(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Encyclopedia of Massachusetts, biographical--genealogical;"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08253668 5 



1 




S4- 



■v.^ 









filUFaTb 0IIiarlf;5 jFinlfi} 

•|Jrouibtnff 'lE'l' 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2007 with funding from 

IVIicrosoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/encyclopediaofma04amer 



AGZ- 



lEncuclttpebia gf iHasaachuBells 



Biographical — Genealogical 



Compiled with Assistance of the Following 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 



WILLIAM RICHARD CUTTER 

Former Librarian of Woburn Public Library, 
Historian of New England Historic-Genea- 
logical Society; Author of "History of Arling- 
ton," "Bibliography of Woburn," "History of 
the Cutter Family," etc. 

EUGENE C. GARDNER 

Member of American Institute of Architecture, 
etc.; Author of "Homes and How to Make 
Them," and other popular works; Lecturer, 
and frequent contributor to leading magazines 
and newspapers. 

HARLAN HOGE BALLARD, A. M. 

Librarian of Berkshire Athenaeum and Mu- 
seum: Secretary of Berkshire Historical Soci- 
ety; Author of "Three Kingdoms;" "World of 
Matter;" "Translation into English, Hexameters 
of Virgil's Aeneid;" Joint .\uthor "American 
Plant Book;" "Barnes' Readers;" "One Thou- 
-■jand Blunders in English." 

REV. JOHN H. LOCKWOOD, A. M. 

Member of Connecticut Valley Historical Soci- 
ety, and Western Hampden Historical Society; 
Author of "History of the Town of Westfleld, 
Mass." 



HON. ELLERY BICKNELL CRANE 

Charter Member, ex-Presidcnt and for fifteen 
years Librarian of Worcester Society of Antiq- 
uity, and Editor of its Proceedings; Author of 
"Rawson Family Memorial," "The Crane Fam- 
ily," in two volumes, "History of 15th Regi- 
ment in the Revolution," and Compiler of a 
Number of Genealogies of the Prominent Fam- 
ilies of Massachusetts. Member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical and other His- 
torical Societies. 

CHARLES FRENCH READ 

Clerk and Treasurer of Bostonian Society; 
Director of Brookline Historical Society; Sec- 
ond Vice-President of Mass. Soc. S. A. R.; 
Chairman Membership Com. Mass. Soc. Colo- 
nial Wars; Member Board of Managers, Mass. 
Soc. War of 1S12; Treasurer of Read Soc. for 
Genealogical Research. 

ROBERT SAMUEL RANTOUL 

Ex-President of Essex Institute; Member of 
Massachusetts Historical Society; ex-Repre- 
sentative and ex-JIayor of Salem. 

E. ALDEN DYER, M. D. 

President of Old Bridgewater Historical Soci- 
ety; President of Dyer Family Association. 



ILLUSTRATED 



NEW YORK 



191b 

THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY (Inc.) 

BOSTON 



THE NEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBR/vRY 

364886\ 

ASTOR, LENOX. A.ND 
1 TILDEN FOUNDATIoW;- 
1018 L 



Both justice and decency require that we should bestow on our forefathers 
an honorable remembrance — Thucydides 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



'PUBLIC Li; 




t-rvq-'d by CampbEll h;- 




'M/{ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



COOK, Richard Hartley., 

Manufacturer, Inventor. 

It may be maintained with great cer- 
tainty, that the American people of to- 
day, the American race of to-morrow, 
owe much to each of the various races 
that has entered into its complex fabric, 
this quality to one, this characteristic vir- 
tue to another, qualities and virtues 
which shall doubtless in the end be prop- 
erly amalgamated to a harmonious whole. 
But if this be so, there can be no doubt 
that for the very basis of the natural 
character we must turn to that great mass 
of English, who in their first period of 
colonization and for many years there- 
after, came in such generous numbers 
to our shores. It was these, the most 
enterprising members of that dominant 
race, that laid the foundation of our social 
structure, who for many years formed 
the majority of our people, who still, in 
the persons of their descendants, form the 
chief factor of our citizenship, and who, 
whatever change in racial proportions the 
future has in store for us, may be counted 
on still to leaven the whole mass, to fur- 
nish the prevailing ideals for that future 
as they have for the past, to give the fun- 
damental tone and color to our customs, 
our manners and our institutions. It is 
because we feel this in regard to them, 
because we believe that our present 
character has been determined in the first 
instance by them, and because we would 
preserve that character, that it is still 
pleasant to welcome to this land the de- 
scendants of our common ancestors, the 
men of whom more than any other we 
can think of as our cousins from abroad. 



Of the best type of the English people 
with whom we have so close a bond, is 
Richard Hartley Cook, the distinguished 
gentleman whose name heads this 
sketch, and who came to this country in 
his young manhood. 

Richard Hartley Cook was born at Bol- 
ton, England, on March i8th, 1850, son 
of William Cook, of Tyldsley, Lanca- 
shire, England, and was brought up in 
his native region, receiving there the ele- 
mentary portion of his education at the 
local public schools. At a very early age 
and almost before he had completed his 
studies, he began to learn the trade of 
cotton spinning in the famous mills of 
Houldsworth & Company, at Reddish, 
near Stockport, England. He continued 
to be employed by this great concern un- 
til he had reached the age of thirty-three 
years, and then, in the year 1883, came 
to the United States, locating at Harri- 
son, New Jersey. It was but natural for 
him to continue in the same line of work to 
which he had grown used to in his native 
land, and accordingly he became asso- 
ciated with the Clark Mile End Manufac- 
turing Company. Prior to this time the 
most of the American thread manufac- 
turers had found it expedient to import 
the cotton yarns from England, finish- 
ing the same into thread in this country. 
When it was learned that Mr. Cook was 
thoroughly familiar with the details of 
cotton spinning, he was soon made sup- 
erintendent of this concern, and under 
his supervision a large spinning plant, the 
first of its kind for this company, was 
added to this thread manufactory at Har- 
rison, New Jersey, near the city of New- 
ark. Mr. Cook continued as superinten- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dent of the Clark Mile End Thread Manu- 
facturing Company for a period of five 
years, when he removed to Fall River, 
Massachusetts, to accept the superinten- 
dency of the Kerr Thread Company, of 
that city, where he has since continued 
to make his home. During his long con- 
nection with this Fall River plant he has 
seen it grow from a small concern to one 
of the largest and most properous manu- 
facturing concerns in this country, cov- 
ering a large area of land, Mill No. i, in 
1890, Mill No. 2, with the dye and bleach 
house, in 1892, and later Mill No. 3, all 
being erected under his supervision, which 
stand as a monument to his executive abi- 
lity and to his forceful business acumen. 

When the American Thread Company 
was formed and organized in the year 
1899, Mr. Cook was appointed general 
superintendent of this corporation's var- 
ious plants in America, which include the 
plants of the Kerr Thread Company, of 
Fall River; the Merrick Thread Company, 
of Holyoke ; the Hadley Thread Com- 
pany, of Holyoke; the Willimantic Linen 
Company, of Willimantic, Connecticut ; 
the William Clark Company, of Wester- 
ly, Rhode Island, and various other smal- 
ler concerns, which in all give employ- 
ment to about five thousand employees, 
in which important and responsible posi- 
tion he has since continued. 

It might well be supposed that the ac- 
tivities of Mr. Cook in connection with 
the vast development of the thread spin- 
ning industry in the United States, might 
well have made such great demands upon 
his time and attention as to render his 
participation in any other activity out of 
the question. Such has not been the case, 
however, and he became from the outset 
one of the most public-spirited of the 
citizens of Fall River, who has never for 
an instant lost interest in his adopted 
community. Indeed, when he was ap- 



pointed Park Commissioner of Fall River, 
by Mayor Grime, of that city, he gave 
himself with the greatest enthusiasm to 
the duties of his new office, and is regard- 
ed as one of the most efficient commis- 
sioners which that city has had. Mr. Cook 
has served as a member of this commis- 
sion since the organization of that body, 
and still gives much of his valuable time 
thereto. In the social and club life of the 
community, Mr. Cook is a prominent 
figure, being a valued member of the Que- 
quechar Club, the most exclusive in Fall 
River; the Yacht Club; the Golf Club; 
and was one of the organizers of the 
F.1II River Bowling Green Club, of which 
he was the first president. He is also 
a member of the Masonic fraternity, hold- 
ing membership in Mount Hope Lodge, 
ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Fall River. In religious faith, Mr. Cook 
is an Episcopalian, and attends St. Mark's 
Church of that denomination in Fall 
River, of which he has served for twenty- 
eight years as choir-master, and during 
his residence at Harrison, New Jersey, 
also filled the same position in Christ 
Church, of that city. 

Mr. Cook was united in marriage, on 
February 20, 1870, at Reddish, England, 
with Miss Betsey Dean, a native of Lon- 
don, England, who resided before coming 
to this country in the town of Reddish, 
where Mr. Cook had himself worked for 
a number of years. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Cook two daughters have been born, 
namely: i. Mary, who married Thomas H. 
Nabb, of Fall River, and they are the par- 
ents of three children. 2. Ellen, who mar- 
ried William P. Shaw, of Fall River, and 
they are the parents of four children. The 
family residence is at No. 2267 Pleasant 
street. Fall River, Massachusetts, and is 
one of the most popular and best known 
for its gracious hospitality in that section 
of the city. 



4 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Cook has been connected with the 
cotton manufacturing industry uninter- 
ruptedly for more than sixty years, dur- 
ing the entire period of his active busi- 
ness life, and has grown to feel a strong 
devotion for the industry, and especially 
for the Kerr Thread Mills, at Fall River, 
which has been developed into its present 
proportions during his connections there- 
with. Many of the new inventions, which 
have been devised for the more rapid or 
efficient production of these goods, have 
been the product of his skill and genius, 
and the development and improvement of 
the cotton spinning industry in this coun- 
try have been in a large measure his 
work. He is a gentleman of most 
gracious presence, but an extremely 
strong character, whom it is difficult to 
bend from the way he believes to be the 
best. 

The closeness of relationship which 
exists between the Englishman and the 
American has never been properly em- 
phasized until the present day, when the 
exigencies of the World War have drawn 
them into a close alliance. What has not 
been emphasized has been none the less 
true, and it cannot but be obvious to 
those who consider the question that 
there is a closer affinity of blood and 
spirit between these two peoples than 
between either one of them and any other 
on the earth. The ease with which a 
member of either country can go to the 
other and adapt himself to the life and 
customs thereof so that he becomes at 
once assimilated with the people whom 
he meets in his new home, is all the evi- 
dence that is required on this point and 
is conclusive. It is consequently a pleas- 
ure to this country to welcome its cousins 
from across the sea, and more especially 
so when they are the type and calibre of 
Mr. Cook, whose coming has been ac- 
complished by a great increase in our 



industrial knowledge and the founding 
here of an activity which has greatly 
increased the material prosperity of this 
country. When the American race is at 
length wholly formed in this country, 
after the years of slow preparation 
through which we are passing at the 
present time, and in which the peoples 
of many climes and races are amalgama- 
ted to form a single unit, it seems prac- 
tically incontestable that the general 
character of the resulting race will be 
Anglo-Saxon or English. It will, of 
course, contain a thousand other ele- 
ments, and the gaiety and pathos of the 
Celt, the romance of the Slav, the intensi- 
ty of the Hebrew, will all play their part 
in the resulting admixture. Yet there can 
be no doubt that the Anglo-Saxon quali- 
ties will still dominate, and it shall be 
from the English that we derive the 
customs, the institutions and the prevail- 
ing social tone which will mark the pros- 
pective people. It has so happened that, 
by a fortunate circumstance, the English 
people, upon whom we depend for our 
most fundamental traits, were first the 
dominating element here, and they estab- 
lished a civilization of their own type 
which has been so permanent that it has 
never been greatly altered. It has been 
upon this as upon a firm rock that our 
tradition of freedom and equality, which 
is the very life of our community, has 
been built. 



LOWNEY, Jeremiah Joseph, M. D. 

Physician. 

Dr. Jeremiah Joseph Lowney is him- 
self a native of this country, but is by 
blood and parentage a member of the 
Irish race and exhibits in his own person 
the virtues and characteristic traits there- 
of. He is a son of Timothy and Ellen 
(Reagen) Lowney, both of whom were 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



natives of Ireland, having been born in 
County Cork, but who came to this coun- 
try in early life, and settled in Fall River. 
Here Mr. Lowney, Sr., was employed as 
watchman of the Osborn Mill for sixteen 
years. He then retired from active life 
for a time, but later took up farming and 
conducted for many years a forty acre 
farm in the vicinity, maintaining a 
herd of sixteen cows and at the same 
time operated a store. He is still a vigor- 
ous man, though eighty years of age. He 
married Ellen Reagen, who also is active 
and hale. They were the parents of four 
children. Mr. Lowney's grandfather was 
also a native of County Cork, Ireland, 
where the entire family had resided from 
time immemorial. 

Dr. Jeremiah Joseph Lowney was born 
June 25, 1879, at Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, where his parents had settled after 
coming from Ireland, and has made his 
native city his home continuously since 
then. He was educated at the local public 
schools, including the Grammar School 
and the High School, from the latter of 
which he was graduated with the class 
of 1899. He then attended the College of 
Pharmacy at Boston for a year, and later 
entered the Harvard Medical School, 
from which he was graduated with the 
class of 1904. Since that time Dr. Lowney 
has had five years practical experience in 
the Fall River City Hospital, and is now 
engaged in the general practice of his 
profession in that city. He is already re- 
garded as a leader of his profession there 
and has for three years served in the 
office of city physician. In politics Dr. 
Lowney is a Democrat and is a staunch 
supporter of the principles and policies 
of that party- He is also prominent in 
the social and club life of the community, 
and is a member of the Knights of Colum- 
bus and the Foresters, active in the work 
of both organizations. In his religious 



belief Dr. Lowney is a Roman Catholic; 
he attends the Church of St. Louis in Fall 
River, is a prominent member of that 
parish and has done not a little work to 
advance its interests in the community. 

Dr. Lowney married October 19, 1914, 
in Fall River, Effie May Whiteman, a 
native of this city, born May 5, 1887. She 
was the eldest child of Hugh and Agnes 
(French) Whiteman, old and highly hon- 
ored residents here. To. Mr. and Mrs. 
Lowney one child has been born, Jere- 
miah Joseph, Jr., October 6, 1916. 

One of the greatest, if not the greatest, 
advances that has been made in the science 
and practice of medicine in our modern 
epoch is that of the general recognition 
of what may perhaps best be expressed 
as the therapeutic value of normal con- 
ditions. More and more have our wisest 
physicians, the leaders of their profession, 
come to realize that, although acute cases 
often require extreme remedies, the vast 
majority of human ailments yield to noth- 
ing so readily and so finally as to the 
healing powers of nature itself. How 
strikingly true is the fact that, if the pa- 
tient can be placed under normal condi- 
tions where these natural healing-agen- 
cies can operate fully, he will in almost 
every case recover, is shown by the recent 
discoveries in connection with the heal- 
ing power of nothing more complex than 
a solution of salt in water for even severe 
wounds, and the treatment of tubercular 
children with an agency as simple as sun- 
light in the high altitudes of the Alps. 
Indeed, it may be said that it is those 
physicians who have the clearest appre- 
ciation of this broad truth that are to be 
regarded as the pioneers and prophets in 
the science of medicine to-day. It is in 
line with this idea that the work of Dr. 
Jeremiah Joseph Lowney, of Fall River. 
Massachusetts, has been carried on dur- 
ing the entire length of his career. 



'^^^ 



/ ■ ■^•^^a. 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



DUBUQUE, Hugo Adelard, 

Jarist. 

One of the leading representatives of 
the French-Canadian people in New Eng- 
land is Judge Hugo Adelard Dubuque, 
associate justice of the Superior Court of 
Massachusetts. Judge Dubuque comes 
from an ancestory famous for doing 
things. His grand-uncle, who was the 
founder of Dubuque, Iowa, that city being 
named in his honor, was noted for his 
push and business sagacity. His father, 
Moise Dubuque, was one of the early ex- 
plorers and pioneers of the far West, liv- 
ing in California and Montana from 1840 
to 1850, and died at St. Louis, Missouri, 
on his return from a business trip to Mon- 
tana and Oregon, in 1865. It is to the 
efforts of such men that the United States 
is indebted for the rapid growth and 
development of its vast western country. 

Judge Hugo Adelard Dubuque was 
born at Cavignac, near Montreal, Canada, 
November 4, 1857, son of Moise and 
Esther (Mathien) Dubuque. He ob- 
tained his preparatory education in the 
common schools, and was graduated from 
the College at St. Hyacinthe, Province of 
Quebec, in the class of 1870. Shortly 
afterwards he removed to Troy, New 
York, where he was employed for a few 
months in a shoe store. In the autumn of 
that same year he located at Fall River, 
Massachusetts, and for a period of about 
four years was a clerk in a grocery and 
drug store, continuing in that capacity 
until 1874. Like many another poor boy. 
bent on acquiring a profession, he was 
obliged to turn aside at the very outset 
in order to earn the means for continuing 
his training, but being of an ambitious and 
thrifty nature, he had in the meantime 
saved of his earnings and diligentlv pur- 
sued his studies, preparing himself to 
enter the Boston University Law School, 



where he completed the full course, grad- 
uating therefrom with the degree of LL. 
B. in 1877. That same year he was ad- 
mitted to the Bristol county bar, and im- 
mediately began the practice of his chosen 
profession in Fall River, which city has 
ever since been his home, and where he 
has won distinction and honor as a result 
of his gifted and scholarly attainments. 
Judge Dubuque's political affiliations 
have been with the Republican party, and 
for many years he was active in the 
councils of the party. He has been a fre- 
quent and effective platform speaker in 
important campaigns, having a pleasant 
manner and a logical and convincing way 
of presenting his arguments. From the 
very start of his chosen career in Fall 
River, owing to his capabilities, his thor- 
ough preparation, his scholarly achieve- 
ments and adaptation for public business, 
he was placed in public office and has been 
repeatedly honored by high positions, the 
gift of his fellow-citizens and friends 
throughout that section of the State. Of 
a studious nature himself, he has always 
been deeply interested in educational mat- 
ters, and from 1883 to 1889 served as a 
member of the school board of Fall River. 
During the years 1889, 1897 and 1898 
he was representative to the General 
Court of Massachusetts, and made a repu- 
tation as a debater and a man of prac- 
tical good sense, taking a leading part in 
the discussion of important questions, and 
also being a member of the judiciary com- 
mittee of the House of Representatives. 
In 1900 he was elected city solicitor of 
Fall River, being reelected to the same 
office the succeeding year. In recognition 
of his splendid talent and devotion to his 
chosen profession, in August, 191 1, he 
was appointed by Governor Eugene N. 
Foss associate justice of the Superior 
Court of Massachusetts, on the bench of 
which he has attained equal distinction. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Judge Dubuque is the author of the 
famous Dubuque law, which provides 
that the defendant can pay a debt by in- 
stallments if unable to discharge the 
judgment in full. He is also the author 
of various papers, among them a histori- 
cal sketch on French-Canadians, and of 
an article on the main subject in the 
French language in the Guide Canadian 
Francais in Fall River. He has been 
honorary president of the Cercle Sala- 
berry, a literary society, and of the Ligne 
de Patriotes, a benevolent society, both 
of Fall River. He is a valued member of 
the Quequechan Club of the Club Calu- 
met, of Fall River ; and of the Boston 
City Club. 

On May 15, 1881, Judge Dubuque was 
united in marriage to Anne M. Coughlin, 
daughter of William and Abbie (Moley) 
Coughlin, of Fall River, and this union 
was blessed with three daughters, 
namely : Pauline, Helene and Marie. In 
November, 1916, Mrs. Dubuque passed 
away, and the home life suffered an irre- 
parable loss. His daughter, Helene, mar- 
ried in June, 1914, Dr. Albert E. Perron, 
of Fall River. Pauline and Helene are 
graduates of Elmhurst Academy, of 
Providence, Rhole Island, and Marie is a 
graduate of Wellesley College, class of 
1913; she teaches in the High School in 
Fall River. 

Judge Dubuque was called upon to 
present to the city of Fall River the beau- 
tiful equestrian statue of General Lafa- 
yette, which was given to that city by 
certain public-spirited and patriotic Amer- 
ican citizens of French descent, and was 
unveiled in September, 1916, under the 
auspices of the Club Calumet. His speech 
on this occasion is an eloquent and mas- 
terly effort. Beginning with the early life 
of that great and beloved Frenchman, he 
successively traced his career when 
as a young man of twenty, wealthy 



and accomplished he came to America, 
and freely offered his services and wealth 
to General George Washington and the 
suffering American people, who were 
then in the throes of the Revolution, and 
stated that it was largely owing to the 
help of General Lafayette that this coun- 
try won its independence. 

Judge Dubuque, as a lawyer and judge, 
has the reputation of being a sound and 
safe adviser. He has always been frank, 
independent, and unequivocal in the ex- 
pression of what he thinks just and true, 
although never dogmatical, over-confi- 
dent, or intolerant of the opinion of others. 
He is honorable and upright in his profes- 
sional conduct, and disdains to appeal 
to personal or party prejudices, and has 
refrained from securing position by art 
or management. He is diligent in the em- 
ployment of his talents, and ever enter- 
tains a just sense of the dignity and res- 
ponsibilities of his profession. His decis- 
ions are recognized as governed by wise 
precedents and thorough research. His 
culture has not been confined to the law, 
but he is familiar with the best depart- 
ment of literature, always delighting in 
those works which belong to a high range 
of thought. In his home, he shows the 
true characteristics of the parent, being 
the loving, wise counselor and companion. 
As a citizen. Judge Dubuque is honored 
and respected by the entire community, 
where he is so well and favorably known. 
His motto is : 
"Pro antico sacpe, pro patria semper." 
Translation: "For friend often, for 
country always." 



DEDRICK, Albert Clinton. M. D., 

Physician. 

Among the prominent physicians of 
Fall River, Massachusetts, is Dr. Albert 
Clinton Dedrick. His father was also a 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



successful and distinguished physician 
and surgeon bearing the same name. The 
family is of German descent, having come 
to this country, according to verified re- 
cord, from Heidelberg. Because of the 
great variety of ways in which the family 
name has been spelled it is extremely dif- 
ficult to identify some of the very earliest 
ancestors. The Newport records show 
the marriage of Susanna Dedwich to Jo- 
seph Wilbur, September 2, 1753, and the 
marriage of Elizabeth Dedwich to Joseph 
Pike, March 14, 1762. In the census of 
1774, of the province of Rhode Island, 
only two of the family were reported, both 
of Newport : Oliver Dewick appears to 
have had only himself, wife and a daugh- 
ter under sixteen ; John Dedery to have 
had only himself and wife. In the first 
federal census of 1790, but one of the sur- 
name is reported, viz., John DeWich, of 
Newport, and he had no family. How- 
ever, in the records of Rev. Gardiner 
Thurston, we find the marriage of Wil- 
liam Dedwich and Mary Hammett, June 
20, 1784. A later one is that of Francis 
Dederic and Mary Reed, July 22, 1805, 
which is recorded in the annals of the 
Congregational church at Barrington, 
Rhode Island. 

(I) William Dedrick, son of the im- 
migrant ancestor, was born May 16, 1753, 
and is thought to have been about two 
years old when brought by his parents 
from Heidelberg, Germany, to America. 
He is also believed to have been later, 
one of the planters of the old Liberty 
Tree at Newport, Rhode Island. His 
wife, Mary Dedrick, of whose maiden 
name there is no trace, was born Septem- 
ber ID, 1763. They had eleven children: 
John, born March 16, 1785: Mary, born 
August 25, 1786; William, born June 20, 
1789; Peter, born November 20. 1791 ; 
Constantine H., born November 10, 1793 ; 
Elizabeth, born February 26, 1796; Hen- 



ry, born June i, 1798; Catherine, born 
July ID, 1800; Samuel T., of further men- 
tion; Martin, born August 26, 1804; Har- 
riet, born March 26, 1807. 

(II) Samuel Taggart Dedrick, son of 
William and Mary Dedrick, was born in 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, May 26, 
1802, and died at Natick, Rhode Island, 
November 6, 1883. His occupation was 
that of a machinist, and for some years 
he was boss mechanic at the mill of 
Sprague Company, Natick, Rhode Island. 
In politics he was inclined to favor 
more often the Republican ticket though 
as a matter of fact, he was inde- 
pendent in that respect. He attended the 
Baptist church, but may possibly have 
been a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, as was his wife. When a 
young man he started the first Sunday 
school in Portsmouth by gathering to- 
gether the children of the neighborhood 
in the chamber of the old wind mill on 
his father's farm. As an inducement to 
attend, he offered to each child a penny 
for every Sunday he or she was present 
there. In a short time the attendance had 
grown to such numbers as to warrant 
moving the Sunday school to larger quar- 
ters. 

He was married April 25, 1830, at War- 
wick, Rhode Island, to Sarah Gardiner 
Clarke, of Usquepang, South Kingston, 
Rhode Island, by Rev. Moses Fifield, of 
the Centreville Methodist Episcopal 
church. She was the daughter of William 
and Amy (Green) Clarke, and one of 
eight children of whom the others were: 
William, Gardiner, Daniel, Joseph, Ruth, 
Nancy and Lucy. The children born to 
Samuel Taggart and Sarah (Clarke) Ded- 
rick were : Mary Smith, born in May, 
1836, died June 30, 1857, at the age of 
twenty-one years and one month ; and 
Albert Clinton, of further mention. 

(III) Dr. Albert Clinton Dedrick, son 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of Samuel Taggart and Sarah Gardiner 
(Clarke) Dedrick, was born at Natick, 
Rhode Island, August 27, 1831, and died 
at Centreville, Rhode Island, April 16, 
1889. During his youth he learned the 
machinists' trade. In 1849 he went to 
California by way of Cape Horn and was 
said to have been the youngest "forty- 
niner" to go from that section of the 
country, having been eighteen years old 
at that time. Later he returned to Rhode 
Island and took up the study of medicine 
in the office of Dr. James Andros, at 
Natick. He then entered Albany Medical 
College, from which he was graduated in 
1857 with the degree of Doctor of Medi- 
cine, whereupon he immediately began 
his practice at Crompton, Rhode Island. 
In October, 1862, he was commissioned 
assistant surgeon of the Fourth Rhode 
Island Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, 
serving until November, 1864, when he 
was honorably discharged for disability. 
During these years he served at different 
intervals as regimental surgeon, when 
his principal, Dr. Rivers, and others on 
the staff were called elsewhere. After the 
war in 1865, he located at Centreville, 
Rhode Island, where he remained in gen- 
eral practice to the end of his life. In 
1871 he was commissioned surgeon of the 
Fourth Brigade of the Rhode Island Mili- 
tia. He was always actively interested 
in public affairs, having represented his 
town in the General Assembly during 
1873 and 1874 and possibly one year more. 
From 1876 to 1880 he was a member of 
the school board, and from 1873 to 1S80 
a member on several state commissions. 
He was a member of the Rhode Island 
Medical Society ; a member of the Loyal 
Legion ; past master of Manchester 
Lodge, No. 12, Ancient Free and Accept- 
ed Masons, of Anthony, Rhode Island ; 
filled successive chairs in Landmark 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Phenix, 



Rhode Island ; was a member of St. John's 
Commandery, Knights Templar, of Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. In politics he was 
usually a Republican. He was a com- 
municant of St. Philip's Protestant Ep- 
iscopal Church, Crompton, Rhode Island. 
Dr. Dedrick, married, November 7, 
1859, at Centreville, Rhode Island, Sarah 
Abbott, who was born at Clitheroe, Lan- 
cashire, England, 1840, and died at Centre- 
ville, Rhode Island, May 7, 1916. Her 
parents were James Abbott, born at Skip- 
ton, Yorkshire, England, in July, 1813, 
. and died at Fall River, Massachusetts, 
February, 1876; and Catherine (Henry) 
Abbott, born about 181 1 at Clitheroe, 
Lancashire, England, and died Novem- 
ber 20, 1891. James Abbott was the son 
of John and Elizabeth (Hamill) Abbott, 
whose children other than the above men- 
tioned were : John, born December 27, 
1795 ; Ann, born November 13, 1797 ; Jane, 
born January 23, 1801 ; Joseph, born May 
I, 1803 ; Reuben, born September 20, 1805 ; 
Thomas, born April 9, 1808 ; and Eliza- 
beth, born May 29, 1809. Catherine 
(Henry) Abbott was one of six children of 
whom the other five were : William, 
James, Ann, Mary, and Margaret. The 
Abbotts immigrated to America when 
their daughter Sarah was less than a year 
old, settling in Fall River, Massachusetts. 
Sometime during the years 1847 to 1850 
they removed to Clyde, Rhode Island, 
where James Abbott became manager for 
the Simon Henry Greene Company, 
calico printers there. In 1850 he became 
a partner of his brother-in-law, James 
Sanders, in the firm of Abbott & Sanders, 
operating a print works at Crompton. 
This partnership terminated about i860, 
when he went to Apponaug, Rhode Is- 
land, where he built a print works mill, 
but which, owing to conditions brought 
about by the Civil War, he was unable to 
put into operation. The Abbotts made 
10 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



their home at Cherrystone Park, now a 
suburban village called Eden Park. The 
children of James and Catherine (Henry) 
Abbott other than the above mentioned 
daughter, Sarah, were : Joseph, born in 
England, June i, 1838; Elizabeth Ann, 
born in Fall River, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 12 1842 ; William Henry, born in 
Fall River, November 4, 1844; and John 
Hammill, born in Fall River, August 11, 
1847. To Dr. Albert Clinton and Sarah 
(Abbott) Dedrick were born four chil- 
dren: I. Mary Smith, born at Crompton, 
Rhode Island, June, i860; died February 
21, 1861. 2. Mary Smith born at Crompton, 
December, 12, 1861, is still living in Cen- 
treville, Rhode Island. 3. Albert Clinton, of 
further mention. 4. William Martin, born 
Centreville, Rhode Island, March 9, 1871. 
He received his education in the public 
schools there and in the high school of 
Providence, Rhode Island ; after leaving 
school he clerked in the drug store of 
E. S. Anthony, and for more than a year 
was manager of Russeau & Brown's drug 
store in Woonsocket ; since i8g2 he has 
been in the business for himself at South 
Main street, Fall River, Massachusetts ; he 
has taken an active part in public affairs, 
having been alderman for six years ; he 
married, October 10, 1893, Elizabeth Alice 
Borden, born in Frankford, Pennsylvania, 
the daughter of William Arthur Borden ; 
their children are : Clinton Borden, born 
September 23, 1894; and Mary Ruth, born 
June 24, 1902. 

(IV) Dr. Albert Clinton (2) Dedrick, 
son of Dr. Albert Clinton (i) Dedrick, 
was born at Eden Park, Cranston, Rhode 
Island, December 10, 1864. He attended 
the public schools of Centreville, Rhode 
Island, the Mowry & Goff English and 
Classical High School in Providence, and 
the Bryant & Stratton Commercial School 
in Providence. He began the study of 
medicine under the instruction of his 



father, and in due course of time entered 
the New York Bellevue Hospital, from 
which he was graduated with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine, March 12, 1888. 
For three months he was associated with 
his father in Centreville. Since June I, 
1888, he has been in general practice in 
Fall River, Massachusetts. From 1899 to 
1903 he was city physician and ex-officio 
chairman of the board of health, having 
charge of the city hospital. 

Dr. Dedrick has a wide circle of friends 
and is especially popular in the various 
fraternal organizations to which he be- 
longs. He is a member of Puritan Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias ; of Fall River Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Man- 
chester Lodge, No. 12, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons of Anthony, Rhode Is- 
land ; Landmark Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons, of Phenix, Rhode Island ; Fall River 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; God- 
frey de Bouillion Commandery, Knights 
Templar, and the Massachusetts Consist- 
ory ; also the Fall River Lodge of Per- 
fection ; the Samuel C. Lawrence Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem, of Fall River; St. 
Andrew Chapter, Rose Croix, of Fall 
River; and Azab Grotto, of "Fall River. 
He organized the Knights of Pythias in 
Fall River in April, 1892, and is past 
chancellor of the lodge. He is a member 
of Cavendish Lodge, Sons of St. George, 
of Phenix. He is a communicant of St. 
Philip's Protestant Episcopal Church of 
Crompton, Rhode Island. He is a mem- 
ber of the American Public Health Assoc- 
iation. 

Dr. Dedrick married, January 24, 1894, 
May Leslie Law, born in Fall River, Jan- 
uary I, 1869, daughter of Herbert L. and 
Laura A. B. (Bliss) Law. Her father 
died in 1886. He was in business for 
many years as a grocer and provision 
dealer. Her mother died at the residence 
of her daughter, Mrs. A. C. Dedrick, at 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



No. 247 North Main street, Fall River, 
Massachusetts, November 2, 1917. Dr. 
and Mrs. Dedrick have one son, Albert 
Clinton, Jr., born at Fall River, March 
2, 1898. He attended Monson Academy, 
and is now a student of the textile in- 
dustry at the Granite Mills, Fall River, 
Massachusetts. Dr. and Mrs. Dedrick 
had another child, born in 1895, who died 
in infancy. 



LEWIS, Robert Joseph, 

Dental Surgeon. 

For a quarter of a century Dr. Lewis 
has been engaged in dental work at Fall 
River, Massachusetts, but it was not un- 
til 1908 that he opened offices under his 
own name and reaped a personal reward 
for his skill as a dental surgeon. The 
sixteen years of preparatory practice were 
under the names of others, but during 
their continuance he gained a wonderful 
skill and gentleness in professional work 
which was highly appreciated by the 
many he served, thus, when he finally 
opened offices of his own, there was 
awaiting him a large clientele who con- 
sidered him one of Fall River's best and 
leading dentists. The years that have 
since elapsed have but added to that re- 
putation, and his position in professional 
life is an honorable and assured one. Dr. 
Lewis came to Fall River from the State 
of Oregon, a grandson of Thomas Lewis, 
and a son of Thomas Arthur Lewis, both 
of English birth. 

Thomas Lewis, born in England, Au- 
gust 23, 1797, came to the United States, 
and died at Bards, Coos county, Oregon, 
July 3, 1877. His wife Harriet, whom he 
married December 6, 1872, died Septem- 
ber 27, 1877. Thomas Arthur Lewis was 
born in Elsberre, England, January 15, 
1841, died at Fall River, Massachusetts, 
January 20, 1915. He came to the United 



States, conducted a contracting business 
in Coos county, Oregon, until 1884, then 
came to Fall River, Massachusetts, where 
he continued that business during the ac- 
tive years of his life. He was a man of 
energy, uprightness and thrift, a Repub- 
lican in politics, widely known and highly 
esteemed. He married in Marshfield, Coos 
county, Oregon, June 17, 1876, Agnes M. 
Carney, born in Manchester, England, 
daughter of Thomas Carney, who died 
March 5, 1876, and his wife, Kathryn 
(Leonard) Carney. They were the par- 
ents of two sons : Robert Joseph, of 
further mention, and Thomas William, 
who was drowned at Tiverton, Rhode 
Island, August 3, 1909. 

Robert Joseph Lewis was born at Ban- 
don, Coos county, Oregon, February 6, 
1877, and there his parents resided until 
1884, when they came east, locating at 
Fall River, Massachusetts, traversing the 
width of the continent in their change of 
home. Robert J. attended the Fall River 
public grammar school and Notre Dame 
School until fifteen years of age, even at 
that age becoming deeply interested in 
labaratory work. In 1892 he began den- 
tal work with Dr. Cote, and for five years 
continued in that ofiflce, his principal du- 
ties being filling and mounting. Leaving 
Dr. Cote he spent the next twelve years 
in association with Dr. T. P. Sullivan, a 
leading dentist with whom he acquired 
a skill and a reputation equal to the best 
in the city. Deciding to engage in prac- 
tice under his own name, he successfully 
passed the State Board of Dental Examin- 
ers on April 2, 1908, and on September 
8, 1908, he opened dental offices at Fall 
River and has there conducted a most 
successful practice until the present, 

(1917)- 

Dr. Lewis is a member of various pro- 
fessional and social organizations, mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective 



'7 






ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Order of Elks, a communicant of Sacred 
Heart Roman Catholic Church, in politics 
an Independent Republican, and for four 
years, beginning with the Spanish-Ameri- 
can war period, he was a member of Com- 
pany I, Massachusetts Naval Brigade, the 
headquarters of that company being at 
the Fall River Armory. 



KINDLE, Joseph Henry, 

Well Known Chemist. 

We could find no better example of 
the essential kinsmanship between the 
two great branches of the English-speak- 
ing race, between the people of England 
and their descendants in America, and 
of the ease with which a member of one 
branch becomes identified with the mem- 
bers of the other when he goes to live 
among them than the case of Joseph 
Henry Hindle, one of the most prominent 
citizens of Fall River, Massachusetts, 
where his public spirit and essential 
democracy has made him respected and 
admired by his fellow citizens generally. 

Born in the town of Darwin, Lanca- 
shire, England, Mr. Hindle comes of old 
English stock, his forebears having lived 
in that country from time immemorial. 
His grandfather, Joseph Hindle, was a 
native of England and there he resided 
during his entire life, being engaged in 
the printing business. He married Jen- 
nie Yates, a native of the same place, 
and they became the parents of several 
children, three of whom are alive at the 
present time and are now engaged in the 
printing business. One of these children 
was Havvorth Hindle, the father of the 
Mr. Hindle of this sketch. Haworth 
Hindle was born near Accrington Church, 
Accrington, England, and continued to 
reside there all his life, engaged in the 
printing business. He was a methodist 
in his religious belief, and was a very good 



man and highly thought of by his neigh- 
bors. He married Elizabeth Watson, a 
native of Darwin, Lancashire, and they 
were the parents of eleven children, six 
boys and five girls. 

Joseph Henry Hindle passed the early 
years of his childhood in his native vil- 
lage of Darwin, but while still a mere 
youth migrated to Scotland and there 
took up his abode in the city of Glasgow, 
where he continued his education, attend- 
ing the famous schools of that place for 
the purpose. After completing the ele- 
mentary portion of his studies at these 
institutions, he matriculated at Ander- 
son College, Glasgow, and was graduated 
therefrom with the class of 1888. At 
Anderson College Mr. Hindle had de- 
voted his particular attention to the 
course in chemistry, and it has been as 
a chemist that he has continued to work 
ever since. After leaving college, he be- 
came a chemist at the little village of 
Busby, which is situated in the neighbor- 
hood of Glasgow, and here he remained 
for a number of years. He also was em- 
ployed by the Inglis and Wakefield Com- 
pany, a large concern of printers in that 
neighborhood, and there continued for 
eight years. It was at the end of that 
period that Mr. Hindle first came to the 
New World, although it was not until 
much later that he settled in the United 
States. His first home on this side of 
the ocean was at Porto Alegre, Brazil, 
where he was engaged in various chemical 
works for two and a half years. Follow- 
ing this he returned to Europe and there 
travelled in Portugal and Germany, where 
he studied the application of the new 
knowledge in chemistry to the art of 
printing. Of this branch of his subject 
he became a master, and it was then that 
he came to Canada where for fifteen years 
he was associated with the Dominion Tex- 
tile Company of Quebec. It was in i8g6 



13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that he began this association, and in 
1912 he came to Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts, where he has remained ever 
since. Here he became associated with 
the American Printing Company, the 
largest calico printing company in the 
world, and has now been with this con- 
cern for five years. In that time he has 
made himself invaluable to his employers, 
and is now one of the most trusted and 
valued men on the staff. Mr. Hindle is 
one of those rare characters which find 
their entire interest in their work. One 
of those fortunate characters, for surely 
it is true that as Carlyle says, "Blessed 
is the man who has found his work." And 
this is indeed the case with Mr. Hindle. 
He does not take any active part in the 
social side of life, since his mind is else- 
where. He is not a member of clubs, fra- 
ternities or other organizations of a 
similar nature — he is not interested in 
them. In his own phrase, brief and to 
the point he "attends strictly to business 
and has no time for anything else." But 
this applies only to worldly interests. 
There are certain matters of another kind 
altogether with which he concerns him- 
self deeply and to which he gives the 
closest attention. These are certainly not 
calculated to take his attention, but 
rather to center it there. These are mat- 
ters connected with his religious belief, 
which is a very strong factor in his life 
and far more operative in his conduct 
than is the case with the majority of men. 
Mr. Hindle is a staunch adherent of the 
Presbyterian belief and attends Dr. Mar- 
tin's Church of that denomination at Fall 
River. He also gives much earnest 
thought to his duties as a citizen, and 
being of an independent turn of mind has 
not allied himself irrevocably with any 
political creed. He calls himself an Inde- 
pendent and allows nothing but his hon- 



est conviction of what will be to the best 
advantage of the community to sway him 
in the casting of his ballot. 

Joseph Henry Hindle was united in 
marriage, September 15, 1896, at Eagles- 
han, Scotland, with Agnes Brown Mc- 
Cartney, a native of Glasgow, born in the 
year 1869, a daughter of William McCart- 
ney, also a native of that city. Mr. Mc- 
Cartney was a farmer by occupation, and 
it was a privilege that he prized that his 
farm included a portion of the farm of 
Robert Burns, so that he often plowed the 
same land as that furrowed by the great 
poet, and may even have turned over the 
lineal descendant of the flower apostro- 
phized by him. Mr. McCartney was mar- 
ried to Maggie Riggins, and Mrs. Hindle 
is one of their children. 

We have a term in America which 
probably originated here, and which ex- 
presses better than any other one of the 
peculiar products of our social life. That 
term is "the self-made man" and sums 
up with a certain pungent precision com- 
mon to popular phrases a type with 
which we are all familiar. It would be 
difficult to find a better example of what 
is meant by the term than in the person 
of Joseph Henry Hindle, of Fall River, 
the distinguished gentleman whose name 
heads this brief appreciation, one of the 
successful figures in the industrial life of 
the community, and one of those whose 
influence is felt strongly by all his as- 
sociates. He enjoys the most enviable 
reputation, the highest kind of business 
standing, and his social position is of the 
highest. Virtuous, honorable, public-spir- 
ited, his career exhibits strikingly those 
qualities typical of the best English 
strains which have contributed so greatly 
to the prosperity and development of the 
country. 



14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BLOSSOM, Waiiam Wesley, 

Manufactory Superintendent. 

William Wesley Blossom, the well 
known business man and public-spirited 
citizen of Fall River, Massachusetts, is a 
member of an old New England family, 
which resided for many years in the town 
of Somerset in this State. Here in the 
early part of the last century was living 
one Barnabus Blossom, a native of the 
town, and grandfather of William Wes- 
ley Blossom. Barnabus Blossom was the 
owner of a planing mill and contracted 
for woodworking jobs in this region, and 
it is said that he finished the woodwork 
for a greater number of the mills of Fall 
River than any other man. He was a 
Republican in politics, and a Baptist in 
his religious belief. He married Nancy 
Davis, who was, like himself, a native of 
Somerset. One of their children was 
William Elijah Blossom, father of the 
Mr. Blossom of this sketch. William Eli- 
jah Blossom was born at Somerset, and 
as a young man became a bookkeeper and 
accountant, and followed this line of work 
during practically his entire life. He mar- 
ried Mabel Ripley, a native of Fall River, 
a daughter of Luther Ripley, of that city. 
They were the parents of three children : 
Luther Ripley; William Wesley, of 
whom further ; and Romaine Frances. Mr. 
and Mrs. Blossom, Sr., were staunch 
members of the Baptist church, and their 
children were all reared in this persua- 
sion. 

Born September 7, 1886, in the city of 
Fall River, William Wesley Blossom has 
made this his home consistingly ever 
since. Here he formed his first youthful 
impression and here he gained the ele- 
mentary portion of his education at the 
local grammar school. He later attended 
the Bradford Matthew Chaloner Durfee 
High School, from which he was gradu- 



ated with the class of 1904. Upon com- 
pleting his studies at this institution, Mr. 
Blossom was employed by the Stevens 
Mill in the capacity of helper, and there 
remained for about one year. At the end 
of this period Mr. Blossom found an op- 
portunity to resume his studies, and en- 
tered the Bradford Matthew Chaloner 
Durfee Textile School, and after studying 
there for about one year graduated with 
the class of 1907. He then took up once 
more the industrial line in which he had 
commenced, and this time secured a posi- 
tion as third hand in the Cornell Mill, 
being employed in the cardroom. Some 
time afterwards he was advanced to se- 
cond hand in the cardroom. Not long 
afterwards he secured a similar position 
in the cardroom of the Arkwright Mill. 
Here he advanced to the position of over- 
seer of the cardroom, and then once more 
returned in this capacity to the Cornell 
Mill, where he worked for six years. In 
the year 1912 he was offered the position 
of superintendent of the Laurel Lake 
Company, which he accepted, and which 
he holds at the present time. In his 
political belief Mr. Blossom is a sup- 
porter of the principles and policies of 
the Republican party, but he is a man 
of very independent mind and one 
who believes in the highest kind of po- 
litical ethics, so that partisan considera- 
tions count for but very little with him 
in comparison with what he holds to be 
the best welfare of the community. He is 
a Baptist by religious conviction, and at- 
tends the First Church of that denomina- 
tion in Fall River. Mr. Blossom is also 
a conspicuous figure in the fraternal and 
club life of the community, especially in 
connection with the Masonic Order, hav- 
ing taken his thirty-second degree in Free, 
Masonry. He is a member of King 
Philip's Lodge, Ancient Free and Accept- 
ed Masons ; the Chapter, Royal Arch 



15 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Masons ; the Council, Royal and Select 
Masters; Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar; and R. I. 
Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the 
Royal Secret. 

William Wesley Blossom was united 
in marriage, March 8, 1916, in the city 
of Fall River, with Ruby Buffington 
Morse, a native of this city, born in 1889, 
a daughter of Ezekiel and Mary (Mar- 
lowe) Morse, natives and lifelong resi- 
dents here. 



MARCOUX, Ephraim Alphonse, M. D., 

Physician. 

In the last century many families of 
French extraction have come to New 
England by way of Canada, and the de- 
scendants are found among the most ac- 
tive, progressive and useful Americans of 
to-day. Under our excellent educational 
system the children are educated and 
many are found in the learned profes- 
sions. Alphonse Marcoux, of St. John, 
Canada, was the father of Joseph Al- 
phonse Marcoux, who lived in that city, 
whence he removed to Martha's Vine- 
yard, and later settled in Fall River, 
where he was an extensive contractor 
and builder. Many of the houses on 
North Main street in that city were con- 
structed by him. He married Adeline 
Sabourin of Ottawa, Canada. 

Dr. Ephraim Alphonse Marcoux, son 
of Joseph Alphonse and Adeline (Sabou- 
rin) Marcoux, was born October 6, 1881, 
in Fall River, and received excellent edu- 
cational advantages, attending the public 
schools of the city, including the Durfee 
High School, was subsequently a student 
at Tibodeau Commercial College, and 
graduated from the Baltimore Medical 
College with the degree of M. D., in 1904. 
He immediately began the practice of 
medicine in his native city, where he con- 



tinued four years, and removed to Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. After four and one- 
half years of successful practice in that 
city he returned to Fall River in 1915, and 
now enjoys a large and lucrative practice 
in that city, specializing in diseases of 
women. Dr. Marcoux is a student, keep- 
ing abreast of the times, and gives little 
attention to anything outside of his pro- 
fession. The inevitable consequence is 
that he has achieved, in a short period, a 
remarkable success, and is widely esteem- 
ed by his contemporaries. While he is 
not especially interested in political move- 
ments, he takes the interest of every good 
citizen in the progress of events. He is 
not bound by the edicts of any party, 
acting independently in politics, and is a 
faithful member of the Roman Catholic 
church. He is also a member of the 
Loyal Order of Moose and physician of 
the order, St. John Baptiste Society of 
America, Artisans Club, and the Fall 
River Medical Society. 

Dr. Marcoux married, in Fall River, 
September 8, 1904, Mary Salvina La- 
moureaux, daughter of Aphanese La- 
moureaux, a successful furniture dealer of 
Fall River. Dr. and Mrs. Marcoux have 
a daughter, Irene Blanche, born 1905. 
A son died at the age of four years. 



THIBAULT, Onesime, 

Journalist. 

The years, 1862-1885, were spent by 
Mr. Thibault in his native city, Levis, 
capital of the County of Levis, Province 
of Quebec, Canada, a city of convents, col- 
leges, mills and factories, with great 
docks and extensive shipping trade. Levis 
or Levis Town or Port Levis, as it is var- 
iously called, is now an important point, 
being a landing place for passengers from 
Europe and heavily fortified against ene- 
my attack. His ancestors came from 



16 




(y^td^.6^9te^ \y^^<^^^^t:^*.•c^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Normandie, France, but his mother was 
born in Canada. His father came from 
Champagne, in the western part of 
France. He was among the early eight- 
eenth century French settlers in Canada, 
and bore his part in developing that 
county, even before it passed out of 
French control. 

A descendant of this hardy French 
pioneer was Charles Thibault, born at St. 
Gervais, Quebec, March 25, 1839, and died 
at St. Merie, Quebec, February 12, 1914. 
He married at Levis, Quebec, in i860, Vir- 
ginie Boucher, born at Ste. Anne de la 
Pocatiere, Quebec, May 17, 1828, daugh- 
ter of Raphael Boucher, a farmer, born 
at the same place as his daughter, in 1804, 
and his wife, Celeste (Lagasse) Boucher. 
Raphael Boucher was a son of Francois 
and Marie Louise (Ouellet) Boucher. 
Charles Thibault was a successful mer- 
chant of Levis, highly esteemed in his city 
by all who knew him. Four of his six chil- 
dren died young, his two sons surviving: 
Onesime, of further mention, and Joseph, 
a photographer, born April 23, 1871, at 
Levis. 

Onesime Thibault, eldest son of 
Charles and Virginie (Boucher) Thibault, 
was born at Levis, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, April 23, 1862, and spent there the 
years until 1885. x^fter completing pri- 
mary and intermediate courses, he entered 
a preparatory school, Montmagny Col- 
lege, Montmagny, was graduated with 
the class of 1880, and at once matricula- 
ted at Ste. Anne College, Levis, whence 
he was graduated A. B., class of 1884. 
A year later he came to the United States, 
was employed in a drug store at Fall 
River, Massachusetts, for two years, then 
embarked upon his extraordinarily suc- 
cessful career in journalism. In 1887 he 
founded "L'Independent," a weekly news- 
paper printed in the French language, of 
which he was owner, editor and publisher. 
He continued the paper as a private enter- 
Mass— 8— 2 



prise until 1900, then organized the L'In- 
dependent Publishing Co., a corporation 
which took over the business, Mr. Thi- 
bault being treasurer and manager. The 
sphere of the paper extends far beyond 
local limits, and is the leading French 
newspaper of Southern Massachusetts. 
"L'Independent" has been a daily since 
1893, and is an advertising medium of 
great value, entering about every French 
home in the Fall River section. The com- 
pany established a branch office at New 
Bedford, still under their management, 
although an independent newspaper in 
that city. Mr. Thibault is manager of "L'- 
Independent" and has conducted it in a 
wise and patriotic manner, meeting with 
the approbation of his countrymen and in 
line with the truest American principles. 
As a business proposition, the paper has 
been profitable, and in its sphere has 
borne an important part in the upbuild- 
ing of Fall River. Mr. Thibault is a mem- 
ber of the Calumet Club of Fall River, 
and of the Ligue des Patriots ; is Repub- 
lican in his political faith, and a member 
of Ste. Anne Roman Catholic Church. 

He married, in New York, September 
II, 1888, Anne M. Duval, born in Mon- 
treal, Canada, July 15, 1862, a daughter 
of Joseph Charles and Louise (Barlow) 
Duval, her father a locksmith, born in 
Montreal in 1818, her mother born near 
Quebec, in 1826. Mrs. Thibault is a lady 
of culture and literary ability, her pub- 
lished work, "Fleurs du Printemps," ap- 
pearing in 1892. Other writings from her 
gifted pen have been published in news- 
papers and magazines. Mr. and Mrs. 
Thibault are the parents of sons and 
daughters : Louise, born September 22, 
1892, an artist in oil; Gabrielle, born De- 
cember I, 1894, a school teacher; Benja- 
min, born April 26, 1898, a musician ; 
Josephine, born October 7, 1899, yet a 
student ; Francois, born April 7, 1905. 



17 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



TALBOT, Edmond P., 
Srnggist. 

Edmond P. Talbot, of Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, has attained distinction not 
only as a successful man of business, but 
as a leader of his political party, keenly 
interested in municipal affairs. No man 
in the city is better known than he and 
and no man has a wider circle of friends. 

Mr. Talbot was bom in Tingwick, Pro- 
vince of Athabaska, Canada, April 21, 
1884, son of Charles and Celina (Vidal) 
Talbot. His father is a weaver by trade. 

Mr. Talbot was a boy of ten when the 
family came to the United States. He 
received his education in the schools of 
his native town, at St. Mary's parochial 
school in Kingston, New York, in the 
Davol School in Fall River and at Notre 
Dame College. He began his business 
career as a clerk in the drug store of A. 
S. Letournean. After completing his edu- 
cation as a druggist and pharmacist and 
passing the state examinations, he en- 
gaged in business on his own account, 
and since 1900 he has been the proprietor 
of one of the best drug stores in Fall 
River, year after year his business in- 
creasing largely. In an exceptional degree 
Mr. Talbot has shown his qualification for 
the line of business in which he is en- 
gaged and in which he has won such sub- 
stantial success. Having the best of pre- 
liminary training and possessing good 
judgment, integrity, enterprise, excellent 
business ability and personality that wins 
and attracts customers, he has taken a 
place among the most prominent mer- 
chants of the city. 

He was a director of the Lafayette Co- 
operative Bank of Fall River. In political 
affairs, he takes rank among the leaders 
of his party. He has always been a firm 
believer in the principles of the Demo- 
cratic party and has been active in its 



councils. He was a member of the Board 
of Park and Cemetery Commissioners 
from 1908 to 1916, and a representative 
of Ninth Bristol District, Massachusetts 
in 1915. He was the Democratic 
nominee for mayor of the city in 
1916, and made a splendid show- 
ing at the polls, having more than five 
thousand votes. His friends confidently 
expect that he will be the candidate of 
his party in 1918 and that he will be 
elected. He enjoys the confidence and 
support of the large foreign population of 
the city to an unusual degree. Mr. Tal- 
bot is well known in the various fraternal 
orders and clubs of Fall River. He is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus, 
Foresters of America, St. Jean de Bap- 
tiste of America, Guarde de Napoleon, 
Ligue des Patriots, and Loyal Order of 
Moose. In the Foresters he has held the 
office of chief ranger and financial secre- 
tary, and was a delegate to the National 
convention of the Foresters in 1915. He 
is a member of the Calumet Club, the 
King Philip Boat Club and the Franco 
Club, all of Fall River. In religion, he is 
a Roman Catholic. 

Mr. Talbot married Marie Alma Beau- 
pre, daughter of Philip and Mary (Para- 
dis) Beaupre. They have five children: 
Roland Edmond, born 1906; Henrietta, 
1908; Anita, 1910; Germaine, 1912; and 
Marie Alva, 1914. 



ZUILL, Robert Winfred, 

Business Man. 

The sure advancement which awaits 
the young man of energy, ambition and 
clean living in American business does 
not need demonstration, but in the life 
of Robert W. Zuill, treasurer and direc- 
tor of the Cornell Mills, Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, the young man who would 
learn from the lives of others may find 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



much that will profit and encourage him. 
Mr. Zuill enjoys the distinction of being 
one of the youngest men ever elected in 
Fall River to so responsible a position as 
that which he holds, and every step of 
the way has been won by personal effort. 
He began at the bottom and was so 
capable an assistant bookkeeper that his 
rise to higher position was almost auto- 
matic, at least it had to be. Without 
influential friends, save such as he made 
for himself by efificient performance of as- 
signed duties, he rose quietly and mod- 
estly to his present position, one which 
he most ably fills. 

But three generations of this family 
have resided in the United States, Wil- 
liam Pratt Zuill, born in Bermuda, West 
Indies, being the founder. He settled in 
New York City when a young man, learn- 
ed the sailmaker's trade, and later estab- 
lished a loft in New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts, then a great whaling port. He 
spent several years in New Bedford, 
then moved to Fall River, Massachusetts, 
there residing until his death, March i6, 
1895. During the excitement caused by 
the discovery of gold in California, he 
caught the "gold fever" and spent two 
years in California, then returned to 
Fall River. He was a highly respected 
citizen, a member of King Philip Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, a good busi- 
ness man and expert workman. William 
P. Zuill married Elizabeth M. Fuller, of 
New London, Connecticut, who survived 
him three years, her death date, March 
28, 1898, her age, sixty-seven years. They 
were the parents of two daughters : Ade- 
laide, died unmarried ; Gertrude, married 
Clarence Bufifington ; and a son, also Wil- 
liam P. Zuill. 

William Pratt Zuill, only son of his 
parents, was born during the residence of 
the family in New Bedford, A-Iassachu- 
setts, November 21, 1853. He was but 



a young boy when removal was made 
to Fall River, and in that city he was 
educated. When old enough to choose 
a trade he selected that of his father, and 
under his father's expert instruction he 
became equally noted as a sailmaker. 
Father and son were contemporary in the 
business for many years and partners un- 
til death claimed the senior member. Mr. 
Zuill ihen continued alone and is yet ac- 
tively interested in the business of sail 
making in Fall River. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, a man of good character 
and upright life. He married Abbie 
Luella Manchester, born in Fall River, 
July 4, 1855, daughter of Henry and 
Hannah (Vickery) Manchester. Mr. and 
Mrs. Zuill are the parents of an only 
child, Robert Winfred, whose life is the 
mspiration of this review. 

Robert Winfred Zuill was born at Fall 
River, Massachusetts, November 13, 1873, 
and there has passed his years, forty-four. 
He passed the grammar school grades of 
the public schools and completed his first 
year in high school, then entered business 
life. In December, 1891, he began his 
long connection with the Cornell Mills as 
assistant bookkeeper under Fred E. Wa- 
terman, then treasurer of the mills. He 
continued as bookkeeper at the Cornell 
Mills for ten years, until May, 1901, then 
Mr. Waterman having been elected treas- 
urer of the Stafford Mills, transferred 
Mr. Zuill to the same duty at the Stafford 
Mills. He continued in that position 
seven years, when he was recalled to the 
Cornell Mills as head bookkeeper. Mr. 
Waterman died May 14, 1909, and 
the board of directors at once ap- 
pointed Mr. Zuill temporary treasurer 
but with authority to act. At the 
regular meeting of the board, IMay 
25, 1909, he was elected treasurer of the 
corporation, his ability, energy and ef- 
ficiency having been fully proven during 



19 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the years he had been connected with the 
mills as assistant and chief accountant. 
While he had the advantage of training 
under one of the ablest treasurers the 
cotton trade of Fall River has ever pro- 
duced, it was the fact that he possessed 
the necessary qualifications, otherwise 
Mr. Waterman would not have given 
him the opportunity to become his as- 
sociate, nor have bestowed that priceless 
mark of confidence that he did by select- 
ing Mr. Zuill as his successor. At the 
same time, Mr. Zuill was elected treas- 
urer he was also made a director of the 
Cornell Mills Corporation. He has ably 
filled his dual positions, and under his 
financial guidance the affairs of that de- 
partment of the mills has kept pace with 
all others. 

Mr. Zuill has many business affiliations 
as well as social and fraternal. His clubs 
are the Arkwright of Boston, the Que- 
quechan and Yacht of Fall River. He is 
a member of King Philip Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Fall River Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Fall River 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
and Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery, 
Knights Templar. In religious faith he 
is Methodist Episcopal ; in politics an In- 
dependent Republican. 

He married, at Fall River, February 29, 
191 6, Margaret Adams, born at Fall 
River, July 19, 1890, daughter of Thomas 
and Annie (Grey) Adams, her father born 
in Blackstone, Rhode Island, a loom fixer 
and councilman of Fall River, her mother 
born in Glasgow, Scotland. 

Yet a young man, the future holds 
nothing but promise for Mr. Zuill. He 
is a strong, self reliant man, he believes in 
the Gospel work, and deems it an honor to 
have won his way from the bottom of 
the ladder through his own efforts rather 
than by luck of fortune's wheel or through 
the influence of friends. He is kindly 



hearted, genial and generous, values the 
friendship of his fellowmen and possesses 
a wealth of friends. 



WESTALL, John, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. John Westall, who is one of the 
most successful and popular physicians of 
Fall River, Massachusetts, is not himself 
a native of this country, but is a member 
of that other branch of the great Anglo- 
Saxon race which recent events in the 
world's history have been drawing so 
much closer together and overcoming 
whatever prejudice they may formerly 
have felt for one another. Indeed Dr. 
Westall is himself an example of how 
closely related, not only in blood but in 
customs and institutions, are the English 
and American peoples, in the ease and 
rapidity with which he became identified 
with the customs and life of his adopted 
country. Dr. Westall is a native of Lan- 
cashire, England, where he was born May 
10, 1861, and is a son of William and 
Betsy Alice (Grimshaw) Westall, the 
former being a native of London and the 
latter of Lancashire. 

The childhood of Dr. Westall was 
passed in his native region and it was 
there that he gained the elementary por- 
tion of his education, attending for this 
purpose a local public school. He was still 
little more than a lad when his parents 
emigrated from England to America 
and settled in Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. It was the ambition of 
the lad to study medicine and make 
this his profession in life, and this 
desire of his was encouraged by his 
father, a steel engraver and block printer, 
who assisted his son to such educa- 
tional advantages as he desired. Accord- 
ingly, in the year 1889, the young man 
matriculated at Dartmouth College, there 




^ ' / - f ^ (^/) y^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pursued the medical course, and was 
graduated with the class of 1891 and the 
degree of M. D. He was essentially a 
student, however, and felt that a still 
further familiarity with his subject was 
to be desired, and accordingly he entered 
Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and here had six months' 
practice as an interne at the Jefferson 
Hospital connected therewith. As a youth 
Dr. Westall had had considerable exper- 
ience in the business world in his native 
land, having for some time held a clerical 
position in the employ of the British Gov- 
ernment in Lancashire, which position 
he resigned upon coming to America. In 
this country, after living for a time in Fall 
River, he went to Boston where, during 
the intervals of his education, he was em- 
ployed in several different capacities for 
a few years. He then returned to Fall 
River, worked for a while in a cotton mill 
and there learned to spin cotton, and 
later spent six years at the Flint Mills. 
During all this time he was engaged in 
privately studying works on medicine, 
and eventually entered Dartmouth Col- 
lege as has been stated above. Upon 
completing his course at the Jefferson 
Medical College, Dr. Westall returned to 
Fall River and opened an office at No. 
15 1 5 South Main street, and after pros- 
pering for a number of years, he removed 
to his present quarters. No. 951 South 
Main street. This property Dr. Westall 
purchased prior to his moving there, and 
he now enjoys a most desirable and lu- 
crative practice, which is still rapidly 
growing, and he has become a prominent 
figure in medical circles in the com- 
munity. 

But it has not been only in his profes- 
sional capacity that Dr. Westall has be- 
come well known in Fall River. On the 
contrary he has interested himself in 
many departments of the city's life. He 



is a staunch Republican in his political 
faith, and was elected to the Common 
Council of the city from Ward Two and 
reelected without opposition. He was 
chairman of the Republican Committee 
of Ward Two in 1898, during the ad- 
ministration of Mayor Jackson, and has 
in many ways served his party and the 
community-at-large in connection with 
public affairs. Dr. Westall is a member 
of the Fall River Medical Society, and 
has for a number of years been physician 
to the local court of the Robinhood So- 
ciety, and of the Working St. George's 
Society. He is also a member of Crom- 
well Lodge, Daughters of St. George, 
and of the Juvenile Court of Foresters of 
Boston. ■ In addition to these orders, he 
is also a member of the local lodge An- 
cient Free and Accepted Masons ; Nara- 
gansett Pocassett Lodge, Knights of Py- 
thias ; Fall River Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; the British Club 
of Fall River, and the Fall River Cham- 
ber of Commerce. Dr. Westall attends 
the Episcopal church, and has been active 
in the work thereof in the community. 

Dr. John Westall was united in mar- 
riage, July 7, 1884, in the City of Boston, 
Massachusetts, with Elizabeth Har- 
graves, a native of Lancashire, England, 
a daughter of Maxwell and Helen Har- 
graves. One child has been born to 
Dr. and Mrs. Westall, Lillian Gertrude, 
February 4, 1885, who is now the wife 
of Harold A. Horton, who is manager of 
Horton's Garage, of Fall River, where 
they reside. The other members of Dr. 
Westall's family attend the Episcopal 
church. 



DOTEN, Frederick Bartlett, 

Civil War Veteran. 

The American advent of this family 
was in the "Mayflower." It has produced 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



merchants of wealth and renown, men 
high in finance ; others have humbly 
sailed the seas, penetrating every clime 
on the face of the globe ; but the vast 
majority have educated their children 
well and have brought them up to lead 
useful lives. 

In the Revolution they took an active 
part. The Dotens were in the Seminole 
War in Florida ; in the war for sailors' 
rights, they were at Plattsburgh and 
Sacketts Harbor; in the Mexican War 
they were at Chepultepec ; in the fratri- 
cidal strife in 1861 some followed the 
Stars and Stripes, and others of the name 
the Stars and Bars. They were at Fred- 
ericksburg, Chancellorsville and in the 
Wilderness. In the Spanish War, de- 
scendants of the name were with Theo- 
dore Roosevelt at Kettle Hill. In religion 
we find them among the Quakers, and 
even among the Mormons, as well as all 
the leading denominations. Among those 
who have achieved special prominence 
have been Hon. John Lamb Doty, United 
States consul to Bermuda, under Cleve- 
land ; Hon. Lakewood L. Doty, private 
secretary to both Governors Morgan and 
Seymour, and afterwards United States 
consul to Nassau ; Professor Frank A. 
Sherman, of Dartmouth College ; and 
Hosea Doten, the mathematician and 
astronomer. 

(I) Edward Doten, immigrant ances- 
tor, was a London youth, who came over 
in the "Mayflower" as an apprentice of 
Stephen Hopkins. The first account we 
have of Edward Doten is in Cape Cod 
harbor, where he signed the cabin con- 
tract. Stephen Hopkins was a tanner of 
London, and joined the Pilgrims at 
Southampton. The "Mayflower" arrived 
at Cape Cod, November 11, 1620, and the 
first duty of the Pilgrims was to find a 
suitable landing spot. The shallop they 
brought with them for shore explorations 



was out of commission, and a few hardy 
ones volunteered to, make an inland jour- 
ney. Sixteen in all went ashore, and they 
were the first Englishmen permanently 
to land in New England. In this party 
was Edward Doten. They started No- 
vember 15, and were gone several days. 
A few Indians, whom they met, ran away 
from them, and they found some Indian 
corn which they brought back to the 
ship, the first they had ever seen. On 
December 6, the shallop being ready, a 
party of ten set out by water, and of 
these Edward Doten was one. The 
weather was extremely cold, the seas 
rough and boisterous, and they encount- 
ered much hardship. On Friday, Decem- 
ber 8, in a terrible snowstorm, they 
reached a point of land now known as 
Clark's Island. Here they remained all 
day of the 9th, Sunday, as became men 
of their profession. It is said that Ed- 
ward Doten attempted to first leap on the 
island, but was checked, and the master's 
mate was allowed to land first, after 
whom the island was named. On Mon- 
day, December 11 (our 21st, Forefather's 
Day) they sounded the harbor, and sailed 
for the mainland, mooring at Plymouth 
Rock. It was a hard winter for the Pil- 
grims that first winter at Plymouth. 
They were little prepared for such rig- 
orous climate, and their suffering was 
consequently great. Disease attacked 
them ; death thinned their numbers. Ed- 
ward Doten being young and strong of 
frame, was one of the survivors. He was 
made a freeman in 1633. In 1624 Edward 
Doten received land on what is now Wat- 
son's Hill. In 1637 he was allotted sixty 
acres on Mount Hill ; also, he owned 
land in Yarmouth, Cohasset, Dartmouth, 
Lakenham, and Punckquasett, now Ti- 
verton, Rhode Island. He was a private 
in the militia, and lived in the town of 
Plymouth, High Cliff, Plain Dealing, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which is the name Theodore Roosevelt 
adopted for his Virginia country place. 

Edward Doten died August 24, 1655, 
and his will bears the date of May 20, 
of that year; the appraisement was one 
hundred and thirty-seven pounds, nine- 
teen shillings. He married Faith, daugh- 
ter of Thurston and Faith Clarke, Janu- 
ary 6, 1634. She was born in Ipswich, 
England, in 1619. Her parents came to 
Plymouth in 1634. After her husband's 
decease she married John Phillips ; she 
died at Marshfield in 1675, and is buried 
in the old cemetery there. Children of 
Edward and Faith Doten : Edward, John, 
of further mention ; Thomas, Samuel, 
Desire, Elizabeth, Isaac, Joseph and 
Mary. 

(II) John Doten, second son of Ed- 
ward and Faith (Clarke) Doten, was born 
in Plymouth, Massachusetts, May 14, 
1639, and died there. May 8, 1701^. He 
was a farmer and settled in Plymouth. 
He received a share of the patrimonial 
estate; besides, he was granted by the 
town, January 8, 1665, three acres of 
meadow at Turkey Swamp; January 31, 
1668, thirty acres at Island Pond ; in 
1694 was given a piece of the "gurnet," a 
headland on the coast near Plymouth ; 
and in 1701 a valuable lot of ground. His 
mother signed over to him all of her right 
and title to her late husband's land in 
Plymouth. He was a juryman in 1675- 
76-79, and 1680-83-84. In 1671 he was 
highway surveyor, and again in 1675, and 
in 1680 was constable. His will was 
executed April 15, 1701, and probated in 
June of that year. His descendants still 
reside in Plymouth, among whom are 
preserved heirlooms and traditions of the 
family. He married (first) in 1667, Eliz- 
abeth, daughter of Jacob Cooke, who was 
a native of Holland, and the son of Fran- 
cis Cooke, who came over in the "May- 
flower," but Jacob and his mother came 



in the "Ann," three years later. Eliza- 
beth Doten died before John Doten, and 
he married (second) Sarah, daughter of 
Giles Rickard. Elizabeth Doten, the first 
wife, had children : John, Edward, Jacob, 
Elizabeth, Isaac, Samuel, Elisha, of fur- 
ther mention ; Josiah and Martha. Sarah 
Doten, the second wife, had children : 
Sarah, Patience, and Desire. Sarah 
(Rickard) Doten married, after her hus- 
band's death, Joseph Peterson. 

(III) Elisha Doten, sixth son of John 
and Elizabeth (Cooke) Doten, was born 
in Plymouth, July 13, 1686, followed 
farming, and died their before 1756. On 
March 11, 1711, he was granted a house 
lot provided he build thereon during the 
year. In 1716 he united with his broth- 
ers, Isaac, Samuel and Joseph, in a deed 
to their sister Elizabeth, as they knew 
it was their father's intention to do so 
before he died. Pie married Hannah 

, and their children were : Elisha, 

Samuel, Hannah, died young; Edward, 
Hannah, Paul, Lois, Stephen, of further 
mention ; and James. 

(IV) Stephen Doten, fifth son of 
Elisha and Hannah Doten, vvas born in 
Plymouth, January 24, 1726, and spent 
his life there. He married (first) Anna, 
daughter of John and Sarah (Cobb) Bart- 
lett. She was born in Plymouth in 1727. 
He married (second) the widow of Josie 
Donham. Children : Mary, Stephen, 
Sarah, Mercy, Hannah, Esther, Joseph, 
and John of further mention. 

(V) John (2) Doten, youngest son of 
Stephen and Hannah (Bartlett) Doten, 
was born in Plymouth, in 1766, and died 
in Sheffield, Massachusetts, in August, 
1825. It was not until this generation 
that the Dotens drifted from the family 
altars and firesides of their forefathers. 
John Doten went to Sheffield in 1814. He 
married, November 27, 1790, Mary, 
daughter of Isaac and Faith (Chandler) 



23 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Wright, of Plympton, Massachusetts. 
Children : James, Mary, Faith, Chandler, 
John, Bartlett, of further mention ; and 
Caleb. 

(VI) Bartlett Doten, third son of John 
(2) and Mary (Wright) Doten, was born 
in Plymouth, February 16, 1797, and died 
in Bridgeport, Connecticut, August 16, 
1867. He was a merchant and manufac- 
turer, residing in Sheffield and Bridge- 
port. He married, November 14, 1833, in 
Sheffield, Augusta, daughter of Colonel 
Darius and Sarah (Root) Mason. Chil- 
dren : Martha Ellen ; Frederick Bart- 
lett, of further mention ; Edward Mason, 
who was cashier of the First National 
Bank, of Chicopee ; Charles A., educated 
at Yale, a lawyer and judge at Bridge- 
port. 

(VII) Captain Frederick Bartlett Do- 
ten, eldest son of Bartlett and Augusta 
(Mason) Doten, was born in Sheffield, 
Massachusetts, December 9, 1841, and 
died in Chicopee, Massachusetts, April 9, 
1903. He was educated in the public 
schools of Sheffield and Bridgeport. As 
a young man he went to New York, where 
he took a position as clerk in a carriage 
manufacturing concern. He remained 
there until the outbreak of the Civil War, 
when he returned to Bridgeport and 
enlisted as a corporal in the Fourteenth 
Connecticut Regiment. For his bravery 
and excellent service he was promoted to 
first lieutenant, February 3, 1863, a"d to 
captain, October 20, 1863, and he served 
by detail on the staffs of General Hays 
and General Barlow. He participated in 
various of the most bloody battles of the 
war. At the battle of Fredericksburg the 
State flag, borne by his regiment, was 
picked up by Captain Doten and Major 
Hicks, after the color bearer had been 
shot down. It remained in their keeping 
all day, and they brought it safely from 
the field at the close of the engagement. 



At Morton's Ford he was captured and 
sent to Libby Prison. This was the most 
trying experience of all, but by his 
uncomplaining submission he won the 
respect of his keepers, and was conse- 
quently trusted beyond his other com- 
rades. After three months he was ex- 
changed through the intervention of 
Secretary Mallory, of the Confederate 
Cabinet, who knew his friends in Con- 
necticut. 

The war over, he returned to Bridge- 
port, remained for a short time, and then 
went to New York, where he entered the 
employment of Wood Brothers, carriage 
manufacturers. In 1871 he went to Chic- 
opee, entering the firm of Jerome Wells 
& Company, and about this time he ac- 
cepted the position of cashier of the First 
National Bank of Chicopee. He cared 
little for politics, less for political of- 
fice, being in no sense of the word 
a politician. He discharged his du- 
ties as a citizen at the polls. Twice 
he was induced to hold minor offices in 
the municipality — alderman and school 
committeeman — and he brought to the 
discharge of those duties his varied busi- 
ness experience and uncompromising 
honesty. He was a consistent member of 
the Unitarian church ; also a charter 
member of the Nayasset Club of Spring- 
field, and a companion of the Military 
Order of the Loyal Legion, Massachu- 
setts Commandery. He was a lover of 
music, and sang in the Unitarian choir, 
and was a member of the Orpheus Club, 
and a musical atmosphere prevaded the 
home circle. He was conservative in bus- 
iness afifairs, and was frequently consulted 
by those in need of advice and his judg- 
ment was rarely wrong. He was inti- 
mately connected with the business 
growth and life of Chicopee, and saw it 
grow to a large manufacturing city. 
Somewhat reticent by nature, he was at 



24 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



his best in his home, among those he 
loved. 

A comrade-in-arms said of him at his 
death : 

It is with a sad heart that I note in the Repub- 
lican of the loth the news of the death of Captain 
Fred B. Doten, of Chicopee. He was a fellow 
officer with me in the Old Fourteenth Connecticut 
Infantry during the Civil War, and was one of 
the best and bravest of the remarkable and dash- 
ing young fellows who worked their way up from 
the ranks to a commission. Death got in its work 
very frequently in the ranks of the Fourteenth, 
and hence promotions were quick and recurring; 
but in Captain Doten's case, at least, it was well 
deserved and acceptable to all concerned. At the 
battle of Morton's Ford, in 1864, when a staff 
officer of the old Second Corps, and engaged in 
carrying orders, I stopped for a chat with the old 
Regiment. I especially noted his gallant bearing 
and pleasing greeting. Our ranks are thinning 
fast of late years, but Fred Doten will be one of 
the most missed, for he was not only a brave and 
efficient soldier, but in those days, and since, ever 
and always a gentleman. 

Captain Doten married, October 4, 
1866, Georgiana L., daughter of Jerome 
and Louise (Rice) Wells, of Chicopee. 
Mrs. Doten is a member of the Unitarian 
church, and has served on the parish 
committee. She belongs to the Cosmo- 
politan Club, a woman's club of Spring- 
field ; the Chicopee Falls Woman's Club, 
and the Travelers' Club of Chicopee; 
she has served on the committee on aids 
and charities of the Springfield Hospital. 
She is a member of Mercy Warren Chap- 
ter, daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, deriving membership therein through 
her ancestor. Lieutenant Seth Rice. 
Children of Captain and Mrs. Doten: i. 
Jerome Wells, born September 9, 1869, 
died December 14, 1905 ; married (first) 
Mary Whiting Groce, of Roxbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, (second) Bessie Henderson 
Taylor, of New York City. 2. Florence 
E., married Louis Trask Hawkins ; their 



children were : Frederick Doten, born 
December 31, 1900; Georgiana Wells, 
born August 11, 1903. 



LOVE, Rev., George Washington, 

Clergyman. 

Rev. George W. Love, former pastor of 
the First Congregational Church of West 
Springfield, and as representative to the 
General Court is of Scotch ancestry. 

James Love, father of Rev. George 
Washington Love, was born in Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, and grew to manhood 
in the north of Ireland, receiving his edu- 
cation in public schools of both coun- 
tries. He then emigrated to the United 
States, settling in New York City. The 
calling which he had followed in Ireland 
was that of a shoemaker. Mr. Love mar- 
ried Lazaret Regnault, a native of Pau, 
France, and they were the parents of 
three sons : James, died when about six 
years old ; William, died about his_ fourth 
year ; and George Washington, of fur- 
ther mention. James Love, the father, 
died in New York City, and Mrs. Love 
resided in Schenectady, New York, until 
her death in February, 1918, aged eighty- 
four years. 

Rev. George Washington Love, son 
of James and Lazaret (Regnault) Love, 
was born May 28, 1858, in New York 
City, and at the age of four years was 
taken by his parents to Lanesboro, Mas- 
sachusetts. When he was thirteen the 
family moved to Pittsfield, returning 
within a short time to Lanesboro, where 
they remained three years. He attended 
the public schools of Lanesboro and 
Pittsfield, and during the second resi- 
dence of the family at Lanesboro was a 
pupil at a private school. The family 
next moved to Lenox, and George Wash- 
ington remained with them until the age 
of twenty-three, meanwhile attending the 



25 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



State Normal School at Westfield. His 
health failing, he lived for two years on a 
Massachusetts farm, and then entered 
Troy Theological Seminary, remaining 
there through his early ministry. 

The pastorate of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church in Washington, New York, 
was Mr. Love's first charge, which he 
held for three years. Thence he went to 
Eagle Mills, New York, remaining here 
for three years, then receiving a call to 
Nassau, New, York, he was for five years 
pastor of the Methodist Episcopal church 
in that place. His resignation there was 
followed by a return to Lanesboro, where 
for five years he ministered to the 
Methodist Episcopal and Congregational 
churches. A brief pastorate of nine 
months at Charlton, New York, was ter- 
minated by a call, in November, 1899, to 
the First Congregational Church of West 
Springfield, where he remained until his 
resignation in October, 1913. In each of 
these pastorates Mr. Love has met with 
results which assured him that he had 
ministered successfully, and to the high- 
est interests of his people. He has taken 
an active interest in the aflfairs of the 
town. For the last two years he has held 
the office of representative to the Legis- 
lature, where he served on the commit- 
tees of agriculture and public libraries, 
and has been the consistent advocate of 
measures which he deemed calculated to 
promote the welfare of the community. 
He affiliates with Mount Orthodox Lodge 
of Masons, also the Eastern Star, and 
for a year served as chaplain to the 
former order. During another year he 
was worthy patron in the Eastern Star. 
He and his wife are members of the Con- 
gregational church, West Springfield. 

Mr. Love married, July 8, 1914, Idella 
Allen Hill, born January 16, 1876, at Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, daughter of Albert 
Henr)^ Hill, who was born at Chateaugay, 



New York, and engaged in the grocery 
business. He married Idella Allen, a 
native of Brooklin, Maine, and their chil- 
dren were: Idella Allen, mentioned 
below ; Blanche Ruth, wife of Frederick 
L. Pierce, of Brooklin, Maine; Sarah 
Elizabeth, married Ralph E. Crane, of 
Winter Harbor, Maine ; Ethel Gertrude, 
wife of Harry G. Moody, of Brooklin, 
Maine ; Mahlon Turner, unmarried, was 
at Plattsburgh training camp, from which 
he received a commission as lieutenant in 
the 103rd Regiment, now (1918) serving 
in France ; and Albert Henry, married 
Katie Staples, and lives in Brooklin, 
Maine. In that place also resides Mrs. 
Hill, who has now been a widow more 
than twenty years, her husband having 
died at the comparatively early age of 
forty-two. 



TROWBRIDGE, Edward Henry, 

Surgeon. 

Among the successful and popular 
surgeons of Worcester, Dr. Trowbridge 
exemplifies the precepts and character 
brought down to him from a long line of 
worthy American ancestors. The sur- 
name Trowbridge is derived from the 
place name. Perhaps the oldest town of 
this name is in Wiltshire, and its history 
dates back of the Conquest. The name 
has been in use in England as a surname 
from the very beginning of the use of sur- 
names. The Trowbridge coat-of-arms is 
described : 

Or, on a bridge of three arches embattled in 
fess gules, masoned sable, as many streams 
transfluent towards the base proper a tower of 
the second thereon a penant argent. 

(I) Thomas Trowbridge lived at Taun- 
ton, Somersetshire, England, where his 
ancestors had undoubtedly lived for sev- 
eral generations. He was a mercer and 



£6 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



man of wealth, and left in trust property 
for the benefit of the poor in the parishes 
of St. James and St. Mary Magdalen, 
which trust is still in eflfect. He died at 
Taunton, February 20, 1620, at an ad- 
vanced age. 

(II) John Trowbridge, son of Thomas 
Trowbridge, baptized March 25, 1570, at 
Taunton, resided there, was a woolen 
'draper, his father's chief heir, and was 
wealthy and influential. He served in 
■middle life as mayor of the town, was 
many years warden of the church of St. 
Mary Magdalen, a member of the board 
of trustees of the alms house, and died in 
July, 1649. His first wife, whose name 
is unknown, was buried in Taunton, June 
6, 1622. Their eldest child, 

(III) Thomas Trowbridge, son of John 
Trowbridge, engaged in business as a 
mercer in Exeter, Devonshire, England. 
There he married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Mrs. Alice Marshall, widow, their license 
dated 26th March, 1627. Four children 
were baptized at St. Petrock's, Exeter. 
His wife belonged to a wealthy and 
prominent family of Exeter, daughter of 
John Marshall, the younger, bailiff of 
Exeter in 1601, sheriff in 1609, mayor in 
1615, afterwards alderman, called "the 
worshipful Mr. John Marshall." His wife 
was Alice Bevys, daughter of Richard 
and Elizabeth (Prouz) Bevys, both of 
whom came from old and prominent fam- 
ilies of Exeter. Richard Bevys was 
sheriff in 1591, governor of the guild of 
merchant adventurers in 1602. Thomas 
Trowbridge came to America as early as 
1636 with his wife and two youngest 
sons, settled first in Dorchester, removed 
to New Haven in 1639, was one of the 
l)roprietors of that town in 1641, when 
he is credited with five heads in his fam- 
ily, presumably including his three sons, 
Thomas, William and James. His estate 
\/as rated at five hundred pounds, a large 



sum for that time and place. He was 
engaged in the foreign shipping business, 
^vhh extensive trade between England, 
the West Indies and the Colonies. As 
early as 1641 he returned to England, 
|(;aving his estate in trust and his sons in 
the care of his steward, Henry Gibbons. 
Thomas Trowbridge died in Taunton, 
5iomersetshire, England, and was buried 
there February 7, 1673. His wife died in 
New Haven before his return to Eng- 
l;.nd. In the records of Dorchester they 
y.re referred to as Mr. and Mrs., a dis- 
tinction confined in those days to people 
of gentility. The wife was a member of 
the Dorchester church in 1638. 

(IV) James Trowbridge, son of Thomas 
(2) Trowbridge, was baptized in Dor- 
chester in 1637-38. He was probably 
born in 1636, and died May 22, 1717, in 
Newton, Massachusetts. He inherited 
lands from his father in Dorchester, 
where he settled on attaining his major- 
ity, and continued until 1664, when he 
removed to Newton. He was an early 
member of the Congregational church 
there, and more than forty years a dea- 
con ; a soldier of King Philip's War, he 
was a lieutenant under Major Daniel 
Gookin. For nine years from the organi- 
zation of the town of Newton he was con- 
tinuously a member of the Board of 
Selectmen, was clerk of the writs in 1692 
and 1693, and representative in 1701-02-03. 
He gave most of his estate to his children 
during his life, and at his death his prop- 
erty was valued at £240. He married 
(first) Margaret Atherton, and (second) 
January 30, 1674, in Newton, Mary Jack- 
son, born there June 20, 1649, daughter of 
Deacon John and Margaret Jackson. 

(V) William Trowbridge, son of James 
Trowbridge, was born November 19, 
1684, in Newton, was prominent in the 
town, overseer of the poor in 1734, select- 
man 1736 to 1739 inclusive, lieutenant, 



27 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and later captain of the local military com- 
pany ; a deacon of the church and one of the 
donors of its communion service. By trade 
he was a weaver, was occupied some years 
in early life in that business, was also a 
farmer, owned an interest in a grist mill, 
and died in Newton, November 19, 1744. 
He married (first) Sarah Ward, and 
(second) May 30, 1721, in Weston, Mas- 
sachusetts, Sarah Fulham, born March 2, 
1695, died September 10, 1787, in New- 
ton, daughter of Judge Francis and Sarah 
(Livermore) Fulham. 

(VI) Thaddeus Trowbridge, fourth son 
and tenth child of William Trowbridge, 
only son of the second wife, was born 
November 20, 1728, in Newton, where 
he died January 6, 1777. He inherited 
the homestead and interest in the grist 
mill, and followed farming as an occupa- 
tion. He married, November 20, 1749, in 
Newton, Mary Craft, born there April 
II, 1731, daughter of Moses and Esther 
(Woodward) Craft. She married (sec- 
ond) Lieutenant John Rogers, of New- 
ton, and died April 9, 1813, in that town. 

(VII) Edmund Trowbridge, eldest son 
of Thaddeus Trowbridge, was born Oc- 
tober 3, 1752, in Newton, where he was 
a farmer, and died June 30, 1812. He 
inherited the interest in the mill, and by 
will of his paternal grandmother came 
into possession of the homestead farm. 
In 1791-92 he was selectman of the town. 
During the Revolution he served through 
four enlistments as a soldier, first as a 
corporal in Captain Amariah Fuller's 
company of minute-men which marched 
at the Lexington Alarm, April 19, 1775. 
With the same rank under the same cap- 
tain he was a member of Colonel Samuel 
Thatcher's regiment which defended Dor- 
chester Heights. As a sergeant in Cap- 
tain Abraham Pierce's company of Col- 
onel Eleazer Brooks' regiment, he served 
two months on guard duty at Cambridge. 



He was also a corporal in Captain Ed- 
ward Fuller's company under Colonel 
Thatcher, which guarded English pris- 
oners at Boston. He probably served 
later in the militia, as he was known 
many years as Captain Trowbridge, one 
of the wealthy citizens of his town and 
highly respected. He married, Decem- 
ber 15, 1774, in Newton, Elizabeth Wis- 
wall, born March 20, 1753, in that town, 
died there February 22, 1799, daughter of 
Captain Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Mur- 
dock) Wiswall. 

(VIII) Elisha Trowbridge, youngest 
child of Edmund Trowbridge, was born 
August 3, 1797, and settled early in life 
at Portland, Maine, where he engaged 
in the chandlery business, retiring ten 
years before his death, February 16, 1880. 
For many years his eldest son was asso- 
ciated with him, and they enjoyed a very 
large trade, shipping their product all 
over the United States. He was a prom- 
inent member of the Third Congregational 
Church of Portland, and was many years 
a member of the Maine Legislature. He 
married, June 13, 1822, in Boston, Mar- 
garet Stimpson, born November 4, 1799, 
in Charlestown, Massachusetts, died Au- 
gust 10, 1885, in Portland, daughter 
of William and Catherine (Rappalye) 
Stimpson. 

(IX) William Stimpson Trowbridge, 
third son of Elisha Trowbridge, born 
June 3, 1827, in Portland, died there No- 
vember 30, 1894. Through most of his 
business life he was associated with the 
wholesale paint establishment of J. B. 
Fickett & Company. He was an active 
and prominent member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, affiliating 
with Maine Lodge, No. i, of Portland. 
He married, November 15, 1855, in Port- 
land, Elizabeth Porter Tukey, born Octo- 
ber 10, 1828, daughter of Benjamin and 
Sarah (Chick) Tukey. They had two 



28 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons, of whom the youngest died in his 
third year. 

(X) Dr. Edward Henry Trowbridge, 
eldest child of William Stimpson and 
Elizabeth Porter (Tukey) Trowbridge, 
was born October i, 1856, in Portland. 
He there received his early education, 
graduating in 1875 from the Portland 
High School as one of the speakers in 
the graduation exercises. For a few 
months he engaged in the study of law, but 
found this distasteful and decided to pre- 
pare himself for the practice of medicine. 
He fitted for college, and in 1877 entered 
Dartmouth College at Hanover, New 
Hampshire. Here he was a faithful and 
efficient student, and was elected a mem- 
ber of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, and 
subsequently admitted to the Phi Betta 
Kappa. In 1881 he was graduated with 
the degree of A. B. and was one of the 
commencement speakers. In July of the 
same year he took up the study of medi- 
cine at the Portland Medical School, and 
subsequently attended lectures at the 
Medical School of Maine, a branch of 
Bowdoin College at Brunswick. After 
three years of study he was graduated 
from this institution in 1884. During 
the last two years of his attendance at 
the recitations of the Portland Medical 
School he was associated with Dr. S. C. 
Gordon in the latter's office, and during 
the year from August i. 1884, to August 
I, 1885, was house physician and surgeon 
at the Maine General Hospital in Port- 
land. After graduation he spent two 
months in study in the hospitals of New 
York City, and in the latter part of Sep- 
tember, 1885, located at Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he has since been con- 
tinuously and successfully engaged in 
the practice of his profession. In 1890 
Dr. Trowbridge was appointed surgeon 
to the out department of the Worcester 
City Hospital, and in 1896 became one of 
its visiting surgeons, in which position 



he has continued to the present time. 
During the summer of 1905 he made a 
trip abroad, visiting the hospitals of Lon- 
don and Paris, and took a course in sur- 
gery in Vienna. Again, in 1907, accom- 
panied by his wife, he visited Europe and 
devoted some time to further study at 
Vienna. In December of that year he 
was elected a member of the Worcester 
School Board for a term of three years. 
Since 1885 he has been a valued member 
of the Massachusetts Medical Society, 
and is a member of the American Acad- 
emy of Medicine. While in Portland he 
was initiated in Maine Lodge No. i, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, in which 
his father was an active member, and was 
made a Mason in Quinsigamond Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Worces- 
ter, in 1889. For several years he was 
surgeon of the Worcester Continentals, 
a well-known military organization, from 
which he resigned in 1901. Dr. Trow- 
bridge is now chairman of the City Board 
of Health. He received the degree of F. 
A. S. C. from the American College of 
Surgeons in 1914. 

Dr. Trowbridge married, September 5, 
1888, in Framingham, Massachusetts, Car- 
rie Louise Parker, born February 19, i860, 
in Boston, daughter of Charles Webster 
and Harriette (Philbrock) Parker. Chil- 
dren: I. Parker Vincent, born August 
I, 1889, died August 6, 1889. 2. Parker, 
born October 31, 1890; was educated in 
the grammar school of Worcester and 
Worcester Academy, and was graduated 
from Dartmouth College, Hanover, New 
Hampshire, class of 1913; he is manager 
of the Worcester Branch of the bond 
department of Paine, Webber & Com- 
pany, Boston, Massachusetts ; he was 
elected to the Common Council from 
Ward 8, Worcester, for the years 1917 
and 1918, and is serving on the following 
committees: Legislative matters, street 
lighting, mayor's inauguration and un- 



29 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



finished business ; he is a member of 
Worcester Club, Commonwealth Club, 
Worcester Country Club and Psi Upsi- 
lon Society. 3. Gladys Isabelle, born 
June 3, 1893, a graduate of the Emma 
Willard School for Girls, Troy, New 
York. 4. Louise, born February 4, 1896, 
also a graduate of the same school. 



WARREN, Julius Edgar, 

Educator. 

A prominent educator of the State of 
Massachusetts, Mr. Warren was known 
the length and breadth of the State, par- 
ticularly in the county districts, his posi- 
tion as agent for the State Board of Edu- 
cation in the Department of Rural 
Schools commending him especially to the 
rural districts. He was a son of Hor- 
ace and Mary S. (Gleason) Warren, of 
Leicester, Massachusetts, a brother of S. 
Gleason Warren, yet residing there. 

Julius Edgar Warren was born in 
Leicester, Massachusetts, November 28, 
1857, and died at Holyoke, March 25, 
1914. He grew to manhood in his native 
city, and later in life entered the service 
of the State as agent of the board of edu- 
cation in the department of rural schools. 
He was peculiarly well fitted for the 
work he did, and was held in high regard. 
The duties of his position required him 
to visit the smaller schools, and during 
the eight years he was in office, 1906- 
1914, he made many acquaintances and 
warm friends. He left a widow and four 
children: Marion, wife of Luke Stanton, 
of Huntington, Massachusetts ; Julius E., 
Jr., a teacher in Schenectady, New York ; 
Wesley R. ; and Olive M., of Holyoke. 



ROBINSON, James Thomas, 
Expert Accountant. 

James Thomas Robinson came to the 
city of Holyoke, Massachusetts, in 1913, 



and has since been identified with the 
Japanese Tissue Mills as auditor and 
treasurer. He is of the ninth generation 
in New England of the family founded 
by Thomas Robinson, of Scituate, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1640. The family history 
from Thomas Robinson, the founder, to 
the twentieth century representative, 
James Thomas Robinson, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, is herein traced. 

(I) The first representative of this 
branch of the family was Thomas Robin- 
son, who was of Scituate as early as 
1640, when he purchased land of Wil- 
liam Gillson, and represented that town 
in the General Court of Plymouth at its 
session in October, 1643. He was also 
deacon of the Second Church in Scituate. 
In August and September, 1654, he pur- 
chased two estates joining each other, 
directly opposite Old South Church in 
Boston. Here he resided during the 
remainder of his life, though he retained 
his connection with the church at Scitu- 
ate. Thomas Robinson was a stalwart 
citizen and wrought out a good name for 
himself. He was thrice married, his sec- 
ond wife having been Mary, widow of 
John Woody, and daughter of John 
Cogan, of Boston. They were married 
January 11, 1652-53, and she died October 
26, 1661. Subsequently he married Eliz- 
abeth Sherman. John Cogan is said 
by Snow (History of Boston) to have 
"opened the first shop in Boston ;" it was 
on the northeast corner of Washington 
and State streets. Children : John, a 
merchant ; Samuel, a merchant, died 
unmarried, January 16, 1661-62, aged 
twenty-four years ; Josiah, apprentice to 
Joseph Roecke, died April 17, 1660; 
Ephraim, died September 22, 1661 ; 
Thomas, of further mention ; James, born 
at Boston, March 14, 1654-55, died Sep- 
tember, 1676; Joseph, baptized March 

8, 1656-57, married Sarah , and 

died in April, 1703 ; Mary, baptized Feb- 



30 




JiuiiaA Gclao-^ fjct^'t^e^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ruary 28, 1657-58, died young; Mary, 
baptized November 6, 1659, married 
Jacob Green, Jr., of Charlestown. 

(II) Thomas (2) Robinson, son of 
Thomas (i) Robinson, was baptized at 
Scituate, Massachusetts, March 5, 1653- 
54. He inherited a part of his father's 
homestead, where he resided ; he also 
inherited from his Grandfather Cogan the 
house and store on the northeasterly cor- 
ner of Washington and State streets, 
Boston. He was a cordwainer by trade. 
He died in June, 1700. He married 
Sarah, daughter of Edward Denison, of 
Roxbury; she died November 15, 1710, 
aged fifty-three years. Edward Denison 
was the son of William Denison, one of 
the earliest inhabitants of Roxbury. He 
had two brothers, Daniel, major-general 
of the Massachusetts Colony during King 
Philip's War ; and George, a successful 
and distinguished captain of Connecticut 
troops during the war. Both rendered 
important services as legislators and mag- 
istrates. Edward manifested no taste for 

* 
military affairs, but was useful as select- 
man, town clerk and representative. Chil- 
dren : Thomas, born November 5, 1677, 
married Sarah Beswick, and died 1729-30 ; 
Sarah, baptized December 28, 1679, mar- 
ried (first) John Ingolsbury, (second) 
John Perry; Joseph, baptized November 
20, 1681, died young; Elizabeth, born 
September 26, 1686, died young; and 
James, of further mention. 

(III) James Robinson, son of Thomas 
(2) and Sarah (Denison) Robinson, was 
born March 15, 1689-90, died shortly 
before March 11, 1762, when his will was 
approved. He was a housewright by 
occupation. He inherited from his father 
the homestead on Washington street, 
Boston, which he sold February 7, 171 1- 
12, and bought a house on the southerly 
side of Boylston street, which he also 
sold, April 12, 1714, and removed to 



Rochester, where Rev. Timothy Ruggles, 
a brother of his wife, resided. He re- 
mained at Rochester until 1757, when he 
exchanged his farm in Rochester for 
another in Hardwick, where several of 
his children had already settled. Of his 
eight surviving children Dorothy alone 
remained in Rochester, all the others hav- 
ing removed to Hardwick and Barre. He 
married Patience, daughter of Captain 
Samuel Ruggles, of Roxbury, July 3, 
171 1. She died in January, 1768, aged 
seventy-eight years. Captain Ruggles 
married Martha, daughter of Rev. John 
Woodbridge, and granddaughter of Gov- 
ernor Thomas Dudley, on July 8, 1680. 
His father was a prominent citizen of 
Roxbury, where he was selectman four- 
teen years, assessor during the same 
period, and representative for the four 
critical years succeeding the revolution 
of 1689. He was for several years cap- 
tain of militia, and when Governor An- 
dros and his associates were seized and 
imprisoned, Joseph Dudley (afterwards 
Governor) was committed to his especial 
charge, while temporarily released from 
prison. His preservation from death by 
lightning on May 25, 1667, was so remark- 
able that an account of it was entered on 
the church record by Rev. Samuel Dan- 
forth. "25 (3) 1667 There was a dread- 
ful crack of thunder. Samuel Ruggles 
happened at that instant to be upon the 
meetinghouse hill, with oxen and horse, 
and cart loaded with corn. The horse 
and one ox were stricken dead with the 
lightning, the other ox had a little life in 
it, but died presently. The man was 
singed and scorched a little on his legs, 
one shoe torn apieces, and the heel car- 
ried away ; the man hurled off the cart 
and flung on the off side, but soon recov- 
ered himself and felt little harm. There 
was a chest in the cart, wherein was 
pewter and linen ; the pewter had small 



31 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



holes melted in it, and the linen some of 
it singed and burnt." Captain Ruggles, 
father of Patience (Ruggles) Robinson, 
inherited his father's military spirit and 
succeeded him in many offices; he was 
assessor, 1694; representative, 1694; cap- 
tain of militia, 1702 ; and selectman con- 
tinuously from 1693 to 1712, except in 
1701 and 1704, nineteen years. His death 
occurred after a short illness, February 
25, 1714-16, and his funeral is mentioned 
in Sewall's Diary, "Feb. 28, 1715-16, Cap- 
tain Samuel Ruggles was buried with 
arms. He is much lamented at Rox- 
bury." Children of Mr. and Mrs. Robin- 
son, of whom the first two were born in 
Boston and the remainder in Rochester: 
James, born March i, 1711-12; Thomas, 
born September 15, 1713, died young; 
Samuel, born November i, 1715; Thomas, 
of further mention ; Sarah, born July 
9, 1720, married Ebenezer Spooner, of 
Rochester; Dorothy, bom March 10, 
1722-23, married (first) David Peckham, 
in 1743, and (second) Major Elnathan 
Haskell in 1749, and died at Rochester, 
September 25, 1810; Denison, born July 
16, 1725 ; Joseph, born September 13, 
1727; Hannah, born November 16, 1730, 
married Benjamin Green, in 1764. 

(IV) Thomas (3) Robinson, son of 
James and Patience (Ruggles) Robinson, 
was born April 20, 1718. He settled at 
Hardwick, as a young man, and there 
engaged in farming. Subsequently he 
removed to Furnace Village, where he 
kept a store and tavern, and also man- 
aged a saw mill and grist mill on Moose 
brook. He was very prosperous in busi- 
ness, and was one of the wealthiest men 
of his neighborhood in 1776. In that year 
the assessment of the town of Hardwick 
against his property was the fourth 
largest upon the town's books, but he 
sacrificed the larger part, if not abso- 
lutely the whole, of his plentiful estate. 



in the Revolutionary War, and he also 
served as a distinguished soldier in the 
conflict from the beginning to the end. 
He was elected lieutenant of the Alarm 
List, January 9, 1775, and was after- 
wards styled captain. He was a select- 
man five years, a member of the com- 
mittee of correspondence five years, and 
served on various important committees 
during that troublous period. He sold 
his real estate in and near Furnace Vil- 
lage, and subsequently removed to Wind- 
sor, but returned again in a few years. 
About 1799, his mental faculties having 
become impaired and both his sons hav- 
ing left town, he and his aged wife 
became inmates of their daughter's home, 
where he died January 8, 1802, aged 
nearly eighty-four years, and his wife 
Mary died August 7, 1812, aged nearly 
eighty-eight years. Thomas Robinson 
married Mary, daughter of Captain Elea- 
zer Warner, November 23, 1744. Cap- 
tain Warner married Prudence, daughter 
of Thomas Barnes, of Brookfield, Decem- 
ber 4, 1722. He devoted several years of 
his early life to the service of his coun- 
try. A brief sketch of his military career 
and his single-handed deadly encounter 
with an Indian is given in the "History 
of Hardwick" by Lucius R. Paige. 
Acknowledgment is also made to Mr. 
Paige and the "History of Hardwick" 
for this genealogy. This branch of 
the Robinson family was very promi- 
nent in the early history of Hardwick. 
Before James Robinson moved to Hard- 
wick from Rochester, after selling the 
family homestead on Washington street, 
Boston, opposite the Old South Church, 
several of his children had already set- 
tled in Hardwick, and the family remained 
there until Denison removed to Windsor 
about 1780. Children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Robinson : Denison, of further mention ; 
Thomas, born February- 10, 1753; Mary, 



2>2 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



born December 3, 1758, married Timothy 
Page, January 20, 1780, and died March 
21, 1836. 

(V) Denison Robinson, son of Thomas 
(3) and Mary (Warner) Robinson, was 
born September 18, 1746. He was a 
farmer by occupation. He was sergeant 
of Captain Simeon Hazeltine's company 
of minute-men, which marched to Cam- 
bridge on the Lexington Alarm, in April, 
1775, and was commissioned captain of 
the Second Company of Militia in Hard- 
wick, Massachusetts, June 11, 1778. He 
was a member of the Committee of Cor- 
respondence in 1778. About 1780 he 
removed to Windsor, and resided there 
for several years. Late in life he fol- 
lowed his son Thomas (see below) to 
Adams, where he died November 17, 
1827. He married (first) April 10, 1768, 
Millicent, daughter of Rev. Robert Cut- 
ler. She died July 5, 1798. He married 
(second) Elizabeth Hyde, of Lenox, 
about 1801. She died in 1829. Children: 
Mary, bom October 18, 1769, married 
Alpheus Prince, and died in September, 
1829; Alice, born July i, 1772; Hannah, 
born June 10, 1773, died unmarried, July 
7, 1796; Josiah Quincy, born July 21, 
1775)" Sophia, born August 19, 1778, died 
unmarried. May 12, 1855 ; Denison, born 
December 29, 1780; Robert Cutler, born 
March 12, 1785; Thomas, mentioned 
below. 

(VI) Thomas (4) Robinson, son of 
Denison and Millicent (Cutler) Robin- 
son, was born December 20, 1787, at 
Windsor, Massachusetts. He received 
excellent educational advantages in his 
youth, and was prepared for the legal 
profession. He held high rank at the 
Berkshire bar, and received from Wil- 
liams College the honorary degree of 
Master of Arts in 1828. In the spring of 
1836 he removed from the South to North 
village of Adams, residing for many years 

Mass— 8— 3 33 



and until his death, October 3, 1867, aged 
nearly eighty years, in the stone house 
on Main street, later a portion of the 
estate of the late Dr. N. S. Babbitt. He 
married (first) May 13, 1812, Nancy 
Wells, who died in March, 1827. He 
married (second) in September, 1829, 
Catherine Susanna McLeod, who died 
July 20, 1854. Children: Millicent Cut- 
ler, born April 12, 1813, married F. O. 
Sayles, and died January 31, 1852; Ann 
Eliza, bom April 29, 1815, deceased, mar- 
ried Dr. Nathan Snell Babbitt; Mary 
Sophia, born May 16, 1817, deceased, 
married Jackson Mason, of Richmond, 
Vermont ; James Thomas, of further 
mention ; Nancy W., born June 20, 1826, 
died October 13, 1826; Alexander Mc- 
Leod, born September 8, 1830; Margaret 
Maria, born March 14, 1833, married 
Lyndon Smith, of Terre Haute, Indiana; 
Elizabeth Rupalee, born August 5, 1836, 
married Albert R. Smith ; John Cutler, 
born October 4, 1839, was captain of vol- 
unteers in the War of the Rebellion; 
Charles Henry, born September 2, 1841 ; 
William Denison, born August i, 1844. 

(VII) James Thomas Robinson, son 
of Thomas (4) and Nancy (Wells) Rob- 
inson, was born September 7, 1822, died 
November 21, 1894. He attended the 
town schools and was also an attendant 
at a Lenox institution of learning of much 
repute in those days, having for a fellow 
student Hon. Marshall Wilcox, of Pitts- 
field. Later he attended schools at Shel- 
burne Falls and Worthington, and at 
Bennington, Vermont, and in 1840 entered 
Williams College, class of 1844. After 
remaining one year in that institution, 
he entered the law oiifice of his father in 
North Adams, remaining there two years, 
when he returned to take the senior year 
with his class in Williams College, grad- 
uating with his class in 1844, and imme- 
diately thereafter beginning the practice 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of law in North Adams with his father, 
the partnership name being Thomas 
Robinson & Son, which continued until 
the death of the senior Robinson, after 
which James Thomas Robinson practiced 
his profession of his own account. The 
following is worthy of mention : During 
these many years of business connection 
there was never an accounting between 
father and son, and in the subsequent 
co-partnership between James Thomas 
and his son Arthur, there was never an 
accounting. Although not receiving at 
his graduation the degrees of Bachelor 
and Master of Arts, these were after- 
wards conferred by Williams College 
upon James T. Robinson. 

Mr. Robinson was in sympathy with 
those principles which found organized 
expression in the Free Soil movement of 
1848. His speaking for this cause was 
supplemented by editorial writing for the 
"Greylock Sentinel." In 1852 he was 
elected to the State Senate by a union of 
Free Soilers and Democrats. In 1853 he 
was appointed one of the secretaries of the 
Massachusetts Constitutional Conven- 
tion. In 1859 he was chosen by the 
Republicans to the State Senate for a 
second term, and while in this service 
was appointed by Governor N. P. Bank 
judge of probate and insolvency for Berk- 
shire county, in which capacity he served 
for over thirty years ; his decisions were 
marked for their fairness, and his court 
was renowned for the protection it 
offered the helpless ; in his long period 
of service as a judge his decisions were 
hardly ever reversed. Previous to this 
judgeship he had been elected for a term 
of five years, commencing the first Wed- 
nesday of January, 1857, register of 
insolvency for Berkshire. He was dele- 
gate-at-large from Massachusetts to the 
Republican National Convention that 
renominated President Lincoln. In the 



winter of 1855-56 he made a lecturing 
tour through the West. 

In 1856 Mr. Robinson purchased, in 
co-partnership with his brother, Major 
John C. Robinson, and John Dalrymple, 
the "Adams Transcript," and the trench- 
ant writing of Mr. Robinson distinguished 
it until his death in 1894. There was no 
more brilliant editorial writing done on 
any country paper in the United States 
than he gave this Berkshire weekly. 
This co-partnership continued for a few 
years, after which ]\Ir. Robinson formed 
another with his son, Arthur, which con- 
tinued until considerations for his health 
led to the formation of the Transcript 
Publishing Company, and his retirement 
from a property interest in the concern. 

Besides the opportunities for influence 
and distinction otherwise afforded. Judge 
Robinson had gifts as a public speaker 
that brought him appreciation and prom- 
inence. This was his strongest and 
natural endowment. Of fine presence 
and unusually natural and graceful bear- 
ing before an audience, he had a voice 
that would swell without breaking, and 
his gestures were natural and effective, 
the expression of present feeling and 
never the result of premeditation. Most 
of his speeches were unwritten, but 
thought out beforehand and improved 
upon with repetition. Of his more impor- 
tant speeches, not upon party politics, 
were the National Anniversary Address 
delivered at the Baptist church, North 
Adams, July 4, 1865 ; that delivered on 
July 4, 1878, upon the dedication of the 
North Adams Soldiers' Monument ; and 
that commemorative of the death of 
President Garfield, delivered at the Meth- 
odist church, September 26. 1881. 

Judge Robinson married at Marble- 
head, May 6, 1846, Clara, daughter of Dr. 
Calvin and Rebecca (Monroe) Briggs, of 
that town. Children : Arthur, mentioned 



34 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



below ; Calvin, died young ; and Thomas, 
died young. 

(VIII) Arthur Robinson, son of James 
Thomas and Clara (Briggs) Robinson, 
was born at North Adams, Massachu- 
setts, March 15, 1848, and died there 
April 13, 1900. He studied in the public 
schools and fitted for college at a private 
school in Lanesboro, conducted by Mr. 
Tolman, and at Professor Griffen's Pre- 
paratory School in Williamstown. He 
was graduated from Williams College with 
the class of 1870, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, and immediately 
entered the office of the "North Adams 
Transcript," owned and edited by his 
father, and mastered the mechanical part 
of the printing and publishing business. 
He was then taken into partnership, and 
the firm name became James T. Robin- 
son & Son. The young man took the 
business management of the office and 
paper, Judge Robinson retaining control 
of the editorial department. This was in 
the early seventies, and the business was 
small in comparison with the dimensions 
later reached. Father and son worked 
together in perfect harmony, and the job 
department soon took and held first rank 
among the printing establishments of 
North Berkshire, while the "Transcript," 
under able direction, reached a circula- 
tion and a position of influence such as 
came to but few country weeklies. Al- 
though the business management took 
most of the time and attention of Mr. 
Arthur Robinson, yet he was a frequent 
contributor to the columns of the paper, 
and in this field he displayed remarkable 
ability. His style of expression was 
graceful and pleasing, and his writings 
were stamped by an individuality that 
made his work in that line almost as 
recognizable as if it had borne his name. 
As the director of others who worked on 
the "Transcript," he exerted a master- 



ful influence which accrued to the benefit 
of the men and the paper, and gave to 
the latter a uniformity of style which was 
of much value to the publication. ]\Ir. 
Robinson's connection with the paper 
continued until after the death of his 
mother in the fall of 1895, his father hav- 
ing died a year before. Owing to 
unsound health and the increase of other 
cares, he sold the paper and retired from 
business life. Mr. Robinson was held in 
the highest respect by all classes. He 
was straightforward and upright in his 
business dealings, and in his newspaper 
work the good of the community was 
always uppermost in his mind. No tem- 
porary gain to the paper could induce 
him to publish that which would result 
in needless injury to others, and his 
career as a managing editor is gratefully 
remembered by all who are familiar 
with it. 

Mr. Robinson was also gifted as a pub- 
lic speaker, as was demonstrated on vari- 
ous occasions, though he never sought 
for prominence in that direction, and 
never aspired to political honors which 
would have come to him readily had he 
so desired. In politics he was a Repub- 
lican, though not fully in accord with the 
tendencies of the party in these later 
days. At the time of his death he was a 
trustee of the Drury Academy, the North 
Adams Savings Bank and the Public 
Library. He was a pleasing conversa- 
tionalist, a good neighbor, citizen and 
friend, and his death was universally 
mourned. 

Mr. Robinson married, December 14, 
1 871, Clara Ellen Sanford, born in 1854, 
daughter of Michael .and Caroline (Mil- 
lard) Sanford. She is still living and 
maintains her home at North Adams. 
Children: i. Sanford, born at North 
Adams, Massachusetts, July 8, 1873. 
2. Arthur, born at North Adams, July 



35 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



7, 1875 ; married Bertha Torrey, of 
Williamston, Massachusetts ; they re- 
side at North Adams. 3. James Thomas, 
of further mention. 4. Mary, born at 
North Adams, February i, 1884; married 
Lawrence Smith, of Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts ; they reside in Holyoke. Mrs. 
Arthur Robinson is the regent of Fort 
Massachusetts Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution. 

(IX) James Thomas Robinson, third 
son of Arthur and Clara Ellen (Sanford) 
Robinson, was born at North Adams, 
Massachusetts, April i, 1879. After 
attending North Adams schools, he stud- 
ied under a private tutor at Williamstown, 
Massachusetts, for one year, then entered 
Harvard University, but did not complete 
the usual course, the death of his father 
in 1900 bringing about conditions which 
compelled the abandonment of his col- 
lege education. In choosing an occupa- 
tion he decided upon the profession of 
expert accountant, and served his appren- 
ticeship with the Marwick, Mitchell & 
Company, of New York City. Having 
served his time as junior accountant, he 
accepted a position with Price, Water- 
house & Company, of New York, as a 
senior accountant and remained with 
them about three years, leaving to take a 
position as auditor and business manager 
of the David Williams Company, pub- 
lishers of the "Iron Age." After three 
years with the David Williams Com- 
pany, Mr. Robinson left to take a posi- 
tion as auditor and business manager of 
the Christian Herald Publishing Com- 
pany of New York. In 191 1 the call of 
the "Berkshires" brought Mr. Robinson 
back to Massachusetts and he became 
connected with the New England Audit 
Company of Springfield, Massachusetts, 
as senior accountant, remaining one year, 
and going from that company to the Jap- 
anese Tissue Mills of Holyoke, January, 



1913. He has continued with the latter 
company as auditor and assistant treas- 
urer until the present (1918), and is also 
auditor of B. F. Perkins & Son, Inc., and 
director and secretary of the Utley Com- 
pany of Holyoke. In addition to busi- 
ness organizations, he holds membership 
in the Harvard Club of New York City, 
the Mt. Tom Golf and Bay State clubs 
of Holyoke, attends the Congregational 
church, and in politics is a Republican. 

Mr Robinson married, November 23, 
1908, Mj'rtle Zaring Drayer, born in 
North Carolina, daughter of Frank and 
Ella (James) Drayer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Robinson are the parents of a daughter, 
Martha Lee Robinson, born September 
13, 1910, in Greenwich, Connecticut. 



DENTON, Henry H., 

Representative Citizen. 

The Denton family, represented in the 
present generation by Henry H. Denton, 
an enterprising and progressive citizen of 
West Springfield, traces back to the six- 
teenth century, to the Rev. Richard Den- 
ton, a native of Yorkshire, England, born 
in 1586, a student at the University of 
Cambridge, from which institution he 
was graduated in 1602, and for some years 
was minister of Coley Chapel, Halifax. 
In 1630 the famous Act of Uniformity 
forced him to relinquish his church, and 
in search of religious liberty he crossed 
the Atlantic ocean, settling first in Water- 
town, Massachusetts, where he followed 
his holy calling until 1635, when he 
started a new settlement in Connecticut, 
giving it the name of Wethersfield. There 
he resided until 1640, when he removed 
to Rippowams, now Stamford, which was 
purchased of New Haven, October 30, 
1640. From there, in 1644, Mr. Denton, 
accompanied by a number of the princi- 
pal settlers of Rippowams, removed to 



36 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hempstead, Long Island, where Mr. Den- 
ton established Christ's First Presbyter- 
ian Church, the first congregation of that 
denomination in this country. Accord- 
ing to an account of the Hempstead 
church, written by the Rev. Sylvester 
Woodbridge, who was pastor from 1838 
to 1848, "It was not until 1648 that the 
congregation was able to move into its 
own meeting-house. It stood near the 
pond, in the northwest part of the village 
(northwest corner of Fulton and Frank- 
lin streets), and was surrounded by, or 
at least connected with, a fort or stock- 
ade." Rev. Mr. Denton continued to offi- 
ciate as minister until 1659, when he 
returned to England. The Rev. Cotton 
Mather, who apparently knew Rev. Mr. 
Denton well, gives him the character of 
being an excellent man and an able 
preacher, and mentions that he wrote a 
voluminous work, a system of divinity, 
under the title of "Soliloquia Sacra." It 
may be said in passing that a son of this 
clergyman, Daniel Denton, wrote a work 
entitled "A Brief Description of New 
York, with the Customs of the Indians," 
in 1670 (London), which is said to have 
been the first description in print of New 
York and New Jersey. The Rev. Mr. 
Denton spent the remainder of his days 
in Essex, England, where his death 
occurred in 1662, at the advanced age of 
seventy-six years. He had at least three 
sons, namely: Nathaniel, Daniel and 
Samuel. 

(II) Nathaniel Denton, son of the Rev. 
Richard Denton, became a resident of 
Jamaica, Long Island, in 1656, as did also 
his brother Daniel, and they aided in the 
plantation of Elizabethtown, New Jersey, 

in 1664. He married Sarah , who 

bore him three sons : Nathaniel, Richard 
and Samuel. Nathaniel Denton died 
prior to the year 1695. 

(III) Richard (2) Denton, son of Na- 



thaniel and Sarah Denton, was a resident 
of Jamaica, Long Island, and on April 
16, 1683, he purchased fifty acres of land 
from William Smith, of Foster's Meadow, 
Hempstead, Long Island, at which place 
his death occurred in the year 1699. He 
married Mary, daughter of Joseph and Ann 
(Foster) Thurston, who bore him six chil- 
dren : Richard, Mary, Sarah, Joseph, 
Hannah and Benjamin. 

CIV) Richard (3) Denton, son of Rich- 
ard (2) and Mary (Thurston) Denton, 
removed from his native place to Hunt- 
ington, Long Island. He married Tem- 
perance, daughter of Edmund Titus, of 
Westbury, Long Island, who bore him 
four children: Richard, Temperance, 
John and Benjamin. Mrs. Denton died 
January 9, 1742, aged sixty-one years. 

(V) Benjamin Denton, son of Richard 
(3) and Temperance (Titus) Denton, was 
born in Huntington, Long Island, in 
1721, and died May 12, 1789. He mar- 
ried. March 26, 1747, Rebecca Ketcham, 
born in 1722, and died May 23, 1783. 
They were the parents of eight children : 
Alexander, Hannah, Rebecca, Benjamin, 
Esther, Rebecca, Mary and Martha. 

(YI) Alexander Denton, son of Ben- 
jamin and Rebecca (Ketcham) Denton, 
was born in 1748, and died April 24, 1814. 
He married, February 20, 1770, Rebecca 
Johnston, who died May 2, 1814. They 
were the parents of nine children : Ke- 
turah, Mary, Rebecca, Phebe, Elizabeth, 
Israel, Samuel, Benjamin and Amelia. 

(VII) Benjamin (2) Denton, son of 
Alexander and Rebecca (Johnston) Den- 
ton, was born September 30, 1788, and 
died July 10, 1848. He was a contrac- 
tor and builder, and among the houses 
that he built was that of John Jacob 
Astor on Ninetieth street. New York 
City, all the work being done by hand. 
Henry H. Denton, of this sketch, has his 
chest of tools and his carpenter's bench. 



37 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married Anna Maria Lindsley, born 
January 3, 1803, who died April 26, 1881. 
They were the parents of eleven children : 
Lewis B., born October 7, 1820, died Au- 
gust II, 1833; Mary E., born May 26, 
1822, died ]\Iay 25, 1824; Emily M., born 
February 25, 1824, died October 24, 1832; 
James H., born January 30, 1826, died 
November 11, 1831 ; Eliza J., born Au- 
gust 20, 1828; Susan A., born January 
25, 1831, died March 31, 1837; Joseph 
Berrian, of further mention; Sarah M., 
born August 22, 1834; Mary L., born 
May 31, 1836, died June 26, 1837; Amelia 
A., born September 3, 1838; and Benja- 
min L., born June 10, 1840, died July 10, 
1848. 

(VHI) Joseph Berrian Denton, son of 
Benjamin (2) and Anna Maria (Linds- 
ley) Denton, was born in New York City, 
November 29, 1832, and died March 27, 
1899. At fourteen years of age, he was 
left in charge of a farm of one hundred 
and thirty-five acres in Newtown, now 
Elmhurst, Long Island. He remained on 
this farm until 1887, when he removed 
to another farm at Huntington, Long 
Island, remaining there until his death. 
He was the type of man who is always at 
the head of affairs, and he took a promi- 
nent part in all that pertained to the town 
in which he lived, serving for three terms 
as county assessor, for twelve years as a 
member of the Democratic Commission, 
as member of the Agricultural Society, of 
the Newtown Fire, Hook & Ladder Com- 
pany, and of Wondowenock Fire Engine 
Company for eight years. Mr. Denton 
married Phoebe Higbee, born in North- 
port, Long Island, died in Centerport, 
Long Island, daughter of Jonas and 
Maria Higbee. She was one of six chil- 
dren, twin brothers and four sisters. Her 
father and mother celebrated their golden 
wedding, as did also one of her sisters and 
one of her twin brothers, all of whom 



are now (1918) deceased. Mrs. Denton 
designed a memorial quilt, the various 
blocks being originated and made by 
friends in all parts of the United States. 
This quilt is now in the possession of her 
son, Henry H. Denton, by whom it is 
very highly prized. Mr. and Mrs. Den- 
ton were members of the Presbyterian 
Church in Newtown, Long Island, now 
Elmhurst, in which Mr. Denton was for 
many years a trustee. They were the 
parents of one child, Henry H., whose 
sketch follows. 

(IX) Henrj^ H. Denton, son of Joseph 
Berrian and Phoebe (Higbee) Denton, 
was born in Newtown, Queens county. 
Long Island, September 17, 1857. His 
preparatory education was acquired in the 
public school in the vicinity of his home, 
and was supplemented by a course in 
Flushing Institute. He was reared on a 
farm, and assisted in the worlc thereof 
during his early years, thus gaining a 
thorough knowledge of that necessary 
branch of work, and he continued along 
the same line in his native town until 
January 9, 1888, when he left the farm 
and removed to Centerport, Huntington 
township, Suffolk county. New York, 
locating on a farm there which he con- 
ducted for two years, and then entered 
the employ of James Cockroff, having 
charge of selling the publication entitled 
"Encyclopedia of Forms," for the Ed- 
ward Denison Law Publishing Company. 
Later, for one year, he was in the employ 
of the Northport Steamboat Company, 
discharging his duties in an acceptable 
manner. During his residence in North- 
port, to which town he went in 1896, he re- 
organized, equipped and uniformed its Fire 
Department of sixty men, of which he 
was the chief for four years, after which, 
in 1900, he returned to Centerport, fol- 
lowing farming there until 1901. He 
gained his first experience in the Fire 



38 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Department at Newtown, Long Island, 
which he joined in 1875 and of which 
he became foreman, and served for two 
years. He was one of the prime factors 
in the organization of the Centerport Fire 
Department, which he served as chief 
for a number of years. While chief of 
the Northport Fire Department, it took 
the prize at the County Fair, and later, 
when he became chief of the Centerport 
Fire Department, it took the first prize 
over the Northport Fire Department. 
Probably few men in the United States 
have taken so active and prominent a 
part in fire department matters, his term 
of active service extending over thirty 
years. When Mr. Denton retired from 
the position of chief of the Centerport 
Fire Department, his company presented 
him with a solid gold badge in token of 
their appreciation of his efforts in their 
behalf. 

For a period of more than four years, 
Mr. Denton represented his district on 
the Republican county committee, took 
an active part in planning campaigns and 
in advancing the work of the Republican 
party, the principles of which he believes 
to be for the best form of government. 
He gave up farming in 1901 to enter the 
Highway Department at Centerport, 
town of Huntington, as commissioner of 
highways and served three terms of two 
years each. He had two hundred and 
seventy-three miles of road to supervise, 
and during his term of office he built 
thirty miles of stone road. At the two 
hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the 
town of Huntington, at which time Pres- 
ident Roosevelt was a guest, Mr. Den- 
ton's company acted as the body guard to 
President Roosevelt, and Mr. Denton 
was grand marshal of the parade. He 
was also the grand marshal and a com- 
mittee of one at the opening of the Cross 
Island Trolley. He took a keen interest 



in the Indian History of New York State, 
and sought and collected many relics of 
that once great race. 

In 1910, Mr. Denton disposed of his 
property at Centerport, Long Island, and 
removed to his present home on Park 
street, West Springfield, Massachusetts. 
Immediately upon coming here, he began 
to take an active part in political affairs. 
It soon became known that he had lived 
in the shadow of Sagamore Hill, the home 
of ex-President Roosevelt, who at that 
time was beginning the formation of the 
Progressive party, and at the first meet- 
ing of that party in Hampden county, 
Mr. Denton was elected as the president 
of the organization, and during the entire 
campaign he took a very active part in 
all things connected with the activities 
of that party. During the great parade 
which took place in Springfield, in 1912, 
Mr. Denton acted as grand marshal and 
his first aide was the well-known Indian 
Scout, Jack Crawford, and among the 
guests of honor was Governor Johnson, 
of California, well-known as one of the 
leading Progressives of the United States. 

Mr. Denton also assisted in the organ- 
ization of the Board of Commerce in 
West Springfield. Among his other activ- 
ities, which have been of great importance 
to West Springfield, are his services in 
connection with the location of the West 
Springfield end of the new bridge across 
the Connecticut River. On December 
15, 1914, a commission was appointed, 
consisting of Frank L. Worthy (since 
deceased), John C. Brickett, L. F. Ivers, 
and Henry H. Denton, the latter being 
president. After three years of strenuous 
work, the object for which this commis- 
sion was formed was accomplished, and 
when the new bridge is completed its 
termination in West Springfield will be 
the present site of the old bridge which 
was built more than one hundred years 

39 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ago. He is a member of the Auto Club, 
which he joined in 1910, and in whose 
affairs he has since taken an active part. 
Upon the declaration of war by Presi- 
dent Wilson, in 1917, the Home Defense 
League was formed and Mr. Denton was 
elected captain of the flying squadron, 
and he is also a member of the Committee 
of Public Safety, which acts in conjunc- 
tion with the Police Department and 
carries with it the power of constable. 
On October 24, 1917, he was appointed 
one of the fuel commissioners, Massa- 
chusetts branch of the United States Fuel 
Commission, and served as secretary of 
this committee. He is also chairman of 
the Soldiers' Information Committee of 
West Springfield, the object of this com- 
mittee being to obtain information relat- 
ing to the men at the front, for the bene- 
fit of their relatives. For six years he 
was a member of the National Guard, 
having enlisted in the Seventeenth Sepa- 
rate Company, in 1882, and each year 
received a bar for qualifying as a sharp- 
shooter. Mr. Denton is a student of min- 
eralogy, and has spent considerable time 
in getting together a rare collection of 
minerals from all over the world. 

Mr. Denton married, October 13. 1880, 
Lillian Terwilliger, daughter of George 
and Matilda (Fowler) Terwilliger, the 
former named having been secretary of 
the State Senate of Illinois for a number 
of years, and was a very prominent and 
influential resident there. 



READ, Nathan Gordon, 

Business Man. 

Nathan Gordon Read, vice-president of 
the Japanese Tissue Mills of Holyoke, 
comes of one of the oldest families on 
record, having been traced back twenty- 
three generations from John Read, the 
founder of the Reed-Read-Reid family in 



America, to Brianus De Rede, in Eng- 
land, who flourished in the twelfth cen- 
tury, and is known to have been living 
in 1 139. The line of descent from Brianus 
De Rede to John Read, the American 
ancestor of Nathan Gordon Read, of Hol- 
yoke, is through William, son of Brianus ; 
his son Robert ; his son Golfinus ; his 
son Thomas ; his son Thomas (2) ; his 
son Thomas (3), married Christina La- 
pole ; their son John, mayor of Norwich, 
England, in 1388; his son Edward, mar- 
ried Isiod Stanley; their son William, a 
Professor of Divinity ; his son William 
(2), married Ann Menis ; their son Wil- 
liam (3) ; his son Matthew, an Esquire; 
his son William (4), married Lucy Hen- 
age; their son John, the American ances- 
tor. 

(I) John Read, of the fifteenth Eng- 
lish and the first American generation, 
came from England to New England, in 
1630, and settled at Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts. His wife Sarah Read, bore him 
the following children : Samuel, Wil- 
liam, Abigail, John, Thomas, Ezekiel 
and Zephaniah, twins ; Moses, Mary, 
Elizabeth, Daniel, of further mention; 
Israel and Mehitable. 

(II) Daniel Read, son of John Read, 
was born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, in 
March, 1665. He married Hannah Peck. 
Children: Hannah, Daniel, of further 
mention ; John, Sarah, Noah and Abigail. 

(III) Daniel (2) Read, son of Daniel 
(i) Read, was born in Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, January 20, 1680. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Bosworth. Children: 
Beriah, Ichabod, Hannah, Abigail, Esther, 
Daniel. He married (second) Elizabeth 
Ide. Children : Noah, Elizabeth, Sam- 
uel, Abigail, Daniel, of further mention ; 
Rachael, Benjamin, Ebenezer and Thank- 
ful. 

(IV) Daniel (3) Read, son of Daniel 
(2) Read, was born at Attleboro, Massa- 



40 



'^ ? 





ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, December 3, 1716. He married 
Mary White. They had issue : Matthew, 
Hannah, Mary, Daniel, died young; 
Peter, Joel, Eunice, Daniel, of further 
mention; Ezra, Levi and William. 

(V) Daniel (4) Read, son of Daniel 
(3) Read, was born at Rehoboth, Massa- 
chusetts, November 2, 1857. He mar- 
ried Jerusha Sherman. Children : George 
F. Handall, of further mention ; Nathan 
S., Eliza and Mary W. 

(VI) George F. Handall Read, son of 
Daniel (4) Read, was born at New 
Haven, Connecticut, May 21, 1788. He 
married (first) a Miss Dummer. Child, 
Henry A., of further mention. He mar- 
ried (second) Rebecca Sherman. Chil- 
dren: William S., Frederick Handall, 
George and Daniel E. 

(VII) Henry A. Read, son of George 
F. Handall Read, was born in New 
Haven, Connecticut, December 6, 1812, 
and died in 1842. He married Caroline 
Kinley. Children : Eunice Dummer, 
Nathan Sherman, Henry Augustus, of 
further mention, Mary M. and Cornelia. 

(VIII) Henry Augustus Read, son of 
Henry A. Read, was born in New Haven, 
Connecticut, March 9, 1839, and died in 
South Deerfield, New Hampshire, Octo- 
ber 16, 1914. The Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion in announcing his death 
to the members of the Legion did so in 
the following manner: 

IN MEMORIAM 
HENRY AUGUSTUS READ. 

He was elected a Companion of the First Class 
(Original) in the Military Order of the Loyal 
Legion of the United States through the Com- 
mandery of the State of California, November 29, 
1892, insignia No. 9832. 

Record : Captain, Company G, 32d Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry (afterward the 
99th), October 25, 1861 ; major, March 11, 1862; 
honorably discharged November 2, 1863. 

Service : Doubleday's Division, Washington, 
D. C. ; Burney's Second Brigade, Third Army 
Corps ; at Harrison Landing, Virginia, Battle of 



Chantilly, 1862; Fredericksburg, 1862; and other 
lesser engagements. 

After muster out he was for some years a mem- 
ber of the New York Stock Exchange. After- 
ward was interested in mining in Arizona and 
Mexico, and in business in New York City with 
his son, retiring in 1902. His latter years were 
spent with his sons, a fitting closing to a happy, 
contented life. He was of a genial, cheerful 
nature, endearing himself to all with whom he 
became acquainted in business, and respected by 
all. 

He leaves many friends and four manly sons 
who mourn his loss in which his Companions sin- 
cerely join. At a ripe age he cheerfully joined his 
Companions who have passed away before. 
commandery of the state of california, 
William C. Alborgen, 
Brevet Colonel U. S. V. 

As an additional item in his business 
career is the fact that Mr. Read was asso- 
ciated with John H. Dryden in the found- 
ing of the Prudential Life Insurance 
Company, but industrial underwriting 
went slowly and did not at all suit the 
energetic Mr. Read, who eventually 
withdrew his investment and assigned his 
interest to Mr. Dryden who later reaped 
a great reward. 

Major Read married, in December, 
1863, Marie Antoinette Brockway, born 
in Peterboro, New Hampshire, Novem- 
ber II, 1841, daughter of Thomas B. and 
Ann Catherine (Bailey) Brockway. Chil- 
dren : I. Harry Augustus Sherman, born 
March 5, 1865 ; general manager of the 
Plymouth Mills at Andover, Massachu- 
setts ; he married Elizabeth Dean, they 
the parents of Harry A. J. and Elizabeth 
Mortimer Read. 2. Franklin Brockway, 
born March 13, 1867, killed in an automo- 
bile accident in 1903 ; was a wholesale 
paper dealer of New York City ; he mar- 
ried Caroline Littlefield, they the parents 
of Harry Brockway Read. 3. Monroe 
Weeks, born December 25, 1868; a 
banker of South Dakota. 4. Frederick 
Allerton, born December 15, 1870; a 
wholesale paper merchant of New York 



41 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



City ; he married Geraldine Palmer, and 
they have a son, Frederick Allerton (2). 
5. Nathan Gordon, of further mention. 

(IX) Nathan Gordon Read, of the 
ninth American and the twenty-third 
recorded generation of his family, was 
born in Hopkinton, New Hampshire, Au- 
gust 25, 1878, youngest son of Major 
Henry Augustus Read. He attended the 
public schools of Dunellen, New Jersey, 
until fifteen years of age, then entered the 
employ of his brother, Franklin B. Read, 
a wholesale paper dealer of New York 
City, remaining there ten years. During 
this period he traveled over practically 
the entire United States, in the interest 
of the business, his mileage record in one 
year showing that he had traveled 268,- 
000 miles. The following six years 
were spent in Jacksonville, Florida, where 
he was profitably engaged as a fruit 
broker. He then came to Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, where for two years he was 
connected with a wholesale cotton house 
specializing in cotton yarns. He located 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, in June, 191 1, 
forming a connection in that city with 
the Holyoke Carbon Paper Company as 
general manager. The concern was later 
merged into the present Japanese Tissue 
Mills Corporation, through the consoli- 
dation of several small plants. Under the 
management of Mr. Read the business 
has taken a commanding position, and 
the mills are making satisfactory returns 
to the investors. Mr. Read is also a 
director and vice-president of the corpor- 
ation. He is a member of the Holyoke 
Chamber of Commerce, member of the 
advisory committee appointed by the 
mayor, member of Mt. Tom Golf and the 
Holyoke clubs. He also has the honored 
distinction of being a member of the 
Loyal Legion, possibly the only one in 
Holyoke. 

Mr. Read married, June 26, 1901, at 



Dunellen, New Jersey, Jessie Maltbie, 
daughter of John Russell and Mary Eliz- 
abeth (Galloway) Maltbie. Mr. and Mrs. 
Read are the parents of fours sons and 
two daughters : Antoinette, born De- 
cember 23, 1903 ; Gordon Maltbie, Novem- 
ber 13, 1908; Russell Davenport, May 27, 
1912; Franklin Brockway, November 21, 
1913; John Lewis, December 11, 1915 ; 
Charlotte, December 27, 191 7. 



WARREN, William, 

Manufacturer. 

The genealogy of the ancient Warren 
family of Massachusetts is traced from 
the Portland, Maine, branch through 
Charles Warren, now of Westfield ; Wil- 
liam Warren, the prominent manufact- 
urer of Worcester and later Westfield, 
his father, George (2) Warren, and his 
grandfather, George (i) Warren. These 
were all important business men of Port- 
land, although William Warren left 
Maine and returned to Massachusetts, 
becoming one of the prominent thread 
manufacturers of the State, later found- 
ig the William Warren Thread Works, of 
Westfield, which his son, Charles Bart- 
lett Warren, continues. 

(I) George (i) Warren married (first) 
Polly Ilsley, of Pownal, Maine, (second) 
Almira Cushman. He died October 14, 
1819, and his second wife survived him 
until May 19, 1821. 

(II) George (2) Warren, son of George 
(i) Warren, was born in Portland, 
Maine, September 15, 1792, and died 
there, January 6, 1874. He became one 
of the important business men of his 
native city, built and owned ships, and 
was a large importer. He married, No- 
vember 27, 1815, Pamelia Bradford W^ash- 
burn, born in Massachusetts, September 
18, 1794, and died in Portland, Maine, 
September 3, 1882, a descendant of Gov- 



42 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ernor William Bradford, of the Ply- 
mouth Colony, and sister of Ichabod 
Washburn, founder of the Washburn 
& Moen Wire Works of Worcester, 
Massachusetts. They were the par- 
ents of the following named children : 
George Henry, born July 29, 1816, died 
in Worcester, Massachusetts, March 15, 
1872, married Jane Sturgis, of New 
Gloucester, Maine ; Charles Bradford, 
born January 28, 1818, died, unmarried, 
at Mantabzas, Cuba, September 4, 1839; 
Mary Ilsley, born November 2, 1819, died 
in Newton, Massachusetts, October 29, 
1879, married, in Portland, Calvin Cram ; 
John Warren, born January 3, 1822, died 
in Portland, unmarried, January 17, 1845 ; 
Catherine Bradford, born March 11, 1824, 
died in Portland, April 30, 1892, married, 
in 1848, Charles C. Hall, of Portland; 
Pamelia Ann, born April 15, 1826, died 
in Portland, July 20, 1840 ; Elizabeth, 
born March 12, 1828, died in Portland, 
December 18, 1832; Sarah Olsley, born 
January 3, 1830, died in Bridgton, Maine, 
July 25, 191 1, married, in Portland, Sep- 
tember 13, 1855, Edward Preble Oxnard ; 
Edward, born October 10, 1831, died in 
Portland, May 15, 1842; William, of fur- 
ther mention ; Alfred D., born October 3, 
1838, died in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
October 14, 1894, married, about 1863, 
Susan Dicks. 

(Ill) William Warren, tenth child of 
George (2) and Pamelia Bradford (Wash- 
burn) Warren, was born in Portland, 
Maine, June 29, 1833, died in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, April 14, 1908. He was 
educated in the public schools, and until 
he was thirty years of age was engaged 
in business in Portland, Maine, with the 
same interests with which his father was 
identified. In 1863 he was engaged in 
thread manufacture, becoming a partner 
with his youngest brother, Alfred D. 
Warren, who had been in the business 



for some time. The brothers continued 
in business in Worcester, Massachusetts, 
until 1876, as the Warren Thread Com- 
pany, but in that year they dissolved 
partnership, Alfred D. going to Ashland, 
Massachusetts, to install machinery and 
manufacture thread in a group of build- 
ings built and owned by Jordan & Marsh, 
the Boston dry goods merchants, and 
there he continued the manufacture of 
spool cotton for some time. William 
Warren, after the dissolution, went to 
New York and conducted a thread manu- 
facturing business for two years, but in 
1878 returned to Massachusetts, selling 
his machinery to Jordan & Marsh for 
their Ashland plant. Mr. Warren did not 
resume business until 1881, then at the 
solicitation of the whip manufacturers of 
Westfield, Massachusetts, then, as, now, 
the great whip manufacturing center of 
the world, he located in that city and 
began the manufacture of thread to be 
used in making whips. That line of 
thread-making being new to him, he en- 
gaged the services of George L. Manning, 
who was one of the pioneer thread makers 
and a thoroughly experienced man ; a 
plant was erected in the northern part of 
the town, the required machinery was 
installed, and with Mr. Manning as super- 
intendent they began business. Pros- 
perity attended the enterprise from the 
beginning; expansion followed, and in 
1894 the original location was entirely 
outgrown and the business was removed 
to its present location on South Broad 
street, where a group of buildings, 
including a new dye house, had been 
erected. In 1886, W^illiam P. Warren, 
son of the founder, joined his father. He 
had been agent for the Ashland Company 
in New York City, was a very successful 
salesman, and with his youth, enthusi- 
asm and managerial ability, new impetus 
was given the industry. 



43 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



On November 25, 1893, the business 
was incorporated as The William War- 
ren Thread Works, William Warren 
became president; William P. Warren, 
vice-president, and that management con- 
tinued until January, 1894, when Wil- 
liam P. Warren died. At this time, Ar- 
thur W. Warren, the second son, and 
Edwin L. Smith, the son-in-law of Wil- 
liam Warren, came into the business. 
This connection continued until 1897, 
when Arthur W. Warren retired, selling 
his interest to Edwin L. Smith. In 1898, 
Charles B. Warren, the youngest son of 
William Warren, on graduating from 
Lehigh University, came into the busi- 
ness, and was elected secretary. In 1899, 
William Warren retired from his active 
duties in the concern, at which time Mr. 
Frank L. Worthy, of Springfield, pur- 
chased his interest, and in 1902 Mr. 
Worthy purchased the interest of Edwin 
L. Smith. In 1906, Ray M. Sanford pur- 
chased an interest in the business, and 
in 1908 the capital stock was increased, 
and the business continued on an en- 
larged scale. Upon the death of his 
father, in 1908, Charles B. Warren suc- 
ceeded him as president of the company, 
Frank L. Worthy became treasurer, and 
Ray M. Sanford became secretary. This 
organization continued until the death of 
Mr. Worthy in September, 1916, when Ray 
M. Sanford became president, Mrs. Helen 
M. Worthy, widow of Frank L. Worthy, 
became secretary, and Charles B. War- 
ren, treasurer, which offices they now 
(1918) hold. The company for several 
years made only whip thread, but new 
lines have been added continually until 
thread and spool cotton for many pur- 
poses are included in the product of the 
works. The machinery employed is 
thoroughly modern, the plant makes its 
own electricity, a private fire fighting 
system furnishes protection, and in many 



ways the plant is a model worthy of 
emulation. The example of the honored 
founder has been followed by his sons 
and successors, and the company is 
among the solid, substantial corporations 
of the State. 

William Warren married, December 
21, 1853, Ann Rebecca Bartlett, born in 
Stroudwater, Maine, October 15, 1835, 
died in Westfield, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 5, 1893, daughter of Charles and 
Eleanor E. (Sparrow) Bartlett, a descend- 
ant of Robert Bartlett, who came to Ply- 
mouth in the ship "Ann" in July, 1623, 
and in 1628 married Mary Warren, a 
daughter of Richard Warren, who came 
in the "Mayflower." Robert Bartlett 
was the son of Edmund Bartlett, who 
traced his descent to Adam Bartlett, who 
came to England with William the Con- 
queror and received estates in Sussex 
which in a large degree yet remain in 
the family name. The manor house is 
a stone structure, three stories in height, 
one hundred and fifty feet long, ap- 
proached by a stone bridge across the 
river Aran, built by the family in 1309. 
[n the old Norman church, built by the 
Barttelotts in the twelfth century, there 
is an unbroken succession of memorials, 
marble slabs and brass tablets from John 
Barttelott, who died in 1428, down to the 
present generation. John Barttelott added 
to the coat-of-arms a crest awarded him 
by Edward the Black Prince for his gal- 
lantry in taking the Castle of Fonteroy, 
France, with his Sussex men. Bart- 
telotts fought at Poitiers in 1356, at 
Crecy in 1348, and subscribed liberally 
to the defeat of the Spanish Armada in 
1588. The original coat-of-arms was as 
follows : Sable, three sinister falconers 
gloves, argent arranged triangularly two 
above, one below, pendent, bands around 
the wrist, tassels golden. John Barttelott 
added the first crest, and in the sixteenth 



44 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



century the Swan crest was introduced to 
show the right of the family to keep swans 
on the river Arun. The genealogy, care- 
fully kept, shows Robert Bartlett to have 
been of the twelfth generation, beginning 
with Adam Barttelott. Bartletts have 
been particularly distinguished in the 
State of New Hampshire, seven of the 
name having been judges of the courts, 
Governor Josiah Bartlett was a signer of 
the Declaration of Independence and Gov- 
ernor of the State, 1792-93, and the Rev. 
Samuel C. Bartlett was president of Dart- 
mouth College, 1877-93. Charles Bart- 
lett was a shipbuilder of Stroudwater, 
Maine, his wife, Eleanor E. (Spar- 
row) Bartlett, born in Stroudwater, 
died there in 1849. One of their daugh- 
ters married Charles S Fobes, and at the 
present time (1918) resides in Portland, 
Maine. 

William and Ann Rebecca (Bartlett) 
Warren were the parents of three sons, 
and three daughters, one of whom is still 
(1918) living and two died in infancy. 
The children who gfew to maturity were : 
I. William P., born in Portland, Maine, 
September 2, 1854, died January 16, 1894, 
in Westfield, Massachusetts; his boy- 
hood was spent in Portland, and at the 
age of seventeen he entered the thread 
manufacturing business at Worcester, 
Massachusetts, with his father; at the 
age of twenty-three he became sales 
agent for the Ashland Company in New 
York City, and six years later, after a 
very successful experience, joined his 
father in Westfield, continuing in the 
management of the William Warren 
Thread Works until his death, being then 
its vice-president ; he was a potent factor 
in the growth of the business, and was 
also the active promoter of the Foster 
Machine Company, a substantial, success- 
ful Westfield corporation, of which he 
was president. He was a member of the 



Home Market Club of Boston, and also 
served five years in the famous Seventh 
Regiment of New York. 2. Louise W., 
became the wife of Edwin L. Smith, and 
resides in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. 3. Arthur W., born in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, now residing in Spring- 
field. 4. Charles Bartlett, of further men- 
tion. 

(IV) Charles Bartlett Warren, son of 
William and Ann Rebecca (Bartlett) 
Warren, was born in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, February 27, 1874. He came to 
Westfield in 1881, passed through the 
various grades of the public schools and 
was graduated from High School, class 
of 1893. He then entered Lehigh Uni- 
versity, South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
pursued mechanical engineering courses, 
and was graduated with the degree of 
Mechanical Engineer, class of 1898. He 
returned to Westfield and became asso- 
ciated with his father and brother in The 
William Warren Thread Works, was 
elected president in 1908, and treasurer 
in 1916, in which capacity he is serving at 
the present time (1918). He is also the 
owner of the Austin-Warren Company 
of Westfield, manufacturers of whip 
snaps, and a director of the First National 
Bank. He is a member of the Second 
Congregational Church, a Republican in 
politics, a Master Mason of Mt. Moriah 
Lodge, the Westfield, Tekoa, Men's, Get 
Together and Second Congregational 
clubs, also the Kappa Alpha fraternity. 

Charles Bartlett Warren married, June 
22, 1899, Jeanie Rebecca Austin, born in 
Suffield, Connecticut, October 15, 1873, 
daughter of Gamaliel E. and Rebecca 
(Holmes) Austin. Gamaliel E. Austin, a 
carriage builder, was born in Suffield, Con- 
necticut, died in Westfield, about 1886 ; Re- 
becca (Holmes) Austin, born in the North 
of Ireland, died in Westfield, June 17, 1915. 
Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Warren are the 



45 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



parents of a daughter and three sons, all 
born in Westfield : Austin Bartlett, born 
September 27, 1900; Eleanor Sparrow, 
June 26, 1903 ; William Bradford, May 
29, 1909; Charles Bartlett, Jr., August 6, 
1913. Mrs. Warren is a descendant of 
Thomas Austin, who was born in Suf- 
field, Connecticut, in 1738, and died in 
that town, August 28, 1816. He assisted 
in establishing American Independence 
while acting in the capacity of sergeant 
in Captain Lee's Company, Fourth Reg- 
iment, March 3, 1777. 



THOMPSON, Frederick Augustus, 

Paper Manufacturer. 

When a lad of thirteen, Frederick A. 
Thompson began learning paper making, 
a business with which he was intimately 
and prominently connected until his re- 
tirement. He was the first man to manu- 
facture an all linen paper in this country, 
and has many medals awarded him for 
the superiority of the products of his 
mills. He is a grandson of Thomas 
Thompson, an Englishman, who came to 
this country, was a soldier in General 
Burgoyne's army, and who, at the sur- 
render of the British army at Saratoga, 
fell into the hands of the Americans and 
was one of the prisoners who marched to 
Boston and was there confined. After 
his release he remained in Massachusetts, 
settled at Worcester, and with that town 
as his headquarters traveled the old Bay 
Path, stopping at the dififerent towns and 
making clothing for all who would em- 
ploy him, for he was an expert tailor. He 
followed this itinerant life for many 
years, and became a well-known figure in 
Springfield, Westfield, and Pittsfield, 
where he finally settled and continued to 
reside until his death at the great age 
of one hundred and four years. He mar- 
ried and had two sons, one, Thomas 



Derby, of further mention, and five 
daughters. 

Rev. Thomas Derby Thompson, son of 
the centenarian, was born January i, 
1795, during the itinerant life of his 
father, at one of the towns he visited 
between Worcester and Pittsfield. He 
died in Dalton, Massachusetts, December 
21, 1888, having almost reached the cen- 
tury mark. He attended public schools, 
and in youth learned the carpenter's 
trade. He was a natural student and a 
great reader, his reading being of a relig- 
ious nature largely. He finally felt that 
he was called to preach the Gospel, and 
at the age of twenty-one was regularly 
ordained a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Fie was first assigned 
to the Cape Cod district, and after the 
fashion of that early day rode that cir- 
cuit for many more years. He preached 
in many hamlets and towns, often in 
private homes held prayer meetings 
wherever even two or three could be 
gathered together, ministered to the liv- 
ing, buried the dead, performed many 
marriage ceremonies, and administered 
the baptizmal service. While on the cir- 
cuit he first met his wife, and after his 
marriage gradually withdrew from active 
ministerial work, but filled the pulpit at 
Pittsfield and Dalton on many Sunday 
occasions. He was of that type of min- 
ister now almost extinct, who made Meth- 
odism a power in the land, poorly paid 
in salary, but richly paid in the love of 
the people to whom they brought the con- 
solation of religion in their out-of-the- 
way homes. The old circuit rider is 
gone, but his memory remains and the 
good he accomplished is recorded in the 
Great Book. 

After retiring from the ministry, Mr. 
Thompson resumed his trade, locating in 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and as a con- 
tractor and builder became well-known. 



46 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Two churches, the Methodist and the 
Episcopal, are monuments to his skill 
and integrity as a builder, and many 
dwellings in Pittsfield and Dalton also 
testify to the energy displayed during 
that period of his life. The years of his 
wonderful life from 1836 were spent in 
Dalton. He was an ardent Democrat, 
but when slavery became an active issue 
he sided with the Abolitionists and sup- 
ported President Lincoln. 

Mr. Thompson married, April 24, 1822, 
Abigail Barlow, born at Newport, Rhode 
Island, May 30, 1799, her father a sea 
captain, as were several of her brothers. 
She died in Dalton, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 30, 1875, the mother of two sons 
and two daughters. The eldest daugh- 
ter, Mary, born February 26, 1824, died 
at the age of five years. The second 
daughter, Eliza B., born March 16, 1826, 
married James B. Crane, and died in Dal- 
ton, March 4, 1864; Frederick A., the 
eldest son, is of further mention ; George 
Whitfield, the last child, named after the 
famous early Methodist preacher, ac- 
quired prominence in the business world. 
He was born February 12, 1830. He 
enlisted from Herkimer, New York, in 
the Thirty-fourth Regiment, New York 
Volunteers, and was mustered out of the 
service with the rank of lieutenant- 
colonel. In company with Colonel Fer- 
guson, also of the Thirty-fourth Regi- 
ment, he recruited the One Hundred and 
Fifty-second Regiment, went to the front 
again as lieutenant-colonel of that regi- 
ment, and later succeeded Colonel Fer- 
guson as its commander. At the battle 
of the Wilderness, Colonel Thompson 
was severely wounded and spent a long 
term in the hospital, never returning to 
field service, but serving on special duty 
as member of the military commission in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. After the 
war, Colonel Thompson became interested 



in paper manufacture and was very 
prominent, owning mills in New York 
State and in New Jersey. He resided in 
Brooklyn, New York, and there died Jan- 
uary 16, 1910. 

Frederick Augustus Thompson, eldest 
son and third child of Rev. Thomas Derby 
and Abigail (Barlow) Thompson, was 
born in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1828. He was eight years of age 
when his parents moved to Dalton, Mas- 
sachusetts, and there he attended school 
until thirteen, when he began learning 
paper making with the old firm, Zenas 
Crane & Son. He remained in Dalton 
until 1870, becoming an expert in both 
paper manufacture and mill manage- 
ment. On July 5, 1870, he came to West- 
field as superintendent of the new Crane 
mill, the old mill having been destroyed 
by fire, but rebuilt on a larger scale and 
equipped with the most improved ma- 
chinery then known. On taking charge 
of the mill, Mr. Thompson began the 
manufacture of finer grades of paper and 
there made the first all linen paper ever 
produced in this country. As the demand 
for this better grade of ledger and linen 
paper increased, he met it with more ma- 
chinery of improved type and kept the 
mill thoroughly up-to-date in equipment 
and method. He also was interested in 
the Crane & Thompson Company at 
Ballston Springs, New York, later known 
as the Odell & Thompson Company, and 
in the Bemis Paper Company of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts. He became well-known 
as a successful manufacturer of paper and 
had many ofi'ers to go elsewhere, but he 
always remained with the Westfield mill. 
He continued its superintendent until the 
death of his wife in 191 2, when he re- 
signed and retired. He is a Republican 
in politics, a member of lodge and chap- 
ter of the Masonic order, the Knights of 



47 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Malta, and the Methodist Episcopal 
church. 

Mr. Thompson married, September lo, 
1865, Nancy Augusta Bailey, born in 
Lanesboro, Massachusetts, June 29, 1846, 
died in Westfield, 1912. She was a 
daughter of Lorenzo D. Bailey, born in 
July, 1806, killed by a fall from a tree 
in Lanesboro, October 9, 1855. He mar- 
ried, at Lebanon, New York, February 
8, 1841, Mary Carver, daughter of Wil- 
liam S. Carver, of Pittsfield, Massachu- 
setts, a direct descendant of Governor 
William Carver, of Plymouth. Mary 
(Carver) Bailey died in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, at the home of Mr. Thomp- 
son, January 6, 1866, aged sixty-eight 
years. Lorenzo D. and Mary (Carver) 
Bailey were the parents of two daughters 
and a son, all born in Lanesboro, Massa- 
chusetts: Emma J., May 21, 1842; 
Dwight R., December 30, 1843 > Nancy 
A., June 29, 1846. Frederick A. and 
Nancy A. (Bailey) Thompson were the 
parents of two sons : Frederick Herbert, 
born at Ballston Springs, New York, 
July, 1866, died at Reno, Nevada, in May, 
1904; Thomas G., born in Westfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1871, married Rita 
Bisette, and died in 1917. 



CALDWELL, Winford Newman, 

Man of Affairs. 

Winford Newman Caldwell, ex-presi- 
dent and ex-general manager of the 
American Writing Paper Company, one 
of the leading industries of Holyoke, is 
a worthy representative of a family 
which is of Scotch descent, although the 
earliest ancestor of the branch of the fam- 
ily herein followed came from the north 
of England to the New World. Cald- 
well, as given in Lower (Patronymica 
Britanica) signifies the Cold-well. Armor- 
ial bearings of the name are Wells, 



Fountains, Waves, Fishes, each sugges- 
tive of water. In the Doomsday Book 
the name is spelled Caldeuuelle, but the 
almost invariable spelling of the town 
records of Ipswich, Massachusetts, for 
two hundred years was Caldwell. The 
name has been common for centuries in 
England, Scotland, Ireland and France. 
In Scotland, the Caldwells of Caldwell, 
Ayrshire, were prominent as early as 
1349. They furnished, at that date, a 
Chancellor to Scotland. Caldwells mi- 
grated from England, Scotland and Ire- 
land to America, and established early 
homes in New England, New Jersey and 
the South. The ancestor of this branch, 
John Caldwell, of Ipswich, Massachu- 
setts, was the earliest of the name to 
establish a home on the rugged but beau- 
tiful New England shores. He left to his 
descendants the memories and traditions 
of a worthy, industrious life. 

(I) John Caldwell, immigrant ances- 
tor, was born in England, in 1624, was 
there reared and educated, and in 1643, 
when nineteen years of age, his name 
occurs in the records of the General 
Court of Massachusetts. He made Ips- 
wich his home. He is styled husband- 
man in legal papers, but he was also 
familiar with weaving, as were two of 
his sons, Dillingham and Nathaniel, and 
several later descendants. In 1654, John 
Caldwell purchased a house, which be- 
came not only his own cherished home, 
but which sheltered his descendants for 
more than two hundred and fifty years, 
thus making of it a worthy memorial. He 
married Sarah Dillingham, born in Ips- 
wich, April, 1634, a woman of qualities 
that caused her to be graciously remem- 
bered by her descendants. She was the 
daughter of John and Sarah (Caly) Dil- 
lingham. Her father died less than a 
year after she was born, and her mother 
died two years later, leaving the child in 



48 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the care of Mr. Saltonstall and Mr. Ap- 
pleton, and the mother's last expressed 
wish was the entreaty, "in the bonds of 
Christian love," that the tiny girl should 
be "religiously educated, if God gave her 
life." The Dillinghams were respectable 
yeomen of Old England, John Dilling- 
ham and his wife coming from Leicester- 
shire, in the year 1630. Children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Caldwell : John, of further 
mention ; Sarah, born April 2, 1658, mar- 
ried Joseph Ayres ; Anna, born August 
23, 1661, married John Roper; William, 
died February 19, 1695 ; Dillingham, 
born March 6, 1666, died May 3, 1745, 
married (first) Mary Lord, (second) 
Mary Hart ; Nathaniel, born October 18, 
1669, died December 13, 1738, married 
Abigail Wallingford ; Mary, born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1671, died April 2, 1709, married 
Jacob Foster; Elizabeth, born October 
15, 1675, died May, 1752. John Caldwell 
(father) died July 7, 1692, and his will 
was proved September 28, 1692. His 
wife died January 26, 1721-22. Their 
remains were buried in the ancient High 
Street Burying Ground in Ipswich. 

(II) John (2) Caldwell, son of John 
(i) and Sarah (Dillingham) Caldwell, 
was born in Ipswich, ^Massachusetts, in 
1656. In 1697-98 he served as field driver 
and hayward ; on January 16, 1700, seat 
No. 8 in the New Meeting House was 
assigned to him; in 1707-08 his name 
is in the list of commons; in 1708-09 he 
was one of the signers to a petition to the 
General Court; in 1717 was appointed 
surveyor. He purchased what was orig- 
inally the Knowlton house, beautifully 
located, on the Town Hill-top, with ex- 
tensive outlooks, especially to the east 
and south. It is described as two stories, 
with the old-time two-story porch in 
front. On May day, 1689, he married 
Sarah Foster, daughter of Deacon Jacob 
and Martha (Kinsman) Foster. Chil- 



dren : Martha, born August 28, 1690, 
married (first) Stephen Ayres, (second) 
Daniel Rindge, (third) John Wood; 
John, born August 19, 1693, married Eliz- 
abeth Lull ; Jacob, of further mention ; 
Sarah, born July 16, 1696-97, married 
Abraham Knowlton ; Abigail, born May 
14, 1700, died November 7, 1700; Anna, 
born January 18, 1702, died October 15, 
1720; William, born January 17, 1708, 
married Lydia Lull. John Caldwell died 
February 7, 1721-22, survived by his 
wife, who passed away July 11, 1721-22. 

(III) Deacon Jacob Caldwell, son of 
John (2) and Sarah (Foster) Caldwell, 
was born February 26, 1695, and resided 
in the homestead previously mentioned. 
He is traditionally remembered as a man 
of singularly religious devotion, deeming 
it not merely the duty of his office, but a 
privilege, to visit and pray with the sick 
and needy. A grandchild's testimony 
was : "He was careful alike of the tem- 
poral and the spiritual wants." He mar- 
ried, October 18, 1718, Rebekah Lull, 
born November 26, 1794, daughter of 
Thomas, Jr., and Rebekah (Kimball) 
Lull. She married (second) Samuel 
Goodhue, schoolmaster, and went to New 
Hampshire to reside. Children of Dea- 
con Jacob and Rebekah (Lull) Caldwell: 
Jacob, of further mention ; Abraham, 
baptized August 13, 1721, married Elisa- 
beth Collins; James, baptized August 25, 
1723, died May 21, 1725; James, baptized 
July II, 1725; Rebekah, baptized May 
14, 1727, died May 2, 1736; Samuel, bap- 
tized April 6, 1729; John, baptized De- 
cember 19, 1731 ; Sarah, baptized Decem- 
ber 15, 1734, died August 26, 1735; and 
Isaac, baptized August 12, 1739 died in 
early life. Deacon Jacob Caldwell died 
July 17, 1744, aged forty-nine years. 

(IV) Jacob (2) Caldwell, son of Dea- 
con Jacob (i) and Rebekah (Lull) Cald- 
well, was baptized November 29, 1719. 



49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He resided at Cambridge for a time, and 
eventually settled at Woburn precinct, 
now Watertown, where he was a land 
owner and had a large dairy. He mar- 
ried (first) September 28, 1742, Anna 
Hastings, a native of Watertown, born 
December 22, 1718, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Mary Hastings. He married (sec- 
ond) Perry. Children of first 

wife : John, married, and lived at Bur- 
lington ; Rebekah, born October 16, 1744, 
married a Mr. Hunt; Anna, born De- 
cember 2, 1746, unmarried; Jacob, of fur- 
ther mention ; Sarah, born November 19, 
1750, married (first) Noah Price, (sec- 
ond) Greene; Enoch, born Janu- 
ary 20, 1753, married Ruth Chase, resided 
at Haverhill ; Lucy, married Justin Kent, 
resided at Haverhill, later at Portland, 
Maine; Mary born in April 1755 married 
Josiah Fiske ; an infant, died early. 
There were eight children of the second 
marriage, four of whom are as follows : 
Joseph, resided in Marblehead, Massa- 
chusetts ; Joshua, resided in Marblehead, 
Massachusetts ; Thomas, resided in Man- 
chester, New Hampshire ; Benjamin, re- 
sided in Burlington, Vermont. The death 
of Jacob Caldwell occurred in 1783. 

(V) Jacob (3) Caldwell, son of Jacob 
(2) and Anna (Hastings) Caldwell, was 
born at Watertown, now Weston, No- 
vember 4, 1748. He settled in Lunen- 
berg, 1777, and was the first Caldwell to 
make his home in that town. He served 
as collector, 1784, and as constable, 1784, 
1796. Both he and his wife were admit- 
ted to full communion in the church. He 
was married by the Rev. Zabiel Adams, 
June 5, 1777, to Patience Sanderson, who 
was baptized May 12, 1745, daughter of 
Abraham and Patience (Smith) Sander- 
son, and a descendant of Edward and 
Mary (Eggleston) Sanderson, who came 
from England, 1635, and settled at 
Hampton. Children: Jacob, baptized 



June 28, 1778, married (first) Sarah 
Pierce, (second) Mrs. Mary Harrington ; 
Anna, baptized January 7, 1781, died 
aged two years ; John, of further men- 
tion ; Lucy, baptized September 5, 1784, 
married Timothy Snow ; Enoch, born De- 
cember 22, 1788, married Betsey Carter. 
Jacob Caldwell died September 8, 1823, 
aged seventy-five years. His wife died 
September 4, 1822, aged seventy-six 
years. 

(VI) John (3I Caldwell, son of Jacob 

(2) and Patience (Sanderson) Caldwell, 
was baptized June 9, 1782. He married, 
in 1801, Mary Greene, born April 9, 1785, 
who bore him ten children, namely: i. 
John, of further mention. 2. Oliver 
Greene, born January 7, 1805 ; married 
(first) Mary U. Ellis, October 28, 1828; 
she died 1833 ; married (second) Martha 
Lincoln, March 13, 1835 ! three children 
3. Lucy, born September 15, 1806, mar- 
ried John Adams. 4. Mary, born June 
5, 1808, married Samuel Woods, son of 
Professor Woods, of Andover Theologi- 
cal Seminary. 5. Elizabeth, twin, born 
March 15, 1810, married Elbridge Stim- 
son. 6. Sarah, twin, born March 15, 
1810, died February 23, 1871 ; married 
Sylvester Wheeler. 7. Dorothy H., 
born April 30, 1812; married (first) Jo- 
seph Miller, (second) John Lawrence, of 
Concord. 8. Harriet P., born April 4, 
1817; married George R. Mansfield. 9. 
Frances, born January i, 1820; married 
Alfred T. Packard, died January 14, 
1843. at Ashburnham. 10. Nancy, bom 
January 10, 1822, died July 10, 1848, at 
Ashburnham. John Caldwell removed to 
Ashburnham, in 1810, where he died, Oc- 
tober 21, 1871. His wife died September 

14. 1843- 

(VII) John (4) Caldwell, son of John 

(3) and Mary (Greene) Caldwell, was 
born December 20, 1802, and died Janu- 
ary 10, 1859. He married ( first) Septem- 



50 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber 26, 1826, Abigail G. Fuller, born in 
Lunenberg, June 29, 1805, daughter of 
John, Jr., and Eunice (Wetherbee) Fuller. 
She died in Fitchburg, July 16, 1835. He 
married (second) April 7, 1838, Abigail 
C. Garland, of Pittsfield, New Hamp- 
shire, born July 27, 1806. Children of 
first wife: John A., born May 16, 1829, 
died October 8, 1839 ; Abigail C, born 
July 23, 1831, died June 21, 1844; Charles 
Edmund, of further mention; Sarah 
Elizabeth, born June 30, 1835, died March 
19, 1867, married George H. Newman. 
Children of second wife: Mary A., born 
September 6, 1839, died December 24, 
1841 ; George, born December 18, 1841, 
married Sarah E. Cummings. 

(VIII) Charles Edmund Caldwell, son 
of John (4) and Abigail G. (Fuller) Cald- 
well, was born at Ashburnham, Massa- 
chusetts, July 9, 1833, and died at Mel- 
rose, Florida, December 31, 1903. He 
resided in his native town until 1856, 
when he became a resident of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and secured a position as 
engineer on the New York, New Haven 
& Hartford Railroad, in which capacity 
he served for a number of years. About 
fifteen years prior to his death, he retired 
to his orange farm at Melrose, Florida. 
He married, September 28, 1856, Melissa 
Samantha Morgan, born in Putney, Ver- 
mont, July 30, 1834. She was a descend- 
ant of Miles Morgan, one of the earliest 
settlers (1656) of Springfield, and asso- 
ciated with Governor Pynchon in the 
early development of the town. Their 
only child is Winford Newman, of fur- 
ther mention. 

(IX) Winford Newman Caldwell, son 
of Charles Edmund and Melissa Saman- 
tha (Morgan) Caldwell, was born at 
Springfield, Massachusetts, July 26, 1857. 
He was educated at the grammar and 
high schools of Springfield, and he began 
his business career at the Springfield In- 



stitution for Savings, May, 1873. He ac- 
cepted a position as bookkeeper in the 
office of the Riverside Paper Company, 
of Holyoke, in July, 1882, and was 
advanced through all the various posi- 
tions until he became the treasurer of the 
company. In 1899 there was a consoli- 
dation by purchase by a concern known 
as the American Writing Paper Com- 
pany, of about eighty per cent, of the 
writing paper mills in Holyoke and vicin- 
ity, and Mr. Caldwell was made the gen- 
eral manager of the mills for this com- 
pany. This concern now has about thirty 
mills, employing over four thousand 
hands, being not only the largest paper 
manufacturing concern in the United 
States, but in the world. To this posi- 
tion, Mr. Caldwell brought the experience 
acquired during his seventeen years' asso- 
ciation with the manufacture of paper. 
Such satisfaction did he give to the direc- 
tors of this company that he was later 
elected president, thus adding more duties 
and greater responsibilities to those 
already incumbent upon him. But his 
masterful mind and executive ability 
were equal to every emergency which 
arose in the conduct of the details of this 
enormous business, and his relationship 
with not only the company but all the 
employees continued in a most harmon- 
ious manner until he reached a time when 
he preferred to lay aside the arduous 
duties of his positions, and in 1912 he 
resigned the presidency and the general 
management of the company, but he still 
retains his interest in other affairs. He 
holds the position of president and direc- 
tor of the Springfield Saving Institute, 
and is a director in the Massachusetts 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of 
Springfield and of the Mutual Fire Assur- 
ance Company of Springfield. He is a 
Republican in politics, and has served as 
a member of the Common Council. He 



51 



EN'CYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was delegate to the Republican National 
Convention, held at Chicago, that nom- 
inated Mr. Taft for the presidency, in 
1908. He is a thirty-second degree Ma- 
son, holding membership in Hampden 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
all the York Rite bodies, and also Melha 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Springfield. He 
also holds membership in the Colony, 
Nayassett, Winthrop and Country clubs. 
Mr. Caldwell married, May 22, 1883, 
Fannie Louise Houston, born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, July 9, 1863, daugh- 
ter of Osman and Louise (Wildes) 
Houston. Children: i. Ruth Houston, 
born at Springfield, July 2, 1889; married 
Emmett Hay Naylor, secretary-treasurer 
of the Writing Paper Manufacturers' As- 
sociation of New York ; children : Gene- 
vieve Hay and Winford Caldwell Naylor. 
2. Charles Morgan, born at Springfield, 
August I, 1894: mechanical engineer, 
graduate of Sheffield Scientific School of 
Yale College ; was with the New York 
& Pennsylvania Paper Manufacturing 
Company, located at Lock Haven, Penn- 
sylvania, but in 1917 joined the ambu- 
lance unit for service in France in the 
present World War. 



LANE, Loring Parsons, 

Cashier of First National Bank, Westfield. 

Loring P. Lane, for many years cashier 
of the First National Bank, Westfield, 
comes, on the paternal side, of Scotch 
ancestry, being a grandson of Loring (i) 
Lane, and son of Loring (2) Lane, both 
of West Granville, Hampden county, 
Massachusetts. Loring (i) Lane spent 
his early life in West Granville, later 
was in the hotel business in Westfield, 
his hotel occupying the present site of the 
Second Congregational Church. After 
many years in business in Westfield, he 



moved to Hartford, Connecticut, and 
there continued in the hotel business until 
his death. He married Laura Goodwin, 
and both are buried in Spring Grove 
Cemetery, Hartford. They were the 
parents of: Loring (2), Adolphus. Henry, 
Edward, Abigail, Laura, Lucy and Har- 
riet. 

Loring (2) Lane, born July 23, 1822, 
in West Granville. Massachusetts, died in 
Hartford, Connecticut, August, 1889. He 
was associated with his father in the 
hotel business in Westfield, and when 
about twenty-two years of age went with 
him to Hartford where he continued in 
that business until his death in 1879. For 
a time in Westfield he was engaged in 
mercantile business with Colonel Hooker, 
their store being in the Flint block. Lor- 
ing (2) Lane married, in 1844, Maryetta 
Parsons, born in Granville, Massachu- 
setts, August 27, 1819, eldest daughter of 
Joseph Parsons, born July 27, 1789, died 
February 2, 1863, and Eliza (Phelps) 
Parsons, born in Granville, Massachu- 
setts, January 4, 1793, died February 11, 
1863. Joseph Parsons was a son of Israel 
Parsons, the family of old Massachusetts 
lineage. Loring and Maryetta (Parsons) 
Lane were the parents of a daughter, 
Mary E., who died young, and a son Lor- 
ing Parsons, of further mention. 

Loring Parsons Lane, son of Loring 
(2) Lane, was born in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, July 9, 1854. At the age of ten 
years he came to Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, and there he attended the graded 
and high schools until thirteen years of 
age. He then entered the employ of the 
First National Bank of Westfield, at a 
very small wage. He acquitted himself so 
well that he not only retained his posi- 
tion but was advanced in rank and salary, 
the first boy in the history of the insti- 
tution to become a permanent employee. 
He was later made bookkeeper and sub- 



52 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sequently was appointed teller, then 
assistant cashier, then cashier, his present 
position. He is also a member of the 
finance committee of the Westfield Sav- 
ings Bank, director of the Westfield 
Power Company, director of Bryant Box 
Company, has been town auditor for 
thirty years, and for many years treasurer 
of the Board of Trade. He is a Republi- 
can in politics, an attendant of the First 
Congregational Church, and a Mason of 
Mt. Moriah Lodge. 

Outside of his business and his home, 
Mr. Lane has few interests, but he is a 
great lover of the light harness horse, a 
taste handed down from Grandfather 
Lane to his son, and from him to Loring 
P. Lane. He thoroughly understands the 
light driving horse, is a skillful handler 
and driver, and has owned some notables 
of the racetrack. 

Mr. Lane married, November 6, 1884, 
Sarah E. Stimson, born in North 
Dana, Massachusetts, November 18, 1854, 
daughter of Charles N. Stimson, now 
deceased, was a manufacturer of piano 
legs at North Dana and Westfield, and 
his wife, Sarah (Chamberlain) Stimson, 
born in New Salem, Massachusetts, died 
in North Dana, in September, 1855. Mr. 
and Mrs. Lane are the parents of two 
sons and a daughter: i. Loring Stim- 
son, born July, 1886, educated in the 
graded and public schools of Westfield 
and in business college at Albany, New 
York ; was engaged in the hotel business 
in Otis, Massachusetts ; he married Sarah 
Dunlap, who died at the birth of her son, 
Loring Parsons (2) Lane, born December 
26, 1916. 2. Robert Phelps, born August 
19, 1888, was educated in the graded and 
high schools of Westfield and in Spring- 
field Business College; he is now engaged 
in the coal business in Westfield, junior 
member of the firm of Gladwin & Lane. 
3. Lucy Maryetta, born December 6, 



189S, is a student at Abbott Academy, 
Andover, Massachusetts. 

Eliza (Phelps) Parsons, wife of Joseph 
Parsons, mother of Maryetta (Parsons) 
Lane, and grandmother of Loring Par- 
sons Lane, was a daughter of John (2) 
Phelps, the second sheriff of Hampden 
county, 1814-31, and granddaughter of 
Hon. John (i) Phelps, a lawyer and leg- 
islator of Hampden county, both father 
and son college graduates and men of 
mark in their community. She was of 
the sixth American generation of the 
family founded by William Phelps, who 
was baptized in Tewkesbury Abbey 
Church, Gloucestershire, England, Au- 
gust 19, 1599. 

William Phelps with his wife and six 
children came to New England in the 
ship "Mary and John," and arrived at 
Nantasket, now Hull, May 30, 1630. He 
was made a freeman, October 19, 1630, 
was one of the founders of Dorchester, 
and there was active and prominent until 
1635, serving as deputy to the General 
Court and on various committees. In 
1635 he went with Rev. Mr. Warham and 
his parishioners to settle in Windsor, Con- 
necticut, and in the work of drafting a 
constitution which united the several 
Connecticut colonies under one govern- 
ment bore a part. He was a magistrate 
in Windsor for eighteen years, a man of 
upright, godly life, helping to found 
two commonwealths, a veritable pillar of 
church and State. His first wife died in 
1635, before the removal from Dorches- 
ter, and he married (second) in 1638, 
Mary Dover, who came from England on 
the same ship with the Phelps family. 
After a residence of thirty-six years in 
Windsor, he died July 14, 1672, his wife 
surviving him three years. By his first 
marriage he had children : Richard, Wil- 
liam, Sarah, Samuel, Nathaniel, of fur- 



53 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ther mention, and Joseph. By his second 
marriage : Timothy and Mary. 

Nathaniel Phelps, born in Tewkesbury, 
England, about 1627, died an honored and 
respected resident of Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, May 27, 1702. He came to 
Dorchester with his parents in 1630, 
moved with them to Windsor, Connecticut, 
in 1635-36, thence to Northampton in 1656- 
57, a first settler in Dorchester, Windsor 
and Northampton. He was a pious 
man of good intellect, and sound judg- 
ment, highly esteemed. His homestead 
in Northampton, upon which he resided 
forty-three years and which was owned 
by his descendants until 1835, was for 
fifty years the site of Margaret Dwights 
School, later Dudley College Institute, 
now Shady Lawn. He took the oath of 
allegiance, February 8, 1679, and in 1685 
was made a freeman by the General Court 
at Boston. He married at Windsor, Sep- 
tember 17, 1650, Elizabeth Copley, of 
English birth, who died in Northampton, 
December 6, 1712. Children: Mary, Dea- 
con Nathaniel, Abigail, William, Thomas, 
Mercy. 

Deacon Nathaniel (2) Phelps, born at 
Windsor, Connecticut, June 2, 1653, was 
taken to Northampton by his parents in 
1656, and there married Grace Martin, 
who died August 2, 1727. He was a dea- 
con of the Northampton church for many 
years, and a man of prominence in his 
community. Children : Grace, Nathan- 
iel, Samuel, Lydia, Grace, Elizabeth, Abi- 
gail, Nathaniel, Sarah, Timothy. 

Nathaniel (3) Phelps, born in North- 
ampton, February 13, 1692, died there 
October 14, 1748. He married (first) in 
1716, Abigail Burnham, born 1679, died 
June 2, 1724 (or August 27, 1727) ; 
married (second) Catherine Hickock, a 
widow, daughter of John King. Children 
by second wife : Catherine, Lydia, Pome- 
roy, John, Mehitable. 



Hon. John Phelps, son of Nathaniel 
Phelps and his second wife, Catherine 
(King-Hickock) Phelps, was born in 
Northampton, there baptized October 27, 
1734, died May 16, 1802. He was a grad- 
uate of Yale College, class of 1759, became 
a lawyer of Westfield, Massachusetts, 
and represented the town in the General 
Court. He married (first) Jerusha Ly- 
man, who died October i, 1769. He mar- 
ried (second) December 6, 1770, Mercy 
Moseley. Children by first marriage : 
John, died young; John (2) of further 
mention. Children by second wife : 
Nancy, Pamelia, Matilda, Jerusha, Royal 
and James. 

Sherifif John Phelps, only son of Hon. 
John Phelps, and his first wife Jerusha 
(Lyman) Phelps, was born in Westfield, 
Massachusetts, June 15, 1767. He was 
educated at Harvard College, whence he 
was graduated class of 1787, and for sev- 
eral years he was contemporary with his 
father in the practice of law. Hampden 
county was set off from Hampshire in 
1821, and in 1824 John (2) Phelps was 
the first elected sherifif of the new county, 
the second man to hold that office, and 
he continued in the sheriff's office until 
1831; in 1820 he was placed on a com- 
mittee to consider the propriety of new 
county buildings. The first court house 
was erected in 1821, under the supervi- 
sion of Jonathan Dwight, Jr., John (2) 
Phelps, and Daniel Bontecon. Sherifif 
Phelps had long been connected with the 
public service prior to his election as 
sherifif, serving as town clerk, 1797-99; 
1802-03, 1804-07, 1810-11 and 1812-13, the 
fact that he was serving as town clerk 
probably the reason for his not being ap- 
pointed sheriff of Hampden county. Both 
he and his father were men of scholarly 
attainment, and greatly deferred to by 
their neighbors. John (2) Phelps mar- 
ried Betsey Boies, daughter of Deacon 



54 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Samuel Boies, of Blanford, Massachu- 
setts. They were the parents of eight 
children : Eliza, William Henry, Melissa, 
Eli Boies, Nancy, William Henry (2), 
Maria, Martha C. 

Eliza Phelps, eldest child of Sheriff 
John (2) Phelps, was born in Granville, 
Hampden county, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 4, 1793, and died February 11, 1863. 
She married Joseph Parsons, born July 
27, 1789, died February 2, 1863, son of 
Israel Parsons. Children : John Phelps, 
Joseph M., Maryetta, Eliza Phelps, Jane 
M., Israel, Israel M. 

Maryetta Parsons, daughter of Joseph 
and Eliza (Phelps) Parsons, was born in 
Granville, Hampden county, Massachu- 
setts, August 27, 1819, and died in West- 
field in 1892. She married, in 1844, Lor- 
ing (2) Lane, born July 23, 1822, died 
August, 1889, son of Loring and Laura 
(Goodwin) Lane. Children: Mary E., 
died young; Loring Parsons, afore-men- 
tioned. 



BLAISDELL, Charles Melville, 
Business Man. 

In 1872, Samuel, Jr.. Charles M. and 
George A. Blaisdell, under the firm name, 
S. Blaisdell, Jr., & Company, established 
a cotton waste business at Chicopee Junc- 
tion, the elder brother, Samuel, having 
founded the business in 1868. The busi- 
ness of the firm was first cotton waste, 
but a large trade was built up by the new 
firm in supplying raw cotton to the large 
manufacturing companies direct from the 
producer through agents in New York. 
That business grew to be the largest of 
its kind outside New York City, and with 
it Charles M. Blaisdell was connected for 
forty years until his death in 1918. The 
business plant was near Chicopee Junc- 
tion, and Mr. Blaisdell was one of the 
best known of Chicopee's business men. 



His home at No. 228 Springfield street 
was his residence from 1875 until his 
death, and there he was always to be 
found when in the city. He was one of 
the most genial of men, very fond of chil- 
dren, and always ready with a kindly 
smile and a cherry word. He was a vet- 
eran of the Civil War, and deeply inter- 
ested in the present conflict, his interest 
perhaps greater from the fact that he 
had traveled extensively in all the coun- 
tries involved and had met many promi- 
nent officials in both military and diplo- 
matic circles during his journeyings. Mr. 
Blaisdell was a son of Samuel and Char- 
lotte (Sweet) Blaisdell. 

The first American ancestor, Ralph 
Blaisdell, was born in England, about 
1600, came to New England soon after 
his marriage and received a grant of land 
in 1640. He died about 1650. Ralph and 
Elizabeth Blaisdell were the parents of 
two sons, but the line of descent is 
through the first born, Henry, the young- 
est son, Ralph (2), dying in 1667, and it 
is believed without issue. 

Henry Blaisdell, born in England, 
about 1632, was brought to New Eng- 
land by his parents, and became one of 
the first settlers of Amesbury, where he 
was admitted a freeman in 1690. He was 
a tailor by trade, as was his father. He 
married (first) Mary Haddon, the line of 
descent being through their eldest child 
Ebenezer. 

Ebenezer Blaisdell was a farmer of 
Amesbury. He married Sarah Colby. 
They were the parents of Ebenezer (2) 
Blaisdell, who learned the cooper's trade, 
and moved to York, Maine, where he was 
living in 1712, and later. He married 
Abigail Ingersol, widow of Joseph Jen- 
kins, of York, and among their children 
was a son, Ephraim Blaisdell, bom at 
York, September 23, 1717. He married 
there Thankful Webber, and moved to 



55 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lebanon, Maine, where all their chil- 
dren were born except the first. From 
Ephraim and Thankful the line of descent 
is through their son Thomas, his son 
David, his son Samuel (i), his son 
Charles M., to whose memory this review 
is offered. 

Samuel (i) Blaisdell married Charlotte 
Sweet, and lived in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, and in Somersworth, New Hamp- 
shire. They were the parents of six 
sons : Samuel, Louis, Henry, Martin, 
Charles M. and George A., three of whom 
were leading business men of Chicopee. 

Charles Melville Blaisdell, fifth son of 
Samuel and Charlotte (Sweet) Blaisdell, 
was born at Somersworth, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1843, and died at his home in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, January 15, 
1918. After completing his school years 
he entered business life, and at the time 
war broke out between the States of the 
Union he was a clerk in the Boston office 
of the Boston & Providence Railroad. 
Mr. Blaisdell early volunteered for service 
and enlisted from Boston, Massachusetts, 
December 9, 1861, for three years or dur- 
ing the war, and was mustered into the 
naval service as landsman, serving on the 
United States ships, "Ohio," "Pursuit" 
and "North Carolina." He was honor- 
ably discharged, February 24, 1862, at the 
Brooklyn Navy Yard from the receiving 
ship, by reason of a surgeon's certificate 
of disability. He reenlisted at Somers- 
worth, New Hampshire, July 13, 1862, for 
three years, or during the war, and was 
mustered into the Army, August 7, 1862, 
at Concord, New Hampshire, as a private 
in Captain Andrew J. Stone's company, 
Ninth Regiment, New Hampshire Vol- 
unteer Infantry, Colonel Enoch Q. Fel- 
lows commanding. The Ninth New 
Hampshire Infantry recruited into the 
service in May and June, and was mus- 
tered into the service from July 3 to Au- 



gust 23, 1862, at Camp Colby, Concord. 
It arrived in Washington, August 27, and 
was stationed at Camp Chase, where it 
was assigned to General Whipple's divi- 
sion, defending Washington. On Sep- 
tember 6, it was transferred to the first 
Brigade, Second Division, Ninth Army 
Corps, at Leesboro, Maryland, and moved 
forward to check General Lee's advance. 
On September 14, within twenty days 
after leaving the State, it was engaged in 
the battle of South Mountain. Although 
it was a new regiment and under fire for 
the first time, it charged the enemy, driv- 
ing men from the crest of the mountain. 
Three days later it fought at Antietam, 
December 13, and took part in the battle 
of Fredericksburg, returning directly 
after to camp where the reeiment suf- 
fered greatly from sickness and privation. 
On February 9, 1863, the Ninth Corps 
was ordered to Newport, Virginia, and 
on March 25, to Kentucky, where it was 
stationed in various parts of the State. 
In June it joined General Grant's army at 
Vicksburg, Mississippi, pursued John- 
son's retreating army to Jackson, Mis- 
sissippi, where they were engaged, then 
returned to camp at Milldale, near 
Vicksburg, and in August returned to 
Kentucky, remaining until April 2, 1862, 
guarding the Kentucky Central Railroad 
until January 15, 1864. It occupied vari- 
ous camps, notably Nocholasville, Burn- 
side and Nelson. On April 2, it moved 
to Annapolis, Maryland, where the 
Ninth Army Corps was reorganized and 
assigned to the First Brigade, Second Di- 
vision. On April 2, it moved to join the 
Army of the Potomac, and participated in 
the following engagements : Wilderness, 
Spottsylvania, North Anna, Totopotomy, 
Bethesda Church, Cold Harbor, Peters- 
burg, Mine Explosion, Weldon Railroad, 
Poplar Spring Church, Hatcher's Run, 
and Fall of Petersburg. The Ninth 



56 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Regiment also took part in the grand 
review in Washington, May 23, 1865, and 
was mustered out near Alexandria, Vir- 
ginia, June 10, 1865. Mr. Blaisdell was 
with his regiment through all the fore- 
going service with the exception of the 
march from Knoxville to Covington, Ken- 
tucky, bore well his part, and was hon- 
orably discharged at Alexandria, Vir- 
ginia, June 10, 1865, with the regiment 
when the war was over. 

After his return he was given his old 
position in Boston with the Boston & 
Providence Railroad, but in the fall of 
1865 he resigned and went to Florida, 
where he engaged in cotton growing for 
three years. In 1868 he came North, and 
in 1872 joined with his brothers in form- 
ing the firm, S. Blaisdell, Jr., & Company, 
cotton and wool dealers. The business 
prospered, and a very large trade was 
transacted in home markets, the business 
later taking on international importance 
through its large export trade. In 188S 
Charles M. Blaisdell became head of the 
firm, and in that position his unusually 
fine business quality and ability had full 
scope. He made many trips abroad, 
established close relations with reputable 
growers, mills, and brokers, both at home 
and abroad, conducting a very large bus- 
iness with rare, good judgment and suc- 
cess. After Samuel Blaisdell died, Charles 
M. and George A. Blaisdell continued, 
working in greatest harmony for the 
good of the business. The management 
now devolves upon the younger brother, 
whose entire business life has been spent 
with the one firm, S. Blaisdell, Jr., & 
Company. 

While he was one of the most approach- 
able of men and numbered his friends 
everywhere, Mr. Blaisdell was not par- 
tial to political life, and never sought nor 
desired office. He had risen from the 
foot of the ladder through his own efforts, 
and the habits of industry and enterprise 



which has won him success always ruled 
his life and held him to his legitimate 
business. He was very partial to social 
life, however, and was affiliated with both 
Masonic Rites, holding all degrees of 
lodge, chapter, council and commandery 
of the York, and thirty-two degrees of 
the Scottish Rite ; also was a Noble of 
Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. His army 
comrades always had a warm place in his 
heart, and he was long a member of Otis 
Chapman Post, No. 103, Grand Army of 
the Republic. He was largely responsi- 
ble for compiling and publishing the His- 
tory of the Ninth New Hampshire Regi- 
ment. Mr. Blaisdell was a member of 
the Ameteur Fencing League, the Lotos 
and Colonial clubs of New York City, and 
the Springfield Turnverein. He was a 
generous friend of the Young Men's 
Christian Association, the Boys' Club, 
and other philanthropies of his town. 
His death occurred at his home. No. 228 
Springfield street, Chicopee, very sud- 
denly. 

Charles M. Blaisdell married (first) in 
1870, Virginia Allen, of Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, a great-great-granddaughter 
of Samuel Allen, who died defending his 
children from the Indians in an attack on 
Deerfield, Massachusetts, in 1746. She 
died February i, 1882. He married (sec- 
ond) April 30, 1884, Mary H. Starr, an 
artist of Boston, born in Deerfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, a direct descendant of Dr. 
Comfort Starr, of Ashford, Kent, Eng- 
land, who came to America in 1635, set- 
tled in Boston, and was one of the found- 
ers of Harvard College. 



CHASE, Charles Prescott, 

Representative Citizen. 

Perhaps no man in the city of Spring- 
field more fully exemplified the spirit of 
service than did Charles Prescott Chase, 



57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who in a whole-hearted way aided every 
Board of Trade or civic enterprise, bring- 
ing with him a genial spirit, enthusiasm 
and strong common sense. It passed into 
a proverb almost that no enterprise could 
fail if he was interested in it. He was 
strongly self-reliant, had a boundless faith 
in humankind, but behind all was the 
indomitable will and untiring industry 
which knew not failure. His civic work 
had many branches, and philanthropic 
institutions will miss him. No finer, 
truer tribute can be paid him than was 
uttered in an "In Memorian:" 

His life daily demonstrated his inward thought 
— that he came not to be ministered unto, but to 
minister. And may we not believe of such a soul 
that 

Something starry, something bold, 
Eludes the clutch of earth and mold, 
Something that will not wholly die, 
Out ot the azure of the sky. 

Charles Prescott Chase, son of Edwin 
Chase, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, August I, 1849, and died at his 
home, No. 572 Belmont avenue, Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 12, 1917. 
He passed all grades of the public schools 
of Holyoke, finishing with graduation 
from high school. He then at once began 
business life, spending three years with 
his father, a lumber dealer of Holyoke. 
He then spent three years in Westfield, 
associated with Lyman W. Besse, head 
of the Besse system stores, and in the 
lumber business, going thence to Lyn- 
donville, Vermont, there continuing lum- 
ber operations with D. P. Hall. He 
remained in Vermont a successful lumber 
merchant and operator until 1895, when 
he located in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
and purchased the Marsh & Murray lum- 
ber yard on Lyman street. Later he 
bought the lumber yard of Day & Jobson 
on Liberty street and consolidated both 
under the name, C. P. Chase & Company. 



In 1907 the company expanded and a 
new yard was added, "located at Birnie 
avenue in Brightwood, and the largest 
retail lumber business in Western Mas- 
sachusetts was conducted by the com- 
pany of which Mr. Chase was the active 
head until removed by death. For two 
years he was president of the Massachu- 
setts Retail Lumber Dealers' Associa- 
tion, and prominent in business, social and 
political life. 

In politics a Republican, Mr. Chase was 
license commissioner three years, 1908- 
09-10, and was several times urged to 
accept nomination for mayor, but the 
pressure of private business prevented his 
accepting. For two years he was presi- 
dent of the New England Inland Water- 
ways Commission ; from 1904 to 1908 was 
president of the Employers' Association; 
and during the last eight years of his life 
he was deeply interested in the improve- 
ment of the Connecticut river as a nav- 
igable stream. Although not generally 
known for his philanthropic work, he was 
one of the city's most generous men and 
liberal givers, most of his bequests being 
made anonymously. One of his last phil- 
anthropies was placing the Girls' Club 
upon a firm, financial basis and in enabling 
the club to acquire a clubhouse. At the 
time the municipal chimes were installed 
it was he who raised the greater part of 
the fund which made it possible. For 
three years he was president of the 
Springfield Board of Trade, and at the 
meeting of the directors of the board, 
called immediately after his death, these 
resolutions were passed voicing the feel- 
ings of the entire organization: 

Resolved, That the Directors of the Springfield 
Board of Trade have learned with sorrow of the 
death of Mr. Charles P. Chase, who was Presi- 
dent of the Board of Trade for the years 1910, 
191 1 and 1912. 

Resolved, That we place on record this expres- 



58 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sion of our appreciation of the generous and un- 
selfish service which he gave to this organization 
during his term of office. 

Resolved, That, in his death, the city has lost 
one of its most useful and valuable citizens. 

Resolved, That we express to the members of 
his family the sincere sympathy of the members 
of tliis Board. 

Mr. Chase married, July lo, 1877, Jean 
E. Bush, who survives him, daughter of 
Frederick Bush, a former sheriff of 
Hampden county. They were the par- 
ents of three sons and a daughter: Jun- 
ius Bush, of Springfield, Massachusetts ; 
Lyndon Hall, was associated with his 
father in the C. P. Chase Lumber Com- 
pany ; Russell Deming, of Boston, with 
the engineers of United States Regiment 
loist, Company C, now (1918) in France; 
Rachel C, married Harold A. Bellows, of 
Boston, engaged in real estate business 
in that city. 



RIVERS, Frank Alexander, 
Contractor, Builder. 

The late Frank Alexander Rivers, of 
Chicopee, could well be called one of the 
successful self-made men of this section. 
Although left an orphan, he had by per- 
sistent effort risen to a place of promi- 
nence among the contractors and builders 
of Western Massachusetts. He was also 
prominent in public life, both in Holyoke 
and Chicopee, being mayor of the last 
named city for three terms and holding 
that office at the time of his death. He 
was of French parentage, his father, 
Alexander Rivers, a section foreman with 
the Vermont Central Railroad, located at 
St. Albans, Vermont, for several years 
prior to his death in 1855. His widow, 
Clemence, survived him three years, leav- 
ing a family of four children : Matilda, mar- 
ried Levi DeMorris, of Manchester, Con- 
necticut ; Clemence, married John Rich ; 
Mary, married Moses Stone; Frank Alex- 



ander, to whose memory this review is 
dedicated. 

Frank Alexander Rivers, only son of 
Alexander and Clemence Rivers, was born 
in St. Albans, Vermont, January 13, 1852, 
and died at his home. No. 34 Adams ave- 
nue, Willimansett, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber 7, 1914. After the death of his mother 
in 1858, he lived with an uncle at North 
Troy, Vermont, there attending night 
school, also being employed in a woolen 
mill. In 1865 he came to Holyoke with 
an uncle, Peter Beauregard, with whom 
he spent the years, 1865-1870, being em- 
ployed during that period in a woolen 
mill. For a time thereafter, he was in 
East Douglass with an axe manufactur- 
ing concern, then returned to Holyoke, 
spending eight years with D. H. & J. C. 
Newton, contractors, learning the trade 
of millwright. After becoming master 
of his trade, Mr. Rivers continued in the 
employ of the Newtons, aiding in the 
erection of many large mills, holding the 
position of foreman during a part of his 
engagement. After leaving the Newtons 
he entered the employ of the Holyoke 
Water Power Company, continuing with 
that company about laine years. During 
that period he supervised the raising of 
the Holyoke dam and other important 
work of this company. 

In 1888, Mr. Rivers first engaged in the 
contracting business for himself, having 
associated himself with Frank Barber, 
under the firm name of Rivers & Bar- 
ber. Their first contract was the build- 
ing of a dam and a paper mill at Monroe 
Bridge, Massachusetts, for the James 
Ramage Paper Company. That was the 
beginning of a long and successful career 
as a contractor, his record showing many 
important contracts executed, and a par- 
ticularly successful showing in complet- 
ing works difficult from both an engi- 
neering and constructive standpoint. 



59 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Among the latter class was the building 
of a coffer dam at the stone dam at Birm- 
ingham, Connecticut, in order to repair 
the dam which had been badly damaged 
by floods ; the repairing from his own 
plans of the South Hadley Falls reservoir; 
the lowering of a raceway at the plant of 
the Beebe & Holbrook Paper Company, 
a feat accomplished in four days without 
disturbing mill or machinery; the sink- 
ing of a well at the electric light station 
in Springfield, and running pipes eighty 
feet from river to building, six feet below 
low water mark. 

Rivers & Barber continued as a firm 
until about 1890, then dissolved, Mr. 
Rivers continuing the business alone. 
Among the plants erected, and large oper- 
ations conducted in various parts of the 
country, for which it was necessary to 
keep a large number of men constantly 
employed in their building, are the fol- 
lowing: Mill and power plant of the 
Connecticut River Paper Company ; ad- 
ditions, tenement blocks, and difficult 
underground work at Holyoke and 
Springfield for the Hampden Paper 
Company, the building of the National 
Papeterie building in Springfield, the 
quickest building operation of its size 
ever completed in the city ; the A. N. 
Mayo warehouse ; the first electric light 
station in Springfield and its subsequent 
enlargements; the Newell button shops; 
the Forbes & Wallace additions ; and a 
great amount of work for E. Morgan, 
including his summer residence at Ash- 
field. Later buildings erected were : The 
Phoenix block in Springfield; the Besse 
block in the same city ; the plant of the 
Crane Paper Company at Dalton, and the 
American Whip Company building, both 
in Westfield; the Russell Paper Mill; 
also the laying of pipes and the erecting 
of buildings for the General Electric 
Company of Pittsfield. He at this time 



built a house in nine days for a prize of 
$500 in gold, the entire house being com- 
pleted and furnished in that time. 

Mr. Rivers, after making Chicopee his 
residence, took an active part in public 
affairs, serving as alderman and alder- 
man-at-large, and in 1912-1913 was mayor 
of the city, being in ofiice, as noted above, 
at the time of his death. In Holyoke, he 
had also served as councilman and on im- 
portant committees. He became very 
popular with his fellowmen, and from 
1899, when he moved to Chicopee, was 
constantly in the public eye. His service 
was valuable to both cities, and as chief 
executive three terms he gave Chicopee 
a perfect example of a "business admin- 
istration." He owned considerable real 
estate in both cities, his home in Hol- 
yoke located in the Elmwood section and 
later in Chicopee. He was an Independ- 
ent in politics, a Knight of Pythias, a For- 
ester, and a member of the Roman Cath- 
olic church. 

Mr. Rivers married (first) in 1872, 
Julia Tart, who died in July, 1879, leav- 
ing two children : Edward F., who was 
his father's business associate, later 
moved to New Haven, Connecticut, mar- 
ried, and has one child, a son Frank, now 
a corporal in France; also a daughter, 
Julia J., who married David H. Young, 
who was in the contracting business with 
Mr. Rivers, and has children : Ellen and 
Frank. Mr. Rivers married (second) in 
1880, Julia Lague, of Holyoke. There 
were two children : Frank Napoleon, died 
aged one year, and Rhea B., married Wil- 
fred J. Denis, a piano teacher, and has 
one child, Jeanette Cecile. 



PARSONS, George Sanford, 

Representative Citizen. 

As paymaster of the Parsons Paper 
Company of Holyoke, Mr. Parsons occu- 



60 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



pies a position of trust and honor in the 
business life of the city to which he came 
in 1890, then a young man of thirty-five. 
He is of the seventh generation of the 
family founded in New England by Ben- 
jamin Parsons, fifth son of Hugh Par- 
sons, of Great Torrington, Devonshire, 
England, and grandson of Thomas Par- 
sons, of Great Milton in Oxfordshire, a 
country squire and gentleman. The sur- 
name Parsons is from the L.atin personse, 
a mask. Actors wore a wooden mask in 
early times to throw their voices out, and 
eventually the actor was called after the 
mask he wore, dramatis persons, the pos- 
sessor being called by the thing he pos- 
sessed. In ecclesiastical language the 
word referred to a man of dignity, and 
was bestowed upon one whose duties 
were largely those of a vicar. The actors, 
ecclesiasticals and parsons derived their 
name from the same root, the name com- 
ing through varied forms to the present 
Parsons. 

Parsons Arms — Gules, two chevronets ermine 
between three eagles displayed or. 

Crest — An eagle's leg erased at the thigh or, 
standing on a leopard's face gules. 

According to heralds visitations the 
oldest known Parsons of record was John 
Parsons, of Cuddington, 1284. In the 
roll of possessions in the Abbey of 
Malmesbury, however, the name of Wil- 
liam le Parsons is found under date, 1307. 
The name was largely confined to the 
South of England counties, being but 
infrequently found in North counties. 

(I) Benjamin Parsons, the American 
ancestor, was born in Great Torrington, 
Devonshire, England, about 1627, and 
died in Springfield, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 24, 1689. He was a brother of "Cor- 
net" Joseph Parsons, the founder of the 
Northampton branch of the Parsons fam- 
ily, and it is believed that the family 



came in 1630 with William Pynchon. 
Benjamin Parsons was in Springfield in 
1636, among the first settlers. He is 
described as a gentleman of superior, 
intellectual and moral worth, eminent in 
church and town, an earnest worker and 
exemplary in private life. His pew in 
the church was fourth from the deacon's 
seat, and later he was elected a deacon. 
He was one of the strong men of the 
Springfield church, and according to 
his correspondence with Rev. Increase 
Mather, foremost in its upbuilding. In 
the town he held many offices, and in all 
things was the valued citizen and upright 
man. He married (first) November 6, 
1 65 1, Sarah Vore, who died at Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, January i, 1676, 
daughter of Richard Vore, of Windsor. 
He married (second) February 21, 1677, 
Sarah (Heald) Leonard, widow of John 
Leonard, who was killed by the Indians. 
She survived him and married a third 
husband, Peter Tilton, of Hadley. Ben- 
jamin and Sarah (Vore) Parsons were 
the parents of sons and daughters : Sarah, 
Benjamin, Mary, Abigail, Samuel, Eben- 
ezer, of further mention ; Mary, Heze- 
kiah and Joseph. 

(II) Ebenezer Parsons, son of Benja- 
min Parsons, was born in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, November 17, 1668, and 
died there, September 23, 1752. He mar- 
ried Margaret Marshfield, who died June 
12. 1758, daughter of Samuel and Cath- 
erine Marshfield, of Springfield, and 
granddaughter of Thomas Marshfield, 
who came from Exeter, England, with 
Rev. Mr. Warham, and settled in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut. Children : Ebenezer, 
Margaret, Jonathan, Benjamin, of fur- 
ther mention ; Caleb, Sarah, Jonathan 
(2). Abigail and Catherine. 

(III) Benjamin (2) Parsons, son of 
Ebenezer Parsons, was born in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, December 15, 1696, 



61 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and died at the home of his son Aaron at 
Swansea, after residing in Kingston and 
Palmer. He married, August 15, 1723, 
Martha Bliss, who died in Palmer, July 
17, 1760. Their children were : Eleanor, 
married Ebenezer Fitch ; David ; Tabitha, 
married Robert McMaster ; Moses, a 
soldier of the French War, who died at 
Havana ; Israel, also a soldier of the 
French War, died at Fort Harmer ; 
Aaron ; Jonathan, of further mention ; 
Joshua ; Abigail, married Ebenezer Bliss ; 
Martha, married Daniel Worthington ; 
Benjamin, who also died in the Army 
during the French War. 

(IV) Jonathan Parsons, son of Ben- 
jamin (2) Parsons, was born in Spring- 
field, in 1735, and died in West Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, May 2, 1810, West 
Springfield having been incorporated a 
town in 1774. He was a large land 
owner in that town, the library, school 
house, and town hall being on land he 
owned. He married Mary Merrick, who 
died March 15, 1817, aged eighty-four 
years, daughter of Deacon Joseph Mer- 
rick. Children : Israel ; Mary, married 
Elihu Stone ; Martha, married Joseph P. 
Sears ; Rahama, married Levi Hayes ; 
Mercy ; Jonathan, of further mention ; and 
Joseph. 

(V) Jonathan (2) Parsons, son of 
Jonathan (i) Parsons, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, September, 
19, 1770, and died December 6, 1827. He 
married, June 24, 1797, Grace Leonard, 
born August 8, 1777, died March 24, 1853, 
daughter of Elias and Susannah Leon- 
ard, of Feeding Hills, Massachusetts. 
Children: Harriet, died young; Francis; 
James Merrick, died young; Edward, 
Mary, Henry, James Merrick (2), Har- 
riet (2), Frances Cornelia, Samuel Leon- 
ard, Jonathan, of further mention ; and 
Martha. 

(VI) Jonathan (3) Parsons, son of 



Jonathan (2) Parsons, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, October 7, 
1820, and died at Saratoga Springs, New 
York, August 16, 1892. After completing 
his school years, at about the age of six- 
teen, he went West to near Marshall, 
Calhoun county, Michigan, later going to 
Kalamazoo in the same State, there resid- 
ing for the remainder of his life. At 
Marshall he was a general store clerk, 
but in Kalamazoo he established a hard- 
ware business, which he profitably con- 
ducted until 1888, when he sold out and 
retired. He was one of the leading men 
of his adopted city and aided in its up- 
building. He was one of the founders of 
the Presbyterian church, and for many 
years was one of the deacons. A Repub- 
lican in politics, he represented Kalama- 
zoo in the State Legislature, and was 
active until the failure of his health. He 
lived four years after retiring from busi- 
ness, his death occurring at Saratoga 
Springs, while on a visit there for the 
benefit of his health. He married, Octo- 
ber 4, 1847, Mary B. Colt, of Hinsdale, 
Massachusetts. Children : Edward Colt, 
born January 24, 1848; Jennie Clark, 
August 31, 1850, married Charles M. 
Phillips; Mary Adelle, November 5, 1852; 
George Sanford, of further mention ; 
Eliza Crane, married Edward P. Bagg, 
and died October, 1917; Allen Wood- 
bury, born November 23, 1864, died June 

I, 1893- 

(VII) George Sanford Parsons, son of 
Jonathan (2) Parsons, was born in Kal- 
amazoo, Michigan, January 16, 1855. He 
was educated in the graded and high 
schools of the city, finishing with courses 
at Kalamazoo College, a Baptist Insti- 
tution. He began business life in his 
father's hardware store in Kalamazoo, and 
continued his trusted, confidential asso- 
ciate until the business was sold out in 
1888. He then spent two years asso- 



62 




#:5^. 



'T- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ciated with his brother, they handling a 
line of mantels and grates. In 1890 
George S. Parsons returned to the State 
which had so long been the home of his 
ancestors, and chose a location nearby 
the city his ancestor, Benjamin Parsons, 
had aided in first settling Springfield. He 
located in Holyoke, there entering the 
employ of the Parsons Paper Company 
as an office clerk, and with that company 
he has continued and has been promoted 
from time to time as a reward for his 
fidelity and efficiency up to his present 
position as paymaster, being to-day one 
of the oldest in point of service of its 
employees. He is a member of Holyoke 
Canoe Club, and of the Second Congrega- 
tional Church. In his political faith he 
is a Republican. 

Mr. Parsons married, October 3, 1894, 
Mary Louise Shumway, daughter of Aus- 
tin L. and Mary Louise (Richard) Shum- 
way, of Holyoke. Mr. and Mrs. Parsons 
are the parents of a daughter, Mary 
Louise, born July 25, 1900. The family 
home is at No. 35 Waldo street, Holyoke. 



GAMAGE, WUbur S., 

Manufacturer. 

For four years prior to his death in 
1913, Mr. Gamage resided in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, but the greater part of 
his life was passed in Woodville, a vil- 
lage of Middlesex county, sixteen miles 
from Worcester, his important carriage 
manufactory about the only large indus- 
try of the village. All his business life 
was spent in the carriage business as 
manufacturer and dealer, the destruction 
of his Woodville plant by fire causing 
him to change to a dealer instead of a 
builder. He was the son of Joseph and 
Mary (Taft) Gamage, his mother of the 
ancient Taft family of New England. 

Wilbur S. Gamage was born in Wood- 



ville, Middlesex county, Massachusetts, 
June 24, 1856, and died in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, March 14, 1913. After 
completing his school years he entered 
the employ of L. E. Coolidge, carriage 
builder, and horse supply dealer, and 
became thoroughly familiar with that 
line of business in its every phase. He 
continued a trusted employee with Mr. 
Coolidge until the latter's death, then 
continued the business as proprietor until 
about 1910, when his plant in Woodville 
was entirely destroyed by fire. Mr. Gam- 
age did not rebuild, but removed to Wor- 
cester and resumed business as treasurer 
and chief owner of J. W. Sargent & Son, 
No. 24 Waldo street, dealers in carriages, 
wagons, blankets, whips, and other sup- 
plies for the horse. As a manufacturer 
he made only goods of the higher grade, 
and bore a most excellent reputation as a 
business man of probity and enterprise. 
In Worcester he was at one time part 
owner of the Jewett, Gamage Auto Com- 
pany, on Shrewsbury street, but he dis- 
posed of that interest and until his death 
devoted himself exclusively to his duties 
in connection with J. W. Sargent & Son. 
He had property interests in Milford and 
elsewhere, and all his life gave close at- 
tention to his private affairs, taking little 
part in politics or public life. He was a 
member of the Masonic order, holding 
the thirty-second degree, Worcester Con- 
sistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. 
His widow, Elizabeth, continues her res- 
idence in Worcester. 



KING, George Gabriel, 
Merchant. 

With an inherited aptitude for busi- 
ness, and a long experience, George G. 
King has made for himself a place in the 
business world. His father, Samuel 
King, was for fifty years a successful mer- 



63 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chant in Holyoke, and the son bids fair 
to equal the unexampled record of the 
father as a business man. 

George G. King was born June 22, 
1872, in Holyoke, Massachusetts, and was 
educated in the schools of that city, 
including the high school, from which he 
was graduated in 1889. On leaving school 
he found employment in the offices of 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford 
Railroad Company in Holyoke, where he 
continued ten years, rising through merit 
and application until he occupied the 
position of cashier at the time of his 
resignation. On the organization of the 
American Writing Paper Company of 
Holyoke, he became one of its employees 
in its general offices, then located at 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and for two 
years Mr. King was reckoned among the 
most active and useful of its office force. 
Succeeding this, for a short time he was 
employed in New York City, and re- 
turned to Holyoke, where he entered the 
office of John H. Lyons & Company, 
paper stock dealers, and continued one 
and one-half years in this service. Since 
that time he has been employed by P. 
Garvan, Incorporated, one of the largest 
paper stock dealers in the country, with 
main offices in Hartford, Connecticut. 
Mr. King has entire charge of this estab- 
lishment in Holyoke, buying and selling 
paper stock. His experience and effici- 
ency have contributed much to the suc- 
cess of this branch of the business. Mr. 
King is active in social organizations of 
his native city, being a member of Wil- 
liam Whiting Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Holyoke ; of the Bay State 
Club, the Mount Tom Gulf Club and Hol- 
yoke Canoe Club. Of social and genial 
instinct, he is a welcome member in any 
circle, and contributes his share to the 
advancement and development of all 
interests of Holyoke. While he does not 



take an active part in practical politics, 
he is an intelligent observer of events, 
and interested in the growth, prosperity 
and happiness of the people of the United 
States, allowing no one to surpass him in 
patriotism. 

Mr. King married, May 3, 1900, Jane 
Edmunds, a native of Rockville, Connec- 
ticut, daughter of John and Jane Ed- 
munds, of English antecedents. John 
Edmunds came to America about 1861. 
Mr. and Mrs. King are the parents of 
three daughters, Ruth Ann, Janet and 
Barbara. 



COOK, Frederick Rodney, 
Business Man. 

As president of the old-established 
William F. Cook Company, Frederick 
Rodney Cook, of Mittineague, Massachu- 
setts, is the head of a business that ranks 
among the largest of its kind in the west- 
ern part of the State. He comes of an 
old Massachusetts family. 

(I) Ezekiel Cook, grandfather of Fred- 
erick R. Cook, was a native of Warwick, 
Massachusetts, where he spent his life, 
and he died at an advanced age. 

(II) William Frederick Cook, son of 
Ezekiel Cook, was born February 14, 
1847, i" Warwick. He received his edu- 
cation in the public schools of that town 
and in those of Barre, in the same State. 
At the age of twenty he went to Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, where he was em- 
ployed as a machinist. His next migra- 
tion was to Springfield, where he was 
employed by the firm of Smith & Wes- 
son, pistol manufacturers, and later was 
employed in the United States Armory. 
In 1872 he went into business as a dealer 
in coal and ice, establishing himself at 
West Springfield. The venture pros- 
pered, and in the course of time he found 
himself at the head of a flourishing coal 



64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and trucking business, including masons' 
supplies, the style being the W. F. Cook 
Supply Company. In 1905 he established 
a branch in Springfield under the man- 
agement of his son, George S. Cook, the 
Mittineague business being supervised 
by his other son, Frederick Rodney, and 
he continued active in these until his 
death. Mr. Cook was also interested in 
West Springfield real estate. He was a 
Republican and took an active part in 
local politics, serving fifteen years on the 
town committee, and from 1893 to 1898 
holding the office of water commissioner 
as West Springfield. In 1906 he was 
elected to the Legislature. Mr. Cook 
married (first) Florence, daughter of 
Rodney and Mary B. Steele, the former 
an engineer on the Boston & Albany Rail- 
road. Mr. Steele died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Cook were 
the parents of two sons and one daugh- 
ter: Frederick Rodney, of further men- 
tion ; George S. ; and Marion. Mrs. Cook 
died in 1885, and Mr. Cook married (sec- 
ond) Carrie B. Norton, who passed away 
in May, 191 3. The death of Mr. Cook 
occurred March i, 191 5, at Mittineague. 
(HI) Frederick Rodney Cook, son of 
William Frederick and Florence (Steele) 
Cook, was born January 26, 1878, at Mit- 
tineague, Massachusetts. He attended 
the common schools of his native town, 
passing thence to the West Springfield 
High School, and later taking a course at 
the Springfield Business College. The 
first business position obtained by Mr. 
Cook was with his cousin in a shoe 
store in Springfield, and later he engaged 
for two years in the grain business. After 
a temporary connection with the Metro- 
politan Life Insurance Company he be- 
came shipping clerk for Kibbee Brothers, 
the well-known wholesale manufacturers 
of confectionery, and here he continued 
until 1903, when he resigned in order that 



he might be free to associate himself with 
his father in the coal and wood business. 
In addition to this they engaged in truck- 
ing, having to-day all the trucking for the 
mills in Mittineague. Upon the death of 
his father, Mr. Cook became manager of 
the estate, acting in this capacity until 
September i, 1915, when he purchased the 
entire business, which he has since con- 
ducted under the name of the William F. 
Cook Supply Company. On the founda- 
tion laid so surely and successfully by his 
father forty-five years ago he conducts 
an extensive and flourishing trade. Dur- 
ing the years which have elapsed since 
he first became associated with the busi- 
ness, Mr. Cook has devoted himself to 
the furtherance of its interests and as a 
result has seen it increase to its present 
proportions. To-day it is the largest con- 
cern of its kind in the town of West 
Springfield, and among the largest in 
Western Massachusetts, and its proprie- 
tor is among the leading business men of 
his community. 

As a staunch Republican, Mr. Cook has 
taken an active interest in poltical afifairs, 
having been for many years a member of 
the Republican town committee of West 
Springfield and having, during five of 
these years, served as its chairman. He 
affiliates with Mount Orthodox Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of West 
Springfield, and also is a member of the 
Springfield Automobile Club. He is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church of West Springfield and serves on 
its board of stewards. 

Mr. Cook married, April 10, 1907, Ma- 
bel L. Murphy, bom in Springfield, 
daughter of Spencer Murphy, who was 
for many years employed in the sash and 
blind factory of Gilbert & Company, of 
Springfield. Mr. Murphy is also the 
father of two sons : Frederick, a photo- 
grapher of Springfield ; and Louis, with 



65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Potter Lumber Company. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cook have one son, Frederick R., 
born March 25, 1908. 



FANNING, David Hale, 

Manufactiirer. 

That a man is the "Architect of his own 
fortune" is forcibly illustrated in the 
wonderful life of David Hale Fanning, a 
man now nearing the age at which one 
passes from the octogenarian into the 
rare nonagenarian class. In his early 
youth he was deprived of both father and 
mother and at the age of sixteen, with his 
sister's gift of a pocket Bible which was 
then and ever his source of inspiration, 
he started out into the great world to 
seek his place. His cash capital was two 
dollars and fifty cents, but he possessed 
unlimited capital represented by a strong, 
vigorous body, a clean mind, a stout 
heart, a spirit nothing could daunt, sound 
morals and a pledge, faithfully adhered 
to, never to use intoxicants or tobacco. 
With that capital he began life and at the 
age of thirty-one had so added to it in 
actual cash and business experience, that 
he was able to start a small manufactur- 
ing plant of his own and from that begin- 
ning grew the great business conducted 
under the corporate name Royal Worces- 
ter Corset Company, David H. Fanning, 
president, then and now. 

To review such a life of achievement 
in its high lights only, is a task of mag- 
nitude, but there is so much in that life 
of extraordinary interest that it iills one 
with a desire to understand from whence 
came his strength — mental, moral and 
physical. Why has he succeeded so 
grandly where others have failed so mis- 
erably? Why has he lived so long such 
a strong, strenuous, healthful life, when 
the average life of the business man is 
hardly greater than half the years this 



man has attained? Above all one would 
understand how an unproved country lad 
could pass through the temptations that 
assail the homeless, and retain inviolate 
the strict moral code he had adopted as 
his standard of living. 

There are many answers which could 
be made to such questions, but his own 
answer is : "Temperance, early hours, 
good company and hard work." Really 
that covers the entire ground, but with 
such modesty that it does not entirely 
satisfy. Yet, plus experience which the 
passing years have given him, heredity 
and early home training, his answer does 
reveal the secret of a most remarkable 
life. 

His ancestry is traced in America to 
Edmund Fanning, who was granted land 
at New London, Connecticut, in 1664, and 
was one of the original proprietors of 
Stonington, Connecticut, a soldier of 
King Philip's War, and in England to 
1066 when the Conqueror came. Edmund 
Fanning brought to the New World the 
best attributes of his English and Irish 
ancestors ; and these, strengthened by 
pioneer life, were transmitted to Lieuten- 
ant John Fanning, born about 1657, also 
a soldier of King Philip's War, who 
received a grant of land at Groton, Con- 
necticut. John Fanning left a son John 
(2) Fanning born in 1688, whose son 
Thomas Fanning, born in 1719, was the 
father of Thomas (2) Fanning, born 1755, 
a ship carpenter who served six years as 
a Revolutionary soldier and was wounded 
in battle so seriously that in after years 
he received from his grateful country a 
pension as long as he lived, his death 
occurring in 1828. This brings the fam- 
ily history through the Colonial period to 
the establishment of the Republic and a 
government "of the people, by the people, 
and for the people." Each generation 
bore well their part, not only as soldiers 



66 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



but in the civil arts, aiding in the estab- 
lishment of an order under which suc- 
ceeding generations have lived, prospered 
and helped grandly to maintain. 

Thomas Fanning, the Revolutionary 
soldier, was the father of Henry Willson 
Fanning, who was born in 1786, died in 
1836, surviving his honored father but 
eight years. He was a blacksmith and 
followed his trade in Marlboro, Norwich, 
and Jewett City, Connecticut. He inher- 
ited the military ardor of his sires and 
when a second war was waged with 
Great Britain to sustain and forever 
establish those principles for which the 
first was fought, he entered the American 
army, serving as corporal of the company 
of Connecticut militia, led by Captain 
Enos H. Buell. He married Sarah Hale, 
also of distinguished Colonial ancestry, 
daughter of David and Ruth (Hale) Hale, 
of Glastonbury, Connecticut. She was a 
woman of strong character, reared her 
children in strict accordance with the 
religious principles she professed and 
gave them all the love and devotion of 
her great mother heart. Henry Willson 
and Sarah (Hale) Fanning were the par- 
ents of David Hale Fanning and in that 
Jewett City home, under the influence of 
his honorable, upright, industrious father 
and tender, devoted solicitous mother, his 
early character was formed. With the 
training there received and with the tradi- 
tions of such an honorable ancestry to 
inspire him, he prepared for the battle of 
life, a battle he has so bravely fought and 
so grandly won. 

David Hale Fanning was born at Jew- 
ett City, town of Griswold, Connecticut, 
August 4, 1830, consequently is now ap- 
proaching his eighty-seventh birthday. 
He was early deprived of a father's care, 
but the influence of that father has fol- 
lowed him through life and to him he 
owes those habits of industry which have 



ever distinguished him. Until he was 
sixteen he remained at home, and under 
that home influence was laid the founda- 
tion upon which to build his future 
career. Too much importance cannot be 
given those boyhood years, during which 
he acquired habits of frugality, honesty, 
a reverence for the Bible and an un- 
wavering determination to obstemiously 
avoid tobacco and liquor. 

At sixteen he left home, making the 
first stage of his journey, twenty miles, 
on foot, his chief possessions his little 
Bible, which he still has, and two dollars 
and fifty cents in money. That was in 
1846 and until 1861 he had no settled loca- 
tion and no definite plan of action decided 
upon, except that he must work and save. 
During that time he had worked as a 
factory hand in Clinton and Worcester, 
Massachusetts, had learned the machin- 
ist's trade, worked as a journeyman, been 
proprietor of a general store at Groton 
Junction, Massachusetts, sold out his 
business and moved to Cleveland, Ohio, 
returned to Worcester and from 1857 
until 1861 been employed as a salesman. 
These were fifteen busy years and left 
the young man with a good trade, fac- 
tory experience, business experience and 
the knowledge that is only gained in 
travel and actual contact with the world 
under hard conditions. The years had 
further left him a strong, self-reliant man, 
believing in himself and strengthened and 
determined in his resolution to find the 
way to success. 

The Civil War was then on and Mr. 
Fanning was desirous to aid in the preser- 
vation of the Union his forefathers had 
fought to establish, but the recruiting 
officer found there were some physical 
defects which unfitted him for army serv- 
ice. Balked in that ambition he decided 
to employ his small capital in the manu- 
facture of that then fad, hoop skirts for 



67 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



woman's wear. He established a plant 
in Worcester and began business under 
the firm name The Worcester Skirt Com- 
pany. His previous factory experience 
and his knowledge of salesmanship now 
stood him in good stead and he prospered, 
for he had mastered the art of inanufac- 
turing and of selling. 

About this time considerable interest 
in corsets had developed, and Mr. Tan- 
ning's far-sightedness led him to believe 
that here was an article for which there 
would be a world-wide demand. 

So, when "hoops" were no longer con- 
sidered an important part of a fashion- 
able costume he had perfected several 
models of corsets and with them was able 
to retain the hold he already had upon 
those dealers selling woman's wear. 

His varied experience had taught him 
that women were dependable customers, 
but subject to Fashion's numerous and 
rapid changes. Corsets proved to be an 
indispensable item of feminine attire and 
became immensely popular. 

Mr. Fanning found his reasoning good 
and soon his plant was in condition of 
greater prosperity than it had ever 
known. He was virtually a pioneer in the 
American manufacture of corsets, and 
through all the wonderful expansion of 
that great business has retained that 
leadership. He continued in business 
under the original style and title, and The 
Worcester Skirt Company under his ex- 
ecutive management flourished, expanded 
and prospered until 1888, when it was 
incorporated as the Worcester Corset 
Company. In 1901 the name was changed 
to the Royal Worcester Corset Company 
with David Hale Fanning still president, 
and at this time (1916) no other man has 
filled that office. 

Let not the foregoing record lead the 
reader to regard Mr. Fanning as one who 
considers money-making the chief aim of 



man. A visit to the plant wherein are 
manufactured Bon Ton, Royal Worces- 
ter, and Adjusto Corsets which are sold 
all over the world, reveals the fact that 
Mr. Fanning values the health, comfort 
and welfare of his two thousand em- 
ployees above every other consideration. 
The plant is the largest in the entire 
world devoted solely to the manufacture 
of corsets, and in no other factory do 
the operatives labor under more com- 
fortable or better sanitary conditions. 
While the most healthful environment 
and every precaution, even to spe- 
cial water supply, cannot prevent sick- 
ness among so many people, it can 
be at once treated in this plant in the 
hospital ward where a trained nurse and 
medical treatment are constantly at hand 
during the hours the plant is in opera- 
tion. In short the factory in construction, 
equipment and operation is a model, a 
worthy monument to the man responsible 
for its being — David Hale Fanning. 

Another monument to his public spirit 
and generosity is a beautiful park in his 
native Jewett City, presented by Mr. 
Fanning, and in honor of the donor named 
The David Hale Fanning Park. In the 
same town is a worthy Sailors' and Sol- 
diers' monument ( erected largely through 
his generosity) and in New London the 
new Connecticut College for Women, 
recently completed. The town which 
gave him birth and was the scene of his 
boyhood life has ever remained dear to 
him and, in adding to its attractiveness, 
he has taken a deep pleasure and con- 
siders that he has availed himself of a 
privilege. 

In his relations with the public institu- 
tions of his adopted city, Worcester, Mr. 
Fanning has manifested a spirit of liber- 
ality that has greatly increased their use- 
fulness. Perhaps the institution which 
lies nearest his heart and has benefited 



68 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



most through his interest is the Hahne- 
mann Hospital of Worcester, but he has 
remembered all : the churches, schools, 
Grand Army of the Republic and civic 
institutions, all claiming his munificence. 
He donated to the Hospital the land, on 
Lincoln street, upon which the beautiful 
building is erected, and is especially inter- 
ested in those Homes provided by philan- 
thropy for the aged, the sick and the 
needy, while the cause of education is 
dear to his heart. 

It can be seen from the foregoing that 
the wealth Mr. Fanning has acquired 
has been won through honest efifort, not 
through governmental favor, syndicate 
methods of stifling competition, nor trust 
methods of controlling prices. He has 
made and sold legitimately ; the superi- 
ority of the product he manufactured the 
only advantage he enjoyed or wanted. It 
is also apparent that his wealth is not 
employed in selfishly gratifying his own 
desires, but that it is being as wisely used 
as it was fairly won. He lives most mod- 
estly at his not pretentious home in 
Woodland street, but he does take a keen 
delight in the possession of rare plants 
and fiowers and their cultivation ; his 
chrysanthemums, of which he is passion- 
ately fond, being unusually fine and a 
rare show in their proper season. 

Mr. Fanning is a Republican in poli- 
tics, and in religious affiliations an active 
member of the Church of the Unity, Wor- 
cester. In youth he became a member of 
that then prominent order, Sons of Tem- 
perance, and was very active during the 
many years it was the leading temper- 
ance organization of the United States 
with lodges everywhere. He is a mem- 
ber of the Home Market Club of Boston, 
the Worcester Chamber of Commerce, 
the Worcester County Mechanics' Asso- 
ciation, and the Tatnuck Country Club. 

He married at Worcester, September 



28, 1859, Rosamond Hopkins Dawless, 
who died December 14, 1901, daughter of 
Young Simmons and Fidela (Willard) 
Dawless, of Sterling, Massachusetts. The 
only son born to Mr. and Mrs. Fanning, 
Frank Everett, died August 21, 1869, an 
infant : their eldest daughter, Agnes 
Maria, is the widow of John E. Lancaster, 
of Worcester; their second daughter and 
youngest child, Helen Josephine, is the 
widow of W^illiam C. Supplee, of Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania. 

While Mr. Fanning retains the presi- 
dency of the Royal Worcester Corset 
Company and each day sees him at his 
desk in the Company's Worcester offices, 
he naturally feels the weight of his 
years, eighty-six, and has surrendered to 
younger shoulders the heavier burdens of 
management. A lifetime has elapsed 
since that day, seventy years ago, when 
he walked away from the Jewett City 
home, but as the achievement of those 
years is understood, it seems a short time 
in which to accomplish so much. Truly 
he has been the "Architect of his own 
fortune." 



OTTO, George R., 

Representative Citizen. 

This is the name of one who, though 
not born in West Springfield, was an 
almost life-long resident of the town and 
was numbered among its most respected 
citizens. Mr. Otto, now deceased, was 
long one of the skilled employees at the 
Springfield Armory, and in addition 
owned and superintended the running of 
a line of boats. As a citizen he was ever 
ready to do his part toward public im- 
provements and general betterment of 
conditions. 

(I) Oscar Otto, grandfather of George 
R. Otto, was born in Germany, and was 
the owner of a brewery. He and his wife 



69 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



were the parents of three children : 
George ; John, of further mention ; and 
Emma. All these are now deceased. Mr. 
and Mrs. Otto both died in their native 
land. 

(II) John Otto, son of Oscar Otto, 
was born in Germany, and at the age of 
twenty emigrated to the United States, 
settling in Hartford, Connecticut, before 
that city was connected by rail with 
Springfield. His sojourn in Hartford, 
however, was brief, and after making the 
trip to Springfield by boat he arrived 
there with no other equipment than an 
education acquired in the public schools 
of his native land and a thorough knowl- 
edge of his trade, which was that of a 
silver-plater. That trade he followed 
successfully in Springfield, later in Hart- 
ford, and then again in Springfield, dur- 
ing the remainder of his life. In poli- 
tics he was a Democrat, but held no 
office. Air. Otto married Catherine, 
adopted daughter of Captain Bunker. She 
was born in Germany, and as a girl em- 
barked for the United States on a vessel 
which suffered total destruction, many 
of its passengers being lost, Catherine 
being the only one of her family to sur- 
vive, being picked up by the captain, who 
subsequently adopted her. Mr.' and Mrs. 
Otto were the parents of two children : 
George R., of further mention ; and Rose, 
who died in infancy. Mrs. Otto died in 
Hartford, and her husband in Spring- 
field. 

. (HI) George R. Otto, son of John and 
Catherine (Bunker) Otto, was born June 
25, 1846, in Chicopee, Massachusetts, and 
died in that town, September 13, 1901. 
He received his education in the public 
schools of Hartford, Connecticut. His 
trade was that of a polisher, and upon the 
death of his mother, he went to Newark, 
New Jersey, and at the age of seventeen 
came to Springfield, obtaining employ- 



ment in the Armory. He remained there 
thirty-five years, a fact which furnishes 
indisputable proof of his skill and fidel- 
ity. An enterprising spirit caused Mr. 
Otto, while thus employed, to seek 
another outlet for his energies. Con- 
structing a boat-house at the foot of Elm 
street, he purchased about seventy-five 
boats which he rented at reasonable 
rates. He employed a man to attend to 
the work, and Mrs. Otto, who was as 
energetic as her husband, superintended 
the conduct of the establishment, which 
was successfully continued by her until 
1916, when it was disposed of. In poli- 
tics, Mr. Otto was a Democrat. He 
belonged to the Turn Verein Society, 
serving as a trustee of the order. 

Mr. Otto married, December 21, 1864, 
Elizabeth Cardigan, and they became the 
parents of the following children: i. 
George, born December 9, 1869; married 
Bridget Moriarty ; their children : George, 
Frank, Daniel and Mary, now living in 
Springfield ; Mrs. George Otto died in 
1909 and her husband in 1912. 2. Frank, 
died at the age of two years. 3. Fred- 
erick, born November 25, 1875 ; gradu- 
ated from the Boston Law School, but 
after practising a short time became 
bookkeeper for the Springfield Gas Com- 
pany, remaining about seven years ; in 
1916 he was appointed revenue oiificer in 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, which position 
he still holds ; he married Mary Dennin, 
who died in 191 1, leaving one daughter, 
Elizabeth, who was born in 1898, and 
now lives with her grandmother in West 
Springfield. 4. Edward, born in 1888, 
died in infancy. 

On September 13, 1901, being then only 
in the prime of life. George R. Otto, good 
citizen, kind neighbor, affectionate hus- 
band and father, passed away. His line of 
boats which he had operated for the long 
period of forty years had made him widely 



^o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



known in the community, and he was the 
possessor of many warm and faithful 
friends. The life of Mr. Otto carries its 
own lesson of the reward of duty well 
performed — a lesson which all young men 
who have their way to make in the world 
would do well to heed. 

Timothy Cardigan, father of Mrs. Eliz- 
abeth (Cardigan) Otto, was born in Ire- 
land and emigrated to the United States, 
presumably in youth or early manhood. 
He settled in Springfield, where he was 
employed in the freight-house of the Bos- 
ton & Albany Railroad. He married 
Ellen Barry, a native of Ireland, and their 
children were: i. Elizabeth, born in 
1847, became the wife of George R. Otto, 
as stated above; Mrs. Otto has lived all 
her 1142 in her native city of Springfield, 
and we have seen what an admirable 
helpmate her husband ever found in her. 
2. Anna, born in 1849, married Frank 
Paige, who died in 1901 ; their children, 
who all live in Springfield, are : Frank, 
George, Charles, William, Frederick and 
Harry. 3. and 4. Lawrence and Timo- 
thy, twins, never married ; Lawrence died 
at twenty-five and Timothy now lives in 
Boston. Mrs. Cardigan died in Spring- 
field at the early age of twenty-six, and 
the death of her husband occurred in 



GALLAGHER, James A., 

Business Man, Public Official. 

Peter Gallagher, grandfather of James 
A. Gallagher, of Worcester, was born in 
the North of Ireland, settled early in life 
in New Brunswick, and engaged in truck- 
ing, farming and lumbering. He also 
lived for a few years at Richmond, Maine. 
He married Rhoda Jackson, who was also 
a native of Ireland. Children: Francis, 
mentioned below ; Michael, John, James, 
Daniel, George, Jeremiah, Peter, William, 
Sarah, Mary, Kittie. 



Francis Gallagher, son of Peter Gal- 
lagher, was born in 1830 at Richmond, 
Maine, and went with his parents from 
his native town to New Brunswick, locat- 
ing in the town of Newbury. He died 
in Worcester, whither he came in 1870, 
shortly after his marriage. He was a 
carpenter by trade, and for forty years 
he was in business as a contractor and 
builder in Worcester, Massachusetts. He 
built the first of the type of apartment 
house known as the three-decker, and 
during the course of his business life con- 
structed a large number of these dwell- 
ing houses. He continued in active busi- 
ness until shortly before his death in 1914, 
at the age of eighty-four years. 

He married Theresa McElheny, daugh- 
ter of James and Ellen (Burns) Mc- 
Elheny, who were both natives of Ire- 
land. Her parents came to Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, but moved afterward to 
New Brunswick. Her mother died and is 
buried in Boston, Massachusetts. Chil- 
dren of James and Ellen McElheny: 
Mary, deceased ; Ellen, deceased ; Julia, 
deceased ; Hugh, deceased ; Theresa, 
mentioned above, now living in Worces- 
ter. Children of Francis and Theresa 
(McElheny) Gallagher: i. Annie. 2. 
Agnes, married William H. Brady, a 
police inspector of Worcester. 3. Au- 
gusta, was for twenty years Superior of 
Notre Dame Order at the Star of the 
Sea Convent, East Boston, and Notre 
Dame Convent, Chicopee; died in 1916 
at Fond-du-Lac Convent, Worcester, 
where she spent the last six months of 
her life. 4. Peter, a carpenter by trade ; 
was for two years a member of the Com- 
mon Council of the City of Worcester 
from Ward Four ; married (first) Nora 
Brady ; (second) Nellie Brady. 5. Louisa, 
unmarried. 6. Mary, unmarried. 7. Sarah, 
a grammar school teacher. 8. Gertrude, 
married Timothy F. Larkin, lawyer, of 
Worcester ; she is an accomplished pian- 



71 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ist and teacher of music. 9. Frank, de- 
ceased. 10. Julia, deceased. 11. James 
A., mentioned below. 

James A. Gallagher, son of Francis 
Gallagher, was born at Newbury, New 
Brunswick, July 22, 1868. He attended 
the public schools of Worcester, but in 
his thirteenth year, when in the seventh 
grade, left school to begin work as errand 
boy in a machine shop. He served an 
apprenticeship of four years in the ma- 
chinist trade, but abandoned it finally in 
favor of his father's occupation. For the 
past thirty years he has followed the 
trade and business of carpentering. For 
twelve years he was contract superin- 
tendent for J. J. Higgins & Company. 
During the past twelve years he has been 
in business as a contractor and builder 
in Worcester. He has made a specialty 
of the three-decker which his father intro- 
duced and made popular. It is said that 
James A. Gallagher has built more of 
this style of residence than any other 
man in Worcester. He has devoted 
much attention also to building houses to 
sell and developing real estate. He de- 
veloped nearly all the side of the hill on 
Houghton street. At times he has fifty 
carpenters in his employ. In addition to 
his extensive real estate and contracting 
business he has given much time to pub- 
lic service. In politics he is a Democrat, 
one of the local leaders of his party, 
keenly interested in municipal affairs. 
He represented Ward Four in the Com- 
mon Council of the City of Worcester in 
191 1 and 1912. Since 1915 he has been a 
member of the Board of Aldermen of the 
city. He has served on some very 
important committees, including streets, 
police, public buildings, legislation, street 
lighting, mayor's inaugural and unfin- 
ished business, of which he was chair- 
man. He was also on the Committee on 
Assessments for Street Betterments, and 



chairman of the Committee on Elections 
and Election Returns. He gave his sup- 
port to the pay-as-you-go policy of the 
city, established in 191 5, and now in sat- 
isfactory operation. He was a member of 
the city government when the grade 
crossing ordinance was passed and the 
Lake Quinsigamond Bridge finally voted. 
He is given credit for having acted in 
good faith and consistently on all meas- 
ures in the interests of the people and 
municipality. He was the first alderman 
elected from his ward without opposition. 
He has been chairman of the Democratic 
City Committee, and is well-known in 
business and political circles throughout 
the State. His personality, cordiality and 
good nature have won a host of friends 
for him. His energy, shrewdness and 
ambition have won him success in busi- 
ness. As a public officer he has been effi- 
cient, zealous and faithful. Personally he 
is deservedly popular among all classes 
of citizens. He is a member of the local 
order of Knights of Columbus, the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians and the Eagles. 
He has a very attractive residence at No. 
69 May street. 

Mr. Gallagher married, October 28, 
1896, Elizabeth Leonard, daughter of John 
and Catharine (Rooney) Leonard, of 
Worcester. His wife is a native of Wor- 
cester, educated there in the parochial 
schools. Children : Marian, graduate of 
the Worcester Parochial School, 1916; 
Loretta ; Rhoda, deceased ; Leonard, 
Catharine, Frank, Elizabeth. 



HALL, Percy Newell, 

Druggist. 

Percy N. Hall, the well-known drug- 
gist of Westfield, is a son of Newell Bar- 
ney Hall, and grandson of Levi Hall, 
born in Uxbridge, Massachusetts, Janu- 
ary 7, 1807, died in Turners Falls, Massa- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, January 9, 1891. He spent the 
greater part of his life in Jacksonville, 
Vermont, engaged in farming, both he 
and his wife very active and devoted 
members of the Methodist Episcopal 

church. He married Lydia , born 

at Whitingham, Vermont, December 3, 
1804, and there died December 6, 1873. 

They were the parents of an only child, 
Newell Barney Hall, born in Jackson- 
ville, Vermont, January 5, 1829. He grew 
to manhood at Jacksonville, became inter- 
ested in the hotel business, but about 
1869 moved to Turners Falls, Massachu- 
setts, where he became foreman of the 
Montague Paper Mill, continuing in that 
position until one year previous to his 
death, which occurred December 4, 1904. 
He married at Whitingham, Vermont, 
November 20, 1856, Rev. Amherst Lamb 
officiating, Lucy Melissa Hull, born at 
Whitingham, May 19, 1830, now residing 
with her daughter Jennie at East Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. She is a daughter 
of Emery Hull, born in Whitingham, 
Vermont, March, 1804, died there March 
I, 1842, son of Captain William Hull, an 
officer of the militia, and grandson of 
Captain Alonzo Hull, an officer of the 
Revolution. Emery Hull married Lydia 
Chase, born in Whitingham, January 13, 
1808, died at Susquehanna, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 12, 1871. They were the par- 
ents of Fannie Hull, married Harvey Hol- 
dredge, and resided in Susquehanna, both 
deceased ; Mary Hull, married F. D. 
Lyons, and lived to the great age of 
ninety-seven ; Lucy Melissa Hull, mar- 
ried Newell Barney Hall. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hall were the parents of seven children : 
Frank, died in infancy ; Jennie, married 
Major Samuel C. Waldron, owner of the 
famous Rumford Chemical Works of East 
Providence, whom she survives, residing 
in East Providence and caring for her 
aged mother; George, died at Turners 



Falls in 1910; William, a paper maker 
of Lawrence, Massachusetts ; Frank L., 
of Uniontown, Pennsylvania, the owner 
of several motion picture theatres ; Harry 
C, a paper maker of Holyoke ; Percy 
Newell, of further mention. All but the 
two youngest children were born in Jack- 
sonville, Vermont, they in Turners Falls, 
Massachusetts. 

Percy Newell Hall, youngest child of 
Newell Barney and Lucy Melissa (Hull) 
Hall, was born July 11, 1877. He was 
educated in the public schools of Turn- 
ers Falls, graduating with the high school 
class of 1894. He began learning the ma- 
chinist's trade with the Deane Steam 
Pump Company, but he did not find the 
work congenial and gave it up in favor 
of a mercantile life. He accepted the 
opportunity olifered him to learn the drug 
business in the store owned by John F. 
Hood, of Turners Falls, and there re- 
mained until coming to Holyoke with C. 
E. Ball at his High street store. Later 
and for five years he was with Edwin 
Baker, of Shelburne Falls, then for eigh- 
teen months with A. E. Lerche, of Spring- 
field, and in September, 1906, located in 
Westfield and purchased the well-known 
business conducted for many years by 
the late Henry Holland. They continued 
at the old location for five years very suc- 
cessfully, but in 191 1, the business de- 
manding enlarged quarters, he moved to 
his present location at the corner of 
School and Elm streets. 

He has taken an active part in public 
affairs since coming to Westfield, is a 
good organizer and executive, progres- 
sive and energetic, the type of clear- 
visioned, courageous, high-principled men 
that are so useful in civic afifairs. He is 
of a cheerful, optimistic nature, has the 
courage of his convictions, is not afraid 
of responsibility nor disturbed by opposi- 
tion. As chairman of the Board of Se- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lectmen in 1914 and 1915 he passed 
through some troubled waters which were 
safely navigated with skill and credit. 
He believes in Westfield and is always 
ready to lend a hand to advance her wel- 
fare. Politically he is a Republican. He 
is a member of Mt. Moriah Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Evening Star 

Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 

Lodge, Order of the Eastern Star ; the 
Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy, 
in which he takes an active part and 
interest ; the Hampden County Improve- 
ment Association ; Westfield Board of 
Trade ; is an ex-president of the Men's 
Club, and a member of the Westfield and 
Westfield Country clubs. 

Mr. Hall married, December 31, 1902, 
Leal M. Fales, born in Franklin, Ohio, 
daughter of Lowell Emerson Fales, born 
in Walpole, Massachusetts, June 28, 1833, 
a paper maker by trade, and he died in 
August, 1905. He married Martha Ann 
Farwell, born in New York, October 24, 
1843, "ow residing with her daughter, 
Mrs. Stoekell, in Norfolk, Connecticut. 
Mrs. Martha A. Fales is a daughter of 
John H. Farwell, born in Fitchburg, Mas- 
sachusets, February 9, 1805, died Novem- 
ber 9, 1886. He was at one time a cap- 
tain of a company in the New York State 
Militia, son of a Revolutionary soldier 
who fought at Lexington. John H. Far- 
well married Catherine Adams Putnam, 
born at Fitchburg, December 25, 1810, 
died December 7, 1875. Lowell Emer- 
son Fales, previously mentioned, was a 
son of W^arren Fales, born at Walpole, 
Massachusetts, and there died in 1883, 
his father and grandfather soldiers of the 
Revolution engaged at Lexington. Lowell 
E. and Martha Ann (Farwell) Fales were 
the parents of four children, two of whom 
are living. Mr. and Mrs. Hall are the 
parents of John Lowell, born January 19, 



1904; Howard Fales, January 24, 1906; 
Jean, November 2, 1908; Percy Newell 
(2), February 6, 1915. 



ROLOFF, Oscar Theodore, 
Mercbant. 

Oscar Theodore Roloff, merchant of 
West Springfield and president of the 
West Side Board of Commerce, is a son 
of Otto Roloff, and a grandson of Peter 
Roloff. 

(I) Peter Roloff was born in 1818, in 
Dusseldorf, Germany, and about 1861 
emigrated to the United States, where he 
spent the remainder of his life. He mar- 
ried, in Germany, and he and his wife 
were the parents of four sons : Henry, 
Herman, Otto, of further mention ; and 
Ernest. Of these the youngest is the only 
one now living. Mr. Roloff died in 1874, 
in New York City. 

(II) Otto Roloff, son of Peter Roloff, 
was born in 1842, in Dusseldorf, Ger- 
many, and received his education in pub- 
lic schools of his native land. He was 
about nineteen years old when he accom- 
panied his father to the United States. 
His occupation was that of a fresco 
painter, and his political principles were 
those of the Democratic party. Mr. Ro- 
loff married Fredericka, born in Berlin, 
daughter of Henry Schiller, and their 
children were: i. Oscar Theodore, of 
further mention. 2. Herman, died young. 

3. Flora, died at the age of eight years. 

4. Bertha, died at three years old. 5. 
Ernest, born in October, 1871, died in 
1895. 6. Lillian, born in 1873, married 
Charles Neal, and lives in Hartford, Con- 
necticut ; they have twin sons, Ralph and 
Raymond, born September 4, 1899. Mr. 
Roloff died in 1889, in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and his widow passed away in 
September, 1892, at the home of her eld- 
est son in West Springfield. 



74 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(III) Oscar Theodore Roloff, son of 
Otto and Fredericka (Schiller) Roloff, 
was born August 27, 1866, in Brooklyn, 
New York, and was nine years old when 
the family removed to Springfield. His 
education was received in public schools, 
and at the age of fifteen he began to learn 
photography with a Mr. Harvey at the 
corner of Main and Worthingfton streets, 
Springfield. At the end of two years, Mr. 
Roloff left Mr. Harvey and went to New 
York, where he spent one more year as 
an apprentice, after which he followed 
his trade for five years. At the expiration 
of that time he returned to Springfield, 
finding employment with H. C. Moore, 
with whom he remained three years. He 
then entered the service of the National 
Chemical Company, whose place of busi- 
ness was situated on Wilbraham road, 
Springfield. For two years Mr. Roloff 
was employed there, his position being 
that of photograph tester, and he then 
entered the old Chauncey L. Moore stu- 
dio, owned by Chauncey Morrell. He had 
been there only a short time, however, 
when Mr. Morrell sold out to T. C. 
Hawks , and with him Mr. Roloff re- 
mained two years. 

Feeling attracted to another sphere of 
endeavor, Mr. Roloff left Mr. Hawks and 
the photograph business, becoming night 
engine dispatcher for the B. and A. and 
N. Y. C. Railroad Company. He evi- 
dently found himself well adapted to the 
different conditions, for he retained the 
position eight years. But what he most 
desired was to be in business for himself, 
and when an opportunity presented itself 
he purchased the meat and grocery busi- 
ness conducted by H. C. Sanborne on 
Main street, West Springfield, which he 
has since carried on successfully. In 
April, 191 7, Mr. Roloff purchased a piece 
of property on the corner of Elm and 
Garden streets and erected thereon a 



block consisting of two stores and two 
tenements. He here conducts another 
meat and grocery business in addition to 
the one he owns on Main street. 

Mr. Roloff, many years ago, became 
active in the political field. For three 
years he was a member of the Board of 
Fire Engineers, and for ten years has 
been warden of Precinct A. He was later 
nominated for the office of tax collector. 
When Mr. Roloff was chosen for presi- 
dent of the West Side Board of Com- 
merce, the announcement was greeted 
with general approval, and both the com- 
mittee and the townspeople have since 
had ample reason to congratulate them- 
selves on the choice. For twenty-four 
years Mr. Roloff has affiliated with Tekoa 
Lodge, No. 138, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, having passed all the chairs 
and being now a past grand. He is also 
past chief patriarch of Agawam Encamp- 
ment of Springfield, and a member of 
Mount Orthodox Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. On November 7, 1916, 
Mr. Roloff instituted Acket Lodge of 
Rebeccas, and he also instituted the 
Lodge of Past Grands of Western Mas- 
sachusetts, serving in 1914 as their first 
president. 

Mr. Roloff married, February 11, 1891, 
Aimee L. Mathews, and they are the par- 
ents of three sons: i. Percy, born April 
22, 1892; associated with his father in 
business; married, June 26, 1917, Sidonia 
Beringer. 2. Charles F., born March 25, 
1896; employed in the Springfield Safe 
Deposit and Trust Company. 3. Harold 
M., born August 24, 1901, a student in 
high school. All three still live under the 
parental roof-tree. 

Mr. Roloff has been successful as a 
business man, and has so conclusively 
proved his fitness for a political career 
that it is highly probable his townsmen 



75 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



will give him further proofs of their con- 
fidence in his ability to serve them. 

Frank J. Mathews, son of Richard 
Mathews, the father of Mrs. Aimee L. 
(Mathews) Rolofif, was born in 1843, i" 
Amherst, Massachusetts, and for forty- 
seven years was employed as a yardmas- 
ter by the B. and A. and N. Y. C. rail- 
roads in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. Mathews married Angelina, 
daughter of Chester Morgan, and their 
children were: i. Frederick, died in in- 
fancy. 2. Harry, born in May, 1867, and 
now living in Jacksonville, Florida ; mar- 
ried Clara Pratt, and they have one son, 
Harold, born in 1916. 3. Bertha, born in 
June, 1870, married George Ralzhauser, 
of Springfield, and three children have 
been born to them : Beatrice, married 
Harry Fisher, one daughter, Louise Bar- 
bara ; Theresia ; and George, deceased. 
4. Aimee L., born in 1871, in West 
Springfield, and became the wife of Oscar 
Theodore RolofT, as stated above; Mrs. 
Rolofif attends the Baptist church. 5. 
Nellie, born in 1874, died at the age of 
twenty. In 191 1 Mr. Mathews was acci- 
dentally killed on the railroad, and his 
widow, now seventy-three years old, 
resides in Springfield. On the Morgan 
side Mrs. Rolofif traces her ancestry to 
the "Mayflower." 



RUSSELL, WiUiam Henry, 
Business Man. 

One of the most prominent among the 
really representative men of afifairs in 
Westfield, whose activities have been ex- 
tended through the unusual period of 
nearly a half century, is William Henry 
Russell, who throughout his entire busi- 
ness career has been looked upon as a 
model of integrity and honor, never mak- 
ing an engagement that he has not ful- 
filled and standing at the present time 



(1917) as an example of what determina- 
tion and force, combined with the high- 
est degree of business integrity, can 
accomplish for a man of natural ability 
and strength of character. He is re- 
spected by the community at large and 
honored by his business associates. 

William Henry Russell is a worthy 
representative of a family who have made 
their home for many years in the vicin- 
ity of Northampton and Greenfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, performing well their part in 
the advancement and upbuilding of those 
sections of the State. His great-great- 
grandfather and great-grandfather bore 
the Christian name of Hezekiah, and his 
grandfather that of Thaddeus. The lat- 
ter named married Mary Wright, of 
Northampton, and among their children 
was Charles, father of William H. Rus- 
sell. He was born in Northampton, Mas- 
sachusetts, 1797, and his death occurred 
in Colerain, Massachusetts, May 6, 1871. 
He was reared in his native town, edu- 
cated in the common schools, and upon 
attaining a suitable age learned the trade 
of tailor, and shortly after completing his 
apprenticeship removed to Greenfield, 
Massachusetts, where he established a 
large tailoring shop, manufacturing for 
the trade, employing at times twenty peo- 
ple, and this proved a lucrative means of 
livelihood. About the year 1835 he 
removed to Colerain, Massachusetts, and 
there conducted the same line of busi- 
ness, and in that city he maintained his 
residence during the remainder of his 
days. He married Adeline Nash, born in 
Greenfield, Massachusetts, February 12, 
1805, died in Colerain, Massachusetts, 
September 23, 1882, daughter of Daniel 
Nash, a farmer of Greenfield, in which 
city his death occurred. Mr. and Mrs. 
Russell were active members of the Meth- 
odist church. Mr. Russell possessed rare 
musical ability and sang in the choir of 



76 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the same church for thirty years. They 
were the parents of eleven children, as 
follows: Thomas W., born May 24, 1824, 
died April 23, 1901 ; Charles N., born 
February 3, 1826, died March 3, 1910; 
George A., born July 8, 1829, died July 
19, 1888; Mary Jane, born March 21, 
183 1, died November 25, 1907; Frank C, 
born June 10, 1834, died March 27, 1905 ; 
Susan E., born 1837, died 1838; John J., 
born March 20, 1839, died April 11, 1901 ; 
William Henry, of whom further; Rol- 
lin R., born March 23, 1844, died July 7, 
1905 ; Leroy C, born June 30, 1846, resi- 
dent of Westfield, proprietor of a large 
grocery business; Henry E., born July 
II, 1849, a resident of Carroll, Iowa. 

William Henry Russell was born in 
Colerain, Massachusetts, October 31, 
1841. He remained in the place of his 
birth until about fifteen years of age, in 
the meantime attending the schools adja- 
cent to his home. He then went to 
Greenfield, and for the following six years 
served in the capacity of helper with a 
farmer. He then secured employment in 
the office of the Cutlery Company in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, who were 
then engaged in making guns and bay- 
onets for the government. His connec- 
tion with this company was of short dura- 
tion, as in September, 1862, in the early 
part of the Civil War period, he enlisted 
in Company A, Fifty-second Massachu- 
setts Volunteer Infantry, trained at 
Greenfield until November of that year, 
and then went to New York and from 
thence to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, to 
engage in the Red River campaign under 
General Banks. During the advance up 
the river the company participated and 
saw much hard service and several sharp 
fights — notably at Indian Bend. They 
followed the enemy up the river and took 
part in the disastrous retreat made neces- 
sary by the low water in the Red river. 



They went back to New Orleans and 
then were transferred to the forces be- 
sieging Port Hudson on the Mississippi 
river. They saw much hard service there, 
and during the greater part of the siege 
was so near the enemy trenches that they 
could throw the smallest article in to the 
enemy lines. They were in the assault 
of June 14, 1863, which began at 4. A. M., 
Sunday, the charge was up a steep slope 
defended by abattis in which many were 
entangled and killed — comrades to the 
right and left of Mr. Russell were killed — 
but he came through unhurt ; the charge 
captured many trenches, but did not 
bring the surrender of the fort ; the regi- 
ment fell back a short distance to a shel- 
tered and partially entrenched camp 
where it was under continuous fire until 
the final surrender of the fort, July 6, 
1863. After the surrender the regiment 
returned to Westfield, the time of enlist- 
ment having expired ; this was the first 
regiment to leave Port Hudson ; they pro- 
ceeded up the river to Cairo, and then by 
rail to Westfield, mostly in freight cars ; 
they were cordially received along the 
road, notably in Buffalo, New York, 
where a dinner and reception was given 
in their honor. 

For several months after the return of 
Mr. Russell from the seat of war, owing 
to his weakened condition, he was inca- 
pacitated for active pursuits, but after 
regaining his usual strength he took up 
the work of canvassing, this being out- 
door employment, and at the expiration 
of one year his health was completely 
restored. In 1868 he engaged in the gro- 
cery business in Westfield, and for a long 
period of three decades continued in that 
line of business in various locations in 
the town. In 1895 he was one of the 
organizers of the Independent Whip 
Company of Westfield, and acted as 
treasurer of the corporation until retir- 



77 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ing, devoting his entire time to the fi- 
nances of the business which ranks among 
the extensive and lucrative enterprises of 
Westfield, giving employment to many 
people. In addition to this he served for 
a number of years as vice-president of 
the Woronoco Savings Bank and as 
director of the First National Bank, in 
which capacities he rendered faithful and 
efficient service. He is a member of Mt. 
Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and takes an active interest in the 
work of the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic. He has served as deacon in the Bap- 
tist church of Westfield for thirty years. 
Owing to advancing age he desired to 
retire from the deaconship, but the mem- 
bers of the church, being unwilling to lose 
his assistance and influence, voted to 
make him an honorary deacon for life, a 
very unusual honor. He was also an 
active worker in other church channels, 
especially in the Sunday school, acting as 
teacher of a large class for many years, 
and many people prize as their pleasant- 
est recollections their acquaintance with 
Deacon Russell and the inspiration they 
received from , his teaching. He rarely 
missed a Sunday service in thirty years, 
and his activity is the more remarkable 
owing to the fact that he has been a crip- 
ple for many years, not being able to get 
about without the aid of crutches. He 
is hardly ever free from physical pain, 
yet is always happy, good natured and 
kindly, traits of character which is indeed 
wonderful in one so afflicted. He is 
always ready to relieve distress and mis- 
fortune ; was a member of the relief 
committee at the time of the great flood, 
doing all in his power to aid the starving 
and homeless, and at all times he is kind 
and sympathetic to the aged and infirm, 
and has also assisted many young men 
starting out in business life with both 
advice and pecuniary aid. 



Mr. Russell married, August 12, 1889, 
Clara Day, born in Greenfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 12, 1848, died at Westfield, 
February 16, 1913, a member of the num- 
erous Day family of that section. She 
was a daughter of James Day, born in 
Gill, Massachusetts, August 19, 1805, a 
farmer by occupation, died in Providence, 
Rhode Island. He married, November 
14, 1824, Merceline Sprague, born in Gill, 
Massachusetts, ]\Iarch 14, 1804, died in 
Providence, Rhode Island. Children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Day: i. Edwin Ely, born 
September 3, 1825 ; was captain of the 
Greenfield Company of the Tenth Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, and was killed at the 
battle of Fair Oaks, Virginia, May 31, 
1862 ; married (first) Mary Blaisdell, and 
(second) November 2, 1854, Aura C. 
Wood. 2. Joseph Sprague, born Janu- 
ary 30, 1827, died in Peoria, Illinois ; 
married Silvia Field. 3. Robert D., born 
October i, 1828, died in Greenfield, March 
21, 1913; married, January 15, 1867, 
Abby H. Wood. 4. Ann Maria, born No- 
vember 10, 1830, died in Gainsville, Flor- 
ida, August, 1913; married (first) Charles 
Day, (second) Rollin Witt. 5. Charles 
Wright, born February 19, 1833 ! married 
(first) Esther Sprague, (second) Jennie 
Field. 6. Cornelia Merceline, born April 
14, 1839, died in Hingham, Massachu- 
setts, June, 1916; married Edward Birge. 
7. James Perkins, born April 27, 1842, 
died in Texas, September, 1893. 8. Sarah 
Jane, born October 17, 1845 ; married L. 
F. Rogers. 9. Clara, aforementioned as 
the wife of William H. Russell. All of 
these children were born in Gill, Massa- 
chusetts. James Day was a son of James 
Day, a resident of Gill, Massachusetts, 
born 1769, died there, January 5, 1841. 
He married, May 20, 1790, Asenath Ely, 
who died in Gill, November 8, 1827. Mer- 
celine (Sprague) Day was the daughter 
of Joseph Sprague, born in Gill, Massa- 



78 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, 1771, lived there most of his 
active life, and died there, 1843. He mar- 
ried, September 3, 1795, Anne Wrisley. . 



HULL, Ernest L., 

Manufacturer. 

Ernest L. Hull, for several years con- 
nected with the United States Whip 
Company of Westfield, comes of an Eng- 
lish family. The business of whip-making 
which has given Westfield a distinction 
above all other New England cities, and 
in which he is engaged, was founded by 
his grandfather, Hiram Hull, a whip- 
maker, who came to Westfield from Con- 
necticut and established a small whip 
manufacturing business, later conducted 
under the firm name, H. Hull & Son. He 
was the first whip-maker to settle in 
Westfield, and to his son, David C. Hull, 
transmitted his mechanical and inventive 
genius. David C. Hull was associated 
with the whip business for seventy years, 
then in turn was succeeded by his son, 
Ernest L. Hull. 

This branch of the Hull family descends 
from Rev. Joseph Hull, of England, who 
was the first minister legally authorized 
to preach in the incorporated town of 
Weymouth. The original name of the 
family was De la Hulle, the family seated 
in Shropshire, England, and believed to 
originally have come from Normandy. 
They are recorded in the Heralds Dis- 
tinction of Devonshire and credited with 
arms : 

Arms — Argent a chevron ermine, between three 
lions or talbots heads erased. 

(I) Rev. Joseph Hull, founder of this 
branch in New England, was born in Eng- 
land in 1595, died at the Isle of Shoals, in 
1665. He was only seventeen years of 
age when he matriculated at St. Mary's 
Hall, Oxford, May 22, 1612, and when 



but nineteen, two years later, he received 
his A. B., November 14, 1614. He re- 
ceived holy orders, and on April 4, 
1 62 1, was instituted rector at North- 
leigh, Devonshire, on the presentation of 
Thomas Hull, of Crewkerne, Somerset- 
shire, England. He resigned in 1632, and 
soon afterward set sail for America ac- 
companied by his wife, seven children and 
three servants, together with a company 
which he had gathered chiefly in Devon 
and Somersetshire, numbering in all one 
hundred and six people, who were known 
as "Hull's Colony." They settled in Was- 
saguscus, later named Weymouth, but 
there was religious dissension in the set- 
tlement, and after about one year he left 
Weymouth and went to Hingham, Mas- 
sachusetts. There he was representative in 
1638, served on important committees, 
and was created one of the local magis- 
trates. In 1639 he founded Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, and later was minister at 
the Isle of Shoals, York and Oyster Bay. 
Later he returned to the Isle of Shoals as 
minister and there died. He had chil- 
dren : Joane, Joseph, Elizabeth, Temper- 
ance, Grissell, Dorothy, and Tristram, of 
further mention. 

(II) Captain Tristram Hull, son of 
Rev. Joseph Hull, was born in 1624, 
at the rectory in Northleigh, England, 
and was brought to New England with 
Hull's colony. He became a man of 
prominence in Barnstable, Massachusetts, 
a land and vessel owner, sailing his own 
vessels, thus obtaining his title ''Cap- 
tain." He was selectman of the town, 
served on many committees, and at his 
death left an estate inventoried at about 
1200 pounds. Colonel Hull, a descend- 
ant, tells in a pamphlet of how Captain 
Hull once in direct violation of the law 
helped an old church member who had 
been banished and fined for "raising his 
voice" against the persecution of the 



79 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Quakers. To help him out of his trou- 
ble and get him out of the way of the 
authorities, Captain Hull took the old 
man by force on board his vessel, carried 
him to Sandwich, Massachusetts, and 
there left him. He and his wife Blanche 
had the following children : Joseph, of 
further mention, and John, who settled in 
Rhode Island. 

(III) Joseph (2) Hull, son of Captain 
Tristram Hull, was born in 1652, and 
died in 1709. He lived in South Kings- 
ton, Rhode Island, and in Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, and was assistant in 
1699-1701-1703. He married Experience, 
daughter of Robert and Deborah (Perry) 
Harper, of Sandwich, Massachusetts. She 
died August 23, 1715, leaving daughters, 
Mary and Ann, and a son Tristram. 

(IV) Tristram (2) Hull, son of Joseph 
(2) and Experience (Harper) Hull, was 
born October 8, 1677, ^"d died in 1718. 
He married, February 9, 1698, Elizabeth 
Dyer, a Quakeress, daughter of Charles 
and Mary Dyer, and granddaughter of 
William and Mary Dyer, the founders of 
the family in New England. They were 
members of the Society of Friends, and 
Mary Dyer was one of the first martyrs 
to Puritan intolerance, being put to death 
by hanging on Boston Common, January 
I, 1660, the charge being preaching the 
Friend's doctrine. Elizabeth (Dyer) 
Hull's will was dated and proved in 1719. 
In this will and in that of her husband, 
Tristram Hull, the following children 
are named : Mary, Samuel, Joseph, of 
further mention ; Hannah, Bathsheba, 
Charles, Stephen, Elizabeth and Sarah. 

(V) Joseph (3) Hull, son of Tristram 
(2) and Elizabeth (Dyer) Hull, was born 
at Westerly or Kingston, Rhode Island, 
October i, 1706. Third in his line to 
bear the name Joseph, he named one of 
his sons Tristram, who was likewise the 
third to bear the name Tristram. 



(VI) Tristram (3) Hull, son of Joseph 
(3) Hull, was the father of Hiram Hull, 
the pioneer whip-maker of Westfield, 
Massachusetts. He was a resident of 
Middletown, Connecticut. 

(VII) Hiram Hull, son of Tristram 
(3) Hull, was born in Middletown, Con- 
necticut, where he resided until coming 
to Westfield, where he spent the remain- 
der of his life and died. He married Lucy 
Johnson, and both were active church 
members. They were the parents of Wil- 
liam, Lucy, Carrie, Luvinus, Daniel, Mar- 
ion, and David C. The eldest of these 
children was born in Middletown, Con- 
necticut. 

(VIII) David C. Hull, son of Hiram 
and Lucy (Johnson) Hull, was born at 
the Hull homestead on Franklin street, 
Westfield, Massachusetts, now (1917) the 
home of Richard J. Morrissey, December 
24, 1828, and died in Westfield, February 
8, 1916. After completing his studies in 
the public schools and Westfield Acad- 
emy, he became associated in the whip 
business with his father who had long 
been in the business as H. Hull & Son. 
He remained at the factory with his 
father until about 1848, then went to 
Charlestown, Massachusetts, to join his 
elder brother who was in charge of the 
whip-making room at the Charlestown 
State Prison. There he remained several 
years, becoming superintendent of the 
prison factory, resigning finally to take 
a position with what was then the Boston 
Elastic Fabric Company, now with the 
Revere Rubber Company, of Revere, 
Massachusetts. There his inventive gen- 
ius and mechanical ability was given full 
rein, and to his credit is placed the inven- 
tion of several machines which have 
solved the problems of reducing to sub- 
jection, perhaps the most refactory of all 
raw materials, crude rubber. One of 
these, the steam calender, is most valu- 



80 




5^. (^,^€tAj^ 



ENCYCLOPliDiA OF BIOGRAPHY 



able for rolling the rubber into sheets, 
that being his own invention. He was 
also the inventor of the friction grinder 
and the rubber washer. He continued 
in Eastern Massachusetts until about 
1869, then returned to his native West- 
field and to his first business, whip manu- 
facturing. He was then rated an expert, 
and in the mechanical department of the 
American Whip Company and of its suc- 
cessor, the United States Whip Company, 
he continued his success up to his death. 
He became an authority in the whip 
trade, invented and improved many ma- 
chines used in whip factories, perfected 
many devices and attachments, thus keep- 
ing in touch with the business. He was 
for many years superintendent of the fac- 
tory, and had a large financial interest in 
it, and was a director of the United States 
Whip Company. 

With his mechanical and business abil- 
ity as demonstrated in a successful busi- 
ness life of seventy years, nearly all of 
which he spent in the whip manufactur- 
ing business, Mr. Hull combined a totally 
different talent, a rare musical gift. He 
was a lover of music and a pipe organ 
player. While he made the pipe organ 
his specialty, he was also an expert 
performer on the piano, and in Boston 
and Westfield gave lessons on that instru- 
ment. He continued his interest in 
music for many years, played the organ 
in churches in Boston, Charlestown, 
Brighton, Everett, Chelsea, and in West- 
field. He was also an accomplished per- 
former on the B-flat cornet, played in the 
Old Gilmore Regimental Band, well- 
known throughout the country, and for a 
time was also leader of the Charlestown 
Brass Band. He lived to the age of eighty- 
eight, and never lost his interest in out- 
of-door sports, hunting and fishing. He 
was a lover of the light harness horse ; 
enjoyed seeing them race and at times 
owned some very good performers, over 

Mass-S-6 I 



which he loved to hold the reins. With 
the advent of the automobile he adopted 
that form of locomotion and became an 
enthusiast. He never grew old in spirit, 
and even when the shadows lengthened 
to almost their limit, business matters 
interested him, music charmed and 
soothed him, sports invigorated him and 
he made a welcome addition to any 
group. His was a strong, well-developed, 
beautifully-blended character, and he was 
universally beloved. He was a charter 
members of the Westfield Club, also ot 
Woronco Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

David C. Hull married, December 17, 
1849, Henrietta M. Wheaton, born in 
Blanford, Massachusetts, September 7, 
1829. They were the parents of three 
sons : Fred and Willard, both of whom 
died in infancy, and Ernest L., of further 
mention. 

(IX) Ernest L. Hull, son of David C. 
and Henrietta M. (Wheaton) Hull, was 
born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, June 
8, i860. After passing through the graded 
and high schools, he began the study of 
medicine, receiving his degree M. D. from 
Bellevue Medical College, New York 
City. For two years following gradua- 
tion he was physician to the out-of-door 
health department of the City of New 
York, specializing in diseases of the nose 
and throat and in minor surgery. He was 
at this time taken ill, and for one year 
was physically unfit to resume practice. 
He then yielded to the persuasion of his 
father, who desired his only son to be 
associated with him in business, and from 
that time has been connected with the 
United States Whip Company. He is a 
member of Westfield Club and Holyoke 
Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. 

Air. Hull married Larinda N. Blakes- 
lee. Their twin sons died in infancy. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



SHARP, George Hiram, 

Business Man. 

Many spellings of this name are found 
among the Dutch as well as the English, 
and the spelling seemed to depend upon 
the whim of the user or writer. It is 
found as Sharp, Scharp, Schup, Schaap, 
Scarup, Sharps and Sharpenstine. An- 
driese Hanse Scharp was in Beverwyck 
(Albany) as early as 1660, and in 1670 
he bought a farm "behind Kinderhook." 
He had sons, Johannes, Gysbert and 
Laurens. The inference is very plain 
that this Johannes Scharp was the father 
of that Jacob Sharp to whom and others 
was conveyed in 1724 the six thou- 
sand acres (now Germantown, Columbia 
county, New York) bought by Governor 
Hunter from Robert Livingston in 1710. 

(I) A descendant of Jacob Sharp, prob- 
ably a great-grandson, was John Sharp, 
who owned a large and well cultivated 
farm at Kinderhook, on Kinderhook 
creek, four miles east of the Hudson river 
and twenty miles from Albany, the vil- 
lage lying in the town of Kinderhook, 
Columbia county. New York, now being 
known as Stuyvesant Landing. He was 
a most noted farmer, and as was not 
then uncommon, owned slaves which he 
freed during his lifetime. One of them 
refused to leave her master, but served 
him faithfully until her death. It was of 
this old slave that the story is told, that 
when she saw the first steamboat on the 
Hudson she ran home with the news : 
"Massa, Massa, thar am a saw mill comin' 
up de ribber." 

(II) Jacob I. Sharp, one of the nine 
children of John Sharp, of Kinderhook, 
spent his early life at the home farm, 
later passed about thirty years at Glenn- 
ville, New York, finally settling at Rich- 
mond, Massachusetts, where he died 
about 1883, aged eighty-eight years. He 



married a distant relative, Caroline 
Sharp, who was born at Kinderhook in 
1793, died in Richmond, aged eighty-six. 
She was a lifelong church member, Jacob 
I. Sharp also joining the Congregational 
church after settling in Richmond. It 
was on their farm in Richmond that the 
Haystack Mission was founded by col- 
lege students, the first meeting being 
held near a haystack which suggested the 
name. They were the parents of ten chil- 
dren : Eliza, born in January, 1815 ; John 
Aaron, of further mention ; Lawrence, 
Catherine, Helen, William Franklin, 
Isaac Edwin, Martin, Lydia Caroline, 
Margaret, born February 2, 1835, she the 
only living member of this family in 
1918. 

(Ill) John Aaron Sharp, eldest son of 
Jacob I. and Caroline (Sharp) Sharp, was 
born at Kinderhook, New York (now 
Stuyvesant Landing) about 1818, and 
died at Richmond, Massachusetts, aged 
sixty-one. He grew to youthful man- 
hood at the Kinderhook farm, married 
young, and joined his parents at Glenn- 
ville, New York, where he resided until 
thirty years of age, three of his children 
being born during his residence there. 
He then came to Richmond, Massachu- 
setts, his wife's birthplace, settled on the 
farm owned by his father-in-law, who 
was an invalid, and there resided the 
remainder of his life. He was a deacon 
of the Congregational church in Rich- 
mond for nineteen years, and took an 
active part in community affairs. He 
was a natural student, a wide reader and 
deep thinker, greatly respected. His up- 
right life and sterling integrity com- 
mended him to his neighbors who sought 
him for counsel and advice on all unusual 
matters. 

He married in Richmond, Massachu- 
setts, Susan Grififing, daughter of Martin 
Grififing, of a Connecticut family, and his 



82 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



wife, Susan (Chase) Grifflng, born in 
Otis, Massachusetts. Martin and Susan 
Grifflng had a son, Martin H., in the hat 
manufacturing business in Danbury, Con- 
necticut, and two daughters : Mary G., 
married Isaac Sharp, a brother of John 
Aaron Sharp, and died in Hornell, New 
York ; Susan, married John Aaron Sharp, 
and died in Richmond, Massachusetts, in 
1880, aged fifty-nine years. John A. and 
Susan (Grifflng) Sharp were the parents 
of eight children, three dying in infancy. 
Two only of the five who reached mature 
years are now living: Julia G., married 
E. R. Meyers, and resides in South Da- 
kota ; George Hiram, of further men- 
tioned ; Susan Elizabeth, A. Granville 
and Mary A. Sharp are deceased. 

(IV) George Hiram Sharp, son of John 
Aaron and Susan (Grifflng) Sharp, was 
born in Richmond, Berkshire county, 
Massachusetts, May 19, 1856. He was 
educated in the public schools, and re- 
mained at the home farm until twenty- 
three years of age, following the occupa- 
tion that came to him from an unbroken 
line of forebears, that of agriculture. But 
he had a keen desire for a business career, 
and in 1879 came to Westfield and for 
a time conducted an express business. In 
1895 he made a new departure, and in a 
small way opened a store for the sale of 
musical instruments. The venture proved 
successful, and with the years he has 
expanded, until now (1918) his music 
store is the leading one in the city. A 
complete line of musical instruments, 
sheet music, musical accessories and 
modern musical specialities is carried. As 
a business man Mr. Sharp is one of the 
substantial men of the city. He is a 
member and ex-president of the Board of 
Trade ; vice-president of the Independent 
Whip Company ; director of various 
other companies ; charter member of 
Metacomet Tribe, Improved Order of 



Red Men; member of the Westfield Club 
and its treasurer four years ; member of 
the Westfield Country Club ; an Inde- 
pendent Republican in politics, and an 
attendant of the Baptist church. 

Mr. Sharp married, in 1882, Mrs. Sarah 
L. (Beals) Sizer, born in Nova Scotia, 
widow of Emerson Sizer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Sharp are the parents of a son, George 
Aaron, born at Westfield, February 8, 
1884. Until 1908 he was engaged in 
acquiring an education and in business 
with his father, then began the study of 
medicine. After four years at Albany 
Medical College (Union University) Al- 
bany, New York, he was graduated M. 
D., class of 1912. He then spent a year 
as resident physician at Ellis Hospital, 
Schenectady, New York, after which he 
became a member of the staff of the State 
Hospital for the Insane at Matteawan, 
New York. Dr. Sharp is a specialist on 
mental diseases, and has appeared in 
court as an expert authority. He enlisted 
in the United States army in 1917, re- 
ceived a commission as captain, and is 
now (1918) at Camp Devens as a special- 
ist in nervous and mental diseases. He 
married Florence Marshall, of Newburgh, 
New York. 



LYON, Lucian N., 

Bnsiness Man. 

A twentieth century representative of 
the family founded in New England by 
William Lyon in 1635, Lucian N. Lyon, 
of Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, traces 
through seven generations of the Lyon 
family in America. 

(I) William Lyon is among those 
listed as passengers on the "Hopewell," 
September 11, 1635, when that ship sailed 
for New England, he being entered as 
"fourteen yeres." It is supposed that he 
was an orphan, and that in Roxbury, 



83 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Massachusetts, was placed in charge of 
Isaac Heath. According to Welles this 
was the William Lyon who was baptized 
at Heston, now London, December 23, 
1620, youngest son of William and Anne 
(Carter) Lyon. William Lyon lived in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, until he was 
seventy-two years of age, was a land 
owner, member of John Eliot's church, 
admitted to full communion in 1655, made 
a freeman in 1666, signed the petition, 
October 25, 1664, to the General Court, 
praying it to "Stand fast in our present 
Liberties ;" became a member of the 
Ancient and Honorable Artillery Com- 
pany of Roxbury in 1645, and was one of 
the founders of Woodstock, Connecticut, 
although he did not actually occupy the 
land he was assigned. The Lyon home- 
stead in Roxbury was located on what 
was once Lyon street, now Bellevue ave- 
nue, on the east side of the street south- 
west of Atwood street. Although there 
is no stone to mark the spot, it is sup- 
posed that he was buried in West Rox- 
bury Cemetery, May 21, 1692. He mar- 
ried, June 17, 1646, Sarah, daughter of 
John and Mary (Curtis) Ruggles, of 
Nazing, England. She was born April 
19, 1629, and while yet an infant was 
brought to New England by her parents. 
She died "about" August, 1694. He 
signed his will William Lion. William 
and Sarah Lyon were the parents of: 
John, Samuel, Joseph, Jonathan, died 
young; Thomas, William (2), of fur- 
ther mention; Sarah; Jonathan (2). 

(II) William (2) Lyon, son of the 
founder, William (i) Lyon, was born in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, baptized July 
18, 1652, and there died August 10, 1714, 
his burial place West Roxbury Cemetery, 
where a stone in good preservation marks 
the spot. He lived in Roxbury all his 
life, although like his father he owned 
land in New Roxbury (Woodstock) Con- 



necticut, but did not live on it. He mar- 
ried (first) September i, 1675, in Rox- 
bury, Sarah Dunkin (Durican), who died 
February 9, 1689. He married (second) 

November 18, 1690, Deborah , who 

survived him until March 12, 1717. Chil- 
dren of William (2) and Sarah (Dunkin) 
Lyon: William (3), Samuel, Hannah, 
Benjamin, Mehitable. Children of Wil- 
liam (2) and Deborah Lyon : Deborah, 
David, Martha, Jacob, of further men- 
tion. 

(III) Jacob Lyon, youngest son of 
William (2) and Deborah Lyon, was born 
in Roxbury, Massachusetts, June i, 1696, 
died in Woodstock, Connecticut, June 7. 
1721, and was buried in Woodstock Hill 
Cemetery. His father and grandfather 
were concerned in the founding of Wood- 
stock and owned land there, but Jacob 
was the first of his family to live there. 
In 1736 he signed a petition for preach- 
ing in West Woodstock, and in 1749 he 
took the freeman's oath. He married, 
June 20, 1728, Mehitable Bugbee, who 
died May 25, 1790, in her eighty-fourth 
year. Children: Philip, Elizabeth, a son 
died young, David, of further mention ; 
Motley, Jacob, died in the Revolutionary 
army ; Mehitable, William, Nathaniel, 
Zebulon. 

(IV) David Lyon, son of Jacob and 
Mehitable (Bugbee) Lyon, was born in 
Woodstock, Connecticut, January 23, 
1736, and died in Ludlow, Massachusetts, 
September 20, 1804. He was one of the 
early settlers of Ludlow, a deacon of the 
First Congregational Church organized 
in 1789, was selectman in 1786 and 1791. 
He married Eunice, daughter of Stephen 
Stebbins, who died about 1795. The birth 
of their son Stephen, in 1775, is recorded 
in Ludlow, but that of their son Nathaniel 
is found in the vital records of Wilbra- 
ham. 

(V) Nathaniel Lyon, son of David and 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Eunice (Stebbins) Lyon, was born Janu- 
ary 24, 1772, in Wilbraham, and died in 
Ludlow, Massachusetts, February 11, 

1839. He was a selectman of Ludlow in 
1816, and there spent the mature years of 
his life. He owned a farm of three hun- 
dred acres at Ludlow, and was one of the 
substantial men of his town. He was a 
Whig in politics, and in religious faith a 
Congregationalist. He married (first) 
Hannah Kendall, who died January 17, 
181 1, aged thirty-five years. The two 
children of Nathaniel and Hannah Lyon 
died in infancy. He married (second) 
May 8, 1814, Sophia Root, born at Lud- 
low, December 20, 1786, died January 9, 

1840. Children, all born at Ludlow: i. 
Hannah, born February 25, 1815, died 
May 9, 1856; married, April, 1839, Ur- 
bane Carter. At the time of her death 
Mrs. Carter weighed 27 pounds, and had 
been an invalid fourteen years. 2. Sophia, 
born March 11, 1817; married, Novem- 
ber 8, 1837, George Taylor, a farmer of 
Cranby, Massachusetts. They were the 
parents of four children : Rachel S. Tay- 
lor, born August 17, 1838, died in 1916, 
married George Carver, of Granby, Mas- 
sachusetts, July I, i860; Olive W. Tay- 
lor, born May 15, 1842, died November, 
191 6. married Charles Lyman, of Granby; 
Vienna P.. Taylor, born April 11, 1846, 
married J. D. Rich, of Chicopee Falls; 
John G. Taylor, born March 12, 1848, died 
March 11, 1870. 3. Norman, of further 
mention. 4. Olive, born January 27, 
1821, died November 20, 1839. 5- Albert, 
born August 8, 1825, died April 11, 1858, 
unmarried. 6. David, born September 
21, 1827; married, May 16, 1849, J^ne 
State, and resided in Greenfield, Massa- 
chusetts, a carriage painter. They had 
no children. 

(VI) Norman Lyon, son of Nathaniel 
Lyon and his second wife, Sophia (Root) 
Lyon, was born at Ludlow, Massachu- 



setts, December 12, 1818, there spent his 
life and there died March 11, 1870. He 
attended public school and grew up at 
the home farm, and all his life was 
engaged in agriculture as a business. He 
was a Republican in politics, and at one 
time was town assessor. In religious 
faith he was a Congregationalist. He 
married, December 22, 1842, Lydia W. 
Cooley, born in Springfield. Massachu- 
setts, now Chicopee, August 21, 1821, died 
September 19, 1891, daughter of Calvin 
Cooley, born August 18, 1772, died June 
26, 1827, a substantial farmer of Chico- 
pee, and his wife, Chloe (Bliss) Cooley, 
born December 19, 1787, died November 
7, 1857. Norman and Lydia W. Lyon 
were the parents of three sons : i. Henry, 
born April 5, 1844, died October 19, 1894; 
for many years he was paymaster for the 
Lamb Knitting Company of Chicopee 
Falls ; he married, in 1870. Ella Taylor, 
and resided at Chicopee Falls; children: 
Grace T., born in 1875; Howard, 1878; 
George N., died aged two years. 2. 
Lucian N., of further mention. 3. Al- 
bert B., born February 19, 1865; chief 
draughtsman for twenty-five years for 
the Knox Auto Company of Spring- 
field, Massachusetts ; he married Minnie 
Adams, and has a son, Norman. 

(VII) Lucian N. Lyon, second son of 
Norman and Lydia W. (Cooley) Lyon, 
was born at Ludlow, Massachusetts. 
March 30, 1846, and there resided until 
1886. He was educated in the public 
schools and Wilbraham Academy, and 
until the age of twenty-four was engaged 
as farmer. He then spent several years 
in the lumber business, clearing a timber 
tract of one hundred and fifty acres which 
he owned, converted the timber into man- 
ufactured lumber in his own saw mill, 
and sold it to the trade. During this 
period he also built several houses in 
Ludlow and Indian Orchard, Massachu- 



8q 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



setts, continuing that line of activity in 
Ludlow until 1886, when he moved to 
Chicopee Falls and established a real 
estate business which he vigorously 
prosecuted until his retirement. During 
the years he was so engaged he erected 
several apartment houses for either two, 
three, six, eight or ten families, also busi- 
ness blocks and other buildings, his busi- 
ness being large and profitable. He is a 
Republican in politics, served in Ludlow 
as assessor for two years, has been a 
director of the Chicopee Falls Savings 
Bank, is a member and for the past 
twenty years a deacon of the Second Con- 
gregational Church. 

Mr. Lyon married, April 25, 1877, M. 
Martha Munsing, born in Brooklyn, New 
York, January 25, 1853, daughter of 
Michael and Elizabeth (Swan) Munsing. 
Michael Munsing was born in Germany 
in 1821, and when a small boy came to 
the United States. He enlisted in the 
Thirty-seventh Regiment, Massachusetts 
Infantry, in 1862, and served until the 
close of the war in 1865, losing part of 
one hand. This disqualified him from fol- 
lowing the trade he had learned in youth, 
tailoring, and until his death, June 6, 
1901, he was a farmer of Ludlow. He 
married Elizabeth Swan, born in Ger- 
many, in 1823, died April 13, 1901. They 
were the parents of: i. Elizabeth, born 
September 29, 1844, died September 29, 
1900; married H. S. Fuller, of Ludlow, 
and had a daughter who died aged seven 
months. 2. Caroline M., born January 7, 
1847, died September 22, 1875 > married 
Thomas Jarrold, of Westfield ; children : 
Harriet and Elizabeth Jarrold. 3. Jacob, 
died aged two years. 4. M. Martha, mar- 
ried Lucian N. Lyon. 5. Henry A., born 
in Ludlow, April 16, 1856; married. May 
19, 1882, Lillian Brewer; children: Car- 
rie J., Robert B., and Ruby L. Munsing. 
6. George D., born March 8, 1858 ; a 



noted inventor of New York City ; mar- 
ried Effie MacDonald, and had a daugh- 
ter Ruth. 7. Frank, born June 8, i860, 
died July, 1887, unmarried. 8. Charles, 
born February, 1863, died in infancy. 
Lucian N. and M. Martha (Munsing) 
Lyon are the parents of a daughter and 
two sons: i. Georgia Elizabeth, born 
July 31, 1881 ; now a teacher in Central 
High School, Springfield, Massachusetts. 
2. Norman Bliss, born December 15, 
1884, died March 15, 1885. 3. Irving 
Root, born April 29, 1887; married Cath- 
erine H. Page ; they have an adopted 
daughter, Elinor, born in 1915. 



McKEAN, John Oliphant, 

Representative Citizen. 

John O. AlcKean, who for the past two 
decades has been and is now (1918) gen- 
eral superintendent of the Foster Ma- 
chine Company, is a son of Robert 
McKean, who was born in Fraserburg, 
Scotland, thirty-seven miles north of 
Aberdeen, which is noted for its fine har- 
bor and great herring fisheries. Robert 
McKean came to America, accompanied 
by his wife and sons, Robert (2) aged 
twenty, and John O., who was approach- 
ing sixteen. Robert McKean, Sr., was a 
farmer, and passed his youthful manhood 
at the home farm, there remaining some 
years after his father's death, his spe- 
cialty raising sheep for the London mar- 
ket. Later he leased a farm for himself, 
continuing in the same business, breed- 
ing his sheep upon his own land, and then 
pasturing them on the unoccupied areas 
surrounding Fraserburg. While he raised 
sheep principally for the market, some 
wool was also produced, which added to 
the income of the farm. He remained 
in this business until 1888, when he came 
to the United States with his family, set- 
tling on a leased farm at Easton, Massa- 



86 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts. Two years later he purchased 
the farm, and there conducted general 
farming and dairying very successfully 
for several years. Later he sold his Eas- 
ton farm and purchased another at Tuf- 
tonboro, Carroll county, New Hamp- 
shire, where he yet resides. His New 
Hampshire farm is a fine property, with 
sugar maple orchards, dairy herds, fertile 
fields and good buildings. Robert Mc- 
Kean married Margaret Oliphant, born 
in Fraserburg, Scotland. They are the 
parents of two sons, Robert (2) and 
John O. 

Robert (2) McKean, eldest son of Rob- 
ert and Margaret (Oliphant) McKean, 
was born in Fraserburg, Scotland, April 
7, 1868, and came to the United States 
with the family in 1888. He was in the 
monumental and granite business in 
Hardwick, Vermont, for several years, 
and is now an expert gardener at West- 
boro, Massachusetts. He married Lena 
Deacon, of Quincy, Massachusetts, and 
has three children. 

John Oliphant McKean, second son of 
Robert and Margaret (Oliphant) Mc- 
Kean, was born in Fraserburg, Scotland, 
July 21, 1871, and there resided until al- 
most sixteen years of age, attending 
school and assisting his father. He came 
to Easton, Massachusetts, with the family 
in 1888, remained with his father as his 
farm assistant until 1892, then entered the 
employ of the E. J. W. Morse Thread 
Company at Easton. The company main- 
tained a mechanical department, in which 
they built many experimental machines 
for their own use, which finally became 
so important a branch that the Morse 
Machine Company was organized to 
manufacture the special machines used in 
thread manufacture. It was in this ex- 
perimental department that Mr. McKean 
began, and under the special opportunity 



for original thought his natural mechani- 
cal genius had free opportunity to 
expand. During the five years that he 
was with the Morse Company in Easton 
he developed rapidly, and when the shops 
and plant at Easton were destroyed by 
fire, he was selected as manager of the 
new plant erected at Boston. 

From Boston, Mr. McKean went to 
Newark, New Jersey, in response to an 
attractive offer made him by the Clark 
Thread Company, and at their O. N. T. 
mill there he built and installed much 
special machinery. In 1899 he came to 
Westfield with the Foster Machine Com- 
pany, manufacturers of patented cone 
and tube winders for yarns used by knit- 
ting machines. He still remains with the 
Foster Company, in charge of the engi- 
neering, mechanical and experimental de- 
partments, one of the directors of the 
company, in fact superintendent of the 
plant. 

In addition to his other business, he 
has for the past eight years been asso- 
ciated with Thomas Holt & Company in 
Rockdale, England, who are manufac- 
turers of machinery under Mr. McKean's 
patents, and during this time he has made 
several trips abroad. He is vice-presi- 
dent of the Westfield Board of Trade, Mt. 
Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Evening Star Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Westfield Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; the First Congregational 
Church ; is a Republican in politics, and 
a member of the town committee of 
Westfield, member of the Westfield 
Country Club, and a member of the West- 
field Business Club. 

Mr. McKean married, December 16, 
1896, Mabelle E. Mack, born in North 
Easton, Massachusetts, daughter of Alex- 
ander Mack, a lumber dealer, contractor 
and builder. 



87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BRIGHT, James Cooper, M. D., 
Physician. 

A physician well established in general 
practice in Fall River, Massachusetts, 
since the year 1907, Dr. Bright has since 
the year 1873 lived in that city, being but 
nine months old when brought from Eng- 
land by his parents. Bright is an ancient 
Anglo-Saxon name evolved from Beorht, 
Dr. Bright tracing to Abraham Bright, 
who founded the family which settled in 
and around Manchester, and later at 
Rochdale and Stockport. John Bright, 
the greatest English orator of modern 
times, a contemporary of Richard Cob- 
den, and credited with having exercised 
a greater influence upon the conduct of 
public affairs in England and abroad than 
perhaps any other man, was a descendant 
of this Abraham Bright, and the great- 
great-uncle of Dr. Bright, of Fall River. 

Abraham Bright married (first) in 
1684, Martha Bright, of Lyneham, Wilt- 
shire, England, and had children : John, 
born December 26, 1689; Mary, 1692; 
William, 1696; Jacob, 1699; Thomas, 
1703; Elizabeth, 1706. This family were 
first members of the Established Church, 
but later joined the Society of Friends, 
and were buried in Friends Burying 
Ground. 

Another Abraham Bright, a wool 
grower, living a few miles from Lyne- 
ham, married, April 16, 171 1, at Lyneham, 
Dinah, daughter of Abraham Bright, a 
serge weaver. Their son John was born 
in January, 1713, they also being the par- 
ents of William, Martha, Mary, Jacob and 
Thomas. In the year 1714, Abraham 
Bright, a relative of the first Abraham 
Bright, married a beautiful Jewess, named 
Martha Jacobs, and resided at their one 
and one-quarter acres of land at Lyneham, 
where they lived for many years. Their 
cottage was surrounded by apple trees, 



and the little tract still bears the name, 
"Bright's Orchard." From Lyneham they 
moved to Coventry, and there William 
Bright, their son, married, and probably 
was born there. The line of descent is 
through William Bright, son of Abra- 
ham and Martha (Jacobs) Bright. The 
connection between these several men 
named Abraham Bright is not shown, but 
there was a close family relation no 
doubt. 

William Bright, son of Abraham and 
Martha (Jacobs) Bright, married (first) 
Mary Goode, who was the mother of 
Jacob Bright, head of the next generation. 

Jacob Bright married Martha Lucas, 
they the parents of eight children, the 
line of descent being through Jacob (2) 
Bright, their youngest child. 

Jacob (2) Bright was born at Coven- 
try, England, August 24, 1775. He was 
early doubly orphaned, and being left 
without means was placed in a Friends 
School at Ackworth, in Yorkshire, he 
being a birthright Friend. From school 
he was apprenticed to a farmer, named 
Holme, who was a weaver, having four 
looms in operation at his home. He 
taught the lad hand loom weaving, and 
after completing his apprenticeship he 
joined fortunes with a friend, William 
Few, and together they started out in the 
world, their joint purse amounting to ten 
shillings. In 1802, Jacob (2) Bright, 
John Taylor, James Bulleworth and Wil- 
liam Midgley built a mill at Rochdale 
called the "Hanging Room Factory," 
which was the second factory in the 
town. Jacob Bright ran this mill until 
1809, then took an old mill at Cronkey- 
shaw, named the Greenbank Mill, and 
with financial assistance from Manches- 
ter commission men, rebuilt and restored 
the mill, using the old engine put in 
by Boulton & Wail, of Birmingham, and 
compelling it to turn cotton mill ma- 



88 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chines. For fifty-eight years, 1809 to 
1867, with but one brief period of short 
duration, he operated the old mill. Jacob 
Bright acted for a time as bookkeeper for 
William and John Holme, and married 
their sister Sophia, at No. 71 Road 
lane, Rochdale, England, who died aged 
twenty-eight years, May 10, 1806. He 
married (second) a Quakeress, Martha 
Wood, daughter of a tradesman of Bol- 
ton-le-Moor, July 21, 1809. They lived 
first at No. 28 High street, but in 1810 
moved to Greenbank. There their first 
son was born, March 19, 181Q, died in 
1814. Their second son was John Bright, 
destined to be a leader in thought and 
action for the betterment of working peo- 
ple for all times. Many children were 
born to them and over all, the mother, a 
lady of fine character, exercised a strong 
influence. Jacob Bright, the father, was 
a leader and made Greenbank a thriving, 
prosperous town. Workmen were kindly 
treated, and encouraged to cheerfulness 
at their work. With his wife, who super- 
intended her own domestic afifairs and 
aided her husband in his bookkeeping, he 
maintained a school which he taught him- 
self, and when his daughters were old 
enough they also assisted in the school. 
In such a home atmosphere John Bright, 
head of the next generation, was reared. 
Jacob Bright outgrew his small mill at 
Greenbank, and in 1823 built a larger 
one on the other side of the Common, and 
in that mill John Bright learned the 
weaver's trade. Jacob Bright built other 
and larger mills in 1842, and in 1845 ^^^ 
and improved machinery was installed, 
and when, in 1849, he retired, his sons 
succeeded him in business, operating as 
John Bright & Brothers, the mills being 
known as the Fieldhouse Mills. In 1845 
Jacob (2) Bright married a third wife. 
Mary Metcalf, a farmer's daughter of 
Wensley Dale, in Yorkshire. Jacob (2) 



Bright died July 7, 185 1, at Rose Hill, 
Rochdale, aged seventy-six, his wife sur- 
viving him. The marriages of Jacob 
Bright's children are as follows : Pris- 
cilla, married Duncan McLaren, a mem- 
ber of Parliament for Edinburgh, Scot- 
land ; Esther, died in 1850, married a 
McVaugh, a barrister, later a magistrate 
at Bow street, London ; Sophia, died May 
4, 1844, married Thomas Ashworth, of 
Poynton ; Margaret, married William S. 
Lucas ; Benjamin, died March 16, 1845, 
aged twenty-eight years ; Grallton, died 
at Bologna, Italy, October 27, 1853, aged 
thirty years; Samuel, died at Geneva, 
Switzerland, March 27, 1873; and the 
three brothers, Thomas, Jacob and John, 
who formed the firm John Bright & 
Brothers. 

John Bright, son of Jacob and Martha 
(Wood) Bright, was born at Greenbank, 
near Cronkeyshaw Common, England, 
November 16, 181 1, died March 27, 1889. 
From the day John Bright made his 
maiden speech in Parliament, August 7, 
1843, until he closed his earthly career, 
March 27, 1889, he continuously advo- 
cated the rights of man, and he will live 
in the memory of his fellowmen as the 
greatest moral force which appeared in 
English politics during his generation. 
He was first brought into notice by the 
Anti-Corn Law agitation. When the Anti- 
Corn Law League was formed in 1839, 
he was one of its leading members, and 
with Richard Cobden engaged in an ex- 
tensive free trade agitation throughout 
the Kingdom. The greatest English 
orator of his day, he was incessant, both 
at public meetings and in Parliament, in 
his opposition to the corn laws, until they 
were finally repealed. In 1845 he ob- 
tained the appointment of a select com- 
mittee of the House of Commons on the 
game laws, and also on the subject of the 
cultivation of cotton in India. Elected to 



89 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Parliament in 1857, ^oi" Birmingham, he 
seconded the second reading of the Con- 
spiracy Bill which led to the overthrow 
of Lord Palmerston's Government. A 
member of the Society of Friends, he 
strenuously opposed war with Russia in 
1854, was one of the meeting of Friends 
which sent a deputation to the Czar 
Nicholas, urging upon him the mainte- 
nance of peace, and in 1855 energetically 
denounced the Crimean War. 

John Bright married, in November, 
1839, the eldest daughter of Jonathan 
Priestman, of Newcastle-on-Tyne. She 
died September 15, 1841, leaving a daugh- 
ter, Helen Priestman Bright, born Octo- 
ber 10, 1840, who in later years acted as 
amanuensis to her distinguished father. 
For several years after his wife's death, 
Mr. Bright remained single, his home 
being under the management of his sis- 
ter, Priscilla Bright. He married (sec- 
ond) Margaret Elizabeth Leatham, daugh- 
ter of William Leatham, the banker of 
Wakefield, and other towns. They were 
married at Heath House, according to 
Friends ceremonies, June 10, 1847. Chil- 
dren born to them were as follows : John 
Albert, Mary Harriet, William Leatham, 
Anna Elizabeth, Margaret Sophia, Leon- 
ard and Philip. 

Jacob Bright, born at Greenbank in 
1812, son of Jacob and Martha (Wood) 
Bright, and brother of the famous Eng- 
lish orator, John Bright, married and 
had children, one of whom was named 
John. 

John Bright, born about 1833, son of 
Jacob Bright, and seventh in descent 
from Abraham Bright, the first, married 
and had sons: Richard, William, and 
John, who became a soldier in the Eng- 
lish army. 

Richard Bright, son of John Bright, 
was born at Stockport, England, April 3, 
1852. Here he hired and learned the 



trade of spinning, becoming very profi- 
cient in the art. He married, early in life, 
Mary Cooper, and resided at Oldham, 
where James Cooper Bright, a son, was 
born December 14, 1872, from which 
place the family removed in Septem- 
ber, 1873, to Fall River, Massachusetts. 
Because of his knowledge of textile man- 
ufacturing, Richard Bright quickly found 
employment as a spinner in the Fall 
River Mill, where he remained a num- 
ber of years, later in life purchasing a 
homestead at Tiverton, Rhode Island, 
where he now resides and is engaged in 
dairying and farming. 

Richard and Mary Bright were the par- 
ents of three sons and four daughters : 
James Cooper, of further mention ; John, 
born May 18, 1874 ; Richard, born De- 
cember 14, 1879; Esther; Lucy, who 
married George Stratton, of the Bowne 
Mills ; May, now an enlisted Red Cross 
nurse; and Jennie. 

James Cooper Bright, eldest child of 
Richard and Mary (Cooper) Bright, was 
born December 14, 1872, in Oldham, a 
municipal parliamentary and county bor- 
ough of England, located within the con- 
fines of Lancashire, seven miles from 
Manchester, a centre of the cotton spin- 
ning industry in England. The follow- 
ing September, 1873, the family came to 
Fall River, Massachusetts, and in the 
public schools of that city and Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, James C. obtained his pre- 
paratory education. He next entered 
Thibedeau Commercial College, teaching 
classes in that institution in order to 
finance his own course. The two years 
following business college study were 
spent at Colby Academy, and another 
year was spent as student at Brown Uni- 
versity. The decision to prepare for the 
practice of medicine was arrived at while 
a student at Brown's, and at the close of 
the University year he matriculated at 



90 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Baltimore Medical College and there 
spent two years. He then entered Jeffer- 
son Medical College at Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and was graduated an M. 
D., class of 1907. 

Thus prepared, Dr. Bright established 
in practice at Fall River, in 1907, and 
there continues. He has served on the 
staff of the City Hospital, but his private 
practice now occupies his entire time. He 
is a member of the District Medical and 
the Massachusetts State Medical associa- 
tions ; is deeply interested in all advanced 
theories in prevention or treatment of dis- 
eases, and has been uniformly successful 
in his practice of minor surgery. He is 
a member of Eureka Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, Portsmouth, Rhode 
Island; Royal Arch Masons; DeBlois 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; the 
Sons of St. George ; the Young !\Ien's 
Benevolent and Protective Society ; and 
of the Baptist church. In politics he is a 
Republican. 

Dr. Bright married at Fall River, June 
9, 1909, Mary Jane Tripp, daughter of 
John Henry and Esther W. (Pinkham) 
Tripp, of Fall River, Massachusetts. 
John Tripp was born at Newport. Rhode 
Island, a descendant of John Tripp, from 
whom sprang the many families of the 
name in Rhode Island and Southeastern 
Massachusetts. Esther W. Pinkham was 
born on the Island of Nantucket, daugh- 
ter of Edward S. and Mary (Pollard) 
Pinkham. Mr. and Mrs. Tripp were the 
parents of a son, George Albert Tripp, 
now an overseer at the Bowne Mill at 
Fall River, and of a daughter Mary J., 
wife of Dr. James C. Bright. Dr. and 
Mrs. Bright have no children. 



CLARK, James Henry, 

Active Business Man. 

Three generations of Clarks have lived 
at Granville, Hampden county, Massa- 



chusetts, Cornwall W. Clark, his son, 
Charles Bates Clark, and his grandson, 
James Henry Clark, the former coming 
to Granville from Hartland, Connecticut, 
where he resided until after the birth of 
his son, Charles B. At Granville and 
Granville Corners the family resided 
many years, James H. Clark coming to 
Westfield in 1876. Cornwall W. Clark, 
a farmer, died in Granville, aged about 
seventy. He married (first) Harriet 
Bates, an active member of the Congre- 
gational church, who died prior to 1840. 
They were the parents of James Francis, 
deceased; Charles Bates, of further men- 
tion ; Susan, married George Trask, a 
veteran of the Civil War, wounded at 
Fort Fisher, whom she survives, a resi- 
dent of Buffalo, New York ; Henry Corn- 
wall, deceased. 

Charles Bates Clark was born in Hart- 
land, Connecticut, January 5, 1833, and 
still resides at the old home in Granville. 
He spent his very early years in Hart- 
land, then came to Granville with his 
father, and as boy and man worked at 
farming until four years after his mar- 
riage. He then entered the employ of 
Noble & Cooley, the well-known drum 
makers at Granville Corners, remaining 
with that firm for forty-nine years. The 
firm were makers of other musical instru- 
ments, and for many years Mr. Clark 
contracted the making of certain parts. 
When he finally retired he was still 
strong and hearty, and is yet (1918) in 
good health although an octogenarian. 
He cast his first presidential vote for 
Abraham Lincoln, and has ever since 
acted with the Republican party. He 
has been a member of the Baptist church, 
has served on the presidential committee, 
and both he and his wife are active 
workers. 

Mr. Clark married, July 4, 1858, Caro- 
line E. Root, born in Southwick, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Enoch and Marilla 



91 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(Sacket) Root, her father a lumber 
dealer, saw mill owner and manufacturer 
of wooden ware. Mr. and Mrs. Clar.k are 
the parents of two sons and a daughter, 
and now (1918) after nearly sixty years 
of wedded life, reside at the old Granville 
home. Children: i. James Henry, of 
further mention. 2. Harriet M., born 
February 14, 1863, married Arthur A. 
Tubbs, who is employed in a market, and 
resides in Springfield, Massachusetts ; 
they have two sons, Robert J. Tubbs, 
born January 23, 1888, at Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts, cashier of the Westfield Co- 
operative Bank, married, September 25, 
1913, Lucile V. Carter, and has a son, 
Roger Carter Tubbs, born July 30, 1914; 
Clarence Raymond Tubbs, born August 
17, 1896, at Holyoke, is a graduate of 
Springfield High School, class of 1914, 
specialized in mechanical drawing, and 
is now a draughtsman in the employ of 
McClintock & Craig, architects and engi- 
neers of Springfield ; also a daughter, died 
in infancy. 3. Charles A., born at Gran- 
ville, November, 1874, now with the 
Rackliffe Hardware Company of Spring- 
field ; he married Louise Swartz, of Al- 
bany, New York, and has a daughter, 
Edith Louise Clark, born September, 
1899, now residing in Westfield. 

James Henry Clark, eldest son of 
Charles Bates and Caroline E. (Root) 
Clark, was born in Granville, Massachu- 
setts, June I, 1859, and there attended the 
public schools until seventeen years of 
age. In 1876 he came to Westfield, enter- 
ing the employ of O. A. Granger, dealer 
in groceries and farming implements, 
with whom he remained twelve years. 
During the years, 1888-89, he was book- 
keeper for Snow & Hayes, and in 1899 
formed a partnership with James Savery 
to conduct a general insurance business. 
They operated together for several years, 
Mr. Clark then purchasing his partner's 



interest and has since continued the bus- 
iness alone. He has also been treasurer 
of the Westfield Co-operative Bank since 
1900. A Republican in politics, Mr. 
Clark served two years as selectman and 
chairman of the board. He has been a 
member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church for thirty-five years, a member 
and treasurer of the board of trustees. He 
is a member of Mt. Moriah Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Metacomet Tribe, 
Improved Order of Red Men ; the West- 
field and Tekoa clubs. 

Mr. Clark married, June i, 1882, Caro- 
line Elizabeth Tobey, born in Westfield, 
August 23, 1861, daughter of Elisha and 
Melissa (Shepard) Tobey, her father born 
in Amenia, New York, coming to West- 
field, a railroad contractor. Melissa Shep- 
ard was a daughter of Russel Shepard, 
and a great-granddaughter of General 
William Shepard, elsewhere mentioned in 
this work. 



CARON, Amable Berthelot, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Among the physicians of Fall River 
the name of Amable Berthelot Caron 
stands high, he having identified himself 
most closely with the life of that city 
since the year 1900. He now enjoys a 
reputation as a profound student and 
able practitioner, and is a man whose 
qualifications for the profession which he 
practices are of the most eminent kind. 
Dr. Caron is a member of an old, hon- 
ored and renowned French family, which 
has resided for a number of years in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, to which 
place it came in the person of his grand- 
father, Dr. Amable Berthelot, a native of 
France, who emigrated thence to the new 
world as a young man, settling in Que- 
bec. He was a physician and built up an 
excellent practice in his adopted home. 



92 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was a Patriot in 1837. He was a son 
of Amable Berthelot, of France, who was 
a branch of the family tree of Amable 
Berthelot d' Artigny, book lover and lit- 
erary man of high renown. Amable Ber- 
thelot d' Artigny and his wife were the 
parents of three daughters, the yotingest 
daughter, Marie Berthelot d' Artigny, 
also of Quebec, married Onesime Caron, 
who was a well-known attorney in Can- 
ada, an earnest advocate at the bar of 
that country, took an active part and was 
a conspicuous figure in the life of the 
community generally. They were the 
parents of Dr. Amable Berthelot Caron, 
last descendant of that branch, taking the 
family name of Berthelot-Caron, of this 
review. 

Dr. Amable Berthelot Caron is related 
to Judge Berthelot, of Montreal, Canada, 
and is a descendant, as above stated, of 
the Berthelot d'Artigny family, and the 
last heir direct of a right to royalty in 
land which has been in the family for 
many generations. He is also related to 
Sir Hippolite LaFontaine, his great- 
uncle. Prime Minister of Canada; to Hon. 
Pierre Antoine de Blois, Senator; Sir L. 
H. Mercier, distant relative. Prime Min- 
ister of Quebec ; Sir A. P. Caron ; 
Faucher de St. Maurice, Des Alps Meri- 
tines, a deputy and literary man, an hon- 
orary president of the Press of the Prov- 
ince of Quebec; N. H. E. Faucher de St. 
Maurice, his uncle, captain of the Second 
Battalion of Infantry in Africa, in the 
French army, a chevalier of the Legion of 
Honor ; he was a follower of the Em- 
peror Maximillian in Mexico and received 
a decoration from Napoleon HI. and 
Guadeloupe Medal, "Merit and Forti- 
tude," decorated Chevalier No. II. 

Dr. Amable Verthelot Caron was born 
at St. Francois du Lac Comte d'Yamaska, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, June 25, 
1876. He was very young when he began 



his studies at home with private teachers, 
under the guidance of his uncle, afore- 
mentioned. At the age of five years the 
Honorable Chapleau, a friend of the fam- 
ily, gave him his first lesson in declama- 
tion. After a complete commercial course 
he went to the Quebec Seminary to take 
his classic course. He studied music 
under Professor Desrochers ; drawing, 
oil painting, water colors under Profes- 
sor Lefebvre and Roullet ; singing under 
Professor Gierke ; pen drawing and 
sculpture under Professor Ledieu ; litera- 
ture under S. G. Mgr. Begin, Archbishop 
of Quebec. He pursued his medical stud- 
ies at the Laval University of Quebec and 
Montreal. He followed private courses 
under Drs. Jeanotte, Breman, and Sir 
William Kingston. He studied practical 
chemistry under Professor Levesque. In 
public speaking and oratory he received 
first prize from the Lieutenant Governor 
Chapleau, and he graduated in dramatic 
art under Professor Rivard. After grad- 
uation in these studies and in medicine in 
Montreal, he came to Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1900, and began the general 
practice of medicine and surgery, spe- 
cializing in diseases of women and chil- 
dren. He is now one of the leaders of his 
profession in the city, and is looked upon 
as an authority on many medical subjects 
and as a diagnostician of the first rank. 
He is also an author, having composed 
many musical poems which have been 
published. 

The demands upon his time and energy 
made by his profession render it impos- 
sible for Dr. Caron to take as active a 
part in the general life of the community 
as his inclinations would otherwise urge 
and his abilities and talents would seem 
to fit him for. He is a member of the Fall 
River Medical Society and the American 
Medical Association. As a young man 
in Canada, Dr. Caron served for three 



93 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years in the Ninth Battery of Artillery in 
Quebec, but since coming to this coun- 
try has not joined any military organi- 
zation. He manifests a keen interest in 
all matters concerning public afifairs, and 
is an original thinker on questions con- 
cerning large political issues. He may 
be classed as an independent Republican 
in politics, but does not allow partisan 
considerations to influence him where 
the welfare of the community is con- 
cerned. He attends the Church of Notre 
Dame (Roman Catholic) in Fall River. 

Dr. Caron married, June lo, 1900, Jo- 
sephine Lynch, a native of Canada, born 
in 1882, a daughter of Owen and Vital- 
line Lynch, old and highly respected res- 
idents of Quebec, where her father was 
the head of a large business firm. Their 
eldest son, Amable Berthelot Caron, Jr., 
will become a physician, keeping up the 
traditions of this very distinguished line 
of ancestors. The other children are of 
tender age. 

The place held by Dr. Caron in the 
community is one that any man might 
desire, but it is one that he deserves in 
every particular, one that he gained by no 
chance fortune but by hard and industri- 
ous work, and a most liberal treatment 
of his fellow-men. Dr. Caron performs a 
large amount of philanthropic work in 
the city, and is greatly beloved by the 
poorer classes there. It is the function of 
the physician to bring good cheer and 
encouragement almost as much as the 
more material assistance generally asso- 
ciated with his profession, and often it 
forms the major part of his treatment, 
and for this office Dr. Caron is peculiarly 
fitted both by temperament and phil- 
osophy. There is much that is depress- 
ing about the practice of medicine, the 
constant contact with sufifering and 
death, yet the fundamental cheerfulness 
of Dr. Caron never suflfers eclipse and is 



noticeable in every relation of his life. 
In his home life Dr. Caron is the most 
exemplary of men, a loving husband and 
a hospitable and charming host. In Dr. 
Caron's cemetery lot in Quebec there is 
a place given to France — a place in the 
English Dominion where the French 
flag may be seen — it is a corner given to 
sailors of France who died in front of 
Quebec in a man-of-war — they were bur- 
ied with military honors near his uncle, 
Faucher de St. Maurice, who was buried 
in a French flag. 



PALMER, Percy Silliman, 

Representative Citizen. 

Percy Silliman Palmer, agent and 
treasurer of the Massasoit Manufacturing 
Company of Fall River, Massachusetts, is 
a scion of a family whose members have 
long been distinguished in the business 
and professional life of that State, and 
also of the State of Connecticut. 

(I) Walter Palmer, the ancestor of the 
family in America, was born in England 
as early as 1598. He came to the Ameri- 
can Colonies in 1629, accompanied by his 
brother who was a merchant. Walter 
Palmer settled at Salem, and was a 
founder of Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
where it is said he built the first dwelling 
house in the town. In 1643 ^^ removed 
to Plymouth Colony and with others 
joined in the organization of the town 
of Rehoboth, Massachusetts. In 1653 he 
located in Stonington, Connecticut, and 
there died November 10, 1661. He mar- 
ried (first) June i, 1633, Rebecca Short. 

(II) Gershom Palmer, son of Walter 
and Rebecca (Short) Palmer, was born 
in Rehoboth, and died in Stonington, 
where he had located, in 1719. He served 
in the Colonial Wars. He married (first) 
November 28, 1667, Ann, daughter of 
Captain George and Ann (Bardwell) 



94 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Denison, and she died in 1694; he mar- 
ried (second) November 11, 1707, Mrs. 
Elizabeth Mason, whose maiden name 
was Peck. 

(III) George Palmer, fourth son of 
Gershom and Ann (Denison) Palmer, 
was born May 29, 1681. He married, 
March 24, 171 1, Hannah Palmer. 

(IV) Gershom (2) Palmer, youngest 
son of George and Hannah Palmer, was 
born October 13, 1722, and lived in Pres- 
ton, Connecticut, where he married, No- 
vember 5, 1747, Dorothy Brown, of that 
town. 

(V) Elder Reuben Palmer, eldest son 
and fourth child of Gershom (2) and 
Dorothy (Brown) Palmer, was born June 
12, 1759. He was ordained a Baptist 
elder in North Stonington, and while 
pastor there received a call to the old 
Baptist church at Montville, Connecticut, 
which he accepted. He was the active 
pastor of that church from May 3, 1788, 
to December 25, 1793. On the latter date 
he was publicly installed pastor of the 
church, which office he held until he died, 
April 22, 1822, at the age of sixty-three 
years. He married, November 16, 1780, 
Lucretia Tyler, daughter of Caleb and 
Hannah (Barnes) Tyler, of Preston, who 
survived him, and died August 15, 1852, 
aged ninety-one years. 

(VI) Gideon Palmer, fourth son and 
sixth child of Elder Reuben and Lucre- 
tia (Tyler) Palmer, was born October 
23, 1793, in Montville, and died there July 
12, 1854, one of its most respected and 
leading citizens. He was the owner of 
large tracts of land in Montville on both 
sides of the Oxoboxo river, where he 
installed several water powers. In his 
younger years he was associated in vari- 
ous capacities with his father, among 
them being the occupation of extracting 
oil from flax seed. Mr. Palmer developed 
and obtained a patent for extracting oil 



from cotton seed and this original docu- 
ment is now in the possession of I. E. 
Palmer, of Middletown, Connecticut. His 
son, Elisha H. Palmer, became associated 
with him in the business and branches 
were established in several parts of the 
South ; cotton gins were manufactured in 
Connecticut. Mr. Palmer was a public- 
spirited man who favored whatever en- 
terprise would enchance the general wel- 
fare of the public. He was ever striving 
to further public improvements, and it 
was mainly through his efforts that the 
highway along the north side of the Oxo- 
boxo river was built. He was a most 
ardent opponent of the liquor interests, 
and an advocate of temperance and the 
abolition of slaves. He fought for both 
of these measures with great ardor and 
zeal at every opportunity throughout his 
active life. Mr. Palmer married, June 11, 
1813, Mercy Maria Turner, born in Mont- 
ville, June 29, 1795, died there Septem- 
ber 17, 1870, daughter of Isaac and Anna 
(Comstock) Turner. 

(VII) Elisha H. Palmer, son of Gideon 
and Mercy Maria (Turner) Palmer, was 
born in Montville, June 23, 1814, and 
there died, January 9, 1893. Very early 
in life he entered upon a business career 
that was destined to be a brilliant one in 
many respects. Like his father he never 
lost sight of the needs of his native town, 
and was ever foremost in the promotion 
of any reform. He was also an enthusias- 
tic advocate of Prohibition, and in its 
behalf devoted considerable of his time 
to public speaking. He lived to see the 
abolition of slavery become a reality, a 
measure both he and his honored father 
had ever upheld and did much to bring 
about. In 1854 Mr. Palmer was a repre- 
sentative to the Legislature and fought 
for the Maine Law. So well did he per- 
form the duties incumbent upon that 
office that he was again the choice of his 



95 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



constituents in 1864 and yet a third time 
in 1866. The latter year he was the rep- 
resentative of the Ninth Senatorial Dis- 
trict in the Senate. For four years he 
was town clerk, and selectman for a simi- 
lar period. At one time he held the office 
of president of the Palmer Re-Union 
Association. He married, November 30, 
1837, Ellis Loomis, born January 26, 1814, 
daughter of Joel and Ellis (Chappell) 
Loomis, of Lyme, Connecticut. She died 
January 9, 1893. 

(VIII) Edward A. Palmer, son of 
Elisha H. and Ellis (Loomis) Palmer, 
was born in Montville, May 28, 1843, '^''"^ 
died there, January 13, 1899. He was a 
member and one of the founders of the 
Palmer Brothers Company, manufactur- 
ers of bed quilts, and had charge of their 
New York office. He was a most capable 
business executive. A man greatly 
beloved by his towns-people and fellow- 
citizens, he gave generously to the needy, 
but in a most unostentatious manner. He 
was ever ready to help in those move- 
ments which were of benefit to the public- 
at-large. He contributed generously to 
help build the highway in Montville, and 
also helped build the school at Palmer- 
town, Connecticut. Mr. Palmer served in 
the Civil War; he was attending the 
Greenwich Academy when the war broke 
out in 1861, and enlisted in a Rhode Island 
Regiment. He married, May 28, 1870, 
Isabelle Mitchell, daughter of William 
Minott and Delia (Silliman) Mitchell. 
William Minott Mitchell was a prominent 
attorney of New York City, while his 
wife, Delia (Silliman) Mitchell, was a 
descendant of Benjamin Silliman, who 
was called "The Father of Natural Sci- 
ence" at Yale University. Mr. and Mrs. 
Palmer were the parents of two sons and 
a daughter: Edward Augustus, Grace 
Estelle, and Percy Silliman, of further 
mention. 



(IX) Percy Silliman Palmer, youngest 
child of Edward A. and Isabelle (Mit- 
chell) Palmer, was born in Montville, 
Connecticut, November 28, 1882. He 
attended the local schools of his native 
town and of New London. He prepared 
for college at the Thatcher School of 
New York City, graduating from Phil- 
lips Andover in the class of 1898. Sub- 
sequently, Mr. Palmer engaged in busi- 
ness in the office of Palmer Brothers at 
New London, Connecticut, and through 
his inherent ability rapidly rose until he 
was appointed manager of the Massa- 
soit Manufacturing Company's Connec- 
ticut Plant in 1907. He brought to this 
position those qualities of executive abil- 
ity which were early discerned in his 
character, and under his capable and judi- 
cious management the concern flourished, 
and the output of business was very 
large. Mr. Palmer continued to manage 
this plant until 1917, in which year he 
came to Fall River, where he entered the 
employ of the same concern in their Mas- 
sachusetts plant, in a clerical capacity. 
The Massasoit Manufacturing Company 
is one of the most prosperous industrial 
establishments of Fall River, and one of 
the largest waste converting concerns in 
the world. Mr. Palmer continued in the 
office at Fall River, performing his duties 
in the same competent manner that has 
marked his entire business career, and in 
1918, upon the death of Wendell E. 
Turner, who was the founder of this 
company, and also its treasurer and man- 
ager, Mr. Palmer was made agent and 
treasurer by the new board. He is a Re- 
publican in politics, and like his worthy 
forefathers an earnest advocate of all 
public measures for the uplift and general 
good of the community. He is not a 
seeker in any way for public ofifice. So- 
cially, Mr. Palmer is a member of the 
Quepuechan Club of Fall River, Rhode 



96 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Island Country Club, Fall River Country- 
Club, and Thames Club of New London, 
Connecticut. 

Mr. Palmer married at Providence, 
Rhode Island, March 23, 1901, Edna 
Pratt, daughter of George and Emily 
(Comstock) Pratt, of Norwich, Connecti- 
cut. Mr. and Mrs. Palmer are the par- 
ents of three children: Walter Everett, 
born October 20, 1904; Wendell Turner, 
April 21, 1912; Isabelle Mitchell, May 
20, 1914. The family are members of the 
First Congregational Church of Fall 
River, Massachusetts. 



SIMMONS, Ralph Hayward, M. D., 

Physician. 

Moses Simmons, the first of the family, 
came to the Plymouth Colony in the ship 
"Fortune" in 1621. His name was also 
spelled Simonson, Synomnson and Sy- 
mondson, but most of his descendants 
have followed the spelling Simmons. He 
was one of the Pilgrims in Holland and 
Governor Winslow called him "a child of 
one that was in communion with the 
Dutch church at Leyden," and as being 
"admitted also to baptism as well as our 
own." He shared in the division of com- 
mon lands in Plymouth in 1623 and again 
in the division of cattle in 1627. Before 
1637 he located in Duxbury, and in 1638- 
39 was granted forty acres in that town. 
He was one of the original proprietors of 
Bridgewater, but sold his share and did 
not settle there. In 1662 he was one 
of the proprietors of Middleborough. 
Through his two sons, Moses and Thomas, 
are descended the Colonial Simmons 
families of Southeastern Massachusetts. 
Thomas Simmons, a householder in Scit- 
uate before 1647, had sons, Moses and 
Aaron. 

(II) Moses (2) Simmons, son of Moses 
(i) Simmons, lived in Duxbury and died 

Mass— 8— 7 y7 



there in 1689. Several of his children 
married into Mayflower stock. By his 
wife Sarah he had : John, married Mercy 
Peabody ; Aaron, mentioned below ; Mary, 
married Joseph Alden ; Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Richard Dwelley ; Sarah, married 
James Nash. 

(HI) Aaron Simmons, son of Moses 
(2) Simmons, lived in Duxbury. Chldren, 
according to Windsor History ; John, 
mentioned below ; Benjamin, married 
(first) Sarah Sampson, and (second) 
Priscilla Delano ; Joseph, born in 1683, 
married Mary Weston ; Joshua, born 
1688, married Sarah Delano ; Rebecca, 
married Constant Southworth. 

(IV) John Simmons, son of Aaron 
Simmons, married, November 4, 1715, 
Susanna Tracy, who died September 12, 
1756, aged eighty-two years. Children, 
born at Duxbury : John, mentioned 
below; Ruth, born April 26, 1719; Joel, 
February 5, 1723; Leah, September 7, 
1728. 

(V) John (2) Simmons, son of John 
(i) Simmons, was born at Duxbury, Au- 
gust 22, 1716. He married, October 21, 
1736, Hopestill Stetson, daughter of 
Elisha Stetson, of Plymouth. She lived 
in that part of Plymouth set off as Kings- 
ton, and was baptized with her brothers 
and sisters, March 19, 1721. Children of 
John Simmons, born at Kingston : Faith, 
June 2^, 1738; Noah, mentioned below; 
Eunice, March 8, 1742-43 ; John, August 
29, 1746. 

(VI) Noah Simmons, son of John (2) 
Simmons, was born in Kingston, Janu- 
ary 15, 1739-40. He was a bloomer by 
trade, also a farmer. He died at Kings- 
ton, May 30, 1824, aged eighty-four years, 
but one record gives his age as eighty- 
eight years. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution, a private in Captain Samuel 
Nelson's company, Colonel Willard's reg- 
iment, in 1776, at Fort Edward; second 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lieutenant in Captain Ebenezer Wash- 
burn's company, Colonel Theophilus Cot- 
ton's regiment, in 1778. (See Mass. Sol- 
diers and Sailors of the Revolutionary 
War, Vol. 2, p. 250). He married (first) 
(intentions dated May 25, 1763) Lydia 
Howland ; (second) (intentions dated 
August 17, 1771) Diana Keene, but by 
somebody's error all his children are 
recorded to wife Molly except Hezekiah. 
Molly may have been his third wife. 
Children, born at Kingston : Elizabeth, 
born September 15, 1764; Silvester, June 
28, 1768; Hezekiah, mentioned below; 
Diana, July i, 1774; Noah, November 22, 
1775; William, May 7, 1777; Noah, De- 
cember 25, 1778; James, March 12, 1781 ; 
Oliver, December 19, 1782 ; Joseph, 
March 29, 1785 ; Peleg, December 30, 
1788; Lydia, September 17, 1791 ; Mar- 
tin, January 26, 1794. 

(VII) Hezekiah Simmons, son of Noah 
and Diana (Keene) Simmons, was born 
at Kingston, January 17, 1772. He was 
master of a coasting vessel which plied 
between Kingston and ports of the 
Southern States, and in 1816 was lost at 
sea with his vessel and entire crew. He 
married Lydia Weston, of Duxbury, who 
married (second) Captain John McLauth- 
lin or McLaughlin, of Kingston, and she 
died there in 1850. Children of Captain 
Hezekiah Simmons: i. Charles, born in 
1803, died 1863; a shoemaker; married 
Almira Bisbee. 2. Lydia, married (first) 
Elijah Witherell, and (second) Nathan- 
iel Waterman. 3. Hezekiah, Jr., settled 
in Monmouth county, Illinois, became a 
leading citizen, and died there ; married 
Zoa Dudley, of Easton, Massachusetts. 
4. Diana, an invalid, died at Kingston, 
unmarried, aged forty-two years. 5. 
Maria, married George Croome, of Bos- 
ton ; died at Arlington, aged eighty 
years. 6. Weston, mentioned below. 7. 
Levi, died in the West; married (first) 



Sarah Shepardson, and (second) Lucy 
Shepardson, her sister. 

(VIII) Weston Simmons, son of Heze- 
kiah Simmons, was born in Kingston, 
July 15, 181 1, died January 20, 1883. In 
early life he learned the trade of black- 
smith and followed it for a number of 
years. He was afterward associated with 
his elder brother Hezekiah in the manu- 
facture of hayforks and continued the 
business after his partner went West. 
About 1828 he came to North Bridge- 
water, now Brockton, and followed his 
trade in the employ of Tyler Cobb, Silas 
V. Tuck and others, in the manufacture 
of tools for shoemaking. He was a skill- 
ful mechanic. In April, 1855, he was 
appointed warden of the almshouse and 
had charge of it for the next ten years. 
In early life he was a Whig, later a Re- 
publican to the end of his life. He served 
on the school committee of district No. 
10 for a number of years. In early life 
he attended the Church of the New Jeru- 
salem, but was afterward a Congrega- 
tionalist. He married, October 12, 1842, 
Esther Hayward, daughter of Joseph and 
Esther (Ripley) Hayward, and a descend- 
ant in the fifth generation from Thomas 
Hayward, who came from England in 
1638 and settled in Duxbury, later in 
Bridgewater. Children : Weston Hay- 
ward, born August 21, 1843, "^'^d Sep- 
tember 3, 1843 ; George Weston, men- 
tioned below ; Esther Minerva, born No- 
vember 4, 1846, married Thomas A. Bax- 
endale, of Brockton ; John, born April 
29, 1850; Joseph Lyman, born March 29, 
1859, died September 18, 1859. 

(IX) George Weston Simmons, son of 
Weston Simmons, was born July 28, 1844, 
and died at Brockton, March, 1896. He 
was a carpenter and builder in Somerset, 
Massachusetts. In religion he was a 
Methodist. 

(X) William Wallace Simmons, son 



98 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of George Weston Simmons, was a 
contractor and builder. He married Hat- 
tie Alice Hayward, a native of Brockton. 
(XI) Dr. Ralph Hayward Simmons, 
son of William Wallace Simmons, was 
born in Brockton, December 17, 1889. He 
received his education in the public 
schools of his native town, graduating 
from the Brockton High School in 1909, 
and at Tufts College, from which he was 
graduated with the degree of M. D., in 
1913. For three years and a half Dr. 
Simmons was on the staff of the Fall 
River Hospital. He is now in private 
practice in Fall River. He is a member 
of the Bristol County Medical Society, 
the Massachusetts State Medical Society, 
the American Medical Association and 
the Tufts Alumni Association. He is a 

member also of Lodge, Ancient 

Free and Accepted Masons ; of Fall River 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of Fall 
River Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
and of Godfrey de Bouillon Command- 
ery. Knights Templar, of Fall River. In 
politics he is a Republican. He has 
served for a number of years in the Re- 
serve Corps of the United States and has 
the rank of first lieutenant. 



PARKER, Josiah Alden, 

Manufacturer. 

From boyhood until within a few 
years of his death, Josiah Alden Parker 
was engaged in shoe manufacture, con- 
tinuing a business founded by his father 
in Chicopee, Massachvisetts, the birth- 
place and lifelong residence of the son. 

Josiah A. Parker was a grandson of 
Josiah Parker, born in Sutton, Massachu- 
setts, January 31, 1771, and died in Chico- 
pee, Massachusetts, November 25, 1851, 
a carpenter by trade. After his marriage 
he lived in North Brookfield, Massachu- 
setts, and there his children were born. 



He married, January 6, 1796, Mary 
Haskell, born September 2, 1774, died in 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, December 14, 
1832. Children: Mary, born August 27, 
1797, married Samuel Jennings; Adol- 
phus Gustavus, of further mention ; Re- 
bekah, born October 3, 1803, married 
Dwight Combs ; Hiram, married Sarah 
P. Craft, and moved to Pottsville, Penn- 
sylvania ; Erasmus, born June 4, 1808, 
married Matilda Humphrey; Israel, born 
January 22, 1813, married Dorcas Gil- 
bert; Ruth M., born January 27, 181 5, 
married Elias Dorr. 

Adolphus Gustavus Parker, eldest son 
of Josiah and Mary (Haskell) Parker, 
was born in North Brookfield, Massachu- 
setts, June 23, 1801, and died in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, May 31, 1883. He learned 
the shoemaker's trade in Brookfield, and 
prior to 1833 moved to Chicopee, later 
becoming a shoe manufacturer, a business 
he conducted until his death, at the age 
of eighty-two years. He was a man of 
prominence in his town, and in his 
younger years influential in public affairs. 
He was a member of the Massachusetts 
Constitutional Convention of 1853, and 
held responsible position in the town for 
many years. He married Louisa Chapin, 
and they were the parents of a daughter, 
Eleanor, who died in infancy ; and a son, 
Josiah Alden, whose career is herein 
traced. 

Josiah Alden Parker, only son of Adol- 
phus Gustavus and Louisa (Chapin) 
Parker, was born in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, in 1832, and died at his home on 
Chicopee street in his native city, Sep- 
tember 3, 1900. He was educated in the 
grade and high schools of Chicopee, and 
when school years were over became 
associated with his father in the shoe 
manufacturing business. This associa- 
tion continued unbroken until the death 
of the senior partner in 1883, the busi- 



99 



361886A 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ness being continued by Josiah A. Parker 
alone until a few years prior to his own 
death, at the age of sixty-seven years. He 
was a man of fifty when left in full 
charge, but he had long been the virtual 
head of the business, his father, a man 
of great age, having surrendered its bur- 
dens to the son years before his final re- 
tirement. In addition to his manufactur- 
ing business, Mr. Parker owned and man- 
aged a farm of twenty acres, located on 
Chicopee street, and after retiring from 
the shoe business he gave it his full atten- 
tion, and it is there his widow now 
resides. He was a selectman of the town, 
served on the Board of Health, was a 
member of the First Congregational 
Church, and for twenty-five years served 
the society as secretary-treasurer. He 
was a man of strong character, upright 
and honorable in business, and most 
highly esteemed where best known. 

Mr. Parker married, December 25, 
1872, Minerva Bragg Walker, born in 
Warren, but married in Brookfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, daughter of Jarius and Lucy 
(Woods) Walker. Having no children of 
their own, Mr. and Mrs. Josiah Alden 
Parker adopted two daughters : Lucille, 
married Rhodes Farman, and has chil- 
dren : Dorothy, Chandler, and Robert 
Burton ; Jessie May, married Hubert H. 
Swartz, and has children: Helen Mi- 
nerva, Harold Parker, and Elwood Day- 
ton Swartz. 



KENNEDY, William Francis, 

Journalist, 

Mr. Kennedy is a native of Fall River, 
was reared in Taunton, and has been very 
active in political affairs and newspaper 
work for many years, in which he has 
gained distinction. He is a grandson of 
Patrick Kennedy, who came from Limer- 
ick, Ireland, and was the first Irishman to 



settle in Fall River. He was a textile 
worker, came to Fall River in 1822, and 
was employed in the Anawan mills at Fall 
River until killed by an accident in the 
wheel pit, at the age of sixty-eight years. 
He left two sons, Matthew and John Ken- 
nedy. Matthew Kennedy was born in 
Limerick (Ireland), and spent his active 
life in the cotton manufacturing indus- 
tries of Fall River until his death, at the 
age of about seventy years. He married 
Margaret Donovan, also a native of Ire- 
land. 

William Francis Kennedy, son of Mat- 
thew and Margaret (Donovan) Kennedy, 
was born December 5, 1850, in Fall River, 
and was educated in the schools of Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts. When about seven- 
teen years old he entered the mills of the 
Whittenton Manufacturing Company of 
Taunton, where he continued fifteen years 
as paymaster, becoming thoroughly con- 
versant with the art of manufacturing 
cotton cloth. In 1885 he was appointed 
postmaster of Taunton, and filled that 
office for the term of four years. During 
this time he acted as correspondent of 
the Boston "Globe," and in 1889 joined 
the stafif of the Fall River "Globe," occu- 
pied the position of managing editor up 
to October, 1917, when he retired for a 
well-earned rest. Mr. Kennedy is an 
enthusiastic Democrat, and exercises 
large influence in the councils of his 
party. He is a ready writer, a man of 
keen insight, with broad views, and is 
"doing his bit," in the parlance of the 
present day, in promoting progress and 
the spread of enlightenment in his native 
land. While a resident of Taunton he 
served five years in the City Council, act- 
ing one year as president of that body. 
He is a member of St. Patrick's (Roman 
Catholic) Church of Fall River, is a mem- 
ber of the Clover Club of Boston, of the 
Knights of Columbus, and the United 




C>U2^2^^l^t^ 



>r.//. 



o^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Order of Foresters. He is a man of pleas- 
ing personality and good address, of gen- 
ial nature and kindly manner, and has 
drawn about himself a large circle of 
admiring and appreciative friends. 

Mr. Kennedy married, November 9, 
1887, in Boston, Clementine Star McAlis- 
ter, born December 13, 1853, ™ Rockland, 
Maine, daughter of Edwin S. and Sarah 
(Thompson) McAlister, both natives of 
Maine. Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy are the 
parents of two sons : i. Paul Stuart, born 
September 26, 1888; is a chemist and 
technical engineer, employed by the Mur- 
phy Varnish Company of Newark, New 
Jersey. 2. Clement Edwin, born August 
16, 1893 ; graduated from Harvard Uni- 
versity, and is now employed by the E. 
R. Grafot Hotel Company, of Boston. 



KAY, James H., 

Efficient Public Official. 

With his calling to the Mayoralty in 
1913, Mayor Kay dispelled several illu- 
sions that were rapidly becoming realities 
in Fall River politics. With many it had 
become a truism that none but a profes- 
sional man could win the mayor's chair, 
and this belief was strengthened by the 
fact that for thirty-three years, 1880- 
1913, every mayor of the city with one 
exception had been either a physician or 
lawyer. Another myth which vanished 
with his election was that no alderman 
could become mayor. But in spite of the 
two supposed handicaps, Mr. Kay was 
elected by the record majority of 1820 
votes. Each recurring election has re- 
turned him to the office of chief executive 
of the city of his birth, and no finer 
endorsement of a man's fitness for office 
can be conceived than this continued sup- 
port from men who have known him from 
boyhood, to whom he is not known as 
Mayor Kay but "Jim Kay." But the per- 



sonal equation does not account for the 
great strength shown by Mr. Kay at the 
polls, important as it is. He has won the 
support of men who have judged him 
solely from his service to the city, and 
it is by that record he stands or falls 
in their estimation. This is the source of 
his greatest strength, and he deserves 
the heartiest congratulations upon the 
decided, emphatic, and oft-repeated en- 
dorsements of his preceding administra- 
tions. Free from political obligation, he 
shapes his course independently, his slo- 
gan, "the public good." 

An experienced business man. Mayor 
Kay has administered municipal affairs as 
a business proposition. The widening of 
South Main street after the great fire of 
February 15, 1916, in the heart of the 
business district, is an instance of the 
soundness of his views and the clearness 
of his vision, the city benefitting in every 
way by his great interest in having this 
improvement put through the city gov- 
ernment. Another instance is the acquir- 
ing of the county building as a City Home 
for the Poor of the City, he conducting a 
long and persistent campaign, finally suc- 
ceeding in carrying his plans into effect 
and saving the city perhaps two hundred 
thousand dollars. At a banquet given not 
long ago. Mayor Kay discussed some of 
the things which the city wants, and some 
of the things it needs. He said there 
were a number of things which he might 
have recommended in his inaugural, pro- 
jects excellent in themselves, but he pre- 
ferred to confine his wishes to those im- 
provements which could be put through. 
Consequently, all his recommendations 
have been ordered by councils, they find- 
ing that they had been carefully consid- 
ered in the light of the city's financial 
ability. There is but one exception to 
this statement, the Cory Street Under- 
pass, which he tried to bring about, but 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



that improvement was held up on account 
of cost. 

According to Burke's Dictionary of 
Peerage and Baronetage, the name inter- 
changeably Kaye, Key and Kay, is of 
early record, the first of the name in 
America being Brook Watson Kay, Es- 
quire, who served in the English army in 
America in 1782, holding the rank of com- 
missary general. Upon his return to 
England in 1784, he was elected a repre- 
sentative of the city of London, later was 
elected an alderman, and in 1785 served 
as sheriff. In 1796 he was elected Lord 
Mayor of London, and on December 5, 
1803, was created a baronet. Sir Brook 
Watson Kay died October 2, 1807, and 
was succeeded by his nephew, also Sir 
Brook Kay, born July 10, 1780. This Sir 
Brook had a son Sir Brook, born August 
8, 1820, who, on the death of his father, 
May 16, 1866, succeeded to his estate and 
title. William Kay, nephew, married 
Ellen Entwistle, also born in England, 
and about 1825 came to New England. 
They were the parents of several chil- 
dren, the youngest being Henry Edwin, 
of further mention. 

Henry Edwin Kay was born at Fall 
River, Massachusetts, May 21, 1836. He 
was a soldier of the Union, wounded at 
the battle of Fredericksburg, and the bat- 
tle of the Wilderness, serving in Com- 
pany A, Seventh Regiment, Massachu- 
setts Volunteer Infantry, from 1861 to 
1864, holding the rank of sergeant. In 
business he was a manufacturer of Fall 
River, he and his son, James H., being 
associated in the manufacture of spool 
and thread machinery. He was a member 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, a 
man highly esteemed wherever known. 
He died at Fall River, May 24, 1902, aged 
sixty-six. He married Susan Adelaide 
Palmer, of Fall River, Bristol county, 
Massachusetts, a direct descendant of 



John and Priscilla Alden, and they were 
the parents of two sons and three daugh- 
ters : Annie C. ; Lois E., married John 
Brightman ; Bertha E. ; James H., of fur- 
ther mention ; and Henry. 

James H. Kay, son of Henry Edwin 
and Susan Adelaide (Palmer) Kay, was 
born at Fall River, Massachusetts, March 
28, 1873, and has ever resided in the city 
of his birth. He attended the graded and 
high schools of the city, then entered 
business life with his father, a manufac- 
turer of spool and thread machinery at 
No. 57 Kay street. Fall River, father and 
son continuing until the death of the sen- 
ior partner in 1902, James H. Kay then 
becoming manager of the business to 
which he has added roll covering ma- 
chinery. He is an able business man, and 
has successfully developed the business 
founded by his father. 

From youth he has been interested in 
city politics, and in 1905 was elected 
alderman, taking his seat in 1906, and 
serving under successive reelections for 
seven years. He served principally on 
committees, finance and highways, and 
during 191 1 and 1912 was president of the 
board. In 1912 he was the choice of the 
Republican primaries for mayor, having 
two opponents. He conducted a novel 
campaign, refused to utter a word reflect- 
ing upon the character of his opponents 
or their fitness, made no reply to person- 
alities, his only argument being: "Give 
me a chance to prove how well I can fill 
the ofifice of Mayor." The people liked 
the idea, and they liked the candidate, the 
result being that he polled iioo more 
votes than the combined opposition. Dur- 
ing the campaign which followed his 
nomination, he pursued the same policy, 
and again the people agreed to "give him 
a chance," his vote exceeding that of his 
Democratic rival by 1820 ballots. Mr. 
Kay was inaugurated January 5, 1913, 



EXCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and from that day Fall River has had no 
other mayor, he having been reelected 
twice. In 1914 he was renominated with- 
out opposition, and was reelected at the 
polls by an increased majority. In 1916 
Mayor Kay was again renominated by the 
Republicans and reelected by an increased 
majority, polling 9743 votes. This en- 
dorsement of his administration was most 
gratifying to Mayor Kay, and gave him 
renewed determination to follow the lines 
of government evidently so satisfactory 
to the governed. Mayor Kay is a mem- 
ber of a number of leading fraternal so- 
cieties, a Methodist in religious prefer- 
ence, but attends the Episcopal church 
with his wife, that being her favored 
denomination. He is a member of some 
local clubs. 

Mayor Kay married, October 10, 1893, 
Mary Robertson Borden, daughter of 
Jonathan and Mary Small (Estes) Bor- 
den, of Westport, Massachusetts. Mr. 
and Mrs. Kay are the parents of three 
sons and three daughters, all born at Fall 
River, Massachusetts : Harold Borden, 
Henry Edwin, Bernice Robertson, Doro- 
thy Allyn, Althea Palmer, James H. (2), 
who died May 18, 1915. 



BURNS, Thomas Francis, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Thomas Francis Burns, one of Fall 
River's successful physicians and a prom- 
inent and public-spirited citizen, is him- 
self a native of this place, though by par- 
entage he is an Irishman and displays 
the characteristics, talents and abilities of 
his race. He is a son of Patrick Joseph 
and Elizabeth (McDermott) Burns, the 
former a native of Ireland and the latter 
of England. Mr. and Mrs. Burns, St., 
came to the United States at an early age 
and have since come to be prominent and 
influential residents in the city of their 



adoption. They are the parents of a 
number of children, most of whom have 
made their mark in the world and have 
come to occupy positions of importance 
in the various communities where they 
have made their homes. Patrick Joseph 
Burns has been a member of the police 
force of Fall River for the past thirty-five 
years and is one of the oldest on the force. 
He has also held a position as court offi- 
cer, and is well known and highly thought 
of throughout the community. 

Born July 22, 1891, in the City of Fall 
River, Dr. Thomas Francis Burns has 
always made this place his home. Here it 
was that he obtained the elementary por- 
tion of his education, attending the local 
public schools for this purpose. He later 
attended the B. M. C. Durfee High 
School, where he was prepared for col- 
lege, and from which he was graduated in 
the year 1908. He then entered the Jef- 
ferson Medical School, having made up 
his mind to a professional career, and 
after establishing an excellent reputation 
as a scholar was graduated therefrom 
with the class of 1912 and the degree of 
M. D. For the two years following. Dr. 
Burns was an interne at the Hospital, 
where he added to the theoretical knowl- 
edge he had gained at college the requis- 
ite practical experience, and then, in the 
year 1915, he began the general practice 
of his profession at Fall River, where he 
has remained ever since. From the out- 
set Dr. Burns has specialized more and 
more in the department of diseases of 
children and is now looked upon as some- 
thing of an authority in this branch of his 
science and is working up a practice 
therein that has already gained remark- 
able proportions considering the short 
period that he has practiced here. The 
demands made upon the time and ener- 
gies of Dr. Burns by his professional 
activities are so great that it is quite im- 



103 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



possible for him to take the active part in 
the general life of the community that 
he would otherwise do. At the same time 
he has never lost his keen interest in all 
matters pertaining tothe welfare of the 
community, especially in the realm of 
politics, to which he gives considerable 
thought. He may be classed as an Inde- 
pendent Democrat who, while sincerely 
interested in the welfare of the party 
whose principles and policies he upholds, 
yet never allows partisan considerations 
to weigh in the balance with what he con- 
siders the best interests of the community 
generally. 

When the United States at length threw 
the weight of its power into the great 
World War that is now raging, the patri- 
otism of Dr. Burns was kindled and he 
enlisted in the army and has been raised 
to the rank of first lieutenant. Dr. Burns 
is not a member of any clubs, although he 
keenly enjoys society of the spontaneous 
and informal type. In his religious belief 
he is a Roman Catholic and is a member 
of St. Mary's Church of that denomina- 
tion at Fall River. He is a man of un- 
usual ability and a large knowledge of 
his subject, and whether in the realm of 
military service or of his private practice, 
a brilliant future may be predicted for 
him. Dr. Burns is unmarried. 



SLAUTER, George Tyler, 

Retired Resident of 'Westfleld. 

George Tyler Slauter, of Westfield, is 
a great-grandson of Ephraim Slauter, 
who was born April 23, 1758. He resided 
for a time in Oblong, a territory in dis- 
pute between New York and Connecti- 
cut, and later settled in West Stock- 
bridge, Massachusetts, on Road 19. He 
was then a young man and there mar- 
ried and reared a family of ten children : 
Anna, Jared, Zeruah, Vashti, Amy, Syl- 



vanus Fuller, Hannah, Melinda, Hiram 
and Lydia. His son, Sylvanus Fuller, lo- 
cated in Westfield, Massachusetts, about 
1845, he the father of Piatt Tyler Slauter, 
father of George Tyler Slauter, whose 
business career has been pursued in Cali- 
fornia, Connecticut, and Massachusetts, 
and since 1902 in Westfield. 

Sylvanus Fuller Slauter was born in 
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts, Au- 
gust 22, 1790, there resided until 1845, died 
in Westfield, March 17, 1852. He was a 
foreman of quarrymen in West Stock- 
bridge for many years, but after locating 
in Westfield cultivated a small farm until 
his death. He married Lurena French, 
born June 3, 1790, died in Westfield, No- 
vember 5, 1848. Both were active mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
They were the parents of three sons and 
three daughters: Polly, born November 
12, 1812, died at Amboy, Illinois, No- 
vember 19, 1893; Louisa, born Septem- 
ber 22, 1814, died July 16, 1815 ; Ambrose 
Ephraim, born August 12, 1817, died at 
Amboy, Illinois, March i, 1901 ; Zuruah, 
born March 21, 1819, married a Mr. Bris- 
tol, died at Amboy, Illinois, October 3, 
1904; George, of further mention; Piatt 
Tyler, of further mention. 

George Slauter was born in West 
Stockbridge, March 20, 1821, was killed 
by a motorcycle in Westfield, June 11, 
1916, one of the oldest and best known 
residents of the town which had been his 
home for seventy-seven years. From the 
age of five until eighteen years of age he 
lived with an uncle, Hiram Slauter, then, 
although within three years of a prom- 
ised "freedom" suit of clothes, colt, sad- 
dle and bridle, he left his uncle and moved 
to Westfield. He was first employed in 
Westfield with Squire James Fowler, 
where he remained three years, then went 
with George Dwight, of Springfield, who 
was interested in the old toll bridge. He 



104 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



persuaded Mr. Slauter to move to Spring- 
field and become toll collector on the 
bridge, but after one and a half years, in 
April, 1864, gave him a position with the 
Westfield Gas Company, which he held 
for twenty-eight years. The greater part 
of that time he was foreman, but two 
years was superintendent. He was a 
very industrious man ; in the old days 
he took the meter readings and corrected 
the bills. He was remarkably well pre- 
served, and even after reaching nonagen- 
arian honors worked constantly around 
the yard of his home, shoveled the snow 
from his sidewalks, and until the last 
walked about the town alone. On the 
day preceding his death (Sunday) he was 
on his way from services at the Central 
Baptist Church, and when crossing Elm 
street he was struck by a motorcycle. He 
was at once taken to Noble Hospital, 
where it was found he was cut and 
bruised and suffering from concussion of 
the brain. He died that night. He mar- 
ried, November 4, 1844, Mary J. Atkins, 
who died August 8, 1902. Mr. Slauter 
was aged ninety-five years, two months, 
twenty-one days, and had been a mem- 
ber of Central Baptist Church for sixty- 
seven years, joining in 1849. He cele- 
brated his golden wedding day in 1894, 
and together the aged couple walked eight 
years more ere the bond was broken. He 
survived his wife fourteen years, being 
the care of his nephew, George Tyler 
Slauter, during that period. 

Piatt Tyler Slauter, youngest child of 
Sylvanus Fuller . and Lurena (French) 
Slauter, was born at West Stockbridge, 
Massachusetts, May 6, 1828, and died at 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, November 
28, 1916. He was about eighteen years of 
age when his parents moved to Westfield, 
but he only remained there about one 
year, then went to Belchertown, where 
he learned the carriage builder's trade. 



that branch of industry then being a very 
important one in the town. He became 
an expert workman, and during the 
twenty years he spent at the business 
was for the greater part foreman for S. 
Sc T. Cowles, one of the large carriage 
manufacturing firms of the town. He 
was employed on much special work, 
fancy sleighs and expensive carriages of 
fashionable style, and under his direction 
a hearse was built and shipped to Aus- 
tralia, said to have been the first ever sent 
to that country. When finally carriage 
manufacturing centered elsewhere and 
could not be profitably conducted at 
Belchertown, he took up carpenter's work 
along the usual lines. 

He was an active member of the Con- 
gregational church, a faithful worker, and 
during his residence in Belchertown was 
rarely absent from a regular service. He 
was devoted to every church interest, but 
entirely as a layman, holding no offices. 
He stood high in the estimation of his 
townsmen, an upright, manly citizen, his 
character above reproach. He also took 
an active interest in political affairs, but 
never accepted office for himself. He 
supported the Republican party. 

Piatt Tyler Slauter married, Decem- 
ber 22, 1850, at Belchertown, Emmeline 
Goodale, born there, and there died in 
July, 191 5, daughter of Moses Goodale, 
who died at Belchertown, aged seventy- 
three, and his wife, Millicent Woods, who 
there lived all her life and died aged 
seventy-eight years. Moses Goodale had 
a son Moses and daughters Lydia ; Ange- 
line, married Mr. Southwick ; and Emme- 
line, twin with Angeline, all deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Piatt Tyler Slauter were 
the parents of two sons : George Tyler, 
of further mention, and Frank Stillman, 
born at Belchertown, September i, 1863, 
now treasurer of the Sterling Pin Com- 
pany at Derby, Connecticut ; he married 



105 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lillian Carrington, and resides at Derby, 
Connecticut. 

George Tyler Slauter was born at 
Belchertown, Massachusetts, April 27, 
1858, and there resided until his nine- 
teenth year, obtaining his education in 
the graded and high schools. In 1877 he 
went to California, spent a year in the ice 
business, then for a time was employed 
on the ranch of General Bidwell at Chico, 
California, containing 23,000 acres. Mr. 
Slauter left California in 1878, returning 
to Massachusetts, where until 1892 he 
was clerk in a gentleman's furnishing 
store at Amherst. In October, 1892, he 
located in Middletown, Connecticut, there 
had charge of a crockery business until 
1900, then spent two years in Bridgeport, 
Connecticut, in the grocery business with 
his brother-in-law. In October, 1902, he 
came to Westfield to care for his aged 
uncle, George Slauter, and here has since 
made his home. In January, 1903, Mr. 
Slauter entered the employ of the O. B. 
Parks Company, grocers of Westfield, 
North End, and continued with them 
until October, 1917, at which time he 
retired. 

On January i, 1905, Mr. Slauter was 
elected a deacon of the Second Congre- 
gational Church of Westfield, and in 
March, 1905, treasurer, he yet holding 
both offices. He became a member of 
Nonotuck Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Northampton, Massachu- 
setts, August 27, 1885 ; was elected noble 
grand, July, 1892 ; on November 27, 
1887, he became a member of Mt. Hol- 
yoke Encampment, and is also a member 
of Canton Patriarchs Militant. He was 
"made a Mason" in Pacific Lodge, Am- 
herst, December 14, 1885, and was elected 
worshipful master in 1891 ; he later took 
a demit to St. John's Lodge, Middletown, 
and from that lodge demitted to Mt. 
Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 



sons, of Westfield. He is a companion of 
Evening Star Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 
sons ; a member of Westfield Council ; a 
Sir Knight of Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar; and a noble of Melha 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; 
and has held some office in all but the two 
latter named. In political faith he is a 
Republican, but takes little active part in 
public affairs. 

Mr. Slauter married, June 13, 1894. 
Edith Delia Smith, born at East Hamp- 
ton, Connecticut, daughter of William 
Elliott Smith, and his wife, Julia Cornelia 
(Havens) Smith. William Elliott Smith, 
born at East Hampton, Connecticut, was 
a machinist with the Wheeler & Wilson 
Sewing Machine Company at Bridgeport, 
and there died. His wife, Julia Cornelia 
(Havens) Smith, born at Somers, Con- 
necticut, died at East Hampton. Mrs. 
Slauter has a brother, Clayton L. Smith, 
clerk of the Bridgeport police depart- 
ment. Mr. and Mrs. Slauter have no 
children. 



JACKSON, John Patrick, M. D., 

Physician. 

Although a resident of Fall River, 
Massachusetts, since boyhood, Dr. Jack- 
son is a native son of Rhode Island, and in 
professional education his Alma Mater is 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
Baltimore, Maryland. But Fall River has 
ever been the seat of his medical practice, 
and in the years since he first began that 
practice he has grown in public esteem 
until his position is an honorable one, in 
his, the oldest of all professions. He is a 
grandson of Thomas Jackson, of County 
Galway, Ireland, and a son of Patrick 
John Jackson, born in Galway, Ireland, a 
farmer and successful merchant of Tiver- 
ton, Rhode Island. Patrick J. Jackson 
married Sarah Rogers, born in Preston, 



106 



F.NCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England, of the same ancient family 
from which the Martyr Rogers sprang. 
Mr. and Mrs. Jackson were the parents of 
seven sons and daughters, including a 
son, John Patrick, whose career is the in- 
spiration of this review. 

John Patrick Jackson was bon. in Tiv- 
erton, Rhode Island, December 29, 1879, 
and there resided until he was ten years of 
age, then came to Fall River, where he 
has since resided. He completed the 
grammar school grades ; spent two years 
in the B. M. C. Durfee High School ; then 
for three years was a student at Holy 
Cross College. Deciding upon the pro- 
fession of medicine, he entered the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons, Balti- 
more, Maryland, whence he was gradu- 
ated M. D., class of 1903. The following 
year was spent in hospital work and at 
Maryland Asylum, as resident physician, 
the latter position being resigned after 
eight months' service. In 1904 Dr. Jack- 
son returned to Fall River, began general 
practice and is now well established as a 
physician of skill and honor. He is also 
a capable surgeon and has offered his 
services to the military service of his 
country at home or abroad. Dr. Jackson 
is a member of the various medical socie- 
ties, the Knights of Columbus, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Fra- 
ternal Order of Eagles, Independent 
Order of Foresters, the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and St. Mary's Roman Cath- 
olic Church. In politics he is a Progres- 
sive Republican and an ardent admirer of 
ex-President Roosevelt. 



HAWES, Oliver Snow, 

Business Man. 

The Hawes family, a worthy member 
of which is Oliver Snow Hawes, one of 
the prominent business men of Fall River, 
Massachusetts, has been for many gen- 



erations identified with the life of this 
State. From the early Colonial period, in 
fact, Mr. Hawes' ancestors have resided 
at Wrentham, Massachusetts, where they 
settled about 1640, the first one to come 
to the New World having arrived in New 
England in 1635. 

(I) Edward Hawes, of Dedham, Mas- 
sachusetts, born probably about 1620, 
died in 1686. He married, April 15, 1648, 
Eliony Lombard, and their children 
were : Lydia, born January 26, 1649 ; 
Mary, November 4, 1650; Daniel, of 
whom further; Nathaniel, August 14, 
1660; Abigail, October 2, 1662; Joseph, 
August 9, 1664; and Deborah, September 
I, 1666. 

(II) Daniel Hawes, son of Edward 
Hawes, born February 10, 1653, died 
March 16, 1738. Mr. Hawes lived in 
Wrentham, Massachusetts, and followed 
the occupation of husbandman. He mar- 
ried (first), January 23, 1678, Abiel Gay, 
born April 23, 1649, daughter of John 
and Joanna Gay. She died June 17, 
1718, and he married (second) Bridget 
Hawes. Bridget Hawes married, April 
24, 1739, William Man. She died Jan- 
uary I, 1747. Daniel Hawes' children, 
born to the first marriage, were: Mary, 
born September 17, 1679; Abigail, No- 
vember 15, 1681 ; Daniel, of whom fur- 
ther ; Josiah, April 6, 1686; Hezekiah, 
November 22, 1688 ; Ruth, July 9, 1691 ; 
and Benjamin, March 14, 1696. 

(III) Daniel (2) Hawes, son of Daniel 
(i) Hawes, born March 30, 1684, married 
(first) December 20, 1710, Beriah Man, 
born March 30, 1687, daughter of Samuel 
and Esther (Ware) Man. She died Feb- 
ruary 28, 1734, and he married (second) 
December 2, 1734, Jane Ware, widow of 
Michael Ware, and a daughter of Jona- 
than and Elizabeth (Hawes) Wight. She 
was bom September 6, 1688, and died 
April 26, 1754. Mr. Hawes married 

.07 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(third) December ii, 1754, Hannah 
Fisher. He lived in Wrentham, Massa- 
chusetts. His death occurred January 
I5> 1763- The children of Daniel and 
Beriah Hawes were: Daniel, born Octo- 
ber 24, 1711; Samuel, January 7, 1713; 
Peletiah, October 8, 1714; Moses, August 
28, 1716; Aaron, of whom further; Icha- 
bod, September 12, 1720; Timothy, June 
21, 1722; Beriah (son), March 20, 1724; 
Josiah, March 20, 1724; Mary, February 
II, 1726; and Joseph, March 21, 1728. 

(IV) Aaron Hawes, son of Daniel (2) 
Hawes, born April 13, 1718, married, De- 
cember 19, 1759, Mary Snow, and among 
their children was James, of whom fur- 
ther. 

(V) Lieutenant James Hawes, son of 
Aaron Hawes, born January 21, 1761, 
married, February 12, 1788, Jemima Far- 
rington, and their children, of Wrentham 
town record, were : Cordelia, born Feb- 
ruary 12, 1789; Oliver Snow, of whom 
further; George, born August 22, 1793, 
and Edwin, born April 14, 1799. 

(VI) Oliver Snow Hawes, son of Lieu- 
tenant James Hawes, was born in Wren- 
tham, Massachusetts, June 2, 1791. His 
parents were very religious and he was 
baptized in childhood. The greater part 
of his schooling was received before he 
was ten years old, at which age he was 
sent to work on a farm, continuing thus 
until his sixteenth year. He then became 
apprenticed to the trade of wheelwright, 
in Boston, but after one year there went 
to Medway, where he spent four years, 
learning the machinist's trade. When he 
was twenty-one he removed to Thomas- 
ton, Maine, and finding work at his trade 
there was so industrious and thrifty that 
in the course of some two years he ac- 
cumulated a substantial little sum. Re- 
turning to the then developing manufac- 
turing locality of Waltham, Massachu- 
setts, he remained there some six or seven 



years, gaining the experience and form- 
ing the acquaintances which proved to be 
the basis of his successful career. In 
1 82 1, during his residence in Waltham, 
the old original Troy mill on the dam 
(near the site occupied by the present 
Troy mill) in Fall River, was burned, 
and by a rather singular coincidence Mr. 
Hawes and three of his fellow workmen 
from Waltham, Mr. Harris, Mr. Brownell 
and Mr. Fillebrown, started together on 
an expedition from Waltham to Fall 
River to secure the job of constructing 
the machinery that was to equip the mill 
to be erected in the place of the one 
destroyed. On the same day Oliver Chace 
and Nathaniel Wheeler, owner and agent 
of the mill, set out for Waltham to look 
after the construction of the machinery, 
and these parties met and spent the night 
together at Taunton. When it became 
known that all were bent on the same 
errand an arrangement was speedily 
entered into, and the machine shop enter- 
prise of Fall River conducted under the 
name of Harris, Hawes & Company thus 
originated. The machinery of the old 
Troy factory was constructed by them. 
They were the first to practice the cus- 
tom of paying cash to their employees 
instead of barter, a custom which caused 
considerable annoyance to those who had 
been accustomed to paying ofif their help 
from their stores — then the general prac- 
tice, but soon afterward entirely abol- 
ished. 

Mr. Hawes continued to reside at Fall 
River from that time, a period of over 
thirty-five years, during which he made 
a record of enterprise and successful 
endeavor in spite of many vicissitudes 
and chances. He was identified with the 
development of nearly every movement 
which characterized and distinguished the 
place, which is saying a great deal, for Fall 
River passed through a notable period of 
08 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



her advancement at that time. After the 
death of one of his early partners, and the 
removal of another, Mr. Hawes carried 
on the business on his own account for 
a year or two until the organization of 
the firm of O. S. Hawes & Company, con- 
sisting of himself, William Marvel and 
Joseph Rice. In the year 1839 this name 
was changed to Hawes, Marvel & Davol, 
a skillful designer and inventor being 
William C. Davol, who had previously 
been superintendent of the Troy Mill. 
This association lasted until Mr. Hawes' 
death. After that event the firm became 
Marvel, Davol & Company, which was 
the style when it was absorbed in 1879 
by the Fall River Iron Works. 

In his day Mr. Hawes was one of the 
leading business men of Fall River, 
where he had the reputation of being a 
most able financier as well as a practical 
machinist and a man of unusual execu- 
tive powers. He was a man of very 
large physique and had a commanding 
presence, all of which contributed to the 
impression he made wherever he was 
known. He became connected with other 
important enterprises in the city besides 
the one mentioned, and was one of the 
promoters of the American Linen Manu- 
facturing Company. "He was one of the 
bold, self-reliant, clear-minded, strong- 
willed, iron-nerved and unyielding men 
who laid the foundations and reared the 
superstructure of this thriving city, and his 
memory should and ever will be held 
sacred among the citizens. * * * He 
was a man of genial temper, with a large 
and kind heart, wishing everybody well 
and treating them well. He was gener- 
ous and constant in his attachments, a 
kind husband, and an indulgent father 
and good citizen." 

Mr. Hawes married (first) at Wal- 
tham, Mary (Polly) Dean, who died 
there. She was the mother of two chil- 



dren, both of whom died young. On 
July 21, 1828, he married (second) Pati- 
ence Borden Cook, a native of Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, who survived him, dying 
January 11, 1867. To this union were 
born ten children, four of whom died in 
infancy, those who reached maturity 
being James M., William M., Jane F. 
(who died unmarried), George H., Eliza- 
beth S. (who died unmarried) and Oliver 
F. Of these James M. Hawes resided 
the greater part of his life at Delaware, 
Ohio, where he was engaged in the jute 
manufacturing business, but he later 
moved to Fall River, where he died. He 
married Matilda H. Haven, and they had 
two daughters, Mary K. (who married 
Edward L. Anthony) and Elizabeth S. 
(who is librarian of the children's depart- 
ment of the Fall River public library). 
Another of the sons, Oliver F. Hawes, 
died in Brooklyn, New York, which place 
had been his home for a number of years ; 
he married Fanny Earl, but they left no 
children. 

(VII) William M. Hawes, son of 
Oliver Snow Hawes, was born in Fall 
River, March i, 1833, and spent his entire 
life in his native place. After attending 
the public schools he entered early in his 
teens the machine shop of Hawes, Mar- 
vel & Davol, where he learned the trade 
of machinist, remaining in that establish- 
ment until 1857. At that time he began 
the manufacture of machinery on his 
own account, as a member of the firm of 
William M. Hawes & Company, which a 
few years later became the Hawes Ma- 
chine Company. In time he became en- 
gaged in the machinery brokerage busi- 
ness, buying and selling all kinds of ma- 
chinery, and so continued to the end of 
his active life, disposing of his interests 
in this line in August, 1892, when he 
retired. 

Not content with being merely a suc- 

109 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



cessful business man, Mr. Hawes took an 
interest in various other matters, serving 
his city as member of the Common Coun- 
cil in 1861-63 and in 1880-81, and being 
president of that body in 1880; he was 
also at one time a member of the Board 
of Water Commissioners. In political 
sentiment he was originally a Whig, later 
becoming a Republican. From the time 
of his boyhood he was a member of the 
First Congregational Church and took an 
active interest in its affairs. He served 
as superintendent of the Sunday school 
for many years. He was one of the 
founders and first officers of the Young 
Men's Christian Association, and of the 
Children's Friend Society, which latter 
was eventually consolidated with the 
Orphan's Home, under the title of the 
Children's Home, now one of the most 
prosperous. His support of all these in- 
stitutions and similar enterprises was 
constant and liberal. Nothing could bet- 
ter illustrate his sense of responsibility 
toward his fellows than his generosity to 
all worthy benevolent projects and his 
interest in their promotion. He died Feb- 
ruary 16, 1898, and was buried in Oak 
Grove Cemetery. 

On May 5, 1858, Mr. Hawes married 
in North Berwick, Maine, Louisa Buf- 
fum, who was born there February 6, 
1838, daughter of Cyrus and Lydia 
(Estes) Bufifum, the father born in North 
Berwick, Maine, the mother in Sandwich, 
New Hampshire. They were members of 
the Society of Friends. This branch of 
the Bufifum family has been resident in 
North Berwick for six generations, and 
the house in which Mrs. Hawes was born 
is still in the family, though built in 1764 
by her great-grandfather. Six children 
were born to William M. and Louisa 
(BufJum) Hawes: Oliver Snow, of 
whom further; William BuiTum, born 
November 20, 1862, is a member of the 



firm of Oliver S. Hawes & Brother (he is 
unmarried) ; Jennie, born March 5, 1868, 
died November 23, 1879; Edward, born 
August 27, 1869, died August 29, 1869; 
Louise Bufifum, born May 21, 1871, is the 
wife of Willard H. Poole, of Fall River, 
and has two children : (Phebe, born 
March 23, 1899, and Hulda, born July 13, 
1904) ; and Edith Kingsley, born Sep^ 
tember 5, 1882, wife of Harold R. Barker, 
of Fall River. 

(VIII) Oliver Snow (2) Hawes, eldest 
child of William M. and Louisa (Bufifum) 
Hawes, was born May 17, i860, at his 
father's home in Fall River. He enjoyed 
average educational opportunities, attend- 
ing the local public schools, and after a 
partial course in the Fall River High 
School, commenced his business career. 
His first work was as an employee of 
the Clyde Steamship Company, where he 
secured a clerical position in the office 
and where he remained for some three 
years, but soon became greatly interested 
in the subjct of electricity and the appli- 
cation of this mysterious force to the 
practical problems of life. He devoted 
himself during such spare hours as he 
could to the study of this, his favorite 
subject, and after some eighteen months 
as an apprentice electrical workman, he 
became a local contractor in electrical 
work for the Edison Company and con- 
tinued to engage therein until the month 
of September, 1885. In the meantime, 
however, the great opportunities await- 
ing men of enterprise in the cotton busi- 
ness appealed to him, and at the time 
above mentioned he established his pres- 
ent business as a cotton yarn broker in 
Fall River. He continued by himself in 
this line until the year 1888 and then ad- 
mitted his brother, William B. Hawes, 
into partnership with him, since which 
time the business has been conducted 
under the style of O. S. Hawes & Brother. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



The event has proven the wisdom of Mr. 
Hawes' judgment and his interests in 
this line have increased greatly so that 
he is now a prominent figure in the indus- 
trial world of the region. He has become 
associated with a large number of manu- 
facturing concerns in prominent capaci- 
ties, and has done much to develop this 
particular industry in Fall River and the 
surrounding country. He is the presi- 
dent of the American Linen Company 
and a director of the King Philip Mills, 
the Troy Cotton & Woolen Manufactory 
and other similar concerns. Mr. Hawes 
has also interested himself in many other 
enterprises in and about the city, and is 
a director of the Fall River Electric Light 
Company, president of the Fall River Na- 
tional Bank and a member of the Board 
of Investment of the Five Cent Savings 
Bank of Fall River. At the present time 
there are few men better known in the 
business world of the city than he, few 
that exert so strong an influence upon 
the progress of industrial and commercial 
events and few who use their influence 
so disinterestedly and for what they be- 
lieve the best good of the community. 

Oliver Snow Hawes was united in mar- 
riage, November i8, 1886, at Fall River, 
Massachusetts, with Mary E. Tripp, a 
native of this city, born September 27, 
1861, a daughter of the late Azariah S. 
Tripp, who for many years was a prom- 
inent banker here. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Hawes the following children have been 
born: Richard Kingsley, July 21, 1888; 
Lieutenant Lincoln Tripp, March 18, 1895, 
now in France with the U. S. army, 
and Oliver Snow, Jr., and Philip Tripp 
(twins), born July 4, 1897. Richard 
Kingsley Hawes graduated from Yale 
University with the class of 1910, from 
the Harvard Law School in 1913, and is 
now a practicing attorney at Fall River, 
Massachusetts, being a member of the 



law firm of Borden, Kenyon & Hawes. 
He married, November 5, 1914, Gene- 
vieve Chase, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Simeon Borden Chase, of Fall River, and 
has one child, Richard Kingsley, Jr., born 
April 14, 1916. 



BEATTIE, Roy Hamilton, 

Contractor, Public Official. 

The name of Beattie or Beatty has 
been borne from very remote times by 
a distinguished Scottish family, which, 
during the many centuries in which it has 
flourished, has spread itself very gener- 
ally, not only over that northern king- 
dom, but over the remainder of the Brit- 
ish Isles as well. The Beattie coat-of- 
arms is as follows : 

Arms — Sable, a chevron between three goats 
passant argent attired or, each charged with two 
pellets gules, on a chief of the third a demi-wood- 
man holding in his right hand a club between two 
cinquefoils all of the fourth. 

Crest — A stork with a fish in its beak, all 
proper. 

The members of the Beattie or Beatty 
family trace their descent from one Geof- 
frey or Jeflfrey, an early prince of Scot- 
land who, according to tradition, was 
himself descended from Heremon, the 
first King of Ireland. This Geoffrey was 
hiinself in Ireland and fought with the 
famous chief, Brian Boru, at the battle 
of Clontarf, in the year 1014, Anno 
Domini. While it is, of course, impos- 
sible to trace all the many branches of 
the Beatty or Beattie family in an un- 
broken line back to this parent stock, 
there is, nevertheless, every reason to 
believe that such a relationship actually 
exists between them and that there was 
in the first place only one family to bear 
this name. And there have been many 
individuals who have borne it with great 
distinction throughout the centuries, but 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



none more worthily and with a fairer re- 
nown than Admiral Sir David Beatty in 
the present day, who is now the officer in 
command of his Majesty's High Seas 
Fleet. One of the lines of the Beattie 
family was represented in the early part 
of the nineteenth century in the city of 
Edinburgh, Scotland, by one John Beat- 
tie, a direct descendant of the distin- 
guished Beatty family of Esdale Moore 
in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, whose ances- 
try can be tracked back to the original 
progenitor. He was a stone mason and 
contractor, at first in Edinburgh and later 
in Halifax, Nova Scotia, to which place 
he came in the year 1828. He was a 
man of unusual ability and was con- 
nected with many large engineering 
works, which involve stone construc- 
tion. Among these was the famous 
Shubenacadie canal between Halifax and 
Pictou, Nova Scotia, in which he was the 
contractor. He married Catherine Tate 
Richardson, like himself a native of Scot- 
land, where she was born in the town of 
Haddington. They were the parents of 
three children, as follows : John George, 
born in Scotland in 1822 ; William, men- 
tioned below; and a daughter Chris- 
tiana. 

William Beattie, second son of John 
and Catherine Tate (Richardson) Beat- 
tie, was born October 4, 1829, at his 
father's home in Halifax. His brother, 
John G. Beattie, engaged in business as 
a quarryman and contractor on Leete 
Island, at Guilford, and as William Beat- 
tie grew to manhood, he also followed in 
the footsteps of his father and brother, 
and became a quarryman and stone con- 
tractor. He removed as a young man to 
Southern Massachusetts and eventually 
settled in the city of Fall River, where he 
carried on a most successful business in 
this line. William Beattie married Mary 
Hamilton, a native of the North of Eng- 



land, and a daughter of Thomas Hamil- 
ton, who came to this country and 
brought her with him when she was but 
two years old. Her father was a member 
of the famous old Hamilton family, which 
is one of the most distinguished in the 
history of Scotland, and at one time came 
very near to royalty itself. The name is 
derived from Hambleton Manor in Buck- 
inghamshire, and originally was thus 
spelled. It is said that the place name in 
turn was derived from the old Anglo- 
Saxon words, "Hamell," meaning a man- 
sion or family seat, and "Dun," an 
enclosed or fortified place. The ancient 
arms of the Hamilton family are as fol- 
lows : 

Arms — Quarterly one and four, gules three 
cinquefoils ermine; two and three argent a 
lymphad with her sails furled sable. 

Crest — Out of a ducal coronet or an oak tree 
proper, fructed or and penetrated transversely in 
the main stem by a frame saw proper, the frame 
or and the blade inscribed with the word 
"through." 

Motto— Through. 

To William and Mary (Hamilton) 
Beattie the following children were born : 
David, who is now a member of the firm 
of Beattie & Wilcox, of Fall River; Wil- 
liam Henry, now of the firm of Beattie & 
Cornell, of Fall River ; and Roy Hamil- 
ton, with whose career we are here espe- 
cially concerned. 

Roy Hamilton Beattie, born December 
4, 1870, at Fall River, Massachusetts, was 
the third and youngest son of William 
and Mary (Hamilton) Beattie. He has 
made his native city his permanent home 
throughout life, and is now regarded as 
one of the most successful and public- 
spirited citizens in the place. His educa- 
tion was received at the local public 
schools of Fall River, and he afterwards 
attended the Bradford Matthew Chaloner 
Durfee High School, from which he was 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



graduated in the year iS88, and entered 
Phillips Exeter Academy, from which he 
graduated. Later he entered the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology in Bos- 
ton, taking the civil engineering course, 
and was graduated from this institution 
with the class of 1893. He had decided 
to take up the same business that his 
father and grandfather had followed 
before him, and with which most of the 
Beatties had been associated for a num- 
ber of generations. Upon completing his 
studies, accordingly, he entered his fath- 
er's establishment, and had his early 
training in the practical work of building 
sea walls. Eventually he embarked in 
the same business on his own account, 
and rapidly made for himself a place 
among the contractors and business men 
of Fall River, until he is now regarded as 
among the most successful and able there. 
Much of his most important work has 
been in connection with harbor improve- 
ments. In 1900 he incorporated his busi- 
ness under the firm name of Roy H. Beat- 
tie, Inc. He has carried on government, 
municipal and private contracts of great 
size and importance, and is considered 
one of the most capable and successful 
men now in this line of work. He is also 
a director of the Metacomet Bank, and is 
an influential figure in the financial cir- 
cles of this region. 

Mr. Beattie has turned his knowledge 
and experience to the use of the commun- 
ity in other ways than by the actual con- 
struction of engineering works, and has 
served as bridge commissioner of Rhode 
Island for one year, and was president of 
the Tiverton Town Council for two 
years. In politics he is an Independent 
Republican, and although quite unambi- 
tious of political preferment, is keenly 
interested in the public affairs of the 
community, taking a leading part in their 
direction. He is also a conspicuous figure 

Mass— 8— 8 I 



in social and club circles of the city, and 
is a member of the Quequechan, Mian- 
tonomoh, Squantum, Country and St. 
Anthony clubs. He is also a member of 
the American Society of Civil Engineers. 
In his religious belief, Mr. Beattie is an 
Episcopalian and attends the Holy Trin- 
ity Church of that denomination at Tiv- 
erton, Rhode Island, where he resides. 

Roy Hamilton Beattie was united in 
marriage, December 2, 1896, at Dubuque, 
Iowa, with Helen Burch, a native of that 
city, born in 1875, a daughter of George 
B. and Ellen (Merrill) Burch, old and 
highly respected residents of Dubuque, 
of which Mr. Burch was mayor for a 
time. To Mr. and Mrs. Beattie four chil- 
dren have been born, as follows : Hamil- 
ton, born March 16, 1899; Malcolm 
Burch, born July 3, 1900; Helen, born 
May 29, 1904; and Alan Sinclair, born 
December 18, 1905. 



BLANCHETTE, William Henry, M. D., 

Physician. 

Dr. Blanchette has been established in 
the practice of medicine at Fall River 
since May, 1896, is a member of the staff 
of the Union Hospital, and has proven 
himself a skillful healer, a good citizen 
and a friend of progress. He is descended 
from an ancient French-Canadian family, 
and is a grandson of Valentine Blanch- 
ette, who was born in Southbridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was a farmer, and 
died from the effects of injuries received 
in falling ofif a load of wood. He was 
the father of Alexander Blanchette, a car- 
penter and builder, who resided in Woon- 
socket, Rhode Island, and Fall River, 
Massachusetts, and died August 10, 1900. 
He married Mattie Gordon, the daughter 
of an iron moulder of Woonsocket. She 
survived her husband more than five 
years, and died September i, 1905. 

13 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. William Henry Blanchette, son of 
Alexander and Mattie (Gordon) Blanch- 
ette, was born February 9, 1874, in Woon- 
socket, and removed with his parents to 
Fall River, where he attended the public 
schools. After five years in a classical 
school at Montreal, Canada, where he 
received also military training, he at- 
tended McGill University of Montreal 
one year. Subsequently he spent three 
years in the University of Maryland, 
where he served as a hospital interne, 
and received his degree of M. D. Imme- 
diately after graduating, in May, 1896, 
at the age of twenty-two years, he en- 
gaged in practice at Fall River, where he 
has continued to the present time, and 
has served on the staffs of the Fall River 
Hospital, City Hospital, Union and St. 
Ann's hospitals. Dr. Blanchette's suc- 
cess has warranted him in taking an 
interest in business afifairs, and he is now 
a director of the People's Co-Operative 
Bank of Fall River. While he is a 
devoted physician, giving constant study 
and care to the progress made in the heal- 
ing art, he takes an interest in the prog- 
ress of practical afifairs about him, acts 
in political movements with the Republi- 
can party, and endeavors to promote good 
government and all undertakings for the 
promotion of the general welfare. He 
is associated with numerous social and 
fraternal organizations, being a member 
of the Canadian Club of Boston, the Calu- 
met Club, Laureate Club, LaFayette 
Club, Jacques Cartier Club of Fall River, 
and the Union of St. John of America. 
He is also affiliated with numerous medi- 
cal associations, including the Union Med- 
ical Society, Baltimore Medical Society, 
Fall River Medical Society, the Amer- 
ican Medical Association, and the Massa- 
chusetts Medical Society. He is a commun- 
icant of St. Matthew's Roman Catholic 
Church, in whose work he is an active 
factor. 



Dr. Blanchette was married, August 
31, 1913, in Fall River, to Eva W. Hyde, 

a native of that city, daughter of 

Hyde, superintendent of the Provident 
Loan and Insurance Company. 



HICKSON, Charles Augustus, 
Business Man. 

Charles A. Hickson, treasurer of the 
Planet Manufacturing Company of West- 
field, one of the leading citizens of West- 
field in business circles, and in social life, 
is a son of George J. Hickson, who was 
born in Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland, 
December 25, i860, and there remained 
until he was about eighteen years of age, 
when he came to the United States, unac- 
companied, joining his brothers and sis- 
ter in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, 
they having previously emigrated. He 
remained there for a few months, then 
removed to Westfield and there learned 
the trade of moulder with the H. B. 
Smith Company, and this line of work 
he followed throughout the active years 
of his life, being all that period in the 
employ of this one company, a most un- 
usual record and one that testified to his 
efficiency and thoroughness in the per- 
formance of duty. He was a man who 
had always enjoyed robust health and 
was active to the day of his death, start- 
ing to work as usual that day, but being 
taken with an attack of heart failure, his 
death ensued in one hour. He was the 
oldest employee in point of service at the 
north-side foundry of the H. B. Smith 
Company, a most conscientious worker. 
He married, at Westfield, in 1881, Anna 
English, born in Ireland, in 1861, and 
their children, born in Westfield, are as 
follows: I. Mary, who became the wife 
of Frank Blair, now deceased ; she 
resides with her mother. 2. Anna, became 
the wife of Benjamin Day; resides in 
Hartford, Connecticut. 3. George T. H., 

14 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



member of the police force of Westfield, 
and resides there ; married Nora Lynch. 
4. Charles Augustus, of whom further. 
The family are members of St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church. The death of 
Mr. Hickson occurred in Westfield, July 
12, 1916, and in addition to his widow 
and children, above mentioned, he was 
survived by a sister, Mrs. Thomas Mur- 
phy, of Chicopee Falls, and two brothers, 
Samuel Hickson, of Chicopee Falls, and 
John Hickson, of London, England. 

Charles A. Hickson was born in West- 
field, Massachusetts, February 8, 1883. 
He gained a practical education by at- 
tendance at the public schools of West- 
field, including the High School, pursued 
a commercial course, graduating in 1900. 
He began his active business career as 
bookkeeper and office manager of the 
Planet Manufacturing Company, mas- 
tered the details of the business from a 
manufacturing and financial standpoint, 
and made himself an extremely useful 
and valuable adjunct to the working force 
of the company. This company was re- 
organized in 1905, at which time Mr. 
Hickson was made manager and super- 
intendent of manufacturing, also treas- 
urer of the corporation. The company 
manufacture a line of canvas specialties 
for outing and camping purposes — for 
automobiles — consisting of waterproof 
folding pails, lunch baskets, also game 
baskets, emergency folding pails, etc. In 
addition to these they also make some 
leather specialties for liverymen. Under 
the capable management of Mr. Hickson, 
the business has increased to an appreci- 
able extent, the line has been greatly 
enlarged and improved, and the factory 
equipment has been added to, making it 
a model plant, and a general progressive 
policy has been followed with good 
results. Since attaining his majority Mr. 
Hickson has taken an active interest in 



politics, giving his allegiance to the 
Democratic party, but has held no elec- 
tive office, although he served as a mem- 
ber of the Democratic town committee 
for ten years, and as a member of the 
Board of Registrars, and on the play- 
ground commission. He takes a special 
interest in the cause of temperance, being 
a member and treasurer of The Father 
Mathew Temperance Society, and active 
in the work performed by it for the sav- 
ing of boys and young men, working 
largely in connection with the court pro- 
bation officer, and is well known and 
highly esteemed by social workers. He 
also holds membership in the Knights of 
Columbus, of which he was grand knight 
in 1916, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, 
the Improved Order of Red Men, the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians, and the 
Never Worry Club, a local social organi- 
zation. 

Mr. Hickson married, June 5, 1907, 
Mary Crane, born in Huntington, Massa- 
chusets, May 20, 1884, daughter of John 
F. and Mary (Powers) Crane, who are 
the parents of three other children, 
namely: William, who is serving in the 
United States army at Panama ; Alice 
and Clara. The family reside in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts ; in early life Mr. 
Crane was engaged in the making of 
paper, but at the present time (1917) is 
engaged in the provision business in 
Westfield. Mr. and Mrs. Hickson are 
the parents of two sons : Edward Charles, 
born February 5, 1909, and Howard Fran- 
cis, born September 9, 191 1. The family 
are communicants of St. Mary's Roman 
Catholic Church. 



SLADE, Abbott Everett, 

Business Man. 



The name Slade has an interesting 
origin. Its meaning as a common noun is 



"5 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



"a small strip of green plain within a 
woodland." One of the rhymes about 
Robin Hood runs: 

It had been better of William a Trent 
To have been abed with sorrowe, 

Than to be that day in greenwood slade 
To meet with Little John's arrowe. 

In England we have the de la Slades 
of the Hundred Rolls. The word is seen 
in many compounds like : Robert de 
Greneslade (of the greenslades) ; Wil- 
liam de la Morslade (the moorland- 
slade) ; Michael de Ocslade (theOakslade). 
Sladen, that is slade-den, implies a wood- 
land hollow. The name Slade in this 
country has sometimes been written Sled 
and Sleed. During the period which has 
witnessed the growth and development 
of the city of Fall River as an industrial 
center, the name of Slade has been prom- 
inently identified with its affairs. 

(I) William Slade, founder of the fam- 
ily in this country, is said to have been 
born in Wales, and was the son of Ed- 
ward Slade. The family appears to. have 
been but temporarily located in Wales, 
as it was long identified with Somerset- 
shire, England. William Slade appears 
at Newport, Rhode Island, in 1659, when 
he was admitted a freeman of the colony, 
and became an early settler in the Shawo- 
met purchase, included in that part of 
Swansea, Massachusetts, which became 
the town of Somerset, in 1790. As early 
as 1680, when the first record book of the 
town begins, Mr. Slade was a resident of 
Swansea, and the meetings of the pro- 
prietors were held at his house after their 
discontinuance at Plymouth, in 1677. He 
was a large land holder, his domain in- 
cluding the ferry across Taunton river, 
which has ever been known as Slade's 
Ferry, and this ferry remained in posses- 
sion of the family until the river was 
bridged in 1876, at which time it was 



operated by William L. and Jonathan 
Slade. William Slade married Sarah, 
daughter of Rev. Obadiah Holmes, of Re- 
hoboth. Children: Mary, born May, 
1689; William, 1692; Edward, mentioned 
below ; Elizabeth, December 2, 1695 ; 
Hannah, July 15, 1697; Martha, Febru- 
ary 27, 1699; Sarah; Phebe, September 
25, 1701 ; Jonathan, August 3, 1703, died 
aged about eighteen ; Lydia, October 8, 
1706. 

(II) Edward Slade, second son of Wil- 
liam and Sarah (Holmes) Slade, was born 
June 14, 1694, in Swansea, and was a 
member of the Society of Friends. He 
married (first) in 1717, Elizabeth An- 
thony, who bore him one son, William, 
born September 25, 1718. He married 
(second) December 6, 1720, Phebe, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Sher- 
man) Chase, and (third) Deborah Buf- 
fam. Children of the second marriage: 
Samuel, born November 26, 1721 ; Eliza- 
beth, April 29, 1723; Joseph, November 
16, 1724; Sarah, February, 1726; by the 
third: Edward, mentioned below; Philip, 
April 19, 1730; Phebe, July 4, 1737; 
Mercy, 1744. 

(III) Edward (2) Slade, son of Ed- 
ward (i) and Deborah (Buffam) Slade, 
was born November 11, 1728, and mar- 
ried, June 4, 1756, Lydia Baker, his cou- 
sin, daughter of Ebenezer and Lydia 
(Slade) Baker. Children: Baker, men- 
tioned below ; John ; Edward ; Sarah ; 
Phebe. 

(IV) Baker Slade, eldest child of Ed- 
ward (2) and Lydia (Baker) Slade, born 
September 20, 1759, was a farmer of 
Somerset, and married, March 18, 1784, 
Hannah, daughter of Captain Mial and 
Hepsibeth (Mason) Pierce, of Swansea 
and Somerset. Children : Lydia, born 
April I, 1785; Edward, January 8, 1787; 
John, mentioned below ; Jonathan, Octo- 
ber 27, 1791 ; Mial, April 13, 1793; Eliza- 



116 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth, March 8, 1795; Philip, March 17, 
1797; Plannah, February 15, 1799; Sarah, 
April, 1801 ; Levi, August 29, 1804. 

(V) John Slade, second son of Baker 
and Hannah (Pierce) Slade, died at the 
early age of twenty-seven years. He was 
a farmer of Swansea, married Phebe 
Pierce, of the latter town, and had chil- 
dren : Pierce, John, mentioned below ; 
and Edmund. She married (second) 
Wing Eddy, by whom she had several 
children, and lived to an advanced age. 

(VI) John (2) Slade, second son of 
John (i) and Phebe (Pierce) Slade, was 
a farmer in Somerset, and married his 
cousin, Mary, daughter of Edward Slade. 
Both he and his wife died comparatively 
young, Mr. Slade when twenty-seven, and 
Mrs. Slade at the age of thirty-nine years. 
They had children : Winslow, who was 
lost at sea ; John Palmer, mentioned 
below; Edward and Mary (twins), died 
in infancy. 

(VII) John Palmer Slade, son of John 
(2) and Mary (Slade) Slade, was born 
November 13, 1824, in Somerset, and was 
but three years of age at the time of his 
father's death. He was fourteen years 
old when his mother died, and subse- 
quently made his home in the family of 
Captain Robert Gibbs, a farmer, of Som- 
erset. He had a fair opportunity for 
attendance at the common schools, and 
was a short time a student at Myer's 
Academy, in Warren, Rhode Island. His 
situation naturally developed in him a 
spirit of self-reliance, and this, no doubt, 
was responsible for much of his success 
in life. He was resourceful and inde- 
pendent, full of energy and perseverance, 
and rapidly acquired a reputation among 
his associates as a man of ability and 
worth. In 1841 he began his business 
career as clerk in a grocery and drug 
store, in Fail River, where he continued 
a little less than a year. He was subse- 



quently employed as clerk by his cousin, 
Mr. F. P. Cummings, who conducted a 
general merchandise and cotton business 
in the South and within a few months 
young Slade was admitted to partnership. 
After two years of this association, Mr. 
Slade purchased the interest of his part- 
ner, closed up the business, and returned 
to Fall River, where he thenceforward 
made his home, and where he attained a 
leading position as a business man. For 
a period of seven years, beginning previ- 
ous to 1850, he was clerk and afterward 
conductor in the employ of the Fall River 
Railroad Company, which was in time 
merged in the Old Colony Railroad Com- 
pany. From 1855 to 1858 Mr. Slade was 
clerk and salesman in the general com- 
mission establishment of Hale Reming- 
ton. In 1858 Mr. Slade embarked as a 
general commission merchant on his own 
account, and included insurance, meeting 
with continued success. After twenty- 
one years his son, Leonard N. Slade, 
became associated with him, under the 
firm name of John P. Slade & Son. With 
the development of the cotton manufac- 
turing industry in New England, Mr. 
Slade was intimately associated from the 
beginning. He was instrumental in the 
adaptation of the great water power at 
Fall River in furthering this industry. He 
was ever ready to support any promising 
enterprise that was likely to add to the 
progress of the town. He was one of the 
original subscribers to the Granite Mills 
Corporation in 1863, and its organization 
took place in his office, at which time he 
was made a director. Four years later, 
upon the organization of the Davol Mills, 
Mr. Slade became a director in that cor- 
poration, and five years later assisted in 
the establishment of the Shove Mills, of 
which he became a director and the first 
treasurer. From 1875 to 1880 he was 
president of this corporation. For a long 



117 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



period he was a director of the Weetamoe 
Mills, and from 1881 to the time of his 
death was president of the Laurel Lake 
Mills Corporation. His excellent busi- 
ness qualifications were made manifest in 
these great enterprises, where he showed 
marked executive ability. For more than 
forty-five years he was secretary of the 
Five Cents Savings Bank, and was its 
vice-president at the time of his death. 
This institution, beginning in a humble 
way, grew to be one of great importance 
to the city, and now carries deposits 
approximating' five million dollars in 
amount. Beginning with 1865, and con- 
tinuing until his death, Mr. Slade was a 
director of the Fall River National Bank, 
the oldest financial institution in the city. 
One year after the establishment of Fall 
River as a city (in 1855), Mr. Slade was 
a member of its Common Council, and 
from 1856 to 1857 he served as a member 
of the Board of Aldermen, having been 
elected as a Republican. He was again 
an alderman in i860, and in 1866-67 and 
1877-78 was again a member of the Com- 
mon Council. He was a charter member 
of King Philip Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; a member of Fall River Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Fall River 
Council, Royal and Select Masters, and 
a charter member of Godfrey de Bouillon 
Commandery, Knights Templar. He was 
a faithful member of the First Congrega- 
tional Parish, and died June 12, 1902, 
nearly seventy-eight years of age. He 
married (first) Sarah L., daughter of 
Martin and Mary Lewin, of Somerset, 
who died soon thereafter. He subse- 
quently married (second) Ruth Ann 
Gardner, daughter of Preserved S. and 
Ann Maria Gardner, of Swansea, and 
soon after her death he married (third) 
January 28, 1858, Lois A., daughter of 
Moses and Ruth B. (Slade) Buffington, 
of Swansea. Children of second mar- 



riage: Leonard N., born February 11, 
1852, married Emma F. Peckham ; Ab- 
bott E., mentioned below. Children by 
third marriage : Mary E., born Septem- 
ber 26, 1859; Benjamin, December 10, 
i860, died October 7, 1861 ; John Milton, 
June 12, 1864, died March 2^, 1868; Louis 
Palmer, March 14, 1873. 

(VIII) Abbott E. Slade, second son of 
John Palmer and Ruth Ann (Gardner) 
Slade, was born December 14, 1853, on 
Bank street. Fall River, and was edu- 
cated in the public schools of that town, 
where he prepared for entrance to the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
at Boston. He matriculated at that insti- 
tution in the fall of 1871, and continued 
the regular course of study of the insti- 
tute for three years, up to within one-half 
year of graduation, when a severe attack 
of typhoid fever made it seem inadvisable 
to continue his, studies. He then engaged 
in work as a civil engineer, being for 
about one year with two or three engi- 
neers of the city, and for a few months in 
the city engineer's office. From this em- 
ployment he went into the engineering 
department of the Fall River waterworks, 
being there part of the time employed as 
general service man. He then became 
clerk to the city treasurer, and continued 
thus until the fall of 1881, when he was 
elected treasurer of the Laurel Lake 
Mills, his father at that time being pres- 
ident of the company. With the excep- 
tion of two years, 1899 ^"<i 1900, he has 
continued in that position to the present 
time. During the two years, 1899-1900, 
he was engaged in the cotton brokerage 
business. Mr. Slade is a director of the 
Laurel Lake Mills. He has been a Re- 
publican in politics, but not active in 
such matters. He is a member of King 
Philip Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Fall River, of which he was sec- 
retary for a number of years ; of Fall 



1x8 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



River Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of 
Fall River Council, Royal and Select 
Masters, and of Godfrey de Bouillon 
Commandery, Knights Templar, Fall 
River, of which he is a past commander. 
He is very prominent in the order, in 
which he has attained the thirty-second 
degree. He belongs to the First Con- 
gregational Church Society of Fall River. 
Mr. Slade married Cora Lynn Chase, 
daughter of George Dexter and Sarah 
Melonia Chase, of Providence (see Chase, 
IX). They have one son, Harold Chapin, 
born April 26, 1885, in Fall River. He 
graduated from Phillips Andover Acad- 
emy, 1904, and was a student at Harvard 
University, class of 1908; member of Pi 
Eta Society. For five years he was en- 
gaged in the cotton business in the South, 
now connected with the office of markets 
of the Agricultural Department at Wash- 
ington, D. C. He married Mary Venetia 
Mason, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, 
July 28, 1906, and they have one son, 
Abbott Whitney, bom May 26, 1908, in 
Cambridge. 

(The Chase Line). 

The surname Chase is derived from the 
French "chasser," to hunt, and the fam- 
ily has been prominent in England since 
the first use of surnames. The seat of 
the family in England was at Chesham, 
in Buckinghamshire, through which runs 
a rapidly flowing river called the Chess, 
whence the name of the town and per- 
haps also of the family. Thomas and 
Aquila Chase, brothers, whose English 
ancestry is traced to remote antiquity, 
are believed tO' be cousins of William 
Chase, mentioned below. 

(I) William Chase was born 1595, in 
England, and died May 4-13, 1659. He 
settled in Roxbury, Massachusetts, where 
he became a member of the First Church. 
The record of Rev. John Eliot, the Indian 



Apostle, and pastor of this church, has 
the following entry: "William Chase, he 
came with the first company in 1630; he 
brought one child, his son. He later had 
a daughter, which they named Mary, 
born about the middle of the 3rd month, 
1637, after which date he removed to 
Scituate, but went with a company who 
made a new plantation at Yarmouth." 
William Chase came in the ship which 
brought Governor Winthrop over, and in 
1634 he was made freeman at Boston ; in 
1639 he was constable at Yarmouth, Mas- 
sachusetts. His will was dated May 4, 
1659, and proved May 13, 1659, and the 
court ordered Robert Dennis to divide 
the estate as he ordered. Benjamin, his 
son, received two parts of three, and Wil- 
liam, eldest son, received the third part. 
In October, 1659, his widow Mary was 
found dead, and a coroner's inquest 
decided that she died a natural death. In 
1645 William Chase served against the 
Narragansett Indians. In 1643 his name 
as well as that of his son was on the list 
of males able to bear arms, between the 
ages of sixteen and sixty. In 1645 he 
was a drummer in Myles Standish's com- 
pany that went to the banks opposite 
Providence. Children : William, men- 
tioned below ; Mary, born May, 1637, in 
Roxbury, died young; Mary, 1639, in 
Yarmouth ; Benjamin, 1640. 

(II) William (2) Chase, son of Wil- 
liam (i) and Mary Chase, born about 
1622, in England, came to America with 
his parents and to Yarmouth in 1638. He 
died there February 27, 1685. His chil- 
dren, born in Yarmouth, were : William, 
mentioned below ; Jacob ; John ; Eliza- 
beth, married. May 27, 1674, Daniel 
Baker; Abraham; Joseph, married, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1694, Sarah, daughter of Samp- 
son Sherman ; Benjamin, married, Sep- 
tember 21, 1696, Amey Borden; Samuel, 



119 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married, 1699, Sarah Sherman, daughter 
of Samuel and Martha (Tripp) Sherman. 

(III) William (3) Chase, eldest child 
of William (2) Chase, born about 1645, 
married (first) Hannah, daughter of 
Philip and Sarah (Odding) Sherman, and 
(second) Priscilla Perry. His will was 
proved August 16, 1737. Children: Wil- 
liam, Eber, Isaac, Nathaniel, Joseph and 
Hezekiah. 

(IV) Isaac Chase, third son of Wil- 
liam (3) Chase, was a resident of Swan- 
sea, Massachusetts, died in 1760, and his 
will was proved April i of that year. He 
married (first) February 10, 1704, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John and Jane (Marks) 
Blethen, of Salem, Massachusetts, and 
(second) November 2, 1720, Mary, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Fowler. Children by 
first marriage : James, mentioned below ; 
Waitstill, born April 24, 1708; Isaac, May 
19, 1710; William, October 21, 1712. 
Children by second marriage : Ezekiel, 
Mary, Robert, David, Lydia, Susanna, 
Benjamin. 

(V) James Shade, eldest child of Isaac 
and Elizabeth (Blethen) Chase, was born 
February 12, 1706, in Swansea, and died 
April 20, 1782, in Middletown, Rhode 
Island, to which town he removed about 
1740. He married (first) May 11, 1727, 
Alice, daughter of William and Mary 
(Coggeshall) Anthony (see Anthony V). 
She died in March, 1762, in the fifty- 
seventh year of her age, and he married 
(second) June 30, 1763, Lydia, widow of 
Jonathan Thurston, she being formerly a 
Goddard. She died June 16, 1784. Chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, born March 20, 1728, in 
Swansea; Aaron, mentioned below ; Alice, 
October 8, 1732, in Freetown, Massachu- 
setts; Zaccheus, November 4, 1737; 
Mary, July 6, 1739; Daniel, 1741 ; James; 
Peter ; Paul ; Isaac. 

(VI) Aaron Chase, fourth son of James 
and Alice (Anthony) Chase, was a resi- 



dent of Portsmouth, Rhode Island. Dur- 
ing the War of the Revolution, while 
Rhode Island was occupied by the Brit- 
ish troops, Mr. Chase's family and others 
were driven back from their homes by the 
British soldiers, their houses and farm 
buildings burned and property destroyed. 
One of Mr. Chase's sons, a lad of only 
twelve or fourteen years, was killed. 
Aaron Chase married Elizabeth Perry, 
and had children ; Elizabeth, born De- 
cember 8, 1755; Darius, May 8, 1757; 
Daniel, mentioned below; Martha, Au- 
gust 2, 1760, died young; Alice, Septem- 
ber 19, 1762; Perry, January 23, 1764; 
Martha, September 11, 1765; Sarah, De- 
cember 7, 1767; Royal, October 9, 1769; 
Lydia, May 20, 1771 ; Ruth, October 7, 
1774; May, September 22, 1779. 

(VII) Daniel Chase, second son of 
Aaron and Elizabeth (Perry) Chase, was 
born February 2, 1759, and was a sub- 
stantial man and farmer of Portsmouth, 
prominently identified with the public 
affairs of his town and section. He rep- 
resented Portsmouth for fourteen years 
in the General Assembly of the State, 
where he was given the sobriquet of the 
"Quaker member." In 1805 he built a 
large brick mansion near the south end 
of the island. It was burned August 26, 
1909. Mr. Chase was an influential citi- 
zen, respected and esteemed by his many 
associates and acquaintances. He mar- 
ried (first) Hannah Lawton, born April 
15, 1759, in Portsmouth, daughter of 
Isaac and Mary Lawton ; and (second) 
Joanna Mott. Children by first wife: 
Hannah; Darius, born April 10, 1782; 
George, mentioned below; Sarah, Eliza- 
beth, Daniel, Mary, Ruth. 

(VIII) George Chase, second son of 
Daniel and Hannah (Lawton) Chase, 
was born March 31, 1784, in Portsmouth, 
died in Westerly, Rhode Island, at the 
home of his daughter, Sarah E. Nye, Jan- 

120 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



uary, 1873. He made his home on Pru- 
dence Island, where he engaged quite 
extensively in farming and stock raising, 
making a specialty of sheep. He made 
extensive improvements on his farm. He 
married Eunice Albro, born November 
24, 1790, in South Kingston, Rhode Island, 
died on Prudence Island, October 20, 
1848. Children : Sarah E., born April 7, 
1814, married, in 1855, Samuel R. Nye, of 
Westerly, Rhode Island ; Nicholas E., 
October 8, 1815 ; Harriet, November 9, 
1817; Abby Frances, February 13, 1820; 
Collins, November 25, 1824; George, Sep- 
tember 20, 1825, died young; Stephen D., 
October 3, 1827; George Dexter, men- 
tioned below ; Mary Eunice, March 30, 
1831, married Robinson Dennis, of See- 
konk, Massachusetts. 

(IX) George Dexter Chase, fifth son 
of George and Eunice (Albro) Chase, was 
born May 20, 1829, on Prudence Island, 
where he grew to manhood, and received 
his primary education. He also attended 
school in Greenwich, Rhode Island, and 
made farming his occupation, continuing 
for some time on Prudence Island, later 
removing to Seekonk. At the time of the 
publishment of his marriage bans, July, 
1854, he was described as a resident of 
Seekonk. He was married in Providence, 
by Rev. Albert G. Morton, July 23, 1854, 
to Sarah Melonia Blake, born July 14, 
1829, in Wrentham, Massachusetts. She 
died in Fall River, Massachusetts, May 
6, 1893. She was survived by her hus- 
band more than ten years. He died July 
26, 1903, at the home of his daughter, 
Mrs. A. E. Slade, and was buried in Oak 
Grove Cemetery of Fall River. There was 
but one child of this marriage. 

(X) Cora Lynn Chase, daughter of 
George Dexter and Sa'rah Melonia (Blake) 
Chase, was born at Seekonk, and edu- 
cated in public and private schools. In 
early life she was a teacher for some years 



at Somerset, Massachusets, and Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. She was married, 
June 5, 1884, to Abbott E. Slade, son of 
the late John Palmer Slade (see Slade 
VIII). She is the mother of one son, 
Harold Chapin Slade. Mrs. Slade is inter- 
ested in art and music, and takes a deep 
interest in the progress and prosperity of 
her home city. 

(The Anthony Line). 

(I) Dr. Francis Anthony was born in 
London, England, April 16, 1550. He 
was a very learned physician and chem- 
ist, according to the "Biographa Britan- 
nia," and was son of an eminent gold- 
smith of London, who had had a respon- 
sible position in the jewel office under 
Queen Elizabeth. About 1569 Francis 
Anthony entered Cambridge University, 
receiving the degree of Master of Arts in 
1574. He left Cambridge when forty 
years of age, and soon after began to pub- 
lish to the world the effects of his chemi- 
cal studies. In 1598 he sent abroad his 
first treatise concerning the excellency of 
a medicine drawn from gold. He began 
medical practice without a certificate 
from the College of Physicians, and in 
1600, after a half year of practice, was 
called before the president and censors of 
the college. For disregarding the injunc- 
tion from them to cease practice, he was 
fined five pounds and sent to prison, 
being released by a warrant of the Lord 
Chief Justice. He continued to practice 
and cured several distinguished persons, 
so that he was no longer interfered with, 
although proceedings were threatened. 
His practice consisted chiefly, if not en- 
tirely, in the prescription and sale of a 
secret remedy called Aurum Potable, or 
potable gold, and he made a fortune from 
the sale of this remedy. He was a man of 
fine character, very liberal to the poor, 
died in his seventy-fourth year, and was 
121 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



buried in the Church of St. Bartholomew, 
the Great, where a handsome monument 
was erected to his memory. No record of 
his first marriage appears, and he married 
(second) September 23, 1609, Elizabeth 
Lante, of Trinity Menaries, London, 
widow of Thomas Lante. Children of 
first wife: John, mentioned below; 
Charles ; Frances. 

(II) John Anthony, son of Dr. Francis 
Anthony, was born in 1585, and died in 
1655. In 1613 he was graduated from 
Pembroke College, Bachelor of Medicine ; 
Doctor of Medicine, 1619; was admitted 
licentiate of the College of Physicians of 
London, 1625; served in the civil war on 
the Parliamentary side as surgeon to Col- 
onel Sandays, was author of "The Com- 
fort of the Soul, laid down by way of 
Meditation." 

(III) John (2) Anthony, son of John 
(i) Anthony, was born in 1607, was a res- 
ident of the village of Hampstead, near 
London, and came to New England in the 
ship "Hercules," April 16, 1634. He was 
in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, September 
14, 1640, when he was made freeman. He 
was corporal of a military company, and 
May 25, 1655, was authorized to keep an 
ordinary in Portsmouth ; commissioner, 
1661 ; deputy in 1666-72. He married 
Susanna Potter, and both he and his wife 
died in 1675. Children: John, born 
1642; Susanna, 1644; Elizabeth, 1646; 
Joseph, 1648; Abraham, mentioned below. 

(IV) Abraham Anthony, youngest child 
of John (2) and Susanna (Potter) An- 
thony, was born 1650, and died October 
10, 1727. He was made freeman, 1672 ; 
deputy much of the time from 1703 to 
171 1, and in 1709-10 was speaker of the 
house. He married, December 26, 1671, 
Alice Woodell, born February 10, 1650, 
died 1734, daughter of William and Mary 
Woodell, of Portsmouth. Children: John, 
born November 7, 1672 ; Susanna and 



Mary (twins), August 29, 1674, both died 
young; William, mentioned below; Sus- 
anna, October 14, 1677; Mary and Amey 
(twins, Amey died young), January 2, 
1680; Abraham, April 21, 1682; Thomas, 
June 30, 1684; Alice and James (twins), 
January 22, 1686; Amey, June 30, 1688; 
Isaac, April 10, 1690; Jacob, November 

15- 1693- 

(V) William Anthony, second son of 
Abraham and Alice (Woodell) Anthony, 
was born October 31, 1675, and died De- 
cember 28, 1744. He was of Portsmouth, 
Rhode Island, and Swansea, Massachu- 
setts. He married, March 14, 1694, Mary 
Coggeshall, born September 18, 1675, died 
after 1739, daughter of John and Eliza- 
beth (Timberlake) Coggeshall, grand- 
daughter of Major John and Eliza- 
beth (Baulstone) Coggeshall, and great- 
granddaughter of John Coggeshall, who 
came from Essex, England. Children : 
William, born May 14, 1695 ; Abraham, 
September 25, 1696; Elizabeth, May 2, 
1698; Mary, December 8, 1699; John, 
September 12, 1702, died young; Alice, 
mentioned below; Ann, March 17, 1707; 
John and Amy (twins), November 16, 
1708; William, October 26, 1709; James, 
November 9, 1712; Job, April 10, 1714; 
Benjamin, June 10, 1716; Daniel, May 
19, 1720. 

(VI) Alice Anthony, third daughter of 
William and Mary (Coggeshall) An- 
thony, was born May 22, 1705, and be- 
came the wife of James Chase, of Middle- 
town (see Chase V). 



ALLARD, Joseph, M. D., 
Physician. 

Joseph Allard, M. D., one of the most 
successful and capable physicians in Fall 
River, Massachusetts, is the third in the 
direct line of his paternal ancestry to bear 
his name. His grandfather, Joseph Al- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lard, was a native of Chamblay, Canada, 
and of fine old French-Canadian stock. 
He left his native country and came to 
the United States while quite a young 
man, married, and it was here that his 
children were born. One of his sons, 
Joseph Allard, father of Dr. Joseph Al- 
lard, was born at Bourbonnais Grove, 
Illinois. He lived in many dififerent parts 
of the country during his life, and was 
an active and capable man. His brother, 
Simon Allard, served the Union as a sol- 
dier in the United States army during the 
Civil War and saw considerable active 
service therein. Joseph Allard married 
Adeline Berthiume, and they were the 
parents of twelve children, five of whom 
survive, namely : Joseph, of further men- 
tion ; Docite ; George, now resides at 
Sioux City, Iowa; Josephine, who resides 
in South Dakota ; and Appoline, who is 
married and resides in Chicago. 

Dr. Joseph Allard was born in the town 
of St. Anne, Illinois, March 8, 1856. After 
two years as clerk and student in medi- 
cine in St. Anne, he went to Indianapolis, 
Indiana, where he took a two years' 
course, then went to Montreal, Canada, 
and studied for the ministry at McGill 
University. He was ordained a Presby- 
terian minister in 1881, and having re- 
ceived an appointment as pastor he went 
to Quebec, where he remained for five 
years. At the expiration of that period 
of time he returned to the United States, 
changed his vocation to that of medicine, 
located in Fall River, Massachusetts, and 
for the following thirty-seven years en- 
gaged in the active practice of that pro- 
fession in that city. Dr. Allard is a man 
of wide interests and sympathies, and has 
always played an active part in the gen- 
eral life of the community, particularly 
in connection with politics, and he is a 
strong advocate of the principles and 
policies for which the Republican party 



stand. In his religious belief Dr. Allard 
is a Congregationalist, and was one of 
that group of men who were mainly in- 
strumental in securing the erection of 
the French Congregational Church in Fall 
River. This edifice is situated on Harri- 
son street, and the success with which 
its construction was carried out is due in 
a large measure to the efforts of Dr. and 
Mrs. Allard. 

Dr. Allard married (first) 1880, Mi- 
nerva Kertson, of New Brunswick, Can- 
ada, born in Grand Falls, Canada, and 
they were the parents of four children : 
Gertrude Mary, Maude, Karl and Ches- 
ter. Dr. Allard married (second) March 
23, 1913, Alcina Robilliard, born in New 
Market, New Hampshire, 1881, a daugh- 
ter of Maxim and Mary E. (Bellefleur) 
Robilliard, of New Hampshire and Fall 
River, Massachusetts, removing to the 
latter city in later life. He was a speeder 
tester, serving for many years in the 
Bealmont Mill, Fall River. 

Dr. Allard is a man in whom the pub- 
lic and private virtues are admirably bal- 
anced. He is regarded in the professional 
world, and in all his public relations, as 
one whose principles are above reproach 
and whose strict ideals of honor and jus- 
tice are applied to every detail of his pro- 
fessional conduct. It is not only in asso- 
ciation with his patients that these char- 
acteristics are displayed, but with all 
those with whom he comes in contact in 
his professional career and in every other 
department of life. His courtesy and un- 
failing concern for the welfare of all 
makes him a highly popular figure in 
every circle and has established the 
esteem in which he is held upon the firm- 
est kind of basis. In his private life these 
virtues have their analogues. A quiet 
and retiring character makes him a great 
lover of home and the domestic ties, and 
his never failing geniality endears him to 



123 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the members of his family and to the 
friends of whom he possesses so many. 
Dr. AUard is a man of great sagacity, 
quick perceptions, sound judgment, noble 
impulses and remarkable force. Of un- 
blemished reputation, he commands the 
respect and confidence of the entire com- 
munity. He devotes his life to a noble 
calling and is crowned with the choicest 
reward. The true physician, in the exer- 
cise of his beneficent calling, heeds neither 
nationality nor distinction of class. Alike 
to him are the prince and the pauper, and 
into both the palace and the hovel he 
comes as a messenger of hope and heal- 
ing. The acquisition is nothing to him 
save as a means of giving a material form 
and practical force to his projects for the 
uplifting of humanity. Many there are 
in the ranks of this illustratious profes- 
sion, to the honor of human nature be it 
said, to whom the above description 
would apply, but of none can it be said 
with greater truthfulness than of Dr. 
Allard. 



BRIEN, Theodore Robert, 

Manufacturer. 

When Thomas Brien, father of Theo- 
dore Robert Brien, of Westfield, came to 
this country from his native Ireland, a 
lad of seventeen years, he brought with 
him a knowledge of the manufacture of 
musical instruments gained with his 
uncle, Richard O'Reilly, at whose factory 
in Dublin all the Band League instru- 
ments of the long ago were made. The 
business, now in the hands of the fourth 
generation of the family, is still located 
in a factory standing on the old site, Nos. 
16-17 Wellington Quay, Dublin, and 
there musical instruments, famous for 
their tone and quality, are yet made. 
Thomas Brien was born in Dublin, in 
1830, and after leaving school entered 



this famous factory, and being a nephew 
of the proprietor as well as having a 
natural aptitude for that business, his 
advance was rapid and he acquired a 
knowledge and skill beyond his years. 
When he came to the United States he 
located in Cherry Valley, New York, 
where there was a factory making that 
now little known but once popular musi- 
cal instrument, the "Melodeon," which 
was superseded by the parlor organ. 
There he secured employment and turned 
to good account the skill he had acquired 
in the Dublin factory. His particular 
work was the important duty of voicing 
the reeds, the skillful performance of his 
department determining the quality and 
tone for the Melodeon, which was a wind 
instrument. 

After a few years he added to his ac- 
complishments cabinet making, and soon 
became an expert workman. For some 
time he was engaged in making fine fur- 
niture and cabinets under his own name 
and executed many pieces under special 
order. He was also a skilled carver and 
did wonderful work in that line, both in 
wood and ivory. During the Civil War 
he spent two years in the United States 
naval service on the gunboat, "Grand 
Gulf," a vessel used in conveying mail 
and passenger boats from Aspinwall 
(now Colon) a seaport of Panama, to 
New York City. After his return from 
the navy, he closed out his cabinet mak- 
ing business in Cherry Valley and estab- 
lished a hardware store there which he 
successfully conducted until his death in 
1877. He was an active Republican, and 
was postmaster at Cherry Valley for sev- 
eral years, his widow succeeding him in 
that office. He was a Presbyterian in 
religious faith, his sons all following the 
father's example in politics, religion and 
business, all working in the hardware 
store and for many years being engaged 



124 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in some form of the heating and ventil- 
ating business. 

Thomas Brien married, in 1855, at 
Cherry Valley, Elizabeth Young, born at 
Castle Derg in the north of Ireland, De- 
cember 22. 1839, who is now residing 
with her daughter, Jennie, in Dayton, 
Ohio. Elizabeth Young came to the 
United States a child of six years with 
her uncle, her parents having come over 
earlier, settling at Albany, New York. 
When still young she went to Cherry 
Valley in the family of a Presbyterian 
minister. There she met Thomas Brien 
whom she married when but sixteen. She 
had four sisters, only one now (1918) 
living in Albany, and a brother, James 
Young, who was a private in the Forty- 
fourth Regiment, New York Volunteer 
Infantry, known as "Ellsworth's Aven- 
gers." At the second battle of Bull Run, 
when the Union forces were falling back, 
the color bearer of the company was shot 
down. Mr. Young, already wounded, 
grasped the flag and waved it aloft only 
to be shot down the next moment, dying 
instantly. At the War Museum in the 
State Capital at Albany his heroic deed is 
recorded, and part of the uniform he wore 
on the fatal day, August 30, 1862, is 
there preserved. Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Young) Brien were the parents of five 
sons and two daughters : James T., born 
July, 1857, married, and resided at Hoo- 
sick Falls, New York ; Frederick S., born 
September, 1859, married, and resides at 
Cherry Valley, New York ; Theodore 
Robert, of further mention ; IVIary E., 
born March, 1864, married, and resides 
at Cherry Valley ; Louis J., born Febru- 
ary, 1867, married, and resides at Hart, 
Michigan; Jennie, born November, 1868, 
married, and resides at Dayton, Ohio ; 
William F., born March, 1870, married, 
and resides in Indianapolis, Indiana. 

Theodore Robert Brien was born at 



Cherry Valley, Otsego county. New 
York, November 27, 1862. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and remained 
at home until seventeen years of age ; 
employed in the hardware store with his 
father until the latter's death and with 
his elder brother until 1879, when he 
went to Hoosick Falls, New York, and 
there learned the moulder's trade. He 
followed that until 1886, when he aban- 
doned it and for eleven years was en- 
gaged in the insurance business. During 
that period an elder brother, James T. 
Brien, had conceived the idea of an 
improved heater along new lines, and 
together the brothers perfected the idea 
and evolved the Brien heater which they 
patented. In 1897 they began its manu- 
facture in Hoosick Falls, and were suc- 
cessful in introducing it to the trade and 
there continued until 1907. Theodore R. 
Brien then came to Westfield, and inter- 
esting local capital he organized the Brien 
Heater Company, Inc., and brought the 
business formerly conducted at Hoosick 
Falls to Westfield. The company has 
just completed, June 18, 1918, a hand- 
some new building, 50X200 feet, equipped 
with the latest appliances for manufac- 
turing the heater. Later the Bay State 
Foundry Company was incorporated to 
make the castings for the Brien Heater 
Company and to transact a general job- 
bing foundry business. These he con- 
tinues, both concerns having prospered, 
each in their special line. Mr. Brien is 
president of the Brien Heater Company, 
and secretary-treasurer of the Bay State 
Foundry Company, and under his capable 
executive and financial control both have 
attained high position in manufacturing 
and business circles. He is a Republican 
in politics, member of the town commit- 
tee. He is a member of Mt. Moriah 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and 
Evening Star Chapter, Royal Arch Ma- 



125 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sons, both of Westfield ; Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and past noble 
grand of this lodge; and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, of Hoosick 
Falls, New York ; also an attendant of 
the Baptist church, and member of the 
Westfield Club. 

Mr. Brien married, at Hoosick Falls, 
April 19, 1882, Mida M. Rising, born 
there February 22, 1858, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Isabelle (Allen) Rising. Wil- 
liam Rising, a machinist, was born at 
Buskirk Bridge, in 1835, and Isabelle 
Allen, born at Bennington, Vermont, 
resides with her daughter, Mida M., at 
Westfield. Mr. and Mrs. Brien are the 
parents of a daughter : Elsie R., born at 
Hoosick Falls, January 12, 1885, married, 
April 19, 191 1, William C. Waldron, for 
some years secretary-treasurer of the 
Brien Heater Company, now advertising 
manager with the William S. Merrill 
Company of Cincinnati, Ohio. They 
have a son, William C. (2) Waldron, born 
in July, 1915. 



SHEA, Michael Henry, M. D., 

Physician. 

There is a wealth of satisfaction in the 
contemplation of a duty well performed, 
and in reviewing his past, Dr. Michael 
Henry Shea can indulge himself to the 
limit, for he has reached the position he 
holds in the regard of his fellow men by 
a course of right living and adherence to 
the line of self-imposed duty. It was his 
ambition to become a physician, and to 
effect his purpose he entered the cotton 
mill employ after graduating from Holy 
Cross College, at Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, in 1886. During the ensuing six 
years every dollar was carefully con- 
served and added to the fund which was 
to carry him through medical college. He 
entered the College of Physicians and 



Surgeons at Baltimore, Maryland. Noth- 
ing could daunt him, and when finally all 
obstacles were surmounted and his M. D. 
secured, he returned to his native city, 
and among his friends of a lifetime, set- 
tled and practiced his healing art. That 
the years have brought him success and 
professional honor is a result which could 
have been prophesied by all who had 
knowledge of his peculiar fitness for the 
important position he fills in community 
life. 

Dr. Shea is a son of Patrick and Han- 
nah (Hanley) Shea, both born in Ireland, 
and both residents of Fall River many 
years prior to the death of Patrick Shea 
in 1887, his widow surviving him until 
1892. Patrick Shea was a saddler and 
harness maker, a Democrat in politics, and 
a member of the Roman Catholic church. 

Dr. Michael Henry Shea was born in 
Fall River, Massachusetts, August 18, 
1861. He attended the public school, 
completing the grammar grades, gradu- 
ating from the high school in the class of 
1883. He then entered Holy Cross Col- 
lege, Worcester, Massachusetts, gradu- 
ating with the degree of A. B. in 1886. 
While engaged as a cotton mill worker, 
he was in charge of a section of the Har- 
greaves Mill as overseer, under J. P. 
Bodge, who was superintendent, Seth 
Borden being treasurer. The savings of 
those years were sacred to one purpose, 
the financing of a medical school educa- 
tion ; and in 1896 he matriculated at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons, Bal- 
timore. He thoroughly prepared for the 
profession he was to follow, took special, 
as well as regular courses of study, re- 
mained four years, and in 1900 was 
awarded his M. D. with the graduating 
class of that year. 

After graduation he returned to Fall 
River, and after a short term in hospital 
work began private practice. Eighteen 



126 





^^ 




iy 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years have since intervened and he now 
occupies an established position in pub- 
lic regard. His practice is large and he 
ranks as one of the city's skilled, success- 
ful and honorable physicians. Profes- 
sional honor and material prosperity are 
his reward for the years he spent in prep- 
aration, and to this must be added the 
love and respect of many personal friends. 
He is a member of the medical societies, 
the Cathedral Parish of the Roman Cath- 
olic Church, and in politics he is a Demo- 
crat. Dr. Shea was a member of the 
Common Council of Fall River for the 
year 1892. 

Dr. Shea married, in 1907, Ann Fran- 
ces White, who died at Fall River, March 
4, 191 1, daughter of Walter and Ann 
White. 



COVEL, Thomas Dennis, 

Business Man, Financier. 

Thomas Dennis Covel is a member of 
one of those old families which have 
played a part in New England aflfairs 
from the early Colonial period down to 
the present day, and whose members 
throughout the whole of this long time 
have always stood for what is best in 
American citizenship. The name is 
found spelled in England in many ways, 
and we have it in America as Covel, 
Covell, Covelle, and Cowell, the immi- 
grant ancestor having spelled his name 
in the latter manner. It is found on the 
famous Battle Abbey Roll of William the 
Conqueror as De Covelle, and a Thomas 
Covell was coroner and keeper of the 
castle of Lancaster, England, and elected 
mayor of that city six times. The Covell 
Cross still stands in the City Square of 
Lancaster. We find the name, however, 
in America in its present form, even at 
the earliest period, and among those who 
bore it was Nathaniel Covel, of Chatham, 



Barnstable county, Massachusetts, where 
he was living in 1667, and who married a 
daughter of William Nickerson. It was 
in this town also that one John Covel was 
chosen schoolmaster in June, 1723. There 
was also a Nathaniel Covel, the son of 
the latter and his wife, Thankful (Bangs) 
Covel, who resided in the same locality. 

(I) Captain Edward Cowell was liv- 
ing in Boston as early as 1645, where he 
was engaged in business as a cordwainer. 
He was a participant in King Philip's 
W^ar, and was in command of a squad or 
company of eighteen men which, in 
April, 1675, were surprised en route from 
Marlboro to Boston, when some three 
miles from Sudbury, by the Indians and 
four of them killed. From the early rec- 
ords it appears that the English had no 
suspicion of the great number of Indians 
that had gathered about Sudbury or, 
indeed, that there were any in the vicin- 
ity until the morning of April 21, when 
several deserted houses were burned. In 
the fight which followed a large number 
of Europeans met their death, but still 
greater numbers of the Indians were 
slain and the fight turned out to the 
advantage of the settlers. Edward Co- 
well and his wife Margaret, of whom we 
do not know the maiden name, were the 
parents of the following children : John ; 
Joseph, mentioned below ; Elizabeth, 
born August 17, 1653 ; and William, born 
June 28, 1655. After the death of his 
first wife, Edward Cowell married in 
Hingham, June 25, 1668, Sarah Hobart, 
a daughter of Captain Joshua and Ellen 
(Ibrook) Hobart, of that place, where 
she was born November 19, 1644. Oi this 
second union two children were born, 
Sarah, April 2, 1669, and Edward, August 
12, 1672. 

(II) Joseph Cowell, or Covel, son of 
Captain Edward Cowell, was a cooper of 
Boston. He married (first) about 1673, 



127 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mary, daughter of Richard Carter, and 
widow of WilHam Hunter. Later he 
married (second) Alice Palmer. 

(III) Joseph (2) Covel, son of Joseph 
(i) Cowell, or Covel, was born in 1694, and 
died in 1733. He was of Chatham, Mas- 
sachusetts, and Killingly, Connecticut. 
The Christian name of his wife was 
Hannah. 

(IV) Ebenezer Covel, son of Joseph 
(2) and Hannah Covel, born November 
7, 1727, was a resident of the eastern part 
of Killingly, Connecticut. The Christian 
name of his wife was Martha. He died 
August 23, 1805, and she June 20, 1803. 
Their children were : Samuel, mentioned 
below; Sampson, born April 4, 1754; 
Mary, September 15, 1756; Ebenezer, 
January 11, 1759; Tamar, March 8, 1761 ; 
Keziah, November 8, 1764; Martha, Jan- 
uary 26, 1766; James, April 10, 1768; and 
Hannah, August 2"], 1770. 

(V) Samuel Covel, son of Ebenezer 
and Martha Covel, born January 13, 1752, 
married Judith Bloss. 

(VI) Benjamin Covel, son of Samuel 
and Judith (Bloss) Covel, was born Jan- 
uary 15, 1775, in Killingly, Connecticut, 
and leaving there settled in Berkley, Mas- 
sachusetts, before marriage. He married 
(first) Polly Newell, by whom he had 
Samuel and Benjamin; married (second) 
Susan Tinkham, of Providence. He died 
at Berkley, March 15, 1843, at the age of 
sixty-four years. By occupation he was 
a farmer and ship carpenter, and was 
well-known and highly respected in the 
community. 

(VII) Benjamin (2) Covel. son of 
Benjamin (i) and Polly (Newell) Covel, 
was born March 2, 1818, at Berkley, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was reared to a country 
life and had such educational advan- 
tages as the local schools afforded. His 
father being a ship carpenter as well as 
farmer, it was but natural that the son 



should evince a taste in mechanical lines, 
and at the age of eighteen he went to 
Fall River and began there an apprentice- 
ship in the establishment of Melville Bor- 
den, a contractor and builder in wood, 
and there learned the carpenter's and 
joiner's trade. He remained with Mr. 
Borden for about eighteen months, and 
then finished his apprenticeship with 
Pierce Mason & Company, continuing in 
their employ until the summer of 1842. 
For a short time thereafter, from Sep- 
tember until November in the same year, 
he was in the employ of Samuel Sanford, 
of Boston, as boss carpenter, and had 
general oversight of all the repairing and 
erection of the new tenement houses put 
up by Mr. Sanford. Returning to his 
native town of Berkley in November, 
1842, he remained there until the spring 
of 1843; hs then located at Fall River 
once more and became associated with 
James Smith as partner and thus began 
business on his own account and opened 
his successful career. Among some of 
the early structures built in Fall River by 
Mr. Covel and his partner should be men- 
tioned the Pearl Street Church edifice and 
the "Richardson" house and "Wilbur" 
house ; and for the following forty years 
or more, during the active period of Mr. 
Covel's life, he was constantly occupied 
as a contractor and builder of wood, not 
only in Fall River, but in all the Fall 
River region, his field of operation some- 
times extending to the cities of Boston 
and Newport. Among some of the Fall 
River buildings that have stood as monu- 
ments to his workmanship were the Troy 
buildings, the Durfee block, the residence 
of William C. Davol, Jr., and the resi- 
dence of Alphonso S. Covel. At the time 
of the extension of the Old Colony Rail- 
road from Fall River to Newport, Mr. 
Covel constructed all the bridges and 
depots on the line for this company; he 
128 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



also erected at Boston one of its largest 
freight houses. 

On December 14, 1841, Mr. Covel mar- 
ried Angeline Baker, a native of Dart- 
mouth, Massachusetts, born January 3, 
1821, a daughter of Halsey and Mercy 
(Allen) Baker, of that place. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Covel the following children were 
born: Alphonso S., born November 22, 
1842; Benjamin P., born August 7, 1844; 
Thomas Dennis, mentioned below ; and 
Ina P., born in the year i860, and died at 
the age of two years. 

(VIII) Thomas Dennis Covel, third 
son of Benjamin (2) and Angeline (Baker) 
Covel, was born June 21, 1850, at his 
father's home in Pall River. At an early 
age he began to attend the local public 
schools, and after completing his general 
education here he entered Schofield's 
Business College of Providence, Rhode 
Island, where he took a commercial 
course. He graduated from this institu- 
tion with the class of 1869, being at that 
time nineteen years of age. Upon com- 
pleting his studies Mr. Covel began his 
long and successful career by entering 
the employ of his brother as clerk in a 
grocery store. After a year in the gro- 
cery store, he entered the office of the 
Troy Mill as a runner and clerk. Here 
he continued until the year 1873, when he 
became associated with Arnold B. San- 
ford, in the hardware business, under the 
firm name of Sanford & Covel. It con- 
tinued to be thus named until the year 1884, 
when Mr. Osborn purchased Mr. San- 
ford's interest and the firm became known 
as Covel & Osborn. In the year 1898 
another partner was admitted and the 
name was changed to the Covel & Osborn 
Company, it being at the same time incor- 
porated. Mr. Covel at this time became 
treasurer of the concern, and held this 
office until the time of his retirement. 
This event occurred in the year 1914, 

Mass-8— 9 129 



when he withdrew from active manage- 
ment of affairs, although he still holds his 
interest in the business. In the mean- 
time the concern has grown greatly in 
size, and one of the largest trades of its 
kind in the community is now conducted. 
Por a number of years Mr. Covel served 
as president of the National Union Bank 
of Pall River and also was a member of 
its board of directors. At the time that 
this institution became consolidated with 
the Massasoit National Bank and the Po- 
casset National Bank to form the Massa- 
soit-Pocasset National Bank, he became a 
director of the new institution, and was 
later elected to the office of vice-president, 
which he still holds. He is also a mem- 
ber of the discount committee. Among 
other important financial concerns with 
which he is concerned there should be 
mentioned the Union Savings Bank, of 
which he is a trustee and a member of the 
board of investment. Mr. Covel is also 
deeply interested in many of the large 
industrial concerns of this region and is a 
director and vice-president of the Davis 
Mills, vice-president and director of the 
Arkwright Mills, and a director and a 
member of the security committee of the 
Troy Co-Operative Bank. In his politics 
Mr. Covel is a Republican, but he has 
never had any ambition to hold office. He 
is, however, conspicuous in social and 
fraternal circles here and especially in 
connection with the Masonic order, in 
which he has taken the thirty-second 
degree. He is a member of King Philip 
Lodge, Ancient Pree and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; Fall River Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Pall River Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Godfrey de Bouillon 
Commandery, Knights Templar, and the 
Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

Thomas Dennis Covel was united in 
marriage, October 31, 1876, with Betsey 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Paine Gray, a daughter of Franklin and 
Irene (Gardner) Gray, of Fall River. 
Franklin Gray was a conspicuous figure 
in the business life of Fall River, where 
he had been an early settler. He was a 
son of David and Betsey Paine (Wins- 
low) Gray, and was born at Somerset, 
May 29, 1824. His mother was a daugh- 
ter of Dr. John Winslow. 



BEEDE, John Towle, 

Business Man. 

The original home of the Beedes after 
coming from England was in New Hamp- 
shire, but later Vermont became the fam- 
ily seat, and there two of the sons of the 
emigrant remained, Nathan Beede, at 
Albany, Vermont, John Beede, at Dan- 
ville. Another son, David Beede, went 
West and was never again heard from. 
Mrs. Weeks, of Wheelock, Vermont, Mrs. 
Pearl, of Albany, Vermont, and Mrs. 
Rollins, were daughters of the original 
family. 

John Beede, son of the founder, was 
born in Danville, Vermont, in 1802, and 
died there in 1876. He followed farming 
all his life and resided in Danville, Iras- 
burg and Wheelock during his active 
lifetime. He was a Democrat in politics, 
served as surveyor of highways, and lived 
an honorable, industrious life. He mar- 
ried Sarah Langmaid, who died in Iras- 
burg, Vermont, about 1872, sister of Sam- 
uel and Solomon (2) Langmaid, daughter 
of Solomon (i) Langmaid, who had five 
other daughters. Solomon (i) Langmaid 
died in Danville, Vermont, about 1845. 
Mr. and Mrs. John Beede were the par- 
ents of eleven children, all born in Dan- 
ville : Joshua, born about 1827, deceased ; 
Abigail, deceased ; Augusta ; Pamelia, 
died in infancy; Pamelia (2); Lucy; 
John Towle, of further mention ; Mary, 
born September i, 1841, married John 



Hammond, whom she still survives, a 
resident of Gibson, New Hampshire; 
Susan ; Solomon ; George, now living in 
Burlington, Vermont. 

John Towle Beede, second son of John 
and Sarah (Langmaid) Beede, was born in 
Danville, Vermont, June i, 1839, and there 
spent the first sixteen years of his life, 
attending school, and engaged in farm 
labor. At the age of sixteen he began 
learning the carpenter's trade, became an 
expert workman and spent several years 
as a house builder. He then became 
a shop worker, especially on sash, doors 
and blinds. After making mill work a 
specialty, he left Danville and established 
a sash and blind factory at Newport, Ver- 
mont, which he operated under his own 
name until about 1884, when he located 
in Westfield, Massachusetts. He was for 
six years in the employ of the Simpson 
Company, manufacturers of piano legs 
for the olden style square piano. From 
the Simpson Company he went to Wor- 
onoco, a small village of Hampden 
county, near Westfield, and there opened 
a general store which he operated very 
successfully for many years. His store, 
nicely fitted up, was also the village post 
office, and he the postmaster. He did a 
large business, but as the years began to 
assert themselves he sold his Woronoco 
store and returned to Westfield. He 
there opened a small news and variety 
store, but after four years sold that busi- 
ness and retired to the quiet management 
of his own private estate. He is a Re- 
publican in politics. 

Mr. Beede married, December 4, 1866, 
Julia A. Eldridge, born at Albany, Ver- 
mont, September 28, 1847, daughter of 
John and Mary Ann (Lyon) Eldridge. 
John Eldridge, a farmer, was born at 
Burke, Vermont, about 1812, died at Al- 
bany, Vermont, in March, 1867. Mary 
Ann Lyon was born at Craftsbury, Ver- 



130 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



mcnt, about 1822, died in 1900. They 
were the parents of four sons and four 
daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Beede are the 
parents of three daughters ; Ida Mary, 
born December 2, 1868, married Harvey 
J. Cleveland, of Westfield, and has a 
daughter Mildred, born July 3, 1895 ; 
Stella Clinton, born October 29, 1870, 
now residing in California; Ada Eldridge, 
born January 7, 1872, married Merrill H. 
Moore, and resides in Westfield. 



POPE, Archibald Edwin, M. D., 

Physician, Surgeon. 

Dr. Archibald Edwin Pope, of Fall 
River, Massachusetts, was born at Ken- 
nedy, Iowa, June i, 1881, son of Justus 
and Alice Elnora (Lehr) Pope, and 
grandson of William Justus Pope. His 
father was a lumber dealer, in which oc- 
cupation he achieved a large degree of 
success. 

Dr. Pope attended the public schools of 
his native town, and the high school at 
Redfield, Iowa, where the family after- 
ward resided. The knowledge thus gained 
was supplemented by a course in High- 
land Park College at Des Moines, Iowa, 
after which he matriculated in the Ens- 
worth Medical College at St. Joseph, Mis- 
souri. While a medical student he was 
also an interne in the Maternity Hospital 
at St. Joseph. His medical education was 
completed in the Medical School of Tufts 
College, Massachusetts, in 191 1 and 1912, 
and since then he has been in general 
practice in Fall River. He has won dis- 
tinction and an excellent practice by close 
application to his profession. Dr. Pope 
is a member of the St. Joseph Medical 
Society, the Fall River Medical Society, 
the Massachusetts Medical Society, the 
Missouri State Medical Society, the 
American Medical Association, the Na- 
tional Society of Anesthetists, the Kappa 



Alpha Fraternity, the Men's Club of the 
First Baptist Church of Fall River, and 
of the Baptist Bible School connected 
with that church, which is the largest in 
the State of Massachusets, in which he 
takes an active interest. He is a Baptist 
in religion, and a Republican in politics. 
Dr. Pope was among the first to enlist 
his services in the present war, now 
(1918) serving his country with thou- 
sands of other young physicians with the 
rank of first lieutenant. 

Dr. Pope married, September 24, 191 1, 
at St. Joseph, Missouri, Mary Dorothea 
John, daughter of Thomas S. Jolin. They 
have two children : Archibald Edwin, 
Ir., and . 



SWEENEY, Michael, 

Business Man, Financier. 

Much of the business of the New Eng- 
land States is now in the hands of people 
of Irish birth or decent, whose energy, 
enterprise and industry have built up 
many lines of endeavor and brought to 
themselves prosperity and high standing. 
The city of Fall River is fortunate in hav- 
ing among its citizens the enterprising 
gentleman whose name heads this biog- 
raphy. He was born April 13, 1856, in 
Fall River, the son of Patrick Sweeney, 
who was born in Bandon, County Cork, 
Ireland, and died in Fall River, in 1883. 
He left his native land in order to enjoy 
the opportunities for advancement and 
the liberty which the United States 
affords. He married, in Ireland, Ellen 
Mahoney, who was a native of the same 
place as himself, and who accompanied 
him to this country. 

Michael Sweeney was an ambitious 
youth and endeavored to make the most 
of the blessings and opportunities which 
came his way. He was an attentive stu- 
dent at the Fall River grammar schools. 



13J 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



but was compelled at an early age to 
engage in some occupation which would 
contribute to his support. About 1872 he 
began doing a trucking business in Fall 
River, and in forty-five years has built 
up the largest business of its kind in the 
city. He may justly be proud of the fact 
that the capital for this undertaking was 
earned by his own labor and careful con- 
servation of his earnings. He was ever 
faithful to the wishes of his customers, 
was always prompt in making deliveries, 
and has accumulated a property worth 
well toward a quarter of a million dol- 
lars. For twenty-one years he has been 
treasurer and general manager of the Fall 
River Laundry. He was one of the 
founders of the Fall River "Globe," which 
has been for thirty years the most influ- 
ential Democratic paper of the section, 
has been one of its directors from the 
founding, and is now president, treasurer 
and general manager of the establish- 
ment, a potent influence in political mat- 
ters at Fall River. Mr. Sweeney is also 
a director of the People's Co-operative 
Bank. The success of these various en- 
terprises has not been the result of 
chance, but has been achieved through 
the energy, wise management and faith- 
ful effort of Mr. Sweeney. He is a man 
of democratic character, of genial nature, 
ever affable and courteous, and enjoys the 
esteem and confidence of a very large 
circle of acquaintances. While sound in 
his Democratic principles, he is somewhat 
independent of party dictation, and has 
gained the good will and confidence of his 
political associates by his consistent, up- 
right course and adherence to principle. 
He has served as a member of the Com- 
mon Council and the Board of Alder- 
men of the city, was five years a member 
of the Reservoir Commission, and was at 
one time the candidate of his party for 
mayor of the city. He is a member of the 



Knights of Columbus and a conscientious 
Catholic, a member of the Roman Catho- 
lic church, but is broad in his liberality, 
and believes in sustaining the truth 
wherever it may be found. Every move- 
ment calculated to benefit the city of Fall 
River and uplift its people finds in Mr. 
Sweeney a warm friend and assistant. 

Mr. Sweeney married in June, 1913, in 
Tiverton, Rhode Island, Helen Regan, a 
native of Fall River, and they are the 
parents of two daughters : Helen Regan, 
born December 9, 1914, and Dorothy 
Louise, December 29, 1916. 



DEAN, Robert Augustus, 

Attorney. 

The first of the name in England of 
which there is record is Robert de Den, 
a member of the household of the Eng- 
lish King, Edward the Confessor. Early 
records I'eveal the name in the shires of 
Essex, Northampton, Huntingdon and 
Oxford, many of the name being of the 
nobility. After the reign of Henry VII. 
the prefix "de" was dropped, and during 
the reign of Queen Elizabeth, the spell- 
ing became Dean and Deane. For cen- 
turies Deanes resided at and in the vicin- 
ity of Taunton, Somersetshire, England, 
and from thence came most of the Deans, 
early emigrating to New England, one 
Stephen Dean being the first to come, he 
arriving in the "Fortune" in 1621. It 
was not until 1637 that Walter and John 
Deane, brothers, arrived, they coming 
from the Taunton, England, section, and 
settling at Taunton, Massachusetts, then 
known as Cohannet. They were both 
original purchasers of the town and both 
took up farms on the west bank of "Taun- 
ton Great River," about a mile from the 
"Green." The open traveled way from 
Taunton through these lands soon gained 
the name of Dean road, and Dean street 



i:^' 





'tLLMlj^^^ ^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



it is to this day. Walter Dean was a 
tanner by trade, and was a man of im- 
portance in his day. 

Robert Augustus Dean, of Fall River, 
an eminent member of the Massachusetts 
bar, is of the eighth generation in Amer- 
ica, he descending from Walter Deane. 
Like his ancestors he possesses the will 
power, earnestness of purpose, energy 
and integrity, which distinguished them, 
and in the keeping of this son of the 
twentieth century the family name is 
safe. 

Walter Deane, born in Chard, ten miles 
from Taunton, England, about 1618, came 
to New England in 1637, and became one 
of the esteemed residents of Taunton, 
Massachusetts. He married Eleanor 
Strong, daughter of Richard Strong, 
of Taunton, England, who, with her 
brother. Elder John Strong, came to 
New England, in the ship "Mary and 
John" in 1630. 

The line of descent is through their eld- 
est son, Joseph Dean, who is of record in 
1684, as a cordwainer in Taunton, Mas- 
sachusetts, and as of Dighton in 1728. He 
died not later than February 11, 1729, 
leaving a widow Mary. He was a deacon 
of the church and the first town clerk of 
Dighton, although his home was on As- 
sonet Neck. By will dated December 23, 
1728, he made bequests to his wife Mary, 
to sons Joseph (2), James and Samuel; 
to his grandson, Joseph (3) ; to his 
daughter Sarah (Dean) Read and to her 
children. Sarah Dean married Joseph 
Read, of Freetown (Fall River), and her 
only sister Esther, born in 1694, died in 
1707. 

Joseph (2) Dean, born in 1688, and 
mentioned in his father's will, December 
23, 1728, died August 11, 1773. His wife 
Sarah died March 26, 1775. 

Among their six children was a son, 
Benjamin Dean, born May 26, 1736, 



who married, December 22, 1757, Mary 
Turner, of Freetown, now that part of 
Fall River known as Bowenville. Ben- 
jamin and Mary (Turner) Dean were the 
parents of: John, who was lost at sea; 
Gamaliel, born in 1762, died May 23, 
1800; Sally, born in 1763, died April i, 
1850, married Philip Hathaway, of Taun- 
ton ; Benjamin (2) born April i, 1765, died 
August 24, 1842, married Howard Nich- 
ols, who died May 17, 1837; Aaron Reed, 
born in 1766, died January 17, 1805, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Weaver, of Freetown, 
who died August 13, 1855; Moses, born 
in 1769, died November 5, 1819; Pati- 
ence, born in 1773, died unmarried, June 
20, 1824; Susan, born in 1774, married J. 
Philip, of Berkeley, Massachusetts ; Sam- 
uel, married Hannah Hinds; Joseph, 
born in 1780, married Elizabeth Few; 
Ebenezer, twin with Joseph. 

Ebenezer Dean, son of Benjamin and 
Mary (Turner) Dean, was born in 1780, 
died October 20, 1825, and was buried at 
Fall River, his widow being laid by his 
side forty years later. He was a hatter 
by trade and manufactured hats at As- 
sonet Village, Freetown, his shop being 
on the north side of Water street, stand- 
ing between the later residences of Mrs. 
Lydia and Mrs. Rosamond Dean. Ebene- 
zer Dean married. October 25, 1810, Eliz- 
abeth Chace, of Freetown, who died in 
December, 1865, daughter of Gilbert and 
Charity (Pierce) Chace. They were the 
parents of: Ebenezer (2), born August 
29, 1812; Gilbert, born May 15, 1814, mar- 
ried Jerusha Carpenter, of Fall River; 
Gardiner Turner, of further mention; 
Eliza, born September 21, 1817; Clarissa, 
born April 6, 1819, married William 
Shaw, of Newport, Rhode Island. 

Gardiner Turner Dean, son of Ebene- 
zer and Elizabeth (Chace) Dean, was 
born March 19, 1816, died at Fall River, 
December 29, 1889. He was a successful 

33 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



man of affairs, engaged in the grocery 
business in Fall River, and was one of 
the incorporators of both the Union Sav- 
ings Bank and of the Flint Mills. He 
was an influential member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, serving for many 
years in an official relation. In politics 
he was a Republican. Gardiner T. Dean 
married (first) at Little Compton, Rhode 
Island, December 26, 1840, Alice B. West- 
gate, who died February 25, 1863. He 
married (second) April 22, 1874, Rachael 
Allen Pearce, of Fall River, daughter of 
Nathaniel and Bethany (Brightman) 
Pearce, of New Bedford, Massachusetts. 
Children : Frank, long deceased ; Ar- 
delia ; Charles E. ; Robert Augustus, of 
further mention. 

Robert Augustus Dean, youngest son 
of Gardiner Turner and his second wife, 
Rachael Allen (Pearce) Dean, was born 
at the Dean home. No. 263 Pine street. 
Fall River, Massachusetts, October 19, 
1881. He completed a full public school 
course with graduation from the B. M. 
C. Durfee High School, class of 1899. 
From high school he passed to the Fresh- 
man class. Harvard University, completed 
a four years' course and was graduated 
A. B., class of "03." He chose the law 
as his profession, prepared at Harvard 
Law School, receiving his degree LL. B. 
from the Law School with the class of 
1905. Immediately after graduation, Mr. 
Dean began the practice of his profes- 
sion at Fall River in the office of Jen- 
nings, Morton & Brayton, and has built 
up a lucrative legal business along gen- 
eral lines of practice. He is a member of 
the County, State and National Law as- 
sociations, and is held in high esteem by 
his professional brethren. He is learned 
in the law, skillful in its application to the 
cause in hand, and while a formidable 
legal opponent is most courteous to court 
and opposing council, holding closely to 



the strictest ethics of his honored pro- 
fession. He is an Independent Repub- 
lican in his political faith, has been called 
as special counsel by legislative commit- 
tees, and is a member of the Massachu- 
setts Constitutional Convention, whose 
duties are not yet ended. He is a mem- 
ber of King Philip Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; the Fall River Country 
Club ; and the First Congregational 
Church. 

Mr. Dean married in West Newton, 
Massachusetts, October 17, 1907, Marian 
Eddy, born in West Newton, September 
29, 1881, daughter of Caleb Francis and 
Georgianna (Winslow) Eddy, the latter 
a descendant of Colonial Governor Wins- 
low, the Eddy family being equally an- 
cient and honorable. Mr. and Mrs. Dean 
are the parents of a daughter, Georgianna 
Winslow, born February 22, 1910. 



SULLIVAN, Arthur James, 

Physician. 

We Americans as a people are not suf- 
ficiently grateful to the many foreign 
sources that have contributed, and are 
still contributing so large a portion of 
our national characteristics ; we do not in 
fact realize the significance of the streams 
of immigrants entering at our ports an- 
nually in the formation and modification 
of our racial character, or our debt to 
them therefore. Yet there is nothing 
more certain, if we may judge from the 
past that history discloses, than that 
those peoples that have had a composite 
origin have been the strongest and most 
dominating, and have in some manner 
prevailed over their fellows in the univer- 
sal struggle for existence. The principle 
would appear to be that to some extent 
in the union of several stocks, the virtues 
of each are preserved and the weaknesses 
and vices discarded. But if this be so, 



134 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



surely it should be apparent to all what 
we owe to the nations that are pouring 
the best and most enterprising of their 
peoples upon our shores. With each 
comes some virtue, peculiarly character- 
istic of the great stock which brings it to 
be preserved and entered into the fabric of 
our still but half formed social life, and 
if there be any vices also, we may confi- 
dently expect them to be finally swallowed 
up and forgotten. There is no race that 
has placed us in the past, or continuing 
in the present to place us more strikingly 
under obligation than that of the Irish, 
who have come here in such great num- 
bers and identified themselves so readily 
with our national life. The virtues that 
they bring with them are extremely typi- 
cal of their character and shall doubtless 
form a very important factor in the com- 
ing American race. For the Irish possess 
a very happy union of qualities, an almost 
cold grasp of practical afTairs and a 
strong romantic bias, that is perhaps the 
most effective combination in the world. 
This the Irishman brings with him into 
our midst along with those more obvious 
virtues that are the basis of all sound 
character, such as honor and courage, and 
a fiery impatience with cant. So it is 
that we see the Irishman in so many 
positions of power and influence, why he 
so strongly appeals to the popular imag- 
ination and is generally conspicuous in 
our national aft'airs. 

Dr. Arthur James Sullivan, while him- 
self a native of this country, is by blood 
and parentage an Irishman on the pater- 
nal side of the house, while on the 
maternal side he is a member of a race no 
less virtuous and capable, although its 
sons do not find their way to our shores 
in such great numbers. His father was 
James Kennett Sullivan, a native of Dub- 
lin, and his mother Jennie Theresa (Laf- 
ferty) Sullivan, a native of Glasgow, 



Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan, Sr., 
came to this country while still young 
and settled in Fall River. They were the 
parents of three children, as follows : 
Arthur James, with whose career we are 
here especially concerned ; Clarence P., 
and Jennie Helena. After coming to this 
country Mr. Sullivan, Sr., was employed 
as a reed maker in the mills of Fall River. 
He was a Democrat in politics, and a 
staunch member of the Catholic Church 
of the Immaculate Conception.. 

Born September 12, 1889, at Fall River, 
Arthur James Sullivan has made that 
city his home ever since. He received the 
preliminary portion of his education in 
the local grammar school and afterwards 
attended the B. M. C. Durfee High 
School, from which he was graduated in 
1908 and where he was prepared for col- 
lege. He had in the meantime determined 
upon medicine as his career in life, and 
with this end in view went to Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, where he matricu- 
lated at the Jefferson Medical College, 
one of the best known institutions of its 
kind in the country. Here he took a four 
years' course and was graduated with the 
class of 1912, taking the degree of Medi- 
cal Doctor. After the completion of his 
theoretical studies, he gained the requis- 
ite practical experience by a year spent 
in the Philadelphia General Hospital, 
after which, in 1913, he returned to Fall 
River and there established himself in 
the general practice of his chosen profes- 
sion. He has met with great success as 
a practitioner and is now regarded as one 
of the leaders in his profession there and 
a man who devotes himself to his chosen 
work with the utmost singleness of pur- 
pose. In 1913 he was chosen a member 
of the staff of the city hospital and con- 
tinues to hold this position to-day, adding 
the duties involved in it to those which 
are the outcome of his private practice. 

135 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Dr. Sullivan, while of course he finds it 
impossible to engage actively in any 
other form of activity outside of his pro- 
fessional work, nevertheless preserves a 
keen and intelligent interest in the gen- 
eral life of the community and especially 
in connection with political matters gen- 
erally. He is what might be called a 
neutral Democrat, who, while supporting 
the principles and policies for which that 
party stands, nevertheless holds himself 
free of all partisan considerations in his 
selection of a candidate for whom to cast 
his ballot or in his decision as to the 
rights and wrongs of any political issues. 
Dr. Sullivan is in his religious belief a 
Roman Catholic, as his ancestors have 
been before him for many generations, 
and attends the Church of the Immacu- 
late Conception in Fall River, and is gen- 
erally active in the work of this parish. 
He is a member of the local body of the 
Knights of Columbus. 

Beyond doubt one of the most remark- 
able and characteristic changes wrought 
in this epoch of change and progress has 
been that which has occurred in the gen- 
eral attitude of the learned professions 
toward their own subject matters and 
scientific knowledge generally. In the 
past they were considered the conserva- 
tors of old knowledge and those who have 
been their most authoritive spokesmen 
have multiplied proofs indefinitely that 
new theories, and even new facts, how- 
ever well substantiated, were unwelcome 
and need expect no recognition by the 
learned fraternities. The hardships and 
persecutions of the pioneers in the realm 
of thought and knowledge in days gone 
by bear ample witness to this intolerance, 
an intolerance so universally associated 
with formal learning as to have often 
called down upon it no little popular 
ridicule and to have converted such a 
word as pedant into a term of reproach. 



But to-day all this is changed and it 
might even be urged that in some quar- 
ters there is even a too ready acceptance 
of hypotheses unconfirmed and state- 
ments of what may prove to be pseudo 
facts. But this is only in certain irre- 
sponsible quarters and the professions in 
general now occupy a most praiseworthy 
attitude towards knowledge, new or old, 
subjecting both to the searching scrutiny 
of modern scientific methods and retain- 
ing or rejecting each partially as it 
endures this test. Take, for example, the 
profession of medicine and note the lead- 
ers and recognized authorities therein. 
They are in nine cases out of ten the very 
pioneers who might have suffered for 
their progressive views if the old intol- 
erance had remained. It may with truth 
be said that in two senses evolution has 
had to do with this great change. In the 
first sense it has, of course, played the 
same role in the development of scientific 
thought as it does with all living, growing 
things, bringing it into closer correspond- 
ence with its environment ; and in the 
second sense the doctrine of evolution 
has made a direct alteration in our atti- 
tude towards all knowledge, destroying 
the old notion that it was a thing that 
had been revealed once and for all from 
a supernatural source and supplying the 
more rational idea that it is something 
that we achieve for ourselves with pains- 
taking effort, and thus making us the 
more willing to accept discoveries and 
innovations. Although there are doubt- 
less members of the medical profession 
that still incline to the old standpoint, yet 
their voice is drowned in that of the great 
majority of their fellows, for there are 
but few in these ranks who do not accept 
the doctrine of evolution and all that this 
revolutionary belief involves. A good 
example of the type of physician now 
dominant in the profession may be found 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



in Dr. Sullivan, of Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, a man at the head of his profession 
and a recognized authority on all derma- 
tological questions throughout the State. 



BIGELOW, James Bernard, M. D., 

Physician, Health Officer. 

Bigelow is a name frequently found in 
Massachusetts records ; many descend- 
ants of the English family settled in that 
State, coming here direct from England 
or from Ireland, where one early branch 
of the family located. Although spelled 
in a variety of ways, it can always be 
traced to the Anglo-Saxon Biggan (big) 
and bleaw (hill or barrow) and was prob- 
ably adopted as a surname by a resident 
of some such locality. 

John Bigelow, the first ancestor of 
Dr. James Bernard Bigelow to leave Ire- 
land, was born in County Tyrone, Prov- 
ince of Ulster. The stories which reached 
him telling him of the free democratic 
life in the United States so fired his imag- 
ination that, in spite of the long voyage 
of about the year 1840, he left home to 
see for himself what his chances would 
be in this new and prosperous country. 
The date of his arrival is not known, but 
it is reasonably certain that he arrived at 
an eastern port and located at once in 
Massachusetts. Conditions were prob- 
ably not as he expected to find them, but 
the same courage which prompted him to 
leave his native land also helped him 
overcome the obstacles against which 
any foreigner must struggle. His brother, 
C. H. Bigelow, a well-known watchmaker 
of the day in New York, gave him an 
opportunity to enter his watch business, 
and he remained in that city several 
years. He then went to Granby, Con- 
necticut, for a few years before settling 
permanently in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
in 1867, where he resided until his death 



in 1880, at sixty years of age. In 1857 he 
took out citizenship papers and was 
always interested in all that made for the 
best in good government, whether locally 
or nationally. He married Margaret El- 
liott, also a native of Ireland, but who 
had resided in this country since being 
brought here by her parents when she 
was but two years old. Her brother, 
William Elliott, was one of the largest 
and most successful cattle dealers of his 
generation in New York State. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bigelow were the parents of the 
following children : William J., Bernard 
Francis, of whom later mention will be 
made ; Eliza, became the wife of John 
Splan ; Margaret, became the wife of 
John Keough ; Alice, James, William, 
Joseph. 

Bernard Francis Bigelow, second child 
of John and Margaret (Elliott) Bigelow, 
was born February 7, 1853, in Granby, 
Connecticut. The father had not been in 
America long enough to be able to give 
his children the educational advantages 
the next generation were to receive, and 
at the early age of eight and one-half 
years the son was forced to begin work 
in the mills in order to assist in support- 
ing the family. Subsequently he spent a 
few years in the elementary schools of 
Terryville and West Hartford. A better 
instance to show the high value of labor 
of the present day could not be found 
than to compare the wages this youth 
received even after working several years, 
with the wages being paid at present. 
His wages were thirty-three and one- 
third cents per day, and at the present 
time (1918) the most unskilled labor is 
receiving more than ten times that 
amount for a shorter working day. In 
1867 he came to Holyoke with his par- 
ents, and for the following seven years 
he was employed in different positions, 



137 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



trying to find something which would 
prove sufficiently remunerative to enable 
him to engage in business for himself. 
For one year he was a teamster, and for 
the following two years he was em- 
ployed in the Hampden Cotton Mills. In 
1870 he took a position in a meat market, 
where he remained for four years. He 
then purchased a business for himself in 
which he was successfully engaged until 
1915, a period of over forty years, during 
which time he built up a large patronage. 
For several years he was chief engineer 
of the Holyoke Fire Department and 
many improvements were made at his 
suggestion. One of the principal benefits 
Holyoke received from him while in that 
position is the present fire alarm system. 
In politics he gave his support to the 
Democratic party, and for two years he 
was a member of the city government. 
He also held membership in the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen, and was a 
member of the Roman Catholic church. 
He died February 21, 1918. In 1875 Mr. 
Bigelow married Elizabeth Shine, a na- 
tive of Ireland, and the daughter of John 
and Catherine (Scanlon) Shine. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bigelow were the parents of the 
following children : John, whose death 
occurred at the age of fourteen years ; 
Mary, Elizabeth, James Bernard, of whom 
later mention is made ; Marguerite, who 
died when twenty-one years of age. 

Dr. James Bernard Bigelow, second 
son of Francis Bernard Bigelow, was 
born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, August 
13, 1886. After completing the regular 
courses given in the elementary grammar 
and high schools of the city, he entered 
Dean Academy in the fall of 1905, and 
graduated from that institution in 1906; 
he then entered Tufts College and 
two years later completed his academic 
course in that institution. The choice of 



a profession had already been decided 
upon, and he took up the study of medi- 
cine in Tufts Medical College and re- 
mained until he received his degree in 
191 1. In order that he might be more 
fully qualified for the duties in hospital 
training, the first two years of this time 
were spent at St. Vincent's Hospital of 
New York City, then one year at the New 
York Institution for Foundlings, and 
three months at the Manhattan Maternity 
Hospital. This gave him a thorough 
training and acquainted him with modern 
facilities and the most successful clinical 
practices. In 1914 he opened an office in 
Holyoke, where he has since been suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of his 
profession, and is highly regarded by the 
medical fraternity of the city. As an 
indication of his ability, he has for the 
past two years been city physician of 
Holyoke, filling this position with credit 
to himself and the entire satisfaction of 
the citizens. He is a member of the sur- 
gical staff of the Providence Hospital. A 
still further proof of his popularity and 
ability is demonstrated in the fact that on 
July 19, 1918, Dr. Bigelow received a 
commission as first lieutenant in the Med- 
ical Corps in the United States army. He 
is a member of all the local medical asso- 
ciations, and a fellow of the American 
Medical Association, in which societies 
he constantly keeps himself cognizant of 
the proceedings and discoveries. The 
esteem in which he was held while at col- 
lege is shown in his membership in the 
Alpha Kappa and the Phi Chi Beta fra- 
ternities. He is also a member of the 
Knights of Columbus and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Dr. Bigelow married, October 18, 1917, 
Katherine M. Doyle, of Holyoke, daugh- 
ter of James Michael and Mary (Mc- 
Carthy) Doyle. 



138 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



McLANE, Frederick Alexander, 



Mannfacturer. 

The branch of this family, now repre- 
sented in Holyoke by Frederick Alexan- 
der McLane, was founded in Canada in 

1833 by Joseph H. McLean, and in the 

United States by his son, Joseph H. (2) 

McLane, father of Frederick A. McLane, 

of Holyoke. 

Joseph H. McLean, born in Scotland, 

died in the city of Quebec, Canada, in 

1833, not long after his arrival in that 

city. He was a carpenter and joiner, as 

were his two brothers, who in the above 

year had accompanied him to Canada. 

Joseph H. McLean married, in Scotland, 

Eliza Honers, and with her and their two 

daughters, Ann, who married a Mr. 

Frazier, and Eliza, who married a Mr. 

Stevens, he sought a home in America, 

locating in Quebec, Canada. Shortly 

after the arrival in Quebec the only son of 

the family, Joseph H. (2) was born, and 

the same year, 1833, the father sue- Joseph H. and Rezina (Thurber) Mc- 

cumbed to the rigors of'ithe Canadian Lane, was born in Shiptown, Province 

climate. of Quebec, Canada, June 11, 1865. He 

Joseph H. (2) IMcLane, only son of was educated in the town of Trout Brook, 

Joseph H. (i) and Eliza McLean, was Quebec, and West Fairlee, Vermont, his 

born in the city of Quebec, Canada, in parents removing to the latter place in 

1877. After school days were over he 
learned the carpenter's trade under the 
instruction of his father, and continued at 
that trade in West Fairlee until his re- 
moval to Manchester, New Hampshire, 
in 1884, his parents following in 1885. He 
followed his trade in Manchester for a 
time also, improving his education by at- 
tendance at night school and self-study. 
He later entered the employ of the Amos- 
keag Manufacturing Company in the me- 
chanical department, remaining there for 
seven years. In 1891 he located in Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, as a master me- 
chanic and mechanical engineer at the 
Lyman Mills. He remained in the serv- 



he located at Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, there entering the employ of the 
Amoskeag Manufacturing Company in 
the mechanical department, so con- 
tinuing until his death fourteen years 
later. He was a man of good char- 
acter and upright life, and a communi- 
cant of the Protestant Episcopal church. 
He married Rezina Thurber, born in 
Shiptown, Quebec, May 29, 1835, now 
residing in Manchester, New Hamp- 
shire, daughter of Johnson and Fannie 
(Lee) Thurber. Mr. and Mrs. McL.ane 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Alvin M., born November i, 1856; 
Eleanor E., born March 2, i860, married 
Fred Hutchins, and resides in Manches- 
ter, New Hampshire ; Frederick Alexan- 
der, of further mention ; Annie R., born 
September 4, 1867, married Stephen 
Read, of Manchester ; Clara F., born Au- 
gust 14, 1874, married Eugene Burdick, 
of Manchester. 

Frederick Alexander McLane, son of 



1833, and died in Manchester, New 
Hampshire, January 22, 1896. His father 
died the same year Joseph H. was born, 
and later his mother married again, and 
these circumstances combined to early 
force him into the ranks of the wage 
earners, but not before he had acquired 
a good public school education, after 
which he learned the carpenter's trade, 
and this he followed in Canada and the 
United States until 1885. He remained 
in Canada until 1877, then came to the 
United States, locating in West Fairlee, 
Vermont, there becoming well known as 
a reliable carpenter and building con- 
tractor, remaining eight years. In 1885 



139 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ice of that corporation seven years, then 
going to the great silk mill of William 
Skinner & Sons, as general superintend- 
ent, a position of importance which he 
held for thirteen years. Ending his con- 
nection with the Skinner silk mill in 1914, 
he organized the McLane Silk Company, 
with a mill at Turners Falls, Massachu- 
setts, and in January, 1917, another mill 
under the same name was put into com- 
mission at Scranton, Pennsylvania, these 
mills employing many hands, Mr. Mc- 
Lane being president and general man- 
ager of the company, and giving both 
mills his personal care and supervision. 
These mills manufacture a high grade of 
satin known as Beaver satin, the beaver 
being used as the trade mark. He re- 
tains his residence in Holyoke, where he 
takes an active part in affairs of the city. 
For a period of four years he was a mem- 
ber of the park commissioners, and for 
two years of his term was chairman of 
the board. He has also served on the 
financial committee of the Hampden 
County Improvement League. At Turn- 
ers Falls he is a director of the Crocker 
National Bank, and there organized and 
installed the Farm Bureau, of which he 
is a director. While living in Manches- 
ter he became a member of the Inde- 
pent Order of Odd Fellows, and in religi- 
ous preference is a Congregationalist, 
attending the First Church of Holyoke. 

Mr. McLane married, July 13, 1888, 
Etta Gamsby, of Canada, daughter of 
John and Mary (Foster) Gamsby. They 
are the parents of two children: i. Sheila 
B., born June 3, 1889, in Manchester, 
New Hampshire, now the wife of Elwin 
Lowell Tabor, of Turners Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, superintendent and assistant 
treasurer of the McLane Silk Company ; 
Mr. and Mrs. Tabor are the parents of 
two children: Elwin Lowell Tabor (2), 



born May i, 1916, and Donald McLane, 
born March 26, 1918. 2. Clyde Thurber, 
born April 8, 1893. 



WHITE, Luther, 

Iianyer, Jurist. 

During a residence of about half a cen- 
tury in Chicopee, Massachusetts, during 
which time he was continually engaged 
in his professional work. Judge White 
became one of the best known and most 
honored men of his city. He was very 
successful in the practice of his profes- 
sion, conducting a general business cov- 
ering all branches of the law, but making 
a specialty of probate work during his 
later years. For many years an associate 
district court judge, he was appointed 
judge and also city solicitor in 1903, and 
until 1912 held both these offices. After 
Chicopee became a city in 1891, he took 
a prominent part in public affairs and 
held important city offices other than 
those mentioned. He was also active in 
business life, holding official relation with 
important Chicopee corporations. 

Judge White came from an early New 
England family, being of the ninth gen- 
eration of the family founded by Elder 
John White, who sailed from England in 
the ship, "Lion," in June, 1632, and landed 
in Boston, September 16, accompanied by 
his wife Mary and two children. John 
White settled at Cambridge, where he was 
allotted lands, and became a leading man 
in the settlement. In 1636 he joined the 
company which settled Hartford, Con- 
necticut, and remained there until April 
18, 1659, when with about sixty others 
he helped to found a new settlement at 
Hadley, Massachusetts. About 1670 he 
returned to Hartford and was elected 
elder in the South Church, which had 
shortly before been formed by readers of 



140 





a.*^^^ ^^^y'^^^i^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the First Church. He died January i, 
1684. 

The line of descent from Elder John 
and Mary White is through their eldest 
son, Captain Nathaniel White, born in 
England, an original proprietor and a 
first settler of Middletown, Connecticut, 
elected to the Connecticut Legislature 
eighty-five times, there being two elec- 
tions yearly, and at his last election he 
was eighty-five years old. 

From Captain Nathaniel White the 
line follows through his son, Deacon Na- 
thaniel White, of Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, prominent in church and town affairs, 
and a large land owner; his son, Daniel 
White, of Middletown, who died at the 
early age of thirty-one, his wife, Hannah 
(Baggs) White, surviving him forty- 
three years ; their son, Jacob White, who 
lived in Springfield, Massachusetts ; his 
son, Luther White, born in Springfield, a 
soldier of the Revolution ; his son, Luther 
(2) White, who settled at Granby, Mas- 
sachusetts ; his son, Andrew White, born 
in Granby ; his son. Judge Luther White, 
in whose memory this review is compiled. 

Andrew White, of the eighth genera- 
tion, was born at Granby, Massachu- 
setts, August I, 1802, and remained 
there until 1872, when he went to 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, where he died 
October 15, 1882. He married, in 
Granby, September 9, 1835, Philena 
Stebbins, born April 21, 1806, died June 
2, 1877, daughter of John and Jerusha 
(Clark) Stebbins. Mrs. White was a 
lineal descendant of Rowland and Sarah 
Stebbins, the founder of the family in 
New England, descent being traced 
through their son, Thomas, and his wife, 
Hannah (Wright) Stebbins ; their son, 
Joseph, and his wife, Sarah (Dorchester) 
Stebbins ; their son, John, and his wife, 
Sarah Stebbins ; their son, Asaph, and 
his wife, Lucy (Bardwell) Stebbins; 



their son, John, and his wife, Jerusha 
(Clark) Stebbins ; their daughter, Phi- 
lena, wife of Andrew White, they the 
parents of Judge Luther White, their 
only child. 

Judge Luther White was born in 
Granby, Massachusetts, September 2, 
1841, and died in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, March 15, 1914. He began his 
studies in the Granby public schools, con- 
tinuing in Chicopee High School until 
graduation, class of 1856, then pursuing 
a two years' course at Williston Semin- 
ary, Easthampton, Massachusetts, pre- 
paratory to entering Brown University, 
whence he was graduated Ph. D., class 
of 1864. After completing his classical 
education, he began the study of law 
under the direction of Charles D. Robin- 
son, of Charlestown, a brother of ex- 
Governor Robinson, and later was admit- 
ted to the Middlesex county bar. He 
began practice with Wells and Soule. In 
1870 he moved his office and practice to 
Chicopee, there continuing until his 
death, forty-four years later. As a law- 
yer he was learned and skillful, devoted 
to a client's interests, and punctilious in 
his observance of the ethics of the pro- 
fession he loved and which he adorned. 
He practiced in all branches of the law, 
hence his learning was wide and deep, 
extending through doctrine and prece- 
dent to the very foundation. He filled 
many city offices, from school committee- 
man for a few years to associate judge of 
the district court at Chicopee, serving 
many years, and appointed judge in 1903, 
and city solicitor from 1903 to 1912. He 
was president of the Common Council, 
1891, and trustee of the public library, 
offices one and all which he held for 
many years. 

In the business world Judge White 
was equally well known, having been a 
director of the Chicopee First National 



141 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Bank ; a trustee of Chicopee Savings 
Bank, and secretary of the corporation 
for many years ; treasurer and director 
of the Ames Manufacturing Company, 
later the Ames Sword Company, five 
years, and secretary two years ; vice- 
president of the Overman Wheel Com- 
pany for ten years ; and for many years 
was associated with Lewis M. Ferry in 
the fire insurance business ; was a direc- 
tor in the Chicopee Gas Light Company. 
He was a Republican in politics, and an 
attendant of the Third Congregational 
Church. He was a long time member of 
the American Bar, Massachusetts State 
Bar, and the Hampden County Bar asso- 
ciations ; his club, the Brown University 
of Springfield. 

Judge White married, October 12, 
1871, at Chicopee, Mary J. Hadley, born 
at Worcester, Massachusetts, August 29, 
1846, died at Chicopee, October 6, 1912, 
daughter of Moses C. and Adeline 
(Wells) Hadley, of Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts. Judge and Mrs. White were the 
parents of a daughter, Mabel Adeline 
White, who survives her parents, now 
(1918) a resident of Chicopee. 



DRISCOLL, John Henry, M. D., 
Physician. 

As an exponent of the drugless treat- 
ment of disease. Dr. Driscoll has been 
very successful. His practice at Fall 
River is very satisfactory, and those who 
are treated by the method of scientific 
manipulation he employs are the warm 
friends of both the treatment and the 
manipulator. He holds his authority 
from the American College of Mechano 
Therapy, presided over by William L. 
LeBoy, M. D., Dean. He has been a 
resident of Fall River practically his 
entire life, and those who have been his 
life long friends and know him best are 



ardent champions of his form of drug- 
less treatment for disease. He is a son 
of John H. Driscoll, a loom fixer, and his 
wife, Mary (Colbert) Driscoll, both born 
in County Waterford, Ireland. 

John Henry Driscoll was born in Ire- 
land, May 2, 1864, and in early life was 
brought to the United States. He was 
educated in the public schools of Fall 
River, Massachusetts, finishing his stud- 
ies with high school courses. For one 
year he was connected with Boston City 
Hospital, and later was a student at Dr. 
H. Libby's classes at the American Col- 
lege of Mechano Therapy. He completed 
a full course at the college, receiving his 
diploma upon graduation, which is his 
authority to practice the drugless treat- 
ment. His method of scientific manipu- 
lation, known as mechano-therapy, or 
osteopathic circulation massage, is a 
treatment becoming in greater favor as 
its merit is understood, and in his prac- 
tice Dr. Driscoll has been very successful. 
His offices are at No. 154 Main street. 
Fall River, Massachusetts. He is a mem- 
ber of Cathedral Roman Catholic Church 
Parish, and in politics an Independent 
Democrat. 

Dr. Driscoll married at Fall River, 
May 8, 1885, Stella Abbott, who died in 
191 5, daughter of Robert and Emeline 
(Manchester) Abbott. Their only child, 
Dorothea Emeline Driscoll, was born at 
Fall River, September 24, 1887. 



MOSHER, Peter, 

Real Estate Operator, 

When an infant Peter Mosher was 
brought by his parents from his native 
Canada, and when a lad of fourteen years 
he began a long term of railroad service 
that only terminated thirty-five years 
later. He then retired and has since con- 
ducted a profitable business in West 



142 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Springfield, where he is highly respected. 
He is a son of Amos Mosher, born in 
Farnam, Canada, in i8i5,died at Agawam, 
Massachusetts, in 1895. Amos Mosher 
was a general merchant in Farnam until 
coming to the United States in 1855, 
being a merchant there for twenty years. 
He married Julia Laravel, who died at 
Agawam, Massachusetts, aged sixty-five 
years. Both were members of the Roman 
Catholic church, which Amos Mosher 
served as a sexton. Amos and Julia 
Mosher were the parents of four sons 
and five daughters: i. Julia, married 
Caleis Duclo, both deceased, she at age 
of sixty-five, he at age of sixty-six. 2. 
Amos, married Mary Freeman, and re- 
sides in West Springfield. 3. Delphine. 
4. Ellen, resides in Worcester. 5. Peter, 
of further mention. 6. Mary, married 
Louis Bascom, of West Springfield. 7. 
Emma, married A. T. Paradise, of Woon- 
socket, Rhode Island. 8. Clarence, mar- 
ried Lena Lenavill, and lives in West 
Springfield. 9. Arthur, married Jennie 
Chevalier. 

Peter Mosher, son of Amos and Julia 
(Lavarel) Mosher, was born at Farnam. 
Canada, February 8, 1855, and when a 
babe was brought to the United States 
by his parents. He attended the public 
schools of Mitteneague, Massachusetts, 
until fourteen years of age. then entered 
railroad employ, and as a brakeman and 
fireman passed thirty-five years of his 
life, then retired to a life of business activ- 
ity in West Springfield, Massachusetts, 
his present home. He is a dealer in real 
estate, conducts a transfer business and 
acts as banker's agent in the making of 
loans. He is president of Peter Mosher, 
Incorporated, Real Estate and Loans. He 
is a Democrat in politics, member of the 
high school committee, and member of 
the Brotherhood of Railroad trainmen, 



Lodge No. 238, and in religious faith a 
Catholic. 

Mr. Mosher married, March 3, 1875, 
Elizabeth Frances Ray, born May 18, 
1857, in Goshen, Massachusetts, her 
birthplace the old Dresser farm. She is 
a daughter of Matthew Ray, born in Bal- 
lentubber. County Limerick, Ireland, edu- 
cated in Dublin College, became a skilled 
landscape and practical gardener, em- 
ployed on the James H. Morton estate in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, for forty years, 
and died in Springfield at the age of 
eighty years. Matthew Ray married 
Mary E. Burke, born in Bantry, County 
Cork, Ireland, died in West Springfield, 
in 1900. Mr. and Mrs. Mosher are the 
parents of five sons and seven daughters, 
three sons and one daughter now living. 
Frank, Edward L., Albert, all the sons 
employed by their father ; Marion, mar- 
ried Franklin J. Wheeler; Bessie, died in 
1913, at age of twelve, and the others died 
in infancy. The family home is No. 225 
Union street. West Springfield, the par- 
ents now passing the forty-second year 
of their married life, both in excellent 
health. 



McLANE, William Nelson, 
Mannfactnrer. 

This is the name borne by an ancient 
Scotch family, branches of which have 
been from time immemorial in Ayrshire, 
Moray and Mull, and another branch in 
Argyll and Mull prior to the year 1300. 
This surname McLane is also spelled 
McClain, McClane, McLean, Macilean 
and the preface Mc is often dropped, and 
many of the Lane families belong to the 
Scotch McLane clan, especially in the 
State of Maine. The history of the clan 
is interesting. A large volume has been 
written by J. P. MacLean, of Cincinnati, 



143 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Ohio, published by Robert Clarke & 
Company, 1889. The edition is limited. 
There have been other McLane publica- 
tions, but this is the most complete. 

The lineage of this family begins with 
Gilleon, called Ni-tuoidh, from his favor- 
ite weapon, the battle axe. He is said to 
have fought at the battle of Largs in 
1263. 

Gillemore Macilean, who signed the 
Ragman Roll of 1296, was a son of Gil- 
leon. He had three sons, John, Niel and 
Donald. These are frequently mentioned 
in the reign of Robert Bruce. 

John Macilean, eldest son of Gillemore 
Macilean, had two sons, of whom the 
younger, Eachin-Reganich, was ancestor 
of the Maclaines of Loch Buy. 

Lachlan-Lubanich Macilean, eldest son 
of John Macilean, married Margaret, 
daughter of John, Lord of the Isles, from 
whom he obtained the lands in Mull, 
which the clan Maclean have since pos- 
sessed. 

His son was Eachin-Ruoidh-ni-Cath 
Maclean (Red Hector of the Battles). 

Third in descent from him was Lachlan- 
Cattanach Maclean. 

His son, Hector-Nidre Maclean. 

His son, Hector-Oig Maclean, was suc- 
ceeded by Sir Lachlan-Moremaclean. 

His son. Hector Maclean, of Dowart, 
married (first) Jeanette, second daughter 
of Colin, eleventh Laird of Kintail, by 
whom he had a son, Lachlan, the first 
Baronet, and (second) Isabelle, daughter 
of Acheson, of Gosford, by whom he had 
two sons. 

The line is continued through Lachlan 
Maclean, Esquire of Moraven, who was 
created a Baronet of Nova Scotia, and the 
first Baron in this line, February 13, 
1632. Sir Lachlan, who was zealously 
attached to Charles the First, partici- 
pated in all the triumphs of the Great 
Marquis of Montrose. He died in 1649, 



and was succeeded by his eldest son, Sir 
Hector, through whom the line continues. 
Sir Allan, through whom the line contin- 
ues. Sir John, through whom the line con- 
tinues. Sir Hector, through whom the 
line continues. Sir Allan, through whom 
the line continues. Sir Hector, through 
whom the line continues. Sir Fitzroy 
Jeffries Grafton, through whom the line 
continues. Sir Charles Fitzroy, through 
whom the line continues. 

Sir Fitzroy Donald MacLane, Baronet, 
C. B., of Moraven, County Argyle, col- 
onel of West Kent Yoemanry Cavalry, 
late lieutenant-colonel of the Thirteenth 
Hussars, was born May 18, 1835, and 
succeeded his father as tenth baronet in 
1883. He married, January 17, 1872, Con- 
stance Marianne, youngest daughter of 
George Holland Ackers, Esquire, of 
Moreton Hall, Cheshire, and has children, 
as follows: i. Hector Fitzroy, born Feb- 
ruary 17, 1873, lieutenant of the Scots 
Guard. 2. Charles Lachlan, R. N., born 
September 20, 1874. 3. Fitzroy Holland, 
born May 10, 1876, died April 13, 1881. 

4. John Marsham, born October 23, 1879. 

5. Finorola-Marianne-Eleanor, born Feb- 
ruary 14, 1887. 

The arms of the McLane, Macilean, 
Machlachlan, M'Lean, Maclean and Mac- 
laine families is as follows: 

Anns — Quarterly, ist, argent, a rock gules. 
2nd, argent, a dexter hand fessewise, couped, 
gules, holding a cross crosslet fitchee in pale 
azure. 3rd, or, a lymphad sable. 4th, argent, a 
salmon naiant proper, in chief two eagles' heads 
erased affrontee gules. 

Crest — 1st, a tower embattled argent. 2nd, a 
battle a.xe betwixt a laurel and a cypress branch, 
above this the motto. 

Motto — Altera Merces. (Another reward). 

Supporters — Two ostriches proper, with horse- 
shoes in their beaks. Motto in scroll at bottom: 
Virtue Mine Honor. 

Hugh McLane, grandfather of Wil- 
liam Nelson McLane, came from County 



144 







Mly(S^ 



t i 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Argyle and settled in Wrentham, Massa- 
chusetts, where he married a Miss 
Knapp, daughter of the famous Wren- 
tham founder of that name. He was a 
direct descendant of the Clan McLane. 
He had a son James, mentioned below. 

James McLane, son of Hugh McLane, 
was for many years a sea captain, going 
out on voyages all over the world from 
Fall River. He died at the age of forty- 
seven years. He married Mary J. Hur- 
ley, and their children were : Walter, 
William Nelson, mentioned below, Fred, 
and James A. 

William Nelson McLane, son of James 
and Mary J. (Hurley) McLane, was 
born at Fall River, Massachusetts, April 
6, 1867, and has made that city his home 
and the headquarters of his successful 
business career. During his childhood he 
attended the local public schools of the 
city, and later the well-known Bryant & 
Stratton Business College, at Providence, 
Rhode Island, from which institution he 
graduated with the class of 1884, having 
taken there a commercial course which 
well fitted him for his business career. 
He first engaged in a mill supply busi- 
ness and continued in this line for a num- 
ber of years. In 1905 he became asso- 
ciated with the Seaconnet Mill as treas- 
urer, and has so continued for thirteen 
years, up to the present time (igi8). He 
is thus brought into prominent connec- 
tion with the industrial interests of the 
city and is a well-known figure in general 
business circles, where he is respected at 
once for his ability and far-sighted busi- 
ness judgment and for the absolutely 
strict integrity with which he carries on 
all his aiYairs. Mr. McLane is a Repub- 
lican in politics, but is too much occupied 
with the conduct of his business to take 
an active part in public affairs. He is, 
however, a conspicuous figure in social, 
fraternal and club circles. He is a mem- 
ber of the Arkwright Club, Boston ; Que- 

llats— 8— 10 



quechan Club, Fall River ; Burns Club, 
Fall River ; Rhode Island Country Club ; 
Corporation of Union Savings Bank ; 
executive committee of Fall River Cotton 
Manufacturers' Association ; of King 
Philip Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of which he is past master ; of Fall River 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; of Fall 
River Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
of Godfrey De Bouillon Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; a life member of the 
different Scottish Rite Bodies of Boston, 
and at the head of the Samuel C. Law- 
rence Council, Princes of Jerusalem; also 
district deputy grand master of the Thir- 
tieth Masonic District of the Grand Lodge 
of Masons in Massachusetts, also a mem- 
ber of the Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion. In his religious belief Mr. Mc- 
Lane is a Methodist and attends Union 
Methodist Church of Fall River. 

Mr. McLane married, November 6, 
1895, at Fall River, Mabel J. Hargraves, 
a native of Fall River, a daughter of 
Thomas and Josephine (Field) Har- 
graves. Mr. Hargraves was a prominent 
manufacturer in Fall River, and was one 
of the builders of the well-known Har- 
graves Mill in Fall River. He was a 
native of England, from which country he 
came to the United States, locating in 
Fall River. Mr. and Mrs. McLane are 
the parents of two children: i. William 
Nelson, Jr., born April 18, 1897, gradu- 
ated from Wilbraham Academy in 191 7, 
and is now (1918) in the service of the 
United States navy, connected with the 
Hospital Corps. 2. Gordon H., born Au- 
gust 20, 1900, a student at Wilbraham 
Academy. 



DARCY, Frank P., 

Business Man. 

The late Frank P. Darcy, who for many 
years was a successful and popular man 
of Chicopee Falls, active and public- 



145 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



spirited in coinmimity affairs, was a na- 
tive of Rougemont, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, born January 29, 1875, a son of 
Francis and Adele (Traham) Darcyj 

grandson of Francis and (Chou- 

quett) Darcy, and a lineal descendant of 
a French ancestry. 

Francis Darcy, Sr., a native of Canada, 
where he spent his entire lifetime, fol- 
lowed the occupation of contractor, ma- 
son and plasterer, and was a Republican 
in politics, belonging to the party in Can- 
ada called the "Reds," and a Roman 
Catholic in religion. He married (first) 
a Miss Chouqett, who bore him two chil- 
dren : Francis, of whom further, and one 
who died in infancy. He married (sec- 
ond) Amelia Amelin, who also bore him 
two children : Alphonse, and a child who 
died aged three years. Francis Darcy, 
Sr., died in Rougemont, Canada, at the 
age of sixty-two years, and the deaths of 
both of his wives occurred in Canada. 

Francis Darcy, Jr., was a native of Can- 
ada, born July 25, 1840. He was reared 
in his native land, attended the public 
schools, and began his business career as 
an agriculturist, later was an agent for 
the Singer Sewing Machine Company, 
and subsequently became proprietor of a 
nursery, carrying a line of roses, etc. In 
1880 he came to the United States, 
located in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, 
and secured employment in the Chicopee 
Manufacturing Company, and when the 
Overman Bicycle Works was established 
there, he became their first brazer and 
continued in that capacity until his death, 
which occurred in Chicopee Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1891, aged fifty-two years. 
He was a Republican in politics, and dur- 
ing his residence in Canada the election 
was always held at his house in Rouge- 
mont, Province of Quebec. Mr. Darcy 
married Adele Traham, born June 3, 1841, 
in Marysville, Province of Quebec, Can- 



ada, daughter of Etinan and Marie 
(Mailloux) Traham, the former named a 
farmer in Canada, where he died Decem- 
ber 22, 1870, aged sixty-two years, and 
the latter named died in Canada, aged 
eighty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Traham 
were the parents of the following chil- 
dren : Marie, Sophia, Rose, Etiene, Eme- 
line, Etelrise, Joseph, Alfred, and Adele, 
all of whom are deceased but Rose, aged 
at the present time (1918) eighty-four, 
Etelrise, aged seventy-eight, and Adele, 
aged seventy-six, a resident of Chicopee 
Falls, and an attendant of St. Joachim's 
Church, Chicopee Falls, as was also her 
husband, Mr. Darcy. Francis and Adele 
(Traham) Darcy were the parents of ten 
children, namely: i. Mary Louise, born 
July 25, 1871, died aged fifteen years. 2. 
Georgeanna, born July 24, 1873; became 
the wife of Henry Lansone, and they are 
the parents of three children : Mary D., 
William, and Mary Louise, deceased. 3. 
Frank P., of whom further. 4. Rose D., 
born July 11, 1877; became the wife of 
Edward P. Huling, and they had nine 
children: Blanche; Arthur, died aged 
two years ; Lela May ; Elsie L. ; Ray- 
mond F. ; Alfred E., died aged five 
months ; Leonel E. and Leona D., twins, 
both died at age of four months ; and 
Thelma G. 5. Emile J., whose sketch fol- 
lows. 6. Arthur J., married Lena Del- 
meure, and they have two children : Ar- 
mond F. and Gladys D. 7. Alfred J., 
unmarried. 8. Charles J., married Evon 
Levrault, and they have four children: 
Lillian, Loretta, Edgar and Viola. 9. 
George, died aged one year. 10. Maria, 
died aged three years. All of the chil- 
dren with the exception of the two young- 
est were born in Canada. On September 
12, 1900, Adele (Traham) Darcy became 
the second wife of John Roberts. 

Frank P. Darcy resided in his native 
town, Rougemont, Canada, until he was 



146 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



seven years old, then was brought to 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, and at- 
tended the public schools of that place, 
becoming proficient in French and Eng- 
lish. His first experience in business life 
was gained in the management and oper- 
ation of a restaurant in Chicopee Falls 
known as the "Eagle Lunch," which was 
a well paying enterprise. In 1912 he also 
became the owner of a Moving Pic- 
ture House in Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
located on Main street, known as "Won- 
derland," which was well patronized 
owing to the excellent productions placed 
upon the screen. He was a capable man 
of affairs, progressive in his ideas, trust- 
worthy in his business methods, and en- 
joyed the respect and confidence of all 
with whom he had business transactions. 
He held membership in St. Joachim's 
Church, Chicopee Falls, St. Jean the Bap- 
tiste Society, Foresters of America, Fra- 
ternal Order of Eagles, Improved Order 
of Red Men, Auto Club of Springfield, 
Massachusetts, and Club Losyea of Chico- 
pee Falls, Massachusetts. He was a Re- 
publican in politics, but never sought nor 
held public office. 

Mr. Darcy married, December 29, 
1902, Delia Therrien, born in Mooers, 
New York, daughter of Moses and Mary 
Louise (Senickel) Therrien, who were 
the parents of thirteen children, namely: 
Moses, Joseph, George, John, Alfred, So- 
phia, Selina, Delia, Nettie, Mary Louise, 
Rose, Margaret and Emma. Moses Ther- 
rien was born in Canada, was brought to 
the United States at the age of five years, 
and during the active years of his life 
followed agricultural pursuits in Mooers, 
New York, and died there, March 3, 
1910. His wife, Mary Louise (Senickel) 
Therrien, was also a native of Canada, 
was brought to the United States at the 
age of three years, and died December 
30, 191 5. The death of Mr. Darcy, as the 



result of an auto accident in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, May 15, 1916, was a ter- 
rible shock, not only to his immediate 
family, but to a large circle of friends by 
whom he was held in the highest esteem. 
His widow, who resides in Chicopee 
Falls, is a member and regular attendant 
of St. Joachim's Church, and is highly 
regarded in the community. 



DARCY, Emile J., 

Basiness Man. 

Among the men who are active and 
prominent in business, social and fra- 
ternal circles in Chicopee Falls, and who 
have gained a competence as the result of 
ability, energy, perseverance and trust- 
worthiness must be mentioned Emile J. 
Darcy, a native of Rougemont, Province 
of Quebec, Canada, July 20, 1879, a son 
of Francis and Adele (Traham) Darcy. 
A full account of his ancestors appears 
in the preceding sketch of his brother, 
Frank P. Darcy. 

Emile J. Darcy was brought to this 
country when a young child, and the 
public schools of Chicopee Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, where his parents located, af- 
forded him the means of obtaining a 
practical education. After leaving school, 
he served an apprenticeship at the 
machinist trade, in which he became skill- 
ful, in due time becoming a thorough 
mechanic, in all the varied branches, and 
he worked along that line until the year 
1915, when he purchased the restaurant 
known as the "Eagle Lunch," of which 
his brother, Frank P., was the proprietor, 
and is conducting the same at the pres- 
ent time, it being a lucrative means of 
livelihood. He gives his support to the 
enterprises and measures which he be- 
lieves to be for the public good, and his 
influence has been marked in promoting 
the best interests of his adopted city. He 



147 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was one of the organizers of the Franco- 
American Association, of which he is one 
of the stockholders, and was the prime 
factor in the organization of the Lourier 
Club of Chicopee, which he has served in 
the capacity of vice-president for the past 
two years. He is also a member of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
Knights of Columbus, Improved Order 
of Red Men, Foresters of America, St. 
Jean the Baptist Society, Loyal Order of 
Moose, French Union and the American 
Auto Club of Springfield, Massachusetts. 
He is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Darcy married, June ii, 1912, 
Eliza Roberts, born in Chicopee Falls, 
Massachusetts, daughter of John and 
Etelsise (Barroloux) Roberts, who were 
the parents of two other children : Donat, 
born March 20, 1880, became the wife of 
Antonet Leveral, and they had two chil- 
dren, one died at birth, and Paul B., born 
1913; and Aledore, born 1894, married 
Helen Monat, born 1894, no children. 
John Roberts was born in 1859, followed 
the occupation of farming, and now, with 
his second wife, Adele (Traham-Darcy) 
Roberts, resides in Chicopee Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts. His first wife, the mother of 
Mrs. Darcy, died July 25, 1899. ^^s. 
Eliza (Roberts) Darcy did not long sur- 
vive her marriage, her death occurring 
December 22, 1912. 



BONNEVILLE. Frederick, Rev. 

Clergyman. 

Rev. Frederick Bonneville, who for the 
past twenty-five years, or since 1893, has 
been the pastor of the Church of the 
Assumption, in Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
is a man much beloved by his congrega- 
tion and highly respected by all who 
know him. He is a descendant of those 
Bonnevilles who came from Normandie 
in France to Canada, in 1656, the original 



name Bonneville De La Boutellier. The 
Rev. Father's ancestors located at La 
Prairie, capital of the County of La 
Prairie, Quebec, Canada, situated on the 
shore of the St. Lawrence, seven miles 
south of Montreal. There his grand- 
father, Antoine Bonneville, was born 
about 1792, and died in 1867, ^ farmer. 
He married a Miss Brosseau, and they 
were the parents of six children : Cyrille, 
Francis, Guillaume, Sylvestre, Odile and 
Emile. 

Guillaume Bonneville was born in La 
Prairie, Quebec, Canada, about 1853, and 
died in Montreal, Canada, in 1893. At 
the age of sixteen he left Canada, came 
to the United States, married at the age 
of eighteen, then returned to Canada, and 
became associated with the Grand Trunk 
Railroad, serving as freight agent for a 
half century until his death. He was a 
man of ability, held in esteem by his 
fellow-citizens. He was a Conservative 
in politics, and for some time mayor of 
the city in which he lived near Montreal. 
He married (first) Rosalie Stone, of Pitts- 
field, Massachusetts, who died in 1866. 
He married (second) Victorine Courte- 
mauche. Children by first marriage : 
Albert, deceased : Malvina, deceased ; and 
Frederick, of further mention. By second 
marriage : Cecile, married Eugene La- 
moureux ; Rene and Yvonne. 

Rev. Frederick Bonneville, only son of 
Guillaume Bonneville and his first wife, 
Rosalie (Stone) Bonneville, was born at 
Longuiel, Quebec, Canada, July 18, 1862. 
A few years later his parents moved to 
Montreal, Canada, where he was edu- 
cated in Montreal College, later became a 
member of the college faculty, and event- 
ually studied for the priesthood in the 
same institution, and in 1887 was ordained 
a priest of the Roman Catholic church. 
Immediately after ordination he was sent 
to the Church of the Precious Blood in 



148 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Holyoke, Massachusetts, as curate, re- 
maining there two years, going thence to 
a Mission in the towns of Mittineague 
and Long Meadow, continuing with the 
Mission three years. On May 20, 1893, 
he came to the Church of the Assumption 
in Chicopee, Massachusetts, and has since 
continuously served that congregation. 
In 191 1 the church edifice and parsonage 
were destroyed by fire. He has since pur- 
chased the Governor Robinson Mansion 
and grounds on Springfield street, Chico- 
pee ; resides there and nearby is build- 
ing a beautiful new church. 



CRISPO, Pierre Timothee, M. D., 
Fhrsician. 

For eighteen years Dr. Crispo has 
practiced the healing art at Fall River, 
Massachusetts, coming to that city from 
Sandy Bay, Quebec, Canada, where he 
had located immediately after receiving 
his degree from Laval University. These 
years at Fall River have brought him 
honors in his profession and the respect 
of his fellowmen, his position as physi- 
cian and citizen being with the most hon- 
ored. He is of Nova Scotian birth and 
parentage, a son of Timothee Crispo. who 
is now living a retired life at Sandy Bay, 
Quebec, after an active life in connection 
with the fisheries of his native island, 
and as a general merchant. Timothee 
Crispo was a son of Timothee Crispo, a 
Nova Scotian fisherman and farmer, the 
family being one of the hardiest and 
bravest among those men who each day 
fought with the elements for their daily 
substance. Timothee Crispo married 
Louise Fiset, now deceased, they the par- 
ents of eight sons and daughters : Joseph, 
Michel, Louis, Pierre Timothee, of fur- 
ther mention ; Leo, Malvina, Virginia and 
Adelaide. 

Dr. Pierre Timothee Crispo, son of 



Timothee and Louise (Fiset) Crispo, was 
born at Havre au Boucher, Antigounish 
county. Nova Scotia, Canada, November 
19, 1871. His early life was spent in 
Nova Scotia, his early education secured 
through the medium of the parish schools. 
He was ambitious to secure a profes- 
sional education, and in time was able to 
realize his hope. He completed courses 
at Little Seminary, Quebec, Canada, and 
then entered the medical department of 
Laval University, whence he was gradu- 
ated M. D., class of 1895, receiving his 
degree, April 15th of that year. With his 
newly acquired honors he chose Sandy 
Bay, Quebec, as a location, and there 
practiced his profession four years. In 
1899 he came to the United States, locat- 
ing at Fall River, Massachusetts, his 
practice there being general in its char- 
acter and continuous until the present 
(1918). He ministers to a large clientele, 
and in addition to the cares of his pri- 
vate practice has for the past six years 
been a member of the medical stafif of St. 
Anne's Hospital, Fall River. He has 
won special notice for his success in 
orthopedic cases, and is highly regarded 
by his brethren of the profession. His 
residence and offices are at No. 439 Bed- 
ford street. Fall River, Massachusetts. 

For six years Dr. Crispo has served 
upon the city Board of Health, and in his 
practice preaches ardently the doctrine 
of prevention of disease through sanitary 
surroundings and living. His profes- 
sional societies are the Fall River Medi- 
cal Society, Massachusetts Medical So- 
ciety, American Medical Association, and 
the French Physicians Society, L'Union 
Medicale de Fall River. He is a mem- 
ber of the Ligue des Patriots, Catholic 
Foresters, Union St. Jean Baptiste d' 
Amerique, the Calumet Club, and St. 
Roche Roman Catholic Church. 

Dr. Crispo married at Sandy Bay, Que- 

49 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



bee, July 20, 1896, Marie Hermine Caron, 
born at Sandy Bay, Quebec, May 10, 
1872, daughter of Ambroise Caron, a 
hotel proprietor, and his wife, Clarisse 
(Labrie) Caron, the last named being 
deceased. Dr. and Mrs. Crispo are the 
parents of: Ronald, born June 12, 1897; 
Angelina B., December 8, 1900; Juliette 
Y., June ID, 1903 ; Charles E., September 
4, 1904 ; Blanche A., July 20, 1906. 



ASHLEY, Edmund Aaron, 

Expert Salesman. 

Since March, 1903, Mr. Ashley has 
been identified with the Japanese Tissue 
Mills of Holyoke, Massachusetts. He 
is of the seventh generation of the fam- 
ily founded by Robert Ashley. He has 
lived at West Springfield, Syracuse and 
Holyoke, the former being his birthplace. 

Robert Ashley, the founder, was an 
early resident of Springfield, then called 
Nayasett, having located in that town 
three years after William Pyncheon had 
made his settlement there. The lands 
that he had alloted to him, January 5, 
1640, comprised the four acres upon a 
part of which his homestead stood, on 
what is now the northwest corner of Main 
and State streets, extending back to 
Spring street, his planting lot being an 
additional tract of seventy acres on the 
west bank of the Connecticut river. Only 
four men in the settlement had so large 
an allottment, one of them being Major 
Pyncheon. Robert Ashley later had 
other grants, among them being land on 
Mill river, in 1646, on the condition that 
he would "keep an ordinary." But at this 
time the first prohibitory law in America 
regarding the sale of liquor was passed 
and immediately affected him. It read as 
follows: "Require you upon your perill 
that ye henceforth forbear to sell eyther 
wine or strong waters to any Indian." He 



resigned the ordinary in 1660. He was a 
man much called into public service and 
was a strong and masterful personality. 
He was frequently called to act as jury- 
man, and in many other transactions of 
the town the records give his name a 
prominent place. In 1653, at the reorgan- 
ization of the town of Springfield by the 
younger men, Robert Ashley was chosen 
first selectman in 1657, and was annually 
elected until 1659, and also in 1660, 1662, 
and 1665. He took the oath of fidelity, 
March 23, 1655-56, and was chosen, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1659, the town constable, and 
March 5, 1659, was chosen sealer of 
weights and measures. He seems to have 
felt much interest in the welfare of the 
village church, and always paid promptly 
his proportion of the tax for it mainte- 
nance. He was a man of strong character 
and bore well his part in the building of 
the town. He died November 25, 1682, 
leaving a family including a son, Joseph 
Ashley, through whom the descent of this 
line is traced. He married (intention 
published August 7, 1641) the "widow 
Horton" (first name Mary), who died 
September 19, 1683. Their children were: 
I and 2. David and a daughter (died at 
birth) twins, born June 3, 1642. 3. Mary, 
born April 6, 1644, married John Root, of 
Westfield. 4. Jonathan, born February 
25, 1645-46. 5. Sarah, born August 23, 
1648. 6. Joseph, of whom further. 

(II) Joseph Ashley, youngest son of 
Robert and Mary (Horton) Ashley, was 
born in Springfield, July 6. 1652, and died 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, May 
18, 1698. Joseph Ashley took up his set- 
tlement on the west side of the Connecti- 
cut river in the region that is now West 
Springfield. Having inherited all his 
father's land, he was a large land owner 
in that part of the country. His home- 
stead was in the River Dale district of 
West Springfield. His descendants be- 



150 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



came so numerous that that part of the 
town where most of them lived was called 
Ashleyville. It is stated in the "History 
of the Connecticut Valley," vol. 2, p. 907: 
"It is a fact worthy of note that the 
Ashleys as a family, during the entire long 
period they have lived in West Spring- 
field, have been among the first in thrift, 
respectability and in all interests tending 
to advance the well-being of society." Jo- 
seph Ashley was chosen surveyor of the 
highways in the east side of the town in 
1676 and 1677. On January i, 1678-79, 
he took the oath of allegiance to the col- 
ony, and in 1682 he was made the town 
constable, serving until 1684. He mar- 
ried, October 16, 1685, in Springfield, 
Mary Parsons, daughter of Cornet Joseph 
and Mary (Bliss) Parsons, who was born 
June 27, 1661, in Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts. Their children were: i. Jo- 
seph, born July 27, 1686. 2. Ebenezer, 
born about 1688. 3. Benjamin, of whom 
further. 4. Mary, born February 4, 1692 ; 
married William Parsons, of Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts. 5. Abigail, born July 
13' 1695; married Ebenezer Morgan. 

(Ill) Benjamin Ashley, youngest son 
of Joseph and Mary (Parsons) Ashley, 
was born February 20, 1691, in W^est 
Springfield, Massachusetts, and died May 
II, 1772, at the age of eighty-three. He 
was brought up by his stepfather, Joseph 
Alliston, and learned, when he came to 
man's estate, the trade of carpenter and 
housewright. Fie accumulated consider- 
able property, which at his death included 
among other things a wharf, a mill-pond 
and mills and a large amount of land. He 
was town constable in 1742. He married, 
December 31, 1726, Jane Shaw, a native 
of Ireland, who died in 1788, at the age 
of eighty-seven. Their children were : i. 
Mary, born December 21, 1727; married 
Asahel Taylor. 2. Aaron, born April 14, 
1729. 3. Moses, born July 23, 1731. 4. 



David, of whom further. 5. Benjamin, 
born November 14, 1736. 6. John, born 
June 20, 1740. 

(IV) David Ashley, son of Benjamin 
and Jane (Shaw) Ashley, was born July 
19. 1735' and died March 28, 1813. He 
was a prosperous farmer and owned large 
tracts of land in West Springfield. He 
was constable in 1775, and held other 
offices in the service of the community. 
He was a soldier in the Revolution, and 
his name appears in the roll of Captain 
Reuben Munn's company. Colonel Nicho- 
las Dike's regiment, dated, Roxbury, 
Massachusetts, September 17, 1776. He 
was commissioned second lieutenant of 
the Fourteenth Company (Captain John 
Morgan) Third Hampshire Company 
County Regiment (Colonel John Mose- 
ley) in the Massachusetts militia, on Sep- 
tember 18, 1777. Three days later he 
enlisted as lieutenant in Captain Levi 
Ely's company, and served in the "expe- 
dition to the northward." He married, in 
South Hadley, Massachusetts, Meribah 
Gaylord, daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth (Scoville) Gaylord, who was born 
July 3, 1746, and died February 7, 1810, 
in Ashleyville. Their children were: I. 
David, born May 15, 1769. 2. Solomon, 
June 15, 1770. 3. Josiah, born October 6, 
1772, died 1773. 4. Noah, born Novem- 
ber 7, 1775. 5. Eunice, born in 1777; 
married Eli Ashley, in 1802. 6. Justin, 
born 1780. 7. Lucretia, May i, 1782; 
married Genubath Bliss. 8. Enoch, born 
September 29, 1784. 9. Aaron, of whom 
further. 

(V) Aaron Ashley, son of Lieutenant 
David and Meribah (Gaylord) Ashley, 
was born in West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, April 19, 1786, and died there, Feb- 
ruary II, 1867. He passed his life in Ash- 
leyville, where he owned an excellent 
farm. His old house was burned and he 
built one of brick in its place which still 



151 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



stands on the river road. He was the 
most conspicuous Ashley of his time, and 
was a very public-spirited citizen. He 
was an active member of the Hampden 
County Agricultural Society, and helped 
in the laying out of Hampden Park. He 
figured prominently in the affairs of the 
town, and was moderator in 1857 and 
1858. His name is found in all the rec- 
ords which tell of movements for public 
improvement of any kind. He married 
(first) November 7, 181 1, Almira Smith, 
and (second) Charlotte Ashley, daughter 
of Captain Moses and Mary (Ashley) 
Ashley. Children of Aaron Ashley: i. 
Edmund, born in 1813, died unmarried in 
1862. 2. Jennette Sophia, born in 1816; 
married Albert A. Hudson, of Syracuse, 
New York. 3. Charles Aaron, of whom 
further. 

(VI) Charles Aaron Ashley, son of 
Aaron Ashley, was born in 1829, and died 
August 17, 1880, in West Springfield. He 
owned a hundred acre farm near Spring- 
field, which he cultivated all his life, and 
was one of the substantial farmers of the 
district. He maintained a dairy at the 
farm, keeping about twenty cows, and 
selling their product in the nearby city of 
Springfield. He was accounted a pro- 
gressive and up-to-date farmer by all his 
colleagues, and he died a wealthy man. 
He married, February 11, 1862, Sarah 
Maria Ashley, daughter of David and 
Diadema (Day) Ashley, of West Spring- 
field. Their children were: i. Mary 
Estella, born in 1863, died in 1864. 2. 
Edmund Aaron, of whom further. 3. 
Charles Daniel, born August 24, 1868, 
died 1869. 4. Fannie Maria, born March 
27, 1870; married Louis L. Moore, and 
resides in Holyoke, Massachusetts. 5. 
Jennette Hudson, born December 2, 1873, 
died April 8, 1876. 

(VII) Edmund Aaron Ashley, eldest 
son of Charles Aaron and Sarah Maria 



(Ashley) Ashley, was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, February 17, 
1865. He was educated in the public 
schools of West Springfield, and also at- 
tended private schools for a time. After the 
death of his mother he made his home with 
a cousin in Syracuse, New York, for a time, 
and in that city held his first position, 
spending four years in a wholesale gro- 
cery house. He then returned to Massa- 
chusetts, and for a time conducted a liv- 
ery business in Holyoke, and after selling 
his interest in that venture was selling 
agent for the Holyoke Spring Water 
Company. He then, in 1903, formed an 
association with the Japanese Tissue 
Mills as a traveling salesman in the East- 
ern and Middle States, his territory in- 
cluding the cities of New York, Philadel- 
phia, Baltimore and Washington. He has 
continued with these mills in this capac- 
ity until the present (1918), and is one of 
the corporation's valued salesmen. He is 
a member of the Holyoke Canoe Club, and 
with his wife, of the Baptist church. 

Mr. Ashley married, November 17, 
1906, Daisy Wilson, daughter of William 
H. and Kate B. (Smith) Wilson. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ashley are the parents of a 
daughter, Sarah Hudson, born December 
29, 1909. 



BOND, George Whitfield, 

General Secretary, Y. M, C. A. 

A resident of West Springfield for the 
past ten years, Mr. Bond has been during 
that time connected with the rail- 
road department of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. Mr. Bond is also 
officially identified with town affairs, and 
is well known as a local preacher of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

Luke William Bond, father of George 
Whitfield Bond, was born in Cornwall, 
England, as was his father before him. 



152 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGIL^PHY 



and at the age of five years was brought 
to Canada, receiving his education in the 
pubHc schools of Oshua, Ontario. As a 
young man he had some military train- 
ing at St. Catherine's, Canada, and later 
he went to Port Henry, New York, where 
he engaged in business as a contractor 
and builder. Politically he was a Re- 
publican. Mr. Bond married Margaret, 
daughter of William Hall, a farmer of 
Oshua, Ontario, who died at that place. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bond were the parents of 
the following children: James H., mar- 
ried Mary Ormsbee ; William J., married 
Delia Hardwick; Frederick W., married 
Elizabeth Bouchard ; Albert L., married 
Marie Porter; George Whitfield, men- 
tioned below ; Catherine May, wife of 
Arthur Simmons ; and Maud Ella, wife of 
James Beaubiah. The death of Mr. Bond 
occurred in October, 1908, in Troy, New 
York, and his widow is still living in 
Schenectady, New York, at the age of 
eighty-one. She and her husband were 
(and Mrs. Bond is) of the same religious 
communion, holding membership in the 
Redding Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Troy, New York, in which Mr. Bond 
served on the official board. It should be 
stated that the children are all living with 
the exception of Albert L., who died June 
17, 1917, at the age of forty-eight. James 
H. is of Port Henry, New York, William 
J., of Schenectady, New York, Frederick 
W., of Springfield, Massachusetts, and 
Mrs. Simmons and Mrs. Beaubiah reside, 
respectively, at Walker, Washington, D. 
C, and Syracuse, New York. 

George Whitfield Bond, son of Luke 
William and Margaret (Hall) Bond, was 
born November 5, 1872, at East Middle- 
bury, Vermont, and grew to manhood at 
Port Henry, New York, receiving his 
education at the high school. For twenty- 
one years Mr. Bond was engaged in the 
shirt manufacturing business, first for the 



Port Henry Shirt Company and later for 
George P. Ide & Company. He was em- 
ployed in both Port Henry and Troy, and 
for a long period held the position of 
manager. Feeling a decided inclination 
for religious and benevolent work, and 
having developed an exceptional aptitude 
for it, Mr. Bond, on January i, 1907, went 
to New York City, where he associated 
himself with the railroad work of the 
Young Men's Christian Association. After 
three and a half years' steady employ- 
ment in the metropolis he left there, on 
July I, 1910, for a new field of labor, com- 
ing to the Railroad Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he took the posi- 
tion of general secretary and in which he 
is still actively and fruitfully occupied. 
Upon coming here, Mr. Bond found the 
conveniences very meager, the office of 
the secretary, and in fact the only head- 
quarters of the organization were in six 
disused old passenger coaches. He im- 
mediately took steps to better these con- 
ditions, and after five years of hard work, 
during which time he drew the plans, on 
January 25, 1915, he had the pleasure of 
opening a completed building ranking 
third in size in North America of build- 
ings of this class. It has a beautiful 
assembly hall, a dining hall seating one 
hundred people and one hundred and 
eight sleeping rooms, an ornament to the 
town of West Springfield and a great con- 
venience to the large number of railroad 
men employed there, and an honor to Mr. 
Bond. Since 1912 he has held a license 
as a local preacher of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, his ministrations having 
proved very acceptable and productive of 
good results. In community afifairs Mr. 
Bond has always taken a public-spirited 
interest, and for the last year has served 
on the Republican town committee. He 



153 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



belongs to Teco Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Bond married, September i, 1909, 
Jessie A. Ives, and they are the parents 
of four children : Donald Harrison, born 
June 8, 1910; Howard Whitfield, born 
August 8, 191 1 ; Lillian Estella, born Oc- 
tober 19, 1912; and Raymond Ives, born 
February 19, 1914. 

The life of George Whitfield Bond may 
be said to have been divided into two 
periods ; the former that of a business 
man and the latter that of a religious 
worker. In both he has an exemplary 
record — that of one who has been useful 
to his fellow-men. 

William Harrison Ives, father of Mrs. 
Jessie A. (Ives) Bond, was a farmer of 
East Poestenkill, New York, and Bruns- 
wick, a suburb of Troy, New York. He 
married Arvilla Randall, a native of East 
Poestenkill, and their children were : 
Frederick H., married Emma Heddon, 
and lives in Troy, New York ; Frank D., 
married Delia Bawcus, and died in 1901, 
in Brunswick, New York; Albert H., 
married Jennie Williams, and lives at Los 
Angeles, California ; Adella M., wife of 
Edward J. Paul, of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut; Grace E., died in infancy; and Jessie 
A., born in 1880, in Brunswick, New 
York, became the wife of George Whit- 
field Bond, as stated above. Mr. and Mrs. 
Ives died in Brunswick, New York. 



VEZINA, Stanislas, 

Contractor, Builder. 

This is the name of one of the well- 
known .contractors and builders of the 
town of West Springfield, a citizen who 
always manifests a helpful interest in 
community affairs and takes a prominent 
part in the promotion of the fraternal 
interests and religious work of his home 
town. 



Nicholas Vezina, grandfather of Stanis- 
las Vezina, was born in Canada and there 
spent his entire life. He owned and cul- 
tivated a large farm, was an Independent 
in politics, and a member of the Roman 
Catholic church. Mr. Vezina married 

Tuote, and they were the parents 

of seven children, all of whom lived to a 
good old age. Mr. and Mrs. Vezina both 
passed away in Canada, the death of the 
former occurring in 1864. 

Moise Vezina, son of Nicholas and 

(Tuote) Vezina, was born in 1826, 

in Canada, and attended the public schools 
of his neighborhood. Like his father he 
was a farmer, and in politics an Inde- 
pendent. He married Marcellin Marien, 
and their children were : Thomas, Ovila, 
Stanislas, mentioned below ; Ferdenant, 
Celina, Damas, died at the age of fifty- 
three ; Euphasie, died at the age of fifty- 
two ; Fabien, died at the age of seven 
years ; Atala, died at the age of five ; 
Marie Louise, died at the age of three ; 
and two other daughters died in infancy. 
Mr. Vezina died in Canada, in February, 
1903, and his wife also passed away in 
her native country at the advanced age 
of eighty-six. Both were members of the 
Roman Catholic church. 

Stanislas Vezina, son of Moise and Mar- 
cellin (Marien) Vezina, was born August 
18, 1859, in Canada, where he received his 
education in public schools. In 1880, 
being then twenty-one years old, he came 
to the United States, settling in Michi- 
gan, where for twelve years he followed 
the carpenter's trade. During a portion 
of this time he was employed by Thomas 
A. Edison and he proved that he was a 
superior workman, so much so that when, 
about 1892, Mr. Edison went to Newark, 
New Jersey, for the purpose of erecting 
some large buildings in that city he took 
Mr. Vezina with him for the purpose of 
placing him in charge of the millwright 



154 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and carpentry department. He had under 
his direction one hundred and thirty-five 
carpenters and sixty mechanics represent- 
ing other lines of industry, and for the 
following three years he was steadily 
employed on Mr. Edison's buildings in 
Newark. 

At the end of that time Mr. Vezina 
came to Springfield, where he was em- 
ployed on the magnificent group of 
municipal buildings of that city, among 
the finest of any city of its size in the 
world, afterward establishing himself in 
business as a contractor and builder. His 
enterprise was crowned with success and 
he has done a large amount of building. 
Recently he built for himself a house on 
Worcester street. West Springfield, and 
here has since made his home. 

In politics Mr. Vezina is an Independ- 
ent, and from 1883 to 1890 was highway 
commissioner in Baraga county, Michi- 
gan, having charge of all the highway 
work in the county. He is a charter mem- 
ber of Merrick Lodge, No. 180, Ancient 
Order of United Workmen, of West 
Springfield, having been connected with 
it ever since it was founded twenty-four 
years ago, and since 1898 has been a mem- 
ber of Branch No. 14 of the Catholic Mu- 
tual Benefit Association. Since 1897 he 
has belonged to what is now the Franco- 
American Order of Foresters, having 
passed all the chairs in these orders. On 
September 3, 4 and 5, 1917, he attended 
the convention held by the society in 
Woonsocket, Rhode Island, this being the 
thirty-third convention tO' which he has 
been a delegate of the different bodies of 
which he is a member. He and his wife 
are members of the Roman Catholic 
church. 

Mr. Vezina married, August 25, 1879, 
Delvina, born in 1858, in Canada, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Victoria (Ethiel) Pleau, 
who were the parents of thirteen children. 



Mr. Pleau was a farmer in Canada, and 
died at the age of seventy-six, his wife 
having passed away in 1880 when fifty- 
seven years old. Following are the ten 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Vezina, eight of 
whom are living: i. Eutidiene, born in 
1880; married Philip La Brenche, of 
West Springfield ; of the fourteen chil- 
dren born to them twelve are now living. 
2. Ermandienna, born in 1882; married 
Alphonse Cote, of Springfield ; they have 
six children. 3. Armeline, born in 1884; 
married Charles Swift, of Springfield ; 
they have one child. 4. Clementine, born 
in 1887; married Asker Roy Butler, of 
Springfield; they have five children. 5. 
Malenie, born in 1890, unmarried, and 
keeps house for her father. 6. and 7. 
Amery and Amelle, twins, born in 1892. 
8. Henry, born in 1897. 9. Alfred, born 
in 1899. 10. Etienne, died at the age of 
three weeks. Of the above eight chil- 
dren and twenty-four grandchildren, all 
are residing in Springfield and West 
Springfield, and it is customary on Christ- 
mas for the entire forty to gather at the 
home of the father and grandfather. 

Stanislas Vezina is a fine type of the 
self-made man who has built up for him- 
self in a new country a lucrative business 
and a place in society, winning for him- 
self at the same time the esteem and con- 
fidence of his fellow-citizens. 

Francois Marien, father of Mrs. Mar- 
cellin (Marien) Vezina, was a farmer in 
Canada, and married Catherine, daughter 
of Auguste H. Maloin, who died at the 
age of ninety-eight, and whose other chil- 
dren were : Auguste, Matteley and 
Adella. Auguste H. Maloin was a son 
of Auguste Maloin, who lived to the ex- 
traordinary age of one hundred and 
three. Mr. and Mrs. Marien were the 
parents of twenty-six children, among 
whom were the following: Matihas, 
deceased; Narcisse, deceased; Damas, 



155 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



deceased ; George, deceased ; Zenobe, 
deceased ; Joseph, deceased ; Auguste, 
deceased ; Francois, deceased ; Allise, de- 
ceased ; Marcellin, died aged eighty-six; 
Odille ; Dometille ; Aglae, deceased; Phil- 
omenne. Mr. Marien died in Canada at 
the age of ninety-seven. 



SULLIVAN, Leo Jeremiah, 
Physician. 

Leo Jeremiah Sullivan, one of the most 
active and successful among the rising 
physicians of Fall River, Massachusetts, 
is himself a native of this city, but by 
parentage is an Irishman and displays in 
his person and character the peculiar abil- 
ities and talents of his race. He is a son 
of Cornelius Sullivan, who was born at 
Castleton, Ireland, and of Julia Frances 
(Kelley) Sullivan, his wife, who is also 
a native of that place. Mr. Sullivan, Sr., 
came to this country as a young man and 
engaged in Fall River, Massachusetts, in 
a general grocery and meat business in 
which he met with notable success. He 
was a Roman Catholic in his religious 
belief and attended St. Mary's Church in 
this city, while in politics he was an In- 
dependent Democrat. 

Born July 27, 1884, in the city of Fall 
River, Leo Jeremiah Sullivan has made 
this place his home and the headquarters 
of his active professional career. For his 
education he attended the schools of his 
native city, studying both in the public 
schools and at St. Mary's Parochial 
School. He was then sent by his father 
to the Bradford Matthew Chaloner Durfee 
High School of Fall River and studied at 
this well-known institution for two years. 
Upon completing his course here he aban- 
doned his studies for a time and entered 
the drug business, where he gained a keen 
insight into the subject of medicine, to 
say nothing of a wide knowledge thereof. 
Eventually he decided to make medicine 



his profession, and accordingly entered 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons of 
Baltimore, Maryland, from which he was 
graduated with the class of 1912, taking 
his degree of medical doctor. For the 
eighteen months following his gradua- 
tion, he filled the post of interne in the 
Fall River City Hospital at Fall River, 
thus supplementing his theoretical knowl- 
edge with the requisite practical experi- 
ence. Toward the latter part of 191 3 he 
established himself in practice in Fall 
River and has here built up a most satis- 
factory and high class clientele in spite 
of the comparatively few years in which 
he has been known here in this capacity. 
His professional colleagues and the gen- 
eral public are at one in holding him to 
be possessed of remarkable judgment and 
skill in one so young and he enjoys the 
confidence of the community in general. 
He is a profound student of his subject 
and keeps himself well abreast of the 
most modern advances in his science. 

Like his father before him, Dr. Sulli- 
van is an Independent Democrat in his 
political affiliations, but the demands of 
his profession are such that it is quite 
impossible to do more in the political life 
of the community than is required of all 
good citizens, namely to interest himself 
in the local and general issues of the time 
and to cast his ballot as his conscience 
and best judgment dictate. Nor is he 
more active in the social or club life of 
Fall River than in the political, and is a 
member of no organizations save those 
connected with his profession, namely, 
the Fall River Medical Society and the 
Massachusetts State Medical Society. He 
attends strictly to his professional tasks 
and although he is thus debarred from 
taking part in many departments for 
which his talents and abilities well fit 
him, his practice is certainly the better 
for it. 



136 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



PERKINS, John Lewis, 

Business Man. 

John Lewis Perkins, president of the 
B. F. Perkins & Son Company, of Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, comes of an old 
New England family dating back to the 
early part of the sixteenth century when 
two brothers joined the community of 
Hampton, New Hampshire, and were 
assigned adjoining house lots of five acres 
each. The men were Abraham and Isaac 
Perkins. 

(I) The lot assigned to Isaac Perkins 
was near the site of the present Baptist 
parsonage in Hampton, New Hampshire, 
and there he resided ten years. In June, 
1652, he purchased from the Rev. Timothy 
Dalton for fifty pounds a farm adjoining 
the Salisbury line, now in Seabrook, 
where he resided until his death in No- 
vember, 1685. His wife, Susannah Per- 
kins, was the mother of the following 
children : Lydia, Rebecca, Isaac, Jacob, 
Daniel, Caleb, of further mention ; Susan- 
nah, Ebenezer, Benjamin, Joseph, Hannah 
and Mary. 

(II) Caleb Perkins, fourth son of Isaac 
and Susannah Perkins, resided in Hamp- 
ton, New Hampshire. He married, April 
24, 1677, Bertha Phillbrick, born Septem- 
ber II, 1651, daughter of Thomas and Ann 
(Knapp) Phillbrick, of Hampton. They 
were the parents of one son, Benjamin, of 
further mention. 

(HI) Benjamin Perkins, only son of 
Caleb and Bertha (Phillbrick) Perkins, 
was born in Hampton, New Hampshire, 
May II, 1680, but passed his life at 
Hampton Falls. He married, March i, 
1710, Lydia McCrease, and they were the 
parents of three sons : Joseph, of further 
mention ; Daniel and Jonathan. 

(IV) Joseph Perkins, eldest son of 
Benjamin and Lydia (McCrease) Per- 
kins, was born at Hampton Falls, New 



Hampshire, May 5, 1712, and there passed 
his life. He married, October 31, 1734, 
Elizabeth Dow, and they were the par- 
ents of three sons : David, Daniel, and 
Benjamin, of further mention. 

(V) Benjamin Perkins, third son of 
Joseph and Elizabeth (Dow) Perkins, was 
born at Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, 
October 17, 1746, and settled at Wake- 
field, New Hampshire. He and his wife 
Abigail had the following children : Ben- 
jamin, of further mention ; John, Wil- 
liam, David, Isaiah, Joseph, Caleb, Brad- 
bury and Ruth. 

(VI) Benjamin (2) Perkins, eldest son 
of Benjamin (i) and Abigail Perkins, was 
born at Wakefield, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 12, 1774. He married Ruth 
Worthen, and they were the parents of 
the following children : Joseph, of fur- 
ther mention ; Enoch, Mary, Lydia and 
Ruth. 

(VII) Joseph Perkins, eldest son of 
Benjamin (2) and Ruth (Worthen) Per- 
kins, was born in 1804, and died in Graf- 
ton, New Hampshire, in 1842. He mar- 
ried Susan Colby, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children : Frank S., 
who died in 1900, and who was a manu- 
facturer of machine tools in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, having a record of building 
seven hundred engine lathes ; he married 
and had two sons, George and Frank, 
both deceased, and two daughters, Laura 
and Susan ; Joseph, who was killed in 
battle during the Civil War; Cyrus, who 
enlisted with his brother Joseph, but 
safely passed the perils of war, later being 
a partner with his brother Frank S. in 
the manufacturing of machine tools in 
Lowell, Massachusetts ; he married and 
left children : Frank, Joseph, Mabel, 
Maud, Susan and Laura ; Benjamin 
Franklin, of further mention. 

(VIII) Benjamin Franklin Perkins, son 
of Joseph and Susan (Colby) Perkins, 

[57 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was born at Sunapee, Sullivan county, 
New Hampshire, July 21, 1826, and died 
in Holyoke, Massachusetts, October 21, 
1900. His parents moved to Lebanon, 
New Hampshire, in 1833, and in 1839 to 
Grafton in the same State. He attended 
school in both towns, but after the death 
of his father in 1842 he entered the em- 
ploy of Fifield & Choate as an apprentice 
to learn the trade of locksmith. He 
remained with them for three years, then 
spent about a year in Nashua, New 
Hampshire, in the employ of the Nashua 
Lock Company. Later he went with 
John H. Gage as apprentice to the trade 
of machinist, working under his instruc- 
tion for one year. He then spent five 
years in Manchester, New Hampshire, in 
the employ of the Amoskeag Corporation 
in their machine repairing department, 
leaving in 1851 to go to Selma, Alabama, 
where he spent a year with the Selma 
Manufacturing Company. For a short 
time after his return from the South he 
was with the Agawam Cotton Manufac- 
turing Company, of Mitteneaque, going 
next to the Hadley Mills Company, of 
Holyoke, now the Lyman Mills Com- 
pany, of that city, as a machine repairer, 
remaining here five years. In 1857 he 
went to the Hampden Mills as master 
mechanic, and superintendent, having full 
charge of the mechanical department 
until 1865. In that year he resigned and 
went to North Adams, Massachusetts, as 
superintendent of the Freeman Manufac- 
turing Company, remaining there five 
years. In 1867 he was induced to return 
to the Hampden Mills Company, of Hol- 
yoke, continuing with that corporation 
until 1873. In November, 1873, he estab- 
lished a general jobbing and machine 
shop business on Front street, Holyoke, 
removing in 1879 to No. 12 Appleton 
street. This venture proved a very suc- 
cessful one, and in 1883 he sought still 



more commodious quarters on Cabot 
street. Here he continued until 1888, 
when his plant with all its contents was 
totally destroyed by fire, causing a loss 
of $22,000 worth of property on which he 
had but $5,000 insurance. But with un- 
daunted courage he began again, serving 
his customers at the old Appleton street 
shop and there beginning the rebuilding 
of his fortune. In March, 1888, he admit- 
ted his son, John Lewis Perkins, as a 
partner, and for a number of years they 
conducted the business as B. F. Perkins & 
Son. They prospered and later built 
a large and adequate plant modernly 
equipped, for the manufacture of various 
machines, the quality of machine work 
done by this firm ranking as the very best. 
In addition to their other business, in 
1889, the firm purchased a half interest 
in the paper mill at South Hadley, Massa- 
chusetts, owned by J. H. Shannon, oper- 
ating on this basis until 1893, when they 
became sole owners of both plant and 
business. This start in the paper busi- 
ness was the nucleus of all the present 
Perkins activites and which have been 
consolidated in the Japanese Tissue Mills, 
a corporation incorporated under Massa- 
chusetts Laws with one million dollars 
capital. Mr. Perkins, Sr., continued active 
in the business until his death in 1900, 
since which time it has been conducted by 
his son, John Lewis Perkins. Mr. Per- 
kins, Sr., was of an inventive turn of 
mind and perfected a number of inven- 
tions, which proved of great value. The 
first telephone invented by Mr. Bell, one 
of the present marvels of the age, was 
first brought to perfection by him and 
demonstrated to a number of his intimate 
friends in Mr. Perkins' machine shop on 
Front street, Holyoke, Massachusetts. 
These telephones, together with switch- 
board, were later sent to the original Bell 

58 




^ , <-^%4^:^Z^^Ln^^ 



f y 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Telephone Company, then located at New 
Haven, Connecticut. 

Benjamin Franklin Perkins married 
(first) in 1848, Ruth Cross Hartwell, who 
died in 1862, leaving children: George, 
Clayton Hartwell (whose sketch follows), 
Frederick, Charles, Edward and William. 
He married (second) December 24, 1862, 
Ellen M. Cross, a cousin of his first wife, 
daughter of Ephraim and Susan C. (Cor- 
liss) Cross. They were the parents of a 
son, John Lewis, of further mention. 

(IX) John Lewis Perkins, only son of 
Benjamin Franklin and Ellen M. (Cross) 
Perkins, was born in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, November 12, 1865. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools, and in 1884 
finished his high school course with grad- 
uation. During his later school years he 
kept his father's books, and at the same 
time was employed as night operator in 
the Bell Telephone Central Ofifice. He 
was associated in business with his father 
as an assistant until 1888, being then 
admitted to partnership. In 1900, after 
the death of his father, he succeeded him 
as head of the firm of B. F. Perkins & 
Son, so continuing until 1906, when the 
business was incorporated as B. F. Per- 
kins & Son, Inc., John Lewis Perkins, 
president, the company's products being 
well and favorably known throughout the 
world. In addition to the above, Mr. Per- 
kins is the founder and president of the 
Japanese Tissue Mills, a consolidation of 
several paper interests, in which he has 
large interests. He is also a director of 
the Park National Bank, of Holyoke, and 
is a member of several of the city clubs, 
but is emphatically the business man and 
as such ranks very high in quality and ca- 
pacity. 

Mr. Perkins married, October 14, 1895, 
Malvena Perron, of Holyoke, and they 
are the parents of the following children : 
Benjamin Franklin (2), now a student at 



Rensselaer Polytechnic School at Troy, 
New York; John Lewis, Jr., now a stu- 
dent at St. Johns Military School, Man- 
lius. New York ; and an only daughter, 
Marion E., now attending a private 
school. 



PERKINS, Clayton Hartwell, 

Inspection Official. 

Clayton Hartwell Perkins, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, who has for many years 
been connected with the inspection de- 
partment of the Associated Factories 
Mutual Insurance Company, with offices 
at No. 31 Milk street, Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, is the son of Benjamin Franklin 
Perkins, whose sketch precedes this. 

Clayton H. Perkins was born in Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, December 12, 
1849, but in 1853 his parents moved to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts where he at- 
tended public schools until he was fifteen 
years old. The following five years were 
spent in Lowell, Massachusetts, with his 
uncle, Frank E. Perkins, a manufacturer 
of machine tools. In Lowell he attended 
school, and under his uncle's instruction 
learned the tool making business from its 
mechanical side. In 1868 he returned to 
Holyoke and was employed there for a 
time in the Hampden Gotten Mills, going 
thence to the Farr Alpaca Company as 
master mechanic, and later becoming 
mechanical superintendent. He continued 
in this position until 1890, when he began 
his long connection with the inspection 
department of the Factory Mutual Fire 
Insurance Companies, the work of this 
department being to inspect thoroughly 
all plants insured by either or all of the 
nineteen companies contributing to the 
upkeep of the department, prepare plans, 
make adjustment of fire losses, value 
property, and furnish fire protection engi- 
neering. Twenty-eight years have since 

159 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



elapsed and he is still in the same employ, 
inspecting plants from the Atlantic to 
Kansas City, and from the Southern 
States northward into Canada, and 
throughout the Provinces. Seven years 
are required to cover his territory, neces- 
sitating the traveling of about forty thou- 
sand miles annually, and during this time 
he inspects the following fire insur- 
ance companies : Manufacturers of Provi- 
dence ; Rhode Island of Providence ; Bos- 
ton Manufacturers, Boston ; Firemen's, 
Providence ; State, Providence ; Wor- 
cester Manufacturers, Worcester; Ark- 
wright, Boston ; Blackstone, Providence ; 
Fall River Manufacturers, Fall River ; Me- 
chanics, Providence ; What Cheer, Prov- 
idence ; Enterprise, Providence; Mer- 
chants, Providence ; Hope, Providence ; 
Cotton and Woolen Manufacturers, Bos- 
ton ; American, Providence ; Philadel- 
phia Manufacturers, Philadelphia ; Rub- 
ber Manufacturers, Boston; Paper Mill 
Manufacturers, Boston. 

In addition to the inspection he has 
made and the forty thousand miles trav- 
eled annually, he has adjusted one hun- 
dred and five fire losses during his 
twenty-eight years with the department, 
and is now compelled to devote himself 
entirely to the duties of his position, but 
formerly he was director of the Holyoke 
Co-operative Bank, and for many years a 
member of the Republican City Commit- 
tee. He is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and attends the 
Second Congregational Church. 

Mr. Perkins married, December 21, 
1870, Ellen Lee, of Kilbane, Quebec, Can- 
ada, daughter of James and Mary Lee. 
Mr. and Mrs. Perkins are the parents of 
two daughters : Gertrude, married Ed- 
ward D. Lamb, and they have a son, Clay- 
ton Hartwell ; and Mabel, married Roger 
William McCorkindale, and they have a 
son, Leslie Jean McCorkindale, born De- 
cember 29, 1907. 



ROSA, Henry Antonia, M. D., 

Physician, 

The Rosa family is of Portugese origin, 
and a branch thereof was long established 
in Brazil, South America, where it par- 
ticipated in the development of the nation 
which is among the most progressive of 
the Latin-American countries. It is 
to-day a great republic, and to its ad- 
vancement to that condition the Rosa 
family contributed in no small degree. 
The first known to the present writer was 
Manuel Rosa, who died in Brazil. Noth- 
ing is known of his wife, and the name of 
only one of his two sons has been pre- 
served. He was a ship builder by occu- 
pation. 

Antonio Martin Rosa, son of Manuel 
Rosa, was born in 1827, in Fayol, Azore 
Islands, and died in 1909, at the age of 
eighty-two years, in Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. By occupation he was a whaler. 
He was a man of liberal mind and prin- 
ciples, a liberal in religion, and not bound 
by party dictates in political action. He 
married Mary Nunes, born in 1838, in 
the Azore Islands, of an ancient family 
there. 

Henry Antonio Rosa, son of Antonio 
Martin and Alary (Nunes) Rosa, was 
born February 22, 1875, in New Bedford, 
Massachusetts. He was early actuated 
by a desire for education, and after pass- 
ing through the public schools of New 
Bedford he entered a Boston high school, 
where he prepared for college. In 1899 he 
received the degree of M. D. from the 
University of Maryland, and supple- 
mented his medical education by experi- 
ence in the hospitals of Baltimore. In 
1900 he settled in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Fall River, Massachusetts, and 
is now in the midst of a large general 
practice in that city, with office on Co- 
lumbia street. Dr. Rosa is an earnest 
student, a man of broad mind and sympa- 



160 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



thetic nature, and is eminently fitted by 
nature and by training for the practice 
of his profession, in which he has already 
achieved a marked success. He is a trus- 
tee of the Municipal Hospital, and has 
been president of most of the Portugese 
fraternal societies of Fall River. In poli- 
tics he styles himself a Roosevelt Repub- 
lican. He is a man of progressive spirit, 
ardently interested in the American sys- 
tem of freedom for all and liberal gov- 
ernment, and is a true American citizen, 
esteemed as such by his contemporaries, 
and respected everywhere as a citizen. 
In 1898, during the Spanish-American 
war, he served three months in the hospi- 
tal corps of the United States forces. Dr. 
Rosa does not accept any of the old estab- 
lished religions as suited to the needs of 
modern life. As a believer in universal 
brotherhood and manhood, he is a social- 
ist of modern type, and endeavors by all 
means within his power to promote the 
general welfare of the human race. 



WILLIAMS, Frederick Charles, 

Efficiency Expert. 

Frederick Charles Williams, of West- 
field, general manager and treasurer of 
the Textile Manufacturing Company of 
that city, is a son of Frederick Williams, 
who was born in London, England, and 
there died aged 40 years. 

Frederick Williams grew to youthful 
manhood in London, becoming thor- 
oughly educated along engineering and 
technical lines. When a young man he 
became attached to the staff of Governor 
General Sir Bartle Freere in South Africa, 
there remaining many years until, broken 
in health, he returned to England. Dur- 
ing this time he was engaged as an engi- 
neer in the construction of the railroad 
from Port Elizabeth to the Kimberly dia- 
mond field, and at one time held the peril- 
Mass— s— 11 it>i 



ous position of paymaster-in-chief to the 
construction force. The workmen em- 
ployed were mostly natives and so little 
confidence could be placed in them that 
whenever traveling, from point to point 
with the company's funds, Mr. Williams 
required a company of Cape mounted 
police as a guard. He married Mary 
Alice Paine, who accompanied him to 
South Africa, and survives him, residing 
in England. The family were all mem- 
bers of the Church of England. Mr. and 
Mrs. Williams were the parents of an 
only son, Frederick C, of further men- 
tion, and four daughters, all but the son 
born in South Africa. The daughters are : 
Kate ; Maude, died in infancy ; Alice, 
twin with Maude, both christened in 
South Africa, Lady Freere standing as 
sponsor; and Ethel, who died in infancy. 
Frederick C. Williams was born in 
London, England, August 20, 1871, but 
was taken to South Africa with his par- 
ents the following year. There his early 
life was spent, but at about the age of ten 
years he was sent back to England to be 
educated. He attended the public schools 
until the age of fourteen, then entered 
Dulwich College, founded in the year 
1619 by the actor, Edward Alleyn. At 
that college, located in Surrey, a suburban 
quarter of London, four and a half miles 
from St. Paul's, he remained four years, 
there completing his classical study. 
After leaving college he was apprenticed 
for four years to the F. H. Berry Com- 
pany of Clerkenwell, London, to learn 
electrical engineering. In connection 
with that work, in accordance with the 
English system of combining theoretical 
instruction with practical work, he pur- 
sued a course in the City Guild's Tech- 
nical School, Finsbury, London. At the 
close of his apprenticeship he remained 
with the Berry Company until 1895, en- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gaged in special and important electrical 
engineering work, notably in France 
where the company had large contracts. 

At the age of twenty-four, in 1895, Mr. 
Williams thoroughly furnished with theo- 
retical scientific knowledge, mechanical 
and technical ability and practical experi- 
ence, came to the United States, going at 
once to the private experimental labora- 
tories of George Westinghouse in the 
Pittsburgh district. There his attain- 
ments were greatly appreciated and he 
remained ten years, assisting Mr. West- 
inghouse in developing many of his in- 
ventions. One of these, the Nernst 
Lamp, came especially under his charge, 
and he was so conversant with its every 
detail that when it was ready to give to 
the world, Mr. Williams was placed in 
charge of the factory in Pittsburgh, North 
Side, devoted to the manufacture of the 
lamp, which was a success in every way. 

After leaving the Westinghouse inter- 
ests, Mr. Williams became associated 
with Professor Reginald E. Fessenden, 
who had perfected his wireless apparatus 
to where it was a scientific and commer- 
cial fact and needed men to manufacture 
and install it. The ofifer he made Mr. 
Williams was an attractive one, and a 
factory, with Mr. Williams in charge, was 
soon in operation for manufacturing the 
wireless equipment. Professor Fessen- 
den was a genius in his line, and during 
his association with him Mr. Williams 
had some of his most interesting and 
profitable experiences. Many notable 
wireless installations were made, notably 
those at the Washington Navy Yard, on 
United States battleships, at Brant Rock, 
Massachusetts, in Scotland, and many 
other places. 

From that work, Mr. Williams went to 
the General Electric Company at Lynn, 
Massachusetts, remaining there about 



one year. His experiences in London, 
France, and the United States, as an 
organizer of new industries and general 
work, had added to his mechanical skill 
and scientific tastes an executive and 
managerial ability which was so appre- 
ciated by the New England Audit Com- 
pany of Springfield, Massachusetts, that 
he was induced to enter their service and 
develop another new enterprise, a de- 
partment of factory efficiency. After the 
department was in working order, Mr. 
Williams, as his first assignment, came to 
the Textile Manufacturing Company of 
Westfield. There his work, that of an 
organizing efficiency expert, was of so 
impressive a character that the company 
persuaded him to remain with them per- 
manently as superintendent, which he 
did, serving as such four years. The com- 
pany was then reorganized and Mr. Wil- 
liams was made general manager and 
treasurer, and in those positions of re- 
sponsible trust continues his usefulness. 
He is a member of various scientific and 
technical organizations, is a member of 
the Knights of Pythias, and a communi- 
cant of the Protestant Episcopal church. 

Mr. Williams married Mary Alice 
Wright, born in Norwood, England, her 
father a large contractor of London, Eng- 
land. Mr. and Mrs. Williams are the par- 
ents of two daughters and a son: Doro- 
thy, born in Norwood, England, married 
Herbert Dalton, manager of the Kneill 
Coal Company, Westfield, Massachusetts, 
and has a son, Fred ; Frederick, born in 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, a graduate of 
Westfield High School, and a student for 
some time with the General Electric 
Company at Lynn, Massachusetts, taking 
the engineering and electrical course, 
now, assistant mechanical engineer of the 
Fiberoid Company, of Indian Orchard ; 
Marjorie, born in Washington, D. C. 



162 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



CASSIDY, Edward Isadore, 

Expert Paper Manufacturer. 

Descending from a family of paper 
makers and paper mill officials, Edward I. 
Cassidy, now superintendent of the Val- 
ley Paper Company, comes honestly by 
his sj<ill and ability in a business with 
which he has been connected since boy- 
hood, thirty-five years having been spent 
with one concern, the Keith Paper Com- 
pany of Turner Falls, Massachusetts. 
For three generations his family have 
been engaged in paper making. His 
grandfather Cassidy learned the paper 
maker's trade in his native Ireland, and 
after coming to the United States located 
at Lee, Massachusetts, and there resided 
until his death. He had sons : Edward, 
William, Thomas, Michael, of further 
mention ; Joseph ; all of whom became 
paper makers ; and daughters : Mary and 
Margaret. 

Michael Cassidy was born in Dublin, 
Ireland, about 1826, and died at Turners 
Falls, Massachusetts, October 23, 1874. 
He was educated in the National schools, 
and in Ireland learned his father's trade, 
paper making, serving an apprenticeship 
of seven years, according to the custom 
there. About 1852 he came to the United 
States, going first to Lee, Massachusetts, 
later to Burnside, Connecticut, and Niag- 
ara Falls, New York, and in each of these 
places was employed in the paper mills. 
From Niagara he went to the Rochester 
Paper Company of Rochester, New York, 
returning later to Massachusetts. In 
1867, in company with his brother Ed- 
ward, and William Watkins, he organ- 
ized the partnership of Watkins, Cassidy 
& Brother, and started a paper mill at 
Tryingham, Massachusetts. They con- 
tinued in business until the destruction of 
their mill by fire, February 28, 1868. 
Michael Cassidy at that time was on his 



way to New York State to take charge of 
a mill, but before he reached his destina- 
tion he received word that the mill he 
was going to had burned to the ground. 
This changed his plans and he went to 
Lee, Massachusetts, instead, and was in 
the employ of the Smith Paper Company 
for six months, going thence to Adams, 
Massachusetts, there being in the employ 
of the Adams Massachusetts Paper Com- 
pany, and the Richardson-Upton Com- 
pany. Eventually he settled at Turners 
Falls, there being an assistant foreman in 
the Keith Paper Mill for several years. 
He set up the machinery for the mills of 
Turners Falls, and was there residing at 
the time of his accidental death in 1874. 

Michael Cassidy married in Rochester. 
New York, Ann Melroy, born in West- 
port, county Mayo, Ireland, in 1834, and 
died at Turners Falls, Massachusetts, 
May 25, 191 1. Children: Edward I., of 
further mention ; William M., Frederick 
J., Francis P., Walter S., George H., Mary 
A., and Michael M. 

Edward I. Cassidy was born in Roches- 
ter, New York, April 4, 1858, there at- 
tending public school for a short time 
prior to the return of the family to Try- 
ingham, Massachusetts. His education 
was completed in the public schools at 
Tryingham, Lee, Adams, and Turners 
Falls, his school years ending at the age 
of fifteen. His first position was as office 
boy with the Keith Paper Company, of 
Turners Falls, his connection with that 
company extending over a period of 
thirty-five years. Eleven of those years 
just preceding 1909 were spent as super- 
intendent. He rose from the bottom to 
the top, filling many different positions 
so well that in each case promotion fol- 
lowed. In July, 1909, he came to Hol- 
yoke as superintendent of the Valley 
Paper Company, his present position, his 
residence, however, still being Turners 



163 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Falls. He is a member of the Knights of 
Columbus and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Cassidy married (first) in 1895, 
Catherine Rockford, of Turners Falls, 
they the parents of a son, Walter M., born 
February 28, 1896. He married (second) 
in 1900, Margaret Donovan, of Turners 
Falls, daughter of John and Ellen (Mc- 
Carthy) Donovan. They have a son, 
James L., born December 23, 1903. 



LOOMIS, Oliver Bush, 

Agriculturist. 

For sixty years, 1833-1893, Oliver Bush 
Loomis resided at the homestead jointly 
owned after the death of Walter Loomis 
by his sons, Oliver B. and George B. 
Loomis. From 1893 until his death, 
Oliver B. Loomis resided in Westfield, 
living a quiet, retired life at the home he 
purchased on Bush street. In fact, home 
was always the great center of his 
life and there hospitality abounded. 
A man of quiet life and conserva- 
tive tastes, he took little part in outside 
afifairs, but in his modest, unassuming 
way passed a life of usefulness and he 
left an honored name. He was a descend- 
ant of Joseph Loomis, a woolen draper, 
who wrote his name Lomas. 

(I) Joseph Loomis, son of John and 
Agnes Loomis. was born in Braintree, 
England, prior to 1590, arrived in Boston 
from London, England, on the ship, 
"Susan and Ellen," July 17, 1638, accom- 
panied by his wife Mary, five sons and 
three daughters. After about a year spent 
in Dorchester, the family moved with the 
Rev. Ephraim Huet party to Windsor, 
Connecticut, there arriving August 17, 
1639. He was granted twenty-one acres 
by the Massachusetts Bay Colony who 
then had jurisdiction, and he also became 
owner of several other tracts which he 



purchased. He died at Windsor, Novem- 
ber 25, 1658. He married in Messing, Es- 
sex county, England, June 30, 1614, Mary 
White, baptized August 24, 1590, died in 
Windsor, August 23, 1652, daughter of 
Robert and Bridget (Allgar) White. 
Their eight children were all born in 
England. 

(II) Lieutenant Samuel Loomis, young- 
est child of Joseph and Mary (White) 
Loomis, was born in Essex county, Eng- 
land, in 1628, and came to New England 
with the family, in 1638, died in West- 
field, Massachusetts, October i, 1689. He 
spent his early years in Windsor, Connec- 
ticut, where he was made a freeman in 
1654, and joined the church, November 
26, 1661. He moved to Westfield between 
1672-75, was ensign of the first Westfield 
company, commanded by Major John 
Pynchon in 1674, and served in the Indian 
War of 1677. He took an active part in 
church matters, bringing his letter from 
the church in Windsor and becoming one 
of the seven original incorporators of the 
First Congregational Church in West- 
field. He married, December 27, 1653, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Judd, who 
survived him and was living in Westfield 
in 1716. All but the two youngest chil- 
dren of Lieutenant Samuel Loomis were 
born in Windsor, they in Westfield. Chil- 
dren : Samuel, Elizabeth, Ruth, Sarah, 
Joanna, Benjamin, Nehemiah, William, of 
further mention, Philip and Mary. 

(III) William Loomis, son of Lieuten- 
ant Samuel Loomis, was born in Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, March 18, 1672, and died 
in Westfield in 1838. He married, Janu- 
ary 13, 1703, Martha Morley, born Sep- 
tember 7, 1682, died February 22, 1753, 
daughter of Thomas and Martha (Wright) 
Morley. Their ten children were all born 
in Westfield : Martha, Joshua, Benjamin, 
Ann, William, James, Thankful, Jona- 
than, Hezekiah, Noah. 

64 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(IV) Captain Noah Loomis, youngest 
child of William and Martha (Morley) 
Loomis, was born in Westfield, May 12, 
1724, and died at Southwick, Massachu- 
setts, August 9, 1808. He is credited 
with being Southwick's second settler, 
was selectman many times, commanded a 
company of minute-men at Lexington, 
and later enlisted in Captain Lebbens 
Ball's company, Colonel Timothy Daniel- 
son's regiment. He married, November 
5, 1747, Rhoda L. Clark, died November 
30, 1806, aged eighty-one years, daughter 
of William and Abigail (Bush) Clark. 
Their children were all born in Westfield : 
Rhoda, Mercy, Tirzah, Noah, of further 
mention, Shem, Ham, Japhet and Grace. 

(V) Noah (2) Loomis, eldest son of 
Captain Noah (i) Loomis, was born in 
Westfield, April 11, 1754, and died in 
Southwick, Massachusetts, July 3, 1819, 
at his home on Loomis street. He mar- 
ried (first) in November, 1775, Rhoda 
Dewey, born in Westfield, June 23, 1753, 
died July 2, 1813, daughter of Joseph and 
Beulah (Sackett) Dewey. He married 
(second) August 7, 1814, Eunice Nol)le. 
born April 5, 1754, died March 9, 1848, 
aged ninety-five years. Children of first 
wife, all born in Southwick: Lionel, 
Molly, Nodiah Norman Holcomb, Noah. 
married Lydia Rexford ; Walter, of fur- 
ther mention ; Rhoda, married William 
Mather; Russel, married (first) Eliza- 
beth Viets, (second) Rhoda Stiles. 

(VI) Walter Loomis, third son of 
Noah (2) and Rhoda (Dewey) Loomis, 
was born October 8, 1785, in Southwick, 
Massachusetts, and died there August 13, 
1866. He grew to manhood as his fath- 
er's farm assistant, but one year after his 
marriage bought the farm on Loomis 
street, long known as the Loomis home- 
stead, which was in the Loomis name for 
many years, but upon the death of George 
Bush Loomis it passed out of the family. 



There he spent his life a prosperous 
farmer. He married, December 28, 1814, 
Clarissa Dewey Bush, bom in Westfield, 
August 4, 1795, daughter of Edward and 
Phoebe (Dewey) Bush, who were mar- 
ried May I, 1794. She was born at the 
Bush homestead on Main street, later the 
residence of Thomas A. Lewis, and after 
her husband's death continued her resi- 
dence in Southwick, where she died May 
21, 1891. Her wedding dress is yet pre- 
served, one of the treasured heirlooms of 
the family. Children : Mary C, born 
July 12, 1816, married, June 8, 1837, 
Charles M. Phelps; Bennett B., born 
April 4, 1818, married (first) July 2, 1840, 
Oliva Tuttle, married (second) February 
2. 1851, Eunice A. Gillett, married (third) 
Mrs. Almira Goodrich ; Louisa Melissa, 
born February 7, 1822, married, February 
2, 1843, Robert Hosmer; Frances Elvira, 
born February 7, 1824, died March 24, 
1888, married (first) Eber Foot, (second) 
Henry J. Hamilton ; George B., born Sep- 
tember 9, 1827, married Cecilia Celesta 
Hoag; Edward Bush, born June 3, 1830, 
married Harriet M. Phelon ; Oliver Bush, 
of further mention ; Clarissa, born May 
12, 1838, died unmarried, November 13, 
1873, in Southwick. 

(VII) Oliver Bush Loomis, youngest 
son of Walter and Clarissa Dewey (Bush) 
Loomis, was born in Southwick, Febru- 
ary 23, 1833, ^"d died in Westfield, Mas- 
sachiisetts, August 29, 1915. He was 
educated in Southwick public schools and 
Westfield Academy, and grew up on the 
paternal farm which he assisted his father 
in operating. After the death of his 
father, in 1866, the farm passed to the 
ownership of Oliver B. and George B. 
Loomis, who together operated it until 
1893, when Oliver B. sold his interest to 
his brother, built a residence on Bush 
street, Westfield, and there resided until 
his death, engaged in the care of his pri- 



[65 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



vate properties. He was a member of 
the Men's Club of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, and of the Improved Order 
of Red Men, and in political faith an In- 
dependent. He served as deputy sherift" 
in Southwick for many years, and often 
related many interesting, exciting and 
pathetic stories of his experiences. He 
took no active part in political affairs, and 
with the exception of the office noted held 
no public position. 

Mr. Bush married (first) November 17, 
1892, Belle C. Palmer, born in Palmer, 
New York, December 9, 1849, died July 
14, 1907. He married (second) August 
25, 1908, Frances A. Parsons, born in 
Westfield, daughter of Henry A. Parsons, 
the latter being born in Granby, Massa- 
chusetts, May 27, 1832, died in Westfield, 
February 3, 1901. He was an expert car- 
riage builder, fully understood every part 
of the business from the blacksmithing 
to the painting, and by his own hands 
could turn out a fine carriage or heavy 
wagon. His first shop in Westfield, then 
owned by Westfield Academy, is now the 
site of the First Church parish house. 
The building was first used as the First 
Church and it was later moved back to 
the site which it occupied and where Mr. 
Parsons carried on business in it until it 
was destroyed by fire. He married. May 
22, 1859, Betsey Frances Goodrich, born 
in North Chester, Massachusetts, March 
13, 1836, died in Westfield, March 17, 
1888. She was the youngest of the thir- 
teen children of Warren and Ann (Bow- 
ers) Goodrich. Mr. and Mrs. Henry A. 
Parsons were the parents of one child, 
Frances A., now the widow of Oliver Bush 
Loomis, previously mentioned. Henry 
A. Parsons was a son of Russell and 
Loamis (Hathaway) Parsons, grandson 
of Daniel Parsons, who was a son of 
Moses (2) Parsons, son of Moses (i) 
Parsons, son of Lieutenant John Parsons, 



son of Joseph Parsons, son of Cornet Jo- 
seph Parsons. Mrs. Frances A. (Parsons) 
Loomis was educated in Westfield graded 
and high schools, and in other schools, 
taught for a few years, then became an 
instructor in Westfield Normal Training 
School. To the culture of education, she 
has added the broadening influence of ex- 
tensive home and foreign travel. She is 
deeply interested in educational, literary 
and welfare work, is a member of the 
Tuesday Morning and Woman's clubs, 
and takes a part in those movements 
tending to promote the general good of 
the community. 



SEARLE, Myron Eggleston, 

Man of Enterprise. 

The Searle family, which was worthily 
represented in the present generation by 
the late Myron E. Searle, late of West- 
field, a man of good business principles, 
whose main characteristics were integ- 
rity, fairness, prudence, sagacity and 
foresight, is of English origin, but its 
members for many generations have 
made their home in the State of Massa- 
chusetts, to the interests of which they 
have ever been faithful and loyal, and the 
communities in which they resided were 
greatly benefited by their services, which 
were freely given in furthering every en- 
terprise which promised for the public 
welfare. The name was spelled in vari- 
ous ways, such as Surles, Searles, Sale. 

(I) The first representative of the line 
herein followed was John Searle, a native 
of England, from whence he removed to 
this country, locating in Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he spent the remainder 
of his days, his death occurring in Sep- 
tember, 1641, his will being dated Decem- 
ber 21, 1640. He was on the list of 
proprietors and taxpayers of Springfield 
in 1638, and the year prior to that he 
166 




S, (^^.ej^i>^^^~^2^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



served in the capacity of lot measurer for 
the proprietors. He married, March 19, 
1639, Sarah Baldwin, who survived him, 
marrying for her second husband, Alex- 
ander Edwards. Mr. and Mrs. Searle had 
one child, John, of whom further. 

(II) John Searle, Jr., was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, May 30, 1641, 
and died in Northampton, Massachusetts, 
October 31, 1718, he having removed 
thither during his manhood years. He 
was admitted a freeman in 1690. He 
devoted his attention to the tilling of the 
soil, his labor being rewarded with a 
large degree of success. He was a sub- 
scriber to the Harvard College fund, 
which fact testified to the interest he took 
in educational affairs. He married (first) 
July 3, 1667, Ruth, daughter of William 
Jones, who died November 20, 1672. She 
bore him four children, as follows : Un- 
named child, born and died in March, 
1668; John, born March 11, 1669, died 
young; John, born August 6, 1670; Child, 
died November 20, 1672. He married 
(second) May 10 or 30, 1675, Mary North, 
who survived him, her death occurring 
November 5, 1726. She bore him seven 
children, as follows : James, February 
12, 1676; Mary, 1678; Ebenezer, Janu- 
ary 9, 1680; Ruth, December 17, 1681 ; 
Sarah, February 28, 1684; Nathaniel, of 
whom further; Lydia, August 22, 1688. 

(III) Nathaniel Searle was born at 
Northampton, Massachusetts, May 3, 
1686. He spent his childhood and young 
manhood in his native town, attending 
the district school and assisting with the 
work of his father's farm. Later he 
located in Southampton, Massachusetts, 
drew his first lot in the year 1730, built a 
house of two rooms about the year 1732, 
this being the largest house in the town 
at that time, and used as a place of wor- 
ship before the meeting house was 
erected, and in 1748 he had a grant of 



three acres and a half. He was a man of 
prominence, active in town affairs, and he 
entertained the council when the Rev. 
Mr. Judd was ordained. He married and 
was the father of nine sons, among whom 
were Nathaniel, of whom further, James 
and Eliphaz. 

(IV) Nathaniel Searle, Jr., was born in 
Northampton, Massachusetts, about the 
year 1720. He was reared and educated 
in his native town, and accompanied his 
parents upon their removal to Southamp- 
tion, where he spent the remainder of his 
days, honored and respected. He re- 
ceived a grant of land there in 1748, that 
being the first time his name is mentioned 
in town records. He was public-spirited 
and patriotic, ofifering his services in the 
French and Indian War, 1755, serving as 
an ensign in the company of Captain 
Elisha Hawley. During the Revolution- 
ary War there were eight of the name 
from Southampton who served, namely: 
Zophar, Abijah, Simeon, Darius, Bildad, 
Moses, Aaron and Nathaniel, presumably 
sons or nephews of Nathaniel Searle, Jr. 
He married and among their children was 
Moses, of whom further. 

(V) Moses Searle was born at South- 
ampton, Massachusetts. He married Dolly 
Eggleston, who bore him five children, 
namely: Moses, Asa, Jarad, Nathaniel 
Eggleston. of whom further, and Dolly. 

(VI) Nathaniel Eggleston Searle was 
born in Southampton, Massachusetts, 
about 1775. He attended the school in 
the neighborhood of his home, receiving 
a practical education, and for his active 
business career chose the occupation of 
farming, which he conducted in such a 
manner as to bring him large returns for 
labor expended. He was active in com- 
munity affairs, and won and retained the 
respect and esteem of all with whom he 
was brought in contact. He was a life- 
long resident of Southampton, where he 

167 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died at an advanced age. Ht married 
(first) 1808, Zilpha Searle, who died in 
April, 1832, aged forty-seven years. They 
were the parents of five children: Mer- 
rick S., born May 13, 1812 ; Zilpha Maria, 
November 23, 1814; Julia, September 14, 
1817; Lucy A., March 18, 1820, died Oc- 
tober 6, 1893, and James Hervey, Sep- 
tember 18, 1822. He married (second) 
Polly Taylor, a native of Ashfield, Massa- 
chusetts. They were the parents of two 
children: Enos E., born June 5, 1834; 
Myron Eggleston, of whom further. 

(VII) Myron Eggleston Searle was 
born in Southampton, Massachusetts, 
June 27, 1837, and died at Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 11, 1905. His pre- 
paratory education was acquired in the 
public schools of Southampton, and was 
supplemented by a course in Williston 
Seminary, Easthampton, Massachusetts, 
and by a course in a business college in 
Poughkeepsie, New York, and in the 
intervals between his literary and busi- 
ness courses he served in the capacity of 
teacher for a short period of time. After 
his graduation from the latter named 
institution, in company with a classmate, 
he founded a business college in London, 
Canada, but shortly afterward they aban- 
doned that project, Mr. Searle returning 
to the United States at the urgent request 
of his widowed mother, he being her sole 
support. He located in Westfield and 
turned his attention to the railroad busi- 
ness, accepting a position as station agent 
on the Canal Railroad, now the New 
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad, 
but this not proving to his liking he re- 
signed after serving a short time. He 
then entered into business relations with 
Lemuel Bryant Blood, establishing a 
retail coal, wood, flour and cement busi- 
ness, under the firm name of Blood & 
Searle, but shortly afterward Mr. Blood 
severed his connection and Mr. Searle 



took into partnership Llewellyn Gladwin, 
who had been associated with the firm 
for several years as accountant, and this 
connection continued for over thirty 
years, until 1900, when Mr. Searle, owing 
to his impaired state of health, sold his 
interest in the business to his partner. In 
addition to the above named concern, Mr. 
Searle also served as secretary and 
treasurer of the Westfield Power Com- 
pany for a quarter of a century, and was 
a stockholder and prime mover in organ- 
izing the Woronoco Savings Bank, serv- 
ing on its finance committee at the time 
of his decease. He was an active and 
consistent member of the First Congrega- 
tional Church of Westfield, served as 
treasurer for thirty-three years, as deacon 
for thirty-five years, as teacher in the 
Sunday school for many years, and he 
also evinced a deep interest in the Young 
Men's Christian Association. He was a 
Republican in politics, and was chosen by 
his fellow-citizens to fill the office of 
assessor, in which capacity he served for 
one year. He was a member of Westfield 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, and of the Royal Arcanum. In all 
the relations of life, as business man, 
churchman, son, husband and father, Mr. 
Searle performed his duties well and 
faithfully, and in his death the commun- 
ity lost one of its representative men, a 
man whose place it is indeed difficult to 
fill, and his career stands as a worthy ex- 
ample for young men to follow. 

Mr. Searle married, October 21, 1868, 
Augusta Luanna Blood, born in West- 
field, Massachusetts, March 13, 1844, 
daughter of Lemuel Bryant and Luanna 
(Allen) Blood, who were the parents of 
two other children : Gustavus, deceased ; 
and Lucelia, who became the wife of W. 
W. Clapp, and resides in Holyoke, Mas- 
sachusetts. Lemuel B. Blood was born 
at Ashfield, Massachusetts, 1809, and died 



168 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Westfield, April ii, 1891. He removed 
to Westfield about the year 1842, erected 
a house and store building, and was a 
general merchant throughout the active 
years of his life, having been in partner- 
ship with his son-in-law as aforemen- 
tioned. He was one of the incorporators 
of the Woronoco Savings Bank. He was 
a Republican in politics, and filled the 
office of selectman for a number of years. 
He was a sturdy, rugged, upright char- 
acter, unselfish, interested in all efforts 
for the improvement and betterment of 
conditions. He was a liberal and active 
member of the Baptist church. He was 
a son of Ebenezer Blood, a resident of 
Westfield, where his death occurred. 
Luanna (Allen) Blood was born in Wy- 
ben, 1810, died in Westfield, 1897. Mr. 
and Mrs. Searle were the parents of one 
daughter, Edith Lucelia, born in West- 
field, Massachusetts, August 20, 1869, 
died February 23, 1895. She attended the 
public schools of Westfield, graduating 
from the High School in 1887, and the 
following year entered Smith College, 
from which she was graduated in 1892. 
On account of impaired health she made 
a trip across the ocean and traveled 
abroad, but this did not have the desired 
effect, her death occurring at the early 
age of twenty-five, but at the beginning of 
a career full of promise. She was a 
woman of fine character, a great worker 
in the Sunday school, active in all worthy 
enterprises, and beloved by all with 
whom she associated. 



KENT, Georgia Tyler, 

Actress, Writer, 

Georgia Tyler Kent was born July 20, 
1853, at La Grange, Georgia, eldest 
daughter of Nelson Franklin Tyler, of 
Massachusetts, and Henrietta (Snowden) 
Tyler, his wife, and died July 24, 1914, at 



Worcester, Massachusetts. She married, 
July 2, 1878, Daniel Kent, a graduate of 
Amherst College, law student of Boston 
University, and later admitted to the In- 
diana bar, son of Daniel Waldo and Har- 
riet Newell (Grosvenor) Kent, of Leices- 
ter, Massachusetts. 

Mrs. Kent, in her school days, was 
thought by her teachers and others to 
have unusual talent as a writer. Her edu- 
cation was especially directed toward 
developing any latent ability of this kind, 
with the hope that she would make litera- 
ture her life work. This, at the time, did 
not appeal to her, and in the autumn of 
1875 she entered upon her chosen career 
as a member of the Boston Museum Com- 
pany, using her own name, Georgia Tyler. 
It was with a heavy heart, on account of 
the bitter opposition of her family. Her 
rapid rise from unimportant to leading 
roles proved she had not mistaken her 
vocation. During her second season she 
made a vivid impression in the short part 
of Servia to the Virginius of John Mc- 
Cullough and the Virginia of Mary Gary. 
The critics united in her praise, saying 
she "showed powers which will with care 
develop into something suited for the best 
roles in tragedy." Mr. McCullough was 
so impressed with her work he personally 
requested she might be cast for the lead- 
ing Indian role of Nameokee to his 
Metamora. Her success in this led Mr. 
McCullough to invite her to become a 
member of his own company the follow- 
ing season, but the Museum management 
induced her to remain. Immediately fol- 
lowing Mr. McCullough, Harry J. Mon- 
tague, leading man at Wallack's Theatre, 
filled an engagement as star at the Mus- 
eum. Mrs. Kent's acting in various roles 
won his attention to such an extent that, 
with the consent of the management, she 
accepted his ofifer to make a tour of New 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



England, supporting him in many of the 
leading roles of his repertoire. 

Upon her return to the Museum she 
appeared in a large number of important 
parts, and as Valentine de Mornas, in "A 
Celebrated Case," made a pronounced hit. 
The Museum of those days was a busy 
place, and its superb company found the 
hours available for preparation barely 
sufficient. Frequently, for weeks at a 
time, there would be a run of the glorious 
Shakespearean tragedies and the stand- 
ard comedies, with almost nightly changes 
in the bill. There were but few of these 
in which Mrs. Kent did not appear, first 
in small roles, and, as her standing in the 
company advanced, in higher ones. She 
had a remarkable capacity for "quick 
study." Harry Murdoch was said to be 
her only equal in this exhausting but 
often necessary eiTort. Many times, with 
but two or three hours' notice, she came 
to the aid of the management and played, 
letter perfect, long and sometimes leading 
parts. In her third season the manage- 
ment recognized her ability by engaging 
her for the leading heavy — that is, the 
leading tragic-roles, but in addition she 
was frequently called upon to appear in 
juvenile, ingenue and even soubrette 
characters. When Madame Modjeska 
came to the Museum, in 1878, Mrs. Kent 
was cast for the Princess de Bouillon, a 
part hardly second to that of Adrienne 
Lecouvreur itself. At the end of the 
great scene between the two women, 
Madame Modjeska, at the final fall of the 
curtain, taking both her hands, thanked 
her for "such splendid work." "Perhaps 
nothing," says Mrs. Kent, "gave me more 
happiness than when Mr. Longfellow 
asked to meet me, and complimented me 
in his gracious and beautiful way." 
Madame Modjeska, her husband. Count 
Bozenta, and their son had but just bade 
the company farewell, when Mr. Law- 



rence Barrett began a four weeks' engage- 
ment, Mrs. Kent appearing in the cast 
of nearly every play. In 1879 he again 
filled a fortnights' engagement, and Mrs. 
Kent, whose work the year before had 
attracted his attention, was again found 
in his support. As Emilia to his lago 
(Mr. Barron as Othello and Miss Clarke 
as Desdemona) Mrs. Kent made the most 
brilliant success of her career thus far. 
Mr. Barrett had himself coached her. He 
showered congratulations upon her, and, 
with the consent of the management, se- 
cured her as leading lady for his New 
England tour. She had, therefore, at this 
early stage in her career the privilege and 
distinction of appearing in most of the 
leading female roles of his extensive 
repertoire. Upon returning from this 
tour she supported Mr. Warren as Clara 
Weigel in "My Son" and in many other 
plays. When the Union Square Thea- 
tres great success, "The Danicheffs," was 
produced at the Museum, to Mrs. Kent 
was apportioned the part of the sixty- 
years-old Countess Danichefif, created in 
New York by Miss Fanny Morant. It 
seemed almost cruel to ask so young a 
girl to impersonate this magnificent and 
imperious elderly woman, but the critics 
accorded her high praise, saying her 
"signally powerful and effective work 
augurs for her a brilliant future." 

During her long engagement at the 
Museum, Mrs. Kent studied elocution at 
the Boston School of Oratory. For five 
years she continued a member of the 
Museum Company, and then Mr. Bartley 
Campbell, who, unknown to her, had for a 
week been watching her work on the 
Museum stage, offered her the position of 
leading lady in his "Galley Slave" com- 
pany, to succeed Miss Lillie Glover as 
Cicely Blaine. It was a company of great 
strength, including Joseph Wheelock, 
Marie Prescott, Junius Brutus Booth, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Frank E. Aiken, Owen Fawcett, and other 
talented people. At the end of this sea- 
son Mrs. Kent was especially engaged by 
Mrs. John Drew for the leading part of 
Jeanne Guerin to Joseph Wheelock's 
Jagon. While at Mrs. Drew's theatre she 
accepted an offer from John Sleeper 
Clarke, Edwin Booth's brother-in-law, 
and became leading lady of his company. 
With him, as leading man, were W. H. 
Vernon, the distinguished English actor, 
and Mrs. Farren. When John T. Ray- 
mond produced "Colonel Sellers" in Lon- 
don, he engaged Mrs. Kent for Laura 
Hawkins, but her husband and father 
objected to her going, and she was 
obliged to relinquish also an ofifer from 
Mr. Clarke for a London appearance. 
They were opportunities which would 
have meant much to a young actress. The 
following season she became leading 
woman with Thomas W. Keene, being 
featured in the bills, and for two years 
continued in this arduous position, con- 
stantly traveling, and appearing in all the 
principal cities in the United States and 
Canada in a round of impersonations, 
largely Shakespearean, among them being 
Ophelia in "Hamlet,'' Portia in "The 
Merchant of Venice," Desdemona in 
"Othello," Queen Elizabeth in "Richard 
III.," Julie de Mortimer in "Richelieu," 
Fiordelisa in "The Fool's Revenge." 
During this engagement she also pre- 
pared for appearing as Mariana in "The 
Wife," and Juliet in "Romeo and Juliet." 
When Mr. John Stetson's New York 
Fifth Avenue Theatre Company produced 
"Divorce," Mrs. Kent was selected for 
Fanny Davenport's old part of Lou Ten 
Eyck. The play had a great cast, with 
Sarah Jewett as Fanny Ten Eyck (for- 
merly Clara Morris's role), Annie Rus- 
sell, Herbert Kelcey, and other New York 
favorites equally distinguished. This was 
succeeded by "Confusion,'' simultane- 



ously produced by two of Mr. Stetson's 
companies, Mrs. Kent and Mr. Kelcey 
heading one. Mrs. Kent starred for a 
season, appearing as Pauline in "The 
Lady of Lyons," Nancy Sikes in "Oliver 
Twist," and in other standard plays. 
Among the hundreds of characters por- 
trayed by her have been Camille, Lady 
Macbeth, Mariana in "The Wife," Galatea 
in "Pygmalion and Galatea," Lady Isabel 
in "East Lynne," Armande in "Led 
Astray," the title roles in "Leah the For- 
saken," "Lucretia Borgia," "Medea," 
"Evadne," and "Satan in Paris." She was 
also leading lady and stock star of sev- 
eral companies producing Paris, London, 
and New York successes. Although ex- 
ceedingly versatile, her temperament 
especially fitted her for tragic and emo- 
tional roles, and it was in these she won 
her greatest successes. Mr. Henry Aus- 
tin Clapp, in passing judgment upon her 
work, frequently spoke of her "personal 
distinction and nobility of manner ;" her 
"rare temperament, distinguished beauty, 
and the depth, range, and expressiveness 
of her voice." Another eminent critic 
said of her work: "Entirely unaffected 
and natural, it is of commanding char- 
acter. This young woman possesses mag- 
netism, tremendous underlying power, 
rare intelligence, and great personal 
beauty. Few will forget that mobile and 
sensitive face or that picture of passion, 
tenderness and despair." 

After twelve years of successful and 
often brilliant work her health failed, just 
as she had signed a three years' contract 
to appear as a star. She was obliged to 
retire, and for some years was an invalid. 
On the partial recovery of her health she 
devoted her time, as far as her strength 
would permit, to literary and patriotic 
work. She prepared and delivered many 
addresses before various organizations 
throughout the State. She was especially 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



interested in the Indians and made an 
exhaustive study of the Indian question. 
One of her strongest addresses was on 
this subject. 

A charter member of the Colonel Tim- 
othy Bigelow Chapter of Worcester, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, 
she labored for its success from its incep- 
tion. On her retirement from the Re- 
gency after two years of service, she was 
elected honorary Regent for life. The 
work which she accomplished and the in- 
fluence which she exerted cannot be bet- 
ter expressed than by quoting from the 
Memorial adopted by the Chapter on her 
death. 

In 1898, a small body of Worcester women came 
together to found a new Chapter of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution. They were all enthu- 
siastic and inspired by high ideals of work which 
could be done in historic and patriotic fields. 
There was no one among them more easily a 
leader in these almost untrodden paths than Mrs. 
Georgia Tyler Kent. 

It was well for the Chapter to have such a 
leader. Through her influence many of our most 
valuable members came to us, and by her bril- 
liant mind our work was planned on broad foun- 
dations, that it might not only be a pleasure and 
help to ourselves, but an inspiration and a help 
to all whom in any way our Chapter life should 
touch. 

She was our second Regent. She took the 
Chapter when it was a small organization, meet- 
ing in a little room in the building of the Society 
of Antiquity, and scarcely known in our own 
city and not at all beyond the Society itself in 
other cities. In the two years of her service as 
Regent, we became one of the influential organi- 
zations of the city. Through her, prizes were 
offered for the best essays on patriotic subjects 
to the young people of the High Schools through- 
out Worcester County. It was during her regency 
that most of the graves of the Revolutionary sol- 
diers were discovered and marked with the 
bronze markers of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and a fund was commenced for the 
perpetual care of these graves. It was also 
during her regency that Mrs. Dodge, with infinite 
care and work, prepared the list of the men who 
went to the Revolution from Worcester, which 



was printed by the Chapter and placed in most 
of the large libraries of the State. It was also 
during her regency that the exact place where 
stood the first schoolhouse of Worcester was dis- 
covered, and a bronze tablet placed on the near- 
est possible spot, recalling that fact to the passer- 
by, and also the fact that it was in this building 
that John Adams, the second President of the 
United States, taught the town school. 

She was also the founder of our Junior 
Daughters, an organization to which, at that time, 
every child of a member of the Chapter was 
immediately united by its ambitious mother, our 
youngest members counting their lives by months 
only. She also established the yearly custom for 
the Chapter, of giving five dollars to the Society 
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, in 
memory of the terrible sufferings of the horses 
and mules of the Revolution. She inspired the 
members of her Chapter with a desire to work. 
The papers read at the regular meetings were 
almost invariably written by them, and were 
along the lines of local work. At the end of 
her regency we found ourselves not only a well- 
known and strong club in Worcester, but a well- 
known organization throughout the State and in 
the National Society. Her splendid mind and her 
beautiful voice made her a power in the Conti- 
nental Congress, and brought her into intimate 
relations with the most brilliant women in Wash- 
ington. She was pleased with this recognition, 
not for herself but for her Chapter. It was her 
greatest ambition to have the Colonel Timothy 
Bigelow Chapter a recognized leader in strong, 
brilliant, helpful work, and such she made it. 
After two years of very strenuous but very suc- 
cessful work, she laid down the regency and was 
chosen by the members of the Chapter Honorary 
Regent for life, as a slight acknowledgment of her 
splendid service. 

After this, whenever her health permitted, she 
gave us freely of her time and strength. She 
conducted for the Chapter the play of "London 
Assurance," coaching all the players herself and 
bringing each one to a degree of perfection which 
they themselves had not dared to expect. One of 
them voiced the feelings of all when the play was 
over, by saying, to be coached as they had been 
by Mrs. Kent was an education which would be 
a help to them all their lives. It was with great 
regret, that gradually she was obliged to do less 
for the Chapter, as her strength for active work 
grew less. The last time she took an active part 
in our work was at the time of the Bazaar in the 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Salisbury Mansion, two years ago. You all can 
see her, as she was that day — in her beautiful 
white brocaded gown, with the snow-white wig, 
the brilliant dark eyes, and the flush of color on 
her cheeks. It is a picture we cannot forget, and 
we shall always remember her, standing by the 
old-fashioned miniatures, in the lovely colonial 
parlor, welcoming our guests with the charm and 
graciousness which were so much a part of her, 
and yet which fitted so well the stately hospitality 
we were trying to portray. 

Surely with the deep regret that we have lost 
such a wonderful personality from our member- 
ship, must be mingled the feeling of thankful- 
ness that we had her so many years, to shape and 
to inspire, to set before us high aims and true 
ideals, to encourage us to make the most of our- 
selves, to value ourselves at our true worth, and 
to help those less fortunately placed. 

It was through her effort and personal 
presentation of the needs before the Leg- 
islative Committee that a law was enacted 
in Massachusetts authorizing towns and 
cities to appropriate money for the erec- 
tion of memorials to the Revolutionary 
soldiers. She was a member of the Wor- 
cester Woman's Club and of the Club 
House Corporation, president of the Wor- 
cester Revolutionary Memorial Associa- 
tion, and for many years vice-president of 
the Worcester Society of Antiquity ; 
vice-president at her death of the Com- 
monwealth Chapter of the Daughters of 
the Founders and Patriots of America, 
and a devoted member of the Society for 
the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. 

More than sixty of her New England 
ancestors in the Colonial period served as 
military officers, magistrates, representa- 
tives, deputies, and founders of towns. 
Among them (to note but a few) may 
here be mentioned Major (also Colonel and 
Chief Justice) Francis Fulham, the Rev. 
Joseph Emerson, Lieutenant John Sharpe, 
Lieutenant Stephen Hall, Lieutenant Grif- 
fin Craft, Lieutenant Moses Crafts, the 
Rev. Peter Bulkeley, the Rev. Edward Bul- 
keley, Captain Christopher Hussey, Robert 



Vose, Lieutenant Jaines Trowbridge, 
Robert Taft, and Thomas Gregson, as- 
sistant of the Colony, first treasurer, and 
first commissioner for the Union with 
other New England Colonies. There 
were in the Revolution, Captain Joseph 
Hall serving throughout the war. Cap- 
tain Christopher Hussey, above men- 
tioned, was appointed by the King 
(Charles II.) September i8, 1679, a mem- 
ber of the King's Council and Court of 
Judicature of New Hampshire, and so 
served until the appointment of Cranfield 
as lieutenant-governor in 1682. Through 
her Bulkeley ancestry, she had royal 
descent from the Saxon Kings, Scottish 
Kings and through the line of French 
Kings back to Charlemagne. This descent 
includes Saher de Quincy, Richard de 
Clare and John de Lacy, Magna Charta 
Sureties. 

(The Leland Line). 

(I) Hopestill Layland, the common 
ancestor of the New England "Lelands," 
was from Yorkshire, England, where he 
was born in 1580. He settled first at 
Weymouth. When the removal of the Rev. 
Mr. Newman and the majority of the 
planters from Weymouth to Rehoboth 
occurred in 1644, Hopestill Layland seems 
to have removed to that part of the Dor- 
chester which afterwards became Milton. 
He is believed to have had daughters 
married to some of the first planters in 
Medfield, Bogistow (Sherborn), many of 
whom were from Weymouth, Braintree 
and Dorchester. When upwards of sev- 
enty years of age, he seems to have re- 
moved to Bogistow to reside with his 
children, where he died in 1655. He had, 
at least, one son Henry, mentioned below. 

(II) Henry Layland, son of Hopestill 
Layland (i), was born in 1625. He grew 
up in Dorchester, and in company with 
his brother-in-law, Thomas Holbrook, 
began the settlement of Bogistow in 1654. 



173 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was received into the church at Dor- 
chester, May 22, 1653. In 1660 he gave 
his bond for £40 to Henry Lane for two 
hundred acres of land. This bond he dis- 
charged three years afterwards, but he 
did not obtain the deed until 1667, when 
Governor Danforth and Secretary Raw- 
son made oath to the purchase and pay- 
ment. Henry Layland signed both peti- 
tions for the organization of Sherborn, 
was chosen on the committee to provide 
a minister, and was associated with the 
Selectmen "to grant town lots to those 
who were known among the inhabitants." 
He died at Sherborn, April 4, 1680, aged 
fifty-five years, and was buried one hun- 
dred rods southeast of his dwelling. His 
will is dated March 27, 1680, and pro- 
bated June 8, 1680. He married Mar- 
garet Badcock. She died at her son 
Hopestill's home. May 25, 1705, having 
that year conveyed her property to him 
for having taken care of her and for her 
future support. The children of Henry 
and Margaret (Badcock) Layland weref' 
I. Hopestill, born May, 1653, died at Dor- 
chester, 1653. 2. Experience, born May 
16, 1654, married John Colburn, died at 
Dedham, 1708. 3. Hopestill, mentioned 
below. 4. Ebenezer, born January 25, 

1657, married Deborah , died at 

Sherborn, June 30, 1742. 5. Eleazer, born 
July 16, 1660, married (first) Mary Hunt, 
(second) Sarah , died at Sherborn, 

1703- 

(III) Hopestill (2) Lealand, son of 
Henry Layland (2) (Hopestill (i)) was 
born November 15, 1655. He married 
(first) at Medfield, November 5, 1678, 
Abigail Hill, daughter of John and Abi- 
gail Hill, born at Medfield, February 2, 
1657-58. She died at Sherborn, October 
5, 1689. Hopestill Lealand married (sec- 
ond) February 12, 1691, his cousin. Pa- 
tience Holbrook, who died October 5, 
1740. He died at Sherborn, August 19, 



1729. His will is dated August 18, 1729, 
probated October 13, 1729. He signed 
"Henry Lealand." He was deacon of the 
church, and served ten years as select- 
man. He occupied the same homestead 
which his father purchased from Thomas 
Holbrook. The children of Hopestill and 
Abigail (Hill) Lealand, all born at 
Sherborn, were: i. Henry, born Febru- 
ary 22, 1679, married Mary , died 

at Sherborn, October 29, 1732. 2. Hope- 
still, mentioned below. 3. Abigail, born 
February 17, 1683, married John Bullard. 

4. John, born October 11, 1687, married 
Abigail Babcock, died at Holliston, Janu- 
ary 7, 1759. The children of Hopestill 
and Patience (Holbrook) Lealand were: 

5. William, born February 11, 1692, mar- 
ried Mehitable Breck, died at Sherborn, 
March 18, 1742-43. 6. Eleazer, born 
April 8, 1695, died May 6, 1717. 7. Jo- 
seph, born May 9, 1698, married Esther 
Thurston, died at Sherborn, February 15, 
1786. 8. Isaac, born June 2, 1701, mar- 
ried (first) Mary , married (sec- 
ond) Abigail Mason, died at Sherborn, 
April 29, 1766. 9. Joshua, born May 5, 
1705, married Ruth Morse, died at Sher- 
born, May 17, 1772. 10. Margaret, born 
December 27, 1708, married John Car- 
penter. 

(IV) Hopestill (3) Leland, son of 
Hopestill (2) Lealand (3) (Henry (2), 
Hopestill (i)) was born at Sherborn, 
August 4, 1681, and died there June 7, 
1760. On his father's death he came into 
the possession of the "middle division" 
of the Leland Farm. He engaged in 
raising hemp and making ropes and halt- 
ers, which he annually carried to Rhode 
Island and exchanged for wool. He 
married, at Sherborn, February 24, 1701, 
Mary, daughter of Benjamin Bullard 
(Robert (i)) and his wife, Elizabeth 
(Thorpe) Bullard. She was born at 
Sherborn, February 20, 1683, and died 



174 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



there May 8, 1758. The children of Hope- 
still and Mary (BuUard) Leland, all born 
at Sherborn, were: i. Daniel, born April 
24, 1702, died young. 2. Abigail, born 
May 3, 1704, married John Fiske. 3. 
Daniel, mentioned below. 4. Ruth, born 
September 12, 1712, married (first) Sam- 
uel Perry, (second) David Leland, (third) 

Ryder; she died at Natick, 1799. 5. 

Rachael, born May 28, 1715, married 
Henry Death. 6. Esther, born June 2, 
1717, died at Sherborn, October 25, 1759. 
7. Mary, born May 7, 1720, married James 
Marshall. 8. Silence, born May 31, 1722, 
married Daniel Fames. 9. Experience, 
born June 21, 1725, married Jonas Fair- 
banks. 10. Sarah, born August 19, 1728. 
(V) Daniel Leland, son of Hopestill (3) 
Leland (4) (Hopestill (3), Henry (2), 
Hopestill (i)), was born at Sherborn, 
October 24, 1707, and died at Sherborn, 
November 4, 1764, aged fifty-seven years. 
He married at Sherborn, May 25, 1737, 
Mary, daughter of John Death (John (i)) 
and his wife, Waitstill (Vose) Death. 
She was born at Sherborn, October 10, 
1716, and died there May 27, 1795, aged 
seventy-nine years. The children of Dan- 
iel and Mary (Death) Leland, all born at 
Sherborn, were: i. Rachael, born Feb- 
ruary 26, 1737-38, married Moses Adams, 
died at Medway, July, 1826. 2. Mirriam, 
born September i, 1740, married Hon. 
Daniel Whitney, died at Sherborn, De- 
cember 31, 1817. 3. Daniel, born Janu- 
ary 8, 1742-43, married Sibella Fames, 
died at HoUiston, December 14, 1835. 4. 
Adam, born April 16, 1745, married Pru- 
dence Leland, died at Sherborn, March 
10, 1827. 5. Hepzibah, born March 12, 
1747, married Rev. John Leland, died at 
Peru, June 5, 1805. 6. Mary, born Octo- 
ber 10, 1748, married Jonathan Leland, 
died at Sherborn, December 3, 1839. 7. 
Aaron, born July 18, 1751, married (first) 
Deborah Leland, (second) Keturah Perry. 



died at Sherborn, September 17, 1846. 8. 
Moses, mentioned below. 

(VI) Moses Leland, son of Daniel Le- 
land (5) (Hopestill (4), Hopestill (3), 
Henry (2), Hopestill (l)), was born at 
Sherborn, July 18, 1751, and died there 
April 4, 1835. He was a private in Cap- 
tain Henry Leland's company of militia, 
Colonel John Bullard's regiment, which 
marched on the Alarm of April 19, 1775, 
and also served in other companies on 
various alarms during the Revolution. 
He married, at Sherborn, May 26, 1774, 
Mercy, daughter of Ebenezer Twitchell 
(Ebenezer (3), Benjamin (2), Joseph (i)) 
and his wife, Mercy (Sawin) Twitchell. 
She was born at Sherborn, March 4, 
1755, and died there May 29, 1842. The 
children of Moses and Mercy (Twitchell) 
Leland, all born at Sherborn, were: i. 
Eli, born July 2, 1775, married Rebecca 
Sawyer, died at Sherborn, May 27, 1847. 
2. Betsey, born March 17, 1777, married 
Simon H. Mason. 3. Lois, born July 17, 
1779, married Micah Leland. 4. Daniel, 
mentioned below. 5. Moses, born Feb- 
ruary 7, 1784, married Patience Babcock. 

6. Lemuel, born April 4, 1786, married 
(first) Polly Clark, (second) Chloe Morse. 

7. Nancy, born March 10, 1788, married 
Alpheus Clark. 

(VII) Colonel Daniel (2) Leland, son of 
Moses Leland (6) (Daniel (5), Hopestill 
(4), Hopestill (3), Henry (2), Hopestill 
(i)), was born at Sherborn, December 28, 
1781, and died at HoUiston, January 21, 
1868. He held the ofiice of colonel in the 
militia for several years. He was select- 
man for seven years, and town clerk and 
treasurer of Sherborn for four years. He 
was chosen deacon of the Congregational 
church and continued in that office until 
the separation of the Evangelical church 
and society. He cast his lot with the new 
society and continued as one of its dea- 
cons until he removed to Saxonville, 



175 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Framingham, in 1852. He lived at Saxon- 
ville until 1857, when he removed to Hol- 
liston, where he died. He married, at 
Wayland, January 21, 1806, Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas Heard (Richard (2), 
Zachariah (i)) and his wife, Elizabeth 
(Reeves) Heard. She was born at Way- 
land, January 8, 1781, and died at Sher- 
born, August 5, 1847. The children of 
Colonel Daniel and Elizabeth (Heard) 
Leland, all born at Sherborn, were: i. 
Augustus Heard, born February 15, 1807, 
died April i, 1807. 2. Augustus Heard, 
born November 18, 1808, married Lois W. 
Whitney, died at Sherborn, 1886. 3. 
Elizabeth Reeves, born January 18, 181 1, 
married the Rev. Edmund Dowse, died at 
Sherborn, June 16, 1842. 4. Frederick, 
born August 30, 181 3, married Mary A. 
Battelle, died at Sherborn, 1890. 5. Dan- 
iel, born July 17, 1815, married Julia A. 
Bigelow. 6. Samuel Reeves, mentioned 
below. 7. Mercy, born March 18. 1819, 
married Newell Clark. 8. Sophronia, 
born November 25, 1822. 

(VIII) Samuel Reeves Leland, son of 
Colonel Daniel (2) Leland (7) (Moses (6), 
Daniel (5), Hopestill (4), Hopestill (3), 
Henry (2), Hopestill (i)), was born at 
Sherborn, May 12, 1817, and died at Wor- 
cester, January 14, 1885, aged sixty-seven 
years, eight months and two days. On 
becoming of age he removed to Worces- 
ter, and devoted his time as a teacher of 
music and dealer in musical instruments 
and merchandise. For many years he 
was recognized as a leader in the musical 
trade in New England. He held the posi- 
tion of Professor of Music at Holy Cross 
College for twenty-one years, conducting 
the college choir a large portion of the 
time. As a band master he stood for 
years at the head of the profession in New 
England, and as an organist he had few 
superiors. On band and orchestral in- 
struments he was always an admitted 



authority. He had engagements as 
church organist in his native town, at 
Holy Cross College, the First Unitarian 
Church, the Church of the Unity and the 
Central Church in Worcester for a con- 
secutive period of fifty-one years. His 
industry and application is illustrated and 
emphasized in the fact that in this long 
service he was never absent from his post. 
He devoted some attention to musical 
composition, and some of his works for 
church choirs have become standard. He 
was one of the founders of the Worcester 
County Musical Convention, October 2, 
1863, being for several years one of the 
directors." The name of this organization 
has since been changed to Worcester 
County Musical Association. His will 
was dated February 14, 1883, and allowed 
February 17, 1885. He married, at Wor- 
cester, May 26, 1844, Mary, daughter of 
Joseph Draper (Daniel (5), John (4), 
John (3), John (2), James (i)) and his 
wife, Polly (Colburn) Draper. She was 
born at Medfield, February 28, 1821, and 
died at Worcester, September 29, 1910. 
Her will was dated September 9, 1907, 
and allowed October 25, 1910. The 
children of Samuel Reeves and Mary 
(Draper) Leland, all born at Worcester, 
were: i. Francis Augustus, mentioned 
below. 2. Julietta, born November 8, 
1848, died 1851. 

(IX) Francis Augustus Leland, son of 
Samuel Reeves Leland (8) (Daniel (7), 
Moses (6), Daniel (5), Hopestill (4), 
Hopestill (3), Henry (2), Hopestill (i)), 
was born at Worcester, April 22, 1846, 
and died there May 12, 1915. He was 
educated in the public schools, and at 
Worcester Highland Military Academy, 
where he had a captain's commission. He 
was associated with his father in the 
music and piano business under the firm 
name of S. R. Leland & Son. He invented 
and manufactured the Eclipse Cornet, 
176 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which he had patented. He always took 
an active part in the musical affairs in his 
native city. For several years he was an 
officer of the Piano Dealers' Association 
of America. His will was dated Decem- 
ber 30, 1907, and allowed June 2, 191 5. 
He married, at Worcester, November 3, 
1873, Harriet Mowry, daughter of Mowry 
Lapham (Arad (5), William (4), Solo- 
mon (3), Nicholas (2), John (i)) and his 
wife, Harriet (Thayer) Lapham. (See 
Lapham Family). She was born at 
Blackstone, October 16, 1853, and died at 
Worcester, August 29, 191 1. Their only 
child, Hattie May, mentioned below. 

(X) Hattie May Leland, daughter of 
Francis Augustus Leland (9) (Samuel (8), 
Daniel (7), Moses (6), Daniel (5), Hope- 
still (4), Hopestill (3), Henry (2), Hope- 
still (i)), was born at Worcester, Feb- 
ruary 27, 1879. She was educated at pri- 
vate schools in Worcester, and for two 
years attended Miss Hersey's Private 
School at Boston. She married, at Wor- 
cester, December i, 1915, Daniel Kent. 
Her residence is at No. 653 Main street, 
Worcester, which her grandfather, Mowry 
Lapham, purchased from Hon. Charles B. 
Pratt, August i, 1865. 

(The Lapham Line). 

(I) The pioneer ancestor of Harriet 
Mowry Lapham, of Worcester, was John 
Lapham, born in Devonshire, England, 
1635, and died at Dartmouth, Massachu- 
setts, 1710. He married, at Providence, 
Rhode Island, April 6, 1673, Mary, daugh- 
ter of William Mann and his wife Fran- 
ces (Hopkins) Mann. He settled first at 
Providence and later at Newport, Rhode 
Island. He was freeman, 1673 ; deputy, 
1673; constable, 1675. In 1676 his house 
was burned in the Indian War. He re- 
moved to Dartmouth, Massachusetts, 
about 1682. On January 6, 1699, at a 
meeting held at John Lapham's house in 



Dartmouth he, with others, undertook 
"to build a meeting house for the people 
of God, in scorn called Quakers, 35 feet 
long, 30 feet wide and 14 feet stud." His 
will was dated December 5, 1709, proved 
April 5, 1710. ' His wife Mary was execu- 
trix, and he gave his son Nicholas one- 
half of all the land in Dartmouth. His 
inventory, made April 5, 1710, was £363 
15s. id. The children of John and Mary 
(Mann) Lapham, born in Rhode Island, 
were: i. Mary, born March i, 1674, died 
July 10, 1675. 2. John, born December 
13, 1677, married, April 3, 1700, Mary 
Russell, died about 1734. 3. William, 
born November 29, 1679, died unmarried, 
August 8, 1702. The children born at 
Dartmouth were : 4. Thomas, born Sep- 
tember 30, 1682, died May 8, 1754. 5. 
Mary, born October 5, 1686, married 
(first) August 26, 1709, Charles Dyer, 
married (second) November 21, 1734, 
John Colvin. 6. Nicholas, mentioned 
below. 

(II) Nicholas Lapham, son of John 
Lapham (i), was born at Dartmouth, 
Massachusetts, April i, 1689, died there, 
1758. He married (first) 1726, Mercy, 
daughter of John Arnold (Richard (2), 
Thomas (i) ) and his wife, Mary (Mowry) 
Arnold. His will was dated March 8, 
1758, proved July 11. 1758. He gave to 
his sons, Solomon and Nicholas, his 
homestead farm in Dartmouth, the farm 
to be divided so that Solomon should 
have the south part with the buildings 
thereon. The children of Nicholas and 
Mercy (Arnold) Lapham, all born at 
Dartmouth, were : Solomon, mentioned 
below ; Nicholas and Arnold. 

(HI) Solomon Lapham, son of Nicho- 
las Lapham (2) (John (i)) was born at 
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, August i, 
1730, and died at Gloucester, Rhode 
Island, June 24, 1800. He married, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1756, Sylvia, daughter of 



177 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Thomas Lapham (John (2), John (i)) 
and his wife, Abigail (Wilbur) Lapham. 
She was formerly the wife of Ephraim 
Whipple. She had four children by her 
first marriage. The children of Solomon 
and Sylvia (Lapham- Whipple) Lapham 
were : Rebecca, Thomas, Rhoda, Wil- 
liam, mentioned below, Dutee and Ruth. 

(IV) William Lapham, son of Solo- 
mon Lapham (3) (Nicholas (2), John 
(i)) was born November 24, 1766, and 
died at Burrillville, Rhode Island. Decem- 
ber 15, 1841. He married, at Gloucester, 
Rhode Island, January 5, 1785, Susannah, 
daughter of Seth Ballou (Nehemiah (3), 
James (2) Maturin (i)) and his wife, 
Hannah (Cowen) Ballou. She was born 
at Gloucester, July 13, 1767, and died at 
Burrillville, September 5, 1851. The chil- 
dren of William and Susannah (Ballou) 
Lapham were: i. Arad, mentioned below. 

2. Matilda, born August 13, 1788, died 
December 22, 1873. 3. Aretus, born Oc- 
tober 8, 1789, died October, 1869. 4. Al- 
fred, born June 11, 1791, died August 25, 
1867. 5. Duty, born October 28, 1792, 
died December 24, 1879. 6. Almon, born 
June 8, 1794. 7. Marietta, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1796, died October 16, 1889. 8. 
Arnon, born July i, 1798, died February 

3, 1877. 9. Miranda, born September 5, 
1800, died November i, 1879. 10. Pati- 
ence, born January 30, 1803, died January 
30, 1889. II. Julia Ann, born October 6, 
1805, died 1805. 12. Marvin, born Janu- 
ary II, 1807, died 1836. 13. James, born 
May 6, 1808, died 1808. 14. Louis, born 
May 24, 1810, died March 14, 1881. 

(V) Arad Lapham, son of William 
Lapham (4) (Solomon (3), Nicholas (2), 
John (i)), born at Burrillville, Rhode 
Island, July 31, 1786, died there in 1849. 
He married (first) April 19, 1808, Lydia 
Esten. He married (second) at Smith- 
field, Rhode Island, August 10, 1817, 
Nancy, daughter of John Mowry (John 
(6), Joseph (5), Captain Daniel (4), Jo- 



seph (3), Nathaniel (2), Roger (i)) and 

his wife (Hamilton) Mowry. 

Among the children of Arad and Nancy 
(Mowry) Lapham, all born at Burrill- 
ville, Rhode Island, where: i. Mowry, 
mentioned below. 2. Smith, died March 
6, 1870, at Millbury. 3. George B., of 
Woonsocket. 4. Lydia, who married a 
Mr. Andrews, of Washington, D. C. 

(VI) Mowry Lapham, son of Arad 
Lapham (5) (William (4), Solomon (3), 
Nicholas (2), John (i)), was born at Bur- 
rillville, Rhode Island, in 1819. He at- 
tended the common schools in the vicin- 
ity of his home until he was sixteen years 
of age, when he began working for his 
father and learned the carpenter trade. 
After continuing in this line for four 
years, he entered the machine shop of W. 
D. E. Farnum, at Waterford, there re- 
maining two years. He then became 
employed in the machine shop of South- 
wich & Brown in Millville, in the town 
of Blackstone. He continued to work as 
a machinist in Millville and Fall River 
until at last he became superintendent of 
the iron and wood works of Farnum & 
Harding at Millville. His career as a 
woolen manufacturer may be said to have 
begun in i860, when he went to Cherry 
Valley, Leicester, and began the manu- 
facture of woolen cloth under the firm 
name of Lapham & Smith. After two 
years Mr. Smith severed his connection 
with the firm, and Mr. Lapham conducted 
the business alone until the mill was de- 
stroyed by fire. In 1863 he purchased the 
old paper mill privilege owned by General 
Burbank at Millbury, Massachusetts. 
Here he associated himself with his 
brother Smith. They erected extensive 
mill buildings which were equipped with 
the most improved machinery of the time. 
This partnership continued until Smith 
Lapham died in 1870, when Mowry Lap- 
ham continued the business under his 
own name. He was a very successful 



178 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



manufacturer, and the product of his milh 
gained a wide reputation. In i860 he 
removed to Worcester, where he resided 
until his death. Mr. Lapham served as 
selectman and as overseer of the poor at 
Blackstone for two years, and was a 
member of the Board of Aldermen of 
Worcester for six years. He was a direc- 
tor of the Manufacturers Mutual Insur- 
ance Company for sixteen years. He 
died at Worcester, October 12, 1893. His 
will was dated February 6, 1890, and pro- 
bated November 8, 1893. He married, 
at Millville, Blackstone, November 20, 
1845, Harriet Thayer, daughter of Henry 
Thayer (Lieutenant Palatiah (5), John 
(4), Captain Thomas (3), Ferdinando (2), 
Thomas (i)) and his wife, Uranah (Tom- 
son) Thayer. She was born in that 
part of Mendon which afterward became 
Blackstone, February 7, 1819, and died at 
Worcester, February i, 1884. Her will 
was dated October 10, 1877, ^^d probated 
April 15, 1884. The children of Mowry 
and Harriet (Thayer) Lapham, born at 
Millville, Blackstone, were: i. Harriet 
Mowry, mentioned below. 2. Frederick 
Adelbert, born June 28, 1856, who mar- 
ried Mary Percival Mattoon. 

(VII) Harriet Mowry Lapham, daugh- 
ter of Mowry Lapham (6) (Arad (5), 
William (4), Solomon (3), Nicholas (2), 
John (i)) was born at Millville, Black- 
stone, October 16, 1853. She married, at 
Worcester, November 3, 1873, Francis 
Augustus Leland. She died at Worces- 
ter, August 29, 191 1. The only child of 
Francis Augustus and Harriet Mowry 
(Lapham) Leland was Hattie May. (See 
Leland Family). 



OLMSTEAD, Chauncey Lockhardt, 
Manufacturer, 

When forced by ill health to retire 
from the profession for which he had 



filled himself, and in which he had gained 
honorable standing, Mr. Olmstead entered 
the manufacturing field. After periods of 
activity in other lines he finally, in 1875, 
became interested in corset manufacture, 
and from that year until his lamented 
death, in 1915, was prominently identified 
with that industry, being at the time of 
his death president of the Olmstead- 
Quaboag Corset Company, of West 
Brookfield, Massachusetts, one of the 
largest and most prosperous corporations 
of its kind in that section of Massachu- 
setts. He was of Dutch ancestry on the 
paternal side, but through the maternal 
line came from pure Scotch blood. He 
inherited the fine character traits peculiar 
to these races, and was not only rated one 
of the successful business men of his day, 
but in his private life and social relations 
was most popular and highly esteemed. 
He was a son of Chauncey and Ruth 
(Scott) Olmstead of Fairfield county, 
Connecticut, his father a soldier of the 
War of 1812. 

Chauncey L. Olmstead was born in 
Ridgefield, Fairfield county, Connecticut, 
August 18, 1829, died in West Brookfield, 
Massachusetts, December 30, 1915. He 
attended the public schools until sixteen 
years of age, finishing his school career 
with graduation from the high school in 
Wilton, Connecticut. From the age of 
sixteen until attaining his majority, he 
was an apprentice to the coach builder's 
trade under his father, a noted coach 
builder and eminent citizen of Ridgefield, 
Connecticut. Shortly after completing 
his years of apprenticeship he was made 
foreman of the coach factory, but the bus- 
iness did not appeal to him and he with- 
drew to pursue special courses of study in 
civil engineering. He became well versed 
in his profession, and then went West, 
locating in Toledo, Ohio, where he be- 
came a member of the firm, B. S. & C. L. 



179 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Olmstead, civil engineers, and in that 
association spent tliree successful years 
of professional work. Ill health then 
forced his retirement and he returned 
East to his Connecticut home. After 
recovering his health he entered the man- 
ufacturing field, locating in Meriden, Con- 
necticut, as a partner of the firm, J. Wil- 
cox & Company, that firm engaging in 
the manufacture of that then fashionable 
article of woman's attire, crinoline, bet- 
ter known as the hoop skirt. For eight 
years Mr. Olmstead acted as the com- 
pany's agent for the sale of their product 
in New York City, closing his connection 
with the Wilcox Company in 1875, and 
entering upon the permanent phase of 
life as a manufacturer the same year. 

The firm. Waterman & Meyer, was, 
in 1875, manufacturing corsets in its fac- 
tory at West Brookfield, Massachusetts. 
Mr. Olmstead was admitted as a partner 
in the business that year, and he con- 
tinued a member of the firm until later 
the Bay State Corset Company was or- 
ganized with a manufacturing plant at 
Springfield. He was president of that 
company, a post he ably filled until 1894, 
these years wonderfully developing his 
business ability and executive quality. 
On December i, 1894, Chauncey L. Olm- 
stead began business as the Olmstead- 
Quaboag Corset Company of West 
Brookfield, and continued corset manu- 
facture very successfully until 1902. In 
that year the business was incorporated, 
Chauncey L. Olmstead becoming presi- 
dent. For thirteen years Mr. Olmstead 
lived to guide the destinies of the corpor- 
ation his genius created, and at their 
manufacturing center, foot of Pleasant 
street. West Brookfield, one of the coun- 
try's most modernly equipped and pros- 
perous plants was in fullest operation. 
The business interests of the company 
in time demanded a branch factory at 



Springfield, and a business office in New 
York City, both of which were useful 
cogs in a great business machine. For 
forty years, 1875-1915, Mr. Olmstead was 
engaged in the manufacture of corsets, 
and during that period saw the wonder- 
ful growth and expansion of the business, 
not alone in West Brookfield, but in the 
entire country, until its volume is stu- 
pendous. He measured up to the full 
demands of his greatly enlarged business, 
and was rated one of the strong, progres- 
sive, executives of the corset business, 
and there have been giants of business 
sagacity among them. 

For forty-four years Mr. Olmstead was 
a resident of West Brookfield, Massachu- 
setts, and there was never a time during 
that period in which he was not deeply 
interested in the welfare of his commun- 
ity, although he held no public offices. 
He was Independent in his political 
action, and served as an interested citizen 
through the medium of the town and vil- 
lage improvement societies. The one 
break in his non-official record was in 
1908 and 1909, when he served on a com- 
mittee to investigate and report upon a 
water supply for West Brookfield. In 
religious faith he was a Congregational- 
ist, affiliated with the West Brookfield 
church. The years of his life numbered 
eighty-six, and until the November pre- 
ceding his death in December, he con- 
tinued the active head of the corporation 
which he founded, and was daily to be 
found at his desk. The end came through 
an attack of bronchitis, and he passed 
peacefully away. He is buried in Pine 
Grove Cemetery. 

Mr. Olmstead married (first) June 22, 
1859, Anna Elizabeth Olmstead, of Dan- 
bury, Connecticut, who died October 26, 
1894. He married (second) March 18, 
1897, Mary Elizabeth Temple, who sur- 
vives him with an only child, Chauncey 
t8o 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lockhardt; also two daughters by her 
first marriage, Mary E., wife of David 
Landon Johnson, of Cleveland, Ohio, and 
Grace H. T. Olmstead, who, at the time 
of her stepfather's death, was an art stu- 
dent in Paris, France. 



DICKINSON, Herbert Samuel, 

Business Man, 

As a descendant of Nathaniel Dickin- 
son of Wethersfield, Connecticut. Herbert 
S. Dickinson can claim most ancient line- 
age. Nathaniel Dickinson, the first an- 
cestor of this family, settled with his 
wife, Anna Gull, in Wethersfield, Con- 
necticut, in 1636. He took a leading posi- 
tion in the town, becoming a member of 
the first board of selectmen, representa- 
tive to the State Legislature 1645-1656, 
recorder for twenty years, and through- 
out his life a deacon of the Congrega- 
tional church. In 1659 he removed with 
his family to Hadley, Massachusetts; 
aided in laying out the town as a member 
of the first committee selected for that 
purpose ; was the first recorder there ; 
assessor magistrate ; member of the 
Hampshire Troop and of the first board 
of trustees of Hopkins Academy. He 
owned east of the "great river" at Hart- 
ford, one hundred acres in the Naubuc 
Farms' tract, this being sold prior to his 
removal to Hadley. He was born in Ely, 
Cambridge, England, in 1600, and in Jan- 
uary, 1630, at East Bergholat, Sufifolk, 
England, married Anna, widow of Wil- 
liam Gull. Tradition carries his descent 
back to the Court of King of Norway, and 
the year 700, when Ivar, a soldier of for- 
tune first appeared. From Ivar came 
Walter de Caen, later Walter de Ken- 
son, the ancestor of Johnne Dykonson, a 
freeholder of Kingston-Upon-Hull, Eng- 
land, who, in 1260, married Margaret 
Lambert, the line of descent being 



through their son William Dykenson ; his 
son Hugh Dykensonne ; his son An- 
thonyne Dickensonne ; his son Richard 
Dickenson ; his son Thomas Dickinson ; 
his son Hugh Dickinson ; all the preced- 
ing being of Kingston-Upon-Hull, and all 
freeholders. Hugh Dickinson was the 
father of William Dickinson, of Kenson 
Manor, he the father of John Dickinson, 
of Leeds, England, he of William Dick- 
inson, of Bradley Hall, Staffordshire, he 
of Richard Dickinson, who succeeded his 
father, he of Thomas Dickinson, a clerk 
of the Portsmouth, England, Navy Yard, 
1 567-1 587, he of William Dickinson, 
of Ely, Cambridge, England, who mar- 
ried, in 1 59-, Sarah Stacey, they the 
parents of Nathaniel Dickinson, founder 
of the family in New England, and 
of the fourteenth recorded generation 
of his family in England, 1260-1630. 

(I) Nathaniel and Anna (Gull) Dick- 
inson came to New England, the year of 
their marriage, 1630, settled first in Wa- 
tertown, there remaining until going to 
Wethersfield, Connecticut, in 1635-36. 
They were the parents of nine sons and 
two daughters, all of whom grew to adult 
years, married, and reared families, ex- 
cept Frances. All of the sons took an 
active part in King Philip's War, John, 
Joseph and Azariah all losing their lives, 
they being the two eldest and youngest 
of their sons. Nathaniel Dickinson, borne 
down with affliction and weight of years, 
died in Hadley, Massachusetts, June 16, 
1676. 

(II) Samuel Dickinson, fourth son of 
Nathaniel and Anna (Gull) Dickinson, 
was born in Wethersfield, Connecticut, 
July, 1638, died November 30, 171 1. He 
was made a freeman in 1690, but is not 
recorded as taking active part in public 
aflfairs. He married, January 4, 1668, 
Martha Bridgman, born November 20, 
1649, died July 16, 171 1, daughter of 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



James Bridgman. Children : Samuel, 
Nathaniel, Sarah, Azariah, Ebenezer, of 
further mention ; Ann, Joseph, and Han- 
nah. 

(III) Ebenezer Dickinson, fourth son of 
Samuel and Martha (Bridgman) Dickin- 
son, was born on February 2, 1681, died 
March 16, 1730. He married, June 27, 
1706, Hannah Frary (or Tracy), they the 
parents of: Edith, Elizabeth, Nathan, 
of further mention ; Hannah, Reuben, 
Samuel, Mary, and Abner. 

(IV) Nathan Dickinson, eldest son of 
Ebenezer and Hannah Dickinson, was 
born May 30. 1712, died in Amherst, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 7, 1796. He removed 
from Hatfield to Amherst in 1742, and 
there resided until his death. He mar- 
ried (first) Thankful Warner; (second) 
Joanna Leonard ; (third) Judith Hosmer. 
Children of Nathan and Thankful (War- 
ner) Dickinson : Nathan, and Ebenezer, 
of further mention ; children of Nathan 
and Joanna (Leonard) Dickinson: Aza- 
riah, Elihu, Shelah, Thankful, Lois, Levi, 
and Joanna ; children of Nathan and Ju- 
dith (Hosmer) Dickinson: Stephen and 
Judith. 

(V) Ebenezer Dickinson, second son 
of Nathan and Thankful (Warner) Dick- 
inson, born January 3, 1741, married, Oc- 
tober 30, 1765, Ruth Eastman, who died 
January 3, 1833. They were the parents 
of William, Lucinda, Edith, Sylvanus, 
Ebenezer, and Abijah, of further mention. 

(VI) Abijah Dickinson, youngest son 
of Ebenezer and Ruth (Eastman) Dickin- 
son, was born December 7, 1781, died 
April II, 1824, a farmer of Amherst, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, October 26, 1806, 
Mary Stetson. They were the parents of 
a daughter and four sons, all born in 
Amherst, Massachusetts : Charlotte, born 
October 24, 1807; William, born October 
24, 1809; Franklin, born August 26, 1812; 
Samuel Storrs, of further mention ; Eben- 
ezer Porter, born August 12, 1819. 



(VII) Samuel Storrs Dickinson, third 
son of Abijah and Mary (Stetson) Dick- 
inson, was born in Amherst, Massachu- 
setts, February 12, 1815, and there died 
in January, 1874, his whole life having 
been spent on the old homestead, a farmer 
and lumberman. He married Alzina 
Towne, born in 18 12, died in 1907, daugh- 
ter of Ichabod and Lydia (Whipple) 
Towne. They were the parents of: .Abbie 
Jeannette, married Lewis Bartlett, and 
had two children : Cora (deceased) and 
Clayton ; Mary M., married Isaac King, 
and had two children: Homer (deceased) 
and Delta; Storrs, died young; Emily 
Etta, married Edward King, and had two 
children: Carrie (deceased) and Ed- 
ward ; Alice, married John Chandler, and 
has two children : Nellie and Edith ; 
Edith, married Myron Pettingill, and has 
a daughter, Edna; John, died young; 
Herbert Samuel, of further mention. 

(VIII) Herbert Samuel Dickinson, 
youngest child and only son of Samuel 
Storrs and Alzina (Towne) Dickinson to 
survive childhood, was born at the Dick- 
inson homestead in Amherst, Massachu- 
setts, November 25, 1867, his ancestor, 
Nathan Dickinson, having settled on the 
homestead in 1742, coming there from 
Hatfield. He attended the public schools 
in his boyhood, but at the age of fifteen 
he assumed the management of the home- 
stead, his father having died when Her- 
bert S. was but six years of age, and he 
the only son. There his life has been 
spent, the acres he tills hallowed by the 
lives of Dickinsons for a century and a 
quarter. He owns several tracts in other 
towns, totaling with the home farm two 
hundred and twenty-five acres. He de- 
votes a part of his time to dairy farming, 
selling the milk of his herds, and part to 
general farming. He holds to the politi- 
cal faith of his father, Republican, but 
takes no active part in public afifairs. He 
is a member of the Cushman Methodist 



182 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Episcopal Church, serving as a trustee 
and active member of the official board. 
Mr. Dickinson married, September 25, 
1912, Mrs. Emma (Clark) Parker, daugh- 
ter of William and Martha (Mullett) 
Clark. By her first marriage Mrs. Dick- 
inson has two daughters, Edith and Ha- 
zel Parker. 



DICKINSON, George Sherman, 

Business Man, Agriculturist. 

George Sherman Dickinson, now re- 
siding at South Amherst, traces his 
descent for seven generations to Na- 
thaniel Dickinson, who originally settled 
in Connecticut, but later in Massachu- 
setts, this branch being long seated in 
Hatfield and Whately, Massachusetts. 

(HI) Nathaniel Dickinson, second son 
of Samuel and Martha (Bridgman) Dick- 
inson (q. v.), was born in Hatfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, February 10, 1672, and died 
November 29, 1741. He married, May 25, 
1713, Esther Cowles, born April 14, 1686, 
died in 1750, daughter of John and De- 
borah Cowles. They were the parents of 
four children: Eunice, married Thomas 
Baker; Gideon, of further mention; Jo- 
seph ; Miriam, married Simon Morton. 

(IV) Gideon Dickinson, eldest son of 
Nathaniel and Esther (Cowles) Dickin- 
son, was born in Hatfield, Massachusetts, 
April 27, 1716, and died April 13, 1781. 
He married, in 1742, Rebecca Crafts, born 
October 12, 1721, died August 27, 1788, 
daughter of John and Martha (Graves) 
Crafts. Their children were : Lois, mar- 
ried Daniel Dickinson ; Gideon (2) of 
further mention ; Joseph ; Beulah. 

(V) Gideon (2) Dickinson, eldest son 
of Gideon (i) and Rebecca (Crafts) Dick- 
inson, was born in Hatfield, Massachu- 
setts, December 29, 1744, and died in 
Whately, Massachusetts, September 2, 
181 1. He was for many years the lead- 



ing citizen of Whately, a large landowner 
and substantial farmer, prominent in 
town affairs. He married Lydia Dickin- 
son, born November 21, 1716, died Au- 
gust 8, 1812, daughter of Daniel and Ly- 
dia (Allis) Dickinson. Children: Lydia, 
Asa, Daniel, Gideon (3), Ruth, Dexter, 
of further mention ; and Giles. 

(VI) Dexter Dickinson, son of Gideon 
(2) and Lydia (Dickinson) Dickinson, 
was born in Whately, Massachusetts, 
June 12, 1788, and died there, March 14, 
1868, a farmer. He married Nancy Whit- 
ney, born August 6, 1796, died August 23, 
1 85 1, daughter of Jonathan Whitney. 
Children : Lucy W., born November 30, 
1818, married Charles B. Stearns ; Jona- 
than Whitney, of further mention ; Lor- 
enzo, born March 14, 1827, died July 19, 
1850. 

(VII) Jonathan Whitney Dickinson, 
eldest son of Dexter and Nancy (Whitney) 
Dickinson, was born in Whately, Massa- 
chusetts, March 23, 1823, and died in 
South Deerfield, Massachusetts, 1905. He 
was a large landowner and successful 
farmer of Whately for many years, later 
moving to Conway, and finally to South 
Deerfield. His farm in the town of Con- 
way contained three hundred acres, and 
he was extensively engaged in stock 
raising. He was a Republican in poli- 
tics, and a member of the Whately Con- 
gregational Church. Mr. Dickinson mar- 
ried (first) in 1850, Ophelia E. Bart- 
lett, born October 27, 1830, died March, 
1872, daughter of Dexter Bartlett. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dickinson were the parents of 
two sons and two daughters: i. Lucy, 
born 1852, deceased ; married John Canon, 
deceased; four children: Bertram, George, 
Bertha and Mabel. 2. John W., born Oc- 
tober II, 1854; married Anna Elder; four 
children : Albert, deceased ; Carrie O., 
married Ralph Darvel, and has two chil- 
dren : Mildred and Milton, twins; Lena, 



183 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



married Ralph Ripley, of Greenfield ; 
Mildred, resides at Greenfield. 3. Lizzie 
Josephine, born May 15, 1859; married 
Lewis Kingsley; two children: William 
George and Harry. 4. George Sherman, 
of further mention. Mr. Dickinson mar- 
ried (second) Judith L. Graves, born Jan- 
uary I, 1834, daughter of Randall and 
Martha (Scott) Graves. They were the 
parents of: 5. Martha Malista, born Feb- 
ruary 17, 1874, deceased. 6. Gideon, born 
January 21, 1876; married Louisa Smith; 
three children : Stanley, Ruth, Ellen. 7. 
Edith Lydia, born March 13, 1881. 

(VIII) George Sherman Dickinson, of 
the eighth American generation of his 
family, youngest son of Jonathan Whit- 
ney Dickinson, and his first wife, Ophelia 
E. (Bartlett) Dickinson, was born in 
Whatley, Massachusetts, July 29, 1863. 
He was educated in the public schools of 
Whately and Orange, Massachusetts. He 
was always a lover of horses, and for sev- 
eral years after leaving school he drove a 
team in North Leverett, going thence to 
North Amherst, where he continued in 
the same occupation with Cowles & How- 
ard. He had saved his money, and on 
December 28, 1893, opened a livery barn 
at Amherst under his own name. He 
began with a small equipment, having but 
five horses, but he ran the business sat- 
isfa,ctorily to the public, and at the 
height of his success had twenty-nine 
good horses in constant use in his busi- 
ness. Nine of these were killed in a dis- 
astrous fire, which caused him other loss, 
but he continued in successful business at 
Amherst until 1916, when he sold out and 
retired to his little farm of twelve acres 
at South Amherst, which he had bought 
and made his home on since 1912. There 
he now employs himself in cultivating 
these acres and in happy contentment 
passes his time. 

Mr. Dickinson married, November 6, 



1907, Flora (Pelletier) Perry, born in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, daughter of 
Joseph Pelletier. 



DUFAULT, Louis Misael, 

Business Man, Public Official. 

This family, established in the United 
States by Misael Dufault, in 1874, was 
founded in Canada by four Dufault broth- 
ers, who came from France in early days. 
From one of these descended Pierre Du- 
fault, great-grandfather of Louis Misael 
Dufault, of Chicopee, Massachusetts. 

Pierre Dufault was succeeded by a 
son, Joseph Dufault, a farmer of Canada, 
who died July 15, 1894. He ^ married 
(first) Christine Harpin, who bore him 
four children : Azarie, Joseph, Misael, 
and Delina, who married Edward Du- 
fault; the third child, Misael, the father 
of Louis M. Dufault. He married (sec- 
ond) Caroline Papillon, and they were 
the parents of: Maxim, Napoleon, Odille, 
Emelie, Georgianna, deceased ; Clem- 
ent, deceased; Louise, Eliza, Ulric, Philip, 
and Olympe. 

Misael Dufault was born in St. Ours, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, March 6, 
1850, and there passed the first twenty- 
four years of his life. He obtained a 
good education in the schools of his native 
town, and aided his father in the culti- 
vation of the farm at St. Ours. He con- 
tinued farming in Canada, until 1874, then 
came to the United States, locating at 
East Brookfield, Massachusetts, there 
purchasing a small farm upon which he 
resided for some years. Later he was 
employed in a shoe factory in Spencer, 
Massachusetts, continuing until 1891, 
when he moved to Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, which is yet his home, twenty- 
seven years having elapsed since he first 
came there. His business in Chicopee 
has ever been shoe repairing, and he is 



184 




^„^tMX^ ^. KjUj£^i,cc£^^~^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



well and favorably known to a very large 
number of customers and friends. He 
became a naturalized citizen in Boston, 
and has always been interested in the 
political affairs of his community, observ- 
ing all his duties and privileges as a citi- 
zen, but never holding any public office. 
Misael Dufault married Mary Giard, born 
September 13, 1849, in Contrecoeur, Can- 
ada, daughter of Alexis and Noflet (Lari- 
viere) Giard. They were the parents of 
a daughter, AUizia, who married Fred- 
erick Greenough ; and a son, Louis Misael, 
of further mention. The mother of these 
children died September 19, 1918. 

Louis M. Dufault was born at St. Ours, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, November 
28, 1873, but the following year was 
brought to East Brookfield, Massachu- 
setts, by his parents. He attended the 
public schools of East Brookfield and 
Spencer, Massachusetts, the College of 
St. Mary's at Marysville, and Springfield 
Business College, being graduated from 
the last named institution. After com- 
pleting his studies, Mr. Dufault began 
learning the printer's trade on a French 
newspaper in Holyoke, and later was 
employed for several years in the job 
department of the Holyoke "Daily Trans- 
script," also working on the paper, be- 
coming an expert on a Hnotype machine. 
During the time employed in Holyoke, 
he resided in Chicopee, and was inter- 
ested in city affairs. For four years, 
1905-06-07-08, he served on the Board of 
Aldermen. He was elected in 1904 for 
two years, served 1905-06, elected again 
in 1906, served 1907-08. He was ap- 
pointed by Mayor WiUiam Dunn as reg- 
ister of voters in 1915 and served until 
1916, when the Board of Aldermen elected 
him to the office of city treasurer to fill out 
the unexpired term of William C. O'Neil. 
In 1916, at the expiration of his appointive 
term, he was elected by the people for a 



term of two years. "He has ever been one 
of the public-spirited men of Chicopee, 
who have always held paramount the 
interests committed to their care. He 
is a member of the Union Canadian, the 
Order of French Foresters, the Order of 
Artisans, and is a trustee and treasurer of 
the Union Canadian Building. 

Mr. Dufault married, October 27, 1903, 
Mary Bouvier, of Southbridge, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of William and Philo- 
mene (Lucier) Bouvier. 



SMITH, Joseph Mather, 

Business Man. 

Joseph Mather Smith, the well-known 
market gardener of West Springfield, 
Massachusetts, is a descendant of Ben- 
jamin Smith, who came from England, 
about 1723, and who resided in East 
Lynn. He married Sarah Way, who died 
in 1769. They were the parents of Na- 
than Smith, born at Lyme, 1725, died Jan- 
uary 7, 1809. About 1759 he became an 
inhabitant of New London, and pur- 
chased a tract of land of Noah Hammond, 
later owned by his son, John Smith, and 
afterward by John Fellowes. Nathan 
Smith was a tanner and currier by trade, 
and was a member of Rev. David Jew- 
ett's church, formerly of Rev. Mr. Gris- 
wold's church. He was a Revolutionary 
soldier and a pensioner. He married 
(first) Elizabeth Sterling, and they were 
the parents of Simon Smith, who was born 
in 1759. He removed from Montville, 
formerly New London, to Westfield, 
Massachusetts ; was a soldier in the Rev- 
olution, in Captain Moses Harvey's Com- 
pany, Colonel Jonathan Brewer's Regi- 
ment, in Massachusetts, 1775, and appears 
to have been in the service often from 
1776 to 1782, in a company from North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, and vicinity. He 
was a tanner and shoemaker, and in later 



185 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



life was a pensioner. He married, Janu- 
ary I, 1784, Abigail Fowler, born Decem- 
ber 3, 1758, died 1835. They were the par- 
ents of Horace Smith, a farmer, who was 
born in Westfield, August 15, 1792, and 
died in West Springfield, October 8, 1869. 
aged seventy-two. He married Gratia 
Bagg, born in West Springfield, in 1795, 
died there in 1864, and they were the par- 
ents of the following children, all deceased : 
I. Henry Bagg, a graduate of Amherst Col- 
lege, a minister of the gospel, married 
Sarah Hazen. 2. Joseph Addison, of fur- 
ther mention. 3. Franklin F., married 
Sarah Frisbee. 4. Margaret, married 
Addison Day. 5. Harriet A., never mar- 
ried. 6. William H. 7. Samuel D., a 
veteran of the Civil War. 8. Carolina T., 
never married. 9. Lyman C, never mar- 
ried. The parents were members of the 
First Congregational Church of West 
Springfield. Horace Smith served for 
many years as a deacon, and for twenty- 
five years as a superintendent of the Sun- 
days schools. 

Joseph Addison Smith was born in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, July 5, 1821, 
died in West Springfield, May 12, 1877. 
He was educated in West Spring- 
field public schools, and in 1840 estab- 
lished a market gardening business, being 
one of the first to raise produce exclu- 
sively for the market. He continued a 
market-gardener all his life, and the bus- 
iness he developed is still conducted by 
Joseph and Addison Smith. He was a 
Republican in politics, and held several 
minor town offices, was a superintendent 
of the Sunday school, and an active 
worker in the First Congregationalist 
Church. He married Frances Olcott 
Mather, born at Windsor Locks, Connec- 
ticut, December 20, 1823, and died in 
West Springfield, in 1895, daughter of 
Timothy Mather, farmer, merchant, and 
capitalist, who died in Suffield, Connecti- 



cut, April 29, 1864, aged seventy-six years. 
Timothy Mather married Frances Olcott, 
born in Windsor Locks, Connecticut. 
Joseph Addison and Frances Olcott 
(Mather) Smith were the parents of six 
children, three of whom died in infancy, 
two daughters and a son surviving: 
Joseph M., born October 11, 1851, mar- 
ried, in 1875, Ellen Moody; Addison 
Henry ; Harriet Amanda, residing in West 
Springfield. 

Joseph Mather Smith was born in West 
Springfield, October 11, 185 1, and at- 
tended public schools, being a student in 
the Chicopee High School for two years 
when Governor George D. Robinson was 
principal. Later he attended school in 
Suffield, Connecticut, and in the Wes- 
leyan Seminary, at Wilbraham. He then 
entered the market gardening business, 
which he has since followed. In associa- 
tion with his brother, Addison Henry 
Smith, he conducts a large business on 
the old homestead, under the firm name 
of J. M. & A. H. Smith, having about 
seventy-five acres under cultivation. Ac- 
cording to the season they employ from 
twenty to one hundred hands, and three 
teams are necessary to conduct their bus- 
iness in a proper manner. They dispose 
of their products in Springfield, Chicopee, 
Ludlow and Holyoke, theirs being one of 
the most extensive and successful market 
gardening farms in this section of the 
State, and throughout the winter they 
raise quantities of vegetables under glass. 
In political affiliation Mr. Smith is a Re- 
publican. He is a prominent member of 
the First Congregational Church, deacon 
and treasurer since 1876, clerk from 1878 
to 1915. In 1908 he was president of the 
No-license League, when, for the first 
time in fifteen years, the town voted no- 
license. He is a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Society, Sons of the American 
Revolution, and Congregational Club. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Smith married, March ii, 1875, 
Ellen C, daughter of Levi Moody. Chil- 
dren: I. Ida Frances, born April 24, 
1878; graduate of West Springfield High 
School ; student one year at Mt. Holyoke 
College ; married Llewellyn Goodwin, 
now a farmer in Westfield, Massachu- 
setts. Seven children : Gladys, Ralph, 
Ruth, Louise, Dorothy, Carl and Arleen. 
2. Dwight Moody, born September 7, 
1880; now an electrician; married Helen 
J. Bliss; child: Florence Bliss. 3. 
Clara Pease, born July 8, 1884; graduate 
of high school, and attended Simmons 
College, Boston ; ten years a teacher of 
domestic science. 



HOWES, William James, 

Architect. 

Identified for many years with the pub- 
lic utilities of the town, and as an archi- 
tect responsible for the beauty and serv- 
ice of many of the most notable buildings 
in Holyoke, William James Howes has 
filled a prominent place in public affairs. 

He comes of old New England stock, 
he himself being of the tenth generation 
of his father's family, and through his 
female ancestors deriving his descent 
from John Alden and his wife, Priscilla 
(Mullens) Alden. 

The first American ancestor was 
Thomas Howes, who was born in Eng- 
land in 1590 and came to America in 
1637. He married Mary Burr, and it is 
through her that the descent to the Al- 
dens is to be traced. Joseph Howes, son 
of Thomas and Mary (Burr) Howes, 
married Elizabeth Mayo, and they had a 
son, Samuel, who had a son Joseph, who 
married Elizabeth Paddock, and they had 

a son, Samuel, who married Mary , 

and they had a son, Samuel, who married 

Bathsheba , and they had a son, 

Heman, who married Phoebe Lilly, 
daughter of Jonathan Lilly, her brother. 



Eliakim Lilly, marrying Heman's sister. 
Heman and Phoebe (Lilly) Howes had 
seven sons, of whom one was Samuel. 

Samuel Howes, son of Heman and 
Phoebe (Lilly) Howes, was born in Ash- 
field, Massachusetts, March 29, 1797, and 
died June 7, 1877. He was a farmer by 
occupation, and was a man of keen wit 
and an able public speakep. He took an 
active part in town affairs, but was not 
an office seeker. His family occupied a 
prominent place in the town, and Samuel 
Howes was a man of substance, and had 
an extensive farm that is still in the pos- 
session of his descendants. The house 
which he lived in was built in 1700. He 
married Pamelia Belden Swift, daugh- 
ter of Augustus and Kate Weeks, and 
through the Weeks and Belden line Wil- 
liam James Howes traces his ancestry to 
three governors of Massachusetts Bay 
Colony, Bradford, Dudley and Tufts. 

James Root Howes, son of Samuel and 
Pamelia Belden (Swift) Howes, was born 
in Ashfield, Massachusetts, September 17, 
1873. He was educated in the town 
schools and in the well-known Sanderson 
Academy. He left the home farm when 
he was sixteen years of age, and learned 
the carpenter's trade, and for a time 
worked in Whately. After a few years 
there, he came to Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, and worked in the contracting busi- 
ness for several years. As an outgrowth 
of his experience in this type of work, he 
was appointed to the Board of District 
Police of the State of Massachusetts, and 
had charge of the section covered by 
Franklin and Berkshire counties. His 
duties were the inspection of mills and 
factories, and of safety devices in fac- 
tories, hotels, etc. He was later trans- 
ferred to the Hampden District and was 
active in this work for twenty-seven 
years. In 1915 a reorganization was 
affected and his department was put 
;87 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



under the control of the Department of 
Labor and Industries^ in which he did his 
part until his retirement on a pension in 
1917. He acted while in Holyoke as city 
messenger for three years. At the break- 
ing out of the Civil War he enlisted in 
Company C, Tenth Massachusetts Vol- 
unteer Militia. He was the first and the 
youngest enlisted man from the town of 
Ashfield. At the battle of Fair Oaks, 
May 31, 1862, he was wounded, and was 
discharged on account of disability caused 
by wounds, January 31, 1863. He was a 
member of Kilpatrick Post, Grand Army 
of the Republic, and was a member of the 
First Congregational Church. In 1914 he 
went to reside in Springfield. He 
married (first) Angelina Marilla Samp- 
son, daughter of Ansel S. and Hannah 
(Towne) Sampson, born September 6, 
1855, died July 9, 1902. He married (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth Rice, and (third) Mrs. 
Leah Bishop. 

William James Howes, son of James 
Root Howes, and his first wife, Angelina 
Marilla (Sampson) Howes, was born in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, October 22, 
1865. He was educated in the local 
schools, and when through his school 
studies tried his hand at a number of 
things, doing printing and carpentry, and 
worked for four years and a half in the 
office and factory of a paper mill. In 1888 
he made up his mind that he wished to 
devote his life to architecture, and to this 
end he went to New York and began the 
study of the art in the offices of the most 
noted architects. Here he remained at 
work for a year, after which time he re- 
turned to Holyoke and opened offices 
there and at Springfield. During the 
years that have elapsed since then he has 
done notable work in his line, designing 
some of the most important buildings put 
up in his time. Among these are the 
Pittsfield Armory, the Holyoke Armory, 
the beautiful Club House of the Holyoke 



Canoe Club, the Mt. Tom Golf Club, the 
Shelburne Memorial Hall, at Shelburne 
Falls, the John Jones Memorial Building, 
at Goshen, Massachusetts, the building 
at Mountain Park, Holyoke, several 
churches, and numerous library build- 
ings. He was the architect of the Li- 
brary at Shelburne and of the Greenfield 
Memorial Building. Mr. Howes has also 
been identified with Messrs. Bliss and 
Lavelle in the location of the proposed 
new bridge at Springfield, across the Con- 
necticut river. He has always been 
actively identified with the public utili- 
ties of Holyoke, and was one of the lead- 
ing men instrumental in the establish- 
ment of the park system and the system 
of childrens' play-grounds. Of the latter 
the experts declare that there is no better 
in any part of the country. He was for 
nine years the Park Commissioner, and 
during that time he was instrumental in 
the purchase of the park on Main street 
for a playground and of Highland Park 
for a Boulevard system. The Holyoke 
"Daily Transcript" has recently had an 
important article by him on the parks of 
the city, which it issued as a souvenir 
number. He has been consulted by the 
City Planning Board, and has had much 
to do with the planning of the new ap- 
proaches to the city. One of his great 
interests outside of the strict limits of his 
profession is archeology, and he has 
charge of valuable collections of archeo- 
logical interest. For twenty years he was 
secretary of the Holyoke Board of Fire 
Underwriters. He is chairman of the 
Playground Commission. He is a mem- 
ber of the Society of the Sons of Vet- 
erans, and of that of the Sons of the 
American Revolution. He is a member 
of Mt. Tom Golf Club, of the Holyoke 
Canoe Club, and of the First Congrega- 
tional Church, having served the latter 
as trustee for eleven years. 

Mr. Howes married (first) September 



188 




-""^^^J^o^^^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



I, 1891, Ruth Ella Cain, daughter of Ar- 
thur M. and Ellen (White) Cain, of Ches- 
shire, Massachusetts. She died July 27, 
1898, leaving two sons: i. Paul Samp- 
son, who was born in Holyoke, June 28, 
1892; he was educated in Holyoke 
schools; for two years, 1911-12, was a 
student in Dartmouth College ; for the 
years 1913-14-15 he attended the Insti- 
tute of Technology, receiving a Master's 
degree, and then pursued a special course 
in architecture at Harvard. Since then 
he has been identified with some of the 
largest construction concerns in the coun- 
try. He was with the Carmichael Con- 
struction Company, of Akron, Ohio, and 
with Harpster & Bliss of the same place. 
Until December, 1917, he was a member 
of the firm of Howes & Howes, of Spring- 
field and Holyoke. Since then he has 
been identified with Stone & Webster, 
Forces of the Ordnance Department in 
Washington. In February, 1918, he be- 
came connected with the Fred T. Ley 
Company, of Springfield, as superintend- 
ent of construction in Perryville, Mary- 
land, on work for the Atlas Powder Com- 
pany, and so remained until June, igi8, 
when he accepted a position with the Lib- 
erty Ship Building Company in building 
concrete ships. He married, October 21, 
1916, Constance Fuller, of Exeter, New 
Hampshire, and they have one child, 
Ruth Ellen, born August 15, 1917. 2. 
Ralph Arthur, born March 3, 1896, died 
August 8, 1897. Mr. Howes married 
(second) October 7, 1903, Lillian B. Rich- 
ards, of Holyoke, daughter of George W. 
and Helen M. (Cooly) Richards, and of 
this marriage there is one son, William 
Richards, born February 2"], 1907. 



GOWDY, Robert, 

Man of Affairs. 

Robert Gowdy, of Westfield, secretary 
and treasurer of the Red Men's Fraternal 



Accident Association, is of Scotch ances- 
try. The first of this branch of the fam- 
ily settled in Eastern Massachusetts, 
going thence to Connecticut and locating 
near Somersville, Tolland county. The 
original spelling of the name was Goudie. 

Robert Gowdy is a son of Charles 
Henry Gowdy, son of Tudor, son of Rob- 
ert, son of Samuel, son of James Gowdy. 
Robert Gowdy, born July 24, 1765, was a 
farmer of Somersville, and there his son, 
Tudor Gowdy, was born May 22, 1800, 
and died December 7, 1879, also a farmer 
and prominent in town affairs. He mar- 
ried, November 7, 1822, Melinda Henry, 
born January 15, 1802, died in August, 
1873, daughter of Gager Henry. They 
were the parents of Maria Annunciate, 
born April 27, 1823 ; Charles Henry, of 
further mention ; Cornelia, died in in- 
fancy; Myron Fifield, born December 31, 
1828; Sarah Melinda, February 28, 1831 ; 
Emily Cordelia, January 15, 1833; Revilo 
Tudor, July 13, 1835 ; Ellen Sophronia, 
October 4, 1845, she the last survivor, 
now residing in New Haven, Connecticut, 
widow of the Rev. J. H. Farnsworth. 

Charles Henry Gowdy, eldest son of 
Tudor and Melinda (Henry) Gowdy, was 
born in Somersville, Tolland county, Con- 
necticut, January 20, 1825, and died in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, November 18, 
1899. His education began in the dis- 
trict school in the intervals of farm labor, 
and was completed in Wilbraham Acad- 
emy, Wilbraham, Massachusetts, after 
which he began teaching. He followed 
his profession in different localities, and 
while principal of the Thompsonville, 
Connecticut, school, married Cynthia I. 
Upson, a teacher in the same school. 
About i860 Mr. Gowdy located in West- 
field, the home of his wife, and estab- 
lished a coal business, bringing the first 
carload of coal ever brought to the town. 
Later he opened a hardware and tin 
store which he successfully conducted 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



until his retirement from business about 
1890. He took an active part in town 
affairs, and on account of his rare judg- 
ment and business experience was often 
consulted by his townsmen. He served 
at one time as assessor and on important 
committees at various times, but he never 
sought office, being a man of quiet tastes, 
devoted to his home and family, neither 
political, fraternal, nor club life having 
any attractions for him. He was a capa- 
ble business man, prospered in his under- 
takings, and left behind him a name hon- 
ored and respected. He married, October 
20, 1853, Cynthia Irene Upson, who died 
December 22, 1883, aged fifty-four years. 
They were the parents of four sons, all 
of whom bore but a single name: Charles, 
born June 22, 1855; Tudor, July 9, 1857; 
Willis, July 17, 1859; Robert, of further 
mention. 

Robert Gowdy, youngest of the four 
sons of Tudor and Cynthia Irene (Upson) 
Gowdy, was born in Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, January 5, 1864, and still resides 
there. He was educated in the graded 
and high schools of the city, finishing 
with the high school graduating class of 
1881. Immediately after graduation, he 
entered^ the employ of the First National 
Bank of Westfield, resigning his position 
in 1884 to go with the Bay State Bene- 
ficiary Association, a leading fraternal 
insurance concern. He remained with 
the Bay State four years, gaining an inti- 
mate knowledge of fraternal insurance 
to supplement the banking training he 
had received with the First National. In 
1888 he was elected secretary and treas- 
urer of the Red Men's Fraternal Acci- 
dent Association of Westfield, a position 
he yet holds, although in 1915 the Asso- 
ciation legally became a stock company. 
His early training in banking and insur- 
ance peculiarly fitted him for the posi- 
tion, and as his company has grown in 



strength, so too he has expanded, until 
he is one of the acknowledged leaders of 
fraternal accident insurance. He has not 
confined himself to insurance, however, 
but is a director and an official of many 
enterprises, manufacturing, mercantile and 
financial. He is a member of the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men, lodge, chapter, 
council and commandery of the Masonic 
order, a noble of the Mystic Shrine, 
belongs to several clubs and social organ- 
izations, was president of the Board of 
Trade for two years, has served on many 
town committees, and has borne his full 
share in town development, but never has 
sought nor accepted public office. 

Mr. Gowdy married. May 4, 1887, Har- 
riet Maria Jarrold, daughter of Thomas 
and Carrie (Munsing) Jarrold. Mr. and 
Mrs. Gowdy are the parents of a son and 
two daughters, of whom the son and one 
daughter are now living: i. Rebecca 
Louise, born March 28, 1888; married, 
October 17, 1908, Addison Sprague Nick- 
ham, manager of the Philadelphia office 
of the Hartford Steam Boiler Insurance 
Company ; they have two children : Cyn- 
thia Gowdy and John Gowdy, twins, born 
January 17, 1917. 2. Robert Allyn, born 
April 23, 1893; at the present time (1918) 
in France, at General headquarters, as 
first sergeant, first class; enlisted in June, 
1917, in ordnance department. 3. Marion 
Jarrold, born August 7, 1897, died Feb- 
ruary 6, 1904. 



KERSHAW, James Edward, 
Traveling Salesman. 

This branch of the Kershaw family 
went to Scotland from England, the mi- 
grating family head, a mill worker. In 
Hawick, Scotland, James Kershaw was 
born in 1847, and there resided until 1881, 
his son, James Edward Kershaw, of 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, also being born 



190 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



there. With James Kershaw and his 
family the American residence began, 
they leaving the Scottish home in 1881, 
and coming to the United States. Adams, 
Massachusetts, was the home of James 
Kershaw until his death, but the present 
home of James E. Kershaw is Williman- 
sett, a part of the city of Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, his business connection being 
with the Springfield Facing Company, of 
Springfield, as traveling salesman. 

James Kershaw, born in Hawick, Scot- 
land, in 1847, died in Adams, Massachu- 
setts, in the autumn of 1909. He attended 
the public school until ten years of age, 
but from that time forward his life was 
one of activity, a mill worker. From the 
boys' department he advanced through 
several branches of woolen mill manufac- 
turing, until he became one of the experts 
of the scouring department in full charge 
of that branch in the mill in which he was 
employed in Hawick. He retained that 
position until 1881, when he sailed for 
the United States, locating at Cohoes, 
New York, there finding a position with 
the Lamb Cotton Mill. He only remained 
in Cohoes a short time, then removed to 
Adams, Massachusetts, there forming a 
connection with the Renfrew Manufac- 
turing Company, which continued until 
a short time prior to his death in 1909. 
He continued active until the summer of 
1909, his position that of inspector and 
booking clerk in charge of all cloth com- 
ing from the weavers. He was a man of 
faithfulness and honor, true to his obli- 
gations and very industrious. He was a 
member of the Church of England, and 
in Scotland acted politically with the Lib- 
erals. In his later years he affiliated with 
the Congregational church. 

James Kershaw married Christina Turn- 
bull, of Hawick, Scotland, born there in 
1847, came to the United States with her 
husband in 1881, survived him, and 



passed away in July, 1917. They were 
the parents of six children : Christina 
Scot, married Andrew B. Webster, now 
in Ruby, Alaska, engaged in mining; 
Elizabeth McBirnie, married James A. 
Hewitt, of Adams, Massachusetts; James 
Edward, of whom further ; Janet, de- 
ceased ; Euphemia ; Abraham Malcolm, 
D. D. S., practicing in Columbus, Ohio. 

James Edward Kershaw, eldest son of 
James and Christina (TurnbuU) Ker- 
shaw, was born in Hawick, Scotland. 
March 9, 1873, and there attended his 
first school. He was brought to the 
United States by his parents in 1881, and 
after the family finally located in Adams, 
Massachusetts, resumed school attend- 
ance. Until eleven years of age he was 
constant in his school attendance, then 
until well into his teens divided part of 
the time in mill work. He was employed 
in an Adams cotton mill until 1898, then 
for a short time, in the winter of 1898-99, 
was employed as clerk in a shoe store 
in Adams. This brought him to the Span- 
ish War period, and when the call was 
made for men he enlisted in the Second 
Massachusetts Regiment of Volunteers, 
and in course of time reached Cuba. He 
was with the American forces at El 
Caney and in the night attack on San 
Juan Hill, seeing five months of hard 
service before finally being honorably dis- 
charged and mustered out at Springfield, 
Massachusetts. 

For a short time after the war ended 
he was clerk in the store of Jenks & 
Mooney, shoe merchants of Adams, Mas- 
sachusetts, then for another brief period 
was employed by the Berkshire Cotton 
Manufacturing Company. In April, 1899, 
he entered the employ of the American 
Express Company at Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, remaining in that employ until 
1907, when he transferred his services to 
the Springfield Gas Light Company as a 



191 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



salesman, continuing with that company 
until 1909. In the latter year he located 
in Willimansett, Massachusetts, accept- 
ing a position with The Springfield Fac- 
ing Company, whose plant was located in 
Willimansett. The company output is 
foundry facings and was in his care as 
foreman of the plant until January, 1917, 
when he was transferred to the selling 
department and assigned all of New Eng- 
land and part of New York State as ter- 
ritory to cover in the company's interest, 
as their traveling representative. He is 
a member of De Soto Lodge, No. 155, 
Springfield; Clan Murray, Order of Scot- 
tish Clans; the First Congregational 
Church, Springfield ; his political faith. 
Republican. 

Mr. Kershaw married, August 28, 1901, 
Mabel Edna Fairfield, of Adams, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Edward W. and Ida 
(White) Fairfield. Mrs. Kershaw is a 
maternal granddaughter of Henry and 
Roxy (Leach) White, and great-grand- 
daughter of Henry and Nancy (White) 
Henry, a descendant of William White, 
who bears the distinction of being the 
father of Peregrine White, whose peculiar 
name suggests the peregrinations of the 
family from their experiences in Leyden, 
Holland, to that quiet New England har- 
bor which was the birthplace of their son, 
William White, who came in the "May- 
flower," and his wife, Susannah, were the 
parents of Peregrine White, who was born 
in the cabin of the "Mayflower," while 
she lay at anchor in Cape Cod harbor, he 
the first child of English parents born in 
New England. His mother married (sec- 
ond) Governor Edward Winslow, in May. 
1621, the year of her first husband's death, 
and the child Peregrine was taken to 
Mansfield with the family of Governor 
Winslow about 1638, and later married 
Sarah Bassett. He died July 20, 1704, his 
wife in 171 1. William White's wife, 



Susannah Fuller, was a sister of Samuel 
Fuller, the "Mayflower" passenger and 
founder of one branch of the Fuller fam- 
ily of New England. Mr. and Mrs. Ker- 
shaw are the parents of two sons and two 
daughters: Elizabeth, died in childhood; 
James Douglas, born March 4, 1904; Ruth 
Agnes, born in November, 1908 ; and Ed- 
ward Fairfield, born May 14, 1913. 



HARVEY, WUliam Ruby, 

Representative Citizen. 

The late William Ruby Harvey, of 
West Springfield, was prominent in fra- 
ternal circles, and enjoyed much personal 
popularity among the many to whom he 
was known. He was the son of William 
Harvey, who was the son of Ebenezer 
Harvey, and the grandson of Peter Har- 
vey, a resident of New York, born in 1765, 
married Elizabeth Pierce. Children of 
Peter and Elizabeth (Pierce) Harvey: i. 
Ebenezer. 2. James, settled in Brim- 
field ; married Lucy Ray. 3. Peter. 4. 
Hannah, married Ambrose Whiting. 5. 
Betsey, married Ambrose Tourtelotte. 

6. Rachel, married John W. Warren. 
Ebenezer Harvey was born November 
I, 1789, settled in Palmer, Massachusetts, 
and died March 12, 1871. He married 
Margaret McMitchell, who died March 
30, 1863. Children of Ebenezer and Mar- 
garet (McMitchell) Harvey':- i. William, 
of further mention. 2. Erasmus, married 
Mary Kendall. 3. Edwin, married (first) 
Lucinda Ladd ; married (second) Betsey 
Hudson. 4. Elisabeth, married Carlos 
Parsons. 5. Asel, married Mary Nettle- 
ton. 6. Sarah, married Joseph Bumstead. 

7. Emilus, married Sarah Johnson. 
William Harvey, son of Ebenezer and 

Margaret (McMitchell) Harvey, was bom 
May 18, 1810, and died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, in 1893. He was a farmer 
in Palmer, Massachusetts. He married. 



192 




ySCWiUiam, i S-o. //V 



.-T ^yr;^>^>^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



May 22, 1834, Achsah Ruby, and their 
children were: i. William, died in 1835. 
2. Jane, born November 11, 1836, married 
(first) Luther Snow, in 1858, and (sec- 
ond) Wesley Dimock ; resides at Stafford 
Springs, Connecticut. 3. Angeline A., 
born July 17, 1840, married, December 15, 

1856, Luther Snow, and died May 17, 

1857. 4. William Ruby, of further men- 
tion. 5. Estella A., born November 2, 
1852, married Thomas Cartwright, Feb- 
ruary 24, 1883 ; resides in Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Mrs. Harvey, the mother 
of these children, died in Palmer, Massa- 
chusetts, September 6, 1902. 

William Ruby Harvey, son of William 
and Achsah (Ruby) Harvey, was born 
in Palmer, Massachusetts, September 9, 
1845. He grew to manhood on his fath- 
er's farm, acquiring his education in local 
public schools. As a comparatively young 
man, he rose to the position of superin- 
tendent of the Norfolk Mill, of South 
Wrentham, and later became a travelling 
salesman for the well-known firm of J. S. 
Carr & Company, cracker manufacturers, 
of Springfield. He next became traveling 
salesman for C. D. Boss & Son, cracker 
manufacturers, of New London, Connec- 
ticut, and this position he retained until 
his resignation on retiring from business, 
in 1907. In 1885, Mr. Harvey opened For- 
est Lake Amusement Park, between Pal- 
mer and Ware, Massachusetts, which has 
since become well known. In politics, 
Mr. Harvey was an adherent of the 
Republican party. He was a member 
of Hampden Lodge, Springfield ; was a 
member of Springfield Commandery, 
Knights Templar; also Melha Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; was a char- 
ter member of Mount Orthodox Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of West 
Springfield, holding the office of treasurer 
from the time of its organization until 



his death ; also a member of De Soto 
Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, of West Springfield, and was one of 
the charter members of the order of the 
Eastern Star, of West Springfield, of 
which Mrs. Harvey likewise became a 
member at the same time, and has ever 
since been its chaplain. Since Mr. Har- 
vey's death, Mount Orthodox Lodge, of 
West Springfield, has formed an organi- 
zation called the William R. Harvey Ma- 
sonic Building Association, named in his 
honor, and this organization has pur- 
chased the historic old white church, 
located on "Meeting House Hill," which 
is now used for the lodge rooms. 

Mr. Harvey married, June 13, 1867, 
Jenette E. Millard, and their long union 
was a very happy one. The death of Mr. 
Harvey, which occurred October 30, 1914, 
deprived the community of one who was 
cordially liked by many and thoroughly 
respected by all, a man of strong princi- 
ples, exemplary life, and kindly and sym- 
pathetic feelings. Such a man is always 
sincerely regretted and greatly missed. 
William Ruby Harvey will be long re- 
membered as a useful citizen, a kind 
neighbor and a true friend. 

Warren Millard, father of Jenette E. 
(Millard) Harvey, was a resident of 
Becket, Massachusetts, where he followed 
the occupation of a general farmer, and 
later removed to a farm in Agawam, 
whereon he spent the remainder of his 
life. He married Philema Foster, a native 
of Becket, and they became the parents of 
four sons and three daughters, all of 
whom are deceased, with the exception 
of Jenette E., whose birth occurred in 
Becket, Massachusetts, November 25, 
1846, the widow of William R. Harvey. 
Mr. Millard died in 1875, and his wife 
passed away, November 2, 1884. 



193 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



COAKLEY, Hon. Daniel Joseph, 
Public Official. 

In the year 1870, Daniel J. Coakley, 
grandfather of Daniel J. Coakley, mayor 
of Chicopee, Massachusetts, left Wales, 
Great Britain, and came to the United 
States, locating in Springfield, Massachu- 
setts. This was the beginning of this 
branch of the family in Massachusetts, a 
family well known in that section of Mas- 
sachusetts of which Springfield is a cen- 
ter. Since 1916 Daniel J. Coakley, of the 
third generation in Massachusetts, has 
been mayor of Chicopee, he now serving 
his third term as chief executive of that 
prosperous Massachusetts city. 

Daniel J. Coakley, the founder, was 
born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1830, 
later moved to Wales, and there resided 
until forty years of age when he came to 
Springfield, Massachusetts, where he 
died, July 3, 1904. He was a mason by 
trade, became a contractor in Springfield, 
and was an employer of labor for many 
years. He married (first) Johanna Dau- 
son ; (second) Mary Danaey. Daniel and 
Johanna (Dauson) Coakley were the par- 
ents of: John, born March 29, 1855; 
Catherine, June 18, 1856, married Walter 
Tilley; Joseph, born March 18, 1858; 
Andrew J., of further mention ; Mary R., 
born February 2, 1870, married Austin 
Knowles ; and two children, who died in 
infancy. 

Andrew J. Coakley was born in Wales, 
Great Britain, November 2, 1859, and 
there attended school in his early boy- 
hood. In 1868 he began working in a 
government printing office in England, 
there continuing until the family come to 
the United States in 1870. He was a 
faithful lad, so pleasing his employers 
that they gave him a good recommenda- 
tion. He was eleven years of age when 
Springfield, Massachusetts, became the 



family home, and there he has ever since 
made his home. His first position was 
as bell boy in the old Haynes Hotel, soon 
leaving there to enter the employ of 
Smith & Wesson Company, manufactur- 
ers of fire arms in Springffield. He con- 
tinued with that company for several 
years, and during that period increased 
his educational equipment by attendance 
at the city's evening schools. He was 
next engaged with the George Hendee 
Company in the manufacture of bicycles, 
as an employee in the plating, buffing and 
polishing departments, remaining with 
that company many years. His next posi- 
tion was with the Cheney-Bigelow Wire 
Works, of Springfield, there remaining 
twenty-three years until the present, 
1918. He has won many promotions dur- 
ing these years of faithful, intelligent 
service, and is now head of the buffing, 
plating and polishing department of that 
company. He is a member of the New 
England Order of Protection, serving on 
an important State committee; is a past 
chief ranger of the American Order of 
Foresters ; has served on elective boards 
in city election ; is a Democrat in politics ; 
and in religious faith a member of the 
Roman Catholic church. Andrew J. 
Coakley married, September 11, 1879, 
Mary A. Joyce, born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, April 4, 1865, daughter of Ed- 
ward E. and Mary (Sullivan) Joyce. She 
was brought to the United States by her 
parents in 1868, they settling in Massa- 
chusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Coakley are the 
parents of an only child, Daniel J. (2) 
Coakley. 

Daniel Joseph Coakley, second to bear 
that name, and of the third generation, 
was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
November 18, 1880. He was educated in 
the public schools of the city, and when 
school years were ended he became a 
worker in the Cheney-Bigelow Wire 



194 




^Uai-t^jt^L./?^^ , 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Works, there remaining about three and 
a half years, where he learned the wire 
weaver's trade. From the wire works he 
changed to commercial lines, becoming 
an ice dealer, operating under his own 
name and continuing for about two years. 
This brought him to the year 1899, when 
he became associated with Swift & Com- 
pany, meat packers of Chicago, the branch 
with which Mr. Coakley is connected 
being known as the Springfield Render- 
ing Company. For nineteen years he has 
been associated with that company, his 
present position that of superintendent, 
with an ofifice in Springfield. He has won 
his way to responsible business station, 
and is highly regarded as a managing 
executive. 

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Coakley 
has always been interested in public 
afTairs, and since September 12, 1902, 
when he moved his residence to Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, he has been intimately 
connected with the politics of that city as 
citizen and official. His first public office 
was as member of the Board of Alder- 
men, he being elected Alderman-at-large 
in 1912. He served a term of two years, 
then was reelected, but after serving one 
year of the second term, resigned in 1914, 
to become a member of the License Com- 
mission to which he had been appointed 
by Mayor Rivers, and held this office 
until 1916, when he was elected mayor of 
Chicopee. He was reelected in 1917, and 
again in 1918, the term of office now hav- 
ing been extended to two years, he being 
the first mayor to serve under the two 
years' law. He has won public confi- 
dence and approval, his reelections being 
ample proof of his popularity. He is a 
member of the Improved Order of Red 
Men, and the Knights of Columbus, also 
is affiliated with business, political, and 
social organizations, including the Oxford 
Country Club of Chicopee. 



Mayor Coakley married (first) Novem- 
ber 29, 1903, Elizabeth Moore, daughter 
of Patrick J. and Ellen (Donahue) 
Moore, of Springfield, Massachusetts. 
Mrs. Coakley died March 13, 1916, and he 
married (second) June 6, 1917. Julia A. 
Moore, sister of his first wife. Children : 
May, born October 8, 1904; Andrew J. 
(2), November 6, 1906; Daniel J. (3), 
September 8, 1908 ; Anna, October 18, 
1910; William, April 30, 1913; and Eliz- 
abeth, born March 8, 1916, died October 
3, 1917. Child by his second wife, John 
Francis, born September 6, 1918. 



CLARK, Charles Dallas, 

Real Estate Operator. 

Charles Dallas Clark is an enterprising 
citizen of West Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, who has had no small part to play 
in the development and growth of real 
estate in the town. His public services, 
which have covered a period of more than 
a quarter of a century, are evidence of the 
spirit and energy which he is always 
ready to spend in behalf of interests other 
than his own. 

The parents of Mr. Clark were Lyman 
Thomas and Sarah Ann (Andrews) Clark. 
The former, born in New York State, 
was in the hotel business during his active 
life. The latter was born in Cheshire, 
Massachusetts, April 14, 1827, and died 
February 18, 1905. There were four chil- 
dren born to them other than Charles 
Dallas Clark: i. Abel, married Endora 
Gray, lived in Adams, Massachusetts, and 
died in 1899. 2. Georgeanna, married 
Jerome Perkins, now of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, and to them were born three 
children : Fannie, Newell and Mildred. 3. 
William Henry, married Augusta Hintz ; 
he served in the standing army some 
forty years ago, and after his marriage 
engaged in the hotel business near the 



195 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



petrified forests of Arizona ; he lives in 
Holbrook. Arizona, and is president of 
the Navajo County Improvement Com- 
pany ; the company has a franchise to 
build all railroad hotels of a certain desig- 
nated section ; he is an ardent Republican 
in politics, and holds some political office. 
4. Lena, married George Newton, of 
Northfield, Massachusetts; both are de- 
ceased. 

Charles Dallas Clark, who was born in 
Cheshire, Massachusetts, June 15, i8y, 
received a public school education. He 
began work in the cotton mills in 
Adams, Massachusetts, and here advanced 
to the position of foreman. In 1876 he 
became foreman of the spinning depart- 
ment of the Zanesville Manufacturing 
Company, in Zanesville, Ohio, remaining 
there until 1880, wh^n he accepted the 
position of foreman of the spinning de- 
partment of the Arnold Manufacturing 
Company, in Williamstown, Massachu- 
setts, remaining there until he removed to 
West Springfield, in 1881, in the afifairs 
of which place he took an active part. He 
was first employed by the Blair Manu- 
facturing Company, manufacturers of 
lawn mowers, from 1881 to 1892, and 
from that year to date has taken charge of 
the Main street and Meadow street school 
houses, in addition to other enterprises. 
He bought his first piece of property of 
Taylor Parsons on Main street. He then 
started into the real estate business. He 
bought the White estate, consisting of 
about five acres, which is now known as 
Burford avenue, which street he built 
and divided independent of the city. On 
this avenue, Mr. Clark built three three- 
family houses, two two-family houses and 
two garages. Later he built on Main 
street two two-family houses. Among 
the public services of mention, Mr. Clark 
has been a special policeman in West 
Springfield for the past seven years, and 



a truant officer for the past twenty years. 
He is a director of the West Springfield 
Co-operative Bank, a member of Tekoa 
Lodge of Odd Fellows of West Spring- 
field, and a member of the Merrick Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. 

On November 2, 1872, Charles Dal- 
las Clark was married to Emma Elnora 
Bowers, born in Chester, Massachusetts, 
January 27, 1852. Her father, Joel L. 
Bowers, born in Penacook, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1818, was the seventh of ten chil- 
dren born to Russell and (Farmer) 

Bowers. The other children were : Ben- 
jamin, Joseph R., John F., Jane, Eliza, 
Altmont Dwight, Reuben, Fannie, and 
Groevener Blodget. Joel L. Bowers was 
reared in the town of his birth, where he 
received a public school education, with 
which he was able to accomplish much. 
He was a millwright. In politics he was 
a Republican. He died in Springfield, 
Massachusetts, October 24, 1901, at the 
age of eighty-three. He married (first) 
Sarah Augusta Kilbourn, mother of Emma 
Elnora (Bowers) Clark and Benjamin 
Bowers. The death of his first wife 
occurred in 1855. He married (second) 
Malvina Sumner, who died March 30, 
1889. His first wife was born in Ashfield, 
Massachusetts, the daughter of Jonathan 
and Eunice (Mather) Kilbourn. The 
former owned a tannery in Ashfield, and 
about 1840 moved to Stamford, Vermont, 
where he bought a farm. He died in 
Clarksburg, Massachusetts, in October, 
1869, at the age of eighty-two years. 
There were twelve children born by this 
marriage: Julia, Hannah, Ebenezer, Jona- 
than, Mary, Eliza, Samuel, Jerusha, 
George, Horatio, Sarah, Augusta, and 
Henry, all of whom are dead. Emma 
Elnora (Bowers) Clark, daughter of Joel 
L. and Sarah Augusta (Kilbourn) Bow- 
ers, spent her early years in Stamford 



196 



/^-c; 





c^^^^ A0(7^/yd-- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Bennington, Vermont, and in North 
Adams. Massachusetts. 

The children of Charles D. and Emma 
EInora (Bowers) Clark are: i. Sidnie 
Estelia, who was graduated from the 
West Springfield High School in the 
class of 1896 ; she then secured employ- 
ment in the West Springfield post office, 
where she remained for two years, and 
following this she was employed in the 
Union Railroad Station of Springfield, 
where she had charge of the parcel room ; 
her next employment was with E. L. 
Leonard & Company, wholesale and retail 
druggists, as their bookkeeper ; on July 
18, 1905, she became the wife of William 
M. Canary, of Amsterdam, New York ; 
children : Clark William, born July 6, 
1907, and Alson, born November 9, 1909 ; 
their home is in West Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts. 2. Charles Dallas, Jr., who was 
educated in the business schools of 
Springfield, Massachusetts ; his first em- 
ployment was as bookkeeper for the 
Springfield Knitting Company ; he then 
held a similar position with Ennis & 
Sopanni, bankers and brokers, Spring- 
field, after which he was employed by the 
Gilbert and Barker Manufacturing Com- 
pany ; his health failed, and when fully 
recovered he became interested in the real 
estate business and now owns several 
houses and lots in West Springfield and 
a large farm near West Stockbridge, Mas- 
sachusetts ; about the year 1912 he or- 
ganized the Clark Independent Oil Com- 
pany in West Springfield ; he is now the 
owner and manager of that organization, 
his father, Charles D. Clark, Sr., being 
president; this concern, owing to the 
excellent management of Charles D. 
Clark, Jr., has grown very rapidly and is 
in a highly prosperous condition ; Mr. 
Clark married, June 11, 1901, Ollie Eliza- 
beth Lewis. 3. Louis B., born February 
28, 1882; unmarried, resides at home; he 



received his education in the business 
schools of West Springfield ; he is a ma- 
chinist by trade ; during the Spanish- 
American War he served on the United 
States steamship, "Prairie." where he 
proved himself an able seaman and excel- 
lent marksman ; he js commander of the 
General H. W. Lawton Camp of Span- 
ish War Veterans of Springfield, and is 
vice-chancellor of the Knights of Pythias, 
a fraternal organization of Springfield. 



IVERS, Louis Fergus, 

Representative Citizen, 

Louis Fergus Ivers, head of the Ivers 
Express Company, with offices in Spring- 
field and West Springfield, can well be 
called one of the representative men 
of both cities. He comes of an Irish 
ancestry, his great-grandfather, Richard 
Ivers, having been born in Ireland, where 
he spent his entire life. John Ivers, 
grandfather of Louis F. Ivers, was a 
native of Ireland, in which country he 
spent his entire lifetime, and there his 
son, John (2) Ivers, the father of Louis 
F. Ivers, was born February 2, 1846. 

John (2) Ivers resided there until he 
was eighteen years of age, attending the 
schools in the neighborhood of his home, 
and performing well the tasks allotted 
to him. In 1864 he emigrated to the 
United States, and in 1871 engaged in 
the express business in Springfield, hav- 
ing then only one horse, but in due course 
of time, by the exercise of prudence and 
thrift, he built up an extensive business 
which was conducted under the name of 
John Ivers' Express, which proved to be 
a profitable source of income, and this he 
continued until his death, and it is still 
carried on by his son, Louis F. Ivers. 

John (2) Ivers married Ann A. Mad- 
den, a native of Ireland, who came to 
this country with her parents who located 



197 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



when she was a small child in Northamp- 
ton, Massachusetts, in the early seventies. 
She was a daughter of Timothy and 
Bridget (Stewart) Madden, natives of 
Ireland, the former named conducting a 
prosperous business as a truckman in his 
native country, and, the latter named a 
representative of a prominent family. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ivers were attendants of the 
Roman Catholic church in West Spring- 
field, of which Mr. Ivers was one of the 
founders. Mr. Ivers died in West 
Springfield, January lo, 1903, aged fifty- 
seven years, survived by his wife, who 
passed away in West Springfield, Janu- 
ary 25, 1910, aged fifty-five years, both 
in the prime of life. They were the par- 
ents of one child, Louis Fergus Ivers. 

Louis Fergus Ivers was born in West 
Springfield, Massachusetts, August 20, 
1876. He attended the public schools of 
his native city, graduating from the high 
school in the class of 1894. His first em- 
ployment was with the Wason Manufac- 
turing Company, one of the principal 
industries in Springfield. Being a man of 
good judgment, tact and ability, which 
qualities were recognized and appreciated 
by his employers, he was, after being in 
their employ for a short time, promoted 
and made their traffic manager, in which 
capacity he served for fourteen years. 
This gave him a vast amount of informa- 
tion that has since been very useful. This 
brought him to the time of his father's 
death, and he then assumed management 
of the express business, which has grown 
under his efficient direction until at the 
present time (1918) it is the largest ex- 
press concern in the city of Springfield, 
in fact in Western Massachusetts. In 
addition to his large local business by 
horses, he covers all parts of New Eng- 
land, also going to other States. In fact 
there is no limit to the distance over 
which Mr. Ivers is prepared to accept 



contracts. This special branch of his 
already large business is growing larger 
every day. In the prosecution of it he at 
present (1918) employs ten extra large, 
especially constructed covered padded 
automobile vans, in which he transports 
any commodity, although specializing 
more particularljl in the moving of fur- 
niture, pianos and choice bric-a-brac, 
which being carefully packed by experts, 
he guarantees to reach their destination 
in perfect condition. It is along these 
lines that he is rapidly building up an 
ever-widening reputation. In addition to 
his vans, as previously noted, he also has 
fifteen horses, and a number of trucks, 
which he uses for local work, having con- 
tracts with many of the largest firms 
in Springfield and nearby towns. His 
Springfield office is at No. 44 Pyncheon 
street, and his West Springfield office and 
stables are at No. 46 New Bridge street, 
in which town Mr. Ivers, who is unmar- 
ried, also makes his home, and where he 
has hosts of friends. 

Mr. Ivers is a Republican in politics, 
and has served the town of West Spring- 
field as a member of its water board for 
six years, and during his term of office 
the building of the great Bear Hole Reser- 
voir was accomplished. He is an attend- 
ant of the Catholic church of West 
Springfield, and is a member of the Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks, of 
the New England Traffic Club, and of 
the Springfield Auto Club. 



BUSH, Homer. 

Agricnltarist. 

Choosing agriculture as his life work, 
and tobacco growing as his specialty, 
Homer Bush, of Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, by diligence and thorough under- 
standing of his business, has become 
one of the substantial highly respected 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



men of the Westfield valley. He is a 
descendant of Samuel Bush, of Suffield, 
Connecticut, the line of descent being 
through Ebenezer Bush, his son Aaron 
Bush, his son Aaron Bush, his son Asahel 
Bush, his son Seth Bush, his son Homer 
Bush. 

Samuel Bush, of Suffield, Connecticut, 
married (first) Mary, who died August 

2, 1687. They had a son, Ebenezer Bush, 
born July 24, 1687. He married (second) 
Abigail, and their children were: Samuel 
(2) and Abigail. Samuel Bush, the 
father, died May 7, 1733. Ebenezer Bush, 
born July 24, 1687, died November 10, 
1757. He married (first) Miriam, who 
died July 13, 1752, and he married 
(second) November 30, 1752, Thankful 
Phelps. Ebenezer and Miriam Bush were 
the parents of the following children: i. 
Lydia, born March 5, 171 1 ; married a Mr. 
Noble. 2. Ebenezer (2) born June 2, 
1713; married a Miss Noble. 3. Huldah, 
born February 2, 1715. 4. Zechariah, No- 
vember II, 1718. 5. David, born Decem- 
ber 7, 1721. 6. Aaron, of further men- 
tion. 7. Hannah, born July 25, 1729, died 
in infancy. 8. Hannah (2) born Septem- 
ber 26, 1 73 1. 

Aaron Bush, born May 26, 1725, son 
of Ebenezer and Miriam Bush, married 
Mary Ashley, of Westfield (intentions 
dated August 18, 1750), the Rev. John Bal- 
lantyne performing the ceremony. She 
died March 28, 1768, the mother of nine 
children : Gideon Jared, born July 22, 1752 ; 
Amos, born April i, 1754; Aaron, twin 
with Moses, born May 23, 1756, Moses 
only living; Mary, born June 23, 1758; 
Aaron, died in infancy ; Elizah, born Au- 
gust II, 1761 ; Aaron, of further men- 
tion. 

Aaron (2) Bush, the third child of 
Aaron and Mary (Ashley) Bush to be 
given his father's name, was born March 

3, 1764. He married (first) Patty Judd, 



(second) a Miss Goodrich. Children: 
Asahel, of further mention ; Aaron, moved 
to Jamestown, New York ; Mary, married 
a Stiles; Leonard, married a Sackett; 
Robert, married a Taylor ; Daniel, mar- 
ried a Pease ; William, died at sea. 

Asahel Bush, eldest son of Aaron (2) 
and Patty (Judd) Bush, was born in 
Westfield, May 26, 1788, died there June 
16, 1839. His home was the old Bush 
homestead on West Silver street, and all 
his life he was engaged in farming and 
kindred activities. He married Sarah 
(Sally) Noble (see forward). Children: 
Luke, Mary, Pamelia, Seth, of further 
mention ; Asahel, Edmund. 

Sarah (Noble) Bush was a daughter of 
Asa Noble, granddaughter of Captain 
Asa Noble, a great-granddaughter of Ser- 
geant Luke and Ruth (Wright) Noble, 
and great-great-granddaughter of Thomas 
Noble, the American ancestor, an early 
settler of Springfield, Massachusetts, who 
located in Westfield as early as January 
21, 1669. Sergeant Luke Noble was born 
in Westfield, July 15, 1675, died there, 
March 21, 1744. He married (second) 
May 5, 1708, Ruth Wright, born April 
26, 1687, daughter of Joseph and Ruth 
(Sheldon) Wright, who bore him nine 
children. 

Captain Asa Noble, third son of Ser- 
geant Luke and Ruth (Wright) Noble, 
was born in Westfield, Massachusetts, 
January 16, 1715, died there, March 25, 
1797. He was selectman in 1748, served 
in the French and Indian War in 1755, 
as a lieutenant, and captain in 1759, also 
was an officer in the Revolution. He 
married. November 30, 1738, Bethia 
Noble, born April 20, 1721, died July 2, 
1787, daughter of Matthew and Joana 
(Stebbins) Noble. Asa Noble, son of 
Captain Asa and Bethia (Noble) Noble, 
was born in Westfield, October 11, 1748, 
died there, March 27, 1823. He joined the 



199 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



church, July 24, 1774. He was a corporal 
in the Revolutionary Army, in 1778. He 
married, November 12, 1772, Rhoda Fow- 
ler, born April 10, 1752, died January, 
1832, daughter of Stephen and Mary 
(Wells) Fowler. 

Sarah Noble, daughter of Asa and 
Rhoda (Fowler) Noble, was born in 
Westfield, January 13, 1785, died June 4, 
1862. She married, March 13, 1814, 
Asahel Bush, born in Westfield, May 26, 
1788, died June 16, 1839. They were the 
parents of: i. Luke, born December i, 
1814, died April 8, 1902; married Lucy 
Alderman. 2. Mary, born December i, 
1816, died August 8, 1887; married, in 
1842, Thomas Kneil, State Senator and 
postmaster of Westfield. 3. Pamelia, 
born June 21, 1818, died, February 28, 
1909; married, in 1851, Abraham Crary, 
of Westfield. 4. Seth, born May 4, 1820, 
married, in January, 1847, Lucy Ann Kel- 
logg. 5. Asahel, born June 4, 1824, died 
December 22, 1913. 6. Edmund, born 
April 7, 1826. 

Seth Bush, son of Asahel and Sarah 
(Noble) Bush, was born at the Bush, 
Silver street, homestead, in Westfield, 
May 4, 1820, and there died May 30, 1894. 
He remained at the homestead with his 
parents after all the other children had 
departed, married, and took his bride 
there, and after his father's death inher- 
ited the property. He was one of the 
first farmers in the Westfield valley to 
raise tobacco, and so well did he succeed 
with his first ventures that he increased 
his acreage, until each year he had many 
acres of the finest leaf tobacco to market. 
He owned some of the best land in the 
valley for tobacco raising, and for many 
years specialized in that crop, although 
he conducted general farming to some 
extent. Both he and his wife were de- 
voted members of the Methodist Episco- 
pal church. 



Seth Bush married, January, 1847, Lucy 
Ann Kellogg, born in Southwick, Massa- 
chusetts, February 22, 1827, died March 
II, 1895, daughter of Alva and Eliza 
(Fowler) Kellogg. Her brother, Dwight 
Kellogg, now deceased, married Julia 
Whipple, and left a daughter, Eliza, a 
resident of Westfield. Another brother, 
Lorenzo Kellogg, married Mary Ann 
Moseley, both deceased, leaving no chil- 
dren. Seth and Lucy Ann (Kellogg) 
Bush were the parents of Homer and 
William Seth Bush (q. v.) and three 
daughters: Lucy A. Bush, born July 24, 
1849, ^ovf residing in Westfield; Mary K. 
Bush, born July 30, 1851, married, Sep- 
tember 2, 1886, Ezekiel S. Chipley, and 
resides in Atlanta, Georgia ; Emma E. 
Bush, born September 5, 1853, married, 
November 23, 1883, James O. Haskins, 
and resides in Suffield, Connecticut. 

Lucy Ann (Kellogg) Bush was a 
descendant of Philipe Kellogg, of Great 
Leighs, England, who was of ancient 
English family. His son, Martin Kellogg, 
baptized at Great Leighs, November 23, 
1595, died in Braintree, England, 1671. 
He married Prudence Bird, who died 
prior to May 20, 1671. Their son, Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Kellogg, baptized at Great 
Leighs, England, April i, 1626, died 
between June 27, 1707, the date of his 
will, and February 4, 1708, the date of its 
being probated. He is of record in Farm- 
ington, Connecticut, in 1651. He joined 
the church, with his wife, October 9, 
1653, and served several terms as select- 
man. He sold his town lot and other 
property in February, 1655, and about 
1677 moved to Boston, Massachusetts. In 
1659 ^''s bought property in Boston, which 
he sold in 1661, and moved to Hadley. 
This property, which he bought for $700, 
is now covered in part by the Boston Ad- 
vertiser building, and is a very valuable 
piece of property. In 1661 he agreed with 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Hadlej' town authorities to operate a 
ferry between Hadley and Southampton. 
In 1655 the court appointed a committee 
to confer with him and determine upon a 
schedule of rates to be charged, and in 
1687 another agreement was made which 
allowed him to charge double rates after 
dark. This ferry was run by Lieutenant 
Joseph Kellogg, his son John, and Stephen 
Goodman, son-in-law of John, until 1758, 
nearly a century, being known as Good- 
man's Ferry, under the last named. Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Kellogg was selectman of 
Hadley in 1665, 1674-77-79-81-85-92, mem- 
ber of the school committee in 1686, 
served on many other committees, and in 
1678 was sergeant of the train band. He 
lieutenanted in 1678, serving in that rank 
until 1692, and saw service in the Indian 
Wars, including the great battle at Turn- 
er's Falls, May 18, 1676. There was no 
change in the captaincy of the company 
during his service, which explains his 
long term as lieutenant without further 
promotion. He married (first) probably 
in England, Joana, who died in Hadley. 
September 14, 1666. He married (sec- 
ond) Abigail Terry, born in Windsor, 
Connecticut, September 21, 1646, daugh- 
ter of Stephen and Elizabeth Terry. His 
first wife had nine children and his sec- 
ond wife eleven. 

John Kellogg, son of Lieutenant Joseph 
Kellogg by his first wife, Joana, was bap- 
tized in Farmington, Connecticut, De- 
cember 29, 1656, died between 1723-1728. 
He moved to Hadley, Massachusetts, 
where, in 1720, he was the largest land- 
holder in the town. He succeeded his 
father in the operation of the ferry, later 
passing it on to his son-in-law, Stephen 
Goodman. His home in Hadley at one 
time was in the Hopkins School-house. 
John Kellogg married (first) in Hadley, 
December 23, 1680, Sarah Moody, born in 
1660, daughter of Samuel and Sarah 



(Deming) Moody. She died September 
10, 1689, and he married a second wife, 
Ruth. 

Captain Samuel Kellogg, son of John 
Kellogg and his first wife, Sarah Moody, 
was born in Hadley, Massachusetts, April 
I, 1687, died May 27, 1761, in Westfield, 
Massachusetts, where his gravestone is 
yet to be seen. He is first mentioned in 
Westfield, March 10, 1712, when the town 
granted him ten acres on condition that 
he "settle in ye town." At a town meet- 
ing, held March 9, 1713, it was voted "to 
allow Samuel Kellogg twelve pounds to 
build a substantial bridge 'to Mile 
Brook.' " On January 14, 1714, he, with 
Captain Joseph Mandsley, and Samuel 
Bishop, were granted "liberty to build a 
sawmill and grist mill at 'ye half mile 
fall.' " There is no doubt but what he 
built the second church in Westfield, in 
1721. He joined the church in 1712, his 
wife joining in 1716. Later he became 
the owner of several hundred acres on 
the easterly side of Manns Brook, a sec- 
tion abounding in wild game He was an 
accurate shot with a rifle and spent a 
great deal of time hunting. On July 8, 
1714, he married (first) his cousin, Mary 
Ashley, who died April 8, 1728. He mar- 
ried (second) June 3, 1728, Rachael Ash- 
ley, both being daughters of Samuel and 
Sarah (Kellogg) Ashley, and grand- 
daughters of Lieutenant Joseph Kellogg. 

David Kellogg, of Westfield, son of 
Captain Samuel Kellogg and his first 
wife, Mary Ashley, was born May 30, 
1721, died March 6, 1776, his entire life 
being spent in Westfield. He was a 
soldier under General Amherst in the ex- 
pedition against Quebec, his service be- 
ginning April 6, 1759. He married (in- 
tentions dated April 11, 1747) Elizabeth 
Jones, daughter of Lieutenant Thomas 
and Mary (Meacham) Jones. 

Seth Kellogg, son of David and Eliza- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



beth (Jones) Kellogg, was born in West- 
field, Massachusetts, March 14, 1754, died 
June 20, 1801. He married, March 29, 
1786, Ann Loomis, born July 10, 1758, 
daughter of Joshua and Abigail (Lang- 
don) Loomis. 

Alva Kellogg, son of Seth and Ann 
(Loomis) Kellogg, was born in South- 
wick, Massachusetts, August 22, 1799, 
died in Westfield, March 30, 1873. He 
married, April 6, 1824, Eliza Fowler, born 
in Trenton, New York, May 4, 1806, 
daughter of Major Walter and Lucy 
(Campbell) Fowler. She died in Marcy, 
New York, August 11, 1871. They were 
the parents of the following children : 
Lorenzo Alva Kellogg, married Mary 
Ann Moseley ; Lucy Ann Kellogg, born 
in Southwick, Massachusetts, February 
22, 1827, died in Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, March 11, 1895; married Seth Bush, 
of previous mention ; Dwight Oliver Kel- 
logg, born April 9, 1840, married Julia 
Josephine Whipple. 

Homer Bush, eldest son of Seth and 
Lucy Ann (Kellogg) Bush, was born at 
the home farm in Westfield, Massachu- 
setts, January 7, 1848, and was educated 
in the grade and high schools. He re- 
mained at the home farm, his father's 
assistant, until his marriage in 1880, then 
purchased a farm on the north side of the 
river, and there has developed a fine prop- 
erty. He first learned tobacco culture 
with his father, who was one of the pio- 
neers of the business in the Westfield val- 
ley, and on his own farm he has continued 
the same crop, one of Westfield's pros- 
perous respected farmers. He thoroughly 
understands the growing of good grade 
tobacco, and to this knowledge has added 
industry, a combination which always 
spells success. He is a Democrat in his 
political faith, and from boyhood has been 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church. 



Mr. Bush married (first) December 16, 
1880, at JefTersonville, Indiana, Christie 
R. Loomis, born in Westfield, December 
4, 1850, of old Massachusetts family, her 
parents moving to Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bush are the parents of three children: i. 
Homer Earl, born December 5, 1881, mar- 
ried (first) Elizabeth Waterman, de- 
ceased; married (second) Malina Graves, 
deceased ; married (third) Edna Zell 
Graves ; two children : Barbara and Ever- 
ett ; and resides in Westfield. 2. Clara, 
born April 8, 1883, married Rev. Charles 
E. Davis, who resided in East Boston, 
Massachusetts. Child : Alice Martha. 3. 
Seth Leroy, born July 24, 1884, mar- 
ried Bertha Loomis, and resides in 
Holyoke, Massachusetts. Child: Ralph 
Loomis. Christie Loomis Bush, died 
April 22, 1886. Mr. Bush married (sec- 
ond) January 18, 1888, at Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, Martha Maria (Pease) Ely, 
born October 30, 1840, daughter of Wal- 
ter and Mary (Ingham) Pease, of Middle- 
field, Massachusetts, and widow of Jo- 
seph M. Ely. 



BUSH, William Seth, 

Agriculturist. 

Born in the house in which he now 
resides in Westfield, William Seth Bush, 
youngest son of Seth and Lucy Ann 
(Kellogg) Bush, is surrounded by many 
reminders of his forbears, and the acres 
he tilled for many years have responded 
to the labors of their Bush owners. The 
old home is a fine example of Colonial 
architecture, the design and workman- 
ship attesting the skill and integrity of 
architect and builder. This Bush home- 
stead and farm, one of the oldest settled 
in Westfield, was originally owned by 
Thomas Bancroft, whose home was de- 
stroyed by fire, next came into the pos- 
session of Samuel Fowler, the first of the 



E\XYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



name in Westfield, who settled on an 
adjoining farm, now owned by a descend- 
ant, John H. Fowler. William S. Bush 
has in his possession a deed showing the 
transfer of the present Bush property to 
Jonathan Alvord. This deed, probably 
the oldest document of its kind in West- 
field, was sworn to before John Pynchon, 
son of William Pynchon, the Springfield 
pioneer, October 15, 1684. The deed, 
well preserved, is entirely in manuscript, 
and in fine penmanship describes in the 
usual way the property of five acres con- 
veyed to Jonathan Alvord. Jonathan Al- 
vord and wife occupied the property for 
many years, and having no children 
adopted the oldest son of Samuel Bush, 
the founder of his family, then of Suffield, 
Connecticut. This adopted son, Eben- 
ezer Bush, born in Suffield, July 24, 1687, 
received the property from Jonathan 
Alvord through a document drawn Au- 
gust ID, 1709, which constituted him the 
owner, but in it Mr. Alvord reserved for 
himself and his wife a maintenance dur- 
ing their natural life and also the privi- 
lege of keeping a number of cows, swine, 
etc. Mr. Alvord had previously (Febru- 
ary, 1709) drawn up a document which 
practically was a will which conveyed the 
property to Ebenezer Bush, but not until 
Mr. Alvord's death. This later docu- 
ment, however, marks the actual passing 
of the property to Bush ownership, and 
from that year, 1709. it has never been 
out of the family name, the last children 
there born being the eighth to claim it as 
their home. (For ancestry of this family 
see under heading of Homer Bush). 

William Seth Bush was born at the 
Bush homestead, January 8, 1856, and 
there spent his minority, attending West- 
field public schools, and assisting his 
father until the latter's death in 1894, they 
converting the large farm into a well- 
tilled tobacco plantation. When the 



estate of Seth Bush was settled, William 
S. Bush came into possession of his 
homestead, and has since owned and 
tilled its fertile acres. Tobacco is the 
principal crop, many acres being devoted 
to its culture, but general crops, corn, 
barley and oats, are also raised, while a 
fine herd of cattle roam on the spaces 
reserved for them. The farm is one of 
the best in the fertile Westfield Valley 
as its general good appearance at all sea- 
sons of the year testifies. 

Mr. Bush married, December 18, 1883, 
Fannie Noble, daughter of David and 
Elizabeth (Brennan) Noble, of South- 
wick, Massachusetts, a descendant of 
Thomas Noble, who died in Westfield, 
January 20, 1704, aged seventy-two years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bush are the parents of 
three daughters, all born at the home- 
stead: I. Emma H., December 16, 1884, 
married John Collins, of London, On- 
tario, and resides at West Medford, Mas- 
sachusetts ; they have a son, John. 2. 
Elizabeth, born January 22, 1886, married 
Albert E. Fowler, of Westfield, and has 
three children : Sally, Albert E. (2) and 
Elizabeth. 3. Louise, born September 7, 
1888, married Josiah S. McCann, resides 
at Groveland, Massachusetts, and has a 
daughter, Isabella. 

Mrs. Fannie (Noble) Bush, traces her 
ancestry from Thomas Noble. The 
American ancestry is through Sergeant 
Luke Noble, 1675-1744, and his second 
wife, Ruth Wright ; their son, Moses 
Noble, 1710-1771, married, September 2. 
1731, Mary Grant; their son, Reuben 
Noble, born in Westfield, Massachusetts, 
June 9, 1732, died in Rupert, Vermont, 
1812, married (first) July 17, 1755, Ann 
Ferguson ; their son, David Noble, born 
in Southwick, Massachusetts, April 20, 
1756, died in Lewiston, Niagara county, 
New York, September 22, 1822, married 
(first) Sarah Rising, born in Suffield, 



203 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Vermont, daughter of Benjamin and 
Lydia Rising, moved from Southwick to 
Rupert, Vermont, thence to Western 
New York; their son, David (2) Noble, 
born in Rupert, Vermont, October 4, 
1794, died in Southwick, Massachusetts, 
September 15, 1868, a farmer, married 
Sophia Palmer; their son, David (3) 
Noble, married, February 3, i860, Eliza- 
beth Brennan. they the parents of Fannie 
Noble, wife of William Seth Bush. 



HATHAWAY, Robert Nelson, 
Executive Head of Union Belt Company. 

The early life of Robert N. Hathaway 
was spent on the farm and at Fall River 
in an attempt to find himself. In turn, 
the law, engineering and mercantile life 
were given a trial but rejected as a life 
work. In January, 1875, the turn in the 
tide came, and on the fifteenth of that 
month he began an association with the 
Union Belt Company, of Fall River, 
which has never been dissolved, even tem- 
porarily. In the years which have since 
intervened, forty-two, he has traversed 
the entire road from bookkeeper's desk to 
the executive chair, and has won high po- 
sition as a financier and executive man- 
ager. In a city of able business men and 
amid executives of great manufacturing 
corporations, he holds a leading position 
and most worthily bears his ancient and 
honorable family name. 

Robert Nelson Hathaway is a great- 
grandson of Gideon Hathaway, the patriot 
whose military service was the base for 
the pension his widow, Kezia Hathaway, 
drew from the United States Government 
until the end of her long life which ended 
within two years of reaching a full cen- 
tury. Their son, Henry Hathaway, once 
a nail maker in the employ of the Fall 
River Iron Works, used his brain and 



inventive genius to such good purpose 
that the machinery he devised about rev- 
olutionized nail manufacture. Henry 
Hathaway married Emily Eddy, they the 
parents of William Henry Hathaway, 
born in Dartmouth, Massachusetts, who 
married Adeline Peats Lincoln, also born 
in Dartmouth, daughter of Calvin W. 
Lincoln. 

Robert Nelson Hathaway, son of Wil- 
liam Henry and Adeline Peats (Lincoln) 
Hathaway, was born at Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 13, 1854, there lived 
and attended public school until nine 
years of age. From that age until eigh- 
teen he was employed on a farm at 
Assonet, Massachusetts, there attending 
school during the winter months. In 
1872, he returned to Fall River and for 
six months read law under the direction 
of Lewis Lapham, police judge at Fall 
River from 1852 until the office was abol- 
ished in 1873. The young man had also 
been engaged with an engineering corps 
in surveying lands at Fall River and 
vicinity, part of the survey including Flint 
village, where the cotton mills are now 
built. Neither of these professions 
appealed to him, and about three years 
were spent in mercantile life as clerk in 
the Stephen L. French shoe store. This 
brings Mr. Hathaway's career to its turn- 
ing point, the setting upon a definite line 
of endeavor, he then becoming a part of 
the clerical force of the Union Belt Com- 
pany. His services as bookkeeper began 
with that corporation, January 15, 1875, 
and continued until 1886, but in ever 
increasing responsibility. In 1886 he was 
elected treasurer of the company and in 
that office was the strong support and 
aide to the founder of the business, Wil- 
liam H. Chace. In 1892 the duties and 
responsibilities of agent were added, and 
as agent-treasurer he developed an excep- 
204 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tional ability as financier and business 
man which made him the logical succes- 
sor to William H. Chace upon the latter's 
death, September 8, 1892. The business 
of the company is the manufacture of 
belts used in transmission of power in 
mills and factories, and top roll covers 
for spinning frames and various manufac- 
turing accessories. Mr. Hathaway has 
had no divided business interest, devoting 
his time and ability to the corporation of 
which he has had so large a share in 
developing and of which he is the hon- 
ored executive head. 

In Freemasonry Mr. Hathaway holds 
all degrees of the York Rite and has 
attained the thirty-third degree of the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. He is 
a past master of King Philip Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; a companion of 
Fall River Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; 
a member of Fall River Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; a sir knight and past 
eminent commander of Godfrey de Bouil- 
lon Commandery, Knights Templar. He 
is also a Noble of Aleppo Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine, Boston, and for 
many years treasurer of the Masonic Hall 
Association of Fall River. In religious 
faith he is a Unitarian. 

Mr. Hathaway married at Fall River, 
September 2, 1884, Maria Louise Wilbur, 
born March 2^, 1863, daughter of Andrew 
and Maria (Wilkie) Wilbur, and of 
ancient family, tracing to the "May- 
flower." Mr. and Mrs. Hathaway are the 
parents of two daughters and a son : 
Hazel Louise, married E. W. Clarke, of 
Fall River ; Robert Wilbur, now with the 
Union Belt Company, and now a mem- 
ber of Company A, Three Hundred and 
Second United States Infantry, and sta- 
tioned at Ayer, Massachusetts, with rank 
of corporal ; Grace Doris, married Albert 
W. Lewis, Jr. 



BAGG, Richard Atwater, 

Agriculturist. 

The late Richard Atwater Bagg comes 
of ancient English ancestry. Robert Le 
Bagge, of Caen, Normandy, went with 
William the Conqueror to England, where 
the family has since flourished in Py- 
mouth and in the county of Norfolk. The 
name, usually spelled "Bagge" in Eng- 
land, is said to signify a badge. 

(I) John Bagg, the first American 
ancestor of record, makes his earliest 
appearance as a resident of Springfield, 
Massachusetts. He settled on the west 
bank of the Connecticut, in the neighbor- 
hood which later became West Spring- 
field. He married, December 24, 1657, at 
Springfield, Hannah Burt, who was born 
there April 28, 1641, and they were the 
parents of five sons and five daughters. 
John Bagg appears to have been an indus- 
trious citizen, and his descendants are 
among the most prosperous and intelli- 
gent people of recent times. His wife 
died August i, 1680, and he passed away 
on September 5, 1683. 

(II) John (2) Bagg, son of John 
(i) and Hannah (Burt) Bagg, was 
born March 26, 1665. He married, 
March 30, 1689, Mercy, born May 15, 
1671, daughter of Rowland and Sarah 
(Chapin) Thomas, who were married 
April 14, 1667. The latter was a daugh- 
ter of Deacon Samuel Chapin, the immi- 
grant, who died November 11, 1675, and 
to whom a statue was erected at Spring- 
field, in 1887. Rowland Thomas died 
February 21, 1698, his wife having passed 
away August 5, 1684. John Bagg and his 
wife were the parents of four sons and six 
daughters. The death of John Bagg 
occurred in November, 1740. 

(III) Thomas Bagg, son of John (2) 
and Mercy (Thomas) Bagg, was born 
February 22, 1710. He married, July 29, 



205 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1748, Margaret, born November 21, 1716, 
daughter of Joshua Root, who was born 
November 23, 1682, and was one of the 
original proprietors of the land which 
now constitutes the sites of Great Har- 
rington and Sheffield. He died Septem- 
ber 28, 1730. To Thomas Bagg and his 
wife were born five sons and one daugh- 
ter. The mother of the family passed 
away October 4, 1775, and the father sur- 
vived her but six months, his death occur- 
ring April II, 1776. 

(IV) Ezekiel Bagg, son of Thomas and 
Margaret (Root) Bagg, was born Janu- 
ary 24, 1761, and as a man was of great 
stature, being over six feet in height. He 
was energetic, an indefatigable worker 
and extremely methodical, but good- 
natured and kind-hearted. He married, 
January 4, 1787, Huldah, born March 24, 
1758, daughter of Roger and Mary (Steb- 
bins) Cooley, who were married August 
4, 1748. Roger Cooley was born Sep- 
tember 21, 1719, and in 1776 served as 
lieutenant in Colonel John Moseley's reg- 
iment, at White Plains. He died June 6, 
1802. His son, also Roger, was a soldier 
on duty at the execution of Major Andre 
in 1780, and afterward became colonel in 
the Massachusetts militia. Ezekiel Bagg 
and his wife were the parents of three 
sons and three daughters. Mrs. Bagg 
died July 17, 1833, and on January i, 
1837, her husband was gathered to his 
fathers. 

(V) Richard Bagg, son of Ezekiel and 
Huldah (Cooley) Bagg, was born No- 
vember 22, 1789, and was a farmer of the 
old school. He was a church member and 
a regular attendant, his pew being well 
toward the front, and his custom was to 
turn about and take a deliberate survey 
of the congregation before settling into 
his seat. Mr. Bagg married, January 3, 
1809, Flavia, born January 15, 1789, at 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, daughter of Rans- 



ford and Belinda (Flower) Rogers, the 
latter born May 9, 1761, at Agawam, died 
June I, 1844. Mr. and Mrs. Bagg had 
three daughters and one son. The death 
of Mr. Bagg occurred January 4, i860, 
and his widow survived him ten years, 
passing away February 15, 1870. 

(VI) Richard (2) Bagg, son of Richard 
(i) and Flavia (Rogers) Bagg, was born 
March 20, 1812, and was a progres- 
sive agriculturist, becoming the largest 
market-gardener in the county if not in 
the State, having about forty acres under 
cultivation and employing a large num- 
ber of men. In politics he was a staunch 
Whig. Mr. Bagg married (first) Janu- 
ary 3, 1838, Nancy, born June 12, 1814, 
daughter of Elijah and Lucy (Vanhorn) 
Bliss, and they became the parents of one 
daughter, Nancy Elizabeth, born Novem- 
ber 15, 1838, married Francis Henry Ful- 
ler, and died July 30, 1893. Mrs. Bagg 
died December 21, 1838, and Mr. Bagg 
married (second) January 3, 1841, at New 
Haven, Susan, born July 14, 1817, daugh- 
ter of Lyman and Clarissa (Hotchkiss) 
Atwater. Mr. Atwater was born March 
3, 1783. and died March 20, 1862. His 
wife, who was born December 18, 1786, 
died September 17, 1846. By his second 
marriage Mr. Bagg was the father of two 
sons : Richard Atwater, of further men- 
tion ; and Lyman Hotchkiss, born De- 
cember 24, 1846. Mr. Bagg died October 
29, 1852, and the Rev. Henry Field, edi- 
tor of the "Evangelist," who knew him 
well, spoke of him thus: "If it were 
required to characterize him by one word 
it would be energy. Nor was this extra- 
ordinary activity expended merely in the 
promotion of his own interests. He was 
a man of public spirit. He took a lively 
interest in whatever concerned the pros- 
perity of the town. He was a warm friend 
of schools." Mrs. Bagg survived her hus- 
band more than forty years, passing away 



206 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



December 27, 1895. It was truly said 
of her: "She was a woman of rare per- 
sonality. She was calm, cordial, consid- 
erate, cautious, even-tempered and had 
large common sense. She inherited good 
business capacity. She made no enemies 
and none spoke ill of her." 

(VII) Richard Atwater Bagg, son o'f 
Richard (2) and Susan (Atwater) Bagg, 
was born November 29, 1843, in West 
Springfield, where he received his earliest 
education in the public schools, afterward 
attending Springfield private schools and 
then studying at the academy in Suffield, 
Connecticut. After finishing his student 
life, Mr. Bagg became the assistant of 
his father, learning thoroughly, in all its 
branches, the business of a market gar- 
dener. Perhaps it would be more cor- 
rect to say, in view of the fact that at the 
time of his father's death he was but a 
boy, that his training was received under 
the supervision of his admirable mother 
who, on being left a widow, continued the 
business with notable success. On reach- 
ing manhood he was able to relieve his 
mother of the care of the estate, and dur- 
ing the remainder of his life conducted 
the business in a manner which proved 
that he had inherited his father's talent. 
In politics Mr. Bagg was a Republican 
and, while always public-spirited, never 
took any active part in community afifairs. 
He never affiliated with any lodges nor 
joined any clubs, always, however, re- 
taining his membership in the First Con- 
gregational Church of West Springfield. 

Mr. Bagg married, October 17, 1866, 
Martina Sanchez Doringh, born Septem- 
ber 12, 1848, in Cuba, daughter of Martin 
and Josephine Sanchez, and adopted 
daughter of C. H. R. Doringh, of Bristol, 
Rhode Island. Mr. and Mrs. Bagg were 
the parents of four daughters: i. Susan 
Sanchez, born July 17, 1867, married, 
June 14, 1892, Williard Francis Tripp, 



born March 8, 1867, died February 22, 
1899, son of Ephraim Augustus and Har- 
riet Frances (Armstrong) Tripp, who 
were married June 17, 1855. Mr. Tripp 
served the city of Springfield as council- 
man, alderman and on the school commit- 
tee, and at the time of his death was the 
president of the R. H. Smith Company, 
manufacturers of rubber stamps. Mrs. 
Tripp resides with her mother. Mr. and 
Mrs. Tripp had two children: Richard 
Bagg, born October 19, 1894, died August 
12, 1910, and Louise, born August 15, 
1899. 2. Martina Doringh, born Janu- 
ary 8, 1869, resides with her mother. 3. 
Louise Atwater, born March 2, 1874, mar- 
ried, June 12, 1902, Charles Emory 
Crosier, now of Fitchburg, Massachu- 
setts, manager for Swift & Company ; they 
have had two children: Elizabeth Mar- 
tma, born September 7, 1909, died at the 
age of six days; and John Emory, born 
December 21, 1912. 4. Lena Grace, born 
February 10, 1879, married, September 12, 
1905, Dwight Alonzo Thayer, of Roches- 
ter, New York, traveling salesman for the 
Ailing and Corey Company, a paper 
house of that city. In his marriage Mr. 
Bagg was singularly fortunate. His wife, 
in addition to possessing all the domestic 
virtues, qualities most necessary to a 
man of his home-loving disposition, was 
endowed with executive talents rarely 
found in one of her sex, and since she 
became a widow has managed with con- 
sumate ability the estate and business of 
her late husband. It is now many years 
since Mrs. Bagg was forced to assume 
this responsibility, for on February 10, 
1880, Mr. Bagg, then only in the thirty- 
seventh year of his age, was summoned 
to rest from the labors which had proved 
too strenuous for his physical powers. 
Young as he was he left a record of ac- 
complishment which many men greatly 
his seniors might justifiably envy. 



207 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Perhaps some words spoken of his 
father might be applied to this son who 
so strongly resembled him : "He was the 
strongest and manliest among us. * * * 
His presence, even, inspired confidence. 
He had the power of infusing ambition 
into those around him, and wherever he 
went there went life and energy." 



STEDMAN, Edward Phineas, 
Agricnlturist. 

Chicopee, Massachusetts, was the birth- 
place of Edward Phineas Stedman, and 
of his father, Phineas (3) Stedman, but 
prior generations had lived in Connecti- 
cut. Phineas (3) Stedman was a son of 
Levi Stedman, son of Phineas (2) Sted- 
man, son of Phineas (i) Stedman, all of 
Staflford, Connecticut. Phineas (2) Sted- 
man was a farmer of Stafford for many 
years, then moved to Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, his home in that city being on 
Liberty street. He married (first) Sarah 
Howard, and they were the parents of six 
sons and a daughter. One of these sons, 
Levi Stedman, was the father of Phineas 
(3) and grandfather of Edward Phineas 
Stedman. 

Levi Stedman was born in Stafford, 
Connecticut, but early in life was brought 
to Springfield, Massachusetts, by his par- 
ents, and there he resided until after his 
marriage, when he purchased a farm at 
Chicopee. There he passed the remainder 
of his years, eighty-two, a prosperous, 
highly-respected farmer. He married So- 
phia Chapin, of Chicopee, daughter of 
Ephraim Chapin, and a descendant of 
Deacon Samuel Chapin. She died at the 
age of eighty-two, the mother of four sons 
and five daughters, as follows : Mary 
Ann, married a Mr. Gates; Sophia C, 
married Dr. Chapin ; Sarah H. ; Cath- 
erine, died in infancy; Phineas (3), of 
further mention; Amelia, married Chal- 



mers Chapin ; Levi Lyman ; William S. 
and Benjamin. 

Phineas (3) Stedman was born in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, July 5, 1816, 
and died September 9, 1898. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of Chicopee, and 
assisted in the cultivation of the home 
farm until the age of nineteen, when he 
began teaching a district school at South 
Hadley, receiving for the four months' 
term the sum of $50, in addition to his 
board which was furnished him by 
patrons of the school in turn. He next 
taught two terms in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, then for three terms taught in 
his home district, Chicopee. These terms 
were all in the winter months, and dur- 
ing the summer intervals Mr. Stedman 
was employed in farming. In 1855 he 
became New England manager of the 
Buffalo Agricultural Machine Company, 
a position he filled for four years. He 
then returned to farming, and at his well 
improved one hundred acre farm on 
Chicopee street, Chicopee, conducted gen- 
eral farming operations. He also traveled 
in the interest of the Moseley & Stod- 
dard Manufacturing Company for eleven 
years, covering the States of Massachu- 
setts and Connecticut. He cast his first 
presidential vote for William Henry Har- 
rison, and continued in the support of the 
Whig party until it was succeeded by the 
new Republican party, which he sup- 
ported for the remainder of his life. He 
served Chicopee as one of its assessors, 
and in 1862 as representative to the State 
Legislature ; served Hampden county as 
commissioner, and the State as a member 
of the Massachusetts Board of Agricul- 
ture. He organized the Hampden Har- 
vest Club, was also a member of the 
Franklin Harvest Club and of the Hamp- 
den County Agricultural Society. At his 
Chicopee street farm he conducted a 
dairy, and at one time was a leading 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



breeder of short horn cattle. He was a 
man of education and enterprise, public- 
spirited and broad in his vision, deeply 
interested iiTthe welfare and development 
of his section of the State. He married, 
October i6, 1839, Lucy Pynchon Wright, 
born in Hampton county, Massachusetts, 
December 26, 1814, daughter of Eber and 
Oral Wright. They were the parents of: 
Mary Ann, married Edward Belding; 
Orville, died in infancy ; Edward Phineas, 
to whom this review is inscribed. 

Edward Phineas Stedman was born in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, at the home- 
stead farm, September 24, 1843, ^^d died 
there March 8, 1909. He was educated in 
the public schools of Chicopee, Burnham 
College, and a private school in Long- 
meadow, and from his first until his 
latest day the old homestead was his 
home, and after the death of his parents, 
it became his property. He was his fath- 
er's assistant from youth, and later the 
management of the farm devolving upon 
him, and finally the land he loved and 
brought to a high state of cultivation be- 
came his own. He became widely known 
as a successful, progressive farmer, and 
reached the height of local favor which 
made him an authority in matters agri- 
cultural. The farm was his business and 
his occupation, not a drudgery, and to its 
cultivation he gave his mind and brain. 
He caused its acres to produce abun- 
dantly, and through his example and 
advice the entire section benefitted. He 
was a lifelong Republican, and during the 
days of town government he was sur- 
veyor of highways. He was never un- 
mindful of his obligations as a citizen, 
and met them fully, failing in no duty, 
public or private. He was a member of 
the First Congregational Church of 
Chicopee, and liberally supported its vari- 
ous benevolences. 

Mr. Stedman married Catherine Hins- 



dale Cross, of Blanford, Massachusetts, 
born May 3, 1840, died May 14, 1903. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stedman were the parents of 
two sons and a daughter: i. Phineas 
(4), resides in Winchendon, Massachu- 
setts, a farmer and also follows his 
trade of painting; married Lillian Bald- 
win, and they have four children : Ed- 
ward P., Howard E., Catherine J., and 
Clifton B. 2. Benjamin, who died May 
31, 1917; he carried on the homestead 
farm after his father's death. 3. Lucy 
Wright, residing at No. 243 Chicopee 
street, Chicopee, Massachusetts. 



GATES, Mary A., 

Representative of Important Family. 

Mary A. Gates, of Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, is a descendant of an old and 
distinguished family in this country, and 
one which can be traced back in England 
for many generations. Stephen Gates, 
the American progenitor, was the son of 
Thomas, who was the son of Peter, who 
was the son of GeolTrey, who was the son 
of Geofifrey, who was the son of Sir Geof- 
frey, who was the son of William, who 
was the son of Sir Geofifrey, who was 
the son of William, who was the son of 
Thomas. 

(I) Stephen Gates, the immigrant an- 
cestor, who represents the first American 
generation of the Gates family, was the 
second son of Thomas Gates, of Norwich, 
Norfolk county, England. He came 
from Hingham, England, to Hingham, 
Massachusetts Bay Colony, in the ship 
"Diligent," of Ipswich, England, in the 
year 1638. With him came his wife Ann 
(Hill), and two children. He first set- 
tled at Hingham, Massachusetts, remov- 
ing from there to Lancaster, Massachu- 
setts, and the records of that place give 
him as there in 1656. From Lancaster he 
went to Cambridge, Massachusetts, where 



209 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



he died in 1662. His will was dated June was baptized with others May 3, 1646, and 



9, 1662, and as it was probated October 
7, 1662, his death must have occurred 
between those dates. 

The men of the Gates family were good 
fighters and soldiers, and we find them 
again and again enlisting in the Indian 
and Colonial wars of the period. They 
took an active part in the Revolutionary 
War, and one of the family is said to 
have begun his service at the age of ten. 
Members of the family also took part in 
the War of 1812, fighting for the same 
rights they had so bravely upheld in the 
Revolution. Though the records of the 
Mexican War are scanty, they probably 
followed the old tradition of the house, 
and the records of their services in the 
Civil War would be too voluminous for 
anything but the bare mention. 

Stephen (i) Gates left in his will to 
his eldest son, Stephen (2) Gates, his 
house and its adjacent land in Lancaster, 
Massachusetts. To his wife, and son, 
Simon, he left his place in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, with the arrangement 
that his son, Thomas, should live with 
them, should be choose to do so. The fol- 
lowing were the children of Stephen (i) 
and Ann (Hill) Gates: i. Elizabeth, 
born, probably, in England, died August 

3, 1704, at Hingham, Massachusetts ; 
married, November 29, 1647, John Laselle 
(also spelled Lasell), who is suppossed to 
have died in 1695. 2. Mary, born, prob- 
ably, in England; married, April 5, 1658, 
John Maynard, of Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts. He died December 22, 171 1. 3. 
Stephen (2), of whom further mention. 

4. Thomas, born in 1642; married, July 
6, 1670, Elizabeth Freeman, daughter of 
Edmund Freeman, of Sudbury, Massa- 
chusetts. 5. Simon, born in 1645, died 
April 21, 1693, at Brockton, Massachu- 
setts; married Margaret , of Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. 6. Isaac, who 



died September 3, 1651. 7. Rebecca, bap- 
tized with others May 3, 1646, died Janu- 
ary, 1650. 

(II) Stephen (2) Gates, son of Ste- 
phen (i) and Ann (Hill) Gates, was 
born about 1640, and died, in 1706, at 
Acton, Massachusetts. He married Sarah 
Woodward, daughter of George and Eliz- 
abeth (Hammond) Woodward, of Water- 
town, Massachusetts. He lived in Stow, 
Massachusetts, and he was also an early 
proprietor of Preston, Connecticut, in 
which neighborhood a number of his de- 
scendants are still to be found. He made 
a will in Stow, dated September 5, 1701, 
which was probated in 1707. His chil- 
dren were: i. Stephen (3), born July 
17, 1663. 2. Simon, of whom further. 3. 
Thomas, born December 31, 1669, died in 
1740, at Preston, Connecticut; married, 
in December, 1695, Margaret Geer, of 
Preston, Connecticut. 4. Isaac, born in 
1673 ; married Elizabeth , died No- 
vember 22, 1748, at Stow, Massachusetts. 
5. Nathaniel, born in 1675. 6. Sarah, 
born April 2T, \6~g, at Marlborough, Mas- 
sachusetts. 7. Rebecca, born July 23, 
1682, at Marlborough, Massachusetts. 8. 
Daniel, born April 23, 1685, at Marlbor- 
ough, Massachusetts. 

(III) Simon Gates, son of Stephen (2) 
and Sarah (Woodward) Gates, was born 
June 5, 1666; married May 4, 1688, Han- 
nah Benjamin, of Stow, Massachusetts. 
The children of this couple were: i. 
Simon. 2. Joseph. 3. Benjamin, of whom 
further. 4. Elisha. 5. Israel. 6. Amos. 
7. Hannah, married a Mr. Heald. 8. 
Mary, married a Mr. Haynes. 9. Susan- 
nah, married a Mr. Fitch. 10. Elizabeth, 
married a Mr. Wheeler. 

(IV) Benjamin Gates, son of Simon 
and Hannah (Benjamin) Gates, was born 
in 1704, and died, in 1756, at Barre, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, in 1727, Bethulia 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Rice, daughter of Jonathan and Anna 
(Derby) Rice, of Sudbury, Massachu- 
setts, who was born March 24, 1704. 
They settled at Worcester, Massachu- 
setts, and went afterwards and established 
their home in Barre, Massachusetts. 
Their children were: i. Israel, of whom 
further. 2. William, born in 1729. As 
sergeant of militia, he responded to an 
emergency call, and served in Captain 
French's Company, from September 23, 
1777, to October 18, 1777, and again in 
1779, answering two calls in the latter 
year. (The foregoing is taken from the 
Massachusetts Archives as quoted in 
"Stephen Gates, of Hingham, and his 
descendants"). 3. Thomas, born in 1732; 
married Experience Perry. 4. Make- 
peace, born May 13, 1735; married, June 
6, 1765, Catherine Smith, daughter of 
Nathaniel Smith, of Barre, Massachu- 
setts. She died June 23, 1825, and he, 
September 9, 1817. 5. Benjamin, born 
November 2"], 1737, died 1796-7; married 
(first) Experience Mason, and married 
(second) Experience Allen. 6. Esther, 
born in 1739. 7. Jonathan, born in 1742; 
married May 4, 1770, Catey Morse. He 
responded to the "Lexington Alarm" and 
served eleven days. 8. Aaron, born in 
1744. He responded to the "Lexington 
Alarm" a^d is credited with eleven days' 
service. 

(V) Israel Gates, son of Benjamin and 
Bethulia (Rice) Gates, was born at Con- 
way, Massachusetts. He enlisted May 8, 
1775, and served at the siege of Boston 
until October, 1775, when he seems to 
have been transferred to the "Alarm 
List," sometimes called "Minute Men," 
being men who held themselves in readi- 
ness to respond immediately to any sud- 
den call. In this service he responded to 
several calls, serving from a few days to 
a month and a half. In 1778 he was 
drafted in the quota for Stow, Massachu- 



setts, and its vicinity, but paid the fine for 
not serving. (Quoted from the Massa- 
chusetts Archives in "Stephen Gates, 
of Hingham, and his descendants"). 
The children of Israel Gates were: i. 
Peter, of whom further. 2. Experience, 
born April 16, 1775; married January 31, 
1798, Henry Arms, who was born July 
ID, 1769, and died in 1848, a brother of 
Experience Arms, who married Peter 
Gates; she also died in 1848. 3. Electa, 
who married Josiah Boyden, Jr., of Con- 
way, Massachusetts. They were resi- 
dents of Conway, and had twelve chil- 
dren. 4. Luke, who married Rebecca 
Kittridge, and who lived in Lenox, Mas- 
sachusetts. 5. Thomas, who lived in 
Belchertown, Massachusetts. 6. Ezra, who 
moved to Canada. 

(VI) Peter Gates, son of Israel (i) 
Gates, was born in 1753, at Conway, Mas- 
sachusetts, and died in the same place, 
December 15, 1821. He married (first) 
in 1778, Anna Childs, and after her death 
he married (second) in 1782, Experience 
Arms, daughter of Daniel Arms, and sis- 
ter of the Henry Arms who married his 
sister. Experience Gates. (See V). The 
children of Peter Gates were: i. Israel 
(2), of whom further. 2. Anna, born 
June 19, 1785, at Conway, Massachusetts. 
3. Daniel, born January 23, 1787; mar- 
ried Lydia White. 4. Electa, born Janu- 
ary 8, 1789; married Samuel Childs. 5. 
Henry, born November 25, 1791 ; mar- 
ried Julia Case. 6. Sumner, born April 
15, 1796. 7. Spencer, born August 14, 
1798, and died in 1848, at New Orleans, 
Louisiana. 8. Willard, born June 28, 
1802. All of these children were born in 
Conway, Massachusetts. 

(VII) Israel (2) Gates, son of Peter 
and Anna (Childs) Gates, was born at 
Conway, Massachusetts, November 17, 
1783, and died at the age of eighty-three, 
September 3, 1866. He married. May 25, 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1809, Hannah Lincoln, who was born 
June 17, 1786, and died August 2, 1868. 
She was a native of Wyndham, Connecti- 
cut. He was a blacksmith by trade, Hv- 
ing in Long Meadow, Massachusetts, and 
was considered very skillful. Their chil- 
dren were : I. Caroline, born February 
27, 1810, died January 17, 1834, at the 
age of twenty-four. 2. Experience Arms, 
born June 26, 1812, died April 5, 1819; 
married Uriah Ladd, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. 3. Israel, born September 21, 
1814, died April 12, 1884. 4. Henry, of 
whom further. 5. Hannah Lincoln, born 
March 5, 1821, died May 27, 1888; mar- 
ried Robert Silcox. 6. Mary Billings, 
born June 16, 1823, died March 28, 1845. 
7. Sumner W., born November 23, 1826, 
died November 20, 1917. 

(VIII) Henry Gates, son of Israel (2) 
and Hannah (Lincoln) Gates, was born 
August 5, 1817, and died at Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, January 14, 1907. He 
received a common school education, but 
made the most of every opportunity for 
acquiring information, thus gaining a bet- 
ter general education than many who 
have studied longer at school. Like the 
great English poet, his "university was 
the world." When a young boy he 
worked in his father's shop and learned 
the trade of blacksmith, becoming known 
far and wide as a very skilled work- 
man. He was the only man in the region 
who was able to shoe oxen, and was much 
called on for this. After learning his 
trade he was associated with his father 
in business for a few years, carrying 
it on in Long Meadow, Massachusetts. 
In 1844 he came from Long Meadow, 
to Chicopee, Massachusetts, and there 
worked for a time in the service of the 
Ames Company, being rated there as a 
first class workman. He was in business 
for a long period of years in Holyoke, 



Massachusetts, although he retained his 
residence in Chicopee. In Holyoke he 
was associated in the blacksmith business 
with Mr. Hosmer, under the firm name 
of Gates & Hosmer. This partnership 
was terminated after a few years, and Mr. 
Gates bought a shop in Chicopee, in 1856, 
and was in active business there until 
1884, when failing eyesight compelled his 
retirement. During his long business 
career the wagons built by Mr. Gates 
were known throughout the State for ex- 
cellence of workmanship, and their relia- 
bility and durability. He had a high 
reputation as a conscientious workman, 
and was esteemed by all his fellow towns- 
men as a fine type of the simple Ameri- 
can citizen, who does his duty to his fam- 
ily and to his community. In the quiet 
pursuance of his business interests he was 
very successful. Among these were real 
estate in which he became an extensive 
owner. He built himself the house in 
which he lived the greater part of his 
life. He was a member and deacon of the 
Baptist church, of Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, from 1866 until the time of his 
death. He married (first) Abigail Col- 
son, after whose death he married (sec- 
ond) May 3, 1843, Almira Callista Abby, 
who was born September 18, 1817, and 
died August 14, 1888. To the first mar- 
riage one daughter was born, Abbie Fran- 
ces, who married Henry M. Colton, of 
Long Meadow, Massachusetts. Their 
children are : May, Harry, Fred, Daisy, 
and Jessie, all deceased. By the second 
marriage there were three children: i. 
Mary A. 2. Albert H., who married 
Mary L. Bodfish. She died April 5, 1916, 
leaving a daughter. Belle Bertha. 3. 
Clarence U., who married Jennie Morley, 
and they have one .daughter, Almira Jen- 
nie, who married James Smith, of New 
York City. 



""^u!%^ 








yfen ru. cJatei^ 




/tVj. ^^ietirj/ ^ciCei 



ft iUlM% 

LIBRARY 









'Vn-, / 




0-cSc^<:0^^^£:>-T.^^A C^ C^-^^^^7':^---x--e — j_ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ELMER, Ellsworth Elijah, 

Agriculturist. 

In the "Domesday Book," a record of 
lands given by William the Conqueror to 
his followers (1086), and the earliest rec- 
ord of land titles in England, the name El- 
mer frequently appears as "Elmer habet." 
Since then many spellings of the name 
have prevailed : Aylmer, Elmor, Elmour, 
Elmore, and Elmer, the most common. 
John Aylmer, Bishop of London, in Queen 
Elizabeth's time, wrote his name both 
Aelmer and Elmer. In both England and 
America branches of the same family used 
the forms Elmer and Elmore. The Amer- 
ican ancestor from whom the Elmer's of 
Chicopee trace their descent is Edward 
Elmer, born in England, about 1604, a 
son of Edward and Elizabeth Elmer. He 
came to New England in the ship, "Lion," 
arriving in Boston, September 16, 1632, 
and settling first in Cambridge. In 1636 
he joined Rev. Joseph Hooker's Com- 
pany, and went to Hartford, Connecticut, 
one of the original proprietors, his home 
lot being on the east side of Main street. 
In 1654 he became one of the first set- 
tlers of Northampton, there was chosen 
recorder in 1658, but in 1660 returned to 
Hartford, acquiring in addition to the 
land owned there a tract of 550 acres on 
the east side of the river in what is now 
South Windsor. That tract he and his 
sons cultivated on that day in June, 1676, 
when he was killed on his farm by In- 
dians. A portion of that farm at South 
Windsor is yet owned by descendants of 
the first owner, Edward Elmer, who hal- 
lowed it with his blood. 

From Edward and Mary Elmer sprang 
a large family, they having sons : John, 
Samuel, Edward and Joseph ; and daugh- 
ters : Elizabeth, Mary and Sarah. The 
line of descent to Ellsworth A. Elmer is 
through the founder's third son, Edward 



(2) Elmer, who was born in Hartford, 
Connecticut, in 1654, died in South Wind- 
sor, October 31, 1725. He married Re- 
becca , and they were the parents 

of sons: xiezekiah, Caleb, Amos and 
Edward ; also daughters : Mary, Hester, 
Rebecca, Hannah and Ann. 

Hezekiah Elmer, the eldest son of Ed- 
ward (2) and Rebecca Elmer, was born 
in Hartford, in 1636, removed to Deer- 
field, Massachusetts, thence to Northfield 
in 1717, and died there, September 19, 
1750. He was the owner of Elmore's 
Island in the Connecticut river, in 1731, 
and was a soldier in Captain Kellogg's 
company in 1724. He married Miriam 

, and they had children : Miriam, 

Hezekiah (2), Jacob, died young, Jacob 
(2), Daniel Samuel, Gad, Thankful, and 
another child. The line continues through 
Hezekiah (2), the eldest son. 

Hezekiah (2) Elmer was born in North- 
field, Massachusetts, September 24, 1724, 
and died November 22, 1810. He was a 
soldier in Captain Joseph Willard's com- 
pany. He married, May 30, 1751, Sarah 
Wright, of Hinsdale, born April 11, 1730, 
died April 6, 1809. Their children were : 
Ann, Elijah, Miriam, Sarah, Zilpha, Oziah, 
Hezekiah and Philena. Descent is again 
traced through the eldest son, Elijah. 

Elijah Elmer was born October 3, 1753, 
and died December 28, 1833. He resided 
in Hinsdale until 1783, going thence to 
Athens, Vermont, but in 1792 was living 
in Newfane, Vermont. In 1807 he was a 
member of the State Legislature. He 
married (first) Grace Gould, born in 1757, 
died October 21, 1817. He married (sec- 
ond) Amy (Wood) White. Children: 
Amasa, Polly, Roswell, Philena, Eliza, 
Lydia, Ozias, Fannie and Almira. 

Ozias Elmer, youngest son of Elijah 
Elmer and his first wife, Grace (Gould) 
Elmer, was born September 9, 1793, in 
Newfane, Vermont, and died July 13, 



213 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He married Susan Edwards, of mer. He has succeeded in his business 



Claremont, New Hampshire. Children : 
Elijah, Edwin, John C, Laura, Henry 
and Ellis. 

Their second son, Edwin Elmer, born 
June lo, 1821, was killed in a runaway at 
Brattleboro, Vermont, February 4, 1865. 
He was a farmer and a cattle dealer, a 
man of high standing in his community, 
whose untimely end was deeply regretted. 
He married, February 20, 1850, Sally A. 
Howe, born February 20, 1826, died No- 
vember 9, 1863. They were the parents 
of two sons : Irving Howe Elmer, was a 
merchant of Chicopee, born February 10, 
1851, died March 22, 1918 (q. v.) ; Laura 
A.; and Ellsworth E., of further men- 
tion. 

Ellsworth Elijah Elmer, of the eighth 
generation of his family in New England, 
son of Edwin and Sally A. (Howe) Elmer, 
was born in Dummerston, Windham 
county, Vermont, February 4, 1859, and 



undertakings through untiring energy, 
well-directed, and has won the respect of 
his community. 

Mr. Elmer married (first) in 1884, Clara 
Avery, of Pelham, Massachusetts. He 
married (second) Mary Blanchard, who 
died April 15, 191 1. They were the par- 
ents of a son, Ellsworth I. Elmer, born 
April 2, 191 1. The family home is at No. 
333 Chicopee street, Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts. 



DURFEE, Nelson Borden, 

Mill Superintendent. 

Though he has barely reached the 
period of middle life. Nelson Borden Dur- 
fee, of Fall River, has had a career of 
unusual variety and interest. A school 
teacher, sailor, carpenter, soldier in the 
Spanish War, proprietor of a planing mill, 



he has always been active in social and 
there attended public school until fifteen religious work while living in Fall River, 
years of age. In 1874 he came to Chico- Among his ancestors are many of the 



pee, Massachusetts, and there completed 
his studies with a high school course. 
After leaving school he was employed on 
a farm for some time, then began lum- 
bering, buying the standing timber in 
such lots as it happened to be, and con- 
verting the timber into mercantable lum- 
ber. This business he yet continues in 
connection with the cultivation of his 
farm of thirty highly productive acres on 
Chicopee street. During nine of the years 
which have passed he conducted a milk 
business, delivering daily to a route of 
regular customers, and for eighteen years 
operated a regular dairy. For eighteen 
years he leased the Chester Chapin farm 
on Chicopee street, and there successfully 
farmed along intensive lines. His pres- 
ent farm has been partly converted into 
residence building lots, several houses 
having been erected thereon by Mr. El- 



founders of Rhode Island and men of 
prominence in the making of Fall River. 
As his name indicates he is descended 
from two of the leading families of that 
city. 

(I) Thomas Durfee, the first of the 
family in this country, came to Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, from England, 
before 1664. He was a juror in 1679; 
constable in 1690; overseer of the poor in 

1691 ; deputy to the General Assembly in 
1691 ; member of the Town Council in 

1692 and 1694. and deputy again in 1694. 
He was admitted a freeman, May 6, 1673. 
For seven years after 1698 he and John 
Borden were in charge of the Rhode 
Island end of the ferry. He died in July, 
1712. He married (second) Deliverance 
(Hall) Tripp, widow of Abiel Tripp, and 
daughter of William and Mary Hall. His 
widow died in 1721. His will was dated 



214 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



February 4, 1710, and proved July 14, 

1712. Children by first wife: Robert, 
born March 10, 1665; Richard; Thomas, 
mentioned below ; William, born about 
1673 ' Benjamin. By second wife : Pa- 
tience and Deliverance. 

(IT) Thomas (2) Durfee, son of Thomas 
(i) Durfee, was born in Portsmouth and 
died there, February 24, 1729. He mar- 
ried Ann Freeborn, daughter of Gideon 
and Sarah (Brownell) Freeborn. She was 
born in Portsmouth, March 28, 1669, and 
died there in 1729. He was a member of 
the General Assembly in 1707, 1709 and 

1713. His will was dated February 9, 

1729, proved February 24, 1729. Chil- 
dren, born in Portsmouth : Ann, born 
August 25, 1691 ; Sarah, March i, 1693; 
Freeborn, December 15, 1695 ; Patience, 
June 12, 1697; Mary, January 22, 1701 ; 
Martha, February 20, 1702; Gideon, Jan- 
uary 15, 1704; Thomas, June 6, 1706; 
Susanna; Job, mentioned below; Eliz- 
abeth. 

(Ill) Job Durfee, son of Thomas (2) 
Durfee, was born in Portsmouth in 1710, 
died at Tiverton, Rhode Island, in April, 
1774. He married (first) September 17, 

1730, Elizabeth Chase, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Amy (Borden) Chase. She 
was born in Portsmouth, June 16, 1701, 
died there about 1734. He married (sec- 
ond) in Portsmouth, Mary Earle, daugh- 
ter of John and Mary (Wait) Earle. She 
was born in Portsmouth, February 19, 
1703, died in Tiverton. He married 
(third) in Freetown, Massachusetts, Sarah 
Brayton. He became a freeman of Ports- 
mouth in May, 1731. He bought land on 
Stafford Road, Tiverton, and built a 
house which is still standing, and owned 
by descendants. He was deputy to the 
General Assembly in 1761, 1762 and 1764. 
His will was dated July 31, 1769, and 
proved May 16, 1774. (See p. 138, Dur- 
fee Genealogy). Child by first wife: 



Thomas, born March 25, 1732. By sec- 
ond wife: Elizabeth, born July 12, 1735; 
John, August 31, 1736; Gideon, February 
6, 1738; Earle, September 16, 1740; Job, 
mentioned below. 

(IV) Job (2) Durfee, son of Job (i) 
Durfee, was born August 26, 1742, at Tiv- 
erton, and died there in 1789. He mar- 
ried, in Portsmouth, March 10, 1765, Mary 
Slocum, daughter of Thomas Slocum. 
She died at Tiverton, June 28, 1823. Chil- 
dren, born at Tiverton : Thomas, born 
August 2, 1766; Daniel, November 21, 
1767; David, September 5, 1770; George, 
mentioned below; Joseph, May 8, 1780; 
William, August 5, 1784. 

(V) George Durfee, son of Job (2) 
Durfee, was born at Tiverton, September 
II, 1772, and died there November 12, 
1854. He married, in 1793, in Tiverton, 
Sarah Coggeshall, daughter of John and 
Elizabeth (Stafford) Coggeshall. She 
was born in Tiverton, August 18, 1774, 
died there August 31, 1859. He was a 
farmer and a large owner in the Eagle 
Mills, located near Fall River, manufac- 
turing woolen goods. It is said that he 
owned more than a thousand acres of land 
at one time. Children : Dwelly, born 
September 6, 1795; Job, January 25, 1798; 
Gideon C, December 28, 1800; Elizabeth 
C, January i, 1803; Mary, February 
19, 1805 ; Joshua Coggeshall, mentioned 
below; Susannah, December 25, 1809; 
Peter, October 16, 1812; David 3d., May 
3, 1815; Delana, August 3, 1818. 

(VI) Joshua Coggeshall Durfee, son of 
George Durfee, was born in Tiverton, Oc- 
tober II, 1807, died at Eagleville, Massa- 
chusetts, August 21, 1899. He spent his 
boyhood on his father's farm. From his 
first savings he invested in whaling ves- 
sels. He worked in the mills and invested 
in them, but lost when the mills were 
destroyed by fire. He followed farming, 
but continued to put money into the in- 



215 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



dustries of Fall River and left a substan- 
tial estate. In early life he was a Demo- 
crat, later a Whig and finally a Republi- 
can. He was studious and possessed a 
wide range of information and learning. 
In religion he was a Baptist. He married, 
June 5, 1833, Patience Brayton, daughter 
of Captain Thomas and Marietta (Albert) 
Brayton, of Fall River. She was born in 
Tiverton, October 5, 1809, died there Feb- 
ruary 12, 1897. She was a granddaughter 
of Borden Brayton, who was a soldier in 
the Revolution in Captain Joseph Dur- 
fee's company. She was a grand-niece of 
Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry. Chil- 
dren, born in Tiverton : Sarah Cogge- 
shall, born February 25, 1834, married 
William Tell Robinson, of New York; 
Ellen Elizabeth, August 15, 1836, married 
Nelson Cook Borden, of Tiverton ; Joshua 
Thomas, mentioned below. 

(VII) Joshua Thomas Durfee, son of 
Joshua Coggeshall Durfee, was born in 
Tiverton, August 10, 1842. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of his native 
town and of Fall River. At the age of 
eighteen he began to teach in the public 
schools of Tiverton and continued teach- 
ing for ten years. During the remainder 
of his active life he has followed farming 
on the homestead in Tiverton. His farm 
is a part of the Pocasset Purchase, origi- 
nally cleared by Job Durfee and has con- 
tinued in the family ever since. It is on 
Stafford Road, a few miles from Fall 
River. In politics Mr. Durfee is a Re- 
publican. He was elected a member of 
the school committee in 1864 and con- 
tinued on the committee for seven years. 
He was chosen justice of the peace in 
1874, trial justice in 1877, and at one 
time was coroner. During the Civil War 
he was commissioned second lieutenant 
of the Eighteenth Regiment of Rhode 
Island militia and served until that organ- 
ization disbanded. Mr. Durfee married, 



September 23, 1866, Amanda M. Crandall, 
born June 25, 1850, daughter of John G. 
and Amanda M. (Reed) Crandall. Chil- 
dren, born in Tiverton : I. Frederick Ever- 
ett, born December 7, 1867, a machinist 
of Fall River; soldier in the Spanish War; 
married, October 14, 1888, Laura Wilber- 
tis Forsyth, daughter of William and Isa- 
bella (Jenkins) Forsyth. 2. Nelson Bor- 
den, mentioned below. 3. Ellen Eliza- 
beth, born March 5, 1889. 

(VIII) Nelson Borden Durfee, son of 
Joshua Thomas Durfee, was born at Tiv- 
erton, January 28, 1870. He attended the 
public schools of his native town and Fall 
River. For a time he taught in the pub- 
lic school of Eagleville in his native town. 
In 1887 he shipped before the mast on the 
whaling bark "Mermaid" from New Bed- 
ford, Massachusetts. The first six months 
they cruised off the La Platte river on the 
Patagonian coast, going as far south as 
within one hundred and fifty miles of Cape 
Horn, covering from this to the Island 
of St. Helena ; spent one month on the 
island and then went around into the 
Indian ocean, going as far north as the 
Persian gulf, doing most of the cruising 
over the Equator, crossing it over six 
times. In the cruise there were one thou- 
sand three hundred and fifty barrels of 
oil obtained. On the way back to St. 
Helena they went to the Island of Zanza- 
bar, where Stanley started on his search 
for Livingston, visited the Island of Mad- 
agascar besides several islands of the In- 
dian ocean and saw many interesting inci- 
dents in the lives of the natives. There 
were pirates on the south coast of Mada- 
gascar and the Arabs took the natives and 
made slaves of them and sold them. They 
were two years and one day on the cruise, 
received discharge at St. Helena, and 
visited the house Napoleon lived and died 
in. From St. Helena he went to Italy, 
shipped from there to Borneo in Africa, 



216 




^^i-i^ 




^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and there to Gibralter, from there to Phil- 
adelphia, and then home to Fall River. 
He was afterward seaman on a coasting 
vessel. Returning to Fall River he fol- 
lowed the trade of carpenter, and in 1900 
became the proprietor of a planing and 
moulding mill at No. 870 South Main 
street. On June 11, 1914, his mill was 
destroyed by fire, and since then he has 
been superintendent of a mill owned by 
C. H. Hodgate, at the corner of Durfee 
and Central streets, Fall River. This 
mill specialized on inside and outside fin- 
ish, and has turned out the finest product 
in Fall Fiver for the last ten years. 

During the Spanish-American War Mr. 
Durfee served in Battery M, Heavy 
Artillery, First Massachusetts Regiment, 
under Captain S. L. Braley, and was sta- 
tioned at Fort Warren, Boston. He was 
mustered out at the end of the war. He 
is an active member of Trinity Baptist 
Church, Fall River. He was president of 
the United Societies of Christian En- 
deavor in 1900-01, and in 1903 was super- 
intendent of the Foster Street Baptist 
Mission Sunday School. In 1915-17 he 
was vice-president of the Taunton Bap- 
tist Sunday School Association. In the 
Young Men's Christian Association he 
has served on various standing commit- 
tees. For two years he was teacher of 
the class of Syrians of the Young Men's 
Christian Association. He is a member 
of Narragansett Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, and Mount Vernon 
Lodge, Knights of Pythias. In politics he 
is a Progressive Republican. 

Mr. Durfee married, March 22, 1893, 
Jeanie Morrison Williamson, daughter of 
John and Jessie (Morrison) Williamson, 
of Fall River. She was born in Fall River, 
December 6, 1871. Her father was a 
native of Stockport, England, and her 
mother of Glasgow, Scotland. Children, 
born in Fall River: i. Myrtle May, born 



June 17, 1894, died March 28, 1896. 2. 
Inez Morrison, born October 21, 1898, 
graduate of B. M. C. Durfee High School, 
1915, now a student at Bridgewater State 
Normal School, class of 1917. 3. Beatrice 
Plasket, born July 29, 1901, student in 
the B. M. C. Durfee High School. 4. 
Joshua Crandall, born ]\Iay 15, 1905. 



WRIGHT, William Francis, M. D., 

Physician, 

Dr. William Francis Wright, one of the 
leading physicians and surgeons of Fall 
River, Massachusetts, was born in that 
cit}-, November 27, 1880, a son of David 
and Susannah (Shepardson) Wright. His 
father was a native of Stockport, England, 
son of Jonathan and Maria (Shepardson) 
Wright, of Stockport. His mother was 
a native of Lincolnshire, England, and his 
paternal grandmother was born in Sus- 
sex, County Essex, England. His par- 
ents came to this country soon after their 
marriage, and made their home in ^'all 
River. 

Dr. Wright received his early educa- 
tion in the public schools of his native 
city, and was graduated from the B. M. 
C. Durfee High School in the class of 
1896. He entered Baltimore Medical 
College at Baltimore, Maryland, in 1904, 
and in due course was graduated in 1908 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 
After graduating he went abroad and 
spent nine months in the hospitals of 
Europe, studying in London, Paris and 
various other large cities on the Con- 
tinent and acquiring a very varied and 
interesting experience in hospital prac- 
tice and surgery. Upon his return to this 
country, he opened an office in his native 
city and since 1908 has been in general 
practice there. Dr. Wright has an exten- 
sive practice among all classes of people, 
is widely known and highly esteemed 



217 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



both in his profession and among his pati- 
ents. He is a member of the Fall River 
Medical Society, the Massachusetts Med- 
ical Society and the American Medical 
Association. In politics Dr. Wright is 
a Republican, and though he takes a keen 
interest in public affairs, especially in 
municipal matters, he has never entered 
public life. His practice has engaged his 
attention to the exclusion of other activi- 
ties. He is a member of the Central Con- 
gregational Church of Fall River. 

Dr. Wright married, August 22, 1909, 
Gertrude Clark Jenney, who was born 
in Fall River, a daughter of William and 
Anne (Clark) Jenney. Her grandfather 
on the paternal side was for many years 
engaged in the whaling industry and 
made his home in New Bedford, Massa- 
chusetts. Dr. and Mrs. Wright have no 
children. 



HORNE, Frank Lamb, 

Railroad Employee. 

Among the railroad men in the service 
of the Boston & Albany Railroad, prob- 
ably few are better known than Frank L. 
Home, who had spent nearly half a cen- 
tury in the service of that corporation, 
eight years of which he was employed as 
a locomotive fireman and thirty-five in 
holding the throttle and driving the iron 
horse over the shining highway of steel. 
His record is a proud one in other ways 
than length of service, and he enjoys all 
the rights and privileges of the veteran 
engineer. Mr. Home is a grandson of 
David Home, of Charlton, Framingham 
and Southbridge, Massachusetts, and a 
son of William Denison Home, who was 
born at Framingham, Massachusetts. 

William Denison Home was educated 
in Framingham public schools, and later 
moved to Southbridge, Massachusetts, 



where he owned a small farm. There he 
resided for several years, then disposed 
of this and purchased a farm of three hun- 
dred acres at Charlton, Massachusetts, 
which he cultivated until his death at the 
age of seventy-nine years. He was dea- 
con and treasurer of the Universalist 
church, and a man much respected by all 
who knew him. Politically he was a Re- 
publican. He married Louisa Lamb, who, 
surviving her husband for several years, 
died at the Charlton farm, aged eighty- 
six. She was a daughter of David Lamb, 
of Charlton, a substantial farmer and land 
owner. Mr. and Mrs. William D. Home 
were the parents of five sons and five 
daughters : Lavell Maria, married Charles 
Nelson; William Edward, married Mary 
Stowe; Francis Lamb (Frank) of further 
mention; Frances (twin with Francis), 
married Herbert K. Davidson ; Jennie 
Louise, married Alonzo B. Davidson ; 
Otis David ; George Albert, died in 
infancy ; Mary, died in infancy ; Caroline 
Eva, married Myron Putnam ; Charles. 

Frank Lamb Home was born at Stur- 
bridge, Massachusetts, November 20, 
1850, being taken as an infant to South- 
bridge, where he remained until four 
years of age, when he removed to Charl- 
ton and here he attended and completed 
his studies in the public schools. He was 
his father's farm assistant until the age 
of twenty-one, then left home and soon 
afterward became an employee of the 
Boston & Albany Railroad Company, 
serving as fireman eight years before 
securing promotion. But finally the 
coveted position was awarded, and the 
young man was rated on the company's 
books "Engineer." Thirty-five years have 
passed since he proudly took his seat on 
the engineer's side of the cab, and during 
these many years he has faithfully met 
the demands of an arduous occupation. 



218 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



He was for twelve years in the freight 
service when he was given a passenger 
train, and he has since been retained 
in the passenger service, residing in 
West Springfield, Massachusetts. Al- 
though leading a busy life, Mr. Home has 
found time to ally himself with various 
social ind fraternal organizations ; in 
connection with his position he is a mem- 
ber of the Brotherhood of Locomotive 
Engineers, and fraternally he is a mem- 
ber of Teco Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; Orthodox Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and in connection with 
the latter is a director of the Masonic 
Corporation who have in charge the erec- 
tion of a new Masonic Home in West 
Springfield. While taking no active part 
in political affairs, he is, nevertheless, 
interested in all that makes for the best 
interests of his town, being a believer and 
advocate of the principles of the Repub- 
lican party. 

Mr. Home married, December 25, 1876, 
Adella Marion Marble, born in Charlton, 
Massachusetts, July 4, 1859, daughter of 
Washington and Ruth Anna (Sibley) 
Marble, her father a resident of Sutton, 
Massachusetts, died aged sixty-six years, 
having been for several years employed 
by the Boston & Albany Railroad. Mr. 
and Mrs. Washington Marble were the 
parents of Albert W. Marble, married 
Effie D. Sibley; William Marble; Adella 
M. Marble, married Frank Lamb Home. 
Mr. and Mrs. Home are the parents of 
two sons and two daughters : Louisa M., 
married Joseph Derby; Francis A., died 
in 1888, aged fifteen months ; Bertram M., 
married Dorothy Flint; Bertha (twin 
with Bertram M.) died aged three months. 
The family home is No. 311 Main street. 
West Springfield, Massachusetts. Mrs. 
Ruth Anna (Sibley) Marble, Mrs. Home's 
mother, also residing there. 



COLBERT, William John, 
Superintendent. 

The opportunity for advancement in 
cotton mill manufacturing exists on every 
hand, and every day some young man 
emerges from the ranks of the operators 
to take a position among those who direct 
and command. Small as the authority may 
be at first, the young man cannot hide his 
light under a bushel in a cotton mill, and 
if he possesses the real quality he finds a 
call to come up higher soon afterwards. 
This was the experience of William J. 
Colbert, superintendent of the American 
Linen Company Mills at Fall River, who 
has passed through all the ranks of pro- 
motion from weaver to superintendent. 
There has been nothing sensational nor 
meteoric in his rise, but he has steadily 
advanced from post to post, filling each 
position so well that further promotion 
could not be denied him. He thoroughly 
understands his business, is thoroughly 
practical in his progressiveness, not an 
enthusiast, in short, a level headed busi- 
ness man doing well everything that he 
undertakes to do at all. He is of Irish 
birth and parentage, his ancestors on both 
sides going from France to Ireland about 
the year 1690. He is a descendant of Col- 
onel De la Garde, a French Huguenot, 
and a grandson of Robert and Alice (Con- 
nors) Colbert, of County Waterford, Ire- 
land, and son of John and Margaret 
(De la Garde) Colbert, both born in Ire- 
land, his fatherca machinist. 

William John Colbert was born in 
County Waterford, Ireland, June 24, 1870; 
in 1876 was brought to Dublin, and there 
attended school until coming to the 
United States in 1882, Fall River becom- 
ing the family home. At the age of four- 
teen years he began his long connection 
with cotton manufacturing, in the Amer- 



219 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ican Linen Company Mill, the first seven 
years being spent in the weaving room. 
From weaver he became loom fixer, re- 
maining in that capacity six years. He 
next became second hand in the weaving 
department, then an overseer, sixteen 
years being passed in those positions, 
when his appointment as superintendent 
came in 1913. He ably fills that position 
and now, just in the prime of life, holds 
the honorable position which has come to 
him through his own merits, a tribute to 
his energy, industry, ambition and ability. 
He enjoys life and freely passes along the 
good things which are his. He is a mem- 
ber of St. Louis Roman Catholic Church, 
and in politics is an Independent Repub- 
lican. He is unmarried. 



GRINNELL, Henry Frank, 
Business Man. 

For many years Mr. Grinnell has been 
identified with cotton manufacturing at 
Fall River, Massachusetts, as clerk, book- 
keeper and treasurer of the Chace Mills ; 
his father, George W. Grinnell, having 
been a director of the same corporation 
from the date of incorporation in 1871. 
The Grinnell family is an old and promi- 
nent one in Southern Massachusetts and 
Rhode Island, and for several generations 
have been prominent in Fall River. The 
coat-of-arms of the family is as follows : 

Arms — Argent, on a chief gules a lion rampant 
of the first crowned or. 

Crest — A serpent entwined round a pheon 
shafted all proper. 

Henry F. Grinnell is a son of George 
Washington Grinnell, and a grandson of 
John Grinnell, all of Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts. John Grinnell lived to the 
age of ninety years, dying at Fall River 
about the year 1872. George Washington 
Grinnell, born at Fall River, there died 
in 191 1. He married in Providence, 



Rhode Island, Abby Anthony Thomas, 
of that city, who died in 1903. 

Henry Frank Grinnell, son of George 
Washington and Abby Anthony (Thomas) 
Grinnell, was born at Fall River, Massa- 
chusetts, July 30, 1867, and is yet a resi- 
dent of his native city. He obtajjned his 
education in the grade and high schools 
of Fall River, completed the course at the 
B. M. C. Durfee High School, going 
thence to Providence, Rhode Island, to 
the Mowry & Goff English and Classical 
School. After completing his studies, 
Mr. Grinnell was for a few years engaged 
in the coal business at Fall River, then 
entered the employ of the Bernard Mill 
in the clerical department. He was then 
nineteen years of age, and from that year, 
1888, he has been connected with the 
Chace Mill, a corporation organized in 
1871, with a capital of $500,000, the in- 
corporators including George W. Grin- 
nell, who also served as a director. He 
served as clerk and bookkeeper, and in 
1914 was elected treasurer of the com- 
pany, and under his wise, experienced 
guidance the interests of the corporation 
have been carefully conserved and stock- 
holders well remunerated. The products 
of the mill have an established place in 
the textile market, and the corporation is 
one of the well managed, prosperous 
manufacturing concerns which have won 
fame for Fall River as the greatest of 
cotton manufacturing cities. Mr. Grin- 
nell is also a trustee of the Citizens' Sav- 
ings Bank, and has other business inter- 
ests. He is a Republican in politics, and 
a member of Central Congregational So- 
ciety and an attendant of that church. 

Mr. Grinnell married, at Fall River, 
Massachusetts, April 23, 1894, Etta Louisa 
Smith, born at Fall River, October 12, 
1871, daughter of George Yorke and 
Susan IMiriam (Gardner) Smith. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BUTTON, Julius Maltby, M. D., 

Physician. 

The Buttons have an undoubted de- 
scent from one of the followers of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror, and at the time of 
the Domesday Survey they were estab- 
lished at what was known as Duntune, 
in Cheshire, England. The name But- 
ton is a corruption derived from "Dun," 
a Saxon word meaning a hill or down. 
"So that Duntune signifies as much as A 
Town upon a Hill or Down." (Leices- 
ter's Historical Antiquities). The earlier 
progenitor of the Duttons in England 
was Odard, the eldest or first named of 
five brothers, one of them a priest, that 
came together from Avranches, Nor- 
mandy, at the time of the Conquest. 
They accompanied a Norman noble named 
Nigel, who is said to have been a kind of 
a cousin of the Conqueror. The names 
of these five brothers were Odard, Edard, 
Horswyne, Wolmere, and Wolfaith, a 
priest. Four of these brothers were prob- 
ably the squires of Nigel, and the fifth 
attached to his household as a priest. 
From Nigel, Odard received the Lordship 
of Duntune. The following is a transla- 
tion of the entry in the Domesday Book 
relating to Odard's possession of Dun- 
tune: 

Odard holds Duntune of the Earl. Ravene 
held it and was a freeman. There is one virgate 
and a half of land rateable to the gelt. The land 
is one carucate. There is one radman and one 
serf. A wood a league long and a half as broard, 
and a hawks aery. In King Edward's time it was 
worth 5s. now I2d. 

Odard also owned a portion of Halton, 
and lands in Weston, Aston and Whitely, 
in Cheshire. Nothing is known of the 
date of his death. His sword is said to 
have been preserved at Dutton Hall until 
Leicester's time. The family seat was at 
Button, in the valley of the Weaver. The 



portion of Dutton Hall that is now stand- 
ing is an interesting half-timbered struc- 
ture, standing back, though within sight 
of the main road from Northwich to Run- 
corn. It was the home of Odard's de- 
scendants for six centuries. Thomas 
Button, the twentieth in descent from 
Odard, was the last of the main line of 
Buttons of Button Hall. He died in 1614. 
The property passed by the marriage of 
his daughter, Elinor, to the Buke of Ham- 
ilton. While the main line of Odard's 
family became extinct with the death of 
Thomas Button, in 1614, there are still 
many families of the name in and around 
Chester. They are found in all the walks 
of life. 

(I) John Button, the American ances- 
tor, came from this Chester stock, but 
what relationship, if any, his family had 
with that of Button Hall, cannot now be 
determined. It is known that the younger 
sons of the family usually settled in or 
near Chester. It is also known that the 
family names were the same. The fam- 
ily became Puritan under the influence of 
the noted John Bruen, a cousin, about the 
time of the Puritan exodus to Massachu- 
setts. It is safe to conclude that John 
Button, the first American of the name, 
was a descendant of one of the younger 
sons of the family of Odard, and it is 
altogether probable that he was ignorant 
of his relationship to the holders of the 
lands and titles of Odard, the Norman. 
"Odard whose name is spelled in the 
latter records, Hudard or Huddard, Vis- 
count Constantia," was the immediate 
ancestor of the numerous and ancient 
family of Buttons of Button. From Ly- 
sons Magna Brittanica, Vol. II., John 
Button, the American ancestor, was born 
in Chester, England, and came to Bor- 
chester, Massachusetts, in 1630. having 
with him a son Thomas, then a boy of 
ten. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OFsBIOGRAPHY 



(II) Thomas Button, son of John But- 
ton, was born in Chester, England, and 
is first mentioned in connection with his 
father as being in Borchester, Massachu- 
setts, in 1630. He lived for a time in 
Reading, moving thence to Woburn, and 
in 1675 was a resident of Billerica. In 
addition to his court record, previously 
mentioned, there is an extract from the 
minutes of a meeting of the selectmen of 
Billerica and a committee of militia, held 
August 8, 1675, concerning the Garrison 
house which names him and his son John. 
His son Thomas was with the expedition 
sent from Natick in 1677, was "shot 
through the side of my belt and through 
my left knee and fell down not able to 
help myself." Thomas Button married 

(first) Susan , who died in 1684, 

aged fifty-eight. He married (second) 
November 9, 1684, Ruth, daughter of 
William Hopper. His first four children: 
Thomas, Mary, Susannah and John, were 
born in Reading, the last five: Elizabeth, 
Joseph, Sarah, James and Benjamin, at 
Woburn, the last named born February 
19, 1669. The Buttons of Cavendish and 
Jefifrey, New Hampshire, are descended 
from Thomas and Susan Button. 

(III) Joseph Button, son of Thomas 
and Susan Button, was born in Woburn, 
January 25, 1661, and his will bears date 
1733, the year of his death. He lived for 
a time in Reading, where he subscribed 
two pounds towards the erection of a 
new meeting house, but later moved to 
East Haddam, Connecticut, where he 
died. He bought land in Wallingford, 
Connecticut, in 1718 and 1719, which he 
gave to his sons. He is supposed to have 
been a tanner. He married (first) in 1685, 
Rebecca Fitch, who bore him a daughter 
Rebecca, in 1686. He married (second) 
in 1693, Mary Smith, who was the mother 
of Susannah, born 1695 ; Benjamin, bom 
in Lynn, 1696; Bavid, born in East Had- 



dam, Connecticut, 1698; Ruth, born 1703; 
Samuel, born 1704; Thomas, of further 
mention. 

(IV) Thomas (2) Button, youngest of 
the children of Joseph and Mary (Smith) 
Button, was born at East Haddam, Con- 
necticut, March 6, 1707, and died in Hart- 
ford, Vermont, where a stone in the 
cemetery in Christian street which marks 
his grave states he died in 1799, aged 
ninety-eight. Thomas Button was a man 
celebrated as a church builder and carver. 
He built churches at Waterbury, Con- 
necticut, and in other places, being well 
known over a large section of Connecti- 
cut. He was living in Wallingford in 
1757, and was a deacon of the church at 
Westbury. He was distinguished for his 
personal piety, and reared his large fam- 
ily with such care that all of his sons 
who lived to manhood were church mem- 
bers and four of them held official posi- 
tions. After the death of his wife he 
went to the home of his grandson, also 
Thomas Button, in Waterford, expect- 
ing there to soon die. But he so far 
regained his strength that he journeyed 
to Vermont to visit children and there 
died in 1799. He married. May 8, 1729, 
Abigail Merriam, born in 1708. Chil- 
dren: John, born in 1730, died young; 
Abigail, born July 8, 1732; Thomas, Jan- 
uary 31, 1735; Samuel, February 13, 1737; 
Lois, November 8, 1739; Matthew, No- 
vember II, 1740, died in 1842, aged ninety- 
nine ; Amasa, of further mention ; Na- 
thaniel, June 5, 1747; Phoebe, October 
II, 1749, died in 1825; Asahel, February 
2, 1753, died young; and perhaps a 
daughter Asenath. 

(V) Amasa Button, son of Thomas 
(2) and Abigail (Merriam) Button, whom 
one account gives as the twin brother of 
Asahel, was born July 31, 1745, and died 
at Royalton, Vermont, September 30, 
1 83 1. He moved from Connecticut to 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Clarendon, Vermont, in 1773, thence to 
Royalton, where he followed his trade, 
shoemaker, until his death. He married 
(first) October i, 1766, Sarah Parmalee, 
born November 25, 1748, died September 
9, 1805. He married (second) March 10, 
1806, Ruth, widow of Jeremiah Ingra- 
ham. Children, all by first wife: Susan- 
nah, born November 25, 1767, died young; 
Reuben, born December, 1773, married 
Clarissa Thomas, and died in Brooktield, 
Vermont, February 3, 1866; Sally, born 
September 17, 1776, died young; Susan- 
nah, born September 27, 1781 ; Amasa, of 
further mention ; Thomas Parmalee, born 
January 14, 1787, died in 1805 ; John 
Gould, born November 18, 1789. 

(VI) Captain Amasa (2) Dutton, son 
of Amasa (i) and Sarah (Parmalee) Dut- 
ton, was born at Clarendon, Vermont, 
November 21, 1785, died April i, 1863, 
and is buried with his two wives in North 
Royalton Cemetery. He removed with 
his father to Royalton, Vermont, and 
there is listed in 1808. In that year, with 
Daniel Ashcroft, he bought the store and 
potash works of John Flint and probably 
the old Yuran place. After his removal 
to the Yuran place, he made a hardwood 
table and on it he ate the first supper with 
his second bride, Althea (Hazen) Dutton. 
He moved from the Yuran place to the 
Lyman Burbank farm, and cared for his 
parents in their old age. He won his mil- 
itary title in the militia service of the 
State, being captain of an Independent 
Infantry Company. During the War of 
1812, Harry Bingham went to the front 
in his stead saying "Captain Dutton has 
a family, I have none." In appreciation 
of his friend. Captain Dutton named one 
of his sons Harry Bingham Dutton. Cap- 
tain Dutton was a substantial farmer, 
prominent in town affairs, and a leading 
member of the Masonic order. He mar- 
ried (first) November 14, 1805, Tamasin 



Ashcroft, born October 12, 1799, died July 

11, 1817, daughter of William and Tama- 
sin (Cady) Ashcroft. He married (sec- 
ond) October 26, 1817, Althea Hazen, 
born September 14, 1788, died Septem- 
ber 14, 1877, daughter of Thomas and 
Abigail (Dutton) Hazen. Children by 
first wife: Harry, born August 25, 1806, 
died September 23, 1806; Carlos, March 
8, 1808, died in Rochester, New York, 
June II, 1874; Caroline, June 14, 1810, 
married Dr. James Woodworth ; Carlton, 
January 30, 1812, died in Rochester, New 
York; Harry Bingham, July 14, 1814, 
died prior to 1861. Children by second 
wife : Althea Louise, born January 5, 
1819; Amasa Parmalee, of further men- 
tion ; David, born in Royalton, January 

12, 1822; Tamasin Ashcroft, December 
20, 1823 ; Eleanor Maria, November 22, 
1825, died December, 1834; Sarah Parma- 
lee, August 17, 1827; Edward Francis, 
May 4, 1832. 

(VII) Amasa Parmalee Dutton, son of 
Captain Amasa (2) Dutton, and his sec- 
ond wife, Althea (Hazen) Dutton, was 
born June 24, 1820, and died at Crafts- 
bury, Vermont, June, 1898. He was a 
farmer of Royalton in early life, but 
moved to Craftsbury in Orleans county, 
Vermont, where he became a substantial 
farmer and prominent in county affairs, 
serving as associate judge for many years. 
He was a deacon of the Congregational 
church, a leading member of the Masonic 
order, and a man highly respected every- 
where known. He married Mary Mason, 
born in Hanover, New Hampshire, No- 
vember 15, 1818, died in Craftsbury, in 
December, 1890, daughter of Stephen and 
Eunice (Hazen) Mason. Children: i. 
John Mason, of further mention. 2. 
Eliza, born in Craftsbury, June 19, 185 1, 
married La Forest Thompson, a lawyer of 
Irasburg, Vermont, who died in May, 
1900, leaving children : Margaret, Frank 



223 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



and Helen. 3. Henry Hazen, born June 
18, 1854; a farmer of Craftsbury, Ver- 
mont, until 1891, then removed to Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, where he is a 
successful wholesale butter dealer; since 
1905 he has been totally blind, following 
the unsuccessful removal of a cataract ; 
he "married Jeannette P. Lyon, and has 
children : Leona, Nina B., Julius Mason, 
and Harold L., who in April, 1918, entered 
the United States army and is now serv- 
ing in France. 4. Edward Amasa, born 
June 19, 1864; a deacon of the Crafts- 
bury Congregational Church, and in 1906 
a member of the Vermont Legislature ; 
he married Katherine A. Anderson, and 
has children : Flora Eliza, a graduate of 
Simmons College; James Amasa, a grad- 
uate of the University of Vermont, class 
of 1908; ]\Iary Caroline, a graduate of 
Simmons College ; Mildred ; Margaret, 
died young ; Mason Parmalee, died at 
University of Vermont, March, 1917, and 
Edward Anderson Button. 

(VIII) Rev. John Mason Dutton, eld- 
est son of Amasa Parmalee and Mary 
(Mason) Button, was born in Craftsbury, 
Vermont, April 14, 1847, and died in New- 
port, Vermont, in June, 1900. His youth 
was spent in Craftsbury, his preparatory 
education obtained in the public schools 
and academy of that town. He then 
entered Bartmouth College, whence he 
was graduated in 1873, after which he 
pursued studies in theology at Yale Bi- 
vinity School, graduating with the class 
of 1876. He was ordained a minister of 
the Congregational church and was set- 
tled over the church at Lebanon, New 
Hampshire, for ten years ; over the Som- 
ersworth, New Hampshire, church for 
ten years ; over Newtonville, Massachu- 
setts, Central Congregational Church for 
seven years, building the present magni- 
ficent church, at Newtonville, Massachu- 
setts, then to Newport, Vermont, where 



he died a year later. In addition to his 
ministerial work, he took an unusual in- 
terest in educational affairs, and while 
in Somersworth was chairman of the 
Board of Education, doing a great deal 
in his energetic, progressive way to 
increase the efficiency of the schools. He 
was a man of devout life and deep intel- 
lectuality, highly esteemed as a preacher 
and pastor. His political faith was Re- 
publican. 

Rev. John M. Button married Flora 
Belle Maltby, born at Northford, Con- 
necticut, July 8, 1849, daughter of Epa- 
phius C. and Hannah (Hoadley) Maltby, 
her father a manufacturer of silverware, 
her mother a daughter of Rev. L. I. Hoad- 
ley, a prominent clergyman. Mrs. Dut- 
ton died in Waltham, Massachusetts, in 
May, 1905. Their only child was Br. 
Julius Maltby Button, of further men- 
tion. 

Br. Julius Maltby Button was born in 
Lebanon, New Hampshire, Becember 14, 
1877. He there began his public school 
education, and was a student in the Som- 
ersworth, New Hampshire, and Newton, 
Massachusetts, schools, finishing his pre- 
paratory study with the Newton High 
School, graduating with the class of 1895. 
He entered Bartmouth College in 1896, 
and was graduated A. B., class of 1900. 
He then began the study of medicine, and 
in 1903 was awarded his M. D. by Bart- 
mouth Medical College. Br. Button 
began his professional career at Tewkes- 
bury, Massachusetts, continuing there as 
health officer and resident physician from 
May, 1903, until September i, 1905. Be- 
cember I of that year he located in West- 
field, Massachusetts, with offices in the 
Columbus building and at his home, No. 
93 Elm street, and there continues in 
general practice, well established in 
public favor and confidence. He is a 
member of the surgical staff of Noble 



224 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Memorial Hospital, and is an expert 
X-Ray operator and official photographer 
for the hospital in X-Ray cases. He was 
devoted special study tosurgery, but his 
practice is general. He is highly regarded 
as a physician and surgeon of skill and 
honor, has a large clientele and is one of 
the successful men of his profession. 

Outside the realm of his profession and 
the cares of a large private and hospital 
practice, he is interested in public affairs, 
church and social life. He does a great 
deal of professional work for charity's 
sake, and is the type of physician men 
delight to honor. He is a member of the 
Westfield Medical Society, of which he 
is secretary ; the Hampden County Medi- 
cal Society, the Massachusetts Medical 
Society, is a fellow of the American Medi- 
cal Association, and a member of the 
American College of Surgeons. He is a 
member of Mt. Moriah Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Evening Star Chapter 
Royal Arch Masons ; the Westfield Board 
of Trade ; the Westfield Club and Tekoa 
Countr)' Club. He has been a deacon of 
the First Congregational Church of West- 
field for many years; is a Republican in 
politics, was chairman of the Board of 
Education in 1914-15-16, was reelected 
for another term of three years, and is a 
member of the building committee in 
charge of the erection of the new Meadow 
street school building. He is a worker, 
and whatever he does does it with his 
might. 

Dr. Dutton married, September 12, 
1905, Charlotte Helena Coye, born in Li- 
vonia, New York, daughter of Edwin R. 
and Frances (Fowler) Coye, her father 
a farmer, died in 1915, her mother a 
daughter of Stephen Bancroft Fowler, of 
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, a descendant of 
Ambrose Fowler, of Windsor, Connecti- 
cut, the American ancestor. The line of 
descent from Ambrose Fowler is through 



his son, Samuel Fowler, who settled in 
Westfield, in 1689; his son, Samuel (2) 
Fowler, born in 1683 ; his son, Stephen 
Fowler, born in 1719, married (first) 
Rhoda Bancroft; their son, Stephen (2), 
Fowler, married Rhoda Wells and moved 
from Westfield to Pittsfield street about 
1772, later going to Western New York; 
their son, Stephen (3) Fowler, born Feb- 
ruary I, 1777, died in Livonia, New York, 
in 1846, married Rhoda Harrison and had 
sons : Fitch, Meigs, Harmon and Stephen 
Bancroft Fowler, the latter the father of 
Frances Fowler, who married Edwin R. 
Coye, they the parents of Charlotte 
Helena Coye, wife of Dr. Julius Maltby 
Dutton. (The Fowler Genealogy is given 
at length elsewhere in this work.) Dr. 
and Mrs. Dutton are the parents of a son, 
John Maltby Dutton, born September 2, 
1906, and a daughter, Ruth Frances Dut- 
ton, born January 15, 1909. 



FOWLER, Jeduthan Tarsus, 

Representative Citizen. 

The Fowler family traces to an early 
period in the history of this country, their 
residence being in the States of Connecti- 
cut and Massachusetts, an early member 
of the family, Ambrose Fowler, being a 
resident of Windsor, Connecticut, as early 
as 1640, where he was a member of the 
church of which the Rev. John Warnham 
was pastor. He was one of the commit- 
tee in 1641 in Hartford Colony to settle 
the bounds between UncoWay and Po- 
quonnuck. He sold his land at Windsor 
in 1671, and soon afterwards removed to 
Westfield, Massachusetts, accompanied 
by his family. He married, at Windsor, 
May 6, 1646, Jane Alvord, who bore him 
seven children, all of whom were born in 
Windsor: Abigail, born March i, 1647, 
married, March 22, 1670-71, Increase 
Sikes; John, November 6, 1648, married 



225 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mercy Miller; Mary, May 15, 1650, mar- 
ried, May 14, 1677, Fearnot King ; Samuel, 
of whom further; Hannah, born Decem- 
ber 20, 1654, married James Sexton ; 
Elizabeth, born December 2, 1656; Am- 
brose, born May 8, 1658, married Mary 
Baker. 

(II) Samuel Fowler, second son of 
Ambrose and Jane (Alvord) Fowler, was 
born in Windsor, Connecticut, November 

18, 1652, was reared and educated there, 
removing, in 1689, to Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts, and in that city he spent the 
remainder of his days. He married, No- 
vember 6, 1683, Abigail Brown, who bore 
him ten children, namely : Samuel, of 
whom further; Jonathan, born October 

19, 1685, married (first) Catherine Mar- 
shall, (second) Flannah Pettibone ; Abi- 
gail, born October 25, 1687; Mary, born 
February 22, 1689; Hannah, born No- 
vember 3, 1693 ; Hester, born January 
16, 1695; Sarah, born May 31, 1698; Isa- 
bel, born February i, 1700, married, 1720, 
Ezra Strong; Elizabeth, born June 7, 
1704; Mindwell. 

(III) Samuel (2) Fowler, eldest son of 
Samuel (i) and Abigail (Brown) Fowler, 
was born in Windsor, Connecticut, Janu- 
ary 29, 1685, and died in Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, November 10, 1744. He mar- 
ried Mercy , whose death occurred 

in Westfield, January 6, 1744. Children, 
born at Westfield : Samuel, of whom fur- 
ther ; David, married Elizabeth Smith ; 
Bethesda, born April 26, 1717; Stephen, 
born December 21, 1719; Mercy, born 
July 31, 1722, died January 6, 1744; Bil- 
dad, married Elizabeth Bancroft ; Daniel, 
born January, 1729, married Eleanor Wil- 
liams; Mehitable, married Wil- 
liams. 

(IV) Samuel (3) Fowler, eldest son of 
Samuel (2) and Mercy Fowler, was born 
in Westfield, Massachusetts, January 31, 
171 1, died January 6, 1777. He was 



reared on his father's farm, educated in 
the district school, and later removed to 
Southwick, then part of Westfield, the 
first of the name to settle there. Mr. 
Fowler was a man of more than ordinary 
education, ability and energy, was a sur- 
veyor by occupation, prospered in his 
undertakings, and at the time of his death 
was the owner of half of Southwick, then 
called Poverty Plains. He erected the 
third house in that town, which is stand- 
ing at the present time (1918) being now 
the ell part of the Oliver Utly residence. 
Air. Fowler married, in Westfield, May 8, 
1734, Naomi Noble, born March 8, 1718, 
died February 27, 1797. Among their 
children was Noble, of whom further. 

(V) Noble Fowler, son of Samuel (3) 
and Naomi (Noble) Fowler, was born in 
Southwick, Massachusetts, January 10, 
1763, died there, December 21, 1828. He 
devoted his time to agricultural pursuits, 
residing on the farm given him by his 
father, which is still in the possession of 
the family, passing first to his son. Tarsus 
N. Fowler, then to Luzerne A. Fowler, 
son of Tarsus N. Fowler, then to 
Jeduthan T. Fowler, brother of Luzerne 
A. Fowler. Noble Fowler erected a house 
on the property in 1790, which was of the 
old type New England construction, 
frame of oak timbers, erected in the usual 
way by calling the neighbors for a "rais- 
ing," the usual festivities coming after the 
labor of the day. This house stood until 
1915, in which year it was torn down. Mr. 
Fowler married Mary (Polly) Doolittle, 
born in 1769, died in Southwick, March 
II, 1847, daughter of Titus Doolittle, of 
Russell, Massachusetts. Children, born 
in Southwick, all deceased: Lewis Doo- 
little, born June — , 1792, died November 
17, 1861 ; Samuel Sardis, December 26, 
1798, died January 28, 1873; Ranson, 
January 6, 1804, died November 28, 1828; 
Tarsus Noble, of whom further; Coit, 



226 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



April 17, 1814. All the members of the 
family were active in the work of the 
Baptist church of Southwick. 

(VI) Tarsus Noble Fowler, fourth of 
the five sons of Noble and Mary (Doolit- 
tle) Fowler, was born in Southwick, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 10, 1805, and died 
there, February 3, 1892. He was educated 
in the district school, assisted with the 
work of his father's farm, and upon 
attaining young manhood his father gave 
him a farm, which he cultivated and 
improved, and he devoted his entire 
active career to that pursuit and to the 
catching of wild pigeons for the market, 
following this line of business in South- 
wick, Massachusetts, also in the States of 
New York and Pennsylvania, which 
proved a profitable enterprise. In poli- 
tics he was first a Whig and later a Re- 
publican, but aside from serving as select- 
man for a time, took no active part in 
political affairs other than casting his vote 
for the candidates he deemed worthy of 
holding public position. He married, Sep- 
tember 5, 1830, Mary Ann Aldrich, born 
in the State of Connecticut, January 10, 
181 1, died in Southwick, Massachusetts, 
August 25, 1880. Children: Calista Je- 
mima, born July 15, 1831 ; Amaret, born 
February 9, 1833, died aged five years ; 
Jeduthan Tarsus, of whom further; Har- 
riet Eliza, born November 27, 1835 ; Mark 
Doolittle, born January 3, 1839; Loraine, 
died August 26, 1842 ; Alden Simon, 
born December 22, 1841, enlisted in the 
Twenty-seventh Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Infantry, Company F, served three 
years with this regiment, was in all cam- 
paigns and battles, was taken sick and 
never fully recovered, although he lived 
to be seventy-two years old, his death 
occurring in 1913; Calvin, died October 
8, 1843 ; Luzerne Arthur, born February 
14, 1849, resides in Southwick ; Ellen M., 
born October 30, 1851, died in infancy; 



Emma Jane, born March 16, 1853, became 
the wife of Llewellyn Weatherby, and 
resides in Westfield. All the members of 
this family were active workers in the 
Baptist church of Southwick, devoted to 
the interests of the same. 

(VII) Jeduthan Tarsus Fowler, son of 
Tarsus Noble and Mary Ann (Aldrich) 
Fowler, was born in Southwick, Massa- 
chusetts, July 30, 1834. He spent the 
early part of his life on his father's farm, 
attending the schools of the neighborhood, 
also the Westfield High School for one 
year, and his first employment was with a 
railroad company, having charge of the 
freight yard in Springfield, his service 
with this company continuing for ten 
years. During the struggle between the 
North and South he offered his Services 
in behalf of his country, but was rejected 
on account of his health, but for three 
3'ears he was employed in the Springfield 
Armory. He then secured employment 
with the Stimpson Piano Company of 
Westfield, his occupation being the mak- 
ing of piano legs for the old style square 
pianos, but the passing of that style of 
piano caused the closing of the plant, and 
Mr. Fowler was employed in finishing 
and shipping the last order of piano legs 
for the company, which he had faithfully 
served for a number of years. He then 
entered the employ of the Eggleston 
Company of Westfield, dealers in gro- 
ceries and provisions, with whom he 
remained for a long period of time, until 
they went out of business, and for the 
following three years was in the employ 
of Peter Jenson, engaged in the same line 
of business. Since then he has lived 
retired, enjoying the fruits of his many 
years of labor. Mr. Fowler is a fine 
type of the old New Englander, rugged, 
sturdy, honorable, a faithful, conscien- 
tious worker, interested in and supporting 
all worthy enterprises, but avoiding pub- 



227 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



licity. He has always been an active 
member and ardent worker in the local 
Methodist Episcopal church, and his 
political affiliations have been with the 
Republican party. 

Mr. Fowler married, October 23, 1856, 
Marilla Holcomb, born in Tolland, Mas- 
sachusetts, October 23, 1836, died in 
Westfield, March 9, 1913, daughter of 
Walter and Fluvia (Rockwell) Holcomb. 
Walter Holcomb was a blacksmith by 
trade and followed that line in Tolland, 
Massachusetts, and in Tariffville and 
Thompsonville, Connecticut, his death 
occurring in the latter named place. His 
wife, who was the youngest of eleven 
children, now all deceased, she the last 
surviving child, was born in Tariffville, 
Connecticut, a member of the numerous 
Rockwell family of Connecticut. Her 
death occurred at Westfield, in 1872, but 
her remains were interred in Tariffville. 
Children of Mr. and Mrs. Fowler: i. 
Grace, born October 10, 1859; became the 
wife of Edward W. Atwater, an account- 
ant of the Munson Steamship Company ; 
resides in Brooklyn, New York; they are 
the parents of one daughter, Ruth At- 
water, born in Brooklyn, January 10, 
1885, graduate of Pratt Institute of 
Brooklyn, now teacher of domestic sci- 
ence there, also taught at Waterford, 
New York, and is on the staff of teachers 
at the Summer School of Chicago Uni- 
versity. 2. Gertrude Louise, born Feb- 
ruary 22, 1865 ; became the wife of Frank 
W. Gushing and resides in Westfield ; she 
is artistic, has studied extensively with 
the best teachers, and specializes in paint- 
ing of china for which there is a constant 
demand, her patrons being among the 
best families of Westfield and vicinity. 
3. Ned Howard, born April 7, 1874; 
attended the public schools of Westfield 
and Emerson College of Oratory at Bos- 
ton; as a boy he was interested in thea- 



tricals, and early in life he adopted the 
theatrical profession for his active career, 
in which line he was eminently successful 
until his death which occurred January 
22, 1904. 



FOWLER, Edward Taylor, 

Manufacturer. 

Treasurer and general manager of the 
Foster Machine Company of Westfield, 
Massachusetts, Edward T. Fowler is of 
the eighth generation of the family 
founded in New England by Ambrose 
Fowler, who settled in Westfield in 1671, 
and there this branch of the family has 
ever resided, although Stephen Fowler, 
of the fourth generation, late in life moved 
to Pittsfield, Massachusetts, and thence 
to New York State. Farming has been 
the family occupation, and at one time 
Charles Fowler and his son, Charles R. 
Fowler, conducted a very extensive 
tobacco farm which was later operated 
by his son until 1903, when he retired, 
although he still owns the farm. 

(IV) Stephen Fowler, son of Samuel 
(2) Fowler (q. v.), was born at West- 
field, December 21, 1719. He removed 
from Westfield to Pittsfield about 1772, 
and afterwards to the State of New York. 
He married (first) August 10, 1746, 
Rhoda, died January 8, 1747-48, sister of 
Captain John Bancroft, who had a large 
estate in the northwest part of Westfield. 
He married (second) in 175 1, Mary Wells, 
of Hartford. Child of first wife : Stephen, 
born July 26, 1747, married Rhoda Wells. 
Children of second wife : Rhoda, born 
April ID, 1752; Blackledge, mentioned 
below ; Abigail, born March 23, 1756, mar- 
ried Asa Noble; Mehitable, February 16, 
1758, married Dr. Porter, of Williams- 
town ; Sarah, August 26, 1760, married 
John Lee, of Hartford ; Amos, February 
16, 1763, married Irene Fowler, of North- 



228 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ford, Connecticut; Mary, August 15, 
1765, died February 15, 1766; Wells, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1768, died young; Mary, Octo- 
ber 13, 1771, married (first) Daniel Fow- 
ler, (second) Dr. Martin Phelps. 

(V) Blackledge Fowler, son*of Stephen 
Fowler, was born January 4, 1754, and 
died September 6, 1839. He married 
(first) March 23, 1780, Miriam Smith, died 
January 11, 1811. He married (second) 
October 23, 1813, Sarah Rogers, died Sep- 
tember 25, 1825. Children, all by first 
wife: Charles, born February 12, 1781, 
died young; Sophia, April 14, 1783, mar- 
ried Charles Noble, January 8, 1803 ; 
Lucy, June 26, 1785 ; Clarissa, August 30, 
1787, married Henry Taylor; Porter, men- 
tioned below ; Thomas, February 28, 
1791 ; Elizabeth, June 4, 1794; Julia, No- 
vember 5, 1796, married Chauncey Pease, 
December 22, 1818. 

(VI) Porter Fowler, son of Blackledge 
Fowler, was born in Westfield, December 
29, 1789, and died October 12, 1828. He 
was a farmer of Westfield, owning a large 
tract of the finest farm land in the town, 
a tract still owned in the family. He 
married, September 26, 1816, Sarah At- 
water, of Russell, Massachusetts, born 
January 13, 1793, died December 25, 1864. 
Children: Wells, born October 4, 1817, 
died January 11, 1857, married Diantha 
Stiles, born December 23, 1817, died Oc- 
tober 28, 1894; Mary, born March 17, 
1820, married Horace Latimer; Charles, 
mentioned below ; John, born July 26, 
1825, died June 10, 1907, married Adeline 
Moore Bartholomew ; Elizabeth, born No- 
vember 2, 1828, married, April 17, 1850, 
Daniel Monson. 

(VII) Charles Fowler, second son of 
Porter Fowler, was born at Westfield, 
December 21, 1822, and died there Janu- 
ary 24, 189D. "* He was six years of age 
when his father died, the large farm Por- 
ter Fowler left being conducted by his 



father, Blackledge Fowler, until his death 
in 1839, when Charles Fowler became its 
manager. He was educated in the public 
school, and until 1864 remained at the 
homestead on Silver street. When his 
brother John reached suitable age, the 
brothers b'ecame partners in its manage- 
ment, but in 1864 Charles Fowler sold his 
interest to his brother and bought a large 
farm in the vicinity on West Silver street. 
There he conducted general farming oper- 
ations, and in the winter season bought 
feeders and fattened them for the market. 
He thus continued until about 1870, when 
Western beef began coming to Eastern 
markets in such quantities that Mr. Fow- 
ler abandoned the lines he had found 
profitable and began tobacco raising. He 
added to his own crops purchases of leaf 
tobacco from the neighboring farmers, 
erected a large warehouse and conducted 
an extensive business until his death in 
1890. His son, Charles R., was admitted 
a partner, and after the death of Charles 
Fowler, Charles R. admitted his brother, 
Edward T., and together they continued 
the business until 1901, when Edward T. 
retired from the firm. Charles Fowler 
was a democrat in politics, and both he 
and his wife were members of the Congre- 
gational church. He married (first) Har- 
riet Taylor, born in Westfield, May 26, 
1821, died February 3, 1853, leaving a 
son, Charles Richmond, born December 
22, 1848. He married (second) Jane E. 
Taylor, sister of his first wife, born Feb- 
ruary 18, 1830, died November 13, 1864, 
leaving a son, Edward Taylor, mentioned 
below. He married (third) Sarah M. 
Taylor (not a relative) born November 16, 
1829, died June 28, 1915. 

(VIII) Edward Taylor Fowler, only 
son of Charles Fowler and his second 
wife, Jane E. (Taylor) Fowler, was born 
in Westfield, Massachusetts, November 
4, 1864, his birthplace the farm on West 



229 



* 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Silver street, then recently purchased by 
his father and now occupied by his 
brother, Charles R. Fowler. His life until 
the age of twenty was spent in acquiring 
an education in the graded and high 
schools of Westfield and at Eastman's 
Business College, Poughkee^sie, New 
York. He then became associated with 
his father and brother in the cultivation 
of the farm and in the leaf tobacco busi- 
ness. After the death of their father, in 
1890, the brothers continued the business 
until 1901, when Edward T. retired from 
the farming and tobacco business to- 
devote himself exclusively to the manage- 
ment of the Foster Machine Company of 
Westfield. He had been previously inter- 
ested in that company, but some changes 
that were made in 1901 made it advisable 
that he take a more active part. He is 
now treasurer and general manager of 
this, his brother, Charles R. Fowler, being 
president. The company manufactures 
machinery for use in textile mills, but 
specializes on an improved type of yarn 
winder for knitting machines, also ma- 
chines for silk, wool and cotton yarns. 
During the sixteen years that Mr. Fowler 
has been the active manager of tli'e plant 
the business has greatly expanded, im- 
proved and increased in volume, quality 
and prestige, and the Foster Machine 
Company is one of the prosperous impor- 
tant manufacturing enterprises of West- 
field. Mr. Fowler is an attendant of the 
Second Con^egational Church of West- 
field, and of Mt. Moriah Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Alasons, and is interested in all 
that concerns the welfare of the commun- 
ity in which seven generations of his 
ancestors labored and wrought for its up- 
building. Mr. Fowler married. May 5, 
1892, Mary K. Allyn, born in Holyoke, 
Massachusetts, in 1872, daughter of Sam- 
uel B. Allyn, a farmer of Montgomery, 
Massachusetts, and a merchant of Hol- 



yoke. Mrs. Fowler's only brother, Robert 
A. Allyn, is a prominent lawyer of Hol- 
yoke. Mr. and Mrs. Fowler are the par- 
ents of two daughters : Margaret A., mar- 
ried Donald Bridgman, January, 1918, and 
Katherine^M. 



FOWLER, John Henry, 

Manufacturer. 

John Henry Fowler, of the eighth 
American generation of this family in 
America, is a true representative of the 
family, and like his ancestors is largely 
interested in agriculture, tilling the acres 
on which his father, grandfather and great- 
grandfather spent their lives. His dispo- 
sition, however, ran contrary to the usual 
Fowler agricultural instinct, as he craved 
a business life, and in Thompson, Con- 
necticut, a manufacturing business exists 
which owes its inception and success to 
the ten years of his life which he devoted 
to its upbuilding. 

(VII) John Fowler, son of Porter 
Fowler (q. v.), was born in West- 
field, Massachusetts, July 26, 1825, and 
there died June 10, 1907. He was 
but three years of age when his 
father died, but the family remained at 
the farm which was managed by Black- 
ledge Fowler, grandfather of Charles and 
John Fowler. John Fowler attended the 
public schools and Westfield Academy, 
who assisted in the farm work until the 
death of Blackledge Fowler, in 1839. 
Charles, the elder of the two boys, suc- 
ceeded him and later, John and the broth- 
ers then formed a partnership and most 
efficiently conducted the farm until 1864. 
Charles Fowler then purchased a farm 
nearby, and John continued at the home- 
stead. He bought and fattened cattle for 
the Boston market and was very success- 
ful in that undertaking, but when the 
Western packing houses obtained control 



230 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the Eastern markets, he withdrew and 
gave more attention to dairy farming and 
gradually devoted his farm to tobacco 
raising. He became one of the substan- 
tial farmers of Westfield, but retired in 
favor of his capable sons who yet own 
and cultivate the farm. He was an ardent 
Democrat of the "old school," and took an 
active part in town afifairs. He served 
Westfield as selectman for about twelve 
years, and in all his campaigns polled a 
large vote, his integrity and public spirit 
attracting the independent voters. He 
was a deacon of the Second Congrega- 
tional Church for many years, and one of 
the highly-esteemed men of the commun- 
ity in which his long life was passed. 

John Fowler married. May 29, 1861, 
Adeline Moore Bartholomew, born in 
Montgomery, Massachusetts, April 22, 
1840, who resided at the old homestead on 
Silver street, Westfield, until her death in 
December, 1917. She was a daughter of 
Nathan Parks Bartholomew, born in 
Montgomery, 1817, died there in 1867. He 
married Dolly Ann Moore, born in 1818, 
died in 1896. Nathan Parks Bartholo- 
mew was a son of Harris Bartholomew, 
of Montgomery ; son of Captain Andrew 
Bartholomew, a captain during the Revo- 
lution of Harwinton, Connecticut ; son of 
Rev. Andrew Bartholomew, a graduate of 
Yale, 1731, pastor of the church at Har- 
winton for thirty-five years ; son of An- 
drew Bartholomew, of Wallingford, Con- 
necticut, a man of prominence ; son of 
Lieutenant William Bartholomew, the 
first deputy to the Connecticut General 
Court from Woodstock in 1692; son of 
William Bartholomew, born in Burford, 
England, in 1602-03, arrived in Boston, 
Massachusetts, on the ship "Griffin," 
September 18, 1634, was a merchant of 
Boston and a man of great prominence. 
In England the Bartholomews trace to 
John Bartholomew, of Oxfordshire, who 



is on record in the year 1551. Nathan 
Parks and Dolly Ann (Moore) Bartholo- 
mew were the parents of: Adeline 
Moore, widow of John Fowler ; Maria 
J., born July 25, 1841 ; Myra Parks, born 
February 12, 1845, died December 31, 
1907, married Albert Thomas, who died 
in 1905. John and Adeline Moore (Bar- 
tholomew) Fowler were the parents of 
four sons and a daughter: Porter N., 
born November 16, 1863, died June i, 
1864; John Henry, mentioned below; 
Lillian M., born January 24, 1867, died 
February 29, 1872 ; Albert E., born No- 
vember 17, 1873, married Elizabeth Bush ; 
Harold E., born April 20, 1880, married 
Irene Pope. 

(VIII) John Henry Fowler, second son 
of John Fowler, was born at the home- 
stead in Westfield, Massachusetts, No- 
vember 3, 1865. He was educated in the 
graded and high schools of Westfield, 
spent two years at Amherst Agricultural 
College, and is now engaged in farming 
on a part of the old homestead. 

Mr. Fowler married Edith May Loomis, 
born 1883, daughter of George W. 
Loomis, a lumber dealer of Westfield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Fowler are the parents of 
two sons, John Parker and Richard L. 



NOBLE, A. Fowler, 

Physician. 

The ancestry of Wells Noble is of great 
antiquity in England. The name is 
found also in Scotland. Wells Noble, 
third son of Charles and Sophia (Fowler) 
Noble, was born January 28, 1818, in 
Westfield, was a farmer on the paternal 
homestead, where he died July 2, 1875. 
He married, June 17, 1846, Mary Dewey, 
of that town, born May 26, 1819, daugh- 
ter of Charles C. and Electa (Sackett) 
Dewey. 

Reuben Noble, second son of Wells and 



231 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mary (Dewey) Noble, was born May 5, 
1849, in Westfield, where he has been an 
extensive tobacco grower and dealer for 
many years, and is now retired from 
active life. He and his family are attend- 
ants of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
He married Dr. Anngenette Fowler, 
daughter of Joseph Jonathan and Ann- 
genette (Fowler) Fowler, of Westfield, 
elsewhere mentioned in this article. Their 
daughter, Mary Anngenette Noble, was 
born .September 27, 1898, at Westfield, 
graduated from the high school of that 
town, and then pursued a post-graduate 
course preparatory to entering Bryn 
Mawr College. 

Dr. A. Fowler Noble was born in West- 
field. Most of her life has been spent in 
that town, where she graduated from the 
high school in 1878, and was subse- 
quently a student in the Westfield Nor- 
mal School. After pursuing the course at 
the Woman's Medical College of Balti- 
more, she was graduated in 1893, and 
received a gold medal for the highest 
standing in scholarship. She is deeply 
interested in her profession, is a contin- 
uous student, and has conducted a prac- 
tice in Westfield among a select class of 
patients. She is more inclined to study 
and research than to practice, is a mem- 
ber of various medical societies, all of 
whose meetings and conventions find her 
an interested attendant. She was presi- 
dent of the Westfield Woman's Club, a 
member of the Parent-Teachers' Associa- 
tion, active in the Visiting Nurses' Asso- 
ciation, and generally interested in all 
work of a benevolent nature. 

(The Fowler Line). 

(IV) David Fowler, second son of 
Samuel (2) and Mercy Fowler (q. v.), 
was born about 1714, and married, in 
June, 1747, Elizabeth Smith, born Febru- 
ary 16, 1728, in Simsbury, Connecticut, 



daughter of James Smith, Jr., of that 
town. 

(V) David (2) Fowler, son of David 
(i) and Elizabeth (Smith) Fowler, was 
born April 27, 1752, and died February 16, 
1823. He married (first) Polly Rising, 
who was the mother of eight children. He 
married (second) in 1802, Elizabeth 
Campbell, who died March 20, 1845. 
Their son is the next mentioned. 

(VI) Aretus Fowler, son of David (2) 
Fowler, was born January 10, 1805, and 
died March 6, 1849. He married, Febru- 
ary 17, 1828, Nancy Allen. Of their eleven 
children, the fourth was Anngenette 
Fowler, born October 16, 1835, who mar- 
ried, December 11, 1856, Joseph Jonathan 
Fowler, mentioned below. 

(III) Jonathan Fowler, second son of 
Samuel and Abigail (Brown) Fowler (q. 
v.), was born October 19, 1685, in Windsor, 
and was a child when the family settled in 
Westfield. He married (first) in 1720, 
Catherine Marshall, born April 11, 1699, 
in Winder, third daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Drake) Marshall. He married 
(second) Hannah Pettibone. 

(IV) Luther Fowler, eighth child of 
Jonathan and Catherine (Marshall) Fow- 
ler, was born May 2, 1739, and married, 
in May, 1762, Anna Woodward, who died 
August 28, 1796. Of their eleven children 
the second was Ashbel Fowler. 

(V) Ashbel Fowler, son of Luther 
Fowler, was born 1764, married, in 1788, 
Lucretia Kellogg, born about 1764, in 
Westfield, daughter of David and Eliza- 
beth (Jones) Kellogg, a descendant of a 
very ancient family. This surname is found 
in England early in the sixteenth century, 
and in Debden, County Essex, England, 
where in January, 1525, Nicholas Kellogg 
was taxed. William Kellogg was also on 
the tax list. There were many ways of 
spelling the name, among them being Kel- 
hogge, Kellogue, Cologe, Calaug, Cel- 



232 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



lodge, Kellock, Killhog, Collidge, Cellog, 
Kellog, and many others. There were 
many families of the name in County 
Essex, Great Leigh and Braintree being 
the seat of different branches probably of 
the same family. Phillippe Kellogg lived 
in Booking, County Essex, England, a 
parish adjoining Braintree, where his son 
Thomas was baptized September 15, 1583. 
Two years later he was in Great Leigh, 
where his daughter Annis was buried in 
161 1. His son, Martin Kellogg, was bap- 
tized November 23, 1595, in Great Leigh, 
County Essex, and died in Braintree in 
1671. He was a weaver or cloth worker, 
and lived in Great Leigh and Braintree. 
He married, in St. Michael's Church, 
Bishop's Stortford, County Hertford, Oc- 
tober 22, 1621, Prudence Bird, whom he 
survived. They were the parents of Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Kellogg, baptized April i, 
1626, in Great Leigh, and died in 1707, in 
Hadley, Massachusetts. As early as 165 1 
he was living in Farmington, Connecti- 
cut, where he and his wife joined the 
church, October 9, 1653. In 1655 he sold 
his house lot there and two years later 
moved to Boston, Massachusetts, where 
he purchased a dwelling house, October 
16, 1659. This was on the street leading 
to Roxbury, and the site is now occupied 
by the Advertiser building on Washing- 
ton street, Boston. He paid for it seven 
hundred dollars, sold it in 1661, and 
removed to Hadley, Massachusetts, where 
he made an agreement with the town in 
that year to maintain the ferry between 
Hadley and Northampton. He built his 
house on a small home lot reserved by the 
town for the ferry, and was given leave 
also to entertain travelers. In 1677 the 
town voted him forty pounds for a team, 
which had been impressed for the col- 
ony's service and for ferriage for soldiers. 
This ferry was continued by his son and 
grandson until 1758, and later by a son- 



in-law of the latter. Joseph Kellogg 
was long selectman of Hadley, was 
a sergeant of the military company 
in 1663, appointed ensign in 1678, 
and before the close of that year 
was made lieutenant, in which position he 
served until 1692. As sergeant he com- 
manded the Hadley troops in the famous 
Turners Fall fight. May 18, 1676. He 
served on committees to purchase lands 
from the Indians, to lay out lands, and he 
and his sons had grants in Hadley. His 
first wife, Joanna, died in Hadley, Sep- 
tember 14, 1666, and he married (second) 
Abigail Terry, bom September 21, 1646, 
in Windsor, daughter of Stephen Perry, 
who was born August 25, 1608, in Stock- 
ton, Wiltshire, England, and his wife, 
Elizabeth. John Kellogg, son of Lieuten- 
ant Joseph and Joanna Kellogg, was bap- 
tized December 29, 1756, in Farmington, 
lived in that town and Hadley, where he 
succeeded to the ferry which had been 
operated by his father. The list of those 
owning large estates in Hadley included 
his name. He married, December 23, 
1680, in Hadley, Sarah Moody, born 1660, 
daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Deming) 
Moody, died in Farmington. Her third 
son was Samuel Kellogg, born April i, 
1687, in Hadley, died May 27, 1761, and 
was buried in Westfield, where his grave- 
stone is still standing. He received a 
grant of ten acres in Westfield, whither 
he removed as early as 1712, and was 
hired by the town in 1713 to build a 
bridge over Two Mile brook. A carpen- 
ter by trade, he probably built the second 
meetinghouse in Westfield, in 1721. In 
association with two others he was 
granted leave by the town, January 14, 
1 714, to build a saw and grist mill. His 
home was at Little Plain Place, and after 
1 72 1 on the land granted him on the east- 
erly side of Munn's brook, where he had 
about one hundred acres of high land, in 



233 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



which game abounded. He is said to 
have been a fine shot and much devoted 
to the chase. He married, July 8, 1714, 
his cousin, Mary Ashley, born March 12, 
1694, died April 8, 1728, daughter of Lieu- 
tenant Joseph and Sarah (Kellogg) Ash- 
ley. Their third son was David Kellogg, 
born May 30, 1721, in Westfield, where he 
made his home, and died March 6, 1766. 
He served in the expedition against Can- 
ada, being impressed in the service, April 
6, 1759. He married (intentions published 
April II, 1747) Elizabeth Jones, of En- 
field, Connecticut, daughter of Thomas 
and Mary (Meacham) Jones. Their fifth 
daughter, Lucretia, became the wife of 
Ashbel Fowler, as above noted. 

(VI) Ashbel (2) Fowler, third son of 
Ashbel (i) and Lucretia (Kellogg) Fow- 
ler, was born May 14, 1801, in Westfield, 
and died there February 26, 1862. He 
married. May 16, 1832, Laura Everton. 

(VII) Joseph Jonathan Fowler, second 
son of Ashbel (2) and Laura (Everton) 
Fowler, born May i, 1836, was a farmer, 
lived all his life in one house, born and 
died in the same room. He married, De- 
cember II, 1856, Anngenette, daughter of 
Aretus and Nancy (Allen) Fowler, of 
Southwick. They had two children : 
Anngenette, who married Reuben Noble, 
and Mabelle, married Merrill H. Hosmer. 
and now resides in Westfield. 



SHEPARD, Frederick Fowler, 

Business Man. 

Three generations of this branch of the 
Shepard family have resided in Westfield 
and each in his own sphere has contri- 
buted to the upbuilding of the city ; Paul 
Shepard, the grandfather, as a carpenter 
and builder, the son, Charles Fay Shepard, 
as a manufacturer and business man, the 
grandson, Frederick Fowler Shepard, as 
a merchant. Charles Fay and Frederick 



Fowler Shepard, Westfield claims as 
native sons, but Paul Shepard came at an 
early age from Connecticut, a descendant 
of John Shepard, who Hinman says: 
"was a man of consequence in the colony." 
He was a son of Edward Shepard, and 
was known in Hartford as Sergeant John 
Shepard. He is first mentioned in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut records in 1654, but 
had been made a freeman in Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, in 1650. He lived in Hart- 
ford in what is now known as Lafayette 
street, just south of the new State House, 
and owned lands extending to the Weth- 
ersfield bounds. Edward Shepard, son 
of Sergeant John Shepard, resided in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, was a deputy to 
the General Court, 1710-11, and died Sep- 
tember 9, 171 1. The line of descent is 
through his son, John (2) Shepard, of 
Middletown; his son, Daniel Shepard, of 
Chatham, now Portland, Connecticut ; his 
son, Daniel (2) Shepard, of Portland, 
born March 12, 1754, died October 24, 
1850; his son, Paul Shepard, who moved 
to Westfield, Massachusetts. 

Paul Shepard passed his life mostly in 
Westfield and all his active years fol- ■* 
lowed his trade of carpenter. Both he 
and his wife were members of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church. He married Clar- 
issa Nelson, born in Westfield, January 4, 
1804, died there March 13, i860. They 
were the parents of Charles Fay, of fur- 
ther mention ; Horace K., born in 1830,. 
married, and there died March 29, 1895. 

Charles Fay Shepard was born in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, in 1828, and 
died January 21, 1902. He was educated 
in Westfield public schools and academy, 
and early became interested in that 
standard Westfield industry, the manu- 
facture of whips. He began with the E. 
B. Light Company, and by ability, indus- 
try and close attention became superin- 
tendent of the factory while yet a young 



234 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGILA.PHY 



man. The E. B. Light Company was 
succeeded by the Hampden Whip Com- 
pany, and that corporation by the United 
States Whip Company, but through all 
the changes Mr. Shepard remained super- 
intendent, also having a financial interest 
and serving on the board of directors. He 
was a Republican in politics, serving in 
the Massachusetts Assembly one term. 
He was an active member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, a member of the 
official board, untiring in his work in all 
departments of church work. He was 
highly esteemed as business man, citizen 
and neighbor, was much sought for in 
counsel, and all relied upon his just, up- 
right, manly character. 

Mr. Shepard married (first) March 29, 
1849, Emeline (Emily) Fox. They had 
one son, Charles S., born March 11, 185 1, 
spent boyhood in Westfield, was for a 
time in Middletown, Connecticut, later 
engaged in business in Chicago, Illinois, 
died in that city, but his remains were 
interred in Westfield. Mr. Shepard mar- 
ried (second) Harriet Eliza Fowler, born 
in Southwick, Massachusetts, November 
27, 1835, died in Westfield, June 18, 1914, 
daughter of Tarsus Noble and Mary Ann 
(Aldrich) Fowler. Mr. and Mrs. Shepard 
were the parents of two sons: Frederick 
Fowler, of further mention, and Harry 
N., who died in 1868, aged eleven months. 

Frederick Fowler Shepard was born in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, October 16, 
1863. He was educated in Westfield pub- 
lic schools, and after graduation from 
high school in 1884 entered the whip fac- 
tory over which his father was superin- 
tendent. That, however, was not his first 
introduction into business life, for during 
his vacation periods he had been em- 
ployed in different departments. He did 
not find the business a congenial one, 
although the inducements were good, and 
ere long he sought a different field. For 



a time he was with the hardware firm, Wil- 
liams & Wolcott, leaving them to become 
associated under better conditions with 
James H. Bryan, also a hardware dealer 
of W'estfield. There he found his true 
sphere and opportunity, and so well did 
he master the details and methods of the 
hardware business that he rose rapidly in 
rank and filled an important place in the 
firm management. When his friend and 
employer, James H. Bryan, died, January 
II, 1913, Mr. Shepard purchased the busi- 
ness from the estate, incorporated as the 
Bryan Hardware Company, of which he 
is president and manager. Many im- 
provements have been made in the store 
and business, new lines have been added, 
the reputation of the establishment for 
quality of goods and fairness in dealing 
being very high. His connection with 
the hardware business covers practically 
the entire active period of Mr. Shep- 
ard's life, and to have risen to the 
position he has in the city of his birth 
is a favorable comment upon his abil- 
ity and character. An active member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church, he 
supports earnestly all departments of 
church work. He is a member of Mt. 
Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons ; is a Republican in politics ; served 
nine years as a member of the Board of 
Education and is deeply interested in 
public affairs. 

Mr. Shepard married, September 6, 
1912, Elizabeth Talmadge Avery, born in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, November 21, 
1864, daughter of Captain John Avery, 
and granddaughter of Joseph Sheldon and 
Clarissa (Noble) Avery. Captain John 
Avery, a man of romantic, adventurous 
spirit, joined the "gold seekers" in 1849, 
made a long and dangerous voyage 
around Cape Horn to San Francisco, 
spent five years in the gold field, 
saw much of the dangers of wild life 



235 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the mining camps, made the return 
voyage around the Horn, finally reaching 
his home in safety with a rich fund of 
experience. When the Civil War broke 
out, he recruited a company which became 
Company K of the Forty-sixth Regiment, 
Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, went 
to the front as its captain and served until 
the surrender at Appamattox Court 
House. After the war Captain Avery 
returned to Westfield and became a brick 
manufacturer , conducting a large and 
prosperous business. Captain John Avery 
married (first) Rebecca Hancock, a direct 
descendant of John Hancock, signer of 
the Declaration of Independence. They 
were the parents of Caroline S. Avery, 
married William B. White, of Boston, and 
died in that city, September 28, 1903 ; 
Mary A. Avery, married Daniel W. Mar- 
tin, of Detroit, Michigan, and he died 
there in November, 1914, and she re- 
turned to Westfield and died in that city ; 
Ellen Avery, died aged twenty years. 
Captain Avery married (second) Mary 
Day Bush, sister of Henry J. Bush, born 
January 16, 1825, founder of the American 
Whip Company of Westfield, and died 
there March 11, 1905. They were the 
parents of two daughters : Lila Bush 
Avery, married G. E. Austin, of West- 
field, and died April 22, 1906; Elizabeth 
Talmadge Avery, married Frederick Fow- 
ler Shepard. 



CARPENTER, Frank L., 

Treasurer of Davis Mills. 

The history of the Carpenter family in 
England has been traced to about the 
year 1300 and extends further undoubt- 
edly for a century or more to the time 
when surnames came into use. The coat- 
of-arms is described: 

Arms — Argent, a greyhound passant and a chief 
sable. 



Crest — A greyhound's head erased per fesse 
sable and argent. 
Motto — Ccleritas Vitus Fidclitas. 

This was granted to the Carpenter 
family of Cobham, County Surrey, and 
Sussex, England, March 4, 1663. This 
armorial was engraved on the tombstone 
of Daniel Carpenter, of Rehoboth, who 
was born in 1669. Herefordshire was the 
family seat. 

(I) John Carpenter, born about 1303, 
was a member of Parliament in England 
in 1325. 

(II) Richard Carpenter, son of John 
Carpenter, was born about 1335, a wealthy 
goldsmith. 

(III) John (2) Carpenter, son of Rich- 
ard Carpenter, was a cousin of John Car- 
penter, town clerk of London, who died in 
1442. 

(IV) John (3) Carpenter, son of John 

(2) Carpenter, died about 1500. 

(V) William Carpenter, son of John 

(3) Carpenter, was born about 1440, died 
in 1520, lived at Homme. 

(VI) James Carpenter, son of William 
Carpenter. 

(VII) John (4) Carpenter, son of James 
Carpenter. 

(VIII) William (2) Carpenter, son of 
John (4) Carpenter, was born about 1520, 
and died in 1550. 

(IX) William (3) Carpenter, son of 
William (2) Carpenter, was born about 
1540. 

(X) William (4) Carpenter, son of 
William (3) Carpenter, was born in Eng- 
land, about 1576, and lived in London. 
He sailed from Southampton in the ship 
"Bevis," landed in Boston, May, 1638, but 
returned in the same vessel, possibly hav- 
ing come to this country merely to help 
his son to locate. 

(XI) William (5) ^arpenter, the Amer- 
ican immigrant, son of William (4) Car- 
penter, was born in England in 1605, and 



236 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



died in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 7, 1659. He was first at Weymouth, 
and was there May 13, 1640, when admit- 
ted a freeman ; was deputy from that 
town, 1641-43, and from Rehoboth in 
1645 ; also constable in 1641 and proprie- 
tor's clerk of Weymouth in 1643. He 
drew lot 18 in the division of lands at 
Rehoboth, June 30, 1644, and was admit- 
ted an inhabitant of that town, March 28, 
1645. Through his influence and exertion 
the grant of Seekonk, later called Reho- 
both, was made by the General Court at 
Plymouth, and in 1647 he was one of the 
directors of the town. He had charge of 
most of the legal business of the town and 
was evidently of superior education. He 
contributed to the funds for King Philip's 
War. As early as 1642 he was commis- 
sioned a captain, and called upon to pro- 
tect the owners of Pawtuxet lands. He 
served on the committee that laid out the 
road from Rehoboth to Dedham. He was 
an intimate friend of Governor Bradford, 
who married his cousin Alice. His wife 
Abigail died February 22, 1687. Children : 
John, born about 1628 in England ; Wil- 
liam, about 163 I ; Joseph, 1633; Hannah, 
born in Weymouth, April 3, 1640; Abiah, 
April 9, 1643 ; Abigail, twin of Abiah ; 
Samuel, mentioned below. 

(XII) Samuel Carpenter, son of Wil- 
liam (5) Carpenter, was born in 1644, died 
in Rehoboth, February 20, 1683. He was 
of those making the North Purchase, in 
which he was allotted land, February 5, 
1671. He also contributed to the King 
Philip's War fund. He became wealthy 
for his day. He married. May 25, 1660, 
Sarah Readaway, and she married (sec- 
ond) Gilbert Brooks. Children, born at 
Rehoboth: Samuel, September 15, 1661 
Sarah, January 11, 1663; Abiah, men- 
tioned below; James, April 12, 1668 
Jacob, September 5, 1670; Jonathan, De 
cember 11, 1672; David, April 17, 1675 



Solomon, December 23, 1677; Zachariah, 
July I, 1680; Abraham, September 20, 
1682. 

(XIII) Abiah Carpenter, son of Sam- 
uel Carpenter, was born at Rehoboth, 
February 10, 1665-66, and died in April, 
1732. He was a farmer and wheelwright, 
and served as ensign in the militia. He 
married (first) in Rehoboth, May 30, 
1690, Mehitable Read, born in August, 
1660, died March 19, 1701-02; married 
(second) June 7, 1702, Sarah Read, who 
died July 17, 1724; married (third), July 
16, 1726, Mary Ormsby. Children by his 
first wife, born at Rehoboth : Abiah, 
born April 21, 1691 ; Thomas, mentioned 
below; Mehitable, November 15, 1694; 
Samuel; Sarah, 1696; Rachel, May 19, 
1699; Peter, April 22, 1701. By second 
wife, Mary, born March 4, 1704; Corne- 
lius, August 20, 1707. 

(XIV) Thomas Carpenter, son of Abiah 
Carpenter, was born at Rehoboth, No- 
vember 8, 1692, died May 3, 1779. He 
was a farmer, and deacon of the Rehoboth 
church. He married there, January 17, 
1720-21, Mary Barstow. She died April 
28, 1783, aged seventy-eight years. Chil- 
dren, born in Rehoboth : Mary, Septem- 
ber 22, 1723; Peter, September 22, 1723; 
Rachel, April 14, 1731 ; Thomas, men- 
tioned below; Caleb, September 21, 1736. 

(XV) Captain Thomas (2) Carpenter, 
son of Thomas (i) Carpenter, was born 
at Rehoboth, October 24, 1733. He was 
a farmer. In 1775 he was deputy to the 
General Court. He was commissioned 
colonel of the Bristol county militia reg- 
iment, under General Lincoln, at Boston, 
November 28, 1776. He served in the 
Rhode Island campaigns in 1778, 1779 
and 1780. He rose to this rank from a 
private. He was captain, October 7, 
1774, and was on the county committee 
of safety, etc., 1775, was delegate to the 
Provincial Congress at Cambridge, Feb- 



237 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ruary i, 1775, and at Watertown, May 
31, 1775. He was one of the committee 
to fix the pay of soldiers and officers in 
June, 1775, and on a committee, to devise 
ways and means to prevent the convey- 
ance of information to the enemy, later 
in that year. After the campaign about 
Boston, Colonel Thomas Carpenter's reg- 
iment marched to join Washington's 
army, and arrived just before the battle 
of White Plains, New York. They were 
not in the battle, being used as reserves 
four miles away, but had a slight skirm- 
ish in which three men were wounded. 
He was with his regiment on Long Island, 
in action, August 29, 1778, and was dis- 
tinguished for bravery. Several of his 
men from Rehoboth were killed there. 
Colonel Carpenter is described as very 
large and portly in later years. He mar- 
ried, in Rehoboth, December 26, 1754, 
Elizabeth Moulton. He died, April 26, 
1807, at Rehoboth. His wife died there, 
May 17, 1804. Children, all born in Reho- 
both : Elizabeth, born December 22, 
1755; Thomas, March 6, 1758; Sarah, 
October 10, 1760; William, April 15, 1763 ; 
James, September 15, 1764; Stephen, 
mentioned below; James, September 15, 
1767; Rebecca, September 14, 1769; Na- 
than, June 17, 1772; Peter, October 5, 
1773; Nathan, August 27, 1776. 

(XVI) Stephen Carpenter, son of Cap- 
tain Thomas (2) Carpenter, was born in 
Rehoboth, November 5, 1765. He was 
also a farmer in his native town. He 
married there, in January, 1790, Hannah 
Wilmarth. Children, bom in Rehoboth : 
Hannah, October 22, 1791 ; Stephen, men- 
tioned below; Maria, September 2, 1796; 
William M., April 5, 1798; Joseph Wil- 
marth, November 24, 1801 ; Samuel Bliss, 
June 15, 1804; Ira Winsor, May 19, 1807; 
Abigail Whipple, July 28, 1810; Francis 
Henry, April 24, 1813. 

(XVII) Stephen (2) Carpenter, son of 



Stephen (i) Carpenter, was born at Reho- 
both, September 19, 1793, and resided in 
that part of Tiverton now included within 
the limits of the city of Fall River. He 
kept a tavern. He died September 28, 
1841. He married, February 15, 1825, 
Mary P. Lawton. Children, born in Tiv- 
erton : I. William Moulton, born May 
30, 1827; married, May 20, 1851, Eunice 
Walker Bishop, born December 23, 1821, 
died November 3, 1889 ; he was a dry 
goods dealer; died April 4, 1868. 2. 
Joseph Wilmarth, mentioned below. 3. 
Stephen Henry, born January 30, 1826, 
died June 28, 1827. 4. George Washing- 
ton, born November 25, 1830, died De- 
cember 21, 1832. 

(XVIII) Joseph Wilmarth Carpenter, 
son of Stephen (2) Carpenter, was born 
in Tiverton, June 28, 1828, and educated 
in the public schools there. When a 
young man he learned the trade of 
machine-engraving in the cloth printing 
industry. Subsequently he was in part- 
nership with his brother William M. in 
the retail dry goods business in Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. Their store was 
burned after they had been in business a 
number of years, and the firm was then 
dissolved. He then started a grocery 
business in Fall River, having a store at 
the corner of Main and Rodman streets, 
and conducted it until he was elected city 
messenger and sealer of weights and meas- 
ures, which office he held for fifteen years. 
Among his duties was the superintend- 
ence of the city hall, renting the hall and 
stories, and providing for supplies for the 
offices. From 1872 to 1879 he lived in 
Berkley and conducted a farm that he 
bought in that town. Upon his return to 
Fall River he was again called into the 
service of the city, and in addition to the 
care of the city hall he held the office of 
sealer of weights and measures. He 
resigned these offices a few years later to 



238 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



engage in the manufacture of roll cover- 
ings in Fall River, and continued until he 
was obliged by age and ill health to 
retire. He died in Fall River, February 
24, 1894, and was buried in Oak Grove 
Cemetery. For many years he was a 
member of the volunteer fire department 
of Fall River, and secretary of the famous 
old Cascade Fire Company. 

Mr. Carpenter married, November 10, 
1853, Phebe Kershaw, who was born Feb- 
ruary 13, 1831, in Cheadle, England, a 
daughter of James W. and Mary R. 
(Barnes) Kershaw. She died April 20, 
1895. Children, born in Fall River: i. 
Joseph Wilmarth, born September 4, 
1855, died in Worcester, October 30, 1899 ! 
a traveling salesman; married Anna Bar- 
ney. 2. Annie E., born February 22, 
1858; teacher in the public schools of Fall 
River for several years ; married Moses 
F. Brierly, of Worcester. 3. Mary A., 
born July 17, i860, teacher in the Robe- 
son School, Fall River. 4. Edward M., 
born May 23, 1863 ; married Alice Hay- 
hurst; resides in Fall River. 5. Frank 
L., mentioned below. 

(XIX) Frank L. Carpenter, son of Jo- 
seph Wilmarth Carpenter, was born in 
Fall River, January 3, 1868. He attended 
the public schools of his native city and 
was graduated from the B. M. C. Durfee 
High School in the class of 1887. He then 
began to study for the profession of arch- 
itect in the offices of Ichabod B. Burt, of 
Fall River, but a year later became a clerk 
in the office of the Durfee Mills. In 1890 
he accepted the position of assistant book- 
keeper of the Sagamore Manufacturing 
Company, and in 1892 became bookkeeper 
for the Fall River Iron Works, filling that 
position until September 14, 1909, when 
he was elected treasurer of the Davis 
Mills, succeeding Arthur H. Mason, and 
in this office he has continued to the pres- 
ent time. The uniform growth and pros- 
perity of the mills under his management 



have been due in large part to his execu- 
tive ability and energy. 

He is a member and one of the vice- 
presidents of the Home Market Club, and 
a member of the Arkwright Club of Bos- 
ton, of the Fall River Cotton Manufac- 
turing Association, and the National Cot- 
ton Manufacturers' Association. He is a 
member of the corporation of the Fall 
River Savings Bank and of the Union 
Savings Bank of Fall River. He is past 
master of King Philip Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, of which he 
was treasurer for two years ; member of 
Fall River Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, 
and of Fall River Council, Royal and 
Select Masters, of which he is past thrice 
illustrious master; past eminent com- 
mander of Godfrey de Bouillon Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, and member 
of the Massachusetts and Rhode Island 
Association of Knights Templar Com- 
manders ; also a thirty-second degree 
Mason, being a member of the Massachu- 
setts Consistory, Supreme Princes of the 
Royai Secret. He is a charter member of 
Puritan Lodge, No. 88, Knights of 
Pythias, and was master of finance of that 
body for several years. Also a member of 
the Quequechan Club, the Rhode Island 
Country Club, the Fall River Country 
Club, the Republican Club of Massachu- 
setts and the Southern New England 
Textile Club. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican. 

Mr. Carpenter married, in Fall River, 
September 20, 1893, Annie P. Brightman, 
a daughter of Pardon M. and Rachel D. 
(Pickering) Brightman. They have one 
child, Isabel, born July 22, 1899. 



ALLEN, George A., 

Business Man. 

George A. Allen, now deceased, who 
was favorably known in business circles 
in the city of Springfield, where he resided 



239 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



for more than two decades, was a man 
of strong purpose, energy and capable 
management. He was a self-made man, 
and his business success was due to his 
own efforts. He left his family in com- 
fortable circumstances, but more than 
this he left to them the priceless heritage 
of an untarnished name. His ancestors 
trace back to Ethan Allen. 

William H. Allen, father of George A. 
Allen, was born in Enfield, Massachu- 
setts, September 2, 1824, and died in that 
city, March 27, 1909, at the advanced age 
of eighty-five years. He was reared and 
educated in his native city, and there fol- 
lowed agricultural pursuits until 1892, in 
which year he retired from active labor. 
He took an active interest in community 
affairs, and was numbered among the in- 
fluential residents of Enfield. He mar- 
ried Lucy Killam, born in Enfield, Con- 
necticut, June 13, 1822, died in Spring- 
field, Massachusetts, February 20, 1915, 
at the great age of ninety-three years, 
having survived her husband almost six 
years. Their only child was George A., of 
this review. 

George A. Allen was born in Enfield, 
Connecticut, April 24, 1852, and died in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, December 11, 
1901. His preliminary education was 
received in the public schools of Enfield, 
and supplemented by a course of study at 
Wilbraham Academy, which prepared 
him for an active career. Being inured 
to farm work, he chose that as a means of 
livelihood upon attaining the suitable age 
for depending upon his own resources, 
and so continued until he was thirty-six 
years of age, meeting with well merited 
success as the result of his progressive 
ideas and straightforward methods. He 
then removed to Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, and established a sales stable on the 
corner of Hancock and Ashley streets, 
which he successfully conducted up to the 



time of his death, the business increasing 
steadily in scope and volume with each 
passing year, he gaining the esteem and 
respect of his business associates and all 
with whom he had business dealings 
through his straightforward and honor-* 
able transactions. He was a Republican 
in politics, but aside from casting his vote 
at the polls took no active part in public 
matters. He, with his wife and family, 
were attendants of the Congregational 
church, in the work of which he took a 
keen interest. 

Mr. Allen married, February 6, 1878, 
Emeline Amelia Beasley, born in Elling- 
ton, Connecticut, December 15, 1855, 
daughter of John Beasley. Jr., and his 
wife, Laura A. (Clark) Beasley, and 
granddaughter of John Beasley, Sr., and 
his wife, Susan (Clough) Beasley. Mr. 
and Mrs. Allen were the parents of four 
children: i. Grace M., born January 21, 
1879 ; became the wife of Fred Belcher, 
who was engaged in the automobile busi- 
ness in Springfield, but is now (1918) 
serving in the army ; children : Madeline, 
born June 17, 1907, and Allen, born Octo- 
ber 18, 1909. 2. George B., born May 8, 
1881 ; an architect and civil engineer in 
Springfield ; married Susan Bowden, of 
New York City. 3. Charles W., born 
November 12, 1882; an architect and civil 
engineer in Springfield ; resides in West 
Springfield ; married Florence Ells, of 
Norwalk, Connecticut. 4. John H., born 
October 8, 1890; engaged in the real 
estate business in Springfield ; resides on 
Westfield street. West Springfield ; mar- 
ried Nellie Gibson, of Springfield ; one 
child, Phillis, born January 16, 1917. 

John Beasley, Sr., aforementioned, was 
born in Providence, Rhode Island, and 
died in Ellington, Connecticut. He was 
a locksmith by trade, was employed in the 
Springfield Armory, and spent the greater 
part of his active life in that city. He 



240 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



helped to defend this city against the 
British. He married Susan Clough, whose 
death occurred in Ellington, Connecticut, 
at the age of seventy-three years. Mr. 
and Mrs. Beasley were members of the 
Congregational church. They were the 
parents of eight children, namely: i. 
Susan, deceased, who became the wife of 
John Stacey, deceased ; they resided in 
Hartford, Connecticut ; children : Florett, 
Susan, Beasley, William and Emma. 2. 
Sarah, deceased, who became the wife of 
James Barber, deceased ; they resided 
in Windsorville, Connecticut ; children : 
Sarah and Charles. 3. Abigail, died 
young. 4. Elizabeth, died young. 5. 
Emmeline, died young. 6. Harriet, de- 
ceased, who became the wife of Charles 
Clark, deceased ; they resided in Hartford, 
Connecticut ; children : Resell, Charles 
and Frederick. 7. John, of whom further. 
8. Child died in infancy. 

John Beasley, Jr., son of John and 
Susan (Clough) Beasley, was born in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, 1825, and died 
in Ellington, Connecticut, May 13, 1908, 
aged eighty-three years. He resided in 
Springfield until he was eight years of 
age, then accompanied his parents to El- 
lington, attended the public schools of 
that place, and followed the occupation 
of farmer there. He was a Republican in 
politics, served for several years as a 
selectman, and represented the town of 
Ellington in the State Legislature. He 
was a member of the Congregational 
church, as was also his wife. He mar- 
ried Laura A. Clark, born in Windsor- 
ville, Connecticut, died in Ellington, Con- 
necticut, July 21, 1897, aged seventy-three 
years. She was the daughter of Charles 
and Chloe (Sadd) Clark, the former 
named born in 1800, a farmer of Wind- 
sorville, Connecticut, where his death 
occurred, and the latter named was a 
daughter of Zubah Sadd. Mr. and Mrs. 

Mass— 8-16 24 



Clark were the parents of four other chil- 
dren, namely: i. Aurelia, became the 
wife of Dr. Wilson, of Hartford, Connec- 
ticut, and they had three children : Bell, 
Kate, Fannie ; they went as missionaries 
to Oregon and died there ; they went 
around the Horn ; Mrs. Wilson was well 
versed in the Indian language. 2. Reu- 
ben, married , and they had three 

children: Frank, Lottie, Albert; they 
reside in Windsorville, Connecticut. 3. 

John, married (first) , who bore 

him one child; married (second) Eliza- 
beth (Snow) Clark ; resides in Windsor- 
ville, Connecticut. 4. Charles, married 
Harriett Beasley, who bore him three 
children : Rozell, Frederick, Charles ; 
they reside in Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. 
Beasley were the parents of four children : 
I. Marion, became the wife of Daniel 
Allen ; resides in East Windsor, Connec- 
ticut. 2. Dwight, married Mary Allen, 
who bore him four children : Florence, 
Laura, Eva, Charles ; they reside in El- 
lington, Connecticut. 3. Emeline Amelia, 
widow of George A. Allen, aforemen- 
tioned; she resides in West Springfield. 
4. George, died in infancy. 



ARNOLD, William, 

Business Man. 

The name which heads this article will 
be instantly recognized by all the older 
residents of the Springfield district as 
that of one who was long numbered 
among its most respected citizens. Both 
in the church circles and the social life 
ot his community, Mr. Arnold was 
regarded as a man of standing. 

William Arnold was born in 1825, at 
Middletown, Connecticut, and in the pub- 
lic school there received his education. 
As a young man he moved to Springfield, 
Massachusetts, where he engaged in the 
wholesale provision business. The name 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



of the firm was first Dale & Arnold, but 
later, on the retirement of Mr. Dale, 
became Arnold & Lyon. The success 
which attended the concern may.» be 
inferred from the fact that in 1876, when 
he was but fifty-one years old, Mr. Arnold 
found himself in circumstances which 
warranted his retirement. It should be 
said that this prosperity was mainly due 
to his own enterprise, sound judgment 
and wisely aggressive methods. He 
proved himself possessed of the essential 
qualifications of a successful business 
man. In politics Mr. Arnold was a Re- 
publican, but never mingled actively in 
public affairs, always, however, in an un- 
obtrusive way, doing all in his power for 
the advancement of the best interests of his 
community. He and his wife were mem- 
bers of the North Congregational Church 
of Springfield. 

Mr. Arnold married, June 19, 1859, 
Eliza Le Gro, and they became the parents 
of two children : Susan, and Lyman, who 
resides in Lynn, Massachusetts, where he 
is the head of the Lynn division of the 
General Electric Company. Mrs. Arnold, 
a woman of estimable character and ami- 
able disposition, passed away June 15, 
1906, at the age of sixty-eight, at West 
Springfield, leaving to her children the 
memory of a devoted mother. On De- 
cember 18, 1905, Mr. Arnold closed an 
honorable and useful life, the duration of 
which, exceeding by ten years the tradi- 
tional three-score and ten, had permitted 
him to enjoy, in well-earned repose, the 
fruits of his well-directed labors. His loss 
to the community was deeply mourned 
by a large circle of warmly attached 
friends. Like a shock of corn fully ripe, 
William Arnold was gathered to his fath- 
ers, but he left an example worthy of 
imitation by the younger generations. 
Mr. Arnold was most kind and affection- 
ate in his family relations, and his hap- 



piest hours were those passed at his own 
fireside. 

Susan Arnold, daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. Arnold, who never married, resides 
in the family home at West Springfield. 
She was born at Springfield, spent her 
early life there and at West Springfield, 
receiving her education at the Springfield 
High School. She is a member of the 
North Congregational Church, taking an 
active part in its charitable work, and is 
popular in social circles. 

David Le Gro, father of Mrs. Eliza 
(Le Gro) Arnold, was for many years an 
inspector in the Springfield (Massachu- 
setts) Armory. He died in that city at 
the age of seventy-six. He married Mar- 
tha Wetmore, a native of Meriden, Con- 
necticut, and their child was Eliza, born 
in Rochester, New York, who became the 
wife of William Arnold, as stated above. 



AFFLECK, John Henry, 

Manufacturer. 

The surname Affleck is of Scottish ori- 
gin, derived from Auckenleck estate and 
family. 

Henry Affleck, son of Robert Affleck, 
was born in Edinburgh, Scotland. His 
father was born and died in Scotland. 
Henry Affleck was educated in his native 
place, and learned the trade of paper 
making there. When still a young man 
he became manager of various paper mills 
in England, and eventually engaged in 
business as a manufacturer of paper on 
his own account. His mills were at Guns 
Mills, located near the border line of Eng- 
land and Wales near the Forest of Dean 
in Gloucestershire. There the first can- 
non were cast in England. He continued 
in this business to the time of his death 
at the age of sixty-eight years. He was 
an able man of affairs, an upright, earn- 
est and useful citizen. In politics he was 



242 




^if^^^/.ci^:^^.^ 



_0-B.f 







THF f, 


CW YORK 


PUBLIC 


LIBRARY 


A STOP. 
ITLDKN ■ 


. , . 




^^u^CM^d^. (X£e.C<i^J^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a Liberal. His brother, Robert Affleck, 
was well known throughout the United 
Kingdom on account of his activity in the 
temperance movement. He was a force- 
ful speaker, and for many years was 
on the lecture platform. For forty 
years Robert Affleck resided in London. 
Henry Affleck married Elizabeth Swin- 
ton. daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Swinton, of an old Scotch family, resi- 
dents of Edinburgh. Children of Henry 
and Elizabeth Affleck : William, who for 
many years was traveling salesman for 
the firm of Charles Marden & Sons, paper 
dealers, of Sheffield, England, and who 
was said to be the most successful com- 
mercial traveler in his line of business in 
England ; John Henry, mentioned below ; 
Thomas, died in Holyoke in 1913; Agnes, 
Violet, Minnie, Bessie. 

John Henry Affleck, son of Henry Af- 
fleck, was born in Derbyshire, England, 
June 4, 1856. He received his early edu- 
cation in the schools of that county. He 
also attended school in Gloucester and 
the Blenheim House School. In his fath- 
er's mill at Guns Mills he learned the art 
of paper making and the details of the 
business. In 1874, when he was but a 
boy in years, he was intrusted with the 
duty of installing a paper mill in New 
Brunswick, Canada, and he remained 
there two years. During the next six 
years he was associated in business with 
his father, but his observation of condi- 
tions in America led him eventually to 
seek his fortune here. He saw greater 
possibilities for a paper manufacturer in 
the United States than in the United 
Kingdom, and thither he came in 1880, 
beginning his career as superintendent of 
the finishing department of the Holyoke 
Chemical Company at Holyoke, Massa- 
chusetts. He remained in this position 
for a period of twelve years, and in a simi- 
lar position in the employ of the George 
C. Gill Paper Company for seven years. 



The Mills of both these concerns were in 
Holyoke. Since 1900 Mr. Affleck has 
been in business on his own account. He 
established the Affleck Ruling and Sta- 
tionery Company, of which he is presi- 
dent and treasurer. He erected a large 
and finely equipped mill on North Bridge 
street, Holyoke. In system, convenience, 
the latest machinery and methods, this 
concern keeps pace with the foremost in 
its line of business. The blank books and 
stationery of the Afifleck plant are known 
in all parts of the country, and in various 
foreign markets. Mr. Affleck has devoted 
his energies strictly to his business, has 
taken no active part in public affairs, and 
is affiliated with no social organizations 
outside of Mt. Tom Golf Club. 

He married (first) in 1881, Clara 
Thomas, daughter of Henry and Jemima 
Thomas, of Hereford, England. She died 
in 1908. He married (second) in Buf- 
falo, New York, Mrs. F. S. Brooks, nee 
Caroline Priscilla Wallace, of Watertown, 
New York. Their home is in Holyoke. By 
the first marriage there was one daughter, 
Minnie Gertrude, born in Holyoke in 
1882, married Charles Howard Hastings, 
of Holyoke, and has a daughter Marion, 
born in November, 1903. 

Franklin Samuel Brooks, the first hus- 
band of Mrs. Afifleck, was a native of 
Oriskanny Falls, New York, and a repre- 
sentative of an old Revolutionary family. 
He died in 1897. By this marriage there 
were two daughters: i. Ida May, who 
married Merle Haynes Dennison, of Buf- 
falo, New York, and they have two chil- 
dren : Carl Wallace and Priscilla. 2. Min- 
nie A., married Forrest George Kirsch, 
of Springfield, Massachusetts. 



BELISLE, Hector Louis, 

Superintendent of Schools. 

Of Canadian-French extraction, 
Belisle is a native of Massachusetts, 



Mr. 
has 



243 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



had excellent educational opportunities, 
and has won distinction as a teacher. His 
grandfather, Anthony Belisle, was a black- 
smith by trade, a captain of militia in St. 
Marcel, Province of Quebec, Canada. 
His wife's family was Dusseault, and 
they were the parents of thirteen chil- 
dren. Their son, Alexander Belisle, born 
December 28, 1830, in St. Marcel, mar- 
ried Marie Dorval, born March 7, 1833, 
in the Province of Quebec. They lived 
for some time in Nova Scotia, came to 
the United States in 1840, and resided in 
Worcester, where Alexander Belisle died, 
January 28, 1905. He was a shoemaker 
by trade and very successful. Mr. and 
Mrs. Belisle were the parents of fifteen 
children. 

Hector Louis Belisle, son of Alexander 
and Marie (Dorval) Belisle, was born 
October 8, 1873, in Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts, and grew up in that city, where 
the excellent public schools afforded him 
a thorough preparation for college. After 
passing through the grammar and high 
schools and a preparatory school at Wor- 
cester, he entered Harvard University, 
from which he was graduated in 1896, 
with the degree of A. B. Since that time 
Mr. Belisle has been very busy in teach- 
ing others, and for four years was 
teacher of English and French in the 
Lawrence High School, Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts. He was for some years prin- 
cipal in the grade schools of that city and 
supervisor of evening schools. In 1913 
he removed to Fall River, Massachusetts, 
becoming superintendent of city schools, 
in which position he has continued to the 
present time. While feeling the natural 
interest of a good citizen in the progress 
of his native country, and of the world, 
Mr. Belisle has devoted little time to 
political matters, and is independent of 
party dictation. He is identified with 
various social organizations, including 



the Country and Calumet clubs ; has 
been president of the Massachusetts 
School Masters' Club, and Bristol County 
Teachers' Association ; a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, and of the Society 
Jean Baptiste of America. With his fam- 
ily Mr. Belisle is affiliated with St. Mat- 
thew's (Roman Catholic) Church of Fall 
River. Mr. Belisle is greatly interested 
in music, has composed songs, piano 
pieces, and an opera entitled "The Court 
of Life." 

He was married in Boston, June 28, 
1905, to Mildred Grace Potter, born De- 
cember 5, 1876, in that city, daughter of 
George Martin and Anna M. (Cunning- 
ham) Potter. Mr. and Mrs. Belisle have 
children: Anna Maria, born June 10, 
1907; Alexander, August 9, 1908; Eu- 
gene, January 13, 191 1; Elizabeth, Octo- 
ber 2, 1913. 



LOOMIS, GEORGE T., 

Member of Important Family. 

From Joseph Loomis, the American 
ancestor of the Loomis family of New 
England, came a long line of descendants 
found in every State of the Union. He 
came from Braintree, County Essex, 
England, arriving on the ship "Susan 
and Ellen" at Boston, July 17, 1638. He 
was one of the early settlers of Windsor, 
Connecticut. He died November 25, 
1653, and his wife died August 23, 1652. 
They were the parents of five sons and 
three daughters, all born in England, 
seven of whom are here mentioned : Jo- 
seph ; Elizabeth ; Deacon John, married 
Elizabeth Scott; Thomas, of further 
mention ; Nathaniel ; Mary ; Samuel, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Judd. 

The line of descent to William Henry 
Loomis, of Bolton, Connecticut, and his 
sons, William Bertie, Robert C. and Den- 
nison H. Loomis, of Westfield, Massa- 



244 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



chusetts, is through Thomas, third son 
of the ancestor, Joseph Loomis. 

Thomas Loomis was born in England, 
and came to New England with his 
father in 1638. He owned a farm in East 
Windsor, Connecticut, and there died 
August 28, 1689. He was made a free- 
man in 1654, and admitted to the church, 
April 3, 1666. He married (first) No- 
vember I, 1653, Hannah Fox, who di<d 
April 25, 1662. He married (second) 
January i, 1663, Mary Judd, who died 
August 8, 1684, daughter of Thomas 
Judd. Children : Thomas, Hannah, May, 
Elizabeth, Ruth, Sarah, Jeremiah, Mabel, 
Mindwell, Benjamin. 

Thomas (2) Loomis was born March 
17, 1655, and died April 19, 1746. He 
married, December 17, 1682, Hannah 
Porter, born January i, 1662, died Janu- 
ary I, 1739. Children: Mary, Hannah, 
Thomas, Joshua, ,,Sarah, Jabez, Ruth, 
Gershom. 

Sergeant Thomas (3) Loomis was born 
March 16, 1687, and died in Bolton, Con- 
necticut, January 12, 1770. He had land 
in Colchester in 1709, was collector there 
in 1717, and in 1727 moved to Bolton, his 
home until death. He married (first) 

Sarah , who died May 10, 1728; 

married (second) Mary , who died 

September 6, 1761. Children: Sarah, 
Thomas, Ezra, Benjamin, Mary. 

Thomas (4) Loomis was born Febru- 
ary 9, 1723, resided in Bolton, Connecti- 
cut, from his fourth year, and there died, 
August 16, 1761. He married, March 5, 
1746, Abigail Robbins. Children: Abigail, 
Thomas, Desdemona. The old Loomis 
home in Bolton, built in 1746, is yet 
standing after one hundred and seventy 
years, but has passed from the family 
ownership. 

Thomas (5) Loomis was born in Bol- 
ton, Connecticut, July 6, 1756, and died 
there. May i, 1842. He married, No- 



vember 6, 1777, Eunice Mann. Children: 
Eunice, Thomas, George, Salmon, Austin, 
Laura, Harriet. 

George Loomis was born in Bolton, 
Connecticut, and died October 28, 1847. 
He moved to Pike, Wyoming county. 
New York. He married (first) Anna 
Driggs, who died June 3, 1808, aged 
twenty-five years. He married (second) 
Thoda Bailey. Children: Julia Ann, 
George Trumbull, Austin, William T., 
Angeline, Isaac Newton, Andel C. 

George Trumbull Loomis, eldest son 
of George Loomis and his first wife, 
Anna (Driggs) Loomis, passed his life 
in his native town, Bolton. He was born 
February 12, 1808, and died in Bolton. 
He was a farmer all his active life, mak- 
ing a specialty of apple raising and cider 
manufacture, having a large mill where he 
also handled the surplus apple crop of his 
neighbors. He and his family were 
members of the Congregational church. 
He married (first) September 14, 1836, 
Sarah M. Northam, who died in Bolton, 
sister of Charles H. Northam, of Hartford, 
Connecticut. Children : i. George, born 
August 15, 1837, died in 1918; married 
Frances M. Sanders, deceased. 2. Charles 
N., born September 17, 1840; married, 
November 29, 1866, Elizabeth Hickman. 
3. William Henry, of further mention. 
He married (second) Clarissa Bugbee. 



LOOMIS, William Henry, 

Business Man. 

Of the ninth generation of his family 
in Connecticut, William Henry Loomis, 
third son of George Trumbull Loomis, 
and his first wife Sarah M. (Northam) 
Loomis, yet resides in the town of his 
birth, Bolton, Connecticut, in the house 
which for half a century has been his 
home. He was born May 31, 1842, grew 
to manhood at the home farm, and ob- 



24s 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



tained his education in the public school. 
He has all his life been engaged in farm- 
ing and kindred pursuits, and with his 
farming and lumbering operations has 
dealt considerably in real estate, buying 
and selling many farms and home lots as 
well as doing a great deal of business 
with the railroads. 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Loomis 
has taken a deep interest in party and 
town affairs and has held many positions 
of trust. For many years he served as 
moderator at the annual town meeting, 
was selectman several terms, was tax 
collector, town treasurer and chairman 
of the town Republican committee. He 
is a member of the Patrons of Husban- 
dry, was a charter member and first 
chaplain of the local Grange and much 
interested in its work. Both he and his 
wife are lifelong members and active 
workers in the Bolton Congregational 
Church, he for many years superintendent 
of the Sunday school, she a teacher in 
the Sunday school and a member of the 
church choir in her younger years. 

William Henry Loomis married, No- 
vember 29, 1866, Alice Abia Watrous, 
born in Bolton, April 23, 1846, youngest 
child of Elijah W. and Prudence (Sco- 
ville) Watrous. Elijah W. Watrous, 
born September 28, 1800, died in Bolton. 
Connecticut, December 23, 1884. He 
was a cooper by trade, and also owned a 
small farm. He was a musician and for 
many years played the bass viol in church. 
Prudence Scoville, born November 28, 
1803, married, February 13, 1821, died 
April 23, 1882. They were the parents of 
the following children : Sarah Ann, Fran- 
ces Celia, Sarah Cornelia, Emily, Ade- 
line, Mary C, Clarissa L., Jennie R., Ju- 
liaetta, Alice Abia, and two other chil- 
dren, who died in infancy. 

The wedding of Mr. and Mrs. William 
H. Loomis was celebrated in connection 



with that of his brother, Charles N. 
Loomis, who married Elizabeth Hick- 
man, Rev. William Turkington perform- 
ing both ceremonies, November 29, 1866, 
in Bolton. Fifty years later, November 
29, 1916, the same couples celebrated to- 
gether the golden wedding anniversary 
of their double wedding day. Each family 
consisted of three children ; each of the 
aged couples had three grandchildren. 
The occasion, unique in its unusual char- 
acter, was a most enjoyable one and 
many friends congratulated the brides 
and grooms of half a century ago. The 
golden wedding was celebrated at the 
home of William H. Loomis in Bolton, 
to which he brought his bride soon after 
their marriage in 1866, and where they 
have since (1918) continuously resided. 
Mr. and Mrs. William H. Loomis are the 
parents of three sons, their first child and 
only daughter Nellie A. dying in infancy. 
The sons, William Bertie, Robert Cas- 
per and Dennison H., are each of further 
mention. 



LOOMIS, William Bertie, 

Business Man. 

Eldest of the three sons of Wil- 
liam Henry and Alice Abia (Watrous) 
Loomis, William B. was the first to 
leave the home in Bolton and locate in 
Westfield, Massachusetts, where all are 
now engaged in business under the firm 
name "Loomis Brothers." William B. 
Loomis was born in Bolton, Connecticut, 
November 21, 1872, and there was edu- 
cated in the public schools. He con- 
tinued his father's assistant until reach- 
ing manhood, then became a clerk in the 
retail grocery store of Keeney Brothers 
in Rockville, Connecticut. After several 
years in that employ, he resigned his po- 
sition and located in Westfield, Massa- 
chusetts. In 1895 he became a clerk in 



246 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the Eaton & Waterman grocery store, 
but the death of Mr. Waterman soon 
afterward caused a reorganization and he 
became a member of the new firm, 
Eaton, Barnes & Company. Later Mr. 
Barnes retired, his interest being pur- 
chased by Robert C. Loomis, brother of 
William B., the firm name then changing 
to Eaton, Loomis & Company. In De- 
cember, 1906, Mr. Eaton died and the 
third brother, Dennison H. Loomis, pur- 
chased the Eaton interest from the estate 
and the present style and title of the 
firm, Loomis Brothers, was adopted. 
William B. Loomis has been president 
of the Merchants' Association of West- 
field for two years. He is president of 
the Westfield Shootirig Association and 
very fond of all out-door sports. He is 
a member of the Westfield Club, past 
regent of Hampden Council, Royal Ar- 
canum, past chancellor commander of 
St. Elmo Lodge, Knights of Pythias, is 
a member of the Second Congregational 
Church, and for the past eight years has 
been treasurer of the Sunday school. In 
politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Loomis married, July 10, 1894, 
Nellie Alice Legge, born in Rockville, 
Connecticut. They are the parents of 
a son, Elmer Chester, born at Rockville, 
June 14, 1895, educated in Westfield 
graded and high schools, was associated 
with his father in the business of Loomis 
Brothers up to June 7, 1917, when he 
enlisted and is now in France in Com- 
pany B, 104th Regiment. 



LOOMIS, Robert Casper, 

Business Man. 

Like his brothers, Robert C. Loomis 
spent his early life on the paternal farm, 
but his ambition was for a business 
career, and from the time of his gradua- 
tion from business college he has been 
engaged in mercantile life as clerk and 



proprietor. He is the second son of Wil- 
liam Henry and Alice Abia (Watrous) 
Loomis, both living in Bolton, Connecti- 
cut. Robert C. Loomis was born in Bol- 
ton, May 23, 1877, consequently has just 
(1918) passed his forty-first birthday. He 
spent his early life on the home farm, 
attended the public schools and Hunt- 
singer's Business College, Hartford, Con- 
necticut, his business life beginning as 
clerk in the grocery store of Keeney 
Brothers at Rockville, Connecticut. Later 
he entered the service of the New York, 
New Haven & Hartford Railroad as 
freight clerk at Rockville, there remain- 
ing until his locating at Westfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. He purchased the interest of 
Mr. Barnes, of Eaton, Barnes & Com- 
pany, grocers of Westfield, the firm re- 
organizing as Eaton, Loomis & Company, 
and consisting of Mr. Eaton, William B. 
and Robert C. Loomis. In 1906 the firm 
of Loomis Brothers succeeded Eaton, 
Loomis & Company, the third brother, 
Dennison H. Loomis, then becoming a 
member of this prosperous Westfield 
mercantile enterprise. Mr. Loomis is a 
capable, energetic business man, progres- 
sive, and with his brothers has fairly won 
an honorable position in the business 
world. He is secretary of the Merchants' 
Association of Westfield, past regent of 
Hampden Council, Royal Arcanum, a Re- 
publican in politics, and with his wife a 
member of the Second Congregational 
Church. Mr. Loomis assisted in organ- 
izing Company E, i8th Regiment, Mas- 
sachusetts State Guard, which was 
sworn into the service, August 27, 1917, 
and on February 27, 1918, he received a 
commission as second lieutenant. 

Mr. Loomis married on his mother's 
birthday. May 23, 1902, Inga C. John- 
son, of Norwegian parentage. They are 
the parents of a son, Robert George, born 
in Westfield, August 5, 1906. 



247 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



LOOMIS, Dennison Henry, 

Business Man. 

Last of the three sons of William 
Henry and Alice Abia (Watrous) Loomis 
to leave the farm and enter mercantile 
life, was Dennison H. Loomis, who located 
in Westfield in 1899, and since 1906 Jias 
been a partner with his brothers in the 
grocery house of Loomis Brothers. He 
was born in Bolton, Connecticut, Septem- 
ber 9, 1880, and in boyhood attended the 
public schools, his training there supple- 
mented by courses at Huntsinger's Busi- 
ness College and Morse's Business Col- 
lege, both of Hartford, Connecticut. As 
a boy he possessed a keen business 
instinct, had a faculty for earning money 
and recalls with a good deal of satisfac- 
tion that while yet a lad he drove the 
team that carried the mail from the rail- 
road station to Bolton post office, a dis- 
tance of two and a half miles, making a 
daily trip and incidentally also doing 
some of the express business and the 
carrying of passengers. After complet- 
ing his business course at Morse's Bus- 
iness College, he entered the employ 
of H. Goldsmith & Son, wholesale dry 
goods merchants of Hartford, remaining 
with them as bookkeeper until 1899, when 
he located in Westfield, becoming book- 
keeper in the business of which later he 
became a partner, Eaton, Loomis & Com- 
pany. In 1906, after the death of Mr. 
Eaton, his interest was purchased by 
Dennison H. Loomis, the business thus 
passing entirely into the hands of the 
brothers, William B., Casper C. and Den- 
nison H. Loomis. The business is a well- 
managed, prosperous one, each partner 
managing his department with skill and 
ability along the most modern lines of 
merchandising. Dennison H. Loomis is 
a past regent of Hampden Council, No. 
955, Royal Arcanum, and its treasurer; is 



an ex-treasurer of the Westfield Young 
Men's Christian Association and much 
interested in association work; is a mem- 
ber of the Second Congregational Church, 
as is his wife, and in political faith is a 
Republican, the family's religious faith 
and the family politics holding allegiance 
of the three brothers, who in all things 
work in harmony. 

Mr. Loomis married, July 8, 1908, at 
Westfield, Martha Nellie Stery, born in 
Westfield, July i, 1874, daughter of Jud- 
son and Martha P. (Dewey) Sterj', both 
of old New England families. Mr. and 
Mrs. Loomis are the parents of a son, 
Donald Stery Loomis, born in Westfield, 
July 14, 1909. 

(The Stery*Dewey Line). 

The Stery family of New England 
springs from Roger Sterry, who settled 
at Stonington, Connecticut, when a 
young njan. He married, in 1670, Han- 
nah (Palmer) Huet, widow of Captain 
Thomas Huet, and daughter of Walter 
and Rebecca (Short) Palmer. The line of 
descent is through their only known son, 
Samuel Sterry, and his first wife, Han- 
nah (Rose) Sterry; their son, Samuel (2) 
Sterry ; their son, Silas Sterry, a soldier 
of the Revolution ; their son, John, who 
spelled his name Stery, and his wife, 
Susanna (Carew) Stery; their son, Har- 
vey Stery, and his wife, Lura (Osborne) 
Stery ; their son, Judson Enos Stery, born 
in West Springfield, Massachusetts, May 
26, 1839, died in Westfield, January 28, 
1900. At the age of sixteen he went to 
Grand Rapids, Michigan, returning in 
1861 to a farm at Bush Hill, locating in 
Westfield in 1870, and there engaging in 
the meat and provision business until 
about 1895. He also dealt in real estate 
and was a well-known, popular member 
of his community. He married Martha 
Pease Dewey, born November 5, 1842, 



THE NFW 



VORK 



(P'^'BLiC LfBHARyl 



ASTOB, LKNOT ivi»N 




• yamuei iyt/y^ter 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



at Chatham, Massachusetts, daughter 
of Andrew Addison and Betsey Clara 
(Moore) Dewey. Mr. and Mrs. Stery 
were the parents of six children : Minnie 
Eliza, married L. Brown; Mary R., 
married William H. Angell ; Carrie E., 
married Clarence M. Walker; Clara 
L., married Peter Jensen ; Martha Nel- 
lie, married Dennison H. Loomis ; Judson 
Enos (2), deceased. 

Martha Pease (Dewey) Stery descends 
from Thomas Dewey, of Sandwich, Kent 
county, England, who was one of the 
original patentees of Dorchester, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1636, although he was in Mas- 
sachusetts as early as 1633. He sold his 
lands at Dorchester in 1635, and became 
one of the first settlers of Windsor, Con- 
necticut. He married, March 22, 1639, 
at Windsor, Frances, widow of Josiah 
Clark. The line of descent is through 
their son. Ensign Jedediah Dewey, of 
Windsor and Farmington, Connecticut, 
and Westfield, his settlement at West- 
field dating from a grant of land made 
him August 27, 1668. He was a wheel- 
wright by trade, owned with his brothers 
a saw and corn mill on Two Mile brook, 
and considerable land. He was select- 
man several years and ensign in 1686. He 
married Sarah Orton, whose grave in the 
old Mechanic street burying ground is 
yet marked by a red sandstone slab. They 
were the parents of ten children, this line 
continuing through the fourth son, Ser- 
geant Joseph. 

Sergeant Joseph Dewey, born at West- 
field, May 10, 1684, died there January 3, 
1757. He married, in 1713, Sarah (War- 
ner) Root, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Ferry) Warner, and widow of Samuel 
Root. 

Their eldest son. Deacon Joseph Dewey, 
born at Westfield, October 7, 1714, died 
there August 25, 1799. Dudley avenue now 
passes over the site of his home, which 



was a large two-story building. He mar- 
ried (first) January 26, 1738, Beulah 
Sackett. 

Their third son. Gad Dewey, born in 
Westfield, January 14, 1745, died there 
June 28, 1823. He married, July 17, 1768, 
Deidamia Wood. 

Their youngest child, Ethan Dewey, 
born at Westfield, May 20, 1788, died 
there April 12, 1841, although for a time 
he was a farmer of Greenriver, Columbia 
county. New York. He married Electa 
Phelps. 

Andrew Addison Dewey, eldest and 
only son of Ethan and Electa (Phelps) 
Dewey, was born at Greenriver, Colum- 
bia county, New York, July 26, 1810, died 
at Granville, Massachusetts, February 17, 
1889. He married, March i, 1837, Betsey 
Clara Moore, who died at the home of her 
daughter, Martha Pease (Dewey) Stery, 
in Westfield, February 24, 1880. They 
were the parents of nine children, the eld- 
est daughter and third child, Martha 
Pease, the wife of Judson Enos Stery, 
they the parents of Martha Nellie (Stery) 
Loomis, wife of Dennison H. Loomis. 



PORTER, Samuel, 

Manufacturer. 

Samuel Porter, manufacturer of shoe 
lasts, was born in Stoughton, Massachu- 
setts, June 27, 1833, and died February 
16, 1904, son of Ahira and Rachel D. 
(Swan) Porter. He received his educa- 
tion in the public schools of his native 
town. When a young man he came to 
Worcester and engaged in the woodwork- 
ing business here. He established the 
business of manufacturing lasts for shoe 
manufacturers, with which his name is 
still associated, and he continued in bus- 
iness until 1903, when he sold his inter- 
ests to his son, Walter C. Porter, and 
Walter E. Bigelow. The firm became a 



249 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



corporation later under the old name, S. 
Porter & Son, Inc. Mr. Porter was a 
Free Mason. In politics he was a Repub- 
lican. He was a member of the First 
Universalist Church. 

He married (first) November 26, 1857, 
Sarah Chamberlain, who died May 18, 
1865, daughter of Benjamin and Patience 
Chamberlain, of Marion, Massachusetts. 
He married (second) June i, 1870, Helen 
Frances Kendall, of Portland, Maine. He 
married (third) July 4, 1894, Emma G. 
(Wingate) Putnam, daughter of Aaron 
and Phebe T. (Lamos) Wingate. She 
married (first) Edward J. Putnam, of 
North Grafton, Massachusetts, and he died 
August 29, 1891. The children of Samuel 
Porter were : Addie Lester, born July 9, 
1859, died September 24, 1865; Walter 
Chamberlain, born May 13, 1865; Marian 
Kendall, born September 28, 1874. Mrs. 
Porter lives at No. 875 Main street with 
her sister, Elizabeth W. Cook, widow of 
Eben K. Cook. 



PUTNAM, Edward J., 

Business Man. 

Notwithstanding his youth at the out- 
break of the Civil War, Edward J. Put- 
nam enlisted in the Union Army, and for 
three years served with an Ohio regiment 
under command of General Harrison, 
later president of the United States. The 
results of his three years of soldier life 
were never effaced from his physical man, 
and he died in what should have been the 
full prime of his powers, aged forty-seven 
years. He was a man of quiet tastes and 
retiring disposition, his home the great 
attraction of his life, to the exclusion of 
club, society or fraternity. 

Edward J. Putnam was born in the lit- 
tle New England village, now known as 
North Grafton, Massachusetts, in 1844, 
and died at his residence. No. 9 Merrick 



street, city of Worcester, August 29, 1891, 
aged forty-seven years and six months. 
Early in life he went West, and at the 
outbreak of the Civil War was in Ohio. 
He enlisted for three years and passed 
through that period without serious 
wounds or injury, and when honorably 
discharged located in Worcester, which 
was his residence from 1865 until his 
death in 1891. He was engaged in the 
retail shoe business in Worcester, becom- 
ing a member of the well-known firm, 
Bemis & Company, being connected with 
Mr. Bemis when the latter sold his inter- 
est to Mr. Kelley. Never in robust 
health, he became quite delicate in his 
later years and spent several months in 
Denver and Colorado Springs seeking to 
regain his strength. He married Emma 
G. Wingate, who survived him. 



SHAW, Edwin Loomis, 

Representative Citizen. 

Although he began life as an assistant 
to his father in his milling business, Mr. 
Shaw, from the age of twenty-two, has 
been engaged in farming and in real 
estate operations, his original farm of 
fifty acres lying close to Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, many of its fertile acres being 
converted into building lots on which 
comfortable houses have been erected. 
He is a son of Dwight Loomis Shaw, who 
was long connected with the business life 
of Chicopee, and is a descendant of Abra- 
ham Shaw, who was in Watertown, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1636, but after suffering 
the loss of his house and goods by fire, 
removed to Dedham, there built a corn 
mill, and in 1&38 died. He married, June 
24, 1616, Briggit Best, born April 9, 1592, 
daughter of Henry Best. 

The line of descent from Abraham 
Shaw to Edwin Loomis Shaw, of Chico- 
pee, is through the founder's son, John 



250 



THE NFWYORkI 

PUBLIC LIBRARyI 





DWIGHT L. SHAW. 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Shaw, born in Halifax, England, baptized 
May 23, 1630, died in Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, September 16, 1704. He mar- 
ried Alice, daughter of Deacon Nicholas 
Phillips. John and Alice (Phillips) Shaw 
were the parents of eleven children: Eliza, 
Abraham, John, Mary, Nicholas, Joseph, 
Alice, Hannah, Benjamin, Abigail and 
Ebenezer. This branch traces descent 
through Nicholas Shaw, born in 1662, 
married Deborah Whitmarsh, and left 
sons, Nicholas, Joshua, and John, also a 
daughter, Alice. 

Joshua Shaw, son of Nicholas and De- 
borah (Whitmarsh) Shaw, was born 
March 18, 1602, in Abington, Massachu- 
setts. He married (first) Rebecca Beal or 
Alger; (second) Sarah Burnell Shaw, 
and settled in Brimfield, Massachusetts, 
and there his son, Captain Joshua Shaw, 
was born in I72i,died in Monson, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1793. Captain Joshua Shaw 
became the owner of a large tract of land 
in what is now the town of Monson, 
which he cleared, brought under cultiva- 
tion, and farmed until his death. He was 
one of the prominent men of his day, rep- 
resented Monson in the Massachusetts 
General Court in 1780-81-83, journeying 
from Monson to Boston on horseback to 
attend the sessions. At one time there 
were but two watches owned in Monson, 
one of these being carried by Captain 
Shaw during his life and yet preserved in 
the family. Captain Shaw married (first) 
Mary Pratt, (second) Naomi Bates. 

His son, Luther Shaw, born in 1773, 
succeeded his father as a farmer of Mon- 
son, Massachusetts, but his life was cut 
short in middle age, he dying at the age 
of thirty-six' years. He married Chloe 
Loomis, who survived him until the age 
of seventy-five years, dying in Chicopee, 
at the home of her grandson, Dwight 
Loomis Shaw. 

Luther Loomis Shaw, son of Luther 



and Chloe (Loomis) Shaw, was born at 
Monson, Massachusetts, March 7, 1802, 
and died in Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
May I, 1861. He inherited from his 
father the old homestead in which three 
generations of the family had been born, 
and containing over two hundred acres 
of good farm land, which he cultivated 
for many years. He married Lydia Dal- 
liba, born April 29, 1803, died August 26, 
1846, daughter of John and Phoebe (Bev- 
erly) Dalliba, of Woodstock, Connecti- 
cut. Luther L. and Lydia Shaw were 
the parents of: Dwight Loomis, who is 
next in line of descent ; Lewis, Emily 
Beverly, Lydia, Phoebe, Luther, Emme- 
line, Lewis Sandford, Chloe Loomis, 
David, Mary, Henry, Albert, Maria Ame- 
lia, and Ellen. 

Dwight Loomis Shaw, eldest child of 
Luther L. and Lydia (Dalliba) Shaw, 
was born in Monson, March 23, 1822, and 
died in Chicopee, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 30, 1899. He attended school until 
fifteen years of age, then began life on his 
own account, leaving the homestead to 
accept employment as a farm hand. He 
continued as such for two years, then 
went to Thorndike, Massachusetts, and 
entered a cotton mill. Later he was en- 
gaged as a mill worker at Chicopee Falls, 
remaining there five years, going thence 
to the employ of the Dwight Manufactur- 
ing Company, at Chicopee, which city 
was ever afterward his home. He con- 
tinued in the service of the Dwight Com- 
pany for a quarter of a century as an 
overseer, then resigned to engage in bus- 
iness for himself. He purchased a grist 
and saw mill, in 1869, and continued this 
for two years very successfully. He then 
sold it and followed his trade of carpen- 
ter for nine years, up to 1880, then built 
a saw mill about one-quarter mile from 
his home and conducted this until 1884. 
He then retired from active business and 



251 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



gave his time to his duties as an asses- 
sor, continuing until his retirement from 
that office, which he held over twenty 
years. He was an Independent in poli- 
tics, and represented Chicopee in the 
State Legislature in 1881. He was a 
member of the Masonic order, a man of 
upright life, honorable in all his dealings, 
and most highly esteemed. 

Mr. Shaw married, June 4, 1842, Har- 
riet Amelia Johnson, born in East Wind- 
sor, Connecticut, August 22, 1820, died 
August 8, 191 1, daughter of Fenn and 
Dinah Johnson. Mr. and Mrs. Shaw were 
the parents of six children : Amelia, born 
September 6, 1843, died at birth ; Elmer 
Dalliba, born September 13, 1845, died 
May ^o, 1851; Eliot Dwight, born May 
24, 1851, a graduate of Amherst State 
Agricultural College ; Ida Emma, born 
March 31, 1853, died June 24, 1859; Edwin 
Loomis, of further mention ; Emma Iretta, 
born July 7, 1867, died December 25, 
1884. 

Edwin Loomis Shaw, of the ninth 
American generation, youngest son of 
Dwight Loomis and Harriet Amelia 
(Johnson) Shaw, was born at Granby, 
Massachusetts, September 17, 1862, and 
in 1863 was brought to Chicopee by his 
parents. His father in that year bought 
the property on Chicopee street, upon 
which he erected a residence, and there 
his life has since been spent. He attended 
the public schools of Chicopee until six- 
teen years of age, then became his fath- 
er's assistant in his saw milling opera- 
tions,- continuing until the age of twenty- 
two, when he began farming operations 
on his own account. This was in 1884, 
and since that year he has been continu- 
ously engaged in agricultural operation, 
devoting his farm of fifty acres to general 
and dairy farming, his herd of cattle, 
numbering twenty of standard breed. 
The farm has been partly absorbed by 



the city, the location rendering it very 
valuable as residence property. T'or many 
years Mr. Shaw has been a leading mem- 
ber of the local grange. Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, was master for several years, and 
active in all forms of grange work. He 
is a Republican in politics, and for two 
terms has served Chicopee as a member 
of the Board of Aldermen. In religious 
faith he is a Unitarian. 

Mr. Shaw married, April 7, 1888, at 
Wilbraham, Massachusetts, Ella Elida, 
daughter of Francis Elliott and Annise L. 
(Fuller) Clark. They are the parents of 
six children : i. Etta Iretta, born June 25, 
1889, died August i, 1890. 2. Ernest 
Ethelbert, born January 12, 1891, came 
to his death by drowning, August 2, 1902. 
3. Homer Archie, born August 9, 1892, 
died April 19, 1893. 4. Warren Clark, 
born November 22, 1894, now a machin- 
ist in the employ of the Page-Storms 
Drop Forging Company of Chicopee ; 
married, March 6, 191 1, Helen Gertrude 
Smith ; she died June 10, 1918, leaving a 
son, Warren Clark Shaw, Jr., born March 
II, 1916. 5. Albert Marcus, born Febru- 
ary 18, 1897, graduate, M. E., Worcester 
School of Technology. 6. Olive Mabel, 
born December 29, 1900. 



SHOVE, Walter Frank, 

Mill Treasnrer. 

Some men are born mill treasurers in 
the city of Fall River. From childhood 
certain boys are trained for the onerous 
and responsible position of managing the 
financial affairs of the great industrial 
corporations. The inheritance of stock, 
of the fruit of the labor of their fathers 
and grandfathers bring these positions to 
the capable young men of many of the 
families of whom sketches will be found 
in this work. In the case of Mr. Shove, 
whose father did not follow his father in 



252 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the textile industries, we find a young 
man returning to the activities in which 
his grandfather was famous and highly 
successful. Mr. Shove has been for 
twenty-six years treasurer of the Pocas- 
set Mill Corporation in Fall River. 

Benjamin Slade Shove, son of Clarke 
Shove, was born October 25, 1826, in the 
town of Troy, and now the city of Fall 
River, Massachusetts. There he was edu- 
cated in the common schools. Early in 
life, following the inclination of a rather 
adventurous disposition, he went to sea 
and rose step by step to the rank of mas- 
ter mariner. Another reason for his fol- 
lowing the sea was ill health. He was in 
the coasting trade for a number of years. 
When gold was discovered in California, 
in 1849, the spirit of adventure and a 
thought for the fortune that all the Argo- 
nauts were seeking led him thither, but 
instead of seeking for gold in the hills he 
took advantage of the opportunities for 
profit in transportation and became half- 
owner of a vessel engaged in trade along 
the California coast. The death of his 
mother in 1855 caused him to come East 
again and he sold out his business. Dur- 
ing the remainder of his life he continued 
to follow trading and ship rigging. At 
the time of his death he had entered into 
partnership with his brother, Clarke 
Shove, to carry on a coal business in Fall 
River. He was an energetic, ambitious, 
upright citizen. He died in Fall River, 
April 12, 1867. He was a member of the 
Second Baptist Church for many years. 

He married, July 16, 1857, Annie 
Frances Coolidge, who was born in Wey- 
mouth, July 12, 1835, daughter of Charles 
Coolidge, of Weymouth. Children, born 
at Fall River: Walter Frank, mentioned 
below ; Benjamin Clarke, born October 
4, i860, a resident of Fall River ; Annie 
Borden, born January 29, 1865, married 
William Hampton, of Fall River. 



Walter Frank Shove, son of Benjamin 
Slade Shove, was born in Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 12, 1858. He attended 
the public schools of his native town until 
his sixteenth year. He left the Durfee 
High School at the end of his second year 
to accept a position as clerk in the Fall 
River post office. From May, 1874, to 
July, 1880, he served under Postmasters 
Shaw and Chester Green. After resign- 
ing from the government service he was 
for one year and a half second clerk in 
the Union Mill, and afterwards book- 
keeper, a position he filled for nine and a 
half years. Possessing a wide acquaint- 
ance with men and affairs, a thorough 
business training and experience in man- 
ufacturing, he came to the responsible 
office of treasurer of the Pocasset Mill 
Corporation, elected by the directors in 
April, i89i,to succeed Bradford T. Davol. 
His selection proved wise from the point 
of view of the directors and stockholders. 
Even at that time this great mill had in 
operation 60,000 spindles ; the capacity 
was doubled before many years, and at 
the present time the mill has in operation 
no less than 2,800 looms and 123,000 
spindles. 

His activity has not been limited to 
this corporation, however. He has been 
treasurer of the Windham Manufacturing 
Company of Willimantic, Connecticut. 
He was elected treasurer of the Meta- 
comet and Anawan Mills Corporation in 
1894, and successfully administered the 
business until the mills were sold to the 
Iron Works Company. In P900 he was 
elected treasurer of the Fall River Manu- 
factory, which has since been purchased 
by the Pocasset Company. He was treas- 
urer of the Wampanoag Mills from Feb- 
ruary. 1905, to December, 1915, and is 
now the president of that corporation. 
He is also president of the National Asso- 
ciation of Cotton Manufacturers. 



253 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



In politics Mr. Siiove is a Republican, 
though he has declined all offices of pub- 
lic trust. He attends the Protestant 
Episcopal church. He is a member of the 
Country Club of Fall River, and of the 
Quequechan Club of Fall River. In the 
Masonic order he has taken the thirty- 
second degree. He is a member of King 
Philip Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, of Fall River; of Fall River 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; of Fall 
River Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
of Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of which he is past 
commander. 

Mr. Shove married, September 3, 1883, 
Clara L. Ackley, daughter of Almerin 
Lorenzo and Elizabeth (Holman) Ack- 
ley. Children, born in Fall River: Ethel, 
born January 10, 1887, died January 24, 
1887 ; Ackley, born February 5, 1896, is 
a student at Yale University, class of 
1918 ; he was among the first to enlist 
when the war with Germany was de- 
clared, and holds the rank of ensign in the 
United States Navy. 



LAWTON, George Robert, 

Public Official. 

Recognized as the leading public ac- 
countant of Southeastern Massachusetts, 
Mr. Lawton enjoys the confidence and 
support of the many prominent corpor- 
ations of the section in which he resides, 
many of them being his clients whose 
accounts he has audited for many years. 
He is a direct descendant of the family 
founded in Rhode Island by George Law- 
ton, who was of Newport, Rhode Island, 
as early as 1638. He was a man of im- 
portance, serving as deputy and assistant 
many years. He married Elizabeth Haz- 
ard, and located the family home in Ports- 
mouth, Rhode Island, where George Law- 
ton died October 5, 1693, the orchard on 



the homestead being his burial place. He 
was succeeded by his son, Robert Law- 
ton, he by a son, Captain George Law- 
ton, Robert and George being a freely 
used name until the present day, Mr. 
Lawton, of this review, bearing both of 
these time honored family names. He is 
a grandson of George Lawton, of the 
seventh American generation, born in 
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, a sea captain, 
merchant and hotel proprietor, a mem- 
ber of the Baptist church, a Whig and a 
Republican. Captain George Lawton and 
his wife. Patience, were the parents of: 
Robert, George, Moses Turner, Mumford, 
Hannah, and Theodore. 

Moses Turner Lawton, son of Captain 
George Lawton, was born in Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, and all his life was a noted 
hotel proprietor, and an ardent Republi- 
can. He married Elizabeth Harris, 
daughter of Solomon and Eliza (Tilling- 
hast) Lawton. They were the parents of 
a daughter, Elizabeth Harris, and a son, 
George Robert, of further mention. 

George Robert Lawton, only son of 
Moses Turner and Elizabeth Harris 
(Lawton) Lawton, was born in Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, December 31, 1858, and 
there spent his youth. He completed 
high school courses at Fall River, then 
pursued courses in bookkeeping and com- 
mercial methods at business college, spe- 
cializing in accounting. He then secured 
a position with the Durfee Mills as ac- 
countant, and there continued for six 
years, becoming an expert in cotton mill 
accounting. From private position he 
advanced to public work, answering all 
calls made upon his ability, and for thirty 
years he has been a public accountant. 
He is rated an expert, and is regularly 
employed by many corporations to audit 
their accounts, his time being fully em- 
ployed through his numerous engage- 
ments. A Republican in politics, Mr. 



254 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Lawton has long been potent in party 
affairs and has had many honors bestowed 
upon him. His home district in Tiverton, 
Rhode Island, elected him to the Lower 
House for four terms, and for six years 
he was a State Senator of Rhode Island. 
He is a member of the iVIasonic order, 
holding the thirty-second degree of the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; is a 
member of the Quequechan and Squan- 
tum Clubs, of the Boston Athletic Club, 
and the Republican Club of New York 
City. He is a Baptist in religious prefer- 
ence, a member of the corporation of the 
Baptist church. 

Mr. Lawton married, in Tiverton, June, 
1899, Calista Church, born in Tiverton, 
in 1868, daughter of Daniel T. and Mary 
P. (Manchester) Church. Mr. and Mrs. 
Lawton are the parents of a daughter, 
Helen, born November 14, 1900, gradu- 
ated from B. M. C. Durfee High School, 
class of 1917, then entered the Freshman 
class of Smith College. 



CASSIDY, Henry Cornelius, 

Expert Paper Maker. 

Henry C. Cassidy, superintendent of 
the Holyoke Paper Company, Division of 
The American Writing Paper Company, 
and an expert in the manufacturing of 
fine paper, comes naturally by his paper 
making skill, his father and grandfather 
both having been experts in the business 
and following it all their active lives. His 
grandfather learned the trade in Ireland, 
then came to America, and settled in Lee, 
Massachusetts, and there followed paper 
making the remainder of his life. He 
died in Lee, but is buried in Pittsfield, 
Massachusetts. He married and was the 
head of a family of seven, his five sons : 
Edward, William, Thomas, Michael and 
Joseph, all following their father's trade. 
He had two daughters : Mary and Mar- 



garet. Henry Cornelius Cassidy, so well 
known in Holyoke, is a son of the last 
mentioned son, Joseph. 

Joseph Cassidy was born in Dublin, 
Ireland, in 1873, and died in Lee, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1906. He attended the pub- 
lic schools in Ireland, and there lived 
until seventeen years of age, when he 
came to America and joined his bother 
Michael at Lee, Massachusetts, Michael 
having come over in 1885, and located in 
that town. Joseph Cassidy learned the 
family trade and spent his life in the Lee 
paper mills with the exception of short 
periods in Mt. Holly, New Jersey, and in 
Pennsylvania. He married in Ireland, 
Martina Shea, born in Ireland, died in 
Lee, Massachusetts, in 1910, aged sixty- 
three. Children : Michael, drowned in 
childhood ; Henry Cornelius, of further 
mention ; Edward, Mary, Annie, Agnes, 
and Catherine. 

Henry Cornelius Cassidy. son of Jo- 
seph and Martina (Shea) Cassidy, was 
born in Lee, Massachusetts, September 
16, 1866, and there was educated in the 
public schools. At the age of sixteen, in 
1882, he first came to Holyoke, securing 
a position in the Skinner Silk Mill, re- 
maining there one year. He next was 
employed for a short time by the Holyoke 
Warp Company, then began learning the 
family trade, paper making, returning to 
Lee for that purpose and renjaining one 
year in the Smith Paper Mill. He then 
returned to Holyoke and found employ- 
ment with the Holyoke Paper Mill, a con- 
cern then operated by the Greenleafs, of 
which David Williams was superintend- 
ent. In 1900 that was absorbed by the 
American Writing Paper Company, Mr. 
Cassidy continuing with the new owners 
as assistant-superintendent until 1912, 
when he was appointed superintendent, 
which position he still most ably fills. He 
is a man of force and character, thor- 



255 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



oughly familiar with the varied phases of 
paper manufacture, and highly regarded 
by all who know him. He is a member 
of the Superintendents Club o£ the 
American Writing Paper Company, the 
Foresters, and of Holy Cross Roman 
Catholic Church. 

Mr. Cassidy married, April i8, 1893, 
Helen Kennedy, born in County Kerry, 
Ireland, daughter of James and Mar- 
garet (O'Flaherty) Kennedy, she coming 
to the United States at the age of sixteen 
years. Mr. and Mrs. Cassidy are the par- 
ents of the following children: i. Lil- 
lian M., born February 5, 1894. 2. Henry 
L., born August 23, 1895 ; a graduate of 
Holyoke High School, class of 1913; 
spent two years at the Massachusetts In- 
stitute of Technology, being especially 
strong in mathematics; in June, 1917, he 
enlisted in his country's service, choosing 
the Cavalry, and is now (1918) still in 
the service. 3. Edward J., born August 22 
1897; a paper mill worker with his father 
4. Walter J., born June 15, 1901. 5 
James M., born August 27, 1903. 6, 
Helen Frances, born September 15, 1905 
7. Coletta, born December 14, 1909, died 
December 11, 1910. 8. Joseph, born F"eb- 
ruary 9, 191 1. 9. Frederick, born March 
6, 1912. 10. Agnes Martina, born Octo- 
ber 27, 1917. 



ROURKE, Edward A., 

Business Man. 

The Rourke family has been intimately 
connected with the business life of Chico- 
pee, ^lassachusetts, and for half a century 
the firm name, P. Rourke and P. Rourke 
& Sons has been a familiar one. Patrick 
Rourke, of the second generation, was the 
first Irish selectman elected in the town, 
and in addition to this was for thirty-five 
years assessor, and for twenty years 
water commissioner. He was one of the 



best and most loyal citizens of the town, 
and from manhood until old age shirked 
no public duty demanded of him. He was 
a good business man, and in his grocery 
and provision store educated his son, 
Edward, to succeed him, which he did 
after an association of Several years as a 
partner. Patrick was a son of Cornelius 
Rourke, born in Ireland, who, with his 
family, came to the United States in 1846, 
landing at Halifax, Nova Scotia, then 
making his way to New Hampshire, and 
finally to Chicopee, Massachusetts. There 
he entered a mercantile business (gro- 
ceries), and in addition had an undertak- 
ing establishment, and also sold furni- 
ture. He was a genius in his field, and 
with success managed his different and 
widely diverged lines of business. 

Cornelius Rourke married Mary Mc- 
Mahon, and they were the parents of: 
Patrick, of further mention ; Mary, Brid- 
get, Kate, and Helen Margaret, who mar- 
ried a Mr. McCarthy. 

Patrick Rourke, only son of Cornelius 
and Mary (McMahon) Rourke, was born 
in Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland, F'ebru- 
ary 12, 1838, was brought to America by 
his parents in 1846, and died in Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, June 26, 1916. Not long 
after the arrival at Halifax, in 1846, the 
family settled in Chicopee, and in the 
Spruce street public school the lad, Pat- 
rick, obtained his education. He became 
his father's assistant in the store for a 
time, and also drove a team in connec- 
tion with the grocery and undertaking 
business, but quite early in life he started 
out for himself, as a merchant. He began 
as a groceryman, but later added meats 
and provisions, building up a large and 
successful business, with which he was 
connected until his death at the age of 
seventy-eight. He inherited strong busi- 
ness ability from his father, and this was 
developed to an unusual degree by the 



256 




-/^^siz^t^ yci^cc^'^ ^^^-j 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



fact that he assumed heavy responsibili- 
ties very early in his business career. 
When the weight of years grew heavy 
the burden was shifted to the capable 
shoulders of his son and partner, Edward 
A. Rourke, the present head. In addition 
to his mercantile interests he was largely 
interested in building contracts, and in 
that capacity erected many private and 
public buildings in Chicopee. He was the 
contractor for the brick work on the Pub- 
lic Library, that being but one of the im- 
portant operations he contracted for. His 
life was an exceedingly busy one, and bis 
energy knew no bounds. Dennis G. Mur- 
phy was his partner in the contracting 
business, and they were associated to- 
gether for a number of years. 

From youthful manhood Mr. Rourke 
took a deep interest in public affairs, and 
was for many years one of Chicopee's 
best known official citizens, his service 
covering the offices of town selectman, 
board of assessors (thirty-five years), 
water commissioner (twenty years), he 
resigning the last named office during the 
administration of Mayor Rivers. He gave 
to the public service the same loyal and 
efficient attention which his private bus- 
iness received, and won the respect and 
perfect confidence of his community, they 
returning him to office term after term. 
He was a director and a trustee of the 
Chicopee Co-Operative Bank, was an out- 
spoken foe of the liquor traffic, and from 
boyhood a memberof the Father Matthew 
Total Abstinence Society, having been 
pledged when a boy in Ireland by the 
great Irish priest and Apostle of Temper- 
ance, Father Matthew. In Chicopee, he 
aided in founding a Father Matthew So- 
ciety. He was also a consistent, devoted 
member of the Holy Name Society of the 
Holy Name Roman Catholic Church, of 
Chicopee. 

Patrick Rourke married (first) in 

Mass— 8— 17 257 



1858, in Chicopee, Massachusetts, Maria 
O'Donell, born in Ireland, who died in 
1873, daughter of Terrence and Bridget 
(McKenna) O'Donell. They were the 
parents of: Maria; Edward A., of fur- 
ther mention ; John C, deceased ; Patrick 
J.; Elizabeth; William, deceased; and 
Rose, wife of Daniel Daley. Patrick 
Rourke married (second) Mary Sullivan, 
who survived him with one child, Minnie. 

Edward A. Rourke, eldest son of Pat- 
rick and his first wife, Maria (O'Donell) 
Rourke, was born in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, January 19, 1861, and was there 
educated in the public schools. After 
school days were ended he became a per- 
manent clerk in his father's store on West 
street, Chicopee, Massachusetts, continu- 
ing his trusted assistant until 1896, when, 
together with his brother, Patrick, he was 
admitted to the partnership, the firm then 
becoming Patrick Rourke & Sons. The 
original lines, 'groceries and meats, were 
adhered to all through these years, and 
since the death of the founder, in 1916, 
the business has been continued by the 
sons, Edward and Patrick. Edward was 
elected a member of the Board of Alder- 
men in 1894, and is a charter member of 
the Knights of Columbus. 

Edward A. Rourke married, in 1904, 
Catherine Walsh, who at the time of her 
marriage was principal of the Belcher 
School, daughter of Michael and Johanna 
Walsh, of Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts. 
Mr. and Mrs. Rourke are the parents of a 
daughter, Marian Elizabeth, born Novem- 
ber 10, 1905, and a son, Brandon, born 
September 18, 1908. 



GAGNE, Joseph Alfred, M. D., 

Physician. 

As one of the well-known physicians 
of Chicopee Falls, Dr. Gagne is familiar 
to his townsmen, and also to many out- 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



side of his community. Jean Baptiste 
Gagne, his grandfather, was born in Can- 
ada, and there passed his life as a farmer. 
He married, and among his eleven chil- 
dren was Stanislas, mentioned further. 
Mr. Gagne and his wife died in Canada, 
the former in 1858, at the age of sixty. 
Both were members of the Roman Cath- 
olic church. 

(II) Stanislas Gagne, son of Jean Bap- 
tiste Gagne, was born in 1844, in the Prov- 
ince of Quebec, Canada, and there re- 
ceived his education in a parochial school. 
At the age of nineteen he came to the 
United States, settling in Fall River, Mas- 
sachusetts, where, during the remainder 
of his life, he was engaged in business as 
a fish dealer. He married (first) Dube, 
and their children were : Mary, born Feb- 
ruary 15, 1862; William, born December 
15, 1864; Frank, born January 17, 1866, 
died March 8, 191 1; Annie, born Octo- 
ber 24, 1873; Peter, born April 28, 1875, 
and Delia, born September 25, 1880. Mr. 
Gagne married (second) Philomena Bon- 
ville, born in Canada, daughter of F. Bon- 
ville, a farmer of the Dominion, who died 
there in 1877 ^t the age of sixty. By this 
marriage there was but one child : Jo- 
seph Alfred, of further mention. Mr. and 
Mrs. Gagne were members of the Roman 
Catholic church. The former died in 
1883, in Fall River, and the latter on Jan- 
uary 17, 1916. 

(III) Joseph Alfred Gagne, son of 
Stanislas and Philomena (Bonville) 
Gagne, was born December 31, 1882, in 
Fall River, Massachusetts, where he lived 
until the age of twelve years. He was a 
pupil in St. Aime Commercial College, 
Canada, and then spent one year in Holy 
Cross College, followed by two years in 
Montreal College. He then studied four 
years and a half in Marieville College, at 
the end of that time matriculating at 
Grand University, where he spent one 



year. Then came four years at Laval 
University where, in 191 1, he received 
the degree of Doctor of Medicine. Dr. 
Gagne then opened an office at Chicopee 
Falls and entered upon the practice of his 
profession in which, in the short space of 
six years, he has acquired a steadily in- 
creasing clientele and established a repu- 
tation founded on innate ability, thorough 
equipment and devotion to duty. Politi- 
cally, Dr. Gagne is a Republican, and is 
every ready to do his part toward pro- 
moting civic reform and obtaining bet- 
terment of conditions. In 1914-15 he 
served as city physician of Chicopee, and 
he is now medical inspector. He is a 
member of the stafif of the Mercy Hospi- 
tal. He is also identified with the Franco- 
American Association of Chicopee, Inc., 
of which he is treasurer. Among the 
social and fraternal orders in which Dr. 
Gagne is enrolled are the Social Club of 
Chicopee Falls ; Knights of Columbus ; 
Local Order of St. Jean Baptiste, and the 
National organization of same order. He 
is physician for this organization and also 
for the Loyal Order of Moose, and the 
Ladies" Order of Foresters. 

Dr. Gagne married, May 18, 1913, Mary 
Dea Benoit, whose family record is 
appended to this biography, and they are 
the parents of two children : Mary Jean- 
nette, born July 23, 1914. and Joseph 
Alfred Omer, born October 15, 1916. Dr. 
and Mrs. Gagne also have an adopted 
son, Ferdinand, aged thirteen. They 
attend the Roman Catholic church. 

(The Benoit Line). 

Timothy Benoit, father of Mary Dea 
(Benoit) Gagne, was born at Marieville, 
Canada, and engaged in business as a 
mason and plasterer, taking and execut- 
ing contracts. He married Mary Nadeau, 
also a native of Marieville, and of the 
thirteen children born to them we find 



258 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



record of the following: Arzelia, died at The surname Bostwick is of Saxon ori- 



the age of twenty-five ; Edias, died at 
eighteen; Wilfred, Lea, Mary Dea, of 
further mention ; Ferdinand, Sylvia, Di- 
ana, and Dora, who died at the age of two 
months. The parents of these children 
are now living in Lachine, Quebec. 

Mary Dea, daughter of Timothy and 
Mary (Nadeau) Benoit, was born in Fall 
River, Massachusetts, and became the 
wife of Dr. Joseph Alfred Gagne, as 
stated above. 



BOSTWICK, WUliam Ferry, 

Public Official. 

Twenty generations of the Bostwick- 
Bostock family in England were back of 
Arthur Bostwick, the American ances- 
tor of William F. Bostwick, of Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, who is of the ninth gener- 
ation in New England. The English line 
is traced to Osmer, the owner of great 
estates in Chester (Cheshire), England, 
which are entered in Domesday Book, 
1080, as being held by him since the con- 
quest. The line then follows through his 
son, Hugh ; his son, Richard ; his son, 
Roger; his son. Sir Gilbert; his son, 
William, Lord of Bostoc; his son. Sir 
Edward ; his son. Sir Adam ; his son, Sir 
William; his son, Sir Adam; his son, 
Adam ; his son. Sir Ralph ; his son. Sir 
Adam ; (all of whom held the rank of 
Knight and were Lords of Bostoc) ; his 
fourth son, William ; his son, George, by 
a third wife ; his son, Robert ; his son, 
Arthur, married Ellen Dennis ; their son, 
Arthur (2) Bostoc, born at Tarporley, 
Cheshire, England, December 22, 1603, 
married (first) January 26, 1627, Jane 
Whittel, married (second) Ellen John- 
son. About 1641 he came to New Eng- 
land, founding the family of which Wil- 
liam F. Bostwick is a twentieth century 
representative. 



gin, and is traceable to the time of Ed- 
ward the Confessor, who preceded Har- 
old, the last of the Saxon kings, upon the 
throne of England. Like all ancient 
names it has undergone some changes in 
over seven centuries and Bostwick has 
evolved from Bostock in the near three 
centuries since Arthur Bostock brought 
the name to New England. The family 
bore arms : 

Arms — Sable, a fesse humettee, argent. 

Crest — On the stump of a tree eradicated. 
Argent a bear's head, erased, sable muzzled or. 

Motto — Scmpo Presto servire (Always ready 
to serve). 

(I) Arthur Bostwick (Bostock), one 
of the first settlers of Hartford, Connecti- 
cut, settled there in 1639. He lived in 
Southampton, Long Island, prior to 
March 8, 1649. He may have resided in 
New Jersey before his permanent settle- 
ment in Stratford, as his second wife, 
Ellen (Johnson) Bostwick, had a son by 
her first marriage who was living in that 
colony at the time of his mother's death. 

(II) John Bostwick, son of Arthur and 
Jane (Whittel) Bostwick, was baptized 
in St. Helen's Club, Tarporley, Cheshire, 
England, October 18, 1638, and died in 
Stratford, Connecticut, December 11, 
1688. He received his father's entire 
estate by gift, and was allotted other 
tracts, but he sold from time to time, and 
nevertheless died possessed of a fair 
estate. He married, in Stratford, Mary 
Brinsmead, born in Charlestown, Massa- 
chusetts, July 24, 1640, died in Stratford 
prior to December 28, 1704, having mar- 
ried a second time. 

(III) John (2) Bostwick, eldest son of 
John (i) and Mary (Brinsmead) Bost- 
wick, was born in Stratford, Connecti- 
cut, May 4, 1667, and died in New Mil- 
ford, Connecticut (date unknown), but 



259 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



after April i, 1747, at the age of eighty 
years. He removed from Stratford, going 
to Derby, thence, in 1707, to New Mil- 
ford, where he was the second settler. 
He was a man of energy and progressive 
spirit, and bore his full share in the up- 
building of New Milford, holding many 
offices in town and church. He married, 
in Stratford, about 1687, Abigail Walker, 
born February 17, 1672, daughter of Jo- 
seph and Abigail (Pruden) Walker. 

(IV) Daniel Bostwick, ninth child of 
John (2) and Abigail (Walker) Bostwick, 
was born in New Milford, Connecticut, 
in 1708, the first male white child born in 
the town. He there resided all his life, 
kept a tavern many years, was deputy to 
the General Assembly, and in May, 1754, 
was appointed lieutenant of the First 
Militia Company in the town. He died 
December 25, 1782. Lieutenant Daniel 
Bostwiok married, December 14, 1736, 
Hannah Hitchcock, daughter of Samuel 
and Sarah (Weller) Hitchcock, of New 
Milford. She was born January i, 1719, 
died July 21, 1792, the mother of five chil- 
dren. Both of their sons, Daniel and 
Amos, were soldiers of the Revolution. 

(V) Amos Bostwick, second son of 
Lieutenant Daniel and Hannah (Hitch- 
cock) Bostwick, was bom in New Mil- 
ford, Connecticut, in 1743, and died in 
Unadilla, New York, November 19, 1829. 
He served as ensign in Captain Chap- 
man's company, of the Nineteenth Con- 
tinental Infantry, under Colonel Charles 
Webb, from January i, 1776, to Decem- 
ber 31, 1776, and as ensign of the Sixth 
Company, Second Regiment, Colonel 
Bezaleel Beebe, in January, 1780. He mar- 
ried (first) in New Milford, December 2, 
1766, Sarah Grant, born in Litchfield, 
Connecticut, August 7, 1745, died in New 
Milford, her will being probated May 11, 
1795. Ensign Amos Bostwick married 
(second) Sarah Hayes, born in England, 



died in Unadilla, New York, August 28, 
1825, aged seventy-seven years. 

(VI) Charles Bostwick, second son of 
Ensign Amos Bostwick, and his first 
wife, Sarah (Grant) Bostwick, was born 
in New Milford, Connecticut, October 9, 
1772, and died in New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, October 17, 1850. He married, in 
New Haven, Connecticut, June i, 1797, 
Sarah Trowbridge, born March 4, 1779, 
died December 13, 1842, born, lived 
and died in New Haven, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Macumber) Trow- 
bridge. They were the parents of eleven 
children, descent being traced through 
the first born, George. 

(VII) George Bostwick, eldest child of 
Charles and Sarah (Trowbridge) Bost- 
wick, was born in New Haven, Connec- 
ticut, March 30, 1798, lived there all his 
life, and died July 15, 1831, at the age of 
thirty-three. He learned the harness- 
maker's trade, and was so engaged until 
his untimely death. He married, in New 
Haven, in 1821, Amelia Truman, born in 
New Haven, in April, 1800, died there 
February 15, 1884. They were the par- 
ents of children : Charles Gates, born 
June 2, 1823, married. May 20, 1850, Har- 
riet N. Kimberley, and died in New 
Haven, March 16, 1888 ; George Henry, 
born July 21, 1824, and had three wives, 
Adaline Warren, Abbe M. Hayden, and 
Sarah Tomlinson ; Jane, died in 1880; 
William Truman, of further mention. 

(VIII) William Truman Bostwick, 
youngest son of George and Amelia 
(Truman) Bostwick, was born in New 
Haven, Connecticut, February 8, 1832, 
and died in Chicopee, Massachusetts, De- 
cember 24, 1915. He was educated in the 
public schools of New Haven, and in that 
city learned the harness-maker's trade. 
He was engaged at his trade in the shops 
of New Haven, Greenfield and Pittsfield, 
finally, in 1870, settling in Chicopee, Mas- 



260 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



sachusetts, where he was in charge of the 
leather department of the Ames Sword 
Company. He resided in Chicopee for 
forty-five years, until his death, and was 
one of the best-known men of his com- 
munity. He never took an active part in 
public affairs, but he was always the in- 
terested citizen and bore his share of 
civic responsibility in that capacity. He 
retired from the employ of the Ames 
Sword Company after twenty-five years 
of continuous service, then for twenty 
years, until he passed away, he lived a 
quiet, retired life. He was a member 
of the Unitarian church, and Chicopee 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He 
was a man of honor and uprightness, kept 
his word sacred, and lived a life of use- 
ful endeavor. William T. Bostwick mar- 
ried, in Chicopee, Massachusetts, May ii, 

1871, Ella Duley, born in Chicopee, De- 
cember 23, 1847. They were the parents 
of a daughter, Ella Belle, born May 28, 

1872, married, November 12, 1895, Charles 
Adams, of Springfield ; and William 
Ferry, of further mention. 

(IX) William Ferry Bostwick, only 
son of William and Ella (Duley) Bost- 
wick, was born in Chicopee, Massachu- 
etts, October 8. 1873, and was there edu- 
cated in the public schools. When fifteen 
years of age he left school to become a 
wage-earner, although from his eleventh 
year he had earned his own living as a 
newsboy. After leaving school in 1888, 
he entered the office employ of the old 
Connecticut River Railroad, now the Bos- 
ton & Maine, beginning as a clerk and 
advancing to the cashier's desk, holding 
that position nine years. On February 5, 
1900, Mr. Bostwick was appointed collec- 
tor for the city of Chicopee, took the posi- 
tion at once, and is now serving his nine- 
teenth year in that capacity, a splendid 
tribute to his efficient, faithful perform- 
ance of his duties. He is a trustee of 



Chicopee Savings Bank, also clerk of the 
corporation ; member of Chicopee Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Unity Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; 
Springfield Commandery, Knights Temp- 
lar; Melba Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Im- 
proved Order of Red Men ; and of the 
Unitarian church, serving on the stand- 
ing committee. 

Mr. Bostwick married, in Carlisle, 
Pennsylvania, March 14, 191 1, Nellie 
Alice Davis, born in Symmes, Ohio, 
daughter of John A. and Nancy Jane 
(Chapman) Davis, and granddaughter of 
Zebulon and Elizabeth (Hart) Davis. 
John A. Davis was a soldier of the Union 
army, serving with the Seventy-ninth 
Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and 
saw hard service, fighting at Chickamau- 
gua, Stone River, Lookout Mountain, and 
elsewhere. He is now living a retired 
life, having spent many years as a miller 
and grain merchant of Carlisle, Pennsyl- 
vania. The Bostwick family residence is 
No. 190 Nonatuck street, Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts. Mr. Bostwick is a man of 
genial nature and pleasing personality, 
winning friends wherever known and 
holding the regard of all who enjoy his 
acquaintance. He has served his city well 
and holds his position in public confi- 
dence through merit alone. He is of the 
ninth generation of his family in Massa- 
chusetts, and of the twenty-ninth from 
the Saxon ancestor, Osmer, 1066. 



PAGE, Woodman Shute, 

Manufacturer. 

In 1867 Amos Woodman Page estab- 
lished a needle manufactory at Chicopee 
Falls, which he conducted very success- 
fully until his death. His mantle then 
fell upon his son, Woodman Shute Page, 



261 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



who had been associated with his father 
in his factory management from the age 
of twenty years. Since 1891 the son has 
been head of the business enterprise of the 
city. 

(I) Mr. Page is of the ninth generation 
of the family founded in New England by 
John Page, born in England, who was an 
early settler of Hingham, Massachusetts. 
He is of record there as the signer of a 
petition to the General Court, November 
4, 1646, but in 1652 he moved to Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, where he died No- 
vember 23, 1687. He married Mary 
Marsh, daughter of George Marsh, she 
surviving him until February 15, 1796. 
From this marriage sprang a family of 
sons: John, Onesiphorus, Benjamin, Jo- 
seph, Cornelius and Ephraim, they the 
ancestors of a numerous family. They 
were also the parents of four daughters, 
three of whom married. The line of 
descent to Woodman S. Page, of Chico- 
pee Falls, is through the second son, 
Onesiphorus, who is called in the records, 
"Sergeant." 

(II) Sergeant Onesiphorus Page, son 
of John Page, was baptized at Hingham, 
Massachusetts, November 20, 1642, and 
died at Salisbury, Massachusetts, June 
28, 1716. He took the oath of allegiance 
at Salisbury, is of record as a householder 
there in 1677, and there he followed his 
trade of weaver. He married (first) No- 
vember 22, 1664, Mary Hauxworth, who 
died May 8, 1695, the mother of eight 
children: Mary, died young; Mary (2) ; 
Abigail; Mary (3), died young; Sarah, 
Onesiphorus, Cornelius, died young ; Mary 
(4). He married (second) July 3, 1685, 
Sarah (Morrell) Rowell, widow of Philip 
Rowell. Descent is traced through Jo- 
seph, the eldest son by the first marriage. 

(III) Joseph Page, son of Sergeant 
Onesiphorus Page, was born in Salisbury, 
April 6, 1670, and there resided until his 



death. He married (first) March 12, 

1690, Sarah Smith, who died October 21, 

1691, the mother of a daughter, Sarah, 
who was left motherless when but nine 
days old. She was the daughter of Rich- 
ard Smith. His second wife, Elizabeth, 
was the mother of seven children, namely : 
Judith, died young; John, through whom 
descent is traced ; Joseph, Joshua, Ben- 
jamin, Mary, and Onesiphorus. 

(IV) John Page, son of Joseph Page, 
was born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
June 17, 1696, and died there March 11, 
1767. He married. May 16, 1720, Mary 
Winslow, who died August 21, 1774, in 
her seventy-seventh year. Children, all 
born in Salisbury : Ebenezer, Samuel, 
Betty, Moses, the next in direct line; 
John, Ephraim, Benjamin, died young; 
Benjamin (2), Enoch, who settled in 
Wentworth, New Hampshire. 

(V) Moses Page, son of John Page, 
was born in Salisbury, Massachusetts, 
September 3, 1726, and died at Gilman- 
ton. New Hampshire, September 27, 1805. 
He left his Massachusetts home in earl> 
life, and resided in both Epping and Gil- 
manton, New Hampshire. He married 
Judith, daughter of Benjamin French, Sr. 
They were the parents of nine children, 
eight of whom were born in Epping: 
Judith, Mary, Elizabeth, John and Benja- 
min, twins ; Ebenezer, Hannah, Moses 
(2), Andrew, the last named born in Gil- 
manton. The head of the sixth genera- 
tion is Benjamin, who was a twin with 
John. 

(VI) Benjamin Page, son of Moses 
Page, was born in Epping, New Hamp- 
shire, February 2, 1763. He married, 
April 26, 1787, Ruth Bean, of Brentwood, 
New Hampshire, and their married life 
was spent in Belmont, New Hampshire, 
and Waterborough, Maine. Their two 
sons, James and Benjamin, were born in 
Belmont. James, the eldest son, was the 



262 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



grandfather of Woodman S. Page, of 
Chicopee Falls. 

(VII) James Page, son of Benjamin 
Page, was born in Belmont, New Hamp- 
shire, in 1797, was taken by his parents 
when young to Waterborough, Maine, 
and died in 1840. He was a millwright, 
and in the pursuit of his calling lived in 
various towns. He married Eliza Wood- 
man, born in 1799, and died in Biddeford, 
Maine, aged ninety-two years. They 
were the parents of seven children: i. 
and 2. Amos Woodman and John Wood- 
man, twins. 3. Abigail. 4. Moses. 5. 
Thomas Clarke, founder of the Holyoke 
Machine Company, and as general man- 
ager and agent of that company accumu- 
lated capital with which he bought a 
knitting machine patent invented by I. 
W. Lamb ; the manufacture of these 
machines was begun in Rochester, New 
York, but later the old Massachusetts 
Arms Company's property at Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, was bought, the 
Lamb Knitting Machine Manufacturing 
Company incorporated, and the manufac- 
ture of the Lamb and Tuttle knitting 
machines was begun ; with him was asso- 
ciated his brother Amos W., whose career 
is herein traced. 6. Harriet A., married 
Louis F. Sewall, of Springfield. 7. Eliza 
Jane. 

(VIII) Amos Woodman Page, eldest 
son of James and Eliza (Woodman) 
Page, was born in HoUis, Maine, August 
8, 1823, and died at Chicopee Falls, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 31, 1891. After leav- 
ing school he became a cotton mill em- 
ployee, and rising through all grades 
finally became an overseer of the weaving 
department. During the War between 
the States, he enlisted in the Twenty- 
seventh Regiment, Maine Volunteer In- 
fantry, served nine months, and was hon- 
orably discharged, holding a lieutenant's 
commission. He liked the South so well 



that after the war he engaged in the lum- 
ber business in North Carolina, his head- 
quarters at Beaufort. In 1866 he joined 
his brother, Thomas Clarke Page, in 
Rochester, New York, there remaining 
until his return to Massachusetts in 1867, 
and the incorporation of the Lamb Knit- 
ting Machine Manufacturing Company of 
Chicopee Falls. The business of the com- 
pany was the manufacture of the Lamb 
and Tuttle knitting machines, but a coali- 
tion was formed with A. G. Spaulding & 
Brothers, and under a new firm name. 
The Lamb Manufacturing Company, 
sporting goods of many kinds became the 
factory product. Amos W. Page did not 
go into this new field, but established a 
needle factory in connection with the 
Lamb factory at Chicopee Falls, and until 
his death was the head of a most pros- 
perous manufacturing enterprise. He was 
a man of good business quality, enter- 
prising and public-spirited, a Republican 
in politics, and serving Chicopee Falls as 
selectman and chairman of the board. 
He was affiliated with Belcher Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; and was a 
member of several organizations, busi- 
ness, social and political in their purpose. 
Mr. Page married, October 17, 1847, 
Caroline Warren Shute, born October 31, 
1S25, and died at Chicopee Falls in 1888, 
daughter of Michael and Olive (Leavitt) 
Shute, of Effingham Falls, (Centreville) 
New Hampshire. Michael Shute was 
born in Newmarket, New Hampshire, 
and died in Biddeford, Maine. His wife, 
Olive (Leavitt) Shute, was born in Bux- 
ton, Maine. Mr. and Mrs. Page were the 
parents of five children : Francis Moore, 
born November 28, 1848, died October 5, 
1861 ; Laura Eva, born January 8, 1853; 
Ernest Lawrence, born September 6, 
1855, died February 27, 1857; Irving 
Howard, born November 15, 1858, now 
president and treasurer of the J. Stevens 



263 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



\rms & Tool Company, and officially 
/onnected with other large manufactur- 
ing enterprises ; and Woodman Shute, of 
further mention. 

(IX) Woodman Shute Woodman, 
youngest son of Amos Woodman and 
Caroline Warren (Shute) Page, was born 
in Biddeford, Maine, May 7, 1862, but 
when a young child his parents located 
at Chicopee Falls, and there he has ever 
since resided. He was educated in the 
graded and high schools and Massachu- 
setts Institute of Technology, his years of 
preparation for a business career ending 
with his attendance at the last-named. 
He became associated with his father in 
the needle jnanufacturing department of 
the Lamb Manufacturing Company, and 
at the age of twenty was foreman of a 
department. Not long afterward he was 
made a partner, and at the death of his 
honored father in 1891, Woodman S. suc- 
ceeded him as executive head under the 
title of general manager. The manufac- 
ture of needles was successfully con- 
tinued in the old plant until 1898, when 
it was moved to the present site, and in 
I9i8was incorporated as the Page Needle 
Company, Mr. Page being elected presi- 
dent of the corporation. He is also a 
trustee of the Chicopee Falls Savings 
Bank, has served as a member of the 
Board of Aldermen, and affiliated with 
Belcher Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons. In politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Page married, October 11, 1893, 
Mary Engle Hamilton, of Ballston Spa, 
Saratoga county, New York, and they 
are the parents of a son, Karl Woodman 
Page, born August 5, 1900. 



SYNAN, William Edward, M. D., 

Physician. 

For twenty-four years Dr. Synan has 
been engaged in the practice of his pro- 



fession at Fall River, specializing in sur- 
gery and diseases of women. His father, 
William Edward Synan, a native of 
County Cork, Ireland, was a carpenter 
and builder, and came to Fall River in 
1854. Here he was employed in the print 
works, was a member of the City Coun- 
cil and an active and useful citizen. One 
of his uncles was a member of the Brit- 
ish Parliament, as was also an uncle of 
his wife, Catharine (Eagen) Synan, also a 
native of County Cork, Ireland. 

Dr. William Edward Synan was born 
October 27, 1868, in Fall River, and en- 
joyed excellent educational opportunities 
in that city, passing through the high 
school. Subsequently he attended Holy 
Cross College, from which he received the 
degrees of A. B. and A. M. His medical 
education was obtained in the University 
of Pennsylvania, where he was graduated 
M. D. in 1892. For more than a year he 
was an interne at St. Joseph's Hospital, 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, thus gaining 
an experience which has proven of great 
value to him in his work. In 1893 he 
began general practice in Fall River, has 
met with encouraging success, and has 
attained a high position in the profession 
and as a citizen of Fall River. He is 
especially interested in educational and 
literary work, and has served on the 
school boards of the city. With his fam- 
ily he is affiliated with St. Mary's (Roman 
Catholic) Church of Fall River, and is a 
member of the Knights of Columbus. 
Dr. Synan was married in Providence, 
Rhode Island, January 27, 1897, to Mary 
Ellen Cunningham, a native of that city, 
daughter of James and Mary (Owen) 
Cunningham. They have one son, Wil- 
liam Edward, Jr., born November 17, 
1897, deeply interested in history and 
political economy. He graduated in 1917 
from the C. D. Borden High School of 
Fall River. 



264 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



BENT, WiUiam Edward, 

Business Man. 

William Edward Bent, of Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, traces his ancestry to 
John Bent, born November 20, 1596, 
at Penton Grafton, Parish of Weyhill, 
County of Hants, England, about seventy 
miles from London. He married, about 
1624, and in the ship "Confidence," in 
1638, with his wife Martha, and five 
children, came to New England, becom- 
ing one of the founders of Sudbury, 
where he spent the remainder of his life. 
He died September 27, 1672. His widow 
Martha died in Sudbury, May 15, 1679. 

The line of descent to William Edward 
Bent, of Springfield and Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, is through Peter Bent, son 
of John and Martha Bent, who was born 
in England, in 1629, and was brought to 
New England by his parents in 1638. 

He married Elizabeth , about 165 1, 

and settled at Marlborough, Massachu- 
setts. His home was used as a garrison, 
and was captured and burned during 
King Philip's War, and one of his sons 
was scalped. He returned to England, 
where he died in May, 1678. 

The line continues through Hopestill 
Bent, son of Peter and Elizabeth Bent, 
who was born in Marlborough, Massa- 
chusetts, January 17, 1672, ,and died at 
Sudbury, Massachusetts, August 18, 1725. 
He served as ensign in the Colonial Army 
against the French and Indians, and was 
actively engaged during the campaign 
of 1690. He married, November 27, 1700, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Mayor Thomas 
Brown. Hopestill Bent was the progeni- 
tor of the Missouri branch of the family, 
their deeds in the Indian wars and in 
pioneer work furnishing an important 
chapter in the history of the Bent family. 
From Hopestill Bent the line is through 
Thomas Bent, his son; Newell Bent, his 



son; William Henry Bent, his son; Wil- 
liam Edward Bent, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts, a worthy twentieth century 
son of the seventh generation. 

William Henry Bent was born in Sud- 
bury, Massachusetts, August 10, 1838, 
and died in Waltham, Massachusetts, 
June 8, 1893. He was educated in the 
public schools, and for a time was em- 
ployed on a farm in Sudbury, but later 
he established a soda water bottling plant 
in Waltham, Massachusetts, a business 
he followed several years. For about 
fifteen years prior to his death he was 
a member of the Waltham police force, 
compiling an honorable record as an offi- 
cer of the law. He was a member of the 
Society of Good Fellows, everybody his 
friend, and beloved by all who knew him 
well. He married Caroline Taylor, of 
Sudbury, born in 1844, died in 191 1, 
daughter of John and Caroline (Jones) 
Taylor, her grandfather, Samuel Jones, a 
soldier of the Revolution. William H. 
and Caroline Bent were the parents of 
three sons: Frederick H., a teller in the 
Beacon Trust Company, Boston, married 
Florence Bowers, and they are the par- 
ents of a son, Albert Frederick ; William 
Edward, of further mention ; Harold L., 
married Isla L. Pownell, and has two 
daughters : Marjorie and Helen. 

William Edward Bent, of the seventh 
generation, second son of William H. 
and Caroline (Taylor) Bent, was born in 
Waltham, Massachusetts, August 20, 
1873, and was there educated in the pub- 
lic schools. After finishing his school 
years he was employed in a Waltham 
lumber-yard for about five years, going 
thence to Boston, remaining for about 
four years, and for a like period was in 
Leominster, Massachusetts, going thence 
to New Haven, Connecticut, where he 
was employed for about twelve years. 
During all these years he was in the lum- 



265 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ber business as an employee, excepting 
the last two years of his stay in New 
Haven. During that period he was a 
partner in the Smith & Bent Lumber 
Company. At the expiration of two 
years the firm dissolved, and in 191 3, Mr. 
Bent located at Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
where he formed the William E. Bent 
Company to handle a general line of 
builders' finishing lumber. Of this cor- 
poration he is vice-president and general 
manager. He is a thorough master of 
the lumber business, having given his 
entire business life to lumber dealing in 
many localities and under widely-varied 
conditions. Mr. Bent is a member of 
Annawan Lodge, No. 115, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Joseph Andrus Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, of West Haven, 
Connecticut; Harmony Council, of New 
Haven, Connecticut ; Springfield Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar ; in religious 
faith he is a Universalist. Politically he 
is a Republican. 

Mr. Bent married, October 9, 1895, 
Blanche A. Jackson, of Waltham, Massa- 
chusetts, daughter of Atwood J. and Inez 
(Conner) Jackson. Atwood J. Jackson 
was born in Jefiferson, Maine, September 
27, 1850, son of Joseph and Arietta 
(Flagg) Jackson, the former named born 
in Jefferson, Maine, and the latter named 
in Nobleboro, Maine ; grandson of Joseph 
and (Ames) Jackson, and great- 
grandson of Samuel and (Erskine) 

Jackson. Mr. and Mrs. Bent are the par- 
ents of two daughters: Miriam and Car- 
oline Inez, and a son, Atwood H. Bent. 
The family home is in Longmeadow, 
Massachusetts. 



ATKINSON, Isaac, 

Representative Citizen, 

Isaac Atkinson, now living retired at 
Chicopee Falls, is of English birth, the 



son of Thomas Atkinson, who died in 
England, April 15, 1898, aged seventy-one 
years. Thomas Atkinson married Anna 
Greenwood, and they were the parents of 
the following children : John, deceased ; 
Mary, deceased ; Sarah Ellen, who mar- 
ried William Howarth, deceased ; James 
Henry; Elizabeth, married Joshua Firth, 
deceased ; Abraham ; Isaac ; Joseph ; Leah, 
who married Calvert Shaw. 

Isaac Atkinson, son of Thomas Atkin- 
son, was born in Ovenden, Yorkshire, 
England, November 9, 1855, and there 
obtained his schooling. He began work 
in a worsted mill when eight years of age, 
being employed one-half day in the mill 
and spending one-half day in school. 
This continued until he was thirteen 
years of age, when he was allowed, under 
the then law, to become a full day worker. 
He became an expert mill worker, familiar 
with every detail, especially expert as a 
spinner. He could have had an over- 
seer's position while yet under twenty, 
but he had determined to follow another 
business, and he began working in a 
boiler factory, his ambition being to 
become an engineer. He began as a fire- 
man, but it was not long before he was 
running both engine and boilers, becom- 
ing proficient as an engineer. He con- 
tinued in this business in England until 
January, 1882, when he came to the United 
States by way of Halifax, finally arriving 
at Springfield, Massachusetts. He went 
thence to Thompsonville, Connecticut, 
where he was employed in the Carpet 
Mills, later returning to Springfield. Here 
he was employed by George Tapley as 
fireman until 1885, in which year he set- 
tled at Chicopee Falls, his present home. 
He was first employed at Chicopee Falls 
by Wardell & Rice, then went with L. H. 
Mitchell, and for twenty-nine years he 
was employed by these two firms, driving 
a bakery cart over the routes, serving the 



266 





'u^ ■ li\ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



towns of Indian Orchard and Ludlow. In 
1915 he retired from his position, and has 
since devoted himself to the care of his 
real estate interests, his investments hav- 
ing been along that line for many years. 
He has gained the esteem of the commun- 
ity in which he has resided for more than 
a quarter of a century. He was a member 
of the Advent Christian Church, and 
politically is a supporter of the Republi- 
can party. 

Mr. Atkinson married, December 23, 
1877, Adeline Dyson, of Bridghouse, 
Yorkshire, England, daughter of Charles 
and Ellen (Barnes) Dyson. They are 
the parents of five children: i. Thomas 
Henry, born in Halifax, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, August 7, 1878: a tool maker, ma- 
chinist and draughtsman of Springfield, 
Massachusetts ; he married Agnes Mc- 
Nich, of Brooklyn, New York, and they 
are the parents of Adeline Louise, born 
March 15, 1909, Thomas Milton, August 
I, 1910, Wallace Norman, July i, 1913. 2. 
Rowland, born July 17, 1880; married 
(second) Edna Grace Fairbanks ; has an 
adopted daughter, Elizabeth Carolyn. 3. 
Abraham. 4. Georgia. 5. Robert. The 
three youngest children died in infancy. 



MARTIN, Adolphus Rodney, 

Business Man, Postmaster. 

Tracing his ancestry on the paternal 
side to early New England days, Adol- 
phus Rodney Martin has earned honor- 
able mention through his own deeds, and 
as farmer. Civil War veteran, merchant, 
and postmaster, has proved the strength 
of his devotion to the best ideals of pri- 
vate and civic life. He is now living 
practically retired from business cares 
after serving the people of Chicopee Falls 
for thirty-five years as merchant and post- 
master. The ancestry of Adolphus R. 
Martin is traced from General William 



Martin, of the British army, whose son, 
William, is the American ancestor. An- 
other son of General Martin went to 
France, but this review deals only with a 
branch of the American family which 
settled in Rhode Island. From General 
Martin down, the name William has been 
retained in the family, every American 
ancestor of Adolphus R. Martin having 
borne it as a given name. The line of 
descent in New England is through Wil- 
liam Martin, the founder; his son, Wil- 
liam H. Martin; his son, William H. (2) 
Martin, a farmer of Rhode Island; his 
son, William H. (3) Martin; his son, 
Adolphus Rodney Martin, of Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, whose career with 
that of his father, is herein traced. 

William H. (3) Martin was born in 
Rhode Island, about the year 1813, and 
died in Chicopee, Massachusetts, Febru- 
ary 14, 1875. He attended the district 
school, and was employed on the farm 
by his father until fourteen years of age, 
when he left home and learned the 
cabinet-maker's trade. He did not con- 
tinue long at this, but learned tool- 
making, becoming an expert tool-maker 
and worker in metal. After completing 
his last apprenticeship, he left Rhode 
Island, and for a time was employed in 
a machine shop in Keene, New Hamp- 
shire. From Keene he removed to Hol- 
yoke, Massachusetts, where he was em- 
ployed by the Deane Steam Pump Com- 
pany, until locating in Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, with the Ames Manufacturing 
Company as a machinist. This was his 
final change, his connection with the 
Ames Company continuing until his 
death, a period of thirty-five years. He 
was a member of Chicopee Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; an attendant 
of the Third Congregational Church of 
Chicopee, and a man respected wherever 
known. 



267 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Martin married (first) Avis Angell, 
daughter of Henry Angell, of the famous 
Rhode Island family. He married (sec- 
ond) Silence Hoskins. Children of first 
marriage: I. Henry, a soldier of the 
Union, who after the War between the 
States ended, reenlisted in the regular 
army, served five years, then was ap- 
pointed to a government position in the 
Western frontier, and was killed by the 
Indians at the battle of the Little Big 
Horn, with Custer and his entire com- 
mand. 2. James, also a soldier of the 
Civil War, who died at Harrison's Land- 
ing, Virginia, from a disease contracted 
during the Seven Days' fighting with the 
Army of the Potomac under General 
George B. McClellan. 3. Adolphus R., of 
further mention. Children of second mar- 
riage : 4. Horace E., deceased. 5. James. 
6. Mary, deceased. 

Adolphus R. Martin, youngest son of 
William H. (3) Martin and his first wife, 
Avis (Angell) Martin, was born in Woon- 
socket, Rhode Island, November 4, 1844. 
When later the parents moved to New 
Hampshire, he attended the district 
schools at Chesterfield, during the few 
weeks of the winter terms, but he is 
largely a self-educated man. He began 
to assist his family as early as four years 
of age, braiding hats, and at six could 
braid an entire hat. Later he worked on 
a farm, going to Windham, Vermont, at 
the age of ten, and there remaining until 
September, 1863, when he enlisted in 
Company G, First Regiment, Vermont 
Heavy Artillery. The First Vermont was 
attached to the Army of the Potomac, 
and with this regiment Mr. Martin fought 
in sixteen important battles, including 
the hard-fought battle of the Wilderness, 
where 30,000 men were killed and 
wounded ; Cold Harbor, where 26,000 
were killed and wounded ; City Point, 
Petersburg, Weldon Railroad, Charles- 



ton, Winchester, Cedar Creek, Fisher's 
Hill, Petersburg, Sailor's Run, and num- 
erous skirmishes, coming out of all with- 
out injury save a slight wound from a 
fragment of shell. He was honorably dis- 
charged and mustered out August 25, 
1865, he then returning to Windham, Ver- 
mont, the town from which he had 
enlisted. 

For two years after his return from 
the army, Mr. Martin engaged in farming 
at Windham, then was in similar occupa- 
tion at Jamaica, Vermont, there remain- 
ing until going to Middletown, Connecti- 
cut, where he was in charge of wards at 
the State Insane Asylum. After a year 
at Middletown he went to Florence, Mas- 
sachusetts, there becoming associated 
with the shipping department of the 
Florence Sewing Machine Company, re- 
maining two years, until 1873. In that 
year he permanently located in Chicopee 
Falls, Massachusetts, becoming associated 
with the Stevens Arms and Tool Com- 
pany, and later entered the clothing bus- 
iness as clerk for P. W. Smith. He 
retained that position for three years, 
resigning it to go with the Lamb Knit- 
ting Machine Company. He later bought 
out the P. W. Smith clothing business, 
and for nineteen years he successfully 
conducted that business, handling, besides 
clothing, boots, shoes and hats. After 
nineteen years of continuous proprietor- 
ship he retired to accept appointment as 
postmaster of Chicopee Falls, and for six- 
teen consecutive years he retained that 
ofifice, retiring at the end of that period 
to private life, bearing the good will of 
every patron of the office and leaving 
behind him a record of efficient manage- 
ment which won him the commendation 
of the department. He is a trustee and 
vice-president of the Chicopee Falls Sav- 
ings Bank, also serves that institution as 
a member of the finance committee. He 



268 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



is a Republican in politics, has served on 
the ward committees, but has served his 
city not as a partisan but as a loyal citi- 
zen, interested only that Chicopee Falls 
might have the greatest good from his 
services. He is a member of Belcher 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
Chicopee ; Unity Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Springfield Council, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Springfield Command- 
ery. Knights Templar; Chicopee Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias ; and is a deacon of 
the Second Congregational Church. 

Mr. Martin married, November 3, 1870, 
Celia M. Orcutt, of Buckland, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Thomas and Minerva 
(Taylor) Orcutt, 'and of the ninth genera- 
tion of the family founded in New Eng- 
land by William Orcutt early in the sev- 
enteenth century. Mr. and Mrs. Martin 
are the parents of a daughter, Cora M., a 
graduate of Smith College. 



HASKINS, Daniel Parris, 
Business Man. 

A native son of Vermont, Mr. Haskins 
has spent the past ten years in Massachu- 
setts, engaged in merchandising, and 
since 191 1 has been a successful coal 
dealer of Chicopee, Massachusetts. 

(I) The earliest record of this branch 
of the Haskins family is found in Dutchess 
county. New York, where Abel Haskins, 
a farmer, resided in Nine Partners prior 
to settling in Danby, Vermont. At the 
age of twenty-five years he left his home 
in Nine Partners, Dutchess county, New 
York, and journeyed to Danby, Vermont, 
there taking possession of a tract of wild 
land upon which he built a log cabin 
which was his home during the early 
years of settlement. He was accom- 
panied by his wife, Mary (Bell) Haskins, 
of Norwich, Connecticut, of Welsh an- 
cestry, a woman of uncommon energy, a 



fitting pioneer's wife. She brought an 
apple tree with her from New York, which 
was set out and carefully tended, becom- 
ing one of the features of the homestead 
and known as the "Nine Partners" apple 
tree. Abel Haskins and his wife endured 
all the privations and dangers of pioneer 
life, but persevered and there in the for- 
est founded a home and reared a family 
of hardy men and gentle women. He was 
a man of intelligence, upright and honor- 
able, conscientiously scruplous in the 
performance of every duty. He died very 
suddenly in 1820, aged seventy. His 
widow, Mary (Bell) Haskins, survived 
him until 1839, dying at the age of eighty 
years. They were the parents of: Wil- 
liam, married Judith Haskins, and lived 
upon the homestead at Danby until 
within a few years of his death in 1848, 
aged sixty-nine; Abel (2), of further 
mention ; Diller, married Rachel Calkins, 
and lived in the south part of the town of 
Danby ; Mary, married Reid Mahurin ; 
Ruth, married Elisha Tyron. 

(II) Abel (2) Haskins, second son of 
Abel (i) and Mary (Bell) Haskins, was 
born in Danby, Vermont, January 31, 
1782, and died March 5, 1877. He grew 
to manhood at the home farm and was his 
father's assistant for many years. Fin- 
ally he moved to East Rupert, Vermont, 
where he bought the tavern which he 
owned for several years, but finally sold 
to George Jenks. He lived to the great 
age of ninety-five years, from 1782 to 
1877. He married Miranda Stannard, 
born April 26, 1788, died March 17, 1873. 
They were the parents of seven children : 
Harvey, of further mention ; Alvah, mar- 
ried Rosette Lamphire ; Margaret, mar- 
ried Jacob Odel ; Phebe, married George 
Jenks ; Jane, married Parker Fitch ; Lu- 
cette, married Orville Nichols ; Ania, 
married Elihu Towsley. 

(HI) Harvey Haskins, eldest child of 



269 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Abel (2) and Miranda (Stannard) Ras- 
kins, was born in Danby, Vermont, De- 
cember 22, 1808, and died July 10, 1871. 
After his marriage he moved to Middle- 
town, Vermont, and there purchased 
what is yet known as the "Raskins 
Farm" on Coy Hill. He married, Octo- 
ber 16, 1831, Mary Parris, daughter of 
Daniel Parris, a woman of remarkable 
business ability and energy, who died De- 
cember 15, 1884, aged seventy-two. They 
were the parents of eleven children: i. 
Anjanette, born October 31, 1833, died 
April 30, 1903; married (first) Robert 
Thew, of Saranac, New Jersey; (second) 
Levi S. Brownell, of Manston, Wiscon- 
sin. 2. Abel, born June 28, 1835. 3. So- 
phronia, born March 26, 1837, married 
Adin Hudson Green, of Middletown 
Springs, Vermont. 4. Helen A., born 
May 12, 1839, married Alvin G. Hoadley, 
of Middletown, Vermont. 5. Erwin, of 
further mention. 6. George Emerson, 
born August 22, 1843, died October 27, 
1871. 7. Parris Cook, born July 3. 1845, 
died November 5, 1865. 8. Sidney Leroy, 
born July 18, 1849. 9- Julia Ella, born 
January 3, 1850, married (first) Edwin 
A. Brown ; (second) Reuben T. Snyder. 
10. Gustav.us Adolphus, born May 9, 
1852. II. William Edward, born Novem- 
ber 2, 1857, died April 4, 1864. Left a 
widow in 1871, her youngest child four- 
teen years of age, and the farm heavily 
mortgaged, Mrs. Raskins, assisted by her 
son Erwin, addressed herself to the task 
of clearing her home from debt, and in 
this efifort she was successful, her son, 
Erwin, assisting her for two years. She 
established a cheese factory, and from a 
dairy of thirty cows paid the debt and 
lived in comfort until her summons came. 
(IV) Erwin Raskins, fifth child of 
Rarvey and Mary (Parris) Raskins, was 
born at the Raskins Farm, Middletown, 
Vermont, March 26, 1842, and died in 



Danby, Vermont, April 16, 191 1. He was 
educated in the public schools of Middle- 
town, Fairfax Academy, and at Albany, 
New York ; he for a time teaching school 
at Poughkeepsie, New York. In 1863 he 
enlisted in Company C, Tenth Regiment, 
Vermont Infantry, and saw hard service, 
although his term of service was short. 
For two years after the death of his 
father he assisted his mother in the man- 
agement of her dairy farm and cheese 
factory, was for a time in the grocery bus- 
iness at East Poultney, Vermont, and 
later lived at Wells, Vermont, where the 
greater part of his life was passed. Re 
became a noted road builder, and in the 
course of his career constructed public 
race tracks at Cambridge and Glens Falls, 
New York. He built several private 
tracks, and kept many others in repair at 
fair grounds and on private estates. He 
served the town of Wells as road com- 
missioner and was selectman for many 
years, and always active in the affairs of 
the town. He married, January 2, 1871, 
Laura Maria Lewis, born April 8, 1847, 
died May 16, 1910, daughter of Orlin 
and Martha (Wordin) Lewis, of Wells, 
Vermont, granddaughter of Barnebas 
and Rachel (Curtis) Lewis, great-grand- 
daughter of Benjamin and Mary (Mat- 
thews) Lewis, and great-great-grand- 
daughter of Ebenezer Lewis, the early 
settler of Wallingford, Connecticut, son 
of Captain William and Mary (Hopkins) 
Lewis, Captain William being the son of 
William Lewis, the English founder of 
the family in New England. Erwin and 
Laura Maria (Lewis) Raskins were the 
parents of three sons and three daugh- 
ters: I. Elsie Martha, born November 
18, 1871, married Frank Woods; chil- 
dren, Walter C. and Lawrence L. 2. 
Lottie Lewis, born September 26, 1873, 
married Dr. W. L. Wallace, of Philadel- 
phia, four children : Harriett Laura, Sid- 



270 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



ney Warner, Donald Conover, Jeanette 
Muriel. 3. Edgar Lewis, born June 20, 
1876, married Mary License ; children : 
Vera, Leroy License, Doris Elizabeth, 
Leslie Lewis and Bertha Lena. 4. Daniel 
Parris, of further mention. 5. Helen 
Clara, born Augiist 14, 1884, married 
Leroy Shaw ; children : Wilbur, Lewis, 
Mildred. 6. Florence F., born June 4, 
1887, married Simon Adams, of Pawlet, 
Vermont. 

(V) Daniel Parris Haskins, youngest 
son of Erwin and Laura Maria (Lewis) 
Haskins, was born at Wells, Vermont, 
December 7, 1881. After completing pub- 
lic school courses, and graduating from 
Wells High School, he entered Albany 
(New York) Business College, from 
which he was graduated in 1899. He 
specialized in stenography and typewrit- 
ing at Rutland (Vermont) Busmess Col- 
lege, in the fall and winter of 1902-03, 
then for two years was an instructor in 
telegraphy and typewriting at that insti- 
tution. In February, 1905, Mr. Haskins 
accepted a position as bookkeeper with 
the H. C. White Company, of North Ben- 
nington, Vermont, there continuing until 
March i, 1908, when he moved to Flor- 
ence, Massachusetts, in the town of 
Northampton, where he engaged in busi- 
ness with William H. Rice, in the boot 
and shoe business, also dealing in coal 
and wood. This association continued 
until 191 1, when Mr. Haskins moved to 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, purchased an 
established coal and wood business, and 
has since devoted himself to its success- 
ful management. He is a member of the 
Chicopee Lodge, Free and Accepted Ma- 
sons, and Unity Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, of Chicopee Falls ; he was made 
a Mason while residing in Rutland. He 
also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of 
America, and to the Third Congrega- 
tional Church, which he serves as deacon 



and as a member of the prudential com- 
mittee. He is a man of sterling char- 
acter, and in his business undertakings 
has been uniformly successful. 

Mr. Haskins married, April 12, 1906, at 
Florence, Massachusetts, Eva Mae Rice, 
daughter of William H. and Josephine 
(Wade) Rice. They are the parents of: 
William Collis, born April 19, 1907; Don- 
ald Wade, November 23, 191 1; Arthur 
Lewis, October 9, 1913. 



KNIGHT, John Bliss, 

Financier. 

Richard Knight, who died in Worces- 
ter, Massachusetts, in 1813, was a descend- 
ant of Richard Knight, one of the early 
settlers of Providence, Rhode Island. 

(I) Richard Knight, born in 1778, died 
in 1813, was the great-grandfather of 
John Bliss Knight, of Chicopee Falls, 
Massachusetts, treasurer of the Chicopee 
Falls Savings Bank. 

(II) Asa Miller Knight, son of Rich- 
ard Knight, born June 17, 1809, died in 
Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1885. He 
was a plumber by trade, living in Brim- 
field, Massachusetts, locating there under 
the firm name, A. M. Knight & Son. He 
married Nancy Hersey, and they were 
the parents of a son, Edwin Lewis, of 
further mention, and three daughters : 
Elizabeth, married J. Henry Muzzy ; 
Nancy and Rebecca. 

(III) Edwin Lewis Knight, son of Asa 
Miller Knight, was born in Brimfield, 
Massachusetts, January 25, 1839, and died 
in Thomaston, Georgia, December 24, 
1909. He attended the public schools of 
Brimfield until fifteen years of age, when 
the family moved to Springfield, his 
school days then ending. He was in the 
office employ of the Hampden Paint & 
Chemical Company of Springfield, for a 
few vears, but at the outbreak of war 



271 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



between the states he enlisted in the 
Tenth Regiment, Volunteer Infantry. 
This regiment was a part of the Army of 
the Potomac, and in this organization he 
served his full term of enlistment of three 
years. He won several promotions for 
gallantry in action. His first came June 
2, 1861, when he was made second ser- 
geant; from this he was soon advanced 
to the rank of second lieutenant, and on 
November i, 1862, he was commissioned 
captain. At the battle of Spottsylvania 
Court House, May 12, 1864, he was 
wounded, and at the expiration of his 
term was honorably discharged and mus- 
tered out of service. On May 13, 1865, he 
was commissioned major, by brevet. 
After his return from the war Captain 
Knight returned to Springfield, and was 
admitted to partnership with his father, 
Asa M. Knight, and until 1891 he was 
actively engaged in the heating and 
plumbing business under the firm name, 
A. M. Knight & Son. The exposures and 
hardships had implanted the seeds of dis- 
ease within him and in 1891 they had so 
far developed that his health forbade his 
longer continuance in business. He lived 
practically retired from business cares 
until his death in 1909. He maintained 
an active interest in all public affairs and 
current events all through his life, but 
would never accept public office, although 
often importuned by his party friends. 
He was a member of the Grand Army of 
the Republic ; the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion of the United States, and 
of Hope Congregational Church. 

Major Knight married, June 19, 1865, 
Harriet Ells, born April 7, 1841, died 
June 7, 1903, daughter of Edwin and 
Mary (Rumrill) Ells, of Springfield, Mas- 
sachusetts. They were the parents of 
five sons : Edwin Ells, Arthur, Frederick 
Asa, John Bliss, of further mention ; and 
Harry Raymond, deceased. 

(IV) John Bliss Knight, fourth son of 



Major Edwin Lewis and Harriet (Ells) 
Knight, was born in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, April 7, 1875, and was there 
educated in the public schools, complet- 
ing the high school and graduating in 
the class of 1894. He entered business 
life February 18, 1893, his first position 
being with the Pynchon National Bank 
of Springfield, and for eight years, 1893- 
1901, he remained with that bank in con- 
stantly increasing positions of trust, his 
last that of assistant teller. In 1901 he 
transferred his services to the Hampden 
Trust Company of Springfield, and for 
seven years continued with that bank as 
bookkeeper and teller. He resigned his 
position in December, 1908, and on Janu- 
ary I, 1909, entered the Chicopee Falls 
Savings Bank as its treasurer and mem- 
ber of the board of trustees. Ten years 
have since elapsed and he has most ac- 
ceptably performed the duties of his 
responsible position. The business of the 
bank has doubled in volume during this 
period, and in 1916 a new bank building 
was erected to properly care for this great 
increase and give it a worthy home. Mr. 
Knight is a member of several business 
organizations, and is fraternally affiliated 
with Springfield Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Morning Star Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Springfield Coun- 
cil, Royal and Select Masters ; Springfield 
Commandery, Knights Templar ; Melba 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. He is also a member 
of Grace Church, of Chicopee, a member 
of the vestry and treasurer of the church. 
Mr. Knight married, October 23, 1907, 
Ethel Myrick, born in Boston, but a resi- 
dent of Springfield for many years, 
daughter of Orin D. and Mary (Allen) 
Myrick. They are the parents of three 
sons: John Bliss (2), born March 3, 
Paul Myrick, born October 30, 
Richard Allen, born March 10, 



1910; 

1914; 
1917. 



272 




r//// 



/y/ r4 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



HINES, John, Lieutenant, 

Civil War Veteran. 

For seventy years John Hines was 
known to the people of Chicopee, Massa- 
chusetts, he coming to that city a lad of 
nine years. He was one of the heroes of 
the Civil War, winning his rank, lieuten- 
ant, for "gallant and meritorious service," 
and through merit alone rose from the 
ranks. He was born in the County of 
Kings, Ireland, May i6, 1837, and died at 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, January 
30, 1917. He was the son of Patrick and 
Ann (Coughlin) Hines, John being one of 
a family of five children, namely : Cath- 
erine, John, Martin, Patrick. Mary. 

When John Hines was about nine years 
of age he was brought to the United 
States, a home being made for him in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, where he ever 
afterward lived. He attended public 
schools in Chicopee, and when school 
days were ended, being a well developed 
lad, able to turn his hand to most any 
kind of work, he was variously employed 
until his enlistment in the army. He 
enlisted in Company E, Thirty-first Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, 
November 5, 1861, and served continu- 
ously until he was discharged, February 
22, 1864. Six days later, February 28, 

1864, he reenlisted in the same organiza- 
tions, serving until honorably discharged 
with the rank of lieutenant, September 9, 

1865, having served four years. He rose 
from the grade of private through all 
intermediate grades to his lieutenancy, 
was wounded at Baton Rouge, and made a 
record for obedience and gallantry which 
won him the respect of his superior offi- 
cers and honorable mention in official 
despatches. After the war was over he 
spent two years in the West with his 
brother engaged in stock raising in Kan- 
sas, then returned to Chicopee Falls, 



where he built the American House, and 
became its proprietor, continuing some 
years, then selling the business. He was 
an active, zealous member of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, belonging to Otis 
Chapman Post, of which he was senior 
vice-commander at the time of his death. 
He was a member of St. Patrick's Roman 
Catholic Church of Chicopee Falls, his 
residence, No. 263 Grove street. 

Lieutenant Hines married, September 
6, 1870, Mary Ann Dillane, of Chicopee 
Falls, who survives him. She is the 
daughter of James and Mary (McKelop) 
Dillane. They were the parents of the 
following children : Mary, died aged 
four years ; Agnes, deceased, married 
Frank J. Shea, and has a son, Cyril E. ; 
Grace and James, deceased; John (2), 
born September 20, 1880, the only one 
now living; William; Robert and Mar- 
tin, twins, deceased ; Helena, deceased. 
Lieutenant Hines's funeral was held from 
his home, February i, 1917, followed by a 
requiem high mass at St. Patrick's 
Church. 



SEAVER, Charles Joseph, 

Financier, Public Official. 

Charles Joseph Seaver, treasurer of the 
Chicopee Savings Bank, Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, came to this position after a 
preparatory course in practical finance 
and banking with the Springfield Institu- 
tion for Savings, which began when he 
was a lad of eighteen years of age and 
continued through a period of twenty 
years, 1890-1910. Thus twenty-eight of 
his forty-six years have been spent with 
these two institutions, similar in purpose, 
and not widely separated in location. The 
bank whose funds he safeguards was 
founded in Chicopee, in 1854, and has an 
honorable past history, the present man- 
agement one of the strongest in its his- 
tory. 



273 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



(I) Mr. Seaver is a great-grandson of 
John Seaver, of Monson, Massachusetts, 
who had sons, George and Pearly, the lat- 
ter the grandfather of Charles J. Seaver, 
of Chicopee, Massachusetts, 

(II) Pearly Seaver, son of John and 
Susanna Seaver, was born in Monson, 
Massachusetts, October 4, 1812, and died 
at Riddicksville, North Carolina, in 1887, 
aged seventy-five years. He was a skilled 
machinist, long employed in Worcester 
and Oxford, Massachusetts, and for a 
short time was in Holyoke, similarly 
engaged. He was in the South employed 
with the Washington Plow Works, then 
was a farmer of the State of Indiana, for 
a time, returning thence to Worcester, 
Massachusetts, where he remained until 
going to South Carolina, residing there 
until his death. He married Julia Maria 
Field, born in Sharon, Massachusetts, 
May 5, 1814, died in Holyoke, Massachu- 
setts, in 1891, daughter of John and Julia 
(Titus) Field. They were the parents of 
three sons and three daughters : Julia 
Maria, William Titus, John Fletcher, 
Charles Edson, of further mention ; Ann 
Eliza, married General Embury P. Clark ; 
and Elizabeth Field, married Hugh Craig. 

(HI) Rev. Charles Edson Seaver, 
youngest son of Pearly and Julia Maria 
(Field) Seaver, was born in Worcester, 
Massachusetts, December 25, 1849, and 



years, then for one year was at Heath, 
Massachusetts, his health there breaking, 
causing him to retire from the ministry. 
After retirement he located in Holyoke, 
where he utilized his musical talent in 
teaching both vocal and instrumental 
music during the rest of his life. He was 
a man with a warm sympathetic nature, a 
conscientious, devoted minister of the 
Gospel, of pure christian character, and 
devoted to home and family. He was a 
strong advocate of the temperance cause, 
and accomplished much good in this 
direction. 

Rev. Seaver married, in February, 1871, 
Emma Clough, of Chicopee Falls, Massa- 
chusetts, born October 12, 1847, daughter 
of Joseph and Lucy (Humphrey) Clough. 
Mrs. Seaver survived her husband and 
married (second) Dwight S. Warner, now 
deceased. Rev. Charles E. and Emma 
(Clough) Seaver were the parents of two 
sons : Charles J., of further mention ; and 
Edgar W., born January 19, 1874, died in 
October, 1900. 

(IV) Charles Joseph Seaver, eldest son 
of Rev. Charles Edson Seaver, was born 
in North Dana, Massachusetts, January 
23, 1872. His father was engaged in the 
itinerant ministry of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church during the early boyhood of 
his son, whose public school education 
began after the family permanently set- 



died in Holyoke, Massachusetts, NovemTj; tied in Chicopee Falls, there passing 



ber 5, 1881. He was educated in the pub- 
lic schools and in Wesleyan University, 
beginning life as a clerk in Luddington's 
Drug Store, Holyoke, Massachusetts, 
that store then located in the Exchange 
Block. Later he studied theology, was 
ordained a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church ; began his ministry in 
1872, as pastor in North Dana, Massa- 
chusetts, where he remained two years. 
He was pastor at North New Salem, two 
years, was settled over the church at 
South Deerfield, Massachusetts, three 



through high school. After graduation 
from this he entered business life as office 
clerk, being employed for a tirne with the 
Carter Electric Company, and later with 
the Chicopee Manufacturing Company. 
He was so employed until November, 
1890, when he secured an office position 
with the Springfield Institution for Sav- 
ings, Springfield, Massachusetts, his im- 
mediate employer Henry S. Lee. He 
began at the bottom, and for twenty years 
remained with the institution, rising in 
rank to a highly honorable position. 



274 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



His connection with the instittuion 
brought him into relation with financiers 
and business men elsewhere, and in 1910 
he was offered the position of treasurer of 
the Chicopee Savings Bank. He at once 
resigned his position with the Springfield 
Institution for Savings, and the same 
month, August, 1910, entered upon his 
duties as treasurer of the Chicopee Sav- 
ings Bank. At one time Mr. Seaver was 
a director of the Lamb Knitting Com- 
pany, and has long been interested in the 
public and fraternal life of Chicopee. He 
served as a member of the Board of Al- 
dermen six years, representing Ward 4, 
and twice was elected alderman-at-large. 
He served as president of the board for 
three years, and now is a member of the 
school committee, the present being his 
third term on that body, each term for a 
period of three years. He is a trustee and 
treasurer of the Chicopee Falls Cemetery 
Association ; member and a trustee of the 
Methodist Episcopal church of Chicopee 
Falls. He holds all degrees of the 
York Rite Masonry, belonging to Belcher 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
Unity Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, both 
of Chicopee Falls ; Springfield Council, 
Royal and Select Masters, and Spring- 
field Commandery, Knights Templar, 
both of Springfield, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Seaver married, September i, 
1903, Georgiana Elmina Ayers, born in 
Hebron, New York, daughter of George 
and Susanna E. (Laing) Ayers. They 
are the parents of: Azuba Ruth, born 
September 3, 1904; Charles William, 
born October 21, 1908; Beatrice Louise, 
born December 30, 1909. 



MITCHELL, Linwood Henry, 

Business Man. 

Linwood Henry Mitchell, of Chicopee 
Falls, the story of whose life follows, is 



well known in his adopted city and its 
vicinity as the head of a large baking bus- 
iness which he has developed from a 
small beginning made in the year 1888. 
Thirty years have since elapsed, years of 
continued increase in business and repu- 
tation, until now he ranks with the influ- 
ential men of Chicopee Falls. 

d) The American ancestor, John Mit- 
chell, was born in the North of Ireland, 
about the year 1804, and died in Dedham, 
Maine, in 1883. He came to Penobscot, 
Maine, as a pioneer and built a log house 
on land he bought within a few miles of 
the city of Bangor, and as the years rolled 
on and prosperity came to him the old log 
house was replaced by a modern and 
larger farm house. He cleared and im- 
proved his land, built barns, and other- 
wise made his farm such as a successful 
farmer of his day might take pride in. 
This old homestead is now owned by his 
grandson, Linwood H. Mitchell, of Chico- 
pee Falls. He married, in Penobscot, 
Maine, Mary Hayney, and they were the 
parents of five sons and three daughters: 
William, John, Arilla, Thomas, Silas, of 
further mention ; Nancy, Sewall, Mary. 

(II) Silas Mitchell, son of John Mit- 
chell, the founder, was born at the home- 
stead in Dedham, Maine, in 1840, and died 
in Penobscot, Maine, in the year 1900. 
From youth he followed the calling of a 
lumberman, working in the logging 
camps, taking part in the spring drives 
to tidewater, worked in the saw mills, 
and drove a lumber carrying team. When 
the rigor and hardship of a lumberman's 
life no longer held attractions for him he 
opened a general store in Penobscot, 
Maine, but this was late in life, all his 
active years having been spent in lum- 
bering operations of some kind. He was 
a man of good standing in his commun- 
ity, was affiliated with the Masonic order, 
and widely and favorably known as a 



275 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



man of industry and integrity. He mar- 
ried at Ellsworth, Maine, Julia Brown, 
born in 1840, died in 1869, daughter of 
Enoch Brown. They were the parents of 
Linwood Henry, and George, who died, 
leaving a widow and children : Dorothy, 
Phyllis, Silas, and Everett. 

(Ill) Linwood H. Mitchell, eldest son 
of Silas and Julia (Brown) Mitchell, was 
born in Ellsworth, Maine, September 27, 
1863, and there obtained a good public 
school education. He then began wage 
earning, was an employee in a saw mill, 
then for about three years was engaged 
in a hotel at Bar Harbor, Maine's famous 
summer resort. In 1881 he came to Mas- 
sachusetts, located in Springfield, and for 
seven years was a grocery clerk, about 
half of that period being with J. S. Carr, 
wholesale cracker manufacturer. Dur- 
ing the month of September, 1888, Mr. 
Mitchell carried into efifect a long- 
cherished ambition, and began business 
under his own name, choosing Chicopee 
Falls as the location, and there starting a 
bakery in a very modest way. He em- 
ployed skilled bakers, bought good mater- 
ials, dealt fairly with his customers, and 
prospered. The little bakery and shop 
has been succeeded by others capable of 
accommodating the large trade, while 
twenty-two people and several teams are 
required to bake and distribute the goods. 
The present block in which his business 
is located was bought by Mr. Mitchell in 
1908. Mr. Mitchell is an energetic busi- 
ness man. He is affiliated with his fel- 
lowmen in several of the leading fraterni- 
ties, being a member of Belcher Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Unity Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Chicopee Lodge, 
No. 115; Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows ; Chicopee Commandery, Knights of 
Pythias ; and in his political preference 
is a Republican. 

Mr. Mitchell married, October 20, 1887, 



Ida Warner, of Springfield, Massachu- 
setts, daughter of Alfred A. and Mary 
(Palmer) Warner. Mr. and Mrs. Mit- 
chell are the parents of two daughters : 
Ruth Madeline and Leta. 



WEBSTER, George, 

Contracting Plumber. 

George Webster, of Chicopee, well and 
favorably known in the plumbing and 
steamfitting trade, although a compara- 
tively new comer in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, has won a strong position among 
the business men of his town, his plumb- 
ing and heating business being firmly 
established and well patronized. He is a 
son of George Webster, born in England, 
and now (1918) residing there, aged 
sixty-five years. Mr. Webster is a black- 
smith, having learned the trade in youth, 
and always followed it. He married 
Mary Frances Johnson, and they are the 
parents of: Joseph Walter, William 
James, George (2), of further mention; 
Frances Annie, and Thomas. 

George (2) Webster was born in Lei- 
cestershire, England, November 26, 1885, 
and there attended public schools. After 
arriving at suitable age he learned the 
plumber's trade, at which he was engaged 
at the age of twenty, when he came to 
the United States, arriving in Buffalo, 
New York, in 1905, having landed at 
Quebec, Canada. He remained in Buffalo 
but a short time, going thence to Boston, 
Massachusetts, and soon afterward locat- 
ing permanently in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts. He was employed at his trade for 
about two years in Chicopee, then started 
in business for himself as a contracting 
plumber. He has built up a prosperous 
business, his specialties being plumbing, 
hot water and steam-heating systems for 
dwellings, business blocks, mills and fac- 
tories. 



276 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Mr. Webster married, in July, 191 1, 
Kate A. Retaj, of Chicopee, a widow, 
daughter of Jacob Kazennenski, born in 
Poland. By her first marriage she had 
children: Peter and Alieni. Mr. and Mrs. 
Webster are the parents of a daughter, 
Frances Lillian, and a son, George Ed- 
ward Webster. 



O'DONNELL, James Elwood, 
Business Man. 

The O'Donnells, of Kilkenny, Ireland, 
one of the old and respectable families of 
that section, trace to an early period in 
Kilkenny. John O'Donnell was sovereign 
of the town in 1395, and Patrick O'Don- 
nell filled the same office in 141 1. Walter 
O'Donnell was coroner of the city of Kil- 
kenny in 1610, and sheriff in 1613. The 
branch of the family to which Father 
Richard O'Donnell belonged settled at 
Ballywalter, within a mile of Callan, 
before Crofnwell's time. About the 
year 1700, and after their property had 
been confiscated by Cromwell, a Walter 
O'Donnell was the head of the family. 
He seems to have been a person of some 
consequence, as he gave his name to the 
townsland of Ballywalter, in which place 
he lived. The site of this residence is still 
pointed out on W. Thomas Shelly's farm 
there. Early in the last centtiry, a branch 
of the O'Donnells removed from Callan 
to Inistague, in which place Father Rich- 
ard O'Donnell was born. He was a 
grandson of Walter O'Donnell, of Bally- 
walter, heretofore mentioned. 

From this ancient Kilkenny family 
came James Elwood O'Donnell, late of 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, son of 
Prince and Bridget (Elwood) O'Donnell, 
his brothers, Peter, Richard, and Thomas, 
his sisters, Bridget, Catherine and Mary. 
James E. O'Donnell was born in Kil- 
kenny, Ireland, in the village of Pilltown, 



in 185 1, and died in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts, April 6, 1914. He was educated in 
the national schools, also attended private 
schools, and obtained a good business 
education. He ran away from home while 
yet young, and came to the United States, 
his thoughts turned toward America, per- 
haps, by the fact that he had an uncle, 
Captain Edward O'Donnell, serving in 
the Union Army, in the Civil War. Later 
he returned to Ireland, remaining there 
several years. Later he again came to 
the United States, first going to Boston, 
Massachusetts, where he was employed 
by Dr. Walsh, a cousin, and one of the 
leading physicians of the city. Later he 
was in New York City, going thence to 
Holyoke, Massachusetts, later to Dor- 
chester, Massachusetts, he at one time 
taking a civil service examination for a 
position in the government post office de- 
partment. Eventually, he settled at Chico- 
pee Falls, Massachusetts, and established 
a meat and grocery business in which he 
was successfully engaged untfl his death. 
He was a man of quick intelligence and 
good character, very popular among his 
many friends, and as a business man, hon- 
orable and upright. 

James E. O'Donnell married, October 
10, 1887, Ellen Knox, daughter of Thomas 
and Anastasia (Stone) Knox. Mrs. 
O'Donnell survives her husband, a resi- 
dent of Chicopee Falls. 



CANTY, Timothy WUliam, 

Representative Citizen. 

Timothy William Canty, of Chicopee, 
is a son of Dennis Canty, and a grandson 
of Timothy Canty, both of whom were 
born in County Cork, Ireland. Timothy 
Canty was a resident of the town of Ban- 
don, twenty miles southwest of Cork, sit- 
uated on both sides of the river Baridon. 
Bandon, or as often called, Bandonbridge, 



277 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



was the seat of important leather indus- 
tries. Timothy Canty was long employed 
as a shoemaker, later conducting a shoe 
store. Dennis Canty, born in Bandon, 
County Cork, Ireland, about 1825, died in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, November 13, 
1887. He attended the national schools 
in youth, and until eighteen years of age 
was his father's assistant in the shoe 
store. At the age of eighteen, he came 
to the United States and located in Chico- 
pee, Massachusetts, there securing em- 
ployment in a cotton mill. He proved adept 
at his work, being promoted "second 
hand," continuing in the cotton mills until 
1846, when he established a grocery and 
provision store in Chicopee, he being the 
first Irish merchant in the town. He 
prospered in his enterprise and continued 
the business until his death, forty years 
later. He was a well-educated man, and 
a convincing talker, and took an interest 
in the public afifairs of the town. He was 
its first Irish constable, and a member of 
the old Chicopee military company, "The 
Caobot Guards." He belonged to the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians, and was active 
in these organizations, and in business, 
until his death, which came suddenly. 

Dennis Canty married, May 8, 1850, 
Mary Lahey, born in County Cork, Ire- 
land, about 1827, died in Chicopee, Mas- 
sachusetts, August 3, 1895, daughter of 
Patrick I-ahey. They were the parents of 
the following children: i. Dennis G., 
born August 20, 185 1, a leading contrac- 
tor of Chicopee, where several of the large 
plants testify to his skill as a builder. 
Among these may be mentioned the 
Westinghouse building, the Page & 
Storms building, A. G. Spaulding and 
Brothers plants, Springfield Rendering 
Company, two of the Dwight Corporation 
buildings, and many others including the 
Overman Wheel Company, now the 
Westinghouse Company, on Broadway, 



the Lamb Knitting Machine Company, 
the Spaulding Paper Company, now a 
part of the present Fisk Rubber Com- 
pany, where the first rubber bicycle tires 
were made. He secured a contract to 
build the mason work on the Croton 
Aqueduct, this contract requiring three 
years for its completion ; also built the 
school house on East street, Chicopee, the 
Boston & Albany passenger station at 
Spencer, Massachusetts, and the freight 
house at Mittineague, Massachusetts. 

In connection with William P. Boyle 
he, on January i, 1917, organized the 
Economy Furnace Company, which is 
now doing a flourishing business. He is 
one of the directors of the Chicopee 
Photograph Paper Company, and also a 
member of the Knights of Columbus. He 
is a member of the Chicopee Board of 
Park Commissioners, also one of the 
License Commissioners. He married 
Joanna Donahue, who died, leaving two 
sons, Dennis F. and Edward J., associated 
with their father in the contracting busi- 
ness. 2. Timothy William, of further 
mention. 3. Michael, deceased. 4. Joseph, 
deceased. 5. and 6. Twins, deceased. 7. 
Catherine A., deceased. 

Timothy William Canty was born in 
Chicopee, Massachusetts, February 15, 
1853: was educated jn the public schools, 
and Burnett's Business College, and there 
yet resides. After school years were • 
completed he became his father's assist- 
ant in the store, so continuing until the 
death of the latter in 1887. He then 
became owner and proprietor, conducting 
the business very successfully until the 
year 1900, then selling out and retiring 
from mercantile life. Since 1900 he has 
been interested to a greater or less extent 
with his brother, Dennis G. Canty, in 
real estate operations. He is a Democrat 
in politics, and was chairman of the town 
committee for four years, and twelve 



278 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



years was a member of the Demo- 
cratic Senatorial District Committee ; also 
served three years as deputy sheriff under 
Sheriff Brooks. He is a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, and has a host of 
warm friends in the town which has ever 
been his home. Mr. Canty is unmarried. 



PAINE, Wilson, 

Contractor, Bnilder. 

Chicopee Falls has long been familiar 
with this name as that of one of her suc- 
cessful retired business men, Wilson 
Paine having been a resident of the town 
for more than forty years. 

(I) George Paine, grandfather of Wil- 
son Paine, was born at Thursthorpe, Lin- 
colnshire, England, and followed the com- 
bined callings of a shepherd and farmer. 
At the age of fifty-five he emigrated to 
Canada, settling at Henrysburg, where 
he purchased a farm and for the remainder 
of his life devoted himself to agriculture. 
He was a conservative in politics and 
never held any office. Mr. Paine married 
Mildred Wilson, and their children were: 
I. William, lived at Henrysburg, as did 
his brothers, with the exception of the 
youngest; married Maria Donaldson and 
they had three children; he died at the 
age of ninety-two. 2. John, married Anna 
Moore, and they had five children ; he 
died at the age of eighty. 3. Hewson, of 
further mention. 4. Joseph, married in 
England, but left his wife and came to 
Canada; a little later he left for the 
United States and was never seen nor 
heard of more. The mother of these sons 
died at Henrysburg at the age of sixty- 
eight, and the father passed away at the 
same place, being then eighty-five years 
old. Both were members of the Baptist 
church. 

(II) Hewson Paine, son of George and 
Mildred (Wilson) Paine, was born Janu- 



ary 30, 1800, at Thursthorpe, Lincoln- 
shire, England, and came to Canada a1 
the age of twenty-seven, making the voy^ 
age on a sailing vessel and spending 
eleven weeks on the water. His educa- 
tion had been received in public schools 
in his native land, where he had also 
learned the shoemaker's trade and for a 
time followed it. During the early part 
of his residence in Canada he was em- 
ployed at his trade, but eventually pur- 
chased a farm of three hundred acres. 
Like his father he was conservative in 
politics. In 1837-38, during the French 
Rebellion, he served in the army and was 
taken prisoner, but was soon released. 
Mr. Paine married Hannah Scott, born at 
Drefffeld, Yorkshire, England, daughter 
of David and Susan (Stebbins) Scott. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Scott were natives of 
England, and there and in Canada the 
former followed his trade, which was that 
of a blacksmith. He died in Canada at 
the age of seventy-two. Mr. and Mrs. 
Paine were the parents of the following 
children, i. Mary, died in Beloit, Wis- 
consin, at the age of eighty-six ; married 
(first) Robert Hall, and (second) Edward 
Fillingham. 2. David, aged eighty-three; 
has never married and lives at the old 
home at Henrysburg, Canada. 3. John, 
aged eighty-two ; has never married and 
lives with his brother David in the old 
home. 4. Susan, aged eighty; has never 
married and resides with her brothers. 5. 
Wilson, of further mention. 6. George, 
aged seventy-six ; lives at Chicopee Falls ; 
married Angelina Williams, and they had 
two children, a son and a daughter, the 
latter deceased. 7. Sarah, aged seventy- 
four ; married Edward Braithwaite, and 
they had six children ; her husband died 
in 1907 and she now lives with her 
children in Canada. 8. Mildred, aged 
seventy-two; resides at Henrysburg; 
married William Cockerline, who died in 



279 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



1908. g. Jabez, aged seventy; unmarried, 
and lives at the old home. 10. Jeannette, 
aged sixty-eight ; married the Rev. John 
Armstrong, of Montreal, where they now 
live; he is now ninety-four years of 
age. II. Sophia, aged sixty-five ; married 
Thomas Cockerline, and they have one 
son, Hewson ; their home is at Henrys- 
burg. As will be noted by the above, 
there were eleven children in this family, 
/he eldest of whom is eighty-five and the 
youngest sixty-five. Ten are living and 
in good health, a record perhaps un- 
equalled by any other family in the 
United States. The death of Mr. Paine 
occurred in June, 1862, at Henrysburg, 
and his widow survived him many years, 
passing away at the same place, Febru- 
ary 5, 1895, ^t the age of eighty-three. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Paine were members 
of the Wesleyan Methodist Church, the 
former being very active in its work and 
acting as leader of the choir. 

(Ill) Wilson Paine, son of Hewson 
and Hannah (Scott) Paine, was born 
March 23, 1839, ^t the village of Henrys- 
burg, Province of Quebec, Canada, where 
he acquired his education in the public 
schools. During his youth and early man- 
hood he assisted in the labors of the farm, 
but when about thirty years of age aban- 
doned this for the carpenter's trade. It 
was not long before Mr. Paine began to 
take contracts on his own account and 
soon he felt the need of a wider field in 
which to exercise his business capacity. 
Accordingly, at the age of thirty-three, 
he came to the United States, settling at 
Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, where he 
found employment with J. N. Cockerin, a 
well-known builder. Only for six months, 
however, did he continue to work in a 
subordinate position. At the end of that 
time he found himself in circumstances 
which enabled him to buy out his em- 
ployer and become the head of the con- 



cern. Thenceforth, for thirty years, he 
conducted an extensive and flourishing 
business. As a contractor and builder he 
stood second to none in the estimation of 
his associates and in the confidence of the 
public. In 1902 he retired from business. 
He and his wife attend the Congrega- 
tional church. 

Mr. Paine married, September 11, 1873, 
Mary E. Fuller, a sketch of whose fam- 
ily follows. 



FULLER, Reman, 

Business Man. 

John Fuller, one of the first settlers of 
Cambridge Village, was born in England 
in 1611, came to New England about 
1635, and settled in Cambridge Village, 
now Newton, about 1644. In December, 
1658, John Fuller bought seven hundred 
and fifty acres of his tract bounded north 
and west by the Charles river. Later he 
increased his holdings to about one thou- 
sand acres and became one of the largest 
land owners of the village, his tract long 
known as the "Fuller Farm." This land 
he divided among his children in his life- 
time, confirming the division by will, but 
stipulating that they should not sell to 
any stranger without first giving the rel- 
atives a chance to purchase. Twenty-two 
of his descendants are said to have served 
in the Revolutionary Army. Pope says 
he was a farmer and a malster. He died 
February 7, 1697, aged eighty-seven, ac- 
cording to his gravestone record. I;Iis 
wife, Elizabeth, died April 13, 1700. Chil- 
dren : John (2), of further mention; 
Jonathan, Elizabeth, Joseph, Joshua, 
Jeremiah, Bertha, and Isaac. 

(II) John (2) Fuller, son of John (i) 
Fuller, was born in Newton, Massachu- 
setts, in 1645, and died January 21, 1720. 
He married (first) in 1682, Abigail Boyls- 
ton ; (second) October 14, 1714, Margaret 



280 




'^^a/yt .jf^i/ile/y 



THE MEW YORK 



ASTOW, LENOX AND I 

nt-DSN '©UNDAnobfs! 

I 




^^Ca/mt^'^t S)/. ( Ma/)nrlt(yn j ^u/le^if^ 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



Hicks. Children: Sarah, John (3), Abi- 
gail, James, of further mention ; Hannah, 
Isaac, Jonathan, died young; Jonathan 
(2), and Caleb. 

(HI) James Fuller, son of John (2) 
Fuller, was born in Newton, Massachu- 
setts, February 4, 1690. He removed to 
Ashford, Connecticut, thence to Union, 
Connecticut, where in 1737 he was town 
clerk. He married Abigail Youmans. 
Children : Dinah, Abigail, Elizabeth, 
William, Hezekiah, of further mention. 

(HI) Hezekiah Fuller, son of James 
Fuller, was born March 2, 1724, and died 
in Stafiford, Connecticut, March 19, 1799. 
He was a wheelwright by trade, having 
served seven years as an apprentice in 
Tolland, Massachusetts. Later he moved 
to Stafiford, settling near what was known 
as the Fiske place, and later as the Ply- 
mouth place. He bought property in 
Stafiford, April 10, 1770. He married 
(first) February 14, 1748, Margaret Tyler, 
who died February 21, 1772. He married 
(second) Margaret Graham, of Scotch- 
Irish descent, her parents coming from 
the North of Scotland and settling in 
Union, Connecticut. Children : Amos, 
born July 10, 1752; Asa, died young; 
Elizabeth, born September 6, 1760; James, 
March 21, 1765; Edna, March 8, 1768; 
Chloe, February 3, 1772; Margaret, Jan- 
uary 12, 1776, died young; Asa, of fur- 
ther mention ; Amasa, born August 19, 
1780. 

(IV) Asa Fuller, son of Hezekiah Ful- 
ler, was born in Stafford, Connecticut, 
January 12, 1778, and died at Chicopee, 
Massachusetts, September 7, 1862. He 
was a farmer all his life, but very fond of 
hunting and fishing. He married Rachael 
Trask, who died in Springfield, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1847, aged sixty-seven. Chil- 
dren : Orrin, married Mary Cooley ; 
Rhoda, married, November 4, 1823, Seth 
Clough ; Alvin, married Mary Ann Hunt- 



ley; Maria, married Anthony Slater; 
Anson, married Diana Clough ; Lucinda, 
also married a Slater; Heman, of further 
mention ; Emily, married, December 4, 
1848, Harrison Burnett; Dexter, married 
Delia A. Clough. 

(V) Heman Fuller, son of Asa Fuller, 
was born at Chicopee, Massachusetts, 
February 20, 1822, and there died, Febru- 
ary 3, 1892. He spent his life in Chico- 
pee, was a man of good judgment and far- 
sighted in his dealings. He dealt in real 
estate, and was a general trader, kept a 
store for a time, and for thirty years was 
superintendent of East Street Cemetery. 
He married, July 2, 1845, Harriet Augusta 
Hamilton, born in Pelham, Massachu- 
setts, and died at Chicopee Falls, Janu- 
ary 27, 1913, aged ninety years, daughter 
of Joseph and Sylvia Hamilton. Chil- 
dren, both born in Chicopee, Massachu- 
setts : Mary E., of further mention ; and 
Alice F., born April 30, 1859, died Novem- 
ber 22, 1859. 

(VI) Mary E. Fuller, daughter of 
Heman and Harriet Augusta (Hamilton) 
Fuller, was born August 26, 1848, and is 
yet a resident of Chicopee Falls. She 
married, September 11, 1873, Wilson 
Paine. (See Paine III). 



SMITH, James H., 

Agriculturist. 

Around the old Smith farm upon which 
John Charles Smith located soon after 
coming to the United States, and upon 
which he lived and conducted successful 
dairying and agricultural operations, the 
Massachusetts community known as Chic- 
opee Falls has grown, and on the old 
farm, where once he tilled the soil, are 
many modern residences. When John C. 
Smith, the original owner, laid down 
earthly cares he was succeeded by his 
son, James H. Smith, who still conducts 



281 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



the farm. John Charles Smith was a son 
of Richard Smith, who lived and died in 
Ireland. 

John Charles Smith was born in Tip- 
perary, Ireland, in 1833, and died in Chic- 
opee Falls, Massachusetts, July i, 1891. 
He was educated in the public school and 
remained in his native land until his twen- 
tieth year, then came to the United States 
and settled in Springfield, Massachusetts, 
where for a time he was employed in a 
foundry. Later he was an employee of 
the Taylor farm in Springfield, but after 
the close of the Civil War he removed to 
Chicopee Falls and there purchased the 
farm upon which he resided until his 
death, about a quarter of a century later. 
He operated his farm along dairying 
lines, retailing the products of his farm 
largely in Springfield, where for many 
years he also served a retail milk route. 
At one time he devoted a part of his farm 
to tobacco raising. The town during the 
years which have followed his coming 
has encroached upon the old Smith farm 
and several of its acres have been given 
over to residence sites, but the farm is 
still a productive property. Mr. Smith 
took no part in political affairs, but was 
a lover of his home and devoted to his 
business. He was an active member of 
St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church and 
a generous supporter of its beneficences. 

Mr. Smith married Ellen E. Dalton, 
born in Tipperary, Ireland, in 1840, died 
at Chicopee Falls, in March, 1900, daugh- 
ter of John and Margaret (Walsh) Dal- 
ton. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren : Bridget, married Jeremiah Sulli- 
van ; William, Delia, Alice, Annie, Rich- 
ard, Charles, James H., of further men- 
tion ; Mary, deceased. 

James H. Smith, youngest son of John 
Charles and Ellen E. (Dalton) Smith, 
was born at Chicopee Falls, Massachu- 
setts, May 30, 1875, his birthplace the 



Smith farm, which he now owns and which 
has ever since been his home. He was 
educated in the public graded and high 
schools, and early in life became his 
father's farm assistant, and upon the 
death of John C. Smith, in 1891, the son 
succeeded to the management of the 
farm. This he still continues in a suc- 
cessful manner. He has confined himself 
to his business and has not taken any 
interest in political affairs further than 
to exercise his right and perform his 
duties as a citizen. 

Mr. Smith married, August 24, 1916, 
Susie B. Knight, of Chicopee Falls, 
daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Con- 
nor) Knight. 



SWIFT, James Marcus 

Lanryer, State Official. 

Descendants of William Swift, who 
was brought to Maine from England in 
earlier days, thence settling on Cape Cod, 
are to be found in all parts of the nation. 
The branch now represented by James 
Marcus Swift, of Fall River and Boston, 
being that of Brigadier-General John 
Swift, who lost his life in the War 
of 1812-14, the line being that of his 
son, Rev. Marcus Swift, who was one 
of the pioneers of Nankin, Wayne county, 
Michigan, a village about twenty miles 
west of Detroit. Marcus is a name 
which has persisted in this branch, hav- 
ing been the given name of the pio- 
neer Western preacher, who in his 
day and generation gained more than 
local fame as a pulpit orator and eloquent 
advocate of the cause of Abolition. In 
Eastern Michigan he was held in highest 
esteem for his untiring interest and self- 
sacrificing devotion to the cause of right 
living and justice. Said Hon. Jonathan 
Shearer, of Plymouth, Michigan : 



282 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



No man living or dead did as much for Eastern and until tuberculosis demanded another 



Michigan in her civil, social, educational and reli- 
gious well being and character, as did Rev. Marcus 
Swift 

Brigadier-General John Swift, in 1779, 
was one of the founders of Palmyra, 
Wayne county, New York, twenty-two 
miles from Rochester. He came to New 
York State from Pomfret, Connecticut, 
became one of the influential men of his 
county, commanded a regiment in the 
second war with Great Britain, and in one 
of the battles fought in defence of the Ni- 
agara frontier, lost his life, being the 
brevet brigadier-general. 

Rev. Marcus Swift, son of Brigadier- 
General John Swift, was born at Palmyra, 
Wayne county. New York, June 23, 1793, 
there was educated, and at the age of 
nineteen married Anna Osborn, daughter 
of Weaver Osborn, of Palmyra. In the 
spring of 1825 he purchased a township of 
land in Wayne county, Michigan, twenty 
miles west of Detroit, and in the fall of 
the same year went to^ his purchase in 
company with William Osborn. He set- 
tled at the village of Nankin and there 
became the influential Methodist minis- 
ter and citizen of whom such glowing 
words of eulogy were uttered. He was 
succeeded by his son, Dr. Orson Ross 
Swift, who ministered to the bodies of 
men as faithfully as his honored father 
cared for their souls and morals. 

Dr. Orson Ross Swift, son of Rev. Mar- 
cus Swift, was born in Palmyra, Wayne 
county, New York, October 11, 1821, was 
taken to Nankin, Michigan, by his par- 
ents when a child, and there died after a 
life of usefulness and honor, April 3, 
1856. He was eminent in the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church and an ordained 
preacher, was a strong advocate of the 
abolition of slavery, and while strength 
permitted gave himself without stint to 
the church. Later he studied medicine. 



victim he practiced medicine and surgery 
to the full extent of his strength and often 
far beyond. Able and eloquent as a 
preacher, his skill as a physician equalled 
his pulpit ability, and his life was all too 
short. Dr. Swift married (first) in Michi- 
gan, March, 1846, Mary Elizabeth Barker, 
daughter of Captain George J. Barker, of 
Washtenaw county, Michigan, a county 
of which Ann Arbor is the county seat. 
Mrs. Swift died in 1854, leaving a son, 
Marcus George Barker, of further men- 
tion, and a daughter Camilla, who mar- 
ried James A. Dubuar, of Northville, 
Michigan. Dr. Swift married (second) 
Jane E. Peck, of Northville, Michigan. 

Marcus George Barker Swift, son of 
Dr. Orson Ross Swift and his first wife, 
Mary Elizabeth (Barker) Swift, was born 
in Raisin township, Lenawac county, 
Michigan, March 12, 1848. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and at Adrian 
College. At the age of sixteen (Septem- 
ber, 1864) he enlisted as a private in the 
Fourth Regiment, Michigan Infantry, 
was honorably discharged and mustered 
out with his regiment in 1866, the Fourth 
Michigan being one of the regiments re- 
tained for service until the French inter- 
ference in Mexico had ceased to be a sub- 
ject of international importance. After 
his return from the army he completed 
his course in the law department of the 
University of Michigan, from which he 
graduated in 1872, and was admitted to 
the bar in April of that year. He then 
began the practice of law in the office of 
Newberry, Pond & Brown, an eminent 
law firm of Detroit, and was later asso- 
ciated with F. H. Canfield. On Decem- 
ber 5, 1874, he was admitted to the Fed- 
eral courts of the district. Mr. Swift did 
not practice in Michigan after December, 
1874, but came to Fall River, Massachu- 
setts, where he remained in continuous 



283 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



practice in all State and Federal courts of 
the district until his death, February 22, 
1902. He was for sixteen years a part- 
ner of the Hon. Henry K. Braley, and was 
for a number of years on the school com- 
mittee of Fall River, Massachusetts. He 
long ranked with the leaders of the bar 
of Southern Massachusetts. He founded 
the law firm, Swift & Grime, now Swift, 
Grime & Swift, the third partner being 
John Tuttle Swift, brother of the pres- 
ent senior member. He was a member 
of the bar associations, the Masonic order, 
Odd Fellows, and Red Men fraternities, 
and of the First Congregational Church. 
He also took a prominent part in the 
activities of the Grand Army of the Re- 
public, being commander of Richard Bor- 
den Post, and judge advocate of the De- 
partment of Massachusetts. 

Mr. Swift married, December 25, 1872, 
at Fall River, Massachusetts, Mary Dun- 
can Milne, of Fall River, daughter of Rev. 
Alexander Milne, of Fall River. Their 
children were: James Marcus, of further 
mention ; Orson Alexander, John Tuttle, 
a sketch of whom follows ; Milne Barker, 
Mabel Antoinette and Anna Osborn 
Swift. 

James Marcus Swift, eldest son of Mar- 
cus George Barker and Mary Duncan 
(Milne) Swift, was born in Ithaca, Gar- 
tiot county, Michigan, November 3, 1873, 
but the following year was brought by his 
parents to Fall River, Massachusetts, 
which city has since been his home. He 
passed through the grades of the public 
grammar and high school, finishing with 
high school graduation, class of 1891 
(class historian) ; he became a student 
for one year at the Michigan State Nor- 
mal School at Ypsilanti, and then entered 
the sophomore class of the University of 
Michigan, pursuing classical courses until 
graduated A. B., class 1895, going the 
following fall to Harvard Law School. 



During his college career, Mr. Swift took 
part in all forms of college activities, was 
prominent in athletics, in musical and fra- 
ternity circles. His father's serious ill- 
ness compelled him to leave the law 
school in June, 1897, and he became a 
member of the firm of Swift & Grime 
upon his admission to the bar in October, 
1897. On the death of his father in 1902, 
James Marcus Swift became senior mem- 
ber of the firm, and in 1909 John Tuttle 
Swift, a younger brother, was admitted, 
the style of the firm now being Swift, 
Grime & Swift. Upon retiring from the 
office of attorney-general in 1914, Mr. 
Swift became the head of the firm of 
Swift, Friedman & Atherton, No. 30 State 
street, Boston, and has been largely en- 
gaged in street railway, banking and 
other corporation matters. He has been 
much in the public eye, as assistant 
district attorney, 1899-1902, district attor- 
ney, 1902-10, and attorney-general of 
Massachusetts, 1911-12-13. He is the 
youngest man in the Commonwealth ever 
elected district attorney, but his choice 
was justified by his previous service as 
assistant, and for eight years he most ably 
filled the office. His record there naturally 
led to the attorney-generalship of the 
Commonwealth, and he was nominated 
by the Republican State Convention in 
1910, being the only candidate for that 
office ever nominated by the Republican 
party without opposition, and he was the 
youngest man ever elected to that office 
in Massachusetts. He also received the 
largest vote of any State officer each year 
he was on the ticket, and was widely- 
mentioned as a candidate for Governor, 
but chose to follow the practice of his 
profession. In 1916 he was appointed by 
Governor McCall one of three commis- 
sioners to revise and consolidate the Laws 
of the Commonwealth. This unusual 
record of five generations, each producing 



284 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



a son eminent in his profession, has not 
been marred by this fifth son, but his 
career, hardly more than fairly begun, 
already is worthy of his soldier ancestor, 
Brigfadier-General John Swift ; his min- 
isterial forebear, Rev. Swift; his medical 
grandfather, Dr. Orson Ross Swift ; and 
his preceptor, partner and eminent father, 
Marcus G. B. Swift. Mr. Swift is vice- 
president of the Citizen's Savings Bank of 
Fall River, member of the American Bar 
Association, Massachusetts Bar Associa- 
tion, the Bar Association of the City of 
Boston, Harvard Law School Associa- 
tion, Delta Tau Delta, fraternity, is chief 
grand tribune of the Grand Lodge of 
Massachusetts Knights of Pythias, a 
member of the Elks, and in Free Ma- 
sonry he holds the thirty-second degree, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, and is a 
Knights Templar. Politically he is a Re- 
publican, and in church affiliation is con- 
nected with the First Congregational 
Church of Fall River. His clubs are: 
The City, Athletic, Press, Harvard, St. 
Botolph, all of Boston, and the Queque- 
chan, of Fall River. 

Mr. Swift married, February 26, 1907, 
Olive U. Sterling, of Chicago. She is 
also of New England stock, her father, 
Nathan Underwood, having been of the 
pioneer stock of Harwich, Cape Cod, and 
her mother, Hannah Weekes, from Maine. 



SWIFT, John Tuttle, 

Lavpyer, Public Official. 

Endowed with the personality of 
warmth and magnetism, with the power 
invested in him to attract friends, John 
Tuttle Swift has made a mark in public 
and professional life, rising to a point of 
prominence. He is a son of the late Mar- 
cus G. B. Swift, and his wife, Alary D. 
Swift. 

John Tuttle Swift was born November 



15' ^^77y in Fall River, Massachusetts. 
He attended the public schools of that 
city, graduating from the B. M. C. Durfee 
High School in the class of 1897, and sub- 
sequently attended Williams College in 
the class of 1901. After leaving the lat- 
ter institution he was employed in vari- 
ous capacities for a number of years, all 
of which were very useful in giving him 
much valuable experience for later years. 
For about five years he engaged in news- 
paper work in various capacities, being 
on the reportorial staff of Fall River 
papers as well as financial correspondent 
for various papers. In this manner he 
was brought into contact with many of 
the leading men of the day and acquired 
an insight into matters of a vital nature, 
municipal and otherwise. Also he was 
trained in both the banking and broker- 
age business, working in the Citizens 
Savings Bank, the banking and brokerage 
office of the late George N. Durfee and 
for Tuttle Hurley & Company, brokers. 

From 1907 to 1911, during the adminis- 
trations of Presidents Roosevelt and Taft, 
Mr. Swift served as clerk of the commit- 
tee on merchant marine and fisheries of 
the House of Representatives at Wash- 
ington, in which capacity he performed 
commendable work, and in Washington 
he attended the law school of the George 
Washington University, graduating with 
the degree of LL. B. in the class of 1910. 
He resigned his Federal position in 191 1, 
and took up the practice of his profession 
as junior partner of the law firm of Swift, 
Grime & Swift, founded by his honored 
father. Mr. Swift has continued in this 
firm to the present time, making a spe- 
cialty' of corporation matters and of the 
trial of civil cases. Some of the largest 
corporations are among his clients, and 
he has achieved an enviable reputation as 
a trial lawyer, defending many cases for 



285 



ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BIOGRAPHY 



street railways and liability insurance 
companies. 

His work as a leading lawyer has nat- 
urally brought him into contact with 
many business interests, and he holds a 
place on the directorate of financial and 
industrial corporations. He is a trustee 
of the Citizens Savings Bank, director of 
Allen, Slade & Company, Inc., and of the 
Shawmut Mills, and president of the 
American Plumbing and Heating Com- 
pany. On June 19, 1917, he was ap- 
pointed police and license commissioner 
by Governor McCall for a term of three 
years. He served as first lieutenant of 
the Twelfth Company, M. V. M., C. A. C, 
from which he resigned in 1913, and when 
this country entered the war in 1917 
he was appointed first lieutenant in 
the Twenty-second Company, Seventeenth 
Regiment, Massachusetts State Guard. 
In June, 1918, Mr. Swif