al- 
so a member of Holyoke Lodge, Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Paper 
City Lodge, United Workmen. Mr. Judd 
was a representative citizen of the best type, 
a man of integrity, exemplary in his home 
and community life, a useful citizen, a pa- 
triot, loved and respected by his fellow men. 
He married, December 20, 1866, Clara 
A. Bartlett, who was born in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, but resided until the time of 
her marriage in Granby, Massachusetts. 
Children: William D., mentioned below; 
Winifred, born at Springfield, married Frank 
J. Phelps, who is now the proprietor of the 
Dwight O. Judd Insurance Company of Hol- 
yoke. 



51 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(VIII) William D. Judd, son of Dwight 
Ogden Judd, was born in Springfield, July 
24, 1868. He was educated in the public 
schools of Holyoke. His business career 
began in the employ of the Wauregan Pa- 
per Company, where he learned the paper 
manufacturing business thoroughly. In 
1897 he entered the employ of the Carew 
Manufacturing Company and rose rapidly 
by successive promotions to places of re- 
sponsibility and trust in the paper business. 
Since 1906 he has been president and treas- 
urer of the Carew Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and treasurer of the Hampshire Pa- 
per Company of South Hadley Falls. Mr. 
Judd, as executive head of the Hampshire 
Paper Company presided at a dinner 
held January, 1916, in the Waldorf- 
Astoria to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary 
of the company. Forty wholesale paper 
merchants from all parts of the country at- 
tended. Old Hampshire bond, perhaps the 
best known paper in the market, has been 
made famous by its superior qualities and 
the progressive business methods of the 
company. He is a member of Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and of 
the Council, Chapter, Commandery, and all 
of the Scottish Rite bodies up to and in- 
cluding the thirty-second degree. Member 
of the Holyoke Canoe Club, Sans Souci 
Club, member of the Mt. Tom Golf Club, 
in whose afiFairs he takes an active part and 
interest, one of the directors of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce, one of the trustees of the 
Holyoke Savings Bank. 

Mr. Judd married, April 12, 1893, Annie 
E. Stevens, born in Springfield, daughter 
of Dr. Daniel Stevens. 



CLARK, Herbert Sherman, 
Manager of the Casper Ranger Company. 

Herbert S. Clark, who since 1889, a pe- 
riod of nearly thirty years, has been con- 
nected with The Casper Ranger Company 



of Holyoke, rising from the position of 
clerk to that of manager, comes of an old 
Massachusetts family, his line of descent be- 
ing through William, John, John and Deacon 
John Clark, the latter being the first settler 
in what was formerly the town of Norwich, 
Massachusetts, now Huntington. Norwich 
was established as a district in 1773 and as 
a town in 1775. John Clark was elected 
tithingman of Murrayfield, March 1 1, 1766, 
and surveyor. May 3, 1768. He was a prom- 
inent citizen. 

His son, ^lartin Clark, who removed to 
Westhampton about 1769, and there spent 
the remainder of his life, taking an active 
part in the affairs of the town, where he fol- 
lowed agricultural pursuits, was a man of 
great usefulness and industry, and was a 
member of the Committee of Inspection of 
Northampton in 1774. He was a soldier 
of the Revolution, a sergeant in Captain 
Jonathan Wales' company, Colonel Dickin- 
son's regiment, Hampshire county, march- 
ing to East Hoosick, August 17, 1777, and 
thence to Pittsfield and guarded Hessian 
prisoners eight days. He was second lieu- 
tenant in Captain Samuel Fairfield's com- 
pany (Twelfth), Second Hampshire Coun- 
ty Regiment, year not given. He was a 
large taxpayer, and served as a deacon of 
the church. Mr. Clark married Hannah 
Clapp, only child of Noah Clapp, and grand- 
daughter of Roger and Elizabeth (Bartlett) 
Clapp, of Northampton. Roger Clapp was 
born May 24, 1784, son of Preserved Clapp 
and grandson of Roger Clapp, the pioneer 
at Dorchester, Massachusetts. Children of 
Martin and Hannah (Clapp) Clark: Noah, 
Dorcas, Naomi, Chester, of further men- 
tion. 

Chester Clark, son of Martin and Han- 
nah (Clapp) Clark, was born in Westhamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, in 1778. He married 
Achsah Lyman, born April 27, 1778, died 
November 21, 1819, daughter of Israel and 
Rachel (Beals) Lyman, and they were the 



52 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



parents of seven children: Watson Lyman, 
of further mention ; Elvira, Achsah, Mar- 
garet, Theodore, Chester, Lyman. Mrs. 
Clark traced her descent to Richard Ly- 
man, who was baptized at High Ongar, 
England, October 30,1580; he came to Mas- 
sachusetts in 1 63 1, and in 1636 was one 
of the first settlers and founders of Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. He died in 1640. He 
married Sarah Osborne, daughter of Roger 
Osborne. He was of the fourteenth genera- 
tion from Alfred the Great, King of Eng- 
land, tracing through the Lambert and Un- 
fraville families, and among his ancestors 
were many other noble and royal person- 
ages. His son. Lieutenant John Lyman, 
was baptized at High Ongar, England, 1623, 
and died August 20, 1690 (gravestone). He 
had command of the Northampton soldiers 
in the Falls Fight above Deerfield, May 18, 
1676, in King Philip's War. He married 
Dorcas Plumb, daughter of John Plumb, of 
Hartford, Connecticut. His son, John Ly- 
man, was born at Northampton, and died 
there April 8, 1735, aged sixty-nine years. 
He married, April 19, 1687, Mind well 
Pomeroy, born February 24, 1666, daugh- 
ter of Mary (Woodford) Sheldon, and 
widow of John Pomeroy, to whom she was 
married April 30, 1684. His son, Captain 
John Lyman, was born at Northampton, 
October 12, 1693, and died November 9, 
1797; married (first) in 1718, Abigail 
Moseley, of Westfield, who died November 
9, 1750; married (second) Mrs. Theoda 
(Hunt) Sheldon, a widow. His son, Zad- 
ock Lyman, was born at Hockanum, 1719, 
and died October 14, 1775; married Sarah 
Clark, daughter of Ebenezer Clark, and af- 
ter his death she married (second) John 
Wright, of Northampton. His son, Israel 
Lyman, father of Achsah (Lyman) Clark, 
was born at Hockanum, February 7, 1746, 
and died June 8, 1830. He married, Jan- 
uary 4, 1770, Rachel Beals, born June 8, 
1747, died December 27, 1824. 



Watson Lyman Clark, son of Chester and 
Achsah (Lyman) Clark, was born at Hock- 
anum, Massachusetts, December 21, 1802, 
and died at Dalton, Massachusetts, August 
17, 1874. He was educated in the public 
schools, and for many years was employed 
in the manufacture of paper in the mills at 
Dalton. He married, in 1828, at Lebanon, 
New York, Sabrina Lyman, born Decem- 
ber 27, 1805, and died November 6, 1865. 
She was also a descendant of Richard Ly- 
man, the pioneer of all the Lymans of this 
section. Children : George Watson, born 
August 14, 1829, died November 16, 1829; 
Martin Lyman, born May 24, 1831 ; Noah 
Albert, born May i, 1833, died October 18, 
1863, killed while in the service during the 
Civil War; Seth Waldo, born July 19, 1835, 
died October 12, 1909; Naomi Maria, born 
March 29, 1837, died March 30, 1892; John 
Theodore, of further mention ; Henry Har- 
rison, born February 27, 1840; James Wil- 
liam, born June 9, 1843, died May 6, 1916; 
Achsah Sabrina, born November 10, 1845; 
Charles Benton, born November 11, 1847, 
died in infancy. 

John Theodore Clark, son of Watson Ly- 
man and Sabrina (Lyman) Clark, was born 
at Hinsdale, Massachusetts, July i, 1838, 
and died January, 191 1. He was also a 
paper maker at Hinsdale, Dalton and Pitts- 
field. He married, March 16, 1864, Anna 
Lansing, of Saratoga county. New York. 
She died April 11, 1881. Children: Her- 
bert Sherman, of further mention ; Harriet 
L., who became the wife of W. S. Loomis, 
of Holyoke, now deceased. 

Herbert Sherman Clark, son of John 
Theodore and Anna (Lansing) Clark, was 
born at Pittsfield, Massachusetts, Jari^ary 
2, 1865. He attended the public schools at 
Cummington and later in Holyoke, and 
when thirteen years old began work in the 
mills of the Hadley Thread Company, and 
later in the mills of the Crocker Manufac- 
turing Company as cutter boy, and at fif- 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



teen years of age entered the office of the 
Holyoke Machine Company and continued 
with that concern for seven years. He 
then spent two years in California, and on 
returning to the East, in 1889, became a 
clerk in the office of The Casper Ranger 
Company, lumber dealers, in Holyoke, and 
has continued with that concern to the pres- 
ent time (1917). In May, 191 1, when the 
business was incorporated under the name 
of The Casper Ranger Company (see His- 
tory of this business under proper head- 
ing) ^Ir. Clark became a director and man- 
ager. ^Ir. Clark is a Republican in politics, 
and has served one term on the Board of 
Aldermen of the city of Holyoke. He is 
a member of the Second Congregational 
Church. 

Mr. Clark married. May 27, 1896, Mabel 
Edith Bardwell, of Brooklyn, New York, 
daughter of Carlos and Orra (Frink) Bard- 
well. One child, Herbert Sherman, Jr., 
born at Holyoke, May 14, 1905. Mrs. Clark 
died April 23, 1909. 



DIBBLE, Frank Howard, 

Contractor, Bnilder. 

The Dibbles of Massachusetts, claiming 
early Colonial descent, spring from Thom- 
as Dibble, of Windsor, Connecticut, whose 
son, Ebenezer Dibble, born September 20, 
1 641, was killed in King Philip's War. 
Ebenezer Dibble married Mary Wakefield. 
They were the parents of two sons, Wake- 
field and John, from whom spring all of 
the name descending from Ebenezer Dibble, 
the soldier. Mary Wakefield was a daugh- 
ter of John Wakefield, one of the earliest 
settlers and proprietors of New Haven, 
Connecticut. The family, one of the old 
and respected ones of early Connecticut 
times, the branch of which Frank Howard 
Dibble, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, is rep- 
resentative, was long seated in Granby, 
Connecticut, where his great-grandfather, 



Abraham Dibble, was bom. Abraham Dib- 
ble was a farmer of Granby, but his son, 
Orlin Dibble, was a harnessmaker by trade, 
taught the same craft to his son, Nelson Or- 
lin Dibble, but Frank H. Dibble, son of Nel- 
son Orlin Dibble, adopted a different trade 
and is one of Holyoke's leading contractors 
and builders. 

(T) Abraham Dibble, born February 14, 
1764, died October 19, 1833, was a farmer 
of Granby, Connecticut. He married, May 
12, 1789, Theodosia Griffin, born May 8, 
1768, died February 2"], 1844. They were 
the parents of Abraham (2); Orlin, of 
further mention ; Celina, Pelina and Theo- 
dosia. 

(II) Orlin Dibble, son of Abraham (i) 
and Theodosia (Griffin) Dibble, was bom 
in Granby, Connecticut, December 14, 1807, 
died September 13, 1874. He learned the 
harnessmaker's trade, owned a small farm, 
was constable and collector of taxes in 
Granby for twenty-one years, and was a 
man highly esteemed in the community in 
which he lived. He married, December 
30, 1828, Jane Veits, born October 5, 1805, 
died January 5, 1895. She was a daughter 
of Simeon Veits, of Suffield, Connecticut. 
They were the parents of Nelson Orlin, of 
further mention, and an adopted daughter, 
Harriet, who married Moses Leonard, of 
Easthampton, Massachusetts, their only 
daughter dying young. 

(III) Nelson Orlin Dibble, only son of 
Orlin and Jane (Veits) Dibble, was born 
in Granby, Connecticut, August 26, 1832, 
and now at the age of eighty-five years, is 
living retired at the home of his son. He 
was educated in one of the ''little red school 
houses" that have turned out so many 
worthy American men and women, and on 
arriving at suitable age he began learning 
the harnessmaker's trade under the instruc- 
tion of his father. During the Civil War 
the shop turned out a great deal of cavalry 
equipment for the government, and he con- 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tinued his trade for several years in Gran- 
by. He then moved to Easthampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, there beginning the manufacture 
of suspenders and shoulder braces, also 
making a line of rubber goods. He was the 
patentee of the Dibble Shoulder Brace, and 
for tv^'enty-two years he conducted a suc- 
cessful manufacturing business in East- 
hampton, selling his goods all over the 
United States. After twenty-tvi^o years he 
turned the business over to his son, Louis 
Nelson Dibble, who conducted the business 
under the firm name. Dibble & Warner, and 
moved the plant to Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. Nelson O. Dibble, the founder, re- 
tained an active interest in the business un- 
til 191 5; then retired, and resides with his 
son, Frank H. Dibble, in Holyoke. He 
married, November 11, 1856, Emily Wil- 
cox, born 1834, died May, 1907, daughter 
of Lyman and Ann (Fuller) Wilcox. They 
were the parents of ten sons and daughters : 
Louis N., born February 5, 1858 ; Nellie E., 
born August 7, 1859, married Cassius K. 
Brewer, of East Hartford, Connecticut; 
Frank Howard, of further mention ; Ly- 
man Wilcox, born October 26, 1862; Har- 
riet, born December 13, 1865, died May 23, 
1892, wife of John Jackson; Mary Amelia, 
born May 30, 1870; Herbert L., born June 
6, 1872 ; WilHam A., born October 29, 
1873; Harry P., born June 13, 1878; an 
infant, born May 24, 1875, ^"^ ^^^^'^ soon 
thereafter. 

(IV) Frank Howard Dibble, second son 
of Nelson Orlin and Emily (Wilcox) Dib- 
ble, was born in Granby, Connecticut, De- 
cember 7, i860. He was quite small when 
his parents moved to Easthampton, and 
there he attended the public school and was 
employed on a farm until he reached the 
age of twenty-one years. He then came to 
Holyoke and learned the carpenter's trade. 
For several years he worked as a journey- 
man, then began contracting, and for a 
quarter of a century has conducted a gen- 



eral contracting and building business. 
Among the buildings he has erected are : 
The Public Library, the first six story block 
in the city; St. Paul's Church; Mountain 
Park Casino ; Holyoke Canoe Clubhouse ; 
Holyoke National Bank building ; and many 
private residences in Holyoke, Springfield, 
Longmeadow, and Brattleboro, Vermont; 
the Wallace, an eighteen apartment house 
on the corner of Pearl and Allen streets, 
which he also owns ; the Suffolk building 
in Holyoke ; the Wesson residences in Long- 
meadow. In 1897 he built his present pri- 
vate residence, also the two on either side, 
and at Hampton Ponds owns a tract of fif- 
teen acres, upon which he has erected four 
cottages and camps. Mr. Dibble has also 
other business interests. He is a trustee 
of the Holyoke Savings Bank, member of 
the Holyoke Canoe Club, and the Congrega- 
tional church. In political faith he is an In- 
dependent. 

Mr. Dibble married, in March, 1887, Jen- 
nie E. Clark, of Easthampton, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Laurens and Marcia 
(Ford) Clark. They are the parents of two 
sons and three daughters: i. Howard Clark, 
married Alice Curran, and they are the par- 
ents of a son, Howard Curran. 2. Emily, 
was associated with the work of the Young 
Women's Christian Association in Louis- 
ville, Kentucky. 3. Marion, a teacher in 
Wheeling, West Virginia. 4. Marcia, mar- 
ried Fred J. Brockett, of Suffield, Connec- 
ticut. 5. Wallace. 



DALY, John Belford, 

Priest. 

Father Daly is rector of the Holy Fam- 
ily Parish of Brightside, Holyoke, which 
has an English-speaking congregation, or- 
ganized in 1903. In his arduous duties 
Father Daly has well acquitted himself, 
earning the thanks of his parishioners, of 
his superiors, and of the community. Fath- 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



er Daly is a native of the State, a son of 
Timothy Daly, who was born in County 
Cork, Ireland, in 1806, and died February 
I, 1870, in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. When 
a young man he removed to America and 
located in the Province of Quebec, Canada, 
whence he came to the United States in 
1846. He was employed as a railroad man, 
and lived in various sections of Massachu- 
setts along the Boston & Albany Railroad. 
Subsequently he entered the employ of the 
Boston & Maine Railroad, and was located 
in Fitchburg as division superintendent at 
the time of his death. He married Mary 
Ann Belford, a native of Ireland, and they 
were the parents of John B. and Mary Jane, 
the latter now deceased. By a second mar- 
riage he had a son, Joseph, who is also de- 
ceased. 

Rev. John Belford Daly was born April 
19, 1848, in Needham, Massachusetts, and 
attended public schools in Fitchburg and 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts. In the latter city 
he was a student of the high school, and 
graduated from Holy Cross College at Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, in 1869. Three years 
were then consumed in study at St. Joseph's 
Seminary, Troy, New York, where he grad- 
uated in 1872. On May 5 of that year he 
was ordained to the priesthood, and served 
as curate in Spencer, Palmer and Chicopee, 
Massachusetts. His first pastorate was in 
Hinsdale, Massachusetts, whence he was 
sent to Holyoke, in 1903, to become pastor 
of the Holy Family Church. The Bright- 
side Home for Orphans has been built up 
under his chaplaincy, and he has shown a 
most efficient and helpful spirit throughout 
his work. The parish is located at the ex- 
treme south end of Holyoke, and what is 
known as Brightside and Ingleside and cov- 
ers a large section. Here also are located 
the Orphans Home and other diocesan in- 
stitutions, numbering altogether about five 
hundred people. The chapel of the church 
accommodates four hundred persons, and 



masses are celebrated there and at the alms- 
house each Sunday. Father Daly has been 
the only pastor since its organization, and 
his faithfulness and ability have gained him 
the lasting gratitude of many people. 



56 



HILL, Lawrence Guy, 

Business Man. 

Lawrence Guy Hill, the well known ex- 
pressman of Holyoke, has achieved his suc- 
cess by his straightforward, honorable bus- 
iness dealings and untiring energy, and is 
among the highly respected men of that 
city. 

(I) He traces his ancestry on the patern- 
al side to English forbears, his grandfath- 
er, John Hill, having been a native of Glou- 
cestershire, England, where he was reared, 
educated and married, and where he also 
learned the trade of stone mason, which he 
followed during the active years of his life. 
He emigrated to the United States in 1852, 
settled in Chateaugay, Franklin county, 
New York, and there spent the remainder 
of his days, his death occurring when he 
was in the prime of life. He married, in 
England, Jane Spencer, who bore him nine 
children, namely : John, Arthur, George, 
Henry, William, Charles, Alfred, Edwin, 
Eliza, who became the wife of Sylvester 
Edwards. 

(II) George Hill, son of John and Jane 
(Spencer) Hill, was born in Chateaugay, 
New York, November 25, 1853, and he is 
living there at the present time (1917). He 
attended the schools in the neighborhood of 
his home, and upon arriving at a suitable 
age turned his attention to earning a liveli- 
hood, learning the trade of carpenter and 
builder. He was active and energetic, pub- 
lic-spirited, aiding to the best of his ability 
in the upbuilding of his native town. He 
married, November 24, 1875, Henrietta 
Elizabeth Frazier, born in Malone, Frank- 
lin county. New York, January 25, 1850, 



.-<r"\ 



<^S'. 



^■sA 



K^*^- 
i.-^" 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Charles W. and Jane Eliza 
(Cornan) Frazier. Children: i. Mabel 
Myrtle, born January 7, 1877, became the 
wife of Fred Gleason, of Holyoke, see else- 
where in this work. 2. Lawrence Guy, men- 
tioned in next paragraph. 3. Nellie Maude, 
born March 30, 1881, became the wife of 
Perley A. Baker, of Holyoke ; one son, 
Glenn. 4. Carlton Jay, born June 27, 1884, 
manager of Atlantic & Pacific Tea Com- 
pany of Holyoke. 5. Pearl Elizabeth, born 
August 22, 1886, became the wife of Arthur 
Laplante, of Easthampton. 6. Grace Lau- 
retta, born June 18, 1893, became the wife 
of Easton Gillespie, of Springfield; one son, 
William Lloyd. 

(Ill) Lawrence Guy Hill, son of George 
and Henrietta Elizabeth (Frazier) Hill, 
was born in Chateaugay, Franklin county, 
New York, July 2, 1879. He attended the 
schools of his native place. At an early age 
he became employed as a teamster, at which 
he continued for a number of years. He 
then changed his place of residence to Leo- 
minster, Massachusetts, where he was em- 
ployed in a similar position by the city, 
continuing for a period of one year. He 
then returned to Chateaugay, and at the ex- 
piration of one year, in 1904, came 
to the State of Massachusetts, this 
time locating in Holyoke, where he 
has since resided. For the following 
eight years he was employed in driving 
a team for J. Russell & Company, the well 
known hardware people of that city, his 
long term of service testifying to his pro- 
ficiency and capability. In March, 1912, he 
engaged in the express business on his own 
account doing all kinds of heavy trucking 
and teaming. This he has followed up to 
the present time (1917), having had some 
of the best horses and teams in this section 
of the State. In addition to the horses used 
in his business, he has purchased, driven 
and exhibited a number of very beautiful 
driving horses ; single and in matched 



pairs, and has taken many prizes at the 
various horse shows and county fairs 
throughout this section. Being a great lov- 
er of horses and an authority on horse flesh, 
he prided himself on having the best thor- 
oughbreds in the market and insisting on 
them having the best of care. In 191 7, he 
disposed of the last of his beautiful driving 
horses. In the latter named year he also 
disposed of his draft horses afid now at- 
tends to his ever increasing business with 
an up-to-date automobile truck, capable of 
carrying several tons. Not only does he con- 
duct a business in Holyoke but conveys 
goods to remote cities, going sometimes two 
hundred miles. As a business man he is at 
all times reliable, energetic and progressive, 
and has gained the confidence and good will 
of all with whom he associates. Mr. Hill is 
a member of William Whiting Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, and of the Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, both of Hol- 
yoke. 

Mr. Hill married, October 3, 1906, Laura 
Frances Fuller, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of William B. and Mary A. 
(Snow) Fuller. William B. Fuller was a 
painter and spent his life in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he died in 1912, and 
his wife in 1892. They were the parents of 
twelve children, of whom seven are living: 
I. Mary A., married Theodore Bottum. 2. 
Edith, married Frank E. Duakin, deceased. 
3. Hulda, married Joseph Hazzard. 4. Louis 
E. 5. Laura F., married Lawrence G. 
Hill, as noted above. 6. Mrs. William E. 
Snow, of East Longmeadow. 7. Earle, re- 
sides in Indian Orchard. 



SAWIN, Wallace Eugene, 

Representative Citizen. 

The Sawin family, of which Wallace Eu- 
gene Sawin, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, is 
a present day representative, was founded 
in New England by John Sawin, son of 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



Robert Sawin, of Boxford, Suffolk, Eng- 
land, where the latter died in 1651. John 
Sawin, bom in England, was admitted a 
freeman in Boston in May, 1652, but was in 
the Colony as early as April, 1650, as he tes- 
tified at that time in a court case as to a 
conversation he heard in England in 1648. 
and his name is mentioned in the will of 
Edward Skinner dated Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1 65 1. He was a cordwainer 
by trade, and occupied a house on school 
street, Watertown, owned by his father-in- 
law, George Munning. In 1653 he became 
the owner of the homestall in which he lived 
and of a farm at what is now Weston, Mas- 
sachusetts, on which he settled in 1664. He 
married, in April, 1652, Abigail Munning, 
who came with her parents from Ipswich, 
England, in April, 1634, she then being sev- 
enteen years of age. John and Abigail 
Sawin were the parents of three children: 
John, born in April, 1653 ; Mimning, April 
4, 1655 ; and Thomas, of further mention. 

(Ill) Thomas Sawin, son of John Sawin, 
was bom in Watertown, Massachusetts, 
September 25, 1657. He learned the house 
carpenter's trade, and resided in Water- 
town until 1675, when he went with the 
expedition against the Xarragansett In- 
dians, December 19, 1675. He was of Sher- 
born, Massachusetts, in 1679, ^.nd there 
erected the first saw mill. Later he moved 
to Xatick, where for years he was a solitary 
"first white inhabitant," for in 1721 there 
were but two white families in Xatick, the 
second probably that of his son John. He 
had a deed from the Indians, March 17, 
1685, the condition being that he should 
build a grist mill for their accommodation, 
the mill he built being the one previously re- 
ferred to as the first in Xatick. He mar- 
ried, January 28, 1683, Deborah Rice, bom 
February 14, 1659, daughter of Matthew 
Rice, of Sudbur)-. They were the parents 
of three children: Ruth, bom July 24, 1686, 
married James Morse, of Sherbom ; John, 



58 



of further mention ; Deborah, bom April 
4, 1696. 

(T\') John (2) Sawin, son of Thomas 
and Deborah (Rice) Sawin, was born June 
26, 1689, and succeeded his father as miller 
at X'atick. He drew land in Xew Sherbom, 
now Douglass, in 171 5, and again in 1730, 
and was one of the 845 men who met June 
6. 1733- on Boston Common to receive the 
seven townships granted to the heirs of the 
X'arragansett heroes, among whom his fath- 
er was numbered. He was in the second di- 
vision of the group, and later drew land in 
Westminster, Massachusetts, holding lot 
X'o. 68 in the survey made the next year. 
In a second survey he drew lot X'o. no 
and north lot X'o. 70 of the Spec- 
tacle Meadow at Watertown. He married 
Joanna Lyons, daughter of Thomas and 
Joanna (Pay son) Lyons. Their children, 
although all bom in Xatick are recorded in 
Sherborn, X'atick not then having been in- 
corporated a town. Children : Joanna, bom 
August 28, 171 5; Thomas. October 12, 
1717, a Revolutionary' soldier; Deborah, 
bom January 23, 1719, married George 
Fairbanks ; John, of further mention ; Ab- 
igail, bom January 24, 1724; Ezekiel, April 
3, 1728; Man,-, X'ovember 2, 1731. 

(V) John (3) Sawin, son of John (2) 
and Joanna (Lyons) Sawin, was born in 
Xatick, Massachusetts, July 22,, 1722. He 
married Abigail Babcock and had children : 
Joel, Ezekiel, of further mention; and 
John. 

(VI) Ezekiel Sawin, son of John (3) 
and Abigail (Babcock) Sawin, was bom in 
1752, and died in 1816. He married Mary 
Parker and had children: Timothy, of 
further mention; Levi, Abigail, Joel, Ebe- 
nezer, Ezekiel, Zenas, Polly, Bett>-, Jacob 
and Joan. 

(VII) Timothy Sawin, eldest son of Eze- 
kiel and Mar\- (Parker) Sawin, was born in 
Princeton, Massachusetts, in 1778, and died 
in 1856, a resident of Sterling, Massachu- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts. He married Levina Hayden. Chil- 
dren : Truman, Martin, of further mention; 
Phoebe, Charles, Mary, Edward, William, 
Peter and George. 

(VIII) Martin Sawin, son of Timothy 
and Levina (Hayden) Sawin, was born in 
Princeton, Massachusetts, and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in November, i860. 
He located at Holyoke in 1852, and by oc- 
cupation was a farmer and carpenter. He 
married, in 1828, Eliza Goss, born Novem- 
ber 25, 1807, in Harvard, Massachusetts, 
and died June 16, 1873, daughter of Asa 
and Hepsibah Goss. 

(IX) Albert Erastus Sawin, only child 
of Martin and Eliza (Goss) Sawin, was 
born at West Boylston, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 25, 1835, and died in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, April 24, 1904. He attended W'est 
Boylston and Princeton schools, and in 1852 
accompanied his parents to Holyoke. He 
learned the millwright and carpenter trades, 
and then took a position with the Hadley 
Falls Company, predecessors of the Holyoke 
Water Powder Company. He then became 
superintendent for Wiggins & Flagg, now 
the Merrick Lumber Company. He later 
established a planing mill business, manu- 
facturing doors, sashes and blinds, in com- 
pany wnth Mr. French, firm being French 
& Sawin, and this continued until the latter 
eighties when it was sold. He was with 
Watson Ely for a time in the lumber busi- 
ness, then entered the employ of the Hol- 
yoke Water Power Company, continuing 
until his death. He was a member of the 
Holyoke Volunteer Fire Department and 
took a deep interest in his company. He 
was a man of quiet, home loving disposi- 
tion, and fond of roaming in the fields and 
in the woods, enjoying the works of nature 
and the songs of the birds. 

Mr. Sawin married, February 17, 1864, 
Elizabeth Young, of Huntington, Massa- 
chusetts, born October 25, 1839, died in 
Holyoke, June 30, 1908, daughter of James 



and Agnes (Allen) Young, who were both 
born in Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Sawin 
were the parents of five children: i. Ed- 
win Asa, a sketch of whom follows. 2. Wal- 
lace Eugene, of further mention. 3. Alice 
Edith, a graduate of the New York School 
of Applied Design for Women, now a de- 
signer and decorator. 4. Albert Allen, born 
December 6, 1873, "o^ a hydraulic engineer 
of the Holyoke Water Power Company ; he 
married S. Lillian Randall; child: Ralph 
Waldo Emerson, born October 5, 1883, now 
a civil engineer of Waterbury, Connecticut; 
married Alice May Holmes, one son, 
Bruce. 

(X) Wallace Eugene Saw^in, of Holyoke, 
son of Albert Erastus and Elizabeth 
(Young) Sawin, was born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, December 29, 1866. He was 
educated in the city public schools. After 
leaving school he entered the offices of D. 
H. and A. B. Tower, Architects and Civil 
Engineers, and until 1887 continued in their 
employ, most of that period being devoted 
to paper mill construction, of which they 
made a specialty. In 1887 he entered the 
employ of the Holyoke Water Power Com- 
pany, of which he has been treasurer since 
1913, his long association with the company 
covering periods of service as draughtsman, 
engineer, chief engineer, clerk of the corpo- 
ration and treasurer. He is also president 
of the Pequot Coal Company of Pennsyl- 
vania, and has other and varied business in- 
terests. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Canoe and the Rotary clubs. 

Mr. Sawin married, October 18, 1893, 
Edith May Hoxie, of Holyoke, but born in 
Norwich, Connecticut, March 4, 1875, 
daughter of James Madison and Mary 
(Gibbs) Hoxie. Mr. and Mrs. Sawin are 
the parents of three children : Beatrice 
Hoxie, born November 12, 1894, studying 
at the Hartford School of Music; Verna 
Elizabeth, born April 18, 1896, now of 



59 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wheaton College ; Jean Marie, born March 
lo, 1898, now in the Connecticut College 
for Women. 



SAWIN, Edwin Asa, 

Experienced Trainman. 

Edwin Asa Sawin, a representative in 
the tenth generation of his family, 
a son of Albert Erastus and Eliza- 
beth (Young) Sawin, was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, January 20, 
1865. He attended the schools of his native 
city, completing his studies in 1881 at the 
age of sixteen years, and then secured em- 
ployment on the Old Connecticut River Rail- 
road, now the Cormecticut Division of the 
Boston & Maine Railroad, as a yard clerk. 
He later became a brakeman in the freight 
yard, and from this was promoted to the 
position of conductor of a freight crew, 
and later was promoted a conductor on a 
train on the Main Line, in which capacity 
he served until 1891, in which year he was 
appointed yard master in Springfield, which 
position he filled to the satisfaction of all 
concerned imtil 1901, when he again entered 
the train service as conductor on the branch 
running between Springfield and Chicopee 
Falls, and since then, a period of a decade 
and a half, has been in charge of the passen- 
ger and freight service on that branch. He 
keeps in touch with the men in his chosen 
vocation by membership in the Order of 
Railway Conductors, serving for fifteen 
years as secretary and treasurer of the or- 
ganization. 

Mr. Sawin married, September 8, 1886, 
Sarah Augusta White, of Colchester, Ver- 
mont, daughter of Calvin and Hannah Me- 
lissa (Furman) White. Children: i. Carlton 
Chester, bom June 27,, 1887, died aged t%vo 
years. 2. Herbert Asa, bom March 5, 1894, 
attended the schools of his native city, af- 
ter which he took up the profession of pho- 
tography, and traveled through the Cana- 



dian Northwest and down the Pacific Coast, 
following his profession, and then took a 
position as the official photographer for the 
National Reserve of the Yosemite Valley; 
he is now (191 7) engaged in naval con- 
struction work in Philadelphia. 3. Earl 
Clifton, born May 22, 1897; he is a stenog- 
rapher ; he was for some years vi^ith the 
Fisk Rubber Company of Chicopee Falls, 
and now (1917) with the Lee Rubber Com- 
pany of Conshohocken, Pennsylvania. 4. 
Madeline Alice, born December 21, 1900. 



ELY, Willard, 

Master Mariner. 

Wherever the Ely family is known it has 
produced men of honorable attainments, ex- 
emplary character and exceptional ability 
from the pioneer days to the present, and 
the late Willard Ely, of Holyoke, was a 
t}-pical representative of this old New Eng- 
land family. He became captain of his own 
vessel, and comparatively early in life 
amassed a competence and retired to enjoy 
the comforts of his home in Holyoke. 
Through ever\' line of his ancestry in this 
country. Captain Ely traces back to the 
original English stock that founded the 
colonies of Massachusetts Bay, Plymouth 
and Connecticut before the middle of the 
seventeenth century, and many of the early 
pioneers in Springfield were his ancestors. 

(I) Nathaniel Ely, the immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in England, at Tenterden, 
County York, in 1606. He received a good 
education, as shown by the records he left. 

He married, in England, ]Martha , 

and had a son and daughter before he came 
to this country. He was one of the early 
settlers of Hartford, and probably went 
there with Rev. Thomas Hooker and the 
other founders in 1636. He was a consta- 
ble in 1639 3-nd owned a homestead in Hart- 
ford in 1640. In 1649 he was a selectman. 
His name appears on the monimient to the 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



founders of the colony at Hartford. He af- 
terward moved to Norwalk, Connecticut, of 
which he was also one of the founders, and 
in 1659 located in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he lived the remainder of his 
life. He w^as selectman in 1661, 1663, 1666, 
1668, 1 67 1 and 1673. I" 1665 he kept a 
tavern and he continued in that business 
until he died, December 26, 1675. Martha, 
his wife, died at Springfield, October 23, 
1688. Children: Samuel, of further men- 
tion; Ruth, died October 12, 1662. 

(II) Samuel Ely, son of Nathaniel Ely, 
was born at Hartford, Connecticut, about 
1636, and died ]\Iarch 19, 1692. He re- 
moved to Springfield with his parents, and 
married there, October 28, 1659, Mary Day, 
daughter of Robert Day (see Day). Sam- 
uel Ely left a considerable estate. Ten of 
his sixteen children died in infancy or early 
youth. His widow married (second) De- 
cember II, 1696, Deacon John Coleman, of 
Hatfield, son of Thomas and Frances 
(Wells) Coleman. She died Octo- 
ber II, 1725, aged eighty-four years. 
Children: Child, born 1660; Samuel, March 
I, 1662; Joseph, of further mention; Sam- 
uel, November 4, 1664; Mary, March 29, 
1667; Samuel, May 9, 1668; Nathaniel, 
January 18, 1670; Jonathan, July i, 1672; 
Nathaniel, August 25, 1674; Jonathan, Jan- 
uary 25, 1676. 

(III) Deacon Joseph Ely, son of Samuel 
and Mary (Day) Ely, was born in Spring- 
field, August 20, 1663, ^^^ di^d i" West 
Springfield, April 29, 1755. He married 
Mary Riley, born June 2, 1665, died May 
19, 1736, daughter of John Riley. They 
lived in what is now Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. Children, born at Springfield: Jo- 
seph, born April 9, 1686; Mary, July 25, 
1689; Martha, July 16, 1691 ; Nathaniel, 
of further mention; Ruth, October 20, 
1697; Sarah, January 8, 1703; John, June 
19, 1706. 

(IV) Nathaniel (2) Ely, son of Deacon 



Joseph and Mary (Riley) Ely, was born at 
Springfield, October 21, 1694, died Decem- 
ber 29, 1787. He married, November 23, 
1 72 1, Elizabeth Dewey, born at Westfield, 
May 13, 1699, died at West Springfield, De- 
cember 21, 1786, a daughter of John and 
Martha (Cooley) Dewey. Children, born 
at West Springfield : Aaron, of further 
mention; Elizabeth, born August 11, 1724; 
Sarah, August 7, 1726; Moses, January 25, 
1731 ; Nathaniel, March 20, 1737. 

(V) Aaron Ely, son of Nathaniel (2) 
and Elizabeth (Dewey) Ely, was born at 
West Springfield, October 6, 1722, and died 
there, February 7, 1803. He married 
(first) June 6, 1744, Lucy Leonard, who 
was born at West Springfield, March 15, 
1724, died January 13, 1760, daughter of 
Joseph and Sarah Leonard. He married 
(second) November 10, 1764, Thankful 
Ashley, daughter of David and Alary (Dew- 
ey ) Ashley. She was born at West Springfield, 
December 3, 1733, died at W^est Springfield, 
September 25, 1814. Children, born at West 
Springfield: Aaron, born August 2, 1746; 
Lucy, March 21, 1748; Moses, born April 
10, 1752, died young; Phinehas, December 
24, 1753; John, October 19, 1756. By sec- 
ond wife : Moses, of further mention ; Hor- 
ace, May 2, 1770; Thaddeus, October 3, 
1773, died young; Thaddeus, June 2/, 1775. 

(VI) ]\Ioses Ely, son of Aaron and 
Thankful (Ashley) Ely, w^as born in West 
Springfield, February 4, 1767, and died Sep- 
tember 14, 1840. He married, March 9, 
1786, Chloe Day, born at West Springfield, 
January 2"/, 1766, died January 2^,, 1836, 
daughter of John and Rhoda (Chapin) 
Day. Children, born at West Springfield: 
John Day, bom June 27, 1787; Thankful, 
September 4, 1788; Moses, June 4, 1790; 
Willard, mentioned below ; Novatus, May 
10, 1793; Pelatiah, October 24, 1794; Chloe, 
May 2, 1796; Daniel, January, 1798; son, 
February i, 1799; son, February, 1800; 
Asenath, January 25, 1801 ; Elizabeth, Jan- 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



uary 28, 1803; Louisa, May 11, 1804; 
daughter, September 10, 1805 ; daughter, 
February, 1807; Aaron, May 21, 1808. 

(VII) Willard Ely, son of Moses and 
Chloe (Day) Ely, was born at West Spring- 
field, October 25, 1791, and died at Hol- 
yoke, October 16, 1878. He married at 
Ludlow, Massachusetts, Lovica Waid, born 
May 24, 1797, died at Holyoke, May 20, 
1864, daughter of Nathan Lord and Isa- 
bella (Searles) Waid. He was a farmer in 
West Springfield, and was on the board 
of selectmen of that town before the sec- 
tion where he lived became a part of Holy- 
oke. Children, born at West Springfield: 
Novatus, born October 3, 1818; James, 
June 29, 1820; Edwin Hurlburt, July 2, 
1822 ; Willard, mentioned below ; Lovica, 
February 20, 1826; Sanford, July 14, 1828, 
died May 29, 1852; Jane Eliza, March 21, 
1830, died August 26, 1863, at Holyoke, 
married Dwight Ely; Eliza Jane, March ii, 
1832; Morris, April 28, 1835 ; Cordelia Bal- 
sora, June 14, 1843, died November 4, 
1856. 

(VIII) Willard (2) Ely, son of Willard 
(i) and Lovica (Waid) Ely, was born in 
Holyoke, June 20, 1824, and died there, No- 
vember 28, 1903. He was born on the old 
Ely homestead, now known as the Whiting 
farm. There he lived during his youth and 
attended the public schools. Early in life he 
learned the habits of industry on the farm, 
acquired muscle, skill in the use of his 
hands and a sturdy constitution. He left 
the farm when a young man and found em- 
ployment on the river boats plying between 
Holyoke, Windsor Locks and Hartford, 
Connecticut. He learned the art of naviga- 
tion and was promoted from time to time 
to positions of greater responsibility and 
difficulty, and in the course of time became 
master mariner and commanded his own 
vessels. During most of his active life he 
kept to the river trade. For a few years 
he was captain of a line of trading steam- 



ers on the Moose river in North Carolina. 
In his business ventures he was successful 
and he returned to his old home in Hol- 
yoke while yet in middle life. He lived with 
his father in Holyoke until his father died. 
He then spent two years on the farm, af- 
ter which he sold the old place to the 
Whitings and erected for himself in Hol- 
yoke on a sightly lot on Northampton street 
a very attractive and commodious residence 
and this house was his home to the end of 
his life, and is still occupied by his widow. 
From the old farm he reserved a few acres 
and on this land he occupied himself for a 
number of years, with his garden, but he 
later sold that and lived absolutely retired. 
He was a modest, quiet citizen, not ambi- 
tious for public honors, though he per- 
formed his duties as a citizen conscientious- 
ly. He was a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and also a mem- 
ber of the Mutual Aid Association. In pol- 
itics he was a Democrat. To his home and 
his family he was devoted and loving, as a 
son and as a husband. Honorable, upright, 
capable, he lived a useful and honored life. 
Mr. Ely married, November 23, 1865, Lu- 
cinda Ellen Torrey, bom August 5, 1836, 
daughter of Orrin and Olive (Ingram) 
Torrey, of Chesterfield, Massachusetts, and 
granddaughter of Joseph and Lucinda 
(Wright) Torrey. ]\Irs. Ely survives her 
husband. Throughout her life she has been 
earnest, kindly and well-beloved. She makes 
her home at No. 2039 Northampton street, 
where she has lived for more than thirty- 
seven years. 



TRIQUET, Camille, 

Priest. 

As rector of the parish of the Immaculate 
Conception in Holyoke, Father Triquet is 
performing a wonderful work for his peo- 
ple. His ancestors lived in France, where 
his grandfather, Joseph Triquet, was a 



62 




LuJJ^ju^ ^u^ . /^oa/k^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



farmer, and lived to the age of ninety-six 
years and six months. He was the father 
of nineteen children, nine of whom are still 
living (1917), five of whom are priests, 
one in India, three in Brazil, and two of 
the daughters are nuns, teachers in the pa- 
rochial schools of Moscow, Russia. 

Charles Triquet, one of the sons, was 
born in Moye, France, in 1829, and died 
there at the age of seventy years. All his 
life he was a farmer. His wife, Ann (Tru- 
fet) Triquet, born 1837, died in 1907, at 
the age of seventy years. Of their twelve 
children nine are now living. Two of the 
sons are serving in the French army in the 
great European war. Other members of 
this family represented in that war are the 
husbands of three of Charles Triquet's 
daughters, and six of his nephews. 

Rev. Camille Triquet was born July 18, 
1865, in Moye, France, and in the excellent 
schools of his native town received primary 
instruction. For eight years he was a stu- 
dent in college at Zurich, Switzerland. For 
two years he was a teacher in the schools of 
France, and was ordained to the priesthood 
in his native land in 1888. Three years lat- 
er he came to America, arriving in March, 
1891, and for two years was a teacher in 
Hartford, Connecticut. For eighteen years 
he was identified with St. Joseph's Church, 
of Fitchburg, Massachusetts, successively 
as curate and rector. On July i, 191 2, he 
became pastor of the Church of the Immac- 
ulate Conception in Holyoke, where he has 
since been most industriously engaged in 
building up his congregation, and in caring 
for the welfare of the very large parish. 
Under his direction a very large school has 
been completed, capable of caring for nine 
hundred children, and this was dedicated, 
with the assistance of Bishop Biarens, of 
Springfield, in 1917. The parish of the 
Immaculate Conception was formed in 
Ward One in Holyoke, in 1903, and the 
construction of a church was commenced on 



land bounded by Ely, Mosher and Summer 
streets. The first pastor, Rev. J. B. Cam- 
peau, was appointed November 15, 1905, 
and in 1907 he purchased from the city a 
schoolhouse which had been for some time 
vacant and unused. This building he re- 
paired and renovated for use as a school 
for the children of the parish. This build- 
ing was destroyed by fire on January 8, 
191 5, causing a severe financial loss to the 
parish. After the fire the eight hundred 
children, then in charge of twelve sisters of 
the Presentation of Mary, had a vacation 
of one week, at the end of which time school 
work was resumed by housing the lower 
grades in the chapel of the church, and the 
higher grades in the Perpetual Help Church, 
at the corner of Prospect and Maple streets. 
The construction of the new school has 
made much better provision for the in- 
struction of the youth of the parish. The 
number of souls in the parish is thirty-eight 
hundred, and the pastor is assisted by two 
curates, Rev. John Pilloix and Rev. Z. 
Chouinard. Six masses are celebrated on 
Sundays, and under the fostering care of 
the pastor, the parish is prosperous and do- 
ing most excellent work for the people. The 
assessed valuation of the brick church and 
land is $27,480. Rev. Triquet has endeared 
himself greatly to the members thereof, 
and has gained the respect and esteem of all 
the people of the city. 



DARBY, Arthur Ward, 

Representative Citizen. 

Arthur Ward Darby, the well known su- 
perintendent of the Municipal Lighting 
Plant of Holyoke, Massachusetts, is of Eng- 
lish descent, the name being found in the 
early records of England, where it is 
spelled Darby, Derby and Daby. The fam- 
ily came to Vermont, where George Darby, 
great-grandfather of Arthur Ward Darby, 
settled in Alburgh, among the pioneers, and 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



followed farming there during the active 
period of his life. 

George Darby, grandfather of Arthur 
Ward Darby, was born in Alburgh, Ver- 
mont, and died there, July 20, 1862. He 
enlisted at Alburgh, in June, 1812, and 
served as a private in Captain Lewis Sowles 
or Captain John D. Reynolds' company, 
Vermont militia, for nine months. He was 
a carriage maker and farmer, an enterpris- 
ing man, and highly esteemed in the com- 
munity. He married, at Alburgh, in Feb- 
ruary, 181 2, Rebecca Steinbarge, born in 
1797, and was living. May 17, 1878. They 
were the parents of six children : William ; 
Amerilla, married Wilson Graves ; Addi- 
son Stephen, of further mention ; Ransom, 
Perry, and Leonard. 

Addison Stephen Darby, father of Arthur 
Ward Darby, was born in Alburgh, Ver- 
mont, February 19, 1828, and died in As- 
pen, Colorado, November 2, 1884. He was 
educated in the public schools, and after 
completing the years allowed him for study 
he began learning the carriage building 
trade with his father. In course of time he 
became a manufacturer of carriages, turn- 
ing out the finished vehicle in his own shops. 
He gained high reputation as a builder of 
fine carriages, no firm or builder in the 
State surpassing him in excellence of fin- 
ished product. In 1872 his wife died, and 
he later closed out his business and went 
West in the days of the Leadville boom, 
later locating in Aspen, Colorado, in the 
mountain region, where he followed mining, 
and also did some mine construction work 
at Leadville, Colorado, remaining in that 
State until his death. He married, in Au- 
gust, 185 1, Phebe Minerva Honsinger, born 
in Alburgh, Vermont, April 21, 1831, a 
daughter of Isaac and Rebecca Honsinger, 
both of Holland Dutch descent. They were 
the parents of five children: Norman A., 
born June 12, 1852; Mary J., February 19, 
1855 ; Cora A., June 30, 1857, deceased, 



was the wife of W. P. Greeley; Effie M., 
August 31, 1859, became the wife of Eu- 
gene D. Carl ; Arthur Ward, of further 
mention. 

Arthur Ward Darby was born in Al- 
burgh, Vermont, September 9, 1867, and 
until thirteen years of age, attended the dis- 
trict schools there. The death of his moth- 
er in 1872, and the departure of his father 
to Colorado the same year, deprived him of 
the care of his parents. In 1880 he came 
to Chicopee, Massachusetts, there attending 
school until completing his first year in 
high school. During his school years in 
Chicopee, he was employed as an assistant 
in a drug store, outside of schools hours. 
After completing his studies, he was em- 
ployed for a time by the Chicopee Manufac- 
turing Company, then went to Springfield 
where for two years he was a proof reader 
on the Springfield "Union ;" the following 
year he was night clerk in the American 
Express Company's office at Springfield, 
and at the expiration of this time he located 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, which city has 
since been his home. His' first position in 
Holyoke was with the Roland T. Oaks 
Company, as foreman of construction along 
electrical lines, and for fourteen years he 
filled that position to the great satisfaction 
of his employers, also becoming thoroughly 
familiar with electrical construction, equip- 
ment and operation of plants. From this 
position he was, in 1902, appointed super- 
intendent of the Holyoke Municipal Light- 
ing Plant, which furnishes both gas and 
electricity for lighting purposes, and for 
fifteen years he has most acceptably filled 
this position. During that time he has en- 
tirely reconstructed the plant, sixty men be- 
ing now on the pay roll under his direction, 
Mr. Darby is an active member of the Bay 
State Club and Holyoke Canoe Club, in each 
of which he has a large circle of friends. 
He and his wife are attendants of the Sec- 
ond Congregational Church. 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Darby married, March, 1890, Mabel 
E. Morgan, daughter of Thomas R. and 
Patty (Wood) Morgan. They are the 
parents of a son and daughter, both born in 
Holyoke. i. Morgan Arthur, born Au- 
gust 31, 1892; he is a graduate of Holyoke 
High School, later attended Williston 
Academy of Easthampton, and the Rensse- 
laer Polytechnic Institute of Troy, New 
York, after which he entered the employ of 
the city of Holyoke in the electrical de- 
partment ; he married Josephine Fowler, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, and they are 
the parents of two daughters, Nina and Ma- 
bel. 2. Beulah Mabel, born November 30, 
1894; she is a graduate of the Holyoke 
High School and Miss Fairchild's Kinder- 
garten Training School, and is now (1917) 
a teacher in the Highlands Grammar School 
of Holyoke. 



GLESMANN, August Frank, 

Druggist. 

It is now nearly a quarter of a century 
since Mr. Glesmann opened a drug store in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, at the corner of 
High and Dwight streets, but since 1899 
his place of business has been at the corner 
of High and Appleton streets. The Gles- 
mann family was long seated in Posen, an 
agricultural province of Prussia. August 
F. Glesmann is a grandson of Frank Gles- 
mann, who died in Germany leaving sons, 
Frank and August, the latter the father of 
August Frank Glesmann, of Holyoke. 

August Glesmann was born in Posen, 
Prussia, in 1833, and died in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, January 22, 191 5. The soil of 
Posen yields bountiful crops of cereals and 
on one of these fertile estates he was em- 
ployed as a caretaker until coming to the 
United States in 1871. On first coming to 
this country, he spent two years in Boston, 
Alassachusetts, then in 1873 he permanently 
MASS.— 7—5- 



located in Holyoke, obtaining a position 
with the Germania Mills in charge of the 
indigo vats in the dye house. He held that 
position for more than twenty years, spend- 
ing the last decade of his life in honorable 
retirement. He was a member of the Ger- 
man Reformed, now the Lutheran, church, 
and was affiliated with the Knights of Pyth- 
ias. He married Wilhelmina Frey, born in 
Posen in 1835, died in Holyoke, December 
17, 1914. They were the parents of four 
children born in Germany : Amelia, Anna, 
August Frank, of further mention, and 
Frederick R., deceased, and of two sons 
born in the United States : John C, in Bos- 
ton, Robert Andrew, in Holyoke. 

August Frank Glesmann was born in 
Argenau, Posen, Prussia, December 19, 
1867, and in 1871 was brought to the United 
States by his parents. After the family set- 
tlement in Holyoke, Massachusetts, he at- 
tended the public schools until sixteen years 
of age, working during vacation periods in 
the Skinner Silk Mill, the Beebe & Webber 
Mill and in the Germania Mill. At the age 
of sixteen he entered the employ of B. F. 
Arthur, druggist, remaining with him nine 
years and becoming an efficient clerk, capa- 
ble of performing every required service. 
He then spent two years as manager of the 
Eddy Pharmacy at Lenox, Massachusetts, 
and in December, 1894, he opened his drug 
store in Holyoke where, with the one change 
of location previously noted, he has con- 
ducted a successful drug business until the 
present time. He is a member of Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Mt. 
Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
Holyoke Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Templar ; 
Melha Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; 
and Holyoke Lodge, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. His clubs are the 
Holyoke, Holyoke Country and the Mt. 
Tom Golf. 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



GLESMANN, Robert Andrew, 

Druggist. 

Since 1903 Mr. Glesmann has been pro- 
prietor of a constantly growing drug busi- 
ness in South Hadley Centre, Massachu- 
setts, his previous experience in this hne 
having been with his elder brother, August 
Frank Glesmann, a druggist of Holyoke, 
whose sketch precedes this. 

Robert Andrew Glesmann was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, February ii, 1876, 
son of August and Wilhelmina (Frey) 
Glesmann. He was educated in the public 
schools. At the age of sixteen he entered 
the office of the Whiting Paper Company, 
there continuing until 1896, when he re- 
signed to enter the employ of his brother, 
August F. Glesmann, the druggist. He con- 
tinued with him for seven years, learning 
the drug business in all its details, and in 
1903 opened a store in South Hadley Cen- 
tre where he is well established. He is a 
member of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and the George E. Fish- 
er Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star ; 
lona Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows : Mt. Halliake Lodge, Daughters 
of Rebekah ; the Holyoke Club and of the 
prudential committee of the South Hadley 
Fire District. 

Mr. Glesmann married, August 19, 1902, 
Louise G. Wassing, daughter of William 
and Margaret (Hayes) Wassing. William 
Wassing, born in Germany, came to the 
United States with his parents when a lad, 
served four years as a soldier of the Union, 
1861-65, and is now (1917) living retired in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, aged eighty-one. 
Mr. and Mrs. Glesmann are the parents of 
two sons: Robert Andrew (2), born Octo- 
ber 6, 1907, and Edward August, August 
9, 1910. 



KENNEY, Edward James, 

Insurance and Real Ustate Broker. 

Edward James Kenney, one of the lead- 
ing insurance and real estate brokers of the 
city of Holyoke, prominent in public af- 
fairs, is a type of the self-made men that 
have made that city progressive, prosperous 
and a center of great industries, trade and 
commerce. Without the aid of capital or 
inheritance, and having only the ordinary 
education and advantages of the American 
youth, he has established a business of large 
proportions and won a high place in the es- 
teem and confidence of the community. His 
success is a tribute to his enterprise, energy, 
integrity and perseverance, and an example 
of the possibilities of a similar career for 
the younger men starting in life without 
other resources than their own health, at- 
tainments and character. 

James Kenney, father of Edward 
James Kenney, was born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, in 181 7. In the middle of the nine- 
teenth century, when famine drove so many 
thousands from Ireland to North America, 
he followed the current of emigration to 
St. John, New Brunswick, where he lived 
for two years. Believing that the opportu- 
nities for himself were greater in the United 
States he came to Boston, and later to Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in 1847, ^"<i found 
employment at his trade. He was a skill- 
ful mason, and during the years that fol- 
lowed he worked with his trowel on many 
of the buildings erected in Holyoke. He 
was a man of strong, sturdy character, up- 
right and capable, and he won a place of re- 
spect, esteem and honor in the community 
through a long, active and arduous life. He 
died in Holyoke, in 1907, over ninety years 
of age. He was a useful citizen, a faithful 
communicant of the Roman Catholic 
church, and in politics was always a staunch 
Democrat of the old school. He married, 
in Holyoke, Catherine Carmody, who was 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



also a native of County Kerry, Ireland. One 
son grew to manhood, Edward James, of 
further mention. 

Edward James Kenney was born in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, January 19, 1867, and 
has lived there all his life, receiving his ed- 
ucation in the public schools and learning 
his trade there. He served an apprenticeship 
at the trade of brick mason, and worked as 
a journeyman and contracting mason when 
a young man. But seeing the opportunity 
for making money in real estate, he invested 
his savings wisely. His thrift in sav- 
ing and his economy in early life were 
well rewarded, for his investments rose rap- 
idly in value and his field of operations 
grew larger year by year. His knowledge 
of building and land values was gained by 
practical experience in the building trades, 
and he found at length that it was in real es- 
tate that his largest interests were involved. 
He opened an office as a real estate agent and 
broker and added the insurance business to 
his activities. Both departments of his of- 
fice have grown steadily, and Mr. Kenney 
is recognized throughout this section of the 
State as an authority on insurance and real 
estate matters. His services are often re- 
quired as an expert in making valuations 
and adjusting differences involving real es- 
tate transactions. His work in developing 
and promoting real estate in the city of Hol- 
yoke has been important, and has materially 
aided in the growth of the city. The right 
men in charge have it in their power to stim- 
ulate this growth, to attract new enterprises 
and industries to locate, and induce old con- 
cerns to enlarge and develop business. By 
his own example in investing and develop- 
ing, Mr. Kenney has had both a direct and 
an indirect influence upon others, and in the 
forward movement he has kept well to the 
front. His love and confidence in his na- 
tive city have been constantly in evidence, 
and to every project for improvement and 
public benefit he has lent his aid. Always 



feeling a keen interest in the affairs of the 
city, he has given to the municipality his 
services freely, and by faithful, unremit- 
ting, unselfish and non-partisan work in the 
City Council he has contributed as few oth- 
ers have done to the improvement of the 
city government. He believes in modern 
methods of administration in city affairs, 
and has always exerted his influence for 
progress as well as economy in spending the 
public funds and conducting the ordinary 
business of the city. In 1905 he served 
with distinction in the General Court of 
the State, representing his district with in- 
telligence and fidelity and showing unusual 
aptitude for the duties of legislation. He 
served on the committee on prisons and 
became greatly interested in the work of 
prison reforms and in the administration of 
the penal institutions of the State. He is 
an Independent in politics, active and influ- 
ential in the councils of his party, and has 
often served as delegate to nominating con- 
ventions. Personally Mr. Kenney is popu- 
lar, making friends readily and never losing 
them, and his personality has been no incon- 
siderable factor in his business success. He 
inspires confidence and proves trustworthy 
in all his dealings. He is a member of the 
Holyoke Club and the Park Club. 

Edward James Kenney married, in Hol- 
yoke, 1896, Claudia Dionne, who was born 
in Frazerville, Province of Quebec, Canada. 
She is a daughter of Benjamin Dionne, a 
descendant of the French who were pi- 
oneers in Quebec. They have one child, 
James, born in Holyoke, December 5, 1904. 



67 



CREVIER, Rev. Charles, 

Priest. 

Rev. Charles Crevier, the beloved and 
faithful priest of the parish of the Church 
of the Precious Blood, located on Cabot, 
Park and South East streets, Holyoke, who 
recently celebrated the fiftieth anniversary 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of his ordination into the priesthood at this 
church, at which there were about one hun- 
dred and twenty-five priests present, is a 
native of Montreal, Canada, born IMay 19, 
1839, hence is in his seventy-ninth year. 
He is descendant of a French ancestry, his 
great-grandfather, a native of France, be- 
ing the first of the family to locate in Cana- 
da. His grandfather, Simon Crevier, was 
a native of Canada, a farmer by occupation, 
and his death occurred in his native land 
in 1846, aged eighty years. His father, 
Louis Crevier, was born in St. Eustache, 
Canada, and died in ^Montreal, at eighty- 
three years, seven months of age. He was a 
man of powerful physique, a natural me- 
chanic, and a carpenter and boat builder by 
trade. He married Euphroisine Garcon, 
and among their children was Charles, of 
this review. 

Rev. Charles Crevier was educated in the 
Jesuit College, and was ordained a priest by 
Bishop Bourget, of Montreal, Canada, July 
21, 1867, at the age of twenty-eight years. His 
first appointment was as curate at Chateau- 
gay, Province of Quebec, where he served 
for ten months. The following two years 
he was chaplain of the Brothers of Charity 
of ^lontreal, in which capacity he rendered 
useful and efficient service. He made his 
first visit to Holyoke, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 20, 1870, when he spent a month as 
the guest of the late Rev. A. B. Dufresne, 
who was the first pastor of the Church of 
the Precious Blood. On November 28, 1870, 
Rev. Charles Crevier entered the Spring- 
field diocese and on January 4, 1871, was 
assigned to the pastorate of the French 
church at North Adams, Massachusetts, as 
a missionary and pastor of the first church 
there. His ability for organization and his 
spirit of leadership was noticeable, and dur- 
ing his stay in that town he organized par- 
ishes, Williamstown and Adams, also mis- 
sions in Pownal, North Pownal, Readsboro, 
Vermont, South Williamstown and Han- 



cock sprang up under his careful manage- 
ment. He was then appointed to the pas- 
torate of Indian Orchard, where he re- 
mained four years, and from there he was 
transferred to his present pastorate in Hol- 
yoke, September 7, 1890, which parish he 
has served faithfully and well for over 
twenty-seven years, his twenty-fifth anni- 
versary as rector being celebrated in a fit- 
ting manner. 

The Parish of the Church of the Precious 
Blood, a French-speaking congregation, is 
the oldest congregation of French Cana- 
dians in Holyoke or in the Springfield dio- 
cese. Prior to 1858 there were not many 
Canadian families in Holyoke, but in the 
year i860 quite a number of Canadians set- 
tled there, among whom was John St. Onge, 
who afterwards became a missionary to the 
Indians in the West. In 1869 the Canadians 
of Holyoke were numerous enough to re- 
quire the service of a priest of their own 
nationality, hence the parish of the Precious 
Blood was formed. Its first pastor was the 
Rev. A. B. Dufresne, the congregation at 
that time consisting of about five hundred 
people. A frame edifice was built that year 
on Cabot street, and on a Corpus Christi 
evening in May, 1874, during vesper ser- 
vices, a lighted candle set fire to the altaJ 
decorations, and almost immediately the en- 
tire interior of the church was in flames, 
and seventy-two people lost their lives. 
Later the present church of brick and stone, 
of the Gothic style of architecture, was 
erected, being dedicated June 3, 1878. This 
church is in the midst of a large tenement 
district, near some industral establishments. 
The number of people belonging to the par- 
ish is six thousand and seventy-six, and 
there are over a thousand boys and girls at- 
tending school, in charge of twenty-five Sis- 
ters of St. Anne. The present school build- 
ing was opened on September 18, 1894. 
Father Crevier also was the active factor in 
the building of the rectory, one of the finest 



68 




f-9f-9h.^- 



''-y-xX'^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the diocese. The following curates assist 
Father Crevier in his work : Rev. J. Hor- 
ace Gelineau, Rev. Hormisdas Remy and 
the Rev. W. J. Chojuctte. On May 14, 
1867, Father Dufresne, the first pastor of 
the church, who built the convent, died ; he 
was succeeded by the Rev. H. O. Landry, 
who was instrumental in building the con- 
vent. He died in 1890, and in that year 
was succeeded by Rev. Charles Crevier. 

Among the larger works for which the 
Rev. Father Crevier has received much 
praise was the establishment in the diocese 
of the Assumption College. His efforts in 
bringing the fathers of the French Cana- 
dian College here being incidental to the lo- 
cating of the College at Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. His vigorous participation in 
movements for the advancement of the 
French-American citizens of Holyoke and 
the interest he has taken in civic move- 
ments, aflfecting not only his parish, but the 
city-at-large, has won for him great com- 
mendation. In addition to his large pastor- 
ate, which he faithfully manages, there be- 
ing many improvements in the church, rec- 
tory, convent and schools during his incum- 
bency as rector, the Rev. Father Crevier 
derives considerable pleasure from his farm, 
which he personally supervises. At the 
present time (1917), despite his advanced 
age, he is a well preserved man, sturdy of 
body and keen of mind. 



WAGNER, Frederick William, 

Well Knovrn Resident of Holyoke. 

From a very small beginning the G. Haar- 
mann Company, Incorporated, of Holyoke, 
has grown to be a corporation of import- 
ance in the business world and their plant 
for the manufacture of structural steel a 
veritable hive of industry. Frederick W. 
Wagner, director, vice-president and super- 
intendent, has been the managing head of 
the business for several years and the suc- 



cess of the company is an indication of his 
managerial ability. He is a son of Herman 
Wagner, born in Zeitz, Saxony, Germany, 
in 1830, died in Passaic, New Jersey, Au- 
gust II, 1896. 

Herman Wagner was proprietor of a 
brick yard when the Franco-Prussian War 
of 1870 was raging, but the effects of that 
war were disastrous to his business, and 
also cost him the life of his brother who 
was killed in battle. In 1882 Herman Wag- 
ner came to the United States, locating in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where for a time 
he was employed in the paper mills. Later 
he moved to Passaic, New Jersey, where 
until his death he was an employee of the 
cotton and woolen mills. He married Pau- 
line Harich, born in Zeitz, Saxony, in 1830, 
died in Passaic, New Jersey, in 1896. They 
were the parents of four children: Robert; 
Frederick W., of further mention; Anna, 
married Clemens Mengel ; Bertha, married 
Herman Lubold. 

Frederick W. Wagner was born in Gera, 
Germany, April 19, 1865. He was educated 
in the schools of Leipsic, which he attended 
until 1883. He was employed in a piano 
factory up to his coming to the United 
States in 1882, following his parents six 
months after they came here. He joined 
the family in Holyoke, and his residence 
in that city has been continuous since that 
time. For fifteen years after his arrival he 
was employed in the Excelsior Paper Mills, 
then for seven years w^as engaged in the 
painting business. In 1898 he became as- 
sociated with Gustav Haarmann in the G. 
Haarmann Company, Incorporated, a cor- 
poration devoted to the manufacture of 
structural steel. See sketch of G. Haarmann 
elsewhere in this work. Mr. Wagner was 
elected a member of the first board of di- 
rectors, and by them chosen vice-president 
and appointed superintendent of the com- 
pany. Since accepting that trust he has de- 
voted himself entirely to the interests ot 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the company, and has seen it grow most sat- 
isfactorily under his management. He is 
a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and of other organizations, 
fraternal and social. 

Mr. Wagner married, July 25, 1886, 
Anna Frenzel, of Forste Sicilia, Germany, 
daughter of Emanuel Frenzel. They are 
the parents of two children: i. Lena, born 
March 18, 1887; married Adolph MuUer, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts, they the 
parents of Dorothy and Winfred MuUer. 
2. Paul, born April 15, 1889, a structural 
steel worker, employed with his father ; 
married, in 191 3, Sarah Palmer, of South 
Brewer, Maine. 



MAUER, William August, 

Representative Citizen. 

Mannheim, Germany, the ancestral home 
of the Mauers, was at the time of the 
birth of William A. Mauer, in 1857, a city 
of 35,000 population, but now numbers 
200,000. The Mauers spring from one 
of the best families of Mannheim, and 
many of the name have held distinguished 
positions. William A. Mauer was the first 
of his direct line to come to the United 
States, he landing in New York, in April, 
1881, coming directly to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, where he has since been continu- 
ously connected with the Germania Mills, 
beginning as clerk, now is manager, assist- 
ant treasurer and director. He is a son 
of Johann Peter Mauer, and a grandson 
of Johann Peter Mauer, born in Mannheim, 
Duchy of Baden, Germany, a grain and pro- 
duce merchant, who died in his native 
Mannheim in the prime of his life. He 
married Eva Schmidt, of Mannheim, and 
their children were: Casper, Johann Pe- 
ter (2), Maria, Julia, George, Babette and 
Caroline, all deceased. 

Johann Peter (2) Mauer was born in 
Mannheim, Germany, in 1820, and died 



there in 1877. He, like his father, was a 
grain and produce merchant. He was a sol- 
dier. He married Caroline Josephine 
Boehm, born in 1826, died in 1900, daugh- 
ter of Franz and Josephine (Brug) Boehm, 
of Lachen, Rhenish Bavaria. They were 
the parents of three sons and two daugh- 
ters: Franz, deceased; William August, 
of further mention; George, deceased; 
Babette ; Anna, married Max Krazer. 

William August Mauer was born in 
Mannheim, Germany, December 28, 1857, 
and there and in Offenburg High School 
was educated. Under the iron clad Ger- 
man rule of compulsory military service, 
he was drawn at the age of twenty and 
spent two years in continuous service. For 
four years after coming to this country he 
was employed in the paper mills, beginning 
in lowly office position and constantly ad- 
vancing until reaching his present position 
of trust and authority, manager, assistant 
treasurer and director. Mr. Mauer mar- 
ried, December 11, 1889, Martha Slaight 
Clarke, born May 23, 1866, daughter of 
John Stobbs and Emily Butler (Slaight) 
Clarke, of Staten Island, New York. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mauer are the parents of: Dor- 
othy Alice Kessler, and George Mauer, 
born September 22, 1892, educated in Hol- 
yoke High School, Virginia Military Insti- 
tute, Stanton, Virginia, and University of 
Pennsylvania, now assistant to his father in 
the Germania Mills. 

Martha Slaight (Clarke) Mauer, wife of 
William A. Mauer, is a great-granddaugh- 
ter of William Clarke, a farmer of Scot- 
land, a connection of the McPherson and 
Rutherford clans. William Clarke, mar- 
ried Margaret Thompson, and they were the 
parents of Rutherford Clarke, born in Jed- 
burg, Scotland, in 1808, came to the United 
States about 1830, after the death of his 
parents, and died at his home on Staten 
Island, New York, June 2, 1898, a farmer, 
later an undertaker. He married, in No- 



70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vember, 1828, Isabella Stobbs, born in Kel- 
so, near Edinburgh, Scotland, daughter of 
William and Margaret (Archer) Stobbs. 
They were the parents of Elizabeth, born in 
Scotland ; Margaret, William, Jane, all born 
at Three Rivers, Canada; Rutherford (2), 
born in New York, December 27, 1837; 
John Stobbs, of further mention ; Isabelle 
Thompson, born January 19, 1842. 

John Stobbs Clarke was born at Sailors 
Snug Harbor, a beautiful village on Staten 
Island, New York, April 11, 1840, died May 
8, 1 91 7. He was for many years an active 
business man, manager of a dyeing and a 
printing business in New York, manager of 
a cotton mill in Kentucky, and of a similar 
mill in Chester, Pennsylvania. He was lo- 
cated in different parts of the country, and 
wherever located found a good position 
awaiting him. He married Emily Butler 
Slaight, born January 16, 1837, at Port 
Richmond, Staten Island, died in 1909, 
daughter of Cortland Parker Butler Slaight, 
of Perth Amboy, New Jersey, and his wife 
Martha Biddle (Johnson) Slaight, daughter 
of Jacob and Elizabeth (Haughmont) John- 
son. The Slaights are of ancient Dutch 
family, early settlers on Staten Island. John 
Stobbs and Emily Butler (Slaight) Clarke 
were the parents of four sons and four 
daughters : Isabelle Leighton Clarke, born 
July II, 1864; Martha Slaight Clarke, mar- 
ried William A. Mauer ; William Walton 
Clarke, born August 31, 1867; Cortland 
Parker Clarke, born December 30, 1869; 
John Stobbs (2) Clarke, born November 
15, 1871 ; Rutherford Clarke, born De- 
cember 29, 1874; Emily Butler Clarke, born 
October 19, 1876; Ann Hermania Clarke, 
born October 20, 1879. 



GLEASON, Patrick Charles, 

Business Man. 

Patrick Charles Gleason, the well known 
proprietor of the Gleason Wet Wash Laun- 



dry in Holyoke, comes from Irish stock. 
His father, Patrick Gleason, was born in 
Ireland, in 1820, and in 1841, at the age of 
twenty-one years, came to the United 
States, settled in Burlington, Vermont, 
where he purchased a farm and devoted his 
after life to its cultivation and manage- 
ment. He married Bridget Kennedy, and 
they were the parents of eleven children, all 
born at the homestead farm, two of whom 
died in infancy, and the other children were 
as follows: John, deceased; Michael; 
Katherine ; Honora, deceased; Mary, de- 
ceased ; Thomas, deceased ; Patrick 
Charles, of further mention ; Elizabeth, de- 
ceased ; W' illiam. Patrick Gleason died in 
Burlington, Vermont, in 1904, aged eighty- 
four years, and the death of his wife also 
occurred at the Burlington farm in the same 
year, 1904, aged seventy-two years. 

Patrick Charles Gleason, fourth son of 
Patrick and Bridget (Kennedy) Gleason, 
was born on the old homestead at Burling- 
ton, Vermont, June 3, 1856. He w^as edu- 
cated in the public schools of that city. He 
then served an apprenticeship to the mould- 
er's trade at Winooski Falls, Vermont, mas- 
tering that trade and remaining there for 
seven years. After being employed at his 
trade in shops in Brightwood, Massachu- 
setts, and Hartford, Connecticut, he came 
to Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1884, this be- 
ing the city of his subsequent residence. 
The following eighteen months he was in 
the employ of the Holyoke Machine Com- 
pany. He was later employed at the Dean 
Steam Pump Works, now the Worthington 
Pump Works, for the long period of twen- 
ty-one years, and his services with this con- 
cern ended his connection with mill and 
foundry work. He decided to establish in 
business for himself, and after careful in- 
vestigation determined that there was an 
opening for a laundry such as he proposed 
to operate. The result finally was the 
Gleason Wet Wash Laundry, of which be 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



has been the capable head since 1910. In 
191 1 the present buildings were erected by 
Mr. Gleason, fitted up with the best of mod- 
ern laundry machinery, and here a prosper- 
ous business is conducted, the proprietor de- 
voting himself entirely to this enterprise, of 
which he is the financial head, and in which 
he is ably assisted by his sons, John H., 
Frederick J., William P. and Edward J. 
Gleason, the latter named being the manager 
of the laundry. 

Mr. Gleason married, December 24, 1882, 
Margaret Dolon, born at Lee, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James and Margaret 
(Clougher) Dolon. James Dolon was born 
in Ireland, about 1831, and died at Lee, 
Massachusetts, in 1881. He came to the 
United States in 1844, settled in Lee, and 
when war broke out between the North and 
South he enlisted in the Twenty-seventh 
Regiment, Massachusetts Infantry, and gave 
three years and four months honorable ser- 
vice to the defense of his adopted flag. His 
brother, Hugh Dolon, was also a Union sol- 
dier and at one time was confined in Lib- 
by Prison at Richmond, Virginia. James 
Dolon had two other brothers, Patrick and 
John, and a sister, Susan. Mr. and Mrs. 
James Dolon were the parents of five daugh- 
ters: Catherine, deceased; Margaret, afore- 
mentioned as the wife of Mr. Gleason ; 
Mary, who became the wife of Lawrence 
Cavanaugh ; Helen, unmarried, resides in 
Holyoke; Frances, also unmarried, resides 
in Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. Gleason are the 
parents of four sons and a daughter : John 
Henry, born July 13, 1884, married Julia 
Fountain ; Frederick Joseph, born Febru- 
ary 24, 1886; William Patrick, born Au- 
gust I, 1888, married, September 15, 1915, 
Jeannette Mclntyre, and has a daughter, 
Gertrude, born September 23, 1916, the 
fourth generation in the United States ; Ed- 
ward James, born September 14, 1890; 
Frances May, born August 15, 1898. 



SOLIN, Jacob, 

Merchant. 

The success which has attended the busi- 
ness life of Jacob Solin, of Holyoke, has 
come through the exercise of those old prin- 
ciples, energy, industry, frugality and good 
judgment. 

Jacob Solin is a grandson of Meyer So- 
lin, and a son of Abraham Solin, born in 
Augustine, Russian Poland, in 1839, and 
there died in 1909. He was a miller, do- 
ing custom grinding for the neighborhood, 
and the flour made for himself was con- 
verted into bread and pastry in his own 
ovens, for he was a baker and conducted 
both his lines of business very successfully 
until his death. His wife. Tela Ida Solin, 
died in 1914, after the outbreak of the Eu- 
ropean war in August, the first shock of 
that cruel happening hastening if not caus- 
ing her death. Children : Meyer, in Europe ; 
Mina, deceased; Mary, in Europe; Mark; 
Jacob, of further mention; William, Mich- 
ael, Samuel, Baley, in Europe. 

Jacob Solin was born in Augustine, Rus- 
sian Poland, in September, 1873. He ob- 
tained his education in the state schools of 
Augustine, and until sixteen years of age 
worked in his father's mill and bakery. In 
1889 he came to the United States, but after 
a few months returned to his home and 
again became his father's assistant, contin- 
uing as such until 1893. In that year he 
again came to the United States, located 
in New Bedford, Massachusetts, and for 
one year was there employed in a mill. He 
was next in Boston for a few years, em- 
ployed by Jacob Rosen, a groceryman. In 
1897, he located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, there opening a five and ten cent store 
with his brother, Mark Solin, as partner. 
For one year they conducted a store at No. 
385 Main street, Jacob then withdrawing, 
and in 1898 he opened a grocery store on 
Lyman street. That business he has de- 



72 




^■X .^f^^Oj 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



veloped and continued until the present, op- 
erating it most successfully and profitably. 
He is a director of the Realty Trust Com- 
pany, and as his profits have accrued from 
his business they have been invested and re- 
invested in Holyoke real estate, improved 
and unimproved, until he is an extensive 
owner of tenements and blocks. He is a 
member of Connecticut Valley Lodge, No. 
28, Knights of Pythias ; is a Republican in 
his political belief, and a member of Raid- 
phey Sholem Jewish Synagogue, Holyoke, 
and also a member of the Independent Or- 
der of B.'Fnai Brith, Holyoke Lodge, No. 

745- 

Mr. Solin married, February, 1899, Fan- 
nie Kronick, born in Russia, daughter of 
Jacob and Sarah Kronick. Mr. and Mrs. 
Solin are the parents of : Morris, born Jan- 
uary II, 1904; Lena, December 15, 1905; 
Abner, November 26, 1908; Sarah, 1910; 
Nathan, May 11, 1913; Leo, July, 1914; 
Tela Ida, September 4, 191 5. 



GRADY, Frederick, 

Musician. 

Frederick Grady, of Holyoke, at the 
present time (1917) the leader of the Hol- 
yoke City Band, is a man young in years, 
but old in experience and training along 
■musical lines. 

James Grady, grandfather of Frederick 
'Grady, was born in County Limerick, Ire- 
land, and on attaining manhood emigrated 
to the United States, settling in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, where he was employed by 
the Holyoke Manufacturing Company. 
He married, in Ireland, Bridget Quirk, 
also a native of County Limerick, 
Ireland, and they were the parents of two 
sons : Henry, and Thomas, mentioned be- 
low. James Grady was a well known mu- 
sician, not only playing the flute but many 
"wind instruments. 

Thomas Grady, son of James and Bridget 



Grady, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. He was educated in the public schools 
of that city, and later learned the trade of 
moulder, which he followed throughout the 
active years of his life. He inherited a love 
for music from his father, and is credited 
with having introduced clog dancing into 
this section. He was a man of very genial 
disposition, a born entertainer, and his pres- 
ence was always heartily welcomed at social 
gatherings. Mr. Grady married Ellen Han- 
Ion, born in St. John, New Brunswick, 
daughter of John Hanlon, a native of Ire- 
land, a stone mason by trade, who emigrat- 
ed to New Brunswick, Canada, from whence 
he removed to New Hampshire, and about 
1859 took up his residence in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. His wife's maiden name 
was Cathrine Hanley. Mr. and Mrs. Grady 
were the parents of the following named 
children : Henry J., an iron worker of Ho- 
boken. New Jersey; Frederick, mentioned 
in the following paragraph ; Esther, who 
became the wife of James Cook, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts ; and Florence, died in 
infancy. It is sad to record that while 
still a young man, Thomas Grady, the fath- 
er of these children, came to his death by 
drowning, due to the upsetting of a boat on 
July 4, 1878, and that his widow survived 
him seven years, passing away in 1885, in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts. 

Frederick Grady, son of Thomas and El- 
len (Hanlon) Grady, was born November 
10, 1875, ""* Holyoke, Massachusetts. He 
attended the schools of West Springfield, 
Springfield and Whitinsville, also studying 
under private instructors. After the death 
of his mother he lived for a time with an 
uncle in Springfield, and later was received 
into the family of an uncle in Whitinsville. 
As a boy, Mr. Grady developed a genius for 
music, studying instrumental music. Pos- 
sessing a musical nature, he early identified 
himself with things musical, blowing the or- 
gan in church, singing in the choir, car- 



73 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



rying the drum and playing the cymbals in 
the band. He finally decided to become the 
master of the slide trombone, and devoted 
all of his spare time to become thoroughly 
proficient on this instrument. While at 
Whitinsville, Mr. Grady played in the band. 
In July, 1895, he entered upon his first pro- 
fessional engagement, becoming a member 
of the National Soldiers' Home Band of 
Togus, Maine, a band which it is said has 
been one of the greatest schools for mu- 
sicians in this country. There were twenty- 
five pieces in this band, which played an en- 
tire change of program each day and re- 
hearsed every morning. Mr. Grady has 
hundreds of these programs in his posses- 
sion. In addition to these concerts, it was 
customary to play at the funerals of all sol- 
diers, of which hundreds occurred while Mr. 
Grady was associated with the band at this 
home. In addition to these this band played 
a number of other engagements, among 
which might be mentioned the Great 
Knights Templar parade in Boston, and al- 
so the reception given to the Atlantic or 
White Squadron at the Cumberland Club 
at Portland, Maine. 

At the request of the Cleveland Wheel 
Band, Mr. Grady next went to Westfield, 
Massachusetts, where he also opened a 
store carrying bicycles, picture frames and 
art goods, and in addition to his duties as 
band leader and instructor of the Westfield 
Band, he led two other bands and also 
played in various orchestras in Springfield. 
After some years, he sold out his business 
in order to devote his time exclusively to 
his profession. His fame at this time and 
his proficiency on the trombone had become 
established, and he was solicited by the 
leaders of the various bands to take the 
position of trombone soloist, and at diflferent 
times, for some years, he occupied this po- 
sition with Liberati's Band, Short's Ameri- 
can Band, Second Regiment Massachusetts 
cester, Carl Edouarde's well known band of 



Fairman's Boston Concert Band, Gartland's 
Band of Albany, Battery B Band of Wor- 
cester, Carl Edouarde's well known band of 
New York, now playing at the Strand The- 
atre in New York City, and the Governor's 
Foot Guard Band of Hartford, Connecticut. 
While playing with the latter named 
band, they attended the St. Louis Fair, 
accompanying the Governor as the rep- 
resentative of the State of Connecti- 
cut, on Connecticut Day, and remained 
there some days. Leaving there their 
next engagement was at Chattanooga, 
Tennessee, where they furnished the mu- 
sic for the dedication of a monument 
erected to the Connecticut Soldiers on Or- 
chard Knob. He was also a member for 
two seasons of the Auditorium and Grand 
Theatre orchestras at Springfield, a mem- 
ber for one season at Morrison's Theatre, 
Rockaway Beach, New York, a member for 
four seasons with the Colonial Orchestra of 
New York, and played for four summer 
seasons at Mountain Park Casino, Holyoke. 
Mr. Grady has also played at a large num- 
ber of special engagements with numerous 
organizations all over the New England and 
the Eastern states. Among these may be 
mentioned the official notification and recep- 
tion to the late Vice-President Sherman at 
his home and on the golf links at Utica,. 
New York, and at the exercises attending, 
the opening of the Hudson Tube, New 
York City, at which Mr. McAdoo, the 
builder of these tubes, was the central fig- 
ure. Mr. Grady was a member of the band 
that played at the summer home at Worth- 
ington, Massachusetts, of the Rev. Russell 
Conwell, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the 
founder of the Conwell Academy at Worth- 
ington, and he has also played for Ex-Pres- 
ident Roosevelt. 

In 1906, Mr. Grady was induced by Mr- 
Murray, manager of the Empire Theatre,, 
to locate in Holyoke, Massachusetts, whicK 
city has since been his home. Here his in- 



74 




C^&^^^t-^fc-*'.'-— ^L>0^^^^-^^-e>^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fluence has been felt in musical circles. He 
is the leader of the Holyoke City Band, 
which ranks among the best in Western 
Massachusetts, if not in the State, also of 
Grady's Orchestra, and was for a time the 
leader of the Suffolk Theatre Orchestra, 
but now of the Bijou Theater Orchestra. It 
is hardly necessary to say that during all 
these years Mr. Grady has improved every 
opportunity to increase his knowledge of 
music along all lines. In addition to his oth- 
er duties, he is an instructor in the art of 
performing on brass instruments, a teacher 
of harmony, and also a writer and composer 
to such an extent as his limited time will al- 
low. Mr. Grady has taken an active inter- 
est in musical organizations, and is a char- 
ter member of the Westfield Musical Union, 
and also of the New York Musicians' 
Union. He is also a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men. 

Mr. Grady married, June ii, 1895, Mary 
Curran, born in Whitinsville, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James and Sarah (Bless- 
ington) Curran. They are the parents of 
two sons: i. Frederick Blessington, born 
March 6, 1896, at Togus Springs, town of 
Chelsea, Maine ; graduate of Holyoke High 
School, later attended Gushing Academy, 
and now (1917) in his senior year at Tufts 
Dental College. 2. Henry Harold, born 
September 17, 1899, i" Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts; attended Holyoke High School, 
and is now a junior in the Rosary High 
School. 



BOSBACH, Hermann, 

Business Man. 

As proprietor of the Mt. Tom French 
Dry Cleaning Works of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, Mr. Bosbach is known all over 
New England, his model establishment at- 
tracting trade from far and near. He first 
came to Holyoke in 1895, but did not long 
remain, and it was not until 1906 that he be- 



came a permanent resident and not until 
1909 that he established his present busi- 
ness. He is a son of Julius Bosbach, born 
in Huekswagen, Germany, in 1839, and 
there died in 1893, a finisher of woolen 
cloth. He married Rosa Winkhoff, who is 
yet residing in Germany, daughter of Dan- 
iel and Christina (Zeib) Winkhoff. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bosbach were the parents of five 
children : Emma, married Nicholas Koff- 
man, has three children, Joseph E., Rosa, 
Gertrude, and resides in Germany ; Her- 
mann, of further mention ; Emil Monk, in 
Austria ; Ernst, deceased ; Ewald, living 
in Germany. 

Hermann Bosbach was born in Hueks- 
wagen, Germany, December 27, 1868, and 
there was educated in the state schools. He 
learned his father's trade, cloth finisher, 
and worked in German mills until 1895, 
when he came to the United States and set- 
tled in Holyoke, Massachusetts. He found 
employment as a finisher in the Germania 
Mills, continuing in their employ for six and 
a half years. In 1902 he went to the Co- 
checo Mill at East Rochester, New Hamp- 
shire, and after a year there made a visit 
to his home in Germany, and on his return 
to the United States spent a short time in 
a mill at Passaic, New Jersey. From Pas- 
saic he journeyed to the Pacific, there re- 
maining until the San Francisco earthquake 
and fire, working at his trade in Santa Rosa, 
also San Jose and San Francisco. The dis- 
aster of April, 1906, wrecked the mill in 
which he was employed, and he with many 
many others returned East, Mr. Bosbach 
again locating in Holyoke, May 30, 1906, 
and securing employment with his old em- 
ployers at the Germania Mills, continuing 
there until 1909. 

In 1908 he began a small dry cleaning 
business in connection with his work at the 
mill, and so popular did his little plant 
become that in 1909 he gave up his position 
at the mill to devote his entire time to it. 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In 1910 he built his first plant and as the 
Mt. Tom French Dry Cleaning Works made 
a strong bid for patronage. The public 
responded liberally, and in 191 5 he rebuilt 
and enlarged his plant, now occupying two 
stories of a building 100x25 feet. The 
works being fitted up with every modern 
improvement in the dry cleaning processes, 
is a model of neatness and efficiency, 
attracting business from all over the New 
England States. Mr. Bosbach is a master 
of his business and has won the confidence 
of the public by his admirable methods and 
superior work. He has built up a large 
business and uses two trucks to collect 
goods all over the section. He has the only 
French dry cleaning establishment in the 
city. The specialties of the works are Lace, 
Evening and Opera Gowns, also all kinds 
of Ladies' and Gentlemen's wearing apparel. 
They have the latest improved method of 
dry cold air storage for furs and garments ; 
they insure against any damage for the sea- 
son, three per cent, on the value fixed by the 
customer. Their work stands for quality. 
Mr. Bosbach is a member of the National 
Association of Dyers & Cleaners of the 
United States and Canada, Massachusetts 
Association of Dyers & Cleaners, the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
of the Catholic Order of Foresters. 

Mr. Bosbach married, May 11, 1895, Ber- 
tha Steapgeshofif, born in Leunap, Germany, 
daughter of Albert and Julia (Balore) 
Steapgeshofif. They are the parents of three 
children, the first two born in Holyoke, the 
youngest in Santa Rosa, California : Rosa, 
born May 13, 1896; Albert, January 30, 
1898, Hermann (2), March 7, 1906. 



DESROSIERS, Napoleon, 

Merchant. 

In 1902 Mr. Desrosiers purchased from 
the widow of his former partner, Frank Oc- 
to, her interest in the business which her 



husband and Mr. Desrosiers had conducted 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1882, under 
the firm name Frank Octo & Company, Six- 
teen years have elapsed since the senior 
partner was removed from the firm by the 
hand of death, but the firm name has never 
changed and as Frank Octo & Company, 
Mr. Desrosiers continues the business in 
which he joined ]\Ir. Octo thirty-five years 
ago, and together conducted harmoniously 
and profitably for nineteen years. The store 
is one of Holyoke's centres of trade, and 
from its delivery department, house fur- 
nishings of every description flow in con- 
tinuous procession. 

IMr. Desrosiers is a son of Joseph Desro- 
siers, and a grandson of Narcisse Desro- 
siers, who lived and died in Canada, a far- 
mer, who had sons, Pierre, John Baptiste, 
Francis, Joseph and Narcisse. Joseph Des- 
rosiers was born in Joliet, Province of Que- 
bec, Canada, eighteen miles from the city 
of Montreal, and died in 1906, aged eighty- 
two years. He spent his life engaged in 
agriculture and was the owner of a good 
farm. He married La Rosa Malo, also born 
in Joliet, and they were the parents of the 
following sons and daughters : Joseph, a 
farmer, in Winifred, Canada ; Odilon ; 
Napoleon, of further mention ; Arsene, 
deceased ; Noe, deceased ; Octave, a farmer 
of St. Paul, Canada ; Agnes, married Cyr 
Laune, deceased ; Celena, married Joseph 
Mandeville, of Holyoke, IMassachusetts ; 
Philomen, residing in Holyoke. 

Napoleon Desrosiers was born in Joliet, 
Quebec, Canada, March 8, 1854, and there 
and at St. Paul obtained his education. Af- 
ter completing his studies he learned the 
tinsmith's trade, serving a three years' ap- 
prenticeship in Montreal, that city being 
eighteen miles distant from his home in Jo- 
liet. At the age of twenty-one he came to 
the United States, there found ready em- 
ployment at his trade, and for seven years 
he followed tinsmithing in its various 



7^ 



rm 



KE]^' 



YORK 



™^^'C UBKARvf 



>rG>, 



"'^^A -IONS J 




\J^/t?€^ 



7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



branches, carefully investing his savings 
and awaiting an opportunity to enter busi- 
ness life for himself. His opportunity came 
in 1882, when he was offered a partnership 
with Frank Octo, who was conducting a 
furniture store devoted to the sale of house 
furnishing goods. They began business to- 
gether the same year at No. 71 High street, 
Holyoke, in the Octo Building, and for nine- 
teen years the partners, trading as Frank 
Octo & Company, did a profitable busi- 
ness, dealt fairly with all and were highly 
esteemed as honorable, upright merchants. 
In 1901 the firm was dissolved by the death 
of Mr. Octo, but the business was continued 
by Mr. Desrosiers, he purchasing Mrs. Oc- 
to's equity. The business located at No. 71 
High street is still the prosperous firm of 
old, and under Mr. Desrosiers the same 
careful attention is paid to every customer, 
great or small, integrity is the keynote of 
the management, and every department re- 
flects the spirit and high purpose of the 
owner. 

Mr. Desrosiers married, in July, 1882, 
Eloide LaMarche, of St. John, Quebec, 
Canada, daughter of Joseph and Julia (For- 
est) LaMarche. Mrs. Desrosiers died in 
1895, leaving two daughters: Eva, deceas- 
ed ; and Rosealba, residing with her father 
at the Holyoke home. 



VOGEL, Frank, 

Real Estate Operator. 

Frank Vogel, a representative citizen of 
Holyoke, is numbered among those who by 
dint of perseverance and rigid economy 
have demonstrated what it is possible to ac- 
complish. He is the seventh generation of 
Vogels of record bearing the name of 
"Frank." His great-grandfather and his 
grandfather followed the occupation of nail 
makers in Alsace-Lorraine, and his father, 
also Frank Vogel, was born and died in 
Alsace-Lorraine. He was a gardener by 



occupation, w^as the owner of vineyards and 
made wine of excellent quality. He became 
a soldier in Napoleon's army at the age of 
sixteen years and served for twelve years, 
participating in the Crimean war, wounded 
at the battle of Sebastapool, and was an ac- 
tive participant in three other wars, receiv- 
ing for his bravery four medals. At the 
time of his honorable discharge he was serv- 
ing in the office of sergeant. He then ac- 
cepted a position with the mounted police of 
Paris and so continued for two years, after 
which he returned to his accustomed duties, 
gardening and taking care of his vineyards. 
He married Manama Kleindinst, of Alsace- 
Lorraine, and they were the parents of six 
children : Frank, Joseph, Mary, Francisca, 
Katherine, and Anna, who became the wife 
of Peter Grim ; she was killed by the ex- 
plosion of a shell in Alsace in the year 
1914. 

Frank Vogel, of this review, was born 
in Alsace-Lorraine, July 20, 1866. He ob- 
tained a practical education by attending the 
public schools of his native place until he 
was thirteen years of age and the high 
school the following year, and became thor- 
oughly proficient in the French and Ger- 
man languages. He then served an appren- 
ticeship of three years to the trade of ma- 
chinist in Alsace, and from the expiration 
of that time until he attained his majority 
worked as a journeyman in France and 
Switzerland. He was then compelled, by 
the order of the Emporer of Germany, to 
serve that country in the army and navy, 
and fourteen months later, when off duty on 
a furlough, in December, 1887, he escaped 
to the United States and thus ended his 
term of service. He took up his residence 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in January, 
1888, and has since resided there, gaining 
for himself a reputation as a man of indus- 
try, thrift and prudence. His first employ- 
ment in his adopted country was in the Hol- 
yoke Machine Shop, where he remained for 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thirteen years, and then entered the em- 
ploy of the American Thread Company, 
where he remained for nine years, discharg- 
ing his duties in both places in a manner 
satisfactory to his employers. In 1910 he 
entirely changed his line of business, devot- 
ing his time and attention to real estate 
transactions and erected a magnificent 
apartment house on Main street, Holyoke, 
and in addition to this he is the owner 
of several tenements and cottages, from 
which he derives a substantial income and 
to the care of which he devotes his time. 
He is punctual in his attendance at the ser- 
vices of the Sacred Heart Church, and 
holds membership in the Alsace-Lorraine 
Association and in several German societies 
including the Turn Verein. Mr. Vogel is 
genial and pleasant in manner and his uni- 
form courtesy and reliability have made 
him popular among all with whom he comes 
in contact, whether in business or social 
life. 

Mr. Vogel married (first) April 7, 1888, 
Fannie Mann, of Alsace, daughter of John 
Baptiste and Mary (Hoch) Mann. Mrs. 
Vogel died May 7, 1906. Mr. Vogel mar- 
ried (second) September 20, 1906, Oletta 
Vogt, born in Alsace-Loraine, daughter of 
Frank Anthony and Anna Barbara (Higy) 
Vogt. Children of first marriage : Frank 
L., born January 3, 1889, the eighth genera- 
tion in direct line bearing the name Frank; 
Esther, born September 6, 1902, and Ralph, 
born May 2, 1906. Child of second mar- 
riage : Ruth, born March 12, 1912. 



GRIFFIN, Rev. John Francis, 

Priest. 

Among the prominent Roman Catholic 
parishes of Holyoke is that of Our Lady of 
the Rosary, of which Rev. John Francis 
Griffin is pastor. Father Grififin is a native 
of the State of Massachusetts, a grandson 
of Jeremiah Griffin, an educated man, who 



78 



died in Ireland at an early age. He mar- 
ried Honora Moriarity, who came to Amer- 
ica after his death and lived in Belcher- 
town, Massachusetts, where she died. They 
had children : John, Catherine, Mary and 
Michael. 

Michael Griffin was born 1836, in County 
Kerry, Ireland, and died August 20, 1917, 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts. Owing to the 
early death of his father he was early com- 
pelled to earn his ow^n living, and his educa- 
tional opportunities were thereby limited. 
He attended school in his native land until 
twelve years of age, after which he was 
employed on a farm, at a wage of one dol- 
lar per year and his board. In 1850, at 
the age of fourteen years, he came to Amer- 
ica with his mother, locating at Belcher- 
town, Massachusetts, where he soon en- 
gaged in farming, and there reared a fam- 
ily of eight children, all of whom secured 
a high school education, and three of whom 
pursued college courses. In 1902 Mr. Grif- 
fin took up his residence in Holyoke, and 
since that time has been retired from active 
live, a typical representative of a class well 
known in his native countr^, high minded, 
active, energetic, Irish gentlemen. He mar- 
ried Margaret Houlihan. Her father, Pat- 
rick Houlihan, removed from Ireland to 
New Orleans, Louisiana, in an early 
day, later settled in Chicopee, where he 
spent the greater part of his life, but 
died in Belchertown in 1888 at ninety- 
five years of age. Children of Michael 
and Margaret Griffin: i. Michael A., born 
October 15, 1863, was pastor of the church 
of Our Lady of Hope at Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, at the time of his death, Febru- 
ary 4, 1910; it was said of him: "The 
dignity of his nature, the value of his life, 
and the importance of the station set for 
him in the ordinance of God, were ever the 
motives of his conduct, the animating prin- 
ciple of his career as a priest. His winning 
sweetness, his amiability of manner, and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the unfailing serenity of his character, an English speaking parish for the Catho- 



showed that around his soul was spread a 
mantle of divine peace. He was sagacious 
in counsel, invaluable in friendship, and his 
heart was a treasure house of trust and con- 
fidence. His charity was patterned on that 
of Christ, his love of the poor was intense." 
2. Jeremiah. 3. John Francis. 4. Mary, a 
sister of charity. 5. Patrick. 6. James, de- 
ceased. 7. Johanna, wife of Dr. E. T. 
Sullivan, of Holyoke. 

Rev. John Francis Griffin was born 
March 27, 1869, in Belchertown, and in boy- 
hood attended the public schools and high 
school of that town. He was subsequently 
a student at Brimfield Academy and the 
University at Ottawa, Canada. After five 
years of study in St. John's Seminary at 
Brighton, Massachusetts, he took a post- 
graduate course of two years in the Cath- 
olic University in Washington, D. C, and 
was ordained to the priesthood in Spring- 
held, Massachusetts, September 24, 1898. 
After this thorough preparation, Father 
Griffin was eminently qualified to enter upon 
the labors of the priesthood, and his efforts 
have been successful and of great benefit 
to the church. Since 1900 he has been con- 
nected wath the Church of Our Lady of 
the Rosary in Holyoke and following the 
death of Father Fitzgerald, in 191 1, has 
been at the head of the parish. Its great 
affairs have been ably managed by him, 
and in his seventeen years of labor he has 
become greatly endeared to those people 
who call the Church of the Rosary their 
spiritual home. In connection with the 
church is maintained a school, whose up- 
building has been one of the favorite am- 
bitions of the pastor, and of whose w^ork 
he may very justly be proud. The parish 
is in the eastern part of Holyoke, in Ward 
One, and was formed by setting ofif a part 
of St. Jerome's parish and a small portion 
of the Sacred Heart parish. In March, 
1886, it was deemed desirable to establish 



lies of the locality, and Rev. Michael J. 
Howard was placed in charge by Bishop 
O'Reilly, March 26 of that year. The old 
Second Baptist Church of Holyoke, which 
stood just south of the present Water Pow- 
er Company's office at the junction of Main 
and Race streets, was first employed 
as a house of worship by the new par- 
ish, and the first mass was celebrated 
there on Passion Sunday, April 11, 1886. 
In the following year a lot was purchased, 
bounded by Mosher, West Ely and Centre 
streets, and the erection of a church begun. 
The basement was ready for occupancy on 
August 26, 1888, when the church was 
dedicated. Less than a month later the be- 
loved pastor, Father Howard, passed away, 
and he was succeeded by Rev. Dr. Thomas D. 
Beaven, formerly of Spencer, Massachu- 
setts. After four years of service, he was 
appointed Bishop of Springfield by Pope 
Leo XIII., and the parish was placed under 
a new rector. Father Howard's body was 
laid to rest near the entrance to the church 
he built. When the Rosary parish was first 
organized, it included eighteen hundred 
souls, and now it ministers to approximately 
three thousand. The church auditorium has 
a seating capacity of one thousand one hun- 
dred and twenty, and the basement about the 
same number. The school serves more than 
eight hundred pupils, and is in charge of 
twenty Sisters of St. Joseph. Four masses 
are celebrated here each Sunday, and the 
pastor is assisted by Rev. James A. Lahey 
and Rev. J. D. Sullivan as curates. The 
parish is one of the most progressive in the 
State, has recently purchased a moving pic- 
ture machine, and provides weekly enter- 
tainments in the school hall. The section 
served by this church is almost wholly oc- 
cupied by factories and tenement houses. 
The value of the church, which is of brick, 
with the land accompanying, is $52,640. Its 
pastor is imbued with the true spirit of his 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



calling, is energetic and industrious, ever 
striving to benefit those in his charge, and 
is deservedly popular, both in his own con- 
gregation, in the church at large, and as a 
citizen of Holyoke. 



HUNTER, Roy John, 

Business Man. 

Two generations of Hunters have con- 
ducted a harness and saddlery business in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, John T. Hunter 
the founder, who learned the trade with his 
father, Thomas Hunter, in Canada, and 
Roy J. Hunter, son of John T. Hunter, 
who succeeded his father and is now head 
of the business known as Roy J. Hunter, 
long known under the firm name John T. 
Hunter & Son. 

Thomas Hunter was brought from his 
native Tyrone county, Ireland, by his par- 
ents when a child of three years. His 
parents settled in Huntingdon, Canada, on 
coming from Ireland, and there he was edu- 
cated in the public schools and learned the 
saddler's trade. After becoming an expert 
workman he was employed for some time in 
Malone and Bangor, New York, then re- 
turned to Huntingdon, Canada, and estab- 
lished a harness making business which he 
successfully conducted until his death, Au- 
gust 29, 1899, at sixty-five years of age. 
He was a man highly respected, and for 
many years was prominent in St. John's 
Episcopal Church which he served as war- 
den. He was one of the old time residents 
of Huntingdon, and when finally laid at rest 
in the churchyard of the church he had 
served so long a large number came to pay 
their last tribute of respect. He married 
Martha Fulton, born in Belfast, Ireland, 
died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in Septem- 
ber, 191 3, daughter of George and Mar- 
garet Fulton. Thomas and Martha Hunter 
were the parents of nine sons and daugh- 
ters: Mary, born January 3, 1852, mar- 



ried Clinton Smith; John T., of further 
mention ; Margaret, born June 3, 1856, mar- 
ried Robert Fortune ; Fannie, born May 
23, 1858, married Daniel E. Sparks ; George, 
born November 27, 1859; Thomas, born 
March 13, 1862; Charles, born March 15, 
1864; William, born July 9, 1866; Martha, 
born July 3, 1869. Martha (Fulton) Hunt- 
er married (second) Nathan Spanow, and 
they were the parents of : John, Jonathan, 
William, Fannie, Elizabeth and Charles 
Spanow. 

John T. Hunter, son of Thomas and 
Martha (Fulton) Hunter, was born at 
Sand Bank Hollow, New York, May 25, 
1854, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
in May, 1912. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, and was taught the harness 
maker's trade by his father and was in his 
employ in Huntingdon, Canada, for several 
years. Later he came to the United States, 
located in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
there established a saddlery and harness 
making business which he successfully con- 
ducted until his death. He married Delia 
A. Goddard, and they were the parents of 
four children : Charles E., deceased ; Wil- 
lis C. ; Lelia May, married William Mc- 
Donald; and Roy John, of further men- 
tion. 

Roy John Hunter, youngest child of John 
T. and Delia A. (Goddard) Hunter, was 
born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, August 24, 
1885. He was educated in the graded and 
high schools of the city, and until 1909 was 
employed in the milk business, later in the 
grocery trade, continuing in the latter line 
four years. He then became associated 
with his father and learned the saddlery 
business under his capable direction. He 
was admitted as a partner, the firm name 
then being changed to John T. Hunter & 
Son. When John T. Hunter died in 191 2, 
the son succeeded to the business, and the 
firm name became Roy J. Hunter, and as 
such he has since conducted it alone. He is 



80 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



an energetic, progressive, and one of the 
successful young business men of his city. 
A member of William Whitney Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Holyoke Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows; the 
Elmwood Club, and in religious connection 
affiliates with the First Baptist Church. He 
is interested in work among the young and 
serves the Sunday school of the church as 
superintendent. 

Mr. Hunter married, June i8, 1913, Ma- 
bel E. Curtis, daughter of Thomas and 
Harriet (Rick) Curtis. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hunter are the parents of a daughter, Dor- 
is Isabelle, born April 23, 1914, and a son, 
Kenneth Roy, born March 17, 1916. 



MORTON, Arthur Henry, 

Agriculturist. 

Arthur Henry Morton, now deceased, 
was for many years one of the well known 
•and successful agriculturists of Smith's Fer- 
ry, carrying on the old Smith Farm of near- 
ly two hundred and fifty acres, located on 
the banks of the Connecticut river, the fer- 
ry at this point having been operated by an 
ancestor of Mrs. Morton, who before her 
marriage was Miss Smith. 

Arthur Henry Morton was of Eng- 
lish ancestry, his grandfather, William Rob- 
inson Morton, having been born in England 
in 1799, where he resided until 1840, when 
believing there were better opportunities in 
the new world, he came to the United 

States. He married Elizabeth , born 

in 1798, in England, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children, all of whom, 
with the exception of the youngest, were 
born in England : Sarah, born June 24, 
1821, died September 4, 1882; William 
Winter, born November 19, 1824, died in 
1888; Charles, born August 15, 1827, died 
June 5, i860; Frank, born December 7, 
1830; John, born November 8, 1832; Hen- 
ry, of further mention ; Ann, born May 4, 
MASS.— >-6. 81 



1838, died in February, i860; and Joseph, 
born May 11, 1844. The father of the fam- 
ily died September 10, 1846, in Wethers- 
field, Connecticut, and the mother passed. 
away September 17, 1872. 

(II) Henry Morton, son of William Rob^ 
inson and Elizabeth Morton, was born June- 
7, 1835, in England, and was about five- 
years old when brought by his parents tO' 
the United States. He became a landscape 
gardener, carrying on his business in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut. Mr. Morton married, 
November 25, 1863, Abbie Daniels, of Hart- 
ford, born in 1842, and their children were: 
Arthur Henry, of further mention ; Joseph 
Hiram, born January 6, 1869 ; and Howard, 
born April 21, 1871, died August 12, 1872. 
Mrs. Morton passed away November 20, 
1872, at thirty years of age, her husband 
surviving her but two years, his death oc- 
curring June 23, 1874, at thirty-nine years 
of age. 

(HI) Arthur Henry Morton, son of Hen- 
ry and Abbie (Daniels) Morton, was born 
May 26, 1865, in Hartford, Connecticut, 
was left an orphan at nine years of age, 
and was placed in a home for children in 
Hartford, Connecticut, and later was re- 
ceived into the family of Mrs. Mary Wa- 
ters, of Smith's Ferry, a part of the town 
of Northampton, Massachusetts. There he 
received a good education, attending pub- 
lic school and later taking a business course 
in Child's Business College, Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. For five years he was em- 
ployed on the electric cars in Holyoke, but 
during the remainder of his life Mr. Mor- 
ton was engaged in farming. He resided 
on the homestead of his wife's family at 
Smith's Ferry, taking full charge of the 
farm which consisted of some thirty-five 
acres under tillage and about two hundred 
acres of mountain land. This farm, Mr. 
Morton conducted in a highly creditable 
manner, and he was regarded as one of the 
substantial and successful agriculturists of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the community where he was well and fa- 
vorably known. He was a most kind and 
affectionate husband and father. 

Mr. Morton married, March 14, 1889, 
Luthera J. Smith, whose family record is 
appended to this biography, and they be- 
came the parents of three children: Elsie 
May, born June 12, 1892, married Robert 
John Mundell, a plumber of Brattleboro, 
Vermont; Edith Marion, born October 17, 
1896; and Wilber Arthur, born December 
II, 1900, died July 26, 1901. Mr. Morton 
passed away on June 7, 1907, at the compa- 
ratively early age of forty-two. The be- 
reavement to his family and those many 
warmly attached friends who mourned his 
loss was very great. Faithful to every duty 
and best loved by those who knew him most 
intimately, Arthur Henry Morton left the 
impress upon the community of an example 
which might well be emulated. 
(The Smith Line) 

Mrs. Luthera J. (Smith) Morton, men- 
tioned previously as the wife of Arthur 
Henry Morton, represents one of the first 
settlers at what is known as Smith's Ferry. 
Her great-grandfather, Lewis Smith, was 
the pioneer of the family who settled there, 
and it was from him that the place derived 
its name. His patriotic motives were shown 
by his service in the War of the Revolution. 
The children of Lewis Smith were : Milo J., 
of further mention; Charles, Chester, 
Mary, Aserath, Eunice, Henry, Lewis, 
David. 

(II) Milo J. Smith, son of Lewis Smith, 
was born in 1808, at Smith's Ferry, then a 
part of Northampton, Massachusetts. He 
married Sally Street, and their children 
were: Milo L., of further mention; Sarah 
L., and Josephine A. The death of Mr. 
Smith occurred in August, 1884. 

(III) Milo L. Smith, son of Milo J. and 
Sally (Street) Smith, was born May 2, 
1832, at Smith's Ferry, in the town of 
Northampton, Massachusetts, and married 



Luthera Meekins. Their children were: 
Milo Wilbur, now living in Chico, Califor- 
nia ; Herbert T., deceased ; one who died in 
infancy; and Luthera J., of further men- 
tion. 

(IV) Luthera J. Smith, daughter of Milo 
L. and Luthera (Meekins) Smith, became 
the wife of Arthur Henry Morton, as stat- 
ed above. 



WRIGHT, James Franklin, 

Respected Citizen of Holyoke. 

There is no class of her citizens to whom 
our country is more deeply indebted than 
she is to those of Scottish birth and ances- 
try. The State of Massachusetts is no ex- 
ception to this rule and the town of Hol- 
yoke at present possesses, in the man whose 
name stands at the head of this article, a 
representatives Scottish-American. James 
Franklin Wright, who holds the position of 
superintendent for the Newton Paper Com- 
pany of Holyoke, Massachusetts, which po- 
sition he has held for twenty-seven years, 
is one of the well known and highly respect- 
ed men of that community. 

James Wright, father of James Franklin 
Wright, was born in Scotland, and passed 
his entire life in his native country. He was 
master of an Orange Lodge and a member 
of the Established Church. Mr. Wright 
married Ann Franklin, who was born in 
Glasgow, Scotland, and their children were : 
John ; Robert, deceased ; James Franklin, 
mentioned in next paragraph ; William, 
Annie, Agnes, and Andrew. All those now 
living, with the exception of James Frank- 
lin, are still in Scotland. James Wright, 
the father, died in 191 3, at the age of six- 
ty-seven, and in 191 5 his widow also passed 
away in her native land. 

James Franklin Wright, son of James 
and Ann (Franklin) Wright, was born Jan- 
uary 20, 1874, in Johnson, Scotland. He 
received his education in the schools of his 



82 



'"■^' '^B,^k' 



frj^ 







.^Jte^trif .yt. ^ucioj 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



native town, attending a half-day session 
and the remainder of the day working in a 
paper mill. When his school days were 
over he worked on full time. In 1889 Mr. 
Wright emigrated to the United States, set- 
tling in Holyoke, Massachusetts, accepting 
a position with the Newton Paper Company. 
With this concern he has ever since re- 
mained, gradually working his way up 
through successive positions of increasing 
responsibility to his present position, which 
for the last six years he has filled with ex- 
ceptional ability, that of superintendent of 
the mill. While never neglectful of his du- 
ties as a good citizen, Mr. Wright has been 
entirely too busy with the responsibilities 
of his position to take active part in poli- 
tics. He affiliates with William W'hiting 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and be- 
longs to the Caledonian Benefit Club, In- 
corporated. In religious belief, he is a 
Presbyterian and a trustee of the Presby- 
terian church. 

Mr. Wright married Susan, daughter of 
W. W^ and Ann (Robinson) Halliday, and 
they are the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Annie Elizabeth, married Henry Es- 
cott ; Ethel Elizabeth, wife of Robert Hahn ; 
James Howard ; Amy Grace ; and Vera 
Alice. Mrs. Wright, a native of Connec- 
ticut, is a w^oman of intelligence, excelling in 
the domestic virtues, and her husband is a 
man with whom the ties and obligations of 
home and family constitute always a gov- 
erning motive. James Franklin Wright is a 
true Scotsman and a loyal American. 



DUCLOS, Henry Hormide, 

Representative Citizen. 

Henry Hormide Duclos, a well known 
and highly esteemed resident of Holyoke, in 
which city he has made his home for many 
years, contributing to the best of his ability 
toward its welfare and development, is a 
native of Beloeil, Canada, born August 8, 



1866, son of Pierre and Elmira (Missin) 
Duclos. 

Pierre Duclos was born in the Province 
of Quebec, near Montreal, Canada, in 1854, 
on the farm of his maternal grandfather. In 
1872, at the age of eighteen years, realizing 
that the opportunities for advancementwere 
greater in the United States than in his na- 
tive land, he came thither and here spent 
the remainder of his days. He located in 
Webster, Massachusetts, and after a resi- 
dence there of eight or nine years removed 
to East Brookfield, where he resided for 
the following two years. He then changed 
his place of residence to Holyoke, where he 
was employed for many years in the mills, 
during which time he managed by dint of 
thrift and frugality to accumulate sufficient 
capital to engage in business on his own ac- 
count. He accordingly purchased the stock 
and good will of a store in South Holyoke, 
in the management of which he was highly 
successful, and later engaged in the same 
line of business in Elmwood, in which town 
he erected a house for the use of himself 
and family, his death occurring there, Au- 
gust 14, 1908, while yet in the prime of 
manhood. He married Elmira Missin, of 
Beloeil, Canada, and they were the parents 
of seven children : Angelina, Joseph, Phyl- 
lis, Amelia, Henry Hormide, Alexander and 
Elmira. 

Henry Hormide Duclos accompanied his 
parents to the United States, he being then 
but six years of age, and therefore almost 
his entire life has been spent in the State 
of Massachusetts. He attended the public 
schools of W^ebster, Massachusetts, and at 
the early age of ten years, when the major- 
ity of boys are devoting their entire atten- 
tion to the pursuit of knowledge and pleas- 
ure, he began assisting in the support of the 
family, entering one of the mills and there 
learning the trade of weaving, at which he 
became highly proficient. Subsequently he 
was employed in mills at Grosvenordale and 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



East Brookfield, where he performed his la- 
bor in a capable and efficient manner, win- 
ning the approbation of his superiors, and 
then became an employee of the Alpaca 
Mill at Holyoke, his service there extend- 
ing over a period of ten years, this fact elo- 
quently testifying to his fitness for the tasks 
allotted him and to his faithfulness in the 
discharge of them. The following five years 
he was engaged in the grocery business, and 
the following ten years was employed in the 
Skinner Silk Mill. In 191 3 he retired from 
active business pursuits, after many years 
of labor, during which time he laid aside 
from his earnings sufficient to purchase a 
block on Summer street, South Holyoke, of 
which he was the owner until 191 3, when he 
decided to build a block on Sergeant street, 
known as "The Homer," which was perfect 
and modern in every detail, and which cost 
about $60,000, and to the care of this he has 
ever since given his entire attention. Mr. 
Duclos holds membership in the Improved 
Order of Red Men, and was formerly a 
member of the Ancient Order of Foresters, 
in both of these organizations having proven 
himself an amiable associate and won and 
retained the esteem of all with whom he 
associated. 

Mr. Duclos married, June 8, 1885, Oliv- 
ian Lopoint, daughter of Charles and Caro- 
line (Beschamt) Lopoint, of Canada. She 
died July i, 1916. Their children are as fol- 
lows: I. Eveline, born June 9, 1886; be- 
came the wife of Eustace Belanger, and 
they are the parents of two children : Leo 
and Anita. 2. Homer, born April, 1890; 
married Eva Dill and they are the parents 
of one child, Hervey. 3. Eva DuUin, born 
August 13, 1891. 



DROUIN, Wilfred George, M. D., 
Physician. 

Dr. Wilfred George Drouin, of Holyoke, 
is a native of Valicourt, Province of Que- 



bec, Canada, born October 20, 1880, son of 
Francois Xavier and Sophia (Hamel) 
Drouin. Francois Xavier Drouin was one of 
seven children, all deceased, namely : Regis ; 
Septarian, killed at the battle of Gettysburg 
during the Civil War ; Joseph, who was a 
lieutenant-colonel in the Civil War, enlisted 
from Minnesota in the only regiment from 
that section of the North, and was wounded 
at the battle of Gettysburg, from the effects 
of which he died fifteen days later; Fran- 
cois Xavier, mentioned below ; Delima ; 
Catharine ; Mary. 

Francois Xavier Drouin was born in St. 
Anne des Plains, Province of Quebec, Can- 
ada, March 20, 1825, and died in Valicourt, 
Canada, June 8, 1897. After completing his 
studies in the schools of his native place, 
he turned his attention to agricultural pur- 
suits in his native land, owning at the time 
of his death some seven hundred acres of 
land, the greater part of which he cleared, 
located in Valicourt, he being among the 
first settlers of that town. He was a man 
of advanced ideas, progressive in his meth- 
ods, ever looking toward the improvement 
and welfare of the community, and was 
widely and favorably known as a man of 
enterprise and ability. He married Sophia 
Hamel, born in St. Argyle, Canada, 1834, 
residing at the present time (1917) in Vali- 
court, Canada, aged eighty-three years. 
Children : Francois Xavier, Jr., a physi- 
cian, practicing his profession in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts ; Alphonsin, married Nar- 
cisse Neider, and resides in Racine, Que- 
bec, Canada ; Joseph, married Emelie Foun- 
tain, and resides in Pawtucket, Rhode 
Island ; Regis, an architect, married Philo- 
min Bombardier ; Delima, deceased, became 
the wife of Onezine Bombardier, also de- 
ceased ; Evelipa, became the wife of Joseph 
Bombardier ; Rosalie, became the wife of 
Pierre Quintat; Amidee, a grocer in Far- 
num, Quebec ; Josephine, deceased, was the 
wife of Pierre Goodin; Mary, became the 



84 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wife of Adolph Patrin ; Olymphia, became 
the wife of Edmond Trudian ; Frederick, 
resides on the old homestead ; Evangeline, 
deceased, was the wife of Joseph Racicot ; 
Dr. Wilfred George, mentioned below. 

Dr. Wilfred George Drouin acquired his 
preparatory education in the public schools 
of Valicourt, and this was supplemented by 
a course of study in Valicourt Normal 
School, and at St. Marie College, Montreal, 
Canada, from which he was graduated with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts in the class 
of 1898. He chose the profession of medi- 
cine as the one best suited to his tastes and 
inclinations, and in order to prepare himself 
matriculated in Lavalle University, Mon- 
treal, from which he was graduated in 1903, 
at only twenty-two years of age, obtaining 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. For the 
following one and a half years, he acted 
as interne at the Montreal General Hospital. 
He then took up his residence in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, there engaged in a general 
practice, which has steadily increased with 
each passing year. In 191 5 he returned to 
Montreal, where he entered the Montreal 
General Hospital, taking a special course in 
surgery, which extended over a period of 
six months. He then spent the following 
six months in the Polyclinic Hospital, New 
York City, for the same purpose. In 1916 
he went abroad, and for ten months was en- 
gaged in hospital work at the seat of war, 
five and a half months of which he was sur- 
geon of the Edith Carvelle Hospital in Par- 
is, and the remaining four and a half 
months he was in charge of the Military 
Hospital at La Due, having six hundred 
and fifty patients. Since his return to Hol- 
yoke, he has devoted considerable time to 
surgical work. Dr. Drouin erected in 191 1 
the Drouin Block, where his offices are lo- 
cated. He is a member of the Church of 
the Precious Blood (Catholic), and he is 
also affiliated with the St. Jean Baptiste So- 
ciety, Foresters of America, Knights of 



Pythias, Order of Moose, and Fraternal Or- 
der of Eagles. 

Dr. Drouin married, April 7, 1905, Nel- 
lie Pellitier, of Holyoke, daughter of Jo- 
seph A. and Delia (Fortin) Pellitier. Chil- 
dren: Germaine, born August 13, 1909; 
Jacqueline, March 8, 191 1 ; Marcelle, March 
14, 191 3, all born in Holyoke. 



HEBERT, George Joseph, M. D., 

Physician. 

In 1880, after an active, busy life in their 
native Canada, the parents of Dr. Hebert 
came to Holyoke, Massachusetts, where the 
father, Wilfred Hebert, died December 23, 
1885. He married, in Canada, Alphonsie 
Bressetta, who died in August, 1906, the 
mother of four children, the first three born 
in Canada : Theophile ; Georgianna, mar- 
ried Albert Bernoit, of Holyoke ; George 
Joseph, of further mention ; Albert, born in 
Holyoke. 

Dr. George J. Hebert was born in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, January 10, 
1875. He was five years of age when his 
parents came to Holyoke, and here he was 
educated in the public schools and under 
private teachers in Canada. After complet- 
ing his studies, he returned to Holyoke, 
where he was employed in a drug store. In 
pursuit of his ambition to become a phy- 
sician he next entered the medical depart- 
ment of Laval University (Canada), 
whence he was graduated M. D., class of 
1899. During his medical studies Dr. He- 
bert was an interne at Notre Dame Hos- 
pital, Montreal. In 1899, he located in 
Three Rivers, town of Palmer, Massachu- 
setts, where he practiced four years, 1900- 
1904, serving also as town physician and as 
a member of the Board of Health. In 1904 
he located permanently in Holyoke, where 
he is well established in public favor and 
highly regarded as a physician. 

In addition to the cares of a large private 



85 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



practice, Dr. Hebert for two years was city 
physician, was school inspector in 1909- 
lo-ii, and with his wife is actively identi- 
fied with charitable work, particularly in- 
terested in the welfare of the children. 
While in Palmer he was a member of the 
Hampden County Medical Society. He is 
a member of the Massachusetts State Board 
of Health ; Holyoke Medical Society ; Mas- 
sachusetts State Medical Association ; of 
St. Jean Baptiste Society, of which he was 
one of the founders, and of the Artisans 
of Montreal. 

Dr. Hebert married, June 19, 1899, El- 
mire Chevalier, of Port Eaux Trembles, 
Canada, daughter of Dr. Joseph Chevalier, 
a well known physician of Montreal. Dr. 
and Mrs. Hebert are the parents of a 
son, Henry, born in Holyoke, March 19, 
1907. 



BAUMAN, Julia Lewandowska, M. D., 

Physician. 

Probably the best known woman phy- 
sician among the Polish race of Western 
Massachusetts is Dr. Julia (Lewandowska) 
Bauman, of Holyoke, who by dint of self 
sacrifice and tremendous efifort managed in 
191 1 to gain the goal of her ambition and 
to receive the title of M. D. 

She is the sixth child of Andrew and 
Rosalie (Schmeltz) Lewandowska, of Po- 
sen, German Poland, whose children are : 
Eva, Peter, Vincent, Marcianna, Adam, 
Julia ; Joseph, of Exeter, New Hampshire ; 
and Stanislaus. The first six were born 
in Posen, the last two in Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts. Julia Lewandowska was born in 
the city of Posen, November 27, 1882, her 
parents coming to the United States in the 
spring of 1883, settling first at Exeter, New 
Hampshire, and later at Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts. She began her education in the 
parochial school at Chicopee, completing 
the grammar school course with the class 



of 1896. She now determined that if possi- 
ble she would obtain sufficient education to 
become a physician, and with this end in 
view she bent every energy towards acquir- 
ing the necessary knowledge, and during the 
years ending with 1907 she provided for her 
own support, tutored others, attended even- 
ing school for two years, spent one year in 
Springfield High School, and by using all 
her time and effort she accumulated a fund 
sufficient to finance a college education. 
That diligent study, the most careful econo- 
my and untiring industry accompanied the 
years so spent need not be said. In 1907 
she entered Baltimore Woman's Medical 
College, there spent three years of hard 
college work, followed by a year of study at 
the Pennsylvania Woman's College, at Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania, from which she was 
graduated with the degree of M. D. in 191 1. 
She opened offices at No. 97 High street,. 
Holyoke, in 191 1, and began general prac- 
tice. Her fame spread rapidly among the 
Polish people, more perhaps at first be- 
cause she could understand and speak to 
them in their own language, and she now 
has a very extensive practice, giving espe- 
cial attention to obstetrical cases and chil- 
dren's diseases. Her professional calls ex- 
tend to Springfield, up and down the Con- 
necticut Valley and throughout the entire 
Holyoke section of the State. 

Dr. Bauman has used her influence 
among the people of her race for better san- 
itary conditions, and to secure better hous- 
ing facilities. Her eflforts have been attend- 
ed with success along these lines, and she 
everywhere advocates these conditions to 
aid in the prevention of disease. Along 
these same lines she has taken an active in- 
terest in and spent much time in the study 
of the "Prevention and Cure of Tubercu- 
losis," and is well known to the various 
members of the medical profession, who 
have made this same work a study, and is. 
one of the highly valued members of the. 



86 





C<^:M>^ (^fc^^J^^^^;^2^^3>-J^-^ (c;^^ 




/%^ --t^^tMX^ ^G.'^^tyyLJt^a^ /d.^cju-2.^C^4yy 



■#^ 



iPUBLIC 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



State Tuberculosis Association. She is also 
a member of the Eastern States Polish Med- 
ical Society, the Massachusetts Medical So- 
ciety, the American Medical Association, 
Holyoke Municipal League, and the Baby's 
Hygienic Association. Dr. Bauman enjoys 
the distinction of being the only Polish wo- 
man physician east of Chicago. She is de- 
voted to her profession and is doing mis- 
sionary work of the highest order. 

Dr. Julia Lewandowska became Dr. Julia 
(Lewandowska) Bauman through her mar- 
riage, July 8, 1914, to Lucian Bauman, born 
in Warsaw, Russian Poland. He came to 
the United States in 1907, studied phar- 
macy, passed the required examination be- 
fore the State Board in 191 2, and is a regis- 
tered pharmacist in business for himself at 
No. 151 High street, Holyoke. He is in 
complete sympathy with his wife in her self 
sacrificing work, and in his own field per- 
forms equally valuable service in the uplift 
of his people. 



BAESLER, Carl Bernhardt, 

Business Man. 

Since his coming to America from Ger- 
many, Carl Bernhardt Baesler has by con- 
stant application to whatever business has 
occupied him, risen to a place where he is 
today recognized as one of the honored, re- 
spected and successful real estate dealers of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

The parents of Mr. Baesler were Chris- 
tian Lobegot Baesler, born in Tholheim, 
Germany, in 1820, and died there at the 
age of thirty-nine years, a manufacturer 
of wooden frames used in the knitting of 
stockings, and Johanna (Langer) Baesler, 
of the same town, born in 1826, and died 
in 1905. The other children of the family 
were : Christian L., of Holyoke ; Lobegot ; 
Bruno, deceased ; Gustave, deceased ; Oli- 
vena, deceased ; and Amelia. 

Carl Bernhardt Baesler was born August 



29, 1854, in Tholheim, Germany, where he 
received a common school education. When 
thirteen years of age he learned the trade 
of knitting by hand and later learned to 
do the same kind of work by machine. In 
1884 he came to America, settling in Ulster 
county. State of New York, where he 
farmed. The following year he moved to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he became 
employed in the hosiery business, in the 
knitting department of McCullum & Con- 
stable Company. After eight years in this 
occupation, realizing that to continue here 
meant to remain at a standstill, he went into 
business for himself. He bought horses 
and started an express business, at the same 
time handling wood and coal. For sixteen 
years he continued in this line, then he sold 
out and entered the real estate business. His 
largest dealings in the latter field have been 
in the purchase and disposition of apart- 
ment houses. He owned at one time the 
"Belvidere," a building consisting of twenty 
apartments, which he sold. He then bought 
the apartment house at No. 84 Hampshire 
street, where he now lives and which he has 
continued to maintain in care and upkeep 
for the past eight years. He is a member 
of the Turn Verein, and attends the Second 
Congregational Church of Holyoke. 

Mr. Baesler married, October 27, 1877, 
Marie Blumstangel, born in Lunestan, Sax- 
ony, Germany. They have two children : 
Ella, who married Max Merkel, of the Ger- 
mania Mills in Holyoke, and is the mother 
of one child, Arno Bernhardt ; and Harry, 
a graduate of Holyoke High School in 191 2, 
of Harvard College in 191 5, and who is » 
now attendnig Harvard Law School. 



HORRIGAN, William James, D. D. S., 

Dental Practitioner. 

When Patrick Horrigan left his home in 
Ireland he came to the United States, set- 
tling first in Goshen, Connecticut, where 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William John Horrigan, third of his thir- 
teen children, was born. From Goshen he 
moved to Great Harrington, thence, in 1876, 
to North Adams, Massachusetts, where he 
died. There the son, William John Horri- 
gan, grew to manhood, and later removed to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he became a 
very successful jeweler and merchant, that 
city being the birthplace and scene of the 
professional success of his son, Dr. Wil- 
liam James Horrigan, who since 191 1 has 
been a dental practitioner of the city in 
which his honored father won his business 
success as senior member of the jewelry 
firm, Horrigan Brothers. 

Patrick Horrigan, the founder of the 
family in this country, married Julia 
O'Brien, who died in 1883, and they were 
the parents of thirteen children : James M., 
a resident of North Adams, Massachusetts ; 
William John, of further mention ; Thom- 
as, a resident of North Adams, Massachu- 
setts ; Rose, became the wife of John Cas- 
ey, of North Adams, Massachusetts ; 
George, a resident of Beloit, Wisconsin; 
Sidney L., a resident of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts ; Marcella, became the wife of 
John Tracy, of Denver, Colorado, and re- 
sides there ; Alice, became the wife of 
John Reidy, resides in Denver, Colorado ; 
Anna, became the wife of Patrick Dougher- 
ty, of Indian Orchard ; Julia, became the 
wife of George Fitzgerald, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. 

William John Horrigan was born in 
Goshen, Connecticut, in 1850, died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, December 4, 1898. He 
attended public schools, but early in life be- 
came a mill worker and was so employed 
for many years in Massachusetts mills. He 
resided in North Adams until 1876, then 
for a year was employed in the Lyman 
Mills at Holyoke, after which he returned 
to North Adams. A year later he again 
came to Holyoke, and until 1885 was in 
charge of the combing department of the 



Merrick Thread Company. In that year he 
formed a partnership with his brother, Sid- 
ney L. Horrigan, and at No. 156 High 
street, Holyoke, established a jewelry bus- 
iness, which more than met their hopes, and 
in 1892 they succeeded Chapman Brothers 
in the store, corner of High and Dwight 
streets, a much better location and a more 
desirable building. Later they purchased 
the property at the corner of High and 
Hampden streets, there remaining until 
moving into their own finely equipped and 
handsomely stocked store at No. 249 High 
street. But the senior partner, William J. 
Horrigan, did not long enjoy the beautiful 
surroundings, his death in 1898 occurring 
soon after the removal to the new store. 
The brothers, both excellent business men, 
gave close attention to the detail and man- 
agement of the business and made prompt- 
ness a cardinal virtue. For years William 
J. Horrigan was an untiring worker and 
was the active, energetic head of the busi- 
ness. 

William J. Horrigan married, September 
7, 1887, Katherine Farrell, of Wells River, 
Vermont, daughter of James and Rosanna 
(Hart) Farrell. They were the parents of : 
Dr. William James, of further mention ; 
Irene Margaret, born February i, 1890, 
a teacher in Springfield, Massachusetts ; Ar- 
thur Joseph, born December 29, 1891, a 
graduate M. D. of Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege, Philadelphia, class of 1916; first lieu- 
tenant in the army now, 1917, stationed at 
Augusta, Georgia; Howard Patrick, born 
August 30, 1895, now a student at Tuft's 
College ; Olive Catherine, born February 
16, 1898. 

Dr. William James Horrigan, D. D. S., 
was born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 
28, 1888. In the graded and high schools 
of the city he obtained his education so far 
as their limits extended. Deciding upon the 
profession of dentistry, he entered the dent- 
al department of the University of Penn- 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sylvania at Philadelphia, whence he was 
graduated D. D. S., class of 191 1. After 
graduation he returned to Holyoke and at 
once began practice, and now has a most 
satisfactory clientele. His offices, which are 
at No. 225 High street, are modernly equip- 
ped. He is a member of the Valley Dis- 
trict Dental Association, Massachusetts 
Dental Association, the American Dental 
Association, the Knights of Columbus, and 
Holyoke Country Club. 

Dr. Horrigan married, November 26, 
1914, Catherine M. Delaney, daughter of 
John L. and Margaret (Horan) Delaney, 
of Holyoke. They are the parents of a 
daughter, Carol, born December 25, 191 5. 



RICHARDS, Charles H., 

Business Man. 

From 1849, when his parents moved to 
Holyoke, until his death in 1910, Charles 
H. Richards was a resident of Holyoke 
and at his death was the oldest grocer in 
the city, having been continuously in bus- 
iness from 1867 until his retirement in 1904. 
He was a man of sterling worth and char- 
acter, his long business life in one commu- 
nity thoroughly proving the strength of his 
devotion to those highest and truest prin- 
ciples upon which permanent success can 
alone be built. He was a son of Ebenezer 
T. Richards, born in Hardwick, Massachu- 
setts, in 1818, died in Holyoke, August 
26, 1882, death resulting from injuries re- 
ceived by being thrown from his buggy. 

Ebenezer T. Richards married Mary Ann 
Smith, born in Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
and in 1849 they moved to Holyoke. Mr. 
Richards owned and operated a large brick 
manufacturing plant at South Hadley Falls, 
and was also a builder and contractor, erect- 
ing the Merrick Mills and many buildings 
in Holyoke. He was a prominent member 
and a deacon of the Second Baptist Church, 
and an earnest worker for the cause of tem- 



perance and prohibition. He was a man of 
strong vigorous constitution, being decided 
in his opinions and not to be turned from 
the performance of any line of conduct he 
felt it was his duty to pursue. He was a 
member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and As- 
cepted Masons, and Wyoming Lodge of 
Good Templars. Ebenezer T. and Mary 
Ann (Smith) Richards were the parents of 
three sons : Charles H., of further men- 
tion ; George W., a resident of Holyoke ; 
and Frederick T., deceased. 

Charles H. Richards was born at Chico- 
pee, Massachusetts, December 2, 1845, died 
at Holyoke, May 2, 1910. He was but four 
years of age when his parents moved to 
Holyoke and there his after life was passed. 
He attended the grammar and high schools 
of the city until seventeen years of age, 
then entered the employ of W. C. Carter, a 
grocer of Holyoke. He continued in that 
employ eleven years, then formed a part- 
nership with James N. Thayer and pur- 
chased the business of Mr. Chapin, corner 
of Sargeant and Main streets. Richards 
& Thayer continued in successful business 
operation for thirty-four years, 1867-1901, 
removing from the old store on Main street 
in 1892 to the block which they purchased 
corner of High and Essex streets, now 
owned by D. M. Foley. In 1901 the firm 
dissolved, Mr. Richards continuing the bus- 
iness until 1904, having at that time been 
continuously in the grocery business forty- 
eight years, first as clerk, later as partner, 
and still later as sole proprietor, 1856-1904, 
the oldest in the city. 

He was wholly devoted to his business 
and took little active part in public aft'airs, 
although keenly alive to his responsibilities 
as a citizen. He served as clerk of the cau- 
cus meetings held in Ward One for several 
years, was a member and secretary of the 
South Holyoke Fire Company for many 
years, and one of the eighteen charter mem- 
bers of Connecticut Valley Lodge, No. 28, 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



Knights of Pythias, instituted in 1870. He 
took perhaps a deeper interest in that lodge 
than in anything else outside his business 
and his home. He served as prelate of the 
lodge 1 900- 1 906, was elected chancellor 
commander in January, 1907, and became 
past chancellor in January, 1908. He was 
a member of the Second Congregational 
Church. 

Mr. Richards married. May 6, 1869, Ettie 
Harlow, who had been a teacher in Holyoke 
public schools ; she is a daughter of Lu- 
cius Harlow, of Springfield, Vermont, of 
an old and prominent early Springfield fam- 
ily. Miss Harlow was a student at Mt. Hol- 
yoke College three years, 1863- 1864 to June, 
1865, leaving to accept appointment as a 
teacher in the Holyoke public schools. She 
taught in Park street school the first year 
the building was opened and pursued a 
very successful career as a teacher until her 
marriage. Two children were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Richards : Jennie, married James 
A. Brierly and has two children, Richard 
Harlow and Charles William Brierly; Et- 
tie, born in 1876, died in 1887. 



KING, Samuel, 

Retired Business Man. 

When Samuel King came to Holyoke in 
i860 a newly naturalized citizen of the 
United States, he had barely attained the 
age of twenty-nine years and Holyoke was 
equally young, having then a population of 
but three thousand. During the more than 
half a century which has elapsed both have 
grown to full stature, Holyoke as a city, 
Samuel King as a merchant. Men make 
cities and cities furnish opportunity. As a 
dry goods merchant from 1862 to 191 2 Mr. 
King must be counted among the men who 
have made Holyoke, and the city in its mar- 
velous growth has furnished him with the 
opportunity to exercise his native talent 
and abundant business ability. For fifty 



years the business sign "Samuel King Dry 
Goods" was a fixture at the corner of 
Hampden and High streets with Samuel 
King in personal charge, and when he fin- 
ally retired in 1912, he was the oldest mer- 
chant in continuous business in the city, and 
moreover, during that half a century which 
witnessed financial panics, fires and busi- 
ness depression, his financial standing was 
never questioned nor did the shadow of 
failure, fire or disaster ever fall athwart his 
door. His record is one of honorable pros- 
perity and fair dealing, he carrying into re- 
tirement the unqualified respect of the busi- 
ness world and the esteem of the public 
who had so long been served over his coun- 
ters. He was the first man to make a 
deposit in the newly organized First Na- 
tional Bank and when safety deposit vaults 
were added he was the first man to rent 
a compartment. 

Samuel King was born in Austria, Eu- 
rope, July 8, 1831, son of Moses and Caro- 
line King. He was well educated in his na- 
tive land and there spent the first twenty 
years of his life, coming to the United 
States in 185 1, locating in the city of Brook- 
lyn, New York. He applied for his first 
naturalization papers in 1852, and as soon 
as the law permitted consummated his in- 
tentions and became a citizen of the United 
States. In i860 he located in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, then but a town of inferior pro- 
portions, and for two years he drove over 
the roads of Berkshire and Hampden coun- 
ties, from Pittsfield to Holyoke, selling mer- 
chandise from a wagon. He then invested 
his small capital in a stock of goods and 
opened a dry goods store in Holyoke at 
the corner of Hampden and High streets, 
and there he continued in successful busi- 
ness for fifty years until retirement in 191 2. 
He purchased the building which he entered 
as a tenant and as time progressed made all 
modern improvements and kept pace with 
the march of progress. He bore a hand in 



90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



movements which from time to time have years. Most of his active hfe was spent 



resulted in expansion and community good, 
and in a quiet, yet forceful, way has borne 
his share in the upbuilding of the city. 

In 1907 he revisited the country of his 
birth and toured Austria-Hungary, the vast 
empire created since he was there a resi- 
dent. Independent in politics he has had a 
potent voice in public affairs, and is a pow- 
erful advocate for any cause he espouses. 
He numbers his friends among the most 
eminent in the city and State, and there are 
few men whose influence is more potent 
than his if he chooses to exert it. During 
the campaign made by General Benjamin 
F. Butler for Governor of Massachusetts, 
he exerted his influence in his behalf and 
was a factor in compassing his election. He 
was a personal and political friend of Sen- 
ator Crane, and on President McKinley's 
visit to Holyoke Mr. King was one of the 
city's prominent men to be introduced. 

Mr. King married, in i860, in New York 
City, Celia Front, born in Hungary, Europe, 
but a resident of the United States since the 
age of six years. They are the parents of 
three sons: i. George, now connected in 
responsible position with a strong Hartford, 
Connecticut, concern ; married and has 
children, Ruth and Jennie King. 2. Henry, 
deceased ; left a daughter, Dorothy King. 
3. Moses, a merchant of Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts ; married and has a daughter Ce- 
lia. 



MAHONEY, William John, 

Mechanic, Merchant. 

Mr. Mahoney is descended from an old 
and honorable f'amily of Ireland. His great- 
grandfather, John Mahoney, resided in 
County Waterford, Ireland. His wife was 
a Aliss Vail. Their son, John Mahoney, was 
born 1789-90, in County Water ford, Ireland, 
and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 16, 1 89 1, aged one hundred and one 



in the service of Lord Waterford, and he 
was skillful at any sort of farm labor. Hav- 
ing been preceded by his sons, he came to 
America in 1865, accompanied by two 
daughters, and continued to live with his 
children in Holyoke, through a green old 
age. His wife, Margaret (White) Mahon- 
ey, died in Ireland in i860, at the age of 
forty-eight years. They had children : 
Michael ; William ; Bridget, who married 
Michael Whalen ; Patrick; Mary, wife of 
Frederick Gunther ; Margaret, wife of Eu- 
gene Cronan ; John. 

William Mahoney, second son of John 
and Margaret (White) Mahoney, was born 
in 1838, in County Waterford, Ireland, 
where he had some opportunity for educa- 
tion, and learned the trade of blacksmith. 
For a time he followed this occupation in 
the employ of Lord Waterford, and later 
was employed in a cotton mill. In 1864 he 
removed to this country and entered the 
Holyoke Machine Shops, where he con- 
tinued as blacksmith for a period of thirty- 
six years, retiring in 1898, twelve years pri- 
or to his death. By his industry and good 
management he became the owner of con- 
siderable real estate and other property, 
whose care consumed his time in later years. 
Not many have the record of constancy 
shown by Mr. Mahoney's long period of em- 
ployment in one establishment, testifying to 
his skill, faithfulness and upright character. 
Let the dawdling youth of today, who com- 
plains that the present century offers no 
opportunity, consider this example. Mr. 
Mahoney was a quiet citizen, and his mem- 
ory will ever be cherished by a filial family. 
He married Catherine Kelly, daughter of 
Thomas Kelly, of County Waterford. She 
died in 1909, at the age of sixty-eight years. 
Their children were : Edward J. ; William 
John ; Dr. Matthew, born September 18, 
1873, and Patrick A. 

William John Mahoney, second son of 



91 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



William and Catherine (Kelly) Mahoney, 
was bom January ii, 1871, in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, and was educated in the 
cit>- schools. At an early age he came un- 
der the training of his father and acquired 
the blacksmith's trade, which he followed 
ten years in association with the father, at 
the machine shops. He was later engaged 
in the grocery and meat business in Hol- 
yoke, and in 1900 became general agent of 
the Feigenspan Brewing Company of New- 
ark, Xew Jersey, in which capacity he has 
continued to the present time. For some 
time he served as agent for the Holyoke & 
Westfield Railroad. He has taken an active 
interest in politics and for two years he rep- 
resented his ward in the City Council of 
Holyoke. His only social organizatiuon is 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. Mr. Mahoney married, September, 
1898, Sarah V. Linnehan, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, who died in 191 3. She was 
the daughter of Thomas Linnehan. They 
had children : Agnes, bom 1900 ; Edward, 
1902; Mary, 1903. 



YENLIN, Sebastian, 

Business Man. 

Forty-seven years ago there lived in the 
town of \\'hittlesdorf, Alsace, France, one 
Sebastian Yenlin, a boy of sixteen, son and 
grandson of men of like name, whose rec- 
ords have honorable place in the national 
annals of the French Republic. 

His grandfather, Sebastian (i) Yenlin, 
owned land in the district of Whittlesdorf 
to extent sufficient for his maintenance, 
and thereon he industriously labored, as 
did also the boy's father, Sebastian (2) 
Yenlin. Both were bom, lived, and died 
in Alsace, and both ralHed to the '"Tri- 
colour" when their nation in time of stress 
asked their ser\-ices. 

Sebastian (2) Yenlin, father of Sebastian 



(3) Yenlin, married Gertrude de Lunth, 
and their children were: Sebastian (3), 
of whom further; Catherine, deceased; and 
Francisco, deceased. 

Sebastian (3) Yenlin was born at Whit- 
tlesdorf, July 18, 1853. He was afforded 
a goodly education, for his time and station, 
at the grammar school of the town of 
his nativity, and at the age of sixteen years 
went to the city of Alkirk, there to enter 
apprenticeship to a baker of that place. The 
impoverished condition of his own country 
in 1872, following the great Franco-Prus- 
sian War, may have been a factor of influ- 
ence in his decision to emigrate to America. 
He landed in the United States that year, 
at the age of nineteen, settling at Holyoke, 
^Massachusetts, where he entered the em- 
ploy of Thomas Samson, and later of Peter 
Mount, both merchants of Holyoke. The 
virility of youth, steadfastness of honest in- 
tent, and that composite quality of initia- 
tive, ambition and self-reliance, encouraged 
him, in 1876, to venture into independent 
business, with the result that he became es- 
tablished as a master baker at Holyoke in 
that year, since which time his enterprise, 
energ}-, perseverance and stability have 
combined to create for him a business of 
substantial proportions. Steadily advanc- 
ing, he has developed into the possession 
of busy stores on Cabot and Ely streets, and 
of an extensive outside bakery connection. 
In addition, he has acquired farming in- 
terests at Smith's Ferr)% Holyoke township, 
in which activity he now finds profit, as well 
as diversion and relaxation, from the pres- 
sure of his main business ties. 

While Mr. Yenlin has strenuously ap- 
plied himself to business for more than four 
decades, he has never overlooked the duty 
due his church. He is an ardent Catholic, 
earnest in his observance of the ordinances 
of the church, and a liberal contributor to 
its support. He has likewise recognized his 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



interest in his adopted country by an intel- 
ligent exercise of his privileges as a citi- 
zen, and for many years has associated his 
efforts in this respect with the Republican 
party. At the same time, he has not forgot- 
ten the land of his birth, being an enthusias- 
tice member of the Alsace-Lorraine Society, 
and of the National Society of France. He 
is a member of Uncas Tribe, Improved Or- 
der of Red Men, being a charter member 
of that organization and was for six months 
keeper of wampum. 

Satisfaction comes of honest effort, and 
Mr. Yenlin's has been a long period of in- 
creasing satisfaction. Still, his industrious 
life has perhaps found its most gratifying 
expression in the comfort of his home cir- 
cle. In 1875, as a young man of twenty- 
two, he married Celina la Pointe, descen- 
dant of an old French-Canadian family, and 
to them have been born the following chil- 
dren : I. Mary, married Alfred la Janos; 
children : Romeo, Rosina, Leo, Lena. 2. 
Ida, married Joseph Chero ; children : Li- 
ma, Loretta. 3. Rosella, married Adlard 
C. Minard. 4. Ora, married Calix la Plais ; 
children : Lester, Ernest, Estelle. 5. Se- 
bastian (4), married Zalpha Bellefeuille ; 
children: Irene, Sebastian (5), Cecilia, 
Gertrude, Jeannette. 6. Viola. 

Forty-four years of honorable connection 
w'ith the city of Holyoke, forty-four years 
of steady progress, have brought to Sebas- 
tian (3) Yenlin a measure of respect as 
solid as is the city. His life-story, in its 
broadest sense, has its direct utility and 
satisfaction in the encouragement it af- 
fords the many earnest young men of hon- 
orable intention who, like Sebastian Yenlin, 
come from other lands, hoping to win a 
place and respect in the activities of this 
great nation wherein merit is the one and 
only essential to advancement. 



KOHLER, Edward Charles, 

Business Man. 

Edward Charles Kohler, a representative 
citizen of Holyoke, is a man of skill and en- 
terprise, who has won a place among the 
business men of his adopted city by his abil- 
ity, fidelity and perseverance, his career illus- 
trating in no uncertain manner what it is 
possible to accomplish when determination 
and force form the keynote to a man's life. 
In social life he is courteous and kindly, and 
is ever mindful of his duties as a citizen. 

Christian Kohler, father of Edward 
Charles Kohler, was born at Saxony, Ger- 
many, 1826, and died at Buffalo, New 
York, 1 881. He was educated in the schools 
of his native place, and there served an ap- 
prenticeship at the trade of tailor, in which 
he became highly proficient. In 1848 he 
took up his residence in Canada, but that 
country not proving to his liking he re- 
mained but a short period of time, after 
which he removed to Buffalo, New York, 
where he worked at his trade for the re- 
mainder of his days. One of his brothers, 
Henry Kohler, also emigrated to this coun- 
try. Mr. Kohler was a member of the Ger- 
man Lutheran church and of several Ger- 
man organizations in Buffalo. He married 
Wilhelmina Ende, a native of Saxony, 
Germany, born in 1828, and died in Buffalo, 
New York, in 1896. They were the parents 
of ten children, namely : Emily, Julius, 
Bertha, Minnie, Charles, Louisa, Howard, 
William, Edward Charles, and Ida. 

Edward Charles Kohler was born in Buf- 
falo, Erie county, New York, March 29, 
1867. His early education, which was ob- 
tained in the public schools of his native 
city, was supplemented by a course in a 
business college, which proved of great ad- 
vantage to him in his subsequent career. In 
his youth he learned the art of electrotyp- 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing and has given his entire time and atten- 
tion to that vocation ever since, meeting 
with well merited success. From 1895 to 
1903, a period of eight years, he was em- 
ployed in the electrotyping plant of the 
United States Envelope Company at Rock- 
ville, Connecticut, and in the latter named 
year he was sent to the Philippine Islands 
by the United States Bureau of Engraving 
and Printing to teach his trade in the 
schools there, this fact testifying eloquently 
to his efficiency and capability, as compara- 
tively few persons are capable of working 
well and also serving in the capacity of 
teacher. He was assigned to Manila, where 
he remained for two years, at the expiration 
of which time he returned to Rockville, 
Connecticut, but shortly afterward took up 
his residence in Holyoke, ^Massachusetts, 
where he has resided ever since. He es- 
tablished the Holyoke Electrotype Company, 
a corporation of which he is treasurer and 
principal owner, and the business includes 
the designing, engraving and manufacture 
of color plates for all printing purposes and 
the making of lead molded and steel faced 
electrotypes. The business has steadily in- 
creased in volume and importance, and a 
marked degree of success has attended his 
efforts, it proving of benefit to the locality 
in which it is situated, advancing commer- 
cial activity whereon depends the prosperity 
of every community. Mr. Kohler is a mem- 
ber of William Whiting Lodge, Free and 
Accepted ]Masons. In politics he is an In- 
dependent. He is thoroughly alive to all 
that pertains to good citizenship, and al- 
though entirely devoid of all political as- 
pirations, is interested in whatever has a 
tendency to permanently benefit his locality. 
Mr. Kohler married, June 30, 1905, Ed- 
na Thrall, who was born in Rockville, Con- 
necticut, in 1874, daughter of Julius S. and 
Mary (Holmes) Thrall. On her mother's 
side, the Holmes family, Mrs. Kohler traces 



her ancestry back to the "Mayflower." They 
have one child, Eleanor, who was born at 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, April 16, 1906. 



WEIS, Joseph Brennemann, 

Inventor, Manufacturer. 

Joseph Brennemann Weis, inventor and 
manufacturer of the Padlock Safety Pa- 
per, president of the Perfect Safety Pa- 
per Company of Holyoke, former president 
of the Chamber of Commerce and former 
school commissioner of that city, and 
(1916) chairman of the school committee, 
is a distinguished citizen of the "Paper 
City," as Holyoke is known in the business 
world. Educated as a chemist, he discov- 
ered by the aid of his inventive ability and 
knowledge of chemicals a process in the 
manufacture of paper; and in manufactur- 
ing his patented product and placing it on 
the market he became in the natural course 
of events a man of business and abandoned 
the laboratory for the office and mill. His 
biography shows that not all inventors fail 
to grasp the fruits of their work. 

Mr. Weis comes of good old German an- 
cestry. His father, Joseph Weis, was born 
in 1825 at Hanau, Germany, and was edu- 
cated in the schools of his native land. Dur- 
ing his youth he followed farming, but 
he became convinced that America offered 
a better field and larger opportunities for a 
young man, and in 1849, "when he was twen- 
ty-four years old, he came to this country. 
He located at first in Ohio, but after two 
years decided to move westward to what 
was then the frontier, and finally located at 
Tonica, Illinois. He cleared his land and 
placed many acres in cultivation. Year by 
year his farm became more productive and 
valuable. He prospered and set an exam- 
ple of success in farming by dint of great 
industry, persistence and energy. As meth- 
ods improved, he adopted them, and he nev- 
er failed to make proper use of modern 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and efficient farm machinery. He studied 
agriculture and other subjects and possessed 
an exceptionally well-stored mind and an 
excellent judgment. He was a substantial 
and useful citizen, highly esteemed in the 
section in which he lived. After retiring 
on account of age he lived for a time with 
his daughter in Iowa, where he died June 
14, 1914. Maria (Brennemann) Weis, 
mother of Joseph Brennemann Weis, was 
a native of Cassell, Germany. One brother 
•of Joseph Brennemann, Herman, is deceas- 
ed; another brother, Fritz, resides in Illi- 
nois, and a sister, Elise, who married 
Charles Miller, lives in the town of Britt, 
Iowa. 

Joseph Brennemann Weis was born at 
Tonica, Illinois, November 29, 1862. He fit- 
ted for college in the public schools of his 
native town and entered the University of 
Illinois, from which he was graduated in 
1883 with the degree of Bachelor of Sci- 
-ence. He specialized in l^e subject of chem- 
istry and after graduation was for six years 
assistant to a Chicago chemist. He re- 
:signed his position in 1889 to open a labo- 
ratory and practice his profession on his 
own account, and the following five years 
he continued in business as a general ana- 
lytical chemist in Chicago. During this 
time he invented a safety paper designed to 
prevent alterations in checks and other legal 
documents. As soon as it became known 
that the use of this paper would effectually 
prevent the raising of checks and certain 
other kinds of forgery, stationers and bank- 
ers became interested in it and in 1894 Mr. 
Weis began to manufacture his paper at 
Franklin, Ohio. The business prospered 
and from time to time during the next four- 
teen years he was obliged to enlarge his 
plant and constantly to increase the output 
of his paper mill. Believing it would be 
expedient to remove to the center of the pa- 
per industry he transferred his business to 
Holyoke, where since 1908 he has conduct- 



ed it under the corporate name of the Per- 
fect Safety Paper Company, of which he is 
president and treasurer. The Padlock 
Safety Paper, as his product is called, is 
doubtless the best of all safety papers now 
manufactured for check purposes. In ap- 
pearance it is a handsome figured check pa- 
per and to the casual observer does not re- 
veal the special sensitive properties incorpo- 
rated in it. Sized moderately, it is designed 
to allow ordinary writing ink to penetrate 
the sheet, thus giving protection against 
ordinary methods of erasure. For the pur- 
pose of preventing the successful use of 
acids or alkalies in making erasures, chem- 
icals are introduced in the paper pulp that 
will cause any known ink eraser to produce 
a telltale muddy stain if used on the paper. 
In addition to these properties, the paper is 
made with a peculiar and distinctive design 
in attractive tints that are very sensitive to 
ink bleaching reagents, but will not blur in 
the process of printing or in the requisite 
handling in making the paper into check 
books or other blanks. The design is on the 
surface only, so that attempts at either 
chemical or mechanical erasure are impos- 
sible to conceal. As far as known, none 
of the methods used by check raisers and 
forgers can be successfully applied on this 
paper. Water will not remove writing from 
it ; ink bleaching materials make an indel- 
ible stain. Since locating in Holyoke the 
business has grown to even larger propor- 
tions and the company ranks among the 
most flourishing and prosperous of the 
many paper companies in business there. 

Mr. Weis has taken active part in the 
public affairs of the city and has lost no 
opportunity to give evidence of his public 
spirit. He has lent his aid and encourage- 
ment to every project designed to promote 
the welfare and prosperity of the city. He 
has been especially active and useful in the 
work of the Chamber of Commerce, of 
which he was president in 1914 and 1915. 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He has served the city as school commis- 
sioner-at-large and has exerted himself at 
every opportunity to keep the standard of 
the public schools at the highest possible 
point. He is a firm believer in giving to 
every boy and girl the opportunity for an 
education. His interest in municipal affairs 
has also been frequently demonstrated. 

Mr. Weis married, in 1889, Isabel G. Mc- 
Millan, of Montreal, Canada, a daughter of 
David and Maria (Mann) McMillan. They 
have three children: Herman \V., born 
1891 ; Marie, born 1896; Isabel, born 1898. 



BRAY, Thomas, 

Agriculturist. 

Among the well known agriculturists of 
Holyoke should be mentioned the name of 
Thomas Bray, who in 1879 came to his 
present farm on Westfield street, known as 
the Bray homestead. He was then a young 
man of thirty-three. Here he has since re- 
sided, following the vocations of farmer 
and contractor, and now at the age of sev- 
enty we find him hale, hearty and well con- 
tented that his lines were cast in such pleas- 
ant places. He is of English birth and par- 
entage, grandson of James Bray, who lived 
and died in England, and son of George and 
Emma (Francis) Bray. 

George Bray, born in England, came to 
the United States in 1853, and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in 1904, aged eighty- 
seven years. He was a moulder and for a 
time after coming to the United States 
worked at his trade, but his health failed 
and he became a farmer, that out-of-doors 
life restoring his vigor. His farm was near 
Holyoke and there he passed a long and use- 
ful life. He was a supporter of the Repub- 
lican party, and a member of the Baptist 
church. He married in England, Emma 
Francis, who died in Holyoke at an advanc- 
ed age, the mother of four children : 
Thomas, of further mention ; Ruth, became 



96 



the wife of John Best, of Elmwood, Massa- 
chusetts ; Eliza, became the wife of Frank 
Alden, now deceased, of East Long Mead- 
ow, Massachusetts ; George Samuel, now 
living at South Hadley, Massachusetts. 

Thomas Bray was born in Wiltshire, 
England, January 24, 1846, and at the age 
of seven was brought to the United States 
by his parents, who not long afterward lo- 
cated on the farm at Holyoke. There he 
spent his youth and early manhood, obtain- 
ing a public school education and assisting 
his father in cultivating the farm. They 
at first worked a small tract, but later se- 
cured a larger farm, Thomas remaining 
with his father until reaching the age of 
twenty, and at twenty-five years of age he 
began farming on his own account on Chic- 
opee street, engaging in the milk business, 
conducting it for five years. In 1879 he 
purchased and moved to his present farm 
on Westfield street, which consists of thirty- 
five acres, where he raises hogs, keeps cows, 
and sells the milk, and pursues a successful 
business as dairy farmer and contractor 
For a number of years he confined his op- 
erations largely to dairy farming on an ex- 
tensive scale, disposing of the product of his 
herds and fields in Holyoke, running his 
own wagons. He also carried on general 
farming operations, and added to his activ- 
ities a line of contract work, teaming, ex- 
cavating and grading. One of his largest 
contracts was the grading for the first street 
railways in Holyoke, most of that work 
having been done under his supervision. He 
is now retired from the heavier burdens of 
life and enjoying the fruits of his years 
of honorable toil. He is a member of the 
First Baptist Church, and in political faith, 
is a Republican. 

Mr. Bray married, December 9, 1868,, 
Temperance Bray, born at Catskill, New 
York, daughter of Frederick and Nancy 
Bray. They have children : Frank G. ; 
Mary Jane, wife of William Ross ; Fred ; 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lillian, wife of Thomas Slatterly ; Herbert, 
deceased ; Thomas A. ; Grace, wife of Roy 
W.Bates; Alfred; Ruth; Dwight. 



PQTVIN, Gilbert, 

Builder, Contractor. 

In 1864 there came to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, a young man of Canadian birth 
and French parentage, but not a stranger 
in Massachusetts, having spent the previous 
ten years in that State. Holyoke was then 
a town of but three thousand population, 
and offered little inducement to one of his 
trade, but to the eye of the young man it did 
offer good opportunities for an energetic, 
wnde-awake merchant, and soon the sign 
of Gilbert Potvin adorned a small but well 
stocked dry goods store on one of Holyoke's 
best business streets. That was half a cen- 
tury ago and the sign Gilbert Potvin, Mer- 
chant, was taken down so long ago that 
heads of families in the city cannot even 
remember having seen it, but Gilbert Pot- 
vin, contractor and builder, is a well known 
man in that city and to the people of Hol- 
yoke. He was a lad of sixteen when he left 
his Canadian home and came to the United 
States ; a young man of twenty-six when 
he first located in Holyoke ; the matured 
man of forty-one when he forsook mercan- 
tile life and began contracting buildings, 
and now is the veteran of seventy-eight. 
What his principal life work has meant to 
Holyoke and its development may be best 
understood by the statement that as a build- 
er he has erected residences and business 
blocks costing nearly $2,000,000. He is one 
of the largest taxpayers in the city and the 
largest payer of water rent. Take the build- 
ings in Holyoke, erected by Mr. Potvin, out 
of the city, and a large area would be depop- 
ulated. 

His grandfather, John Potvin, came from 
France, settling on a farm near Montreal, 
Canada. That farm was at the village of 
MASS.— 7—7- 



Lalquevil, and there he lived and died, and 
there his son, John (2) Potvin, resided, a 
successful farmer until 1868. John (2) 
Potvin married Delaide Patnode, who bore 
him seven children, Gilbert being the eldest. 
After their son became a merchant of Hol- 
yoke, John and Delaide Potvin came, in 
1868, to make their home near him, and 
there both lived until the death of John Pot- 
vin in 1892, his widow surviving him but 
two years. 

Gilbert Potvin was born in Lalquevil, 
near Montreal, Canada, February 14, 1848. 
His education was such as the parish schools 
afforded and of these he made good use, 
but at the age of sixteen, in 1854, he came 
to the United States and thenceforth his on- 
ly school attendance was at evening schools. 
He found his first employment at Fitch- 
burg, Massachusetts, in a machine shop, and 
there he remained three years completing 
an apprenticeship and becoming a capable 
machinist. During that period, he also at- 
tended evening schools. He was next em- 
ployed as a journeyman machinist at Wor- 
cester, and later in the Boston & Albany 
Railroad shops at Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, constantly working at his trade until 
1864, when he located in Holyoke, then a 
small town of perhaps three thousand souls. 
He had been frugal in his expenditures, and 
having earned good wages at his trade he 
had accumulated sufficient capital to enable 
him to take advantage of an opening he 
quickly saw the town offered for a dry 
goods store. He rented a store on High 
street, and in a small way began business. 
His venture proved a success from its be- 
ginning and for eighteen years he continued 
in the dry goods business, prospering abun- 
dantly. In 1880 he withdrew from com- 
mercial life to engage in building opera- 
tions. He became the leading contractor of 
the city, his record of nearly $2,000,000 
worth of buildings erected being equalled by 
few contractors in Western Massachusetts, 



97 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in strictly residence and business blocks. As 
time passed on, he acquired a large amount 
of land in Holyoke upon which he erected 
residences, becoming, as stated, the largest 
payer of water rates in the city, and one 
of the heaviest taxpayers. While he is now 
retired it is said that nearly every building 
he erected had been largely under his per- 
sonal supervision and his pride was that the 
contracts entered into had been faithfully 
executed. 

In religious faith Mr. Potvin is a Catho- 
lic, belonging to the parish of the Church 
of Perpetual Help. He is also a member 
of the Society of St. Jean Le Baptiste and 
the French Union. 

Mr. Potvin married (first) September 7, 
1859, Odele Masel, also born in Lalquevil, 
who died in 191 3, the mother of four chil- 
dren : Gilbert, died in infancy ; Jennie, wife 
of George Oliver, of Holyoke ; Cora, wife 
of Thomas I. Kenney, of New Haven, Con- 
necticut; Gilbert (2), married Ella Smith, 
of Springfield, now residing in Holyoke. 
Mr. Potvin married (second) April 17, 
1916, Lucy Auchambault, born in St. Louis, 
Missouri, daughter of Charles Auchambault, 
born in Canada, a millwright, now deceased. 
She has two sisters, Mrs. Mike Ellwell, of 
Holyoke, and Mrs. Peter Peirson, of Hol- 
yoke. The mother of these children died in 
1 910. For some ten years previous to her 
marriage to Mr. Potvin, Mrs. Potvin con- 
ducted a successful dressmaking business in 
Holyoke. 



TURGEON, Louis Abraham, 

Contractor, Real Estate Holder. 

The early life of Louis Abraham Tur- 
geon was spent on the sea and in the north 
woods as a lumberman, his first introduc- 
tion to Holyoke being with the annual spring 
drive of logs brought out of the north. Fin- 
ally, in the drive of 1877, he decided not to 
go back north but to remain in Holyoke. 



98 



He did so, has succeeded, is the head of a 
very prosperous business, and is well known 
in New England. He is a son of Joseph 
Turgeon, born in Canada, in 1822, and there 
died, January 12, 1904, a farmer. He 
married Margaret Gongue, born in 1823, 
died January 8, 1885. They were the par- 
ents of : Adelina, Albert, Rabico, Francis 
and John, all deceased ; Louis Abraham, 
of further mention, Pierre, Francis (2), 
Odile, Aremine, Alphonse and Edward. 

Louis Abraham Turgeon was born near 
Quebec, Canada, March 18, 1852, and edu- 
cated in public school. He was employed 
on the farm in boyhood, then went to sea 
for two years in merchant vessels trading 
with Labrador. In 1873 he came to the 
United States, living in Oldtown and Ban- 
gor, Maine, employed in the lumber camps 
during the winters, driving the logs down 
stream in the spring, and in the saw mills 
during the summer months. He thus spent 
two years, then was again a sailor for two 
years, then once more returned to the lum- 
ber woods, but in New Hampshire instead 
of Maine. He worked during the winters 
in lumber camps at Starkwater, Groveton 
and Island Pond, coming with the log 
drives down the river every spring, then re- 
turning north. 

In 1877 he located in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and has since made that city his 
home. He was employed in the woolen 
mills, the Prentiss Wire Works, the Farr 
Alpaca Company, the Holyoke Water Pow- 
er Company and by Caspar Ranger at dif- 
ferent times until 1884, then began business 
for himself as a house mover. He has ever 
since that year been in that business, but its 
scope has greatly widened and he contracts 
for heavy moving of all kinds in all parts 
of the State and frequently beyond its lim- 
its. He uses heavy motor trucks in his 
business, and keeps a large force of men 
employed the year round. Recently he ad- 
mitted his three sons to a partnership, and 





/U6c^, ^. 




ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



upon their younger shoulders the burden 
now falls, while the father devotes himself 
largely to his real estate and other inter- 
ests. He is the owner of the Turgeon block 
and twenty-eight tenement houses in the 
city, and has other holdings of importance. 
He is a director and vice-president of the 
Monument Xationale Association ; director 
of the Landlord's Protective Association; 
member of the St. Jean Baptiste Society, 
the Order of Foresters and the Quoit Club. 
^Ir. Turgeon married, in February, 1879, 
Mary Marceline Dory, daughter of Louis 
and Matilda (Menard) Dory. ]\Ir. and 
Mrs. L. A. Turgeon are the parents of 
twelve children: i. Louis, born October 27, 
1879, a carpenter by trade ; he married, De- 
cember 27, 1898, Eva Stone, of Holyoke, 
and has children : Louis, born April 3, 
1899 : Def ora, died aged five years ; Irene, 
born September 24, 1904; Telesphone, died 
in infancy; Alfred and Wilfred, twins, born 
July 4, 191 1, Wilfred dying in infancy. 2. 
Joseph, born January 11, 1882, deceased. 
3. ]\Iarceline, born April 13. 1884; married 
Andrew Lawrence and died leaving a son, 
Andrew Joseph. 4. Pierre, born January 
29, 1886, a partner with his father and 
brothers ; he married Rhea Ripest. 5. Al- 
bert, born October 6, 1887, deceased. 6. 
Jennie, born June 17, 1889. 7. Henry, born 
September 6, 1891, a partner with his fath- 
er and brothers; he married Lillian Wells 
and has a son, Henry Herman. 8. Albina, 
born November 2^, 1892; married Amos 
Beauchamp and has three children : Amos, 
Anita and Pearl. 9. William J., born March 
12, 1894, deceased. 10. John, born July 22, 
1895, in business with his father and broth- 
ers; married Edith Lebeau. 11. Ernest, 
born April 30, 1897. 12. Ida, born Febru- 
ary 15, 1899; married Everett Redford. 



WRITTEN, Nathan H., 

Manufacturer. 

The career of the late Nathan H. Whit- 
ten, of Holyoke, was ever such as to war- 
rant the trust and confidence of the busi- 
ness world and the regard of all with whom 
he was brought in contact, for he always 
conducted all transactions on the strictest 
principles of honor and integrity. His de- 
votion to the public good was unquestioned 
and arose from sincere interest in the wel- 
fare of his fellowmen. What the w^orld 
needs is such men, willing to bear their 
full share of service and capable of per- 
forming all the duties which fall to the lot 
of the citizens of this great land. 

In the paternal line Mr. Whitten traced 
his ancestry to the pioneer stock of New 
Hampshire and Maine. In the earliest rec- 
ords we find the surname Whitten also 
spelled Wheeten, Whetten, Wheeden, Whit- 
on, \\'hiting, Whyton, Whitton, \\' yton, and 
several of these forms have been continued 
in use to the present time by various 
branches of the family. The family is of 
old English stock, and three brothers, Sam- 
uel, Thomas and John Whitten, were among 
the early settlers of New Hampshire. John 
and Samuel Whitten were living in Ports- 
mouth and were members of the church 
there as early as 1671, when Rev. Mr. 
]\Ioody was pastor and they contributed to 
the fund to maintain him. 

(II) Michael Whitten, a son of John 
Whitten, was born in 1670, and he also 
lived in Portsmouth. He was a carpenter 
and joiner, a man of prominence, and 
his name appears often in the public records 
in the settlement of the estates of his neigh- 
bors. His will made in 171 3, bequeathes 
to wife Mary and children, John, James, 
Jane Edgerly, Alice Hains, Abigail White, 
Sarah Hains, Mary Johnson, Elizabeth, and 



99 



364S77A 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the daughter of son Samuel, deceased. 
Michael Whitten married, June 6, 1694, 
and his children, baptized June 3, 1709, in 
the Portsmouth church were : Michael, who 
was in Kittery in 1730; John, mentioned 
below; Samuel; Abigail; Elizabeth. Mich- 
ael Whitten was a member of the church 
as early as 1699. 

(Ill) John (2) Whitten, son of Michael 
Whitten, was born in 1700, in Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, and settled in the adjacent 
town of Kingston, near the Salisbury line, 
and the history of Kennebunkport, Maine, 
states that he came there from Salisbury, 
Massachusetts, about 1724. He drew a lot 
in Kennebunkport, formerly Arundel, 
Maine, on the Saco river, in 1728, and 
went there to live, and in 1737 he was one 
of the proprietors of the town. He mar- 
ried, at Salisbury, Ruth Merrill, who was 
born July 26, 171 1, daughter of Deacon 
John Merrill, who belonged to one of the 
leading families. Her father, born in 1674, 
was a soldier in 1710 in the Colonial forces ; 
a housewright by trade ; married, Septem- 
ber 2T„ 1702, Mary Allen, and he died Jan- 
uary 7, 1756. Sergeant Daniel Merrill, 
father of Deacon John Merrill, was a resi- 
dent of Newbury and Salisbury, born 1642, 
married (first) May 14, 1667, Sarah 
Clough, who died March 18, 1705-06; he 
married (second) May 29, 1708, Sarah 
Morrill, widow of Philip Rowell and On- 
esiphorous Page; he died June 2"/, 171 7. 
Nathaniel ^Merrill, father of Sergeant Dan- 
iel Merrill, was the immigrant ancestor ; he 
died March 16, 1654-55, leaving a widow, 
Susannah. Children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Whitten: i. John, born 1734, died 1802; 
served in the Revolution, married Han- 
nah Walker, of Kennebunkport, and went 
to Topsham, Maine, in 1764. 2. Phineas, 
also moved eastward. 3. Samuel, born about 
1735 ; served in the Revolution ; married 
Hannah Poindexter. 4. Humphrey, of 
further mention. 5. Israel, married Sarah 



Fairfield, served in the Revolution in the 
same company with his brothers, Joseph 
and Samuel. 6. Joseph, soldier in the Revo- 
lution; died at Lyman, Maine, in 1797; 
married Ann Burnham. 7. Mary, married 
Samuel Waterhouse. 8. Hannah, married 

Knight. 9. Ruth, married 

Gordon. 10. Sarah, married Daniel Da- 
vis. II. Lydis, married Moses W^adlin. 12. 
Anna, married (first) Captain English, and 
(second) John Burbank. 

(IV) Humphrey Whitten, son of John 
(2) Whitten, was born in Kennebunkport, 
Maine, and lived at Cape Porpoise, near 
his birthplace, until he went to Alfred, 
Maine, an old history of which (1872) 
says : "Samuel Whitten who married a Poin- 
dexter and Humphrey Whitten who married 
a Lasel came from Cape Porpoise and set- 
tled in Back Street and were succeeded by 
numerous children. Their father came from 
Salisbury, Massachusetts." He was living 
in what is now Alfred in 1790, and accord- 
ing to the first federal census Samuel and 
James Whitten were his neighbors. 

(V) Humphrey (2) W^hitten, son of 
Humphrey ( i ) Whitten, was born at Cape 
Porpoise, or what is now Alfred, Maine, in 
1773, and died in 1839. He lived at Wa- 
terborough and Alfred, Alaine. In 1796 
he married Abigail Hodgdon, who was born 
at Waterborough in October, 1777, and died 
January 28, 1869. Children: i. Isabel, born 
1798, died 1825; married Samuel Clark. 2. 
]\Iartha, born 1800, died 1852; married 
Thomas Clark. 3. Nathan, mentioned be- 
low. 4. Eliza, born 1807, died 1846. 5. 
Jefiferson, born 1810, died 1896; married 
(first) Harriet Carter, (second) Florilla 
Richards. 6. Abigail, born 181 3, died 185 1. 
7. Joseph, born 1816, died 1839. 

(VI) Nathan Whitten, son of Humphrey 
(2) Whitten, was born at Waterborough, 
in 1802, and died July 12, 1890. He mar- 
ried, December 3, 1824, Ruth Small, a na- 
tive of Cape Cod. Children, born in Car- 



ICX) 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mel : i. Abigail Ruth, born 1825, died 1839 
2. Nathan Holhs, mentioned below. 3 
Alexander Huniphey, born 1829, died 1834 

4. Elizabeth Hannah, born 1830, died 1888 

5. Martin Luther, born 1831, died 1865. 6 
Isabel Miller, born 1833, died 1864. Ruth 
(Small) Whitten was born June 17, 1798, 
and died May 8, 1871. She had a brother 
Alexander and a sister Eliza. They were 
the children of Alexander Small, born at 
Provincetown, Massachusetts, 1765, died 
1846, and Ruth (Dyer) Small, born 1766, 
at Truro, Cape Cod, died in 1852. Ruth A. 
Whitten, of Bangor, Maine, from whorn the 
family records were obtained, was born in 
1862, daughter of IMartin Luther and Ma- 
tilda F. (Saunders) Whitten, granddaugh- 
ter of Nathan Whitten. 

(VII) Nathan Hollis Whitten, son of 
Nathan Whitten, was born at Carmel, 
Maine, May 30, 1827. He received a thor- 
ough preliminary education in "the little 
red schoolhouse," and this was supplement- 
ed in later years by judicious reading and 
a keen observation of men and events. At 
an early age he left home and learned the 
trade of millwright, being one of the men of 
that day who made a specialty of building 
water wheels, one of the pioneer industries 
in the days before the general application of 
steam for motive power, a large number of 
the manufacturing plants being operated by 
means of water power. In 1852 he took up 
his residence in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and there secured employment in the orig- 
inal Hadley Falls Company, with which 
concern he was connected until the failure 
of the business. Upon the formation of the 
Holyoke Water Power Company, he en- 
tered its employ, and being naturally a good 
mechanic, though he was nominally a w^heel- 
wright, he also filled the position of pattern 
maker, a trade in which he was also an ex- 
pert, and in addition he was the draughts- 
man for the company. He remained with 
this concern until the shop was disposed of. 



He then became associated with T. C. Page^ 
T. B. Flanders, Richard Patte and S. S. 
Chase in establishing the Holyoke Machine 
Company for the manufacture of machin- 
ery. The partners were all men of good 
training, having a thorough knowledge of 
the business and of sound business judg- 
ment, energetic and industrious, and the 
growth and success of the concern was well 
merited. Mr. Whitten's department until 
1886 was that of hydraulic and mechanical 
engineer, and from that time to the date 
of his death he was president of the corpo- 
ration, administering the affairs w^ith ad- 
mirable skill and ability for a period of 
twenty years. In addition to his interest in 
the foregoing, he was an active participant 
in many successful business enterprises in 
Holyoke, among which may be mentioned 
the Ford Bit Company, of which he was a 
member of the board of directors, and also 
president, which office was held by his son 
Sumner H. Whitten until the dissolution of 
the company in 1916. He was always en- 
thusiastic and zealous in public matters, an 
active factor in the forming and carrying 
out of the projects for the development 
and welfare of his adopted city, and it was 
directly through his personal interest that 
the city of Holyoke has at the present time 
its splendid municipal building, he having 
been a member of its building committee. 
He also served as a member of the building 
committee of the Holyoke Library and the 
Second Congregational Church, his services 
being greatly beneficial and highly appreci- 
ated. He was a director of the Holyoke 
Library and the City Hospital, and was 
active and helpful in the support of the va- 
rious benevolent organizations of Holyoke. 
Mr. Whitten married, June, 1856, Ellen 
M. Wood, of North Brookfield, who died 
in 1887. They were the parents of six 
children, two of whom died in infancy, 
namely: Sumner H., of whom further; 
Mary L., Helen F., Eunice E., Fannie, and 



lOI 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Annie L. The death of Mr. Whitten occur- 
red August 23, 1905, and thus the city of 
Holyoke lost a man whose entire Hfe had 
been characterized by uprightness of char- 
acter, steadfastness of principle, and kindly 
acts which won for him the respect and con- 
fidence of the entire community in which 
he lived. 

(VIII) Sumner H. Whitten, son of Na- 
than Hollis Whitten, was born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, May 8, 1857, in which city 
he has spent all of his active life. He was 
educated in the public and high schools of 
his native city, then entered Amherst Col- 
lege, and there pursued his studies for three 
years. Having decided upon a mechanical 
career, he entered the Holyoke Machine 
Company in order to thoroughly learn the 
trade of machinist. At the suggestion of 
his father that he should acquire a complete 
knowledge of the different methods of ap- 
plying his trade, he obtained positions in 
various shops, remaining in each of them 
long enough to obtain the desired experi- 
ence. He then returned to the Holyoke Ma- 
chine Company, with which concern he has 
since been associated, occupying the posi- 
tion of hydraulic engineer, or acting in any 
capacity to advance the interests of the 
different mechanical departments, in all of 
which he has a thorough and comprehensive 
knowledge. Recently he was granted a pat- 
ent on a pulp grinding machine. j\Ir. Whit- 
ten is a member of the Delta Upsilon fra- 
ternity, of which his two sons are also mem- 
bers, and a member of the Holyoke Canoe 
Club, the Sans Souci Club and Bay State 
Club. He spends his leisure time in the 
study of German, French, Italian, and other 
languages, a number of which he speaks in 
a fluent manner. His uniform courtesy and 
genial disposition have gained the friendly 
regard of all with vvhom he has come in 
contact, and in a work of this character he 
well deserves representation as an exem- 
plary resident of his native city. 



Mr. Whitten married, June 20, 1888, 
Laura Antz, of Holyoke, a daughter of 
Valentine Antz, a farmer of this section. 
Mrs. Whitten is a highly educated woman, 
and has written many pleasing articles for 
local works which have appeared in the pub- 
lic press at various times, she being well 
and favorably known along these lines. But 
her greatest work has been in connection 
with the National Congress of Alothers 
and also in the Infant Hygiene Association, 
of which she was the organizer, and of 
which she has always been president. She 
has also delivered many addresses upon this 
and other kindred subjects. Their family 
consists of four children: i. Edmund S., a 
graduate of Amherst College, obtained the 
degree of Master of Arts from Harvard 
College, after which he taught for two years 
in St. Stephen's College, was later Profes- 
sor of Modern Languages at Riverdale In- 
stitute, New York, and now (1917) has 
same position in Newton Day School ; he 
married Dorothy Von Schartle ; two chil- 
dren : Julia and Sumner H. 2. Philip F., 
a graduate of Amherst College, was physic- 
al director at Brown's School in Providence, 
now holds same position in Medford public 
schools; married, July 26, 1916, Helen M. 
Taylor, of Chicopee Falls, daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. Elmer R. Taylor ; the ceremony 
was performed by the Rev, A. D. Smith, 
pastor of the First Evangelical Congrega- 
tional Church, assisted by the Rev. T. Pace 
Haig, pastor of the Second Congregational 
Church of Chicopee Falls; Mrs. Whitten 
is a graduate of Mt. Holyoke College, class 
of 191 5, and after her graduation was head 
of the French department at the West 
Springfield High School. 3. Madeline. 4. 
Eleanor. The Whitten family is one of 
prominence in the community where they 
reside, their home being noted for the gra- 
cious hospitality dispensed there. 



102 




/^ 



// / v> 



vv/' 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



FREW, Joseph N., 

Real Estate. 

Joseph N. Prew, whose sudden death oc- 
curred in Holyoke, February 17, 191 7, had 
been a resident of that city for over half 
a century, having been brought to Holyoke 
by his parents, his family being among the 
earliest French Canadian families in the 
city. Joseph X. Prew became one of the 
best known men of Holyoke, his extensive 
real estate dealings bringing him into con- 
tact with many business men of that city, 
but it was through his love for driving 
horses, of which he at times owned a num- 
ber, that he was best known, his fast ice 
racer, "Belle of Moscow," introducing him 
to racing horse owners thirty years prior 
to his death, and from that time he always 
had trotting horses in his stables, "Ma- 
rome," 2.08;^, being his fastest trotter. On 
the day of his death he was with his wife 
out driving "Golden Pheasant," one of his 
handsome fast horses, but before arriving 
home he was compelled to give the reins 
to her and they barely reached home before 
the end came. He had retired from busi- 
ness, but his love for horses endured to the 
last. "Belle of Moscow," the ice trotter, 
was succeeded by "Little Dan," he by 
"Mack," a horse he drove himself and 
brought in a winner many times. Then 
came "Marome," his fastest possession, oth- 
ers that are remembered being: "Viola," 
"Mamie," "Guy," and "Golden Pheasant," 
the latter being the last to delight his owner 
and the last over which he drew the reins. 
Nicholas Proulx, the father of Joseph E. 
Prew, who is entitled to rank among the 
founders of the Holyoke French Canadian 
Colony, came in 1856 from St. Ours in 
Canada, which township was settled by his 
great-grandfather, Francis ProuLx, who 
came from France. Soon after coming to 
Holyoke he entered the employ of the Ly- 
man Mills. There was a great demand for 



mill workers at this time, and for about five 
years this company kept him employed 
transporting families from Canada to Hol- 
yoke, he thus being instrumental in bringing 
hundreds of workmen and their families to 
Holyoke and to the mills. About 1861 he 
retired from the company's service and be- 
came a merchant, dealing in coal and wood 
for several years. Later he engaged in oth- 
er enterprises, always with a fair measure 
of success. He accumulated a fortune, and 
died in June, 1888, respected by all who 
knew him. He married Sophia Goddard, 
and they were the parents of five daughters 
and three sons, the latter, George, John J. 
and Joseph N., all being progressive busi- 
ness men of Holyoke, but only one son sur- 
vives him, George J. Prew, a leading cloth- 
ing merchant of Holyoke, and two daugh- 
ters, :Mrs. J. G. McCarthy and Mrs. M. A. 
Chabot, both of Holyoke. 

Joseph N. Prew, fourth child of Nicholas 
and Sophia (Goddard) Proulx, was born 
in St. Ours, Canada, March 14, 1844, and 
died in Holyoke, :Massachusetts, February 
17, 191 7. He remained in Canada until 
1856, then came to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, with his parents, that city ever after- 
ward being his home. He attended school 
in Canada, and later in Holyoke, and then 
was engaged as his father's assistant. In 
1876 he made his first business venture in 
association with his brother, John, in a pho- 
tograph gallery which they opened on High 
street and which was conducted by them 
until 1877. Later he engaged in the real 
estate business, and until his death con- 
tinued his dealings with success. He was 
also an extensive mortgage broker, assum- 
ing hundreds of risks, many of them of ex- 
ceedingly doubtful security, but he met with 
comparatively few losses. He continued in 
active business until within a few years of 
his death, his end being hastened by the se- 
rious accident at his home, November 27, 
1 91 6, when Mr. and ^Mrs. Prew were over- 



103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



come by coal gas, this greatly affecting his 
heart. Horses and racing were his recrea- 
tion, and it was seldom that he missed an 
important New England Meet and he often 
had an entry, at times doing the driving 
himself. Horsemen throughout New Eng- 
land knew him well and he was "Joe" Prew 
to many of the older men of the sport. He 
drove out with his wife every day during 
the last period of his life, his last ride end- 
ing in exhaustion, death very shortly fol- 
lowing their return. He was a member of 
the Church of Perpetual Help, and for a 
number of years had been a member of 
Holyoke Lodge, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He was buried in Notre 
Dame Cemetery, Holyoke. 

Mr. Prew married (first) in 1871, Ma- 
tilda Marchessault, of Holyoke, who died 
without children, in 1895. He married 
(second) in 1897, Caroline Vincent, daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Mary (Desrosiers) Vin- 
cent, of Holyoke. They were the parents 
of two children, both of whom died in in- 
fancy. Mrs. Prew survives her husband, 
residing at the home at No. 203 Pine street, 
Holyoke, purchased by Mr. Prew after the 
sale of his long time home in Maple street, 
to the city of Holyoke, in 191 1, the Central 
fire station standing on the site of the old 
home. 



WETHERELL, Arthur B., M. D., 

Physician, Hospital Manager. 

The Wetherell family has been long es- 
tablished in the United States. The name 
appears early in Taunton, Massachusetts, 
where its representatives have been numer- 
ous down to the present day. 

William Wetherell was in Taunton as 
early as 1643, ^"^ resided in what is now 
the town of Norton, near the outlet of Win- 
neconnet pond. He was a native of Maid- 
stone, Kent, England, whence several of 
this name came to America. Tradition says 



that he came over as a cabin boy. He was 
admitted a freeman in 1658, served as con- 
stable in 1662, was often a selectman of the 
town, was representative in 1671 and 1685, 
and in the latter year was sergeant of mi- 
litia. His will, made August 15, and pro- 
bated November 18, 1691, mentions wife, 
Dorothy, and children : William, John, and 
Dorothy, William (2) Wetherell, son of 
William (i) and Dorothy Wetherell, was 
born about 1660, and married, in 1681, Eliz- 
abeth Newland. They lived where the fath- 
er of William first settled on the outlet of 
Winneconnet pond, and were the parents 
of Nathaniel Wetherell, born May 5, 1696. 
He married and lived in Norton, and was 
the father of Nathaniel (2) Wetherell, born 
January 18, 1717. He married, August 4, 
1737, Diana Lincoln, born February 6, 
1722, daughter of Samuel and Hannah Lin- 
coln. Their son, Solomon Wetherell, born 
September 6, 1742, also lived in Norton. He 
married, April 2^, 1769, Sarah Lincoln, 
born x'Vugust 22, 1748, daughter of Abiel 
and Sarah (Fisher) Lincoln. Two sons 
are recorded in Norton, Solomon and Tis- 
dale. The latter was born July 24, 1773, in 
Norton, but removed to Middleboro, Mas- 
sachusetts. His son, Barney Wetherell, was 
born, 1824, in Middleboro, and remained 
there until seven years of age, when he went 
to Southampton, Massachusetts. There he 
attended the public schools, and early in life 
engaged in the manufacture of matches, in 
which he was successful. After operating 
a factory until 1874, he sold out and re- 
tired to a farm which he had purchased in 
Southampton. Here he resided until his 
death in 1900, at the age of seventy-six 
years. He was a useful and respected citi- 
zen. He married xA.delia M. Stedman, a na- 
tive of Manchester, Connecticut, daughter 
of Ebenezer Stedman. She was the mother 
of four children, and died at the age of 
seventy-two years. 

Dr. Arthur B. Wetherell, son of Barney 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Adelia M. (Stedman) Wetherell, was 
born February 2, 1855, in Southampton, 
Massachusetts. He attended the local pub- 
lic schools and academy. After a course at 
W'illiston Seminary, finding himself out of 
funds, he went to Boston to secure employ- 
ment to raise the necessary money to com- 
plete his college course. He was thus en- 
abled by industry and frugality to pursue a 
medical course in Harvard University, 
graduating in 1883. The following two 
years he was connected with hospitals in 
Boston, thus gaining a wide experience and 
knowledge supplemental to his college 
course. On April 6, 1886, he located at 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and for over thir- 
ty years has been prominently identified 
with the growth of medical science and de- 
velopment of his home city. He has been 
eminently successful in practice and has 
contributed in no' small degree to the wel- 
fare of the community. He was actively 
instrumental in the organization of the City 
Hospital, was associated with Dr. L. M. 
Tuttle in selecting its location, and has been 
a member of the hospital board to the pres- 
ent time and is now the senior physician on 
its staff. He is universally recognized, not 
only as "The good physician," but as a use- 
ful citizen. Dr. Wetherell is a member of 
the Holyoke Medical Society, Massachu- 
setts Medical Society, x\merican Medical 
Association, and Harvard Medical Alumni. 
Like his father, he is a member of the Ma- 
sonic order, being afftliated with Mount 
Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Mount Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; Holyoke Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Springfield Comman- 
dery, Knights Templar ; and the An- 
cient Arabic Order, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is a member of Unity Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; Knights 
of Pythias ; Holyoke Club ; Mount Tom 
Golf Club ; and Canoe Club of Holyoke. 
For fifteen years he has been a member 



of the Holyoke Board of Health, con- 
tinuously serving as chairman, and for 
many years (fifteen) was a member of the 
United States Pensions Examining Board. 
Dr. Wetherell married, December 28, 
1887, Erminie Davis, born in Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Benjamin Davis, 
who was born about 1830, in Somerset, 
Alassachusetts, a machinist, who through- 
out his active life engaged in building lo- 
comotive engines in Taunton for the Ma- 
son Locomotive Works. Benjamin Davis 
married Maria Robinson, a native of 
Charlestown, New Hampshire, daughter of 
Lemuel Robinson. She died in 1868. Of 
her four children, Mrs. Wetherell is the only 
one living. Children of Dr. and Mrs. 
Wetherell: i. Bryant, born November 19, 
1888; educated in the common schools, 
High School, Davis Allen School of New- 
ton, Williams College, graduate of Harvard 
Medical College, and is now an interne in 
the Masachusetts General Hospital. 2. Ma- 
rion, born July 23, 1895 ; educated in the 
common schools, High School, Walnut Hill 
School, and Vassar College, class of 191 7. 



PARIS, Daniel Eldon, 

Business Man. 

Daniel Eldon Paris, of Holyoke, has filled 
his present position as advertising manager 
of the Hampshire Paper Company since 
1906. He is a descendant of Thomas Par- 
ris, who came from England in 1663. He 
was the only son of John Parris, and grand- 
son of Thomas Parris, of London, England. 

Thomas Parris, the founder, sailed for 
America from Topsham, England, June 28, 
1663, locating on Long Island, there marry- 
ing Mary Jerklin. Later they removed to 
Boston, Massachusetts, where Mary, his 
wife, died, leaving two daughters. He 
shortly after moved to Pembroke, Massa- 
chusetts, where he married a Miss Rogers, 
and they were the parents of the following 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



children : Samuel, John, Thomas, of furth- 
er mention ; Moses, Elizabeth, married 
Ebenezer Bonney ; Anna, married Edward 
May. The line of descent from the 
founder is through Thomas (2) Parris, a 
son of Thomas ( i ) and his second wife ; 
Thomas (2) Parris married Hannah Gar- 
net, of Scituate, Massachusetts, who died in 
1770, aged sixty-eight. They were the 
parents of Thomas (3), Elkanah, of furth- 
er mention; Benjamin and Matthew Par- 
ris. 

Elkanah Parris was born in 1728, lived 
in Pembroke and Williamstown, finally, in 
1797, settled in Danby, Vermont, then a man 
of sixty-nine years. He married Grace 
Mott, of Scituate, Massachusetts, and soon 
afterward moved to Williamstown, Massa- 
chusetts, where most of their married life 
was spent. In the spring of 1797 they 
moved to the then comparatively pioneer 
settlement at Danby, Vermont, and there 
resided until his death, June 16, 181 3, his 
widow surviving him until August 19, 1819, 
being then aged eighty-one. He was a mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends, exemplary 
in life and morals. He accumulated con- 
siderable wealth, being one of the substan- 
tial farmers of the section, a worthy, peace- 
able, influential member of the community. 
He was a man of intelligence and ability, 
and Danby is yet the home of many of his 
descendants, and there and in other places 
they bear the same traits of character and 
disposition as did their ancestor, Elkanah 
Parris. Elkanah and Grace (Mott) Par- 
ris were the parents of Micah, Daniel, of 
further mention ; Hannah, Caleb, Deborah, 
Phoebe, Thankful, Huldah and Chloe. 

Daniel Parris was born in Williamstown, 
Massachusetts, in 1763, second son of El- 
kanah and Grace (Mott) Parris. He set- 
tled on his farm at Danby about 1785, and 
there died February 17, 1822, respected and 
regretted. He was a man of rugged, pow- 
erful physique, capable of enduring any 



hardship, and absolutely fearless, qualities 
which well became the pioneer settler. He 
was a young man of about twenty-two 
years, when, with his wife, he left his Mas- 
sachusetts home to seek another in Danby, 
which was then a wilderness. He became 
a wealthy land owner and prosperous 
farmer, influential in his community. He 
was constable in 1793, lister for five years,, 
auditor four years, and held other offices. 
He was a close friend of Isaac Tichenor, 
third Governor of Vermont, who frequent- 
ly visited at the Parris home in Danby. He 
was a member of the ]Masonic order, a man 
of upright life and generous nature, devoted 
to the interests of the community in which 
he lived, and a prominent factor in its up- 
building. He married (first) Eunice Lamb, 
who left children : Eunice and Daniel. 
He married (second) Drusilla Sherman, 
they were the parents of Hannah, Levi S., 
Caleb, Owen, Walter, Harvey, Huldah,. 
Fanny, Walter Mott, of further mention; 
Mary and Wesley Parris. 

Walter Mott Parris, next to the young- 
est son of Daniel Parris and his second 
wife, Drusilla (Sherman) Parris, was born 
in Danby, Vermont, in 1810, and died there 
in 1886. He obtained a good education, 
and some knowledge of the law, although 
he was a carpenter by trade and an excellent 
workman. But he possessed a talent and 
ability above the average man, and was fre- 
quently consulted by the members of the 
neighborhood, his knowledge of law and 
sound judgment leading them aright. He 
was the only one of his family to learn 
a trade, they all becoming farmers. He 
married, in 1834, Nancy, widow of his 
brother, Levi S. Parris, and resided in both 
Danby and Pawlet. She died in 1836, leav- 
ing a son, Daniel E., of further mention, and 
a daughter, Nancy, born in 1836, shortly be- 
fore her mother's death. He married (sec- 
ond) Mirandes, daughter of Ishmael Mat- 
terson, who died in 1865, leaving children: 



106 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mary, Delia, Malvina, Merritt and Clark 
Parris. 

Daniel E. Paris (he dropping the extra 
"r" from the name), was born in Danby, 
Connecticut, in 1835, and died in Albany, 
New York, in 1895, son of Walter Mott 
Parris and his first wife. He was a well 
educated man, studying both for the minis- 
try and law, but eventually discarding both, 
and becoming a business man. In Albany he 
became a well known manufacturer of 
stoves, a member of Potter, Paris and Com- 
pany, and later of Burdette, Paris & Com- 
pany. At one time in his career he went 
West, and in Sioux City, Iowa, erected a 
stove foundry, the largest in that section of 
the West. Able and progressive, he com- 
piled a creditable record up to the time of 
his death at the age of sixty. He was a 
member of the Presbyterian church, and 
politically a Republican. Mr. Paris married 
Susan E. Bristol, daughter of Lawrence 
Bristol, of Ballston Spa, New York. They 
were the parents of : Daniel Eldon, of fur- 
ther mention ; Burt J., married Grace May- 
nard, and has a son Eldon ; Sherman B. 

Daniel Eldon Paris, eldest son of Daniel 
E. and Susan E. (Bristol) Paris, was born 
in Albany, New York, April 3, 1881. He 
was educated in the public schools and Al- 
bany Academy, beginning business at Troy, 
New York, as an employe of George P. 
Ide, the famous collar manufacturer. He 
remained in the Ide factory four years, and 
then was appointed an instructor in adver- 
tising in the International Correspondence 
Schools at Scranton, Pennsylvania. He 
conducted this department with success for 
two and a half years, then for three years 
was associated with the Lord Advertising 
Agency in New York City. In 1906 he be- 
gan his duties as advertising manager for 
the Hampshire Paper Company, taking up 
his residence in Holyoke at this time. On 
January i, 1 918, he took charge of the ad- 
vertising of Stone & Webster, large con- 



struction engineers of Boston. He took up 
his residence in Brookline at this time. Mr. 
Paris is a member of the National Adver- 
tisers Association, and of other organiza- 
tions of a business nature, also of the Hol- 
yoke Canoe, the Holyoke and Rotary clubs. 
He is an attendant of the Congregational 
church, and in politics a Republican. 

Mr. Paris married, December 12, 1906, 
Harriet Scott, daughter of John Scott, of 
Omaha, Nebraska, an ex-Governor of the 
State, who married Harriet Wolcott. 



PRICE, Charles A., 

Automobile Agent. 

As one of the men who have developed 
with the automobile industry, Mr. Price, 
as agent for the Chevrolet Car in Holyoke, 
is putting into action the knowledge gained 
during the years of his connection with the 
business in other cities. He came to his 
present position by regular graduations, be- 
ginning in the shop, and finally becoming a 
valued factor in the success of the Knox 
Automobile Company of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, serving that company as sales- 
man until beginning business for himself. 
An expert in automobile knowledge, and 
rich in experience, he combines these with 
ability and industry, and is winning hon- 
orable position among the successful men in 
his line of business. Mr. Price is of Eng- 
lish descent, a great-grandson of Lathrop 
Price, of New York State, a marble cut- 
ter and dealer in monumental work, who 
left sons: Darwin and Charles Augustus. 

The line of descent to Charles Augustus 
(3) Price, of Holyoke, is through Charles 
Augustus (i), son of Lathrop Price. He 
was born in New York State, in 1832, and 
there resided during his youth and early 
manhood, dying in Ellington, Connecticut, 
in 1865. He was taught the marble cut- 
ter's trade by his father, and was associated 
with him in his monumental yard until lo- 



107 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



eating for himself in Ellington. He married 
Margaret Ann Donigan, born in County 
Tipperary, Ireland, who survived her hus- 
band thirty-seven years, married (second) 
David Halloway, and died in 1902, aged 
seventy-four years. Charles A. and Mar- 
garet Ann Price were the parents of two 
daughters and two sons : Rosilla, married 
Charles Kneeland ; Margaret ; George, died 
young; Charles Augustus, of further men- 
tion. 

Charles Augustus (2) Price, the only 
son of Charles Augustus ( i ) and Margaret 
Ann (Donigan) Price, to survive child- 
hood, was born in Ellington, Connecticut, 
December 9, 1857, and is now living there, 
a retired life. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, and after arriving at an age to 
choose his own career became a farmer, so 
continuing all his active years, owning his 
own property at Ellington. He has always 
been interested in public affairs, has served 
the town as selectman, and for many years 
has and is still serving as a member of the 
board of assessors (1917). His life has 
been quietly but usefully spent, and he holds 
the highest respect of the community. He 
attends the Congregational church, and in 
political preference is a Republican. He 
married (first) in Port Jervis, New York, in 
September, 1883, Nettie Louise Ward, who 
died January 29, 1888, daughter of John 
and Josephine (Waldo) W^ard. Mr. and 
Mrs. Price were the parents of two daugh- 
ters and two sons : Maude, married Ray- 
mond Steele; Josephine, married Fred M. 
Aborn; Harry; Charles Augustus, of 
further mention. Mr. Price married (sec- 
ond) in 1 89 1, Louise Hancock, born in 
Wapping, Connecticut, daughter of James 
W. and Iva Louise (Davy) Hancock. 

Charles Augustus (3) Price, youngest 
child of Charles Augustus (2) and Nettie 
Louise (Ward) Price, was born in Elling- 
ton, Connecticut, December 4, 1886, and 



there spent his youth on the farm and in 
public schools. After finishing courses in 
the Ellington grade schools, he entered 
Rockville high school, finishing with the 
graduating class of 1906. His desire was 
to get into the business world, and imme- 
diately after graduation he secured a posi- 
tion at Windsor Locks, Connecticut, as 
clerk in a wholesale and retail hardware 
store, continued there one year, then came 
to Massachusetts, locating in the city of 
Springfield, where he found good fortune 
awaiting him in the form of a permanent 
business. 

His first position in Springfield was with 
the Knox Automobile Company, with which 
concern he remained seven years, years of 
great importance to the young man. He 
began in the mechanical department, and 
before leaving it knew every bolt, nut, 
screw, or part of the cars that the com- 
pany handled. Later he was advanced to 
the position of salesman, and there he 
proved his ability to sell cars. With tech- 
nical and practical mechanical knowledge 
combined with ability as a salesman, noth- 
ing was lacking but the opportunity to dem- 
onstrate his fitness for a place in the auto- 
mobile ranks as an agent. This came in 
191 5, when he secured an agency for farm 
tractors and engines which he successfully 
conducted for about two years. This agency 
paved the way for another, and in Febru- 
ary, 19 1 7, he opened salesrooms in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, as the agent for the 
Chevrolet Car. To this he is devoting his 
entire time and energy, and is building up a 
strong agency. Although a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, he is essentially a 
business man, devoting little time to outside 
interests. 

]\Ir. Price married, November 27, 1913, 
Lillian Margaret Premo, granddaughter of 
Stephen and Mary (Bradley) Premo, and 
daughter of Albert and Catherine (Fergu- 



108 






A3Tl 
i-' 




^>^.^//, 'l^.^/^m 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



son) Premo, of Malone, New York. Mr. 
and Mrs. Price are the parents of Charles 
Augustus (4), born April 27, 191 5. 



ANGERS, William George, 

Lumber Merchant. 

A resident of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
since 1886, Mr. Angers, the successful 
wholesale lumber dealer, has won his way to 
honorable position in the business world. 
He is a son of George Angers, of St. Ours, 
Quebec, Canada, and grandson of Pierre 
Paul Angers, of St. Ours, a descendant of 
Charles and Graheme (De Geloze) Angers 
(originally "Teque") of Notre Dame, Bor- 
gonne Gascogne, France, whose son, Pierre 
Charles Angers, sailed from France in De- 
cember, 1732, and landed on American soil 
at Pointe Aux Tremble, January 7, 1733, 
founder of the family in Canada, and from 
him descends William George Angers, of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

Pierre Paul Angers w^as born at St. 
Ours, Quebec, Canada, in 1809, and died in 
his native province in 1881. He was a man 
of learning, educated for the priesthood, but 
did not take holy orders. Instead he became 
a teacher, following that profession for 
many years, eventually retiring, a govern- 
ment pension being awarded him in recog- 
nition of his long and valuable service. He 
married Cesaire Hasse and their children 
were : Rene ; George, of further mention ; 
Eliza, married a Mr. Menard ; Deliva, mar- 
ried Charles Perault. 

George Angers, son of Pierre Paul 
Angers, was born at St. Ours, Quebec, Can- 
ada. After completing his school years he 
learned the milling business and in time be- 
came a mill owner, operating a grist mill at 
St. Cesaire, grinding grain for the entire 
community. He purchased a farm of sixty 
acres adjoining his mill, and with the aid 
of his sons, Philip and Joseph, he carried 
on both farming and milling operations. He 



married Lucy Dupont, born 1847, died 
191 1, daughter of William Dupont, of St. 
Demos, Canada. They were the parents of 
Evelina, William George, of further men- 
tion. Philip, Prelchere, Joseph, and two who 
died young. 

William George Angers, eldest son of 
George and Lucy (Dupont) Angers, was 
born at St. Cesaire, Quebec, Canada, March 
18, 1865. He attended school in St. Ce- 
saire, and was his father's mill assistant un- 
til reaching legal age, after which in 1886, 
he came to the United States, locating at 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, and being a miller 
he soon found a position with the Prentice 
Brooks Company, millers and grain dealers. 
For eighteen years he continued with that 
company in the same plant, gaining experi- 
ence and capital, which later was employed 
to his advantage. In 1905 Mr. Angers es- 
tablished a wholesale lumber business in 
Holyoke, and has built up a prosperous line 
of trade, especially, with the paper mills of 
the country, shipping lumber in car quan- 
tities to mills in widely separated sections. 
He is a man of fine business quality, able, 
upright and progressive. For thirty-one 
years he has been connected with Holyoke's 
business interests as employer and mer- 
chant, and in that period has won high 
standing both as business man and citi- 
zen. 

Mr. Angers married, August 20, 1889, 
Anna Moret, born in St. Cesaire, Canada, 
who when young was brought to the United 
States by her parents, Peter and Eupheme 
(Messier) Moret. Mr. and Mrs. Angers 
have an adopted daughter, Leona Seymour 
Angers. The family are members of the 
Church of Perpetual Help, Holyoke. 



HAM, William Gerrish, 

City Marshal, Patriotic Citizen. 



William Gerrish Ham, a public-spirited 
citizen of Holyoke, well-known for a great 



109 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



many years as its city marshal, was the 
son of Daniel Ham, a prominent contractor, 
builder, and lumber dealer, who was iden- 
tified for a long time with the business com- 
munity of Oldtown, Maine, until 1850, when 
he moved to Francestown, New Hampshire. 
He was descended from Teal Ham, a Rev- 
.olutionary soldier in the British Army, who 
died in 1830, and was buried at Johnstown, 
New York. In the Genealogical Bulletin, 
Vol. I, p. 95, a copy of the discharge 
of Teal Ham from his regiment, the "King's 
Own" is given, signed by its Colonel, Ed- 
ward Fanning, Esq., in 1783. The Ger- 
rishes from whom he derived his descent on 
the female side came from Gerrish Island, 
near Portsmouth, Paul Gerrish being the 
name of the original settler of that name in 
Nottingham. Daniel Ham was originally 
of Nottingham, New Hampshire, but re- 
moved to Maine, and after a sojourn there 
he returned to the old State, and identified 
himself with Francestown. He married 
Sarah Watson and their children were : 
Lucretia, William Gerrish, of further men- 
tion ; George, Charles, and Daniel. 

William Gerrish Ham was born in Old- 
town, Maine, March 20, 1836, and died at 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, August 2, 1903. 
A man of strong personality, his great per- 
sonal magnetism and his fearlessness in the 
discharge of duty made him a conspicuous 
figure in the community. His interests were 
broad, and his sympathies were never ap- 
pealed to in vain. His energy and his ca- 
pacity for leadership showed themselves 
early, though he had that steadiness of char- 
acter that submits to discipline until it has 
learned all its lessons. He was a boy of 
fourteen when his parents removed from 
Oldtown, Maine, to Francestown, New 
Hampshire, where he completed his stud- 
ies and then learned the carpenter's trade. 
At the age of twenty-two years he obtained 
the position of chief carpenter at the Hamp- 
den Mills of Holyoke, under his uncle, D. 



D. Combre, who was at that time the agent 
of the mills. He remained here a short 
time, after which he accepted a position 
with Wiggin & Flagg. At the outbreak of 
the Civil War and during all that period of 
intense activity and enormous industrial 
pressure, he was greatly interested, being 
located at Wilton, New Hampshire. In 1866 
he returned to Holyoke. Perceiving the 
necessity for greater police protection in 
the growing town, he with the assistance 
of the prominent citizens, organized the 
first police department in Holyoke. In 
this work he was associated with Jacob 
F. Davis and Henry Smith, he being ap- 
pointed captain of the police force. With- 
in a short time, however, the great in- 
dustrial growth of the town, called for a 
more thorough organization of this de- 
partment. In 1873, the city was incorporated 
and immediately upon its incorporation as a 
city a new police department was established 
and Mr. Ham was elected first city mar- 
shal or chief of the department. No man 
could have been better fitted to cope with 
the difficult problems that came under his 
jurisdiction at this time. He was a man 
of conspicuous daring, of an unflinching 
integrity, and zeal for the public service, 
and gifted at the same time with that 
geniality and good comradeship that wins 
the aflfectionate loyalty and respect of 
all ranks. This popularity followed him 
to the time of his death. For the twenty- 
five years following the Civil War, Mr. 
Ham was city marshal and deputy sheriff 
of Hampden and Hampshire counties. 
These were days before the civil service 
reforms, and when the administration 
changed he was at times defeated for mar- 
shal. He would then become a deputy sher- 
iflf or even a private detective. Then when 
there came a turn in the political tide he 
would again be put at the head of the po- 
lice department. 

Growing out of his keen desire for the 



1 10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



suppression of disorder and violence in the 
community, was his interest in the punish- 
ment of cruelty. He was an energetic agent 
of the Society for the Prevention of Cru- 
elty to Animals, and his efforts in this di- 
rection, and his fearless prosecution of of- 
fenders did much to lessen the evils com- 
mitted against helpless animals. In his pub- 
lic career Mr. Ham made hosts of friends, 
and his liking for his fellows induced him 
in 1886 to purchase the American House, 
in Springfield. This he conducted for 
thirteen years, and it became under his man- 
agement one of the most widely known and 
most popular houses in the entire region. 
As a host he was inimitable, and his guests 
came from far and wide, and all were 
heartily welcomed. Mr. Ham was a mem- 
ber of Ionic Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Easthampton; of the Knights of 
Pythias, the Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks, and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He was also a member of 
the Board of Trade of Springfield. He was 
an attendant of the Second Congregational 
Church of Holyoke. 

Mr. Ham married, December 18, 1855, 
Lydia A. Avery, daughter of Solomon and 
Lavinia (Morse) Avery, of Mason, New 
Hampshire. Her father was the son of 
Ephraim Avery, and her mother, Lavinia 
(Morse) Avery was the daughter of Jacob 
and Lydia (Senter) Morse. Jacob IMorse 
w^as the son of Obadiah Morse, who served 
in the Revolutionary War and was a kins- 
man of Samuel Morse, the inventor of the 
telegraph. The children of William Ger- 
rish and Lydia A. (Avery) Ham were: 
Ada Bell, who married Henry Houston, 
of Holyoke (see sketch elsewhere) ; Wil- 
liam Albert and William Perkins, both of 
whom died in infancy. The engraving of 
Mr. Ham found in connection with this 
sketch has been placed here by his widow 
and will, it is felt, be a source of pleasure 
to his many friends. 



FREEMAN, Peter Francis, 

Retired Business Man. 

Peter F. Freeman, of Holyoke, was born 
in Uxbridge, Massachusetts, and brought to 
Holyoke in 1867, by his parents, Peter and 
Hannah (McAuliffe) Freeman, who were 
both born in Ireland. Peter Freeman, Sr., 
had brothers and sisters : James, Patrick, 
Ann, Winifred and Bridget, all of whom 
came to the United States as did their par- 
ents. Roscommon, Ireland, was the Free- 
man home, and there Peter Freeman was 
born February 2, 1831. He grew to youth- 
ful manhood in his native land, obtained an 
education, and developed a strong mind and 
body. In 1850 he came to the United 
States, finally locating in Woonsocket, 
Rhode Island, and there became a woolen 
mill employee. For a number of years 
he was employed in the woolen mills owned 
by A. T. Stewart, his duty being the grading 
and sorting of wool. After Mr. Stewart's 
death the mill management changed, and 
Mr. Freeman left that employ, going to 
California, where for two years he was en- 
gaged in the same line of business in San 
Francisco, as a buyer, grader and sorter 
of wool. 

Upon his return East he became a w^hole- 
sale produce dealer with headquarters in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, but doing busi- 
ness over a large area of surrounding coun- 
try. He dealt in wholesale quantities and 
among his customers were the public and 
private institutions of Worcester. In 1867 
he located both his home and his business 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and there con- 
tinued actively engaged until his death, De- 
cember 23, 1910, aged eighty-three years. 
He was a man who had won success through 
his own ability, courage and industry. He 
gave liberally of his means to church and 
charity, particularly remembering St. Vin- 
cent De Paul Society and Sacred Heart 
Church, as well as many of the older peo- 



III 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pie of his acquaintance. The business block 
at No. 420-426 j\Iaple street, which bears 
his name, was erected by him, as was the 
family homestead at No. 126 Sargent 
street, and he was rated one of his city's 
substantial men. Peter Freeman married 
Hannah McAulifTe, born in Cork, Ireland, 
November 25, 1832, died in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1892. Air. and Mrs. Free- 
man were the parents of ten sons and 
daughters : James, now a resident of San 
Francisco, California; Katherine, of Hol- 
yoke; Mary, of Holyoke; Margaret, mar- 
ried Thomas McHugh ; John T., of Hol- 
yoke ; Peter Francis, of further mention ; 
Daniel, deceased; Winifred, married John 
Swords, of Springfield ; Rev. Robert, de- 
ceased, a priest of the Roman Catholic 
Church ; Hannah, deceased. 

Peter Francis Freeman, third son of Pe- 
ter and Hannah Freeman, was born in Ux- 
bridge, Massachusetts, July 24, 1863, but 
in 1867 was taken to Holyoke by his par- 
ents and there has always resided. He ob- 
tained his education in both public and pa- 
rochial schools of the city, and after com- 
pleting his studies spent about two and a 
half years as a drug clerk. At the end of 
that period he became associated with his 
father in the wholesale produce business. 
Spending several years as his assistant, he 
he was admitted to a partnership, the firm 
trading as Peter Freeman & Son. He con- 
tinued in business carrying the heavier bur- 
dens of the same as the years granted the 
senior member exemption, but since the 
death of Peter Freeman in 1910, the son 
retired and has since devoted himself en- 
tirely to his extensive real estate and pri- 
vate property interests. 

Peter Francis Freeman married, October 
28, 1896, Annie Carroll, of Windsor Locks, 
Connectciut. 

I 



CRAVEN, John Joseph, 

Business Man. 

Among the esteemed residents of Hol- 
yoke, and one whose activities have extend- 
ed over more than a quarter of a century, is 
John Joseph Craven. An Irishman by birth 
and parentage, he inherited those qualities 
of industry and perseverance which are 
characteristic of that race, and which make 
of them such valuable citizens. 

Patrick Craven, father of John Joseph 
Craven, a native of County Roscommon, 
Ireland, was born in 181 8, being one of a 
family of six children, all deceased, the 
names of the other members having been as 
follows: John, Michael, Ellen, Bridget and 
Mary. He attended the common schools of 
that day, and throughout his active years 
devoted his entire attention to the cultiva- 
tion of the soil, owning a small farm where- 
on he resided. He married Mary Doyle, 
born in County Roscommon, Ireland, in 
1832, now (191 7) living in Ireland, aged 
eighty-five years, daughter of Larry and 
Bridget (Moran) Doyle. Children: Mar- 
tin, deceased ; Thomas, a resident of Phil- 
adelphia, Pennsylvania ; Bridget, became the 
wife of David Maley, of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts; Maria, became the wife of Fred 
Chamberlain, of Waterbury, Connecticut; 
Patrick, died young; Ellen, became the 
wife of Thomas Smalley, of Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts ; John Joseph, of whom furth- 
er ; and Annie, became the wife of William 
Finnegan, resides in Ireland. Patrick Cra- 
ven, father of these children, died at his 
home in Ireland, July, 1900, aged eighty- 
two years. 

John Joseph Craven was born in Cooley- 
garry, County Roscommon, Ireland, June 
29, 1869. He attended the National schools 
of Ireland in his native town, and assisted 



12 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his father with the work of the farm until 
he attained the age of twenty years, when, 
having decided that the opportunities for 
advancement were greater in America, he 
came to the United States in 1889, and lo- 
cated in Holyoke, Massachusetts, which 
city has since been his home. His first em- 
ployment in his adopted country was in the 
paper mills of Holyoke, namely, the Gill 
Paper Mill, the Parsons Paper Company, 
the Holyoke Paper Company, the Frankhn 
Paper Company and the Albion Mills, con- 
tinuing thus until 1907. For eleven years 
he has also been engaged in the milk busi- 
ness, and for the past ten years, since his 
retirement from work in the mills, has de- 
voted his entire time to the latter occupa- 
tion, purchasing that product from the 
farmers in the vicinity and disposing of it 
to his regular customers, handling between 
five and six hundred quarts daily. In addi- 
tion to this he has real estate interests, to 
which he devotes considerable time. He is 
thrifty and has a determination to succeed, 
two excellent traits of character, which, if 
applied properly, are sure to bring success. 
Mr. Craven holds membership in the Order 
of Foresters and the Ancient Order of Hi- 
bernians. 

Mr. Craven married, November 12, 1895, 
Hannah Bresnahan, born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, May 14, 1869, daughter of Tim- 
othy and Ellen (Harrigan) Bresnahan. She 
came to this country from her native land 
in 1886, locating in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts. Children : George Francis, born Au- 
gust 9, 1896, a student of Holy Cross Col- 
lege, Worcester, ^Massachusetts, pursuing 
the medical course ; Theresa, born Decem- 
ber 13, 1897, died October 25, 1898; Chris- 
tina, born December 11, 1898, died January 
II, 1899; Charles Henry, born March 7, 
1900, died July 26, 1900; Mary Veronica, 
born April 13, 1901, a student in the Holy 
Rosary School ; Hannah, born May 4, 1902, 
a student in Holy Rosary School ; Ellen 
MASS.— 7— 8. I 



Cecelia, born April 12, 1 904; Frances, bom 
May 17, 1906; Martha,-" born June 17, 
1908. 



JONES, Leonard Frederick, 

Builder, Contractor. 

The ancestors of Leonard Frederick Jones 
were among the early settlers of the Con- 
necticut Valley, their names being found on 
the records of those groups that gradually 
spread out in widening circles from the par- 
ent colonies. These old English pioneers 
possessed a large amount of good business 
sagacity as well as the intense spirit of 
religious independence, and we find them 
gradually moving out to the newer arable 
lands which afforded a better living, and 
where they could at the same time worship 
in accordance with their own ideas of doc- 
trine and discipline. 

Thomas Jones, of New London, Connec- 
ticut, married and had a son, Thomas (2) 
Jones, of Colchester, Connecticut, who mar- 
ried and had a son, Jabez Jones, of Colches- 
ter, who married Anna Ransom, and their 
children were: Thomas, born May 21, 
1732; Jabez, born January 14, 1733 or 
1734 ; Amos, born January 2, 1734 or 1735 ; 
Anna, born October 5, 1736; Israel, born 
January 7, 1738, of Deerfield, 1783; Asa, 
born June 9, 1739; Hazel, born January 6, 
1742; Jehiel, of whom further; Ariel, 
born September 28, 1745 ; Sarah, born Jan- 
uary 7, 1747 ; Abijah, born July 5, 1750, set- 
tled in Shelborn ; Benoni, married, in 1791, 

Catherine ; David, of Shelborn and 

Deerfield, 1775-84, went to Blenheim, New 
York; Joshua, of Deerfield, 1775, of Shel- 
born, 1780; Phineas. 

(IV) Jehiel Jones, the sixth son of Jabez 
and Anna (Ransom) Jones, was born at Col- 
chester, Connecticut, September 20, 1743, 
and died June 5, 1835, at the age of ninety- 
two. He removed from Colchester to Shel- 
born, and was in Deerfield prior to 1783. 
13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In 1787 he is recorded as being a school- 
master. Later he settled in Wisdom where 
he died. He married, September 20, 1765, 
Lucretia Hamilton, who died May 7, 1821, 
at the age of eighty. Their children were : 
I. Jehiel, born December 8, 1766. 2. Loru- 
hamah, born March 3, 1768; married Cap- 
tain Caleb Jones, of Somers ; removed to 
Blenheim ; returned to Deerfield and died 
about 1840. 3. Lovinah, born February 25, 
1770; married Dr. ]\IcClallan, of New York 
State. 4. Lucretia, born July 22, 1772; 
married (bans published August 15, 1798) 
Joseph Robbins. 5. Sally, born December 
25, 1774.^ 6. Russell, born October 27, 
^777- 7- Jabez, born June 2"/, 1780. 8. 
Amos, born January i, 1783. 9. James, born 
February 2"/, 1785, died ^lay 21, 1788. 10. 
Israel, of whom further. 11. Amasa, born 
September i, 1789, died December 22, 1810. 

{ V) Israel Jones, son of Jehiel and Lu- 
cretia (Hamilton) Jones, was born March 
15, 1787, and died April 6, 1861. He fol- 
lowed the trade of carpenter, living in Wis- 
dom, a section of Deerfield, ^Massachusetts. 
He married (first) December i, 1808, 
Eleanor, daughter of John Broaderick. She 
died May 17, 1826, and he married (sec- 
ond) in 1828, Cynthia, daughter of Daniel 
Wise, and widow of Silas Atwood. She 
died June 19, 1871. The children of Is- 
rael Jones were: i. Dennis Stearns, born 
November 28, 1809; married (bans pub- 
lished March 17, 1831), Experience F. 
Hutchins ; died August 31, 1872. 2. Amasa, 
of whom further. 3. Eliza, born November 
18, 181 5, died October 13, 1818. 4. Louisa, 
born February 18, 1818; married Asa R. 
Hutchins. 5. Charles, born July 27, 1820 ; 
married, December 5, 1847, Margaret, 
daughter of Robert Tombs ; selectman for 
twelve years, chairman of the board for 
seven years. 6. Eleanor, born August 12, 
1830; married, December 25, 1845, George 
W. Jones. 

(VI) Amasa Jones, the second son of Is- 



rael and Eleanor (Broaderick) Jones, was 
born at Deerfield, Massachusetts, March 6, 
1 81 3, and died September 7, 1877. He was 
a farmer, cultivating a place in West Deer- 
field. He married, December 15, 1836, 
Nancy B., daughter of Nathan Robbins. 
Their children were: i. Julius Wellington, 
of whom further. 2. Amanda, born No- 
vember 2, 1839. 3. Gilbert E., born October 
18, 1844; carpenter; settled in Greenfield 
and married Ella Eastman. 4. Almond A., 
born December 17, 1845; settled in Hol- 
yoke ; married Agnes Williamson. 5. Ed- 
ward Jenner, born August 6, 1852. 6. 
Spencer, born November 10, 1854; married 
Flora Page, of Greenfield. 

(\TI) Julius Wellington Jones, the eld- 
est son of Amasa and Nancy B. (Robbins) 
Jones, was born in Deerfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 22, 1837, and died in Hol- 
yoke, March 6, 191 5. He was engaged in 
farming early in life, but while still a young 
man made himself master of the carpenter's 
trade, and went Extensively into building. 
For forty years he followed this profession, 
at first in Deerfield, and after i860 'in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. As the business grew 
he became an increasingly large employer of 
labor. The possibilities of real estate at- 
tracted him in connection with his building 
operations, and his practice of buying land, 
building upon it and then selling at a prof- 
it was found to be one of shrewd business 
sense and eminently successful. For a time 
he lived at South Hadley Falls. He married 
Anne, daughter of John Fiffe. Their chil- 
dren were : i. Leonard Frederick, of whom 
further. 2. Bertha, who died at the age of 
nine. 

(VIII) Leonard Frederick Jones, son of 
Julius Wellington and Anne (FiflFe) Jones, 
was born at South Hadley Falls, ]\Iassachu- 
setts, September 18, 1866. His early edu- 
cation was received at the city schools of 
Holyoke. When through school he learned 
carpentry with his father, and later became 



114 



THE 'piEW ■ , 

IPUSLIC LIBkaj 



AST(yR. LENOX ^N^r^ 




^ 



::^V////- ( r/^r 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his business partner. After a time he went 
into business for himself, adding to his car- 
pentry extensive operations in building and 
contracting. Within the last five years he 
has practically withdrawn from that side 
of the work, finding his time fully occupied 
with his real estate interests. Mr. Jones is 
a member of the Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; the commandery of 
Knights Templar, the Boston Consistory, 
and of Melha Temple, Mystic Shrine, of 
Springfield, up to thirty-second degree. 

Mr. Jones married, September 25, 1892, 
Catherine, daughter of Richard and Cather- 
ine (Brannon) Brown, of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and granddaughter of Richard 
Brown, of England. They have two chil- 
dren: Julius Wellington, born October 19, 
1893, and Ralph Howard, born August 6, 
1896. 



OCTO, Frank, 

Business Man. 

Frank Octo, now deceased, for many 
years engaged in the furniture business, 
was recognized as one of the leading French 
merchants and citizens of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. He wielded a strong influence 
among his fellowmen, an influence gained 
through the absolute confidence they had 
in his integrity, in his true friendship for 
his countrymen and the genuineness of his 
efforts to advance their interests. He came 
to Holyoke, a young man, a carpenter by 
trade, but later became interested in mer- 
chandising, and there stands as a monu- 
ment to his energy and public spirit the 
large Octo Block at Nos. 69 and 71 High 
street, and in that block is the sign "Frank 
Octo & Co.," a sign erected in 1882 when 
young Napoleon Desrosiers was admitted a 
partner. Twenty years later Frank Octo 
ceased from his labors, but Mr. Desrosiers, 
a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in the 



work, yet continued the business under the 
old name, Frank Octo & Co. 

Frank Octo, son of Francis Octo, was 
born in St. Bernard, Quebec, Canada, in 
1847, ^i^d died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
April 29, 1901. He was educated in the 
schools of St. Marie, Canada, and after 
learning and becoming an expert at the car- 
penter's trade, he came to the United 
States. He began his American life in Bos- 
ton, there following his trade, and later was 
employed in Long Meadow and Springfield. 
He also followed his trade for a time 
in Holyoke, then began business in a 
small way, dealing principally in sec- 
ond hand goods. He prospered and as 
his means increased he built the Oc- 
to Block on High street, and therein opened 
a furniture and house furnishing store on 
a large scale. He conducted his large busi- 
ness alone until 1882, when he admitted 
Napoleon Desrosiers, a young fellow coun- 
tryman, who had won his favor. From that 
partnership dates the firm name, Frank Oc- 
to & Co., which has never changed. 

Mr. Octo was a wise, shrewd business 
man, and prosperity attended his well di- 
rected eft'orts. He possessed vision and 
public spirit, believed in Holyoke and in its 
future greatness. In addition to the Octo 
Block, he built two apartment houses, and 
a fine residence on Lincoln street, but his 
mercantile business was his chief interest. 
Although he died hardly more than in life's 
prime, he was rated one of the wealthy 
men of the city. The business he founded 
and developed in association with his part- 
ner was one of large proportions, and while 
its inspiration and long time directing head 
has been absent in the body for many years, 
the principles he inculcated and enforced 
yet pervade every department of the busi- 
ness ; his name is still carried as the firm 
name, and Frank Octo, "though dead, yet 
speaketh." 

Mr. Octo married, in 1887, Philemon 



115 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Couture, daughter of George and \'erniee 
(Verson) Couture, of St. Marie, Canada. 
Their two children, Frank and Boni, died 
in infancy. Mrs. Octo continues her resi- 
dence in Holyoke. 



COUTURE, Louis, 

Real Estate Expert. 

Among the well known French residents 
of Holyoke who have achieved a success in 
the real estate and investment business 
should be mentioned the name of Louis 
Couture, who is an expert in his line of bus- 
iness and well informed upon real estate 
values in that city. Mr. Couture is a son of 
George Couture, and a grandson of Michael 
Couture, a carpenter in Canada. Michael 
Couture married Marie Marcou, and they 
were the parents of Pierre, George, Mark, 
Michael, Felix and Henry Couture. George 
Couture, a grist and saw mill operator, mar- 
ried Verniee Verson, and they were the 
parents of Eisebe ; George, deceased : Louis, 
of further mention ; Philemon, married 
Frank Octo, of Holyoke, a merchant and 
capitalist, who died in 1901, she yet a res- 
ident of Holyoke and his widow ; Anna, de- 
ceased ; Celenier, deceased. 

Louis Couture was born in St. Elzoine, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, in 1857, and is 
now and since 1888 has been a resident 
of Holyoke. Massachusetts. He attended 
school in his native parish until fourteen 
years of age, and in the intervals of school 
life was employed in light farm work. In 
1 87 1 he left Canada and located at Island 
Pond. \'ermont, where he was employed in 
the saw mills, teaming and in general lum- 
bering work. In 1888 he located in Holyoke, 
where he has since resided. Here he took 
a position with his brother-in-law, Frank 
Octo, who was one of the leading furniture 
dealers in the city, and he continued in his 
employ for twelve years, being engaged not 
onlv in the furniture business but also in 



'Sir. Octo's real estate and building opera- 
tions. In 1901 he resigned from this posi- 
tion and engaged in business for himself, 
since which time his entire attention has 
been given to his real estate investments. 
In connection with his sons he is also inter- 
ested in a farm enterprise of large propor- 
tions in the town of Granby. . He has man- 
aged his affairs wisely and is one of the sub- 
stantial men of the French Colony. 

]Mr. Couture married, in 1878, at Island 
Pond. \'ermont, Anna Payer, born in 
Leeds. Quebec, Canada, daughter of Joshua 
and Marie (LeGeunne) Payer. Mr. and 
Mrs. Couture are the parents of four chil- 
dren : Joseph A., died in infancy; George 
Lhrich Theodore, a farmer of the town of 
Granby, married Elizabeth Trudeau, they 
the parents of Bonhaur, Martha, Virginia, 
Marjorie and Eleanor; Aurelius Boni Ar- 
zeba, married Orien LaLiberte, and has a 
daughter Muirelle ; he is a contractor with 
his father. 



BALL. James Rowe, 

Agriculturist. 

James Rowe Ball, the well-known agri- 
culturist of Holyoke, Massachusetts, was 
bom on the homestead, where he still lives, 
being in the eighth generation of an old 
New England family. Seven generations 
of the Ball family, descendants of Francis 
Ball, have lived in the Connecticut River 
\*alley and contributed to the upbuilding 
of the Colony and Commonwealth of Mas- 
sachusetts. Grover Cleveland, twice Pres- 
ident of the United States, was a descen- 
dant of Francis and Abigail (Burt) Ball, 
and the first President of the United States, 
George \\'ashington, through his mother 
was also a Ball descendant. Colonel Ed- 
win Heman Ball was one of the men of the 
sixth American generation who reflected 
great honor upon the family name and left 
to posterity a record of usefulness. His 



116 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



home was the old homestead upon which 
his great-grandfather, Benjamin Ball, set- 
tled in 1745, and where stands the ''great 
elm tree," an estate now owned by his son, 
James Rowe Ball. 

(I) Francis Ball, the founder of the fam- 
ily, came to Massachusetts from England, 
and in 1639 settled in Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, near Boston. In 1640 he moved 
to the Connecticut River Valley at 
West Springfield. In 1644 he married 
Abigail, daughter of Henry Burt, an Eng- 
lishman, and an early settler of Roxbury, 
Massachusetts. Francis Ball was drowned 
near where the North End bridge spans the 
Connecticut river at what was then West 
Springfield, now Holyoke, in October, 1648, 
at forty years of age. He left two sons, 
Jonathan and Samuel, the latter born in 
1647. 

(II) Jonathan Ball, eldest son of Fran- 
cis Ball, was born in 1645. His father 
and mother both died before he was three 
years of age, and he grew up in ' West 
Springfield. He was a man of importance, 
captain of militia and active in town af- 
fairs. He was twice married and was the 
father of twelve children, six, however, dy- 
ing in early life. 

(III) The history of the family in Hol- 
yoke begins with the settlement there of 
Benjamin Ball, son of Jonathan Ball and 
grandson of Francis Ball. Benjamin Ball 
was born in West Springfield in 1689, and 
settled in the north parish, now Holyoke, 
where now is the corner of Northampton 
and Westfield streets, in 1745, there secur- 
ing land which is yet owned by his descen- 
dants. At the time of his settlement there 
were but few families in the parish and 
they "forted together at night for fear of 
the Indians." In the spring of 1751 he 
planted the "great elm tree." He had four 
sons, Benjamin, Charles, Noah and Moses. 

(IV) Lieutenant Charles Ball, the sec- 
ond son of Benjamin Ball, was born in 



1725, and in 1757 married Ruth Miller. In 
1777 he was one of the selectmen of the 
town and took an active part in its affairs. 

(V) Charles (2) Ball, son of Charles ( i) 
and Ruth (Miller) Ball, was born in 1760 
at what is now Holyoke, nine years after 
the planting of the "great tree" by his grand- 
father. He was a soldier of the Revolution, 
ranking as sergeant, but was known as 
Lieutenant Ball. He enlisted April 26, 
1780, was discharged December 27, 1780, 
after eight months on guard duty at Spring- 
field. He inherited the old homestead and 
after his return from the war became prom- 
inent in town aflfairs, serving as moderator 
in 1814, also was a representative to the 
State Legislature for nine terms. He died 
July 3, 1838, his wife on May 4, 1838. 

(VI) Edwin Heman Ball, known as Col- 
onel Ball, youngest child of Lieutenant 
Charles Ball, w^as born at the homestead 
in Holyoke, August 19, 1809, and died 
there January 9, 1899. He spent his entire 
life at the homestead, which he inherited 
on the death of his father in 1838. The up- 
building of Holyoke and his connection 
therewith brought him wealth and he be- 
came prominent in public life. He served 
as selectman and representative from Hol- 
yoke to the State Legislature two terms and 
was known as "Colonel Ball of Holyoke." 
He was a farmer, and in politics a Democrat 
until the birth of the Republican party, 
thereafter affiliating with that party. He 
took a great interest in military affairs and 
was especially interested in the cavalry. He 
was a member of the Baptist church, very 
hospitable and generous, widely known and 
highly respected. Colonel Ball married 
(first) January i, 1830, Phoebe Fink, born 
April 13, 1808, died March 30, 1842, the 
mother of five children: i. Helen Sophia, 
married, January i, 1852, James F. Allyn. 
2. A son, born and died in 1833. 3. Edwin 
Heman (2), born December 9, 1833; S^3.d- 
uated in medicine and was a young man of 



117 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



great promise, but his health failed and he 
sought to regain it in another climate, but 
died in Texas, March 30, 1856. 4. James 
Rowe, of further mention. 5. Alice Eva- 
line, born June 17, 1840; married Dr. 
Charles Carpenter, son of Rev. Mark Car- 
penter, born in August, 1838, died March 7. 
1902. Dr. Carpenter stood at the head of 
his profession and was well known. All of 
these children are now deceased except 
James Rowe. Colonel Ball, left a widower 
with young children, married (. second) 
Eurydice Ely, a woman of great worth. 
They were the parents of hve children: i. 
Jube Henry, born March 22, 1843, married 
Missouri Beck and resides at Vinton, Iowa. 
2. Francis Way land, a sketch of whom fol- 
lows in this work. 3. Lucy ]\I., died aged 
ten years. 4. Charles Ely. born February 
21, 1852; married Elvira F. Whiting, and 
is now deceased. 5. Gillman Kimball, born 
April 29, 1854; married Emm.a M. Ken- 
nedy, and is also deceased. 

I MI I James Rowe Ball, son of Colonel 
Edwin Heman Ball and his first wife, 
Phoebe ( Fink ) Ball, was born at the old 
Ball homestead in Holyoke, Massachusetts. 
January 2S, 1836. The old homestead is now 
his property, as it was of his father, his 
grandfather, Charles Ball, his great-grand- 
father, Charles Ball, and his great-great- 
grandfather, Benjamin Ball, its first owner. 
Three of these generations were born at the 
old home and it is alive with memories of 
those who once made it a centre of gayety. Af- 
ter his school years in Holyoke, Worcester, 
Sufheld and Vermont institutions were com- 
pleted, he returned to the farm and has de- 
voted his life to its management. The es- 
tate now comprises about one hundred and 
seventy-five acres, is one of the most attrac- 
tive city farms that can anywhere be found, 
and one to which its owner is deeply at- 
tached. Mr. Ball, now an octogenarian, 
has never known another home nor did his 
father nor his grandfather. There the 



■"Old Elm Tree" has spread its sheltering 
branches for nearly a century and there his 
heart has ever been. He is a Republican in 
politics, but beyond taking part in school 
attairs he has accepted no public office. He 
has never married. 



BALL, Francis Wayland, 

Successful Business Man. 

(\'II) Francis Wayland Ball, son of 
Colonel Edwin Heman Ball and his sec- 
ond wife, Eurydice (Ely) Ball, was born at 
the Ball homestead in Holyoke (then West 
Springfield), April 29, 1847. He attended 
the schools of the town and remained at 
the home farm until twenty years of age, 
then became a carpenter apprentice. He had 
a love for mechanical work and became an 
expert worker in wood. He worked for a 
time as a journeyman carpenter, later be- 
came a contractor and conducted a large 
business in connection with extensive real 
estate dealings. His maternal grandfather, 
Jube Ely. owned a tract of land now includ- 
ed within Holyoke's limits, which later came 
under the ownership of Mr. Ball. He laid 
it out in streets and residence lots, erected' 
appropriate residences which were sold as 
fast as built and now the section is one 
of homes ; two streets, Clark and Gillman, 
being lined on both sides by houses built by 
Mr. Ball. In 1907 he met with a serious 
accident, which so impaired his physical 
activity that he retired from contracting 
and building, since devoting himself to the 
care of his real estate and other property 
interests. He is a man of sterling character 
and public spirit, worthily bearing a name 
long known and honored in his city. 

Mr. Ball married, February 24, 1867, 
Georgiana Wilbur, of Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of James and Susan (White) 
Wilbur. Mr. and ^Irs. Ball have three chil- 
dren : I. Francis Wayland, Jr., born Jan- 
uarv I, 1868, now a real estate dealer in San 



118 



THE 



IPUBLIC 



/VEH' 



yOHK 



^^BRAH 






'Da 




■d^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Francisco, California ; married Gertrude 
Kent. 2. Frederick Taylor, born June 5, 
1870, now foreman for J. & W. Jolly Com- 
pany, at Holyoke; married Effie M. Fowl- 
er, and has a daughter, Marian F. 3. Eury- 
dice Ely, born November zj, 1871 ; married 
Frederick Leining, chief clerk of the Judd 
Paper Company, and has a daughter, Eloise 
Eurydice. 



GOYETTE, Stephen Joseph, 

Master Mechanic. 

The position which Stephen Joseph Goy- 
ette now holds as a master mechanic of the 
Holyoke Plush Company is the culmination 
of years of diligent application. His early 
interest in mechanics soon caused him to 
leave the farm, which his forefathers had 
prosperously enjoyed, and start out with an 
independence of spirit and energy to find a 
place for himself in the mechanical world. 
That end has been successfully accom- 
plished. 

The parents and grandparents of Mr. 
Goyette have lived in Canada for many 
years. As the family name would indi- 
cate, there is a trace of the French in its 
history. Jonathan Goyette, grandfather of 
Stephen Joseph Goyette, was a farmer in 
Canada. He married Mary Menoard, 
and to them were born these children, 
all of whom are now deceased : Alec, 
Moses, John, Elizah, Joseph, Amable, of 
further mention ; Samuel, Levi, Ciliva, 
Julianne. The son Amable, or Amos 
as it is called in English, was born in 
Chambly, Canada, in 1832. His father 
died while this boy was still very young, 
and when old enough he followed his fath- 
er's means of livelihood, maintaining a farm 
of some two hundred acres in Sutton, Can- 
ada. Here he specialized in the dairying 
business in conjunction with stock rais- 
ing. In politics he was a Conservative, but 
later became a Liberal. He married Mar- 



garet Gordon, born 1842, in St. Bridget, 
Canada. She was the daughter of Patrick 
and Maria Gordon. She died December 23, 
1906, and her husband died June 16, 1901. 
They were the parents of thirteen children, 
two of whom were twins. They are as 
follows : Catherine, born January 25, 1859, 
widow of Frederick H. Stone ; William, 
born July 12, i860; Patrick, born June 16, 
1863; Sarah, born May 20, 1865; Alice, 
born November 18, 1867, died August 11, 
1889; Arthur, born August 11, 1870; An- 
nie L., born August 30, 1872, died July 13, 
1902, the wife of Ephrian La Pierre ; Fran- 
cis A., born November 2, 1873; Stephen 
Joseph, of this sketch; Livas M., born 
November 23, 1879, died August 12, 1903; 
Caroline M. and Corrine M., twins, born 
June 22, 1882, the latter died August 15, 
1914; and Gordon W., born July 17, 1886. 

Stephen Joseph Goyette was born in Sut- 
ton, Broome county. Province of Quebec, 
Canada, October 9, 1877, the son of Ama- 
ble and Margaret (Gordon) Goyette. He 
attended school in Sutton and spent three 
of his school years at the Academy. He 
then began farming with his father. In 
1897, at twenty years of age, he left his 
home in Canada and came in April of that 
year to Holyoke, Massachusetts. Here he 
learned the trade of a machinist and mill- 
wright, and was employed by the Holyoke 
Water Power Company, with whom he re- 
mained for eight years. In 1904 he entered 
the plant of the Holyoke Plush Company, 
as master mechanic, and in that position 
has since been employed. He is a member 
of the Knights of Columbus, of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men; and of the 
National Association of Stationary Engi- 
geers. 

Mr. Goyette married, June 29, 191 4, 
Mary A. Kennedy, daughter of Thomas F. 
and Bridget (Conner) Kennedy, of Deer- 
field, Massachusetts. They have one daugh- 
ter, IVIargaret Ann, born June 3, 1916. 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR-\PHY 



LYMAN, Warren Montgomery, 

Manufacturer. 

Of ancient and honorable lineage was 
Richard Lyman, the founder of his family 
in America in 1631, and the ancestor of 
Warren ^L Lyman, of Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. The latter is of the ninth genera- 
tion of the farmily in Xew England. 

(I) Richard Lyman was born in High 
Ongar, Essex, England, about tvventy-five 
miles from London, was baptized there Oc- 
tober 30, 1580, died in Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, his will the first on record in the city, 
dated September, 1640, propert>- inventor- 
ied the following September. He sold all 
his land in 1629, and in August, 1631, came 
to New England, with his wife and chil- 
dren, in the ship "Lion." He settled in 
Charlestown, having landed from the ship 
at Boston, November 4, and with his wife 
joined the church at Roxbvu-y, his pastor, 
John Eliot, better known as the Apostle to 
the Indians. He was made a freeman, June 
II, 1635, and the following October 15, 
joined the part}- of one hundred, which on 
that day started the long journey through 
the wilderness to Connecticut. Richard Ly- 
man was one of the original proprietors of 
Hartford in 1636, his home lot on the south 
side of what is now Buckingham street, be- 
tween Main and Washington streets, the 
fifth lot from :Main street west of the South 
Church. Richard Lyman married Sarah, 
daughter of Roger Osborne, of Halstead, in 
Kent, England, their ten children all being 
bom at High Ongar in Essex. Five of 
their children died young, five coming to 
America with their parents: Phihs, Rich- 
ard (2), of further mention; Sarah, John, 
and Robert. 

(II) Richard (2) Lyman, son of Richard 
(i) Lyman, was born at High Ongar, Es- 
sex, England, and there baptized Februar}- 
24, 161 7, came to New England in 163 1, and 
died at Northampton, Massachusetts, June 



3, 1662. He was elected a selectman of 
Northampton, Massachusetts. He was a 
man of high character and strong influence, 
holding public office much of his adult life. 
He married, before leaving Hartford, Hep- 
zibah, daughter of Thomas Ford, of Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, she the sister of the wife 
of Elder John Strong, of Dorchester, Mas- 
sachusetts. They resided in Windsor some 
time, Richard Lyman owning land there. 
Children : Hepzibah, married Joseph Dew- 
ey, ancestor of Admiral George Dewey; 
Sarah, Richard (3), Thomas, EHza, John, 
of further mention; Joanna and Hannah. 
(Ill J John Lyman, son of Richard (2) 
Lyman, was born in Windsor, Connecticut, 
in 1655, and died in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, October 13, 1727, his gravestone 
distinguished from others of the same 
name by adding the words : "" Richard's 
son." By his wife Abigail he had sons and 
daughters: Abigail, died young; Abigail 
(2); Nathan; James, known as '"Cap- 
tain;" Abner; Job; Joshua, known as 
•"Lieutenant," of further mention; and Na- 
than. 

(IVj Lieutenant Joshua Lyman, son of 
John Lyman, was born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, February 27, 1704, and died 
in Northfield, Massachusetts, where he was 
one of the first settlers, in the year 1777, 
aged seventy-three. He married (first) 
October i, 1729, Sarah Narmon, of Suf- 
field, Connecticut. They were the parents 
of : Simeon, John, Joshua, Seth, known as 
""Captain," of further mention; and Mary, 
who died young. He married (second) Es- 
ther , they the parents of Sarah, 

Mary (2), James, and Esther. 

(V) Captain Seth Lyman, son of Lieu- 
tenant Joshua Lyman, and his first wife, 
Sarah (Narmon) Lyman, was bom Feb- 
mary i, 1736, lived at Northfield, and there 
died October 14, 1817, aged eighty-one. He 
served in the War for Independence, and all 
his life was engaged in farming, his farm 



120 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lying not far from Northfield. He married 
(first) October 23, 1760, Eunice Graves, of 
Sunderland, Massachusetts, born January 
25, 1714, died October i, 1801. They were 
the parents of : Tertus, Phineas, Lucy, 
Eunice, Seth (2), Samuel, of further men- 
tion; Nancy or Naomi, Aaron Graves, and 
Molly or Polly. 

(VI) Samuel Lyman, fourth son of Cap- 
tain Seth Lyman and his first wife, Eunice 
(Graves) Lyman, was born in Northfield, 
Massachusetts, March 28, 1775, and died 
there November 6, 1823. He married Sa- 
rah Smith, born in Winchester, New Hamp- 
shire, October 3, 1778, died December i, 
1803. She survived him and married (sec- 
ond) Samuel Smith, of Granby, Massachu- 
setts. Children : Warren, of further men- 
tion ; Samuel Jewell, married Sarah L. 
Gray ; Arad, in business in Columbus, 
Georgia, for a time, died in New York 
City. 

(VII) Warren Lyman, son of Samuel 
and Sarah (Smith) Lyman, was born in 
Northfield, Massachusetts, August 23, 1805, 
and died in Texas, November 18, 1837. He 
was a surveyor, and in 1832 went to Texas, 
and there was in the employ of the govern- 
ment, surveying lands. He married, June 
22, 1826, Eliza Stebbins, who long survived 
him, a resident of South Hadley Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts. Children : Sarah, born January 
27, 1827, married Simon G. Southworth ; 
Maria Ellen, born October 3, 1828, married 
Horace Hatfield; Henry Clay, died young; 
George Warren, of further mention ; Mary 
Henrietta, born July 18, 1837, a teacher. 

(VIII) George Warren Lyman, son of 
Warren and Eliza (Stebbins) Lyman, was 
born March 15, 1833, and died April 4, 
1880. He was educated at Northfield Sem- 
inary, and in youth was a clerk in a North- 
field general store. Prior to the war be- 
tween the North and South, he moved 
to New Orleans, Louisiana, and there was 
engaged as a ship chandler, doing business 



under the firm name, "Lyman & Abbott." 
Twice during the war his place of business 
was burned, and finally he was drafted into 
the Confederate Army, serving as paymas- 
ter of the Second Alabama Cavalry. He 
safely passed the perils of war and after- 
ward and until his death resided in New 
Orleans. He was a member of the Mason- 
ic order in New Orleans, and in all things 
was a man of honor and probity. He mar- 
ried, March 24, 1864, Sarah Flavilla Ly- 
man, who died March 6, 191 1, daughter of 
Samuel Jewett and Sarah L. (Gray) Ly- 
man, also a descendant of Richard Lyman 
through Captain Seth Lyman. Mr. and 
Mrs. George W. Lyman were the parents 
of: I. Eugene Montgomery, born in New 
Orleans, May 19, 1865, died July 2, 1867. 2. 
Mary Eliza, born in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, December 17, 1866, died May 10, 
1910; married Fred H. Taylor. 3. Georgi- 
anna, born January 27, 1869, died October 
12, 1875. 4- Warren Montgomery, of 
further mention. 5. Alabama Hatfield, born 
October 2, 1873, died November 20, 1892 ; 
married, August 17, 1892, Frank H. Allen. 
6. Stewart F., born in Magnolia, Mississip- 
pi, June I, 1876, now with the Cowburn 
Trolley Track Company, married Bertha 
E. Clouston, she died February i, 191 7. 

(IX) Warren Montgomery Lyman, son 
of George Warren and Sarah Flavilla (Ly- 
man) Lyman, was born in New Iberia, 
Louisiana, August 18, 1872. He was eight 
years of age when his father died, and he 
was brought North, the family home being 
at South Hadley Falls, where he attended 
school. Later he was a pupil in East Hart- 
ford and Dalton schools, but at the age of 
fourteen his school days ended. For a year 
thereafter he was in the employ of New- 
ton Smith, of South Hadley Falls, a farm- 
er; then, in 1888, he formed an associa- 
tion with the National Blank Book Company 
of Holyoke, which continued for about two 
years. He was next with the George W. 



121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Prentiss Wire Company, then and for about 
twelve years was clerk and salesman with 
the J. Russell & Company Hardware. At 
the close of this engagement, he went to 
Windsor Locks, Connecticut, with the 
George P. Clark Company, manufacturers 
of truck castors, etc. He began as sales- 
man, later became general sales manager of 
the New York City office, a position he 
filled for twelve years. In the fulfillment of 
the duties of his office he traveled in nearly 
every State of the Union, his journeys tak- 
en during one period of eight months cov- 
ering a distance of eighty thousand miles. 
In December, 191 6, he organized the Hol- 
yoke Truck Company, a corporation to 
manufacture trucks. He was the first sec- 
retary-treasurer of the company, of which 
he now owns a controlling interest, and 
serves as president, treasurer and general 
manager. His years of manufacturing ex- 
perience richly qualify him to conduct the 
business in which he is engaged from the 
manufacturer's standpoint, while his ex- 
perience as sales manager for so many 
years gives him the necessary view point 
of the salesman. He has proven his execu- 
tive ability also, and is a well rounded and 
balanced twentieth century business man. 
Mr. Lyman is a Republican in politics, and 
has served on the Holyoke City Commit- 
tee. He is a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Bela Grotto, 
Tall Cedars of Lebanon, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts ; Connecticut Valley Lodge, 
No. 28, Knights of Pythias; the United 
Commercial Travelers of America ; the Old 
Colony Club of New York City; the Sec- 
ond Baptist Church of Holyoke; and of 
several business organizations. 

He married, June 27, 1894, Cora May 
Marrs, of Milton, Vermont, daughter of 
Harlan F. and Emmeline A. (Hine) Marrs, 
and granddaughter of William Marrs, of 
Scotch birth and ancestry. Mr. and Mrs. 



Lyman are the parents of two daughters: 
Alta Mae, born January 16, 1901 ; and Eu- 
la Emmeline, May 6, 1910. 



DAVIS, Herbert Frank, 

Builder, Contractor. 

The business of F. A. Davis & Son, In- 
corporated, of which Herbert F. Davis is 
president, was founded by his honored 
father and developed by father and son to 
its present proportions. Frank A. Davis 
founded a brick and cement contracting 
business in 1878, and until his death in 
1915 was its head. In 1904 he admitted his 
son, Herbert F., as a partner under the 
firm name, F. A. Davis & Son, and togeth- 
er they labored until death dissolved the 
partnership, eleven years later. These two 
generations of the family in Holyoke have 
played an important part in the upbuilding 
of the city. 

This branch of the Davis family is traced 
to John Davis, "The Welshman," who lo- 
cated in the town of Derby, Connecticut, in 
1690. From him is descended Shorey Da- 
vis, great-grandfather of Herbert F. Da- 
vis, who was a tailor by trade, and a well- 
to-do citizen of Preston, Connecticut. He 
served in the Revolutionary War, and upon 
his return from the War located in Preston, 
where he spent the remainder of his days, 
his death occurring there February 25, 
1841, at the age of eighty-six years, and he 
was buried in North Stonington, Connecti- 
cut. He married Sarah Carpenter, born 
October 30, 1767, in South Kingston, 
Rhode Island, daughter of Jeremiah and 
Abigail (Sheldon) Carpenter. Jeremiah 
Carpenter was a son of Daniel and Re- 
newed (Smith) Carpenter; Daniel Car- 
penter was a son of Solomon Carpenter, 
born in 1677, and his wife, Elizabeth 
(Tefft) Carpenter; Solomon Carpenter 
was a son of Samuel Carpenter, who lived 
in Rehoboth ; Samuel Carpenter was a son 



122 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of William Carpenter, born in 1605, and his 
wife, Abigail Carpenter ; William Carpen- 
ter was a son of William Carpenter, born in 
England, 1576, who came with his son Wil- 
liam to this country in the ship, "Bevis," 
in 1638; W'illiam Carpenter was a son of 
William Carpenter, born in 1540. 

Peter Davis, son of Shorey and Sarah 
(Carpenter) Davis, married and was the 
father of Russell, Elias, Samuel Avery, of 
further mention, Albert and Sarah. 

Samuel Avery Davis was born in Pres- 
ton, Connecticut, June 29, 1818, and died 
there on March 10, 1894. He was a car- 
penter by trade, a Methodist in religious 
faith, and a Republican in politics. He mar- 
ried Celesta Kinney Brown, born December 
21, 1818. They were the parents of Amos 
R., Helen M., Frank Avery, of further men- 
tion, and Herman A. Celesta Kinney 
Brown was a descendant of Edward Brown, 
of England, founder of an ancient family 
of Lynn, Massachusetts, and Stonington, 
Connecticut. The line of descent from Ed- 
ward Brown ; his son, Thomas Brown ; his 
son, Thomas (2) Brown; his son, Daniel 
Brown, and his wife, Mary (Breed) 
Brown ; their youngest son and fourteenth 
child, Amos Brown, and his wife, Eunice 
(Turner) Brown; their son, Breed Brown 
(named for his Grandmother Breed), born 
April 5, 1784, died September 3, 1875, 
aged ninety years. Breed Brown married 
Ada Kinney, of Griswold, Connecticut, and 
their daughter, Celesta Kinney Brown, mar- 
ried Samuel Avery Davis. 

Frank Avery Davis, son of Samuel Avery 
and Celesta Kinney (Brown) Davis, was 
born in Preston, Connecticut, March 24, 
1854, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
October 26, 191 5. He attended Preston 
public schools and then attended school in 
Norwich, learning later the bricklayers' 
trade, under George Fellows, of Norwich, 
with whom he worked four years. He then 
returned to Preston, where he was em- 



ployed at his trade about eighteen months, 
removing to Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 
1878. With the increasing use of concrete 
and cement and the demand along these 
lines increasing, he added a knowledge of 
cement and concrete work to his bricklay- 
ing skill. On first coming to Holyoke, he 
was employed by Deacon Thomas Rich- 
ards at his trade. He then moved to South 
Hadley Falls, where he resided for eight 
years, then returned to Holyoke, which was 
ever after his home. Eventually he formed 
a partnership with George Richards and to- 
gether they conducted a contractors' busi- 
ness for five years. From that time until 
1904, Mr. Davis conducted business alone, 
prosecuting it with energy and ability. The 
business grew as any business must when 
ably and energetically managed, and he was 
rated one of the reliable, substantial and 
successful builders of the city. Many build- 
ings were erected by him, including the 
First Congregational Church, First Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, McCaustand and 
Wakelin building, and the Livermore and 
Martin building, now known as the Par- 
fitt-Martin building. In 1904 he admitted 
his son, Herbert F. Davis, to a partnership, 
the firm becoming F. A. Davis & Son. In 
1907 they withdrew from all forms of con- 
struction, except the bidding on or the ac- 
cepting of cement or concrete work. Mr. 
Davis in the early days, before a permanent 
paid fire fighting force had been organized, 
was a second assistant engineer in the old 
Volunteer Fire Department. He was a 
member of Mount Holyoke Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons, the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church, the Veteran Firemen's 
Association, and was a Republican in poli- 
tics. He was a man of quiet, domestic 
tastes, devoted to his home and family. 

Mr. Davis married at Versailles, Connec- 
ticut, December 20, 1876, Frances C. Bab- 
cock, born in Guilford, Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 26, 1852, daughter of John W. and Har- 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



riet (Shattuck) Babcock. They were the 
parents of : May, born in Preston, Novem- 
ber 29, 1877, died in Holyoke, December 
30, 1899; Edith, born in Preston, January 

5, 1879, died in Holyoke, December 21, 
1881 ; Herbert Frank, of further mention; 
Grace, born at South Hadley Falls, Novem- 
ber 28, 1885, a teacher in Holyoke public 
schools. The last two, with their mother, 
reside in Holyoke. 

Herbert Frank Davis, only son of Frank 
Avery and Frances C. (Babcock) Davis, 
was born at South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts, July I, 1882. He was educated in 
public schools and at Holyoke Business In- 
stitute, beginning his business career under 
the able direction of his father. In 1904 
he was admitted a partner and the firm 
name of F. A. Davis & Son was adopted. 
Eleven years later, in 191 5, the senior part- 
ner and founder was called to his reward, 
and the son continued the business alone 
until 1 91 7, when he incorporated it as "F. 
A. Davis & Son, Incorporated." Mr. Da- 
vis is president of the corporation, and is a 
successful builder and man of business. He 
owns a farm near the city which with its 
blooded cattle and poultry is his delight and 
pride. He is a member of Oak Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows, and of 
the First Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
in politics is a Republican. 

]\Ir. Davis married, October 22, 1903, 
Ella \\'ebb, daughter of William A. and 
Eliza (Davey) Webb. They are the parents 
of: Eleanor May, born October 30, 1904; 
Helen Irene, March 16, 1906; Herbert 
Webb, April 21, 1907; Irving Avery, May 

6, 1909; Frank Adelbert, July 23, 1912; 
Robert Donald, June 23, 191 3. 



SMITH, George Herbert, 

Representative Citizen. 

The family of Smith, of which George 
Herbert Smith is a member of the ninth 



recorded generation, traces its ancestry 
back to Nehemiah Smith, who was born in 
England in 1605, came to America, and on 
March 6, 1637-38, was admitted a freeman 
of Plymouth, Massachusetts. After his ar- 
rival here, he married Anne Bourne, of 
Marshfield, Massachusetts. They resided 
in that town until their removal to Strat- 
ford, Connecticut, where as a raiser of 
sheep he was given the title of "Shepherd" 
Smith. He later moved to New Haven, 
Connecticut ; then to Long Island ; and 
from there to the farm at Poquonoc, bor- 
dering on Smith Lake, in the town of Gro- 
ton, now within the city limits of New Lon- 
don, Connecticut. He resided in New Lon- 
don while his sons carried on the work of 
the farm. He was later one of the original 
proprietors of the town of Norwich, where 
he owned extensive land, and he is record- 
ed as one of the lay preachers of those early 
days and supplied various pulpits at differ- 
ent times. He died in 1686, and his wife 
died January 12, 1684. The estate was in- 
herited by his son, Nehemiah, who is men- 
tioned in the following paragraph. 

Nehemiah (2) Smith, son of Nehemiah 
(i) and Anne (Bourne) Smith, was born 
in New Haven, Connecticut, in 1646. When 
ten years old he moved with his parents to 
the Poquonoc farm, near New London, 
Connecticut, and seven years later he took 
complete charge of his father's farm, where 
he spent the remainder of his life. In addi- 
tion to this farm, he owned considerable 
land at Niantic, Connecticut. He was a 
member of the General Assembly at Hart- 
ford for several years, and a highly respect- 
ed citizen. He married, October 24, 1699, 
Lydia W^inchester, daughter of Alexander 
Winchester, of Roxbury, Massachusetts. 

Nehemiah (3) Smith, son of Nehemiah 
(2) and Lydia (Winchester) Smith, was 
born on the farm near Smith Lake, No- 
vember 14, 1673, and there spent his entire 
life, his death occurring November 21, 1724. 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married, April 22, 1696, Dorothy 
Wheeler, daughter of Isaac and Martha 
(Park) Wheeler. They were the parents 
of twelve children. 

Isaac Smith, son of Nehemiah (3) and 
Dorothy (Wheeler) Smith, was born on the 
farm of his ancestors, near New London, 
Connecticut, December 29, 1707. He mar- 
ried, November 4, 1729, Ethel Denison, 
daughter of Deacon Daniel and Mary 
(Stanton) Denison. They were members 
of the First Church of New London. 

Amos Smith, son of Isaac and Ethel 
(Denison) Smith, was born December 13, 
1732. He married and resided in Norwich, 
Connecticut. 

Nathan Smith, son of Amos Smith, was 
born in Norwich, Connecticut, April 2, 
1766. He later resided in Sturbridge, Con- 
necticut, and then in Vermont. He mar- 
ried . 

Thomas Smith, son of Nathan Smith, 
was born in Sturbridge, Connecticut, in 
1788. He married Jane Barron, of Kirby, 
Vermont. In 1840 they moved to Palmer, 
Massachusetts, where Mr. Smith died in 
1866 and his w'ife in 1869. They were the 
parents of seven children : Roxanna, died 
young; Philura, became the wife of Bart- 
lett Page ; Florilla Eliza, became the wife 
of Lewis ]\IcCrellis ; Loren Lorenzo, mar- 
ried Hattie Hungerford ; Nathan Leander, 
married Roxanna Francis; Sarah M., be- 
came the wife of Nathan Baker ; and Oren 
Barron, mentioned in the following para- 
graph. 

Oren Barron Smith, son of Thomas and 
Jane (Barron) Smith, was born December 
6, 1827, in Kirby, Vermont, in a log cabin 
in which he lived until he was five years 
old. In 1832 he moved with his parents to 
Surrey, New Hampshire, and from there to 
Holden, where at seven years of age he be- 
came employed in the spinning room of the 
Brick City Cotton Mill as "bobbin boy," 
his duty being to change full bobbins for 



empty ones. Here he worked thirteen hours 
a day at a wage of $1,50 per week. He later 
secured the same employment at another 
mill, following this until he was twelve 
years old at a maximum wage of $3.00 per 
week. Later he secured employment at the 
Smithville Cotton Mills at Barre, where 
he was promoted to be a "second-hand" in 
a Thorndyke Mill and where he later 
learned to weave. When nineteen years 
old he went to Ware, then to Thorndyke, 
and later was employed at the Chicopee 
(No. i) Cabot Mill, where he remained 
two years, filling the position of "second- 
hand." Following this he was employed 
in the Mitteneague and Holyoke (No. 2) 
Lyman Mills. In i860 he took a po- 
sition as overseer in the Boston Duck 
Company's Mill at Bondville, where he 
remained until 1864. He later became 
superintendent in the Parks & Arnold 
Woolen Mill in Brimfield, Massachu- 
setts. Here he gave such satisfaction 
that he was sent to the South Hadley Mill 
by Mr. Arnold, one of his employers. By 
this time (1865) he had become thoroughly 
proficient with the manufacture of cotton 
goods and he was then employed by the E. 
B. & G. Draper Company, the well known 
concern of Hopedale, Massachusetts, as 
their traveling representative, and he filled 
this position with satisfaction to his em- 
ployers and credit to himself for the follow- 
ing five years. In 1870 he became agent 
of the Boston Duck Company in Bondville, 
with which concern he was associated for 
twenty years, at the end of which time he 
retired from the manufacturing business 
and removed to Northampton. There he 
invested largely in real estate, opening up 
Massasoit street. In 1894 he went to Ash- 
field ; thence to Somerville, and later to his 
daughter, Mrs. Frank A. Packard, in 
Springfield, where he remained until his 
death. During his long and honorable bus- 
iness career, Mr. Smith found time to hold 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



public office, serving as representative from 
Palmer in 1884, and as selectman for two 
terms. In 1858 he was made a member of 
Jerusalem Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Northampton, Massachusetts. Mr. 
Smith married (first) October 3, 1848, 
Rosanna Aloody, daughter of Joseph and 
Rhoda IMoody, of Palmer. She was born 
May 23, 1827, and died October 15, 1857. 
Their children were : Charles Moody, born 
August 28, 185 1, and Clara E., born June 
20, 1855, became the wife of Frank A. 
Packard. He married (second) December 
16, 1858, Elmina James, born September 12, 
1829, died April 3, 1868. Their children 
were: Frank O., born June 20, 1861, and 
George Herbert, of further mention. He 
married (third) January 2, 1870, Harriet 
Buckland, born June 20, 1836. Their chil- 
dren were: Gertrude, born April 26, 1871, 
became the wife of Dr. William Jackson, of 
Atlanta, Georgia; and Oren Barron, Jr., 
born January, 1874; two other children 
died in infancy. 

George Herbert Smith, son of Oren Bar- 
ron and Elmina (James) Smith, was born 
in the town of Palmer, Massachusetts, 
June I, 1866. Here he was educated in the 
public schools, and at the Wesleyan 
Academy at Wilbraham, which he attended 
for three years. Upon leaving school, he 
went into the woods of Northern Michigan, 
where he was in the employ of a large lum- 
ber company as scaler from his seventeenth 
to his twenty-first year, when he returned 
to Massachusetts, to the town of Bondville, 
where he was employed in the mill of which 
his father had charge, remaining there five 
years. In 1892, when twenty-six years of 
age, Mr. Smith went to Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and entered the office of the Val- 
ley Paper Company, w^here for the past 
twenty-five years he has been in active ser- 
vice. He is also identified with the Lithia 
Spring Water Company. He is a member 
of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 



sons, of Holyoke ; Holyoke Chapter, Roy- 
al Arch Masons ; Holyoke Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks ; the Canoe Club 
of Holyoke, and the Bay State Club. 
Through his ancestry on the Barron side, 
he holds membership in the Sons of the 
American Revolution. He attends the First 
Congregational Church. 

Mr. Smith married, September 5, 1889, 
Ethelyn J. Hamilton, daughter of James 
O. and Mary J. (Pease) Hamilton, of Pas- 
saic, New Jersey. They are the parents of 
two children: i. Claude Hamilton, born 
December 4, 1894, who is a graduate of the 
Holyoke High School ; later was employed 
in British Columbia by his uncle, Oren Bar- 
ron Smith, Jr. ; from there, after returning 
home, he entered the Colorado School of 
Mines at Golden, Colorado ; and later, in 
June, 191 7, enlisted in the regular army, 
Company A, One Hundred and Fifteenth 
Regiment of Engineers. 2. Dorris Ethelyn, 
born February 12, 1898. 



SMITH, Ernest Fred, 

Representative Citizen. 

Ernest Fred Smith, son of Charles 
Moody (q. v.) and Mary Frances (Eaton) 
Smith, was born in Wakefield, Massachu- 
setts, May 22, 1870. His parents, after 
spending many years in Massachusetts, 
moved to Iowa, and their son accompanied 
them. They later lived in Omaha, Nebras- 
ka, where he worked at carpentry, which 
trade he had learned in earlier years. Fol- 
lowing this he again moved West, this time 
to California, where he continued as a car- 
penter in Chico, Butte county. After two 
years he came East, locating on a farm in 
Suffield, Connecticut. In 191 3, Mr. Smith 
settled in Holyoke, Massachusetts, where 
he has been working ever since. In pol- 
itics he is a Republican. 

On December i, 1890, Ernest F. Smith 



126 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married (first) Pearl Boyce, daughter of 
Charles and Anna (Conway) Boyce, of 
Omaha, Nebraska. They were the par- 
ents of one son, Raymond Charles, born 
February, 1895; he is a corporal (1917) 
in the regular army, having enlisted Octo- 
ber 27, 1913; he did service on the Mex- 
ican border ; he has been located at Camp 
Jarvis and at Fort Slocomb, Texas ; now 
in France, Third Cavalry Machine Gun 
Troop. On June 20, 1906, Mr. Smith mar- 
ried (second) Estelle Maude Childs, daugh- 
ter of William and Mary (Van Zandt) 
Childs, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. By 
this marriage were born seven children, as 
follows : Edith Mary, born September 24, 
1907; Ernestine Charlotte, July 13, 1909; 
Estelle Maude, October 23, 191 1 ; Catherine 
Eleanor, December 11, 1912; Ernest Fred, 
Jr., October 24, 1914; Oren L., September 
6, 191 5, died August 14, 191 7; and Clara 
Hilma, born October 24, 1916. 



SMITH, Leroy Elmer, 

Building Contractor. 

Charles Moody Smith, son of Oren Bar- 
ron Smith (q. v.) and his first wife, Rosan- 
na (Moody) Smith, was born in Palmer, 
Massachusetts, August 28, 185 1. He was 
educated in the public school, and after 
leaving school he learned the carpenters' 
trade and for twenty-three years was en- 
gaged as a contracting builder. He then 
moved to the states of Iowa and Nebraska ; 
later he returned to New York State, where 
he now resides upon a small farm which he 
owns at Albany. He married (first) in 
1869, Mary Frances Eaton, who died in 
1892. She was a daughter of John S. and 
Mary (Draper) Eaton. He married (sec- 
ond) Josephine Ferris. Children of first 
marriage : Ernest Fred, whose sketch pre- 
cedes this ; Leroy Elmer, of further men- 
tion ; Clara E., deceased, married Robert 
Wiley; Oren B. (3) ; Charles, died in in- 



fancy ; Charlotte L., married James Wolfen- 
den, deceased, of Holyoke ; Grace Eaton, 
married Joseph Castine, now deceased ; he 
was an architect and a graduate of Boston 
Technical School. Children of second mar- 
riage : Ola, Leah, Edric and Cliff. 

Leroy Elmer Smith, son of Charles 
Moody Smith and his first wife, Mary 
Frances (Eaton) Smith, was born at Three 
Rivers, Massachsetts, August 12, 1874. He 
was taken West by his parents, when young, 
and in the school of Omaha, Nebraska, was 
educated. He learned the carpenters' trade 
and for a time was engaged as a builder in 
the West ; he then returned East and for 
some time was associated with his father in 
contracting and building in New York 
State. In 1897 he located in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he has since resided. For 
six years he was superintendent for F. H. 
Dibble, contractor and builder, but in 1905 
he began contracting under his own name 
and has built many residences and build- 
ings in Holyoke and vicinity ; among these 
may be named the Union Club on Commer- 
cial street and the Van Valkenburg plant at 
Willimansett. He is a member of Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Hol- 
yoke, and also belongs to Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and Holyoke 
Council, Royal and Select Masters. 

Mr. Smith married. May 22, 1895, Mar- 
garet A. Spoore, of Savannah, New York, 
daughter of Joseph J. and Margaret A. 
(Olmstead) Spoore, and granddaughter of 
John and Margaret ( Beebe) Spoore. They 
are the parents of a daughter, Frances Mar- 
garet, born March 2, 1897. 



HILL, Carlton J., 

Business Man. 

Carlton J. Hill, who for many years has 
been associated with the business interests 
of Holyoke and Springfield, in both of 
which cities he has held positions of respon- 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.\PHY 



sibility, is now one of the successful mer- 
chants with a well stocked grocery store in 
the former city. The success he has at- 
tained has come to him as the result of his 
own initiative and perseverance and is well 
deserved. 

He comes of an English family, his great- 
grandfather on the paternal side, John Hill, 
was born in Gloucester, England, where he 
grew up, received his education, married 
and became a stone mason. In 1852 he 
came to the United States, settling in Cha- 
teaugay, Franklin county, New York, 
where he lived until his death, which occur- 
red practically in the prime of life. His 
wife, Jane (Spencer) Hill, whom he mar- 
ried before leaving England, was the mother 
of his nine children : John, Arthur, 
George, Henry, William, Charles, Alfred, 
Edwin, and Eliza, who married Sylvester 
Edwards. 

The third son of John and Jane (Spen- 
cer) Hill, George Hill, through whom fol- 
lows the line of descent of that family, was 
born November 25, 1853, in Chateaugay, 
New York, where he lives at the present 
time. He received his education at a 
school near his own home. At an early age, 
however, he began farming, in which he 
has become successful. He has always 
been active in affairs pertaining to the ad- 
vancement of his community. On Novem- 
ber 24, 1875, he married Henrietta Eliza- 
beth Frazier, born in Malone, Franklin 
county, New York, the daughter of Charles 
W. and Jane Eliza (Cornanj Frazier. To 
them were born these children : Mabel 
Myrtle, born January 7, 1877, who became 
the wife of Fred Gleason ; Lawrence Guy, 
born July 2, 1879; Nellie Maude, born 
March 30, 1881, married Perley Baker, to 
them has been born one son ; Carlton Jay, 
mentioned below ; Pearl Elizabeth, born 
August 22, 1886, now the wife of Arthur 
Laplante ; and Grace Lauretta, bom June 
18, 1893, became the wife of Easton Gil- 



lespie, and now has one son, William 
Lloyd. 

Carlton Jay Hill was born June 2-], 1884, 
in Chateaugay, New York, where he was 
educated in the public schools. When six- 
teen years of age he went to Holyoke, ]Mas- 
sachusetts, where he worked for two years 
in a meat and grocery store. The two 
following years he worked under the em- 
ploy of White & Wyckoff, of Holyoke. 
From there he went into the Holyoke store 
of the Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Com- 
pany, with which firm he continued for six- 
teen years. When first employed, his work 
consisted of taking orders and various oth- 
er duties. For two years he drove through 
the country with a team for this firm. In 
1906 he took charge of the Holyoke store, 
but two years later, owing to ill health, was 
forced to take up outside work once more. 
A few years after this he was made man- 
ager of the store. In July, 1917, he was 
appointed assistant superintendent of thir- 
teen stores, and continued up to Septem- 
ber of that year when he resigned to go in 
business for himself. During the years of 
activity with the company, Mr. Hill had 
the credit of doing more business than any 
of the three hundred agents of the company, 
and while in charge of the Holyoke store 
received the high mark for business over all 
the other stores. He is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Hol- 
yoke Lodge, No. 134. He attends the Pres- 
byterian church. 

On September 28, 1910, Mr. Hill was mar- 
ried to Delia E.Pellissier, daughter of George 
and Delia (Garceau) Pellissier, of Hadley, 
Massachusetts. Her great-grandfather was 
a Major of Militia, having come from 
France to Canada. Her grandparents, Ed- 
ward and Angele (Beauprec) Pellissier, 
were both born in Canada. Her father, 
George Pellissier, when nineteen years of 
age went from his home in Canada to Min- 
nesota and later to Wisconsin, about 1862. 



128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In 1872, he went to Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1903 removed to Holyoke. Mr. 
and Mrs. Hill are the parents of one son, 
Ronald Louis, born in Holyoke, October 20, 

1913- 



BURKHARDT, Herman Gottlob, 
Post Office Carrier. 

The ancient home of the Burkhardt fam- 
ily as far back as the year 1471 was in far 
away Saxony, a state of the German Em- 
pire. At about that time the kingdom was 
divided into two states, electoral Saxony 
and ducal Saxony, Wittenberg the capital 
of electoral Saxony, the cradle of the Ref- 
ormation. George Burkhardt to whom Her- 
man Gottlob Burkhardt, of Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, traces his ancestry, lived in the 
days of the Reformation and was secretary 
to Martin Luther, the great reformer. He 
was a man of wide education, and at one 
time was tutor of the elector of Saxony, 
that state not becoming a kingdom until 
1806. 

From George Burkhardt descended 
Christian John Burkhardt, born about the 
year 1800, who lived and died in Saxony, 
leaving a son, Gottlob Heinrich Burkhardt, 
born in Saxony, December 6, 1832, died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, December 3, 1899. 
He was a manufacturer of woolens and a 
retail merchant in his native land, selling 
the goods he manufactured. In 1872 he 
came to the United States and located in 
Huntington, Massachusetts, but two years 
later, in 1874, settled in Holyoke, where he 
established a grocery business, w'hich he 
conducted very successfully until 1898, 
when he sold it to his son, Max Burkhardt, 
and retired. He married, in Saxony, No- 
vember 10, 1861, Friedicke Augusta Funke, 
born March 30, 1840, in Crimmitzschau, a 
manufacturing town of Saxony on the 
Pleisse river, daughter of Carl Frederic and 
Caroline (Seifert) Funke. Mrs. Burkhardt 
MASS.— 7— 9. I 



survives her husband and is yet (1917) a 
resident of Holyoke. I\Ir. and Mrs. Burk- 
hardt were the parents of four sons and two 
daughters: i. Max George, deceased; was 
a merchant and at one time a member of 
the Holyoke Common Council. 2. Herman 
Gottlob, of further mention. 3. Robert 
Carl, mentioned elsewhere. 4. Frederic 
Theodore. 5. Clara Charlotte, married 
Douglas H. Hood. 6. Emma Elise, married 
Alfred Baush, whom with a daughter Al- 
freda, she survives. 

Herman Gottlob Burkhardt, son of Gott- 
lob Heinrich Burkhardt, was born in Glau- 
chau on the Mulde river, one of the princi- 
pal manufacturing towns of Saxony, April 
30, 1864. He attended school there until 
1872, when he was brought to the United 
States by his parents, and then completed 
his studies in the public schools of Hunt- 
ington and Holyoke, Massachusetts. His 
first position after leaving school, which 
he held two and a half years, was as clerk 
in the Holyoke post office. In 1885 he was 
appointed carrier, and for thirty-two years 
has filled that position to the satisfaction of 
the department and of the districts he has 
served. He is still (1917) in active service, 
and one of the highly regarded men of the 
force. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Turn Verein Club, and of the second Con- 
gregational Church. 

Mr. Burkhardt married, in September, 
1890, Lena Becker, of Rockville, Connecti- 
cut, daughter of Jacob and Regina Becker. 
They are the parents of two sons and a 
daughter: i. Harold Herman, born June 
26, 1891 ; a graduate of Gushing Academy 
and Massachusetts School of Technology, 
with the degree of Civil Engineer, now with 
the Santa Fe Railroad, and who is located 
at Topeka, Kansas. 2. Florence Clara, 
born December 24, 1892, a graduate of Hol- 
yoke High School, now in the office of the 
American Writing Paper Company ; a mem- 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber of the choir of the Second Congrega- 
tional Church. 3. Ralph William, born 
February 14, 1901 ; a high school student. 



BURKHARDT, Frederic Theodore, 
Traveling Salesman. 

Fourth of the sons of Gottlob Heinrich 
Burkhardt, but the first of American birth, 
Frederic T. Burkhardt, of Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, can claim full right to the title 
"native son" of that city. A full account 
of his parentage and ancestry is found in 
this work. 

Frederic T. Burkhardt was born, as no- 
ted above, in Holyoke, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 16, 1880, his parents coming from 
Saxony in 1872. He was educated in the 
graded and high schools of the city, and at 
the close of his school years his business life 
began in the office employ of the Keating 
Wheel Company. He remained with that 
corporation until the removal of their plant 
to Middletown, Connecticut, some two years 
later, when he entered the service of the 
Baush Machine Company. He was next 
with the White & Wyckoff Company, as 
office employee for about six years, then 
for two years was with his brother, Rob- 
ert Carl Burkhardt, (see sketch elsewhere) 
in the grocery business, in Holyoke. In 
1904 he became traveling salesman for the 
Parsons Paper Company, his territory cov- 
ering the greater part of the United States. 
For the past fourteen years, he has been 
actively engaged in this position and is well 
and favorably known to the representatives 
of the paper trade throughout the entire 
section in which he travels. He also rep- 
resents Millers Falls Paper Company in the 
same field. The products of these corpora- 
tions are of the highest quality possible 
and to Mr. Burkhardt's untiring energy in 
enhancing the interests of these firms, and 
in creating a demand for a high grade 
product no small share of praise is due for 



this perfection. He is a member of the 
Holyoke Chamber of Commerce, Mt. Tom 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, the 
Baptist church, the Bay State, Holyoke 
and Holyoke Canoe clubs. 

Mr. Burkhardt married, December 4, 
1905, Grace Ethelyn Smith, daughter of 
Quartus Judd and Irene (Atkins) Smith, 
granddaughter of Luther and Susan (Rum- 
rill) Smith, great-granddaughter of Philip 
(2) Smith, and great-great-granddaughter 
of Philip (i) Smith, of South Hadley, Mas- 
sachusetts, that also being the residence of 
the son, Philip (2) Smith. Luther Smith 
was a farmer of Willimansett, Massach- 
setts, his wife, Susan (Rumrill) Smith, a 
native of South Hadley. Quartus Judd 
Smith was a native of Willimansett. Mr. 
and Mrs. Burkhardt are the parents of a 
son, Frederic Smith Burkhardt, born De- 
cember I, 1908. 



PRESTON, Ernest Tilley, 
Business Man. 

The family of which Ernest T. Preston, 
of Holyoke, is a twentieth century repre- 
sentative, is an ancient one in England and 
dates from an early period in New Eng- 
land. Mr. Preston is a great-grandson of 
Jonathan Preston, a farmer of South Had- 
ley and Amherst, whose wife Dorothy at- 
tained the great age of ninety-one years. 
Their son, William Taylor Preston, born in 
Amherst, in 1816, later removed to South 
Hadley, where he followed his trade of 
painter, and where he died at the early age 
of thirty-nine years. He married Melinda 
Winter, daughter of Jonas Winter. Their 
eldest son, Edward William Preston, was 
born in South Hadley, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 20, 1845, where he passed his years 
of activity and is now (1917) living there 
retired. He was educated in the public 
schools, and in early life followed farming 
for a time. For twelve years after leaving 



130 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the farm he was employed in a sash and 
blind factory at South Hadley, after which 
he engaged in the painting and paper hang- 
ing business, which he conducted until his 
retirement. He is a member of lona Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of South Had- 
ley, member of the Congregational church, 
and in politics is a Republican. He mar- 
ried, January 8, 1874, Eugenie Tilley, 
daughter of George and Hannah (Sheldon) 
Tilley. They were the parents of a son and 
a daughter : Ernest Tilley, of further men- 
tion; Ruth Maria, married Harland Brad- 
ford, of Arlington, New Jersey, and has 
children, Preston Tilley, Edward Melvin, 
and Kenneth Bradford. 

Ernest Tilley Preston, only son of Ed- 
ward William and Eugenie (Tilley) Pres- 
ton, was born in Granby, Massachusetts, 
September 16, 1878. He was educated in 
the public schools of South Hadley Falls 
and Worcester Academy, beginning his bus- 
iness career with the New England Tele- 
phone Company, and later was with The 
Long Distance Telephone Company, con- 
tinuing with these corporations for six 
years. He then came to Holyoke, and im- 
mediately after locating in that city en- 
gaged with the Roland T. Oaks Company. 
In 1909 he began business for himself as an 
electrician and dealer in electrical supplies, 
becoming a partner with Clifford S. Moore, 
under the firm name of Preston & Moore. 
Seven years later, in I9i6,this firm name was 
changed by the retirement of Mr. Moore, 
who was succeeded by Ernest W. Bishop, 
to Preston & Bishop, the new firm's first 
store being in the City National Bank Build- 
ing. Later they moved to the McLean 
Block, and since June, 1916, Preston & 
Moore have been located at No. 237 Ma- 
ple street. Mr. Preston is a member of the 
Holyoke Canoe Club, the Holyoke Gun 
Club, William Whiting Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and in politics is a Re- 
publican. 



He married, October 11, 1905, Ma« 
Wright, daughter of John S. and Caro- 
line (Grout) Wright, of Holyoke. Mr. and 
Mrs. Preston have a son, Sidney Wright, 
born in Holyoke, April 6, 1907. 



ALLEN, Raymond Philip, 

Paymaster of Farr Alpaca Company. 

As paymaster of the Farr Alpaca Com- 
pany. Mr. Allen fills an important post 
with Holyoke's greatest manufacturing 
corporation, a post to which he has fairly 
won his way by energetic, efficient service 
in each position assigned. He is a son of 
Carl A. Allen, M. D., one of Holyoke's 
eminent physicians, whose career and an- 
cestry are written at length in this work. 
The American ancestry traces to James Al- 
len, who settled in Dedham, Massachusetts, 
about 1637, a grandson of Reginald Allen, 
of Colby, Norfolk, England. 

Raymond Philip Allen, third son of Dr. 
Carl A. Allen, and his first wife, Sophie E. 
(Stearns) Allen, was born in Ac worth, 
New Hampshire, May 16, 1883. He at- 
tended public school in Acworth until the 
removal to Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 
1891, there completed his studies in the pub- 
lic schools of that city, finishing with high 
school. He began his business career as a 
clerk in the City National Bank, there con- 
tinuing for two years, 1903-04, gaining 
needed experience in banking and business 
methods from the bankers' standpoint. In 
1904 he resigned from the bank to enter the 
office employ of the Farr Alpaca Company, 
beginning as clerk. As he became more fa- 
miliar with his duties he was advanced in 
rank, until January i, 1917, when he was 
promoted to his present position, paymaster 
of the company, a post of importance, as 
the company employs two thousand eight 
hundred operatives. Mr. Allen is a mem- 
ber of the Holyoke Canoe Club; Oak 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 



131 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the First Congregational Church ; and in 
pontics is a Republican. 

He married, April 5, 1905, Ina Squier, 
daughter of Edwin L. and Nellie (Dawley) 
Squier, of Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. Allen 
are the parents of a daughter, Elizabeth 
Leonard, born January 14, 191 o, and of a 
son, Philip Lewis, born May 6, 1914. 



YOERG, William Paul, 

Business Man. 

William Paul Yoerg, the well known 
dealer in automobile supplies, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, comes of a family whose 
name was originally spelled Yoergh, and 
which was first represented in America by 
John Michael Yoerg, who was born in Ba- 
varia, Germany, in 1830. He was a wagon- 
maker by trade, which trade he learned in 
his native country from his father. When 
the former came to America, in 1852, he 
landed in New York City, going almost 
immediately to Columbus, Ohio, where he 
remained a comparatively short time. He 
then returned to the East, locating in East- 
hampton, Massachusetts, where he found 
employment in the woolen and cotton mills. 
From there he proceeded to South Hadley 
Falls, Massachusetts, where for some time 
he was employed as a loom-fixer in the tex- 
tile mills. Eventually, however, he went in- 
to the hotel business and located in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. For a number of 
years he conducted the management of the 
Germania Hotel, Holyoke, with marked suc- 
cess. Finally he sold out to his son-in-law, 
Onizim Viens, in order to retire from ac- 
tive life. John Michael Yoerg married in 
Germany, Walberger Brown, who was born 
in Bavaria, Germany, the daughter of John 
and Josephine Brown. John M. Yoerg died 
June 30, 191 2, at the age of eighty-two 
years. His wife died two years later, in 
September, 1914, aged eighty-nine years. 
They were the parents of the following chil- 

I 



dren : Walberger, born in Columbus, Ohio, 
married Onizim Viens (deceased), and died 
January, 1917, at the age of sixty-nine; 
Michael John, of whom further; Joseph, 
deceased ; and Kraig Joseph, born July 23, 
1862. 

Michael John Yoerg, son of John Mich- 
ael and Walberger (Brown) Yoerg, was 
born in South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, 
December 25, 1854, and died November 25, 
1892. During his early years he received 
an education at the common schools of 
South Hadley Falls, and upon the discon- 
tinuance of his studies he entered the Glas- 
gow Mills, South Hadley Falls, where he 
was employed first as a bobbin boy. Be- 
cause of his diligence he became foreman 
in the weaving department there. In 1890, 
however, he left these mills because of cer- 
tain labor troubles which arose, and became 
identified with his brother, Kraig J. Yoerg, 
in the bottling business at Holyoke. In pol- 
itics he was an ardent Democrat. He was 
a member of the Catholic church. His death 
occurred in an accident which resulted from 
the running away of a team of horses. 
Michael John Yoerg married Nellie O'Brien, 
born in Westfield, Massachusetts, the 
daughter of Garret and Bridget O'Brien. 
To them were born these children : Leon 
Michael, born October 10, 1881, now man- 
ager of the Carew Manufacturing Com- 
pany, South Hadley Falls, married, Au- 
gust II, 1909, Louise Burke, of Holyoke, 
to whom have been born two children, 
Gretchen Louise and Mary Constance ; Wil- 
liam Paul, of whom further ; and Cather- 
ine. 

William Paul Yoerg, son of Michael 
John and Nellie (O'Brien) Yoerg, was born 
in South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, Oc- 
tober 16, 1883. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town. Upon 
leaving school he entered the employ of 
the Russell Hardware Company of Hol- 
yoke, where he remained for a period of 
32 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



five years. From there he entered the em- 
ploy of the Revere Rubber Company of 
Holyoke and continued for a period of five 
years. Following this he became a travel- 
ing salesman for the Diamond Rubber 
Company, with the New England States as 
his territory, and he continued at this work 
for about one year. In 1909 he entered 
business independently, establishing in Hol- 
yoke the company known as the Yoerg Tire 
& Rubber Company. In March, 1916, his 
success warranted the moving of this com- 
pany into its present commodious quarters 
on Chestnut street, where a large new gar- 
age had just been completed and which Mr. 
Yoerg operates in connection with his tire 
and rubber business. He is a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the Holyoke Club, and the Rotary 
Club. 

He married, November 14, 1905, Mary 
G. Duggan, born in Ware, Massachusetts, 
the daughter of John and Mary (Fitzger- 
ald) Duggan. They have one daughter, 
Gertrude, born March 4, 191 1. 



SEYMOUR, Frank Solomon, 

Master Mechanic. 

Frank Solomon Seymour, master me- 
chanic of the Newton Paper Company of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, traces his line back 
to his great-grandfather. Friend Seymour, 
who was born in Hartford, Connecticut, 
about 1770. He married Sallie Bray, and 
they had three sons, Edward, Friend, and 
Solomon, of further mention. 

(II) Solomon Seymour, second son of 
Friend and Sallie (Bray) Seymour, was 
born in Boston, Massachusetts, in 181 3. 
He was a blacksmith, and came to Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, where he lived up 
to the time of his death in 1895. He mar- 
ried Martha Blaisdell, and their children 
were : William ; Cynthia, who married a 



Mr. Wells ; Rachel, who married a Mr. 
Ford; and Ira C, of further mention. 

(III) Ira C. Seymour, son of Solomon 
and Martha (Blaisdell) Seymour, was born 
in 1842, at Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 
and is still (1917) living there at the age 
of seventy-five years. He was a youth of 
vigorous physique, and he early became in- 
terested in blacksmithing and learned the 
trade in his father's shop. For fifty years 
he worked for himself at this business in 
Portsmouth. He then retired from active 
life, his work being taken up by younger 
men. In his day Ira C. Seymour took an 
active part in the aflfairs of the community 
in which he lived, among other things serv- 
ing on the first Board of Police Commis- 
sioners of Portsmouth. He was also chief 
engineer of the Fire Department of the 
town. He served also as a member of the 
Board of Aldermen and at one time was a 
candidate for mayor. A number of years ago 
his fellow-citizens in the State named him as 
candidate for the United States Senate on the 
Labor ticket. He is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. In his po- 
litical beliefs Mr. Seymour is a Democrat, 
and he is a member of the Adventist church. 
He married Annie Garland, born in New- 
ington. New Hampshire, daughter of Leon- 
ard and (Whitcomb) Garland. Their 

children were : Elma, married Rufus 
Wood, of Portsmouth; Frank Solomon, of 
further mention ; Mattie, married Ora Ger- 
ry, of Portsmouth ; Louise, married Frank 
Marshall, of Portsmouth ; Caroline, married 
George Googins, of Portsmouth ; and two 
other children who died in childhood. 

(IV) Frank Solomon Seymour, son of 
Ira C. and Annie (Garland) Seymour, was 
born in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, April 
12, 1869. He received his early education 
in the local schools of Portsmouth, after 
which he went into his father's shop and 
learned the trade of blacksmithing. Here 
he remained working with his father at the 



133 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



blacksmith business until 1906. He then 
came to Holyoke, Alassachusetts, and en- 
tered the employ of the Newton Paper Com- 
pany, having obtained the position of mill- 
wright in the repair shops of the firm. 
Four years of faithful and intelligent work 
in this place showed his employers that 
here was a man who could be put in com- 
mand of others, and accordingly, in 1910, 
he was appointed chief master mechanic of 
the plant, a position which he has held since 
that time. Mr. Seymour has always taken 
an active part in civic affairs, and while liv- 
ing in Portsmouth served in the City Coun- 
cil. He is a member of the William Whit- 
ing Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Holyoke, and of the chapter of the Royal 
Arch Masons, and council of the Royal and 
Select Masters. 

Mr. Seymour married, December 12, 
1893, Olive Buchanan, of St. John, New 
Brunswick, a daughter of James and Grace 
(Chisholm) Buchanan. Donald Buchanan, 
grandfather of Airs. Olive (Buchanan) 
Seymour came to Canada from Scotland. 



SHAW, William Henry, 

Stationary Engineer. 

The family of Shaw is one which was 
first represented in this country by the gen- 
eration preceding William Henry Shaw, 
with whom this sketch is concerned. 

Charles Senior Shaw, father of William 
H. Shaw, w^as born in 1840, in Sheffield, 
England, where he was reared and where 
he learned the cutlery business. When twen- 
ty-five years of age, he came to the United 
States and located in Shelburne Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he continued the work he 
had learned in England, in the specialized 
line of table cutlery. He was a member of 
the Baptist church, and a charter member 
of the Order of Foresters. He married 
Sarah Grinold, born in Sheffield, England, 
in 1845, died in 1906. Mr. Shaw died in 



1899. To them were born these children: 
Charlotte, married (first) Henry Hening; 
(second) Dr. Dunbar, of Athol, Massachu- 
setts, deceased ; Emma, married W. H. 
Duncan, deceased ; Lena, who married H. 
G. Littlejohn; Charles; Ada, who married 
Harry Keach ; George ; William Henry, 
of further mention ; and Frank. 

William Henry Shaw was born in Shel- 
burne Falls, Massachusetts, February 2, 
1875. He was educated in the public schools 
of that town. Upon leaving school he en- 
tered the cutlery business there, in which he 
continued for six years. In 1897 he went 
to Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he en- 
tered the power plant of the Holyoke Street 
Railway Company, as oiler. He was not 
long in the employ of that company until 
he had worked up to the position of chief 
engineer. In 1912 he gave up this position 
to take that of operating engineer with the 
Holyoke Electric Light & Power Company. 
After two years there he was made chief en- 
gineer with twenty-eight men working un- 
der his direction, which position he holds at 
the present time (1917). This plant fur- 
nishes all the street lighting, and nearly all 
of the lighting of the private homes and 
great industrial plants of Holyoke, and in 
addition to this supplies the power for the 
operation of a large number of manufactur- 
ing plants. Thus it will be seen that the 
position which Mr. Shaw holds is one of 
great importance calling for a vast amount 
of mechanical skill. He is a member of 
William Whiting Lodge, Free and Accept- 
ed JMasons, and of the National Association 
of Stationary Engineers. He and his wife 
attend the Baptist church. 

On May i, 1898, Mr. Shaw was married 
to Mary St. Lawrence, daughter of Joseph 
and Margaret (Prentice) St. Lawrence, of 
St. Albans, Vermont. To them have been 
born two children : Donald, born Octo- 
ber 9, 1900, and Norman, born June 25, 
1905. 
34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BIGGINS, William Edward, 
Business 'Man. 

It was not until he had acquired the 
handicap of a loss of a leg that Mr. Biggins 
turned his thoughts to mercantile life, his 
previous activities all having been in sal- 
aried positions. When the accident which 
cost him a limb occurred, he was compelled 
to revise his plan of life, and since 1900 
he has been one of the successful grocers 
of Holyoke. "The Rose," a nine family 
apartment building, was erected by Mr. Big- 
gins in 1909, and in that building located 
on Dwight street he has his store and his 
own apartment. He is a grandson of Tim- 
othy Biggins, who was born in Ireland, 
moved from County Mayo to England, and 
there died in 1839. He married Mary Mil- 
lett, their children : Patrick J., of further 
mention ; Dennis, Julia, Mary, and Ed- 
ward. 

Patrick J. Biggins was born in County 
Mayo, Province of Connaught, Ireland, 
March 10, 1830, and died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, September 10, 1914. He 
began school attendance in Ireland, but 
when he was quite young his parents moved 
to Hayward, England, where his father 
died in 1839. He grew to manhood in png- 
land, and for several years was employed as 
a longshoreman on the Liverpool docks. 
Finally, in 1859, he came to the United 
States, located in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and there resided until his death in 
1914, at the age of eighty-four. Forty of 
those years were spent in the employ of the 
Boston & Albany Railroad as checker in the 
freight department, and finally he was re- 
tired on a pension in accordance with the 
company's plan of rewarding old and faith- 
ful employees. He was a Democrat in pol- 
itics, and a member of the Roman Catholic 
church, but a home loving man, taking little 
part in public afifairs. 

Patrick J. Biggins married Bridget Ri- 



ley, born in County Galway, Ireland, and 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1904. 
They were the parents of : Timothy, 
James, Julia, Mary, Patrick J., Jr., William 
Edward, of further mention; Michael, 
Mary, Annie, Thomas, and Margaret. 

William Edward Biggins, son of Patrick 
J. and Bridget (Riley) Biggins, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, March 22, 1870, 
and was educated in the public schools of 
that city. His first employment after leav- 
ing school was with the Ball Harness Com- 
pany, his term covering one year. He was 
next with the J. H. Baker Shoe Company 
of Springfield, remaining here until the 
destruction of their plant by fire, then go- 
ing with them when they again resumed 
business in Beverly, Massachusetts. Later 
he returned to Springfield, and for a short 
time was with the Morgan Envelope Com- 
pany. From that company he went to the 
Boston & Maine Railroad, first as night 
clerk at the Springfield Station, there re- 
maining seven years. From the office he 
passed to the operating department, begin- 
ning as brakeman, but an accident which 
deprived him of a leg ended that chapter of 
his life. After his recovery, in October, 
19QO, Mr. Biggins opened a grocery in Hol- 
yoke, and has since been its successful own- 
er and manager. He moved to his present 
location, "The Rose" Apartment block, 
which he owns, in 1909. He also claims the 
ownership of other tenement property in 
the same neighborhood. He has always 
taken an active interest in politics, but only 
as a citizen, never seeking nor accepting an 
office for himself. He was a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, Order of Foresters, Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, and of the Brotherhood of Rail- 
road Trainmen, all of Holyoke. 

Mr. Biggins married, February 12, 1896, 
at the Church of Rosary, Holyoke, Rose 
Veronica McCarthy, born in Holyoke, 
daughter of Timothy and Margaret (Fitz- 

35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gerald) McCarthy, her father born in 
County Kerry, Ireland, coming to the 
United States in 1843, her mother born in 
Nova Scotia. Margaret (Fitzgerald) Mc- 
Carthy was a daughter of Michael and 
Bridget (Curran) Fitzgerald. Timothy 
McCarthy was a son of Thomas and Mar- 
garet (Callahan) McCarthy. Thomas Mc- 
Carthy died in Ireland, his widow coming to 
this country with her children, and locating 
at Chicopee, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. 
Biggins are the parents of six sons and a 
daughter: William, born November 8, 
1896, died at the age of three months ; John 
Edward, born December 9, 1897 ; Wil- 
liam Edward (2), born November 19, 1898; 
Thomas, born August 22, 1900; Rose, born 
December 8, 1902, died aged six months; 
Howard, born August 24, 1904; Edward, 
born August 23, 1906, died at the age of 
nine months. 



BOLDUC, George, 

Representative Citizen. 

Although of French Canadian parentage, 
Mr. Bolduc is a native son of Massachu- 
setts, having been born in Hinsdale, some 
thirteen years after the coming of his par- 
ents from Canada. He was brought to Hol- 
yoke when very young, and so far as per- 
sonal recollection goes, never had another 
home. From youth until 1914, he was an 
active mill worker in Holyoke and Chico- 
pee Falls, but since that year has devoted 
his time to the care of the "Andre," a large 
apartment house for the occupancy of twen- 
ty-five tenants, which he built and owns. He 
is a son of Gilbert Bolduc, and a grandson 
of Joseph Bolduc, both of Canadian birth. 
Joseph Bolduc, born in 1800, died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in 1879, ^ blacksmith 
and wagon builder. Joseph and Cecelia 
Bolduc were the parents of : Joseph, who 
fought in the Union Army during the War 
of the Rebellion, died at the United States 



Soldiers' Home in Togus, Maine ; and Gil- 
bert, of further mention. 

Gilbert Bolduc was born in St. Cephas, 
Quebec, Canada, in 1836, and died in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, in 1905. He learned 
blacksmithing and wagon making under his 
father's instruction in Canada, and in 1858 
came to the United States and resided in 
Hinsdale, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, 
until after 1871, then moved to Holyoke, 
his home until death. In Hinsdale and Hol- 
yoke, he was employed as a stationary en- 
gineer, a trade he learned after coming to 
Hinsdale. In Holyoke he was in the em- 
ploy of the City Foundry & Machine Com- 
pany as engineer at the time of his death. 
He was a member of the American Associa- 
tion of Stationary Engineers, and a man 
highly regarded for his mechanical ability. 
Gilbert Bolduc married Cordelia Roy, 
daughter of Joseph Roy, of Canada. Mrs. 
Bolduc survives and is now (1917) living 
in Holyoke, aged seventy-seven. They 
were the parents of : Eliza ; Nelson, de- 
ceased; George, of further mention; Na- 
poleon, deceased ; Albert ; William. 

George Bolduc, second son of Gilbert 
and Cordelia (Roy) Bolduc, was born in 
Hinsdale, Massachusetts, August 24, 1871, 
but soon afterward was brought to Holyoke 
by his parents. There he was educated in the 
public schools, and when school days were 
over there began active business life. For 
ten years he was in the employ of the 
Springfield Blanket Mills at Holyoke, going 
thence to the Stevens Tool Company, of 
Chicopee Falls, there continuing seven 
years. The succeeding four years were 
spent in the employ of Spaulding Com- 
pany of Chicopee Falls, manufacturers of 
sporting goods, that ending his years of ser- 
vice for others. In 1914 he built the "An- 
dre," the large apartment house in Holyoke, 
previously mentioned, and now devotes his 
entire time to its management. He is a 
member of the Independent Club of Ward 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Two, and of the Catholic Order of Forest- 
ers. 

Mr. Bolduc married, September i, 1898, 
Mathilde Fayes, born in France, daughter 
of Joseph and Delphine F.( Bernard) Fayes. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bolduc are the parents of 
five children, three of whom died at birth, 
the two living sons, Andre, born September 
4, 1908; and Noel, born December 25, 
1916. 



FOLEY, Daniel Michael, 

Business Man. 

This branch of the Foley family came to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, from County Ker- 
ry, Ireland, where they had long been seat- 
ed, although authorities state that originally 
the family came from Spain. Daniel M. 
Foley, of the first American born genera- 
tion of the family and a prosperous grocer 
and provision dealer of Holyoke, is a son 
of Michael Foley, and a grandson of Pat- 
rick Foley, born in Dingle, County Kerry, 
Ireland. He came to the United States in 
1874, about one year later than his son 
Michael, settled with him in Holyoke, and 
was employed in the paper mills until his 
death. He married Mary Burkett, born in 
Arfirth, Ireland, and they were the parents 
of: Michael, of further mention; Mary, a 
Sister of Mercy in a convent in New Ha- 
ven, Connecticut, her religious name Sister 
Adrian ; Margaret, deceased ; James E. ; 
Catherine ; Patrick. 

Michael Foley, eldest son of Patrick and 
Mary (Burkett) Foley, was born in Ar- 
firth, County Kerry, Ireland, in 1853, died in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, February 16, 1913. 
He attended the parish school, and remained 
at home, his father's assistant, until 1873, 
then sailed for the United States, locating 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts. He entered the 
Parsons Mill, there becoming an expert pa- 
per maker, going thence to the Albion Pa- 
per Mill. He then spent several years en- 



gaged in mercantile employment, in the fish 
market with his brother, James E. Foley, at 
the same location where the postoffice build- 
ing now stands ; with George H. Twaddle, 
at the corner of High and Hampden streets ; 
with Fenno & Cleary, grocers, on Dwight 
street, in the old Windsor Hotel Building. 
Later, and for ten years, he was parkkeep- 
er for the city of Holyoke, and for the two 
years prior to his death he was engaged in 
the store owned by his son, Daniel M. Fo- 
ley. He was a member of the Ancient Or- 
der of Hibernians, and one of the active 
prominent men of the order. He married, 
May 10, 1874, Catherine Flaherty, born in 
County Galway, Ireland, in 1855, daughter 
of Frank and Isabelle (Kilkelly) Flaherty. 
Mr. and Mrs. Foley were the parents of 
nine children: Daniel M., of further men- 
tion; Mary; Patrick; Elizabeth, married 
John A. Bowler, of Holyoke ; Frank A. ; 
Louise ; Cassandra, deceased ; an infant, 
died young; William. 

Daniel M. Foley, eldest son of Michael 
and Catherine (Flaherty) Foley, was bom 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, June 20, 1875. 
He was educated in the city schools and 
Childs Business College, beginning as a 
wage earner in the employ of George H. 
Twaddle when thirteen years of age, Mr. 
Twaddle was a dealer in sea food, and the 
boy remained in his employ four years. On 
August 13, 1892, being then but seventeen 
years of age, he began business for himself 
at No. 58 Lyman street, dealing in meats and 
operating a fish market in connection there- 
with. He continued in that location and 
business seven years, moving in 1899 to 
Centre and Mosher streets, where he estab- 
lished a grocery business, there remaining 
another seven years, until 1907. In 1904 
he purchased the block at the corner of 
High and Essex streets, remodeled the 
building to suit his purpose, and in 1905 he 
began business in a new store at that loca- 
tion, conducting a grocery and general pro- 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vision business, with meat and lish depart- 
ments, and running both stores until 1907, 
when he sold the one at the corner of Cen- 
tre and Mosher streets. His store is ad- 
mirably arranged and finely appointed, its 
sanitary conditions perfect, and a credit to 
its owner. In addition to his large mer- 
mantile business, Mr. Foley deals exten- 
sively in real estate, and in 191 6 he erected 
a fine private residence for himself on 
Northampton street. Holyoke. He is a di- 
rector in the ^Mechanics Savings Bank, was 
a member of the School Board six years, 
1904-10: is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and of the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians. He is a good 
business man, energetic and progressive, 
upright and honorable in all his dealings, 
and a good friend, neighbor and citizen. 

Mr. Foley married, June 20, 1906, Kath- 
arine Isabelle Dalton, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Michael and Julia 
Dalton. They are the parents of two sons : 
Daniel Foley, born in Holyoke, December 
10, 1907; William, died in infancy. 



WALSH, WilHam Joseph, 
Manufacturer. 

After becoming an expert in boiler and 
bridge work and in the manufacture of 
bridge and structural steel and iron, Mr. 
Walsh located in Holyoke, where he is head 
of the boiler manufacturing firm, Walsh &: 
Heyv.ood, operating a large plant with a 
Canadian branch works. Mr. Walsh is a 
son of Thomas Walsh, born in County Sli- 
go, Ireland, in 1826, died in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1912. Thomas Walsh re- 
mained in his native land until 1854, then 
came to the United States. Although he was 
left fatherless when but three years of age, 
he acquired sufficient education to enable 
him to hold a salesman's position. On com- 
ing to the United States he settled on a farm 
in the State of Connecticut, continuing an 



agriculturist for several years. He then lo- 
cated in Hartford, where he established a 
commission fruit and produce business. La- 
ter he located in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
continuing in the produce business until his 
retirement. He removed to Holyoke after 
retiring from business and there resided 
until his death. Thomas Walsh married 
Bridget Gallagher, born in County Monag- 
han, Ireland, in 1828, died in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, in May, 1916. They were 
the parents of fourteen children : Mat- 
thew Frances, Michael, Peter A., Thomas S., 
deceased, a boiler manufacturer of Hol- 
yoke and Springfield, and a State Senator ; 
William J., of further mention; John, died 
in infancy; Mary A., Ellen, Xora Jane, 
Clara S., Theresa P, Anna S., George, died 
in infancy ; Bernard. 

William Joseph Walsh was born in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, September 8, 1861, and 
there his parents resided until 1873, when 
they moved to Springfield, Massachusetts. 
William J. attended the public schools in 
both cities, completing his studies in the 
Oak Street Grammar School, Springfield. 
After leaving school he at once entered the 
employ of the Boston & Albany Boiler 
Works and while in their service was en- 
gaged in many different capacities on many 
different operations. As a boy he heated 
half the rivets used in the construction of 
the Forest Park and South End bridges in 
Springfield, worked on the famous Eddy 
engine boilers and became an expert on boil- 
er and bridge work. From Springfield he 
went to New York City with R. F. Haw- 
kins, a manufacturer of bridge and struc- 
tural steel and iron, with whom he re- 
mained four years. For six months after 
leaving New York, Mr. Walsh was in the 
employ of the Coughlin Boiler Works in 
Holyoke: he then returned to Springfield, 
where he remained for one year, after 
vvhich he was with the Thompson, Houston 
Electric Companv at New Britain, Connec- 
38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ticut, for a term of four and a half years. 
The works were then removed to Lynn, 
Massachusetts, Mr. Walsh with seventy of 
the New Britain employees going to Lynn, 
where Mr. Walsh remained two years. 
From Lynn he went to the Ponds Ma- 
chine Tool Company at Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, remaining eighteen months, after 
which for six years he was with the Print- 
ers Brothers Tool Manufacturing Company 
in the same city. 

This brought him to March, 1894, and 
the age of thirty-three. He was an expert 
mechanic and thoroughly experienced in 
bridge construction and boiler manufacture, 
and had traveled enough to make him will- 
ing to settle down to a fixed abode and an 
assured business. His brother, Thomas S., 
was engaged in boiler manufacturing at that 
time in Holyoke as a member of the firm. 
Long & Walsh, and in March, 1894, Wil- 
liam J. Walsh purchased that business and 
continued as the Walsh Boiler Works. This 
business became a prosperous and profita- 
ble one under his management, and in time 
outgrew the ability of one man to handle it. 
He then admitted Charles D. Heywood as a 
partner, the business being now conducted 
under the firm name Walsh & Heywood. 
The plant at Holyoke is a large and well 
equipped one, a branch in Canada also be- 
ing a part of the company's equipment. Mr. 
Walsh is a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of 
Columbus, and the Commercial Travelers 
Association of the United States. 

Mr. Walsh married, September 8, 1887, 
Ellen Bowen, daughter of Timothy Bowen, 
of Bellows Falls, Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. 
Walsh are the parents of three daughters : 
Clara L., married Vincent P. Marran, su- 
perintendent of the Walsh & Heywood Boil- 
er Works, and has a son Vincent P. Mar- 
ran, Jr. ; Hazel ; Helen B. 



O'CONNOR, Thomas Joseph, 

Attorney-at-LavF. 

As a member of the Hampden county 
bar, Thomas Joseph O'Connor, of Holyoke, 
has added prestige to a name which has 
long been an honored one in the county, 
his father, Daniel O'Connor, one of that 
body of pioneers of Irish birth who have 
added much to the welfare and wealth of 
the land of their adoption. 

Daniel O'Connor was born in Glenmore, 
County Kerry, Ireland, youngest of the sev- 
en children of Thomas and Catherine 
O'Connor. Thomas O'Connor died while 
his son was but a child, and some time af- 
terward his widow came to the United 
States, accompanied by her daughter and 
son, Daniel, and settled at Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, where other members of the 
family had already settled. About 1867, 
Daniel O'Connor located in South Hadley 
Falls, which was his home for the half cen- 
tury which intervened between that year 
and his death, January 26, 191 7. For many 
years he was one of the most faithful and 
trusted employees of the Hadley Thread 
Company. He was one of the devout mem- 
bers of St. Patrick's Church, and when the 
first church in that parish was built he was 
one of the men who gave their service to 
dig the excavation for a foundation, and 
when death came his funeral services were 
held in that church with the impressive 
rites of the solemn high mass of requiem, 
followed by his interment in St. Jerome 
Cemetery. He was of that fine type of man- 
hood who are an honor to any community, 
faithful and trustworthy as an employee, 
consistent in his church relations, and in 
his home life devoted, loving and true, 
Daniel O'Connor married, February 10, 
1867, Mary Sullivan, the ceremony being 
performed in St. Jerome's Church, Hol- 
yoke, by the then rector. Father P. J. Har- 
kins, South Hadley at that time being part 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of St. Jerome parish. There was no bridge 
across the river then, the bridal party cross- 
ing by ferry. Mr. and Mrs. O'Connor were 
the parents of three sons and two daugh- 
ters, namely: Thomas Joseph, of whom 
further; John J., a priest of the Order of 
Jesuits ; Daniel P., of South Hadley Falls ; 
Katherine T., who became the wife of 
James F. Loftus, and resides in Thorndike, 
a village of Palmer; Minnie Agnes, who 
resides with her mother at South Hadley 
Falls. Two children, Simon and Frances, 
died in early childhood. 

Thomas Joseph O'Connor, eldest son of 
Daniel and Mary (Sullivan) O'Connor, 
was born at South Hadley Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, September 22, 1874. He com- 
pleted with graduation the courses of the 
graded and high schools, and having de- 
cided upon the profession of law he entered 
Boston University Law School, whence he 
was graduated LL.B., class of 1897. He 
was at once admitted to the Hampden coun- 
ty bar and located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and since then has been in continuous 
and successful general practice there. He 
served as city solicitor in 191 3-14, and has 
been a member of the Board of License 
Commissioners since 1914. He is a mem- 
ber of the various bar associations, and 
conducts a large professional business in all 
the State and Federal courts of the district. 
He is a member of the Knights of Colum- 
bus, the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, the Foresters of America, the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians, the Holyoke 
and Pequot clubs, and a trustee of the Elks 
Club. 

Mr. O'Connor married, August 30, 1898, 
Ella G. Curran, daughter of Terence L. 
and Mary (Planning) Curran, of Holyoke. 
They are the parents of one son, Charles 
Daniel, born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
September 11, 1899. 



BRODEUR, Philias Joseph, 

Representative Citizen. 

From Canada have come many of the 
best citizens of the United States, men who 
have contributed largely to the upbuilding 
and development of the communities in 
which they located, men who have been 
willing, if need be, to sacrifice their lives 
in the defense of their adopted country, 
and prominent among this number is Phil- 
ias J. Brodeur, who for the past quarter of 
a centifry has been a respected resident of 
Holyoke. 

Honore Brodeur, grandfather of Philias 
J. Brodeur, was a native of Canada, and 
there spent his entire lifetime, his active 
years being devoted to the tilling and cul- 
tivation of the soil, which yielded him a 
bountiful return for labor expended. He 
was active in community affairs, and won 
and retained the respect of his neighbors. 
His wife, Marie ( Alexj Brodeur, bore him 
four children : Honore, Joseph, Paul and 
Troussaint, who were reared to lead lives 
of usefulness and activity. 

Troussaint Brodeur, father of Philias J. 
Brodeur, was born in St. Bridget, Province 
of Quebec, Canada, 1827, and died there, 
March, 1888, aged sixty-one years. He 
attended the schools in the neighborhood of 
his home, assisted his father in the duties of 
the home farm, and upon attaining man- 
hood decided to follow in his father's foot- 
steps, purchasing a farm of some one hun- 
dred and fifty acres in extent, and in addi- 
tion to general farming he kept a herd of 
well selected cows, from the product of 
which he made excellent butter and cheese, 
which he disposed of readily, it being of 
good quality. He was a Liberal in poli- 
tics and served as a member of the Coun- 
cil in his town, his advice on many sub- 
jects being of advantage to his fellow 
councilmen. He was public-spirited and 
devoted his time and attention to the var- 



140 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ious projects that had for their object the 
welfare of the community. He married 
Mary Brodeur, daughter of Francois Ex- 
pernia and Victoria (Carreau) Brodeur. 
Children : Joseph, a resident of Canada ; 
Francois, a resident of Holyoke, Massa- 
chussetts ; Paul, also a resident of Hol- 
yoke ; Timothy, a resident of Portland, 
Oregon ; Melvira, became the wife of Oc- 
tavia Desroches ; Azilda, deceased ; Mo- 
deste, a resident of Canada ; Philias Joseph, 
of whom further. 

Philias Joseph Brodeur was born in St. 
Bridget, Province of Quebec, Canada, April 
6, 1867. ^6 obtained a practical educa- 
tion in the schools of his native town, and 
for the two years following the completion 
of his studies there was a student in the 
college at St. Cesaire, his studies there be- 
ing interrupted by the death of his father, 
in 1888, he having to return home and as- 
sist in the management of the home farm, 
and so continued until the year 1892, w'hen 
he w^as twenty-five years of age. In Oc- 
tober of that year he came to the United 
States, believing that there was a wider 
field for activity and advancement than in 
his native land, and at once located in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, which city has been 
his home ever since. He entered the em- 
ploy of the Hampden Glazed Paper and 
Card Company, his present employers, and 
by the faithful discharge of his duties has 
advanced to the position of foreman of the 
paste department. He possesses in full 
measure the confidence and regard of the 
men under his command, being fair and im- 
partial in his treatment of them, and he has 
also gained the good will of the men higher 
than he in authority, the result of con- 
scientious and earnest efifort. Mr. Brodeur 
purchased the "Belmont," one of the finest 
apartment houses in Holyoke, the property 
being valued at $75,000, and he disposed 
of the same in April, 1917, at an advantage- 
ous price, this transaction denoting not 



only his thrift in accumulating capital suf- 
ficient to purchase it, but shrewdness and 
judgment in the sale of it. Mr. Brodeur is 
a member, with his family of the Church of 
Perpetual Help of Holyoke, a member of 
St. Jean Baptist Society, of the French 
Citizen Society, and of Ward Two Inde- 
pendent Club. 

Mr. Brodeur married, October 6, 1890, 
Euphemie Gingrass, born in Farnham, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, daughter of 
Abraham and Anastasia (Peltier) Gin- 
grass. Children: Bertha, born August, 
1891, deceased ; Blanche, born July 4, 1893 ; 
Albert, born October 5, 1894, bookkeeper 
wath the Fisk Rubber Tire Works of Chic- 
opee, married Maria Therrien ; Olive, born 
February 18, 1896; Antonio, born June 
10, 1900; Harvey, born October 2.2, 1909. 



CHAREST, Odilon Zephirin Elzear, 

Dealer in House Fnrnisliiiigs. 

Odilon Zephirin Elzear Charest is an en- 
terprising furniture dealer of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, who has displayed much ex- 
ecutive ability, energy and public spirit in 
building up the business in which he is 
now occupied, and in the numerous political 
activities in which he has taken part. He 
has gained the consideration and respect 
of all with whom he has come in contact. 

His father, Elzear Charest, was born in 
the Province of Quebec, Canada. He was 
a mechanic and millwright, living the great- 
er part of his life in Three Rivers, Canada. 
In politics he was a Liberal. He was mar- 
ried to Arline Suite, who was better known 
as Arline Vadeboncoeur. Their children 
were: Odilon Z. E., of this sketch ; Alida; 
Emelie ; Helmina ; Marie Louise, deceased ; 
Arthur, deceased ; J. Elzear. 

Odilon Z. E. Charest was born May 30, 
1857, at Three Rivers, Canada. There he 
attended the public schools, and at a com- 
paratively early age began work as a ship- 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ping clerk, in which occupation he remained 
for three years. In June, 1878, he came to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he became 
employed by Metcalf & Luther, proprietors 
of the Holyoke Furniture Company, and he 
continued in their employment ten years. In 
September, 1888, he entered into partner- 
ship with Didace Sainte-Marie and opened 
a furniture business in Holyoke under the 
firm name of Sainte-Marie & Charest. Since 
that time this firm, dealing extensively in 
furniture and household goods, has en- 
larged its quarters at frequent intervals in 
order to maintain the proper accommoda- 
tions for its ever increasing business. Mr. 
Charest was actively engaged in politics 
for twenty years, of which fifteen were 
spent as school committeeman and two 
years he served as chairman of the school 
board. He is a member of the Order of 
Foresters, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Heptasophs, and the 
Rochambeau Club. 

On November 26, 1886, Mr. Charest was 
married to Mary Jane Robert, of Northern 
New York. These children have been born 
to them : Leonise, wife of Joseph Car- 
mel, who has two children, Rita and Alice ; 
Antoinette ; Arthur, who works in the Pren- 
tiss Wire Mill; George W., who is with his 
father in the furniture store ; Romeo P., 
who is a graduate of the Dental Depart- 
ment of the University of Maryland at 
Baltimore, class of 1918. 



LASONDE, Napoleon, 

Business Man. 

In 1866, Prospere Lasonde left his native 
Canada and settled in Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts, and with the change of location 
changed his occupation from farming to 
manufacturing. He was born in Canada 
in 1842, died in Fall River in 1908. His 
wife, Dorothy (Vincent) Lasonde, born in 
Canada in 1846, died in Fall River in 1910. 



They were the parents of six sons, Eli, 
Jenno, Napoleon, of further mention ; Al- 
bert, Edward, and Evares. 

Napoleon Lasonde, third son of Prospere 
and Dorothy (Vincent) Lasonde, was 
born in St. Jacent, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, July 12, 1861, and in 1866 was tak- 
en by his parents to Fall River, Massachu- 
setts. He left school when quite young, 
and until he was eighteen his work had 
principally been driving teams. In 1879 ^e 
came to Holyoke, Massachusetts, and being 
a strong, healthy lad of eighteen found em- 
ployment in the brickyards, continuing in 
that line of activity for a number of years. 
In 1887 he invested his savings in the pur- 
chase of horses and wagons and established 
a general express and trucking business un- 
der his own name. In that line of business 
he continues, and while horses are yet the 
main reliance as a motive power, and they 
are the best that can be obtained, he also 
uses in addition to these two very large 
automobile trucks. He does an extensive 
business in heavy trucking, also in a line 
of lighter express work and employs sev- 
eral men. He is a man of industry and in- 
tegrity, has the confidence of all with whom 
he does business and is highly esteemed by 
his many friends. 

Mr. Lasonde married, in September, 
1881, Anna Demara, born in Canada. They 
are the parents of two sons, Henry and Ed- 
ward, both associated with their father in 
the trucking business, and two daughters. 
Flora and Dora, the last named being the 
wife of Patrick Hebert. This is the record 
of a life of industry from early boyhood 
until the present. For thirty-eight years he 
has resided in Holyoke, where by industry 
and perseverance he has placed himself at 
the head of a prosperous business and won 
an honorable name. He has been the ar- 
chitect of his own fortunes, and is a splen- 
did example of what can be accomplished 
by well directed eflfort and right living. 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SPARROW, William, 

Representative Citizen. 

The man who performs his duty faith- 
fully and conscientiously, in whatever posi- 
tion he is placed, is the man who makes 
the best citizen, the one to be relied upon 
in times of peace or war, and among this 
class is William Sparrow, of Springfield. 

His father, Jonathan Sparrow, was born 
in Ireland, 1794, and died in Huntingdon, 
Canada, 1866, aged seventy-two years. He 
attended the schools of his native town, af- 
ter which he learned the trade of stone 
mason, at which he became highly pro- 
ficient. In 1812, when eighteen years of 
age, he emigrated to Canada, settling in 
what was known as New Ireland, and also 
by some as the Sparrow Settlement. It was 
a new section and he was the first man to 
cut down the trees there, and thus witnessed 
its growth from a wilderness to a settle- 
ment of homes and well tilled fields. In 
conjunction with his trade of stone mason, 
he followed agricultural pursuits, deriving 
a comfortable livelihood. He married 
(first) Rebecca Kalbach, who bore him two 
children, Rebecca and James. He married 
(second) Mary (McLane) Hunter, a 
widow, who bore him six children, as fol- 
lows: John, deceased; Jonathan, resid- 
ing in Huntingdon, Canada ; William, men- 
tioned in next paragraph; Fannie, deceas- 
ed ; Elizabeth, became the wife of Willard 
J. Tuttle, resides in Charlestown, New 
Hampshire; Charles, deceased. Jonathan 
Sparrow had two brothers, Thomas and 
James Sparrow, and a sister, Frances M., 
who became the wife of a Mr. Cox. 

William Sparrow was born in Hunting- 
don, Canada, March i, 1842. He obtained 
a practical education in the schools of Hunt- 
ingdon, and was employed on the home 
farm until seventeen years of age, when he 
entered upon an apprenticeship at the trade 
of carriage maker, and followed that trade 



for six years. He learned the trade in all 
its details, beginning with the cutting down 
of the trees, then cutting the planks from 
the trees, and later cutting the planks by 
hand, this being before the introduction of 
the machinery for manufacturing purposes. 
In 1866 he became a resident of the United 
States, locating in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and for the following five years was en- 
gaged at carpenter work, in which line he 
was skillful and proficient. He then re- 
turned to Canada, and for the following 
twenty-two years was engaged in the con- 
tracting and building line, in which he was 
equally successful. In 1892 he again re- 
turned to the United States, this time locat- 
ing in Springfield, Massachusetts, and has 
resided there ever since, a period of a quar- 
ter of a century. For a short time he 
worked in the Wasson Car Shops, and then 
secured employment in the Old Connecticut 
River Railroad Company, now the Boston 
& Maine Railroad, and has worked there 
continuously ever since, engaged at car- 
pentry work, looking after the wood work 
of the engines, tenders, windows, etc. His 
many years connection with this company is 
an eloquent testimonial to his ability, fidel- 
ity and trustworthiness. 

Mr. Sparrow married, February 20, 1866, 
Isabelle McDonald, born in Huntingdon, 
Canada, October 24, 1846, daughter of Phil- 
ip and Ann (Howe) McDonald. Children: 
Ida Eva, born November 28, 1866, died 
March 22, 1869 ; Viola May, born Novem- 
ber 6, 1868, died October 4, 1869; Rosa 
Belle, born December 26, 1869, became the 
wife of Isaac Barr ; William Allen, whose 
sketch follows in this work ; Frederick El- 
den, born August 21, 1874, married Clara 
Drake Fisher, and they have one child, 
Raymond Fisher ; Bert Philip, born Febru- 
ary 4, 1876, married May CliflFord, and they 
have children: Bertram William, Viola 
May, Charles A., Joseph Arthur; Charles 
Alexander, born June 4, 1879, married 



143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Grace June Fellows ; Arthur Robert, born 
November 15, 1883, died September 21, 
1917, married Sarah N. Staunton; John 
Harford, born September 4, 1887; Earl 
McDonald, born May 9, 1889, married 
Margaret B. Phoenix; Annie May, born 
March 31, 1891, became the wife of Rus- 
sell Clinton Sayre, and they have children : 
Barbara Isabelle and Mazie Emeline. The 
first two above named children were bom 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, the remainder 
in Huntingdon, Canada. 



SPARROW, William Allen, 
Business Man. 

William A. Sparrow is one of the enter- 
prising business men of Holyoke, and his 
career illustrates most forcibly the possibil- 
ities that are open to young men of energy 
and ability. 

William A. Sparrow, son of William and 
Isabelle (McDonald) Sparrow, was born in 
Huntingdon, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
March 14, 1872. He was educated in the 
schools of his native town, and later learned 
the trade of carpenter in his native land 
under the instruction of his father. In 
1890, at the age of eighteen years, he came 
to the United States and located in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, and has resided there 
to the present time (191 7). He learned the 
trade of plumber with Mr. Phelps and Mr. 
C. H. Tower, and aftefr becoming pro- 
ficient in all its details, he served as a journ- 
eyman for a number of years, thus gaining 
valuable experience. In 1904, in company 
with Mr. McTigue, he established a plumb- 
ing business under the firm name of Spar- 
row & McTigue, and this connection con- 
tinued until 1909, in which year he be- 
came connected with the McDonald Plumb- 
ing Company, retaining this connection for 
a short period of time, and then engaged 
in the same line on his own account, under 
his own name, and has so continued to the 



present time. His natural aptitude for the 
work and his earnest attention to the work 
entrusted to him has won him many friends 
and secured him business success. He is 
a member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, of Holyoke ; of Con- 
necticut Valley Lodge, No. 28, Knights of 
Pythias, of which he is a master of finance 
at the present time (1917) ; has passed 
through all the chairs in the order ; was past 
chancellor in 1916, and for six years has 
been a member of the Grand Lodge. He 
is also a member of the Cryptic Club of the 
Masons. 

Mr. Sparrow married, October 6, 1897, 
Rosa La Due, born in Chesterfield, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Oliver and Soulaunge 
(La Due) Da Due. Children: Harold Al- 
len, born February 19, 1899; Beatrice Isa- 
belle, born July 14, 1901 ; WiUiam Clement, 
born April 21, 1907. 



COLLINS, Patrick J., 

Merchant. 

At the age of fourteen years Patrick J. 
Collins left his native Ireland and came to 
the United States, locating in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, his present home and the 
scene of his successful business career. He 
is a son of Patrick J. Collins, born in Bar- 
lo, County Roscommon, Ireland, in 1850, 
died in 1877, the victim of an accident in 
the hay field. He married Honora Flaher- 
ty, also of County Roscommon, and they 
were the parents of Patrick J. (2), James 
J., and Catherine J., married Michael Con- 
nell. 

Patrick J. (2) Collins was born in Bal- 
lenbaugh, County Roscommon, Ireland, 
February 4, 1871. He was but six years 
of age at the time of his father's accident- 
al death, consequently his early training 
was under the gentle influence of his moth- 
er who was ambitious for her boy and gave 
him such school advantage as the parish 



144 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



afforded. In 1885 he came to the United 
States, located in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and in night schools and Child's Business 
College completed a good business educa- 
tion. His entrance into the business world 
was as clerk in the furniture store of James 
J. Delaney, and there he remained for thir- 
teen years, and during eight years of that 
period he was in the employ of the city of 
Holyoke, being call man in the fire depart- 
ment and under Chief Lynch, the city pay- 
ing Mr. Collins $150 yearly for the privi- 
lege of calling upon him for service at fires. 
It was not until 1897 that Mr. Collins 
established in business for himself and 
when he did it was in the business he had 
become so intimately acquainted with dur- 
ing his years with Mr. Delaney. He joined 
a partnership with William Murray, and in 
1897 as Collins & Murray purchased a fur- 
niture store at No. 997 High street, Hol- 
yoke. The firm conducted a successful gen- 
eral furniture business until 1913, when 
they incorporated as the Collins & Murray 
Company, Mr. Collins, treasurer, Mr. Mur- 
ray, president. In 191 6 Mr. Murray died, 
and on February i, 1917, Mr. Collins, who 
acquired the Murray interest by purchase, 
succeeded to the presidency of the com- 
pany, w'hich he now serves both as presi- 
dent and treasurer. The history of this now 
important business has been one of prog- 
ress and prosperity from its inception. 
When originally purchased it occupied but 
one-half its present floor space, the adjoin- 
ing store having been the insistent demand 
for more room. Mr. Collins' entire busi- 
ness life has been spent in the retailing of 
furniture and associated lines, and to his 
ability, energy and progressive spirit the 
success of Collins & Murray is due in a 
large degree. For one year he served as a 
member of the Board of License Commis- 
sioners. He is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, Knights of 
Columbus, Improved Order of Red Men, 
MASS.— 7— 10. I 



Catholic Order of Foresters, Mt. Tom Golf 
Club and the Holyoke Country Club. He 
is fond of travel and has four times crossed 
the Atlantic, each time visiting his native 
land. 

]\Ir. Collins married, in 1900, Catherine 
J. Donohue, born at County Kerry, Ire- 
land. They are the parents of Mary Agnes, 
Catherine J., Helen Gertrude, Anna 
Theresa, Patrick J. (3), Margaret and 
Gertrude. 



O'CONNELL, Daniel, 

Contractor. 

Daniel O'Connell, one of the pioneer and 
best known building contractors of New 
England, died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
November 23, 191 6. He was one of the first 
Irish settlers to come to that city, and during 
his sixty-nine years' residence saw that com- 
munity develop into a thriving municipality, 
and in that growth and development bore a 
prominent part. He was the founder and 
long at the head of the contracting firm, 
Daniel O'Connell's Sons, and was closely 
identified with construction work in many 
places. As each of his six sons came of 
age they were admitted to the business, and 
when the years bore too heavily he with- 
drew, leaving the burdens of management 
to his sons. He had a wonderful memory 
and was an authority upon local history. 
For forty-two years he lived in the house in 
whicli he died, and when he was borne from 
it for the last time it was upon the shoulders 
of his six sons. 

Daniel O'Connell was born in the parish 
of Ferriter, County Kerry, Ireland, in Sep- 
tember, 1832. He was a son of Daniel 
O'Connell, who was born in the west part 
of Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland, in the 
year 1799, and died in 1849, when fifty 
years of age. He married Catherine Man- 
ning, a daughter of Michael Manning, who 
afterwards came to the United States and 



45 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



settled with her son in West Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, where she spent the remainder of 
her Hfe. To Daniel and Catherine (Man- 
ning) O'Connell the following children were 
born : James, Michael, Daniel, who is the 
subject of this sketch, Maurice, John, Jo- 
hanna, and Mary, the latter becoming the 
wife of James Sullivan. 

When a lad of fourteen years, Daniel 
O'Connell left Ireland, and after a voyage 
of thirty-one days landed in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, in April, 1847. -'^ ^^w months 
were spent at Chicopee Falls, then on or 
about his fifteenth birthday he came to Hol- 
yoke, which was ever afterward his home. 
His first employment was as water boy to 
the large force of men employed in building 
the first dam built by the Hadley Falls 
Company, a structure which was washed 
away before completion, the dam which 
still stands above the present stone dam 
not being finished until 1849. After leav- 
ing this the lad found employment with a 
farmer in Baptist Village (now Elmwood), 
then again entered the employ of the 
Hadley Falls Company, becoming barn boss 
at their stable in Ward i, Holyoke. In 1858 
he bought a farm in Rock Valley, which he 
cultivated for a year, then in i860 went to 
Springfield, where he was employed driving 
a team used to switch freight cars in the old 
New Haven depot. Later he was in the 
service of Mayor Bemis. of Springfield, 
who was then engaged in the coal busi- 
ness, and still later managed a farm in 
Longmeadow for John Madden. Returning 
to Holyoke, he gained a knowledge of the 
building business with Deacon E. T. Rich- 
ards in 1862, and the following year he 
went into business for himself as a truck- 
man and expressman. In 1865 he formed 
a partnership with Deacon Edwards in the 
general jobbing business, continuing until 
1868, when they dissolved, Mr. O'Connell at 



that time having been appointed by the se- 
lectmen to take charge of the town roads. 
He served as supervisor of highways until 
1864, then was appointed superintendent of 
city streets, holding that position until 1870, 
when he resigned. In 1880 he began con- 
tracting, his first important mill contract 
being for the excavation of the present Non- 
otuck INIill of the American Writing Paper 
Company. From this time business rap- 
idly increased, his sons were admitted part- 
ners and the firm of Daniel O'Connell's 
Sons became well known far beyond local 
limits. Among his many contracts. Mr. 
O'Connell made the excavations and laid 
the foundations for the Symms & Dudley 
Mill, the Winona and Parsons mills, the 
Farr Alpaca Company's plant in Jackson 
street, and numerous others, mill building 
becoming their specialty. The large con- 
tracts executed outside of Holyoke were 
the building of the New Bedford Water 
Works ; the Electric Railway in Conway ; 
the six miles of railroad between Great Har- 
rington and Stockbridge ; the Fomer pipe 
line, twelve miles long, which is a part of 
the city's waterworks ; the dams at Bellows 
Falls, \'ermont, and Pittsfield, Massachu- 
setts, and contracts executed for the State, 
and when the founder retired the sons as- 
sumed the management, continuing the bus- 
iness. 

Mr. O'Connell married, December 13, 
1858, Johanna Brassil, who died in October, 
191 1, three years after the aged couple had 
celebrated their golden wedding day. They 
were the parents of six sons, all residing in 
Holyoke, and constituting the firm, Daniel 
O'Connell Sons: Daniel James, whose 
sketch follows ; William ; Charles Joseph, 
whose sketch follows ; John, Frank, and 
George. Mr. O'Connell was a member of 
Holy Cross Roman Catholic Church. 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



O'CONNELL, Daniel James, 

Contractor, Manufacturer. 

Daniel James O'Connell, son of Daniel 
and Johanna (Brassil) O'Connell, was born 
August 1 8, 1864, at Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and has spent his entire life there. He 
received his education at the local grammar 
and high schools, and upon completing his 
studies there became associated with his 
father in the latter's great business. In 
the year 1894 his two brothers, Charles Jo- 
seph and John O'Connell, joined him in the 
enterprise, and the three took over the 
whole of the business founded by the fath- 
er under the name of Daniel O'Connell's 
Sons. They conduct business in all parts 
of New England, particularly in the line of 
heavy contracting work, such as building 
roads, bridges, water works, dams, mills 
and manufacturing plants, and in addition 
to the construction department, they also 
manufacture brick. Mr. O'Connell is a Dem- 
ocrat and has served as a member of the 
City Council. He is a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks and the Holyoke 
Country Club. 

On October 18, 1900, Mr. O'Connell was 
united in marriage with Bessie O'Donnell, a 
native of County Kerry, Ireland, and a 
daughter of Patrick O'Donnell, of that 
place. Mr. and Mrs. O'Connell are the 
parents of the following children : Anna ; 
Alice ; Margaret Mary, born in 1905 ; and 
Daniel Patrick, born March 17, 1907. 



O'CONNELL. Charles Joseph, 

Business Man. 

Charles Joseph O'Connell, one of the 
successful business men of Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, was born in that city, January 
29, 1868. He is a son of Daniel and Jo- 
hanna (Brassil) O'Connell, Charles J. 
O'Connell's education was received in the 



local grammar and high schools, the lat« 
ter of which he attended for three years. 
Upon completing his studies at these insti- 
tutions, he learned the trade of brick ma- 
son, which he followed as an apprentice for 
some three years, and then entered into 
partnership with Mr. Vallis V. Goddard and 
they, under the firm name of O'Connell & 
Goddard, engaged in business as masons and 
builders, and during the partnership, which 
continued for a number of years, they con- 
structed many important works in and about 
Holyoke, among which should be mentioned 
the largest sewer ever built in the commu- 
nity, the Highland Grammar School, and 
many of the best apartment houses in the 
city. They also erected a number of bus- 
iness blocks, and came to be well known 
throughout the region. This association 
was, however, terminated in 1899, when 
Mr. O'Connell, in company with his broth- 
ers, Daniel James and John, took over the 
business which had been developed by their 
father, Daniel O'Connell, and under the 
style of Daniel O'Connell's Sons have con- 
tinued to carry on this enterprise ever since. 
Daniel O'Connell's Sons, as a firm, is well 
known in this section of the county. Mr. 
O'Connell's residence is situated in the 
Highland district, on a tract which was pur- 
chased by his father many years ago. His 
house was the first one erected there, and 
is one of the most attractive in the neigh- 
borhood. Mr. O'Connell is a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the Knights of Columbus, and the 
Holyoke Club. 

Mr. O'Connell married (first) in 1888, 
Mary Murphy, a native of Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married (second) June 15, 
1897, Eva Marie Doyle, a native of Hol- 
yoke, a daughter of John and Bridget (Bur- 
ley) Doyle, of that place. Mr. Doyle was 
born at Chicopee, Massachusetts, in 1837, 
and died in 191 5. He was a son of William 
Doyle, a native of Limerick, Ireland, who 



147 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came to America in 1805 and lived for a 
number of years at Chicopee, although he 
later removed to Holyoke, where his death 
occurred. By the first marriage there were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. O'Connell three chil- 
dren. ]\Iargaret, still living, Charles and 
Louise who died in infancy. Of the sec- 
ond marriage the following children have 
been born : Helen Marie, born April 24, 
1898: Daniel Jerome, born May 5, 1900; 
]\Iary Rose, born ]\Iay 19, 1901 ; Charles, 
born June 24. 1903; Francis, born Octo- 
ber 5, 1904; George Edward, born Decem- 
ber 14, 1905 ; John Doyle, born March 27, 
1907; James, born August 2, 1910: Eva 
Louise, born August 8, 1912 : and a child 
who died in infancv. 



BAESSLER, Lillian Eleanor, 

Business Woman. 

In 1883, Christian Lobegatt Baessler 
came to the United States, followed in 
1884 by his son, Oscar Baessler, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, this city finally becom- 
ing their place of habitude, and there both 
Christian L., his son Oscar, and his grand- 
daughter, Lillian Eleanor Baessler, now re- 
side, she the capable paying teller of the 
savings department of the Holyoke National 
Bank. Christian Lobegatt Baessler, of 
Thalheim, Germany, bom in 1820, died at 
the age of thirty-nine years, son of a Thal- 
heim manufacturer of wood knitting frames. 
He married Johanna Langer, bom in Thal- 
heim, in 1826, died in 1905, the mother of 
Christian Lobegatt (2), of further men- 
tion ; Bruno, deceased ; Carl B., whose ca- 
reer is described at length in this work; 
Gustave, deceased ; Gottobene ; Ilivena, de- 
ceased ; and Amelia. 

Christian Lobegatt (2) Baessler was born 
in Thalheim, Saxony, Germany, in 1845, 
and is now (1917) at the age of seventy-two 
living in Holyoke, Massachusetts. He 
obtained a good education in his native 



Saxony, served his time in the German Ar- 
my, and was a soldier of the Franco-Prus- 
sian War of 1870. He was a man of im- 
portance in his native town, served as a 
member of the school board, and as a weav- 
er had steady employment in the textile 
mills. But he chafed under conditions in Ger- 
many, and in 1883 sought the freer air of 
the United States, believing that here he 
could attain a freedom of thought and lib- 
erty of action, and rise to a better, higher 
life than was possible in his own land. All 
his dreams came true, and since his coming 
to Holyoke, in 1884, he has been remuner- 
atively employed in the hosiery mills, then 
for fourteen years as a weaver in the Ger- 
mania ^lills, and is yet an employe of that 
mill, working in the gig room. He has not 
only found a home and employment, but has 
taken an active part in public affairs, and 
in all things has been a good citizen of the 
city which gave him opportunity. He mar- 
ried, in Saxony, Wilhelmena Ruscher, born 
in that kingdom. Their children are : 
Anne, married Gustave Geissler ; Alma, 
married Paul Knie ; Frieda, married Rich- 
ard Englehardt ; Martha, married a Mr. 
Clark ; Oscar, of further mention ; Max ; 
William ; Charles ; Gustave ; and two chil- 
dren who died in childhood. 

Oscar Baessler, son of Christian Lobe- 
gatt (2) and Wilhelmena (Ruscher) 
Baessler, was born in Thalheim, Sax- 
ony, Germany, November 9, 1876, and 
at the age of seven and a half years 
he came to the United States with his 
uncle, Carl B. Baessler, and joined his 
father in Holyoke, Massachusetts, he hav- 
ing come to the United States in 1883, and 
to Holyoke in 1884. The boy Oscar was 
educated in the public schools of Holyoke, 
and after completing his school years began 
business life as an employee of the Merrick 
Thread Company. He soon afterward be- 
gan his long connection with the Buchanan 
& Bolt Wire ]\Iill of Holyoke, and for twen- 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ty-five years he has been a wire worker with 
that corporation. He is a member of the 
Holyoke Turn Verein ; The Sons of Her- 
man ; the German Shooting Ckib ; Wire 
Workers Union ; and the German Lutheran 
Church; a man highly esteemed by all who 
know him. 

Mr. Baessler married, October 14, 1896, 
Ernestine Stalzman, born in Posen, Ger- 
many, daughter of Julius and Caroline 
(Fenska) Stalzman. Mr. and Mrs. Baess- 
ler are the parents of a daughter, Lillian 
Eleanor, born at South Hadley Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, educated in the grade and high 
schools, and now fills the responsible posi- 
tion of paying teller of the savings depart- 
ment of the Holyoke National Bank. 



CWIKLINSKI, Casimer Francis, 

Clergyman. 

Under the charge of Father Cwiklinski, 
the properties of the parish of Mater Dolo 
Rosa in Holyoke have been greatly im- 
proved, and the work of the church thereby 
extended. He is of Polish ancestry, the 
son of Joseph Cwiklinski, a native of Ger- 
man Poland, now (1917) living in Tren- 
ton, New Jersey, at the age of seventy-six 
years. In his younger days the father was 
employed in a distillery in German Poland, 
and during the Franco-Prussian War served 
as an infantry soldier, participating in sev- 
enteen engagements. In the operations be- 
fore Paris he received a wound, and after 
recovering was later employed as a nurse in 
the Red Cross department. In 1885 he came 
to America on the ship, "Elba," which was 
sunk on its return voyage to Germany. Lo- 
cating in Trenton, New Jersey, he has con- 
tinued to make that his home to the present 
time. For some years he was employed in 
rubber mills, but has been long in enforced 
retirement on account of blindness caused 
by cataract of eyes. Joseph Cwiklinski and 
his wife Anna were the parents of the fol- 



lowing children: i. Michael, deceased. 2. 
Francis, deceased. 3. Joseph, now fore- 
man of the Imperial Porcelain Works of 
Trenton, New Jersey; the father of three 
children : Edmund, Agnes, and Alma. 4. 
Paul, who died December 19, 191 5, and he 
had children : Raymond, Francis, Clara, 
Anna and Casimer. 5. August, deceased. 
6. Casimer Francis. 

Rev. Casimer Francis Cwiklinski was 
born February 13, 1883, in Supkan, German 
Poland, and was about two years of age 
when he came with his parents to America. 
He devoted many years to preparation for 
the priesthood, and is now a member of the 
Franciscan order, O. M. C. He attended 
private schools in Trenton and also the 
parochial school of St. Francis Parish, a 
German parish of Trenton. He also attend- 
ed St. John's School of that city, and St. 
Stanislaus Polish School. After spending 
three years in Syracuse, New York, at the 
Assumption School under the Franciscan 
Fathers, he returned to Trenton and attend- 
ed St. Francis College for two years. His 
entire education was earned by his own la- 
bors, in any honorable capacity or any 
humble chore that came his way, and his 
college expenses were paid out of his own 
earnings. Going to Europe, he was three years 
a student at a seminary conducted by the 
Franciscan Fathers in Krakow, Polish Aus- 
tria, and there he was ordained to the priest- 
hood, July II, 1905. Returning to America, 
he became for a short time assistant priest 
at the Corpus Christi Church at Buffalo, 
New York, and then went to Baltimore, 
Maryland, where for a period of three years 
he was first assistant priest in St. Stanislaus 
Church. His next location was in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, where he acted as supply for 
a short time at the Mater Dolo Rosa 
Church, and then went to Elmhurst, Long 
Island, as pastor of Saint Adalbert Church, 
this being his first pastorate, and there he 
continued two years. In 191 1 he again went 



[49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



to Holyoke, and has ever since been pastor 
of the church at Mater Dolo Rosa. This par- 
ish has an active membership of some six 
thousand souls, and maintains a school with 
something like eight hundred pupils. Father 
Cwiklinski has two assistants, and has made 
many improvements in the church property, 
particularly in the interior decorations of 
the church, and in grading and planting 
the grounds. It is all under the charge 
of the Franciscan Order in the Diocese of 
Springfield, and one of the largest church 
properties in the city. He is an ardent 
worker for the church, a friend of the 
poor, an advocate of progress, one of the 
most patriotic citizens, and a great power 
for good in the community. 



DIETZ, Richard Hermann, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

It has been through sturdy industry and 
attention to details that Richard Hermann 
Dietz has developed from humble begin- 
nings one of the large baking industries of 
Massachusetts and Connecticut. His par- 
ents, Hermann and Christliebe Dietz, were 
natives respectively of Bohemia, Austria, 
and Saxony, Germany, and came to America 
in 1882, settling in Holyoke, December 12th 
of that year. Hermann Dietz was a weaver 
by trade and continued in that occupation for 
some years following his emigration to this 
country. In 1885, only three years after 
their arrival, his wife died, Mr. Hermann 
Dietz surviving her until 1909. Besides the 
son whose name heads this article, they had 
a daughter, Minnie, now the wife of Charles 
Bluemer, of West Holyoke, and they are 
the parents of four children. 

Richard Hermann Dietz was born June 
16, 1863, in Kimmitschau, Saxony, Ger- 
many, and came to Holyoke on December 
12, 1881, having preceded his parents' ar- 
rival by one year. Educated as he was in 
the excellent public schools of his native 



land, he experienced little difficulty, despite 
the hard times then existing, in finding em- 
ployment in the land of his adoption. His 
first position was in the Germania Mills of 
Holyoke. Later he was employed in the 
Skinner Silk Mill, continuing until 1883, 
when he embarked in business for himself 
as a baker. For the first eight months his 
bakery was located on Park street. In No- 
vember, 1884, he moved to a new location 
on Adams street. In 1889 he erected a 
building of his own on Park street, which 
he occupied as bakery and office until 1905. 
It was in these years that the solid foun- 
dation of his later business growth was laid. 
In 1905 his steadily growing business neces- 
sitated removing again to a still larger 
building of his own on High street, No. 440. 
In 1909 he established a very successful 
retail branch in Springfield, devoted espe- 
cially to the sale of fancy baked products, 
frozen delicacies and confectionery. In 
1912, continued business expansion occa- 
sioned the construction of a commodious 
factory on Commercial street, Holyoke, 
where all his baking is carried on, and where 
also is installed a thoroughly modern ice 
cream and refrigerating plant, and here al- 
so, he has a fine store, thus operating two 
stores. For the conduct of his present 
wholesale and retail trade nine delivery 
wagons and five automobiles are required 
in addition to daily railroad shipments to 
scores of surrounding towns. 

On December i, 1917, an organization, 
known as the Massachusetts Baking Com- 
pany, was formed, and of this Mr. Dietz 
was one of the organizers. In addition to 
his large interests in Holyoke, this concern 
has purchased a large number of bakeries 
throughout Massachusetts and Connecticut. 
Mr. Dietz is vice-president and one of the 
directors of this organization, the largest 
of its kind in New England. 

As will be seen by the above Mr. Dietz's 
success has not come to him as the result 



150 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of accident or lucky circumstance, but 
through the conquering of obstacles that 
many others less determined and indus- 
trious would have deemed insurmountable. 
Although a very busy man, he nevertheless 
finds time, like every other worthy citizen, 
to give intelligent attention to civic affairs. 
Having prospered under American insti- 
tutions, he desires to see them perpetuated 
under honest government and just princi- 
ples of progress. In 1896 he was a member 
of the Board of Alderman and has served 
as park commissioner. He is a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce, which was 
formerly the Business Men's Association, 
and served at one time on the Board of Di- 
rectors. Among other social and benevo- 
lent organizations with which he is affiliated 
are the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the German Order of Harugari, the 
Turn Verein, the Holyoke Club, and the 
Canoe Club. He is likewise a member of 
the German Lutheran church. 

Mr. Dietz married, July 6, 1887, Bertha 
Domki, a native of Posen, Prussia, Ger- 
many, daughter of Wilhelm and Christina 
(Shultz) Domki. Mr. Domki died when 
Bertha was a child. The mother married 
(second) Frank Glesmann, and the child. 
Bertha, took the name of her step-father. 

Mr, and Mrs. Dietz reside on the beau- 
tifully situated estate, "Rus In Urbe," on 
Easthampton road overlooking Holyoke. 
Their three eldest sons, Walter H., 
Hermann R., and Edwin O., are associated 
with the father in the bakery business, the 
former as manager of the Springfield store. 
The other children are : Rudolph A. ; Rich- 
ard ; Erna, a music teacher, married Emil 
Atmus; and Helen, the wife of William 
Muenter, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and they have a son, Rolf Muenter, born 
November 29, 1916. 



DIETZ, Walter Herman, 

Business Man. 

As manager of the Springfield branch of 
the Dietz Baking Company, Mr. Dietz is but 
continuing his connection with a business 
with which he has been associated ever 
since his graduation from college. 

Walter Herman Dietz, son of Richard 
Hermann and Bertha (Glesmann) Dietz, was 
born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, June 11, 
1888. After preparation in the city graded 
and high schools terminating with gradua- 
tion, he entered Yale University, whence he 
was graduated in the class of 19 10, with 
the degree of A. B. After leaving college 
he became associated with his father in the 
Dietz Baking Company of Holyoke, and 
upon the opening of a branch of that busi- 
ness in Springfield he was appointed its. 
manager, a position he capably fills. This 
establishment is located at No. 335 Main 
street, and is devoted to the sale of fancy 
baked products, frozen delicacies, confec- 
tionery and ice cream, and does a large bus- 
iness catering to a very choice trade. In 
connection with their beautiful store, one 
of the finest in the city adapted to this pur- 
pose, they have a very fine ice cream parlor, 
where customers are served with the 
choicest productions along these lines. 

Mr. Dietz married, November 8, 1916, 
Ann Mildred Brooks, daughter of Archi- 
bald Alexander and Dora (Edmunds) 
Brooks, of Holyoke, her father a native of 
Glasgow, Scotland. Since their marriage 
Mr. and Mrs. Dietz have resided in Spring- 
field. He is a member of the Publicity Club 
and of the United Commercial Travellers. 



FRIEDRICH, Ernest Hugo, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Ernest Hugo Friedrich, Park Commis- 
sioner of the City of Holyoke, Massachu- 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, and one of the prominent manufac- 
turers of that city, represents the finest type 
of American citizenship. Though of foreign 
birth and handicapped in his youth by his 
lack of knowledge of the English language 
and the advantages of most boys of the 
present generation in this country, he over- 
came all obstacles and won his way to the 
front rank in business. 

His father, August Friedrich,was a native 
of Saxony, and until he came to this coun- 
try in middle life he was a manufacturer of 
woolens near his birthplace in Germany. 
Soon after he came to America, in 1869, he 
made his home in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
where he was employed in the mills during 
the remainder of his active life. He was 
an earnest and faithful communicant of the 
German Lutheran church. A member of 
the various German lodges and other so- 
cial organizations of Holyoke, he was well 
known and highly respected not only by his 
fellow-citizens of German birth but by all 
who knew him. His sturdy, straightfor- 
ward principles, his kind heart and persist- 
ent energy won him a place in the esteem 
of the community. He died in Holyoke in 
1896, at the age of seventy-one years. He 
married, in Germany, Wilhelmina Hiberer, 
who was also a native of Saxony, and they 
had four children : Louis ; Ernest Hugo, 
who is mentioned below ; Oswald and Er- 
nestine. 

Ernest Hugo Friedrich was born in Sax- 
ony, November 20, 1857, and his early edu- 
cation was received in the schools of his 
native place. When his parents came to 
this country with their children, he was 
eleven years old. Entering the public schools 
he rapidly acquired the rudiments of Eng- 
lish and laid the substantial foundations of 
a liberal education. Though he left school 
comparatively early in life, he has never 
ceased to be a student of books. For three 
years when a boy he worked in the Ger- 
mania Mills in Holyoke, then he decided to 



learn a trade and he served an apprentice- 
ship in the shop of a tinsmith, working for 
six years afterward in the manufacture of 
woven-wire mattresses. But he was am- 
bitious to engage in business on his own ac- 
count and for that purpose saved from his 
earnings and accumulated a modest capital. 
In 1893 he ventured in a small way in bus- 
iness under his own name as a tinsmith 
and ironv.orker. From the beginning he 
exercised the same industry and energy that 
had characterized him as a journeyman and 
mill-hand, and literally commanded success. 
From time to time he enlarged the scope of 
his business activities and secured more im- 
portant contracts from builders. He includ- 
ed eventually every kind of work in tin, 
iron and other sheet metal, manufacturing 
cornices, sky-lights and other metal work 
used in modern buildings, and also made a 
specialty of tinning and roofing with metals. 
Later he added a plumbing department that 
has also grown to large importance. In 
1912 his business was incorporated under 
the name of the E. H. Friedrich Company, 
of which he is the sole owner, also presi- 
dent and treasurer. The growth and ex- 
pansion of his business has been uninter- 
rupted from the beginning, and today it is 
among the most extensive in Western Mas- 
sachusetts. His success has been the re- 
sult of prudence, patience, untiring labor, 
as well as exceptional business ability. Nat- 
urally a good mechanic, Mr. Friedrich pos- 
sesses the progressive spirit and keeps well 
to the front in adopting new methods and 
machinery and in securing the utmost ef- 
ficiency in the mechanical departments of 
his business. He believes in thorough 
workmanship and maintains the old tradi- 
tions of honor in his craft, making his 
work speak for itself. 

Outside of his own business, which has 
engrossed his time and energies for so many 
years, he has recently found opportunity to 
gratify his taste for agriculture. He has 



152 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



an orange plantation in Florida and a large 
part of the two hundred acres that he owns 
has already been set with orange and other 
citrus fruits. In late years he has devoted 
his time in winter to his Florida estate. It 
was his love of nature, as shown by his 
keen interest in his plantation, and his taste 
in landscape gardening that led to his ap- 
pointment as park commissioner. During 
the five years that he served on the Park 
Board of Holyoke he has given his time 
unsparingly to the beautifying of the parks 
and public places of the city and worked 
to increase the number and value of these 
breathing spots for the public. More than 
ever the people of this country are taking 
interest and pride in the public parks, and 
in this community Mr. Friedrich has been 
a leader in creating and promoting this fine 
public spirit. His work in the park depart- 
ment will be a lasting memorial. 

In politics he is a Republican, but he has 
avoided all opportunities for public service, 
except in the park department, on account 
of the demands of his business. Among 
the Free Masons of this section he is par- 
ticularly well known and popular, having 
attained the thirty-second degree. He is a 
member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Holyoke ; of the Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; of the Council, 
Royal and Select Masters; of the Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar, and of the Mas- 
sachusetts Consistory. Among the other 
social organizations of the city of which he 
is a member are the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and the various Ger- 
man lodges. He is a communicant of the 
German Lutheran church and a generous 
supporter of its charitable organizations. 

Mr. Friedrich married, December 23, 
1882, Bertha Leining, a daughter of Adam 
and Clara (Stoehr) Leining, of Rockville, 
Connecticut. Her father was a native of 
Hesse, Germany, and her mother was born 
in Saxony. Her parents came with their 



family to America in 1854 and made their 
home in Rockville. Her father was a skilled 
mechanic. Children of Ernest Hugo and 
Bertha Friedrich: i. Edmund H., born 
April 28, 1884. 2. Bertha, born December 
9, 1889; married William Wakelin and has 
two children : Frederick and Edmund 
Wakelin. 3. Emma L., born June 28, 1891. 
4. Hugo Ernest, September 14, 1894. 



LEKSTON, Roman, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Roman Lekston, a well known Polish 
physician of Holyoke, is building up a ca- 
reer far from the scenes of his childhood. 
He is a son of Michael and Agnes (Ber- 
kowska) Lekston, of Buckawanna, Russian 
Poland, who were the parents of six chil- 
dren : Rev. Joseph Lekston, a priest of the 
Roman Catholic church, now pastor of 
churches in South Deerfield and Hatfield, 
Massachusetts ; John, married Josephine 
Saumska ; Roman, of further mention; 
Landislaus, a lawyer, who is now held a 
prisoner in Germany, a victim of war ; 
Mary, died young ; Josephine, married John 
Mazur. 

Dr. Roman Lekston was born in Bucka- 
w^anna, Russian Poland, of well-to-do and 
honorable family, June 18, 1886. Until the 
age of eleven years he attended public 
schools, then in 1897 was sent to Lombrias- 
so, Italy, there entering the College of 
Language and History, completing the 
course with graduation. He then complet- 
ed a course at the Lyceum at Torino, Italy, 
receiving a diploma doubly valuable from 
the fact that it admitted the holder to any 
European University. After graduation 
from Torino Lyceum he came to the United 
States, going first to Monongah, West Vir- 
ginia, later entering Marion College of 
Commerce, Fairmount, West Virginia, 
where he finished the course in two years. 
Being an accomplished linguist, speaking 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Italian, German, Swedish and English in 
addition to his native tongue, he was con- 
sidered a desirable addition to the staff of 
the Fairmount National Bank, and for two 
years he was in charge of the foreign de- 
partment of that bank, a responsible posi- 
tion, as the foreign business was very large. 
At the end of his engagement he began the 
study of medicine at the University of West 
Virginia, remaining one year before going 
to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, there enter- 
ing Medico-Chirurgical College, whence he 
was graduated M. D., class of 191 5. He 
spent the following seven months in hospital 
work in Providence, Rhode Island, and Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, then opened offices at 
No. 40 High street, Holyoke, and began 
private practice, being one of the few 
Polish physicians of Western Massachu- 
sett. He has been very successful in his 
profession and is one of the forces for good 
in his community. He is a member of Hol- 
yoke Medical Society, the Polish Catholic 
Union and the Polish Catholic Alliance, 
both having headquarters in Chicago, Illi- 
nois, with branches in different parts of 
the United States. While a student in 
Italy he developed his musical talent, study- 
ing under Professor Dogliani, and is pro- 
ficient in both vocal and instrumental mu- 
sic. While in Monongah he was organist of 
Saint Stanislaus Church. 

Dr. Lekston married at Monongah, West 
Virginia, Josephine Smuzenska, born in 
Russian Poland, but educated in this coun- 
try in the high school at Elizabeth, New 
Jersey. They have two children: Roman 
(2), born June 26, 1903; Josephine, Au- 
gust 6, 1905. 



LIPPMAN, Richard Bernard, 
Manufacturer. 

Although born in far-away Saxony, the 
Lippman family reunited upon American 
soil and for the past thirty-seven years res- 



ident in South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts,, 
where Richard B. Lippman has passed all 
but the first two years of his life, and there 
his aged parents, Henry and Henrietta 
Lippman, yet reside in honored retirement, 
the father an octogenarian in years, died in 
February, 1917. Henry Lippman was a 
manufacturer of cloth goods in Saxony, 
Germany, operated several looms and not 
only made but personally sold the. cloth he 
wove. He had brothers, Herman, Wilhelm 
and Ernest, the latter deceased, Herman 
now also residing in South Hadley Falls. 
In 1880 Henry Lippman came to the United 
States, located in Hadley Falls, worked at 
the weaver's trade in the Glasgow Mills, 
but for several years has been retired from 
business. He married Henrietta Boch, al- 
so born in Saxony, and now living in South 
Hadley Falls. They are the parents of 
eight children: Henry (2), married and 
has sons, Alfred and Raymond ; Oscar, mar- 
ried Lizzie Beyer, two children, Harry and 
Rosa ; Fannie, married Herman Engle- 
hart, and has a daughter Lillian ; Clara, mar- 
ried John Dietel ; Anna Rosa, married Wil- 
liam Sligo and has a daughter Ruth ; Rich- 
ard Bernard, of further mention. 

Richard Bernard Lippman was born in 
Saxony, Germany, March 2, 1878, and in 
1880 was brought to the United States by 
his parents. He attended the public schools 
of South Hadley Falls, but when yet a boy 
began life as a wage earner, being employed 
in the mills at South Hadley Falls until 
1896. In the latter year he entered the ser- 
vice of the National Blank Book Company 
of Holyoke, there continuing until 1906. In 
1898 he began employing his evenings, 
making pasteboard boxes for druggists' 
use, and for eight years he continued such 
operations but necessarily in a small way. 
He, however, built up a good line of cus- 
tomers who were pleased with his goods 
and his efforts to please them, a fact which 
encouraged him to make box manufacturing 



154 




Me^i^ij ^Afi/imart 



THE KEW YORK 
IPUBLIC LIBRARY 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his sole business. In 1906 he severed his con- 
nection with the National Blank Book Com- 
pany and began manufacturing in South 
Hadley Falls as the Arona Box Company, 
beginning as sole owner. He continued in 
successful business operation for ten years, 
then in July, 191 6, in association with A. 
W. Hoffman, also a manufacturer, he or- 
ganized the United Box & Paper Company, 
Lippman & Hoffman, proprietors, that 
company taking over the Arona Box Com- 
pany, the A. W. Hoffman business and the 
Tait & Marsh Company which they pur- 
chased. The company, situated in the 
Whiting street building and at No. ^2 Main 
street, Holyoke, are manufacturers of pa- 
per boxes and paper dealers. The business 
is well managed and prosperous, the prac- 
tical knowledge and business ability of the 
partners being bent to the production of 
goods of merit, while a spirit of honorable, 
upright dealing with customers and em- 
ployees prevails in every department. Mr. 
Lippman is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias, Holyoke, and of several beneficial 
societies, is an energetic business man, has 
many friends and reviews a life of success- 
ful effort. He is unmarried, residing with 
his aged mother at South Hadley Falls. 



THE ALDERMAN FAMILY. 

Seventy-five years was the span of life 
allotted Eugene Clydon Alderman, and for 
thirty-six years of that period he resided 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts. For thirty- 
one years he was in the employ of the Hol- 
yoke Water Power Company, retiring five 
years prior to his decease. He was a vet- 
eran of the Civil War, and was wounded in 
the head by a bullet, but surviving all perils, 
returned to his home with an honorable dis- 
charge. To the community in which he lived 
so long, he left sons and daughters whose 
lives are herein recorded. 

ThexA.lderman family originally came from 



Germany, but it is not a numerous one in that 
country. The surname is derived from the 
title held by an ancestor and belongs in the 
same class of surnames as Sheriff, Con- 
stable, Beadle, Warden, etc. The first men- 
tion of the American ancester, William 
Alderman, is of his settlement in Windsor, 
Connecticut, about 1672. From Windsor he 
moved to Simsbury, Connecticut, where he 
engaged in agricultural pursuits, and died 
about 1697. There are descendants of his 
residing in that town at the present time 
(1917). He married Mary, widow of John 
Case, and they were the parents of six chil- 
dren : Mary, born September 22, 1680; 
Thomas, born January 11, 1682; William, 
see following paragraph ; Sarah, born in 
1692, became the wife of Thomas Moses; 
John, born in 1695, married, October 28, 
1719, Mary Case; Joseph, born in 1697, 
married, June 30, 1720, Mindwell Case. 

William (2) Alderman, son of William 
(i) and Mary (Case) Alderman, was born 
in Simsbury, Connecticut, October 20, 1686. 
He there followed agricultural pursuits, 
and took an active interest in the affairs of 
the town, residing there all his life. He mar- 
ried, March 28, 1716, Rebecca Osban (Os- 
borne), of Windsor. Their children were: 
Jerusha, born June 5, 171 7, William, Jo- 
seph John, born August i, 1722; Elijah, 
see following paragraph. 

Elijah Alderman, son of William (2) 
and Rebecca (Osban or Osborne) Aider- 
man, settled in that part of Simsbury, Con- 
necticut, now known as East Granby. He, 
like his forbears, was a farmer and spent 
his entire life in the town of his birth, and 
his death occurred January 11, 1779. His 
wife, Deborah Alderman, bore him two 
sons: Elijah, see following paragraph, and 
Gad, a soldier of the Revolution who en- 
listed from Connecticut. 

Elijah (2) Alderman, son of Elijah (i) 
and Deborah Alderman, was born about 
1750, lived at East Granby, Connecticut, 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and there followed agricultural pursuits 
throughout the active years of his life. He 
married and among their children was Oli- 
ver, see following paragraph. 

Oliver Alderman, son of Elijah (2) Al- 
derman, was born in East Granby, Connec- 
ticut, in 1782, and died January 21, 1858, 
aged seventy-six. He became one of the 
prominent business men of the town, was a 
general contractor, owned a distillery and 
several farms, held a commission as justice 
of the peace for many years, was a wise, 
just, honorable magistrate and stood high 
in the community. He was the only one 
in the community that would make the 
drawings and carve out to make a perfect 
fit the large wooden cider press screws used 
in those early days. This was a source of 
considerable income. He finally taught his 
son Charles to do this work. 

He married Patty (Martha) Alderman, 
a cousin, who died October 2, 1853, aged 
sixty-six years. Their children, all born in 
East Granby, were : Clydon, see following 
paragraph ; Erving, born in 1813, died Sep- 
tember 28, 1838; Charles, born in 1820, 
died April 15, 1862, aged forty-two; Har- 
ry, born in 1823, died October 11, 1849; 
Isabella, born in 1826, died February 5, 
1846. Mr. and Mrs. Alderman were mem- 
bers of the Episcopal church of North 
Bloomfield, known as Scotland, and are 
buried in the cemetery opposite the church. 

Clydon Alderman, son of Oliver and Pat- 
ty (Alderman) Alderman, was born in 
East Granby, Connecticut, 181 2, and died 
there April 17, 1848, aged thirty-seven. He 
learned the trade of v^heelwright and later 
established a combined blacksmith and 
wheelwright shop. He was a man of fine 
mechanical ability, very industrious, a use- 
ful citizen, whose life ended in its prime. 
He was an Episcopalian in religion, and a 
Democrat in politics. He married, Novem- 
ber 25, 1837, Mary Ann Hatch, and they 
were the parents of three children: Fran- 



ces A. ; Isabella G., who died in childhood; 
Eugene Clydon (2), of further mention. 

Mary Ann (Hatch) Alderman was a 
daughter of Lucius Hatch, granddaughter 
of Major Timothy Hatch, and great-grand- 
daughter of Captain Zephaniah Hatch, a 
grandson of Captain Joseph Hatch, a sol- 
dier of King Phillip's War, who settled in 
Tolland, Connecticut, son of Jonathan 
Hatch, a pioneer in the march of civiliza- 
tion, son of Thomas Hatch, of Plymouth 
Colony, one of the nine men who in 1638 
proposed "To take up their freedom at 
Yarmouth." Captain Zephaniah Hatch was 
of Guilford, Connecticut, and in 1745 mar- 
ried Johanna, daughter of Josiah and Han- 
nah Chittenden. They were the parents of 
a family of fifteen. 

Major Timothy Hatch, son of Captain 
Zephaniah Hatch, was born in Oxford, 
Connecticut, in 1757, died June 10, 1838. 
He entered the army at the beginning of the 
Revolution, and at the battle of White 
Plains was captured and confined in the 
Bridewell prison in New York and was not 
exchanged until the war ended. He was 
created a major of militia and at the time 
of the "Shay Rebellion" was called out for 
its suppression. He married (first) Luenta 
Rockwell, (second) Lucy Bassett, (third) 
a widow, Mrs. Dantforth. 

Louis Hatch, son of Major Timothy Hatch 
and his first wife, Luenta ( Rockwell) 
Hatch, was born October 14, 1785, in Blan- 
ford, Massachusetts. He was the father of 
four children by his first wife, among whom 
were : Susan, the eldest ; Mary Ann, born 
in Norwich, Connecticut, October 15, 181 5, 
died September 18, 1849, ^g^d thirty-four; 
she married, November 25, 1837, Clydon 
Alderman. 

Eugene Clydon Alderman, only son of 
Clydon and Mary Ann (Hatch) Alderman, 
was born in East Granby, Connecticut, 
March 18, 1840, and died at his home, cor- 
ner Pearl and Lincoln streets, Holyoke, 



156 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Massachusetts, June 3, 191 5, his death re- 
sulting from a fall from an apple tree he 
was trimming. Previous to his fall he was 
in perfect health. When he was eight years 
of age his father died and he was taken into 
the home of his grandfather, Oliver Al- 
derman. Upon the completion of his stud- 
ies he learned the trade of carpenter, and 
after completing his apprenticeship at the 
carpenter's trade he left East Granby, and 
in 1 86 1, when war broke out between the 
states, he was employed at his trade in the 
State of California. He returned home in 
order to enlist from his native State, enter- 
ing the army in 1862 as a private in the 
Twenty-fifth Regiment, Connecticut Vol- 
unteer Infantry, which regiment was as- 
signed to the Army of the West and fought 
with General Banks from "Cairo to the 
Gulf." Mr. Alderman was an active par- 
ticipant in some of the fiercest fighting of 
that campaign, particularly around Fort 
Hudson and Vicksburg, the Twenty-fifth at 
one time being under fire forty-four con- 
secutive days. The regiment was later de- 
tailed to rid the section of guerillas and 
during this skirmish he was wounded on the 
head. He was made sergeant after a short 
time in service and was discharged as such. 
He enlisted for nine months, but served 
fourteen months, then re-enlisted but was 
rejected on account of ill health at the time. 
After his return from the army, Mr. Al- 
derman resumed his trade, and in 1879 took 
up his residence in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
where he enteerd the employ of the Hol- 
yoke Water Power Company as carpenter, 
and was employed by that company for 
thirty-one years, retiring in 1910, and the 
following five years were passed in happy 
contentment, rejoicing in the prominent place 
his sons had won in the business world, 
happy in the love of his grandchildren, of 
whom he had nineteen, and very proud of 
the fact that he had two great-grandchil- 
dren. In religious faith Mr. Alderman 



was an Episcopalian and in political faith 
a Republican. He had been a member of 
the Masonic order for forty-seven years, 
having been made a Mason in Evening Star 
Lodge, Unionville, Connecticut, in 1868. 
After his removal to Holyoke he joined Mt. 
Tom Lodge. He was a member of Kilpat- 
rick Post, Grand Army of the Republic, an 
order in which he took a deep interest. He 
rarely missed a reunion of his old regiment, 
and was never more pleased than when 
meeting with his comrades and around the 
camp fires living again the days of battle 
and bivouac. 

Mr. Alderman married, January 22, i860, 
Ellen E. Holmes, born in Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, January 15, 1842, daughter of 
Robert and Eliza (Barrett) Holmes, of 
East Granby, Connecticut. Their married 
life extended over a period of fifty-five 
years, they celebrating their golden wed- 
ding anniversary, January 22, 1910, in the 
same year that Mr. Alderman retired from 
active pursuits. 

FATHER AND MOTHER'S GOLDEN 
ANNIVERSARY. 



HOLYOKE, MASS., JAN. 22, I9IO. 



Eighteen hundred and sixty, 

On January twenty-second, 
It makes an even fifty years, 

Unless I wrongly reckon. 

That Gene put on his Sunday clothes, 
Hitched Old Bill in the double sleigh, 

Drove down to fair Ellen's home, 
About three miles away. 

"Unless you're going to change your mind, 

This is our wedding day ; 
We'll go to Parson Vinton's," 

Coy Gene was heard to say. 

"Arrangements are all quite complete. 

Two witnesses we must have ; 
We'll stop and get your Cousin Lib 

And then your brother Dave." 



157 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The Parson welcomed in the group 

And singled out the pair; 
Proceeded thus to tie the knot 

Which made bashful Dave declare — 

"Mr. Parson, there is some mistake," 

And shook his curly head, 
"Lib and I are not the ones, 

But Nell and Gene instead." 

The parson bowed with humble grace 

And said, "I do declare; 
I 'sposed of course you were the ones. 

Not this other youthful pair." 

And then he quickly tied the knot, 
Pronounced them man and wife, 

Offered prayer and his best wish 
For a long and happy life. 

Two happy years went quickly by, 

And sad the day indeed — 
War was declared, the call for men, 

Dad felt the country's need. 

And ere he was called to the front 

A message came from D. : 
"A little boy arrived last night 

And they call him Geo. P. B." 

In eighteen hundred sixty-five, 

A pleasant Easter morn, 
The country mourning Lincoln's death, 

'Twas then that I was born. 

In four years more O. C. arrived. 

One cold November day ; 
We all felt sure as we heard him cry 

That he had come to stay. 

One day in eighteen seventy-four 

Dad called us with a grin, 
"Don't make a noise, but come in still, 

We've got a little Hen." 

We all looked round to see a chick. 

Or something that could fly, 
But looked around in blank surprise 

When we heard a baby cry. 

It seemed to us that girls were scarce, 

None ever came our way 
'Till three years later Nell arrived. 

Late one September day. 

And when 'twas seen how pleased we were 
With the one girl which we had, 



Within another space of time 
They sent us sister Cad. 

We were all such husky kids 

That nothing else would do, 
But there must be another boy. 

So 'long came "Gene the Two." 

And when the last small baby came — 

Now this — it is no bluff — 
We all said, "Let's call her Mae," 

And Mother said, 'Enough." 

We've journeyed on through all these years. 
Through fair and stormy weather; 

Whate'er the joys or burdens were. 
We've borne them all together. 

A greater blessing would we ask? 

We all will answer. Nay." 
Than this : Our lives have all been spared 

To celebrate this day. 

The Oliver Wendell Holmes strain, 
Through C. E. A. 

You know those fellow Alderman 

What's live on fifty Pearl? 
He's got one wife and five big boy 

And three school teacher girl. 

He's goin' git marry fifty year 

On Jan'ry twenty-two. 
If I have time, I'm jes' go down 

And tole him "How you do?" 

I'm get some invitation? 

No, but all he's friend can go, 
Whats know the old folks and the kids. 

The ole man tole me so. 

I'm tink I'm lak to see those kid 

Whats grow for fifty year; 
The ole man lak to have me come, 

I live by him so near. 

The ole man say he feed those kid 

On stuff whats new to me ; 
Sometimes extract white birch, 

An some time apple tree. 

The Mother, she's good on the cook, 

Make pies and cookie thick. 
And big wide frosting on some cake. 

What's never make you sick. 



158 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



And if you lak to see those folks, 

I'm sure your glad you go. 
Go in an' ax 'em, "How you do?" 

And say I tole you so. 

We're glad they stay here for so long, 

And stay long as they can ; 
And if they're here in fifty years, 

We'll all come roun' again. 

C. E. A. 

Ellen E. (Holmes) Alderman, wife of 
Eugene Clydon Alderman, is a daughter 
of Robert Holmes, and a granddaughter of 
Robert Holmes, the latter born in Donegal 
county, Ireland. He came to the United 
States in 1838 and settled in Tariffville, 
Connecticut, where he died in June, 1857, 
aged eighty-three. He married Delilah 
Holmes, who died March 22, 1867. Their 
children were four sons, William, James, 
Robert and David (2), and three daughters, 
Rebecca, Elizabeth and Jane. Rebecca, mar- 
ried William Remington, of Suflield, Con- 
necticut ; Elizabeth, married Oliver Pome- 
roy, of Suffield, Connecticut. Jane, married 
Appleton Burnett, of Suffield, Connecticut. 

Robert (2) Holmes was born in Done- 
gal county, Ireland, in 1820, and died in 
East Granby, Connecticut, February 13, 
1858, at the age of thirty-eight years. He 
came to the United States with his parents 
in 1838, and for a time was employed in a 
carpet mill at Tarififville, Connecticut. La- 
ter, for several years, was proprietor of a 
hotel. He married Eliza Barrett, daughter 
of Henry and Sophia (Fenton) Barrett, 
born in Connecticut, November 14, 181 5, 
who survived him and married (second) 
Alexander Pattison, who served in Com- 
pany E, Twenty-fifth Regiment during the 
war, and who died at Andover, Connecticut, 
January 23, 1897. She died in Andover, 
Connecticut, April 15, 1891, at the age of 
seventy-six. Robert (2) and Eliza (Bar- 
rett) Holmes were the parents of David, 
Charles E., and of Ellen E., who married 
and is now (1917) the widow of Eugene 



Clydon Alderman. The Holmes burial place 
is at Tariffville, Connecticut. 

Mrs. Alderman survives her husband and 
is now (1917) living at her old home with 
her daughter Carrie who is a teacher in the 
Elm Street Public School. Mr. and Mrs. 
Eugene C. Alderman were the parents of 
eight children, all of whom are now living 
— seven of them in Holyoke and one in 
Springfield, Massachusetts. They are as 
follows : 

I. George Perkins Bissell Alderman, born 
in East Granby, Connecticut, September 20, 
1862; attended school in East Granby, Con- 
necticut ; the family moved to Plainville, 
Connecticut, where he attended school one 
year, and entered the employ of H. D. 
Frost, who was proprietor of a country 
store at Plainville. In 1879 ^^ moved with 
his parents to Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
where he was employed with his father and 
learned the carpenter's trade ; he com- 
menced the study of architecture in the of- 
fice of James A. Clough, Architect, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, and later was em- 
ployed in the architectural office of Cass 
Chapman, architect, of Chicago, Illinois. He 
returned to Holyoke, and in 1885 opened 
an office, and at the present time (1917) is 
located in the Mills-Alderman Building, No. 
316 High street, in the same line of busi- 
ness, under the firm name of George P. B. 
Alderman & Company, Henry H. Alder- 
man having been admitted to the firm. He 
is a director of the Hadley Falls Trust 
Company, one of the trustees of the Peo- 
ple's Savings Bank, and a member of the 
finance committee ; he is a director and is 
vice-president of the Potter Knitting Com- 
pany of Springfield, Massachusetts, and is 
a member of the Second Baptist Church ; he 
is also a member of the Holyoke Lodge of 
Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Alderman married (first) C. Belle 
Drake, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
daughter of Ebenezer and Amelia Drake, of 



159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Newark, New Jersey. Their children, all 
born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, are : Eliza 
(Lida) Helen, born February 4, 1887 ; Mar- 
jorie, born June 11, 1889, died June 12, 
1889; Albert Drake, born August 24, 1890; 
Helen Holmes, born December 10, 1891, 
died January 12, 1907, one of the sweet- 
est souls that ever lived ; George, born 
March 20, 1895, died August 14, 1896; 
Paul, born November 5, 1896; Lesley, born 
March 11, 1901. Mr. Alderman married 
(second) Mrs. Hortense (Goslee) Bacon, 
of East Granby, Connecticut, daughter of 
Owen E. and Emma (Cowles) Goslee. 
Their children, all born in Holyoke, are : 
Hortense, born August 14, 191 1; Bissell, 
born September 19, 1912; Wayne, born Ju- 
ly 2, 1914. Eliza H. Alderman married, 
October 31, 1908, Robert Glenn Ashman, of 
Salisbury, Connecticut, at present (1917) 
manager of the Worcester Pressed Steel 
Company, of Worcester, Massachusetts. 
Their children are : Barbara Helen, born 
in Milford, Connecticut, May 10, 1914; 
Robert Glenn, Jr., born in Milford, Connec- 
ticut, July 8, 191 5. Albert D. Alderman at- 
tended the public schools of Holyoke, and 
Gushing Academy and University of Ver- 
mont. He married Madelene L. Harrigan, 
of New York City, daughter of Michael and 
Katherine (McGrath) Harrigan. He en- 
tered the employ of the Poole Dry Goods 
Company, Steiger Syndicate, of Springfield, 
to learn the dry goods business and is still 
(1917) with this firm. Their children are: 
George, born in Springfield, August 22, 
1914; Madelene, born in West Springfield, 
January 19, 1916. Paul Alderman gradu- 
ated at the Holyoke High School, and en- 
tered the employ of George P. B. Alder- 
man & Company to learn the business. He 
is a member of the Second Baptist Church. 
Lesley Alderman now (1917) junior in the 
Holyoke High School. 

2. Charles Eugene Alderman, born in 
Tariflfville, Connecticut, Easter morning. 



April 16, 1865. He attended the public 
schools of East Granby and Plainville, Con- 
necticut. He removed with his parents to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1879, and en- 
tered the employ of the Hampden Glazed 
Paper Company. He has been there for 
thirty-six years and is still (191 7) in their 
employ, the last twenty years as superinten- 
dent. He is a member of the Second Bap- 
tist Church. A member of the Mt. Tom 
Lodge of Masons, and is a past master of 
the lodge ; a companion of Mt. Holyoke 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; a Cryptic 
Mason of Mt. Holyoke Council, Royal and 
Select Masters. His interest in the Young 
Men's Christian Association dates from the 
foundation of that work in Holyoke, his 
name appearing on the original charter of 
the Association. He married, June 25, 1890, 
Jennie Louise Cook, of Constable, New 
York, daughter of Joseph S. and ]\Iartha 
(Earl) Cook. Their children are: Ger- 
trude S., born in Holyoke, September 2, 
1892; Karl Henry, born in Holyoke, July 
17, 1897; Louise, born in Holyoke, August 
21, 1904. 

3. Oliver Clydon Alderman, born in 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, November 28, 
1870; attended school in East Granby and 
Plainville, Connecticut, and Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. He left school and went to 
work in a hardware store in Holyoke. In 
1898 he with F. E. Carlisle bought out the 
Penniman Hardware Store of North Adams 
and ran it under the firm name of Alderman 
& Carlisle. In 1904 they bought out the C. 
J. Blackstone Hardware Store in Spring- 
field, ^Massachusetts, and in 1905 Alder- 
man & Carlisle dissolved partnership, Mr. 
Alderman taking the Springfield store, and 
Mr. Carlisle taking the North Adams store. 
In 1912 Mr. Alderman bought the property, 
Nos. 227-229 Worthington street, a three 
story building, and fitted the building up for 
his business and is still (1917) located 
there. He has one of the largest and most 
60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



complete stocks of goods in Western Mas- 
sachusetts. He is a member of Greylock 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of North 
Adams ; Morning Star Chapter, Royal 
Arch Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Springfield Comman- 
dery, Knights Templar, and Melha Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine ; Springfield Board of Trade, and 
of the Nyassette Club. In political faith he 
is a Republican. 

He married, June 21, 1893, Edith B. 
Stearns, of Holyoke, daughter of Willard 
W. and Mary (McBride) Stearns. Their 
children are : Willard W. S., born in Hol- 
yoke, May 8, 1897. At present (1917) a 
junior in Dartmouth College ; E. Bethia, 
born in North Adams, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 6, 1902 ; Clydon Eugene, born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, April 13, 1907; 
H. Elwood, born in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, July 24, 1908; Mary E., born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, August 25, 191 1. 

4. Henry Holcomb Alderman was born in 
East Granby, Connecticut, June 10, 1874. 
He attended school in East Granby and 
Plainville, Connecticut, and Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. After leaving school he com- 
menced work in the office of his brother, 
George P. B. Alderman, and has worked in 
that office ever since, and now (1917) has 
a half interest in the firm of George P. B. 
Alderman & Company, Architects, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. He is a member of 
the Mt. Tom and William Whiting Lodges 
of Masons ; the Springfield Commandery 
and Shrine ; the Holyoke Lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows, and the Benevolent and Protective Or- 
der of Elks and present vice-president and 
director of Rotary Club ; an attendant of the 
First Congregational Church. He married, 
June 10, 1903, Isabelle E. Patterson, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, daughter of William 
and Esther (Mooney) Patterson. Their chil- 
dren are: Henry Holcomb (2), born Jan- 
uary 16, 1905, died August i, 1906; Hol- 
MASS.— 7— n. I 



comb Patterson, born in Holyoke, Novem- 
ber 2T„ 1909; William Harris, born in Hol- 
yoke, September 20, 191 2. 

5. Ellen Isabel Alderman, born in East 
Granby, Connecticut, September 2, 1878; 
attended school in Holyoke, graduating at 
the High School and the Springfield Train- 
ing School. She taught in the Highland 
Grammar Public School. She is a member 
of the Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, Mercy Warren Chapter, of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and the Second Baptist 
Church. At present (1917) vice-president 
of Pynchon Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. She married, October 
II, 191 1, Larkin Howard Foster, of Bever- 
ly, Massachusetts, who graduated at the 
Beverly High School and Salem Commercial 
School. At present (1917) he has charge 
of the drapery department of the Poole 
Dry Goods Company of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 

6. Carrie Lull Alderman, born in Hol- 
yoke, May 20, 1880. She graduated at the 
Holyoke High School, the Westfield Nor- 
mal School, and is now (1917) a teacher 
in the Elm Street Public School of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts. She is a member of 
the Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, Mercy Warren Chapter, of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and the Second Bap- 
tist Church. 

7. Eugene Robert Alderman, born in 
Holyoke, November 20, 1882; attended the 
Holyoke public schools, and in 1897 en- 
tered the employ of the Farr Alpaca Com- 
pany, and has worked for them ever since, 
and is at present (1918), superintendent. 
He is a member of the Mt. Tom Lodge of 
Masons, and an attendant of the First Con- 
gregational Church. He married, June 
17, 1908, Emma Dickerman, of Holyoke, 
daughter of Hiram P. and Ellen (Place) 
Dickerman. Their children are : Dorothy 
Jean, born in Holyoke, April 2, 1909; Rob- 
ert Holmes, born July 8, 191 1. 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



8. Mae Eliza Alderman, born May 30, 
1885. She attended the public schools, 
graduating at the Holyoke High School, 
and the Twitchel Kindergarten School of 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and taught in 
the Holyoke schools. She is a member of 
the Daughters of the American Revolution, 
Mercy Warren Chapter, of Springlield, 
Massachusetts, and the Second Baptist 
Church. She married Joseph CoUing- 
wood, of Holyoke, Massachusetts. He 
graduated at the Holyoke High School, the 
Philadelphia Textile School, and entered 
the employ of the Farr Alpaca Company in 
1906 and has worked for them ever since, 
and at present (1917) has charge of their 
color dyeing department. 



ALDERMAN, George Brainard, 

Real Estate. 

The xA.lderman family, of which George 
Brainard Alderman, of Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, is a member, is an old one in Con- 
necticut, where it has resided for a great 
number of generations, and where Mr. Al- 
derman himself was born. 

William Alderman, the immigrant ances- 
tor of this family, settled in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, as early as 1672, afterwards re- 
moved to Simsbury, Connecticut, where his 
death occurred about 1697. Here his de- 
scendants reside at the present time, his 
original home being still in their possession. 
He married Mary Case, widow of John 
Case. 

Daniel Alderman, a grandson of Wil- 
liam Alderman, was born at Simsbury, in 
the year 1738. He afterwards removed to 
Hartford, Connecticut, where his death oc- 
curred July 18, 1790. His son, Epaphras 
Alderman, was born at Simsbury, Connec- 
ticut, December 14, 1760, and spent the 
earlier part of his life in that region. In the 
latter part of his life he removed to Gran- 
bytown, where his death occurred. He 



was an Episcopalian in religion. He mar- 
ried Chloe Hayes, of Simsbury, March 23, 

1781, when she was but nineteen years of 
age, and they were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Chloe, born May 20, 

1782, became the wife of Suman Holcomb; 
Almira, born January 26, 1784, became the 
wife of Ebenezer Holcomb ; Daniel T., 
born December 22, 1785; Cornelia, born 
February 22, 1788, became the wife of Ben- 
jamin Holcomb ; Lydia, born April 19, 
1790, became the wife of Gramson Hol- 
comb ; Harvey, mentioned below ; Sarah, 
born August 20, 1794; Harriett, born Au- 
gust 27, 1796; Norman, born September 
13, 1798; Eliza, born September 16, 1800; 
Flora, born December i, 1802; Cynthia, 
born November i, 1805; Esther, born May 
20, 1808; and Ortha, born in 1810. 

Harvey Alderman, son of Epaphras and 
Chloe (Hayes) Alderman, was born April 
22, 1792, at Simsbury, Connecticut, and died 
July 30, 1875. He married, January 19, 
1 81 3, Sally Holcomb, born July 16, 1796, 
and died December 27, 1886, at the ad- 
vanced age of ninety. They were the par- 
ents of the following children : Mary A., 
born August 20, 1813; Martha A., born 
March 13, 1815; Solomon Flagg, born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1817; Cynthia S., born April 9, 
1819; Laura, born February 3, 1821 ; Chloe 
H., born April 14, 1823 ; James H., born 
January 3, 1825 ; Allen A., born February 
5, 1827; Esther J., born April 5. 1833; 
Brainard Louis Richardson, mentioned be- 
low, and Ellen L., born August 24, 1840. 

Brainard Louis Richardson Alderman, 
youngest son of Harvey and Sally (Hol- 
comb) Alderman, and father of the George 
Brainard Alderman of this sketch, was born 
October 10, 1837, at East Granby, Connec- 
ticut. He received a common school edu- 
cation, and during his attendance at the 
local schools made a reputation as a skill- 
ful penman. After completing his educa- 
tion, he worked in a dry goods store in 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hartford, where he was employed as a 
bookkeeper. Later, however, he left this 
employment and removed to Suffield, Con- 
necticut, April I, 1866, where he has since 
devoted his attention to farming, and was 
highly successful, both in general farming 
and in raising tobacco, of which he made 
a specialty. Mr. Alderman, Sr., also en- 
gaged in the buying and selling of horses, 
which he purchased in Canada and brought 
in the United States, selling them in the lo- 
cal market. He was prominent in the gen- 
eral life of the community where he dwelt, 
and represented his district in the State 
Legislature during the year 1883. This fact 
speaks highly of his personal popularity and 
the confidence wuth which he was regarded 
by the community-at-large, as he was the 
only Democrat to hold that office up to the 
time of his election or since. During the 
latter part of his life, however, Mr. Alder- 
man became a Republican and supported 
staunchly the principles and policies of that 
party. Among other offices held by him at 
various times during his life should be men- 
tioned that of constable, also that of state 
game warden, which he held for fifteen 
years. He was a member of the school com- 
mittee for many years and was active in se- 
curing educational reforms and improve- 
ments for the region. Mr. Alderman, Sr., 
married, November 30, 1859, Elizabeth Au- 
relia Root, born October i, 1839, at Hart- 
ford, a member of an old and distinguished 
family in that region. Her death occurred 
September 16, 191 1. To INIr. and Mrs. 
Alderman the following children were born : 
Harvey, born July 7, i860; George Brain- 
ard, of further mention ; Martha Elizabeth, 
born October 7, 1865, and Uriel Samuel, 
born February 19, 1875. 

George Brainard Alderman, son of Brain- 
ard Louis Richardson and Elizabeth Au- 
relia (Root) Alderman, was born at East 
Granby, Connecticut, March 2, 1863. When 
he was but three years of age he accom- 



panied his parents to Suffield, Connecticut, 
where they made their home and where his 
childhood was spent. Here he attended the 
district school, but after completing his 
studies at this local institution he was sent 
by his father to the Connecticut Literary 
Institute at Suffield, and still later took a 
course at Williston Seminary. After at- 
tending this school the young man went 
West, making his home at Cleveland, Ohio, 
holding there for three years a position as 
conductor on the East Cleveland Railroad 
System. In 1885, however, he returned 
to the East and settled at Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. Here for a time Mr. Alderman 
was employed by Kibbe Brothers in the 
manufacture of candy, but he afterwards 
withdrew and became associated with ^lee- 
kins, Packard & Wheat, of Springfield. 
Here he remained until 1891, when he re- 
moved from Springfield, and went to live 
at Suffield, Connecticut, where he was en- 
gaged in farming for some twenty-three 
years on one farm. His farm contained 
some one hundred and fourteen acres and 
he made it one of the model farms of that 
community. During his residence at Suf- 
field, he also dealt in agricultural imple- 
ments, fertilizers, and the buying and sell- 
ing of tobacco. In this last line he met with 
a high degree of success, and was the owner 
of large tobacco warehouses at Suffield. 
Here he handled large quantities of this 
commodity, buying and packing the same. 
This tobacco was disposed of through the 
New York market. In the year 1914 Mr. 
Alderman sold out and returned to Spring- 
field and here engaged in the real estate bus- 
iness, and at the present time (1917) 
handles farm and city properties in all parts 
of New England, conducting a very large 
business in the same. Mr. Alderman, while 
residing at Suffield, was a member of the 
Village Improvement Society. He also held 
various local town offices, and after his 
father resigned from the office of state 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



game warden, he succeeded the elder man in 
that position and continued to hold it for 
fifteen years. He is now a member of the 
Springfield Board of Trade. He was one 
of those concerned with the starting of the 
Boys' Club of the First Congregational 
Church of Springfield, of which he is a 
member, which has been in existence ever 
since Dr. Burnham's time. Mr. Alderman 
is a member of Apollo Lodge, No. 59, An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons, of Suf- 
field, Connecticut ; of Washington Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; and also the Council, 
Royal and Select Masters. He is affiliated 
with the local lodge of the Knights of 
Pythias and a member of the Order of 
American Mechanics. 

George Brainard Alderman was united in 
marriage, June i, 1887, with Clara M. Shel- 
don, of West Suffield, Connecticut, a daugh- 
ter of Charles Chandler and Helen M. (Nel- 
son) Sheldon. Mr. and Mrs. Alderman are 
the parents of the following children : Ed- 
na Clara, born January 13, 1891 ; Ethel 
Sheldon, born June 10, 1895, married Lieu- 
tenant Harold Tetford, graduate of Si:f- 
field Institute and with the "New York 
Sun" for several years ; Edith May, born 
Christmas Day, 1898; and Charles Brain- 
ard, born February 2"], 1908. 

Charles Chandler Sheldon, the father of 
Mrs. Alderman, was born at Windsor, Con- 
necticut, May I, 1834. He is a member of 
one of the oldest and most distinguished 
families of the State, and for many years 
followed farming as his occupation and 
made tobacco raising his specialty. He was 
educated in the public schools of West Suf- 
field, and then attended the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute at Suffield, Connecticut, and 
finished his schooling at Williston Sem- 
inary, Easthampton, Massachusetts. He 
remained on the home farm, assisting his 
father, until he reached the age of twen- 
ty-five years, at which time he was given 
charge of the farm. Since then he has pur- 



chased a farm of one hundred and sixty- 
five acres, and has been engaged in the rais- 
ing of tobacco and general farming and 
there has erected a fine residence. Mr. Shel- 
don is a Democrat and has held the offices 
of selectman of his town, assessor, member 
of the Board of Relief and justice of the 
peace. 

Mr. Sheldon was united in marriage, De- 
cember 15, 1858, with Helen M. Nelson, a 
native of Suffield, daughter of Horatio King 
Nelson, and a sister of Clinton H. Nelson. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Sheldon the following 
children have been born: i. Emma H., 
born December 30, 1859, educated in the 
public schools and the Connecticut Literary 
Institute at Suffield, Connecticut, where she 
afterwards taught school ; she married Nel- 
son Talmage, of East Granby, April 6, 1898. 
2. George Allen, born March 9, 1862 ; mar- 
ried Olive Root, a daughter of Francis 
Root, and is the father of four children : 
Howard Root, born April 27, 1898; Ruth, 
Helen, and Charles ; is now farming on the 
old homestead. 3. Clara Martha, born Au- 
gust 8, 1864; married, June i, 1887, 
George B. Alderman, as aforementioned. 



MARBLE, Jerome, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

The Marble family, represented in the 
present generation by Nella Marble, daugh- 
ter of the late Jerome Marble, is said to be 
of Scottish origin. The first ancestor of 
whom we have any information was Free- 
grace Marble, who was one of the early 
settlers of Sutton, Massachusetts, coming 
to that place early in the eighteenth century 
from Essex county. He married and was 
the father of three sons, Samuel, Enoch and 
Malachi. 

Enoch Marble, second son of Freegrace 
Marble, was born in Sutton, Massachusetts, 
was there educated in the district school, 
spent his active years in useful pursuits, and 



164 








^^--^2^ €y i^-z^^ 



^^^^Z^^-(^Q^ 






t 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died at a very advanced age in the year 
1814, leaving as a heritage to his descend- 
ants an honored name. By his wife, Abi- 
gail Marble, he had eleven children, eight 
sons and three daughters, and his grandchil- 
dren numbered more than a hundred. 

Thaddeus Marble, son of Enoch and Ab- 
igail Marble, was born in Sutton, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1758, and his death occurred in 
Charlton, Massachusetts, in 181 7, at the 
age of fifty-nine. In Charlton he engaged 
in the manufacture of scythes, and also 
in connection with his brother, Aaron Mar- 
ble, owned and operated a grist mill, both 
of which enterprises proved remunerative, 
the result of careful management, cease- 
less effort and prudent judgment. He was 
public-spirited and patriotic, proving the 
latter characteristic by serving in the Revo- 
lutionary War. He married, in 1784, Olive 
Putnam, of Sutton, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of John Putnam. She survived her hus- 
band twenty-five years, her death occurring 
in 1842, aged seventy-five years. They 
were the parents of six children, among 
whom was John Putnam, through whom 
the line is descended. 

John Putnam Marble, son of Thaddeus 
and Olive (Putnam) Marble, was born in 
Charlton, Massachusetts, October i, 1802, 
and died January 23, 1901. He resided at 
the parental home until the age of twenty- 
five, when he succeeded his father-in-law, 
William P. Ryder, of Charlton, in business. 
In 1828 he also assumed the management of 
a hotel in Charlton, which was a profitable 
undertaking, and in 1843 ^^ started to make 
trips to the West, selling boots and shoes at 
wholesale in the southern and central parts 
of Michigan. His son, Jerome Marble, at- 
tended to the management of the store in 
Charlton during his four months' absence 
each year, the elder Mr. Marble continuing 
in the above named line until i860, a period 
of seventeen years. In 1853 ^^ ^^^o ^^'^~ 
barked in the buying and selling of flour at 



Dexter, Michigan, in partnership with 
another man; his partner died in i860, and 
Mr. Marble continued the business on his 
own account for the following five years, 
then disposed of the same, and thereafter 
lived practically retired, enjoying the fruit 
of his many years of toil. From attaining 
his majority until 1840, Mr. Marble gave 
his allegiance to the Democratic party, and 
thenceforth until his death voted for the 
candidates of the Republican party, in 
which organization he took an active inter- 
est. In 1 841 he represented the Worcester 
district in the Legislature, being elected by 
a majority of three hundred and forty-four 
votes over the Whig candidate. The first 
vote he cast in the Legislature was in favor 
of the proposition that amalgamation, or the 
marriage of blacks and whites, was a crime, 
and the offspring were illegitimate. He al- 
so voted in favor of straightening the Bos- 
ton & Albany Railroad, which was at that 
time owned by the State. He was a mem- 
ber of the Universalist church. Mr. Mar- 
ble married, November 30, 1823, Ruth Ann 
Ryder, of Charlton, who was born June 30, 
1806, and died December 14, 1883. They 
were the parents of two children : Jerome, 
of whom further ; and William T., who 
died December 4, 1852, being then a student 
in Leicester Academy, preparing for col- 
lege. 

Jerome ]\Iarble, eldest son of John Put- 
nam and Ruth Ann (Ryder) IMarble, was 
born in Charlton, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 10, 1824, and died February 14, 1906. 
He attended the district school, and the 
knowledge there received was supplemented 
by attendance at Leicester Academy. At 
the age of eighteen he began his active ca- 
reer by entering his father's store in Charl- 
ton, in which he had previously worked 
during his school vacations. Later he went 
to Boston, Massachusetts, and for two 
years was employed in the paint and oil 
store of Randall & Bacheller, but at the ex- 



165 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



piration of that period of time returned to 
Charlton, his native town, and continued 
in the general merchandise business for the 
following four years. He then disposed 
of his business, and removed to Worcester, 
Massachusetts, where he engaged in busi- 
ness as a wholesale and retail dealer in 
drugs, paints, oils, etc. For ten years, from 
1853 to 1863, he was a member of the firm 
of C. A. Harrington & Company, but upon 
the retirement of Mr. Harrington in 1863 
the firm name became Jerome Marble & 
Company. The firm operated two stores, 
the principal one at No. 440 Main street, 
Worcester, and a wholesale department at 
No. 42 Pearl street, Boston. Their trade 
extended over the New England States, 
New York and Pennsylvania, and from 
eight to ten travelling agents were employ- 
ed. Mr. Marble also travelled extensively, 
principally in the West and throughout the 
State of California. He was a staunch 
adherent of the principles of Republican- 
ism, and for one year filled the office of al- 
derman, but he preferred to devote his time 
to his business interests. He was an at- 
tendant of the Universalist church, and in 
all respects an exemplary citizen, perform- 
ing well his part in community affairs. 

Mr. Marble married (first) in 1849, Su- 
san E. Blanchard, of Charlton, Massachu- 
setts, who died in 1881, aged fifty-three, 
leaving two daughters : Nella, who resides 
in the old homestead at No. 23 Harvard 
street, Worcester, and Olive, who became 
the wife of Frederick W. Bailey, of New 
Haven, Connecticut, and the mother of four 
children: John Marble, Nella M., Fred- 
eric Starr and Francis Howarth. Mr. Mar- 
ble married (second) in 1882, Abbie E. 
Redding, of Worcester, daughter of John 
Redding, of Sturbridge. 



SHUMWAY, Austin Lyman, 
Mercliant. 

The life of Austin Lyman Shumway, one 
of the leading merchants of Holyoke, is one 
full of a useful lesson, well worthy of emu- 
lation by young men, who would learn the 
way to success. He made his way from 
boyhood with little help, accumulated capital 
for his mercantile venture from his own 
earnings, and rose to a commanding posi- 
tion in the business life of Holyoke. He 
was upright and honorable in all things, 
and respected by all who knew him. 

The Shumways are of French descent, 
the name said by some writers to have been 
Charmois or Chamois. The family in New 
England begins with Peter Shumway, who 
came from England as early as 1650, when 
he settled in Topsfield, Massachusetts. He 
fought with the Massachusetts Troop at the 
Great Swamp Fight, December 19, 1675, 
and on account of his service during King 
Philip's War his son petitioned later for a 
land grant. He resided at Salem Village, 
now Danvers, prior to his removal to Ox- 
ford. By his wife Frances he had sons, 
Peter and Joseph ; also a daughter, Dorcas, 
born in Topsfield, October 16, 1683, who 
married Valentine Butler. The line of 
descent from Peter and Frances Shumway 
to Austin L. Shumway is through their eld- 
est son, Peter (2). 

Peter (2) Shumway was born in Tops- 
field, Massachusetts, June 6, 1678. Al- 
though not an original settler of Oxford, he 
early settled there purchasing the land right 
of Joshua Chandler, January 13, 1713. He 
married (first) February 11, 1701, Maria 
Smith, who died January 17, 1739. He 
married (second) February 28, 1740, Mary 
Dana. His nine children by his first wife 
were born in Oxford : Oliver, Jeremiah, 



166 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



David, of further mention ; Mary, Samuel, 
John, Jacob, Hepzibah, Amos. 

David Shumvvay, third son of Peter (2) 
Shumway, was born in Oxford, but was 
baptized in Topsfield, December 2;^, 1705. 
He resided in Oxford until December, 
1733, when he bought a one-fiftieth share 
of the land in Sturbridge, and became one 
of the pioneer settlers there. He married 

(first) Esther , they were the parents of 

Esther, Asa, Mary, David, and Solomon, of 
further mention. He married (second) 

Alice , their children: Cyril, Elijah, 

Alice, Abigail, Lavina, Chloe, Jemima, 
Dantforth. 

Solomon Shumway, youngest child of 
David Shumway and his first wife,was born 
in Sturbridge, April i, 1745. He moved 
early in life to Belchertown, Massachusetts, 
where he married and became the progeni- 
tor of a numerous family, many of the name 
yet being found in that section. Among 
these was Elihu Shumway, who for many 
years was a resident of Belchertown, and 
there married Charlotte Crittenden. The 
youngest of their seven children was Aus- 
tin L. Shumway, to whose memory this 
review is dedicated. 

Austin L. Shumway, of the sixth Ameri- 
can generation of his family, was born in 
Belchertown, September 13, 1832, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, March 23, 1901. 
He attended public school for a few years, 
but while still a boy he began making his 
own way in the world, his education being 
acquired through self study, reading and 
actual experience. That he was very in- 
telligent and capable is proved by the fact 
that he held clerkships in Enfield and other 
places, commanding sufficient salary from 
which he saved capital enough to enable 
him to start a store of his own. He chose 
Holyoke as the locality in which to make 
his venture and dry goods as his main line. 
He continued in this line of activity in Hol- 
yoke for about thirty-five years, becoming 



one of the substantial, successful merchants 
of the city. His business grew in size and 
importance with the years, and he con- 
tinued its capable head until he retired in 
1886. He then entered the real estate busi- 
ness and continued in this until his death at 
the age of sixty-nine. He was wholly ab- 
sorbed in his business but not selfishly, en- 
joying the society of his fellowmen in fra- 
ternity and church. He belonged to lodge, 
chapter, council and commandery of the 
Masonic order, and was an attendant of the 
Congregational church, and in politics a Re- 
publican. 

Mr. Shumway married, October 25, 1859, 
Louise F. Richards, born April 21, 1838, 
who survives him, yet residing in Holyoke. 
Mr. and Mrs. Shumway are the parents of 
nine sons and daughters : Edward A., 
born July 22, 1861, died March 24, 1863; 
Arthur R., born January 16, 1864, died in 
1872 ; Mary L., born August 28, 1865, mar- 
ried George S. Parsons, and has a daughter, 
Mary Louise, born July 25, 1900; Char- 
lotte, born March 24, 1867, died in 1868; 
Sarah, born January 15, 1869, married A. 
K. Sibley, of Warren, Massachusetts, re- 
sides in Brookline, Massachusetts, has a 
daughter, Priscilla, born December 13, 
1905 ; William R., born April 20, 1873, 
married Mary Eraser; Charles, born July 
26, 1875, died the same year ; Robert, born 
August 16, 1876, married Adelina Ritter, 
and has children: Helen E., born April 16, 
1903, and Frank Ritter, born March 27, 
1906; Priscilla, born June 24, 1881, a grad- 
uate of Mt. Holyoke College, class of 1905, 
married Harry S. Scott, who is associated 
with the Farr Alpaca Company. 

(The Richards Line). 

Mrs. Louise F. (Richards) Shumway is 
a descendant of William Richards, who by 
his will, dated January 18, 1680, proved 
July 25, 1682, gave to his widow Grace, 
during her life or widowhood, the income 



167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and improvement of "All my houseing and 
outhouseing, orchard, lands, chattels, and 
moveables, in Weymouth or elsewhere with 
power in case of need to sell any part there- 
of for her comfortable subsistence." Wil- 
liam and Grace Richards were the parents 
of five sons, the line being continued 
through his son, Joseph Richards, born 
either in Plymouth or Scituate, Massachu- 
setts, died in Weymouth, in 1695. He mar- 
ried (first) Susan , (second) Sarah 

, she surviving him and was execu- 



trix of his will. The line is continued 
through their son, Benjamin Richards, born 
in Weymouth, Massachusetts, April 7, 1686, 
died April 12, 1741. He married (first) in 
171 1, Mehetible Allen, who died in 1720, 
daughter of Isaac Alden, a descendant of 
John and Priscilla Alden of the "May- 
flower." He married (second) November 
20, 1722, Lydia Faxon, who died in 1788, 
aged ninety-two years. The line is con- 
tinued through their son, John Richards, 
born in West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, 
in 1723. He married, in 185 1, Keziah, 
daughter of Captain Israel Bailey, of Scit- 
uate. The line is continued through their 
son, James Richards, born in Bridgewater, 
in 1766. He married, in 1796, Sarah Rich, 
daughter of Deacon Ebenezer Rich. The 
line is continued through their son, James 
(2) Richards, born at Enfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 20, 1801, and there died Feb- 
ruary 16, 1886. He was educated in the 
district school, and spent his minor years 
on his father's farm, as his assistant. In 
1822 he purchased this farm and there resid- 
ed until death. He was a successful farmer 
and business man, influential in his com- 
munity, and highly esteemed. In political 
faith he was a Whig, in religious belief a 
Universalist. Mr. Richards married, Au- 
gust 2^, 1822, Priscilla C. Newcomb, born 
December 3, 1800, died November i, 1881, 
daughter of Elisha and Rachael (Collins) 
Newcomb. Mr. and Mrs. Richards were 



the parents of nine sons and daughters : Ma- 
ria F., born March i, 1823; Charles, No- 
vember 18, 1824; William, October 27, 
1826; George, January 27, 1829; Jane, 
May 25, 183 1 ; John, October i, 1833 ; Mary, 
March 7, 1836; Louise F., April 21, 1838, 
married, October 25, 1859, Austin L. Shum- 
way, whom she survives ; Marshall N., No- 
vember 26, 1840. 



STRICKLAND, Lucius Wilber, 

Electrical Engineer of Holyoke. 

The Strickland preference in this branch 
has been for the soil, but Lucius W^ Strick- 
land has departed from family tradition, 
and as an electrical engineer has won hon- 
orable position. 

Peter Strickland, ancestor of Lucius W. 
Strickland, served in the Revolutionary 
War, participating in the battle of New 
London. After the close of the war he re- 
moved to Otis, Massachusetts, and pur- 
chased six hundred acres of land, upon 
which he erected a house, and a portion of 
his land is now in Sandisfield. In that town 
his death occurred, and his remains were in- 
terred in North East Plains Cemetery, Sand- 
isfield. His son, Daniel Strickland, born 
1773, was eight years old at the time of 
the burning of New London by Benedict 
Arnold, in 1 781, and he and his mother wit- 
nessed the conflagration from a hill outside 
the city. Daniel Strickland resided with 
his father until he was eighteen years old, 
then erected a log cabin on the portion of 
the original tract which was in Otis, and 
there spent his life, his death occurring 
there and he was buried in Otis Center 
Cemetery. By his first marriage he was 
the father of nine children, five of whom, 
all born in the log cabin, are as 
follows : Laura, Whiting, Amelia, Lu- 
cinda and Clarissa. He married (sec- 
ond) Esther Case, who bore him four 
children, all born in the house where Lucius 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



W. Strickland, of this review, was born 
and which is still (1918) standing in good 
condition, namely : Hiram Curtis, of whom 
further ; Cornelia, Anna and Philo. 

Hiram Curtis Strickland, son of Daniel 
and Esther (Case) Strickland, was born 
in Otis, Massachusetts, in 1817, and 
all his life resided on a two hundred 
acre portion of the old homestead, 
which had been divided and sold. He 
engaged in general farming and stock 
raising, and was prosperous in his un- 
dertaking. He married Mary Curtis, 
and they were the parents of three chil- 
dren: Edmund Hiram, a prominent citi- 
zen of Sandisfield, Massachusetts ; Wilber 
Leroy, of further mention; and Giles Pe- 
ter. 

Wilber Leroy Strickland, son of Hiram 
Curtis and Mary (Curtis) Strickland, was 
born at the homestead in Otis, Massachu- 
setts, December 13, 1847, ^^^ died there 
June 13, 1913. He obtained a good edu- 
cation and devoted his youth to farm and 
school labor. He completed his studies with 
graduation from Westfield Normal School, 
and at the same time renounced farming as 
an occupation. For a number of years he 
taught school in different places, then aban- 
doned his profession and returned to the 
farm homestead in Otis. There he spent the 
remainder of his life, a successful farmer 
of the homestead acres, and a good citizen. 
His education gave him prominence, and 
as selectman and school director he had a 
leading part in town government, his ser- 
vice also including terms as road commis- 
sioner and on jury duty grand and petit. 
He was a Democrat politically, was staunch 
and true, shirking no duty, public or pri- 
vate, and aiding in all good works. His 
untimely death in the full vigor of life, the 
result of an accident with his horses, was 
deeply regretted by the entire community in 
which he lived. Wilber L. Strickland mar- 
ried Celina B. White, born April 13, 1853, 



at Feeding Hills, town of Agawam, Mas- 
sachusetts, died April 14, 191 1, daughter 
of Daniel Hiram and Celina (Bills) White. 
Mr. and Mrs. Strickland were the parents 
of two sons : Lucius Wilber, of further 
mention ; Edwin White, born October 4, 
1885, now residing upon and cultivating the 
old homestead acres at Otis, he the fourth 
Strickland to own and till them. He mar- 
ried (first) Lena Snow; (second) Ber- 
nice Carter, they the parents of a son, Louis 
Edwin Strickland. 

Lucius Wilber Strickland, eldest son of 
Wilber Leroy and Celina B. (White) 
Strickland, was born at the Strickland 
homestead in Otis, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 29, 1879, and there spent his youth. 
After completing the district public school 
courses he attended Springfield High 
School, supplementing his study there by a 
course at a business college in Springfield. 
From student to teacher was a quick tran- 
sition, but after two years as a pedagogue 
he retired and entered the employ of the 
Westfield Electric Light Company at their 
power house in Westfield, and there con- 
tinued for five years, 1901-1906. During 
the period he entered for he completed the 
electrical and mechanical engineering course 
with the International Correspondence 
School of Scranton, fitting himself for ad- 
vanced position, both in theory and prac- 
tice. From the Electric Light Company he 
went to the street railway power house, as 
operating engineer, there remaining one 
year. He came to the city of Holyoke in 
1907, entering the employ of the city as 
operating engineer at the Municipal Light- 
ing Plant. He remained three years in that 
position, then went with the Farr Alpaca 
Company as chief electrical engineer of 
their great Holyoke plant, a position he 
now occupies. Mr. Strickland is a member 
of the National Association of Stationary 
Engineers ; Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, of Holyoke ; Oronoco 



169 



EXXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR.'\PHY 



Lodge, Xo. 74, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, of Westfield, Z^Iassachusetts ; is 
a Republican in politics ; and a Congre- 
gationalist in religious preference. 

Mr. Strickland married, October 29, 
1905, Elizabeth Jean Herrick, born in West- 
field, daughter of Hayden and Esther 
(Donaldson) Herrick, who were the par- 
ents of five other children : Harriet, Ada, 
Charles, George and Joseph. Hayden Her- 
rick was born December 18, 1838, and died 
March 13. 1913. He was a whip maker, a 
veteran of the Civil War, and spent his 
life in Westfield. His wife, Esther (Don- 
aldson) Herrick, was born February i, 
1846. Rufus Herrick, father of Hayden 
Herrick, was born in Danby, Vermont, 
March 27, 1816, and died in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 21, 1871. He invented 
machines that were of great value to the 
whip makers, and was himself for many 
years engaged in the manufacture of whips. 
He married Sophia Drake, born March i, 
1817, and died April 9, 1913. They were 
the parents of six children : Hayden, afore- 
mentioned ; Harriet ; Homer ; Mary, be- 
came the wife of Frank Alby ; Byron, died 
in infancy ; John. 



SMITH, Edwin Sawtell. 

Representative Citizen. 

Edwin Sawtell Smith, secretary of the 
American Writing Paper Company in Hol- 
yoke, is a son of Horace Cicero Smith, a 
native son of New York, born in Herkimer 
county, where his father, Cicero Smith, was 
a farmer before going to Suffield. Connec- 
ticut, where he died in 1874, aged seventy- 
three years. He married Mar}- Austin, of 
Suffield, Connecticut, who died in 1887, 
aged eighty-two years. Cicero and Mary 
(Austin) Smith were the parents of the 
following children: Horace Cicero, of 
further mention: Jane C, Frank, Mary, 
married David French ; Emma. After their 



marriage Cicero Smith and his wife moved 
to Columbia, Herkimer county, New York, 
and there Horace Cicero Smith, their eldest 
child was born, September 30, 1835, and 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, April 
21, 1909. He remained in Columbia until 
eighteen years of age, obtaining a good ed- 
ucation in the public schools and assisting 
in cultivating the home farm. In 1853 he 
left Columbia and went to Suffield, Con- 
necticut, his mother's girlhood home, and 
there was employed by her brother, his 
uncle, Cornelius Austin, a nurseryman. He 
continued with his uncle and thoroughly 
mastered the nursery business, but paid 
particular attention to plants, shrubs and 
flowers. Finally he left his uncle's employ 
and started in business for himself as a flor- 
ist, growing his own plants and flowers 
very successfully. He later closed out his 
business in Suffield, and came to Massachu- 
setts, locating in Springfield, v^here, as mar- 
ket and floral gardener, he ended his use- 
ful and busy life. He loved his flowers 
and his home, and could always be found 
either working in his gardens or enjoying 
the comforts of his home, neither politics 
nor fraternities having any allurement for 
him. He was a member of the Baptist 
church, lived an honorable, upright life, 
but one passed in the quiet, peaceful man- 
ner described, and all who knew him were 
his friends. 

Horace C. Smith married (first) Emily 
Austin, they were the parents of a daughter,. 
Ellen, deceased, and a son, Charles H., 
of Springfield. He married (second) Sep- 
tember II, 1873, Adelia Eleanor Sawtell, 
born in Baltimore, Maryland, September 12, 
1841, daughter of Edwin and Mary Jane 
(Palmer) Sawtell, her father born in Low- 
ell, Massachusetts, son of Josiah and Re- 
becca (Manning) Sawtell, of Pelham, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Smith were the 
parents of four sons: i. Frank Sawtell, 
bom January 20, 1875, married Grace L, 
70 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Prout, and has children. ?Torace, Mildred, 
and Frank ; resides in Suffield, Connecticut. 
2. Edwin Sawtell, of further mention. 3. 
Herbert E., born January 2, 1879, married 
Harriet M. White, and has children: 
Gladys, Grace, Carl, Gertrude, Madeline ; 
resides in Springfield. 4. Harold Palmer, 
born May 30, 1880 ; resides in Cleveland, 
Ohio. 

Edwin Sawtell Smith, second son of Hor- 
ace C. and Adelia Eleanor (Sawtell) 
Smith, was born in Suffield, Connecticut, 
February 10, 1876, but while young his 
parents moved to Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, where he was educated in the graded 
and high schools of the city. He began bus- 
iness life in 1897, becoming in that year 
bookkeeper in the Third National Bank of 
Springfield. He continued with this bank 
for nine years in constantly improved po- 
sition, his connection with that institution 
being most satisfactory to the management. 
In 1916 he was elected secretary of the 
American Writing Paper Company of Hol- 
yoke, and has since resided in that city, 
holding that position. 

Mr. Smith married, June 27, 1899, Ethel 
Margaret Atwood, formerly of Westfield, 
Massachusetts, then of Springfield, daugh- 
ter of Arthur D. and Florence (Hastings) 
Atwood. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are the 
parents of a daughter, Doris Hastings, born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, June 25, 
1901. 



HURLBURT, Albert Francis, 

Educator. 

The Hurlburts have been a family of 
distinct, energetic intelligence. The over- 
whelming capacity of acquiring knowledge 
and turning the same into a creative mo- 
tive power is characteristic of Albert Fran- 
cis Hurlburt, as it was of his most excel- 
lent father and grandfather before him. 

The immigrant ancestor of the Hurlburt 



family in America was the great-grandfath- 
er of Albert Francis Hurlburt, who emi- 
grated from England to Canada. His son, 
Francis Hurlburt, was born in St. Peter, 
Canada, about 181 2. He was a farmer, 
living in Vermont for a time, from which 
place he moved to Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
then to Hadley, and finally to Holyoke, 
where he died in April, 1895. His wife, 
who was Louise Charboneau, bore him elev- 
en children : Vitaline, Frank, Cordelia, 
Louise, John, Paul, of further mention ; 
Joseph, Julia, Horace, Charles and Sid- 
ney. 

Paul Hurlburt, son of Francis and Louise 
(Charboneau) Hurlburt, was born in Swan- 
ton, Vermont, May 2, 1848. His education 
was largely that which he acquired on his 
own initiative. With the veritable patience 
of genius he educated himself to be an en- 
gineer and draughtsman, in which he prov- 
ed to be eminently successful. From 1868 
to 1890 he was with the Holyoke Water 
Power Company of Holyoke. While in 
Holyoke he built a block on Park street, 
in 1884, to which he added another large 
section ten years later. He left Holyoke 
to join the East Jersey Water Company of 
New Jersey, where he was employed as as- 
sistant engineer, and while in this position 
he was often called upon to lend his counsel 
in conference with the most eminent en- 
gineers of that and other sections. From 
New Jersey he went to Niagara Falls, New 
York, where he played an important part 
in installing the power plant of the Cana- 
dian Power Company. He remained there 
until 1903, when he met with an accident 
which ultimately resulted in his death. In 
politics he was a Republican. He was a 
member of the Baptist church. He married 
(first) January i, 1868, Jennie Langlois, 
daughter of Antoine and Mary (Berard) 
Langlois, of Farnham, Quebec. To them 
was born one child, Freddie, who died in 
infancy. Mrs. Hurlburt died April 19, 



171 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1870. He married (second) April 12, 1871, 
Louise Langlois, sister of his first wife. She 
was born in Farnham, Quebec, April 10, 
1853. Her grandfather came to Canada 
from France. The children by this second 
marriage were : Jennie Louise, born Jan- 
uary 18, 1874, died September 24, 1895 ; 
Arthur Paul, born August 30, 1876, edu- 
cated in the public schools, was with the 
East Jersey Water Company, with his fath- 
er, and has been actively engaged in the 
insurance business in Holyoke for the past 
eight years ; Mary Cordelia, born March 
17, 1882, died in infancy; Albert Francis, 
of further mention, and Hattie May Rose, 
born 1889, died in infancy. 

Albert Francis Hurlburt, son of Paul 
and Louise (Langlois) Hurlburt, was born 
March 15, 1884, in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, where he was educated in the public 
and high schools, graduating from the lat- 
ter in 1903. He then entered Harvard Uni- 
versity, from which he was graduated four 
years later. In 1907 and 1908, he travelled 
extensively in England, France and Spain. 
In 1908 he entered the University of Michi- 
gan at Ann Arbor, Michigan, as instructor 
in French and Spanish, and instructor of 
French in the summer school. Mr. Hurl- 
burt takes much interest in music as well 
as an active part, occasionally, in amateur 
dramatics, coaching and acting in plays in 
college and out. He is church warden, 
and one of the officers of the Catholic 
church, and a member of the Cambridge 
Club. 



BOWES, Robert J., 

Manager of United States Rubber 
Company. 

In 1877 William J. Bowes moved to 
Millville, Massachusetts, with his family 
which included a son, Robert J. Bowes, then 
a child of six years. In Millville ]\Ir. Bowes 
founded the local plant of the Lawrence 



Felting Company, which he managed with 
ability and profit until his death, when it 
passed to the management of the son, Rob- 
ert J., who for twenty-seven years was ac- 
tively and prominently connected with the 
company, part of that time and after it had 
passed under the control of another cor- 
poration. During his long term as man- 
ager of the local plant of the Lawrence 
Felting Company, Robert J. Bowes won 
the love and confidence of his employees 
and it was largely due to his untiring energy 
and wise business management that the 
company maintained the high place in the 
business world in which it had been placed 
by the genius and energy of the founder, 
William J. Bowes. 

Robert J. Bowes, son of William J. and 
Elizabeth J. Bowes, was born in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, July 16, 1871, and died in 
Millville, Massachusetts, September 11, 
1916. In 1877 the family moved to Mill- 
ville, and in the public schools of Mill- 
ville, Blackstone and Woonsocket he was 
educated. After graduation from Woon- 
socket High School he entered the ofitice 
of the Lawrence Felting Company, found- 
ed in Millville by William J. Bowes, and 
under the wise, loving care and instruc- 
tion of his father he developed a mana- 
gerial ability which qualified him to worth- 
ily succeed his honored father when the 
latter was called to his reward, leaving a 
widow, four sons and two daughters. From 
boyhood, Robert J. Bowes had been a lead- 
er among the boys, and when he succeeded 
his father as manager of the Lawrence 
Felting Company there was general sat- 
isfaction that the plant would continue un- 
der the wise Bowes rule. 

The position to which he had been pro- 
moted was not an easy one, yet he con- 
tinued in it most efficiently until July i, 
1 91 5, although the plant had been sold to 
the United States Rubber Company, that 
company wisely continuing Mr. Bowes as 
72 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



its manager. His term of service covered 
a period in excess of a quarter of a century, 
he havine^ entered the plant a lad of seven- 
teen years. During his period as manager 
he won the love of the employees of the 
plant by his fairness and consideration, 
and the unvarying respect and confidence of 
his superiors, officers of the company, and 
those associated with him in the manage- 
ment. He was a fine type of the honest, 
public spirited citizen, loyal to every du- 
ty and to the town in which nearly his 
entire life was spent. Big hearted and 
generous, no one ever appealed to him in 
vain, and from his great loving heart went 
out comfort and succor to all in trouble. 
His friends were legion, and when the 
hour came to pay him the last mark of 
respect the floral tributes were many, and 
an entire town mourned, and its business 
was suspended during the hours of the fu- 
neral. As the cortege passed from the 
house to St. Augustine's Church, the bells 
of that church and the St. Lawrence Felt- 
ing Mill tolled solemnly and the streets 
were lined w-ith townsmen, many of whom 
had for many years worked with him and 
for him. A solemn high mass of requiem 
was celebrated at St. Augustine's Church, 
where thirty years earlier he had been an 
altar boy, and every honor of the church 
was paid her faithful son, whose seat in 
the church was occupied every Sunday 
save when illness kept him away. At his 
funeral were delegations from the Millville 
Lodge, Ancient Order of United Work- 
men ; and W oonsocket Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He is buried 
in St. Paul's Cemetery, Blackstone. 

Mr. Bowes married Fanny P. Lamphere, 
who survives him with two daughters, 
Elizabeth and Isabelle. During the last 
summer of his life Mr. Bowes spent much 
of his time with his family at their sum- 
mer home. Pleasant View, near Narragan- 
sett Pier, seeking to regain his lost health. 



He was a devoted husband and father, a 
man who loved his home as he did nothing 
else on earth. His aged mother, Elizabeth 
J. Bowes, long a widow, was his aflfectionate 
care as long as he lived, and he failed 
neither as husband, father nor son. 



FOSTER, George Herbert, 

Funeral Director. 

George Herbert Foster, the well known 
undertaker of Holyoke, Massachusetts, is 
a descendant of Christopher Foster, born in 
England in 1603, married there Frances 

, born in 1607. He came to New 

England in 1635, on the Ship, "Abigail," 
embarking in London, June 17. He was 
styled a farmer on the ship's papers, and 
had with him his wife Frances, aged twen- 
ty-five, and children : Rebecca, aged five ; 
Nathaniel, aged two ; and John, aged one. 
He settled in Lynn, Massachusetts, in 1636, 
and two years later was allotted sixty 
acres. He settled in Southampton, Long 
Island, in 1651, where he died in 1687. 
Children : Rebecca, Nathaniel, John, of 
further mention ; George, Benjamin, Han- 
nah, married Daniel Sayre ; Joseph, Sarah, 
married Samuel Johns, son of Deacon Sam- 
uel Johns, and grandson of Edward Johns, 
who was in Southampton in 1644. 

(II) John Foster, son of Christopher 
and Frances Foster, was born in England, 
in 1634, and was brought by his parents 
to New England, in 1635, and to South- 
ampton, Long Island, in 1651. There he 
married and died, leaving children : John, 
of further mention; Sarah, Hannah, Jere- 
miah, Patience, Rachael, Jonathan, David, 
William, Phebe, Abigail. 

(III) John (2) Foster, son of John (i) 
Foster, was born at Southampton, Long 
Island, February 8, 1662, and there resided 
all his life. He married, December 5, 
1689, Hannah Abbott. Children: John, 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hackaliah, Thomas, Abraham, of further 
mention. 

(IV) Sergeant Abraham Foster, son of 
John (2) and Hannah (Abbott) Foster, 
born in 1702, died in Wapping, Connecti- 
cut, April 2, 1781. He married in East 
Windsor, his home, November 30, 1727, 
EUzabeth Moore, born May 4, 1702, died 
September 13, 1800, daughter of John and 
Abigail (Strong) Moore, and great-grand- 
daughter of Deacon John Moore, the orig- 
inal settler, who came in the ship, "Mary 
and John," in 1630, and moved from Dor- 
chester to Winchester, Massachusetts, in 
1635. Abigail Strong was the grand- 
daughter of Elder John Strong, born in 
1605, died in 1699, and of Rev. John War- 
ham, the minister, who brought the Colony 
in the "Mary and John" in 1630, first to 
Dorchester, then in 1635 to Windsor, Con- 
necticut. Children: Thomas, married Mar- 
tha Elmer; Abel, Hannah, Peletiah, of 
further mention; Sybil, Hakaliah, John, 
Elizabeth. 

(V) Peletiah Foster, son of Sergeant 
Abraham and Elizabeth (Moore) Foster, 
born in East Windsor, Connecticut, Novem- 
ber 30, 1732, died July 29, 1826. He mar- 
ried, January 12, 1762, Phoebe Pomeroy, 
born 1740, died April 22), 1821. They re- 
sided in East Windsor. Children : Phine- 
as, born May 13, 1763, married Hannah Kil- 
bourn; Eli, of further mention; Chloe, died 
young; Louisa, died young. 

(VI) Deacon Eli Foster, son of Peletiah 
and Phoebe (Pomeroy) Foster, was born in 
East Windsor, Connecticut, September i, 
1767, died July 16, 1827. He was a farmer 
of Barkhamsted, Connecticut, until 1808, 
then moved to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
settling in that section of the town known 
as "Sixteen Acres." There he continued 
farming operations until his death at the age 
of sixty. He married Catherine Lathrop. 
Children: Lois, born March 4, 1810; Har- 
vey, of further mention ; Marven, married 



Betsey Chapin ; Chloe, married Rodney 
Holt, of Springfield ; Milton, married Mary 
Markham ; Laura, married Silas Dimock. 

(VII) Harvey Foster, son of Deacon Eli 
and Catherine (Lathrop) Foster, was born 
in Barkhamsted, Connecticut, July 28, 1796, 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, April 
17, 1879. He was twelve years of age when 
brought to Springfield by his parents, and 
all his after life he was a resident of the 
"Sixteen Acres" section, becoming a farm- 
er, landowner, and prominent public citi- 
zen. He was the second man ever elected 
alderman from Ward 8. He was also cap- 
tain of the old Third Ward ]\Iilitary Com- 
pany ; surveyor of highways ; settled many 
estates as executor and administrator, and 
in 1846 was elected deacon of the First 
Baptist Church of Springfield. He was a 
man of energy and integrity, highly esteem- 
ed in his city. He lived to the age of 
eighty-three and left sons to emulate his vir- 
tues. Harvey Foster married Laura Alden, 
born January 23, 1801, in Stafford, Con- 
necticut, died October 25, 1862, daughter of 
Nathan Alden, of Wilbraham, and a direct 
descendant of John Alden and Priscilla 
]\Iullins, the "Mayflower" passengers. The 
line of descent from John and Priscilla Al- 
den is through their son, Joseph ; his son, 
John ; his son. Rev. Noah ; his son, Lieu- 
tenant Elisha ; his son, Nathan ; his daugh- 
ter, Laura, wife of Harvey Foster. Har- 
vey and Laura (Alden) Foster were the 
parents of : Walter, Eli, Franklin, George, 
of further mention; Festus H., Ralph, Cy- 
rus Alden, Nathan A. 

(VIII) George Foster, third son of Har- 
vey and Laura (Alden) Foster, was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, August 9, 
1830, there engaged in farming all his life, 
and died x-\ugust 22, 1909. He was edu- 
cated in the public school, assisted his fath- 
er in his years of minority, and in time 
became a substantial landowner, and prom- 
inent in the public aflFairs of his city. He 



174 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was a member of the Common Council and 
of the Board of Aldermen. He was a Re- 
publican in i)olitics, a man of upright char- 
acter and blameless life. He married (first) 
Ella Warner; (second) Matilda J. Smith; 
(third) Ida A. Porter; and (fourth) Sa- 
rah E. Capen. 

(IX) George Herbert Foster, son and 
only child of George Foster and his second 
wife, Matilda J. (Smith) Foster, was born 
in Springfield, Massachusetts, November 
30, 1868. The family home was in the 
■"Sixteen Acres" section, and there he at- 
tended the public schools. After complet- 
ing his school years he remained with his 
father until of legal age, then started out 
on his own responsibility. For a time he 
was in the employ of Kibbe Brothers, con- 
fectioners, then was with Smith & Wesson, 
firearm manufacturers, a still shorter pe- 
riod, and for ten months he was with 
Frank W. Dickinson, undertaker. He spent 
four years in this way, 1 889- 1 893, but in 
the latter year he located in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, and under Wells Lathrop thor- 
oughly learned the undertaking business, re- 
maining with Mr. Lathrop sixteen years. 
In April, 1909, he purchased the business 
and for the past eight years has been its 
sole owner and manager. Mr. Foster is a 
member of Mt. Tom Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Robert Morris Chapter, 
Order of the Eastern Star; Holyoke 
Lodge, No. 134, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows ; Glenwood Lodge, 
No. 104, Daughters of Rebekah ; Loyal Mt. 
Holyoke Lodge, No. 7103, Manchester 
Unity; Connecticut Valley Lodge, No. 28, 
Knights of Pythias ; and Endeavor Temple, 
Pythian Sisters. He is also interested in 
the Young Men's Christian Association. His 
clubs are the Rotary and Holyoke!, his 
church the Second Congregational. 

Mr. Foster married. May 10, 1899, Ce- 
lenna Edith Tower, of Worthington, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Russell and Rebecca 



(Granger) Tower, granddaughter of John 
Tower, an old stage driver between Bos- 
ton and Albany, who built the first frame 
house in Cummington, Massachusetts, a 
descendant of John Tower, of Hingham, 
England, and later an early settler of Hing- 
ham, Massachusetts. 



FOSTER, Cyrus Alden, 

Civil War Veteran, Well Known Citizen. 

Cyrus Alden Foster, one of the gallant 
generation which took up arms in defence of 
the Union, has been identified with the life 
of Springfield for over half a century, and 
his record of long service with one com- 
pany is one he may well be proud of. 

Cyrus Alden Foster is a son of Harvey 
and Laura (Alden) Foster, and was born 
February 18, 1836, in that portion of 
Springfield which was called Sixteen y\cres. 
Here he grew up and went to the district 
schools of the place. After finishing his 
studies at home he attended Wilbraham, and 
later Monson Academy. But it was neces- 
sary for him early to become a breadwin- 
ner, and he soon obtained a position with 
Kibbe Brothers, wholesale confectioners, 
and in their service he gained his first ex- 
perience in business. His next opportunity 
came at the time he was twenty-one years 
of age, and this opening was with the 
Thompson Express Company of Spring- 
field ; he gave satisfaction as is proven by 
the fact that he remained with this com- 
pany for thirty-five years, with the single 
exception of the time he enlisted for the de- 
fense of the Union in the Civil War. In 
July, 1862, he was enrolled in Company A, 
Forty-sixth Regiment of Massachusetts 
Volunteers, enlisting for nine months, and 
served until receiving an honorable dis- 
charge in July, 1863. Although he entered 
the army as a private he was soon promoted 
to assistant quarter-master, serving with his 
regiment in the Department of the Gulf. 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



After his discharge from mihtary service, 
he returned once more to the employ of 
the express company. But as the years 
passed by the desire came to him to be his 
own employer, and invest for his own prof- 
it the accumulated experience, and the good- 
will of the many friends he had gained by 
faithful and conscientious service. He 
therefore organized an express line of his 
own, running between Springfield and West- 
field, and one that had a profitable and suc- 
cessful existence for ten years, when he 
closed up his affairs and retired from active 
business. Mr. Foster keeps up his associ- 
ation with his old comrades-in-arms by mem- 
bership in the Grand Army of the Republic, 
and in the Union Veterans' Union, in which 
latter organization he holds the honorary 
title of colonel. 

Air. Foster married, February i8, 1862, 
Mary J. Warner, of Wilbraham, daughter 
of J. Russell and Huldah (Stevens) Warn- 
er, and granddaughter of Ebenezer and Ru- 
by (Herrick) Warner. 



LYON, Raymond Farrell, 

Representative Citizen. 

This branch of the Lyon family in New 
England descends from Seth Lyon, a farm- 
er of Peru, Vermont, who there lived a life 
of honorable endeavor, married, and reared 
a family. 

Seth Stanley Lyon, son of Seth Lyon, 
was born in Peru, Vermont, in 1821, and 
died in South Londonderry, Vermont, in 
1894. He was the owner of a large farm 
at Londonderry, a man of substance and 
possessed of all the old fashioned virtues, 
hospitality, charity, love for the church, and 
rugged honesty. He was a deacon of the 
Baptist church, in the affairs of which he 
took an active part and interest. In his good 
works he was aided and abetted by his excel- 
lent wife, Sarah Jane (Barnard) Lyon, born 
in Winhall, Vermont, in 1823, died in 191 3, 



daughter of John Barnard. They were the 
parents of three sons : George, Seth, John 
Stanley, and of a daughter, Harriet. 
George, the eldest, enlisted in the Union 
Army and gave his life to his country at the 
battle of the Wilderness ; Seth, the second 
son, resides in Tampa, Florida ; John Stan- 
ley, of further mention ; Harriet, married 
Clarke C. Fitts, of Brattleboro, Vermont. 

Rev. John Stanley Lyon, son of Seth 
Stanley and Sarah Jane (Barnard) Lyon, 
was born in South Londonderry, Vermont,, 
in 1864. He absorbed all the advantages 
of the local schools, attending the Black 
River Academy, Ludlow, V'ermont. He 
then entered the Colgate University, where 
he remained a year. For a time he taught 
in Friends College. He was graduated from 
the University of New York with the de- 
gree of A. B. In 1908 this university con- 
firmed upon him the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity and he was ordained a minister of 
the Gospel acording to the ordinances of the 
Baptist church. He was settled over the 
church at Fair Haven, Vermont, was also 
pastor at Bristol, Connecticut, and from 
1900 was located in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, as clergyman until 1914, then in 191 5 
was manager of the Holyoke Chamber of 
Commerce. He is now engaged in educa- 
tional work under the Northern Baptist So- 
ciety management, and in the interest of the 
Society travels all over the United States. 

Rev. John S. Lyon married Ella Grace 
White, daughter of John Everett and El- 
mira (Sawyer) White, of Mechanicsville, 
town of Mt. Holly, Vermont, Mr. and Mrs. 
Lyon are the parents of Clifford Stanley, 
whose sketch follows; Raymond Farrell, 
of whom further ; and Margaret G., who 
married Paul L. Houston, of Holyoke. 

Raymond Farrell Lyon, second son of 
Rev. John Stanley and Ella Grace (White) 
Lyon, was born in Fair Haven, Vermont, 
March 14, 1892. He was eight years of age 
when Holyoke became the family home, and 
76 




%r ^^2^^^^^-i^z^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



there he was educated in the grade and 
high schools, completing the course with 
the high school graduating class of 1909. 
The following year was passed at Worces- 
ter Academy in post-graduate and college 
preparatory work. He then entered Ham- 
ilton College, whence he was graduated, 
class of 1 91 3, with the Bachelor's degree. 
Later in the same year he entered the office 
employ of the Cowan Truck Company of 
Holyoke. and from a clerkship has won his 
way to the position of general manager. 
The company are manufacturers in Holyoke 
of the Cowan Transveyor. a power truck 
for warehouse, shipping room and platform 
work, and maintain selling agencies in Xew 
York City and Chicago. Mr. Lyon has 
traveled extensively in the interests of the 
company going abroad and through all ac- 
cessible parts of the war zone. His respon- 
sibilities are heavy for a young man, but his 
promotion was won on merit, and is held 
through ability to meet its every require- 
ment. He is a member of William ^\'hit- 
ney Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks ; the Rotary, Mt. Tom Golf, and Hol- 
yoke Canoe clubs ; Sigma Phi, and other 
college fraternities, and of the Second Bap- 
tist Church of Holvoke. 



LYON, Clifford Stanley, 



i.atryer. 



Clifford Stanley Lyon, eldest son of Rev. 
John Stanley and Ella Grace (White) 
Lyon, was born in Xew York City, March 
17, 1888. He obtained his education in the 
schools of the towns in which his father was 
stationed as pastor, namely : Fair Haven. 
Vermont ; Bristol, Connecticut ; and Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts : completing prepara- 
tory study with graduation from Holyoke 
High School, class of 1906. He next pur- 
sued a four years' course at Dartmouth Col- 
lege, receiving the usual bachelor's degree, 
MASS.— 7— 12. i; 



class of 1910. After Dartmouth, he en- 
gaged in the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation's work in Xew York, being secretary 
and in charge of student work. He finally 
decided upon the profession of law, pursued 
a full course at Columbia Law School, was 
awarded his degree, LL.B.. at graduation, 
class of 191 5, was admitted to the Massa- 
chusetts bar in September of that year, and 
entered the law firm, Green & Bennett, of 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. On June i, 1916, 
he was admitted as a partner in this firm, 
which is one of the largest in Western Mas- 
sachusetts. He is a member of the law 
association and college fraternities ; the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Holyoke Canoe Club, and Mt. Tom Golf 
Club. He is a member of the Second Bap- 
tist Church and assistant superintendent of 
the Sunday school. 

Mr. Lyon married. May 2~, 1916. Ger- 
trude A. Merrick, of Holyoke, daughter of 
A. Judson and Ella (Bentley) Merrick. 
Mrs. Lyon is of the ninth generation of the 
family founded in Xew England by Thom- 
as Merrick. Mrs. Lyon is a direct descen- 
dant of Captain John Merrick, the line of 
descent being through his son, Esquire John 
Merrick ; his son. Joseph Merrick ; his son, 
Timothy Merrick ; his son, Joseph Mer- 
rick ; his son. Rev. Samuel Dunton Mer- 
rick ; his son. Adoniram Judson Merrick, 
father of Mrs. Lyon. ( See Merrick Line 
under separate heading). Mr. and Mrs. 
Lyon are the parents of a daughter, Elisa- 
beth ^Merrick, born in Holyoke, May 3, 
1917. 



DOUVILLE, Louis, 

Furniture Dealer. 

Among those sturdy, steady, thrifty 
French Canadians who have migrated to the 
United States from the Dominion of Can- 
ada, should be mentioned Louis Douville, 
of Holyoke, Massachusetts, who by his dil- 
7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



igence, persistence and straightforwardness 
of character has been able to make his way 
from employee to employer, in an altogeth- 
er admirable and honorable manner of pro- 
gression. 

His father, Louis Douville, who was born 
in Granby, Province of Quebec, Canada, 

1835, and died in North Sheffield, Canada, 
in 1866, aged thirty-one years, was one of 
four children, the others being: Mark, 
Louise and Philomena. He was a black- 
smith by trade. He married. May 9, 1859, 
Rosele Markee, daughter of Jeane Baptiste 
and France (LaPierre) IMarkee. She was 
born in the Province of Quebec, July 4, 

1836, and is now (1917) living in Canada 
at the age of eighty-one years. Their chil- 
dren were : Peter, who lives in Canada ; 
Louis, of this sketch ; Victoria ; and Louise. 

Louis (2) Douville, son of Louis (i) and 
Rosele (Markee) Douville, was born Decem- 
ber 4, 1861, in North Shefifield, Province of 
Quebec, Canada. There he was educated 
in the public schools and in those of Adams- 
ville, Canada. At the age of fifteen years he 
came to Holyoke, Massachusetts, where he 
was first employed at the Farr Alpaca 
Mills. After eight years here, he left to en- 
ter the Williston Mills at Easthampton, 
where he remained one year. The following 
year he spent in the employment of the Na- 
tional Blank Book Company of Holyoke. 
He then decided to engage in business for 
himself and for the next seventeen years 
he was occupied in selling kerosene oil. 
From this he entered the business of selling 
stoves, and later he engaged in the furni- 
ture and house furnishing business. Mr. 
Douville has developed his present well 
managed business from ever so small a be- 
ginning. 

His fine store is located at No. 523 High 
street, the principal thoroughfare of Hol- 
yoke, and here he has the first floor and 
basement, in which is found a complete and 
well arranged stock of everything neces- 



sary to completely furnish any home, and he 
is reckoned among the successful business 
men of the city. His unfailing courtesy to 
each and every customer and his strict atten- 
tion to all the details of the business have 
made him most popular in the city where 
he has a large number of friends. Al- 
though doing business in Holyoke he main- 
tains his well appointed home in the ad- 
joining town of Willimansett, in which 
town he has resided for more than twenty 
years. 

On September 3, 1883, Mr. Douville was 
married to M. Martineau, daughter of Nel- 
son and Mary (Counteau) Martineau, of 
Port Henry, New York. To them have 
been born the following children: i. Ar- 
thur, born in Chicopee, Massachusetts, Jan- 
uary 4, 1885; attended the schools there; 
then was employed by the Coburn Trolley 
Track Company for a year, at the end of 
which time he became associated with his 
father in the oil business, and later with 
him in the furniture business, eventually 
becoming his partner, since which time the 
firm has been known as Douville & Son. He 
married, June 3, 1907, Lena Leroux, of 
Holyoke, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 
(Brissette) Leroux; they have one son, 
Earl Arthur, born May 8, 1908. 2. Eva, 
born September i, 1891 ; married John 
Mosher, of Chicopee Falls ; their children 
are: Constance May and Doris Mira. 3. 
Rosele, born October i, 1891. 4. May, born 
May, 1895. 5. Nettie Louise, born March, 
1903. Several others were born, but died 
in infancy. 



CHOINIERE, Amidee Olivie, 
Con,tractor. 

For more than ten years Mr. Choiniere, 
as head of the firm of Choiniere & Beaure- 
gard, has been numbered among the suc- 
cessful contractors and business men of 
Holyoke, this firm being large builders in 



178 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Holyoke, Springfield, and elsewhere in 
Massachusetts. In addition to this Mr. 
Choiniere is the owner of valuable real es- 
tate in his home city. 

(I) Narcisse Choiniere, grandfather of 
Amidee Olivie Choiniere, was a farmer in 
Canada, and his children were : Theophile, 
Narcisse, Eugenie, Louis, mentioned below ; 
Joseph, Marcile, Exilide, Leo, Pierre, and 
Alexandre. Mr. Choinere died in 1879, 
in Canada. 

(II) Louis Choiniere, son of Narcisse 
Choiniere, was born in 1839, in Canada, and 
in early life followed the blacksmith's trade, 
later becoming the proprietor of a country 
store at St. Pie, Canada. For some twenty 
years he was engaged in mercantile business 
and was otherwise a man of prominence in 
the community, being an officer in the 
church. Mr. Choiniere married (first) 
Alice Bennoit, and they became the par- 
ents of the following children : Victor, born 
May 15, 1863, died in 1908; Guile Arthur, 
now of Easthampton, Massachusetts ; Jo- 
seph Ovid, living in Chicopee Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Amidee Olivie, mentioned be- 
low ; one who died in infancy ; and Aglae 
Eliza. Mrs. Choinere died in 1871, and Mr. 

Choinere married (second) Voucher, 

the children of this union being three in 
number : Euclid, Evige and Amile. Mr. 
Choiniere died in 1904, in Canada, main- 
tining his activities to the very end. 

(III) Amidee Olivie Choiniere, son of 
Louis and Alice (Bennoit) Choiniere, was 
born October 14, 1868, in St. Pie, Quebec, 
Canada, and received his education in the 
local schools. In boyhood and early youth 
he was trained to assist in the labors of the 
farm, and at sixteen began to learn the car- 
penter's trade. In 1885 Mr. Choiniere came 
to the United States, the first employment 
secured by him being in a cotton mill in 
Governorsdale, Connecticut. After being 
employed there fourteen months he returned 
to Canada and for two years engaged in 



farming. At the end of that time he re- 
turned to the mill, but in the spring of 
1888 removed to Holyoke, where he has 
since remained. For two years he was em- 
ployed as a carpenter by John Prew and 
then for sixteen years was employed in the 
same capacity by John St. John, his term of 
service ending with the death of his em- 
ployer. In 1906 Mr. Choiniere formed a 
partnership wath Alexandre Beauregard, of 
Holyoke, under the firm name of Choiniere 
& Beauregard, since which time they have 
conducted an extensive business as contrac- 
tors and builders. Their operations have 
not been limited to Holyoke, but have in- 
cluded Springfield and Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts. In Springfield the firm purchased a 
number of valuable building sites, erecting 
thereon apartment houses and blocks of 
structures and later disposing of them to 
advantage. Mr. Choiniere built and owns 
individually the "Strathmore," one of the 
finest apartment houses in the city and 
which adjoins his own residence. Before 
going into business with Mr. Beauregard 
Mr. Choiniere had, in association with his 
brother-in-law, Azarde La Clare, engaged 
in building both for Mr. St. John and for 
themselves. After the formation of the 
partnership with Mr. Beauregard Mr. Choi- 
niere and Mr. La Clare were associated un- 
til 191 7 in important transactions in real es- 
tate. 

Mr. Choiniere married. May 3, 1892, Ai- 
zelia, daughter of Louis and Margaret 
(Valliere) Gobielle, of Canada (Garden 
of the Angels) Canada, and they are the 
parents of the following children : Louis 
Felix Florimond, born August 6, 1895, ed- 
ucated at Montreal College, and now a con- 
tractor in Holyoke ; Antoinette Mary An- 
ges, born June 10, 1897; Alberta Albina, 
born February 15, 1901 ; Joseph Ovid Har- 
vey, born August 4, 1902 ; Joseph Armand 
Ovile, born August 21, 1904; Adrian Eu- 
clid, born July 2^, 1907 ; and Joseph Lau- 



179 



ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGR-\PHY 



rent Amidee, bom August 5, 191 5- Mr. 
Choiniere is a fine t>'pe of the self-made 
man and as such is highly regarded by his 
neiehbors and fellow-citizens. 



BOUCHER, Barthelemie. 

Representative Citizen. 

Three generations of this family have 
made their home in Holyoke. all coming 
from their native Canada. Isaac Boucher, 
the grandfather, coming to be with his chil- 
dren and dying in Holyoke. He married 
Olive Ploud, who died in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, leaving children : Victor, Da- 
vid, Isaac (2), of further mention; Ama- 
lie, Josephine, Belzemere, Agatha. 

Isaac (2) Boucher, bom in Antrim, Can- 
ada, in 1838, died in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, February 8, 1905. He obtained a 
good education in Quebec schools, and until 
coming to the United States was employed 
as lumber checker and inspector. He came 
to the United States in 1884, locating for 
a short time at Island Pond, Vermont, there 
being employed in the lumber camps and 
saw mills. He was later employed at Nor- 
ton Mills, Vermont, and at Whitefield. New 
Hampshire, with the Brown Lumber Com- 
pany, continuing with the last named place 
for four years. Then for a short time he 
was with the Laconia Car Works, at La- 
conia, Xew Hampshire, and for a few 
months at Tilton, Xew Hampshire, with 
the Boston & Elaine Railroad Company. In 
1892 he came to Holyoke. Massachusetts, 
where for a time he was in charge of a 
gang of workmen in the employ of the 
street railway company. He was in that 
service, building roads, etc., imtil entering 
the employ of the Holyoke Plush Manufac- 
turing Company, a connection only terminat- 
ing with his death at the age of sixty-sev- 
en. He was a man of good education and 
superior intelligence, active in politics and 
interested in public affairs. Isaac (2) 



Boucher married Camille Bergeron, born in 
the Province of Quebec, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Cerevia (Lafiure) Bergeron. 
They were the parents of three sons : Bar- 
thelemie, of further mention: Henry, de- 
ceased ; Peter, deceased : and of a daugh- 
ter Annie, who married Arthur Xolan. 

Barthelemie Boucher was born in Rua- 
wald, Province of Quebec, Canada, March 
6, 1874. He was educated in the public 
schools in Canada, Island Pond. \'ermont, 
and Holyoke, Massachusetts, his business 
life beginning in the mills of the Hampden 
Glazed Paper & Card Company, of Hol- 
yoke. After his mill experience, he learned 
the painter's trade, and for a number of 
years was connected with that trade as 
journeyman, and also was in business for 
himself as painting and decorative contrac- 
tor. In 191 7 he entered the employ of the 
Westinghouse Company of Chicopee Falls, 
Massachusetts, as tool maker. During these 
years he has accumulated considerable real 
estate, one of his parcels being a twenty 
family apartment building. He is a mem- 
ber of the Holy Xame Society and The Im- 
maculate Conception (Roman Catholic) 
Church. 

Mr. Boucher married. October 30. 1905, 
Eugenie Perreault, daughter of Francis 
Perreault, of Holyoke. They are the par- 
ents of four children : Blanche, deceased ; 
Annette Mayrose, born June 24, 1907; 
Doris Ailine, born August 8. 1914; Don- 
ald Arthur, bom October 22, igiy. 



CHAPUT, EmU Arthur, 

Business Man. 

X'ow a prosperous grocer}', meat and pro- 
vision dealer of Holyoke, Mr. Chaput con- 
ducts as proprietor the store at Xo. 69 Ely 
street, where he was long employed as clerk. 
He is a grandson of Louis Chaput, a farmer 
of St. Jean Baptiste, Canada, who there 
lived and died, leaving sons : Louis, Jo- 



180 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seph, Napoleon and Basil, the latter being 
the founder of the family in Holyoke. Ba- 
sil Chaput was born in St. Jean Baptiste, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, in 1834, died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, July 4, 1917. 
He received his schooling in the parish 
school, and until 1889 he remained in Can- 
ada, engaged in farming. In the latter year 
he located in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and 
for several years he was employed in vari- 
ous meat markets until about 1902, then re- 
tired from active business life but continu- 
ing his residence in Holyoke. He married 
Adele Roberts, born in St. Jean Baptiste, 
Canada, in 1853, died in Holyoke in 1907. 
They were the parents of children : Louis, 
a farmer of South Holyoke, Massachusetts ; 
Emil A., of further mention ; Rosanna ; 
Albina, married Napoleon Anthis ; Corrine, 
married Louis Anthis ; Rosabella, deceased ; 
Anna, married and residing in Concord, 
New Hampshire. 

Emil A. Chaput, second son of Basil and 
Adele (Roberts) Chaput, was born in Mer- 
ryville, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
July, 1887, and when two years of age 
was brought to Holyoke by his parents. 
He completed the full courses of the 
parochial school of his parish, and 
w^hen through with his studies became 
an employee of O. N. Chaput, the gro- 
cer, and a relative. He continued in Mr. 
Chaput's employ until November, 1916, 
when he purchased the business, and is now 
successfuly conducting the store in which 
he was formerly clerk. Meats, provisions 
and groceries are carried, a good trade has 
been built up, and success is assured. He is 
a member of the Roman Catholic Church, 
the Knights of Columbus, Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, and Westmount Canoe Club. Mr. 
Chaput married, June 9, 191 7, Eglantine 
Liscault, of Chicopee, Massachusetts. 



THE PLUMMER FAMILY 

Francis Plummer, the immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in England, and came to 
America from Norfolk, England, in 1633. 
He was admitted a freeman, May 14, 1634. 
He settled in Newbury, Massachusetts, in 
1635. Coffin's "History of Newbury" 
states that his descendants still own the 
land he once held ; that his descendants are 
many and distinguished ; that one of them, 
Hon. George Plummer, was the first white 
child born west of the Alleghany Moun- 
tains in Pennsylvania and was the first 
congressman elected from that region. It 
is said that when the pioneers sailed up 
the river to their new home in Newbury, 
the second to land was Francis Plummer, 
followed by his wife and two sons, Samuel 
and Joseph. He was a linen weaver by 
trade, and in 1636 was the proprietor of a 
tavern in Newbury. He held various town 

offices. He married (first) Ruth , who 

died May 18, 1647. He married (second) 
March 31, 1648, Ann Palmer, widow, who 
died October 18, 1665. He married (third) 
November 29, 1666, Beatrice, widow of 
William Cantlebury, of Salem. Children by 
first wife : Samuel, Joseph, mentioned be- 
low ; Hannah, born 1632, married. May 3, 
1663, Samuel Morse; Mary, born 1634, 
married (first) May 26, 1660, John Cheney, 
Jr., (second) David Burnett. Francis Plum- 
mer died in Newbury, January 17, 1672-73. 

(II) Joseph Plummer, son of Francis and 
Ruth Plummer, was born in England. He 
married Sarah Cheney, and their children, 
born in Newbury, were : Joseph, mentioned 
below; Benjamin, born October 23, 1656; 
Sarah, May 3, 1660, died May 26, 1676; 
Francis, April 23, 1662, died December 5, 
1663; Francis, February 23, 1664; Na- 
thaniel, January 31, 1666; Jonathan, May 
13, 1668; Abigail, July 16, 1669. 

(III) Joseph (2) Plummer, son of Jc 
81 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seph (i) and Sarah (Cheney) Phimmer, 
was born at Newbury, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember II, 1654. He married, January 20, 
1685, Hannah Jewett, and their children, 
born in Newbury, were : Samuel, May 4, 
1686; Abigail, December 11, 1687; Mi- 
riam, January 16, 1691 ; Aaron, January 

16, 1693; Eleazer, January 29, 1694, died 
young; Joseph, January 12, 1695; David, 
mentioned below ; Sarah, October 26, 1697 ; 
Sampson, March 14, 1699; Sarah, April 

17, 1700; Hannah, July 17, 1702; Deborah, 
December 19, 1703; Elizabeth, April i, 
1705; Nathaniel, May 2, 1711 ; Elizabeth. 

(IV) Dr. David Plummer, son of Jo- 
seph (2) and Hannah (Jewett) Plummer, 
was born at Newbury, Massachusetts, 
March 16, 1696. He settled at Gloucester, 
Massachusetts, and became the leading 
physician of that town. He married (first) 
1723, Ann Newman, who died in 1736. He 
married (second) Ann Barber. Children 
by first wife : Samuel ; Dr. Joshua, and 
five daughters. Children by second wife : 
David, died July 15, 1801 ; Daniel, men- 
tioned below. 

(V) Daniel Plummer, son of Dr. David 
and Ann (Barber) Plummer, was born at 
Gloucester, Massachusetts, February 11, 
1 741, and died Deecember 22, 1792. He 
married Mary Davis, of Newbury, May 19, 
1763. She died June, 1833, aged ninety 
years and three months. Children, born at 
Gloucester: Daniel, December 2, 1765; 
Moses, mentioned below ; Joseph, March 
II, 1773; Aaron, May 3, 1775, died Sep- 
tember 12, 1861 ; Polly, March 17, 1777, 
became the wife of John Atkinson ; Joshua, 
May 3, 1780, married Thankful Bray; 
Henry, March 26, 1784, married Mary Web- 
ber; Mary, July, 1787, became the wife of 
Simeon Dodge, of Wenham, Massachu- 
setts. 

(VI) Moses Plummer, son of Daniel and 
Mary (Davis) Plummer, was born at 
Gloucester, Massachusetts, November 9, 



1767, and died January 28, 1856, at New 
Gloucester, Maine, aged eighty-eight years, 
two months, nineteen days. He married, 
December 6, 1790, Sarah Allen, born Jan- 
uary 16, 1768, and died July 2, 1846, aged 
seventy-eight years, five months, nineteen 
days, at New Gloucester, Maine. She was 
a daughter of Solomon Allen, who was a 
soldier in the Revolution, a private in Cap- 
tain Abraham Dodge's company. Colonel 
Moses Little's regiment (Twelfth) enter- 
ing service, February 9, 1776; muster roll 
dated April 24, 1776. He was also in Cap- 
tain Andrew Woodbury's company, Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel Enoch Hallet's regiment, 
from August i, to October 29, 1780. Solo- 
mon Allen was born December 6, 1737, and 
died June 6, 1836; married Susan Riggs ; 
children : Sarah, aforementioned as the 
wife of Moses Plummer; Susan, became 
the wife of Zebulon Davis; Martha, born 
December 2, 1774, died at Dover, Massa- 
chusetts, May 16, 1870, and was the wife 
of Giddings Tucker ; Permelia ; Solomon ; 
Captain Mark, died January 5, 1873; John. 
Children of Moses and Sarah (Allen) 
Plummer, born in Gloucester : Moses, Sep- 
tember 22, 1792, died August 2, 1822, in 
New Gloucester ; Micajah Sawyer, men- 
tioned below ; Solomon Allen, May 10, 
1798, died September 13, 1816; Daniel, July 
16, 1803, died July 21, 1803. 

(VII) Micajah Sawyer Plummer, son 
of Moses and Sarah (Allen) Plummer, was 
born at Gloucester, Massachusetts, August 
21, 1796, and died April 10, 1888, at Do- 
ver, Massachusetts. He was a soldier in 
the W^ar of 181 2, and in later life a pension- 
er^ and during the years that he received a 
pension he was the only living member of 
the company in which he served. The pen- 
sion was obtained through the persistent 
efiforts of his son, Osgood Plummer, who 
found great difficulty in proving the claims 
of his father because of the fact that there 
was only one man living who could verify 



182 





¥ 



crt^cC 




i^cyty^^tyi^iys^zy{^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the application. 'Mr. Plummer was a private 
in Captain John Smith's company, Colonel 
Appleton's regiment, stationed at Gloucester, 
from September 19, to October 12, 1814. 
About 1818, he removed to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, was a voter there and voted "Yes" 
on the question of incorporating the city of 
Boston. In 1822, while still a resident of 
that city, he was a member of the choir in 
Hosea Ballou's church. From Boston he 
moved to Portland, Maine, and was there 
engaged in the grocery business until 
obliged to move to New Gloucester, same 
State, to take charge of the estate of his 
brother, Moses, whose sudden death made 
this necessary. He resided in New Glouces- 
ter until 1859, in which year he removed 
to Dover, Massachusetts, where he was en- 
gaged in the retail grocery business for 
several years. He attended the Murray 
Universalist Church in Gloucester, Mas- 
sachusetts, said to be the first church 
of that denomination in the United 
States. He was also an active member 
of the Universalist parish at New Glou- 
cester, and contributed generously towards 
the support of the church, one of his con- 
tributions having been the land upon which 
the Universalist church now stands. He 
married, in New Gloucester, Maine, Sep- 
tember 13, 1831, Betsey or Elizabeth Has- 
kell, born January i, 1801, and died at Do- 
ver, Massachusetts, August 7, 1871. Chil- 
dren, born at New Gloucester: i. Charles 
Giddings, mentioned below. 2. Osgood, men- 
tioned. 3. Sarah Allen, mentioned below. 
4. Martha Allen, mentioned below. 5. Seth 
Haskell, mentioned below. 

(VIII) Charles Giddings Plummer, son 
of Micajah Sawyer and Betsey or Elizabeth 
(Haskell) Plummer, was born in New 
Gloucester, Maine, October 4, 1833. He at- 
tended the public and private schools of 
his native town during his minority. La- 
ter he went to Boston, Massachusetts, and 
was employed for about a year at the well 



known Bradley Book Bindery. He then 
decided to learn the machine business, and- 
to this end apprenticed himself to the then 
firm of Furbush & Cronipton in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, for two years, and during 
the entire period of his apprenticeship he 
received one dollar per week and board. He 
remained with that firm for five years, then 
accepted a position as clerk and salesman 
in the book store of Z. Baker in Worcester, 
and served in that capacity for one year. 
In 1857 he removed to Davenport, Iowa, 
where he engaged in the book and station- 
ery business, later adding book binding and 
job printing, which he continued for a num- 
ber of years. He remained in Davenport 
until the spring of 1907, then moved to 
Black River Falls, Wisconsin, residing there 
with his sons, Edwin V. T. and Clarence 
H., until 1912, then moved with his son, 
Clarence H., to Kewaunee, Wisconsin, 
where he was residing in 191 5. On May 2, 
i860, in Henry county, Illinois, he married 
Sarah Eugenia Van Tyle, of Davenport, 
Iowa, born in Finchville, Orange county, 
New York, October 26, 1839, and died in 
Davenport, September 12, 1902. Children: 
Edwin Van Tyle, born in Davenport, Sep- 
tember 28, 1862, and Clarence Houghton, 
born in Davenport, September 27, 1868, 
married, September 6, 1906, Mary Strans- 
ky, at Kewaunee, Wisconsin ; she was born 
August 14, 1874, at Kewaunee. 

(VIII) Osgood Plummer, son of Mica- 
jah Sawyer and Betsey or Elizabeth (Has- 
kell) Plummer, was born at New Glouces- 
ter, Maine, April 16, 1835. He attended the 
public schools of his native town and vari- 
ous private schools there. In the year 
1853, at the age of eighteen he came to 
Worcester, Massachusetts, and served an 
apprenticeship of two years with the firm 
of Furbush & Crompton, receiving one dol- 
lar per week and board during that entire 
period. Realizing the value of an education 
to a man in his later years, Mr. Plummer 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



worked three nights a week at the rate of 
ten cents an hour in order to secure the 
money with which to obtain an education 
sufficient to carry on his business success- 
fully in the coming years, and with this he 
was enabled to complete a full business 
course in Eaton's Commercial Business Col- 
lege at Worcester, graduating in the class 
of 1859. At the expiration of his term of 
apprenticeship, he was promoted to foreman 
of the shop in which he had worked, and 
he continued in that capacity during the 
existence of the firm, which dissolved in 
i860, Mr. Furbush going to Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, where he established the M. 
A. Furbush Loom Works, and Mr. Plum- 
met went with him as superintendent of the 
new firm, continuing for two years. He 
then returned to Worcester, and was 
employed with Thayer, Houghton & 
Company, manufacturers of machinist 
tools, as contractor, employing workmen 
for the manufacture of parts of the tools. 
Later he was employed with the Knowles 
Loom Works, as superintendent, and some 
years later resigned to form the partnership 
of the Lathe & Morse Tool Company, suc- 
cessors of Lathe & Morse. After a time he 
sold his interest to the other members of the 
firm, and became associated with Mr. Boyn- 
ton in the manufacture of blacksmith's 
drilling machines and machinist's tools. La- 
ter he purchased the interest of Mr. Boyn- 
ton, and he continued the business for a 
number of years, until his final retirement 
from active business life. During his busi- 
ness career, Mr. Plummer invented and pat- 
ented a number of appliances and machines, 
on woolen looms, blacksmith and machin- 
ist tools, and on other lines as represented 
in the following table : Harness Mechan- 
ism for Looms, 1868; New Mechanical 
Movement, 1869; Towel Rack, 1871 ; Har- 
ness Mechanism for Looms, 1871 ; Auto- 
matic Heat Regulator, 1876; Universal 
Lathe Chuck, 1877; Upright Drilling Ma- 



chine, 1878; Blacksmith's Drilling Ma- 
chine, 1883; Telephone Switch, 1890. The 
most valuable of these was the Machin- 
ist Tool patent for upright drills, which 
from the very start proved to be a valuable 
improvement in machinist tools, being used 
extensively in first-class machine shops in 
the United States and Europe. One firm 
in Worcester, under a royalty paid to Mr. 
Plummer, accumulated a fortune in the 
manufacture of these drilling machines, 
thereby adding to the many industries for 
which Worcester is noted. 

Since his retirement from an active busi- 
ness life of thirty-eight years, Mr. Plum- 
mer has occupied a large part of his time 
in photography. In 1891, as a member of 
a touring party that visited the principal cit- 
ies and towns of Old 2^Iexico, he person- 
ally secured more than one hundred nega- 
tives of scenery and people that com- 
prise a very valuable collection. At the re- 
quest of school authorities he allowed slides 
to be made of six dozen for use in the 
schools in Worcester. During his experi- 
ence as a photographer, he has been suc- 
cessful in discovering a process of toning 
that is known as wet plate lantern slides, 
that rivals the process formerly held exclu- 
sively by Levey & Son, of Paris, France, to 
whom many plates were sent across the 
ocean for treatment. Mr. Plummer spent 
three months of constant study to discover 
this method, which is used exclusively by 
the United States Government at Washing- 
ton, and is known only to the chief operator 
there, to whom it was communicated by Mr. 
Plummer, who is always given a warm wel- 
come at the photographers headquarters in 
Washington. Mr. Plummer has a valua- 
ble collection of all the known butterflies 
in New England. He has spent considera- 
ble time in the study of geology, and his cab- 
inet of minerals collected by himself in 
many states of the Union is not excelled by 
any private collection in Worcester at least. 



184 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In politics Mr. Plummer is a Republican. 
He has always taken a keen interest in the 
public affairs of Worcester, and was espe- 
cially prominent in the movement to build 
a new city hall on the common. The fol- 
lowing extract from the book published by 
the City Council, entitled "The New City 
Hall," in 1899, is official testimony of the 
part he took : "As a matter of history, it 
should be stated that Osgood Plummer was 
the prime mover in this action, and that to 
his determined energy the final outcome in 
the City Hall location is to be ascribed. He 
called the meeting and directed its course. 
A committee with power to act was chosen, 
of which Mr. Plummer was the working 
member. He raised the necessary funds by 
subscription, employed canvassers and di- 
rected the canvass in detail." Another 
quote : "The Editor desires to acknowledge 
his indebtedness to Mr. Osgood Plummer 
for the use of his historical collection of 
newspaper cuttings and other materials re- 
lating to the discussion of a site of the new 
City Hall and the construction of the build- 
ing. Mr. Plummer, with commendable fore- 
sight, carefully preserved all references in 
print and other matter illustrative of 
the undertaking, and arranged them chrono- 
logically in a volume, the contents of which 
it would be impossible to duplicate at the 
present time." There w^ere only one hun- 
dred copies of the City Hall Memorial pub- 
lished, and Mr. Plummer has one which 
was presented to him by the committee in 
charge of the book, and in the book is in- 
scribed the following: "Presented to Os- 
good Plummer Esq. by vote of the com- 
mittee on 'City Hall Memorial' in recogni- 
tion of the valuable service rendered in the 
preparation of this volume. Thomas J. 
Barrett, for the Com., Dec. 16, 1899." The 
present City Hall was dedicated April 28, 
1898. 

Mr. Plummer has been a member of the 
Worcester County Mechanics Association, 



joining April 16, 1856, during the term of 
Hon. Henry S. Washburn as president of 
the association, just after he had finished 
his apprenticeship with Furbush & Cromp- 
ton ; he was a member of the board of di- 
rectors fourteen years, serving as vice-pres- 
ident in 1908, the year he retired from the 
board ; he declined to be a candidate for 
president, a position for which he was 
unanimously recommended by the board of 
directors. Mr. Plummer is a member of 
Morning Star Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, joining in 1863, ^^^ P^st master 
in 1873-74; Worcester Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, since 1865 ; Hiram Council ; Stella 
Chapter, Eastern Star, since 1871, of which 
he is senior initiated member of the or- 
der in Massachusetts. He is the senior past 
master of the Masons in Worcester. He is 
a member of the National Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and hon- 
orary member of Luther Burbank Society 
of Santa Rosa, California. He is a member 
of the First Universalist Parish, Worcester. 
Mr. Plummer married, January 17, 1861, 
Diana Houghton, born September 6, 1837, 
at Woodstock, Maine, and died September 
25, 1905. She was a daughter of Samuel 
Haskell and Betsey G. (Tuell) Houghton, 
of Woodstock, the former named born May 
20, 1802, died December i, 1868, and grand- 
daughter of Moses Houghton, born March 
22, 1781, died October 31, 1847, ^^^ his 
wife, Martha (Haskell) Houghton, born 
February 15, 1780, died April 14, 1833, o^ 
Acton, Massachusetts, and Norway, Maine. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Plummer: i. 
Stella H., born at Worcester, July 28, 1863 ; 
member of Order of the Eastern Star, Tim- 
othy Bigelow Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, and the Massachu- 
setts United States Daughters of 1812. 2. 
Frank Osgood, born April 13, 1872; mar- 
ried, January 15, 1896, Maude Evelyn 
Whaley, of North Sterling, Connecticut ; she 
was born at Texas, Connecticut, Septem- 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 2.2., 1874; child, Dorothy Whaley, born 
at Foster, Rhode Island, February 28, 
1908. 

(VIII) Sarah Allen Plummer, daughter 
of Micajah Sawyer and Betsey or Eliza- 
beth (Haskell) Plummer,* was born Sep- 
tember 3, 1836. She attended public and 
private schools at New Gloucester, Maine. 
In i860 she entered the Woman's College 
(now Worcester Academy) in the city of 
Worcester, Massachusetts, was advanced 
with honor, and later gained the highest 
grade certificate, designated as "Grade A" 
at the Albany, New York, State Normal 
School, followed by a special scientific 
course at the Peter Cooper Institute, in 
Physics and Chemistry. She discovered 
that nature study attracted her more than 
any other pursuit. The way was additionally 
prepared in 1880 by her marriage to an en- 
thusiastic botanist and patriot. Professor 
John Gill Lemmon. For over twenty-five 
years they travelled together and explored 
a vast region of the West American Con- 
tinent, from Alaska to Old Mexico, and to 
the western base of the Rocky Mountains. 
This quest was for the discovery of plants 
new to science, and they contributed to the 
botanic world hundreds of new species and 
several new genera, two of which have been 
dedicated to them, Lemmonia and Plum- 
mera, the highest botanic honor in recogni- 
tion of service given to the science. During 
the explorations into out-of-the-way regions 
often inhabited by native savage tribes and 
w'ild animals, they have had many strange 
and sometimes dangerous experiences. Be- 
tween the years 1880 and 1890 the Apache 
tribe of Indians were very troublesome. Be- 
tween the years 1895 and 1908, they gave 
special observation and study to the native 
trees of California; those relating to for- 
est growth ; issuing illustrated reports for 
the State Board of Forestry, to populariz- 
ing and assisting in the preservation of the 
noble forests. While Professor Lemmon 



was botanist for the State Board of Cali- 
fornia, four years, Mrs. Lemmon's services 
were given as artist (botanic). From time 
to time Mrs. Lemmon issued brochures on 
Marine Algae ; California native ferns and 
sometimes on Forestry, an illustrated book- 
let. During and after our Cuban and Phil- 
ippine wars, she was chairman of the com- 
mittee for compiling and editing an illus- 
trated Record of Red Cross Work on the 
Pacific Slope. In 1884 she was appointed 
chairman for California by the National 
Floral Emblem Society and procured the 
selection, adoption and legalizing of a state 
floral emblem. The California Golden Pop- 
py. At this same time, 1884, Professor and 
Mrs. Lemmon were each appointed special 
commissioners for the New Orleans 
World's Cotton Centennial Exposition, and 
she was also chosen to the added honor in 
the Woman's Department as one of the six 
vice-presidents, having under her super- 
vision nine states and territories. In 1894 
she assisted in the required articles upon 
native flowers in grouping and illustrating 
for the States Series of revised school read- 
ers for California. Previously, in 1891, she 
established in the City and County Hospital 
in San Francisco the first Training School 
for Nurses on the Pacific Coast. While a 
student and teacher in New York City, dur- 
ing the Civil W^ar, every night and morning, 
before and after school hours, Sundays, hol- 
idays and vacations she assisted to nurse 
and care for the sick and wounded soldiers 
in Bellevue Hospital, as a member of the 
Rose Hill Soldiers Association. During her 
early residence in California she established 
the first circulating library in Santa Bar- 
bara, which later she presented to the city 
as the foundation for the present Free Pub- 
lic Library of that place. During the last 
twenty-five years of field work in botany 
she made a large portfolio of hundreds of 
field sketches of flowers in water colors, 
often sketching under great difficulties. They 



186 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



took first prize awards at an Interterritorial 
Exposition and again at a World's Exposi- 
tion in New Orleans in 1884-85. Mrs. 
Lemmon is a member of the Ebell Club of 
Oakland, California ; of the Order of the 
Eastern Star, of the California Woman's 
Press Association and of the Water and 
Forest Association. 

(VIII) Martha Allen Plummer, daughter 
of Micajah Sawyer and Betsey or Elizabeth 
(Haskell) Plummer, was born August 17, 
1838. She was educated in the public 
schools of New Gloucester, Worcester 
Academy, and graduated with honor at the 
Westbrook Seminary, taking first honors in 
English Composition. She taught several 
years in Maine and Massachusetts, taking 
much interest in the public schools of Do- 
ver, Massachusetts, where she served as 
superintendent of schools for nine years. 
She was chosen as delegate from Massa- 
chusetts to the International Educational 
Convention in Washington, held there dur- 
ing President Cleveland's administration. 
She also taught for two winters in the Mis- 
sionary School at Shelter Neck, North Ca- 
rolina, under the auspices of the Woman's 
National Unitarian Alliance, organizing the 
first branch alliance in that State. She ed- 
ited the history of the town of Dover, Mas- 
sachusetts, in the "History of the Towns of 
Norfolk County, Massachusetts." She has 
always been an earnest worker in the 
Unitarian church. She is a member of the 
Order of the Eastern Star, and a member 
of Colonel Timothy Bigelow Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, of 
Worcester. She has been a trustee of Do- 
ver Public Library a number of years, and 
charter member of Dover Grange. She 
married, June 23, 1861, George Draper Ev- 
erett, of Dover, Massachusetts ; he died 
May 4, 1904. Children: i. Sarah E., born 
May 13, 1862, at Dover, married, January 
I, 1883, John M. Humphrey, and has one 
child, Vivian, born in Rochester, New 



Hampshire, August 28, 1891. 2. Martha 
Everett, born November 16, 1863; n^ar- 
ried, June 26, 1888, Rev. Charles E. St. 
John ; children : Everett, born March 27, 
1889; Harold, July 25, 1892; Lyman and 
Prescott Keyes, twins. May 8, 1899, the 
former died February 24, 1900, and the lat- 
ter February 26, 1900. 3. Edward Plum- 
mer, born September 2, 1865, ^'s<^ J^^Y ^y 
1874. 4. Charles Crandall, born September 
II, 1871. 5. George Osgood, born March 
6, 1874, died December 15, 1891. 

(VIII) Seth Haskell Plummer, son of 
Micajah Sawyer and Betsey or Elizabeth 
(Haskell) Plummer, was born in New 
Gloucester, Maine, January 8, 1845. When 
about thirteen years of age, he accompanied 
his parents to Dover, Massachusetts. He 
attended the country and village schools, 
worked on his father's farm and clerked 
in his father's store in Dover, also in other 
stores. In September, 1862, he removed to 
Davenport, Iowa, and there clerked in the 
book and stationery store of his brother, 
Charles, for about eight years. Soon after 
the great Chicago fire, he went to that city 
in the employ of the purchasers office of the 
Rock Island Railroad, where he remained 
one season, then returned to Davenport and 
soon after engaged in the retail boot and 
shoe trade, which proved a profitable ven- 
ture until hard times ruined all retail bus- 
iness in the West, and caused him to close 
out his business. In the fall of 1876, four 
years after his marriage, he removed to Dal- 
las, Texas, where he spent several months 
prospecting, but not being favorably im- 
pressed returned to Davenport, in the spring 
of 1877, where he engaged in his former 
trade, boots and shoes, which he again 
closed out and accepted the management of 
the Frazer Coal Yards, then the leading 
yards in that city, in which capacity he con- 
tinued until October, 1882, when he located 
in Huron, then Territory of Dakota, and be- 
came the chief clerk in the United States 



187 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Land ofifice, filling the position until the 
Cleveland administration came into power, 
which caused a general change in the office 
force. He then became deputy county 
treasurer of Beadle county, serving one 
term, after which he accepted a position 
with a farm investment company, with 
whom he remained for nearly twenty-eight 
years, filling many positions with them as a 
trusted confident, advisor and cashier. He 
continued with that company until after the 
death of two of its members and closed 
the business for the survivors. He then be- 
came interested as a district manager for 
a new commercial agency, he being located 
at Rockford, Illinois, while the agency had 
its home office in Chicago, and owing to 
crooked work in the general office the 
agency was short-lived. After the firm 
went out of business, Mr. Plummer and his 
wife spent more than a year in California 
and Omaha, Nebraska, but without any spe- 
cial employment, and in the summer of 
1914 located in the village of Coopersville, 
Michigan, having twenty acres of land. 
While a resident of Davenport, Mr. Plum- 
mer joined the Masonic fraternity, shortly 
after his twenty-first birthday, and before 
he attained his twenty-second year he be- 
came a Knights Templar and a thirty-sec- 
ond degree Masoxi, being a charter member 
of the consistory located in Davenport. He 
filled various chairs in the several bodies, 
was twice master of Trinity Lodge and de- 
clined two re-elections ; served as comman- 
der of the commandery of Knights Templar 
at Davenport, and also the first commander 
of the commandery at Huron, Dakota Ter- 
ritory. He was admitted to the Scott county, 
Iowa, bar as an attorney-at-law at the Sep- 
tember term of court in 1882, but only used 
the knowledge as an assistance in business. 
Mr. Plummer married, October 16, 1872, 
Mary Frances McConnell, of Davenport, 
Iowa. Children: i. Edith May, born in 
Davenport, Iowa, May 16, 1878; she mar- 



ried, July 2, 1900, at Huron, South Dakota, 
Millard Victor Robins; children: Edward 
Plummer, born August 29, 1908, and Edith 
Victoria, born at Huron, South Dakota; 
they reside in Omaha, Nebraska. 2. Perry 
Haskell, born at Davenport, Iowa, Septem- 
ber II, 1882; is a practicing dentist, resid- 
ing in Rockford, Illinois ; married Kather- 
ine Dougherty ; child. Perry Haskell, Jr., 
born at Rockford, Illinois. 



TUCKER, Albert Moody, 

Professor of Mt. Holyoke College. 

Although yet a young man, Mr. Tucker 
has attained high position as a performer 
on the pipe organ. He has for several years 
been associated with Mt. Holyoke College, 
where among his other duties he plays the 
organ in the beautiful college chapel. The 
Tucker name dates in New England from 
Robert Tucker, from whom Albert M. 
Tucker descends in lineal line. 

( I ) Robert Tucker married in Weymouth, 
Massachusetts, about 1635, having come 
there from England. Later he moved to 
Gloucester, Massachusetts, where he held 
the office of recorder. He returned to 
Weymouth, held several town offices, but 
about 1662 moved to Milton, Massa- 
chusetts, and purchased in different lots 
all adjoining lands aggregating about 
one hundred and seventeen acres. He 
was town clerk of Milton for several years, 
and as the first records of the town are in 
his handwriting he must also have been re- 
corder. He represented Milton in the Gen- 
eral Court for several years; was active 
in the church and a good citizen. He died 
March 11, 1682, aged seventy-eight years. 
He married Elizabeth Allen, and they were 
the parents of ten children. The line of 
descent to Albert M. Tucker, of South Had- 
ley, Massachusetts, is through Ephraim, 
the seventh child and fourth son. 

(II) Ephraim Tucker, son of Robert 



[88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Tucker, the founder, was born in 1652, in 
Weymouth, Massachusetts, it is beHeved. 
He was made a freeman in 1678, was town 
clerk and selectman of Milton for many 
years, and on July 31, 1698, was elected a 
deacon of the Milton church. He married, 
September zy, 1688, Hannah Gulliver, they 
the parents of two sons, Ephraim (2) and 
Stephen. 

(III) Stephen Tucker, of the third gen- 
eration, son of Ephraim and Hannah (Gul- 
liver) Tucker, was born in Milton, Massa- 
chusetts, April 8, 1 691. He settled in Pres- 
ton, Connecticut, in 1715, his brother 
Ephraim settling in Woodstock, Con- 
necticut, the same year. Stephen Tuck- 
er married, August 30, 171 6, Hannah 
Belcher, born in Milton, died in Preston, 
February 28, 1745. They were the parents 
of two sons, William and Ephraim, who 
grew to maturity and reared families. 

(IV) Ephraim (2) Tucker, son of Ste- 
phen and Hannah (Belcher) Tucker, was 
born in Milton, Massachusetts, about 1740. 
He settled in Preston, Connecticut, and 
there resided until his death. He was 
a Loyalist during the Revolution. The sil- 
ver knee buckles he wore were melted and 
run into spoons which descended to his 
great-granddaughter, Mrs. William H. 
Bartlett, of Worcester, Massachusetts. He 
married and had a daughter Cynthia, and 
a son Ephraim, of further mention. 

(V) Ephraim (3) Tucker, son of Eph- 
raim (2) Tucker, was born July 21, 1786, 
in that part of Preston, Connecticut, which 
was set off to Griswold in 1815. He mar- 
ried September 5, 1810, Mary (Polly) 
Coit, born September 26, 1786. They were 
the parents of Ephraim, married Sapphira 
Hall ; Cynthia Barstow, married Moses 
Lyman ; William Coit, of further mention ; 
Caroline M., married Caleb Howard Stick- 
ney ; Samuel, born June 7, 1823; Mary 
Jane, twin with Samuel, married Increase 
S. Waite. 



(VI) William Coit Tucker, son of Eph- 
raim (3) and Mary (Coit) Tucker, was 
born in Griswold (Preston), Connecticut, 
February 11, 1818, and died at Ludlow, 
Massachusetts, in 1902. He was a farmer 
by occupation, residing at Montgomery and 
Westfield, Massachusetts, during his active 
years ; married at Huntington, Massachu- 
setts, Laura Moore, May 8, 1851. They 
were the parents of three sons: i. Myron 
William, of further mention. 2, Oscar 
Dwight, married, February 19, 1885, Ella 
Sheldon, and their children are : Orland 
W., born October 24, 1888, married, April 
8, 19 1 6, Ida Strong, and has a daughter, 
Ruth Alice Tucker, born March 15, 1916; 
Evelyn, born February 25, 1896; Laura, 
February 11, 1898. 3. Elmer, who died 
young. 

(VII) Myron William Tucker, son of 
William Coit Tucker, was born in Mont- 
gomery, Massachusetts, February 11, 1854. 
He attended public schools in Montgomery, 
but when still a boy his parents moved to 
Westfield where he attended the graded 
and high schools. Upon leaving school, he 
went to Chicopee, Massachusetts, there 
learning and for several years following the 
baking business. His health did not war- 
rant his remaining in so confining a busi- 
ness, and to get the benefit of out-of-doors 
life he located on a farm at South Hadley 
Falls, which he now owns and devotes to 
small fruits, market gardening and poul- 
try raising. He is a Republican in politics, 
and both he and his wife are members 
of the Congregational church. Mr. Tucker 
married Julia M. Moody, born at Granby, 
Massachusetts, September 16, 1857, daugh- 
ter of Albert Moody, born in Granby, April 
I, 1821, eldest son of Quartus Moody, born 
June 30, 1793, and Mary (Towne) Moody, 
born November 29, 1799, who were married 
April 13, 1820. Quartus and Mary 
(Towne) Moody had another son, Jonathan 
Fayette, born November 2^, 1825, died July 



189 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



31, 1850, and a daughter, Mary Irene, born 
May 12, 1831, died October 10, 1851. Al- 
bert Moody, a life long farmer of Granby, 
died at South Hadley Falls, June 30, 1895. 
He married Grace M. Stebbins, born at 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, October 3, 
1821, died at South Hadley Falls, February 
7, 1889, fifth child of Henry Stebbins, born 
July 16, 1785, at Belchertown, died Octo- 
ber 3, 1857, and Anna (Jones) Stebbins, 
born at Hebron, Connecticut, April 22, 
1788, died March 10, 1865, who were mar- 
ried at Hebron, May 18, 1812. Two of the 
sons of Mr. and Mrs. Moody, Henry Fay- 
ette and Charles Jones Moody, reside in 
W'estfield, ^Massachusetts. Julia M., wife of 
Myron W. Tucker, resides in South Hadley 
Falls, the others are all deceased. Myron 
W. and Julia M. Tucker are the parents of 
two sons : Albert Moody, of further men- 
tion ; Merton Myron, born at Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, February 10, 1884, educat- 
ed in South Hadley Falls graded and high 
schools, connected for some years with the 
General Electric Company at Schenectady, 
New York, now connected with the Sche- 
nectady post office, a position gained after 
a competitive civil service examination. 

(VTII) Albert Moody Tucker, eldest son 
of Myron William Tucker, was born at 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, October 13, 1881. 
The family moved to South Hadley Falls 
in 1885 and there he completed his public 
school course with graduation from high 
school, class of 1900. From youth he dis- 
played unusual interest in music and an 
ability which justified a musical education. 
He developed his talent under the best lo- 
cal instruction, then chose the pipe organ 
as his special instrument. He studied un- 
der S. P. Warren, of New York City, a 
master organist, and then spent eighteen 
months in Paris studying under those two 
French masters, Guilmant and Swayne. He 
then returned to the United States, and is 
now (1918) associate professor in the de- 



partment of music at i\It. Holyoke Col- 
lege, South Hadley, Massachusetts. He 
has been organist in several prominent 
churches and presides at the organ in the 
beautiful college chapel. 

Mr. Tucker has made several journeys 
abroad in the interest of his art, studying 
in the musical centres of England, France, 
Italy, Switzerland and Germany. His last 
trip abroad was just prior to the outbreak 
of the European W^ar in 191 4, being in 
France when the Germans began the war 
with their drive upon the French capital. 
He speaks both French and German fluent- 
ly, his knowledge of these languages having 
greatly facilitated his foreign study. He 
also made a trip of three months' duration 
in the West. For a good share of the time 
he was a guest of Professor Lines, form- 
erly instructor in economics at Mount Hol- 
yoke College, and who now owns a ranch 
in Columbus, Montana. On the return trip, 
Mr. Tucker spent a week in San Francisco. 
Mr. Tucker also spent a few days in Salt 
Lake City, where he inspected the big or- 
gan, recently rebuilt by Austen of Hartford. 
He has devoted his life to his art and is 
one of the well known organists of this sec- 
tion. He is a member of the American 
Guild of Organists and of the Holyoke Ca- 
noe Club. 



WOOLLEY, Mary Emma, LL. D., 

President of Mt. Holyoke College. 

As educator, college president and littera- 
teur. Miss Mary Emma Woolley has fairly 
won her way to eminence, and ranks as one 
of the representative women of the world 
in an age in which there is no dearth of bril- 
liant minds among the sex. 

On paternal lines President Woolley 
descends from Joseph Woolley, bom in 
1800, in a Spanish town on the Island of 
Jamaica, West Indies, and who at the age 
of twelve years was sent to New York to 



190 



1 M V J I* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



be educated. Joseph Woolley's father died 
not long after the sending of his son to the 
United States. When he attained suitable 
age he learned the cabinet maker's trade, 
located in Bridgeport, Connecticut, there 
attained a good position, and married Fan- 
ny Burroughs, born April 7, 1804, daugh- 
ter of Captain Stephen (3) Burroughs, of 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, granddaughter of 
Captain Stephen (2) Burroughs, a captain 
of the Revolution, and great-granddaughter 
of Stephen (i) Burroughs. Joseph and 
Fanny (Burroughs) Woolley were the par- 
ents of John ; Georgianna, married Charles 
Beatty ; Joseph Judah, of further mention ; 
and William. 

Rev. Joseph Judah Woolley was born in 
Bridgeport, Connecticut, in 1832, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, July i, 1906. 
He became an eminent minister of the Con- 
gregational church, and during both the 
Civil and Spanish-American wars volun- 
teered his services, serving as chaplain. He 
continued in the active ministry until his 
death. He married Mary Augusta Ferris, 
born March 4, 1838, died March 28, 1905. 
Children: Mary Emma, of further men- 
tion ; Erving Yale, married Mary E. Da- 
vis and has children : Paul and Mary E. ; 
Frank Ferris, married Harriet Wright, they 
the parents of Frank Ferris (2), Janet, 
Eleanor, and Grace E., who died when a 
child. 

Through her grandmother, Fanny (Bur- 
roughs) Woolley, President Woolley traces 
descent to Robert Burroughs, of Weth- 
ersfield, Connecticut, who is descended from 
the Burroughs family long seated in Devon- 
shire, England. A noted representative of 
that family was Captain Burroughs, the 
navigator, who in 1553 commanded one of 
the vessels of the ill fated expedition at- 
tempting to find a passage to China by the 
Nova Zembla route. Captain Burroughs 
alone brought his vessel in safety into the 
White Sea, and from that event dates Eng- 

19; 



land's commercial relations with Russia. 
Another Burroughs of the Devonshire fam- 
ily, "Clerk and Comptroller of the Queen's 
Navy," received a grant of a coat-of-arms 
in 1586, described as: Azure a bend wavy 
argent between two fleurs-de-lis ermine. 

Robert Burroughs, of Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, married Mary, widow of Samuel 
Ireland, and removed to New London, 
Connecticut; had (with perhaps other chil- 
dren) a son John, born in New London, 
Connecticut. He married there Mary, 
daughter of John Culver. John (2) Bur- 
roughs, eldest child of John ( i ) Burroughs, 
was born in New London, Connecticut, Sep- 
tember 2, 1 67 1. Removing in early man- 
hood to Stratford, Fairfield county, Con- 
necticut, he became a prominent citizen of 
that community and one of its most enter- 
prising men. In 1707 he purchased a half 
proprietorship in a grist mill, with a dwell- 
ing and several acres of land from John 
Seeley, who had built the mill — the first 
on the Pequonnock river — in 1697; and 
in 1 710 he bought Seeley's remaining in- 
terest. Throughout the remainder of his 
life he was a prosperous farmer and miller. 
He married Patience, daughter of Edward 
Hinman, of Stratford. Stephen Burroughs, 
eldest child of John (2) Burroughs, was 
born in Stratford, February 25, 1695. He 
inherited the paternal homestead, and also 
received a "double portion" of the estate. 
Subsequently by purchase from his sis- 
ters, he became the sole owner of the mill 
property. In addition to his possessions in 
Stratford, he had lands "in Rocky Hill, in 
the mountains of Cornwall and on the 
plains of Wallingford." He married, March 
3, 1720, Ruth, daughter of Abraham Nich- 
ols, a leading citizen and member of a 
wealthy family of Stratford. 

Stephen (2) Burroughs, known as Cap- 
tain Stephen Burroughs, and also as Ste- 
phen Burroughs, the astronomer, fourth 
child of Stephen ( i ) Burroughs, was born 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Rocky Hill, now North Bridgeport, Oc- 
tober 4, 1729. He was a man of extraor- 
dinary mathematical attainments, which ap- 
parently were acquired without the ad- 
vantage of any formal educational train- 
ing. Among his literary reviews, possessed 
by his descendants, is his "Navigation 
Book," bearing date 1749 (when he was 
only twenty), which contains intricate trig- 
onometrical problems, worked out by log- 
arithms, for use in trigonometry. He con- 
tinued his astronomical studies with great 
zeal to the end of his life, made numerous 
calculations for almanacs, and was engaged 
in the compilation of an extended work on 
astronomy, which he was obliged to suspend 
by the loss of his eyesight when about sev- 
enty years old. To him has been attributed 
the invention of the decimal monetary sys- 
tem of the United States. According to 
Isaac Sherman, Mr. Burroughs made the 
original proposal in that direction and sub- 
mitted it to Hon. William Samuel John- 
son, "who after understanding its simplic- 
ity and great convenience, caused it to be 
brought before Congress in 1784, when he 
was a member of that body." He possessed 
an unusually large and varied library for 
those times, a portion of which is now pre- 
served in the Burroughs Public Library in 
Bridgeport. The scientific and scholarly 
pursuits of Stephen Burroughs were, how- 
ever, only incidental to a life of great ac- 
tivity and success in practical affairs. He 
was the principal merchant of the locality, 
and his establishment at the Burroughs 
Landing at Rocky Hill was the centre of the 
shipping business of the Pequonnock river. 
The manuscript records of his transactions, 
kept with scrupulous care, are of great 
historical value for the information which 
they afford about the circumstances and 
usages of life and society in Connecticut 
during the latter half of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. In the Revolution he was an earnest 
patriot and raised a military company, 



known as the Householders, of which he 
was captain. He was twice a representative 
in the General Assembly, and for many 
years was justice of the peace. He died 
August 2, 1 81 7, on his eighty-eighth birth- 
day anniversary. Captain Burroughs mar- 
ried (first) May 22, 1760, Elizabeth 
Browne, who died December 4, 1764, of a 
"very excellent family" of Stratford, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Browne, and sister of Anne 
Browne, who married Wolcott Chauncey 
and was the mother of the famous Commo- 
dore Isaac Chauncey, of the United States 
Navy. He married (second) December 
II, 1765, Huldah, daughter of Peter Pix- 
lee. and widow of Jeremiah Judson. 

Stephen (3) Burroughs, second child of 
Stephen (2) Burroughs (by his first mar- 
riage) was born March 5, 1763. He was a 
merchant in Bridgeport, captain of coasting 
vessels, and also made several voyages in 
the trade with China. He married (first) 
March, 1792, Mary, daughter of Levi Jen- 
nings, of Boston; (second) November, 
1812, Pamelia (Turney) Higby, of Trum- 
bull, Connecticut, widow of Dr. Higby. 

Fanny Burroughs, eighth child of Cap- 
tain Stephen (3) Burroughs, and his first 
wife, Mary (Jennings) Burroughs, was born 
in Bridgeport, Connecticut, April 7, 1804, 
married Joseph Woolley, of Bridgeport, 
Connecticut. 

Dr. Mary Emma Woolley, of the third 
generation of Woolleys in the United 
States, and of the ninth American genera- 
tion of Burroughs, was born in South Nor- 
walk. Connecticut, July 13, 1863. After 
graduation from Wheaton Seminary, Nor- 
ton, Massachusetts, she continued at the 
Seminary as an instructor, 1 886-1 891, then 
entered Brown University, whence she was 
graduated with the Bachelor's degree, class 
of "94." She returned to Brown University 
the following year, did post-graduate work 
and was awarded the Master's degree with 
the class of "95." The same year she was 
92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



appointed instructor of Biblical History at 
Wellesley College, and as associate profes- 
sor served during the period, 1896- 1899. 
During the year 1899- 1900 she was profes- 
sor and head of the department of Biblical 
History and Literature, retaining that chair 
until her election in 1900 to the presidency 
of Mt. Holyoke College, a position of honor 
and responsibility she most ably fills, her 
executive service to the institution having 
been continuous since that time until the 
present (1917). The same year, 1900, 
Brown University conferred the degree 
Litt. D., and Amherst College, L. H. D. In 
1910 Smith College conferred LL. D., and 
Yale University the honorary degree of A. 
M. in 1914. 

There are few avenues of usefulness 
open to women which do not engage Miss 
Woolley's attention. She is a member of 
Current Opinion Scholarship Fund Com- 
mittee ; Senate of the United Chapter of 
the Phi Beta Kappa Society ; Brown Uni- 
versity and Mount Holyoke Chapter of Phi 
Beta Kappa Society ; Board of Governors 
at Christian College for Women, Madras, 
India ; Managing Committee of the Amer- 
ican School of Oriental Research in Jeru- 
salem; Board of Electors of the Hall of 
Fame ; American Association for Maintain- 
ing a Woman's Table at Naples ; American 
Academy of Political and Social Science ; 
College Entrance Examination Board ; 
Board of Trustees of Lake Erie College, 
Painesville, Ohio; Board of Trustees of 
American International College, Spring- 
field, Massachusetts ; Rhode Island Society 
for the Collegiate Education of Women; 
Northeastern Territorial Committee of Na- 
tional Board of Young Women's Christian 
Association; Church Peace Union; Board 
of Directors of National Institute for Moral 
Instruction; Society of Biblical Literature 
and Exegesis; Advisory Board of the In- 
tercollegiate Bureau of Occupation in New 



York City ; Polish University Grants' Com- 
mittee ; Board of Missionary Preparation; 
Corporate Member of the American Board 
of Commissioners for Foreign Missions 
(191 7) ; American Section of the Commit- 
tee on Christian Education in the Mission 
Field ; Committee of Religious Education of 
the National Council of Congregational 
Churches ; Woman's Peace Party ; Na- 
tional Council American Institute of So- 
cial Service ; Advisory Committee of Stand- 
ing Committee of Habit-Forming Drugs 
(American Public Health Association) ; 
Women's Woodrow Wilson League ; Cur- 
tis Guild Memorial Committee ; Advisory 
Council Massachusetts Association for La- 
bor Legislation ; Charter Member of the 
Church Peace League ; Central Organiza- 
tion for a Durable Peace; Association of 
Collegiate Alumnae; Lyceum Club, Lon- 
don ; Association of Collegiate Alumnae, 
Rhode Island Branch ; Woman's Cosmo- 
politan Club, New York City; Woman's 
University Club, New York City; Paw- 
tucket Chapter of the Daughters of the 
American Revolution. She is an honorary 
member of Salem Society for Higher Ed- 
ucation of Women; New England Women's 
Press Association; Boston College Club; 
Springfield Club; Pawtucket Women's 
Club; Sorosis. She is vice-president of 
Constantinople College Association; Wom- 
an's Home Missionary Association ; Rhode 
Island Branch Woman's Board of Mis- 
sions; Religious Educational Association 
(also Director-at-large) ; American School 
Peace League; American Peace Societies; 
Massachusetts Branch of the Peace Socie- 
ty ; League to Enforce Peace; and honor- 
ary vice-president of the National Consum- 
er's League; Massachusetts Woman's Suf- 
frage League ; Massachusetts Audubon So- 
ciety. She is the author of historical mon- 
ographs, "Early History of the Colonial 
Post Office," "Development of the Love of 



MASS.— 7— 13. 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Romantic Scenery in America," "History 
of the Passover Scandal," and many edu- 
cational articles. 



HANLEY, Francis J., 

Physician and Surgeon. 

The State of Massachusetts with its 
highly specialized educational system and 
rapid industrial development demands that 
practitioners of any profession be men of 
sound training and marked ability. It is 
in this way that its progress has been aided 
and its high rank among the states main- 
tained. The medical profession is no ex- 
ception among the others and to be admitted 
to practice in this State is proof that ed- 
ucation and ability have been thoroughly 
tested. 

Dr. Francis J. Hanley, to whom this re- 
view is devoted, is a physician in Whitman, 
to whom the county owes its gratitude on 
account of his faithful and efificient ser- 
vice. Martin and Elizabeth Hanley, par- 
ents of Dr. Francis J. Hanley, are residents 
of Massachusetts and have spent their en- 
tire lives in the vicinity of Boston. For 
many years Mr. Hanley was engaged in the 
Reynolds Woolen Mills, of Monson, Mas- 
sachusetts, where his services were much 
appreciated by his employers to whom he 
gave his most devoted attention. He had 
the honor of being a member of the Fifty- 
seventh New York Regiment during the 
Civil War. He is now retired from active 
business cares, and for the past several 
years has made his home in Middleboro, 
Massachusetts. 

Dr. Francis J. Hanley received his early 
education in the public schools of Hins- 
dale, Massachusetts, where his birth occur- 
red on January lo, 1869. After completing 
the courses given by the public schools he 
was sent to Monson Academy, where he 
prepared to matriculate at the Georgetown 
University. During his college career at 



the latter institution he decided to take up 
the practice of medicine later in life. He 
selected his courses with that end in view. 
After receiving his degree he entered Jef- 
ferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, where he remained the full four 
years, familiarizing himself not only with 
the general medical practice but with sur- 
gery also. His high rank among his asso- 
ciate physicians is particularly emphasized 
by the fact -that he is not only a member 
of many medical organizations, but also dif- 
rector, officer and trustee of several of these 
societies. This shows his desire to keep 
abreast with the latest developments in med- 
ical science, as well as his desire to assist 
others in gaining all possible benefits from 
fraternal intercourse with their fellow prac- 
titioners. Thus Dr. Hanley is not only ex- 
tremely busy and successful, but is also 
in great demand socially in these organi- 
zations. Being interested in education be- 
yond that of the medical profession, he has 
for ten years held the position of trustee of 
the Whitman Public Library. He is a mem- 
ber of the Plymouth County, Massachusetts 
and Brockton Medical societies ; Massachu- 
setts Society for Examining Physicians and 
Surgeons ; Boston City Club and Samoset 
Club of Whitman ; Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks ; Whitman Council ; 
Knights of Columbus ; Sons of Veterans ; 
George A. Custer Camp of Whitman. He 
is the medical director of Massachusetts 
Catholic Order of Foresters, trustee of the 
Knights of Columbus Bed in Carney Hos- 
pital, Boston ; and past grand knight of 
Whitman Council, Knights of Columbus. 
Following the religion of his parents, both 
Dr. Hanley and his family have always been 
members of the Roman Catholic church. 

On November 17, 1897, Dr. Hanley mar- 
ried Mary E. McGovern, daughter of James 
and Elizabeth McGovern, of Dorchester, 
Massachusetts. They are the parents of 



194 




Gv . y . J^(nrU^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



two children: Edward J., whose birth oc- 
curred February 27, 1903, and Francis J., 
Jr., whose birth occurred May 11, 1906. 



FLOODY, Robert John, D. D., 

Clergyman, Reformer. 

While the late Rev. Dr. Robert John 
Floody, of Worcester, Massachusetts, will 
be remembered because of his Christian 
work, his deep study into the religious lore 
of the ancients, he will be most popularly 
recalled and his memory revered by the 
thousands of boys in America for whom 
he opened a way for better living, greater 
ambition and higher places in the world as 
men. 

Dr. Floody was a native of Cartright, 
Canada, son of Charles and Hannah (Vir- 
tue) Floody, and a descendant of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry. He obtained his early edu- 
cation in the public schools of his native 
town, graduating from the High School. 
He then entered the Teacher's Training 
School and there received excellent prepa- 
ration for the vocation of teacher and pre- 
pared for pedagogical work, for which he 
was eminently qualified because he was 
possessed of those rare attainments which 
seem to make easier the grasping and re- 
taining of knowledge by the young. After 
serving in this work two years, he was 
impelled to the higher services of the 
Christian ministry and matriculated at Mc- 
Gill University. He entered upon his min- 
isterial work in 1886, accepting an ap- 
pointment to the Gladwin (Michigan) 
Methodist Church, and later was transfer- 
red to the Olivet Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Michigan. Three years later, he 
was ordained and made a member of the 
Michigan Conference. His experience with 
the world thus far convinced him that his 
ambitions could be accomplished in a far 
greater degree by deeper study in Arts and 
Sciences and he entered Albion College, 



graduating therefrom in 1890 with the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Science. He then be- 
came a student in Boston University and 
graduated in 1894 with the degree of Bach- 
elor of Sacred Theology. The same year he 
was awarded the degree of Master of Sci- 
ence by Albion College, and in 1910 his 
Alma Abater conferred upon him the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity. In 1892 he 
became a member of the American Asso- 
ciation for the Advancement of Science and 
on several occasions was called upon to 
prepare and read papers for that body. 

Dr. Floody was a scholar and a deep 
thinker. He studied well the higher sci- 
ences that brought him a broader knowl- 
edge of life and the psychology of living. 
He devoted much time to literature and left 
behind him four books unfinished, regarded 
as remarkable in their literary merit, and 
his finished work "Scientific Basis of Sab- 
bath and Sunday" which is known as the 
standard work upon this subject. His great- 
est work, certainly the most popular work 
of his lifetime, was the origination of the 
Garden City movement. In 1906 he organ- 
ized the Worcester Social Settlement As- 
sociation with the object of helping to- 
ward bettering life for the residents of 
the tenement districts of Worcester. This 
was perhaps the beginning of the great- 
er idea, for the next year he began 
the Garden City Movement which is still 
carried on and bears the name "Wor- 
cester Garden City Incorporate." His 
primary motive behind this work w^as to 
lessen crime among the juvenile residents 
of the city, which had been increasing at an 
alarming rate, and to teach the young some 
of the most valuable lessons for better life. 
This work resulted in the organization of 
miniature cities for boys and girls, where 
they governed themselves under the Amer- 
ican Municipal Government plan, trans- 
forming dumping grounds into productive 
gardens and instilling in their young minds 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the principles of good citizenship in their 
Httle communities in the belief that these 
lessons would serve to make them better 
when they reached the age of the greater 
responsibilities of citizenship. He gave not 
only of his time but of his substance to 
make this work effective and permanent 
and, as carried on by his wife after his 
death, it has spread far and near ; and the 
little community of youngsters of the poor 
established in 1907 seems to have been the 
foundation upon which the work for great 
good and far-reaching influence is being 
built. Dr. Floody's life has been summed 
up as that of a forceful example of the 
"Good Samaritan." He seemed to have 
been influenced by this old lesson all his 
life, and at all times was eager to "Go 
forth and do likewise." 

He died May 19, 191 5, and was mourned 
by people of all creeds, and not the least 
of those who felt the personal loss in his 
passing were the boys and girls of Wor- 
cester to whom he had brought better ideals 
and greater ambitions than otherwise would 
have been theirs. 

Dr. Floody married Addelene Beecher, 
daughter of Madison and Harriett (Dewey) 
Beecher, July 20, 1889. 



SMITH, Edward Harper, D. D. S., 
Dental Practitioner. 

The third Dr. Smith to grace the dental 
profession of Holyoke, Dr. Edward Harper 
Smith, as a student under and associate 
with his honored father. Dr. Daniel Her- 
bert Smith, gladly acknowledges the debt 
he owes to that wise, helpful father in guid- 
ing his early professional years. Dr. Smith, 
the elder, was one of the pioneer dentists 
of Holyoke, his practice in that city dat- 
ing from 1872. He was well known and 
beloved by the older generation, and is 
remembered for his professional skill, his 
gentleness, unfailing courtesy and modest 



simplicity. He was an ardent lover of na- 
ture, and every day he could abstract from 
office work found him roving the fields and 
woods, and he knew every tree and every 
form of bird life for miles around Hol- 
yoke. He loved to hunt and to fish, but 
he never hunted the song birds nor any 
useful animal except for food. The second 
Dr. Edward C. Smith, also a dentist, broth- 
er of Dr. Daniel H. Smith, and uncle of 
Dr. Edward H. Smith, the twentieth cen- 
tury representative, left the city in 1886. 
Dr. Daniel H. Smith died in 1914, Dr. Ed- 
ward H. Smith now upholding the family 
professional honor in the city of his birth, 
his practice dating from 1906. 

Dr. Edward H. Smith traces descent from 
William Smith, one of the four related 
Smiths who, with their sister, came to Hart- 
ford, Connecticut : Christopher, moved to 
Northampton and died there; Joseph, set- 
tled in Hartford; Simon; Mary, became 
the wife of William Partridge, and moved 
to Hatfield, Massachusetts; William, the 
ancestor of this branch, moved to Weath- 
ersfield, Connecticut, and in 1648 was made 
clerk of the train band. In 1649 he moved 
to Middletown, Connecticut; in 1655 to 
Farmington, Connecticut, where he died in 
1671. William Smith married, August 16, 
1644. Elizabeth Standly, daughter of Tim- 
othy Standly. Children : Jonathan, born 
January 26, 1647, ^ soldier in King Philip's 
War, killed by the Indians at Hatfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 30, 1676; Johannah, born 
June 2, 1649, died May 30, 1676; Susan- 
nah, born March 20, 165 1 ; Elizabeth, May 
20, 1653; Mehitable, twin with Elizabeth; 
Joseph, August 25, 1655; Benjamin, of 
further mention; William, April, 1661, and 
Samuel, May, 1664. 

Benjamin Smith was born in Farming- 
ton, Connecticut, April 11, 1658, died in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1738. 
He married (second) Hannah Loomis, a 
sister of his first wife, and was the found- 



196 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



er of this branch of the Springfield-Hol- 
yoke district of Massachusetts. Children : 
William; Ruth, born February 8, 1684; 
Benjamin, February 14, 1686; Samuel, 
August 24, 1689; Elizabeth, February 14, 
1692; Rachel, October 25, 1694; Jonathan, 
of further mention ; Job, December 29, 
1700; Mary, August 12, 1703. 

Jonathan Smith was born October 20, 
1697, and died in West Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, February 9, 1772. He married 
Margaret Ball, daughter of Samuel Ball. 
Children: Jonathan, born June 27, 1729; 
David, August 12, 1731 ; Margaret, De- 
cember 10, 1733; Solomon, May 20, 1737; 
Daniel, of further mention; Caleb, Septem- 
ber 17, 1743; Simeon, March 3, 1750. 

Daniel Smith was born June 20, 1739, 
and died March 6, 1808. He married, June 
30, 1766, Mary Noble, born August 19, 
1738. Children : Son, died aged nine years ; 
Mary, born February 26, 1768, died July 2, 
1836; Daniel, of further mention; Electa, 
born December 25, 1772, died July 15, i860; 
Enoch, born May 20, 1775, died Novem- 
ber 9, 1847; Anna, born June 21, 1778, 
died November 11, 1858. 

Daniel (2) Smith was born April 9, 
1770, and died December 11, 1845. He 
married, December 18, 1801, Sarah Day, 
daughter of John and Rhoda (Chapin) 
Day. Children : Sally, born October 19, 
1802, died December 13, 1880; John Day, 
born February 19, 1805, died January 10, 
1899; Thankful, February i, 1807, died 
April 9, 1888; Mary Ann, October 3, 1809, 
died January 21, 1884; Rhoda Chapin, born 
April 9, 1812, died July 29, 1882; Daniel, 
of further mention. 

Daniel (3) Smith was born February 9, 
1816, and died April 28, 1897. He married, 
December 21, 1840, Lou Luce, daughter 
of George W. Luce, of Martha's Vineyard, 
Massachusetts. Children : Sarah Elizabeth, 
born August i, 1842; Edward Chapin, born 
October 26, 1843, ^i^d July 21, 1902; 



George Edy, born February i, 1846; Daniel 
Herbert, of further mention; Henry Au- 
gustus, born August 23, 1851, died Janu- 
ary 4, 1908. 

Daniel Herbert Smith was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, February 23, 
1848, and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
November 19, 191 4. He was educated in 
Springfield schools and Westfield State 
Normal School, a graduate of the latter in- 
stitution. In his younger years he taught 
school for one year in Pittsfield, Massachu- 
setts, then for a time was principal of 
Greenville Academy, New York State. 
While at Greenville he began studying dent- 
istry with his brother, George E. Smith. 
In 1871 he opened an ofhce in South Had- 
ley Falls, but a year later moved his office 
to Holyoke. His first office was in the 
Baker Block, later in the old Prentiss block 
on Main street. In 1874 his brother, Ed- 
ward C. Smith, joined him in practice, and 
the firm of Smith Brothers sprang into be- 
ing, continuing until Edward C. Smith re- 
tired from the firm in 1886, and left the 
city, going to the old farm in West Spring- 
field. Later he practiced in Westfield, then 
retired and his death occurred on the old 
farm. He had one son, Charles H. Smith, 
engaged in the automobile business in New 
London, Connecticut, being the first to open 
a garage there. In 1881, Dr. Daniel H. Smith 
moved his dental offices to No. 235 High 
street, in the old Tilly Building, there con- 
tinuing in practice up to 1899, then moved 
to the Senior Building, now the City Bank 
Building, but wherever located he was the 
leading dentist of the city, serving a large 
and influential clientele, who appreciated his 
skill and gentleness. He continued in ac- 
tive practice up to 191 2, then retired, after 
forty-one years of continuous practice. Dr. 
Daniel H. Smith married, November 15, 
1871, Anna Stevens, born in June, 1848, 
died December 13, 1913, daughter of Orrin 
and Mary (Smith) Stevens, of Greenville, 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



New York. They were the parents of two 
sons : Edward Harper, of further mention ; 
Herbert Daniel, born December 31, 1877, 
died March 6, 1900. 

Dr. Edward Harper Smith, of the eighth 
American generation of the family founded 
in Connecticut by William Smith, and in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts, by his son, 
Benjamin Smith, was born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, December 2, 1874. He was 
educated in Holyoke grade and high 
schools, completing his school years with 
graduation from high school with the class 
of 1893. After working under his father's 
instruction for three years, he entered Phil- 
adelphia Dental College, Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania, whence he was graduated D. D. S., 
class of 1899. After obtaining his degree he 
was associated with a dental practitioner in 
New Jersey for a time, and for six months 
with his father in Holyoke, then on Janu- 
ary I, 1901, he opened ofifices in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, there practicing very suc- 
cessfully until 1906, when he returned to 
Holyoke and there succeeded to the honors 
and emoluments so long enjoyed by his 
honored father, whose skill and popularity 
have fallen upon his son. He is a thorough 
master of the practice of modern dentistry, 
and is highly rated in his profession. He is 
a member of William Whitney Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; the Bay State Club, 
ex-trustee ; Holyoke Canoe Club ; the City, 
State and National Dental societies, and the 
Second Congregational Church. 

Dr. Smith married, February 9, 1899, 
Nellie Baugham, of North Carolina. They 
are the parents of two children: Dorothy 
Huston, born March 19, 1900; Herbert 
Daniel, born December 13, 1910. 



WEISER, Walter Rupert, M. D., 

Physician. 

The Weisers came to America in 1710, 
landing at New York, where Conrad Weis- 



er, the great-great-grandfather of Walter 
R. Weiser, of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
remained until 1714. His parents continued 
in New York until 1723, when they settled 
on Tulpehocken creek in Berks county, 
Pennsylvania. Conrad Weiser was born in 
Germany in 1696, and in 1710 was brought 
to New York City by his parents, arriving 
June 13, 1710. His father became acquaint- 
ed with a Mohawk Indian chief, who be- 
coming interested in young Conrad offered 
to take him to the New York home of his 
tribe and teach him the Mohawk language. 
The father consented, and in 1714 he be- 
gan his residence with the Indians. Although 
he suffered many trials and privations dur- 
ing the following years he became an adept 
in the Indian tongue, their signs, symbols 
and mysteries. He did not settle in Penn- 
sylvania until 1729, then joined the fam- 
ily at the home on Tulpehocken creek. In 
1730, Governor Gordon, of Pennsylvania, 
learning of his knowledge of the Indian 
tongue, called upon him to act as an inter- 
preter with the Indians, and during the fol- 
lowing twenty-five years he acted in that 
capacity at all the Indian treaty councils 
and was one of the most famous Indian in- 
terpreters of that period. During the 
French and Indian War he was lieutenant- 
colonel in command of the second battalion 
of the Pennsylvania Regiment. He settled 
in Lancaster, later York county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and was one of Lancaster's early 
men of note. In 1752 he was appointed a 
trustee of the schools held in Lancaster, 
York and Reading, Pennsylvania. He died 
July 13, 1760. 

Conrad Weiser was succeeded by his son, 
Martin Weiser, who died in York county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1822, leaving a son Mar- 
tin (2) Weiser, born in York, Pennsyl- 
vania, a merchant of York, died in 1829. He 
married Catherine Haller. They were the 
parents of William, Susan, Mary, Cather- 
ine, Martin Haller, of further mention, and 



198 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Emma. Martin Haller Weiser was born in 
York, Pennsylvania, in 1825, and died in 
1886. He learned the mercantile business 
in his father's store in York, and nearly his 
entire life was spent as a merchant. He 
the German Lutheran church as deacon, and 
was an earnest Christian worker, served 
member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He married (first) Caroline J. 
Peififer, a daughter of Christopher and 
Mary (Hyde) Peififer, of New York. He 
married (second) Mary Tyler. The chil- 
dren of his first marriage were : Edwin 
Christopher, of Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and William P., of Camden, New Jersey. 
By his second marriage : Dr. Walter Ru- 
pert Weiser, of further mention ; Martin 
Luther, of Long Island City, New York ; 
and Margaret Haller, deceased. 

Dr. Walter Rupert W'eiser, eldest son of 
Martin Haller W^eiser and his second wife, 
Mary (Tyler) W^eiser, was born in York, 
Pennsylvania, June 13, 1870. He prepared 
in the grade and high schools of York, then 
entered the College of Pharmacy, Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, finishing his course in 
1889 with the degree of Ph.D. Deciding 
upon the profession of medicine, he entered 
the medical department of the University 
of Pennsylvania, receiving his M. D. with 
the graduating class of 1892. The follow- 
ing years were spent in hospital work in 
Philadelphia, special attention being given 
to surgery. In 1894 he located in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, where for eight years 
he practiced both medicine and surgery. In 
1902 he went abroad and for two years 
made a special study of surgery, receiving 
his degree from the University of Vienna. 
From 1904 until the present he has practiced 
surgery exclusively in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, being managing director of the 
Hampden Hospital, which he founded. He 
has been surgeon to the Springfield and 



Mercy Hospitals, and State Hospital for 
Epileptics, and consulting surgeon to the 
Noble and Wing Hospitals. He is a skilled 
surgeon, never operating unless an op- 
eration is necessary and never delaying 
an operation to the detriment of a patient. 
He combines the gentleness of a woman 
with the nerve and courage of the surgeon 
who cuts to cure, and has a record of uni- 
form success. Dr. Weiser is president of 
the Academy of Medicine of Springfield, 
and a trustee since its organization ; he is 
an ex-secretary and ex-president of the 
Hampden District of the Massachusetts 
Medical Society ; member of the American 
Medical Association ; the Nayasset Club 
(member of board of governors) ; Spring- 
field Country and Springfield Automobile 
clubs ; Roswell Lee Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; is a thirty-second degree 
member of the Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite ; a Noble of the Mystic Shrine ; an 
Odd Fellow and an Elk. Dr. Weiser was 
appointed a captain in the Massachusetts 
Red Cross, United States Army. April 9, 
191 7, and was called into the service in 
June, 191 7. He was ordered to camp Green- 
leaf, Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia. On Sep- 
tember 10, 1917, he was commissioned a ma- 
jor, and is at present serving with the 
United States army. 

Dr. Weiser married (first) October 2, 
1895, Harriet Lamson, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, who died November 9, 191 5, 
leaving a son, Franklin Hall, born in 
Springfield, August 30, 1897, a graduate 
of Springfield High School, Phillips Ex- 
eter Academy, class of 191 5, and is now a 
student at the University of Pennsylvania, 
class of 1919 (College Department). Dr. 
Weiser married (second) February i, 1917, 
Karolin M. Dietrich, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, a daughter of Albert and Matil- 
da Dietrich. 



199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



FITZGIBBONS, Edward P., 
Merchant. 

As one of the largest United States deal- 
ers in leather remnants, Mr. Fitzgibbons has 
added to the industries of Whitman, Mas- 
sachusetts, one of the largest and most im- 
portant plants. The great benefit so large 
an industry is to a community is at once 
apparent, but the impetus he has given to 
material prosperity is but one obligation 
under which Whitman rests to Mr. Fitz- 
gibbons. There he has erected his beauti- 
ful mansion surrounded by an extensive 
Italian garden designed and built by the 
noted landscape gardener, Windsor Wyn- 
an, house and grounds forming one of the 
great attractions of the town. In addition 
he has taken a deep interest in the upbuild- 
ing of Whitman, and lent generous aid to 
every enterprise which promised temporal 
or moral benefit. He is a son of James 
and Ellen Fitzgibbons, his father also hav- 
ing been a leather merchant. 

Edward P. Fitzgibbons was born in Whit- 
man, Massachusetts, July 28, 1870, and 
was educated in the grammar and high 
schools of Whitman. He completed his 
education with a course at Bryant & Strat- 
ton's Business College, after which he en- 
tered the business in which he has been so 
conspicuous a success. The business has 
grown to great proportions and products 
of the Fitzgibbons plant are found all over 
the United States and form a large item of 
the leather export trade with England and 
France. The plant at No. 68 Temple street 
was established in 1902, and the devel- 
opment of the business has been remarka- 
ble, Mr. Fitzgibbons being widely known as 
one of the leading operators in his spe- 
cial line in the United States. In addition 
to dealing in leather remnants, stay fac- 
ings, tongues are cut to order, and cut lifts, 
outersoles, innersoles and taps are bought 
and sold. An idea of the business trans- 



acted may be gained from the fact that Mr. 
Fitzgibbons handles the remnants of such 
large shoe manufacturing concerns as Rice 
& Hutchins, of Rockland; E. T. Wright, 
of Rockland; Louis A. Crossett Company, 
of North Abington; the Commonwealth 
Shoe Company, of Whitman, and many 
others. In the management of his large 
business, Mr. Fizgibbons displays sterling 
qualities that have won him enviable rep- 
utation among the progressive, sagacious 
business men of the Bay State. He is a 
member of the Whitman Board of Trade, 
and has many interests in the city of his 
birth. He is a Republican in politics, and 
in religious faith a Roman Catholic. He 
is a member of the Republican Club, the 
Knights of Columbus (Fourth Degree) and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

He married, on Thanksgiving Day, 1891, 
Julia Morey, daughter of Dennis J. and 
Margaret Morey. They have two children : 
I. Harold E., born November 26, 1893, 
graduate of Whitman High School, of Phil- 
lips Andover Academy, class of 191 1, and 
of Harvard University, class of 191 5, and 
is now associated in business with his fath- 
er, making the third generation to engage in 
the same line of activity ; while a student at 
Harvard he was active in athletics, pitching 
for two years on the Varsity base ball team. 
During the World War he served as clerk 
in the Quartermaster's Department, United 
States Army, having charge of the final in- 
spection of the army shoes made in the 
Brockton district. 2. Agnes M., born Feb- 
ruary II, 1895. 



THOMPSON, John J., 

Skillful Physician. 

Dr. John J. Thompson, practicing phy- 
sician in Webster and vicinity for more 
than a third of a century, respected by the 
community and beloved by all as a phy- 



200 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sician for his skill in treating the sick, and 
for his life-long acts of painstaking and 
self-sacrificing benevolence, was a native of 
Webster, Massachusetts, born February lo, 
1858, son of Richard and Bridget ( Farrell) 
Thompson, respected and influential resi- 
dents of Webster. 

The foundation for his education was de- 
rived in the public schools of his native 
town, and in 1876 he was graduated from 
the Webster High School. In June, 1877, 
he received his diploma from Nichols 
Academy in Dudley, then entered Holy 
Cross College in Worcester, from which he 
was graduated in 1882, and in 1887, five 
years later, was graduated with high hon- 
ors from Jefferson IMedical College at Phil- 
adelphia. Shortly afterward he passed the 
examination of the Massachusetts Medical 
Board, and began the active practice of his 
profession in Webster. A pleasing per- 
sonality, coupled with proper training, ex- 
perience and rare judgment in critical cases, 
increased his practice in an incredibly short 
space of time, and he came to be recognized 
as one of the leading physicians of his com- 
inunity. In addition to his private practice, 
which increased with each passing year, he 
served for many years as town physician, 
and also served as physician to the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians, Knights of Co- 
lumbus, Royal Arcanum and the Order of 
Foresters. Although deeply absorbed and 
interested in his chosen line of work, Dr. 
Thompson devoted considerable of his time 
to the improvement of the public school sys- 
tem, serving the town of Webster for nine 
years on the school board, he being con- 
sidered an authority on educational mat- 
ters, his study being careful and unbiased. 
He was a member of the committee which 
designed and built the school, the most mod- 
em in town, located on Prospect street, 
named in his honor. His interest in this 
building was shown in many ways, includ- 
ing substantial gifts for advanced school 



equipment and furnishings. Dr. Thompson 
was active in the lodge and society life of 
Webster. He was affiliated with many of 
the leading organizations, including Divi- 
sion II, Ancient Order of Hibernians; 
Webster Council, Knights of Columbus; 
Ben Franklin Council, Royal Arcanum; 
Court Friendship, Foresters of America; 
Massachusetts Medical Society, Nichols 
Academy Alumni Association and Holy 
Cross Alumni Society. 

The close attention he gave to his pro- 
fessional and other duties caused his health 
to break, and about three years prior to his 
death he suffered a paralytic shock, which 
left him practically helpless, this calamity 
causing wide-spread sorrow throughout his 
large circle of friends, patients and ac- 
quaintances. Through his many months of 
suffering he bore his trial with patient forti- 
tude, looked for the cheerful side of life 
and, although helpless and suffering, he de- 
rived considerable pleasure from the declin- 
ing years of his life. Dr. Thompson died 
at his late home on Lake street, Webster, 
September 16, 1916. The high esteem in 
which Dr. Thompson was universally held 
was made evident by the many who attend- 
ed the funeral services, men and women of 
all ages and conditions in life, all of whom 
respected and admired him for his many 
excellent characteristics, and for the part 
he played in the conduct of affairs in Web- 
ster. Funeral services were held in St. 
Louis Church, and a solemn high mass of 
requiem was celebrated by Rev. Garrett H. 
Dolan, pastor, with Rev. James J. Farrell, 
Worcester, deacon ; Rev. Patrick J. O'Mal- 
ley, Clinton, sub-deacon, and Rev. James 
W. Dolan, master of ceremonies. Inter- 
ment was in Calvary Cemetery. 

The Worcester District Medical Society 
in their Memorial of their late respected as- 
sociate. Dr. John J. Thompson, said in part : 

In the passing from this life of our Townsman 



201 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and also Associate and Co-worker, we mourn 
with the personnel of this Association in the loss 
of our esteemed Member, one whose devotion to 
the medical profession was not only respected by 
his hundreds of patients, but one whose quiet dig- 
nity and scholarly bearing were an honor to the 
Worcester District Medical Society. 

There are those of your Committee who can 
not only attest to the value of the late Dr. Thomp- 
son's life as a most successful physician, but as an 
educational force in the community long favored 
by his professional skill and as an efficient pub- 
lic servant in connection with our institutions of 
learning ; but also have been intimate and asso- 
ciated with him as a playmate, schoolmate and 
co-worker. A student from early life, always con- 
siderate of those with whom he came in contact, 
which noble characteristic was a predominating 
force through his professional life to the extent 
that his own interests were constantly sacrificed, 
and his health thereby permanently undermined. 

At a Special meeting of Court Friendship, 
No. 59, Foresters of America, the following 
resolutions were adopted : 

Whereas, it has pleased Almighty God to call 
from our midst our beloved brother, Dr. John J. 
Thompson, therefore, be it 

Resolved, That while humbly bowing before 
Divine will, we cannot but regret the loss to our 
Court of an honest and faithful brother, one 
who was ever ready to uphold the motto of Lib- 
erty, Unity, Benevolence and Concord. 

Resolved, That our charter be draped for a 
period of thirty days. 

Resolved, That we tender his sister our heartfelt 
sympathy in her sad bereavement. 

Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be 
spread on the records of our Court, and that a 
printed copy be sent to his sister. Miss Ellen 
Thompson, as a lasting tribute to the memory of 
our beloved brother. 

We offer our heartfelt sympathy to Miss Ellen 
M. (Nellie) Thompson, a graduate of the old 
Mount Saint Mary, in the sorrow for a beloved 
brother. Dr. John J. Thompson, of Webster, who 
had been in the medical profession for a number 
of years, and was remarkable for his kindness 
to poor patients who were tended with extreme 
care. May our Dear Lord console his sister as 
only he can and give eternal rest to the soul of 
the departed one. 

Nothing is our own; we hold our pleasures just 



a little while, ere they are fled. One by one 
life robs us of our treasures ; nothing is our 
own except our death. 



GILMORE, Edward, 

Public Official. 

In every community or state when eco- 
nomic or political conditions require their 
leadership there are found men of unusual 
ability as organizers who step forward from 
the younger ranks and assume the burdens 
of the occasion, men who form their plans 
quickly and execute them with determina- 
tion. Such men are never satisfied with 
present canditions and delight in changing 
what is old and inefficient into new and 
progressive customs laws, whose scope is 
equal to the advances brought about by com- 
mercial development and civilization. At 
such an occasion Edward Gilmore became 
prominent in the political life of Massa- 
chusetts. 

Born in Brockton, January 4. 1867, son 
of John and Ellen Gilmore, his early years 
were spent at home, frequently assisting in 
his father's grocery store and always giv- 
ing due attention to his studies pursued in 
the public schools. He later entered the 
high school and completed the full course. 
During this time he had learned much about 
the grocery business from his father's store 
and he immediately, after finishing school, 
started in this line himself, and is still con- 
tinuing it. His business interests have not 
been confined to the grocery and provision 
trade, as he is also a director of the Brock- 
ton Savings Bank, to which institution he 
gives considerable attention. Throughout 
his life he has been an ardent and enthusi- 
astic supporter of the Democratic party and 
his political career has been a fine example 
of his logical way of undertaking things ; 
first starting with his own city's interests 
and working from that to district and then 
branching out to state and national politics. 



202 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



At the time that he first interested himself 
in the activities of his party the Democrats 
were in an apparently hopeless minority and 
they needed just such an active, courageous 
fighter as Mr. Gilmore to start and turn the 
tide. His first political office in this city 
was as alderman and he was a member of 
the Board in 1901, 1903, 1904, 1905 and 
1906, and acted as chairman of the Board 
of Aldermen in 1903. His work on 
the Brockton Democratic city commit- 
tee served as a stepping stone for his 
later service on the Massachusetts Demo- 
cratic committee, of which he was a mem- 
ber for several years. In 1907 and 1908 he 
was elected representative to the Legisla- 
ture of Massachusetts from the ninth 
Plymouth district. His willingness to ful- 
fill every obligation which this election 
placed upon him was appreciated by the 
speaker and he was made a member of the 
committee on roads and bridges. At this 
time roads in America were a big problem 
and on account of the highly developed 
state of his territory it was particularly im- 
portant that the public highways should be 
put in good condition as early as possible. 
In this work Mr. Gilmore was particularly 
active and made plans not only for the pres- 
ent and for his own state but also for all 
New England. During his term as repre- 
sentative he became one of the leaders of 
his party and seldom was any question 
brought up on which he was not asked to 
give his advice. In 1901 and 1902, at the 
solicitation of his friends, he consented to 
allow his name to be used as a candidate 
for mayor of the city, and although the 
Democratic party was in the minority, Mr. 
Gilmore received a strong indorsement from 
the people, running far ahead of his ticket, 
but was defeated. 

There are some men who are born to be 
leaders and it seems as though Mr. Gil- 
more had this innate quality in an unusual 
degree. It was while he was a member of 



the State Democratic central committee that 
he first brought forward the name of Wil- 
liam L. Douglas as candidate of the Demo- 
cratic party for governor. At first there was 
great opposition to Mr. Douglas' name. The 
state leaders were convinced that if Mr. 
Ham L. Douglas as candidate of the Dem- 
ocratic party for governor. At first there was 
cede to his wishes and have Mr. Douglas' 
name brought before the public. Mr. Gil- 
more's faith in Mr. Douglas' ability as a 
drawing power with the people was not mis- 
placed and the election resulted in a Demo- 
cratic landslide. In fact political history in 
Massachusetts was made right then and 
there. As manager of the Douglas cam- 
paign Mr. Gilmore was active in forty-eight 
cities and towns, the result being ample proof 
of his ability and success. In the spring of 
1 910 it was necessary to fill a vacancy in 
the House of Representatives for the four- 
teenth congressional district. The Repub- 
lican party had held the country in its grip 
for years and now its spoils system, its lack 
of foreign trade efficiency, its high tariff 
program, its forgetfulness of needed do- 
mestic reforms, all these conditions had 
shattered the public's faith, gave Air. Gil- 
more, an idealist, the opportunity to appeal 
to a sympathetic public. This was shortly 
after the revision of the tariff by the fa- 
mous Payne-Aldrich Bill and was at a 
time when a crisis had indeed arisen in the 
afifairs of the Republican party. Quite 
naturally the state Democratic leaders of 
Massachusetts looked to Mr. Gilmore as 
the candidate for the vacancy but Mr. Gil- 
more, however, disagreed with the leaders 
and brought forward the name of Eugene 
Noble Foss. There again was much oppo- 
sition to Mr. Gilmore, and it took all of the 
skill and ingenuity of Mr. Gilmore's polit- 
ical ability to convince the leaders that Mr. 
Foss was the man who could give Massa- 
chusetts the best service. Mr. Foss duly 
received the nomination and was elected 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



against Mr. Buchanan, the RepubHcan can- 
didate. Again this historic election was 
made through Mr. Gilmore's political abil- 
ity. During the campaign for Mr. Foss 
some of the greatest speakers of the country 
were pressed into service and the fight was 
made on the tariff question. The entire 
country watched this campaign and the re- 
sult was gratifying to the majority. The 
district was one of the strongest Republi- 
can districts in the United States, having 
a normal Republican majority of 15,000, 
and regardless of this fact, Mr. Foss car- 
ried a majority of 6,000 and had the honor 
of being the first Democratic representative 
sent to the House from the fourteenth dis- 
trict. It is conceded by many that this elec- 
tion had a greater influence on the subse- 
quent defeat of the Republican party than 
any other. It was not long after that Mr. 
Foss was elected to the governorship of 
Massachusetts, an ofiice to which he has 
been re-elected twice. After Mr. Foss' term 
as congressman expired Mr. Gilmore was 
prevailed upon to enter the race for the 
Democratic nomination in 191 2. After a 
close and interesting primary campaign he 
defeated both the Republican and Progres- 
sive candidates. His election to Congress 
was simultaneous to the presidential elec- 
tion of 191 2 and throughout his campaign 
he spoke more frequently for the national 
candidate than for himself. His achieve- 
ments as a member of the House of Rep- 
resentatives has been gratifying to his dis- 
trict and they look upon him as a man 
whose ability and dignity will always re- 
flect with credit upon this district. To have 
been a member of the last congresses is 
honor for any man because of the many 
critical questions brought before the Legis- 
lature. Mr. Gilmore voted for the Under- 
wood Tariff, the Trade Commission Bill, 
the Anti-Trust Bill, Child Labor Laws, 
Panama Canal Tolls Repeal, the Currency 
Bill and many other important measures. 



which were of national and international im- 
portance. Quite naturally he was deeply in- 
terested in the tariff on shoes as he repre- 
sented the greatest shoe district in the 
world, but he was not unmindful of the 
people of the entire country. His patriot- 
ism led him to take considerable interest 
in the pensions for widows and children of 
the Grand Army of the Republic veterans, 
but his chief speech made during his polit- 
ical campaign was in support of the Presi- 
dent's position in favor of the repeal of the 
Panama Tolls Act, before the Brockton 
public forum, and was heard by over two 
thousand people. His friends look upon 
this as the best speech ever heard in Brock- 
ton. He took the ground that the United 
States must keep faith with the nations of 
the world and that the friendship of nations 
was at stake. He believed that the repeal 
would broaden the business interests of the 
country and in favor thereof said, "It is not 
dishonorable for us to repeal this act but 
rather an honor to be big and generous 
enough to give way to the opinion of the 
world." On January 25, 191 5, Mr. Gilmore 
was appointed postmaster of Brockton by 
President Wilson and his administration 
has been marked by many needed reforms 
and benefits. Before closing the account of 
his political career it will be necessary to 
note one of the closest campaigns he ever 
managed, i. e., that of Thomas C. Thacher 
when he was running for Congress and lost 
by fifty-seven votes. At another time Mr. 
Gilmore assisted Mr. Thacher in winning 
the election. Mr. Gilmore was a delegate 
to the Democratic National Convention at 
both Kansas City and St. Louis. He is a 
member of the Ancient Order of Hiberni- 
ans, Division i, of Brockton, and has been 
treasurer of this organization for eight 
years. He also belongs to the Knights of 
Columbus, Seville Council ; Catholic Order 
of Foresters; Fraternal Order of Eagles 
and Owls ; Benevolent and Protective Or- 



204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



der of Elks, and the Order of Moose, of 
which he is honorary past dictator. He is 
a member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
Russell Club, Harmony Club, Hoffman 
Club, and Press Club. His religious affilia- 
tion is with the Roman Catholic church. 

On September 19, 1887, Mr. Gilmore 
married Annie M. Owens, daughter of 
Robert and Katherine Owens, of Brockton. 
They have five children : John E. ; Charles 
F. ; Robert O. ; Edward B. ; and Phillip J. 

For many years Mr. Gilmore gave his 
time and services without hope of personal 
reward, but he had the pleasure of see- 
ing the strength of his party starting from 
practically nothing to the important posi- 
tion it now occupies. He was prominent in 
many cities and districts of Southern Mas- 
sachusetts, which territory is always con- 
sidered fighting ground in political elec- 
tions. His many years of labor were re- 
warded personally when he was elected to 
Congress. His career is an example of the 
highest type of citizenship and it would be 
tautological to enter into a series of state- 
ments to show him to be a man of keen 
intelligence and public spirit for the fore- 
going record suggests these in each detail. 
His abilities fit him for leadership and his 
sympathies make him a true democrat of 
the highest type. His success can be meas- 
ured, like that of his party, by what he has 
actually accomplished. 



LELAND, Forrest L., M. D., 

Physician. 

A graduate of Tufts College Medical 
School, Dr. Leland began professional prac- 
tice at South Hadley Falls in 191 1, and is 
winning his way to eminence in his chosen 
profession. He is of the ninth generation 
of the family founded in America by Henry 
Leland, born in England in 1625, coming 
to Massachusetts with his wife in 1652. In 
England the name Leland is a distinguished 



one, John Leland, chaplain to King Henry 
VIII., and one of the most accomplished 
scholars and voluminous writers of his own 
or any other age, having been the only per- 
son to hold the office of "King's Antiquary." 
The family in England bore arms : Gules 
a saltier argent, charged with three Pallets 
azure on chief or crest with a crow rising 
transfixed with an arrow. Motto: Cui 
deveo fidus. The Lelands of America have 
numbered many men of prominence within 
their ranks, men distinguished for firmness, 
courage, endurance, moral and religious in- 
tegrity and intellectual ability. 

Henry Leland, only son of Hopestill Le- 
land, according to the church records of 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, united with the 
church in that town in 1653. After a short 
residence in Dorchester, he settled on land 
which was afterward within the town of 
Sherbourne, on which he resided until his 
death, April 4, 1680. He was a tailor and 
followed that trade for twelve years, then 
became a farmer. He wrote his name Lay- 
land as did his son Hopestill, also his Hol- 
liston descendants for many years, but since 
1820 the universal spelling in all branches 
has been Leland. Henry Leland married 
in England Margaret Badcock, who bore 
him five children. Hopestill Leland, son of 
Henry and Margaret (Badcock) Leland, 
was born November 15, 1655, and died in 
1729. He was a farmer of Sherburne, 
Massachusetts. He married (first) Abigail 
Hill, (second) Patience Holbrook, and had 
eight sons, seven of whom settled in Sher- 
burne and Holliston, the latter town set 
off from Sherburne in 1724. John Leland, 
son of Hopestill Leland, was born in Sher- 
burne in 1687, and died in Holliston in 
1759. His wife was Abigail Babcock. They 
were the parents of Samuel Leland, born 
1 71 1, died 1783, a farmer, who married 
Dinah White. Asa Leland, son of Samuel 
and Dinah (White) Leland, was born in 
Holliston, in 1738, and died in Chester, 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Vermont, in 1822. He married Lois Mar- 
shall. Their son was Nathan Leland, and 
his son was Leander F. Leland, and his 
son was Stark Leland, father of Dr. For- 
rest L. Leland, of South Hadley Falls. 

Leander F. Leland was born in HoUiston, 
Massachusetts, in 1826, and when a young 
man came to Springfield, Massachusetts, 
W'here he was in business for a time. He 
then enlisted in Company K, Second Regi- 
ment Massachusetts Volunteers, August 
2, 1862, where he served until the close of 
the Civil War, being mustered out Septem- 
ber 2^, 1864. He then returned to Spring- 
field, shortly after went to Cleveland, 
Ohio, where he remained for a short time, 
then went to Marlboro where he engaged in 
the manufacture of boots and shoes, and 
followed this up to his death in 1902. 

Stark Leland was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and after an active life is 
now living retired from business at the 
home of his son. Dr. Forrest L. Leland. His 
early life was spent in Springfield and Hol- 
liston, Massachusetts, but later he was fore- 
man of a shoe factory at Calais, Maine, 
where he remained seventeen years. He 
was also engaged as a foreman in a shoe 
manufacturing establishment at Hudson, 
Massachusetts, then went to Windsor, Ver- 
mont, as foreman of a similar factory. Af- 
ter severing his connection with that con- 
cern he retired and has since made his home 
with his son. Dr. Forrest L. Leland. Stark 
Leland married, 1876, Josephine Kimball, 
born in Holliston, Massachusetts, daughter 
of Ebenezer Kimball, a prominent shoe 
manufacturer and public official, serving 
several terms in the State Legislature. He 
married Sarah Travis. She was born on a 
farm upon which the buildings of Wel- 
lesley College are now located, the house 
having stood on the spot which is now the 
entrance to the college grounds. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kimball had the following children: 
Arthur, a druggist of Holliston, and Jose- 



phine, wife of Stark Leland. Mr. and 
Mrs. Stark Leland have two sons: i. Frank 
Kimball, a graduate of Johns Hopkins 
University and attended Columbia Univer- 
sity; was an instructor in New York City, 
but now giving his entire time to Red Cross 
work ; married May Galvin Hopper, of 
Philadelphia, October, 1915. 2. Forrest 
L., of further mention. 

Dr. Forrest L. Leland was born at ]Marl- 
boro, Massachusetts, November 28, 1880, 
and there spent his early years. Later he 
accompanied the family to Calais, Maine, 
where he attended grammar and high 
school. Deciding upon the medical profes- 
sion, he prepared at Tufts College Medical 
School, Boston, whence he was graduated 
M. D., class of 1908. He then went to the 
Worcester City Hospital, where he served 
an interneship from September, 1908, to 
May, 1910. He then secured a research 
fellowship which entitled him- to the ad- 
vantages of the Pathological Laboratory at 
Tufts College and passed there a profitable 
year. In August, 191 1, he located at South 
Hadley Falls, where he has built up a good 
practice, one commensurate with his learn- 
ing and ability. He is a member of the Hol- 
yoke Medical Society, and was its president 
in 1915; the Massachusetts Medical So- 
ciety and the American Medical Associa- 
tion, and is highly esteemed by his profes- 
sional brethren. He is a member of the 
surgical staflF of the City Hospital of Hol- 
yoke ; chairman of the Board of Health of 
South Hadley, and was a visitor to Tufts 
College ]\Iedical School in 1910 and 191 1. 
His college fraternity is Alpha Kappa Kap- 
pa, his religious affiliation, Congregational, 
and he is also a member of Mt. Holyoke 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 

Dr. Leland married, June 20, 1910, Avis 
Janette Dwelly, born at Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Arthur Dwelly, a 
cotton mill superintendent of Fall River, 
Massachusetts, and North Pownall, Ver- 



206 






■'''7^'^'^'-, 
^V^ , 






■7 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mont, son of Dr. Jerome Dwelly, a gradu- 
ate of Harvard Medical School, successful 
practitioner for over sixty years, dying at 
the advanced age of ninety. He was one of 
the best known physicians of Fall River, 
Massachusetts, and in the time of the gold 
fever, in 1849, ^^'^s among those who went 
to California. He was one of the first 
physicians to use ether in Southeastern 
Massachusetts, and at the time of his death 
was next to the oldest graduate of the 
Harvard Medical School. Dr. and Mrs. 
Leland have three daughters : Avis Janette, 
born May 30, 1912; Marion Constance, 
born September 30, 191 5; and Margaret 
Louise, born March 22, 1917. 



CHAMBERLAIN, Loyed Ellis, 

Liawyer. 

Loyed Ellis Chamberlain, of Brockton, 
Massachusetts, justice of the Police Court, 
w^as born in Plympton, January 30, 1857, 
son of Robert M. and Eliza A. (Wright) 
Chamberlain. His paternal ancestors first 
settled in Hanson, and subsequently moved 
to iMaine, where his father w^as born, in Au- 
burn. His mother was a native of Plymp- 
ton, and a descendant through the Coopers 
and the Sampsons, from the Bradfords who 
came over in the "Mayflower." His educa- 
tion was acquired in the common and high 
schools of North Bridgewater, now Brock- 
ton, from which he graduated in 1875. 
He studied law in the offtce of White & 
Sumner, at Brockton, and in the Boston 
University Law School, graduating in 1879. 
W^hile a student with White & Sumner, he 
also pursued general studies beyond the 
High School course for two years, and later 
took the Chautauqua four years' course. He 
was admitted to the bar in 1877, and began 
practice in 1881. From 1882 to Novem- 
ber, 1884, he was a member of the law 
firm of Packard & Chamberlain, after 
which he practiced alone. He was appoint- 



ed to the justiceship of the Police Court 
upon its establishment in 1885, and he has 
been city solicitor of Brockton since 1891, 
through repeated elections. In politics he 
is a Republican, and performs fully the du- 
ties of the citizen, believing that politics are 
to be purified at the caucus ; but he has 
no time to devote to public life. He is espe- 
cially interested in municipal affairs and in 
movements for good government for cities 
and towns. He has been president of the 
Brockton High School Alumni Association 
for several years, president of the Alpha 
Bicycle Club of Brockton since its organi- 
zation in 1892, some time president of the 
Young Men's Christian Association Con- 
gress, president of the Young ]\Ien's Re- 
publican Club for many years, and is sec- 
retary of the Plymouth County Club (a 
Republican and social organization). He is 
connected also with the Masons, the Odd 
Fellows and the Good Templars. In the 
latter society he has represented Massa- 
chusetts at sessions in Toronto, Canada, 
Saratoga, Richmond, and Edinburgh, Scot- 
land (1891); and he was treasurer for 
four years up to 1894. Judge Chamberlain 
w^as married, August 26, 1890, to Mina 
C. Miller, of Camden, Maine. They have 
one child, Leslie C. Chamberlain, born July 
II, 1891. 



KELLEY, Joseph H., 

Physician, Business Man. 

Worcester, Massachusetts, suflFered a 
keenly felt loss when it was deprived of the 
presence and services of Dr. Joseph H. 
Kelley, whose death occurred on November 
10, 1 91 4. He possessed a wonderful per- 
sonality, genial disposition and tender heart, 
was charitable to an extreme, no one ever 
applying to him in vain for assistance, he 
contributing liberally of his time and sub- 
stance, all his acts of charity being con- 
ducted in an unostentatious manner, known 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



only to the beneficiaries. He was the center 
of many friendly associations, and was ad- 
mired and loved by a wide circle of friends. 
Dr. Joseph H. Kelley was born January 
I, 1862, in East Boylston, Worcester coun- 
ty, Massachusetts, a son of Patrick and 
Catherine (Caranaugh) Kelley. During his 
early boyhood, his parents removed to Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, their place of resi- 
dence for many years being on Lamartine 
street. The parents were active members 
of St. John's Roman Catholic Church, of 
which Patrick Kelley, the father, was sex- 
ton for many years. The family were highly 
esteemed in the community, in the affairs of 
which they took an active interest, perform- 
ing the duties and obligations that fell to 
their lot in a praiseworthy manner. 

Dr. Joseph H. Kelley attended the pub- 
lic schools of Holyoke, entered the Clas- 
sical High School in 1876, and graduated 
therefrom in 1880. One of his teachers 
in the high school testified that he was an 
alert youth, with opinions of his own, ever 
ready for any task, always promptly in his 
place, full of good humor and the exemplar 
of good sense, an excellent tribute from such 
a source. He was ever popular with his class- 
mates, a leader in athletic sports, a born 
manager. In his youthful days, there were 
several uniformed organizations of baseball 
players, and young Kelley was captain and 
manager of the team known as the "Emer- 
alds." He retained his interest in the game 
to the end of his life, and was among the 
supporters of clean sports of all kinds. 
Having completed the course in high school, 
he entered Bellevue Hospital Medical Col- 
lege in New York City, and was graduated 
therefrom in 1884. Immediately he opened 
an office on Trumbull Square in Worcester, 
and rapidly developed a successful practice. 
He was a keen and discriminating student, 
ever in touch with modern methods and 
discoveries, and possessed the warm sym- 
pathy and encouraging personality indis- 



pensable to the healer. In addition to his 
professional career. Dr. Kelley became in- 
terested in various business enterprises in 
Worcester, being a man of keen business 
instinct, rare sagacity and wonderful acu- 
men, characteristics which make for suc- 
cess. He was an extensive stockholder and 
director of the Independent Ice Company, 
a director in other corporations, and the 
founder and owner of the People's Coal 
Company. Under his direction the coal 
business was developed from a very small 
beginning to one of the largest coal yards 
in the city, ranking among the leading in- 
dustries. He made several purchases of 
real estate, which he greatly improved, was 
the owner of several houses at the time of 
his decease, and he had completed plans for 
a new residence at the corner of Salisbury 
street and Military road. Dr. Kelley was 
popular in various social organizations, and 
for twenty-one years was court physician 
of Worcester Court, Massachusetts Cath- 
olic Order of Foresters. He was active in 
the Worcester Lodge of Elks and the Wash- 
ington Club, and was welcome in any cir- 
cle he chose to join. Genial, whole-souled 
and honest, he brought cheer and good fel- 
lowship to every relation of life. 

Dr. Kelley married, April 28, 191 3, Kath- 
ryn M. Holian, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, the ceremony being performed in the 
Church of the Holy Name, Springfield. Mrs. 
Kelley survives him. 

In the midst of many activities. Dr. Kel- 
ley was stricken with apoplexy, Novem- 
ber 10, 1914, at the age of fifty-two years, 
and died without regaining consciousness. 
Though his years were less than the allotted 
scriptural span, three score years and ten, 
he crowded into them acts that were of ben- 
efit to Worcester and his fellow-men, and 
his departure caused sincere and deep 
mourning in many hearts. At his funeral, 
St. Paul's Church was crowded with mourn- 
ing friends and associates, including repre- 



208 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sentatives of various coal companies, the grandmother, Prudence Wilkinson, and 



Order of Foresters, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and the Wash- 
ington Club. During the hour of the ser- 
vices all the general offices of the Worces- 
ter Coal companies were closed out of re- 
spect to Dr. Kelley. The choir sang the 
Gregorian Mass, and the celebrant was the 
Rev. Dr. William H. Goggin, pastor, assist- 
ed by the Rev. James H. Burke and the 
Rev. John J. Keating, as deacon and sub- 
deacon. Many beautiful floral tributes 
were clustered about the casket, testifying 
to the love and devotion of a multitude of 
friends and associates. The body was laid 
to rest in St. Michael's Cemetery, Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 



WILKINSON, Edward Holman, 

Business Man. 

This name, of great antiquity in Eng- 
land, was brought to New England by Pru- 
dence Wilkinson, a widow, who was living 
in Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1630, and 
there recorded as the owner of several 
pieces of land. She moved from Charles- 
town to Maiden and there died leaving two 
children, John, of further mention, and 
Elizabeth, who married George Felt. The 
will of Prudence Wilkinson was probated 
July 26, 1653. It is from John Wilkinson, 
son of Prudence Wilkinson, that the Wilk- 
insons of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
descend, Edward Holman Wilkinson, man- 
ager of the Springfield Blanket Company, 
and of the tenth generation, being a repre- 
sentative of this ancient and honorable fam- 
ily. 

John Wilkinson, born about 1602, came 
to New England with his widowed mother, 
residing in Essex and Middlesex counties, 
Massachusetts. He married Joanna Sikel- 
ton, they the parents of Susannah, John 
(2), and Ebenezer. John (2) Wilkinson, 
born about 1645, inherited the estate of his 



lived in Maiden, Massachusetts, until his 
death in 17 14. He married Abigail Con- 
way, and was succeeded by their son John 
(3) Wilkinson, born at Attleboro, Massachu- 
setts, 1679, died January 1, 1725. He mar- 
ried Rachel Fales, born April 19, 1680, 
daughter of James and Anna (Brock) 
Fales, who came from Chester, England, 
and were among the first settlers in Ded- 
ham, Massachusetts. James Fales was a 
soldier, serving with Massachusetts men in 
King Philip's War. The children of John 
and Rachel Wilkinson were: John (4), 
Joseph, Abigail, Hepzibah, Sarah, Hannah. 
Joseph Wilkinson, of the fifth generation, 
was born in Attleboro, Massachusetts, 
March 21, 1715, where he resided until 
twenty-one years of age, then moved to 
Walpole, Massachusetts, and also lived in 
Stoughton, Massachusetts. He married, 
October 17, 1733, Hannah Warren. They 
were the parents of : Joseph, born Septem- 
ber 9, 1734; Ebenezer, August i, 1736; 
Thankful, September 6, 1740; David, of 
further mention. 

David Wilkinson was born in Stoughton, 
Massachusetts, February 15, 1740, and on 
April 19, 1775, marched on the alarm at 
Lexington, and later saw service with Cap- 
tain Josiah Pratt in Colonel Samuel Rob- 
inson's regiment, serving from Stoughton. 
After the war ended, he moved to Town- 
shend, Vermont. He married Abigail Ware, 
intentions published at Wrentham, Decem- 
ber 19, 1761-62. Their children were: Da- 
vid, of further mention ; Oliver, born June 
29, 1765; Hezekiah, August 12, 1768; 
Mary, June 7, 1770; Elijah, May 10, 1772; 
Susan, February 2, 1774; Abigail; Betsey; 
Irene. 

David (2) Wilkinson was born in Shar- 
on, Massachusetts, August 20, 1763, and 
died December 10, 1842. At the age of 
fourteen he began learning the harness 
maker's trade in Walpole, Massachusetts, 



MASS.— 7— 14. 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



but before completing his trade he enhsted 
in the Continental Army and suffered with 
Washington's brave troops at Valley Forge. 
He was at West Point at the time of Ar- 
nold's treason and witnessed the execution 
of Major Andre. On his return from the 
army he resumed work with his old em- 
ployer in Walpole, and completed his years 
of apprenticeship. Later he went into the 
woods of New Hampshire, blazing a trail, 
and after examination bought a tract of 
timber north of Marlboro. There he built 
a log cabin, returned to Walpole for his 
wife, and the next year they started for 
their home in the woods north of Marl- 
boro, New Hampshire, each riding a good 
horse, the gift of Mrs. Wilkinson's father. 
On his horse he carried a stock of leather 
with which to start a harness maker's shop ; 
her horse was loaded with a feather bed and 
household goods. They reached the cabin 
in safety and there resided all their lives. 
He cleared and cultivated the soil, and when 
not employed on his farm made saddles and 
harness which found a ready sale. He mar- 
ried, in Walpole, Massachusetts, January i, 
1788, Ruth Allen, who died May 3, 1863, 
aged ninety-seven years. Children : David, 
of further mention ; Sarah, born October 
29, 1790; Mary, September 18, 1792; Ruth, 
August 6, 1797; Esther, April 6, 1807; 
Irene, August 3, 1809. 

David (3) Wilkinson, of the eighth gen- 
eration, son of the New Hampshire settlers, 
David and Ruth (Allen) Wilkinson, was 
born at the Marlboro, New Hampshire, 
farm, June 30, 1789, and died there No- 
vember 3, 1879. He followed his father's 
trade of saddler and harness maker, and 
was one of the prominent and substantial 
men of his community. He married (first) 
October 23, 1823, Patty Hubbard, born in 
Putney, Vermont, October 9, 1801, died Oc- 
tober 17, 1870. He married (second) Au- 
gust 7, 1873, Mrs. Harvey (Locke) Abbott, 
a widow. Children, all by his first mar- 

210 



riage : Warren H., of further mention ; 
Sarah, born December 23, 1825, died June 25, 
1838; Solon Stone, of further mention; 
Mary, born June 8, 1832, died September 
9, 1832; Martha, twin with Mary, died 
September 18, 1832 ; Mary Eliza, born 
March 31, 1834, died March 4, 1838; Mar- 
tha, born October 9, 1836, died November 
20, 1836; Cyrus Kingsbury, born December 
17. 1839, died July 10, 1867; Oliver A., 
born May 13, 1842, died September 25, 

1843. 

Warren H. Wilkinson, eldest son of Da- 
vid Wilkinson, was born in Marlboro, New 
Hampshire, July 9, 1824. During his boy- 
hood, besides the routine of attending 
school and the farm labor at home, he be- 
gan as early as the age of ten to work in 
the harness shop of his father, and during 
his minority acquired a thorough knowledge 
of the business by which he mainly attained 
the competence he enjoyed in later years. 
Before reaching his majority, he attended 
two terms at an academy, which completed 
his school days. At the age of twenty- 
three, he became a partner with his father, 
and continued in the harness business in 
Marlboro until 1853, supplying not only the 
home demand, but also stores in Keene and 
Peterboro, New Hampshire, and Greenfield, 
Massachusetts. He was in business in 
Greenfield for six years, when he removed 
to Springfield, which was his home until his 
death. 

Upon the breaking out of the Civil War, 
Mr. Wilkinson received an order for mili- 
tary work from the quartermaster of the 
State of Connecticut, which being satisfac- 
torily filled led to orders from other states 
and from the United States government for 
the manufacture of military leather goods 
of various kinds during the continuance of 
the war. For many of these he furnished 
improved patterns, which were adopted and 
are still in use in the service. He also 
received orders for military work in large 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



quantities from foreign countries. In 1869 
he engaged in the manufacture of horse 
blankets, being located first at Marlboro, 
then at Winchendon, Massachusetts, and 
finally removed to Holyoke, where he built 
up one of the most extensive businesses of 
its kind, having one of the largest mills in 
the country, employing at times as high as 
three hundred persons. Mr. Wilkinson was 
a man who while his life was devoted to his 
business, yet remembered the various in- 
stitutions needing support and especially 
the Congregational church to which he was 
a liberal giver. He was a Whig in politics 
and later became one of the founders of 
the Republican party, in which he was espe- 
cially active, serving as alderman of the city 
of Springfield for three years. 

He married (first) Almira, daughter of 
Asa Frost. She died in 1874. He mar- 
ried (second) Emily J., daughter of James 
Brown, of Brimfield, Massachusetts. He 
died January 10, 191 4. 

Solon Stone Wilkinson, second son of 
David Wilkinson, was born in Marlboro, 
New Hampshire, March 22, 1828, and died 
in Keene, New Hampshire, February 20, 
191 2. He learned the trade followed by 
his grandfather, David (2) Wilkinson, the 
Revolutionary soldier, and his father, Da- 
vid (3) Wilkinson, and after becoming a 
skillful workman opened a saddlery and 
harness maker's shop at Keene, New Hamp- 
shire, carrying in connection a stock of 
horse and leather goods of all kinds, trunks 
and traveling bags. For half a century he 
conducted a successful business in Keene 
and was prominent in city affairs. He 
served on the Board of Aldermen ; repre- 
sented Keene in the Lower House of the 
State Legislature, as a Republican ; was 
a member of the Masonic order, belonging 
to lodge, chapter, council and command- 
ery ; was an active member of the Congre- 
gational church, superintendent of the Sun- 
day school, and one of the substantial men 



of his city. He married, June 22, 1852, 
Chestina Holman, daughter of Charles and 
Polly (Converse) Holman, born in Marl- 
boro, New Hampshire, resided in Keene, 
New Hampshire, until her death, October 
4, 1917, aged eighty-nine years. 

Edward Holman Wilkinson, of the tenth 
generation, only child of Solon Stone and 
Chestina (Holman) Wilkinson, was born in 
Marlboro, New Hampshire, June 15, 1859. 
He was taken to Keene by his parents when 
the removal to that city was made in the 
winter of 1859, and there was educated in 
the public schools, completing his study by 
graduation from high school. He began 
business life with his uncle, Warren H. 
Wilkinson, in his manufacturing plant in 
Massachusetts, and in 1878 entered the em- 
ploy of the Springfield Blanket Company 
at South Holyoke, founded by Warren H, 
Wilkinson. He was employed in the of- 
fice and in the store room, handling boxes 
of goods and freight, but in due course of 
time he became superintendent of the plant 
located in Holyoke. Upon the death of 
Warren H. Wilkinson, Edward H. Wilkin- 
son was appointed manager of the business 
for his aunt and administrator of his uncle's 
estate. Since 1878 he has retained his resi- 
dence in Springfield. For eleven years he 
served on the Springfield School Board and 
for nine of those years was vice-chairman. 
He is an active member and treasurer of 
the Memorial Church. 

Mr. Wilkinson married, June 22, 1904, 
Mary Waite Allis, who was born in Hat- 
field, Massachusetts, daughter of Daniel 
and Jennie (Hurlburt) Allis, and a 
descendant from Lieutenant William Allis, 
who came from England in 1635. The line 
of descent from Lieutenant William Allis 
is through his son. Captain John Allis ; his 
son, Ichabod Allis ; his son, Elisha Allis ; 
his son, William Allis ; his son. Dexter Al- 
lis ; his son, Daniel Allis ; his daughter, 
Mary Waite Allis, of the eighth American 



211 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



generation, who married Edward H. Wilk- 
inson. She is also a descendant of the Hast- 
ings family. 



MILLER, George Dexter, 

Business Man. 

George Dexter Miller, treasurer of the 
Coburn Trolley Track Company of Hol- 
yoke, comes of an old Connecticut fam- 
ily, grandson of Solomon Ezra Miller, and 
son of Solomon Evelin Miller. 

Solomon Ezra Miller was a farmer of 
Hartland, Connecticut. He married a Miss 
Hoadley and they were the parents of 
Hoadley Milo, Seth, Eugene and Eu- 
genia, twins, and Solomon Evelin, of furth- 
er mention. 

Solomon Evelin Miller was born in Hart- 
land, Connecticut, April 28, 1824, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, April 13, 1909. 
He was a blacksmith by trade, and moved 
to Canada, in 1874, where he pursued his oc- 
cupation. In that year, although fifty years 
of age, he closed up his affairs and with 
his family moved first to Sweetsburg and 
later to Sutton, Province of Quebec, Can- 
ada, and there he conducted a general 
smithing business for about fifteen years. 
He then returned to the United States, lo- 
cating in Philmont, New York, there re- 
maining two years. From Philmont he 
went to Worcester, Massachusetts, thence 
to Holyoke, in 1892, where he lived retired 
from business until his death in 1909. He 
married Matilda Philbrook Dexter, of Au- 
gusta, Maine, born April 2, 1824, died Sep- 
tember 25, 1906. Both she and her hus- 
band attained octogenarian honors. She 
was a daughter of Samuel Dexter, her 
mother a Moody. Mr. and Mrs. Miller were 
the parents of Evelin Proctor, deceased ; 
Mary Elizabeth, married Carlos More- 
house ; Orion Vincent ; Charles Albert, de- 
ceased ; and George Dexter Miller. 

George Dexter Miller was born in Hart- 



land, Connecticut, October 30, 1867, and 
there spent the first two years, the next 
five years being spent in Winsted, Connec- 
ticut, when in 1874, he was taken to Sweets- 
burg and later to Sutton, Canada, by his 
parents, and there attended public and pri- 
vate schools. When through with his 
school years he began business life as a mer- 
cantile clerk, continuing as such for three 
years. He then returned to the United 
States, spent two years in a Philmont, New 
York, hosiery mill, going thence to Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts. At Worcester he 
pursued a course in Hinman's Business 
College, receiving his diploma with the class 
of 1889. His first position after graduation 
was with the Coburn Trolley Track Com- 
pany, whose offices were then located in 
Worcester, and that company is the only 
employer he has known for the past twen- 
ty-eight years. In 1891 the headquarter 
offices of the company were moved to Hol- 
yoke, Mr. Miller coming at the same time 
in a clerical capacity. Some time after com- 
ing to Holyoke, he was promoted to the po- 
sition of assistant treasurer of the company, 
and two years later, in 1910, was made 
treasurer, his present position. He is also 
a director of the company, which is one 
of the important firms in that field. He 
belongs to Belcher Lodge, Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, of Chicopee, Massachusetts; 
Unity Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
Springfield Council, Royal and Select Mast- 
ers; Springfield Commandery, Knights 
Templar ; also Melha Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He is highly regarded 
by his associates in business and much 
esteemed by his brethren of the Masonic 
order and by his many friends. 



EATON, Herbert Scott, 

Clothing Merchant. 

Ebenezer and Samuel Eaton, descendants 
of John Eaton, who came to Massachusetts 



212 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



about 1640, settled in Landaff, New Hamp- 
shire, and there James Eaton, son of Sam- 
uel Eaton, was born. He lived for fifteen 
years in Sutton, Vermont, but then returned 
to LandafT. He died at Sugar Hill, New 
Hampshire, at the age of ninety-three years. 
James Eaton married Drusilla Priest, who 
died in LandafI in 1888. Both were active 
church workers, James an official member, 
serving on many committees and staunchly 
supporting all church interests. They were 
the parents of a daughter and two sons : 
Phoebe, married Edward Jenkins, has two 
daughters, Kate and Cora, and resides in 
Beloit, Wisconsin ; Timothy A., of furth- 
er mention ; Martin. 

Timothy A. Eaton was born at Sutton, 
Vermont, in 1841, and died at Orleans, 
Vermont, in 1870. He was educated in the 
public schools and St. Johnsbury Academy, 
and until his marriage continued his resi- 
dence in Sutton. He soon afterward moved 
to Orleans, Vermont, where he resided un- 
til his death at the early age of twenty- 
nine years. He was never a man of even 
average health, being rejected by the re- 
cruiting surgeon on his attempt to enlist 
during the Civil War. He followed farm- 
ing as an occupation, was deeply interested 
in religious matters, and was highly respect- 
ed in his community. He was an earnest 
worker and one of the most active laymen 
of the church, his interest also extending 
to the cause of education. His sterling 
character won him many friends, and his 
death at life's threshold was deeply regret- 
ted. He married Mary Bartlett, born June 
I, 1842, in Sutton, Vermont, daughter of 
Joseph and Phoebe (Noyes) Bartlett, her 
father a farmer and lumberman of Sutton 
and Orleans, Vermont. Joseph Bartlett 
also had a son, Silas S. Bartlett, whose 
daughter, Eva Bartlett, is a resident of 
Warren, New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. 
Timothy A. Eaton were the parents of 
three sons and a daughter : Herbert Scott, 



of further mention ; Helen, born June 3, 
1864, died aged sixteen years; Amos J., 
born May 3, 1869, now residing in Royal- 
ton, Vermont, married and has Wendell, 
Lucy and Robert Eaton ; Anson, twin with 
Amos J., died in infancy. 

Herbert Scott Eaton, eldest son of Tim- 
othy A. and Mary (Bartlett) Eaton, was 
born in Sutton, Vermont, May 11, 1862. 
His parents moved to Orleans when he was 
six years of age. He attended the common 
school and then entered Montpelier Sem- 
inary, an institution of high grade conduct- 
ed in Montpelier, Vermont, under the di- 
rection of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
Four years later he was graduated from 
the Seminary and entered Wesleyan Uni- 
versity, Middletown, Connecticut. He con- 
tinued two years at Wesleyan, sickness in 
the family causing his return home at the 
close of his sophomore year. He was free 
to return to the University a year later, but 
the year lost influenced his decision to fore- 
go his university course and to enter bus- 
iness life. 

The year 1889 was spent in railroad em- 
ploy at New Haven, the year 1890 witness- 
ing his start in the clothing business in 
Westfield, Massachusetts. He started a re- 
tail business in clothing in a small way, but 
conducted along modern merchandising 
lines, and met with-such success that after 
six years in his original location he was 
compelled to seek a larger store to accom- 
modate the trade his energy and ability had 
attracted. In 1897 he moved to his present 
location at No. 108 Elm street, and there 
has continued his prosperous and honorable 
career as a merchant. His finely fitted store, 
well stocked with men's and boy's clothing 
and furnishings for every demand of bus- 
iness, society or outing, is one of the best 
and most popular in his section, while the 
proprietor is highly regarded not alone for 
his quality as a merchant but for his high 
character, his public spirit and deep interest 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in all good causes. The business is now in- 
corporated as The H. S. Eaton Clothing 
Company, Mr. H. S. Eaton being president. 
He has always been interested in church and 
Young Men's Christian Association work, 
is a good musician and at one time was 
leader of a church choir. 

Mr. Eaton married, June 29, 1889, Ellen 
M. Eastman, born in Landaff, New Hamp- 
shire, October 8, 1859, daughter of Oliver 
Dodge and Mary (Clark) Eastman. Oliver 
D. Eastman was born in Kingston, New 
Hampshire, March 3, 181 5, and died at 
Landaflf, New Hampshire, November 29, 
1891. In his early life he taught school 
at Haverhill, Massachusetts, and Isle of 
Shoals, New Hampshire, but after his mar- 
riage moved to Landaff to a farm inherited 
by his wife. He married, April 12, 1851, 
Mary Clark, born at Landaff, February 2, 
1826, died May 10, 1912, a teacher prior to 
her marriage. Their only child, Ellen M. 
Eastman, married Herbert Scott Eaton. 
They are the parents of two sons, Richard 
William and Arthur C. 

Richard William Eaton was born March 
29, 1892, in Westfield, Massachusetts. Af- 
ter graduation from Westfield High School, 
he entered Wesleyan University, whence he 
was graduated, class of 191 2, with the de- 
gree A. B. During his freshman year he 
started a small store in Middletown, which 
he named the Wesleyan Store, and in its 
one room started a business which was so 
well received that he continued it all through 
his university course. In his junior year 
three rooms were necessary and two clerks. 
He dealt in school supplies originally, but 
as the business grew, confectionery, soda 
water, a telephone and telegraph office 
were added and a circulating library in- 
stalled. After graduation he continued the 
profitable business he had built up, and the 
"Wesleyan Store" became not only a pop- 
ular resort for University students, but a 
feature of the town's business, employing 



eight clerks. He remained in business for 
two years after graduation, then sold out 
and for one year was with the Rand Com- 
pany of Tonawanda, New York. He then 
formed a partnership with his brother, 
bought out a business in Buffalo, New 
York, incorporated as The Eaton Brothers 
Company and they conduct a successful bus- 
iness in office furniture and supplies. He 
married Edith Allyn and has two sons, 
Richard William (2), born December 25, 
191 5, and David Herbert, born August 9, 
1917. 

Arthur C. Eaton was born in Westfield, 
May 10, 1894. He is a graduate of West- 
field High School and Wesleyan University, 
class of 1914. After graduation he spent a 
year with the Mortgage Bond & Trust Com- 
pany of New York City, then with his 
brother, became a member of The Eaton 
Brothers Company, Inc., of Buffalo, New 
York, previously mentioned, and there con- 
tinues in successful business. He married. 
May 19, 191 7, Rebecca Farwell, of Turn- 
ers Falls, daughter of Norman and Eliza- 
beth (Austin) Farwell. Mr. Norman Far- 
well is cashier of the Turners Falls Sav- 
ings Bank. 



BRITTON, Herbert Royal, 

Deputy Sheriff, Contractor, Bnilder. 

Herbert Royal Britton, at present (1917), 
deputy sheriff of South Hadley Falls, has 
for many years held offices of trust and 
responsibility, demonstrating his fitness and 
efficiency in every case. In both paternal 
and maternal lines, Mr. Britton comes of 
old Colonial stock, and his ancestry has 
been traced to the first settlers. 

(I) James Britton, his immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in England in 1610, and came 
to this country in the ship "Increase" in 
1637. He subscribed to the town orders 
of Woburn, Massachusetts, in 1640, and 
soon afterward was one of the Charlestown 



214 








/ 6 ' '■J''\^^'t^f-~i^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



men who settled the town. His name ap- 
pears on the first tax list of Woburn in 
1645, and he died there May 3, 1655, leaving 
a widow Jane, who subsequently married 
Isaac Cole and returned to Charlestown to 
live. She died March 10, 1687. Children 
of James and Jane Britton : Peter ; Wil- 
liam, mentioned below. 

(II) William Britton, son of James anl 
Jane Britton, married Mary, eldest daugh- 
ter of Captain James and Mary (Palmer) 
Pendleton, of Westerly, Rhode Island, 
granddaughter of Major Brian Pendleton, 
a distinguished pioneer of historical import- 
ance. Among their children was William, 
of further mention. 

(III) William (2) Britton, son of Wil- 
liam (i) and Mary (Pendleton) Britton, 
married, October 26, 1698, at Taunton, 
Massachusetts, Lydia Leonard, born March 
10, 1679, daughter of James Leonard, of 
Taunton and Raynham. She was among the 
petitioners of the Taunton church, Octo- 
ber 7, 1 73 1, asking for a new parish at what 
is now Raynham. She died May 20, 1775, 
aged ninety-four years. William Britton 
died in 1732. Children: James; William, 
of further mention ; Abiel ; Ebenezer, of 
further mention ; Abigail, Pendleton, Mary, 
Lydia, Sarah, Elizabeth. 

(IV) William (3) Britton, son of Wil- 
liam (2) and Lydia (Leonard) Britton, was 
born at Taunton, about 1710. He married 
at Raynham, March 21, 1733, Sarah Wood- 
ward, who died February 22, 1795, daughter 
of Robert Woodward, granddaughter of 
John Woodward, and great-granddaughter 
of Nathaniel Woodward, who was the pro- 
genitor of the Woodwards who settled early 
in Westmoreland, New Hampshire. His 
son, William, came with his uncle, Ebenezer 
Britton, to Westmoreland about 1765. 

(IV) Ebenezer Britton, son of William 
(2) and Lydia (Leonard) Britton, was 
born in Raynham, June i, 1715. He re- 
moved to Westmoreland in 1771, and pur- 



chased one hundred acres of land there, a 
grist and saw mills. He was selectman, 
member of the Provincial Congress, a prom- 
inent patriot in the Revolution, and a lead- 
ing citizen. He married twice and was the 
father of eighteen children. His sons, 
Dana or David, Job, Samuel, Seth, and 
Stephen, were heads of families in West- 
moreland in 1790. 

(V) Nehemiah Britton, son of Ebenezer 
Britton, was born in Westmoreland, New 
Hampshire, December 12, 1776, and died 
there, June 22, 1845, ^g^<^ sixty-eight years. 
He married at Westmoreland, ceremony 
performed by Joseph Burt, Esq., Sally 
Prentiss, of Walpole, New Hampshire, born 
April 23, 1783. Children, born at West- 
moreland: Sally, born October 4, 1802, 
married Jason Williams ; Sophia, born Au- 
gust 27, 1804, married Henry Evans, and 
lived at Bellows Falls ; Prentiss, born Janu- 
ary 19, 1807, died at Northfield, Massachu- 
setts, married Abigail Maynard ; Harlow, 
born March 25, 1809, married Mercy May- 
nard ; Crissana, born June 2, 181 1, mar- 
ried, April, 1831, Alonzo Maynard, born 
March 11, 1809; Clarissa, born January 
6, 1814, married Liberty Page, and died at 
Keene, aged ninety-nine and a half years ; 
Francis, born March 4, 1816, married Ame- 
lia Randall, widow, and died at South Had- 
ley Falls; Hiram, born October 11, 1818, 
lived at Springfield, Vermont, married Har- 
riette Burt, and died at Bellows Falls ; Levi, 
born January 17, 1821, married Maria Burt, 
and died at Keene ; Royal, of further men- 
tion ; Chandler, born December 2, 1826, 
married Mary Thompson, lived at Keene, 
died aged fifty years. 

(VI) Royal Britton, son of Nehemiah 
and Sally (Prentiss) Britton, was born at 
Westmoreland, New Hampshire, July 31, 
1823, and died January 2, 1891, at South 
Hadley Falls, Massachusetts. He received 
his education in the district schools of 
Westmoreland, and at the age of eighteen, 



215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



according to a not uncommon custom then 
in vogue with enterprising youths, he 
"bought his time" of his mother for the 
sum of $200 and engaged in business on his 
own account as a lumberman, purchasing 
wood lots, cutting the timber and selling it. 
About 1855 he came to South Hadley Falls 
and continued in the same line of business, 
after a year of business as contractor and 
builder, and purchased extensively in the 
timber districts. His experience in New 
Hampshire was of great value to him. His 
judgment as to the value of standing tim- 
ber was second to none and he prospered 
accordingly. At one time, it is said, that he 
owned more land than any other man in 
Hampshire county. In addition to his large 
interests in wood and lumber, he entered 
upon the field of brick making, the pioneer 
in this line of business in South Hadley 
Falls, which since that time has become the 
center of a very large industry. It was 
characteristic of Mr. Britton to take the 
lead in business. He possessed unusual 
foresight, had the courage of his convic- 
tions, and he occupied a place of distinction 
among the business men of the community, 
honored and trusted by men of all classes 
and conditions in life. Though he was in- 
terested in public affairs and strong in his 
faith in the principles of the Democratic 
party, which he supported from young man- 
hood to the close of his life, he never ac- 
cepted public office. When a young man he 
was active in the militia, joined the Keene 
Light Infantry, a very select organization at 
that time, and advanced to the rank of cap- 
tain. While he commanded the company it 
was kept in the front rank of military or- 
ganizations in the State. He possessed a 
natural gift for military affairs, and se- 
cured efficiency and enforced discipline with 
marked success. 

Mr. Britton married (first) Mary 
Blanchard, born in 1829, daughter of Wil- 
liam Blanchard (see Blanchard). He mar- 



ried (second) November 28, 1855, Sarah 
Arabel (Blanchard) Miller, sister of his 
first wife, widow of Robert Miller. She 
died October 8, 1907, aged seventy-six 
years at South Hadley Falls. The child by 
first wife died in infancy. Children by sec- 
ond wife : Herbert Royal, of further men- 
tion ; Frank, born at South Hadley Falls, 
died aged seven years ; Fred Lewis, born at 
South Hadley Falls, April 3, 1871, mar- 
ried Fannie M. Wolcott, born at South 
Hadley Falls, May 25, 1871, daughter of 
Austin D. and Abbie (Hutchins) Wolcott, 
of that town; children: Ralph Royal, 
Grace, Marion, Frances. 

(VII) Herbert Royal Britton, son of Roy- 
al and Sarah A. (Blanchard-Miller) Brit- 
ton, was born at South Hadley Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, March 30, 1858. His early edu- 
cation was received in the public schools, 
and he was graduated from the South Had- 
ley Falls High School in the class of 1875. 
Afterward he was for a time a student in 
Williston Seminary at Easthampton, Mas- 
sachusetts. When he left school he became 
associated in business with his father in con- 
tracting and building, and in the develop- 
ment and care of real estate. He has held 
many offices of trust and responsibility in 
South Hadley Falls. As a member of the 
prudential committee of the town he proved 
his high civic spirit and earnestness in pro- 
moting the welfare and progress of the 
town. For three years he was a member of 
the Board of Assessors, where his knowl- 
edge of real estate and its value was highly 
useful to the community. For three years 
he was a member of the Board of Select- 
men and during part of that time its chair- 
man, and his record in that office will bear 
comparison in every particular with any 
man who has served the town in the same 
capacity. Other offices he filled from time 
to time. Since 1910 he has held the office 
of deputy sheriff, being reappointed by the 
sheriff for five years in 191 6. He is well 



216 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



known and highly esteemed throughout the 
county. In politics he is a Republican. Mr. 
Britton is a popular member of various 
fraternal organizations, namely : Mt. Hol- 
yoke Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
lona Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; and Connecticut Valley Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias. He and his family at- 
tend the Congregational church. 

Mr. Britton married, April 20, 1885, at 
Cambridge, Massachusetts,. Myra Jeanette 
Stone, born in Lakeland, Minnesota, July 
10, 1859, daughter of Charles and Mary 
Elizabeth (Spear) Stone. Her father was 
born in Brookline, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 26, 181 1, died in Lakeland, Minnesota, 
May 20, 1877. Her mother was born in 
Boston, Massachusetts, February 7, 181 2, 
died in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 10, 1896. Mr. and Mrs. Stone were 
the parents of four children: Katherine 
Frances, born in Dorchester, November 29, 
1837, died in Cambridge, February 11, 1884, 
unmarried ; Mary E., born in Brighton, No- 
vember 2, 1842, became the wife of George 
H. Stearns, of Cambridge, where she is liv- 
ing at the present time (1917) ; Henry Her- 
bert, born in Brighton, October 23, 1844, 
died in Togus, IMaine, December 13, 1915; 
Myra Jeanette (Mrs. Britton). Children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Britton : Mary Elizabeth, 
born June 24, 1892, died January 17, 1915; 
Ruth Blanchard, born September 24, 1894, 
resides with her parents. 

(The Blanchard Line). 

(I) Thomas Blanchard, the immigrant, 
was born in England and came to this coun- 
try from Penton, Hampshire, in the ship 
"Jonathan" in 1639. He was a resident of 
Braintree, Massachusetts, in 1646, and later 
resided in Charlestown and Maiden. He 
died May 21, 1654, his will being dated five 
days earlier. He bequeathed to wife Mary ; 
to children : George, Samuel, Nathaniel and 
Thomas; grandchild Joseph; to the Mai- 



den church, '"provided that Benjamin 
Thompson should be fitted for the Univer- 
sity if his parents consent." (N. E. Reg. 
XVII, 156 and XXXII, 411). His first 
wife died in England. He married (sec- 
ond) Agnes (Bent) Barnes, sister of John 
Bent. She died on the voyage, and he mar- 
ried (third) Mary . Children: 

George, Nathaniel, Thomas, Samuel, of 
further mention. 

(II) Samuel Blanchard, son of Thomas 
Blanchard, was born August 6, 1629, and 
came to Massachusetts with his father in the 
ship "Jonathan" when ten years old, land- 
ing June 23, 1639, as stated in his own 
writing. He came to Andover, Massachu- 
setts, June 10, 1686. He died at Andover, 
Xpril 17, 1707. He married (first) Janu- 
ary 3, 1654-55, Mary Sweetser, daughter of 
Seth Sweetser. She died February 20, 1669. 
He married (second) June 24, 1673, Han- 
nah , who died July 10, 1725, aged 

seventy-nine years. Children of first wife, 
born at Andover : Samuel, born September 
29, 1656; Sarah, February 15, 1657-58; 
Mary, April 18, 1659; Jonathan, May 25, 
1664; Joshua, August 6, 1667; Abigail, 
March 5, 1668-69. Children by second wife: 
Thomas, of further mention ; John, born 
July 3, 1677; Samuel, June 4, 1680; Han- 
nah, September 26, 1681. 

(III) Thomas (2) Blanchard, son of 
Samuel and Hannah Blanchard, was born 
at Andover, April 28, 1674, and died there, 
March 17, 1759. A deed of land to his son 
Nathaniel, of Roadtown, established the 
line. The descendants of the Shutesbury 
family, however, have ample other evidence 
that Nathaniel, son of this Thomas, went to 
Shutesbury. (See N. E. Reg., 1906, page 
375, for copy of the family records). Thom- 
as Blanchard married (first) March 22, 
1698-99, Rose Holmes, of Marshfield. She 
died August 27, 1714. He married (sec- 
ond) September 21, 1715, Hannah Gowen, 
of Newbury. She died June 25, 1724. He 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married (third) February 21, 1728, Jude 
Hill. Children by first wife, born at An- 
dover : Thomas, born January 15, 1700; 
Joseph, February 19, 1701 ; Isaac, Septem- 
ber 20, 1702, died January 25, 1722 ; Josiah, 
August 16, 1704; Elizabeth, March 25, 
1706; Hannah, May 6, 1708; Rose, Janu- 
ary 12, 1709, died November 22, 1724; De- 
borah, April 18, 1712; Lida, August 22, 
1714. Children by second wife: Mehita- 
ble, born October 3, 1716; Nathaniel, of 
further mention; Isaac, born October 23, 
1723. Child by third wife : Abiah. 

(IV) Nathaniel Blanchard, son of Thom- 
as (2) and Hannah (Gowen) Blanchard, 
was born at Andover, February 2, 1 718-19. 
He removed to Shutesbury, ^Massachusetts, 
where he died in 1805, aged eighty-six 
years. In 1800 he deeded land to sons, Jo- 
seph and Lemuel, who moved to New 
Hampshire and settled in Acworth, Wal- 
pole, Westmoreland and vicinity. His sons 
were : Joseph, married Relief Osgood ; 
Aaron, of Acworth and Barnard, Vermont ; 
Lemuel, of Acworth, soldier of the Revo- 
lution, present at the burning of New Lon- 
don; Isaac, married Miriam Lord; Asa; 
William; Nathaniel, of further mention. 

(V) Nathaniel (2) Blanchard, son of 
Nathaniel (i) Blanchard, was born before 
1750. He settled in Westmoreland, New 
Hampshire, and according to the census 
was living there in 1790, having seven in his 

family. He married De Bell, of 

Boston. He was a "famous iiddler." He 
was a soldier in the Revolution, from New 
Hampshire, in Captain William Humph- 
rey's company, according to a pay roll dat- 
ed in 1776 (New Hampshire Papers, vol. 
I, p. 355). According to the town records 
of Westmoreland, Nathaniel and Sarah 
Blanchard had the following children in 
that town : William, of further mention ; a 
daughter, born May 5, 1782; Willard, Au- 
gust 9, 1783; a daughter, May 12, 1785; 
Heber, December 2, 1786; Martha, Novem- 

21 



ber 29, 1789; Nancy, October 28, 1792; 
Nathaniel, April 6, 1794; Amarilla (son), 
June 16, 1799; Henry, March 11, 1805; 
Almira, January 18, 1807. 

(VI) William Blanchard, son of Na- 
thaniel (2) Blanchard, was born at West- 
moreland, New Hampshire, July 8, 1780, 
and died at South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts, August 15, 1864. He lived on his fath- 
er's homestead at Westmoreland for a time, 
afterward purchasing a farm in Walpole, 
New Hampshire. He married (first) Rox- 
anna Burt, daughter of ]\Ioses Burt. She 
died about 1825. He married (second) 
1828, Laura Powers, born in Bernardstown, 
Massachusetts, 1810, died at Walpole, New 
Hampshire, July, 1846. Children by first 
wife: I.Moses. 2. William. 3. Son, died 
young. 4. Sally, died aged twenty years. 
5. Roxanna, married George McNeil. 6. 
Martha, was the third wife of her brother- 
in-law, George McNeil. 7. Sophronia, mar- 
ried, April 5, 1843, Hiram Britton (see 
Britton). 8. Submit, married Theron Ad- 
ams. Children by second wife : 9. Mary, 
born in the summer of 1829; married Roy- 
al Britton (see Britton). 10. Sarah Ara- 
bel, born January 13, 1831 ; married (first) 
Robert Miller, (second) Royal Britton (see 
Britton). 11. Jeannette, born December 5, 
1833 ; married Lewis Watson, who died in 
Minnesota; they had three sons and three 
daughters ; she died at South Hadley Falls, 
February 2, 1913. 12. Harriet Laura, born 
October 28, 1837; married in Holyoke, No- 
vember 16, 1858, Homer Taft, born Feb- 
ruary 12, 1832; he spent the early years of 
his life with a relative, Josiah Taft, and in 
young manhood removed to Watertown, 
Massachusetts ; he was a carpenter by 
trade ; moved to Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
and engaged in business for himself as a 
contractor and builder; resided in South 
Hadley Falls for twenty-eight years, but 
conducted business in Holyoke ; retired 
from active work in 1897, then retired to a 



8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



farm in Putney, Vermont, where he resided 
until his death, February, 1908; children, 
all born in South Hadley Falls: Alfred 
Homer, born December, i860, resides in 
New York City, married and is the father 
of three children ; Will Forest, born De- 
cember, 1862, resides in Paterson, New Jer- 
sey, married and is the father of two chil- 
dren and one grand-child ; Mary Emma, 
born March, 1866, died 1888, unmarried; 
George Ernest, born April, 1868, resides 
in Corona, New York, married and is the 
father of eight children, two grandchil- 
dren: Fred Leon, born August, 1871, un- 
married, resides in Worcester, Massachu- 
setts; Hattie Mabel, born 1877, resides in 
South Hadley Falls, married H. H. Spauld- 
ing, of South Hadley, and has two children ; 
Frank Lewis, born May, 1879, resides in 
North Brattleboro, Vermont, married and 
has one child. Mrs. Taft resides on the 
farm in Putney, Vermont. She is a mem- 
ber of the Eastern Star and the Relief 
Corps. 13. Henry, born August 17, 1842, 
died in Illinois, January, 191 5; married 
Eliza Fieber, of Easthampton, Massachu- 
setts. 14. Lizzie, born Alay 2^/, 1846; mar- 
ried (first) Fred Miller; (second) Na- 
than W. Loveland, born near Burlington, 
Vermont, January 16, 1842, died in Chico- 
pee, April 20, 1914; he was a veteran of 
the Civil War, having served three years in 
the First Vermont Cavalry; Mrs. Loveland 
died in South Hadley Falls. 



WREN, Rev. Humphrey James, 
Priest. 

Father Wren, the well known priest of 
South Hadley Falls, is a close student of 
history, and has had much to do with the 
upbuilding of the communities in which he 
has labored. This name is of Norman ori- 
gin, and the family came to Ireland during 
the regime of Oliver Cromwell. Sir Chris- 
topher Wren, of St. Paul's Cathedral, Lon- 



don, is a descendant of the same family. 
Humphrey Wren, grandfather of Rev. 
Humphrey James Wren, lived and died in 
Ireland. He married Joanna Cronin, and 
they had the following children : Mary, 
Margaret, John, Cornelia C, and Humphrey. 
Of these, Humphrey Wren, father of Rev. 
Humphrey James Wren, was born in Bally 
Longford, County Kerry, Ireland, in 1831, 
and died in Killarney, Ireland, June 21, 
191 1, while on a visit there. He was edu- 
sated in the common and national schools of 
Ireland, and was a well read man. In 
youth he was apprenticed to learn the shoe- 
maker's trade, later, in 1852, came to Amer- 
ica, locating in the town of Hardwick, 
Massachusetts, where he was engaged in 
agricultural pursuits throughout his active 
life. His farm consisted of one hundred 
and twenty-five acres which he successfully 
conducted. He w^as much interested in lo- 
cal afifairs, and was a man of influence in 
the community. At the age of eighty-one 
years he made a visit to his native land, in 
company with his son, Rev. Humphrey J. 
Wren, and was there taken ill and died, as 
previously noted. He married, in 1859, 
^Margaret Walsh, who was a native of Coun- 
ty Kerry, Ireland, daughter of Patrick and 
Joanna (Shea) Walsh. She died in 1908, 
at the age of seventy-three years. Their 
first children were twins, who died in in- 
fancy. The others are : Cornelius, a build- 
er in Hardwick, Massachusetts ; Rev. 
Humphrey J., of further mention ; Joanna 
M. ; and Michael J., who resides on the 
homestead in Hardwick. 

Rev. Humphrey James Wren was born 
August 26, 1863, in Greenwich, Massachu- 
setts, and pursued his early studies in the 
schools of Hardwick. Afterward he took a 
classical course in St. Hyacinthe College, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, and completed 
his college education at North East, Erie 
county, Pennsylvania, where he was grad- 
uated. Returning to St. Hyacinthe College, 



219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he held a professorship at that institution 
for a period of three years, after which he 
entered upon his theological studies at the 
Grand Seminary in Montreal, Canada. He 
was ordained to the priesthood at St. Hy- 
acinthe. May 30, 1889, and immediately 
went to Monson for one year, then to the 
Sacred Heart Church at West Fitchburg, 
Massachusetts, where he served eight 
months as a curate. He was next engaged 
at South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, as 
an assistant in the parish which included 
Plainville, and during this time the present 
parish of Fairview was organized. Later 
he was sent to Warren, Massachusetts, as 
curate, to assist Rev. J. T. Madden, at 
present Monsignor and Vicar General (see 
sketch elsewhere in this work), and after a 
short stay was made rector of the French 
speaking parish at Mittineague, Massachu- 
setts, which parish then included East and 
West Long Meadow. When the parish of 
Warren was divided by the Bishop, Father 
Wren was made pastor of the West War- 
ren parish, and was called thence to North 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, where he re- 
mained fourteen years. In 191 3 he 
was placed in charge of the parish of 
South Hadley Falls, where he has since 
remained and where his work has 
been crowned with gratifying success. Fath- 
er Wren is an especially versatile man, and 
is as much at home with the French 
language as with the English. He is thor- 
oughly acquainted with the French people, 
and is eminently fitted to attend to their 
wants, being a man of large heart. His 
influence is extensive, and he is ever lead- 
ing his charge to thoughts of higher and 
better things, and the benefits of his influ- 
ence are incalculable. 



BANNISTER, Jesse, 

Cotton Expert. 

The honored and long-time resident of 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, whose name heads 
this article, was of notable qualtities as a 
citizen. He was for many years associated 
with the Dwight Manufacturing Company, 
and was a recognized authority in matters 
pertaining to the cotton business. 

William Bannister, grandfather of 
Jesse Bannister, was born in England, and 
spent his life as a truckman in the town of 
Blackburn. He married Alice Hurst, and 
their children were : William, born in 
1815; Thomas, 1817; John, 1819; James, 
1821 ; Henry, 1823; Robert, of further 
mention; Mary Ann, born in 1827; Lewis, 
1829; Edward, 1831 ; Jesse, 1833; Rich- 
ard, 1835 ; and Joseph, 1837. All these are 
now deceased. The mother of the family 
died in England in 1862. She and her hus- 
band attended the Protestant Episcopal 
church. 

Robert Bannister, son of William and 
Alice (Hurst) Bannister, was born Jan- 
uary 15, 1825, in Blackburn, England, and 
in 1863 emigrated to the United States. His 
occupation was that of a cotton spinner. In 
politics he was a Republican. During his 
long residence in this country he made four 
trips to his native land. Mr. Bannister mar- 
ried Catherine Brocklehurst, whose family 
record is appended to this biography, and 
of the ten children born to them seven died 
in infancy. The following reached maturi- 
ty : I. William, born October 9, 1845 > ^^ow 
lives with his sister Nancy in Springfield, 
Massachusetts; he married Frances Jack- 
son and of the four children born to them 
two died at birth, Alice died at the age of 
twelve, and Lewis lived to be nine. 2. 
Nancy, married Ellis Cunliffe, and they 
now live in Springfield, Massachusetts; 



220 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their children were : Eva, born September 
i8, 1877, died at birth ; Albert E., born Jan- 
uary 5, 1879; Alice M., born August 24, 
1881, died August 15, 1892; James W., 
born December 23, 1886. 3. Jesse, of furth- 
er mention. It was in the home of this son, 
at Chicopee, that Mr. and Mrs. Bannister 
passed away, the mother dying April 23, 
1907, aged eighty-two, and the death of 
the father occurring January 29, 1909, at 
eighty-four. Both attended the Protestant 
Episcopal church. 

Jesse Bannister, son of Robert and Cath- 
erine (Brocklehurst) Bannister, was born 
March 7, 1853, i" Blackburn, England, 
and there received his primary education 
in public schools. He was eleven years old 
when the family emigrated to the United 
States, settling first at Cohoes, New York, 
after a short time removing to Easthamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, thence going soon to 
Holyoke, in the same State, and finally tak- 
ing up their abode in Chicopee. In this town 
Jesse Bannister was employed as a young 
man by the Dwight Manufacturing Com- 
pany, becoming a first-class mechanic. In 
1892 Mr. Bannister was made overseer of 
the spinning department, one of the largest 
in the mill, and it was not long before he 
became widely known for his knowledge of 
the business. Such was his reputation in 
this respect that in 1902 he was sent by the 
company to England in order that he might 
make a thorough study of the cotton indus- 
try in that country. In 1907 Mr. Bannister 
resigned his position with the intention of 
retiring from active business ; he, however, 
immediately received the appointment of 
superintendent of the Fairview Cemetery, 
a position which he retained to the close of 
his life. In everything which he deemed 
calculated to promote betterment of condi- 
tions in the community Mr. Bannister took 
a helpful interest, being a man of civic spir- 
it and benevolent disposition. He affiliated 
with the Masonic lodge of Chicopee, and 

221 



Bela-Grotto, Order of the Veiled Prophets 
of the Enchanted Realm, of Springfield, but 
never held office in either. He and his wife 
attended the Protestant Episcopal church. 
Mr. Bannister married (first) in the 
spring of 1882, Mary Ann Dawson. Mrs. 
Bannister died in 1904. On December 5, 
1905, Mr. Bannister married (second) Belle 
M. Hubbard, whose family record is ap- 
pended to this biography. The only child 
of this marriage is a son, Jesse Horace, 
born September 18, 1906. Mr. Bannister 
was a man of strong domestic tastes and af- 
fections, devoted to the ties of family and 
friendship. The death of Mr. Bannister, 
which occurred on January 13, 191 6, after 
a brief illness, was mourned by the entire 
community. All felt that Chicopee had lost 
one of her best citizens. 

(The Brocklehurst Line). 

William Brocklehurst, father of Mrs. 
Catherine (Brocklehurst) Bannister, was 
a hand-loom weaver in England, and mar- 
ried Jane Marsden, who was also a native 
of that country. Their children were : 
Mathew, born in 1817; John, 1819; Mar- 
garet, 1821 ; Ann, 1823; Catherine, men- 
tioned below; James, 1827; Joseph, 1829; 
Jane, 1831 ; Mary, 1833; and Alice, 1835. 
All these are now deceased. William Brock- 
lehurst, the father, died in July, 1875. 

Catherine Brocklehurst, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Jane (Marsden) Brocklehurst, 
was born November 19, 1825, in Houlton 
Tower, England, and became the wife of 
Robert Bannister, as stated above. 

(The Hubbard Line). 

Charles Hubbard, grandfather of Mrs. 
Belle M. (Hubbard) Bannister, was bom 
in 1802, in Chesterfield, New Hampshire, 
and married Mary Sybil Streeter, who was 
born in 1808. Their children were : Hor- 
ace J., mentioned below ; Leavett, born in 
Hinsdale, New Hampshire ; Delos, born 
in Hinsdale, New Hampshire ; Cabbott, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born in Hinsdale, New Hampshire, as were 
the two following: Mary, died in 1916, 
aged seventy-two ; and Willard, died in 
1912, at the age of sixty-four. Mr. Hub- 
bard passed away in 1848, in Hinsdale, 
and his widow survived him forty years, 
her death occurring in 1888. 

Horace J. Hubbard, son of Charles and 
Mary Sybil (Streeter) Hubbard, was born 
August I, 1835, in Chesterfield, New Hamp- 
shire, and was a bobbin-maker and machin- 
ist. He married Mary E. Wheeler (see 
Wheeler line), and they became the par- 
ents of two children : Horace Albert, born 
July 28, 1861, died eight weeks later; and 
Belle M., mentioned below. Mrs. Hubbard 
passed away February 2, 1872, in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, and the death of her hus- 
band occurred at the same place on August 

25, 1905- 

Belle M. Hubbard, daughter of Horace 
J. and Mary E. (Wheeler) Hubbard, was 
born July 17, 1866, in Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, and became the wife of Jesse Ban- 
nister, as stated above. 

(The Wheeler Line). 

Otis H. Wheeler, father of Mary E. 
(Wheeler) Hubbard, was born March 11, 
1812, and married, September 2, 1837, 
Melisse E. Thurston, who was born March 
19, 1815. Their children were: I. Loren 
O., born April 26, 1838, died October 3, 
1861. 2. Albert E., born November 15, 
1839, went to Montana and died there. 3. 
Mary E., mentioned below. 4. Emma, born 
August 10, 1844; married, September 5, 
1859, Andrew E. Willis, who died August 
5, 1913; they had two children. 5. Helen 
j\I., born March 20, 1846, died July 21, 
1850. 6. Stella M., born May 21, 1848, 
married, September 5, 1865, Lucius J. Par- 
melee, and they had two children; Mrs. 
Parmelee died December 8, 1880, and the 
death of her husband occurred in 1916. 
7. Ellen M., born June 9, 1851, married. 



March 10, 1873, James Cargill, and they 
had two children : ]\Irs. Cargill died ^larch 
19, 1883, and her husband passed away 
April 12, 1 89 1. The mother of these sev- 
en children passed away November 20, 
1865, and the father survived until Decem- 
ber 16, 1891. 

]\Iary E. Wheeler, daughter of Otis H. 
and ]Melis5e E. (Thurston) Wheeler, was 
born December 2, 1841, in Chesterfield, 
New Hampshire, and became the wife of 
Horace J. Hubbard, as stated above. 



YOUNG, Hiram Joel, 

Representative Citizen. 

There is a tradition that the Youngs 
of New Hampshire settled in Canada, but 
the branch from which Hiram Joel Young 
descends came to New Hampshire after 
the Revolution, his father Wilson, and his 
grandfather Samuel, having been born in 
that State near the famous "Ox bow" in 
the Connecticut river. Later both settled 
in Canada, Samuel at Kingsley Falls, a 
post village of Drummond county, prov- 
ince of Quebec, on the Nicolet river. Wil- 
son Young, when seeking a location for 
himself chose W^arwick, a banking town 
of Arthabaska county, province of Que- 
bec. There his son, Hiram Joel Young, 
was born and lived until eighteen years 
of age, and since 1884 has been a resident 
of South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts. 

Samuel Young grew to manhood at his 
New Hampshire home, there married 
Ruth Aldrich, and when his son, Wilson, 
born in 181 7. was yet a boy moved with 
his family to Kingsley Falls, Canada, 
where he died about 1843, his wife sur- 
viving him until about 1857. They were 
the parents of Ruby, married a Mr. Gal- 
lup ; Ruth, married Levi Judd, Andrew; 
Lynda; Elizabeth; Jane; Wilson, of fur- 
ther mention. 

Wilson Young, born in New Hamp- 



222 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



shire, May 13, 1817, died in Warwick, 
Canada, in 1877. He was taken to King- 
sley Falls, Canada, when a boy by his 
parents, and there obtained a public 
school education. When about twenty 
years of age he enlisted in the Canadian 
militia and was in active service during 
the insurrection of that period known as 
the Papinou War. He settled later at 
Warwick in the same province, and there 
was engaged in farming until his death. 
He was a Republican in politics and 
•somewhat active, but never sought nor 
held political office. He was a member 
of the Masonic order and of the Baptist 
church. Wilson Young married Mary 
Ardella Shaultrie, of French descent, 
•daughter of Peter Shaultrie, a farmer of 
Kingsley Falls, and a merchant of Somer- 
set, a nearby town. Later Peter Shaultrie 
moved to Warwick, where he died about 
1870, leaving sons, Charles and Frank, 
and daughters, Sophie, and Mary Ardella, 
wife of Wilson Young. Mrs. Young sur- 
vived her husband about thirty-four 
years, and died at the home of her son 
Nelson, at Danville, province of Quebec, 
in 1904. Mr. and Mrs. Young were the 
parents of eight daughters and five sons : 
Jane and Emily, died in infancy ; Hiram 
Joel, of further mention ; Louisa, born 
March 17, 1850, married and resides near 
Keene, New Hampshire; Matilda, born 
May 18, 1852, deceased; Phoebe, born in 
1855; Ruby, born in 1857, deceased; Har- 
riet, died in infancy; Elizabeth, born in 
1859, deceased ; Samuel Wilson, born July 
15, 1861, now a resident of South Hadley 
Falls, married Margaret Reid and has 
seven children ; Nelson, born in June, 
1863, now residing in Danville, Quebec; 
John, born in March, 1865, now living in 
South Hadley Falls; Freeman, born in 
April, 1867, deceased. 

Hiram Joel Young, eldest son of Wil- 
son and Mary Ardella (Shaultrie) Young, 



was born in Kingsley, Quebec, Canada, 
August 30, 1848. The first eleven years 
of his life were spent on the home farm in 
that town and then in Warwick. At the 
age of eighteen he made his first visit to 
the United States, coming in 1866 with a 
drove of cattle for the Boston market, 
walking from Richmond, Canada, to the 
stock yards at Brighton, Massachusetts. 
He did not at once return to Canada, but 
made his home in Paris, Maine, and here 
attended the public school, and for three 
years went to Canada, each season return- 
ing with a drove of cattle. From 1869 un- 
til 1871 he resided in Norway, Maine, 
where he attended the academy, and there 
belonged to one of the crack military or- 
ganizations of the State, the Norway 
Light Infantry, this company being al- 
ways a feature at inauguration and on 
special occasions. After leaving Norway 
he spent a short time at the old home in 
Canada, but the years, 1872-74, were 
passed in Vermont. He then spent a year 
at Kingsley Falls, Canada, learning paper 
making. In 1875 he married and then 
moved to Valleyfield, above Montreal, 
Canada, remaining there five years em- 
ployed at his trade. In 1881 he settled in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, securing em- 
ployment in the paper mills. In 1884 he 
removed to South Hadley Falls and erect- 
ed a fine residence, and has there continu- 
ously resided until the present year, 1917. 
Mr. Young married, in Canada, in 1875, 
Janet M. Walkinshaw, born of Scotch 
parentage in Windsor, province of Que- 
bec. Mr. and Mrs. Young are the parents 
of four sons and five daughters: i. Alice 
Edith, born November 19, 1876, at Valley- 
field, Canada; married Dr. James C. Mas- 
ton, one child, Edith; resides in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 2. Wilson A., born 
September 17, 1878, in Valleyfield; mar- 
ried Helen Brown, born in Scotland and 
resides in Oakland, California; one son. 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wilson. 3. Lily M., born May 10, 1881, 
in Windsor, Canada; married Frank 
Brown, born in England, and resides in 
Williamantic, Connecticut; two children: 
Evelyn and Dorris. 4. Hiram, born July 
20, 1884, died in infancy. 5. Ida M., born 
July 29, 1886, died in infancy. 6. Walter 
R., born October 7, 1888, in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts ; married Norene Gallivan 
and resides in Williamantic, Connecticut. 
7. Norman R., born January 10, 1892, died 
at the age of twenty-one years. 8. Hazel 
Ruth, born November 2^, 1893, at Chico- 
pee, Massachusetts; married Carroll Can- 
non and resides in Springfield ; one son, 
Russell. 9. Ruby Ethel, born August 23, 
1897, at Chicopee, residing with her par- 
ents in South Hadley Falls. 



LAWTON, Dwight Barker, 

Army Xiieuteuant. 

The Reed family, of which Mrs. Susan 
E. (Reed) Lawton, a well known resident 
of Worcester, is a representative, is of Eng- 
lish origin, tracing back to the sixteenth 
century, its members in the various genera- 
tions bearing well their part in pubhc, mil- 
itary and private life, leaving behind them 
the indelible impress of their industry, per- 
severance and uprightness. 

(I) William Reed, emigrant ancestor, 
was born in England, in 1587. He was 
reared and educated in his native land, re- 
maining there until the year 1635, when 
he emigrated to the New World, sailing 
in the ship, "Defence," accompanied by his 
wife, Mabel (Kendall) Reed, and three 
children: George, Ralph, Justus. 

(II) George Reed, eldest son of William 
and Mabel (Kendall) Reed, was born in 
England, 1629, and was brought by his 
parents to New England in 1635. He mar- 
ried, October 4, 1652, Elizabeth Jennison. 
Children : Elizabeth, Samuel, Abigail, 
George, William, Sarah. 



(III) William (2) Reed, youngest son of 
George and Elizabeth (Jennison) Reed, was 
born in Woburn, Massachusetts, September 
22, 1662. He married. May 24, 1686, Abi- 
gail Kendall, who bore him six children: 
Abigail, William, Mary, Benjamin, Joshua, 
Hepsibah. 

(IV) William (3) Reed, eldest son of 
William (2) and Abigail (Kendall) Reed, 
was born at Lexington, Massachusetts, July 
18, 1693. He married, about 1719, Sarah 
Poulter. Their children, born in Lexing- 
ton, were : William, Samuel, Sarah, Mary, 
Oliver, John, Hammon, Eliot, Hannah, Na- 
than. 

(V) Samuel Reed, second son of William 
(3) and Sarah (Poulter) Reed, was born in 
Lexington, Massachusetts, May 4, 1722. He 
married Eunice Stone, of Lexington, born 
July 2, 1724, who bore him nine children: 
Samuel, Micah, Moses, Frances, Eunice, 
Abigail, Lucy, Sarah, Mary. 

(VI) Micah Reed, second son of Sam- 
uel and Eunice (Stone) Reed, was born in 
Lexington, Massachusetts, September 28, 
1746. About 1780 he removed to Hard- 
wick, Massachusetts, and later to New 
Braintree. He married Elizabeth Paige. 
Their children were: Micah, Elizabeth, 
Elizabeth (2), Elizabeth (3), Samuel, Eu- 
nice. 

(VII) Colonel Micah (2) Reed, eldest 
son of Micah (i) and Elizabeth (Paige) 
Reed, was born in Massachusetts, October 
17, 1773. In early boyhood he accompanied 
his parents upon their removal to Hard- 
wick, but the greater part of his active 
career was spent in New Braintree, his 
homestead being located in the part known 
as Ditch Meadow, where, in addition to ag- 
ricultural pursuits, he was also the proprie- 
tor of the Reed Tavern. He took an ac- 
tive interest in military afifairs, and for a 
number of years served as colonel of a Wor- 
cester county regiment. He married Debo- 
rah Thurston, born September 23, 1778, 



224 






^^^c^uJaZ^ 





■^E NEW YORK 
-^C UBRAR. 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



daughter of Samuel Thurston, of Hard- 
wick. Their children, all born in New 
Braintree, were: i. Arminiley, born Sep- 
tember 22, 1798, never married. 2. Rebecca 
Paige, born July 6, 1801, died January 6, 
1808. 3. Infant son, born April 16, 1803, 
died same day. 4. Abel Wheeler, born Jan- 
uary 15, 1805, died 1874; married Eliza- 
beth Scovil, of East Haddam, Connecticut, 
and had a daughter, Nellie, deceased. 5. 
Micah Thurston, born May 21, 1807, died 
January 11, 1885; married Abigial Har- 
low, child, Thomas Harlow. 6. Samuel 
Gardner, born May 21, i8og, died 1884; 
married (first) Lucella P. Ware, of Wor- 
cester, and had two children : Charles Ar- 
thur and Frank Theodore; married (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth P. Field, of Philadelphia, 
and had one child, Karl Beagary ; married 
(third) Hannah W. Whitcomb. 7. Ham- 
mond, born August 7, 181 1. 8. Sumner, 
born March 29, 181 3, married Jane Hen- 
shaw, of Carlton, Massachusetts. 9. Re- 
becca, born December 2, 181 5, married 
James B. Bardwell, of New Braintree, and 
had three children : Everett J., Frederick, 
deceased, and Alice R., deceased. 10. 
Dwight, of whom further. Colonel Micah 
Reed died in New Braintree, August 3, 
1825. His wife died June 30, 1828. 

(VIII) Dwight Reed, youngest son of 
Colonel Micah (2) and Deborah (Thurs- 
ton) Reed, was born in New Braintree, 
Massachusetts, August 25, 181 7. He at- 
tended the schools of his native town, Lei- 
cester Academy, and Wilbraham Academy, 
thus acquiring an excellent education. He 
served an apprenticeship at the trade of 
spoke making, and operated a factory for 
some time in Brookfield, Massachusetts. 
From there he moved to Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was associated with 
Thomas Reed as stove dealers, under the 
firm name of Reed & Company, their place 
of business being on Main street. This 
enterprise proved successful and remunera- 



tive, and the connection continued during 
the remainder of his active life. He became 
one of the well known citizens of Wor- 
cester, was active in worthy movements for 
the betterment of his adopted city, and cast 
his vote for the candidates of the Repub- 
lican party. Mr. Reed married, in New 
Braintree, March 15, 1842, Susanne Lu- 
ther Vaughn, born in Prescott, daughter 
of Josiah and Susanne (Shaw) Vaughn. 
They were the parents of three children : 
George D., born November i, 1848, died 
August 23, 1849; Susan E., of whom 
further ; I\Iary. Dwight Reed died in 
Worcester at the age of seventy-two years, 
and his remains were interred in Hope Cem- 
etery. His wife died in Worcester, 1893, and 
is also interred in Hope Cemetery. 

(IX) Susan E. Reed, eldest daughter of 
Dwight and Susanne Luther (Vaughn) 
Reed, was born in Brookfield, Massachu- 
setts. She married Christopher P. Law- 
ton. After completing her studies, Susan 
E. Reed pursued a course of study of mu- 
sic in New York, Chicago, Mexico and 
Boston. She possessed musical talent of 
marked degree, especially on the harp and 
organ, and for several years thereafter 
had pupils on both these instruments. She 
is a lady of culture, artistic taste and tem- 
perament, and is prominent in social cir- 
cles in Worcester, in which city she is re- 
siding at the present time (191 7). She is 
a member of the Army Relief Society, Red 
Cross Society, Equal SuflFrage League, a 
fellow of the National Geographic Society, 
and takes an active part in charitable work. 
There was one child born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Lawton, Dwight Barker, of whom further. 

(X) Dwight Barker Lawton, son of 
Christopher P. and Susan E. (Reed) Law- 
ton, was born in Webster, Massachusetts. 
During his boyhood he resided for a time 
in New York City, receiving a military 
training in several New York military 
schools. He was formerly a sergeant in B. 



MASS.— 7— 15. 



225 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Battery. His first enlistment was at the 
recruiting station in the Walker Building 
shortly after the office had been opened. He 
was assigned to Company K, Twelfth 
United States Infantry, made up entirely 
of men from Worcester. Owing to his pre- 
vious experience with B. Battery, his pro- 
motion from private to first sergeant was 
rapid. He did not go to Cuba with the rest 
of the regiment, as his battalion was not 
in readiness to go at that time. After the 
close of the war. Sergeant Lawton obtained 
his discharge under the volunteer act, and 
returned to Worcester. Soldiering was so 
much to his liking that he re-enlisted again 
at the Walker Building Recruiting Station, 
and once more was a private. He again 
rose through all the grades of non-commis- 
sioned officer and was appointed battalion 
sergeant-major in June, 1899, of the Twelfth 
United States Infantry. He was appointed 
second lieutenant of the same company in 
February, 1901, and first lieutenant of the 
Sixteenth United States Infantry in May, 
1906. The examination for these ranks was 
very rigid, but he passed with a grade of 
84 per cent, or over. He saw five years' 
continuous service in the Philippine Islands, 
after which he was retired on account of ill 
health. Previous to his retirement he had 
been ordered to proceed to Alaska. He 
won about twelve medals for valiant ser- 
vice from the dififerent army corps he had 
served in, including the Congressional Med- 
al. He was a member of the Army and 
Navy Club, Washington and New York ; 
the Carabao Club in the Philippines ; the 
Army Relief Club and the Red Cross Associ- 
ation. Lieutenant Lawton was a brilliant of- 
ficer and socially popular. When he was first 
stricken with the nervous ailment which 
caused his death. Lieutenant Lawton was 
sent to the Walter Reed Army Hospital 
at Washington, D. C. After an illness of 
four and a half years of paralysis of the 
nerves. Lieutenant Lawton died October 



23, 1914. The funeral services, which were 
private, were conducted at the home of his 
mother. No. 10 Institute Road, Worcester, 
and the chaplain of the Second Massachu- 
setts Infantry, Massachusetts National 
Guard, officiated. He was buried with mil- 
itary honors in Hope Cemetery. A squad 
from the Second Massachusetts Infantry, 
under Captain Stevenson, fired a volley 
over the grave and taps were sounded. Ad- 
jutant-General Charles H. Cole, of the 
Massachusetts National Guard, ordered the 
flag at the armory to remain at half mast 
during the funeral services, and from his 
death until his interment the flag at the 
Grand Army of the Republic headquarters 
was at half mast. 



BARDWELL, George Edwin, 

Representative Citizen. 

The history of this branch of the Bard- 
wells of Holyoke, Massachusetts, leads in 
direct paternal line to Robert Bardwell, 
who came from London, England, in 1670, 
then being about twenty-three years of 
age. His great-grandson. Deacon Joseph 
Bardwell, married Sibyl Worthington 
Smith, daughter of Captain Elijah Smith, 
of Belchertown, Massachusetts, great- 
great-grandson of Joseph Smith, who was 
a resident of Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1655. His son. Sergeant Joseph Smith, 
removed in 1680 to Hadley, Massachu- 
setts, and in 1687 he took charge of the 
grist mill at Mill River, three miles from 
Hadley. His son. Deacon John Smith, 
settled at Belchertown, Massachusetts, 
where he died in 1777, aged ninety. He 
married Elizabeth Hovey, they the par- 
ents of Captain Elijah Smith, of Belcher- 
town, a captain in the French War of 
1756. Captain Elijah Smith married 
(first) in 1751, Sibyl, daughter of Daniel 
Worthington, of Colchester, Connecticut. 
Their eldest daughter, Sibyl Worthington 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Smith, married Deacon Joseph Bardwell, 
of Belchertown, their marriage uniting 
two prominent Colonial families of Con- 
necticut and Massachusetts. 

Robert Bardwell, the American ances- 
tor, was a hatter by trade, and at the time 
of the great plague in 1665 was in London 
learning this trade, being there also at the 
time of the great fire. He was sergeant 
of the militia in the Indian wars, and was 
actively engaged in King Philip's War. 
About 1675 he was sent to the Connecti- 
cut Valley with dispatches for the troops, 
making the trip alone on foot through the 
forests, after this making his home in 
Hatfield. He was in the fight at Turner's 
Falls, May 18, 1676, and came through 
many engagements without a serious 
wound. He married, November 29, 1676, 
Mary (Gull) Foote, who died November 
12, 1726, daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth (Smith) Gull, and widow of Nathan- 
iel Foote. He died January 9, 1726, aged 
seventy-nine years. Children : Ebenezer, 
born October 19, 1679; Mary, October 15, 
1681 ; John, September 16, 1683, died 1685 ; 
Samuel, September 26, 1685; John, of fur- 
ther mention; Elizabeth, July 30, 1689; 
Thomas, December 8, 1691 ; Esther, Au- 
gust 8, 1693, married, October 23, 1717, 
Joseph Belden ; Sarah, married. May 19, 
1713, Jonathan Barrett; Thankful, mar- 
ried. May 23, 1717, Abram Graves; Abi- 
gail, born 1699, married, June 6, 1720, 
David Graves. 

John Bardwell, son of Robert and Mary 
(Gull-Foote) Bardwell, was born at Hat- 
field, August 18, 1687, and died there. 
May 25, 1728. His will was proved June 
24, 1728. He married Mehitable Graves, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah Graves, of 
Hatfield. Children: Moses, born 1712, 
married Azubah Graves ; Joseph, of fur- 
ther mention ; Sarah, March 23, 1719, died 
unmarried, March 18, 1736; Martha, Oc- 
tober 27, 1720, married David Waite ; 



John, October 26, 1723; Jonathan, 1724, 
captain in the Revolution, married Violet 
Amsden. 

Joseph Bardwell, son of John and Me- 
hitable (Graves) Bardwell, was born in 
1713, at Hatfield, and was a prominent 
man in Belchertown. He served in the 
Revolution twelve months, according to 
Graft's History of Whately. He died in 
Belchertown, January i, 1791. He mar- 
ried, May I, 1735, Lydia Morton, daugh- 
ter of Ebenezer Morton, of Hatfield. 
Among their children were Obadiah and 
Joseph (2) Bardwell. 

Joseph (2) Bardwell (also known as 
Deacon Bardwell), son of Joseph (i) and 
Lydia (Morton) Bardwell, was born in 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, in 1750, and 
died in South Hadley Falls, November 23, 
1829. He married, at Belchertown, in 
1774, Sibyl Worthington Smith (previous- 
ly mentioned), who died May 26, 1858, 
aged one hundred and one years. They 
were the parents of eleven children in- 
cluding Alonzo, of further mention, 
grandfather of George Edwin Bardwell, 
of Holyoke. 

Alonzo Bardwell, son of Deacon Joseph 
(2) and Sibyl Worthington (Smith) 
Bardwell, was born in Belchertown, 
Massachusetts, in 1793, and died in South 
Hadley Falls, July 4, 1868. He was a man 
of great business activity, and froui the 
date of his settlement in South Hadley 
Falls, about 181 5, was one of the public 
spirited, progressive men of that com- 
munity. He built several houses in the 
town, one of them erected in 1819 being 
now occupied by a descendant. He took 
advantage of the fine water power in the 
eastern part of the town by damming 
Buttery brook on which stood a large tan- 
nery, grist and saw mill, all ultimately 
destroyed by fire and never rebuilt. He 
was one of the early manufacturers of 
farming machinery, and in connection 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



with the factory was a foundry which was 
three times destroyed by fire. A woolen 
mill also stood near the dam, but was 
leased to outside parties. Alonzo Bard- 
well was also interested in river transpor- 
tation, and prior to the coming of the rail- 
roads conducted a very profitable busi- 
ness. The family preserve many interest- 
ing relics of that period, old bills of lad- 
ing, insurance policies, etc., also various 
costumes peculiar to the Colonial period. 
In addition to his business activities, 
Alonzo Bardwell was a large landowner, 
his estate in that portion of the town in- 
tersected by North Main and Bardwell 
streets, the latter named in his honor but 
not opened during his lifetime. He was 
very progressive in his farming opera- 
tions, using a great deal of machinery for 
that day, his hay tedder, the first in the 
town, creating a great deal of interest 
among the farmers. He was a strong ad- 
vocate of temperance and an ardent Abo- 
litionist ; aided in the operation of the 
"Underground Railroad" and helped 
many escaping slaves. He supported the 
candidacy of Abraham Lincoln for presi- 
dent, and was a strong supporter of the 
Union cause. He was a deacon of the 
church and abounded in good and chari- 
table work. His interest in the develop- 
ment of the community in which he lived 
for half a century was constant, and many 
public improvements were carried to com- 
pletion through his aid, including the 
South Hadley Falls bridge. Alonzo 
Bardwell married Harriet White, born at 
South Hadley Center, August 2, 1794, her 
birthplace known as the Eastman Place, 
now a part of the Joseph Skinner Estate. 
She died in South Hadley Falls, Novem- 
ber 13, 1874. She was a daughter of Dea- 
con Josiah White, born March 30, 1761, 
died February 26, 1829, married, Novem- 
ber 22, 1787, Mabel Mitchell, born in 1765, 
died February 2, 1840. Alonzo and Har- 



riet (White) Bardwell were the parents 
of nine children : Alonzo S., born in 1822, 
died November 26, 1855; Charles Addi- 
son, October 8, 1826, died April 22, 191 1 ; 
Harriet, married James B. Fenton, lived 
and died in South Hadley Falls; Carlos, 
born in 1829, married Orra Louisa Frink, 
born 1831, died January 18, 1874, resided 
at Summit, New Jersey, and died at Sara- 
toga, New York, September 2, 1884; Jo- 
seph, of further mention ; Mabel, married 
H. A. Frink, and now resides in Balti- 
more, Maryland ; three sons died in in- 
fancy. 

Joseph Bardwell, son of Alonzo and 
Harriet (White) Bardwell, was born at 
South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, 
March 9, 1835, now a resident of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. He grew to manhood at 
the place of his birth, engaged in farm- 
ing several years, then became a meat and 
provision merchant, continuing until his 
retirement. He married, at Westfield, 
April 27, 1859, Emily J. Hamlin, born at 
Westfield, April 29, 1836, died December 
26, 1900, at Holyoke, Massachusetts. They 
were the parents of two daughters and 
three sons born at South Hadley Falls : 
Emma Hamlin, born June 25, 1862, died 
December 4, 1863; Ella Josephine, May 
12, 1863, died July 7, 1864; Fred Lincoln, 
born April i, 1866, married and resided in 
Holyoke, now in Chicopee ; George Ed- 
win, of further mention. 

George Edwin Bardwell, son of Joseph 
and Emily J. (Hamlin) Bardwell, was 
born at South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts, February 23, 1875. He was educated 
in Holyoke public schools, and while yet 
a boy became a paper mill employee and 
has advanced through all branches of the 
business to his present position, sales 
manager for the Carew Manufacturing 
Company of South Hadley Falls. Mr. 
Bardwell married, December 4, 1901, at 
Hartford, Connecticut, Mary Williams 



228 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Allen, born at Enfield, Connecticut, 
daughter of All)ert Francis Allen, a farm- 
er, died September 15, 1892, and his wife, 
Julia Ann (Patten) Allen, born April 30, 
1837, died December 9, 1887. 



RUSSELL, John Whitney, 

Representative Citizen. 

The real germ of a human stock is undis- 
coverable, though as expressed in the fam- 
ily, like Tennyson's brook "it goes on for- 
ever." Through change of habitation came 
the change in name. The flow of emigra- 
tion in Continental Europe in the Middle 
Ages was from the north, the south and the 
east concentrating in the valleys of the 
Seine, the Rhone, the Rhine, and the 
Danube. Transferred to England in 1060 
the stock was reinforced by the Anglo- 
Saxons. The name Rozel (Roz-castle, el, 
a synonym for water) was first given to a 
castle located in lower Normandy in 1045 
and implied a tower or castle by the water. 
Hugh, son of William Bertrand, was invest- 
ed with this stronghold and took its name, 
calling himself Hugh Rozel, from which 
came Rosel, Rousel and Russell. The Ber- 
trand ancestry traces to Norwegian Earls 
of the seventh century, whose descendants 
were in the train of William the Conqueror 
and received large grants of the public do- 
main taken from the Saxons. They were 
the founders of the English family of Rus- 
sell, from whence came the American Rus- 
sells, progenitors of John Whitney Russell, 
of South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts. 
They settled in Massachusetts with the Pu- 
ritans, later branches aided in founding 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, then to the banks 
of the "Great River" and founded Hadley, 
Massachusetts, thence again to Connecti- 
cut, where John Whitney Russell was born. 
There were many ministers in the early 
family, and in all other professions and 
walks of life they have been important fac- 



tors in the upbuilding of more than one 
commonwealth. 

John Whitney Russell, son of George 
Russell, and grandson of Jonathan Russell, 
was born in Vernon, Connecticut, Febru- 
ary 6, 1842. Jonathan Russell, a drover and 
stock raiser, was born in Massachusetts, 
and died there about 1854. He married 
Asenath Stebbins, who died about 1836. 

George Russell was born in Enfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 30, 1818, and died in 
Vernon, Connecticut, in February, 1890. 
He lived the life of the country boy of his 
period, and though he craved education it 
was denied him further than that which the 
public schools afforded. He remained on 
his father's farm as his assistant until twen- 
ty-three years of age, when he married, 
and soon afterward he moved to Vernon, 
Connecticut, where he purchased a farm 
and continued an agriculturist all his life. 
He was a man of a fearless, progressive 
nature, took a positive stand on all public 
questions, and maintained his opinions. He 
was a member of the Whig party and took 
a firm stand with the Abolition element of 
that party, and when it failed to fairly meet 
the issue he affiliated with the Abolition 
wing which founded the Republican party. 
He also joined in the Know-Nothing move- 
ment, and although he was one of the most 
active of party workers he never sought 
nor accepted public office. In his business 
he was equally progressive and 'far ahead 
of his times. He held advanced ideas and 
was a pioneer in lines of fruit culture, now 
so well established that it is difficult to 
imagine a time when strawberries and 
peaches were not raised for the public mar- 
ket. Yet George Russell is credited with 
being the first man in New England to raise 
those fruits for the market. George Rus- 
sell married Nancy Cutler Powers, born 
at Templeton, Massachusetts, April 2"], 
1819, died at East Hartford, Connecticut, 
May 29, 1896, an active church member and 



229 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a devoted Christian, training her children 
in habits of industry and integrity. She was 
a daughter of Joseph Powers, a shoemaker 
of Enfield, Massachusetts, who died in 
1865. His wife was a Miss Whitney. Their 
children, all deceased, were : Nancy Cut- 
ler Powers, married George Russell; Da- 
vid Powers, a sea captain ; Bentley San- 
ger Powers, superintendent of various penal 
institutions in Connecticut and New York. 
George and Nancy Cutler (Powers) Russell 
were the parents of six children: i. John 
Whitney, of further mention. 2. S. Loraine, 
who married George Bissell, whom she sur- 
vives with three daughters and a son, re- 
siding at East Hartford, Connecticut. 3. 
Jennie L., married Erastus Geer, and re- 
sides in East Hartford, Connecticut. 4. 
Alice L., married Albert Curtis Roby, a 
leading druggist of Unionville, Connecticut. 
5. Florence, died in 191 5. 6. George. 

John Whitney Russell spent his early 
years in Vernon, Connecticut, was educat- 
ed in the public schools and prepared for 
the battle of life by serving a full term of 
apprenticeship at the machinist's trade. He 
became an expert worker in metal and in 
different shops gained a thorough general 
knowledge of various lines of manufacture 
which, added to his mechanical skill, se- 
cured him responsible positions with plants 
of world-wide reputation. He was fore- 
man of a department of the Deane Steam 
Pump Company for fourteen years ; with 
Harris & Hawkins ; Colt's Armory at Hart- 
ford; Parker Brothers of Meriden, Con- 
necticut, makers of the famous "Parker 
Gun;" master mechanic with the Farr Al- 
paca Company of Holyoke, one year, and 
for seventeen years was with Prentiss & 
Company, wire manufacturers, of Holyoke. 
He was an authority on certain lines of 
manufacturing machinery, was a superior 
workman and most capable shop manager. 
During his last years he lived a retired 
life at Hadley Falls, where he died January 



16, 191 7. While business responsibilities 
took Mr. Russell to different cities, he was 
wherever located connected in membership 
with the Congregational church and active 
in Sunday school work. After his return 
to Massachusetts he served the church as 
deacon for many years, and the Sunday 
school both as a faithful teacher and ca- 
pable superintendent. He was a man highly 
esteemed and had a host of warm friends. 
In politics he was a Republican. 

Mr. Russell married, June 12, 1866, Eliz- 
abeth Hitt, born in Devonshire, England, 
April 10, 1843, di^d September 16, 1916, 
daughter of John Hitt, a paper manufac- 
turer, who came to the United States with 
his family in 1855 ^"^ ^i^^ ^^ South Had- 
ley Falls, Massachusetts, June 17, 1905. Mr. 
and Mrs. Russell had an only child, Cora A. 
Russell, who married, in 1885, Harvey G. 
Smith, now a leading and prominent mer- 
chant of South Hadley Falls. They are the 
parents of Russell B., born in 1887, died in 
1889; Carlton Russell, born September 21, 
1893, married L. Mildred Lay and has a 
daughter, Marjory Russell, born August 
8, 1916; Harvey G., Jr., born October 9, 
1904. 



EVERSON, George Howard, 

Retired Business Man. 

The name of Everson is one of long and 
honorable standing in several of the 
towns of Massachusetts, and is allied by- 
marriage with early Pilgrim families. In 
the records of Plymouth, Massachusetts, 
at the beginning of the eighteenth cen- 
tury, are found the names of John and 
Richard Everson, and their names are 
also found in a list of the inhabitants of 
Plympton in 1708 entitled to vote. 

The branch of the family to which 
George Howard Everson, of South Had- 
ley Falls, belongs, settled in the town of 
Hanson, Massachusetts. Pembroke was 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



earlier a part of Duxbury, and later from 
Pembroke came the town of Hanson, all 
of these towns originally a part of Plym- 
outh. Seth Sylvanus Samuel, Levi Joseph 
and James Everson are all credited with 
Revolutionary service. The ancestor of the 
Hanson branch was Richard Everson, of 
Plymouth, who with his wife Elizabeth, 
who died February i6, 1816, reared a fam- 
ily of four sons: Richard (2), of whom 
further; Ephraim, September i, 1702; 
Ebenezer, April 14, 1705; Benjamin, Jan- 
uary 26, 171 1. Richard (2) Everson, born 
November 10, 1700, married, March 31, 
1718, Penelope Bumpus. Their son, Rich- 
ard (3) Everson, married, October 30, 
1750, Mrs. Averick (Churchill) Standish, 
widow of Ebenezer Standish, and daugh- 
ter of Isaac and Susannah (Leach) 
Churchill. Their eldest son, Samuel Ever- 
son, born September 22, 1751, married and 
was the grandfather of Isaac Henry Ever- 
son. 

Isaac Henry Everson was born in Bry- 
antville, town of Hanson, April 14, 181 1. 
After his marriage he removed to what 
is now Rockland, a part of Abington, 
where he followed the shoemaker's trade 
until his death about the year 1873. His 
wife, Lucy (Hobart) Everson, was a 
granddaughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, who 
came with his father, Edmund Hobart, 
from Hingham, Norfolkshire, England, in 
1633, and was the first pastor of the fa- 
mous Ship Church of Hingham, Massa- 
chusetts, which was framed in England, 
brought to Hingham and there erected in 
1681. Lucy Hobart was born April 4, 
181 1, died in 1897, aged eighty-six. Both 
she and her husband were members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. They 
had children : Isaac Henry, born June 9, 
1832; Lucinda H., born December 7, 1834, 
yet living in Rockland, Massachusetts; 
John Wesley, of further mention ; a son, 
died in infancy ; George Edward, born De- 



cember 29, 1840, died September 30, 1862; 
a daugliter, died in infancy; Elbridge H., 
born April 2, 1844, yet living in Rockland ; 
Darius H., ])orn September 12, 1846, died 
in August, 1917; Irene, born December 
20, 1848, died in March, 1850; Ellerene A., 
born November 10, 1850, yet living in 
Rockland ; a son, born and died December 
5, 1852; Delwin, born July 25, 1854, de- 
ceased. 

John Wesley Everson was born in Ab- 
ington, Massachusetts, March 29, 1837, 
and died in Hanover, Massachusetts, July 
10, 1912, in his seventy-sixth year. He at- 
tended public schools until beginning 
work with his father at the shoemaker's 
bench early in life. He married at the 
early age of nineteen and shortly after- 
wards opened a shop for himself. He con- 
ducted his business alone for about eight 
years, then formed a partnership with his 
brother-in-law, Jacob Whiting, which 
continued two years. Owing to ill health 
he sold his interest in the shoe business 
and purchased a farm in Hanover upon 
which he resided until his death. Never 
a robust man, Mr. Everson, although he 
volunteered for military service during 
the Civil War, was rejected by the exam- 
ining physician. He was very active, how- 
ever, in the relief work for the soldiers' 
w'idows and orphans, and was treasurer 
of the Rockland Society organized to 
carry on that work. He was a Whig in 
politics in early life, later afifiliating with 
the Republican party, but was very inde- 
pendent in political thought and action. 
For thirty-five years he was a member of 
the Board of Registrars, and in 1879 ^^^ 
1880 represented his district in the State 
Legislature. He was reared in the Meth- 
odist Episcopal faith and bore the name of 
the great founder of Methodism, but later 
became an active LInitarian and was one 
of the founders of the church of that faith 
in Rockland. He was prominent in the 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
a man thoroughly respected and highly 
esteemed in his community. 

John Wesley Everson married Laura 
Ann Whiting, born in Hanover, Massa- 
chusetts, July 29, 1837, who still resides 
in Rockland, Massachusetts, and is very 
active in church and community work. 
She is a daughter of Sylvanus Whiting, 
now deceased, a farmer of Hanover. He 
married Lucy Bates and had children : 
Sylvanus (2) ; Thomas Hart Benton ; 
Laura Ann, married John Wesley Ever- 
son ; Elmer, now living in Rockland ; Bet- 
sey, married Jacob Whiting (not a rela- 
tive) ; Adelaide, married William Glover, 
and died at Quincy, Massachusetts. John 
W. and Laura Ann Everson had three 
children: i. Wesley Elroy, born August 
14, 1857; married Adeline Lowell, and 
they reside at Hanover, Massachusetts. 
2. George Howard, of further mention. 3. 
Eva May, married Herbert Emir Thayer, 
of South Hadley Falls, whom she sur- 
vives, residing with her mother in Rock- 
land. 

George Howard Everson, second son of 
John Wesley and Laura Ann (Whiting) 
Everson, was born in Rockland, Massa- 
chusetts, April II, 1862. He was three 
years of age when his father located on 
the farm in Hanover and there resided un- 
til he was fifteen, attending school and 
doing a boy's work on the farm. At about 
the age of fifteen he started a milk distrib- 
uting business, covering his entire route 
in time to enter a shoe shop at 7 a. m., 
and there performing a full day's work. 
He operated the milk route for a few 
years only, but continued working in shoe 
shops until 1890, giving special attention 
to the upper leather department and be- 
coming an expert cutter. He held re- 
sponsible positions in some of the best 
shops in the country in the upper leather 
and cutting departments, his last years in 



that line being with Charles Groce & 
Sons, a firm now dissolved. About 1890, 
Mr. Everson located in South Hadley 
Falls, there entering the employ of the old 
firm of Smith & Bartlett, continuing with 
them until about 1896. He then estab- 
lished in business for himself, and for fif- 
teen years conducted a large and success- 
ful grocery business under his own name. 
In 1905 he admitted his son, Howard Tha- 
yer Everson, to a partnership under the 
name of the Everson Grocery Company 
and this continued until George H. Ever- 
son retired in 191 3, and he is now enjoying 
the benefits of his life of efficient labor, in 
retirement from business cares. Inde- 
pendent in his political opinions, he has 
acted with the progressive element of 
both parties and shapes his course solely 
with a view to the public good. He has 
been on the Board of Selectmen for the 
past four years and clerk of the Board of 
Health and still serving. He has worked 
his own way to success through that per- 
severing quality which balks at no obsta- 
cle or discouragement. He is highly es- 
teemed in the community in which he has 
resided for over a quarter of a century. 
He is a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and an attendant of the 
Congregational church. 

Mr. Everson married, December 22, 
1886, Emma Estella Thayer, born in 
Leyden, New York, September 22, 1862, 
daughter of Sandford Coe Thayer, an ice 
dealer, born in Leyden, New York, No- 
vember II, 1837, died in South Hadley 
Falls, Massachusetts, March 7, 1902. He 
married, March 13, 1855, Emily Melissa 
Avery, born October 11, 1838, died at 
South Hadley Falls, June 25, 1905. They 
had three children : Wilbur H. Thayer, 
born February 2, 1856, married Emma 
Bullard, of Newport, New York, and now 
resides in South Hadley Falls ; Emma Es- 
tella Thayer, married George Howard 
132 



w. 







L^/^:>--?>, ^J^;-s. y'^^/^'^.J^-■y<:^^cy^-^yZ■■^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Everson ; Herbert Emir Thayer, born in 
1864, married, November 19, 1890, Eva 
May Everson, and died April 30, 191 1; 
she survives her husband and now resides 
with her mother, Mrs. John Wesley 
(Whiting) Everson, in Rockland, Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. and Mrs. George H. Ever- 
son have one son, Howard Thayer Ever- 
son, born October 28, 1887, was his fath- 
er's former business associate in the Ev- 
erson Grocer)' Company, now in the 
wholesale cake business ; resides at home, 
unmarried. 



DUCKWORTH, James, 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

When the sailing vessel was the means 
of communication between the United States 
and England, James Duckworth, to whose 
memory this review is dedicated, was 
brought from his English home by his par- 
ents, the voyage requiring seven weeks to 
complete. That was in 1848 and he a boy 
of five years. Sixty-eight years intervened 
before his useful life closed, and during that 
period his name became known the world 
over in connection with the famous Duck- 
worth Loom and as the leading manufac- 
turer of chains for driving bicycles, motor 
cycles and other chain driven machines. His 
connection with the bicycle business was 
the means of interesting him in the Spring- 
field Bicycle Club, and he became one of the 
most enthusiastic members of that organiza- 
tion whose meets were famous during the 
days bicycle racing was in its heyday. He 
never lost his interest in the racing game, 
and when motor boats became the last word 
in speed none on the Connecticut river sur- 
passed his "Arrow II." 

James Duckworth was born in Bury, 
England, September 29, 1842, died in Eliz- 
abeth Buxton Hospital, Newport News, 
Virginia, April 30, 1916. He was a son 
of Christopher and Ann ( Borch) Duck- 



worth. In 1848 Christopher Duckworth 
with his family came to the United States, 
settling first in Massachusetts, and later in 
Mt. Carmel, Connecticut, where he manu- 
factured, with aid of his sons, the Duck- 
worth Loom for weaving carpets and fancy 
Cassimers, a loom of his own invention 
which came into use the country over. 

James Duckworth, after completing his 
school years, learned the machinist's trade 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and after fin- 
ishing his apprenticeship joined the family 
in Mt. Carmel and engaged with his father 
and two brothers in manufacturing Duck- 
worth Looms. Later the entire family moved 
to Pittsfield, ^lassachusetts, there continu- 
ing the manufacture of the Duckworth 
Loom under the firm name of C. Duck- 
worth & Sons Loom Works. The family 
partnership finally dissolved, and James 
Duckworth settled in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. From the date of his location in 
Springfield (1876) Mr. Duckworth was en- 
gaged in manufacturing, his first line being 
various small machine parts. When the 
bicycle came he began the manufacture of 
chains for that machine and as motor cy- 
cles and automobiles followed he increased 
his plant on ]\Iill street, kept pace with the 
demand and was probably the largest manu- 
facturer of that type of chain in the United 
States. He was an inventive genius and 
most of the machines used in his plant were 
of his own invention and especially de- 
signed for a given purpose. He also was 
the inventor of a certain type of chain which 
won nation wide fame, vieing with the 
Duckworth Loom in popularity. He also 
was interested in the J. G. Duckworth Sew- 
ing Machine Parts Company. His expert 
mechanical skill and inventive genius lay 
as the foundation stone of the splendid 
manufacturing business he founded, devel- 
oped and owned, but he was not lacking 
in those sterling business qualities which 
insure success, and his material prosperity 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



kept pace with his high reputation as an in- 
ventor and manufacturer. He was a mem- 
ber of Hampden Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Springfield Lodge, Royal Ar- 
canum ; and the Park Congregational 
Church, and in political faith he was a 
Republican. He passed the last winter of 
his life in the South in search of health in 
that milder clime, and on his return north 
made the journey one of easy stages. At 
Newport News, Virginia, he had so weak- 
ened that he was taken to Elizabeth Buxton 
Hospital, where he died about four weeks 
later. 

Mr. Duckworth married, in 1867, Annie 
E. Grannis, of Mt. Carmel, Connecticut, 
who survives him. Mr. and Mrs. Duck- 
worth were the parents of a son, Horace 
G. Duckworth, of Springfield, and a daugh- 
ter, Isabelle D., married Edward K. Allen, 
of Burlington, Vermont. 



DORR, James, 

Manufacturer. 

When a boy James Dorr came from his 
native Ireland to Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, and became one of the important 
factors in the woolen manufacturing busi- 
ness. He was a man of quick intuition, 
energetic and capable, and won for him- 
self competence and honorable position. 

James Dorr was born in Ireland and 
there spent his early boyhood. After com- 
ing to Worcester he attended the public 
schools until 1848, then entered the em- 
ploy of Martin Van Buren Jefiferson, a 
woolen manufacturer of Holden, Massa- 
chusetts, and served as overseer for fif- 
teen years. At the end of that period he 
severed his connection with the Jeflferson 
Mills and henceforth engaged in business 
for himself, as a manufacturer of woolen 
goods. During his active manufacturing 
life he was located in business in Athol, 
Massachusetts, in New Hampshire, in 



Holden, Massachusetts, and other places, 
conducting his mills under the trade 
name, Glenbrooke Mills. In 1891 he 
bought the old Springdale Mills in Hol- 
den on the Quinapoxet river, made exten- 
sive alterations in the property, and suc- 
cessfully conducted them until the opera- 
tions of the Metropolitan Water Commis-^ 
sion demanded the mill site. After the 
sale of the property Mr. Dorr retired and 
made his home on Michenor street, Wor- 
cester, until his death, April 11, 191 5, 
aged seventy-eight years. He was a mem- 
ber of Division III, Ancient Order of Hi- 
bernians, and of St. Paul's Church. 

Mr. Dorr was survived by his wife and 
sons, Francis Leon and James F. Dorr, of 
Worcester. 



CORDES, Frank Diedrich, 

Leading Mural Artist. 

Mural decoration in New England has 
not until during the past century received 
as a distinctive art the attention its im- 
portance entitles it to, although for cen- 
turies abroad, the greatest artists dis- 
played their masterpieces upon the walls 
of churches and public buildings. But in- 
terior decoration in New England for 
many years was given over to the paper 
hanger and better class of painters, only 
in rare instances an artist accepting a 
commission for wall decoration. Among- 
the men who have made their business an 
art, and who for several years has devoted 
himself to mural decoration alone, Frank 
Diedrich Cordes is one of the best known ; 
churches, theatres and hotels in all parts 
of the country bearing the imprints of his 
genius. 

Mr. Cordes was born in Bremen, Ger- 
many, September 17, 1852, posthumous 
son of John Diedrich Cordes, who died in 
the summer of 1852, aged about twenty- 
six. His mother, Margaret (Bohlman) 



234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Cordes, born at Schwarmen, Kingdom of 
Hanover, Germany, about 1827, died in 
Bremen in 1880. After being left a widow 
with sons and daughters she married a 
second time. Bremen presented but two 
branches of activity which were open to a 
youth of honorable, respectable family, 
and after giving one of these, merchan- 
dising, a trial, he found that clerical work 
was wholly unsuited for a lad of his ac- 
tive, adventurous nature, and he there- 
fore decided to try the other, the sea, and 
without consulting the family left home 
quietly and shipped as a seaman on board 
one of the vessels of a transatlantic line 
plying between Bremen and New York. 
He made several voyages, and while in 
New York met some relatives and formed 
some friendships that decided him to 
make the United States his home. This 
intention became a fact in 1870, and for a 
year he made his home in Brooklyn with 
relatives. He then went to New Haven, 
Connecticut, and became an apprentice to 
Carl Schenk, a painter and decorator. He 
remained an apprentice two and a half 
years, then worked as a journeyman deco- 
rator until 1878. Realizing the import- 
ance of the decorator's art in the rapidly 
growing New England community in 
which he had cast his lot, and feeling his 
own lack of proper artistic training, he 
went abroad and for eighteen months 
studied under the best mural artists in 
Munich, Germany. 

He returned to the United States in 
1880 and for two years was employed in 
New York City, becoming known as a 
decorative artist of taste and ability. Late 
in 1881 he embraced an offer to engage in 
business for himself in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, and for a few months was as- 
sociated there with Napoleon Coulture. 
In 1882 Mr. Cordes purchased his part- 
ner's interest in the business, conducting 
it alone until 1888, when he admitted 



Robert Johannes a partner under the firm 
name F. D. Cordes & Company. The 
store, which was a part of their business, 
carried a full line of artists' and painters' 
supplies, while painting, paper hanging 
and interior decoration employed a force 
of skilled mechanics and artists. In 1893 
Mr. Cordes withdrew from the firm to de- 
vote himself exclusively to mural decora- 
tion, Mr. Johannes continuing the store. 
Since that year Mr. Cordes has executed 
important commissions in all parts of the 
United States and ranks among the lead- 
ing mural artists of the country. After 
permanently settling in the United States, 
he took the required steps to perfect his 
citizenship and has long been an Ameri- 
can in fact as well as by adoption. He has 
always affiliated with the Republican par- 
ty, but has never accepted public office 
with the exception of one year as select- 
man of South Hadley Falls, his home. He 
is a member of Holyoke Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and a member of the 
Congregational church of South Hadley 
Falls. 

Mr. Cordes married (first) at South 
Hadley Falls, November 27, 1879, Anna 
Thieme, born November i, i860, died at 
South Hadley Falls, the place of her birth, 
December 14, 1891, daughter of Morris 
Thieme, born in Germany. Mr. Cordes 
married (second) at South Hadley Falls, 
June 27, 1892, Annie P. Thranhardt, born 
there February 25, 1875, daughter of Ern- 
est and Rosinda (Bishop) Thranhardt, 
both born in Germany. Mrs. Cordes has 
a brother, Edward Thranhardt, residing 
in South Hadley Falls, and a sister, Helen 
Thranhardt. a graduate nurse residing in 
New York City. Frank D. and Anna 
(Thieme) Cordes were the parents of a 
son, Frank, born November 27, 1880, now- 
residing at home, and of five daughters: 
Ella, born March, 1882, died June 17, 
1895; Lillian, residing at home; Clara, 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married, in 1909, George Pease, and re- 
sides at Stratford, Connecticut, and they 
have two children : George, born in 1910, 
Meta in 1912; Mabel, born August 17, 
1888, married, in 1916, Edward Meacham, 
and resides in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania; Annie, born December 16, 1890. 
Frank D. and Annie P. (Thranhardt) 
Cordes are the parents of two sons, both 
residing with their parents, Walter, born 
in 1893, ^"d Karl in 1894. 



LEPORE, Anthony A., 

Public Official. 

The influence that is being exerted upon 
our institutions and general life by the 
Italian element in our body politic is one 
that is rapidly growing greater, and is in all 
respects a healthy and wholesome one. It 
is no wonder that this is so, considering the 
type of enterprising and capable young men 
that Italy is constantly sending to our 
shores, here to make their homes and work 
out for themselves careers of which any 
country might well be proud. An example 
of this enterprise and ability is to be found 
in the career of Anthony A. Lepore, already 
one of the prominent citizens of Worcester. 
Massachusetts, despite his youth, and one 
whose future gives promise of unusual bril- 
liancy. 

Born at Melezzano, in the Province of 
Benevento, Italy, April 5, 1884, Mr. Lepore 
spent his childhood up to the age of twelve 
in his native town. He was a son of Aniel- 
lo and Appolonia (Rossi) Leport, and a 
descendant of a family which had lived in 
that region from time immemorial. Aniello 
Lepore, the father of Anthony A. Lepore, 
first came to this country in 1888, and lived 
for five years in the City of Worcester. In 
1893 he returned to Italy, and in 1896 again 
made the trip to this country. This time his 
son, Anthony A., who had already received 
an excellent education in the schools of his 



native land, accompanied him and the two 
took up their abode in Worcester. The fath- 
er did not, however, remain in America per- 
manently, returning finally to Italy in 1902, 
where he still lives and is the owner of a 
successful farm in the Province of Bene- 
vento. The son, however, has continued in 
this country from that time to this and has 
in the interim become completely identified 
with the life and customs of his adopted 
country. Mr. Lepore is the youngest of 
five children of whom three were daughters. 
His brother, Pasquale Lepore, also accom- 
panied his father to this country but re- 
turned with him in 1902. The opportuni- 
ties which he found awaiting him in Amer- 
ica, however, were such as to induce him 
to come here again in 1904 and he is now 
a resident of Worcester, where he has a 
successful barber shop, having learned this 
trade from his father. The three sisters 
of Mr. Lepore are as follows: Lucia, now 
the wife of Gaetano Rossi, a resident of 
Melezzano, where he w^as engaged in farm- 
ing until he was recently called to the col- 
ors in the great European war ; Maddel- 
lena, now the wife of Joseph Mancino, a 
farmer in Italy ; and Felomena, who mar- 
ried Cosimo Mancino, who is also engaged 
in farming in his native land. 

Anthony A. Lepore continued his studies 
for two years at the grammar schools of 
Worcester and for another two in the Wor- 
cester High School, graduating from the 
evening department of the High School. He 
is a man of very large ambitions and re- 
alized that his best chance to advance in 
this country was to become well acquainted 
with many branches of knowledge. Accord- 
ingly, after completing his studies in the 
Evening High School, he took up courses 
in French, Spanish and Greek, and now 
speaks and writes five languages fluently. 
He also took a course in music and drawing 
and is now proficient in both of these arts. 
For eight years after coming to this coun- 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



try, Mr. Lepore worked in the barber shop 
started here by his father, attending school 
and following up his courses of study during 
his leisure hours. He, himself, conducted the 
barber shop for about seven years, and then 
entered the real estate and fire insurance 
business, selling the barber shop and utiliz- 
ing the capital to start him in his new 
line. He holds commissions as justice of 
the peace and notary public. Up to Jan- 
uary, 191 6, Mr. Lepore continued in the 
real estate business, in which he was re- 
markably successful, gaining the reputation 
of being one of the most prominent Italians 
in the city of Worcester and came to be a 
well known figure in the general life of the 
community. At the opening of 1916 the 
Norton Company, which enormous concern 
is engaged in manufacturing at Greendale, 
Massachusetts, made an offer to Mr. Le- 
pore that he should take the supervision 
of the four hundred or more Italian hands 
who worked in their mills. Mr. Lepore 
at once accepted this offer, and from that 
time to the present oversees the work of 
this small industrial army. He has also 
been placed at the head of the employment 
department and attends to the hiring and 
discharge of all help. 

Mr. Lepore has been extremely active 
in the political situation at Worcester, tak- 
ing a prominent part in many of the cam- 
paigns of recent years and becoming a 
recognized factor in politics there. In 1910 
he became the Democratic candidate for the 
City Council from Ward Three, and al- 
though he was defeated the vote cast for 
him was of such a kind as to encourage him 
and his constituents to repeat the can- 
didacy. In 191 1 he was successful and again 
in 191 2. In 191 5 he was elected alderman 
from the Third Ward and is still serving 
his term in that body, having done much 
efficient work for his district and for the 
city-at-large. He is a strong factor in pro- 
gressive legislation in the Board of Alder- 



men and is a member of committees, among 
which is that on sewers, ordinances, fire de- 
partment, claims, enrollment and bills of 
second rating. He has always been devoted 
to the Democratic party, the principles and 
policies of which he staunchly upholds. He 
is not less active in club and fraternity cir- 
cles in Worcester, being a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Lodge Columbo Mazzini, of the Sons of 
Italy of America, also a member of the 
Court Mazzini Foresters. He also belongs 
to the Aztec Club, and is particularly active 
in the organization known as the Italian 
Citizens Progressive League of Massachu- 
setts. He was elected to the vice-presi- 
dency of this organization, the object of 
which is to look after and establish in some 
adequate way the naturalization of Italian 
immigrants in this country and to look after 
their general welfare. He has been a mem- 
ber of this society from the time of its or- 
ganization in 1 91 3 in Boston and has been 
one of the most active in furthering its ex- 
tremely valuable work. Mr. Lepore, in his 
religious belief, is a Roman Catholic and is 
a communicant of Mount Carmel Roman 
Catholic Church. He is a member of the 
Catholic Society of the Knights of Co- 
lumbus. 

On June 22, 191 o, ^Ir. Lepore was mar- 
ried to Rose Mazza, a daughter of Domine- 
co Mazza, of Boston, Massachusetts. Mrs. 
Lepore, like her husband, is a native of 
Italy and came to America with her parents 
when but ten years of age. Three children 
have been born to them, as follows : Er- 
vino A. A., deceased in infancy; Ervino 
A. A. ; and Margaret Carmel. 

Mr. Lepore has made it a point to cham- 
pion the cause of the Third Ward of Wor- 
cester and is one of the most popular fig- 
ures living in that district. It was he who 
secured the handsome drinking fountain 
which now stands in Washington Square 
and also the appropriation from the city 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



government for beautifying Washington 
Park with a double line of columns on eith- 
er side of the entrance and for enlarging the 
swimming pool. Mr. Lepore, on account 
of his unusual linguistic acquirements, has 
made himself of value to the courts of the 
city and has acted as interpreter there and 
in a number of law offices. In addition to 
his other studies, he has taken a course in 
commercial law from the School of Inter- 
national Correspondence. 



ATWOOD, Benjamin S., 

Capable Man of Affairs. 

The type that has become familiar to 
the world as the successful New Eng- 
lander, practical and worldly-wise, yet 
governed in all matters by the most scrup- 
ulous and strict ethical code, stern in re- 
moving obstacles from the path, yet gen- 
erous even to his enemies, is nowhere bet- 
ter exemplified than in the person of Ben- 
jamin S. Atwood, of Whitman, Massa- 
chusetts, a figure who has carried down 
into our own times something of the sub- 
stantial quality of the past. The success- 
ful men of an earlier generation who were 
responsible for the great industrial and 
mercantile development of New England, 
experienced, most of them, in their own 
lives, the juncture of two influences, cal- 
culated in combination to produce the 
marked characters by which we recognize 
the type. For these men were at once the 
product of culture and refinement, being 
descended generally from the most dis- 
tinguished families, and yet were so 
placed that hard work and frugal living 
were the necessary conditions of success. 
Such was the case with Mr. Atwood, who 
was descended from a fine old English 
family, the members of which have from 
the early Colonial days, down to the pres- 
ent, maintained the same high standard 
which was set for them by their founder. 



The Atwood family has been associated 
with Plymouth county, Massachusetts, 
and prior to that with Plymouth colony, 
since the earliest days of American his- 
tory. According to Davis, the Plymouth 
historian, the name w-as originally Wood, 
and John Wood, the founder of the house 
in America, afterwards became John At- 
wood, in which form the name was hand- 
ed down to his descendants. (i) This 
John Wood, or Atwood, was married to 
Sarah Masterson, a daughter of Richard 
Masterson, and of this union came the fol- 
lowing children: John, born 1650; Na- 
thaniel, of whom further; Isaac, 1654; 
Sarah, who married John Fallswell ; Abi- 
gail, who married Samuel Leonard ; Han- 
nah, who married Richard Cooper; and 
Mary, who married (first) the Rev. John 
Holmes, of Duxbury, Massachusetts, and 
(second) Major William Bradford. 

(II) Nathaniel Atwood, the second son 
of John and Sarah (Masterson) Atw^ood, 
generally known as Deacon Nathaniel At- 
wood, was born February 25, 1651-52, and 
died December 17, 1724. He was married 
to Mary Morey, a daughter of Jonathan 
Morey, and the following children were 
born to them: John, May I, 1684; Eliza- 
beth, April 24, 1687; Joanna, February 
27, 1689; Mary, April 26, 1691 ; Nathaniel, 
of whom further; Isaac, December 29, 
1695; Barnabas, January i, 1697-98, and 
Joanna (2), June, 1700. 

(III) Nathaniel (2) Atwood, the fifth 
child of Deacon Nathaniel (i) and Mary 
(Morey) Atwood, was born October 3, 
1693, and lived at Plympton, Massachusetts. 
He was a lieutenant in a military com- 
pany, and was twice married (first) to 
Mary Adams, daughter of Francis Adams, 
and (second) to Mrs. Abigail Lucas. The 
children of the first marriage were as fol- 
lows: Mary, born 1723; Nathaniel, 1725; 
Francis, 1728; those of the second; Sarah, 
married Joseph Barrows ; Mercy, married 



238 



1 v" "' .-» \'l 









ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Josei)h Warri-n ; l'"J)i-iu-zcr, Ixjrn 1735; 
Keziah, 1737; William, 1740; Joseph, 
1741 ; and Ichahod, of whom furtlicr. 

(IV) Ichahod Atwood. tin- youngest 
child of NatiianicI (J) and Ai)igail (Lu- 
cas) Atwood, was horn in IMympton in 
1744, hut aftt-rwards moved to Middlc- 
boro, Massachusetts, where he died Au- 
gust 24, 1819. lie married Il.annah Shaw, 
a daughter of Nathaniel and llannah 
(Perkins) Shaw, the ftjrmer haviufj^ heen 
a captain in the Continental army <Iuring 
the Kevolution. ( )f this union the issue 
was as follows: Ansel, h(jrn August 24, 
1770; Amasa, April 15, 1772; Ichahod, 
May 4, 1774; Polly, March 27, 1776; Ste- 
phen, June 6, 1778; Pelham, June 16, 
1780; Nathaniel, of whom further; Uri.'ih, 
February 24, 1784; Betsey, May 17, 1786; 
Hannah, January 30, 1788; George, Au- 
gust 16, 1790; Sarah, horn July [4, 1792. 

(V) Nathaniel (3) Atwood, the sev- 
enth child of Ichahod and llannah 
(Shaw) Atwood, was born at Middlehoro, 
Massachusetts, April 28, 1782. He mar- 
ried Zilpha ShurtlilT, a daughter of Fran- 
cis and Mary (Shaw) Shurlliir, of Plym])- 
ton, Massachusetts, and to them were 
born the following children : h'lora, h"eh- 
ruary 25, 1807; (lardiner, ( )ct(jl)er 21, 
1809; Ruel, of whom further; Polly, June 
5, 1818; and Ichahod h\. May 13, 1820. 

(VI) Ruel Atwood, the third child of 
Nathaniel (3) and Zilpha (ShurtlifT) At- 
wood, was horn June 24, t8ii. He was 
the father of Henjamin S. Atwood, with 
whose career this sketch is chiefly con- 
cerned. He married Abigail S. Tillson, 
a daughter of Ichahod Tillson, and they 
were the parents of seven children as fol- 
lows : Ruel G., Lucy C, Flora M., Zilpha 
S., Benjamin S., of whom further; Elijah 
H., and Lafayette. 

(VII) Benjamin S. Atwood, the fifth 
child of Ruel and Abigail S. (Tillson) At- 
wood, was born June 25, 1840, at Carver, 



Massachusetts. His childhood was passed 
in the town of his birth and it was there 
at the rural schools that he f)btained his 
education. I laving completed his school- 
ing, he sought for S(jme work to d(j and 
soon secured a position in a lumber-mill 
at Middlehoro, where he learned how to 
make varitms objects fr(;m w(jod and thus 
was introduced to the business in which 
he was afterwards to become a leader. 
I'rom Middlehoro he removed to IMymp- 
ton, Massachusetts, the home of his an- 
cestors for many years, and here secured 
a similar p(jsiti(jn in a lumber-mill. It 
was here that the outbreak of the ('ivil 
War foimd him. Mr. Atwood's record in 
that momentcnis struggle is such that any 
man might wcdl be ])roud <>{ it, showing 
as it does the most interested love of his 
country and a willingness to sacrifice all 
in her interests. The first call (jf Presi- 
dent Lincoln for sevc-nty-five thousand 
volunteers for three months had hardly 
gone forth before he responded. The very 
day ill which it was published he enlisted 
in ('ompany II, Third Regiment, Massa- 
chusetts Volunteer Inf.antry, and the next 
day started for the front under sealed or- 
ders. The regiment sailed from Boston 
and eventually found that their destina- 
ti(jn was Fortress Monroe, now famous in 
history. On April 20, they disembarked 
and marched to the parade ground inside 
of the fort where they had a lunch oi Bos- 
ton crackers and b(Mled ham. Before they 
had finished the same the young Colonel 
volunteered the regiment to embark on 
the "Pawnee" to go .somewhere that neither 
he nor any one else in the ref,Mment knew 
where. They proceeded to the Navy 
Yard, where their object was the destruc- 
tion of dry docks and a c<jnsiderahle store 
of munitions which there was some fear 
might fall into the hands of the Confed- 
erates. The Third Massachusetts has the 
distinction of being the first regiment to 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



invade the hostile southern territory and 
thus well earned the title that has been 
given them of the "Minute Men of Sixty- 
One." They it was who carried on the 
splendid tradition of the "Minute Men of 
Concord and Lexington" and passed it 
in turn to the "Minute Men" of today, 
whose heroism has turned back the ad- 
vancing tide of tyranny and evil which 
threatened to engulf civilization in that 
second Thermopylae, the battle of the 
Marne. He was one of the three thou- 
sand eight hundred and five men honored 
by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
by the presentation to them of those much 
desired medals inscribed with the words 
"Massachusetts Minute Men 1861," to 
commemorate the fact that they had been 
the first to respond to the call of Presi- 
dent Lincoln. The medals were presented 
by the hand of the governor and consti- 
tute a reward for patriotism of which the 
members of the regiment may well feel 
proud. At the expiration of the three 
months' term of enlistment, Mr. Atwood 
returned to his home in Massachusetts 
and at once entered into the work of re- 
cruiting with all his might, a work which 
was then imperatively important for the 
countr}'. There were few who were more 
successful than he, and there were many 
more who responded to his arguments 
than sufficient to fill up the gaps of his 
Company H, which had been his object. 
But although this was so, Company H 
w^as not completed, since so great was the 
country's need for men, that as soon as 
they came in they were sent off to the 
South, there to join other units already 
at the front. For his services in this work 
Mr. Atwood was given a commission as 
first lieutenant by Governor Andrews, of 
Massachusetts, but he did not feel satis- 
fied for long to continue his efforts in the 
North, longing to be back in action once 
more. Accordingly he and his old com- 



rades that formed the fragment of Com- 
pany H joined with a similar fragment of 
Company K, also of Carver, and consoli- 
dating with Company B, of Plymouth, 
returned under the latter name to the 
South with their regiment. He was ap- 
pointed fourth sergeant of the company, 
and during the campaigns that followed 
saw much active service, especially in 
North Carolina, where he took part in a 
number of important engagements. He 
remained with his regiment until the very 
close of the struggle and was then honor- 
ably discharged, when the army was put 
back on its peace basis. Returning to the 
North he took up his abode in Plympton, 
Massachusetts, and turned his attention 
once more to the tasks of peace. 

This was in the year 1866, and Mr. At- 
wood at once entered into a partnership 
with his brother, Elijah H. Atwood, under 
the firm name of Atwood Brothers, and 
established a factory at North Abington, 
Massachusetts, for the manufacture of 
wooden boxes. In 1872 this business was 
removed to South Abington, which later 
became the town of Whitman, and here, 
too, Mr. Atwood made his home, a home 
that he has continued until today. In the 
year 1879, Elijah H. Atwood retired en- 
tirely from the concern, and Benjamin S. 
Atwood became the sole owner of an en- 
terprise that even at that time promised 
great things, which it has more than real- 
ized subsequently. Under his careful yet 
progressive management the business has 
grown steadily and without interruption 
until it is today one of the largest of its 
kind in the country, operating mills which 
are without a superior in equipment and 
method anywhere, and giving employ- 
ment to a large number of the townspeo- 
ple of Whitman. During his whole busi- 
ness career Mr. Atwood has kept before 
him as an ideal, not less than his own suc- 
cess, the advantage of the community 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of which he forms a member, and has been 
untiring in his efiforts to build up and de- 
velop its industrial interests. He was one 
of those who in 1901 founded the Whit- 
man Board of Trade, and was for twelve 
years thereafter its president, his term of 
office being marked by his splendid efforts 
towards a cleaner and better town, and 
towards the inducing of new business en- 
terprises to make their home there. He 
has been instrumental in bringing to the 
town some of the most important indus- 
trial enterprises that now make their 
home there, and in persuading others to 
remain. As recently as 1916, when the 
great Regal Shoe Company contemplated 
removing its factories elsewhere, it was 
Mr. Atwood almost more than any other 
man who dissuaded them from their de- 
termination, and who was responsible in 
remedying certain conditions of which 
they complained. 

Mr. Atwood is a staunch and life-long 
Republican, and at one time served for a 
period of ten years as chairman of the 
Whitman Republican Town Committee. 
His advice is often sought by the State 
leaders of the party. When a man was 
needed in the year 1916 to redeem the 
party from the defeat it has suffered for 
several years in the assembly district, Mr. 
Atwood's name was suggested as the 
strongest that could be found. He was 
for a time reluctant, but w-as finally pre- 
vailed upon to accept the nomination for 
the State Assembly. He carried his party 
through to victory and served as assem- 
blyman for the 1916 term, during which 
time he was instrumental in having en- 
acted much valuable legislation for the 
community. He was also for several years 
a member of the school committee of 
Whitman. 

Mr. Atwood is a conspicuous figure in 
the social life of Whitman, and a member 
of a number of important organizations. 
MASS.— 7— 16. 241 



He has always kept up his old military 
associations, and is a member and past 
commander of Uavid A. Russell Post, No. 
78, Grand Army of the Republic, of Whit- 
man, and was for several years comman- 
der of the Plymouth County Division of 
that organization, and a member and past 
commander of McPherson Post, Grand 
Army of the Republic, of Abington. He 
is also a member and past commander of 
the Association of Massachusetts Minute 
Men. He is a prominent member of the 
Masonic order and belongs to all the lo- 
cal bodies of the order, including Puritan 
Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Whitman; Pilgrim Chapter, Roy- 
al Arch Masons, of Abington ; Old Colony 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Ab- 
ington ; and he is also a member of Aleppo 
Temple, Nobles of the ^^lystic Shrine, of 
Boston. 

The domestic life of Mr. Atwood has 
been a long and happy one. On Septem- 
ber 24, 1862, he married (first) Angelina F. 
Weston, a daughter of Lewis and May 
Weston, of Plympton, Massachusetts. 
His children by this union were three, 
Winthrop F., Bertrand W. and Mabel F. 
The two sons are now associated with 
him in the great box manufactory. Mrs. 
Atwood died on March 4, 1908, at the 
home on Pleasant street. She was in her 
seventy-first year, and had long been a 
leader in the work of the Unitarian church 
in Whitman, where she left a host of de- 
voted friends. On June i. 1910, Mr. At- 
wood married (second) Mrs. Lizzie A. 
Sanborn, of Roxbury, Massachusetts. 

There is much to suggest the gentleman 
of the old school in Mr. Atwood. and the 
courtesy of this type and the uncompro- 
mising firmness of the practical man of 
the world fittingly complement and mod- 
fy each other. During the many years of 
his residence in Whitman he has been 
looked up to as have few other men in the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



community ; with respect for the unim- 
peachable integrity, the clear-sighted sa- 
gacity, the strong public-spirit that marks 
him, but with affection also, for his tact in 
dealing with men, his spontaneous gener- 
osity and the attitude of charity and toler- 
ance he maintains toward his fellow-men 
which makes him easy of approach and a 
sympathetic listener to all, the humblest 
as well as the proudest. There is many a 
man in Whitman today who has good oc- 
casion to remember these traits of Mr. At- 
wood, many a man whose difficulties have 
been cleared away by the good offices of 
this true friend. 



KILLIAN, Thomas, 

Prominent Business Man. 

Thomas Killian, son of Thomas and Mar- 
garet Killian, both natives of Ireland who 
came to America many years ago, was born 
in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, July 3, 1854, 
and died in the same town, July 26, 19 12. 
His education was acquired in the common 
schools of his native town, and upon its 
completion he entered the employ of the 
Russell Woolen Mills, in which his father 
was employed many years. He was one of 
two brothers and three sisters, of whom 
there is now living but one brother, Patrick 
Killian. After some years spent in work- 
ing in the above mentioned mill, Mr. Kil- 
lian decided to establish himself in business 
independently, and for this purpose selected 
the house furnishing line, with which he 
was successfully identified for a considera- 
ble length of time. Other business inter- 
ests also claimed a share of his time and at- 
tention for a number of years prior to his 
death. While he never evinced any desire 
to hold public office, he took a deep interest 
in all public affairs, and was a consistent 
supporter of the Democratic party. As a 
member of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, he 
gave generously toward its support, and he 



was a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and of Division No. 
5, Ancient Order of Hibernians, for more 
than thirty years. 

Mr. Killian married, November 19, 1891, 
Mary Heaphy, of Lee, Massachusetts. She 
was educated in the schools of Lee, Mas- 
sachusetts, whence she came to Pittsfield, 
where she followed the occupation of dress- 
making until her marriage. She is a mem- 
ber of St. Joseph's Catholic Church of Pitts- 
field, and of the Ladies' Benevolent Cath- 
olic Association of Pittsfield. She is a 
daughter of Thomas and Mary (Danahee) 
Heaphy, a contractor. Mr. and Mrs. Thom- 
a"s Heaphy had the following children: 
Mary, mentioned above ; Elizabeth, born in 
Lee and now living in Pittsfield; William 
A., a contractor of Lee, who married Mary 
E. Bossidy, of that town, and they have 
the following children : Harry W., a civil 
engineer ; Mary C, a bookkeeper ; William 
A., is in his third year at Holy Cross Col- 
lege ; Margaret Elizabeth, in her second 
year at Middlebury College, in Vermont; 
Edward Thomas, attending high school. 

Mr. Killian was essentially a home man, 
and though very busy all the time, he never 
permitted other things to detract his atten- 
tion from his home, where he found his 
greatest enjoyment. He was in the truest 
sense of the word a self-made man, having 
begun at the bottom of the ladder and 
worked his- way steadily upward. He held 
to a high standard of business ethics and 
had no use for trickery of any nature or 
for anything savoring of dishonesty. Per- 
sonally, he was genial and unassuming, and 
he enjoyed a wide circle of friends through- 
out the city of his residence. At the time 
of his death it was said repeatedly, "Pitts- 
field has lost a man she could ill afford to 
lose." 



242 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



GRUNOW, Frank, 

Business Man. 

In the death of the late Frank Grunow, of 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, the city lost one 
of its most energetic men of affairs, whose 
potent influence for good will continue to 
pervade the lives of men. As the day, 
with its morning of hope and promise, 
its noontide of activity and accomplish- 
ment, its evening of successful efforts, 
ending in the grateful rest and quiet 
of the night, so was the life of this good 
and honored man. His career was a busy 
and useful one, fraught with much good 
to himself, his family and humanity, and 
his memory will long be revered by those 
who had occasion to come in contact with 
him on Hfe's pathway. His activities added 
in a material way to the welfare of the city 
of his residence. Devoting the major part 
of his time and attention to business inter- 
ests, he did not, however, allow commercial 
pursuits to warp his kindly nature, but pre- 
served his faculties and the warmth of his 
heart for the broadening and helpful in- 
fluence of human Hfe, being to the end a 
kindly, genial friend and a gentleman whom 
it was an unending pleasure to meet. 

Frank Grunow was born in the Province 
of Brandenburg, Germany, October 28, 
1858, and was a son of Heinrich and Char- 
lotte Grunow, who lived and died in Ger- 
many. His education, which was acquired 
in his native country, was a substantial one, 
and upon its completion he entered upon his 
business career. Having acquired a prac- 
tical knowledge of business procedures, he 
became the owner of what were known as 
combination stores, and was connected with 
these until he came to this country. He was 
still in his early twenties when he came to 
America, arriving in Pittsfield, June 6, 1882, 
and from that time until his death he was 
closely identified with the interests of this 
city, which profited greatly thereby. His 



first field of activity was in the Pomeroy 
Woolen Mills, w^here he remained three 
years, then removed to North Monson, 
where he continued in the same line of in- 
dustry for another three years. He then re- 
turned to Pittsfield, and found employment 
in the Hinsdale Mills at Hinsdale, and when 
he left this concern established himself in 
business independently, his first location be- 
ing in Depot street from whence he re- 
moved to North street. He purchased the 
property now owned by George White and 
it was mainly through his efforts that the 
block known as the Grunow Block was 
erected. He retired from active participa- 
tion in business affairs about six months pri- 
or to his death. In political matters he gave 
his consistent support to the Republican 
party, but never desired to hold public of- 
fice. For many years he was a member 
of the German Lutheran church, taking an 
active part in furthering its interests, and 
served it as a delegate to the General Con- 
vention. He was a member of the German 
Harmonic Society, the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, the Veteran Fire- 
men's Association and the Turn Verein. 
While still living in Germany he was a 
member of the Reserves, and the soldierly 
bearing he acquired in early life never de- 
serted him. He had one brother, Herman 
Grunow, of Pittsfield, and a sister, Wilhel- 
mina, who lived and died in Germany. Al- 
ways loyal to family ties, he assisted his 
brother and his wife's sisters and brothers 
to come to America. 

Mr. Grunow married, in Pittsfield, Octo- 
ber 4, 1882, the ceremony being performed 
by the Rev. Haeger, of the Lutheran 
church. Elizabeth Becker, who was born in 
the Province of Pomerania, Germany, No- 
vember 8, 1859, and landed in this coun- 
try a few days prior to her marriage. She 
received an excellent education in her native 
land, and is a daughter of Christian and 
Emilie Becker, of Germany, whose other 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



children are : Gertrude ; Emilie, married 

Schultz, and lives in Washington ; 

Martha, is married in Germany, and never 
came to this country; Emma, married 
Wolff, of Pittsfield ; Maria, married 

Schultz, of Washington, a brother 

of the husband of her sister Emilie ; Ber- 
tha, married George Ende, of Washington, 
who was educated in Germany. ]\Irs. Gru- 
now is a member of the German Lutheran 
church and the W. W. Rockwell Woman's 
Relief Corps. ]Mr. and Mrs. Grunow had 
children : Elizabeth, a deaconess in the 
Drexel Home, in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania; Henry F. H., died in 191 5, at 
the age of almost thirty years, was a mas- 
ter mechanic ; Frank, deceased ; William, 
residing with his mother ; Walter, a minis- 
ter in Sunbury. Pennsylvania ; Bertha, a 
student of music, also resides with her 
mother, and is a member of several musical 
associations ; Otto, the youngest, is a stu- 
dent at Wagner College, Rochester, New 
York ; three died in infancy. 



WHITE, Benjamin Smith, 
Engineer. 

For several years Mr. White has been en- 
gineer in charge of the pumping department 
at the South Hadley Center Water Works, 
but he is a native son of \'ermont and there 
spent his early years prior to locating in 
Holyoke, a young man of twenty-one years. 
He is a descendant of Peregrine White, son 
of William White, a "Mayflower" passen- 
ger, and Susanna (Fuller) White, the child 
Peregrine being born in the cabin of the 
"Mayflower," as she lay at anchor in Cape 
Cod harbor. This birth is of deep his- 
torical interest, as he was the first child 
born of English parents in a New England 
colony. His name Peregrine was given 
from the fact that he was born during the 
peregrinations of his parents from Leyden 



with the "Mayflower," the landing at Ply- 
mouth Rock occurring after his birth. 

W'illiam White, the American ancestor, 
was born in England and went to Leyden, 
Holland, with the Pilgrims, where he mar- 
ried Susanna Fuller. The "Society of May- 
flower Descendants" published a transcript 
of the marriage records as follows: "En- 
tered XXVI, January 1612. William 
White, wool comber, unmarried man from 
England, accompanied by William Jepson 
and Samuel Fuller his acquaintances, with 
Ann Fuller single woman also from Eng- 
land accompanied by Rosamond Jepson and 
Sarah Priest her acquaintance. They were 
married before Jasper Van Banhem and 
William Cornelius Tybault, sheriffs. This 
nth. February 1612." One child, Resolved 
^^'hite, was born in Leyden. They came in 
the "]\Iayflo\ver" and Peregrine, their sec- 
ond child, was born on board, November 
20, 1620. Both Resolved and Peregrine 
\\'hite had many descendants. 

Peregrine White was reared in the fam- 
ily of Governor Edward Winslow in Plym- 
outh Colony, and about 1647 married Sarah 
Bassett, whose parents, William and Eliz- 
abeth Bassett, came from Leyden in the 
ship "Fortune" in 1621. He finally set- 
tled in Marshfield ; was one of the thirty 
volunteers from Plymouth colony in 1637 
to assist the Massachusetts Bay colonists in 
the Pequot War; was made a freeman in 
1644; held many oflfices, was deputy to the 
General Court in 1659 ^^<^ ^^73' ^"d mem- 
ber of the Council of War in 1673 with the 
rank of captain. He died July 20, 1704; 
his wife Sarah died January 20, 171 1. He 
had sons : Daniel, Jonathan, Peregrine (2) 
and Silvanus. A branch of his family set- 
tled in \''ermont, from whence sprang Her- 
man White, a soldier of the Revolution. 
Captain Calvin W'hite, son of Herman 
White, was the father of Calvin (2) White, 
and grandfather of Benjamin Seth White. 
Captain Calvin White, a farmer and car- 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



penter, resided at Essex Center, Vermont, 
where he died leaving sons : Horace and 
Calvin (2). 

Calvin (2) White was born at Essex, 
Vermont, August 28, 1816, and died in Col- 
chester, Vermont, July 12, 1870. Both he 
and his brother learned the carpenter's trade 
with their father. Calvin (2) White became 
a leading building contractor and erected 
many houses and barns in the Essex-Col- 
chester section. Many of the houses he built 
were distinguished by an elm tree planted 
in front, which is still standing. He fol- 
lowed the carpenter's trade in Essex, but 
later moved to Colchester and built the 
homestead which is now occupied by his 
youngest son. After moving to Colchester 
he gave up contracting and confined himself 
to wagon building, doing all the wheel- 
wright and blacksmith work at his own 
shop. He was a Democrat in politics, and 
a member of the Baptist church. Calvin 
White married Hannah Melissa Furman, 
born in Milton, Vermont, December 17, 
1826, and died in Colchester, Vermont, Feb- 
ruary 26, 1888. Calvin and Hannah Melis- 
sa White were the parents of five sons and 
four daughters: i. Laura A., born June 
28, 1845 ; married Spencer Hine, and has a 
daughter, Mrs. George Waite ; all reside at 
Athol, Massachusetts. 2. Ray Ashley, born 
August 22, 1847, died August 18, 1907; 
married Edith Luke and had seven children ; 
from 1874 until his death resided in Cali- 
fornia. 3. Truman C, born February 22, 
1850; married a Miss Smith and had one 
son ; resides in Fresno, California. 4. Lois 
S., born March 4, 1853; married Edward 
Wiater, and has one son ; resides in Los 
Angeles, California. 5. Mary Alice, born 
March 6, 1856 ;married Charles Dwelley and 
has two children ; resides in Fresno, Cali- 
fornia. 6. Benjamin Smith, mentioned be- 
low. 7. Jesse M., born August 19, 1866; 
married Minnie Thompson, and resides at 
Westminster, Vermont. 8. Sarah Augusta, 



twin with Jesse M., married Edward Sa- 
win, and resides in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 9. Harris Stanton, born February 10, 
1868; resides on the White homestead in 
Colchester, Vermont ; married and has five 
children. 

Benjamin Smith White, third son of Cal- 
vin (2) White, was born at Colchester, 
Chittenden county, Vermont, December 16, 
1858. He was educated in the public 
schools, and remained with his parents until 
of legal age, then located in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. For eighteen years he remained 
in Holyoke, employed in the paper mills, 
then changed his occupation to farming. He 
located at South Hadley and for eight years 
was a market farmer and poultry raiser. 
He also for several years supplied a milk 
route in Holyoke. As the years progressed 
he wearied of the burden of his large farm 
and sold it, purchasing a small place near- 
by. When he retired from the farm he 
took a position with the water works, and 
for several years has been engineer in 
charge of the pumping department of the 
town water supply. He is a Republican 
in politics, charter member and past noble 
grand of Zona Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and an attendant of the 
Congregational church. 

Mr. White married, July 17, 1884, Fran- 
ces L. Morrison, born at Plattsburg, New 
York, daughter of Henry and Ruth Ann 
(Jersey) Morrison. Henry Morrison, a 
farmer, was born in Peru, New York, and 
died in Plattsburg in 1870. Ruth Ann Jer- 
sey was born in Beekmantown, New York, 
and died in Plattsburg, New York, about 
1907. Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin S. White 
are the parents of three sons and a daugh- 
ter : I. Henry C, born June 27, 1887 ; mar- 
ried Lillian Tiffany, and resides at South 
Hadley Center ; three children : Alice 
Frances, Ralph Morrison, and Dorothy Ida. 
2. Ella F., born October i, 1888; married 
Roy Tiffany, and resides in South Hadley 



245 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Center ; two children : Muriel and How- 
ard Loomis. 3. Benjamin C, born May 25, 
1895 ; resides with his parents. 4. Lester 
R., born June 26, 1899; also living at home. 



SMITH, George I., 

Merchant, Public Official. 

Although a native son of Maine, the 
greater part of the life of George I. Smith 
was spent in the State of Massachusetts, 
the last twenty-nine of his seventy-two 
years in South Hadley Falls. He was born 
in Kennebunkport, Maine, June 26, 1835, 
died in South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts', 
May 8, 1907, son of James Smith, of an old 
family of the Kennebunkport region. James 
Smith was the father of eight children, 
three sons and five daughters, of the form- 
er all are deceased and of the latter three 
are still living: Clara, who married Lyn- 
don Fairfield, of Dorchester, Massachu- 
setts ; Lucy, who married Alphonso Leech, 
of Lawrence, Massachusetts ; Lillie, who 
married a Mr. Carr, of Lawrence, Massa- 
chusetts. 

George I. Smith was educated in the pub- 
lic schools, and remained at home until his 
twentieth year, and during that period be- 
come an expert weaver. In 1855 he went 
to Saco, Maine, to become an overseer in 
the weaving department of a Saco mill, 
there remaining four years. He then went 
to West Warren, Massachusetts, and re- 
mained there an overseer of weaving for 
twelve years. In 1878 he located at South 
Hadley Falls as overseer in the Glasgow 
Mills, a position he ably filled until 1888, 
when he abandoned mill work and opened a 
shoe store, catered only to high class trade 
and continued a very successful merchant 
until 1897. He then sold his business and 
devoted the remainder of his life to the care 
and improvement of his property and in the 
development of the borough. In 1895 he 



had purchased real estate on Bardwell 
street extending from Carew street to a 
point opposite School street, and the man- 
agement of this tract with the buildings 
thereon furnished his chief business prob- 
lem after retiring from mercantile life. He 
was a Republican in politics, served six 
years as assessor, serving at the time of his 
death, also town clerk, and was always 
interested in borough affairs. He was a 
member of the Masonic order for thirty- 
nine years, taking a demit from Warren 
Lodge on coming to South Hadley Falls 
and joining the lodge there. For many 
years he was treasurer of the lodge and 
held in high esteem by his brethren. He 
was an attendant of the Congregational 
church, and a lover of his home, there 
spending his happiest hours. 

]\Ir. Smith married, July 3, 1873, Annie 
M. Drew, born in Eaton, New Hampshire, 
daughter of Thomas Jefferson and Matilda 
(Wilkinson) Drew, both of old New Hamp- 
shire families. Thomas J. Drew, a farmer, 
died at the age of seventy, son of Josiah 
Drew, also a farmer. Matilda Wilkinson 
was a daughter of John Wilkinson, of Alls- 
ton, New Hampshire, where his whole life 
was passed. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas J. 
Drew were the parents of ten children, five 
of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Smith 
are the parents of three sons: i. Herman 
M., born at West Warren, Massachusetts; 
now paymaster at the works of the Coburn 
Trolley Track Company, at Willimansett, 
Massachusetts ; he married Mabel Long, 
and has a son, Herbert. 2. Warren I., 
residing at home. 3. Dwight C, a draughts- 
man in the employ of the Coburn Trolley 
Track Company; he married Nellie Mills, 
and has two sons, Ernest and Henry. Mrs. 
Smith continues to ably manage the large 
property left by her husband, and in 1914 
erected her present residence in South Had- 
ley Falls. 



246 



i 



[PUBLIC 1 






ENXYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SOUTHWICK. William Henry, 
Real Estate Operator. 

William H. Southwick, a well known real 
estate dealer in Chicopee Falls and towns 
adjoining, is a worthy representative of an 
English ancestry, his grandfather, David 
Southwick, having been a native of that 
land, from whence he came to this country 
in the eighteenth century. 

Orin Southwick, father of William H. 
Southwick, was born in Salem, Massachu- 
setts, where his parents settled upon their 
removal from England, in the year 1793, 
and died in Mooers, Clinton county, New- 
York, in 1887. aged ninety-four years. He 
received his education in the public schools 
of his native town, where he resided until 
he attained the age of twenty years, and 
then removed to Mooers. New York, where 
he took up four hundred acres of govern- 
ment land, located on English river, which 
he cultivated and improved and on which 
he erected a saw mill, which he conducted 
successfully for many years, having the 
contract for supplying the railroad ties for 
the old Ogdensburg Railroad. He also made 
potash during the winter months, ^Montreal, 
Canada, being the nearest market to sell his 
produce, and in those days of slow trans- 
portation he made the journey with a wagon 
and team of oxen, this journey requiring 
one week. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics, but never sought nor held public office. 
He was an active participant in the War of 
1812, and as the result of meritorious ser- 
vice attained the rank of colonel. He was a 
member and deacon of the Presbyterian 
church in Mooers, his wife also holding 
membership therein. He married Hannah 
Stone, daughter of Isaac Stone, who died 
at the age of eighty-three years, having been 
a farmer on a large scale in Perrys Mills, 
New York, along the Chazy river. Mr. and 
ISIrs. Stone were the parents of seven chil- 
dren : Alonzo, Eldridge, Lafayette, Sarah. 



Hannah, Finetta and Rachel. Mr. and Mrs. 
Southwick were the parents of twelve chil- 
dren : I. Hosea, died in infancy. 2. Isaac, 
died in infancy. 3. Edward Alonzo, died 
aged seventy-three years ; married Axie 
Bateman, who died aged sixty-eight years; 
they were the parents of five children ; they 
resided in Mooers, New York. 4. Orir\ 
Frederick, died aged sixty-nine years ; mar- 
ried Mary Benson, who is living at the pres- 
ent time (1917) in Wells, Minnesota; they 
were the parents of four children. 5. Da- 
vid A., died aged sixty-nine years; married 
Fannie Benson, sister of Mary Benson ; she 
is living at present in Minneapolis, Minne- 
sota. 6. Horatio J., born 1838; married 
(first) Julia Hay, married (second) Ella 
Thompson ; they reside on the old farm in 
:\Iooers. New York. 7. William Henry, of 
whom further. 8. Eldridge G., born 1842; 
married. June 28. 1865, Mary Louise 
Brewster, who bore him three children ; she 
died December 5, 191 5, aged seventy-six 
years ; he resides in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts. 9. Titus A., born 1844; married 
Margaret Purdy. who bore him six chil- 
dren; she died in 191 5 ; he resides in Har- 
vey, Illinois. 10. Pliny F., married Laura 
Tabb ; they reside in Colorado Springs, Col- 
orado. II. Marion E., died aged twenty 
years. 12. Flora J., born 1857; became 
the wife of Dr. Ralph Erwin. who died in 
1903; they were the parents of two chil- 
dren, and Mrs. Erwin resides with her 
daughter, Mrs. William Frowley, Mr. 
Frowley serving as postmaster of Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts. Hannah (Stone) South- 
wick, mother of these children, died in 
Mooers, New York, aged eighty-six years. 
William Henry Southwick was born in 
Mooers. Clinton county. New York, August 
13. 1840. He gained a practical education 
in the schools of the vicinity, and in assist- 
ing his father with the work of the farm 
and mill. Upon attaining the age of twen- 
ty-one, he hired out to his father at a wage 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of twelve dollars a month, and for the fol- 
lowing year worked thus in the mill and on 
the farm. He then went to Sunderland, 
Massachusetts, and assumed the duties of 
manager of the farm belonging to John 
Smith, where his compensation was thirty- 
two dollars a month and board. After 
serving in that capacity for one year, he re- 
turned to JNIooers, New York, and engaged 
in buying and selling horses, cattle, sheep 
and poultry, to which he later added the 
buying and selling of lumber and shingles, 
shipping a large amount of lumber to North- 
ampton, Holyoke, Chicopee and Springfield, 
Massachusetts. About five years later, af- 
ter his marriage, he located in Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, and there continued 
the lumber and shingle business, purchas- 
ing a tract of land, a portion of the Belcher 
and Taylor farm, on what is now (191 7) 
East street. Subsequently he relinquished 
this business in order to devote his entire 
attention to his property holdings, cutting 
the land up into building lots, which he 
disposed of, also erecting houses, his activi- 
ties carry him outside of the confines of 
Chicopee Falls. He has always given his 
political allegiance to the Republican party, 
but the only public office he ever held was 
that of collector for one year in Mooers, 
New York. He attends the services of the 
Congregational church in Chicopee Falls, 
as did also his wife, in which he takes a 
keen and active interest. 

Mr. Southwick married, 1865, Eveline 
Crocker, died in 1905, daughter of John 
Crocker, of Roxbury, Vermont. They were 
the parents of two children: I. Effie, born 
1871 ; she married (first) Clinton Clark, 
of Westfield, Massachusetts, who died in 
1913; she married (second) Martin Sayles, 
a chemist for the Westinghouse Company 
of Chicopee Falls ; they reside in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts. 2. Grace, born 1881 ; 
she became the wife of Robert Lindsey, a 
salesman and collector for Silver Brothers, 



confectionery manufacturers of Hartford, 
Connecticut ; they have two children : Ma- 
rion and Franklin; Mr. and Mrs. Lindsey 
reside on Wait avenue, Chicopee Falls, 
Massachusetts, and since the death of his 
wife Mr. Southwick resides with them. 



RATIGAN, Martin, 

Postmaster of 'Whitman. 

Prior to his locating in Whitman, Mas- 
sachusetts, Martin Ratigan was engaged 
in business in Spencer, Massachusetts, 
and there took as prominent a part in 
town politics as he has in Whitman. A 
lifelong Democrat he was there and has 
been in Whitman one of the trusted party 
leaders. In 1892 he headed the Demo- 
cratic legislative ticket in the Spencer- 
Leicester district. In Whitman he is the 
present postmaster, appointed by Presi- 
dent Wilson, February 27, 1916. His 
period of active interest in political and 
public affairs covers his entire voting life, 
and Democracy has no more stalwart ex- 
ponent. He is a son of John and Cath- 
erine Ratigan, of Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, his father being deceased since 
1895. John Ratigan was a shoemaker by 
trade. He was a veteran of the Civil War, 
serving nine months in the Fifty-first 
Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer In- 
fantr\% and two years in the Twenty-fifth 
Regiment of Infantry from the same 
State. He saw hard service and among 
the battles in which he was engaged, 
Newbern, Cold Harbor, and the siege of 
Petersburg were the more important. He 
was a member of the Grand Army of the 
Republic. 

Martin Ratigan was born in W^orces- 
ter, Massachusetts, September 17, 1858. 
He obtained his education in the public 
schools of that city and Brookfield. His 
business experience covers many years at 
the shoe manufacturing trade in Spencer 



248 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Whitman, and five years in Spencer 
as proprietor of a variety store. In 191 3 
he was placed in charge of the high school 
building in Whitman, and since February 
27, 1916, has been postmaster of the bor- 
ough. He is a man of energy and indus- 
try, highly respected in his community. 
For fourteen years Mr. Ratigan was a 
member of the Spencer Democratic town 
committee, and in 1892 the candidate of 
his party for representative. For seven 
years he has held the office of Democratic 
town committeeman in Whitman, and is 
one of the influential men of that commit- 
tee. As postmaster he has given the town 
good service and administered the affairs 
of the office to the satisfaction of both the 
patrons and the postal department. He is 
a member of George A. Custer Camp, No. 
II, Sons of Veterans, W^hitman ; and of 
the Order of United Workmen. In reli- 
gious faith he is a Catholic. 

Mr. Ratigan married, in November, 
1883, at Spencer, Mary A. Bell, daughter 
of John and Fannie Bell. They are the 
parents of one daughter, Lillian C, born 
March 31, 1898. 



WYNN, Captain John Patrick, 

Captain in Fire Department. 

Twenty-five years ago John P. Wynn was 
first entered upon the rolls of the Holyoke 
fire department as a "call man." Three 
years later he became a permanent member 
of the department, and for twelve years has 
ranked as captain, having won his way up- 
ward through gallant, devoted service. For 
the past two years he has been in charge of 
the Elm wood Station, one of the important 
districts of the city. He is a son of Wil- 
liam Wynn, and a grandson of Peter Wynn, 
both born in Ireland, and both coming to 
the United States. Peter Wynn settled in 
Connecticut, and is buried in Derby, that 



State. He left children: Peter, William, 
Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine, Ann. 

William Wynn, born in Ireland, in 1825, 
died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, January 
28, 1879. Hs ^^''is sixteen years of age 
when he came to the United States with his 
parents, and in Connecticut worked at pa- 
per making in Derby, New Haven and 
Chaplin Mills. Later he located in Hol- 
yoke, where until his death he was a paper 
manufacturer, no better informed man 
concerning that industry to be found any- 
where. William Wynn married (first) 
Mary McCabe, of County Waterford, Ire- 
land, who died in 1862, aged thirty-three. 
He married (second) Margaret Downey, 
born in Dublin, Ireland, who died Novem- 
ber 23, 1893. Children by first marriage: 
Peter ; Catherine, married Frank L. Clapp, 
deceased ; William ; and Mary. Children 
by second marriage : James H. ; John Pat- 
rick, of further mention ; Elizabeth, de- 
ceased ; and Thomas F. 

John Patrick Wynn, son of William 
Wynn and his second wife, Margaret 
(Downey) Wynn, was born in Unionville, 
Connecticut, March 17, 1869. At the age 
of five years he was brought to Holyoke by 
his parents, and later spent two and a half 
years at Palmer Falls, New York. He at- 
tended the public schools in both Palmer 
Falls and Holyoke, and from the time he 
was thirteen years of age worked in the 
paper mills during vacation periods. He 
continued a mill worker exclusively until 
1892, and during the years from thirteen to 
twenty-three he was employed in the Chem- 
ical, Franklin and Excelsior Paper Com- 
pany Mills. In 1892 he applied for admis- 
sion to the Holyoke fire department, and 
after passing all tests was enrolled as 
a "call man." He was then twenty-three 
years of age, and during the years 1892- 
1895 he was carried on the rolls as 
"call man," then was appointed to a 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



permanent position as fireman attached to 
the Central Station. He was connected with 
the Central Station for twenty years, 1895- 
191 5, the People's Savings Bank now oc- 
cupying the site of the station, so long a 
prominent feature of High street. He was 
promoted lieutenant in April, 1898, and 
captain in April, 1905, both promotions 
coming in recognition of efficient, honorable 
service. In March, 191 5, he was trans- 
ferred from the Central Station to the com- 
mand of the Elmwood Station, his present 
post. He was treasurer of the Fireman's 
Aid Association for ten years ; is a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; and is highly esteemed wherever 
known. His record as a fireman is of the 
highest quality, his quarter of a century of 
service teeming with deeds of bravery and 
self sacrifice. He is a member of the Ro- 
man Catholic church. 



GUSHING, George, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

The Cushing family is undoubtedly one 
of the oldest in existence, and is able to 
trace its descent back to the latter part of 
the eighth century to one of the old jarls 
and vikings of Norway. Hrolf Nefja Jarl 
is the first authentic figure in this long 
genealogy, and reference is found to him 
and to his more or less mythical ancestors 
in the Sagas relating to the eighth cen- 
tury, the period when authentic Norse 
history may be said to have begun. He 
appears to have lived in Throndjem, that 
abode of so many of the famous Scandi- 
navian vikings, among whom this worthy 
must be classed. Through his daughter 
Hild, who married Rognvald Maera Jarl, 
who participated in the conquest of Nor- 
way under the famous Harold Hadradda, 
the line descends through a long series of 
splendid old soldiers, both in that north- 
ern land and later in Normandy, until it 



finally makes its way into England in the 
person of the nephew of William, the 
Conqueror, himself — Ralf, who later be- 
came Baron of Oxburg, in Norfolk, 
through the gift of his great uncle. The 
name Cushing seems to have come into 
use in the early part of the fourteenth cen- 
tury, its original form having been Cusyn. 

The founder of the family in America 
was Matthew Cushing, who was baptized 
in Hingham, England, March 2, 1589, and 
died in Hingham, Massachusetts, Septem- 
ber 30, 1660. He and his family came to 
the American colonies from Ipswich in 
1638, on the good ship "Diligent," John 
Martin, master. His emigration from his 
native land was owing to religious trou- 
bles, and he soon became a prominent fig- 
ure in the affairs of the little community 
in the New World. He had married as 
early as August 5, 161 3, Nazerith Pitcher, 
who accompanied him to this country, 
and died in Hingham, January 5, 1682, at 
the age of ninety-six. Their descendants 
have been for long prominently associated 
with the life of Hingham and various oth- 
er communities in Massachusetts and 
New England generally, whither they 
have spread. From this worthy progen- 
itor the line descends through Daniel, 
Captain Theophilus, Captain Abel, Colo- 
nel David, David (II) and David (HI) to 
George Cushing, the subject of this 
sketch. David Cushing (HI) was a 
prominent farmer of Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, and was married to Mary Lapham, 
also of that region. 

Born June 16, 1841, at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, George Cushing, son of 
David and Mary (Lapham) Cushing, 
spent the early years of his life in his na- 
tive town. During his childhood he at- 
tended the Hingham Grammar School, 
where he received his education and dur- 
ing this same period of his life he helped 
his father on the latter's farm. Believing 



250 




/^^:^/;?^^^^'<2I^^;^^^ 



THE ?^BW YORK 1 
PUBLIC UBRARV! 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that larger opportunities awaited him in 
another occupation, he engaged in 1872 
in the hotel business, purchasing the 
Drew Hotel, and met with instant suc- 
cess. He had already conducted an ex- 
press business from 1858 to 1864, and 
from the latter year to 1872 had kept a 
livery stable. In both of these former en- 
terprises, he had met with success, but it 
was as the owner of the hotel now well 
known as the Cushing Hotel, that he first 
came into very wide prominence in the 
community. He is peculiarly well adapted 
to his present business, being of an ex- 
tremely democratic nature, a friend of all 
men and enjoying a very wide popularity 
with all his associates. He has built up a 
very successful business for himself, and 
his hotel has the reputation of being the 
best conducted hostelry in that section of 
the country. Mr. Cushing has always tak- 
en an extremely active part in the public 
affairs of the community and is keenly in- 
terested in politics, although his inde- 
pendent nature has withheld him from 
identifying himself too closely with any 
organization. He may be described as an 
Independent Democrat in politics, but is 
never actuated by partisan motives, re- 
serving for himself the right to vote for 
that issue or candidate which he believes 
truly to the advantage of the community. 
He is not an office seeker but his personal 
popularity is such that he has been elected 
to several important offices. He became 
chief engineer of the Fire Department in 
1879, and has held that office to the pres- 
ent time. He was appointed postmaster 
of Hingham by President Cleveland dur- 
ing the latter's first term as president, and 
was reappointed by the succeeding presi- 
dents up to and including President Taft, 
his term of office expiring in October, 
1913. He is a member of many fraternal 
and social organizations, among which 
should be mentioned Old Colony Lodge, 



Free and Accepted Masons; Pentalpha 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; South 
Shore Commandery, Knights Templar, of 
which he is a past eminent commander; 
and Old Stony Lodge, Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He is also a member of 
the Fire Chief's Club, and of the Nauga- 
tuck Club. In his religious affiliations 
Mr. Cushing is a Unitarian, belonging to 
the First Church of that denomination at 
Hingham. 

Mr. Cushing was united in marriage at 
Hingham, Massachusetts, on the 15th day 
of January, i860, to Miss Deborah Ellen 
Cushing, a daughter of John and Harriett 
(Gilkey) Cushing, old and highly respect- 
ed residents of Hingham. Mr. and Mrs. 
Cushing are the parents of two children, 
as follows : Wallace Gilkey, born Decem- 
ber II, i860; and Ralph Edwards, born 
March 8. 1873. The qualities that are re- 
quired for success in the hotel business 
are of a perfectly definite order and quite 
as capable of being formulated as those 
needed in any other calling. Many, too, 
are of a high order and closely connected 
with some of the most fundamental of 
the virtues. Of course the same may be 
urged of any occupation in the case of 
that, perhaps the most fundamental of all 
virtues, honesty, for it is not difficult to 
maintain that no success worthy of the 
name, or of any stability, unless it is built 
upon this sure foundation, can ever be 
gained. Next to integrity, the most es- 
sential trait for the successful hotel man 
is that larger democratic sympathy that 
comes near to the virtue of Christian char- 
ity, which leads to a complete sympathy 
with and understanding of all men without 
regard for class or race and which finds its 
expression in that fine relationship be- 
tween comrades that is one of the purest 
and most disinterested to be found. Such 
is the character of Mr. Cushing and as 
such he occupies an almost unique place 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in the community. His success in the past 
has been great and there is every reason 
to prophesy with confidence that it will 
continue to grow in the future. 



NARDI, William Francis, 

Councilman. 

About the year 1868, Francis Nardi came 
to Worcester from Italy and made that city 
his home for the following forty-three 
years, being at his death one of the oldest 
Italian citizens of the city of his adoption. 
Twenty-one years after his arrival, his son, 
William Francis Nardi, was born, and so 
completely has he imbibed the national spir- 
it of America, that he is now numbered 
among the city fathers of Worcester as a 
councilman from Ward Three. He is the 
first man of Italian parentage to be elected 
to Council in the city, although since his 
election one other has been chosen a mem- 
ber. 

Francis Nardi, one of the early Italian 
settlers in Worcester, Massachusetts, was 
born in Italy, came to Worcester about 
1868, and there died in February, 191 1. He 
married Stella Baroni, who came to the 
United States in 1869, died in Worcester 
in December, 1898, aged forty-seven years. 
They were the parents of seven children, 
five of whom are living and residing in 
Worcester : Teresa A. ; Thomas J., a ma- 
chinist ; Delya E., assistant superintendent 
of nurses at Worcester City Hospital ; Alex- 
ander J., a traveling salesman; William 
Francis, of further mention. 

William Francis Nardi was born in Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, August 4, 1889. He 
was educated in the Worcester public 
schools, attending the Hedge and Grafton 
Street Grammar and the High School, spend- 
ing three years in study at the latter. He is 
a graduate of the Worcester School of Tel- 
egraphy, and passed through a variety of 
occupations before coming to his present 



position. For a time he was associated with 
his father in the fruit business ; for two 
years was in the employ of the city at the 
Kendall Reservoir ; for one year conducted 
a cafe at No. 21 SuflFolk street; for one 
year was steward at the Wayside Club 
house, at Lake Quinsigamund ; was in the 
employ of Grayton & Knight on Franklin 
street until 1915; was foreman for the 
Worcester Construction Company until Feb- 
ruary, 1916, then became manager of the tool 
department of the American Ammunition 
Company, his present position. 

He is a Democrat in politics, his prefer- 
ence for that party being influenced by his 
frequent reading and study of the life of 
Thomas Jefiferson while yet a school boy. 
The teachings of Jefferson, particularly con- 
cerning the rights of men, made a deep im- 
pression upon him, and in his political life 
he has been interested most deeply in all 
that concerns the betterment of conditions 
for the working man. His activity in work- 
ing for party success brought him prom- 
inently before the voters of Ward Three, 
and in December, 1914, they elected 
him to represent them in Common Coun- 
cil, his term not yet having expired. 
He is a member of committees on public 
building, health and printing, and it is to 
the credit of the public buildings committee 
that more was accomplished during 1915 
than in any two previous years. To enu- 
merate, there was erected in that year an 
addition to the North High School at a cost 
of $200,000 ; a police station costing $500,- 
000; a free station for Hose Company 
No. 2 ; additions to Portland Engine House ; 
a school house ; Hose House No. 7 on 
Lamertine street. Mr. Nardi also voted 
for the Underground Fire Alarm System; 
repairs to the Adams street school house ; 
re-decorating the City Hall ; repairs on Ash 
street school house ; new cells for police 
stations Nos. i and 2 to cost $94,000 ; oth- 
er school house improvements to cost $8,- 



252 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ooo, and strongly advocates an addition to 
Belmont Hospital for Consumptives. Dur- 
ing the recent ravage of the hoof and mouth 
disease among cattle, he favored labeling all 
meats exposed, that a purchaser could bene- 
fit by the knowledge. He is fond of out-door 
sports, a taste which has continued from 
his high school days, when he played upon 
the football team. His home at No. 51 
Suffolk street is the house in which he was 
born, his summer residence being a beautiful 
cottage at No. 11 46 Pleasant street. In re- 
ligion he is a Roman Catholic, belonging to 
Mt. Carmel Parish. 

Mr. Nardi married, in 191 5, Clara Le 
Fort, of Shrewsbury, and has a son, Rich- 
ard William, born in August, 1916. 



JUDD, Myron H., 

Agricnlturist, Honored Public Official. 

In the faithful and judicious conduct of 
public business, Myron H. Judd was con- 
spicuous and naturally enjoyed the esteem 
and confidence of his fellows. Coming 
from a line of intelligent and upright for- 
bears, he was reared in that devotion to 
principle and public welfare which made 
him a most useful and exemplary citizen. 
The surname Judd is one of the oldest of 
of English surnames, and is identical 
with Jude,an old and almost obsolete person- 
al name. Henry Judde, of County Kent, and 
John Judde, of Oxfordshire, were men- 
tioned in the Hundred Rolls of the year 
1275, and the family has been in Kent down 
to the present time. Sir Andrew Judd, 
dealer in skins and furs, of London, son of 
John Judd, of Tunbridge, Kent, was mayor 
of London in 1550, a man of wealth and in- 
fluence, and endowed a grammar school 
in Tunbridge. 

(I) Deacon Thomas Judd came from 
England in 1633 or 1634, and settled at 
Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he had 
a home lot granted to him in August, 1634. 



It was in that part of the town known as 
the West End, on the road to W'atertown. 
He had other land granted in 1635, and 
was admitted a freeman. May 25, 1636. 
He removed to Hartford, Connecticut, in 
1636, had two acres for a home lot, near the 
Charter Oak, was one of the first proprie- 
tors and settlers of Farmington, Connecti- 
cut, and removed there from Hartford 
about 1644. His home lot was on the main 
street, and he was a substantial farmer and 
an influential man, a deputy to the General 
Court several times, a charter member of 
the Farmington church, and was a second 
deacon. He moved to Northampton in 
1679, and resided there the remainder of 
his life, and was selectman there in 1682. 
He died November 12, 1688, aged about 
eighty. His first wife died in Farmington, 
and he married (second) December 2, 1679, 
Clemence, widow of Thomas Mason, of 
Northampton. 

(II) Samuel Judd, son of Deacon Thom- 
as Judd, was born about 1651 or 1653, ^"*^ 
died January 10, 1721. He was admitted 
a freeman in Massachusetts in May, 1684. 
After the death of his father he took care 
of his mother, and she deeded to him her 
property on Pleasant street. Besides he 
owned land in Farmington given him by his 
father. He married Mariah Strong, who 
died May 18, 1751, aged nearly eighty- 
eight years. 

(III) Thomas (2) Judd, second son of 
Samuel and Mariah (Strong) Judd, was 
born January 28, 1691, in Northampton, 
and died December 31, 1749. He lived for 
a time in Northampton, and removed to the 
east side of Mount Tom, in the same town, 
to what was known as South Farms, oppo- 
site South Hadley. He married Hannah 
Bascom, daughter of Thomas Bascom. 

(IV) Thomas (3) Judd, fourth son of 
Thomas (2) and Hannah (Bascom) Judd, 
was born in 1723, in Northampton, and re- 
sided in South Hadley, where he died De- 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cember 21, 1802. He was four times mar- 
ried. His second wife, Esther (Graves) 
Judd, born 1734, in Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, died May 3, 1772, in South Hadley, 
was a daughter of Daniel and Thankful 
(Smead) Graves, of Deerfield and Green- 
field, Massachusetts. Daniel Graves was 
killed by the Indians in 1756. 

(V) Levi Judd, eldest child of Thomas 
(3) and Esther (Graves) Judd, was born 
October 27, 1765, in South Hadley, where 
he purchased a tract of land in the then 
unbroken forest. He made a clearing and 
erected a log house upon what is now a 
part of the farm owned by the late Myron 
H. Judd. The farm later passed to his son, 
Zebina Judd. Levi Judd moved to Geneva, 
New York, in 1827, and there died in Sep- 
tember, 1829. He married, in 1786, Lucy 
Snow, born September 2, 1768, in South 
Hadley, daughter of Josiah Snow, of that 
town. She married (second) Deacon Wild- 
er, of Geneva, and died in June, 1846. 

(VI) Zebina Judd, eldest child of Levi 
and Lucy (Snow) Judd, was born Septem- 
ber 24, 1787, in South Hadley. He inherit- 
ed the old homestead from his father and 
there remained, adding considerably to its 
cleared area. He married there, November 
23, 1812, Laura Smith, born March 10, 
1789, daughter of Deacon Silas and Asen- 
ath (Chapin) Smith, of South Hadley. 

(VII) Warren Smith Judd, son of Ze- 
bina and Laura (Smith) Judd, was born 
September 6, 1820, in South Hadley. He 
went to Geneva, New York, when a young 
man, where he learned the trade of carpen- 
ter from his uncle, Thomas Judd. After 
his return East he built the house where his 
son, Myron Henry, was later born and 
which is now the home of his widow, and 
is still in fine condition. He married, No- 
vember 25, 1847, Jerusha Dickinson, born 
February 15, 1819, eldest daughter of Eli- 
jah and Clarine (White) Dickinson, of 
Hadley. 



(VIII) Myron Henry Judd, son of War- 
ren Smith and Jerusha (Dickinson) Judd, 
was born October 19, 1848, in South Had- 
ley, in the house built by his father, as 
noted above, and lived in the same house 
until his death, which occurred January 31, 
1916. He received a good education in the 
local public schools of South Hadley Falls, 
and on reaching manhood engaged in farm- 
ing. In this he was prosperous, and came to 
be regarded as one of the substantial citi- 
zens of the town. Early in life he began to 
take an interest in the conduct of public af- 
fairs, and was always independent in his 
principles, and voted for whom he consid- 
ered the best man. For ten years he served 
as selectman in the town of South Hadley, 
and for a like period was a member of the 
board of assessors, and also of the board 
of registration. In 1891 Mr. Judd was 
elected to the Legislature and served one 
year. The Holyoke "Transcript" said of 
him : "Mr. Judd was a man eagerly listen- 
ed to as he pleaded for this or that cause 
in the annual meeting of the town in past 
years." His home was in the section of 
South Hadley known as Falls Woods, and 
he was known as a public spirited citizen of 
the first rank, and a sturdy example of na- 
tive born New England stock. He was a 
member of the building committee which 
constructed the present town hall. For 
thirty-four years he was a member of Mt. 
Holyoke Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of which he was past master. He was 
also a member of lona Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, of Hadley Centre. 
He married, March 18, 1874, Nancy Ingra- 
ham, daughter of Alonzo and Mary Ingra- 
ham, of his home town. Both were faith- 
ful attendants of the Congregational church. 
There were four children of this marriage : 
Mary E., who died young; Mabel L., Hel- 
en D. and Warren H. On the day follow- 
ing his death the local paper said of him : 
"South Hadley has lost one of her solid 



254 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



men. For more than forty years he had tak- 
en a keen interest in town affairs. It was 
his clear vision that made him a power in 
town affairs. He had served several times 
on the board of selectmen, was a member 
of the town hall building committee, and 
at the time of his death was a member of 
the board of registrars. He was a man of 
few words, yet behind that reticence was an 
alert mind. There was little sentiment in 
his makeup, but there was a generous com- 
plement of common sense and good judg- 
ment. Mr. Judd was unfailingly right on 
town problems because he thought them out 
for himself and he always stood by his 
opinions. It is this kind of men that are 
valuable in any community. Mr. Judd was 
a lover of his home and found his greatest 
happiness on his cozy Falls Woods farm. 
Our New England towns have far too few 
of such helpful, practical forces." 



CHAPMAN, Edward Earl, 

Agriculturist, Legislator. 

It is a trite but true saying that there 
is always room at the top, and when one 
has advanced far beyond others who, per- 
haps, started out ahead of him on the high- 
way of life, it is because he has exerted 
in superior degree those qualities which 
constitute the basis of success. This re- 
mark is descriptive of the career of Edward 
Earl Chapman, of Ludlow, Massachusetts, 
who has not alone earned fame as an agri- 
culturist, but has made a name for himself 
in the political world, and has attained high 
rank in fraternal circles. 

Charles Chapman, his father, son of Da- 
vid Chapman, was born May 5, 1824, and 
died July 10, 1876. For some years he was 
engaged in the meat business in association 
with Albert Allen, was then associated in 
the grocery business with Mr. Cate for a 
time, and subsequently was a traveler for a 
firm of cattle dealers for a number of years. 



Mr. Chapman married, in November, 1845, 
Sarah Whittemore Popkins, born May 22, 
1826, died November 28, 1898, a daughter 
of Stephen and Beulah (Bates) Popkins. 
They had six children: i. Charles Albert, 
born April 26, 1848, is treasurer of South- 
bridge Savings Bank. 2. Sarah Howe, born 
July 3, 1852, died December 5, 1871. 3. 
John Benjamin, born July 16, 1855, died 
December 6, 1909. 4. Martha, born Febru- 
ary 28, 1858. 5. Edward Earl, whose name 
heads this sketch. 6. Amelia, born Septem- 
ber II, 1866. 

Edward Earl Chapman was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, February 13, 
1862, and was reared in that town. There 
he attended the public schools, acquiring a 
sound, practical education, which he has 
supplemented throughout his life by ju- 
dicious and well chosen reading, and by the 
continued use of his unusually keen powers 
of observation. At the age of seventeen 
years he went to Wilbraham, where he was 
resident on various farms until the year 
1883, when he removed to Ludlow, with 
which community he has been identified 
since that time. He purchased his pres- 
ent farm, consisting of one hundred and 
sixty acres, which he is cultivating to the 
greatest advantage, for general farming 
purposes. He is, and not without good rea- 
son, regarded as an authority in matters of 
agriculture, and follows the most approved 
methods of scientific cultivation in all his 
agricultural work. He is of the progres- 
sive nature which has made him a leader 
in everything connected with farm labors, 
and has attained a high rank in the Order 
of Patrons of Husbandry. For a period of 
five years he was master of Ludlow 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry ; two years 
master of Pomona Grange, of the same or- 
der, of Springfield; deputy of the State 
Grange, ten years ; overseer of the State 
Grange, four years, and was then elected 
master of the State Grange, an office of 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which he is still the incumbent, at present 
serving his second term in it, also elected 
lecturer of National Grange in 191 5 for 
term of two years. In the field of politics 
his name is no less well known. He was 
elected to the Legislature in 19 14, and served 
with such signal ability that he was re-elect- 
ed in 191 5, was in office in 1916, and is a 
member and chairman of the Committee on 
Agriculture. Mr. Chapman is a man of 
many-sided ability, and, had he chosen to 
devote himself to the study of music, 
would undoubtedly have attained a high 
rank in that art. As it is, in spite of the 
manifold other demands made upon his 
time and attention, he has been a leading 
spirit in the musical circles of the town. For 
almost a quarter of a century he had charge 
of the music in the Third Congregational 
Church of Chicopee, resigning this office, 
April I, 191 5. As a member of the School 
Committee he rendered excellent service, 
remaining in office nine years. He is a 
member of Brigham Lodge, Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, of Ludlow ; Ludlow Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; the 
Hampden Harvest Club. All of his chil- 
dren have inherited his talent for music and, 
at various times, have sung in church 
choirs. 

Mr. Chapman married, December 6, 1883, 
Charlotte Elizabeth Corbin, born July 9, 
1862, a daughter of Charles A. and Lovisa 
(Lawson) Corbin, of Wilbraham. Mrs. 
Chapman before her marriage was a school 
teacher in the Monson and Wilbraham grad- 
ed schools. She is a member of the Ladies' 
Church Societies, and has filled the offices 
of president and treasurer. All the mem- 
bers of the family are regular attendants at 
the church of which they are members. 
Children: I. Charles Earl, born September 
II, 1886, farm manager of Rutland State 
Sanitorium ; a past master of Ludlow 
Grange; he married, September 29, 1909, 
Mabel Cheney Johnson, daughter of A. 



Lincoln and Leora (Emmons) Johnson. 2. 
Myron Edward, born June 9, 1890 ; a farm- 
er of Ludlow ; is also a member of the lo- 
cal Grange; he married, March 29, 191 1, 
Jeannette Florence Jones, of Bangor, 
Maine. 3. Isabelle Louise, born August 8, 
1892; is the lecturer of Springfield Po- 
mona Grange, Patrons of Husbandry ; she 
was graduated from high school, and is or- 
ganist in the church at Ludlow, and sang 
in the First Church chorus at Springfield 
for a period of three years. 



FLINT, John, 

Public Spirited Citizen. 

Many there are who will instantly recog- 
nize this name as that of one who was 
widely known as "the father of the Web- 
ster water department." For more than 
half a century Mr. Flint was a resident of 
Webster, and during the greater part of 
that long period was unceasingly active both 
as business man and citizen. When his 
death occurred, he was still in the field, 
fourscore years and upward having appar- 
ently abated but little of his energy. 

John Flint was born September 22, 1831, 
in Templeton, and was a son of John and 
Fannie (Holman) Flint. In 1862 he came 
to Webster, purchased the bakery of 
Holmes & Shumway, and successfully con- 
ducted the business until October, 1884, 
when he sold out to Frederick R. Childs. 
In the twenty years and more during which 
he had been the proprietor, Mr. Flint, by 
tireless industry and strict adherence to 
good business principles, had rendered the 
establishment extremely lucrative, and a 
large portion of his profits he later invest- 
ed in Webster real estate. Public spirit was 
ever one of Mr. Flint's dominant traits, and 
in 1876 he first became an office-holder, 
serving for three years as fire engineer, and 
for two years as constable. In 1877 he was 
elected assessor, an office which he re- 



256 






Xyyi^f 



THE R€Vf YORK 



^i>TO^, LENOX liTO 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tained until 1881. From 1882 to 1884 he 
served as selectman, and also filled the po- 
sition of overseer of the poor. He was 
president of the Webster & Dudley Street 
Railway, the first of its kind in Webster, 
until the road was absorbed by the Wor- 
cester & Webster. 

Identified as Mr. Flint was with numer- 
ous public interests, it was with the water 
works that he was specially associated and 
it was in their inception and development 
that his progressive spirit and willingness to 
take the initiative were most plainly mani- 
fested. When the water works were found- 
ed, in 1893, they were looked upon as an 
experiment, and it was mainly through his 
encouragement and guidance that the de- 
partment developed until at the present 
time (1917) it is regarded as the town's 
greatest asset. At the time of its organiza- 
tion, Mr. Flint became chairman of the 
Board of Water Commissioners and for 
twenty-four years he served continuously in 
this capacity, still holding the office at the 
time of his death. His sound business sense 
was of incalculable value in directing the 
transactions of the department, and it has 
been well said that the greatest monument 
to his memory is the solid foundation upon 
which he has placed it. 

Mr. Flint married (first) Mary Nugent, 
of Hubbardston, who died several years 
ago. He married (second) Mrs. Ella Hol- 
lis, who survives him. Always devotedly 
fond of his home, Mr. Flint, although so 
active in public aflfairs, led a life compara- 
tively retired. Especially was this true of 
his later years, when he seldom appeared on 
the streets, always, however, attending with 
regularity the meetings of the Board of 
W^ater Commissioners. 

On May 17, 1917, this veteran in the 
public service passed away, followed by the 
respect, admiration and gratitude of the en- 
tire community. Recognized by his home 
town as a benefactor, he was sincerely loved 



by a large circle of devoted friends. John 
Flint was a man who will be remembered, 
because his labors were not for his own 
day and generation alone. Those who come 
after him will reap, in increasing measure, 
the benefit of what he accomplished, and 
the record of his work will form part of the 
annals of his communitv. 



LYMAN, John Elliott, 

Agriculturist. 

John Elliott Lyman spent his entire life 
in South Hadley, Massachusetts, where he 
was always . highly respected and looked 
upon as a i-eady and capable servitor of his 
community, -He -held the most worthy ideals 
of life which gained for him the love of 
those who knew him either slightly or well. 

His grandfather was George Lyman» 
born in the old farhily homestead near the 
Hockanum ferry at Hadley, Massachusetts, 
December 13, 1792. He married Laura 
Wadsworth and to them were born seven 
children: Lorenzo W., born September 18, 
1820; Laura S., born November 19, 1823, 
died June 25, 1825 ; George Julius, born 
September 13, 1826; Laura S., born July 

6, 1828, died November, 1838; Warren, 
born October 19, 1830; David, born August 

7, 1835; and John, born April 17, 1822, 
was educated in the district schools near his 
home. He married Julia A., daughter of 
Hiram Smith, of South Hadley, who, for 
his skill as a navigator on the Connecticut 
river, when it was the only means of com- 
mercial intercourse between points along its 
tributaries and the ocean, was called King 
Hiram. The Smith family may be traced 
back from King Hiram through six genera- 
tions to its progenitor, Lieutenant Samuel 
Smith, who came to America from England 
in the middle of the seventeenth century, 
and down through Fred M. Smith, now res- 
ident of South Hadley Falls. Massachu- 
setts. After his marriage, John Lyman 



MASS.— 7— 17. 



257 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



moved to the southern part of Amherst, 
where he lived on a farm until his death, 
which occurred at the age of thirty-seven 
years. Then his wife, Julia (Smith) Ly- 
man, moved to her father's house in South 
Hadley, taking with her the two children: 
Mary Isabelle, born 1853; and Nellie Em- 
ily, both of whom are now deceased. It 
was here on the Hiram Smith farm that 
her third child, John Elliott Lyman, was 
born July i, 1859, only a few months after 
his father's death. 

He was educated in the public schools of 
South Hadley and in the high school there. 
Upon leaving school he devoted his entire 
time to the work on the farm of his grand- 
father. When the latter died, John E. Ly- 
man succeeded to the property, one of the 
most beautiful and best managed farms in 
that district, and from this time he carried 
on the work of the farm, making improve- 
ments and additions which kept the place 
in an up-to-date condition. He made a 
specialty of dairying of a very high grade, 
keeping for this purpose a very fine herd 
of Holstein cow^ and a number of thor- 
oughbred Guernseys. He did not produce 
butter but sold milk to a select trade for 
many years, supplying the Holyoke Baby 
Feeding Association, and a great deal of 
his energy was devoted to making his farm 
one of the best in the production of milk. 
In politics, he was a Republican and took 
a keen and active interest in matters per- 
taining to the welfare of South Hadley, 
serving as selectman two different terms, 
1902-03-04, and in 1911-12 as member of 
the State Legislature, during the latter 
year, 191 2, being chairman of the commit- 
tee on agriculture. He was a member of 
lona Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; trustee of the Gaylord Library ; 
.and member of the Evergreen Cemetery As- 
sociation. He also belonged to the Frank- 
lin Harvest Club, a limited organization of 
dairymen, which had only one or two mem- 



bers in each town. He was active in the 
affairs of the Congregational church. In 
politics he was a Republican. 

On September 3, 1885, John Elliott Ly- 
man was married to Emily Elizabeth Brock- 
way, born in Chester, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 27, 1863. Her father, Wilson Bar- 
nard Brockway, a farmer of Southampton, 
Massachusetts, and later of South Hadley 
Center, was born in Southampton, Septem- 
ber 14, 1824, and died at South Hadley Cen- 
ter, September i, 1909. Her mother, Susan 
(Taylor) Brockway, was born June 19, 
1831, at Huntington, Massachusetts, and 
died March 8, 1898. John Elliott and Em- 
ily Elizabeth Lyman were the parents of 
two sons. Hiram Smith Lyman, born July 
27, 1898, at South Hadley, went to school 
there, but during his third year at high 
school the illness of his father made it 
necessary for him to discontinue his stud- 
ies and take charge of the farm. While 
in school he was a good student, being at 
the time he left at the head of his class in 
scholarship as well as its president. Since 
his father's death he has taken over the 
management of the farm entirely, and with 
the aid of some of his father's old em- 
ployees is making a success in the dairy 
business and stock raising. The second 
son, Elliott Brockway Lyman, born July 5, 
1903, is now a student in South Hadley 
High School. 



GROSSMAN, Josiah, 

Real Estate Investor. 

While educational advantages are by no 
means to be despised, and while they tend to 
render smooth and pleasant the path of a 
business man so equipped for his life 
work, there are some men so generously 
endowed by nature that they rise superior 
to many difficulties to which those less gift- 
ed easily succumb. Josiah Grossman, of 
Lynn, Massachusetts, well known as an ex- 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ceptionally fine business man, is one of those 
who had many difficulties to contend with, 
and whose courage and other fine quaHties 
appeared to grow with the struggles in 
which they were engaged, and in which 
their true worth ultimately met with well 
merited success. It has been universally 
conceded that the busiest men are those 
who always find time to spare in order to 
assume additional duties, and apparently 
they are able to accomplish wonders. The 
very simple principle lying at the root of 
this state of aflfairs is systematic and me- 
thodical work. Every moment of time is 
given its full valuation, and every phase 
of life is appreciated in proportion to the 
useful work which has been faithfully per- 
formed. A fine exponent of this admirable 
class of men is Josiah Grossman. 

Josiah Grossman, son of Philip and Lena 
Grossman, was born in Kiev, Russia, where 
he attended the schools until he was thir- 
teen years of age, and this was the only 
opportunity that offered itself in his life 
to obtain training in an educational insti- 
tution of any kind. At this early age he 
came to America and at once entered upon 
a business career which has since become 
noteworthy. His first venture was as a 
peddler, and for a period of ten years he 
went about carrying his bundle of dry 
goods. Profits were small at first, but his 
sound business sense combined with his nev- 
er varying courtesy and his progressive 
methods enabled him to amass a sufficient 
capital to warrant his engaging in the 
real estate business, as a builder as well 
as a buyer and seller of houses. He has 
always been a producer and never a des- 
troyer, and has erected many fine apart- 
ment houses in the Back Bay District of 
Boston. He commenced his real estate op- 
erations in Lynn, Massachusetts, in 1905, 
and has always conducted his business in- 
dependently. His operations have run into 
large figures, as he has already handled 



one and a half millions of dollars worth 
of property, selling one million dollars 
worth, and retaining a half million dollars 
worth. Included in the last mentioned por- 
tion is the magnificent Grossman office 
building, which he holds as a permanent 
investment. Among the buildings he has 
erected in Lynn are : The Longfellow, 
Gladstone, Whittier and Essex Castle ; Saga- 
more Hall ; Elliot Hall ; Lincoln Hall ; 
Jefferson Hall; Madison Hall; The Bilt- 
more. No. 135 Ocean street, and Brookledge 
Hall, named after the street in Boston 
where he maintains his winter home. His 
summer home is "The White House," Lynn 
Shore Drive. He organized and owns the 
Grossman Realty Trust, which erected the 
Grossman Building. He is a member of the 
Lynn Chamber of Commerce ; the Massa- 
chusetts Real Estate Exchange ; Aberdour 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Bos- 
ton ; Lynn Lodge, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks ; and the Park Club 
of Lynn. 

Mr. Grossman married, February 21, 
1899, Rose Nichols, a daughter of Samuel 
Nichols, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
they have one daughter, Alma G. 

Mr. Grossman is a great lover of outdoor 
sports and exercises. He is a golf enthusi- 
ast, and canters his thoroughbred every 
morning. His success has been the result 
of his love for his work, and the efficient 
manner in which he has attended to even 
the smallest detail; his absolute honesty 
and square dealing ; and his willingness to 
demonstrate that these methods are the only 
infallible ones to business success. He has 
shown remarkable and consummate judg- 
ment in locating his properties. He is lib- 
eral in his mode of living as well as in his 
business affairs, demanding the best and 
giving the best. A careful and discriminat- 
ing buyer of materials, he is able to pro- 
duce and build at a minimum cost and a 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



maximum of excellence, consequently is al- 
ways able to show the capitalist a good in- 
vestment. 



POWERS, Lyman Milton, 

Retired from Active Pursuits. 

Lyman Milton Powers, now retired, who 
resides in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
is a son of Stephen Milton Powers, who was 
born in Deerfield, Massachusetts. Stephen 
Milton Powers' early manhood was spent 
in that town, the family moving to Gill, 
Massachusetts, in 1856, and to Amherst in 
1859. Stephen M. Powers was a carpen- 
ter by trade, which he followed in both 
Deerfield and Amherst, dying in 1858, aged 
forty-three. He married Mary Ann Allen, 
born in Vermont, died in Gill, Massachu- 
setts, at the age of thirty-seven. They were 
the parents of four sons and two daugh- 
ters: Mary L., married (first) Orin Eaton, 
(second) Walter L. Snow, and resided most 
of her life in Amherst, but died in Green- 
field, Massachusetts ; Marilla L., married 
Lucius Dickinson, and after a lifetime spent 
in Amherst, Massachusetts, died in Flori- 
da; Lyman Milton, of further mention; 
Henry Leroy, died in Colorado, unmarried ; 
Charles B., married Emma French, and died 
in Florida; Francis H., died in New York 
State. 

Lyman Milton Powers, the only living 
child of Stephen Milton and Mary Ann 
(Allen) Powers, was born in Deerfield, 
Massachusetts, August 15, 1848, and there 
lived until eighty years of age, when the 
family moved to Gill and three years later 
to Amherst, Massachusetts. He attended 
school in Deerfield and Gill, completing his 
studies in the Amherst public schools, re- 
siding in that city until 1870, two years af- 
ter the death of his father. He then moved 
to Springfield, where he was employed as 
a paper maker for thirty-five years before 
retiring to a well earned life of ease, al- 



though he has since been engaged to some 
extent in real estate dealings. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and both he and his 
wife are members of the Congregational 
church. 

Mr. Powers married, October 18, 1882, 
Cora F. Knowlton, born in Wilbraham, 
Massachusetts, in 1862, daughter of Phineas 
and Mary Curtis (Carew) Knowlton, of 
Wilbraham. Phineas Knowlton, a farmer, 
kept the first store in Wilbraham for many 
years, and later removed to Springfield, 
where he died April 25, 1906; his wife died 
August 19, 1899, aged seventy-two years. 
They were the parents of three daughters : 
Laura Carew, born November 13, 1859, 
died July 26, 1891, unmarried; Cora F., 
born September 8, 1862, married Lyman 
Milton Powers, and resides in Springfield ; 
Lizzie, born February 10, 1864, married 
Albert Ormsbee, and resides in Springfield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Powers are the parents of 
two sons and two daughters : Leroy K., 
born in 1881, married Charlotte Sloane; 
Ruth Madeline, born in 1894, resides at 
home ; Laura Carew, died aged nine years ; 
Roger Milton, at home. The family home 
is No. 816 Westfield street. West Spring- 
field. 



HADLEY, Edward M., 

Successful Business Man. 

A fine example of the self-made man 
starting from a small beginning and be- 
coming one of the successful lumber oper- 
ators of his day, Mr. Hadley's Hfe is an 
inspiration to the young man who is bat- 
tling against adverse circumstances. He 
was born in Sterling, Massachusetts, but 
at the age of seven years his parents moved 
to Princeton, Massachusetts, and there he 
resided and had his business headquarters 
until about 1900, when he moved to W^or- 
cester, his home until his death, November 
27, 1910. 



260 




^.^^.H~^^-^^^ 




THE HEW YORK | 
[PUBLIC LIBRARVJ 

f 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was educated in Princeton public 
schools and Wilbraham Academy, begin- 
ning his long connections with the lumber 
business immediately after leaving school. 
He began in a lowly position, but soon ad- 
vanced and in time reached the topmost 
rounds of the ladder of success. He con- 
tinued a lumber operator until his removal 
to Worcester in 1900. During many of the 
later years of his life he was associated 
with W, C. Davis, the bonds of friendship 
between these men being strengthened by 
their business association in the affairs of 
the Baker Box Company, of Worcester, a 
corporation of which Mr. Hadley was direc- 
tor and superintendent. He was also inter- 
ested in the C. N. Chapin Company, a re- 
tail provision house on Pleasant street, 
Worcester. He was a striking example of 
the straightforward, honorable man of af- 
fairs, democratic, genial and unchanging in 
disposition, modest concerning his own mer- 
its, concealing beneath an unassuming ex- 
terior a kindliness of heart, a love for his 
fellow-man and a sense of honor and justice 
that made men his friends and gained him 
their respect. With his employees he was 
on friendly terms, their good will being 
gained by his fairness and his timely, gen- 
erous aid when in trouble. His own family 
never knew the extent of his charities and 
only since his death are they becoming 
known. He was a member of the Worces- 
ter Board of Trade, and the Automobile 
Club of Worcester. 

Mr. Hadley married, in 1900, Laura E. 
Urban, of Westminster, Massachusetts, 
who survives him. 



BEATTIE, James, 

Prosperous Dairy Farmer. 

For several generations this ancient 
Scotch family has been connected with tex- 
tile industries in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, 
the family seat being at Gordon's Mills. 

261 



They were men of worth and steady hab- 
its, strict in their Presbyterianism, upright 
and honorable. James Beattie, now a resi- 
dent of South Hadley Falls, Massachusetts, 
is a grandson of John Beattie, and a son of 
John Beattie, both of whom were associ- 
ated with the industries mentioned before, 
living and dying in their native Scotland. 
John Beattie, the grandsire, was employed 
at the Grandholm Mills, Woodside, Aber- 
deenshire, Scotland, and after a long and 
useful life died at Gordon's Mills in the 
same shire in 1893, at the great age of 
ninety years. He married Margaret Deans, 
who died about 1881, aged seventy-five 
years. Their children, all born at Gordon's 
Mills, were : John, of further mention ; 
James, died at Gordon's Mills in 1906; 
Hugh, died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ; 
William, yet living in Aberdeenshire ; Mar- 
garet, died in Scotland, unmarried. 

John (2) Beattie, son of John and Mar- 
garet (Deans) Beattie, born 1843, spent his 
youth and early manhood at Gordon's Mills, 
engaged in farming. About 1865 he began 
work in the paper mill of A. Pirie & Sons 
at Stony Wood, Aberdeenshire, and con- 
tinued in the paper making business until 
his death. He married, 1865, Margaret 
Dann, daughter of John Dann, born in Kin- 
cardin, O'Neil, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in 
1844, and is yet residing at Stony Wood 
in her native land. John and Margaret 
(Dann) Beattie have ten children: Joan, 
born in October, 1867, married John Moir, 
and resides in South Hadley Falls ; James, 
of further mention ; William, died in Scot- 
land ; Elizabeth, married and lives in Scot- 
land ; Alexander, married in Scotland Mary 
Philipps, came to the United States and 
resides at Fairview, South Hadley Falls ; 
Margaret, married George Davidson, and 
resides in Virginia ; . Mary Ann, married 
and resides in BuflFalo, New York ; Wil- 
helmina, married and resides in Aberdeen- 
shire ; George, married and resides in Min- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



neapolis, Minnesota ; Hugh, unmarried, 
resides in Detroit, Michigan. 

James Beattie, eldest son of John (2) 
and Margaret (Dann) Beattie, was born at 
Woodside, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, No- 
vember 2, 1868. He attended the common 
schools until ten years of age, then began 
working under the Scotch system, one day 
in school, one day in the mill. After a few 
years of this, he entered the mill in which 
his father was working and became an ex- 
pert worker in his department of the paper 
making mills of A. Pirie & Son. In 1888 
he decided to come to the United States, 
and engaging passage on the State Line 
Steamship, "State of Georgia," crossed the 
ocean, arriving in New York City, Septem- 
ber 4, 1888. He had friends in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, whom he joined, and obtain- 
ing a position in the paper mill, there passed 
the following twenty years. He made Hol- 
yoke his home until March 17, 1899, when 
he moved to South Hadley Falls. He held 
his position in the paper mill nine years af- 
ter that date, retiring in 1908, when 
he changed his indoor life for an 
outdoor occupation. He purchased the 
milk business of Thomas Kirley, of South 
Hadley Falls, and from the small 
farm he owns just over the South Hadley 
Falls line in Chicopee conducts a profitable 
business, collecting milk from select private 
dairies and supplying a select family trade 
with the best and purest dairy products. He 
keeps no cows of his own, but obtains for 
his trade the best among the dairy farmers 
of the section. Mr. Beattie affiliates with 
the Republican party and has ever been loy- 
al in its support. He is an active member 
of the Caledonian Club ; is a member of St. 
John's Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of Aberdeen, Scotland ; Chicopee Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias, and both he and his 
wife are members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

Mr. Beattie married at Holyoke, Massa- 



chusetts, August 23, 1892, Alexandrina Im- 
ray, born in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, No- 
vember 15, 1870. Children: James, born 
August 23, 1894, unmarried, resides at 
home ; John, born May 24, 1897, died aged 
seven years ; Douglas, born October 8, 
1899; William, born September 11, 1903. 



DECELLES, Ferdinand Magloire, 

Representative Citizen. 

Ferdinand Magloire Decelles, carpenter 
and real estate owner of Holyoke, is a 
grandson of Michael Decelles, who died in 
Canada, in 191 2, aged eighty-two years. He 
was born in Canada, and in early manhood 
came to the United States, but later re- 
turned to his native land and there died. 
When young he learned the carpenter's 
trade, but later became a farmer and in that 
occupation passed most of his years. He 
married and had children : Hector, Ar- 
midore, Demose, Michael, of further men- 
tion ; Arthur, Clara, a child who died 
young. 

Michael (2) Decelles was born in St. 
Armours, Province of Quebec, Canada, and 
is now (191 7) living in Canada, aged six- 
ty-seven years. He learned the carpenter's 
trade under the capable instruction of his 
father in Canada, and there followed his 
trade until 1897. He then came to Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, and until his retire- 
ment in 191 3 worked as a cabinet-maker. In 
that year he returned to his native Canada, 
and now is residing at the farm upon which 
his father lived until his death. Michael 
(2) Decelles married Valoni Benoit, who 
died in 1882, leaving children: Ferdinand 
M., of further mention ; Phyllis, Owen, 
Erwin, Orrin, Raoul. 

Ferdinand M. Decelles, eldest son of 
Michael (2) and Valoni (Benoit) Decel- 
les, was born at St. Armours, Province of 
Quebec, Canada, May 10, 1875. He attend- 
ed the public schools until fourteen years of 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



age, then spent two years in a Montreal 
mill, coming thence to the United States, 
in 1890, and locating in Holyoke. Here he 
attended night school and was employed in 
different mills, then was with the Merrick 
Thread Company, in their mill, finally leav- 
ing mill for carpenter work. He became 
an expert wood worker, and for the past 
sixteen years has followed his trade in 
Holyoke, being employed by the leading 
contractors of the city. He has invested 
his savings in Holyoke real estate, and is 
the owner of one twenty-four family apart- 
ment house at No. 47-57 Bowers street, al- 
so a three tenement house and store. He 
attends to the renting and upkeep of his 
property, and has won a competence 
through the labor of his hands. 

Mr. Decelles married, October 26, 1899, 
Alma Bail, born in Abbottsford, Quebec, 
Canada, daughter of Pierre and Victoria 
(Marinier) Bail. Mr. and Mrs. Decelles 
are the parents of a son, Fernand, born 
November 28, 191 1, and of a daughter. 
Marguerite, born April 11, 191 5. 



FAFARD, Oscar, 

Representative Citizen. 

The Fafards came from France to Cana- 
da and from St. Cuthbert, in the Province 
of Quebec, to Holyoke, Massachusetts. Os- 
car Fafard, of Holyoke, is a son of Charles 
Fafard, and a grandson of Pierre Fafard. 
the latter dying in Canada, in 1858, aged 
fifty-four years. He married Marie Ma- 
negre, they the parents of eleven children : 
Pierre, Charles, of whom further : Denis, 
Felix, Julia, Margaret, Louise, Philomene, 
Lena, Josephine, Mathilda. 

Charles Fafard was born in St. Cuthbert, 
Quebec, Canada, April 8. 1840, and died 
April, 191 6, in his native province. All his 
life until 1897 he was a Canadian farmer, 
but in that year he was persuaded to come 
to Holyoke. He remained here about 



eighteen months, employed in a mill, then 
returned to his farm in Canada and there 
resided until his death. He was a success- 
ful man, his farm, largely devoted to stock 
raising, being well cultivated and valuable. 
He was a Conservative in politics, and a 
man highly respected in his community. 
Charles Fafard married Louise Bourgeault, 
born in St. Cuthbert, Canada, in 1845, "ow 
(1917) residing in Holyoke, with her son. 
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Fafard were the 
parents of : Charles, Damien, Oscar, of 
whom further; Mary Louise, Annie, Mar- 
tin, Matilda, Amelie, Amanda, and two chil- 
dren who died young. 

Oscar Fafard, son of Charles and Louise 
(Bourgeault) Fafard, was born in St. Cuth- 
bert, Quebec, Canada, September 2"], 1880. 
He was educated in St. Cuthbert schools, 
and until seventeen years of age was his 
father's farm assistant. This was in the 
year 1897, the year Charles Fafard came to 
the United States, with his family, but 
eighteen months later he returned to his 
farm in Canada. Oscar Fafard, however, 
did not return to Canada with his father, 
but for seven years, 1897-1904, continued in 
the employ of the Springfield Blanket Com- 
pany at their Holyoke mill. Following that 
employ, he was for a short time in a silk 
mill, then formed a connection with the 
Hampden Glazed Paper & Card Company, 
which has continued for thirteen years, he 
now being second hand in the pasting ma- 
chine department. In 191 2 he bought the 
sixteen family apartment house on Chest- 
nut street, in which he has his own home. and 
which he cares for as both owner and 
agent. He takes an interest in public af- 
fairs, is a member of the Independent Club 
of Ward 2, the Artisans Society, and the 
Order of Foresters. 

Mr. Fafard married (first) June 22, 
1908, Louise Caideux, who died February 
12, 191 1 ; she was the mother of two daugh- 
ters: Eva, born June 19, 1909, and Aman- 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



de, born December 30, 1910. He married 
(second) ]\Iay 5, 1913, Anne Durand, born 
in Lisbon, Province of Quebec, Canada, 
daughter of Joseph and Noemie (Bour- 
geault) Durand, the last named being a sis- 
ter of Louise Bourgeault, wife of Charles 
Fafard, and mother of Oscar Fafard. By 
this marriage Mr. Fafard has children : 
Cecelia, born August 2"], 1914; Rachel, Au- 
gust 20, 1915; Blanche, November 4, 1916. 



BLACKWOOD, George A., 

Business Man. 

In the prime of a splendid life of busy ac- 
tivity, George A. Blackwood, of Worcester, 
Massachusetts, ended his career, April 24, 
1916, having barely attained his fiftieth 
year. By virtue of his native ability and 
energy, he had risen to a place of promin- 
ence in the business world, and at the time 
of his death and for a number of years 
previous was secretary and assistant treas- 
urer of the Massachusetts Corset Company, 
of Worcester. He held the supreme con- 
fidence of his business associates, was a 
popular employer and worked in utmost 
harmony with his employees. His person- 
ality attracted men and his sterling attri- 
butes of character held them ever as 
friends. 

George A. Blackwood was born in Lan- 
caster, Massachusetts, March 9, 1866. He 
was educated in the public schools of Clin- 
ton, Massachusetts, and at Hinman's Busi- 
ness College, Worcester, Massachusetts, 
completing his studies with graduation 
from the latter institution. He then en- 
tered the employ of E. H. Stark & Com- 
pany, at one time one of the largest and 
most successful boot and shoe concerns in 
the country, and served that company in the 
capacity of bookkeeper for ten years. His 
next employment was with the Royal Wor- 
cester Company, which he served four years 
as accountant, after which he occupied a re- 



sponsible position as chief accountant with 
the Wright W^ire Company, one of the larg- 
est wire concerns in the city of Worces- 
ter. The Massachusetts Corset Company, 
of which Mr. Blackwood was secretary and 
assistant treasurer from its beginning to his 
death, began its business career, February 
13, 1907, by the purchase of the plant, bus- 
iness and good will of the United States 
Corset Company, located at No. 15 Union 
street, Worcester. The latter company was 
formerly known as the Globe Corset Com- 
pany, and was founded by the late John 
E. Lancaster, who was its president and 
active business head until his death. The 
Massachusetts Corset Company started out 
under an entirely new management, all of 
the officers connected with the United States 
Corset Company having retired from the 
business with the formation of the new 
company. The Massachusetts Corset Com- 
pany was capitalized at $300,000 and was 
officered as follows : President, Richard H. 
Hammond, of the Hammond Reed Com- 
pany ; treasurer, George T. Dewey ; vice- 
president and general manager, Herbert L. 
Adams ; secretary and assistant treasurer, 
George A. Blackwood ; superintendent, Oli- 
ver G. Nutting ; the directors of the com- 
pany were the above named officers and A. 
W. GifTord, Walker Armington and Wil- 
liam Woodward. In his capacity of sec- 
retary and assistant treasurer, I^Ir. Black- 
wood displayed his peculiar talents to the 
best advantage, having no superior in the 
systematizing of accounts, credits and bal- 
ances. Mr. Blackwood took a keen interest 
in public affairs, was a Republican in poli- 
tics, active in municipal campaigns as a cit- 
izen, not an office seeker. He was a valued 
member of the Worcester Chamber of Com- 
merce and Worcester Credit Men's Asso- 
ciation, and a member of Central Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
Athelstane Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. 



264 



THE «EVv^ YORK 
[PUBLIC UBRARyl 

i 
I 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Blackwood married, June 26, 1889, 
Edith Persis Carter, who survives him, also 
a son, Roland F. As a man and as a citi- 
zen, Mr. Blackwood displayed a personal 
worth and an excellence of character that 
not only commanded the respect of those 
with whom he associated, but won him the 
warmest personal admiration and the 
staunchest friendships. Aside from his bus- 
iness affairs, Mr. Blackwood found time 
for the championship of many progressive 
public measures, recognized the opportuni- 
ties for reform, advancement and improve- 
ment, and labored effectively and earnestly 
for the general good. His death deprived 
his community of an enterprising, energetic 
and public-spirited man. 



GOODYEAR, Austin Bryant, 

Civil Engineer. 

On the Goodyear homestead in Holyoke, 
four generations of the family have resided, 
and there Austin Bryant Goodyear was born, 
the birthplace of his father, Austin Good- 
year, and the homestead the property of his 
grandfather and his great-grandfather. His 
father, Austin Goodyear, was almost the 
last of an interesting group of men who 
were born in the locality of Holyoke before 
that city was even thought of, men whose 
ancestors scarcely two generations back 
were pioneer settlers of that region. Home- 
stead avenue, so named in recognition of 
its past history and character, was the im- 
portant street of the community known as 
Ireland Parish, which was the forerunner 
of Holyoke. It was in this street that Aus- 
tin Goodyear and his son, Austin Bryant, 
were born, and in the house now standing 
the father passed most of his life and the 
son the greater part of his. It was in this 
section that Austin Goodyear was employed 
by his cousin, Charles Goodyear, the invent- 
or of the art of vulcanizing rubber and mak- 
ing it a marketable commodity. Austin 

265 



Goodyear was associated with Charles 
Goodyear in his experiments and inventions 
and was sent to Central America to investi- 
gate the source of the rubber supply and its 
extent. But Austin Goodyear was during 
most of his long life engaged in farming, 
beginning with a small tract he had bought 
and which he improved and developed. 

Austin Bryant is of the eighth generation 
of the family founded by Stephen Good- 
year, deputy governor of New Haven Col- 
ony, 1643-58. The line of descent is through 
Deputy-Governor Goodyear's son, Lieu- 
tenant John Goodyear, born in New Haven, 
in 1650, and his wife, Abigail (Gibbard) 
Goodyear ; their son. Lieutenant Theophil- 
us Goodyear, born 1698, died 1757, and his 
wife, Esther (Sperry) Goodyear; their 
son, Theophilus (2) Goodyear, born 1731, 
a soldier of the Revolution, and his wife, 
Sarah (Munson) Goodyear ; their son, Aus- 
tin Goodyear, born 1759; moved from 
Hampden, Connecticut, to West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and his wife, Sarah 
(Pardee) Goodyear; their son, Lyman 
Goodyear, born September 23, 1792, died 
January 7, 1874, and his wife, Esther (Hu- 
miston) Goodyear; their son, Austin (2) 
Goodyear, and his wife, Anna Judson 
(Chapin) Goodyear; their son, Austin 
Bryant Goodyear, of the eighth generation. 

Lyman Goodyear (1792- 1874), of the sec- 
ond generation in the West Springfield sec- 
tion, was married, in 1816, to Esther Hu- 
miston, daughter of Caleb and Sarah ( Bish- 
op) Humiston. They were the parents of 
three daughters and a son : Sarah, born 
September 5, 1817, married James R. 
Boise ; Esther, born October 20, 1822, died 
1848; Austin, of further mention; Susan- 
na, born November 27, 1832. died Decem- 
ber 2, 1883. 

Austin Goodyear was born on the farm 
in what is now Homestead avenue, Hol- 
yoke, (bought by his grandfather and 
owned by his father), March 31, 1828, died 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



March 17, 19 10. When thirteen years of 
age he was sent to Suffield Literary Institute, 
remained there two years, then to Provi- 
dence, and under the tutoring of Professor 
James R. Boise, a most scholarly man, he 
prepared to enter Brown University. But 
on account of sickness he left college at the 
close of his sophomore year. He then en- 
tered the employ of his cousin, Charles 
Goodyear, the inventor and creator of the 
vast rubber industry, remaining for five 
years, and during that period made a journ- 
ey to Central America. During that most 
interesting journey he sailed up the Nica- 
ragua river with Commodore Vanderbilt, 
visited the Mosquito King, and returned 
to New York with the Commodore. Soon 
afterwards he left his cousin's employ and 
began his connection with agriculture which 
was continued until he retired. The land 
he owned was a particular source of pleas- 
ure to him, and he took pride in improving 
the property, adding to its area, and pass- 
ing it to his sons as he received it from 
his father, only greater in extent and better 
improved. During his college years he 
joined the Baptist church and ever after- 
ward was a member of that church, and for 
many years was deacon of the First Baptist 
Church of Elmwood. Austin Goodyear 
married, in 1855, Anna Judson Chapin, born 
in Chicopee, Massachusetts, January 9, 
1835, died April 4, 1914, surviving her hus- 
band four years. She was a daughter of 
Bryant and Lucinda (Jones) Chapin. Mr. 
and Mrs. Goodyear were the parents of a 
daughter and two sons : Sarah Lovira, born 
July 13, 1859, died December 6, 1892; 
George Lyman, born January 7, 1862, now 
residing at the Goodyear homestead ; Aus- 
tin Bryant, of further mention. 

Austin Bryant Goodyear was born at the 
homestead in Holyoke, June 22, 1875. He 
was educated in the city schools, completing 
his studies in the high school. For ten 
years he aided in the cultivation and man- 



agement of the farm, then began the study 
of civil engineering, and in 1905 entered the 
employ of the Holyoke Water Power Com- 
pany, and he has been connected with the 
engineering department of that corporation 
until the present (1917). He is a member 
of Mt. Tom Golf and Holyoke Canoe clubs, 
William Whiting Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; and of the Baptist church. 

Mr. Goodyear married, June 27, 1900, 
Florida Morse Winchester, of Holyoke, 
daughter of Samuel B. and Emily Adelle 
(Morse) Winchester. They are the parents 
of Adelle Winchester Goodyear, born Feb- 
ruary 5, 1903. 

(The Winchester Line). 

The Winchesters are an old English fam- 
ily, and for many generations prior to the 
seventeenth century were seated in Kent, 
from whence the American ancestor of the 
branch herein considered came to New 
England. 

John Winchester, "one of the founders 
of New England," and who bears the dis- 
tinction of being the ancestor of all who 
bear the name claiming early Colonial an- 
cestry on this side of the Atlantic Ocean, 
sailed from London in the "Elizabeth," in 
April, 1635, being then nineteen years of 
age. In 1636 he settled in Hingham, in the 
Plymouth Colony, with his fellow voyagers, 
the Bates family. He joined the first 
church in Boston in 1636, was made free- 
man in 1637, and admitted a member of the 
Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company 
in 1638. Soon after 1650 he left Hingham 
and went to Muddy River, that part of Bos- 
ton which now is Brookline, where he was 
surveyor in 1664-9-70, constable in 1672- 
73, and tythingman in 1680. He seems to 
have prospered at Muddy River, and at his 
death, April 25, 1694, left an estate w^hich 
inventoried three hundred and seven 
pounds, ten shillings, which was inherited 
by his sons, John and Josiah. John Win- 



266 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Chester married, October 15, 1638, Hannah 
SeaHs, daughter of Deacon Richard SeaHs, 
of Scituate. She died September 18, 1697, 
leaving four children : John, Mary, Jona- 
than, and Josiah. 

John (2) Winchester, son of John (i) 
and Hannah (Sealis) Winchester, was bap- 
tized in 1644, and died in Brookline, Feb- 
ruary I, 1 718. He was a prominent figure 
in the early history of Brookline, and by oc- 
cupation was a mason and farmer. He was 
the first representative from Brookline to 
the Colonial Assembly of Massachusetts 
Bay, 1709-10, served as constable, commis- 
sioner, selectman, and in 171 7 was one of 
the founders of the Brookline church. Dur- 
ing King Philip's War he was a soldier and 
is mentioned as having been stationed at 
the garrison of Punkapauqua (now Can- 
ton), April 24, 1676. He died in 17 18, leav- 
ing an estate which inventoried one thou- 
sand and six pounds, nine shillings. He 

married (first) Hannah ; (second) 

Joanna Stevens, born May 28, 1652. Their 
children were : Joanna, John, Mary, Ben- 
jamin, Ebenezer, Henry, Stephen, Mehit- 
able, Jonathan. 

Benjamin Winchester, son of John (2) 
and Hannah Winchester, bought land in 
Framingham, in 1727, where his brother 
Ebenezer had preceded him by about ten 
years ; and afterward lived in Grafton, 
Massachusetts, mentioned as one of the 
"alarm soldiers during the French and In- 
dian War." 

Joseph Winchester, son of Benjamin 
Winchester, lived in Grafton, Massachu- 
setts, until about 1772, when he removed 
with his family to Marlboro, Vermont, 
where he spent the remainder of his days. 
He married, April 15, 1755, Lucy 
Harrington, born in Grafton, May 13, 1740, 
daughter of Isaac and Miriam Harrington, 
of Grafton, and their children born in that 
town were as follows : Anna, Hulda, Ben- 



jamin, Asa, Joseph, Joshua, Antipas, Lu- 
ther. 

Luther Winchester, son of Joseph and 
Lucy (Harrington) Winchester, was bom 
in Marlboro, Vermont, August 17, 1773, 
and for many years was one of the foremost 
men of that town. He was a farmer, 
thrifty and energetic, and through his own 
efforts accumulated a fortune. He married, 
December 19, 1793, Elizabeth Warren, who 
died in Marlboro, October 10, 1853, aged 
seventy-four years. He died January 30, 
1853. Children, all born in Marlboro: An- 
tipas, Clark, Betsey, William Ward, Han- 
nah, Luther, Isaac Harrington, John Quin- 
cy Adams. 

Antipas Winchester, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Warren) Winchester, was born 
in Marlboro, Vermont, October 6, 1794, 
died May 19, 1871. Like his father he was 
a substantial farmer and a prominent man 
in the town. He married, Janaury 2, 1822, 
Lois Kelsey. Children : Williston, Eunice, 
Reuben, Louis, Betsey, Asa, and a daugh- 
ter, Anthony, Clark, Polly, Ann, a daugh- 
ter, Sarah A. 

Reuben Winchester, son of Antipas and 
Lois (Kelsey) Winchester, was born in 
Marlboro, Vermont, January 7, 1825, died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, May 26, 1906. 
Until the age of twenty he lived at the home 
farm and gave all his earnings to his father. 
The principles of honesty and personal in- 
tegrity instilled into his mind when a boy he 
never forgot, practicing them to the last day 
of his life. He started out in life by deal- 
ing in cattle, later added produce to his bus- 
iness interests and became one of the most 
extensive dealers in that part of the State. 
At various times he owned many yoke of 
cattle and often said that he had bought and 
sold more than five hundred yoke of cattle, 
oxen and steers. He was an intelligent and 
progressive man, and on questions of local 
and general interest he was considered a 
standard authority. He was a man of the 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



highest integrity and a firm beHever in the 
"square deal." His business life was re- 
warded with substantial success and his suc- 
cess was deserved. In politics a strong Dem- 
ocrat, he enjoyed the confidence of the peo- 
ple of his town without distinction of party, 
and he was elected to the State Legislature 
with Republican votes. In 1865 Mr. Winches- 
ter removed from Marlboro to West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, and purchased a farm 
in that town, paying for the same in cash. 
He married, February 19, 1850, Hannah K. 
Brown. Children: Samuel B., of further 
mention ; Reuben Clark, born November 
10, 1857, married Mary A. Cole, they the 
parents of Austina Hannan, married Hen- 
ry C. Wainock ; Ralph Cole, died aged 
fourteen years ; William L., born October 
23, 1865, dis*^ July I4> 1903- married, June 
6, 1895, Addie E. Stockwell, they the par- 
ents of Miriam Stockwell, born March 31, 
1896, and Reuben Stockwell, born Febru- 
ary 26, 1902. 

Samuel B. Winchester, son of Reuben 
and Hannah K. (Brown) Winchester, was 
born in Marlboro, Vermont, October 2, 
1852, died February 26, 1906. He located 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1865, 
there remaining four years, then moving 
to Holyoke. He at once entered high school, 
whence he was graduated class of 1872, and 
began business life with Thomas W. Mann, 
a well known architect and civil engineer. 
He was also in the employ of Merrick & 
Company, and a little later moved to 
Springfield, Massachusetts. From there he 
went to Three Rivers, in the employ of 
Ruggles Brothers, photographers, thence to 
Worcester, where he opened a photograph 
gallery under his own name. In 1884 he 
returned to Holyoke and became superin- 
tendent of the lighting plant just put in op- 
eration by the Holyoke Water Power Com- 
pany. The new plant was built up to a large 
and successful condition by Mr. Winchester, 
and he remained its superintendent until 



1902, highly esteemed by his employees and 
business associates, his sterling integrity 
and sound, sensible opinions attracting 
them. He was a member of the Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows and of the Bay 
State Club. Mr. Winchester married, July 
22, 1875, Emily Adelle Morse, of Spring- 
field, daughter of A. T. Morse. They were 
the parents of two daughters : Florence E., 
born June 21, 1876, died in infancy; Flori- 
da Morse, born February 17, 1878, married 
January 27, 1900, xA.ustin Bryant Goodyear. 



ROCHETTE, Edward Charles, M. D., 

Prominent Physician. 

Dr. Edward C. Rochette, one of the most 
successful physicians of Worcester, has con- 
siderable natural ability, but is withal a 
close student and believes thoroughly in the 
maxim that ''there is no excellence without 
labor." His devotion to the duties of his 
profession, therefore, combined with a com- 
prehensive understanding of the principles 
of the science of medicine, has made him a 
most able practitioner, whose prominence 
is well deserved. 

Dr. Edward C. Rochette was born in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, October 29, 
1879, a son of Joseph and Melvina (Phil- 
lips) Rochette, grandson of Charles Roch- 
ette, who lived and died at Chambly in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, and of David 
and Eliza Phillips, residents of Chazy, New 
York. Joseph Rochette was born in Cham- 
bly, Province of Quebec, Canada, about the 
year 1851, and for four decades was a cab- 
inet maker in an organ factory. He came 
to the United States in company with an 
elder brother, Edward Rochette, who was 
also a cabinet maker, and they located in 
Worcester, Massachusetts, where both 
were residing in 1916, Edward aged 
seventy years and Joseph aged sixty- 
five years. The two brothers worked 
together for many years, and Edward 



268 




*r > 





/:\ 




ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rochette served in the capacity of head man 
for the Henry Branian Cabinet Works for 
thirty-five or forty years. Joseph and Mel- 
vina (PhilHps) Rochette were the parents 
of three sons: i. Edward Charles, of this 
review. 2. Joseph E., a dentist, with of- 
fices in the Slater Building, Worcester ; he 
was graduated from the Worcester Clas- 
sical High School and was graduated in 
dentistry in 1900. 3. Arthur P., educated 
in the public schools of Worcester, Clark 
University and the State Normal School, 
and is now principal of Burbank School, 
Millbury ; he is unmarried. 

Dr. Edward C. Rochette acquired his pre- 
liminary education in the grammar and 
Worcester Classical High schools, after 
which he pursued a course of study in Har- 
vard Medical School, from which institu- 
tion he was graduated in the class of 1903. 
He accepted an appointment at St. Eliza- 
beth's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts, 
where he remained for eighteen months, 
during which period he added greatly to his 
store of knowledge on medical subjects, put- 
ting to a practical test the theories advanced 
and adopted during his collegiate career. In 
March, 1905, Dr. Rochette located for the 
active practice of his chosen profession in 
his native city, Worcester, and within a 
comparatively short time he built up an ex- 
tensive practice, which has increased con- 
siderably during the ensuing years, enabling 
him not only to make a lucrative liveli- 
hood but to repay the capital that he bor- 
rowed in order to complete his medical edu- 
cation. He has always been a painstaking 
and conscientious worker, and despite the 
demands upon his time and attention has 
been able to read and study sufficiently to 
keep abreast of the times in the theories and 
practice of medicine. He is one of the 
founders of the French Dispensary of 
Worcester, which institution has proven of 
great benefit to many of the residents of 
that city. He is a member of the Massa- 



chusetts Medical Association ; the American 
Medical Association ; La Societe De Arti- 
zan; Counseil Franche of the Union St. 
Jean Baptiste ; the Society of St. Jean Bap- 
tiste ; the Pipineau Society ; Improved Or- 
der of Red Men ; Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks ; the Order of BuflFalo ; 
Rochelle Lodge, Independent Order of For- 
resters (Ladies) ; and St. Cecelia's Branch, 
L. C. B. Association. Dr. Rochette is ex- 
amining physician for all the societies in 
which he holds membership, and in addi- 
tion is associate medical examiner of the 
Equitable Life Insurance Company. He is a 
man of magnetic personality, pleasing ad- 
dress, sterling characteristics, and is an in- 
spiring example of one who in a calling 
which depends upon individual merit, close 
application, thorough knowledge of the sci- 
ence of medicine, and unflagging persever- 
ance, gained the heights of prominence. 



CANNEY, George Fremont, 

Merchant, Public Official. 

From the age of seventeen, Mr. Canney 
has been associated with the mercantile in- 
ests of South Hadley Center, Massachu- 
setts, as clerk, partner and proprietor, and 
has been no less active in town aflfairs. Al- 
though he is a native son of Massachu- 
setts, his father was born in Maine, and his 
grandfather in New Hampshire, a descend- 
ant of Thomas Canney, who was sent to 
Dover, New Hampshire, by Captain Mason 
in 1 63 1 or earlier. Thomas Canney had a 
lot in Dover in 1634, had land granted him 
in 1 652- 1 656, was made a freeman in 1653, 
and was living in 1677. He left sons, two 
of whom, Thomas and John, are mentioned 
in the records. From these sons all the 
Canneys of New England are supposed to 
have descended. The branch of the fam- 
ily herein recorded settled in Wolfboro 
township, Carroll county, New Hampshire. 

W^illiam Canney, grandfather of George 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Fremont Canney, was born near Wolfboro, 
a summer resort on Lake Winnepesaukee, 
Carroll county, New Hampshire, and was 
buried in Exeter, Maine. He was a mer- 
chant, trader and general selling agent for 
his entire section. He took advantage of 
the conditions in the rural community in 
which he lived and carried on a large and 
prosperous business. His principal special- 
ty was hops, handling large quantities each 
season, and also engaged in that one time 
important business, incident to the life of 
the pioneer and lumberman, the gathering 
and leaching of wool ashes, using the 
potash thus obtained in the manufacture 
of soap. He became a man of influence and 
wealth, owning many farms. His opera- 
tions were largely confined to the Exeter, 
Maine, district, he having moved there in 
1820. William Canney married (first) a 
Miss Hill. He married (second) Elizabeth 
Batchelder Lindell (Hill) Marquis, widow 
of George Marquis. She was born in Au- 
gusta, Maine, September 24, 181 6, mem- 
ber of an old and prominent Revolutionary 
family. She died December i, 1878. By 
her first marriage, Mrs. Marquis had a son, 
George Marquis, who enlisted in the First 
Regiment, Maine Heavy Artillery, meeting 
death at the battle of Fredericksburg in 
1863, and a daughter Helen Marquis, who 
married (first) Augustus C. Nevins, who 
died in 1907, married (second) in 1910, 
Hamlin, and now resides in Wash- 
ington, D. C. William and Elizabeth B. L. 
Canney were the parents of three sons and 
a daughter, the latter, the youngest, only 
living three years. The sons are : Frank, 
born October 6, 1850, died in Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, about 1898 ; Fred A., born Sep- 
tember 12, 1852, now residing at Croton, 
New York; Fremont Warren, of further 
mention. William Canney and his wife 
were attendants of the Universalist church 
of Exeter, Mrs. Canney being active in 
church work. William Canney was a Free 



Soil Whig and an abolitionist, supporting 
Fremont, the first candidate of the Republi- 
can party, and aiding in the election of Ab- 
raham Lincoln in i860. He was in sympathy 
with his wife in her religious work and was 
a most conscientious, upright man, highly 
respected. About 1861 his family moved to 
Bangor, Maine, where William Canney died 
ten years later. 

Fremont Warren Canney, youngest son 
of William and Elizabeth Batchelder Lin- 
dell (Hill-Marquis) Canney, was born in 
Exeter, Maine, April 5, 1856, and is now a 
resident of Northampton, Massachusetts. 
When he was five years of age the family 
moved to Bangor, Maine, where he attend- 
ed the grade and high schools. After two 
years in high school, being then seventeen 
years of age, he began lumbering operations 
in the Maine woods, continuing until about 
1873, when he located in Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts, forming a partnership with his 
brother-in-law, A. C. Nevins, conducting a 
saw mill and general mill business on 
Hampden street. Later he engaged in the 
lumber and wood business in Brooklyn, 
New York, but after a few years returned 
to Holyoke, resuming business relations 
with Mr. Nevins, previously mentioned. La- 
ter he was transferred to the Mt. Tom 
Mill and is now in charge of the outside 
division, the Holyoke plant being closed. 
He is a Republican in politics, and an at- 
tendent of the Congregational church. 

Fremont W. Canney married, at Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, Eva Ann Stedman, 
born at Lee, May 24, 1858, daughter of 
Lawrence and Ann Sylvina (Kinne) 
Stedman. Lawrence Stedman was born 
at Otis, Massachusetts, in June, 1833, 
and died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
January 20, 1893. He enlisted, January i, 
1864, in the First Regiment, Connecticut 
Heavy Artillery, was sent to Washington 
and there was taken sick; after recovery 
he was declared unfit for field duty 



270 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and was detailed as hospital steward, serv- 
ing until honorably discharged, and must- 
ered out, September 22, 1865. After return- 
ing from the army he spent several years in 
Connecticut, engaged in the wood and lum- 
ber business, settling in Holyoke in 1873. 
Later he was in charge of a number of 
large buildings and apartment blocks, con- 
tinuing in that line of activity until his 
death. He married Ann Sylvina Kinne, 
born in Great Harrington, Massachusetts, 
November 20, 1835, daughter of Ashbel 
Kinne, whose life was largely spent in Great 
Barrington. He was the tenth child of 
Rev. Aaron Kinne, a chaplain in the Con- 
tinental Army, who for a time was pastor 
of the church at Egremont near Great Bar- 
rington. Lawrence and Ann Sylvina 
(Kinne) Stedman were the parents of Eva 
Ann (Stedman) Canney, of previous men- 
tion; Florence May, born May 19, 1861, 
married Frederick Sears, who died in Hol- 
yoke, leaving three children including a son, 
Philip Sears ; Henry Morgan, born Novem- 
ber 20, 1863, a farmer of Blandford, Mas- 
sachusetts, twice married and has eight 
living children ; Robert Byron, born March 
10, 1869, married Annie Bogart, of Hol- 
yoke, and died, leaving a daughter Elsie ; 
Lily Mabel, born October 4, 1879, married 
Charles Nobles, and resides at South Had- 
ley Center with two sons. Mrs. Ann Syl- 
vina (Kinne) Stedman is still living, the 
grandmother of seventeen children and the 
great-grandmother of eight children. Fre- 
mont W. and Eva Ann (Stedman) Canney 
are the parents of five children, all born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts : i. George Fremont, 
mentioned below. 2. Byron Henry, born Au- 
gust 23, 1883, married in Columbia, South 
America, Carola Johnson, and there resides 
with three children. 3. Florence Elizabeth, 
born January 7, 1886, married, March 2^, 
1912, Reginald Sidney Carey, and resides 
at South Hadley Falls ; they are the par- 
ents of Reginald Sidney Carey, Jr., born 



February 21, 191 4; Warren James Carey, 
September 6, 1915. 4. Edward Lawrence, 
born January 21, 1888, residing in North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, unmarried. 5. Hazel 
Stedman, born April 18, 1890, also residing 
at the Northampton home. 

George Fremont Canney, son of Fre- 
mont Warren and Eva Ann (Stedman) 
Canney, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, July 28, 1882, and was educated in 
the public schools of the city. After three 
years in high school he was so anxious to 
become a wage earner that he left school, 
and until he was seventeen he ran a wagon 
route, supplying a select trade with vegeta- 
bles raised in his own garden or purchased 
from neighbors. At the age of seventeen 
he became a clerk in the store of Charles 
A. Gridley, a prominent merchant of South 
Hadley Center, with whom he remained for 
three years mastering the details of a large 
business. He then entered the employ of 
the American Thread Company, there gain- 
ing desired office experience to which he 
added during another period spent in the 
office employ of the Farr Alpaca Company. 
On April i, 1907, Mr. Canney returned to 
mercantile life with Mr. Gridley, whose 
business had been constantly increasing, and 
was admitted to a partnership. On July i, 
1913, Mr. Gridley retired and since that 
date Mr. Canney has conducted the busi- 
ness alone, carrying large stocks of general 
merchandise with special lines attractive to 
the student trade. In 191 5 he purchased the 
building which he occupies, altered, enlarged 
and improved it in keeping with the large 
business he transacts. In addition to his 
general store he has successfully conducted 
an automobile business for two years, hav- 
ing organized a company to act as general 
sales agent in his section for a light weight, 
popular priced, six cylinder car. He was 
selectman for five years, clerk of the board 
for three years, and has long been an active 
participant in town affairs. He was one of 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the leaders in the movement resulting in the 
defining of fire districts, putting in a suita- 
ble town water supply and installing ap- 
paratus for fire fighting purposes. He was 
the first treasurer of Fire District Xo. 2, 
and a member of the Prudential Committee 
placed in charge of the finances of the dis- 
trict. He was one of the organizers of the 
South Hadley Driving Park Association 
(Inc.), and the first secretary-treasurer of 
the association. He is a Republican in pol- 
tics, and a member of the Congregational 
church, active in its afitairs, and under his 
direction a campaign was inaugurated and 
continued which resulted in freeing the con- 
gregation from debt. He is a member of 
Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Mt. Holyoke Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, and Lodge of Perfection, and of 
lona Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. As an organizer of business and 
social aflFairs he displays exceptional abil- 
ity, and is a most efficient manager. Honor- 
able and upright, he has won the unvary- 
ing respect and confidence of his communi- 
ty, and is the centre of a wide circle of 
intimate friends. 

Mr. Canney married, October 24, 1906, 
Bessie Maria Gridley, born at South Hadley 
Center, November 11, 1878. daughter of 
Charles Addison and Martha Pamelia ( Mill- 
er) Gridley. They are the parents of two 
children : George Gridley. born February 
14, 1909, and Marjorie Elizabeth, born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1 91 2. 

Charles Addison Gridley was born in 
Granby, October 27, 1845, ^^^ son of Addi- 
son and Sibbel (Ayres) Gridley. He was 
educated in the public schools of Granby 
and attended Burnham's Business School at 
Springfield. He started in business with 
Eliott Montague at South Hadley in the 
general store line in 1870, and six years 
later the store was burned. ]Mr. Gridley 
moved to Brattleboro, and two years later. 



in 1878, returned to South Hadley, and 
opened the store of which he was the pro- 
prietor up to the time of his retirement, two 
years prior to his death. In 1903 he took 
his son, James Leonard Gridley, into part- 
nership with him under the firm name of 
C. A. Gridley & Son. When the younger 
Mr. Gridley moved to Chicopee three years 
later, George S. Canney, son-in-law of Mr. 
Gridley, joined forces with him. In addi- 
tion to conducting the general store, Mr. 
Gridley was for a long term of years a no- 
tary public and conducted a general insur- 
ance business. He was chairman of the 
building committee picked by William Gay- 
lord to put through the building of the Gay- 
lord Memorial Library, and Mr. Gridley 
served as a library trustee up to the time of 
his death. He served six years as a mem- 
ber of the school board, and for a long term 
of years served as superintendent of Ever- 
green Cemetery, and that this cemetery is 
one of the most beautiful in the valley is due 
in large measure to Mr. Gridley's personal 
interest in the welfare of the cemetery as- 
sociation. He was clerk of the association 
up to the time of his death. He also served 
on the committees charged with the erec- 
tion of both the last two churches built at 
the Center, and he was also the pioneer in 
the movement to bring public lighting to 
the Center and looked on the successful ac- 
complishment of that enterprise with par- 
ticular pride. Mr. Gridley married Martha 
Pamelia Miller, born in Amherst, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Edward Curtis Mill- 
er. She survives her husband and con- 
tinues her residence at South Hadley Cen- 
ter. Their only son, James Leonard Grid- 
ley, born October 4, 1876, is connected with 
the Gaylord Kendall National Bank, and 
married Pauline Clark. Charles A. Gridley 
died at his home at South Hadley Center, 
October 19, 191 6. By his death the town 
loses one of its most substantial citizens, a 



272 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



man valuable in the life of any community 
for his devotion to public affairs, to private 
business and for an upright home life. 



CAREY, Reginald Sidney, 

Florist. 

Reginald Sidney Carey, the well known 
florist of South Hadley, has had a long ex- 
perience in his chosen line, his first ex- 
perience being in his native Bristol, Eng- 
land, under his capable father, then in 
London with a leading florist, and later in 
the United States as manager of large es- 
tates. He is a thorough master both of his 
art, landscape gardening, and of his busi- 
ness, florist, and since 191 2 has been head 
of a business developed from that of Jo- 
seph Beach, South Hadley Falls, Massachu- 
setts, which he purchased at that time. He 
is a son of James Fuller Carey, of Bristol, 
England, a professional gardener, and a 
grandson of William Carey, a farmer of 
Bristol. 

William Carey, born in Abbotts Leigh, 
County Somerset, England, followed farm- 
ing all his life, and died in Bristol, Eng- 
land, in 1886. He married and was the 
father of a family of seven children, all now 
deceased. 

James Fuller Carey, son of William 
Carey, was born at Abbotts Leigh, County 
Somerset, England, February 12, 1845, ^"*^ 
died in Bristol, England, December 3, 1910. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Bristol, and there spent his life, a profes- 
sional gardener in care of large estates. He 
was a member of the Church of England, a 
man of strong character, highly esteemed. 
He married Matilda Parks, born in Bristol, 
England, of Welsh parentage, her three 
brothers living in Swansea, Wales. She sur- 
vives her husband, a resident of Bristol, 
England. Mr. and Mrs. Carey had seven 
children, all living and married and residing 
in England save Edith Eliza, who accom- 



panied her husband to South Africa, and 
Reginald Sidney, who came to the United 
States. The children are : Mary Emma, 
Annie Elizabeth, Caroline, Esther, Edith 
Eliza, William Henry, and Reginald Sid- 
ney. 

Reginald Sidney Carey, son of James 
Fuller Carey, was born in Bristol, England, 
June 24, 1886, and was educated in the pub- 
lic schools. As a boy and young man he 
worked with his father and learned land- 
scape gardening, pursuing his vocation on 
large private estates at Bristol. Later he 
went to London in the employ of Veach & 
Company, the largest floral house in the 
city, and there learned the business of a 
florist. With an expert knowledge of the 
growing of plants and flowers, and of the 
best methods of their sale and distribution, 
added to the art of the landscape gardener, 
he sought a new field of endeavor in the 
United States, coming in 1907. His first six 
months in this country were spent as as- 
sistant superintendent of the magnificent 
country estate of Ex-Governor Morton at 
RhinecliflF, New York. After the termina- 
tion of his first engagement, he spent some 
time in Washington, D. C, with one of the 
leading florists. His next engagement was 
as manager of the gardens on the estate of 
William Guggenheim at Long Branch, New 
Jersey, his duties also including the man- 
agement of the gardens of Mr. Guggen- 
heim's brother. After leaving the Gug- 
genheims, Mr. Carey came to the estate 
of Joseph Skinner at South Hadley Falls, 
where he spent eighteen months in design- 
ing the landscape feature and developing 
the grounds and gardens of that beautiful 
home. After completing his work for Mr. 
Skinner, he purchased in 191 2 the business 
of Joseph Beach, florist, and has developed 
a wonderful trade in cut flowers, shipping 
to all parts of New England. He has at- 
tained both professional and business prom- 
inence, and is but in the morning of his ca- 



MASS.— 7— 18. 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



reer. Mr. Carey was president of the Hol- 
yoke and Northampton Florists Club, 1915; 
member of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; and George E. Fisher 
Chapter, Order of Eastern Star, both of 
South Hadley Falls ; Holyoke Aerie, Fra- 
ternal Order of Eagles ; lona Lodge, In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows ; the 
Congregational church, and in political faith 
is strongly Republican. 

Mr. Carey married, March 23, 1912, 
Florence Elizabeth Canney, born January 
7, 1886, daughter of Fremont Warren and 
Eva Ann (Stedman) Canney (see Canney). 
Mr. and Mrs. Carey have two sons, both 
born in South Hadley Falls : Reginald 
Sidney, Jr., born February 21, 1914, and 
Warren James, born September 6, 191 5. 



COLSON, Charles D., 

Business Man, Public Official. 

To Mr. Colson, late of Holyoke, belonged 
the honor of holding longer than any other 
citizen in Massachusetts the position of 
chairman of the Republican City Commit- 
tee of Holyoke. Throughout his term of 
thirty-five years he earned and held the es- 
teem and confidence of all his associates 
and of the people of the city. As a business 
man his reputation was unsullied, and he 
retired from active business with the warm 
regard and friendship of all who were in 
any way associated with him. Charles D. 
Colson was born May 10, 1846, in Lowell, 
Massachusetts, son of Sullivan and Delia 
(Curtis) Colson. His father went to Cali- 
fornia during the gold fever days of 1849, 
and there died. 

The son attended the public schools of 
Lowell, graduating from the high school, 
and immediately entered upon a business ca- 
reer as clerk in the employ of the Hamil- 
ton Company, where he continued for a pe- 
riod of nine years. In 1875 he came to 
Holyoke to fill the position of paymaster at 



the Lyman Mills, where he continued six 
years. In 1881 he was appointed bookkeep- 
er and paymaster of the Whitmore Manu- 
facturing Company, and continued in this 
position up to January i, 1916, when he 
retired from active business, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son-in-law, Mr. George Web- 
ster. Mr. Colson was very active in the 
social life of Holyoke, as well as in political 
movements. In Lowell he became affiliated 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, Oberon Lodge, a member for twen- 
ty-eight years, and there filled all the offices 
of the subordinate lodge, including that of 
noble grand, and soon after he came to 
Holyoke he assisted in forming Holyoke 
Lodge, No. 134, in which he also passed 
through all the chairs, and of which he was 
a member until his death, nearly fifty-two 
years. He was one of the charter mem- 
bers of Tuscarora Encampment of the same 
order, in Holyoke, in which he held the 
chief offices, and was one of the oldest mem- 
bers of the order in the city. He held mem- 
bership in Canton Patriarchs Militant, of 
Springfield, the highest branch of this or- 
der, and was always an enthusiast in pro- 
mulgating its grand, benevolent and fra- 
ternal principles. He held official stations 
in various fraternal bodies, including the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of 
which he was a charter member ; the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, and Knights of 
Pythias. Besides these organizations he 
was affiliated with the Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, the Royal Arcanum, and 
Knights of Honor. For twenty years Mr. 
Colson held the office of quartermaster of 
the Second Regiment of Infantry, Massa- 
chusetts Volunteer Militia, later promoted 
to lieutenant and later to captain, at which 
rank he retired. After having filled the 
position of chairman of the Republican City 
Committee of Holyoke for thirty-four 
terms, upon the occasion of his re-election 
for the thirty-fifth term he declined to ac- 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cept, and was very regretfully excused by 
his associates and co-workers. In that pe- 
riod of time the city had trebled in popu- 
lation, and more than doubled in assessed 
valuation. Mr. Colson's long continuance 
in the position of chairman testified to his 
fairness, his good nature, and his excep- 
tional executive ability. He had no polit- 
ical enemies, and was respected by both his 
opponents and friends. He was first elect- 
ed to the Board of Aldermen as a represen- 
tative of Ward Four, and continued eight 
years in that body. Subsequently he was a 
member of the Common Council. For sev- 
eral years he was water commissioner of 
the city of Holyoke. He was a member 
of Company D, Veterans' Association, and 
was always a w^elcome guest at its gather- 
ings. Through his various activities he ac- 
quired a wide acquaintance throughout 
Western Massachusetts, and frequently par- 
ticipated in visitations to various fraternal 
bodies. Wherever he went he was popular 
and esteemed, and he enjoyed during his 
last years in quiet retirement, the fruit of 
a long life of industry. For several years 
Mr. Colson had spent his summers at Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, where he erected a 
comfortable building and where he enjoyed 
the cooling breezes of Long Island Sound. 
Mr. Colson married, in Holyoke, April 
2, 1885, Ellen E. Adams, born in Willing- 
ton, Connecticut, daughter of Asa and 
Cornelia Adams, of Warren, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. Colson was and Mrs. Colson 
is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Holyoke. They have an adopted 
child, Nettie Colson, who married George 
Webster, now paymaster of the Whitmore 
Manufacturing Company of Holyoke. Mr. 
Colson passed away in Holyoke, December 
2, 1917. 

275 



WALKER, Charles Edward, 
Merchant. 

When after a long term of clerical ser- 
vice in other cities, Mr. Walker returned 
to Holyoke, Massachusetts, and purchased 
the sporting goods business of M. D. Steb- 
bins, he invested it with his own energetic 
personality and has attracted to the largest 
sporting goods store in the city a line of 
patronage which attests the appreciation of 
the public he wishes to serve. Mr. Walker 
is of English parentage, but of American 
birth, his father, William Walker, coming to 
the United States in i860 and settling in 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts. 

William Walker was born in Derbyshire, 
England, in 1834, and there learned the 
trade of wire weaver, using a hand loom. 
He remained in England until i860, then 
came to the United States, obtaining em- 
ployment in the paper mills at Middlefield 
after a prior settlement at Pittsfield. Later 
he spent some time in the State of Connec- 
ticut, then returned to Middlefield, thence 
about 1891 locating in Holyoke, where for 
a number of years he has lived retired from 
active life. He is a member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, and a man of up- 
right life, highly regarded. Mr. Walker 
married Ruth Scholls, born in Yorkshire, 
England, daughter of Isaac Scholls. They 
are the parents of six sons: Elijah, mar- 
ried, has a son Harold Walker, married, 
and has a daughter, Alta Walker ; William, 
married, and has children. Earl, Robert, 
Fred and Francis Walker ; Frank ; George, 
married, and has children, Dorothy, Eliz- 
abeth, Mildred, Lucy, and Ralph Walker; 
Fred, married, and has children: Ruth, 
William, Agnes, Esther and Fred (2)